(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The history of Swanzey, New Hampshire, from 1734 to 1890"

d9T 



Mxhr^rp xjrf 





M^ecltttatogg 







w 



N, 



N 



/ 



MAP OF BWJkM^mY. 

■ 18!)0 ■ 



KEBNB 




WINCHESTER 






t 1 



SOUTH 




Hon. Benjamin Read. 



THE 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY^ 

NEW HAMPSHIRE, 

FROM 
1734 TO 1890. 



BY 

BENJAMIN READ. 



Our fathers' God', from out thy hands 
The centuries drop like grains of sand. 

— Whittier. 



SALEM, MASS.: 

The Salem Press Publishing and Printing Co. 

"Cbc Salem press. 

1892. 






^ 



^^ 






PREFACE 



The desire to know the history of one's ancestors, to perpetuate 
the heroism and noble deeds of his forefathers, is well nigh universal. 
This feeling is not limited to civilized society, it is not peculiar to 
people who have a written language. The wild Indian of the forest, 
knowing nothing of letters, in his own peculiar way recounts to his 
children the exploits of his fathers, and tradition does for him in part 
what the historian does for an enlightened people. 

It has long been the feeling of many of the citizens of Swanzey, of 

those who love their home and revere the memory of those who have 

gone before them, of those whose interests are identified with the 

-J- welfare of the town, that some measures should be taken to arrange, 

vO preserve, and put in a readable form the record of those events in our 
CM ^ 

^ early history which could be obtained, and which were worthy of 

preservation. 

In 1856, Joseph Hammond, jr., Avas employed to copy some of the 
ancient town records, many of which were almost obliterated and un- 
intelligible. 

In the warrant for the annual meeting in 1880 an article was in- 
serted to see if the town Avould take measures to publish its early 
history and raise money for the same. At this meeting A. A. Ware, 
Benjamin Read, G. I. Cutler and H. H. Saunderson were chosen a 
committee to investigate in regard to cost, etc., and report at the next 
annual meeting. A similar article was inserted in 1881 and a verbal 
report made at the meeting by the committee. The town, on the plea 
of the existing indebtedness, voted to dismiss the article. In 1882 
an attempt was again made but failed as before. In 1884 the town 
" voted to raise five hundred dollars to be expended by the selectmen 
towards writing and publishing the history of Swanzey." 

Ciii) 



1 



IV PREFACE. 

During the season Beujamin Read was employed to commence the 
work and $226,52 was paid him for labor in collecting data for the 
genealogical part of the history. 

In March, 1885, it was "voted to raise five hundred dollars for 
the completion of the town history in addition to what was raised last 
year for this purpose. 

"Voted that Joseph Hammond, Alonzo A. Ware and George I. Cut- 
ler be the committee for the completion of the same." 

As Mr. Read had commenced the Avork it was thought best to 
employ him to complete it, which they did, contracting as follows : — 

" Said Read agrees to write said history containing about seven 
hundred pages and four hundred words lo a page, dating from the 
earliest settlement of the township lo the present time — to faruisli nil 
diagrams and plans — exclusive of engravings — necessary to illustrate 
the same, and to complete the whole in a workmanlike manner to the 
satisfaction of the committee and ready for the press b}^ April 1, 
1886. Said committee in behalf of said town agree to pay said Road 
for doing said work the sum of seven hundred dollars including the 
amount he has already received for the same from the town, to be paid 
in proportional instalments as the work progresses and is examined 
and approved by said committee. All material prepared by said Read 
for which he has or shall have received pay shall be the property of 
the town subject to the disposal of the committee." 
This contract was dated March 30, 1885. 

In consequence of Mr. Read's finding the work of greater magni- 
tude than he supposed, and of other employments which claimed his 
attention, its completion has been delayed and the histor}' brought 
down to the present date. 

The township map has been prepared expressly for the book and 
gives the names of the resident population in 1890. 

Stvanzey, N. II., August, 1892. 



CONTENTS. 



Page 
Preface ......... iii 

Contexts v 

List of Portraits, Illustrations and Maps . . ix 

Corrigenda ......... xi 

Introductory ........ xiii 

Chapter I. Topography — Situation, "Water-courses, Min- 
erals, Soil, Forest Trees, Fruits, Animals ... 1 
Chapter II. The Indians of the Connecticut and Ashue- 

lot Valleys ........ 11 

Chapter III. General Outline History — Township 
granted, Names of Grantees, Proprietors' Records, Di- 
visions of Land, Settlement of Province Boundary Line, 
New Hampshire Charter, Land annexed from Richmond, 
Disannexed to other towns, Committee of Safety, Beef 
Tax, Vermont Controversy, Warning out of town, Paper- 
money, Names of Settlers, Employment of the People, 
Food, Dress, Farming and Household Implements, "Wages. 35 

Chapter IV. Military Affairs. — Early military move- 
ments during the Revolutionary "War, Soldiers at Bunker 
Hill, Cambridge, Canada, Ticonderoga, etc.. Col. Ham- 
mond's Ride, Beef for the Army, Bounties and Payments 
to soldiers, "War of 1812, Action of the Town in the "War 
of the Rel)ellion, Enlistment Drafts, Bounties Paid, Sol- 
diers' Individual Record, Military Laws, Trainings and 
Musters, Swanzey's Military Companies, Cavalry, Artil- 
lery, Rifle Company, Officers of each. .... 102 

Chapter V. Ecclesiastical — Congregational Church, 
Formation, Early History, Members, Ministers, Officers, 
Parsonage, Congregational Society, Names of Members, 
Officers, Ladies' Society, Sunday School, Church Choir, 
Society Funds, Meeting-Houses, Baptist Ciuirch, Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church, Universalist Society. . . 154 

(V) 



VI CONTENTS. 

Chapter VI. Educational — Early Votes pertaining to 
Schools, School Districts, Scliool Houses, Apparatus, Su- 
pervision, Superintending School Committee, Board of 
Education, Appropriations, Division of Scliool Money, 
High School, Teachers, Text books. Spelling Schools, 
School Associations, Swanzey Academy, Libraries, Chau- 
tauqua L. & S. Circle ....... 184 

Chapter VII. Highways and Bridges — Boston Roads, 
Early la3'Outs, Specimen Record, Sundry Roads, when built, 
Old Turnpilces, Rates of Toll, "California" Road, "Willis" 
Road, Bridges, when built, Cost of Construction, High- 
way Surveyors, Prices of Labor ..... 201 

Chapter VIII. Notes for State Officers, Pkesidential 

Electors, etc. — Lists of Town officers, etc. . . . 207 

Chapter IX. Swanzey Industries — Industries of West 
Swanzey, Factory Village, East Swaiize}', Westport, 
Spragueville, Swanzey Centi'e, Graves' Place, Wilcox 
Shop, Lane Mill on Bridge Brook, Other Mills, Stores, 
Hotels, Brick-making, Tanneries, Palm-leaf Hats . . 220 

Chapter X. Miscellaneous — Fatal Accidents, Murders, 
Small Pox, Svvanze}- Cemeteries, Revolutionary Pensioneis 
iu 1840, Epidemic at Westport, Professional Men, Mail 
Carrying and Postmasters, Town Debt, Town Paupers, 
Marking Sheep, A Rolling Stone, Rain and Snow Storms, 
Cold Year, Grasshopper Year, Temperance, Boating on 
the Ashuelot River, Justices of the Peace, Supervisors of 
the Check List, Great Snow Storm, Secret Societies, 
Bear and Wolf Stories 249 

GENEALOGIES. 
Chapter XL Genealogical Records. .... 271 

Abbott, Adams, 271; Alexander, 272 ; Albee, Aldrich, 273; An- 
derson, 277 ; Angier, Api)lin, 278 ; Austin, Atkinson, Avery, 281. 

Babbit, Bailey, 281 ; Balch, Ball, 282 ; Baldwin, Ballon, 283 ; Banks, 
286; Barden, Bartlett, Barrett, Battles, Bates, Baxter, 287 ; Beal, 
Belding, 288 ; Bennett, 290 ; Beverstock, Bidwell, Bishop, 293 ; Blaci-., 
Blake, 294 ; Bliss, Blodgett, BoUes, 295 ; Bourn, 296 ; Bouvier, Bowei . 
Bowles, Boyce, 297 ; Bragg, Breed, Brewer, Bridge, 298 ; Bryant, 
Britton, 299 ; Brooks, Brown, 300; Bucklin, 301 ; Buckman, Bnffiim, 
Billiard, 302; Bullock, Bump, 303 ; Burke, Burnham, Byam, 304. 



CONTENTS. Vll 

Calkins, 304 ; Caproii, 805 ; Carlton, 306 ; Carpenter, 307 ; Carr, 
309 : Carter, Cass, 310 ; Chamberlain, Claric, 311 ; Cobnrn, 312 ; Col- 
lier, Conboy, Converse, Combs, Cooic, 313; Cooper, Corlis, Corey, 
Cram, 315 ; Cresson, Cross, 316 ; Crossett, Cronch, 319 ; Cummings, 
320; Curtis, 322; Cutler, 323. 

Danforlh, Daniels, Dnvidson, Darling, 323 ; Day, Dickerinan, 324; 
Derby, Dickinson, 325 ; Dodge, Dolby, Downing, 328 ; Draper, 
Drewry, Dunham, Dunton, Dnrant, Duston, Dvvinnel, 329. 

Eames, 330; Eastman, Eaton, 332; Ellis, 333; Ellor, Emerson, 
334 ; Emery, Evans, Eveletli, 335. 

Fairbanks, Faulkner, Farnsworth, Farr, 336 ; Farris, Fassett, Fes- 
senden. Field, 337; Fifield, Fish, 338 ; Fitzgerald, Flint, 339 ; Fol- 
let, Forhush, Forrestall, Foster, 340; Fowler, Fox, 341; Franklin, 
Frary, Freeman, French, Frink, 342; Frost, Fuller, 343. 

Gary, Gates, Gay, 344; Gilmore, Goddard, 345; Good ell, Good- 
hue. Goodnow, Graves, 346; Granger, Greene, 348; Greenleaf, 349 ; 
Griffith, Grimes, 350; Grogan, Guild, 351 ; Gunn, 352. 

Hale, 353; Hall, Hamblet, 354 ; Hammond, 355 ; Handy, Hanra- 
han, 361 ; Hardy, Hare, Harris, 362; Harvey, 363; Haskell, Hast- 
ings, 364 ; Hazeu, Hayes, Healey, Heaton, 365 ; Heffron, Henry, 366 ; 
Hewes, 367; Higgins, Hill, 368; Hills, 371; Holbrook, 373; Hol- 
man, Hosley, Holdeu, Houghton, Hovey, 380 ; Howard, 381 ; Howe, 
382; Howes, 383; Hunt, 384; Huntly, 385. 

Inman, Iredale, 385. 

Jackson, 386 ; Jerome, Johnson, 387. 

Kendall, Kiblin, Kidder, Kimball, 387 ; King, Kingsbury, Kinney, 
388; Knight, 389. 

Lamson, Lane, 389 ; Lawrence, Leach, 394 ; Lebourveau, Leon- 
ard, 395; Lewis, Lincoln, Locke, Lombard, 396; Lonergan, Long, 
397; Lord, Loveland, 398; Lovering, Lyman, 399. 

Mack, Mann, McFarland, Mansfield, 399; Marble, Marcy, Marsh, 
400 ; Marshall, Martin, Marvin, Mason, 401 ; Matthews, 403 ; Meadi 
Mellen, Merriam, 404 ; Metcalf, Moore, 405 ; Morse, 406 ; Munsell, 
Murdock, Murdough, Murphy, 407. 

Nadow, Nason, Naylon, Nelson, Newell, Newton, 408 ; Nichols, 
Nicholson, Nittrowr, Norwood, 409. 

Oakman, 409 ; Ockington, Olcott, 410 ; Oliver, Osborn, Osgood, 411. 

Page, 412 ; Palmer, Parker, 414; Parkinson, Parsons, 415 ; Patch, 
Partridge, Peasley, 417 ; Perham, Peck, Pelkey, Perry, 418 ; Peters, 
419; Fluff, Plumraer, Pierce, Pomroy, 421 ; Porter, Potter, Prentice, 
422; Prime, 423; Prouty, Puffer, 424. 



VIU CONTENTS. 

Quinn, 424. 

Ramsey, Rjimsdell, Raj'mond, 424; Randall, 426; Read, 427; 
Reed, 432; Rice, Rich, Richardson, 433; Rider, Ripley, Rixford, 
Robbins, 437; Roble}', Rogers, Robinson, Rockwood, 438; Rugg, 
439 ; Russell, 440. 

Sargent, Savv^-er, 440; Scott, Seaver, 442; Sebastian, Sebastin, 
444; Sherman, Siinonds, Slate, 445; Smalle}', Smead, 446 ; Smith, 
Snell, Snow, 447 ; Southworth, Sparliawk, Si)()fFord, 449 ; Sprague, 
Spring, Stanley, 450 ; Stanton, Slarkey, 451 ; Stearns, 455 ; Steven- 
son, Stei)henson, 457 ; Stoddard, Stone, 459 ; Stowell, Stratton, 461 ; 
Streeter, 463 ; Sumner, 464. 

Taft, 465; Taggard, Talbot, 468 ; Taylor, Temple, Thatcher, 469 ; 
Thayer, Thompson, 470 ; Thorning, Tovvne, Trask, 475 ; Trowbridge, 
476 ; Tucker, Twitchel, 477. 

Underwood, 478. 

Verry, 478. 

Ward, 479 ; Ware, 480 ; Warner, Warren, Watson, 481; Weeks, 
Wetherbee, Wheeler, 482; Wheelock, Whitcomb, 483 ; Whittaker, 
White, 494; Wilcox, Wilder, Willard, 495 ; Willis, Williams, 496; 
Wilson, 497 ; Winch, Witiiington, Wood, Woodcock, 499 ; Woodward, 
501 ; Worcester, 502; Wright, 503. 

Young, 504. 

CHAPfER XII. Biographical and Supplementary — Indi- 
vidual biographies, alphabetically arranged . . . 505 
Appendix. Thomas Cresson's Will, Additional Records, etc. 575 
Index .......... 581 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Hon. Benjamin Read. 



. Frontispiece 



opp. Page 

8 
16 
48 



VIEWS. 

View of West Swanzey, from Marc}- Hill, looking west 
Boulder by C. H. Holbrook's House, near West Swanzey 
Main Street, West Swanzey, looking west 
Congregational Meeting House, Swanzey Centre, with 

INIt. CfEsar in backsjround facino; east .... 154 

Town House and Mt, C^sar Union Library, Swanzey 

Centre, facing west ....... 169 

View of Baptist and Universalist Meeting Houses, West 

Swanzey, looking westerly . . . . . . 176 

School House, West Swanzey, facing east .... 185 

School House, No. 8, on Maple Hill .... 192 

School House, East Swanzey, facing east . . . 200 

Winchester Street, West Swanzey, looking south . 206 



Stephen Faulkner, 
Albert B. Read, 



520 
543 



Simeon Cook 

G. L Cutler, M.D. 

Henry Fames 

George W. Gay, M.D. 

Joseph Hammond 

Charles Holbrook 

Mellen R. Holbrook 

Enoch Howes 

Hon. Asa S. Kendall 



516 
518 
331 
524 
359 
528 
373 
381 
216 



(ix) 



VIU CONTENTS. 

Quinn, 424. 

Ramsey, Rjimsdell, Ra^-mond, 424; Randall, 426; Read, 427; 
Reed, 432; Rice, Ricli, Richardson, 433; Rider, Ripley, Rixford, 
Robbins, 437 ; Robley, Rogers, Robinson, Rockwood, 438 ; Rugg, 
439 ; Russell, 440. 

Sargent, Sawyer, 440; Scott, Seaver, 442; Sebastian, Sebastin, 
444; Sherman, Simonds, Slate, 445; Snialle}', Smead, 446 ; Smith, 
Snell, Snow, 447 ; Southworth, Sparhavvk, SpofFord, 449 ; Spragne, 
Spring, Stanley, 450; Stanton, Starkey, 451 ; Stearns, 455; Steven- 
son, Stei)henson, 457 ; Stoddard, Stone, 459 ; Stowell, Stratton, 461 ; 
Streeter, 463; Sumner, 464. 

Taft, 465 ; Taggard, Tall)ot, 468 ; Taylor, Temple, Thatcher, 469 ; 
Thayer, Thompson, 470 ; Thorning, Towne,Trask, 475 ; Trowbridge, 
476; Tucker, Twitcliel, 477. 

Underwood, 478. 

Verry, 478. 

Ward, 479 ; Ware, 480 ; AVainer, Warren, Watson, 481 ; Weeks, 
Wetherbee, Wheeler, 482; Wheelock, Whitcoml), 483 ; Whittaker, 
White, 494; Wilcox, Wilder, Willard, 495 ; Willis, AVilliams, 496; 
Wilson, 497 ; Winch, Withington, Wood, Wt>odcock, 499 ; Woodward, 
501 ; Worcester, 502 ; Wright, 503. 

Young, 504. 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Hon. Benjamin Read. 



Frontispiece 



VIEWS. 

View of West Swanzey, from Marc}' Hill, looking west 
Boulder by C. H. Holbrook's House, near West Swanzey 
Main Street, West Swanzey, looking west 
Congregational Meeting House, Swanzey Centre, with 

Mt. Caesar in backgronnd facing east .... 
Town House and Mt. C^sar Union Library, Swanzey 

Centre, facing west ....... 

View of Baptist and Universalis! Meeting Houses, West 

Swanzey, looking westerly ...... 

School House, West Swanzey, facing east .... 

School House, No. 8, on Maple Hill .... 

School House, East Swanzey, facing east 
Winchester Street, West Swanzey, looking sonth 



OFF. Page 

8 
16 

48 



facing frontispiece 



MAPS. 

Map of Swanzey .... 

Plot of Swanzey, 1747 ....... 

Plan of Swanzky, 1762 ...... 

West Swanzey, Swanzey Factory Village, Westport, 
East Swanzey, ........ 



portraits. 



Simeon Cook 

G. I. Cutler, M.D. 

Henry Eames 

George W. Gay, M.D. 

Joseph Hammond 

Charles Holbrook 

Mellen R. Holbrook 

Enoch Howes 

Hon. Asa S. Kendall 



154 

169 

176 
185 
192 

200 
206 



46 

59 

72 



516 
518 
331 
524 
359 
528 
373 
381 
216 



(ix) 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Benjamin F. Lombard 


533 


David Parsons ...... 


104 


Josiah Parsons 


540 


Edwin F. Kkad ..... 


429 


Edwin M. Read ..... 


. . 430 


N. Henry Richardson .... 


544 


Rev. Ei-isiia Rockwood, D D. 


IGO 


C. L. Russell ...... 


88 


0. Sprague ....... 


241 


Area Stearns ...... 


549 


Edmund Stone 


245 


Emery W. Stratton 


128 


George "W. Stratton ..... 


556 


Isaac Siratton 


224 


John Stratton 


461 


Denman Thompson .... 


562 


RuFus Thompson 


471 


Alonzo a. Ware ..... 


564 


Thomas J. Wetherbee ..... 


144 


H. R. WlIITCOMB ..... 


301 


George E. Whitcomb 


112 


Irvine A. Whitcomb .... 


567 


RoswELL Whitcomb ..... 


484 


Hubbard Williams ..... 


348 


Julius E. Wilson ...... 


498 



CORRIGENDA. 



Page 64, line 12 from top, for Pelitia Kazey read Peletiah Uazey. 
Page 108, last line, for Niools, read Nichols. 

Pages 128, 140 and 152 for Aaron, Aaron B., and Aaron A. read 
Aaron H Sumner. 

Page 130, line 9 from top, for George Jackson read George H. Jack- 



son. 



Page 131, line 21 from top, for George Willis read George G. Willis. 

Page 191, line 31 from top, for taught read introduced. 

Pages 202, 203, 247, for Zina Taft read Zina G. Taft. 

Page 241, line 3 from top, for Luman Seaver read Luraan B. Sea- 
ver. 

Page 246, line 5 from top, for John Fitzgerald read Thomas Han- 
rahan. 

Page 247, line 20 from top, for Henry Morse 2d, read Henry R. 
Morse. 

Page 346, line 3 from bottom, for Elijah read Elisha. 

Page 353, line 13 from top, for 1872 read 1873 ; for March 9 read 
May 9. 

Page 361, line 24 from top, for Clara read Flora. 

Page 387, line 22 from top, for Roy read Ray ; line 23 from top, for 
Martin E. read Mertie E. m. Charles R. Weeks. 

Page 389, line 26 from top, for Baker read Brown. 

Page 403, line 3 from top, for Rush read Ruth, 

Page 413, line 3 from top, for Lyman read Rufus. 

Page 415, line 2 from top, for Ann read Anna. 

Page 419, line 29 from top, for Vt. read 3fass. 

Page 463, line 9 from top, for July 26, read Jan. 26, and for 1854 
read 1857. 

Page 465, line 25 from top, for Aug. 30 read June, and line 26 
from top after May 30 read 1832. 

Page 482, line 7 from top, after Ellen S. read daughter of Augus- 
tus Gee; line 22 from top, for 1881 read 1841. 

Page 483, line 2 from top, for Benjamin read Abel. 

Page 499, line 13 from top, after d. read lives in Westmoreland. 

(xi; 



INTRODUCTION 



In commencing to write the history of Swanzey, the compiler but 
partially realized the amount of labor to be performed or the difficul- 
ties to be surmounted in its execution. 

More than one hundred and fifty years had elapsed since the town 
was first settled. During that time no attempt had been made by 
any one, to the writer's knowledge, to arrange and put in a connected 
form the events of the past. 

The principal sources relied upon for data have been the public 
records of the proprietors and those of the town. Both of these are 
somewhat defective — a part of each being lost. The missing volume 
of the latter, and the most important, includes the years from 1794 
to 1815. During this period the second meeting (town) house was 
built, and the war with Great Britain occurred. Information drawn 
from other sources partially fills these gaps. The records of the 
Congregational and Baptist churches have been very well kept and 
preserved — the former dating back to 1741, and the latter to the be- 
ginning of the year 1792. Valuable statistics have been obtained 
from both. Old family Bibles, the original owners of which have long 
since passed away, give the dates of births, marriages and deaths of 
many of former generations. The gravestones in our cemeteries 
likewise tell the story of the past. All these and many other relics 
have been consulted, together with state, county and army records. 
Histories of towns in this immediate vicinity, and also some of those 
whence the first settlers came, have been called into requisition. By 
careful inquiry, traditional information has been obtained and embod- 
ied in the work that might otherwise soon have passed into oblivion. 
Much credit is due the late Isaac \V. Hammoud (a native of this 
county and whose ancestors lived in this town), state historian and 

(xiii) 



o 

Xiv INTRODUCTION. 

compiler of historical sketches, for the interest he has manifested in 
the success of this enterprise, and his readiness in furnishing data 
from the archives at Concord. It maybe proper to add that the com- 
mittee chosen by the town to supervise the writing and publication of 
this history, have generally acquiesced in the plan and general feat- 
ures of the work as outlined by the compiler, but in a few instances 
they have chosen to differ from him and take the responsibility of the 
changes they have caused to be made. 

Although entire accuracy in statement has been aimed at, it is 
probable that many errors, especially in the genealogical part of the 
work, will be discovered. These, if properly noted and corrected, 
will enable the historian in after years to give a more reliable history 
to our children. 

Sivanzey, 1892. Benjamin Rkad. 



CHAPTER I. 

Topography. 



Situation — Water- Courses — Minerals— Soil — Forest Trees — Fruits 
— Wild Animals— Birds— Fish — Sxakes. 

THE town of Swanzey lies some five miles to the south of Keene 
nearly in the central part of Cheshire county and in the valley 
of the Ashuelot upon what was once the bottom of a lake. 

The following extract from Professor Hitchcock's Report of the Ge- 
ological Survey of the State is illustrative of the character of this val- 
ley about Swanzey : 

"The i)rincipal valley of Cheshire county has its widest development 
in Keene and Swanze}'. When the ice melted here, this basin con- 
tained for a short time a bod}^ of water somewhat larger and probably 
deeper than Sunapee lake, which soon became filled by the alluvium 
of floods which the retreating ice-sheet sent dovvn by every tributary 
from north, east and south. The Ashuelot river flows throuo;h this 
basin, lying near its east side above Keene, but crosses to its west side 
in the north part of Swanzey. Its west portion in Keene is drained 
by the last four miles of Ash Swamp brook. Three miles south from 
Keene the Ashuelot liver finds an avenue westward, alono; which it is 
also bordered hy low modified drift for several miles. The straight 
valley, however, continues to the south through Swanzey, being oc- 
cupied by the South branch and Pond brook, with an alluvial area 
which decreases from one mile to one-third of a mile in width. We, 
thus here find a valley ten miles long from north to south, filled with 
nearly level deposits which are but slightly higher than the streams and 
bordered by steep and nearly continuous ranges of hills which rise 
from 400 to 600 feet upon each side. This alluvium consists, almost 
everywhere, of sand or tine gravel, perhaps extensively underlain by 

(1) 



Z HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

clay which is worked for brick-making near the south edge of the city 
of Keene. Its heiglit is from 10 to 40 feet near the river, and the 
whole plain was originally' of the same height with the higiiest pro- 
portions, which still occupy the greatest part of the alluvial area. 
These are generall}- separated from the lower interval b}' steep escarp- 
ments, which show that the difference in height is due to excavation 
b}'^ the river. In the south part of Swanze}' we find occasional ter- 
races, which are sometimes of coarse gravel, from sixty to seventy 
feet above South Branch, showing that much material at first depos- 
ited here was afterwards channelled out b^' this stream and carried 
northward to the broad, low plains." 

Thus, it will be seen, that three general divisions characterize the 
surface of Swanzey. The first includes that which is elevated above 
the plains, the second the plains, the third the intervals and mead- 
ows. 

The hills and mountains are of granitic formation, generally un- 
even, and some of them quite rough. Several of the higiiest eleva- 
tions are designated mountains and are several hundred feet higher 
than the adjacent plains. 

The mountains are Mount Huggins, which is in the northeast corner 
of the town ; Mount Cresson, west of the Ashuelot river, about a mile 
from the Keene line ; Mount Cffisar near the central part of the town ; 
Peaked mountain in the southwest corner and Franklin mountain at 
the northern base of which is " Westport ;" " Pine Hill" in the north- 
western part of the town, at the north spur of which "stood the 
home" of Joseph Cross, and "Cobble Hill," near the home of the 
late John Grimes. All are interesting places to visit. 

Everywhere upon uplands, hills and mountains are to be seen the 
effects of the glacial period. In many places there are extensive drift 
formations, of which a most noticeable one is at East Swanzey. On 
many of the hills and mountains the loose rocks have been swept 
away, leaving the underlying rocks smoothed off by the moving gla- 
cier. Boulders are profusely distributed, large ones often lying upon 
the drifi, having been rounded and smoothed. Many large ones are 
to be seen high up on the hills and mountains. A large one lies on 
the top of Mount Cifisar, The most conspicuous boulder is near 
Charles Ilolbrook's house. It is of innnense size and lies upon a solid 
granite surface, onl^' a small central part touching tlie rock beneath, 
giving it a prominent appearance. It has sheltered man}' flocks of 
gheep from the summer's heat and winter's storm. 

The boulders generally come from hills and mountains not far away. 



TOPOGRAPHY. 6 

but some of them came from places evidentlj' quite distant. They 
must have been distributed at a period previous to the time when the 
surface of the lowlands was formed and are not often to be seen 
above the surface, having been buried to the depth of man}' feet un- 
der cla}' and sand. 

After the upheavals that raised our hills and mountains ; after the}'- 
had been ploughed and ground by the glacier ; after the glacier had 
distributed the earths and rocks, leaving them profusely scattered 
from the lowest valley to the highest mountain ; after heat and frost, 
rain and atmosphere had disintegrated the surface rocks ; after an im- 
mense amount of movable material had b}' mighty floods been brought 
into the lake, and after this material had been levelled and smoothed 
by the ceaseless motion of its water, then the barrier which had kept 
the valley a lake for ages gradual!}' wore away and the valley ceased 
to be a lake. 

The formation of rivers and brooks followed the draining of the 
lake ; and from that time to the present their currents have been mould- 
ing much of the surface into its present form. 

Much the largest river in Swanzey is the Ashuelot. It enters the 
town nearly at the centre of the north line and flows in a south and 
southwesterly direction. It has cut down to the primitive rocks in three 
places, — at Westport, at West Swanzey, and at a place less than two 
miles above West Swanzey. Before it was obstructed by dams, it had 
a fall of some twenty-four feet in passing a distance of about six 
miles in the town ; ten feet of this fall were at Westport, ten at West 
Swanzey and four feet above West Swanzey. Its channel is gener- 
ally deep and its movement sluggish. 

Much the largest of the other streams is the South branch which 
enters the town from the southwest corner of Marlborough, flows 
some three miles in a southwesterly direction and then runs about 
five miles west and north, entering the Ashuelot about a mile from 
Keene line. It has not apparently cut down to the primitive rocks 
at any place. For the first three miles it has considerable fall, and 
its bed most of the way is stony. The rest of the way the bed is 
sandy and the fall light. Its fall from the Marlborough line to the 
Ashuelot river is probably somewhat over a hundred feet. 

Pond brook runs from Swanzey pond in an easterly direction to the 
South branch. Its fall is slight. Two small streams enter the town 
from Richmond and connect with Pond brook. The east one has a 
slow current without falls; the west one is smaller and more rapid. 

Hyponeco brook, an Indian name, has its source upon the east side 



4 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

of the Asliuelot rang-e of mountains and reaches the Ashuelot river 
by a circuitous route, a short distance above Westport. 

California broolc has its source in Cliesterfield. Its direction is 
east of south and it enters the Ashuelot between West Swanzey and 
Westport. 

Rixford l)rook runs some distance through the extreme west part of 
Swanzey. It rises in Chesterfield and llows into the Ashuelot in 
Winchester some distance below Swanzey line. 

Swanze}'^ pond is a natural body of water. It is about a mile and 
a half southwest of Swanzey Centre. It covers about one hundred 
acres and is fed by small brooks and springs. The water is quite 
clear and pure. 

MINERALS. 

Swanzey is not a mining town, yet magnetite and graphite exist in 
considerable quantities. Potstone is also found. 

Magnetite is found in such quantities in some parts of the state 
that efforts have been made to mine it, especially' at the Franconia 
mine in Lisbon. In Swanzey may be found verj' good specimens of 
the crystal, especially toward the Marlboi*ough line. 

Graphite or plumbago occurs in the rocks of Swanzey, but not to an 
extent to justify mining operations as at Nelson or Goshen. 

From the northwest side of Franklin mountain, stone was quarried 
for the Episcopal church in Keene. The ridges of gneiss crop out in 
several places in Swanzey, especially east of Swanzey pond. 

SOIL. 

The State of New Hampshire is covered with soil of four kinds. 
The Connecticut valley is covered with a soil derived from calcareous 
rocks, and it is this soil which is the richest and most valuable of the 
four ; but as we pass to the eastward we reach a basin composed of 
gneissic and granitic soils, which has the least value of all. It is in 
this basin that Swanzey lies. 

The greater part of the state is underlain by gneiss, — practically 
the same as granite — but which produces a better soil than granite. 
The soluble element present is usually' potash, from ten to twelve per 
cent, a valuable substance to be added to the soil. 

When the land in Swanzey was first cleared, the soil, enriched by 
vegetation, produced excellent crops, but when subjected to the ordi- 
naiT operations of farming soon became exhausted. 

The inevitable result has been that lands once occupied as farms 



TOPOGRAPHY. O 

liave been abandoned, and the cellar holes and other remains are all 
that exist to show where was once the home of a prosperous farmer. 

There still remains, however, considerable land in the hills which 
produces good crops and upon which the owners still live, and there 
is no probability, with the improvements in farming now in vogue, 
that they will ever be abandoned. 

The plains of the town are quite extensive, and it is upon these 
plains that most of the varied crops of r^'e, corn, beans and buck- 
wheat have been raised, together with flax, oats and potatoes. 

The quantity of hay cut upon the plains has always been comp'ira- 
tively small. The soil here has not sufficient clay in its composition 
to render it productive without constant enriching, and extended 
droughts, doubtless brought about by the destruction of our forests, 
affect the raising of good crops upon this land. 

The extensive forests, especially upon hills, are the safeguard of the 
farmer. The rains are absorbed and held through their agency and 
the freshets are therefore avoided, while the evaporations take place 
at the spot where the rain fell, not from the lakes and ocean into which 
the streams, swollen by freshets pour ; thus there is a more equal dis- 
tribution of rain in the neighborhood of the hills. 

It is a significant fact that, in the northern portion of the state 
which has less rain than the southern and central portions, the hay 
crops are often above the average the same years that the hay croi)s 
in the south are poor on account of drought. This is because the 
northern portions have extensive forests which hold the moisture dur- 
ing what would otherwise be periods of drought. 

Farm buildings quite generally are located upon the plains and up- 
on this land water may be obtained without excavating to a great 
depth, as there is a solid clay formation below the sand which insures 
a good and pure supply of water. 

A mineral spring in the north part of the town on the border of 
Great meadow has obtained considerable notoriety. 

The large amount of meadow upon the Ashuelot river, the South 
branch and numerous brooks, has been the foundation of most of the 
farming since the town' was settled. Large quantities of hay are taken 
from these meadows annuall}', without the application of manure, 
their production being kept up by occasional overflowing of water. 
They generally have a cla^^ soil, as they lie below the line which sep- 
arates the clay earth from the sandy earth. They are adapted to 
high cultivation and are now much appreciated for this purpose. 



\ 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



FOREST TREES. 

Swanze}', to-day, has but one-third of its surface covered with for- 
est trees. Tliroughout this region the chestnut was once a common 
tree, altliough to-day comparative!}' scarce. 

Before tlie denudation of tlie land of the primitive forest, the 
white pine was tlie most numerous of our forest trees, growing 
everywhere, but particularly adapted to the plains. This tree sup- 
plied the most excellent timber and was highly appreciated by the col- 
onists before the British government caused tlie broad arrow to be af- 
fixed upon the choicest trees as a sign that they were to be used only 
for the King's navy. 

Among other trees of this group the Norwaj' and pitch pine were 
found in some quantity ; tlie first particularly in the southeastern 
corner of the town. 

Hemlock was, next to the pine, the most abundant and was found 
upon the hills and intervales. 

Red oak was more common than white, which was found more es- 
pecially in the southwestern portions. The first of these varieties 
were often of good size. 

Upon the cla3'e3^ soils the elms flourished to a considerable extent, 
such a soil being particularly adapted for their growth. 

Of hard wood trees, the beech was most numerous, while of the 
birches, the white was the most common growing on a lighter soil than 
either the black or yellow variet}'. 

Rock maple occurs in considerable numbers upon the intervales and 
hills, but is not to be considered as one of the principal forest trees. 

Although not so stately as the rock maple, the red, and white, or 
river maple, occur to some extent, and the first, particular!}', was per- 
haps more wide!}' distributed than the red maple. 

One of the trees, once common in the central and western portions 
of the town, yet rare in the eastern, was tlie walnut. The chestnut 
was most abundant in the southwest part. 

Much of the sandy land of the town was congenial to the growth 
of the poplar, and next to the pine and hemlock was the most com- 
mon tree. 

The black and little red cherry were common trees, and to-da}- tlie 
choke clierry, wliich was but little known to the earl}' settlers, is fast 
monopolizing the waysides and river banks. 

Upon the rich moist upland the white asli thrived, and the black ash 
was common upon the swamps and meadows. 



TOPOGRAPHY. 7 

A limited number of basswood and butternuts were found upon 
the uplands, and spruces and buttonwood along the river bottoms and 
swamps. 

The growth of white pine and grey birch is increasing, as much of 
the cleared land has been abandoned and has grown up to brush, 
which easily gives way to the pine and birch. The gradual reclothing 
of our hillsides with forest trees is a matter of great satisfaction to all 
interested in the farming interests of the state. A careful and s^'s- 
teraatic cutting of timber is conducive to the better and healthier 
growth of the remaining trees and at the same time does not injure 
the source from which the profit is derived. We may turn to many of 
the older communities in Ein'ope and learn much in this regard ; for 
there tlie stripping of forests is expressl_y forbidden, 3'et no com- 
plaints are heard, as the owaiers realize it is better to draw a small but 
assured income yearly from the ownership of their forests than to use 
the whole at once and obtain a comparatively small amount, besides 
destroying the great storehouse of moisture. 

FRUITS. 

The blackberry, raspberry, strawberr}'' and blueberry are the prin- 
cipal native fruits and grow extensively upon land which has been 
burned over and partially cleared. The strawberry is most abundant 
upon mowing fields cleared within a few 3-ears. 

The blueberry was not abundant in olden times, but is increasing 
especially in old, moist pastures long since deserted b}' the cattle. 

The wild grape grows upon the intervales and produces yerj' good 
fruit, although the improvement of the land has not tended to better 
its quality. 

WILD ANIMALS. 

The native animals that were known to the earl^'^ settlers and which 
became nearly extinct here many years since, were the wolf, bear, 
catamount, lynx, beaver, otter and deer. Those which caused the in- 
habitants the most annoj'ance were the wolf and bear. It is not known 
that any person in the town ever suftered personal harm by either of 
these animals, but their habits were known to be such that persons 
living in secluded places or travelling through forests remote from 
settlements, were in constant dread of encounterimy them ; this was 
particularly the case with women and children. 

The loss of sheep, caused by the depredations of these animals, was 
a constant annoyance, and the state awarded a bount}^ of six pounds 



8 HISTORY OF SWANZET. 

for the killing of each wolf, and in 1787 Joseph Whitcomb, 3(1, and 
in 1789, Thomas Greene and Jonathan Woodcock each obtained the 
reward. 

The killing of wolves was considered of so much consequence that 
arrangements would be made for a wolf hunt which would draw out 
hundreds of persons, who would surround some dense forest, usually 
a swamp, which was supposed to be the wolves' haunt, and then close 
in from all sides and entrap the animals. 

One of the noted places for these hunts was the swamp in the 
west part of what is now Troy. Some of these wolf lumts were made 
on so extensive a scale as to surround some part of Mt. Monad nock. 

The bear, though less dreaded than the wolf, was not an animal for 
which the people had any particular affection. Night was the time 
for Bruin to take a look about the farm houses and appropriate such 
domestic animals as might have been left exi)Osed to its depredations. 
Incidents have been related as having occurred from apprehension that 
a bear was around one's dwelling which were both laughable and pro- 
voking ; one man having shot in the dark and killed a supposed bear 
prowling about his premises, carried the Qarcass into his house, only 
to be asked by a youngster, " Do bears have hoofs?" The bear be- 
came a black sheep. Another man, mistaking in the dark his black 
cow for a bear, shot and killed it. 

Since the beginning of the present century but few bears or wolves 
have been seen in this vicinity. 

Catamounts were not often encountered even b}'' the first settlers, 
and when they were it was in some secluded place. John Whitcomb, 
1st, and one of the Hammonds, while hunting upon Bear hill in the 
south part of the town, were attracted by the barking of their dog 
to a place where tliey found him in a deep, dark recess of a ledge. 
In their anxiety to ascertain what the dog was barking at, one of them 
crawled into the ledge and soon saw, through the dark, the glare of 
the eyeballs of an animal which he shot with deadly effect; the crea- 
ture, afterward found to be a catamount, jumped and caught the dog 
in its mouth, both d3'ing there together. 

Lynxes and wild-cats were never common, but it may not be said 
that they have become entirely extinct, as occasionally'' reports are 
circulated that one of these animals has been seen or killed. 

It is not probable that beavers were very plentiful here when the town 
was first settled, and the only place the writer has seen wliere they 
lived is on California brook. Some of the old conveyances of land 
upon that brook make mention tliat the land was above or below the 



o 

o 



GO 



< 

I — I 



o 






> 

CXI 



o 







^ 



I 



TOPOGRAPHY. V 

beaver dam. It is probable they did live on otlier brooks, but the fact 
is not authenticated. 

It is known that otters have lingered about some of the waters of 
the town nearly down to the present time. 

Of all the native animals the deer was the favorite with the early 
settlers. Its value for food, its innocent nature and its sportive char- 
acter made the people anxious that it should not become extinct. To 
protect them fro'm wanton destruction, laws were made and deer- 
reeves chosen by the town to see that the laws were enforced. The 
effort was a vain one and but few have been seen in the town for the 
last ninety years. 

The fox, woodchuck, skunk, hedgehog, raccoon, rabbit, musk-rat, 
mink, the grey, red, striped and flying squirrel are here and most of 
them quite as plentiful as they were in former j'ears. 

BIRDS. 

The migration of flocks of wild geese going north in the spring and 
south in the fall is occasionally seen at the [tresent time, but their num- 
ber has been diminisliing from year to year. It is not known that 
they ever had their haunts here during summer. 

The wild turkey was a vakiable bird in early. times. Considerable 
numbers of them once lived where they could feed upon nuts and have 
the south side of a hill for their haunt in the winter. It was nearly 
a hundred years from the time the town was settled before they be- 
came entirely extinct. 

The two birds which have furnished the principal sport for the gun- 
ner are the pigeon and partridge. The pigeons come north in the 
spring in flocks and return south in the fall. After their advent in 
the spring they separate into pairs and are found during summer more 
generally in dense forests than elsewhere. Late in the summer they 
begin to congregate into flocks. Fifty years ago they were so num- 
erous that some men did quite a business in catching them with nets. 
They were attracted to particular places by having grain fed to them 
upon beds, and while eating a net was sprung over them. Often a 
number of dozens were caught at a time. Tlieir numbers have been 
constantly diminishing. Partridges are much hunted, but they do not 
appear to decrease. 

Robins, swallows, martins, wrens and whip-poor-wills are a privi- 
leged class of birds. Seldom have they been destroyed by the most 
reckless bo_y. Robins in the fields and swallows about tlie barn are 
more plentiful than in early years. Very few cages at farmhouses are 



10 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

now provided for martins and wrens, as their numbers have been con- 
stantl}' decreasing. Wliip-poor-wills are likely to flock here in large 
numbers for a summer abode, and their peculiar notes will continue 
to be heard morning and evening. 

Crows and hawks have maintained their existence ngainst all efforts 
for their destruction. Tlie depredations of crows in the corn fields 
and of the hawks in the poultry yards have made them the farmers' 
hated birds ; although a decrease in the number of the latter have 
made them less annoying than formerly. 

Our meadows still resound with the music of the bobolinks and the 
woods with that of the brown thrasher. 

Wild ducks, fish hawks, eagles, owls, cranes, snipes and loons have 
all had their haunts here, but their numbers have been too limited to 
afford sportsmen more than an occasional opportunity to capture 
them. 

FISH. 

Before dams were constructed on the Connecticut and Ashuelot riv- 
ers, salmon, shad and lamprey eels frequented the large streams of 
the town in such numbers that they constituted an important article of 
food. Of the other fish, trout was the most valuable during the early 
j-ears of the settlement. The South branch and some of the large 
brooks once contained many large trout. Refuse from mills has made 
the water uncongenial to this fish. In some streams, anglers have 
not been slow in their efforts to capture the shiniug beauties; con- 
sequentl}' but few trout of good size are to be found in an}' of the 
streams in the town. Small-sized trout are still quite numerous in 
some of the small brooks. No great change has taken place in the 
size or number of the other native fishes. 

SNAKES. 

Of the snakes it is supposed that the black snake is the only one 
that made its advent here since the town was settled. Quite a sensa- 
tion was created some sixty years ago by a report that a black snake 
had been seen in the southeast part of the town. Since then they 
have been increasing and are now quite common. 

One of the anno3'ances to the inhabitants in earl}' times was the flea. 
The primitive houses and their surroundings afforded means for their 
propagation in large numbers, and their bite was a torment espec- 
ially to children. In recent years people have suflfered but little from 
them. 



CHAPTER II. 

Tlie Indians of the Connecticut and Ashuelot Valleys. 



Indian wigwams and Relics — Statements of Blake and Wheelock— Im- 

PLEAIEXTS at SaXD BaNK— INDIAN DaM— FUENCH AND INDIAN RaIDS AT 
SWANZEY, KEKNE, WlNCHESTEK, HiNSDALE, NORTHFIELD, ClIARLESTOWN 

AND Putney — Men, Women and Children captured, scalped and mur- 
dered—Towns ABANDONED — MuSTER ROLL AT FORTS. 

THE name of the tribe of ludians formerly inhabiting the Ashue- 
lot valley was Squakheag. The territory occupied by the tribe 
extended northward to the headwaters of the Ashuelot river, eastward 
to Mount IMonadnock, south to Miller's river, and several miles west of 
the Connecticut river. This territory was abandoned by the Indians 
several years before it was granted by Massachusetts to the first white 
proprietors. It is not known that there is any deed in existence by 
which the Indians conveyed away these lands, neither is it known that 
they ever complained of having their possessions here wrongfully taken 
from them. It is not definitely known where the Indians went when 
they left here, but probably they mingled with those higher up on the 
Connecticut river, or went to the St. Francis' tribe in Canada. This 
tribe claimed the territory in the northern part of New Hampshire and 
Vermont. They had numerous settlements in different parts of their 
territory, usually near the banks ofthe larger streams, in locations fa- 
vorable for hunting and fishing, raising corn and pumpkins. The 
wiowam was the Indians' habitation. Its common form was circular, 
made of sticks stuck in the ground, converging at the top, and leav- 
ing an aperture for the escape of smoke. Two low openings on op- 
posite sides answered for doors. Boughs of trees and turf served for 
its covering, and skins of animals and mats for most of its furniture. 
The Indians lived mostly on nuts, corn, pumpkins, the flesh of an- 
imals and fish. They had kettles made of soapstone in which they 
boiled vegetables, and other utensils that held water and were used 
in cooking. Hot stones were placed in vessels of water to heat it. 

(11) 



12 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

They used a kind of spit for cooking large pieces of meat. Fish were 
cooked just as they were taken from the Avater ; birds were phieked but 
not otherwise dressed ; small animals were roasted whole and eaten 
Avithout having their entrails taken out. Corn was pounded into coarse 
meal and made into samp ; it was sometimes parched and pounded line, 
mixed with suet and made into balls and called nokake. rumpkins 
were cut into strips and dried in the sun. They smoked and dried fish 
to preserve them. They were expert in killing game with arrows, and 
capturing it with traps and yauk-ups. To kill the trees and burn 
the brush where they wished to raise their corn and pumpkins, fire 
was relied upon, as but a small part of the Indians' time was em- 
ployed in cultivating land ; they naturally incline to live by hunting 
and fishing. 

That there was once a large settlement of Indians at the Sand Bank, 
on the southeast side of Ashuelot river near Sawyer's Crossing, is too 
evident to be doubted. Traces of an irregular fortification inclosing 
several acres of ground still exist. It must have been here that large 
quantities of implements were made for hunting and fishing. Frag- 
ments of hard white quartz, which were broken from the rocks from 
which they made their implements, are now to be seen in the sand. 
These relics were once too common to induce people to preserve them, 
and but few have been collected and they are in possession of Swanzey 
people. The drifting sand Avill soon obliterate and hide from our view 
all these mementos of the race of people that once roamed over these 
plains where we noAv securely dAvell. 

Messrs. Geo. A. Wheelock, Hiram Blake and F. K. Pratt of Keene 
have taken mucli interest in collecting and preserving these Indian 
relics. Mr. Blake has furnished the compiler with a schedule of these 
remains found at the Sand Bank, among which are the following : — 

A stone pestle, fourteen and one-half inches long, avcU finished from 
a hard grey stone ; a chisel, six inches long, well finished; a small 
gouge three and one-half inches long, well finished; an unfinished 
gouge five and one-half inches long, roughly Avorked into shape ; a 
collection of ten arrowheads made of quartz and flint, A'arying from 
one inch to three inches in length, some of Avhicli are very fine 
specimens, seA^eral are broken at the points but most are perfect ; 
a A'ery fine small quartz arroAvhead ; three arroAvheads made of the 
same stone as the chippings or fragments Avhich are still found lying 
about on the Sand Bank — these fragments excepting the quartz, are 
of a stone foreign to this part of the country ; numerous specimens 
or pieces of Indian pottery, some of Avhich show evidence of orna- 
mentation. 



INDIANS. 13 

Ou the farm of Jonas L. Moore were found, by Mr. Pratt, a little 
below the Sand Bank, a large flint spearhead and four flint arrow- 
heads of peculiar shape. On Asa Smith's farm a spearhead four and 
one-half inches long, the top part broken off ; also an arrowhead 
with shank broken, made of flint. 

An arrowhead of jasper, very fine, found by Benjamin Whitcomb 
on his farm at West Swanzey. 

A few years ago as Charles L. Ball was ploughing on the side hill 
south of his house about five rods from the river his plough came 
in contact with what proved to be a human skull and exposed it in 
the furrow, and also twenty-four teeth, and on further examination of 
the ground he ascertained that a grave had been made in the sand 
about two and a half feet long, two feet wide and two feet deep when 
made, and was probably deeper as the surface appeared to have been 
washed or worn away : In the west end and facing the east, in a sit- 
ting posture was the skeleton of a human body ; the hands, arms, 
chest, limbs, spinal column and feet, all, when the earth was removed 
settled in a mass, and was probably that of an Indian girl from fifteen 
to twenty years of age as determined by the size of the frame and po- 
sition of the wisdom teeth. The sex was determined by hip bones and 
pelvis and the absence of such relics and implements in the grave as 
are usually buried with the opposite sex. He also found in the 
same land, arrowheads and two hatchets. The grave was in clear, 
white sand, and that the sand had been moved only within the limits 
of the grave, was distinctly to be seen. Near the river bank were 
some twenty places of from two and a half to three feet in diameter 
where fires seemed to have been kept burning for an indefinite period 
of time, and, from the surroundings and the situation it was an Indi- 
an camping ground for the winter. 

Mr. Blake says : — " The sand bank, so called, is evidently the site 
of an Indian village, and bears strong evidence of having been forti- 
fied. A dark line of earth mixed with ashes and charcoal extends 
nearly around an enclosure of several acres. This may have been the 
line of a palisade or row of stakes stuck in the ground for the purpose 
of defence. The sand has drifted so much of late years that the line 
is very indistinct or nearl}' gone. Old residents of the locality state 
that when they were boys Indian relics were readily picked up on the 
spot, but few of them were preserved. The large quantity of chip- 
pings now found there as well as occasional pieces of pottery, indi- 
cate that these implements of war and domestic economy were made 
on the spot, and that for a time it was a permanent stopping place for 
the Indians." 



14 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Mr. Pratt states that he dug up, near this dark line of earth above 
mentioned, a clay vessel nearly entire, but that it soon crumbled in 
pieces when exposed to the aiv. Mr. Wheelock published in 1888, 
in the Neiv Evglavd Observer, the following descri])tion of the Indian 
dam which is in the Ashuclot river bet^^•«en the Sand Bank and West 
bwanzey : 

" The low water in the Aslnielot, occasioned by the repairs at the 
Swanzey mill has exposed the old traditional Indian dam two miles 
above. Indians were lazy, and this work of theirs is the more sur- 
prising on this account ; perhaps there is nothing like it in the state. 
The river at this point is now almost a rapid and strewn with boulders 
for thirty rods or so. It is less than a hundred feet wide, but the dam 
being in the shape of a harroAv pointing down stream is more than that 
distance. By skilful stepping it is possible to pass the point of the 
harrow, the apex of the dam, and somewhat farther. It is made of 
stones such as a man could lift, picked up in the stream above. It 
varies from six to tvvelve feet in thickness, according to the deptli of 
water. It looks like a tumbled down wall mixed with gravel, but it 
must have cost weeks of labor. It is natural to suppose that the dam 
was made to aid in fishing for salmon ydih nets and spears. Below 
the dam is aflat boulder reached by stepping stones. Here stood the 
young brave and watched the silver-bellied salmon, and struck at him 
with his flint-pointed spear. Near by the old dam lives Jonas L. 
Moore. Here lived his father and grandfather before him. For one 
hundred and thirty years this has been called the Indian dam. Mr. 
Moore's father, in his bo3^hood, used to cross the river on the wall. 
The reason it is now so unknown is because the eel grass in the back 
water of the pond covers and conceals it. The Observer's represen- 
tative was shown a beautiful spearpoint of Twin mountain flint. The 
elder Moore dug up a half peck of arrow and spearheads, all in one 
pocket. They were carelessly left on a stump and lost years ago. 
Some twenty Indian fire-places have been ploughed up here. These 
were simply circles in the middle of the wigwam, paved with stones 
from the river. The Swanzey Antiquarian Society should have a draw- 
ing of this dam showing the two eastern wings and tlie boulder." 

How much of tlie land in the vicinity of the Sand Bank had been 
subject to the rude cultivation practised by the Indians is not known. 
The fact that the first proprietors of Swanzey directed their attention 
to the meadow land on the Asliuelot above the Sand Bank and to tlie 
north part of the meadow on the South Branch, indicates that those 
meadows were found to be in condition to be easily brought under cul- 
tivation. 



INDIANS. 15 

The year 1745 found settlements in Swanzey, Keene, Winchester, 
Hinsdale, Putney and Charlestown. The settlement in most of these 
towns commenced about ten years previous to this time. They had 
now a small population of hardy, industrious people. Meeting houses 
had been built in Keene and Winchester and a schoolhouse in Swan- 
zey. Churches had been formed in Swanzey, Keene and Winchester, 
and ministers settled. Roads had been constructed between some of 
the towns, and in most of the towns a saw mill and a grist mill had 
been built. Much land had been cleared and numerous houses built. 
As already stated the Indians had left the locality before these settle- 
ments commenced and gave the settlers no trouble during these first 
few years. England and France were at war in 1745, and the war was 
transmitted to their colonies in America. 

The St. Francis Indians instigated by the government of Canada, 
and with the Squakheags for allies, commenced the work of burning 
buildings, capturing, scalping and murdering the people of the Eng- 
lish colonies. 

March 26, 1745. The Indians burned the house of Rev. Timothy 
Harrington, of Swanzey. The house stood upon Meeting House Hill 
(on the Carpenter farm). 

July 5. Two Indians took William Phips of Putney as he was hoe- 
ing corn. Wlien they had carried him half a mile one of them went 
down a steep hill to fetch something which had been left. In his ab- 
sence Phips, with his hoe, knocked down the Indian who was with 
him, and then seizing the Indian's gun shot the other as he ascended 
the hill. Phips was subsequently killed by three other Indians. The 
Indian whom Phips knocked down with his hoe died of his wound. 

July 10. Deacon Josiah Fisher of Keene was killed as he was driv- 
ing his cow to pasture. He was found dead and scalped in the road, 
near where the Lamson block now stands on Main street. 

Oct. 12. The garrison at Putney was attacked by French and Indians. 
It was defended with so much bravery that they failed to capture it. 
The Indians had one of their number killed. At the time the fort was 
attacked Nehemiah How was cutting wood about eighty rods from the 
fort. He was discovered and captured and no attempt was made for 
his rescue. As the enemy were leading How up the West bank of Con- 
necticut river David Rugg and Robert Baker were discovered crossing 
the river in a canoe. They were fired upon and Rugg was killed ; 
Baker made for the opposite shore and escaped. Rugg was scalped and 
the scalp was placed on the top of a long pole and carried through 
Charlestown to Crown Point in triumph. How, the prisoner, was 



16 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

carried to Quebec where he died in prison. At the time How was 
captured the enemy killed some of the cattle and drove some away. 

April 19, 1746. A partj^of about forty French and Indians, under 
command of Ensign De Neverville, appeared at Charlestown and cap- 
tured Capt. John Spofford, Lieut. Isaac Parker and Steven Farns- 
worth. Captain Spofford had built a saw mill and a grist mill two 
years previous. He with the other men had been to the mill for boards 
with four oxen. As they were returning they were ambushed, cap- 
tured and taken to Canada. After some time they were permitted to 
return to Boston under a flag of truce. Capt. Spofford's mills were 
burned, the oxen killed, and their tongues cut out. 

April 23. A numerous band of Indians made their appearance in 
Iveene. They were discovered by Ephraim Dorman early in the morn- 
ing, in what was then a swamp east of the settlement. Mr. Dorman 
was out looking for his cow. He immediately gave an alarm by crying, 
Indians ! Indians ! and ran for the fort. Two Indians, who were con- 
cealed in bushes between him and the fort, sprang forward, aimed their 
pieces at him and fired, neither hitting him. Throwing away their 
arms, they then endeavored to capture him. Mr. Dorman, being a 
strong man, knocked one of them senseless ; with the other he had a 
sharp contest, stripped him of his blanket, leaving him nearly naked. 
He made his escape and reached the fort in safety. 

Most of the people were in the fort when the alarm was given ; some 
were out attending to their cattle. Those who were out and in hear- 
ing distance rushed for the fort. A Mrs. Kinney had gone to a barn 
to milk her cow. She was aged and corpulent, and could walk only 
slowly. Before she reached the fort she was fatally stabbed in the 
back. John Bullard was at his barn. He endeavored to reach the 
fort, but was fatally shot in the back just before he reached it. He 
was carried in and expired in a few hours. A Mrs. Clark was at a 
barn about fifty rods from the fort. As she started for it, an Indian 
undertook to capture her. She gathered her clothes about her waist, 
and ran pursued by the Indian, who threw away his gun that he might 
outrun her. She, animated by the cheers of her friends, outran him 
and reached the fort in safety. 

Nathan Blake was at his barn ; hearing the cry of Indians, and pre- 
suming that his barn would be burned, he determined that his cattle 
should not be burned with it. Throwing open his stable door, he let 
them loose. Considering that his retreat to the fort was cut off, he 
went out at a back door, intending to secrete himself at the only place 
where the river could be crossed. He had gone but a few steps when 



w 
o 
c: 
t— ' 

■XI 

w 

o 

> 

m 



o 
t— ' 

DO 

•X) 

o 
o 

o 

a 




INDIANS. 17 

be was hailed by a party of Indians concealed in a shop between him 
and the street. Looking back he saw several guns pointed at him, and 
at this instant several Indians started up from their place of conceal- 
ment near him. Feeling himself in their power he gave himself up. 
They shook hands with him, and to the remark he made that he had 
not yet breakfasted, they smilingly replied that it must bte a poor Eng- 
lishman who could not go to Canada without his breakfast. 

Mr. Blake was pinioned and conducted by an Indian into the woods 
and started for Canada. At Montreal he, with another person by the 
name of Warren, was compelled to run the gauntlet. Warren re- 
ceived a blow in the face for which he knocked down the Indian who 
gave it. For this he was assaulted by several Indians who beat him 
unmercifully, by which he was made a cripple for life. Blake ex- 
hibited more patience and fortitude and received no considerable in- 
jury. He was then conducted to Quebec, and from there to an Indian 
village several miles north. 

Mr. Blake was a strong, athletic man. He could run with great 
speed, and was put to many tricks with Indians whom he beat. To have 
him beaten, a celebrated Indian runner was procured to run against 
him. At the time the race was to be run the whole tribe assembled. 
A Frenchman from Quebec was present, and, seeing the excitement, 
advised Blake to let the Indian beat, intimating. that fatal consequences 
might ensue if he did not. Blake acted upon the Frenchman's advice 
and permitted his antagonist to reach the goal a moment before him. 

In 1747, a Frenchman by the name of Raimbut was taken prisoner 
in Winchester. He held the rank of lieutenant. He was anxious to 
return to Canada. Considering his rank he agreed that if he could 
be taken to Canada he would procure the release of Blake and a 
prisoner by the name of Allen who was captured at Deerfield, Mass. 
To carry the arrangement into effect the governor of IVIassachusetts 
sent in February, 1748, John Hawks, Matthews Clesson and John 
Taylor, accompanied by Raimbout to Canada, under a flng of truce. 
The party went on snow shoes, and carried their provisions on their 
backs. They returned with Blake and Allen about the first of May. 

Mr. Blake had married Elizabeth, a daughter of Abraham Graves 
of Swanzey, in 1741. She sent money by the men to buy the ransom 
of her husband if the negotiations failed. 

The number of Indians in the party that made the attack upon Keene 

at the time of Blake's capture was estimated at about a hundred. They 

skulked around all sides of the fort during the forenoon and fired 

whenever they supposed their shot might be effectual. Whenever an 

2 



18 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Indian was seen by those in the fort he was fired at, and a number of 
them were seen to fall. It was supposed that as many as ten were 
killed, and their bodies consumed in a building which they burned. The 
Indians did not immediately leave the vicinity of the fort. Some 
three days after their first appearance they killed a number of cattle 
in the meadow, southeast of the fort. 

When the attack was made upon Keene the firing was heard at the 
fort in Swauzey, the commander of which sent an express immediately 
to Winchester, with the information that the Indians had made an at- 
tack upon Keene. From Winchester the information was expressed 
from fort to fort to Colonel Pomroy, the military commander at North- 
ampton. Colonel Pomroy, at the head of the military forces at that 
place, immediately started, and adding to his force as he proceeded by 
pressing horses and men into his service, he arrived at Keene with 
four hundred or five hundred men in a little more than forty-eiglit 
hours from the time the express left Swanzey, the distance down and 
back being at least ninety miles. 

The military force after scouring the woods in the vicinity only found 
where the Indians encamped east of Beech hill. 

May 2. At Charlestown, some women went to do their accustomed 
milking where the cows were kept, attended by a guard of soldiers. 
Plight Indians who had concealed themselves to await their arrival, 
fired and killed Seth Putnam. As the Indians were scalping him the 
soldiers fired and mortally wounded two of them, whom their com- 
panions carried off. 

May 6. Deacon Timothy Brown and a soldier by the name of Robert 
Maft"ett left the fort in Swanzey to go to Keene. They were waylaid 
by a party of Indians that had been lying about the fort and captured. 
They were carried to Canada but subsequently released. Maffett be- 
longed to Lunenburg, Mass., and was doing garrison duty at Swan- 
zey. He shot and broke the Indian chief's arm before he surrendered. 

At the same time that Brown and Maffett were taken, a party lay 
around the fort at Keene watching for an opportunity to plunder or 
take prisoners. One night the watch thought he heard some one try- 
ing the strength of the picket gate, when he fired. In the morning 
beads and blood were seen at the place where the fire was directed. 

Massachusetts sent additional forces for the protection of these 
frontier New Hampshire towns, as no protection was being rendered 
them by the latter province. Captain Paine went with a force for the 
defence of Charlestown. About twenty of his soldiers went to view 
the place where Putnam had been killed a few days previous. A party 



INDIANS. 19 

of Indians lying in ambush fired upon them and then endeavored to 
cut off their retreat to the fort. Captain Stevens with a party rushed 
out for their assistance. In the conflict that ensued five were killed 
on each side, and the Indians took one prisoner. They retreated leav- 
ing some of their guns and blankets. This conflict occurred about 
May 24, 1746. 

About a month later another conflict was had at the same place. 
Captain Stevens and Captain Brown went into the meadow to look 
for their horses. Their dogs gave indications that Indians were am- 
bushed for them, when they put themselves into position and gave the 
first fire. After a short encounter the Indians wese driven into a 
SAvamp taking with them several of their number who had been killed. 
They left, when they retreated, guns, spears, hatchets and blankets. 
Captain Stevens and Captain Brown lost but one of their men. 

June 24. Some twenty Indians attaol^ed a number of men who were 
at work in a meadow near Bridgman's fort, Hinsdale. They killed 
William Robins and Jonas Barker, captured Daniel How and John 
Beaman, wounded Michael Gilson and Patrick Ray. 

July 24. Colonel Willard and a guard of twenty men went with a 
team from Fort Dummer to Hinsdale's mill and when near the mill 
were ambushed. None of Colonel Willard's men were killed or cap- 
tured. One man was wounded. 

Aug. 3. The enemy appeared again near the fort at Charlestown. 
Dogs were kept at the fort and they gave the first intimation to those 
within of the presence of the enemy by barking and by actions pecu- 
liar to them when Indians were in the vicinity. Captain Stevens, the 
commander, in order to satisfy himself that an enemy was in the vi- 
cinity, sent out scouts. The men were scarcely out of the fort when 
they were fired upon, and Ebenezer Phillips killed. He was so near 
the fort that a soldier crept carefull}' out at night and fastened a rope 
to him when he was drawn in and buried. No other one of the scouts 
was injured. The enemy, after they were discovered, put forth every 
effort to take the garrison. They fired their muskets against the walls 
and made other demonstrations in Indian fashion to effect their ob- 
ject. They hung around the fort two days, and burned all the build- 
ings outside except one. Of the buildings burned were the mills that 
Captain Spofford was rebuilding Avhere his had been previously burned. 
Before they left they killed most of the horses, cattle and hogs. A 
company of troops from Massachusetts was stationed at the fort at 
the time and sixteen of their horses were killed. 

Aug. 6. Winchester was visited by thirty of these Indians. A num- 



20 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

ber of men were passing in a road near which the Indians had con- 
cealed themselves, when the latter fired and killed Joseph Rawson and 
wounded Amasa Wright. 

Oct. 22. Jonathan Sartwell was captured near Fort Hinsdale. 

The year 1746 must have been one of extreme peril to these frontier 
towns. The settlers were few and widely scattered. Cultivation of 
their land was their main dependence for support. To go outside the 
forts to labor upon their farms was at all times extremely dangerous. 
The Indians were constantly moving from place to place. After they 
had inflicted some outrage upon the inhabitants of one place, off they 
would go to anotiJier settlement, and the first intimation of their com- 
ing would be the capture or killing of some unsuspecting person. 

Late in tlie j^ear Massachusetts appears to have decided not to con- 
tinue her military protection to these New Hampshire towns, and the 
forces which she had kept at Charlestown were withdrawn and after- 
wards the settlement was abandoned. 

The settlements at Keene and Swauzey were continued through the 
winter and it is not known that they were disturbed. 

To show the condition of the New Hampshire towns in the Ashue- 
lot and Connecticut vallej'S, we will quote tlie following from Rev. H. 
P. Saunderson's history of Charlestown. "During the winter, 1846- 
47, the Indians were so ice-bound in Canada, that the frontiers suffered 
only in apprehension, as no incursions were made upon them. In this 
interval, some gentlemen who had the wisdom to perceive that the pro- 
tection of the Connecticut river settlements was required by the true 
interests of the country, fortunately prevailed on the assembly of 
Massachusetts to make the needful provision for the defence of the 
forts and garrisons which in consequence of the withdrawal of her 
troops had been deserted. They, moreover, sought to convince them, 
that this would require not only a sufficiency of men to afford garri- 
sons for the places that would be able to resist such assaults as would 
be likely to be made upon them, but also an equal additional force to 
range the woods and watch the motions of the enemy, and prevent 
their depredations, by anticipating their designs, and by suddenly fall- 
ing upon and surprising them in their encampments, when they had 
not the least expectation of an assault ; thus practising upon them 
their own tactics. 

The prime mover in this matter, we have reason to believe, was 
Captain Stevens; who, by the promptness and wisdom with which 
he had acted, had already gained no inconsiderable influence with the 
government. He had personally addressed a memorial to Governor 



INDIANS. 21 

Shirley, setting forth his views of the situation, from which the fol- 
lowing is an extract : ' No. 4 is situated upon Connecticut river, 
about 45 miles above Northfield ; on which place (No. 4) the enemy 
have continually endeavored to do spoil ; and many great advantages 
have been lost for want of a suitable number of soldiers at that 
garrison. Fort Massachusetts, that was, is situated about 34 miles 
from Deerfield, and is the proper road of an enemy coming upon our 
frontiers when they come by Wood Creek and the drowned lands, as 
No. 4 is when they come by Otter Creek. Now it appears to me if 
one hundred men were early sent to each of these posts, say by the 
latter end of March, and suitable encouragement was given to them 
to go and waylay the streams the enemy come upon when they issue 
out from Crown Point, they might be very much discouraged in com- 
ing in small parties as heretofore : which in my opinion will be of the 
greatest service to the public and the only effectual method to carry 
on the war. If anything be done it should be done early ii; the 
Spring, as it is evident from past experience that this enemy will be 
down by the first of April. There is one thing which I have observed 
while among the Indians ; they are a people which are greatly elated 
and flushed up when they have success and as soon discouraged when 
they are disappointed.' 

In their endeavours, these gentlemen, with Captain Stevens at their 
head, were only partially successful; for the assembl\% at this time, 
could be induced to go no further than to detail such a number of men 
for garrisoning the forts as, in their estimation, would be sufficient to 
repel the enemy in case of attack ; and the subject of taking the of- 
fensive was postponed, for some future consideration. 

This being the state of affairs, in the latter part of March, 1747, 
Capt. Phinehas Stevens, with thirty men, was ordered by Governor 
Shirley to march to No. 4 and take possession. 

This post, for more than two months, had been entirely deserted 
and fears were entertained that, in case it should be left longer, it 
would either be burned or taken by the enemy. The movement was 
timely, and in every respect most fortunate. Stevens marched through 
the wilderness and arrived at No. 4 on the 27th of March, to find the 
fort in good condition ; but what was his surprise, on entering it to 
find himself and company heartily welcomed by an old spaniel and a 
cat, which had been left behind at its desertion, and had remained in 
it during the winter, as its sole defenders and occupants. 

Captain Stevens and company had been in possession of the fort 
only a few days before they were led to surmise the presence of an 



22 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

eneni}'. Their suspicious were first aroused by the uueas}" appearance 
of the clogs, and their continued barking. These indications of some- 
thing that was not right indirced them to keep the gate closely barred. 
But here we must let Captain Stevens tell his own story. In his re- 
port to Governor Shirley, dated April 9, 1747, he says, 'Our dogs 
being very much disturbed, which gave us reason to think that the 
enemy were about, occasioned us not to open the gate at the usual 
time ; but one of our men being desirous to know the certainty, ven- 
tured out privately to set on the dogs, about nine o'clock in the morn- 
ing ; and went about twenty rods from the fort firing off his gun and 
saj'ing, chobo}', to the dogs. Whereupon, the enemy, being within a 
few rods, immediately arose from behind a log and fired ; but through 
the goodness of God, the man got into the fort with only a slight 
wound. The enemy being then discovered, immediately arose from 
their anibushments and attacked us on all sides. The wind being vei-y 
high, and every thing exceedingly dry, they set fire to all the old 
fences and also to a log house about forty rods distant from the fort 
to the windward ; so that within a few minutes we were entirely 
surrounded with fire all which was performed with the most hideous 
shouting and firing, from all quarters which they continued, in a very 
terrible manner, until the next day at ten o'clock at night, without in- 
termission ; during which time we had no opportunity to eat or sleep. 
But notwithstanding all their shouting and threatenings, our men 
seemed not to be in the least daunted, but fought with great resolu- 
tion ; which doubtless, gave the enemy reason to think we had deter- 
mined to stand it out to the last degree. The enemy had provided 
themselves with a sort of fortification which they had determined to 
push before them and bring fuel to the side of the fort, in order to 
burn it down. But instead of performing what they threatened, and 
seemed to be immediately going to undertake, tlie}^ called to us and 
desired a cessation of arms until sunrise the next morning which was 
granted ; at which time they would come to a parley. Accordingly 
the French General Debeline came with about sixty of his men, with 
a flag of truce, and stuck it down within about twenty rods of the 
fort in plain sight of the same, and said if we would send three men 
to him he would send as maii}^ to us to which we complied. The Gen- 
eral sent in a French lieutenant with a French soldier and an Indian. 
Upon our men going to Monsieur, he made the following proposal ; 
viz. : — that in case we would immediately resign up the fort, we should 
all have our lives and liberty to put on all the clothes we had, and 
also to take a sutlicient quantity of provisions to carry us to Mon- 



INDIANS. 23 

treal, and bind up our provisions and blankets, lay down our arms 
and march out of the fort. 

Upon our men returning, he desired that the Captain of the fort 
would meet him half way, and give an answer to the above proposal, 
which I did ; and upon meeting the Monsieur he did not wait for me 
to give an answer, but went on in the following manner, viz. : — that 
what had been promised he was ready to perform ; but upon refusal 
he would immediately set the fort on fire, and run over the top ; for 
he had seven hundred men with him, and if we made any further re- 
sistance or should happen to kill one Indian, we might expect all to 
be put to the sword. 'The fort,' said he, 'I am resolved to have, or die. 
Now do what you please ; for I am as easy to have j^ou fight as to 
give up.' I told the General, that in case of extremity his proposal 
would do ; but inasmuch as I was sent here by my master, the Cap- 
tain General, to defend the fort, it would not be consistent with my 
orders to give it up unless I was better satisfied that he was able to 
perform what he had threatened ; and, furthermore, I told him that it 
was poor encouragement to resign into the hands of the enemy, that 
upon one of their number being killed, they would put all to the 
sword, when it was probable that we had killed some of them already. 
' Well,' said he, ' go into the fort, and see whether your men dare 
fight any more or not, and give me an answer quick, for my men want 
to be fighting.' Whereupon, I came into thie fort and called all the 
men together, and informed them what the French General said : and 
then put it to vote which they chose, either to fight on or resign ; and 
they voted to a man to stand it out as long as they had life. Upon 
this, I returned the answer that we were determined to fight it out. 
Upon which they gave a shout, and then fired and so continued firing 
and shouting until daylight the next morning. 

