Skip to main content

Full text of "The history of Sutton, New Hampshire : consisting of the historical collections of Erastus Wadleigh, Esq., and A. H. Worthen"

See other formats





3lȣjit) Jf"' -^ 



Xrtberal Hrts 


^ xxf 




















Contorb, J. J. 


I 890. 







The History of Sutton here offered to the public is the 
result of many years' labor and careful research ou the part 
of the two persons whose names appear as authors. The 
work was entered upon nearly a quarter of a century ago, 
and though many interruptions have occurred in that time, 
it has never been abandoned. The authors collected what- 
ever of value was obtainable, and saved it in expectation 
that the time would come when a History of Sutton would 
be called for, and with the understjinding between them 
that if not called for during the life-time of both, the sur- 
vivor would finish the whole and see it published. United 
with this understanding, the conviction existed in the 
minds of both that myself, being the junior of the two, 
would be the one on whom the lot would fall, which con- 
viction events have shown to be correct. The interest with 
which Mr. Wadleigh pursued the work is yet remembered, 
and is more fully described in the personal sketch of him 
found in the Wadleigh Genealogy of this book, in which is 
also inserted his preface to the portion of this work which 
is exclusively his own, being that under the head of "Early 
Settlors." Immediately after his death his collections were 
placed in my hands by his family, to revise and combine 
with my own, but no immediate attempt was made to pub- 
lish the book till, earl 3^ in the year 1887, Miss Lydia F. 
Wadleigh took the first step looking towards publication 
by offering to assist in paying the costs. Thereupon I took 
courage to petition the town to make some appropriation 


that would further aid the work, which, at town-meeting in 
March, 1888, was made, $300 being the amount. Other 
wealthy persons, natives, though no longer residents of 
Sutton, being appealed to, promised pecuniary help, viz., 
Benjamin F. Pillsbury, of Granite Falls, Minn. ; Thomas F. 
Andrews, Hon. George A. Pillsbury, and his brother, ex- 
Gov. John S. Pillsbury, and Charles A. Pillsbury, all of 
Minneapolis, Minn; Gen. John Eaton, now of Marietta, O., 
and his brother, Hon. Lucian B. Eaton, of Memphis, Tenn. 
Thus encouraged, I have worked busily ever since the reso- 
lution to publish was made. 

The work of transcribing the old matter and combining 
it with the new, to bring all down to present date, has been 
long and wearisome, and nearly two years of continuous 
labor have been given to arranging and copying the geneal- 
ogies. In the collection of the family records, I have been 
materially assisted by two persons whose names are by 
their own request withheld. Almost every individual to 
whom I have applied, personally or by letter, for informa- 
tion, has supplied all within reach and knowledge, readily 
and kindly. It has been my aim that no family should be 
overlooked, and in this way the book has grown to propor- 
tions too large for convenience. But however earnest the 
desire, or honest the endeavor, to do justice to all, some 
errors may have crept in, or some names deserving fullest 
mention may have been left out. If so, no person will re- 
gret it more than myself. 

Such as it is, however, I send the book forth, invoking 
for it sim^jly "• the considerate judgment " of its readers. 

Augusta H. Worthen. 


Proprietors' Records, 1-4 

Extracts from same, 5-29 

Copy of order for taking Census of 1775, 30 

Municipal history, 31,32 

Early settlers, 33-85 

Charter, 86-90 

Original grantees, 91-93 

Area of the town, 94 

Incorporation, 95-98 

Division of state of Xew Hampshire into counties, 99 

Land-owners in 1792, 100-103 

Eepresentation of the Classed Towns, 104-113 

Samuel Peaslee law-suit, 114, 115 

Sutton in 1810-'20-'21-'22-'23, 116-119 

Mechanics, Manufacturers, and Professional Men at that 

Highway Surveyors in 1820, 121 

Town-meetings and town officers, 122-143 

Appropriations from 1869 to 1889, 143 

Tax-payers, . ' 144-161 

Constables and Collectors, 162-164 

Justices of the Peace, 165-167 

Some of the earliest physicians, 168-172 

Aged persons, 171, 172 

Casualties and sudden deaths 173-177 

Statistics concerning population in the state of N. H., . . . 178, 179 
Population and Valuation of Sutton at different periods, . . 179-181 
Tax rates for the town of Sutton in 1788, 181-183 

Miscellaneous Historical Items, — containing 

Post routes, 184, 185 

Post-offices and some post-masters, 186, 187 

Early newspapers, 187-189 

Guide-boards 189 

Old currency, 190 

Penny Acre Tax, 190 

Turnpikes, 190 

Ancient stages, 191 



Stage-coach of 1832, 192, 193 

Rates of postage, 193 

First checklist, 193 

First Free-soil voters in Sutton, 194 

Physicians' and tailors' fees, 194 

The Penacooks, 195, 196 

Organizations, — containing 

Social Library 197-202 

King Solomon's Lodge, 202, 203 

South Sutton Central Library, 203, 204 

North Sutton Dramatic Association, 205-207 

Washingtonian Total Abstinence Society, 207, 211 

Sutton Grange Xo. 91, Patrons of Husbandry, 212,213 

Remarkable Natural Events, — containing 

Dark Day of 1780, 214, 215 

Dark Day of 1881, 215,217 

Shower of stars, 217 

Cold Friday, 218 

Severe snow-storm of October, 1804, 218 

Great gale of September 25, 1815 218, 219 

Great tornado of September 9, 1821, 219-221 

Great frost of June 17, 1794, 221 

Poverty year, 1816, 222 

Mackerel year, 1817, 222 

Aurora Borealis, 1721, 222 

Great freshet of 1824, 222 

Great August freshet of 1826, 223, 224 

Government of New Hampshire, — containing 
Colonial, Provincial, Union with Massachusetts, Gov. Wentworth, 225 
Exeter Convention of 1776, and Convention of 1781, .... 226 
Proclamation for continuing forms of government, .... 227, 228 

Constitution adopted in 1783, 229 

Revision of Constitution in 1792, 229 

Governor Josiah Bartlett in 1792 229 

Convention of 1850, 230 

Constitution of 1877, 230-232 

Committee of Safety, 232, 233 

Adoption of Federal Constitution, 234 

End of the Old and beginning of the New Government, . . . 235 

Miscellaneous matters, — containing 

First in their special business or calling, 236-239 

Honorable women, 239 

Owners of lots, 240 

Building the pound, 241 


Cheney and the bear, 242 

Inventory of estate of Ebenezer Kesar, 243 

New London petition for a Coroner, 244 

Ownership of farms, 245-247 

Vahieoflots, 247 

Obligation to settle, 248, 249 

Bond for deed, 249 

Copies of receipts of an early date, 250, 251 

Money scarce, 251, 252 

Resolutions and Votes passed in Town-Meeting, — containing 

Drift road, 253 

Supplies for inuster-day, 1815, 254 

Hogreeves, 254 

Burying-grounds, 255 

Incorporations, 255 

Capital punishment, 255 

Sexton at Mill Village, 255, 256 

Printing- of public expenditures, 256 

Militia bill, 256 

Wilmot Proviso, 256 

Prohibition of liquor-selling, 256 

Cattle and sheep in bui'ying-grounds, 256 

Liquor-selling again, 257 

Literary fund, 257 

Town purchase a hearse, 257 

Dodge's Map of N. H. for schools, 257 

Tramps, 257 

B. F. Pillsbury, 257 

Supervisors of check -list, 258 

Taxation of dogs 258 

Bounties, 258, 259 

Public Library, 259 

Poor-house, 261-265 

Surplus Revenue, 265, 266 

Maintaining the town poor, 267, 268 

Burying-grounds, 269-274 

Apprentices and " Bound out," 275-284 

Mills, 285-290 

Tannei'ies, 290 

Potash making, 291 

Warning out of town, 292-294 

Debts and debtors, 295-302 

Early roads, 303-305 

Early perambulations, • 305, 306 


Railroad communication with Boston, 306, 307 

North Village and Kezarville, 308-314 

Building the ]\Ieeting-Hoiises, — containing 

What the Perrystown Grantees failed to do, 316 

What the Masonian Proprietors did, 315, 316 

Ancient log meeting-house at Mill Village, 316 

Votes indicating some attempt to get the town to build a meeting- 
house, 316-317 

Cent tax, 317 

Petitions for tax to raise money to build a meeting-house, . . 317-320 

Remonstrance to the petitions, 320-322 

Depositions of Benjamin Wadleigh, Ephraim Gile, Samuel Bean, 323 

Penny Acre Tax, 324 

Issue of federal money, 324 

Who built the meeting-houses, 325 

Purchase of material for the same, 325 

Building committees for both houses, 326 

Method of paying amount subscribed, 326 

Subscription list, 327 

Sale of pews, 328 

Deed of pews, 329 

Lock and pair of pulpit hinges, 331, 332 

Burning of the South meeting-house, 333 

Framers of the meeting-houses, 333 

Galleries, 333-335 

Pulpit, 336 

Internal finish of the meeting-houses, 336-338 

Belfry and bell, 338, 339 

Travelling on the Sabbath and tythingmen, 339, 340 

Singing in meeting, 341-343 

Religious meetings in private houses, 343, 344 

Ministerial Fund, 344, 345 

Amount drawn by different denominations, 345 

Ordination Charge of Elder Nathan ChamjDlin, 346 

Religious Societies, — containing 

Universalists, their early history, 347 

Toleration Act, 347 

" Universal Friendly Society " in Sutton, 348, 349 

Celebrated preachers, 350 

Organization of the Universalist church, 350 

:Members 352, 353 

Ministers, 354 

Universalist society, 354-356 

Rev. Robert Stinson, . . . . ' 357-358 


Rev. Joseph Sargent, 359 

Calvinist Baptist Church, — containing 
History, by Elder Charles Newhall and Samuel Dresser, . . 359-361 

Church of 1782, 862 

Reorganization of the churcli in 1803, 363 

Rev. Nathan Champlin, 364 

Itinerant pi'eachers, 365 

Ministers, 366, 367 

Deacons, 367, 368 

Clerks, 368 

JSlissionary work, 369 

Church members, 369-377 

Early Baptist churches and Warren Baptist Association, . . 378-381 

Elder Samuel Ambrose, 381-384 

Rev. William Taylor, 384-389 

Rev. Nathan Ames, 389-390 

Dr. Crosmon, 391 

Rev. Pelatiah Chapin, 391-393 

Rev. Reuel Lothrop 393 

Rev. Edward Mitchell, 393, 394 

Rev. Henry Archibald, 394 

Rev. Charles Newhall, 394 

Rev. Valentine Bunker, 394, 395 

Rev. William Libbey, 396 

First Baptist Society 397-398 

Letter of Dismission, 398 

Missionary Circle, 399 

Freewill Baptists, their origin, 399 

Elder Elijah Watson, 400 

Rev. Nathaniel King, 40'>, 401 

Elder Robert Dickey, Elder Benaiah Bean, 4(11 

Rev. John Colby, *. ... 401 

Elder eTohn Gillingham, 401, 402 

Lack of scholarly training among preachers, 402, 403 

Fugitive Slave Law, 403, 404 

i^xtracts from Weare Q. M. Records, 405-407 

Extracts from Sutton Church Records, 407, 408 

Pastors since 1842, 408, 409 

Deacons and clerks, 409,410 

Names of church members, . 410,419 

Church Covenant, 419 

Recent delegates to Q. M., 420, 421 

Elder David Moody, 421-424 

Rev. Henry Kimball, 425-427 


Rev. Isaac Peaslee, 427 

Rev. Arthur C. Peaslee, 428 

Second Advent Church and Society, 429-481. 

Spiritualists, 431, 432 

Osgoodites, 433, 434 

Settling a Minister, — containing 

Votes concei'ning Rev. Samuel Ambrose, 435 

Compromise between the town and Mr. Ambrose, 436 

Missionary labors of Mr. Ambrose, 438 

Dismission of Mr. Ambrose, 438 

Sale of the Minister lot, 439 

Support of preaching, 439-440 

Use of word " Gift," 441 

Act passed during reign of Queen Anne, . 441 

Citizens taxed for support of preaching, 442 

N. H. Bill of Rights, 442 

Toleration Act, 443 

Recognition of different Sects by the Legislature, 443 

Rate List (for Mr. Ambrose), 445 

Standard of Weights and Measures, 445 

Survey of the Town, 446 

School and Minister Funds, and Literary Fund, 446-447 

Old Fashions, — containing 

Pins, buttons, woodchuck skins, 448 

Intrusive Swine, — Bears, 449 

Benjamin Wadleigh's adventures, 449-450 

Apple-trees, 450-451 

Courtship, 451-452 

Making Salts and Potash, 452 

Old potash building, 453 

William Burns, 453 

Flax, . . . -. 4.54 

Carding machines, steel pens, watches, 455 

Cooking-stoves; Burning-fluid; Kerosene, 456 

Bread ; Log-houses ; Substitutes for glass windows, 457 

Frame houses ; Furniture ; Wooden plates ; Brooms, .... 458 

Losses by fire, 458 

The Caravan, 459-461 

Revolutionary Soldiers of Sutton, — containing 

First N. H. Revolutionary Regiment, sketch of 462-467 

Benjamin Critchett, 467-472 

Francis Como, 472, 473 

Silas Russell, 473, 474 

Ananiah Bohonnan, 474 


Pay of officers and men, 474-476 

Names of Revolutionary soldiers, 476, 477 

Names of soldiers of 1812, 477 

Items concerning both wars, 477, 478 

Soldiers of French War, 478 

The ^lilitia, — containing 

New Militia Law of 1776, 479 

The 21st RegiTiient, 480 

Petition for division of the regiment, 481-483 

» ]\Iilitary Establishment " in 1800, 1802, 1805, 1806, .... 484, 485 

May training, 486 

Petition of inhabitants of New London in favor of Thomas 

Wadleigh, 486, 487 

His letter, 488 

" Treating " the Company, 489 

Officers in various years, 490-492 

Militia officers who took the oath before Jonathan Harvey, . 492, 493 

Commission of John Harvey, 493, 494 

Officers of the 30th Regiment, 494-499 

Muster day in 1822, 500-505 

War of the Rebellion, — containing 

Names of soldiers, 506-509 

Payment of the war debt, 509-511 

Individual record of Sutton men, 511-517 

Robert Campbell Post, 517-521 

Schools, — containing 
Academies and early legislation regarding schools, .... 522, 523 

Polite behavior, 524 

School-books 525-527 

Amesbury school-master, 528 

School privileges for girls, 529, 530 

Establishment of schools, 531 

Early school-houses, 531 

Later school-books, 532, 533 

Master Hogg and other teachers, 533, 537 

Singing-schools; Capt. Matthew Buell, 538 

Saving a child from death by freezing, 539 

Sunday-schools and dancing-schools, 540 

Sup. school-committees, 541 

Inspectors of schools, 542 

Increase in numbei- of scholars and school-districts, .... 5^, 543 

Division of the town into school-districts, 543, 547 

Names of many teachers, 548, 551 

Backward glances, 551-555 


Xatural Features of Sutton, — containing 
Surface ; streams ; ponds ; hills ; table of altitudes ; Kearsarge 

mountain, 557-563 

Geology of Sutton, 563, 564 

Mineral spring, 564 

Trees, 565-569 

Wild animals ; birds, 569, 570 

Historical Sketches by Erastus Wadleigh, prepared several 

years before his death, — containing 

King's hill in 1824, .571-582 

Kearsarge gore aiid Cass hill, 583-585 

Kezar lake, 586-590 

Sunapee lake, 591-595 

Historical sketch (Xew London and Low Plains), .... 596-598 

Town officers elected March, 1890, 598 

Genealogies, 599 



Erastus Wadleigh, frontispiece. 

Matthew Harvey, Sr., and Hannah (S.) Harvey, profiles, ... 40 

Hon. Jonathan Harvey, 42 

Hon. Matthew Harvey, 44 

History of Sutton. 


The title to every foot of land in Sutton reaches 
back to the deed or grant given in 1749 to Obadiah 
Perry and fifty-nine others by the Masonian pro- 
prietors of the ISTew Hampshire lands. Who were 
these Masonian proprietors, and how were they 
entitled to the lands? They were an association 
of twelve gentlemen of Portsmouth and vicinity, 
who bought out the right of Capt. John Mason, 
they receiving their deed from John Tufton Mason, 
the heir and descendant of Capt. John Mason. AYho 
was Capt. John Mason? He was a merchant of 
London, and afterwards naval commander, and 
secretary to the Council of Plymouth, from wliich 
council he obtained in 1621 his first grant to that 
part of ISTew Hampshire lying between Salem river 
and the Merrimack. The next year Mason and 
Gorges unitedly obtained a grant of all the land 
from the Merrimack to the Kennebec river, — and in 
1629 Mason became sole owner of that part of their 
grant which lay between the Merrimack and the 
Piscataqua, and westward to the St. Lawrence and 
the lakes. This tract was hence termed Laconia. 


Later, in 1677, the g-overnment of Massachusetts 
purchased from the heirs of Gorges the Province 
of Maine. Why they did not at the same time 
purchase from the heir of Mason the Province of 
'New Hampshire is not known. Mason made no 
money out of his lands, but, on the contrary, ex- 
pended a fortune in the eftbrt to colonize and im- 
prove the same. 

But what was this Council of Plymouth, and 
whence came their right to dispose of the New 
Hampshire lands? April 20, 1606, James I, king 
of England, granted a liberal patent to an associar 
tion which took the name of the " Plymouth Com- 
pany." Little was done towards colonizing by this 
company, and it was in 1620 superseded by the 
" Council of Plymouth," an association composed 
of forty of the wealthiest and most powerful men in 
the realm of England. This body corporate was, 
according to its charter, established " for the plant- 
ing, ruling, ordering, and governing of JSTew Eng- 
land in America." 

Their grant included more than a million square 
miles lying between the fortieth and the forty- 
eighth degree of north latitude, and westward to 
the " South sea," i. e., the Pacific ocean. It was con- 
veyed to them as absolute owners of the soil. It 
embraced the finest j^ortion of the continent, and 
within its limits are now some of the most flourish- 
ing of the United States. 

But now comes the last and most im23ortant of 
this series of questions concerning title, being the 
one on which all the others have their foundation, 
viz.. How did the king of England obtain the right 


to sell or give away any part of the lands of IN^orth 
America? Through its discovery by her navigators, 
John Cabot and his son Sebastian Cabot, in 1497, 
and later explorations, and eftbrts to colonize, Eng- 
land claimed the right to the whole of the continent 
of ^orth America, and l)y her constitution the 
title was vested in the Idng, with power to sell 
or convey the lands as he pleased. It will be ob- 
served that in these conveyances no regard what- 
ever was had to the natural rights of the Indians, 
the aboriginal inhabitants and possessors of the 
lands, though in a few cases the settlers in some 
of the earliest townships went through the form of 
a treaty and purchase of their land from the natives. 
Such was the case with old Haverhill, in Massa- 
chusetts, to which town so many of the Sutton fam- 
ilies trace their ancestry. 

The names of those gentlemen who purchased 
the right of Mason to the 'New Hampshire lands 
were Theodore Atkinson, Mark Ilunking Went- 
worth, Richard AYibird, John Wentworth, George 
Jafltrey, Samuel Moore, IN^athaniel Messerve, Thom- 
as Packer, Thomas Wallingford, Jotham Odiorne, 
Joshua Pierce, and John Moffat. 

The transfer of Mason's claim was made in 1747, 
the whole being sold in fifteen shares, of which 
shares Theodore Atkinson took three fifteenths, 
Mark Hunking Wentworth took two fifteenths, and 
the other proprietors took one share each. 

Immediately on receiving their deed of the New 
Hampshire lands, the Masonian proprietors com- 
menced granting townshijDS to petitioners on terms 
conceded by all concerned to be rather lil^eral 


towards the grantees. The petition to the Maso- 
nians for the grant of a township was usually com- 
menced with a list of the names of the sixty men 
who were " of one mind, and desire their names may 
be entered upon this paper in order that they may 
have a tract of land granted to them and their heirs 
forever." Then follows the petition to the " gen- 
tlemen whose right it is to grant:" "We being the 
loyal and dutiful subjects of His Majesty King 
George, pray you to grant or give to us a part of 
the land which is to be laid out into townships in 
our frontier above." 




The grant of the tract of land nnder the name 
of Perrystown was given by the Masonian ^^roprie- 
tors at the above date at Portsmonth. The tract 
was granted equally to the sixty grantees named, 
as also 

one share to the first settled minister, one share for the support 
of the gospel, and one share for support of schools, — 

making in all sixty-three shares. It was described 
as being on 

the west side of Kyarsargy HUl, 7:^ miles long, and 5 miles wide, 
and to contain 36 square miles. It was to be run out within eight 
months, so as to contain 72 one-hundred-acre lots, and 64 one-hun- 
dred-and-sixty-acre lots. The last named to be called the 2nd Divi- 
sion Lots. 

The grantors reserved for themselves 

a strip of land one mile wide and 7:^ miles long, the whole 
length of the town, on the east side of the same, to be divided into 
18 lots. 

These lots are commonly spoken of as the Lord 
Proprietors' Lots. In choosing this section for their 
own reserve they certainly showed good policy, 


these lands being so situated as to get the wash 
from Kearsarge mountain and hill, and their rich- 
ness is not yet exhausted, as is the case with some 
of the hill-side farms in Sutton. The land that was 
left after the 1st division (the one-hundred-acre 
lots) and the 2d division (the one-hundred-sixty- 
acre lots) were made, was to be equally divided 
among the shares of the previous divisions. The 
grant required that 

Within two years from the date thereof, the grantees shall have 
a saw-miU built. In three years each owner shall have three acres 
cleared for tillage. In four years each owner shall have a house 
16 feet square, or equivalent thereto. In five years there shall be 
thirty families. In six years shall be a meeting-house built, and 
preaching, and fifty families on said tract of land. In seven years 
the owners to settle a minister of the gospel. 

The charter contained the usual reservation of 
all white pine trees for the king's navy. The 
enforcement of the last named provision, in towns 
settled at an earlier date than Sutton, proved so 
exasperating to the people that some writers on the 
Revolutionary period estimate the influence of this 
in arousing the spirit of resistance which led to the 
Revolution as fully equal to the influence of the 
offensive tea, molasses, and stamp acts. All white 
pine trees from fifteen to thirty-six inches in diam- 
eter were reserved for the royal navy. The office 
of surveyor of the "Idng's woods " was holden by 
Governor Wentworth, who had his deputies in all 
places where the j^ine grew in plenty. These depu- 
ties were the cause of much vexation and trouble. 
The owner of a piece of land, before he commenced 
cutting, was under the necessity of employing a 


deputy surveyor to mark the trees upon his land 
reserved for the use of the king-; and if he neglect- 
ed to have his land thus surveyed from inal)ility to 
pay for surveying, or from any other cause, and 
proceeded to cut his tim|)er, the same was forfeited 
to the king. 

In this way whole mill-yards of lumber, got out 
by the settlers for building their houses and barns, 
the work, perhaps, of an entire winter, were often 
forfeited. As soon as the deputy had placed the 
king's mark upon a tree or log, it was the property 
of the king, and no one dared to touch it. 

But it is not probable that any of the noble old 
pines of Sutton ever sutfered the indignity of being 
branded by the deputy with the hateful Broad Ar- 
row which marked the king's ownership. ISTot only 
the remoteness of the situation of this tract of land, 
and the lack of convenient roads leading thither, 
and the distance from any stream suitable for raft- 
ing such timber, were its safeguards, but the date 
at which settlers had need to cut down the trees for 
use was too near the Kevolutionary period, 1775, 
when by the flight of the governor the royal 
authority was at an end. 

The first grant or charter of Perrysto^vn was 
obtained 'Nov. 30, 1749. This grant was renewed 
Feb. 24, 1751. The time for fulfilling the condi- 
tions of the charter having expired and very little 
having been done in the premises, it l^ecame neces- 
sary to procure a new one, which, after no small 
amount of trouble and the payment of $300, was 
done August 18, 1773. It is not probable that the 
original charter cost the Perry stown proprietors 


any thing more than the expense of making the 
survey, the Masonians trusting to get their pay 
through the increased value of the lands they re- 
served for themselves. Townships were frequently 
granted to ^petitioners who had done service in the 
wars with the French and Indians. 

Obadiah Perry, for whom our township was first 
called, and whose name is first on the list of grantees, 
was of Haverhill. We find in the history of that 
town that during the war of 1744-1748, nine men 
were called for from Haverhill, and his name heads 
the list as corporal. 

As we find him termed " Capt." Obadiah Perry, 
it is probable he was promoted to that rank during 
actual service. But on the renewal of hostilities he 
was killed by Indians, and his name ceases on our 

To illustrate the difficulties of the proprietors and 
early settlers, it will be well to introduce some ex- 
tracts from " The Proprietors' Book of Records," a 
manuscript volume of many pages of thick, coarse, 
foolscap j)aper, yellow, stained, and worn by time 
and nuich use. It is very difficult to read, the ink 
being much faded, the manuscript cramped and 
small, the paper being without rules, and much of 
the orthography and syntax faulty. 

Yet to the historian, the antiquary, the descend- 
ants of those whose names are occasionally found 
on its pages, its value is beyond price. It covers a 
period of forty years. 


Warning for Proprietors' Meeting. 

Haverhill District, Dec ye 5, 1749. 

To the proprietors with Capt Obediah Perry and Daniel Poor 

granted by the Proprietors of John Tufton Mason's Rights in the 

province of N. H. 

You are hereby notified to assemble and meet together at the 
dwelling house of Daniel Poors in Haverhill District, Thursday the 
11th day of Dec. current. All those who have any demands on the 
Society for service done in the affair at 9 o'clock in the forenoon, 
and the rest at one in the afternoon, then and there to settle the 
Rearages, also to choose Proprietors' clerk, Tresorer [treasurer] 
for the Society, and committee to recon with the same, and to 
warn meetings for the future. Also a commity to lay out the 
township into Lots, and to raise money for to defray the charges 
for doing the same. 

And to act on any other thing or things that the Society shall 

think necessary. 

Obediah Perry ) p 
Daniel Poor J 

At the meeting assembled in consequence of this 

Capt Obadiah Perry was chosen Moderator 

Daniel Poor Clark for the Society 

Joseph Noyes Treasurer. 

Timothy Clement Siu"veyor, — And we have agreed with him for 
fifty shillings a day, Old Tenor, and he is to find himself vittles 
and drink, and all things that he wants for himself. — \*i( 

Capt Obadiah Perry was chosen Comity man to go to lay out the 
tract of land that was granted. 

Also Daniel Poor, Stephen Whittaker, Benj° Eaton, Daniel Rob- 
erts are chosen Commity men, and are to find themselves for 28 
shillings a day. Old Tenor. 

Tills Commity are to lay out the tract of land they are chosen 
for, by the middle of April next ensuing. 

Thomas Hale, Samuel Little and James Graves were chosen a 
Committy to recon with the Treasurer, and settle with those that 
have any demands on the Society. Voted that 9 pounds. Old 
Tenor, shall be raised on each Right, to be paid 40 shillings forth- 


with into the treasviry and 4 pounds by the last of March next, and 
the remainder as soon as the land shall be laid out. 

Voted that Daniel Poor shall be a Collector to go to every man 
that is delinquent of 2)aying the money or giving his note, and it is 
a vote of our Society that every man he goes to, is to pay to the 
Collector a reasonable charge, or forfeit his Right. (To meet the 
current and other expenses, several assessments had been made.) 

Plaistow, June 21, 1750. A meeting of proprietors called at the 
house of Joseph Noyes, "to see if they will choose a man or men 
to return our case to the Grantures [Grantors] in behalf of the neg- 
ligent Parte that have neglected or refused to pay their Dews for 
laying out said tract of land." Also "to see what the proprietors 
will see cause to doe ConSarning the drawing their Lootes [Lots] 
and whatever else may be thought proper to be done. 

At the meeting, among other things, "it was voted that the com- 
mity that laid out the land, shall go and demand the Plan of the 
Surveyor, forthwith, so they may couple the Lots." A committee 
was then chosen to demand the Plan of the Surveyor, who was 
present, but "he refused to let them have it." 

Then voted "that a com. be chosen to go to Portsmouth to repre- 
sent our case to the Grantors," and also they were empowered to 
see if they can get liberty to draw their Lots at home, — And if 
they can't, they are empowered to draw them at Portsmouth. July 
6, 1750, the Com. sat, and coupled the Lots to the best of their 
ability, as some of them have given their oath to." 

"Voted and allowed to Timothy Clement 44 pounds Old Tenor, 
to satisfy him for surveying our township." 

The difficulty between the surveyor and the pro- 
prietors appears to have been occasioned by the 
unwillingness of the latter to pay him for his 
work, — and a settlement was achieved only after 
a law-suit threatened, and perhaps commenced. 
Then he gave up to them the plan of the township, 
and they proceeded to "couple the Lots." 

The coupling was done in the following manner: 
The lots all being numbered, one No. of the 1st Div. 
and one IN^o, of the 2d Div. were written upon the 


same ticket, and so on nntil the whole nnmber of 
tickets were thus filled, discretion being used so as 
to make all the tickets as nearly equal in value as 
possible. The tickets were afterwards drawn for, all 
the proprietors who chose to do so being present at 
the drawing, which took place at the house of Ann 
Slayton, widow and innkeeper at Portsmouth, ]S^. 
H. It was at the same house that the Masonians 
met the petitioners for the grant of Perrystown, 
and there gave them their charter. 

Timothy Clements, who was the man employed 
to make the survey of Perrystown, was quite noted 
in his profession. We find in Provincial Papers, 
Vol. 6, page 24:6, the Provincial Assembly voted 
him twenty shillings for " his surveying and taldng 
a plan of Winnipisiokee Pond." 

July 14, 1750. Com. chosen to bound the Lots that are not yet 

Voted, That every man shall go, or send a man in his room to 
clear a road to said "tract of land" also that every man that is 
delinquent of going to clear the road shall pay 28 shillings a day, 
Old Tenor, for every day that the other men are gone to clear the 
road, and coming home. 

Voted, That every man shall meet at the house of James Graves 
in Hampstead, on the 10th day of Oct. next ensuing, for to go to 
the tract of land to clear a road. 

Again, a meeting is warned for the Ittth of Octo- 

"To see what the proprietors wiU do concei'ning going into the 
woods," at which meeting the time for going was appointed for the 
2nd of Nov. 

Voted, That all the Drink the Moderater calls for at our meet- 
ings, to be paid for out of the treasmy, and no more. 


There were settlers in the town of Hopkinton in 
1740. Warner was granted in 1735. We may 
therefore suppose that a road was ah*eady cleared 
through Hopkinton and a part of Warner. 

In 1751 the Perrystown proprietors, having 
failed to meet their obligations as to settlement, 
succeeded in obtaining from the Masonians a 
renewal of their grant, and, as it appears, without 
much difficulty. 

Plaistow, May 11, 1752. Voted that the Delinquent Rights 
shall be sold at Vendue. At the next meeting June 16, " James 
Pecker was chosen in Rum of James Graves to sell the Rights, and 
to give Deads of those Rights that are sold." 

At this meeting, Timothy Clements, James 
Graves, Caj^tain Perry, Thomas 'Nojes, Ebenezer 
Gile, and Jacob Woodward were chosen a com- 
mittee to go and clear a road to the meeting-house 

Voted '' that building the meeting-house for the present is let 
alone " 

Pursuant to the vote to sell delinquent rights, 
appears the following 

Ad Ver Tisement. 

To be sold at public Vendue to the highest Bider on Tuesday 
June 16th, at 10 o'clock A. M. Several Rights or shares, in a tract 
of land granted to Capt. Obadiah Perry and others, lying abought 
six miles north from Hojikinton in N. H. 

The said land laid out abought 2 years ago, it being well watered 
by a river running through said tract of land called Almsbury 
River, and well timbered chiefly with Oack and Mapel and Beach. 
The conditions of seal will be published before the Vandue begins. 
To be holden at the house of Samuel Little in Plaistow in N. H. 
May 13, 1752. 

Every person that wanteth informing more particularly about 
s'd land may inquire of s'd Little. 

















Number of the Rights sold, and what they were sokl for, at the 

To Mr. Benjamin Herrod was Nocked off three Rights or 
Shares, which were 

No. 40, 1st Div. and No. 30, 2nd Div. 

28, " " " 36, " 

55, " " " 9, " 

To Mr Ebenezer Gile was Nocked off 3 Rights 

No. 56, 1st Div. and No. 8, 2nd Div. 

30, " '' " 46, 

67, " " " 23, " 

Aug 29, 1752. Voted that the Right that Mr. Benjamin Herrod 
bought at the Vendue that was No. 40 return to Daniel Poor, and 
the Right that Mr. Cushin drew Mr. Herrod should have a deed 
of, his paying 38 Lbs for said Right. 

May ye 7, 1753. Warning for Town Meeting. 

These are to notify and warn all the proprietors of a tract of 
land granted to Obadiah Perry and others by the grantors of John 
Tufton Mason, that they meet at the house of Samuel Little in 
Plaistow on ye 2nd day of this instant May at one of ye clock in ye 
afternoon, to act on ye following particulars. 

1st to choose Town Officers as ye law directs in ye case. 2d, to 
see if ye Society will build a Court-House which may be convenient 
for a Meeting-House ; and also build a saw-mill in said township, 
and in manner how, and by whom it shall be done. 3d, To see if 
every proprietor shall build a house on each of their Lots of the 
1st Div. and clear a piece of land by it, and how soon it shall be 

And it is also desired that every Delinquent do bring in their 
money that shall be due, or else their Rights will be forthwith sold 
to the highest bidder. Joshua Page, Benjamin Herrod, 

Thomas Noyes, James Pecker. 

Plaistow, June 30, 1753. Voted that a Meeting-House be built 
40 foot in length, and 30 in width, with logs, and 20 ft in height, 
coated over and covered with long shingle, and finished by the 10th 
day of Sept. next. Voted to raise the money to build the Meeting- 
House or Court House. 


In thus calling a town-meeting to choose town 
officers for a town that for fourteen years thereafter 
did not have a single white inhal)itant, it does seem 
as if the proj^rietors were a little too fast. 

As for the solid structure they j^ropose to build 
for a meeting-house, it was never built. The pro- 
prietors never built any meeting-house except on 

For the next few years the minutes in the record 
are unimportant, because very little was done by 
the proprietors on account of the breaking out of 
the second French and Indian War, which put a 
decided check upon the progress of settlements 
northward. But the reduction of Canada, in 1760, 
gave peace to our borders and a new impulse to 
emigration. Many new townships were granted 
by the governor of JSTew Hampshire on both sides 
of Connecticut river; for the soldiers returning from 
Canada in passing through those regions became 
acquainted with the value of the lands. 

The proprietors of Perrystown seem to have 
waked to a consciousness that their township was in 
a fair way to have some neighbors, and that among 
so many new grants there might be danger of losing- 
some part of their own territory if their title should 
not be assured and established by due metes and 
bounds. This had been done at the original survey 
in 1749; but the twenty years that had passed since 
that survey was made must have obliterated the 
traces of it to some extent. 

October 17, 1761. Meeting at John Hall's in 
Plaistow, where most of the early meetings of Sut- 
ton proprietors were held. Capt. Daniel Johnson, 


Thomas N^oyes, and Daniel Poor were chosen com- 
mittee to peraml)nhite the lines of said town or tract 
of land, and look out a mill place, and make return 
at the adjournment of this meeting, ]^rovem]:>er 30. 

The committee proceeded to search for the land, 
found it still there, and made return that they had 
"been to Perrystown, and renewed our bounds by 
new marking the same, and spotting trees on our 
town lines, on the east, north, and west sides of 
said tract of land." There was no chance for dis- 
pute concerning the southern boundary line, War- 
ner not being officially surveyed till 1772, eleven 
years after this re-survey of Sutton. Therefore the 
Perrystown proprietors, having found their north- 
ern boundary, had only to measure off the seven 
and one fourth miles in length given them l)y their 
charter, and there find their southern bound, with 
none to dispute their claim to their thirty-six square 

The committee also gave this as their opinion 
regarding the best location for a saw-mill, " that the 
best place to set said mill is on the Falls in Kear- 
sarge River, which Falls bear southerly or south- 
westerly on from our Meeting-House Lot." The 
proprietors voted to pay the committee who peram- 
bulated the town line 217 pounds 5 shillings for 
their services. 

Six years more elapsed before the first actual 
settler moved into Perrystown ; l)ut a further 
search of the record shows that the proprietors 
were not idle during this time, that in fact they 
made no inconsiderable effort to fulfil the condi- 
tions of the charter, and so to save it from forfeit- 


ure. The first and most necessary thing to do was, 
of course, to clear roads to and through " said 
tract of hind," and some kind of a highway was 
opened above Hojokinton in 1763. The committee 
that cleared the road received their pay for sixty- 
one and one half days at 4 pounds Old Tenor per 
day, 24:6 pounds, besides 22 pounds and 15 shil- 
lings that was paid the pilot. 

The proprietors held out good inducements to 
get settlers to go to Perrystown, and offered boun- 
ties foi" the same. 

July 25, 1763. Voted that if ten men will settle their Rights 
in one year, according to the grant they shall have one hundred 
shillings each, paid by the proprietors. 

Nov. 5, 1764, Several Lots were sold by the proprietors to indi- 
viduals, at auction, for Taxes unpaid. Lot No. 56, in 1st Div. 
sold to Joshua Knight at ten shillings, Hampshire Old Tenor, per 
acre. Lot 63, 1st Div. at 8 shillings six pence per acre, Hamp- 
shire Old Tenor, Samuel White Mod. of this meeting. Thomas 
Wadleigh, Timothy Ladd, Esq. and John Kimball, Assessors. 

Benjamin Kimball, Thomas Wadleigh, Samuel Bean, chosen 
Com. to find and repair roads in Perrystown. 

Dec. 11, 1764. At John Hall's in Plaistow Sale of Delinquent 
Rights in Perrystown, at Vendue, No. 53 — Div. The first Lot 
sold " Noct off" "to Nathaniel Eaton, at 11 shillings per acre," 
which I promise to pay on receiving my Deed 

Nathaniel Eaton. 

The above named ISTathaniel Eaton afterwards 
settled in Sutton, but, according to the statement 
of his son I^athaniel Eaton, the centenarian, did 
not remain many years. Becoming discouraged by 
the severity of the winters in the new town, he sold 
out, and returned to Haverhill, but his descend- 
ants remained in Sutton and vicinity. He was a 
soldier, for Haverhill, in the Revolutionary War. 


Dea. Matthew Harvey afterwards became owner 
of his lot in Perry stown. 

Oct. 31, 1765. Voted to raise fifty pounds, lawful money 
forth\\-ith to be paid for the encouragement of settlers, also 
Voted that five pounds be given to the first man that shall build a 
house, and clear tlu-ee acres of land in Perrystown and so to pay 
each man till it comes to the number of ten. 

June 29, 1767. Voted that the ten men that engaged to settle 
shall fulfil their settlements by the 4th Tuesday in Oct. next or 
forfeit their bonds. 

Voted to raise five pounds to be laid out in mending roads, and 
making them in Perrystown where they are necessary to promote 
the settlement of the town. 

Nov. 30, 1767. Voted that if any of the ten men that first 
engaged to settle in Perrystown don't complete their settlement 
according to the bonds they have given so to do by the 1st of July 
next, 1768, that any other man or men of the proprietors of said 
township that shall first settle to make up the nmiiber ten, and 
shall complete their settlement, shall be entitled to four pounds per 
man. Voted to build a saw-mill : that Thomas Wadley, Benjamin 
Kimball, Samuel Bean, Ebenezer Noyes, and Jolin Knight be a 
committee to build said mill. 

Aug. 31, 1769. Voted to give any man one hundred dollars, 
and one Hundred-Acre Lot [No. 75, 1st Div.] who shall engage to 
build a good saw-mill on said Lot by the last of Oct. next. Eben- 
ezer Noyes agreed to do it. Voted to raise two shillings on each 
Right to give to the first three families that shall settle in Perrys- 
town this Fall, and abide there. 

Voted to allow Thomas Wadleigh, Samuel Bean and John 
Knight three shillings and sixpence per day for six days each 
when they went up to Perrystown as committee to find a place to 
build a saw-mill, and to find a road further up in said town. 

Voted to allow Jonathan Nelson 3s. 6d. per day for work on 
roads in Perrystown 5 days, also for four days work of his boy 
five shillings. Voted to allow Ephraim Gile 3s. 6d. per day for 
5 days. 

Of the men named in the above vote, Samuel 
Bean was the ancestor of the Beans in Sutton, 


Thomas Waclleigh of the Wadleighs, Ephrahn 
Gile of the Giles, and Jonathan ^N^elson of the 

Voted to give Jacob Davis what was formerly voted to each of 
the first ten men that should settle in Perrystown, also to give any 
of the proprietors who shall move into Perrystown with their fami- 
lies and settle there by the first of June next, six dollars. 

Jan. 29, 1770. Agreably to previous notice, several Rights were 
sold for Taxes. The tax on each Right was 21 sliillings. 

Apr. 2, 1770. Voted to give Jacob Davis one Lot of land. 
Voted that a road shall be cleared to each man's Lot when he 
moves into town. 

Voted to give Ephraim Gile same as Davis if he wUl move into 
town by the last of June next. 

July 2, 1770. Voted to give Cornelius Bean six dollars as he 
has moved into town with his family. Voted to raise 6s. on each 
Right to be laid out in clearing Roads. 

Voted to clear a road through Perrystown according to act of 
Assembly passed March 16, 1769, to have a road cleared from 
Boscawen to Charleston in the Province of N. H. John Knight, 
Thomas Wadleigh, Reuben Currier, Samuel Peaslee chosen Com. 
to clar the road. 

This year the proprietors made considerable 
effort to promote the growth of the settlement by 
bringing it into eommnnication with other settled 
localities. In the April preceding the date of the 
last vote they agree to give Ebenezer ]N^oyes six 
pounds to clear a horse-road from the westerly set- 
tlers in Salisbury to the settlers in Perrystown. 
Several of the colonists in these two towns came 
from the same vicinity, and doubtless the 023ening 
of this road was much desired, not only as a busi- 
ness convenience, but as giving opportunity for the 
renewal of the old social ties, and the extension of 
new ones, — for life in the wilderness is lonely at 
the best. 


This road commenced near the Maloon place or 
Smith's Corner in Salisbmy, and ran throngh Kear- 
sarge Gore near the sontherly base of the monntain, 
to settlements in Sntton, about a mile south or 
south-west of Ivezar's pond, a distance of ten or 
twelve miles. In early times this road was much 
travelled by Sutton settlers who went to Salisbury 
to trade. Traces of it are still visible in many 
places. Settlements had begun in Salisl)ury as early 
as 1750, and to Perrystown, certainly, it was no 
small advantage to l)e brought into business and 
social relations with a community now twenty years 
old. There is a touching incident connected with 
that locality and those early days, that will not be 
out of place here. It was related to the writer by 
Mrs. Jonathan Harvey, daughter of Thomas Wad- 
leigh, Esq., the principal actor in the story. 

Before the road was completed, the wife of Jon- 
athan Wadleigh, an early settler in Sutton, died 
leaving an infant a few days old. How was it to 
be taken care of ? Hoav made comfortaljle, or even 
kept alive? In his distress, the bereaved man Ivuew 
not what to do, except to send the babe to its moth- 
er's relatives in Salisbury; but how to accomplish 
that was the question, ^o woman could make her 
way through the long miles of wilderness and 
swamp that lay between the steep hills of the Kear- 
sarge range. Help came in the person of his brother 
Thomas. Leaving the desolate husband to bury 
his dead, the faithful brother at once took the help- 
less babe in his arms, and, with a bottle of milk in 
his pocket, set out on foot, and, finding his way l)y 
spotted trees, reached his destination with his infant 


charge iii safety. This baby's reLntives were named 
Miles, and it lived and grew to a worthy manhood, 
by name Thomas Miles AVadleigh. Mrs. Wadleigh, 
the yonng mother so snddenly taken out of life, was 
the first person buried in what is now the South 
burying-ground, but which had not then been set 
apart for that purpose. 

July 1, 1771. Voted to give Samuel Bean 18s. for his cost in 
clearing out the road when he went into Perry stown with his team 
to move in his son Samuel and family. 

Sept. 3, 1770. Voted a grindstone of about 8 shillings value to be 
sent up to Perrystown, for the use of the settlers there. 

The votes copied from the Proprietors' Records 
indicate much anxiety to get settlers to move into 
Perrystown. One cause of this anxiety was that 
they were about this time in danger of losing their 
charter through failure to fulfil its conditions as to 
settlement. If forfeited, it would cost them some 
money to get it renewed. 

The following votes found on their records show 
them to us almost as plainly as if we could actually 
see them worrying through their difticulty. 

Sept. 30, 1771. Voted to choose a committee to go to Portsmouth 
to be at the meeting of the Proprietors of Mason's Patent to con- 
sult about the affairs of Perrystown. Com. chosen, — Josiah Bartlett, 
Esq., Major Enoch Bartlett and Timothy Ladd. 

Nov. 5, 1771. The proprietors having received a copy of the 
resolutions of the Masonian Proprietors respecting their terms for 
granting a further time for settlement, it was voted and resolved 
that we think the terms proposed too hard, and that oui" Com. apply 
to the Masonians for more favorable terms. June 4, 1772. Voted 
that the present Com. chosen to act with the Proprietors of Mason's 
patent shall fully agree with them on the best terms they can. 

June 23, 1772. Meeting called to see if the proprietors wiU 
accept the terms offered by the Masonians. 


Voted not to accept, — then voted that Josiah Bartlett Esq., 
Tmiothy Ladd Esq. and Major Enoch Bartlett be a Com. fully- 
empowered and authorized to make a final settlement with the 
Proprietors about a new Grant of Perrystown provided it can be 
obtained on such terms as they shall think reasonable ; and to give 
security on behalf of the Perrystown proprietors, for any sum they 
can agree for not exceeding 90 pounds. 

Voted to raise $300 for a new grant of Perrystown if it can be 
had on other terms reasonable. 

Voted that Samuel White Esq. be added to the Com. to settle the 
affairs of Perrystown as above. 

July 27, 1772. Voted that we think the proposals of the 
Masonians' Com. of the 22nd of July instant too hard, and that our 
Com. to settle with them proceed to make a final settlement (if on 
reasonable terms) with the Masonians as they may think proper, as 
soon as they can conveniently. 

Aug. 17, 1772. Voted that we accept the terms agreed upon on 
the 7th. instant, between our Com. and the Masonians' Com. to 
make security for the payment of the money on their receiving the 
new grant. 

Voted that those of our proprietors who shall pay aU or any part 
of their proportion that it costs to get a new grant before the Com. 
go down to get it, shall be allowed sixpence on the pound for ad- 
vancing the same. 

The new grant, which was ol3tamed after so much 
ditiiculty, and at a cost, as it appears, of $300, was 
dated August 18, 1773. 

The Bartletts, Gov. Josiah and his brother 
Major Enoch, for their services in this transaction 
were allowed as follows: 

Voted to allow Major Enoch Bartlett 12 Lbs for his time and 
expense as a committee man at divers times to Portsmouth, also 
Col. Josiah Bartlett for Ditto 4-9-7. 

Also Timothy Ladd " 6-6-8. 

Also voted to allow said Com. the interest of the money they 
have engaged to pay to the Masonian Projirietors, because the 
principal ai'n't paid. 


And it was not paid for some years after that 
time, if ever, as the following letter will show. It 
is here copied entire, not alone because of its con- 
nection with the subject now before us, but because 
the Avriter was the much trusted and honored 
j^atriot of the Revolution, Gov. Josiah Bartlett. It 
is now one hundred and three years smce it was 
written, and the signature looks precisely like the 
same signature on a much more important docu- 
ment — the Declaration of Independence. 

As elsewhere stated in this history, Esq. Bartlett 
had become a proprietor in Perrystown by the pur- 
chase of a right : hence his interest, and the impor- 
tant aid he rendered by his influence with the 
Masonian proprietors as one of their associates and 
ecpials, and also by himself becoming responsible 
for a portion of the money demanded by them for 
re-granting the charter. 

Kingston, Dec. 22, 1786. 

Sir, — You doubtless remember that before the late war the 
Masonian Proprietors made a demand of the proprietors of Perrys- 
town of a siun of money to be paid to prevent the said town from 
being declared forfeited, and re-granted, (i. e., to other petitioners,) 
and that the Perrystown proprietors agreed to pay a considerable 
sum to the Masonians, and voted a tax to raise the money, — and 
that Major Bartlett and myself, by order of the proprietors, gave 
security for the same. That secimty still lays (as I am informed) 
uncancelled. What has been done with the money raised by said 
tax, I know not, but think it is time that the Proprietary affairs 
should be settled, and that security taken up by some means or 
other, for I am not willing to have it lay any longer against me. 

I should think it best that a meeting of the proprietors should be 
called as soon as conveniently may be, to call the former Collectors 
to account for the moneys that they have received and agree upon 
some method of settling with the IMasonians. 

Perhaps there may be some otlier business which I am imac- 


quainted with that may be necessary to be acted on by the proprie- 
tors at said meeting. 

As I am informed that you are Clerk of the proprietors, I would 
request that a meeting may be called for the above piu'pose, and 
any other that you may think necessary, as soon as may be, and I 
will endeavor to attend the meeting and use my efforts to have the 
affairs settled. 

I have frequently mentioned this affair to Esq. Samuel Wliite, 
and he gave me reason to expect that a meeting would be called, 
but I have not heard of any, and I am not easy to have it lay so 
any longer. I am. Sir, your friend etc. etc. 

JosiAH Bartlett. 

In order to conclude the account of the Bartlett 
claims, the following letter is inserted here, although 
the date of it carries us far ahead of the time we 
have now reached in the compilation of this history. 
It was found bound up in the same package with 
the preceding. 

To Matthew Harvey Esq. 

Salisbury, June 22, 1798. 
Sir, — 

Bailey Bartlett Esq., son to Major Enoch Bartlett, late of Haver- 
hill Mass., has left with me two orders, one of which was drawn 
upon the Treasurer of Perrystown, Cutting Marsh, by the Assessors, 
for £12, dated July 8, 1774, the other in favor of John Hall for 
24s. and dated Oct. 28, 1774. 

These sums, with the Interest Mr. Bartlett now calls for and has 
left the orders with me for collection. Be so obliging, sir, as to 
mention the business to the proper persons, and persuade them to 
make innnediate payment. 

I am sir, with much respect 

Your humble servant, 

Thomas Thompson. 

After being brought before proprietary meetings 
at various times, the difficulty still unsettled passes 
over into the next century, when it is brought 


before the town at town-meeting ; but the town, by 
a vote to call a meeting of the proprietors, refuse to 
take any action. The following are some of the 
votes regarding this matter. 

Apr 25, 1787. Voted that Josiah Bartlett Esq. and Major 
Enoch Bartlett be a com. to apply to the Masonians to see if they 
will be so good as to give up their note to the proprietors of Perrys- 
town for part or the remainder of the money that was demanded 
for re-granting said town, or that they will endeavor to get rid of 
it as it was not given " for Value Received " — and that they do not 
pay it till recovered by law. 

In Town Meeting Apr. 17, 1800, — In Warrant — To see what the 
town will do in respect to a Writ in favor of Bailey Bartlett Esq. 
for a debt due to him by the proprietors of Sutton. Voted to sub- 
mit the article in the Warrant to Mr. Moses Hills to get all the 
information he can respecting the Writ mentioned in foregoing 
Warrant, and to report the same to the town. At adj. meeting 
May 3, 1800. Then met according to adj't. Voted that the 
Selectmen shall call a proprietor's meeting as soon as may be. 

The atiair was probably settled without a lawsuit, 
as it does not appear again on the records. 

In the preamble of the new grant, the Masonians 
state that the time for the performance of the con- 
ditions contained in the first and in the additional 
grants is long past, and the conditions thereof re- 
main unperformed, whereby the property of the said 
granted lands has reverted to the said grantors, — 
that the grantees having become duly convinced 
that their lands are justly forfeited according to the 
conditions of the first grant, and having solicited 
said grantors to indulge them with a longer time to 
perform the conditions thereof, and to dispense with 
the settling of a minister, which settling was one of 
the conditions of the first grant, have decided to 
indulge them. The Masonians being, as they state, 


'^^ desirous to encourage the settling of the said 
lands," they conclude that they will not insist on 
the settling of a minister. They also extend the 
time for fulfilment of conditions of the charter two 

1772. Voted that Major Enoch Bartlett, James McHard and 
Cutting Marsh be a com. to agree with Ebenezer Noyes or some 
other man to build a grist-mill in said town, to be completed the 
first of June next, and to engage to the value of $100, to be paid 
by our Treasurer, by an order from them in proportion as the charges 
arise, and to enter into bonds on the affair. 

Voted to raise 150 Pounds to defray the charges of the Propriety. 

1773. Voted that if there is not upon the original Right of Capt. 
Obadiah Perry, — now Col. Bartlett's — land fit for settlement, he 
shall have other lands proper for it of the undivided lands in town. 

Some fourteen years after this vote was put on 
record, Dea. Matthew Harvey and Benjamin Wad- 
leigh were chosen a committee to view Esq. Josiah 
Bartlett's lots of land in town, to ascertain if they 
are fit for settlement. They, reported that 

The 1st Div. Lot is but ordinary, but some Lots in town are 
settled on meaner land than that, — but that the 2nd Div. Lot we 
think will do for a pretty good settlement. 

These lots were either N^o. 22, 1st division, and 
]Sro. 32, 2d division, or JSTo. 72, 1st division, and ^o. 
1, 2d division. Obadiah Perry owned one of these 
rights, and Obadiah Perry, Jr., the other, but in the 
schedule the writer forgot to affix the Jr. to either 

Apr. 5, 1774. Voted to allow Ebenezer Kesar 42s. for his labor, 
and others he hired to build a bridge over the river between Benja- 
min Wadleigh's house and his own house, and work on the road 
there fourteen days. 

26 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Apr. 24, 1776. Jolm Knight, Samuel Peaslee, Silas Russel and 
Benjamin Wadleigh be a com. to determine what private ways are 
necessary to be opened or cleared for settlers, with power to lay 
out or exchange such ways where wanted, and to make a due 
return thereof, — also said Com. or any two of them may labor, or 
employ others for making said ways, or repairing public highways 
all at the charge of this Propriety. Voted Samuel Bean be added 
to this Com. to see the roads made passable. 

Sept. 23, 1776. Voted that Samuel Peaslee, Silas Russel and 
Eplu'aim Gile be a Com. to open, repair, and clear necessary ways 
in said town for the inhabitants and travellers at the charge of the 

The meeting at which the last vote was passed 
was arranged in manner following : A petition was 
sent to Wyseman Claggett, Esq., one of the jnstiees 
of the peace throngh the state : 

We the subscribers who are proprietors of more than a sixteenth 
part of a new plantation called Perrystown desire that you will 
issue your Warrant for warning said proprietors that have com- 
pleted their settlement according to the first and second grants of 
said town tp meet at the house of Enoch Knight, Innholder in 
Atkinson on Monday Sept. 23, 1776, at 2 p. m. to act on the fol- 
lowing particulars, viz : 

1st, To choose all such officers as shall be necessary to serve in 
said Propriety. 

2nd, To see what method to take with regard to the Rights that 
the settlement wa'n't completed by the 1st. of Nov. last. 

3rd, To choose any Com. that may be wanted to do business for 
the Propriety. 

4th, To raise any sum of money that may be thought necessary 
to defray Charges. 

5th, To come into some method how to warn meetings for the 

(Signed by) 

Humjjhrey Noyes Ebenezer Noyes 

Matthew Harvey Thomas Noyes 

Thomas Wadleigh Joseph Noyes 


The Avarning- was issued by Esq. Claggett, and 
with the foregoing petition was printed in the Exeter 
Circulating Morning Chronicle. The proprietors 
met according to warning, and chose Captain 
Thomas ]N^oyes moderator, and John Knights clerk, 
who was empowered to call a future meeting on 
application of any six of the proprietors. 

This was really the first town-meeting held for 
Perrystown, and, under the name of committees, 
men were chosen to do the public work, who, we 
may assume, were just as faithful and efficient as 
if they had been termed selectmen. The embryo 
town had now assumed at least a tadpole stage 
of development, which in 1784, eight years hence, 
we shall see exchanged for perfected froghood, 
by the process of incorporation. 

All previous meetings noted on the proprietor's 
record book were held not so much in the interest 
of Perrystown as of the propriety. Of this word 
" propriety," in the peculiar sense here used, refer- 
ence to proprietary records of other Xew Hamp- 
shire towns shows that it was not confined to Per- 
rystown. It was used as an abbreviated expres- 
sion of the body of proprietors — the corporation. 

When met, it was voted that any proprietor who did not perform 
the settlement of his respective Right before the 1st of Nov. last, 
but shall duly complete the same by the 1st of Nov. next, shall be 
fully entitled to his Right so settled, — and that where two or more 
owned a Right, and one of the owners shall perform the settlement, 
he shall have the Right if he has given due notice to his partner to 
join him. 

Voted that the cost of warning this meeting in the public prints 
shall be paid by the Propriety, — also the expense of this meet- 
ing at the house of Enoch Knight in Plaistow, which is 6s. 0. 


Meeting adj. to Monday Nov. 1st at house of John Hall inliolder in 

The next entry in the record book is as follows : 

None attended but the clerk and one or two men, — so it ceases. 

There is not another entry made till March 3, 
1787, which was three years after Perrystown was 
incorporated under the name of Sutton. The entry 
is as follows : 

The reqviest of a number of the proprietors of Perrystown 
alias Sutton in the Province [had the clerk forgotton that N. H. 
had been a State for several years ?] of N. H. to Mr. John Knight, 
clerk of said proprietors. We desire that you would warn a meet- 
ing of said proprietors by posting advertisements in the several 
towns directed, to meet at the house of John Hall, Innholder in 
Plaistow on Wednesday April 25th next, at 2 o'clock P. M. to act 
on the following particidars. 

To choose a Moderator and all proper officers, viz. a Clerk, 
Assessors, and Collector. 

To choose a Com. to settle with all former Collectors, and pass 
and allow accounts. 

To choose a Com. to settle with those whose lands are cut short 
by ponds, or to make them a reasonable allowance. 

To choose a Com. to make sale of the undivided land in town 
for payment of debts or as may be agreed when met. 

To see what the proprietors will do respecting the Rights of 
Matthew Harvey, and Daniel Marsh, who both drew one Lot in 
the 2nd Div. 

To examine and adjust the default of Ebenezer Noyes about a 
grist-mill in said town and to determine how to warn future 

Enoch Bartlett Isaac Peaslee 

Enoch Marsh Matthew Harvey 

Cutting Marsh Thomas Wadleigh 

Stephen Woodward Zebediah Sargent 

The proceeding's at this meeting were according 
to the articles in the warning. 


Voted, That Matthew Harvey and David Eaton [that were the 
former Com. to employ a Surveyor and Chainmen to find the com- 
mon and undivided land in town] be a Com. to make allowance 
for ponds, and to divide the remainder in quantity and quality to 
each share or Right, and number the Lots and report at our next 

Jan. 16, 1789. Last Meeting held in Plaistow. 

Moderator, Capt William Pressey. 

Clerk, John Knight. 

As few of the proprietors attended, the meeting was adjourned to 
the house of Dea. Matthew Harvey in Sutton on May 14, 1789. 

Met accordingly and voted that Capt. Stephen Harriman, Capt. 
William Pressey and Matthew Harvey are chosen Com. to settle 
with all the former collectors that are not settled with, and all 
those that have any demands upon the Propriety. Voted that the 
meeting stand adjourned to the 2nd Tuesday in January, 1790 at 
the house of Matthew Harvey in Sutton at 4 o'clock P. M. 

Matthew Harvey, Pro. Clerk. 

The Proprietors' Record here ends. The third 
and hist division of hinds has taken place, and the 
proprietors as a body have nothing more to dispose 
of, and so withdraw from active interest in Sutton 
affairs, leaving the little remaining proprietary busi- 
ness to be closed up by a committee. 


Copy of the Order for Taking the Census of 1775. 

In Provincial Congress. 
New Hampshire August 25th, 1775. 

Wheras, it is necessary that an exact account of aD the Inhabi- 
tants of this colony should be taken, in order to be transmitted to 
the Cong-ress of the United American Colonies : 

Therefore resolved, that it be recommended to the Selectmen of the 
several Towns and Parishes, and other Places in this Colony to take 
an exact Number of the Inhabitants of their respective Districts, 
including every Soul in the same, in separate Columns, as follows : 

Males under 16 years of age ; males from 16 years of age, to 50, 
not in the army ; all males above 50 years of age ; Persons gone 
in the army ; all females ; Negroes and Slaves for life. 

And in such Places where no Selectmen are chosen that the 
Selectmen of the next adjacent Town take the same, or some suita- 
ble person living in such Place by their Appointment. 

And that the return thereof be made to the Committee of Safety 
for said Colony, as soon as may be, by the Selectmen or Selectman 
or Person appointed, who shall take the same upon oath to their 
Fidelity and Impartiality therein, wliich Oath any Justice of the 
Peace or Town Clerk is impowered to administer. 

And wheras a late Requisition of this Congress that every Town, 
Parish, and other Places within this Colony return the Number of 
the Fire Arms in their respective Districts fit for use, and the num- 
ber wanting to compleat one for every person capable of using them, 
has not been complied with ; therefore it is now earnestly recom- 
mended that the same be forthwith done, adding these to the Quan- 
tity of Powder in each Place, and where there is a Public Stock, to 
return a separate Account thereof, and that the whole be returned 
to the Committee of Safety for this Colony. 

And it is further recommended that no part of the aforemen- 
tioned business be delayed ; for its being as speedily done as possible 
will be of great Utility to the Colony; and it is strictly further 
enjoined, upon all Selectmen and Committees to endeavor to prevent 
all persons from burning their Powder in shooting at Birds and 
other Game, — 

By Order of Congress. 

Matthew Thornton 


^iu:n^icipal history 

1773. In 1773 there were in Perrystown 12 Tax Payers. 
Rateable Estate 9s. Proportion of public taxes 9s. on every £1000 
— the least of any town in the County. No meeting called in 1775. 
1775. Enumeration of Inhabitants of the town, taken by Benja- 
min Wadleigh by order of Provincial Congress. 

Perrystown and Fishersfield were taken together. In both towns 
there were 
Males under 16 years of age ...... 39 

" from 16 to 50 years of age . . . . .22 

" Above 50 years of age ...... 5 

" Gone in the Army ....... 4 

Females .......... 60 

Total, 130 
12 Guns — No powder, — no Slaves. 

Sworn to before Daniel Flanders, — Warner. 

Sept. 23, 1776. The Proprietors who had completed their settle- 
ment held a meeting at the house of Enoch Knight, Innholder in 

Voted that Samuel Peaslee, Silas Russell, and Ephraim Gile 
clear and make roads necessary at the charge of the Proprietors. 

We find no record of ninnicipal meetings till 
1777, after which town-meetings were annually 
held, and town officers chosen. 

We find no record of Proprietors' meetings from 
1778 to 1787. The colonies were at war with 
Great Britain till 1783, and in this one absorbing 

interest it seems that 
nearly forgotten. 

all minor interests were 


April 25, 1787, a meeting was held in Plaistow- 
Dea. Matthew Harvey and David Eaton were again 
chosen a committee to employ a snrveyor and chain- 
men to find the common land in town. 

Jan. 2, 1788, Dea. Matthew Harvey and Enoch 
Marsh were chosen a committee to draw lots of the 
third division for each original proprietor of the 
common or undivided land in Sutton. 

The last meeting of proprietors of which we have 
any record was held -at the house of Dea. Matthew 
Harvey in Sutton. 


"We refer to those who settled in Perrystowii 
previous to 1780, naming them in the order of 
their settlement. The term " settlers" should be 
understood to mean those who were of age, or land- 
owners, abiding here with their families, if any 
they had. 

1767. David Peaslee and his son Samuel. 

1770. Cornelius Bean, Samuel Bean, Jacob 
Davis, Ephraim Gile, Jonathan Stephens. 

1771. Benjamin Wadleigh, Jonathan Davis. 

1772. Matthew Harvey, Ebenezer Keyser. 
177o. Silas Russell, Benjamin Philbrook, Jr., 

Phineas Stevens, Capt. William Pressey, Jeremiah 

The other settlers previous to 1780 were Pain 
Tongue, Daniel Messer, Benjamin Masten, Jacob 
Masten, David Eaton, Samuel Andrew, Benjamin 
Critchett, Jonathan Wadleigh, Joseph Wadleigh, 
Capt. George Harden, Samuel Roby, Jonathan 
Roby, Jonathan JSTelson, Philip and Asa ^N^elson 
(sons of Jonathan) , Moses Quimby, James King, 
Ezra Jones, Francis Como, Peter Peaslee, Abra- 
ham Peaslee, Joseph Johnson, Jonathan Johnson 
(brothers), Caleb Kimball, Thomas Wadleigh, 
I^athaniel Cheney, and some others. 

David Peaslee married a sister of Samuel Bean, 



1st, and settled at the base of Kimball's hill, known 
as Downiftg Corner. He had a family of eight 
sons and several daughters, one of whom married 
Capt. Ephraim Hilcb*eth. 

David Peaslee was the ancestor of the Peaslees 
now living in town. He died about the first of the 
present century. 

Samuel, his son, came here with his father ; sub- 
sequently lived where E. B. Lear lives, and in his 
last days lived at the South Village, where he 
died in 1821, aged 75 years. His wife died soon 
after, leaving a large family. 

Samuel Peaslee was a man who had cleared more 
land, made more bridges and roads, built more log 
houses, carried more grain on his back to Hoj^kin- 
ton to be ground, and endured more hardship, than 
any other man who lived in town. His eldest 
daughter was the first female born in town (1771 ) , 
married Samuel Andrew, Jr., and died here in 1839, 
leaving descendants. 

Cornelius and Samuel Bean were sons of Sam- 
uel Bean, of SandoAvn; came here in 1770. Cor- 
nelius lived near David Peaslee's, where, in that 
same year, his son Joseph was born, being the first 
child born in town. Cornelius had been in the 
French War, and was at the taking of Quebec by 
the English. He was a man of great physical 
strength, and was accustomed to move from place 
to place. It was said of him that he would Iniild a 
house, and move into it the same day. Many anec- 
dotes are told of him. He was more inclined to 
help others than to help himself. He died in Sutton 
about 1823, leaving no children living in this town; 


even the first born, to whom the town voted a lot 
of land at its birth, never claimed more than two 
or three feet, as it did not survive its infancy. The 
wife of Cornelius survived him many years. 

Samuel Bean settled near where Milton B. 
Wadleigh lives. He was a man of energy and 
sound judgment; was frequently chosen one of the 
selectmen, and was selected to build mills, find 
and clear roads, and execute various other kinds 
of public business. He had nine sons, — Isaac, 
Jacob, Samuel, Joseph, Moses, Benjamin, "William, 
Ephraim, Reuben. One daughter married Isaac 
Fellows, one married a Mr. Phillips, of Glover, 
Vt., and one ncA^er married. Isaac, Jacob, and 
Ephraim always lived in Sutton, and died here 
leaving families. Benjamin and Samuel removed 
to Glover, Yt. Joseph and Moses went to Hat- 
ley, Canada East, where they died leaving families. 
In 1831, William and Keuben went to Corinth, 
Me., where the latter was living a few years ago. 
This family (the Beans) were noted for industry, 
cheerfulness, and some of them were fond of sport. 
They and their offspring have made more roads 
and more stone wall than any other family in town. 

Jacob Davis resided where in the recent years 
has resided Mr. A. M. Cumings. He had passed 
middle age when he came here with his fiunily, 
among whom were John, Jacob, Aaron, Anna, 
Betty; Ezekiel was born after coming to Sutton. 
Jacob Davis was an industrious, trustworthy man. 
By his neighbors he was often called "Father 
Davis." He selected a favorable locality and good 
soil, and was a prominent former. A strange 


fatality seemed to affect his family. Jacob and 
John were insane, and died, leaving families, 
some of whom were insane. Betty and Aaron 
never married: the former was insane. Ezekiel 
lived on the homestead. He was not fond of 
farming-, but possessed a good share of mechanical 
skill. He manufactured wooden ware ; was a 
cooper and maker of farming implements. None 
of the descendants of Jacol) Davis, Jr., now live 
in town except the descendants of his daughter, 
who married Moses Davis, son of Jeremiah. 

Ephraim Gile was the progenitor of the Giles of 
Sutton, and from him Gile's pond takes its name. 
He lived east of Benjamin Wadleigh's farm. Mr. 
Gile came from Haverhill, Mass. His farm is still 
known as the " Gile farm," although the buildings 
are no longer there. 

He built the first cider-mill in town, a rude log 
structure, of course, but still it served its purpose, 
since he, according to his own statement, "made 
therein the first year, from eight bushels of apples, 
one barrel of whole cider, one barrel of water-cider, 
and one barrel of charming good drink." The 
trees from which this cider was made are still 
living, and in bearing condition. The seeds from 
which they originated were brought from Haver- 
hill, Mass. 

Ephraim Gile had two sons, Reuben and David, 
and several daughters, one of whom, Lydia, married 
Jacob Masten. After the death of his first -wife, 
who accompanied him from Haverhill, Ephraim 
Gile uiarried for second wife the widow of Eben- 
ezer Keyser, and for third wife the widow of 


I*^atlianiel Eaton, who was mother of the late JSTa- 
thaniel Eaton, the centenarian. Ephrahn Gile died 
about 1820, aged 90 years. 

Benjamin Wadleigh was the oldest of nine sons 
and three daughters of Thomas Wadleigh, Ilamp- 
stead, who was the progenitor of all the Wadleighs 
of Sutton and vicinity. The average age of this 
great family was more than seventy-five years each. 
Their names were Benjamin, Jonathan, Joseph, 
Thomas, John, Moses, Ephraim, Aaron, Henry, 
Judith, Betsey, Susan. The father, Thomas, never 
resided permanently in Sutton, but became a proj)ri- 
etor of the town before its settlement. 

By the Proprietors' Kecord, we tind that he was 
here in 1763 as one of a conunittee to clear and find 
roads, make mills and other necessary preparations 
for settlement. He had been in the French War, 
and was said to be a man of remarkable physical 
power and endurance. His sons John and Thomas 
were in the l)attle of Bunker Hill, and in most of 
the battles of the Revolutionary War. John sub- 
sequently joined the Shakers at Canterbury, and 
continued with them till his death at the age of 
about ninety-five years. 

Among the descendants of Thomas Wadleigh, 
Sen., are ex-Senator Bainbridge Wadleigh of 
Boston, George A. Pillsbury and ex-Governor 
John S. Pillsbury of Minneapolis, Minn., the late 
Gilbert Wadleigh of Milford, Edward D. Burnham 
of Hopkinton, late state councillor; Thomas Wad- 
leigh Pillsbury, G. W. Wadleigh, Benjamin E. 
Badger, Dr. Moses Wadleigh Russell, John E. 
Robertson, and the widow of Hon. J. Y. Mugridge, 


all of Concord, ^N". H.; Benjamin E. Porter, Esq., of 
Lynn, Mass.; Hon. Thomas Wadleig-h Harvey, 
Painesville, O., late commissioner of common schools 
for the state of Ohio; Milton Wadleigh, Galena, O., 
engineer and land surveyor of Jo Davis county; 
G. A. Wadleigh and Corliss Wadleigh, merchants 
of Boston; and Lydia F. AVadleigh, lady superin- 
tendent of X. Y. Female IN'ormal College. 

Seven of the sons of Thomas Wadleigh, Sen., 
settled in Sutton, and one daughter mai-ried the 
late Hon. Benjamin Evans, of Warner. 

Benjamin Wadleigh's family was the seventh 
that moved into Sutton. His age at that time was 
22 years; his wife, who was a daughter of Ebenezer 
Kezar, was ag'ed 19. They brought with them one 
child, the other children l^eing born in Sutton. He 
lived where his great-gi-andson, Milton B. Wad- 
leigh, now resides. Before coming here he had 
learned the trades of shoemaker (including snow- 
shoes) and tanner, of Judge Calef, of Hampstead. 
He had three sons who lived to adult age, Jesse, 
John, and Benjamin; and five daughters, Mehit- 
able, Hannah, Judith, Dolly, Susan. Jesse and 
John went to Hatley, P. Q., early in this century, 
had femilies, and died there. Benjamin remained 
on the homestead; was justice of the jDcace, rep- 
resentative, town-clerk, selectman, and county 
judge from 1833 to 1853, when his age disqualified 
him. He died in 1864, on the farm on wliich he 
was born, aged 81 years. Children: Eliphalet, 
Luther, Erastus, Milton, Benjamin, Gill)ert, Han- 
nah (m. Col. I^. A. Davis), and Lydia. 

Mehitable Wadleigh, a daughter of Benjamin 


Wadleigh, Sen., married Jonathan Carr, of Canaan, 
]N^. H. He soon died, leaving her with two small 
children, who soon died also. Hannah, another 
danghter of Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen., married 
Joseph Bean, had three children, two of whom snr- 
vived her. Jndith, third danghter of Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Sen., married Ebenezer Towle, and 
moved to Canada. Little is known of her pos- 

Jonathan AVadleigh was an elder brother of Ben- 
jamin, Sen., was a tax-payer m Sntton in 1779. 
He afterwards removed to ^orthfield, l^T. H. — an 
early pioneer in the settlement of that town : set- 
tled on Bean hill, and afterward on Bay hill. He 
was father of Jndge Peter Wadleigh, of Xorth- 
field, and had several other sons and some dangh- 
ters. He was three times married. His first wife 
died in Sutton, leaving an infant son a few days 
old. Jonathan Wadleigh died in 1833, being quite 

Doll}^, fourth daughter of Benjamin Wadleigh, 
Sen., died early, without issue. 

Susan, fifth daughter of Benjamin Wadleigh, 
Sen., married John Pillsbury, Esq., and they had 
four sons and one daughter, viz., Simon W., 
George A., John S., and Benjamin F., now all res- 
ident in Minnesota, and Dolly, who married Enoch 
P. Cummings, of Concord, ]Sr. H., and deceased 
leaving one son, Charles. Mrs. Susan (Wadleigh) 
Pillsbury died May 2, 1879, in the 85th year of her 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen., was the first man in 
Sutton who received the appointment of justice of 


the peace. He Avas moderator of most of the town- 
meetings for the first twenty-five years, and occu- 
pied a leading position in town. In 1798 he Avas 
appointed assistant assessor of direct tax under Col. 
Ebenezer Webster, of Salisbury, fiither of Daniel 
Webster. He was not, however, much inclined to 
assume official responsibilities, except in cases of 
necessity. He died in 1817, in the full Aigor of 
life, in his 69th jenr. He Avas the youngest at the 
time of his death of the nine Wadleigh l^rothers. 
His death was occasioned by a slight Avound on the 
knee, in Avhich he "took cold," as the term is, so 
that inflammation set in folloAved by mortification 
and rapid death. 

Jonathan DaA'^is came to Sutton soon after Ben- 
jamin Wadleigh, and settled Avhere P. IN^. Little 
resides. He had a family of eight children, a^z., 
Jonathan, Hannah, DaA^d, Sally, ^abby, Philip, 
Polly, Phebe. The three first were born l)efore 
moA^ng into toAvn. Jonathan, Jr., had a large 
family, and died here at the age of 86 years. 
Philip died in Charlton, Yt., aged about 92 years. 
DaAdd, the father of Col. JN^athaniel A. DaAds, 
resided in town during most of his life; married 
a daughter of Jiev. Samuel Ambrose, and died at 
the age of 91 years. 

Jonathan Davis, Sen., died suddenly, beside the 
road near his OAvn house, about 1800. His Avife 
surviA^ed him many years. Her death was hastened 
by a fall after she was 90 years of age. She was 
noted for piety and industry. Some of their de- 
scendants are liA^ing in this town. 

Ebenezer Kesar settled near the entrance" of the 


^^^^^nad <:yaia&?i/ 









stream into Kesar's pond, which takes its name 
from him. It is not certain that he came directly 
from his native place, Haverhill, Mass., to this town, 
bnt he had spent most of his life there, and there 
his ancestors had resided from a very early period 
in the history of this conntry. Being a man of 
innnense bodily and mental activity, he was jnst the 
person to aid and enconrage the settlers, as well as 
to do his own share of the hard work in this remote, 
rock}^ wilderness. . Indeed, it was said of him by 
an early writer of sketches of some of our town's 
ancient fathers, that " he soon became a master 
spirit among them." He had some means at his 
command. He was old enough to have acquired 
considerable experience in life (his son Simon, 
who came here when he did, had already a family 
of his own) , and he had most wonderful and ver- 
satile capal^ility. 

Matthew Harvey, at the age of 22, came here 
from Nottingham, and settled where his grand- 
dauo-hters, Mrs. Watson and Mrs. Knowlton, now 
live. Like all our early settlers, his wealth con- 
sisted of his mental and physical powers. He 
remained unmarried till 1779, when he married 
Hannah Sargent, of Weare. Soon purchased more 
land and employed help, and took the lead in farm- 
ing. He was possessed of sound judgment; was 
sasracious and industrious in hisofinancial business. 
He was a man of piety, and upon the formation 
of a church was its first deacon; made justice of 
the peace in 1798. He was the first representative 
from town in 1798. He died in 1799, aged 19, the 
wealthiest man in town, leaving five sons, — Jona- 


than, Matthew, PhiHp, John, and Benjamin W.; 
also, two daughters, — Susan, who married Joseph 
Emerson of Hopkinton, and Hannah, who ^married 
Dr. AYiUiam Dinsmore, of Henniker. Seven years 
after the death of her first husband, Matthew Har- 
vey, Mrs. Harvey married for second husband Esq. 
Tliomas Bailey, of Hopkinton, by whom she had 
one son, John Milton Bailey, who died in Hopldn- 
ton, aged 80, in 1886. She died ^ov. 8, 1827, 
aged 66. 

Matthew Harvey was a native of Amesbury, 
Mass., where his ancestors had resided since a very 
early period in the town's history. His wife was 
also of Amesbury stock, being a descendant in the 
sixth degree from William Sargent, the emigrant 
ancestor, who settled in Amesbury in 1643. 

Jonathan Harvey was the eldest son of Matthew 
Harvey, Sen., being born in Sutton on the home 
farm of his father in 1780, and dying on the same 
homestead eighty years afterwards. This home- 
stead farm, his inheritance, contained about 500 
acres of land, subject to the dower of his mother. 
In 1806 he married Ruth, eldest daughter of 
Thomas Wadleigh, Esq. Immediately after be- 
coming of age he began to take the lead in the 
politics of the town, by general consent and popu- 
lar favor stepping easily into the place made vacant 
so recently by the somewhat early death of his 
father. "Was chosen selectman, town-clerk, and 
representative. In a few years he became a leading 
politician of the state. He was president of the 
state senate six years, from 1817 to 1823; he wa» 
a member of the council in 1823-'24; was elected 

.^^. y/{i7iaMa% c/oa'mm. 


member of congress three successive terms. Sub- 
sequently he was chosen member of the state legis- 
lature. He was never defeated at the polls in any 
office for which he was a candidate. He was a prom- 
inent candidate for U. S. senator in 1834, but was 
defeated by Henry Hubbard. This was his first and 
only political disappointment, and, in the opinion of 
his friends, was to be attributed chiefly to the deaf- 
ness which was fast growing upon him, so as to 
somewhat obscure the clearness of his mental capac- 
ities. In 1836 he was elector of president and 
vice-president. In his meridian he was of pleasing 
address, social and humorous, free from ostenta- 
tion, and f\imiliar with all. He had a perfect 
physical organization in size and form, with an 
attractive and intelligent countenance, and pos- 
sessed remarkable conversational powers. He had 
the confidence of his fellow-townsmen, and was 
usually selected as referee in law-suits. About the 
last case in which he acted in this capacity Avas 
when a dispute had arisen as to the ownership of 
a crop of rye. By a previous contract with the 
then owner of the land, the party sowing the rye 
was to have the crop, but the owner of the land 
sold the same without reservation. The purchaser 
of the land claimed the crop as being a part of the 
realty, under the statute. In making his decision 
as referee, his mind being strongly in fovor of the 
party sowing the rye, who was a poor man, Jona- 
than Harvey disregarded the statute, and stated that 
there was a " higher law " which said that " whatso- 
ever a man soweth that shall he reap," and that the 
state of ]N^ew Hamj^shire could not revoke the law 


of God, In his active, useful, honored hfe, Mr. 
Harvey found many warm admirers. He was a 
favorite with Gov. Hill, who used to ask the ques- 
tion in the Patriot, "Have you seen Jonathan 
Harvey?" The brightness of his latter days was 
much obscured by mental and physical debility. 
He became lame in consequence of a fall, and after 
that seldom left home except on election days. He 
died in 1859, leaving his paternal homestead to his 
posterity, by whom it is now possessed. 

Matthew Harvey, 2d, was the second son of 
Dea. Matthew Harvey, born in 1781. Graduated 
at Dartmouth college in 1806, being the first gradu- 
ate from Sutton. He subsequently studied law, 
and settled in practice in Hopkinton. In 1818 he 
was speaker of the house of representatives. Ref- 
erence to the foregoing sketch of Jonathan Har- 
vey will show that during those years both branches 
of the legislature were presided over by two broth- 
ers, Jonathan and Matthew Harvey, at the same 
time. In 1823, Matthew Harvey was chosen mem- 
ber of congress; in 1825, president of the state sen- 
ate; in 1828 and 1829, councillor; in 1830, elected 
governor. During this year he was appointed by 
Gen. Jackson U. S. district judge of JSTew Hamp- 
shire, which office he held until his death hi 1866, 
aged 85 years, l^o man in this state has dis- 
charged the duties of this office so long and accept- 
ably to the people, and so honorabl}^ to himself, as 
Matthew Harvey. While in his advanced age, no 
one wished to occupy his place without his volun- 
tary resignation of it. As an attorney, it was said 
of him that he was a good adviser and judge of law. 



za<^4m{/j' ^uiWx 


He preferred to compromise and settle suits with- 
out going to trial, and frequently looked more for 
the advantage of his client than for himself. He 
was genial, social, and kind-hearted, and was much 
beloved by his acquaintances. On occasions of 
public gatherings he was often selected to preside. 
The death of his wife preceded his two years. He 
had one daughter, Margaret Elizabeth, who died 
aged 21 years, and one son, Frederic R., gradu- 
ated at Union college, became a physician, went to 
Clinton, La., and died there leaving a family. 

Col. Philip S. Harvey, third son of Dea. Matthew, 
was always resident in Sutton. His paternal inher- 
itance was mostly in real estate. In his early days 
lived at the l^J'orth Yillage. Built there, and for 
some years was a trader. Married Mary, daughter 
of Kev. Job Seamans, of ]N^ew London. He was a 
military officer, and was colonel of the 30th Reg't 
]N^. H. militia, and was a prominent man in town. 
His death ocurred at the age of 70 years. His 
wife survived him several years; no descendants 
living, his only child l)eing a daughter, Mary, crip- 
pled from her birth — neV'Cr married. 

Col. John Harvey, fourth son of Dea. Matthew, 
was born in 1788 ; died suddenly in 1850, aged 62 
years. Was not fond of farming. Sold his pater- 
nal inheritance, and learned a mechanical trade, at 
which he worked more or less through life. Was 
a man of public business. Was selectman, dejDuty 
sheriif, and was land surveyor for many years. At 
one time owned the mills on the fells above Mill 
Yillage. Lived mostly at ^N'orth Yillage. He had 
one son, Matthew Harvey, of ^N^ewport, editor of 


the Argus S Spectato7^; also several daughters. 
His wife, Sally, daughter of Dea. Joseph Greeley, 
died in 1876, aged 88 years, 3 months. 

Benjamin W. Harvey, youngest son of Dea. 
Matthew, resided many years in the state of l^ew 
York. Returned to Sutton, and lived here several 
years. Removed to Concord, where he died. Had 
a numerous family. Some of his sons have been 
extensively connected with carriage manufacturing 
in Concord and elsewhere. 

Silas Russell came to Sutton from Jaifrey, settled 
where his grandsons Aaron and Seth Russell live. 
He had several sons, Seth, Levi, and Amos ; one 
daughter married Jonathan Wadleigh. He served 
in the Revolutionary War for Sutton. He was a 
prominent citizen of Sutton, and a thrifty farmer. 
His oldest son, Seth, lived on the homestead, and 
died there at the age of 82 years. The other sons 
of Silas Russell left town soon after becoming: of 



Benjamin Philbrook, Sen., was somewhat ad- 
vanced in life when he came to Sutton. Joseph 
Johnson, Ensign Phineas Stevens, and Thomas 
AYalker, married his daughters. His wife died in 
1813, aged 100 years and 12 days. His son Benja- 
min lived where Converse Gage now resides, and 
had several sons, who left tow^n before his decease. 
But few of his descendants now live in this 

He held several town offices, but, by those who 
were boys at the time he operated here, was more 
particularly laiown and long remembered as the 


Capt. William Pressey, the progenitor of the 
Presseys in town, came here from Haverhill, Mass. 
Settled where his grandson, Capt. William Pres- 
sey, lived and died a few years ago. 

We find by town records that he was selectman 
in 1780 ; served as first captain in the militia in 
town. He bnilt a log honse, which was bnrned; 
and he built a framed house (the first framed house 
in town) on the same location, and resided there 
till his death in 1812. Was a man of much energy, 
self-reliant, and a successful farmer. His wife is 
represented as having been a fine looldng, agreeable, 
intelligent, and pious lady. She survived her hus- 
band many years, and died at the age of 84. Capt. 
Pressey had two sons, Capt. Amos Pressey and 
John Pressey; also several daughters. 

Capt. Amos Pressey was an active business man ; 
was deputy sherifl!' for more than twenty years ; 
also was constable and collector for many years. 
He was frequently moderator of town-meetings, for 
which office he was remarkably well qualified. He 
was a large, stout man, possessed of a liberal share 
of humor and ready wit combined with keen per- 
ceptive faculties and good judgment. Many are 
the amusing anecdotes related of him, and some of 
his peculiarly witty speeches are yet remembered. 
He died in 1839, and his wife survived him many 
years, she dying at the age of 88. They had a 
large family, some of them yet living in town. 

John Pressey, Esq., only brother of Capt. Amos, 
was born in Sutton in 1777. Resided on the home- 
stead farm of his father till about 60 years of 
age, when he moved to Mill Yillage, where he 


died, ag-ed 81 years. Esq. Pressey was someAvhat 
different from his brother in some of his character- 
istics, — unassuming, candid, and gentlemanly in 
his deportment, cautious and sagacious in the 
management of his business. Was chosen to most 
offices in the gift of his townsmen, the duties of 
which he discharged to the acceptance of the town 
and with honor to himself. His brother Amos used 
to say of him, that "the trusts and honors, of which 
he received so liberal a share, were due not so nuich 
to his superior ability as to his good manners" — 
a remark which, if heeded, might ])e to the profit 
of many a young man. 

Esq. John Pressey's son William received from 
his father the old homestead, and made it his resi- 
dence. His son Carlos G. Pressey has been a, 
trader and prominent citizen of Sutton ; has served 
as town-clerk, post-master, and representative. 
]N^ow resides in Concord, jST. H. Esq. Pressey had 
one daughter, who married Ebenezer Andrew, and 
they were parents of Ruth M. Andrew, who married 
Rev. Roljert Stinson, who was chaplain in the late 
war, and died much lamented soon after his return 
from the army. Was chaplain of the Sixth regi- 
ment ]N^. H. Vols. 

Pain Tongue and Jeremiah Davis lived at the 
top of Pound hill east of the brick-yard, they living-^ 
together. Davis had a family, but Pain Tongue 
never married. After living here some years, they 
removed together to Grantham, I*^. H. 

In 1779 the annual town-meeting was held at the 
house of Pain Tongue, and also for several years 
subsequent. It was perhaps as compensation for 


this accoinmodation that in 1780 the town, accord- 
ing to the early record, voted to give Pain Tongue 
his rate for his head. It was customary to excuse 
men from paying taxes for poll after tliey had l)e- 
come infirm by age or otherwise. Men were not 
excused by law from paying poll tax after 70 years 
of age till 1789. 

Among the children of Jeremiah Davis were 
Moses, Isaac, Samuel, William, Susanna, Daniel, 
and John. Moses was the only one who did not 
accompany the family to Grantham. Ht^ remained 
in Sutton, married Anna, daughter of Jacob Davis, 
and had a large fjimily. He was somewhat eccen- 
tric. Was not fond of labor, rather inclined to go 
to law, illiterate, fond of dogs in which he traded. 
For a long time his peculiar ways and manners 
made him a good subject of amusement for the 
young men of the time and locality. 

He had a passion for ardent spirits, in which he 
sometimes indulged too freely, and at such times he 
was wont to exhibit more than his ordinary wit. 
As a specimen, at one time Elder Ambrose found 
him lying in the road unable to help himself. " Mr. 
Davis," said the minister, " I am sorry to see you 
so much out of the way." " ^ot so," said Davis, in 
instant response, " I am right in the way, and canH 
get out of it." 

He was sometimes quarrelsome, but could rarely 
be made to believe he had been beaten, or, rather, 
the more he was beaten the more his strength and 
physical powers would seem to increase. His en- 
durance was indeed remarkable. Moses Davis was 
in the War of 1812. 



Daniel Messer came here from Amesbmy, Mass., 
in 1776, with a wife and eight chiklren ; and three 
more were born in this town. He settled where 
Moses Hazen, Esq., resided at the time of his death 
and several years previously. Daniel Messer also 
owned several adjoining lots of land. He was con- 
stable and moderator of town-meeting in 1779, sub- 
sequently selectman, and held other offices in town. 
The names of his chiklren were, — Sarah who mar- 
ried Reuben Gile, Thomas, Hannah who married 
Isaac Masten, Isaac, John, Jenny who married 
Whittier Perkins of Sunapee, Adam, Abigail who 
married ]S^athan Phelps, Phebe who married Israel 
Andrew, Elizabeth who married Benjamin Masten, 
born 1779, died 1875 in her 97th year, James who 
had the homestead farm. This family were distin- 
guished for regularity of life, industry, economy, 
and longevity. 

Benjamin Masten, from whom have descended 
the Mastens in this town, came here from Litchfield ; 
but he was originally from Amesbury, Mass. He 
settled near Daniel Messer's. He had lived here but 
a short time before he and his wife died, leaving a 
family, among whom were Jacob, nearly of age, 
Asa, Thomas, Isaac, and Phebe. Jacob and Isaac 
lived here till death, both being at an advanced 
age, leaving numerous descendants. 

David Eaton lived near the WoodAvard farm, and 
for many years was an active, influential citizen. 
He died here in 1806, aged 66 years. It is believed 
that he has no descendants living here. 

Samuel Andrew settled near the Burpee farm ; 
was a tailor by trade, being lame. The names of 


his children were Daniel, Mary, jSTathan, Samuel, 
John, Israel, Sarah, Hannah, Perley, and Betsey. 
After remaining in town nearly twenty years, he 
moved into JSTewbnry adjoining Sutton, but most of 
his sons resided here. Daniel lived at Mill Tillage, 
owned mills and a form Avhich he improved. Mar- 
ried a daughter of Moses Quimby, and had a family. 
Moved to Salisbury a few years before his death, 
and died there. 

Joseph Wadleigh one of the nine Wadleigh 
brothers, who were early settlers in Perrystown; 
lived on what is now called the Dodge or Coburn 
place; owned several lots of land; served as select- 
man and constable. Was a man of great strength 
and energy. He left town about 1800, with a wife 
and eleven children, and settled in New York. 
Little is knowni of him since he left. 

Ensign Phineas Stevens lived where Moses P. 
Cheney now lives (1881) . Was a prominent, useful 
citizen; was large and muscular, and possessed good 
common-sense as well as great physical powers. He 
died in this town at the age of 90 years. The 
names of his children were Benjamin, Asa, Joseph, 
James, Oliver, John, Betsey, Mehitable, Susan, 
Dolly. Dolly married Joseph Poby; died at Chi- 
chester Aug. 20, 1887, aged 92 yrs. 4 days. 

Capt. George Marden was one of the selectmen 
in 1781-'82. Had previously been constable. Little 
otherwise is loiown of him. 

Jonathan Roby lived on Birch hill in 1779, as is 
shown by the town record that this year the town 
voted to lay him out a road. Mr. Poby and his sons 
were noted as being stout, muscular men. Jonathan 


Roby was selectman and constable, and was deemed 
a worthy and reliable man. Was a snccessful 
farmer. Most of his progeny have left town. 

Samnel Roby and wife were, with the exception 
of one family, the progenitors of the Kobys in this 
town. He died in 1790, aged 86 years, — of course 
was born in 1704. Pro]3ably his birth was previous 
to that of any other person who has ever lived in 
town, and he was an old man in 1779. His offs])ring 
are numerous, and quite a number of them are living 
in town and vicinity. He died at his son Ichabod's. 
He was much older than his wife, who survived him. 
His name was spelled Kobee. His tax Avas 1£^ 
18s. 7d. Jonathan Roby's tax, 4£. 10s. 

Jonathan !N^elson, the ancestor of all the ]!^elsons 
in this town, among whom are (1881) sixteen legal 
voters, the most of any name in Sutton ; settled 
here about 1776, and owned the Mill Lot near Mill 
Yillage. He was more than fifty years of age 
when he came here from Rowley, Mass., with his 
sons, Asa and Philip. In his latter days he lived 
with them, and died in 1801 aged 77 years. His 
wife died soon after. He Avas here clearing roads, 
with one of his sons, in 1769. 

Dea. Asa IS^elson, son of the above Jonathan, 
lived on the farm uoav owned by his grandson, Mark 
JSTelson (1880). Dea. Kelson was a worthy and 
highly esteemed citizen. His counsel was sought 
both in civil and religious afiairs, was an exemplary 
man, a promoter of good morals and manners. He 
served as selectman, constable, and committee to 
lay out roads, and also Avas on other committees. 
He Avas sometimes styled Lieut. JSTelson, having- 


l)een a military officer. His descendants are worthy 
and respectable people, many of them living- in town. 

Philip ^N^elson resided near his brother Asa's; 
married a danghter of Moses Q nimby, and had a 
large family. His eldest son, Moses, was an enter- 
prising and snccessfnl farmer. Seven of his sons 
were in 1880 legal voters in this town. Philip and 
Jonathan JSTelson, two of his sons, left town before 
their deaths. His yonngest son, William, died at 
Mill Village, not very many years ago, leaving a 
wife and two children. One danghter married Dea. 
Ezeldel Little, had several children, and died while 
they were yonng. 

Moses Qnimby settled on the Sanborn farm, Mill 
Village. It was snbseqnently owned by Daniel 
Andrew. Mr. Qnimby had several danghters, bnt 
no son. He died in 1797. His wife snrvived him till 
1817. She was a very nsefnl woman in town, and, 
with Mrs. Cornelins Bean, had the care of the sick. 
They obtained their remedies from the vegetable 
kingdom, and were highly snccessfnl, as is shown 
by the fact that before they ceased their practice, 
on acconnt of old age, the town attained the 
greatest popnlation it ever reached. 

Ezra Jones settled near the Lnther Dresser 
place, and made and owned the first mill in town. 
He had several sons and danghters. It is believed 
that none of his progeny now live in town. 

Abraham Peasley, son of David, and brother of 
Samnel Peasley, lived where Samncl Peasley 
resides, and on the farm of Andrew Peasley, a 
grandson. The names of Abraham's children were 
Benaiah, born in 1780, Hannah, Phebe, Martha, 


Polly, Sarah, Abraliani, Dorothy, John, and Susan- 
na, the last born in 1801. Mr. Peasley was a thrifty 
farmer, and a useiiil, industrious citizen. He died 
suddenly in 1815. His wife survived him many 
years. She had a strong and retentive memory, 
and in her last days was able to supply, from her 
early experience and knowledge, some important 
facts, which are incorporated in this history — facts 
not only regarding her own experiences, but those 
of other early inhabitants of Sutton. 

Joseph Johnson settled and lived through life on 
the farm since owned by Francis Kobbins, called 
the Johnson farm. Mr. Johnson came here early 
from Kingston, or Hampstead, and was one of the 
selectmen in 1779; was a forehanded farmer, and 
was the first man taxed for money at interest in 
town. The names of his children were Joseph, Hen- 
ry, Sarah, Stephen, Moses, Susanna, Asa, IS^abby, 
Syrena, and Moody. In 1880, the last survivor of 
this large family was Moses, then living in Clare- 
mont, having been born in 1789. His son Daniel 
W. Johnson is agent of the Monadnock Mills and 
president of the Sullivan Savings Institution, and is 
a man of wealth and influence. 

Jonathan Johnson came here about the same 
time as his brother Joseph (the preceding) . Lived 
where his son Jonathan lately lived. Was a prom- 
inent and successful fai-mer; a man of sound judg- 
ment in all the practical duties of life. Was a lead- 
ing man in town ; for many years one of the board of 
selectmen, and coroner, and held other offices. His 
children were, — Judith who married John Blais- 
dell, Jonathan who died in 1807, Polly, Hannah, 


John, James, Sarah, Lydia, and Jonathan who 
was born in 1807. The three last were, in 1880, 
livinjr on the farm of their father, who owned it in 
1779. Mr. Johnson, in his hatter days, was remark- 
ably spry and active for a man of -his size and age, 
beino- a larofe man. The Johnsons were noted for 
longevity. Jonathan Johnson died in 1844:, aged 
90 ; Joseph Johnson died at the age of 98. 

Caleb Kimball came here from Goffstown. He 
settled on the hill which from him was called Kim- 
ball hill — the same locality which the Eatons, who 
are his descendants and heirs, now term Eaton 
Grange. Mr. Kimball was a man of great indnstry 
and energy, and a prominent business man. He 
kept tavern quite early, soon after the pubUc roads 
were opened. The first one was a much travelled 
road, from Xewljury on by Mr. John Nelson's over 
Dodge hill to the south village, and so on by Mr. 
Littlehale's and the Roby place to Kimball hill, 
and on to Warner. There was also another main 
road, passing from Croydon, Springfield, and New 
London to Dea. Harvey's, where was a tavern, and 
so on to Mr. Hazen's at the foot of Gile hill, 
thence southerly and intersected >vith the other 
road at the foot of Kimball hill. The house 
erected for a tavern is yet standing, and has been 
fitted up by the Eaton brothers and sisters for their 
summer residence. It is surrounded by about 1100 
acres of land owned by the same parties, most of it 
being covered with a thrifty second growth of 
wood and timber. Mr. Kimball was better edu- 
cated than most men of the town, and his family 
excelled in personal accomplishments as well as 


intelligence, and were deemed models in this 
respect. Mrs. Kimball was well adapted to the 
rearing and training of such a family. The names 
of their children were Mary, Lucretia, Caleb, 
Sarah, Betsey, Jacob, Phebe, Lavinia, Abigail, 
Ruth, and Sukey. 

N^athan Andrew settled near his father in Sut- 
ton; had a large family; was a worthy, industrious 
farmer — in fact, was one of the most substantial men 
of the town, being always much esteemed and 
respected by all who knew him ; lived to a good old 
age, and died in town, leaving a wife and a worthy 
and useful fEimily. His wife long survived him, 
and died at the age of 95. Her maiden name was 
Hannah Gregg, she being of the famous London- 
derry Scotch-Irish stock. 

John Andrew lived in town but little after be- 
coming of age. Went to Boston — a merchant. 

Israel Andrew has owned farms in different parts 
of this town. During the last fifty years of his life 
he lived where his son Israel afterwards resided. 
He had one daughter, who married Cyrus French, 
the father of Cyrus French now living in town. 
Israel Andrew was a man whose word was as good 
as his bond. He was of untiring industry, prudent 
and sagacious; never sought or would accept offi- 
cial positions; acquired a large estate; died at the 
age of 82 years, respected and beloved by his 

Samuel Andrew in his latter days lived east of 
John Merrill's: the place is sometimes called the 
Cotton place. He was a good, substantial farmer 
and devout Christian; married a daughter of Sam- 


iiel Peaslee, she being the first female chihl born m 
Penystown. Date of her Mrth 1771. They had a 
large and useful family. He died at the age of 70, 
and his wife died soon after. They have numer- 
ous descendants. 

Perley Andrew, the youngest son of Samuel 
Andrew, Sen., lived near his Ijrother ]S^athan, at 
the head of Long pond. He was an honest, pru- 
dent fiu-mer. Died at the age of about 80, leaving 
a wife and familv, a number of whom live in town. 
Of the daughters of Samuel Andrew, Sen., one mar- 
ried Dr. AYilliam Martin; one married Israel Put- 
nam, Esq.; and one married the late Hon, Samuel 
Jones of Bradford, and her death preceded that of 
her husband several years. She left a very intelli- 
gent and useful family. The offspring of Samuel 
Andrew are numerous, many of them possessing su- 
perior intelligence, enterprise, and business capac- 
ity, some occupying high positions in the nation, 
among whom, on the maternal side, are General 
John Eaton, for a long period IT. S. commissioner of 
education, and at present president of a college in 
Marietta, Ohio; his brother. Colonel Lucian Eaton, 
U.S. marshal of Tennessee; and Honorable George 
Jones, of Concord, formerly state senator; also 
Horace E. Andrew, Memphis, Tennessee, clerk 
U. S. court of that state. 

Benjamin Critchett lived on the place where 
Deacon ]S^icholas Rowell and son have for many 
years had ownership and occu])ancy. Mr. Critch- 
ett was here early, soon following Matthew Har- 
vey, whose sister, Miriam Harvey, of ]!^ottingham 
(daughter of Jonathan Harvey, of ]!^ottingham) , 


was Critchett's wife. They had a family, but after 
some years removed to Xew York. Critchett was 
in service in the Kevohitionary War. 

Thomas Wadleigh, one of the nine brothers be- 
fore referred to, settled in Sutton about 1779, on 
leaving the Revolutionary War ; located near where 
Converse Gage now lives. His ftimily were, — 
Ruth, who married Hon. Jonathan Harvey; Eliz- 
abeth married Deacon Asa ]!S^elson; Miriam mar- 
ried Joseph Pillsbury, Esq., and was mother of 
Thomas W. Pillsbury, Esq., of Concord; Daniel, 
father of Philip S. Harvey Wadleigh, of Warner. 
Polly married Edward Dodge, Esq. ; died, leaving 
one son. Sarah married Moses S. Harvey, and was 
mother of Hon. Thomas W. Harvey, late commis- 
sioner of common schools of Ohio. Martha married 
Sumner Fowler, of Hopkinton. Thomas married 
Hannah Roby, and died, aged about 45 years, leav- 
two sons and one daughter. Mehitabel married 
Thomas Cheney; died, leaving one son. Susan 
married John Burnham, of Hopkinton, and died, 
leaving three sons, — Edward D. Burnham, J. M. 
Burnham, John Burnham. The first of these 
three, Edward D., a 2)rominent man, member of the 
state coimcil, etc., died March, 1887. His brother, 
J. M., died young, leaving no issue. Upon the 
incorporation of the town in 1784, Thomas Wad- 
leigh became a leading man in town, being chosen 
town-clerk nearly twenty years, and selectman and 
representative many years. He also took an active 
part in military affairs, and was captain of the 
militia of the town. It happened that, on one 
occasion, at a general muster, he was not assigned 


his proper rank, and his soldiers refused to take 
the place assigned them; but he went upon the 
ground himself. The commander of the regiment 
sent a force to bring the men into line. They 
resisted, and finally did no duty through the day. 

James King was a tax-payer here in 1770 ; came 
from Hampstead. He had been pressed into the 
Eno'lish service at the time of the French War, but 
found opportunity to desert, and came here with 
the settlers. Was born in England. His sons, 
John and Xathaniel, were by his first wife, and 
born previous to coming here. Settled where J. 
M. Pressey now lives; died there in 1808. Was a 
prominent man in town — constable and collector. 

^N'athaniel Cheney came here about 1779. Born 
1754; died 1847, in his ninety-fourth year. Was 
son of Daniel Cheney, of Plaistow, whose father 
was Dustin Cheney, a descendant of Hannah 
Dustin who killed the Indians at Dustin's island 
when she was captured and carried there — near 
Penacook. ^N'athaniel Cheney had ten children — 
eight sons, two daughters. 1, Wait; went to 
l^ew York; had seven children; died 1828. 2, 
David ; served in the War of 1812 ; died in 1823, 
leaving four children. 3, Mary; married Asa 
King; died about 1817, leaving two sons, three 
daughters. 4, N^athaniel; married Sarah Pills- 
bury in 1811; died about 1872, aged 83, leaving 
two sons, three daughters. 5, Sally; l:)orn 1788; 
married Israel Morrill 1807; died 1823, leaving two 
sons, three daughters. 6, Isaac; born 1790;' died 
1855; had eight sons, one daughter. 7, Timothy; 
born 1793; moved to Xew York; married; died, 


leaving seven children. 8, Thomas; served in the 
War of 1812; married a dangliter of the late Thomas 
Wadleigh, Esq., who died, leaving a son, ]!^athaniel 
W. Cheney, present (1880) register of deeds for 
Grafton connty. Thomas died 1875, in his 80th 
year. 9, Silas, born 1798; died 1828, leaving five 
sons. 10, Caleb; born 1800; died 1826, without 
issne. Nathaniel Cheney, senior, lived near Joseph 
Johnson's; was in the Revolutionar}^ War; was an 
honest, upright man and a good citizen. He was a 
moderate farmer. 

We have now hastily and cursorily alluded to 
most of the settlers in Perrystown up to 1780, and 
also to some of their descendants individually. 
Among those noted for piety were Dea. Asa 'Nel- 
son and wife, Dea. Matthew Harvey and wife, 
Jacob Davis, Ephraim Gile, Daniel Messer and 
wife, Jonathan Roby, James King, Caleb Ivimball 
and wife, Mrs. Jonathan Davis, Mrs. Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Mrs. William Pressey, and some others. 
There Avas no church or preacher during those first 
ten years, but they met and held religious services 
weekly in private dwellings. 

We find no reference to schools during this time, 
yet most»of the children of that day learned, per- 
haps from their parents, to read and write, and 
were subsequently able to transact business cor- 

Finding and clearing roads was the great busi- 
ness of this time. Loads were carried on sleds or 
drags with oxen through the year. Travelling on 
foot in winter, whether hunting or otherAvise, was 
done on snow-shoes. 


Trapping and hunting were sources of income. 
The deer, moose, and bear furnished food and 
clothing. The beaver, sable, otter, mink, and 
other fur animals were plenty. 

The men cleared the land of the forests, and 
converted the wood into ashes, and, carrying it to 
the " potash," the lye was there leached from it and 
boiled down into " salts." 

The currency of the country had become nearly 
worthless. The war of the Revolution was going 
on, the colonies struggling for their independence. 
Men and means had to be furnished, or they nuist 
submit to the tyranny of the British government. 
There was no time for indolence. Every man had 
to help himself and his neighbors to the best of his 
ability. There was mutual dependence, and every 
man was a l^rother, and treated as such, and those 
ties of friendship and l)rotherhood never ceased 
till death. 

Ebenezer Kezar, and his son Simon Kezar, were 
the first blacksmiths, and made agricultural imple- 
ments and steel traps, some of which are still 
in use. 

Benjamin Wadleigh was the first shoe-maker, 
including snow-shoes. He was the first justice of 
the peace in town. 

Samuel Andrew was the first tailor. 

Ephraim Gile was the first tanner. He tanned 
mostly the skins of wild animals and sheep-skins. 

Capt. William Pressey was the first carpenter, 
and was also the first captain of militia. 

Jacob Davis and his sons made wooden ware, 
such as plates, trays, bowls, noggins, piggins, 

62 HISTORY OF sutto:n". 

platters, skimmers, ladles, and other wares. 
"Wooden ware was then much used in j^lace of 
crockery and earthen ware. 

Mr. Eri Colby informed the writer that his grand- 
mother, Mrs. Jonathan Davis, who lived near Jacob 
Davis, used to carry this wooden ware sometimes 
out of town on horseback and sell it ; and that some 
people thought the ware was worth more than the 
horse that carried it. 

Jeremiah Davis, Samuel Peaslee, and Jonathan 
Davis were brick-makers. Ensign Phineas Stevens 
was a cooper. Jacob Masten made weavers' looms 
and fixtures. 

Matthew Harvey was first deacon and first tav- 
ern-keeper, and was the first representative of the 
town after incorporation, 1785. At that date, 
however, Sutton had not enough ratable polls to be 
entitled to a representative, but was classed with 
other adjoining towns for that purpose. Warner, 
Sutton, and Fishersfield (now ]!^ewbury) elected 
Mr. Harvey this year. 

Tax-Payers m 1779. 

Samuel Andrews. Died In Newbury, aged 55. 

Samuel Bean. Died in Sutton, aged 77. 

French War. Cornelius Bean, brother to Samuel. Died in 

Sutton, aged 90. 
Leonard Coburn. Died in Sutton. 

Rev. War. Nathaniel Cheney. Died in Sutton, aged 93. 
Rev. War. Fi'ancis Como. Died in Sutton, aged 100. 
Rev. War. Benjamin Critchett. Removed to New York with 

his family. 


Jeremiah Davis. Died in Grantham about 1875. 

Jonathan Davis. Died in Sutton. 

Jacob Davis. Died in Sutton, aged 105. 

John Davis, son of Jacob. Died in Sutton (insane). 

Lieut. David Eaton. Died in Sutton, aged 66. 

Ephraim Gile. Died in Sutton, age 90. 

Benjamin Heath. Unknown. 

Robert Heath. Unknown. 

Matthew Harvey. Died in Sutton, aged 49. 

Ezra Jones. Died in Sutton. 

Joseph Johnson. Died in Sutton, aged 94. 

Jonathan Johnson, brother to Joseph. Died in Sutton, aged 98. 

James King. Died in Sutton, aged 79. 

Ebenezer Kezar. Died in Sutton, aged 73. 

George Marsden. Unknown. 

liev. War. Jacob Mastin. Died in Sutton, aged 78. 

Daniel Messer. Died in Sutton, aged 84. 

Amos Mills. Unknown. 

Lieut. Asa Nelson. Died in Sutton, aged 83. 

Jonathan Nelson. Died in Sutton, age 77. 

Rev. War. Philip Nelson. Died in Sutton, aged 86. 

David Peaslee. Died in Sutton. 

Jonathan Page. Unknown. 

Benjamin Philbrick. Died in Warner, aged 99. 

Rev. War. Abraham Peaslee. Died in Sutton. 

Peter Peaslee. Died in Bridgewater, N. H. 

Hezekiah Parker. Died in Sutton. 

Samuel Peaslee. Died in Sutton, aged 77. 

Jacob Peaslee. Unknown. 

Rev. War. David Peaslee, Jr. Died in Sutton. 

Capt. William Pressey. Died in Sutton, aged 72. 

Moses Quimby. Died in Sutton, aged 84. 

Rev. War. Jonathan Roby. Died in Sutton, aged 60. 

Silas Russell. Died in Sutton, aged 82. 

Phineas Stevens. Died in Sutton, aged 90. 

Jonathan Stevens. Died in Warner, aged 96. 

Joseph Youring. Died in Sutton. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen. Died in Sutton, 68. 

Jonathan Wadleigh. Died in Gilmanton, aged 82. 

Rev. War. Thomas Wadleigh. Died in Sutton, aged 72. 



Joseph Wadleigh. Went to New York about 1800. 
Rev. War. Thomas Walker. Died in Sutton, aged 103. 

]N'ew Tax-Payers bet^^eei^ 1780 a^d 1790. 

John Adams. 
William Bean. 
Joseph Chadwick. 
David Coburn. 
Joseph Clough. 
Ebenezer Crosby. 
Aaron Davis. 
Jonathan Eaton. 
Ezekiel Flanders. 
Reuben Gile. 
Philemon Hastings. 
Moses Hills. 
Ezra Jones, Jr. 
John Kimball. 
Dudley Kendrick. 
Ezra Littlehale. 
Isaac Masten. 
Joseph Pearson. 
Daniel Robertson. 
Thomas Rowell. 
James Roby. 
Ephraim Wadleigh. 
Stephen Woodward. 
Plummer Wheeler. 
Francis Whittier. 

Samuel Ambrose. 
David Chadwick. 
Jonathan Coburn. 
Leonard Cobm-n. 
Peter Cheney. 
Abner Chase. 
Jacob Davis. Jr. 
Jesse Fellows. 
Benjamin Fowler- 
David Gile. 

Capt. Eplu'aim Hildreth. 
John Harvey. 
Hugh Jameson. 
John King. 
Lot Little. 
Isaac Messer. 
Thomas Messer. 
Jolin Peasley. 
Jonathan Rowell. 
Ichabod Roby. 
Pliilip Sargent. 
Moses Wadleigh. 
Eliphalet Woodward. 
George Walker. 
Daniel Wliittier. 


Second Decade, from 1780 to 1790. 



John Adamsi settled near Joseph and Jonathan 
Johnson. He died about 1830, aged 80. His sons 
John, Joseph, and Henry lived and died here. 
John Adams'^ was for many years a leading and 
influential man in this town. He died at an 
advanced age, leaving a respectable family. 

William Bean, brother of Samuel Bean, lived on 
what is sometimes called Bean's hill. Had a large 
fomily, among whom were Joseph, Samuel, Israel, 
William, and several daughters. He left town 
before his death. Quite a number of his descend- 
ants live in town. Mr. Bean was a man of re- 
markable physical strength. 

Elder Samuel Ambrose came to Sutton and 
gathered a church soon after 1782, but of this 
church there exists no written record, either of 
its formation or of its dissolution. We only know 
that it existed, maintained public worship on Sun- 
days, administered the sacraments, and that Matthew 
Harvey was its first deacon. It does not appear 
that Mr. Ambrose was by formal vote of the town 
accepted as the town's minister till April 1, 1793. 
He received from the town the gift of the lot of 
land which, by charter, the town was to give to the 
first settled minister. He settled near Samuel Bean 
and Benjamin Wadleigh, where M. B. Wadleigh 
now lives. He had a large family, among whom 
were Polly, Abigail, Sarah, Samuel, l^athaniel, 



Jonathan, Lydia, Esther, David, Susan. Polly 
married David Davis, and was mother of the late 
Col. N. A. Davis. Abigail, a most estimable 
woman, married Thomas Pearson, and was mother 
of John H. Pearson, of Concord. Sarah married 
I^athan Leach; had a family, and died in Massa- 
chusetts at an advanced age. Samuel left town 
early, resided in ^N^ewburyj^ort, and died there. 
IS^athaniel moved West, where he died, leaving a 
family. Jonathan went to Maine. Lydia married 
Elisha Parker of Sutton, and they had a large 
family. They afterwards removed West. Esther 
died in Sutton at the age of about 40, unmarried. 
Susan married a Mr. Carey, and went to 'New York. 
David, a very worthy man, remained on the home- 
stead. Was twice married, his second wife, who 
was the mother of his surviving children, being 
Lydia Merrill. Their children, four in nmnber, 
Avere born in Sutton, their names being Samuel, 
Nathaniel, Elizabeth, Anne Sophia, most of them, 
if not all, resident in Maryland. No descendants 
of Elder S. Ambrose live in town. 

David Chadwick settled on the north side of 
Bean's or King's hill. Had a family of nine sons 
and four daughters. Was in moderate circum- 
stances, industrious, cheerful, and humorous. He 
was esteemed as a neighbor and citizen, and died 
at an advanced age. 

Joseph Chadwick, an elder brother of David, 
settled near him. Was in the Revolutionary War, 
and died about 1829, leaving a family, most of his 
children being then settled in life. 

Leonard Coburn lived near the Burpee place, 


recently called the Shattiick place. Had a large 
family, and left town before his decease. 

Jonathan and David Coburn, sons of Leonard 
Cobnrn. David left town in the early part of this 
century. Jonathan was never married. Was a 
conscientious, inoffensive man, and died aged. 

Joseph Clough lived near the Blaisdells at one 
time. Lived in other localities in town, ^one of 
his progeny are known to be living in this town. 

Peter Cheney, whose father died when he was 
young, lived in early life with Capt. Thomas Wad- 
leigh. Married a daughter of Jonathan Davis, and 
settled near Ivearsarge mountain. Was an indus- 
trious, neat, tidy farmer. Died at an advanced age, 
leaving three sons. 

Ebenezer Crosby lived near the Johnsons. Had 
a large fomily. ^NTot noted for enterprise, but was 
an industrious and useful citizen. Kone of his 
descendants live here. 

Abner Chase lived on what is called the Watson 
farm, near John Gross. Was a farmer, and once 
served as constable. Frank Chase, now living at 
South Village, is his grandson. 

Aaron Davis, son of Jacob Davis, lived on the 
homestead, and never married. Was rather eccen- 
tric, but withal much attached to home, which he 
seldom left. Died about 1847, aged 80. 

Jacob Davis, son of Jacob Davis, had a family; 
became insane. His youngest daughter, Jane, 
died here in 1873, without issue. 

Jonathan Davis was a cautious and careful farmer. 
Had a large family, and left a moderate estate. 

Jonathan Eaton lived where Gideon D. Felch 


now lives. AYas a man of indnstiy and prop- 
erty. Lived here many years, bnt left town with 
wife and fiimily some sixty years ago. 