About noon they called to us and said ' good morning,' and desiied 
a cessation of arms for two hours" that they might come to a parley ; 
which was granted. The General did not come himself but sent two 
Indians, who came within about eight rods of the fort and stuck down 
their flag and desired that I would send out two men to them, which 
I did and the Indians made the following proposal, viz. :— That in 
case we would sell them provisions, they would leave and not fight 
any more ; and desired my answer, which was, that selling them pro- 
visions for money was contrary to the laws of nations ; but if they 
would send in a captive for every five bushels of corn I would supply . 
them. Upon the Indians returning the General gave this answer, four 
or five guns were fired against the fort, and they withdrew, as we sup- 
posed, for we heard no more of them.' 



24 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Captain Stevens in writing to anotlier person about this affair says : 
' Those who were not emploj'cd in firing at the enemy were employed 
in digging trenches under the bottom of the fort. We dug no less than 
eleven of them, so deep that a man could go and stand upright on the 
outside and not endanger himself ; so that when these trenches were 
finished we could wet all the outside of the fort, which we did and 
kept it wet all night. We drew some hundreds of barrels of water, 
and to undergo all this hard service there were but thirty men. The 
enemy never had the courage to bring their fortification nor run over 
the fort but in lieu thereof, spent the night in shooting their fiery ar- 
rows, which were easily put out. 

lu all this time w'e had scarce opportunity' to eat or sleep. The 
cessation of arms gave us no matter of rest, for we suspected they 
did it to obtain advantage against us. 1 believe men were never 
known to hold out with better resolution, for they did not seem to sit 
or lie still one moment. There w^ere but thirty men in the fort, and 
although we had some thousands of guns fired at us, there were but 
two men slightly wounded. 

By the above account you may form some idea of the distressed 
circumstances we were under, to have such an army of starved crea- 
tures around us, whose necessity obliged them to be the more earnest. 
They seemed everj^ minute as if they Avere going to swallow us up ; 
using all the threatening language they could invent, with shouting 
and firing as if the heavens and the earth were coming together. 

But notwithstanding all this, our courage held out to the last. We 
were informed by the French that came into the fort, that our cap- 
tives were removed from Quebec to Montreal ; which, they say, are 
about three hundred in number by reason of sickness which is at Que- 
bec, and that they were well and in good health, except three who 
were left sick, and that about three captives had died who were said 
to be Dutchmen. They also informed us that John Norton had lib- 
erty to preach to the captives, and that they have some thousands of 
French and Indians out and coming against our frontier.' 

The mortification of Debeline in his failure to take the fort must 
have been extreme but, though baffled iu the attack on No. 4 he did 
not return with his forces immediately to Canada, but, dividing them 
into small parties, sent them out to hover around various places on 
the frontier. A small number of them very soon after ventured to re- 
turn and encamp secretly near the river at no great distance from 
the fort from which they had been so summarily repulsed. 

But Captain Stevens observing a smoke, from which lie was led to 
think that all was not right, went out after them and they precipitately 



INDIANS. 25 

retreated. Other parties of them hovered about Northfield, Winches- 
ter and Upper Ashuelot, but they had been tauglit too severe a lesson 
at No. 4, to allow them to return to its vicinity." 

April 15, 1747. A party of Indians, or French and Indians, from 
up the Connecticut river, made a sudden descent upon Northfield, 
killed and scalped Nathaniel Dickinson and Asahel Burt as they were 
driving up cows just after sunset. 

This party during the night of the 15th started for Winchester, 
SAvanzey and Keene, and burned the three towns which had been aban- 
doned a few days before. It is probable the inhabitants had learned 
before they left that the French and Indian forces had attacked 
Charlestown, and as no military forces had been provided to garrison 
the forts in these towns they resolved to abandon them immediately. 
The annals of Keene contain the following: — "The inhabitants re- 
mained in the fort until March or April, 1747. About that time they 
passed an informal vote releasing Mr. Bacon, their minister, from all 
his obligations to them, hnd resolved to abandon the settlement, which 
resolution was immediately executed. Soon after a party of Indians 
visited the place and burnt all the buildings except the mill on Beaver 
brook, and the house in which the miller had resided." 

It is traditional that the inhabitants of Swanzey left very suddenly; 
They preserved some articles that they could not well take away by 
burying them. A revered bible is now in the hands of the Belding 
family that was saved by being buried under a brass kettle. The 
statement has been made that in one instance a babe was left in its 
cradle and was rescued in the night. 

One can well imagine what must have been the feelings of the men, 
women and children as they left the settlement. The men's feelings 
alternated between sadness and hopefulness ; they were sad when they 
thought of the homes they were leaving which were the result of years 
of hard labor ; they were joyous when they thought that they should 
succeed in saving their families from the horrors of falling into the 
hands of the savages. The women thought more about the safety of 
their children than the homes they were leaving. The children felt a 
degree of mirthfulness when they were inspired bj' the thought that 
they were soon to see their grandfathers and grandmothers, uncles and 
aunts, at the old Massachusetts homes, about which they had heard 
their parents talk. 

It is evident that some of the men returned to the settlement during 
the summer for the purpose of obtaining some income from their land. 
Between these men and the Indians there was some skirmishing in 



26 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

August, but without fatal results. The Indians succeeded in killing 
some cattle. 

Oct. 16, Major Willard, Capt. Alexander and others went from here 
to Northfield, and when passing through Winchester they met a French- 
man Coming towards them. When he saw the party he jumped behind 
a tree. Capt. Alexander, being foremost, shot and wounded him in the, 
breast, which wound was sui)posed to be mortal. The party, presum- 
ing that Indians were near, immediately left. He was found by the 
Indians, but they left him, fearing that they would be pursued. He 
revived, and after a fcAv days went to Northfield and delivered himself 
a prisoner to Capt. Alexander. 

Oct. 22. Capt. Bridgman's fort, house and barn at Hinsdale were 
burned and Jonathan Sawtle captured. 

Nov. 14. Twelve men left the garrison at Charlestown to go to places 
below. They had gone but half a mile when they were waylaid and 
Nathan Gould and Thomas Goodale killed and scalped, Oliver Avery 
was wounded and John Henderson captured. 

Active military operations closed in November and the forts in New 
Hampshire were garrisoned by soldiers provided by Massachusetts. 
During the winter Capt. Phiuehas Stevens'had a company of sixty men 
at Charlestown, and Capt. Josiah Willard, jr., had a company of twen- 
ty-six men at Ashuelots. Of Capt. Willard's men Thomas Cresson, 
Thomas Cresson, jr., William Grimes, Asahel Graves, James Heaton, 
Samuel Heaton and William Heaton had been residents of Lower Ash- 
uelot before the place was burned. 

In the year 1748 soldiers were early provided for the different posts, 
and companies were enlisted as rangers to be employed in scouting the 
trails which the euemy were accustomed to take when they made their 
raids upon the settlements. We insert the following muster-roll of 
the company stationed at the Ashuelots (Upper and Lower). 

Roll of Capt. Josiah Willard, jr.'s Co. at Ashuelots, Feb. 10 

TO Oct. 26, 1748. 

Capt. Josiah Willard, jr., Jos. Richardson, 

Lieut. William Syms, William Hunt, 

Sergt. Thomas Taylor, Thomas Thoyets, 

Sergt. William Smead, John Evens, 

Clerk Jeremiah Hall, James Burt, 

Corp. Thomas Cresson, Jeremiah Butler, 

Corp. Benoni Wright, Robert Tyler, 

Timothy Fletcher, Samuel Hall, 

John Ellis, William HiU, 



IMDIANS. 



27 



Wm. BickfoTd, 
Euben Walker, 
Jona. French, 
Daniel How, jr., 
Ebenezer Fletcher, 
Robert Ewers, 
John Edgeliill, 
John llobert, 
Aaron Ward, 
John Frost, 
Benj. Barrett, 
Samuel Hoflinton, 
Henry Chandler, 
Thomas Crissou, jr., 
Nath'l Fairbanks, 
Jethro Wheeler, 
James Jewell, 
Hezekiah Elmer, 
Samuel Hill, 
David Nims, 
David Bacon, 
Wm. Blanchard, 
Matthew Wyman, 



James Billing, 
Simeon Green, 
Nathaniel Hills, 
Asahel Graves, 
Benj a. Nichols, 
Thomas Robbins, 
Josiah Crosby, 
Joseph Barron, 
Wm. Livingston, 
Benj. Hoagg, 
Henry Stevens, 
Joel Johnson, 
Elijah Holton, 
Jonas Holton, 
Isaac Rice, 
James Eaton, 
John Scott, 
Andrew Allard, 
Eliph. Coi'bin, 
John Henry, 
Benjamin Osgood, 
Jona. Lawrence, jr. 
John Pullard. 



The meu for this companj^had been procured partly by enlistments, 
Massachusetts had offered a bounty of £5 for a year's service, A 
number of the men had been impressed. These had come mostly 
from Middlesex county, Mass, Many of the enlisted were New Hamp- 
shire men who had lived in some of the settlements before the war 
commenced, 

March 29, Moses Cooper, Lieut. Sargent and son, Joshua Wells 
and one other man went about a mile from Fort Dummer for timber. 
They were attacked by some twelve Indians. Cooper was mortally 
wounded the first fire, but made his escape to the fort, where he died 
the next night. The others fought" on a retreat. Wells was soon 
killed. Sargent and son continued to fight, but the father was killed 
and the sou captured. 

Additional soldiers had been furnished by Massachusetts to Capt. 
Stevens at Charlestown in the spring, so that his command consisted 
of a hundred meu. He sent eighteen of his men under Capt. Melviu 
to scout as far as Lake Champlain. After they reached this point they 
were discovered by the enemy and commenced a retreat. They were 
intercepted by the enemy which got in their front. Melviu eluded 
them and succeeded in reaching West river some thirty or forty miles 
northwest of Fort Dummer when he was again intercepted. A disas- 



28 HISTORY OF SWA^'ZEY. 

trous fight ensued. Six of Mclviu's men were killed. The rest suc- 
ceeded in reaching Fort Dummer at different times. 

June 16. A squad of twelve of Capt. Willard's men left the Ashue- 
lots for Fort Dummer by Avay of Hinsdale's fort having witli them 
two rangers. They were ambushed by a large party of Indians between 
the two forts. Three were killed and scalped, viz., Joseph Richard- 
son, John P'rost and Jonathan French, all of Billerica, Mass. ; seven 
were taken prisoners, one of whom, Wm. Bickford, was killed where 
the Indians camped the first night. Four escaped across the river to 
Fort Dummer, one of whom was a ranger who was severely wounded 
in the thigh. The prisoners at the first camping place were stripped 
of their arms and most of their clothing. They reached Canada about 
the first of July. Most of them were made to run the gauntlet. They 
returned in the fall feeble and emaciated. One of them died soon af- 
ter his return from the effect of abuse. The prisoners were Mark Per- 
kins, Concord; Matthew Wymau, Dorchester; Benjamin Osgood, 
liillerica ; Wm. Blanchard, Dunstable ; Henry fetevens, Chelmsford ; 
Joel Johnson, Woburn. 

Capt. Humphrey Hobbs was stationed at Charlestown with a com- 
panj^ of rangers. He started June 24, in a southwest direction with 
forty men to scout the country between Charlestown and Fort Shirley. 
The second day after leaving Charlestown and while eating tlieir 
lunch at noon, tlie sentinel in his rear discovered the enemy approach- 
ing. Hobbs ordered his men each to take a tree for cover. The 
Indians rushed forward with a shout and were received with a well 
directed fire and several fell. The Indians were led by a half-blood 
by the name of Sackett and he had a much larger number of men than 
Hobbs. The two leaders were well acquainted and Sackett could speak 
English. Sackett called to Hobbs to surrender. Hol^bs dared liim 
to come and take his men. After four houi-s of fighting, fortunately 
Sackett was Avouuded, when the enemy withdrew taking willi them 
their dead and wounded. Hobbs had three men killed and four 
wounded. He reached Fort Dummer in tlie afternoon of the next 
day with his company and wounded men. The battle was fought 
about twelve miles west of Fort Dummer. 

July 3. A party of Indians killed eleven cattle at Aslmelots and 
carried off the meat. 

Sergt Taylor and six privates of Capt. Willard's company at tlie 
Ashuelots went down to Northfield for ten recruits to take the i)lace 
of those lost in the encounter of June \G. July 14, Taylor started 
from Northfield for the Ashuelots by way of Hinsdale's fort and Fort 



INDIANS. 29 

Dummer with his six soldiers tiiid ten recruits. When within aljout 
a mile of Fort Dummer they were attacked by a large number of In- 
dians under command of a French otHcer. They Avere attacked in 
front and in their rear. Asahel Graves of Lower Ashuelot and Henry 
Chandler of Westford, Mass., were killed, stripped of their clothing and 
arms and then scalped. Two escaped across the river to Fort Dum- 
mer, two got back to Hinsdale's fort and eleven were captured. Two 
of the captives, Joseph Rose of Northfleld and James Billings of Con- 
cord were severely wounded. After going about a mile the Indians 
knocked the wounded prisoners on the head with war-clubs. Sergt. 
Taylor was one of the captives. He subsequently resided in Hinsdale. 
Thomas Cressou, jr., a captive, belonged to Lower Ashuelot. The 
other captives were Daniel Farmer, Groton ; Jona. LaAvrence, Littleton ; 
Daniel How, jr., Rutland ; John JCdghill, Framiugham ; Reuben Walker, 
Chelmsford ; John Henry, Concord ; Ephraim Powers, Littleton. The 
prisonei's were taken to Canada by the way of West river, Otter creek 
and Crown Point. In travelling the Indians made frequent halts and 
went about twenty miles a day. The prisoners w'ere sold to the French 
who retained tbem until September. 

The French officer above referred to was ordered by the French 
governor at Montreal " to go to war upon the territories of New Eng- 
land, with a party of twenty-six Canadians and eighty Indians." The 
Northfleld historian narrates the following: — "'Sieur Raimbault, who 
had lately returned from a successful raid, was attached to this party, 
and as will appear, was of great service in selecting the right place 
for an ambuscade. 

The equipment of the savages was as follows: — 80 muskets; 80 
breech-clouts ; 80 pairs of mittens ; 100 deer skins ; 8 pounds of ver- 
milion ; 80 wood-cutters knives ; 80 pounds of poAvder ; 80 pounds 
of ball ; 80 pounds of lead shot ; 80 collars for carrying ; 80 awls ; 
80 tomahawks ; 400 flints ; 80 powd'er horns ; 100 needles ; 3 pounds 
of thread ; 80 war- clubs ; 8 axes ; 4 pairs of scissors ; 80 pounds of 
tobacco; 8 iron cooking pots; 8 canoes; and 13 days provisions. 
This force made directly for the Connecticut valley and took a posi- 
tion on the highlands to the eastward of Fort Dummer." 

Mr. Cresson used to say that the flrst meal offered him after reach- 
ing an Indian settlement was broth made from an old sow that had 
received no other dressing than the burning off of the bristles. He 
was almost starved, but he could not eat the broth. 

The raids of the French and Indians were so far checked by formid- 
able military operations, that there was comparative quiet the last part 
of 1748. The settlers were not disturbed when doiuii' their harvestino-. 



30 IIISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

Peace was made between England and France the last of the year, 
but this did not wholly restrain the Indians from committing some 
atrocities on the frontier in 1749. Their appearance at Charlestown 
and Hinsdale caused general alarm. ISoldieis were immediately raised 
to garrison different forts. Ten Avere sent to the Ashuelots. A com- 
pany of fifty six men, commanded by Capt. John Catlin of Deerfield, 
was mustered July 13, 1749, and discharged Oct. 12. This company 
was stationed at Northfield half the time and at the Ashuelots the 
other half. 

"A Dark Time. — These were dark days to our people on the fron- 
tier. The attacks made in such rapid succession, and the signs dis- 
covered on all sides showed that the Indians were abroad in great 
force. The full foliage of the underbrush gave them secure cover ; 
and their uniform success gave them courage. And they had learned 
the .peculiar tactics of each of our captains and commanders of forts. 
They knew where to look for carelessness, and recklessness, and cow- 
ardice, and want of foresight. They knew the condition of each gar- 
rison, and when they set an ambush, they knew whether a relief party 
might be expected promptly or tardily." 

Of all the prominent men who had been engaged in protecting the 
settlements in New Hampshire on the Connecticut and Ashuelot riv- 
ers during this dark period was Col. Josiah Willard, the leading man 
in the settlement of Winchester. He was in command of the garri- 
son at Fort Dummer, and his son, Josiah Willard, jr., at the Ashuelots. 
He was commissary for his own garrison, for suppl3nng that at No. 
4 and those at the Ashuelots. When the government of Massachu- 
setts failed to provide him with funds he fell back upon his own re- 
sources. At one time he had advanced the large sum of ten thousand 
pounds. In writing to the governor of Massachusetts, April 5, 1748, 
he said "I have but six hundred pounds Province money in my hands 
to supply No. 4 for six months past, and to supply No. 4, the Ash- 
uelots and Fort Dummer for the future." 

It was probably for obtaining supplies at Fort Dummer that the 
two squads from the Ashuelot garrisons undertook to go to Fort Dum- 
mer; the lirst, June IG, 1748; the second July 14, 1748, and which 
was attended with such disastrous results. 

Fort Dummer was on the west side of Connecticut River and in 
what is now the southeast corner of Brattleborough. Hinsdale's fort 
was on the east side of the river and in Hinsdale. 

The writer's father was well acquainted with some of the men whose 
residence in Lower Ashuelot had given them a knowledge of the im- 
portant events of this Indian and French war. The father obtained 



INDIANS. 31 

the statement that two men made their escape at one of the battles 
and came through during the following night to the Ashuelots. They 
did not come together although they were much of the time in hearing 
of each other and each was often alarmed by the other and secret- 
ed himself, fearing that he was in danger of falling into the hands 
of the ememy. 

It has been generally understood that after the Ashuelots were 
abandoned in the spring of 1747, nothing was done here to rebuild or 
to occupy the land until after the close of the Old French and Indian 
War. This can hardly be accepted as probable from the preceding 
narrative of events. Soldiers were kept or sent here when danger 
was apprehended. That soldiers were stationed here makes it quite 
certain that some of the forts had been rebuilt. To have kept garri- 
sons here must have been to protect the men who had returned to re- 
build and prosecute their farming operations. It is not likely that 
the men generally had their families with them. Many of the men 
may have done the duty of soldiers and labored for themselves at the 
same time. 

The forts were built generally of square hewed timber and built in 
a square form, often nearly or quite two hundred feet on a side. This 
gave room for a number of houses inside. 

The years of 1750-51-52 and 53 were years of peace. In 1754 
England and France were again engaged in war. The first place at 
which the Indians commenced their work about here was at Charles- 
town. Early in the morning August 29, 1754, they captured James 
Johnson and his wife, three children, a sister of Mrs. Johnson aged 
about fifteen and two men. The attack was made before the family 
had risen and they were all carried off to Canada without being op- 
posed. A daughter was born to Mrs. Johnson the next daj'^ after 
she was captured, and it was named Captive. The party in charo;e of 
the captives stopped one day on Mrs. Johnson's account. They then 
carried heron a litter at first, and afterwards a horse was provided for 
her to ride. To provide food, the horse was killed and the child was 
nourished by sucking pieces of its flesh. Mrs. Johnson and two of 
her daughters and her sister obtained liberty to return in eighteen 
months. The eldest daughter was retained in a nunnery. It was 
three years when Mr. Johnson and a son returned. 

A letter from Major Benjamin Bellows of Walpole to Colonel 
Blanchard written two days after the attack at Charlestown, vividly pic- 
tures the sufferings of the settlers. He says ''The people are in great 
distress all down the River and at Keene and at Swanzey." 

Lt. Col. Josiah Willard, also writing at the same time to Col. B. 



32 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

aud Gov. Weutwortli, implores them '■'to help a poor distressed peo- 
ple, for almost every man is upon the move in this part of the coun- 
try. 1 have had no sleep these three nights." "We have persuaded 
the Bigger part of the People to tarry a little while and see if we can 
have some help." " We also this day received intelligence that two 
women and three children belonging to Swauzey are missing, which 
after diligent search made, not being found, are supposed to be taken; 
and by the discoveries that are made, we are afraid of being invaded 
on every quarter." 

It does not appear that the settlements about here were disturbed 
during the fall of 1754. 

In 1755 Bridgman's fort at Hinsdale was occupied by Caleb IIow, 
Hilkiah Grout and Benjamin Garfield with their families. In the 
morning of June 27, the three men aud two boys of Mr. How went 
to work in the meadow above the fort. They started to return about 
sunset. Mr. How was on horseback and had with him his two boys 
and was ahead of the other two men. They were fired upon by a 
concealed ambush and How brought to the ground from a wound in 
one of his thighs. He was immediately ^scalped by the Indians, had 
a hatchet struck into his head and left for dead. He was found the 
next morning and still alive, but soon died. The boys were captured. 
The other men attempted to escape by crossing the river, when Gar- 
field was drowned, but Grout escaped. The Indians went to the fort 
and obtained admittance by the wives, they supposing their husbands 
had returned from work. The Indians had learned the proper signal 
for gaining admittance to the fort by watching secretly those that 
entered. The three wives and eleven children were captured and car- 
ried to Canada, The fort was burned by the Indians. 

The last of June an unsuccessful attack was made upon the fort 
at Keene. Capt. William Syms was in command there at the time. 
A number of cattle were killed, several buildings burned and Benja- 
min Twitchel captured. 

July 22, three men went from Hinsdale's fort in Hinsdale, about 
one iumdred rods for timber, protected by a guard of four soldiers. 
The Indians got between the men and the fort and fired upon them. 
One citizen aud one soldier were killed and scalped ; one citizen and 
one soldier escaped to the fort. From the account of the affair it is 
probable the others were captured. 

At the same date of the last Hinsdale affair two men went a mile 
and a half from the street in Walpole to cut timber. Both were shot ; 
one was scalped ; the other had his heart taken out and laid in pieces 
upon his breast. 



INDIANS. 83 

This year, 1755, Col. Bellows of Walpole had a fort, and some 
distance from it a mill, and employed a number of men. Aug. 17, 
when Col. Bellows with thirty of his men were going from the mill 
to dinner they encountered a^large number of Indians, but they suc- 
ceeded in cutting their way through them and reaching the fort with- 
out loss. 

In the neighborhood of Col. B. lived John Kilburnwho had a -wife, 
a son and a daughter ; and he had living witfh him a man by the name 
of Peck, who also had a son. After the Indians' encounter with Col. 
Bellows they undertook to capture Kilburn and his family, but this 
family of six persons held the Indians at bay all the afternoon, when 
they gave up the undertaking. Mr. Peck received a wound from 
which he died five days after. 

The Indians hovered about Swanzey in 1755. They rendezvoused 
on Mt. Ceesar. From this mountain they would come down as near as 
they dared to the fort on Meeting-house hill and execute their war 
and scalp dances, and exhibit themselves in the most insulting atti- 
tudes to the people in the fort. 

This year a number of armed men went to work in the Great 
meadow with a guard of soldiers. When they reached the meadow 
the soldiers were in front. A rustling in some bushes attracted their 
attention. It was thought a deer might be there. One of the soldiers 
fired at the spot where the rustling Avas heard which aroused a band 
of concealed Indians who fired upon the soldiers. The soldiers and 
laborers drove the Indians to the plain west of Swanzey factory. 
An express brought out fifteen men from Keene under Capt. Met- 
calf. The Indians fled up the south side of East Branch and then 
crossed the stream and made their escape over the hills east of Keene. 
This is understood to be the last appearance of hostile Indians in 
Swanzey. 

But in other towns in the valley Indian raids were kept up during 
the three following years. 

June 7, 1756, Josiah Fisher, wife and two children were captured in 
Winchester and taken to Quebec where they met Benjamin Twitchell 
who was captured in Keene the previous year. After months of cap- 
tivity the Fisher family were released and returned to Winchester. 

April 19, 1757, Charlestowm was again attacked by a large party of 
French and Indians, and five men captured and taken to Canada of 
whom three died there and the others returned. 

In 1758, at Hinsdale, they killed Captain Moore and his son, 
burned his house and made the rest of his family captives. At 
3 



34 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Cliarlestown they killed Asahel StoLbins and captured his wife, a 
soldier aud Isaac Parker. 

In 1759 it was determined to chastise the Indians who had com- 
mitted such devastations upon the frontier settlements, and tAvo luin- 
dred men were sent by General Amherst from Crown Point, under the 
command of Major Robert Rogers, to destroy the Indian village of 
St. Francis. After an eventful march of twenty-one days through 
the wilderness they reached the place and were entirely successful in 
the undertaking. At this date Quebec passed into the hands of the 
English aud a quietus was given to the frontier settlements of the 
English colonies. 

Swanzey was well provided with forts for the protection of its in- 
habitants and rendezvous for soldiers. The most important one was 
on Meeting-house hill. The old well that supplied the fort with water 
now supplies the premises of George Carpenter. Most of the soldiers 
that garrisoned the forts in Swanzey were from Massachusetts. 

It must not be inferred, however, that all the soldiers employed in 
repelling the French and Indian invasions in the Connecticut and 
Ashuelot valleys were furnished by Massachusetts ; New Hampshire 
did something — Avhat she could perhaps, in defending her frontier 
settlements and outposts. 

Note. — Mncli of tlie material for this chapter has been obtained from 
Temple and Sheldon's History of NortlUield, Mass., Sannderson's History of 
Charlestown, Annals of Keene, Belknap's History of New Hampshire, aud 
Provincial Papers of New Hampshire by Nathaniel Bouton, D.D. 



CHAPTER III. 

General Outline History. 



Township Granted — Names of Grantees— Proprietors' Records — 
Divif^ioNs OF Land— Settlement OK Province Boundary Line — New Hamp- 
shire Charter — Land annexed from Richmond — Disannexed to other 
Towns — Committee of Safety — Beep Tax — Vermont Controversy 
Warning out of Town — Paper Money — Names of Settlers — Employ- 
ment of the People — Food — Dress — Farming and Household Im- 
plements — Wages. 

PREVIOUS to 1732 the valley of the Ashuelot had not been the 
home of the white man. 

The nearest place to this valley which had been settled by the col- 
onists was Northfield, which at this time, included most of Hinsdale 
and a portion of Winchester. As Northfield was settled as early as 
1685 it is probable that the trappers, hunters and explorers had ob- 
tained some general knowledge of the character of the valley previ- 
ous to 1732. The name of the valley and the river flowing through 
it had undoubtedly been established. The boundary line between the 
colony of Massachusetts Bay and the colony of New Hampshire had 
not been settled, but the Massachusetts colonists assumed that it be- 
longed to Massachusetts. 

In June, 1732, Gov. Belcher, in his speech to the "Great and Gen- 
eral Conn" of Massachusetts reconimended that "care be taken to 
settle the ungranted land." 

In compliance with the Governor's recommendation the House of 
Representatives voted "That there be seven towns opened of the con- 
tents of six miles square, one west of the Naraganset town which is 
near Wachusett Hill; one between the equivalent land and Rutland, 
on or near the road lately laid from Swift river to Rutland ; and one 
at Poquaig (Athol) on Miller's river; one west of the town called 
Northtown; two on the Ashuelot river above Northfield, and the 
other in the eastern county at the head of Berwick ; that the commit- 
tee be appointed to admit settlers and lay out house lots so that the 

(35) 



36 HISTORY OF bWANZEY. 

settlements may be made in a defensible manner, and to direct in the 
drawing thereof, but not to lay out any further division without di- 
rections from this court ; that there shall be sixty-three house lots 
laid out in each township : one for the first settled minister, one for 
the ministry, one for the school, and one for each of the sixty settlers 
who shall settle thereon, in his own person or by any of his chihh-en; 
the rest of the land to be allotted or divided equally into sixty-three 
parts ; that one year from the survey be allowed for the admission of 
settlers, and that the committee be directed to demand and receive 
from each settler at his admission five pounds, part of which shall be 
employed for reimbursing the province, the money to be advanced for 
paying the committee and the charges of the surveys ; and the remain- 
der to be employed for building a house of public worship or other- 
wise as the General Court shall order; that each settler actually live 
on his land within three years after his admission, and continue there 
for the space of two years after, in person and with his family, if 
such he have ; that he do within five years from his admission build 
a house on his laud of eighteen feet square and seven feet stud, at 
the least, and within the same time do sufficiently fence and till, or 
fit for mowing eiglit acres of land ; and in case any settler fail of per- 
formance his right to be forfeited ; and the committee for admitting 
settlers are directed to take a bond of each settler at the time of ad- 
mission for twenty pounds for the use and benefit of the settlers, in 
case he fails of performing the conditions mentioned ; and the settlers 
in each town shall be obliged to build a suitable meeting house and 
settle a learned and orthodox minister in such town within five years 
from their admission." 

On the first of July, 1733, this vote was concurred in by the council 
and ''consented to" by the Governor, but the committee appointed to 
make the survey not attending to their duty it was, Oct. 19, 1733, 
voted that another committee consisting of Josepli Kellogg, Timothy 
Dwight and William Chandler be appointed with directions forthAvith 
to lay out the townships at Poquaig and on the Ashuelot river "un- 
less they find that by reason of laying out the township Winchester, 
granted to Col. Willard and others, the land remaining at Ashuelot 
river will not serve for two townships, in which case tliey are directed 
to la}" out oulj^ one on that river. 

In February, 1 734, the committee made a return to the Genei'al Court 
of a "plat of two townships, each of the contents of six miles square 
situated on each side of Ashuelot river above the tract of land lately 
grauted to Josiah Willard and others, beginning at a Spruce or White 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 37 

pine tree standing about midway between the south and east branches 
of said river about five perch east of the bank of the main river, and 
thence running each way as described on the plat." The plat was 
accepted and the lands contained in said townships were declared to 
lie in and constitute a part of the county of Hampshire. 

It was soon found that the plan included land in the southwest cor- 
ner of the township, which had been granted to Josiah Willard and 
others. As the grant to Mr. Willard and his associates was made 
prior to the grant to Lower Ashuelot proprietors, the land was con- 
ceded to belong rightfully to Mr. Willard and his associates. 

Sixty-three houselots were laid out in Lower Ashuelot in May, 1734, 
by a committee acting under the authority of Massachusetts. Each 
of the lots was numbered, and each proprietor drew lots for his num- 
ber. 

The following are the names of the persons who were the first 
owners of sixty of these houselots ; the other three being drawn, one 
each for the minister, the ministry and the school : 

Lot No. 1, Josiah Divol ; 2, Thomas Hapgood ; 3, Thomas Kendall ; 
4, Samuel Bason; 5, James Heaton ; 6, John Holden ; 7, William 
Negers; 8, John Mead; 9, Joseph Lee ; 10, Daniel Brown; 11, Jo- 
seph Hill; 12, James Wallis ; 13, John Flint for his son Ephraim 
Flint; 14, Elnathan Jones ; 15, Benjamin Reed ; 16, School lot ; 17, 
Benjamin Whitney ; 18, Nathaniel Hammond for his son-in-law Cham- 
berlain ; 19, James Houghton, jr. ; 20, John White ; 21, John Muzzey ; 
22, Jonathan Prescott; 23, David Cutler; 24, John King; 25, Joseph 
Hill, jr. ; 26, Robert Cummings ; 27, Nathaniel Hammond ; 28, James 
Henry; 29, Thomas Cutler; 30, Hezelviah Sprague ; 31, Benjamin 
Haywood; 32, Jonathan Hammond by his father ; 33, Joseph Has- 
kell, 34, Eleazer Robbins ; 35, William Whitaker; 36, Samuel Doug- 
lass; 37, Aaron Lyon; 38, Benjamin Thompson; 39, Nathaniel 
Whitemore ; 40, Thomas Kendall ;41 ,^Timothy Stearns ; 42, John King ; 
43, John Sampson; 44, John Starr; 45, John King for his son; 46, 
John Mewharter ; 47, Ministry lot ; 48, Minister's lot; 49, Nathan- 
iel Mattoon; 50, Ephraim Jones; 51, William Lyon; 52, Benjamin 
Farusworth ; 53, Oliver Wallis ; 54, William Arms ; 55, Charles Pres- 
cott ; 56, Enos Goodale ; 57, John Tyler ; 58, Ebenezer Conant ; 59, 
William Carr ; 60, Thomas Heaton; 61, Thomas Kendall; 62, Sam- 
uel Doolittle; 63, Gardner Wilder. 

It will be apparent to one who shall read the subsequent histor}^ of 
the township that the grantees generally did not act in accordance 
with the terms of the grant, by becoming residents themselves, or by 



38 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

their children settling in the township. Among the names of these 
grantees who were residents of the township previous to 1747 we find 
only Hammond, Heaton, Brown, Jones, Chamberlain, King and Carr ; 
and then we find the names of Belding, Grimes, Guun, Cresson, Hills, 
Graves, Evans and Loomis. 

The inference is that the motive which prompted many of the grant- 
ees to take rights in the township was speculation ; and that some of 
them very soon disposed of their interests therein. 

The committee appointed by Massachusetts to lay out the sixty-three 
houselots, laid a road four rods wide from the south side of the south 
branch, north of the spot where No. 5 sehoolhouse now stands, in a 
straight line on to the hill west of the George Carpenter residence, 
thence making an angle and bearing to the east to a point a little 
southeast of the residence of Sylvander Stone. Thirty-two house 
lots were laid on the west side of this road, and thirty-one on the east 
side. No. 1 was at the west side of the North end and No. 32 on the 
west side of the South end ; No. 33 on the east side of the South end, 
and 63 on the east side at the North end. Some alteration of this 
plan was made soon after by the settlers. ^ Nos. 33 and 34 were taken 
from the east side and laid out south of No. 32 on the west side. The 
lots between Nos. 42 and 53 were moved to the east. Nos. 33 and 34 
were moved presumably because they included the moat. The others 
were moved so as to obtain a larger tract of common land upon what 
was called "Meeting House hill." 

The proprietors' records commence as follows : — 

"Concord June 27, 1734. At a meeting of the proprietors of the 
Lower Township on the Ashuelot river, Mr. Nathaniel Hammond of 
Littleton was chosen moderator ; Ephraim Jones of Concord chosen 
clerk and swoi'u. 

Voted that John Flint Esq. of Concord, Mr. Joseph Hill of Biller- 
ica, Mr. Thomas Cutler of Lexington, Mr. Eleazer Kobbins of Har- 
vard and Mr. Nathaniel Hammond of Littleton, be a committee to 
manage the prudential affairs of the said township. Voted that the 
meeting be adjourned to Wednesday the 18th day of September next, 
and then to meet at the said township of Lower Ashuelot at 10 o'clock 
in the forenoon. 

At a Meeting of the Propinetors of the Lower Ashawelock Town- 
ship, Being Meet on the said Township on the Eighteenth Day of 
SL'ptember, 1734. Voted that the Meeting be adjourned to To-morrow 
morning at Eight of the Clock being the Nineteenth Day of Septem- 
ber Currant then to Meet on the Lot No. 1 in the said Township. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 39 

At a meeting of the Proprietors of the Lower Township on Asha- 
welock River being meet on the Lot No. 1 in the said Township the 
Nineteenth Day of September Anno Dom. 1734. The question being 
Put whether the Proprietors will Lay out any of the Common Land 
in said Township at Present, Passed in the Negative ; and then the 
meeting adjourned to the Second Wednesday in October Next, and 
then to meet at the House of Ephraim Jones, Innholder at Concord 
at Twelve of the Clock at Noon." 

Probably these proprietors of the two townships. Upper and Lower 
Ashuelot, who held the first meetings in the townships were all unac- 
quainted with the location of them, and that they arrived in the eve- 
ning of September 18, 1734. The Keene historian says : "None of 
them having previously visited it, they were accompanied by Deacon 
Alexander of Northfield as a pilot. They did not arrive at the line 
of the township until late in the evening of the 18th, the day to which 
the meeting was adjourned ; and as soon as the pilot informed them 
that they had passed the line they opened the meeting and adjourned 
to the next day." 

It does not appear that any business of importance was transacted 
at this meeting. The principal object of holding it in the township 
was doubtless to make such observations as would enable them to make 
arrangements for its settlement. 

"At a meeting of the proprietors of the Lower Township of Ash- 
awelock River being continued by several adjournments being meet 
at the House of Ephraim Jones of Concord the Nineteenth Day of 
October Anno Dom. 1734. Voted that a Division of Interval be laid 
out. Voted that the Interval between the Great River and the South 
Branch, and all the Interval upon the South Branch be laid out, and 
also so much on the South side of the Great River, Below the South 
Branch as the Committee which shall be Chosen to Lay out shall think 
Most Convenient. Voted that Mr." Eleazer Robbins of Harvard, Mr. 
Nathaniel Hammond of Littleton, Ephraim Jones of Concord, Mr. 
Benjamin Reed of Lexington and Mr. Nathaniel Mattoon of North- 
field, or any three of them, be a committee to lay out the Interval be- 
fore mentioned into Sixty Three Lots as equal as may be in Quantity 
and Quality. Voted that the Committee Before mentioned be Impow- 
ered to Imploy a Surveyor to Lay out the Land before mentioned. 
Voted that the Committee before mentioned, forthwith or as soon as 
Conveniently may be, Lay out the Land before mentioned and Make 
a Return of their Doings to the Proprietors in order to have them Draw 
their Lots the 2'^ Wednesday of June next. Voted that the sum of 
Sixty Pounds be Paid by the Proprietors to Defray the Necessary 



40 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Charges. Voted that Mr. John Mnzzey of Lexington and INIr. Ben- 
jamin Heywood of Worcester be Collectors to Collect the said sum of 
Sixty Pounds of the Proprietors and Pay it into the Treasury on or 
before the 2nd Tuesday in April next. Voted that John Flint Esq. 
be Treasurer and Receiver to Receive the said Sum of Sixty Pounds 
of the Collector for the use of the Propriety. Voted that the Meet- 
ing be adjourned to the second Wednesday of June next then to Meet 
at the House of Ephraim Jones Inuholder at Concord in order to 
Draw their Lotts and to Treat of any other affairs which May then be 
thought Proper." 

At this adjourned meeting held at Concord, June 11, 1735, it was 
voted that the report of the committee to lay out the second division 
be accepted : that said committee be allowed ten shillings a da}' for 
their services, and "that the Surveyors Bills Being fifteen I'onnds 
Seven Shillings be allowed." It was also "voted that each Proprie- 
tor Pay Twenty Shillings before he shall Draw his Lott." The names 
of those who drew this second division are the same as tliose who drew 
the first. It includes the intervale lying on the east side of the Ash- 
uelot river between Keene line and the South Branch, and the inter- 
vale on each side of the latter stream between the iron bridge and the 
Ashuelot river. There was a small tract of intervale l^'ing on the south 
side of the South Branch and the east side of the Ashuelot river that 
was not included in this division. 

The boundaries of a few of these lots will be sufficient to give an 
idea how they were laid out and the amount of land which each lot 
contained. 

"No. 1 Bounds Northerly 125 rods on the upper Township, North- 
westerly 171 Rods on AshaAvelock River, South 135 on No. 2, East- 
erly 15 rods on undivided Land being upland : Said No. 1 contains 
Eleven acres, having 36 Rods Allowed for a Way besides." 

"No. 16 Bounds Northerly 174 Rods with No. 15, Westerly 7i Rods 
& half afoot with the river. Southerly 173^ Rods with No. 17, East- 
erly 7^ Rods and half a foot with undivided upland: Said No. 16 
Contains Eight acres besides 20 Rods for a way," 

"No. 48 is Invironed on all sides with water: Bounds North east 
34 Rods on the Great River, Northerly 7 Rods on the River : North- 
westerly 3 Rods on said River : westerly 26 Rods on said River : North- 
westerly 14 Rods on said River : westerly 12 Rods on the South Branch. 
Southwesterly 6 Rods on said South Branch. Said No. 48 Contains 
Four Acres and one hundred Rods, being without any incumbrances 
of way." 

"No. 53 Bounds Northwesterly 122 Rods on No. 52: Northeast- 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORr. 41 

erly 9 J- Rods ou uudividecl land : Southeast 6 Rods on undivided Land : 
Northeast 13 Rods on undivided Lands: Southeasterly 126 rods on 
No. 54: Northwesterly 13 Rods on the House Lotts ; Said No. 53 
Contains Eight acres besides 50 Rods for what the River takes out of 
the Same and Twenty Rods for a way." 

"No. 63 Bounds North on No. 62 18 Rods : North Easterly 8 Rods 
on the River : North westerly 17 Rods on the River : Easterly 63 Rods 
on the River, Southwesterly 64 Rods on Common Land ; Northwest- 
erly 24 Rods on Common Land, Westerly 20 Rods on Common Land. 
Said No. 63 Contains Thirteen acres and one hundred and Four Rods 
without any Incumbrances of ways." 

The committee who made this division consisted of Eleazer Robbins, 
Nath. Hammond and Benjamin Reed ; surveyor, Stephen Hosmer, jr. 

Doubtless soon after, this work was began in the township, by a 
party of men coming by the way of Northfield, through the then almost 
untrodden wilderness, bringing their tools and provisions with them. 
Their first work must have been to build cabins of logs and boughs. 
Then commenced the clearing of the land, and the woodman's axe 
began to resound through the deep, dark pine forest. During many 
a night as these laborers lay in their cabins after their hard day's 
work was done, there came to their ears the hooting of the owl, the 
bowling of the wolf and the roar of the distant waterfall. Before the 
snows of winter these laborers returned to their Massachusetts homes. 

The proprietors held a meeting at Concord, March 31, 1736. The 
subjects taken into consideration were the enclosing of the meadow 
lots by a fence ; the building of a saw-mill, and the laying out and 
constructing a road to Arlington (Winchester). At a meeting in the 
township September 8, a committee was chosen to see that the meadow 
lots were fenced before the first of December, and a committee was 
chosen to make a third division of land of about twenty acres to each 
house lot. At an adjourned meeting October 27, this committee made 
its report, which was accepted and the lots drawn. 

The twenty acre lots were laid out ou the intervale and meadows, 
which took nearly all that remained in the township after the first 
division of intervale had been made. It does not appear that any of 
the lots were laid out in what is called "Mark Meadow." The com- 
mittee commenced near where the Iron Bridge now stands over the 
South Branch and easterly of the town house, and laid lots in inter- 
vale land until they reached what was then the east line of the town. 
This line ran between the farms of Josiah Parsons and George W. 
Stanley, and further between the farms which were owned by the late 



42 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Amasa Aldrich and Carlton Parker. Several lots were laid out ou the 
Pond Brook meadow and the Richmond Branch meadow. Several 
were laid out on the Great River above West Swanzey, which were 
called the "Mill Meadow lots." Others were laid on the Great River 
between West Swauzey and Westport, which were called the "H3'pone- 
00 Meadows." Two lots were laid on the west side of the ' 'Great River" 
near Keene line. 

The first proprietors' meeting in 1737 was held at Concord, Feb- 
ruary 9. This was adjourned to March 16, when it was voted to give 
Ephrahn Jones 200 acres of land at the "Great Falls" if he would 
build at that place a saw-mill. It was voted also to make another, a 
fourth division of laud, of about eighty acres to each owner of a house 
lot. 

The proprietors came this year with their families, with the inten- 
tion of remaining during the winter and making it their permanent 
home. Their meetings from this time were held in the township. 
June 22, a meeting was called to beholden September 7 at the house 
of Capt. Nathaniel Hammond. This was the first house named in the 
records and stood where Mrs. Virgil Woodcock now resides. At this 
meeting and at adjournments of the same during the autumn, the fol- 
lowing business was transacted : — Voted to confirm to Ephraim Jones 
and his heirs the 200 acres of land that had been laid out at the 
"Great Falls" when he should have built the saw-mill. Voted to 
build a meeting house ; to raise money to pay for preaching ; to fine 
any person who should fall trees into the "South Branch" or into the 
"Great River," unless he removed them ; to look out a road to where 
the saw-mill was to be built, and also to the intervale ; that the eighty- 
acre lots which had been surveyed should be divided by lot, and that 
another, a fifth division of 100 acres in the undivided land be made 
to the owner of each house lot. 

At the close of the year 1737 a right in the township consisted of a 
house lot, an eight-acre meadow lot, a twenty-acre meadow lot, an 
eighty- acre lot of upland and a one hundred-acre lot which had been 
or could be pitched. 

The fourth division lots were laid out under the direction of a com- 
mittee consisting of Nathaniel Hammond, Benjamin Reed, Samuel 
Chamberlain, Ephraim Jones and Nathaniel Matloon. Allhongh the 
proi)rietors voted tliat they should contain eight}' acres each, many of 
them fell very much short of that amount. Tliey consisted of upland, 
as the intervale and meadow lands had already been disposed of. They 
were laid out with a good degree of regularity (as were also the three 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 43 

former divisions) in ranges in various parts of the township. The lots 
were about 170 rods in lengtli and 60 in widtli. Lot number 1 was laid 
west of the house lots and south of the Ashuelot river, near the sand 
bank ; the northwest corner being near the river bank, its length being 
from north to south. Numbers 2 and 3 were laid west of number 1, 
beino- numbered from east to west. A range of the lots was laid on 
the hill which lies between Swanzey Centre and West Swanzey ; the 
most northerly lot was number 4 which was located not far south of 
the road leading from the Centre to ^Yest Swanzey ; the most south- 
erly was number 18, and at present is part of the farm of Sylvander 
L. Whitcomb. Numbers 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24 and 25 were on the 
hill southeast of West Swanzey extending to the north end of Swan- 
zey Pond. Numbers 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 aud 42 were laid 
on the east of the South Branch and on the present road which runs 
from the Iron Bridge, near the town house, to Keene, and passes 
through these lots. E)ast of, and adjoining these lots was another 
range numbered 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, 39, 41 and 43. Number 44 
was northeast of said Iron Bridge. Numbers 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 and 
50 were between West Swanzey and Westport on the east side of 
Ashuelot river. Numbers 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 
62 and 63 were on the west side of the road leading through the cen- 
tre of the town. The southeast corner of lot number 51 was near 
Pond Brook Bridge. Number 63 was the minister lot, and the most 
northerly one in the range. The east line of these lots, south of the 
house lots, was where the road now runs ; and the east line of those 
west of the house lots was on the west line of the house lots. 

The names of a few of the present owners of these lots are here 
given : number 26, Charles H. Rockwood ; 28, Phineas Gay ; 30, A. 
S. Blake ; 38, Leander Page ; 42, G. W. Eastman ; 53, W. C. Beld- 
ing; 54, R. Hovey ; 55, A. B. Cook; 59, M. C. Stone; 62, George 
Carpenter. 

At a proprietors' meeting held at the house of Capt. Nathaniel 
Hammond, October 26, 1737, "Voted that Capt. Nathaniel Hammond, 
Benjamin Heywood, Charles Lumis, Samuel Hills and Thomas Cres- 
sou be a committee to lay out the fifth division and qualify the lots. 
Voted that the committee shall pitch and lay out the lots for the min- 
ister and ministry. 

Voted that each of the proprietors shall pitch his lot and shall draw 
lots for his pitch ; and he who draws No. 1 is to make his pitch on 
the sixth day of March next, and he who draws No. 2 shall pitch on 
seventh day of March and so on till they are all pitched." The under- 



44 HISTORY OF SW^VNZEY. 

standing of the proprietors in voting to have the committee "h\y out 
the lots and qualify them" Avas to add land to those lots of inferior 
quality to make the lots of equal value. Each proprietor in turn had 
the privilege of going anywhere into the undivided land, make his se- 
lection, and lay it out in just such shape as he chose. As may be 
supposed these lots were laid out in every conceivable shape, as the 
description and plans in the proprietors' records plainly show. The 
description of a few of these lots may serve as specimens. 

"This plan describes a 5th division lot lying in Swanzey, pitched 
according to a vote of the proprietors and laid out to David Belding 
and to house lot No. 44, containing by estimation one hundred acres, 
and bounded as follows : Beginning at a Basswood tree on the brink 
of the river in line of the Old Mill Farm, then running easterly with 
said Mill Farm till it comes to a 4tli division lot No. 24 ; then south- 
wardly bounding on 4th division lot till it comes to lot No. 45 in the 
4th division ; then westwardly bounding on No. 45 till it comes to 
Hyponeco meadow, so-called ; thence northwardly with said meadow 
till it comes to the river ; then northwardly by said river till it comes 
to the bound first mentioued. Laid out October 21, 1758. 

David Belding, Surveyor. 
Jonathan Hammond, \ 
Thomas Cresson, > Committee." 
David Belding, j 

"This Plan Describeth a Fifth Division Lot Lying in Swanzey Con- 
taining 120 acres pitched agreeable to a vote of the Proprietors and 
Laid out by Thomas Cresson to the House Lott No. 46 Bounded as 
follows : First Beginning at a Hemlock Stump on the west side of the 
River y° Running Down the River bounding on said River 25G Rods 
to a Pitch pine Tree standing near the Bank of the River as may ap- 
pear by the Plan ; y" turns N. 29° E. 112 Rods to a white Pine; y" 
East 52 Rods to a White Oak Stump ; y" E. 70° S. 38 Rods to a Stake ; 
y"^ S. 18° W. 52 Rods ; y" E. 38° S. to the Stump first mentioned ; y" 
running over the River and turning up the River until it comes to the 
mouth of the Branch to the Corner of the House Lot No. 1 ; y" turn- 
ing west bounding on said House Lot to the River as Doth appear by 
this Plan. Laid out April the 1, 1775. 

David Belding, Surveyor. 
David Belding, \ 

Thomas Ckesson, > Committee." 
Jonathan Hammond, •' 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 45 

"This plau describes one division lot lying in Swanzey pitched 
agreeable to a vote of the proprietors to the Rev. Samuel Hopkins, 
June 5, 1759, and to house lot No. 55; said lot originally belonged 
to Charles Frescott, containing 100 acres and one rod in forty for 
swag of chain ; and bounded as follows : Beginning at the N. E. cor- 
ner at a hemlock tree in the town line marked (S. H.) ; then runs 
west and south with the third division of interval land 260 rods to a 
white pine which was the corner of a third division lot ; then runs 
south 59° east 140 rods to a red oak tree marked S. H. in Richmond 
line ; then runs N. 39° E. to the first mentioned bound. 

David Belding, Surveyor. 

David Belding, 

Jonathan Hammond, )■ Committee. 

Thomas Cresson, 



■•I 



The settlers, having spent their first winter in the township, appear 
to have been in a healthy condition in the spring of 1738, and took 
hold of the work of a public nature that lay before them, with vigor. 

At a proprietors' meeting March 15, Nathaniel Hammond was 
chosen moderator, Jonathan Hammond and Thomas Cresson survey- 
ors of highways ; Nathaniel Hammond, Thomas Cresson and Samuel 
Hills, assessors ; N. Hammond collector, and John Evens treasurer for 
the year ensuing. 

Voted to raise two pounds ten shillings on each right to fence the 
intervale if each proprietor does not do his part of said fence. 

Voted that Benjamin Brown, Jonathan Hammond and William Carr 
be a committee to run the lines between the second division lots. 

A meeting was duly called to meet at the house of Capt. Nathaniel 
Hammond, November 6. After Capt. Hammond was chosen mod- 
erator the meeting adjourned for a quarter of an hour to meet at the 
house of Jethro Eames. 

Chose Benjamin Brown of Concord proprietors' clerk ; and voted that 
the proprietors' book be kept in the town for the future. 

"Voted to raise the sum of 40 shillings on each right, or the sum 
of 120 pounds for encouragement towards building. a grist mill upon 
the 'Great River' near to where the saw mill now stands in said town- 
ship, to him or them that shall appear to enter into bonds to build the 
same on or before the first day of September next ensuing." 

At a meeting held Dec. 28 it was voted, "That the piece of land 
be laid common for the use of the town forever that lies between the 



46 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

two tier of house lots for a burying place and training field, and for 
any other use the town shall think proper." 

Voted, "That the committee that was chosen to see to the building 
of the meeting house be a committee likewise to see to the cutting 
down of the trees and clear a place to set the Meeting House on, and 
for a burying place." 

Voted, "That each of the proprietors shall have liberty to Avork out 
his equal part in falling the trees and clearing the above-mentioned 
road and common land where the meeting house is to stand &c., be- 
tween the first day of February next ensuing and the last day of Feb- 
ruary following." 

Voted, "That the Proprietors will buy 18 lbs. of Powder & 36 lbs. 
of Lead for a proprietors' stock, and shall l)e left in the hands of Capt. 
Nathaniel Hammond for the use of said Propriety." 

Voted, "That Nathaniel Gunn, Jonathan Hammond and Benjamin 
Brown be a committee to agree with all those men that have any land 
wanting in their second or third division Lots, and lay out to them an 
equivalent for the same in some of the undivided land in said Town- 
ship, or in the equivalent land that is granted and is to be laid out for 
what this Township interfered upon Arlington." 

Voted, "That the Proprietors will pay for building a windlass to 
draw logs out of the saw-mill pond on to the mill, and sh:dl be kept 
for the use of the propriety." 

Voted, "That Capt. Nathaniel Hammond, Messrs. Jethro Ames, 
William Carr, Ephraim Jones and Nathaniel Gunn be a committee to 
look out a convenient place to lay out the equivalent land that is 
granted by the Great and General Court for the land that was taken 
away by interfering upon Arlington." 

It appears that the piece of land appropriated at this meeting for 
public uses was not large enough for the designed purpose and sub- 
sequent changes were made as is shown by the accompanying diagram 
and report. 

" This Plan Describeth the Hous Lotts in y® Lower Ashuelot town- 
ship so called Laid out in part By JNIr. Nathaniel Dwight in May 1 734 
and since thien agreeable to a vote of sd. propriaotors theares Been 
Considerable alteration made in thiem from y*^ waiey they ware first 
proposed to be laid out by a Committee chosen for that end (as ap- 
pears by this plan) by Laying a peace of Land common for setting up 
an house for publick worship, «&;c. and bounding the eastwardly P^nd 
of y^ Lotts on the Eastward side of the Road on y^ second and third 



MORTH 



Thomas Gvasson 






CharUs Lumis 



TTniothy Bvowrt 



tames 



Sch.o<?l 
Hous« 

Rsi/'rimathv 
Marf ingtoti' 

John 

Chamlifflai 
Broujn 



Sanjuel Cunn 
Jiath. Gurert 



WUUam. Care 

No. 58 / Samuel Belding 
No. 57 
No. 56 / Sat77ua.l CKambcflaia 

WiUiarrr Afms 
Samuel Famswoj-th 

No. ^9\ Abraham Gyai/cs 




William Scolt 



Nathaniel 
Hammond 



Jonathan Hammond No 3 2 



No. 46 /•'oriathan F^aKX/ 
o. 4-5/ Ekakim Kiag 
Dauid Beldiixg 
Sarnual MltcKeLl 



Andy^^^) Ga.fdnQ.r 



Thomas Hammond 
SamuftL Hills 

Joseph Hammoiad 

?faD o[ eFoujaSh ujitb seitlers 
ooiwes so far os ki>owo,ii-) iy47 
vj^beo tbe Toujo ujos abaT)cfonecl. 



^OUTH 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 47 

Division Lotts and on y^ westwardly side of y*' Road thears sum va- 
riation made in y® Roads between y^ Lotts viz. the Road of four Rods 
wide on y*^ south side of y*^ Lott is added to sd. Lott in full satisfac- 
tion for y*^ Road of four rods wide taken out of the north side of y*^ 
Lott No. 25 which was don by agreement of y*^ committee and y*^ per- 
son who is y^ present propriator (or owner) of said No. 21 & 25 and 
likewise by a free consent of y** present owner of y*^ Lott No. 3 1 y^ 
Road is turned in at y*^ north Eastwardly corner of it and Runs some- 
thing angling Cross sd Lott Leaving part of it on y*^ South and South 
Eastwardly side of y^ Road as appears by this plan. 

Laid out in December 1739 

By Ben J A Brown Surveyor 
Thomas Crksson, \ 
Sam^ Gunn, > Committee." 

Bknja Brown, ^ 

A number of proprietors' meetings were held during the year 1739. 
The most important objects considered were to provide preaching, to 
settle a minister, to clear off the trees upon Meeting House Hill Com- 
mon, to lay out and build a road from the saw mill to Arlington, to 
build a bridge over the South Branch and a road to Upper Ashuelot. 
The bridge over the Branch was necessary for going to Upper Ash- 
uelot and to their meadow lots. Its location was nearly opposite the 
William Carr place. 

Oct. 19 it was " Voted to build a pound 35 feet square and 7 feet 
high, to be set on the easterly side of Meeting House hill." Mr. 
Ephraim Jones was chosen "to go to the General Court to get confirmed 
a plan of the equivalent land laid out to said proprietors by order of 
a committee from the General Court on the easterly side of said Town- 
ship." The " equivalent land" spoken of was ungranted land taken 
from outside the township to make up to the proprietors what they 
lost by the corner in the southwest part of the original township be- 
longing to Arlington. In 1740 the proprietors were greatly disturbed 
when they ascertained that they were not inhabitants of Massachu- 
setts. After a long contest the boundary line between the two prov- 
inces was now established, and found to be some six miles south of 
the southern line of the township. They had anticipated no such de- 
cision as this. They were all from Massachusetts and supposed they 
were building in a Massachusetts town. They knew Massachusetis, 
and felt that she would render them any assistance that might be 
needed for the protection of frontier towns. They knew but little 



48 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

about New Hampshire. They were strangers to her people and knew 
not what treatment they might receive from her government. The near- 
est towns that had been settled under the auspices of New Hampshire 
were in the Merrimack valley. Though disappointed in finding them- 
selves located in New Hampshire instead of Massachusetts they were 
not discouraged. They changed somewhat their contemplated plans, 
and gave their attention to building a schoolhouse instead of a meet- 
ing house as had been proposed. The Congregational Church was 
formed Nov. 4, 1741, and Rev. Timothy Harrington was settled as 
pastor. 

In those towns in the Connecticut and Ashuelot valleys which had 
been settled under the jurisdiction of Massachusetts no particular 
change took place in their affairs for some years after the establish- 
ment of the boundary line in consequence of the change then made. 
Massachusetis continued to furnish soldiers for garrison duty in the 
forts \^ hich it had built, and New Hampshire gave no indication of her 
willingness to accept them and provide for their maintenance. Massa- 
chusetts at last became dissatisfied with the state of affairs and the 
settlements became alarmed in view of their situation and exposure 
to Indian raids. 

Fort Dummer was situated on the west side of Connecticut river, 
about five miles north of Massachusetts line, and at this time witliin 
the bounds of New Hampshire. It was built by Massachusetts about 
1724, for the protection of her frontier settlements, had been garri- 
soned and supported by her till 1744, when, finding it without her ju- 
risdiction and within that of New Hampshire, she naturally thought 
the latter province should be at the expense of its support. An ex- 
tended correspondence was entered into by Governors Sliirley of 
Massachusetts and Wentworth of New Hampshire ; action was taken 
by the legislative bodies of the two provinces and by the King's Coun- 
cil that had been petitioned to solve the ditiiculty. New Hampshire 
pleaded her poverty ; that the fort would serve as a protection to only 
one or two of her towns, and those granted b}' Massachusetts ; that 
Massachusetts was rich and able to support it and that its advantages 
were largely in her favor. 

May 3, 1 745, the New Hampshire Assembly by a large majority re- 
fused to make any grant for the support and maintenance of the fort. 
Soon after this Assembly was dissolved b}' the Governor, a new one 
chosen and qualified, and, June 5, reversed the action of the previous 
Assembly, and voted to receive and garrison the fort. During the 
controversy delegates were chosen from Winchester, Upper and Lower 



> 



o 
o 




'^ 


■ '!^ 


GO 




^ 




pd 




w 




w 




_-^ 




^ 




tx) 




C/5 




^ 




LO 




^ 


. * ' 


> 




:z; 




N 


t 


vn 




^ 






GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 49 

Ashuelot and No. Two (WestmorelaDtl) to meet at Fort Dummer, 
March 20, 1744, and see what might be done by petition or otherwise 
for "■ help and protection in this time of danger." 

Nathaniel Hammond and Thomas Cresson were the delegates from 
this town. 

This controversy about the fort should be regarded as having been 
a test question whether New Hampshire would or would not assume 
the responsibility of protecting the few settlements that had been made 
in the Connecticut and Ashuelot valleys. 

It should be said in justice to New Hampshire for its reluctance 
that it was assuming a great responsibility to undertake their protec- 
tion. The province was not strong and it gave her a very extended 
frontier to defend against the French and Indians, and it was reliev- 
ing Massachusetts of a responsibility that really belonged to her as 
much as it did to New Hampshire. 

At a legal meeting held October 3, 1740, it was unanimously voted 
to petition the " Kings Most Excellent Majesty" setting forth their dis- 
turbed condition and asking to be annexed to the province of Massa- 
chusetts Bay. It was also unanimously " voted that Thomas Hutch- 
inson, Esq., be impowered to present the petition to His Majesty and 
to appear in behalf of the petitioners and act according to his best ' 
judgment." 

"Nathaniel Hammond, Abraham Graves and John Evans were 
chosen a committee, December 22, 1740, to finish the fort which had 
been begun around Capt. Nathaniel Hammond's house, as soon as the 
season Avould allow, and to build two more forts when there should be 
occasion for them." The second fort was to be built around John 
Evans' house, and the third one upon Meeting House hill. Ham- 
mond's house was upon house lot No. 27, and Evans' was doubtless 
upon one of the most northerly house lots. The committee for build- 
ing the forts were authorized to pay eight shillings a day for the labor 
performed upon them. 

At a proprietors' meeting March 16, 1741, Abraham Graves and 
Samuel Hills were chosen surveyors of " hey waies ;" Thomas Crison 
and William Carr " fence vewers ;" Jonathan Hammond and David 
Belding field drivers andSamuelHills and Charles Lumies "hog reaves." 
Capt. Nathaniel Hammond, Ephraim Jones of Concord and Timo- 
thy Brown were chosen a couunittee to sell the equivalent land ; John 
Chamberlain was allowed damages by reason of the "hey waiey " 
crossing his "meadow lott where the bridge now stands on the South 
Branch." 



4 



50 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

"Voted that the fence Round the Enterveal in the Great Meadow 
shall be done up aceordhig to Law by the fiveteeuth day of April 
next and that the meadow be clear of Cattle by the first of May 
next." 

War was commenced between Great Britain and France in 1744, 
and the English and French colonies became involved in it. Tlie 
French authorities in Canada incited the Canadian Indians to commit 
barbarous hostilities upon the English frontier settlements. It does 
not appear that any depredations were made in this vicinity in 1 744, 
but in each of the four following years the inhabitants suffered greatly. 
(See Chapter II.) 

A party of Indians that had been committing depredations in North- 
field, April 15, 1747, left there the following night and came to Lower 
Ashuelot and burned the town, every building but one being destroyed. 
Immediately preceding this date the township had been abandoned. It 
appears that on account of the Indian war very few accessions were 
made to the settlement during the time that intervened between the 
establishment of the boundary line on the south of the province and 
the time when the township was abandoned. 

Those who had made a settlement remained and made the best they 
could of the situation while those who contemplated coming deferred 
it until more prosperous times. 

The following may be considered a nearly correct list of the names 
of the men who had a permanent residence in the town previous to its 
abandonment, together with the place from which each came and 
the time when the names first appear on the records : 

Capt. Nathaniel Hammond, Littleton, Sept. 17, 1737. 

Samuel Hills, Sunderland, Sept. 17, 1737. 

Samuel Farnsworth, Sept. 17, 1737. 

Thomas Cresson, Sunderland, Sept. 17, 1737. 

Charles Lumis, Bolton, Sept. 17, 1737. 

William Carr, Deerfield, Sept. 17, 1737. 

Jethro Fames, Oct. 10, 1737. 

Jonathan Hammond, Littleton, Oct. 10, 1737. 

John Chamberlain, Oct. 10, 1737. 

AVilliam Grimes, Lancaster, Oct. 10, 1737. 

John Evens, Bolton, Oct. 26, 1737. 

Samuel Gunn, Sunderland, Nov. 6, 1738. 

Benjamin Brown, Concord, Nov. 6, 1738. 

Nathaniel Gunn, Dec. 28, 1738. 

Samuel Mitchel, Dec. 28, 1738. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 51 

William Seott, Oct. 9, 1739. 

David Bekling, Weathersfiekl, Conn., Dec. 28, 1738. 

Andrew Gardner, Oct. 9, 1739. 

Abraham Graves, Hatfield, Dec. 6, 1739. 

Timothy Brown, Brookfield, Apr. 4, 1740. 

Rev. Timothy Harrington, Cambridge, Nov. 4, 1741. 

Nathaniel Hammond, Littleton, Nov. 4, 1741. 

Thomas Hammond, Littleton, Nov. 4, 1741. 

Eliakim King, 1743. 

James Ileaton, Wrentham, Nov., 1743. 

Samuel Bekling, Weathersfiekl, Conn., Dec. 12, 1743. 

William Arms. 

Joseph Hammond, Littleton, 1744. 

Charles Eames, Sept. 28, 174G. 

Samuel Chamberlain, Sept. 28, 1746. 

Samuel Hills, jr., Sept. 28, 1746. 

Timothy Hammond, Littleton, Sept. 27, 1746. 

Jonathan Frary, previous to 1747. 

Of these thirty-three persons John Evens removed about 1743 to 
Hinsdale; Nathaniel Hammond, jr., died Oct. 9, 1743; Samuel Gunn 
died Nov. 7, 1743, and Timothy Hammond died Sept. 27, 1746. Dea- 
con Timothy Brown buried two wives; Capt. Nathaniel Hammond and 
Thomas Hammond each buried his wife ; William Carr buried five 
children ; Jonathan Hammond buried three and a number of others 
buried one child each. 

The plan facing page 46 may be regarded as a nearly correct rep- 
resentation of the house lots, roads, forts, burying ground and places 
where the settlers had located previous to its abandonment and de- 
struction by fire at the hands of the Indians. Among those whose 
location is doubtful are Jethro Eames, Andrew Gardner and Samuel 
Mitchel. We infer that Joseph Hammond, Nathaniel Hammond, jr., 
Timothy Hammond, Charles Eames, Samuel Chamberlain and Samuel 
Hills, jr., were young men without families and we have given them 
no location presuming they had none separate from that of their 
fathers. 

The main road as first laid out as represented on the plan of the 
house lots was where the road now is at the north and south ends, and 
the angle was on the hill. The road ran just west of the old ceme- 
tery. The northeast corner of house lot No. 18 was near the great 
surface rock on the Ezra Carpenter place. The road that was sub- 
sequently laid out on the east side of Meeting House hill as it diverged 
from the main road, passed through what is now the southeast corner 



52 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

» 

of the cemetery and near the hearse house leaving the small hill on 
the east side of the road. 

The brick church stands on house lot No. 24. Capt. Nathaniel 
Hammond's house lot was No. 27 on which was erected the first house 
and around which was built the first fort. At present it is the Virgil 
Woodcock place. The names of the owners and occupants of the 
several house lots, so far as is known, at the time the town Avas 
abandoned, are given on the plan, which with this exception is a fac- 
simile from the proprietors' records. 

It was about twelve years from the time that work was commenced 
in the township to the time it was abandoned. During this time much 
land had been brought under cultivation, many houses had been built, 
a saw and grist mill constructed, a schoolhouse erected, a chnrch or- 
ganized and a minister settled. 

The settlers scattered among their friends in Massachusetts, thank- 
ful that they had escaped captivity, but sorrowful to leave their newly 
found homes and so much of the little property they possessed to be 
destroyed by the Indians. 

During the years that intervened before their return some attempts 
were made to realize a little income from their lauds they had left. 
It is said that cattle were killed at Upper Ashuelot in 1 748, and it was 
this same year that Taylor's party were ambushed while on their way 
from Northfield to the places of the Ashuelot settlements. Of this 
part}' were Thomas Cresson who was captured ; Asahel Graves who 
was killed, and perhaps others of the settlers who were anxious to view 
the desolations of their former homes. 

In 1748 England and France made peace, but the Indians contin- 
ued their raids upon the frontier settlements till 1749. Some fami- 
lies may have returned to Lower Ashuelot as early as 1751, but prob- 
ably only a few came before 1752. 

The township was chartered by New Hampshire, Julj' 2, 1753, and 
took the name of Swanzey. It is not known by whose influence the 
town took this name. That it was the result of some connection that 
some of the early settlers had with Swansea in Wales is prol)able. It 
has been conjectured that some of the first settlers were from Swan- 
sea, Massachusetts, and that that supposition suggested the name. 
But there is no recorded evidence that any of them came from that 
town. 

By the New Hampshire charter individuals had confirmed to them 
a title to the land which was granted by Massachusetts. Pine trees 
for masts and some of the undivided land was reserved for special 
uses as will be seen by the following Charter. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 53 



PROVINCE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. 

George the second by the Grace of God of Great Brittain France & 
Ireland., King Defender of the Faith &c. To all 'persons to lohom 
these presents shall Come., Greeting. 

Whereas sundry of our loveing Subjects before the Settlement of 
the Dividing Line of our Province of New Hampshire afore-*^ and our 
other Government of tlie Massachusetts Bay had by Permission of 
our said Government of the Massachusetts Bay, begun a Settlement 
of A Tract of Land on Ashuelott River, so called, and made Sundry 
Divisions of, and Improvements upon the s'' Tract of Land, and there 
remained till the Indian Warr forced them off, and our s'^ Subjects 
being Desirous to make an Immediate Settlement on the Premises and 
having Petitioned our Governour in Council for his Majestys Grant 
of the Premisses to be so made as might not Subvert and Destroy their 
former Surveys and Laying out in Severalty made thereon as afore- 
said : NOW KNOW YE, that We, of our Especial Grace Certain 
Knowledge and mere Motion for the answering the End aboves*^, and 
for the due Encouragement of Settling the s'' Plantation, By and with 
the Advice of our Trusty and well Beloved Benniug Wentworth Esq. 
our Governour & Commander in Chief in and over our s^' Province of 
New Hampshire in America and of our Council of our s'^ Province : 
Have upon the Conditions & Reservations herein after made. Given 
and Granted, and by these Presents for Us our Heirs & Successors Do 
Give and Grant unto our Loveing Subjects Inhabitants of our s*^ Prov- 
ince of New Hampshire, and our other Governments in New England, 
and to their Heirs and Assigns for Ever, whose Names are Entered 
on this Grant, To be Divided to & amongst them, into So many and 
such Shares and Proportions a^s they now hold or Claim the same by 
Purchase, Contract, Vote or Agreement made amongst themselves. 
All that Tract or Parcel of Land, Scituate, Lying and being within 
our s*^ Province of New Hampshire containing by Admeasurement 
Twenty-three thousand and forty Acres which Tract is to Contain Six 
Miles Square and no more, out of which An Allowance is to be made 
for Highways and unimprovable Land, by Rocks, Mountains, Ponds 
and Rivers, one thousand and forty Acres, free according to a Plan 
thereof made and Presented by our s*^ Governour's orders & hereunto 
Annexed, Butted & Bounded as follows (Viz) Beginning At the North 
East corner of Wichester, so called, at a Pine tree. Marked : thence 
running South by the Needle till it comes to the North Westerly cor- 



54 



HISTORY OF SWANZET. 



ner of Richmond, so called : from thence running Easterly by Rich- 
mond about Two Miles to a Corner, from thence running North 39 de- 
grees East on s'^ Richmond about Seven Miles till it comes the south 
easterly corner of Keene, so called : from thence running West 10^ 
degrees North six miles or thereabouts on said Keene Line to a Beach 
tree marked for the North Easterly corner of Chesterfield, so called : 
from thence running South Thirty five degrees West on s'^ Chester- 
field Line to the S" East Corner of Chesterfield : from thence Easterly 
to Winchester Line to the Bounds first mentioned. And that the same 
be and hereby is incorporated into a Township by the Name of Swan- 
zy — And that the Inhabitants that do or Shall hereafter Inhabit s'' 
Township, Are hereby Declared to be Enfranchised with & Entitled 
to all & every the Privileges & Immunities that other Towns within 
our 8*^ Province by Law Exercise and Enjoy, and further that the s'' 
Town as soon as there shall be fifty Families resident there, shall have 
the Liberty to open and keep a Market one or more Days in Each 
Week as may be thought most Advantageous to the Inhabitants. Also 
that the first Meeting for the Choice of Town Oflficers & other Affairs 
agreeable to the Laws of our s** Province shall be held on the first 
Tuesday in August next, which Meeting shall be Notified by Col. 
William Symes who is hereby also Appointed the Moderator of the 
s*^ first Meeting, which he is to Notify and Govern agreeable to the 
LaAv and Custom of our s*^ Province and the Annual Meeting for Ever 
after for the Choice of such Officers for the s'' Town shall be on the 
first Tuesday in March Annually. 

TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the s'l Tract of Land as above Ex- 
pressed, together with all the Priviledges & Appurtenances to them and 
their respective heirs and Assigns for Ever ; upon the following Condi- 
tions (Viz) That every Grantee his Heirs & Assigns shall Plant or Cul- 
tivate five Acres of Land within the Term of five years, for every fifty 
Acres Contained in his or their Share or Proportion of Land in the s** 
Township, And Continue to Improve and Settle the same by addi- 
tional Cultivations on Penalty of the forfeiture of his Grant or Share 
in the s'^ Township and its reverting to his Majesty his Heirs & Suc- 
essors to be by him or them regranted to such of his Subjects, as shall 
Effectually Settle & Cultivate the same. That all White and other 
Pine Trees within the s*^" Township fit for Masting our Royal Navy 
be carefully Preserved for that Use and none to be Cutt or fell'd with- 
out his Majestys Especial License for so doing first had and obtained 
upon the Penalty of the Forfeiture of the Right of such Grantee his 
Heirs or Assigns, to Us our Heirs & Successors, as well as being Sub- 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 55 

ject to the Penalty of auy Act or Acts of Parliament that now are or 
hereafter shall be Enacted ; Also reserveing the Power of Adding to 
or Dividing the s^' Town, So far as it relates to Incorporations only to 
Us our Heirs & Successors when it shall appear necessary or Conven- 
ient for the Benefit of the Inhabitants thereof. Also Subjecting the 
unimproved Lands within this Grant to the annual tax of one Penny 
pr. Acre for four years from the Date hereof for building a Meeting- 
house and Settling a Gospel Minister in s"^ Town. That before any 
further Division of the s^' Land be made to & amongst the Grantees a 
Tract of Land in the most Commodious Place the Land will Admit of, 
shall be reserved and marked out for Town Lotts one of w*"^' shall be 
Allotted to Each Grantee of the Contents of one Acre. YIELDING 
and PAYING therefor to us our Heirs & Successors for the space of 
ten Years to be Computed from the Date hereof the annual Rent of one 
Ear of Indian Corn only commencing on the first of January next en- 
sueing the Date hereof, and every Proprietor, Settler or Inhabitant shall 
Y'ield & Pay unto Us our Heirs & Successors Y'early & every Year for 
Ever, from & after the Expiration of Ten Y ears from the Date hereof. 
Namely on the first day of Jan^"^ w''^^ will be in the Year of our LORD 
CHRIST One thousand Seaven Hund.*^ & Sixty four. One Shilling 
Proclamation money for every hundred Acres he so owns, Settles or 
Posseses & so in proportion for a Greater or Lesser tract of the ^'^ 
Land w.'^^^ Money shall be Paid by the respective persons above®^, 
their Heirs or Assigns, in our Council Chamber in Porstm.^ or to such 
OtHcer or Officers as shall be Appointed to receive the Same, and this 
to be in Lieu of all Rents & Services whatsoever. — IN WITNESS 
whereof We have Caused the Seal of our s*^ Province to be hereunto 
Affixed. 

WITNESS PENNING WENTWORTH ESQ.'" our Govern.^ & 
Command.'^' in Chief of our s.'' Prov.^*^ the 2^ day of July In the Year 
.of our LORD CHRIST 1753, And in the 21^^ Year of our Reign. 

Benning Wentworth. 

July 2«' 1753. Province of New Hampshire 
Recorded in the Book of Charters on 
Page 165-166-167. 

Theodore Atkinson Sec'"^'. 
By his Excellency's Command 
with Advice of the Council. 

Theodore Atkinson Sc'^'^ 



56 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

NAMES OF THE GRANTEES OF SWANZEY. 

Nathaniel Hammond, Abi'aham Graves, William Grimes, Benjamin 
Grant, Thomas Crisson, Thomas Crisson, jun'", William Hill, William 
Crison, William Carr, Elijah Graves, Samnel Belding, Eliakim King, 
Jonathan Woodcock, Joshua Graves, Abner Graves, David Belding, 
Tim" Brown, James Heatou, James Ileaton, jun'", William Heatou, 
Samnel Hills, Nathaniel Hills, Jonathan Woodcock, jr., Jonathan 
Hammond, Tho.® Nutten, Ebenezer Hills, John Prat, Timothy Prat, 
Samuel Prat, Joseph Hammond, Thomas Hammond, Seth Gay, Asa 
Groat, Christopher Grant, Daniel Arms, Ebenezer Arms, Nathaniel 
Gun, Wyat Gun, Daniel Gun, Ebenezer Sprage, jr., Ebenezer Sprage, 
Joseph Marchant, Noah Bodman, Benj^ Sheldiu, Mark Ferry, Jona- 
than Frazey, John Frazey, Phineas Frazey, Jonathan Armes, Jona- 
than Bodwell, Oliver Witt, Oliver Hammond, Joshua Prime, Joseph 
Write, Benjamin Brown, Simon Davis, Samuel McCleanen, Zebulon 
Ballord, Stephen Nutten, Caezer Freeman, Samuel Gaylord, James 
Blood, jr., His Excellency Benning Wentworth, Esq''. A Tract of Land 
Containing five hundred acres, one seventieth parte of s.'' Tract of 
Land for the incorporation Society, for the propagation of the Gospel 
in forreign Parts, one Seventieth Parte of the said Tract of Land for 
the first Settled Minister of the Gospel in the said Town, one Seven- 
tieth Parte of the s*^ Granted Track for a Glebe for the Church of 
England, as by Law Established. 

Prov : New Hampshire. Entered & Recorded Accordingly in the 
book of Charters this 2^ day of July 1753 on Page 167-168. 

P*" Theodork Atkinson, Sec''^'. 

Recorded from the back of the original Charter for the 2** day of 
July, 1753. 

The accompanying plans from the back of the charter give the 
bounds respectively after the territory belonging to Winchester in the^ 
southwest corner had been taken out, and after the Richmond gore on 
the east had been annexed in 1762. Subsequent changes in the east- 
erly boundary have been as follows: — in 1812 the northeast corner 
of the town was annexed to Keene ; in 1793 and 1842 portions adjoin- 
ing Marlborough were annexed to that town, and in 1815 a part of 
Swanzey was taken to help form the town of Troy. 

It vvas about nineteen years from the time that Lower Ashuelot was 
granted by Massachusetts to the time the township was chartered by 
New Hampshire. Only four names appear, both among the Massachu- 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 57 

setts and New Hampshire grantees. These are Nathaniel Hammond, 
Jonathan Hannnond, William Carr and James Heaton. 

The following New Hampshire grantees had resided in the town- 
ship before it was abandoned, many of them coming before they had 
reached their majority : Abraham Graves, William Grimes, Thomas 
Cresson, Thomas Cresson, jr., William Hill, William Cressou, William 
Carr, Elijah Graves, Samuel Belding, Eliakim King, Joshua Graves, 
David Belding, Timothy Brown, Wm. Heaton, Samuel Hills, Nathaniel 
Hills, Ebenezer Hills, Joseph Hammond, Thomas Hammond, Daniel 
Amies, Ebenezer Amies, Nathaniel Gunn, AVyat Gunn, Daniel Gunu, 
Mark Ferry, Jonathan Armes, Oliver Hammond, Benjamin Brown. 
Other grantees who subsequently became inhabitants of the town and 
whose names appear on the records are Jonathan Woodcock, Jonathan 
Woodcock, jr., P^benezer Sprague and Ebenezer Sprague, jr. Most 
of the other grantees never became residents of the town. 

It appears that both Massachusetts and New Hampshire considered 
it indispensable when granting a new township that provision should 
be made for having a meeting-house built immediately when a settle- 
ment had been made. For this purpose Massachusetts required each 
grantee to pay five pounds for one share in the township. This 
money, after paying the expense of surveying the boundary of the 
town and laying out the house lots was for building a meeting-house. 
New Hampshire provided for a meeting-house by the penny tax. 

A meeting-house would doubtless have been built during the first 
years of the settlement had there been no Indian Avar. After the re- 
settlement the building was soon commenced, and was so far com- 
pleted as to be used in 1755. It is not known whether it was built 
entirely by the penny tax or in part by the five-pound tax imposed 
upon the first grantees by Massachusetts. 

When the settlers returned to the township they hoped for no more 
trouble from the Indians, but their hopes were soon dissipated. Eng- 
land and France were again at war and the French authorities in 
Canada encouraged the Indians to renew the war upon the frontier 
settlements. Swauzey was in constant danger. The people worked 
in their fields with a guard of soldiers to protect them. Ncav Hamp- 
shire furnished some soldiers for this purpose but the number was 
insufficient to give them security. 

On account of the unsettled state of affairs only a few persons came 
to the township to make a settlement between the years 1752 and 1762 
except those who had previously resided here. Rev. Ezra Carpenter 
came in 1753; Israel Day's name appears soon after; William 
Wright's in 1758 and Joseph Whitcomb's in 1760. 



58 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Richmond was chartered February 28, 1752, and iucluded witliiuits 
boiiuds a piece of land lying between Swanzey on the west and Fitz- 
william and Marlborough on the east, and extending north to Keene 
line. This piece of laud was disannexed from Richmond and annexed 
to Swanzey, Dec. 11, 1762. The following is a copy of the grant by 
which the transfer was made : 

PROVINCE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. 

George the Third by the 
(Seal.) Grace of God of Great Brit- 

TiAN Trusting in the Faith &c. 

To all To whom these Presents may concern. Whereas our Loyal 
Subjects inhabiting the Town of Richmond and Swanzey in the Prov- 
ince of New Hampshire, have humbly represented to Us, That to 
them the said Inhabitants, to have part of the said Town of Richmond 
taken, without making any Alterations in the Private property of 
Either Community Praying that the dividing Line of said Towns be 
altered in the following Manner : Beginning at the North West corner 
of Lott No. 23 in the Seventh Range of Lots in said Richmond in the 
Line of the same Town : Then running Due E. to the Easterly Line of 
the same Town, then on the East Line of said Richmond to said Town 
of Swanzey. KNOW YE THEREFORE that we have taken into our 
consideration the Matter of said Petition and it appearing Conducive 
to the ease and good order of both Communities, as well as forwarding 
the Cultivation of the Land there, Have by, and with advice of our 
trusty and well beloved Penning Weutworth P!^sq. our Captain Gen- 
eral, Governor & Commander in Chief, of our Council for said Prov- 
ince of New Hampshii'e. And by these Presents Do alter the dividing 
Line between the said toAvns of Richmond and Swanzey agreeable to 
the said Petition and in manner as before set forth and also agreeable 
to the Plan hereunto annexed. 

In witness Whereof, We have caused the seal of our said Province 
to be hereunto affixed. Witness Penning WentAvorth Esq. our afore- 
said Governor & Commander in Chief in and over our said Province 
of New Hampshire the eleventh day of December in the Third year 
of our Reign, anno domini 1762. 

By his Excelleneys Command Penning Wentworth 

with advice of Council Province of New Hampshire 

T. Atkinson Jr., Sect> Dec. 13, 1762. Recorded according 

to the original under the Province Seal. 
T. Atkinson, Jur., Secty. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



59 



Original Plan of Town. 




Easterly 



2 Miles. 



8) 

•■$■ • 



J'/ 



s- 



ca 



o 

S 
>^ 



S. SO.i' E. 3| Miles & 



40 RoUds. 



Proviuce of New Hampshire Decern''. 13*^ 1762. 
Recorded from the back of the original, under the Province Seal. 

(gp T. Atkinson Jun. Sec'y. 



State of New Hampshire, March 4, 1882, Secretary's Office. 

The foregoing is a correct copy of the record : In testi- 
[Seal.] mony whereof I have hereunto subscribed my official 

signature, and affixed the Seal of the State. 
Isaac W. Hammond, 

Deputy Secretary of State. 



60 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Previous to this transfer a large part of the gore had been survej'ed 
and laid out in about one-hundred acre lots, but very few, if any, 
settlements had been made in it. Josiah Willard of Winchester was 
the owner of a large part of this territory. Daniel Warner and Isaac 
Applin were also owners. The proprietors of the old part of Swan- 
zey did not become owners of the new by annexation. Tlie owner- 
ship came through the grant to the proprietors of Richmond. Feb. 6, 
1760, the proprietors of the old part of Swanzey voted fifty acres of 
the undivided lands to the OAvuer of each house lot. This made the 
seventh division ; the previous ones having been a house lot of four 
acres, a meadow lot of eight acres, and one of twenty acres, an up- 
land lot of about sixty-eight acres, a one-hundred acre lot, and prob- 
ably a Mark Meadow lot of about four acres, — all of which amounted 
to two-hundred and fifty-four acres. As some of the proprietors 
owned a number of house lots they must have been large land owners. 
The amount of xuidivided land that remained after this seventh divi- 
sion Avas made, and which was subsequently divided, was about 
seventy acres to each house lot, making all the divisions to each 
right about three-hundred and twei\ty-four acres. 

The subsequent divisions of the undivided lauds, together Avith the 
proceedings of the proprietors in distinction from those of the town, 
may here be given. 

At a meeting of the proprietors held October 8, 1760, it was decided 
to open the Great Meadows on the following Saturday for turning in 
cattle ; and a committee was chosen to judge of the interest which 
each proprietor had in the meadow, and decide the number of cattle 
that each might turn into it. In 1762, Oct. 13th, the proprietors voted 
that a tract or parcel of land, equal to one seventieth part of the land 
in the township should be laid out for a Glebe, and also a tract of 
equal size for the Incorporated Society for the propagation of the 
gospel in Foreign Parts as directed by the charter. These two lots 
containing 286 acres each Avere laid out Dec. 1, 1769, by DaA'id Beld- 
ing, Elijah GraA'es and Thomas Crcsson, jr., committee. They were 
located in the north or northwest part of the toAvn, both bounding on 
Keene line. The Glebe was nearly a perfect square, Avhile the bounds 
of the other lot located immediately east of the Glebe were someAvhat 
irregular. 

April 18, 1774, it was voted to make an eightli division of land, 
laying out to each house lot .50 acres. The committee cliosen to super- 
intend this laying out consisted of Capt. Jonathan Hammond, DaA'id 
Belding, Benjamin Brown, William Carr and Joseph Hammond. It AA'as 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 61 

voted that when there was a piece of undivided land Ij'ing between 
lots which had been already laid out, of less than fifty acres, such 
pieces might be taken up as a part of a fifty acre division and then 
enough land could be selected in some other part of the undivided land 
to make up fifty acres. The making of the eighth division began the 
first day of September, 1774, and every proprietor was required to 
make his pitch on the day when his turn came. Any one making an 
eighth division pitch could not throw it up when once made and make 
a new selection. 

After some forty years had passed from the time that the third and 
fourth divisions were made, the proprietors began to experience much 
difficulty about the bounds of their respective lots. These had not 
been well established, and the records pertaining to them were quite 
defective. It was not known in all cases when these lots were laid, 
nor just where the east line of the township ran. The consequence 
was that some of the lots were laid out in Richmond. There was also 
difficulty about the fiftli and seventh divisions falling short when ac- 
curately measured. Some of the pi'oprietors had never come to the 
township to reside ; others had sold their rights to parties unknown to 
the proprietors living in the town. To effect a satisfactory settlement 
of the difficulty, proprietors' meetings Avere held, votes passed, and 
committees chosen. 

March 10, 1780, Col. Joseph Hammond, Benjamin Brown, David 
Belding, Dea. Thomas Hammond and Maj. Elisha Whitcomb were 
chosen a committee to settle the bounds of the third and fourth di- 
vision lots and make a return of their doings to the proprietors. 
This was done and their report recorded at length in their book of 
records. 

Another committee, consisting of Joseph Hammond, David Beld- 
ing and Benjamin Brown, was chosen soon after to make up to owners 
of the fifth and seventh division lots the amount of land wanting to 
make their one-hundred and fifty acres respectively. The owners of 
the third division lots which were found to have been laid out in 
Richmond were also compensated by having other lots laid out for 
them within the lawful bounds of the proprietors' land. 

At a meeting held May 16, 1791, it was voted that those who had 
not received their quota of land already granted might have till the 
last Tuesday in November of that year to complete the laying out of 
their land in those divisions. 

Col. Jonathan Whitcomb, Capt. Elijah Belding, Lieut. Roger Thomp- 
son, David Belding, jr., and Isaac Hammond were chosen a committee 



62 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

to finish the laying out of the land in all of the divisions which had 
been made. 

Novembei* 11, 1803, it was voted to lay out a ninth division of the 
undivided land, each lot to contain ten acres. The committee chosen 
for the purpose consisted of Francis Goodhue, Elijah Belding, Jona- 
than Hammond, Elisha Whitcomb and Philemon Whitcomb. Elijah 
Belding, jr., was soon after added to this committee. 

The location of the pitches was to commence the first Monday in 
May, 1804, and each proprietor had to make his pitch at his own cost. 
June 7, 1809, Jonathan Hammond, Elijah Belding and Elijah Beld- 
ing, jr., were chosen a committee to survey the undivided lands. Oc- 
tober ninth of the same year a division of nine acres of undivided laud 
was made to each right. The proprietors drew for their pitches and 
the first Monday in the following November was decided upon to 
commence drawing for their pitches in the tenth division. Voted to 
assess each share in the undivided land equally to pay the expense of 
the committee for the survey of the undivided lands. The committee 
for laying out the tenth division consisted of Elijah Belding, jr., 
Elijah Belding and Jonatlian Hammond. Abijah Sawyer was chosen 
collector of the tax to be assessed. This lay-out committee charged 
for fifty-one days' work. 

Ma}' 7, 1833, the proprietors met at the old Meeting House and vo- 
ted to make an eleventh division of the undivided land of three acres 
to each right or house lot. 

Capt. Edward Goddard and William Wright were chosen to make 
the draft for the division, and the first of October was fixed as the 
time to commence the division. 

The last meeting of the proprietors held for the choice of officers 
was on February 4, 1833, at which time John Stratton was chosen 
moderator; Luther Browne, proprietors' clerk ; Lutlier Browne, Hub- 
bard Williams and Elijah Carpenter, proprietors' committee. Some 
of the pitches in the eleventh division were not made for some years 
after this time. The folloAving is the last record made in the proprie- 
tors' book. 

Swanzey, June 8, 1861. This certifies that I, William P. Gunn, 
have bought three rights of common land in the Division No. 1 1 of 
the heirs of Philemon Whitcomb, three acres each, and have made a 
pitch on land called Picked Mountain, bounding on land of Bailey 
Corliss and common laud. 

Hlbbard Williams. 

Proprietors' Clerk. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 63 

The first record made in the books was June 27, 1734, at Con- 
cord, Mass., being nineteen days less than one hundred and twenty- 
seven years from the period at which the last was made. 

It will be perceived that in the early years of the settlement the 
proprietors had charge not only of the land, but of municipal matters 
in the township also. No records of the town as such, in distinction 
from those of the proprietors, are to be found previous to 1766, at 
which date they commence. 

During the ten years which elapsed from the resettlement of the town 
in 1752 to the annexation of the Richmond gore in 1762 the settlements 
increased but slowly. The fact that the township proved to be in 
New Hampshire instead of Massacliusetts, the fear of Indian raids 
and the peculiar manner in which the laud in the township was laid out 
and divided, — all had a tendency to deter persons from coming hither 
to settle. It could not have been pleasant to go to the field or to 
church with gun in hand for protection, or with soldiers to guard them 
while worshipping or laboring. But this was the state of affairs much 
of the time during this period. As the land was laid out, first the 
meadows and then the upland, and all after the fourth divisions pitched 
anywhere and in all manners of shapes, it left between the pitches 
pieces of undivided land often very irregular in shape and poorly adapt- 
ed for farms or settlement. 

After the Richmond gore was annexed to Swanzey in 1762 the lots 
were purchased quite rapidly and settlements made upon them, and 
there was increased activity in settling the old part of the township. 
Previous to this time France had lost its Canadian possessions and 
there was no power to incite the Indians to continue depredations up- 
on the settlement, and one could come and locate and commence 
making a home without danger of being molested by the Indians. 

In June, 1 765, a powerful hurricane passed over the town. The meet- 
ing house on the hill was turned one quarter around and considerably 
damaged. The repairing of these damages and some other repairs 
on the house were done nominally by the town, or hy the proprietors, 
the leading and substantial men among them doing the work for 
which the sum of £214 was paid. 

There was a large increase of inhabitants in the town between 1762 
and 1777. This was largely made up of young men who came and 
established permanent homes, and many of whom eventually became 
prominent and influential citizens. 

The following are names of persons who settled in the town during 
this period : 



64 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Thomas Applin, John Applin, Timoth}^ Brown Applin (the first 
person on record in town with more than two names), Isaac Applin, 
Daniel Bishop, Timothy Bishop, Joseph Cummings, P^phraim C'um- 
mings, Thaddens Cummings, Enoch Cummings, Nehemiah Cummings, 
Caleb Cook, Nathaniel Dickinson, Joseph Dickinson, Benjamin Day, 
Joshua Durant, Levi Durant, John Follett, jr., Benjamin Follett, 
Stoddard Frazy, Calvin Frink, John Frazy, Asa Freeman, Thomas 
Greene, Joseph Greene, Abraham Gritlith, Moses Griffith, Edward 
Goddard, Edward Hazen, Benjamin Hazen, IMichael Ileft'eron, Den- 
nis Hefferon, Simeon Howes, Kimber Harve3% Timothy Harvey, P"ph- 
raim Harvey, Benjamin Hewes, Benjamin Hewes, jr., Charles Howe, 
Theodore Howe, Uriah Howe, Willard Hunt, Pelitia Kaze}-, Jethro 
Kimball, Eli Kimball, Elkanah Lane, Elkanah Lane, jr., Sanmel 
Lane, Justus Lawrence, Henry Morse, Jonathan Nichols, jr., Andrew 
Nichols, Elijah Osgood, Aaron Parsons, Samuel Page, John Plane, 
Amasa Parker, Nathaniel Patten, Josiah Prime, Simeon Puffer, Amos 
Puffer, Josiah Read, Cornelius Roberts, John Rugg, Penticost Stanley, 
Benjamin Starkey, Enoch Starkey, Joseph Starkey, John Starkey, 
John Starkey, jr., John Thompson, Roger/fhompson, Samuel Thomp- 
son, Ebenezer Thompson, Annanius Tubbs, Daniel Warner, James 
Wheelock, Ezekiel White, David White, John Whitcomb, Moses 
Boardman Williams, Joseph Whitcomb, jr., Jonathan Whitcomb, 
Elisha Whitcomb, Philemon Whitcomb, Abijah Whitcomb. 

At the commencement of the Revolutionary war there were in the 
town a number of men able to do militar}' duty who came to the town 
when lads with their parents, or who had been born in the town. Of 
this number were Elijah Belding, David Belding, 2'', Moses Belding, 
Samuel Belding, 2^', Eleazar Brown, Wright Brown, Thomas Cresseu, 
2^, Nathan Cressen, Joseph Day, Amos Day, Jonathan Dsiy, Daniel 
Day, Joshua Graves, Abner Graves, Elijah Graves, William Grimes, 
2'S James Grimes, Isaac Hammond, Benjamin Hammond, Joseph 
Hammond, 2'', James Heaton, 2'\ Samuel Heaton, Nathaniel lleaton, 
Nathaniel Hills, Nathaniel Hills, 2'', Samuel Hills, 2^', Samuel Hills, 
3*^, Ebenezer Hills, Nathan Woodcock, Samuel Wright. 

March 4, 1 7G6, the town "voted to build a good and sufficient pound 
thirty-five foot square in the highway at the end of John Fraz^^'s house 
lot." This pound, or one thai replaced it, is remembered by our older 
citizens as standing on the east side of the old road near the south- 
east corner of the present cemetery. 

The following is the record of the annual March meeting in 1771 : 
" At a meeting of the inhabitants of Swanzey legally meet at the 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 65 

meeting house in said Swanzey on Tuesday the fifth day of March, 
1771, the meeting being opened, Capt. Joseph Hammond was chosen 
moderator, then the meeting was adjourned for the space of half an 
hour to meet at the house of Lieut. Jonathan Whitcomb. Re-assem- 
bled at the time and i)lace appointed. Thomas Applin was chosen 
Town Clerk. Thomas Applin, Samuel Hills, Benjamin Brown, David 
Belding and Elijah Graves chosen selectmen. Voted that the select- 
men be assessors. Caleb Sawyer was chosen constable ; Capt Joseph 
Hammond chosen Town Treasurer ; Thomas Hammond and Amasa 
Parker chosen Tythingmeu ; Lieut. Joseph Whitcomb, Joseph Cum- 
mings, Henry Morse, David Belding, Roger Thompson and Benjamin 
Brown chosen Surveyors of High Wayes. Elisha Scott and Elijah 
Belding chosen Fence Viewers ; John Starkey Sen. Dear Reef ; Wyat 
Gunn, Ebenezer Hills and Jonathan Woodcock jr. chosen Hog Reaves ; 
Nathan Scott and Gardner Duston chosen Field Drivers ; Samuel 
Belding chosen Sealer of Leather. Voted to accept of the settlement 
of accounts with Capt. Jonathan Hammond as Treasurer for the year 
17G8 and 1769 as presented to the town by the Selectman. 

Voted to raise forty pounds lawful money to make and repair roads. 

Voted that labor at the roads be set at two shillings and eight pence- 
per day from the first day of Apr. to the first day of Oct., and the 
rest of the year at two shillings per day. 

Voted, that swine may go at large on the common yoked and ringed 
according to law, from the first of April to the last day of October. 

JcsEPH Hammond, Moderator." 

The common practice in those early days of adjourning for one- 
half or one-fourth of an hour from the meeting house to some dwell- 
ing house was doubtless occasioned by the fact that the meeting honse 
was cold, there being in it neither stove nor fireplace nor any other 
apparatus for warming it. Some of the more uncharitable, however, 
think it was another kind of fire which our forefathers indulged in 
that was the occasion of these adjournments. 

At a town meeting Nov. 8, 1771, it was "voted to allow Capt. 
Jonathan Hammond two pound eight shillings lawful money for going 
twice to Worcester to Mr. Putnam's on the town's business." 

Nearly all the men in the town rendered some kind of service for 

the revolutionary cause during the years, 1775-76-77. Men that 

were too old for military service and had the means hired men for the 

army or loaned to the town to enable it to hire soldiers. The follow- 

5 



66 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

ing voles passed at different times indicate the feeling in this town 
in regard to the impending struggle. 

May 8, 1775. " Voted that Samuel Hills be appointed a Deputy 
to represent this town at the Convention of Deputies proposed to be 
held at Exeter on the 17*'' day of this instant, and that he be fully im- 
powered and authorized in behalf of this town to join with Deputies 
of other towns in adopting and pursuing such measures as may be 
judged most expedient to pursue to restore the rights of this and the 
other colonies, and that he be impowered as aforesaid to act for the 
space of six months if the said Convention of Deputies shall judge it 
to be necessary." 

Dec. 18. " Voted, That it is the opinion of the town that Col. 
Joseph Hammond, TNfaj. Elisha Whitcomb, Capt. Joseph Whilcomb, 
jr., Capt. Jonathan Whitcomb, Mr. Thomas Hammond, Mr. Benja- 
min Brown, and Lieut, Daniel Warner be chosen a Committee of Safety 
agreeable to the advice of the Continental Congress, and we acknowl- 
edge them a Committee of Safety for this town, and we approve of 
wliat they have acted in that capacity." 

March 4, 1 777. " Voted to dismiss the present Committee of Safety 
and choose a new one, and accordingly made choice of Samuel Day, 
Calvin Frink, Capt. Jonathan Whitcomb, Lieut. Elisha Whitcomb, 
and Lieut. Elijah Belding." 

The Committee of Safety was composed of some of the most influ- 
ential and enterprising men of the town, and to them were confided 
matters of great public interest. 

The commencement of the year 1778 found the people of the Amer- 
ican colonies, who had revolted from the British government, much en- 
couraged for the success of their cause. Burgoyne with his splendid 
army had surrendered and become prisoners of war. INIeasures were 
being taken to unite the colonies in a general government, and to ma- 
ture plans for state and local governments. The action of the voters 
of Swanzey, Jan. 22, 1778, was such as to show that the public sen- 
timeut of the town was in full sympathy with those who were engaged 
in planning systems of federal and state governments. At a special 
town meeting it was " voted that this town approves of the Articles 
of Confederation and perpetual union between the United States of 
America as proposed by the Continental Congress, and desire that the 
same may be ratified and confirmed." 

" Voted, that our representative at the General Court be instructed 
to concur witli the representatives of the other towns in this state for 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 67 

the sole purpose of forming and laying a permanent plan or system 
for the future government of this state agreeably to the vote of the 
General Court." 

May 12, 1778. " Voted to send one man to meet with the Conven- 
tion at Concord the tenth day of June next, and Calvin Frink Esq. 
was chosen." 

Dec. 3, 1778, the legal voters of Swanzey and Fitzwilliam, which 
towns were classed together, having been duly notified, met at the house 
of Lieut. Henry Morse to choose a person having a real estate of two 
hundred pounds lawful mone}'^ in this state, to represent them in the 
General Assembly to be held at Exeter on the third Wednesday of 
December, and " to empower such representative for the term of 
one year from this meeting to transact such business and pursue such 
measures as they may judge necessary for the public good, and par- 
ticularly to impower such representative to vote in the choice of Del- 
egates to the Continental Congress." Major Elisha Whitcomb was 
the person chosen, who was likewise authorized to vote for delegates 
to the Congress. Mr. Morse, at the time the foregoing meeting was 
held at his house, resided in that part of Swanzey which was subse- 
quently disnnnexed to help form the town of Troy. At the time of ■ 
the meeting much of the travel from Cheshire county and the Connec- 
ticut valley for Boston went down through Swanzey Centre and up 
over the hill where Mr. Morse kept a public house. An old cellar 
hole now marks the place where the meeting was held. 

During the " Vermont Controversy," relative to the boundary and 
status of that territory, 1777-1783, the western part of New Hamp- 
shire was much agitated and public sentiment very much divided be- 
tween those that wished to unite with Vermont and those that wished 
to continue their connection with New Hampshire. In many towns 
a majority of the voters were in favor of uniting with Vermont. Among 
them were Alstead, Charlestown, Claremont, Chesterfield, Gilsum, 
Hinsdale, Marlow, Richmond, Surry and Westmoreland. 

Belknap in his history of New Hampshire says — "The state of 
society within the seceding towns at this time was very unhappy. 
The majorities attempted to control the minorities ; and these were 
not disposed to submit, but to seek protection of the government with 
which they had been connected. At the same time and in the same 
place Justices, Sheriffs and Constables, appointed by the authority 
of both States, were exercising jurisdiction over the same persons. 
Party rage, high words and deep resentment, were the effects of these 
clashing interests." • 

Swanzey remained loyal to New Hampshire, but it will be seen by 



68 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

the following documents that it contained a disturbing secession el- 
ement. 

selectmen's statement of affairs ADDIIESSED TO THE GENEHAL 

couiiT, 1871. 

"The Selectmen of the town of Swanze3% in behalf of themselves 
and the Town Humbly show — That under the Present unhappy Situ- 
ation of our affairs in this part of the State, when most in many, and 
many in all the Towns have Revolted from under the Government 
and Jurisdiction of the State, bidding defiance to the Authority and 
Laws of the same ; Absolutely Refusing to pay Taxes, or to contrib- 
ute any thing in any way^ or manner towards Raising men for the Con- 
tinental Army, or Providing Supplies for the same — We find it p]x- 
tremely Ditlicult for us to Comply with the Requisitions of the State, 
for altho' the greatest part of the People in this Town, Remain firm 
in their Allegiance to the State ; Utterly averse to the late and present 
factions and seditious conduct of a great (if not the greatest) part 
of the People in this Western part of the State, yet our affairs are 
extremely Embarrassed, for if Taxes ^are Assessed they cannot be 
Collected, as some will Refuse to paj', and if Constables or Collectors 
should Distrain such Delinquents for their Rates, Mobs would Arise, 
and perhaps the power of the State of Vermont would be employed 
for their protection. We have exerted ourselves as much as we could 
in order to Raise our Quota of Men for the Continental Arm}', and 
Also for Six months, but have not been able to complete the former 
nor to Raise any part of the latter, Avhieh Inability is owing princi- 
pally if not Solely to the confused Situation of this part of the State ; 
And unless Something can be done for our Assistance it will be Abso- 
lutely Impossible for us to Raise Men or money for the Service of the 
State. We consider ourselves as Subjects of the state of New Hamp- 
shire, and are firmly Resolved to persist in our Allegiance, and ex- 
pect the protection of the State, without which we shall not be able 
to stand against the opposition that will be made. We humbly pray 
that your Honors would take the matter into your Wise consideration, 
and make such provision for our protection and Safety as that we may 
not be Obliged to Yield to unreasonable Men and Measures. 

Thomas Appliu, 1 
Calvin Friuk, i Selectmen 

Elijah Belding, V of 



■ Isaac Flammond, 
Elisha Whitoomb, 
-Swanzey June 9th, 1781. 



Swanzey." 



J 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 69 

RELATIVE TO THE BEEF TAX, 1784. 
FEBRUARY, 1785. 

"The Petition of the Selectmen and Assessors of the Town of Swan- 
zey in said State for the year 1784 ; Humbly sheweth. 

Tliat whereas in the year 1781 the General Court of this State Or- 
dered and directed the Selectmen of said Swauzey, to Assess the In- 
habitants of said Town, their Quota of Beef for the Continental Army, 
which was accordingly done, and the greatest part of said Beef was 
paid by said Inhabitants, Yet some were delinquent, Refusing to pay 
their State Tax, occasioned principally by the Union of the Grants 
(so called) with Vermont, by reason of which, agreeably to an Act 
of the General Court said Swanzey was Ordered to pay the Deficiency 
of said Tax, and a fine for their Delinquency, both of which amount- 
ing to £137, which the Treasurer of this State by his Warrant directed 
to the Selectmen of said Town has ordered to be assessed, which has 
not yet been complied with. Because your petitioners think it very un- 
just to Assess, Levy and collect the aforesaid sum of those Persons 
who paid their Tax in due Time, and your Petitioners have no war- 
rant to Assess said Sum on those that were Delinquent and dare not 
venture to Assess said Sum either on the whole or part of the Inhab- 
itants, lest it should make great confusion, murmuring and Complain- 
ing among the People of Said Town. — Your Petitioners therefore 
most Humbly and earnestlj' pray that this Honorable Body would take 
the above stated Case into their Serious Consideration, and make such 
Order thereon, as in their Wisdom they shall think most Just and 
Equitable. 

And as in Duty Bound shall ever pray : 



Selectmen 
David Belding 1 & 

Isaac Hammond f Assessors 



1 
} 

I 
J of Swauzey." 



RELATIVE TO THE BEEF TAX. 
ADDRESSED TO THE GENERAL COURT, DEC. 13, 1786. 

"The Selectmen of Swanzey in the County of Cheshire humbly beg 
leave to lay before this Honorable Body their Embarrassments as to 
Assessing the Doomage for this Town's Deficiency of Beef in the 
Year 1781. Your Petitioners immediately on Receiving Orders for 
collecting Said Beef, Assessed the Inhabitants of Swanzey, Setting 
the Beef at twenty Seven Shillings pr. Hundred weight, and as your 



70 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Petitioners were Sensible of the Importance of the Order of the Court 
being complied with, they exerted themselves and collected a consid- 
erable part of tlie Beef by the Set time ; and would undoubtedly Col- 
lected the whole, had it not been for a number of Political Heretics 
in this and Adjacent Towns Avho by their Instigations and artful in- 
sinuations Shook the Allegiance of the ignorant and unprincipaled 
part of the community from the State of New Hampshire and Attached 
them to the usurped State of Vermont; and the Imbecility of Gov- 
ernment was so great at that Day that your Petitioners thought it not 
wise to compel or use Coercive measures with those who would not 
freely pay their proportion of Said tax ; and since the energy of Gov- 
ernment has increased, and this Town has been called upon to pay 
Said Tax with a Doomage, the Selectmen have taken up the Matter, 
and find it Difficult if not Impossible to make an Assessment for said 
Doomage in any way which will not blow up an unquenchable fire in 
this Town — for if we should Assess it on the Delinquents only, who 
in Justice ought to pay the Same, Ave should, in so doing, do injustice, 
for a numl)er of said Delinquents are Removed out of the Town, and 
consequently out of the Reach of an Assessment and should an As- 
sessment be made on the whole Town, it Avould be to make the Right- 
eous be as the Wicked, which the Patriarch of the Hebrews Saith is 
far from the Almighty. 

Your Petitioners therefore most Humbly pray this Honorable Body 
to take the Matter into their wise Consideration, and either accept of 
the twenty Seven Shillings on the Hundred weight which is already 
Assessed and which may be collected without Ditficulty ; or Direct 
your Petitioners in what manner to proceed that they may escape the 
Publick Odium. And as in Duty bound Shall ever Pray. 

Isaac Hammond \ Selectmen 

of 
Calvm Frmk j Swanzey." 

[In House of Representatives January IG, 1787, Voted that "as there 
is great difficulty respecting the assessment for the deficienej' of Beef 
in the Town of Swanzey, the Treasurer be directed so far as respects 
said Beef Tax*, to stay the Extent against said Town until the first 
Wednesday of June next."] 

The paying taxes in beef was resorted to because there was not 
money with which to pay them. The Continental money had become 
worthless ; the specie had been depleted in prosecuting the Avar, and 
no financial system had been devised by Avhich the people could be 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 71 

relieved from their embarrassed circumstances. The people were 
heavily taxed to meet indebtedness occasioned by the war. 

SCALE OF DEPRECIATION OF CONTINENTAL MONEY, 1777. 

January, 100; February, 96; March, 94; April, 90; May, 87; 
June, 83 ; July, 80 ; August, 66 ; September, 57 ; October, 36 ; No- 
vember, 33 ; December, 32 ; January, 1778, 30 ; February, 28 ; March, 
26 ; April, 25 ; May, 25 ; June, 25 ; July, 23 ; August, 22 ; Septem- 
ber, 21 ; October, 20 ; November, 18 ; December, 15 ; January, 1779, 
13 ; February, 11 ; March, 10 ; April, 9 ; June, 8 ; July, 7 ; August, 
6 ; September, 5 ; October, 4 ; November, 4 ; December, 4 ; January, 
1780, 3; February, 3; March to June, 2; July to June, 1781, 1 ; 
July, 0. 

After the continental money had become worthless, and gold and 
silver had gone out of the country to pay for importations occasioned 
by the war, the people were without money. They were heavily taxed 
by the federal and state governments to meet the expenses of the 
war. Private debts had become embarrassing as money could not be 
obtained for meeting engagements. Many believed that relief could 
be obtained by the State emitting paper money and loaning it on- 
land security. The Assembly called upon the towns for an expres- 
sion of their views upon the subject. The following is Swanzey's in- 
structions to its representative. 

At a meeting of the inhabitants of Swanzey in the County of Ches- 
hire and State of New Hampshire, Aug, 28, 1786 : — 

"Voted to choose a Committee to give instructions to the Represen- 
tative of said Town for the Rule of Conduct at the next Session of 
the General Court Respecting the Emission of paper money." 

To Mr. Abraham Bandall, Bepresentative of the Town of Swanzey : 

Sib: — Your constituents, Reposing confidence in your integrity, ability and 
zeal for the publick jiood, Chose you to Represent them in the General As- 
sembly of this State the present year. This is a day we are sensible Avhen 
the greatest Wisdom, patriotism, firmness. Unanimity, Publick Spirit and 
freedom be detached from selfish and Mercenary views, and when all the 
above -named virtues are requisite, and ought to be the governirg principles 
in all our Publick Councils. We, therefore, having a Constitutional Right so 
to do, think it expedient to express our Sentiments to you respecting our dis- 
tressed situation for want of a Circulating Medium. We therefore instruct 
you to use your influence in the Assembly that as soon as may be there be an 
Emission of paper Currency, as being in Our Opinion the best Remedy left us 
for Relief, and it is the minds of your Constituents that the Emission of 



72 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

paper Currency be applied Solely for the purpose of R( dtomiiig tlie Stale 
Securities, which we conceive will be a great easement by stopping the in- 
terest of those securities; but we mean not to dictate the Ginerul Court, but 
only to hint our desires, confiding in the wisdom of the Legislature of this 
state if they shall see fit to Issue a paper Medium that it be Emitted on such 
foundation as they shall thiuli best for tlie Community. 

Hkniiy Morsk, > Committee in the name and 



IXG, J 



David Bkldixg, ) behalf of the Toion. 

The returns of the actions of the towns showed that the public sen- 
timent was opposed to emitting paper money, and the Assembly voted 
that it had not the constitutional right to do it. 

Some of those in favor of having the state issue paper money were 
so determined that they organized an armed mob, marched to where 
the Assembly was in session at Exeter, and endeavored to gain their 
ends by coercive measures. They were unsuccessful ; the militia were 
called out and a number of the leaders arrested. 

Going back to ]March 14, 1781, we find the town "voted to sell that 
part of the town Common lying west of the road now travelled from 
the Meeting-house to Mr. Goddard's dw.elling-house, extending south 
to the land of Greenwood Carpenter, and north as far as the highway 
leading from said common to James Grimes'." 

The meeting-house mentioned was that standing on the hill, and 
the road to James Grimes' went west from the common, by the David 
Parsons' place over the hill north of Mt. Caesar. It was also voted 
that Maj. Elisha Whitcomb, David Belding and Dea. Thomas Ham- 
mond be a committee to make an exact survey of the land, appraise 
it at its just value, and offer it for sale to the Rev. Edward Goddard, 
who should have the privilege of purchasing it, but if he declined then 
it might be sold to any other person. 

Ma}^ 2'', Kev. Edward Goddard was chosen a delegate to a Conven- 
tion to be holdeu in Concord on the first Tuesday in June following, 
for the purpose of forming and laying a permanent plan or system of 
government for this State. 

Dec. 31, at a meeting duly called to see if the town would accept 
of the constitution or plan of government agreed upon by the Con- 
vention at Concord the vote was as follows : "Thirty-one voted to 
accept it ; five declined voting at all ; two said they had not perused 
it sufficiently and did not know Avhether they belonged to the state of 
New Hampshire or to Vermont. One objected to one article respect- 
ing the Governor, that no man shall be eligible as Governor more than 
three years in any seven." 

The above vote was passed during the time of the "Vermont Con- 



I 



JSrORTH 




SOITI^H 



72 

paper C 
Securilii 
terest ot 
only to 
stnte if t 
fouuduli 



The r 
timeut A 
that it h 
Some 
so deter 
the Ass( 
ends by 
called 01 
Going 
part of 
the Mee 
to the la 
leading 
Then 
the road 
I'arsons' 
that Maj 
niond be 
it at its ; 
who shoi 
it might 
May 2 
tiou to b( 
for the p 
governmt 
Dec. 3 
of the CO 
vention fi 
accept it 
it snfFicie 
New liar 
iug the G 
three yea 
The ab 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 73 

ti'oversy," when it appears that a few in this town sympathized with 
Vermont. 

A town meeting was held May 28, 1783, at which seventy-three 
voters were present. They voted to reconsider the vote passed in 
regard to the adoption of the State Constitution, and, feeling their 
own inability to determine rightly in regard to the matter, the}' voted 
to " confide in the wisdom and justice of the Legislature of the State 
to act as they shall think most just and equitable." Thomas Applin, 
Calvin Frink and Aaron Parsons were chosen a committee to draft 
instructions to the delegate in the General Court. 

The increase of inhabitants in Swanzey during a number of years 
previous to 1784 must have been quite large as shown by the follow- 
ing certificate : 

" SwANZET, Dec. 10«S 1783. 

We the Subscribers do hereby Certify that According to the Best 
of our k-nowledge there is in the town of Swanzey one hundred and 
eighty-two Male Polls of twenty-one years of Age and upwards, pay- 
ing for themselves a Poll Tax. 

Isaac Hammond, \ Selectmen 
David Belding, Jr., J of Swanzey." 

From 1784 to 1792 New Hampshire had a temporary constitution, 
and under it the chief executive of the state was styled President. 

The first town meeting in Swanzey under this Constitution was held 
March 2, 1784, at which time Samuel Hills was chosen moderator. 

Votes for President of the State: — Meshech Weare, 10; George 
Atkinson, 21 ; John Sullivan, 2. 

P'or two Senators for Cheshire County : Thomas Applin, 14 ; Dan- 
iel Newcomb, 2 ; Calvin Frink, 27 ; John Bellows, 5 ; Daniel Jones, 5 ; 
Simeon Olcott, 5 ; Benjamin Bellows, 1 . 

Voted to grant 48 shillings to the, Rev. Mr. Goddard as a reward 
for his service as a member of the late Convention for forming a Con- 
stitution for this state. 

Fifteen shillings were voted to Samuel Hills for a like service. 

Salmon and shad ascended the Ashuelot river before dams were 
built across it. When the people found that their yearly supply of 
these fish was cut off by these dams there was much complaint, and 
doubtless there were those who were willing unlawfully to engage in 
making free passage-ways for the fish through the dams. The Gen- 
eral Assembly was petitioned during several years for redress in this 
matter, and January 15, 1789, an act was passed requiring a sluice to 
be kept open in every dam on said river in the towns of Hinsdale, 



74 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Winchester, Swauzey and Keene, between the 10th day of May and 
the 20th day of July in any j'ear. 

At the annual IMarch meeting in 1785 it was "voted to raise 12 
pounds for the purpose of trimming the burying ground." 

March 7, 1786. "Voted to raise 4£., 13s., Id. to complete the fenc- 
ing of the bur3'ing ground." 

"Voted to sellLt. Dan Guild apiece of the common adjoining and 
lying south of the burjnng-yard between said yard and Mr. William 
Wright's." 

At a legal meeting held Oct. 30, 1786, a plan for emitting paper 
money by the General Court was read. The vote was unanimous 
against approving the measure. A committee for suggesting altera- 
tions in the plan was chosen, consisting of Roger Thompson, William 
Grimes, Wyman Richardson, Abraham Randall, Elisha Whitcomb, 
David Belding, jr., and Ebenezer Hills. 

Nov. 13, the committee made the following report : — "That twenty 
thousands be emitted on the same plan that the General Court pro- 
posed to emit the ten thousand pounds, with the addition to have it a 
tender for all debts due in this state ; and in lieu of the forty thous- 
and pounds that the General Court proposed to emit on land security ; 
that the state notes be called in, and the holder in lieu of said notes 
to receive certificates of the same sum in lieu of the same, so that the 
interest of said notes may cease and the certificates to be received in 
all outstanding taxes. Dated at Swanzey the 13^^ day of November, 
1786. 

Signed in behalf of the Committee, 

Roger Thompson." 

Seventeen persons voted in favor of this report and two against it. 

Dec. 4 a meeting was called to see if the town would agree with 
some person to pay the last state tax by the first of January and repay 
such person in cattle or any other way agreed upon. 

"Voted, That the Selectmen be impowered to agree with Mr. Nathan 
Capron who has undertaken to pay said tax for the town." 

"Voted, That the Selectmen, together with Maj. Elisha Whitcomb, 
Maj. Jonathan Whitcomb, Lt. Samuel Wright and Mr. David Beld- 
ing, jr., be a committee to examine into the requests of several con- 
stables respecting such assessments in their hands against such 
persons as they have not had opportunity to collect, and make such 
an adjustment and abatement to such constables as they shall judge 
equitable." 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 75 

The foregoing votes show the financial condition of the town at that 
period. It was similar to that of other towns. The war for Inde- 
pendence had been successfully prosecuted, and their independence 
had been achieved ; but there had been no well matured plans adopted 
for a state or a general government. The finances of the country 
were in a deplorable condition ; taxes were heavy in consequence of 
the war ; the people were without money, and to pay their taxes was 
almost an impossibility. 

Jan. 8, 1788, Maj. Elisha Whitcomb was chosen a delegate to a 
convention to meet at lixeter, Feb. 2, to consider the federal con- 
stitution. He was also chosen in 1791 to a convention for the revision 
of the state constitution. 

In 1793 it was voted to allow Mr. Moses B. Williams six shillings 
for warning sundry persons out of town ; and the same year an allow- 
ance was made John Whitcomb, jr., for a similar service. This 
"warning out of town" was a common practice in those days. When 
persons came into a town to reside who were likely to become depen- 
dent upon the town for support it was customary for the selectmen 
to issue an order to a constable to force such persons to leave the 
town. 

A constable was quite an important officer during this period of 
the town's history. When town meetings were called the legal voters 
were personally warned to attend by a constable who had received his 
orders from the selectmen. The collecting of the taxes was also a 
part of the constable's official duty. 

At the annual meeting this year the following was passed : "Whereas 
Mr. John Harvey and others, inhabitants of Swanzey, have requested 
said town that they would vote that they and their lands may be an- 
nexed to the town of Marlborough, representing that they live much 
more convenient to Marlborough meeting-house than to Swanzey, etc., 
the town having considered the said request, think the same to be 
reasonable ; therefore voted that Messrs. John Harvey, Kimber Har- 
ve}^ and Samuel Stearns, and the land whereon they dAvell, and the 
land belonging to Mr. Timothy Harvey be set off from the town of 
Swanzey and annexed to the town of Marlborough ; said tract of land 
lies in the northeastwardly part of said Swanzey, and is the most 
northwardly part of that gore of land which was set off from Rich- 
mond to Swanzey ; and is bounded as follows : viz. : Beginning at a 
heap of stones, being the southeast corner of the town of Keene, then 
runs on said Keene west 8 degrees north, 32 rods to the old corner of 
Swanzey ; then runs south 34 degrees west on Swanzey's old line, 418 



76 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



rods to a white pine tree ; then runs east 20 degrees 30 minutes south 
on common land 2 1 2 rods to a stake and stones in the patent line ; 
then runs on the patent line north 9 degrees 30 minutes east 418 rods 
to the first mentioned corner ; containing tliree hundred and five acres." 
This vote Avas sanctioned the same year by the legislature. The fol- 
lowing is the plan of the foregoing described piece of land : 




In 1812 a small section on the N. E. part of the town was annexed 
to Keene ; and in 1842 another section, a part of the Richmond Gore, 
was annexed to Marlborough. 

In 1815 a portion, about three miles south of the last-named sec- 
tion, was taken to form the new town of Troy, leaving the eastern 
boundary of Swanzey very irregular, 

A movement was commenced as earl}^ as 1794 to have a new meet- 
ing house built, larger and more imposing than the old one on the hill. 
The population of the town had become too large, too wealthy and 
were too well united in supporting gospel ordinances that were in hai'- 
mony -with the Congregational creed to make it proper to continue to 
worship in the old house. ^ The result of the movement was the erec- 
tion of the meeting house on the plain, the same building which has 
since been remodelled into the present town house. The house was 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORT. 77 

built nominally by the town, and a large part of the work was proba- 
bly done in the year 1796. 

It is not known how the building of the house was managed as the 
town's records duriug the period in Avhich it was built are lost. A list 
of the taxes paid during these years for other purposes has been pre- 
served but it does not show that anything was raised for building the 
meeting house. The inference is that a committee had the manage- 
ment of raising and applying the taxes for building the house. A 
large part of the cost was ultimately met from the sale of the pews. 
As a rule the most desirable pews were secured by the most promi- 
nent men in the town. 

The raising of the meeting house was a great event for the times. 
To do the work men were picked in Swanzey and in the neighboring 
towns. The work of raising commenced in the morning. Previous 
to that time a whole broadside had been put together. When all was 
ready for raising the huge broadside, the master workman took his 
position upon the frame from which place he gave his orders nntil the 
structure had been raised to a considerable heioiit. At the close of 
the first day the body of the house had been raised. When the men 
assembled the second morning one of them exhibited his nerve by 
passing from one side of the building-to the other upon one of the 
suspended beams to which other timbers had not been connected. It 
took three days to raise the building including the belfry. For a de- 
scription of the building see Chapter V. 

Many men settled in town between the years 1777 and 1793. Had 
a list of the tax payers been preserved during these years it would 
have shown nearly the time when their settlement was made. The first 
tax list that is now found is of the year 1793. 

The following list is intended to include such persons as settled in 
the town between 1777 and 1793 : 

Abner Aldrich, Amos Baile}^, 

Amasa Aldrich, Nathan Caprou, 

Uriah Aldrich, Otis Capron, 

Jacob Bump, Alpheus Caprou, 

Jeremiah Battles, Joseph Cross, 

Thomas Battles, jr., Thomas Cross, 

Edward Beverstock, Salmon Chandler, 

Daniel Beverstock, Daniel Cummings, 

John Beverstock, Timothy Clark, 

Abijah Brown, Amariah Curtis, 

William Bolles, Luther Curtis, 



78 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY 



Calvin Curtis, 
Phinehas Dodge, 
Rufus Dexter, 
William Dival, 
Jotliam Eames, 
Daniel Flint, 
jNIoses Farnswortli, 
John Farnswortb, 
Jonathan Field, 
John Franklin, 
Joel Foster, 
Nathaniel Foster, 
Dan Guild, 
Stephen Gibson, 
William Hunt, 
Phinehas H amble tt, 
Josiah Ilamblett, 
Asaph Lane, 
John Marble, 
Josiah Marble, 
Paul Moore, 
Joshua Prime, 
Leonard Pemberton, 
Joshua Parker, 
John Pierce, 
Stephen Prouty, 
Benjamin Parsons, 
Amariah Patridge, 
Seth Pomroy, 
David Read, 
Timothy Read, 
Joel Read, 
John Read, 
Wyman Richardson, 

The following is a list of 
tax payers in the following 



William Abbott, 
Aaron Darling, 
Daniel Flint, 



Amos Richardson, 
Salmon Richardson, 
Abraham Randall, 
Levi Randall, 
INIatlhew Robley, 
William Ramzey, 
Peletiah Razey, 
Peter Robinson, 
Ivory Snow, 
Samuel Stearns, 
Sluibael Seaver, 
Joseph Smead, 
Nims Smead, 
Richard Stratton, 
William Stephenson, 
Ebenezer Stone, 
David Sherman, 
David Sherman, 2d, 
Israel Sawyer, 
William Town, 
Nicholas Trask, 
Stephen Trask, 
Thomas Trowbridge, 
Thomas Trowbridge, 2d, 
Abner Twitchell, 
Jonas Twitchell, 
David Tenney, 
John Usher, 
Isaac Woodward, 
Ichabod Woodward, 
Richard Weeks, 
Joseph Weeks, 
Timothy Warren. 

the names of persons who first appear as 
years : 

1794. 

Farnum Fish, 
Jonathan Holbrook, 
Simpson Hammond, 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



79 



Reuben Lord, 
John Richardson, 
Aquila Ramsdell, 

Ziba Aldrich, 
Benoni Benson, 
Nathan Cross, 
Moses Codwell, 
Francis Goodhue, 
Peter Holbrook, 
Peter Holbrook, 2d, 
John Hix, 

Benson Aldrich, 
Eli Boyden, 
Stephen Brown, 
Thomas Bigelow, 
Moses Butler, 
Fisher Draper, 
Parker Dudley, 
Ebenezer French, 

Arad Hall, 
Asaph Hall, 
John Learned, 
Daniel Learned, 

Ebenezer Billings, 
Levi Blake, 
Daniel Goodhue, 



Andrew Sherman, 
Joseph Taylor, 
Zenas Ware. 

1796. 

Peter C. Hunt, 
Thomas Harris, 
Jonathan Jilson, 
Stephen Jilson, 
Jonathan Lamson, 
James Pierce, 
Ezra Thayer, 
Samuel Wilson. 

1798. 

John Holbrook, 
John Potter, 
Stephen Potter, 
Moses Pratt, 
John Richardson, 
James Severance, 
James Severance, 2d, 
Josiah Usher. 

1799. 

LeviMaxey, 
Micaiah Norwood, 
Barzilla Streeter, 
Zopher Whitcomb. 

1800. 

Seth Holbrook, 
Edmund Munyon. 



1801. 



Peter Holbrook, 3d, 
John Jackson, 
Benjamin Phelps, 
Ebenezer Stockwell. 



Lot Aldrich, 
Richard Auger, 
Richard Dauforth, 
Robert Gilman, 

The foregoing lists are names of persons that moved into the town 
and the year when they were first taxed therein. 

Generally they came to the town the year before they were taxed. 
Thus we consider that those persons who were taxed for the first time 



80 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

in 1801 became residents in 1800. Young men who reached their 
majority in the town and were sons of fathers who had been taxed in 
the town are not inchided in the lists. "What we have intended to 
show is the time when different families moved into the town. 

But a small number of persons had settled in tlie town previous to 
1800 except to engage in clearing up land for a farm. At this time 
nearly all the land in the township had passed into the hands of men 
who wanted it for such a purpose. 

Probably there was as large a number of farms in the town in 1800 
as there has been at any period in the town's history. Large num- 
bers of cellar holes can be seen in different parts of the town Avhere 
some one about this period or previously had built a house and cleared 
off some of the adjacent laud, with the view of residing there perma- 
nently as a farmer. 

Nearly all the land in the town when first cleared was quite pro- 
ductive. Fields that long since were abandoned for farming once 
produced stout grass, and upon many hills that are now covered with 
timber Avas once excellent pasturage. 

The course of the settlements in the ^town was from the Centre (at 
which place they were mostly confined for the first twenty years) , down 
the Ashuelot river and up the South Branch. Settlements were early 
made on the east side of the South Branch opposite the Centre and be- 
tween there and the Keene line. Some were made upon the hills quite 
early ; but most of the hills were not settled until nearly all the low 
lands liad been appropriated. 

In 1800 many of the farms were large and productive and the owners 
in affiuent circumstances. Large houses had been built and were sur- 
rounded by commodious buildings. The oldest type of the best houses 
that were built in the town was a two-story house in front, and one 
story at the back part. The plan was to have two good-sized front 
rooms on the lower floor, and to have two good-sized chambei's on the 
second floor. The centre of the rear part contained a large kitchen 
and at the ends of it bedrooms, pantry, cupboards, entries, etc. To 
acconuiiodate the three large rooms on the lower floor and the two 
front chambers a very large chimney was built in the centre of the 
house. Another type, and from which a larger number was built than 
from the first, was to have the same construction upon the lower floor, 
but without the second story in front. A fashionable type for the 
best houses at a later date was to build with two stories and with a 
four-cornered flat roof. If it was built with two rooms upon each floor, 
it had usually a chimney at each end of the house. If it contained 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 81 

four rooms upon each floor the chimneys were built between the front 
and rear rooms. 

A log house was common where a new settlement was made for a 
few years, but as there were saw mills in the town most of the time 
from the first settlement, and plenty of timber, these were soon re- 
placed by framed houses as most of the settlers were enterprising men. 

To feed a family one depended mostly upon the production of his 
land and the stock which he kept upon it. Very little dependence 
was made upon purchasing provisions outside of the town. Large 
quantities of rye were raised upon the newly cleared laud, and upon 
the plains by cultivation. Indian corn was regarded as the most im- 
portant crop of all that was cultivated. The principal bread used was 
brown bread made from rye and Indian meal. Hasty pudding was a 
standard family diet. Boiled Indian pudding frequently made with 
suet, was a common article upon the farmer's table. Johnny-cake of- 
ten was substituted for brown bread. Wheat was cultivated to some 
extent, but it was too uncertain a crop to be relied upon to constitute 
the dail}^ fare of most families. Beans were extensively raised, aud 
used largely for making bean porridge. Potatoes, turnips, pump- 
kins, pease, cabbages and beets were all raised to help make a yearly 
stock of provisions for a family. 

Farmers, as a rule, produced their own meat. In the fall of the 
year or early winter, enough fatted cattle and hogs were slaughtei'ed 
to make a suppl}'^ of fresh meat for the winter and salt meat for a 
year ; veal was the principal fresh meat used in the summer, aud mut- 
ton in the fall. 

A much larger quantity of milk was used then than at present. lu 
many large families of children brown bread and milk and Johuny- 
cake and milk constituted a large part of their food. Farmers who 
had any number of cows generally made a quautit}^ of cheese for a 
year's stock, to be used daily in the family. Butter was perhaps less 
used than it is at present. Very little income was expected from the 
cows in the winter. The milk of one cow in the winter was all that 
most farmers cared to have. 

The amount of fish obtained from the rivers was an important item 
in the supply of provisions for many families. Those fish which are 
now common to our rivers and brooks were then much larger and more 
abundant than they are at the present time. At the time the town 
was first settled salmon and shad made their annual visits to its rivers 
in large numbers. 

The occasional killing of a deer furnished some venison ; wild tur- 
6 



82 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

kej's -were frequently killed ; pigeons Avere more plentiful than thej' are 
at the present time ; partridges were as numerous as at present, and 
perhaps more so. 

The principal article of food consumed, not produced upon the farm 
or obtained from the rivers or forests, was salt fish purchased in the 
Boston market. 

The clothing of both men and women was almost entirely home- 
spun. Flax and wool were the principal materials from which it was 
made. For working flax, men were skilled in the process of rotting 
it, after it had been harvested. This was done by spreading it on the 
ground, exposed to rains and dews, until the woody part became brit- 
tle and could be cleaved from the fibre by the use of the break and 
swingle. After the men had done their part of the work upon the tlax 
the fibre was handed over to the wives and daughters. Tliey, by the 
use of the hatchel, the spinning-wheel and the looili, made it into 
cloth. When men had sheared the wool from the sheep, women, 1)y 
the use of the hand cards, spinning-wheels and looms, made it into 
cloth. The art of dyeing yarn and cloth was confided to the women. 

Grazing was depended upon almost antirely for keeping horses and 
cattle through the summer, and most of the hogs were kept in a pas- 
ture or run in the highway during the summer, and grass and roots 
constituted a large part of their feed. 

A well arranged farm, to meet the requirements of a family, had 
pastures for cattle and horses, a sheep pasture, a hog pasture, hay 
fields, a field of corn, of rye, wheat, oats, buckwheat, potatoes, beans, 
turnips, pease, flax, and a good-sized garden. 

The production of cider appears to liave been regarded as an im- 
portant part of farm operations. Seldom do we find an old cellar hole, 
where there was once a farm, that there are not to be seen more or 
less old apple trees. 

The practices of the times were such that an ordinary farmer pro- 
vided most of the food and clothing for his family from the produc- 
tion of his land and the labor of himself and family within the bounds 
of his own possessions. 

To pay for such articles of food and clothing as could not be pro- 
duced, to pay for work done by a carpenter, by a blacksmith, a tan- 
ner, a shoemaker, and to pay taxes required that a considerable amount 
of something should be disposed of to meet such payments. The 
mechanics, as a general thing, had farms and lands that they were 
clearing up. This enabled the mechanics and farmers to exchange 
•labor for their mutual benefit. The income most relied upon to raise 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 83 

money was from the sale of cattle, horses, sheep and hogs. The 
laud was new and productive, which enabled the farmers to dispose 
of a considerable amount of stock annually. 

Large numbers of the farmers went once a year, at least, to Bos- 
ton or some other place where there was a good market, with the sur- 
plus production of their farms and some goods of domestic manu- 
facture, and made purchases of some of the principal articles that 
would be needed the coming year. The loads carried to market were 
largely made up of a few hundred pounds of pork, a few tubs of but- 
ter, a number of cheeses, a box or two of poultry, a web of frockiug 
and a piece of flannel. The return load would consist of a few bushels 
of salt, several gallons of rum, a few gallons of molasses, a quantity 
of tea, a jack-knife for each of the boys, a piece of goods to make 
tlie wife a dress and some trinkets for the girls. Large numbers of 
these loads were drawn by a single horse, some by two horses, and in 
some cases, oxen were brought into requisition. 

The farmers that went to market in this way had to exercise con- 
siderable economy that their expenses might not consume too large a 
portion of the products sold. A large part of the food eaten while 
gone was taken with them from home, and some of !lie grain to be 
fed to the team, was also carried from home. It was considered no 
impropriety in those times for a person going to market to eat his 
own lunch or to feed his own grain to his horses at a public house. 
The tavern keeper was satisfied if he furnished the hay, liquor and 
lodging. 

Quite an amount of goods was transported upon horses by the use 
of panniers. These were a pair of baskets suspended one upon each 
side of a horse. Some men made a business of going to market with 
what could be carried in a pair of panniers. Mr. Johu Whitcomb came 
to the town about the year 1763 from Bolton, Mass., with a wife and 
three small children. He rode one horse and brought such articles as 
he could ; his wife rode another which carried a pair of panniers. In 
each of the baskets a child was placed, the other the mother brought 
in her arms. 

Wheeled carriages for people to ride in were but little used at the 
period of 1800. Riding horseback was the usual mode of travelling 
when people rode. It was common for two persons to ride upon one 
horse. Men took their wives and daughters to church upon their 
horses behind them. A youug man would gallant a lady friend upon 
his horse behind him with as much pride as one does now in a nice 
carriage. A pillion was placed behind the saddle, and fastened to it 
for the person to sit upon that rode behind. 



84 



HISTORY OF SWANZET. 



For a long time one of the most travelled thoroughfares in Cheshire 
county was the road that passed through the centre of Swanzey. The 
road passed south from the Centre and then turned to the soutlieast 
and passed up over the hill into what was then Fitzwilliam, now Troy. 
A large part of the teaming from Cheshire county, and much of that 
of Vermont going to Boston, passed over this road. 

This travel made business for public houses at the Centre and for 
one on the hill in that part of Swanzey which is included in Troy. 
The one on the hill was a noted house. It was first kept by Henry 
Morse and then by Francis Goodhue. 

A man fashional)ly dressed wore a ruffled shirt bosom, short 
breeches, long stockings, knee buckles, a powdered wig, and a cocked 
hat. 

The women's clothing was mostly made from homespun, woollen 
and linen goods ; but nice silk dresses wei'e not uncommon. Most 
women in comfortable circumstances had a scarlet woolen cloak made 
with a hood. These cloaks were made from imported goods. 

The following named persons became residents of Swanzey and 
were taxed in the town for the first time in the following years : 

1802. 

Solomon Mattliews, 
William Newcomb, 
Uriah Parmenter. 



Phinehas Field, 
Garinter Hastings, 
Cornelius Hines, 



Abraham Aldrich, 
David Bennett, 
John Fitch, 
Richard Gale, 

Benjamin Barrett, 
.John Guild, 
George Hill, 
Wid. Hannah Kelley, 

Nahum Baldwin, 
Nehemiah Bennett, 
James Brewer, 
Eleazer Franklin, 

James Cummings, 
David Dwinuell, 



1803. 

Selah Smead, 
Sibley Taft, 
Levi VVhitcomb, 
Gideon G. Willis. 

1804. 

Abraham Stearns, 
Abijah Stearns, 
Noah Stevens. 

1805. 

James Sibley Taft, 
Josiah Whitcomb, 
Reuben Worcester. 

1806. 

Joseph Emerson, 
William Fairbrother, 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



85 



Eleazer Lovelaud, 
Joel Mellen, 



Lot Biugliam, 
Reuben Britton, 
Luther Chapmau, 

Nehemiali Andrews, 
Fisher Bullard, 
John Cummings, 
Timothy Feseudon, 
Levi Long, 

Deliverance Brown, 
Ahaz Howard, 

Noah Ames, 
David Brown, 
Alpheus Caprou, 
Jonas Hunt, 

Levi Dunham, 

Benoni Austin, 
Jonas Blodgett, 
James Henry, 



David Hosley, 
William Rider, 

Clark Brown, 
Henry Cooper, 
Richard Crossett, 
Jonathan Hill, 
Jonathan Locke, 
Lawson Moore, 
Daniel Osborn, 



John Perry, 
Timothy Smith. 



1807, 



Foster Emerson, 
Laban Starkey. 

1808. 

Eleazer Mason, 
Peter Rice, 
Paul Raymond, 
Zadoc Taft, 
Daniel Wetherbee. 

1809. 

Moses Howard. 

1810. 

John Long, 
Zadoc L. Taft, 
Brown Taft, 
Barnard Wheeler. 

1811. 

Samuel Holden. 



1812. 



Hale Mason, 
Asaliel Shirtleff, 
Daniel Verry. 

1813. 

Phinehas Stone. 

1814. 

Alpheus Perry, 
Joseph Slate, 
George Stevens, 
Thomas Wheelock, 
Levi Willard, 
Josiah Wilson. 



86 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



John Black, 
Williiim Black, 

Jeremiah Amidon, 
William Bridge, 
Joualhau Hill, 
Silas Jones, 

William Balch, 
Nathan Ellis, 
Jonathan Holbrook, 

Jonathan Babbit, 
John Cximmings, 
Robert Emerson, 

Ephraim K. Frost, 
Stephen Harris, 
Josiah Leach, 
Peter Rogers, 

Henry Baxter, 
Calvin Bemis, 

Sands Aldrich, 
Otis Capron, 
Joseph Carter, 
Calvin Field, 

John Chamberlain, 
Bela Chase, 
Joel Eaton, 
Davis Healey, 

Tristan Aldrich, 
Simeon Ellis, 
Abijah Gilsou, 



1815. 

Daniel Rajmiond, 
James Underwood. 

1816. 

Barton Kelley, 
William Morse, 
Bartholomew Parsons. 

1817. 

John Leonard, 
Martin Stone. 

1818. 

Ezra Emerson, 
Alexander Perry. 

1819. 

ZadoC Rogers, 
David Stone, 
Natlianiel Thompson, 
John Withington. 

1820. 

Zachariah Field, 
Samuel Stone. 

1821. 

Amos Houghton, 
Charles Howland, 
Jonathan Martin, 
Elisha Simonds. 

1822. 

Aaron Lombaixl, 
Samuel Russell, 
Ebenezer Warren, 
Israel Woodward. 

1823. 

Levi Lewis, 
Martin Thompson. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



87 



Charles Frost, 
David Holbrook, 
Alvin Nasoii, 
Barnabas C. Peters, 
Jesse Peters, 

Seth Leonard, 
Baxter Murdock, 

Jonathan W. C apron, 
George Darling, 
Jonathan Jackson, 
layman Parker, 
Eoswell Parker, 

Hardin Albee, 
"William Sebastian, 

Alfred Britton, 
Ebenezer Colman, 

Archer Campbell, , 
Oliver Capron, 
David Hill, 
Daniel Linsej^, 

Hiram BoUes, 
Lockhart Brockway, 
George Bucklin, 
Russell Ballon, 
Howard Clark, 



1824. 

Silas Wheeler, 
William Wheelock, 
Charles Wilson, 
Stilmau Wilson. 

1825. 

William Winchester, 
Allen Woodward. 

1826. 

Carlton Parker, 
Reuben Porter, 
Charles Pratt, 
Peter Starkey, 
William Southworth. 

1827. 

Daniel Temple. 

1828. 

James Emerson, 
Major Gould. 

1829. 

Joseph Newell, 
Thomas Ockiiigtou, 
Jairus Perry, 
Amasa S. Rogers. 

1830. 

Charles Greene, 
Asa Jackson, 
George Oliver, 
Elias Thatcher. 



From the time of the first settlement of the town to the end of the 
century there was no necessity for common laborers to go from home 
to obtain work. Clearing and cultivating the land and the labors inci- 
dent to a new settlement gave employment to all who wished to Avork. 
About the beginning of the present century many of the young men 
began to look to other places for temporary employment and perma- 



88 > HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

nent homes. Some went to Vermont, New York, Pennsj-lvania, Ohio, 
and some to Canada. A few went to Maine and some drifted down 
to ]Massachusetts. For a limited time many went to the St. Lawrence 
river in Canada and worked at boating on that river. Others went 
down to Conneeticnt river towns and hibored at farming , others went 
to Boston and vieinitv and worked at gardeninsi, truekino- drawino; 
a hand cait, or found employment on board a fishing vessel. The 
expense of riding in a coach was too great for these men in going to 
and returning from these places of temporary abode. A common 
practice for a young man was to take a few articles of clothing, do 
them up in a bundle, swing it on his back and walk. 