Jesse Fellows settled Avhere the late Harrison 
Fellows lived. Was a man of great physical 
strength and endnrance. Had a large family of 
sons and danghters. His wife long survived him, 
and died at the age of 97 years. 

Ezekiel Fhmders lived near Daniel Masten's; 
removed from town early. Had a large family. 
Little is known here of his posterity; some of 
them live in Hopldnton. 

Dea. Benjamin Fowler settled on the Hazen 
farm. In early life was a school-master. Came 
from Hopkinton to Sutton. Was a deacon of the 
church, and a pious, exemjDlary man. He had 
great industry and economy, and acquired a good 
estate. Had a large family, well educated for the 
times, several of his children being teachers. 
One daughter married JSTathaniel Cin-tis, a trader in 
Hopkinton ; one married the late Samuel Andrews, 
Esq., of Orange. His son, Levi Fowler, spent 
most of his life in Sutton aud died here in 1860, 
aged 67. Being captain of militia, was commonly 
spoken of as Capt. Fowler. He reared a family in 
Sutton, of whom one son, Charles A. Fowler, lives 
on his father's homestead, — a school-teacher, an 
enterprising farmer, and prominent in town aftairs. 
Dea. FoAvler left town soon after the great tornado 
of 1821, which was so disastrous and destructive 
to his buildings and orchards. He spent the 
remainder of his life in Orange. 

Reuben Gile was son of Ephraim Gile; lived in 


his last days Avhere Daniel Masten lived. His wife 
was Sarah, daughter of Daniel Messer, and their 
children were Levi, Sarah, E,oxanna, and Jenny. 
Reuben Gile was an honest, industrious farmer and 
worthy citizen; died in 1829. His wife survived 
him many years, dying at the age of 88. 

David Gile, brother of Reuben, married Phebe 
Masten, and lived in town some years after his 
marriage; in his latter days lived in ]^^ew London, 
where he died in middle life, leaving a wife and 

Philamon Hastings lived where Moses Peaslee 
now (1880) lives. Was constable and collector in 
1796. He died aged. Xone of his posterity live here. 

Capt. Ephraim Hildreth was a prominent man in 
town for some years. Lived near the pound. 
Had quite a ftunily. One son died by reason of a 
fall on the ice on Russell's pond. Capt. Hildreth 
died in his meridian, and his family separated. 

John Harvey was from Amesbury; was a cousin 
to Dea. Harvey; was a carpenter, and framed the 
north meeting-house, near which he lived. Was 
also engaged in farming. His son, Jacob, died in 
the War of 1812. His son, Joseph, remained on 
the homestead, and has been a prominent man in 
town, and served as selectman and representative. 
Born in 1800; died in 1887. John Harvey drop- 
ped dead suddenly in the road close to his own 
house in 1825. His first wife, Hannah Kezar, died 
young. His second Avife, Hannah Hoyt, lived to a 
great age, and was never obliged to Avear glasses. 
As not unfrequently happens to the near-sighted, 
her eyesight did not fail with old age. 


Moses Hills, Esq., was for a long time a very 
prominent man in this to^\'n; was a magistrate 
many years; was selectman and representative. 
He had a large family, none of them snpposed to 
be living here at this time, nor any of their descend- 
ants, as he sold his property and removed from 
to^vn previons to liis death. 

Ezra Jones owned and occnpied the mills of his 
father, Ezra Jones. Left town manv vears since. 
Probably none of his progeny live in town. 

Hngh Jameson lived on the north side of King's 
hill. Left town many years since. Little is 
kno^^^l of him or his familv. 

Dndley Kendrick o^vned a Masonian proprietors' 
lot. Was in the Revolutionary War. Several sons 
settled near him, — Benjamin, Samuel, and William. 
He also had several daughters. He was a substan- 
tial farmer. Died here at the age of about 80 years. 

John King, son of James King, was born in 
Hampstead; settled on King's hill. Was an hon- 
est, industrious man; accpiired a good estate; had 
a large and respectable family. Died here about 
1835. Most of his familv left town. His son. 
EllDridge G. King, lived at the Xorth Village, and 
died there at al^out 70 vears of age, leaving a wife 
and two dau2,'hters, of whom Marilla married Albert 
P. Pichards, merchant at Mill Tillage, and for sec- 
ond husband a Mr. Kiml^all ; and Marv Jane mar- 
ried Perley Sargent, and is mother of three daugh- 
ters and two sons — All^ert and Walter Sargent — 
the latter resident in Xorth Village on the estate of 
his grandfather. She married for second husband 
Pliilip Little, who died in 1887. 


Ezra Littlehale came here about 1780; settled 
where his grandson, W. Scott Littlehale, has 
since lived, Avhich was previously the residence 
of Jonathan Stevens. Had a large family. His 
son, Isaac, was in the AYar of 1812, as orderly of 
Gen. Mc^eal; subsequently lived on the home- 
stead of his father, where he died in 1871, leaving 
a wife, several sons, and one daughter. The late 
Langdon Littlehale, formerly hotel keeper at Con- 
cord and Bradford, was his eldest son. His sons, 
Henry and W. Scott, are now residents of this 

Lot Little lived in the south-west part of the 
town. Was partly of the African race. Had a 
femily. Was not of great mental ability, but in- 
dustrious and energetic. JN'one of his offspring live 
in town. 

William Lowell lived near Mr. Williams's; was 
a man of great physical strength. But little is 
known of him. 

Isaac Messer, son of Daniel Messer, was a land- 
owner here in 1792 ; afterwards moved to Sunapee 
or Goshen, where some of his descendants live. 

Isaac Hasten, son of Benjamin and brother of 
Jacob, married a daughter of Daniel Messer. 
Lived near Benjamin Fowler. Was a man of 
great industry and a thrifty farmer. Accumulated 
a good estate, and died at the age of 84 years, his 
wife having died many years previous. He had a 
large family, which left home prior to his decease. 

John Kimball lived on the Isaac Masten place ; 
left town early. 

Thomas Messer was son of Daniel Messer. 


Lived in town many years ; moved to Wilmot, 
where he died at an advanced age, leaving many 
descendants. Was a farmer. 

Isaac Peaslee was son of David Peaslee, the 
first settler in Sntton. Was a well-to-do fjirmer. 
Had a nmnerons family — resided west of Long 
j)ond. Rev. Isaac Peaslee, a clergyman resident in 
Sntton, was his son. 

Joseph Pearson married a danghter of Capt. 
William Pressey. He was nncle of John H. 
Pearson, Esq., of Concord. Was a thrifty former. 
Had a family. Left town more than sixty years 


John Peaslee, son of David Peaslee, lived on the 
Lnther Dresser place. Had a large family; was a 
farmer in moderate circumstances. 

Daniel Robertson lived near what is now called 
the Burpee place ; had a large family, and re- 
moved to 'New London, where he died leaving a 
widow who survived him many years. One son 
lived many years in Acworth, and died there. One 
daughter married Samuel Morgan, and one married 
Joseph Palmer. 

Jonathan and Thomas Rowell lived at the south- 
east corner of the town near Warner, and were 
substantial farmers, but their progeny have left the 

Ichal)od Roby, son of Samuel Roby, settled near 
the David Peaslee farm. Married a sister of 
Joseph Putney, of Hopldnton; had a large family, 
and was a prominent farmer; a man of energy 
and a large land-owner. Died at the age of 72 


James Roby, brother of Ichal)ocl, lived on Birch 
hill. IS^oiie of his descendants are laiown to be liv- 
ing in town. 

Philip Sargent Avas a prominent citizen and one 
of the selectmen. He left town about 182o. Had 
a large family. 

Ephraim Wadleigh married a daughter of Bond 
Little, Esq., and lived in ]N"ewbury some years; 
came to Sutton, and lived where Asa Sargent has 
since lived. In the early part of this century he 
removed to Hatley, P. Q. Had a large family, and 
died there in 1852, aged 82 years. 

Moses Wadleigh, born in 1763, died in 1839 at 
the age of 76. Married in 1790. Settled near the 
AYright farm. His children were William, Moses 
D., John D., Benj. E., Thomas J., Sally, Eliza- 
beth, and Anna. Wm. died in 1863, leaving a son 
and daughter. Moses D. lived in Bradford, where 
he was a prominent citizen; died at the age of 
about 58 years, leaving one son and two daughters. 
The son, George A., is a merchant in Boston, and 
has been a man of excellent business capacity. 
John D. lived in Bradford; was deputy sheriff and 
farmer. Died in 1869, leaving a son, Bainbridge 
Wadleigh, lawyer, now in Boston; has been U. S. 
senator from ^ew Hampshire. Benjamin E., a 
resident of Bradford, has been engaged in lumber- 
ing most of his life. Thomas J. lived on the home- 
stead of his ftither. Has been selectman and repre- 
sentative. Died leaving a wife and daughter. 
Sally married Aaron Pussell, and had several 
children, among whom is Dr. Moses W. Pussell, of 
Concord. She died several years since. Elizabeth 


died without issue. Auna married Roswell Had- 
dock. IN'o issue. 

Stephen Woodward Uved near the I^ichols 
farm. Was an honest, industrious farmer. Had 
ten children, viz., Stephen, David, Benaiah, Jona- 
than, Daniel, Hannah, Matthew, Moses, Ruth, and 
Lydia. He died here many years since, and all his 
children are deceased except Matthew, who lives in 
Ellsworth, Maine. Some of the descendants of 
these children live in town. 

Eliphalet Woodward owned the farm where 
Moses L. Pillsbury now lives. Resided here many 
years, l)ut removed to ^N'ew London before his 
death. Was brother to Stephen Woodward. 

Benjamin Williams lived east of the Kendricks. 
Left no descendants. 

Plummer Wheeler lived near the Watson farm. 
Was in the Revolutionary War, and several of his 
sons were in the War of 1812. Was an industrious 
and thrifty farmer. Was quite aged at the time of 
his death. 

George Walker lived near Jacob Masten in 
early life; was son of Thomas Walker. Died in 
his meridian, leaving a family. Some of his descend- 
ants live in town. 

Francis Whittier lived where John Merrill now 
lives. Had a large family. Was a worthy and 
industrious man. Left town nearly sixty years 
since, and removed to Coriiitli, Me., where some 
of his descendants now live. 

Daniel Whittier lived near Francis Whittier. 
Married a daughter of Hezekiah Parker. Died 
about 1818, leaving a wife and family. Wife sur- 


vived him many years, and for second husband 
married Tristram Pierce. Daniel Whittier's family 
have all left town. 

About this time (toward the close of the decade 
between 1780 and 1790) there were no traders or 
store-keepers in town, and no professional physi- 
cians. About this time the inhabitants began to 
make cloth from wool as well as from flax, the man- 
ufacture being wholly by hand. Schools were kept 
in private houses and l3arns, and but few l)Ooks 
were used. " The teacher usually had an arithmetic, 
from which all the scholars learned. 'No wdieeled 
carriages had been used, nor were the roads suita- 
ble for such. Most burdens were carried on sleds 
or drags, or on horseback. Trading was done 
mostly at Salisbury and Hopldnton and Warner. 
During this decade the people began to exchange 
their log houses for frame dwellings, and, as will be 
seen from the foregoing, the foundation of a num- 
ber of the characteristics of advancement had been 

Tax-Payeks From 1790 to 1800. 

Benjamin Wells. 

Asa King, son of James. 

Sanniel Burnliam. 

Israel Andrew, son of Samuel, Sen. 

Isaac Wells. 

Lieut. Obadiah Eastman. 

Henry Dearborn. 

Joseph WeUs. 

Daniel Andrew, son of Samuel. 

Jacob Quimby. 

James Harvey, Joseph Harvey, brothers of Dea. Matthew. 



Isaac Bean, Jacob Bean, sons of Samuel. 

Simon Kezar, son of Ebenezer. 

David Flanders. 

TheojDhilus Cram. 

Lieut. Hutchins. 

Josiah Nichols. 

Lieut. Eaton (James). 

David Eaton, Jr., son of David, Sen. 

John Emerson. 

Thomas Pearsons. 

Jonathan Davis, Jr., son of Jonathan, Sen. 

Benjamin Colby. 

John Pressey, son of William. 

Samuel Phelps. 

Gideon Wilkins. 

Capt. Oliver French. 

Green French. 

Moses Davis, son of Samuel. 

Adam Messer, son of Daniel. 

Joseph Bean, son of William. 

David Davis, son of Jeremiah. 

Philip Davis, son of Jonathan. 

Ezekiel Davis, son of Jacob. 

Moses Bailey. 

Ezra Jones, Jr., son of Ezra, Sen. 

Daniel Emery. 

William Lowell. 

Benjamin Williams. 

John Eaton. 

Dudley Kendrick. 

Tristram Stevens, son of Jonathan. 

Abraham Wells. 

William Dodge. 

Benjamin CoUins. 

Benjamin Kendrick, Samuel Kendrick, sons of Dudley Kendrick. 

Capt. James Taylor. 

John Downinsf. 

Samuel Roby, Jr. 

Stephen Richardson. 

Jesse Cutting. 


Micajah Pillsbuiy. 

Anthony Clark. 

Cesar Lewis. 

Dea. Joseph. Greeley. 

Joshua Wright. 

Thomas Peaslee, son of Samuel. 

Dr. Ezra JNIarsh. 

Capt. Daniel Page. 

Henry Wadleigh. 

Isaac Peaslee. 

Dr. William Martin. 

Hezekiah Blaisdell. 

Ebenezer Simons. 

John Adams, Jr., Joseph Adams, sons of John, Sen. 

Wait Cheney, son of Nathaniel. 

Benjamin Stevens, Asa Stevens, sons of Phineas. 

Seth RusseU, son of Silas. 

John Philbrick, son of Benjamin. 

Capt. Enoch Page. 

Abraham Rowell. 

Epliraim Abbott. 

John Pearson. 

Dr. Crosmon. 

Dr. Thomas WeUs. 

Ratable Estate in 1800 $662.75 

State Tax 97.20 

County Tax 21.28 

Town Tax 60.00 

School Tax - 166.67 

Ephraim Abbott married a daughter of Ephraim 
Gile. His sons, Samuel and Theodore, were clock- 
makers. Resided here but a short time. 

Hezekiah Blaisdell, a very much respected cit- 
izen, was a farmer and cooper. Came from Ames- 
bury, Mass. His wife was Anna Sargent, a sister 
to the wife of Dea. Joseph Greeley, and also to the 
wife of Jacob Harvey. The sons of Hezekiah 


Blaisdell, Senior, who lived on the homestead, were 
Hezekiah who died without issue, and John Avho 
married a daughter of Jonathan Johnson and had 
chikh'en, viz., Jonathan J., Polly J., Moses S., and 
Francis F. A daughter of Hezekiah, Senior, mar- 
ried Major Eaton, of Bradford. 

Anthony Clark (colored) lived near the Burpee 
place. "Was in the Revolutionary War. Was a 
noted fiddler, and fond of mirth; a cheerful, inof- 
fensive man and good citizen. He had a family 
who inherited some of his peculiarities, but were 
improvident. Two of his sons have lived in Mill 
Village. For over half a century" Tony Clark was 
the most noted violinist in all this region. It has 
even been asserted that he could fiddle when 
asleep; it is beyond a doubt that he could when 
awake, and to attempt a ball or dance without his 
aid and presence thereat was never even thought 
of." In his latter days he lived in Warner. The 
writer saw him 75 years after the Battle of Bunker 
Hill, in which he was a soldier. He died about 
1852, aged over 100 years. 

Cesar Lewis (colored) became a resident of this 
town previous to 1800, and so continued many 
years. He was a very worthy man. (See sketch 
of him.) 

Mr. Crosmon lived near ^N^orth Village. He was 
a preacher as well as physician. Was here but a 
few years. 'No descendants living here. Matthew 
Harvey, of ISTewport (grandson of Dea. Matthew 
Harvey), married his granddaughter. Experience 
R. Crosmon, and had two daughters. 

John Downing lived near Downing's Corner at 


the base of Kimball hill. Was farmer and car- 
penter. Little is known of his posterity. 

Rev. AYilliam Dodge was a worthy and respect- 
ed minister of the Gospel; once owned Jones's 
mills; lived on Dodge hill — sometimes called 
Challis hill — on the road from So. Sntton to 'New- 
bnry. He was one of the founders of the Free- 
Will Baptists. Had a large family; moved from 
town many years ago. 

Henry Dearborn came from Rockingham county. 
Was farmer, tanner, and shoemaker. Was an in- 
dustrious, active, energetic man. Had two daugh- 
ters, Sarah and Mary. Sarah married for her first 
husband William Bean\ and had several children. 
Married, second, John Pressey, Esq., and died at 
Mill Tillage, aged 80. Mary married E. Gerry 
King; had two daughters, both living in town, and 
both have families. (See Elbridge G. King.) 

Daniel Emery married a daughter of Ezra 
Jones ; lived in various parts of the town. Had a 
large family. He was a soldier of the Revolution 
and of the War of 1812. Many years since he 
moved to Wilmot, where he died aged. 

John Eaton, an elder brother of the late ^N^athan- 
iel Eaton, the centenarian, came from Haverhill, 
Mass. Married a daughter of Caleb Kimball. 
Among his children were Frederic, John, Jacolj, 
Horace, Ruth, Sarah, and Lucretia. Frederic died 
in Warner without issue. John married a daughter 
of ^Nathan Andrew, and had six sons and tAVO 
daughters, among whom are Gen. John Eaton 
and Col. Lucian Eaton. Jacob, another son of 
John, Senior, was a physician; lived in Massachu- 


setts. Horace was a clergyman in Palmyra, jS^. Y. 
Ruth married Mr. Sherburne, of Concord. Sarah 
married Samuel Dresser. Her only surviving child 
is Leonard F. E. Dresser. 

Obadiah Eastman lived near where ]N^athaniel 
Clay has lived of later years. He was a prominent 
farmer and wealthy man for that time. Had a wife, 
bnt no children. He was constable in 1805. Died 
suddenly, at the age of about fifty years. 

Oliver and Green French lived on a Masonian 
proprietors' lot, at the north-east corner of the town. 
Both have been selectmen, and held other offices in 
town, and were enterprising formers. Capt. Oliver 
French had a family of eleven children, — Green, 
Sally, Martha, John, Laura, Cyrus and Matthew, 
twins, Abigail, Polly, Eliza, and Mercy. Of these, 
Green married, and died young; John left town, 
and died in Orange; Cyrus married a daughter of 
Israel Andrew, lived on the homestead, and died in 
1831, leaving a wife and son, Cyrus, who has been 
a life-long resident of the town ; Matthew moved to 
Corinth, Me., where he died, leaving a wife and 
family. Capt. Oliver French died in town, in his 
meridian, leaving most of his children young. His 
Avife was Martha Hadley. Green French, brother 
of Capt. Oliver French, married Polly Page; had 
two children, Polly and Charles. Many years 
since he moved to 'New London, where he died. 
Charles, the son, remained on the homestead in 
Sutton, became a wealthy farmer, married a lady 
named Smith, and died several years since. Left a 
son and two daughters. The latter married, and 
have since died. The son, George, has been a life- 


long resident of Sntton, and a strong supporter of 
the Baptist ehnreli. He married, first, Mary Anne, 
dauji'liter of Dea. John Felcli. ISTo children. Mar- 
ried, second, Flora Crane, and has three children. 

Joseph Greeley came to Sntton about 1792. Was 
originally from Haverhill, Mass., but made his first 
residence, on leaving home, in Warner, on Tory 
hill, where he lived three or four years. His resi- 
dence in Sutton was what is now the Burpee place, 
in a log house, which he in a few years exchanged 
for a large two-story framed house, where he kept 
tavern and store. Was a man of great energy. 
Was not only innkeeper and trader, but former, 
blacksmith, and cattle-dealer and drover. His wife 
was Dorothy Sargent, of Amesbury, Mass. His 
children were, — Polly, who married Henry Carleton. 
Among her children is Henry G. Carleton, for 
many years one of the editors of the Newport (TsT. 
H.) Argtis & Spectator. Sally, second child of 
Joseph Greeley, who married Col. John Harvey, 
had seven children. Among them was Matthew 
Harvey, another editor of the Argus & Spectator. 
Dorothy, third child of Joseph Greeley, married 
Stephen B. Carleton, and they lived and died in 
Sutton. Had two sons and three daughters, none 
of whom are now living, but some of the grand- 
children are living in Concord and elsewhere. So- 
phia, fourth daughter of Joseph Greeley, married 
Samuel Gardner, of Haverhill, Mass. One of their 
sons is Christopher S. Gardner, of Great Falls, 
]N^. H., and another is Rev. George W. Gardner, 
D. D., who was for many years principal of the 
l!^ew London Institution. Joseph, son of Joseph 



Greeley, Sen., married Hannah, daughter of John 
Kezar, and had a daughter, Mary Anne, who mar- 
ried JSTewell J. ^ye (his second wife), and a son, 
Joseph, who married Maria Snow, and has been a 
life-long resident of Sutton, where he has been post- 
master over a quarter of a century. Is a merchant. 
Though always declining political preferment, has 
been and still is one of the most useful citizens the 
town has ever had. Gilman, youngest child of Jo- 
seph Greeley, Sen., had two daughters and a son, 
who lived to reach maturity, but are now dead. He 
died in 1881, and his wife, Hannah Fifield, died in 
April, 1887. 

James Harvey, a brother to Dea. Matthew Har- 
vey, lived al)ove Couch's mill, near the upper dam, 
above Mill Village, where he carried on the manu- 
facture of woollen cloth, being what was then 
termed a clothier. He was in the War of 1812, 
and died in the service. He had a family, one 
daughter being married to William Gay, of Wil- 
mot; and one married Capt. Jonathan Woodward, 
of Sutton, and had several children, one of whom, 
Lydia A. Woodward, married Truman Putney, of 
Sutton, and was mother of Fred. Putney, now in 
mercantile business in Mill Village. 

Cesar Lewis (colored) lived on Dodge hill. Was 
a faithful and respected man. He was said to have 
been over 100 years of age at the time of his death. 

Dr. Ezra Marsh, a physician, married a sister of 
Daniel and Enoch Page. He had two sons, Frank- 
lin and Aaron. I^^one of his posterity live in town. 

Dr. William Martin, an early physician of this 
toAvn, married a daughter of Samuel Andrew, Sen. 


Among his children were Jonathan, Nathan, Per- 
ley, WilHam, Kenben, John, and Lucy. N^atlian 
was a tanner, and a man of wealth, and had a re- 
spectable family. He died a few years since. Jon- 
athan lived on the homestead of his father, and died 
there many years ago, leaving a wife and family. 
Perley left town. ]N^one of his posterity live here. 
AYilliam is a wealthy and respected citizen of Brad- 
ford, and has a son, who is a merchant of that town. 
Lucy was an estimable and accomplished lady. She 
married and went West, where she died. 

Capt. Daniel Page lived in the westerly part of 
the town. Was a farmer and carjDenter. He framed 
the South meeting-house. He had one son, Hon. 
Asa Page, who died in 1885 at the age of 86, hav- 
ing been one of the most useful, prominent, and re- 
spected men this town has ever produced. Capt. 
Daniel Page had, also, several daughters, all now 

Capt. Enoch Page, a younger brother of Daniel, 
lived at South Sutton, where he died in 1828, leav- 
ing a son and daughter. She married Hazen Put- 
ney, and was the mother of Truman Putney, a 
merchant at Mill Village for many years, and promi- 
nent man of the town. Now deceased. Enoch, the 
son of Capt. Enoch Page, resided on the homestead 
of his father, and has been a prominent man in town 
and county. At the time of his death, in 1882, was 
deemed the richest man in town, as was his father 
before he died. 

Micajah Pillsbury settled on Dodge hill, between 
the South Village and the Burpee place. He was 
farmer and blacksmith. He had a worthy and 


much respected wife and family. The names of his 
sons were Stephen, Joseph, John, and Moses. Ste- 
phen, in early life, was a school-teacher — subse- 
quently was a Calvinist Baptist clergyman. He 
settled in Hebron, and married a capable, educated, 
and accomplished lady, and they had a very respect- 
able family, several being sons ; among them is 
William S. Pillsbury, of Londonderry, an extensive 
shoe manufacturer. Mary, the eldest daughter of 
Rev. Stephen Pillsbury, became quite famous as 
a painter. She married Yalentine W. Weston, a 
Avealthy gentleman of ^N'ew York city. Lavinia, 
second daughter of Rev. Stephen, married Samuel 
Andrew. Joseph, brother of Rev. Stephen, married 
a daughter of Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., and was 
mother of Thomas W. Pillsbury, Esq., of Con- 
cord. John, third son of Micajah, and brother of 
Rev. Stephen, married Susan, youngest daughter 
of Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen. He was a prominent 
man in town, served as selectman and represent- 
ative, and also held other offices. His son, Simon, 
a young man of great promise, and an extraor- 
dinary scholar, died soon after arriving at manhood. 
His sons, George A., John S., and Benjamin F. 
Pillsbury, are resident in Minnesota, where for 
many years the two first named have done an 
immense business as flour manufacturers, being 
among the most extensive in the world. John 
has been governor of the state of Minnesota. 
Benjamin F., before emigrating to Minnesota, had 
been a prominent man in Sutton, as also was George 
A. in Warner and Concord before leaving his na- 
tive state. One daughter of John Pillsbury mar- 


ried Enoch P. Cunimings, and was mother of 
Charles P. Cmnmmgs, of Xashua. Moses, young- 
est son of Micajah Pillsbmy, married Maiy Carl- 
ton. He has been representative and selectman 
of this town. He died about 1873, being over 80 
years old. His only son, Moses L., is a promi- 
nent citizen of Sutton. One daughter of Mica- 
jah Pillsbury married Daniel Ober; and, for sec- 
ond husband, Silas Powell. The youngest daughter 
of Micajah married Xathan Andrew, Jr., and they 
became joarents of five sons and a daughter, who 
are noted for industry and enterprise. The young- 
est son, Horace, has been clerk of the U. S. court 
of Tennessee. 


The Proprietors' Records commence thus : 

The Book of the Society Records, of the Proprietors of the 
township of land granted to Capt. Obadiah Perry and others, lying 
to the west of Kiarsarge Hill, and adjoining No. 1 and No. 2, to 
the north of said No's. 


Province of New Hampshire. 

1749. Granted to Obadiah Perry and others, Nov. 30, 1749. 
At a meeting of the lands purchased of Jolm Tufton Mason Esq. 
in the Pi'ovince of New Hampshire, held at the house of Ann Slay- 
ton widow, in Portsmouth within said Province, on Thm-sday the 
thirtieth day of November, in the year of our Lord, Christ one 
thousand, seven hundred and forty-nine. 

Voted that there be and hereby is granted unto Obadiah Perry 
and 59 others,^ in equal shares, on the terms, conditions and limita- 
tions hereinafter expressed All that tract of land within the Prov- 
ince of New Hamjjshire containing the extent and quantity of six 
miles square. Bounded as follows, viz ; Lying West of Kyahsarge 
Hill so called, and beginning at a Beach Tree on the line of No. 1 
so called, one hundred and fifty-six poles due north from the mouth 
of a Brook which rmis into Almsbury River, so called ; from thence 
running north sixteen degrees west seven miles and eighty poles, to 
a Hemlock standing on the top of a hill : thence west five degrees 
south five miles to a Beach Tree marked with stones about it : 
thence south sixteen degrees east seven miles and eighty poles to a 
White Oak marked on the line of No. 2 so called ; Hence east five 
degrees north five miles to the place begun at. To have and to 
hold to them their heirs and assigns in equal shares on the follow- 
ing conditions terms and limitations, that is to say that eighteen 
iSee list of" Original Grantees " at the close of this chapter. 


shares in the said tract of land be and hereby are reserved to the 
use of the said proprietors the grantors in these presents, their heirs 
^ S i and assigns, the same to lay on the eastern side of said tract 
•S t- S of land, and to be laid out at the same time the other shares 
55 ^ o shall be laid out, and numbered from one to eighteen. And 
^ t r3 ^^^^ ''^^^ ^^^^ remainder of said tract of land saving what is 

be *^ ^ • 

H £ t3 hereinafter mentioned to be otherwise improved be divided 
into sixty-three shares or Rights. And each Share into two distinct 
lots, one of which is to contain a hundred acres, and the other lot 
all the rest of the land belonging to each respective share, except as 
before excepted. 

That the lots which belong to the said sixty-three shares be num- 
bered with the same number beginning with 19, and ending with 81. 
That the said land be so laid out within the space of eight months, 
from the day of granting the same. And then the said sixty-three 
shares to be drawn in the usual manner of drawing for lots of land, 
in such cases, and that the same be done at Portsmouth under the 
direction of the grantors, and that there be one draft for the lots 
that belong to one share. That the eighteen shares reserved for the 
*? ■« use of the Grantors be drawn for by the Grantors only, at 
the same time of drawing the other lots. 

That one of the said sixty-three shares be for the first 
g ^ = minister of the Gospel who shall be settled there, and con- 
*^ tinue there during life, or until he shall be regularly dis- 
missed, to hold to him his heirs and assigns. 

And one other of the said sixty-three shares be for and towards 
the suj)port of the Gospel ministry there forever. And that the 
hundred acre lots belonging to these two shares be laid out 
as near the place where the meeting-house shall be built as 
conveniently may be, and not drawn for as the other lots 

c2 - 

p O - 
■- - ^ 

£ o iz 

e8 p. •" 
s: a..~ 
CO 3 a 

» ffl a, are 


That there be ten acres of land left in some convenient 
place, as the major part of the Grantees shall determine, within 
the said boundaries, exclusive of the eighteen reserved shares, for 
g i bvdlding a meeting-house and a school-house upon, and to 
^ ;2 improve for a Training field, a Burying-place, and other 
^ 5 public use to which the inhabitants there shall see cause to 
apply it. 

§ ^ That one other of said sixty-three shares be for the use and 
tg " support of a school forever. 


"S £ =4 That the owners of the other sixty shares make a regu- 

" J -^ g lar settlement there at their own cost and charge in the 

c g „ J following manner, namely : 

o f -S 1 That within two years from the granting of the said 

lands they shall have a Saw-Mill built there fit for sawing and mak- 

::: i ing boards and other timber for the use of the settlers there, 

^ ^ and that the same be put under such regulations as shall 

^ s best serve the interest of the settlement, and that each settler 

shall be served on reasonable terms. 

S K 2 <u ^ That within three years from the said term, each 

S ?; 03 2 s^ ^ 

H « o " 5 >. owner of the said shares shall have three acres of land 

there cleared and fitted for tillage or mowing. 

g 3 t„ That within four years from the said term each owner shall 
Ȥ = S have a house sixteen feet square, or equal thereto, with a cel- 
lar underneath it, built on his respective share and fit to live in. 
S - (D £ That within five years from said term there shall be 
thirty families living on said tract of land. 
^ That within six years from said term there shall be a 
S meeting-house built, and preaching there and sixty fam- 
S 2 3 g ^ ilies living on said tract of land. 
S a That within seven years from said term the said owners 

"S I £ shall settle a Gospel minister there. 

S .s t>. That each owner of the said sixty shares shall pay to such 
person as may be appointed his proportion of the charges from time 
to time as the major part of said owners shall determine to be nec- 
&■ a essary to be paid for the carrying on of the settlement, and 
a '5 . accomplishing the matters and things aforesaid and for what 
I p £? shall be hereinafter mentioned, for making perfecting and 
o ^ o finishing the said settlement. 

w ^ o That there be reserved in the most convenient place in 
s said tract of land, exclusive of said reserved eighteen shares, a 
^ place for a saw-mill, with a convenient quantity of land for a 
!» pond, yard, &c not exceeding twenty acres. 

^ That, in laying out the lots, care be taken to sort them 
o t: m such a manner as to make the shares as equal as possi- 
^* ble. 

g t. That the lots be laid out in ranges where the land will ad- 
g s ^ mit of it, and land be left between the ranges for Highways 
g four rods wide where the land will admit of it, and between 
the lots of two rods wide. 

o) en ® 

n — ' ra o 


^ ^ That a Plan of the whole when laid out be made at the charge 
° I of the owners of the sixty shares, and returned to the said 
^ ^ Grantors at the time of drawing the lots, at the charge of the 
said owners. 

I That the eighteen reserved shares be exonerated, acquitted, 

^ and exempted from paying any charge toward making the said 
c % settlement, and not held to the conditions limited to the other 
S f shares, nor liable to pay any charge, tax, or assessment until 
S a improved by the resj^ective owners thereof or under them. 
g That all White Pine Trees fit for Masting the Royal Navy 
■(£; be, and hereby are reserved and granted unto his Majesty his 
3 heirs and successors forever for that purj^ose. 
^ That in case the Grantees and owners of the said sixty shares 
shall neglect, fail and omit to make and perfect the said settle- 
ment in manner as aforesaid according to the true intent and mean- 
ing of the several articles matters and things hereinbefore men- 
tioned by them to be done such Grantees and owners shall forfeit 
their right and interest in the said granted premises, to the Grant- 
's ors their heirs arid assigns, saving to such of the said owners 
<2 S as shall have done and performed his part and proportion of 
fe 5 the said articles, matters and things pertaining to his respect- 
ive Right and share of the said premises. And the said Grantors, 
their heirs and assigns, may, and it shall be lawful for them, or for 
any person or persons for them, and in their name or stead, to enter 
into and upon the Right and Share so forfeited, and the same again 
to seize, take possession of, and apply to their own use. 

Provided that if a war with the Indians should again happen 
S before the expiration of the several limitations for the do- 
I ^ ing and performing the said matters and things respectively, 
^ c ^ then the same term of years to be allowed after the imped- 
iment shall be removed. 

.: And further it shall be understood that the Grantors do not 

^ X warrant the premises. And fm*ther it is the true intent and 
^ 5 meaning of the Grantees and Grantors in these presents, that in 
case any other said sixty shares shall be forfeited to the Grantors by 
default of performing the proportion of duty in making the said settle- 
ment as aforesaid, the said Grantors shall oblige those to whom they 
shall dispose of said shares to do and perform their proportion of 
such articles, matters and things herein required of the original 
Gi-antees. And in case the said Grantors shall hold such forfeited 


o ^ 


Rights to themselves, or any of them, they shall do and perform 
all their proportion of duty, and pay their proportion of all charges 
as are herein required of the original Grantees. Provided never- 
S ^ theless that the said Grantees do, and shall, when they shall 
he respectively requested by the Grantors, enter into a con- 
tract and personally oblige themselves, and their respective 
I g £ heirs and assigns to do and perform the several articles mat- 
So .2 ters and things by those persons the Grantees before men- 
tioned to be performed and done, by signing and executing such 
Instrument or instruments in writing as by Counsel learned in the 
law shall be advised and devised for that purpose. 
A true Copy of Record 

Attest. George Jaffrey > 

Pro. Clerk j 


It will be observed in the foregoing instrnment, 
that the article indexed " lots sorted," provides 
" that in laying ont the lots care be taken to sort 
them in such a manner as to make the shares as 
equal as possible." In the endeavor to accomplish 
this, each share or right was made to consist of two 
distinct lots, — one of one hundred acres, of the first 
division, and one of one hundred and sixty acres, of 
the second division, care being taken that if one lot 
on a ticket to the lottery or drawing was poorer 
than the average, the lot with which it was coupled 
on the same ticket should be better than the aver- 
age, so as to equalize the values represented by 
the sixty-three diftereut tickets. 


Province of New Hampshire, Portsmouth Wednesday July 11, 

At the dwelling house of Ann Slayton at Portsmouth a meeting 
holden by an adjournment. The draft of the lots of the tract of 
land granted to Capt. Obediah Perry and others the thirtieth day 
of Nov. 1749, and of the 18 lots laid out for the Proprietors (the 

Jan 2, 1788. The 3rd. Division Lots were drawn for each origi- 
nal proprietor of the Common Land in Sutton at Proprietors' Meet- 
ing held by adjournment at house of John Hall at Plaistow. 

Stephen Woodward 

Benjamin Hale 

John Pecker (a minor) 

David Graves (a minor) 

Thomas Follansbee 

Jolui Webster 

Ebenezeer Perry 

Thomas Hale 

James Clement (a minor) 

Thomas Hale jr. 

John Currier 

Jolmi Poor 

Jolin Perry (minor) 

Parker Stevens (minor) 

Asa Kimball 

Mark Plummer (minor) 

James Pecker 

John Barker 

Samuel Clement, 

David Marsh 






























































Humphrey Noyes 
Jacob Hancock 
Abraham Perry 
James Graves 
Joseph Noyes 
Obediah Perry 
Edward Barnard 
Jonathan Poor (minor) 
Aaron Sargent 
Thomas Noyes 
William Stephens 
Zebediah Sargent 
John Cogswell 
Moses Clements 
Samuel Ayer 
Jonathan Plunniier 
Andrew Stone 
Benjamin Eaton jr. 
Jacob Woodward 
Samuel Little 
John Ayer jr. 
Joshua Page 
Daniel Poor 
Timothy Eaton 
Timothy Clement 
Stephen Whitaker 
John Plummer jr. 
Benjamin Eaton 
Daniel Roberds 
James Eaton 
Nathaniel Knight jr. 
Thomas Whitaker 
James Cushing 
Cutting Marsh 
William Eaton 
Stephen Poor (minor) 
Obadiah Perry jr. 
James Urann 























































































































Samuel Little jr. 
First Minister's Lot 
Ministry or Parsonage 
School Lot 

Dr. Peter Ayer, Both in 1st Div. 

The Grantors' Lots as they were drawn. 
Law Lot 

Mores & Thomasen 
Jolm Rindge 

Samuel Solly, Clement Mai'sh, 
Thomas Wallingford 
Richard Wibird 
George Jaffrey 
Theodore Atkinson 
Mark Hunking Wentworth 
Joshua Pierce 
John MofEatt 
John Tomasen 
John Wentworth 
Thomas Packer 
Law Lot 
Moore & Pierce 
Mrs. Harvey Blanchard ) 
Green & Marsh J 

Jotham Odiorne 

































These grantors' lots are usually called the Lord 
Proprietors' lots. They all lie in one range on the 
eastern side of the town, and are sometimes spoken 
of as the " 300 acre lots." 

Note. It will be observed that in the list of names of grantees, some are marked 
with the descriptive addition, " A minor." It sometimes happened that when a grant 
of a township was given, in order to malie the sixty requisite names of grantees, some 
having sons not of age would purchase rights for such sons, and hold them till they 
came of age. 

94 history op sutton. 

Area of the Town of Sutton. 

Sutton, by its charter, contained 23,040 acres; 
but, by accurate survey, it contains a little less, 
viz., 22,773t^A acres. The perpendicular distance 
between the north and south lines of the town 
is 7 miles, 37 furlongs, 120 rods. A straight line 
drawn through the town from east to west, is 
4 miles, 7 furlongs, 15tVo rods in length. The 
length of the town thus considerably exceeds the 
width, and this circumstance has caused some in- 
convenience to the people living at the extreme 
north and south ends of the town. The town con- 
tains 35.58416 square miles. 



State of New Hampshike. 

In the year of our Lord one Thousand, seven Hundred, and 

An Act to incorporate a place called Perrystown. in the County 
of Hillshorough. 

Whereas a Petition has been preferred to the General Court in 
behalf of the Inhabitants of a tract of land called Perrystown in 
the County of Hillsborough, setting forth that they labor under great 
disadvantages for want of an Incorporation, of wliich public notice 
has been given and no objection made — 

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives in 
General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same it is 
hereby enacted, that there be, and hereby is a townsliip erected and 
Incorporated by the name of Sutton, containing all the lands and 
bounded as set forth in the Charter or Grant of said Perrystown, 
which is as follows, viz : 

Begining at a Beech Tree on the line of No. 1, so called one 
hundred and fifty-six Poles due North from the mouth of a Brook 
which runs into Amsbury River, so called, from thence running 
North sixteen degrees West seven miles and eighty Poles to a large 
Hemlock standing on the top of a hill : thence West five degrees 
South five miles to a Beech Tree marked with stones about it. 
Thence South sixteen degrees East seven miles and Eighty Poles to 
a "WTiite Oak marked on the line of No. Two, so called, thence East 
five degrees North five miles to the place begim at. 

And the Inhabitants of said tract of land are hereby erected into 
a body Politic and Corporate, to have continuance and succession 
forever, and invested with all the powers, and enfranchised with all 
rights, privileges, and immunities which any town in the State holds 
and enjoys, to hold to the said Inhabitants and theii' successors 


And Mr. Ebenezer Kezar is hereby authorized to call a meeting 
of said Inhabitants to choose necessary and customary Town 
Ofificers, giving fourteen days notice of the time, place, and design 
of such Meeting. And the Officers then chosen shall be hereby 
invested with all the powers of such officers in any town in this 
State, and every other meeting which shall be annually held in said 
town for that purjjose shall be on the first Monday in March for- 

State of New Hampshire. — In the House of Representatives 
April 9, 1784. 

The foregoing Bill having been read a third time, Voted that it 
pass to be enacted. — Sent up for concurrence. 

John Dudley, Speaker. 

In Council April 13, 1784. Tliis Bill was read three times, and 
Voted that the same be enacted. 

M. Weare, Pres. 
A cojiy examined by E. Thompson, Secretary. 

Ebenezer Kezar's Warning for the first Town Meeting 

AFTER Incorporation. 

Whereas the General Court have Incorporated us of Perrystown, 
and called us by the name of Sutton and have appointed me the sub- 
scriber to call the first Meeting in said town — 

Therefore I do hereby notify and warn all the freeholders and 
other inhabitants qualified to vote in Town Meeting to meet togeth- 
er at the dwelling house of Pain Tongue in said town on Thursday 
the twentieth day of this instant May at ten o'clock in the forenoon 
to act on the following articles, viz : 

1 To choose a Moderator to govern said Meeting. 

2 To choose a Town Clerk for the present year. 

3 To choose three Selectmen for the present year. 

4 To choose a Constable for the present yeai". 

5 To choose a Committee to lay out Highways for the pres. year. 

6 To choose Surveyors of Highways for the present year. 

7 To see how much money you will vote to be laid out on the 

Highways the present year. 

8 To see how much money you will vote to raise to defray Town 


nsrcoRPOEATio:pf. 97 

9 To see if you will vote to choose a Committee to find a suita- 
able jilace to set a Meeting House and make Report to the 
10 To act on any other business that may be thought proper to 
act upon when met. 
Sutton, May 5, 1784. 

Ebenezer Kezar. 

In pursuance of the above warning, the meeting' 
was duly held. The officers chosen on that occasion 
may be found in the list of " Town Officers after 
Incorporation," in another part of this work, Mr. 
Kezar was moderator of the meeting. 

It was not unusual in granting townships to call 
the " tract of land " by the name of some one of the 
grantees. Perrystown was so called from Oba- 
diah Perry, one of their most prominent men, and 
whose name is at the head of a list of grantees in 
the charter. 

In many cases these grantees did not become set- 
tlers, but sold their rights as they had a good oppor- 
tunity, and had no further interest in the town. It 
often happened that when the settlers became nu- 
merous enough to feel the need of incorporation, 
they, in their petition, chose some different name 
for the town. Why the Perrystown peojDle chose 
the name of Sutton is not Ivuown ; but the supposi- 
tion is that Baruch Chase, Esq., a lawyer of Hop- 
Ivinton, named it for Sutton, Mass., his native town. 
Mr. Harvey sometimes applied to Mr. Chase for 
instructions in legal and official business, and he 
probably felt the need of doing so in this instance, 
it being a case in which he could not himself possi- 
bly have had any experience. Hence arose the 


opportunity to invite him to stand sponsor for the 
new town. 

Preserved among the paj^ers of Mr. Harvey is 
the following, which is evidently the first draft of 
the petition for incorporation, having in it some 
erasures and alterations. It is in the handwriting 
of Mr. Harvev: 

To the Honorable Council and House of Representatives in Gen- 
eral Court convened at Concord in June 1783. A Petition of the 
inhabitants of a place called Perrystown in the County of Hills- 
borough and State of New Hampsliire, huiubly pray that the body 
of land called Perrystown be Incorporated into a Town with all the 
privileges of other towns in this State by the name of 
The disadvantages that we the inhabitants labor under for want of 
Town privileges in the making and repairing of Highways, and 
many other disadvantages too numerous to mention causes us to 
pray to be Incorporated, for which favor we as in duty bound for 
you shall ever pray. 

Previous to incorporation there had been a town 
organization, we know, as we have the record of its 
acts, but it was simply a voluntary association of 
men, not a legal organization. It had no compel- 
ling power. Under it no tax could be collected, no 
road or bridge built, no school supported. All 
these had to be done by voluntary subscription. 
These are some of the "disadvantages" alluded to 
in the wording of the foregoing petition. 

In 1780 the valuation of the several towns in the 
state of 'New Hamj^shire was fixed for the appor- 
tionment of the public taxes. Sutton's proportion 
of the tax was nine shillings. 

cou:n^ties. 99 

1771. Division op the State en^to CoimTiES. 

At the brealdng- out of the Revolution, the royal 
governor, John Wentworth, had become obnoxious 
to the people, simply because he was the royal 
governor, and, bound by his oath of office, sup- 
ported the royal cause. He had, however, been 
very popular, and many of his measures were bene- 
ficial and satisfactory, and none more so than that 
of dividing the state into counties. The bill passed 
the assembly March 19, 1771, dividing the province 
into five counties, viz., Rockingham, Strafi'ord, Hills- 
borough, Cheshire, and Grafton. Prior to this, all 
the courts were held in Portsmouth, and the trans- 
action of legal business was attended with great 
delay and expense, especially to people living as far 
distant as Sutton. After the division, each shire 
town had its share of its own county business. 

Sutton was included in Hillsborough county, 
and therefore under the head of Hillsborough 
county we henceforth look for the record of all 
county matters relating to or connected with her, 
till she became a part of Merrimack county at its 
formation in 1823. 



At a legal meeting" held Sej^t. 26, 1792, Benjamin 
Wadleigli was chosen moderator. 

Voted, To choose a Committee to settle with the inhabitants of 
the town for the roads which cross their lands. 

Voted, That Lieut. Asa Nelson, Simon Kezar, Matthew Harvey 
and David Eaton be a Committee to settle with the people who have 
roads crossing their lands in Sutton. 

Oct. 1792. The following named persons ac- 
cepted the report of the land committee:^ 

William Pressey 2 Rods between 44, 1st Div. & Barron. 

Philip Nelson. R-W,- B. 8. 2nd Div. & Pierce (Moses Quimby) 

Isaac Bean }j R-W, B. 64. 1st Div. 

Abraham Peasley R-W, B. 36 & 34, 1st Div. & part of R-W. 
against 42. 

Hannah Roby Equal R-W. 

John Peasley 2 Rods B. 75 & 56. 1st Div. 

Ezra Jones — ditto. 

Nathaniel Cheney Equal R-W. 

James Roby 2 Rods B. 66 & 54. 1st Div. 

Ichabod Roby 2 Rods B. 56 & 57, 1st Div. & 2 Rods adjoining 
his home lot. 

Jacob Masten To have as much R-W, as is used for Roads. 

Jacob Davis ^ R-W, B. 48 & 25, 1st. Div. 

Jonathan Nelson AU R-W, B. 44 & 66. 1st Div. 

• The range-ways were strips of land running east and west, four rods wide, and 
adjoining one sideofeacli lot, reserved by the grantors for highways, and when not 
used as such, were, by the committee aforenamed, assigned to the difTerent land-owners 
as compensation for the damage of roads crossing their land. In the assignment of the 
range-ways the lots are named, indicating very nearly where the owners lived. 

2 R-W signifies Range-Way ; B. between. 

i.A:srD-owi!^RS. 101 

Moses Quimby i R-W. B. 34 & 33. 1st Div. 

Daniel Andrew Equal R-W. 

James King All R-W. B, 42 & 43, 1st Div. 

Benjamin Wells 2 Rods R-W. B. 41 & 63. 1st. Div. 

Simon Kezar Equal R-W. 

Hannah Pearson 2 Rods South side No. 3. 2nd Div. 

Daniel Messer AU R-W, B, 49 & 71. 1st. Div. 

Epliraim Gile All R-W, B. 69 & 68. 1st Div. 

Ezra Littlehale ^ R-W, B. 56 & 57. 1st. Div. 

Theophilus Cram Equal R-W. 

Joseph Wells. Equal R-W. 

Obadiah Eastman AU R-W. B. 63, & Bai-ron Lot. 

Philip Sargent All R-W, B. 7 & 8. 2nd Div. 

Samuel Andrew. Equal R-W. 

Amos Pressey i R-W. B. 24 & 25. 2nd Div. 

John King All R-W, B, 26 & 27. 2nd Div. 

WiUiam Bean ^ R-W. B. 23 & 10. 2nd Div. 

David Eaton i R-W. B, 28 & 12. 2nd D. 

James Eaton ^ R-W. B. 21 & 20. 2nd Div. 

Isaac Hasten I R-W. on sovith side 15. 2nd Div. 

Daniel Whittier i R-W. North side 18. 2nd Div. 

Francis Whittier and ) 
• Francis Whittier jr j i R-W, S. side 18. 2nd. Div. 

Benjamin Fowler | R-W. North side 15. 2nd. Div. 

Ahner Chase 1 Rod South side 57. 2nd. Div. 

Jonathan Roby 2 Rods R-W, B. 56 & 41. & 56 & 42. 2nd Div. 

William Scales Equal R-W. 

Daniel Emery I R-W. B. 42 & 43. 2nd. Div. 

Matthew Harvey AU R-W. B, 37 & 36. 2nd Div. West half R-W. 
B. 20 & 13. 2nd Div. East half R-W. B. 20 & 29. R-W. B. 20 & 33 

Josiah Nichols 2 Rods R-W. 28 & 37. 2nd. Div. 

James Hutchins 2 Rods B, 36 & 37. 2nd Div. 

David Davis Equal R-W. 

Cornelius Bean Equal R-W. 

Jonathan RoweU, ^ R-W. B. 1. & 57. 2nd Div. 

Thomas Rowell h R-W. B. 1 & 37. 2nd Div. 

William Lowell 3 Rods south side 57. 2nd Div. & 6. 3d Div. 

Plummer Wheeler 1 R. R-W. B. 57 & 56. 2nd Div. 

Jonathan Davis All R-W, B. 47 & 69. 1st. Div. 

Jonathan Davis jr. AU R-W, B. 71 & 72. 1st Div. 


Isaac Messer All R-W. B. 33. & 34. 2nd Div. as far as crossing 
his lot 33. 

Benjamin Wadleigh All R-W. 68 & 46. 1st Div. 

Reuben Gile, h R.-W. B. 50. 1st Div. &, ^ R-W. South end 50. 
1st Div. 

Stephen Nelson I R-W. & 14. 2nd Div. 

John Messer. Equal R-W. 

William Hutchins. Equal R-W. 

Ephraim Hildreth. All R-W. B. 27 & the lot at North end of 27. 
1st Div. 

Eliphalet Woodward ^ R-W. 

Ezra Jones jr. Equal R-W. 

Stephen Woodward Equal R-W. 

Thomas Wadleigh. All R-W. B. 46 & 47. 2nd Div. & ^ R-W. 
B. 14 & 80. 1 Div. 

Leonard Colburn' ^ R-W. 

David Peaslee. All R-W. at South end of 19. 1st. Div. 

Peter Peaslee. All R-W, B, 19. 1st. Div. and 41. 2nd Div. & 5 
L. P.i lot. 

Caleb Kimball. AU R.-W. B. 4 & 5 L. P. Lot. 

John Eaton. Equal R-W. 

Jonathan Colburn h R-W, B. 4 & 5, L. P. lot. 

David Colburn. Equal R-W. 

Oliver French. Equal R-W. 

John Kimball. AU R-W, B. 45 in 2nd Div. & 70. 1st Div. 

Ebenezer Crosby. Equal R-W. 

Lot Little. Equal R-AV. 

Joseph Youring. 1 Rod R-W, B. 61. & 62, 2nd Div. 

Phineas Stevens. }j R-W, B. 53 & 44. 2nd Div. & ^ R-W, B 45. 
2nd Div. & 78. 1st Div 

Moses Wadleigh. Equal R-W. 

Ephraim Wadleigh. Equal R-W. 

Joseph Clough. Equal R-W. 

James Eaton, i R-W. B. 21 & 28. 2nd Div. 

Ezekiel Flanders. 2 Rods R-W. B, 20 & — 1st. Div. 

Dudley Kendrick, Equal R-W. 

Samuel Kendrick, Equal R-W. 

Benjamin WiUiams, Equal R-W. 

Hezekiah Parker, Equal R-W. 

■ L. P. means Lord Proprietor. 

LAND-OT^Ts^EKS. 103 

Thomas Walker, Equal R-W. 

Thomas Messer, Equal R-W. 

George Walker, Equal R-W. 

Jesse Fellows, Equal R-W 

Green French, Equal R-W. 

Asa Nelson, h R-W, B, lot 

Samuel Peasfee All R-W, that is left B, 82 & 83, 1st Div. 

Philemon Hastings All R-W. that is left B, 45 & 44, 2ntl Div. 

Joseph Johnson ^ R-W. B, 52, & 61. 2nd Div. 

Josejjh Wadleigh. Accepted the Road B. 79 & 80. 1st Div, and 
of the Road from Fishersfield to Warner. 

Moses Hills ^ R-W, B, 25 & 40. 2nd Div. 

Isaac Peasley. Accepted his Rates for & Road tlu*ough his land. 

Daniel Messer, All R-W. B. 49 & 71. 1st. Div. & the R-W, left 
B 71, 1st. Div & 2. 2nd Div. 

Samuel Bean i R-W. B. 42-3-4-5, & 67 Barron Lot, 65, 64. in 

Joseph WeUs. Given full liberty for town to make roads through 
his lands by giving equal amount in R-W. 

Benjamin WeUs jr. h R-W. B, 22 & 23. 2nd Div. 

Simon Kezar, in ] R-W. left B, 12 & 13. 2nd Div. 
behalf of his father 
Ebenezer Kezar, 

Silas Russell is not named. Probably the range- 
way adjoining his lot was divided. Joseph Greeley, 
Hezekiah Blaisdell, Enoch and Daniel Page, Mica- 
jah Pillsbnry, Captain Silsby, Captain Taylor, Na- 
thaniel Eaton, and some others who were here very 
soon after 1792, were not here when this assign- 
ment was made, consequently their names do not 

The acceptance of the report of the committee by 
the land-owners is signed by each land-owner, and 
the original is in the clerk's office, it having never 
been recorded, and was accidentally found in look- 
ing after old papers. 

repeese:^rtatiox of the classed 


Among the acts of the Provincial Convention, or 
Congress, as it was qnite as freqnently called, of 
New Hampshire, held at Exeter, Aug. 25, 1775, 
was the issuing of an order to the several towns 
and places in the province for the taking of a cen- 
sus or " enumeration " of the people, in which the 
inhabitants should be classified so as to form a basis 
for adequate representation in the legislature. Act- 
ing upon the information obtained from these cen- 
sus returns, the legislature proceeded to form into 
a class, or representative district, towns not having 
enough ratable polls to entitle each one to its 
own representative, contiguous towns, of course, 
forming the district. In this way Fishersfield and 
Perrystown were in 1775 classed together, and in 
1777, Warner, Perrystown, Fishersfield (ISTew- 
bury), and 'New Breton (Andover) were classed 
together to send one representative. In December, 
1777, the inhabitants of those towns having been 
duly warned, met for that purpose at the house of 
Daniel Flood, in Warner, and made choice of Dan- 
iel Morrill, of Warner, for representative for one 
year, which office he held during that time, though 
the meeting to make choice of his successor was 
held the following Ai^ril. After that the elections 
were all held in December till 1783. 




Dec. 1777 Daniel Morrill chosen 
April 1778 Daniel Flood chosen 
Dec. 1778 Thomas RoweU " 
Dec. 1779 Isaac Chase " 

Dec. 1780 Tappan Evans " (Father of Hon. Benj". Evans) 
Dec. 1781 Nathaniel Bean " 

In 1782 none chosen, and no record of meeting called for that 
purpose, but in the March following — 

March 1783 Nathaniel Bean again chosen 

March 1784 Francis Davis chosen 

March 1785 Matthew Harvey chosen (Sutton) 

March 1786 Zephaniah Clark " (Fishersfield) 

March 1787 James Flanders " 

March 1788 James Flanders " 

In the election of 1784, Warner, Perrystown, and 
Fishersfield participated, but Andover did not, 
having joined 'New Chester. 

The meetings of the classed towns for choice of 
representative were all held in Warner, and, with 
two exceptions, the class while it existed was rep- 
resented by Warner men. Warner, thongh as 
elsewhere stated in this work it was not offi- 
cially surveyed so as to determine its actual limits 
till more than twenty years after Sutton was sur- 
veyed, was yet older ])y incorporation, and older 
as a community. The inhabitants of the classed 
towns, while few in number, were content to let 
Warner take the precedence. But they increased 
rapidly in number, and grew in importance; and, 
in 1785, Sutton, which had been incorporated the 
year previous, appears to have thought it time to 
assert herself and come to the front, which she did 


in the j^erson of MattheAv Harvey, who represented 
the classed towns that year. Fishersfiekl did the 
same the next year, Zephaniah Chirk, one of her 
most prominent men, lieing chosen to represent 
the class that year, 1786. The next year, 1787, 
Fishersfiekl and Sntton participated in the elec- 
tion of James Flanders, of Warner, and did so 
for the. same man in 1788, hut thereafter did not 
act with Warner, and the class ceased in reality, 
though without formal dissolution by the legisla- 
ture. It is not impossible that dissatisfaction be- 
tween Warner and the other towns in the class 
might have arisen in this way, namely, — the other 
towns were growing in importance, and the ambi- 
tions spirits among them, conscious of their own 
capabilities, naturally desired to have a share in the 
execution of the public work, which desire their 
fellow-townsmen seconded, while Warner, just as 
naturally, did not choose to let the " sceptre depart 
from Judah, nor a law-giver from between her 

Concerning this matter of election of representa- 
tive, in 1789, Mr. Harriman says, in his history of 
Warner, " There was some informality about the 
election of representative this year. In the first 
place, on the regular day for the election, the town 
' voted not to send.' At a subsequent meeting the 
vote was reconsidered, and James Flanders was 
elected. Record of a later meeting has the follow- 
ing: 'Voted to choose a com. to petition the Gen- 
eral Court in behalf of the town that our Repre- 
sentative may have a seat for the present year.' 
The petition was successful, and Mr. Flanders took 


his seat. But it does not appear that the other 
towns of the district participated in this election. 
Warner stood alone. Perhaps it was irregular; but 
this w^as the end of the class." Two documents, 
preserved among the papers of Matthew^ Harvey, 
throw some light on this " irregular " proceeding, 
and show the reason w^iv the other towns, Sutton 
and Fishersfield, did not participate in the election 
of 1789. Sutton, and doubtless Fishersfield also, 
had received from "\Yarner a polite invitation to 
stay away. The first paper is a letter from the 
selectmen of Warner to the selectmen of Sutton, 
and is marked " With care^" and is as follows : 

Gentlemen : 

As we have for some years past been classed with you and Fish- 
ersfield in choosing a Representative, and as we are now qualified 
by oui" number to have a Representative without joining with any 
other town, we shall take the privilege according to the Constitution, 
and we would have you govern youi'selves accordingly. 
From yours to serve 

Parmenas Watson ^ Selectmen 
Richard Bartlett V- For 
Benjamin Sargent ) Warner. 
Warner, Feb. 16, 1789 
To the Selectmen of Sutton. 

It appears that Sutton and Fishersfield did " gov- 
ern themselves accordingly," and therefore Warner 
acted alone at this election of 1789. Their right 
to withdraw^ from the class, however, seems not to 
have been ofiicially recognized, since the state 
treasurer makes a demand upon them for their pro- 
portion of the money to pay the representative, as 
is shown by the following certificate, it being the 
other document alluded to as found enclosed with 
the letter of the selectmen of Warner : 

108 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

This may certify that we have labored with the town of War- 
ner, in order to see if we could be relieved of what the Treasurer of 
this State has ordered us to pay to the Representative for Warner, 
for the year 1789, and they have refused making us relief by pay- 
ing their own Representative. 

Benjamin Wadleigh 
Thomas Wadleigh, 
Selectmen for Sutton 
For the year 1790 

On Sutton town records, in the warrant for town- 
meeting to be held March 7, 1791, is found the fol- 
lowing article to be acted upon: 

To see if the town will try to get the money from the town of 
Warner that we paid for their Representative's attendance in the 
General Court of 1790. 

At adjourned meeting March 29, 1791, — 

Voted that whereas this town is ordered by the Treasurer of this 
State to pay the Representative for the town of Warner for his at- 
tendance in the General Court in the year 1790, that the Selectmen 
of this town shall petition the General Court of this State, at their 
next session, to see if we can get relief in that matter. 

The great struggle for Independence, which had 
kept the people united by merging all separate and 
personal interests into one general desire and effort 
for the common good and purpose, was now over, 
and men were beginning to be actuated by lesser 
aims, and desires for individual interests. It seems 
to be a necessity of our being that we shall always 
have something to oppose — something that we wish 
to conquer; and without this stimulus to keep us 
wide awake and active, life loses half its interest. 
So, if we no longer have Great Britain to fight, we 
will look sharp, and see to it that Warner does not 
get ahead of us. 


To US Americans the story of our Revolutionary 
War never grows old, or loses its interest. Read 
it often as Ave may, we do not fail to sympathize 
with the sufferings and privations of the soldiers, 
to mourn with them over every disheartening de- 
feat; and when for the twentieth time we read the 
account of some of the great victories, we rejoice 
with exceeding great joy. But we must not for- 
get that it was not altogether by the soldiers, who 
made the fatiguing marches and carried the guns 
and met the enemy in open battle, that the war was 
carried through to a successful termination. There 
was a power behind them, — the legislatures of the 
dilierent states. The men composing these bodies, 
impressed with the sense of their awful responsi- 
bilities, and moved by purest patriotism, devised 
every means the most patient consideration could 
suo-orest or invent to make the slender resources of 
the country avail to meet the wants of the army, 
as well as to raise that armv. The externals of the 
war were the soldiers and their battles, but its 
vitalizing and governing forces were certainly the 
humble legislatures of the different states carrying 
out the recommendations and responding to the 
calls of the Continental Congress. Therefore let 
not the names of those men be forgotten. 

Perhaps no work of any body of men ever assem- 
bled in ]^ew Hampshire has equalled in importauce 
the work done in that legislature from 1775 to the 
close of the war in 1783. And they had enough 
of it to do. In 1778 there were two sessions of 
the leofislature — one of seventeen and the other of 
thirty-one days; in 1779, four sessions; in 1780,, 


four; in 1781, five; in 1782, five; in 1783, three; 
in 1781, three; in 1785, three; in 1786, three. 

The first part of the year 1777 was the darkest 
period of the Revohition. People of this time have 
little idea, from history even, of the burdens under 
wliich our forefathers labored at this time. The 
stoutest hearts and coolest heads quailed under 
them. Great ol^stacles to the cause of the 
patriots existed in many of the states. In all, it 
was difiicult to raise recruits; hard money was 
scarce; paper money was next to worthless; pro- 
visions were scarce in consequence of the lack of 
men to till the lands; speculators made the most 
of the opportunity to demand high prices. This 
was the year in which the inhabitants of the towns, 
forming' the class of which Sutton was a member, 
met for the first time to choose a representative to 
the legislature which was to help the state to find 
a way through or out of some of these difficulties. 
Thus we see that Sutton, or, rather, Perrystown, 
small and poor as she then was, really did, through 
her fractional claim on the services of the repre- 
sentative, have a voice in that legislature from 
which at this trying period so much was expected, 
and which was so heavily weighted Avith respon- 

1793. From the time the connection with Warner 
ceased till 1793, Sutton and Fishersfield appear to 
have had no representation, as they so state in a 
petition to the legislature in that year, they uniting 
with Bradford in asking to be classed together for 
that purpose. The original petition, now but little 
less than a century old, is at this hour of writing 


before the eyes of the compiler of this work, and, 
though a trifle worn in the folds of the paper, is 
read and copied without difficulty. It is in the 
handsome hand-writing of Esquire Thomas Wad- 
leigh, and the ink is not faded. Each one of the 
selectmen of the three towns affixed his own auto- 
graph to the document. The following is a verba- 
tim copy: 

State of New Hampshire & County of Hillsborough. 
To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives to be con- 
vened at Exeter on the last Wednesday in December in the year 

Your Petioners humbly show in behalf of the towns of Sutton, 
Fishersfield, and Bradford, in County and State aforesaid, that they 
labor under many and great disadvantages by not having the privi- 
lege of being represented to General Court, with the rest our neigh- 
boring towns, having the full number of Ratable Polls that the Con- 
stitution requires in that respect. 

Therefore we pray your Honors to take the matter into your wise 
consideration and remove our difficulties by classing the aforesaid 
towns together for that purpose. 

And your Petitioners in duty Bound shall ever pray 

Moses Hills ) 

Matthew Harvey > Selectmen for Sutton 

Thomas Wadleigh ) 

John Hogg ) 

Bond Little >- Selectmen for Fishersfield 

Phineas Bachelder ) 

William Presbury ) o i j. i? -r. li- i 

Q, 1 TT i • - selectmen tor Bradford 
Stephen Hoyt jr. ) 

Another jDctition of similar purport includes 
IsTew London in the request to be classed with the 
foregoing, and is signed by the selectmen of the 
four towns, who, in behalf of their several towns, 
*' humbly show that our situation is such that there 
is not a conveniency in being classed with any 
other towns for representation we being about 


three hundred and sixteen ratable Polls in number 
in the whole. Therefore we pray that we may 
have liberty to send two representatives to the 
General Court." 

179-1:. The General Court, however, sent an order, 
about the first of March, 1794, that l^ew London 
and Sutton were classed together to send one rep- 
resentative, and directing the selectmen to warn a 
meeting for that purpose. This class continued till 
1803, in which year Sutton, having by increase of 
population become entitled to do so, sent its own 
representative, Thomas Wadleigh. 

The representatives under this class of Sutton 
and ^ew London were, — 

1794. Matthew Harvey. 1799. Capt. Thomas Wadleigh. 

1795. Matthew Harvey. 1800. Capt. Thomas Wadleigh. 

1796. Matthew Harvey. 1801. Lieut. Joseph Colby. 

1797. Matthew Harvey. 1802. Capt. Thomas Wadleigh. 

1798. Matthew Harvey. 

1796. Copy of a return of town-meeting in 
1796 : 

At a legal meeting holden at the dwelling house of Matthew 
Harvey in Sutton by the inhabitants of New London and Sutton 
March 30 1796, notified for the same purpose, Samuel Messer 
Moderator. The votes being called for a Representative to repre- 
sent said towns in General Court for the present year, it appeared 
they were unanimously for Dea. Matthew Harvey. 

David Eaton, clerk. 

-r . TT ) Selectmen 

Levi Harvey ( o 

^^^^^^'^^'^*^') New London. 

Copy of certificate showing date at which 'New 
London and Sutton were classed together: 


This may certify that we selectmen of Sutton about the first of 
March 1794 received an order of the General Court that New Lon- 
don and this town were classed together to choose a Representative 
for the Court, and were desired to warn a meeting for that purpose 
but considering that New London is the oldest town by incorpora- 
tion we thought it proper that their selectmen should warn the 
meeting, and sent the order to them. Accordingly they warned 
the meeting to be held in Sutton. 

After the Representative was chosen we were called on to make a 
Retiu'n of the Same. The answer we gave was that we thought the 
Selectmen that warned the meeting ought to make a Return. 

Sutton May 15, 1794 

Thomas Wadleigh ) Selectmen 

Moses Hills I ^ ^f 

) button 


Li 1778, several of the non-resident proprietors 
of lands in Perrystown, being delinquent of paying 
their taxes, Samuel Peaslee, by right of his office 
of collector and constable, sold these delinquent 
rights at public vendue, and gave titles defending 
the same against the claims of the former owners. 
The lots were sold entire to the highest bidder, 
and the buyers afterwards sold oflP parcels of these 
lands to accommodate settlers as applications were 
made, and these settlers made improvements upon 
them greatly increasing their value. Many years 
after this, as late as 1803, some of the former pro- 
prietors, among them Dr. Nathaniel Haven, com- 
menced a lawsuit for the recovery of these lands, 
claiming that the sale was illegal, due notice 
thereof not having been given in the public prints 
according to law. 

The town chose for a committee, Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Esq., Moses Hills, Esq., and Capt. 
Oliver French, to assist the collector in defending 
the suit. The settlers meantime were siiifering 
the greatest alarm, lest they should lose not only 
their original purchase, but all their buildings and 
improvements thereon. The assessment of the tax 
by the selectmen had been lost or mislaid; the col- 
lector could find but a portion of the tax-list, and 
no copy of the newspaper in which Avas printed the 
notice of the vendue could be found. It was 


thought probable that the proprietors felt confident 
that at that late date, nearly thirty years after the 
sale, there was not a copy in existence, and they 
were even snspected of having- bonght up and 
destroyed the whole preparatory to commencing 
their snit. 

Bnt the committee spared no pains to find the 
necessary proof of the legalit}'^ of the sale. They 
rode day and night, and searched the whole state 
throngh, and even offered fifty dollars for one copy 
of that newspaper. At last, when they had almost 
abandoned hope, they succeeded in finding one in 
the possession of Gov. Gilman, of Exeter. 

Judge Harris, of Hopldnton, was counsel for the 
defendant; Gov. Gilman was summoned into court 
with the newspaper; Mr. Peaslee produced a part 
of the tax-list, and was able to swear to the remain- 
der of it; and the selectmen were able to swear 
to the correctness of the published notice of the 
vendue in the newspaper. The defendant pleaded 
the injustice to the purchasers on account of the 
late day at which the former owners had brought 
the suit for the recovery of the lands, the unreason- 
able delay of thirty years, the settlers during all 
that time going on with im]3rovements and cultiva- 
tion, and pleaded also the disastrous results to the 
town in case the suit should be sustained. 

The jury brought in a verdict in favor of the 
defendant, and when this result was made known 
abroad, the great relief and joy of the town and its 
early settlers can well be imagined. The case was 
not decided till 1808, and they had been for all 
those long years in suspense and anxiety concern- 
ing their title to their homesteads. 

suTTo:^r i]S" isio. 

At the risk of repeating some names whicli are 
to be found in their rightfnl places in onr hsts of 
town officers, we have transcribed wdiat is found 
on the town records for 1810, in order to show who 
of the citizens were active in town affairs at that 

Population in 1810, 1328.— Polls, 203.— Inventory, $952.21. 

Lieut Amos Pressey — Moderator of Town Meeting. 

Jonathan Harvey — Town Clerk. 

Steplien PiUsbury, John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

Thomas Wadleigh Esq. — Representative. 

William Kendrick, Ichabod Roby, Joseph Roby, Samuel Peaslee, 
Phineas Stevens, John Chellis, Daniel Savary, Benaiah Peaslee, 
Obediah Eastman, Asa King, Samuel Kesar, Joseph Pearsons, 
David Chadwick, Thomas Pearsons, Willard Emerson, Ephraim 
Mastin, Benjamin Colby, Frederic Wilkins, — Surveyors of Highway. 

Enoch Page, Jonathan Eaton, Surveyors of Lumber. 

Benjamin Williams, James Messer, Joseph Peaslee, William 
Bean, 3d, WiUiam Pressey, jr., Jolm Harvey, jr., Robert Knowlton, — 

Stephen PiUsbury, John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Fence- 

Benjamin Colby, Joseph PiUsbury, — Tythingiiien. 

James Minot, — Sealer of Weights & Measures. 

Jonathan Harvey, James Minot, Stephen PiUsbury, School 

Amos Pressey, James Minot, Jonathan Harvey, Field-Drivers. 

Appropriations — $320 for support of Schools, — $700 for High- 
ways, — $150 for Town Charges. County Tax, — $113.68. 

SUTTON IN 1810. 117 

Clergymen Resident in town, — Samuel Ambrose, C. Bap., 
Nathan Champlin, — Evangelist, William Dodge, — Free Baptist. 
Justices, — Thomas Wadleigh, — Moses HiUs, — Jonathan Harvey. 
Physicians, — William Martin, — Ezra Marsh, — P. N. Roby. 
Traders, James Minot, at the South, Joseph Pike, at the North. 
Land Surveyors, Col. John Harvey and Capt John Pillsbury. 

Hon. Benjamin Evans, whose wife was sister of 
the nine Wadleigh brothers, came to the Sonth Vil- 
lage about 1800. Made buildings and kept store 
till about 1808. He was a useful and influential 
citizen; was selectman, and held other town offices. 
Mr. Evans was succeeded by Hon. James Minot 
(father of Judge Minot, of Concord) . Mr. Minot 
was a prominent citizen of the town; was select- 
man in 1812. Served as an officer in the War of 
1812. Removed from this town in 1811. 

Capt. James Taylor lived near the north base of 
Kimball hill, where he kept store and tavern, and 
carried on the making of potash. He had a large 
family, and four of his sons became clergymen, 
among them "William, who built a house at Mill 
Village, and married a daughter of Dea. Asa kel- 
son. He is more fully spoken of in Calvinistic 
Baptist Church chapter of this history. 

About this time Joseph Pike, from 'New London, 
kept store at the ]N'orth Village. Col. Philip S. 
Harvey and JN'athaniel Ambrose had previously 
traded at the same place. The making of potash 
was at this time an impoi'tant business. Besides 
Capt. Taylor's, there was a potash factory in each 
of the three villages in Sutton. 

SUTT0:N' in 1820, '21, '22, '23. 

Petition to be formed into a school-district known 
as the South Centre school-district, signed by the 
following names, shows who lived in that section 
of the town at that date — 1820. 

John Peaslee, John Bailey, Thomas Cheney, Benjamin Lovering, 
Enoch Bailey, Enoch Page, Hazen Putney, Samuel Dresser, Israel 
Obear Hall, Zenas Herrick, Penuel Allen, Jacob Worthen, Moses 
Pillsbury, Joseph Pillsbury, Isaac Littlehale, Joshua Flanders, 
Lewis I. Bailey, Samuel Peaslee, William Pressey, John Pillsbury, 
Nathan Champlin, Thomas Peaslee, Edward Dodge, John Phil- 
brick, Jesse Cutting, Jonathan Heath, Ephraim Fisk, Henry 
Adams, Levi Jones, Stephen B. Carleton, James Buzzell, Daniel 
Chase, Nathaniel Eaton, William Dodge, Samuel Dresser, jr., Ezra 
Littlehale, Daniel Richardson — 37 names. 

Mar. 14, 1820, Voted that all school committees and other per- 
sons who engage and contract with Instructors of schools be 
directed to require of such Instructors before they finally contract 
with them, to procure a recommendation from the Inspectors of 
Schools of this town. 

Mar. 1823. Voted that the Overseers of the Poor be instructed 
to employ Dr. Robert Lane for the Town's Poor, in preference to 
any other physician. — The aged Poor to be furnished with every- 
thing necessary to make them as comfortable as their circumstances 
will admit, viz., board, lodging, mending, nursing, spirit, tobacco. 

Mar. 13, 1821, Jonathan Nelson petitioned for a road to be laid 
out west of Kesar's pond. — Referred to selectmen. 

Same date, — Rev. Nathan Ames, Rev. Elijah Watson, Rev. 
WiUiam Dodge, Rev. Samuel Ambrose, appointed Visitors of 


John Harvey took from the town Tryphena Whittier to hoard at 
five cents per week. [She was okl enough to perform some light 

1821. " North West School district " took in Joseph, Daniel, 
Edward, Samuel, Joseph, jr., and John Chadwick, Nathaniel Todd, 
Daniel Butterfield, James King, James Morgan. 

Hogreeves in 1821. [Those married during the preceding year.] 
Thomas Cheney, Isaac Fellows, Micajah Fowler, Jonathan Roby, 
jr., Isaac Mastin, John Stevens, Sdas Rowell, David Palmer. 

Hogreeves in 1822 — Joseph Pike, Nathan Maxon, Ephraim 
Bean, Daniel Chase, RueU MiUer. 

Hogreeves in 1823, Reuben Bean, Asa Page, Nathaniel Smith, 
Thomas Jefferson Hill, Israel MorriU, Samuel Blake, Moses Put- 
ney, Joseph Roby, Charles French, Joseph Woodward, Asa Mastin, 
Jonathan Palmer, Joseph Goodwin. 

Mechan^ics, Mantjfactureks, and Profes- 
sional Men. 

Samuel Andrew, farrier. 
Daniel Andrew, miller and carder. 
John Andrew, clothier. 
Moses Andrew, blacksmith. 
Israel Andrew, joiner. 
Nathan Ames, clergyman. 
Samuel Ambrose, clergyman. 
Saul Austin, shoemaker. 
Moses Abbott, clock-maker. 
Hezekiali Blaisdell, cooper- 
John Blaisdell, miller. 

Bradbmy Bailey, trader. (Store-keeper at South Sutton.) 
Lewis J. Bailey, trader, and made potash. 
Enoch Bailey, post-master at the South Village. 
William Bean, 3d, tanner. 
Ephi'aim Bean, clothier. 
Joseph Bean, brick-maker. 
James Burrill, blacksmith. 


Jesse Balcom, joiner. 

Nathan Champlin, maker of furniture. 

John Champlin, Jack-at-all-trades. (Ingenious artisan.) 

Thomas Cheney, joiner. 

Enoch Colby, blacksmith. 

Stephen B. Carleton, shoemaker. 

Daniel Chase, joiner. 

William Dodge, clergyman. 

Edward Dodge, blacksmith. 

Daniel Davis, joiner. 

Ezekiel Davis made wooden ware. 

Moses Davis, yoke-maker. 

Smith Downing, teacher. 

Jonathan Fifield, blacksmith. 

Joshua Flanders, gunsmith. 

Benjamin Farrar, tanner and shoemaker. 

Benjamin Fowler, miller. 

Joseph Greeley, miller. 

Samuel Gardner, shoemaker. 

Zenas Herrick, saddle-maker. 

Moses S. Harvey, teacher. 

John Harvey, Jr. (Col. John), carpenter and land surveyor. 

Philip S. Harvey, joiner. 

Aura Jackson, scythe- and snath-maker. 

Levi Jones, mason. 

John Kezar, blacksmith. 

Benjamin Loverin, physician. 

Nathan Leach, wheelwright. 

Reuel Miller, blacksmith. 

William Martin, physician. 

Philip Nelson, Jr., clothier. 

Isaac Peaslee, Jr., clergj^man. 

Daniel Page, carpenter. 

Enoch Page, carpenter and joiner. 

Joseph Pillsbury, miller. 

Moses Pillsbury, joiner. 

John Pillsbury, joiner 

Hazen Putney, tanner and harness-maker. 

Amos Pressey, deputy sheriff and auctioneer. 

John Pressey, tanner and drover. 


Joseph Pike, trader, and made potash. 

Joseph Peters, clotliier. 

Aaron Russell, joiner. 

Ichabod Roby, miller. 

Philip N. Roby, physician. 

Phineas Stevens, cooper. 

Ira Tenney, auctioneer. 

Henry White, cooper. 

Stephen Woodward, cooper. 

Jonathan Woodward, cooper. 

David Woodward, joiner. 

Joshua Wright, farrier. 

Elijah Watson, clergyman. 

Samuel Worth, shoemaker. 

Thomas Walker, shoemaker and tanner. 

Jonathan Palmer, Cooper. 

Highway Surveyors in 1820. 

John Mc Williams, Col. John Harvey, 

Joseph Johnson, John Kezar, 

Daniel Wheeler, Jacob Bean, 

Joseph Roby, Jr., Israel Bean, 

Thomas Peaslee, John King, 

Enoch Colby, Levi Fowler, 

Silas RoweU, Elbridge G. King, 

Moses Nelson, Jonathan Woodward, 

William Bean, 3d, Dudley Bailey, 

Ezekiel Little, William Palmer, 

Levi Gile, Amos Parker. 
Ichabod Roby, 

The justices of the peace at this time were Thomas Wadleigh' 
Moses Hills, Jonathan Harvey. 

Population in 1820, 1,573. Tax-payers on poll, 274. 


Tow^-Meetings to 1869, a:nt) To^ts- Officers 

TO 1889. 

The first town meeting in Perrystown was held March 1777. 

Ebenezer Kezar chosen Moderator. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Clei'k. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, David Eaton, Samuel Peaslee were chosen 

Samuel Peaslee, Constable. 

1778. Benjamin Wadleigh, Clerk. 

Samuel Peaslee, Constable. 

Daniel Messer, Matthew Harvey, Benjamin Wadleigh, selectmen. 

Mar. 1779. Daniel Messer, Moderator. 

Eplu^aim Gile, Clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, Joseph Johnson, Benjamin Wadleigh, select- 
men ; Daniel Messer, Constable. 

Ebenezer Kezar chosen Collector of Taxes of Non-resident pro- 
prietors. Chose Matthew Harvey, David Peaslee, William Pressey, 
com. to view the road that goes by Jonathan Roby's and Mr. 

Sept. 1779. There were 9 voters present, eight voted against the 
new Plan of Government. 

Voted to give Daniel Messer 60 Dollars for his trouble in 
serving as Constable this year. [The currency was at this time 
greatly depreciated.] 

March, 1780. Silas RusseU, Moderator ; Ephraim GUe, Clerk ; 
David Eaton, Constable ; Matthew Harvey, Benjamin Wadleigh, 
William Pressey, selectmen. 

Voted to give Matthew Harvey 15 Dollars for sending a warn- 
ing to New Breton [now Andover. At this date Andover was 


included in the representative class or district with Perrystown, 
Fishersfield, and Warner, which was the occasion for sending the 
warning. The enormous charge of fifteen dollars for this service 
had very little money in it.] 

Mar. 1781. Ephraim Gile, Clerk ; Jacob Davis, Capt. George 
Marsden and Samuel Peaslee, selectmen. 

Peter Peaslee, Constable. 

Samuel Bean and INIatthew Harvey chosen Com. to buy Beef for 
tlie Army. [This action of the town was taken in response to the 
call of the legislature upon the towns for each to furnish its pro- 
portion of beef for this purpose.] 

Mar. 1782. Ephraim Gile, Clerk. 

Capt. George Marsden, Benjamin Philbrook, David Eaton, 
selectmen ; David Eaton, Constable . 

Voted to help Mrs. Critchet and Mrs. Silas Russell during the 
absence of their husbands in the Army. [The legislature had 
passed a law, some years earlier in the progress of the war, 
requiring such action on the part of towns. At this date, though 
active hostilities had nearly ceased, it was still thought best to keep 
the ranks of the army full.] 

Mar. 1783. Ephraim Gile, Clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, William Pressey, Samuel Andrew, chosen 
selectmen ; Matthew Harvey. Constable. 

Apr. 9, 1784. Meeting held at the residence of Pain Tongue, on 
the top of Pound Hill, east of the Brickyard. [The town was incor- 
porated under the name of Sutton.] At meeting held May 20, 
Ebenezer Kezar, Moderator ; Thomas Wadleigh, Clerk. [The record 
of the proceedings shows that something was done besides making 
choice of town officers. Before incorporation the people had no 
power to levy taxes for the making of roads and bridges, or to sup- 
port schools, but they now proceed to take action looking to the 
performance of those most necessary duties, as well as some others. 
At this meeting, the first one held after incorporation], Jonathan 
Johnson, Caleb Kimball, Phineas Stevens chosen selectmen ; 
James King, Constable. Voted to raise £60 to repair Roads, 
£20 to defray Town Charges. 

A Com. chosen to "pitch" a place to erect a meeting-house. 

Voted that public roads be laid out 3 rods wide, and cross roads 
2 rods wide. 

March 4, 1785. Meeting held at Pain Tongue's. Thomas 


Wadleigh Clerk. Matthew Harvey, Caleb Kimball, Joseph Wacl- 
leigh, selectmen. Phineas Stevens, Constable. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Fence Viewer [first chosen]. 

Raise £60 to repair Roads. 

£7 For Town Charges. 

March 3rd, 1786. At same place. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Clerk. 

Caleb Kimball, Asa Nelson, Daniel .Messer, chosen selectmen; 
William Pressey, Constable. Jacob Davis, Benj'n Wadleigh, 
Tythingmen ; Matthew Harvey, David Eaton, Jacob Mastin, Com. 
to lay out roads. 

David Eaton, Daniel Messer, Samuel Bean, Caleb Kimball, Com. 
to build Meeting Houses. 

Voted to raise £5 to defray Town Charges. 

£12 For Support of Schools [first raised]. 

£60 For Highways. 

Voted that Benjamin Wadleigh, Phineas Stevens, Thomas 
Wadleigh, be Com. to resist a Petition to General Court to annex a 
part of Sutton to New London. 

March, 1787. Meeting held at same place. Thomas Wadleigh, 

Sam'l Bean, Jona. Johnson, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

Joseph Wadleigh, Constable. 

Jeremiah Davis, Peter Peaslee chosen "Hogreeves," being the 
first chosen in this town's history. 

Voted to raise £15 for Town Charges. 

£12 Schools. 

£60 For repair of Highways. 

1788. Meeting held at Ephraim Hildreth's [George Tilton]. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Clerk. 

Sam'l Bean, Jona. Johnson, Tho's Wadleigh, Selectmen. 
Jonathan Page, Constable. 
£70 Highways. 
£15 Town Charges. 
£15 Schools. 

1789. Meeting held at Ephraim Hildreth's. 
Tiiomas Wadleigh, Clerk. 

Sam'l Bean, Jona. Johnson, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 
Joseph Johnson, constable. 
£9 Town Charges. 


£15 Schools. 

£45 for repairs of Highways. 

1790. Meeting held at Moses Quimby's [IMill Village]. 
Thomas Wadleigh, clerk. 

Benj'n Wadleigh, Simon Kezar, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

£6 Town Charges. 

£40 to repair Highways. 

£9 Schools. 

Voted to allow Phineas Stevens 15 shillings for serving as con- 
stable, and Samuel Bean 10 shillings for serving as Selectman, ren- 
dered the previous year. 

[At the end of this decade there were 520 inhabitants, including 
120 Ratable Polls. No State and County officers had been voted 
for by this town. No political dissensions of course could have 
arisen, and there were none. Town officers devoted themselves 
wholly to the management of local interests.] 

1791. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Jonathan Roby, Select- 

£80 Highways. 

£4 Town charges. 

As much as the State law requires for Schools. 

Meeting held at Moses Quimby's. 

Voted that the selectmen shall procure a suitable piece of 
ground for a Burying ground on the lot where Ezra Littlehale now 
lives ; and that they shall also procui'e a suitable place for a 
Burying ground in the North part of the town near the mouth of 
Kezar's pond. [According to the best information to be obtained, 
Dea. Matthew Harvey gave to the town the North Burial Lot and 
the Meeting House Lot with the Common around it on condition 
it shall forever be used for those purposes.] 

Several interments had been made in the South Burying Ground 
before this time. 

1792. Meeting held at Moses Quimby's house. 

Jonathan Johnson, Mod. Benj. Wadleigh, at adjacent meeting. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, Simon Kezar, Benjamin Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

80£ Highway. 

30£ School. 


6£ Town charges. 

Voted to give Mr. Littlehale 12 shillings for a graveyard. Voted 
to see whether to build two Meeting Houses. 

1793. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, Moses Hills, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

100£ Highways. 

40£ Schools. 

6£ Town charges. 

1794. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Moses Hills, Asa Nelson, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

90£ Highways. 

40£ Schools. 

6£ Town charges. 

Voted to assess £30 for the support of the Gospel, different de- 
nominations being entitled to their proportion of it, also those living 
in town who attend worship in New London. 

Voted not to build a Meeting House this year. 

1795. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Moses Hills, Benjamin Fowler, Caleb Kimball, Selectmen. 

20£ Highway. 

50£ Schools. 

6£ Town charges. 

Jonathan Roby, constable. 

Voted that the Selectmen procure a Burying cloth for the use of 
the town. 

Whereas the Rev. Samuel Ambrose was accepted as a regular 
minister of the Gospel for the town in 1793, and as he has requested 
the town to dismiss him from being considered a minister of the 
town, Voted to grant his request, and that all contracts between 
him and the town are relinquished. 

Voted to support a petition now in the General Court praying 
for a tax upon all the lands in Sutton for the purpose of building a 
Meeting House. Committee chosen to lay out the Lord Proprietors' 
land in lots at the expense of the inhabitants of the same. Voted 
that the Cent Tax so called be equally divided and laid out on the 
two Meeting Houses contemplated to be built in said town. 

1796. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 


Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Daniel Page, Oliver French, Esq. Wadleigh, Selectmen. 
100£ Highways. 
50£ Schools. 
6£ Town charges. 

Voted to choose a Com. or take some other method to district 
the town throughout for Schooling. 

1797. Town Meeting held at Moses Quimby's. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Daniel Page, Philip Sargent, Micajah PiUsbury, Selectmen. 
Voted to build a Pound 25 ft. square at an expense of seven 

100£ Highway. 

6£ Town charges. 

As much as the law directs for Schools. 

1798. Town meeting held at Daniel Andrew's. 
David Eaton, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Matthew Harvey, Moses Hills, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

Voted to raise 900 dollars for School houses. 

100£ Highways. 

50£ Schools. 

10£ Town charges. 

1799. Meeting held at South Meeting House. 
David Eaton, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Moses Hills, Oliver French, Thomas Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

150£ Highways. 

15£ Town charges. 

200 Dollars, Schools. 

1800. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Moses HUls, Green French, Ephraim Hildreth, Selectmen. 
Amos Pressey, Collector and Constable. 

Voted that the Selectmen shall assess the town !«20, for School 
house on Bean's Hill. 

Voted Interest of the Minister Lot for the Minister. 
110£ Highways. 
50£ Schools. 


10£ Town charges. 

1801. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Town clerk and Selectmen same as in 1800. 
Jonathan Harvey, Constable and Collector 
Voted to fence the grave-yards. 
400£ Highway. 
166£ Schools. 
50£ Town charges. 

1802. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Moses Hills. Jonathan Harvey, Enoch Page, Selectmen, 
Thomas Wadleiglv, Town clerk. 
$400 Highways. 
1200 Schools. 
$20 Town charges. 

1803. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk and Representative, the first Rep, 
for Sutton. 

Jonathan Harvey, Oliver French, Capt. French, Selectmen. 

Voted to build a Pound. Selectmen's bills for their year's service 
were $16.75 : they hired the teachers. Voted to raise $90 DoU's, 
for Minister. 

$600. Highways 

$200. Schools. 

$20. Town charges. 

1804. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk and Representative. 

Benjamin Evans, Jonathan Hai'vey, Capt. Oliver French, Select- 

Voted to allow Benjamin Fowler three dollars for procuring a. 
" Gift " for the town [«. e., a preacher or gifted brother]. 

$600 Highways. 

$200 Schools. 

$20 Town charges. 

1805. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk and Rep. 

Moses Hills, Jonathan Harvey, Joseph Greeley, Selectmen. 

Voted that if any of the inhabitants are not willing that Mr. 
Champlin [minister] shall have their respective proportionate share 
of the minister's money, they shall have liberty to lay out the same 
to hire any other Gift that shall be more acceptable to them. 


$500 Highways. 
$200 Schools. 
$210 Town charges. 

1806. Benjamin Evans, Mod. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Town clerk and Rep. 

Benjamin Evans, Jonathan Harvey, Joseph Greeley, Selectmen. 

$1000 Highways. 

$300 Schools. 

$100 Town charges. 

Voted that the svu'veyors of Highways shall work one day with 
all the hands in their respective districts on the Bridge over the 
river below Evans Saw-Mill. 

1807. Benjamin Evans, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk. 
Thomas Wadleigh, Rep. to Gen. Court. 

Jonathan Harvey, Joseph Greeley, Jolm Pressey, Selectmen. 
$700 Highways. 
$200 Schools. 
$100 Town charges. 

1808. Thomas Wadleigh, Mod. and Rep. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk. 

Jonathan Harvey, Daniel Page, Enoch Page, Selectmen. 
$900 Highways. 
$262 Schools. 
$130 Town charges. 

Voted the selectmen to hire preaching. [They hired Elder 
Nathan Champlin.] 

1809. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Treasurer. 

John Pressey, Moses Hills, Benjamin Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

Thomas Wadleigh, RejD. to Gen. Court. 

$800 Highways. 

$319 Schools. 

$100 Town charges. 

Elijah Eaton bid off Thomas Walker and wife to board, clothe 
and nurse comfortably, at 65 cents week. [Probably Mr. W. or 
his wife, or both of them, were able to perform some labor, although, 
being at tliis time quite aged, it was not thought safe to leave them 
without care.] 

1810. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

130 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk. 

Stephen Pillsbury, Benjamin Wadleigh, John Pressey, Selectmen. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Rep. to Gen. Coui't. 

$700 Highways. 

$320 Schools. 

$150 Town charges. 

Nathaniel Eaton engaged to provide Rations for Muster Day for 

Board of Thomas Walker and wife bid off at $1.00 per week. 
Allowed Benjamin Kendrick 15 cents a week for boarding Mrs. 
Walker 8 weeks. 

1811. Moses HUls, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk. 

Stephen Pillsbuiy, Moses HlUs, John Pressey, Selectmen. 

Jonathan Harvey, Rep. to Gen. Court. 

$820 Highways. 

$320 Schools. 

$250 Town charges. 

12^ cents Bounty for Crows Heads. 

1812. Dea. Joseph Greeley, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and also Rep. 

Capt. James Minot, Lieut. Joseph Pike, John Pressey, Selectmen. 
$800 Highways, and for Schools such sum as the law directs. 
$ Town charges. Interest of Coomer farm. 
Thomas Walker and wife bid off, for boarding, nursing, lodging, 
and mending, including Tobacco for 94 cents per week. 

1813. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Rep. 

John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Jr., Jolm Adams, Jr., Select- 

$1500 Highways. 

Schools as the law directs. 

$ Town charges. Interest of Coomer farm. 

Walker and wiie 70 cents per week. 

1814. Thomas Wadleigh. Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, To^vn clerk, and Rep. 

John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Jr., John Adams, Jr., Select- 

$1000 Highways. 
$160 Town charges. 


For Schools as much as Selectmen think proper. 

Town jioor to be furnished with boarding and every thing neces- 
sary to make them quiet and contented both in sickness and in 

1815. Moses Hills, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and also Rep. 

John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Jr., John Adams, Jr., Select- 

$1000 Highways. 

$350 Schools. 

$ Town charges. Interest of Coomer farm. 

[First General Muster this year.] 

1816. Moses Hills, Mod. and Rep. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

Josejih Pike, John Harvey, Jr., Daniel Ober, also Moses Nelson, 

$1500 Highways. Interest arising from the sale of the Como 
(or Coomer) farm for Tovni charges until otherwise ordered. 
Samuel Appleby, Preacher for the town. 

1817. Moses Hills, Mod. and Rep. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

John Pressey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Jr., John Adams, Selectmen. 
Moses S. Harvey, Jonathan Harvey. John Pillsbury, Inspectors 
of Schools. 

$1000 Highway. 

$400 and the Coomer farm Town charges. 

1818. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

Moses Hills, Representative. 

John Pressey, John Harvey, Jr., Isaac Bailey, Selectmen. 

$1000 Highways. 

$354 Schools. 

$330 Town charges. 

1819 Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

Moses S. Harvey, Elisha Parker, John Pressey, Selectmen. 

Moses Hills, Representative. 

$1000 Highway. 

$455 Schools. 

$200 Town charges. 

132 HISTORY or sutto:n'. 

Board of T W. (a destitute girl in her teens) bid off at 

7 cents a week, for the year 1820. [She was probably expected to 
do some work, and this action of the town was chiefly for providing 
a home and some guardianship for her.] 

[Religious Toleration Act passed legislature this year.] 

1820. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk, and Senator. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Elisha Parker, Moses S. Harvey, selectmen. 
Moses Hills, Rep. 
$1000 Highways. 
$800 Town charges. 
$456 Schools. 

Instructors of Schools required to get a certificate from Inspect- 
ors of schools. 

1821. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

Enoch Page, Moses Pillsbury, Asa Nelson, Selectmen. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., Rep. 

$1000 Highways. 

$600 Town charges. 

1822. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

Moses Hills, Benjamin Wadleigh, EUsha Parker, Selectmen. 

Thomas Wadleigh, Rep. 

Muster Rations furnished by Josejih Greeley for 20 dollars. 
Voted to assess inhabitants of the town in a sum equal to amoimt 
of taxable Polls and estates for Highways. 

$430 Schools. 

$500 Town charges. 

1823. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk and Senator. 

John Adams, John Pillsbury, Reuben Porter, Selectmen. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Rep. 

Voted overseers of the Poor to employ Dr. Lane in preference 
to any other doctor, to doctor the Town's Poor. 
Highway. Same as 1822. 
Schools. Same as 1822. 
$600 Town charges. 

1824. Benjamin Wadleigh, Mod. 
Jonathan Harvey, Town clerk. 

TOWisr-MEETEsrGS a:n^d orncERS. 133 

John Adams, Reuben Porter, Elisha Parker, Selectmen. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Representative. 
$800 Town charges. 

$433 Schools. Highways same as in 1822. 

All the Town poor to be provided for by one contractor. 
Reuben Porter bid off the contract for one year for $288.00. 

1825. Jonathan Harvey, Mod. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

John Adams, Jr., Reuben Porter, Capt. John Pillsbury, Select 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Representative. 
Highways same as in 1822. 
$550 Schools. 
$800 Town charges. 

1826. John Adams, Jr., Mod. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

John Pillsbury, Asa Nelson, Jr., Asa Page, Selectmen. 

Reuben Porter, Repi'esentative. 

$600 Town charges. 

As much as the law requires for Schools. 

Highway tax equal to the Inventory. 

1827. Col. Philip S. Harvey, Mod. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Elisha Parker, Asa Page, Selectmen. 

Reuben Porter, Representative. 

$1000 Highway. 

$600 Town charges. 

Schools, — Selectmen to assess what the law requires. 

1828. Amos Pressey, Mod. , 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Town clerk. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Elisha Parker, Moses Pillsbury, Selectmen. 

Reuben Porter, Representative. 

$600 Town charges. 

$500 Schools. 

Highway equal to Inventory. 

1829. Amos Pressey, Mod. 

Reuben Porter, Aspasio Hemphill, Moses Pillsbury, Selectmen. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Town clerk. 
John Pressey, Representative. 
$500 Town charges. 


Highway equal to Inventory. 
Schools, — As the law requires. 

1830. Amos Pressey, Mod. 
Jolin Clark, Town clerk. 

Aspasio Hemphill, Samuel Dresser, Daniel Wheeler, Selectmen. 
John Pressey, Representative. 
$300 Town charges. 
Highway equal to Inventory. 
School, — As the law requires. 

1831. John Adams, Mod- 
John Clark, Town clerk. 

Reuben Porter, John Adams, Jolm Harvey, Selectmen. 

Jonathan Harvey, Representative. 

$1600 Town charges. 

Highway and schools same as in 1830. 

1832. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Reuben Porter, Asa Page, Joseph Harvey, Selectmen. 
Jonathan Harvey, Representative. 
$800 Town charges. 
Highways Equal to Inventory. 
Schools — as law requires. 

1833. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Asa Page, John Pressey, Joseph Harvey, Selectmen. 
Jonathan Harvey, Representative. 

$1000 Town charges. Highway and Schools as before. 
No. voters 342. 

1834. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

John Pressey, Samuel Dresser, Moses Pillsbury, Selectmen. 
John Pillsbury, Representative. 
Reuben Porter, Senator. 
Appropriations — same as in 1833. 

1835. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Samuel Dresser, Moses Pillsbury, Nathaniel Armstrong, Select- 

John PiUsbury, Representative. 
Reuben Porter, Senator. 


Appropriations — same as in 1833. 

1836. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Nathaniel Armstrong, Jolm C. Dresser, Erastus Waclleigh, 

Moses Pillsbmy, Representative. 

$2600 Town charges. Highways and Schools as in 1833. 

Voted. Sextons to dig graves 4 feet deep from the coffin. 

1837. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Jonathan Harvey, Asa Page, John Pressey, Selectmen. 

Moses Pillsbury, Representative. 

$1500 Town charges. Highways and Schools as before. Poor- 
House to be ready for the Poor by the 1st of April — To be a 
House of Correction also. 

1838. Asa Page, Mod. 
Amos Jones, Town clerk. 

Asa Page, John Pressey, John Russell, Selectmen. 
Jonathan Harvey, Representative. 
$1200 Town charges. 
Highways and Schools as before. 

1839. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Reuben Porter, Samuel Dresser, Jr., Enoch Page, Selectmen. 
Jonathan Harvey, Representative. 
$500 Town charges. 
Highways and Schools as before. 

Vagabonds, fortune-tellers, common fiddlers, etc., to be committed 
to the House of Correction. 

1840. Nathaniel A. Davis, Mod. 
Amos Jones, Town clerk. 

Reuben Porter, Samuel Dresser, Jr., Enoch Page, Selectmen. 

Enoch Page, Representative. 

$1000 Town charges. 

$400 Schools. Highways, Amount of Inventory. 

1841. Nathaniel A. Davis, Mod. 
Amos Jones, Town clerk. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, John C. Dresser, Moses Pillsbury, Select- 

Enoch Page, Representative. 


$1200 Town charges. 

$405 Highways, Ara't Inventory. 

1842. Nathaniel A. Davis, Mod. 
Amos Jones, Town clerk. 

Asa Page, John C. Dresser, Erastus Wadleigh, Selectmen. 
Enoch Page, Representative. 
$1100 Town charges. 

10 jDer cent, above what the law requires for schools. Am't of 
Inventory for Highways. 

1843. Asa Page, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Enoch Page, Erastus Wadleigh, John Felch, Selectmen. 

Asa Page, Representative. 

$800 Town charges. 

$450 Schools. 

Highways — Am't of Inventory. 

1844. Asa Page, Mod. 
Albert P. Richards, Town clerk. 

Asa Page, Nathaniel W. Knowlton, Asa Nelson, Selectmen, 

Asa Page, Rep. 

$1525 Town charges. 

$450 Schools. 

Am't of Inv. for Highways. 

1845. Asa Page, Mod. 
Albert P. Richards, Town clerk. 

Nathaniel W. Knowlton, Asa Nelson, John Henry Allen, Select- 

Asa Page, Rep. 

$700 Town charges. 

$450 Schools. Am't of Inv. for Highways. 

1846. Asa Page, Mod. 
Albert P. Richards, Town clerk. 

John Henry Allen, Harris Bui'pee, Samuel Dresser, Jr., Selectmen. 

Albert P. Richards, Representative. 

Asa Page, Senator. 

$1000 Town charges. 

$500 Schools. Inv. for Highways. 

1847. Asa Page, Mod. 

Albert P. Richards, Town clerk and Rep. 

Harris Burpee, Asa Page, Nathaniel W. Knowlton, Selectmen. 


Asa Page, Senator. 

$600 Town charges. 

$500 Schools. Inv. for Highways. 

1848. Asa Page, Mod. 
Lewis Richards, Town clei-k. 

Asa Page, Safford Watson, Johnson Colby, Selectmen. 
Samuel Dresser, Jr., Rep. 

S1800 Town charges, and for building new Highways. 
$500 Schools, and Ani't Inv. for Highways. 

1849. Asa Page, Mod. 
Lewis Richards, Town clerk. 

Enoch Page, Alfred Richards, John C. Dresser, Selectmen. 
Samuel Dresser, Representative. 
$1,400 Town charges. 
$500 Schools. 
Inv. Highway. 

1850. Asa Page, Mod. 
Lewis Richards, Town clei'k. 

Johnson Colby, Charles A. Fowler, George C. Eaton, Selectmen. 
Joseph Harvey, Representative. 
$1,000 Town charges. 
$500 Schools. 
Inventory, Highways. 

1851. Samuel Dresser, Jr., Mod. 
Carlos G. Pressey,Town clerk. 

Stephen Hoyt, Alfred Richards, John Felch, Selectmen. 

Jacob S. Harvey, Rep. 

$600 Town charges. 

$600 Schools. Am't Int. for Highways. 

1852. Samuel Dresser, Jr., Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Harris Burpee, Charles A. Fowler, George C. Eaton, Selectmen. 

Samuel Dresser, Jr., Rep. 

$500 Schools. 

$250 Town charges. 

^ Am't of Inv. for Highways. 

1853. Smnner O. Marshall, Mod. 
Enoch Page, Town clerk. 

Samuel Dresser, Asa Nelson, John G. Huntoon, Selectmen, 
Lewis Richards, Rep. 

138 HisTOKY OF sutto:n^. 

$700 Town charges. 

$600 Schools. 

f Inv. for Highways. 

1854. Sumner O. Marshall, Mod. 
Truman Putney, Town clerk. 

Harris Burpee, Hiram K. Little, Joseph Greeley, Selectmen. 

Lewis Richards, Rep. 

$700 Town charges. 

$700 Schools. 

f am't Inv. Highway. 

1855. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Trmnan Putney, Town clerk. 

Harris Burpee, Hiram K. Little, Emery Bailey, Selectmen. 

Lewis Richards, Rep. 

$600 Town charges. 

Sum required by law for schools. Inv. Highway. 

1856. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Truman Putney, Town clerk. 

Hiram K. Little, Emery Bailey, Thomas W. Nelson, Selectmen. 

John C. Dresser, Rep. 

$600 Town charges. — Sum required by law for Schools. 

Inv. Highway. 

1857. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Truman Putney, Town clerk. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh, Thomas W. Nelson, Ephraim Bean, 

John C. Dresser, Rep. 

$1500 Town charges. As by law required Schools. 

|- Inv. Highways. 

1858. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Truman Putney, Town clerk. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh, Ephraim Bean, Benjamin F. Pillsbury, 

Benjamin F. Adams, Rep. 

$1500 Town charges. — As by law required for Schools. — ^ Inv. 

1859. Harris Burpee, Mod. 
John K. Richardson, Town clerk. 

Converse Gage, Benjamin F. Pillsbury, James M. Sargent, 


George Putney, Rep. 

$1600 Town charges. — As by law required for Schools. — | Inv. 
for Highways. 

1860. Asa Page, Mod. 
Benjamin Jolmson, Town Clerk. 

Joluison Colby, George C. Eaton, Moses L. Pillsbury, Selectmen. 

Jolm G. Huntoon, Rep. Number of tickets given in for Rep., 

$2,000 Town Charges. ^ Inv. for Highways. As law requires 
for Schools. 

1861. Asa Page, Mod. 
Benjamin Johnson, Town Clerk. 

Johnson Colby, George C. Eaton, Moses L. Pillsbury, Selectmen. 

Jolin G. Huntoon, Rep. 

$2000 Town Charges. 

^ Inv. for Highways. As law req. for Schools. 

1862. Asa Page, Mod. 
Benjamin P. Burpee, Town Clerk. 

Benjamin P. Burpee, Moses L. Pillsbury, Benjamin Johnson^ 

$2000 Town Charges. | Inv. for Highways. 
As law requires for Schools. 

1863. Asa Page, Mod. 
Benjamin P. Burpee, Town Clerk. 

Benjamin P. Burpee, John Pressey, Asa Page, Selectmen. 

Safford Watson, Rep. 

$2500 Town Charges. 

^ Inv. Highways. As law requires for Schools. 

1864. Asa Page, Mod. 
Benjamin P. Burpee, Town Clerk. 

Moses Hazen, John Pressey, Asa Page, Selectmen. 

Safford Watson, Rep. 

$4000 Town Charges. ^ Inv. Highways. 

As law req. for Schools. No. votes, 305. 

1865. Thomas J. Wadleigh, Mod. 
Benjamin T. Putney, Town Clerk. 

Emery Bailey, Converse Gage, Jonathan H. Nelson, Selectmen. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh, Rep. 

$3000 Town Charges, f Inv. Highways. 

As law req. for Schools. Town debt, $26,887.96. 



No. votes cast, 295. 

1866. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Benjamin T. Putney, Town Clerk. 

Emery Bailey, Converse Gage, Erastus Wadleigh, Selectmen. 

Dr. Robert Lane, Rep. 

$3500 Town Charges. 

■| Inv. for Highways. As law req. for Schools. 

Town Debt, $34,008.87. No. votes cast, 318. 

1867. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Benjamin T. Putney, Town Clerk. 

Enoch Page, William Pressey, Reuben B. Porter, Selectmen. 

Carlos G. Pressey, Rep. 

$3500 Town Charges. | Inv. Highway. 

As law req. for Schools. Town Debt, $38,641.96. 

1868. Carlos G. Pressey, Mod. 
Benjamin T. Putney, Town Clerk. 

Benjamin F. Pillsbury, William Pressey, Ira Rowell, Selectmen. 
Carlos G. Pressey, Rep. Town Debt, $39,029.80.^ 

State Senators resident in Sutton at the time of their election, — 
Jonathan Harvey, 1816-'17-'18-'19-'20-'21-'22. 
Reuben Porter, 1834 and 1835. 
Asa Page, 1846 and 1847. 

ToA\TS^ Officers from 1869 to 1889. 


Tovvjsr Clerks. 


Carlos G. Pressey. 


Tfuman Putney. 


Enoch Page. 


Alva D. Colcord. 


u u 


u u 


a u 


u ii 


Olney M. Kimball. 


it ii 


a u u 


Frank Nelson. 


Reuben B. Porter. 


Alva D. Colcord. 


Benjamin F. Pillsbury. 


Francis M. Richar 


u u u 


Daniel L. Powers. 


ii a a 


Alva D. Colcord. 

> This War Debt of nearly 40,000 dollars was all paid in 1883. 

toav:n^ officers. 




SelimN. Welch. 



a a 



a ii 



















John M. Pressey, 




















1879. Alva D. Colcord. 

1880. James B. Richards. 

1881. Alva D. Colcord. 

1882. James E. Richards. 

1883. James B. Richards. 

1884. " " 

1885. James B. Richards. 

1886. " " " 

In 1887 James B. Richards elect- 
ed and resigned, and Daniel L. 
Powers appointed. 

1888. Daniel L. Powers elected. 

1889. " " " " 

Selectmen of Sutton^ since 1869. 

1869. Benjamin F. Pillsbury. 1880. 
Ira F. Rowell. 

Converse Gage, 

1870. Benjamin F. PiUsbmy. 1881. 
Converse Gage. 

Leonard H. Wheeler. 

1871. Benjamin F. PiUsbury. 1882. 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 
Francis M. Richards. 

1872. Benjamin F. PiUsbmy. 1883. 
Leonard H. Wlieeler. 
Francis M. Richards. 

1873. Benjamin F. PiUsbury. 1884. 
Johnson Colby. 

Milton B. Wadleigh. 

Moses L. PUlsbm'y. 
Converse Gage. 
George Chadwick. 
Henry V. Little. 
John Pressey. 
Jacob B. Nelson. 
Henry V. Little. 
John Pi-essey. 
.Jacob B. Nelson. 
John Pressey. 
Jacob B. Nelson. 
HoAvard Johnson. 
Jacob K. Adams. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Jolin H. Keyser. 



1874. Johnson Colby. 1885. 
Milton B. Wadleigh. 

John Pressey. 

1875. Asa Page. 1886. 
Charles S. Watson. 

John M. Pressey. 

1876. Benjamin F. PiUsbuiy. 1887. 
John M. Pressey. 

George W. Tilton. 

1877. Benjamin F. Pillsbury. 1888. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 

Henry V. Little. 

1878. Moses L. Pillsbury. 1889. 
Henry V. Little. 

Enoch P. Davis. 

1879. Moses L. Pillsbury. 
Converse Gage. 
Enoch P. Davis. 

Jacob K. Adams. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
John H. Keyser. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 
George C. Eaton. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Henry V. Little. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Henry V. Little. 
David K. Johnson. 
George C. PiUsbury. 
John S. Andrew. 
George Robertson. 

Representatives sintce 1869. 


Cyrus French. 



Voted not to send. 



Converse Gage. 



(( u 



Moses L. PiUsbury. 



Frank Nelson. 



John G. Huntoon. 



Truman Putney. 



Ervin Nelson. 


Benjamin F. Pillsbmy. 
Nov., Nathaniel Clay. 
(New Constitution.) 
George L. Brown. 

Voted not to send. 
George C. Eaton. 
James B. Richards. 
Enoch P. Davis, died. 

]N"ovEMBEE Election, 1888. 

Moderator, John Pressey. 
Representative, Enoch P. Davis. 

Delegate to Constitutional Convention, William H. Chadwick. 
Supervisors, John Pressey, Howard Johnson, and George C. Pills- 

1 Under the New Constitution representatives chosen for two years at November elec- 



Towx Officers for the Year 1889. 

John Pressey, Moderator. 

Daniel L. Powers, Town Clerk. 

Charles S. Watson, Town Treasurer. 

George C Pillsbury, Jolin S. Andrews, George Robertson, Select- 

Albert E. Chadwick, Collector. 

Ephraini Bean, Moses L. Pillsbury, Auditors. 

John Pressey, John Lewis, Timothy B. Lewis, Fence Viewers. 

John H. Keyser, Daniel Couch, George G. Wells, Surveyors of 

James M. Sargent, George W. Wells, Surveyors of Wood. 

James G. Whidden, Winiield S. Littlehale, James M. Sargent, 

Orriii M. Humphrey, Librarian. 

Appropriations from 1869 to 1889. 

Town Charges. 



1869, 5?3,500. 

|- of inventory. What law requires 

1870, $5,000. 

a a i, i 

1871, S5,000. 

a ii u I 

1872, $4,000. 

^ of inventory. " ' 

1873, $4,000. 

li il H i 

1874, $4,000. 

11 11, ii i 

1875, $3,000. 

f of inventory. " ' 

1876, $4,000. 

Fxill am't of inventory. " ' 

1877, $3,000. 

a a a a i 

1878, $4,000. 

^ of inventory. " ' 

1879, $4,000. 

Full am't of inventory. " ' 

1880, $4,000. 

a a a u i 

1881, $2,500. 

|- of inventory. " ' 

1882, $3,000. 

(( a a i 

1883, $3,000. 

a i( a i 

1884, $800. 

i( K a i 

1885, $800. 

il a a I 

1886, $1,000. 

a a a i 

1887, $100. 



1888, $1,200. 



1889, $1,500. 




Xew T.vx-Payers from 1800 to 1810. 

Aaron Sargent- 
Abel Kimball. 
Aquilla Wilkins. 
Amos Parker. 

Asa Nelson, Jr., son of Asa, Sen. 
Abraham Peaslee, Jr., son of Abi'aham, Sen. 
Aaron Teel. 

Amos Jones, son of Ezra Jones, Sen. 
Benjamin Mastin, son of Jacob. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, son of Benj. WacUeigh, Sen. 
Daniel Savary. 

Daniel Wheeler, son of Plummer. 
Daniel Richardson. 
David Woodward, son of Stephen. 
Daniel Wadleigh, son of Thomas, Esq. 
Ephraim Masten, son of Jacob. 
Edmund Richardson. 
Edward Chadwick. 
Elijah Eaton. 
Ebenezer Flint. 
Enocli Sargent. 
Frederic Wilkins. 
Garden Huntly. 

Hezekiah Parker, Jr., son of Hezekiah, Sen. 
Henry Adams, son of John, Sen. 
Isaac Chase. 
Israel Putnam. 
Joseph Mero (colored). 
Joseph Peaslee, son of Samuel, Sen. 
James BusweU. 
James Minot. 
Joseph Pike. 
John Bean. 
Jonathan Kezar. 

Joseph Johnson, Jr., son of Joseph, Sen. 
Jonathan Heath. 


Jolin Blaisdell. 

Josepli Pillsbury, son of Micajah. 
James Semons. 

Joshua Philbrick, son of Benjamin. 
Jeremiah Pahner. 
Jolm B. Emerson. 
Jonathan Huntinof. 
James Messer, son of Daniel. 
Jonathan Harvey, son of Matthew. 
Jonathan Woodward, son of Stej^hen. 
Josiah Nichols, Jr., son of Josiah, Sen. 
John Kesar, son of Simon. 
Josejjh .Jackson. 
John Hills, son of Moses. 
John Harvey, Jr., son of Matthew. 
Jesse Manning. 
John Morgan. 
Joseph Peters. 
Jonathan Jones. 
Jonathan Fellows, son of Jesse. 
John Williams. 

James Wheeler, son of Plummer. 
Joseph Woodward. 
Levi Gile, son of Reuben. 
Moses Nelson, son of Philip. 
Moses Hills, Jr., son of Moses, Sen. 
Moses Pillsbmy, son of Micajah. 
Moses Wadleigh, Jr., son of Moses. 
Merrill Roby, son of Ichabod. 
Moses Smith. 
Moses Smith, Jr. 
Nathaniel Moreran. 
Nathaniel Eaton. 
Nathan Phelps. 

Nathaniel Ambrose, son of Samuel, Sen. 
Ozeus Selsby. 

PhiHp Roby, son of Jonathan Roby. 
Penuel Allen. 

Philip S. Harvey, son of Matthew. 
Philip Nelson, Jr., son of Philip, Sen. 



Robert Lane (Dr. Lane). 

Samuel Ambrose, Jr., son of Samuel, Sen. 

Solomon Austin. 

Saul Austin. 

Stephen PiUsbury, son of Micajah. 

Stephen Jolmson, son of Joseph. 

Samnel Bean, Jr., son of WiUiam. 

Thomas Peaslee, son of Samuel Peaslee, Sen. 