Between the years 1810 and 1820 a large number of the women in 
Swanzey were engaged in weaving cotton cloth in liand looms. Some 
men made a business of going to Rhode Island with a team for the 
yarn, distributing it to the weavers in the different families and gath- 
ering up the clotli after it was woven. 

Next to farming the most important business in Swanzey from first 
to last has been the working of pine into building material and wooden 
ware. The large quantity of superior old growtli pine, when sawed 
into lumber, has always been an article of export. Saw mills were 
early built not only on the larger but on the smaller streams. In 1830, 
the number of sites where one of these mills stood or had stood was 
not less than fifteen. All of them were the old-fashioned sash mills. 

For many years about this date an extensive business was carried 
on in transporting lumber to Northfield where it was " rafted " down 
the Connecticut river, finding a market at Springfield, Hartford and 
New Haven. 

The mills were heavily stocked during the winter with pine logs 
and were often run day and night during the spring in cutting out 
the lumber. This, when seasoned, was ''carted" (usually in May and 
June, August and September) to Northfield. This work was mostly 
done by farmers with ox teams. The route from East Swanzey was 
by the B. F. Lombard and Atkinson places through '\Vesti)ort and 
Winchester and over the Northfield hills, making a long and laborious 
trip occn|>ying the larger part of two days. A brake on the wagon 
was not then used, a temporar}' pole between the pairs of cattle being 
supplied to assist in holding back in going down the steep grades. 

The teams ordinarily consisted of two pairs of oxen, sometimes 
only one pair and a horse, and sometimes three pairs. The teamsters 
expended but little money on the road, food for both themselves and 
teams being carried from their homes. But very little grain was fed 



I 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 89 

by farmers to cattle in those days, hay being used almost exclusively 
for fodder. 

Most farmers at this period kept an ox team, and most had more or 
less pine timber on their lands. The sale of this timber year by year 
and the money they received from the lumbermen for teaming gave 
them the means of paying their taxes and furnishing the necessary 
supplies for their families. 

The making of split and shaved pine shingles was an important in- 
dustry in the town for many years. The excellent pine timber was 
well adapted to this business. 

Early in the present century macliines for sawing pointed shingles 
were introduced. By a self-setting arrangement, they would saw from 
each end of a block first a butt end of a shingle then the pointed end. 
The block to be sawed was held in position by dogs. Tliere were four 
or five of these machines in operation at the same time previous to 
the introduction of the pail business. The merchants in the town 
were generally dealers in shingles. 

For a long time after the town was settled good pine timber was 
of but little value, and large, coarse and defective trees of no value. 
These worthless trees were generally left standing to avoid the labor 
of cutting. After a piece of timber land had been cut over it was 
generally burned, purposely or accidentally, and all the trees not pre- 
viously dead would be killed. As late as 1830 large numbers of these 
trees could be seen in almost all directions, some of them retaining 
their bark and limbs and some entirely destitute of them, presenting 
nothing but a tall black stump. These old trees gave the town in 
many places a very disagreeable appearance and where they stood in 
mowing lands they were a constant annoyance 1)}' the falling of limbs 
and bark. For a long time the constant springing up of young pines 
was a great trouble to the farmers. It; took but a few years for many 
of the pastures to become so much covered with them that they would 
be worthless for grazing purposes. No one appeared to think that 
any benefit would be derived by letting them grow. It was an indi- 
cation of a shiftless farmer to see his pastures covered with small sap- 
ling pines. Many acres of pines of a larger growth, such as would 
now be very valuable for timber, were cut and burned on the ground 
merely to get them out of the way. 

The farmers at tins period endeavored to produce large quantities 
of corn, rye, potatoes, beef and pork. They bought but little flour, 
grain or wheat. They cultivated large areas of land and manured 
sparingly, generally in the hill, instead of spreading broadcast. 



90 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

For the raising of mone3' by the sale of grain, oats were relied up- 
on more than corn or rye. They were alvva^'s in demand b}^ those who 
kept public houses. Oats were generally sown ui)on land wlien it 
was seeded to grass, and upon land which had previously been [ilanted 
wit!) potatoes and corn. Tlie condition of the ha}^ fields at this time 
(1830) and the tools used made haying a season of intensely hard 
labor. Most of the labor-saving machines now in use on tiie farm 
had never been heard of. Much of the mowing land, especially on 
the hills, was thickl}^ set with stumps and sandwiclied with stones. 
The first crops of grass and grain on this primitive soil were very 
stout, but continual cropping with slight manuring, had so diminished 
the fertilit}' that much of the hay crop was veiy light — hardly worth 
gathering. Most farmers had then, as now, more or loss meadow land, 
but this was often quite remote from the homestead. There was al- 
wa3's winter rye to be harvested ; extensive fields of which were u[)on 
new ground and had to be reaped. With all the help that could be 
obtained it took usually not less than six or seven weeks to finish the 
haying and tiie harvesting. Men went into the field at sunrise, and 
they were fortunate if their work was done before sundown. Men and 
bo\'s did not do all the farm work during haying, some women and 
girls worked in the hay fields in the afternoon about as constantly as 
the men ; and others that did not work in the field drove up the 
cows and milked them. 

Quite a large quantity of cider was drank at this time. There were 
but few men that did not use it. There were probably' as mau}^ as a 
dozen cider mills in the town that were kept constantly in use during 
the fall to make the annual supply of cider. The old-fashioned mill ; 
the horse attached to the end of the sweep, slowly circling around, 
turning the fluted rollers, the jaws of which received the a[»ples as 
the}' descended from the hopper ; the peculiar squeak of these timl)ers 
as they revolved and received the apples in their embrace ; the numer- 
ous barrels about the establishment ; the loads of apples; the piles 
of straw and pumice ; the boy with a straw in his mouth bending over 
the barrel sucking the newly made beverage ; — this was the picture 
two generations ago. Some farmers placed yearly, from ten to thiity 
barrels of cider in their cellars. 

Home-made woollen clothes for men and women, boys and girls, 
were made in the families of most farmers. For making the wool in- 
to rolls two sets of machinery were run by water power; one at East 
the other at West Swanzey. There were but fevv women that could 
not use the spinning wheel for making the rolls into yarn. For mak- 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 91 

ing stockings, flannels find frocking, tlie yarn was colored by the 
women. Cloth that was designed for men's and boys' clothing was 
woven from uncolored yarn. This cloth went to tlie clothier to be fin- 
ished. The finishing consisted in fnlling, coloring, shearing and 
jiressing. Tlie clothier's trade was one of the important trades of 
tlie time. Years of apprenticeship were reqnired to learn it. There 
were clothiers' mills at East and West Swanzey, Factory Village, 
Westport and at Swanzey Pond. For an establishment it required a 
good-sized building, water power and expensive raachiner}-. Men's 
and boys' woollen clothes were made mostly by women tailors, going 
from house to house to do the work. 

Farmers would take the hides of their slaughtered cattle to the tan- 
ner and have them tanned for their own use. In payment the}' would 
be quite likel}' to sell some hemlock bark if such they had. Most of 
the tanning for the people of the town was done bj'Capt. Levi Blake. 
The making of boots and shoes gave emplo3'ment to many men, whose 
shops were located in diflTerent parts of the town. Some of these 
men made a practice of going to tlie homes of the people and doing the 
family shoemaking. Many farmers had a few shoemakers' tools and 
did their own cobbling. 

The raising and working of flax ceased previous to 1830. At this 
time but few i)ersons rode horseback as their fathers and mothers had 
done fifty years before. Wheel carriages had been brought into gen- 
eral use. A common wagon and a nice chaise were the ordinary ve- 
hicles. The wagons were made with a framed bod}"^ which was set 
solid on wooden axletrees. Tlie seats rested on wooden arm-springs 
attached to timber sill springs. The wagons were made with skeaned 
wooden axletrees, and the wheels were fastened upon the axletrees 
with linch-pins. The chaise of those times was a nice well-made car- 
riage. It was too expensive for most people to have. Of those per- 
sons in town who did have such a carriage were Rev. E. Colman, Hon. 
E. Belding, Hon. PI Carpenter, Maj. E. Page, Capt. Levi Blake, Capt. 
Benj. Brown, Capt. David Holbrook, Amos Bailey, Esq., Israel Stan- 
ley', Alexander Perry and Alvah Tiiompson. 

There were two meeting houses in town, the one at the Centre was 
what is now the town-house, and the one at West Swanzey was the 
present Baptist church. A veiy fair proportion of the people at- 
tended service at one or the other of these houses. Nearl}' all were 
farmers with their families. Many of these farmers kept mares from 
which they raised colts. During church hours on Sundays these ani- 
mals might be seen hitched under the horse sheds, shade trees and to 



92 HISTORY OF SAVANZEr. 

the fences. The invariable rule was to have two services and a long 
intermission between thein. Sunday schools had not been establislied, 
so there was nothing better for the boys to do during interniission 
than to look at the colts and ascertain which was the most valuable. 
After the services were out, in bringing the teams to the doors, the 
colts would be full of frolic, get away from their mothers and go off 
with strange horses. Such scenes were annoying to the men but they 
made fun for the boys. 

Wages were low compared with those of the present day. Men 
would work on a farm or teach school for ten or fiTteen dollars a month ; 
woidd work with a pair of oxen logging in the winter for a dollar and 
twenty-five cents a day ; women at house work or school-teaching 
woidd receive a dollar and a half or two dollars per week. 

As most of the important records of town affairs of the present 
centiny are more appropriately given in other chapters, but few will 
be inserted here. 

In 1833, on the question of the revision of the State Constitution : 
164 voted yes, and 24 no. Since then when the question has been 
before the people of the town they hav>e generally voted no. 

In 1.S36, on question of the State making an appropriation for an 
Insane Hospital : yes, 25 ; no, 76. 

In 1837, town voted to receive its share of surplus money from 
U. S. government: yes, 112; no, 66. P21ijah Cari)enter was chosen 
agent to receive and loan said money in sums not exceeding S300 nor 
less than $50, giving the people of the town the preference in nuUving 
the loans. 

In 1844, vote on abolishing capital punishment: yes, 111 ; no, 184. 

In 1854, a determined effort was made by the people in the north- 
east part of the town to have their territory, including the Factory 
Village and what is now Spragueville, disannexed from Swanzey and 
joined to Keene ; but after a fair hearing before a committee of the 
legislature the project failed to be accomplished. 

The following-named persons were taxed in Swanzey for the first 
time in the following years : 

1831. 
Barney Bowles, Millins Holbrook, 

Israel Brown, George Metcalf, 

Benjamin H. Carlton, Winslow Parker, 

Wethcrbee Chamberlain, Aaron "Wheeler. 

Horace Drewrej*, 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



93 



Silas Brewer, 
Josiah B. Cass, 
Benjamin Flint, 



John Bowker, 
Joseph Hill, 
Dexter Howard, 
Alvah Holinan, 
Joseph Putney, 

Noah A Id rich, 
Everson Cook, 
Francis H. Evelith, 
Franklin Goodnow, 
Roberts Hovey, 

George W. Howe, 
Franklin Hoi man, 
Samuel D. King, 



Orren Black, 
Samuel Carter, 
Lyman Field, 
William Flagg, 
Moses Kinney, 

Sylvanus Bartlett, 
George W. Ellis, 
Jacob Patch, 
Elisha Rockwood, 



Daniel H. Bates, 
William Banks, 
William Calkins, 
Jedediah Cooper, 
Stephen Faulkner, 



1832. 

Elbridge G. Goodell, 
AVilliam Severance, 
Nathan Winch. 

1833. 

John P. Sabin, 
Joshua Stoddard, 
John Stone, 
Lincoln Wheelock. 

1834. 

Elisha Hutchins, 
John Hale, 
John Lebourveau, 
Nathaniel Oliver. 

1835. 

Jonas H. Merriam, 
Nathan Watkins, 
Thomas T. Wetherbee. 

1836. 

Alva Keyes, 
Erasmus Marble, 
Francis Morse, 
Jason Tyler. 

1837. 

Thomas Shapl}', 
William Tenney, 
Benjamin Thatcher, 
George Thatcher. 

1838. 

Oliver Lakin, 
Irus Metcalf, 
William Morse, 
George Talbot. 



94 



HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 



Jaivis Bates, 
Albert Butes, 
Peter Bates, 
Roswell Brairaf, 
Josepli Barber, 

Alonzo Ballon, 
P^benezer Ciain, 
James Capron, 
Chester Lyman, 

Silas Ballon, 
Orlando Frink, 
Rufns Gates, 
L^'man Gates, 
WilUird Gay, 
George W. Holbrook, 
Bemsley Lord, 
Jesse W. Mnrpliy, 

George W. Alexander, 
Ansel Bourn, 
Etiakim Esterbrooks, 
Alfred Marble, 

Daniel Cobnrn, 
Harvey W. Cooper, 

Moses D. Ballon, 
"William Barns, 
A. P. Barns, 
Aaron E. Bridges, 
William D. Chamberlain, 

Levi Adams, 
Willard Adams, 
Israel Hale, 
Benjamin Marvin, 



1839. 

Rnfus Bo wen, 
Lsaac C. Gray, 
David Harris, 
Darius E. Wright. 

1840. 

Elislia Munsell, 
Joseph Read, 
Henry Starkey, 
Reuben Twitehel. 

1841. 

Samuel Page, 
John Stearns, 
Abraham Spoffurd, 
Levi Streeter, 
David Taylor, 
Aaron Wilson, 
Calvin AVhite. 



1842. 



William S. INIansfield, 
George Marsh, 
Jones Plummer, 
Samuel J. Tenney. 



1843. 



William W. Goodnow, 
Samuel Rockwood. 

1844. 

L. J. Fletcher, 
Josei)h O. Gary, 
John F. Jennison, 
Davis H. Wilson. 

1845. 

George IL Rice, 
Joseph Ware, 
Merrick Wetherbee, 
Calvin Wright. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



95 



Albert R. Ballon, 
Ainasji Ballon, 
P^aiiklin Ball, 
Orlando Cooliclge, 

Harvey Beal, 
Ozial Ballon, 
Lorenzo Ballon, 
Lavvson Beckvvitli, 
Jonathan Drnr}', 
Jeremiah Ilale, 

Elijah H. Adams, 
Jolin Fitzgeronid, 
Rnssell B. Hall, 
Josiali Kellogg, 
Geoi"ge Lord, 

Esqnire Ballon, 
Abel Bowers, 
Lewis Carpenter, 
Prescott D. Cobnrn, 

San ford Bolles, 
John II. Blown, 
Eseck Butfum, 
Sumner Black, 
Asahel W. Dnnton, 
Gilbert S. Howard, 
Cyrene Johnson, 
Seth Leonard, 

Levi Farnsworth, 
Isaac Knight, 
Ell)ridge G, Prentice, 
George W. Robinson, 
Marshall Rixford, 



1846. 

Daniel Greenleaf, 
John Foster, 
Shipley W. Knight. 

184S. 

Daniel Hale, 
Robert P. Leonard, 
David G. Mason, 
Simeon B. Nelson, 
Galon Whipple. 

1849. 

Harvey Lawrence, 
Orrin F. Oakman, 
Jolin S. Tha3'ei', 
Benjamin Wilson. 

1850. 

John S. Sargent, 
Joseph Wilson, 
Alonzo Wilson. 



1851, 



John Mead, 
Silas B. Partridge, 
William W. Palmer, 
Charles Temple, 
Levi M. Wellington, 
diaries J. White, 
George H. Wilder. 



1852. 



Howard B. Richardson, 

AYilliam Sawyer, 
Farnnm E. Taft, 
Elliott Whitcomb. 



96 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



Davifl L. M. Comings, 
Ciilvin Combs, 
Leaiuler Criiin, 
Lucius C. Doolittle, 
Jolin F'oster, 
George W. Faulkner, 
G. A. Griggs, 

Jolin C. Bourn, 
Charles Burnliam, 
Asa B. CiarU. 
Daniel W. Clark, 
William Clark, 2(1, 
Amos D. Combs, 
Jonathan G. Huntley, 



Charles Bowles, 
George H. Badger, 
Pvbenezer F. Bradford, 
Stilman A. Bigelow, 

Bailey Corlis, 
Robert Crofford, 
Orriek L. Haskell, 
Arza Higgins, 
William N. Nason, 
Carlos Quinn, 

Nathaniel Bourn, 
Nathaniel Bourn, 2d, 
Jarvis Eaton, 
Luke El lor, 
Salmon H. Fox, 
Calvin Newton, 



Willard Ballon, 
Olis D. Hale, 



1853. 

Joseplius Handy, 
Kobcrt Hamilton, 
J. T. G. Huntley, 
John I). Hale, 
William l\i[)ley, 
Timothy Sherman. 

1854. 

Andrew Hannah, 
David R. Marshall, 
Isaac Lampson, 
Proctor Ruberts, 
Oratio Stratton, 
Gardner Wheeler, 
Edward Wilcox. 

1855. 

Johp A. Bachelor, 
Samuel INIattoon, 
Ephraim P. Rixford. 

1856. 

Isaac Stowell, 
George W. Tonne}', 
George P. AVard, 
John C. Wel)ber, 
Moses E. Wright. 

1857. 

George Porter, 
Frank J. Porter, 
Eli W. Reynolds, 
John W. Taggard, 
Daniel P. Tiiouipson, 
Francis H. Underwood. 

1858. 

Sanford S. Wilber. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



97 



Louis Broulett, 
Darwin D. Baxter, 
Asaph Corlis, 
Heniy F, Clark, 
Amos L. Corey, 
Abraliam Draper, 
George W. Draper, 



Grove Bid well, 
Orleans S. Eaton, 
Joseph N. Forrestall, 
Ciiarles H. Gove, 
Charles G. Gil more, 
Allen B. Hay ward, 

John A. Breed, 
Luther Beal, 
David Buffura, 
John Crouch, 
Clark B. Crouch, 
Levi Crouch, 
Warren Hunt, 
Obed Holton, 

Francis S. Fisher, 
Amos H. Ingalls, 
William C. Oakman, 



Anderson Aldrich, 
Charles Alexander, 



Patrick Burke, 
George W. Eastman, 
Araasa Fuller, 



Samuel Bishop, 
George I. Cutler, 
7 



1859. 

Samuel S. Farris, 
William I. Sawyer, 
George Sweetzer, 
Charles Quinn, 
George H. Taylor, 
Chauncey H. Stone, 
George W. Worsley. 

1860. 

John F. Hunt, 
Jacob Hart, 
William Knight, 
San ford A. Noyce, 
John H. Sparhawk. 

1861. 

Ira Hooper, 
Samuel Heard, 
John E, Norcross, 
Willard S. Perhara, 
Burrill Porter, 
Granville R. Pratt, 
Luther S. Smith. 

1862. 

Charles Talbot, 
Ithamer Ward, 
Henry Waid. 

1863. , 

Asa C. Hemmenway, 
Benjamin Mead. 

1864. 

Loren P. Hammond, 
Thomas Lonegan, 
Eli Thomas. 

1865. 

Daniel H. Dickinson, 
Franklin B. Forrestall, 



98 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



Edwin Foster, 
Cliarles Marsh, 
David Pellvy, 
John A. Rand, 



Alfred S. Blake, 
James D. Cheevcr, 
Martin Cheever, 
Joseph Ellor, 

Joel Derby, 
Charles A. Follansbee, 
Ira Giistine, 
Geo. Hopkins, 
Warren B. Hubbard, 
A. M. Holt, 

Hiram Avery, 
James H. Bates, 
Allen Beal, 
George W. Brooks, 
William Calkins, 



Roswell Stowell, 
John H. Streeter, 
Lyman Tenney. 



isne. 



Homer Evans, 
Ohailiah Spragne, 
p4)hraini F. Towns. 



1867, 



Alex. Hopkins, 
F'. A. Lovering, 
Benjamin Morrow, 
Frank Pluff, 
Alonzo A. Tupper. 



1868. 



Richard Grogan, 
Asa S. Kendall, 
Volne}^ A. Marcy, 
N. E. Powers, 
Dexter H. Thomas. 



-John H. Barrus, 
John Conlon, 
John Conboy, 
Andrew B. Cook, 

.John Fife, 
Walter W. Fish, 



1869. 

J. W^'nian Goodell, 
Martin Hanrahan, 
Patrick Hare, 
Alonzo A. Lewis, 
- Jacob Rich, 
J. B. Walton. 



W. H. Allen, 
'Geo. W. Allen, 
Charles M. Ballon, 
William Casey, 
A. S. Maxfield, 
Oliver L. Nash, 



1870. 

E. S. Noyes, 
Thomas Nay Ion, 
William Riple}', 
Hector A. Smith, 
JNahum Ward. 






GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORr. 



99 



Lnther Alexander, 
Cass Bullock, 
Osmon C. Bidwell, 
Elisha Burnham, 
Charles W. Castle, 
Amos C. Crouch, 
Timothy Fitzgerald, 
George W. Faulkner, 

Elbridge Amidon, 
Augustus B. Crouch, 
Ephraim Crouch, 
Luman B, Crouch, 
Andrew L. Haskell, 
Fernando P. Hinds, 

Erdix S. Eastman, 
Stihnan Fifield, 
Elijah Howard, 
Ira D. Knight, 

Calvin Alexander, 
John Blake, 
James M. Collier, 

John F. Ballon, 
Philip P. Carlton, 

James Biggs, jr., 
Haskell Carpenter, 
Dauphin W. Kendall, 

Michael Cantlin, 
Arthur B. Davison, 
Warren Ellis, 

Avery Bryant, 
John Cameron, 



1871. 

Henry Fassett, 
Hiram Forbush, 
Jarib S. Herrick, 
Benjamin C. Smith, 
Frank N. Stone, 
John L. Winch, 
Edward Watson. 

1872. 

Charles L. Russell, 
George W. Richardson, 
Homer Stratton, 
Francis M. Taft, 
Spencer Tileston. 

1873. 

George F. Newell, 
Charles Norwood, 
George W. Patterson, 
James Price. 

1874. 

Horace Fifield, 
Dana Fuller, 
Charles N. Stone. 

1875. 

Franklin Downing, 
Jehiel White. 

1876.^ 

Michael Pluff, 
Nelson W. Rice. 



1877. 

John M. Prentice, 
George H. Prime. 

1878. 

Timothj' Donovan, 
Albert W. Hardy, 



100 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



Charles J. Hanrahan, 
Daniel P. Newell, 
Henry H. Sanderson, 
Harvey P. Sanderson, 

Hiram Bryant, 
Albert S. Bryant, 
William W. Ballou, 
Martin G. Cram, 
George W. Colon}', 



Edward D. Avery, 
Nelson Collier, 



Nelson Cataract, 
Frederic Dolby, 
Asa H. Freeman, 
Albert A. French, 



John B. Adams, 
Edwin Chandler, 
Edwin H. Davis, 
A. E. Flagg, 



John A« Bartlett, 
Irvin Chandler, 
Frank O. Dodge, 
George Gunn, 
Thomas Hanrahan, 



"William Bory, 
William Bory, jr., 
Charles A. Barden, 
L^man P. Beal, 



Daniel Twitchell, 
Albert G. Ward, 
Anthony S. Whitcomb. 

1879. 

Fred H. Dickerman, 
Samuel E. Howard, 
Horace N. Irish, 
William W. Strickland, 
Edward R. Simonds. 

1880. 

Sylvester M. Cram, 
Stearns Tarbox. 

1881. 

Wilber Fitch, 
Nathan F. Newell, 
Jacbb M. Stoddard, 
George A. Tyrrell. 

1882. 

Walter D. Lovering, 
Leonard Newell, 
Simeon A. Spring. 

1883. 

James T. Higgins, 
Hobert L. Kiblin, 
Walter E. Marsh, 
Zina G. Taft. 

1884. 

Charles Bouvier, 
Fred A. Bartlett, 
Amos E. Beal, 
Peter Bowen. 



Frank P. Atkinson, 



1885. 

Herbert C. At wood. 



GENERAL OUTLINE HISTORY. 



101 



Charles Eveleth, 
Daniel Harper, 
Arson L. Mason, 



Frank R. Boyce, 
Joseph Blanchette, 
Amasa Marsh, 
Wm. Montgomery, 
Dennis O'Brien, 
Warren E. Peasly, 



1886. 

Robert Pitts, 
Oilman Raymond, 
Ira White. 

1887. 

Nathan B. Rowe, 
Flavial B. Smith, 
Willard B. Smith, 
Charles N. Stone, 
Benjamin Wheeler, 
George F. Woodwell. 



Benjamin Bowen, 
Benjamin Byam, 
Benjamin F. Byron, 
Andrew Bloom, 
Justus Putnam, 



Hardin S. Ford, 
Edward Normandy, 



Andrew E. Bliss, 
Joseph Bunting, 
Prentiss Britton, 
Joshua N. Cole, 
Limon Dustin, 
Alphonso A. Emer}^ 
Levi EUor, 
Harvey S. Gates, 



1888. 

Joseph F. Rand, 
Artie W. Rixford, 
Lewis A, Spofford, 
Wm. Thorning, 
Archie Thompson. 

1889. 

John Shover, 
Charles E. Lang. 

1890. 

Ethan I. Inman, 
Martin G. Jerome, 
Eri B. Jerome, 
Ceylon E. Lang, 
Orsamus C. Nash, 
Lester H. Towne, 
Ellery L. Verry, 
Harvey Woodward. 



CHAPTEE IV. 

Military Affairs. 



Eaely ^Military Movements Duking the Revolutionary War — Soldiers 
AT Bunker Hill — Cambridge — Canada — Ticondeuoga, etc. — Col. 
Hammond's Ride — Beef for thk Army — Bounties and Payments to 
Soldiers — War of 1812 — Action of the Town in the War of the 
Rebixlion — Enlistments — Draft — Bounties Paid — Soldier's Ini>ivid . 
UAL Record — Military Laws — Trainings and Musters — Swanzey's 
Military Companies — Cavalry— Artillery — Rifle Co. — Officers of 
Each. 

IN the early settlement of the town a military spirit pervaded all 
classes of people. To have a militaYy title affixed to one's name 
was considered as a mark of honorable distinction. Soon after the 
first settlement a piece of land was laid common for a training field. 
This was situated north and northwest of the present town house. 
As long as it was supposed that Swanzey belonged to Massachusetts, 
the men v\rere doubtless trained in accordance with the laws of that 
state ; but when it was found that the town was within the jurisdiction 
of New Hampshire, and while the latter state hesitated in exercising 
its control over the people in this part of the state, it is probable that 
the people were not required by the force of law to perform any mil- 
itary service. 

Swanzey suffered less during the French and Indian wars than most 
of the other towns in this vicinity ; partly for the reason that it had 
strong forts garrisoned mostly by its own soldiers. 

As there was a continual want of soldiers during this period to gar- 
rison the forts and protect the laborers in the fields, it is not likely 
that the men did much service except as members of those military 
organizations sent from Massachusetts for the protection of the set- 
tlements, or volunteering in cases of special emergencies. 

In 1760 New Hampshire had organized the militia in this part of \ 
the state (Cheshire and Sullivan Counties) into one regiment. Josiah 
Willard was its colonel. At the commencement of the Revolutionary 
war three regiments had been organized in place of the first one. 
(102) 



130 


Chesterfield, 


191 


171 


Westmoreland, 


165 


138 


Surry, 


44 


169 


Gilsum, 


39 


33 







MILITAKY AFFAIRS. 103 

That to which Swanzey belonged in 1777 was the thirteenth in the 
state. The towns composing it and the number of men enrolled in each 
town were as follows : 

Winchester, 

Keene, 

Swanzey, 

Richmond, 

Hinsdale, 

Total, 1080 

The enrollment included those from sixteen to fifty years of age. 
Samuel Ashley of Winchester was colonel of the regiment. The ex- 
perience which many of the men in the militia at the commencement 
of the Revolutionary war had had in the French and Indian wars qual- 
ified them for valuable officers in the Revolutionary war. 

The history of Swanzey during this war shows that the public sen- 
timent of the town was decidedly in favor of repelling the aggressions 
of the mother country. The following petition of Capt. Joseph Ham- 
mond shows the prompt action that was taken when it was learned 
that the battle of Lexington had been fought two days before : 

[Petition of Joseph Hammond : addressed to the General Court 

Dec. 13, 1786.] 

" The Petition of Joseph Hammond of Swanzey in the County of 

Cheshire, Gentleman, Humbly Shevveth — 

That your Petitioner (on the Twenty-first Day of April, 1775) was 
Chosen Captain of the Company of Militia in Svvanzey and on said 
Day Marched the Greater part of Said Company (viz) one Lieuten- 
ant one Ensign 4 Sergents 4 Corporals and 52 Privates In Defence of 
the Country against the British Troops. Your Petitioner and his 
Company Marched to Cambridge where we were Stationed for one 
Week and untill properly discharged. Of Said Company there was 
22 Men who Inlisted for Eiglit Months and drew pay from their first 
Marching, but the whole of Said Company who did not Inlist altho 
they ware in the Service of tlie State 13 Days and Cheafly on their 
own expence have never yet Received any Reward for said Service. 

Your Petitioner therefore in behalf of himself and his Men Most 
Humbly prays his Hon''' Body to take the Matter into their Wise con- 
sideration and Grant both him and them a Reward for their Service 
equal to what others have liad for like Service. 

and as in Duty bound shall ever praj'. 

Joseph Hammond, Capt." 



104 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



It has been said that Capt. Hammond's company assembled at his 
house and were ready to start at sunrise the twenty-first. 

We make the following roll of Capt. Hammond's company from the 
town records of bounties paid to its Revolutionary soldiers for ser- 
vices performed at different times and places, which we think is nearly 
correct. 



Capt. Joseph Hammond, 

Lieutenant Daniel Warner, 

Ensign Timothy Bishop, 

John Applin, 

Elijah Belding, 
*Moses Belding, 

Eleazer Brown, 

Daniel Bishop, 

Thomas Cresson, jr., 

Ephraira Cummings, 

Joseph Cummings, 
t*Enoch Cummings, 
f*Nehemiah Cummings, 

William Carpenter, 

Joseph Dickinson, 
*Amos Day, 

Daniel Day, 
*Joshua Durant, 
t*Levi Durant, 

Nathaniel Foster, 

John Follett, jr., 

Benjamin Follett, 

Calvin Frink, 
*Daniel Gunn, 

Wyat Gunn, 

Joshua Graves, 

Elijah Graves, jr., 
*Joseph Greene, 
*Thomas Greene, 

William Grimes, jr., 

James Grimes, 



t*Abraham Grillith, 

f* Joseph Hammond, jr., 

Isaac Hammond, 

Edward Hazen, 

Samuel Hills, 
t*Nathaniel Hills, sen., 
t*Benjamin Hews, 
■f-*Williain Heatou, 

Uriah How, 

Jethro Kimball, 
*Eli Kimball, 

Elkanah Lane, sen., 

Jonathan Nicols, jr., 

Aaron Parsons, 
*Benjamin Parker, 
t*Amasa Parkei', 

Samuel Page, 
*Josiah Prime, 

Simeon Puffer, 

Levi Rugg, 

John Rugg, 

Peuticost Stanley, 

Henry Stevens, 
t*Hezekiah Scott, 

Benjamin Starkey, 
*Jonatlian Whitcomb, 

Elisha Whitcomb, 
t*Abijah Whitcomb, 

John Whitcomb, 

Sauiuel Wright, 
*Jonathan Woodcock. 



Charles Grimes, 

The names of the twenty-two men of Capt. Hammond's company 
who enlisted for eight months are marked with a *. 

Jonathan Whitcomb was commissioned captain of one of the New 




(^^/>^ 



^-^^'■^f^^^-^'-z^ 



MILITARY AFFAIES. 105 

Hampsliire companies that were raised immediately after the battles 
of Lexington and Concord, and attached to Col. Read's regiment. 
Tlie names of Swanzey men in his company are marked with a f. 

Capt. Whitcomb was in the battle of Bunker Hill with his company 
and he was commended for his "resolution." 

Of the other ten of the twenty-two Capt. Hines of Chesterfield had 
in his compan}' Moses Belding ; Capt. Thomas of Rindge had Benja- 
min Parker, and Thomas Green was in Col. Stark's regiment. 

To what regiments the remaining seven belonged, is not known, but 
probabl}' to some in Massachusetts. 

Capt. Oliver Capron of Richmond was in a Massachusetts regiment 
with a company and had in it, of Swanzey men, Joseph Starkey and 
Abner Da}-. 

Dr. Calvin Frink was surgeon in Col. Stark's regiment at Cam- 
bridge. 

Among those wounded at Bunker Hill were Thomas Green and 
Benjamin Parker of Svvanze3^ Parker was returned as mortally 
wounded but he recovered and continued in the service and was killed 
at Stillwater. 

From the following petition we infer that Green's wound proved 
to be quite serious. 

"The petition of Thomas Green of Swanzey in the County of Che- 
shire in said state — Humbly sheweth — 

That your Petitioner in the Year 1775, at the Commencement of 
Hostilities between Great Britain and America Inlisted as a private 
soldier in defence of his Country, in Capt. Scott's Company' and Col. 
Stark's Regiment ; and that on the Memorable 17th of June 1775 your 
Petitioner was called to Action at Bunker Hill, in which Battle he 
Received a wound by a Musket Ball entering his left Shoulder, where- 
by he was for a long time totally Disabled from Labour, and having 
no other means of subslstance for himself and family but by Husban- 
dry on a new tract of Land, renders his Worldly Circumstances very 
Indigent. 

Your Petitioner some 3'ears since made Application to the General 
Court of this state, and was allowed Wages as a Garrison Soldier for 
one year, but being in Paper Currency and not received till some con- 
siderable Time afterwards was of very little Value by reason of De- 
preciation.* Since that Time your Petitioner has been (as he is in- 
formed) struck out of the List of such Soldiers which Received pa}^ as 
fit for Garrison Dut}^ while others in like Circumstances still Receive 
something from the state, as a Compensation for past Sufferings. 



106 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Your Petitionei- therefore HLunbly pra\^es tluit your Honors would 
take the matter into consideration and Grant him such Relief as in your 
Wisdom you shall think proper. 

And as in Duty Bound shall ever pray. 

Tho^ Green." 
Svvanzey, June 11, 1785. 

We the Subscribers, do hereby Certify that the above said Thomas 
Green was wounded at the Battle of Bunkers Hill in the year 1775, and 
that the wound he then Received is now broke open and become a 
Running Ulcer ; and we would Humbly Recomend hiiu as an Object 
Worthy of the Hon. the General Courts Attention. 

Elkanah Lane i Selectmen 
Elisha Scott i of Swanzey. 

Calvin Frink, Surgeon." 

[In H. of Rep. June 16, 1785, voted, that he be allowed eighteen 
shillings per month until further orders.] 

Col. Joseph Hammond who went to Cambridge at the head of a 
company of Swanzey soldiers immediately after the battles of Lexing- 
ton and Concord was at home when the battle of Bunker Hill was 
fought. He knew that a number of Swanzey men were in the army 
in that vicinity and among them his son Joseph. When he heard that 
the battle had been fought he prepared to start the following morn- 
ing for the field of conflict, that he might know the result of the bat- 
tle. In the morning he started and rode through in a day, a distance 
of about ninety miles and returned the next day. The following poem 
describes this famous ride. 

" Says old Colo. Hammond I'd like to know 
The fate on the morrow of mj^ sou .Joe ; 
I learn by the herald that rode by to-night 
The unwelcome news of the Bunker Hill fight. 
Nor doubt I a moment my son Joe was there 
In fighting our foe men to fight his full shai-c ; 
And I have resolved and approved of the plau, 
To ofl' on the morroAv and learn what I can. 
So wife in the morning the breakfast prepare, 
While I catch and curry the old red mare. 
Till then let us sleep, 'tis needful we rest, 
And dream what we may we will hope for the best. 
The Colo rose early and early prepared 
To start on his journey as he had declared ; 
And soon in the door-yard the old mare was tied, 
All saddled, all bridled, all fit for a ride. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 107 

The Colonel's cocked hat he pat on his head, 
His spurs on the heels of his boots, as he said. 
Wife, now my blue coat and my doublet of bufl', 
And I shall be rigged for the ride weU enough. 
The sun got up some minutes before 
The Colonel was ready to step from the door, 
And say to his lady good morn or good bye, 
Then thinking of Joseph a tear in her eye, 
He reached for the bridle when started the mare, 
And snorted, the Colonel looked so militaire ; 
He patted her neck as he stood by her side, 
To calm her a Avee ere he got up to ride. 
Then sprang to the saddle 'thout further delay, 
And like a knight errant he galloped away. 
From Swanzey, New Hampshire, thro' Fitzwilliam sped, 
Swift strode the red mare and strong was her tread, 
And onward and onward and onward she prest, 
No sign that she was weary that she required rest. 
Tho' sweltering the heat, and oppressive the dust, 
She turned not ; she stopped not to half quench her thirst. 
And ere Sol his car to the zenith had run. 
The Colonel's long journey was more than half done; 
When looking ahead, lo ! the Colonel espied 
An inn-stand, inviting, close by the road side; 
To this he reined up for a little respite, 
And called for refreshments as would a bold knight ; 
'Some oats for my mare, and a drink at the spring 
And as for myself, I'll a bumper of sling!' 
(For all liquored up in those days, you will find, 
To strengthen their courage and cheer up the mind.) 
But short was his tarry, and proud of her load. 
The old mare was prancing along the high-road ; 
On ! on through old Concord she gallantly sped, 
And onward she galloped through Lexington's town, 
A place on the road of fame and renown, 
And drew up at Charlestown, at Bunker Hill's side. 
Before it was sunset, where ended his ride. 
And glad was the Colonel when Joseph he found. 
His limbs and his wind and his body all sound. 
And early next morning the red mare was seen 
Her head up, her tail up, just leaving the green ; 
Her strength like an engine with fleetness combined; 
(The Colonel on forward and Joe on behind) 
So lightly she cantered and turned up the road. 
Not caring a 'flp' for the weight of the load. 
She started for home with the Colo, and son. 
And ere it was sundown her day's work was done. 



108 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

And how felt the mother when meeting with Joe, 
There's none but a mother can feel or can know ; 
And Avhat think ye, reader, liadn't we here 
As goodlj' a rider as Paul Revere?" 

In the fall of 1775 a plan was formed to capture Quebec b}' march- 
ing a force through the wilderness by the way of Kennebec river. 
The men for the expedition were detached from the army at Boston. 
Swanze}' had one man among them — Amasa Parker. Of tlieir expedi- 
tion an historian wrote: "No pen can describe tlie horrors of their 
march. Making their wa^'^ with infinite toil ; carrying their boats, bag- 
gage, and ammunition past tlie rapids and marshy swamps ; exposed to 
rain and storm ; crossing swollen streams ; barefooted and with clothes 
torn almost to nakedness; cold, wet, weary and sick; with the last 
ox killed ; the last dog eaten ; then roots, moose skin, moccasins 
devoured in tlie extremit}'^ of hunger, finally after two days of starva- 
tion, the famished troops emerged among the Canadian settlers." 

The enlistments that were made in April and May for eight months 
for the arm}'^ that encircled Boston and hemmed in the British forces 
in that place expired in December and January. To keep up the 
strength of the arm}' new enlistments became necessary'. It appears 
that the following persons re-enlisted or enlisted for duty through the 
winter of 1775 and 1776 : — 
Joshua Durant, Charles Howe, by hire, 

Daniel Gunn, Theodore Howe, by hire, 

Thomas Greene, Uriah Howe, 

Joseph Greene, Eli Kimball, 

Joseph Hammond, jr., Jonathan Woodcock. 

Benjamin Hewes, jr., 
On the twentieth day of January, 1776, the House of Representa- 
tives "voted to raise one regiment of soldiers forthwith." This reg- 
iment consisting of eight companies was raised, placed under the 
command of Col. Timothy Bedel, and ordered to join the "Northern 
Continental Army." 

The following persons were connected with this regiment from this 
town ; and received from it a bounty for ten mouths' service "in army 
at Canada 1776." 
Isaac Billings, Michael Heffron, 

Ebenezer Hills, Timothy Harvey, 

Nathaniel Hills, jr., Samuel Hills, jr., 

Dennis Heffron, Andrew Nicols, 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 109 

Simeon Puffer, James Wheelock, 

Amos Puffer, Elkanab Woodcock, 

John Rugg, Lieut. Elisha Whitcomb. 

Amos Tubbs, 

In May a portion of tbis regiment was in Canada about forty-five 
miles soutbvvest of Montreal at a place called tbe "Cedars." An at- 
tack upon it being tbreatened. Colonel Bedel went to Montreal for 
reinforcements, leaving tbe fort under tbe command of Major Isaac 
Butterfield, wbo on tbe nineteentb day of May surrendered bis force 
to tbe Britisb and Indians. ''Tbese prisoners were transported to an 
island in a lake near tbe two mountains and kept tbere nearly naked 
witbout sbelter and witb scant rations, for eigbt days, wben tbey were 
released on a cartel agreed to between General Arnold and Captain 
Forster." 

Tbe treatment tbe soldiers received after tbe surrender may be in- 
ferred from tbe following petition of Timotby Harvey, one of tbe 
Swanzey soldiers. 

"Wbereas yourPetetioner on tbe 5tb Day of Marcb 1776 Inlisted in- 
to tbe Continental service for tbe Expedition to Canada Under tbe 
Command of Capt. Wait, in Col. Bedel's Regiment and Marcbed to 
Canada and being ordered into a Company Commanded by Capt. Es- 
terbrooks we Marcb"^ to tbe Cedars wbere Your Petetioner Among 
tbe rest was Deliv'd up to tbe Enemy by wbicb means your Petetioner 
Suffered Greatly and bad the following Articles taken from me by 
tbe Indians viz. a Gun & Bayonet, wbicb tben Cost me Tbree pounds ; 
also a Belt and Bullet poucb 8^/ a Cartridge Box 5y6 one Woolen Sbirt 
12y 1 pr sboes 8^6 1 pr Leggins 5y 1 Good Blanket 15^ a Large 
Powder born 2^6'^ 1 Tomabawk 2y5 Said Articles Amounting in tbe 
Wbole to £5 — 18 — 11"^ — and I would bumbly pray your bonours to 
make as much Allowance to your Pettetioner as you sball tbink Just 
also that tbe Above Articles would as Money now is Cost more tban 
Tbree Times tbe Sum as Aforesaid — wbicb if your Honours please 
to Grant your petitioner as in Duty bound sball Ever pray. 

Timothy Harvey. 

Swanzey Feb"-- 5^^ 1778." 

In June, 1776, the Continental Congress made a requisition for a 
battalion of troops from tbis State to be sent to reinforce the army in 
Canada. A regiment was raised and on tbe twentieth of June Col. 
Isaac Wyman of Keene was appointed its colonel and Dr. Calvin 
Frink of tbis town surgeon. Tbe town paid a bounty in 1776 for one 



110 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

month's service to Ticonderoga to the following persons who were, we 
infer, in Colonel Wy man's regiment. 

Capt. Joseph Whitcomb, Joshua Graves, 

Daniel Bisiiop, Elijah Graves, jr., 

Levi Durant, ElUanah Lane, jr., 

Thomas Cresson, jr., Samuel Lane, 

Nathan Cresson, Joseph Starke}', 

Nathaniel Dickinson, Roger Thompson, 

John Follett, jr., Jonathan Woodcock, jr., 

Calvin Frink, John Whitcomb. 

William Grimes, jr., 
In July another regiment was raised in the state to reinforce the 
northern army and Joshua Wingate of Strathara was appointed its 
colonel. The bounties the town paid its soldiers in this regiment were 
for services at Ticonderoga. Some of them were paid for two months 
and a half, and some for five months. The following are the names 
of the Swanze}' men in the regiment: 

Ensign Moses Belding, W3'at Gunn, 

Enoch Cummings, ' James Heaton, 

William Carpenter, Nathan Heaton, 

Joseph Da}', Simson Hammond, 

Benjamin Follett, Josiah Prime, 

Dan Freeman, Amasa Parker, 

Abraham Griffith, Levi Rngg. 

In September two regiments were raised in New Hampshire to re- 
inforce the army in New York, and to be in the service until the first 
of December. Col. Nahum Baldwin of Amherst was appointed col- 
onel of one of the regiments. The regiment was in the battle at White 
Plains, Oct. 28, 1776. One of the companies of the regiment was com- 
manded by John Houghton of Keene. The company was mustered by 
Col. Joseph Hammond of Swanzey Sept. 22, 1776, and contained the 
following Swanzey men : 

Wright Brown, Penticost Stanle}', 

Amaziah Curtis, Samuel Wright, 

Joseph Hammond, jr., Benedict Webster. 

Benjamin Hammond, 

In answer to a requisition from General Washington the legislature, 
on the fourth day of December, 1776, "voted that five hundred men be 
drafted from the several Regiments in this State as soon as possible, 
officered and sent to New York." On the day following, the legisla- 
ture appointed the field officers as given below. The cause of this 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. Ill 

call was, that the terms of service of the troops in garrison at Forts 
George and Ticonderoga would expire on the last day of December, 
and if tlieir places were not filled those posts would fall into the hands 
of General Guy Carlton. Col. David Gilman of Pembroke took the 
command of the regiment, and Capt. Francis Town of Rindge, one of 
the companies. Samnel Wright of this town was lieutenant in Captain 
Town's company. Samuel Heaton and Benjamin Hazen, corporals, 
and William Carpenter, Jolm Whitcomb, and Levi Durant privates. 

Tliis regiment "participated in the battles of Trenton and Princeton 
and did excellent service in both." 

On the evening of the 2nd day of May, 1777, dispatches were received 
by the committee of safety of this state, informing them tliat the gar- 
rison at Ticonderoga was in danger of being taken by the enemy, and 
urgino; that tlie militia be sent forward at once to reinforce that im- 
portant post. In accordance with tliat request Colonel Ashley of 
Winchester marched witli one Inindred and nine men. He had been 
entreated "by all tliat was sacred" to raise as man}' of the militia as 
possible and marcli'them to Ticonderoga. Swanzey men belonged to 
Colonel Ashley's regiment but we have found no rolls that show how 
many of the one hundred and nine men went from this town. 

Soon after the men returned that were called out by this alarm, 
"despatclies came, stating that General Burgoyne was within a few 
miles of Ticonderoga with a large force, and that the American troops 
stationed there were not sufficient to hold the fortress. The alarm was 
general, as it was expected tliat if the enemy captured Ticonderoga 
he would invade the western part of this state and the New Hamp- 
shire grants." The militia was called to march at once, and responded 
with alacrity-, as may be seen by the following rolls. Ticonderoga was, 
however, evacuated before they had time to get there, and they re- 
turned in about thirteen days. The men that went from Swanzey 
were : 

Lieut. Col. Joseph Hammond, 

Lieut. Elislia Whitcomb, J On Colonel 

Lieut. Samuel Wright, ) Ashle3''s staff. 
In Captain Howlet's company that marched from Keene : 

Lieut. Daniel Warner, Fifer Benjamin Hazen, 



Ensign James Heaton, David Belding, 

Sergeant William Grimes, Timothy Bishop, 

" Joseph Dickinson, Solomon Boynton, 

Corporal Daniel Bishop, Eleazer Brown, 

" Joseph Day, Thomas Cresson, 



112 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Enoch Cnmmings, Edward Hazen, 

Epliraiin Cuniniings, Benjamin Hewes, 

Josei)h Cinnmings, Andrew Nichols, 

Neheniiah Cumniings, Benjamin Olcott, 

Amos Da}', Elijah Osgood, 

Levi Dnrant, Ebenezer Parsons, 

Nehemiah Foster, Amos Puffer, 

Joshua Graves, Cornelius Rol)erts, 

Charles Grimes, El)enezer Thompson, 

James Grimes, Ananias Tiibbs, 

Daniel Gunn, John Whitcomb, 

Isaac Hammond, William Wright, 

Uriah How, Moses B. Williams. 

In July of 1777 a great excitement was caused in New Hampshire 
from information that Ticonderoga had been evacuated and that Gen. 
Burg03'ne, with an army was rapidl}' marching from Canada. The 
legislature was hastily called together and it decided to raise a brig- 
ade in the west part of the state, and place it under command of Gen. 
Stark, and have it forwarded immediately to Vermont to help check 
the movement of Burgoyne. A draft was relied upon for obtaining 
the men for the service, but volunteering was so prompt that a draft 
was unnecessary. 

Stark's brigade met a portion of Burgoyne's army at Bennington 
and fought, in connection with some Vermont troops and a few from 
Massachusetts, the memorable battle of Bennington. 

Capt. Samuel Wright of Swanzey marched from Winchester and 
joined Stark's command with a company which contained the follow- 
ing Swanzey men : 
Ensign James Heaton, Corporal Joseph Holmes, 

Sergeant John Whitcomb, Fifer Benjamin Hazen. 

Privates : 
John Applin, Andrew Nichols, 

Daniel Bishop, Benjamin Olcott, 

William Carpenter, Peletiah llazey, 

Ephraim Cu minings, Peter Starke}', 

Benjamin Follett, Samuel Scott, 

Joseph Green, Simeon Taylor, 

Uriah How, Ananias Tubbs. 

Jonathan Nichols, 
The town paid Josiah Read a bounty for two months at Benning- 
ton. His name is not found on the rolls. 



J 



I 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 113 

In a letter from Joel Ware, whose boyhood was spent in Swanzey, 
but who now resides in Illinois, he says, "I recall to mind two inci- 
dents related by Grandma'am Gay, as she was called, whose death at 
over ninety years of age, occurred at your father's. She told us that 
she had visitors at her house (E. W. Handy's place) on the day the 
battle of Bennington was fought, and that they heard distinctly the 
booming of the British cannon, and the rattle of Stark's musketry. 
She also told me that during the Colonial war of 1755, she staid a 
long time in the fort near the foot of Mt. Caesar ; that Indians would 
come down from the top of the mountain as near the foot as they 
dared, and execute their war and scalp dances ; and to show their con- 
tempt for the people in the fort would exliibit themselves in an insult- 
ing and shameful manner." Tradition informs us that other parties in 
Swanzey than tlmt named above testified to hearing the war of artillery 
from the battlefield of Bennington. 

Enlistments to the old or regular New Hampshire regiments com- 
menced to be made as early as 1777. 

The following persons enlisted in Capt. Grigg's company of Col. 
Alexander Scammel's reariment : 

Kimber Harvey, Sergt. Levi Durant, 

Samuel Gunn, Nathaniel Hills, 

Benjamin Parker, Elijah Graves, 

Henry Stevens, —Josiah Prime, 

Daniel Day, Simeon Howe, 

Nathan Cresson, Benjamin Day. 
Samuel Lane, 

COL. Hammond's return. 

"Swanzey, February 17, 1778. 
To Mesheck Weare : 

These are to certify that the following Men belonging to or pro- 
cured by the town of Swanzey have Inlisted into the continental Army. 

Joseph Slack in Col. Hale's Regiment. 

Gilbert Castle in Col. Selley's Regiment. 

ing, » ^^1^ Scammel's Regiment. 
Kimber Harvey, J 

Jeremiah Setchel, ) t ^.i t> • o • r *i 

T^ . ^, ^ ^ In the Ranging Service for three years. 

Davis Hefferen, j ° ° '' 

Benjamin Parker, kill*' in the Battle at Still Water. 

Daniel Day, Inlisted for eight Months and is missing. 

8 



> Lately Inlisted and Mustered. 



114 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Silvanus Hastings, ~ 
Joseph Tucker, 
Jedediali Rice, 
Silas Syraons, 
Joel Andrews, 
John Cross, 
Eleazei- Howard, 
Levi Symons, 
Jonathan Woodcock, Inlisted for two years. 
Joseph Hammond, Lieut. Col." 

July 12, 1779, the town paid 60£ to each of the following soldiers : 
Solomon Hasseltine, Noah Parkliurst, Greenwood Carpenter, jr., 
and Andrew Nichols; and 40£ 10s, each to John Whitcomb and 
Eliphalet Hale. 

"This may certify that the town of Swanzey have six men in the 
Continental arm}' who have enlisted during the war, viz. : 
Amasa Parker, William Franklin, 

Joseph Slack, Dennis Hoffron, 

Solomon Hasseltine, Jeremiah Satchwell. 

Tlie town has also procured this Spring to enlist for three 3'ears, viz. : 
Samuel Kempton, Greenwood Carpenter, jr. 

Thomas Applin, -\ Selectmen 
Calvin Frink, V of 

Isaac Hammond, J Swanzey. 
Sivanzey, Jan. 12, 1781." 

In the early part of 1781, New Hampshire was required to raise 
forthwith 1354 able-bodied, effective men to fill its quota for the Con- 
tinental army. Of these Swanzey was required to furnish eleven. 
For this purpose a town meeting was held Feb. 8, at which time a 
committee to raise the men was chosen, consisting of Capt. Samuel 
Hills, Lt. Samuel AVright, Ens. Eben Hills, Mr. Samuel Heaton and 
Capt. Jonathan Whitcomb. The meeting was adjourned for one week, 
when the committee reported as follows : 

"That they have agreed with Greenwood Carpenter, jr., to serve 
three j'ears for the sura of sixty-six pounds ten shillings, to be paid 
in the following manner, viz. : six pounds ten shillings at or l)efore 
his passing muster, in money and clothing, as the said Greenwood shall 
need ; and sixt}' pounds at the three years end, being twenty pounds 
per year ; and at the end of each year his year's hire is to be on inter- 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 115 

est until paid ; and if the said Greenwood slioiild be discharged before 
the three j^ears end he is to receive his hire in proportion to the time 
of service. Said committee have hired Oliver Prime for three years 
on the same conditions as above, only the said Oliver is to receive but 
four pounds at his passing muster. They have also hired Francis 
Nichols for three 3'ears for sixty-six pounds ten shillings, to be paid 
as follows, viz. : six pounds ten shillings at liis passing muster in 
mone}' and clothes, and twenty pounds j'early for three years by the 
first of November each year during service. They liave also hired 
Samuel Kempton for three years for sixty-six pounds ten shillings, to 
be paid in the following manner, viz. : six pounds ten shillings at his 
passing nnister and the other sixty pounds to be paid to his wife from 
time to time if required, and if any remains due at his return, whether 
at or before the three years end, he is to receive the same according 
to the time of service." 

It was voted to accept the above report of the committee, and the 
meeting adjourned from time to time until March 14th, when the fol- 
lowing business was acted upon : — 

" Whereas in a former vote of this meeting it is not expressly de- 
clared what money or how stated, the several sums therein mentioned' 
which the committee agreed to pa}' the soldiers for the Continental 
army, therefore : 

" Voted, That the sums therein mentioned shall be equal in value to 
rye at three shillings and four pence per bushel or grass- fed beef at 
twenty shillings per hundred weight." 

A town meeting was held July 6, 1781, and it was 
" Voted, That Roger Thompson, Aaron Hammond and John Whit- 
comb be a coramitee to hire the remaining part of the men for the Con- 
tinental army in behalf of the town, on the best terms they can and 
make report to the selectmen of their- proceedings therein." 

A town meeting was held April 16, 1782, at which time Ebenezer 
Hills, Elkanah Lane, jr., Joseph Cummings and Elijah Belding were 
chosen a committee to hire the town's quota of men for the Continen- 
tal army, and make reports of their proceedings. The meeting was 
adjourned to the SOtli instant. The committee reported that they had 
endeavored to hire the men for the Continental army, but had not 
procured an}'. 

The meeting was adjourned to the 7th day of May, at which time 
Luther Fairbanks was joined to the committee. Again adjourned to 
the 13lh and from the 13th to the 14th. 

At this date the committee reported " that they had engaged Eph- 



116 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

ratm Stone of Westmoreland for three j'ears for the sum of fifty-seven 
pounds, ten shillings; twelve pounds ten shillings of which sum to be 
paid at or before his passing muster, in money or cattle, and fiflccn 
pounds the first of November next : and so annually fifteen pounds till 
the whole be paid. They have also hired Isaac Butterfield, jr., of 
said Westmoreland for the same terms. 

" Voted, That the above report be accepted." 

It appears to have been very difficult near the close of the war to 
find men that woidd enlist into the army. It is not to be supposed 
that the men of Swanzey were wanting in patriotism, or confidence in 
the ultimate success of the Revolution. Experience had demonstrated 
the propriety of enlisting soldiers for three years or during the war. 
The theatre of the war during the last years was hundreds of miles 
distant from New Hampshire. Most of the persons adapted for sol- 
diers were j^oung men with families, settled upon new land which they 
were clearing up for making their future homes. For such men to 
leave their families and their homes for the army was a sacrifice 
greater than most of them were disposed to make. 

Of all the Swanzey men who took an aative part in the Revolution- 
ary cause, Lieut. Col. Joseph Hammond may be properly considered 
as having held the most prominent rank. Besides being in the act- 
ual service some of the time he was emplo3'ed at other times as mus- 
tering officer, and at times in charge of the transportation of supplies 
to the army at Ticonderoga. From the following record it appears 
that he retired from active military service in 1779. 

" Swanzey June 14^^ 1779. 

To the Honorable the Council and House of Representatives for 
the State of New Hampshire. 

Gentlemen 

I Beg leave to inform j'ou that it is my Ernest desire to Resign 
the Trust Reposed in me as a Lieut. Colonel of the Sixth Regiment 
of militia in the State of New Hampshire and I do now by these 
Presents make a full Resignation of the Said Trust and office of Lieut. 
Colonel, and praj- that the Same may be Ratified by the Honorable 
'General Court. 

I have the Honor to be your Most Obedient Humble Servant, 

Joseph Hammond Lieut. Col. 

To the Hon. Meshech Weare Esq'', to be communicated to the Hon. 
'Gen : Assembly 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 117 

State of Nev; Hamp"^ In the House of Representatives June 18*^^ : 
1779.— 

" Voted, That the resignation of Lieut. Col' Joseph Hammond as 
Lieutenant Colonel of the sixth Regiment of Militia in this State be 
and hereby is accepted, & that he receive the thanks of this house for 
his good services in that Station. 
Sent up for Concurrence 

John Dudley — Speaker pro tera^ 

In Council June 19*^^ 1779 read and Concurred 

E. Thompson Sec''>" 

During the last years of the war the town was called upon to fur- 
nish a certain quantity of beef for the Continental army. 

July 26, 1780, the town " Voted, That any person that shall sell any 
cattle for the use of the Continental army shall be paid by the town 
interest for the money at six per cent untill the principal shall be 
paid." 

May 2, 1781, '■'■Voted, Tliat the selectmen shall divide the town into 
several districts, and each district shall provide their quota or pro- 
portion of beef for the Continental army according to the taxes each 
district pays, and if they shall neglect to procure said beef seasonably 
the selectmen shall provide said beef in the best manner they can and 
assess the inhabitants of the town for so much money as the whole of 
said beef sliall cost, and give credit to such persons as have provided 
their proportion of said beef." 

Ttie following is a copy of a bill for pasturing beef cattle : 

"SwANZEY Dec 20 1789 

Capt John Jannison Collector of Beef D'", to the Selectmen of 
Swanzey for Pasturing Beef Cattle as foUoweth (viz.) 

For pasturing thirty one Head of Beef Cattle from the 
16"' Day of July till the 7*^ of September being Seven 
Weeks and four Days at nine pence pr Head pr week £ 8-16-4 

For pasturing Nine head 2 weeks and four Days (viz.) 
from the Seventh of Sept^' till the 25 D'^ 0-16-6 

For Pasturing Thirty two Head from the 25 of Sept"^ 
till the 11''' of Oct'' being two weeks and two Days 0-14-9 

For Pasturing tw^enty two Head of Beef Cattle from 
11"' of Oct'" till the first Day of Novem^' being three 
weeks— 2- 9-6 




118 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

For keeping one Beef Cretuve from the first Day of 
Nov"" till the 16"' of December being Six weeks at 9'' pr 0- 4-6 
week 

Joseph Dickinson 
David Bi:lding Jun*"- 
Calvin Frink 

The following records show that at the end of three years of the 
Revolution nearly every man had voluntarily shouUlered tlie musket 
to maintain the rights of the states, or had paid out mone}^ to hire a 
substitute or furnished monc}' to the town to enable it to hire sol- 
diers. 

At a legal town meeting held the 16^'^ day of February, 1778, it 
was "voted to choose a committee of seven men to receive the ac- 
counts of such persons as have done or procured any service to be 
done in the present war, and to consider the same and make them 
such allowance therefor as the}' shall think proper and just." 

T!ie committee chosen consisted of Thomas Api)lin, Calvin Frink, 
Jonathan Whitcomb, Daniel Warner, Samuel Hills, Joseph Whit- 
comb and Henry Morse. 

The committee made the following report at an adjourned meet- 



ing 



"SwANZEY, February 23, 1778. 

We, the subscribers, being a committee appointed by the to\^n to 
receive the accounts of such persons as have done, or procured anj^ 
service to be done in the present war, and to consider the same and 
make them such allowance therefor as we shall think reasonable and 
just and having attended to the business whereunto we were appointed, 
do lind and report to the town as follows, viz. : Tliat we think it 
just and reasonable that there be allowed and paid as the town shall 
agree, — 

To John Applin for 3 days in the militia and 2 months to ^ ^ , 
Bennington, • 4-11-1 
David Belding, jr., for a term in the militia to Otter Creek, 0-17-6 
Samuel Belding, jr., for service in the expedition to Can- 
ada done by Annanias Tubbs, 15-0-0 
Lieut. Moses Belding for 13 months service in the army, 28-3-7 
Ensign Timothy IJishop for 12 days in the militia to Cam- 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 119 

bridge, 2^ months service at Ticonderoga by hire, 1 month 

in the militia to Ticonderoga, and 12 days to Otter Creek, 10-4-2 

Daniel Bishop for 12 days in militia to Cambridge, 1 
month to Ticonderoga, 12 days to Otter Creek and 2 months 
service to Bennington, 9-2-6 

Elijah Belding for 12 daj's in the militia to Cambridge, 
and for 2i months by his brother, 6-13-4 

Eleazer Brown for one month service in the militia to 
Ticonderoga done by Levi Diirant, 12 days service in the 
militia to Cambridge and 12. to Otter Creek, 4-15-4 

Wright Brown for 2^ months service at York, 5-8-4 

Thomas Cresson, jr., for a term in the militia to Cam- 
bridge, a month service in the militia to Ticonderoga, 12 
daj's to Otter Creek, and for service done by his son, 15-12-6 

Nathan Cresson for one month service to Ticonderoga, 
and 4 months in the continental service, 10-16-8 

Joseph Cummings for 9 days in the militia to Cambridge, 
2i months done b}^ Enoch CuQimings, and a term in militia 
to Otter Creek, and 2 months done by Simeon Taylor, 11-18-9 

Thaddeus Cummings for 2i months b}^ Enoch Cummings, 5-8-4 

Ephraim Cummings for service in militia 5 days and for 
1 month and 6 days service in the army, 1777, ■ 2-19-6 

Caleb Cook for 4 months service done by Benjamin Parker, 8-13-4 

Greenwood Carpenter for 2j months service done by his son, 5-8-4 

William Carpenter for 2^ months service to Ticonderoga, 
and one month at Cambridge, 7-11-8 

Enoch Cummings for 8^ months service at Cambridge, 
1775, also 12 days in the militia to Otter Creek, 1777, 19-5-10 

Nehemiah Cummings (same as above), 19-5-10 

Nathaniel Dickinson for 1 month at Ticonderoga and 4 
months in the arm}' done by Henry Stevens, 1777, 10-16-8 

Joseph Dickinson for 12 days in the militia to Cambridge, 
4 montlis in the arm}' by Henry Stevens, and for 12 days to 
Otter Creek, 11-5-10 

Benjamin Day for 25 daj's in militia at Stillwater 1777, 
and 4 months service before he came to Swanzey, 16-19-10 

Joseph Day, 5 months at Ticonderoga and 12 days in 
militia to Otter Creek, 11-14-2 

Amos Day, 10 months service at Cambridge, 21-13-4 

Joshua Durant, 12 months in the army, 26-0-0 



120 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Levi Durant, 8 months at Cambridge, 1775, and 12 daj's 
in militia at Otter Creek, 18-4-2 

John Follet, jr., 12 days at Cambridge and one month at 
Ticonderoga, 3-18-4 

Calvin Frink, 4 months at Cambridge 1775, and 1 montli 
at Ticonderoga, 1776, 10-16-8 

Josluia Graves, 5 months at Ticonderoga 1)}' liire, 1 montli 
in militia at Ticonderoga and 5 days in militia, 1777, 13-7-4 

Elijah Graves, jr., 3 days in militia, 1775, 10 months in 
Canada by Isaac Billings, 1 month at Ticonderoga and 25 
days at Stillwater, 1777, 26-0-11 

Daniel Gunn, 12 months in the army, 26-0-0 

"Wyat Gunn for 12 days to Cambridge, and 2^ months to 
Ticonderoga, 7-3-4 

Tiiomas Greene 1 year and eight months in army, 43-6-8 

Joseph Greene, 1 year and 8 months in army, 43-6-8 

Abraham Griffiths, 8 months in the army at Cambridge, 

1775, 17-6-8 
Abner Graves, 1 month at Ticonderoga, 2-3-4 
Charles Grimes 12 days at Cambridge, 9 months in Conti- 
nental army by hire and 12 days at Otter Creek, 1777, 22-3-1 

Col. Joseph Hammond, 9 days at Cambridge, 5 months in 
the army b}' hire, and 12 days at Otter Creek, 1777, 13-0-5 

Thomas Hammond, 2^ months by Joseph Hammond, jr., 
and 2 months b}^ Daniel Day, 9-15-0 

Isaac Hammond in militia to Cambridge, and 2 months 
in army by Daniel Da^', and going to Otter Creek, 6-19-2 

Edward Ilazen, 12 days to Cambridge, 12 days to Otter 
Creek and two months by his son, 6-19-2 

Samuel Hills, 12 days to Cambridge, 12 days to Otter 
Creek by hire, 50 da3-s in militia to the westward, 1777, and 
for money paid in behalf of the town to hire men for Conti- 
nental arm}', 12-11-2 
Ebenezer Hills, 10 months to Canada, 21-13-4 
Nathaniel Hills, for 84- months in the arm}' at Cambridge, 18-10-4 
Nathaniel Hills, jr., for 10 months in the army at Canada, 21-13-4 
Josei)h Holms, 2 months in the aimy at Bennington, 4-6-8 
Dennis Hefferon, 10 mouths in the army at Canada, 

1776, 21-13-4 
Michael Hefferon, 10 months in the arm}' at Canada, 21-13-4 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 121 

Benjamin Hewes, 6 months in the army at Cambridge, 

1775, 13-0-0 
Benjamin Hewes, jr., 6 months service in the armj', 1776, 13-0-0 
Benjamin Hammond, for 2^ months at York, 1776, 5-8-4 
Joseph Hammond, jr., 8^ montlis at Cambridge, 1775, and 

for 1 month more at Cambridge, 21-1-8 

Charles Howe, 4 montlis at Cambridge, 1776, by hire, 8-13-4 

Theodore Howe, 6 weeks at Winters Hill, 1776, and 4 

months at Cambridge, 1776, by hire, 11-18-4 

Uriah Howe, 15 days in militia to Cambridge, 1775, 6 

weeks at Winters Hill, 1776, 5 days in 1777, and 2 months 

in the army to Bennington, 1777, 10-2-4 

Jethro Kimball, 12 daj's in militia at Cambridge, 1775, and 

5 months in the army to Ticonderoga, 1776, by hire, 12-11-8 

Eli Kimball, to Cambridge in militia and 1 year in the 

Continental army, 1776, 27-15-0 

Elkanah Lane, jr., 4 months in army by his brother, and 

in the militia to Ticonderoga, 1776, 10-16-8 

Justus Lawrence, for 2| months in the army, 1777, 5-15-0 

Lieut. Henr}- Morse, 2^ months in army at Ticonderoga, 

1776, and for money paid town to procure men for the army, 12-4-1 
Jonathan Nichols, jr., 1 month at Cambridge, 1775, and 

2 months at Bennington, 1777, 6-10-0 

Elijah Osgood, in the militia to Otter Creek and hiring 
Jonathan Woodcock 6 months for the Continental arm}', 15-17-6 

lienjarain Olcott, 5 days service in the militia, 1777, and 
2 montlis at Bennington, 4-14-0 

Benjamin Hazen, 2^ months to York and 12 days to Otter 
Creek, 6-5-10 

Aaron Parsons, 6 days in militia,- 1775, 2J- months in 
the army at Ticonderoga, 1776, and for 12 days at Otter 
Creek, 1777, by hire, 7-3-4 

Samuel Page, 9 days at Cambridge, 1775, 1-6-3 

Josiah Prime, 6 months at Roxbur}', 1775, 13-0-0 

Amasa Parker, 12 months in the army that went to Can- 
ada with Gen. Arnold, 26-0-0 

Simeon Puffer, 12 days at Cambridge, 1775, and 5 months 
in the army that went to Canada, 1776, 12-11-8 

Amos Puffer, 10 months in army to Canada, 1776, and 
12 days to Otter Creek, 1777, 22-10-10 



122 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Josiali Read, 2 months at Bennington, 1777, 4-6-8 

Levi Riigg, 12 days to Cambridge, 1775, and 5 months 
at Ticonderoga, 1776, 12-11-8 

John Riigg's heirs, 10 months in army to Canada, 1776. 
by said Rugg, and 12 days in militia at Cambridge, 23-8-4 

Pentecost Stanley, 12 days at Cambridge, 1775, and 2j 
months in army at York, 1776, 7-3-4 

Elislia Scott, 4 montlis by Nathan Cresson, 1777, 8-13-4 

Nathan Scott, 5 days in 1777, and 25 days at tlie west- 
ward, 1777, 2-3-10 

Benjamin Starkey, one year by himself and others, 26-0-0 

John Starkey, 2^ months at York by Benedict Webber. 
1776, " 5-8-4 

Enoch Starkey, for money paid to hire men for the Conti- 
nental arm}^, 7_10-0 

Joseph Starkey, 8^ months at Cambridge, 1775, and 1 
month at Ticonderoga, 1776, 20-5-8 

John Thompson, 2 months at Bennington by hire, 4-6-8 

Roger Thompson, 2^ raontlis at Ticonderoga, 1776, by 
Josiah Prime, and 1 month at Ticonderoga, 1776, 7-11-8 

Samuel Tliompson, 12 days to Otter Creek by hire and 
25 days at the westward, 1777, by hire, 2-13-6 

Ebenezer Thompson, 12 days at Otter Creek, 1777, and 
hiring Jonathan Woodcock 6 months for Continental army, 15-17-6 

Ananias Tubs, in the ami}' at Canada, 1776, 12 days at 
Otter Creek, 1777, and 2 months at Bennington, 1777, 11-17-2 

Philemon Whitcomb^ 4 months in 1777, by Benjamin 
Parker, 8-13-4 

Lieut. Daniel Warner, 10 da3's at Cambridge, 1775, 12 
days to Otter Creek, 1777, and 9 months in Continental ser- 
vice by hire, 22-2-9 

Capt. Joseph Whitcomb, 1 month to Ticonderoga, 1776, 
and 1 month in army to the westward, 1777, 4-6-8 

Capt. Jonathan Whitcomb, 8^ montlis in Continental ami}- 
at Caml)ridge, 1775, 1S_8_4 

Maj. Elisha Whitcomb, 11 months and 8 days at Canada, 
1776, 12 days at Cambridge, 1775, and 12 days at Otter 
Creek, 1777, 26-9-2 

Al)ijah Whitcomb, 84- months at Cambridge, 1775, 18-8-4 

William Wright, 2^ months in army, 1776, by Wj'at 
Gunn and 15 days in militia, 1777, 5-15-8 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 123 

Lieut. Samuel Wright, 12 days at Cambridge, 1775, 2^ 

months at York, and 2^ months at Peekskill, 1776, 12-11-8 

Cornelius Roberts, 1 year in Continental army, 1776, and 

12 days to Otter Creek, 1777, 26-17 6 

Jonathan ^Yoodcock, jr., one month in militia to Ticonder- 

oga, 1776, 2-3-4 

Nathan Woodcock, 2 months in 1777, by Daniel Day, 4-6-8 

John Wliitcomb, 12 days to Cambridge, 1775, 5 months 

at Ticonderoga, 1776, by hire, 1 month at Ticonderoga, 

1776, by himself, 12 days to Otter Creek, 1777, and 2 

months in army at the westward, 1777, 19-19-2 

James Wheelock, 10 months in army to Canada, 1776, 21-13-4 
Moses Boardman Williams, 12 days to Otter Creek in 1777, 

and 2 months at the westward, 1777, 5-4-2 

James Heaton, 10 months service in army before he came 

to Swanze\', and 12 days in militia to Otter Creek, 1777, 22-10-10 
Benjamin Follet, 1 month in army at Cambridge, 1775, 

and 2 months in army at the westward, 1777, 6-10-0 

John Pierce, 1 month at York, 1776, by hire, and 6 weeks 

at York, by hire, 5-4-0 

Samuel Heaton, 2^ months in the army at Peekskill, 1776, 5-8-4 
Samuel Hills, jr., 10 months in army to Canada, 1776, 21-13-4 
Elkanah Lane, senior, 15 days at Cambridge, 1775, and 5 

da3's in militia at another time, 1-9-3 

Samuel Lane, 1 month in militia at Ticonderoga, 1776, 

and 4 months in Continental army, 1777, 10-16-8 

Jonathan Day, 2| months in army 1777, by hire, 5-8-4 

Daniel Day, 12 da3's at Cambridge, 1775, 1-15-0 

Nathanel Foster, 12 da^'s in militia to Cambridge, 1775, 

2§ months in arm}"^, 1777, by hire, and 12 days in militia to 

Otter Creek, 1777, 8-10-0 

Stoddard Frary, 2 months in army by hire, 1777, 4-6-8 

Moses Griffith, 5 months in army at Ticonderoga, 1776, 10-16-8 
William Grimes, 5 montlis in army at Ticonderoga, 1776, 

by hire, and 9 months in Continental army, by hire, 30-6-8 

William Grimes, jr., 12 daj'sat Cambridge, 1775, 1 month 

to Ticonderoga, 1776, 12 days to Otter Creek, 1777, and 9 

months in army, by hire, 24-5-10 

James Grimes, 12 days to Cambridge, 1775, and 12 days 

to Otter Creek, 1777, 2-12-6 

Andrew Nichols, 10 months in army to Canada, 1776, 21-13-4 



124 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Jonathan Hammond, 3 years in Continental arm}', by hire, 78-0-0 
Timothy Brown Applin, 2 months in Continental arm}', 
by hire, 4-6-8 

Natlianiel Heaton, for service by Daniel Gunn, 10-10-11 

Ezekiel White, 4 months in army, by hire, 8-13-4 

David White, 2^ months in army, 5-8-4 

Kimber Harvey, service in army, 1777, 3-14-2 

Willard Hunt, 8 months in army, 17-6-8 

Peletia Razey, 6 weeks service, 2-18-2 

Thomas Applin, for money paid for town to procure men 
for the Continental army, 6-15-9 

Thomas Applin (except what relates to minors). 

Calvin Frink, 

Samuel Hills, 

Daniel Warner, }■ Committee." 

Hknry Mouse, 

Joseph Whitcomb, 

Thomas Applin. 3 

"At a meeting of the inliabitants of Swanzey held by adjournment 
at the house of Mr. Wyat Gunn in said Swanzey on the 25Lh day of 
February 1778 voted that the al)ove account be accepted only allowing 
liberty to the committee to rectify mistakes in casting and making up 
the several sums, or to insert such service as has been overlooked or 
omitted observing the rules agreed to and voted at this meeting. 

Attest, Thomas Applin, Town Clerk. 

Additions made to the above account since the above said meeting, 
viz. : 

Benjamin Freeman, 4 months service by his son, 8-13-4 

John Frazy, 5 months and 12 days by his son Job, 11-14-2 

E[)hraim Harvey, for service by Joseph Green, 4-6-8 

Timothy Harvey, 10 months in army to Canada, 21-13-4 

Calvin Frink for his service as a committee man in settling 
accounts, 1 -9-8 

And to Capt. Joseph Whitcomb, Capt. .Jonathan Whit- 
comb, Lieut. Daniel Warner, Lieut. Henry Morse, Samuel ^ 
Hills and Tliomas Applin, to each for services as committee 
men as aforesaid, 1-19-4 

Recorded pr. Tho* Applin, Clerk." 

Many men settled in Swanzey during the Revolution or soon after, 
who had previously been in the military service, but we have not their 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 125 

military record. In most instances they were in Massachusetts at the 
time they did the service. The following are names of such men : 
Lieut. James Brewer, Amariali Partridge, 

Capt. Oliver Capron, Jonas Blodgett, 

Capt. Amasa Aldrich, —Ivory Snow, 

Capt. Peter Holbrook, Isaac Woodward, 

Timothy Read, Aquilla Ramsdell, 

Asaph Lane, Benjamin Parker, 

Russel Ballon, Barzillai Streeter. 

Joseph Sinead, 
Swanzey furnished its full complement of soldiers for the war of 

1812. Of those who enlisted William Carr Belding was killed at 
Chippewa Plains, July 5, 1814; Rufus Graves at Bridgewater, Cana- 
da, July 25, 1814; a son of John Guild in Upper Canada; Joshua 
Prime, a Lieutenant of marines, died at Sackott's Harbor, March 1, 

1813, Gaius Cresson died at Burlington, Vt. 

Tlie following men were in the army and most of them belonged to 
Swanzey at the time. Some of them were volunteers, and were in the 
army on the northern border; but most of them were drafted men, or 
substitutes for drafted men, and went to Portsmouth : Elijah C. Beld- 
ing, Ezra Emerson, Charles Howland, Charles Frost, Lieut. Abijah 
Whitcomb, William Moore, William Stevenson, Richard Weeks, Eze- 
kiel Graves, Samuel Stearns, Jonathan D. Ware, David Thompson, 
Cyrene Johnson, Otis Olcott, Joseph Snow, David Hill, Reuben Wor- 
cester, John Withington, Benedict Arnold. Arnold died at Ports- 
mouth. 

Chester Lyman, who lived manj' of the last years of his life in Swan- 
zey, went into the army as captain of a company of volunteers from 
Massachusetts. His company was attached to the northern army and 
he was promoted to major. 

New Hampshire has no army records of the war of 1812, in the state, 
which makes it impossible to give exact details. 

The general government made the following calls for troops to sup- 
press the Rebellion : 

Apr. 15, 1861, 75,000 for three months. 

May, 1861, 300,000 for three years. 

July, 1861, 300,000 for three years. 

May, 1862, 75,000 for three years. 

July 1, 1862, 300,000 for three years. 

Aug. 4, 1862, 300,000 for nine months, to be drafted if not furnished 
by volunteering. 



12G IIISTOIIY OF SWANZEY. 

Aug., 1863, 300,000 ordered to be drafted from towns and cities 
where quotas were not filled by volunteers. 

Oct. 17, 1863, 300,000 for three years. 

July 19, 1864, 500,000. 

Dec. 19, 1864, 300,000. 

The following is the record of the action of the town during the 
years of the Rebellion to encourage enlistments and induce men to 
enter the service when drafted or to voluntarily furnish substitutes. 

Sept. 21, 1861. " Voted, That the selectmen be instructed to bor- 
row from time to time such sums of money as may be wanted to pay 
the families or parents of soldiers who have enlisted, or ma}' hereafter 
enlist, in the service of the United States, the sum of one dollar per 
week for the wife, and one dollar per week for each child or parent, 
agreeably to the act passed at the June session, 1861, entitled an act 
authorizing the towns and cities to aid the families of volunteers, and 
for other purposes ; provided all such sums so borrowed shall not ex- 
ceed two thousand dollars." 

Aug. 11, 1862. '■'•Besolved, That the town of Swanzoy will pa}- two 
hundred dollars to each person who will enlist from the town to fill up 
her required quota of a draft ordered b}^ the President Aug. 4, 1862, 
of 300,000 troops for nine months, immediately on the mustering into 
service of such volunteers, provided they receive no bounty from gov- 
ernment, otherwise one hundred and twenty-five dollars." 

Sept. 10, 1863. ^'' Voted, To raise money to pay the soldiers that 
are already drafted and obliged to enter the service of the United 
States or their substitutes under the present call. 

Voted, To raise $300.00 to pay to each of the soldiers or their sub- 
stitutes ten days after they are mustered into the service of the United 
States." 

Dec. 7, 1863, ^^ Voted, To raise four hundred dollars to paj' to each 
person that may enlist to fill the quota required of this town, in the 
call of Octoljer 17, 1863, by the President of the United States. 

" Voted, That the same amount (8400.00) be paid to each person 
that ma}' be required, if any, and does enlist to fill any previous calls. 

" Voted, To choose an agent to procure volunteers to fill the quota 
of this town. Chose Jonathan G. Huntley as agent for the above pur- 
pose, who is to counsel with the selectmen and act agreeably to their 
requirements. 

" Foted, To choose one person as enlisting officer. Chose Josiah 
Parsons as an enlisting officer for the town of Swanzey." 

Dec. 30, 1863. " Voted, To instruct the selectmen to furnish sub- 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 127 

stitutes or volunteers in such numbers as may be required to fill the 
quota of said town under the call of the President of Oct. 17, 1863, 
and do the same at the lowest rate possible. 

" Voted, That the selectmen be and are hereby authorized to bor- 
row money in addition to the four hundred dollars already raised to 
pay bounties to volunteers, sufficient to carry out the object expressed 
in the above vote. 

" Voted, To assume the State and Government bounties, and pay the 
same to each volunteer as soon as it becomes his due or he is mustered 
into the service." 

May 30, 1864. ^^Voted, To pay drafted men or their substitutes 
$300.00 each, to fill all back quotas of said town under the last calls 
of the President of the United States. 

^^ Voted, To instruct the selectmen to furnish volunteers to take the 
place of persons that would otherwise be drafted to fill the present call." 

June 16, 1864. " Voted, That the selectmen shall pay $300.00 each 
to such persons as may enlist, or their substitutes, and be accounted 
to the town of Svvanzey on any future calls for three years' men. 

" Voted, To pay such of the citizens as have re-enlisted as veterans 
in the field and been assigned upon the muster rolls to the credit of 
said town. $300.00 each. 

^^ Voted, That the selectmen be and are hereby authorized to enlist 
volunteers for the service of the United States at such sums as in their 
judgment may be deemed proper and borrow money for that purpose." 

Aug. 13, 1864. " Voted, That the selectmen be instructed to pay 
volunteers, drafted men or their substitutes $100.00 for one year, 
$200.00 for two years, $300.00 for three years. 

" Voted, To assume the State bount}' and pay the same to volunteers, 
substitutes or drafted men upon their being duly mustered into the 
service of the United States." 

Aug. 29, 1864. " Voted, That the selectmen be and are hereby au- 
thorized to pay bounties to citizen volunteers who have resided in 
the town three months, as follows : $500.00 for one year, $750.00 for 
two years and $900.00 for three years, immediately on being mustered 
into the service of the United States." 

Dec. 22, 1864. " Voted, To pay bounties to citizen volunteers who 
have resided in town three months or more as $500.00 for one j'ear, 
$750.00 for two years and $900.00 for three years." 

^'^ Voted, To pay to those persons who have or may furnish an ac- 
ceptable substitute to fill the quota of the town or any future call 
the sum of $100.00 for one year, $200.00 for two years, $300.00 for 
three years." 



128 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



The following persons enlisted and were credited to Swanze^' pre- 
vious to Jul}' 26, 1862. The pecuniary consideration for inducing 
them to enlist for three j'cars was thirteen dollars a month each, and 
ten dollars bounty when mustered, from the General Government; 
and those dependent upon an enlisted soldier received from the town 
one dollar a week for their support, while he remained in the service. 



Charles R. Applin, 
Henry S. Applin, 
Philo Applin, 
Warren F. Allen, 
Horace Barney, 
Albert A. Ballon, 
Willard Bragg, 
John A. Breed, 
Amasa Bourn, 
Thomas Burns, 
Thomas Christie, 
Henry Coburn, 
Prescott D. Coburn, 
Amos D. Combs, 
Joseph Cross, 
Amos E. Cummings, 
James L. Davis, 
Lowell W. Darling, 
Aaron Dickinson, 
T. J. Eaton, 
Anson R. Gilson, 
Allen B. Playwood, 
Bradley Hill, 
Cyrus F. Holbrook, 
Daniel H. Holbrook, 
Jonathan M. Holden, 
Samuel Hurd, 
G. W. Johnson, 
George O. Knapp, 



Geoige Mattoon, 
Charles H. Mcintosh, 
William B. Marble, 
Oliver L. Nash, 
Still man D. Nash, 
Jeremiah Phimmer, 
Benjamin Pomeroy, 
El bridge G. Prentice, 
Charles A. Quinn, 
Carlos Quinn, 
Samuel S. Quinn, 
Henry P. Read, 
Geerge W. Robinson, 
Samuel Rockwood, 
Geoige B. Richardson, 
Charles N. Sebastian, 
Edwin P. Sebastian, 
Cyrus W. Stanley', 
Isaac Star key, 
N. R. Smith, 
John P. Stone, 
Sidney Stone, 
Aaron Sumner, 
George F. Trowbridge, 
Oratus J. Verry, 
Cliarles Wheeler, 
Gardner Wheeler, 
George Wilson, 
Elliot Wright. 



The amount of bounties paid b}' Swanze}'^ after Jul}^ 26, 1862, for 
soldiers to fill its quotas amounted to fort3'-seven thousand dollars. 
The state and general government paid large bounties to encourage 
enlistments. These bounties were increased from time to time until, 
in 1864, the state paid 8200 and the general government $100 for 
three years' men, and the state SlOO to those who enlisted for one 



i 




EMERY W. STRATTON. 



I 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 



129 



year. The men that enlisted for Swanzey received not less than 
$20,000 from these sources, and their families received as much as 
$13,000 from the state. All these amounts were not included in their 
monthly pay. 

In the fall of 1862, $200 in bounties were paid to each of the fol- 
lowing men who enlisted for three years : — 



Charles H. Barber, 
Charles H. Barber, jr., 
John Barber, 
Luther Beal, 
Franklin Burbank, 
George I. Capron, 
George W. B. Coffee, 
Amos D. Combs, 
D. L, M. Comings, 
Amos Davis, 
Edward Doolittle, 
Charles G. Gilmore, 
Charles H. Gove, 
Calvin Greenleaf, 
D. Brain ard Heale}'', 
Daniel K. Healey, 
Charles H. Holbrook, 
Cyrus F. Holbrook, 
Henry D. Holl)rook, 
George B. Holbrook, 



Lyman Holden, 
E^nlisted for nine months same bounty 



B. P. Lamson, 
Charles W. Mattoon, 
Samuel Mattoon, 
Charles W. Philbrick, 
Willis Reason, 
Eli W. Reynolds, 
Wm. Sebastian, jr., 
Luther Smith, 
Horace B. Starkey, 
Charles E. Stephenson, 
Seamon A. Stone, 
William Stone, 
Willard E. Thatcher, 
John S. Tha3'er, 
Dexter H. Thomas, 
A. W. Tupper, 
Geo. P. Ward, 
Harrison R. Ward, 
Lincoln Wheelock, 
Franklin C. Whitcomb, 
Carroll D. Wright. 



Roswell Aldrich, 
San ford Bolles, 
David Buffum, 2""^, 
David W. Hill, 
Sylvander Hovey, 
Theodore Hovey, 
Leonard Lyman, 
Richard R. Ramsdell, 



Charles W. Scott, 
Samuel Stephenson, 
Demerit W. Stone, 
Oratus J. Verry, 
Noyes G. Wheeler, 
San ford S. Wilber, 
Daniel ¥^. Woodward, 
Thomas N. Woodward. 



Harvey Sargent, 

The first draft for soldiers was in Sept., 1863. The men drafted 
and held for services obtained exemption by paying $300. There 
9 



130 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



is no obtainable record by which it can certainly be known who Swan- 
zey's men were. The following list is sni)pose(l to be correct : 

Francis A. Belding, George H, Moore, 

Francis B. Cass, George W. Sweetser, 

Andrew Hannah, Geo. H. Taylor, 

William 8. Leonard, Henr^'^ \Yard. 

Town bounties to drafted men who obtained sul)stitutes in 18G3, 
$300: 



Albert R. Ballon, 
Silas W. Ballon, 
Moses D. Ballon, 
L3'man C. Deeth, 
Ansel B. Dickinson, 
AsahelW. Diinton, 
George A. Haywood, 
Asa C. Hemingway, 
Henry Hill, 
Oljed Holton, 



George Jackson, 
Aaron Lebourveau, 
Benj. F. Mead, 
George H. Moore, 
"William Oakinan, 
Timothy Sherman, 
William W. Starke}', 
Menzies E. Stratton, 
John W. Taggard, 
Charles Temple. 



Town bounties to volunteers under the call of Oct. 17, 1863, for 
three 3''ears : 



George C. Perkins, $610 

William Read, 300 

Samuel Rock wood, 400 

John Stewart, 610 

Thomas Sinitli, 610 

Alonzo D. Sumner, 300 

Harvey Thompson, 600 

Sexton W. Williams, 300 



Charles R. Applin, $300 

Frank Cannavan, 610 

John A. Colby, 300 

George Davis, 610 

William Eastman, 300 

Michael Ferrel, 570 

Thomas Harvey, 615 

John L. Meserve, 300 

John Parker, 610 

Bounties to reenlisted soldiers Jan., 1864, S300 : 
Henr}' S. Applin, Amos E. Cummings, 

John A. Breed, Aaron Dickinson, 

Joseph Cross, Eli)ri(lge G. Prentice. 

Bounties for three j-ears' enlistments in the fall of 1864. 
$900 ; state, $200 ; general government, $100 = $1200. 
Jotham M. Ballon, Martin Jewell, 

Lewis Carpenter, Charles Marsh, 

John P. Hill, Warren A. Pickering, 

Ira A. Hooper, William W. Riple}-, 

John F. Hunt, George W. Sweetzer. 



Town, 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 131 

Town and stfite bounties in the fall of 1864, for one 3'ear's men: 

town $500, state Si 00. The town advanced the state bounty. 

Charles B. Blodgett, Sylvander Hovey, 

Nathaniel Bourn, jr., Lemuel 0. Hunt, 

Benjamin F. Claris, Fred E. Sebastian, 

Edward Dickinson, James C. Waters, 

Orrick L. Haskell, J. Q. A. Wilson, 

Clark H. Houghton, Oratus J. Very. 

The town paid for thestate and town in the winters of 1864 and 1865 : 

George Burns, $575 Lewis Hunt, $500 

George W. Ellis, 500 Charles S. Parks, 600 

Henry T. Davis, " David Pelkey, 500 

Alvin M. Houghton, " Edward P. Sebastian, " 

Bounties to men that voluntarily obtained substitutes to fill the 
town's quota S300 : 

Charles Bowles, Josiah Parsons, 

Daniel W. Clark, Orlow E, Parsons, , 

Henry C. Clark, Benjamin H. Richardson, 

James C. Fames, Thayer Thompson, 

George W. Eastman, George E. Wliitcomb, 

J. N. Forristall, George Willis, 

Charles H. Howard, Lyman C. Willis. 
James H. Olcott, 

The following is the individual military record of such soldiers as 
were credited to Swanzey and a few who enlisted from otlier places 
but who were closely identified witli the town, having been born in it 
or liaving lived here most of their lives previous to the time they en- 
listed. 

Charles R. Applin mustered Nov.- 26, 1861, into 2ud i-egiment 
U. S. Sharpshooters; reenlisted Dec. 21, 1863; transferred to the 
5th N. H. Infantry Jan. 30, 1865 ; mustered out June 28, 1865. 

Henry S. Applin mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 
1861; reenlisted Jan. 4, 1864; died near Petersburg, Va., July 31, 
1864 ; interred at Meade's Station, Va. 

Philo Applin mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
discharged for disability at Richmond, Ky., Apr. 3, 1863. 

Warren F. Allen mustered Nov. 28, 1861 ; transferred to Veteran 
Reserved Corps May 31, 1864. 

Roswell C. Aldrich mustered into 16th N. H. Infantry Oct. 
23, 1862 ; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 



132 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Frederick Abel mustered June 25, 1864, into 11th N. IT. In- 
fantry ; wounded and captured at Pegram House, Va., Sept. 30, 1864 ; 
released ; transferred to 6th N. H. Infantry June 1, 1865 ; substitute. 

David 8. Aldrich, 18 inontlis in U. S. Heavy Artillery. 

Luther Beal mustered Aug. 14, 1.S62, into 9th N". H. Infantr}' ; 
discharged for disability May 16, 1863, at Fortress Monroe, Va. 

Albert A. Ballon enlisted into the regular army in 1861 for three 
years; in the battle below Richmond was shot in thigh and subse- 
quently discharged. 

Fernando Byron Bennett enlisted into a Massachusetts regiment 
and was killed at Port Hudson. 

Henry R. Bowen mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Reg- 
iment; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Willard Bragg in army ; died at Washington, D. C, Aug. 19, 1864. 

iSanford Bowles mustered into 16th N. II. Infantry Oct. 23, 
1862 ; died at Brashear City, June 7, 1863. 

Orrin Black, jr., mustered into 2nd N. H. Infantr}'^, Sept. 17, 1861 ; 
deserted at Concord, N. H., March 13, 1863. 

Francis Brady mustered into 3rd N, H. Infantry Dec. 14, 1864 ; 
mustered out July 20, 1865 ; substitute. 

George Burns mustered July 8, 1864, into 1st N. H. Cavalry ; de- 
serted at Camp Stoneman, D. C, Aug. 26, 1864. 

Horace Barney mustered into 6th N. II. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
discharged for disability at Annapolis, INId., March 1, 1862. 

Charles H. Barber mustered into 14th N. H. Infantr}' Sept. 22, 
1862 ; discharged for disabilit}' at Washington, D. C, Apr..l, 1863. 

George B. Belding died in California while in the service. 

John A. Breed mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
promoted to corporal ; reenlisted Jan. 4, 1864; wagoner; mustered 
out July 17, 1865. 

Thomas Burns mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
killed at Bull Run, Va., Aug. 29, 1862. 

Capt. David Butfum, 2nd, mustered Nov. 4, 1862; died of disease 
at New Orleans, La., June 19, 1863. 

John Baker mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantr}'; 
wounded Julj' 10, 1864; mustered out July 17, 18G5. 

Charles E. Ballon mustered into 9th N. H. Infantry' June 6, 
1864 ; transferred to 6th N. H. Infantry June 1, 186.3 ; mustered out 
July 17, 1865; substitute. 

Charles H, Barber, jr., mustered into 14th N. II. Infantry Sept. 
22, 1862 ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 133 

John Barber mustered into 14th N. H. Infantry Sept 22, 1862 ; 
pron)oted to corporal Dec. 1, 1864 ; mustered out Jul}^ 8, 1865, 

Franklin Burbank mustered into 14th N. H. Infantry Sept. 22, 
1862. 

John R. Brown enlisted in 6th N. H. Infantry for Keeue and died 
Aug. 9, 1863, at Memphis, Tenn. 

Jotham M. Ballou mustered into 18th N. H. lufantry Sept. 13, 
1864 ; mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Nathaniel Bourn, jr., nmstered into 18th N. H. Infantry Sept. 13, 
1864; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

Charles B. Blodgett mastered into 18th N. II. Infantry Sept. 13, 
1864 ; absent; sick since ^Lny 8, 1865 ; no discharge furnished. 

Charles W. Castle served in 16th Vermont Infantry. 

Amos E. Curamings mustered into 6th N. H. Infantr}^ Nov. 28, 
1861 ; reenlisted Jan. 4, 1864; wounded July 22, 1864; promoted to 
first sergeant ; mustered out July 17, 1865. 

Joseph Cross muster«d into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
reenlisted Jan. 4, 1864; not accounted for. 

Prescott D. Coburn mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 
1861; musician; discharged for disabilit}'. 

Amos D. Combs mustered as first lieutenant in 6th N. H. Infan- 
try Nov. 30, 1861 ; promoted to captain Apr. 29, 1862 ; resigned Aug. 
2, 1862; commissioned captain in 14th N. H. Infantry Oct. 9, 1862 ; 
discharged Nov. 14, 1863. 

Thomas Christie mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
wounded July 30, 1864 ; mustered out Nov. 27, 1864. 

John A. Colby mustered into Veteran Reserve Corps Dec. 29, 
1863. 

Frank Canavan mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantr}^ ; 
deserted at Camp Nelson, Ky., Jan. 24, 1864; substitute. 

George W. B. Coffee mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; promoted to corporal Oct. 1, 1864; mustered out July 8, 
1865. 

David L.M. Comings commissioned assistant surgeon 4th N. H. In- 
fantry Oct. 8, 1862 ; died of disease in Swanzey Aug. 1, 1863. 

Lewis Carpenter mustered into 18th N. H. Infantry Sept. 13, 1864 ; 
mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Benjamin F. Claik mustered into 18th N. H. Infantr}' Sept. 13, 
1864 ; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

Robert H. Crofford mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. In- 
fantry ; discharged for disability at Alexandria, Va., Feb. 6, 1863. 



134 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Frank A. Cargill mustered June 8, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantry ; 
wounded and missing; mustered out July 17, 1865; substitute. 

Charles W. Cowing mustered May 30, 1864, into 6th N. II. In- 
fantry ; mustered out July 17, 1865 ; sul)stitute. 

Ebenezer F. Cross enlisted from Brattleborough, Vt., and probably 
died in Andersonville prison. 

WaHace G. DicUinson enlisted into the navy and died at Cairo, 
111. 

Elmer F. Dickinson enlisted into 23rd Mass. Infantry ; was taken 
a prisoner and had an arm shot off after he had surrendered ; died 
in hospital in New York. 

James W. Dickinson enlisted when sixteen into 23rd Mass. Infan- 
tr}' ; wounded at the battle of White Hall ajid discharged. 

Lowell W. Darling mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Nov. 28, 1861 ; 
promoted to sergeant ; wounded at second battle of Bull Run ; 
died of the wounds at Washington, D. C, Sept. 19, 1862. 

Aaron Dickinson mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Jan. 4, 1864, 
as a reenlisted veteran ; killed in action June 9, 1864. 

James L. Davis mustered Dee. 7, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infantry ; 
discharged at Concord, N. H., Sept. 10, 1862. 

George Davis mustered into 6th N. H. Infantry Dec. 30, 1863; 
deserted on furlough Dec. 10, 1864. 

Edward Doolittle mustered into 14th N. II. Infantry' Sept. 22, 
1862; died at Poolsville, Md., March 10, 1863. 

Edward Dickinson mustered into 18th N. H. Infantry Sept. 13, 
1864 ; mustered out June 9, 1865. 

Amasa Davis mustered into 14th N. H. Infantry Sept. 22, 1862; 
discharged for disability at Washington, D. C, May 27, 1NG4. 

Henry T. Davis mustered into 1st N. H. Cavalry Feb. 28, 1865 ; 
mustered out July 15, 1865. 

William Deutney mustered Dec. 19, 1864, into 4th N. II. Infantry ; 
mustered out Aug. 23, 1865 ; substitute. 

Webster D. Derljy enlisted May 22, 1861, into 2nd Vt. Infantry 
from Townshend ; wounded in the battle of Chancellorville ; mustered 
out June 20, 1864. 

William Eastman mustered into Veteran Reserve Corps, Jan. 6, 
1864. 

George W.Ellis mustered into 1st N. II. Cavalry Feb. 28, 1865; 
mustered out July 15, 1865. 

Orleans S. P^aton mustered into 2nd N. II. Infantry May 31, 1861 ; 
discharged for disability Apr. 27, 1864. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 135 

Enlix S. Eastman was in the army before he came to Swanzey. 

Michael Farrel mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6tli N. H. Infantry ; 
wounded June 2, 1864; discliarged for disability Oct. 17, 1865. 

Roj'al M. Flint, member of one of the nine months' regiments of 
Vermont ; permanently disabled from a wound received in the battle 
of Gettysburg. 

Charles H. Gove mustered into 14th N. H. Infantry Sept. 22, 1862 ; 
promoted to corporal ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Charles G. Gilniore mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantrv ; promoted to corporal; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Atvvell J. Hamblet went into the army from Wisconsin and died 
while in the service, April 17, 1863. 

William Riley Harris enlisted into the regular army. 

Jonathan M. Holden mustered May 31, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infan- 
try ; discharged for disability Oct. 19, 1861. 

Allen B, Hayward mustered May 31, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry; 
promoted to 1st sergeant; slightly wounded July 2, 1863, at the bat- 
tle of Gettysburg; severely, June 3, 1864, at Cold Harbor, where he 
lost his right arm ; mustered out June 21, 1864. 

Samuel Hurd mustered May 3, 1861, into 1st N. H. Infantry ; mus- 
tered out Aug. 9, 1861 ; mustered Dec. 17, 1861, into 6th N. H. In- 
fantr}^ ; discharged at New York Harbor Nov. 24, 1862. 

David W. Hill mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infantry; 
mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Theodore Hovey mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infantry ; 
mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Sylvander S. Hovey mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863; mustered into 18th N. H. In- 
fantry Sept. 13, 1864 ; promoted to corporal ; discharged June 10, 
1865. 

Fernando S. Hovey mustered from Dublin March 29, 1864, into 1st 
N. H. Cavalry; dischai'ged for disability ftlarch 15, 1865. 

Henry D. Holbrook mustered into 7th N. Y. Battery ; mustered 
Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infantry ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Cyrus F. Holbrook enlisted into 9th N. H. Infantry, Aug. 15, 1862. 

Joseph J. Houghton enlisted into 43d Mass. Infantry. 

Bradley W. Hill mustered into 5th N. H. Infantry Oct. 23, 1861 ; 
discharged for disability Sept. 30, 1862. 

Leonard S. Holden mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; promoted to corporal Oct. 1, 1864, and to sergeant Apr. 1, 
1865 ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 



136 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

John F. Hunt mustered Sept. 13, 1SG4, into 18th N. II. Infantiy ; 
promoted to 1st sergeant; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

Lemuel O. Hunt mustered from Walpole Nov. 13, 1862, into IGth 
N. H. Infantry; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863; mustered into 18tli 
N. H. Infantry Sept. 13, 1861; promoted to sergeant; mustered out 
June 10, 1865. 

Orrick L. Haskell mustered into 18th N. II. Infantry Sept. 13, 
18G4 ; mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Charles H. Holbrook mustered Sept. 23, 1862, into UtU N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out May 25, 1865. 

George B. Holbrook mustered Oct. 2, 1862, into 14tli N. H. Infan- 
try' ; was detailed for clerical duty at brigade headquarters ; mus- 
tered out July 8, 1865. 

D. Brainard Ilealey mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14tli N. II. In- 
fantry ; died of disease at Fortress Monroe, Va., Aug. 25, 1864. 

Daniel K. Heale}^ mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; discliarged Aug. 31, 1863, to accept promotion to a captainc}' in 
u colored regiment; received a permanent wound in North Carolina 
after Fort Fisher was talcen, while ascending the river to destroy 
forts. 

Ira H. Hooper mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. H. Infantr}'; 
mustered out July 29, 1865. 

John P. Hill mustered Sept. 21, 1864, into 18th N. H. Infantry; 
mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Clark 11. Houghton mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18lh N. H. In- 
fantr}' ; discharged in June, 1865. 

Alvin W. Houghton mustered March 28, 1865, into 18th N. H. Iii- 
fantr}' ; mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Louis Henry mustered Aug. 2, 1864, into 14tli N. H. Infantry' ; 
mustered out July 8, 1865; substitute. 

John \V. Henderson mustered Aug. 5, 1864, into 14th N. II. Infan- 
try ; not officially accouhted for. 

William Holden mustered Oct. 14, 1863, into 3d N. H. Infantr}'; 
wounded Aug. 16, 1864; mustered out May 12, 1865; substitute. 

Tliomas Harvey mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantr}'; 
died in Field Hospital at City Point, Va. 

Martin Hanrahan mustered for Hinsdale Sept. 22, 1862; wounded 
slightly Sept. 19, 1864 ; mustered out Jul}' 8, 1865. 

Orlan Ilevves enlisted into an 111. Cavalry Regiment ; in making a 
charge was shot from his horse and killed. 

George W. Johnson enlisted in a Mass. Regiment. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 137 

Truman A.Jackson drafted in a New York Regiment; wounded in 
the battle of the Wiklerness ; sent to Andersonville prison, and died 
there. 

Martin Jewell mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. H. Infantry; 
mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Anson R. Jilson mustered into 2nd N. H. Infantry May 31, 1861 ; 
discharged for disability July 28, 1861 ; mustered into U. S. Sharp- 
shooters Nov. 26, 1861 ; reenlisted Jan. 5, 1864 ; killed at the battle 
of Laurel Hill May 8, 1864. 

George O. Knapp mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infan- 
try ; discharged for disability at Baltimore, Md., Jan. 22, 1863. 

Thomas Kamey mustered Jan. 4, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantry; 
deserted at Annapolis, Mtl., April 22, 1864. 

D. W. Kendall was in the army three years from Illinois. 

Rodney Lawrence mustered Oct. 26, 1861, into 5th N. H. Infantry ; 
killed on picket June 10, 1863. 

Bradford P. Lampson mustered Sept. 23, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; died of disease at Savannah, Ga., Feb. 9, 1865. 

Leonard Lyman mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infantry ; 
mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Nathaniel F. Lane mustered May 31 , 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry ; 
killed at Williamsburg, Va., May 5, 1862. 

George Sumner Lombard enlisted in 1863 into a Mass. Regiment 
and died in North Carolina. 

William Lyman enlisted in a Mass. Regiment and killed while in the 
service. 

Herman L.Lincoln mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infan- 
try for Richmond ; reenlisted Jan. 3, 1864 ; discharged July 17, 1865. 

Samuel Mattoon mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; mustered out May 18, 1865. 

Charles W. Mattoon mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

George B. Mattoon enlisted in 1861, at the age of fifteen, in 1st 
Vermont Cavalry ; participated in seventy -six engagements ; had three 
liorses killed under him ; served three years, most of the time under 
Sheridan and Custer ; came home in good condition " without hav- 
ing received a scratch." 

William B. Marble enlisted Dec. 26, 1861, into 17th U. S. Infan- 
try ; wounded at Fredericksburg Dec. 26, 1862; discharged at the 
expiration of three 3'ears' service. 

James H. Matthews mustered Aug. 15, 1862, into 9th N. H. Infan- 



138 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

try; wounded Sept. 30, 18G4 ; promoted to corporal May 1, 1865; 
mustered out June 10, 1865. 

John L. Meserve mustered Jan. 5, 1864, into Veteran Reserve 
Corps. 

Ansil A. Morse mustered into 14th N. II. Infantry for Gilsum 
Sept. 22, 1862 ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Oliver L. Nash mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. II. Infantry; 
wounded Aug. 29, 1862; discharged for disability Dec. 22, 1862. 

Slillman D. Nash mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. II. Infan- 
try' ; discharged for disability at New York Harbor Aug. 26, 1S63. 

Frederick Nitchker mustered June 14, 1864, into 9th N. H. Infan- 
tr}' ; died of wounds July 30, 1864; substitute. 

Warren F. Newell enlisted into the 10th 111. Cavali y ; discharged 
for an injury received while on duty; enlisted into 150th 111. Infan- 
tr}' in January, 1865. 

P^lbridge G. Prentice mustered into 2d N. II. Infantry Sept. 17, 
1861 ; reiinlisled Feb. 25, 1864 ; promoted to corporal Nov. 1, 1864 ; 
mustered out Dec. 19, 1865. 

Jerry L. Plummer mustered Aug. 24, 1861, into 3d N. H. Infantry ; 
wounded severely June 16, 1862 ; died of disease at General Hospi- 
tal, New York, March 18, 1864. 

Benjamin Poniroy mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. II. Infan- 
try ; discharged for dij-ability at Roanoke Island, N. C. 

George Perkins mustered Jan. 2, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantr\' ; 
deserted at Pittsburg, Pa., March 20, 1864. 

Warren A. Pickering mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out Aug. 17, 1865. 

Charles W. Philbrick mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

David Pelkey mustered Aug. 24, 1861, into 3d N. II. Infantry; 
mustered out Aug. 23, 1864. 

David Pelkey, 2d, mustered Feb. 23, 1865. 

Charles S. Parks mustered Feb. 28, 1865, into 1st N. H. Heavy 
Artillery ; mustered out June 9, 1865. 

Thomas R. Pearson mustered Oct. 5, 1863, into 5th N. II. Infantry ; 
mustered out May 17, 1865. 

Albert B. Page mustered March 30, 1864, into 2nd N. II. Infantry. 

Samuel S. Qiiinn enlisted into the three months' N. II. Inf:inli-y ; 
commissioned second lieutenant in 5th N. H. Infantr}' Oct. 12, I-SGI ; 
first lieutenant Aug. 1, 1862; captain Dec. 17, 1862; resigned Feb. 
17, 1863. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 139 

Charles A. Quinn mustered into 5Lh N. H. Infantrj' Oct. 23, 1861 ; 
died of wounds received at the battle of Antietam Sept. 17, 1862. 

Carlos Quinn mustered Sept. 17, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry ; dis- 
charged for disability Oct. 20, 1862. 

Henry P. Read mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infantry; 
transferred to Veteran Reserve Corps March 15, 1864. 

Samuel Rockwood mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infan- 
try ; discharged for disability Nov. 28, 1862 ; enlisted into Veteran 
Reserve Cor|)s Jan. 1, 1864. 

"William Read enlisted into Veteran Reserve Corps Jan. 1, 1864. 

George W. Robinson mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. In- 
fantiy ; discharged for disability at Washington, D. C, May 18, 1863. 

George B. Richardson mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. In- 
fantry ; discharged for disability at Newbern, N. C, Jan. 24, 1862. 

Ricliard R. Ramsdell mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. In- 
fantry ; discharged Aug. 20, 1863. 

Eli W. Reynolds mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; wagoner; discharged for disability at Washington, D. C, Aug. 
12, 1863. 

William N. Ripley mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. H. Infan- 
try. 

John Ryan mustered Dec. 14, 1864, into 3d N..H. Infantry; mus- 
tered out July 20, 1865 ; substitute. 

Edward Rogers mustered Dec. 27, 1864, into 3d N. H. Infantr}' ; 
mustered out July 20, 1865 ; substitute. 

James Riley mustered Sept. 29, 1863, into 5th N. H. Infantry ; 
deserted at Point Lookout, Ml., Nov. 20, 1863. 

Demeret Stone mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infantrj' ; 
died at New Orleans, La., June 18, 1863. 

Harvey Sargent mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infanti'y ; 
mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Charles Sebastian mustered May 31, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry. 

Samuel Sebastian mustered May 31, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry; 
discharged for disability Jul}' 29, 1861. 

Louis W. Starkey enlisted into 12th N. Y. Heavy Artillery Aug. 
15, 1864; discharged July 6, 1865. 

Edward P. Sebastian mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. H. In- 
fantry ; discharged for disability at Washington, D. C, Nov. 12, 1862 ; 
mustered Feb. 28., 1865, into 18lh N. H. Infantry ; mustered out July 
29, 1865. 



140 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

John P. Stone mustered May 31, 1861, into 2(1 N. H. Infantry ; 
promoted to first sei'geant Dec. 15, 18G2 ; killed at Gettysburg, Penn., 
July 2, 18G3. 

Cyrus W. Stanley mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6tli N. 11. Infan- 
try ; promoted to corporal; wounded July 24, 1864; mustered out 
Nov. 27, 1864. 

Isaac Starkey mustered Sept. 9, 1861, into 2d N. H. Infantry; 
transferred to Veteran Reserve Corps. 

Newell R. Smith mustered Dec. 5, 1861, into 6th N. II. Infantr}'; 
died April 4, 1862. 

Aaron B. Sumner mustered May 31, 1861, into 2d N. II. Infantr}' ; 
promoted to corporal Jan. 1, 1862, and to sergeant Jan. 10, 1864; 
mustered out June 21, 1864. 

Samuel P. Stephenson mustered Oct. 23, 1862; discharged for dis- 
ability March 9, 1863. 

Thomas Smith mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6tli N. II. Infantry-; de- 
serted at Camp Nelson, K3\, Jan. 21, 1864. 

John Stuart mustered Jan. 1, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantry; sup- 
posed to have deserted en route to reginient. 

Charles Swardz mustered May 27, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantry; 
supposed to have deserted en route to regiment ; substitute. 

Seamon A. Stone mustered Sept. 22, 186 2, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; captured at Winchester, Va., Sept. 19, 1864; paroled Oct. 8, 
1864 ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Horace B. Starkey mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. II. Infan- 
try ; discliarged for disability at Manchester, N. H., Feb. 6, 1865. 

William Sebastian mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
tr}' ; promoted to corporal ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

William W. Stone mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. II. Infan- 
try' ; mustered out Jidy 8, 1865. 

Charles E. Stephenson mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into I4th N. II. In- 
fantry' ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Charles W. Scott mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. II. Infan- 
try; promoted to first sergeant; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

George W. Sweetzer mustered into 18th N. H. Infantry Sept. 13, 
1864 ; mustered out July 29, 1865. 

Frederick E. Sebastian mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. II. 
Infantry; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

Andrew Swan mustered Oct. 14, 1863, into 3d N. II. Infantry ; 
mustered out July 17, 1865. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 141 

Stillman L. Stone mustered Sept. 23, 18G2, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; wounded severely Oct. 19, 1864; discharged at Manchester, 
N. H., Jidy 4, 1865. 

Franli Simpson mustered Oct. 5, 1863, into 5th N. H. Infantr\^ ; 
discliarged by order May 25, 1865 ; substitute. 

Edward S. Stevens mustered Oct. 5, 1863, into 5th N. H Infantry ; 
promoted to corporal ; wounded June 3, 1864 ; deserted from hos- 
pital Sept. 30, 1864 ; substitute. 

William Scarlett mustered Dec. 27, 1864, into 4th N. H. Infantry ; 
mustered out Aug. 23, 1865 ; substitute. 

Alonzo D. Sumner mustered Dec. 31, 1863, into Veteran Reserve 
Corps; discharged for disabilit}' May 16, 1865. 

Luther Smith mustered Aug. 15, 1862, into 9th N. H. Infantry; 
wounded May 12, 1864 ; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

John H. Streeter mustered Jan. 14, 1862, for Richmond, into 6th 
N. H. Infantry; wounded May 6, 1864. 

William H. Thorning mustered into 2d N. H. Infantry from Win- 
chester May 31, 1861 ; mustered out June 21, 1864. 

George T. Trowbridge mustered into 3d N. II. Infantry, Aug. 24, 
1861 ; killed at Drury's Bluffs, Va., May 13, 1864. 

Harvey Thompson mustered Jan. 1, 1864; died in Field Hospital 
at City Point, Va. 

John S. Thayer mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infantry ; 
mustered out May 13, 1865. 

Alonzo W. Tupper mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Willard E. Thatcher mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; died of disease at Offutt's Cross Roads, Md., Jan. 3, 1863. 

Dexter H. Thomas mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out Julj'^ 8, 1865. 

John Thompson mustered Dec. 13, 1864 ; deserted en route to reg- 
iment ; substitute. 

Peter Taylor mustered Aug. 5, 1864, into 14th N. H. Infantry; 
supposed captured at Cedar Creek, Va., Oct. 19, 1864 ; substitute. 

Charles E. Town mustered Aug. 16, 1862, into 9th N. H. Infantry ; 
died near Petersburg, Va., Feb. 20, 1865. 

Lysandcr F. Thompson was in the 53d Mass. Volunteers two and 
one-half years. 

Oratus J. Verry mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. II. lufantry ; 
mustered out Aug. 20, 1863; mustered Sept. 27, 1864, into 18th 
N. H. Infantry; promoted to corporal; mustered out June 10, 1865. 



142 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

Charles Wheeler enlisted into the regular army and has not been 
accounted for. 

Nelson T. Woodward mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into IGth N. H. In- 
fantry ; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Daniel E. Woodward mustered Oct, 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. In- 
fantry; mustered out Aug. 20, 1863. 

Elliot Wright mustered Dec. 3, 1861, into 6th N. H. Infantry; 
died of diseasfe at Alexandria, Va., Nov, 28, 1862 ; grave No. 510, 
National Cemetery-, Alexandria, Va. 

Gardner Wheeler mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6th N. II. Infantry ; 
musterod out Nov. 27, 1864. 

Sanlord S. Wilber mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16lh N. II. Infan- 
try ; died at New Orleans, La., July 21, 1863. 

John L. AVinch mustered into 5th N. H. Infantry, Sept. 29, 1863, 
from Winchester; mustered out May 12, 1865. 

Noyes G. Wheeler mustered Oct. 23, 1862, into 16th N. H. Infan- 
try ; discharged, date not given. 

Sexton W. Williams mustered Dec. 25, 1863, as a reenlisted vete- 
ran into 2d U. S. Sharpshooters; wounded severel}' June 17, 1864, 
and died of the wound. 

George P. Ward mustered Sept. 23, 1862, into 14th N. II. Infan- 
try ; mustered out July 8, 1865. 

Harrison E. Ward mustered Sept. 22, 1862, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
try; promoted to corporal March 1, 1865; mustered out July 8, 
1865. 

Lincoln Wheelock mustered Sept. 12, 1862, into 14tli N. H. Infan- 
try. 

Carroll D. Wright commissioned second lieutenant in 14th N. H, 
Infantry, Oct. 9, 1862 ; adjutant Sept. 20, 1863 ; colonel Dec. 6, 1864 ; 
honorably discharged, March 18, 1865. 

Franklin C. Whitcorab mustered Oct 2, 1862, into 14th N. H. In- 
fantry ; wounded at the battle of Winchester; mustered out July 8, 
1865. 

John Q. A. Wilson mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. 11. In- 
fantry ; detailed a member of the regimental band ; mustered out June 
10, 1865. 

Jonas C. Waters mustered Sept. 13, 1864, into 18th N. II. Infan- 
try ; mustered out June 10, 1865. 

John Welch mustered Oct. 8, 1863, into 3d N. H. Infantry; sup- 
posed to have deserted en route to regiment; sul)stitute. 

James Weed mustered Dec. 9, 1864, into 3d N. II. Infantry ; pro- 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 143 

moted to corporal June 22, 1865 ; mustered out July 20, 1865 ; sub- 
stitute. 

George "Wilson mustered Nov. 28, 1861, into 6tb N. H. Infantry'; 
discharged at Newbern, N. C. 

John W3ilia mustered Oct. 5, 1863, into 5th N. H. Infantry; pro- 
moted to corporal; wounded June 16, 1864; sulistitute. 

George G. Welch mustered Aug. 30, 1864, into 5th N. H. Infan- 
try ; died of disease in Field Hospital, City Point, Va., Dec. 5, 1864 ; 
substitute. 

Joseph Woods mustered May 27, 1864, into 6th N. H. Infantry ; 
substitute. 

James Williamson mustered July 30, 1864, into 14th N. H. Infan- 
trj' ; not ottlcially accounted for; substitute. 

Lucius Whitcomb mustered from Fitzwilliara, Nov. 28, 1861, into 
6th N. H. Infantry ; killed at Bull Run, Va., Aug. 29, 1862. 

Leonard "Wliitcomb enlisted into 36th Mass. Volunteers in 1862 ; 
discharged after four months' service. 

Andrew Whitcomb was in the Worcester Co. of the 6th Mass. reg- 
iment when it went through Baltimore; enlisted into the 7th R. I. 
Infantry ; out over two years ; wounded in thigh. 

L3'man Whitcomb enlisted into the 7th R. I. Infantry ; killed in 
the second battle of Bull Run. 

Park E. Wright had three years' service in Doubleday's Battery. 

Charles Henry W3'man was in the lOtli Vermont regiment four and 
one-half years ; detailed as amounted orderly; had one horse shot 
under him and had his sword shot from his belt. 

One of the first measures of the Lower Ashuelot proprietors was to 
provide a "training field." They felt that their main reliance for pro- 
tection against the Indians was upon the citizen soldier}'. Tlie war- 
like attitude of the mother country tovvards France and some of the 
other European nations for ^-ears previous to this period could not 
but have firml}' impressed them that all able-bodied young men should 
be trained for military' service in order that they be prepared for such 
emergencies as were liable to occur at any time. 

For a hundred years after the town was first settled most men per- 
formed the military duties required of them with alacrity. Sucli was 
the honor of a military title that the most aspiring sought the offices 
that conferred these titles. Tlie early history of the town furnishes 
the best evidence that the men witli militarj'^ titles were the men upon 
whom were conferred most of the offices of civil administration. 

In 1760 the militia of New Hampshire consisted of nine regiments 
of infantry and one of troops. At this time Cheshire county com- 



144 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

prised what is now Cheshire ami Sullivan, and the militia of the 
county was organized into one regiment. It was No. G, and its colonel 
was Josiah Willard. Officers and men liad experienced much military 
service the preceding years in the seven years' war. 

No material change took place in the military organizations of New 
Hampshire from 17G0 until after the declaration of independence. 
About this time important changes in the military system were 
made. The militia were divided into two classes : a training band and 
an alarm list. 

"The Training Band was constituted of all the able-bodied male 
persons in the State from sixteen years old to fifty except coi'tain i)er- 
sons in position and employment specified, and Negroes, Indians 
and Mulattoes." 

"The Alarm List included all male persons from sixteen years of 
age to sixty-five not included in the Training Band and not exempted 
by the first section of the act. They were to serve in a separate corps, 
were subject to be called out of their towns by no officer under the 
rank of a colonel, and once in every six months they were to be called 
out by the captains of the companies Iic^longing to the Training Band 
in the limits of which they resided, to have their arms and accouter- 
ments examined." 

Each officer and private soldier was "to equip himself and be con- 
stantl}' provided with a good Fire Arm, good ramrod, a worm priming 
wire and brush, and a bayonet fitted to his gun, a scabbard and belt 
therefor and a cutting sword or a tomahawk or hatchet ; a pouch con- 
taining a cartridge-l)ox that will hold fifteen rounds of cartridges, at 
least a hundred buck-shot, a jack-knife and tow for wadding, six flints, 
one pound of powder, forty leaden balls fitted to his gun, a knapsack 
and blanket, a canteen or wooden bottle sufficient to hold one quart." 

Each company was to muster eight times a year including the reg- 
imental muster. "Each town was to provide and deposit in some 
safe place for use in case of an alarm a specified number of spades or 
shovels, axes and picks, and to provide arms and equipments for 
those unable to provide them for themselves, and parents, masters or 
guardians were to provide for those under their care." 

Up to this time the militia of Cheshire county was included in one 
regiment. It was now divided into three : The towns of Swanzey, 
Richmond, Winchester, Hinsdale, Chesterfield, Westmoreland, Keene, 
Surry and Gilsum constituted one regiment. It was No. 13, and Sam- 
uel Ashley of Winchester was its colonel. The number of men in the 
regiment was lOSO. 

When Colonel Ashley's regiment was called out in 1777, Joseph 





# 







THOMAS T. WETHERBEE. 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 145 

Hammond of Swanzey was its lieutenant colonel and Lieut. Elisba 
Whitcomb and Lieut. Samuel Wright also of Swanzey were upon Col. 
Ashley's staff. 

On the 5th of September, 1792, the new constitution was adopted. 
This contained important provisions as to the militia. In the bill 
of rights it announced the truth that "a well-regulated militia is the 
proper, natural and sure defence of a State ;" and provided that the 
"general and field officers of the militia should be nominated and ap- 
pointed by the' governor and council ; that the captains and subal- 
terns in the respective regiments shall be nominated and recom- 
mended by the field officers to the governor, who is to issue their 
commission immediately on receipt of such recommendation ; that "the 
governor of this State for the time being shall be commander-in-chief 
of the array and navy, and all the military forces of the State by sea 
and land;" "that no officer duly commissioned to command in the 
militia, shall be removed from his office but by address of both houses 
to the governor, or by fair trial in court-martial, pursuant to the laws 
of the State for the time being;" that "the commanding officers of 
regiments shall appoint their adjutants and quartermasters ; the brig- 
adiers, their brigade majors ; the major generals, their aids ; the cap- 
tains and subalterns, their non-commissioned officers ;" and that the 
division of the militia into brigades, regiments and companies made 
in pursuance of the militia laws then in force should be considered as 
the proper division of the militia of the state until the same should 
be altered. 

Under this constitution, new militia laws became necessary. B}^ an 
act which was passed, the companies in the towns of Winchester, Rich- 
mond and Swanzey, formed a first battalion ; and the companies in 
the towns of Hinsdale and Chesterfield a second battalion and the 
two battalions formed the sixth regiment ; the sixth, fifteenth, six- 
teenth, twelfth and twentieth regiments formed the fifth brigade, and 
the fourth and fifth brigades formed the third division. 

By this organization of the militia of the state there were twenty- 
seven regiments, six brigades and three divisions. 

By an act passed Dec. 28, 1792, it was provided that all free able- 
bodied, white male citizens from eighteen to forty years of age should 
be enrolled ; that each commanding officer of a company should call 
out the same twice every year for inspection of arms and instruction 
in military discipline, and at such other times as he should think best, 
and that each commander of a battalion should call out his battalion 
once every year for the same purpose ; that there should be one stand- 
10 



146 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

arc! and one suit of regimental colors for each regiment, with appro- 
priate inscriptions at the expense of the state ; that there should be 
a major general to each division, a brigadier to each brigade, a lieuten- 
ant colonel to each regiment, one major to each bdttalion, a captain, 
lieutenant, ensign, four sergeants, four corporals, one drummer and 
one fifer to each company ; and the regimental staff was to consist of 
an adjutant and quartermaster with the rank of lieutenant; a pay- 
master, surgeon, surgeon's mate, sergeant major, drum major and fife 
major ; that each battalion should have one company of grenadiers or 
light infantry, and each division sliould have one company of artillery. 

The law required that important militia laws should be read at tlie 
head of each company at least once a year. 

In 1795 the enrolment law was amended so as to include in the en- 
rolment those between the ages of sixteen and forty. 

It was unlawful for any non-commissioned officer or private to fire 
a gun on the day or evening of muster in or near any public road, or 
any house, or on or near the place of parade without permission of a 
commissioned officer. 

In 1796 Elisha Whitcomb was lieutenant colonel of the sixth regi- 
ment and Philemon Whitcomb major of the first battalion in the same 
regiment, both of Swanzey. 

It was enacted June 18, 1805, that the captain of each company of 
artillery organized according to law receive out of the treasury fifty 
dollars for erecting a gun-house, that one cannon with carriage, har- 
ness and apparatus should be furnished each company of artillery, 
also music-money and a color ; that there should be at least a company 
of light infantry or grenadiers to each battalion ; that there be not 
more than one company of cavalry to each regiment, and that such 
companies be furnished with music-money and colors ; that each com- 
pany in the state turn out for inspection of arms and military exer- 
cise on the last Wednesday of June annually, also annuallj' in the 
month of August or September, and at such other times as the com- 
manding officers of companies should think proper, not exceeding 
four times in each year; that each regiment should be called out an- 
nually in the months of September or October, unless by permission 
of the ba-igadiers they should parade in battalion ; that suitable meats 
and drinks, or thirty- four cents in lieu thereof, should be furnished 
each non-commissioned officer and private within their several towns 
and places on regimental or battalion musters. 

Fhilemon Whitcoml) of Swanzey was major general of the third 
division of New Hampshire militia in 1810. That year the fifth bri- 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 147 

gade mustered in S'^vanzey, and was revieAved by General Whitcomb. 
Isaac Stratton, Esq., a number of years since, wrote the following 
article for publication in one of the local papers. Mr, Stratton at the 
time of this military displaj^^ was but little more than three years old, 
but the muster was regarded by Swanzey people as an event of so 
much consequence that it was a theme of conversation for many suc- 
ceeding years, and the little ones of that day in after j'^ears became 
familiar with all its details. 

"In the year 1810 the fifth brigade of Major General Philemon 
Whitcomb's division of New Hampshire militia mustered in Swanzey. 

The people of Swanzey were much elated ; fences were removed ; 
fields leveled on either side of the old common, making a broad field 
nearly two miles long and very level. At that time there were four 
old-style taverns on Swanzey plains near the muster field ; it was a 
nice location for a big muster. The occasion was blest with a beau- 
tiful autumn day. All of the regiments of. the brigade were on the 
field promptly. There wei'e several volunteer veteran companies on 
the parade, not a few of them were old Revolutionar}' soldiers. It was 
probably the greatest military display that ever took place in this part 
of the State. Not less than four thousand men bore arms. There 
were a greater number of spectators than troops. Muster was the 
people's great holidaj" in those times. Every man, Avoman and child 
that was able to go must be there. Scores of booths were erected op- 
posite the lines, and within them were fiddling and dancing ; ginger- 
bread and strong drink were sold from them quite freely. The right 
of the brigade was graced with several large companies of cavalry, 
their scarlet coats and bear-skin caps looked warlike. The officers of 
the various regiments were familiar with their duty. The vast line 
was kept in most perfect order. The inspectors reported to the Gen- 
eral that almost every man was equipped as the law required. The 
General then reviewed the brigade (his two sons aids) with pride and 
admiration. The plan of the manoeuvers and evolutions of the day 
was carried out in grand military style without mistakes or accidents. 

The muster closed as was usual in those days with a grand sham 
fight. A large fort was thrown up at the base of Mt. Csesar, a short 
distance west of the muster field, the mountain at that time being 
covered with a dense forest. Several tribes of sham Indians lay in 
ambush there. Soon after the fight commenced they rushed out and 
participated in the battle, their faces painted, and long black hair 
hanging down their backs, and their horrid j^ells produced an excite- 
ment that is unknown in these modern times. It was a reminder of 



148 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

the trials of the first settlers of our country. The battle continued 
nearly an hour, both armies fought bravely, large numbers on either 
side were apparently killed and wounded. The Indians kept up their 
fiendish yells, apparently taking some scalps. For a time the is- 
sue seemed doubtful. The Americans held the fort and by a very in- 
genious flank movement overcame the pretended British and made 
prisoners of their entire force when the Indians fled to theu- native 
forest. 

The physical forms of those stalwart men that made up this mili- 
tary display with their elastic limbs and martial steps have gradually 
gone down into the peaceful bosom of mother earth. The otiieers 
that rode their proud steeds have gone down into the shadowy ranks 
with their soldiers. 

'What is slorj', what is fame? 
A mere echo, a sliadow, a name, 
A flower tliat blossoms for a day, 
A stream that hurries life away.' " 

Samuel Dinsmore, sen., of Keene, w^s governor of New Hamp- 
shire in the years of 1831, 1832 and 1833. 

When Mr. Dinsmore was governor there was a volunteer muster of 
the uniformed companies in tlie county at Keene. 

There was at this time much interest taken in military displays by 
the people general!}^, and in nearly ever}^ town was a well-uniformed 
and well-drilled military company'. Some of the largo towns had two 
companies. In some of the small towns the whole militia of the town 
were uniformed and organized into one company. 

The leading spirit in initiating the muster was James Wilson who 
at the time was captain of the Keene Light Infantr}-, and who subse- 
quentl}' became major general in the New Hampshire militia and mem- 
ber of congress. 

Of the companies present there were two cavahy, four artiller}', a 
large number of light infantry, some uniformed infantry, and a num- 
ber of rifle companies. The acting colonel, lieutenant colonel, major 
and adjutant, were the commissioned colonels of four regiments. 
Amos Bennett of Richmond, colonel of the sixth regiment, was the 
senior officer in the commission and had the command. 

Governor Dinsmore reviewed the line and Adjutant General Low 
of the state militia made the inspection. 

The muster field was on the plain just north of Swanzey line. 

At this time the militia was organized into companies and regiments 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 149 

for performing the military duties required. The battalion drill and 
battalion officers had been dispensed with some years previous. 

The duties required by law of commissioned officers were for cap- 
tains or senior otHcers of companies to warn their men to meet in 
Ma}' at some central place to have their arms inspected, to have those 
militia laws read that were applicable for the performance of military 
duties and to instruct the men in military discipline. Previous to 
about 1<S30 the law required the May training to be on the first Tues- 
day in May. About that time it was changed to the second Tuesday 
in May. The companies were again warned out for drill by their 
commanding officers just before the annual muster. The colonels of 
regiments called the commissioned officers of their regiments together 
for one day's drill before muster. 

The muster was usually held in September. It was expected that 
the regiments would be reviewed by either a major or a brigadier-gen- 
eral, and that a member of the reviewing officer's staff" would inspect 
the arms of each soldier in the regiment. The day for a regiment to 
muster was appointed by a general and b}' such an arrangement as 
would be most convenient to go from regiment to regiment and re- 
view and inspecc one a day. It was usual to have a muster only on 
the days of Tuesday, Wednesday', Thursday and Friday. The place 
for a regiment to muster was designated by the colonel. 

The arms for performing military dutj' required by law were, for a 
mounted officer and cavalry man, a pair of pistols and a sword ; an 
artiller}' man, a sword ; an infantry man, a gun with a bayonet fitted 
to it ; a rifleman, a rifle without a bayonet. Wlien the old flint lock was 
used, each man was required to have two spare flints, a priming wire 
and brush, cartridge boxes attached to a belt, and to hold a certain 
number of cartridges. All soldiers, excepting commissioned officers, 
had to be furnished with a knapsack and canteen. 

All commissioned officers when on duty had to vrear military uni- 
forms. The uniforms of field officers were a blue military swallow- 
tail coat, a felt cocked hat and white linen pants. The militia officers 
wore a blue swallow-tail military coat, white linen pants, and a leather 
military cap. The officers of the independent military companies 
wore uniforms to correspond with the style of uniform adopted by 
their company. 

The rank of oflScers was indicated to some extent by the epaulette 
worn. Field officers wore a pair of silver epaulettes, captains an epau- 
lette upon the right shoulder, lieutenants an epaulette upon the left 
shoulder. 

Field officers, when upon parade, almost invariably z*ode nice horses 



150 IlISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

with good equipage. It would have been considered a disgrace for 
an officer to appear otherwise. It was not usual for a held otlicer to 
own the horse or its equipage. 

Tliere were noted paratle horses that were seen at musters 3'ear af- 
ter year, and wore seen at a number of musters the same year. The 
letting of a good parade horse witli its equipage was a source of con- 
siderable income. The general who reviewed, and his staff, procured 
for the business an elegant set of horses corresponding in color and 
match. 

The sixth regiment was in as good condition in 1840 as it had been at 
au3' previous time or has been sul)sequently. The indei)endent com- 
panies were Swanzcy Artillery ; Winchester, Chesterfield and Hinsdale 
Light Infantries ; Richmond Grenadiers and Swanzey and Chester- 
tit'ld Rifle Companies. Most if not all these companies appeared at 
muster with full ranks, good music and were fairly well <lrilled. 

At this time much pride was tal<en in most towns in having good 
uniformed military companies and have them make a good appear- 
ance on muster da3^ To prepare the companies for a creditable ap- 
pearance required much time to be spent ^n drilling and mucli money 
for uniforms. 

Good music was considered an indispensable part of military dis- 
play. Most of the independent companies went to muster with a 
good band. 

It was a point with most of tliese companies to be at the place of 
muster the day before in the afternoon, and to do some drilling. 
Tlie time when companies expected to make their best display at ma- 
nanivering was at an intermission usuall}^ of about an hour after the 
companies had been inspected. 

For the duties of muster day the men were warned to meet at some 
particular place as early as six o'clock. The companies were organ- 
ized at once by its officers and the regiment b^* the adjutant, assisted 
by the quartermaster. The music of all the companies was consoli- 
dated into one band under the direction of the drum-major of the reg- 
iment. Then the field officers took the command of the reiiiment 
and marclied it to tlie parade ground. Inspection was next in order 
by the general's inspector. Tlie review Ijy the general took place in 
the afternoon. If he was accustomed to making addresses he would 
make one to the regiment. If he was not so accustomed to this he 
would have a member of his staff, who was qualified, do it for him. 

The closing duties of a regiment for the day under its commander 
consisted in battalion drill, firing in line, and often in a sham fight. 

For a long time muster day was the people's great holiday of the 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 151 

year, and a time when showmen and pedlers went from muster to mus- 
ter, the former giving exhibitions of great variety and the latter dis- 
posing of goods of varied qualities. 

There are no rolls of New Hampshire militia in the adjutant gener- 
al's office by which Swanzey's military history previous to 1815 can 
be known, except during the time of the Revolution. There can be 
no doubt but that it was an honorable one. It is certain that previ- 
ous to this time many of its most prominent citizens had military ti- 
tles which indicates tlieir connection with the state militia. 

There were probably no independent military companies in this 
part of the state till some years after the Revolutionary war, when a 
cavalry company was organized. Later still there were two cavalry 
companies in the sixtli regiment, Swanzey furnished some of the 
men for the first company and most of them for the second. 
Tlie following ISwanzey men were captains in the cavahy : 
Jonathan Locke, Henry R. Morse, 

Fhinelias Stone, David Aldrich, 

Alva Whitcorab, Jonathan Whitcomb. 

William Wright, 
The company was disbanded about 1830. 

The Swanzey artillery was formed about 1808. Men required to 
do military duty in the sixth regiment had a right to enlist into the 
company. But few ever did duty in the compan}^ that did not reside 
in Swanzey. It was substantially a Swanzey compan5^ The fol- 
lowing men commanded the company. It is supposed the knowl- 
edge of the first five is obtained from traditional evidence, of others 
from the adjutant general's oflfice. 
Joseph Emerson, Otis Whitcomb, 

Nathan Whitcomb, William Sebastian, 

Levi Blake, David Parsons, 

Edward Goddard, Thomas T. Wetherbee, 

Joseph Woodward, James M. Rarasdell, 

Ahaz Howard, Benjamin Read, 

Calvin Page, Horace Drewry, 

Luther Dickinson, Benjamin F. Lombard, 

William Read, Lyman Gates, 

David Bennett, Sylvander L, Whitcomb. 

Jonathan W. Capron, 

About 1824, at the time Luther Dickinson commanded the com- 
pany, it was newly uniformed. 

In 1840 these uniforms had become reduced in numbers and im- 



152 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

paireil Vn* usage to such an extent that the company's appearance was 
not satisfactoiy to the nienil)ers or to those who had been connected 
with it especially those who had been its officers. Early in the year 
measures were taken to see what could be done for obtaining new uni- 
forms. As a preliminary step the officers then in commission re- 
signed. A vote for officers resulted in the election of Benjamin Read, 
cai)tain ; Horace Drewr}-, first lieutenant, and Albert Bates, second 
lieutenant. Such was the encouragement fur obtaining members for 
the company if new uniforms were to be procured that seventy-seven 
complete uniforms were purchased, and equipments for three commis- 
sioned officers, and for sixty-four non-commissioned officers and 
privates. Ten uniforms without equipments were for the music. 

After the new uniforms were obtained, and previous to tlie fall 
muster, the ladies, to show their appreciation of the military spirit 
evinced in the company's re-organization, presented it with a s[)len- 
did flag. The presentation was made in front of the old meeting- 
house, which is now the town house. It was one of Swanzey's great 
days. The citizens were present in large numbers and there were 
manv present from neighboring towns. We doubt if tiiere have ever 
been so man}' good-looking, well-dressed ladies, brought together in 
Swanzey at any other time as stood in front of the artillery company 
when the presentation was made. 

This was done by Miss Thankful Carpenter, daughter of Hon. Eli- 
jah Carpenter, and received in behalf of the company by the captain. 

After the presentation the parties repaired to a bower where re- 
freshments were served, sentiments offered and responses made. 

The slate, in consideration of the improved condition of the com- 
pany, furnished it with a new well mounted six pound cannon which 
was retained until after the company ceased to maintain its organiza- 
tion. 

A rifle company was organized about 1830, mainly by persons liv- 
ing in "West Swanzey. It had its armory there. From the lime of 
its organization to the time of its dissolution it had good numbers, 
a good uniform and was well drilled. It was a credit to the people 
of the west part of Swanzey. 

The following were the commanders of the company : 

Rufus Thompson, Charles Greene, 

Joseph Hammond, Elisha Hutchins, 

Peter Holbrook, jr., Sylvanus Bartlett, 

Erastus Dickinson, Aaron A. Sumner. 

Tiie officers of the militia company previous to 1815 we will not un- 
dertake to name. Could they be given correctly the list would embrace 



MILITARY AFFAIRS. 



153 



a large number of the most prominent and influential men of the 
town. The men that did duty in a militia compan}' did not have to 
procure a military uniform. They only had to furnish themselves 
with equipments. 

Since 1815 the Swanzey militia company have had the following 
commanders : 



Samuel Stearns, 
Benjamin Hammond, 2d, jr., 
John Grimes, 2d, 
Jonathan D. Ware, 
Amos Richardson, 2d, jr., 
Horatio Black, 
David Read, 
Amos F. Fish, 



Hosea Bishop, 
Phinehas Stone, jr., 
Lj'man Leach, 
Edmund Stone, 
Orlando Page, 
Edwin Snow, 
William Moore, 
Josiah B. Kelloggr. 



The following are names of Swanzey men who have been field offi- 



cers in the sixth regiment since 1815 



COLONELS. 



Phinehas Stone, 
Amos Bennett, 
David Aldrich, 
Allen Hammond, 

Luther Dickinson, 



Thomas T. Trowbridge, 
Erastus Dickinson, 
Jonathan Whitcomb. 



LIEUT. COLONELS. 

Benjamin Read. 

MAJORS. 



David Parsons, . Elijah Hills. 

Charles Morrill Hammond of Chicago (son of Capt. Benjamin 
Hammond of Swanzey), in the months of July and August, 1862, 
raised a company of infantr}' ; on Satiu'day was elected captain, and 
on the Tuesday following the company (Co. I) was joined with others 
constituting the 100th volunteer regiment of infantry of Illinois. On 
that same day he was elected major by the officers of the regiment, 
taking rank and mustered in August 30, 1862 ; after the battle of 
Chickamauga, September 20, 1863, he was in command of the regi- 
ment till Septeml)er 4, 1864, when he was promoted to lieutenant 
colonel; and on May 11, 1865, promoted to the rank of colonel. 
Twenty-three battles are recorded on the "Old 100th 111. Flag," and 
Providence permitted him to be activel}' engaged in each one of them. 
The regiment under his command was mustered out at Chicago June 
12, 1865. 



CHAPTER T. 

Ecclesiastical. 



CONGRKGATIONAL ClIURCH — FORMATION — EaRLY ITiSTORY— MrMBERS — MIN- 
ISTERS— Ol'FICEUS — Parsonage— CoNGKKGATioXAL St)CiETY — Names of 
MioiiJKRs — Officers — Ladies' Society — Sunday School — Church 
Choir — Society Funds— Meeting Houses— Baptist Church— Metho- 
dist E. Church — Univeksalist Society. 

The Congregational Church. 

THE Congregational Clmrcli in Swanzey was organized Novem- 
ber 4, 1741, ciglit years after tlie townsliip (then called Lower 
Ashuelot) was granted to its sixty proprietors. Previous to this time, 
and probably from its first settlement, the ordinances of religion had 
not been neglected, as most of the men prominent in proi)rietary and 
municipal matters were also leaders in church affairs. The following 
are some of the earliest recorded votes of the proprietors at meetings 
duly called for the purpose, and held at the house of Capt. Nathaniel 
Hammond. 

1737, Sept. 7. ^^ Voted to raise a rate or tax of 240 pounds, or 4 
pounds on each right to defray the charges of building a meeting 
House, mending ways, and other necessaiy charges. 

'■^ Voted, That the}^ will build a meeting house in said township 46 
feet long, 36 feet wide and 20 feet stud, to be set ou the rock near 
the corner of the lot No. 18 or near thereabouts. 

'■'■Voted that the lot in No. 63 in the 4th division be for the first 
minister, and No. 7 for the ministry. 

'■^ Voted and chose Messrs. Nathaniel Hannnond, Samuel Hills, 
Samuel Farnsworth, Charles Lummas and Thomas Cressoii a com- 
mittee to procure workmen to build the meeting-house or let it out to 
be done as shall be thought most proper. 

'■'■Voted and chose Mr. Samuel Hills to provide a minister to preach 
the Gospel in said township till the next proprietors' meeting." 