Thomas Davis, son of Jacob Davis, Sen. 

Timothy Challis. 

WiUiam Bean, Jr., son of Samuel Bean, Sen, 

William Pressey, Jr., son of Amos. 

William Taylor. 

William Palmer. 

William Kendrick, son of Dudley. 

Samuel Flanders. 

Inventory for 1810, 
Town Tax, 
County Tax, 
School Tax, 
Highway Tax, . 
PoUs, 200. Voters, 205. 
Persons over 70 years of age ^ — Aquilla Wilkins, Ephraim Gile, 
Jacob Davis, Moses Smith, Elder S. Ambrose. No PoU. 


, 113.68 

, 704.80 

]S'ew Tax-Payees eeom 1810 to 1820. 

Daniel Andrew, Jr. 
John Andrew. 
Moses Andrew. 
Samuel Andrew, Jr. 
Ebenezer Andrew. 
Nathan Ames. 
Dudley Bailey. 
John Bailey. 
Bradbury Bailey. 
Lewis J. Bailey. 

Enoch Bailey. 
William Bean, 3d. 
Jonathan Bohonon. 
James Brocklebank. 
Theodore Brocklebank. 
Ezra Buswell. 
Jesse Bolcomb. 
David Bolcomb. 
Daniel Butterfield. 
Pliineas Bachelor. 

Hn 1880 there were forty-seven voters who were over 70 years of age, and eighteen 
voters over 80 years of age. 



Rev. Nathan Champlin. 
John Champlin. 
Daniel Cheney. 
Isaac Cheney. 
Silas Cheney. 
John Colby. 
Stephen B. Carleton. 
J. Chadwick, Jr. 
John Chadwick. 
Daniel Chase. 
Edward Dodoe. 
Adam Davis. 
Daniel Davis. 
Gideon Davis. 
Daniel Dane. 
Smith Downing. 
Samuel Dresser. 
Samuel Dresser, Jr. 
Nathaniel Eaton, Jr. 
Jonathan Fifield. 
Joseph Ferrin. 
Amos Felch. 
Jolin Felch. 
Benjamin Felch. 
Isaac Fellows. 
Ephraim Fisk. 
Joshua Flanders. 
David Farsons. 
Dea. Benjamin Farrar. 
Micajah Fowler. 
Levi Fowler. 
John French. 
Charles French. 
Samuel Gardner. 
Israel Hall. 
Zenas Herrick. 
Jacob Harvey, Jr. 
Moses S. Harvey. 
Jesse Hart. 
Stephen Johnson. 

Moses Johnson. 
Asa Johnson. 
John Johnson. 
James Johnson. 
Aury Jackson. 
Levi Jones. 
E. G. King. 
James King. 
John Kimball. 
Isaac Littlehale. 
Benjamin Loverin. 
Ezekiel Little. 
Nathan Leach. 
Thomas Morgan. 
James Morgan. 
John Mannahan. 
Richard Mannahan. 
Reuel Miller. 
Jacob Mastin, Jr. 
Isaac Mastin, Jr. 
Asa Mastin. 

John Mattingly (sometimes spell- 
ed Mattin). 
William Morrill. 
William Nelson. 
Enoch Nichols. 
Edward Ordway. 
Samuel Ordway. 
Isaac Peaslee, Jr. 
Timothy Peaslee. 
John Pillsbury. 
Hazen Putney. 
John Putney. 
James Philbrick. 
Joseph Palmer. 
Richard Palmer. 
Moses D. Palmer. 
Robert F. Pierce. 
Elisha Parker. 
Aaron Russell. 


HISTORY or sutto:n^. 

Joseph Roby. 
Ichabod Roby, Jr. 
Josejih Roby, Jr. 
Samuel Roby, Jr. 
Jonathan Roby, Jr. 
Daniel Rowell. 
Silas Rowell. 
Jonn Savary. 
Enoch Semons. 
John Semons. 
John Stevens. 
Nathaniel Todd. 
Ira Tenney. 
William Wadleigh. 
Jonathan Woodward. 
Daniel Woodward. 

Benaiah Woodward. 
Jacob Worthen. 
Henry White. 
Benjamin Wells, Jr. 
Benjamin Wells. 
Plunmier Wheeler, Jr. 
Daniel Wheeler. 
Samuel Wheeler. 
William Wheeler. 
Elijah Watson. 
Phinehas Whittier. 
Thomas Walker. 
Samuel Worth. 
Moses Woodward. 
Jonathan Palmer, Jr. 

1820 TO 1830. 

Nathaniel Armstrong. 
Dudley Bailey. 
Jacob Bean, Jr. 
Jesse Bean. 
Sally W. Bean. 
William Brown. 
Mehitable Carr. 
David Chadwick, Jr. 
Jonathan Chadwick. 
Stephen B. Carlton. 
Henry Carlton. 
Edmund Chadwick. 
Eri Colby. 
Levi Cheney. 
Moses Cross. 
Theophilus Currier. 
Timothy Chase. 
Mariner Chase. 
Dolly W. Chase. 
Johnson Colby. 
John E. Dresser. 

Amos Davis. 
Henry Dearborn. 
Nathaniel Eaton, Jr. 
Betsey Flanders. 
Cyrus French. 
Samuel Felch. 
Asa Fisher. 
Lowel Fisher. 
Ephraim Fisk. 
Joseph Goodwin. 
Joseph Gross, Jr. 
Gilman Gross. 
Aspasia Hemphill. 
James Hazen. 
Levi Hastings. 
Daniel Hardy. 
Jesse Johnson. 
Jonathan Johnson, Jr. 
Joseph Kezar. 
Geoi'ge Kezar. 
Martha Kezar. 



Nathaniel W. Knowlton. 

Thomas S. Little- 
Philip N. Little. 

Mary Lane. 

Daniel Loverin. 

Nathan Martin. 

Moses H. Morse, 

Jonathan Martin. 

Elbridge McCollom. 

Obediah Morgan. 

Jolm Nelson. 

Ebenezer G. Pressey. 
Joseph Peaslee. 
Thomas Peaslee. 
Elisha Parker. 
Ira Phelps. 
Jeremiah Phelps. 
Nathaniel Palmer. 
Sarah Page. 
Joseph Pike. 
Stephen Pillsbury. 
Ira RoweU. 
Nicholas Rowell. 
Putney Roby. 
John W. Roby. 

Phinehas Roby. 
Abiah Roby. 
James Russell. 
Clark vSargent. 
Jonathan Scribner. 
Moses Shej^ard. 
Hiram W. Savory. 
Aaron Savory. 
Ebenezer Simonds. 
Ebenezer Spaulding. 
John Taylor. 
William Thissell. 
Benaiah Woodward. 
Phinehas Whittier. 
Osgood Whittier. 
Daniel Whitcomb. 
Gage P. Woodward. 
Philip Wells. 
Thomas Wells. 
Abner Ward, Jr. 
Zadoe Wright. 
Calvin Wright. 
James Wriglit. 
Erastus Wadleigh. 

1830 TO 1840. 

George W. Adams. 
Alberus W. Adams. 
Jolm S. Abbott. 
Reuben G. Andrew. 
Israel Andrew. 3d. 
John M. Andrew. 
Sarah Andrew. 
David Adams. 
Betsey Adams. 
William T. Bean. 
Stillman P. Bean. 
James H. Bean. 

Hiram Bean. 
Daniel G. Bean. 
Charles Bean. 
Emery Bailey. 
Jonathan J. Blaisdell. 
Moses S. Blaisdell. 
Erastus Blake. 
Jesse 0. Blake. 
John Brockway. 
Thomas Brockway. 
Harris Burpee. 
William Badger. 



Rodney I. Bingham. 
David Brown. 
Joseph G. Carlton. 
Ira Carter. 
Nathan J. Champlin. 
Thomas Cheney. 
Joseph Chase. 
Samuel Colby. 
Enoch P. Cummings. 
Daniel Cheney. 
William Cheney. 
John W. Colby. 
Thomas J. Chadwick. 
Adoniram Coburn. 
Joseph Carpenter. 
Isaac Craige. 
William P. Cressey. 
Hiram Davis. 
Warren Davis. 
Hezekiah Davis. 

Elisha P. Davis. 

Francis Davis. 

Hosea Davis. 

Samuel Dalton. 

Richard Dooley. 

Robert Dickey. 

Luther Dresser. 

Carlos S. Eaton. 

Meshellum Eaton. 

George C. Eaton. 

Hiram Eaton. 

Josiah Eastman. 

James Eastman. 

John Edmunds. 

Daniel Favor. 

Jonathan Fifield. 

Freeman Fellovrs. 

Harrison Fellows. 

Ira Fellows. 

Polly French. 

James French. 
Charles French. 
Stephen Felch. 
Horace Fisher. 
Reuben Gile. 
Enoch Gould. 
Gardner B. Gay. 
Hiram W. Gove. 
Sarah Greenleaf . 
Jonathan G. Hunting. 
Ichabod Hazen. 
Rachel Hazen. 
Moses Hazen. 
Roswell Haddock. 
Jabez Harvey. 
Joseph Harvey, 2d. 
Jacob S. Harvey. 
John Hubbard. 
Moses Johnson. 
Amos H. Jones. 
Charles Jewett. 
John Kendrick. 
William Kendrick. 
Dudley Kendrick. 
PhHip S. Kimball. 
Eleanor Kezar. 
Simon Kezar. 
Ebenezer Kezar. 
Jonathan N. Little. 
John C. Little. 
Timothy H. Loverin. 
John Loverin. 
Sarah Leach. 
Ephraim Mastin. 
Joseph Mastin. 
Reuben Messer. 
William Moore. 
Horace Morgan. 
George S. Morgan. 
Daniel Morgan. 



Samuel Morgan. 
Moores C. Merrill. 
John Mattinly, Jr. 
Nathan Maxon, 
Nathan Maxon, Jr. 
Ruel Miller. 
David Moody. 
Josiah P. Nelson. 
Marcus Nelson. 
Oren Nelson. 
Jonathan Nelson. 
Wniiam C. Nichols. 
Abigail L. Nichols. 
Abigail Nichols. 
Edward S. D. Ordway. 
Enoch Osgood. 
George Putney. 
Benjamin W. Peaslee. 
James M. Peaslee. 
Daniel Peaslee. 
David Palmer. 
Noah Peabody. 
Walter H. Pierce. 
David Prescott. 
Winthrop Pressey. 
Charles Pinney. 
Uriah B. Pearson. 
Lyman Peaslee. 
Sullivan Palmer. 
Israel Palmer. 
Artemas Perkins. 
Abigail Phelps. 
Ira Phelps. 
Samuel Powell. 
Albert P. Richards. 
Lewis Richards. 
George W. Richards. 
Theodore Richards. 

Alfred Richards. 

John Reddington. 

John Roby. 

Lyman Roby. 

Philip N. Roby. 

Betsey Roby. 

Acsah Rowell. 

Tappan Sanborn. 

Daniel Smith. 

Ebenezer Simonds, Jr. 

William C. Simonds. 

Joel Stone. 

Olive F. Shattuck. 

Chase Sanborn. 

George Sewall. 

Simeon Stevens, 2d. 

Asa Sargent. 

Chester Spaulding. 

Isaac Towle. 

Milton Wadleigh. 

Hiram Watson. 

Safford Watson. 

Moses Woodward. 

William H. WeUs. 

Caleb WeUs. 

James P. Wells. 

James Wells. 

Samuel AVells. 

Philip S. H. Wadleigh. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh. 

William Wadleigh. 

George W. Wadleigh. 

Asa Withee. 

David G. Woodward. 

Nancy and Augusta Wadleigh. 

Mary Wells. 

Abel Wheeler. 



1840 TO 1850. 

John Adams. 
John L. Adams. 
Benjamin F. Adams. 
Newal Austin. 
George Andrew. 
Ebenezer Andrew. 
James B. McAllister. 
John H. Allen. 
Stephen R. Bailey. 
Edmond Blood. 
Daniel Bean. 
Martin Bean. 
Elliott Braley. 
Levi Bullard. 

Francis S. Blaisdell. 
Winthrop Barnard. 

John Blake. 
Mansel Blake. 
Jolm Bailey. 

George Bagley. 

Nathan Burpee. 

Lyman Baker. 

Samuel B. Bohonan. 

Timothy Bean. 

John Brocklebank. 

Moses P. Cheney. 

Lyman Cheney. 

Samuel M. Chase. 

Israel M. Chase. 

Francis Currier. 

Phinehas Crosby. 

Daniel Couch. 

George Craft. 

Amos B. Currier. 

James M. Coburn. 

William Coburn. 

James S. Colby. 

Hannah Colby. 

Uriah Colby. 
Sally Cheney. 
Diamond Davis. 
Jane Davis. 
Moses Davis. 
Esther Davis. 
Francis Davis, Jr. 
Benjamin S. Fisk. 
Calvin F. Flint. 
Levi Flint. 
Hannah Felch. 
Gideon D. Felch. 
Charles A. Fowler. 
Hannah Fifield. 
Mary Fisher. 
Phinehas G. Fisher. 
John Fellows. 
George Fellows. 
Andrew Fellows. 
Abraham M. Flanders. 
Franklin Gray. 
Anson W. Glines. 
Anthony S. Gile. 
Stephen Hoyt. 
Asa Hardy. 
Sylvester W. Hardy. 
William Hart. 
John G. Hart. 
William S. Hart. 
Daniel H. Hart. 
George R. Howe. 
Stephen C. Howlett. 
Jesse A. Hazen. 
Joseph Hunt. 
John G. Huntoon. 
Benjamin Johnson. 
Irena Johnson. 
Polly Jolmson. 



Polly Kendrick. 
Nathaniel C Knowlton. 
Betsy Loverin. 
Dolly Little. 
Jonathan Maxon. 
Alfred Marshall. 
Nathan Marshall. 
Jolm W. Marshall. 
William H. Marshall. 
Sumner 0. Marshall. 
Holten Martin. 
Josiah S. Morgan. 
Joseph Morgan. 
Charles C. Morse. 
Nathan Morey. 
Milling-ton C. Morey. 
William Moore. 
Whittier P. Mastin. 
Charles Newhall. 
Lucas Nelson. 
Ervin Nelson. 
Jacob B. Nelson. 
Thomas W. Nelson. 
Jonathan H. Nelson. 
Benjamin P. Nelson. 
Joseph P. Nelson. 
Daniel Ordway. 
Amos Parker. 
Ira S. Palmer. 
Mary Pahiier. 
Joseph W. Palmer. 
Jeremiah B. Palmer. 
Philip Palmer. 
Daniel Putney. 
Susan Putney. 
Truman Putney. 
Edward G. Porter. 
William Porter. 
Betsy Pressey. 
Moses Pillsbury. 

Moses L. Pillsbmy. 
Isaac Peaslee. 
Joshua Pliilbrick. 
Oliver P. Reddington. 
George S. Rowell. 
Charles P. Rowell. 
Samuel Rowell. Jr. 
Calvin Rowe. 
Azariah Rowe. 
Clementine Reed. 
Leonidas Roby. 
Francis Robbins. 
Henry Richardson. 
Phinehas Richardson. 
Sanford Stevens. 
Dustin Seavey. 
Amos H. Smith. 
Otis J. Story. 
Daniel Sargent. 
Daniel F. Sargent. 
Benjamin P. Sargent. 
Perley Sargent. 
Nathaniel P. Smith. 
Joel Smith. 
Barney Sanders. 
Trueworthy Taylor. 
Josiah Tilton. 
Luther S. Tilton. 
Benjamin F. Tibbetts. 
Amos B. Thompson. 
Stephen Woodward. 
Daniel Woodward. 
Robert Wright. 
Philip P. WeUs. 
James I. Wheeler. 
Abijah Wheeler. 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 
John G. Wheeler. 
Charles C. Whittier. 
Ira P. Wliittier. 



Cyrus Whittier. 
Charles Wyman. 
Dolly Woodward. 

Mehitable Whitcomb. 
Joseph G. Whitcomb. 

1850 TO 1860. 

Dennis H. Adams. 
Simeon D. Andrew. 
Mary E. Andrew. 
Samuel Ambrose. 
Lewis G. Barker. 
John S. Bean. 
John C. Bean. 
Samuel Blanchard. 
Thomas N. Blanchard. 
Levi Brown. 
Daniel Brown. 
Sanuiel Bagley. 
Joshua Babbs. 
Orson Burpee. 
Benjamin P. Burpee. 
H. Franklin Burpee. 
Andrew J. Bohonan. 
James S. Bohonan. 
Rhoda Bunker. 
Valentine E. Bunker. 
Levi D. Bunker. 
George E. Bently. 
Thomas J. Courser. 
Robert P. Cotton. 
Samuel B. Cotton. 
Charles H. Cotton. 
Charles E. Carlton. 
Harrison Colby. 
Jolin Colby. 
John F. Chadwick. 
Harvey W. Chadwick. 
George Chadwick. 
Gagfe Chadwick. 
John L. Chadwick. 

Nathaniel Clay. 
Charles W. Cheney. 
Edwin S. Cheney. 
Stephen Cheney. 
Clark C. Carr. ' 
Benjamin F. Chase. 
Frank Chase. 
Alonzo C. Carroll. 
Lysander H. Carroll. 
Azariah Cressey. 
Robert Campbell. 
Dustin W. Davis. 
Charles Davis. 
James Davis. 
Ruth Davis. 
Abel Davis. 
Albert A. Durgin. 
Leonard F. E. Dresser. 
John Dresser. 
Ira Eastman. 
George W. Francis. 
George C. Fuller. 
George S. French. 
Sylvester S. Felch. 
Cyrus French. 
Mary C French. 
David M. Fisher. 
Jolin W. Fellows. 
Levi Ferrin. 
Sarah M. Ferrin. 
Phinehas Flanders. 
Mrs. Joseph Greeley. 
Converse Gage. 
Asa Gee. 



Lovina Gove. 
"William D. Harwood. 
Andrew Harwood. 
George Hunt. 
Jesse B. Hardy. 
Daniel Hardy. 
Ann Hazen. 
Rachel Hazen. 
Alfred Harvey. 
Sally Harvey. 
Ruth Harvey. 
William Howe. 
Charles Hart, Jr. 
Stillman B. Hart. 
David Hart. 
Howard Jolmson, 
Daniel Jolinson. 
John Jameson. 
John Jones. 
Olney M. Kimball. 
Iddo H. KimbaU. 

Marilla Kimball. 

Antoinette Knight. 

Nehemiah Knight. 

John Knowlton. 

James Knowlton. 

Sally Kendrick. 

Betsy Kendrick. 

Jonathan H. Keyser. 

Henry P. Littlehale. 

Winfield S. Littlehale. 

Henry V. Little. 

Thomas Little. 

Hiram K. Little. 

William Little. 

John Morey, Jr. 

William L. Morgan. 

George S. Morgan, Jr. 

George Morgan. 

Austin Morgan. 

John H. Morgan. 
David G. Morgan. 
Daniel Maxfield. 
Moses Moody. 
John C. Morey. 
Joseph Marshall. 
William Marsh. 
Edwin A. Mastin. 
Jolin W. Moore. 
Clark C. Morse. 
John A. Nelson. 
Elizabeth Nelson. 
Belinda Nelson. 
John Nelson, Jr. 
Albert Nelson. 
Newall J. Nye. 
Abigail Nichols. 
Betsy Philbrick. 
George Philbrick. 
Alonzo Phelps. 
Andrew J. Phelps. 

Chase Putney. 
Tristram Pierce. 

Betsey J. Pressey. 

Susan Pillsbury. 

Joseph Pillsbury. 

Joseph Pillsbu.ry, Jr. 

Benjamin F. Pillsbury. 

Andrew J. Peaslee. 

Charles G. Pressey. 

George Putney. 

Benjamin T. Putney. 

Moses W. Russell. 

Polly Rowell. 

George W. Roby. 

Robert B. Roby. 

WiUiam D. Roby. 

John Roby, Jr. 

Thomas Roby. 

Sylvanus Richards. 



Elbridge Rogers. 
Jerome Rogers. 
John Richardson. 
James Richardson. 
James M. Sargent. 
James Sargent. 
Martin V. B. Shattuck. 
Theodore Sawyer. 
James B. Sawyer. 
Andrew J. Sanborn. 
John W. Sanborn. 
Warren Simonds. 
Samuel T. Trmnbull. 

John Williams. 
Thomas Williams. 
John Wright, Jr. 
James G. Whidden. 
Matthew Williamson. 
Thomas Walker. 
Martin L. Walker. 
Hial Wells. 
Elliot WeUs. 
Robert Wadleigh. 
Robert L. Whittier. 
Ira P. Whittier. 

1860 TO 1870. 

Charles Andrew. 
Jacob K. Adams. 
John F. Adams. 
Daniel R. Abbott. 
Addison Ayers. 
Charles W. McAllister. 
Franklin Blodgett. 
John Boyd. 
Jonathan J. Blaisdell. 
Eliza Blaisdell. 
Eugene Barker. 
Orra Burpee. 
Thomas Burpee. 
Dexter E. Brown. 
Addison A. Bean. 
Charles A. Bean. 
Sarah J. Baker. 
Carlos S. Bingham, 
John U. Blodgett. 
William H. Chadwick. 
David Cooper. 
Simon Cheney. 
Gilbert J. Cheney. 
Curtis Cheney. 

Edmund Couch. 
Charles Couch. 
David Colcord. 
Alvah D. Colcord. 
Eugene M. Cummings. 
Edwin Cummings. 
Adin Cummings. 
Prudence Colby. 
Eri Colby. 
Jonathan Colby. 
Isaiah Colby. 
Nathaniel Chase. 
William Chase. 
Joseph R. Cory. 
Francis Currier. 
Frank Coburn. 
Almira Chase. 
John Carner. 
Hiram H. Davis. 
Hiram N. Davis. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Henry Davis. 
Adoniram C. Davis. 
Sally Dodge. 



I]"a K. Eastman. 
David F. French. 
John Felch, 2d. 
Jane H. Flanders. 
Augustus D. FoUansbee. 
Sarah G. Fifield. 
Benjamin T. Fifield. 
Levi Fisk. 
Edmund F. Flint. 
Manuel Grace. 
Lorenzo Grace. 
Robert A. Gawler. 
John G. Hazen. 
Daniel S. Hazen. 
Horace M. Howe. 
Benjamin A. Hart. 
Eliza Hart. 
Richard M. Howlett. 
Highgate Jordan. 
Otis Jinks. 
Lucinda Johnson. 
Lucinda F. Johnson. 
Henry S. Kimball. 
Milton Kimball. 
Mary King. 
Jolin Lewis. 
Timothy B. Lewis. 
George M. D. Legg. 
Timothy C. Lyman. 
John T. Merrill. 
James H. Merrill. 
Albert H. Moody. 
Edward B. Moody. 
Benjamin A. Moody. 
Charles C Marsh. 
Solomon L. Morgan. 
Francis A. Morgan. 
Charles E. Maxon. 
Henry A. Mastin. 
John Martin. 

Henry Morse. 
Cbai'les Morse. 
Horace Morey. 
Charles A. Minot. 
Frank Nelson. 
French Nelson. 
Harris B. Nelson. 
Mehitable Nelson. 
George Oglevie. 
Charles Pike. 
Daniel L. Powers. 
Abigail Pillsbury. 
Susan Putney. 
Moses C. Peaslee. 
Charles F. Peaslee. 
Charles H. Peaslee. 
John M. Pressey. 
Hannah Pressey. 
William K. Philbrick. 
Bartlett Philbrick. 
Hiram Palmer. 
George Philbrick. 
Sullivan Palmer. 
George E. Pahner. 
Henry E. Page. 
James D. Prescott. 
Joseph W. Russell. 
Horace Russell. 
Drusilla Rowe. 
Ira F. Rowell. 
Francis M. Richards. 
Mary Richards. 
Frank A. Richards. 
Ai Richards. 
Abraham Richards. 
Albert B. Richards. 
Sarah J. Russell. 
Frank H. B. Russell. 
Lucy K. Roby. 
Mira Stone. 



Peter Sawyer. 
James S. Sargent. 
John Sargent. 
Ruth Stinson. 
Abner Stowell. 
James R. Smiley. 
James E. H. Sheparcl. 
Frank J. Sanborn. 
Lorenzo True. 
Jeremiah G. Titcomb. 
Amia Wadleigh. 

Mary R. Wadleigh. 
Milton B. Wadleigh. 
Ransom R. Wheeler. 
James I. Walker. 
Alvin S. Williams. 
Susan Williams. 
Edwin Wright. 
James I. Wright. 
Jason Watkins. 
James H. Watson. 

1870 TO 1880. 

WiUiam G. Andrew. 
Walter G. Andrew. 
Ellen A. Andrew. 
John S. Andrew. 
John M. Barnard. 
George L. Brown. 
Stephen E. Bailey. 
Lawrence E. Bailey. 
George E. Bailey. 
Samuel Bagley. 
Henry H. BeU. 
David W. Bagley. 
Ruthena Blanchard. 
Edward E. Bean. 
James H. Bean. 
Frank T. Cheney. 
Frank E. Cheney. 
Fred M. Cheney. 
Almira Cheney. 
Lois Cheney. 
Abram Cheney. 
Allison W. Cheney. 
Simon G. Cutting. 
Albert Couch. 
Jolm T. Couch. 
William P. Chadwick. 

Elizabeth C Colby. 
John D. Colby. 
Lydia Collins. 
Charles AV. Clark. 
Edgar W. Coburn. 
Frank P. Coburn. 
Benjamin K. Coburn. 
Charles M. Coburn. 
John W. Clay. 
Melissa Corey. 
George W. Davis. 
Walter S. Davis. 
Azro B. Drew. 
Charles S. Duke. 
George E. Drury. 
Miriam Eastman. 
Betsy J. Eaton. 
John and Fred Eaton. 
Waldo Flint. 
George F. Fisher. 
Orrin C. Fisher. 
Charles L. Fowler. 
Andrew C French. 
Willard Folsom. 
Eliza L. Fowler. 
Fred A. Felch. 



Mark J. Felch. 
Hannah D. Felch. 
William H. Flint. 
Euphemia Forristall. 
Ruth Flanders. 
George W. Gage. 
Orrison L. Gile. 
Roxa Gile. 
Luther A. Gould. 
Milton S. Hurd. 
George A. Hemphill. 
Jesse F. Hazen. 
WiUis H. Howe. 
Willie S. Heath. 
Martha A. Harwood. 
Emma M. Harwood. 
Fred. P. Harvey. 
John C. Howlett. 
William C. Hoyt. 
James H. Hoyt. 
Sylvester Hall. 
Mark J. Hart. 
David K. Johnson. 
Frank S. Jordan. 
John H. Kezar. 
Joseph F. Kezar. 
George H. Kimball. 
William Libbey. 
David L. Lakin. 
George H. Littlehale. 
William P. Leach. 
Edward B. Lear. 
Joseph N. Martin. 
Nelson Martin. 
Eliza J. Merrill. 
Mary J. Merrill. 
Warren H. Merrill. 
Charles J. Morgan. 
Fred. H. Marshall. 
Hannah C. Morey. 

Walter C. Morey. 
Chester J. Moody. 
Carlos Messer. 
Frank G. Nelson. 
Nancy Nelson. 
AVilliam F. Nelson. 
Elinor Nelson. 
Loren T. Nelson. 
Hortensia A. Nelson. 
James E. Nelson. 
Leroy T. Nelson. 
Dolly Nelson. 
Sarah A. Nye. 
Sarah Peaslee. 
Jerusha Page. 
Fred Putney. 
Lydia M. Putney. 
George C. Pillsbiuy. 
Reuben W. Palmer. 
Lenden H. Palmer. 
Mary Pahner. 
Joseph W. Palmer. 
William D. Palmer. 
Moses L. Palmer. 
Elliott Pabner. 
James M, Palmer. 
Frank Palmer. 
Charles Palmer. 
Horace W. Palmer. 
George A. Parker. 
Samuel Runnels. 
John Roby. 
Melissa Roby, 
Frank W. Roby. 
Robert E. Roby. 
Alphonso G. Richardson. 
Robei't B. Roby. 
George Roby. 
Elizabeth B. Richardson. 



James B. Richards. 
Hannah Rowell. 
George Robertson. 
Harrison D. Robertson. 
Ce valla E. Rogers. 
Warren H. Simonds. 
Fred Simonds. 
Byron Smith. 
Albert L. Smiley. 
Walter P. Sargent. 
Mary F. Sargent. 
Charles C. Sawyer. 
Charles E. Sawyer. 
Lucinda H. Sanborn. 
Sophronia Stockwell. 
Charles C. Stone. 

Charles W. Smith. 
Lucy A. Sawyer. 
Barton E. Fuller. 
Benaiah Titcomb. 
Frank Varney. 
George G. Wells. 
Lucy B. Wheeler. 
Judith Walker. 
Charles Williams. 
George H. Woodward. 
George W. L. Wells. 
Selem N. Welch. 
Jerome B. Worthen. 
Olive F. Ward. 
George F. Wiley. 
Adrian V. AVilliams. 

1880 TO 1888. 

Anna J. Andrews. 
Fred B. Andrews. 
Frank D. Andrews. 
Norris Andrews. 
Fred Andrews. 
Elton M. Ayers. 
Lydia M. Adams. 
Lydia Bagley. 
Orrison Bagley. 
Orrin Bagley. 
Lois Burpee. 
Hannah Burpee. 
Eliza Beckwith. 
Elmer E. Blodgett. 
Clarence H. Cheney. 
John Cummings. 
Frank Cmnmings. 
Josiah B. Colburn. 
H. Roscoe Chadwick. 
Henry H. Cook. 
Albert E. Chadwick. 

Aden D. Chadwick 
Frank W. Couch. 
George B. Cressey. 
Elmore C. Clarke. 
Charles A. Calif. 
Allen O. Crane. 
Charles Cleveland. 
Frederick Clay. 
Stephen A. Colby. 
Edward A. Cheney 
George M. Colby. 
Nancy S. Cooper. 
Edward K. Colby. 
Fred R. Coburn. 
Levi W. Clough. • 
R. Emily Little. 
Mary A. Davis. 
Jennie H. Davis. 
Roxanna Dorr. 
Lucinda N. Duke. 
Sarah H. Dresser. 



Mary J. Eaton. 
Lee E. Elliot. 
Sarah M. Flint. 
Hattie M. Felch. 
Fred W. Fisher. 
Herman D. FoUansbee. 
Harriet W. Fellows. 
Frank A. Flint. 
Frank B. Fellows. 
Francis E. Ferry. 
Bartlett H. Hardy. 
Panielia A. Hazen. 
Fred L. Howe. 
Or en M. Humphi'ey. 
Anna Haddock. 
Nettie R. Howe. 
Francis B. Johnson. 
James H. Johnson. 
Mary Johnson. 
George J. Johnson. 
Fred H. Keyser. 
Cyrus H. Little. 
Daniel Luce. 
Walter A. Lewis. 
D. Moody Morse. 
Addison W. Merrill. 
Mary D. Marshall. 
Angelette Mastin. 
Henry W. Morse. 
Edwin A. Mastin. 
Harriet S. Morgan. 
James H. Nolan. 
Ralph B. Nelson. 
Mehitabel S. Nelson. 
Fred S. Ordway. 
Jeremiah D. Perkins. 
William S. Pressey. 
Frank B. Perkins. 
George S. Philbrick. 

Edwin H. Palmer. 
Ebenezer S. Putney. 
Lydia M. Putney. 
Laura A. Preshy. 
Herbert L. Pillsbury. 
Lucy A. Peaslee. 
Frank H. Philbrick. 
Esther A. Philbrick. 
Joseph H. Page. 
Charles A. Page. 
Byron E. Perkins. 
Sarah J. Russell. 
Fred W. Roby. 
George S. Roby. 
Charles W. Roby. 
Horace E. Russell. 
Clinton B. Rogers. 
Herbert B. Sweat. 
Wallace G. Sawyer. 
George M. Shattuck. 
Roswell Spaulding. 
Lucy A. Sawyer. 
Elmer E. Sawyer. 
Morris A. Sawyer. 
Roswell P. Smith. 
Mrs. Thompson. 
Edward P. Tilton. 
Samuel F. Thompson. 
Belinda F. Wright. 
Wilbert E. Wright. 
Fred A. Wright. 
John M. Walker. 
George L. Wheeler. 
Harry S. Wat kins. 
Edson C. Watkins. 
Herman C. Whittier. 
Hannah Woodward. 
Fred L. Wells. 
George E. Webster. 



Constables and Collectors. 
One man filled both offices until 1822. 








Samuel Peaslee. 
Ebenezei" Keyser. 
Daniel Messer. 
David Eaton. 
Peter Peaslee. 
David Eaton. 
Matthew Harvey. 
James King. 
Phineas Stevens. 
William Pressey. 
Joseph Wadleigh. 
Jonathan Gage. 
Joseph Johnson. 
Daniel Messer. 
Thomas Wadleigh. 
Asa Nelson. 
Jonathan Roby. 
Caleb Kimball. 
Ichabod Roby. 

1797. William Pressey. 

1798. David Eaton. 

1799. Abner Chase. 

1800. Amos Pressey. 

1801. Jonathan Harvey. 

1802. 1803. Amos Pressey. 

1804. Obediah Eastman. 

1805. Philemon Hastings. 

1806. Amos Pressey. 

1807. 1808. Philip S. Harvey. 

1809. Ai-nold Ellis. 

1810. Asa Nelson. 

1811. Amos Pressey. 

1812. Daniel Wadleigh. 

1813. 1814. Amos Pressey. 

1815. Andrew Robinson. 

1816, 1817. Nathan Champlin. 
1818, 1819. Enoch Bailey. 
1820. Nathan Champlin. 

Philemon Hastings. 

John Harvey, Jr., and Amos Pressey. 

Nathan Champlin, John Harvey, Jr., and Amos Pressey, 

Nathan Champlin, collector and constable. Amos Pressey 

Nathan Champlin, collector ; Nathan Champlin and Amos 

Pressey, constables. 
William Pressey, collector ; William Pressey and Amos 

Pressey, constables. 
Lieut. William Pressey, collector and constable ; Amos 

Pressey, constable. 
Asa Mastin, collector and constable; Nathan Champlin, 

Amos Pressey, William Pressey, Col. John Harvey, con- 
Amos Pressey, collector and constable ; Col. John Harvey, 



1829. Amos Pressey, collector and constable ; Nathan Champlin 


1830. Nathan Champlin, collector and constable ; Thomas Wad- 

leigh, Benjamin Wadleigh, Joseph Roby, constables. 

1831. Nathan Champlin, collector and constable ; Thomas Wad- 

leigh and Amos Pressey, constables. 

1832. Nathaniel A. Davis, collector and constable ; Nathan 

Champlin and Amos Pressey, constables. 

1833. Nathaniel A. Davis, collector and constable ; Amos Pressey 

and Thomas Wadleigh, constables. 

1834. Nathaniel A. Davis, collector and constable ; Thomas Wad- 

leigh, William Pressey, Joseph Roby, constables. 

1835. John Pressey, collector and constable ; Nathan Champlin, 

Thomas Wadleigh, Amos Pressey, Joseph Roby, consta- 

1836. John Pressey, collector and constable ; N. A. Davis, Joseph 

Roby, Thomas Wadleigh, Nathan Champlin, constables. 

1837. , collector. Joseph Roby, Nathaniel A. 

Davis, William Pressey, Nathan Champlin, constables. 

1838. Jonathan Watson, collector ; Thomas Wadleigh, Jonathan 

Watson, William Pressey, Hiram Watson, Joseph Roby, 

1839. , collector ; Thomas Wadleigh, Nathan 

Champlin, constables. 

1840. , collector ; Thomas Wadleigh, Nathan 

Champlin, William Pressey, constables. 

1841. , collector ; Thomas Wadleigh, Nathan 

Champlin, William Pressey, constables. 

1842. , collector ; Thomas Wadleigh, Nathan 

Champlin, constables. 


1843. Nathan Champlin. 1854. Joseph P. Nelson. 

1844. Stephen Hoyt. 1855. Stephen Hoyt. 

1845. 1846. Nathan Champlin. 1856, 1857. Robert P. Cotton. 

1847. Thomas Wadleigh. 1858, 1859. Nathan Champlin. 

1848. Stephen Hoyt. 1860, 1861. John Wright, Jr. 
1849-1851. None recorded. 1862,1863. Jonathan H. Nelson. 

1852. Jonathan H. Nelson. 1864. John Wright. Jr. 

1853. James M. Peaslee. 1865. Jonathan H. Nelson. 

164 HISTORY OF suTTo:sr. 

1866-1869. Francis M. Richards.1883-1884. Timothy B. Lewis. 
1870, 1871. George Chadwick. 1885. Jesse A. Hazen. 
1872-1874. John M. Pressey. 1886, 1887. Benjamin K. Coburn. 

1875. Gilbert Cheney. 1888. Elmore C Clark. 
1876-1879. James D. Prescott. 1889. Albert E. Chadwick. 
1880-1882. Olney M. Kimball. 


1843-1848. None recorded. 

1849. James Eastman, Daniel F. Sargent, Edward G. Porter. 

1850. Stephen Hoyt, Carlos G. Pressey, John G. Huntoon. 

1851. Josiah P. Nelson, Stephen Hoyt, Edward G. Porter. 

1852. Gilman Gross, James M. Peaslee, John G. Huntoon, Jona- 

than H. Nelson. 

1853. Moses Nelson, Jr., William W. Tilton, James M. Peaslee, 

Francis Robbins, John G. Huntoon, Benjamin Wadleigh, 
Thomas W. Nelson. 

1854. Philip N. Little, Edward G. Porter, John G. Huntoon, A. 

C. Carroll, Francis Robbins. 

1855. Josiah P. Nelson, Philip N. Little, Francis Robbins, John 

Brockway, Edmond Blood. 

1856. Alonzo C. Carroll, William Pressey, James G. Whidden, 

Simon Keyser, Edmond Blood. 

1857. Josiah P. Nelson, Alonzo C. Carroll, Benjamin F. Pillsbury, 

Converse Gage, Joseph Harvey. 

1858. Francis Robbins, John G. Huntoon. 
1859-1869. None recorded. 

1870. Ira F. Rowell, Converse Gage. 

1871. Harvey Chadwick. 

1872. 1873. John M. Pressey. 
1874, 1875. None appointed. 

1876, 1877. James D. Prescott. 

1878. James G. Whidden, Enoch P. Davis, William H. Fhnt. 

1879. None appointed. 

1880. Olney M. Kimball. 

1881. None appointed. 

1882. 1883. Enoch P. Davis. 

1884. James G. Whidden. 

1885. Timothy B. Lewis. 

1886. 1887. None appointed. 


Eaely Justices or the Peace. 

The dates set against the names of these justices 
mark the date at which they received their first 
commission. Many of them continued to hold the 
office of magistrate as long as they lived. 

Those names marked with a " Q " have been 
justices of the peace and quorum. 

Those marked with an " S " have been justices 
of the peace for the state. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen., 1786. 

Matthew Harvey, 1798. 

Moses HiUs, Dec. 5, 1804. 

Thomas Wadleigh, June 14, 1805. 

Jonathan Harvey, Q. and S., 1809. 

Jonathan Harvey, Q., Nov. 8, 1818. 

Joseph PiUsbury, Dec. 8, 1820. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, Q. and S., June 21, 1823. 

The above appointments were made when Sutton 
belonged to Hillsborough county. The new coun- 
ty of Merrimack was made July, 1823. Joseph 
Harvey (brother to Dea. Matthew) was a mag- 
istrate previous to 1820. Enoch Page, Sen., held 
the same office many years; date of commission 
not found. 

Later Justices of the Peace. 

Reuben Porter, Q., July 1, 1826. 

John Adams, jr., July 1, 1826. 

Benjamin B. French, Nov. 9, 1826. 

John Pressey, June 17, 1828. 

Robert Lane, Q. and S. (1848) Jan. 5, 1829. 

Edward Dodge, Dec. 2, 1830. 

John PiUsbury, June 27, 1835. 

166 ■ HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Moses Pillsbury, Jan. 1, 1837. 
Enoch Page, Q., June 18, 1840. 
Ira B. Person, June 26, 1841. 
Amos H. Jones, June 26, 1841. 
Asa Page, Q., Dec. 23, 1844. 
Asa Nelson, July 1, 1845. 
Nathaniel A. Davis, July 6, 1846. 
Moses Hazen, Q. and S., July 3, 1847. 
Albert P. Richards, Jidy 3, 1847. 
John H. Allen, Dec. 7, 1847. 
Samuel Dresser, Jr., July 6, 1849. 
Jacob S. Harvey, June 27, 1851. 
George C Eaton, July 30, 1852. 
Joseph Harvey, Dec. 31, 1852. 
Lewis Richards, 1853. 
Carlos G. Pressey, 1816. 
S. R. Swett, 1857. 
Thomas J. Wadleigh, 1858. 
James R. Smiley, Q. and S., 1857. 
John C. Dresser, 1857. 
James M. Sargent, 1859. 
Erastus Wadleigh, 1857. 
George Putney, 1862. 
Moses W. RusseU, 1862. 

In 1863 there were fifteen justices of the peace, 
quorum, and state ; in 1868 there were but eight. 
Some had died, some had left town, and perhaps 
some commissions had expired. 

Justices of the Peace in 1843. 

Jonathan Harvey, born in Sutton ; died 1859, age 794-. 
Benjamin Wadleigh, born in Sutton ; died 1864, age 81. 
John Adams, born in Sutton ; died 1866, age 88. 
John Pillsbury, born in Sutton ; died 1856, age 67. 
John Pressey, born in Sutton ; died 1858, age 81. 
Joseph Pillsbury, born in Sutton ; died 1869, age 84. 
Moses Pillsbury, born in Sutton; died 1870, age 83. 


Robert Lane, born in Newport ; died 1872, age 86. 

Edward Dodge, born in Newbury ; died 1875, age 85. 

Reuben Porter, born in Canaan ; died in Warner, 1879, age 89. 

Ira B. Person, a lawyer from Newport, born in Barre, Vt., June 
14, 1817; died in Lowell, Mass., Aug. 23, 1858; lived in New 
York city. 

Enoch Page, born in Sutton ; died 1882. 

Anios Jones, born in Salem, N. H. ; went to Sanbornton. 

Letter of Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen., concerning 
the rencAval of his Justice of the Peace commission. 

To Dea. Matthew Harvey, now at Gen. Court at Hanover. 

Sir : I had wholly given up the matter of taking the Commission 

that you sent to me, but on fiu'ther consideration I have concluded 

to be sworn in to the office unless there is some other person in 

town that can take it who will give satisfaction to the people. 

This from youi's to serve, 

Benjamin Wadleigh. 
Sutton, June ye 6th, 1795. 


Dr. William Martin came to Sutton to practise 
his profession about 1793, being the first regular 
physician in Sutton ; married Sally Andrews. 
Lived in town till he died. 

The four following practised in town about 
1800: Dr. Ezra Marsh, who married Sally, sister 
to Daniel Page ; Dr. Thomas Wells, who came to 
Sutton from Hanover; Dr. Arnold Ellis, who came 
from N^ewport ; Dr. Grossman, who was preacher 
as well as physician. 

Dr. Lyman practised some in town in the early 
years of this century ; was among the best of his 
time. Dr. Benjamin Lovering came about 1816; 
resided here till his death, in 1824. Dr. John A. 
Clark succeeded him; was popular as citizen and 
physician; was chosen town-clerk. (For Dr. 
Robert Lane, see Biographical Sketches.) 

The first doctor who came into town was Will- 
iam Martin. Being unmarried when he came, he 
boarded in the family of Dea. Joseph Greeley for 
about two years. Subsequently married Sally 
Andrews. Bought a farm in the extreme part of 
the town near the Bradford line, whereon he re- 
sided till his death. 

The second physician resident in town was Dr. 
Ezra Marsh, who married Sally Page, sister to 


X)aniel and Enoch, Sr. Lived at the Sonth Vil- 

The third physician was Dr. Thomas Wells, who 
came here from Hanover soon after 1800. Located 
in the north part of the toAvn (between the Jona- 
than Harvey and the John Huntoon places), and 
remained some eight years. Was quite successful 
as a doctor. He married Lucinda, sister to Dr. 
Henry Lyman. 

Dr. Lyman, the last named, practised some in 
this town about this time, being esteemed the best 
of the period. 

Dr. Robert Lane came in 1809. Was absent dur- 
ing the War of 1812, for some years; and in his 
absence came Dr. Pease, who remained two years 
or more. 

Dr. Benjamin Lovering was here about this peri- 
od. He first located at the Mill Village, but after a 
few years bought a house in the South Village, and 
lived there till his death, in 1821. He was a good 
physician, and had a good practice. 

Dr. John Gushing practised some in this town in 
the later years of the last century, but it is believed 
that he resided altogether in JSTew London. He 
was clerk of the Library Association in 1798. 

Dr. Tenney located for a short time at the north 
previous to 1820. About the same time Dr. Buz- 
zell was here — not very long. 

Soon after the death of Dr. Lovering came Dr. 
John A. Clark, from Sanbornton — a good j^hysi- 
cian, and very popular as a citizen. Was town- 
clerk during his stay here, but did not remain 
many years. 


Dr. Jesse Haven Foster, born in Hanover, 1801, 
stndied with Dr. Lovering in Sonth Sntton, after- 
wards in Warner with Dr. Lyman, — later practised 
one year in Sntton; married Mary, daughter of 
Daniel Andrew of this town; removed to Vermont, 
remaining there twelve years, and afterwards for 
thirty-two years in Illinois, making in all nearly 
a half century of medical practice. Is now living, 
hale and hearty, in Anburndale, Mass. Has resid- 
ed in Lynn, Mass., and in Enfield. Dr. Fifield 
was here a short time about 1810 ; Dr. Dodge and 
Dr. Darling about 1863 ; Dr. Fitts some years, 
about 1861: and later, and Dr. Pike about the same 
time ; Dr. Bronson, 1873 ; Dr. Fuller, and for 
several recent years. Dr. Selem Welch. Of Drs. 
Lane, Smiley, Davis, and Allen, see Notices. 


Francis Como (a native of Canada), supposed to 
be aged 100; Mrs. Mary Bean, wife of Sanmel, died 
in 1811, aged 100; Mrs. Sally Philbrook, mother of 
Benjamin, Sr., died in 1813, aged 100; Jacob Davis, 
died in 1819, aged 105; Thomas Walker, died in 
1822, aged 103; :Nathamel Eaton, died in 1875, 
aged 100; Cesar LcAvis, died in 18G2, aged 100; 
Anthony Clark, aged 107; Benjamin Philbrook, Sr., 
ag^d 99; Mrs. Jacob Davis, died in 1819, aged 99; 
Sally, wife of Thomas Burpee, died in 1859, aged 
99; Joseph Johnson, aged 98; Mrs. Jesse Fellows, 
aged 97; Samuel Dresser, Sr., aged 97; Mrs. 
Thomas Peaslee, aged 96 ; wife of Samuel Dresser, 
Sr., aged 95; Joseph Wells, aged 95; IN^athaniel 
Cheney, aged 93; Edmund Pichardson, aged 92; 
widow of Henry Dearborn, aged 91 ; Jane, wife of 
Jonathan Eaton, aged 91 ; Sarah, widow of Daniel 
Messer, aged 91; Mrs. jN^athan Andrew, aged 91; 
widow of Joseph Wells, aged 91; Sarah, widow of 
Peuben Gile, aged 90; David Davis, aged 90; 
Martha, wife of Abraham Peaslee, aged 90; Cor- 
nelius Bean, son of Samuel and Mary — the centen- 
arian — aged 90 ; wife of Cornelius Bean, aged 95 ; 
Jonatlian Stevens and wife died within a few days 
of each other, about 1840, aged, one 96, the other 
97 ; their daughter, wife of Jacob Osgood, of War- 


ner, was aged about 100; Jonathan Johnson, died 
in 1811, aged 90; Ephraim Gile, aged 90; widow 
of Daniel Dane, aged 90 ; widow of Jonathan Da- 
vis, aged 90; Mrs. Lovejoy, sister of Mrs. Phil- 
brook, above named, aged over 90. The wife of 
Thomas Walker was a Philbrook, of the same long- 
lived family; she died at a very great age, sup- 
posed by some to be 100 years. Phineas Stevens, 
aged 90. 


Jonathan Davis, Sr., about eighty years ago 
was found dead in the road near the estate now 
owned and occupied by Henry V. Little. 

Dea. Ezeldel Little, father of Philip X. Little, 
was found dead in his bed by his wife, on her 
awakening in the morning, abont forty years ago. 

Patty Eaton, daughter of David Eaton, was 
drowned in Kezar's pond abont 1808. She was in 
a boat, and was lost out. 

Laura French, daughter of Oliver French, was 
burned to death some sixty years ago. 

Stephen Hoyt was found dead in or near the 
road in 1859. 

John Harvey, father of Joseph Harvey, dropped 
dead in the road, in 1825. 

Col. John Harvey, his relative, died similarly, 
though not quite so suddenly, he having been 
barely able to reach his bed with help, and dying 
about twenty minutes after, of an attack of an ixi^o- 
plectic nature. 

Ebenezer Flint dropped dead in his dooryard one 
cold day in 1861:. 

In the summer of 1830 lightning struck the 
house of Charles Hart, and killed his son Joseph, 
who was inside at the time. 

The house of Lewis Barber, on the Warner road, 


took fire in the absence of Mr. and Mrs. Barber, 
and their two children were burned to death in 

Moses Smith attempted to cross from the back 
side of the pond on the ice. It soon commenced 
giving way under him, and finally let him through. 
But he kept catching on again and again, as it 
gave way, holding himself up by his arms, till his 
cries for help were heard by Ebenezer Flint and 
Thomas Persons, who were at work in the dooryard 
of what is now John G. Huntoon's j)lace. They 
ran to his assistance with ropes and saved him. 
This was about eighty years ago. 

My mother, widow of Col. John Harvey, fur- 
nished the following : " The spotted fever raged 
here with the greatest violence in 1815. Old Mr. 
Pelch, father of Dea. John Felch, worked for your 
father in the woods drawing timber, and ate a hearty 
supper by candle-light, at our house; and before 
breakfast next morning a measure for his cofiin 
was sent to your father. He was attacked with 
spotted-fever at 12 o'clock, and died at six in the 
morning. Several others died as suddenly in the 
north part of the town." 

Georgiana, daughter of James M. Coburn, was 
drowned in the brook at South Village, Oct. 31, 

Dr. Grossman was here in 1803; lived on the 
farm now owned by John Silas Andrew ; had a son 
Thomas burnt to death while watching a coal-pit 
not far from the house. It was supposed he fell 
asleep and his camp caught fire, as only his charred 
remains were found in the ruins of the camp. 


Smith Downing, a mail carrier, froze to death 
Avhile on his ronte of deUvery. 

Susan, daughter of Edmund Chadwick, was 
killed by a cart-body falling on her, in 1851. 

Samuel Bean, Senior, dropped dead in the 
town of Hopkinton. He was buried in the old 
cemetery in Hopldnton. He and his daughter 
Elisabeth came on horseback from their home in 
Sandown, I^. H., to visit his children living in Sut- 
ton. In the morning he went after the horses, and 
not returning, his daughter went after him. She 
found he had died before reaching the horses. He 
was preparing to move to Sutton. 

Simeon Stevens, an old man boarding at Merrill 
Roby's, passed the house going home late one 
night, and was found dead in the road from South 
Sutton to Roby's Corner between the road from 
Johnson Colby's and the bridge, the next morning, 
ISTovember, 1844. 

Rodney Hubl^ard dropped dead in the road not 
fsir from the Dutch cap on the north road from 
"Warner to Korth Sutton. 

A Mr. Merrill dropped dead some years ago on 
the road from Sutton Mills to South I^ewbury, near 
Josiah a*^elson's. 

Elisabeth Quimby dropped dead beside the road 
going home from her cousin William Bean's, where 
JSTathaniel Clay now lives, March 17, 1826. She 
was daughter of Moses and Judith (Bean) Quim- 

Rev. Thompson Barron, a Universalist minister, 
of ISTewport, ]N^. H., was found dead at the home of 
Jacob I^elson, about twenty years ago. 


Horace M. Howe was found dead in the mornings 
of April 25, 1885. 

Charles Harry Champlin was drowned in the 
brook at South Sutton, :N"ov. 25, 1829. 

Stephen Blaisdell, a man subject to fits, fell into 
some water in a field, and his face being* downward, 
he was drowned, Oct. 9, 1833. 

Hezekiah Davis was drowned at a saw-mill in 
the north part of Sutton. 

Lyman Baker was drowned at Sutton Mills. He 
went to fix the flash-boards on the dam, and the 
high water carried him off. 

Clarence, son of Dexter Brown, was drowned 
while in swimming at Concord, IST. H. 

John Andrew was killed by logs rolling on him. 

J. Langdon Littlehale died on Bradford fair- 
ground of heart disease, Oct. 2, 1875. 

Harvey Gould was killed on the train the day 
the railroad was opened from Warner to Concord. 

Benj. L., son of Joseph Pillsbury, Esq., was 
scalded to death on the Il^orthern Kailroad, Xo- 
vember 18, 1854. 

Levi AYiley, while painting at Xorth Sutton, fell 
from a ladder and died soon after. 

A son of Ephraim and Sally (Peaslee) Hildreth 
slipped on the ice, struck his forehead, and died 
from his injuries soon after. 

A girl, name uncertain, was Idlled at a school- 
house in the north part of the town. She was 
caught by a window falling down upon her while in 
the act of climbing in. 

[N^athaniel Cheney's death, by heart disease, was 


Seba Ring was found dead in bed one morning" 
in the winter of 1888. 

Daniel Bean was found dead in the woods Sept. 
16, 1825. The team he had been driving was 
found near by in the road. 

A man named Mitchell lived a short time on the 
road to the Gore; being badly intoxicated he threw 
a baby into the fireplace, and the child was dead 
when taken from the fire. He also burned his wife 
and an older child, from the eftects of which the 
wife soon after died. 

Thomas Wadleigh, son of Thomas Wadleigh, 
Esq., went to bed in usual health, and at midnight 
was dead; cause, apoplexy. A sister of his, wife 
of Edward Dodge, died similarly. 

Reuben B. Porter was found dead in the woods 
near Windham Junction, IST. H.; cause unknown. 

A son of Thomas and Clarissa (Parker) Davis, 
was following his father, who was driving an ox 
team, when he fell luider one of the wheels, and was 
crushed to death. A very affecting poem was 
written, descriptive of the accident, by his sister 
Sylvia, which must be omitted for lack of space. 

Three children of James W. and Eliza Barney, 
while playing near a large boulder, near the house 
of Charles French, so undermined it that it fell on 
two of them, — James and Eliza A., — and crushed 
them to death, Sept. 1, 1837. 



Statistics CoisrcERNrN^G PopuLATiOiS^. 

The first census taken by the general govern- 
ment was m 1790, when it was found that the pop- 
uLation of the United States had increased from 
less than 3,000,000 to nearly 4,000,000 since the 
commencement of the Revolutionary War. In the 
growth of her population, 'New Hampshire had 
more than kept pace with the country at large, 
having at this time a population of 142,000. The 
secretary of state, Joseph Pearson, searched the 
Provincial Records for the purpose of making an 
equitable estimate of the number of inhabitants at 
this time (1790), and at former periods. 

The ratable polls were,— in 1742, 5,172; in 1753, 
6,392; in 1767, 11,964; in 1773, 13,853. 

Reckoning five persons to a fiimily, the inhabi- 
tants at the difterent periods Avould be, — in 1742, 
25,860; in 1753, 31,960; in 1767, 59,820. 

The population of JSTew Hampshire at the break- 
ing out of the Revolution may therefore be esti- 
mated at about 75,000. The population in 1790 
was an ascertaiyied, not an estimated, population; 
and the 142,000 inhabitants shows an increase of 
nearly 50,000 in the fifteen preceding years, not- 
withstanding the losses by the war of seven years' 


A census of the province, the first so far as 
known, was taken l)y the selectmen of the several 
towns by order of Governor Wentworth in 1767. 

At that time Concord had 752 inhabitants ; Salis- 
bury, 210; Canterbury, 503; Dunbarton, 271 ; ]N^ew 
Boston, 296; Hillsborough, 61; Canaan, 19; Ply- 
mouth, 227; :N"ewport, 29; Haverhill, 172. 

The situation of the above named towns indicates 
that the advance of population was directly up the 
valley^s of the Merrimack and Connecticut rivers. 
As for Sutton (or Perrystown as the town was then 
called), we are not obliged to set a cipher down to 
its name, and leave it absolutely out in the cold at 
this date, Sutton being saved from that by the fort- 
unate advent of David Peaslee with his family some 
time before the year's close, one son, Samuel, being 
then of age. 

Population^ and Valuation of Sutton at 


In 1773 there were 12 tax-payers in Perrystown. 

1775 Sutton and Newbury (then Fishersfield) together had 130 

1779 Sutton had 50 tax-payers, 49 legal voters. 
1790 the population of Sutton was 520. 



878, polls, 142. 



1328, poUs, 203. 



1573, — greatest ever reached 















1153, polls 330. 





Houses Taxed. 

This was done for the first time in 1799. 
The following- is tlie inventory on the honses 
taxed that year. 

Asa Nelson, $25 Obediali Eastman, 9 

Benjamin Pliilbrook, 37 Philip Sargent, 20 

Calel) Kimball, 100 Philip Nelson, 40 

Daniel Messer, 60 Phineas Stephens, 70 

Epraim Gile, 20 Reuben Gile, 40 

Henry Dearborn, 9 Samuel Peaslee, 60 

John King, 40 Samuel Bean, 40 

James King, 30 Thomas Wadleigh, 60 

Ichabod Roby, 30 William Pressey, 15 
Jonathan Roby, 50 Widow of Matthew Harvey, 100 

John Adams, 40 " Moses Quimby, 25 
Joseph Johnson, 15 

Widow Harvey's and Caleb Kimball's houses were taverns. 

Yai^uation of the Towx of Sutton e^ 1798. 

124 polls. 7 acres orcharding ; 39 acres tillage ; 263 acres mow- 
ing ; 359 acres pasturage. 

61 horses and mares wintered 5 winters. 

16 " " 4 " 

15 " » 3 " 

37 " • "2 " 

100 oxen wintered 5 winters. 

225 cows " 5 

116 neat stock wintered 4 winters. 

151 " " 3 " 

175 " " 2 " 

No stock in trade. No money at interest. 
No buildings and real estate improved, owned by non- 
Value of unimproved lands, owned by inhabitants and 

non-residents, $104 77 

Ratable estate improved, owned by Inhabitants, 491 93 

Total, $596 70 


YaLUATIOX of SuTTOJiT EN^ 1868. 

218 horses ; 1098 cattle ; 4099 sheep ; 300 poUs taxed. 
Amount of real estate, $296,311 

Interest money, 31,730 

Stock in trade, 6,693 

Mills and machinery, 4,330 

Carriages, 1,285 

Total valuation including polls, 499.695 

1880. This year Enoch Page is the heaviest tax-payer in Sutton, 
his tax being $222.30. 

Milton B. Wadleigh pays the largest tax on real estate and live 
stock ; Truman Putney & Son on stock in trade. Jonathan Har- 
vey and Kezar & Sons manufacture and use the most lumber. 
They also deal largely in granite from King's liill. 

Yalltation^ of the Town^ in 1889. 

259 polls, $25,900 00 

Real estate, 268,202 00 

200 horses, 11,137 00 

180 oxen, 8,492 00 

327 cows, 8,505 00 

577 neat stock, 11,539 00 

1213 sheep, 3,310 00 

6 hogs, 36 00 

10 carriages, 656 00 

Stock in public funds, 3,200 00 

Stock in banks, 1,505 00 

Stock in trade, 9,948 00 

Money at interest, 17,656 00 

Mills and machinery, 4,200 00 

Buildings not designated, 650 00 

Total valuation, $374,936 00 

Tax Rates for the Toavn of Sutton in 1788. 

Copy of the rates for the year 1788, made by Thomas Wadleigh, 
of the town of Sutton, county of Hillsborough and state of New 









Timothy Peaslee, 



John Davis, 



Daniel Andrew, 



Moses Davis, 



James King, 



Daniel Messer, 



Benjamin Wells, 



Thomas Messer 



Abi'aham Peaslee, 



Reuben Gile, 



Asa Nelson, 



Jacob Mastin, 



Jonathan Nelson, 



Thomas Walker, 



Philip Nelson, 



Stephen Nelson, 



Samuel Peaslee, 



Caleb Kimball, 



Samuel Andrew, 



Hezekiah Parker, 



John Hoit, 



Robert Heath, 


Leonard Colborn, 


John Peaslee, 



Joseph Wadleigh, 



Thomas Mastin, 



Samuel Bean, 



David Peaslee, 



Benjamin Wadleigh, 



Peter Peaslee, 



Thomas Wadleigh, 



Thomas Rowell, 


Jonathan Johnson, 



Jonathan Rowell, 


Joseph Sargent, 



Benjamin Williams 



Philip Sargent, 



Widow Colborn, 



William Bean, 



Jonathan Colborn, 



Cornelius Bean, 



Plummer Wheeler, 


Moses Hills, 



William Wheeler, 



John King, 



Samuel Robey, 



Hugh Jemerson, 



Samuel Robey, Jr., 



Caleb Sigar, 



Jonathan Robey, 



Stephen Woodward, 


Ichabod Robey, 



Eliphalet Woodward, 


Ezra Jones, 



David Eaton, 



Jonathan Page, 



Ebenezer Kezar, 



Joseph Youring, 



Simon Kezar, 



Nathaniel Cheney, 



Benjamin Critchet, 



Phinehas Stevens, 



Matthew Harvey, 



Lot Little, 



David Gile, 



Joseph Johnson, 



Ephraim Gile, 



Benjamin Philbrick, 



Jonathan Davis, 



Isaac Peaslee, 


Jonathan Davis, Jr., 



Silas Russell, 


Jacob Davis, 



William Pressey, 



Jacob Davis, Jr., 



Moses Quimby, 



Aaron Davis, 





Tax Rates eor the Totvt^ of Sutton in 1788. 

Thomas Wadleigh of Sutton, in the County of Hillsborough, and 
State of New Hampshire, yoeman ; for and in consideration of the 
sum of seven shillings to have In hand before the delivery hereof, 
well and truly paid for and in presence of us witnesses. 

Jolui Slack, 

Henry Mack, 

Isaac Head, 

Benjamin True, 

and that's all. 
d f 

The Town and school, 2 upon a shilling. 

The hard money, 2 2" "• 

The certificate, 5 " " 

And for collecting, 4 " " 


Post Koutes. 

In 1792 the legislature, at its session that year, 
established four post routes through the state, the 
first beginning at Concord, thence to proceed 
through Weare, ]^ew Boston, Amherst, Wilton, 
Temple, Peterborough, Dublin, Marlborough, 
Keene, Westmoreland, Walpole, Alstead, Ac- 
worth, Charlestown, Claremont, Newport, Lemp- 
ster, Washington, Hillsborough, Henniker, Hop- 
Mnton, to Concord. 

The second route was from Concord to Bos- 
cawen, Salisbury, Andover, ^ew Chester, Ply- 
mouth, Haverhill, Piermont, Orford, Lyme, Hano- 
ver, Lebanon, Enfield, Canaan, Grafton, Alexan- 
dria, Salisbury, to Concord. 

The other two routes connected the towns in the 
eastern part of the state with Concord and Ports- 

Each post-rider was required to perform his route 
weekly, extraordinary circumstances excepted. 

The riders on the first and second routes were 
paid twelve pounds each. They were required to 
reverse their alternate trips. 

The postage of single letters was fixed at six- 
pence for forty miles, and fourpence for any dis- 
distance less than forty. 


Once a week the citizens of any toAvn on the 
route conkl send a letter to other sections of the 
state on the route of the riders, but if directed to a 
town on one of the other routes, from six to twelve 
days would be the time required. For the trans- 
mission of their letters, Sutton people (not being on 
any post route) were compelled to trust much to 
chance conveyance. Most store-keepers kept an 
open rack in plain sight in their stores, in which let- 
ters could be deposited. Teamsters and travellers 
calling to take a drink — for all stores in those days 
kept ardent spirits for sale — would examine the 
direction on the letters in the rack, take such as 
were directed to any place through which or near 
which their own route lay, and deliver as directed, 
or at some store or tavern near by. For those who 
did not like thus to trust to the honor and good- 
will of irresponsible persons, there still remained, of 
course, the alternative of sending their mail matter 
to Andover, the nearest point to Sutton on any 
post route, or elsewhere, there to await the coming 
of the post-rider; for these carriers were empow- 
ered to collect as well as to deliver. 

The first mail-carrier in Sutton of whom we have 
any certain knowledge was a man named Dimond, 
whose house and pottery, where he at one period 
manufactured brown earthen-ware, was situated on 
the Warner road. He performed his journeys on 
horseback, carrying the mails in saddle-bags; and 
it was his custom, on entering a village, to summon 
the people out to the road by blowing a horn, to 
receive their mail matter. 


A Post-Opfice 

Was established at the South Village in 1817, Isaac 
Bailey being the post-master. At that period one 
post-office and one weekly mail sufficed for the 
whole town. The mail was at that time brought 
by one Thomas Hacket, of Warner, a lame man 
who used to ride in a gig. Subsequently, Smith 
Downing brought the mails. 

]N^ot long after 1825 a post-office was established 
at the N^orth Village. Benjamin B. French, after- 
Avards so well laiown as editor, poet, politician, and 
in various high positions of public trust in Wash- 
ington, but then a young lawyer, having recently 
come to Sutton to open a law office (the ffi'st in 
town) , was appointed post-master. 

Some Post-Masters. 

1817, Isaac Bailey, at South Village. 

1825, Benjamin B. French, at ^orth Village. 

1827, Isaac Bailey and Benjamin B. French. 

1828, John Clark at South ; Aspasio Hemphill at 

1832, John Clark at South; John Taylor at 

1813, W. Kendrick, at South; Joseph Harvey at 

1815, Nathaniel A. Davis, Perley Sargent. 

1869, Levi Ferrin, Truman Putney, Joseph Gree- 
ley, James B. McAllister. 

1885, Fred Putney, Joseph Greeley, G. G. Wells. 

Joseph Greeley, Jr., was appointed post-master 


under Lincoln's administration, August 13, 1861. 
He has held his appointment through all changes 
of administration for a term but little short of thirty 

The post-office in Mill Village was for twenty- 
four years kept in one store, — that of Carlos Pres- 
sey, Esq., — and since his time occupied by Trnman 
Putney. These two men were the only post-masters 
during that period. 

Early JN'ewspapers. 

The following is a list of subscribers to the New 
Hcmijysliire Gazette, dated 1803: 

We, the subscribers, agree to take the New Hampshire Gazette 
for the term of one year, at 12s. per annum, one quarter to be paid 
in advance : papers to be left weekly at Mr. Ezra Flanders' store 
in Warner : Daniel Page, Amos Pressey, Jonathan Harvey, Ben- 
jamin Evans, Henry Carleton, Joseph Greeley, Thomas Wadleigh, 
Thomas G. Wells, Jesse King, Ephraim Hildreth, Daniel Robinson, 
Philemon Hastings, Isaac Peaslee, Moses Hills, — all of Sutton ; Dow 
& Harvey, J. & D. Woodbury, Thomas Pike, — all of New London ; 
Samuel Rogers, of Wendell. 

It will be observed that these papers were to be 
left at Warner, by which it appears that the mail 
was not yet extended into Sutton. 

The jSTew Hcmijyshire Gazette was first issued at 
Portsmouth, in October, 1756. A printing-press^ 
the first in ^NTew England, had been established at 
Portsmouth in the August preceding. 

The Portsmouth Journal,, at Portsmouth, was 
established in 1789. 

The Keene Sentinel, at Keene, in 1799. 

The Farmer'' s Gahinet, at Amerst, November 11, 


The Political Observatory, at Walpole, Novem- 
ber 1, 1803. Several copies of this paper were 
taken in Sutton, and some of the papers are yet 
in existence, one of which, marked with the name 
of Jonathan Harvey, is before the writer. In the 
^' conditions " of publication is the following item : 
'^ Post-riders supplied on reasonable terms." About 
this date post-routes began to be established by the 
publishers of newspapers. The publishers of the 
JFarmer^s Cabinet employed Francis Bowman for 
their post-rider from Amherst through the north 
part of Hillsborough county. He paid for the 
papers at the office of publication, and ran his own 
risk of getting the money from his customers, 
which was sometimes effected by putting hard 
duns in the paper. He carried the Farmer'^s Cabi- 
net through the towns of Bedford, Goffstown, Dun- 
barton, Hopkinton, Henniker, "Warner, Bradford, 
"Weare, and others, till the close of the year 1809. 
The Sutton subscribers had their papers left at 

Several receipts for payment for newspapers have 
been found, the most ancient being as follows : 

Sutton, Aug. 24, 1795. 

Then received of Thomas Wadleigh seventy-five cents, it being 
for newspapers, I say, received by me, 

Joseph Hutchins. 

Several receipts are given for money paid for the 
Courier of New Hamfpsliire at different dates from 
1800 to 1804. The Political Observatory found 
several patrons about the same time. One of these 
receipts is as follows: 


Received of Benjamin Fowler fifty cents in full for thirteen num- 
bers of the Political Obs. 

Sutton, Sept. 13, 1804. Cornelius Warren. 

This Cornelius Warren was probably the post- 
rider and ag-ent for more than one pnblication, as in 
1805 he credits Jonathan Harvey for $3.6(3 for 86 
Observatories and 9 Museums. 

Several of the Portsmonth publications were also 
taken in Sutton, as the following receipt shows : 

Warner, 30 June, 1804. Then received of Jonathan Harvey 
Twenty Four Dollars, which I am to send to Portsmouth to Mr. 
Peirce on account of newspapers that were sent to several persons 
in Sutton. 

Ezra Flanders. 

One receipt is given on account of the Courier 
of ISTew Hampshire, and is signed by George 
Hough, of Concord, dated 1802. This man was 
the first printer in Concord (to which place he re- 
moved from Vermont in 1789) , and there set up the 
first printing-press, and for fifteen years published 
the Concord Herald and N. H. Intelligencer. Was 
also the first post-master in Concord. 

About 1800, Samuel Dalton brought the mail 
through Sutton. He went on foot. John Kezar 
carried the mail at a later period, going on horse- 

1808. GuiDE-BOAPtDS, 

or, as they were first called, " post guides," began 
to be used about 1808. They were built under an 
act of the legislature, requesting towns to do so. 


Old Cueeexcy. 

About 179G or 1797 the old currency began to 
disappear from the town records, and the Federal 
currency nsed on the books. At this time, and 
for many years hiter, currency was reckoned in 
pounds, shillings, and pence, because the silver 
money in circulation was either English or Span- 
ish coinage. Very little federal currency was in 
nse. The foreign coinage held its place for the first 
forty years of the present century, and, although 
the keeping of accounts in pounds, shillings, and 
pence began to give place to dollars and cents in 
speech, the old currency still held its own. Mer- 
chants were accustomed to mark the price of arti- 
cles in British currency. 

Pexis^^ Acre Tax, 1782. 

The legislature imposed a tax of a penny an acre 
on wild lands for the support of the war. A simi- 
lar tax was sometimes imposed, on petition, to aid 
a town in building a meeting-house. 


Settlements were pushing rapidly northward to 
Vermont and northern ^ew Hampshire, and the 
consequent increase of public travel made better 
highways a necessity. 

In 1803 the first, second, third, and fourth ^ew 
Hampshire turnpikes were incorporated. Twenty 
years previous to this, however, the people of the 
northern towns had felt the need of an improved 


road from the Merrimack to the upper Connecticut, 
and petitioned the legislature for a public road. 
The ]3etition being presented, an act was passed, 
1781, appointing a committee to lay out the road 
four rods wide from the River road in Boscawen to 
the Connecticut, at or near Dartmouth college, hav- 
ing regard to public and private interests. This road 
was termed the College road, and after the fourth 
!N^ew Hampshire turnpike was made, it was known 
as the " College Old Road." Up and down this 
road passed the college youths of a century ago, 
most of them going on foot, and sending their 
trunks along by a general conveyance. Among 
these young men was Matthew Harvey, of Sutton, 
afterwards governor and United States judge, who 
many years ago was heard to say that he always 
went to college on foot, being conveyed, himself 
and his trunk, by some one of his family, to the 
nearest point where they could strike this road. 

Anciext Stages. 

The first stage-coach in the country, drawn by 
four horses, was established, in 1771:, in I^ewbury- 
port, connecting ]^ewburyport with Boston via 
Salem, leaving Boston and ]^ewburyport on alter- 
nate days, thus making three trips a week. A stage, 
drawn by two horses, and carrying only three j^as- 
sengers, had been established between Portsmouth 
and ^NTewburyport some years before. The first 
stage route opened between Concord and Ports- 
mouth was in 1821:. 

192 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

The Stage-Coach of 1832. 

The introduction of stages making regular trips 
through this town Avas of very great importance to 
the people. Xot only did the stages transport pas- 
sengers and their baggage, but the mails as well, so 
that when they came the post-rider disappeared. 

The girls began to go to work in the cotton fac- 
tories of ]N^ashua and Lowell. It was an all-day 
ride, but that was nothing to be dreaded. It gave 
them a chance to behold other toAvns and places, 
and see more of the world than the most of the 
generation had ever been able to see. They went 
in their plain, country-made clothes, and, after work- 
ing several months, would come home for a visit, or 
perhaps to be married, in their tasteful city dresses, 
and with more money in their pockets than they 
had ever owned before. 

The students from Dartmouth college also availed 
themselves of the stage for making their transits 
through this section, and their coming was looked 
for with much interest l^y many of the people on 
the road, who were by no means averse to exchang- 
ing jokes with them, even though these young men 
were sometimes a little saucy. ISTot unfrequently, 
however, they found their match for imj^udence in 
the farm lads they hailed, as they looked down upon 
them from their lofty stations on the top of the 

These coaches were made by Abbot & Downing*, 
at Concord, and were well calculated for their work 
of carrying heavy loads over rocky hills, or down 
through the heavy, wet valley roads between. They 


had three seats mside, comfortably upholstered, 
where nme persons could ride with ease. On the 
outside was the driver's seat, and room for one on 
each side of him, and a seat behind him for pas- 
sengers, to which usually the stage-sick passengers 
resorted when they could no longer bear the close 
air inside the stage. The top of the coach was 
made very strong and firm, and a low iron railing 
passed all around it, affording a safe facility for 
transmitting smaller pieces of baggage, the trunks 
being securely held in the rack behind. Fourteen 
passengers could be accommodated at one time. 

Rates oe Postage, 

previous to 1845, for several years, were 6, 10, 12 1 
181, and 2.5 cents, according to distance. 

In 184:5 congress reduced postage to 5, 10, 15, 
20, etc. 

In 1852, to 3 cents per one half ounce, — 5, if not 
prepaid. Soon after 5 was stricken out, and let- 
ters not sent if not prepaid. 

In 188-, postage was reduced to 2 cents. 

In 1873, postal cards, costing 1 cent each, were 

FiEST Check-List. — Juxe 23, 1813. 

The legislature at this date passed an act requir- 
ing towns to use a check-list in voting for state 
and county officers. Previous to this every man 
had voted upon his honor, and his name was noted 
down. From these notes a list Avas made for tax- 
ing purposes. As politics waxed warmer, and the 


194 HISTORY OP sutto:n'. 

contests became more animated, the check-list was 
used in electing town officers as well as state, and 
was found to be a necessary safeguard against the 
attempted frauds of either party. It was a most 
beneficial act. Supervisors of the check-list were 
first chosen under the new constitution in 1878. 

The following named men were the first to vote 
the Free-Soil ticket in Sutton: 

Nathaniel A. Davis. Jefferson Chadwick. 

Israel Andrews, Jr. Tappan Sanborn. 

Nathan Andrews, Jr. John Roby. 

Emery Bailey. Isaac Towle. 

Physicians' Fees. 

The charges for medical attendance seem to have 
been very low about 1807. Dr. Henry Lyman re- 
sided in Warner, but practised considerably in this 
town. Some old bills of his are as follows : 

Mr. Jonathan Eaton Dr. to Harry Lyman for visits and Medi- 
cines, $ .67. 

Sutton Oct. 13, 1807. 

Jonathan Davis, Dr. to Harry Lyman for Medicines, $ .20. 
Sutton, Oct. 17, 1807. 

Mr. Jacob Quimby to Harry Lyman Dr. for Medicines, 33 cents. 
Another charge is for Visits, Medicine, and pulling tooth, one 

Sutton, Oct. 13, 1807. 

Tailor's charges, 1808 — 

J H Dr. to Aaron Knight 

To making 1 coat, and trimmings, $2.85. 

Spirituous Liquors, Hopkinton, Dec. 14, 1796, — 

Bought of B. & T. Wiggin 
1 Gallon Brandy, —11—0 

1 Do. W. I. Rum, — 9—6 

1 Poimd Tea, — 2—8 


historical items. 195 

The Penacooks. 

In the beautiful valley of the Merrimack, with all 
its attractions of fertile planting-grounds, an abund- 
ance of fish, and hunting-grounds of an unlimited 
extent, the first English adventurers found several 
tribes of Indians occupying localities chosen with 
Indian taste, and with special reference to his com- 
fort and his wants. From its mouth, far above its 
affluents, the Winnepisauke and the Pemigewasset, 
the shores of this "silver stream" were dotted with 
Indian villages. 

The Wamesits, sometimes called the Pawtuckets, 
lived at the forks of the Concord and Merrimack 
(Lowell) ; the Xashuas at Nashua. The Souhe- 
gans occupied the lands upon the river of that 
name; the JSTamaoskeags at the falls of Amos- 
geag; the Agawams on Cape Ann. 

The Penacooks occupied the rich intervales at 
Penacook, now embraced in the territory of Bow, 
Concord, and Boscawen, and towns above. Of 
these several tribes, the Penacooks were the most 
powerful; and either from their superiority arising 
from a long residence upon a fertile soil, and hence 
more civilized, or from having been for a long period 
under the rule of a wise chief — and perhaps from 
both causes united — the Penacooks had become the 
head of a powerful confederacy. 

Their chief was named Passaconaway, or the 
" Son of the Bear." He was friendly to the Eng- 
lish, and, through his influence his j^eople were also 
friendly. But as the English grew in strength and 
numbers, they rewarded his friendship in the way 

196 HISTORY OF sutto:n". 

they have ever and always rewarded the Indians' 
friendship, and wars and fighting were the resnlt. 
The Penacooks, greatly reduced in numbers, grad- 
ually al)andoned their pleasant homes on the upper 
and middle Merrimack and its tributaries, and joined 
the St. Francis tribe in Canada. The first of them 
went, it is supposed, about 1680, though scattered 
bands of them were roaming about this section 
many years afterwards. 

These were the people who, two centuries ago, 
held possession of the lands and the waters of Sut- 
ton which we to-day call ours, and this was proba- 
bly one of the very last places they abandoned. 

Many relics found around Kezar's pond, as well 
as a piece of cleared land found on its western 
shore, when the white settlers first came, testify 
to their somewhat recent presence here. 

Their village, it seems, was on the western shore 
of the pond, as it is in that vicinity that their stone 
hearths and fire-places have been found. 


The Social Library. 

This association was formed in 1796, and incor- 
porated by the legislatnre in 1799. Men from 
'New London, Fishersfield, and Sutton united for 
the purpose, but a large majority of the proprietors 
were Sutton men, and the Ul^rar}^ was kept in Sut- 
ton. By the payment of $2.50 a person became a 
shareholder, and thus entitled to the use of the 
books. The money paid for the shares purchased 
the books. Sixty-nine names of original proprie- 
tors are on their record, which shows that they had 
less than $200 to commence with. 

All interested in the library warned to meet at the house of 
Matthew Harvey. 

Met and chose Levi Harvey, Esq., moderator ; Dr. Jolin Gushing, 
clerk ; Matthew Harvey, librarian. 

Chose the following committee of nine to draft a constitution : 
Capt. Jonas Hastings, of Fishersfield ; Elder Job Seamans, Dr. 
John Gushing, Levi Harvey, Esq., and Lieut. Thomas Pike, of 
New London ; Benjamin Wadleigh, Gapt. Thomas Wadleigh, Mr. 
David Eaton, Lieut. Asa Nelson, for Sutton. 

Directors — Levi Harvey, New London ; Jonas Hastings, Fishers- 
field ; David Eaton, Sutton. 

Voted, To pay in the money, what the proprietors can, a fort- 
night from next Saturday. 

Voted, That the directors shall purchase the books and open the 
library as soon as $30 are paid in. 


This organization existed nntil 1868, when the 
proprietors gave up their rights to the town of Sut- 
ton to help form a town Uhrary. 

In time the social library contained between three 
and four hundred books, and was of immense benefit 
to the people, — the books being well selected, and 
eagerly sought after and thoroughly read. 

Books were scarce at that early day, but there 
were not a few men and women who knew well 
how to appreciate their contents. Many a hard 
working man was only too glad to walk weary 
miles, and then climb the steep hill to Dea. Har- 
vey's house, for the privilege of having a book to 

^N'one can tell the influence that the perusal of 
those volumes has had in developing and shaping 
the minds and characters of Sutton's, 'New Lon- 
don's, and Fishersfield's noblest sons and daugh- 

No catalogue of the books is to be found at this 
day; but a bill, probably of the very first books 
purchased for the library, has been preserved, and 
a copy of it is here presented. It is marked on the 
outside, "Esquire Harvey's bill for books." 

HoPKiNTON Oct 7, 1796 
Levi Harvey Esq'r 

Bought of Joseph Towne 

1 Moore's Travels 2 Vol's. 21 £1—1—0 

1 Hunter's Sacred Biography 3 Vols. 1 — 16 — 

1 Gordon's American War. 3 Vol's. 1 — H — 6 

1 Young's Letters 0—3—6 

1 Rollin's Ancient History 10 Vol's. 2-14-0 

1 Butterworth's Concordance — 16 — 6 


1 Thi-ee Wars Triimiph 0—1—6 

1 Priestly 's Answer to Paine — 1 — 6 

Deduct 5 per cent 8 — 5 

7— 17— 2i 
Cr. by Cash 8 dol. £2—8—0 

Note 5— 9— 2|^ 

7— 17— 2J^ 

Errors Excepted, For Mr. Towne 

Jno. O. Ballai'd 

A meinoraiiclnm on the back, in the hand- writing 
of Levi Harvey, is as follows : 

Library debt to Levi Harvey Dec. 1796 

To Quire and half brown paper £0 — 1 — 2 

To cash paid for book for Records — 6 — 

The following is a list of shareholders in Sntton, 
many of them being original members of the library 
association, and a few bonght shares later. 

Caleb Kimball, Amos Pressey, William Pressey. John King, 
Oliver French, James King, David Eaton, Matthew Harvey, Jona- 
than Eaton, James Eaton, Moses Hills, David Flanders, Jonathan 
Harvey, Samuel Ambrose, Joseph Woodward, Thomas Wadleigh, 
Stephen Woodward, Jacob Bean, Ephraim Hildreth, Samuel Kezar, 
James Taylor, Arnold Ellis, John Harvey, William Bean, 3d, Ezekiel 
Davis, Simon Kezar, Stephen Pillsbury, Benjamin Fowler, Philip 
S. Harvey, Clement & Cyrus Eaton, Abel Kimball, Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Joseph Pearson, Timothy Challis, Frederic Wilkins, 
John Harvey, Jr., (Rev.) Nathan Champlin, Benjamin W. Harvey, 
Josiah Nichols, Jr., Pliilip N. Roby, Jacob Harvey, Aaron Sargent, 
Plummer Wheeler, Ichabod Roby, Francis Wliittier, Willard 
Emerson, Enoch Bailey, Isaac Mastin, John Kimball, Gurden 
Huntley, Jonathan Roby, Daniel Wadleigh, Joseph Chadwick, Jr., 
Joseph Emerson, Amos Parker, William Kendrick, Smith Downing^ 
Ruel Lothrop, 


Robert Lane (purchased 1824), 
William Dodge (purchased 1824), 
Jacob Mastin, Jr. (purchased 1828). 

Another Ijill for books for the library has been 
found, and is dated Walj^ole, Sept. 27, 1803. 

Mr. Jonathan Harvey 

Bought of Thomas and Thomas. 

1 Sett Morse's Geography 


1 " Winchester's Lectures 


1 Jefferson's Notes 


1 History of Clii'ist 


1 Carver's Travels 


1 Religous Life 


1 Fordyce's Sermons 


1 Price's Sermons 



Deduct 10 pr. ct 





for Thomas & Thomas, 

Calvin Watts. 

The following letter from Matthew Harvey 
(afterwards Governor Harvey) to his brother, Jon- 
athan Harvey, will be of interest in this connection. 
It indicates that, at the time of writing, the library 
contained three hundred books, and names two of 
the works additional to the list we have given. It 
also shows that an ambitious young lawyer at that 
day was only too glad to step out for a l3rief space 
from the dry, dusty highway of law study and 
practice, to take a refreshing draught from such a 
rare, cool water spring as the " Sicilian Romance." 


HoPKiNTON April 11, 1808. 
Mr. Jona. Harvey, 

Sir, I send you, by Mr. Chadwiek, a volume of Josephus, and in 

it, a specimen of three hundred labels, which I have procured for 

Sutton Library — not convenient to send them now. I wish you to 

send me the " Sicilian Romance" when an opportunity otters, and 

you will much oblige your brother — Matthew. 

The followmg are copies of some of the orders to 
the Hbrarian from the directors in favor of those to 
whom they had sold shares in the library : 

Sutton, Oct. 16, 1799. To the Librarian of the Sutton, New Lon- 
don and Fishersfield Social Library. We inform you that Stephen 
Woodward has bought a share in our Library. We desire you to 
let him have a book when he calls, as other proprietors. 

William Pressey ) 
Jonathan Eaton .- Directors. 
Joseph Harvey ) 

New London April 8, 1799. To Jonathan Harvey Librarian 

for the Libraiy kept in Sutton. You are directed to deliver a share 

of the Library to James Witherspoon Jun'r, as he has secured the 

pay for the same to me. 

Levi Harvey, Director. 

To Jonathan Harvey, Librarian of Sutton, New London and 

Fishersfield Social Library. Please to let Capt. Thomas Wadleigh 

have a share in said Library as he has settled the same with us. 

Sutton, Dec. 17, 1799. 

Jonathan Eaton } t>>- 

T 1 TT - Directors. 

Joseph Harvey ) 

New London Sept. 15th, 1800. To the Librarian of Sutton 
New London and Fishersfield Social Library. This is to inform 
you that Jonathan Woodbury has bought a share in our Library, 
and become a proprietor. 

Joseph Harvey ) r)- „.,„..„ 
Jonathan Eaton \ 

To Jonathan Harvey, Librarian of Sutton New London and 

Fishersfield Social Library. Please to let Ensign Jacob Bean have 

a share in said Library, as he has secm-ed the same to us. 

Jona. Eaton ) 
Joseph Harvey ) 
Oct 16, 1799. 

202 HISTORY OF sutto:n". 

Other orders are in favor of Theophilus Cram, James Hutcliins, 
Joshua Currier, etc. Feb. 27, 1798, Jonas Hastings transfers his 
share to Joshua Hastings. In 1808, Oct. 3, the librarian for the 
library gives his note to Jonas Shepherd for S26.10 which is paid 


Oct. 1, 1810. Jonathan Eaton, Jonas Shepherd, and Joseph 
Harvey took the oath of office as directors of the Social Library in 
Sutton, Oct. 1, 1810. Then Jonas Shepherd and William Leach 
and John King took the oath of office as collectors of the Social 
Library in Sutton. Before me, 

Jonathan Harvey. 

KiN^G Solomon's Lodge of Feee akd Accepted 

■ Masons. 

Statistics in regard to King Solomon's Lodge ^ 
'No. 14, of Free and Accepted Masons. [Fur- 
nished for this work by Ervin A. Jones, secretary 
of the Lodge in 1884, being copied by him from 
the original records.] 

Date of its charter, January 27, 1802. 

First meeting in New London, June 16, 1802, at the hall of 
Jonathan and Daniel Woodbury. John Woodman, Worshipful 
Master joro tern., Levi Harvey, Jr., Secretary, Daniel Woodbury, 
Treasurer, Richard Cressey, Senior Deacon, Moses Hill, Jimior 
Deacon, Enoch Hoyt, Steward, Joseph Harvey, Tyler. 

Stephen Hoyt, Benjamin Swett, Ezra Marsh, Thomas G. Wells, 
John King, Caleb Lovering, Ebenezer Cressey, members. 

The Lodge removed to Wibnot Flat, Dec. 3, 1851, and to 
Scytheville, Sept. 4, 1878. 

It is not Ivnown that it was ever located in Sut- 
ton any more than to hold meetings there occasion- 
ally, but that cannot be made certain, as one volume 
of records, embracing the years from 1814 to 1828, 
is missing. 


During' this time the anti-Masonic war or "Mor- 
gan times" raged fearfully, and it is suj)posed that 
the book 'was then hidden or destroyed. It has 
never been recovered, although diligent search has 
been made for it. 

It is said that the charter of Kino' Solomon's 
Lodge was carried through the excitement of the 
Morgan times by the constancy and courage of 
barely two members. One of these was Col. John 
Harvey, of Sutton, and the other (name forgotten 
by the narrator of this fact) believed to be a 
]Srew London man. They used to hold th-eir meet- 
ings in the night in lonely places in the woods and 
on the hills. 

Many Sutton men became members of this lodge, 
and for this reason, if for no other, some account 
of it is of interest in the history of the town. 

At the first meeting petitions came in for Jacob 
Morse, Fishersfield (?) ; Theodore Abbott, Sutton; 
John Quimby, Springfield (?) ; Moses Hills, Sutton; 
Arnold Ellis, Sutton and ISTewport (Dr. Ellis) ; 
Philip S. Harvey, Sutton; Samuel Roby, Sutton. 

South Suttox Central Library. 

Members of the Association met July 19, 1824, and chose John 
Pillsbuiy, clerk. Chose a committee of three persons, viz. : Nathan 
Ames, Samuel Dresser, Jr., and John Pillsbury, to draft a consti- 
tution, which constitution at a subsequent meeting was accepted. 
Officers chosen, John Clark, secretary, Enoch Page, John Pills- 
bury, Samuel Dresser, Jr., directors, Enoch Page, librarian, Lewis 
J. Bailey, treasurer, William Pressey, collector. John Clark. Dan- 
iel Carr, Edward Dodge, committee to purchase books. 

At annual meeting, 1825, chose Moses Pillsbury, moderator, John 
Clark, secretary, Dudley Bailey, Joseph Roby, William Pressey, 
directors, Enoch Page, librarian, Lewis J. Bailey, collector. 


Names of Proprietors. 

John Pillsbuiy. Enoch Page. 

Benjamin W. Peaslee. William Pressey. 

John Clark. Dudley Bailey. 

Daniel Carr. Abigail Loverin, 

Edward Dodge. Nathan Ames. 
Enoch Page, Jr. , Enoch Colby. 

Joseph Roby. Moses Pillsbury. 

Thomas Cheney, Hazen Putney. 

Nathaniel Davis. Moody Johnson. 

Amos Pi'essey. Samuel Dresser, Jr.. 

Later were added the names of 
Asa Page, Miss Abiah Roby. 

Henry Adams. Thomas J. Wadleigh. 

INIoses Nelson. . Henry Adams. 

Johnson Colby. Aaron Russell. 

The last meeting recorded dated Nov. 7, 1835. 

The following names of books purchased are recorded : 

Josephus, 6 vols. $4.00 Perils Women, 2 vols. $1.00 

Life of Washington, 1 vol. .50 Life of Decatur, 1 vol. 1.00 

Charles 12th, 1 vol. .62^Blair's Philosophy, .37i 

Scottish Chiefs, 2 vols. 1.25 Thomson's Seasons, .50 

History of Rome, 2 vols. 1.00 Robins' Journal, .37 

Lights and Shadows. .50 History of United States, .39 

Tales My Landlord, 3 vols. 1.25 Pillett's England, .33 

N. H. Collections, 1 vol. .75 Gazetteer N. H., .30 

Life of Franklin, 1 vol. .68| Arabian Nights, 2 vols. 1.00 

A bill for books purchased of " Marsh, Capen & Lyon," Concord, 

■dated Oct. 17, 1833, shows the following books : 

1 Buffon's Natural History, 5 vols., $3.50 

1 Patrick Henry, 1.75 

1 Franklin's Letters, 1.00 

1 Irving's Columbus, 1-00 

1 History Ireland, 1.00 

" Thaddeus of Warsaw" was afterwards added to the collection 

of books. 

The price of a share in this library was $2.00. 


JSToRTH Sutton Dramatic Association-. 

About 1845 a Young People's Club was inform- 
ally organized at ISTortli Sutton, which subsequently 
took the name of " The Xorth Sutton Dramatic 
Association." For thirty years it is probable that 
an average of at least one entertainment a year 
was given. 

Most of the popular plays of the period, adapted 
to the country stage, were produced. Among the 
earlier were " The Seven Clerks," " The Idiot Wit- 
ness, " " Golden Farmer, " " Robert Macaire, " 
" Yankee Land, " " People's Lawyer, " " Revolu- 
tionary Soldiers," and " ISTeighbor Jackwood." The 
earlier exhibitions were given in the old ^orth 
Meeting-House before it was remodelled. There 
we brought out " The Brazen Drum," which during 
the thirty years was several times repeated. The 
stage was on a level with the "Deacon's table," 
in front of the pulpit. We had no scenery, nor did 
we need any, for the towering pulpit wherein was 
stationed the " music," and the ponderous " sound- 
ing-board" above it, were always in view. The 
audience, individually and collectively, were in 
hearty sympathy with the '' Brave Poles," and when 
" Calvin Cartwheel" rescued the fair Rowena from 
the grasp of the " darned old Russian," and chucked 
him head foremost through the trap into the " rag- 
ing sea" beneath, slammed down the cover, and 
jumped upon it and crowed, the enthusiasm of the 
spectators was so demonstrative that it was several 
seconds before the " orchestra," consisting of two 
bass viols and a fiddle, could be heard. Later on 



the excellent " Kearsarge" and Bradford bands 
were in attendance. 

Xo claim was ever made to scientific acting, but 
that we succeeded, to a foir degree, in holding the 
mirror up to nature, was attested by the large and 
interested audiences that always greeted us. 

The following is as full a list as we are able to 
furnish of those who have " trod the boards " since 
^' first we met:" 

Samuel Ambrose. 
Nathaniel Ambrose. 
Ann S. Ambrose. 
Elizabeth Ambrose. 
Lawrence E. Bailey. 
Leonard Bailey. 
Mrs. S. E. Bailey. 
Mary E. Bailey. 
Lucas P. Bean. 
H. H. BeU. 
Betsey J. Bessie. 
C. E. Carleton. 
Mrs. C. E. Carleton. 
William W. Coburn. 
William H. Chadwick. 
Mrs. William H. Chadwick. 
J. F. Chadwick. 
Warren Comey. 
Allen O. Crane. 
E. F. Eastman. 
Charles A. Fowler. 
George Fowler. 
Marietta R. Fowler. 
Harriet A. Fowler. 
Katie Fowler. 
James Fifield. 
A. D. Follansbee. 
Ephraim Fisk. 

Cyrus French. 
George S. French. 
Jennie French. 
Lorenzo Grace. 
Frank Greeley. 
Dorothy Greeley. 
Mrs. Maria Greeley. 
Alfred Harvey. 
Maroa C Harvey. 
Lydia A. Harvey. 
Horace M. Howe. 
Sarah F. Huntoon. 
Ellen Huntoon. 
Lydia Huntoon. 
Fred H. Keyser. 
John H. Keyser. 
Mrs. John H. Keyser. 
Olney M. Kimball. 
Mrs. Olney M. Kmiball. 
Timothy B. Lewis. 
Frank Little. 
Edwin A. IMastin. 
Mrs. Ellen Melvin. 
John T. Merrill. 
Mrs. Effie J. MerriU. 
John Moore. 
Horace Moray. 
Frank Morey. 



Benjamin E. Porter (1st). 
Abby E. Porter. 
Mrs. Fanny Porter. 
Jerome B. Porter. 
Reuben B. Porter. 
Edward G. Porter. 
Mrs. Edward G. Porter. 
Margaret Porter. 
Hannah Porter. 
Harriet Porter. 
Henrietta Porter. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 
Charles Peaslee. 
Benjamin Pressey. 
Betsy J. Pressey. 
Alonzo Phelps. 
Edgar Perkins. 
Mrs. Edgar Perkins. 
Dora Perkins. 
Daniel Putney. 
Charles Putney. 
Edward Putney. 
John A. Reed. 
Ira Rowell. 
George M. Shattuck. 
Ada Sargent. 
Emily Sargent. 
Hattie Sargent. 

Walter P. Sargent. 

Frank Shepherd. 

Lucy Shepherd. 

Robert Wadleigh. 

James I. Walker. 

J. Harvey Watson. 

Leonard H. Wheeler. 

John Wheeler. 

Ransom Wheeler. 

J. Dearborn Wheeler. 

Emma Wheeler. 

George Wheeler. 

Kate Wheeler. 

E. L. Wheeler. 

Daniel Whitcomb. 

Samuel Whitcomb. 

Martin L. Walker. 

Jonathan Williams. 

Charles Towle. 

Horace Towle. 

Abby Todd. 

Frank Todd. 

Charles Todd. 

Grace Todd. 

Etta Thompson. 

Charles F. Worthen. 

Mrs. Augusta H. Worthen. 

SuTTOX Washingtonian Total Abstinence 


At a meeting of the friends of temperance in Sutton, held in the 
Union meeting-house, Feb. 8, 1843, Reuben Porter, Esq., was 
called to the chair. Rev. Joseph Sargent, secretary. 

Appointed a committee consisting of Enoch Page, Esq., Henry 
Archibald, and Rev. Isaac Peaslee, to prepare business for the 

Voted to proceed to organize a society. 

Appointed a committee to draft and prepare a constitution. 



Committee consisting of Rev. Joseph Sargent, Enoch Page, Esq., 
Revs. Amasa Brown, Henry Archibald, and Isaac Peaslee. Con> 
mittee reported, and after some discussion their report was accepted. 
Committee appointed to circulate petitions against the sale of 
liquors, viz., T. Sanborn, John Pillsbury, Esq., N. Abbott, Moses 
PiUsbury, Esq., Benjamin Farnham, Uriah Persons, Rev. Amasa 
Brown, William H. Marshall, Rev. I. Peaslee, Nathan Andrew, 
J. Eaton, Moses Hazen. 

Officers appointed were Samuel Dresser, president. Rev. Isaac 
Peaslee, vice-president, Henry Archibald, secretary, Reuben Porter, 
Ransom Farnham, Tappan Sanborn, John C. Dresser, Nicholas 
Rowell, executive committee. 

The ladies of the committee were Miss Jenette Abbott, Mrs. 
Susan Pillsbury, Miss Mary Porter, Miss Caroline Russell, Mrs. 
Taylor Bean, Miss Mary W. Flanders, Miss Eliza A. Sanborn, 
Miss Judith Little. 

Names of Members — Men. 

Reuben Porter. 
Isaac Peaslee. 
Nicholas Rowell. 
Edmund Richardson. 
M. B. Buswell. 
John C. Dresser. 
George S. Morgan. 
Calvin White. 
David Ambrose. 
Joseph Carpenter. 
James M. Palmer. 
John Pillsbury. 
Philip N. Little. 
Stephen Woodward. 
Tappan Sanborn. 
Ezekiel Little. 
AVilliam H. Hunt. 
Noah Peabody. 
Samuel Rowell, Jr. 
Zachariah Peaslee. 
Benjamin P. Nelson. 

Franklin Little. 
Elmer E. Sanborn. 
Carlos Little. 
Thomas Nelson. 
Benjamin E. Porter. 
William Porter. 
Horace Burpee. 
Francis Robbins. 
Henry Archibald. 
Amasa Brown. 
Ransom Farnham. 
Joseph Sargent. 
Nathan Abbott. 
Hiram W. Savary. 
Samuel A. Palmer. 
Jonathan F. Palmer. 
Caleb Wells. 
James P. Wells. 
John M. Palmer. 
Thomas Wells. 
Elliott Wells. 



John C. Wells. 

George W. AYells. 

Benjamin Pillsbury. 

David Woodward. 

Thomas H. Avcliibald. 

Benjamin H. Carlton. 

Enoch P. Cummings. 

Samuel Dresser, jr. 

Jolui Brockway. 

John C. Little. 

Moses P. Chase. 

G. P. Hopkins. 

George S. Rowell. 

Chester Spanlding. 

Joseph Wells, 3d. 

Byron Watson. 

Charles E. Downing. 

Peter R. Kendrick. 

Joseph Simons. 

Amos G. Davis. 

Lnther Dresser. 

W. T. Norris. 

Robert B. Nelson. 

Daniel Woodward. 

Benjamin Carlton. 

Nathaniel W. Cheney. 

Daniel S. Russell. 

Benjamin Wadleigh. 

N. A. Davis. 

E. G. Haynes. 

Joseph T. Williams. 

Lyman Baker. 

Charles Morgan. 

Henry Morgan. 

Erastus Wadleigh. 

L. H. Whittier. 

Gideon D. Felch. 

Sumner Ward. 

John Cram. 

Barnet Felch. 

John Morgan. 
Samuel Ambrose. 
Simon Kesar. 
David Bohonnan. 
Ransom C. Palmer. 
Ransom R. Wheeler. 
Ira R. Dresser. 
John Dresser. 
L. F. E. Dresser. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 
Samuel Weston. 
Otis J. Story. 
Jolin S. Pillsbury. 
Truman Putney. 
Benjamin Carlton. 
Hartwell Melvin. 
John Dalton. 
Israel Chase. 
Enoch Page. 
Simon Cheney. 
George H. Davis. 
Nath'l M. Ambrose. 

(1846) J. S. Harvey. 
John Eaton, jr. 
Rufus M. Roby. 
Thomas J. Wadleigh. 
Samuel M. Chase. 
Versil E. Roby. 

(1847) John Eaton. 
Frederic Eaton. 
Lucian B. Eaton. 
F. P. NeweU. 
Joshua Rogers. 

(1848) Charles H. Stone. 
Elbridge G. Rogers. 
Mansel Blake. 
Jonathan Heath. 

Jacob Bean, Jr. 
Samuel Colby. 
Corliss Wadleigh. 



Moses C. Shattuck. 
Ira F. Rowell. 
Nathan A. Eaton. 

Reuel Noyes. 
Roswell Haddock. 

Names of Members. — Women. 

Nancy D. Peaslee. 
Elizabeth M. Peaslee. 
Almina R. Peaslee. 
Sarah P. Johnson. 
Caroline E. Russell. 
Mary Andrew. 
Dolly N. Page. 
Hannah INI. Peaslee. 
Hannah J. Andrews. 
Sally Andrew. 
Hannah Rowell. 
Mrs. Dolly Little. 
Betsy Richardson. 
Mrs. Sarah E. Dresser. 
Mary S. Porter. 
Susan E. Porter. 
Lavina Sanboi'n. 
Mary G. Marshall. 
Ruth Davis. 
Isabella Peabody. 
Widow Mary Peabody. 
Judith Peaslee. 
Rhoda W. Kendrick. 
Mary Peaslee. 
INIary Richards. 
Mary White. 
Nancy Chaniplin. 
Almanda C. White. 
Nancy Palmer. 
Susan C. Pahner. 
Julia A. Sanborn. 
Eliza A. Sanborn. 
Lavina R. Palmer. 
Nancy C Palmer. 
Roxy A. Little. 

Lydia F. Nelson. 
Betsey Peaslee. 
Lavina F. Sanborn. 
Lydia M. Ambrose. 
Lavina P. Brown. 
Lucy Gay. 
Elvina A. Gay. 
Lucy C. Gay. 
Mrs. Brockway. 
Betsey Farnham. 
Hannah Andrews. 
Mrs. Elizabeth Pratt. 
Nancy Burpee. 
Jennette C. Abbott. 
Belinda A. Lovering. 
Merriam F. Palmer. 
Temperance Palmer. 
Abigail N. Palmer. 
Ursula WeUs. 
Mary Wells. 
EHzabeth Wells. 
Rebecca Wells. 
Deborah Wells. 
Mary Palmer. 
Lydia F. Wadleigh. 
Mary W. Flanders. 
E. L. Andrews. 
C. S. Gould. 
Betsy Carpenter. 
Lydia Little. 
Susan Putney. 
Sally Champlln. 
Harriet Champlin. 
Caroline Champlin. 
Susan Pillsbury. 



Fidelia Champlin. 
Jemima Eastman. 


Lucinda Sargent. 
Sarah Hoyt. 
Abigail Robbins. 
Rebecca Archibald. 
Margaret Bailey. 
Sabrina Chase. 
Dolly Chase. 
Betsy Spaulding. 
Jemima Johnson. 
Ruth Woodward. 
Hannah Huntley. 
Louisa M. Roby. 
Mahala Chase. 
Sally Harvey. 
Mary Ann Harvey. 
Minerva T. Andrews. 
Sally Russell. 
Eliza Wells. 
Dolly T. WeUs. 
Julia M. Roby. 
Nancy C. Adams. 
Mary Simons. 
Betsey Kendrick. 
Elizabeth Eaton. 
Harriet M. Davis. 
Hannah Davis. 
Jennet G. Eaton. 
Meriam Worth. 

Dorothy Nelson. 
Mary P. Blake. 
Hannah Russell. 
Abigail Nelson. 
Abigail Nichols. 
Sally G. Andrews. 
Hannah G. Andrews. 
Lucretia Ann Dresser. 
Eliza Davis. 
Marian Harvey. 
Caroline Harvey. 
Susan Harvey. 
Sarah Pillsbury. 
Sophia Carlton. 
Hannah L. Porter. 
Margaret Porter. 
Mary Ann Kezar. 
Mary Williams. 
Marilla Williams. 
Maiy Wadleigh. 
Mrs. Sally Harvey. 
Eunice W. Dresser. 
Dorothy H. Chellis. 
Achsah Wadleigh. 
Lucy Ann Roby. 

(1847) Sarah Clu-istina Eaton. 

(1848) Betsey Blake. 
Cervalla Rogers. 
Mary Ann Rowell. 
Louisa Bean. 

Ruth Chadwick. 

Up to 1848 this society continued to act and to hold meetings, 
but "after that time," according to their Record Book, "the mem- 
bers became indifferent and meetings were discontinued. — Some of 
the members were in favor of political tests." 


SuTTOx Gkat^ge, 'No. 91, Patkon^s op Hus- 


Organized Oct. 13, 1877, with forty-three members. 

List of Officers. 

"Worthy Master — Charles A. Fowler. 

Woi'thy Overseer — George W. Tilton. 

Worthy Lecturer — Fannie F. Smiley. 

Worthy Steward — Sylvester S. Felch. 

Worthy Assistant Steward — John M. Pressey. 

Worthy Chaplain — George S. French. 

Worthy Treasurer — John Pressey. 

Worthy Secretary — Josie Roby. 

Worthy Gate-Keeper — Harvey W. Chadwick. 

Worthy Ceres — Betsey R. Pressey. 

Worthy Pomona — Phebe G. Tilton. 

Worthy Flora — Dolly N. Nelson. 

Worthy Lady Assistant Steward — Abbie Littlehale. 

Names of Members. 

James I. Walker. George F. Nelson. 

Lora S. Walker. Josiah P. Nelson. 

Thomas Roby. Nancy Nelson. 

Mary A. Roby. French Nelson. 

Sylvester S. Felch. Jennie Nelson. 

Abbie J. Littlehale. John M. Pressey. 

Charles A Fowler. Electa Pressey. 

William H. Chadwick. Jacob B. Nelson. 

Georo^e S. French. Geora^e W. Tilton. 


James R. Smiley. • Phebe G. Tilton. 

Fannie F. Smiley. George Roby. 

John Pressey. Josie Robie. 

Betsey R. Pressey. Converse Gage. 

Harvey W. Chadwick. Cerlania Gage. 

Joseph P. Nelson. George W. Gage. 

Dolly N. Nelson. Francis F. Blaisdell. 



Eliza A. Blaisdell. 
Charles S. Watson. 
Everett T. Sanborn 
Addison Ayer. 
NeUie Phelps. 
Thomas W. Nelson. 

Angelina Nelson. 
Sarah Nelson. 
James S. Bohonan. 
Fannie A. Bohonan. 
James D. Prescott. 


The Dakk Day of 1780. 

May 19, 1780, has been remarkable as the Dark 
Day. The moriimg was cloudy and rainy, ^ear 
11 A. M. it began to grow dark as if night were 
approaching. Fowls went to roost, and cattle 
returned to barn-yards as if it were night. At noon 
it was too dark to read without lighted candles, or 
to perform the ordinary duties of the house. Judge 
Patten made the following entry in his journal as 
to this day : 

" 19th May was a thunder shower in the morn- 
ing, followed by an uncommon darkness, such as is 
not remembered. It was so dark one would not 
know a man but at a small distance, and it was nec- 
essary to keep a light in the chimney to see to go 

" The night was extraordinary dark until one 
o'clock, so dark that a person could not see his 
hand when held up, nor even a white sheet of paper. 
The day and night were cloudy. The clouds in the 
day did not seem thick, and were of a lightening up 
color. Our almanac-makers have given no account 
of the matter : the cause unknown." 

The greatest alarm prevailed among all classes at 
this singular phenomenon. The more excitable ran 


about exclaiming- that the Day of Jiiclg'ment was at 
hand ; while the more self-controlled were filled 
with astonishment, not to say fear. The darkness 
was owing to natural causes. Fires had been rag- 
ino- in the woods of the north-westward wilderness 
for a long time. Smoke and cinders filled the air, 
the west wind prevailing. On the night of the 18th 
and 19th, the wind changed, and blew from the 
eastward, bringing in from the ocean a dense fog. 
The fog and clouds meeting, loaded as it were with 
smoke, soot, and cinders, formed an impenetrable 
stratum in the atmosphere that for hours shut out 
the lisfht of dav. This remarkable darkness was 
mostly observable in I^ew England, and heavier 
nearer the sea-coast. It did not extend very far 
south, nor farther west than Albany, N^. Y. The 
Judge Patten alluded to as the writer of the jour- 
nal containing the account of the Dark Day was 
the Matthew Patten of the " Committee of Safety," 
and was the second judge of probate of Hillsbor- 
ough county. 

A Day of Darkness, Sept. 6, 1881. 

Among the many descriptions of this most extra- 
ordinary day, written and printed, the following is 
the best yet seen, and is here copied. 

This day will long be remembered, Tuesday, 
Sept. 6, 1881. The day was an extremely uncom- 
fortable one, although the mercury did not climb to 
an extraordinary height. At an early hour in the 
morning a very peculiar appearance was perceived 
in the air. ISTo fog or haze was perceptible, but the 


sun was thoroughly obscured, and the atmosphere 
was pervaded with a yellowish light which lent a 
strange appearance to every object. In every place 
where there was grass or foliage the green hue of 
the leaves was changed from its natural shade to 
something much more vivid and almost blue. 

The aspect of the sky was such that some timo- 
rous people's minds were directed by it to the scrip- 
tural prophecy concerning the brassy appearance of 
the sky, which is to be one of the features of the 
Last Day. 

The interiors of buildings grew dark as the day 
advanced, and the outer air, as viewed through a 
window or other opening, seemed to be pervaded 
with the reflected light from some vast conflagra- 
tion. It became necessary in cities to light the gas 
in stores and offices, and the jets emitted a white 
flame that was not unlike the electric light. 

During the day the birds could hardly see to fly, 
and were strangely silent, and a sickly and melan- 
choly gloom overspread the face of nature. The 
phenomenon became more marked in the afternoon 
than it was in the forenoon. As late as one o'clock 
it was impossible for a person sitting near a win- 
dow to see to read or write without the aid of artifi- 
cial light, but after that hour the gloom deepened 
rapidly. The sky grew still more brazen in appear- 
ance, and the gloom was that of late twilight. 
There was something terrible in the scene, and it is 
not to be wondered at if some weak minds allowed 
themselves to be tormented by fears of what the 
extraordinary event might presage. (It will be 
remembered that this frightful and gloomy day was 


during- the siclaiess of President Garfield, and while 
the minds of the people were in a state of feverish 
anxiety as to its possible result. To many this 
gloom and darkness seemed to be almost a warning 
to prepare for the worst, and abandon all hope for 

The climax was reached at about 3 o'clock, and 
after that light began gradually to return, although 
perfect daylight was not restored. At 5 o'clock the 
ruddy glare had disappeared from the sky, and the 
light, such as it was, seemed more natural than at 
^ny time during the day. Before 8 o'clock the 
moon had come out, the brazen thiclaiess of the 
atmosphere had disappeared, and the sky had 
resumed its natural appearance. 

It is considered probable that the appearance of 
this extraordinary day may be traceable to causes 
similar to those of the Dark Day of 1780, one hun- 
dred and one years before, as it isknoAvnthat heavy 
fires in the woods of Canada had been raging for 
several days previous. 

Shower oe Stars (Meteors) , IS'ov. 13, 1833. 

This most remarkable disj)lay of heavenly fire- 
works conunenced a short time before daybreak. 
Each star reseml^led any falling star which can be 
seen of a winter's night, liut it was the immense 
number of these meteors falling in all directions, at 
almost the same moment, which made the scene 
remarkable and beautiful, and their number did not 
seem in the least to diminish till daylight made it 
no longer possible to see them. 

218 history op sutton. 

Cold Friday, Jads^uary 19, 1810. 

The evening" before this day was mild and warm, 
and a shower, with some lightning, occurred at 
about 10 o'clock. The wind suddenly commenced 
blowing from the north-west, and increased almost 
to a hurricane, and raged with unabated fury for 
twenty-four hours. The gale was extensive, and its 
damaging effects were felt in all parts of the coun- 
try. The cold was intense, and many persons were 
frozen to death, and also cattle in some cases froze 
dead in their barns ; and in houses it was not pos- 
sible to keep from suffering. The two succeeding 
days were memorably cold. 'No snow was on the 
ground, and none fell till about the 20th of Febru- 

Severe Sj^ow-Storm. 

Oct. 7, 1804. On this day occurred a remarkable 
snow-storm. Almost a foot of snow fell, the 
greater part of the potatoes and apples being buried 
under the snow. In the open fields the snow grad- 
ually melted and disappeared, but in some cold 
spots secluded from the sun, it lay till the next 

The Great Gale of September 25, 1815. 

This Avas the greatest which had ever occurred 
in ^ew England. It swept from the sea-coast of 
Massachusetts over the southern part of ^N'ew 
Hampshire. Such was its violence and strength 
that the atmosphere was filled with the salt spray 
from the ocean. All kinds of fruits, — apples, pears, 


and grapes, — were impregnated Avith the salt and 
to as great an extent as if they had been dipped in 
brine. Forests were laid low, and windrows of 
trees marked the track of the devastating hnrri- 
cane. The morning was dark with clouds and 
rain, and the east wind momentarilv increased. 
The gale commenced about noon, and rain fell 
rapidly. Great damage was done to wood and 

The great gale of September 9, 1821, was not 
unlike the gale of September 25, 1815, and did 
nearly as much damage, — forests levelled and build- 
ings blown down. This was the great tornado 
which occurred about 5 o'clock p. m., Sunday, and 
was very destructive to forests, houses, and every- 
thing in its narrow path of half a mile, in Sutton 
and especially in Kearsarge Gore. The following 
account of its doings in Sutton was prepared by 
Erastus Wadleigh, Esq. : 

Standing on the front of my father's house, Benjamin Wadleigh's^ 
the day being Sunday, about five o'clock, P. M., we observed black 
clouds rising rapidly, bearing south-easterly, in the vicinity of Sun- 
apee lake, accompanied with continuous lightning and roaring. 
Above and below everything seemed in frightful coinmotion. 

The tornado struck Sutton westerly of Harvey's mills, near the 
White lot, passing tlirough Dea. Josiah Nichols's farm, prostrating 
his entire wood lot, south-east of his buildings, and a short distance 
to the south, where resided Stephen Woodward and son. After it 
had passed here, Mr. Woodward and family, to their surprise, were 
in plain sight of New London village, which had ever been hid 
from them by the intervening woods. From Dea. Nichols's it 
passed by the south end of Chadwick's meadow near the bridge, 
thence a little south of Ira Rowell's near Critchett's hill, destroying 
all the wood on the Edmund Chadwick farm. From Critchett's 
hill it passed tlirough the large, dense pine forest of Hon. Jonatban 


Harvey, above North Sutton village, to the adjoining farms of Dea. 
Benjamin Fowler and Elder Elijah Watson. 

At the residence of the latter there was a religious meeting, and 
the room was filled with worshippers. The north door was wide 
open. Elbridge G. King, then a young man of twenty-two years, 
sat near the door, and, feeling the force of the wind, sprang with 
almost lightning speed and with tremendous effort closed the door, 
and thus, in all probability, saved the house and its inmates from 
harm. The adjoining barn and out-buildings were entirely de- 
molished, and thrown in every direction. 