Oct. 20. '■^ Voted that the sum of three pounds on each right, or 
(15-t) 















:^ 







^ 


^ 
m 


^ 


C7^ 


X 


> 




^ 


s 
^ 



2: 


o 


> 


CO 


00 


> 


H 


:x) 




_ 


S 


:<z 


m 




m 


Cd 


-H 


> 
o 


» — < 

2: 


W 





o 




o 


tc 


G 





2: 


c: 


P 


00 




pd 


'Tl 




> 


00 





^ 


5 



> 




2: 




IN] 


C/5 


-< 


^ 











w 




:2 




H 




::o 




m 




ECCLESIASTICAL. 155 

180 pounds ill the whole, be raised to pay for preaching and other 
necessary cliarges. 

" Voted, That Capt. Natlianiel Hammond and Charles Luraas be a 
committee to provide a preacher. 

'• Voted, That the committee shall pitch and lay out the lots for the 
minister and ministry." 

1 738, March 15. " Voted, That Capt. Nathaniel Hammond and Mr. 
Samuel Hills be a committee to employ a minister to preach in said 
town this 6 months ensuing." 

Dec. 28. ''Voted, That there be 4 feet in the length, and 4 feet in 
the bread til, and two feet in the heighth added to the meeting-house, 
and build a decent steeple on one end of said meeting-house as the 
committee and carpenters shall think fit." 

1739, Sept. 18. " Voted, That Mr. Ephraira Jones, Nathaniel Ham- 
mond and Benjamin Brown be a committee to take the advice of some 
of the neighboring ministers concerning some suitable person to settle 
among us in the work of the Gospel ministiy, and accordingly apply 
as soon as conveniently may be to some candidate in the ministry' to 
preach upon probation in order for settling." 

Oct. 9. ''■ Voted to raise a rate or tax of 240 pounds or 4 pounds 
on each right to defra}' the cost and charges of preaching the Gospel 
in said township in time past, and for the future with what remains 
so far as it will hold out." 

Dec. 28. The proprietors voted unanimously for Mr. Noah Mi- 
rick for their minister, offering to give him "200 pounds settlement 
in bills of credit (of old tenor) if he shall agree to settle in the work 
of the ministry among us ; one half to be paid in 6 months after his 
ordination, and the other half in 12 months after said ordination." 

'■'■Voted, also, 130 pounds the first year and to add to it 5 pounds 
every year until it comes to 180 pounds, in bills of credit (of the old 
tenor) as his yearly salary, if he shall agree to settle in the work of 
the ministry among us, and be made as good from year to year as the 
money is at the present time, and be continued so as long as he shall 
remain our minister." 

A committee consisting of Abraham Graves, Samuel Gunn, Thomas 
Crisson, William Scott and John Evans was chosen to treat with Mr. 
Mirick concerning his settlement, but no record is made of his accept- 
ing their proposals. 

1740, April 4. In response to an article in their warrant to "choose 
and call a pious, learned and orthodox minister" the "worthy Mr. 
Thomas Goss" was chosen and invited to settle among them with sub- 



156 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

stantiall}' the same settlement and salary as that voted to Mi". Ml- 
rick — and with the same result. Probably both these men preached 
more or less in the township, as did also following them, a Mr. 
Gardner. 

1741, April 13. The proprietors, at a meeting held at the house 
of Samuel Gunn, voted to call Rev. Timothy Harrington to be their 
minister witli the salary above named, except it was to be 150 pounds 
instead of 130 the first year. Nathaniel Hammond, John Evans and 
Timoth}' Brown were chosen a committee to carry the proposals to 
Mr. Harrington — nlso to request him to supply them with preaching 
till he should give his answer. 

May 4. It was *■' Voted to state Mr. Harrington's salar}-^ in case he 
shonld take up with our proposals at silver money at 28 shillings per 
ounce." 

Aug. 3. " Voted, That the proprietors will give Mr. Timothy Har- 
rington, his heirs and assigns forever, one acre and an half of land 
situate lying on the Meeting-House Hill where he shall choose to 
pitch it, so as not to discommode the setting of the Meeting-House, 
in case he shall settle in the work of the miuistr}' amongst us." 

" Voted also that the proprietors will exchange tlie scliool lot with 
Mr. Timothy Harrington, viz. the house lot belonging to the school 
right for the house lot which the General Court has granted to the 
first minister in Ashuelot." 

Mr. Harrington in his letter of acceptance says, "Gentlemen, as 
5'on have given me an invitation to settle among you in tlie work of 
the ministry and have also laid your proposals before me, I must con- 
fess they are generous and you willing to exert yourselves for the hon- 
orable support of the Gospel. The unanimit}' of your choice, the 
repeated instances of your affection to my person, and your earnest 
desire for mj- continuance among you seem to declare your invitation 
to be the call of God himself; and that my accepting of it may be for 
the glory of God, the honor of Christ, the interest of religion and the 
mutual i>eace and comfort of jou all." 

Mr. Harrington was ordained and the church formed Nov. 4, 1741. 
There were at that time no settlements in what is now Sullivan County, 
and only two others in Cheshire County, viz.: — Upper Ashuelot 
(Kecne) and Arlington (Winchester). There were present, and as- 
sisted in the ordination, elders and delegates from the churches in 
these two places, also from Sunderland and Northfield. The church 
covenant, which was in accordance with the Cambridge platform, was 
subscribed to by the pastor Timothy Harrington from the First church 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 157 

in Cambridge, and twelve other men, viz., Nathaniel Hammond from 
church in Littleton ; Jonathan Hammond, Littleton ; Abraham Graves, 
Hatfield ; Samuel Gunn, Sunderland ; Charles Lumis, Bolton ; William 
Carr, Deerlield ; David Belding, Upper Ashuelot, and Samuel Hills, 
Thomas Cresson, John Evans, Nathaniel Hammond, jr., and Thomas 
Hammond, who were never in full communion before. 

Rev. Mr. Harrington was chosen church clerk, and, January 5, 

1744, Timothy Brown and Jonatlian Hammond were chosen deacons. 
At the same time '''Voted, That any person belonging to another 
church and coming to reside among us be required within the space 
of one year to bring a letter of dismission and recommendation from 
that church to this, or without an accepted reason for such failure, be 
debarred communion with us till done." 

Rev. Mr. Harrington's house was burned by the Indians March 26, 

1745, and with it the church records. But the important events and 
votes that could be recollected were confirmed by vote of tlie church, 
Oct. 2, 1745, and recorded. The inhabitants continued to suffer from 
the hostility of the Indians, and in 1747 they abandoned tlie town, 
and the members of the little church were scattered. Before leaving 
they buried many heav}^ articles of furniture in the ground, intending 
without doubt to return under more favorable circumstances. But 
though scattered, the church was not disbanded. 

In 1748 their pastor requested of them "a testimonial of tlieir ac- 
ceptance of his doctrine and conversation among them, and their 
consent to his settling in the work of the ministry in some other place 
where God in his providence might call him." To consider and act 
upon this request a meeting of the church was called to meet at Brook- 
field, Sept. 14, but as only six of the eighteen male members were 
present it was deemed imprudent for so small a number to act upon 
the subject, and they adjourned to meet in Rutland, Oct. 11th. At this 
meeting his request was granted on condition that he relinquish all 
claim to any arrearages of salary due to Nov. 4, 1744, and his salary 
for the years 1747 and 1748, and also his claim to the first minister's 
right of land in Lower Ashuelot. At this meeting also Anna, his 
wife, and Rose, his maidservant, were dismissed and recommended 
with him to "the first Chh. in Lancaster or to any other regular Chh. 
wherever Providence shall cast their lott." Mr. H. was subsequent- 
ly settled in Lancaster. As a token of his affectionate remembrance 
for the church in Swanzey he left it by will money for tiie purchase 
of a silver cup, costing $15.35. During his mlnistr^^ including the 



158 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

original members, fortj'-five were admilted to the church : twent3'-three 
males and twenty-two females, of whom twenty-five were from other 
churches. 

1753, Aug. 21. The churches in Swanzey and Koene met at the 
schoolhouse in Swanzey and mutually and unanimously agreed to be 
one religious society and worship together for the space of three years, 
the towns being at equal expense for the support of the Gospel during 
that time. The church covenant was then subscril)ed to by twenty- 
one persons, viz. : Ezra Carpenter, pastor ; Abraham Graves, Nathan- 
iel Ilanunond, Jeremiah Hall, Thomas Cresson, David Foster. Timothy 
Brown, "William Smead, Nathan Blake, William Carr, Jonathan Ham- 
mond, Joseph Ellis, Ebenezer Nimms, David Niinms, William Grimes, 
David Belding, Ebenezer Day, Samuel Hills, Joseph Hammond, Eli- 
akim King and Thomas Hammond. IMr. Cari)enter was installed 
over this united church Oct. 4, 1753 ; the churches represented at the 
installation, 1st in Hingham, 3d in Pl3Mnouth, Kingston ; 1st in 
Lancaster, Nichewong, Poquaig, Deerfleld, Sunderland and North- 
field. The union of these churches continued about seven j'cars. 
When they separated Rev. Mr. Carpent*^r^had his choice with which to 
remain, and chose Swanzey, continuing to be its minister till June, 
1764, when at his own request he was dismissed by an ecclesiastical 
council convened for that puipose. Tradition says that the council 
had but just left the meeting-house when a tornado passed and turned 
the meeting-house one quarter round, so that it was made to face the 
east instead of the south. Several buildings also were unroofed or 
blown down and one member of the council had a horse killed at the 
time. During his ministr}- thirty-five were admitted to the church. 
His salary was 100 pounds. He was appointed chaplain of the Crown 
Point expedition in 1757. 

It appears that at some time previous to Feb. 28, 1754, David Fos- 
ter had been chosen deacon ; that at this date the three deacons, 
Brown, Hammond and Foster, were diopped and the two latter re- 
chosen. 

In 1769, Sept. 27, Rev. Edward Goddard of Shrewsbury was or- 
dained and settled over tlie church. Six churches by their pastors 
and delegates assisted at the ordination, viz., 1st in Lancaster, 1st 
in Shrewsbury, Holden, Keene, Warwick and Westmoieland. The 
town voted to pay him for a settlement 133 pounds 6 shillings and 8 
pence lawful money, and for a salary 53 pounds 6 shillings and 8 
pence the first two years, and after that time an annual increase of 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 159 

40 shillings till bis salary amounts to GG ponncls 13 shillings and 4 
pence. In addition to the above they also voted to bring him annu- 
ally thirty cords of fire wood. 

Mr. Goddard continued to be minister of the church and town till 
July 5, 1798, at which time he was dismissed by an ecclesiastical 
council composed of pastors and delegates from churches in Mon- 
tague, New Ipswich, New Salem, Walpole and Ashburnham. He also 
continued his connection with the church until the installation of his 
successor. Rev. Clark Brown, Sept. 5, 1810, at which time he was 
dismissed and recommended to the church in Warwick, with which he 
united becoming its pastor. At the time of his settlement in 1769 
the church numbered forty-four members : twenty-two males and twen- 
ty-two females. In 1785 it numbered one hundred and twenty-five: 
fiftj'-seven males and sixty-eight females, besides sixteen non-resi- 
dents. During his pastorate deacons were chosen as follows : Jan. 
29, 1770, Thomas Applin ; in 1777, Thomas Hammond and Daniel 
Warner; and in 1782 Samuel Hills and Calvin Frink. 

The first part of Mr. Goddard's rainistrj' was evidently pleasant 
and prosperous ; the latter part was not so harmonious, although at a 
church meeting Feb. 13, 1798, it was voted unanimously in favor of 
his continuing their minister, but on account of his health voted to 
excuse him from preaching for a season. The church appeared to be 
ever friendly to him, but a growing feeling of discontent manifested 
itself on the part of the town, which compelled his resignation. Dur- 
ing his ministry several members were disciplined ; some for absent- 
ing themselves from church services and ordinances, and some for 
a too free use of that unruly member, the tongue, in slander. Most 
of the offenders confessed their faults and were continued in church 
fellowship. 

Both Mr. Goddard and liis prerlecessor were often troubled in ob- 
taining their salaries, officiating as tiie\' did during the perilous and 
trying times of Indian wars and the war of the Revolution. The 
ministry of Mr. Goddard was longer than that of an}' other, nearly 
twenty-nine years. During that time one hundred and fift3'-six mem- 
bers were received, of whom fifty-six were from other churches ; fort}'' 
baptisms wei'e administered. The baptismal or half-way covenant, 
as it was called, was then in vogue. Mr. Goddard was church clerk 
during his ministry. Sept. 6, 1798, Calvin Frink was chosen clerk, 
and June 3, 1799, Joseph Cross was elected. April 2, 1806, Calvin 
Frink resigned the office of deacon. 

"The Rev. Clark Brown, a graduate of Harvard 1797, and who had 



160 HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 

been dismissed from Brimfield, Mass., began to siippl}- tlie pulpit in 
Swaiizoy, Aug. 21, 1808, and was installed Sept. 5, 1810. He pro- 
fessedl}' became an Episcopalian and attempted to render the church 
such, but failing in tlic attempt, his connection was dissolved b}^ mu- 
tual council Oct. 1, 1815. During his ministry forty-nine were ad- 
mitted to full communion and eight^'-two were baptized. Salary 
$400. He was a man of popular talent but unstable. In the interim 
before the next ordination, seven were admitted and ten were bap- 
tized. Tlie Rev. Joshua Chandler, a graduate of Harvard 1804. was 
ordained Jan. 20, 1819, and dismissed by council at his own request 
Nov. 26, 1822. During his ministry nine were admitted to com- 
munion and twent3'-three baptized. His salary was $400. In the in- 
terval between liis dismission and the next installation two were 
admitted to church fellowship. The number of the church from the 
first is 417 and the baptisms 709." 

The foregoing extract and some other items are taken from "New 
Hampshire Churches," and written by Rev. E. Rockwood. 

The Rev. Ebenezer Colman was installed as pastor of the church 
Ma}' 23, 1827. He was a graduate of Brown Universitj' in 1815, a 
good scholar, an al)le preacher. Salar}' $300 and thirtv cords of 
wood. The exercises at the installing council were conducted b^' the 
following ministers : — Introductory prayer bj'^ Salmon Bennett, Marl- 
borough ; sermon, Z. S. Barstow, Keene ; consecrating prayer, John 
"Walker, Chesterfield; charge to pastor, William Muzzy, Sullivan; 
right hand of fellowship, O. C. Whiton, Troy ; address to people, 
Jolin Sabin, Fitzwilliam ; concluding prayer, A. B. Camp, Ashb}', 
Mass. 

The council when met passed the following : 

"Whereas the free use of ardent spirits is doing much injur}- to the 
peace of families and to the good order of Society, as well as in de- 
stroying the souls of many, we deem it the duty of every friend of re- 
ligion and human happiness to do all in his power to discontinue it; 
therefore resolved unanimously that this Council request the commit- 
tee of the socict}' to exclude all ardent spirits and wines from the 
entertainment provided for the Council." The necessity for such a 
resolution gives us an inkling of the practice in church circles previ- 
ous to this date. May 27, 1827, the pastor was chosen church clerk. 
April 3, 1828, Joseph Dickinson was chosen deacon, and Aug. 13, 
1830, Jona. D. Ware was chosen to the same ofl3ee. 

A constitution for a church library was adopted Dec. 5, 1828. Mr. 
Colman was appointed librarian and Asahel Shurtlefi" and Joseph 




REV. ELISHA ROCKWOOD, D. D. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 161 

Smead a committee to examine, and receive or reject, all books which 
might be purchased for the library or presented to it. 

Mr. Colman's pastorate continued till July 1, 1834, when, at liis 
request, the pastoral relation was dissolved b}'^ a mutual council com- 
posed of pastors and delegates from Fitzwilliam, Westmoreland, 
Keene, Winchester and Walpole. Among the reasons he assigns for 
leaving were his small salary, not being sufficient for the support of 
his family, and being obliged frequentl}'^ to worship in a hall or school- 
house, as the meeting-house was claimed a part of the time by the 
Universalists. 

July 13, 1S34, Luther Browne was chosen clerk of the church ; and 
April 4, 1838, William Read accepted the office of deacon, to which 
he had previously been chosen. After the dismission of Mr. Colman 
and before his successor was installed, the pulpit was occupied by 
several persons but principally by Rev, Roger C. Hatch, and twenty- 
two persons were admitted to the church. 

Nov. 16, 1836, Rev. Elisha Rockwood was settled as minister of 
the church and people, and was soon after chosen church clerk. He 
was born in Chesterfield, May 9, 1778, a graduate of Dartmouth Col- 
lege 1802. Preceptor of Plymouth Academy two years, tutor in Dart- 
mouth College two years, pastor of Congregational Church in West- 
borough, Mass., twenty-six and one-half years, and of the church in 
this town nearly twenty-two years, dying June 19, 1858, and preach- 
ing till the time of his death. He was a gentleman of the old school, 
highly res[>ected by all who knew him, by those who believed the 
doctrines he faithfully preached, and by those whodissented from them. 
On the eightieth anniversary of his birth he preached a sermon from 
the text "I am this day four score years old" (ii Samuel 19 : 35), giv- 
ing interesting reminiscences of his life and good advice to his peo- 
ple. This sermon was published aTter his death. He was twice 
married, first to Susan Parkman of Westborough, and second, to Mrs, 
Emily Wilder Herrick of Keene. The degree of D.D. was conferred 
upon him by Dartmouth College. 

During his ministry in this town, fifty-eight persons were received 
to the church, twenty-eight were dismissed and recommended to 
other churches and twenty-eight of the members died. 

June 3, 1843, the church confession of faith and church covenant 

were by unanimous vote of the church revised and made to conform 

to those of most other churches in connection with the Monadnock 

Association; and March 2, 1845, these were printed for distribution 

11 



162 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

among the members. Tlie cliurcli numbered at this time seventy-t\YO, 
of whom twenty-one were males and fifty-one females. 

Mr. ll's salary was $400, of which 875 was annually relinquished 
by him for several of the last years of his life. 

As ministerial changes became more frequent in New England the 
society followed the prevalent fashion and purchased a house for tiie 
use of its ministers. It was bought of Dr. Willard Adams for $1200, 
which amount was raised by subscription witii the exception of 
S300 which was taken from Societj' funds. The parsonage was dedi- 
cated with appropriate services May 20, 1859. 

Nov. 5, 1858, Mowry A. Thompson was chosen clerk, but soon af- 
ter, removing from town, Josiah Parsons was chosen and has since 
retained the oflice. 

The last minister that was "settled" over the church and society 
was John'G. Wilson, who was installed June 29, 1859. Salary $400 
and use of parsonage. He was an earnest and acceptable preacher. lie 
remained a little more than four years when at his request the pasto- 
ral relation was dissolved. He was born in Nelson, Sept. IS, 1820, 
studied theology and graduated at Bangor Theological Seminary in 
1850 ; ordained at Bellows Falls, Vt., Dec. 12, 1851. Preached there 
and also at Saxton's river, Vi., and Charlestown, until became to 
Swanzey. Since leaving here he has been City Missionary at Port- 
land, Maine. 

July 24, 1864, Rev. T. E. Roberts, who had l)een supplying the 
church in Tro}', commenced preaching as stated supply, and contin- 
ued till Oct., 1868. He was somewhat easy in his theological views 
as well as in his business relations. After closing his labors with the 
church in this [)lace he preached about two years at East Swanze}', 
being engaged at the same time as a life insurance agent, in which 
business he did not succeed. He has not since been in the minis- 
try. 

Rev. W. H. Cutler succeeded Mr. Roberts and preached nearly two 
years. He was a 3'oung man, a tine speaker, interesting in tlie pul- 
pit, but lacking in those qualities which are essential to success as 
pastor among the people of his parish. He has since been rector 
of the Episcopal church in Goffstowu. At the close of Mr. Cutler's 
miuistr}' Rev. A. B. Earle held a series 'of gospel meetings with the 
Baptist and Congregational churches, and on the first Sunday in Jan- 
uary, 1871, fifteen persons united with the latter church. 

The next minister was Rev. Charles AVille}', a zealous preacher, 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 163 

untiling in his efforts to do good, who remained till July, 1873, when 
thinking he would be of more service in some other place went first 
to Wisconsin and preached two years, then to Newfield, N. J., where 
he has since resided, preaching apart of the time in connection with 
his labors on the farm. Mr. W. was born at Derb}^ Vermont, Sept. 

9, 1815 ; married Miss Harriet Claggett of Newport, N. H., Sept. 24, 
1843; studied theology at Andover, ordained at Chichester, Sept. 15? 
1845, pastor of the church there six years ; afterwards before coming 
to Swanzey preached at Kingston, London Mills, Epsom, Barrington, 
Center Harbor, Greenfield and Nelson, remaining from one to six 
years in each place. 

Tlie church was now without a resident minister till the following 
Januarj'^, although as usual on such occasions, public religious ser- 
vices were observed on the Sabbath, sometimes conducted by a tran- 
sient minister and at other times by members of the church. 

At the beginning of the new year, Rev. E. I. Carpenter, formerly'' 
of Littleton, but more recently in the service of the Vermont Bible 
Societ}', commenced his labors among us and continued them till Feb. 

10, 1877, when he was thrown from his sleigh and received injuries 
from which he died in a few hours, Mr. C. was an able preacher, in 
good repute among his ministerial brethren and highly esteemed by 
all who knew him. He was much interested in the people at East 
Swanzey and preached there more than had an}'^ of his predecessors. 
About three months before his death, his wife, a nol)le woman, was 
stricken with heart disease and died nearly as suddenly as he did. 
Mr. C's salary was $600 and use of parsonage. 

The successor of Mr. Carpenter was Rev. H. H. Saunderson vrho 
for the twelve preceding years had been minister in Charlestown. 
His salary was $525 and parsonage. He was a good scholar and 
writer, having written the history of Charlestown when he was there. 
He was also a good sermonizer, but old age had weakened his powers, 
and by want of energ}' he failed to greatly interest and arouse his au- 
dience. He occupied the pulpit till Maj', 1882, and soon after re- 
moved to Manchester where he resided till his death in January, 1890. 
Hewas born in Hollis, Sept. 12, 1810, studied threeyears at Yale Col- 
lege, graduated at Andover Theological Seminary 1842 ; married Oct. 
1, 1845, Miss Elizabeth Cummings of Hollis. He was minister at 
Ludlow, Vt., seven years and atWallingford, nine years. He preached 
also at other places, taught music and was engaged in various liter- 
ary pursuits. He was an ardent lover of nature, encouraged the 
planting of shade trees in our streets, and set with his own hand the 



164 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

graceful elm immediately in front of the brick cliurcb, April 18, 
1878. 

During tlie ministry of Mr. Saunderson (March 2, 1879) the churcli 
and congregation voted to have but one preacliing service on the Sab- 
bath, and that in the forenoon. This practice has been continued 
since. From time immemorial, in accordance with the prevalent cus- 
tom, there had been two sermons, generally at 11 a. m. and 1 r. :\r. 
It has also been the custom to have a prayer meeting in the middle 
of the week, and likewise Sabbath evenings, especially when there has 
been but one preaching service. March 30, 1877, Alonzo A. "Ware 
was chosen deacon. 

Oct. 8, 1882, Rev. Benjamin Merrill commenced his ministerial 
labors in this i)lace and faithfidly performed them till his sudden 
death Nov. 19, 1888, receiving a salary of $700 and parsonage ($800 
■were paid him the first three j^ears). He was born in Haverhill, 
March 25, 1835; learned the printer's trade when a boy ; prepared 
for college at Haverhill and Kimball Union Academies; graduated 
from the scientific department of Dartmouth College in 1858 ; in bus- 
iness for some time in N. Y. Cit}' ; studied Greek one year with his 
brother. Rev. J. L. Merrill; graduated at Princeton Theological Sem- 
inary 1864 ; ordained b^' the Presbytery of Carlisle, at Newville, Pa., 
June 7, 1864, missionary among the Scotch coal miners at Barton, 
Md., two years ; pastor Congregational church, Pembroke, three and 
one-half years; Presbyterian church, Ausable Forks, N. Y., twelve 
years, when he was dismissed and came to Swanzey. He married 
April 28, 1864, Joanna W. Merrill of New York. They have had 
three children of whom only one, "William K., survives. In May, 
1889, Rev. Harvey Woodward of Keene, formerly a minister of the 
M. E. church, was engaged as pastor, in which capacity he still re- 
mains. 

It thus appears that during the onehundred and fort3'-nine years since 
the formation of the church there have been fifteen ministers, of whom 
eight were settled pastors and seven stated sup|)lies, the former aver- 
aging about twelve years and the latter four. There have been few if 
any controversies in the church or among its members upon theological 
points or forms of worship. 

It was tlie only church in town till 1792, when the Baptist church 
was formed at "West Swanzey. Its ministers were supported at first 
by a tax upon the proprietors and upon all tax paj'ers in the town ; 
and afterwards, partly by contributions and parti}' by taxation. 

It was the church of the "standing order," so called. In 1819, the 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 165 

"toleration act" was passed by the New Hampshire legislature, re- 
quiring tliat no person should be taxed except voluntarily, in support 
of any religious denomination ; but some years previous to this time 
any person had the privilege of having his minister tax abated pro- 
vided he paid for the support of some other denomination. 

CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETT. 

Tlie Congregational Society in Swanzey was formed Dec. 26, 1809, 
and incorporated by an act of the legislature June 16, 1810. Its ob- 
ject was to maintain the preacliing of the gospel and to act jointly 
with the cluu'ch in calling, settling and dismissing ministers. It was 
autliorized to "assess and collect taxes for the support of a Gospel 
ministry and other necessary expenses of said Society," and to receive 
donations and hold funds to an amount not exceeding one thousand 
dollars. This charter was amended in 1867, authorizing the holding 
of funds to an amount, the income of which should not exceed $5,000 
l)er year. There is a record of but few taxes ever being assessed 
after tlie formation of the society; and for many years past all ex- 
penses iuive been paid by voluntary contributions. Before tlie act of 
incorporation sixty three persons joined the society, viz. : Ebenezer 
Hills, Aaron Parsons, Elijah Belding, Elkanah Lane, jr., Joseph 
Dickinson, James Brewer, Calvin Frink, William Wright, "Samuel 
Hills, Asaph Lane, Henry Morse, Nehemiah Cummings, Amos Bailey, 
Thomas Applin, Joel Read, Ezekiel Thompson, Daniel Cummings, 
Ellijah Graves, Joseph Smead, Amos Bailey, jr., James Pierce, John 
Thompson, Josiah Parsons, John Read, Gad Graves, Levi Blake, 
Silas Parsons, Luther Wright, Joseph Cross, Josiah P. Read, Benja- 
min Brown, Benjamin Hammond, Enoch Cummings, Joseph Ham- 
mond, jr., Joseph Kimball, James Cummings, John Applin, Paul 
Raymond, Samuel Belding, Isaac Butterfield, Ezekiel Osgood, Far- 
num Fish, Moses B. Williams, Zenas Ware, Samuel Lane, Timothy 
Tiiompson, Elijah Lane, Beriah Day, Nicholas HoAves, Elisha Lane, 
Elisha Osgood, Timothy Clark, Tliaddeus Cummings, Tliouias Cross, 
Peter Cross, Foster Emerson, William Dnrant, Azariah Dickinson, 
Edward Goddard, jr., Aninriali Partridge, Nathaniel Dickinson, Seth 
Belding and Joseph Dickinson, jr. 

The clerks of the society have been Joseph Cross, six years ; Far- 
num Fish, five years ; Asahel Shurtleff, three years; Thomas Applin, 
two years ; William Read, fiCty-six years ; Alonzo A. AYare, eight years. 
The other officers were a board of three directors, treasurer and col- 
lector, all of whom were to be and have been chosen annually the 



166 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

first Monday in April. Those tliat liave served as directors were 
Kehcniiuli Ciimmings, James Brewer, Lutlier Wright, Fariitim FIsli, 
Silas Parsons, Thomas Cross, Tiioraas Applin, Timotliy Tliompson, 
Daniel Cummings, Ezra Tiiayer, EzeUiel Osgood, Joseph Dickinson, 
jr., Foster Emerson, Ezekiel Thompson, Levi Blake, Seth Bclding, 
Daniel Wetherbee, Abel Wilson, Abel Wilder, Silas Jones, Thomas 
Applin, Daniel C'limniings, Amos Baile^', James Cummings, John 
Thompson, Benjamin Brown, Josiah P. Kead, William Read, Eleazer 
Mason, Hubbard Williams, Jona. D. Ware, Josiah Parsons (father 
and son), Luther Browne, Phineas Stone, Alvah Thompson, Asa Ilea- 
ley, Samuel Stone, Mowry A. Tliompson, M. Edwin AVright, John 
S, Sargeant, Franklin Downing, Alonzo A. Ware, Luther S. Lane and 
Lyman ]\L Stone. Those that served the longest in this capacity were 
William Read, forty years ; J, D. Ware, thirty-eight years ; and Alvah 
Thompson, sixteen j'ears. 

The treasurers of the society have been Henry Morse, four years; 
Asahel Shurlletf, one ; Enoch Cummings, one; Daniel Cunnnings, 
one; Amos Bailey, forty-six ; P2noch Howes, eighteen ; and M. C. 
Stone, seven years. 

The names of females appear upon the church records under the 
heads of baptisms, admissions to and dismissions from the church, 
marriages and deaths. With these exceptions they rarely' appear in 
church history. Notwithstanding this, the influence of woman though 
silent and less demonstrative, is perhaps even greater than that of man. 
Numericall}' the}' far ontnunil)er the men ; and this has always been 
so except perhaps in the early settlement of the town. 

As an anxiliar}^ to the Congregational Society, and for tliepuipose 
of supporting the preaching of the Gospel, the Ladies^ Benevolent So- 
ciety was organized May 12, 1835, with fifty-two members. Its consti- 
tution directed that the annual meeting should be held on the second 
Tuesday of May, and regular montldy meetings on the second Tuesday 
of every month. Tliese meetings, with few interrui)tions, have since 
l)een continued, sometimes meeting once in two weeks instead of four. 
The afternoon or evening has been spent in knitting, sewing, braiding 
palm leaf hats, reading, essays, and cultivating the social element. 
Ever}' member was required to pay at least twenty-five cents a year. The 
avails of the society since its formation have been about $3,000. 
This has been applied principally towards the payment of the pastor's 
salary, but somewhat to missionary enterprises and helping the poor. 

The presidents of the society have been Mrs. Samuel D. King, ^Irs. 
E. Rockwood, Mrs. J. G. Wilson, Mrs. E. F. Read, Mrs. B. Read, 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 167 

Mrs. Charles Willey, Mrs. E. I. Carpenter, Mrs. A. M. Adams, Mrs. 
J. S. Sargeant, Mrs. A. S. Blake, Mrs. B. Merrill and Mrs. H. Wood- 
ward. Secretaries: Miss Lucy Browne, Mrs. S. D. King, Miss H. 
A. Rockwood, Miss P. Lane, Miss S. B. Wilder, Mrs. B. Read, Miss 
H. A. Thompson, Miss E. M. Williams, Miss E. R. Bailey and Miss 

E. A. Newell. Miss Bailey was secretary and treasurer twenty-five 
years, until her death. 

Sunday School. 

The records of the Sunday School in connection with the church 
are very incomplete, being entirely wanting in the earlier part of its 
history. A school was first organized probabl}'^ about 1826, and has 
been continued nearl}' every Sunday' since ; having had for its superin- 
tendents in part, Joseph Dickinson, William Read, J. D. Ware, E. F. 
Read, Alfred Marl)le, M. A. Thompson, M. E. Wright, C. M. Lane, 
A. A. Ware and L. M. Stone. 

Its sessions have usually been immediately after the morning church 
service, with an average attendance of between fifty and sixty, and a 
total yearly membership of about twice that number. Its library 
numbers about GOO volumes. Miss Mary W. Lane left by will a little 
more than $100 to replenish the library. 

Music. 

The church choir has been an harmonious one. Certainly this has 
been the case within the memory of living men, and previous to that 
time the records upon the subject are silent. The proverbial sensi- 
tiveness of singers has rarel}-, if ever, shown itself in bickerings and 
scramblings for the chief places. Tlie chosen leaders of later years 
have been Ezekiel Thompson, Hubbard Williams, Philo Applin, E. 

F. Read, L. S. Lane, C. ]\L Lane -jind Harvey Sargeant. Geo. F. 
Lane, whom all liave ever delighted to hear, was a member of the choir 
about fifty-five 3'ears. Tlie long list of singing books that have been 
used is probably much the same as that used in other choirs. For 
man}' 5'ears previous to June 6, 1858, Watts' Psalms and Hymns, 
with a selection from other authors, was the principal hymn book 
used. At this date the ''• Congregational Hymn Book," by Elias Nason, 
was introduced and retained till 1880, when it gave place to '■'Sjyirit- 
ual Songs" containing both the hymns and music, by Charles S. 
Robinson. This book is still in use. The only early church records 
pertaining to music are tliese : — 

May 4, 1797. "Voted that the pastor in the name and behalf of 



168 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

the Chh. the next Lord's diij^ request the singers to assist tlie Clih. in 
singing after the celebration of the Lord's supper. 

"Voted that the pastor, next Lord's day, after Divine service, pro- 
pose to the Congregation a contiibution to be had the next succeed- 
ing Sal)bath for the i)urpose of raising money to purchase a bass viol 
for the use of the Congregational Society in Svvanzey." 

Church and Society Funds, 
By the gifts and bequests of several individuals the church and so- 
ciety have a fund of 67,780, the income of which is to be applied to 
the support of Gospel preaching and other religious purposes. The 
contributors were Joseph Cross, $102.61 ; Neliemiali Cummings, 
$200.20; Zenas Ware, $34.61 ; Hannah Ware, $25.00; Enocli Cum- 
mings, $200.00 ; Hubbard Williams, $-100.00 ; A. W. Baih-y, $400.00 ; 
Elizabeth M. Williams, SoO.OO ; J. D. Ware, $300.00 ; Sai)riua Read, 
$6600.41 ; Malinda Sargent, $200.00; and about $100.00 was contrib- 
uted l)y some person or i)ersons previous to 1833 of which there is no 
definite record. From these funds $300 was applied towards the 
purchase of the parsonage and $550 was lost by the failure of the 
Ashuelot Savings Bank to pay in full its depositors. 

Meeting-houses. 

In addition to what has already been stated pertaining to locating 
and building a meeting-house, other votes were subsequently passed 
in regard to its construction. Taxes were voted, committees chosen, 
timbers prepared, etc., but for some reason the house was not l)uilt 
until the return of the inhabitants after having been driven away by 
the Indians. It is perhaps doubtful whether it was entirely completed 
before it was damaged by the huriicane in 1765, and the damages 
then caused were not wholly repaired till 1771. It was built on the 
rock or ledge just west of where Mr. George Carpenter now lives. 
It was 50 by 40 feet on the ground and 22 feet posts. A gallery was 
on three sides, a row of pews around the sides of the house, and back 
of the body seats ; and likewise a row around in the galler3\ 

The "pew ground" was appraised and sold at auction, and each 
purchaser was required to build his own pew and finish up the walls 
adjacent to the same. This building was used as a church buildin<i 
and town house till about the year 1796, when a new l)uil(ling was 
erected by the town. There is no record when it was abandoned, 
taken down, or disposed of, but it probably stood and was used sev- 
eral years in the 19th century, as meetings were frequently warned 



A 



', UJIIlllll 





i 



< 

< 
CQ 



O 



^ 



CO 

o 



o 



C/3 



o 

< 






ECCLESIASTICAL. 169 



to be held at the old meeting-house. The new structure was built 
where the present town-house now stands : — in fact it is the identical 
building remodeled. It was 45 by 62 feet on the ground, two sets of 
windows, one above the other ; three doors, one each on the east, west 
and south sides ; a porch at the east and west ends. The towering 
belfty and steeple with its lofty spire was at the west end. The huge 
gallery extended on three sides of the house, east, west and south, 
containing a row of pews next the walls and rows of long seats in 
front for the singers. The pulpit on the north side of the house — a 
large box with door to enclose the minister — was many feet above the 
floor ; and above this on the wall were painted representations of 
seraphs or angelic beings. The floor was covered with rows of old- 
fashioned square pews, divided by broad aisles. 

The inside of the churcli was never painted. There was no bell in 
the belfry. For many j-ears it contained no stove, fireplace, nor any 
other apparatus for heating, except foot-stoves and the like carried 
by tlie worshippers. 

* In 1850 this building was remodeled into the present town-house. 
It was cut down in height, made a one story building ; the porches, 
belfry, galler}', pulpit and pews were removed and the ante-rooms con- 
structed as they now appear. For many years the use of this build- 
ing vyas claimed in part both by the Congregational and Universalist 
societies. In 1836 the former society relinquished its claim and 
erected the brick meeting-house where it now stands. It was built by 
contract by Mr. Virgil Woodcock for about 82, 000, and is 63 by 41 
feet on the ground. In 1868 internal repairs were made costing 
about S600. The pulpit platform and gallery were lowered, the arms 
and railings of the slips were changed to those of the modern style, 
and the whole painted and grained. In 1884 the gallery was va- 
cated 1)}^ the singers and, at an expense of about $60, a platform was 
erected and suitably furnished for them in the southwest corner of the 
house at the right of the minister in the pulpit. Twenty-five dollars 
of this amount was contributed by Mrs. Lydia Griggs. In 1887 re- 
pairs were again made at an expense of more than $200. The audience 
and ante-rooms were mostly re[)lastered, painted, etc. The pulpit 
desk was presented by Mrs. Julia A. Ware, the chairs and stand by 
Mrs. Mary A. Parker, the table by Mr. and Mrs. S. H. Fox, and the 
bible and hymn book for the pulpit, in 1869, by Mr. G. F. Lane, and 
the Sunday School oi'gan by Mr. C. M. Lane. The gift of the silver 
cup by Rev. T. Harrington has already been noticed. Jan. 13, 1810, 
the house of William Wright, containing the sacramental vessels, was 



170 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

burned. A part of these vessels, including the cup, were saved, 
somewhat injured. Tiiis cup was repaired and has been in use until 
quite recently. The cups now in use were given b3'Mrs. J. A. Ware, 
and the baptismal basin in 1814 by Miss Hannah Ware. 

In 1890 the chapel adjoining the church was built at an expense of 
about $1,100 raised by voluntarj'^ subscription. It contains a lecture 
room, ladies' parlor and kitchen. 

Baptist Church. 

Previous to the year 1800 the written history' of the Baptist Church 
in Swanzey is very brief. Wiiat is now the Baptist Churcli was 
formed in the year 1792, composed of about twenty-five members, 
prominent among whom (as near as can be ascertained) were Arad 
Hall, Shubael Seaver, Wni. McCullor, Paddock Lawrence, Nathan 
Cross, Phinehas Ilamblet, Jotham Eames, Elisha Gunn, Nathaniel 
Hills and Jonathan Metcalf, residing in Keene, Winchester and Swan- 
zey and called the Baptist Church of " Swanzey and Winchester." 

The first meeting of the church, on record, was held at the "Corner 
School House," near where Benjamin C". Snow resides, on tlie 18tb 
of April, 1800, and opened by prayer, but the names of thfe moderator 
and clerk do not appear on record, Sept. 14, 1801, the church met at 
the house of Shubael Seaver where Silas R. Marcy now resides ; tlie 
meeting was opened by prayer, and Polder Nathaniel Bowles was cho- 
sen moderator. 

Nov. 18, 1802. The church met for business and chose Bro. Enoch 
Stowell, moderator. Gave Brother Stowell a letter of license to im- 
prove his gift in Zion. 

Oct. 13, 1803. The church united with the Le^-den Baptist Associa- 
tion at Guilford, Mass. 

Feb. 10, 1804. Benjamin Wilson conveyed to the church b}' deed 
of warranty, the south half of an acre of land which he bought of 
Salmon Richardson A[)ril 15, 1797, and which was apart of the "Old 
Mill Farm" formerly owned b}' James Heaton. 

May 15, 1805. An annex to said land was conve3'ed to the church 
by deed of Richard Stratton, making in all about one acre. 

In the year 1804 the meeting-house was erected, standing length- 
wise north and south, thirty-six feet in width b}' sixty feet in length, 
with a porch on each end, a galler}' on the two ends and a gallery on 
the east side — box pews on the floor and a line of pews on the walls 
in tlie rear of the gallery — the seats of the pews were hung with hinges 
and by custom were raised during the time of pra^'er, and the "Amen" 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 171 

was tlie signal for the falling of the seats, causing a clattering some- 
what like that of heav}' musketr}'. 

June 20, 1804. The church became a body politic by an act of the 
legislature. 

April 1, 1805. Tlie church voted to raise $160 to pay for building the 
meeting-house, also to raise $150 b}' assessment, if necessary. Voted 
to hire Dea. Wm. McCullor to preach for one year for one hundred 
dollars, after which he preached during the years of 1806, 1807 and 
1808. 

Oct. 5, 1805. Deacon McCullor, Pliinehas Harablet and Arad Hall 
represented the church to the Leyden Baptist Association in Massa- 
chusetts. 

Dec. 14, 1805. At a meeting of the church to consider the subject 
of ordaining Dea. Wm. McCullor as a gospel minister, the following 
quaint phraseology of a vote occurs, copied verbatim : 

" 2'y Voted to Call on Dea" M'^Cullur to know whether he would 
Submit to ordanation dea" MC. Cullar being Called upon after mak- 
ing Some Solemn observations and observing that as he had the mat- 
ter for a considearabel time under serious considertion he should an- 
swer in the affermative." 

Feb. 12, 1806. Tlie church, by advice of council composed of the 
following elders and delegates, ordained Dea. "Wm. McCullor to the 
work of the gospel ministry. 

From Westmo'-eland — Elder Ebenezer Baily and Samuel Robbins. 

From Templeton — Elder Elisha Andrews, Daniel Norcross and 
Samuel Symonds. 

From Alstcad — Elder Jeremiah Higbee, Oliver Shepherd and Moses 
Hale. 

From Dublin — Elder Elijah Willard, Elias Hemraingway and Wil- 
liam Banks. 

From Richmond — Elder Nathaniel Bowles and Amos Gurnse^'. 

From Andover, Mass. — Sanuiel Manning and Joel Manning. 

February 9, 1807. Nathaniel Hills died, aged 79 years. 

April 30, 1809. Voted to release Dea. Arad Hall, at his request, 
as deacon and chose in his stead Bro. Nathan Cross. 

May 21, 1809. The church voted to give Dea. Arad Hall a letter 
of license to improve his gift in preaching. 

The church, at her request Oct. 26, 1809, was dismissed from the 
Leyden Baptist Association and united with the Dublin Baptist As- 
sociation held at Greenfield, N. H., represented by Deacon Nathan 
Cross and Jonathan Bailey as delegates thereto, at which the name 



172 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

was changed from " Swanzey and Winchester," to " Swanzey" 
churcli. 

Ma}' 10, 1810. Deacon Nathan Cross was chosen leader for all 
relisJiious meetings for time indefinite. 

June 6, 1810. Thomas Crisson united witli the church by baptism, 
following which, June 13, 1810, Jonathan Bailey, also, and Octol)er 
21, 1810, Joseph Hammond became members of the church by baptism. 

January 3, 1812. Died Sister Lydia Crouch, wife of Amos Crouch, 
of Chesterfield, being the first recorded death in the churcii. 

February — 1812. Granted a letter of dismission to brother 
Thomas Crisson. Membership of the church at this time was eighty- 
one. 

April 2, 1812. Joseph Hammond was chosen deacon, and on April 
13, 1812, was chosen church clerk. 

November 4, 1812, Brother Levi Dunham was ordained as a gos- 
pel minister; Elder Joseph Elliot preached the sermon ; lOlder Charles 
Cummings made the consecrating prayer; Elijah Willard gave the 
charge to the candidate and Elder Joseph Elliot gave the hand of fel- 
lowship. 

In the year 1814 the outside of the meeting-house was finished at 
the expense of about four hundred dollars. 

September 9, 1816. At the request of Jonathan Metcalf and others, 
the church chose Elder Levi Dunham, Dea. Nathan Cross, Joseph 
Slate, Dea. Joseph Hammond and Jonathan Bailey to assist in form- 
ing a Baptist Church in Ash Swamp. 

February 27, 1817. Received Elder Nathaniel Bowles and his wife, 
Thankful, by letter from the church in Bethlehem. 

May, 1819. A letter of dismission was granted to Elder Levi Dun- 
ham to unite with the Baptist Church in Dummerston, Vt. 

July 12, 1819. Elder Peter Rogers was received by letter from the 
church in Bernardston, Mass. 

March 18, 1820. The church raised one hundred and fifty dollars 
to finish the inside of the meeting-house, and for that purpose chose 
Rufus Read, Benjamin Hannnond and Jotham frames. 

Sept. IG, 1820. Bro. Jotham Fames was chosen clerk of the 
church. 

January 23, 1823. The church voted to employ Dea. Tristan Al- 
drich to supply the pulpit for time indefinite. 

June 12, 1823. Dea. Tristan Aldrich was ordained to the work of 
the gospel ministry, by the church, with the advice of council from the 
churches by their delegates from the towns following : 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 173 

From Leverett — Dea. Isaac "Woodbury and Nathan Riplej''. 

From Wendell — Elder Daniel Goddard and Dea. Elislia Osgood. 

From New Salem — Elder Asa Niles, J. Hemmingwaj-, S. Cham- 
berlain and Dea. Farwell Thomas. 

From Chesterfield — Elder Levi Dunham and Dea. Asa Thompson. 

From RoyalsLon — Elder Joseph M. Graves, James Kelton and 
James Forri stall. 

From Dublin — Elder Charles Cummings. 

June 19, 1823. B}' advice of council, the church withdrew the hand 
of church fellowship from Polder Peter Rogers, Elder Nathaniel Bowles 
and about a dozen other members of the church for violation of. 
church covenant and gave each a letter of exclusion ; the withdrawal 
of the hand of fellowship publicly proclaimed in the pulpit. 

Tiie control of the meeting-house, obtained by the excluded mem- 
bers and other members of the society, obliged the church to worship 
many years, altei-uately, at a dwelling house where Darius E. Wright 
now resides and at the dwelling-house now owned by Marshall P. 
Rixford in Westport. 

1832. The church voted to grant Brother Caleb Sawyer a license 
to improve his gift in preaching. 

Feb. — , 1832. The church granted a letter of dismission to Elder 
Tristan Aldrich from the pastoral care of the church, and in 1833 re- 
newed the license of Dea. Jonathan Baile^' to preach the gospel. 

March 16, 1835. The church employed Elder John Woodbury who 
was pastor two years when the church, at his request, granted him 
a letter of dismission. 

Jan. 30, 1837. Emplo3'ed Dea. Jonathan Bailey to preach for a 
a time indefinite. 

Aug. 1, 1837. The church employed Rev. Frederic Page. 

March 5, 1838. Brother Caleb Sawyer was chosen church clerk. 

March 24, 1839. Rev. Frederic Page made a public confession of 
a sin of which he was guilty and surrendered his ministerial creden- 
tials. 

April 20, 1839. Rev. Charles Cummings from Marlboro became 
pastor of the church and labored about two years when he was fol- 
lowed by Rev. Henry Tonkin, May 1, 1841. He was succeeded by 
Rev. David P. French Jan. 3, 1842. 

January 26, 1842. Died, Dea. Natlian Cross. 

December 2, 1843. Died, Elder Nathaniel Bowles. 

Aug. 11, 1843. Joseph Hammond, jr., was chosen church clerk. 

Aug. 19, 1843. At the request of the Baptist Church in Nelson, the 



174 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

church sent Revs. David P. French and Tristan Aldrich and Dea. Jo- 
se[)li Hammond as delegates to sit in council with the view of ordain- 
ing Bro. Caleb Sawyer to the work of the gospel ministr}'. 

In the 3'ear 1843 the church made extensive alterations in the meet- 
ing house by removing the box pews and placing slips therein. 

Aug. 28, 1844. Died, Bro. Rufus Read. 

December 5, 1844. Bro. Asa Withington received a license to 
preach. 

Sept. 3, 1845. The membership of the church was 182. 

Dec. 22, 1845. Died, Bro. Nathaniel Hills. 

June 19, 1847. Rev. David G. Mason became successor to Rev. 
David P. French as pastor. 

Oct. 4, 1849. Brethren Martin Thompson and John A. Ilamblet 
were chosen deacons. Dea. Joseph Hammond and Dea. Jonathan 
Baile}^ being excused by their request from further oflicial labor. 

March 11, 1850. Died, Bro. Jotham Fames, jr., aged 56 3'ears. 

In the 3'ear 1851 the church purchased of John Stratton one-half 
of an acre of land bounded on the east by R. R. street, about eight 
rods and on the north about ten rods by^Maple street, upon which was 
erected a parsonage, by a committee consisting of Martin Thompson, 
Solon W. Snow and Rev. David G. Mason, by funds largcl}' raised 
by voluntary' contribution b}^ Rev. David G. Mason, who being a car- 
penter by trade, built the barn with some needful assistance, and af- 
ter the completion of the parsonage, it was, occupied b^' him during 
the remainder of his pastorate when, in 1855, on account of failing 
health, he resigned the pastoral charge in the church and removed to 
Keene. p^mployed Rev. Tristan Aldrich for time indefinite. Aug. 
31, 1856, Rev. Rufus Smith became his successor and pastor of the 
chui'ch until Feb. 19, 1859. At his request he was granted a letter 
of dismission and returned to the state of Vermont. Feb. 23, 1857, 
died, Dea. Jonathan Baile\-, aged 68 yrs. 

Dec. 11, 1859. Rev. James W. Searll began his miiiisteriallabors. 
April 24, 1861, died, Dea. Joseph Hammond, aged 79 years. Died 
Dec. 19, 1863, Sister Sarah Draper of Chesterfield, aged 101 3'ears, 
5 months, 16 days. 

April 30, 1863. Phinehas A. Ware was chosen clerk of the church 
to fill the vacanc3' caused by the removal of Joseph Hammond to 
Keene. 

October 13, 1865. Ziba Ware was chosen deacon and successor to 
Dea. Martin Thompson. 

December 1, 1868. Rev. D. S. Hawle3', in the ministr3', succeeded 



ECCLESIASTICAL . 175 

Rev. James W. Searll, and by agreement between pastor and church 
his labors, Aug. 26, 1869, were to close three months after date. 

September 9, 1869. A council of the church was called to consider 
and advise regarding certain grave charges relating to his domestic 
affairs, consisting of pastors and delegates from the following church- 
es : Dublin, Keene, Troy, Fitzwilliam and East Jaffrey, who formed 
themselves into a council by choosing Rev. E. J. Emer^', moderator, 
and Rev. A. V. Tilton, clerk. 

January 6, 1870. The church, at a meeting held at their house of 
worship, in harmony with the advice of council and for reasons there- 
in sutficiently stated and read before the meeting, voted unanimously, 
hereby, to declare as, in our judgment, unfit for the ministry and to 
exclude from our church fellowship our brother and late pastor Dan- 
iel 8. Hawley. 

Charles Ball, Moderator. 
Joseph Hammond, Clerk. 

Februar}' 5, 1870. Received by letter from the church in Troy, Rev. 
S. A. Blake who became minister and pastor. 

Dec. 31, 1871. Died Rev. Tristan Aldrich, aged 89 years. 

Feb., 1873. Rev. Enville J. Emery of East Jaffrey followed Rev. 
S. A. Blake in the ministry and in the same year April 26, the church 
chose Joseph Hammond, Phinehas II. Snow and Obadiah Sprague a 
committee to remodel and repair the meeting-house which, when com- 
pleted, was in June, 1874, dedicated to the worship of God in the us- 
ual form and manner, as it uo\v is. 

September 1, 1876. Died, Sister Betsey Aldrich, widow of Rev. 
Tristan Aldrich, deceased. 

January 12, 1877. Membership of the church was 94. 

January 11, 1879. Died Sister Calista Hamblet, aged 69, wife of 
Dea. John A. Hamblet. 

Possibly, some individuals of future generations may be interested 
to know when and by whom the shade trees standing on the eastern 
arc, girting in part the enclosed ground on which the meeting-house 
stands, were set. 

May, 1880. At the southeast entrance of the enclosure, at the right, 
stands : 

No. 1, an elm tree, set by Joseph Hammond ; No. 2, a rock maple 
tree, set by Joel Hammond ; No. 3, an elm tree, set by Rev. Enville 
J. Emery ; No. 4, a rock maple set by C. C. Brooks ; No. 5, an elm 
tree set by Charles Ball ; No. 6, a rock maple set by Mrs. Melissa 



176 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Emer}^ ; No. 7, an elm tree set l\y Webster D. Derby ; No. 8, a rock 
maple set by Abraham Hill; No. 9, an elm tree set by Mrs. Mary 
L. "Wilson ; No. 10, a rock maple set b}' Pbinehas H. Snow ; No. 11, 
a rock maple set by Solon W. Snow and stands at the right of the 
northeast entrance; No. 12, an elm tree set by Asa S. Kendall. 

November 30, 1882. George W. Brooks was chosen clerk of the 
church. 

May 29, 1883. Rev. S. G. Abbott of Hinsdale by invitation of the 
church to become their under Shepherd, accepted the same and en- 
tered upon his ministerial labor July 1, 1883. 

Aug. 4, 1883. A letter of dismission was granted to Rev. Enville 
J. Emery to unite with the church at Greenville, N. H. 

Feb. 11, 1884. Died, sister Ardelia C. Hammond, aged 59, wife of 
Joseph Hammond. 

Januar}' 21, 1885. Died, brother Joel Hammond, aged 73. 

George W. Brooks, clerk of the church, died October 4, 188G. Jo- 
seph Hammond chosen clerk April 5, 188G. 

Ill 1889, H. Denman Thompson, through his benevolence, donated 
and conveyed to the church about half an ficre of land lying west of 
and adjoining the church land, being a portion of the ''Old Tannery 
Lot," upon the condition that the church should remove the horse- 
sheds west to the west line of land thus conve3'ed bj^ deed. 

Early in 1890 the church sold their parsonage to H. Denman 
Thompson for $2000. 

April, 1890. Joseph Hammond resigned the office of church clerk 
and Daniel Snow was chosen to fdl the vacanc\'. 

Rev. Stephen G. Abbott resigned the pastorate -iMay 1, 1890, and 
removed to Keene. The church chose a committee consisting of Nor- 
ris C. Carter, as contractor, and Ziba Ware, P. Atwood Ware, Dan- 
iel Snow and Solon W. Snow as advisor}' members, who during the 
season contracted and erected a new parsonage south of their house 
of worship. 

The membership of the church at this date, Jan. 1, 1890, is eighty- 
five, eighteen of whom united with the church more than fifty years 
ago. Clarissa (Sawyer) Woodcock became a member December, 
1824, and lias retained her relation therein more than sixtv-six years. 

Kezia IM. P^ames united with the church Sept. 12, 1819, having 
been a member more than seventy-one years. 

Rev. C. F. Clarke came here June, 1890, and is pastor at the pres- 
ent time. 






o 

w 
> 

GO 
> 






o 


GO 




o 


> 




s 


r^ 




5 


CO 




o 


^ 






s 




GO 


m 




■H 


m 




tn 


-^ 




t:d 






t-" 


s 




-< 


o 

CO 






^ 






t-n 


1^ 




C/5 


'!/ 




^ 


? 



GO 




ii(ap.ii|ii«OTPi«i«p.*^r<^Hn«^ 






ECCLESIASTICAL. 177 

Formation of the Sunday School connected with the Baptist Church 

in Swanzey. 
When the Baptist Church in Swanzey worshipped in their parson- 
age wliich stood on the spot wliereon now stands the residence of Da- 
rius E. Wright, Sunday School instruction in bible truths was deemed 
of so great importance to the rising generation and the growth and 
prosperity of the church that in 1827 a constitution was framed and 
adopted for their guide in action by the leading members of the 
church. No record of 1828. 

3f embers of the Society in 1829. 
Bible class. — Joseph Hammond, Jonathan Bailey, Jotham Eames, 
Jotham Eames, jr., James Olcott, William G. Eames, Joshua Snow, 
Rufus Read, Silas Parsons, Esther Stearns, Lucina Olcott, Polly Gunn, 
William Clark, Maria Howard, Sarah Field, Martin Stone, Amos 
Crouch, Nathaniel Thompson, Paddock Lawrence, Caleb Sawyer, 
Nathan Cross, .Joshua Sawyer, Joseph Slate, Mary Ockington, Kezia 
M. Eames, Lucy Cross, Eusebia Eames. 

NAMES OF SCHOLARS IN 1834. 

First class. — Joseph Slate, Rufus Read, Jotham Eames, John 
Crouch, Phinehas Hamblet, John Crouch, jr., John Withington, John 
Chamberlain, Joshua Sawyer, Martin Tliompson, Martin Stone, Peter 
Holbrook, Joshua Snow, John Grimes, Moses Thayer, Jonas Temple, 
James Olcott, Samuel Holbrook. Dea. Jonathan Baile3', Teacher. 

Second class. — Rachel Estabrook, Sarah Ware, Kezia Read, M. N. 
Carlton, Mrs. John Chamberlain, Mrs. Jonas Temple, Mary Hill, 
Polly Holbrook, Lucina Sawyer, Hannah Sawyer, Kezia M. ICames, 
Lucy Cross, Mrs. Day, Abigad Crouch, Betsey Stone, Mary Thayer, 
Olive Crossett, Pannelia Howard, Almira Albee, Sarah Cummings, 
Mrs. AVhittemore, Abigail Amidon, Emily Bolles, Cynthia Sawyer. 
Dea. Joseph Hammond, Teacher. 

Third class. — Virgil AVoodcock, Elisha Hutchins, Harrison Eve- 
leth, Ziba Ware, Franklin Holman, William Clark, Alexander Thayer, 
Benjamin F. Lombard. Rev. John Woodbury, Teacher. 

Fourth class. — Delia A. Day, Sarah Day, Permelia Howard, 2d, 
Lucretia Howard, Arvilla Bailey, Eunice Snow, Julia Annie Snow, 
Phebe Snow, Lucy Read, Eliza Olcott, Hester Clark, Julina Snow, 
Nancy S. Chamberlain, Priscilla Thayer, Olive Holbrook, Louisa 
Crossett, Betsey Aldrich, Louisa Taft, Azuba Cross, Maria Aldrich, 
Hannah Cross, Caroline Cummings. Mrs. John Woodbur^^, Teacher. 
12 



178 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Fifth clans. — "Betse}' Ilaramoml, Laura Da}', Estina Edwards, Eliza 
Ann Thayer, Mary Olcott. Mrs. P^veletli, Teacher. 

Sixth class. — Azuba Hammond, Sarah Bailey, Lovisa Bailc}', Lucy 
Eanies, Almira Albee, Cliloe Holbrook, Sally Stone, Annis Snow, 
Martha Louisa Hill, Rhoda Lawrence, Harriet Ware. P^usebia Eames, 
Teacher, 

Seventh class. — Ilein-y Holl)rook, Daniel Snow, Solon AV. Snow, 
Phinehas A. Ware, David Karnes, Robert Crossett, Morril Hammond, 
Daniel Hammond, Wilder Cross, Clark Bailey, Benjamin Hammond, 
jr. Jotham Eames, jr.. Teacher. 

Eighth class. — Calista Coburn, Sarah Tliompson, Caroline Thomp- 
son, Kezia Thayer, Mary Thayer, Esther M. Stearns, Eliza Albee, 
Louisa Howard. Delia Day, Teacher. 

Ninth class. — Nanc^' Eames, Rebecca Bailc}', Kezia Eames, Julia 

Ann Crossett, Cynthia Sawyer, A. jMelissa Albee. Miss I'lige^ 

Teacher. 

Tenth class. — Francis Crouch, Jonas Temple, jr., Charles Temple, 
James C. Eames, Charles S. Whitcomb, Phinehas H. Snow, John 
Woodbur}', jr. William Calkins, Teaclier.^ 

Eleventh class. — Wesle}' Cross, Joseph Ware, Jndson A. Read, 
Ahaz E. Howard, Daniel Cummings. Martin Thompson, Teacher. 

SUPKRINTENDENTS. 

Rev. Tristan Aldrich, 1829-1832; Joseph Slate, 1833; Rev. John 
Woodbury, 1834; B. H. Carlton, 1835; No record, 1836; Martin 
Thompson, 1837; John Chamberlain, 1838-1839; No record, 1840; 
Caleb Sawyer, 1841-1842; Rev. D. P. French, 1843; Dea. Jonathan 
Bailey, 1844; Elisha Hutchins, 1845; Martin Thompson, 1846; 
Joseph ILammond, jr., 1847; Rev. Tristan Aldrich, 1848; Henry P. 
Read, 1849; Clark Bailey, 1850; Henry Holbrook, 1851; Dea. M. 
Thompson, 1852; Simeon B. Nelson, 1853-1854; Henry Holbrook, 
1855 ; Simeon B. Nelson, 1856 ; Dea. John A. Hamblet, 1857-1858 ; 
Solon W. Snow, 1859-1864; Phinehas A. Ware, 1865-1868; Ardelia 
C. Hammond, 1869 ; Charles L. Ball, 1870-1871 ; Joseph Hammond, 
1872-1882; George W. Brooks, 1883-1885 ; Rev. Stephen G. Ab- 
bott, 1887-1889; Edward H. Snow, 1890. 

NAMES OF SUNDAY SCHOOLS SCHOLARS, 1890. 

First class. — Lillian Carter, Irma Rich, Blanche Bullard, Bertha 
Bullard, Ressie Bullard, Cressie Eames, Mary Sprague, Olive Clark, 
Phebe Beal, Frank Derby, Leslie Snow, IMyron Hardy, ClilFord 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 179 

McClenning, Clifton Eames, George Dolby, Lee Burke. Alice Spar- 
hawk, Teacher. 

Second class. — Josie Conbo}', Alice Iredale, Mamie Conboy, Ber- 
tha Sprague, May Clark, Lillian Emery, Pearl Dickinson, Mabel 
Prime, Lela Evans, Nellie Dolby, Venie Dolby, Addie Emer}-, Gracie 
Russell, Mary Bullard, Emma Gamasli, Mamie Atkinson, Roy East- 
man, Eddie Clark, Sanford Hardy, Fred Parker, Walter McClenning, 
Joseph Pageot, Eddie Fletcher, Georgie Russell, Ernest Snow, John 
Bullard, John Conboy. Mrs. W. F. Oakman, Teacher. 

Tliird class — Lizzie N. Snow, Lizzie Read, Lelia Read, Edna 
Ware, Lillian Iredale, Lottie Seaver, Cora Sisson, Marion E. Ham- 
mond, Elsie Bemis, Grace Beal. Mrs. Sarah Snow, Teacher. 

Fourth class. — Harriet Chamberlain, Sarah E. Read, Fannie M. 
Snow, Mar}^ L. Ball, Martha A. Sparhawk, Eunice W. Stanle}', Phebe 
R. Hewes, Almira J, Fox, Elmira T. Crouch, Belle R. Angler, Sarah 
Drai)er, E. Jennie Cutler, Kezia Eames, Martha E. Sprague, Phebe 
A. Bliss. Mrs. P. Atwood Ware, Teacher. 

Fifth class. — Mary F. Snow, Susie H. Sargent, Mary T. Carter, 
Nancy A. Carter, Mary L. Handy, Annette H. Derby, Anna L. Hol- 
brook, Cora J. Lovering, Luella M. Sawyer, Annette Hewes, Emma 
Eastman, Julia pj. Emery. Mrs. A. Melissa Stearns, Teacher. 

Sixth class. — Charles L. Ball, Luman B. Crouch, Henry P. Read, 
Phinehas A. AVare, Henry Holbrook, Solon W. Snow, Ziha Ware, 
Harve}' Sargent, Joseph Pageot, Joseph Hammond. Webster D. 
Derb}", Teacher. 

Seventh class. — Norris C. Carter, Amos Beal, Lester Towne, Her- 
bert Chamberlain, Herbert Carter, Albert Hardy, James E. Hand}', 
Walter F. Oakman, Ansel Bourn, Frank S. Faulkner, Ervin Bullard, 
Frank L, Snow, James Ware, Daniel Snow. Rev. C. F. Clark, 
Teacher. 

Eighth class. — Harr}' Iredale, Harlan Hard}', Arthur Kirkpatrick, 
Bert Emery, Willie Gamash, Ivo Beal. Henry Derby, Teacher. 

Ninth class. — Arthur Ware, Frank Emery, Pldgar P^mery, Fred 
Clark, Herbert Kingman, Robert Hammill, Joseph Hammill, Ernest 
Barrett, Herbert Carter, jr., Charles Crouch, George Crouch, George 
Wright, Fred Richardson, George Derby, Charles Derb}', Edward 
Bourn, Oscar Bourn, Myron Prentiss, Charles Hewes, Edward Be- 
mis, Alice Bliss, Minnie Wright, Lilla Parsons, Florence (Carter) 
Emery, Emily Holbrook, Maud Evans, Nellie Clark, Lula Richard- 
son, Sarah Dolby, Winfred Kingman, Mattie Kingman, Josie Paige, 
Jessie Paige, Christie Calkins, Annie Capron. Mrs. Julia E. Snow, 
Teacher. 



180 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 



History of the Mkthodist Episcopal Church in Swanzey. 

Viirious attempts have been made by the earl}'' itinerant to establish 
Methodist preaching in Swanzey, but all efforts proved unavailing. 
About 1840 efforts were again made to establish preaching at Swanzey 
Factory and East Swanzey with but little success, although a class 
was formed at the latter place and connected with the Keene charge. 
In the fall and winter of 1860, religious services were held in the 
school-house at Westport by Rev. T. L. Fowler attended with some 
interest. In 18G7, Mr. Fowler held Sunday service in Bartlett's Hall 
at Westport which was continued for three j'ears, with so little suc- 
cess that it did not seem advisable to form a class, or take measures 
to organize a church, and preaching, at that time, was abandoned. 
In April, 1877, Mr. Fowler was employed to preach at West Swanzey 
and Westport on alternate Sundays in the Universalist meeting house, 
so generously tendered b}'^ the people of West Swanzey until the last 
Sundav in October after which the meelinus were held in the school- 
house in Westport and the third service was held in the school-house 
in District No. 8 on Maple Hill. 

As a result of these labors more than twenty persons made a profes- 
sion of faith, and on the 19th da}' of September, 1877, a class was formed 
and on July 3, 1878, a church was formed in accordance with the us- 
ages of the M. E. church by the officiating pastor, composed of the 
following members : Alexander Cuthbert, Nelson R. Cuthbert, Lucy 
J. Smith, Lizzie Faulkner, Elmma A. Faulkner, Israel H. Gunn, L^nlia 
M. Gunn, Sarah Read, Anna L. Read, Sarah B. Stephenson, Mary 
L. Holbrook, Jennie M. Holbrook,Mary J. Holbrook, Fannie E. Hol- 
brook, Emogene E. McClenning, Lucy C. Lakin, Nelson Collier and 
Susan Johnson. 

The first report to the N. H. Annual Conference was submitted by 
Rev. T. L. Fowler April 9, 1879, at Plymouth, George J. Judkins, 
presiding elder. Statistics: number on probation, 12; members in 
full connection, 18; number of baptisms, 11; one Sunday vScliool : 
teachers and officers, 8 ; scholars, 34. Mr. Fowler was appointed by 
the conference to supply for the ensuing year ending April 7, 1880. 

During the year a good degree of interest was manifested, but no 
addition to the church. Sunday School numbered 40 ; average attend- 
ance 32. 

During the \'ear 1881 the church was without a pastor, but by a per- 
severing effort of the members the Sunda}' School and social meetings 
were sustained. At some period in the year the Rev. George A. Tyrrell 
was secured as pastor, and was appointed the following year as supply. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 181 

During the year 1881 the church was equipped with a full board of offi- 
cers and committees, and placed in good working order and was again 
supplied by Rev. George A. Tyrrell up to April, 1883. From Oct. 9, 
1882 to May 25, 1885, there are no records to be found. From Sept. 
20, 1885, Rev. S. C. Keeler of Keene held one service on Sunday for 
a time. The first quarterly conference ending April, 1887, reports 
the pulpit supplied by Rev. C. W. Dockerill and Rev. C. J. Chase on 
alternate Sundays. At this meeting Luman J. Crouch and Arthur 
B. Davison were appointed a committee to agitate the subject of 
building a chapel. 

At the fourth quarterly conference held Oct. 8, 1886, voted to ac- 
cept the report of the committee which was that the sum of $1232.70 
had been raised and a chapel was erected and furnished : all this was 
done by a persevering effort on the part of pastor and people aided by 
friends of AVesti)ort and those who loved the prosperity of Zion leaving 
the little church free from debt. All this and more, it is reasonnble 
to believe, might have been accomplished in 1880, had all the members 
been as zealous as they were in 1887. More money was then raised 
on subscription and as good feeling existed toward the little church 
then struggling for existence as when the chapel was built. The 
chapel was dedicated April 6, 1887, and supplied b}^ Rev. C. ^Y. Dock- 
erill of Winchester with twenty members in full connection and five 
on probation. During the conference year ending April, 1889, the pul- 
pit was supplied by Rev. William Woods of Winchester and ten mem- 
bers were received in full connection and four on probation. At the 
conference held Feb. 18, 1889, the preacher in charge reports that 
tiie chapel had been supplied with a bell by H. Denman Thompson, 
Esq., for which he was tendered a vote of thanks, while the church and 
people duly appreciate his generous gift as well as the clear mellow 
sound of the church-ooing bell to S'acred service calling. 

The conference year ending Api'il, 1890, the pulpit was supplied by 
Rev. M. T. Cilley of AVinchester. The Ladies' Society connected with 
the church felt the need of rooms annexed to the chapel in which to 
meet and serve them as a parlor, dining room and kitchen. Accord- 
ingly an addition to the chapel in the fall of 1889 was erected and 
completed in the spring at a cost of $314, and in less than one year 
they had money sufficient to pay all bills, leaving a surplus in the 
treasury. 

Rev. M. T. Cilley was re-appointed to supply the pulpit the ensu- 
ing 3^ear ending April, 1891. There are at the present time thirty- 
seven members in full connection and three on probation ; in all fifty- 
eight persons have been connected with the church. The cost of the 



182 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

chapel, parlor and furniture amounted to $1600. Through the gener- 
osity of S. Wilson Lawrence of Pulnier, Mass., the church received a 
donation of $50 to be used for the benefit of the [)oor. 

Keijort says tliat the lute Nancy S. Howard left l)y will a legacy of 
8500 towards erecting a M. E. church in West Swauzey if built with- 
in ten years from her decease. 

The Universalist Society. 

Among the earlj' settlers of this town there were tiiose who relig- 
iously classed themselves as believers in the final restitution of all 
souls. In the cemeter}'^ at the Centre of the town is a granite monu- 
ment with this inscription : 

"Gains Hills. 

DiedJune 1, 180i. 

Aged 31 years. 

In life he xoasa Christian. He was the first in this town who died in the belief 
that all loho die in Adam shall be made alive in Christ. 

Priscilla Cummings, 
Wife of Gains Hills, died Feb. 3, 1815. Aged 41. 

This monument is erected to their memory by their children, Luther, Clarissa 

and Albert." 

We infer from this that, as a denomination, it dates its origin in 
Swanzey at about the beginning of the present century or a little before. 

Hosea Bullou, the son of Polder Ballou of Richmond, after his con- 
version to Universalism, being a young man, was wont to hold meet- 
ings occasionally in school-houses in the south part of the town. After 
this Revs. Sebastian and Russell Streeter held frequent meetings in 
school-houses and barns. These brothers spent much of their youth 
in this town, their father's family residing on the east side of the road 
opposite tlie picnic grounds by Swanzey pond. The old house went 
to decay a score of years ago. Both these men became eminent min- 
isters in their denomination. F'oUowing them Rev, Mr. Hudson of 
Massachusetts preached occasionally — one-fourth of the time or of- 
tener — for several years. However, there was no organization till 
somewhere about 1836, wlien Rev. Joseph Barber was settled in town, 
preaching in the Old Meeting house at the Centre of the town, as did 
Mr. Hudson who preceded him. He was actively engaged in the tem- 
perance cause, and his earnest lectures on the sul)ject produced a most 
salutar}^ effect upon the communit}'. He otherwise served the people 
most faithfully. 

Upon his leaving town, his'brother Rev. William N. Barber supplied 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 183 

his place for some time. Afterward Rev. James Bailey' preached more 
or less. 

When Mt. Caesar Seminary was established in 1842, being in charge 
of Rev. L. J. Fletcher, lie supplied the pulpit for several years, Rev. 
E. Davis preaching a portion of the time. 

Mr. Fletcher was succeeded as principal of the seminary by Rev. 
J. S. Lee who preached for the society some two years. In 1853 Rev. 
S. H. M'CoUester took charge of the seminary, preaching every Sun- 
day in the forenoon in the Assembly Room of the Seminary, and in 
the afternoon, at West Swanzey. This year the Universalist church 
edifice there was built and another society formed. During his min- 
istr}' a clmrch was organized at the Centre, consisting of thirt3'-three 
members, and the Parish numbered some fifty families, while at "West 
Swanzey the Parish was still larger. A Sunday school was organized 
in each society, numbering more tlian sixty scholars. Mr. M'Colles- 
ter's ministry continued for five years when he was obliged to leave 
on account of his health. 

For 3'ears these pulpits were not supplied with stated preaching. 
At length Rev. N. R. Wright was settled at West Swanzey. 

The seminary at the centre of the town was now suspended and 
the Universalist meetings were held altogether at West Swanzey. On 
Mr. Wright's leaving, there were only occasional supplies till Rev. 
Emma E. Bailey revived the society and preached to it for two years. 
Miss Bailey was ordained here. 

From 1883 to 1885 Rev. R. T. Polk, who was the settled Universa- 
list minister at Marlboro, held meetings at East Swanzey in the af- 
ternoon of each Sunday. 

Since Miss Bailey left there have been only occasional meetings at 
West Swanzey. Most of the former supporters of Universalisra have 
either died or removed from town ; still there are not a few who still 
incline to the faith. 

The right to the use of the old meeting-house was claimed by both 
the Congregational and Universalist societies, and so far as is known 
this right was conceded each to the other ; but the former society 
wishing for a place for continuous Sunday worship, in 1835 relin- 
quished its claim and erected the brick edifice now in use. While 
there is no record that there was any attempt on the part of any de- 
nomination to infringe on the rights of others, or in any wa}'^ injure 
them, it is a pleasant thought, that, in common with Christians ever}'- 
where there has been and is an increasing fraternal and Christ-like 
spirit manifested, a desire to work together and help instead of stand- 
ing aloof and repelling each other. 



CHAPTEE VT. 

Educational. 



Early Votes pertaining to Schools— School Districts— School Housks. 

— Al'l'ARATUS — SUPEUVISION — SurElilNTENOING SCHOOL COMMITTKE — 

Board of Education— Appropriations— Division of School Money — 
High School— Teachers— Text Books— Spelling Schools— School 
Associations — Swanzky Academy— Libraries — Chautauqua L. and 
S. Circle. 

THE early official records of the town pertaining to schools, seliool- 
liouses and education in general are exceeding!}' fragmentary ; 
and even with the aid of tradition and other collateral helps, only an 
imperfect history can be written. 

The first reference to the subject is Ihe following in the warrant for 
a proprietors' meeting to be held on the 30th day of June, 1740. 

"Art. 5. To choose a committee to hire a school dame to instruct 
our children in reading." It was voteil at said meeting to dismiss 
the article. 

"At a legal meeting of the Proprietors of Lower Ashuelot held by 
several adjournments on the twenty-ninth day of June, A. D. 1743, 
Voted to adjourn the meeting until the last Wednesda}- in Jul}' next 
at ei^ht of the clock in the morning to meet at the school-house." 

"At a meeting of Proprietors held the last Wednesday of Septem- 
ber, 1743, at the house of Nathaniel Gunn, Timothy Brown, Eliakim 
King and Capt. Nathaniel Hammond were chosen a committee to fin- 
ish the school-house forthwith so as to meet in." 

It is probable that the words "to meet in" had reference to holding 
their religious meetings. 

April 21, 17o3, a meeting for the union of the churches in Keene 
and Swanzej' was held at the school-house in Swanzey. This house 
probably stood on the school lot on jNIeeting-House hill, but when it 
was built, how long it remained, or of anything further pertaining to 
it, there is no record. It probably remained and was the only school- 
house in town, until after the Revolutionar}' war, and was em[)hati- 
cally a town house, used for both secular and religious purposes. 
(184) 




< 
en 

GO 



o 

o 
o 



c/2 
UJ 

o 






EDUCATIONAL. 185 

March 5, 1771, the town "voted that the sum of eight pounds law- 
ful money be granted and assigned to hire schooling," 

Nov. 22. "Voted that there shall be a school kept this winter in 
four different places in town at different times, and that Thomas 
Ai)plin, Joshua Graves, Lieut. Joseph Whitcomb, Capt. Joseph Ham- 
mond and Mr. William Carr be a committee to settle and appoint 
where the said school shall be kept this winter in such places as they 
shall judge most convenient for the inhabitants." 

March 3, 1772. ^'^ Voted to raise twelve pounds lawful mone}' to 
hire schooling." 

^'' Voted, That the town be divided into five districts for keeping 
school this year." 

" Voted, That Thomas Applin, Joshua Graves, Lieut. Jonathan Whit- 
comb, William Grimes, sen., and Thomas Cresson, jr., be a committee 
to divide the town into the several districts and make report to this 
meeting." The meeting was adjourned to May 2nd, at which time 
^' Voted to accept the division of the town into five districts as pre- 
sented to the town at this meeting by a committee appointed by the 
town. Voted, That each of the aforesaid districts shall have the money 
which they pay towards the school rate to pay for schooling in their 
districts as they shall agree among themselves, to lay out the same, 
provided they \ay out the same within a year from this time for schools, 
and if not laid out within that time to be disposed of as the town shall 
think proper." 

At an adjourned meeting June 1st, the committee reported as fol- 
lows : — "We the subscribers being appointed a committee to divide the 
town into five districts for keeping school this year, having considered 
and consulted upon the affairs, are of the opinion that the following 
is a just and proper division as we can make, viz. : 

That all between the East and South Branches shall belong to one 
division ; all on the north side of the river and the upper end of the 
town street so far as to include Mr. Carpenter and Abner Graves 
shall belong to another division or district ; and the south part of the 
town street, Mr. Benjamin Brown, Nathaniel Hills, Samuel Wright, 
Josiah Bramin, Elkanah Woodcock, Nathan Woodcock, Dr. Ham- 
mond, and Thomas Hammond to belong to another district; and all 
that part of the town which was taken off from Richmond (excepting 
Daniel Warner who belongs to the first-mentioned district) shall be- 
long to another district ; and all the town west of the aforementioned 
districts to belong to another division or district. Thomas Applin, 



186 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Joshua Graves, Jonathan "WhiLcomb, William Grimes, Thomas Cres- 
son, jr., committee." 

At an adjourned meeting, June 2, '•^ Voted, That the above division 
of the town into districts for keeping a school be accepted." 

June 1, 1773. '■'■Voted to build two school-houses for the use of the 
town." 

June 16. " Foied, That one school-house be built by the road as 
near David Belding's as acomn)ittee for bnildino; said houses shall 
think proper ; and that the other be built as near the Pond Brook 
bridge on the north side of the brook as a committee as aforesaid 
shall think proper. 

'■'■Voted, That each of said houses be twenty foot square. 

" Voted, That the aforesaid school-houses be built in sixteen 
months." 

Dec. 29, 1773. '■'Voted, That a school shall be kept part of the 
time at David Belding's house, and part of the time at the house 
which was Dr. Nathaniel Hammond's." 

'■''Voted, That such persons as live more than two miles from the 
place which the school is voted to be kept may have the privilege if 
they desire, of having the money which they pay to the school rate 
this year to lay out as they think proper with the approbation of the 
selectmen, provided thej' lay it out for schooling within a j'ear from 
this time." 

March o, 1774. '■'■Voted, That the former votes respecting stating 
the place for a school and building the school-houses be flung up and 
other measures come into. 

'•'■Voted, That the town be divided into six districts for keeping a 
school for the future, and that each district shall have the money that 
they pay to the school rate to lay out as they please, i)rovided they 
lay it out for schooling within p, 3'ear from the time the money is 
granted, but the school in each district shall be free for any person in 
the town to send their children to at any time. 

"FoiecZ, That Jonathan Hammond, Nathaniel Dickinson, Daniel 
Warner, Samuel Hills, Joseph Whitcomb and Samuel Wright be a 
committee to divide the town into these several districts and make 
report to this meeting." 

March 31, 1774. '''Voted to reconsider the former votes at this 
meeting in regard to schools. Voted to raise twenty pounds lawful 
money to provide schooling this year." 

March 7, 1775. ''Voted, That the town be divided into several dis- 



EDUCATIONAL. 187 

tricts for keeping a school for the future, as follows, viz. : — One district 
at tlie upper or north end of the town, including all on the north or 
northwest side of Ashuelot River as far down as to take Capt. Whit- 
comb's farm, and also on the other side of said river including Lieut. 
Joseph Wliitcomb, John Frary, John FoUett, jr., Jonathan Uran, 
Greenwood Carpenter, Wyat Gunn and Abner Graves ; and up the 
town street so far as to take David Belding, and down the street so 
far as to take Deacon Hammond. And one district on the east side 
of the South Branch, including all between the South and East 
Branches." 

The following-named petitioners resided in the southwest part of 
the town in what is now No. 8 and vicinity. 

"We, the subscribers, living very remote from any district where we 
might be convenient with a school for our children, do humbly peti- 
tion that the town would vote us off as a district and grant that the 
money which we pa^'^ towards maintaining a school in this town may 
be laid out for schooling in the said district as near the centre as may 
be with convenience. 

Swanzey, March 3, 1775. 

Israel Da}^, Samuel Thompson, 

Josepli Day, John Fleinings, 

Justus Lawrence, Jonathan Da}', 

Samuel Ware, Patrick Green, 

Dennis Hafferon, Mical Heffron." 

At a legal meeting March 7, 1775, it was "■Voted, That the above 
request be complied with during the town's pleasure." 

At this meeting Samuel Page, Elijali Graves and Daniel Warner 
were chosen a committee "to bound out a district in the south part of 
the town and to state a place for a schoolhouse." 

" Voted to raise 20 pounds for schooling." 

Dec. 18, 1775. "Voted to apply the twenty pounds which was 
granted to hire schooling tiiis year toward paying the province tax." 

177G. "Voted not to raise any money for schooling." 

Jan. 23, 1777. "It was voted that the town be divided into five 
districts for keeping school this present year, and a committee to 
make the division consisted of Samuel Page, Jonathan Hammond, 
David Belding, Henry Morse and William Grimes. 

"Voted, That a school shull be kept in each district in proportion to 
the money assessed on them last year for schooling, and at such time 
or times and in such place or places, and by such master or masters, 
as the major part of such district shall agree to with the approbation 
of the selectmen." 



188 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

March 4, 1777. At a legal meeting called at the meeting-house 
but adjourned to the school-house (probably because the latter was 
warmer and more comfortable), " Voted to raise forty pounds for 
schooling." 

In 1778 fifty pounds were raised for the same purpose, and in 1779 
one hundred pounds. 

From the following petition from residents in the westerly part of 
the town we infer that the only school-house in town at that time 
was the one on Meeting-house hill. 

"To the inliabitants of the town of Swanzey. Gentlemen — We the 
subscribers, inhabitants of the town of Swanzey, not being conven- 
iently situated to attend school at the school-house, and being anx- 
iously concerned for the education of our children, humbly request the 
favor of being formed into a school district by ourselves, witli the lib- 
erty of building a school-house and appropriating our proportion of 
school money for the use and benefit of a school in said district. 

Swanzey, March 1, 1779. 

Clement Sumner, Joseph "Whitcomb, Daniel Gunn, Benjamin 01- 
cott, Levi Durant, William Hills, Thomas Greene, Abijah Whitcomb, 
Joseph Whitcomb, jr., John Frarjs Joseph Rasey, John Follett,jr., 
"William Carpenter, Benjamin Follett, John Pierce, Charles Grimes, 
Arthur Fairbanks, Samuel Heaton." 

At a legal meeting of the inhabitants of Swanzey April 1, 1779, 
" Fo^ecZ, That the above request be complied with during the town's 
pleasure." 

1780. ^^ Voted to raise six hundred pounds for schooling." 

May 29, 1780. '■''Voted, That the setting up of schools in tlio town 
for the future be solely in the hands of the selectmen according to the 
directions of the law and likewise the disposal of all moneys raised 
for schooling, any vote of the town heretofore to tlie contrary not- 
withstanding." 

In 1781, '82, '83, '84 and '85, ''Voted not to raise any money for 
schooling." 

" Voted to grant William Grimes, jr. , 140 pounds for keeping school 
in the year 1775." 

1785. "-Voted to pay Sarah Woodcock twenty-two shillings for 
her services in schooling in tlie year past in this town." 

"•Voted to pay Daniel Bishop the sum of twenty-two shillings for 
boarding the said Sarah Woodcock when she kept school." 

The foregoing are all the important records pertaining to school 
matters previous to the close of the Revolutionary war. It will be 



EDUCATIONAL. 189 

seen that our ancestors, while battling with forests, Indians and the 
mother oonntrj', and enduring the hardships incident to pioneer life, 
did not, and probably could not, give that attention to educational 
subjects which their descendants have done in more peaceful times 
and under more favorable circumstances. 

Although previous to the close of the war votes had been passed 
for the formation of districts and the building of school-houses, yet it 
is probable that at this time only one school-house had been built — 
that on Meeting-house hill — and that the districts formed wore onl}' 
of temporary construction. Schools had been held in dwelling-houses 
in various parts of the town under the management of the selectmen 
and the supervision, perhaps, of the ministers who were well edu- 
cated and adapted for the purpose. With the return of peace and the 
advent of more prosperous times, a degree of system and improve- 
ment in educational matters began to manifest itself, which has arad- 
ually grown and increased till the present time. 

SCHOOL DISTRICTS. 

In 1788 a committee, consisting of Samuel Hills, Joshua Graves, 
Daniel Warner, Dan Guild, Roger Thompson, William Grimes, James 
Heaton, .Joseph Hammond, jr., and Joseph Cross, were instructed to 
divide the town into school districts. They reported as follows : 

1. "First district to include Mr. Isaac Applin and all between said 
Ai^plin and Marlborough line, and south of said Applin to Richmond 
line, and as far north as to take Amaziah Peck. 

2. "To go as far south as to take John Starkey, and as far on 
Boston road as John Whitcomb's, and all on the southerlj'- side 
of the Branch, and likewise Elijah Osgood and Amasa Aldrich, 

3. "All northerly from Elijah Osgood's on the east side of the 
Branch as far north as Ebenezer Hills, excepting Levi Durant. 

4. "All remaining on the east of the Branch to Keene line. 

5. "On the west side of the river from Keene line as far south as to 
take Xehemiah Cummings. 

6. "From Nehemiah Cummings bounding on the west side of the 
river as far south as to take Thomas Green. 

7. "From Thomas Green's south bounding on the river to Win- 
chester line, and all on Winchester road on the east side of the river, 
up the river northerly as far as to take Charles Grimes. 

8. "From Samuel Hills, jr., southerl}'' to take Josiah Prime, and 
as far south as Richmond line, and to adjoin the seventh district. 

9. "From Samuel Hills, jr., westerly to go as far north as to take 



190 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

Seth Gay and Aaron Parsons, and likewise to take George Ilewes, 
Capt. Aldrich's farm now in possession of Aquilla Ranisdell ; and 
from thence on Richmond line westerly till it comes to the eighth dis- 
trict. 

10. ''To take Mr. Nathan "Woodcock and to take Charles How and 
Benjamin Brown, and then on the street as far north as to take Dan 
Guild's, and as far south on Boston Road as the Pond Brook. 

11. "•From Lt. Guild's on the town street northerly as far as David 
Bolding's, including Esq. Frink, Mr. Wyat Gunn and Greenwood 
Carpenter. 

12. "Beginning at Mr. William Carpenter's and taking all on 
Winchester road as far as Mr. John Pierce, including Capt. Joseph 
Whitcomb, jr., and Mr. Epiu'aim Cummings, Mr. James Grimes, James 
Green and the two Mr. Seavers." 

This division is the basis of and corresponds largely with the mod- 
ern numbering of districts, or with that of 185S, and previously, as 
laid down on the old Cheshire County map which was pul)lislied tiiat 
year. The variations are: — No. 1, which comprised the easterly 
part of the town, a portion of which ha^ since been set off to Tro}', 
and the remaining part of which is uninhabited and now em!)raced 
within the limits of No. 2. No. 11, as then described, is now that 
part of No. 5 which is on the east side of the Ashuelot river. No. 4 
in the ancient numbering is now 1 and 4, the division having been 
made in 1817. In 1827 a committee decided on reuniting the same, 
but the records do not show that the reunion was ever accomplished. 
The ancient Nos. 7 and 12 probably' embraced the modern Nos. 7, 11, 
12 and 13. When the original change or division was made is not 
known , but probably soon after the beginning of the present century 
the old No. 11 was incorporated with No. 5, and the north part of 
No. 7 and the east part of No. 12 was changed to No. 11, leaving the 
extreme westerly section of the town as No. 12. 

In 1827 District No. 11, embracing the territor}'^ on both sides of 
the Ashuelot river at West Swanzey was divided, making the river the 
division, and constituting No. 11 on the east side and No. 13 on 
the west side. In 1833 these districts were reunited and remained so 
till 1845 when they were again divided as before. They were again 
reuntted in 1874 and have continued so since that time. In 1875 
several families from No. G were by an act of the legislature annexed 
to the district, and the same year No. 12 — "Hard Scrabble" — once a 
populous neighborhood, but now much reduced, was likewise joined 
to No. 11, by concurrent votes of the two districts. In 1885 the 



EDUCATIONAL. 191 

"district system," so called, was b}' law abolished, and the town sys- 
tem substituted for it. 

SCHOOL-HOUSES. 

It is probable that soon after the Revolutionary war, school-houses 
were built in tlie vicinity of those now standing in Nos. 5, 8 and 10, 
and about the beginning of the present century in most of the other 
districts in town. For many 3'ears schools were held in most of the 
districts in dwelling-houses. Tlie first school-houses were generally 
small, low buildings plainly constructed with rows of long seats or 
benches on two sides, generall}' rising from the floor in the centre to 
the walls, a huge fire place at one end, and the teacher's chair or 
desk at the other end. They contained no apparatus, frequentl}'' not 
even a blackboard or map ; in some cases there was no wood-siied or 
other out-building. They were generally crowded with scholars, some 
of the hill districts that are now nearly dei^opulated, having from for- 
ty to seventy each. This was occasioned in part by the large families 
of children then so common and their practice of attending school at 
an earlier age and continuing there till older than at present. 

In later years these plain structures have gradually given place to 
those that are more inviting to the scholar, and attractive to the passer- 
by. The long, rough, unpainted, whittled seat and desk, with numer- 
ous inscriptions and hieroglyphics pencilled and pictured on them, 
have passed away and in their place we have the neat and finished 
single or double seat, and the trim and polished desk. Instead of the 
old fireplace are stove and the steam heater. Blackboards are in 
every school-room ; nearly all have maps and charts ; some have globes 
and other apparatus. In 1854 a set of Holbrook's common school ap- 
paratus was purchased for No. 2, which for several years did good 
service, and about the same time a IHte set was used in No. 10. 

The first blackboard used in our schools was made by Capt. Ahaz 
Howard and introduced by Joseph Hammond, jr., teacher in district 
No. 6 about 1833. Mr. Hammond also first taught singing in the 
same school. 

Of the nine school-houses now in use all but two, Nos. 1 and 5, have 
recreation or play rooms, with conveniences for warming for the com- 
fort of the children ; all are painted outside and inside except No. 1, 
which is of brick. All have blinds to the windows, and suitable wood 
rooms connected with the buildings. That in No. 1 was built in 1833 ; 
No. 2 in 1877 ; No. 4, 1850 ; No. 5, 1880 ; No. 7, 1870 ; No. 8, 1880 ; 
No. 9, 1877; No. 10, 1840, enlarged and remodelled, 1858, and again 



192 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

remodelleil in 1883 ; No. 11, 1875 ; No. 12, "Ilardscrabhle," 1821 and 
al)andoned in 1875. The old school-house of a generation ago in No. 
2, standing about one-fourtli of a mile south of the present house, was 
abandoned in 1867, and a nice house built on the present site. This 
was burned in 1877, when the present two-story structure was erected. 
Its bell was donated by Geo. W. Oliver of Syracuse, N. Y. The 
house in No. 11, the largest in town, adapted for three or even four 
schools, was erected in 1875 and dedicated Nov. 12. The cost, in- 
cluding insurance was ?5,843. It is 36 by 70 feet, two stories exclu- 
sive of basement, which is used for steam-heating purposes, storage 
of fuel, etc. The land on which it stands, a yard of about three- fourths 
of an acre, was a joint gift by Isaac Stratton, A. S. Kendall and O. 
Sprague. 

For the purpose of equalizing taxation among the different districts, 
on changing from the "district" to the "town" system in 1886 the se- 
lectmen appraised the school-house property as follows : 

No. 1, §510.00 No. 7, *715.00 



(( 


2, 




2,250.00 


^ " 8, 


615.00 


11 


3, 


(money; 


35.00 i 
270.00 ] 




(wateo 62.00 
(money) 8.00 


No. 


4, 




258.00 


No. 9, 


540.00 


a 


5, 




485.00 


" 10, 


702.00 


a 


6, 


Total, 


32.00 


"11, 


4275.00 




$1,0757.00 



The school-house in No. 3 was abandoned in 1885, as being unsuit- 
able for school purposes, and measures were adopted for building again 
on another location, but before the plans were executed, the towns^'s- 
tem came in vogue, and the scholars of the district have since attended 
at No. 2. The "money" in the district was that raised for rebuilding. 
Tlic house in No. 6 also being somewhat dilapidated, on the advent 
of the present system it was decided to unite the school with No. 11. 

SUPERVISION OF SCHOOLS. 

The general management and supervision of the earlier schools 
were in the hands of the selectmen. In 1827 the legislature passed a 
law requiring the towns to choose, or the selectmen to ai)point, both 
superintending and prudential committees. But previously to this 
time, in March, 1825, Farnum Fish, Henry Baxter and Luke Bennett 





GO 




O 




tc 




o 




o 


o 




> 


O 

c:: 

CO 


td 


- 




o 



CD 




I 



EDUCATIONAL. 193 

were chosen a committee to inspect schools in the west part of the 
town, and Ephraim K. Frost, Daniel Wetherbee and Elijah Sawj^erin 
the east part. 

1826. Voted not to choose a superintending committee. 

In 1827 the town was divided into two sections, and by-laws per- 
taining to schools were adopted, William Read, Samuel P. Applin 
and Reuben Porter were chosen a committee for the eastern section 
and Luke Bennett, Hiram Bennett and Clark AVilson for the western. 

In 1828 it was "voted that the prudential committee be chosen by 
the respective districts." 

1831 . " Voted, That the prudential school committees be instructed 
in hiring teachers to bargain with them to teach 26 daj^s for a month." 

1833. Voted to dispense with committees visiting schools. 

From 1827 to 1845 the town records fail to show the appointment 
of any superintending school committee ; nevertheless, it is inferred 
that such appointments were made as there were sometimes articles in 
the town warrants "to hear the report of the superintending school 
committee." 

1846. Voted that the selectmen take the statute for their guide in 
appointing superintending school committee ; and D. P. French, Jo- 
seph Hammond, jr., and Benjamin Read were appointed. 

1847. Jos. Hammond, jr., A. A. "Ware and William Read were 
appointed. 

1848. D. G. Mason and Jos. Hammond, jr., appointed for the west 
part of the town. 

1849. Rev. E. Rock wood, W. Adams and Caleb Saw3-er. 

1850. Rev. D. G. Mason. 

1851. Rev. E. Rockwood, D. G. Mason, W. Adams. 

1852. Rev. E. Rockwood, W. Adams. 

1853. A. A. Ware chosen by town,- which has since been the meth- 
od of electing. 

1854. D. L. M. Comings. 

1855. S. H. McCollester, D. L. M. Comings. 

1856. D. L. M. Comings and A. A. Ware. 

1857. A. A. Ware, S. H. McCollester. 

1858 to 1862 inclusive. Dr. D. L. M. Comings. 

In 1862, Dr. Comings, having enlisted as snrgeon in the army, A. 
A. Ware was appointed to fill vacancy, and likewise chosen by town 
in 1863-4-5. In 1866 Dr. Geo. I. Cutler was chosen, and likewise 
every successive year till 1876, when A. A. Ware was chosen. In 
1877 and '78 Dr. Cutler was again elected, and from that time till 
13 



194 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

1885 both Dr. Cutler and A. A. Ware were cliosen, Dr. Cutler having 
the general supervision of the west part of the town and Mr. Ware of 
the east part. 

In 1886, the district system having been superseded by the town 
system, and the office of both superintending and prudential commit- 
tees having been abolished, and a board of education consisting of 
three persons substituted therefor, Dr. G. I. Cutler, A. A. AVare and 
Benjamin Read were elected the first members of the Board ; Dr. Cut- 
ler being elected for three years, Mr. Ware for two and Mr. Read for 
one. Each one has since been reelected for three years, the time 
prescribed by law. In 1890 Rev. H. Woodward was elected. 

Members of the school superintending committee are entitled to a 
reasonable compensation for their services. It was sometimes per- 
formed by the clergymen and others gratuitously. In 1830 the sum 
paid was $30.67; in 1831 it was $15.26. In 1846 Rev. D. P. French 
was paid $1.50, and William Read $2.50. For thirty years previous 
to 1886 the sum paid was about $50 per 3"ear whether the office was 
held by one or two persons. The Board of Education, performing the 
duties of both superintending and prudential committees have re- 
ceived some more than $100 per year. 

For about thirteen years previous to abolishing the district plan the 
school money was divided b}' giving to each district tvvent3'-five dol- 
lars, and of the remainder, one-half according to the valuation and 
the other half by the number of scholars. 

In 1878, $400 was appropriated for a High School, and two terms 
were held, one in the fall of 1878 at the centre of the town taught by 
J. W. Cross, jr., and the other the following spring at West Swanzey, 
managed by D. W. Pike. The experiment was not entirely satisfac- 
tory and has not been repeated. 

SCHOOL TEACH KRS. 

Very few of the citizens of Swanzej^ have ever made school teach- 
in<T their principal vocation. It has been engaged in by many for a 
few months or years preparatory to entering upon some other business. 
Until within the last forty j'ears the winter terms of school, of about 
ten weeks each, were generally taught by male teachers, and tlie sum- 
mer terms of the same length by female teachers. It was quite com- 
mon for teachers to "board around" among the different families of the 
district, the board being given for the purpose of lengthening the 
school. Since 1850 most of the schools, winter as well as summer, 
have been taught by female teachers. The wages paid for teaching 
is now more than double what it was forty or fift}' years ago. 



EDUCATIONAL. 195 

Among the earlier teachers in Swanzey are the names of WilHam 
Grimes, Gains Cresson, Farnum Fish, Timothy Thompson, David 
Prime, Paul Wright, James Henry, Virgil Maxey, Samuel P. Applin, 
William Read, Joel Ware, Samuel Belding, Samuel Hills, Reuben 
Hills, Amos F. Fish, William Wright, Joel Eaton, Joseph Hammond, 
jr., Sarah Woodcock, Melinda Hale, Asenath Hills, D0II3' Whitcomb, 
Prudence Lane, Susan Stanle}^ Arvilla Stanley, Mary Fish, Caroline 
Fish, Wealthy Belding, Chloe Holbrook, Eliza Parker, Prudence Hills, 
Malinda Read and Maria Aldrich. 

TEXT-BOOKS. 

Among the old text-books used were the old "Third Part" in read- 
ing, by Noah Webster, published in 1790 ; the "American Preceptor" 
and "Columbian Orator," by Caleb Bingham published respectively 
in 1794 and 1797; the "English Reader" by Lindley Murray; the 
"Ameiican First Class Book" and "National Reader" by John Pier- 
pont, and the "Easy Lessons" and "Sequel to Easy Lessons," by 
Joshua Leavitt ; "The Scientific Class Book," "Webster's" and "Lee's" 
spelling books; "Pike's," "Adam's," "Colburn's" and "Eimerson's" 
arithmetics ; "Alexander's" and '"Murray's" grammars. 

In our primitive schools little attention was given to geography, and 
still less to grammar; the time of the pupils being devoted chiefly to 
reading, writing and arithmetic. There are those among our older 
citizens who claim that the scholars of those days left the pul)lic schools 
with a better practical knowledge for the ordinary duties of life tiian 
those of the present day with all our machinery and modern appli- 
ances which we praise so highly. 

Notwithstanding the multiplicity of text-books in later years only 
three spellers have been used in our schools for moi-e than sixty years : 
"Lee's," the "North American" ancr^'Swinton's." The "North Amer- 
ican" by Rev. L. W. Leonard, a citizen of our county, was in use nearly 
forty years. Adams written arithmetic (twice revised) by Daniel 
Adams, another resident of this county, was used without change 
nearly the whole of the first half of the present century. Since the 
exit of Adams', Burnham's, Greenleaf's, Robinson's and the Frank- 
lin's series have been used. Reading books have Iieen oftener chanaed. 
Those of Pierpont were followed by Porter's Rhetorical, Russell and 
Goldsbury's, Town's, Town and Ilolbrook's, Sargent's and the Frank- 
lin series. 

The Iree text-book system b}' law came into operation in 1890. The 
old-fashioned evening spelling schools of one and two generations ago, 



196 HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 

were interesting if not profitable occasions. Tliongli having no place 
in town records they are well remembered by our older citizens. Tlie 
practice of "choosing sides" and "spelling down" and many of the 
incidents connected therewith were hugel}' enjoyed b}' the young peo- 
ple who wanted a "good time." 

SCHOOL ASSOCIATIONS. 

About the year 1855 a Town Common School Association was or- 
ganized, which continued in successful operation for several years. 
Committees, teachers, scholars and friends of education generally com- 
bined their efforts and held weekly evening meetings during the win- 
ter months in most of the districts in town, at which gatherings there 
were discussions, lectures, essays, recitations, singing and such other 
exercises as were calculated to increase an interest in and promote the 
efficiencj^ of the schools. The superintending school committee in 
his report of 1859 (the first printed by the town) says "The Town 
Association has been in successful operation during the past winter, 
adding greatl}' to the progress and elevation of the school system. 
We have, by agitating the most glaring evils in our schools, in tiiose 
meetings, almost banished them from our midst, such as whispering, 
tardiness and getting excused from school duties on frivolous causes." 

The 3ft. Ccesar Seminary and Sivanzey Academy was founded in 
1843, and was largely under the control of the Universalist denomina- 
tion. Suitable buildings for school and boarding purposes were erected , 
the former by a stock company, the shares of which were ten dollars 
each. It flourished for a few years, but the interest in its welfare soon 
waned, and it shared the fate of other similar institutions in Cheshire 
Count}', the high schools in the larger towns having to a great extent 
taken the place of the academies. The original trustees were Carter 
Whitcorab, David Parsons, Lyman Parker, Edward Goddard, Virgil 
A. Holbrook, Israel Applin, Leonard Whitc^mb and John Stratton of 
Swanzey ; Jona. Robinson, Surr}' ; Nicholas Cook, Riclnnond ; Calvin 
May, Gilsum ; Rev. J. Barber, Alstead ; Rev. B. Smith, Stoddard ; 
Rev. T. Barron, Winchester ; Rev. E. Davis, Marlboro; Rev. Josiah 
Marvin, Westmoreland ; Rev. S. Clark, Jaffrey ; Thomas Little, Nel- 
son ; J. Stearns, Walpole ; Mark Cook, Chesterfield; Ivah Newton, 
Hinsdale. 

The school opened in September with Rev. L. J. Fletcher as princi- 
pal and L. W, Blanchard, assistant. The next year, P. R. Kendall 
and competent teachers, in music and drawing were added to the list. 
Among other instructors who succeeded these were H. A. Pratt, Rev. 



EDUCATIONAL. 197 

J. S. Lee, F. A. March, A. M. Bennett, M. E. Wright, Rev. S. H. 
McCollester, L. F. Pierce and Burrill Porter. It ceased to be a de- 
nominational school several years before its final collapse. The semi- 
nary building is now owned by the Mt. Caesar Library Association, 
and the boarding house is now Butrick's hotel. 

LIBRARIES. 

In addition to the church and Sunday School libraries spoken of 
in Chapter V, there also have been libraries connected with neigh- 
borhood or branch Sunday Schools at East Swanzey, at Westport and 
in districts Nos. 1, 8 and 9. The books of these libraries were mostly 
of a religious character, suitable for Sunday reading and designed 
principallj' for children and youth. 

In 1802 the "Swanzey Social Library" was chartered by the legis- 
lature. It contained standard works, biographical, historical, religious 
and miscellaneous. It is supi)osed to have flourished for many years, 
but the interest in it waning, the books were sold at auction in 1846. 
Amos Bailey was the last librarian. 

In 1850 a village or district library, containing works similar to 
those last named, was formed at West Swanzey and about the same 
time another in district No. 9. 

In 1873 a library of like nature was commenced at East Swanze}'. 
All these were small and were sustained but a few years. The books 
of the E. Swanzey Library were purchased of the stockholders by Al- 
bert B. Read and given to the 3It. Ccesar Union Library Association. 
This association projected and largely controlled by the ladies of 
the central and easterly parts of the town, adopted May 14,1880, the 
following Constitution : 

We, the undersigned, in accordance with Chapter 151 of the Gen- 
eral Laws of New Hampshire, do form ourselves into a society to be 
known as the Mt. Caesar Union Library Association, whose object shall 
be the formation and peri)etuation of a Public Library in Swanzey ; 
for the purpose of promoting general intelligence, good morals and a 
pure literature among our citizens. We therefore agree to abide by 
the following regulations : 

Article i. The officers of this Association shall consist of a Presi- 
dent, two Vice Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer, Librarian, eight Di- 
rectors and five Trustees, with the exception of the Librarian to be 
chosen in such manner as the society ma}' direct.' 

The Trustees to consist of two gentlemen and three ladies, to hold 
their otflce one year, and the other officers six months, or until others 
may be chosen in their places. 



198 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Art. II. It shall be the duty of the Du-ectors to devise ways and 
means for the purchase of books, to have in conjunction with tlie Presi- 
dent, the general oversight of, and to make arrangements for all so- 
ciables, festivals and otlier pul)lic gatherings which may be had to 
raise funds for said Library ; to direct how all money belonging to the 
society siiall be deposited and used ; and to make arrangements for 
the proper keeping of tlie books. 

Art. III. It shall be the duty of the Trustees to have tlie general 
oversight of the Library ; to carefully select and purchase the l)ooks ; 
to examine all such as may be given to the society ; to choose or elect 
a Librarian ; and make all needed rides and regulations by which the 
Librarian is to be governed in the perfoi'inance of her official duties ; 
to personally examine the Libiary from time to time, and lepftrt its 
condition at each semi-annual meeting to the Directors, and make such 
suggestions as they think necessar}' ; and to make and occasionally 
revise for the benefit of the society a well-arranged catalogue of the 
books. 

Art. IV. No book shall be admitted to the Library without the 
concurrence of a majority of the Trustees; neither shall anything be 
received of a sectarian, i)olitical or immoral character. 

Art. v. The Trustees shall at no time expend a greater sum than 
is in the treasury, and the sum may be limited 1)}' a vote of the Presi- 
dent and Directors. 

Art. VI. Hach member of the Association shall be allowed to choose 
one book for the Library and if said selection be found to be in accord- 
ance with Art. IV, it shall be accepted and purchased. 

Art. VII. No officer except the Lil)rarian shall receive an}' compen- 
sation for his or her service; and the pay of the Lilu-arian shall be 
determined by the Directors, subject to a vote of the society. 

Art. VIII. Any person residing in School Districts, 2, 3, 4, 5, 
9 and 10 shall, upon paying annually to the Treasurer or Lil)rarian 
25 cents, be a member of the Association and entitled to all the bene- 
fits of said Library. 

Any person living outside said limits, if desiring to become a mem- 
ber of said Association, may upon application to the president or any 
director, and the president and directors by a majority vote shall 
admit such persons, subject to the same rules and regulations as other 
members. 

Art. IX. No member shall be assessed for money to be used for 
any purpose whatever ; and the directors shall limit the trustees to 
a sum less than that in the treasury. 

Art. X. This Constitution may be altered or amended, or additions 



EDUCATIONAL . 199 

made to it, by a vote of two-thirds of the members present at any ap- 
pointed meeting, provided tlie proposed change be submitted to the 
society in writing at least four weeiis before action shall be taken upon 
the same. 

Subsequent amendments to this constitution included school dis- 
trict No. 1 within the limits of the Association, and gave all school 
teachers within, said limits while teacliing, and all clergymen while 
stopping teuiporarily within said limits, the free use of the books. 
The words sectarian and political have been stricken from Art. iv, 
and all officers ax"e to be chosen for one year instead of six months. 

Since the formation of the Association it has been presided over by 
Mrs. R. H. Belding, Mrs. L. J. TV. Carpenter, Mrs. K. R. Stanley, 
Mrs. J. W. Merrill, Mrs. Lucia Whitcomb, Mrs. A. G. Hills, Mrs. 
Clara M. Lane and Mrs. M. A. Haskell. 

Continued prosperity lias attended the efforts of its members. By 
means of voluntary donations, and a series of sociables, festivals and 
literary entertainments, funds have beeu raised for constant additions 
to the library. It now contains about 1000 volumes. 

May 16, 1885, Mr. George Carpenter presented by deed of quit- 
claim to the Association the old Academy building subject to the fol- 
lowing provisions : — "That it shall always remain where it now stands ; 
that it shall never be sold or transferred under any circumstances 
whatever ; that it shall never be used for a hotel or lodging house ; 
that it shall never be used for the sale or use of any intoxicating liq- 
uors or drinks whatever ; that it shall never be used for dancing, card 
playing, gambling or skating. Itsliall never be used for an^^ immoral 
purpose whatever ; but it shall always be kept for literary purposes 
and for the promotion of knowledge and intelligence among the inhabi- 
tants." The deed also gives, with certain limitations, the "Chautau- 
qua Literary and Scientific Circle"-.now formed, or any other literary 
societies hereafter formed, also the ''Ladies' Society" the use of the 
building ; "and as long as the United States remain free and independ- 
ent the boys in the neigliborhood shall have the right unmolested, to 
ring the bell on each succeeding Fourth of July." 

The gift was accepted by the Association and measures were 
promptly taken for remodelling and repairing the building adapting 
it to its designed purpose. Several of the , former students of the 
Academy, and those that were once residents of Swanzey and now 
Interested in her welfare, were invited to lend a helping hand in the 
enterprise. The cost of remodelling, etc., was about $1200 raised by 
voluntary contributions. 



200 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

In October, 1886, the Association voted to take the hall in the third 
story of the building and convert it into an antiquarian room. Since 
that time a large number of relics, valuable for their antiquity and as 
mementos of the past, have been given b}' a multitude of donors, 
forming a collection already large and constantl}' increasing. 

For "Stratton Free Library" see "George W. Stratton," Chap. X. 

The Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle or People's Col- 
lege, is another agency in the interest of the education of tlie people, 
young and old, having its headquarters at Buffalo, N. Y. A branch 
of this institution, the "Ashuelot C. L. S. C," was organized in this 
town in Oct., 1883. Its presidents have been A. A. Ware, Rev. B. 
Merrill and AV. C. Bclding; secretaries. Miss E. R. Bailey, Mrs. L. 
J. W. Carpenter and L. Lowell Belding. About 30 persons have 
availed themselves of its advantages, several having completed the 
prescribed four years' course, A similar organization, "The Crescent 
Circle," was formed in West Swanzey in 1887, with Dr. G-. I. Cutler 
as president. Its secretaries have been Mrs. E. J. Cutler, Mrs. Mary 
Snow and Miss Cora B. Hubbard. Both circles have been i)rosper- 
ous. 



CO 

tn 
o 
o 



GO 




^n'^ 






^i 



CHAPTEE yil. 

Higlacays and Bridges. 



Boston Road — Early Layouts — Specimen Recohd— Sundry Roads, built 
WHEN — Old Turnpike— Rates of Toll— "California" Road— "Wil- 
lis" Road — Bridges, when built ; Cost of Construction— Highway 
Surveyors — Prices of Labor. 

THE first highways of the town were little more than foot and 
bridle paths, gradually developed and adapted to the use of the 
rude vehicles of the early settlers. 

June 11, 1735, the proprietors '■'Voted, That there be a man chosen 
to Joyn with the Committee Chosen by the Upper Township to look 
out a Convenient way to the Two Towns on the Ashawelot River. 
Voted that the man that shall be Chosen be allowed Ten shillings a 
Day for his Services in Looking Said way." 

'^ Voted, That Mr. Jonathan Miles be the man to Joyn with the Com- 
mittee of the Upper Township to Look out the way as above laid." 

At a meeting held at the house of Ephraim Jones in Concord, 
Blarch 31, 1736, ''Voted, That Messrs. Nathaniel Mattoon of North- 
field, Ephraim Jones of Concord, and James Houghton of Lancaster 
be a committee to la^' out and clear a way through said township to 
Earlington" (Winchester) . 

Oct. 27, 1736. "Voted, That Mr. Jonathan Miles be allowed for 
his service in looking out and marking a way to Townshend the sum 
of twenty five pounds one shilling." 

This road to Townshend was doubtless built about this time, and 
is what is referred to in later records as the "Boston road," extend- 
ing from Upper to Lower Ashuelot, and through the southern and 
eastern parts of the town substantially where the old Troy Hill 
road now is ; passing the J. W. Murphy farm, the old Clark place 
(now in Tro}'), which was for many years a hotel, through the west- 
ern part of Troj^ the entire length of Fitzwilliam, and through Win- 
chendon to Townsend. It was built thus early for the reason that 
Massachusetts, then claiming a part of what is now New Hampshire 
and Vermont, had forts and settlements on the Connecticut river at 

(201) 



202 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Great Meadow (Westmoreland) and at No. 4 (Charlestown), and 
wished for avenues of communication to tliese places and the fron- 
tiers of Canada. During the Indian wars after this, the road was 
extended to Crown Point on Lake Champlain. The whole of it was a 
military road, built primarily for the transportation of munitions of 
war from settlement to settlement. 

"At a meeting of the proprietors of the Lower Township on Ash- 
uelot River being duly notified and met at the house of Capt. Nathan- 
iel Hammond in said township Sept. 7, 1737, Voted To lay out a 
road four rods wide on the south side of William Carr's [Zina 
Taft's] lot to the South Branch." 

At a meeting held Sept. 29, 1737, ''Voted, That Messrs. Nathaniel 
Hammond, Samuel Hills and Charles Lumas be a committee to look 
out a way to the Intervale lots on the Great River, and also a way 
to the place where the saw mill is to be built (West Swanzey). The 
committee above named were requested to see that the roads are all 
cleared forthwith." 

Dec. 28, 1738. " Voted, That the road to the saw-mill shall be four 
rods wide when it is cleared or near thereaJjout." 

''Voted, That Messrs. Samuel Gunn, Thomas Cresson and Samuel 
Hills be a committee to treat witii the proprietors of Upper Ashue- 
lot and of Arlington to layout a highway through this township from 
Upper Ashuclot to Arlington where it shall be agreed upon by a com- 
mittee from each township;" and also "To lay out a highway four 
rods wide in the most convenient place to Hyponecho meadows." 

Oct. 9, 1739. "Voted, That William Scott, Nathaniel Hammond 
and Andrew Gardner be a committee to lay out a highway to Pond 
Brook." 

"Voted, That there shall be a highway laid out from the road down 
to the saw-mill down to Winchester, and that Benjamin Brown, Wil- 
liam Grimes and John Evans be a committee to look out said high- 
way." 

Marcli IG, 1740. "Voted to choose two Surveyors of hey waies. 
Voted and chose Abraham Graves and Samuel Hills for Surveyors of 
hey waies." 

Sept. 29, 1742. "Voted and chose Capt. Nathaniel Hammond, 
Thomas Cresson and John Evans for a committee to lay out a hey 
waiey to accommodate the meadow lots on the Ashuelot River, 
South Branch and Pond Brook ; mend the highways and bridges and 
secure the bridges what is necessary." 

Highways were probably laid out and built, or cleared of trees, 



HIGHWAY AND BRIDGES. 203 

somewhat in accordance with the foregoing votes. The town street 
extending from where Mr. Ciiarles Worcester now lives to S3dvander 
Stone's was hiid out 4 rods in width and built in accordance with the 
plan on tliat facing page 46, making an angle on Meeting-house hill 
just west of the residence of Mr. George Carpenter ; this was afterwards 
changed, the road being turned to the foot of the hill on the east nearly 
where it now is, and a part of it was made eight rods in width. That 
leading easterly to the South Branch intersected the main street at a 
point south of Zina Taft's, and extended easterly to the branch, 
crossing the stream, thence northerly througii the meadows or at the 
easterly end of the meadow lots, to Keene, and southerly from the 
bridge to the intervale lots. 

The road to Arlington doubtless struck off from the town street at 
the same point where it now turns off to West Swanzey, making four 
corners there and extended westerly and southwesterly, bearing up 
over the hill by the Greenleaf place, and continuing on east of West 
Swanzey village to the Hyponecho meadows and Arlington. The 
road to the mill intersected this road somewhere on the hill. Our 
fathers were not so much afraid of hills as their descendants now are. 

Early ii; the history of the town a road was built from the David 
Parsons' place on the north side of Mt. Caesar to the settlement on 
the hill by the Greenleaf place, but this was discontinued in 1778. 
In 1770 a highway was laid out on the south side of Mt. Csesar ex- 
tending from this same settlement on the hill to the town street where 
the brick church now stands, but probably was never built. In the 
same year a road was laid out from the south end of the town street 
where Sylvander Stone now lives to tlie north end of Svvanzey pond, 
thence on the east side of the pond to its south end, thence westerly 
to Day hill, so called, where Marcus Bullard and Everett Holbrook 
now live. Parts of this road had been travelled many years before 
this layout. Leading from the present pond road by Charles Tal- 
bot's, north of his farm, there may now be seen two old roads with 
walls on either side leading towards the head of the pond ; the more 
northerly of these is supposed to be a part of that last described. 

The Ash Swamp road, so called, was laid out in 1772, and that in 
the south part of the town by C. H. Holbrook's, intersecting the Day 
hill road in 1778. The old road by Walter H. Perry's and the Curtis 
place to J. L. Starkey's was laid out in 1790, and the greater part of 
it was discontinued in 1839. 

Between the years 1770 and 1785 not less than twenty-five roads 
were laid out by the selectmen. 



204 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

The following may serve as specimens of the old laj'-outs as re- 
corded ; Uie first being a highway east of East Swanzey village, ami 
discontinued many years ago; the second being the road now lead- 
ing by C. H. Ilolbrook's. 

"A road laid out beginning at the spring upon the line between Mr. 
Read's and Mr. Peck's then west upon said Read's to a beech tree ; 
then across a corner of said Peck's where it is now trod till it strikes 
Mr. Sherman's west where it is now trod to a red oak tree marked, 
west of the road leading from said Shermans to Mr. Thompson's north 
clearing; west to a white pine tree marked, near said Thompson's 
line; thence west with said line and on said Thompsons to the old 
road." 

"Swanzey, Apkil 30, 1778. 
This day laid out a road in the southwesterly part of Swanzey, 
viz. : Beginning at the line of Moses B. Williams' lot, and proceed- 
ing northerly between Josiah and Joshua Prime's lots ; then through 
Wyat Gunn's and Joshua Fleming's lots ; then between James Hea- 
ton's lot and Amos Day's lot, out to the, road leading to Benjamin 
Day's ; the road to be two rods wide on the east side of the marked 
trees. 

Calvin Frink ) ^ , 

„, .- > Selectmen. 

Ihomas Hammond J 

About the first lay-out described by courses and distances was in 
1821. 

There is no record of any road west of the river previous to 1770. 
The road from Chesterfield line by the Henr}' place to the intersection 
near Geo. 0. Capron's was built in 1824 ; that from Tim Fitzgerald's 
north to Keene line in 1828. 

That part of the highway from West Swanzey to Keene north of 
the intersection near Byron Porter's was built in 1833. Previous to 
that date the travel was by Sawj'cr's Crossing or b}' O. S. Eaton's. 
The "Rabbit Hollow" road, so called, was laid out in 1837. In 1838 
the town voted to sell one rod in width on each side of the street 
through the middle of the town wliere it was 8 rods wide. 

The "Branch Road and Bridge Corporation," or the old turnpike, 
as it was called, was chartered by the legislature in 1802 and built 
soon after. It is in the easterly part of the town by the side of the 
Cheshire railroad. Our older citizens remember the toll-gate by 
the bridge at the foot of Depot hill. Tolls were collected till 1842 
when it was made a free road the town paying the corporation $2415. 



HIGHWAY AND BRIDGES. 205 

The tolls were n,s follows: Sheep and hogs, one-half cent each; 
horses and cattle, one cent each; every horse and rider, or lead horse, 
seven cents ; every sulky or chaise with one horse and two wheels, 
twelve and one-half cents ; every chaise, coach, stage, wagon, phaeton, 
with two horses and four wheels, twent^^-five cents ; with four horses, 
thirty cents ; for every other carriage of pleasure, the like sura accord- 
ing to the number of wheels and horses drawing the same ; for each 
cart or carriage of burthen drawn by one beast, eight cents, for each 
wagon, cart or otlier carriage, or burthen, drawn by two beasts, 
twelve and one-half cents; if more than two beasts, seven and one- 
half cents for each additional pair of oxen or horses. 

In 1846 the road commissioners laid the road from C. L. Lane's to 
the old turnpike b}'^ E. F. Lane's mill, giving a road nearl}^ straight 
and level instead of the hilly and circuitous route previously travelled. 
Expense, including land damages, $1486.77. 

In 1848 the selectmen, on [ietition of John Stratton, Oliver Capron 
and others laid out the "California" road, so called, extending from 
Michael Cantlin's, a little west of West Swanzey village, up the Cal- 
ifornia brook to Ciiesterfield line, a distance of 579 rods ; to be built 
when Chesterfield should lay out and build a road connecting with 
this and continuing up the valley intersecting with the Keene and 
Chesterfield highway. 

During the following year, the town of Chesterfield, having taken 
no measures to build her part of the road the Court was petitioned 
to lay out the same which it did. Swanzey promptly built her part 
but Chesterfield, by building a substitute, was enabled to get her part 
discontinued, and it has never been built. The cost of the Swanzey 
part was $1254.75. 

The road from G. F. Lane's to David Whitcomb's, called the "Wil- 
lis road" was laid by the commissioners in 1855, and subsequently 
built by the town at an expense, including land damages, of S15G9.36. 
The highway from William Ballou's up Hyponecho brook towards 
Lombard's mill was built in 1859. 

Swanzey has always had a large number of bridges to build and 
maintain. There are three over the Ashuelot and five over the South 
Branch, besides many others over smaller streams. Tiie three on the 
Ashuelot and two on the South Branch are covered bridges ; that over 
the Branch by the town house is of iron. The first large bridges and 
those remembeied by our older citizens were supported between the 
abutments by trestles. 

The "Cresson" bridge by Sawyer's Crossing was built in 1771 ; the 



206 HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 

town voting to raise for tlie purpose fiftj'^-thrGe pounds, six shillings 
and eiglit pence. The present bridge was built in 1859, costing 
$1735.94. The West Swanzey bridge was built in 1774, twenty-nine 
pounds and fourteen shillings being voted for the purpose. The cov- 
ered bridge was built in 1832 at an expense of S523.27, Zadoc Taft 
being the master workman. Repairs were made in 1859 costing 
$431.58, and again in 1888 on bridge and abutments to the amount 
of nearly S2000. 

The records fail to tell us when the "Slate" bridge at "NVestport was 
first built. It was probably about the year 1800 or during the time 
of the missing records. In 1842 a section of this bridge, on which 
was Mr. AYilliam Wheelock and his team of four oxen fell into the 
river. The matter of damages was referred to Phinehas Handerson of 
Keene. 

The existing bridge was built in 1862 at an expense of $1850.64. 
The bridge over the l)ranch by the "Causeway" was constructed in 
1779, and that at East Swanzey in 1789, fifteen pounds being raised 
for the purpose. Tiie Iron bridge, east of the town liouse, was built 
in 1877. 

The laying out, building and repairing of liighwa3's has ever been 
a subject of much interest to the people, and one on which there has 
been great diversity of opinion, especially as to the public need of 
new roads, and the best way of repairing old ones. The common 
method of repairing has been for each person to work out his own tax 
under the direction of surveyors appointed bv the selectmen or chosen 
by the town. The number of highway surveyors has varied at differ- 
ent times from one to twenty. The town was formerly divided into 
nineteen districts, and a surveyor appointed for each. The selectmen 
or town fixed the prices of labor for men and teams, and for the use 
of implements employed on the roads. In 1780 the town '■^ Voted to 
Grant 4000 Pounds for making and Repairing Highways ; and to al- 
low Thirty Dollars pr. Day pr. man from the first of April until the 
first of October, and Twent}^ Dollars pr. Day the Remainder of the 
year." In 1781 " Voted to Raise 7000 Pounds for making and Repair- 
ing Highways the present Year, and the Labour at the Roads be stated 
at Forty Dollars pr. Day pr. man until the first of October, and at 
30 Dollars pr. Day for the Remainder of the year." 



en 

CO 

o 

DC [pr; 
CO 

> 
-<; 




CHAPTER YIII. 

Votes for State Officers, Presidential Electors, etc. 



BIODERATOR. 

17G6. Joseph Hammond. 
17G7. Joseph Hnnniiond. 

1768. Jonathan Hammond. 

1769. Jon.'itlian Hammond. 

1770. Jonathan Hammond. 

1771. Joseph Hammond. 

1772. Jonathan Hammond. 
177.3. Jonathan Hammond. 

1774. Joseph Hammond. 

1775. Joseph Hammond. 
177(i. Joseph Hammond. 

1777. Joseph Hammond. 

1778. Jonathan Whitcomb. 

1779. Calvin Frink. 

1780. Thomas Applin. 

1781. Thomas Applin. 

1782. Thomas Applin. 

1783. Samnel Hills. 

1784. Samuel Hills. 
178.5. Isaac Hammond. 
17SG. Jonathan Whitcomb. 

1787. Elislia Whitcomb. 

1788. Dan Guild. 

1789. Elisha Whitcomb. 

1790. Elisha Whitcomb. 

1791. Dan Guild. 

1792. Elisha Whitcomb. 

1793. Elisha Whitcomb. 



TOWN OFFICERS. 

TOWN CLERK. 

Thomas Ajiplin. 
Tliomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Tliomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
Thomas Applin. 
- Thomas Applin. 
Jonathan Whitcomb. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin brink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 



Calvin Frink. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 

Rev. Edward Goddard. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 



David Belding, jr. 

Elisha Whitcomb. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 
(207) 



208 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



MODERATOR. 


TOWN CLERK. 


1794. 


Calvin Frink. 


1795. 


Calvin Frink. 


1796. 


Calvin Frink. 


1797. 




1798. 




1799. 




ISOO. 




1801. 




1802. 




1803. 


' 


1804. 




1805. 




1806. 




1807. 




1808. 


Records missin 


1809. 




1810. 




1811. 




1812. 




1813. 




1814. 




1815. 




1816. Elkanah Richardson. 


Elijah Belding. 


1817. Elkanah Richardson. 


Elijah Belding. 


1818. Ezekiel Tage. 


Elijah Belding. 


1819. Abel Wilson. 


Elijah Belding. 


1820. Ezekiel Page. 


Elijah Belding. 


i821. Elijah Sawyer. 


Elijah Belding. 


1823. Ezekiel Page. 


Elijah Belding. 


1823. Edward Goddard. 


Elijah Belding. 


1824. Ephraim K. Frost. 


Elijali Belding. 


1825. Elijah Sawyer. 


Elijah Belding. 


1826. Elijah Sawyer. 


Elijah Belding. 


1827. Ei)hraim K. Frost. 


Elijah Belding. 


1828. Ephraim K. Frost. 


Elijah Belding. 


1829. Elijah Carpenter. 


Elijah Sawyer. 


1830. Elijah Carpenter. 


Elijah Sawyer. 


1831. Samuel Stearns. 


Elijah Sawyer. 


1832. Samuel Stearns. 


Elijah Sawyer. 



REPRESENATIVES 

Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 

Calvin Frink. 
Calvin Frink. 

Nehemiah Cnmmings. 
Thomas Hammond. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 
Elisha Whitcomb. 
Amasa Aldrich. 



Elijah Carpenter. 
Elijah Carpenter. 
Elijah Belding. 
Elijah Carpenter. 
Elijah Carpenter. 
James Underwood. 
James Underwood. 
James Underwood. 
Elijah Belding. 
Elijah Sawyer. 
Elijah Sawyer. 
Elijah Belding. 
Elijah Belding. 
Elijah Carpenter. 
Elijah Carpenter. 
Elijah Sawyer. 
Elijah Sawyer. 



I 



TOWN OFFICERS. 



209 



MODERATOR. 

1833. Samuel Stearns. 

1834. Samuel Stearns. 
1S35. Samuel Stearns. 
1836. Samuel Stearns. 
1337. Elijah Sawyer. 

1838. Samuel Stearns. 

1839. Samuel Stearns. 

1840. Samuel Stearns. 

1841. Samuel Stearns. 

1842. Samuel Stearns. 

1843. Samuel Stearns. 

1844. Amos Richardson. 
184.5. Amos Richardson. 

1846. Elijah Carpenter. 

1847. Samuel Stearns. 

1848. Samuel Stearns. 

1849. Samuel Stearns. 

1850. Samuel Stearns. 
1S51. Benjamin Read. 

1852. Carter Whitcomb. 

1853. Benjamin Read. 

1854. Samuel Stearns. 
18.i5. Samuel Stearns. 

1856. Samuel Stearns. 

1857. Benjamin Read. 

1858. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1859. Benjnmin F. Lombard. 

1860. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1861. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

U 



TOWX CLERK. 

Elijah Belding. 
Henry B axter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 
Henry Baxter. 

Henry Baxter. 

Henry Baxter. 

Henry Baxter. 

Henry Baxter. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Jotham \y. Frimk, 

Jotham W. Frink. 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

Alanson S. Wliitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 

Elijah Sawyer. 

Edward Goddard. 

Edward Goddard. 

Amasa Aldrich. 

Amasa Aldrich. 

Charles N. Hills. 

Charles N. Hills. 

Leonard Whitcomb. 

Leonard Whitcomb. 

Joseph Barber. 

Joseph Barber and Lyman 
Parker. 

Lyman Parker and Amos 
Richardson. 

Amos Richardson and Wil- 
liam Hewes. 

William Hewes and Oliver 
Capron. 

Oliver Capron and Paul F. 
Aldrich. 

Paul F. Aldrich and Hardin 
Albee. 

Hardin Albee and Aquila 
Taft. 

Aquila Taft and Joseph 
Hammond, jr. 

Josepli Hammond, jr., and 
Willard Adams, 

Zadoc L. Taft and Luke 
Bennett. 

Rufus Thompson and Wil- 
liam Hewes. 

Benjamin F. Lombard and 
Isaac Stratton. 

Benjamin F. Lombard and 
Isaac Stratton. 

David L. Comings and David 
Parsons. 

Edwin F. Read and Thomas 
T. Wetherbee. 

Stephen Faulkner and Rufus 
Bowen. 

Stephen Faulkner and Rufus 
Boweu. 

Frederic L. Eaton and Enoch 
Howes. 

Enoch Howes and Oliver 
Capron. 



210 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



MODERATOR. 

1862. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1863. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1864. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1865. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1866. Benjamin F. Lombard. 
18G7. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1868. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1869. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1870. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1871. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1872. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1873. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1874. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1875. Benjamin F. Lombai'd. 

1876. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1877. Benjamin F. Lombard. 

1878. Benjamin Read. 

1879. Josiah Parsons. 

1880. Josiah Parsons. 

1881. Charles H. Howard. 

1882. Charles H. Howard. 

1883. Charles H. Howard. 

1884. Obadiah Sprague. 

1885. Obadiah Sprague. 

1886. Benjamin Read. 
a887. Henry Abbott. 

1888. Benjamin Read. 

1889. George E. Whitcomb. 

1890. George E. Whitcomb. 



TOWN CLERK. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

Alanson S. Whitcomb. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George L Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 

Geoige I. Cutler. 

George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 
George I. Cutler. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 

Oliver Capron and Elijah 
Sawyer. 

Elijah Sawyer and Henry 
Starkey, jr. 

Henry Starkey, jr., and Ben- 
jamin F. Lombard. 

Gideon G. Willis and Alan- 
son S. Wliitcomb. 

Josiali Parsons and Henry 
Holbrook, 2d. 

Josiah Parsons and Henry 
Holbrook, 2d. 

Philip D. Angier and David 
Parsons. 

Philip D. Angier and David 
Parsons. 

Obadiah Sprague and Ste- 
phen Faulkner. 

Obadiah Si)rague and Sta- 
plicn Faulkner. 

Benjamin F. Lombard and 
Rofiwcll Whitcomb. 

Thomas T. Wetherbee and 
Heury Holbrook. 

Thomas T. Wetherbee and 
Henry Holbrook. 

George W. Willis and George 
O. Capron. 

George W. Willis and George 
O. Capron. 

George Carpenter and Henry 

Abljott. 

Edward Wilcox and Daniel 

Snow. 

Nov. 5, 1879, voted not to 
send. 

Rufus Taft. 



Henry Abbott. 
Henry Abbott. 
Edward H. Snow. 
Orlow E. Parsons. 
George E. Whitcomb. 



SELECTMEN. 



211 



SELECTMEN. 



1766 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond, Thomas Hammond. 

1767 David Belding, Samuel Hills, 

Elijah Graves. 

1768 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond, "William Warner. 

1769 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond. 

1770 David Belding, Jonathan Whit- 

comb, Samuel Belding. 

1771 Thomas Applin, Samuel Hills, 

Benjamin Brown. 

1772 Joseph Hammond, Daniel War- 

ner, Joseph Whitcomb. 

1773 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond, Samuel Hills. 

1774 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond, Daniel Warner. 

1775 Samuel Hills, Samuel Page, Da- 

vid Belding. 

1776 Thomas Applin, Joseph Ham- 

mond, David Belding. 

1777 Tliomas Applin, Samuel 



David Belding. 



Hills, 
Frink, 



1778 Samuel Hills, Calvin 

Thomas Hammond. 

1779 Calvin Frink, Samuel Hills, Dan- 

iel Warner. 

1780 Calvin Frink, Thomas Hammond, 

David Belding. 

1781 Thomas Applin, Calvin Frink 

Isaac Hammond, Elijah Beld- 
ing and Elisha Whitcomb. 

1782 Calvin Frink, Isaac Hammond, 

David Belding, jr. 

1783 Calvin Frink, Aaron Parsons, 

Thaddeus Cummings. 

1784 Isaac Hammond, David Belding, 

jr., Benjamin Hammond. 

1785 Henry Morse, David Warner, 

Elkanah Lane. 

1786 Calvin Frink, Isaac Hammond, 

Nehemiah Cummings. 

1787 Calvin Frink, Henry Morse, Jo- 

seph Dickinson. 

1788 Calvin Frink, William Grimes, 

Roger Thompson. 



1789 Calvin Frink, William Grimes' 

Dan Guild. 

1790 Calvin Frink, Wyman Richard- 

son, Joseph Cross. 

1791 Calvin Frink, Joseph Cross, Wy- 

man Richardson. 

1792 Wyman Richardson, Joseph 

Cross, Samuel Lane. 

1793 Wyman Richardson, Joseph 

Cross, Amasa Aldrich. 

1794 Joseph Cross, Nehemiah Cum- 

mings, Daniel Flint. 

1795 Joseph Cross, Neliemiah Cum- 

mings, Amasa Aldrich. 

1796 Joseph Cross, Amasa Aldrich, 

Nehemiah Cummings. 

1797 Joseph Cross, Amasa Aldrich, 

Nehemiah Cummings. 

1798 Joseph Cross, Nehemiah Cum- 

mings, Amasa Aldrich. 

1799 Nehemiah Cummings, John 

Thompson, Amasa Aldricli. 

1800 Joseph Cross, Benjamin Brown, 

Farnum Fish. 

1801 John Thompson, Aquila Rams- 

dell, Farnum Fish. 

1802 John Thompson, Farnum Fish, 

Aquila Ramsdell. 

1803 John Thompson, William C. 

Belding, Farnum Fish. 

1804 John Thompson, William C. 

Belding, Luther Wright. 

1805 Joseph Cross, Farnum Fish, Se- 

lah Smead. 

1806 Selah Smead, Farnum Fish. Abel 

Wilson. 

1807 Farnum Fish, Selah Smead, Abel 

Wilson. 

1808 Farnum Fish, Elijah Belding, jr., 

Nathan Whitcomb. 

1809 John Thompson, Nathan Whit- 

comb. 

1810 

1811 

1812 

1813 Abel Wilson, Elkanah Richard- 
son, Edward Goddard. 



212 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



1814 

1815 Elkanah Richardson, Abel Wil- 

son, Nathan Whitcorab. 

1816 Jolin Thompson, Farnura Fish, 

Daniel Wetherbee. 

1817 Abel Wilson, Daniel Wetherbee, 

J'arnum Fisli. 

1818 Daniel Wetherbee, Levi Blake, 

Edward Goddard. 

1819 Levi Blake, William Rider, Wil- 

liam Seaver. 

1820 William Rider, Daniel Wether- 

bee, Faruum Fish. 

1821 Abel Wilson, Wyman Richard- 

son, Farnum Fish. 

1822 Farnum Fish, Daniel Wetherbee, 

Ephraim K. Frost. 

1823 Farnum Fish, Daniel Wetherbee, 

Shubael Seaver, jr. 

1824 Shubael Seaver, jr., Daniel Weth- 

erbee, Thomas Wheelock, jr. 

1825 John Stratton, Edward Goddard, 

Amos Bailey. 

1826 Farnum Fish, Elijah Belding, 

Amos Bailey. 

1827 Elijah Belding, Amos Bailey^ 

Jonathan D. Ware. 

1828 Elijah Belding, Amos Bailey, 

Jonathan D. Ware. 

1829 Elijah Sawyer, Luke Bennett, 

Joseph Woodward. 

1830 Elijah Sawyer, Luke Bennett, 

Joseph Woodward. 

1831 Elijah Sawyer, Joseph Wood- 

ward, Benjamin Hamblet. 

1832 Elijah Sawyer, Benjamin Ham- 

blet, Zadoc L. Taft. 

1833 Benjamin Ilamblet, Elijah Saw- 

yer, Amos Bailey. 

1834 Benjamin Ilamblet, Amos Bailey, 

Amasa A Id rich. 

1835 Amasa Aldrich, Amos Richard- 

son, Leonard Whitcomb. 

1836 Amos Richardson, Leonard 

Whitcomb, Helon Holbrook. 

1837 Oliver Capron, William Read, 

Lyman Parker. 

1838 Amos Bailey, Joseph Wood- 

ward, Amasa S. Rogers. 



1839 Amos Bailey, Israel Applin, 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

1840 Israel Applin, J. W. Capron, 

Martin Stone. 

1841 Martin Stone, David Parsons, 

Ever.son Cook. 

1842 David Parsons, Amasa Aldrich, 

Joseph Hammond, jr. 

1843 Amasa Aldricii, Joseph Ham- 

mond, jr., William Hewes. 

1844 William Hewes, Leonard Whit- 

comb, Benjamin F. Lom- 
bard. 

1845 Benjamin F. Lombard, Everson 

Cook, Lyman Parker. 
184G Everson Cook, Lyman Parker, 
Hardin Ali)ee. 

1847 Everson Cook, Hardin Albee, 

Amasa Aldrich. 

1848 Hardin Albee, Amasa Aldrich, 

William Read. 

1849 Hardin Albee, Amasa Aldrich, 

William Read. 

1850 William Read, William Hewes, 

Amos F. Fish. 

1851 William Read, William Hewes, 

Amos F. Fish. 

1852 Daniel Snow, William Hewes 

Virgil A. Holbrook. 

1853 Daniel Snow, Thomas T. Weth- 

erbee, Josiah Parsons, jr. 

1854 Paul F. Aldrich, Lyman Parker, 

Stephen Faulkner. 

1855 Paul F. Aldrich, Lyman Parker, 

Stephen Faulkner. 

1856 William R. Flint, Justus R. Rog- 

ers, Alonzo Ballou. 

1857 William Read, Henry Fames, 

Alonzo A. Ware. 

1858 Rufus Bowen, Henry Starkey, 

jr., Justus R. ]{ogers. 

1859 Stephen Faulkner, Josiah B. 

Cass, Justus R. Rogers. 

1860 Josiah B. Cass, Justus R. Rogers, 

William R. Flint. 

18G1 Josiah Parsons, jr., Stephen 
Faulkner, James H. Olcott. 

1862 Josiah Parsons, Stephen Faulk- 
ner, Henry Abbott. 



TOWN TREASURERS. 



213 



1863 Josiah Parsons, Stephen Faulk- 

ner, Henry Abbott. 

1864 Josiah Parsons, Stephen Faulk. 

ner, Henry Abbott. 

1865 Josiah Parsons, Stephen Faulk- 

ner, Thomas T. Wetherbee. 
1866 Josiah Parsons, Stephen Faulk- 
ner, Thomas T. Wetherbee. 

1867 Stephen Faulkner, Thomas T. 

Wetherbee, Lyman Holbrook. 

1868 Stephen Faulkner, Thomas T. 

Wetherbee, Lyman Holbrook. 

1869 Stephen Faulkner, Charles H. 

Howard, George W. Willis. 

1870 Stephen Faulkner, Charles H. 

Howard, Alonzo A. Ware. 

1871 Stephen Faulkner, George 0. 

Capron, Alonzo A. Ware. 

1872 Stephen Faulkner, Alonzo A. 

Ware, Lyman N. Howes. 

1873 Stephen Faulkner, Lyman N. 

Howes, Josiah Parsons. 

1874 Stephen Faulkner, Lyman N. 

Howes, Josiah Parsons. 

1875 George W. Willis, William C. 

Belding, Daniel B. C. Hill. 

1876 George W. Willis, Daniel B. C. 

Hill, Silas B. Partridge. 



1877 Stephen Faulkner, Daniel B. C. 

Hill, Edmund Stone. 

1878 Alonzo A. Ware, Silas B. Part- 

ridge, Henry Eanies. 

1879 Alonzo A.Ware, Josiah Parsons, 

Daniel Snow. 

1880 Josiah Parsons, Daniel Snow, 

Henry Abbott. 

1881 Josiah Parsons, Henry Abbott, 

Edward Wilcox. 

1882 Edward Wilcox, George O. Cap- 

I'on, Alonzo A. Ware. 

1883 Alonzo A. Ware, Daniel B. C. 

Hill, Alonzo Farr. 

1884 Daniel B. C. Hill, Frank S. 

Faulkner, George E. Lane. 

1885 Frank S. Faulkner, George E. 

Lane, Benjamin C. Snow. 

1886 George E. Lane, Willard S. Per- 

ham, Norris C. Carter. 

1887 Frank S. Faulkner, Orleans S. 

Eaton, Norris C. Carter. 

1888 Frank S. Faulkner, Joseph L. 

Starkey, Norris C. Carter. 

1889 Frank S. Faulkner, Joseph L. 

Starkey, Norris C. Carter. 

1890 Frank S. Faulkner, Joseph L. 

Starkey, Norris C. Carter. 



1767 William Grimes. 

1768 Jonathan Hammond. 

1769 Jonathan Hammond. 

1770 Jonathan Hammond. 

1771 Joseph Hammond. 

1772 Samuel Belding. 

1773 Jonathan Hammond. 

1774 Jonathan Hammond. 

1775 David Belding. 

1776 Samuel Belding. 

1777 Samuel Belding. 

1778 Samuel Belding. 

1779 Samuel Belding. 

1780 Elijah Belding. 

1781 David Belding, jr. 

1782 Elijah Belding. 

1783 Daniel Warner. 

1784 Jonathan Whitcomb. 



TOWN TRKASUKERS. 




1785 Roger 


Thompson 


1786 Calvin 


Frink. 


1787 Calvin 


Frink. 


1788 Calvin 


Frink. 


-1789 Calvin 


Frink. 


1790 Calvin 


Frink. 


1791 Calvin 


Frink. 


1792 Calvin 


Frink. 


1793 Calvin 


Frink. 


1816 Elijah Belding 


1817 Elijah Carpenter. 


1818 Elijah 


Carpenter, 


1819 Elijah Carpenter. 


1820 Jonas 


Blodgett. 