Fences, forests, and all movable matter were scattered promis- 
cuously. Dea. Fowler resided about fifty or sixty rods south. His 
was a large, double two-story house fronting to the west, with an L 
on the east. The tornado crashed a hole through the north end of 
the front chambers, tearing away the partitions between the cham- 
bers, passing out at the south end, taking all the furniture and mov- 
ables from them. Some of the furniture was afterwards found in 
the towns of Andover and Salisbury. The family were in the L 
part, and were not injured. Near by were the large barn, cider- 
mill, and other buildings, which were blown down and scattered in 
every direction ; only a portion of the hay in the great bay was left. 
The forest, fences, and implements, and all kinds of personal 
property, were destroyed or blown away. The adjoining orchards 
of Dea. Fowler and Isaac Mastin near by were blown over, cattle 
and other stock were damaged, and everji,hing lay exposed. 

The tornado then passed to the valuable and extensive wood lots 
of Isaac and Jacob Mastin, prostrating as it went forests, fences, 
and everything in its way. Thence it went near the Parker farm, 
thence southerly near Warner line, east of Daniel Mastin's, through 
Benjamin Wadleigh's mountain lot, near the Gore road at Warner 

We, at home, had no intimation of all its disastrous consequences 
till Monday morning. A militia training was to take place at 
North Sutton that day, at one o'clock p. M. The writer of this, then 
a boy of thirteen years, attended with his father, who was a soldier. 
After the company was brought into line. Captain Levi Fowler, son 
of Dea. Benjamin Fowler, informed them of the great need of helj) 
that tlie sufferers by the tornado were experiencing, and said there 
would be no military duty required, and such as chose could go to 
their relief. The soldiers, boys, and all hastened to the place of 


disti'ess, rendering such aid as they could. One party, of which 
the writer was a member, set to work to right up the apple-trees. 
Some of these trees are yet standing in a bearing condition, slanting 
to the south-east, in the direction in which they were blown. 

The area passed over, doing damage in Sutton, was about ten 
thousand acres, extending from near the north-west corner of the 
town, passing almost the entire Avidth diagonally, striking Warner 
line a little south of the centre of the eastern line of Sutton, a dis- 
tance of about six miles, which was the centre of the tornado. The 
damage done in this town could not be less than from six to ten 
thousand dollars. 

We have merely referred to this remarkable tornado or cyclone 
through Sutton. Other portions of its coiu*se have often been 
described more accurately than we are able to do. Dea. Fowler, 
the one of all others who suffered most by the tornado, was then 
past the meridian of life, and, becoming disheartened, soon after 
disposed of his remaining property, and, leaving the scene of his 
great misfortune, removed to Orange with his son, Micajah, where 
he had several married daughters, and where he spent the remain- 
der of his days. By his departure the town lost one of its noblest 
citizens, and the church a strong right arm. 

Governor Harriman, in his " History of Warner," says, — " The 
tornado passed across the northerly part of Sutton, cutting a swath 
through the forests wliich is visible to this day." The woods where 
this hurricane did its worst damage have always been known as 
" The Hurricane Woods." 

The Great Frost, 1794. 

The spring of 1791 was very forward, but on 
June 17 occurred what was called the Great Frost, 
destroying the grain crop for the year and most 
of the fruit. But it also destroyed the canker- 
worms which had been previously so destructive to 
vegetation. Ice one inch thick formed on tubs of 
water standing in the open air. 

222 histoky of suttox. 

Poverty Year, 1816. 

This year was long known as Poverty Year. 
It was a remarkal)ly cold year, the season for grow- 
ing crops being " cnt short at both ends." The late 
frosts of the spring and the early frosts of the 
autumn made the corn crop a total failure. Still, of 
spring grain there was a medium crop, while pota- 
toes were good and apples plenty. In some parts 
of I^ew Hampshire snow fell to the depth of several 
inches in June, and in September corn froze to the 
centre of the cob, and apples froze upon the trees. 

Mackerel Year, 1817. 

So called because no meat being raised the year 
before, the people depended upon mackerel for 
animal food for themselves. 

The Aurora Borealis, or Northern Lights, 


This wonderful phenomenon was seen for the 
first time in 'New England in 1721. 

Great Freshet of 1821. 

On the 11th and 12th of February, 1824, a great 
amount of rain fell, by which the streams in our 
section of the country were so swollen that many 
bridges were carried away. Salisbury, Boscawen, 
Warner, and other places suffered much loss, as 
well as Sutton. 


Great August Freshet oe 1826. 

Scarcely any rain had fallen through the sum- 
mer, and with the severe drouth came an innumer- 
able multitude of grasshoppers which did immense 
damage. The great rain flood of August 28, how- 
ever, which carried oft' so many bridges, carried off" 
the grasshoppers as well, so that there was some 
reason for thankfulness even in the midst of the 
wholesale destruction caused by this freshet. On 
Monday, August 28, rain began to fall in the fore- 
noon — that is, occasional showers, accompanied with 
thunder. From three o'clock till ten p. m. it fell in 
torrents continuously, more than twelve inches fall- 
ing in six hours. The mountain streams, of course, 
rose rapidly, and in some their course was changed 
by the bursting through of their former barriers. 
Every bridge across the Blackwater except one 
(at Sweatt's mills) was carried away, and other 
streams, of course, in this vicinity fared no better. 
This was the freshet which caused the land-slide 
at the White Mountains whereby the Willey family 
lost their lives. The following account of the 
eftects of this flood in Sutton was supplied by the 
recollections of Mr. Jacob Mastin, in 1867 : 

" The storm was more violent than an}^ ever 
before known. The rain came dowm in sheets and 
floods. The grass- and potato- and corn-fields in 
the intervales were quickly covered wdth water four 
feet deep, and so great a deposit of gravel-stones 
and rocks was left that the fields were then sujd- 
posed to be ruined, and many of them were not 
cultivated for twenty years afterwards. 


"A torrent came roaring down Kearsarge moun- 
tain, bearing along whole trees and rocks weighing 
tons, tearing out a channel as wide as Connecticut 
river, and depositing all its frightful burdens in the 
valleys and intervales below. It changed the 
course of one of the main tributaries of Stevens's 
brook from the Warner to the Blackwater river. 
It carried away a log-house and a saw-mill from 
the base of the mountain so entirely that no ves- 
tige of them met the owner's eyes in the morning. 
It filled Merrill Eoby's yard with stones, washed 
away every part of the foundation stones of his 
house, and deposited a pair of cart-wheels in place 
of them." 

The awful gulfs and ravines created by this 
freshet are not even now obliterated, as a visit 
made in 1888 to the scene of the greatest of the 
land-slides fully testified. The vast chasm is not 
filled up, and loose gravel yet rattles down its 
sides, though great forests have had time to grow 
in the denuded valley below. 

goyer]sdie:^t of istew Hampshire. 

The first settlement was at Dover, in 1(323. 
Other settlements followed, but they remained scat- 
tered and feeble, and in 1641 they nnited with their 
more flonrishing and powerful neighbor, Massachu- 
setts. This union continued till 1680, when, by 
the authority of the king of England, ISTew Hamp- 
shire became a separate province, John Cutt, Esq., 
of Portsmouth, being appointed president, l^ew 
Hampshire was again united with Massachusetts, 
under the presidency of Joseph Dudley, in 1686; 
also, under that of Andros, in 1687, and of Brad- 
street, in 1689. 

From 1692 l^ew Hampshire had a separate gov- 
ernment again, under Usher, Partridge, and Allen, 
for ten years, when Dudley was again appointed 
governor, having, also, Massachusetts under his 

The two governments were thus again united, 
and so continued from 1702 to 1741, at which latter 
date Benning Wentworth, a graduate of Harvard 
college, was appointed governor of j^ew Hamp- 
shire. He was succeeded in this office by his 
nephew, John Wentworth, in 1767, whose term of 
office closed with the breaking out of the Revolu- 
tion. 'New Hampshire continued under the Pro- 
vincial government till 1775, when, by the ffight of 
the governor from the province, the royal authority 



was at an end, and the people assumed to govern 

By a convention chosen for that purpose a form 
of government was adopted at Exeter, Jan. 5, 1776, 
and under this act a government was duly organ- 
ized, which continued in operation till 1784, though 
there were unsuccessful attempts to change it in 
1779 and in 1781. 

In 1777 the subject of a form of state government 
was agitated in the legislature, and the sense of the 
people was requested to be taken on the subject. 
A convention was called to meet at Concord, June 
10, 1778, to form a plan of government. The con- 
vention formed a plan of government, and sent it 
out to the people June 5, 1779; but at their ad- 
journed meeting in September, the returns from the 
towns having come in, it was found to have been 
rejected by a decided majority, and the convention 
concluded not to act further upon the subject. By 
reference to the record of Sutton town-meeting, in 
September, 1779, it will be seen that, of the nine 
voters present, eight voted against the new plan of 

Another convention was called, and met at Con- 
'cord on the first Tuesday of June, 1781, to form a 
permanent plan, or system, of government. This 
plan, also, was generally rejected throughout the 
state, and the convention, when they met, found 
again their labors had been disapproved. They, 
however, continued their sessions, resuming their 
labors on the last Tuesday of December, 1782. 

The existing form of government was only pro- 
visional. It was to continue only as long as there 


was war. Accordingly, there being a prospect of 
jDcace, the legishiture, at its last session, passed a 
resolution that, in case peace should take place, the 
present form of government should continue till 
June 10, 1784. This resolution was sent to the 
several towns in the state for their approval, and 
was ratified by a majority of the towns. 

The articles of peace having been ratified by con- 
gress, our old form of state government was, by its 
own provisions, at an end. But this state of things, 
as just stated, having been anticipated by the legis- 
lature, in consequence of its action the Committee of 
Safety issued the following proclamation continuing 
the form of government for a sj^ecified period. 
Copies of this proclamation were sent to the differ- 
ent towns in the state. The copy sent to Perry s- 
town is yet in existence, and in possession of the 
compiler of this History of Sutton, having been pre- 
served among papers of Matthew Harvey, and was 
probably sent to him by the Committee of Safety, he 
being that year, according to the record, constable, 
and chairman of the board of selectmen. The proc- 
lamation is as follows : 

State of New Hampshire > In Committee of Safety, Apr. 16, 1783. 

A Proclamation. 

Whereas the Form of Government agi'eed upon by this State in 
the year of our Lord, one thousand, seven hundred, and seventy six, 
was, (considering the then situation of affairs) established to con- 
tinue only during the unhappy and unnatural contest then subsisting 
with Great Britain : 

And whereas, the General Assembly of this State in their last 
Session from information they received, had a promising prospect 
of a speedy and happy termination of those contests, and establish- 

228 HISTORY OF stjtto:n^. 

ment of Peace ; and taking into consideration the fatal consequences 
which might follow from being destitute of a regular Form of Gov- 
ernment, did pass a Resolve recommending that the present Govern- 
ment be continued in its fidl force till the 10th day of June, one 
thousand seven hundred and eighty-four, notwithstanding a general 
pacification should take place in the meantime ; provided a perma- 
nent Plan of Government for this State should not be established 
antecedent to that period ; 

And it was recommended to the Selectmen of the several towns 
and places in this State to lay said Resolve before the inhabitants at 
their next annual meetings, if received before such meetings were 
finished, if not so received then at meetings to be called for that pur- 
pose, and the inhabitants were requested to signify by vote their 
approbation or disapprobation of continuing the present Govern- 
ment according to said Resolve ; and the Clerks of the several towns 
and places were required to certify the same to the Committee of 
Safety on or before the 15th day of April then next, 

Which returns having been made and carefvdly examined by the 
Committee, it appears clearly to be the voice of the inhabitants of 
this State that the present Plan of Government be continued agreea- 
bly to said Resolve. 

We therefore make known that the present Plan of Government 
for this State is continued in fidl force and effect until the tenth day 
of June one thousand seven hundred and eighty four provided a 
permanent Plan of Government for this State shoidd not be estab- 
lished antecedent to that period. 

And All officers, civil and military, and all persons concerned, 

are to take notice hereof, and govern themselves accordingly. 

M. Weare, President, 
By order of the Committee 

J. Pearsons, Dep. Sect'y 

The convention finished their labors, after nine 
sessions, Oct. 31, 1783, having, at last, prodnced a 
plan of government, which, being submitted to the 
people, was generally accepted throughout the state; 
and the convention published and declared this ac- 
cepted plan of government to be "the civil consti- 
tution of the State of 'New Hampshire." 


This constitution, adopted in 1783, continued in 
force (with slight amendments) until 1878, a period 
of ninety-four years. In 1791 a convention was 
called to revise the constitution. The convention 
met, and on the second Wednesday of February, 
1792, finished revising the same, and sent it out to 
the people for them to approve, adjourning the con- 
vention to the fifth day of September following, to 
await the decision of the people. 

On September 5, the convention having met, it was 
found that the constitution, as revised by them, had 
been accepted by the people, and it was declared to 
be the " Constitution of ]!^ew Hampshire," and was 
to take effect the first Wednesday of June, 1793. 

This constitution diftered but little from that of 
1783. It changed the name of the executive from 
president to governor; it provided for twelve sena- 
tors, to be chosen from twelve districts, into which 
the state was to be divided by the legislature, in- 
stead of choosing the same number from not more 
than ten nor less than five districts, as before. 
And it provided that the council, of five members, 
should be chosen by the people, either from the 
counties, or from five districts into which the state 
might be divided by the legislature, instead of the 
same number of councillors, chosen b}^ the senate 
and house from their members, as before. These 
w^ere the most important alterations. 

Hon. Josiah Bartlett was chosen governor, being 
the first chosen by the people of ]N^ew Hampshire 
under a republican form of government. And the 
government of the state was duly organized at 
Concord on the first Wednesday in June, 1793. 


In 1850 a convention was called to frame a new 
constitution, which was presented to the people in 
the form of fifteen qnestions ; and in March, 1851, 
this was voted on, but was defeated. 

The convention reassembled and presented cer- 
tain amendments, which were submitted to the 
people in three questions: 

1. On the question of abolishing all religious 
tests from the constitution, Sutton voted, — yeas, 64; 
nays, 160. 

2. On the question of abolishing all property 
qualifications, — yeas, 82; nays, 104. 

3. On the question of having amendments in the 
future proposed by the legislature, instead of by a 
convention, — yeas, 5; nays, 149. 

In the state the second proposition only was car- 
ried. The property qualification existed no longer 
in the constitution. Joseph Harvey was the dele- 
gate to this convention. 

Constitution of 1877. 

Another constitutional convention assembled at 
Concord in December, 1876, and continued in ses- 
sion eleven days, framed a constitution, and sub- 
mitted it to the people in the form of thirteen ques- 
tions, which were voted on at the election in March, 
1877. All the propositions, except the first and 
twelfth, were adopted by the regular two-thirds 

The first election under this constitution took 
place JSTov. 5, 1878, at which time a governor, mem- 
bers of congress, councillors, members of the senate 


and house of representatives, and county officers 
were elected for two years. 

The town elections are held, under a law of the 
state, annually in March, as before. 

Under this constitution, towns having a less 
population than 1800 are entitled to but one repre- 

The questions submitted to the people were, — 

1. Do you approve of striking out the word "Protestant" in the 
bill of rights, as proposed in the amended constitution ? Yeas (in 
Sutton), 62 ; nays, 63. 

2. Do you approve of so amending the constitution that the gen- 
eral court shall he authorized to provide for the trial of causes in 
which the value in controversy does not exceed one hundred dollars, 
and title to real estate is not concerned, without the intervention of 
a jmy, as proposed by the amended constitution ? Yeas, 103 ; 
nays, 17. 

3. Do you approve of the biennial election of governor, council- 
lors, members of the senate and house of representatives, and bien- 
nial sessions of the legislature, as proposed in the amended consti- 
tution ? Yeas, 83 ; nays, 15. 

4. Do you approve of a house of representatives based upon 
population, and constituted and chosen as provided in the amended 
constitution ? Yeas, 103 ; nays, 16. 

5. Do you approve of a senate of twenty-four members, to be 
constituted and chosen as provided in the amended constitution? 
Yeas, 72 ; nays, 39. 

6. Do you approve of the election by the people of registers of 
probate, solicitors, and sheriffs, as provided in the amended consti- 
tution ? Yeas, 98 ; nays, 24. 

7. Do you approve of abolishing the religious test as a qualifica- 
tion for office, as proposed in the amended constitution ? Yeas, 68 ; 
nays, 55. 

8. Do you approve of prohibiting the general court from author- 
izing towns or cities to loan, or give their money or credit, to cor- 
porations, as proposed in the amended constitution ? Yeas, 102 ; 
nays, 17. 


9. Do you approve of changing the time for holding the state 
election from March to November, as proposed in the amended 
constitution ? Yeas, 109 ; nays, 14. 

10. Do you approve of authorizing the general court to provide 
that appeals from a justice of the peace may be tried by some other 
court, without the intervention of a jury, as proposed in the amended 
constitution ? Yeas, 99 ; nays, 18. 

11. Do you approve of authorizing the general court to increase 
the jiu'isdiction of justices of the peace to one hundred dollars, as 
proposed in the amended constitution ? Yeas, 83 ; nays, 35. 

12. Do you approve of the proposed amendment prohibiting the 
removal from office for political reasons ? Yeas, 58 ; nays, 60. 

13. Do you approve the proposed amendment prohibiting money 
raised by taxation from being applied to the support of the schools 
or institutions of any religious sect or denomination, as proposed in 
the amended constitution ? Yeas, 106 ; nays, 13. 

There were no delegates chosen to the conven- 
tion in 1876 from Sutton. After balloting twice, 
the town voted not to send. Moses L. Pillsbnry 
and James R. Smiley were the candidates. 

Committee oe Saeety. 

This committee, in whose name and by whose 
authority was issued the proclamation regarding 
the continuance of the government established in 
1775, which proclamation we have quoted, origi- 
nated in this way. That government was soon 
found to he deficient in not having an executive 
head. This difficulty was foreseen by its framers, 
but at that critical period there was such an antipa- 
thy against the one man power, such as had been 
exhibited by the governors under the royal govern- 
ment, that the people were opposed to giving the 
executive authority to one officer. 

To obviate this defect in part, and that there 


should be an execiitive in the recess of the leg- 
islature, a Committee of Safety was appointed. 
These committees were chosen by every legislature, 
and Avere considered as the supreme executive of 
the state, and their acts were considered as binding 
as those of the legislature when in session. 

Meshech AVeare, whose signature, M. AVeare, in 
his own handwriting, is on the printed proclamation 
alluded to, was chosen president of the connnittee 
on its formation in 1776, and Ebenezer Thompson, 

Mr. Weare, and some of the other members of 
this committee, were continued in office, by annual 
election, until the alteration in the form of govern- 
ment in 1784. Mr. Weare was usually, but not 
always, president of the committee. Hon. Josiah 
Bartlett and Hon. Matthew Thornton, also Dr. 
Ebenezer Thomj^son, held the responsible office. 
The Committee of Safety for 1776 were, — 

Meshech Weare, Hampton Falls 

Philips White, South Hampton 

Joseph Moulton, Hampton 

Pierse Long, Portsmouth 

Timothy Walker, Concord 

Benjamin Barker, Stratham 

Joseph Dudley, Raymond 

Ebenezer Thompson, Durham ^ 

Otis Baker, Dover > Strafford Co. 

John Smith, Durham j 

Matthew Thornton, Merrimack ^ Hillsborough Co. which 
W^yseman Clagget, Litclifield > included what is now 
Matthew Patten, Bedford ) Merrimack Co. 

Nathaniel S. Prentice, Alstead, Chesliire Co. 

Rockingham Co. 



Ill 1788 a convention was called to act upon the 
federal constitution for the government of the 
United States, which met at Exeter the second 
"Wednesday of February. After discussing the sub- 
ject some nine or ten days, the convention adjourned 
to the third Wednesday of June, then to meet at 
Concord. At the adjourned session the greatest 
anxiety prevailed, and discussion was continued un- 
til Saturday, when the question was taken upon the 
adoption or rejection of the constitution. During 
the call of the members the stillness of death pre- 
vailed in the house, and anxiety was depicted on 
every countenance. 

At length the president announced the state of 
the vote, fifty-seven having voted for the constitu- 
tion and forty-six against it, leaving a majority in 
its favor. According to a provision in the constitu- 
tion, it was to go into operation when nine states 
should adopt it, and the action of 'New Hampshire, 
she being the ninth, was awaited with the greatest 
solicitude. She adopted it, and the result was hailed 
with delight throughout the state and country. 

It is said that this result was attained by a pleas- 
ant artifice of Col. Walker, of Concord, one of the 
friends of the constitution. The colonel invited a 
number of the enemies of the measure to dine with 
him, together with some of its friends. Some little 
management was used, good wines being passed 
around after the cloth was removed, and the dinner 
was continued until after the vote was taken in the 
convention, thus securing a majority in favor of the 

goveen:mext or xew hainipshire. 235 

The EisTD or the Old axd the Beginning of 
THE ]S"ew Government. 

December 2, 177(3, taxes were collected in the 
name of the government and people of the state. 
The last warrant for Province tax was dated 9 
June, 1775. 

The question is sometimes asked. What power 
was it that bridged the chasm between the cessa- 
tion of the royal government and the commence- 
ment of the people's government ? Was it a power 
acting without any warrant except the needs of the 
occasion ? By no means. As early as 1774, a 
Committee of Correspondence was apj)ointed by the 
assembly, and when, for this act, the royal governor 
dissolved them, it was an easy thing for this Com- 
mittee of Correspondence to reassemble the repre- 
sentatives when necessary. The representatives 
addressed circulars to the several towns in the 
province, instructing them to send delegates to a 
convention to be held at Exeter, for the purpose of 
selecting deputies to the Continental Congress, 
which was to meet at PhiladeljDhia the ensuing' 

The province had been governed by a governor 
and council appointed by the king, and an assembly 
chosen by the people. By the prudent foresight of 
this assembly, in choosing and appointing the Com- 
mittee of Correspondence, their authority could be 
exercised and made to hold over till all the people 
could be reached and brought into concerted ac- 



Ezra Jones made the first grist-mill and saw-mill. 

Ebenezer Keyser was the first blacksmith. 

Benjamin Wadleigh first shoemaker and tanner. 

Samuel Ambrose, first settled minister. 

William Martin, first settled doctor. 

Benjamin French, first settled lawyer. 

Robert Hogg, first school-master, probably. 

Olive Whitcomb, school-mistress. 

John Eaton, store-keeper. 

Matthew Harvey and Caleb Kimball first tavern-keepers. It is 
not certain which vras first. 

The first brick-makers were Jeremiah Davis near the present 
Tilton farm, and Samuel Peaslee, near the Nathan Burpee place. 

First mail-carrier, Dimond, probably. 

First maker of earthen ware, Dimond probably. 

First fiddler, Anthony Clark. 

First dancing-school teacher, Henry Carleton. 

First carpenter, Capt. William Pressey. 

Wooden ware first made by Cornelius Bean and Ezra Jones. 

First female jihysicians, Mrs. Ebenezer Keyser and Mrs. WUliam 

First printer. Elder Lothrop. 

First hatter, Aaron Sargent. Afterwards Hunt and Noah Pea- 

First captain, William Pressey. 

First lieutenant, Joseph Wadleigh. 

First ensign, Phineas Stephens. 

First singing-master, Capt. Matthew Buell, of Newport. He 
taught here many years in succession, perhaps as many as ten. 


Was teaching here in 1799, and before that time and afterwards. 
He used to teach three afternoons and three evenings in a week, one 
day at Matthew Harvey's tavern, one day at Enoch Page's tavern, 
and one day at Caleb Kimball's tavern. The recess between the 
afternoon and evening schools affoi'ded a fine opportunity for the 
young men to display their gallantry by treating the girls to such 
good things as the taverns afforded. On one occasion Capt. BueU's 
NeA\i}ort school, by special invitation, came down to visit the Sutton 
school ; — had a supper together, and a fine entertainment every 


Caleb Kimball, on Kimball hill. 

Matthew Harvey, in the north part of Sutton. 

Capt. James Taylor, foot of Kimball hill. 

Joseph Greeley, at the south, on the Fishersfield road. 

Capt. Enoch Page, South Village. 

All five of these were in operation at the same time, at some 
part of their existence. 

Capt. William Kendrick, at South Village. Morris Sargent, N. 
A. Davis, James Eastman, Ezra Corson — the four last named at 
the tavern owned by Dr. Robert Lane. 

Joseph Harvey, North Sutton. 

John Reddington on the Warner road. 

Langdon Littlehale, South Sutton. 


WiUiam Pressey. Fred L. Howe. 

Enoch Page. George Chadwick. 

Joseph Jackson. John F. Chadwick. 

Moses Pillsbury. Jacob Bean. 

WiUiam Hart. Stephen Woodward. 

Israel Andrew. Daniel Woodward. 

Joseph Bean. Jolm Harvey, Sen. 

David Moody. Aaron Russell. 

William Howe. John Harvey, Jr. 

Ransom R. Wheeler. John Pillsbury. 

Adrian V. Williams. David Woodward. 

Thomas Cheney. John Persons. 



Joseph Kezar. 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 
Horace M. Howe. 
J. Harvey Merrill. 
John Wheeler. 
Dearborn Wheeler. 

James Knowlton. 
Albert E. Chadwick. 
William H. Chadwick. 
Edmund Blood. 
Benj. Wells. 
Gage Woodward. 


John Eaton. 

Dea. Joseph Greeley. 

Benjamin Evans. 

Nathaniel Ambrose. 

Hemphill & Armstrong. 

Joseph Pike. 

Bradbury BaUey. 

John Taylor. 

Joseph Harvey. 

Nathaniel A. Davis. 

Albert & Lewis Richards. 

Truman Putney. 

Perley & James M. Sargent. 

Levi Ferrin. 

Francis M. Richards. 

James B. & Frank A. Richards. 

Johnson & Harvey. 

Carroll & Haile. 

James B. McAUaster. 

George Wells. 

Fred Putney. 

Greeley & Pressey. 

Capt. James Minot. 

Philip S. Harvey. 

Isaac, Lewis & Enoch Bailey. 

Daniel Carr. 

Elbridge McCollom. 

Hiram Watson. 

David Brown. 

Alfred Richard. 

Carlos G. Pressey. 

Benjamin Burpee. 

Joseph Greeley, Jr. 

David Cooper. 

Joseph P. Nelson. 

Hiram Davis. 

Jacob S. Harvey. 

McAllaster & Johnson. 

George Robertson. 

E. F. Eastman. 

DeU P. Fifield. 

James Taylor. 

Mrs. J. M. Sargent, millinery and dry goods. 


Ebenezer Kezar. 
Simon Kezar. 
John Keyser. 
Joshua Flanders. 
Gordon Huntley. 

Enoch Colby. 
Edward Dodge. 
Daniel Sargent. 
James Fifield. 
Frank Lane. 


William L. Morgan. Daniel Whitcomb. 

William Andrews. Benjamin P. Sargent. 

Charles Couch. Benjamin Fifield. 

William Pressey. Walter P. Sargent. 

John Hazen. Albert Durgin. 

Frank Tm*ner. Frank Andrews. 

N. Chase. Daniel Hazen. 

Joel Stone. Aaron Small. 

James Buswell. Lorenzo F. Howe. 

Micajah Pillsbmy. Asa Gee. 

Dea. Joseph Greeley. Stejihen Hoyt. 

Reuell Miller. Morgan. 

Jonathan Fifield. 

Honorable AVomen. 

Wliile speaking of the first settlers, justice demands some mention 
of their wives. 

The wife of Capt. William Pressey is remembered still as pre- 
possessing in appearance, social, intelligent, and agreeable, even in 
old age, and noted for piety and goodness. 

Mrs. Abraham Peasley was social, kind, and cheerful, and might 
be called a living encyclopedia. She had a wonderful remembrance 
of all events connected with the first settlements and everything 

Mrs. Moses Quimby was noted for her care and interest for the 
sick and distressed. She performed most of the duties appertaining 
to a physician, and assisted at most of the births for twenty years. 

Mrs. Cornelius Bean, who lived to be nearly 100 years of age, 
was always ready to assist the sick. She was cheerfid and happy 
to the last ; possessed a very strong memory. 

Mrs. Benjamin Wells lived happy and contented to a great age. 

Mrs. Samuel Bean had a family of eight sons and three daughters. 
AU have had issue. Joseph moved to Canada, and lived to be more 
than ninety years of age. Reuben moved to Bangor, Me., where 
he died. 

Mrs. Jonathan Davis, Sen., was remarkable for her patience, pru- 
dence, piety, and industry. She lived to a great age, and finally 
died from the effects of an accident. 


Mrs. Josiah Nichols was a woman of strong mind, and a devoted 

Mrs. Jesse Fellows lived almost a century ; was remarkable for 
industry and cheerfulness. 

O^vTs^ERs OY Lots. 

From a map of the town of Sutton, made in 1817, 
by Jonathan Harvey, the names of the owners of 
the following" 160-acre lots were taken. 

No. 8. Jonathan Bohonan. 39. Nathaniel Todd & Joseph 
9. Amos Felch. Chadwick. 

20. Jonathan Harvey. 40. Ezekiel Knowlton & James 

21. John Felch. Morgan. 

22. Samuel Keyser & Benjamin 44. P. Stevens. 

Wells. 46. Thomas Wadley, B. Philbrick 

23. Isaac and Joseph Bean. & S. Russell. 

24. Amos Pressey. 47. Thomas Wadley. 

25. Moses Hill. 48. Daniel Page. 

26. John King. 50. P. Andrew. 

27. J. Chadwick & .J.Woodward. 51. J. Jolmson. 

28. David Woodward & John 52. Jos. Johnson. 

Manahan. 53. N. Cheney. 

29. E. Parker. 54. Wright & Martin & D. 
30. Weeler. 

35. J. Shepard. 60. J. Youring. 

36. J. Emerson. 61. J. Adams. 

37. Josiah & Enoch Nichols. 62. J. Adams. 

38. James Todd & D. Butterfield. 63. N. Andrew. 

100-AcEE Lots. 

No. 30. W. Wadley. 37. A. Peaslee. 

31. 38. — Peaslee. 

32. S. Ambrose. 39. — Nelson. 

33. D. Woodward. 40. — Nelson. 

34. D. Andrew. 41. T. Peaslee. 

35. D. Andrew & M. Nelson. 42. J. Brocklebank. 

36. A. Nelson. 43. " 


J. Pressey. 


S. Ambrose. 


J. Davis. 


E. Page & C. Lewis 


E. Eaton. 


Andrew Robertson 



Benj. VVaclley. 


72. P. S. Harvey. 

73. Jonathan Davis. 

79. J. Pillsbury & J. Challis. 

80. J. Pillsbury & T. Challis. 

81. D. Page & A. Robertson. 
& M. 82. M. Harvey. 

83. M. Harvey & M. Nelson. 

Third Divisio:n^. 

No. 2. Henry Dearborn. 16, 18, 20. — Wright. 

5. O. Eastman. 17, 19, 21. M. Wadley. 

14. D. Savory. 23, 24, 25, 26. I. Peaslee. 
51, 52, 53, 54. Daniel Wheeler. 

Lord Proprietors' Lots. 

No. 1. Nathaniel Eaton &. Jona. 16. B. Fowler. 


March 14, 1803. Voted, to build a pound of stone 30 feet square, 
7 feet high, 4 feet thick at the bottom, on the ground, with a hewed 
pine log on the top thereof, which shall be to the value of 12 inches 
square, w4th a good gate, and a good lock and key, — and said 
wall to be 18 inches thick on the top. 

Voted, that said pound shall be built on the hill northerly of 
Capt. Ephraim Hildreth's barn, as near said barn as it can conven- 
iently be set. 

Voted, to set said pound up to vendue, to be struck off to the 
lowest bidder. 

Voted, that nothing short of 20 cents shall be considered a bid. 

Capt. James Taylor bid off said pound at 19 dollars and 50 cents, 
and agreed to build the same agreeably to the dimensions before 

Samuel Bean and Phineas Stevens chosen pound-keepers. 

242 history of suttox. 

Chexey and the Bear. 

By Charles A. Fowler. 

Between 1820 and 1830 there lived on the cross road, east of 
the present residence of the family of the late Sylvester S. Felch, a 
famous hunter, Isaac Cheney. He had 9 sons, — Harrison, Curtis, 
Harden, William, Daniel, Caleb, Benjamin, Isaac, and Stephen. 
The only daughter, Sarah, married Stephen R. Swett. 

As my father's family were Cheney's nearest neighbors, I knew 
them well ; I also distinctly remember Bose, their strong-limbed, 
heavy-bodied dog. 

Mr. Cheney was a good-looking man, six feet tall, athletic and 
spry, and in a rough-and-tumble " set-to" usually came out first best. 

But this tussle with the bear was the great event of his life. 
Early one morning, — I think it must have been in the ^vinter of 
1827-'8, — he rode up to our house on the old black mare, and ac- 
costed my father. 

" Captain, I killed a bear yesterday on old Kiarsarge, sir. He 
bit my thigh, and I want to get some camphor to put on it." 

It seems that bruin was discovered, backed partly under the 
roots of an up-turned tree, whereupon Cheney fired a charge of shot 
into his face. 

The bear, apparently unhurt, started to run, when Cheney grab- 
bed him by the hind legs. Bruin right about faced, raised himself 
on his haunches, and " pitched in." 

" Now, Isaac, hold thine own ! 
No maiden's arm is round thee throwai : 
Together, down tliey came." 

We never heard the bear's version of the case, but Cheney always 
maintained that the reason he fell was that his foot tripped in the 

Old Bose now valiantly tackled his bearship in the rear, and 
Cheney regained his feet. 

At this juncture Ira Phelps came on the scene, with an axe. 
With much difficulty Cheney succeeded in getting hold of it. The 
bear was soow finished. 

The next day he was dra^vn on a hand-sled to Nathan Phelps's 
shed, where he " lay in state " tUl all the inhabitants of aU the re- 
gion round about had found opportunity to view the remains. 

I rode on the crupper behind my mother to see the bear. 

miscellaneous mattees. 243 

Ik^eis'toey of Estate of Ebek^ezer Kezar. 

It has been thought best to copy this paper, first, because of the 
interest connected with all that concerns this man, so prominent in 
the early years of the town, and, second, because it gives some idea 
of the estimated value of various articles of personal property at 
the time of his decease, in 1793. He was a blacksmith as well as 

£ s (I £ s d 

One saddle, 1 10 The red mare, 

*< " 9 The blacksmith tools, 3 9 6 

1 old side saddle, 9 2 cows £3 each, 6 

2 bridles, 2 6 sheep, 1 13 1 
14 pounds chain, 7 1 colt, 4 4 
1 set horse traces, 6 Horse Traces, 9 
Axes, 3 6 Old iron dung-fork, "» 

1 calf, 10 and pitch-fork | ^ 18 6 

The black mare, 9 

s s s 

One saddle 15, collar and tackling 6, 1 gun 12, 1 13 

s s 

Pair boots 9, pair hosen 5, 14 

£ s 

Great coat 1, straight bodied coat 18, 1 18 

s s s 

Blue coat 14, 2 pair breeches 17, 2 jackets 6, 1 17 

Leather breeches, old coat, 2 shirts, two pairs stockings, 1 16 

s s s 

1 hat 15, 1 kettle 6, the pewter 15, and 1 desk, 14 

< £ s d s s 

1 case drawers, 1 6 0, 1 table 4, chest 2, 1 12 

£ s d 
1 bed and bedding 2 15 ) 

"•250V- 5 15 

The other bed, 15 ) 

S S S 

1 pig 15, 1 side-saddle 15, small bell 1, 

s s s 

Large bell 6, augers, chisels 2, and chaise tackling, 12, 

s s 

Saddle-bags 6, steelyards 3, 

The sum total of the real estate, two hundred and eighty-seven 
pounds, ten shillings. 

1 11 




^Ew LoxDO?^^ Petitio:?^ eor a CoRO]srEE, 1794. 

To his excellency the governor and honorable council, in general 
court to be convened, at Concord, on Tuesday, the sixteenth day of 
December, 1794. We, the petitioners of the town of New London, 
humbly showeth, that we labor under a great disadvantage by not 
having a coroner in said town, having been obliged to send several 
times for one at a considerable distance. 

Therefore, we humbly pray your honors would take the matter 
into your wise consideration, and remove such difficulty by appoint- 
ing Mr. Joseph Colby to be coroner for said town, and your peti- 
tioners as in duty bound shall ever pray. 

[Folded in with the above paper was found what was evidently 
the first draft of the same, and is much like it, and of the same 
date. It contains the following sentence, pointing a little more 
plainly to the immediate occasion of their exigency. " We have 
been obliged to send two times out of town for an officer on tliis 
occasion of late."] 

The petition for a coroner is signed by 

Jedediah Jewett. Josiah Brown. 

Caleb Seegar. Peter Sargent. 

Jeremiah Pingry. Ezekiel Sargent. 

Jolin Sarfjent. Jonathan Everett. 


Abner Wlrittier. John Adams, Jr., 

Benjamin Woodberry. John Adans. 

Zebedee Hayse. Peter Sargent, Jr. 

Levi Everett. Jeremiah Everett. 

John Slack. James Brocklebank. 

John Ide. Nathaniel Emerson. 

Ebenezer Hunting. Joshua Wright. 

Ebenezer Shepard. Anthony Sargent. 

Jesse Shepard. Nathan Goodwin. 

Seth Gay. Ebenezer Sargent. 

Ebenezer Shepard, Jr. Amasa Sargent. 

[Some numbers of " Curtis' Pocket Almanac," of date 1800 to 1806, 
show that in 1800 Samuel Messer was a coroner in New London, and 
so continued several years. In 1805 Samuel Messer and Benjamin 
Woodbury were coroners m New London.] 



Farms owned in 1792 which were in 1870 owned 
by the sons of the owners. 

Abraham Peaslee, by son Abraham Peaslee. 
Jona. Davis, by son Elisha P. Davis. 
Jesse Fellows, by son Harrison Fellows. 
John Eaton, by son John Eaton. 
Moses AYadleigh, by son Thomas J. Wadleigh. 
Jona. Jolmson, by son Jona. Johnson and grandson Howard 

Reuben Gile, by daughter, wife of Daniel Mastin. 

Farms owned in 1792, which were in 1870 owned 
by their grandchildren. 

Oliver French, by Cyrus French. 

Green French, by George S. French. 

Matthew Harvey, by Mrs. Watson and Mrs. Knowlton. 

Dudley Kendrick, by granddaughter Rhoda, wife of P. Harvey 

Caleb Kimball, by grandson John Eaton. 

Jacob Mastin, by granddaughter Eliza, wife of Moses Moody. 

Asa Nelson, by widow of his son Asa, and grandchildren. 

Capt. William Pressey, by grandson William Pressey. 

Silas Russell, by grandsons Aaron and Seth. 

Benjamin Wadleigh, by grandson Erastus and great-grandson 
Milton B. Wadleigh. 

One farm owned in 1792 was in 1870 owned by 

Daniel Messer, by children of Moses Hazen, whose wife was a 

Fakms owxed in^ 1792, occupied r^ 1870. 

Samuel Andrew, by Nathan Burpee and others. 

Cornelius Bean, not known. 

Samuel Bean, by MUton B. Wadleigh and John Pressey. 


Isaac Bean, by James Brocklebank. 

William Bean, by Harrison Fellows and Leonard H. Wlieeler. 

Nath'l Cheney, by Johnson Colby and Moses S. Blaisdell. 

Theophilus Cram, by Nicholas Rowell and son. 

Abner Chase, by Saft'ord Watson and son. 

Leonard Colburn, by J. P. Nelson, Erastiis Wadleigh, and 

Jona. Colbnrn, by James C. Eaton. 

David Colbnrn, by James C Eaton. 

Ebenezer Crosby, by John Blaisdell. 

Josepli Youring, by Daniel .Smith. 

Jacob Davis, by M. B. Wadleigh. 

Jona. Davis and son David, by P. N. Little. 

James Eaton, by John Felch. 

David Eaton, by Moses Pillsbury and John Huntoon. 

Daniel Emery, by T. W. Nelson (near the Ichabod Roby farm). 

Obadiah Eastman, by Nath'l Clay. 

Benjamin Fowler, by Ichabod Hazen. 

Ezekiel Flanders, by the heirs of Joseph Barnard (near Daniel 

Ejihraim Gile, by Dr. Robert Lane. 

Renben Gile, by Daniel Mastin. 

Ephi'aim HUdreth, by George Tilton. 

Matthew Harvey, by descendants. 

James Hutchins, near Francis Richards. 

Philemon Hastings, by Moses Peaslee. 

Moses Hills, by Erastus Wadleigh and S. Morgan. 

Ezra Jones, near Luther Dresser. 

Joseph Johnson, by Francis Robbins. 

James King, by John M. Pressey. 

Simon Kezar, by Daniel Hardy and John Huntoon. 

John King, by A. Morgan and N. Colimibus Knowlton. 

Samuel Kendrick, by Jolm Colby. 

Lot Little, by John Blaisdell. 

William Lowell. 

Isaac Messer. 

Thomas Messer. 

John Messer. 

Jonathan Nelson — Mill Lot. 

Philip Nelson, by E. and J. B. Nelson, grandchildren. 


Josiah Nichols, by his son Josiah's widow, and grandchild Ruth, 
wife of John C. Little. 

Amos Pressey, by Ervin Nelson and Parker Blodgett. 

Benj. W. Philbrook, Jr., by Converse Gage. 

David Peaslee, by John Eaton. 

Samuel Peaslee, by F. Currier and son. 

Peter Peaslee, by John Eaton. 

Isaac Peaslee, by heirs of L. Cheney and others. 

John Peaslee, by M. Peaslee and others. 

Hezekiah Parker, by heirs of Samuel Felch. 

Widow Hannah Roby, probably part of the Ichabod Roby farm. 

James Roby, part of the Jona. Roby farm. 

Ichabod Roby, by Sanborn Wadleigh and others. 

Jona. Roby, by J. Morgan and others. 

Jona. Rowell, by Mr. Sawyer and son. 

Philip Sargent, by Isaac Fellows and W. A. Chase. 

William Scales, supposed to be near Carlos Eaton's. 

Phineas Stevens, by Moses P. Cheney and others. 

Stephen Woodward, by John Huntoon and Moses Pillsbury. 

Daniel Whittier, by E. Bailey and James Merrill. 

Francis AVhittier and Francis Whittier, Jr., by Moores Merrill. 

Benjamin WeUs, by Bean, Leach, and Kesar. 

Joseph Wells, by Asa Bean and son. 

Benj'n Wells, Jr., by T. B. Lewis. 

Joseph Wadleigh, by Russell, Blanchard, and others. 

Thomas Wadleigh, by Aaron Russell and others. 

Epliraim Wadleigh, by Asa Sargent and others. 

George Walker, by Levi Cheney. 

Plummer Wheeler, by Thomas Morgan and son. 

Yalue of Lots. 

Price of a whole right, or proprietor's share, in 
Perrystown, being the one originally granted to 
John Barker. 

The Lots belonging to said Right that are already drawn (in 
1774) are No. 41 in the 1st. Div., and No. 20 in the 2nd Div. 


This right was conveyed, as shown by the deed 
of the same, by Flanders to MattheAV Harvey, for 
the consideration of 42 pounds, lawful money. 

Another deed, Marshall to Harvey, dated March 
15, 1775. The right originally granted to Asa 
Kimball, the consideration being 13 pounds, 15 

Another deed, Matthew Harvey to William 
Lowell, dated 1796, conveys 'No. 57 in the third 
division, the consideration being 12 dollars. Origi- 
nally drawn to John Ayers. 

Obligation to Settle upoi^ axd Improve a 


Know all men by these presents that I Joshua Quimhy of Courcy 
Sarge [Kearsarge] Gore, so called, in the County of Hillsborough 
and State of New Hampshire, yeoman, am justly indebted and 
firmly bound unto Matthew Harvey of Sutton in said Coimty and 
State, in the just and lawful sum of Fifty Pounds, Lawfid money, 
the pajnnent whereof I the said Joshua Quimby, my heirs, Ex'rs, 
and Adm'rs, and Assigns, do hereby oblige myself unto the said 
Matthew Harvey, his heirs, Ex'rs, Adm'rs, and Assigns, in seven 
months from this date. As Witness my hand and seal, this 15th 
day of June, 1786. 

The condition of the obligation is such that notwithstanding what 
is above wi-itten, so long as the above named Joshua Quimby, or 
his heirs, Ex'rs, Adm'rs, or Assigns, or any other, by or under 
them, shall continue to settle, dwell or live upon, and improve on, a 
certain Lot of land lying and being in Courcy Sarge Gore, so 
called, which Lot is No. 73, as set forth in the Plan of said Gore, 
I say so long as the said Joshua, his heirs etc., shall continue to set- 
tle, dwell upon, and improve as above, that the said Matthew Har- 
vey, his heirs, &c., do hereby oblige themselves that the above Bond 
or obligation shall never be put in execution, or improved to the 
hurt of said Joshua his heirs &c. 

And upon the consideration of the said Joshua, his heirs &c., 


their fulfilling the settlement of impi'oving said Lot as aforesaid, 
for the space of the seven ensuing years, the ahove obligation is to 
be void and of none effect, otherwise to stand in full force and 
virtue. As witness my hand this 15th day of June Anno Domini 1786. 

Joshua Quimby 

Witness present : ) 

Thomas Kennedy >- 

Pliilip Sargent ) 

BoxD FOR Deed. 

It was not uncommon in the early years of the 
settlement of Perry stown, for the owner of a lot to 
give away one half of it to an actual settler upon it; 
first, perhaps, because he desired to have a neigh- 
bor, and second, because the settlement of one 
half raised the value of the other half, which he 
reserved for himself. Daniel Messer's deed of the 
northerly half of the 1st Div., Lot jS'o. 49, was 
given by Enoch Marsh, and was a part of the origi- 
nal right of his father, David Marsh. The follow- 
ing copy of the instrument which put him in pos- 
session of the half of another adjoining lot is a 
curious specimen of orthography. The man who 
took these surprising liberties with the King's Eng- 
lish was not an inhabitant of Perrystown. 

At Kison [*. e., Atkinson] Nov. the 28 day, 1779. 

This day greed with Daniel Messer of Perrystown to settle my 
Hunderd Deaker Loot that lays bounded on the north end of said 
Messer's lot. 

Said Messer is to settle said lot according to Charter, and said 
Messer is to have the one half of the lot on the south end of said 
lot that jines on to said Messer's. 

And I Blige myself to give said Messer Warnt tea \i. e., Warran- 
tee] Deed, after said lot is settled. 


John Currier 
Dudley Currier 

ler ) 


250 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Copies of Receipts of ax Early Date. 

County Tkeasurer. 

Amherst, Oct. 8, 1778. 
Received of the Selectmen of Perrystown 1 — — Of, it being 
their proportion of a County Tax raised Jan. 7, 1778. 

Received jjer 
Nahmn Baldwin 
Comity Treasurer. 

Amherst, Oct. 7, 1779. 

Received of the Constable of Perrystown by the hand of Capt. 

Stephen Harriman £6 — — 4|^, it being their proportion of a County 

Tax raised April 1779. 

Per Nahum Baldwin 

County Treasurer. 

State Treasurer's Receipts. 

Treasury Office ) 
State of N. H. j 

Exeter May 29, 1779. 

Received of Mr. Daniel Messer, Sixty three Pounds, fifteen 

shillings, in part for the State and Continental Tax for the present 

year, 1779 


Nicholas Oilman 
£63. 15. 

Exeter, Dec 6. 1779 
Treasury Office ) 
New Hampshire \ 

Received of Mr. Daniel Messer Constable of Perrystown, One 
Hundred and Eighty-Seven Pounds and seven pence half penny 
In Full for the Balance of the present year, 1779. Also the Smn 
of Forty-seven Pounds eleven shillings and five pence, in part pay- 
ment of the second Continental Tax for the present year, 1779. 

Nicholas Oilman 

187 : : 7|- 
47 : 11 : 5 

242 : 12 : 0^ 

Treasury Office ) 
New Hampshire ^ 


Exeter, Jan. 31, 1780. 

Received of Mr. Daniel Messer, Constable of Perrystown, Four 
Hundred and three Pounds, sixteen shillings, and eight pence ^. 
In Full of the Balance of the last Continental Tax of said town for 
the year 1779. per. Nicholas Gilman. 

403 : 16 : S^. 

N. B. The foregoing heavy taxes vrere paid in war time. The 

following receipt, dated ten years later, shows a great reduction of tax. 

Treasury Office ) 
New Hampshire ) 

Exeter Feb. 12, 1793. 

Received of Mr. Daniel Messer (per Mr. Levi Harvey,) Eleven 
Pounds, eleven shillings & five pence In full for the Tax of Sutton 
for 1790. J. T. Gilman, Treas'r. 


MoxEY Scarce. 

During the later years of the last century so lit- 
tle money was in circulation that almost all trade 
was carried on by barter, and contracts for labor and 
its remuneration were frequently written out, with 
every specification, and with such minuteness of 
detail as seems to us, at this day, needless and 
almost absurd. The foUoAving is a sample of this 
kind : 

Received one swine of Matthew Harvey supposed to be worth 
5 dollars, and for said swine, I, Jacob Gile, promise to break and 
swingle all the flax said Harvey raised in the year 1789, the best 
way and manner of doing flax fit for combing. And said Harvey 
is to find said Gile food while he is doing said flax, two meals the 
day, dinner and supper or bi^eakf ast ; and said Gile is to eat as Har- 
vey's family eat, and when they eat. Said flax is to be completed 
at or before the last day of March 1790, and if I fail of fulfilling 
my promise by that time, I, the said Gile, promise to make said 

Harvey good from damage. As witness my hand, 

Jacob Gile. 
Sutton, Nov. 4, 1789. 
Witness, Hannah Clough. 

252 HISTORY or suttoi?^. 

Sutton, Sept. 8, 1794. 

For value received I promise to deliver to Elizabeth Quimby or 

order, one two-year-old a coming in three, a heifer that shall be 

middling likely, in good order and expects to be with calf, — and if 

she shall fail, to make her as good as to girt four feet, eleven 

inches, and a half inch. To be delivered at my dwelling-house at 

or before the first day of Nov. next. 

Witness my hand, 

Jacob Davis. 

Sutton, Sept. 21, 1787. 
For value received I promise to pay to Robert Presson or his 
order six doUars and a half, to be paid in labor at the common 
price on demand. 

Sutton, Oct. 6, 1794. 
For value received I promise to pay to Jeremiah Emerson or 
order, 12 bushels of Indian Corn, 3 bushels potatoes, half a bushel 
of peas, and a peck of beans, with Interest till paid. 

Sutton, Oct. 17, 1789. 
This is to testify and show that I do hereby promise to work out 
Jacob Hadley's Penny-Acre Rate upon 50 Acres of land, it being 
by virtue of a note of hand. 

Sutton, April 3, 1792. 
Benjamin Critchet, Sii*, Please to pay to Daniel Messer tliree 
shillings in Rie at four shillings per bushel, it being for value 

As elsewhere stated, the meetmg-houses were 
built by individual subscriptions, each man giving 
his note to tlic amount of his subscription, to be 
paid in " Indian Corn, or Neat Stock, or good mer- 
chantable Rie," Imt here, at last, is evidence of a 
money transaction. 

Sutton, Jan. 23, 1796. 

This day Received of the Building Committee of the North 

Meeting-house Five Silver Dollars In Full of all demands upon 

said Committee from the beginning of the world to the present day. 

As witness my hand. 

Samuel Messer. 

miscellaxeous matters. 253 

Resolutions axd Totes passed ln^ Towx- 


1806. Drift Road. Voted, That the road wliich leads from 
Emery's Hill to the road that leads from Mr. Kezar's to Esq. HiUs' 
be a Drift Road four months in the year. 

1811. Motion being made, Voted, To allow Mr. Jona. Roby his 
highway tax to lay out on the Drift Road leading from his house 
out to Mr. Ichabod Roby's house. 

1817. Voted, Mr. William Wadleigh be allowed his highway 
tax to lay out on his drift way out to the road, under the direction 
of the Surveyors. 

Voted, David Davis be allowed his highway tax to lay out on his 
Drift Road out to the road. 

The term " Drift Road" seems to signify, usually, 
a road which the town was not obliged to keep 
open through the winter, being a man's private 
road from his own buildings and through his own 
land out to the public road. But in the first case 
quoted, — the one under date of 1806, — there was 
apparently a public road, but its location was so 
greatly exposed to wind and storms that it would 
probably "be a Drift Road four months in the 
year," with or without the vote of the town, and it 
was considered too difficult to try to keep it open 
through the severe weather. The individuals who 
were accommodated by the road could keep it 
open if they chose, and be allowed their share of 
the public highway tax for doing so. 

Two years before this, in 1804, this same piece 
of road was the subject of special legislation. 

In warrant for town-meeting, Aug., 1801, is the 
following article: 


To see if the town will vote to discontinue the road that leads 
from the top of Emery's Hill, so called, on to the road that leads 
from Mr. Kezar's to Esq. Hills', or let it he kept as a Drift Road. 

Voted, not to discontinue. 

Supplies pop Muster Day. 

1815. Voted, That each non-commissioned officer and private 
soldier enrolled in the train-bands of this town he furnished at the 
next general muster with one pound and one-fourth of good boiled 
beef, one j)Ound of fine bread, one giU of rum, and one-fourth pound 
of powder, — the whole [i. e., the company] to be furnished with 
one barrel of good cider. All to be carried on to the field of 
parade. Musicians, and such as do not bear fire-arms, are not to be 
furnished with the one-fourth pound powder each. 

Mr. Samuel Kendrick contracted to furnish the above for the 
next general muster for $39. 

1819. Soldiers on Muster Day to be furnished 25 cents in 
money, or the usual provision as they choose. Moses Nelson con- 
tracted to furnish the same. 

Hogreeves. Chose the following, — they having all been married 
during the year preceding. Benjamin Putney, Stephen Johnson, 
Henry Adams, Ezra Littlehale, John Littlehale, Thomas Davis, 
Asa Nelson, Moses Pillsbury, Abraham Peaslee, Benjamin Bean, 
Isaac Bailey, Jonathan Woodward, Benjamin Lovering, Joshua 
Wright, and Smith Downing, were severally chosen, all being 
eligible to and duly qualified for that office, they having been 
married the year preceding. 

The above record was made by Hon. Jonathan 
Harvey, he l^eing town-clerk that year. 

The custom of appointing to this unimportant of- 
fice those men who had been married during the 
year preceding each annual town-meeting was con- 
sidered a good-natured joke, and Avas not taken 
offensively by the victims ; in fact, they would have 
felt a little slighted if this customary allusion to 
their recent marriage had not been made. 


Burying-Grounds. Motion being made, voted, that two persons 
be appointed to take the care and keep the keys of the meeting- 
houses, and to dig and fill all the graves. And they are to have 
the privilege of pasturing all the gi-aveyards with creatures that will 
not injure said yards. [They were granted leave to pastui'e sheep 
in the graveyards, not altogether for economy's sake, but because 
the easiest way to keep the yards clear of bushes was to let the 
sheep feed them down.] Joseph Peaslee undertook the care of the 
South meeting-house and graveyard for the ensuing year at $4. 
Philip S. Harvey took the North for the same price. 

Motion being made, voted, that no person being the owner of any 
horses, cattle, or sheep, shall suffer any of them to run at large 
within one mile of either meeting-house. 

March 11, 1840. Incoiyorations. Resolved, ^y the legal voters 
of the town of Sutton, in town meeting duly holden, that our repre- 
sentatives in General Court be instructed to vote against incorpora- 
tions of every description whatever, and that the above resolution pass. 

March 9, 1842. Voted, that it shall be the duty of the several 
sextons to keep the fences around the graveyards, — to cut the 
bushes (except the ornamental) and shovel paths in case of deep 
snows. Isaac Peaslee bid for the South at ten dollars, — Tappan 
Sanborn, for the Centre at two dollars and fifty cents. John C. 
Little bid for the North at four dollars and fifty cents, — Israel A. 
Palmer, for the Gore at seventy cents per grave. 

Nov. 4, 1844. Capital Punishment. To take the sense of the 
meeting on the question, " Shall capital punishment be abolished ?" 
On motion, Voted, to poll the house to take the sense of the legal 
voters of said town, and there appeared eighty-two in favor, and 
ninety-eight against its abolition. 

In warrant for town meeting, March 12, 1844, the following 
article was inserted upon petition of Hiram W. Savory and others. 

"To see if the town will instruct the selectmen not to grant li- 
censes for the sale of ardent spirits to be used as a beverage. 
Voted, to pass over the article. 

Sexton at Mill Village for 1844. The ofiice being set up at 
auction, considerable underbidding followed the first proposal, till 
the price offered became ridiculously low, when Mr. Joel Stone, 
perhaps in joke, offered to undertake it "for nothing." It Avas 
immediately struck to him, " he being the lowest bidder," — as the 
record has it. 


The playful spirit in which all this was clone and 
recorded is, however, painfully contrasted with the 
record that was made hefore his year was out, viz., 
the death of Mr. Stone. He was a blacksmith at 
the Mill Tillage. 

In 18J:5 the sextons were, — at the South, John 
Brockway; at the ISTorth, John Harvey; at the 
Mills, Tappan Sanborn; at the Gore, Moses Page. 

March 10, 1846. Voted, to have the expenses of said town and 
its disbnrsements printed in detail, and have the same a standing^ 
vote till otherwise ordered. 

March 9, 1847. " Shall the Militia Bill prepared by the com- 
mittee of the Senate of the Legislature become a law ?" For the 
bill to become a law there appeared thirty-five votes ; against the 
same, one hundred and forty-two. 

March 11, 1848. Wilmot Froinso. The following resolution 
was introduced and passed : 

Whereas, we, the citizens of the town of Sutton, having full 
faith in the ju.stice and expediency of the doctrine set forth in the 
Wilmot Proviso, and also in the doctrine that the people have a 
right to instruct their public servants, — therefore, be it 

Resolved, by the citizens of the town of Sutton, in town meeting 
assembled, that our representative in the General Court of the 
state of New Hampshire, this year, be instructed to use his influ- 
ence and advocate the principles set forth in that Proviso. 

Same date. Prohibition of Liquor Selling. " Is it expedient 
that a law be enacted by the General Court, prohibiting the 
sale of wines and other spirituous liquors except for chemical, me- 
dicinal or mechanical purposes ?" Voted, sixty-two in favor, seven- 
ty-three against. 

1852. Voted, that no horses, cattle or sheep be allowed to feed or 
range within any of the burying grounds in town. Sexton at the 
North, for $8.50, was Warren W. Davis ; sexton at the South, for 
$9.00, was Jonathan H. Nelson ; sexton at the Mills, for $4.50, was 
Samuel T. Trumbull; at the East or South-east, referred to the 

March 13, 1849. Liquor Selling again. A resolution was 
introduced and accepted by vote of the town, viz. : 


Resolved, That the selectmen be requested not to license the sale 
of spirituous liquors for the ensuing political year, for any consider- 
ation or purpose whatever. 

Nov., 1852. To take the sense of the legal voters by ballot 
upon the following question, to wit : " Is it expedient that the 
Bill entitled ' An Act for the suppression of drinking houses and 
tippling shops' be enacted into a law ?" Motion being made, that 
the article be passed over, a vote was taken and decided by the 
moderator in the negative, on which vote a poll was requested by 
seven legal voters, before proceeding to any other business, and the 
moderator proceeded to poll the voters present, — and there appeared 
in favor of passing over the article, forty-two voters, and against 
passing over the article, seventy-tlu'ee voters : so the motion did not 
prevail. On voting, it appeared that eight voted for the bill, and 
seventy-five against the bill. 

Nov. 8, 1853. •' To see what the town will do to more effect- 
ually protect the interest and welfare of the town and individuals 
from the deleterious effects of intoxicating drinks." 

1859. Voted, That the money we draw from banks as literary 
funds be divided in town according to the number of scholars in 
each district. 

1860. Voted, That the town purchase a hearse and build a house 
to keep it in. Voted, That the same be kept at Mill Village. 

1861. Voted, That any person wishing to use the hearse can do 
so, paying damage to the town if injured. Agent appointed to take 
care of it. 

1860. Voted, To appoint no liquor agent- 
March, 1861. Voted, That the town furnish Dodge's map of New 
Hampshire and keys for every school district in town. 

1869. Benjamin F. Pillsbury elected overseer of the poor; 
Reuben B. Porter Superintending School Committee. 

1871. " To see if the town will vote to authorize the moderator 
to prohibit smoking in town meeting, under penalty of removal 
from the hall, and $5 fine." Voted, To pass over the article. 

1878. Train2)s. Whereas, by an act to punish tramps ap- 
proved August 1, 1878, authorizing and requiring selectmen to 
appoint special constables, whose duty it shall be to arrest and 
prosecute tramps, we, the selectmen of Sutton, do appoint for that 
office, James Wliidden, Enoch P. Davis, William Flint. 

March 12, 1878. Meeting called to order by Benj. F. Pillsbury, 



first selectman. [This was perhaps Mr. Pillsbury's last official act 
in Sutton, as he removed to Minnesota the same year.] 

Nov. 5. 1878. [Under the new constitution.] To choose a 
board of supervisors of the check list. Those chosen were Jolin 
Pressey, who had 193 votes, George C Eaton, 194, and Benjamin 
Johnson, 191. 

July 31, 1878. Motion to approve Act to purchase maps of New 
Hampshire for each school. Indefinitely postponed. 

March 9, 1880. Voted, To apjjly what money accrues from 
the taxation of dogs, over and above the sum required for their 
damages to domestic animals, for school purposes. 

Nov. 2, 1880. Supervisors of check list. — George C. Eaton, who 
had 133 votes, Benjamin Johnson, 134, and Charles S. Watson, 

1884. Whole number of votes for Representative, 276 

Nov. 5. 1878. " " Representative, 283 

March 10, 1846. " " Governor, 289 

" " " Councillor, 294 

" " " Register of Deeds, 295 

" " " County Treasurer, 295 

" " " Senator, 292 

Of the votes cast for senator, Asa Page had 172. 

In 1859, the whole number of votes for Representative was 367. 

Aug. 21, 1862. Bounties. The town votes to pay Bounties to 
enlisted men of $125 each ; also Voted, To pay to parents of en- 
listed men who are minors, according to the law of 1861, if depend- 
ent on said enlisted men. Voted, To pay this to all credited to Sut- 
ton, under the call for 600,000 men. Voted, The selectmen be au- 
thorized to hire money at the credit of the town to jjay bounties and 
families according to vote passed. 

Sept. 26, 1863. Voted, To authorize the selectmen to hire money 
to pay $300 to men who are or may be drafted, or their substi- 

Nov. 30, 1863. Voted, That the selectmen be authorized to hire 
such sums of money on the credit of the town as may be necessary 
to advance all bounties now offered by Government, both state and 
national, and also to pass such sums additional as may be found 
necessary to hire men or volunteers or substitutes enough to fill the 
quota of this town under the last call of the President for soldiers, 


and also that the selectmen be instructed to hire the quota of this 
town as soon as practicable, or as soon as they deem it for the best 
interest of the town. 

June 11, 1864. At a legal meeting, duly notified and holden, 
at Nelson's Hall in Sutton, Moses Hazen, selectman, presiding, 
chose, by ballot and majority vote, Charles A. Fowler, moderator, 
who, being present, took the oath prescribed by law. Voted, That 
the selectmen be authorized to pay such bounties as shall be neces- 
sary, not exceeding $1500, to each recruit or volunteer who may 
enlist to fill the quota of this town under any future call for men 
for the service of the United States, and that the selectmen be au- 
thorized and empowered to hire such sums of money on the credit of 
the town as may be necessary for the foregoing purjjose. 

Voted, To choose an Agent whose particular business it shall be 
to procure volunteers and fill the quota of this town under any call 
that may be made. Chose Benjamin P. Burpee for agent. 

Voted, That the selectmen be discharged from further duty of 
procuring volunteers and hiring money, and that the agent be 
authorized to hire such sums of money, on the credit of the town, as 
shall be necessary to procure the volunteers to fill all the calls that 
may be made for men for the service of the United States. 

Benjamin P. Burpee took the oath of ofiice as prescribed by law. 

Aug. 6, 1864. Town offers $100 for one year, $200 for two 
years, and $300 for three years men ; also, voted to pay $200 for 
every drafted man. 

Sept. 2, 1864. Voted, To raise and pay as bounty to each man 
who may be be drafted and mustered into the United States service 
from this town to fill its quota under the last call of the president 
for 500,000 men, the sum of $200 for each year's service, and to 
each inhabitant of this town, who may have heretofore or who shall 
hereafter be duly mustered into the military, naval, or marine ser- 
vice of the United States, and counted on the quota of this town 
under the said last call of the president, the sum of $800 for one 
year, $1100 for two years, and $1400 for three years. 

Voted, To aid the families of all persons, residents of this town, 
agreably to a law approved July 16, 1864. 

March 10, 1868. Public Library. Voted, To establish and 
maintain a Public Library, and raise money therefor, and choose 
the necessary officers as agents to establish and manage the same. 

Voted, To raise $50 for Public Library. 

260 HISTORY OP sutto:n^. 

Voted, That Moses Hazen, Erastus WacUeigh, Johnson Colby, 
be a committee to carry out the provisions for the library. 

March 9. 1869. Chose the same men to be directors of the 
library for the ensuing year. 

April 18, 1868. Voted, The library be kept at Erastus Wad- 
leigh's the ensuing year. 

Voted, Nov. 3, 1868. That the town of Sutton accept the 
Sutton Social Library according to a vote of said (old) library. 

In the by-laws of the new library ; " Proprietors of the old libra- 
ries, not residents of Sutton, shall have a right to take out books 
that they own a share in, subject to the regulations of the town 

March 8, 1870. Town Library. Report that not much has 
been done owing to the financial embarrassments of the town which 
admonish the directors not to ask a further appropriation at this 
time. Private contributions solicited. 


There was no poor-house in Sutton till 1837. 
Previous to that time those who became dependent 
on the town were boarded in families, the town 
paying the expense, the contracts being made from 
year to year at the annual town-meeting. The 
board of each one separately was put up at auction 
and struck off to the lowest bidder, due regard, of 
course, being had to the reliability and general 
character, as well as to the house conveniences, of 
the person so contracting; for the town stipulated 
that these poor should be made comfortable in sick- 
ness and in health, if possible. If any of them 
were able to perform any labor, the contractor had 
the right to demand a reasonable amount from 
them; and if any thought themselves not well 
treated, they had, at any time, the right of appeal 
to the selectmen. 

Here, perhaps, is as as good a place as any to 
make the statement which common justice requires, 
namely, that not all of those whose names are 
found on the records as being provided for at the 
annual meeting by the town were actual and abso- 
lute paupers. It sometimes happened that a man 
owning a farm became too old to work it profital)ly, 
and relinquished it to the town, which, assuming 
the ownership of the property, became, at the same 
time, responsible for his support. Those who took 

262 HISTORY OP sutto:n^. 

this course certainly could not, with justice, be con- 
sidered paupers ; the}^ became simply the wards of 
the town. 

This was the case with Jacob Davis, whose chil- 
dren became insane after reaching manhood, and 
when he was too old to work his farm any longer 
without their help. He conveyed his farm to the 
town, and the town took care of him. His farm is 
the one several times named in the town records 
as the " Town farm or Davis farm," and concern- 
ing which there was some legislation about the 
time the project of having a poor-house became a 
subject of discussion. 

The same is true also of Francis Como. He 
lived to become very aged. He had sons, but they 
had all removed to Canada and settled there. He 
gave up his farm to the town, and the town took 
good care of him till his death. 

Soon after 1825, the question of having a poor- 
house arose, it having become known that the 
experiment had been tried in some other places, 
and was considered satisfactory. In town-meeting, 
March 15, 1826, a committee, consisting of John 
Harvey, Robert Lane, and Benjamin Wadleigh, 
was chosen " to examine into the best modes of 
supporting paupers, and report thereon." 

The folloAving is their report: 

The committee appointed by the town of Sutton to examine into 
the cheapest and most effectual mode of supporting town paupers, 
having attended to that duty, ask leave to make the following 
report : 

They have made inquiry from various sources in this state and in 
Massachusetts, and find that the evil of pauperism is the common 
lot of towns, although the burden presses more heavily on some 


places than on others. We find also that the general method of 
their support has hitherto been similar to the long established mode 
in the town of Sutton, which is to set them up at auction, at their 
annual town-meeting, to the lowest bidder ; and the person who 
takes them is entitled to all the profits of their labor. But to this 
general rule we find exceptions, which we believe to be a great im- 
provement on the old system. Some instances of tliis we wiU name. 
In the old town of Haverliill, Mass., which for many generations 
has been buithened with a heavy pauper tax, they have within a 
few years purchased a small farm, with suitable buildings, to 
accommodate their paupers, and have employed an overseer to 
superintend the same. This establislmient is now in successful 
operation, so that they have lately enlarged the farm by the pur- 
chase of numbers of acres, and calculate that instead of a tax it will 
soon be a source of profit to the town. The town of Chester, this 
state, has adopted a similar method with success. 

In several other towns that have adopted the method of mantaln- 
ing their paupers on a farm, the expense has been reduced nearly 
one half, and in some cases to nothing. 

AVhen we take into view the enormous tax which the town of 
Sutton has paid for the support of paupers, amounting to the sum 
of more than 1800 dollars for the last four years, we believe that 
one half might have been laid out on a farm and poor-house, and 
the other half would have supported the paupers, which, if our es- 
timates are correct, would have saved to the town a clear gain of a 
house and farm in four years. 

We are authorized to state that in several towns that have 
adopted the poor-house plan, the wholesome discipline of these es- 
tablishments has evidently had a salutary influence on the morals of 
the idle and intemperate of those places. It operates as a peniten- 
tiary on such characters, whUe it affords a comfortable and perma- 
nent residence for those who are simply unfortunate. 

Under these considerations we do not hesitate to recoinmend to 
the town of Sutton to provide a farm and poor-house for the main- 
taining of the paupers. 

John Harvey, for the Committee. 

Which report was accepted March 14, 1827. 
The following items, copied from the records, 
show what action the town took on this matter : 

264 HISTORY OP sutto:n'. 

Mar. 10, 1829. Dudley Morrill and others petition the town 
to build a poor-house on the Davis farm. 

Voted, To build a poor-house on the Davis farm. Committee 
chosen to make a plan and estimate the cost of the same, John Har- 
vey, Dudley Morrill, John Pillsbury, John Adams, and Amos Pres- 
sey, the committee to attend to said duty free of expense to the town. 

Marcli 11, 1835. Voted, The selectmen have the care of the 
Davis farm. 

1837. Another jietition for the town to make arrangements to 
build a poor-house on the Davis farm, and voted to do so. 

Later in 1837. Voted, That the selectmen be directed to seU and 
convey seventy acres of the town farm, commonly called the Davis 
farm, in the manner which, in their opinion, wiU best serve the 
interest of the town. 

Mar. 15, 1837. Voted, The proposal of Edward Dodge for a 
poor-farm be accepted. 

Voted, The selectmen contract for the support of the poor vmtil 
the 1st of April, and then they be removed to the poor-house. 

Voted, The selectmen hire an agent to carry on the poor-farm, 
and purchase stock and farming tools. 

Voted, The poor-house be a house of correction. 

March 14, 1838. Voted, To give Mrs. Hubbard, mistress of the 
poor-house, ten doUars as a deed of charity. [Those who remem- 
ber this circumstance say that the wording of tliis vote, as it is on 
the record, does not express the intent and fiill meaning of the 
vote. The gratuity to this lady was in recognition of her good 
management of the house and of her kindness to the inmates.] She 
was the wife of the poor-house master, John Hubbard, who held the 
position several years. 

1848. John Huntoon had charge of the poor-house. 

1849. John Felch was in charge of town-farm tiU March 25, 
1750. Salary, $175. 

James P. Wells till 1853. Salary, $205. 

Asa Bean till March, 1854. 

David M. Morse till March, 1855. 

Sewall B. Prescott till March, 1857. 

James M. Nelson till March, 1860. Salary, S219.88. 

The selectmen praise his administration in spite of rumors set 
going against it by malicious persons. They suggest the introduction 
of straw braiding for children and others who can do it. 


Nathaniel L. Clay took charge Feb. 11, 1860, and held the place 
for several years. The following statements complimentary to his 
administration are found on the Town records : 

1864. We are happy to say that the appearance of the poor 
establishment is highly satisfactory, reflecting great credit on the 
agent and his lady in the management of the estal)lisliment the past 
few years. 

1866. Poor-House. All seems to be in good order about the 
buildings, and much credit is due to the agent and his lady for 
their neatness, economy, and perseverance in managing the estab- 
lishiuent the past year. 

1866. Ditto in every respect. 

1898. We believe the f anu has been well managed, the crops har- 
vested at the right time, secured in good order, and well taken care 
of. Oi'der, economy, and cleanliness throughout the whole estab- 
lishment was not the exception but the rvde, and the agent and 
matron deserve and should receive nuich credit for their earnest 
endeavor to promote the best interest of the establishment and con- 
sequently of the town. 

John AV. Blodgett had charge in 1868 and 1869 ; Wyman P. 
Kimball, 1869. 

In 1870 Henry F. Presby had charge. 

In 1871, '72, John W. Blodgett again. 

In 1873, '74 '75, Charles L. Andrew. 

In 1876, James L. Colby. 

In 1877, '78, Charles C. Sawyer. 

In 1879, Jason H. Watkins. 

In 1880, James L. Colby and James D. Prescott 

In 1881, James D. Prescott. 

In 1882, 

In 1883, Edgar R. Perkins. 

In 1884, Hiram B. Raleigh. 

In 1885, '86, '87, Charles L. Andrew. 

In 1888, '89, Ellen A. Andrews, wife of Charles L. Andrews. 

Surplus Reven^ue, 1837. 

In 1836, the national treasury of the United 
States was overflowing. For several years the 
country had enjoyed great prosperity, lousiness of 

266 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

all Idnds had been good, the revenue had largely 
exceeded the expenses, the national debt had been 
extmguished, and yet millions remained in the 
treasury for which the government had no use. 
Under the apprehension that it might be used for 
bad purposes, congress very properly decided to 
deposit it with the states. On the first of January, 
1837, $36,000,000 was thus disposed of, each state 
receiving a sum proportioned to its electoral repre- 
sentation. Some of the states carried the idea fur- 
ther, and distributed the money to their several 
towns and cities. In some cases the towns appear 
to have been as much afraid of it as were the state 
and nation, and did not at first wish to receive it. 
Sutton passed a vote not to receive it, and also 
voted that the state treasurer be notified to that 
effect, but a little later voted to receive it and use 
it to purchase a poor-house and farm, and also 
voted that Enoch Page be the town's agent to 
receive the surplus revenue. 

The Sutton records do not contain anything to 
show the amount that came to Sutton in this distri- 
bution, neither do the records of the state treasurer 
show the amount. Fortunately the fact is supplied 
by the recollection of Benjamin F. Pillsbury, for 
the last ten years a resident of Minnesota, but for 
many years living in Sutton and doing a large 
share of the public work. In answer to a letter of 
inquiry on this sul)ject, he says, — ' The town of Sut- 
ton received about $2,500 of surplus revenue, and 
bought the poor-farm with it. The town has since 
sold that farm and bought the one they now occupy 
with the money received from the sale of the old one." 


The old poor-house and form were sold, and the 
new establishment purchased in 185(5. The com- 
mittee to purchase and sell were John Gr. Huntoon, 
Stephen Hoyt, and Philip Little. The new one 
was bought for $3,000 and the old one was sold for 
$2,344:.73, the deficiency of |655.27 probably being 
made up from what was left over from the surplus 
revenue fund when the first poor-farm was pur- 
chased. That there was something left over is 
shown by the following article in the warrant for 
town-meeting : 

March 11, 1848. To see if the town will vote to distribute the 
fimd in possession of the town, and known as the surplus revenue, 
principal and interest, equally among the resident tax-payers of tliis 
town, on or before the first day of September. 

Voted, To indefinitely postpone. 

As the question does not come up again, the 
probability is that the remainder of the surplus rev- 
enue fund was devoted according to the vote of 
1837, that is, to the purchase of the poor-house 
and farm. 

Votes Concerning Maintaining Town Poor. 

1814. On motion. Voted, the maintaining the town poor be put 
up at vendue, and struck off to the person who wiU do the same for 
the least sum, said poor to be boarded, mu'sed, fed, and lodged, to 
be furnished with all the necessaries of life as well as everything 
else calculated to make them quiet and content both in health and 
in sickness, the doctor's bills to be paid by the town ; said poor to 
be kept till the next annual meeting, — the clothing and bedding to 
be fm-nished by the town. And the person or persons who engage 
to keep any or all of said poor shall immediately procure satisfac- 
tory bondsmen for the faitliful performance of the above i-equisi- 
tions ; and the selectmen shall, at all times, have the charge and 
direction of said poor ; to put to new places at any time when, in 


their opinion, they are illy used, and whenever their comfort and con- 
venience requires it, the persons engaging to keep said poor to be 
entitled to all the reasonable services of said poor, so long as they 
remain with them. Mr. Ebenezer Simons agreed to keep Francis 
Como [sometimes spelled Coomer] and wife for $1.33^ per week 
the ensuing year. 

Voted, To sell the Coomer farm. 

1817. Voted, The interest arising from the sale of the Coomer 
farm and the common lot be always used to defray town charges 
till otherwise ordered by the town. 

In warrant, 1814. To see what method the town will take to 
carry on the Davis farm, that Jacob Davis now lives on. 

Voted, That the selectmen be directed to procure a room and 
comfortable accommodations for Mr. Jacob Davis and his wife, if 
agreeable to their wishes, and that such provision be made for the 
remainder [i. e., the insane] of the family as, in the judgment of 
the selectmen, they require. Probably Mrs. Coomer died in 1817, 
as her name does not occur after that date. 

Feb. 2, 1839. On motion, Voted, that the purchase of a cooking 
stove, for the use of the town poor-house, be referred to the 

Nov. 2, 1880. The question came before the meeting, " Shall 
the poor-farm be sold ? " Voted, To keep it, and in March follow- 
ing Voted, To raise $1000 to repair the buildings on the same, pur- 
chase furniture for the house and the necessary tools to carry on 
the farm. 

March, 1865. " Is it expedient to purchase a farm and build- 
ings for a county poor-house ? " Yeas, 2 ; nays, 85. 

March 12, 1867. " Is it expedient to abolish pauper settlements, 
and throw the entire support of paupers on counties ? " For the 
measure, 8 ; against it, 108. 

April 12, 1878. " Are you in favor of a return to the plan of 
supporting all paupers who have ever had a settlement in any town 
or city in the country by such towns or cities instead of by the pres- 
ent plan ? " 107 unanimous in favor. 

"Are you in favor of rebuilding the county buildings recently 
destroyed by fire and continuing the county farm ? " 99 unanimous 
against rebuilding. 


In town-meeting, March 29, 1791, 

Voted, That the selectmen shall get a conveyance of a piece of 
land for a huiying-ground on the lot of land that Mr. Littlehale 
lived on in said town. 

This vote has reference to the South buryino'- 
ground, in which, however, interments had ah'eady 
been made. 

Also at the same meeting. 

Voted, The said selectmen shall procure a place for a burying- 
yard in the northerly end of said town, near the mouth of Kezar's 
pond, so called. 

Aug. 27, 1798. Voted, That Samuel Bean and Simon Kezar 
shall serve as a committee to considt with Esq'r Matthew Harvey 
concerning a deed of a piece of land for a burying-yard in said 

At the time the last vote was passed, Mr. Har- 
vey was quite feeble, having been for several 
months failing with consumption. 

As Mr. Kezar and Mr. Bean, the gentlemen 
composing the committee, were not the kind of 
persons to assume a trust and fail in the execution 
of it, we may take it for granted that they did 
interview Mr. Harvey on this subject, but what 
understanding was reached between them is not 

The writer remembers to have been told by Mr. 


E. Wadleigh that no deed of conveyance of the 
I^orth bniying-gronnd to the town had ever been 
found. It is probable that the right of the general 
public to use for a burial-ground the present ]!S^orth 
Sutton graveyard was founded on just what the 
sons of Mr. Harvey always believed and declared 
it to be, viz., a verbal understanding that their 
father gave the land for its j)i"esent use, so long as 
it is used for that purpose and for no other. And 
the same was true, as they believed, concerning his 
gift of the land whereon stand the school-house, 
and also the meeting-house and the common 
around it. 

When the committee consulted Mr. Harvey on 
this subject, it is quite likely that the latter, realiz- 
ing that his own death was so near at hand, might 
have had a feeling which made him shrink from the 
thought of selling the very ground which was 
about to take into its quiet care and keeping his 
own mortal body. The purchase-money he did not 
need for himself nor for his children, and his prin- 
cipal object, the permanence of its use as a burying- 
ground, being assured by the many interments 
already made there, he probably at that time had 
not much further interest in the matter. 

The custom of making a private family tomb or 
graveyard on one's own estate, so much in vogue 
at an early period in the older towns of Massachu- 
setts, had been tried long enough to be proved un- 
satisfactory in a country where estates so fre- 
quently change owners. The private burying- 
ground on the estate, however sacredly regarded 
by the family, is felt to be greatly in the way when 


the estate passes into the possession of those not 
of Idndred blood, and may even become an obstacle 
in the way of transfer. What is trne of almost 
everything we undertake to establish in this world 
seems to be especially true of a burying-ground, 
viz., that to ensure its continuance we must give to 
others an equal interest with ourselves in its pres- 

The father of Mr. Harvey was Jonathan Harvey, 
one of the earliest settlers in ]N"ottingham, JST. H. 
He died, not having greatly passed middle life, and, 
being the first person who died in the remote and 
mountainous district in which he settled, was 
buried in a corner of a field. His wife and chil- 
dren long survived him, and it requires no great 
stretch of imagination to show us that the remem- 
brance of the father's lonely grave in the field 
caused the son to feel strongly the propriety and 
importance of setting apart, as he did, at an early 
period, a suitable piece of land for a graveyard, 
and committing it to the public for its continued 
use and preservation. 

Soon after the death of Mr. Harvey, the town 
appears to have assumed the care, if not the owner- 
ship, of the JS^orth burying-ground as well as that 
of the South. The record says, under date of 
March 3, 1801,— 

Voted, To fence the buiying-yards. 

Voted, To choose a committee to see that the burying-yards are 
fenced. Asa Nelson, James Taylor, Jonathan Roby, Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Jonathan Eaton, and Benjamin Fowler were chosen 
committee for this purpose. 

Voted, That the fence shall be a four foot and a half wall, with 
a good gate. 


Voted, That the work shall be done by the tenth day of Septem- 
ber next. 

Voted, That all the Avork that has been done on the South yard, 
wliich is thought to be beneficial by the committee, shall be credited 
to the doers of it. 

In warrant for town-meeting, March 24, 1801. To see if the 
town will vote to exchange a piece of land with Mr. John Harvey, 
in order to luring the graveyard at the North meeting-house into a 
square form. [The John Harvey referred to was father of Dea. 
Joseph Harvey. The estate he owned and occupied adjoined the 

Voted, That the committee chosen to see that the graveyards are 
fenced shall have the liberty to exchange lands with Mr. John Har_ 
vey, if they shall tliink it is absolutely necessary for the benefit of 
the town. 

March 13, 1804. Voted, That the inhabitants of this town who 
have done labor in fencing the South burying-ground shall have 
fifty cents a day for said labor. 

Voted, To allow Jonathan Eaton two dollars for work done on 
the burying-yard fence near the North meeting-house. 

The South Bueyikg-Grouk^d, 

as the town records show, was on hind pnrchased 
from Ezra Littlehale. Many interments took place 
m the gronnd before any pnrchase was made, 
whicli probably occasioned its being made a pnblic 
bnr3nng--g-round at a later period. The records 
show that neither of the burying-gronnds was 
fenced by the town till abont 1801. The first per- 
son known to have been bnried at the South grave- 
yard was the wife of Jonathan Wadleigh, who died 
in 1772. The next persons known to have been 
bnried there are Benjamin Mastin, his wife, and 
daughter Betsey, who all died of dysentery in a 
few months after coming to Perry stown in 1776. 
The cemetery at Sutton Centre was laid out in 


1841, and the first interment made there was that 
of Mrs. Elizabetli (Wadleigh) ]!^elson, wife of Dea. 
Asa ISTelson, Jr. 

Eastern^ or Gore Buryixg-Grotxn'd. 

Residents in the eastern part of the town fonnd 
it was necessary to have a bnrying-place nearer 
than either of those named, and hence what is 
spoken of on the town records as the Gore or 
Eastern burying-ground was opened. According 
to the recollection of Miss Merriam Palmer, an 
aged lady and a life-long resident of that section of 
the town, this was laid out in 1832, and the first 
one bnried there was a son of Jonathan Palmer, 
not named. The next one bnried there was the 
wife of Ira S. Palmer. Her maiden name was 
Abigail Hoyt. She died in Jnly, 1832. The town 
records show that the town assnmed the care ot 
this bnrying-ground by appointing a sexton for the 
same as early as 1835. 

Many years ago, some graves were discernible 
in a piece of land on the right of the old road, 
about a mile below the Xorth Village, supposed to 
be those of some of the Heaths, who died in town 
before any grave-yard was laid out, and it was 
thought that some others might have been there 

Pen^acook Cemetery. 

And now, in closing this account of the Sutton 
cemeteries, we should not do right if we fail to 
mention one which, if priority of existence give 



any claim to priority of notice, should have been 
spoken of first of all. We allude to the Indian 
burying-ground, on the west shore of Kezar's pond, 
by a curious chance about opposite the white 
people's burying-ground near the eastern shore. 
Unmistakable evidences of the fact of that locality's 
having been used for the burial of their dead were 
found there by the early white settlers. When it 
was first laid out for that purpose no record will 
ever be found to show, but it is probable that the 
last interment there was made not many years 
before the white settlers came to Perrystown. 

This region was a favorite one with the red men, 
and was one of the very last to be abandoned by 
them, and traces of their comparatively recent 
occupation of it were plainly discernible when the 
white settlers came. Slowly retiring before the 
whites towards Canada, they eventually became 
merged in the Saint Francis tribe of that region, 
but they were originally of the Penacook tribe. 
Hence we will, for their grave-yard, venture the 
name of the " Penacook Cemetery." 

appre:n^tices and "bou^d out." 

Indentures between Matthew Harvey and Nathaniel King (after- 
wards Rev. Nathaniel King, who became eminent as a clergyman 
of the Freewill Baptist denomination).^ 

This Indenture witnesseth that Nathaniel King son of James 
King of Perrystown in the State of New Hampshire and County of 
Hillsborough Husbandman ; hath put himself, and by these Presents, 
and with the consent of his father doth put and bind himself an 
apprentice to Matthew Harvey, in the State and County and town 
aforesaid, to learn the Art and Mystery of the Husbandry Business ; 
and with the said Matthew Harvey after the manner of an appren- 
tice to serve for and during the term of six years to be completed 
and ended ; during all which time the said Apprentice his said 
master faithfully shall serve, his secrets keep, his lawful commands 
gladly everywhere obey. He shall do no damage to his said master, 
nor suffer it to be done by others, without telling or giving notice 
to his said master. 

He shall not waste his said master's goods, nor lend them unlaw- 
fully to any. He shall not commit fornication, nor contract matri- 
mony during said term. 

At Cards, dice, or any other unlavrful game he shall not i)lay 
whereby his master have damage with his own goods or the goods 
of others. He shall not absent himself by day or night from his 
master's service without his leave ; nor haunt Ale Houses, Taverns, 
nor Play Houses. But in all things behave himself as a faithful 
apprentice ought to do toward his said master during said term. 

And Matthew Harvey, the said master, doth hereby covenant 
and promise to teach, instruct, or cause to be done or instructed in 
the Art and calling of a Husbandman, the said apprentice by the 
best way or means he may or can. 

And if the said apprentice be capable to learn, finding unto him 
sufficient meat, drink, washing, lodging and apparel : and learn him 
1 See sketch of Freewill Baptist Church. 


to read and write and cjq^her ; and keep him in sickness and in 
health dnring said term. 

And, at the expiration of six years, the said master is to give 
unto the said apprentice two good suits of apparel both linen and 
woolen, according to the custom of such apprentices, and suitable 
for liim. And, furthermore, the said master is to give the said 
apprentice at the end of six years. Thirty Pounds, lawful money, 
old way [old tenor], to said apprentice at the end of said term. 

In testimony whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this 
first day of April, 1782. 

Witness : ") Matthew Harvey 

David Eaton >- Nathaniel King. 

Philip Sargent ) 


Sutton, Aug, 10, 1796. 

By an agreement made between Matthew Harvey and Thomas 
Persons, both of Sutton, said Persons is to live with said Harvey 
until he is twenty-one years of age, and be obedient to all his law- 
ful commands, and to be faithful in said Harvey's service, 

And for what past time said Persons hath lived with said Har- 
vey and for what time is here mentioned yet to come, Harvey is to 
give to said Thomas clothing, and to take care of him in sickness 
and in health ; and at the end of said term Harvey is to pay him 
Eighty Dollars in stock estimated as six-foot oxen, one pair to be 
estimated at 12 £. or other stock agreeable thereto. 

Also said Thomas is to be middling well instructed in Aritlmietic 
as far as thi-ough the Rule of Tlu'ee, 

And to have two suits of clothes, one for Meeting, the other for 
common wear about labor. 

The following meinorandum, which is marked 
" Thomas Persons Clothes," was found folded in 
Avitli the indenture, and is here copied as showing 
what constituted " two good suits of clothes " at 
that date. 



One Meeting Coat 

One Surtout 

One Pair Cotton Overhauls 

Two Waistcoats 

Two Jackets, 

Three Pair Stockings 

One Pair Footings 

Three Shirts 

Four Pair Overhauls, (two were old.) 

One Pair old shoes 

One Pair new shoes, for Meeting. 

The apprentice system was much in vogue at 
that day, as a means whereby a boy growing" up to 
manhood might acquire a thorough knowledge of 
some mechanical trade, or of the " art and mystery 
of husbandry." 

The practice had its origin in the needs of the 
times, the first and principal need being that every 
person possessed of a pair of hands of sufficient size 
and strength must work for his living. In this 
young colony of enterprising men and their sons 
there was no place for idlers. But it sometimes 
happened that a man had more sons than he could 
find work for on his own land or at his own busi- 
ness, while with another man these conditions were 
reversed, so that he needed the very boy who was 
one too many in his own father's family. 

The condition of apprenticeship had in it no 
implication whatever of social disadvantage to the 
youth so engaging. He became a member of the 
family of his " said master," and his wants and his 
welfare were therein considered, while his good 
qualities, if he had any, could have opportunity to 


manifest themselves. A mutual regard and affec- 
tion, perhaps of lifelong continuance, was the not 
infrequent result. 

In the indenture of ISTathaniel King, the repeated 
mention of " his said master " grates a little on our 
modern ears, the term master being offensive not 
only to young America but also to old America at 
the present day, and we try to escape the need of 
using it whenever we can, at least in conversation, 
by substituting the ugly word " boss," which we 
have borrowed from the German, the significance 
of which, however, is the same. 

The young man, arriving at twenty-one years of 
age, was not badly prepared to begin life on his 
own account, — some money, a fair education, two 
good suits of clothes, and a knowledge of some 
good trade or business were his if he kept fliithfully 
his part of the contract. 

Thomas Persons served the time specified in the 
agreement with Deacon Harvey, and afterwards 
married, April 30, 1799, Abigail, daughter of Elder 
Samuel Ambrose, and lived where Mr. John Hun- 
toon now lives. They had four sons and five daugh- 
ters, — John H. Pearson of Concord being their son» 
This John H. was born in Sutton, and removed with 
his parents to Corinth, Maine. Coming of age he 
returned to this town, and here spent some years. 
Removed to ^N^orthfield, near Franklin village, and 
went into trade there. Also traded in several other 
places, and was for many years a leading merchant 
in Concord. He married a daughter of Hon. Sam- 
uel Butterfield, of Andover. 

It will be observed that in the agreement between 


Thomas Persons and Deacon Harvey no mention 
is made of either parent of Thomas, although he is 
therein shown to be under twenty-one years of age, 
which makes it evident, or at least probable, that 
neither of them was then living. The Persons 
family were early settlers in Sutton, or, rather, Mrs. 
Persons and daughters, Polly and Betsey, and sons, 
Thomas, John, and Joseph, came. It is loiown 
that Mr. Persons came in 1777, but died soon after 


Mrs. Persons's lot, which she received from her 
husband, was what is now the Korth Village. 
Afterwards Deacon Harvey bought the northerly 
half of the lot. 

The three sons of Mrs. Persons married in Sut- 
ton, and continued to live here for several years, 
but finally went to Corinth, Me., and settled there. 
John married a daughter of Phineas Stevens; 
Joseph married Ednah, daughter of Capt. William 
Pressey; Polly married Francis Whittier, Jr.; 
Betsey married Hunting, of 'New London. 

Polly, daughter of Thomas and Abigail, a very 
lovely girl of fourteen, died of spotted fever when 
it raged here in 1816. She was sick only two 

Young girls were sometimes bound out in fami- 
lies, their period of service being limited to the age 
of eighteen years. In return for their lal)or they 
had their home in the family, instruction in the 
various branches of work customary for women, 
their support and clothing, some school education, 
and, if about being married, a present for a wed- 
ding outfit was not lacking. 


The following memoranda of the clothmg and 
other things ])rovided for two young girls, who at 
different dates had heen thns located m the same 
family as the two young men before named, were 
found ])ound up in the same package with the 
others, and are in the handwrituig of Mrs. Harvey, 
who appears to have managed the female side of 
the house herself. 

The things that were paid by, Matthew Harvey and his wife to 
their sister, Jane Sargent, for her services done for them before she 
was 18 years old. 

July 20, 1794— 

One Chintz Gown 

Four Home made Gowns 

Four Short wrappers, — middling good. 

Two Woolen Aprons and two Linen Aprons. 

One checkered Apron, and one old apron 

One Black cloak 

One mean [inedium] Red Skirt 

One Green Skirt — half worn. 

Two every day coats [skirts] more than half worn. 

One Shawl, and Black Handkerchiefs 

Tlu'ee Home-made Handkerchiefs, — one white one, 

Three Pair Stockings 

Two Pair old Shoes — One Pair New Shoes. 

Three Shifts— One Old White Skirt, One Hat. 

One Coverlid — Two Sheets, Two Pillows and Pillow cases 

One Chest, with a Drawer 

Six Chairs — No bottoms to two of them. 

One year-old Heifer 

Six Sheep — One Pig. 

One White Table. One Bedstead. 

Thirteen Pounds Flax 

Twenty-four Pounds Feathers 

Four Plates, One Frying Pan, One Fire Shovel. 

This Jane Sargent married Jonathan Eaton, and 
became the mother of eleven children. She was a 


very good woman, much respected, and died in 
1864, having reached the great age of 91 years. 


Jenny Cram's Clothes when she left my family, Nov. 1796. 
New Cloak 
Chintz Gown 
Home-made Gown 
Two Waistcoats 

Two Old Woolen Coats [Skirts] 
One outer Skirt 
Three New Wrappers 
Two New Aprons 
Two Old Aprons 
Three New Handkerchiefs 
Three single Handkerchiefs 
• One W^hite Handkerchief 
Two pair Good Shoes 
Fom* pair good Stockings, 
Two Good Shifts 
Two Old Shifts 
One hat 

One pair Gloves 
One pair Buckles. 

In these modern days, when clothing and the 
material from which to make it are so easily obtain- 
able, it seems very strange that a piece of half-worn 
clothing should be thought worth mentioning. But 
we must remember that most of the cloth then in 
use was hand-made, and every yard of it represent- 
ed a great deal of labor, from the raising of the flax 
and the wool to the finished garment. The chintz 
gown was probably the only piece of " boughten " 
goods in the above list, and was as highly valued 
and as carefully kept as a silk dress is at the pres- 
ent day. 


An INFANT'S "Wardrobe. 

People who could obtain a handsome outfit for a 
baby were just as willing to do it long years ago as 
are the people of the present day to do the same, 
but some could not get what they admired, and, of 
course, got what they could. An aged lady, wdio 
twenty years ago was living in Sutton, related the 
following : 

I once went to see a neighbor with her new-born infant. The 
first time it was ever dressed it was clothed in a black woollen pet- 
ticoat and short gown, with an apron of checked blue and white 
linen tied around its waist, with the strings brought forward like a 
woman's apron. I nursed the mother for one week, which was as 
long as any one ever thought of keeping a nurse, and she paid me 
therefor fifty cents' worth of butter. Fifty cents per week was as 
much as any nurse at that time expected to receive for her pay. 

The same informant said, — 

The first calico dress I ever had was when I was fourteen years 
old. It was bought in Newburyport, and paid for in tow cloth, 
which I spun and wove myself. The dress lasted me for years. It 
was kept carefully in a drawer, and only worn to " meeting." 

Joseph Towne kept a store in Hopkinton, and many of the Sutton 
people went there to trade. Afterwards Esq. Bartlett opened a 
store in Warner, and got most of the Sutton trade. 

After the spinning and weaving for the family were all done, the 
next thing was to manufacture a web of thirty or thirty-five yards 
of tow, cotton, or linen cloth, the best of which would sell for forty- 
two cents per yard. Some one, usually the male head of the fam- 
ily, would take the roll of cloth on the horse behind him, with the 
saddle-bags filled with oats for the horse, and luncheon for himself, 
and proceed to the nearest store at Warner, Hopkinton, or Newbury- 
port, and exchange the cloth for tea, coffee, spices, &c., enough 
to supply the moderate wants of a family for a year, fill his saddle- 
bags with those groceries, and return without paying out any money 
for expenses on the road except for lodging for himself and horse, 
the saddle-bags not being capacious enough to furnish that. 


The way in which the girls used to become OAvn- 
ers of their cows was like the following account by 
the same lady: 

When Grandfather Sargent, of Amesbury, came to make his 
annual visits to our mother, he was wont to present myself and sister 
Polly with a quarter of a dollar each. This money was kept for us 
till we had together fifteen shillings. Then father took it and 
bovight a calf with it. The calf he kept till it was itself a cow and 
the mother of a calf. Then he let out both " to double," as it was 
termed, i. e., at the end of four years there was returned to him two 
cows and two calves, and the man that took the first cow and calf 
from him had the same number of cows and calves, — three cows and 
four calves being the descendants of the original calf." 

The two following cases illustrate how young 
men could establish themselves for life : 

Ebenezer Eaton came from Haverhill to serve 
his minority with Deacon Joseph Greeley, soon 
after the latter moved into Sutton. The boy was 
then fourteen years of age, and he served seven 
years. In the time he received his food, clothes, 
and a knowledge of the trade of blacksmith. After 
his term of apprenticeship expired. Deacon Greeley 
hired him two or three years for a hundred dollars 
a year. This money he saved almost entirely, and 
bought some land where it was cheap in the town 
of Lebanon, went there and built his house, princi- 
pally with his own hands. For such parts as he 
could not do himself he paid the carpenter by work- 
ing at blacksmithing for him. Being a blacksmith, 
he could make his own nails, latches, &c. During 
the time of his residence with Deacon Greeley he 
made the acquaintance of Miss Susan Colburn, 
daughter of Leonard Colburn, who worked at spin- 


niiig in the same family. AYhen his house was 
ready for occupancy they were married and removed 
to Lebanon. She made him a most excellent Avife, 
and he became, for that time and place, quite 
wealthy — worth four or five thousand dollars. 

Asa Stevens, a son of Phineas Stevens, went to 
work for Deacon Greeley, perhaps about 1800, for 
fifty dollars a year and his board. For the first 
year's work he received for his j^ay a yoke of oxen, 
then valued at fifty dollars. He continued to work 
about five years, saving all his money. At the end 
of that time he bought his wild land, costing prob- 
ably about $250, and was then an independent 
and well-to-do farmer. He married Miss Lydia 
Heath, and lived in the south part of the town, near 
Ms father. 


Tradition and circmnstances indicate that Ezra 
Jones bnilt the first grist-mill wliere recommended 
by the committee of 1761. Previous to the exist- 
ence of Jones's mill, Sutton settlers went to Davis- 
yille, Warner, to get their Avork done. Jones's 
mill was partly made l^y vohmtary aid of settlers. 

Quimby's mill, at Mill Village, Avas made soon 
after by Moses Quimby. 

In 1784:, soon after the incorporation of the town, 
several roads Avere made to and from these mills, 
and Ave find no record of roads made in toAvn till 
about this time. The grantees made roads from 
settler to settler, or rather spotted lines, i. e., 
they marked trees to indicate the course through 
Avoods, Avhich anSAvered the purpose of guide- 
boards, not only for men but for oxen also. Mr. 
Jacob Mastin remembered to have heard the aged 
people say that the oxen soon became A^ery expert 
in reading the directions and way-marks thus 
pointed out. When a man Avas going through a 
piece of cleared land he AA'^ould driA^e his oxen 
yoked together, and when he came to Avoods again, 
he Avould unyoke them, and, carrying the yoke 
himself, let them go singly through the forest. In 
making this transit, they used much sagacity, care- 
fully turning their eyes from side to side in search 
of the spots made by the axe of former pioneers. 


Al)out this time there were, perhaps, eighty or 
ninety tax-payers in town. 

Jones's mill was sncceeded by mills farther up — 
near the meadow. 

AYe find, in 1799, Daniel Andrew (Mr. Quimby 
having died) , Ezra Jones, Ezra Jones, Jr., Ichabod 
Roby, and Jacob Quimby, were taxed for mills. 

Also, in 1801, James Harvey (clothier works), 
Samuel Bean, Jacob Davis (near W. Little's shop) , 
and Jonathan Eaton, had saw-mills. 

In 1803, Benjamin Fowler, Benjamin Wells, Jon- 
athan Harvey, Joseph Pearson, widow Quimby, 
and Stephen Woodward had mills. 

Daniel Andrew became owner of Quimby's mills, 
he being son-in-law of Quimby. 

Ichabod Roby had a saw-mill on Stevens brook. 

Jonathan Eaton's mill Avas where Kezar's mill is, 
and was subsequently owned by Jonathan Harvey, 
Stephen Woodward, Benjamin Wells, ^Nathan 
Leach, Jacob Bean, and others. 

James Harvey was a clothier. His works Avere 
beloAv the upper dam above the Couch saw-mill. 

Deacon Fowler's saw-mill was on Fowler's brook, 
a little above the bridge between S. S. Fetch's and 
Thomas Roby's. 

Clothing-mills and carding-machines came into 
use rather early in this century. 

Carding, spinning, and weaving were formerly 
done by hand. In the clothing-mills the cloth was 
taken from the hand-loom, fulled, colored, and 
pressed, ready for the tailor. The first factory 
in the state was built in 1803, at 'New Ipswich. 

About 1820 a cotton factory, run by Mr. Hale of 

MILLS. 287 

Haverhill, was in operation a short time in the 
extreme south part of Sutton. 

The clothing-mills of James Harvey and Philip 
iNTelson, Jr., were made previous to 1810. 

Henry Carleton, John Harvey, and Joseph 
Greeley owned the upper mills at Mill Village. 

Joseph Peters carried on the clothes works and 
grist-mill nearly fifteen years, till the clothing-mill 
was abandoned. 

Ephraim Bean and John Andrew built clothing 
works about 1820, a little below Putney's saw-mill, 
at the foot of the falls, on the east side of the 

Capt. Enoch Page owned Jones's .mills in 1812. 

The carding-machine just above the N^. A. Davis 
grist-mill was taken away about 1810, by which 
date most cloth was made in factories. 

Linen cloth from flax was much made and used 
in the early part of this century. 

About 1826 Joseph Pike bought the Andrew 
mills and the farm therewith connected. 

'Near the same time ^. A. Davis purchased the 
N^elson clothing-mills, and soon after introduced 
the circular clapboard-mill and shingle-mill. 

The Ichabod Roby saw-mill was torn down, or 
left unoccupied, about 1830. 

The Fowler mill was burned down soon after this 
time, and another built by the Hazens on premises 
now owned by Thomas Roby. This has now gone 
to decay. 

Col. Philip S. Harvey had a saw-mill on what 
has since been the Capt. Emery Bailey farm. 

The Ordway saw-mill was on Stevens brook, 


near the old Reddington place. It has now gone 
to decay. 

The George C. Eaton mill, made much later, was 
below the Ordway mill. It burned down. 

The Adams mill, below South Sutton, and now 
owned by Elliott & McAllister, was built near 1823, 
and was owned by Joseph and Henry Adams. 

A saAv-mill at the outlet of Long pond, partly in 
Bradford, was owned by Hezekiah Blaisdell and 
his son John. It has been removed. At the time 
of the great freshet of 1826, a saw-mill stood a few 
rods south-east of Moses Moody's house, and Avas 
washed away, and also a house near by. 

A grist-mill was erected at Mill Tillage by I*^. A. 
Davis about 1841, and since owned and used by W. 
H. Marshall & Son for carriage manufficturing and 
other mechanical purposes. 

Quimby's mill was abandoned, and another made 
where Couch's saw-mill stands. 

In 1829 this mill was torn down, and another one 
made. This grist-mill Avas torn down and a saw- 
mill erected by Capt. Nicholas RoAvell. 

The present saw-mill (D. Couch) was made by 
Story and Rowell about 1855. 

Capt. ]N"icholas EoAvell erected a grist-mill after 
the abandonment of the upper mill, beloAv JSTelson's 
excelsior shop (and also a rake shop) , where Dur- 
gin's has since been. Subsequently the mill was 
converted into a saw-mill, and OAvned by Stephen 
WoodAvard, T. J. ChadAvick, O. G. Story, and 
others, — and afterAvards Avas used as a bobbin shop 
by Carroll & Putney and Parker & ^N'ichols, and 
Avas burned doAvn Avhile the latter firm owned it. 

MILLS. 289 

The lower excelsior shop of Joseph P. kelson was 
erected by Oren kelson. The shop previously erect- 
ed by Oren JSTelson as a bobbin shop was burned. 

The upper excelsior shop of Joseph P. Xelson 
was made by Stephen "WoodAvard, but Mr. ]N"elson 
made several additions to it. 

William Little's clothes-pin shop was made by 
him and his brothei*, H. K. Little. The site of the 
old Andrew saw-mill, sold to Pike, then to T. San- 
born, then to D. Couch and others, is now (1887) 
owned and occupied by Fred Putney, and has a cir- 
cular saw, planing machine, shingle machine, and 
other machinery. 

The present grist-mill was erected by George 
Chadwick, and owned by his brother, Harvey W. 

The old Jonathan Eaton mill above Kezar's pond 
has several times been rebuilt, and has passed 
through the hands of many owners. For the past 
few years it has been owned by J. H. Kezar, who, 
with his sons, manufactures a great amount of lum- 
ber into boxes of various kinds for pacldng goods. 
He has planing-machines and all other machines 
suitable for his purposes and business. 

In 1814 Rev. William Dodge owned the lower 
mills below the South Tillage. Joseph and Moses 
Pillsbury once owned them. Dudley Morrill and 
B. F. Adams built mills and clothier's works, includ- 
ing carding-machine, and subsequently sold them 
to 'N. A. Davis, who sold them to Rodney J. Bing- 
ham. These mills have been removed or destroyed. 

D. R. Abbott's shop. Mill Village, was built by 
William Hart and W. H. Marshall about 1841, 



subsequently owned by Asa Gee and used as a 
blacksmith-shop, then sold to Eri Colby, who sold 
it to Moses Woodward who used it as a carriage- 
shop, who sold it to D. K. Abbott. It has since 
been removed. 

A shingle-mill Avas built below South Sutton on 
the AVarner road, and owned b}^ Captain John 
Pillsbury, and afterwards b}^ others. It is now 
removed or gone to decay. 

A shingle-mill was made below ]N^orth Sutton, at 
the junction of the Wilmot and Warner roads, 
owned by Hezekiah Davis and Elisha Davis, and 
by others. It is now gone to decay. 

Formerly there was a shingle-mill near the 
Palmers, not far from Warner line. A shingle- 
mill owned by James Buzzell was located on the 
stream in the woods below South Sutton. 

The early saw-mills were of rude construction. 
The foot- and head-blocks were stationary. They 
had overshot water-wheels, and the water was 
poured on to them from a trough. Ezekiel Davis 
carried the crank of one of them, weighing one hun- 
dred and fifty pounds, over Kearsarge, from where 
is now Franklin, to Sutton. 

The corn-mills had no bolt, and but one run of 
stones. They were built on planks over the rocks 
below. The hopper Avas in the upper story, and 
the meal ran into a box below. 


There Avere several tanneries in toAvn, — one 
owned by Hemy Dearborn where JST. Clay lives, 
one OAvned by Enoch Page at South Sutton, one 

MILLS. 291 

near the present residence of John Hnntoon, very 
early; about 1830 one at ISTorth Sutton, owned by 
Dea. Benjamm Farrar and Moses Putney (near 
Mrs. B. P. Sargent's). A little later there was 
one at Mill Village, owned by John Pressey and 
Benjamin Peaslee. 


There were in 1823 two potash manufactories, 
one at ]!!«rorth and one at South Sutton. Previously 
there was one at Mill Yillage owned by J. and P. 
ISTelson, and one at foot of Iviml)all hill owned by 
Captain James Taylor. 

The making of " salts " was an early and neces- 
sary business of the first settlers. This was often 
done in the primeval forests, where the ashes were 
made by burning the trees cut down to clear the 
land for cultivation. With the rudest implements 
and utensils the lye was extracted and boiled down 
to salts in large potash kettles, and afterwards the 
salts were melted and refined for market. 

In 1823 there were in town three grist-mills, 
eight saw-mills, two being on Stevens brook and 
one on Fowler's, three clothing-mills, one carding- 
machine, three bark-mills (propelled by horse- 
power), and three tanneries. 

In 1880 Sutton had one grist-mill, four saw-mills, 
two carriage-shops connected with water-power, 
two excelsior-shops, one clothespin-shop. All these 
mills are on the stream running into and out of 
Kezar's pond. Two of the saw-mills have planing- 
mills, and all have shingle-mills, and circular saws 
for making laths and for other purposes. 


By a law of the province of ]^ew Hampshire, 
passed in 1719 and continued in force till long after 
the Revolution, all persons having dwelt in a town 
for three months without being legally warned to 
depart became inhabitants, and, in case of inability 
to support themselves, from sickness or other cause, 
must, on their application, be relieved by the town. 
By the same law the town could protect itself from 
the risk of liability to support new comers by warn- 
ing them to leave town within three months after 
their first coming, providing against the increase 
of paupers by this harsh process. 

By an act passed in 1771 the time for this warn- 
ing to leave was extended to one year. The war- 
rant for this " warning out," as it was called, was 
issued by the selectmen to a constable, commanding" 
the new comer to dej)art from the town within a 
time fixed in the warrant ; and in case of his neglect 
to leave, the law authorized the issuing of a second 
warrant for his removal to his former residence, 
passing him from constable to constable if need 
should be, as each ofiicer reached the limit of his 
own town or district. If the person so removed 
afterwards returned, he could be dealt with as a 
"vagabond," and sent to the house of correction. 

It is very evident that the persons so " warned " 
did not ordinarily obey this summons to leave, nor 


does it appear that they were expected to do so. 
In some cases their continued residence in town 
proved fortunate for the town, they becoming some 
of its best and most useful citizens. 

It is but just to say here that the province laws, 
which sanctioned this barbarous custom of " Avarn- 
ing out " prospective paupers, also provided for the 
election by towns of overseers of the poor to pro- 
vide for their wants. 

As the years passed on the law regarding warn- 
ing out became practically a dead letter before its 
erasure from the statute-book, as have several other 
laws, which, though founded in what was consid- 
ered a wise prudence, have proved cruel in their 

It does not appear to have been enforced to any 
great extent in Sutton. Capt. Amos Pressey, how- 
ever, informed the writer many years ago that he 
was once called upon as constable by the selectmen 
to serve their Avarning upon a certain I. D., thus 
notifying him that his room Avas considered better 
than his company. In his OAvn quaint, inimitable 
manner, Capt. Pressey related the details of his 
performance of this duty: 

*' The man subsisted," he said, " by begging, petty thieving, and, 
when these methods failed, by a little desultory work. I found 
him, for a wonder, at work in a stony field, barefooted and hatless, 
hoeing a little unpromising-looking corn. As I approached him, 
and my eye and my mind took him and his conditions all in. — he 
so mean in appearance, so despicable, so utterly incapable of doing 
any gi'eat harm, — a very poor subject he seemed to be whereon to 
exert and assert the majesty of the law. In fact, I felt much 
impressed with the profound littleness of the law, and the extreme 
meanness of the whole proceeding in relation to it. Fm'thermore, 

294 HISTORY OP sutto:n^. 

I concluded that in case other towns should do the same as we were 
doing, the man would find no resting-place for his bare feet, and he 
might as well be warned ofB the face of the earth at once, and done 
with It. Filled with this idea, I drew near him, and half jestingly 
and half in earnest made known to him the nature of my errand by 
saying in a somewhat solemn, portentous tone, — 

" ' Mr. D., I have come to warn you off the face of the earth ! ' 
" Not perceiving the joke, and probably having private reasons 
for dreading the presence of an officer of the law, never dreaming 
that I had in any way exceeded my authority in my style of 
addressing him, the man looked up in consternation, speechless for 
a few minutes, and then found the use of his tongue enough to 
utter the petition, stammering and trembling, ' Won't you let me get 
my hat before I go ? ' 

" ' O yes,' I answered, ' no need of any especial hurry,' and I 
tried to remove his fears. He, however, made tracks for the house, 
and I never saw him again. He disappeared from the town, and 
his mother and sister, with whom he lived, soon followed. Whether 
they wei'e ever permitted to find a resting-place on earth before they 
found one beneath it, I never knew. At any rate, Sutton people 
heard no more of the D's." 

All localities and communities, however elevated 
may be their social and moral standard, have some- 
times in their midst exceptional persons, who seem 
connected with nobody, to come from nobody 
knows where, or for what cause or purpose, and to 
belong nowhere, who, by reason of thriftless habits 
and moral delinquency, become as the scum on the 
social waves, mere drift-wood on the tide of life. 
If Sutton has, now and then, found within her bor- 
ders one of these nondescripts, it is not surprising, 
but one thing is sure, that very few persons have 
ever lived here who deserved to be " warned out 
of town." 


During the first quarter of the present century 
very little money was in circulation, and the credit 
system of doing business was nniversal. Conse- 
quently, lawyers found enough to do. Almost 
ever^^thing, of any value whatever, could be attached 
for debt. 

The property exempt from attachment was as 
follows: Wearing apparel, one bed, bedstead, and 
bedding. Bibles and school-books, one cow, one 
swine. If the debtor was a mechanic, twenty dol- 
lars in tools instead of the cow was exempted. In 
1811 a further exemption of six sheep and their 
fleeces was made. 

The following is a copy of a Writ of Attachment 
for Debt: 

State of New Hampshire. Merrimac ss. 

To the sheriff of any county in this state, or his Deputy. 

We command you to attach the goods or estate of P. N. jr., of 
Sutton in said county, to the value of Thirty Dollars, and for want 
thereof to take the body of the said P. (if he may be found within 
your precinct) and him safely keep so that you have him before our 
justices of our Court of Common Pleas to be holden at Concord 
witliin and for said County of Merrimack on the 2nd Tuesday of 
April next then and there in our said Court to answer unto J. T. of 
Charlestown in our County of Cheshire, joined in a plea of the case 
that the said P. at Hopkinton to wit at Concord on the tenth day 
of February Anno Domini, 1823, by his Promissory note in writing 
of that date by him subscribed for value received promised one 


Andrew Leach to pay him or his order the sum of fourteen dollars 
and eighty tlu-ee cents with interest for the same sum till paid and 
the said Andrew Leach then and there afterwards to mt on the 
same day at Concord by his endorsement of the same note in writ- 
ing with his own proper hand subscribed for value received ordered 
the contents thereof then due and unpaid, to be paid to the Plain- 
tiff, of all which the said P. had notice and thereby became liable, 
and in consideration thereof then and there promised the Pl'ft' to 
pay him the contents of the same note according to the tenor 
thereof and the endorsement thereon, Yet the same P. though 
requested, has never paid the same, but neglects and refuses so to 
do. To the damage of the said Pl'ff as he says in the sum of 
Thirty Dollars, which shall then and there be made to appear, with 
other due damages. And have you there this Writ with your 
doings thereon. 

Witness, Arthur Livermore, Esq. at Concord the 15th day of 

October Anno Domini 1826. 

M. Eastman, Clerk. 

The Sheriff's " Doings Thereon." 

Merrimack s. s. Feb. 29, 1827. 

By virtue of this Writ I have attached 1 Pitcher. 4 Vials, ^ 
pound Coffee, 1 skimmer, 1 Junk Bottle, 2 Inkstands, 1 Coffee 
Pot, 1 Pair shears, 2 Sugar Bowls, 1 Flask, 1 Bowl, 1 Tea Pot, 6 
Plates, 1^ sett Teas, 10 Edged Plates, 1 Tunnel, 1 Gimlet, 6 
Spoons, 2 Tin Pepper Boxes, 1 Tin Trumjjet, 1 Silver Teaspoon, 12 
Knives, 4 Forks, 1 Table, 1 Spike Gimlet, 4 Towels, 2 Scale 
Beams, 1 Sett Scales and Weights, 1 Axe, 1 Auger, 1 Pitchfork, 
1 Shovel, 1 Bag Dried Apples, 1 Scythe, 1 Iron Pot, 1 Sheet, 2 
Woolen Wheels, 1 Wheel Head, 1 Linen Wheel, 1 Clock Reel, 1 
Churn, 1 Under Bed, 1 Table, 4 Chairs, 2 Baskets, 1 Sap Bucket, 
1 Gouge, 3 Toast Irons, 1 Bread Tray, 1 Bedstead & Cord, 1 
Gi'idiron, 1 Pillow Case of Salt, 1 Sieve, 1 Kettle, 1 Spider, 1 Steel 
Trap, 1 Gal. Bottle, 3 Buckets and Paint, 2 Boxes and Bread Dish, 
1 small Cask and Whiting, 1 Jug, 1 Pot, 1 Tub Flour, 1 Pork 
Barrell and Pork, 1 Stone Jar, 1 Tub, 1 Keg, 1 Toast Dish, 1 Meal 
Chest, 1 Chest Drawers, 1 Tea Kettle, 1 Flour Barrell, 1 Feather 
Bed, Bedstead, Bedding and Cord, — Property of the within named 
P. N. and the same day left him a summons at his last and usual 


place of abode in Sutton with my name endorsed on the back of it, 
as the law directs. Fees, — Service, 23 

Travel, 78 
Expense of Moving and securing Property, 1.50. Total 2.51. 

John Harvey, Dep. Sheriff. 

Suing Time. 

If a man was to be " sued," in order to make the 
transaction lawful, it must be performed a certain 
time before the session of the court. 

This period, " suing time " as it was called, was 
much dreaded by delinquent debtors. As it drew 
near many and perplexing became the worries of 
those who loiew themselves liable to be overtaken 
by the legal justice of those days. In serving the 
foregoing writ it appears that the strong arm of the 
law, being stretched out, was able to grasp enough 
pepper boxes, inkstands, and other small wares 
to satisfy all the demand. But not always was it 
thus fortunate. Occasionally the housewife, getting 
some Iviiowledge or suspicion of the sheriff's 
approach, would manage to save her kettles and 
pans and some other household gods by burying 
them in a convenient snowdrift, or hiding them in 
the hay, or even in the earth of the cellar bottom. 
Viewed in the light of our modern ideas her dis- 
honesty seems quite pardonable, and we can scarce- 
ly find words to rebuke it ; nor should we have done 
so, perhaps, even in those ancient days, unless it had 
happened that the debt was due to ourselves, and we 
became losers to the extent of what that snow-drift 

The word distress, used as a term in law to sig- 
nify the property taken by distraining or suing. 


suggestive of pain though it be, is at the same time 
a little ludicrous. 

If there was not to be found on the premises of 
the debtor enough property to satisfy the demand, 
that is, if the sheriff, when he came, did not find 
" sufficient distress," he must make it by committing 
the body of the delinquent debtor to jail. However, 
in comparison Avith the number of debtors, cases 
of imprisonment for debt were not frequent. When 
we learn that at one period, as the law then stood, 
the creditor could cause the arrest and imprison- 
ment of the debtor for a debt exceeding $13.33, it 
seems to us that there must have been a constant 
call for increased jail accommodations. The action 
of the creditor in this resjject was, however, greatly 
modified by the circumstance that he must himself 
become responsible for the prisoner's board while 
he kept him in jail. The jailer refused to take 
debtors unless the creditor gave bonds for the sup- 
port of the debtor. The debtor, upon taking the 
" Poor Debtor's Oath," was to be discharged unless 
the creditor or some one pay the jailer five shillings 
per week for the support of such debtor. Sul^se- 
quently, debtors were allowed the lil)erty of the 
jail-yard, as it was termed, upon taking the 
" Poor Debtor's Oath." By the jail-yard was 
understood a certain distance from the jail, within 
the limits of which the debtor was a free man to 
live with his family and work for the support of 
the same. The Merrimack countyjail was located 
in Hoplrinton. In 1825 the limit of the jail-yard 
was Putney's hill, about two miles from the jail. 
Later, the jail-yard embraced the whole county. 


The present ^vi-iter is in possession of the first 
draft of Governor Mattliew Harvey's message to 
the legislatnre. A few extracts from these sheets 
will show that at that date, 1830, the public mind 
Avas, and had been for some time, considerably 
stirred on this subject, as well as showing plainly 
his own view of it. 

There is another subject to which I would invite the attention of 
the legislature, and that is Imprisonment for Debt. Our law in 
reference to delinquent debtors still retains that odious feature 
which identifies it with measures that originated in times less 
enlightened than the present, but, by reason of amendments and 
various modifications, the object originally intended is now rarely 
accomplished. The entire control over the personal liberty of the 
debtor was formerly given to the creditor, to compel payment either 
by the terrors of a jail before commitment or the misery of con- 
finement afterwards. 

This power in the hands of an unfeeling creditor was often exer- 
cised with severity, and fell indiscriminately upon the honest and 
the dishonest ; and, whether the debtor had been deprived of the 
means of pajTiient by the exercise of bad judginent or by inevitable 
misfortune, or had fraudulently placed his efPects beyond the reach 
of his creditors, when once committed to prison was confined for 
life without the possibility of a discharge, except by the mercy of 
the creditor, by payment of the debt, however embarrassing this 
might have been to friends who moved by sympathy would some- 
times do it, or however oppressive to an already miserable and 
destitute family. This severe operation of the law was not long 
tolerated by public opinion when more liberal views began to be 
entertained on the subject. It then commenced a remedy by pro- 
ducing various enactments for the relief of persons imprisoned for 

This ameliorating policy has been continued so far that although 
the power of imprisonment still exists, very few of those results 
which formerly furnished arguments in support of the principle now 
remain. It is now rarely found that the debtor committed to 
prison ever calculates on being discharged by payment of the 


Since the last provision of the law on this subject, which extended 
the limits of the jail yards to the extreme boundaries of the towns in 
which prisons are located, so far as my observation has extended, 
about seven eighths of all persons committed to prison for debt on 
execution have been discharged on application to the commissioners 
of Jail Delivery. 

Imprisonment within the chartered limits of a town has so little 
real resti-aint about it, and the facilities for obtaining a Poor 
Debtor's Oath are so great, that persons indebted and possessing 
effects of small value are induced to divest themselves of their 
property so far that the amount remaining in possession shall not 
prevent the discharge provided by law rather than to increase it by 
honest industry with a view to the payment of debts. 

The inevitable consequence is a diminution of the quantity of 
labor, industry, and economy always essential to the welfare of 
society, an accmnulation of unnecessary cost, and an increase of 
poor and idle persons who are ultimately supported at public 
expense. That there should be some change in the law on this 
subject there seems to be very little doubt. If the power of 
imjjrisonment is indispensably necessary for the pm'poses of trade 
and commerce, sound policy would seem to require that all modern 
provisions for the relief of poor debtors should be repealed, and the 
law placed on the same standing it held ten or twelve years since, 
in order that the restraint of imjjrisonment might be realized and 
felt, and produce its originally intended effect. 

But if the right to imprison for debt is not necessary, and I am 
decidedly of tliis opinion, the same policy would seem to require 
that the remnant of the law as it now exists on tliis subject should 
be repealed, so far as it regards all contracts hereafter to be 

Should this course be adopted it would be in perfect accordance 
with those enlightened and liberal views which have been so far 
manifested in the proceedings of the legislature. 

Provisions favorable to the poor, as well as to the imprisoned 
debtor, have followed in uninterrupted succession, while none are 
found of an opposite character. This circumstance furnishes strong 
evidence that the progress of public opinion has been favorable to 
the repeal of the law authorizing imprisonment for debt. 

But (altliough I entertain no doubt on the subject) the question 
is referred to the legislature whether the time for such a repeal 


has arrived, or whether any alteration should be made in the pres- 
ent law at this time, and the decision, when formed, resulting from 
the collected wisdom of the state, will imdoubtedly be founded in 
good reason and sound policy." 

Long before the date at which this g'overnor's 
message was written, — forty years, at least, — lived 
those who, taught perhaps by their sympathies, per- 
ceived that the law authorizing imprisonment for 
debt was severe and unwise, as the following letter 
will show: 

Warner, March 24, 1794. 

To Deacon Harvey at Sutton. 

Dear Brother Harvey, 

After my regards to you and family would inform you that at 
the request of brother C. F. I have been to his principal creditors 
about here and at Hopkinton, and have obtained a letter of license for 
him to go abroad and carry on his business and try to pay his just 
debts, for the space of two years, which letter you will receive with 
this letter, wishing you to use your influence to obtain the same 
liberty of those in your part, or about you, as in so doing there 
appears more likelihood of advantage to his creditors as well as to 
himself to have him about his business that he may be doing 
something towards discharging his debts rather than for him to go 
away or be confined. Therefore I wish you to endeavor to obtain 
the like liberty of those amongst you. 

And I subscribe myself your unworthy brother in Gospel bonds 

Nathaniel Bean. 

The above mentioned creditors are only Reuben Gile and Jolin 

This was the John Harvey who framed the 
!N^orth meeting-house. 

I^Jathaniel Bean, or Esq. Bean as he was com- 
monly called, was a native of Amesbury, became in 
or about 1775 a resident of Warner, and a person 
of much influence and importance as a business man 


and citizen. He represented the classed towns in 
1782. He was also a religions man, and was con- 
sidered to have a " gift" for preaching. Other let- 
ters which passed between him and Dea. Harvey 
show that he sometimes preached to the church and 
people of Sutton. 

On one occasion a sheriff was taMng a Sutton 
man to jail at Hopldnton for del^t, arriving late at 
night and calling the jailer up from his bed. " Wlio 
have you there?" demanded he from the window. 
" I have so-and-so," replied the officer. " Then 
you may take him away again," said Mr. Leach. 
"He has been here before, and I have never received 
any pay for his board, and he shall not come into 
this jail again!" The sheriff and his prisoner, who, 
by the way, was an old friend and neighbor, 
departed together, well pleased at the result; and 
the old man who had not credit enough to keep out 
of jail nor yet to get into it, was soon restored to 
the bosom of his rejoicing family. 


Previous to 1784 no roads had been laid out 
except from house to house. This Lack of pubUc 
roads was a great inconvenience, and, in fact, 
formed a considerable impediment to speedy settle- 
ment and progress. The first public road built in 
town of which we have any authentic record was laid 
out in 1784, from Fishersfield line (uoav Xewbury) 
on by the Burpee place over Dodge hill to South 
Sutton village, thence to the foot of Kimball hill, 
and over the same to Warner line, passing diago- 
nally through the whole width of the town. This 
road became the main travelled road from Warner 
to Fishersfield and the towns above. About the 
same time (1786) another main road, passing 
through Croydon, Springfield, and 'New London, 
was extended through this town, from the New 
London Hue on by Dea. Matthew Harvey's to 
Kezar's pond, thence on by Daniel Messer's (the 
Moses Hazen place) to the foot of Gile hill; thence 
to the foot of Kimball hill, to intersect with the 
road from ISTewbury to Warner. This road was the 
great outlet of the town. 

The newly opened pul^lic roads having made 
taverns a necessity, Caleb Kimball built and opened 
a public house on the road from ISTewbury to War- 
ner, and Matthew Harvey did the same on the road 
from New London. 


In 1784, also, a road was laid out from the Dea. 
ISTichols place to the east end of Kezar lake, IN'orth 
Sutton, thence on the south side of the lake over 
Wadleigh hill to Quimby-s mills at Mill Yillage, 
thence to the road from Fishersfield to Warner. 

Also a road from the John Pressey residence to 
the William Bean farm on King's hill. 

Also one ii-om Samuel Bean's house (near Milton 
B. Wadleigh's) across Benjamin Wadleigh's land 
to the top of Jeremiah Davis hill, so called, east of 
the brick-yard, into a road leading from 'New Lon- 
don to Jones's mills. 

In 1785 a road was laid out from Mill Village 
through Capt. Pressey's farm to Fishersfield (or 
]Srewbui*y) line; also from the Philip N^elson farm 
to Mill Village; and one from Phineas Stevens's 
(Moses Cheney place) to South Sutton; also one 
from Joseph Johnson's on by Silas Russell's house 
to Benjamin Phill)rick's over Dodge hill to Mill 
Village near King's bridge. 

In 1788 a road was laid out from where T. B. 
Lewis lived to Mill Village. 

In 1789 a road was laid out from T. B. Lewis's 
to the Fisher or 'Squire Hill farm. 

This road was laid out in 1793, from Samuel to 
Abraham Peaslee's. 

In town-meeting, 180G, voted to discontinue the 
road from Samuel Peaslee's (E. Lear) to Abraham 
Peaslee's (near S. Powell's). Voted to lay out a 
road from Jonathan Roby's house (on Birch hill) to 
Ichabod Roby's house (gates to be kept up till 

Voted to discontinue the road from Joseph 


Bean's barn on Fishersfield line (at the bend of the 
road near F. Blodgett's) to Philip Sargent's (now 
T. B. Lewis's). 

In town-meeting', 1808, voted the road from 
Joseph Johnson's to Warner, by ]Srathaniel Che- 
ney's, be opened. Also, same meeting, voted John 
Harvey (father of Dea. Joseph Harvey) to take 
care of ^orth meeting-house, and Enoch Page the 

Early Perambulations. 

Oct. 30, 1800. Lines perambulated by the selectmen of Sutton 
and New London, acting jointly, and bounds found standing to the 
satisfaction of both parties. 

The same record and of same date between Sut- 
ton and Kearsarge Gore. The selectmen who per- 
ambulated the lines were Green French and Moses 
Hills for Sutton, Benjamin "Woodbury and Joseph 
Brown for ]!^ew London, and Benjamin Cast and 
Thomas Cross for Kearsarge Gore. 

1814. Lines perambulated and bounds renewed between Sut- 
ton and the following towns, viz., Wilmot, Fishersfield, and Keai'- 
sarge Gore. Report signed by the selectmen of each town as fol- 
lows : 

Samuel Kimball and Obadiah Clough for Wilmot. 

Jonathan Perkins for Fishersfield. 

Abner Flanders and Tappan Evans for Warner. 

Isaac Palmer for Kearsarge Gore. 

1805. Green French, Anthony Sargent, Levi Harvey, for New 

1820. Nathan Heri'ick, for New London. 

June 28, 1798. A beech stump named as the 
witness tree. (See charter of Perrysto^vn.) 



Whereas we, the subscribers, being appointed by the towns of 
Fishersfield and Sutton, by a vote in their annual town meetings, to 
inspect and establish a Bound at the northeast corner of Fishers- 
field and Northwest corner of Sutton, which bound was cut down. — 
pursuant to said vote we have this day met on the ground, and 
agreed to establish a Beech Stump as a Bound, around which is a 
heap of stones, which appears to be the original Bound. 

,^ TT-n ) Selectmen John Burns ) Selectmen 

Moses HiUs f j^^. j^^^pj^ Webster [ for 

Thomas Wadleigh. ) Sutton. Paul Towle ) Fishersfield. 

Railroad Communication with Boston. 

The first railroad from Boston to Lowell was 
opened in 1833, its principal object being at the 
time understood to be for the purpose of transport- 
ing the goods of the cotton manufacturing com- 
panies. An extension of this road was made to 
Concord in 1843, ten years later. 

Sept. 21, 1849, the Concord & Claremont Rail- 
road Avas formally opened to Warner; and soon 
after, the road was completed to Bradford, which 
remained the terminus for several years, it being 
considered by many a thing impossible to carry the 
road through the immense I^ewbury ledges. This 
was however finally accomplished by the aid of 
steam drills, and in 1871 the road was opened to the 
Connecticut river at Claremont. The first regular 
train from Bradford to Claremont was run on Sept. 
16, 1872. This road touches Sutton at Roby's 
Corner, Avhere there is a station used mostly for 
freight purposes, passengers not sure of couA^ey- 
ance fi-om that station going on to Bradford station, 
whence a regular stage route to Sutton accommo- 
dates them. 


People living in or going from the north-easterly 
part of Sutton usually avail themselves of the rail- 
road accommodations offered by their nearer vicin- 
ity to the Potter Place station in Andover, on the 
^N^orthern Railroad. This road was opened to Ando- 
ver in the winter of 1846-'7. 

THE :n^okth tillage. 

The first dwelling-house in Avhat is now the 
^orth Village, was owned and occupied by John 
Harvey, father of Dea. Joseph Harvey, who lived 
many years on the place, and sold it to the present 
owner, Joseph Greeley, being situated close to the 
I^orth meeting-house. 

Mr. Harvey was a carpenter, and had the job of 
framing the meeting-house. He moved into this 
house, and boarded the men who worked on the 
sanctuary. Among them were John Persons and 
Israel Andrew, who were then his apprentices. 
He had also a carpenter-shop on his premises. A 
school-house formerly stood near the Gile pond, on 
the road leading from Benjamin AYadleigh's to 
Daniel Messer's, at its intersection with the old 
Pound road. This school-house was probably built 
by Mr. Harvey soon after his coming to this town 
in 1790. About the time of commencing to build 
the meeting-house he bought this school-house, and 
moved it to his own land, and, by maldng an addi- 
tion to it, constructed therefrom his dwelling-house. 
This account is probably correct, although some 
have supposed that the present school-house in the 
village is the original one that once stood where we 
have stated, near the Messer (Hazen) place. In 
1803 the town " voted to class the school-district 
where widow [Matthew] Harvey lives with district 


where Daniel Messer lives, provided the inhabitants 
will furnish themselves with a good school-house." 
This extract from the records fixes the date of 
the location, if not the erection of the building, 
on its present site. 

The next place built was the one commonly 
spoken of as the Cooper place, by Gordon (or 
Gurden, as it was pronounced) Huntley, a black- 
smith, Avho also had a blacksmith-shop on his prem- 
ises. Mrs. Huntley was a daughter of Elder 
Nathan Champlin. Reuell Miller, an ingenious 
blacksmith, who lived in Sutton several years later, 
learned his trade with Mr. Huntley. 

^N'ext after the Huntley house. Col. Philip S. 
Harvey built the house on the hill now known as 
the Smiley cottage, and lived there and kept store 
in the same building. He afterwards sold out to 
Aaron Sargent, a hatter, who converted the store 
part into a hatter's shop and manufactured hats for 
persons who brought him their wool for that pur- 
pose. They could thus have their hats made to 
order as to size, shape, and thickness. 

Col. Philip S. Harvey built afterwards the James 
M. Sargent place, and lived and kept store there 
quite a number of years. Afterwards sold out to 
Joseph Pike. He also built the Dr. Lane-Smiley 
house, and lived there some years, doing some 
farming. This house was burned, Saturday, iS^ov. 
2, 1889. The Hemphill house and store stood on 
the site of the present Walter Sargent place (which 
last named was for several years the property of 
Elbridge G. King, and was built by him). The 
Hemphill house was built by ^N^athaniel Ambrose. 

310 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

He traded there about a year, then sold out and 
went to ^ew York. 

Daniel Davis built the John Andrew house, and 
lived there several years. The wife of Mr. Davis 
was a daughter of Rev. Job Seamans, of IS'ew Lon- 
don. There was once a printing-press in the shop 
part of the John Andrew house. Elder Lothrop, 
a Baptist minister, lived there about 1818, and on 
this press he actually printed some Testaments and 
other small books, some almanacs and primers. 

It is supposed that Daniel Davis also built the 
Fifield house. Benjamin B. French, Esq., a young 
lawyer, came there to live about 1824 or 1825, and 
opened a law office, the first one in town. Mr. 
French was also appointed post-master when a 
post-office Avas established in ^orth Sutton in 1825. 

Samuel AYorth built the Col. John Harvey house 
some time prior to 1820, as is shown by the fact that 
about that date he sold it to Col. Harvey. 

Dea. Benjamin Farrar built the Farrar house and 
tannery, on the corner behind the Joseph Greeley 
house and store, opposite the burying-ground. He 
was tanner and shoemaker, and did considerable 
business for some years, not far from 1830. His 
buildings were taken down many years ago. 

Jacob Bean, Jr., built the house on the hill above 
the Col. John Harvey house, about 1840. Daniel 
Whitcomb's family bought and owned it some 
years. Then Dea. Levi Cheney became purchaser, 
and it is still owned and occupied by his widow. 

The house just at the base of the hill beyond 
where the Farrar house stood was built by Moses 
Putney, who took the tannery of Dea. B. Farrar. 


It was much enlarged and beautified hj Dea. Ben- 
jamin P. Sargent, who owned and occupied the 
phice for several years previous to his decease, 
and is still in possession of his heirs. 

The Baptist parsonage was first built by Gilman 
Greeley near the pond, in the village of Kezarville ; 
was moved to its present location and enlarged 
about 1875. 

Dea. Joseph Harvey built for a tavern the two- 
story house which stands on the South road. It 
was first built as an addition to his house near the 
meeting-house, and was brought on a line with the 
store, but the opening of the railroads through our 
vicinity made that, like most of the country taverns, 
of no further use as such, and the building was 
moved away to its present site about 1850. 

Daniel Whitcomb built the next house beyond 
the tavern, and also had a blacksmith-shop close at 

Stephen B. Carl eton built the Daniel Sargent 
house about 1835. It has been much enlarged and 
improved. Mrs. Carleton was a daughter of Dea. 
Joseph Greeley. William Howe built the house 
near it which he occupies still, while Dea. ]N^icholas 
Rowell built the small house on the opposite side of 
the street, a few years prior to his death. 

Another modern built house on the same side as 
the last named is the one owned by Willis Howe. 

On the I*^ew London road, the first house beyond 
the burying-ground was built by Joseph Greeley, 
2d, and was occupied by him at the time of his 
decease in 1873. 

ISText to that is the house which for several years, 


about 1849, was owned by Dea. Joseph Harvey. 
Tlien comes the house built by Col. Philip S. Har- 
vey about 18-iO, and beyond that, on the same side, 
is the house built for Jane Davis, and which she 
owned at her decease in 187-1. On the opposite 
side of the road is the pretty house built by 
Sargent Kiml^all — subsequently owned by Daniel 
Putney and Olney Ivimball. At some distance 
above this is the house built by Abel Wheeler about 
181:0, and now owned by the widow of his son, 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 


First comes the house of J. Harvey Kezar. This 
house was built by Joseph Greeley, 2d. 

JSText to this is the house of John Kezar, son of 
J. Harvey Kezar, a very convenient and tasteful 
residence and nearly new. N^ext is the house lately 
owned by George French, another tasteful resi- 
dence, occupying the site of one which Col. John 
Harvey, Joseph Greeley, 1st, and Stephen B. Carle- 
ton successively owned and occupied. 

This pretty house was also built by J. Harvey 
Kezar. Further up on the hill is the Prospect 
House, which is so constructed as to be an attrac- 
tive summer hotel and boarding-house, and yet a 
very comfortable winter home. This hotel is owned 
and managed by John Kezar and Fred Putney. 
A house built by Joseph Greeley, 2d, and after- 
wards owned and occupied by Moses Pillsbury, and 
since that time by others, occupied the site of the 
Prospect House. 


^ext is the house of John Himtoon, originally a 
form-house, being once the property of John Kezar, 
father of Mrs. Huntoon. It is now enlarged and 
beautified, and makes an attractive and nnicli sought 
for home for summer and even winter boarders, 

which is croAvded to its fullest comfortable capacity 
every season. 

Further on, down the other slope of the hill, is 
the Daniel Hardy place, once owned by Simon 
Kezar, an original settler. This place was also for 
many years the residence of Hon. Reul^en Porter. 

A little below the Prospect House, on the oppo- 
site side, and close to the pond shore, are two 
houses, one owned by J. Mark Felch, and the other 
for the last forty years by Charles H. Kohlrausch, 
of Billerica, and used by the family for a summer 

A portion of the Felch house was built many 
years ago by Jonathan ]N^elson, on the west shore 
of the pond, and was after some years drawn over 
by oxen in the winter on the ice. 

Close to the spot where this house was built, on 
the west shore, another beautiful house has, within 
a few years, been built, — the Penacook House, a 
summer hotel also. The situation is very romantic, 
being on a little promontory jutting out into the pond, 
and commanding a fine view of water and mountain. 

From the Daniel Hardy place a cross road strikes 
out and climbs King's hill, and a branch from this 
road passes the Penacook House, and follows the 
shore all around the west and south sides of the 
pond, till it brings the tourist again to the Xorth 
Village on its eastern shore. 


The potash factory, which once stood on the 
pond shore near the school-house and which was 
burned down about 1830, was built by Joseph Bart- 
lett, Esq., fother of Hon. Levi Bartlett, of Warner. 
Mr. Bartlett was a merchant and business man in 
Warner before there were any stores in Sutton, and 
was a man of much enterprise. In this factory the 
Bartletts, father and son, sometimes worked, and 
made " salts," which were converted into potash. 
Mr. Bartlett was well known to the people of Sut- 
ton, many of them doing their trading at his store 
in Warner, where he was in business about thirty 


The charter of Perrystown, granted by the 
Masonian Proprietors of the ^ew Hampshire Lands, 
contained their customary stipulation that the gran- 
tees should, within a specified time after receiving 
it, erect a meeting-house and settle a minister, 
which things the Perrystown proprietors by their 
acceptance of the charter, laiowing its conditions^ 
certainly covenanted to do. The Indian wars 
which followed immediately after, by preventing the 
settlement, of course prevented the carrying out of 
all the specifications regarding time. But after the 
renewal of the grant and during the progress of the 
settlement years afterwards, neither early nor late 
did they fulfil their obligations concerning minister 
or meeting-house. They had, however, made Imt 
little money out of their purchase. Much hard work 
had to be done; some roads must be made and 
some streams bridged in order to make settlement 
possible, even after they had ofi'ered a bounty to 
settlers to go there. Taxes were heavy and their 
burdens were great. If they shirked what they 
could, it is scarcely to be Avondered at. 

What they did to promote the settlement was of 
course done to enable them to sell their lands, and 
really the settlers did not have from them much to 
be grateful for. The School Right of land and the 
Minister Right (so called) , which have been of so 


much benefit and help for so long a period of years, 
were not- the gift of the Perry stown grantees. The 
Masonian Proprietors who gave the grant, in their 
wise foresight reserved those rights for public use. 
It is said that at an early ]3eriod some of the 
inhabitants ofPerrystown erected a rude log struct- 
ure which Avas used for public worship for a few 
years. It was in what is now Mill Tillage. Itin- 
erant ministers were occasionally in this region, of 
whom Belknap says, in his History of 'New Hamp- 
shire, — 

In some of the new towns where the people were not able to sup- 
port a minister, it was the custom for clergymen of the older towns 
to make itinerant excursions of several weeks, to preach and bap- 
tize. Such itinerations have always been acceptable, and served to 
keep up a sense of religion in the scattered families. 

But it is believed that to the Warren Baptist 
Association of Massachusetts Sutton is indebted for 
her first resident clergyman. Elder Samuel Am- 

In 1786, two years after incorporation, the town 

voted to build a meeting-house and to raise £30 to be laid out on 
said house this year. Voted Daniel Messer, David Eaton, Sanmel 
Bean, Caleb Kimball, and Thomas Wadleigh, shall serve as a com- 
mittee to see to the building of said meeting-house, and to provide 
such things as shall be wanting for the building of said house upon 
the town's cost. 

This vote does not seem to have been acted upon, 
and in the warrant for the annual meeting, March, 
1792, is the following article: 

To see if you will vote to build a meeting-house the present year, 
and if voted, to see what method you will take to build the same. 
Voted to buUd a meeting-house. Voted to see whether it is best to 


build more than one meeting-house in town or not, and to appoint 
the place or places where said houses shall be set. Voted that 
Moses Hills, Capt. Pressey, Caleb Kimball, Silas Russell, Francis 
Whittier shall serve for the above mentioned Committee. 

In warrant for town meeting Apr. 1, 1793. To see if the town 
will vote to build a meeting-house in said town, and if voted, to see 
what method they will take to effect the same. Voted in the nega- 

In warrant 1794, March 17. 

To see what provision the town will make for the building of a 
meeting-house in the centre of said town. Voted not to build a 
meeting-house the present year. 

In warrant for town meeting May 28, 1795. 

To see if the town will vote to support a petition now in the Gen- 
eral Court, praying for a tax to be laid on all the lands in said town 
for the purpose of building a meeting-house in said town. 

At the meeting held in pursuance of the above warrant, Voted to 
support the petition. 

The petition was granted, and the town author- 
ized to collect the Cent Tax, so called. 

In warrant for town meeting Sept. 2, 1795. To see what method 
the town will take to lay out the Cent Tax so called. Voted that 
the Cent Tax shall be equally divided and laid out upon the two 
meeting-houses. Voted to choose a committee to run out the lines 
between the Lord Proprietors' land and the other lands adjoining 
said Lords' land, on consideration of the inhabitants living on said 
Lord Proprietors' land paying all the cost of running out said lines, 
and fixing the bounds of the same. Committee chosen were Amos 
Pressey, Obadiah Eastman, Thomas Wadleigh. 

Copy of the petition, praying for the tax on lands 
to assist in building a meeting-house. 

State of N. H. and County of Hills])orough. 
To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives at Concord 

convened Dec. 26, 1794. 

Your Petitioners humbly show in behalf of the town of Sutton 
that they labor under many and great inconveniences by not having 
a meeting house in Sutton. We woidd beg leave to inform your 


Honors that the proprietors of said town obligated themselves to 
build a meeting-house in a certain time, which contract was never 
done in the least tittle. And our town being seven miles and eighty 
rods in length, and but five miles in width, being mountainous and 
extremely broken, which causes the repair of our roads to be a great 
cost, and the centre of said town being so inconvenient, the land 
poor and broken for two miles each way, not fit for settlements, nor 
no leading road by said centre, so that said house would be useless 
for a great part of the year. 

There are two main roads already laid out, leading through each 
end of the town, which serve the country and the inhabitants of the 
town better to build two meeting houses one on each main road 
which we think will better accommodate the inhabitants. And 
upon this consideration we have gone foi'ward to build two small 
meeting houses : and we think when they are completed they will 
raise a higher value on all the lands in said town. 

Therefore we beg leave to inform your Honors that whereas there 
are some Gentlemen that own large tracts of land in said town who 
never gave away any part of their lands for settling, who are non- 
residents, and the inhabitants have been making farms by their 
lands, and making roads tlirough their lands, raising the value of 
their interest by our industry, and have undergone great fatigues 
and distress in settling said town, being poor, Therefore we pray 
your Honors would take into your wise and prudent consideration 
our case, and empower said town to lay a tax upon all the non- 
improved lands of three pence per acre, to be laid out upon building 
said meeting houses, to be equally divided between them ; or any 
sum you in your wisdom shall think proper. And yom* humble 
petitioners in duty bound shall ever pray. 

Thomas Wadleigh ) 

Moses Hills >- Selectmen. 

Asa Nelson ) 

The Same Petitiojs^ Modified. 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the 
State of New Hampshire convened at Concord Dec'r 26, 1794. The 
Petition of the Selectmen of Sutton for and in behalf of the inhabi- 
tants of said town Humbly show that the proprietors of said town 
obligated themselves to build a meeting house in said town which 


was never fiilfiUed we are therefore still destitute of a meeting house ; 
and the town is so situated, being seven miles in length and five in 
width, and the centre thereof so mountainous and broken that a 
meeting house built in the centre never could be accommodated with 
any road, nor the inhabitants be accommodated thereby ; and there 
are two roads through, one at each end of said town, which have 
been made with great expense to the inhabitants, and without any 
assistance from the Proprietors ; the inhabitants have agreed to build 
two meeting houses, one on each road, which will if completed 
accommodate all the inliabitants of said town. But they have been 
so burdened by making roads through said town that they do not 
feel themselves able to complete said houses without some assistance 
from the proprietors whose lands will be more valuable if they be 
completed. Therefore we pray your Honors to take our case into 
your wise consideration, and grant us leave to assess all the land in 
said town (Public Rights exempted) with tliree pence per acre, for 
one year, to be applied to the sole use of building said meeting 
houses, to be divided equally between them, and such regidations as 
you shall think proper. And we etc. 

Third form of the same petition : 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the 
State of New Hampsliire in General Court convened at Concord the 
1st day of January 1795. 

The Petition of the Selectmen of Sutton in said State for and in 
behalf of the Inhabitants of said town Humbly showeth. That the 
Inliabitants of said town have for a long time been grievously 
oppressed by heavy State, County, and Town taxes. 

And large tracts of land in said town have contributed towards 
the same but very little, and having been destitute of any house for 
public worship through all our hardships, through the neglect of the 
proprietors of said town who promised in their Charter to build a 
Meeting House within a certain time therein stated and agreed on 
which has been neglected ; and as the value of the lands in said 
town owned by non-resident proprietors is greatly increased by our 
labor. We therefore pray your Honors to grant a tax of thi-ee 
pence per acre upon all the land in said town Public Rights and 
eighteen shares reserved by the Masonian Proprietors excepted, to 
be appropriated to the sole use of building a meeting house in said 


town, as said proprietors have not complied with their contract in 

said Charter. And we &c., 
Sutton, Dec. 30, 1794. 

Moses Hills ) Selectmen 

Thomas Wadleigh \- for 
Asa Nelson ) Sutton 

It will be apparent to the reader that the object 
of these three petitions is the same : they all pray for 
a tax on some portion of the lands in town to aid in 
building the meeting-houses. Though not worded 
precisely alike, the real difference is as to luhat 
portion of the land in town shall be assessed. 

The first one prays for a tax of three pence per 
acre " or any sum you in your wisdom shall grant" to 
be laid on all the non-improved land in town, which 
would, of course, include all the rights of the Maso- 
nian proprietors, which, by a provision of the charter 
they gave to Perrystown proprietors, were to be 
exempt from taxation till sold. The second petition 
prays for leave to assess all the land in town, public 
rights excepted; while the third petition asks for a 
tax on all the lands in town, Public- Rights and the 
eighteen shares reserved by the Masonian proprie- 
tors excepted. 

These three petitions were found bound up 
together among the papers of Mr. Harvey, the 
representative for that year, to whom they had been 
entrusted, probably with discretionary power as to 
which one of them he should attempt to carry 
through the " General Court." 

Enclosed in the same package is a remonstrance 
against the proposed tax by some of the citizens 
who were opposed to it, and also a letter from 
Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., which will serve as a sort 


of explanation to the Renionsti-ance. A copy of his 
letter is here presented with the wish that it were 
possible at the same time to present a copy of this 
gentleman's neat penmanship and really elegant 
autograph : 

To Deacon Harvey, 

Sir, After my regards to you I would inform you that I 
understand that about thirty of our inhabitants are preparing to send 
in a remonstrance against the petition which the town voted to sup- 
port at our last town meeting, praying for a tax to be laid on the 
lands in said town for the purpose of building a meeting house in 
said town. I understand they have set forth in their remonstrance 
that said meeting was not legal, because it was kept secret from 
them so that they did not hear of it till it was past. 

I cannnot think they will prepare to make any opposition against 

said petition, but if they should, I herein send you the Warrant 

which the Selectmen gave Mr. Robey to warn said meeting, and 

also the Warning that Mr. Robey put up, which may be some help 

to you. 

I am Sir you Humble Servant 

Thomas Wadleigh 
Sutton June 6, 1795. 

The Remoxstkakce to the Tax. 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives for the 
State of N. H. in General Court convened at Hanover the 13th of 
June 1795 

The Petition of the subscribers, inhabitants of the town of Sutton 
in the County of Hillsborough, and state aforesaid. Humbly showeth 
that whereas the General Court at the Sessions holden at Concord 
in December last grant a day of hearing on a Petition preferred by 
the Selectmen of Sutton, praying for liberty to assess all the lands 
in said to\\Ti Public Rights excepted with three pence per acre for 
the purpose of building meeting houses in said Sutton ; and they 
have since had a kind of Muf/gletonian meeting in a private man- 
ner, and voted to build two meeting houses in said town (which is 
very poor) contrary to the will or wish of a majority of the inhabi- 
tants (who were not notified of said meeting) we pray that your 

322 HISTORY or suttox. 

Honors ■will not grant the prayer of their (so private) Petition. 
And as in duty &c. 

The signers to this Remonstrance were Jonathan Rowell, Thomas 
Rowell, Dudley Kenrick, Jonathan Colburn, Peter Peaslee, David 
Peaslee, Benjamin Williams, Abner Chase, William Lowell, Benja- 
min Evans, John Peasleev, Daniel Emery, Stephen Richardson, John 
Philbrick, Benj'n Philbrick, Philemon Hastings, Ezra Jones, Jr., 
Ezra Littlehale, Ezekiel Davis, Joseph Johnson, Isaac Peasley, 
Leonard Colburn, Samuel Peaslee, Abraham Peaslee, William 
Scales, Benjamin Kenrick, Jona. Stevens, Thomas Walker, Peter 
Cheney, John Emerson, Jr., Hezekiah Parker, Ezra Jones, Daniel 

In town-meeting, Sept. 2, 1795, three of the above 
remonstrants, viz., Peter Peaslee, Daniel Emery, and 
Stephen Picharclson, were, by a vote then taken, 
freed from paying any part of said tax. 

The selectmen for 1795 were Thomas Wadleigh, 
Caleb Kimball, and Moses Hills. A letter of the 
last named is fonnd in the package with the other 
papers. It is as follows : 

To Deacon Matthew Harvey at Hanover. 

»Sir, After compliments I would infoiun you that I understand 
there are some ill-minded persons who are about sending a remon- 
strance to the General Court against that Petition for the Penny 
Tax, and Capt. Wadleigh has informed me that they have set forth 
in their Remonstrance that the meeting held to see if the town 
would vote to support the Petition was not legal. 

Therefo],'e to prove that it was legal he has sent you the Warrant 
we directed to the Constable, and the notification which the Consta- 
ble posted up. If you want any other help, or assistance of any 
kind send me word, and I will make you all the help I possibly can. 
Excuse errors and weakness. From yours &c., 

Moses Hills. 
Sutton June 6, 1795. 

N. B. This Remonstrance they have kept very secret. I knew 
nothing about it till very lately. 


Mr. Harvey seems to have had the full sym])athy 
and support of those who had commissioned him to 
do his utmost to cany to its successful accomplish- 
ment the scheme in which they were all so ardently 

To help him show that the town proprietors had 
failed to do their part of the contract, they fitted 
him out with the following depositions. They were 
found enclosed in the certificate of Bond Little, 
Esq., the justice before whom they were sworn to. 

This certificate is directed to the "• clerk of the 

Honorable General Court of the State of ISTew 

Hampshire sitting at Hanover the first week in 

June, 1795." 

Sutton May 29, 1795. 
Then Epliraim Gile, Samuel Bean, and Benjamin Wadleigh per- 
sonally appeared, and made Solemn oath to the enclosed depositions, 
by them signed, to be the truth and nothing but the truth. 

Before me — Bond Little, Justice of the Peace. 
The Deposition of Benjamin Wadleigh of Sutton in the County 
of Hillsborough and State of New Hampshire of lawful age testifieth 
and saith that he was one of the first settlers in Sutton and he has 
no knowledge that ever the proprietors of the township of Sutton 
ever did anything towards building a meeting house in Sutton. 

Benjamin Wadleigh. 

The deposition of Ephraim Gile is to the same 
effect. That of Samuel Bean is as follows : 

The deposition of Samuel Bean testifieth and saith that he has 
lived in Sutton three or four and twenty years, and he has no 
knowledge that ever the proprietors of the township of Sutton ever 
did any thing towards building a meeting house in Sutton. 

Samuel Bean. 

The idea of taxing Proprietors' lands for public 
needs was not a new one. In 1782 the legislature 

324 HISTORY or sutto:n^. 

imposed what was termed the " Pemiy acre tax" 
upon wikl hinds for support of the war. Some 
of the non-resident proprietors disregarded this tax, 
and their lands were sold by the collector at a very 
low figure in some of the towns. 

It will be noticed that in Esq. Moses Hills's letter 
he speaks of this cent tax as the Penny tax. People 
had as yet scarcely become accustomed to the 
change from English money to Federal money 
because the change was so recent. Cents were first 
issued in 1793, and gold and silver money in 1794, 
by the United States. This new tax was spoken of 
both as the Cent tax and the Penny tax. 

Some Yotes con^ceri^^i:n^g the Cext Tax. 

In Warrant for town meeting following the granting of the Peti- 
tion Sept. 2, 1795, To see what method the town will take to lay out 
the Cent Tax so called. Voted that the Cent Tax shall be equally 
divided and laid out upon the two meeting houses. 

At annual meeting March 7, 1796, Philemon Hastings chosen 
Constable and Collector. Voted that said Hastings shall have 
two pence 2 farthing on one pound for collecting the taxes in 
this town the present year. Voted that said Hastings shall not 
have anything for collecting the non-resident Cent tax. 

At annual meeting 1797, Voted that Moses Hills and Daniel 
Page shall serve as a committee to make a final settlement with 
Ichabod Roby and Philemon Hastings, being Collectors for said 
town on account of the Cent Tax committed to them to collect. 

The question as to whether the town would vote 
to build a meeting-house came up in town-meeting 
several times in the ten years following incorpora- 

In Warrant for annual meeting Mai'ch 1792. To see if you wUl 
vote to build a meeting house the present year, and if voted, to see 
what method you will take to build the same. 


Voted to biiild a meeting house. 

Voted to choose a committee to see whether it is best to buikl 
more than one meeting house in town or not, and to appoint the 
place or places where said house or houses shall be set. 

Voted that Moses Hills, Capt. Pressey, Caleb Kimball, Silas Rus- 
sell, Francis Whittier shall serve for the above mentioned com- 

In Warrant for town meeting April 1, 1793. To see if the town 
will vote to build a meeting house in said town and if voted to see 
what method they will take to effect the same. Voted in the negative. 

And the question does not appear again on the 
records. The town in its corporate capacity did 
not build the meeting-houses. Recognizing the 
fact that in order to accommodate all the people 
two houses must be built, the great expense was 
deemed more than their means would Avarrant. 

The people of the two sections of the town, the 
north and the south, each forming themselves into a 
society for the purpose, went to work to build their 
own house. Individual subscriptions and contribu- 
tions in labor, or in corn and grain, were almost 
universally made by the people, and accepted by 
the building committee of the society. Very little 
money was contributed, for very little money was 
in circulation in town or state at that time. The 
committee who received the corn and grain could 
exchange a portion of it for money, perhaps, but 
mostly for material to go into the house — glass, 
nails, hinges, paint, etc. Many of those things were 
purchased, as some of the old bills yet in existence 
show, at Hopldnton, ofBenj. & Timothy Wiggin, 
and of Joseph Towne, who were almost wholesale 
dealers at that time. 

The timber was of course plenty at home, and it 


is said that the frame of the N^orth meeting-house 
was the product of the ground it stands on. Both 
houses were handsomely underpinned Avith hewn 
stone, for which, also, there was no need to send out 
of town. 

Each section of the town raised its separate build- 
ing fund, and elected its own building committee. 
The building committee for the South meeting- 
house were Thomas Wadleigh and probably Mica- 
jah Pillsbury and Daniel Page. The Record-book 
of the South meeting-house has not been found, but 
some papers left by Esq. T. Wadleigh indicate that 
these gentlemen were the committee. For the 
^N^orth meeting-house the committee were Samuel 
Bean, Matthew Harvey, and John King. The indi- 
viduals subscribing to the building fund gave their 
notes to the committee to the amount of their sub- 
scription. The following are specimens of those 
notes : 

Sutton Sept. 22, 1794. 
Upon demand for value received I promise to pay twelve shill- 
ings to the Committee in Rye at 4/ or Indian Corn at 3/ per hushel, 
or work at 3/ if called for, for huilding a meeting house at the 
lower end of Kezar's pond, so called. As witness my hand 

Thomas Walker. 

For value received I promise to pay to the Committee Samuel 
Bean, Matthew Harvey, and John King, the sum of four Pounds 
lawful money, to be paid in Neat stock, or good merchantable Rye, 
or Indian Corn. To be paid the first day of October 1795. 

Benjamin Wells, jr. 



Subscription^ List (iSToRTii). 

The siun of money each man has subscribed for the purpose of 
buikling a meeting house in the North part of Sutton at the lower 
end of Kezar's pond, so called. 

$11.34 William Bean $6.08 

5.00 Matthew Harvey 15.00 

6.67 Eliphalet Woodward 1.00 

5.34 John Emerson 1.00 

3.34 Simon Kezar 8.34 

4.00 James Eaton 3.00 

1.67 Theophilus Cram 1.00 

2.00 John Harvey 2.00 

3.34 Benjamin Fowler 3.00 

5.00 Jacob Davis - • 5.00 

10.00 Joseph Chadwick 2.00 

4.00 Jacob Bean 4.00 
2.00 Benjamin Wells . 3.34 

2.00 Moses Bean 2.00 

8.67 Stephen Woodward 2.00 

3.34 Philip Sargent 6.67 

2.34 Moses HiUs 3.34 

3.34 Amos Pressey 3.00 

1.00 Aaron Davis 3.34 

6.08 WiUard Emerson 1.50 

2.34 Francis Como 4.00 

3.34 Jesse FeUows 3.50 

3.34 Ezekiel Davis 2.00 

2.00 David Eaton 9.00 

4.00 Daniel Whicher 2.00 

2.00 Benjamin Wadleigh 5.00 

Daniel Messer 
Cornelius Bean 
Ephraim Gile 
Hezekiah Parker 
George Walker 
Jonathan Davis 
Francis Whicher 
Stephen Nelson 
Francis Whicher, Jr. 
Jacob Mastin 
Reuben Gile 
Isaac Mastin 
Thomas Walker 
John Emerson 
Ezekiel Flanders 
Joseph Pearsons 
Peter Cheney 
Moses Davis 
Josiah Nichols 
John King 
David Davis 
Jonathan Davis, Jr. 
Isaac Bean 
William Hutchins 
Thomas Messer 
Adam Messer 
Sanniel Bean 

This subscription list was dated August 28, 1794, 

The fractional sums set against each man's name 
seem at first almost whimsical, but the sum is 
doubtless the estimated value of farm produce or 
labor for which he g-ave his note. 



By the conditions with the committee, the house 
was to be built according to the Xew London 
meeting-house with some small alterations, as the 
committee saw fit. The pew ground was to be put 
up at vendue — Samuel Messer, vendue-master. 

The committee is empowered to find Rum for the Vendue and 
for hewing the timber for said house at the expense of the society. 

Voted that aU the subscribers to build the house shall give their 
notes to the Committee for the smn they have subscribed for to be 
paid in grain or corn at 3/ and 4/ per bushel, or Neat Stock. 

Sept. 22, 1794. The Vendue Sale of the Pews in the North 
Meeting-house took place, nearly all being thus sold in advance of 
their construction, at the following prices : 

Theophilus Cram $33.00 
Cornelius Bean 32.00 
Reuben Gile 28.00 

Samuel Bean 29.00 

Benj'n Philbrick 28.00 
Benj'n Pliilbrick, Jr. 30.00 
George Walker 34.00 
Stephen Woodward 30.00 
David Davis 29.00 

Benjamin Fowler 29.00 
Ephraim Hildreth 27.00 
Benjamin Philbrick 25.00 
Benjamin Philbrick 26.00 
Moses Bean 25.00 

Levi Harvey 22.00 

Simon Kezar, Jr. 20.00 

July 17, 1802, the foUowing sold. 

Pew No. 30 was struck off to Jacob Mastin for $17.00 
" 23 " " Jonathan Eaton for 8.00 

In 1816, Aug. 31— Elisha Parker bought Pew No. 36 for $37.00. 
At same time bought Pew No. 37 for $28.00, and Benjamin 
Farrar bought Pew No. 38 for $25.50, and John Chadwick bought 
Pew No. 39 for $25.50. 


». 7, Philip Sargent 




2, Matthew Harvey 


" 34, 


1, James Eaton 


" 22, 


8, Simon Kezar 


" 33, 


4, Daniel Messer 


'^ 23, 


32, Samuel Bean 


" 27, 


31, Eplu'ami Gile 


" 13, 


24, John King 


" 20, 


3, Benj'n Philbrick 


" 21, 


9, Simon Kezar 


- 19, 


17, William Bean 


" 26, 


10, Thomas Wadleigh 


" 16, 


5, Francis AVhittier 


" 29, 


18, Hezekiah Parker 


" 14, 


6, Amos Pressey 


" 25, 


12, Moses Hills 


" 31, 


Copy of Deed of Pew No. 4. Daniel Messer. 

Know all men by these Presents that we Samuel Bean, Matthew 
Harvey, and Jolin King being chosen a committee to build a meet- 
ing house in the North part of Sutton the pew ground of No. 4 in 
the ground pews was set on an open fair sale and struck off to Dan- 
iel Messer who was the highest bidder for the same. So conse. 
quently became purchaser of the same. We therefore as commit- 
tee, for ourselves oiu" heirs and assigns do warrant and secure 
the pew ground to him the said Messer his heirs and assigns 
so long as said house shall continue. In witness whereof we do 
heremito set our hands and seals this 6th day of October A. D- 

Samuel Bean ) Ti 'IT 

Matthew Harvey /-^ .^^^ 
T 1 T-- I Committee. 

J ohn Kmg ) 

Deed of Pew, No. 30. Jacob Mastin. [Twelve years later]. 

Know all men by these presents that we Jonathan Eaton, Amos 
Pressey and Jonathan Harvey all of Sutton in the County of Hills- 
Tjorough and state of New Hamjishire in our capacity as Committee 
for the Society to build a meeting house in the northwardly part of 
said Sutton, for and in consideration of twenty dollars before the 
delivery hereof paid by Jacob Mastin of said Sutton state and 
county aforesaid, having bargained and sold to the said Jacob all 
the pew ground of No. 30, on the lower floor in said north meeting 
house, we promising in our said capacity to warrant and defend the 
same against the lawful claims of any persons whomsoever until 
said house is dissolved. Given under our hands and seals this 30th 
day of June A. D. 1806. 

Jonathan Eaton ) 
Amos Pressey >- Com. 
Jonathan Harvey ) 

The il^orth meeting-house, begun in 1794, was 
nearly completed in 1797. as the following notifica- 
tion will show. The paper has in it yet at the 
corners the small holes made by the pins used in 
posting it up. 


To the Inhal)itants belonging to the Society which have been 
building a Meeting House at the North end of the town of Sutton. 
We your Committee who were appointed to warn meetings for the 
future when thought necessary, therefore In our capacity do notify 
and request all the votei-s that belong to said Society to meet at 
said Meeting house on Thursday the twenty second instant at one 
o'clock in the afternoon to act on the following articles : 

1. To choose a Moderator to regulate said meeting. 

2. To choose a Clerk. 

3. To see if the Society will accept of the Meeting House from 
the Committee so far as the building of the pews as their time is 
almost expired wherein they engaged to build said house. 

4. To see if the Society will make choice of a Committee to settle 
all matters with the above said committee concerning said house. 

5. To see if the Society may think best to sell the house Jolin 
Harvey now liveth in making a repair of the same, till said Meeting 
house is finished. 

6. To see what the Society will order shall be done with the 
securities of those that are delinquent of paying their engagements. 

7. To see what shall be done with the pew ground yet to be sold 
in said House. 

8. To act on any other article that may be thought proper when 

Sutton Sept. 8, 1797. 

Sanuiel Bean ) 
Matthew Harvey > Com. 
John King. ) 

The labors and responsibilities of this committee 
had been many and perplexing, and were necessa- 
rily increased by the fact that scarcely anything- 
needed to go into the construction of the house, 
except the stone and lumber, was obtainable at home. 
Everything else must come from quite a distance, 
and the heavy and bulky material they had to offer 
in exchange, the corn and grain, must of course be 
transported the same distance over poor roads, 
while even to negotiate such tradings required no 


little skill and prudent management. See what an 
infinity of trouble and vexation they had about a 
lock for the house. 

First, Mr. Harvey avails himself of the aid of 
some one who is going to "Weare, to get him to call 
on a Mr. Stevens of that town to see if he can make 
a lock and a pair of pulpit hinges. Mr. Stevens 
sends back word that he will do it, but must first 
have a pattern for the lock. Without waiting for it, 
however, he makes the lock, and sends Mr. Harvey 
word that he has done so, and that the charge is 
five dollars. Mr. Harvey declines the lock as being* 
too expensive. Mr. Stevens gets angry, and soon 
after Mr. Harvey receives from Baruch Chase, Esq.,, 
a lawyer of Hopkinton, the following letter : 

Hopkinton March 19, 1798. 
Dear Sir. 

Soon after you left my office this day Mr. Thomas Stevens of 
Weare left in my hands an account for making a lock for Sutton 
Meeting House. He has charged it to you as his employer, and 
begs for payment. Your friend and Servant 

Baruch Chase 

The following is Mr. Harvey's reply: 

Sutton March 20, 1798. 
Dear Sir, 

I received your kind letter, and information concerning Mr. 
Stephens. Sir, the fact is I spoke to some person going to Weare 
to speak to Mr. Stevens to make for Sutton Meeting House a pair 
of pulpit hinges and a lock for one porch door. Mr. Stephens sent 
back word he would make them when I should send a pattern, or 
inform him how I would have them made. I sent to the joiner that 
did the work on the house to send down a pattern, but by inquiring 
I learn that he has not yet done it. Sir, Mr. Stephens told me yes- 
terday at Hopkinton he had made the hinges and had sold them, 
but the lock he had on hand, and would sue me if I did not take it. 


I asked him his price ; he told me five dollars. I told him I should 
not give it. He threatened me so 1 thouglit him beside himself » 
and said no more to him. But Sir, he has sold the hinges and made 
such a lock that I am not allowed to take it for the Society, hut any 
time when he shall make a common lock worth eight or nine shill- 
ings, that is good, I wish to take it, and will pay him the money, 
and not sooner. From youi" humble Serv't 

Matthew Harvey. 

The last letter in this series is from James Hogg, 
of Dunbarton, who seems to have served as a board 
of arbitration in the matter : 

Dunbarton May 19, 1798. 
Sir. I received your letter of the loth instant, and observed 
what you said respecting a lock and have been with Mr. Stephens 
this day, and he says you agreed to take a lock worth five dollars, 
and he has it made for you, and as it is made he has agreed with 
me to abate one dollar in the pi'ice rather than to have any dispute 
with you. And the meanest stock lock he makes fit for a Meeting 
House is worth 15/. As the odds will be only 9/ I think you had 
best take the 4 dollar lock, as it is a good one. 

You will not repent if you conclude to have it I will pay for it, 
and send it immediately. 

From your real friend and hmnble Serv't 

James Hogg. 

This gentleman's view of the case was finally 
accepted by the bnilding committee, and so the lock 
found its way at last to Sutton I^orth meeting-house 
porch door. 

The idea of building tAvo meeting-houses in a 
town which, according to the statement of the 
remonstrants, was " very poor," had seemed a 
heavy undertaking, but the people really built three. 
The building of the ISIorth and the South meet- 
ing-houses, conducted by the same methods, was 
commenced about the same time, and they were 


finished in about two years or more. But a great 
misfortune befell the one at the South. Being- 
nearly completed, it had been thought safer to 
remove the shavings from the building, and the 
removal had been partially effected, but a trail of 
shavings was carelessly left by the way. By some 
unlaiown accident the pile that had been carried 
away got on fire. The fire followed the trail till it 
reached the mass of shavings remaining under the 
house, which by this means caught fire and was 
soon reduced to ashes. 'Not discouraged, however, 
the people, that same night, raised by subscription 
enough to build another house, which was quickly 
completed, and ready for occupancy nearly as soon 
as the one at the ^^Torth. 

Daniel Page was the framer and master builder 
of the two houses at the South, and John Harvey 
(father of Dea. Joseph Harvey) of the one at the 
^orth. All three were of the same dimensions, 40 
by 50 feet, with porches at the sides. The present 
house at the South was built in 1839. 

In the Xorth meeting-house much of the finish- 
ing, as well as the framing, was also done by John 
Harvey, but there was one thing which was never 
finished, and that was the gallery floor. This gal- 
lery ran round three sides of the building, the inside 
or lowest step being furnished with bench seats and 
a few pews. Outside of this all was empty sjDace^ 
calculated, doubtless, to be taken up by seats and 
pews which should be built afterwards as they 
should be needed. Xone were ever built, however. 
The gallery was so constructed that if an outside 
row of seats had been made they would have been 


much higher than the mside seats, the floor of the 
gallery bemg an inclined plane, with the inclination, 
of course, towards the inside. By reason of this 
great inclination of the floor, as steep and sharp 
as the roof of a house, it was truly an aAvful opera- 
tion to take one's place in the singing seats. To 
climb the many stairs leading up through the porch, 
to reach the upper porch at last all out of breath, 
to look in at the gallery door and step up on the 
slippery threshold, to follow with the eye the slid- 
ing floor Avorn as smooth and shiny as glass, to feel 
the almost absolute certainty of slipping, and as 
you glanced at the seats already filled, to realize 
that if you tripped and fell your misfortune would 
not go unwitnessed, — all this requii^ed more cour- 
age than usually falls to the lot of women, or men 
either, unless they made the descent barefooted, 
Avhich in those days was not at all contrary to law. 
"Women of course could not even then go to meet- 
ing barefoot. jSTeither could they wear the old 
shoes wherein lay some small chance of safety. 
'New shoes meant meeting-shoes, that and only 
that. So, even if they walked barefoot through 
the woods till just before they came in sight of the 
village, they stopped there and put on their shoes 
preparatory to entering the sanctuary, thus com- 
pletely reversing that custom of the Jews of old, 
which required the people to put oft' the shoes from 
the feet when standing on holy ground. 

In doing this, however, they knew they were 
risking the chance of a tumlile in the very place 
where they least desired to slip or fall. Standing 
in that gallery door-way, one saw that his choice lay 


between rolling, sliding, and I'unning to his seat. 
Of course he chose the latter, or at least a Avalk so 
rapid that it amounted to a run, though he weU 
knew that the operation, even if attended by no 
especial mishap, must inevitably be heard by every 
one in the house, by reason of the louder clattering 
of the loose boards under his feet. These loose 
boards, unmatched and untrimmed, which formed 
the single floor of the gallery, were of immense 
length and width, and were never fastened down. 
Waiting for the additional seats which were never 
made, they lay there, and clattered under every foot- 
step ever taken across them, telephoning the same 
all over the house for sixty years, till they Avere 
removed at the rebuilding of the temple in 1855. 

Many women have been born in North Sutton, 
have lived there and grown old, and when their 
time was come have there given up the ghost. But 
some are living yet who can remember to have 
experienced all, yea more, of shame and terror than 
is here described, in making that transit from the 
gallery door to the singing-seats. Let them all 
speak now who can, and say if it does not at this 
day seem the greatest earthly marvel that in all 
those sixty long years no one ever thought to put 
up a strip of board for a hand-rail, or even to throw 
a rope across to hold on by, or to nail on a cleat 
here and there to the floor to check its downward 
tendency, or lay down a rag-mat? or, better than all 
other exj)edients, why did they not get up a dona- 
tion party and devote the proceeds to finishing the 
galleries ? 

As has already been said, the gallery passed 


around both ends and one side of the house; on 
the other side, which was the north side, was pLaced 
the pulpit, midway of the house. In front of the 
pulpit, and raised a little above the floor, was the 
narrow slip termed the deacons' seat, wherein sat 
sometimes, though not alwa^^s, the deacons during' 
public worship. Over the pulpit hung the sounding- 
board, made in imitation of a bell, but cased up 
entirely. It was suspended by an iron rod passing 
up through a beam overhead and secured by an iron 
nut, so that it could not by any possibility fall 
and crush the head of the minister standing direct- 
ly beneath it, — a catastrophe Avhich the children 
in the congregation confidently expected some day 
would take place. It was supposed to assist the 
speaker in making himself heard. It was made of 
very thin boards. Whether of any real use or not, 
it was a graceful and not unpleasant object for the 
eye to rest upon. The front of the gallery as Avell 
as the pillars which supported it, the pulpit, deacons' 
seat, and sounding-board were painted a brilliant 
green, which aftbrded a pleasant relief to the eye, 
the house being extremely light on account of its 
white walls and almost innumerable windows, two 
tiers of them, without ever a blind or a curtain. To 
these windows it was due, doubtless, that, although 
the house was without a chimney and never warmed 
artificially, it really was not cold in winter. There 
being no carpets or cushions to fade, the sun had 
at all times free access to all parts of the house, and 
the air within was therefore dry and pure. Some- 
times people brought with them to meeting a foot- 
stove to keep their feet warm. This was a tin box 


perforated with holes, and set m a square wooden 
frame, containing a pan of hard wood coals which 
would retain their lieat till the meeting-house ser- 
vices were nearly through. 

The pews were square : the seats, passing around 
the whole of the inside except the door, were pro- 
vided with hinges so that they could be raised dur- 
ing prayer-time when the congregation remained 
standing. Considerable noise and slamming usually 
attended the letting of them down again, but this 
was not the fault of the women, who always cau- 
tioned the men and children against such irreverent 
and ill-bred carelessness, giving them private les- 
sons at home. For a finish around the top, the 
pews had a row of small wooden pins, prettily 
turned, a few inches high and about the same dis- 
tance apart, the ends inserted in an upper and an 
under board. 

This open-work finish gave the pews a pleasanter 
and less exclusive appearance, and also gave the 
children a chance to do a little mischief to relieve 
their nerves weary with sitting so still. The pins 
not being glued into their sockets, could with a 
little effort be made to turn around and creak, and 
so break for a moment the monotony of prayer or 

The broad aisle led directly from the front door 
to the pulpit, and another aisle passed around the 
body of the house inside of the wall pews, and of 
course afforded access to the body pews as well. 
The porches gave admission to the lower floor, and 
also by a stair-way to the galleries. The house 
was high-posted, so that when it was remodelled in 



1855 the upper or gallery floor was fitted up for 
the church, while the lower floor afibrds a conven- 
ient town hall. In 1870 a helfrey was added and a 
bell hung therein, which was rung for the first time 
on the morning of July Ith, to the great delight of 
every man, woman, and child within hearing distance 
of it, not only of the constant residents, but those 
of us who, having left town years before to seek 
our fortunes, or more strictly speaking to earn our 
living, had managed to get home for this day, and 
more than anything else for the sake of hearing 
this bell rung for the first time. And " how happy 
were our ears to hear this joyful sound,- ' which, if not 
exactly " kings and prophets," yet, most certainly, 
Kings and Peasleys, and all the other ancestral 
families, " had waited for, and sought but never 

With no little self-complacency we congratulated 
ourselves on having lived to greet this day, as if it 
was something rather meritorious in us to have 
done so. We compared this day with the old times, 
when even faintly to hear the 'New London bell, if 
by chance a favoring wind brought the sound of it 
down into our valley, was an event worth naming. 

'Not thus, however, was it with the cattle that 
were quietly feeding on the common and in the 
neighboring pastures. At the first sound of that 
awful clangor high up in the air above them, they 
threw up their tails and ran violently in all direc- 
tions, frightened as if for them the day of doom had 
surely come, and if the rocks and mountains would 
only fall upon and hide them, they would be very 
much obliged to them. 


The bell, hoAvever, was rung several hours that 
day, different parties relieving each other at the 
rope, and so they had opportunity to become accus- 
tomed to the sound, and by nightfall their terrors 
were all over. 

A centennial celebration Avas held at the Xorth 
Village that day, during Avhich, among other cere- 
monies, portions of some of the early chapters of 
this history of Sutton were read to the assembled 
people, — the readers being first, Theresa Harvey, 
second, Charles A. FoAvler, third, Erastus Wad- 
leigh, Esq. The chaplain was Prof. Knights of 
JS^ew London Institute. Benjamin Fifield was mar- 
shal of the day, and MatthcAV Harvey, of I^CAvport, 
presided at the stand. 

The cost of bell and belfrey was |1,152.58. Of 
this sum $800 was raised by the men, who organ- 
ized under the name of the " Bell Company," and 
$350 by the Avomen, — the result of Avork and enter- 
taimnents of a Iviiitting society formed by them for 
the purpose. The friends of this enterprise Avorked 
earnestly and faithfully for its accomplishment, and 
in the years since liaA'^e found their efforts repaid in 
the Aveekl}^ and sometimes daily use of the bell, and 
in the enjoyment of its rich and melodious tones. 

Travellestg o]sr the Sabbath. 

Originally the office of tythingman was of very 
great importance. In some of the earliest settled 
toAvns in Massachusetts one tythingman Avas 
appointed for every ten families, his duty being to 
compel the attendance on public worship of CA^ery 


family in his district, as well as to maintain suitable 
behavior while in the sanctury; and to make this 
possible in some of those early settlements, every 
householder was required to locate his dwelling- 
place not more than half a mile from the meeting- 

Such stringency of religious obligation of course 
could exist only in a more thickly settled community 
than ever got foothold in our rocky, mountainous 
town, and in fact had become essentially modified 
in the places where it originated long before they 
sent out colonies to build up towns in central ^ew 
Hampshire. Still, in the early years of the present 
century tythingmen were annually elected, and one 
part of their duty was to put a stop to unnecessary 
travel on Sunday. A man travelling . out of town 
on Sunday without a " permit" was liable to be put 
to the trouble of detention by the tythingmen of the 
places he passed through on his journey. 

The writer remembers to have seen one of these 
" permits," dated 1814, which had been preserved as 
a curiosity. It read as follows, being simply an 
order from the tythingmen of Sutton to tythingmen 
on the route proposed to be passed over: 

Permit the bearer, John Harvey, to pass from his house in Sutton 
to the house of Joseph Emerson in Hopkinton on this Lord's Day, 
he behaving as becometh. 

The passage of the Toleration Act by the legis- 
lature in 1819 put an end to compulsory support of 
preaching, and most efiectually took the wind out 
of the sails of the tythingman. Though annually 
chosen for several years afterwards, his importance 

si:n^gixg nsr meetixg. 341 

diminished year by year, and there was so little for 
him to do that when he ceased his official existence 
scarcely any one knew of it. 


To know what was said or sung at public wor- 
ship in the more ancient towns of eastern Massa- 
chusetts is one and the same thing as to know what 
our own remote ancestors said and sung, our sec- 
tion of the country having been largely settled by 
emigrants from those towns, the history of whose 
civil, religious, and social life really forms a sort of 
prefatory chapter to the history of Sutton. There- 
fore a few facts, showing the progress of church 
music from the beginning, will not be out of place 
in this connection. 

The Pilgrims brought with them Ainsworth's 
Version of the Psalms, which was used in the 
churches for many years (from 1620 to 1732) , A 
version of the psalms by Sternhold and Hopkins 
was also used at an early period. In 1640 the Bay 
Psalm Book was joublished, and it was in use for 
more than a century. It was revised and improved 
in 1758 by Rev. Mr. Prince, pastor of the old South 
Church in Boston, and. was then reinstated in some 
places where it had been abandoned. 

In 1741 an edition of Watts' Psalms and Hynnis 
was published by Benjamin Franklin, and was 
extensively used, as was also " Tate and Brady's 
Book of Psalms and Metre" which appeared about 
the same time. 

In 1714 Rev. John Tufts, of IN^ewbury, Mass., 


published a small work on music, entitled " A very 
plain and easy introduction to the art of singing 
psalm tunes with the Cantus or trebles of twenty- 
eight Psalm Tunes contrived in such a manner as 
that the learner may attain the skill of singing them 
with the greatest ease and speed imaginable, by 
Rev. John Tufts. Price sixpence, or 5 shillings a 

This book was the first publication of the kind 
in 'New England, if not in America. As late as 
1700 there were not more than four or five tunes 
known in many of the congregations in this coun- 
try, and in some not more than two or three, and 
these were sung altogether by rote. These tunes 
were York, Hackney, St. Mary's, Windsor, and 
Martyrs. To publish at this time a book containing 
as many as twenty-eight tunes was a daring inno- 
vation on the custom so long in vogue, and the 
book had to make its way to public favor through 
much prejudice. The attempt to teach singing by 
note was strenuously resisted by those who believed 
that religion should be purely spiritual, and that 
religious worship should have in it nothing sensa- 
tional, nothing for show. A writer in the ^ew 
England Chronicle, in 1723, observes, " Truly I 
have a great jealousy that if we once begin to 
sing by rule, the next thing will be to pray by rule 
and preach by rule, and then comes popery." The 
tunes in this book were in three parts, and purely 

In 1721 Rev. Thomas Walter, of Roxbury, pub- 
lished a work on music entitled " The grounds and 
rules of music explained, or an introduction to the 


singing' by note fitted to the meanest capacity." In 
his preface he says, " The tunes sung now in our 
churches are tortured and twisted into a horrid med- 
ley. ISTo two churches sing them alike, all being 
left to fancy and the unskilful throats of the sing- 
ers." In 1764 Josiah Flagg, of Boston, published 
a book containing one hundred and sixteen tunes 
and two anthems, the first book printed in America 
with the music in four parts. At a little latter 
period, 1770, a singing book by Mr. Billings was 
published which became very popular. During the 
closing years of the last century hymn books were 
introduced, and with them came the bass viol and 
other instruments. 

Of those who have led the singing in meeting 
in Sutton, old Mr. Jacob Davis was long remem- 
ber d as a very excellent leader, with a beautiful 
voice for singing. Jonathan Harvey was an excel- 
lent leader, and his brother Philip also: the latter 
used to play the bass viol. Dea. Josiah ^NTichols 
was also a superior choir leader. Daniel Whitcomb 
used to lead the singing for the Universalists and 
on other occasions, being competent, and always 
ready when needed, owing to his fondness for 

Religious Meetings before the Meeting- 
Houses WERE Built. 

As elsewhere stated in this work, James King 
and William Pressey owned the first frame houses 
built in this town. Ezra Littlehale's was the third 
frame house Imilt in Sutton. The owners of these 

344 HISTORY or suttoist. 

houses were very hospitable, and before there were 
any meeting-houses built, willingly opened their 
doors for the purpose of religious worship. In the 
winter the meeting was held in the house, and if, 
in the summer, the house could not acconnnodate 
all, the barn was used. James King not only had 
them meet on his premises for worship, but gave 
all who could stay to partake of it, their suppers 
before they left. 

Mr. Littlehale was a very neat man, and his well 
kept barn was by no means a bad place to hold 
meetings in, — the floor being cleanly swept, seats 
all around with an alley-way through, the minister 
about midway, and the great doors open at each end 
to let in the summer air and light. 

Mrs. Col. John Harvey remembered to have been 
present in that barn on the occasion of the baptism 
of her mother, Mrs. Joseph Greeley, Sen. It was 
a lovely summer day, and all the people went in 
procession from the barn to the brook where bap- 
tism was administered, singing as they went. After 
the baptism, they had the communion in the barn. 
The minister on this occasion was Elder Bial Le- 
doyt, then located, temporarily at least, in I^^ewport, 
a man who had great success as an itinerant reviv- 
alist preacher. According to her remembrance of 
his appearance, he was a short, thick man. This 
took place about 1793. 

Ministerial Fuis^d. 

This town has a fund arising from the sale of 
lands, reserved by charter for the support of the 
gospel, the interest of which has amounted to sixty 


dollars a year. Each religious body draws annu- 
ally from this interest a sum proportioned to the 
number of its members. The following table, made 
out for 1848, shows what was the relative strength 
of each body : 

In 1848 the Universalists drew $27.06 

Free- Will Baptists, 15.85 

First Baptists (Calvinists), 7.58 

Second Baptists (Calvinists). 3.68 

Methodists, 2.81 

Second Adventists, 3.02 

In 1868 — twenty years later — the Universalists drew 14.72 

Free- Will Baptists, 22.51 

Calvinist-Baptists (two churches reunited), 4.37 

Methodists, 3.22 

Second Adventists, ' 10.35 

Spiritualists, 4.83 

In 1887 the Free-Will Baptists drew 27.28 

In 1886 the Calvinist-Baptists drew 5.35 

In 1884, '85, and '86 the Spiritualists drew 19.10 

In 1886 the Second Adventists drew 5.72 

In 1845 the Universalists drew 19.56 

In 1874 the Universalists drew 13.60 

In 1866, '67, and '68 the Methodists drew 9.41 

The Methodists have existed in town, as a body, 
for many years — sixty or seventy — though, as the 
preceding tables show, they are not numerous. 

Christian Baptist — A small society, in existence 
for several years. 

The Spiritualists organized in 1858. Their steady 
increase for several years drew largely from the 
ranks of the Universalists. 

The Adventists — There were some in town as 
early as 1841. Their number increased so, that in 
1847 they organized. 

346 history of suttok. 

Ordination of Elder I^athan Champlix at 
Lyme, Connecticut, February 13, 1800.^ 

The Baptist church of Christ under the pastoral care of Elder 
Jason Lee, having received reasonable satisfaction that our brother 
Nathan Champlin jr, is called of God to the work of an evangeliz- 
ing preacher, and therefore proceeded as follows to set hini apart 
by prayer and the laying on of hands. The church chose Elder 
Jason Lee to make the first prayer and lay on hands with Dea. 
Reuben Chadwick and brethren Samuel Tinker, Edward Austin 
and WiUiam Tinker to give the Right hand of Fellowship, and 
brother William Tinker to make the last prayer, aU of which was 
performed in decency and profound solemnity. 

The Charge. 

We charge you to preach the Word. Be instant in season and 
out of season ; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all long suffering and 
doctrine, but watch thou in all things, — endure affliction ; do the 
work of an Evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry. Further- 
more we charge you to administer the ordinance of Baptism to such 
as shall give scriptural evidence of their faith in Jesus Christ, by 
immersing the whole body, all over, under water, in the name of 
the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. 

Furthermore we charge you to break the bread and pour out the 
wine to the church of Clirist, which he purchased with his own 
blood, wherever God, in his providence, shall call you to travail. 

Furthermore we charge you to keep this charge unexceptionable 
and unrebukable until the coming of the Chief Shepherd, who is 
the only Potentate, King of kings, and Lord of lords, Amen. 

Signed by order and in behalf of the clih. 

Jason Lee, ch. Clerk. 

' See Sutton Calvinist Baptist Church Records. 



The first Universalist Society in the state of 'New 
Hampshire was formed in Portsmouth as early as 
1781. The first in our section of the state was 
formed in Boscawen in 1802, being composed of 
persons resident in Boscawen and a few from other 
towns in the vicinity. From this date UniversaUst 
sentiments continued to spread; and in 1805, June 
13, those professing and adopting the behef were 
recognized as a distinct religious sect by the legis- 
lature of the state. The object of the Universalists, 
as well as of all the other Christian denominations 
in this state, which, about the same date, made their 
successful effort to secure this same ofi&cial recogni- 
tion, was to protect their members from obligation 
to pay for the support of any preaching except that 
according with their own choice or belief. This 
could be secured by presentation of a certificate of 
membership of some one of the recognized religious 
denominations by the individual so desiring. JSTot 
till the passage of the Toleration Act in 1819 were 
the people of ]N^ew Hampshire freed from individual 
legal obligation to support preaching by a minister 
of some one of the recognized religious sects. 

The earliest attempt at association for the pur- 
pose of securing some liberal preaching in Sutton 

348 HISTORY or sutton^. 

seems to have been made in 1817. At that date a 
few mdividuals drew up and subscribed their names 
to the following constitution. 

This association was the nucleus around which 
gathered what afterwards became the Universalist 
society and church. It commenced its existence 
under the name of 

" The Universal Friendly Society." 

More than twenty years prior to his death, Dea. 
Joseph Harvey, of the Universalist church, called 
the attention of the writer to this document, and 
requested that it might have a place in the History 
of Sutton. 


We, whose names are underwritten, believing in the universal 
love and benevolence of God to a dying world, and that the doctrine 
of impartial salvation of human nature is calculated not only to exalt 
the character of God, and humble the pride of man, but it is also 
calculated to inspire man with true love and piety towai'ds God, and 
love to one another ; and feeling impressed that it is our indispensa- 
ble duty to use our best endeavors to support and maintain this 
heavenly doctrine as it is exhibited in the Gospel of our Lord and 
Saviour Jesus Christ, which proclaims peace on earth and good-will 
toward men ; — 

We, therefore, for the purpose of favoring the design of promot- 
ing and encouraging the preached Gospel, have thought fit, and do 
hereby covenant and agree to form ourselves into a religious society, 
to be called and known by the name of the Universal Friendly Soci- 
ety in Sutton : and we agree to adopt the following rules and regu- 
lations as the constitution of said society : 

[Articles 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 relate merely to money and business 
matters, and need not be here transcribed.] 

Article 7. Any person desirous to become a member of the soci- 
ety, by his subscribing his name to these by-laws, and conforming 


to all the rides and regulations thereof, shall be considered a mem- 
ber, and be entitled to all the privileges of said society. 

Article 8. Any person who shall be desirous to leave said society, 
and withdraw his or her membersliip, and shall manifest the same 
to the society, shall have full liberty to do so by his or her paying 
all dues to the society, and their names shall be erased from these 

Article 9 relates to alterations of by-laws. 

Article 10. The first three persons who shall subscribe their 
names to these by-laws shall be considered authorized, and are 
hereby directed, to call the first meeting of said society. 

Dated at Sutton, February 11, 1817. 

Thomas Pike. Amos Pressey. 

John Harvey, Jr. James Brocklebank. 

Joseph Pike. James Brocklebank, Jr. 

Gordon Huntley. Eliphalet Gay. 
William Bean. 

The date of organization of the UniversaUst 
Society in Sntton has not been learned by the 
present writer. Bnt Farmer & Moore's iV. H. 
Gazetteer, for the year 1823, nnder the head of 
Sntton, says " There is here a society of Univer- 

In 1848 the Universalists of Sntton had so in- 
creased in numbers that they drew of the town's 
Minister money, as their proportion of the same, 
$27.06, nearly one half of the whole amount. 

Soon after that date, the rapid increase in the 
Spiritualists' ranks drew largely from the Univer- 

Since their existence as a Society, the Universal- 
ists have held a respectable rank, numerically and 
morally. They, like the other religious bodies 
in town, have usually sustained preaching a certain 
part of the Sundays in every month, though, like 


most of the others, there have occurred inter- 
regnums of greater or less duration. Thej have 
occasionally been favored with sermons from some 
of those who have been, and still are, considered 
the Fathers of their faith and Ijright lights in their 
denomination. The writer remembers to have 
heard hini who is now the Rev. Dr. A. A. Miner, of 
Boston, preach in the Xorth meeting-house more 
than once. Streeter, Ballon, and AYhittemore have 
also preached occasionall}'^ in the same place. 

Rev. Joseph Sargent preached here about 1840, 
and for some years afterward. He was a resident 
of the town during his term of service here, which 
very few of the Universalist ministers have been. 
He was quite talented as a preacher, and was much 
respected as a citizen. During Mr. Sargent's 
period of service here the Universalist church was 
formed. The following is the record of its forma- 
tion : 

Orgaxizatiox of the U> Church est Suttox. 

The friends of Universalism in the town of Sutton and vicinity 
met at the Mill village meeting-house in said Sutton, on Thursday, 
the 15th day of December, 1842, for the purpose of organizing a 

After listening to a sermon from Rev. Wm. S. CiUey, of Stod- 
dard, the following constitution was adopted and subscribed to : 


We, whose names are affixed to this instrument, beheving that it 
is our duty to make a publick profession of our faith, and feeling 
sensible that our happiness and our gi'owth in vii'tue and grace de- 
pend in a great degree under God upon our obedience to the divine 
requisitions and upon our observance of the ordinances and institu- 
tions of Christ, do hereby unite ourselves into a church that we may 


watch over each other in love, and enjoy all the advantages of the 
visible church of God on the earth ; and we adopt the following pro- 
fession of faith and form of church government : 

Profession of Faith. 

1. "We believe in the existence of one God, the Creator of the 
universe, Giver of life and every blessing, who is infinite in wisdom, 
power, and goodness, and in every possible perfection. 

2. We believe in Jesus the Christ, the Son of God, the promised 
Messiah, and Saviour of the world. 

3. We believe in the Sci-lptures of the Old and New Testament 
as being a revelation from God, as containing rules for the regiUa- 
tion of our conduct in all the relations and circumstances of life, as 
declaring the character and government of God, the rewards of vir- 
tue, the punishments of vice, and also revealing the great truth of 
the final reconciliation of all things to God, so that he at last shall 
be all in all. 

4. We believe it to be the duty of Cliristians to meet together on 
the first day of the week for publick worship, to seek their advance- 
ment in knowledge and virtue by reading the Scriptui'e and attend- 
ing to the means of grace, to abstain from vice yf every descrip- 
tion, and to imitate as far as possible the perfections of God and the 
examples of the Lord Jesus Clirist. 

Form of Church Government. 

Article 1. The church shall hold an annual meeting for the pur- 
pose of choosing officers and transacting such other business as may 
be brought before it, and deemed necessary to its prosperity. 

Art. 2. The officers of the church shall consist of such a number 
of deacons as shall be thought requisite, of a clerk and treasurer. 
These officers shall be chosen by ballot annually, except the deacons, 
who shall continue in office during good behaviour, or until they 
resign. The duty of the clerk shall be to keep a true and faitliful 
record of all the proceedings of the church ; also, a list of all the 
members. The duty of the treasiu'er shall be to take care of all the 
furniture of the church, to receive all money collected on commun- 
ion days, and to keep a regular account thereof. The duty of the 
deacons shall be to furnish the table, to assist in the celebration of 
the Lord's supper. It shall also be their duty to inquire into and 


relieve the wants of the poor of the church and society as far as 
they may be enabled so to do by collections taken for charitable 

Art. 3. Any person giving assent to the profession of faith, and 
desiring to become a member of this church, may make his or her 
request known to the pastor of the society, or to either of the dea- 
cons. After one month he or she shall become a member if ap- 
proved by a majority of the members present at any meeting of the 
church. Each member shall sign the confession of faith and form 
of cliurch government. 

Art. 4. If any member wishes to withdraw from the church, by 
making their request known in writing they shall have the privilege 
of so doing. 

Art. 5. It shall be the duty of the church to deal with offending 
members according to the directions given by our Saviour in Mat- 
thew xviii, 15, 16, 17, and Luke xvii, 3, 4. The chvu-ch, however, 
disclaims all authority over obstinate offenders, except the mere 
withdrawal of fellowship. 

Art. 6. Any of the foregoing articles of Church Government may 
be altered, amended, or stricken out, or others may be annexed by a 
vote of two thirds of the members of the church. 

Members of the Church. 

Reuben Porter. Moses Nelson. 

Reuel Noyes. Belinda Bolionan. 

William Currier. Levi Flanders. 

Hannah Russell. Dolly Nelson. 

Seth Russell, Jr. Jonathan Johnson, Jr. 

Mary Porter. Miranda Martin. 

Johnson Colby. David Bohonan. 

Polly I. Blaisdell. Mary Jane Harriman. 

Asa Page. Harris Biu-pee. 

Meliitable Harvey. Sarah Hoyt. 

Francis F. Blaisdell. Noah T. Andrews. 

Nancy Bean. Lucretia R. Withee. 

Ebenezer Stevens. Sarah F. Flanders. 

Theodore Abbott. John Andrew. 
Mr. and Mrs. Edmond P. Dodge. Sarah Johnson. 

Nathan Burpee. Uriah Ager. 


Margaret Ager. Joseph Harvey. 

Benj. E. Harriman. Mary S. Bean. 

Lucincla Sargent. William Porter. 

Stephen Davis. Mary Abbott. 

Sally Andrews. William T. Norris. 

February 18, 1843. 

Met agreeable to adjournment ; after prayer, proceeded to busi- 

Voted that the annual meeting be held on the first Saturday o£ 
January, at 12 o'clock noon. 

Voted to choose two deacons. 

Chose Levi Flanders first deacon. 

Requested Jolinson Colby to serve as second deacon until one is 

Chose Johnson Colby clerk. 

Chose Reuben Porter treasurer. 

Voted, the third article of the Church Government be amended 
so as to read three weeks instead one month. 

Voted, the clerk make out twelve copies of the articles of faith 
and a list of the names of members for distribution. 

Voted to raise a subscription to procure church vessels for com- 

Voted to take a collection to defray incidental charges, and 
received $1.33. 

Voted to celebrate the Lord's Supper once in two montlis. 

Voted, that members be received into the chiu'ch by formally 
extending to them the right hand of fellowship. 

Feb. 17, 1844. Chose Johnson Colby clerk, and Reuben Porter, 

April 19, 1845. 

The church met agreeable to notice. After prayer by Bro. Sar- 
gent, chose Asa Page, moderator ; Johnson Colby, clerk ; Reuben 
Porter, treasurer ; Johnson Colby, deacon. 

Voted to suspend balloting for deacon, and requested Joseph 
Harvey to serve as deacon. 

Voted, The treasurer furnish the emblems for communion. 

Voted to accept the following resolution : 

Whereas, we unite in church fellowship for the purpose [of pro- 
moting the doctrine of universal grace and salvation, improving our 


own souls and inculcating all the moral principles of the Christian 
religion — Therefore resolved, that the capacity of a church mem- 
ber is a sacred and ho\j capacity. 

Resolved, that we should live in peace and harmony, guarding 
asfainst all bitterness ; should aim to live in union and true Chris- 
tian fellowship. 

Resolved, that in carrying out the principles of temperance and 
liberty, and in exercise of our political rights, we do not wish to 
trammel or control the mind or conscience of any brother or sister, 
but are willing that all should have the full and free exercise of 
their consciences, provided they live within the requirements of the 

No further records found on the church books. 

The church finally disbanded. 

Reference to the record-book of the society shows the following 
named persons to have preached here at different times : 

Rev. Robert Stinson. (See sketch.) 

Rev. Robert Bartlett. 

Rev. E. W. Coffin, 1862-'63-'64. 

Rev. Joseph P. Atkinson, 1865. 

Rev. Thompson Barron. 

Rev. McKenney. 

Rev. Sanford P. Smith, 1875. 

Rev. Milburn. 

The record shows that others have preached for the society whose 
names are not given, there being frequent mention in the treasurer's 
report of money paid for "pulpit service" in different years. 

Universalist Society. 

February 25, 1860, the following officers were chosen: 
Asa Page, President. 

Benjamin T. Putney, Secretary and Treasurer. 
Executive Committee — Asa Page, Thomas W. Nelson, George 
W. Roby, Jacob B. Nelson, Seth Russell. 

1861. Benjamin T. Putney, Secretary and Treasurer. 
Executive Committee — George Putney, Asa Page, George W. 

Roby, Jacob B. Nelson, Johnson Colby. 

1862. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, Jacob B. Nelson, George Put- 
ney, Johnson Colby, Jolm Pressey. 


1864. Lewis Richards, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Lewis Richards, Ervin Nelson, Josiah P. 
Nelson, Jolm Pressey. 

1866. Lewis Richards, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Lewis Richards, John Pressey, Harris 
Burpee, Jacoh B. Nelson, Asa Page. 

1867. John Pressey, Chairman. 
Albert Nelson, Secretary and Treasurer. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, Jacob B. Nelson, Lewis Rich- 
ards, Seth Russell, John Pressey. 

1868. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, Lewis Richards, Moses S. 
Blaisdell, Johnson Colby, John Pressey. 

1869. Executive Committee — Asa Page, Levris Richards, George 
Fellows, John Pressey, .Josiah P. Nelson. 

1870. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — George Fellows, Asa Page, Josiah P. 
Nelson, Jolm Pressey, Joseph K. Nelson. 

1871. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, Moses S. Blaisdell, John Pres- 
sey, Josiah P. Nelson, .Johnson Colby. 

1872. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Connnittee — Moses S. Blaisdell, Asa Page, Daniel 
Hardy, Jacob B. Nelson, Johnson Colby. 

1873. Jolm Pressey, Chairman. 

Executive Connnittee — Asa Page, Moses S. Blaisdell, John Pres- 
sey, Jacob B. Nelson, Daniel Hardy. 

1874. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, John Pressey, Moses S. Blais- 
dell, Josiah P. Nelson, Jolmson Colby. 

1875. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Moses S. Blaisdell, Secretary and Treasurer. 
Executive Committee — Asa Page, Moses S. Blaisdell, Joseph P. 

1876. Joseph P. Nelson, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Moses S. Blaisdell, Asa Page, John Pres- 
sey, Josiah P. Nelson. 

1877. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Asa Page, Moses S. BlaisdeU, John 

356 HISTORY or suttox. 

1878. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — Moses S. Blalsdell, Josiali P. Nelson, 
John Pressey. 

1879. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Jacob B. Nelson, Albert 
Nelson, John Pressey. 

1880. M. S. BlaisdeU, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Mrs. Robert Stinson, 
John Pressey. 

1881. John Pressey, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Albert Nelson, Jacob B. 

1882. Asa Page, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Josiah P. Nelson, Mrs. 
Robert Stinson. 

1883. Albert Nelson, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, John Pressey, Jacob B. 

1884. Albert Nelson, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Albert Nelson, Wm. H. 

1885. M. S. Blaisdell, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, Daniel Hardy, Jacob B. 

1886. Albert Nelson, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, John G. Huntoon, John 

1887. Augusta E. W. BlaisdeU, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, W. H. Chadwick, John 

1888. Oren M. Humphrey, Chairman. 

Executive Committee — M. S. Blaisdell, John Pressey, William 
H. Chadwick. 

Beniamin T. Putney served as secretary and treasurer from 1860 
to 1866 ; Albert Nelson, in 1867 ; Joseph P. Nelson, from 1868 to 
1874 ; M. S. BlaisdeU, from 1875 to present time. 

eeligious societies. 357 

Rev. Egbert Stinson^ (Uin'iversalist) , 

son of James and Sarah (Dickey) Stinson, was 
born on Low Plain, l^ew London, JST. H., Dec. 13, 
1817. He received his early edncation in the com- 
mon schools of his native town, and fitted for col- 
lege at ^ew London academy. In 1842 he entered 
the sophomore class at Dartmonth, having studied 
the first year's course at the academy. He was 
obliged to leave college before graduating, on 
account of ill-health. 

In early life he decided to make the ministry his 
profession, and accordingly, as soon as his health 
would permit after leaving college, commenced pre- 
paring himself for the work. Being a Universalist 
in belief, he placed himself under the tuition of 
Kev. Joseph Sargent, a Universalist minister then 
located in Sutton. 

He commenced preaching in 1814, and was 
ordained Sept. 2, 1847. The same day he was mar- 
ried to Kuth M. Andrews, daughter of Ebenezer 
and Hannah (Pressey) Andrews, of Sutton. He 
remained in charge of the Universalist society in 
Sutton, after his ordination, two years, and then 
preached at Acton, Mass., three years, at the same 
time teaching in the school-room during the week. 
Being urged to return to 'New Hampshire, in May, 
1852, he made arrangements to take charge of the 
societies at l!^ewport and Croydon, residing in 
JSTevvport. But the next year, his health failiug, he 
felt the necessity of giving up public speaking, and 
turned his attention to out-door pursuits. Dur- 
ing the following winter he travelled quite exten- 


sively in the Western and Southern states. In the 
sprmg of 1854 he commenced preaching again. 

AVhen the War of the Rebelhon broke out, his 
whole soul was enlisted in his country's cause. He 
was a born patriot, and if he could aid in anyway 
no sacrifice seemed too great. In the fall of 1861 
he enlisted, and encouraged others to do the same, 
not only with voice and pen, l^ut money was freely 
given by him. 

. He received his commission as chaplain of the 
6th X. H. Yols., Oct. 17, 1861. 

But the hardships and exposures of army life 
were more than his strength could endure, and in 
the following June he came home a mere wreck, 
with confirmed consumption. He had leave of 
absence, and hoped to be able to return to his regi- 
ment, but was obliged to send in his resignation in 
July. He died March 11, 1863. He was a man of 
much kindness of heart, a well ordered life, and 
good ministerial abilities. 

Wherever Mr. Stinson was located he was 
much esteemed, not only as a clergyman, but as a 
neighbor and citizen. The author of the His- 
tory of Croydon says of him, — " Rev. Robert Stin- 
son, a Universalist clergyman of most blameless 
life, was connected with the society in Croydon at 
the time of his appointment as chaplain of the 6th 
Regt. IS". H. Yols., and died much lamented soon 
after his return from the army." 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Stinson died in 

religious societies. 359 

Rev. Joseph Sarge:n^t, 

who is spoken of in the preceding sketch, was 
a native of Warner, where he was born abont the 
year 1816, being a son of Zebnlon Sargent. 

He was a high school teacher at times, but 
entered the ministry of the UniversaHst denomina- 
tion when a yonng man, in Pennsylvania, bnt did 
most of his ministerial work in ^N^ew Hampshire 
and Vermont. He was considered well adapted 
to his profession, and while in Sutton was much 
esteemed, and made friends among all classes. 
"Went from here to Yermont, where he preached 
many years. During the last war he was chaplain 
in one of the Yermont regiments, and died in the 
service, or very shortly after his return, at the age 
of about 50 years. He was considered quite tal- 
ented as a preacher. 

Calvixist Baptist Church. 

About the year 1850, Elder Charles Newhall and 
Samuel Dresser, Jr., prepared a brief but reliable 
account of this church — of its formation, and its 
progress for some sixty years afterwards. It is 
here copied verbatim: 

The first Baptist Church in Sutton was gathered in 1782, about 
twelve years after the first settlers came here. How long it con- 
tinued its visibility we cannot tell, as we have no written record of 
its existence or of its dissolution. But, as near as we can learn, it 
did not survive the close of the last centviry. 

During its continuance it was under the care of Rev. Samuel 
Ambrose, by whose efforts it was gathered. He was the first set- 
tled minister in town, and was settled by the town, as is shown by 
the fact that he received lands appropriated by charter for the first 


settled minister. His connection with the town as their minister 
ceased in 1795 ; but. with the exception of two years spent in New- 
ton, he remained a resident in Sutton till his death in 1830, at the 
age of 76. 

The present church was constituted November 24. 1803. consist- 
ing of thirteen brothers and sisters. The council that recognized 
the church was composed of delegates from the churches of New 
London and Grafton. The Newjjort church was also sent to. but 
we find m the Records of the Comicil no mention of its having 
been represented. 

Rev. Job Seamaus. of New London, was the Moderator. 

The next year, 1804, this church voted to join the Woodstock 
Association, and to send messengers to sit with that body at its 
anniversary at Alstead. Its members at tliis time, less than a year 
from its constitution, were, as appears by the records, thirty-two in 
number, a majority of whom had been members of the former 
church, converted doubtless under the preacliing of Elder Ambrose. 

Some tune prior to the formation of the last church a Mr. Sam- 
uel Applebee came into the town. He was a very devoted man. 
and his labors in visiting from house to house, conversing with and 
exhorting the people, and in preaching pubHcly, were greatly blest 
to the awakening of Christians and the conversion of sinners. 
[This is doubtless the Mr. Applebee spoken of in early Free- Will 
Baptist history, who afterwards left that denomination.] 

About the year 1805 Elder Nathan Champlin commenced preach- 
ing with this chui'ch. The number added during this year was 
twentv-one. makinor the total in 1806 to be sixtv-five. 

In 1811 Elder Champlin closed liis labors here. 

After that, Elder Pelatiah Chapin supplied preaching a part of 
the time. 

In 1812 Rev. William Taylor, afterwards of Michigan, was 
licensed by this church to preach. In 1814 he was set apart to the 
work of the gospel ministry. He continued a faithful and devoted 
minister of this church tiU 1816. Twenty-five were added during 
his ministry — seventeen in 1814 and eight in 1815. 

September 26, 1816, Reuel Lothrop was ordained. After labor- 
ing with this church two years, he was dismissed. The same year, 
1818, the church united with others in forming the Salisbury Asso- 

From 1818 to 1820 the church had no constant preaching. Elders 


Kendrick, of Cornish, and Hutchinson, of Newport, preached occa- 

In 1820 Rev. Nathan Aines wes ordained pastor of this church, 
and continued six years. A good degree of prosperity attended 
the church during his ministry. Number of members, one himdred 
and three. 

After Elder Ames left, Rev. Edward Mitchell preached with the 
church about two years, to good acceptance. 

In 1830 Elder Stephen Pillsbury became the pastor. The next 
year there was some revival and a few added to the church. In 
1834 and 1835 there was a more general revival of religion in 
this place than had been enjoyed for years. At the end of this 
period Elder Pillsbury closed his labors with this church as its min- 

In 1835, while brother Leonard Kimball was laboring with the 
church, another interesting revival occurred, making two in one 
year. After him Rev. Phineas Richardson preached some, and 
then Mr. John Barker, a student at New Hampton. 

In 1837 Rev. H. W. Strong commenced and continued till 1839. 
Then a difficulty arose, resulting in his withdrawal with twenty- 
seven members. 

In 1840 Rev. Isaac Sawyer preached some months, but finally 
found it necessary to return to his former home. 

Elder Henry Archibald labored with the church from 1841 to 

During the smnmer of 1845 brother A. Hovey, Principal of 
New London Academy, supplied the pulpit. 

In 1846 Rev. Philip Chamberlin supplied the pulpit one third of 
the Sabbaths in the year. 

John Hunt, a licentiate, preached one year. 

After he left, the church and society obtained the labors of Rev. 
C. Brown, of Warner, one fourth of the time. 

In 1848 Rev. Mark Carpenter preached. 

In 1848 the church employed Rev. Charles Newhall till 1852. 

Then J. M. Pitman preached. 

In 1854 G. W. Butler preached. 

In 1856 Manson A. Bigelow preached. 

In 1857 Valentine E. Bunker came here to preach, and was 
pastor some years. 

From 1864 to 1866 Rev. Stephen Coombs served this church. 


Prof. Ephraim Knight, of ]^ew London Institu- 
tion, was ordained in Sutton, and became pastor of 
the church in 1869. 

This church was largest in 1823 and 1824, the 
whole number of members at that time being one 
hundred and nine. Since that period there has 
been a gradual decrease, as the population of the 
town has decreased and other religious bodies have 

Concerning the early church, the church of 1782, 
it must be borne in mind that at its formation, and 
for a score of years afterwards, it represented almost 
the entire religious sentiment of the town. For 
the settlers, living scattered and lonely in the wil- 
derness of Perrystown, it formed a bond of social 
union as well as a spiritual home, and sorely they 
needed both in the hard, toilsome lives their circum- 
stances compelled them to lead. It passed away 
and left no written memorial of its existence; but 
yet, realizing how much that church was to our 
forefathers, we their descendants ought to cherish 
for its memory the same tender reverence we feel 
for an aged mother long after we cease to need her 
loving ministrations. 

After the retirement of Mr. Ambrose from their 
ministry, it appears that many of those living in the 
extreme northerly part of the town became con- 
nected with the ^N^ew London church, more or less, 
but after a few years a desire was felt to reorganize 
their own church. The following extracts from 
their records will show their proceedings in the 
matter : 


Extract from the Church Records. 

Nov. ye 8*^ 1803. 

Met according to appointment, and opened the meeting by prayer. 
Then proceeded to see how many brethren and sisters there were 
that coukl travel together, and were united in articles of faith, and 
found fifteen, viz., — 

Joseph Greeley H^psibah Gillingham 

Jonathan Eaton Lucy Davis 

Jonathan Roby Jane Eaton 

John Phelps Sally Fowler 

Gideon Wilkins Sarah Parker, 

Reuben Gile Judith Como. 

Elijah Eaton * 

James Taylor 
Benjamin Fowler . 

Then agreed upon Nov. ye 24"\ 1803, at the house of Benjamin 
Wadleigh Esq. to meet to form themselves into a church state. 

On this occasion they met and brother Samuel Applebee opened 
the meeting by prayer. 

Delegates from other churches being present, and also Elder Job 
Seamans, of New London, being present, voted that he act as Mod- 
erator, and Deacon Ebenezer Hunting, Scribe. Brother Benjamin 
Fowler presented a letter of dismission from the New London 
church, that he might join in church state with them. 

The articles of faith were then read and conversed upon, and 
found eleven brethren and six sisters agreed in the articles of faith 
to walk together. 

Then the brethren who were called on this occasion individually 
manifested their fellowship with these brethren and sisters, they 
having chosen brother Benjamin Fowler to receive the hand of fel- 
lowship with the church. 

Amos Parker and Frederic Wilkins baptised this day. 
Lord's Day, Nov. 27. Received Polly Wliittier into this church. 
Dec. ye 15"", 1803. The church, agreeable to appointment, met 
at Esq Wadleigh's and opened the meeting by prayer. Received 
by letter brother William Hogg into this church. 

Received sister Sally Messer and Abigail Hastings into the church. 
Voted and chose brother Benjamin Fowler Deacon of this clmrch. 
Voted that the church will have a communion as soon as they 
can obtain an Elder. 


In 1805 Elder N^athan Champlin was hired by 
the town as their minister for the ensuing year, and 
accepted by the church as such. The number 
added to the church that year was twenty-one, 
making the total sixty-eight. The next year, also, 
the church was prosperous, but in 1807, doubts 
having arisen in the minds of some as to Elder 
Champlin's soundness on the question of personal 
election, the church Avas thereafter in a tried and 
divided state, and finally, in 1809, concluded to call 
a council of sister churches, which met l^ovember 
29 and 30. After a full investigation, in which Mr. 
Champlin had leave and opportunity to defend him- 
self, it appeared to the council that the charge 
against him of denying the doctrine of ^^ersonal 
election was proved. The council affectionately 
besought the church to consider Avhether they had 
done right in receiving the said elder into their 
church, and employing him as their preacher. At 
a meeting of the church, held soon after the session 
of this council, the church voted not to accept the 
advice of the council and the result of their inqui- 
ries. A year later a majority of the church took a 
difterent view of the case, and voted to rescind 
their last vote, and to accept the result of the coun- 
cil, substituting the word dishelieved for the word 
defiled in the charge against Mr. Champlin. His 
labors with this church as their minister closed in 

The effect of this dissension was most disastrous 
to the church for some two or three years. 

'religious societies. 365 

Itiisteeaxt Preachers. 

Says Belknap, in his History of ^ew Hamp- 
shire, — 

In some of the new towns, wliere the people were not able to 
siipport a minister, it was the custom for the clei'gymen of the elder 
towns to make itinerant excursions of several weeks to preach and 
baptize. Such itinerations have always been acceptable, and served 
to keep up a sense of religion in the scattered families. 

Of this class, probably, was the Elder Applebee, 
already mentioned, who having been originally of 
the Free-A¥ill Baptist persuasion, left that denomi- 
nation and gave his influence and aid to the Cal- 
vinist Baptists. 

Elder Bial Ledoyt, of ^N'ewport, is known to have 
made such "itinerations" to Sutton, in one of which 
he baptized Dea. Joseph Greeley, and his wife^ 
Dorothy (Sargent) Greeley. This must have been 
before the close of the last century, for this reason, 
that in 1800 Mr. Greeley is named on the town 
records as Dea. Greeley. 

Benjamin Fowler is spoken of on the town rec- 
ords as Dea. Fowler in 1795. It is a singular fact 
that Mr. Fowler should have been active in the for- 
mation of both the leading churches in Sutton. On 
the formation of the Baptist church of 1803, he was 
chosen deacon and clerk of the same, serving as 
deacon till 1811: ; and in 1816, two years afterward, 
his connection with this church ceased, as the church 
records show, and he must also at the same time 
have left the denomination and united with the 
Free-AVill Baptists in Sutton, among whom his 
qualities as a leader and organizer seem to have 


been brought into immediate requisition. Hitherto 
they had existed in a ehnreh state in connection 
with their fellow-behevers in I^ewbuiy. About this 
time they were taking' measures to form themselves 
into a church by themselves. The record of the 
Quarterly Conference, held in Salisbury, May 31, 
1817, has the following entry: "Church in Sutton 
received into fellowship by the desire of Dea. Ben- 
jamin Fowler, in behalf of his brethren, sixteen in 
number." Deacon Fowler removed from this town 
soon after 1821, having for more than a quarter of 
a century exercised a decidedly controlling influ- 
ence over its religious institutions. 


[Those names which have the abbreviation " ord." attached are 
the names of those ordained by the agency of this church.] 

Rev. Samuel Ambrose, 1782 to 1795. 
Nathan Champlin, 1805 to 1811. 
Pelatiah Chapin, 1811 to 1813. 
William Taylor, ord., 1813 to 1816. 
Reuel Lothrop, ord., 1816 to 1818. 
Nathan Ames, ord., 1819 to 1826. 
Edward Mitchell, lie, 1828 to 1830. 
Stephen Pillsbury, 1830 to 1835. 
Leonard Kimball, lie, 1835. 
Phineas Richardson, 1836 to 1837. 
Harrison W. Strong, 1837 to 1839. 
Isaac Sawyer, 1840. 
Henry Archibald, 1841 to 1845. 
Philip Chamberlin, 1846. 
John Hunt, lie, 1846 to 1847. 
Caleb Brown, 1848. 

Note. During the summer of 1845, A. Hovey, principal of New London academy, 
■supplied tlu' pulpit. Also in 1856, Manson A. Bigelow, a student at New London, 
preached some to Sutton churcli. 


Charles Newhall, oi-d., 1848 to 1852. 
J. M. Pitman, 1852. 
G. W. Butler, 1854 to 1856. 
Lyman Culver, 1856 to 1858. 
Valentine E. Bunker, 1858 to 1865. 
StejAen Coombs, 1865. 
Prof. Ephraim Knight, ord., 1869. 
Timothy B. Eastman, 1873 to 1878. 
Prof. Peaslee, of New London Academy, preached some about 
this date. 

William Libby, 1879 to 1886. 

The chiu'ch has had no settled minister since Elder Libby left, 
and has had preaching only a part of the time. 

From 1818 to 1820, the church had no constant preaching, but 
was occasionally supplied by Elder Kendrick, of Cornisb, and Elder 
Hutchinson, of Newjjort. 

From 1826 to 1828, Elder Kendrick, of Cornish, preached occa- 
sionally for this church. 

Rev. Caleb Brown, who preached for this church occasionally in 
1848, was then resident in Warner. 

Rev. G. W. Butler was of Shirley, Mass. He died Sejjtember 
15, 1858, at Berlin Heights, Ohio, aged 42. 

Nathan Champlin died in western New York, aged about 55. 

Peltiah Chapin, of Campton, died in Campton near the year 
1840, aged more than 90 years. 

Stephen Pillsbury was baptized by Rev. Samuel Ambrose. United 
with this church in or about the year 1812. Died in Londonderry, 
aged about 70. 

Isaac Sawyer died in Vermont, or New York, in 1846, aged near 
75. He had six sons, preachers in the Baptist denomination. Father 
Sawyer was long held in grateful remembrance by the church in 

William Taylor died in Michigan in 1852, aged 68. 


Matthew Harvey and Benjamin Fowler were deacons of the 
church constituted in 1782. At the reorganization of the church 
in 1803, Benjamin Fowler was elected deacon, and continued to 
serve till 1814. 


Joseph Greeley. 

Gideon Wilkins, chosen in 1814, served till 1818. 
Asa Nelson, chosen in 1816, served till 1829. 
Josiah Nichols, chosen in 1823, served till 1869 (died). 
Ezekiel Little, chosen in 1819, served till 1823, and also another 
term ; chosen in 1832, served till 1843. 

Benjamin Farrar, chosen in 1829, served till 1836. 
John Felch, chosen in 1849, served till 1877 (died). 
James Stevens, chosen in 1849, served till 1851. 
James M. Sargent, chosen in 1869, served till present date. 

Chukch of 1782. 

The town records show the names of the follow- 
ing- persons who were deacons during the existence 
of the early church of 1782 : 

Dea. Matthew Harvey, Dea. Benjamin Fovk^ler, Dea. Joseph 
Greeley. Of these three, Mr. Harvey died in 1799. Mr. Fowler 
was chosen deacon of the second church on its formation in 1803. 
Mr. Greeley was also chosen a deacon of this church at a later 
period, but the date is not found. 


Benjamin Fowler, chosen in 1803, served till 1809. 

William Taylor, chosen in 1809, served till 1815. 

Josiah Nichols, chosen in 1815, served till 1816. 

Reuel Lothrop, chosen in 1816, served till 1818. 

Josiah Nichols, chosen in 1818, served till 1820. 

Ezekiel Little, chosen in 1820, served till 1822. 

John Harvey, chosen in 1822, served till 1823. 

Josiah Nichols, chosen in 1823, served till 1826. 

James Stevens, chosen in 1826, served till 1828. 

Benjamin Farrar, chosen in 1828, served till 1833. 

Ezekiel Little, chosen in 1833, served till 1836. 

Samuel Dresser, chosen in 1836, served till 1862. 

George S. French, chosen in 1862, served tiU present date. 

religious societies. 369 

Missionary Work. 

A. record shows that a Female Missionary So- 
ciety commenced operations in 1836, and in 1839 a 
more general movement of the church, in which 
both male and female members participated, com- 

Names on the Record of the Female Missionary Society of 1836. 

Sarah E. Dresser, Elvira A. Challis, 

Jennet G. Eaton, Cyrena L. Strong, 

Mary Challis, Lois H. Nichols, 

Louisa Roby, Abigail M. Stevens. 
Helen M. Kezar, 

IN^ames of many of those who were members of 
the Calvinist Baptist Church during the early part 
of this century, with some notes concerning them. 

Jonathan Eaton. 
Jonathan Roby, died 1824. 
James Taylor. 
William Taylor. 
Elijah Eaton, died 1818. 
Elijah Eaton, Jr., dismissed October, 1831. 
Reuben Gile. 

Gideon Wilkins, dismissed 1818. 
John Phelps. 
Joseph Greeley. 
Benjamin Fowler. 
Amos Parker. 
John Howlett. 
Phineas Stevens. 
Daniel Messer. 
Nathaniel Bean. 
John Davis. 
Enoch Johnson. 


Nathan Champlin. 

Philip N. Roby. 

Stephen Pillsbuiy. 

Dea. William Gunnison, died March, 1831. 

Dea. Asa Nelson, died May 31, 1837, age 83. 

Samuel Dresser. 

Hepsibah Gillingham, died January 29, 1834. 

Sarah Messer, died 1828. 

Clarissa Parker. 

Sarah Parker. 

Sarah Parker, 2d. 

Lucy Davis. 

Lucy Wheeler. 

Lois Wheeler. 

Rebecca Davis. 

Abiah Roby. 

Mary Peaslee, died December, 1830. 

Polly Hildreth, married Hunt, Danville, Vt. 

Sally Phelps, dismissed 1829. 

Hannah Phelps, died 1827. 

Hannah Wadleigh, died December 4, 1836. 

Rachel Kimball (Watson), died June, 1838. 

Sally Gile. 

Mehitabel Carr, died. 

Sally Roby. 

Bathsheba Richardson. 

Betsey Richardson. 

Anna Davis. 

Mehitabel Stevens. 

Lydia Atwood, died 1838. 

Abigail Emerson. 

Susanna Crosby. 

Hannah Eaton. 

Sally Barnard. 

Eleazer Emerson, died March 22, 1835, received 1818. 

Daniel Woodward, received 1810, died September, 1827. 

Jonathan Roby, Jr. 

Eleazer Emerson, Jr. 

Anna Taylor. 

John Chellis— d. 1824. 


Josiah Nichols, Jr. 

Joseph Pillsbury. 

James Messer. 

Daniel Wheeler— d. April 12, 1840. 

Reuel Lothrop — dismissed 1818. 

Thomas Davis— Rec'd 1816. 


1817— d. 1849. 




Frederic Wilkins, 

Benjamin Wells, 

Gideon Davis, Jr., 

Ezekiel Little, 

Nathan Ames, 

Patty or (Martha) Kezar. 

Jane Eaton. 

Polly Wliittier. 

Judith Coomer (or Como) wife of Francis Como — d. July 5, 

Abigail Hastings. 
SaUy Wilkins. 
Polly Roby— d. 1817. 
Abigail Wliittier. 
Elizabeth Colburn. 
Sally Messer 2d. 
Molly Williams. 
Elizabeth Bean. 

Sally Nelson (Taylor), dismissed 1816. 
Hannah Hall. 
Delia King. 
Susanna Evans. 
Margery Morgan. 
Betsey Parker — d. Dec. 1829. 
Rachel Davis. 
Hannah Adams. 
Sally Cutting. 

Eunice CheUis— d. Oct. 28, 1820. 
David Ambrose— Rec'd Dec. 17, 1820. 
Ruth Littlehale. 
Lydia Littlehale. 
Mary Emory. 
SaUy French. 
Hannah Nichols — d. May 1830. 


Abigail Nichols. 
Mary Nichols— Rec'cl 1816. 
Mary Wells— d. 1838. 
Dorothy (Sargent) Greeley — d. 1835. 
Dolly Bean— d. 1825. 
Abigail Kendrick. 
Abigail Stevens. 
Elizabeth Austin. 
Hannah Austin — d. Jan. 1836. 
Mary Chellis. 

Sarah Messer, Sally Richardson — Rec'd Sept. 15, 1823. 
. Phebe Phelps. 

Susan Ambrose — Rec'd 1816, dismissed 1828. 

Sally Ambrose. 

Esther Ambrose— Rec'd 1834, d. June 26, 1841. 

Tryphena Davis " 1816. 

Susanna Nelson — d. 1838. 

Mary Wheeler. 

AUce Flanders Rec'd 1817. 

Charlotte Flint " " 

Hannah Davis " " 

Mary Dane " " 

Daniel Dane " 1829, dismissed 1833. 

Clarissa Wood " 1817. 

Lois Kelley " " 

Hannah Kelley 

Tabitha Emerson — Rec'd 1817. 

Judith Kelley— Rec'd 1818. 

Lucy Kelley— Rec'd 1818. 

Lydia Roby— Rec'd Nov. 22, 1818, dismissed May 15, 1842. 

Abigail Persons — dismissed Nov. 21, 1818. 

Betsey Woodward— Rec'd Feb. 23, 1819. 

Lydia Woodward " " d. 1827. 

Anna Richardson. 

Lydia Barnard. 

Sally Kimball— d. 1822. 

Dolly Chellis— d. May 1832. 

Ruth Felch— d. 1838. 

Pamelia Messer — d. 1828. 

Merriam Pillsbm-y — d. 1830. 


Susanna Pillsbiuy. 

Nath'l Eaton — dismissed Nov. 6, 1831. 

Nathan Phelps " " 

Benjamin Kendrick — dismissed 1831. 

Nath'l Eaton, Jr.— Rec'd 1831. 

Jubal Eaton — Rec'd by letter 1835, dismissed 1835. 

Lydia Parker, Hannah Bean, Jolm Harvey, Sally Harvey, 

Mary Farrar, Polly Gunnison — Rec'd May 28, 1821. 
Elisha Parker— Rec'd May 22, 1821. 
Moses Putney [went West], Jacob Bean, Benjamin Farrar, 

James Stevens, John Felch, Daniel Davis [dismissed 

Dec. 26, 1833], Hannah Felch, Mary Harvey, all rec'd 

July 1821. 
Nath'l Cheney, Sally Cheney, Betsey Parker, Jane Davis — 

Rec'd Sept. 10, 1821. 
Hannah Harvey, Rhoda Harvey, Rec'd Oct. 1821. 
Hannah Peters — Rec'd Dec. 30, 1821, dismissed 1835. 
Hezekiah Parker — Rec'd .June 7, 1822. 
John Learnard — Rec'd 1824, dismissed 1829. 
PriscUla Learnard — Rec'd 1824, dismissed 1828. 
Mary Burnap — Rec'd 1829, dismissed 1836. 
Sally Burnap " " 

Stephen Pillsbviry — Rec'd Apr. 2, 1830, dismissed 1835. 
Lavinia PiUsbury " " " 

Lucy Messer — Rec'd 1831. 
EUzabeth Eaton— Rec'd Oct. 2, 1831. 
Dolly Dresser— Rec'd Nov. 6, 1831. 
Syhda Davis u u 

Sally Eaton — Rec'd 1831. 
Samuel Jones — Rec'd 1834. 
William Whitney. 
Timothy Chellis. 
Ebenezer Cate. 
Lucy Bailey, Sarah Eaton, Sarah Hoyt — Dismissed Nov. 4, 

Louisa Roby— Rec'd Oct. 25, 1834. 
Elmina Chellis " " 

Dolly Chellis— Rec'd 1834. 
Dolly Little. 
Mary Collins. 


Emmeline Gate. 

Lois H. Nichols. 

Ruth Nichols. 

Cynthia Nichols. 

Sabrina R. Davis. 

Maria Baldwin. 

Mary K. Abbott— Rec'cl by letter May 1835. 

DoUy G. Carleton— Rec'd 1835. 

Sylvia Carleton " 

Margaret S. Carleton " » 

Samuel Dresser " 

John C. Little " 

William Taylor Bean " 

Dudley Bailey " 

SaUy Felch— Rec'd June 1835. 

Lucinda Colby " 

Saloma Little " 

Margery Gunnison " 

Helen M. Kezar " 

Louisa Hall " 

Sally Johnson " 

Lucy WeUs « 

SaUy Wells " 

Lydia Nelson " 

Malvina Bean — Rec'd 1838. 

SaUy Wheeler — dismissed 1854. 

Elder H. W. Strong joined the Church and became Pastor July 
2, 1837. His wife, Cyrena Strong, received July 2, 1837. 

[Elder Strong, with about twenty-five members of the church, 
seceded June 6, 1839. These formed themselves into a church 
state, and so continued for about ten years, and were commonly 
spoken of as the " New Church." In 1849 they retm^ned to the 
original church, and from that time the two bodies have existed as 
one and the same church.] 

Elder Isaac Sawyer, from Knowlesville, Vt., became pastor Aug. 
22, 1840. 

Elder Henry Archibald, also his companion, and son, Thomas W. 
Arcliibald, united with this church April 29, 1841. 

Some names not foimd on the Record of 1838, nor on that of 



1860, perhaps came in with the return of the seceding church in 
1849 : John Brockway, Jacob S. Harvey. 

Members of the 

Pastor — H. W. Strong. 
Samuel Dresser. 
Amos Parker. 
James Messer. 
Daniel Wheeler. 
Joseph Pillsbury. 
Thomas Davis. 
Benjamin Wells. 
Gideon Davis. 
Jonathan Roby. 
David Ambrose. 
Moses Putney. 
Daniel Dane. 
James Stevens. 
Jacob Bean. 
John Felch. 
Nath'l Cheney, Jr. 
Nathan Phelps. 
Jonathan Little. 
Samuel Jones. 
Ebenezer Gate. 
Timothy Ghallis. 
Samuel Dresser, Jr. 
John G. Little. 
William T. Bean. 
Gardner B. Gay. 
Henry Wheeler. 
Sarah Parker. 
Lucy Davis. 
Lois Wheeler. 
Rebecca Davis. 
Polly Hunt. 
Sally Gile. 
Abiah Roby. 
Mehitable Carr. 
Betsey Richardson. 

Baptist Church (Calyinist), 1838. 

Deacons — Josiah Nichols, Ezekiel Little. 
Anna Davis. 
Lydia Atwood. 
Sally Cheney. 
Abigail Nichols. 
Abigail Stevens. 
Sally French. 
Clarissa Parker. 
Susanna Pillsbury. 
Martha Kezar. 
Mary Wheeler. 
Mary Nichols. 
Tryphena Hunt. 
Charlotte Flint. 
Mary Dane. 
Hannah Roby. 
Tabitha Emerson. 
Lydia Woodward. 
Louisa Roby. 
Elmina Ghallis. 
Lydia Nelson. 
Mary Collins. 
Lois H. Nichols. 
Ruth W. Nichols. 
Sabrina Davis. 
Cynthia Nichols. 
Helen M. Kezar. 
Sally Johnson. 
Sally WeUs. 
Margaret Carleton. 
Louisa Hall. 
Dorothy Carleton. 
Elizabeth Austin. 
Sally Wheeler. 
Sally Harvey (Col. John). 
Hannah Bean. 



Polly Gunnison. 

Mary Harvey (Col. Philip). 

Hannah Felch. 

Sally Cheney, 2cl. 

Hannah Harvey. 

Mary Challis. 

Sarah Messer. 

Sally Richardson. 

Lucy Messer. 

Elizabeth Eaton. 

Dolly C. Dresser. 

Sylvia Davis. 

Esther Ambrose. 

Dorothy H. Challis. 
Dolly Little. 
Emmeline Cate. 
Lucinda Colby. 
Dolly G. Carleton. 
Maria Baldwin. 
Sarah Felch. 
Salome Little. 
Margery M. Gunnison. 
Lucy Wells. 
Syrena Strong. 
Malvina Bean. 
Mrs. Gardner B. Gay. 

Died in 1838 — Susanna Nelson, Mary Wells, Rachel Kimball. 
Died in 1839 — Lydia Atwood, Sarah Parker. 
August 29, 1840. Died since last Association — Daniel Wheeler 
and Esther Ambrose. 

Resident Male Members in 1860. 

Pastor — Valentine E. Bunker.^ 
Deacons — J. Nichols, J. Felch. 

Enoch P. Cummings. 

Moses P. Cheney. 

Gideon D. Felch. 

John Chadwick. 

George S. French. 

Andrew J. Phelps. 

Samuel C. Dresser. 
Edmund Richardson. 
Joseph P. Chase. 
Nathaniel Cheney. 
Joseph Pillsbury. 
William Taylor Bean. 

Non-Resident Male Members in 1860. 

Amos Parker, New London or Wilmot. 

Nathan Phelps. 

Gardner B. Gay, Mason, N. H. 

Jonathan F.Williams. 

Matthew H. Sargent. 

iln the fall of 1863 Elder Bunker made a journey to the South and West to get the 
remains of dead soldiers. 



Najvies of Female Members in 1860. 

Sally Harvey. 
Sarah D. Bean. 
Abigail G. Pillsbui-y. 
Tabitha Chadwick. 
Malvina B. Felch. 
Judith R. Peaslee. 
Hannah Worth. 
Sabrina D. Bunker. 
Elizabeth S. Towle. 
Sarah W. Bailey. 
Catharine J. Sargent. 
Rhoda Bunker. 
Mary J. Merrill. 
Joanna Phelps. 
Sarah Ann Jacknian. 
Jane Phelps. 

Aknira M. Harvey 

Joanna Morgan. 
Hannah Fifield. 
Margaret Fifield. 
Mary A. Kezar. 
Mary Ann Felch. 
Roxana J. Bean. 
Elizabeth B. Chadwick. 
Mary C. French. 
Sally Wells, at the West. 
Lucy Gay, Mason, N. H. 
Mary A. Chadwick (Baker). 
Dolly C. Emery, Andover. 
Susan Morgan, at the West. 
Harriet M. Muzzy, Newport. 
Mary ]\Iarshall. 
Lucy W. Dresser, 
(widow of Jacob S. Harvey). 

.Mary Wheeler, widow of Daniel Wheeler, died in Warner, 1862 
or 1863. 

Sally Johnson, consort of Elder Isaac Peaslee, died April, 1863. 
Sabrina Chase, wife of Bro. Joseph Chase, died in July, 1863. 

Names of Those who have United with this Church since 


James M. Sargent. 
Prof. E. Knight. 
Milton B. Wadleigh. 
Rev. Timothy B. Eastman. 
Jonas Foristall. 
Allen O. Crane. 
Rev. William Libby. 
Mary Addie Felch. 
Flora M. Crane. 
Hannah B. Fisk. 
Emogene Keyser. 

Lucinda Parker. 
Sarah H. Garner. 
Fannie Porter. 
Sarah Bailey. 
Caroline P. Eastman. 
Anna Whittier. 
Lizzie M. Parker. 
Annie Little. 
Abbie J. Eastman. 
Carrie Libby. 

378 history of suttoj^. 

Early Baptist Churches a:n^d Warren Bap- 
tist ASSOCIATIO]!^^. 

The first church of the Baptist order in America 
was constituted at Providence, R. I., in 1639, hy 
Koger Williams, only nineteen years after the land- 
ing of the Pilgrims at Plymouth. The first in 
Massachusetts was in Swansea, organized in 1663; 
in !N^ew Hampshire, in ^Newton in 1755 ; in Maine, 
in Kittery in 1682, but soon broken up, and no 
other formed in Maine till 1768, at Berwick. 

So fierce and determined was the persecution 
against these unlawful and dangerous innovators, 
as they were considered by the " standing order," 
i. e., the Congregationalists, that their growth as 
a denomination was exceedingly slow. Such was 
the severity of their ]3ersecutions here that they 
received very few accessions from the fatherland, 
and of the few who came some returned. They 
were subject to great oppression in England, but 
their condition there was tolerable when compared 
with what it was here, v/here whipping, fines, and 
imprisonment awaited them. And yet, concerning 
the first Baptists in this country Cotton Mather 
kindly says, — " Many of the first settlers in Massa- 
chusetts were Baptists, and they were as holy, and 
watchful, and fruitful, and heavenly a people as 
perhaps any in the world." 

In 1739, a century after the formation of the first 
church, there were in all the land but thirty-eight 
Baptist churches, eighteen of which were in JSTew 
England. But from this period there commenced 
a very rapid increase of the denomination. White- 


field and his associates were the instruments of 
breaking up the formalism of the " standing- order," 
and of originating a revival of religion which con- 
tributed indirectly to the spread of Baptist senti- 
ments and the multiplication of Baptist churches. 
These evangelists and their converts were soon 
proscribed, and under the name of Separates, or 
iSTew Lights, subjected to the same penalties of 
fines and imprisomnent as the Baptists. A sympa- 
thy of suffering therefore naturally drew them 
towards the Baptists, and the result was that a very 
large number of ministers and some whole churches 
embraced Baptist sentiments. Hence it was that 
in 1783, less than half a century from the last men- 
tioned date, the thirty-eight churches of the Baptist 
faith in our land had increased to three hundred 
and nine — more than eight fold. By this time the 
persecution against them had sensibly weakened, 
and there were rights for which the Baptists had 
dared to contend in the provincial courts. 

One powerful agent in enabling them to defend 
their privileges, and, to some extent, to escape tax- 
ation for support of Congregationalists, was the 
formation, Sept. 8, 1767, of the Warren Baptist 
Association, the object of which was mutual help 
between the churches against injustice and oppres- 
sion, as well as to unite and quicken each other in 
religion. The following description of the objects, 
methods, and successful operations of this noble 
and useful body is gathered from the " History of 
the Baptists of l!^ew England from 1602 to 1804, 
by Rev. Isaac Backus, A. M." He says the War- 
ren Baptist Association, so called from Warren, 


Mass., where it arose, was the first one m Massa- 
chusetts, and probably the first in 'New Enghmd. 
" In a few years it extended over all the old colony 
of Plymouth, and over Massachusetts as high as 
Connecticut river, and into three other states. Its 
benefits soon became visible to others." 

In 1771 they began to print the Minutes of their proceedings, 
by which means mutual acquaintance and communion have been 
preserved, errors in doctrine or conduct exposed and guarded 
against, false teachers have been detected, and warnings published 
against them. Destitute flocks have been occasionally supplied, the 
weak and oppressed have been relieved, and many have been ani- 
mated and encouraged in preaching the gospel through the land, 
and in new plantations in the wilderness. A missionary society is 
formed to collect money for the support of travelling ministers, and 
to instruct and direct them therein according to their best discre" 
tion, and several of them have visited many destitute flocks, and 
some have gone even into upper Canada with good acceptance. 

Mr. Backus describes the manner and means of 
admitting churches to the association, which seem 
to be the same as are used by similar bodies at the 
present day, making it evident that the church 
fathers of a hundred and twenty years ago made no 
blundering experiment. 

When any church desires to join with them they send messengers 
and a letter to the Association, showing when their church was 
formed, the faitli and order of it, and th'eir number of members. If 
satisfaction is gained they are received by a vote of the Association, 
and the moderator gives the messengers the right hand of fellowship. 
Each church is to send messengers and a letter, or a letter at least, 
to the annual meeting of the Association, to give an account of the 
state of their church, and how many have been added, dismissed, or 
excluded, or that have died in the year. If this is neglected for a 
number of years, or if the church departs from her former faith, 
she is left out of the Association. 


The first Baptist church in this state was formed 
at ]^ewton in 1775 ; another was formed at Mad- 
bury, and also one at Weare, in 1768. In 1770 
several Baptist ministers entered our state as itin- 
erant missionaries, and made many converts. The 
number of clmrches increased rapidly,, and new 
Associations were formed. The 'New Hampshire 
Association, embracing churches in Maine and the 
eastern part of this state, was formed in 1785, and 
the Woodstock, in which the churches in Yermont 
and the western part of ^ew Hampshire were in- 
cluded, was formed about the same time. 

Rev. Caleb Blood, who had been laboring for 
several months in the town of Marlow as a mission- 
ary, in 1779, being about to go elsewhere, addressed 
a letter to the AYarren Baptist Association, show- 
ino- the aTeat need of missionaries to labor in the 
western part of this state. Among those who came 
in response to this appeal were Elder Job Seamans, 
who after some years located in ]S^ew London, 
and Elder Samuel Ambrose, who, after laboring as 
a missionary in our vicinity, in 1781 took up his 
residence in Sutton. 

Samuel Ambrose. 

The death of Mr. Ambrose in 1830, at the age of 
77, fixes the date of his birth at 1753. As a young 
man he was a resident of Hollis, ^. H., but his 
name is not found on Hollis records of births. 
There is some reason to believe that Exeter was 
the place of his nativity. He was a member of 
the "Hollis Young Men's Religious Association" 

382 HISTORY or suttok^. 

before the Revolution, and of Hollis Militia Com- 
pany in January, 1775, and also was a soldier 
from Hollis in the army at Cambridge in the fall of 
that year. At that time he, with others from Hol- 
lis, volunteered, in response to the urgent call of 
Gen. Sullivan — then in command at Winter Hill, 
near Boston — to the 'New Hampshire Committee of 
Safety for reinforcements to supply the places of 
the Connecticut troops, whose term of enlistment 
had expired, and who refused to serve any longer. 
In answer to this call, ISTew Hampshire sent thirty- 
one companies of sixty-three men each. These 
troops continued in service till March, 1776, when 
the British evacuated Boston. 

Samuel Ambrose married Mary Goodhue, of 
Hollis, February 20, 1776, and soon removed to 
Plymouth, ]Sr. H., which town was largely settled 
by colonists from Hollis. While there he studied 
for the ministry, and from there removed to Sutton. 

He is spoken of, by an early writer of Sutton 
church history, as being " considered sound in 
doctrine, and an able and energetic man in the field 
and in the pulpit." Said one who remembered him 
well, — " He always Avorked, even to the last day of 
his life, — worked, with the other men in his dis- 
trict, repairing the highway near his own house, and 
died before morning." Says another, who remem- 
bered him, — " During the many years of his resi- 
dence in Sutton, after he ceased to be the town's 
minister, he never failed to sit, by invitation, in the 
pulpit with the other minister, and usually made 
some remarks at the close of the sermon, showing, 
by his allusions or by his review of it, that the schol- 


arly habit of close attention and systematic arrange- 
ment had not, in the least, failed him." 

He was the father of twelve children, of whom 
his son David inherited the homestead. The wid- 
ow of David, several years ago, snpplied the follow- 
ing sketch for this work : 

" The accommodations of the first Baptist minis- 
ter in Sutton were rather poor, his house being no 
better than the houses of other settlers, excejDt so 
far as the labor of his own hands made it so. For 
a long time the house had no chimney, save one 
made up, about six feet, of stones, and topped out 
with sticks and clay ; while the house was so open 
that it was not impossible to catch a glimpse of the 
sky through the roof. And yet, for many years, 
before au}^ meeting-house existed in town, the 
church of Elder Ambrose's gathering held most of 
their Sunday meetings at this very house in the win- 
ter, and in Ms barn in the summer. Often people 
used to come up from Warner on ox-sleds to attend 
these meetings. Elder Thomas Bakhvin, then of 
Canaan, X. H., but afterwards the widely known 
Dr. Baldwin of Boston, was a friend and associate 
of Elder Ambrose, and occasionally stayed all night 
at his house, where, with next to nothing between 
him and the heaven he aspired to, he, according to 
his own account, found delight in counting the 
stars through the roof." 

Elder Ambrose was rather proud to call the 
attention of the " Association " to this church that 
he had gathered in the woods, and, on one occa- 
sion, induced that body to hold their anniversary 
on his own premises. The religious services were 


held in his barn. On this occasion were present 
Elder Baldwin, Elder Job Seamans of ^N^ew Lon- 
don, Elder Otis Robinson, and others perhaps 
qnite as worthy, thongh less known. On the night 
succeeding this meeting twenty-five persons, who 
could not reach their homes that night, slept in 
Elder Ambrose's barn. 

Epitaph on the Gravestone of Rev. Samuel Ambrose. 

The holy counsels that he gave — 

The prayers he breathed, the tears he wept — 

Yet linger here. 

O may I sleep in couch as fair. 

And with a hope as bright as his. 

William Taylor 

was son of Capt. James Taylor and Anna (Corn- 
ing) his wife; was born, probably, in Beverly, 
Mass., in 1783 or 1784:; moved into this town with 
his parents when he was a boy, and, in common 
with other settlers at that period, endured priva- 
tions, and did his share of hard work. Coming of 
age, he married Sarah, daughter of Dea. Asa kel- 
son; erected a house in the centre village in Sutton, 
and there resided, working at the coopering busi- 
ness and at farming until after he had commenced 
the ministry. 

The following facts regarding Mr. Taylor's con- 
version and baptism were recorded by Mr. Samuel 
Dresser, and were communicated to him by Miss 
Abiah Koby, an aged lady of wonderfully retentive 
memory. She stated that she was baptized at the 
same time with Mr. Taylor, and that it took place 


in the summer of 1803, when the noted evang-ehst,. 
Samuel Applebee, labored m this town. This Mr, 
Applebee, according* to the account of aged profes- 
sors of religion, was one of the most devoted and 
successful evangelists that ever preached in this 
town, from its first settlement to the present time. 
One anecdote of him, illustrative of his entire ab- 
sorption in his religious labors, will not perhaps be 
without interest in this connection. 

During his sojourn in Sutton, he, by invitation, 
made his home at the house of Benjamin Wadleigh, 
Esq. (father of Judge Wadleigh), for two or three 
weeks. In that time he was never heard to say 
anything about the things of this world except once, 
his conversation being altogether upon religious 
subjects. The one exception was, when going out 
early one morning he heard the cry of a loon, and, 
coming in, he remarked, — " You have loons here." 

Kev. William Taylor was baptized, with ten 
others, by an Elder Webster, who was a Baptist- 
minister living at that time in Hopldnton, ]S^. H., 
and who soon after removed to the eastward. 
Among those baptized with Elder Taylor were his 
honored father and mother and two brothers. It is 
known that three of William Taylor's brothers be- 
came clergymen; and it is not without interest to 
us to learn that any, and perhaps all, of them were 
started in their Christian course in Sutton. 

According to Miss Eoby's account. Elder Apple- 
bee was present on the occasion of this baptism; 
also, Kev. Uriah Smith, who preached from these 
words : " The baptism of John, was it from heaven, 
or of men?" 



At the time of this baptism there was no recog- 
nized Baptist church in Sutton, the early church of 
1782 having been disbanded in accordance Avith ad- 
vice of a council. (Tliis is the only mention yet 
found of the dissolution of that church.) 

The folloAving note concerning the formation of 
the early Baptist Church in Sutton is found in 
"Farmer & Moore's ]N"ew Hampshire Gazetteer," 
year 1823, and is here inserted as being the only 
record yet fomid of the formation of that church, as 
Miss Roby's statement, recorded by Mr. Dresser, is 
of its dissolution. At the date of that Gazetteer, 
1823, Mr. Ambrose was living, and perhaps fur- 
nished the items himself. Others, also, were living 
whose memory must have been able to reach back 
to 1782. The note is as follows : 

"A Baptist church was formed in Sutton in 
April, 1782, and in October of the same year Eev. 
Samuel Ambrose was ordained." 

Mr. Taylor, and the others baptized with him, 
united in what was called Christian Union. 

The following I^ovember a Baptist Church was 
recognized, and Mr. Taylor, according to the church 
records, was received May 24, 1804, and soon be- 
came one of the leading members. In 1812 he was 
licensed to preach. At this time Rev. Pelatiah 
Chapin was the minister of the church in Sutton, 
and this gentleman greatly encouraged the young 
man to improve his gift as a preacher. 

The ordination of Mr. Taylor took place March 
17, 1814. At 8 o'clock on the morning of that day, 
an Evangelical Council met at the house of Deacon 



Benjamin Fowler, the members of this council being 
as follows, viz. : 

From New London Church — Elder Job Seamans, Elder Samuel 
Ambrose, Dea. Ebenezer Hunting, Dea. Enoch Hunting. 

From the Church in Salisbury — Elder Otis Robinson, Dea. James 
Severance, Dea. William Cate, Br. Mical Sargent, Br. Daniel 

From the Church in Cornish — Br, James Hall, Br. Phili]) Spaul- 
ding, Br. Thaddeus Gage. 

Voted, That Elder Job Seamans serve as moderator. 

Voted, That Elder Otis Robinson serve as clerk. 

Voted, That Elder Joseph Wheat, Elder Abraham Gates, Brother 
David Brown, Br. Philip W. Kibbey, Br. Simon Chamberlin, and 
Br. Elias Macgregory sit in the Council. Then proceeded to hear 
Br. William Taylor give a relation of a work of Grace in his heart, 
and call into the Gospel Ministry. After hearing Brother Taylor 
state his exercises, Voted, satisfied, and proceed to set apart Brother 
Taylor for solemn ordination in the following manner : 

Voted, Elder Joseph Wheat preach the, sermon. 

Voted, Elder Job Seamans make the Ordaining Prayer. 

Voted, Elder Otis Robinson give the Charge. 

Voted, Elder Samuel Ambrose give Right Hand of Fellowship. 

Voted, Elder Abraham Gates make the Concluding Prayer. 

Voted, to adjourn to the North Meeting House at 2 o'clock. 

Met according to adjoui'nment, proceeded to Divine worsliip, and 
performed the several parts of duty as above mentioned, with tokens 
of Divine approbation. 

Signed, Job Seamans, Moderator. 

Otis Robinson, Clerk. 

Copy attested by William Taylor, who was himself church clerk 
at the time of his ordination. 

Mr. Dresser adds, — "My late aged father, who 
was present at this ordination, told me that Elder 
Wheat preached the sermon from the text, '' Preach 
the word.' The performance was considered never 
to have been outdone, or even equalled, by Elder 
Wheat on any occasion." 

388 HISTORY or sutton^. 

In 1812 Mr. Taylor Avas licensed to go forth 
publicly to preach, and for a year previous to his 
ordination he had preached as the stated minister 
of the church in Sutton. After his ordination he 
served two years, and it appears that he was a very 
successful pastor. In the year 1814 he baptized 
seventeen persons. Feeling- continually, however, 
the want of more scholarly training than he had 
been able to obtain in Sutton, and finding also that 
his health demanded some change, he concluded to 
try his native air, and accordingly resigned his pas- 
torate and removed to Beverly, Mass., where he 
studied for several months with Kev. Dr. Chaplin, 
of Danvers. 

After staying there a year or two he went to 
Chester, IST. H., aiid preached about two years. 
From Chester he went to Concord, I^. H., and 
there started a Baptist interest, and was instrumen- 
tal in the organization of a church of that order, 
and the erection of a meeting-house of brick, which 
is the same one where Rev. C. W. Flanders, d. d., 
ministered at a later period. While residing in 
Concord he had labored acceptably with the 2d 
Baptist church in Sanbornton, and in 1826 he be- 
came their settled minister, removing thither with 
his wife. Here he was highly esteemed by the 
people, and remained their pastor some nine or ten 
years. He afterwards went to Michigan as a home 
missionary, and finally removed his family to 
Schoolcraft, in that state, and there continued till 
his death in June, 1852. 

His great ambition was to rear an institution at 
Kalamazoo, Mich., like that at Kew Hampton, in 


the snccessfiil establishment of which he liad him- 
self been largely instrumental. For this end he 
sacrificed his time and his money, and laid the foun- 
dation of one of the most flourishing Baptist insti- 
tutions in the country. 

His first wife, who as before stated was a Sutton 
lady, died in Schoolcraft, Mich., and he there mar- 
ried again. Had no children. 

Mr. Taylor was a man of exemplary character in 
all the relations of life. As a minister he was con- 
sidered sound, mild, modest, and unassuming, and 
of undoubted sincerity and integrity, had much 
prudence and wisdom in managing the concerns of 
a church and society, and his influence in his de- 
nomination was very considerable. 

Mr. Taylor's death, at the age of sixty-eight, was 
caused by dropsy, after an illness and debility of 
several months. 

Rev. Nathan Ames 

was born in 'New Boston, ]N^. H., in the year 1785. 
"Was originally a Congregationalist, but changed 
his views and became a Baptist. He was a man of 
considerable talent, firm and decided in character. 
He died in Jamaica, Yt., in 1848. His wife, Mar- 
garet Sweet, to whom he was married August 11, 
1805, died August 31, 1853. Their children were 
seven in number, of whom the two youngest were 
natives of Sutton, viz., Celina, born April 24, 3,819, 
died Oct. 2, 1836; Almedia C, born May 13, 1822, 
married Isaiah Howard, of Jamaica, Vt., Sept. 6, 
1840, died Nov. 11, 1853. 


For a time after his marriage Elder Ames resided 
in iNTewburyport, Mass., Avhere he was employed a& 
a shoemaker. At the age of twenty-five he united 
with the First Baptist church in JSTewburyport, and 
about the year 1811 he was licensed to preach, and 
soon after was called to preach for a newly formed 
church in> ISTewbury, Mass., where he remained 
about three years. In 1816, owing to the inabilty 
of the church to give him a comfortable support, he 
retired from the ministry and resumed work at his 
trade. He was never satisfied with the change, 
but was continually under the conviction that it 
was his duty to preach the gospel. In 1819 he was 
invited to become pastor of the Baptist church in 
Sutton, and was here ordained, at the South meet- 
ing-house. May 31, 1820. He labored with this 
church six or seven years, removing to East Wash- 
ington in 1827, and became pastor of the Baptist 
church in that town, and thence to Jamaica, Vt., in 

He was a successful preacher and popular pastor, 
and always made a fine appearance in the pulpit 
and out of it. A good degree of prosperity attend- 
ed this church for several years under the ministry 
of Elder Ames. In the year 1821 twenty-two were 
added to the church, nineteen of whom were heads 
of families, ten of these being males ; and most of 
these new converts were at the age when they were 
necessarily in their best strength and capability^ 
from twenty-five to thirty-five years old. 

Elder Ames was dismissed from Sutton church 
at his own request. 

religious societies. 391 

Dk. Crosmoist. 

Kev. Abishai Crosman, or Crosmon, was born in 
Taunton, Mass., in 1752. Was a college graduate, 
had been settled at different times in Boston, Mass., 
in 'Ne^v Boston, and in Unity, ]!^. H., and in some 
places in Vermont. He died in Unity in 1830. He 
preached some in Sutton about 1803, but was not 
settled as the pastor, though he was at that time a 
resident in town, and was a doctor as well as 

Rev. Pelatiah Chapest. 

After the retirement of Elder ]Srathan Champlin 
from his ministry to the Sutton church in 1811, 
Elder Chapin supplied j)i'eaching a portion of the 
time for about two years. He was then about sixty 
years old, white-haired, but tall, straight, ruddy, 
and good-humored. He was shrewd, witty, and 
social, and was, of course, agreeable among all 
classes, young as well as old, being himself one of 
those who, whatever their age, are always young 
in spirit. 

He was very faithful in visiting the people. An 
aged lady related the folloAving incident to the 
wi'iter: On one occasion, when she was busily 
churning, she was startled by a rap at the door, and 
on her opening it, the minister. Elder Chapin, en- 
tered. Respect for her visitor seemed to require 
her to discontinue her work, and she made a move- 
ment to put away the churn. The elder, however, 
felt differently about it. He desired her to let the 
churn remain, insisted on her bringing him an 
apron, which he immediately tied on, and, notwith- 


standing her remonstrances, actually finished the 
churning himself. 

After an hour's pleasant converse with herself 
and husband, partaking meantime with them of 
their dinner of bread and milk, the elder concluded 
his pastoral visit, and he departed to carry his 
cheerful face and kindly greetings to the next 

The following anecdote illustrates his keen wit 
and quiet perception of the ridiculous. It has 
already been printed and ascribed to other persons 
in different localities, but it really occurred in Sut- 
ton, and Elder Chapin was the author of the witti- 
cism that has caused so much mirth. At that day 
the belief in witchcraft was not universal, of course, 
but enough of the old superstition remained with 
the ignorant to create in them a dim, vague fear of 
the possibility of its existence; indeed, there were 
some who firmly believed in it. 

Among those in Sutton was a man who had set a 
trap for a musla-at, and had the luck, good or ill, to 
catch two at a time. Such a thing had never hap- 
pened to him before, and he began to fear that 
Satan had helped to bring it about. Witches were 
supposed to be helped by Satan, and his agency 
being assumed in this matter, the inference was that 
he was himself a %mtcli. His uneasiness continued 
to grow upon him, and he finally sought an inter- 
view with the minister, resolved to get his opinion 
on the subject. He related to Mr. Chapin the inci- 
dent, described his distressing fears, and ended with 
the solemn question, " Do you think, Brother Cha- 
pin, that a man can be a witch and not know it? " 


" I do not know about a man's being a loitch and 
not knowing it," replied the elder, " but I am quite 
sure one can be a/ooZ and not Imow it." 

A certain pious lady who was fond of dressing 
handsomely, once inquired of Mr. Chapin if he con- 
sidered it " sinful to dress up if one did not take 
pride in it." "Ah! " exclaimed he, "when you see 
a fox's brush \i. e., tail] sticldng out of a hole, you 
may be sure the fox is not far off." 

As elsewhere stated in this work, Mr. Chapin 
died in Campton in 18J:0, at the age of ninety 

Rev. Reuel Lothrop 

was ordained in Sutton in 1816, and remained here 
two years. He resided in the Xorth Yillage, in the 
John Andrew house, in the L part of which he set 
up the first and only printing-press that has ever 
been operated in this town. Here he actually 
jDrinted some ISTew Testaments and some small 

Edward Mitchell 

was the minister in charge of this church from 1828 
to 1830. Was colored, though not extremely dark. 
He was a native of the island of Martinique. His 
father was French, and his mother, as he always 
expressed it when questioned concerning his par- 
entage, " was a native of the island." A sea cap- 
tain brought him to this countrv and assisted him 
some, but he helped himself also. He was married 
in Philadelphia, but lost his wife and two children 
before going to college. He taught school in ^ew 


London during one of his college vacations to help 
himself along. He always had some French accent, 
French being his native tongue. He was a fine 
speaker, by good judges said to be the best they 
ever had here. In addition to his natural gifts, he 
was a thoroughly educated man. He had a call 
to a better situation in Yermont, and removed 
thither. Mr. Mitchell was ordained in Sutton, 
Aug. 18, 1729. 

Rev. Hen^ey Archibald 

served this church from 1841 to 1845. He was a 
Scotchman, and possessed of a good degree of 
culture and capability. If he had come here when 
himself or the church he served was younger, he 
would have made some mark. As it was, even, he 
made a respectable appearance. 

Key. Charles ^ewiiall 

was ordained in Sutton in 1848. Remained till 
1852. Was much esteemed as a clergyman and 
as a citizen. Was afterwards pastor of the church 
in Stratham, whence he was dismissed in 1859 to 
the church in Sanbornton, and thence in 1861 to 

Rev. Yalentln^e Estabrook Buj^ker 

was son of ISTathaniel and Ednah (Woodward) 
Bunker, of 'New London, and was born there, on 
the original Coll)y place, February 13, 1811. His 
grandfather, Benjamin Bunker, was a native of 


Barnstead, and early emigrated to Lee, and finally 
to 'New London. Valentine received his education 
at the ^ew Hampton Institution. He was ordain- 
ed June 20, 1838 ; removed to Ohio, and at Mechan- 
icsburg gathered a Baptist church, and helped to 
build a meetino-house. 

In 1857, after fifteen years' absence, Mr. Bunker 
returned to New Hampshire, and supplied the 
Union church at Wilmot one year, and officia- 
ted as pastor in Sutton five years, from 1858 to 
1865, at the close of which period he was dismissed 
to Sanbornton 3d Baptist church, where he served 
till 1870; then from 1870 to 1872 served the 2d 
church ; and again from 1875 till his death in 1881 
he served the 3d church. Served also at Enosburg, 
Yt. In nearly all his difi'erent fields of labor Mr. 
Bunker was blessed with revivals of religion, some 
of great power. Baptized about one hundred and 
fifty persons. 

He married Sabrina R. Davis, of Sutton, April 
21, 1838. She was daughter of Ezekiel and Ednah 
Davis, of Sutton, and was born Feb. 11, 1811, and 
died May 3, 1867, at ^orth Sanbornton. 

Mr. Bunker married, Nov. 16, 1867, Mrs. Lois 
(Curtis) Woodworth, of Essex, Yt. Children: 
Cyrus Yalentine, born in 1839, in Ohio, died in 
infancy; David W., born May 2, 1842, and mar- 
ried Sarah J., daughter of Cyrus Lane. He is a 
farmer living in Sanbornton. Angeline, Ijorn Sept. 
11, 1811, and died in Sanbornton in 1877. Mr. 
Bunker had two children by his second wife. 


Rev. "William Libby, or Libbey, 

only son of Tristram and Dorothy Libl)ey, was 
born in Boston, April 11, 1839. His parents moved 
to Livermore, Me, in the fall of 1843. His father 
was a carpenter, but owned a form on which he 
worked a part of the time. In the revival of 1857 
the subject of this sketch was converted, and joined 
the Baptist church at Canton, Me., in 1858. 

August 7, 1862, he enlisted in Company C, 20th 
Maine Vols., and with his regiment joined the 
Army of the Potomac September 12, and served in 
that connection till September 30, 1864, when he was 
wounded in the left hip, the bullet passing through 
and coming out at the right of the spine. He was 
discharged on account of the wound March 1, 1865. 
In the fall of 1865 he attended the academy at 
Hebron, Me., and there remained, fitting for college 
till 1867, when he entered Colby University, from 
which he graduated in 1871. He then entered 
]N^ewton Theological Seminary, graduating from 
that institution in June, 1874. 

Immediately on his graduation he went to Wil- 
ton, I^. H., to serve as pastor of the Baptist church 
in that town. Was ordained October 15, 1874, and 
remained pastor of the church in Wilton till April, 
1879, when he resigned and went to Sutton, ^. H., 
remaining till I^ovember, 1886, when he removed 
to Ashfield, Mass., and became pastor of the Baptist 
church in that place. 

Mr. Libbey married, Oct. 8, 1874, Miss Caroline 
P. Lunt, of Reading, Mass. Their children are 
Wilfred Hale, born in Wilton,. ]^. H., Dec. 31, 1878 ; 
Percival T., born in Sutton, ^S". H., April 15, 1880. 


First Baptist Society. 

March 11, 1816. A number of persons, inhabitants of Sutton 
met at the house of Benjamin Wadleigh, Esq., for the purpose of 
forming a society to support steady and constant preacliing in town. 

Chose Jonathan Harvey, chairman. 

Chose Jolm Pillsbury, clerk. 

Chose Jonathan Harvey, Isaac Bailey, Benjamin Wadleigh, Moses 
Pillsbury, and Asa Nelson, a committee to form a constitution, and 
present the same at the next meeting. 

March 25, 1816. Met at the house of Dr. Benjamin Lovering. 
A respectable number of the inhabitants attended to examine the 
constitution, and voted to accept it, and put their signatures thereto. 

Voted, to raise $104 this year to support preaching. 

At its formation, this society took the name of " The First Relig- 
ious Society in Sutton," and in 1829 assmiied the name of "The 
First Baptist Society in Sutton." 

In August, 1832, this society purchased for a parsonage, at the 
expense of $250, the place owned by Dr. Clark at the South village. 

Names of the Members of the " First Baptist Society." 

Daniel Page. John Chellis. 

Ben'n Lovering. Benjamin Wadleigh. 

John Pressey. William Gunnison. 

Asa Nelson, Jr. Philip N. Roby. 

Ezekiel Little. Joseph Pillsbury. 

Plimmier Wheeler, Jr. Samuel Dresser. 

Isaac Bailey. James Messer. 

Jolm Pillsbury. Jonathan Harvey. 

Samuel Kezar. Joseph Pike. 

John Ciu-rier. Amos Pressey. 

John Phelps. Enoch Bailey. 

Nathaniel Cheney, Jr. Benjamin Wadleigh, Jr. 

Daniel Ober. Ezra Meloon. 

Andrew Robertson. Benjamin Fowler. 

Timothy Challis. Isaac Bean. 

Asa Nelson. Philip Currier. 

Thomas Wadleigh. John Peaslee. 

Caleb Kimball. Benjamin Putney. 

Moses Pillsbmy. Philip S. Harvey. 


Josiali Nichols, Jr. Jonathan Johnson. 

Jonathan Roby. Daniel Woodward. 

Nathaniel Eaton. David Woodward. 

Hezekiah Parker. Joseph Woodward. 

Stephen Johnson. Aaron Sargent. 

Daniel Cheney. William Kendrick. 

Enoch Colby. Samuel Kendrick. 

Moses S. Harvey. Samuel Bean. 

Samuel Worth. Philip Nelson, Jr. 

Elisha Parker. Amos Parker. 
John Harvey, Jr. 

Letter of Dismission. 

Salisbury, Sept. 4, 1820.' 

The Baptist Church of Christ in Salisbury to the Church of Christ 
in Sutton sendeth Greeting of Clu'istian affection 

Whereas our sister Abigail Kendrick has requested a dismission 
from us to you, we hereby manifest our approbation by acknowledg- 
ing her a sister in good standing with us, and she has our leave to 
unite with you in full fellowship ; and we trust and pray that she 
may be a blessing to you as she has been to us. 

Yours affectionately in the bonds of the Gospel. 
In behalf of the Church 

Otis Robinson, Pastor. 

This appreciative recognition of her merits as a 
church member must have been gratifying to the 
Christian lady whose practice had so well adorned 
her religions profession, coming from the source it 
did; for Elder Robinson was a preacher of note in 
his day, and in this part of the country. 

One reason for inserting the above is its ancient- 
ness : it is so old that a person born on the day it 
was written would, by this time, have reached the 
allotted three score and ten years ; — another reason 
is, it shows that, even at that remote day, it was 
not impossible for a woman to make herself felt 


and valued as a power for good in the eliurch of 
her adoption. 

Missionary Circle. 

In September, 1874, a Women's Mission Circle 
was formed, auxiliary to the Woman's Baptist For- 
eign Missionary Society, composed of nearly all the 
women of the church. This circle, though small, 
has maintained with one interruption its yearly and 
nearly all its monthly meetings, contributing to the 
general society an average of $8.50 yearly, and 
ffainino' to themselves increased information and 
interest in foreign missionaries and their work. 

Free- Will Baptists. 

This denomination of Christians originated in 
^ew Hampshire. Elder Benjamin Randall, their 
founder, was born in ;N"ewcastle, ^N". H. — an island 
at the entrance of Portsmouth harbor, Fel^ruary 7, 
1749. Connnenced preaching in 1777, and the first 
church in the state was organized in 'New Durham 
in 1780. Of the churches in our vicinity, that in 
Bradford was organized in 1800 ; in Sutton and 
Fishersfield, in 1801; and in Andover, in 1803. 
The Free-will Baptists were recognized as a 
denomination by the legislature in 1804. 

It is Imo^vn that Elder Randall preached in Sut- 
ton, on the common, in 1804, but how much earlier 
than that date cannot now be told. In 1807 he 
attended Quarterly Meeting in Sutton, and preached 
powerfully. His death occurred on October 22, 


A brief mention of some of the earlier preachers 
who, either continnously or occasionally, served the 
church in Sutton, will be of interest here. 

Elder Elijah Watso:^^ 

was l3orn in I»rotting-ham, ^N". H., in 1777; ordained 
in 1803; died in 1857. At the time of his ordi- 
nation he was resident in Andover. He was a 
good speaker, and a jDrominent man in the order. 
Those are yet living who remember him well. He is 
described as " heavy, slow, and dignified in appear- 
ance and manner; friendly, good, and genial, and 
well liked by the people." Elder Watson owned 
and occupied for many years the farm now owned 
by John F. Merrill. He married, for second wife, 
Rhoda Felch, sister to Deacon John and Amos 

Rev. ]N'athaniel Ken^g, 

born in Hampstead, ]^. H., in 1767, was ordained 
in 1802 at Tunbridge, Tt., and of him it is stated 
that " his praise was for many years in all the 
churches." His field of labor was in Vermont, and 
his home and residence at Tunbridge, which town 
he represented thirteen years in the legislature. 

He was a son of James King, who moved with 
his family from Hampstead to Sutton in 1779. 
Nathaniel served several of the later years of his 
minority with Deacon Matthew Harvey, in Sutton, 
and the paper whereon his " indentures " are in- 
scribed having been preserved among Mr. Har- 
vey's other papers, is copied in another part of this 


Stewart's " History of the Free-will Baptists " 
thus describes Elder King's appearance at the Sec- 
ond General Conference, held at Sandwich, Octo- 
ber, 1^28, where he was the presidmg officer : " In 
that tall, noble-looking man of sixty years may be 
recognized the chairman of the Conference, l^athan- 
iel King. Of more than medium size, symmetrical 
in form, and intellectual in development, he is one 
whose pleasant face, sonorous voice, and easy man- 
ners are prepossessing. The freshness of youth is 
on his cheek, and the vivacity of early manhood 
sparkles in his eye, but he has seen a unit more 
than sixty years." 

Rev. Samuel Appleby, another preacher Avho 
labored some in this vicinity, at an early period, 
was ordained in 1805. He afterwards left the 

Elder Robert Dickey was ordained in 1810. 

Elder Benaiah Bean, born in Salisbury, ^. H., 
1793, and ordained in 1828, died in 1856. 

The year 1810 was one of many revivals in this 
vicinity, in which Rev. John Colby was very active. 
He died in 1818, aged 29 years, and during the 
six years of his active ministry he baptized six hun- 
dred and fifty j)ersons. 

Elder John Gillingham of Bradford occasionally 
preached here about 1810, or a little earlier, and 
those are yet living who remember him. He was a 
man of an ardent, sympathetic nature, and had 
great power over the feelings of his audience, most 
of whom were usually in tears before he got 
through with his prayer and sermon. Mr. Gilling- 
ham had a way, in common with others of the 



Free-will Baptist clergymen, of falling into a sort 
of chanting tone, not unlike that in which a Catho- 
lic priest at the altar, during worship, sometimes 
makes the responses to the choir, and which was 
not without its effect upon his auditory. 

This " intoning " may have been one of the arts 
of oratory, but it seemed as if the speaker was 
forced into it by the fervor of his own emotions 
and the strength of his own convictions. These 
two conditions being given, — and they seem always 
to have been attainable by those early preachers, — 
viz., susceptibility to strong religious emotion, and 
a full conviction not only of the truth and divine 
origin of the message they brought, but of their 
own special and individual call to deliver it, their 
success was assured. 

Their strength lay not in scholarly preparation or 
acquirement, for there was among them at that day 
no chance for theological training; they had no 
divinity schools of their own order. Of most of 
them this was probably true, that, while the peo- 
ple who listened to them could not ftiil to perceive 
that, like the apostles Peter and John, '' they were 
unlearned and ignorant men," they at the same 
time " took knowledge of them that they had been 
with Jesus," and that "with great power gave 
they witness of His resurrection." 

It is, however, but just to say that this state of 
things — this lack of scholarly training among 
preachers — was not confined to the Free-will Bap- 
tists; it was more a characteristic of the j^eriod 
than of any particular sect, and changed essentially 
in the course of the succeeding years, which made 


manifest the need of more scholarship, and, as 
wealth and prosperity increased, rendered its 
attainment possible. Its visible effect soon fol- 

At a Baptist centennial celebration in the town 
of Newton, ]N^. H., in 1855, the orator of the day, 
Kev. William Lamson, in speaking of the 'New 
Hampton Institntion after its removal to Ver- 
mont, says, — "Already is another denomination 
[the Free-will Baptist] rearing a noble school, 
with ample endowment, on the deserted location of 
the New Hampton of the past. The very effort is 
giving new energy to every limb of that body, and 
clothing it with new efficiency." 

Fugitive Slave Law. 

The following indignant protest against the 
fugitive slave law, by the members of the Weare 
Conference, in the fall term of 1850, is found on 
their records of that date, and is here introduced as 
sure proof that there were then among them men 
who understood well how to apply the full force of 
English rhetoric, condemnatory and denunciatory, 
of a measure adopted and supported, as they be- 
lieved, solely in the interest of " that sum of all 
villanies," slavery : 

After business received the following Resolutions regarding the 
Fugitive Slave Law, just passed by our National Legislature, which, 
after a spirited discussion, were adopted. 

Resolved, That, in our opinion, it is, first, unconstitutional ; 
second, unjust in its provisions ; tliird, impious in its designs ; 
f oui'th, a stain on our national character ; fifth, an everlasting dis- 
grace to those who enacted it ; and sixth, insulting as it is to the 
dignity of humanity and the majesty of Heaven, we are bound as 


men, and especially as Christians, to utterly disregard it as a dead 
and infamous letter on our Statute book. 

Resolved, That the above Resolutions be published in our statis- 

It will be observed l^y the reader that the style 
and language of this l^old rebuke to the national 
legislature are so unequivocal that whoever or what- 
ever of associated bodies or of individuals could be 
accused of temporizing, from motives of careful 
policy, regarding the slavery question, the Weare 
Conference certainly cleared its skirts from any 
such imjDutation. 

Those who were living in 1850, and were of suf- 
ficient age to be impressed by the political action 
of that period, will be reminded by this document 
of the strong ])illows of excitement, the " indigna- 
tion and wrath, trilDulation and anguish," that 
swept over the community at the time of the pas- 
sage of this remarkable law. 

l^o man, whatever may have been his opinions 
as to the need or efficacy of such a law in saving 
the imperilled Union, can read this scathing denun- 
ciation of its tyranny and injustice without admira- 
tion of the courage of those earlier fathers and 
brothers of the Free-will Baptist church in utter- 
ing it at the time when the issue and the possible 
consequences to themselves were as yet doubtful. 

History of the Free-will Baptist Church. 

^o full record of the early church in Sutton, nor 
of its progress for many years succeeding its for- 
mation, is to l)e found, ])ut the following extracts 
from the records of Weare Quarterly Meeting 


will serve to show, to some extent, its condition 
during- those years. These extracts are brought 
down to 1844, — a little later than the date at which 
the Sutton records commence. 

Extracts from Weare QuarterXtY Meeting Records. 

Oct. 31, 1812. Elder AVilliam Dodge from Sutton informs us 
they remain a small body of brethren, and they still have a little 
strength. [This from Minutes of Q. M. held in Wendell at house 
of Elijah George.] 

1813. Many of the brethren have fallen from their first activity, 
and have put their light under a bushel, but others are strong for 
the prize. 4 added. [This from Minutes of Q. M. held at Andover.] 

Oct. 30, 1813. The church in Sutton stand unshaken in love 
and peace with one another. The Lord is at work among them. 
3 added. 

Oct. 29, 1814. Q. M. at Andover. From Sutton and Fishers- 
field. The brethren in general appear determined in the strength 
of the Lord to go over and possess the good land. Some trials, — 3 

1815. Sutton and Fishersfield. By Elders Dodge and Timothy 
Morse. An increase of union, as those who have been estranged 
are returning, and things appear quite encouraging, as to the atten- 
tion of hearers, etc. 

May 25, 1816. Q. M. held in Wendell at the barn of brother 
Benjamin George, Sutton and Fishersfield. A good revival of late 
among the youth. 

1816. At Fishersfield. Elder Moses Cheney preached an ingen- 
ious and powerfid discourse to a crowded house, from the text, 
" One sea and twelve oxen under it." 

1817. Q. M. At barn of Elijah Watson in Salisbury. Church 
in Sutton received into fellowship by the desire of Dea. Benjamin 
Fowler in behalf of his brethren, sixteen in number. Voted next 
Q. M. be held in Sutton. Elder Timothy Morse presiding. Report 
by Elder Dodge from 2nd church in Sutton. Prosperous, — 3 new 

1818. Generally prosperous. 2 added. 

The three towns, Sutton, Fishersfield, and Goshen, all reported 
by Elder Dodge. 

406 HISTORY OF sutto:n'. 

1819. Q. M. held at North Meeting House in Sutton. Report 
by Elder Watson, — prosperous. 

1819. In autumn, Q. M. Report by Dea. Benj. Fowler. 

1820. Whole number of church members in Sutton, Goshen, 
and Fishersfield — 66 ; whole No. in Sutton, 27. In 1821, whole 
No. in Sutton 33, and later in the same year, great interest ; whole 
No. in Sutton 38. 

1822. Report by Elder Watson, whole No. in Sutton 40. 

1822. Later, letter by Dea. Fowler ; not active. 

1823. Letter by Amos Felch. United in faith with other chs. 
In Q. M. later in same year, — Bradford, Springfield, Newport, 

Enfield, Fishersfield, Sutton, Warner, Weare, Goshen, Wilmot, 
Weathei'sfield, and Windsor, all represented in same Q. M. Whole 
No. 76. 

1824. Letter by Elder Peaslee. Generally prosperous. Sutton 
church numbers 43. 

1825. Whole No. in the three towns, Sutton, Goshen, and Fish- 
ersfield — 79. In Sutton, 45. Letter by Elder Watson. 

1826. Letter by Elder Watson. No. in Sutton 43. Later in 
same year, messenger to Q. M., Samuel Bean. 

1827. No. in three towns, Fishersfield, Sutton, Goshen, 70. 
No. in Sutton, 42. In May, same year, report by Elder Peaslee. 
No. in Sutton 39. 

1827. At General Conference in Tunbridge, Vt., Nathaniel 
King nominated for president. Declined. 

1828. Letter by Elder Peaslee. Church in Sutton in good 
standing and well engaged. No. 49, and in the 3 towns 94. 

Later in same year — Whole No. in Sutton, 51. They mourn 
the removal of Elder Watson. 

1829. Letter by Elder Watson, the Pastor, had some revival. 
No. in Sutton, 60. 

1830. Rather a low time, — 55 in number. 

1831. Whole No. 66. 

1832. Feb. 15. Ordination of Elder Peaslee at the South Meet- 
ing House. A large congregation assembled. Introductory prayer 
by Elder Stephen Goodale. Sermon by Elder Arthur Caverno, 
from Isaiah 6 chapter and verse. Consecrating prayer by Elder 
Watson, — charge by Elder William Dodge. Right hand of fellow- 
ship and concluding prayer by Elder Timothy Morse. The scene 
was truly solemn and interesting, every part of it being conducted 


with great propriety, and we viewed God as looking down upon 
this act of his children with approbation. 

August, 1832. Very encouraging, — 65. 

Jan. 1833,-69. 

1835. Trials. Help asked from the Conference. Committee 
appointed to inquire and report, viz : David Moody, William Dodge, 
Elijah Watson. 

May 27, 1835. Weare Q. M. convened at Hopkinton. After 
other matters took up the case of Sutton church, which having 
fallen into a disordered state, requested assistance from this Confer- 
ence at the last January term. Agreeably to this request, a com- 
mittee was appointed to assist them in attending to what should be 
thought best when met. Accordingly the Committee attended to 
theii* appointment. After consulting on the situation, found that 
a majority of the members were in favor of dissolving the church 
and forming a new one. Under existing circumstances the Com. 
were in favor of this measure, and accordingly they organized a 
church consisting of 16 members. Later, Elder Isaac Peaslee, their 
pastor, asked for a reception of this church into the Q. M. as a sis- 
ter chm"ch, eleven members having been added since its formation, 
making the number twenty-seven. After some remarks on the sub- 
ject, voted to receive said church according to their request. 

1836. June 20. A time of general prosperity. 

Sept. same year. Have not constant preacliing but are united, 
and hopeful that God would send them some laborer. 

1837. Prospects encouraging, 37. 

1839. The Lord has done great things in Sutton the past year, — 
a goodly number have professed to love the Lord. Added by Bap- 
tism 14, by letter 5. Present number 53. In Nov. same year, — 
are generally well xmited, but not a time of revival, and are rather 
destitute of preaching of our own order. 

1842. Elder Peaslee, Pastor. Revival, additions. Old, young, 
and middle-aged converted. Whole number in 1843, 105. 

1843. Trials and dark clouds in latter part of the year. 

1844. Low state of interest, present number, 81. 

Extracts from Sutton Church Records. 

Feb. 10, 1844. Met at brother Nicholas Rowell's for church 
First, chose Elder Isaac Peaslee, Moderator. Second, chose 


Elder Isaac Peaslee, Amos Felch, Asa Nelson, Jonathan Bohon- 
nan, and H. W. Savary as a committee to draft and report a new 
chui'ch covenant. 

[No copy of this covenant found on the Record.] 

From July 24, 1844, to May 14, 1845, there were dropped from the 
Church RoU the names of thirty-four persons, of whom twenty-three 
were seceders, having accepted the Second Advent belief. 

The total number borne on the Roll July 25, 1843, was one hun- 
dred and nine, 109. 

May 14, 1845, the total number was seventy-eight, 78. 

The church, hoAvever, in time recovered from 
this great loss; and its course since then has been 
marked by a good degree of prosperity, as is shown 
by the following copies of the church rolls, indicat- 
ing its increase in membership at diflPerent periods. 
Another reason for entering them here is that they 
contain dates and other items of interest concerning 
some of the members individually, Avhich will be 
convenient for reference. This church has been for 
many years the predominant one in town. 

Pastors since 1842. 

The Sutton Free-Will Baptist church records, 
which commence in 1842, show that the folloAving 
named persons have served as pastors since that 

Elder Isaac Peaslee in 1842 (and previously). Discharged by 
his own request, April 26, 1851. 

May 25, 1851. Voted that Elder David Moody be pastor. 

Api'il 26, 1862. Made choice of Rev. J. Rowe, pastor. 

May 23, 1863. Chose Rev. David Moody, pastor. 

May 30, 1866. Rev. David Moody resigned pastorate. 

June 23, 1866. Voted unanimously to receive as pastor the 
Rev. Henry S. Kimball. Mr. Kimball was dismissed by his own 
request. May 20, 1871, to Alton, N. H. 


May 20, 1871. Voted to install, as pastor, Rev. Edwin Smith. 
Mr. Smith was dismissed March 24, 1874. 

May 24, 1874. Voted John D. Waldron be pastor. Mr. Wald- 
ron was dismissed May 24, 1879, to Amesbury, Mass. 

Rev. A. B. Drew was ordained at Sutton Centre, Jmie 17, 1879. 
He was dismissed to Topsham, Me., May 24, 1883. 

Rev. Ehnore C Clark, from Wentworth, N. H., became pastor of 
this church, June 21, 1884, and continued to serve till 1889. 

Present pastor, Rev. H. G. Hoisington. 


The following named persons are found on the 
church resords as deacons of this church since 1842: 

Asa Nelson, dismissed by his own request. May 9, 1847. Died 
Aug., 1853. 

Jonathan Bohonnan, dismissed by his own request, Feb. 12, 1845. 
Died Feb., 1861. 

Nicholas Rowell, chosen, but declined, Sept. 25, 1847. 

Amos Felch, chosen Nov. 11, 1848. Discharged by his own 
request, June 21, 1851. Died April 30, 1876. 

Nicholas Rowell and Levi Cheney, chosen deacons Dec. 30, 
1854. Mr. Cheney discharged by liis own request, April 21, 1860. 
Died Nov. 6, 1874. Nicholas Rowell died Aug. 1883. 

Benjamin P. Sargent consented to serve as deacon June 23, 1860. 
Died March 8, 1875. 

Henry L. Peaslee, Sept. 27, 1875. Removed to Bedford, N. H. 

Charles D. Sargent, chosen Jan., 1878 ; chose James S. Bohon- 
nan assistant deacon. 

James S. Bohonnan and James B. Sargent were elected deacons 
Feb., 1884. 

Andrew J. Bohonnan, elected in place of James S. Bohonnan, 
resigned, Jan. 23, 1886. 

James H. MerriU, appointed assistant deacon, May, 1888. 

Church Clerks. 

Amos Felch, chosen in 1842 and dismissed by his own request, 
May 22, 1843. 

Joseph Pillsbury, Jr., chosen in 1843. 

Leonard H. Wheeler, chosen Dec. 27, 1845, and dismissed by 


his own request, July 3, 1846 ; and same day Nicholas Rowell 

Benjamin P, Sargent, chosen Dec. 30, 1857. 

Chase Putney, chosen Aug. 1860. [Removed to Canaan, N. H.] 

Ira F. Rowell, chosen May 25, 1867, and resigned Jan., 1883. 
[Removed to Claremont, N. H.] 

Lawrence E. Bailey, chosen Feb. 24, 1883, and continues to 

Free-Wixl Baptist Church. 

The following are the names borne on the roll 
May 22, 1842 : 

Isaac Peasley. Elizabeth Andrew. 

Amos Felch. PoUy Russell. 

Asa Nelson. Polly Goodwin. 

Perley Andrew. Martha Jehonnet. 

Isaac Mastin, Jr. Sophia Carleton. 

Ichabod Hazen. Mary Ann Goodwin. 

Thomas Morgan. Samuel Rowell, Jr. 

Chase Sanborn. Willard Burbank. 

Lyman Fisher. Abner Brown. 

Nicholas RoweU. Alden Whittier. 

Aaron Russell. George Fowler. 

Jacob Bean. James Wheeler. 

John M. Andrew. Stephen Woodward. 

George J. Bean. Cyrus Whittier. 

Israel Andrew, Jr. Sylvester Felch. 

John Eaton. Hannah Rowell. 
Jon. Bohonnan, died Feb., 1861. Dolly Jolmson. 

Nathan Champlin. Dolly Bohonnan. 

Joseph Goodwin. Anna Johnson. 

Sewall Burbank. Seba Ring. 

Hiram W. Savary. Polly Rowell. 

Asa Bean. Elizabeth Andrew. 

Joseph Pillsbury, Jr. Betsey Felch. 

Mary Andrew. Hannah Nelson. 

Sally Andrew. Jane Adams. 



Lydia N. Andrew. 
Minerva T. Andrew. 
Nancy Morgan. 
Sally Russell. 
Alice Stevens. 
Elizabeth Nelson. 
Jane Johnson. 
Louisa Peaslee. 
Caroline Champlin. 
Jolin L. Abbott. 
Jonathan Harvey Wliittier. 
Stephen Felch. 
Harmon Hazen. 
Jesse Williams. 
Josiah S. Morgan. 
Thomas Jefferson Chadwick. 
Olive Reddington. 
Sarah Pillsbury. 
Angeline Brown- 
Ann Brown. 
Harriet Champlin. 
Ruth Burbank. 
Nancy Peaslee. 
Joseph Johnson. 
Daniel Hazen. 
George Kezar. 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 
Mrs. C. Abbott. 
Ruth Chadwick. 
Caroline E. Russell. 
Esther Whittier. 

Ruth Kezar. 
Hannah Harvey. 
Lydia A. Woodward. 
Ann Hazen. 
Harriet M. Bean. 
Elsie G. Bean. 
Lucy Cambridge. 
Betsey Andrew. 
Jane Jolinson. 
Hannah Greeley. 
Dolly Felch. 
Lucy Fisher. 
Polly Ring. 


Theodate Bean, d. Sept. 20, 1874. 
Sally Wheeler, died Aug., 1868. 
Judith Cheney. 



Belmda Savary. 
Roswell Haddock. 
Jonathan Palmer. 
B. Perry Sargent. 
Samuel Rowell. 
Henry Towle. 
James B. McAllister. 
Sally Champlin. 
Phineas Wliittier. 
Timothy Bean. 
Fanny Bean. 

Names of Members of Free-Will Baptist Church, 1847. 

Isaac Peaslee. 

Amos Felch. 

Asa Nelson, died Aug., 1853. 

Isaac Mastin, Jr. 

Nicholas RoweU. 

Thomas Morgan. 

Epliraim Fisk, d. Oct. 27, 1864. 

Chase Sanborn, died Apr., 1858. 

Aaron Russell. 

John M. Andrew. 

John Eaton. 

Jonathan Bohonnan, d. Feb., '61. 



Asa Bean. 

John Muzzy. 

Roswell Haddock. 

Jonathan Palmer. 

Stephen Felch. 

Jesse Williams. 

Joseph Johnson, Jr. 

Leonard Wheeler. 

Josiah L. Morgan. 

George Keyser, d. Aug. 25, '65. 

James M, Palmer. 

Stephen Woodward. 

Sylvester Felch. 

George Fowler. 

B. Perry Sargent. 

Henry Towle. 

Timothy Bean. 

Abraham Peaslee. 

Jacob Bean. 

Dustin Seavy, died Jan., 1854. 

David Moody. 

Levi Cheney. 

Edmund Blood. 

Thomas Roby. 

Ira F. Rowell. 

Henry D. Stevens, d. Mar. '58. 

John Roby, Jr. 

William H. Coburn. 

Chase Putney. 

James G. Bohonnan. 

Dolly Bohonnan, died 1855. 

Anna Johnson, d. Sept. 26, 1865. 

Seba Ring. 

Elizabeth Andrew, d. Jan. 5, '63, 

Betsey Felch. 

Hannah N. Mastin, d.Jan. 14, '67 

Jane Adams. 

Minerva T. Andrew. 

Elizabeth (or Alice) Stevens, died 

April, 1861. 
Lucy Cambridge. 
Jane Johnson. 

Hannah Greeley, d. Dec. 11, 1847. 
Hannah Rowell. 
Hannah Sanborn. 
Lucy Fisher. 
Polly Ring. 


Theodate Bean. 
Sally Wheeler. 



Rachel Fisk. 
Abigail Muzzy. 

Nancy Peaslee, died July, 1860. 
Mary Andrew. 
Elizabeth Andrew. 
Sarah J. Johnson. 
Louisa Peaslee, died. 
Angeline Brown. 
Ann Brown. 
Ruth Keyser. 

Sarah Pillsbury, d. Mar. 20, 1855. 
Lydia A. Woodward. 
Fanny Bean. 

Sarah Peaslee, died June, 1856. 
Polly Mastin. 
Elizabeth Nelson. 
Mary P. Felch, dis. by letter. 
Harriet M. Bean. 
Harriet Roby. 
Sally Moody. 
. Lorinda Gove, d. Aug. 8, 1861. 


Revision of Record of Names, August 18, 1867. 

Rev. Isaac Peaslee. 

Amos Felch, died April 30, 1876. 

Nicholas RoweU. 

Aaron Russell. 

John Eaton, died May 20, 1873. 

Asa Bean, dis. by letter to Cong. Ch. in Chester, N. H., Sept., '84. 

Roswell Haddock. 

L. H. Wheeler, died August 14, 1877. 

B. P. Sargent, died March 8, 1875. 

Timothy Bean. 

Levi Cheney. 

Thomas Roby. 

I. F. RoweU. 

John Roby, Jr. 

William W. Cobiu-n. 

Chase Putney, dismissed by letter August 21, 1869, to Canaan. 

James S. Bohonnan. 

George Putney. 

Hemy S. Kimball, dismissed by letter to Alton. 

Daniel Couch. 

James H. MerriU. 

M. V. B. Shattuck. 

Edmund D. Couch. 

David M. Fisher. 

Edward B. Moody, died March, 1873. 

James B. Sawyer. 

James D. Prescott. 

Francis M. Richards. 

Betsey Felch, died October, 1868. 

Hannah M. RoweU. 

Hannah Sanborn. 

Seba Ring. 

Theodate Bean, died September 20, 1874. 

SaUy Wheeler, died August, 1868. 

Rachel Fisk, died December, 1879. 
Ruth Coburn. 

Lydia A. Putney, died March 2, 1875.. 
Annie Bean. 


Elizabeth Nelson, died June 1, 1874. 

Almira Cheney. 

Lucinda Blaisdell, died October, 1868. 

Betsey J. Whittier. 

Mary A. Rowell. 

Adeline C. Sargent. 

Clementine B. Reed. 

Lavina L. Gove. 

Emily Keyser. 

Antoinetta Knight. 

Fanny A. Bohonnan. 

Mary J. Putney, dismissed to Canaan, August 21, 1869. 

Mary F. Sargent. 

Maria Greeley. 

Judith Walker. 

Lucy B. Peaslee. 

Phebe A. Titcomb. 

Sally Ring. 

Carrie L. Kimball, dismissed by letter to Alton, June, 1871. 

Eliza J. Merrill. 

Mary E. Bailey. 

Susan M. Walker. 

D. Lizzie Shattuck, died November, 1877. 

Laura A. Couch. 

Hannah Davis. 

Lucy A. Sawyer. 

Diantha M. Moody. 

Emma J. Ferrin. 

Abby M. Todd. 

Jennie F. French. 

Betsey A. Roby. 

Mary J. Roby, died June 15, 1877. 

Ida E. Dresser. 

Philinda H. Davis. 

Esther Pierce, died October 25, 1867. 

Mary Richards. 

Marilla Richards. 

Harriet Prescott. 

Abby J. Blood. 

Sarah J. Keyser. 


Elizabeth Andrew. 

R. Annie Rowell, received by letter, 1868. 
Lois Fisher, baptized October, 1868. 
Mary Russell, baptized October, 1868. 
Lucy Wheeler, baptized September 25, 1870. 
Abby A. Peaslee, baptized September 25, 1870. 
Mary Titcomb, baptized September 25, 1870. 
Mrs. Mary Cheney, baptized September 25, 1870. 

Free-Will Baptist Church Roll, 1880, January 1. 

Rev. Isaac Peaslee, died May 10, 1884. 

Dea. Nicholas Rowell, died August, 1883. 

Aaron Russell, died May 26, 1883. 

Roswell Haddock, died June 20, 1884. 

Timothy Bean, died Jmie 14, 1884. 

Thomas Roby. 

Ira F. Rowell, dismissed by letter March 1, 1884. 

John Roby, Jr. 

WiUiam W. Coburn. 

James S. Bohonnan. 

George Putney. 

James H. Merrill, received by letter August, 1866. 

M. V. B. Shattuck, received by baptism June, 1866. 

James B. Sawyer, received by letter June, 1867. 

James D. Prescott, received by letter September, 1867 ; dismissed 
by letter 1884, to New London. 

F. M. Richards, dismissed by letter to Warner, August 3, 1887. 

Lawrence E. Bailey, received by baptism July 23, 1871. 

Rev. David Moody. 

Fred. H. Keyser, received by baptism May 25, 1874. 

Orison L. Gile, received by baptism May 25, 1874, and dismissed 
by letter to Lewiston, Me., April 22, 1882. 

Willis H. Howe, received by baptism May 25, 1874. 

Henry L. Peaslee, received by baptism May 25, 1874. 

Cyrus H. Little, received by baptism June 26, 1875. 

Arthur H. Roby, received by baptism June 26, 1875, and died 
April 10, 1887. 

Newton Clough, received by letter September 27, 1875, and dis- 
missed by letter to Brownfield, Me., December 26, 1885. 


Charles D. Sargent, received by letter September 27, 1875. 
Charles W. Sargent, received by letter November 27, 1875. 
James H. Peaslee, received by baptism November 27, 1876 ; died 

November 30, 1886. 
David Bolionnan, received by baptism May 27, 1877 ; died March 

24, 1888. 
Andrew J. Bolionnan, received by baptism May 27, 1877. 
Isaac H. Mastin, received by baptism May 27, 1877. 
Albert D. Couch, received by baptism May 27, 1877. 
Charles H. McAllister, received by baptism June 10, 1877. 
Mark J. Felch, received by baptism June 10, 1877. 
Andrew C. French, received by baptism Jime, 1877. 
Ehiier Hall, received by baptism November 8, 1878. 
Rev. A. B. Drew, dismissed by letter to Topsham, Me., March 24, 

Fred H. Cheney, received by letter August, 1881 ; died July 22, 

Miles S. Roby, received by baptism November 12, 1882. 
Elmore C. Clark, ordained August 28, 1884. 
Addison W. Merrill, received by baptism May 24, 1885. 
Wallace G. Sawyer, received by baptism May 24, 1885. 
George S. Bohemian, received by baptism May 24, 1885, 
Elisha P. Davis, received by bajitism May 24, 1885, 
Frank B. Roby, received by baptism, August 1, 1886. 
George W. Russell, received by baptism May 22. 1887. 
Chester J. Moody, received by baptism Jidy 22, 1888. 
Hannah M. Rowell, died September 4, 1880. 
Hannah Sanborn. 
Seba Ring. 

Ruth Coburn, died March, 1885. 
Fanny Bean, died February, 1882. 
Almira Cheney. 
Betsey J. Whittier. 
Mary A. Roby. 
Adeline C. Sargent. 

Clementine B. Reed, died August, 1882. 
Lovina L. Gove, died February 3, 1888. 
Emily Keyser. 
Fanny Bohonnan. 
L. Maria Greeley. 


Lucy B. Peaslee. 

Phebe A. Titcomb. 

SaUy Ring, died May 20, 1883. 

Alice J. Merrill, received by baptism 1866. 

Mary E. Bailey, received by bai)tism May, 1866. 

Laura A. Mastin, received by baptism July, 1866 ; died April 14, 1888. 

Hannah Davis, received by baptism July, 1866. 

Lucy A. Sawyer, received by baptism June. 1867. 

Diantha M. Moody, received by baptism June, 1867. 

Abby M. Todd, received by baptism June, 1867. 

Jennie F. Emmons, received by baptism June, 1867. 

Mary E. Richards, received by baptism September, 1867, and dis- 
missed to Warner, August, 1887. 

Harriett Prescott, received by baptism September, 1867, and dis- 
missed to New London by letter September, 1884. 

Sarah J. Colby, received by baptism September, 1867. 

Rachel Annie Rowell, received by letter February 6, 1868, and dis- 
missed by letter March, 1884. 

Lois Fisher, received by baptism October, 1868. 

Mary Russell, received by baptism October, 1868. 

Sarah J. Baker, received by baptism October, 1868. 

Lucy B. Wheeler, received by baptism September 25, 1870. 

Abby A. Peaslee, received by baptism September 25, 1870. 

Mary Titcomb, received by baptism September 25, 1870. 

Mrs. Mary Cheney, received by baptism September 25, 1870. 

Mary F. Sargent, received by baptism May 26, 1872. 

Nancy Hope, received by baptism May 26, 1872. 

Mimiie Smith (Davis), received by baptism August, 1862. 

Mrs. M. J. Davis. 

Sally Moody, received by letter March 24, 1874. 

Carrie S. Putney, received by baptism. May 23, 1874. 

Emma L. Wells, received by baptism May 23, 1874. 

Emma Pierce, received by baptism June 21, 1874. 

Lydia A. Wells, received by baptism June 21, 1874; dismissed to 

Abby J. Wells, received by letter June 21, 1872 ; dismissed to 

NeUie G. Hart, received by baptism August 22, 1874. 

Carrie Fellows, received by baptism August 22, 1874 ; dismissed to 


Mary L. Cheney (Felch), received by baptism October 24, 1874. 

Sarah W. Peaslee, received by baptism October 24, 1874. 

Linda E. Nelson, received by baptism June 26, 1875. 

Lizzie French, received by baptism June 26, 1875. 

Sarah E. Clough, received by letter Sei)tember 27, 1875 ; dismissed 

December 26, 1883, to Brownfield, Me. 
Isabel A. Colby, received by letter October 23, 1875. 
Louisa A. Phllbrick, received by letter October 23, 1875. 
Keziah Sargent, received by letter September, 1875. 
Lucy L. Peaslee, received by baptism May 27, 1876 ; dismissed to 

Emma M. Harwood, received by baptism, July 29, 1876. 
Phebe M. Sargent, received by baptism July 29, 1876. 
Josie Roby, received by letter August 26, 1876. 
Mary J. Bohonnan, received by letter May 26, 1877. 
Fidelia McAllister, received by baptism 1877 ; died November 8, 

Nellie M. Phelps, received by baptism 1877 ; died October, 1887. 
Adelaide McAllister, received by baptism June 10, 1877 ; died 

October 7, 1882. 
Hattie E. Keyser, received by baptism May 26, 1877. 

Sally Clough, received by letter June, 1877 ; dismissed to Brown- 
field, Me., December 26, 1885. 

Laura P. Drew, received by letter ; dismissed March 24, 1883, to 
Topsham, Me. 

Abby J. Eastman, received by letter October 25, 1879. 

Grace M. Shattuck, received by baptism August 27, 1882. 

Mary E. Merrill, received by baptism August 27, 1882. 

Effie J. Merrill, received by baptism August 27, 1882. 

Lydia C Bailey, received by baptism November 12, 1882. 

Mary W. Wiley, received by baptism August 25, 1883. 

Mary A. Fellows, received by baptism October, 1883. 

Nettie E. Clark, received by letter June 21, 1884. 

Sarah L. Colby, received by baptism May 24, 1885. 

Ada M. Follansbee, received by baptism May 24, 1885. 

Cora E. Couch, received by baptism May 24, 1885. 

Louisa A. Bullard, received by letter July 24, 1886. 

Myra Bullard, received by letter July 24, 1886. 

Nellie E. Wells, received by profession July 24, 1886. 

Minnie L. Wells, received by baptism August 1, 1886. 


Lizzie B. Andrews, received by baptism August 1, 1886. 
Eva B. Roby, received by baptism August 1, 1886. 
Effie M. Hart, received by baptism August 1, 1886. 
Meribah A. Johnson, received by baptism August 1, 1886. 
Ella M. Sawyer, received by baptism May 22, 1887. 


Believing that the union of Christians in a visible church is sanc- 
tioned by the teachings of Clu'ist and the practice of his apostles, 
Therefore we covenant and agree we will constantly strive to main- 
tain true piety in our own hearts, to keep ourselves in vital com- 
munion with God, and recommend religion to others, not only in 
words but by devoted lives, and always be careful of each others' 
reputation and usefulness. 

That we will watch over each other in the spirit of true charity, 
seeking to bear each others' burdens, assist the needy, strengthen 
the weak, reprove the erring, cheerfuUy submit to the will of the 
constituted majority. 

That we will contribute to our ability to support a faithfid minis- 
try, maintain secret and family prayer, and aid by our presence 
and otherv^ase public and social worship. 

That we will give an active and consistent support to the great 
causes that aim to promote morality and Christian virtue, including 
Temperance and Missions, and that we will conduct oui'selves in 
such a manner that none of the great moral causes will be injured 
by us. 

That we will everywhere hold Christian principle sacred and 
Christian objects supreme, counting it our chief business to spread 
Christian knowledge and diffuse Christian sj^tirit in society, con- 
stantly praying that God's will may be done on eart|i as it is done 
in heaven. 

And may he who has promised to help those who ask enable us 
to keep this covenant, and grant us his grace to be faithful in all 
things until he shall gather us to himself and crown us with the 
final victory. 

[At the December session of the Monthly Conference, 1880, voted 
to adopt the above Covenant, as reported by I. F. Rowell, F. M. 
Richards, and Rev. A. B. Drew.] 


Recent Delegates to Quarterly Meetestg. 

In the appointment of delegates to represent the 
Sutton church in Quarterly Meeting, only male 
members were chosen up to 1880, at which date 
some female names were added. 

Avig. 27, 1880. Chose for delegates to Q. M., James B. Sawyer 
and wife, F. M. Richards and wife, and Ira F. Rowell. 

Oct. 24, 1880. Chose F. M. Richards and wife, Ira F. Rowell, 
and Lawrence E. Bailey. 

Jan. 22, 1881. Chose Lawrence E. Bailey, Fred H. Keyser, Ira 
F. Rowell, and James B. Sawyer. 

May 21, 1881. Chose Dea. N. Rowell, Dea. Charles D. Sar- 
gent, James B. Sawyer, Arthur H. Roby, and F. M. Richards. 

Aug., 1881. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, F. M. Richards 
and wife, and Cyrus H. Little. 

Oct. 22, 1881. Chose Cyrus H. Little, A. H. Roby, Thomas 
Roby, Lawrence E. Bailey, and James B. Sawyer, delegates. 

Jan. 22, 1882. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, James D. 
Prescott and wife, and sister Mary E. Richards. 

May 26, 1883. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, James D. 
Prescott and wife, and sister Mary E. Richards. 

Aug. 25, 1883. Chose Lawrence E. Bailey, James B. Sawyer 
and wife, and James S. Bohonnan and wife. 

May 24, 1884. Chose as delegates to Q. M., James B. Sawyer 
and wife, Thomas Roby and wife, and Dea. Charles D. Sargent. 

Aug. 23, 1884. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, Newton 
Clough and wife, and James S. Bohonnan. 

Jan. 24, 1885. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, Thomas Roby 
and wife, and sister Josie Roby. 

May 23, 1885. Chose James B. Sawyer and wife, Dea. Charles 
Sargent, and Elisha P. Davis and wife. 

Aug. 22, 1885. James B. Sawyer and wife, James M. Peaslee, 
sister Abbie A. Peaslee, and Fred H. Keyser. 

Oct. 24, 1885. Sisters Mary E. Bailey, Josie Roby, Carrie S. 
Putney, Lavina L. Gove, and Janles M. Peaslee. 

Aug. 21, 1886. Lawrence E. Bailey, Fred H. Keyser and wife, 
Thomas Roby, and Miss Nellie E. Wells. 


May 26, 1887. Thomas Roby and wife, Fred H. Keyser and 

Jan. 21, 1888. Fred H. Keyser and wife, Lawrence E. Bailey 
and wiie, and Mrs. Jennie Davis. 

May, 1888. Sister Mary E. Bailey, Thomas Roby and wife, 
sister A. C Cohurn, and Hattie E. Keyser. 

Elder David Moody 

was born in Gilmanton, IST. H., Dec. 3, 1804, mar- 
ried Sally Bean, of Gilmanton, March 19, 1827. 
Their only danghter, Deborah E., was born Jan. 
10, 1838. 

Mr. Moody commenced preaching in November, 
1823. Was ordained in May, 1826. He served the 
following chnrches as pastor: Bethlehem, Sand- 
wich, Meredith, Gilmanton, Sanbornton. 

Supplied Pittsfield, Gilford, ISTorthfield ; then 
moved to Hopkinton, was pastor of that church 
four years ; then to Weare, remaining three years ; 
thence to Sutton two years; thence to Belmont, 
1st church, four years; thence to South Weare two 
years; thence back to Belmont, 1st church, four 
years ; then back to Sutton ten years ; supplied at 
diiferent times ISTewbury and Wilmot; then moved 
to East Weare one year; then moved back to Sut- 
ton and remained four years ; then moved to Plain- 
field, and was pastor of the church in Enfield two 
years; moved back to Sutton, and then to ]N^orth 
Weare, and there was pastor of the church three 
years; moved back to Sutton and then to Plain- 
field, preaching at West Enfield two years; then 
moved back to Sutton, and thence to Sunapee, 
preaching there two years. 

Mr. Moody moved back to Sutton in October, 


1876, since which time he has had his home here 
continuously, and supplied other churches as he 
has been able. 

The foregoing facts were communicated by Elder 
Moody, with permission to abridge the account 
according to judgment, but it seems best to give 
them in full. To relate all those changes just as 
they occurred gives a more faithful picture of his 
life-work during the long years that have rolled 
away, showing plainly enough that he has not been 
one of those Christians who expect to " be carried 
to the skies on flowery beds of ease," but that what- 
ever his hand has found to do he has done it. And 
this is true of him not only figuratively but literally, 
for he has not disdained to labor with his hands 
whenever convenient or necessary. To this judi- 
cious intermingling of mental and physical labor is 
probably to be attributed the wonderfully vigorous 
old age he enjoys. So well in hand has he kept all 
his mental and physical powers, that, as yet, not one 
of them has ventured to be otherwise than fiithfully 
responsive to duty when called on. 

In answer to inquiry made to him in 1885 con- 
cerning his life-work. Elder Moody said, — " I have 
married one hundred and ninety couples; I have 
baptized one hundred and sixty-three persons; I 
have preached five hundred and thirteen funeral 
sermons." To these figures several additions must 
by this time (1889) be made. Being allowed the 
privilege of overlooking Mr. Moody's book of rec- 
ords a few months since, the present writer found 
thereon some two hundred names of persons in 
Sutton whose funerals he had attended. 


The people of this town feel that they can with 
justice claim him as almost a life-long' resident and 
citizen, because that notwithstanding the many 
changes he has made when called to preach else- 
where, this town has really been his permanent 
home. He has owned three or four different estates 
here at different times, and here he remains with 
his descendants. 

Mr. Moody is now considered one of the most 
honored fathers in the faith he has upheld so long, 
and the people of Sutton are quite proud of the 
distinction and respect that are sure to be accorded 
him when he meets his ministering brethren abroad 
officially. He has always been esteemed a good 
sermonizer, and he has, in addition, one great nat- 
ural advantage which very few clergymen possess 
to an equal degree, and that is a most excellent and 
sonorous ^oice, which increasing years seem to 
have no power to weaken or mar. 

And just here the writer is reminded of a conver- 
sation listened to more than forty years ago, when, 
as was not unusual in those days, the subject 
under discussion was as to whether preachers were 
especially called to their work by the grace of 

Those who took the adverse side to this question 
brought up the names of several preachers, who, it 
must be confessed, were not the loftiest examples 
of what a man might do and be in the pulpit, and, 
at length, some one on the other side suggested 
Elder Moody — what did we think of him? Was he 
especially called by the grace of God to be a 
preacher? And here spoke one who had as yet 


been only a listener to the conversation : " If Elder 
Moody is not called by grace to be a preacher, why 
then, in his case at least, nature is stronger than 
grace, and speaks more plainly, for she certainly 
indicated unmistakably her design concerning him 
when she gave him his voice, so aduiirably adapted 
to the pulpit." 

In manner Mr. Moody is friendly, yet dignified 
as becomes his years and his profession, quick of 
apprehension, and of ready sympathies, which last 
named characteristic probably accounts for the fact 
that the burden of attending so many funerals has 
been laid upon him. 

Mrs. Moody was born in Gilmanton, July 5, 
1804. The sixtieth anniversary of their marriage 
was celebrated by appropriate exercises at their 
home in Sutton March 19, 1887. About one hun- 
dred people were present, and a bountiful supper 
was served. They received presents to the value 
of $50. It was an occasion long to be remembered. 
Elder Moody has been a constant attendant at 
quarterly and yearly meetings, and has often been 
called to serve upon ordaining councils. For sev- 
enteen years he has been president of the JST. H. 
Charitable Society, an organization connected Avith 
the Free Baptist yearly meeting. He was present 
at the first General Conference of the denomination, 
which was held at Tunbridge, Yt., Oct. 11, 1827, 
and has several times been a delegate to that body. 
He was one of the eighteen aged ministers who 
were at the Centennial Conference at The Weirs in 
1880, and in length of service in the ministry stood 
second among that number. 

religious societies. 425 

Rev. Hexry S. Kimball 

commenced his labors for the Free-Will Baptist 
chm'ch in Sutton April 1, 1866, and was ordained 
at the Xorth meeting-house May 31 of that year. 
During the five years of his ministry in this town 
there was a continued revival, and many were added 
to the church. He has since labored Avith churches 
in Lake Village, X. H., in Lynn, Mass., in Boyls- 
ton, Mass., in Rochester, JST. H., and in Dayville, 
Conn. He is now pastor of a Congregational 
church in Massachusetts. 

Mr. Kimball was born in Candia, N. H., Sept. 
15, 1839. In addition to the common schools he 
pursued courses of study at Pinkerton academy, at 
Derry, ]N". H., and at the Literary Institution at 
IS'ew Hampton, ^. H. His theological education 
was chiefly obtained at the Methodist Theological 
Institute at Concord, IST. H. 

He married, April 10, 1862, Miss Carrie L. 
Belcher, of Goff'stown, ^. H. They have three 
children, — Annie B., Ida May, and Maud R. 

Mr. Kimball was superintendent of the public 
schools nearly all the time of his residence in this 

In reply to a letter asking for facts concerning 
his course while with the Sutton church and peo- 
ple. Elder Kiml3all writes, — " I was there full five 
years, and enjoyed life there very much. One thing 
was marked: there was a beautiful harmony exist- 
ing between the difterent denominations during my 
residence in town." 

This remark of Mr. Kimball forcil^ly reminds us 


of a passage found in a letter which is yet in exist- 
ence, though written in 1850, from Rev. WilUani 
Taylor to the Calvinist Baptist church in Sutton, of 
which church he was pastor in 1816, some fifty 
years before the time of which Mr. Kimball writes. 
His letter makes allusion to a very opposite senti- 
ment as existing among the people of the different 
religious bodies in Sutton. He says, — " I am ap- 
prised of one great evil which has formerly existed 
and I suppose still exists among you, and that is 
that you meet alternately in two places. It is diffi- 
cult for a church and society to become permanent 
in such a case. As a general thing they will be 
contradicted every other Sabbath, and that too 
before many if not most of the same congregation. 
The friction in such a piece of machinery always 
makes it go hard. I know not what state of repair 
your meeting-houses are in, but if they were both 
ready to fall down I could tell you what to do, and 
that would be to l^uild you one good house in or as 
near the centre as you could get it, and then you 
could build permanently on your own foundation. 
However, I must forbear lest I seem to dictate ; but 
it is said a burnt child dreads the fire, and some of 
you know tliat I tried that running fire two years 
in Sutton to but little purpose; and ever since, I 
have set my face against owning or occupying 
meeting-houses in partnership with other denomina- 
tions, otherwise than as mere acts of courtesy." 

As will be seen, Mr. Kimbairs letter indicates the 
existence of a state of harmony ])etween difterent 
denominations of Christians which Elder Taylor 
supposed impossible. May we not claim, without 


vanity, that we in this our day are wiser than were 
our fathers of half a century ago? 

Rev. Isaac Peaslee, 

a grandson of David Peaslee, the first settler in 
Sutton, was born in this town June 10, 1795. The 
most of his life and ministerial labors, except some 
six or seven years in Troy, JST. H., and Ashl:)urn- 
hani, Mass., were Avithin the limits of the Weare 
quarterly meeting. He was converted in early life, 
served as deacon of the Free- Will Baptist church 
in Sutton several years ; was ordained, and became 
pastor February 15, 1832. He baptized ninety-six 
persons in his own town, and his labors as a minis- 
ter and pastor were greatly blest in the building up 
of the Sutton church. When, in advanced life, he 
could no longer preach on account of his infirmities, 
he was usually found in the house of God, attend- 
ing Sabbath worship, feeling that his presence there 
was an influence for good to others, and a blessing 
to himself. 

His first wife was Hannah Mastin, — truly a help- 
meet in his ministerial labors. They became par- 
ents of eight children. 

Elder Peaslee died at South Sutton, May 11 ^ 
1881:, being almost 89 years of age. A widow and 
four children survive him. In his death it might 
truly be said that a worthy Christian man had gone 
to his reward. His funeral at South Sutton was 
attended by Rev. David Moody, the text of the ser- 
mon being from 2 Timothy iv : 7. 

428 history of suttok^. 

Rev. Arthur Caverko Peaslee, 

third son of Rev. Isaac Peaslee, was born in Sut- 
ton, May 29, 1832; was converted at Wilmot Flat 
at the age of thirty-three, under the ministerial 
labors of JST. L. Powell and G. W. Morris. Soon 
after his conversion he felt that the ministry must 
be his life work; and he sought in ^STew Hampton 
Institution that intellectual training which would 
assist in making his ministr}'^ a success. He was 
ordained at ^ewfield, Me., May 5, 1868. In this 
place his labors as pastor of the church were greatly 

In the fall of 1874 he attended, for the first time, 
the session of the Vermont quarterly meeting at 
West Topsham. At the close of the session he was 
invited to remain as pastor of the church. This was 
his last work, and, being unwilling to give it up, 
long after he was not able to walk to, or even to 
stand in, the desk on account of his infirmities, he 
was carried to the house of God; and there, sitting 
or reclining on his couch, his eloquence thrilled the 
hearts of his hearers, inspiring them with renewed 
zeal and love in their Master's cause. 

He held seven pastorates, during which he 
preached 745 sermons, and baptized 91 persons. 

He died at West Topsham, July 1, 1876, leaving 
a wife and four children. His remains were taken 
to South Sutton for interment. 

religious societies. 4:29 

Secoi^d Adveis^t Church and Society. 

This body of Christians in Sutton organized as a 
society in 184:7. There were in town some behev- 
ers as early as 184:1. Their number increased stead- 
ily, so that in 1868 they drew, as their proportion 
of the $60 interest of the town's minister money, 
$10.35, more than one sixth of the whole, which 
indicates exactly their strength relative to the other 
religious societies. 

The charter members of the society were Thomas 
J. Wadleigh, Esq., Thomas Cheney, Phineas Bean^ 
Capt. Nathan Champlin, and Moses Hazen, Esq. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh, Esq., was elected treasurer, 
which office he held till 1860, when Moses W. Rus- 
sell was elected treasurer. 

The same year the society reorganized. The 
following is the record of this meeting : 

The Second Advent Society met in accordance with the call of 
the secretary. Meeting called to order by T. J. Wadleigh, who 
was chosen chairman. 

Moses W. Russell, clerk and treasurer. 

Thomas J. Wadleigh, Nathan Champlin, and Simeon Stevens, 
executive committee. 

Voted, To authorize the treasurer to draw f om" dollars from the 
town treasury of minister money, assigned to the Advent Society, 
and send it to Elder T. M. Preble. 

Voted, That the executive committee report a constitution at our 
next meeting. 

At a meeting of the society holden in October, 1868, at the dwell- 
ing-house of Phineas Bean, Moses Hazen, Esq., was chosen treas- 
urer, which office he held until his death, in 1884. Elder Frank 
Nelson was chosen clerk at this meeting. 

At a meeting of the society, held in November, 1884, Dexter E. 
Brown was chosen chairman ; Azariah Cressey, clerk ; Lee E. El- 

430 HISTORY or sutto:n'. 

liott, treasurer ; Dexter E. Brown, J. S. Andrew, and F. E. Ferry, 

The following is a summary of the provisions of the constitution 
and by-laws of the society. 

1. This society shall be called the First Second Advent Society 
in the town of Sutton. 

2. The officers of this society shall be a president, secretary, treas- 
urer, and an e:^ecutive committee, consisting of three or more per- 
sons, all of whom shall hold their office one year, or until others are 
duly elected in their places. 

3. Article 3 provides for amendments. 

4. Article 4 provides for filling vacancies. 

Any person of good moral or Christian character may become a 
member of this society by signing its constitution and by-laws. 

The Advent Christian Church of Sutton.^ 

This church was organized November 15, 1884. Pursuant to 
notice, a number of Christian believers met at the house of Lee E. 
Elliott for the purpose of organizing into a church of Christ, observ- 
ing the ordinances of divine appointment according to the New 
Testament basis. Those present did enter into a solemn covenant 
to walk together, as a church, taking the Bible as our only creed, 
and making Christian character the only test of fellowship. 

The meeting was duly organized. 

Dexter E. Brown and Lee E. Elliott were chosen deacons. 

Francis E. Ferry was chosen elder, and Elder Azariah Cressey 
was chosen pastor. 

The members, all of them, entered into a solemn agreement to 
stand by and watch over each other in sickness and in health, to 
assist each other when in trouble, bearing each others' burdens, and 
so fulfil the law of Christ. 

While we take the Bible as our only creed, and permit our mem- 
bers to read and understand for themselves, not seeking in the least 
to bind our brother's conscience, but leaving overy one free to form 
his own opinion as to the meaning of the Scriptures, yet I think we 
agree in the f oUowimg doctrine or confession of faith : 

We believe in God the Father Almighty, Creator of Heaven and 
earth, and in his Son the Lord Jesus Clirist, our Savioui* from sin 
1 Furnished by Azariah Cressey, the present pastor. 


and death, and in the Holy Spirit, our ever present Sanctifier, Com- 
forter, and Guide. 

We believe the Scriptures of the Old and New Testament contain 
the revealed will of God to mankind. 

We believe the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ and his holy- 
apostles are a full and sufficient statement of the duties and faith of 
the church. 

We believe that Jesus Christ died for our sins, that he was bur- 
ied, that he rose from the dead the third day immortal, that he 
ascended bodily from earth to heaven, where he sitteth at the right 
hand of God the Father, there to make intercession for us. From 
thence he shall come again personally to this earth to judge the liv- 
ing and the dead, and to establish liis everlasting kingdom under 
the whole heaven. 

We believe the wages of sin is death, not eternal life in torment. 

We believe that the great day of the Lord is near at hand, wherein 
the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements 
shall melt with fervent heat ; the earth also and the works therein 
shall be burned up. 

We believe according to his promise that God will create a new 
heaven and a new earth, which will be the abode of the saved ; that 
the kingdom and dominion under the whole heaven shall be given 
to the saints of the Most High God. 

We beheve that the ruler in the new world will be the Lord Jesus 
Clirist, who vrill reign forever, sitting upon the throne of his father 
David. Then all of the meek shall inlierit the earth, and there 
shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying ; neither shall 
there be any more pain, for the former things have passed away. 
See Rev., 21st chapter. 

Finally, we believe that this great change is very soon to take 
place, "for he that is to come will come quickly, and will not 
tarry." " Behold I come quickly. Amen ; even so, come. Lord 
Jesus." " Let thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven." 

The Spikitualists. 

As early as 1849, at the very commencement of 
modern Spiritualism, many of the citizens of Sutton 
became interested in its phenomena, aided soon 


after b}^ some good local mediums. Among' the 
first to adopt the philosophy, and who were its first 
unswerving adherents through life, were Hon. 
Reuben Porter and Joseph Harvey, Esq. 

The first public lecture was delivered by Dr. 
Mayhew, of Washington, D. C. Among the able 
subsequent speakers are recalled the names of 
Emma Hardinge, Emma Houston, Dr. H. P. Fair- 
field, Henry Houghton, Dean Clarke, J. P. Green- 
leaf, Mrs. Lizzie Manchester, Mrs. A. P. Bro^^ai, 
Mrs, Withey, and George A. Fuller. 

The Spiritualists in Sutton organized for the first 
time in 1858, and since that time have dra^^ii their 
proportion of the minister money. 

A reorganization took place by the name of 
" The First Society of Spiritualists of Sutton," 
under the laws of the state of Xew Hampshire, 
March 5, 1877, A^'ith the folloAving officers : 

President — WUliam H. Marshall. 
Vice President — Harriet Fellows. 
Secretary — James Knowlton. 
Treasurer — Hattie A. Powers. 
Collector — Charles C. Marshall. 
Simon Kezar ^ 

George Fellows > Trustees. 
Charles A. Fowler. ) 

Since the organization of the Spiritualist camp- 
meeting at Lake Sunapee, the Spiritualists of Sut- 
ton, while preserving their organization intact, have 
to a great extent discontinued their local public 
meetings, and participate in and help to sustain the 
annual camp-meetings at the lake. 



We occasionally hear mention made of these 
people, although, as a body, they exist no longer ; 
and perhaps there is no person living at this time 
who is in sympathy with their peculiar views. But, 
for some years of the early part of this century, 
they attracted no small degree of attention in War- 
ner, where they originated, and in some of the 
neighboring towns. In the part of Sutton adjoin- 
ing Warner they made a few converts. Their 
leader, Jacob Osgood, from whom they took their 
name, was a resident in Warner. He was not a 
member of any church, but his doctrinal views and 
sympathies were generally with the Free- Will Bap- 
tists. His proposition to them, to be by them 
ordained, was, under the circumstances, declined, 
and, soon after, he and his followers renounced all 
faith in ordinations, church organizations, and gos- 
pel ordinances. They claimed to be " the saints ; " 
and it was a part of their religion to denounce all 
denominations in general, and the Free-Will Bap- 
tists in particular. In connection with much that 
seemed spiritual in their worship, they indulged in 
low and personal remarks, objectionable songs, and, 
finally, in kissing and dancing. 

After a career of more than forty years, Osgood 
died, and the surviving adherents were scattered ; 
but as late as 1849 the present writer remembers to 
have attended, for the first and only time, one of 
their evening meetings, held in a private house in 
Warner village. On this occasion a few persons, 
among them the school-master, who had ventured 


434 HISTORY or suttox. 

in out of curiosity, thougli perfectly quiet and 
respectful, got soundly reproved by one of the 
" saints " — a female " saint " — on account of the 
smartness of their dress. 

One of their number had recently died, almost 
instantaneously, and, as was not unnatural, most of 
their prayers and exhortations bore reference to 
the sad event. One of the prayers uttered con- 
tained the following sentence, so peculiar that it 
has not been forgotten by the listener to this late 
day : " Thou knowest, O Lord, Thou didst call for 
her while she stood at the table washing up her 

The Osgoodites believed in extreme plainness of 
speech, manners, and dress, and they refused to do 
military duty ; and to these circumstances a great 
part of the notoriety they gained was probably due. 
But they were not unmoral in their practices and 

The wife of Jacob Osgood, founder of the 
Osgoodites, was a daughter of Jonathan Stevens 
and wife, who were among the early settlers of 
Sutton, in which town Mrs. Osgood was born, Sep- 
tember 12, 1779. Her name is found among the 
centenarians of Sutton. 

settli:n^g the miotster. 

Ill the warrant for towii-iiieeting, March 1, 1790, 
is the followmg article: 

To see if the town will vote to settle Mr. Samuel Ambrose as 
Minister of the Gospel for this town. 

Voted in the negative. 

The warrant for town-meeting, April 1, 1793, 
contained the following article : 

To see if the town will vote to accept Mr. Samuel Ambrose as 
Minister of the Gospel for said town, so that he may be entitled to 
the Right of land in said town that was reserved for the first Gospel 
Minister that should be settled for said town, on condition of his 
giving the town a good Deed of some part of the said Right. 

Voted to accept of the Rev. Samuel Ambrose as a Minister of 
the Gospel for said town, on condition of his giving the town a good 
Deed of the 2nd Division Lot of the Minister Right of land, so 
called, in said town. 

In annual meeting, March 2, 1795, — 

Whereas Rev. Samuel Ambrose was accejited as a regular Minis- 
ter of the Gospel for the town in 1793, and as he has requested the 
town to dismiss him from being considered a minister of the town, 
Voted to grant liis request, and that all contracts between him and 
the town are rehnquished. 

The foregoing extracts from the records show 
that although Mr. Ambrose had been the minister 
resident in town for several years, and was the first 
one, he had never been settled by the town, which 



formal settlement alone could entitle him to the 
ownership of the minister right of land, so called, 
in town, a portion of which he cultivated and lived 
on. Merely holding this land in trust for the min- 
ister they should choose to settle, the town did not 
own it and never could own it except through a 
deed from the minister whom their action could put 
in possession of it. But the town, either from the 
natural covetousness of the human heart, or from 
a conviction that one half of it was all that Mr. 
Ambrose ought to have, since his labors had by no 
means been confined to Sutton, desired to keep the 
other half, and perhaps felt justified in doing so, if 
possible. On the other hand, Mr. Ambrose felt 
that his services in Sutton justly entitled him to the 

As the case now stood neither party had any 
ownership in it, but each could by its action put 
the other in possession of one half of it. The 
advantage which each part}^ held over the other 
being thus equally balanced, the following some- 
what remarkable com23romise was effected: Mr. 
Ambrose having three years before asked in vain to 
be accepted as the minister of the town, now re- 
newed his request, making no secret of his object, 
viz., that he may be thus entitled to the possession 
of the right reserved for the first settled minister 
by a provision of the charter, and the town voted 
to accept him on condition of his giving the town a 
deed of one of the lots. A right, it will be remem- 
bered, comprised two lots, one of the first division 
and one of the second division. 

If the action of the town of Sutton in thus get- 


ting possession of a portion of the minister right of 
land should seem like very sharp practice and cause 
for criticism, it may be well to look into the cir- 
cumstances. Previous to locating in this town in 
1782 Mr. Ambrose had labored a year or two in 
the vicinity, doing missionary work, and becoming 
acquainted with the people of the adjacent towns. 
Especially was this true of the ]^ew London peo- 
ple, who seem to have had quite as much agency in 
his settling in Perrystown as did the people of the 
last named town. It appears that it was a ^ew 
London man who moved his family and goods into 
Perrystown, and the town of ^ew London paid the 
cost of the same. (See Judge Sargent's sketch 
of I^ew London in " History of Merrimack and 
Belknap Counties.") 

Perhaps Periystown was the most convenient 
centre of his missionary field, and hence his locating 
here ; but it is laiown that he served the church and 
people of JSTew London in connection with the Sut- 
ton church for several years, and the town of ]^ew 
London contributed towards his support during 
that time. He also gathered a church in Henniker, 
which was considered a branch of the Sutton 
church, not very numerous as to membership, but 
they maintained public worshij) on the Sabbath, 
and the sacraments were administered during sev- 
eral years. His action in asldng for a settlement 
by the town of Sutton was evidently a result of the 
action of the town of ]^ew London in settling a 
minister of their own, Pev. Job Seamans, which 
was done in 1789. Pealizing that he would no 
longer be needed there, and consequently coidd 


expect no more support from the peoj)le, Mr. Am- 
brose, the next year, 1790, asked to be settled as 
the minister of the town of Sutton, and his request 
not being granted, he renewed it in 1793. He 
remained the minister of the town only two years, 
at the end of which he asked to be dismissed from 
said service, not waiting for Sutton to follow the 
example of JSTew London, which town, becoming 
tired of ]3aying their minister's salary, asked him in 
1795, the same year, to give up the contract with 
them, which he did, of course trusting, as Mr. 
Ambrose to some extent had done while he served 
them, to the contributions of the chiu'ch and of 
individuals for his pay. 

In warrant for town-meeting, in 1786, is the fol- 
lowing article: 

To see if the town will choose to see if Mr. Ambrose will comply- 
to be om' settled minister, and if agreed with, to see what his annual 
salary shall be. 

There is no record of any action being taken on 
the article when met. 

There is nothing to show with which party orig- 
inated the proposition that Mr. Ambrose should, 
having first received his own title, convey to the 
town the second division minister lot; but that the 
town had, before this time, had its eye on it with a 
view to possession, is shown by an article in the 
warrant for town-meeting in 1789 : 

To see if the town will vote to sell the 2nd Division Minister Lot 
in said town. 

Voted in the negative, perhaps because the dis- 
cussion occasioned by reading the article in the 


warrant, when posted, bronght to the knowledge of 
the people the fact that the town did not own it, 
and therefore could not sell it. 

Having become, by the treaty with Mr. Ambrose, 
legally possessed of said lot, the town had a clear 
right to sell it, and the same was done at public 
vendue in 1799, Moses Hills, John Harvey, and 
Lieut. Asa iSTelson being appointed to make the 
sale and take security in behalf of the town. 

In 1794, the next year after their acceptance of 
Mr. Ambrose, the town voted thirty pounds for the 
support of the gospel in Sutton ; but the year fol- 
lo^ving no approjDriation for that purpose is made, 
and the subject does not come up again on the 
records till in the warrant for town-meeting in 1798 
is the following article: "To see if you will vote to 
raise a sum of money to hire preaching this year." 
When met, it was voted to refer the article to the 
selectmen for consideration. 

In 1800, and for several years after that, they 
vote " for support of preaching the interest of the 
money the minister lot sold for." In 1800 they 
also vote that " the before mentioned interest 
money shall be equally divided to each meeting- 
house in said town," Deacon Greeley with the 
selectmen being committee to see to the laying out 
of said money. 

After his dismission Mr. Ambrose removed from 
town, but after a very few years returned to Sut- 
ton and resided here till his death, cultivating his 
farm and occasionally preaching as he had oppor- 
tunity, but never being settled again either by the 
church or town. Some of the votes passed early in 


the present century indicate a determination on the 
part of the people that he should not be hired again 
as a regular preacher, perhaps for no better reason 
than this, that the minister who gathered churches 
in the wilderness twenty years before was hardly 
equal to the style of a more modern era. 

1800. Voted that the committee appointed to see that the pulpit 
is supplied with preaching tliis year shall procure a new Gift or 

1801. Voted to lay the money out to hire Mr. Crosmon. Voted 
to reconsider last vote. Voted that the money not expended last 
year shall he laid out to procure a Gift not living in the tovm of 

1803. Voted to choose a committee to see that the interest of 
the money the Minister Lot sold for he laid out for the purpose of 
hiring preaching the present year, and that Dea. Benjamin Fowler 
be committee to hire a preacher to preach out said money. 

1804. Voted to give the public speaker for the town for the past 
year tliree dollars per day or week. 

Voted that whereas there was 90 dollars raised in the town last 
year for the support of the Gospel that the respective inhabitants of 
the town shall have their proportionable part of said 90 dollars to 
pay to any religious society that they please provided that if they 
procure a certificate from said Society certifying that they have 
paid the same the selectmen shall give them an order on the collec- 
tor for their proportionable part of said 90 dollars. Voted not to 
raise any money to hire preacliing the ensuing year. Voted to 
allow Benjamin Fowler tlu-ee dollars, it being for service done in 
prociu'ing a Gift to preach for the town last year. 

1805. Voted to hire Elder Champlin to preach the ensuing 
year. Voted that Mr. Champlin shall have the interest of the 
moneys arising from the sale of the Ministerial lands in said town 
for the present year. Voted that if any of the inhabitants of said 
town shall be against Mr. Champlin's having their respective pro- 
portionable part of said money that they shall have the liberty of 
procuring any other Gift to pi'each out their proportionable part of 
said money which may be agreeable to them, provided said money 
is laid out in said town the ensuing year. 


The peculiar use of the word " Gift " may not be 
quite famiUar to readers of the present day, but was 
common in the first quarter of the present century. 
It simply meant a gifted brother or preacher, the 
implication being that the ability to preach accep- 
tably comes by a gift of nature rather than as the 
result of hard study and patient effort. 

In the transition period of which we are now 
treating, when the old-fashioned system of a life- 
long relation beween pastor and people was fast 
breaking up, the belief in a special " call to preach," 
even by a man of very little learning, was not un- 

There were still left, however, some of the more 
hard-headed sort, who after attempting in vain to 
review one of those rambling though perhaps per- 
suasive discourses, would give it as their opinion 
that " no man was ever called of God to preach 
unless he coidd preach." 

From the votes above copied, it will be seen that 
at the date in which they were passed, this town, 
like other towns in ]^ew Hampshire, acted to some 
extent as an ecclesiastical as well as a civil cor- 
poration in hiring preachers, etc. 

The history of the state shows the cause and 
authority for such action on the part of the towns. 
The people of ]^ew Hampshire had long been 
bound by a system which became oppressive and 
burdensome. An act, passed during the reign of 
Queen Anne, empowered towns to hire and settle 
ministers, and to pay them a stipulated salary from 
the town taxes. This, if not directly a union of 
church and state, operated most oppressively. 

44:2 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Each town could select a minister of a particular 
persuasion, and every citizen was compelled to con- 
tribute towards the support of the clergyman, 
and to help build the church, unless he could prove 
that he belonged to a different persuasion, and reg"- 
ularly attended public worship somewhere on Lord's 
Day, the law presuming that every person must 
attend some place of public worship, and pay a 
tax to some religious society. This presumption 
was founded on the consideration that the public 
recognition of the Christian religion was a public 
benefit, and a means of insuring the peace of the 
community and the permanency of our political 
institutions. It was therefore argued that for a 
public benefit of which every individual was a 
recipient, whether he attended on preaching or not, 
each should pay a due proportion of the cost, just 
as every man's tax helped to pay his proportion of 
other town expenses and outlay, of Avhich he reaped 
his share of benefit. 

The 'New Hampshire Bill of Rights provides 
that " no person of any one particular religious sect 
or denomination shall ever be compelled to pay 
towards the support of the teacher of another per- 
suasion, sect, or denomination, and that no subordi- 
nation of one sect to another shall ever be estab- 
lished by law." 

Notwithstanding these clear provisions, the stat- 
utes of Anne continued substantially to prevail. 
The act of the legislature of 1791 changed the form 
but not the nature of the oppression. It vested in 
the selectmen of the towns essentially the same 
powers which had been vested in the body of the 


citizens. The selectmen conld still settle a minis- 
ter and tax the people for his support, and they 
conld build a meeting-house and levy taxes to pay 
for it, on the property of those who had no sympa- 
thy with the undertaldng. 

The people of 'New Hampshire submitted to this 
oppressive law twenty-eight years, that is, from 
1791 to 1819, but they manifested a constantly 
increasing dissatisfaction. After much struggle 
and debate, the Toleration Act passed the legisla- 
ture in 1819. It " provided that no person shall be 
compelled to join, or support, or be classed with, or 
associated to, any congregation, church, or relig- 
ious society, without his express consefit first had 
and obtained." 

There had been but one sect known to the law 
of 1791. Universalists, Methodists, and Baptists 
were indiscriminately classed with the Orthodox, and 
when they pleaded their difference of sentiment as 
a reason why they should not be taxed, they were 
told that " they were not acloiowledged by the 
laws as a religious denomination, and that the 
assessors might therefore assess them with Con- 
gregationalists." After bearing this oppression 
thirteen years, the Free- Will Baptists, in 1801, pro- 
cured an act of the legislature of this state recog- 
nizing them as a religious denomination. The Uni- 
versalists did the same in 1805, and the Methodists 
in 1807. 

This recognition of course relieved individuals 
belonging to any of these sects from liability to 
taxation for support of the preacher of any of the 
other sects. 


1^0 record is known to exist either of the Sutton 
church or of its Henniker branch. 

The Free-Will Baptists in Sutton organized as a 
church in 1818. 

The review of the action of the to^vn of Sutton 
concerning meeting-house and minister, which the 
votes copied from the records present, shows that 
the people of this town felt but very little of the 
oppression which the existing laws made possible. 
The town did not build the meeting-houses, and 
during two years only did the town have its settled 
minister, and only once in those two years is found 
any record of a direct tax for his support. What 
amount of salary he received yearly from the church 
and peoj)le of Sutton cannot be known. The only 
record concerning it yet discovered is the following, 
furnished for this work by the late Moses Hazen, 
Esq. He found it among the papers of Daniel 
Messer. It is entitled " A rate list containing what 
the inhabitants agreed to give Mr. Ambrose for the 
year 1788." The date, it will be observed, is the 
year following that in which 'New London church 
and town voted to call a minister of their own, 
Rev. Job Seamans, and fixed the amount of his 
salary. By this action of ]S^ew London it became 
manifest to the people of Sutton that they must 
hereafter provide for their minister themselves. 

The names of some of the prominent men then 
living at the extreme ends of the town, north and 
south, are not found in this list of contributors, 
they preferring to pay for their gospel privileges in 
'New London and in Warner, near which towns 
they respectively lived. 

settlrntg the mestister. 445 

Rate List (for Mr. A^ibrose). 

Jacob Davis, 0. 12. 9. Bond Little, 1. 3. 4. 

Jona. Davis, 0. 12. 9. Asa Nelson, 1. 4. 0. 

Ephraim Gile, 0. 19. 4. Philip Nelson, 0. 14. 4. 

Reuben Gile, 0. 11. 10. Samuel Peaslee, 0. 10. 0. 

Daniel Messer, 1. 18. 8. Joseph Wadleigh, 1. 2. 0. 

Thomas Messer, 0. 5. 8. Thomas Wadleigh, 1. 2. 4. 

Jacob Mastin, 0. 14. 6. Isaac Peaslee, 0. 10. 10. 

Stephen Nelson, 0. 6. 9. Hezek. Parker, 0. 8. 0. 

Robert Heath, 0. 11. 4. Benj'n Wadleigh, 1. 1. 10. 

Sam'l Bean, 1. 2. 4. 

The fractional sum set against each man's name, 
without doubt, indicates the estimated value of a 
certain number of bushels of corn, grain, or other 
farm product, with which he agreed to pay the 
amount of his subscription. 

The money arising from the sale of the minister 
lands proved to be, in more ways than one, a great 
convenience to the town, as witness the follomng: 

In Warrant for town-meeting, Nov. 5, 1804. 

To see what method the town will take to procure a Standard of 
Weights and Measui'es. When met, voted that the Selectmen have 
leave to make use of so much of the Minister money as will be nec- 
essary to procure a Standard of Weights and Measures until said 
money can be assessed by the town. 

Fortunately for those of us who may be curious 
to Ivnow just how much of the minister money was 
thus temporarily diverted from its legitimate pur- 
pose, the bill for this standard of weights and 
measures has been preserved among the papers of 
Jonathan Harvey. Its amount takes a large moiety 
from the annual income of the minister fund, and 
perhaps for this reason the town votes to raise no 


money for preaching that year. Here is the bill 
receipted : 

Daniel Warner sold to the town of Sutton a Sett of Weights & 
Measures, sealed for their Town standard, at 46 Doll's, and deliv- 
ered the same to James Minot, Jan. 28, 1806, and Received Pay- 
ment. Per Daniel Warner, 

Sealer for the Co. of Hillsborough. 

Survey of the Town. 

Aug. 1804. Voted that the Selectmen' shall take a survey of the 
Town as soon as they niay think proper. Voted that the Selectmen 
may make use of all the Intei'est money which has arisen from the 
sale of the Minister lands in town which is not expended for the 
support of the Gospel for the present year, to defray the expenses 
of obtaining said survey, until the town can assess money to replace 
the said Interest money. 

In 1880, immediately after annual town-meeting, 
some discussion arose regarding the appropriation 
by the town of the school and minister funds for 
paying something towards the town debt, the town 
to be taxed annually for the interest on the same 
till the principal should be replaced. 

The following is Erastus Wadleigli's summary of 
the whole matter, to close the discussion, as printed 
in the Manchester Mhror, and dated April 5, 1880 : 

Many new residents and voters cannot see why these funds do not 
belong to the town. For the information of such, we will refer 
them to the original grant of the town by the Mason proprietors. 
One of the conditions and stipulations in the grant was a reservation 
of one Right (that is, a 100 and a 160 acre Lot) for the support of 
a Gospel minister ; another Right was reserved for schools. These 
rights were not available in lands, and were sold under the direc- 
tion of the town, and the proceeds of these sales constitute the origi- 
nal funds. Additions have been made to the school fund by adding 


our " literary fund" to the original fund, expending the interest 
only. The Minister money has ever been 1,000 dollars. The town 
has acted as trustee of these funds, and should be accountable for 
the interest on them for proper purposes so long as the town has 
the use of them. 

The town has paid out annually as interest on this minister fund 
$60. This is divided among the different denominations according 
to polls or legal voters. The sum paid by the town as interest 
annually on the school fund has been generally $115, and this sum 
at 6 per cent, would indicate a capital of $1,916,4-6 ; and the 
amount of both funds is $2,916,4-6. We find in the auditor's 
report of the estimated expenses for the ensuing year, interest on 
minister and school funds $110, which is $65 less than the former 

These funds have been taken care of by the town treasurer under 
direction of the town. 

At a town-meeting held June 18, 1880, it was voted to seU the 
town farm, and personal property connected with it. It was also 
voted that hereafter there be assessed annually $60 for interest on 
the minister fund, and $90 for interest on school fund. These 
funds having been used to pay the town debt. 

Liter AKY Fitnd. 

This fund arose in the following manner: In 
1828 the legislature passed a law in pursuance of 
which all the banks in the state were taxed at the 
rate of one half of one per cent, on their capital 
stock for the support of the public schools. The 
tax so raised was loiown as the state's Literary 
Fund, and was required to be divided among the 
to^vns in the proportion of each town's share of the 
public tax. 


In the early days women used to pin their ordi- 
nary clothing with thorns, the thorn bush being 
found growing on the hill-sides in many places, and 
pins being very scarce. Says my informant, — " My 
mother used to have a paper of pins sent to her by 
her friends in Amesbury about once a year. She 
always gave each of her daughters a row of them, 
which we kept for state occasions, making thorns 
do duty the rest of the time." 

Men's common clothing was held together, usu- 
ally, by leather buttons, — sole leather, of course, — 
which tlie shoemaker would cut out round with the 
help of a compass in marking. These buttons 
were quite serviceable, except in very wet weather 
when they sometimes became water-soaked and 

Woodchuck skins were carefully tanned, and 
thus became useful for many purposes. Being* 
strong and yet plijible, they made good pockets for 
men's clothes, button-stays, etc. 

Some idea of the primitive style of living which 
the early settlers were compelled to adopt may be 
gathered from the following incident related by the 
descendants of the family in which it occurred. 

Oliver French owned large estates on the moun- 
tain-side, but still his house door was without 


hingeS, because no hinges were to be had. The 
door leaned to the house, and it must be pushed 
aside when any one wished to go in or out. One 
evening the fomily had been away, and on their 
return found the door shoved aside considerably, 
which indicated that some one had entered the 
house in their absence. Passing in themselves and 
taking a survey of the premises, lo! there was the 
intruder in the shape of one of the hogs sleeping 
comfortably on the bed. 

Bears were very troublesome and destructive in 
the oTOwinof corn. Cornelius Bean and one of his 
neighbors once made an attempt to trap some bears 
in the corn-field by getting them drunk and help- 
less. For this purpose they filled a small wooden 
trough with rum and molasses, of which bears were 
supposed to be fond. But the two men, yielding to 
strong temptation, themselves drank till they be- 
came stupid with intoxication, and lay upon the 
ground some hours. When they at last awoke, they 
saw, by the bear-tracks around them, that their vis- 
itors had been there and had partaken of the rum, 
but they had not been so drunk as the men were, 
since they knew enough to take themselves out of 
danger. The rum and molasses was all gone. 

The clothing of the earliest settlers was of the 
very coarsest and simplest description, — the skins of 
animals slain in hunting often doing eff'ective ser- 
vice in this way for men and boys. One night, 
Benjamin Wadleigh, Sen., having been out in the 
rain, took off his leather breeches, and laid them by , 
the fire to dry. During the night the fire fell down 
upon the hearth and burned them. And they were 



his only pair! The general dismay in the •family 
may be imagined, when in the morning he discov- 
ered his great loss. His mischievons offspring, 
however, soon fonnd food for much ill-suppressed 
mirth in this mishap, but the honored head of the 
family was compelled to lie in bed till his wife 
could cut up the baby's blanket and make him an- 
other pair of breeches. 

The same individual, one warm winter's day, 
went out with a musket and a small dog, being in 
pm-suit of a moose he had espied. The animal 
led the man a long chase, so that at night he found 
himself seven miles from home, near the Blackwater 
river, in Andover. There the enraged animal 
turned upon his pursuer, and Wadleigh fired and 
killed him. He next proceeded to divest the moose 
of its skin, Avi'apped himself in it, and lying down 
on the snow, went to sleep. During the night the 
weather changed, and alas that deer and moose 
skins should be liable to accidents of a character so 
diverse! This time the skin was not burned, but 
frozen, and frozen to him, so that he found himself 
a prisoner, till by the heat of his own breath he 
managed to thaw himself out. 


The first settlers planted apple-seeds, and thus 
raised their apple-trees. Ephraim Gile had the 
earliest bearing orchard in town. 

When the time came to want a cider-mill, he 
constructed one for himself by such simple means 
and methods as he could find within reach. This 
mill was a rude affair, of course, but, as there was 


no mill nearer than Warner, he made it do his 
work, which was done so Avell, in fact, that though 
he had but eight bushels of apples, his mill pro- 
duced therefrom, according to his own stateuient, 
" one barrel of whole cider, one barrel of water- 
cider, and one barrel of charming good drink." 

The widow of Dea. Matthew Harvey informed 
her descendants that herself and husband Avere 
engaged in setting out an orchard of little apple- 
trees, raised from seed, on the Dark Day of 1780; 
but the darkness as it increased compelled them to 
suspend their labors. 


Daniel Emery, an early inhabitant of this town, 
had several sons, who, like most young men, felt 
that time spent in the society of young ladies was 
not entirely lost. Their father, however, felt diifer- 
ently, and if his boys were absent too long on such 
a mission, used to reprove them, and relate his own 
experience. He stated that he " never lost an 
hour's time in courting;" that he went to the girl 
he liked, and asked her a few questions as to her 
capabilities, the principal of which was, — "Can 
you make good bean porridge?" Hasty-pudding 
he considered of secondary importance, but still he 
offered the same inquiry, — " Can you make it?" 
Both questions being ansAvered affirmatively, he 
proceeded to propound a third, " Will you haA^e 
me?" to which she ansAvered " Yes." And so, to 
use his OAvn manner of stating it, he " concluded to 
have her right off." 

The girl upon Avhom his choice fell was Hitty, 


daughter of Ezra Jones, the miller ; and she proved 
to be an excellent wife, being capable and sldlled 
in many household accomplishments beyond what 
he had stipulated for. She was a noted weaver of 
" rose coverlids" and other nice things. 

Making Salts. 

Various means were resorted to, in order to ob- 
tain supplies for their families, by the early settlers. 
One of these was the maldng of salts from the 
ashes of wood. The new lands that were first 
cleared were covered with a heavy growth, mostly 
of hard wood, and when clearing their lands of this 
timber the ashes made from the wood were col- 
lected and put into leaches, generally made of 
hollow logs cut from the trunks of hollow trees, 
and after being thoroughly leached the lye was 
boiled in small kettles, generally holding no more 
than twelve or fourteen gallons, to a consistence 
called " salts of lye." These were sold at from $3 
to $tt per 100 pounds, to those who made a bnsiness 
of converting the same into potash, which was 
then transported to Boston or some other market. 
Many of the men found employment in this busi- 
ness during a large portion of the winter season. 
The business of making these salts was continued 
for several years after the town was considerably 
settled, till the timber could no longer be spared 
for this purpose. 

Capt. James Taylor, who lived in the south-east 
part of the town, had a store and potash factory, 
and used to buy the salts and pay in merchandise. 


Those are yet living' who remember the old 
Potash building that stood close to the pond just 
above the school-house in the ]Nrorth Village. They 
can remember also the day of its entire destruction, 
when it caught fire and was " burned to the water's 
edge." It was just before noon-time, when the 
master was hearing his classes spell. He chanced to 
look out of the window, and lo! a volume of smoke 
and flame was rising from the long unused old 
Potash. Quick came the order, " Pick up your 
books, and get on your clothes! — school is dis- 
missed." The present writer, then a young child, 
remembers running home at a tremendous rate of 
speed, never stopping to look behind, grasping 
Marshall's Spelling Book as tightly as if in that one 
copy lay the only chance of ever obtaining an 
education. That was the last of the old Potash. 

There is a sad incident connected with this boil- 
ing of salts, which one living twenty years ago 
remembered. It occurred in Fishersfield, and the 
victim was a resident in that town, but was well 
known in South Sutton. His name was William 
Burns, and he was a most estimable young man. 
Sometimes the salts were boiled in the house, over 
the kitchen fire, and this was what Mr. Burns was 
doing. Wishing to renew the fire, he had just 
taken ofi" the kettle, and had gone out and struck 
an axe into a heav}^ back-log, by this means drag- 
ging it into the house. The axe suddenly gave 
way, and he Avas precipitated backward into the 
boiling lye, his whole body being covered with it. 
He lived but a very few minutes, in terrible torture. 
This occurred about 1808. 

454 history of sutton^. 


Prior to the commencement of the present cen- 
tuiy very little cotton was in nse, and, in fact, it 
was scarcely loioAvn as an article of commerce. 
Linen cloth served all the purposes for which cot- 
ton is now used. Flax was much cultivated, being 
the material from which yarn, sewing-thread, and 
cloth could be made. 

Flax, after being rotted, — i. e., the husk or out- 
side covering of the stalk, not the fibre, was rotted 
in the field, — was prepared by the hand-brake and 
swingling-knife for the further work of the family. 
Here the hatchel or comb separated the tow from 
the finer flax, each to be ajjpropriated to its proper 
use. The flax, being wound upon the distaflp, was 
spun upon the " little wheel, " which was turned by 
means of a foot-board, and thus made into linen 
yarn. This yarn, being woven into cloth and 
bleached, was made into table and bed linen and 
under-clothing. The tow, spun upon the " great 
wheel " like wool, made filling for linen warp, and 
furnished a coarse article for the common uses of 
linen cloth. 

Soon after the commencement of this century, 
cotton came into use to a small extent, being in 
some cases made into cloth in families. Soon after 
1810, some small factories Avith machinery for spin- 
ning cotton into yarn were in operation. 

The yarn made in these factories was kept for 
sale, in most of the stores, for several years after 
cotton weaving mills were in operation. This cot- 
ton yarn was not costly, and it was a great conven- 


ience to housewives, as it essentially diminished 
their labors. " Cotton and wool" flannel began to 
be made, and was found serviceable, and yarn made 
by twisting together one thread of cotton and one 
of wool made durable stockings. 

But the first important improvement in cloth 
maldng was the introduction of the carding ma- 
chine, by which the wool was prepared for spinning. 
By this means the labors of the housewife were 
lessened about one third. These carding mills 
came into operation soon after 1810. 

The wool was usually sent to the mill in immense 
bundles, done up in a Avoolen bed-blanket pinned 
together with thorns. It came home in the same 
blanket, in the shape of handsome long rolls, ready 
for spinning. Carding by hand was very laborious, 
and this accounts for the readiness with which the 
factory improvement was ado23ted. 

Steel and copper pens were introduced about 
1833, and were not at first well received, the Avrit- 
ing-paper, as then ^^repared, not being adapted to 
their use. This difiiculty was perceived by the 
paper manufacturers, and soon remedied by a dif- 
ferent finish to the paper; after which the metallic 
pens found general favor, and goose-quill pens 
went out of use, much to the relief of school- 
teachers, to whom the maldng and mending of 
quill pens had been no small burden. 

Friction matches came into use about the same 
time as the metal pens, and their introduction 
caused a decided change in domestic arrangements. 
Before that time it was a serious responsibility for 
the houscAvife and family to see that the fire did 


not go out; and on going to ])ed the coals in the 
fire-place were carefully buried in ashes to ensure 
the preservation of fire enough to kindle with in 
the morning. If, notwithstanding this precaution, 
the fire did go out, the tinder-box was resorted to, 
or perhaps the male head of the household would 
get a gun and strike fire with that. In default of 
these expedients, one of the children was sent to 
the nearest neighbor's house to borrow fire, bring- 
ing home a burning brand, or some live coals be- 
tween two chips. 

JSTo one imj)rovement, however, has made a 
greater change in domestic customs than the intro- 
duction of cooking-stoves, which made the kitchens 
warmer with less fuel, and also made it possible to 
do cooking in a neater manner, and lightened the 
labor of the women in many ways. The first stove 
the writer remembers to have seen in Sutton Avas 
one of the James patent, which had the oven 
directly over the fire-box, with holes on each side 
of it, oval in shape, and kettles to match. 

This stove was soon supplanted by the Moore's 
patent, which was a great improvement on the 
James, having the oven behind the fire-box and 
round kettle-holes, enabling the housewife to use 
much of the old-fashioned firej^lace furniture. 

About 1850 a manufactured article, sold by the 
name of burning-fiuid, began to take the place of 
candles and whale oil lamps, which in its turn was, 
some ten years later, supplanted by kerosene oil, 
now so universally in use. 


For bread, the Sutton people, for many years, 
depended mostly on rye and corn, till the opening 
up of the vast wheat regions of the West and 
[Northwest brought them better bread. The new 
land in this and adjacent towns was better adapted 
to raising rye than wheat. The smaller wild fruits 
— raspberries, blackberries, strawberries, and in the 
meadows cranberries and blueberries, high bush and 
low — abounded here; and it was not many years 
after the settlers came and planted apple-seeds be- 
fore the trees were in bearing condition. Deacon 
Matthew Harvey and his wife were engaged in 
transplanting little apple-trees when the gloom of 
the " dark day " came on. The trees lived and 
grew, some of them attaining a hundred years of 
age, double the age of the man who planted them. 

The primitive log-house was a shelter merely, 
neither handsome nor comfortable, with no glass 
to the window, which was but a hole cut through 
one of the logs, and necessarily closed in stormy 
weather. Sometimes plates of mica were made to 
do duty in place of glass, and even oiled paper was 
used as a very ineffectual substitute. 

The first framed houses were usually very small 
— 20 feet square, called a half-house, or 40 x 20 
feet, called a double house — and these had only 
small windows without blinds or shutters. The last 
named came later, and the few houses provided 
with these were made much more comfortable by 
the exclusion of the cold air of a winter's night. 

The furniture was made of the wood of the native 
forest trees, — pine, birch, or cherry, — and some cabi- 
net-makers used the handsome birds-eye maple for 


stands and tables. Wooden plates and dishes were 
used on the table ordmarily, pewter dishes being 
costly. The brooms were made of hemlock twigs, 
and when new did the work well, being a good 
illustration of the saying "a new broom sweeps 
clean." In these poor houses the people lived: 
here the women worked and wore out their lives, 
rearing large families, and making not only the 
clothing for all, but the cloth from which the cloth- 
ing was made. Where the wants were so many 
and the means for supplying them so limited, there 
was little chance for the women to fall into the sin 
of idleness. 

Losses by Fiee. 

The following i3etition for help in consequence 
of loss by fire shows how such losses were met, as 
fire insurance companies were not then known: 

Sutton, Jan. 20, 1787. 

To all people who consider the distressed, and are well wishers to 

mankind, I will relate to yoix my trouble. 

On the 19tli day of this instant, a little after sunset, my house was 
consumed by fire, my gi'ain, corn, peas, beans and other necessaries 
of life were burned and lost. My household goods and clothing 
were lost excepting a very small matter. My wife and children 
escaped with only their clothing on their backs, and my loss at the 
least consideration is supposed to be eight hundred dollars. Pray 
consider the case of your distressed friend and make him some 
helj), for he is in gi-eat trouble. This from your humble servant. 

The response to the above appeal was so hearty 
that in one week's time another frame was raised, 
and the building soon completed. 


The Caravai^. 

A menagerie of wilcl animals, or, as it was then 
termed, a caravan, came to exhibit in this town 
about 1827, being, so far as known to the writer, the 
only one that ever visited Sutton. It is thus 
described by one who was then a girl of eight or 
ten years of age. " The caravan came into the 
^orth Village over the Warner road, and the first 
vicAV I had of it, as it moved down the hill and by 
our house, was the greatest sight my young eyes 
had ever beheld. The procession was heralded by 
a band of music, and the whole afiair was quite a 
long time in passing our house. I think there was 
an elephant, but that is not quite clear to me. I, 
however, distinctly remember seeing in the tent, in 
the afternoon, a lion, the handsomest one I have 
ever seen, — in fact I have never seen one like it 
since that time. There were two tigers, a leopard, 
a polar bear, a llama, a camel, and many monkeys, 
to which last the people visiting the shoAv kept toss- 
ing pieces of ' boughten' gingerbread, just to see 
them catch and eat it. One of these monkeys had in 
her arms a monkey baby, which she tended and 
fondled like any human mother with her human 
baby. This part of the show excited no small 
degree of interest. There were also many rare 
birds in the collection. 

"In the course of the afternoon's exhibition a 
sliglit ripple of excitement and some little alarm 
was experienced by an occurrence which came very 
near having serious results. The cages containing- 
the monkeys were placed high above the others, so 


that their active little occupants were measurably 
safe from doing or receiving harm; but the camel 
was simply tied by a rope to a bar, inside of which 
he stood, and Avhich protected him from outside 
pressure. Being considered harmless, he was not 
muzzled. Mischievous boys, however, watching 
for opportunity, kept teasing the animal, till at last 
it became enraged, and stretching its neck over the 
bar, with its teeth siezed hold of the arm of the 
person nearest. The victim proved to be Col. John 
Harvey, who just at that moment was holding with 
his left arm his youngest child, a girl less than four 
years old, while, pointing with the cane in his right 
hand, he was directing her attention up to the 
monkeys. The arm seized by the camel was the 
one that held the child, who, in her fright, fell or 
sprang to the ground, and the next instant was 
rolling directly under the camel's body, and between 
its feet. From this perilous position she was 
quickly rescued by the bystanders, and found to be 
unhurt, but the father was not so fortunate. The 
camel bit through the coat sleeve, and though the 
flesh of the arm, and refused to let go till after 
repeated blows from the heavy cane, one of which 
injured its eye severely. Both parties to this duel 
carried the marks of the conflict as long as they 

" Many years after Avards, a Sutton man who was 
present on that occasion, travelling in a Western 
state, chanced to visit a menagerie, and saw there a 
large camel with one eye useless and a muzzle on. 
Inquiring of the keeper why he kept him muzzled 
ivhen he appeared so innocent and amiable, he was 


told, in reply, that long before that time, when he 
was exhibiting' in Sntton, he bit a man's arm, and 
came very near cansing the death of his young 

Caravans no longer find it for their profit to visit 
the small towns, probably because the opening up 
of railroads makes it easy for the inhabitants, when 
they wish to see the elephant, or even the camel, 
to go where he is, that is, in the large towns and 

kevolutio:n^ary soldiers of sut- 


A considerable number of soldiers who had 
served in the Revolutionary War became residents 
of Sutton after the war was over, but of those enter- 
ing the service while resident in Sutton, there were 
but three so far as known, viz., Benjamin Critchett, 
Silas Russell, and Francis Como. These all served 
in the First 'New Hampshire Regiment, under com- 
mand of Col. Joseph Cilley. A brief review of the 
history of this regiment is perhaps here necessary. 

Immediately on receiving news of the fight at 
Lexington and Concord, April 19, 1775, the New 
Hampshire men hastened at once to Cambridge, 
where the leaders, many of Avhom had seen service 
in the French War, saw the need of immediate 

A convention of delegates from many of the 
towns in the province of ISTew Hampshire met April 
21, at Exeter, and there voted 

that Col. Nathaniel Folsom be desired to take command of the 
troops who have or may go from this govermnent to assist our suf- 
fering brethren in the province of Massachusetts Bay, and to order 
for the ti'ooj)s the necessary supplies, etc. 

In the meantime the Committee of Safety for 
Massachusetts took the initiative in organizing the 


large number of troops which had assembled at 
Cambridge, and on the 26th of April they issued a 
commission as colonel to John Stark, who, having a 
high reputation as an officer, soon raised fourteen 
companies. Capt. James Reed from Cheshire 
county, and Paul Dudley Sargent from Hillsbor- 
ough county, also received commissions from Mas- 
sachusetts " to continue until JSTew Hampshire 
should act." 

Uj)on the convention at Exeter deciding to organ- 
ize a military force and adopt the regiments then at 
Cambridge as a part of it, Col. Reed visited that 
body and was commissioned as colonel of one of 
these regiments. Stark, however, finding himself 
in command of the largest regiment in the army, 
and jealous that Gen. Folsom should have been 
made a brigadier and so outrank himself, refused 
to come into the arrangement, and when ordered 
by Gen. Folsom to make a report of his regiment 
paid no attention to the order. Ma}^ 30, Stark 
received orders from the convention at Exeter to 
report to that body, which orders he obeyed, and 
matters w^ere there arranged to his satisfaction. 
His regiment was called the First 'New Hampshire 
Regiment, and was to consist of twelve companies, 
while the other regiments were to consist of ten 
companies each. Under this arrangement he 
received a commission as colonel. 

The New Hampshire troops were quartered 
at Medford, whence Stark and Reed's regiments 
marched on the 17th of June to take part in the 
battle on Bunker Hill. The record of that day, 
and the creditable part taken in it by these regi- 


ments, form a part of the history of the country^ 
and need not to be mtrodnced here. 

During the summer and autumn, these regiments 
were stationed at Winter Hill, where fortifications 
had been raised. 

After the evacuation of Boston by the British in 
March, 1776, Stark was ordered with his regiment 
to ^ew York, and during the summer they went 
with the expedition to Canada. On the return 
of that army they proceeded to Philadelphia where 
they were under the command of Washington, and 
formed a part of Gen. Sullivan's brigade. AYhile 
they were slowly retreating through Xcav Jersey, 
the term for which these regiments had enlisted 
expired. The army on which the hopes of the 
country now rested had dwindled down to a rem- 
nant of what it had been. It was poorly clad, fed, 
and paid, Avhile the British force of more than 
double their number was thoroughly disciplined 
and supplied. 

In this discouraging condition Washington made 
an appeal to these regiments to remain with him till 
the season for active service was over, and the 
enemy had retired for winter quarters. 

To this appeal an assent was made, and one of 
the results of it was the credit they gained by their 
part in the battles of Trenton and Princeton, in 
Dec, 1776. In this brilliant action, i. e., the attack 
upon Trenton, the First l^ew Hampshire regiment 
took a prominent part, being under command of 
Col. Stark who led the right wing of Gen. Sulli- 
van's brigade of ]S^ew Hampshire troops, Gen. 
Washington commanding the main body, consist- 


ing chiefly of ^ew England troops. In both the 
battles the I^ew England troops did most of the 
fighting, and no regiment was more conspicnous 
than that of Col. Stark. 

In the fall of 1776 the First :N'ew Hampshire 
Regiment was practically dissolved, and a new 
organization, composed largely of the materials of 
the old, was made. 

The inconvenience of maintaining an army by 
annual enlistments and temporary levies had been 
severely felt, and Congress finally adopted the plan 
so strongly recommended by Gen. Washington, 
and passed an act for raising a force by enlisting 
the men for three years or during the war. 

The men were to be taken for either term as they 
should choose, and the officers were to be appointed 
by congress to serve during the war. 

^ew Hampshire was called on for three regi- 
ments, and the commanders selected were John 
Stark, Enoch Poor, and Alexander Scammell. 

This must have been arranged early in JSTovem- 
ber, for the commissions of the officers in Stark's 
regiment bear date ^N'ov. 8, while many of them 
were serving under him on the Delaware. It was 
usual to fix on a certain number of recruits before a 
commission could be obtained, and some were thus 
conditionally issued. About this time congress 
passed a resolve that 

Twenty Dollars be given as a bounty to each uncommis- 
sioned officer and private soldier who shall enlist to serve during 
the present war miless sooner discharged by congress, and that 
Congress make provisions for granting land to the officers and soldiers 
who shall engage in said service and continue therein to the close of 


the war, or until discharged by Congress, and the representatives 
of such as shall be slain by the enemy, viz., to each non-commis- 
sioned officer and soldier 100 acres. Also that a suit of clothes be 
annually given to each non-commissioned officer and private soldier, 
to consist, for the present year, of two linen hunting shirts, two 
pair of overalls, a leathern or woollen waistcoat with sleeves, one 
pair of breeches, a hat or leathern cap, two shirts, two pair of 
stockings, and two pair of shoes, amounting in the whole to twenty 
dollars, or that sum to be paid every soldier who shall procure those 
articles for himself. 

The general assembly of the state of ]^ew Hamp- 
shire also offered additional encouragement to such 
as should enlist, viz., one blanket annually, or 
eighteen shillings in case the soldier furnish one for 
himself, also twenty shillings per month in addition 
to the jyaj and encouragement by congress. 

The form of enlistment was as follows : 

We the subscribers do hereby severally enlist ourselves in the 
service of the United States of America, in the company under the 

command of Captain to continue in the service three 

years from the date of our enti'ance, unless sooner discharged ; and 
each of us do engage to furnish to and carry with us into the army a 
good effective lire-arm with a Bayonet fixed thereto, a Cartouch 
box. Knapsack and Blanket, and do hereby promise obedience to 
the officers set over us, and to be subject in every respect to all 
Rules and Regulations that are or may be appointed for the army 
of the aforesaid States. Names. 

In the Committee of Safety for 'New Hampshire, 
dated Feb. 25, 1777, the following orders were sent 
to Cols. Stark, Poor, and Scammell: 

Sir : This moment the Committee received by express two letters 
from Gen. Washington dated the 7th and 8th of this instant Feb. 
wherein he orders all the troops raised in New Hampshire to march 
forthwith to Ticonderoga, and directs if the Regiments are not full 
that they be sent forward by Companies with part of the Officers 


leaving the others to recruit at home and follow after which com- 
mand the committee desire you to carry into execution (as far as 
relates to your Regiment) as soon as possible. 

This order doubtless hastened the enhstiiig which 
had been going- on all winter, but it is not likely 
that any actually left the state till March, when the 
roads would be in better condition for niarchinof 
and the transportation of supplies than a month 
later. Every town in the state had been visited by 
some officer, and the selectmen and committee 
urged to contribute their quota to fill up the com- 

What officer visited Sutton, and recruited its one 
man for that year, Benjamin Critchett, is not 
knoA\m, but, by the record of Paymaster Blake, of 
the First ]^ew Hampshire Regiment, it appears that 
the said Benjamin Critchett entered the service in 
February, 1777, and was discharged therefrom in 
the September following; but he is not credited 
to any town, the space in which should be named 
the town which sent him being left blank. In a 
subsequent enlistment, April 20, 1780, which is on 
the record of Pavmaster Blake, the same omission 
occurs, no town being credited. It is only through 
the remembrance of some of the relatives of Mrs. 
Critchett, who was a sister to Dea. MattheAv Har- 
vey, that Benjamin Critchett, ofPerrystown, is now 
known to be the man named on the paymaster's 

The wife of Hon. Jonathan Harvey, who was 
daughter of Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., and possessed 
of all the Wadleigh tenacity of memory, made the 
foUomng statement to the present writer some 


twenty-five years ago, and it was written down at 
that time : 

Benjamin Crltchett and Silas Russell served in the war at the 
same time, but Mr. Russell only served for Sutton, vs^hile Mr. 
Critchett served for New London and was never paid. 

Reference to the record of the paymaster shows 
that this statement is correct as to the time of their 
service, both entering April, 1780, and both dis- 
charged December, 1781. They did not, however, 
qnit the service at the latter date, which is only the 
record of the dissolntion of the regiment, and re- 
organization of the new one. In the roll of non- 
commissioned ofiicers and soldiers belonging to 
the First ISTew Hampshire Regiment for the year 
ending Dec. 31, 1782, their names are still fonnd, 
and a note says, — 

Most of them are entered as commencing Jan. 1, 1782 ; some 
few of them from March to August. The largest part of the former 
had belonged to the First or Third Regiment, but a reorganization 
seems to have taken place Jan. 1, 1781, and also Jan, 1, 1782. It 
is supposed most of them served through 1783 till the regiment was 


Tlie considerable nnmber of names in this roll 
marked with a " D" shows that desertions did occa- 
sionally take place. Mr. Critchett's name is not 
thus marked, l^ut it is known that he with two 
others attempted to desert, not to the enemy, but 
to get home. They were retaken, and all three 
sentenced to be whipped, " running the gauntlet" 
between two files of soldiers. His tAvo comrades 
sank exhausted before the dreadful punishment was 
over, and never recovered, but according to Critch- 


ett's own statement, the soldiers seeing that he was 
likely to survive to the end of the race, did what 
they dared to give him a chance for his life, those 
last in the line barely touching him with their 
whips. As soon as it was over the victim was 
taken to the hospital, and his lacerated back was 
washed w^ith brine. He lay six months in the hos- 
pital before he was able to do duty again. Many 
years afterwards, those who saw his bare back, 
ridged and cut and knotted with the scars of his 
severe punishment, said it was a horrible sight. 

Mrs. Harvey's statement that Silas Russell served 
for Sutton is shown to be correct by the paymas- 
ter's record, which credits him to Perrystown. If 
she was equally correct in her statement regarding 
Benjamin Critchett, that he was never ^9a/;VZ, it 
would seem that in view of all the circumstances 
connected with his period of service, the man must 
have reached the conclusion that " republics are 

The First ISTew Hampshire Regiment reached 
Ticonderoga and Gen. Poor assumed command of 
that post and its dependencies. May 23, 1777, but 
the Americans were compelled to abandon it July 
6th, the enemy having taken possession of a high 
elevation to which the Americans had deemed it 
impossible to raise cannon. 

The retreat was hastily made, and nuich confu- 
sion ensued, together with an enormous loss of pro- 
visions and clothing, as well as other military 

The folloAving memorandum, found among the 
papers of Deacon Harvey, indicates an attempt by 


Mr. Critchett to recover something for losses sus- 
tained at the Battle of Hubbardston, which took 
place during this disastrous retreat r 

Sutton June 1st, 1791 
Benjamin Critchett of Sutton a soldier in the Continental service 
for said town under the command of Capt. Isaac Farwell and in 
Col. Joseph Cilley's Regiment, and was in a battle at Hubbardton 
and we were ordered by Col. Read to unload our packs, and in the 
battle we were obliged to retreat, and I lost all my clothing as 

1. I lost my Surtout to the value of 2. 8. 

2. One pair Deer Leather Breeches 2. 2. 

3. One Blanket 0. 12. 

4. Two Cotton and Linen Sliirts 0. 15. 

5. One fine Shirt 0. 14. 

6. 3 Pair Stockings 0. 15. 

7. One Pair Silver Shoe Buckles, 1. 10. 

And in another Battle that I was in at King's Bridge under the 
command of Capt. Jason Wait, and in Col. Cilley's regiment, and 
we were ordered to leave all our packs on board the Batteaux at a 
place five miles up the River, and the enemy came and took the 
boat that my pack was in and I lost as followeth. [The remainder 
of the memorandum torn off.] 

It will be observed that he speaks of being under 
command of Col. Cilley. The First Regiment had 
been recruited with expectation that they were 
to be commanded by Col. Stark. Becoming 
offended at the action of congress in promoting a 
junior officer over his heady as he considered the 
promotion of Col. Poor to brigadier of the three 
JSlew Hampshire regiments then formed into a 
brigade, Stark had resigned his commission, and 
Col. Cilley received the command of the First Reg- 
iment, Feb. 22, 1777. 

It has been suggested that Mr. Critchett's loss 


of his pay while serving for the town of ]N^ew Lon- 
don was occasioned by his nnfortunate attempt at 
desertion. The year following his second enlist- 
ment, from 1780 to 1781, mnst have been the time 
he served for ISTew London, if at all, apparently, 
since in 1781 the town of ]N^ew London hired Fran- 
cis Como; and in 1782 the town of Sutton "voted 
to help Mrs. Russell and Mrs. Critchett during the 
absence of their husbands in the army." 

Mr. Critchett's name is on the roll of the First 
Regiment as serving through 1782, and it is proba- 
ble he served through 1783 and till the discharge 
of the regiment. He then returned to Sutton, 
where he resided, with his family, for several years. 
In peace, however, as well as in war, his record is 
mostly one of losses, and the fates were against his 
getting rich, at least in Sutton. Soon after the 
death of Dea. Harvey, his brother-in-law, he 
removed to New York state, where it is not impos- 
sible that better success awaited him ; for there was 
good land there owned by the state, and of which 
she gave some to her own soldiers during one of 
the last years of the war. The 'New Hampshire 
troops, who had seen some of this good land while 
serving there, petitioned the state of JSTew York for 
a similar grant, on the ground that they had done 
as much for the defence of that state as her own 
soldiers had, but were refused. The lands were, 
however, sold cheap to settlers. 

Dea. Harvey seems to have had an affectionate 
interest for his sister, Mrs. Critchett. Shortly 
before his death, in settling up his property ailairs, 
among other items to which he calls the attention 


of his executors, is the following: " Critchett's wife 
is to have also the use of a cow, and the wool of 
six sheep." 

One side of Critchett's character, the comic side, 
was never in the least affected by any of his misad- 
ventures. He had the faculty of finding fun in 
almost everything that occurred, and some of his 
jokes were retold a full half century after he left 
Sutton. One night he was sleeping in bed with one 
of his nephews, a little boy, when a heavy thunder- 
shower arose. The child awoke, and in terror tried 
to arouse his uncle, crying, " It thunders, Uncle 
Ben, it thunders." " Lie still, lie still, dear," was 
the reply, " Uncle Ben will get up and stop it 
pretty soon." The absurdity of the idea struck the 
child so forcibly that he was compelled to laugh, 
and doubtless recovered from his terror much more 
easily than he would if he had been exhorted to lie 
still and trust in Providence. 

Fran^cis Como. 

This man entered the service for 'New London, 
April 23, 1781, and probably served till the regi- 
ment was discharged in ^November, 1783. At any 
rate his name is on the roll of the regiment at the 
close of the year 1782. He was a French Cana- 
dian by birth, was taken prisoner during the French 
War when a boy, and carried to Beverly, Mass., 
when the Colonial soldiers returned at the close of 
the war. He came to Perrystown with the settlers 
from that neighborhood. Como is described as a 
small, black-eyed man, agreeable, well disposed, 


and industrious. His wife was a very large-sized 
woman, capable and worthy. Her name was Judith 
Davis. They had seven children, Hannah, the eld- 
est, born in 1773. His sons, John and Benjamin, 
removed to Canada. They were respectable men. 
For his services in the Kevolutionary War, Mr. 
Como received in his old age a pension, but as he 
lived to be very old, and his sons being gone, in the 
very last of his years the town, by his desire, 
assumed the guardianship of his farm, and became 
responsible for his support. He was for a con- 
siderable time boarded in the family of John Kezar, 
and Mrs. Kezar was known to be very kind to him, 
and made him comfortable. He became nearly 
blind in his old age, but was still cheerful. After 
night-fall, when there was a fire in the fire-place he 
could see it, and it always pleased him so much 
that it was quite a treat to talk with him, and hear 
him sing his French songs. 

Silas Russell. 

This man entered the service in April, 1780, 
and probably served through till the close of the 
war. Like the other two Sutton men, his name is 
on the roll at the close of 1782. He is credited to 
Perrystown. In his case is nothing exceptional, 
as in the other two, his record licfore, during, and 
after the war being just what we should expect 
from the clear-headed, efficient, self-respecting, and 
law-abiding man he evidently was. It is said of 
him that he was a man of good property, good 
habits, and an excellent neighbor; and here, perhaps, 

474 HISTORY or suttox. 

is as good a place as any other to say that his son 
Seth, who resided in Sutton, in character and quali- 
ties much resembled his father. Silas Kussell 
came to Perrystown in 1776 from Hampstead. 
Reference to both proprietary and town records 
shows that he fulfilled his share of public duties, 
and received his share of public trusts. 


This man was the ancestor of the Sutton Bohon- 
nans, and died in Sutton where he had been a resi- 
dent for a few years. He served in the First l^ew 
Hampshire Regiment for Salisbury, entered the 
service, March 13, 1781, and his name is on the roll 
for the year ending Dec. 31, 1782. 

Pay OF Officers and Men of the 1st Reg't. 

The following shows the pay of oflicers and men 
of the First 'New Hampshire Regiment, which was 
not changed during the war: 

Lieut. Col. Coniinandant 

per month 

















Surgeon's Mate 



Drum Major 



Fife Major 



















This regiment was in service eight years and 
eight months, and on its rolls are borne the names 
of some twelve hundred men. These were, of 
course, constantly changing by expiration of term 
of service, and by new enlistments. There appears 
to have been only about five hundred at any one 
time. The last survivor was Dr. William Hale, of 
Hollis. He died in 1852, aged 92. 

To the "History of the First 'Ne^Y Hampshire 
Regiment in the War of the Revolution," by Fred- 
eric Kidder, we are indel)ted for the foregoing facts 
regarding the same. 

It has often been asserted that many of the offi- 
cers and soldiers of the Revolution were paid in 
depreciated currency, and so never received what 
they were entitled to. A close examination of the 
records of Paymaster Blake shows that so far as the 
First ]!S[. H. Regiment was concerned this statement 
is incorrect. It is true, that from Jan., 1777, to July, 
1781, the value of the paper currency went down 
till it reached nearly nothing, and during the 
years named most of the payments must have been 
made in this currency; but in 1781 the legislature 
passed an act equalizing the depreciation for each 
month. The roll with the allowances is still extant, 
with the sums due each man to make the pay he 
received equal to good money, — and after this period 
they were paid in hard money or in government 
certificates. There is no doubt, however, that many 
of these latter were foolishly disposed of at a large 
discount, and a large part of the community suf- 
fered in this way, as well as the soldiers. 

In estimating the recompense of the Revolution- 


HISTORY or suTTo:sr. 

ary soldiers, we must not forget the gratuities paid 
by the states, and the pensions granted by the act 
of 1818 to Revohitionary soldiers. 

The First 'New Ham23shire Regiment was the 
yery last to lay down their arms, being discharged, 
probably, Jan. 1, 1781:. 

Revolutionary Soldiers. 

Only three of these served for Sutton ; most of 
the others came here to reside after their term of 
service exj^ired, having served for other towns 
before coming. It is possible this list does not 
include all such, but it is believed to be correct as 

far as it goes. 

Samuel Ambrose 

Benjamin Colby 

Ananiali Bohonnan 

Francis Como 

Daniel Messer 

Philip Nelson 

Daniel Emery 

Jacob Mastin 

David Peaslee 

Nathaniel Cheney 

Benjamin Critchett 

Simeon Stevens 

Philemon Hastingrs 

Thomas Walker 

George Walker 

Benjamin Mastin (sen.) 

Bond Little 

Dudley Kendrick (probably) 

Silas Russell 
Thomas Wadleigh 
Ephraim Hildreth 
John Palmer 
Josejjh Chadwick 
Anthony Clark 
Jonathan Colby 
Plummer Wheeler (sen.) 
Aquilla Wilkins 
Jonathan Nelson 
Solomon Austin 
John Putney 
Abraham Peaslee, 1st 
David Peasley, 2d 
Nathaniel Morgan 
James Brocklebank 
Jonathan Nelson 
Cornelius Bean 



War of 1812. Men furnished by Sutton. 

Moses Woodward 
Caleb Kimball 
John Kimball 
Daniel Emery 
James Morgan 
James Buswell 
Hazen Putney 
Thomas Cheney 
John Peaslee 
Timothy Chellis 
James Philbrook 
Moses Davis 
Samuel Roby 
Thomas Davis 
Gideon Wells 
Joshua Flanders 
Thomas Walker 2d 
Levi Fowler 
John Mac Williams 

Jacob Harvey, died in service 

Daniel Woodward 

Isaac Littlehale 

Ephraira Fisk 

Benaiah Woodward 

James Wheeler 

Plummer Wheeler, Jr. 

Samuel Wheeler 

Amos Jones, died in service 

John French (son of Oliver) 

Daniel Muzzey 

John Colby (son of Benj'n) 

Daniel Cheney 

.James Minot (officer) 

Benjamin Wells 

John Philbrook 

Frederic Wilkins 

James Harvey, died in service. 

Capt. Thomas Currier, of 'New London, raised 
the company of Sutton men, of which James Minot 
was captain while they were in service. 

Items cokceenes^g both Wars. 

In 1812 this town oftered a bounty of two dol- 
lars per month, and if called into actual service, of 
ten dollars per month, from the time of being called 
into service, additional to what they received of the 
state and government. To be paid on demand 
after their retui'n. 

Kum and beef for the army. In 1781 towns 
were required by an act of the legislature to furnish 
their quota of beef and rum for the army. Pursu- 


ant to this requirement we find on Sutton records 
that Samuel Bean and Matthew Harvey were 
chosen to l^uy beef for the army. Who furnished 
the rum is not stated. Some of the ancient beef 
accounts are yet in existence. 

Previous to the beginning of 1782, active hos- 
tilities between the contending armies had virtually 
ceased ; yet the Continental Congress considered 
it prudent that the ranks of the regular army should 
be kept filled, and calls continued to be made for 
that purpose. At that time the pay for a captain 
was $20 per month, and for privates $7.50 per 

In 1782, in obedience to the law requiring such 
action on the part of towns, voted to help Mrs. Rus- 
sell and Mrs. Critchett during the absence of their 
husbands in the army — Samuel Bean chosen com- 
mittee for Mrs. Critchett, and Joseph Johnson for 
Mrs. Russell. 

1813. Muster Rations. Voted, that each non-commissioned 
officer and soldier bearing arms living in town at the next General 
Muster be furnished with one pound good boiled beef, one pound 
fine Bread, one gill West India Rum, ^ pound Powder. Asa Nel- 
son, Jr., agreed to furnish the same for $36.50. 

French War. — The following are believed to have served in that 
war : 

Cornelius Bean. 

Thomas Walker. 

Aquilla Wilkins. 

Bond Little. 

Francis Como (died about 1817). 


During the continuance of Indian wars every 
man was more or less a soldier. But though the 
cessation of hostilities consequent on the reduction 
of Canada in 1760 afforded opportunity to cultivate 
the arts of peace, it by no means followed that all 
the swords and S23ears were beaten into j^i'uning- 
hooks and plowshares. There are no records to 
show the military organization of the province from 
1760 to the breaking out of the Revolutionary 
War, but the law required all able-bodied men 
between sixteen and sixty to be enrolled in the 
train-bands, and a town containing thirty-two such 
men could have a train-band or military organiza- 
tion of its own. 

At the commencement of the war, the j)rovincial 
congress, hastily summoned to meet at Exeter, May 
17, 1775, continued the existing laws, and provided 
for the raising and equipping of men.- 

The declaration of independence having passed 
July 4, 1776, another congress or convention was 
summoned to meet at Exeter, which, among otHer 
business done, passed a new militia law, providing 
for two classes of soldiers, a train-band and an 
alarm list, the former to consist of all able-bodied 
men between sixteen and fifty years of age. The 
alarm list took in all up to the age of sixty-five, 


and these were to be called out once in six months 
by the captains of the train-bands for inspection 
of arms and accoutrements, but not to be called out 
of town by any officer below the rank of colonel. 
This law, with several alterations and amendments, 
which were chiefly regarding the age of enrollment, 
continued in force till the close of the war. June 
24, 1786, it was repealed and a new one passed, not 
difiering materially from the old one. 

But the new state constitution, adopted Sept. 5, 
1792, contained important provisions for regulating 
the militia, and the legislature at its next session, 
Dec. 27, 1792, passed an act arranging it into com- 
panies, regiments, brigades, and divisions. Each 
regiment was composed of two battalions, the regi- 
ment being commanded by a lieutenant-colonel and 
the battalions by majors. 

The 21st regiment was thus constituted: First 
battalion — Boscawen, Salisbury, Andover, ^ew 
London, Kearsarge Gore (AYilmot). Second bat- 
talion — Hopkinton, Warner, Sutton, Fishersfield 
(JSTewbury) , Bradford. 

Tlie 1st cavalry of the 21st regiment was in 
existence prior to the reorganization of the militia 
by the act of 1792 by some five years. In this re- 
organization it was contemplated that there should 
be one company of cavalry connected with every 
regiment. The uniform consisted of red coats, 
with bell buttons, white pants, black leather caps 
ornamented with an eagle on a white shield, with 
chains and tassels, and a red and black plume. 

An artillery company, at a later period, 1809, was 
connected with the 21st regiment, but this was not 


till after Sutton no longer formed a constituent 
part of the regiment. 

Much inconvenience was occasioned by reason of 
the 21st regiment being so extensive, and in 1797, 
and as early as 1795, a petition was presented to 
the legislature for a di\asion of the same. The fol- 
lowing is the Sutton petition: 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives in Gen- 
eral Court to be convened at Concord the first Wednesday of June 

Humbly showeth that your petitioners, inhabitants of Sutton, 
labor under many and great disadvantages on account of the Mili- 
tary Company in the town of Sutton being constituted and belong- 
ing to the twenty-first regiment of the State of New Hampshire, 
and by reason of said Regiment being so extensive, and by law are 
obliged to meet a niunber of times every year and once in Battalion 
or Regiment, which makes fatiguing journeys and hardsliips for 
Soldiers, and great expense for officers to march to and from the 
centre of said Battalion or Regiment, and much time is spent and 
lost by reason of the Parade being at such a distance. 

Therefore your Petitioners humbly pray yom- Honors to take 
this their hard case into your wise consideration, and gi-ant them 
relief by making a division in said Regiment in the following 
manner. First, that the companies of the towns of Warner, Brad- 
ford, and Kearsarge Gore make the First Battahon. Second, that 
the companies of the towns of Sutton, Fishersfield, and New London 
make the Second Battalion. So that the above said companies may 
constitute and make one Regiment. 

Or relieve your Petitioners some other way, as yom- Honors in 
your wisdom shall think best. And we as in duty bound wiU ever 
pray. [Signed by 87 names, viz.] Benjamin Critchett, Nat. Cheney, jr., 
Henry Dearborn, John Adams, Samuel Kendrick, Joseph Adams, 
William Lowell, Jona. Colburn, David Colburn, Nat. Cheney, Jolin 
Philbrook, Moses Nelson, Thomas Peaslee, John King, George 
King, Moses Davis, Joseph Clough, Samuel Peaslee, Amos Pressey, 
Samuel Bean, Silas Russell, Jesse Fellows, Levi Russell, Joseph 
Bean, Ezekiel Flanders, John Emerson, Philip Nelson, Isaac Peas- 
lee, Jesse Peaslee, John Pressey, Isaac Wells, Simon Kezar, jun., 


Willard Emerson, George Walker, Joshua Philbrick, Ezekiel Davis, 
Dudley Kendrick, David Davis, Caleb Kimball, Benjamin Will- 
iams, Philip Sargent, Joseph Greeley, John Peasley, Joseph Chad- 
wick, William Pressey, Ezra Littlehale, Peter Peaslee, Reuben 
Gile, Ephraim Hildreth, Abraham Peasley, Enoch Page, John Har- 
vey, Jonathan Roby, Phineas Stevens, Seth Russell, Joseph Youring, 
Joseph Johnson, Benjamin Stevens, Asa Stevens, Peter Cheney, 
Joseph Stevens, Jonathan Eaton, Theophilus Cram, Eliphalet Wood- 
ward, Benjamin Wells, Joseph Flanders, Stephen Woodward, Jona. 
Harvey, Matthew Harvey, jr., Joseph Woodward, Joseph Flanders, 
Zachariah Cross, Oliver French, David Eaton, Daniel Messer, 
Joseph Pearson, Joseph Mastin, Hezekiah Parker, Jolin Pearson, 
Samuel Ambrose, jr., Theoph. Cram, Eliph. Woodward, Stephen 
Woodward, jr., Matthew Harvey, Jonathan Davis, Josiah Nichols, 
William Hutchins. 

The petition of the town of Fishersfield is worded 
like the one from Sutton, and is signed by 

Phinehas Batchelder, Benjamin Baker, jr., David Morrill, Benja- 
min Critchett, Nathan Baker, Jesse Cutton, Benjamin Baker, Sim- 
eon Stevens, Thomas Rowell, Joshua Hastings, Jonathan Morrill, 
Timothy Morse. 12 names. Dated May 26, 1797. 

The following letter from Aquilla Davis, at the 
date a captain in the 21st regiment, will not be 
without interest in this connection. 

To Matthew Harvey. 


Capt Little was at my house last evening and says the Officers of 

the 1st Battalion wish to meet the officers of the 2nd Battalion 

at Mr. Wiggin's in Hopkinton on Thursday the 12th of this 

month in the afternoon to consult on the propriety of our Petition 

at the last Court for a division of the Regiment. If you can take 

the trouble to iirform Capt. Gay and Capt. Wadleigh you will 

oblige yours 

By the desire of Capt. Little and others. 

Warner May 6, 1796 
I wish the notice had been longer. 

Aquila Davis 


The petition for the division of the regiment 
which was presented to the legisLature at the June 
session, 1797, having met with vexations dehiy, the 
selectmen of the towns, in behalf of the inhabitants, 
renew the petition at the ]N^ov ember session of the 
same year. 

The following is a copy: 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives in Gen- 
eral Court Court cojivened at Portsmouth on the 4th Wednesday of 
this Inst. We your Petitioners humbly showeth that Whereas the 
Inhabitants of Sutton and the towns adjoining Labor under many 
and great disadvantages on the account of the Regiment being so 
large and extensive to which they belong, and as the Inhabitants of 
the town of Sutton and Towns adjoining petitioned the Honorable 
Senate and the House of Representatives at their last session convened 
at Concord the first Wednesday of last June for a division of the 
twenty-first Regiment for the state of New Hampshire, — We under- 
stand the prayer of the Petition was so far granted as to bring in a 
Bill for the division of said Regiment, and that said Bill passed the 
House and Senate, and was sent up to the Governor for approba- 
tion. And we further understand the Governor did not return the 
Bill for want of time for mature consideration, it being short by the 
adjournment of the Court. 

Therefore we your Petitioners in behalf of the Inhabitants of the 
town of Sutton and other towns Humbly pray your Honors to take 
this our hard case into your wise consideration, and grant us relief 
by making a division of said Regiment in the same way and man- 
ner as was prescribed in the Bill last Session, and as in duty bound 
we ever pray. 

November 14, 1797. 

The Kew London petition is like the foregoing, 
and is signed by the selectmen of that town, who 
were for that year Levi Harvey, Benjamin Wood- 
bury, and Anthony Sargent. 

The petition was at last granted, and the regi- 
ment then formed was numbered the 30th. It was 


commanded by Aquilla Davis from 1799 to 1807, 
when he was promoted to brigadier-general of the 
4th brigade. In the war of 1812 he was in actual 
service, being connnissioned colonel of a regiment. 
A -ZV^. a. Register, printed in 1800, under the 
head of " Military Establishment," says, — 

The Militia of this State agreably to the present arrangement 
contains 3 Divisions, 6 Brigades, 31 Regiments, 62 Battalions. Each 
Division, Brigade, and Regiment takes rank according to its num- 
ber, reckoning the fii*st or lowest number highest in rank. 

The 1st Brigade consists of the 1st, 3rd, 4th, and 7th Regiments. 

The 2d Brigade consists of the 2d, 10th, 19th, 25th, 27th, and 
29th Regiments. 

The 3d Brigade consists of the 8th, 11th, 17th, and 18th Regi- 

The 4th Brigade consists of the 5th, 9th, 21st, 22nd, 26th, and 
30th Regiments. 

The 5th Brigade consists of the 6th, 15th, 16th, 12th, 20th, 28th, 
and 31st Regiments. 

The 6th Brigade consists of the 13th, 14th, 23d, and 24th Regi- 

His Excellency John Taylor Gilman, Commander-in-Chief, Brad- 
bury Cilley, William A. Kent, and Nathaniel White, Aids to His 



Thomas Bartlett, 1st Division. 

Ebenezer Brewster, 2d " 

Amos Shepherd, 3rd " 


Moses Leavitt, 1st Brigade 

Samuel Hale 2d " 

Henry Butler 3d " 

Francis Blood 4th " 

Amasa Allen 5th " 

Edwards Bucnam 6th " 

Michael McClary Adjutant-General — rank of Brigadier-Gen- 



and Brigade '. 

Joseph Dow 1st 


Nathan Taylor 2d 


Jonathan Cilley 3d 


Francis Blood jr. 4th 


Asa Bullard 5th 



Eichard C. Everitt, 6th " 

30th Regiment in 1800 and 1802. 

Aquila Davis, Lieut. Col. Commandant. 
Nathaniel Eaton 1st Major 
John Biu'ns 2d Major. 

30th Regiment in 1805 and 1806. 

Aquila DaviSj — Lieut. Col. Commandant 
Richard Straw — 1st Major 
Eliphalet Gay — 2d Major 

It will thus be seen that Sutton was in the 30th 
regiment. The 30th regiment was in the 4th brig- 
ade. The 4th brigade was in the 3d division. 

December 18, 1824, the militia of Warner were 
united with the militia of Hopkinton and Henniker, 
being formed into a regiment and numbered the 

The law of 1792 required the militia to drill two 
days in each year. It provided for the enrolling 
of all able-bodied white male citizens from 18 to 
40 years of age, but in 1795 (June 19) the age was 
changed from 16 to 40. 

July 1, 1819, the law was again modified so as 
to require the enrollment of those between the ages 
of 18 and 45, and the companies to be called out for 
a parade on the first Tuesday of May, and upon 
two other days besides muster. In the following 


year, however, the law was so far modified that 
companies were to be called out but once besides 
the parade in May. 

With occasional alterations the law continued in 
force till the abolition of the militia system in 1851 
(July 5). _ 

May training day was a joyful occasion, not only 
to the men on duty but to all spectators. Men,, 
boys, and girls assembled to witness the parade 
and hear the fife and drum, while the women^ 
ashamed to join the crowd of spectators as being 
not exactly a modest thing to do, kept within the 
house, but improved every chance to get a view 
from the windows. 

The officers w^ere in uniform, but very few of the 
privates were thus clothed or adorned. The officers 
were armed with swords or spontoons. The latter 
were long lances having a steel pike at one end,, 
just below which was a hatchet, resembling an 
Indian tomahawk. 


The following petition explains itself. It was 
called out by an action which aroused a good deal 
of dissatisfaction and severe criticism in Sutton and 
^ew London at the time, 1797. It seems that at a 
muster Capt. Wadleigh's company refused to take 
the rank assigned them, and did no duty that day,, 
though it was said he went alone and occupied the 
station. Be that as it may, he was court-martialed,. 


and the expectation being that he would be de- 
prived of his command, occasioned the petition to 
the governor: 

State of New Hampsliire. Hillsborough SS. 

To his Excellency the Governor of said State. The petition of a 
number of the Inhabitants of the town of New London, in said 
State. Humbly showeth that whereas Capt. Wadleigh, late com- 
mander of the Twelfth Company of Infantry in the twenty-first 
Regiment of Militia in said State — has been complained of by his 
field officers, and tried by a Coui't Martial for disobedience of orders 
as they say — We your humble petitioners are sensible that Capt. Wad- 
leigh has not been well used by said field officers in many respects.. 
There has been and still is a contention between the company that 
said Wadleigh commanded and the companies in the town where 
said field officers live on the account of Ranks in the Regiment by 
reason of a Blank being left in the last arrangement before this, and 
now is filled up with a company in the town where the said field 
officers live, and the Commander of said Company was a member 
of said coiu't-martial with two more living in the same town being 
near neighbors to said field officers and the attempt to do such a 
thing is enough to satisfy any reasonable person that their motives 
were not good, and that they did not mean that he should have a 
fair trial. 

And we expect that if Capt. Wadleigh is removed from his com- 
pany under these circumstances that there will be a long difficulty 
with said Company. Therefore we your petitioners in the behalf 
of said Wadleigh and the town of Sutton humbly pray your Excel- 
lency to take this matter into your wise Consideration and see that 
said Wadleigh be restored to his command. And we as in duty 
bound &c. 

The half of the sheet containing the petitioners' 
names is too much mutilated and worn to admit of 

The following is a copy of a letter from Capt. 
Wadleigh to Matthew Harvey, then at Concord 

488 HISTORY OF sutto:n". 

attending the session o 
reference to this matter: 

attending the session of the legislature. It has 

Sutton June 12, 1797 

I received your letter by the hand of Capt. Burns. I am much 
obliged to you for the representation you gave me respecting the 
Court Martial affairs. You informed me that Col. Pierce desires 
that I should go to Concord next Wednesday, and that he thinks 
that my affair may be settled upon certain terms. I should feel 
very happy to have it settled upon reasonable terms. 

My business is so circimistanced that I do not see as I can possi- 
bly go to Concord so soon. 

I understand the Court-Martial voted to default me. I expect 
the whole matter lays in Genei'al Blood's hands. Supposing I 
should go to Concord I expect it is uncertain when Gen. Blood will 
be there. If I should not happen to see him and find that he has 
not made any return to the Secretary's office — I am short sighted — 
but it appears to me that my journey would be to no purpose. If 
the General does approve of the proceedings of the Court-martial, 
and makes return thereof to the Secretary's Office, if you will be so 
kind as to inform me of it as soon as you can, and of what can be 
done respecting the matter, I shall take it as a singular favor done 
to your hvmible servant 

Thomas Wadleigh 
Dea. Matthew Harvey. 

N. B. I expect you will be at home next Saturday night — I 
shall endeavor to see you. 

I understand Colonel Pierce appears to be friendly to me. I 
respect Colo. Pierce. 

From the foregoing papers it appears that the 
company commanded by Captain Wadleigh was 
known as the 12th Company of Infantry in the 21st 
Kegiment of the State of New Hampshire, and it 
also apjDears that men from l^ew London as well as 
from Sutton helped to compose it ; that the 21st 
Regiment was in 1797 commanded by Col. Pierce 


(Benj. Pierce, in 1806 Brigadier-General of 4th 
Brigade) . 

The Gen. Blood referred to is doubtless the 
Francis Blood, Brigadier-General of the 4th Brig- 
ade till the close of the year 1805, succeeded in 
4806 by Brigadier-General Benjamin Pierce. 

The following memorandum, found folded be- 
tween the leaves of an ancient tavern account-book, 
now more than a century old, shows the names of 
some who were militia officers at that early period. 
It is headed " Oct. 18, 1787. Officers' Expences." 
The names are Bond Little, Ensign Everett, Lief 't. 
Wadleigh, and in another place L'f 't. J. "Wadleigh, 
Left. Dodge, Thomas Wadleigh, Benjamin Phil- 
brick, Left. Samuel Messer, Capt. William Pres- 
sey, Lieut. Asa I^elson, Ensign Stevens. The 
quantity of liquor charged against each man's name 
shows that on this " Training Day " they had all, 
even the subaltern officers, to pay dearly for the 
honors of office. They must all " ti^eat " the men. 
The quantity charged to Captain Pressey seems 
enormous, or, rather, fabulous — thirty-three gallons 
and one quart of rum, at nine shillings a gallon ! 
Perhaps, however, that was not too much for the 
occasion, since . custom required him to treat every 
man in the company. As we have no record to 
show the number of men in the company, we can 
never know precisely what quantity of rum each 
man was expected or required to drink. 

A N. H. Register for 1795, printed the year 
before, has the following: 

The Militia of this State agreeably to the present arrangement, 
contains 3 Divisions, 6 Brigades, 27 Regiments, 54 Battalions. 

490 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

The 5th, 9th, 21st, 22d, and 26th Regiments compose the 4th Brig- 
ade. The 4th and 5th Brigades form the 3d Division. 

Amos Shepard, Esq., was Major-General of the 
3d Division, Francis Blood, Esq., Brigadier-General 
of the 4th Brigade, Jonathan Bnrton, Esq., Inspec- 
tor and Brigade-Major of 4th Brigade, PhiHp 
Greeley, Lientenant-Colonel Commandant of 21st 
Regiment, Joseph Gerrish, Major of 1st Battalion 
of 21st Regiment. 


The officers of the 3d Division were, — 

Oliver Hastings, Major-General. 

John Duncan and Henry Sylvester, Aids. 

James Wells, Inspector. 

Ahiel Wilson, Jr., Quartermaster. 

The officers of the 4th Brigade were, — 

Eliphalet Gay, General. 

Isaac Darling, Aid. 

Daniel George, Inspector. 

Andrew Stinson, Jr., Quartermaster. 

Henry B. Chase, Judge Advocate. 

The officers of the 30th Regiment were, — 

Philip S. Harvey, Colonel. 
Stephen Hoyt, Lieutenant-Colonel. 

The officers of the 3d Division were, — 

William Carey, of Lempster, Major-General. 

Bela Nettleton, of Newport, Nath'l Warner, of Unity, Aids. 


The officers of the 4th brigade were, — 

Stephen Hoyt, of Bradford, Brigadier-General. 
Benjamin F. Rogers, Aid. 
Henry lynian, of Warner, Brigade Inspector. 
Charles F. Gove, of Goffstown, Judge Advocate. 

The state militia at this date was divided into three divisions, in 
each of which were two brigades, and in the whole forty regiments^ 


The military strength, according to the adjutant-general's return^ 
9 June, 1831, was, — 

Cavalry, 1,450 

Artillery, 1,639 

Infantry, Light Infantry, and Grenadiers, 24,884 
Riflemen, 1,016 

Total, including the general's staff, 28,989 

The officers of the 3d Division were, — 

Solomon McNiel, of Hillsborough, Major-General. 
Peter Clark, Jr., of Francestown, Mark Woodbury, of An- 
trim, Aids. 
James Butler, of Hillsborough, Division Inspector. 

The officers of the 4th Brigade were, — 

William P. Riddle, of Bedford, Brigadier-General. 

Joseph Moore, of Manchester, Aid. 

Aaron Gage, of Bedford, Brigade Inspector. 

George Daniels, of Goffstown, Brigade Quartermaster. 

Charles F. Gove, of Goffstown, Judge Advocate. 

The officers of the 30th Regiment were, — 

Anthony Colby, of New London, Colonel. 
John Farmer, of Fishersfield, Lieutenant-Colonel. 
Samuel Greenwood, of New London, Major. 
Perley Burpee, of Sutton, Adjutant. 
Samuel Dm'rell, of Bradford, Quartermaster. 

At this date the 30th Recriment consisted of Bradford, Fishers- 
field, New London, Sutton, Wilmot. 



Militia is organized in 4 Divisions, 8 Brigades, 42 Regiments. 
The 41st Regiment has not been organized. 

The nmnher of Division and Brigade officers in June, 1844, was 
67. Field and Staff officers, 402. Cavalry, 965. Infantry, Light 
Infantry, and Grenadiers, 26,084. ArtiUery, 1,883. Total, 29,652. 

Officers of the 3d Division: 

John McNiel, of Hillsborough, Major-General. 

Nathan Dane, Division Inspector. 

Mark Gillis, Quartermaster. 

Dustin L. Bowers, George Barstow, Aids. 

The officers of the 4th Brigade were, — 

Samuel Andrews, of Hillsborough, Brigadier-General. 

James H. Cliase, Aid. 

Benjamin Tuttle, Jr., Brigade Inspector. 

Charles Conn, Brigade Quartermaster. 

Samuel H. Ayer, Judge Advocate. 

The officers of the 30th Regiment were, — 

Giles Bartlett, of Newbury, Colonel. 
Chester Sjjaulding, Lieutenant-Colonel. 
Cyrus B. Leach, Major. 
John Cutler, of Newbury, Adjutant. 
Lucas Nelson, of Newbiiry, Quartermaster. 

Early militia officers who took the oath of allegi- 
ance before Jonathan Harvey: 

Philip S. Harvey, Major of 2d Battalion in 30th Regiment, June 
21, 1809. 

William Kendrick, Captain 4th Co., Sept. 26, 1809. 
Joseph Pillsbury, Lieutenant 4th Co., Sept. 26, 1809. 
Daniel Wadleigh, Ensign 4th Co., Sept. 26, 1809. 
John King, Jr., Lieutenant 4th Company, Sept. 30, 1809. 
John Gile, Ensign 4th Co., Sept. 30, 1809. 
Joseph Woodward, Captain 7th Co., Oct. 5, 1809. 
Jonathan Fellows, 1st Sergeant 4th Co., Oct. 5, 1809. 
Abel KimbaU, 2d Sergeant 7th Co., Oct. 5, 1809. 


Jolin Chadwick, 3d Sergeant 7th Co., Oct. 5, 1809. 

Amos Pressey, Captain of the Company of Cavalry, Sept. 11, 

Jolm Harvey, Jr., Captain of Grenadiers, Sept. 11, 1810. 

Moses Pillsbury, Ensign of Grenadiers, Sept. 11, 1810. 

Manly G. AVoodbury, Lieutenant of Grenadiers, Oct. 22, 1810. 

Josiali Nichols, Fife Major in the 30th Regiment, Sept. 11, 1810. 

Jonathan P. Dodge, Captain of 2d Co. Infantry, July 13, 1812. 

Pliilip Emery, Lieutenant 2d Co. Infantry, July 13, 1812. 

Jeremiah Twiss, Ensign 2d Co. Infantry, Jidy 13, 1812. 

Jolm Pike, Captain of Company of Light Infantry, Dec. 25, 

Israel Morrill, Lieutenant of Company of Light Infantry, March 
20, 1813. 

Copy of the commission of John Harvey, Jr., 
ensign, dated 1805 : 

State of New Hampshire, To John Harvey, jr.. Gentlemen, Greet- 

We reposing especial trust and confidence in your Fidelity, Cour- 
age, and good Conduct, do by these presents constitute and appoint 
you — the said John Harvey, Junior, — Ensign of the Seventh Com- 
pany in the 30th Regiment of Militia, in the State of New Hamp- 
shire. You are therefore carefully and diligently to discharge the 
duty of an Ensign, in leading, ordering, and exercising said Com- 
pany in Arms, both inferior Officers and Soldiers, and to keep 
them in good order and discipline ; hereby commanding them to 
obey you as their Ensign and yourself to observe and follow such 
Orders and Instructions as you shall from time to time receive 
from the Commander-in-Chief of the Army, Navy, and Military 
Forces of said State for the time being, or any of your superior 
officers for the service of said State, according to Military Rides 
and Discipline, pursuant to the Trust reposed in you, and to hold 
said Office during good Behavior. 

In Testunony whereof we have caused our seal to be hereunto 

Witness, Jolm Langdon, Governor of the State, the Twenty- 



Fourth Day of December, Anno Domini, 1805, and of the Inde- 
pendence of the United States of America the thirtieth. 
By his Excellency's Command 

Philip Carrigain Junr. Secretary 

John Langdon. 

At the date of this Commission Mr. Harvey was 
not quite 18 years of age, but he did not take the 
oath of office till the following March. Oath taken 
before Moses Hills, Esq. 

His commission as Lieutenant-Colonel of the 
Thirtieth Regiment is dated June 29, 1822, and is 
signed by Gov. Samuel Bell, Samuel Sparhawk, 
secretary, and oath taken before Jonathan Harvey. 

Field and Staff, 30th Regiment N. H. Militia. 

Philip S. Harvey, 
Stephen Hoit, 
Maitin Brockway, 
Anthony Colhy, 
John Farmer, 
Nathaniel A. Davis, 
Samuel Tenney, 
Jeremiah Morse, 
Samnel Thompson, 
Giles Bartlett, 
Chester Spaulding, 
Joseph B. Carr, 
Calvin Brown, 
Benjamin P. Burpee, 
Mason B. Presby, 


July 4, 1816 ; 
June 29, 1822 
June 28. 1825 
June 26, 1827 
July 1, 1834 ; 

June 17, 1836 
June 29, 1838 
July 2, 1841 ; 
June 24, 1842 
June 30, 1845 
July 6, 1846 ; 
July 3, 1847 ; 
June 24, 1848 
July 4, 1851. 

vacated May 14, 1822. 

; promoted. 

; vacated June 6, 1827. 

; promoted. 

vacated June 8, 1836. 

" June 14, 1836. 
; " Jime 26, 1838. 
; " Dec. 21, 1840. 

; vacated June 4, 1845. 
June 3, 1846. 
June 23, 1847. 
" June — , 1848. 
" June 21, 1351. 




Philip Harvey, 
Stejihen Hoit, 
John Harvey, 
Nicholas Evans, 
Martin Brockway, 
Anthony Colby, 
Asa Page, 
Jacob Harvey, 
Nathan Presby, 
Nathaniel W. Presby, 
Jolui Palmer, 
Nathaniel A. Davis, 
Samuel Tenney, 
Jeremiah Morse, 
Samuel Thompson, 
Giles Bartlett, 
Moses Cilley, 
Chester Spaulding, 
Cyrus B. Leach, 
Calvin Brown, 
Benjamin P. Burpee, 
Timothy Morse, 
John M. Hayes, 


Dec. 20, 1815. 

July 4, 1816 ; promoted. 

June 29, 1822 ; vacated June 30, 1823. 

July 3, 1823 ; " Jan. 20, 1825. 

Jan. 25, 1825 ; promoted. 

June 28, 1825 ; 

June 26, 1827 ; vacated Nov. 26, 1828. 

Feb. 17, 1829 ; " Feb. 20, 1830. 

June 25, 1830 ; " error.' 

Sept. 24, 1830 ; vacated June 30, 1831. 

July 4, 1831 
July 1, 1834 


Stephen Hoyt, 
John Harvey, 
Nicholas Evans, Jr., 
Martin Brockway, 
Anthony Colby, 
John Tilton, 
Nehemiah Emerson, 
Jacob Harvey, 
Nathaniel W. Presby, 
John Farmer, 
Samuel Greenwood, 

June 17, 1836 ; " 

June 29, 1838. 

July 2, 1841 ; promoted. 

June 24, 1842 ; vacated June 4, 1844. 

June 30, 1844 ; promoted. 

June 30, 1845 ; vacated June 11, 1846. 

July 6, 1846 ; promoted. 

July 3, 1847 ; 

June 24, 1848 ; vacated June 21, 1851. 

July 4, 1851 ; " April 18, 1855. 


Sept. 30, 1815 ; promoted. 

Dec. 26, 1817 ; 

June 29, 1822 ; 

July 23, 1823 ; 

Jan. 25, 1825 ; 

June 28, 1825 ; vacated June 13, 1826. 

Jime 30, 1826 ; " July 24, 1828. 

Aug. 5, 1828 ; promoted. 

Feb. 17, 1829 ; " 

June 25, 1830 ; 

July 4, 1831 ; vacated June 30, 1833. 





Joseph Chadwick, 
Samuel Tenney, 
Jeremiah Morse, 
Samuel Thomjjson, 
Giles Bartlett, 
Moses Cilley, 
Thomas I. Chadwick, 
Cyrus B. Leach, 
John Cutler, 
Joseph B. Carr, 
Benjamin P. Burpee, 
Richard J. Stearns, 
John Cutler, 
Mason B. Presby, 
George W. Everett, 

Jonathan Harvey, 
Isaac Bailey, 
Enoch Bailey, 
Simeon Bartlett, 
William P. Hoyt, 
Samuel Greenwood, 
Perley Burpee, 
Stephen B. Peasley, 
Eli Dodge, 
Samuel Teel, 
Albert M. Chase, 
Mason W. Tappan, 
Horatio W. Mason, 
John Cutler, 
Nathaniel W. Cheney, 
H. N. Mason, 
John Cutler, 
John M. Hayes, 
Oren T. Hayes, 

Paine Davis, 

Aug. 5, 1833 ; declines. 
July 1, 1834 ; promoted. 

June 17, 1836 ; " 

June 29, 1838 ; " 

July 2, 1841 ; " 

June 24, 1842 ; declines. 

June 20, 1844 ; promoted. 

June 30, 1845 : declines. 

Dec. 20, 1845 ; pi-omoted. 

July 6, 1846 ; 

July 3, 1847 ; vacated June 9, 1848. 

April 3, 1849 ; declines. 

Aug. 31, 1849 ; promoted. 

May 21, 1852. 


Sept. 5, 1809 ; vacated June 15, 1816. 

June 15, 1816 ; promoted. 

Aug. 16, 1821 ; vacated Aug. 20, 1822. 

Aug. 5, 1822 ; " 40th Regiment." 

Jan. 1, 1825 ; vacated Aug. 25, 1827. 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; promoted. 

July 4, 1831 ; vacated April 3, 1833. 

April 3, 1833 ; " Feb. 3, 1836. 

Feb. 4, 1836. 

Aug. 3, 1836 ; vacated Aug. 8, 1837. 

Aug. 8, 1837. 

Aug. 6, 1838 ; vacated Aug. 11, 1841. 

Aug. 11, 1841 ; " July 13, 1842. 

July 13, 1842 ; " Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 17, 1846 ; vacated June 23, 1847. 

Aug. 24, 1847 ; " June 27, 1849. 

June 27, 1849 ; promoted. 

May 18, 1852. 



Sept. 13, 1814 ; vacated Dec. 13, 1816, 



David Everett, 
Samuel Greenwood, 
Perley Burpee, 
Solomon Durrell, 
Enoch Page, 
Perley Ayer, 
Eli Dodge, 
Beard P. Page, 
Albert M. Chase, 
Mason W. Tappan, 
Martin R. Buswell, 
Joseph K. Lund, 
Isaiah Langley, 
Lucas Nelson, 
Hiram Blanchard, 
Otis Jones, 
Eleazer Cutler, 
Archibald M. Hayes, 
Oren S. Hayes, 
Oren S. Hayes, 

Dec. 24, 1816. 

Aug. 23, 1822 ; promoted. 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; 

July 4, 1831 ; vacated July 9, 1832. 

July 9, 1832 ; " April 3, 1833. 

April 3, 1833. 

Aug. 15, 1834 ; promoted. 

Feb. 4, 1836. 

Aug. 3, 1836 ; promoted. 

Aug. 8, 1837 ; 

Aug. 6, 1838. 

Aug. 26, 1840 ; vacated Aug. 11, 1841. 

Aug. 11, 1841 ; " .July 13, 1842. 

July 13, 1842 ; " Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 17, 1846 ; vacated July 21, 1847. 

Aug. 24, 1847 ; vacated June 27, 1849. 

June 27, 1849. 

Aug. 21, 1849. 

Aug. 20, 1850 ; promoted. 


Samuel Kimball, 

Eliphalet Gay, Jr., 

WiUiam P. Hoyt, 

Lewis I. Bailey, 

Solomon Durrell, 

Enoch Page, 

Stephen B. Peasley, 

Eli Dodge, 

Beard P. Page, 

David M. Everett, 

William A. Marsh, 

Thomas Brockway, 

Amos Whittemoi'e, 

Uriah B. Person, 

Asa Marshall, 

John K. Eaton, 


Oct. 30, 1813 ; vacated June 27, 1817. 

Sept. 6, 1817. 

Aug. 23, 1822 ; promoted. 

Jan. 1, 1825. 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; promoted. 

July 4, 1831 ; 

July 9, 1832 ; " 

Aug. 15, 1833 ; " 

Aug. 15, 1834 ; 

Feb. 4, 1836. 

Aug. 3, 1836. 

July 14, 1837. 

Aug. 8, 1837. 

Aug. 6. 1838. 

Sept. 4, 1838 ; vacated March 30, 1840. 

March 30, 1840. 



William Smith, 

Aug. 11, 1841 ; vacated July 13, 1842. 

Simeon Dodge, 

July 13, 1842 ; " Sept. 2, 1844. 

John Ayers, 

Sept. 2, 1844 ; " Nov. 20, 1844. 

Artemas Whitney, 

Nov. 20, 1844 ; " Aug. 12, 1845. 

David W. Johnson, 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

John Teel, 

Aug. 17, 1846. 

Isaac VV. Farmer, 

Aug. 24, 1847. 

John G. Hart, 

Aug. 20, 1850. 



Caleh BurseU, 

Aug. 27, 1822 ; " 40th Regt." 

Henry Ljnnan, 

March 30, 1825 ; promoted. 

John Clark, 

July 27, 1825 ; vacated Aug. 25, 

Jason H. Ames, 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; " July 9, 1832. 

Samuel Little, 

July 9, 1832 ; " Sept. 12, 1834. 

John L. Fifield, 

Jan. 30, 1835. 

Luther Farley, 

Aug. 6, 1838 ; vacated March 30, 1840. 

Dimond Davis, 

March 30, 1840. 

Horace Gage, 

Aug. 11, 1841. 

Dimond Davis, 

July 13, 1842 ; vacated Aug. 12, 1845. 

George H. Hubbard, 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

Robert Lane, 

Aug. 17, 1846. 

George H. Hubbard, 

Sept. 25, 1847. 

E. C. Bickford, 

Aug. 30, 1848. 

surgeon's mates. 


Charles Pinney, 

Oct. 30, 1813 ; vacated June 19, 1817. 

Benjamin Lovering, 

June 19, 1817. 

Jesse H. Foster, 

Aug. 27, 1822. 

John Clark, 

Sept. 13, 1824 ; promoted. 

Jason H. Ames, 

July 27, 1825 ; 

Jonathan Dearborn, 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; vacated March 24, 1830 

Samuel Little, 

March 24, 1830 ; " July 9, 1832. 

John L. Fifield, 

July 9, 1832 ; promoted. 

Daniel Ward, 

April 4, 1835. 

Paulus Tenney, 

Aug. 3, 1837. 

Dimond Davis, 

Aug. 6, 1838 ; promoted. 



Ira Weston, 


George H. Hubbard, 
Ebenezer Davis, 
James Emery, 
Samuel N. Jones, 

March 30, 1840. 

Aug. 11, 1841. 

Aug. 25, 1842 ; promoted. 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 17, 1846. 

Sept. 25, 1847. 

Solomon N. Wliipple, Aug. 21, 1849. 

Robert Dickey, 
John Woods, 
Robert Page, 
Leonard Tracy, 
Oren Tracy, 
Stephen Rogei's, 
David Moody, 
John Clark, 
Jonathan Rowe, 
Stephen George, 
Hiram Holmes, 
Mark Carpenter, 
Robert Stinson, 
Eben Dodge, 



June 27, 1816 ; vacated Dec. 13, 1816. 

Dec. 24, 1817. 

Sept. 6, 1824 ; promoted. 

Aug. 25, 1827 ; vacated Aug. 20, 1828. 

Aug. 19, 1828. 

Aug. 6, 1838. 

Aug. 26, 1840. 

Aug. 11, 1841. 

July 13, 1842 ; vacated Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 12, 1845. 

Aug. 17, 1846. 

Sept. 25, 1847 ; declines. 

Aug. 30, 1848. 

Aug. 21, 1849. 


The following, consisting of her own recollec- 
tions of what she describes, was composed by Miss 
Theresa Harvey, while confined to her bed by her 
last lingering sickness, in 1873, and written down 
from her dictation at that time: 

To one whose memory extends back through a period of half a 
century no reminiscence comes more vividly to mind than that of 
the regimental muster of that time. In view of the struggle of real 
warfare that our nation has since passed through, the ancient mus- 
ter may seem an insignificant aflfair, but in the days of its prime it 
was the gi*eat social as well as military institution of the season. It 
was looked forward to with interest, not merely by military men, but 
by youths and maidens, boys and girls, and even by hard-working 
wives and mothers, albeit they were obliged to work yet harder 
for weeks beforehand to get the children's clothes ready, and even 
to repair or to help make the husband's military suit. I remember 
that the getting together of my father's coat was a great occasion. 
It was of dark blue broadcloth, cut at Concord by a tailor who was 
supposed to know how a colonel's coat ought to fit, but made at 
home by a tailoress, Mrs. Leach, who was in our house a week for 
that pui'pose. It was mostly covered with gilt lace, and his epau- 
lettes cost twelve dollars. Perhaps he purchased glory cheaply, 
but I know that, to my mind, those epaulettes always represented a 
great sum. The coat was further set oft" by an elegant ruffled shirt, 
the construction of which cost the skilful fingers of my youngest 
aunt many days' labor. Nor was it enough in those days for an 
officer to be generous to himself. He must treat his men generous- 
ly. When my father was ca2)tain, I remember that he invited his 
whole company to breakfast at his house on muster morning, and 
my mother was up all night making the necessary preparations. A 


sheep was slain, cut up, and baked for the occasion, with other 
things to keep it company. 

The 30th N. H. Regiment was composed of men from Warner, 
New London, Bradford, Newbury (then Fishersfield), Sutton, Wil- 
mot, and at one time Salisbury. For many years they mustered at 
Jonathan Harvey's, in Sutton. Using my best judgment. I should 
say that Nature made that muster-field with special reference to 
military display, just as much as each man's imiform was made for 
the same purpose ; for I do not know of another like it in vSutton, 
nor in any of the towns adjacent. A high table-land, embracing 
more than twenty acres, so level that the eye could take in the 
whole scene at once, is a rare thing in the broken, mountainous 
region I speak of. From a distance of two or three miles Kear- 
sarge mountain, like a commander-in-chief, with his staff of smaller 
hills, could, and always did, survey the pageant at leisure. 

Like Christmas, muster day always began the evening before, 
and the clans were gathering all night. Peddlers, showmen, and 
other itinerants of a more or less questionable character, who fol- 
lowed the musters around all over the state, began to arrive. The 
refreshment tents, which for some days had been in process of erec- 
tion, were by this tune well stocked with needful things to eat, — 
oysters, gingerbread, watermelons, honey, apples, cider, and stronger 

In the afternoon the inspector-general had arrived with his suite, 
and was at once shown to the best apartments in the house — a large 
roomy mansion, built and for some years used for a tavern, as it 
was then termed. 

The next most important arrival was Tony Clark, with his fiddle 
for the dancers. Before midnight the house, barns, and sheds were 
filled to their utmost capacity with visitors of various social grades, 
determined to lose no fraction of muster-day. Cesar Lewis, a col- 
ored man like Tony, with his wife, Dinah, was always on hand to 
assist in waiting on the table of the oflicers and gentry. The last 
thing that everybody in all the towns I have named invariably did, 
before going to bed, was to cast an eye up to the weather, to see 
what it promised for the morrow. In those days, if people desired 
to know about the weather they had to consult the weather itself ; 
they could not tell by looking in one of the Boston dailies, for then 
" Old Prob." had not established his signal stations from Mt. Wash- 
nigton to the peaks of the Pacific coast. Towards morning the 


roads leading to the muster-field were full of vehicles of every 
description, loaded and packed with arms, soldiers, women, and 
children. The mothers must go to take care of their ofi^spring, — and 
a sorry time they had of it, for to keep them out of mischief was a 
thing impossible. Had not the hoys and girls been saving up their 
coppers for weeks with a view to this very occasion, and were n't 
they going to have a good time out of it ? The possible detriment to 
clothing or stomach was not to be considered a moment. To those 
who lived near it was comfort enough to lie in bed and hear the 
teams go by, with shouts and occasional drum-beats, and know for a 
certainty that it was really muster morning. Generally the artillery 
was the first company we used to hear going by. One platoon of 
perhaps thirty men composed this company, with one twelve pound 
brass field piece, mounted on a blue carriage. They belonged to 

On the morning that I well remember, about the year 1822, be- 
fore nine o'clock, Jonathan Harvey, adjutant, moimted on a sjjlen- 
did horse, took his station in front of his house, and called the com- 
panies in their order, and as they formed escorted them to their 
stations on the field. First the cavalry, consisting of 100 men and 
horses. Their uniform was scarlet coats, buff pants, and black 
shakos plumed. They rode two abreast, and to them was assigned 
the extreme left of the field (as viewed from the west). Next came 
the grenadiers, in scarlet coats, white pants, and tall conical shaped 
black, shiny leather caps. This company was first organized by 
Capt. John Harvey, and, until his promotion, commanded by him, 
when his 1st lieutenant, Daniel Woodward, took the command. 
Next to the grenadiers appeared a company of riflemen, dressed in 
frocks like backwoodsmen. At their head, marching four abreast, 
were four pioneers with pikes and tomahawks. This company came 
from Bradford. Next came six or seven companies of infantry, 
armed and equipped, but not uniformed. The artillery occupied 
the extreme right of the field. At the head of the regiment rode 
John Harvey, colonel, he having just succeeded his brother, Philip 
S. Harvey, in the same office. The group of mounted officers con- 
sisted of Inspector-General Solomon McNeil with his suite. General 
Hoyt of Bradford, a fine looking officer, with his staff, Anthony 
Colby, major (Gov. Colby, recently deceased, full of years and hon- 
ors, and well known by all). For music each company had a bass 
drum, tenor drum, and fife. The cavalry had a bugle. When the 


companies were all on the field, the whole was withdi-awn to form to- 
gether a hand, under the direction of a drum-major. Sometimes a Bart- 
lett of Warner held the office. (It is to be understood that I am writ- 
ing the combined recollections of two or three musters that I witnessed 
about the year 1822.) The music was stationed a little to the 
right of the centre in advance of the regiment. The adjutant 
formed the whole regiment in a hollow square, into which he pres- 
ently escorted the chaplain, surgeon, and mate. The chaplain, Rev. 
Oren Tracy, of New London, was a man of fine personal appear- 
ance, good sonorous voice, and complete master of the handsome 
horse he rode. He wore a cloak thrown gracefully back so as to 
display the star on his breast. The surgeon was sometimes Dr. 
Henry Lyman, of Warner, whose handsome appearance some may 
remember. My own recollections point more directly to the time 
when I saw Dr. Robert Lane, of Sutton, acting as surgeon of the 
mustei'-field. As he sat there on his horse he seemed to me the 
embodiment of grace and conscious power. The chaplain prayed, . 
the whole regiment listening with uncovered heads. Then the reg- 
iment was placed on a line stretched across the field. Then the 
inspector-general and field officers advanced, the music saluting 
them by rapid drum-beats and three prolonged notes on the fife. 
Then the captains of the companies advanced and saluted their 
superior officei'S. Then the colonel said, "Attention ! battalions," 
and battalion drill followed. After that came inspection, a tedious 
process, occupying several hours. The inspector-general went 
through the whole regiment, and if anything was wrong, even a 
spot of rust on a gun, a rip in a knaj)sack, or if the " two spare 
flints " were not produced, made a note of it. 

I forgot to say in its proper place that I remember Simeon Bart- 
lett, of Warner, present at one time as major ; at another, I think he 
was quartermaster. I should also mention another uniformed com- 
pany, the " Washington Blues," of New London. Their uniform 
was very handsome — dark blue, trimmed with gilt lace, and bell but- 
tons. All wore high neck stocks. They were at one time com- 
manded by Anthony Colby, at another time by one of the Burpees. 
Capt. John Pike also commanded one of the New London compa- 

The regimental flag was placed in the centre of the field, at first. 
After inspection, the honor of carrying the colors at the grand re- 
view was awarded to the comi)any that had made the best appear- 


ance in drill, discipline, and arms. That was a very exciting 
moment, when the captain of the fortunate company was called for- 
ward to receive from the hand of the inspector-general the honored 
flag with the accompanying words of compliment. He took it, 
bowed, and passed it to one of his subalterns, and perhaps that was 
the proudest moment of his life. 

After inspection the men were dismissed for dinner — a grand 
dinner being provided at the house for the officers. After dinner 
the regiment was called to the field again by discharge of the can- 
non, and formed as in the morning. " Grand review" followed : all 
the men under their captains marched before their superior officers, 
making the circuit of the field. This was the really splendid f eat- 
ui'e of the day's exercises. 

Then came the last scene, a sham fight, when the regiment was 
divided, and the two halves were instructed to " fight it out on that 
line " against each other. When this was over they were dis- 
missed, and the muster was done. But oh ! the excitement and 
noise that followed. The shouts of auctioneers, heard above the 
din of other voices, the confusion of carriages and horses and ped- 
dlers' carts, men, women, and children running against each other. 

Meantime, at the house, another kind of evolutions had been 
going on, Tony Clark with his fiddle acting as inspector-general. 
As soon as possible after the dinner tables were cleared away the 
hall was made ready for the dancers. The muster ball was a splen- 
did affair. Even high military functionaries did not disdain to 
take off boots and don their pumps, and join with the wives and 
daughters of the military and social aristocracy of the land. 

The great day was over at last. The feet of soldiers and dancers 
could not keep time to music forever, and the music itself had 
ceased. The multitude of carriages no longer blocked up the great 
wide road between the house and the muster-field. The cannon 
had belched forth its final thunder. Those that "rode in the troop" 
had galloped furiously out of sight : only an occasional drum-beat 
among the hills, growing farther and farther off, was heard ; and the 
clear sky and cold stars of a September midnight looked down upon 
the silent muster-field at Jonathan Harvey's. 

I will make some brief mention of the more prominent actors in 
the scenes I have described. Gen. Solomon McNeil, son-in-law of 
Gov. Pierce, and brother-in-law of President Pierce, was a man of 
fine personal appearance, being over six feet in height. I believe 


he was considered the tallest man in the state except his hrother, 
Gen. John McNeil. I remember being filled with admiration when 
my childish eyes saw him dismount at the great gate with his suite, 
— among whom was one of the Starks, whether son or grandson of 
Gen. Stark I cannot tell, — with one foot lifted out of the stirrup, 
all waited for his word of command " dismount," when each man 
sprang to the ground and gave his horse to his waiter. 

Cesar Lewis, the head table-waiter, was a full negro of good 
appearance. He had his suit of clothes that served him for muster 
occasions for many years — buff nankeen coat, white pants and vest. 
It was a sight worth seeing, when, with this nicely starched suit on, 
his dark locks powdered, and a white napkin on his arm, he entered 
the dining-hall, bearing a platter of roast beef. In his way Lewis 
made just as good an appearance with his suit as Gen. McNeil did 
with his suite. He was a man of good abilities, good manners, and 
unblemished integiity. He lived to a great age, long after extreme 
age made it possible for him to dispense with powder on his snow- 
white locks. He died in Sutton a few years ago, being over a hun- 
dred years old. 

Tony or Anthony Clark, the fiddler and dancing-master, probably 
did more towards instructing the young people in the arts and 
graces of politeness and good manners than any other man of his 
day and generation. He also lived to a great age — one hundred 
and seven years — and when he died, having served his country in 
the Revolutionary War, they gave him a military funeral, which 
was a splendid affair. 

Another negro, born in Africa, for many years lived in Warner 
woods, under the name of Prince Martin. He used to contribute 
much to the enjoyment of muster day. He could sing many songs 
and play on the bones, and always had a crowd of listeners round 


Sutton furnished for the late war, m all, 164 
men. This number includes the thirty-two men 

who enlisted without bounty. But as no men were 

credited by the government till they commenced 

paying bounties, the number credited to this town 
is reduced to 132 men. 

The town paid in bounties, $33,512 

In recruiting expense, 327.41 

Total, $33,839.41 

Average bounty per man, $253.80 

Average recruiting exjDense per man, 2.48 

To the total expenses the interest of money 
hired by the town for war purposes has not been 
added. It is safe to estimate that the cost of the 
war, to Sutton, was not much below $40,000. In 
1868 it amounted to |37,029.80. The whole war 
debt was paid in 1883. 


The following served without town bounties : 

Elias Phelps. Charles C. Morse. 

Alonzo J. Cheney. William H. Allaird. 

Reuben B. Porter. Nahum Burpee. 

Ransom R. Wheeler. Ira A. Putney. 

Clark C. Morse. Henry P. Putney. 



Daniel Francis. 
George A. Francis. 
Alonzo M. Flanders. 
Jacob C. Flanders. 
Marshall Wells. 
George H. Lyman. 
Daniel Maxfield. 
Charles I. Wheeler. 
John L. Harvey. 

Orson C. Little. 
Calvin Stone. 
Ephraim Fisk. 
George H. Champlin. 
John Putney. 
Robert Campbell. 
Enoch P. Davis. 
Lucas Nelson. 
John H. Pressey. 
Emery B. Whitcomb. 

Lewis G. Barber. 

Jonathan Dearborn Wheeler. 

George B. Barnard, killed in battle, — first man killed from Sutton.. 


The following soldiers were paid $125 each by the town and 
state : 

Martin L. Walker. 
Timothy B. Lewis. 
Andrew J. Harwood. 
Reuben B. Porter. 
Joseph Keyser. 
John M. Palmer. 
Robert B. Roby. 
Dustin W. Davis. 
WiUiam D. Roby. 
Albert Mastin. 
John W. Moore. 
Amos Parker. 
Robert Wadleigh. 
Chester Spaulding. 
Benjamin Whitcomb. 
Leonard H. Wheeler. 
Olney M. Kimball. 
John L. Worth. 
Carlos S. Bingham. 
James H. McAllister. 
George Chad wick. 
James H. Martin. 
Samuel T. Bickford. 

Elbridge F. Whittier. 
Henry A. Nelson. 
Warren H. Simons. 
James S. Sargent. 
George Morgan. 
Mansel Blake. 
Jonathan F. Williams. 
George W. Russell. 
Horace E. Russell. 
Andrew J. Bohonnan. 
Stephen R. Bailey. 
Everett T. Sanborn. 
James G. Whidden. 
Francis M. Richards. 
Joseph P. Nelson. 
James A. Wadleigh. 
Newell J. Nye. 
Benjamin P. Nelson. 
Francis E. Derby. 
Frank A. Mitchell. 
Abraham P. Richards. 
Charles Hart, Jr. 
Hiram K. Little. 


Thomas Little. Phineas J. Collins. 

David W. Bailey. Truman S. Blanchard. 

Clark Carr Morse. Frank P. Stevens. 

H. W. Morse. Alvali P. Whittier. 

Amount paid to the above, $6,750. 

Men furnished from January, 1864, till the close of the war, 
soldiers and reenlisted veterans : 

Kobert Campbell, vet. George Constantine. 

Lewis C. Withee. Alvin S. Williams. 

Enoch P. Davis, vet. John L. Harvey, vet. 

George H. Lyman. Charles G. Putney. 

Nelson M. Putney. Martin L. Walker, vet. 

■Charles C. Marshall. Reuben B. Porter, vet. 

•George H. Pressey. Leonard H. Wheeler, vet. 

To the above soldiers the town paid from $150 
to $300 as bounty, till Aug. 19, 1864. After that 
date the town paid its own citizens $800 for one 
year, and $1,400 for three years. 

The following persons furnished substitutes, they 
paying what they were obliged to pay in order to 
buy them, and the town allowing each man $300 
towards paying for his substitute: 

John C. Morey. James M. Davis. 

Wniiam W. Coburn. John Gross, Jr. 

James S. Bohonnan. Charles G. Davis. 

Harris F. B. Russell. Charles L. Andrew. 

Frank I. Sanborn. Austin Morgan. 

George Fellows. Oren S. Rollins. 

John Roby, Jr. Wyman P. Kimball. 

Henry Davis. R. M. Dowling. 

John AV. Fellows. George S. French. 

Cyrus French. George Andrew. 

Ira F. Rowell. Daniel Ordway. 

Daniel .Tohnson. William Little. 

Orra Burpee. James M. Palmer. 



Joseph P. Nelson. 
Truman Putney. 
Augustus D. Follansbee. 
Benj. F. Pillsbury. 
Moses L. Pillsbury. 
Benjamin Johnson. 
Amos H. Smith. 
John Pressey. 
Joseph Greeley, Jr. 
Joseph Johnson. 
Andrew J. Sanborn. 

Charles S. Watson. 
Charles A. Fowler. 
Daniel G. Chadwick. 
Ira P. Whittier. 
Jonathan H. Nelson. 
L. F. E. Dresser. 
David B. Jones. 
James B. Sawyer. 
John Brocklebank. 
Francis Currier, Jr. 

Ill 1863, in addition to enlisted men of that year^ 
the town bought the following men, who served, 
paying for them $8,760, most of which the town 

was to receive again i 

rom the state and govern- 


Robert Morton. 

Charles TuUy. 

Frederic Osborne. 

Henry Armstrong. 

Samuel T. Sliin. 

James Pettigrew. 

Daniel W. Bogart. 

John Misener. 

Joseph B. McLeod. 

William Kelly. 

William Taylor. 

FeHx Closey. 

James Scott. 

John Williams. 

Charles A. Barton. 

Payment oe 

THE War Debt. 

In the year ending March, 1868, the debt was, — 




















1877, $17,556.84 

1878, 14,760.35 

1879, 9,917.19 


The reduction during* the year ending March, 
1882, was 11,234.86. In 1883 the balance against 
the town was $23.47, and the War debt was paid. 
It will be observed that from March, 1868, to 
March, 1869, the increase of debt was |715.23, of 
which increase the auditors' report says, — 

It can be readily accounted for by the settlement of the Lear 
actions against the town, costing $764.20. 

From 1869 to 1870 the increase of the debt was 

f 812.42. The auditors' report says of this, — 

The increase of the debt may be accounted for by the unusual 
expense of breaking out the roads and repairing the highways and 
bridges. The amount of money heretofore raised by the town, 
after paying the interest on the town debt, leaves but a small mar- 
gin to pay the necessary expenses of the town. We therefore 
recommend that the town raise the sum of five thousand dollai*s to 
pay the interest on the town debt and defray town charges the 
ensuing year. 

Enoch Page, Asa Page, and Thomas J. Wad- 
leigh were auditors this year. 

Even as late as 1872 the debt was still a trifle 
larger than in 1868. This year the auditors say in 
their report, — 

Should the town receive from the state $11,715 in bonds, and 
apply the same to the payment of the debt, it would reduce the debt 
to $22,191.69. 

The next year, 1873, we see that in this way an 


important reduction in the debt was made, and from 
this date the debt steadily diminished till it was 

The auditors who signed the report for 1873 
were Johnson Colby and Asa Page. 

The following is the individual record of Sutton 
men who were mustered into service during the 
late war: 

Reuben B. Porter, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 2, 
1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861 ; sergeant, Co. H, 16th 
N. H. Regt., mustered in Nov. 15, 1862, promoted to second lieuten- 
ant. March 5, 1863, mustered out Aug. 20, 1863 ; commissioned 
Sept. 20, 1864, first lieutenant Co. B, 18th N. H. Regt. Died and 
was buried at Windham, N. H. 

Alonzo J. Cheney, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 2, 
1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861 ; enlisted March 11, 1864. 
Troop I, N. H. Cav. Now resides at Wilmot, N. H, 

Elias A. Phelps, Co. C, 19th Mass. Regt. 

Ransom R. Wheeler, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 
2, 1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861 ; Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., 
mustered in Sept. 18, 1861, and mustered out Sept. 27, 1864 ; Co. 
G, 18th N. H. Regt. Resides at No. Sutton. 

Clark C. Morse, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 2, 
1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861. 

Charles C. Morse, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 2, 
1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861 ; Co. D, 11th N. H. Regt. 
mustered in Aug. 29, 1862. 

John E. Putney, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered in May 2, 
1861, promoted to sergeant ; mustered out August 9, 1861. 

William H. Allard, corporal, Co. D, 1st N. H. Regt., mustered 
in May 2, 1861, and mustered out Aug. 9, 1861. 

Nahum Bui'pee, 111. Regt., died in service Oct. 31, 1861, aged 
24 years, 8 months. His bodywas brought home and buried at 

Ira A. Putney, Co. B, 2d Regt., Berdan's Sharpshooters, died 
Feb. 11, 1866, of disease contracted in service. Buried at South 


Henry P. Putney, Co. B, 2d Regt. Berdan's Sharpshooters, 
wounded at battle of Williamsburg, Va. Died Aug., 11, 1864, and 
burled at South Sutton. 

Jerome B. Porter, Co. G, 2d Regt. U. S. Sharpshooters, mustered 
in Dec. 12, 1861, and dischlarged for disability. May 9, 1862. 
Died at Warner, N. H., and buried at No. Sutton. 

Daniel S. Francis, Co. H, 2d N. H. Regt., mustered in June 5^ 
1861, wounded severely July 2, 1863, mustered out June 21, 1864. 

George A. Francis, Co. H, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept» 
18, 1861, and mustered out Sept. 27, 1864. 

Alonzo M. Flanders, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 
18, 1861, and mustered out Sept. 27, 1864. 

Jacob C. Flanders, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 18, 

Marshall Wells, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 18, 
1861 ; transferred to 1st U. S. Artillery, Feb. 24, 1863. 

George H. Lyman, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 18, 
1861 ; reenlisted Dec. 25, 1863, and died at Port Royal, S. C, 
April 17, 1865. 

Daniel Maxfield, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., transferred to 1st U. S. 
Artillery, Feb. 24, 1863. 

Charles I. Wheeler, Co. I, 4th Regt., mustered in Sept. 18^ 
1861 ; reenlisted Jan. 1. 1864. 

John L. Harvey, Co. I, 4th, N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 18, 
1861 ; reenlisted Dec. 25, 1863. 

Lewis G. Barber, Co. H, 2d N. H. Regt., mustered in June 5, 
1861 ; now resides at Sutton. 

Jonathan D. Wheeler, Co. I, 4th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 
18. 1861 ; reenlisted Feb. 14, 1864. Died at Wilmot, N. H., June 
20^ 1870. 

Orison Little, Co. B, 2d Mass. Light Battery ; wounded. Resides^ 
at Boston, Mass. 

Calvin Stone, Co. B, 2d Mass. Light Battery. Died at Boston, 
Mass., and buried at Sutton. 

Ephraim Fisk, 1st N. H. Battery, mustered in Sept. 26, 1861 ; 
promoted to corporal, reenlisted Dec. 26, 1863. Now resides at 
Lawrence, Mass. 

George H. Champlin, corporal, Co. C, 39th Mass. Regt. Died 
Jan. 4, 1864, and buried at So. Sutton. 

Robert Campbell, Troop I, 1st N. E. Cav., mustered in Dec. 17, 


1861, promoted corporal ; reenlisted Jan. 5, 1864 ; second lieutenant- 
Troop L, 1st N. H. Cav., commissioned March 18, 1864. KiUed at 
White Oak Swamp, Va., June 13, 1864. 

George B. Barnard, corporal. Troop I, 1st N. E. Cav., mustered 
in Dec. 17, 1861. KiUed at Port Royal, Va., May 31, 1862. First 
killed frona Sutton. 

Enoch P. Davis, Troop 1, 1st N. E. Cav., mustered in Dec. 17, 
1861, reenlisted Jan. 5, 1864; Troop I, 1st N. H. Cav., mustered 
in Jan. 5, 1864 ; captured Nov. 12, 1864. Died at Sutton, Dec. 
30, 1888. 

Lucas Nelson, Troop I, 1st N. E. Cav., mustered in Dec. 17, 
1861, transferred to Vet. Res. Corps, Nov. 20, 1863. Died March 
26, 1873, at the Soldiers' Home, Togus, Maine. 

John M. Pressey, Troop I, 1st N. E. Cav., mustered in Ded. 17, 

1861. discharged for disability, Nov. 11, 1862. Now resides in 

Emery B. Whitcomb, Co. E, 1st U. S. Sharpshooters, mustered 
in Sept. 9, 1861. 

Elbridge F. Whittier, Co. A, 9th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
13, 1862. Died at Cynthiana, Ky., Sept. 17, 1863. 

Martin L. Walker, Co. A, 9th N. H. Regt., mustered in July 3, 
1862 ; Co. A, 9th Regt. Vet. Reserved Corps. Resides at North 
Sutton. • 

George W. Russell, Co. G, 9th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
13, 1862. Killed Sept. 18, 1862. 

James H. Wheeler, Co. G, 9th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
13, 1862. 

Timothy B. Lewis, Co. F, lltli N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded June 16, 1864. Resides at Sutton. 

John L. Worth, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 

1862. Died at Washington, D. C, Feb. 13, 1863. 

Carlos S. Bingham, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. 

James H. McAllister, sergeant, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mus- 
tered in Aug. 29, 1862. 

George Chadwick, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded sHghtly Dec. 13, 1862. Resides at Sutton. 

Hiram K. Little, second lieutenant, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., 
commissioned Sept. 4, 1862, promoted first heutenant Jan. 30, 

1863. Died at the government hospital, David's Island, New York 


514 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

Harbor, July 4, 1864, from wounds received in front of Petersburg. 
Buried at Sutton. 

Thomas Little, corporal, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Aug. 29, 1862. Now resides at Peterborough, N. H. 

James G. Whidden, corporal, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered 
in Aug. 29, 1862. Discharged for disability. Resides at Sutton. 

Joseph P. Nelson, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. Discharged for disability, May 23, 1863. Resides in 

Daniel W. Bagley, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded July 16, 1863, transferred to V. R. C, Sept. 
1864. Resides at Sutton. 

Andrew J. Bohonnan, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Aug. 29, 1862; wounded severely Dec. 13, 1862. Resides at 

Mansel Blake, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 
1862. Resides at Concord, N. H. 

Freeman S. Blanchard, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Aug. 29, 1862. Now resides in Dakota Territory. 

Samuel T. Bickford, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. Now resides at Epsom, N. H. 

Phineas G. Collins, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. Resides at Lowell, Mass. 

Charles Hart, Jr., Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, transferred to V. R. C, Oct. 2, 1863. Resides at Sutton. 

James H. Martin, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. Died at Covington, Ky., Aug. 25, 1863. 

Frank A. Mitchell, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, transferred to Vet. Res. Corps, Dec, 1863. 

George Morgan, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 
1862. Died at Alexandria, Va., July 23, 1863. 

Newell J. Nye, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 
1862. Died at Sutton, March 15, 1879. 

Henry A. Nelson, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 
1862. KUled in battle, July 30, 1864. 

Benjamin P. Nelson, Co. F., 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. KUled at Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. First 
man kiUed in Co. F. 

Horace E. Russell, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862 ; transferred to U. S. Battery. Now resides at Sutton. 


Abraham P. Richards, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Aug. 29, 1862, wounded June 2, 1864, and June 17, 1864. Died 
at Concord, N. H. 

Francis M. Richards, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, promoted to corporal, wounded badly May 12, 1864. 
Now resides at Warner, N. H. 

Everett T. Sanborn, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded May 11, 1864. Now resides in Nebraska. 

Warren H. Simons, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded Dec. 13, 1862, and May 12, 1864. Now resides 
at Sutton. 

James S. Sargent, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862. Now resides at Sutton. 

Frank P. Stevens, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 

James A. Wadleigh, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 
29, 1862, wounded severely Dec. 13, 1862, transferred to V. R. C, 
Oct. 1, 1863. Now resides at Warner. 

Jonathan F. Williams, Co. F, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Sept. 3. 1862, promoted to sergeant. Now resides at Lowell, Mass. 

Alvah P. Whittier, Co. K, ] 1th N. H. Regt., mustered in Sept. 
2, 1862, discharged for disability April 20, 1863. Died March 7, 

Henry W. Morse, Co. D, 11th N. H. Regt., mustered in Aug. 29, 

Andrew J. Harwood, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Nov. 
1, 1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

John W. Moore, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862, promoted to sergeant, mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. Died at 
Lempster, N. H. 

Robert Wadleigh, corporal, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered 
in Oct. 23, 1862. Died at Brashear City, La., May 8, 1863. 

John M. Palmer, musician, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered 
in Nov. 6, 1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. Died at Sutton, 
Dec. 22, 1888. 

Stephen R. Bailey, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 
23, 1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. Died at Concord, 
N. H., Aug. 24, 1863, of disease contracted in service. 

Dustin W. Davis, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. Resides at Spring-field, Vt. 


Joseph Keyser, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Nov. 4, 
1862. Discharged for disability, May 10, 1863. Died at Sutton, 

Albert F. Hasten, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862. Died at Brashear City, La., April 29, 1863. 

Amos Parker, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862. Died at New Orleans, La., April 21, 1863. 

James C. Rowe, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862, and mustei'ed out Aug. 20, 1863. 

William D. Roby, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 23, 
1862, promoted to corporal, mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. Died of 
disease contracted in service. 

Robert B. Roby, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Nov. 6, 
1862. Resides at So. Sutton. 

Chester Spaulding, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 
23, 1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Benjamin K. Whitcomb. Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in 
Oct. 23, 1862. Died at Port Hudson, La., July 22, 1863. 

Leonard H. Wheeler, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered in Oct. 
23, 1862, and mustered out Aug. 20, 1863 ; Co. B, 18th N. H. 
Regt., mustered in Sept. 13, 1864. Died at Sutton, Aug. 14, 1877. 

Olney M. Kimball, corporal, Co. H, 16th N. H. Regt., mustered 
in Oct. 23, 1862, discharged for disability, June 27, 1863. Resides 
at Boston, Mass. 

Lewis C. AVithee, Troop A, 1st N. H. Cav., mustered in March. 
11, 1864. 

Charles H. Davis, Troop I, 1st N. H. Cav., mustered in March 
17, 1864. 

Nelson J. Putney, Co. B, 1st Regt., N. H. Heavy Artillery, 
mustered in Sept. 18, 1863. 

Charles C. Marshall, Troop H, 1st N. H. Cav., mustered in July 
29, 1864. Resides at Sutton. 

George H. Pressey, second lieutenant. Troop H, 1st N. H. Cav., 
commissioned March 19, 1864. Died at Concord, N. H., Oct. 8, 
1877, and buried at Sutton. 

George Constantine, 1st N. H. Cavalry. 

Alvin S. Williams, Co. E, 1st Regt. N. H. Heavy Artillery, 
mustered in Sept. 5, 1864. Now resides at Worcester, Mass. 

Charles G. Putney, Co. E, 1st Regt. N. H. Heavy Artillery, 
mustered in Sept. 5, 1864. 


Fi-ancis E. Derby enlisted on or about Aug. 29, 1862, and 
served in Co. F, 11th Regt., up to the close of the war, and dis- 
charged with the regiment June 11, 1865, at Concord. Not 
wounded, but much broken in health by hardship and exposure, 
and is yet a sufferer. Resides in New London. 

Robert Campbell Post. 

Robert Campbell Post, No. 58, Dept. of N. H., Grand Army of 
the Republic, was organized at Sutton, Dec. 17, 1880, and the fol- 
lowing veterans were mustered in by W. H. D. Cochrane, A. A. 
Gen., Dept. N. H. : 

Enoch P. Davis, George Robertson, David W. Bagley, Harrison 
D. Robertson, Warren H. Merrill, John M. Palmer, Edwin B. 
Lear, Oi HaU, David McDole, Frank P. Ayer, Ezekiel Hadley, 
George Roby, Andrew J. Bohonan, Allison W. Cheney, Timothy 
B. Lewis, John M. Pressey, George Chadwick, James G. Whidden, 
Charles C. MarshaU, William K. Philbrick, Olney M. KimbaU, 
Simon G. Cutting, Joseph P. Nelson, Charles F. Peaslee. 

The following officers were elected and installed : 

Enoch P. Davis, Commander. 

Allison W. Cheney, Senior Vice Commander. 

Harrison D. Robertson, Junior Vice Commander. 

Olney M. Kimball, Adjutant. 

George Robertson, Quartermaster. 

James G. Whidden, Chaplain. 

Edwin B. Lear, Officer of the Day. 

Warren H. Merrill, Officer of the Guard. 

The following have served as commanders of the Post : 

1881. Enoch P. Davis. 

1882. Allison W. Cheney. 

1883. Olney M. Kimball. 

1884. Timothy B. Lewis. 

1885. Charles C Marshall. 

1886. James G. Whidden. 

1887. Charles M. Newman. 

1888. Jonathan Merrill. 

1889. James M. Rix. 



In memory of whom Grand Army Post, No. 58, was named, son 
of Annas and Patty Campbell, born in Henniker, Aug. 30, 1833. 
His father was captain of the first rifle company formed in this 
state, and was a very efficient officer. From liis father Robert 
inherited that military zeal which ever distinguished him when a 
boy. He followed the occupation of a farmer, and when the war 
broke out he was residing in Sutton. He was mustered into Troop 
I, of the New Hampshire Battalion of the First New England Cav- 
alry, as a private, Dec. 17, 1861, for 3 years. 

His battalion joined the Army of the Potomac, and was almost 
constantly on duty, scouting and performing picket duty. Pro- 
moted to corporal July 13, 1862, and to sergeant Jan. 1, 1863. 
Reenlisted Jan. 5, 1864. He was assigned to Troop L, First Regi- 
ment Cavalry. His battalion took a prominent part in the terrible 
campaign of 1864, being in the saddle almost constantly for several 
days at a time. Lieutenant Campbell was placed in command of 
the picket line on the outpost of White Oak Swamp, Va., and 
while skirmishing with the enemy, June 13, 1864, he was killed by 
a bullet from the enemy's works. His body was never recovered. 
The noble friend, the chivalric soldier, and the gallant comrade 
sleeps in an unknown grave, but he is not forgotten, for troops of 
loving friends will ever bear his memory in their faithful hearts. 
Age, 30 — 9 — 13. Married Mary A. Hazen, of Sutton. 

Roster of Robert Campbell Post, No. 58, Department of 
New Hampshire, G. A. R., Sutton, N. H., 1888. 


Jonathan Merrill, Post Commander. 

J. M. Rix, S. V. Commander. 

Abram Bickford, J. V. Commander. 

J. G. Whidden, Adjutant. 

T. B. Lewis, Quartermaster. 

P. B. Richards, Surgeon. 

J. H. Gannett, Chaplain. 

C. C. Marshall, Officer of the Day. 

1 Extract from History of Henniker. 


Cliarles Hart, Officer of the Guard. 
J. P. Nelson, Sergeant Major. 
G. T. Dunfield, Q. M. Sergeant. 
J. C. Graham, Color Bearer. 


C. C. Marshall, E. B. Lear, H. E. Russell. 


Charles Hart, J. M. Rix, C. M. Newman, M. W. Cheney. 


E. P. Davis, 0. M. Kimball, A. W. Cheney, T. B. Lewis, C. C. 
Marshall, J. G. Whidden, E. W. Ne^vman. 


Names marked thus * are deceased. 

E. P. Davis, I, 1st N. H. C. 
A. W. Cheney, B, 30th 111.* 
George Robertson, H, 6th Mass. 
J. G. Whidden, F, 11th N. H. 
E. B. Lear, H, 14th N. H. 

D. McDole, B, 18th N. H. 
George Roby, D, 11th N. H. 
O. M. KimbaU, H, 16th N. H. 
C. H. Peaslee, H, 10th N. H. 
T. B. Lewis, F, 11th N. H. 

C. F. Peaslee, 29th Unassigned Me. In. * 
W. K. Philbrick, H, 2d N. H. 
Charles Hart, F, 11th N. H. 
J. P. Nelson, F, 11th N. H. 
C. C. Marshall, H, 1st N. H. C. 
George Chadwick, F, 11th N. H. 
J. M. Pahner, H, 16th N. H. 
Oi Hall, H, 1st N, H. 

E. H. Hadley, I, 14th N. H. 
J. M. Pressey, I, 1st N. H. C 
H. D. Robertson, E. U. S. S. S. 

F. P. Ager, D, 11th N. H. 


H. H. Bell, F, 7th Vt. 
Jonathan Merrill, 2d N. H. 
Wilson Dorr, F, 1st N. H. H. Art. * 
M. W. Cheney, H, 16th N. H. 
J. A. Perkins, I, 14th N. H. 
S. E. Bailey, G, 18th N. H. 
John Lewis, F, 11th N. H. 
Horace Clark, F, 8th N. H. 

F. R. Wright, G, 20th Me. 

G. S. Ward, H, 16th N. H. 
P. E. Ward, H, 16th N. H. * 
D. K. Hawks, A, 7th N. H. 
Y. S. Woods, D, 11th N. H. 

C. M. Newman, C, 3d N. Y. Art. 
G. S. Sargent, H, 16th N. H. 
R. B. Gilbreath, 2d U. S. S. S. 
W. C. Dudley, I, 14th N. H. 
P. B. Richards, A, 1st N. H. 
W. F. Colbourn, I, 14th N. H.* 
Henry Osgood, D, 11th N. H. 
Alonzo Chase, H, 2d N. H. 
G. F. Edmunds, D, 11th N. H. 
C. C. Jones, D, 11th N. H. 
Samuel Davis, Major, 16th N. H. 
J. B. Rand, C, 1st U. S. S. S. 
W. H. Sawyer, H, 1st N. H. H. A. 
W. D. Chase, E. U. S. S. S. 
M. C. Harriman, H, 16th N. H. 
C. H. Melvin, H, 16th N. H. 
G. S. Roby, H, 14th N. H. 
A. P. Colby, A, 10th N. H. 

C. E. Hardy, D, 11th N. H. 

H. S. WiUis, E, 1st R. B. Shooters. 

D. J. Burbank, D, 11th N. H. 
Silvanus Harriman, G, 1st N. H. Cav. 
Arthur Thompson, D, 11th N. H. 

D. C. Harriman, D, 11th N. H. 
James Bean, H, 16th N. H.* 
J. S. Rogers, D, 11th, N. H. 
J. M. Rix, L, 3d Mass. 


W. M. Flanders, E, 18th N.-H. 
G. M. Barnard, H, 14th N. H. 
J. C. Graham, E, 15th N. H. 
J. R. C. Hoyt, E, 3d N. H. 
M. W. Tappan, Colonel, 1st N. H. * 
H. C. Brockway, H, 16th N. H. 
J. M. Hoyt, H, 16th N. H. 
G. T. Dunfield, B, 16th N. H. 
L. W. Barnes, H, 16th N. H. 
W. P. Howe, E, 169, N. Y. 
A. M. Colby, F, 1st N. H. H. Art. 
Abram Bickford, 1st N. H. C. 
J. H. Gannett, H, 12th Mass. 
H. E. Russell, F, 11th N. H. 
Israel Adams, H, 16th N. H. 
G. M. Burbank, H, 14th N. H. 
A. W. Brown, G, 5th N. H. 
W. F. WaUace, I, 18th N. H. 
J. H. Hardy, B, 1st N. H. H. Art. 
Leonidas Harriman, E, 18th N. H. 
WiUiam Libby, C, 20th Me. 


The schools, which had grown up m ^ew 
Hampshire under the influence of the early laws 
passed by the Province for their encouragement, 
were almost wholly prostrated by the turmoils of 
the Revolutionary period. But in a very few 
years after the close of the war a revival of inter- 
est in the cause of education is manifest. Acad- 
emies sprung up, endowed and supported by gen- 
erous bequests of individuals and associations. 
Phillips academy, the first institution of its kind in 
the state, was established in 1781, 'New Ipswich 
academy in 1789, and one at Atkinson and one at 
Amherst in 1791, and about the same time the leg- 
islature of the state passed some laws which were 
the beginning of a series of decided measures for 
the advancement of common schools. 

In 1789 an act of the legislature made it the duty 
of selectmen yearly to assess upon the inhabitants 
of each town £45 upon each 20 shillings of the 
town's proportion of public taxes, for teaching the 
children and youth of each town reading, writing, 
and arithmetic. 

This act is supposed to have continued in force 
till 1805. That year the general court passed a 
law authorizing towns, at legal meetings called for 
that purpose, to organize school-districts. In 1808 
a law was passed, or, rather, this act was so 


amended as to make it imperative to subdivide 
every town into school-districts. Some divisions 
into districts prior to this time had been made, but 
they were wholly voluntaiy on the part of the peo- 
ple to be benefited by them. 

In 1808 the law relating to the amount of taxes 
to be raised for the public schools was so amended 
as to require each town to raise for its schools a 
sum equal to seventy dollars for every one dollar 
of the town's proportion of the public tax. In 1827 
this percentage was increased to ninety dollars for 
each one dollar of the town's share of the public 
tax. As early as 1805 each town was required to 
appoint three or more suitable persons to visit and 
examine schools. In 1809 the selectmen in some 
towns " inspected " the schools. 

In 1827 the general court passed a law requiring 
towns at their annual meeting to choose a superin- 
tending committee to examine schools. This law 
was very popular in the legislature, passing the 
house by a vote of 152 to 37, and met with little 
or no opposition in the senate. Gov. Pierce readily 
signed it. The next year the law was so amended 
as to make it necessary for teachers to be exam- 
ined and obtain certificates before commencing 
their schools. Long before this time, however^ 
teachers, or those aspiring to be such, were 
required to have a certificate of successful exam- 
ination by " some minister of the gospel, or some 
well learned person." Through the force of cus- 
tom, at least, if not really required, it became a part 
of the clergyman's duty to visit the schools from 
time to time; and when he had notified the teacher 


of his intention to make such a visit, the same was 
communicated to the school by the teacher, coupled 
with the injunction to " all rise at his entrance, 
and remain standing till he is seated." The amia- 
ble bow with which he recognized this piece of 
civility, as well as his dignified and grave demeanor 
as he proceeded to the place of honor in the desk 
seat of the teacher, made a profound impression 
upon the scholars. Teachers were expected to 
instruct the children in " polite behavior," which, 
among other things, required them to bow or 
curtsey to every person they met in going to and 
from school. Even down to a period within the 
memory of the present writer this was the teach- 
er's last injunction on dismissing the school at 

Memory recalls one occasion in which an older 
sister, going home from school with her head full 
of this admonition, had the good fortune to see a 
man approaching from the opposite direction, and, 
conceiving this to be her golden opportunity to 
obey it, made herself all ready, and, as he drew 
near, stopped short and droj^ped a low curtsey, in 
full expectation that he would at least show his 
appreciation of her politeness by the customary 
word of commendation, " That 's a good girl." 
Crestfallen indeed she felt and looked when she 
received only this malignant and surly response, — 
^' There, do n't ever make any more of them silly 

Some twenty years ago those were living in 
Sutton who could remember that when the minister 
visited the school, besides inspecting their progress. 


he used to make a prayer and talk to the scholars 
on religion, and question those who had studied 
the "Assembly's Catechism" on that work. 

An aged lady, Mrs. Col. John Harvey, used to 
relate her experience of her first examination, 
which was in the early years of this century. Her 
father accompanied her to the house of the Rev. 
Lemuel Bliss in Bradford, who received them 
courteously, and, having called into the room his 
entire family, made a long prayer, and then pro- 
ceeded to business. He asked her a few puzzling 
questions, required her to repeat one of the longest 
rules in the " Young Lady's Accidence," the gram- 
mar then in use, which, fortunately for her, the 
solemnities of the occasion had not di'iven from her 
mind, and after spelling some hard words the 
nerve-trying operation was successfully over. 
And here we will say that scholars in those early 
days, though they had but few books, learned them 
thoroughly, for this same aged lady, a few days 
previous to her death at the age of 88 years, pos- 
sibly under the influence of that strange revival 
and requickening of the mental faculties which 
sometimes precede death in the very aged, could 
repeat without hesitation or error long rules in 
parsing, from that book. 

The author of the " Young Lady's Accidence " 
was the Rev. Caleb Bingham, who was teacher of 
a young ladies' school in Boston in 1785. Feeling 
the need of such a book to use in his school, he set 
himself to work to prepare one, and used it suc- 
cessfully in his school, and offered it to the public. 
So popular did it become that 100,000 copies were 


issued. The same author also prepared some other 
school-books, which were equally well received, 
viz., " Child's Companion," " American Preceptor," 
^' Columl^ian Orator," "' Youthful Catechism," and 
^' Juvenile Letters." 

Dil worth's Spelling-Book, the first of its kind 
ever used in this country, was also used in Eng- 
land, being the work of an English author. This 
spelling-])Ook was introduced into this country in 
1770. A good authority says of it, that, though 
very humble in its merits as compared with those 
of the present day, it was then considered a perfect 
epitome of all that is essential to a common educa- 
tion. The Bible and Psalter and 'Ne\y England 
Primer were the very earliest reading-books. Paper 
to write upon was scarce, and most of the early 
scholars learned to write upon strips of birch 

Pike's Arithmetic made its appearance in 1788, 
and, finding its way into the public schools of 'New 
England, kept its place for many years. This book 
on arithmetic had an appendix of Algebra and Conic 
Sections. The author was !Nicholas Pike, a gram- 
mar-school master in iNTewburyport, and a graduate 
of Harvard college. This was the first original 
arithmetic published in the United States, as ap- 
pears by a letter from President Washington, to 
whom the author had presented a copy. In this 
letter the President speaks of "the handsome 
manner in which it is printed, and the elegant man- 
ner in Avhich it is bound, as pleasing proofs of the 
progress which the arts are making in this coun- 
try;" then adds, — "Its merits being established by 


the approbation of competent judges, I flatter my- 
self that the idea of its being an American produc- 
tion, and the first of the kind which has appeared, 
will induce every patriotic citizen to give it all the 
countenance and patronage in his power." 

Adams' Arithmetic appeared about 1830, and 
was in use for a long term of years till supplanted 
by Greenleaf's series. But no one school-book of 
any kind ever held its sway in the schools of ^ew 
England so long as Colburn's Mental Arithmetic. 
What dates to assign as the limit of its usefulness 
the writer knows not, as the end has not come yet. 
It was in use in 1830, and is still used in many 

Kev. J. L. Blake, a native of I^orthwood, ]^. H., 
was author of The Historical Reader, a book which 
to many persons furnished about all the historical 
knowledge they ever attained. Mr. Blake was also 
author of a work on astronomy, and many other 
books. Webster's Spelling-Book was first pub- 
lished in 1783, and by the early part of the present 
century was much in use. Marshall's, and a mod- 
ernized edition of Webster's, followed. Parisli's 
Geography was used some as a reading-book; but 
we will venture the assertion that more persons 
learned to read from the 'New Testament than from 
any other reading-book. The " Psalter" used was 
the whole or a portion of the Psalms. 

The same aged lady already referred to used to 
relate an anecdote of her early days, illustrative of 
the misconceptions regarding-school advantages of 
the Sutton people held by a school teacher in Ames- 
bury, Mass., which town may be considered the 


parent town of Sutton and several others in 'New 

When she was fourteen years of age she went to 
Amesbnry to spend the winter with her grand- 
parents, and they thought best to send her to the 
winter school, then in operation. Her youngest 
aunt, two years older than herself, was then a pupil 
in the school, and introduced her to the teacher, 
telling him she was from New Hamjoshire. The 
teacher was polite and kind, and after the morning 
reading classes were through, proceeded to instruct 
his alphabet scholars, calling her with the others up 
to his seat, and began pointing out the letters of the 
alphabet with his penknife and desiring her to re- 
peat them after him. In her shame and dismay she 
remained speechless, but looked around for her 
aunt, who quickly came to her rescue, informing the 
teacher in a whisper that she could read as well as 
herself. It would be difficult to say which suffered 
most with shame on this occasion, — the teacher, or 
the young girl whose absolute illiteracy he had so 
unquestioningly assumed. Her grandfather, how- 
ever, to whom the affiiir, when related to him, 
afforded infinite amusement, cordially accepted the 
apology which the school-master hastened the same 
evening to make, adding, — " Your supposition that 
she must be entirely untaught, and without any 
book-knowledge, is simply in accordance with the 
convictions that most people in these older towns 
entertain regarding the educational advantages of 
the young people in the new up-country settle- 
ments. I might myself have still held the same 
ideas, if my frequent visits to Sutton had not shown 


me their falsity." He had three daughters married 
and settled in Sutton, viz., Mrs. Hezekiah Hlaisdell, 
Mrs. Jacob Harvey, and Mrs. Joseph Greeley. 

Perhaps the misapprehension of the teacher arose 
in part from the circumstance that the pupil was a 
girl and not a boy, so great was then the difference 
between the school privileges allowed to girls and 
those common to boys in the older toAvns in Mas- 
sachnsetts, the advantage being altogether in favor 
of the boys. The grammar schools were for boys 
exclusively. The girls were sent, if sent at all, to 
" Dame's School " only. Here they learned to sew, 
and to read some, and that was the utmost they 
were required to learn, except, in favored cases, 
some learned to write a little. 

Fortunately for the girls in the newly settled 
towns in 'New Hampshire, no such distinctions ex- 
isted. The people were too poor to be able to 
altbrd more than one school, and such privilege of 
education as existed was open equally to girls and 
boys. But it seems that the Amesbury school- 
master must have reasoned that since the amount 
of book-knowledge acquired by the girls in the 
towns long settled was so small, — was to be ex- 
pressed by so low a figure, that anything less than 
that must be nothing at all, — that the attainments 
of the girls " up in the bush " in JS'ew Hampshire 
could only be expressed by zero. 

With regard to the higher education of girls, the 
initiative step seems to have been taken in ISTew 
Hampshire at the opening of the academy at ^N'ew 
Ipswich in 1789, and the credit of the same is due 
to a Mr. Peabody, then a man of influence and dis- 



tinction, who had done much towards the establish- 
ment of the academy. 

Philips academy, opened some eight years before 
at Exeter, did not, and does not now, admit female 
students. In the question as to the admission of 
girls, the I*^ew Ipswich people, especially those who 
had daughters growing uj), felt much interest, but 
nobody knew about it, and nobody ventured to urge 
it, as there were some who thought it almost indel- 
icate to send young ladies into school with young 
men. The matter was not decided till the morning 
of the commencement of the school, when Mr. Pea- 
body directed his daughter to " pick up her books 
and go to school at the academy." The next day 
many other girls followed the example of Mr. Pea- 
body's daughter, and all hesitation as to acceptance 
of this great privilege for them was over. 

In the many ancient papers examined in the 
preparation of this history of Sutton, the percentage 
of those signatures affixed to documents by what is 
termed " making their mark," has been found to be 
very small. The spelling of the common words is 
frequently faulty, but it must be remembered that 
but few persons had within their reach any standard 
for spelling except the sound of the words them- 
selves. Spelling-books were scarce, and dictiona- 
ries more so. But the people managed to transact 
their business correctly, and leave the records of 
their transactions in such a way that we at this late 
day are very glad of the light they give us regard- 
ing the past. 

In granting the township of Perrystown, as they 
did in every town they granted, the Masonians cer- 


tainly did something towards establishing the char- 
acter of its future inhabitants as an enlightened 
and Christian community, by stipuLating that one 
right should be set apart for support of schools and 
one for the support of the ministry, as well as the 
free gift of another right to the first settled minis- 
ter in town. This was done at the drawing of the 
rights, but no stipulation was made regarding the 
estahlishing of schools, and so the Sutton proprie- 
tors, having managed to evade the burden of sup- 
porting schools till they had sold most of their 
lands, left it to the settlers themselves to educate 
their own children. It is probable that most of 
them learned to read and write from their parents. 
In a very few years private subscription and indi- 
vidual and associated effort accomplished some- 
thing towards schools, which were "kept" in apart- 
ments in private houses before any school-house was 
built. ^N'ot till 1786, two years after incorporation, 
did the town, in its corporate capacity, vote an appro- 
priation for school purposes. The amount was £12. 
In the schools kept in apartments of private 
houses, the seats were simply boards or plank rest- 
resting upon blocks of Avood, without backs or 
desks. The early school-houses were built very 
much alike through our part of the country. They 
had a square roof, the four corners meeting in a 
point at the top of the roof. The whole inside of 
the building was one room, except a small entry. 
Bench seats with desks occupied about two thirds 
of the floor space facing the immense fireplace, the 
master's desk and seat elevated a little so that he 
could easily survey his kingdom. 


]N^o school-books worthy of bemg called such 
were m use before the issue of Caleb Bingham's 
works, and consequently, meeting so well the gen- 
eral wants as they did, there was an immense call 
for them. In all 1,250,000 copies were issued. 
" The Young Lady's Accidence " passed through 
twenty editions, making, as before stated, 100,000 
copies. Rev. Caleb Bingham was a native of Con- 
necticut, born in 1757, graduated at Dartmouth 
college 1782. 

In 1799 a geography by Rev. Jedediah Morse 
was much used as a reading-book. The writer 
remembers to have seen a copy of a very old-look- 
ing book which was anciently in use, entitled " The 
Art of Reading," which was, however, adapted to 
the use of only the highest classes in school, if 
indeed to any, being certainly above the compre- 
hension of all below them. 

The English Reader and the Historical Reader 
were in use during a more modern era till supple- 
mented by " Porter's Analysis " and " Porter's 
Riietorical Reader," about 1810. 

Cummings's " School Geography, Ancient and 
Modern," began to be used about 1820. The 
author was Jacob A. Cunnnings, a native of Hollis, 
and a graduate of Harvard in 1801. Olney's Geog- 
raphy was introduced about 1830 ; also, about the 
same time, Peter Parley's Geography for children. 

Mrs. eFonathan Harvey, who was a daughter of 
Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., many years ago related 
to the writer the following facts : 

The first school in their district (south part of the town) was kept 
in her father's chamber. It was taught by Master Garvin, perhaps 


from Lenipster or Dunbarton. The school took in all grades and 
ages, from little children to young men fitting for college. Mat- 
thew Harvey, afterwards Gov. Harvey, attended that winter, he 
being then sixteen years of age. The next winter the South 
school-house was in existence, and Master Garvin taught there. 

Mrs. John Harvey, a daughter of Deacon Joseph 
Greeley, gave the following items: 

I first attended school in a school-house when I was nine years 
old, wliich was in 1797. Before that time the schools were kept in 
private houses. We used Dilworth's SpeUing-Book, and the best 
readers read in Morse's Geography once a day, and the teacher 
questioned them after reading. 

Another authority, Theresa Harvey, who some 
years before her death, in 1873, prepared a paper 
for this work on the early schools of Sutton, says, — 

I know something about what books were used in school at a 
period a little later than that early day, having often seen them in 
the old homes where I have visited. Webster's Spelling-Book had 
been introduced, Alexander's Grammar, Pike's Arithmetic, and 
Perry's Dictionary. For reading-books, prior to the days of the 
English Reader, there was "The American Preceptor" and 
" Morse's Geography," also " The Third Part," though of what or 
whom it bore that proportion I do not know. 

The paper goes on to state 

some facts related by Ezekiel Davis and Isaac Mastin concern- 
ing Master Hogg, one of the earliest school-masters, if not the very 
earliest, in Sutton and several of the neighboring towns. He was 
a Scotchman by birth and education, and was very severe upon 
offenders against his i-ules in school. A f avoi"ite form of discipline 
with him was what he termed " horseing " the offenders, the pro- 
cess being as follows : As fast as transgressions occurred during 
school hours he would call out the transgi-essors, and keejj them 
-standing in the floor tiU he had the good fortune to secure thi'ee, 
the requisite number, and then the circus began. The first offender 


was made to get down on all fours, the second must mount his 
back, and the third must whip them around the room ; then they 
changed positions till each boy had his turn at whipjjing once and 
being whipped twice. 

Master Hogg kept his school in a barn on the " old Gile place," 
and subsequently in the house of Jacob Davis, nearly on the west 
shore of Gile's pond. His stock of books consisted of a Dilworth's 
Spelling-book, a Bible, and an old Catechism. Arithmetic he 
taught verbally, and demonstrated it by the use of the fingers, ker- 
nels of corn, and a piece of chalk. 

But if the teachers had few books, the scholars had fewer — none, 
in fact, unless, as a special indulgence, they were permitted to use 
the family Bible or rude Psalm-book of that day in the exercises of 
the school. A stray leaf from an old volmne, or even a piece of a 
torn newspaper, often did duty in lieu of school-books. 

The following recei23t indicates the wages Master 
Hogg received for his services, as well as the date 
at which he operated here. Moses Hazen, Esq.,. 
furnished the copy of this curiosity : 

March 21, 1T92. 
Then my son Robert Hogg, received seventeen bushels of Rie 
from Simon Kezar of Sutton which was due to me for teaching 
schooling two months in Sutton. 


Per me, Robert Hogg. 

A school-ma'am's receipt. 

Methuen Feb. 1, 1791. 
Received of Jacob Mastin and Hezekiah Parker, six bushels of 
Rye, it being in full for my keej^ing school for them and others last 
fall six weeks. 

Lydia Parker. 

These two receipts indicate the difference then 
made in the pay of male and female teachers. 
Mistress Parker must content herself with one 
bushel of rye per week, while Master Hogg re- 
ceives two bushels and four quarts for the same 


time, and, to judge from the receipt above quoted, 
as compared with that of Master Hogg-, her ac- 
quirements were fully equal to his. The difference 
was due in great measure to the fact that women 
at that day received but a trifle compared to the 
pay of men for any kind of labor. Besides, it is 
not probable that Mistress Parker could equal 
Master Hogg as an ingenious disciplinarian, not to 
say a severe one. 

Sometimes female teachers mana2:ed to earn 
something above their school wages by spinning, 
between schools, for the flimily with whom they 
boarded, increasing their income by perhaps fifty 
cents a week. 

Master Hogg was an early inhabitant of Dunbar- 
ton, was much esteemed there as a teacher and a 
citizen, and was chosen chairman of the board of 
selectmen at the first meeting held under the char- 
ter in 1765. His descendants were numerous and 
influential. Most of them by leave of the legisla- 
ture took another name : some chose the name of 
Kaymond, some Tennant. He lived to be over 70 
years of age. 

Besides Sutton and Dunbarton, we learn that 
Master Hogg exercised his vocation in IsTewport, 
Fishersfield, and several other places. In all of 
these schools, according to common testimony, his 
discipline was so severe as to cause his pupils to 
realize that knowledge is indeed bought with suf- 
fering, and almost forcing each one of them to 
believe that the cautionary threat concerning the 
" tree of knowledge " used towards the dwellers in 
Eden — " In the day that thou eatest thereof thou 


shalt surely die " — was about to be literally fulfilled 
in his own experience. 

In the warrant for town-meeting, September 17, 
1801, is the folloAving article: 

To see if the town will agree upon some better method to provide 
school masters than has been presented heretofore. 

Prior to the above date it appears, from some old 
papers examined, that each district provided its 
own school-master. At this time it seems that 
some persons began to have a conviction that a 
more concerted action by the districts, or by the 
town, would ensure better teachers. 

Another school-master in Sutton was one ]Sra- 
thaniel Dow, as the following certificate will show: 

Sutton, Feb. 27, 1795. ) 

y This may satisfy the Selectmen of Sut- 
ton that Daniel Messer boarded me one month while I was keeping 

Nathaniel Dow. 

The first female school-teacher in Sutton was 
Olive Whitcoinb. She afterwards became the wife 
of George Walker. She taught school in Deacon 
Asa IS^elson's barn about the year 1788. 

Some teachers who are still remembered as hav- 
ing labored here during the first quarter of the 
present century were Benjamin Colby, Esq., late 
of Springfield, Deacon Benjamin Fowler, late of 
Orange, Hon. Jonathan Harvey, Col. Philip S. 
Harvey, Rev. Stephen Pillsbury, late of Deny, 
Capt. John Pillsbury, later of Sutton, Judge Moses 
S. Harvey, late of Painesville, Ohio, Hon. Charles 
Hudson, late member of congress from Massachu- 


Deacon Benjamin Fowler (named above) tanglit 
one term, and perhaps more, in a room in the honse 
of Samuel Bean, an early settler. 

Among those in this town who have been emi- 
nent in the canse of education are the followins:: 

Thomas Wadleigh Harvey, son of Moses S. Harvey, who emi- 
grated from Sutton to Painesville, Ohio, was for several years 
superintendent of schools for the state of Ohio. 

Lydia Wadleigh, daughter of Judge Benjamin Wadleigh, eminent 
as a teacher during many years of her life, held the position of 
superintendent of the Female Normal college in New York city for 
more than fifteen years. 

Gen. John Eaton was for some time superintendent of education 
in Tennessee, and subsequently received from Gen. Grant the 
appointment of superintendent of the National Board of Education, 
which position he held for a long term of years. He is now presi- 
dent of Marietta college. 

Adelaide Lane Smiley, daughter of Dr. James R. Smiley, and 
granddaughter of Dr. Robert Lane, has been at different periods 
and for many years the honored lady principal of Colby academy 
at New London. 

William Taylor, a Baptist clergyman, and son of Capt. James 
Taylor, of Sutton, was largely instrumental in the establishment of 
the New Hampton Baptist Institution, and later of a similar insti- 
tution in Michigan. 

The right of land reserved by the pro^Jrietors for 
school purposes, according to a stipulation in their 
grant of the town, was sold under the direction of 
the town, and the proceeds of the sale constitute the 
original school fund. For many years after the 
settlement of the town men-teachers' wages were 
from six to eight dollars per month, besides their 
board, which in most cases was given in by the 
families, each one giving according to the number 
of scholars sent, the teacher " boardiug around " 


amongst them. Female teachers received from 
fifty cents to one dollar per week. 

The catechism spoken of as being nsed in the 
schools was the " Shorter Catechism of the West- 
minster Assembly of Divines," and was found in 
the 'New England Primer. It was also used in 
families to some extent. 

Slntgixg-School . 

Capt. Matthew Buell, of Newport, taught sing- 
ing-schools in Sutton many years, about the close of 
the last century and afterwards. He used to teach 
three afternoons and three evenings in a week 
while the term continued, one day at Matthew Har- 
vey's tavern, one day at Enoch Page's tavern, and 
one day at Caleb Kimball's tavern. 

His schools became one of the greatest social 
institutions of the winter season, and were looked 
forward to with much interest at a period when 
young people in Sutton were so numerous that 
some school-districts, which are now so much re- 
duced as to be merged into others, then numbered 
one hundred scholars every winter. 

The recess between the afternoon and evening 
schools afforded a fine opportunity for the young 
men to display their gallantry to the girls, by treat- 
ing them to a supper of such good things as the 
tavern afforded. " On one occasion," says our 
informant, " Capt. BuelFs INTewport school, by 
special invitation, came down to visit the Sutton 
school, had a supper together, and a fine entertain- 
ment every Avay." 


Capt. Bnell was eminent as a singing-master, 
made mnsic a sort of profession, and tanght in a 
large circle of neighboring towns ; was a native of 
Somers, Conn., born in 1758; was a Revolutionary 
soldier, and lived to a great age. 

On the occasion of one of his trips to Sutton he 
rescued a little girl from death by freezing. The 
mention of the circumstances attending it will not 
be out of place here, illustrating as they do the 
customs of the times and the friendly care that 
people then had for each other. The little girl's 
father lived some two or three miles from the South 
school-house, and he hired the child boarded near 
the school, and used to go every Saturday after- 
noon with horse and sleigh to bring her home. 
One day, however, feeling a little homesick, she 
would not wait for him, but set out for home 
directly from school. It was very cold. A furious 
snow-storm came on; she became chilled, bewil- 
dered, and sleepy, and sank down in the snow in a 
stupor, from which she would never have aroused 
but for Capt. Buell. It happened that he boarded 
at the same place and had there met the child. 
Coming into the house and not seeing her, he 
learned upon inquiry that she was attempting to 
reach home on foot and alone that bitter cold day. 
" She will never, never reach home alive," he said, 
and immediately set out on horseback to try and 
find her, looking carefully on both sides of the 
road as he went along, and finding her at last 
buried in snow and totally insensible. Lifting her 
to the horse's back beside him, he held her fast, and 
rode as rapidly as possible to the first house on the 


'way, which was Micajah Pillsbury's, shouted at then' 
door for help, and when they came out in instant 
response to his call, gave the child to their care, 
and rode on to summon her parents. Mrs. Pills- 
hury undressed the little girl, put her in a warm 
•bed, and with much friction, and, as soon as she 
could make her swallow, with stimulants succeeded 
in bringing her back to life; and after some time 
she awoke from that stupor to see her mother shed- 
ding tears of joy and thankfulness over the child 
w^ho seemed dead and was alive again, who Avas 
lost and was found. 

At a later period Dea. Josiah Nichols for many 
years led the singing in church, and taught several 
terms of singing-school. 

Daniel Whitcomb, a resident in Sutton, Avas 
gifted with a splendid voice, and Avas for some 
years a teacher of singing-schools in Sutton and 

Sunday-schools Avere first attempted previous to 
1830, largely through the influence of Mrs. Mehita- 
ble Carr. She was a poAver in the Baptist church. 
She took a Baptist magazine, and kept up Avith the 

Anthony, or Tony Clark, as he Avas commonly 
called, taught dancing at an early period, and later 
Henry Carleton was considered a fine teacher of 



1844, 1845. Joseph Sargent, Erastus Wadleigh, Jolmson Colby. 

1846. Erastus Wadleigli, John C. Dresser. 

1847. Jolmson Colby, Moses Hazen, Samuel Dresser, Jr. 

1848. Moses Hazen, Robert Stinson, Charles Newhall. 

1849. Moses Hazen, Charles Newhall, Jacob S. Harvey. 

1850. Charles Newhall, Charles A. Fowler, Joseph Jolmson. 

1851. Charles Newhall, Josej)h Johnson, Reuel Noyes. 

1852. Joseph Johnson. 

1853. Charles A. Fowler. 

1854. Erastus Wadleigh. 

1855. .James R. Smiley. 
1856-'58. Erastus Wadleigh. 

1859. Benjamin Johnson, Moses W. Russell. 

1860. Charles A. Fowler, Moses W. Russell, Howard Jolmson 

1861. 1862. Charles A. Fowler. 

1863. Alfred Harvey, resigned, and Charles A. Fowler, appointed. 

1864. Charles A. Fowler. 

1865. Moses W. Russell. 

1866. Moses W. Russell, Henry S. Kimball. 

1867. 1868. Henry S. KimbaU. 


1866. Dr. Moses W. Russell. 
1867-71. Rev. Henry M. Kimball. 

1872. Reuben B. Porter. 

1873. Edwin Smith. 

1874, 1875. Charles A. Fowler. 

1876. Reuben B. Porter. 

1877, 1878. Charles A. Fowler. 
1879-'81. .Joseph .Johnson. 
1882— '84. Benjamin Jolmson. 
1885-'87. Cyrus H. Little. 

1888. School Board, Benjamin Johnson, Cyrus H. Little, Chas. 
A. Fowler. 

1889. School Board, Chas. A. Fowler, John Pressey, Selin M. 
Welch, M. D. 



1814. John Pillsbury, Jonathan Harvey, Asa Nelson. 

1815. Jonathan Harvey, Isaac Bailey, John Pillsbuiy. 

1816. Daniel Ober, John Pillsbury, Philip S. Harvey. 

1817. Moses S. Harvey, John Pillsbury, Jonathan Harvey. 

1818. Philip S. Harvey, Isaac Bailey. Benjamin Loverin. 


1819. Moses S. Harvey, Enoch Bailey, Benjamin Loverin. 


1820. Benjamin Loverin, Enoch Bailey, Moses S. Harvey. 

1821. Rev. Nathan Ames, Rev. Elijah Watson, Rev. William 
Dodge, Rev. Samuel Ambrose. 

Decrease in Dumber op Scholars and School- 

The decrease in the number of scholars has of 
course kept pace Avith the decrease in the popula- 
tion of the town. The report of the school com- 
mittee, for the year ending March 1, 1888, says, — 

In 1858, thirty years ago, there were 479 scholars in town. 
These were divided into fourteen schools, averaging thirty-foui' 
scholars to a school. To-day there are less than one third of that 
number of scholars, with an average of twenty-two scholars to a 
school. The number of children in town between the ages of five 
and fifteen, by the selectmen's enmneration in April, 1887, was 
128, seventy-three being boys and fifty-five girls. 

Under these circumstances, would it be advisable to maintain the 
same nmiiber of schools as formerly ? 

The number of schools has been reduced to seven. We planned 
to have each school thirty weeks in length for the year, but the 
winter terms in two of the smaller schools were closed earlier on 
account of unfavorable weather and travelling. 

The report says further, — 


All the teachers employed, except one, are residents of this town. 
All have done well and labored hard for the success of the work. 
We are proud of the fact that we have in town several sujierior 
teachers, who have long been connected with our schools. 

The school board signing this report are Ben- 
jamin Johnson, Cyrus H. Little, and Charles A. 
Fowler. In answer to a letter asldng information 
concerning the new system and its workings, Mr. 
Little writes, under date of Dec. 5, 1888, — 

At the session of the N. H. legislature in 1885, the district sys- 
tem of schools was abolished, and the town system, so called, was 
ado23ted, with the understanding that, at the close of five years, 
those towns that preferred to do so could again adopt the district 

Under the town system each town constitutes a district, and the 
schools are managed by a school board of three members, chosen by 
the district. The members serve three years, and one member is 
elected each year. 

The duties of the board are the same as those of the former super- 
intending and prudential committees combined. They can estab- 
lish schools wherever, in their judgment, the interests of the cause 
of education demand. At this time we have eight schools. Where 
scholars live a long distance from school, we hire teams to carry 
them a portion of the way. 

In my opinion the town system is much to be preferred. There 
was some opposition to it in this town at first, but I think the people 
at this present time are well satisfied with our schools as they are 
now managed. 


The first permanent division of the town of Sut- 
ton into school-districts was made in 1808, in pur- 
suance of the new law requiring such divisions. 

Five of these districts, however, already existed, 
havino: been laid out according to the convenience 


544 HISTORY or suttok^. 

of the people residing therein, and their limits were 
not materially changed by the action of the com- 

District No. 1 was to include the south-west part of the town. 
The school-house was erected near Capt. Aaron Russell's. In this 
district lived Samuel Peaslee. Mr. Stevens, Mr. Blaisdell, Joseph 
and Jonathan Johnson, Thomas and Moses Wadleigh, Joseph 
Greeley, and others. This was first laid out previous to 1797. 

District No. 2 included the central part of the town north of No. 
1. The school-house was at the North Village, where it now stands. 
The district embraced what has since been No. 2, No. 6, and No. 
7. Among the early inhabitants of this district were Daniel Messer, 
Ephraim Gile, Benjamin Wadleigh, Matthew Harvey, Jacob Mas- 
tin, Jacob and Jonathan Davis, and others. The school-house was 
originally located near Gile pond, — a small affair, however. On 
the town records for 1803 is found the following: vote : 

'■'■ Voted, To class school-district where widow of Matthew Harvey 
lives with district where Daniel Messer lives, jirovided the inhabi- 
tants will provide themselves with a good school-house." 

In pursuance of this plan, the school-house was moved to the 
North village, and, being insufficient for the wants of the now 
enlarged district, was purchased by John Harvey, father of Dea. 
Joseph Harvey, who used it for the L part of his own residence, or 
else for his carpenter-shop, and built the school-house where it now 
stands, near the pond. 

District No. 3 included the south-east part of the town, and was 
first laid out about 1797. The school-house was on Kimball hiU, 
near Caleb Kimball's. The district included what has since been 
Nos. 3, 8, 10, and part of No. 14. Herein lived David Peaslee, 
Peter Peaslee, Dudley Kendrick, Samuel, Jonathan, and Ichabod 

District No. 4 included also what has since been Nos. 12 and 13. 
It embraced Mill Village and was north of No. 1, extending to 
Newbury town line. Herein lived Moses Quimby, Daniel Andrew, 
Asa and Philip Nelson, and William Pressey. The school-house 
was at Brocklebank Corner, about a mile west of Mill Village, and 
one half mile east of Newbury town line. This district was laid 
out in 1804. 

District No. 5 embraced the north-west part of the town. King's 

SCHOOLS. 545>' 

"hill was in the central part of it. The school-house was a little' 
east of William Bean's. Among the early inhabitants of this dis-- 
trict were William Bean, Jacob Bean, Jesse Fellows, John Kingy 
Joseph Chadwick, Joseph Morgan, Amos Pressey, Samuel Kezar. 
Laid out previous to 1797. 

District No. 6, laid out by the committee in 1808, embraced the 
north-east portion of the town, and included eight of the lord pro- 
prietors' lots. The school-house was erected near the residence of 
Edmund Richardson. 

District No. 7, Brick Union, was laid out in 1818. 

District No. 8, the Gore, was laid out in 1816. 

District No. 9, the South, was laid out in 1820. 

District No. 10, the Kendrick, was laid out in 1823. 

District No. 11, North-West (Todd's), was laid out in 1823. 

The original report of the committee appointed 
to hiy out and define the limits thereof of the 
school-districts in Sntton in 1808 is before the 
writer at this time, and is in fair preservation. It 
is in the handwriting of Jonathan Harvey. The 
report was accepted by the town : 

Report of the Committee appointed to lay out and define the limits 
thereof of the school-districts in the town of Sutton : 

Your Committee are of opinion that it will be most convenient 
for said town that the School Districts be divided in the following 
manner, namely, — 

Beginning at the South line of said town of Sutton and running 
northward on Fishersfield town line to the south-west corner bound 
of Lot No. 82, in the 1st Division of Lots in said Sutton, from 
thence westward on the range line between Lots Nos. 62 and 81, in 
1st Div., half across said Lots, from thence northward on a parallel 
line with said lot to the north line of said Lot No. 62, so as to take 
one haK thereof, from thence eastward on a line between No. 39, 
1st Div., on to the South-east Corner bound of Lot No. 33, 1st Div., 
from thence northward on the range line between Lots Nos. 31 and 
33, 1st Div., to the South-east corner bound of Lot No. 34, 1st Div., 
from thence eastward on the range line between Lots Nos. 31 and 
32, 1st Div., to the south-west corner bound of Lot. No. 23, 1st Div., 


from thence southward on the range line between Lots Nos. 24 and 
26, 1st D., and so on a straight line to the South line of said Sutton 
adjoining on the town of Warner, from thence westward on Warner 
town line to the first mentioned bound, including all the lands 
therein, and all the inhabitants therein, to make one School-District, 
and to be known hereafter by the name of School No. One, in the 
town of Sutton. 

Second. — Beginning at the north-east corner bound of Lot No. 
33, in the 2nd Div., from thence running southward on the west 
line of the Lord Proprietors' range of Lots in said Sutton to the 
north-west corner bound of Lot No. 10 in the said Lord Proj)rietors' 
range, from thence eastward on the range line between Lots Nos. 
10 and 11 in said range to the east line of said Sutton adjoining 
Kyarsarge Gore, from thence southward on said town line to the 
south-east corner bound of Lot No. 9 in said range, from thence 
westward on the range line between Lots Nos. 8 and 9 in said range 
to the south-west corner bound of said Lot No. 9. From thence 
northward on the west line of said No. 9 until it intersects the line 
that runs between Lots Nos. 23 and 24, 1st Div., from thence west- 
ward on said line to the south-east corner bound of Lot No. 34, 1st 
Div., from thence northward on the range line between Lots Nos. 32 
and 34 1st Div., to the north line of the Mill Lot, so called, bearing 
on said Mill Lot so as to iriclude James Harvey and Henry Carle- 
ton with the lands therein, — from thence on said north line to the 
south-east corner bound of Lot No. 65, 1st Div., — from thence north- 
ward to the north-east corner bound of said No. 65, from thence 
eastward to the south-east corner bound of Lot No. 6, 2d Div., — 
from thence northward on the range line between Lots Nos. 5 and 6 
to the south-east corner bound of Lot No. 27, 2nd Div., from thence 
westward half way across Lot No. 27, 2nd Div., from thence north- 
ward on a parallel line so as to include the east half of said No. 27, 
to the north line of said Lot, from thence eastward to the north- 
east corner bound of said Lot No. 27, — from thence northwai'd on 
the range line between Lots Nos. 37 and 38 in 2d Div., to the town 
line adjoining New London, from thence eastward on the said line 
to the first mentioned bound. 

To contain all the land therein, and all the inhabitants thereon, 
and constitute a school district and be known hereafter by the name 
of school district No. 2 (TwoJ in Sutton. 

Third, — That all the lands in said Sutton east of said district No. 


one, and south of said district No. 2, and the inhabitants thereon 
constitute and make a school district and be known hereafter by the 
name of District No. 3 (three) in the town of Sutton. 

Fourth, — Beginning at the south-west corner bound of Lot No. 
82, 1st Div., and running eastward on the range line lialf across Lot 
No. 62 1st Div., from thence northward on a parallel line with the 
west line of said No. 62, to the north line of said Lot, from thence 
eastward on the range line between Lots Nos. 62 and 39, 1st Div., 
to the south-east corner bound of Lot No. 33, 1st Div., from thence 
northward on the range line between Lots Nos. 31 and 33, 1st Div., 
to the north-east corner bound of Lot No. 34, 1st Div., from thence 
bearing westward on the Mill Lot to the north line thereof, from 
thence to the south-west corner bound of Lot No. 65, 1st Div., from 
thence to the north-east corner bound thei'eof, — from thence west- 
ward to the south-east corner bound of Lot No. 7, 2nd Div., from 
thence on said No. 7 so as to include fifty acres on the south side of 
the Lot, — thence from the south-west corner bound of said No. 7 on 
the range line between Lots No. 63, 1st Div., and No. 8, 2nd Div., 
to the south-west corner bound of said No. 8 on Fishersfield town 
line, thence from on said Fishersfield line to the first mentioned 
bound. To contain all the inhabitants thereon and all the lands 
therein, and constitute and make a school district, and be known 
hereafter by the name of school district No. Four in Sutton. 

Fifth, — The Lots No. 6, and No. 7, after leaving 50 acres on the 
south side thereof to District No. 6. 

Nos. 8— 9— 10— 11— 22— 23— 24— 25— 26— and half of Lot No. 
27, on the west side thereof, 38 — 39 and 40, in the 2nd Div., to 
include all the lands therein, and all the inhabitants thereon, and 
make a school district, and be known hereafter, by the name of 
school district No. 5. 

Sixth,— The Lots Nos. 11—12—13—14—15—16—17 and 18 in 
Lord Proprietors' range of Lots, containing all the lands therein 
mentioned, and all the inhabitants thereon, to constitute and make 
a school district and be known hereafter by the name of School 
District No. 6, in Sutton. 

Jonathan Harvey ) 
Joseph Greeley >- Com. 
John Pressey ' 
Sutton, Feb. 24, 1808. 



School Teachers. 

The following list is collected from memory. It 
is doubtless incomplete, but is believed to be cor- 
rect as far as it goes. Most, but not all, of these 
persons were natives or residents of this town. 

Flora P. Adams, 
Henry Adams, 
Samuel Ambrose, 
Nathaniel Ambrose, 
Elizabeth Ambrose, 
Anne Sophia Ambrose, 
James G. Andrews, 
Samuel Andrews, 
Mary D. Andrews, 
Hannah Andrews, 
George Andrews, 
Horace E. Andrews, 
Betsey Jane Andrews, 
Lucy Jane Andrews, 
Lizzie B. Andrews, 
Annette Andrews, 
Emery Bailey, 
Lawrence D. Bailey, 
Lydia M. Bailey, 
Mary Ellen Bailey, 
Ida F. Barnard, 
Hannah A. Barnard, 
Abbie J. Blodgett, 
James M. Bean, 
Lucas P. Bean, 
Ellen F. Brown, 
Lizzie Brown, 
Mary A. Brown, 
Grace A. Brown, 
Jonathan J. Blaisdell, 
Joseph Carleton, 
Mary Chadwick, 
Lizzie B. Chadwick, 

Nathaniel Cheney, 3d, 
Edwin L. Cheney, 
Minerva A. Cheney, 
Elsie L. Cheney, 
Frank T. Cheney, 
Sarah A. Cheney, 
Frank Chase, 
Jolmson Colby, 
Jennie B. Colby, 
Hattie B. Colby, 
Carrie Cooper, 
Susie E. Coburn, 
Abbie A. Cressey, 
Samuel Dresser, 
Aaron Dresser, 
Joseph Dresser, 
John C. Dresser, 
Mary Dresser, 
Joanna Dresser, 
Ida Dresser, 
John Eaton, 
Frederic Eaton, 
Charles Eaton, 
Caroline Eaton, 
Nathaniel Eaton, Jr., 
Cynthia Eaton, 
Lucretia Eaton, 
EUen M. Eaton, 
Leonard Eaton, 
Hattie Elliott, 
Phebe M. Fellows, 
Sarah J. Felch (Baker), 
S. Jennie Fisk, 



Levi Fowler, 
Charles A. Fowler, 
Lydia Fowler, 
Jennie F. French, 
Sally Greeley, 
Mary Gross, 
Orison Gile, 
Moses Hazen, 
Emily R. Hazen, 
M. Amanda Hazen, 
Nancy W. Hazen, 
George H. Hubbard, 
Jonathan Harvey, 
Pliilip Harvey, 
John Harvey, 
Joseph Harvey, 
Frederick R. Harvey, 
Alfred C. Harvey, 
Maroa C. Harvey, 
Lydia A. Harvey, 
Mary Ann Harvey, 
Theresa Harvey, 
Augusta Harvey, 
Lydia H. Huntoon, 
Sarah F. Huntoon, 
John Hill, 
Polly Johnson, 
Hannah Johnson, 
Sarah Johnson, 
Lydia Johnson, 
Howard Johnson, 
James H. Johnson, 
Joseph Johnson, 
Benjamin Johnson, 
Mary J. Johnson, 
Lucinda F. Johnson, 
Augusta O. B. Johnson, 
Jeremiah P. Jones, 
Emogene Kesar, 
Carrie Kesar, 

Hattie Kesar, 
Antoinette Knight, 
Nathaniel W. Knowlton, 
Mary Lane, 
Adelaide Lane, 
Cyrus H. Little, 
Lena E. Little, 
Lucy Martin, 
Clara Morse, 
Almira Morgan, 
Rosanna Morrill, 
Whittier P. Mastin, 
Ephraim Mastin, 
Amanda Messer, 
Jennie J. Morse, 

Reuel Noyes, 

Jonathan H. Nelson, 

Inez D. Nelson, 

Nettie J. Nelson, 

Belinda E. Nelson, 

Sarah B. Nelson, 

Georgie A. Nelson, 
Jennie Nelson, 

Rosina Ogilvie, 

Simon Pillsbury, 

Stephen Pillsbury, 

John Pillsbury, 

Dolly Pillsbury, 

Sarah Pillsbury, 

Amanda Pillsbury, 

Joseph Pillsbmy, Jr., 

William Porter, 

Mary Porter, 

Benjamin E. Porter, 

Reuben B. Porter, 

Harriet Porter, 

Henrietta Porter, 

William Pressey, 

Carlos G. Pressey, 

John Pressey, 



Betsey Jane Pressey, 
"Walter Preston, 
Abbie A. Peaslee, 
Sarah W. Peaslee, 
Caroline M. Phelps, 
Asa Page, 
Enoch Page, 
Josephine Page, 
Polly Page, 
Lydia Page, 
Moses W. RusseU, 
Joseph W. Russell, 
Mary Russell, 
James Russell, 
Grace A. Russell, 
Frank A. Robbins, 
Martha Robertson, 
Francis M. Richards, 
Henry A. Rowell, 
Betsey A. Roby, 
Eva B. Roby, 
Mehitabel Rogers, 
Adelaide Smiley, 
Pamelia Smiley, 
Fanny Smiley, 
Susan E. Smiley, 
Eliza Ann Sanborn, 
Elmer Sawyer, 
Henry D. Stevens, 
William M. Stevens, 
Moses Wadleigh, 
John D. Wadleigh, 

Benjamin E. Wadleigh, 
Thomas J. Wadleigh, 
Ruth Wadleigh, 
Miriam Wadleigh, 
Elizabeth Wadleigh, 
Polly Wadleigh, 
Sarah Wadleigh, 
Mehitabel Wadleigh, 
Susannah Wadleigh, 
Martha Wadleigh, 
Eliphalet Wadleigh, 
Luther Wadleigh, 
Erastus Wadleigh, 
Milton Wadleigh, 
Benjamin Wadleigh, 
Gilbert Wadleigh, 
Hannah Wadleigh, 
Julia A. Wadleigh, 
Lydia Wadleigh, 
Jonathan Wheeler, 
Hosea Wheeler, 
Leonard H. Wheeler, 
Mary F. Wheeler, 
Emma Wheeler, 
Mary E. Williams, 
Caroline P. Watson, 
Cordelia Withes, 
Augusta S. Watson, 
Meribah A. Wells, 
NeUie E. WeUs, 
Minnie Wells. 

Some who Have Taught Higher Schools. 

Lydia F. Wadleigh. 
Gen. John Eaton. 
Mary D. Andrews. 
James G. Andrews. 
Horace E. Andrews, 


James M. Bean. 

Adelaide Smiley, and the other daughters of Dr. Smiley. 

James H. Johnson. 

Gilbert Wadleigh. 

College Graduates. 

Matthew Harvey, Dartmouth. 1806. 

Nathaniel Eaton, Jr., Bowdoin. 

Leonard Eaton, Dartmouth. 

Horace Eaton, Dartmouth. July 25, 1839. 

Jacob Eaton. 

(Gen.) John Eaton. 

Gilbert Wadleigh. 

Solon Armstrong, Wesleyan Univ., Middletown, Conn. 1856. 

James G. Andrews. 

Horace E. Andrews, Dartmouth. 

Jamss M. Bean, Pennsylvania Univ., Philadelpliia. 

Moses W. Russell, Dartmouth. 

Orison L. Gile. 

James H. Johnson, Bates. 1888. 

Elmer Sawyer, Bates. 1888. 

Joseph W. Russell, Dartmouth. 

The following poem was written by Matthew 
Harvey, of ISTewport, and addressed to Anthony S. 
Gile, of Lempster, a few years prior to the death of 
the former. Both were natives of ]^f^orth Sutton, 
and school-mates in the ISTorth Village school- 
house. The verses are here introduced as giving a 
faithful picture of school life at the date and local- 
ity named. 


Just now, friend Anth, my query is, 

" To whom shall I indite 
The thoughts that in my bosom burn 

With fervent fire to-night?" 

552 History of suttox. 

Why, you, of course ; for you and I 

Alone, for aught I know, 
Are all that 's left who classmates were 

Some fifty years ago. 

I 've wandered back to Sutton, Anth, 

Where you and I were born, — 
You, they say, of a bright spring day, 

And I one winter's morn ; 
But none I found to greet me, Anth, 

Whose hands with mine did row 
Our boat across old Kezar pond 

Full fifty years ago. 

The waves were splashing at the shore — 

Their music just the same 
As when we strolled with shot-guns 

Along these shores for game ; 
And frogs were singing merrily, 

Some high, some wond'rous low. 
The same old song their grandsires sang 

Some fifty years ago. 

The frogs, you see, did welcome me. 

So did the whippoorwill — 
The fi'Ogs in chorus from their bog. 

The bird from Porter hill ; 
And then chimed in the screech-owl. 

With night-hawk, thrush, and crow, 
Because I knew their ancestors 

Some fifty years ago. 

And then, friend Anth, I fancied 

Myself a boy once more. 
And swam way round to " rocky point," 

As oft I 'd swam of yore. 
And plunged and paddled like a duck 

Where fragrant lilies gTOw 
Just as their lovely sisters bloomed 

Full fifty years ago. 


The saplings to large trees had grown, — 

And I a little older ; 
And that 's the reason, I suppose, 

The water was some colder ; 
The blood is cooling in our veins, 

The winds more frigid blow 
Than those that fan'd our " diving-place" 

Some fifty years ago. 

Then to the village common, Anth, 

My willing feet did stray, 
And there came back my youth again. 

To see the boys at play. 
As one, perchance, might catch the ball 

Another boy did throw, 
Where you and I had done the same 

Full fifty years ago. 

And now our quaint old school-house, Anth, 

I could n't pass, you see. 
While thinking of that ancient seat 

Long filled by you and me. 
Another seat now holds its place — 

One of more style and show 
Than that our Barlow jack-knives spoiled 

Some fifty years ago. 

Now, Anth, do you remember all 

The barefoot boys and girls — 
Some whose white hair was all unkempt. 

And some adorned with curls? 
With Mahaleth and Matilda 

(Both pretty girls we know), 
And few indeed could "spell 'em- down" 

Some fifty years ago. 

Our " master" we respected, some — 

But oft provoked his ire 
By "chewing gum" and burning punk 

When standing round the fire. 


E'en now I see his dander rise 

When shiv'ring, to and fro, 
With Adams' 'rithmetic in hand, 

Full fifty years ago. 

But when he 'd say, " The boys may g'wout,'* 

All g'wouted with a rush ; 
And should I tell what then was done, 

Dear Anth, we both might blush; 
But boys, they say, are leaving now 

(But leaving mighty slow!) 
The ruder sports of other boys 

Some fifty years ago. 

And,' now, do you remember, Anth, 

A black spot on the ivall 
That shows where was cremated, once, 

Poor Sally Jackson's shawl? 
Now that may pass for sample, Anth, 

Of mischief that did flow 
From crafty brains and nimble hands 

Some fifty years ago. 

At " spelling-schools" all strove to reach, 

By force of mental muscle. 
The point of young ambition's aim — 

The topmost of the tussle. 
But still, the last one chosen was 

The first to fall, and show 
How soon a dunce his level found. 

Some fifty years ago. 

" Kaleidoscope,' was hard to spell — 

But more could swallow "physic ;" 
With "sauerkraut" whole platoons fell, 

Then all came down with "phthisic." 
'T was then our Alma Mater did 

With light and beauty glow ; 
O ruby lips ! O tallow dips ! 

Of fifty years ago. 


Accept these backward glances, Anth, 

From eyes whose vision fades — 
Suggestive that our far-spent years 

Have reached their twilight shades; 
Each heart-throb beats an onward march 

In measur'd steps and slow, 
With all our fragrant memories 

Of fifty years ago. 

]n:atukal features of suttois^. 

Surface. — Sutton is a rocky, uneven township, 
on the height of land between the Merrimack and 
Connecticut rivers. Along Mill brook, from ISTew 
Xiondon to Kezar's pond, except where there are 
falls, are valuable meadow lands. From Kezar's 
pond to the falls above Mill Village is a large body 
■of meadow and plain land of even surface, and free 
from stone. From Mill Tillage to the falls below 
the South Village are valuable meadow lands, and 
also near Roby's Corner. On Stevens's brook are 
meadows and other natural mowing lands, valuable 
for the hay they produce. On Fowler's brook and 
its tributaries are productive intervale and meadow 

Sti^eams. — On the east side of the town is Ste- 
vens's brook, running southerly nearly half the 
length of the town, entering Warner river a little 
below Warner village. The main branch of War- 
ner river from Sutton rises in the north-west part of 
ISTew London, near Sunapee lake, passing through 
Harvey's and Minot's or Messer's ponds, and 
Kezar's mill-ponds, to Kezar's pond or lake ; thence 
by Mill Tillage and South Tillage to Roby's Cor- 
ner, where it joins Warner river. Most of the 
mills in town are on this stream. Jones's mill, the 
first made in town, was below the South Tillage. 


Qiiimby's mill was next made at Mill Yillag-e. 
Fowler's brook, a branch of the Blackwater, is in 
the north-east part of the town, where were for- 
merly Fowler's and Roby's saw-mills. A stream 
passes from Long pond to "Warner river, Avhere 
have been mills. 

Ponds. — Kezar's pond, a beautiful body of water, 
containing about two hundred acres, is in ]Srorth 
Sutton. Early settlers in the vicinity of this pond 
were Ebenezer Kezar and his son Simon, David 
Eaton, Matthew Harvey, Samuel Bean, Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Esq. 

Gile's pond is on a level with Kezar's pond, 
about half its size, and not far distant from it. 
Appearances indicate that they both at some time 
formed one body of water. Ephraim Gile, Jona- 
than Davis, and Daniel Messer early settled near 
Gile's pond. 

Billings's pond is in the south-west part of Sut- 
ton, also Russell's pond and Peasley's or Long 
j)ond, the latter being about a mile and a half loug. 
Isaac Peasley, Hezeldah Blaisdell, and Jouathan 
Johnson settled near it previous to this century. 
Russell's pond, near Capt. Aaron Russell's, con- 
tains but a few acres. There are other smaller 
ponds in town. 

Hills. — King's hill is about two thousand feet 
high, being the highest land in the town, the very 
topmost point of Sutton. A part of Kearsarge 
mountain lies within the limits of the town, but not 
its highest point, the town line crossing the moun- 
tain at an altitude lower than two thousand feet. 
Kezar lake or pond, as it is usually termed, is noted 


for the beautiful scenery around it. This lake lies 
west of I^sTorth Sutton village. Approaching King's 
hill from ]^orth Sutton, the excursionist passes 
Ivezarville, on the north end of the lake. Here is 
one of the most lovely and picturesque places in 
central Xew Hampshire, its natural beauties in- 
creased, its attractions added to many fold, through 
the artistic eye and liberal hand of Jonathan Har- 
vey Kezar, aided by his sons. These men are 
descendants, in the fourth and fifth generations, of 
Ebenezar Kezar, who early settled here, and from 
whom the lake takes its name. From Kezarville 
the base of King's hill is soon reached by a good 
carriage-road; thence by the Samuel Kezar and 
Benjamin Wells farms (anciently so called) to the 
old school-house of district a^o. 5 ; thence by Kezar's 
road to the granite ledge near the top of the hill. 
To accommodate the workers on the ledge, Mr. 
Kezar has here built a temporary house, which is 
on a level with the Winslow House on Kearsarge 
mountain. On the top of King's hill is a large 
rock of forty or fifty tons' weight resting on the 
ledge, but not a part of it, so evenly balanced as to 
be readily moved by the hand. From the top of 
this balance-rock, as it is termed, the rain that falls 
there may be conveyed to either the Merrimack or 
the Connecticut, it being on the height of land 
between the two rivers. From the top of the hill 
is an enchanting view of Kezar lake and Gile pond, 
and the pleasant village of ISTorth Sutton on the 
east, of Sunapee lake on the west, and the Sunapee 
Mountain range near by, with Ascutney and the 
Green Mountains in Vermont farther on in the 


west. On the north are the Grantham, Croydon, 
and Cardigan mountains, and also on the north 
and north-east are Bald, Ragged, and Kearsarge 
mountains. On the south are the Mink Hills in 
Warner, Lovewell's mountain in Washington, Mo- 
nadnock, and other mountains and hills. 

The western view from King's hill is better than 
that from Kearsarge, while in another direction may 
be seen in the distance the White Hills. On the 
north are Harvey's pond and Messer's pond, and the 
villages of Scytheville, Low Plains, and Wilmot 
Flat. King's hill contains an inexhaustible quarry 
of excellent granite, easily wrought and extensively 
used in this part of the country. Formerly, near 
the top, brick were made extensively, and here are 
numerous living springs of good water. 

King's hill was early settled by John King, 
William Bean, Amos Pressey, Moses Hills, Jo- 
seph and David Chadwick, and Hugh Jameson. 

In the vicinity of the entrance of the stream into 
Kezar's pond, and along the western shore, were 
found many Indian relics, among which were 
hearths of fire-places, skilfully made, arrows, gun- 
barrels, tomahawks, pestles and mortars, etc. There 
was also an Indian burial-ground where the orig- 
inal forest had been cleared. On the road passing- 
over the south-eastern portion of King's hill is a 
beautiful rivulet and cascade, running over solid 
rock, through a gorge or ravine and a primeval 

It will perhaps be a convenience to the reader if 
the following table of altitudes above mean tide- 
water at Boston be inserted here : 


Ascutney mountain, 3.186 feet. 

Kearsarge, 2,942 " 

Croydon, 2,789 " 

Siinapee, 2,683 " 

King's hiU, 2,000 " 

Snna])ee lake is eleven hundred and three feet 
above mean tide-water at Boston, and by a survey 
made in 1816 it was found to be more than eight 
hundred and twentv feet above Merrimack and 
Connecticut rivers. 

Fellows hill is a little north of King's hill, ad- 
joining N^ewbury town line ; first settled by Jesse 
Fellows and Ensign Jacob Bean. Burnt or Chel- 
lis hill is in the westerly part of the town, south of 
Mill Tillage and East of South Tillage. The early 
settlers in its vicinity were Lieut. Joseph Wad- 
leigh, Samuel Andrew, Thomas Wadleigh, Esq., 
Samuel Peaslee, and Leonard Colburn. 

Kimball hill is in the south-east part of the town, 
and was early settled by Caleb Kimball. The 
localitv is now known as Eaton Grano'e, beino: 
owned by the Eaton descendants of Caleb Kimball, 
one of the most remarkably honorable and justly 
successful families Sutton has ever produced. 

Birch hill is west of Kimball hill, and was the 
former residence of Ichabod Roby, James Roby, 
Jonathan Roby, and other early settlers. 

Meeting-House hill, north-east of the South 
meeting-house, is noted for the large quantity of 
plumbago found there. The surface of this hill is 
remarkably rough, steep, and uneven, which is a 
great hindrance to the obtaining of the plumbago. 

Easterly of this last hill is Peaslee or Dresser 
hill. The early settlers here were John Peaslee, 

:n^atural features. 561 

Ezra Jones and son Ezra, and Samuel Dresser^ 
Mr. Dresser and wife both died at great age, 
ninety-seven and ninety-five years, being with one 
exception the oldest couple who have died in town. 

]S"elson hill, on ]S^ewbury Ime, was early settled 
by Philip and Moses ]!^elson. 

Pound or Hildreth hill is in the centre of the 
town. Ephraim Hildreth and Jeremiah Davis were 
early settlers there. 

Davis or Wadleigh hill is where Milton B. Wad- 
leigh lives, and was early settled by Benjamin 
Wadleigh, Esq., Rev. Samuel Ambrose, Jacob and 
John Davis. 

Kearsarge hill extends more than half the length 
of the town, adjoining and embracing a part of 
Kearsarge mountain. The early settlers here were 
Hezekiah Parker, Jacob Mastin, George Walker, 
Jonathan Phelps, ISTathan Phelps, Aquilla Wilkins. 

Gile's hill was formerly owned by Captain Levi 
Gile. It was once a great impediment to team- 

Porter hill, for many years owned by Reuben 
Porter, Esq., is on the west side of Kezar's pond, 
and from it may be obtained a beautiful view of 
]N'orth Sutton and surrounding scenery. 

Oak hill, east of the ^North meeting-house, is a 
noble eminence, almost a mountain, and the views 
to be obtained by ascending it more than repay the 
difficulty of the steep ascent. 

Many more lofty elevations merit especial men- 
tion, but enough have been named to convince the 
reader that Sutton forms, a part of the central ridge 
of I^ew Hampshire. 



Kearsarge Mountain. — !N^o sketch of Sutton 
would be complete without some description of 
Kearsarge, since a large portion of the body and 
foot of this noted eminence lies within the town 
limits, though not its head and crown, King's hill, 
the highest land in town (two thousand feet), 
whose regal title chances to be so appropriate, 
being the only representative of royalty in which 
Sutton claims absolute proprietorship. JS^o munici- 
pal limitations, however, hold with regard to the 
landscape view of Kearsarge. From most of our 
hills, and from many points in the lowlands, can be 
obtained an unobstructed view of its whole magnifi- 
cent proportions. ISTo point of observation in Sut- 
ton, perhaps, is better than Harvey's hill, in the 
north part of the town. 

Both Kearsarge and Sunapee mountains show 
evidence of glacial action of the ice period, though 
in different ways. Sunapee, with its broad base 
and blunted cone, owns up to having lost its crown 
by the scraping of icebergs over it, while Kear- 
sarge, which yet holds its bare head nearly three 
hundred feet higher in the air than the Sunapee of 
this age, escaped with many scratches, its top being 
much scarred and striated. 

The highest part of Kearsarge is now bare rock, 
though it was once covered with soil which sup- 
ported a rather stunted growth of forest trees. In 
the early part of the present century a fire ran over 
it, burning not only the woods but the soil itself. 
Since that time its granite top, forever wind-swept, 
has been as bare of soil and vegetation as are the 
sea-shore rocks washed by daily tides. 


Slowly, slowly, in the long ages to come, by 
imperceptible accumulations, soil will gather again, 
and the forests that now cover the mountain-sides 
will creep timorously upward till the top of Kear- 
sarge shall be again a mass of waving woods. So 
much will the far remote future accomplish; but 
that, in past ages, the mountain has been sending 
down more of value than it has carried up, needs no 
better evidence than the fact that the lord proprie- 
tors, when they granted the charter of Perry stown, 
selected for their own eighteen reserved shares, the 
lands lying where they get the wash of the moun- 
tain. These lands have not yet lost their richness. 
They were often termed the lord proprietors' lots, 
and were all laid out one mile long and one hun- 
dred and thirty-five rods wide, containing two 
hundred and seventy acres. 

As to the question of j)i'iority of right to the 
name of Kearsarge, the question that caused some 
discussion between those who favor the Conway 
Kearsarge and those who favor the Merrimack 
county Kearsage, it would seem to be settled by 
the fact that, in the charter of Perrystown, the date 
of which was 1749, the tract of land is described as 
lying to the west of Kearsarge hill, while the claim 
of the Conway Kearsarge is of a recent date. 

Oeology of Sutton. — For the convenience of those 
readers who may not always have at hand Hitch- 
cock's " Geology of ^ew Hampshire," the follow- 
ing, descriptive of Sutton's geological characteris- 
tics, is here copied from that noble work: 

Sutton is nearly all underlaid by porphyritic gneiss. Near the 
north line, by C. A. Fowler's, the dip is 75° N. 45° W. The main 

564: HISTORY or suttoj^. 

road through the hamlets of North Sutton, Sutton Mills, and South 
Sutton abounds with porphyritic ledges. At the Mills the descent 
is considerable. Between Kezar and Gile ponds there is an exten- 
sive meadow, and also below Sutton IVlills. 

About South Sutton are steep, conical hills, — steepest on their 
south side, as seen from the north-east. At the head of Long pond is 
a mass of compact, flinty rock, dipping 80° N. 25° E., girt by the 
porphyritic rock on both sides. On Stevens's brook this rock begins 
at the town line, and for two miles the ledges are continuous. 

Sand obscures the ledges in the northern half of the town, on the 
road to Wilmot Flat, from Stevens's brook. It was siu'prising to 
us to find such a level road between Warner and Potter Place, 
thi'ough the Stevens's brook valley, in this mountainous region. 

Mes^eral Sprestg. 

The folloAving mention of what is now termed 
Davis's spring, from the fact that for many years 
Ezekiel Davis OAvned the meadow where it exists, 
is copied from an ancient number of the JF'armer^s 
Cabinet, dated Oct. 21, 1806. From this it appears 
that the virtues of this spring had not at that time 
long been known, at least to white men : 

A mineral spring has. lately been discovered in Sutton, which 
from its medicinal qualities promises to be of great utility. Many 
persons of respectability have drank of the water, and uniformly 
experienced very sensible effects. The taste is slightly alkaline, 
and the water appears to contain a considerable quantity of the sul- 
phuric and fixed air. 

Gentlemen who have visited Stafford springs the present season 
are decidedly of opinion that the use of this will be attended with 
similar success. It is situated in a pleasant, shady vale, the prop- 
erty of Lieut. Hutchins, which with little expense might be made 
an elegant place of retreat. The writer of this article is experi- 
mentally acquainted with the effect of the water in removing ob- 
structions in the stomach, and evacuating the redundant cholera. Its 
operation is both cathartic and emetic. 



The trees common to northern 'New Engl and 
are, or were origmally, found in Sntton — tlie hard 
woods on the hills and ridges, and the soft woods 
at home on either hill, plain, or valley. The ash, 
maple, beech, oak, and elm, also poplar, basswood, 
alder, hazel, the hemlock, spruce, fir, and pine, are 
natives. Most of the larger and heavier hemlocks 
and pines have been cut for timber, so that the 
greater part of the forest trees now to be seen are 
of second and third growth. Fortunately a few 
large pines were left uncut, a mile or two below 
the Xorth Tillage, and they yet remain to show to 
this generation to what great height and size a pine 
tree can attain, though they are long past their 
prime, and some of them lean considerabl}^ Many 
of the old farms had a butternut or oilnut tree 
growing here and there on the premises, and the 
oilnuts, the rich products of these trees, were much 
valued. Cracking these nuts and picking the meat 
out of the flint-like shells was quite an agreeable 
entertainment for young people of a long winter's 
evening. Beechnuts, the fruit of the beech tree, 
were formerly very abundant here, and held in high 
estimation. Squirrels, as well as children, are fond 
of them, and often lay in a good store of them in 
hollow trees all peeled for their winter sustenance. 
They can peel them easily before the shells become 
dry and hard. The acorns of the white oak were 
formerly aljundant here, and much sought for by 
the children, as were also the hazel-nuts, the product 
of the nut-hazel, which is more properly a shrub 

566 HISTORY OF sutto:n^. 

than a tree. Sassafras was formerly found grow- 
ing here, much vahied for its inner bark, being of a 
pleasant aromatic taste, and also useful as a medi- 
cine. And about the same may be said of the inner 
bark of the slippery elm and the black birch, the 
latter in taste much like the checkerberry. Both 
of these trees were formerly more plentiful than 
they now are. Most of the children of the early 
years of this town learned to write on strips of the 
bark of the white birch, while birch twigs were at 
all times useful to assist in maintaining order in the 
school or family. Turned wooden ware was chiefly 
made of ash wood. For lighting the house in long 
winter evenings, the people used formerly to be so 
dependent on pitch-pine wood that a piece of it full 
of pitch was commonly spoken of as " candle- 

Among all the arboreal products of this region, 
so useful to man, there is nothing he appropriates 
more eagerly or appreciates more highly than the 
sugar-producing qualities of the rock-maple. Thou- 
sands of pounds of maple sugar are annually made 
in this town, which, being manufactured by the 
modern conveniences and methods, is of a very fine 

Wild cherry, black and red, is found here, and 
also another wild fruit-tree, called the sugar plum, 
the fruit externally resembling a cherry, but which 
is really a wild pear, and if cut across into 
halves will be seen to have its seeds arranged like 
those of a pear or apple, instead of being a stone 
fruit like a cherry. It is not impossible that culti- 
vation may sometime produce something fine from 

n"Atur.4j:. features. 567 

this wild fruit, as it has from poorer original stock. 
Its adaptability to our cold climate being so desira- 
ble a quality, the idea has been suggested that 
some richer and more delicate variety of pear might 
be grafted into this wild root, and a more hardy 
yield of fruit might result, something in the same 
way as the delicate flowering almond of the South 
is made hardy by grafting into the root of a hardy 

And now, while speaking of grafted fruit, it may 
not be out of place to mention here that to Major 
Enoch Bartlett, the man whose name occurs in this 
work in connection with the renewal of the charter 
in 1773, we are indebted for the Bartlett pear. He 
discovered its merits, and took pains to introduce it 
in various j)arts of the comitry, giving his name to 
it. The Baldwin apple, another good friend of 
ours, originated in Billerica, Mass. A man by the 
name of Baldwin found a tree growing wild in a 
pasture where it had sprung up from a seed, and 
admiring the fruit and recognizing the desirable 
qualities of the tree, took pains to make conditions 
favorable for it, and the result is what we now 
enjoy. The same is true of the Concord grape, by 
many considered the best of all the cultivated varie- 
ties for our climate. A man in Concord, Mass., by 
the name of Bull, a fruit culturist, found a wild 
grape-vine producing superior fruit under condi- 
tions which chance had made favorable. He 
improved upon those conditions, and his wild vine 
also improved, and became the ancestor of all the 
Concord grape-vines now sold or cultivated. Some 
ten years ago Mr. Bull and his vine, " the mother 


vine," as he called it, were living in Concord, Mass., 
and perhaps are so still. 

It appears from the History of Dunbarton that to 
Major Caleb Stark, eldest son of Gen. John Stark, 
born in Dunbarton, 1759, we are indebted for the 
introduction into this region of the practice of 
grafting and budding fruit-trees. He visited every 
section of Massachusetts where he heard of choice 
fruit, and obtained scions for his trees, and with 
his own hands he set grafts and buds in his own 
orchards and in those of his nearest townsmen who 
were sufiiciently credulous to consider the strange 
experiment worth trying. In a few years a plenti- 
ful supply of fruit more than realized their expecta- 

In speaking of our native trees we will not forget 
the willow, which, like " wet-shod alder," prefers to 
grow where water is plentiful, but can live else- 
where. Formerly on the long turnpike routes the 
willow most effectually served the road-makers. 
They planted willows on both sides of evei-y piece of 
road built through boggy land, to help support the 
roadbed and keep it in place. It is needless to re- 
mark that the trees always proved faithful to duty, 
and, strange to say, never seemed to die or grow 

Of elms, most that are seen seem to have been 
set out for shade or ornament, and, where they have 
opportunity for growth, frequently attain immense 
size and height. 

About the beginning of the present century the 
Lombardy poplar was a favorite, and many good 
substantial houses had a row of these trees grow- 


ing taller and taller in front of them. The Lom- 
bardy poplar was, as its name indicates, a foreigner, 
and not nearly so beantiful as many of our native 
trees, but was considered very ornamental and 
desirable till it was discovered that it was some- 
times infested with poisonous asps, and then it fell 
into disrepute. 

This tree began to be set out in eastern Massa- 
chusetts in 1798, and was not long in finding its 
way " up country." A handsome row of Lombardy 
l^oplars used to grow in front of the Dr. Lane 
house in the ^orth Tillage. 

Wild An^imals. 

Those formerly found in the wilderness of Per- 
rystown were such as were common in this region, 
viz., the bear, beaver, wolf, and wild-cat, as well as 
deer and moose, which two last named Ijecame, it 
is said, sometimes almost tame, and would stand 
and look over the fence where, on the inside of the 
yard, a woman was milking her cows. These are 
now all gone, and only a few of the smaller animals 
now survive the sportsman's autumnal ravages. 
The coon, woodchuck, rabbit, and squirrels — 
striped, red, and grey — are yet found here, but 
are not plenty. 


Robins and other small birds still exist here, 
though owing to the same cause which has nearly 
exterminated the small animals, they are fast dimin- 
ishing in number. 


Loons used to be fond of the neighborhood of 
the Sutton ponds, and their peculiar cry was not an 
unusual sound at certain seasons of the year, but 
it is now seldom or never heard. Wild pigeons 
and partridges were plenty formerly, and their flesh 
was very nice, and was a great help to the early 



This includes School District No. 5, as described and defined by 
vote of the town in 1808, which district was bounded north by New 
London, east by District No. 2, south by No. 4, and west by New- 
bury (then Fishersfield), containing 2,270 acres, or about one tenth 
of the area of the whole town. 

This hUl is situated in the north-west corner of Sutton, adjoining 
New London on the north and Newbury on the west, on the height 
of land between the Merrimack and Connecticut rivers. 

The residents on and around this hill in 1824 were as follows : 
William Bean, John King, Capt. Amos Pressey, Moses Hills, Esq., 
Joseph Chadwick, David Chadwick, and Jesse Fellows, who all 
settled here previous to 1790 ; Joseph and Israel Bean, sons of 
William Bean ; Jacob Bean, the fii'st born male adult of the town 
(born April, 1772) ; Guy King, son of John King ; James Morgan ; 
Joseph, Jr., and Samuel Chadwick, who were sons of Joseph Chad- 
wick ; Wniiam and Nathaniel Todd ; Benjamin AVells, Jr., son of 
Benjamin Wells ; Samuel Kezar ; Isaac Fellows, who was son of 
Jesse Fellows ; Moses Davis, and his son Samuel, — and perhaps 
some others. Capt. Woodbury Knowlton owned a part of Lot No. 
40, but resided very near Newbury line. 

The original farms of John King and William Bean embraced 
the highest portions of the hill, the line between their farms run- 
ning east and west over its top : hence the two names. King's hill 
and Bean's hill. Mr. King's farm was on the north side, and Mr. 
Bean's on the south side, of the hUl. 

Mr. Kjng was a man of great bodily strength. Whatever he 
undertook to do he did, and could endm'e any privation necessary 
to accomplish his purpose. He acquired a good estate, and died 
quite aged. 

WiUiam Bean had several children before he came here. He 
was a large, broad-chested man, jDossessed of giant strength. His 


grasp of the hand, when once fastened, was not easily loosed. 
He acquired a good estate, and lived to a great age, but left town 
hefore he died, and went to Hatley, P. Q. His sons, Joseph and 
Israel, succeeded him as owners of the old homestead, where Joseph 
died. Isaac went to Hatley, P. Q., with his father, about 1850, 
where he died. 

Jacob Bean lived where the Poor Farm now is ; settled there 
about 1795, and there resided till his death at the age of 77 years. 
He was one of the heavy tax-payers of the town, being a large 
land-owner. Was a prominent man in town, and was known as 
Ensign Bean. He left a large and respectable family. 

Jesse Fellows was a substantial farmer, and acquired a good 
estate. Had a large and respectable family. His son Isaac lived 
with him on the same farm — the Alison Cheney farm (lately pur- 
chased by Dr. Furman, of New York). 

Moses Hills, Esq., lived on Newbury town line, near Capt. Amos 
Pressey's, on what has been known in later years as the Fisher farm. 
He was a leading man in town. Was justice of the peace as early 
as 1803, and served the town as selectman and as representative 
several times. Had a large family, but left town some years before 
his death. 

Capt. Amos Pressey lived west and adjoining WUliam Bean's 
farm. He was the first deputy sheriff resident of the town. Was 
many years constable and collector, and was moderator of town- 
meetings frequently, for which last office he was well qualified. In 
person he was large, and of commanding voice and mien, with a 
great share of ready wit which could not fail to receive attention 
from any audience, and which, in fact, people learned to expect and 
look for whenever he opened his mouth to speak, whether as an 
auctioneer, in wliich occupation his witty speeches were very effec- 
tive, or before graver assemblies. 

Joseph and David Chadwick lived at the northerly base of the 
hill. Joseph was the oldest, and was in the Revolution. He died 
about 1829. His son Joseph, known as Capt. Joseph Chadwick, 
lived near what has been in recent years the J. D. Prescott farm. 

David Chadwick had a family of thirteen or fourteen children, 
who lived to be adults. Lieutenant John Chadwick was his oldest 
son, and lived near him ; but at the time here referred to (1824) 
most of his children had left him to seek for themselves other 
homes. T. Jefferson, Walter, and George were minors. 

klt^^g's hill. 573 

David Cliadwick was a man of great good humor, wit, and cheer- 
fulness, and of untiring industry. He lived to be aged. His wife 
was a sister of Thomas Tucker, P^sq., of Henniker, and was a most 
capable and worthy woman. Perliaps no woman ever lived in 
Sutton who, under so many unfavorable circimistances, has reared 
so numerous, so vigorous, and so industrious a family of children as 
this lady. 

William and Nathaniel Todd, bix)thers, lived a little north of the 
Chadwicks, and on New London town line. Both were then young 
men, from twenty-five to thirty-five years, with families. Nathaniel 
left town fii-st and went to Newport, and he was representative to 
the legislature from that town. Subsequently both brothers re- 
moved to New London and resided near each other. Both lived to 
a great age. 

James Morgan, brother of John, Solomon, Samuel, Daniel, AVill- 
iam, and Obediah, lived a little west of the Chadwicks ; had a wife 
and several sons. His wife was an exemplary, pious woman, and 
he was a very industrious man and a kind neighbor. 

Moses Davis was a man of many peculiarities ; he died about 
1848. His wife was Anna, daughter of Jacob Davis, but it is not 
certain that they were nearly related. 

Permanent residents or land-owners of some of the farms named 
in the foregoing description of King's liill, who held or occupied 
the same in 1878 : 

William Leach, the N. Todd farm. 

William Coburn, the Samuel Kezar farm. 

Town farm, the Jacob Bean farm. 

James H. Bean, part of the Jacob Bean farm. 

John Blodgett, part of the Jacob Bean farm. 

Allison Cheney, the Jesse Fellows farm. 

David Hart, formerly owned by William Bean, 4th. 


William and Israel Bean farm. 

Joseph Bean farm. 

Joseph and Samuel Bean (Chadwick farm). 

David Chadwick farm. 

Moses Hills, Esq., farm. 

John and Guy King farm. 


Amos Pressey farm. 
William Todd farm. 


The first road built to this hill of which we have any knowledge 
was from where John Pressey now lives, up by Quoit brook, to 
the Moses Davis farm and to the poor-house. 

In 1788 a road was built from the William Bean farm, over the 
hill by John King's, to Mr. Chadwick's. 

In 1789, a road was made from where T. B. Lewis lives, running 
by the Esquire Hills farm, to New London town line. 

In 1795 a road was made from where Daniel Hardy now lives 
(the Porter farm), across the meadow and on by William Bean's 
and Capt. Amos Pressey's, to Newbury town line. 


WiUiam Bean, John King, Amos Pressey, and Jesse Fellows were 
all large, muscular men, self-reliant, and capable of enduring great 
hardships. They were among the heaviest tax-payers in town. 

The Chadwicks were men of integrity and industry, and were 
much respected. They cleared their lands and made their buildings. 

Guy King, Samuel Chadwick, John Chadwick, Isaac Fellows, 
Samuel Davis, James Morgan, Nathaniel and WiUiam Todd, and 
Benjamin Wells, Jr., were all young men, — most of them settled in 
life with families, and were owners of real estste. 

Religiously, most of the land-owners in this district were Univer- 
salists. Jacob Bean was Calvinist Baptist ; Samuel Kezar had no 
particular preference for any denomination, being a Free-Tliinker. 

Benjamin Wells and his son Gideon Wells, Moses Davis, Isaac 
Davis, James Morgan, and Edward Chadwick (son of Joseph, who 
was in the Revolutionary war), were in the War of 1812. Benja- 
min WeUs afterward went to Canada. The Wells family Uved 
where Mansel Marshall lived later. 

In early times the inhabitants of this district were noted for rais- 
ing fine cattle, especially oxen and steers, and, after a blocking 
snow-storm, men and boys with their teams would assemble and 
break out roads to North Sutton village, indulging in merry jokes 
upon the people there as they valiantly fought their way along, 
mockingly reminding them of their inability to raise or even to 

KXN^G'S HILL. 575 

manage cattle that could do such work. The whole affair became a 
sort of festive occasion, their service for the public good bemg purely 
voluntary, and the village people recognizing the same in the man- 
ner which was customary and always acceptable, namely, inviting 
them into the stores (all the stores sold ardent spirits at that time) 
and treating them to a good drink of liquor. Their homeward 
journey up the hill was thus rendered even more hilarious than their 
coming down had been. 

School district No. 5 was divided about 1822, and district No. 11 
was formed. The tax-payers after division were as follows : 


Jacob Bean. David Chadwick. 

Joseph Bean. Joseph Chadwick. 

Jesse Fellows. Samuel Chadwick. 

Isaac Fellows. John Chadwick. 

Moses Hills, Esq. Daniel Butterfield. 

Samuel Kezar. I. J. Hill. 

Amos Pressey. John King. 

William Bean. Guy King. 

Isaac Bean. James Morgan. 

Benjamin Wells, Jr. William Todd. 

Moses Davis. Nathaniel Todd. 

At the time of division the school-money for No. 5 was $57.63. 
Of this money No. 5 had $31.10, and No. 11 had $26.53. In the 
early years of the century, after its formation into a district, old 
No. 5 not unfrequently had a hundred scholars in the winter tei-m. 

We have thus hastily and imperfectly referred to the inhabitants 
in old school-district No. 5, as we remember them when living there 
in 1824, a youth of 16 years. With one or two exceptions, there 
is not a man, nor a descendant of a man, living there now who was 
living there then. 

Kezae, Hall. 

King's hill region, although so extensive and so 
well populated in 1824, was yet remote from any 
place of public worship, which was quite a serious 
privation, especially to the aged and feeble. Occa- 


sionally ministers from other localities would come 
on Sunday afternoons or evenings and hold a 
" third meeting " in the school-house or in some 
private house. 

The house of Samuel Kezar was large, with a 
long L running out to the shed and barns. Mr. 
Kezar was, as we have said, a free-thinker, but by 
no means averse to opening his doors to let his- 
neighbors in for any not unrighteous purpose. 

By the desire of his wife, Martha (Sargent) , he 
finished off in the upper story of the L part a hall,, 
with seats all around the sides, so that she could 
invite her fellow church members and neighbors 
to hold religious services there, and make them 
comfortable in summer or winter. It was also util- 
ized for purposes not religious. Several terms 
of singing-school, and occasionally balls and 
dances were held there. On these dancing occa- 
sions the presiding genius was generally Anthony, 
or, as he was usually called, Tony Clark, a famous 
fiddler and teacher of dancing and ball-room 
etiquette. He was a colored man, and had been a 
Revolutionary soldier. He used to make an annual 
visit to this hill of at least a week in length, coming 
on foot, with fiddle in hand, and the whole region 
was made jubilant with music and the dancing par- 
ties, which would be held every evening while his 
visit lasted, the same company assembling each 
evening, whether the dance was at the hall we 
speak of or at other private houses, for this danc- 
ing institution of a week's duration was made 
mio-ratorv, to accommodate each section of the 
neighborhood as far as possible. Sometimes the 

king's hill. 577 

mountain went to Mahomet, sometimes Mahomet 
went to the mountain. 

One of these dances came, by reason of sad news 
brought to Tony, to a very abrupt termination. 
A messenger came to the door and called him 
out to mform him that one of his children was dead. 
He returned to the dancmg-room, drew his bow 
solemnly, slowly, and dirge-like across the instru- 
ment, announcing, " Dead nigger in Warner! ]N^o 
more drawing the bow this week ! " and at once de- 
parted for Warner, where his home was. 

Poor Tony! he might as well take his trouble 
philosophically, for he was used to the rod of afflic- 
tion. He had been father of a very numerous fam- 
ily of children, quite a number of whom had died 
in infancy or early childhood. Probably no man 
ever lived in Sutton or Warner who was so univer- 
sally known as this man. He lived to be over one 
hundred years of age, and is believed to have in- 
structed at least three generations of young people 
in the arts of dancing and ball-room etiquette. 

Fellep^g Trees oi^ Kes'g's Hill. 

In the autumn of 1888, a party, of whom the 
present writer was one, being on a visit to the 
granite quarry on King's hill, chanced there to 
meet and enter into conversation with Mr. Austin 
Morgan, of 'New London, in the course of which 
that gentleman related the following : 

The labors of the King's hill settlers, in conunon with those of 
every other section of this town, were very great, especially in clear- 
ing the land of the forest growth preparatory to cultivation. To 


facilitate this labor somewhat, they occasionally resorted to an expe- 
dient which was not uncommon at that time, viz., that of compell- 
ing the trees themselves to aid in the process by throwing each 
other down. Their method of procedure was this : The axe-men 
went from tree to tree on the piece of land to be cleared, cutting 
each tree about half way off, but leaving aU standing tiU the whole 
had thus been prepared for the sacrifice. Then selecting one tow- 
ering tree for the " leader,'' they chopped into the remaining half 
of its immense trunk, and, as it began to topple, giving it a slight 
impidse in the desired direction, in its fall its branches would inter- 
lock with those of its next neighbors, which, aided by the force of 
gravitation, would cause their immediate downfall, they, meantime, 
doing the same deadly duty of executioner to those within their 
reach, and so on, tiU in a few minutes the whole lay prostrate on 
the ground. 

Jesse Fellows and his wife were among the earliest settlers of 
that part of the King's hill range which has ever since borne their 
name, Fellows's hiU. Mr. Morgan related an incident of the 
"clearing " of a portion of their farm, which he had heard from 
his grandmother, Mrs. Fellows, who lived to the ripe old age of 
more than 96 years. When Mrs. Fellows came to the hill to live, 
owing to the dense growth of towering trees, Kearsarge mountain 
could not be seen from their cabin. Her energetic husband, aided 
by half a dozen strong men, chopped in the woods tiU acres of 
noble trees were made ready to fall. A huge monarch of the for- 
est near the cabin was pitched upon for the leader. All hands gath- 
ered about its base, and plied their axes merrily. At last, with a 
shiver, a sigh, a mighty crash, slowly at first, as if pitying its com- 
panions, of whose wholesale destruction it was thus forced to be the 
unwilling agent, it toppled over, starting the " jam " ; other trees 
began to f aU, each one in falling giving a death-blow to its nearest 
neio-hbor, and soon the work of destruction was over, and the pri- 
meval forest existed no more on Fellows's hill. An exultant shout 
from the men called the attention of the good housewife from her 
labors, and, looking forth over the fallen giants, she saw, rising 
grandly in the distance, old Kearsarge, standing guard over the 
beautiful lake at its feet, as it stands to-day and shaU stand till 
time shall be no more. Fire finished the work thus begun, the 
ashes furnishing rich elements of fertility to the soil, which the 
crops of nearly a century have not yet exhausted. 

king's hill. 579 

Petition^ to be Ajsi^exed to ]S"ew Londoi^. 

The road described as being- built in 1795, that 
is, the road leading from the present Daniel Hardy 
place, across the meadow and up and over King's 
hill westerly to Newbury town line, was a very 
great advantage to the settlers in this region, 
bringing them into easy communication with the 
]N^orth meeting-house and village. Owing to its 
position in a corner of the town, as well as to its 
great altitude (for King's hill is the highest land 
in town) , they were much isolated from other parts 
of Sutton, and, before the building of this new road, 
they had felt very keenly the inconvenience of 
being included in the geographical limits of a toA\ai- 
ship with which they had little else in common. 
In fact, as the town records show, they had twice 
made an effort to move out of Sutton. In 1786, only 
two years after incorporation, and again in 1789, 
they had petitioned to be set off from Sutton and 
annexed to ^N^ew London. The following is a copy 
of one of these petitions, which was found among 
the papers of Dea. Matthew Harvey, where, having 
rested quietly for more than a century, it again 
makes its appearance before the public. 

To the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives of the 
State of New Hampshire at Concord in said State in General Court 

Honorable Gentlemen, 

We, your humble petitioners, being part of the inhabitants of the 
town of Sutton, in said State, — Humbly show that we labor under 
very great disadvantages on account of being almost separated from 
the main body of the town to which we now belong, partly by rea- 
son of mountains and broken land, which will not admit of making 


passable roads, and partly by a large pond across or near the mid- 
dle of said town from East to West, and also by reason of the 
length of the way ; — the town being seven miles and a quarter in 
length from North to South, and we being at or near the North end 
of the same, which renders it very difficult for those of us especially 
who are situated near the North-west part of the town, we having 
almost six miles, some of us, to travel to the Centre. 

And whereas the inhabitants of New London, adjoining to us on 
the North, are about building a Meeting-House, and also the inhab- 
itants of Sutton aforesaid have voted to build a Meeting-House, 
both of which will very much affect us in this matter, which causes 
us to be so much the more importunate, — and inasmuch as we live 
adjoining to the town of New London aforesaid, with which we are 
very much connected in trade and business, — and the most of us 
live not more than three miles from the centre of the same, — 

We therefore your humble petitioners, hmubly pray that your 
Honors would be pleased, in your wisdom and prudence, to take 
this our case under your wise consideration, and in some measure 
remove this our present grievance by taking only four Ranges of 
Lots off the town of Sutton aforesaid extending at least as far to 
the East as the Grantees land, so called, in said town of Sutton, and 
annex the same to the southerly part of New London, aforesaid, 
wliich, as we humbly conceive, will not be the quarter of the damage 
to the inhabitants of the town of Sutton aforesaid as it wiU be of 
real, necessary advantage to us. — 

And your Honors' very humble petitioners as in duty bound shall 
ever pray. 

Sutton, June 15, 1786. 

Reading over the account of their difficulties, 
geographical and geological, as set forth in the 
foregoing petition, we sympathize with those peo- 
ple sincerely, and we almost wish the town could 
have afforded to let them " secede;" but this could 
not be, first, because the King's hill settlers, who 
were the only really aggrieved parties in the case, 
were a class of citizens such as no body politic 
that understands itself would surrender without a 

king's hill. 581 

struggle ; and second, because the territory was too 
valuable to part with. If this petition had been 
successful, Sutton would not be the handsome par- 
allelogram now shown upon the map. 

Three years later another attempt at division was 
made, in 1789, in the form of a petition to the 
selectmen to call a special meeting to consider this 
question, and that of selling the " 2d Division Min- 
ister Lot." To both questions the town voted in 
the negative. The selectmen's call for the meeting 

Whereas a nvunber of the inhabitants of this town living on the 
Northerly ranges of Lots have requested us the subscribers to call a 
town-meeting to see if the town will vote them off to New London, 
with all the town privileges appertaining to them and the other 
lands of the Non-Residents (i. e., the Lord Proprietors) that lie 
connected with them," &c. 

It will be observed that this petition asks for 
more of Sutton's territory than the former one did, 
to be set off to ISTew London. If granted, it would 
have given that town a straight cut across the 
north part of Sutton, which would include a por- 
tion of the lands originally reserved by the lord 
proprietors for themselves, and of their own choos- 
ing, and, of course, among the best in the township 
of Perry stown. 

Although these petitions were unsuccessful, they 
were not altogether without good results, the first 
of which was the building of the road through the 
Xing's hill region, the road of 1795, as soon as 
the diflScult work of filling up the meadow, and 
bridging the stream, and cliuibing the mountain 
or hills beyond could be accomplished. The re- 


corded votes of the town also indicate other con- 
cessions : 

March 17, 1794, Voted that the inhabitants of Sutton that attend 
public worship at New London, shall have their proportionable part 
of the money raised for the supjiort of the Gospel in this town, to 
pay to New London. 

Some Avho could be better acconnnodated with 
school privileges in IS^ew London were also allowed 
the liberty of paying' their school-tax to that town. 


It appears from Harriman's History of Warner 
that Ivearsarge Gore, in 1781, stretched from what 
was subsequently called Warner Gore to near what 
is now called Wilniot Centre. Previous to 1807 
this constituted a town by itself, Ivearsarge moun- 
tain being nearly in the centre. A large part of 
Wilmot proper was taken from ^ew London in 
1807, when it was incorporated a town. It seems 
from the Gore records that 

a meeting was lield at the house of Joshua Quimby, in said Gore, 
Aug. 25, 1794, when William Quimby was chosen clerk, William 
Graves, Abner Watkins, and Nathan Cross selectmen, Nathan 
Clough constable, Samuel Quimby, Thomas Cross, and Elisha 
Smith highway surveyors, Clough, Graves, Cross, and Smith be- 
longing to the north side of the mountain, Quimby, Chase, and 
Watkins to the south side. 

In 1795 Nathan Clough was chosen moderator, W. Quimby 
clei'k, Abner Watkins, Samuel Priest, and Nathan Cross selectmen. 

1796, Ebenezer Scales, clerk ; Nathan Clough, Abner Watkins, 
and Nathan Cross, selectmen. Raised $40 for schools. 

1797, Abner Watkins, Samuel Priest, and Nathan Cross, selectmen. 

1798, officers same as last year, except Thomas Wells in place of 
Abner Watkins, selectman. 

1799, two new selectmen, Benj. Cass on north side, and Foster 
Goodwin on the south side of the mountain. 

1800, officers same as last year. Voted to raise $60 for schools. 

1801, Benj. Cass, moderator. In 1802 Ebenezer Fisk appears to 
be chosen selectman, and is supposed to live on the north side. He 
was father of John Fisk, accidentally killed in Warner, Mrs. Chas. 
Thompson, formerly of Wilmot, and Dea. Fisk, of Wilmot. John 
Fisk was father of ex-Gov. Pillsbury's wife. 


In 1804 Benj. Cass, James Palmer (south side), and E. Fisk, 
selectmen. There were two school-houses, one on the south side 
and one on the north side of the momitain. 
In 1805 Jeremiah Brown, moderator. 

In 1806 the meeting was held at Thomas Cross's on the north 
side. Samuel Thompson was moderator, S. Thompson, Noah Lit- 
tle, and Insley Greeley, selectmen. 

1807. Nothing of worth is recorded of this year. Wilmot is 
now incorporated, and the Gore severed. 

The south of the mountain remained the Gore till 1819, when 
annexed to Warner. In 1810 Capt. Watkins, of Warner Gore, 
with his company, met the Wilmot company for drill on the top of 
the mountain, where they had a spirited " sham fight." Harriman 
says this hattle was 2,000 feet higher than Hooker's fight above the 
clouds on Lookout mountain. Wilmot and the Gore were classed 
for choice of a representative. In 1811 Eliphalet Gay, of Wilmot, 
was chosen. 

In 1813 Warner Gore "stole the march" on Wilmot, and chose 
Jason Watkins representative. The meeting was on the Gore side. 
Gen. Eliphalet Gay, a wealthy man and tavern-keeper, soon after 
arrived with Wilmot voters, and Gay was elected, and served to the 
exclusion of Watkins. 

In 1814 Jason Watkins was chosen representative without oppo- 
sition. In 1815 Jabez Youngman was chosen representative. 

In 1829 the writer was employed by Deacon Insley Greeley to 
teach school on Cass hill. This year was remarkable for the quan- 
tity of snow which fell. The school was kept in the dwelling-house 
of Benjamin Cass, before referred to (the school-house having been 
burned). In the same house a singing-school was kept evenings by 
Mr. Claggett, of Newport, who is now a physician in Northfield, Vt. 
Among the residents of the district at this time were Joseph 
Brown and his son Joseph, Henry Saunders, Insley Greeley, Benj. 
Cass and his son Gershom B. Cass, Samuel and Noyes Cass, broth- 
ers and industrious farmers, William Morey and his sons John, 
Jonathan, and Levi, Sanuiel Kimball, Esq., Widow Dudley Brown 
and family, and others. Joseph Brown was a substantial farmer, 
and his son was associated with him in cultivating the farm. Henry 
Saunders lived at the base of the hill, was an energetic farmer, and 
had a wife and several children. 

Dea. Insley Greeley lived where Freeman Fellows now lives, and 


had a respectable family of several sons and daughters, Simon Gree- 
ley, P^sq., being the oldest son. Dea. Greeley was a much respected 
citizen. Benjamin Cass, from whom the hill takes its name, was 
uncle of Lewis Cass, an eminent politician, and once a candidate for 
president. Lieut. Gershom B. Cass had a wife and two sprightly 
girls, was a man in his meridian, an excellent citizen, and had often 
been town officer. He died before 36 years of age. William 
Morey was a Revolutionaiy soldier, and the father of a large family. 
He was much respected, and by way of compliment was called Col- 
onel, His sons, before-named, lived with him. Samuel Kimball, 
Esq., had a family of fifteen children, was a prominent man of the 
town, and had been frequently representative and selectman of the 
town. He subsequently moved to the West, where he died. 

None of the men here referred to are now living, and most of 
their homes have been alienated from their heirs. John Cass, only 
son of the late Col. Joseph B. Cass, and maternal grandson of Benj. 
Cass, is the only man now living here who " holds the fort " and 
retains and holds the homestead of his forefathers. Mr. Cass is 
among the prominent farmers of the coimty, and is still making 
additions to his large landed estate, and is yet in the prime of life. 

Li referring to Gov. Hari'iman's "• History of Warner," we find 
the early proprietors had much trouble with one Jonathan Palmer, 
who claimed a lot of land under the Rye or Jennestown grant, so 
called. It seems he came from Chester, and that he had two sons, 
John and James, in the Revolution. John, James, and Jeremiah 
settled early on a lord proprietor's lot, No. 8, drawn to the original 
right of John Muffat, one of the Masonian proprietors. It is in 
the eastern part of Sutton. This locality is known as Paknertown 
or Palmer Gore, adjoining Warner Gore, where the three brothers 
lived to a great age, and reared large families. It is now largely 
occupied by the descendants of these tliree brothers. Some ten years 
ago seventeen of the 330 voters of Sutton were Palmers and descend- 
ants of Jonathan Palmer, of Warner. The Palmers have not been 
noted as farmers. Some of them have possessed much mechanical 
skill. David atid Moses, sons of John Palmer, made and run about 
the first clap-board and shingle mills in Merrimack county, nearly 
sixty years ago. David was also a cooper, shoemaker, and joiner. 
He died at Sutton Mills a few years since. The Palmers have 
claimed to be entitled to much hereditary wealth from England, but 
have failed to obtain it. 



North of Kezar's lake, on an eminence, is the former residence 
of Matthew Harvey, Esq., from which is a splendid view of the 
lake and surrounding scenery. The house was built about 1784, is 
still in good condition, and has ever been and is still occupied by 
him and his descendants. On the south of the lake is an ever- 
green forest and plain, beyond which, on a hill, is the former resi- 
dence of Benjamin Wadleigh. West of the lake is Porter's hill, 
and on the east is North Sutton village, beyond which in the dis- 
tance is Kearsarge mountain. 

In the centre of the lake is an island about fifty rods long covered 
with a thrifty growth of wood. This island was once frequented 
by loons, and here they used to rear their young, coming from afar 
to this their favorite location, at which time their peculiar cry could 
occasionally be heard, and was always noticed with some interest, 
as they were not constant residents but only periodical visitors, who 
finished the work they came for, and then went away. They were 
seldom molested by the old inhabitants of the neighborhood, but 
new comers to town tried their skiU upon them till at last they 
abandoned their favorite resort. 

The island is much resorted to on festive occasions by summer 
residents and native inhabitants in this vicinity, and has many times 
been the scene of remarkable displays of patriotism on Fourth of 
July celebrations. 

In the neighborhood of this lake Samuel Bean, Ephraim Gile, 
and Jacob Davis settled in 1770, Benjamin Wadleigh and Jonathan 
Davis in 1771, Matthew Harvey and Ebenezer Kezar in 1772, 
David Eaton in 1773, and Daniel INIesser in 1776. Samuel Bean 
was one of the six cliildren (all of whom settled here early) of Mrs. 
Mary Bean, who died here, at the age of 100 years, in 1811, and 
who has more descendants living here than any person who ever 
lived in Sutton. Her son Samuel lived south of the lake. He 

kezar's lake. 587 

had a family of nine sons and three daughters. All of the sons 
had families. Three of them moved to Hatley, P. Q., about the 
year 1800. Many of the descendants of Samuel Bean live in this 

Ephraim Gile settled near Benjamin Wadleigh. From him 
Gile's pond took its name. This pond is situated about one half 
mile south-east of Kezar's lake, and is about half its size. The 
low land between these two ponds indicates that at a remote period 
they together formed one body of water. Mr. Gile had a family : 
he was married tlu'ee times. He was a tanner by trade, and 
among other skins tanned those of wild animals. For several years 
he was chosen town-clerk, and kept the town records previous to 

Jacob Davis was over fifty years of age when he settled here. 
He was a man of untiring industry, and, in addition to the labor of 
his farm, made wooden ware, which was extensively used in this 
region, occupying the place of the crockery ware of the present day. 
His descendants were many of them unfortunate in being afflicted 
with insanity. His daughter Betty was said to be bewitched, and 
acted strangely, used to run away and remain hidden in the woods 
for several days, and finally died fi'om exposure of this kind late in 
autumn. Few of Jacob Davis's posterity are living. 

Near Eplu-aim Gile lived Jonathan Davis, Jacob Davis being not 
far from them. Jonathan's farm adjoined Gile's pond. His pos- 
terity are numerous, and are noted for longevity. He died in 1800, 
at about 60 years of age. His wife lived to the age of 93, and liis 
sons David and Philip were over 90. 

The farm of Benjamin Wadleigh, the 7th settler, adjoined that 
of Samuel Bean. They lived side by side more than forty years, 
and it is said that no record of indebtedness against each other 
was ever made, each thinking or feeling as if he were indebted to 
the other, and when the one died the other soon followed. 

The farms of Benjamin Wadleigh and Matthew Harvey were 
separated by that of Mr. Kezar and the lake. Both of the first 
named men came from Rockingham county, and both were born in 
1749. Mr. Harvey was a shrewd and far-seeing financial manager, 
and was the largest land-owner in town when he died, in 1799. Mr. 
Wadleigh was cautious, and possessed of great physical strength 
and jjower of endurance, with an untiring will to carry him through 
whatever he enofasfed in. These three men were co-workers with 

588 HISTORY or sutton. 

the other early settlers for the advancement and interest of the 

Ebenezar Kezar, from whom the lake takes its name, settled near 
the entrance of the stream into the lake, and where had been an 
Indian burying-ground, and where many of their relics were found. 
Mr. Kezar came from Rowley, Mass., where he had been black- 
smith, shoemaker, and inn-holder. He was fond of hunting, trap- 
ping, and fishing. He made steel traps, some of which are still in 
use. He took an active part in the early settlement of the town, 
and called the first meeting after incorporation, in 1784, at which 
meeting he presided. The first municipal meeting held in town 
was in 1777. At this meeting Mr. Kezar was moderator, Benjamin 
Wadleigh clerk, Benjamin Wadleigh, David Eaton, and Samuel 
Peaslee selectmen, and David Peaslee constable. There were then 
about thirty-five legal voters in town. 

Simon, son of Ebenezer Kezar, came here soon after his father, 
was selectman in 1790, lived with his father, was married in 1770, 
and in 1790 had fifteen living children, five having died, one pair 
of twins among those who died. All the children were by the 
same wife. She died in 1801. Three of his sons and as many of 
his daughters emigrated to Hatley, P. Q., where they had large 
families, and where their descendants remain. The first settlers of 
Hatley were from Sutton. Two sons of Simon (Samuel and John) 
lived and died in town, leaving families. Jonathan H. Kezar, son 
of John, resided on the northerly shore of the lake, where they have 
erected and repaired several dwellings, and own mills above the 
lake. The wife of John G. Huntoon, now residing on the northerly 
side of the pond, is granddaughter of Simon Kezar, and Joseph 
Greeley, a storekeeper and for many years post-master at the North 
Village, is great grandson. 

This locality has lately been known as Kezarville. Most of the 
lake, and all the land between the lake and the falls, including 
more than 1,000 acres, is owned by the posterity of Ebenezer 
Kezar. The only daughter, Hannah Kezar, married Benjamin 
Wadleigh, and they reared three sons, namely, Jesse, John, and 
Benjamin. The last-named was born, lived, and died on the home- 
stead of his father. For many years he was county judge. He died 
in 1864, aged 80. Jesse and John settled early in Hatley, P. Q-, 
where they died leaving families. The farm originally settled by 
Benjamin Wadleigh, senior, is now owned by his great grandson, 

kezar's lake. 589 

Milton B. Waclleigh. It is believed that this is the only instance 
in town in which an entire one hundred acre lot of land has passed 
in direct male line from an early proprietor to the great grandson. 

Susan, youngest daughter of Benjamin Wadleigh, senior, married 
Capt. John Pillsbury, and was mother of George A. Pillsbury and 
Gov. John S. Pillsbury, of Minnesota, and of B. F. Pillsbury, a 
resident of this town till 1878, and since resident in Minnesota. 
She had also one daughter, Dolly, who married, and died leaving 
one son, Charles E. Cimimings, of Nashua. 

Matthew Harvey was a leading man of the town. He had five 
sons and three daughters. About 1820 his two oldest sons, Jona- 
than and Matthew, were among the prominent politicians of the 
state. Both have been members of the house of representatives, 
senate, and council, and members of congress. In 1818 Matthew 
was speaker of the house, and Jonathan president of the senate. In 
1830 Matthew was elected governor of the state, and before the 
close of his term was appointed U. S. District judge of New Hamp- 
shire, which office he held till his death in 1866. Their brothers. 
Col. Philip S. Harvey and Col. John Harvey, were prominent in 
town. The latter was father of Matthew Harvey, of Newport, for 
forty years connected with the New Hampshire Argus and Specta- 
tor as printer, editor, and proprietor. 

The children of Jonathan Harvey were four daughters, and a 
son who died in infancy. Two of the daughters continued to re- 
side on the homestead after his decease, namely, Mrs. Hiram Wat- 
son and Mrs. Susan Knowlton, the former of whom died during the 
past autumn. J. Harvey Watson, in common with Mrs. Knowlton, 
now own the homestead. Mrs. Augusta Harvey Worthen, daugh- 
ter of Col. Jolm Harvey, and sister to the junior editor of the 
Argus, has been for several years engaged in the jireparation of 
this History of Sutton. In early life she resided for several years 
in the family of her uncle, the late Gov. Matthew Harvey, then of 
Hopkinton. None of the posterity of Col. John Harvey are per- 
manent residents in this town, but most of them spend some por- 
tion of every summer here, and still retain the village homestead. 
His grandson, the child of his daughter Hannah (Harvey) Kohl- 
rausch, by name Charles Harvey Kohlrauseh, is the present owner 
of the estate on King's Hill, which was first owned by Matthew 
Harvey, senior, and became the property of his son, Col. John Har- 
vey, on the division of his estate. 


David Eaton lived north-v\^est of Kezar's lake ; was an active 
public man. None of his progeny now live in town. Daniel Mes- 
ser settled south-east of the lake ; he had a family of five sons and 
six daughters, eight being born before coming here. He was a 
man of great physical endurance. It was said of him that he 
would carry a load of grain on his back to mill at Contoocook and 
home, and do a day's work for Deacon Harvey the same day. 
This sketch refers to the settlers around Kezar's lake in 1777, all 
of whom held prominent positions in town, and all except David 
Eaton have descendants living in town. They all died on the farms 
where they first settled, except Ephraim Gile. They all came here 
penniless, or nearly so, and all gained a competency. The follow- 
ing is a table of their longevity : 

Ebenezer Kezar died in 1793, aged 73. 

Simon Kezar died in 1871, aged 71. His wife died in 1801, 
aged 54. 

Samuel Bean died in 1819, aged 77. His wife died in 1825, 
aged 77. His mother died in 1811, aged 100. 

Ephraim Gile died in 1821, aged 90. 

David Eaton died in" 1804, aged 66. 

Benjamin Wadleigh died in 1817, aged 68. His wife died in 
1836, aged 86. 

Matthew Harvey died in 1799, aged 49. His wife died in 1827, 
aged 66. 

Daniel Messer died in 1815, aged 80. His wife died in 1828, 
aged 91. 

Jonathan Davis died in 1800, aged 60. His wife died in 1838, 
aged 93. 

Jacob Davis died in 1819, aged 105. His wife died in 1819, 
aged 99. 

David Eaton died in 1804. aged 66. 



On the west side of the lake, near ChandlerviUe, lived Zephaniah 
Clark, the first settler of the town (1762). He was a land-owner 
and justice of the peace. A little south of the lake is the site of 
the old meeting-house. Near by resided Deacon Gunnison, a de- 
vout man, who was the father of twenty-one children. It is said 
that his eldest son once inquired of him why he had so large a fam- 
ily. The deacon replied that we are commanded " to multiply and 
replenish the earth." The son's reply was, " God does not com- 
mand you to do the whole of it." 

North of Deacon Gunnison, near the lake, lived Mr. Emery with 
a large family. East of Mr. Emery, on a high eminence, resided 
Eleazer Wells, where Col. Giles Bartlett has since lived. Col. 
Bartlett married Mr. Wells's daughter for his first wiie. In a 
northerly direction, near the east shore of the lake, resided Cajjt. 
John Farmer, where his son, Col. John Farmer, has since lived. 
Capt. Farmer lived, when young, with Gen. Stark at Derryfield 
several years, and accompanied the general to Bennington, and 
fought in the battle of Bennington Aug. 16, 1777. He soon after 
settled in Newbury, where he died at an advanced age, leaving a 
numerous family. The farm of Levi Hastings was on Hastings's 
hill, west of Capt. Farmer's and adjoining. 

Near Blodgett's Landing resided Joshua Blodgett and John 
Blodgett, father of George Blodgett. 

Baker's hUl lies east of Blodgett's, and was the former place of resi- 
dence of Jesse, Nathan, and Benjamin Baker, Benjamin Cilley, and 
Richard Collins. This was the best cidtivated portion of Newbury. 
They were aU thrifty farmers. The farm of Nathan Baker, at his 
decease at an advanced age, was supposed to be the best farm in 
town. Dr. William Leach lived south-east of Baker hill. 


Northerly of Baker hill and near Pike's shore resided Lieut. 
Thomas Pike, in New London. Mr. Pike was a remai'kably tall 
and athletic man. In his younger days he frequently crossed the 
lake alone in a canoe. He had several daughters. One married 
Col. Samuel Rogers, one married Samuel Knowlton, and one mar- 
ried Joseph Chase. Mrs. Knowlton lived to past 90 years of age. 
At a time when Lieut. Pike was very aged he crossed the lake 
alone, and in returning when in the middle of the lake, a sudden 
squall came up and capsized the canoe. His son, Capt. John Pike, 
fearing his father might be in danger, hastened to the lake, and 
when it cleared away so that he could see, he discovered the canoe. 
John took his own canoe and plied the oars with all his might. 
Capt. Pike was not to be beaten in or on the lake, as was the father 
in his early days. He soon reached the canoe of his father, and 
found the old man resting quietly on the middle of the boat, which 
was bottom upward, with his face downwards, chewing his quid of 
tobacco, seeing which the son felt assured that all was right with 

The farms of Capt. Robert and Ezekiel Knowlton were near by. 
Capt. Amos Currier lived near Lieut. Pike, where his grandson, 
Amos Curi'ier, has since lived. He enlisted a company of soldiers, 
and commanded it in the War of 1812. 

Near Captain Currier lived Captpn John Morgan, the ancestor of 
the Morgans of New London. In the same vicinity lived Deacon 
Peter Sargent, who was of a numerous family, remarkable for 
industry and long life. Most of the eight Sargent brothers lived to 
be more than eighty years of age. Amasa, who lived in Hanover, 
was 98 years old at his death. He was uncle of Hon. J. E. Sargent. 

Near Peter Sargent lived Capt. James Minot, whose father was 
a large land-owner in this vicinity. Capt. Minot subsequently lived 
in Sutton, was an officer in the War of 1812, and lived in different 
parts of the state, and has been a member of the senate, and several 
of his sons have been prominent citizens of Concord. 

Near Herrick's Cove, on the east side of the lake, resided Jona- 
than Herrick. He lived here at the time of the great tornado, 
Sept. 9, 1821, from which he suffered much. His buildings were 
nearly destroyed, fences blown down, and crops ruined, as well as 
those of his neighbors. Mr. Herrick and most of his neighbors 
soon afterwards left town and went to Corinth, Me., where their 
posterity now live. 


Burpee hill lies north-east of Herrick's Cove, and was the resi- 
dence of Thomas Biu'pee and several of his brothers. This hill was 
early noted as a neighborhood of good farmers. Their descend- 
ants are numerous. 

Northerly of Burpee hill is Goose Harbor, or OtterviUe. Here 
is a small village situated on a stream leading from Little Sunapee 
lake to Otter pond. Here is a water-power that rarely fails in a 
drought. This part of New London was taken from Sunapee (Wen- 
dell) in 1804. Near here were the farms of Zebulon Getchell, 
Ephraim Gile, or Guile, Henry, Achilles, and Winthrop Clough. 

Easterly of Baker hill in Newbury is King's or Bean's hill, the 
highest land in town. Near the summit of this hill resided John 
King and William Bean, both of them being men of great physical 
strength and power of endurance. Near them resided Capt. Amos 
Pressey, for many years deputy sheriff, collector, and constable, who 
was a man of wit and humor. Many anecdotes are told of him. 
He died in 1839, aged 72. 

Moses Hills lived near the eastern base of this liill, for many 
years selectman of the town and representative. Near by lived 
Joseph and David Chadwick, the latter a Revolutionary soldier. 

At George's Mills, in Svmapee, resided Ichabod Hearsee, who 
owned the mills wliich subsequently were purchased by Daniel 
George. These mills are near the northern extremity of the lake, 
on a stream passing from Otter pond to Lake Sunapee. 

At the date we refer to, Wendell, now Sunapee, had about 75 
ratable polls, and 300 inhabitants, mostly farmers, who were land- 

On the road from George's Mills to Sunapee Harbor, on an 
eminence commanding a view of the lake, resided Col. Samuel 
Rogers, many years a prominent citizen of the town. Near by liim 
lived Clu'istopher Gardner, Philbrick Huntoon, Nathan Rogers, 
and Isaac Currier. At Sunapee Harbor, at the outlet of the lake, 
resided John Chase, John Chase, Jr., and Jonathan Wooster. Jolin 
Chase, Jr., was a large tax-payer in 1800, and owned mills here. 
He could adapt himself to most trades and professions, had a great 
memory, and was a capital story-teller. 

Jonathan Wooster also owned the celebrated clothing mills here. 
The writer remembers when a boy to have carried a load of cloth 
with a team for a clothier in Sutton to these mills to be fulled. 

Northerly and westerly of the road leading from George's Mills 



to Newport were the farms of Elijah George, Daniel George Sam- 
uel George, Whittier Perkins, Moses Sargent, Esek Young, Francis 
Pingrey, Barnabas Conant, Isaac Eastman, Abijah Emerson, Ben- 
jamin Perkins, Francis Smith, Josiah Trow, and Squire Woodward. 
Most of these farms are seen from the lake. 

Whittier Perkins was a remarkable mechanical genius and pen- 
man. In 1800 he was one of the selectmen. Abiathar Young lived 
on Young's hill, east of Sunapee depot, was a large land-owner, and 
had a saw-mill at the lower end of Edes's meadow, below vSunapee 
Centre. He was father of the late Lieut. John Young, Andrew 
Young, and Capt. William Young. Near Abiathar Young's were 
the farms of Eben Angell, David Hobson, David Moores, Stephen 
Scranton, James Scales, Job Williams, and Robert Young. 

William Gage lived on the east side of Young hill. John Clapp 
lived near Newbmy and Goshen line. James Lamb lived on Winn 
hill ; was noted for longevity. It is said that he died at the age of 
104 years. His son Alexander at the age of 88 years was living, 
and possessed of the cheerfulness and vivacity of youth to a remark- 
able degree, a living example of the uncertainty of medical rules of 
health and dietetic hygiene. 

Near James Lamb lived Joshua Gage, Nathaniel Perkins, Esq. 
(who was many years town-clerk), Noel Angell, Cornelius Young, 
and James Young. Samuel Sischo, Giles Bartlett, and Stephen 
Young lived near Goshen. Gideon Angell, the largest tax-payer in 
town, David Angell, the owner of Angell's tavern near the South 
meeting-house, Amos Eastman, Ezra Eastman, and Joshua Whitney 
lived in the west or south-west part of the town, near Goshen, New- 
bury, and Newport. These pioneers were worthy the remembrance 
of their posterity, many of whom are scattered throughout the coun 


In 1773 there resided in Perrystown, now Sutton, David Peasley 
and family near the foot of Kimball's hill, David and Jonathan Davis 
and families where S. N. Little and A. Cummings now live, Cornelius 
Bean living near David Peasley, Samuel Bean living where John 
Pressey now resides, Benjamin Wadleigh living where M. B. Wad- 
leigh lives, Jonathan Stevens where S. Littlehale lives, Matthew 
Harvey residing where Mrs. Watson and Mrs. Knowlton reside, and 
Benjamin Philbrick near Mr. Gage's, all living in log-houses six- 
teen feet square, with stone chinmeys. Their neighbors were Zeph- 
eniah Clark, Esq., of Newbury, living near Chandlerville, Dea. 


William Presby, of Bradford, who resided west of Bradford Cor- 
ner, David Aniiis and his son-in-law, Reuben Kimball, of Warner, 
Philip CaU, Nathaniel Maloon, Benjamin Pettengill, Jolm and Eben- 
ezer Webster, of Salisbury. 

In 1753 Mr. Maloon, wife, and three children, were captured by 
the Indians. He and his wife were sold to the French. He re- 
turned to his farm after four and one haK years. One of the chil- 
dren returned after nine years' captivity. 


In the fall of 1826, soon after the great August freshet, the 
writer from Sutton attended a select school at Manning Seamans's, 
New London, kept by Enoch Hale, of Keene. Among the students 
were two daughters of Hon. Jonathan and one daughter of Col. 
John Harvey, from Sutton, Benjamin Woodbury, Jeremiah Shep- 
ard, Augustus Seamans and his sister Caroline, Susan Greeley, a 
young, beautiful, and accomplished lady, several daughters of Dea. 
David Everett, Hannah, daughter of Green French, Esq., if we 
mistake not a young son and daughter of then Col. Anthony Colby, 
and others, in all about thirty. The daughter of Gov. Colby, Susan 
E. Colby, subsequently became the principal of the female depart- 
ment of the New Hampton Institution, when under the control of 
the Bajjtist denomination. After the removal of the institute to 
New London she took charge of the female department for several 
years. Soon after, she married James Colgate, Esq., a wealthy 
banker of New York city. Mr. Colgate probably has done more, 
personally and financially, for the support of the Baptist denomina- 
tion in this state than any other person living. Her brother, Gen. 
Daniel E. Colby, graduated at Dartmouth college, was long a mer- 
chant at Scytlieville (then an obscure part of the town), has often 
been town officer, and succeeded his father as adjutant-general, and 
also as resident on the old homestead of his father and grandfather 
in New London. 

Among the leading men in this vicinity who are favorably re- 
membered were James Colby, an early settler of the town, father 
of Gov. Colby, and once representative from Sutton and New Lon- 
don when classed together, who was early a prominent magistrate 
and business man in town ; Daniel Woodbury, Esq., who had a 
large and respectable family ; Jonathan Greeley, Esq., noted for 
piety, prudence, and wealth ; Green French, Esq., once a promi- 
nent man in Sutton, where he had served as selectman and held 
other offices, was an extensive farmer and noted Free Mason ; Col. 


Perley Burpee, who married a daughter of Joseph Colby, was an 
extensive business man and farmer ; his wife survives him, and is 
much respected and beloved, as was her mother, who was a lady of 
superior ability. 

In the winters of 1833-'34 the writer was engaged in teaching 
school on the Low Plains, so called, in New London. Among the 
students at this time were Robert Stinson, with a brother and two 
sisters. Sylvan Hunting and brothers, James Woodbury, a number 
of children of John Fisk, several sons and daughters of Capt. Otis 
Everett, three sons and one daughter of John Hayes, one son and 
daughter of James Hayes, two daughters of EUphalet Gay, a son and 
daughter of David Gay (the daughter is now the wife of E. T. 
Sibley, scythe manufacturer and a prominent man of Newport), sev- 
eral sons of Daniel Potter (who was deputy sheriff), two sons and 
one daughter of Joseph Kimball (where we boarded), several of the 
family of Samuel Shepard, James and Thomas, sons of Ebenezer 
Shepard, two or three sons of Abel Wheeler, and others, — in all 
about forty-five. 

Robert Stinson and Sylvan Hunting became clergymen ; Arelii- 
bald Hayes was an attorney-at-law, went west, and died there ; his 
brothers, Jolm M., and Orrin T., Hayes, have been prominent busi- 
ness and political men. In this school there was more than the 
usual amount of talent and scholarship. On Low Plain at this 
time resided William, Eliijhalet, David, and Asa Gay, Ebenezer 
and Samuel Shepard, John and James Hayes, Capt. Otis Everett, 
James Stinson, Daniel Potter, Daniel Woodbury, Esq., John Fisk, 
Jared Himtmg, Mr. Morrill, Mr. Heath, Ira Smith, Joseph Trus- 
sell, and his brother, John Trussell, Esq., and others. Perhaps the 
two last named are the only survivors of the above named, and 
they are childless. 

Among other men of the town at this time were Capt. Amos 
Currier, Capt. John Pike, and his father Lieut. Thomas Pike, Capt. 
John Morgan, an early settler and the progenitor of the Morgans 
of New London. There were several families of Davises, Knowl- 
tons, Sargents, and Burpees living in the westerly part of the 
town ; John Sargent lived near Pleasant pond. The eight Sargent 
brothers, and several sisters, were noted for longevity, industry, and 
economy. The mother of Hon. Jonathan Harvey and Gov. Mat- 
thew Harvey, of Sutton, was a Sargent from Weare, and connected 
with the Sargents of New London. 


Capt. Moses S. Harvey, once of Sutton, was a man of marked 
ability and scholarly attainments. In liis last days he was judge of 
probate for Lake coimty, Ohio. His son, Thomas W. Harvey, has 
been many years commissioner of common schools for the state of 
Ohio. We might refer to many others, but perhaps this article is 
already too lengthy. 


Moderator — John Pressey. 

Town-Clerk — Daniel L. Powers. 

Selectmen — George C. PHlsbury, John S. Andrews, George Rob- 

Treasurer — James B. Richards. 

School Board — John Pressey, S. N. Welch, M, D., Levi W. 
Clough, M. D. 

Auditors — Moses L. Pillsbury, Milton B. Wadleigh. 

Appropriat ions. 

Schools, $1,200 

Text-books, . 200 

School-house, ........ 300 

Town charges, ....... 400 

m^ii^ ■^m^m.-y/. 










1 ^fyfi