1821 Jonas Blodgett. 


1822 Jonas 


Blodgett. 


, 1823 Jonas Blodgett. 



Zl-i IIISTOEY OF SAV 


182-1 Jonas Blodgett. 


1858 


1825 Jonas Blodiicett. 


1859 


1826 Jonas i:ioilsett. 


1860 


1827 Elijah Carpenter. 


1861 


1828 Elijah Carpenter. 


1862 


1820 Elijah Carpenter. 


1863 


1830 Elijah Carpenter. 


1864 


1831 Elijah Carpenter. 


1865 


1832 Elijah Carpenter. 


1866 


1833 Elijah Carpenter. 


1867 


1834 Edward Goddard. 


1868 


1835 Edward Goddaid. 


1869 


1830 Edward Goddard. 


1870 


1837 Edward Goddard. 


1871 


1838 Edward Goddard. 


1872 


183i> Edward Goddard. 


1873 


1840 Edward Goddar^l. 


1874 


1841 Elijah Carpenter. 


1875 


1842 Elijah Carpenter. 


1876 


1843 Elijah Carpenter. 


1877 


1844 


1878 


1845 Amos Bailey. 


1879 


184G 


1880 


1847 Heurj' Baxter. 


1881 


1848 Enoch Howes-. 


1882 


1849 Enoch Howea. 


1883 


1850 Lyman Parker. 


1884 


1851 William Bead. 


1885 


1852 Elijah Sawyer. 


1886 


1853 Henry Baxter. 


1887 


1854 Elijah Sawyer. 


1888 


1855 Elijah Sawyer. 


1889 


1856 Amos Richardson. 


1890 


1857 Willard Adams. 





Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Joseph Hammond, jr. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Enoch Howes. 
Obadiah Sprague. 
Alonzo A. "Ware. 
Gfeorge E. AVhitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. 'Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George Carpenter. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcomb. 
George E. Whitcond^. 
George E. Whitcomb. 



SwANZET MEN ELECTED TO StATE AND CoUNTY OFFICES. 

SENATORS. 

Elisha Whitcomb, 1793,-94-96-97-98- Elijah Carpenter, 1843. 

99-1800-1801, Benjamin Bead, 1867-68. 

Elijah Beidiug, 1820-1840-1841. 



Willard Adams, 1860. 



CO.MMISSIONKnS. 

Alonzo A. Ware, 1872-73-74. 



APrROPRIATIONS. 



215 



APPROPRIATIONS. 



DATE. 


TOWN 
CHARGES. 


SCHOOLS. 


HIGHWAYS. 


DATE. 


TOWN 
CHARGES. 


SCHOOLS. 


HIGHWAYS. 


17G6 


£200 




£100 


1801 








1767 


60 




100 


1802 








1768 


60 




70 


1803 








1769 






60 


1804 








1770 


62 


£8 


30 


1805 








1771 


72 


8 


60 


1806 








1772 


88 


12 




1807 








1773 


78 


3i 


100 


1808 








1774 


64 


20 


20 


1809 








1775 




20 


40 


1810 , 








1776 






20 


1811 








1777 


63 




140 


1812 








1778 


50 


8 


400 


1813 








1779 


167 




900 


1814 








1780 


1000 




4000 


1815 








1781 


130 




7000 


1816 


$G00 


$500 


$700 


178-2 


60 




260 


1817 


750 




700 


1783 


235 


83 


76 


1818 


850 


500 


800 


1784 


66 


30 


100 


1819 


500 


500 


800 


1785 


85 




100 


1820 


700 


500 




1786 


l.iO 




130 


1821 


650 


500 


800 


1787 


69 




60 


1822 


450 


550 


800 


1788 


66 




80 


1823 


800 


550 


1000 


1789 


69 




180 


1824 


GOO 


550 


1000 


1790 




60 


80 


1825 


500 


550 


800 


1791 


34 


61 


100 


1826 


800 


600 


850 


1793 


45 


161 


135 


1827 


800 






1793 


45 


80 


120 


1828 


250 ) 
500 1 




1000 


1794 








1829 


400 


100 L.F. 


1000 


1795 








1830 


400 


654 


1000 


1796 








1831 


400 


600 


1000 


1797 








1832 


1500 


700 


1000 


1798 








1833 


1000 


675 


1400 


1799 








1834 


2000 


571 


1000 


ISOO 








1835 


1000 


675 


1000 



216 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



DATE. 


TOWN 
CHARGES. 


SCHOOLS. 


HIGHWAYS. 


DATE. 


TOWN 
CHARGES. 


SCHOOLS. 


HIGHWAYS. 


1836 


1000 


570 


1000 


1864 


1000 


1294 


1000 


1837 


2000 


1000 


1000 


1865 


1000 


1320 


1000 


1838 


3000 


688 


1000 


1866 


cooo 


1300 


1038 


1S39 


3000 


047 


1000 


1867 


6000 


1351 


1000 


1840 


2000 


700 


1000 


1868 


5000 


1576 


1726 


1841 


1500 


775 


1000 


1839 


1000 


1500 


1000 


1842 


2000 


872 


1000 


1870 


950 


1500 


1000 


1843 


1500 


900 


1000 


1871 


1400 


1640 


1200 


1844 


800 


900 


1000 


1872 


1000 


1633 


1500 


1845 


2000 


900 


1000 


1873 


1000 


1655 


1500 


1846 


3000 


900 


1000 


1874 


1000 


1600 


1500 


1847 


1500 


800 


1000 


1875 


2000 


1754 


1500 


1848 


2500 


1000 


1000 


1876 


2000 


1752 


1500 


1849 


1200 • 


1000 


1000 


1877 


2000 


1773 


1800 


1850 


2000 


1000 


1000 


1878 


1500 


2206 


2000 


1851 


1800 


1000 


1000 


1879 


1000 


2502 


1500 


1852 


1500 


1000 


1000 


1880 


1000 


2345 


2000 


1853 


1500 


1000 


1000 


1881 


1000 


2210 


2000 


1854 


1200 


1200 


1000 


1882 


1000 


2120 


1500 


1855 


2000 


1200 


1000 


1883 


1000 


2276 


1500 


1856 


2000 


1200 


1000 


1884 


1000 


2175 


1500 


1857 


2500 


1290 


1000 


1885 


800 


2918 


1500 


1858 


2500 


1288 


1000 


1886 


1000 


2861 


1500 


1859 


2500 


1288 


1000 


1887 


1000 


2800 


1500 


18(J0 


2200 


1288 


1000 


1888 


1000 


2840 


150O 


1861 


1000 


1288 


1200 


1889 


1200 


2829 


1200 


1802 


1000 


1290 


1200 


1890 


1200 


2963 


1200 


1863 


1000 


1288 


1000 











VOTES FOR GOVERNOR. 

Under the Constitution of 1783, the chief magistrate of New Hamp- 
shire was styled President; and since the adoption of the Constitution 
of 1793 he has been called Governor. Although in the earlj- da^-s of 
the republic, part}' distinctions were little known, yet the politicians 
of those days are usually classed as belonging to the party with which 
they were subsequently allied. The general distinction of parties up 




HON, ASA S. KENDALL, 



VOTES FOR GOVERNOR. 



217 



to 1824 was Federal and Republican. At this time the Federal party- 
ceased to exist, and for about ten years the political forces of the na- 
tion were known as Adams men or Jackson men, taking tlieir names 
from their candidates for the presidential office. From 1834 to 1855 
the rival parties were designated as Democratic and Whig ; but in 
1841 the Abolition or Free Soil party was organized, drawing voters 
from both the Wliig and Democratic parties, but principally* from the 
former. In 1855 the American or Know Nothing part}'^ suddenly 
appeared in New Hampshire, electing its Governor by the people, as 
it did the next year by the Legislature. Since 1856 the principal par- 
ties throughout the nation have been known as Eepicblican and Demo- 
cratic. 

The following gives the votes in Swanzey for the principal candi- 
dates for the chief magistrate of New Hampshire. Those marked 
with a * were elected. 

The political character of the town may be determined by its votes 
for Governor and Presidential Electors. 



Date. No. of votes. 

1784: *Meshecli Weare, 10 

" George Atkinson, Fed., 21 

" John Sullivan, Fed., 2 

1785 *George Atlduson, Fed., 50 

1786 George Atkinson, Fed., 45 
" John Langdon, Rep., 30 

1787 John Langdon, Rep., 76 
" * John Sullivan, Fed., 6 

1788 John Sullivan,^Fed., 34 



Date 

1788 
1789 



No. of votes. 



*John Langdon, Rep., 4 

* John Sullivan, Fed. , 22 

" John Pickering, Rep., 25 

1790 John Pickering, 16 
" Joshua Wentworth, 11 
" *Josiah Bartlett, 

1791 *Josiah Bartlett, Rep., 30 

1792 *Josiah Bartlett, Rep., 43 



1808 John T. Gilman, Fed., 
" John Langdon, Rep., 

1817 *Wimam Plumer, Rep., 
" Jeremiah Mason, Fed., 

1818 *William Plumer, Rep., 
" Jeremiali Mason, Fed., 

1819 *Samuel Bell, Rep., 

1820 *Samuel Bell, Rep., 

1821 *Samuel Bell, Rep., 

1822 Samuel Bell, Rep., 
1828 Samuel Dinsmoor , Rep. , 

" *Levi Woodbury, Rep., 
1824 DavidL. Morrill, Adams, 
" Jeremiah Smith, 
" Scattering, 



GOVERNOR. 

82 1825 
120 1826 
158 

61 1827 
167 1828 

51 
142 
176 
217 
236 
185 1831 

32 
151 1832 

34 
8 1833 



1829 



1830 



David L. Morrill, Adams, 190 

♦DavidL. Morrill, Adams, 73 

Benjamin Pierce, Jack., 119 

♦Benjamin Pierce, Jack., 141 

Benjamin Pierce, Jack., 138 

♦John Bell, Adams, 156 

♦Benjamin Pierce, Jack., 175 

John Bell, Adams, 101 

♦Matthew Harvey, Jack., 188 

Timothy Upham, Adams, 81 

♦Samuel Dinsmoor, Jack., 196 

Ichabod Bartlett, Adams, 101 

♦Samuel Dinsmoor, Jack., 191 

Ichabod Bartlett, Adams, 29 

♦Samuel Dinsmoor, Jack., 204 



218 



HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



1833 Arthur Livermore, Adams, 2 

1834 *Willirtin Badser, Dem., 229 

1835 *Willium Badger, Dem., 200 

1836 *Isaac Hill, Dem., 205 
" George Sullivan, 49 

1837 *Isaac Hill, Dem., 180 

1838 *Isaac Hill, Dem., 239 
" James Wilson, Whig, 124 

1839 *John Page, Dem., 251 
" James Wilson, Whig, 128 

1840 *John Page, Dem., 238 
" Enos Stevens, Whig, 112 

1841 *John Page, Dem., 225 
" Enos Stevens, Whig, 111 

1842 *Henry Hubbard, Dem., 231 
" John H.White, Ind. D., 48 
" Enos Stevens, Whig, 30 
" Daniel Hoit, F. S., 18 

1843 *Henry Hubbard, Dem., 219 
" Anthony Colby, Whig, 45 
" Daniel Hoit, F. S., 20 

1844 *John H. Steele, Dem., 218 
" Anthony Colby, Whig, 53 
" Daniel Hoit, F. S., 37 

1845 *Johu H. Steele, Dem., 183 
" Anthony Colby, Whig, 52 
" Daniel Hoit, F. S., 43 

1846 Jared W. Williams, Dem., 217 
" *Antliony Colby, W^iig, 78 
" Nathaniel S. Berry, F. S., 36 

1847 *Jared W. Williams, Dem. 245 
" Anthony Colby, Whig, 89 
" Nathaniels. Berry, F.S., 38 

1848 * Jared W. Williams, Dem., 236 
" Nathaniel S. Berry, F. S., 116 

1849 *Samnel Dinsmoor, Dem., 243 
" Levi Chamberlain, Whig, 77 
" Nathaniel S. Berry, F. S., 34 

1850 *Samnel Dinsmoor, Dem., 228 
" Levi Chamberlain, Whig, 50 
" Nathaniels. Berry, F. S., 38 

1851 *Samnel Dinsmoor, Dem., 214 
" Thomas E. Sawyer, Whig, 68 
" John Atwood, F. S., 62 

1852 *Noah Martin, Dem., 250 
" Thomas E. SaAvyer, Whig, 74 
" John Atwood. F. S., 62 

1853 *Noah Martin, Dem., 244 
•« John H. White, F. S., 73 



1853 James Bell, Whig, 52 

1854 *Nathaniel B. Baker, Dem., 240 
" James Bell, Whig, 45 
" Jared Perkins, F. S., 84 

1855 Nathaniel B. Baker, Dem., 226 
" *Ralph Metcalf, 210 

1856 John S.Wells, Dem., 232 
" *Ralph Metcalf, Am., 201 

1857 *William Ilaile, Rep., 207 
" John S. Wells, Dem., 209 

1858 AsaP. Cate, Dem., 233 
" * William Haile, Rep., 201 

1859 Asa P. Cate, Dem., 228 
" *Ichabod Goodwin, Rep., 166 

1860 AsaP. Clate, Dem., 244 
" *Ichabod Goodwin, Rep., 191 

18G1 George Stark, Dem., 215 

" *NatliauiclS. Berry, Rep., 184 

1862 George Stark, Dem., 207 
" *Nathaniel S. Berry, Rep., 142 

1863 Ira A. Eastman, Dem., 230 
" *J6sepli A. Gilmore, Rep., 135 
" Walter Harriman, Ind. D., 13 

1864 Edward W. Harrington, D., 238 
" ^Joseph A. Gilmore, Rep., 167 

1865 Edward W. Harrington, D.,211 
" *Frederick Smyth, Rep., 1^35 

1866 John G. Sinclair, Dem., 227 
" *Frederick Smyth, Rep., 137 

1867 John G. Sinclair, Dem., 229 
" *Walter Harriman, Rep., 148 

1868 *W alter Harriman, Rep., 180 
" John G. Sinclair, Dem., 248 

1869 John Bedel, Dem., 214 
" *Onslow Stearns, Rep., 142 

1870 *Onslow Stearns, Rep., 153 
" John Bedel, Dem., 207 

1871 *Onslow Stearns, Rep., 153 
" John Bedel, Dem., 207 

1872 *EzekielA. Straw, Rep., 148 
" James A. Weston, Dem., 242 

1873 James A. Weston, Dem., 202 
" *EzekiolA. Straw, Rep., 106 

1874 Luther McCutchings, Rep., 134 
" * James A. Weston, Dem., 224 

1875 *Persou C. Cheney, Rep., 154 
" Hiram C. Roberts, Dem., 238 

1876 Daniel Marcy, Dem., 241 
" Person C. Cheney, Eep., 167 



ELECTORAL VOTES. 



219 



1876 Asa S. Kendall, Temp., 9 

1877 Daniel Marcy, Dem., 222 
" Asa S. Kendall, Temp., 15 
" *BenjaminF.Prescott, Rep., 1G3 

1878 *Beiijamin F. Prescott, Rep. , 172 
" Frank A. McKeaa, Dem., 1G7 

1879 *Natt Head, Rep., 153 
" Frank A. McKean, Dem., 169 

1880 Frank Jones, Dem., 228 

" *Cliarles H. Bell, Rep., 196 

" "Warren G.BroAvn, Greenback, 28 

1882 Martin V. B. Edgerly, Dem., 244 



1882 *Samuel W. Hale, Rep., 99 

John F. Woodbury, Gr'back,48 

1884 JolmM. Hill, Dem., 201 

." *Moody Currier, Rep., 149 

" George Carpenter, Gr'back, 59 
1886 Thomas CogsweU, Dem., 172 

" *Charles H. Sawyer, Rep., 140 

" George Carpenter, Gr'back, 32 
1888 Charles H. Arasdeu, Dem., 228 

" *David H. Goodell, Rep., 181 
1890 Charles H. Amsden, Dem., 163 

" *Hiram A. Tuttle, Rep., 130 



The following are the Votes for Presidential Candidates 

SINCE 1816. 



electoral votes. 



1816 James Monroe, Rep., 
Fed., 

1820 James Monroe, Rep., 

1824 J. Q. Adams, Whig, 

" Henry Clay, Whig, 

" Andrew Jackson, Dem., 

1828 Andrew Jackson, Dem., 

" J. Q. Adams, Whig, 

1832 Andrew Jackson, Dem., 

" Henry Clay, Whig, 

1836 Martin Van Buren, Dem. 

" W. H. Harrison, Whig, 

1840 M. Van Buren, Dem., 

" W. H. Harrison, Whig, 

1844 James K. Polk, Dem., 

" Henry Clay, Whig, 

" J. G. Birney, Lib., 

1848 Zachary Taylor, Whig, 

" Lewis Cass, Dem., 

" J. G. Birney, Lib., 

1852 Franklin Pierce, Dem., 

" Winfleld Scott, Whig, 

" John P. Hale, Free Soil, 

1856 James Buchanan, Dem., 

" John C. Fremont, Rep., 

" Millard Fillmore, ^Yhig, 



150 


18G0 


63 


ii 


98 


ii 


72 


cc 


25 


1864 


49 


ii 


159 


1868 


155 


ii 


197 


1872 


116 


a 


139 




45 


1876 


244 


t ( 


143 




211 


1880 


81 


( i 


3a 




55 




217 


1884 


72 


i i 


232 


a 


57 


it 


62 


1888 


229 


( ( 


216 


i i 


2 


<C 



Abraham Lincoln, Rep., 214 

S. A. Douglas, Dem., 195 

J. C. Breckenridge, Dem., 18 

John Bell, Whig, 1 

Abraham Lincoln, Rep., 154 

Geo. B. McClellan, Dem., 260 

U. S. Grant, Rep., 168 

H. Seymour, Dem., 235 

U. S. Grant, Rep., 151 

Horace Greeley, Dem., 198 

Scattering, 3 

Samuel J. Tilden, Dem., 251 

R. B. Hayes, Rep., 178 

Scattering, 2 

W. S. Hancock, Dem., 228 

J. A. Garfield, Rep., 198 

Weaver, Greenback, 28 

Scattering, 1 

Grover Cleveland, Dem., 196 

James G. Blaine, Rep., 161 
Benj. F. Butler, Greenback. 55 

St. John, Prohibition, 3 

Grover Cleveland, Dem., 228 

Benj. Harrison, Rep., 183 

J. A. Streeter, Greenback, 22 
Clinton B. Fisk, Prohibition, 2 



CHAPTEK IX. 

Swanzey Industries. 



Industries of Wkst Swanzey — Factory Village — East Swanzby— West- 
port— Spragukville — Swanzey Center — Graves' Place — A^'^I.cox 
Shop— Lane Mill — On Bridge Brook — Othkr Mills — Stores— Hotkls 
— Brick-making — Tanneries — Palm-Leaf Hats. 

WHILE agriculture has always been the leading pursuit of the 
people in Swanzey, the manufacturing interests, in some re- 
spects, have been hardly less important. The streams of water are 
well adapted to furnish the propelling power for machinery and the 
pine forests have always supplied abundant -material for the manufac- 
ture of wooden ware. 

This chapter is principally devoted to a detailed statement of man- 
ufacturing in the different localities in town. 

WEST SWANZEY. 

One of the first measures the proprietors of Lower Ashuelot took 
into consideration after the township had been organized was to have 
a saw-mill built at the Upper "Great Falls" at West Swanzey. At a 
meeting of the proprietors held at Concord, Mass., March 16, 1736, 
the following vote was passed : "That two hundred acres of land ad- 
joining to the Upper Great Falls in the Great River, to lay as con- 
venient as maj' be to said falls, be laid out to Ephraim Jones his 
heirs and assigns at his or their cost, upon condition that he the said 
Ephraim Jones, his heirs or assigns shall build a good saw-mill at said 
falls on or before the 15th daj^ of August next, and maintain it ten j'ears 
at least, and to saw for and sell boards to the proprietors at the same 
price they generall}'^ are at other places. Said land to be laid out by 
the committee and surve^'or which shall be chosen to lay out the next 
division of land, and to include said falls ; reserving free liberty for the 
setting up a grist-mill at said place when the proprietoi'S shall think 
it necessary. If he, the said Ephraim Jones, his heirs or assigns 
(who are to have the liberty before siay other) shall decline it, and 
(220) 



SAVANZEY INDUSTRIES. 221 

if at the end of said ten j'ears or any time forward said Epliraim 
Jones, his heirs or assigns, shall neglect or refuse to keep up and 
maintain a saw-mill at said place, then the privilege conveniency for 
a saw-mill at said place to revert to the proprietors." 

Mr. Jones built the saw-mill on the east side of the river, at the low- 
er part of the falls. The dam was a number of rods below where 
the present one stands, and some part of the old structure can be seen 
at each bank of the river. 

At a proprietors' meeting held the sixth day of November, 1738, 
the following votes were passed to encourage Mr. Jones to build a 
grist-mill near his saw-mill. " Voted to raise the sum of forty shillings 
on each right, or the sum of one hundred and twenty pounds for en- 
couragement towards building a grist-mill upon the Great River near 
to where the saw-mill now stands in said township, to him or them that 
shall appear to enter into bonds to build the same, on or before the 
first day of Sept. next ensuing. Voted and chose three men to be a 
committee to agree with John Shepard who appears (in the name of 
Ephraim Jones of Concord) to enter into bonds to build a grist-mill 
as above mentioned. 

Voted, Tliat Samuel Gunn, Thomas Cresson and Benjamin Brown 
be a committee to give bonds to said John Siiepard to pay him the 
money tiiat was voted to be raised for encouragement towards build- 
ing said grist-mill, and to take a bond of said John Shepard to oblige 
him to build said mills on or before the first day of September above 
said." 

We have no knowledge how long it was before the mills were de- 
stroyed but probably they were burned in 1747 by the Indians at the 
same time they burned the buildings at the Center. 

It is not known that any other buildings were erected at West 
Swanzey, besides the mills, beforq the township was abandoned. The 
fact tliat there is no evidence that the proprietors built a fort there 
for the protection of inhabitants, goes to show that none had estab- 
lished tliemselves there permanently. The laborers in the mills and 
such as had commenced to improve their land depended upon repair- 
ing to the forts at the Center for protection in case of danger. 

Ephraim Jones, who built the first mills, never lived permanently in 
the township. Before the settlers commenced to rebuild where their 
buildings had been destroyed he had died, and his possessions revert- 
ed to the proprietors as he had not maintained his mills long enough 
to give his heirs a clear title. 

After the abandonment of the township nearly thirteen j-ears 



222 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

elapsed before successful efforts were made by the proprietors to re- 
build the mills. 

Joseph Whitcomb and his son Joseph had settled in the east part 
of Svvanzej^ previous to 1760 ; probably they had obtained the right 
to the falls at ^Yest Swanzey previous to a meeting of the proprietors 
held March 4, 1760, to act upon the following article : ''To see if they 
will grant to Capt. Joseph Whitcomb, and to any that shall join with 
bim, four acres of land upon his or their own right for a mill yard." 

The action of the proprietors upon the article was as foUoVvs: 
" Voted To Capt. Joseph AVhitcomb and his partners four acres of land 
to lay out upon his or their right, on condition that he or they shall 
build a saw-mill within two or three years from this time." 

The above grant may have been included in the land on each side 
of the falls, on the east side of which Capt. Joseph Whitcomb and his 
oldest son Joseph immediately erected a saw-mill and grist-mill. 

Joseph Whitcomb, jr., was the most prominent business man at 
West Swanzey between the 3'ears 1760 and 1790. Previous to his 
removal to Grafton, Vt., he executed the following conveyances of 
his property at different times : To Joseph 9,nd Abigail Whitcomb all 
his interest in that part of the Mill Farm on the west side of Ashuelot 
river June 1, 1780; to Benjamin Wilson six and one-half acres of 
land on the east side of the river and one-half of the saw-mill thereon, 
March 1, 1785 ; to Otis Capron a piece of land on the east side of 
the river for erecting a fulling-mill with the privilege of taking water 
out of the grist-mill flume, March 1, 1786; to Abijah AVhitcomb, 
one-half his grist-mill March 3, 1788 ; to his son Joseph Whitcomb, 
3d, all the Mill Farm which he owned, March 23, 1789 ; to Philemon 
Whitcomb one acre of land upon which the forge stood and the water 
power connected with it Sept. 2, 1790. The forge was upon the west 
side of the river, and the deed was executed after Mr. AVhitcomb had 
removed to Grafton, Vermont. 

Capt. Joseph AVhitcomb and his son Abijah were the first to build 
mills on the west side of the river. They commenced about 1771, 
and owned the property until 1790, when they sold to Philemon AVhit- 
comb. 

The operations of the AA^'hitcombs at AVest Swanzey were confined 
a number of years to the four acres given them b}' the proprietors of 
the township, and to building mills on each side of the river. 

One of the original proprietors of Lower Ashuelot was James Ilea- 
ton of AVrentiiam, Mass. He did not settle in the township, but his 
son James Heaton, 2d, did. The senior James Heaton became the 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 223 

owner of the original Mill Farm after the proprietors had voted four 
acres of it to Capt. Joseph AYhitcomb and his partners, and also of 
other lots of land adjoining the Mill Farm on the west side of the 
river, lying at the south and west of it. These lots and the original 
Mill Farm contained over four hundred acres and was known as the 
"Mill Farm," as had been the two hundred acres conveyed to Ephraim 
Jones conditionally. 

James Heaton, 2d, died in the township Aug. 14, 1753, leaving four 
sons to whom he bequeathed the Mill Farm, which was ultimately all 
bought up b}^ the Whitcombs. 

.Joseph Whitcomb, 1st, bought 200 acres on the west side of the 
river in Sept., 1770, and 33 acres in 1773. Joseph Whitcomb, 2nd, 
bought the 80 acres on the east side of the river in 1773. Abijah 
Whitcomb bought 100 acres June 10, 1773. 

Otis Capron bought a plot of the Whitcombs for a fulling-mill on 
the east side of the river and the right to draw water from the flume 
of the grist-mill sufficient to operate the mill March 16, 1786. Mr. 
Capron, having erected a mill, sold it Dec. 11, 1789, to Richard 
Stratton. 

Mr. Stratton carried on the cloth-dressing business down to the 
time he sold it to his son John, who continued the business by hiring 
an experienced journeyman and apprenticing his son Isaac to the 
business. 

After Isaac reached his majority one-half the fulling-mill was con- 
veyed to him and later the other half to his brother Alfred. About 
the year 1839 the brotliers put a carding machine into their mill which 
for a time they operated in connection with cloth-dressing. 

As early as 1842 cloth-dressing had been discontinued and making 
wooden ware commenced. At first, pails and sap-tubs were made, 
followed by changing the machinery for making covered buckets. To 
Isaac and Alfred Stratton belongs \he credit of being the first persons 
to make covered buckets by machinerj' anywhere. They did not find 
encouraging sales for their ware. Tiie trade had long been accus- 
tomed to hand-made goods ; they closed up the business and sold the 
machinery. About 1848 wool carding was discontinued. 

April 6, 1803, Benjamin Wilson sold his half of the saw-mill which 
he bought in 1785 to his son, John Wilson, who in August, 1807, sold 
it to Richard Stratton. John Stratton obtained this half of the saw- 
mill of his fatlier. Philemon AViiitcomb became the owner of his 
father's half of the old saw-mill and conve3^ed it to his son Abijah 
under date of Oct. 4, 1823. Samuel Stearns bought this half of the 



224 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

mill in 1827; Isaac Stratton bought Stearns' half and afterwards con- 
veyed it to his father. After this conveyance John Stratton contin- 
ued in possession of the property until he sold to the Stratton Mills 
Co. in 1866. 

Probably Joseph AYhitcomb and his son Abijah commenced to build 
a saw-mill on the west side of the river in 1770, and continued in pos- 
session of the property until 171)0. At this time they owned a grist- 
mill on the same side of the river. Doubtless this grist-mill took the 
place of the one that was previously built on the east side. 

In 1790, Philemon Whitcomb bought these mills of his father and 
liis brother Abijali. He conveyed, June 4, 1819, three-fourths of the 
mills to his son Benjamin, and to his son Philemon, one-fourtii, Oct. 
3, 1823. Five days after Philemon Whitcomb, 2d, took a deed of 
one-fourth of the mills, lie sold to his brother Benjamin. 

Benjamin Whitcomb, 2d, became the owner of these mills and sold 
them July 30, 1853, to John Stratton, Alfred Stratton and John 
Stratton, jr. 

One-half of the forge property which Philemon Whitcomb bought in 
1789 of his brother Joseph he conveyed to his son Jotham in 1807; 
the other half was owned at one time b}^ his daughter Damaris, Mrs. 
Frink. Nov. 19, 1821, Samuel Stearns bought of Jonathan Ilolbrook 
one-half of this property, and Jan. 13, 1824, Benjamin AVhitcomb 
bought one-half of it of Philemon AVhitcomb, 2d. It is presumed 
that Benjamin Whitcomb became ultimately the owner of the site upon 
which the forge was built, and the water power belonging to it. 

In 1848 Alfred Stratton sold his half of the fulling-mill property to 
his brother John, In 1850 Isaac Stratton sold his half to his father 
and brother Alfred. Before 1850 the making of wooden ware and 
wool carding had been discontinued at this place, and Alfred and 
John Stratton, jr., were engaged here in the pelting business. 

Isaac Stratton built a steam mill near the Baptist meeting-house in 
1850 and sold it to Asa S. Kendall in 1867. Mr. Stratton used the 
mill mostl}' for manufacturing lumber, having a saw-mill and other 
fixtures necessary for such business. He had been engaged a few 
years previous to selling in hides. 

Mr. Kendall made such changes and improvements as were neces- 
sary to enable him to do a large business at tanning and currying. 
He continued the business until 1882, and during these years em- 
ployed a large number of hands. 

For the purpose of carrying on the lumbering business, John Strat- 
ton, in 1849, took as a partner his son-in-law Amos F. Fish. Where 





:^^^^(> 




I 



Is 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 225 

the old saw-mill stood, they bnilt a large shop to be used for a saw- 
mill and various other mannfacturing purposes. Soou after the build- 
ing was finished Elliot Hammond put in machinery for making doors, 
sash and blinds ; George W. Alexander and Benjamin Marvin, machin- 
ery for manufacturing chair stock ; E. F. Read, machinery for making 
boot forms. In a few years Alexander and Marvin discontinued man- 
ufacturino- chair stock, and Alanson S. Whitcomb and Levi Cross 
leased the room and commenced making brush woods. 

In 1852, Franklin Holman commenced making buckets in John 
Stratton's new mill. The next year E. F. Read entered into partner- 
shi|i with Holman for carrying on the same business. This partner- 
ship continued until 1855, when Holman sold to Read who continued 
the business alone. 

In 1856, E F. Read and Elliot ^y Lane formed a partnership, and 
added manufacturing of pails to that of buckets. This partnership 
continued only a few months when Lane withdrew and Read contin- 
ued alone until 1863, when he sold one-half of the business to Joseph 
L. Parker. 

In 1865, Read and Parker dissolved their partnership and divided 
their business ; Read took tlie bucket part of the business and Parker 
the pail part. Read sold the bucket business in 1867 to John Starkey 
and Oscar J. Howard ; and Parker, at a later date, sold the pail busi- 
ness to Elisha Munsell, jr. Henry Abbott bought the bucket busi- 
ness of Starkey and Howard 

In the spring of 1873, a new company was formed for manufacturing 
wooden ware at West Swanzey, to be known as E. F. Read & Co. 
The partners were Stratton Mills Co., Charles L. Russell and E, F. 
Read. This company bought the pail business of Munsell and the 
bucket business of Abbott. At the expiration of three years Read 
sold his interest in the business to George E. A^hitcomb and the firm 
name was changed to C. L. Russell and Co. In 1885 Russell & Whit- 
comb bouoiht the interest of the Stratton Mills Co. 

Russell & Whitcomb have had ample means, and have done a large 
and successful business. They have leased their mill of the West 
Swanzey Manf. Co. They have a large store house near the rail- 
road. It takes about 2000 cords of pine sai)lings and a large quanti- 
ty of hard wood timber to stock their mill annually. They employ 
forty hands. 

Frank L. Snow built a steam mill in 1882 near the railroad, and 
commenced to manufacture lumber, and in 1882, Solon W. Snow & 
Sons besjan to make boxes in the mill. In 1883 the mill was burned 
15 



226 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

and rebuilt in 1884. In 1884 Mr. Snow commenced to make pnilsin 
his mill ; he uses some 1500 cords of sapling pines a year for his pail 
business and employs twenty-five hands. 

The grist-mill of Eames and Towne, the motive power of which is 
furnished from Snow's steam-mill, was built in 1884. 

The first firm that made boxes at West Swanzey was John Slrat- 
ton, 2d, Alfred Stratton and a jNIr. Jaquith. They commenced 
the business about 1854 in the old fulling-mill building, which was 
owned at the time b}'^ John Stratton. The two brothers bought the 
building of their father in IMay, 1858, and sold it to Francis Morse, 
Daniel Snow, and Gilbert S. Howard Oct. 1, 1858, and also sold to 
them their box business. This firm continued uniil 1863, when Morse 
sold out to his partners, having been in company wilii the Strattons 
in the business some time before his partnership with Snow and 
Howard. 

Since 1863 the following firms have carried on the box business at 
this place : Daniel Snow & Gilbert S. Howard ; Daniel Snow & Fran- 
cis Morse ; Abner Thonii)son & Solon W. Snow ; Daniel Snow & 
Solon W. Snow ; Elisha INIunsell & Frank "L. Snow ; Obadiali Sprngue 
& Solon W. Snow ; Obadiah Si)rague & Orlow E Parsons ; Orlow E. 
Parsons, George E. Whitcomb & Arthur H. Whitcomb. Fifteen 
hands are employed and 450 cords of timber used annually. 

Since 1882 Solon W. Snow and his son E. H. Snow have been man- 
ufacturing boxes at Frank L. Snow's steam-mill. They employ sev- 
enteen hands and work up five hundred cords of pine timber annually. 

After the Strattons bought the Whitcomb mill on the west side of 
the river in 1853 the old saw- and grist-mill was taken down and a 
large Substantial building built at the same place. The lower part of 
the new mill was designed for a grist-mill and the upper part for man- 
ufacturing woollen goods. John Stratton, 2d, had the manage- 
ment of erecting the building and putting in a grist-mill which had a 
capacity for doing a large amount of milling. He formed a partner- 
ship with his brother-in-law, Jotiiam W. Frink, for manufacturing 
woollen goods, the firm name being J. W. Frink & Co. This firm 
carried on the manufacturing a number of years previous to its sale 
to the Stratton Mills Co. 

In 1866 Laton Martin, Obed G. Dort, John Bowker and Obadiah 
Sprague formed a copartnership for the purpose of purchasing all the 
mill and water power at West Swanzey, and for manufacturing woollen 
and cotton goods, lumber and wooden ware. John Stratton owned 
all the mills on each side of the river except the okl fulling-mill, which 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 227 

was owned by Daniel Snow and Gilbert S. Howard. The company- 
took deeds of all these mills Jan. 24, 1866, and also bought adjoin- 
ing land of Abraham Stearns, and a blacksmith shop of Ira Hooper. 
The company adopted the name of Stratton Mills Co., and commenced 
business with a capital of forty thousand dollars. In 1868 a new mill 
was built of brick, seventy feet in length and thirty-five in breadth. 
The g?-ist-mill was taken out about 1862. Building the new mill and 
taking out the grist-mill gave room for double the business that was 
had at the commencement. Tlie old fulling-mill was rebuilt in 1876, 
and has been leased to different firms for making boxes. Firms en- 
gaged in making wooden ware have leased the mill since it was bought 
b}'^ the Stratton Mills Co. in 1866. Sprague and Martin bought Dort's 
interest. 

March 16, 1887, the property of the Stratton Mills Co. was merged 
into a stock company and tlie name changed to West Swanzey Man- 
ufacturing Co. The capital of the stock company was made thirt}'- 
four thousand dollars, of which Ansel Dickinson of Winchester took 
fifteen thousand and was made president of the company. 

Mr. Sprague has been the treasurer and manager of both companies, 
excepting some three j^ears when he was building and operating the 
mills at Spragneville. 

The goods that have been made have consisted of black and grc}^ 
beaver cloth, cashmeretts and flannels. The company employ fift}* 
bands. 

Tiie main buildings of the company are the woollen mill, 50 X 76 
ft., three stories and basement; brick mill, 50 X 65 ft., two stories 
and basement ; box shop, 50 X 50 ft., two stories ; pail shop, 100 X 40 
ft., two stories which was rebuilt in 1881 and a store house near the 
west end of the bridge. 

The first store at West Swanzey-. was built in 1803 b}' Abraham 
Stearns where Mrs. Asa S. Kendall resides. In 1807 Mr. Stearns 
had as a partner in trade Abijah, his eldest son. In 1808 Asaph 
Stearns became a partner of his brother Abijah. Doubtless the senior 
Stearns carried on business here at a later date and had the assistance 
of his sons John, Abraham and Samuel. The last of the family' that 
was in business here was Samuel Stearns and his brother-in-law Joel 
Eaton. Joseph Hammond, jr., carried on business in this store in 1850 
and 1851. 

John Stratton built a store about 1827 where the Universalist church 
now stands, and formed a partnership with Jonathan Whitcomb, 3rd, 
which continued about two years. Mr. Whitcomb was alone in busi- 
ness in 1829. The occupants during the years 1830-32 were Jonathan 



228 ^ HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

and Hiram AVhltcomb, Eveison Cook did business there from 1834 to 
1838. 

Mr. Coolc built a store on the west side of tlie river in 1838, and 
occupied it until 1846. He connected a tailoring establishment with 
it and sold to Amos F. and EzraT. Fish in 1846. They sold in 1849 
to Jothani W. Frink who carried on business there until 1865. The 
subsequent occupants have been Paul F. Aldrich, jr., to 1871, and 
Salmon H. Fox to 1890. 

Joseph Hammond, jr., built a store near the Baptist meeting-house in 
1852 and was in business there until he sold it to Paul F. Aldrich, 3rd, 
in 1863, excepting the j'ear 1857, when he leased it to D. G. Mason. 
Mr. Aldrich occupied the store until he sold it in 1865 to Joseph Ware, 
who after doing business about two ^^earssold to Frank L. Snow, who, 
after being in business some three j'ears exchanged it with A. S. 
Kendall for the old No. 11 school-house. 

This building was moved by Mr. Snow to the east side of Railroad 
street and fitted up for a store in 1880. He continued in business 
until 1883, when he leased it to C. C. Brooks, later to J. L. Parker, 
and in 1885 sold to C. L. Russell and G^. E. Whitcomb who sold to 
Salmon H. Fox in 1887. 

The West Swanzey Mainifacturing Co. fitted up a store in 1889 on 
the west side of the river, near the bridge which is now occupied by 
A. A. Emery for the sale of dry goods and groceries. 

The house now owned by Mrs. Asa S. Kendall was built about IblO 
b}' Abraham Stearns for a tavern, and was managed many 3'ears by 
liim and his sons. John Grimes, 2nd, was in control of tlie property 
in 1825, and Silas Brewer in 1832 ; subsequent owners have been Josiah 
AYoodward, Leonard Whitcomb, John Starkey and David Wilson. 
The last man that kejjt a pul)lic house here was a Mr. Richards. 

Everson Cook and Joseph Hammond, jr., built the hotel on the west 
side of the river in 1840. Mr. Cook bought Hammond's interest in 
1841 and managed the house until he sold to Amos F. and J]zra T. 
Fish in 1846. The following persons have been in possession of this 
hotel since it was bought by tlie Fish brothers : Francis Morse*, 1847 ; 
Adonirani J. Aldrich, W. G. Owen, 1849; Moses Kinney, 1851; 
Samuel Mattoon, 1857; Albert G. Hill, I860; Henry Starke^', jr., 
1865 ; Homer Evans and family since the last date. 

A I'AMILT OF BLACKSMITHS. 

Shubael Seaver, a blacksmith, bought lot No. 25 in the fourth range, 
Sept. 25, 1783. He settled upon this lot which was in the east part 
of West Swanzey. Of his descendants who have been blacksmiths 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 229 

nre his sons Shubael, "William Hyde and John ; his grandsons Shubael 
and Luman W., and his great-grandson Liiman B. 

Other blacksmiths at West Swanzey have been Zadock Taft, Lucius 
Taft, Moses Kenney, George Hamblet, Lorenzo R. Holbrook, Alfred 
Seaver, Ira Hooper, Amos H. Freeman and Frank 0. Dodge. 0>^ ^ '^ 

SWANZET FACTORY VILLAGE. 

The first mills in Swanze}', after the town was re-settled, were 
built at Swanzey Factory by David Belding, Joshua Graves, Elisha 
Scott and Abner Graves. 

The' proprietors of Keene encouraged the building of these mills by 
granting to the above-named men. May 29, 1759, as follows : "The 
liljert^- to turn the water of the stream known by the name of the East 
Branch, in the most convenient place for the use of a saw-mill and 
corn-mill, and shall have the liberty and privilege of said stream so 
much as to be sufficient to support said mills so long and upon these 
conditions hereafter named, viz. : Tiiat they will, in the space of two 
years time, build and fit a good saw-mill and corn-mill, and that the 
inhabitants and residents of the town of Keene shall have as sood 
privileges both in sawing and grinding as the inhabitants of Swanzey 
— passable logs to be sawed for the value of the one-half of the boards 
from time to time and at all times; and when the abovesaid gentle- 
men shall cease or neglect to keep mills there in good repair, to answer 
the necessity of this township for sawing and grinding, then said 
privilege to return to this propriety again." 

The proprietors of Swanzey held a meeting at the meeting-house 
June 1, 1759, and, to encourage these men in the undertaking, voted 
to give them "fift}' acres of land to be laid out to said undertakers so 
as to accommodate the mills they engage to build and keep in good re- 
pair for the space of ten ^ears, to grind and saw as is the common cus- 
tom at other mills, or otherwise the land to return to the proprietors 
again." 

Abraham Graves, "William Carr and Jonathan Hammond were 
chosen a committee to lay out the land. The la3'out was irregular in 
form, extending from Keene line southwesterly so as to include the 
entire privilege. 

After the digging of the canal and the erection of the mills on the 
land thus conveyed, David Belding, on the 16th of Se[)tember, 17G1, 
conve3'ed one-fourth of the saw- and grist-mill to Joshua and Abner 
Graves ; later, having bought the fourth interest of Elisha Scott, they 
became sole proprietors of the mills, Feb. 28, 1765. In Feb. 16, 
1767, Abner Graves sold his interest to David Griffith, who sold one- 



230 HISTORY OF SWAKZEY. 

half of his right to William GiifliLh ; Aug. 21, 1799, David Tvvitchell 
and AVillard Aldfich purchased the half interest of Joshua Graves, 
and in October the same year, bought the other half of David and Wil- 
liam Grillilh. Later, Selah Sinead became an owner in said mills. Still 
later, Naihaniel Cuniinings, Aug. 22, lb05, became owner, and sold 
to Daniel Adams May 2, 1809 ; and Jan. 30, 1811, it came into pos- 
session of the Swanzey Factory Co. This company was chartered by 
the legislature June 16, 1810, with a cai)ital of $40,000, for the pur- 
pose of ''spinning cotton and woolen yarn or weaving the same into 
cloth." 

Tlie corporate members of the company were Samuel Dinsmore, 
Aquilla Ramsdell, Josiah Woodward, William C. Belding, John 
Thompson and associates. 

At lirst only cotton yarn was made. At this time weaving cotton 
cloth by the power loom had not been successfully accomplisiied, and 
yarn was distributed among families to be woven with the hand-loom. 
Some years after the mill was built looms were put into it for weav- 
ing. William Ryder became a stockholder and a manager of the 
mill soon after it was built. It 1822 and later Jolui Cliamberlain had 
the management of it. Some of the men engaged in operating the 
mill at different times between 1830 and 1848, when tiie mill was 
burned, were Archer Campbell, 1832; George Oliver, 1835; Jarvis 
Bates and brothers, 1840; W. F. & A. P. Barnes, 1847-1848. 

The saw-mill, with machiner^^ for manufacturing pail stock, the 
grist-mill and the mechanical shop, while owned by the factory cor- 
poration, usually had a separate management from that of the factory. 
David Page was the occupant of the mechanical shop for a long time. 
Jonathan Martin was the chief miller from 1820 to the time of his 
death in 1832. 

May 13, 1813, Jonathan Locke bought a water power of the pro- 
prietors of the cotton factory Jor a cloth-dressing establishment, and 
leased of them a piece of land upon which to erect the buildings. He 
built and carried on the business a number of years, when on ac- 
count of some dissatisfaction he bought the property at what is now 
Spragueville and moved his building and machinery there. 

After the cotton factory was buined, Abel Bowers of Leominster, 
Mass., bought, July 10, 1849, what was left of the corpoiation prop- 
ert}'', which consisted of a saw-mill, grist-mill, a shop and two dwell- 
ing houses, and which was in rather a dilapidated condition. The 
men who executed the deed were John Wood, A. & T. Hall, Levi 
Willard, Samuel Dinsmore, Aaron Appleton, John lillliot, Samuel 
Wood, Eliphalet Briggs, Samuel Cooper and Salma Hale. 



I SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 231 

Mr. Bowers engaged in making combs. He sold the shop and comb 
business Nov. 20, 1850, to Anson Low of Clinton, Mass., and the 
saw- and grist-mill, March 4, 1852, to Daniel Thompson and Elbridge 
G. "W^hitcomb of Keene. 

After the mills were bought by Thompson and Whitcomb, they 
were for a time occupied by Alonzo and Benjamin Wilson. 

Orren Dickinson bought the comb shop of Mr. Low, Nov. 5, 1851, 
and continued to own the plat during his life. He built a large sub- 
stantial buihling where tlie comb shop stood, soon after making the 
purchase. He has used the building for a grist-mill and for a manu- 
factory of doors, sash and blinds. In the grist-mill there has been 
done a large amount of milling, and in the shop a numl)or of hands 
have been eraplo^yed most of the time in manufacturing either doors, 
sash or blinds. Some of Mr. Dickinson's sons have been connected 
witii him in the business a number of ^^ears past, and some of the time 
he lias had Timotliy Slierman also for a partner. 

Daniel Thompson deeded his half of the saw- and grist-mill to 
Elbridge G. Whilcomli, May 23, 1853, and the next day Mr. Whit- 
comb deeded them to Lewis Carpenter and Benjamin Wilson. Sept. 
14, 1853, Asa B. Clark bouglitthe mills of Carpenter and Wilson and 
sold them to Carpenter Oct. 19, 1853. 

Wiiile Mr. Carpenter owned the mills, they were burned and the 
site sold to Franklin Holman, Aug. 8, 1854. 

Mr. Holman rebuilt where the mills had been burned and sold to 
Ephi'aim Murdock, June 27, 1856. There had been put into the build- 
ing which Holman built, before he sold it, a saw-mill, a grist-mill with 
three sets of stones, machinery for manufacturing pail stock and pails. 
Soon after Mr. Murdock's purcliase, the mill-stones were taken out 
and the making of pails was not continued here b}^ Murdock. 

Mr. Murdock's purchase included the site where the cotton factory 
stootl, and he immediately built a shop here to be used for making 
pails exclusively, and using the old grist- and saw-mill place for manu- 
facturing his pail stock. The making of pails here was continued by 
Mr. Murdock until a few years before his death, when he built a new 
shop on lower ground a few rods to the west, into which the pail 
machinery was placed, the old shop being used for painting and stor- 
ing pails. 

Mr. Murdock died in the spring of 1882, about twenty-six years 
from the time he bought here. During this time he seldom stopped 
his machinery unless it was to make necessary repairs, and the amount 
of goods manufactured was large. The men associated with him as 



232 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

partners or enii)lo3'ed as foremen were William N. Nason, George W. 
Tenney, Josepli N. Foristall and Edwin Parks, 

Geoige W. Garfield bought of the Murdock estate the establish- 
ment in 1883 and sold it to Elisha IMunsell in 1887. The amount of 
goods made l^y Mr. Garfield annual 1}' was much less than that made 
b\' Mr. IMiirdock. 

Mr. Munsell has made such changes since he bought that a nuieh 
larger amount of manufacturing can be done than was done by Mur- 
dock, but, in part, of different goods. Tlie mill l)uilt by Mui'dock on 
the old factory site, has been moved and placed on the south end of 
the last one which Murdock built, and has been fitted up for making 
boxes. The machinery in what was the pail shop has been changed 
to maehiner}^ for making buckets and leased to George and Andrew 
Fuller. A room has been fitted up in the saw-mill building for mak- 
ing pails and has been leased to John P. Rust, who employs ten hands 
and uses 500 cords of timber a year. 

H. J. Fowler is occupying the box shop. He employs fifteen hands 
and uses 700 cords of timber annually. 

The most noted public house in Swanzey is in this village. It was 
known for a long time as the Underwood Tavern. It is probable that 
it was opened to the public by Joshua Graves, 2d, about the time the 
turnpike was built. Timothy Underwood, of Northl)oro', Mass., 
bought it of Graves in 181G and sold it May 11, 1816, to his brother 
James Underwood, who owned it from this time until his death Jidy 
4, 1832. Subsequent owners or occupants have been Israel Brown, 
Daniel ^Y. Kimball, 1840 ; George AV. Ilolbrook, 1843 ; Franklin Good- 
uow, 1847 ; Lewis Carpenter, Robert Hamilton, Percey and Lampson, 
William I. Sawyer, 1859; Dana Fuller, 1872; George G. Bidwell, 
Henry T. Bidwell, Albert N. Howe and his heirs. Howe bought the 
stand in 1880 of Henry T. Bidwell. 

The large house owned by Charles H. Forbush was a public house 
muth of the time between 1800 and 1850. Jonathan Locke, Elisha 
Sinionds, Israel Brown and others occupied it for this purpose. 

EAST SWANZEY. 

Oct. 25, 1763, John Whiteomb boughtthree lots in that part of Swan- 
zey which was taken from Richmond. The lots were No. 32 in the tliird 
range, and Nos. 31 and 32 in the fourth range. Those in tlie fourtli 
range were bounded on the west by the east line that bounded Swan- 
zey as it was first laid out. Mr. AV^hitcomb established his home- 
stead near the southwest corner of lot No. 31, on the si)ot where 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 233 

Henry Bowen's l)uiklings now stand. All the mills in East Swanzey 
are on these Whitcomb lots. 

Tlie first dam on the South Branch was built by Mr. Wliiteomb 
about 1780. It was located at the same place where that at Rams- 
dell's upper privilege now stands. Adjacent to it at the same period 
he built a saw-mill and a gi'ist-mill. The mills were burned some 
years after this, and rebuilt by Mr. Whitcomb. In 1802 he conveyed 
them to his son Thomas, who, in 1803, sold them to Philo Sanford of 
Medwa3^ Mass. Joel Mellen bought them in 1806 and retained pos- 
session of them till 1817, when he sold them to William Ryder and 
Phineas Stone. Ryder and Stone built a two-story mill and dug a 
canal for obtaining the water power. The mill was built where Rams- 
dell's now stands. The grist-mill was put into the lower part, and 
machinery for making cotton yarn into the upper part. In 1821 Mr. 
Ryder sold to Henry Cooper. After this sale the making of cotton 
yarn was discontinued. Mr. Cooper continued to own one-half of the 
mill nearly two years when he sold to Phineas Stone, Dec. 24, 1822. 
Mr. Stone, while he owned the mills, was engaged in manufacturing 
lumber for the market down the Connecticut river. April 18, 1825, 
Mr. Stone sold to Lyman and Roswell Parker. 

The Parkers engaged quite extensively in manufacturing lumber for 
the Connecticut river trade. Into the room where cotton yarn had 
been made they put a carding machine. About 1829 the grist-mill 
building was burned and everything connected with it. The mill was 
immediatelv rebuilt but the business of wool carding was not resumed. 
In 1831 Lyaian bouglit out his brother Roswell and owned the mills 
to March 14, 1840, when he sold to Benjamin Page and James Sib- 
ley Taft. 

While IMr. Lyman Parker was the owner, he built, for manufactur- 
ing pail stock, a mill which was connected with the saw-mill. Messrs. 
Page and Taft built an addition to the grist-mill building. 

After a short time Pnge obtained Taft's interest in the mills, and 
for several years various persons at different times liad the manage- 
ment of the saw- and grist-mill. A Mr. Winzell made shoe pegs in 
the mill connected with the saw-mill, and Benjamin Read, for a few 
years, occupied a part of the grist-mill building for making boot forms. 
In 1847 C. G. Ramsdell was making chairs in the upper room of the 
grist-mill. 

For some two years, including the yeav 1848, Martin Mason and 
Russell B. Hall had possession of the mills. During this time Elliot 
W. Lane and Moses D. Ballon commenced to make bailed boxes in 



234 HISTOIIY OF SWANZEY. 

the saw-mill shop. This business passed from Lane and Ballon to A. 
W. Banks, who continued the box business several years, after which, 
till 1859, he manufactured pail handles. 

Soon after Mason and Hall's possession of the mills, Nathan Winch 
made a contract with Page to manufacture pails for him in the grist- 
mill building; and for obtaining the necessary room for the pail 
machinery the grist-mill was removed. Mr. Winch made pails here 
about three years, 1849-51. From the time that V/inch gave up 
the bnsiness Benjamin Read had the management of the pail business 
nntil the mill was burned, April 26, 1855. During some of these 
years a small shop attached to the grist-mill building was occupied 
by A. W. Read for making various kinds of wooden ware. 

After the fire in 1855 Pago built what is now the west i)art of the 
mill owned by the Ramsdells. The principal business curried on 
previous to Mr. Page's death in January, 1859, wasmakingclothes-pins 
bj- parties who hired the mill. These parties were Philo A[)i)lin and 
Daniel E. Woodward, Elkanah and Fred A. Lane and J. Mason Reed. 
Reed had been occupjing the mill some two years at the time of Mr. 
Page's death. 

June 30. 1859, Benjamin Read l)ouglit at auction all the mills and 
real estate which Mi-. Page, at the time of his decease, owned in East 
Swanze}'. He innnediatcly conveyed the upper mill [jroperty to 
Alanson W. Banks and J. Mason Reed. During their ownership they 
manufactured pail handles, clothes-pins and chair stock. Sept. 20, 
1866, they sold to Merrill C. Peavey. While Mr. Peavey owned the 
mill, Luther S. Lane, Elkanah Lane and Frederic A. Lane occupied 
a part of it for making wool mattresses, and Luther S. Lane a part 
for making pail handles. 

After the purchase of Banks and Reed the saw-mill and the adja- 
cent mill, not being much used, went to decay, and were washed away 
in the great freshet in September, 1869. 

Nov. 9, 1871, Mr. Peavey sold to D. E. Woodward, who built the 
east part of the mill, run it several years, making pail stock and pails, 
and then conveyed it to E. Murdock, jr., of AVinchendon, Mass. 

After INlr. IVIurdock's death, the establishment was bought hy J. M. 
Ramsdell in hS82. He has made ditlerent kinds of wooden ware, em- 
ploys some twenty hands, and uses seven hundred cordis of pine, hem- 
lock and hard wood annually. 

At the next mill-site down the river Elisha Whitcc^mb built a saw- 
mill and a mill lor wool carding, about 1805. He died in 1814, and 
during the next twenty j-ears the saw-mill was owned in various pro- 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 235 

portions and at different times by the heirs of Mr. "Whitcomb, by Joel 
Mellen, Henry Cooper, Israel Applin, William Aldrich, Nathan Winch, 
Josepli Putney, Ezra Emerson and Ebenezer Howard. 

Mr. Wiiitcomb and Mr. Cooper built an addition to the mill, into 
one part of which Mr. Whitcomb manufactured shingles, and into the 
other Mr. Cooper put a turning lathe. 

For about twenty years after the death of Elisha Whitcomb the 
carding-mill was occupied by Joseph Whitcomb and was largely pat- 
ronized by people from this and adjoining towns. 

In 1821 Roswell Randall bought of the Whitcomb heirs some land 
on which he built a mill and carried on the business of custom cloth- 
dressing until he sold to Asahel Randall and Asahel Randall, 2d, in 
Nov., 1826. During the ownership by the Randalls the business was 
carried on some of the time by Calvin Br^'ant and after him by Na- 
thaniel Poland. 

The Randalls sold their mill to Benjamin Page in 1828. At this 
time Page was making flannels at the old homestead where Mrs. 
Alonzo Ballon now lives, with machinery propelled by hand. He 
moved the business to this mill and continued it some two years when 
he substituted for it the making of pails. These were the first pails 
made by machinery in Swanzey, and were nearly the first made any- 
where. A few had been made at that time in South Keene, in Marl- 
borough and Troy. 

Mr. Page enlarged his mill, a part of the addition being used for a 
store; and in 1836 bought the adjoining mill, thus owning the entire 
privilege. In 1839 the mills, store and dwelling-house owned by 
Mr. Page were burned. A dwelling-house standing near the bridge, 
wliich he did not own, was also burned. The buildings burned formed 
a continuous line reaching from the bridge to the saw-mill. They 
were in good condition and made a creditable appearance. The main 
building was two stories high, had upon it a bell deck in which there 
was a bell. Mr. Page estimated his loss at seven thousand dollars, 
and he had no insurance. 

He rebuilt the saw-mill and a small pail shop. Benjamin Read 
managed this mill most of the time till the death of Mr. Page. Levi 
M. Wellington made bailed boxes in the pail shop one or two years, 
about 1851. 

Josiah M. Read bought this property in 1859 and sold it to C. G. 
and R. R. Ramsdell, Oct. 13, 1871. During these years Benjamin Read 
manufactured pails here, excepting the year 1868, when Harvey Sar- 
gent had the management of the pail business. After the Ramsdells 



236 HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 

bought the property, various kinds of wooden ware were made, until 
the mills were burned in Februar}-, 1883. They have not been re- 
built. The site is owned by James M. Ramsdell. 

In August, 1831, Benjamin Page bought the land and water power 
of Geoi-ge Bucklin, where the pail shop of Wilder P. Clark stands. He 
immediately built a large pail shop here and fully equipped it for 
manufacturing pail stock and pails. 

William and SamuelTtMiney, Davis Wilson, Chester Lyman. Henry 
S. Applin and Benjamin Road made pails at this place for Mr. Page 
at different times. 

Asa B. Clark bought the property in 1859 and manufactured pails 
till he sold to John S. Sargent in March, 1865. Mr. Sargent soon 
after sold to Jesse W. Murphy, Silas B. Partridge and Daniel E. 
Woodward, and, Jan. 11, 186G, Partridge conveyed his interest in the 
proi)erty to Mr. Murphy. 

Mr. Murphy and Mi'. Woodward continued the business till Mr. 
Woodward sold to Calvin Alexander in October, 1871, his third, and 
Mr. Murphy sold to Mr. Alexander at the same time one-sixth of 
his two-thirds. 

Murphy and Alexander were in company from 1871 to Nov. 20, 
1879, when INIurphy sold to Alexander. During this time the old 
mill was burned and the present one built. 

After Mr. Alexander became the owner of all the mill, his son-in- 
law, Herbert W. Mason, was associated with him in business several 
years. The property was sold to Wilder P. Clark of Wiuchcndon, 
Mass., in September, 1884. 

From that time to the present, Mr. Clark has been the owner, and 
the manufacturing l)usiness has been managed for him by Cliarles H. 
Applin. About GOO cords of pine timber are used annually and ten 
men employed. 

In 1849 Nelson Howe of Fitzwilliam and his brother- in-law, G. G. 
Willis, of this town, built a large, substantial mill where that of G. 
F. Lane now stands. They made pails and wash-tubs. In 1853, 
Howe sold to Asa B. Clarke, another brother-in-law. Willis and 
Clarke were in company till Dec. 20, 1855, when Willis sold his in- 
terest to Clarke. The latter, in 1857, conveyed the property to "^^'i His, 
who built an additiou to the mill, added also the making of buckets, 
and for about ten years did a very flourishing business, making the 
best of goods, for whicli there was a ready market. 

Oct. 5, 18G8, Nathan AVinch and George F. Bucklin l)ouglit the es- 
tablishment and sold it to G. F. Lane, Oct. 20, 18G9. In the spring 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 237 

of 18G9 the mill was burned. Mr. Lane, soon after his purchase, re- 
built the main building now standing, and has at different times built 
the storehouse, the addition to the main building, and the connecting 
building. He with his son, C. M.Lane, as manager, employ twenty- 
five men and use annually' about 1,200 cords of pine, 200 of hemlock 
and 100 of hard wood. 

About 1831 Henry Cooper and Helon Holbrook built a store west 
of the bridge on the triangle between the three roads. Mr. Holbrook 
sohl goods in it some six years. Subsequently it was occupied by 
Benjamin Page, and from 1842 to 1849 Benjamin Read did business 
here most of the time. 

Mr. Read built the store east of the bridge in 1850 and occupied it 
till 18G3, when Moses D. Ballon continued the business till the time 
of his death in November, 1865. Some parts of the years 1867-68 
George Oliver was in business here. From 1873 to 1880 A. B. Read 
kept his stock of goods at this place. Li 1883 Martin L. Lane bought 
the store and occupied it one or two years. From 1886 to 1888 George 
W.Willis was the owner and occupant. Willis sold to A. B. Read. 

For a few years previous to 1873 a stock of goods was kept and 
sold by Murphy & AVoodward and Murphy & Alexander in one of 
their dwelling-houses. 

Tlie store now occupied by A. B. Read was fitted up for him in 1881 
by Alexander and Mason, and has been occupied by him since that 
time. 

G. F. Lane's dwelling-house near the mill was built by G. G. Wil- 
lis for a store, and a stock of goods was kept in it by him a number 
of years. Since Mr. Lane has owned it goods were sold from 1874 
to 1878. 

WESTPORT. 

The Lower Falls, so-called, and the surrounding territorj^ were laid 
out in 1774 to Capt. Samuel Brown and Moses Boardmau Williams, 
it being a seventh division lot containing fifty acres. 

The best record that has been found to indicate when mills were 
built on this site is the following vote of Swauzey, March 19, 1782. 

"Fof?f7, That the selectmen shall lay out a road from Richard- 
son's mills to the great road that leads from Winchester to Swanzey 
in such place as they shall judge most convenient." 

It is not known who built these mills, but from the fact that they 
were called Richardson's mills, and from the following conveyances, 
it is inferred they were built by John Richardson, Daniel Franklin 



238 HISTORY OF SWANZEY, 

and Abijali Bro^^•^. The descendants of Mr. Williams have no 
knowledge that he had anything to do in building the mills which 
makes it probable that he disposed of his right in the pitch before 
they were built. Capt, Samuel Brown, who made the pitch in con- 
nection with Mr. Williams, was the father of Abijah Brown, and 
lived in Paxton, Mass. 

Abijah Brown sold one-half of a saw-mill and grist-mill Jan. 24, 
1795, to Nicholas Trask and Daniel Franklin of Winchester; and 
John Richardson of Northlield sold one-half of a saw-mill and grist- 
mill to Moses Cadwell, June 16, 1795. Mr. Cadwell sold his half 
Dec. 5, 1796, to Mr. Trask. 

Ephraim Taft of Winchester bought the mills of Mr. Trask Oct. 
17, 1806, and sold them to David Wilson Dec. 22, 1815. Mr. Wil- 
son sold to Jonathan Roberts and Ezra Emerson Oct. 18, 1817. 
Robert Emerson, a brother of Ezra, was connected with him in run- 
ning the mills some six years. 

Levi Willard was the financial backer of Roberts and Emerson and 
ultimately became the owner of the property which he sold to Clark 
Wilson May 20, 1826. A wool- carding .mill was included with the 
saw- and grist-mill in the sale to Wilson. Wilson sold to John Cham- 
berlain and Joshua Graves, jr., March 16, 1830. Chamberlain bought 
Graves' interest in the mills Apr. 24, 1830. The mills at this time 
consisted of a saw-mill, a grist-mill, a carding-mill and a shingle-mill. 
These mills were burnt Oct. 10, 1846, and owned by Chamberlain at 
the time. 

In 1822, a Mr. Twitchell had a wheelwright shop south of the saw- 
and grist-mill. In 1827, Clark Wilson sold to Levi Willard the right 
to take water from his flume for operating a fulling-mill. Tlie full- 
ing-mill building was the same that had been the wheelwright shop. 
For a number of years Benjamin II. Carlton carried on cloth dress- 
ing in this mill. This was followed by the making of bobbins. The 
business was managed by Alva Keyes from 1836 to 1839. It was 
in this mill that Joseph Cummings, Mr. Eveleth and Franklin IIol- 
man commenced to make pails. After some two years Ilolman ob- 
tained the interest of Cummings and Eveleth in the business which 
he continued until the mill was burned in October, 1846. 

Baxter ^lurdock built what was known as the belt saw-mill, the 
power for propelling which was obtained by running a belt to one of 
the other mills. John Chamberlain became the owner of this mill a 
few yeai's before it was burned in 1846. Mr. Ilolman manufactured 
his pail stock in this mill. 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 239 

Sylvauus Bartlett built a mill about 1842 south of the other mills. 
He immediately commenced to make shoe pegs in company with Abi- 
jah Woodward. One year before the mill was burned Bartlett made 
brush-woods in company with Alanson Si Whitcomb. 

Oct. 10, 1846, all the mills in the village were burned. 

The work of rebuilding was soon commenced and Chamberlain, 
Holman and Bartlett each built a mill. The one now standing is that 
which Chamberlain built. The others were burned Oct. 10, 1856, 
just ten years from the time of the previous fire. 

During these ten years Holman manufactured pails and buckets, 
and Bartlett made pails, buckets and shoe pegs. 

John Chamberlain sold his mill in 1856 to Sylvamis Bartlett and 
Jerome C. Fields. During the twenty-six years he had owned and 
operated it his principal business had been manufacturing lumber and 
grinding grain. 

He had as associates in his business at different times Wetherbee 
Chamberlain, Alvah Holman, IMoses Thayer, Jonas Temple, Alfred 
Spalding and Alanson Read. 

A firm composed of Samuel E. Hartwell, Harvey Cooper and El- 
liot Hammond manufactured sash and doors in Chamberlain's old 
mill for a number of years before it was burned. Judson A. Read, 
Simeon Nelson and Alanson Read occupied a part of Chamberlain's 
new mill some years, including 1854, for making the same kind of 
goods. 

Soon after Bartlett and Field bought the mill, machinery for mak- 
ing pails was put into it and Bartlett had the management of the pail 
business. 

The owners of the mill who succeeded Bartlett and Field were 
Henry Holbrook, Stephen Faulkner, Marshall Rixford, Charles Fos- 
ter, P. Atwood Ware, Ira W. Russell and Stephen Fay. They sold 
to James Marsh Dec. 5, 1865, and Marsh conveyed one-half the 
property to E. F. Read a few days after. 

Marsh and Read manufactured pails and lumber till March 4, 1878, 
when Read sold his interest to his partner 

Since Marsh became the sole owner of the establishment he has an- 
nually made a large quantity of pails, emplojnng now about fifty 
hands and using yearly some 1400 cords of sapling pines. 

In the mill now owned by Marsh, William P. Coburn commenced 
to make boxes in 1863, continuing in business only a few years, when 
he sold to Henry Holbrook and George H. Jackson. Holbrook sold to 
J. Mason Reed in 1868, having previously bought Jackson's interest 
in the same. Reed removed the business to Keene in 1881. 



240 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Jerome C. Field built his steam-mill in 1881. It has been used 
for manufacturing pails, buckets and lumber. It has a capacity' suf- 
ficient to work up 1000 cords of timber annually and give employ- 
ment to twenty-five men. 

STORES. 

The first person known to have sold goods in Westport was Cal- 
vin Field in 1820. They were sold at his house Avhich stood where 
Willard Field now resides. Mr. Field built a store where Sylvanus 
Bartlett now lives which was occupied several years previous to 1830 
by Reuben Porter and Samuel Bclding, jr. ; from 1831 to 1834 by 
Caleb SaAvyer, and from 1836 to 1842 by Mr. Bartlett. 

Elisha Osgood opened a store on the south side of the road in the 
lower part of the village as early as 1826. He died in 1827, and his 
widow and Ezekiel his oldest son continued in trade one or two years. 
Mr, Bartlett bought this store in 1842 and carried on business there 
the next fifteen years. Jotham W. Frink was a partner in 1844 and 
'45. Benjamin L. Drai)er carried on business a few years after Mr. 
Bartlett, and then John Chamberlain some six years previous to 1867. 

Mr. Bartlett fitted up a new store on the hill on the east side of the 
road, where he sold goods from 1857 to 1865. He was followed by 
Henry Abbott Avho remained till 1867, when he was succeeded by 
James Marsh and K. F. Read. They in turn after a few years gave 
place to Marsh and George W. Brooks. In 1879 Mr. Marsh built a 
new store which he has since occupied, a part of the time wdth Mr. 
Brooks, and later Avith one of his sons. 

J. C. Field fitted up a store in the north part of the village in 1878, 
in w^hich he did business several years. 

Barnabas C. Peters established the tailoring business in the village 
about 1823, and continued it many years. He was succeeded in the 
same business by H. B. Murdock. From 1814 to 1847,8. Bartlett 
was likcAAase engaged in tailoring. 

HOTELS. 

B.C. Peters kept a popular hotel many years. It was in the lower 
part of the village on the south side of the road. He was followed 
by Jonathan Whitcomb, 3d, and Mr. Whitcomb by Elijah and Seth 
Willard. 

Previous to 1826 Otis Cross kept a public house Avhere Bartlett's 
lower store afterwards stood. The successors of Mr. Cross Avere Eli- 
sha Osgood in 1826 ; widow E, Osgood, 1827 ; Reuben Porter, 1828 ; 
Paul S. Wright, 1829 ; Wright and Horatio Black in 1830. Calvin 
Greenleaf kept the house at one time, and after him Norris Wheeler. 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 241 



BLACKSMITHS. 

Aaron Lombard was a blacksmith here from 1822 to 1841; Alva 
Keyes from 1843 to 1851 ; Charles Kezer from 1854 to 1861. Since 
then there have been Luman Seaver, Orreu Fowler, Albert French and 
others. 

STONE QUARRYING. 

Considerable business has been done in quarrying stone on Frank- 
lin mountain during the last thirty years by different parties. Je- 
rome C. Field has been engaged much of the time in this business . 

SPRAGUEVILLE. 

Abijah Whitcorab sold to Philemon Whitcorab, Jan. 11, 1806, one- 
half the water privilege near Ezekiel Page's, for building a saw-mill 
which was probably soon erected. About 1824 Jonathan Locke bought 
the premises anc^ moved on to them his buildings and cloth dressing 
machines from Swanzey Factory. Soon after this removal, by a break 
in the dam, the works were nearly demolished, except the old saw- 
mill which stood on the south bank of the stream. Dr. Ephraim K. 
Frost was involved with Mr. Locke in the loss and became the owner 
of what was left after the disaster. The saw-mill was run some years 
and then went to decay. 

Aaron Wilson, backed by Gen. James Wilson of Keene, made the 
dam safe and substantial, and in 1846, obtained an act of incorpora- 
tion to facilitate the formation of a company to engage extensively 
in manufacturing. This effort was not successful. 

About 1853, David R. Marshall leased water power, built a small 
mill where the old saw-mill stood, and for twelve years manufactured 
successfully pail, tub and bucket sto^ik. 

After this the privilege remained unused till 1877, when it was pur- 
chased of the Wilson family by Obadiah Sprague, who immediately 
repaired the dam, built flumes and, in 1879, erected two large mills, 
two and three stories in height above the basements, one for the manu- 
facture of woollen goods and the other wooden ware. After success- 
fully operating them about eighteen months, employing some ninety 
hands, Mr. Sprague leased the woollen mill to Logan and Lindsey of 
Worcester, Mass. Listead of making beavers as Sprague had done, 
they manufactured satinets, producing about 1,500 yards per day. 

After running It about nine months, the mills were both burned 
Jan. 10, 1882. The wooden-ware mill was at once rebuilt 50 x 80 
16 



242 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

feet, three stories and basement. It has since been occupied by the Ches- 
hire Box Co. (O. Si)rague, Charles L. Howes and James L. Wrigiit), 
manufacturing boxes of all kinds, extension tables, etc., employing 
about 25 men, and using 700 cords of pine and 200 of hard wood an- 
nually. 

In connection with the mills, Mr. Sprague erected three dwelling 
houses and a large boarding house. 

SWANZEY CENTRE. 

About 1836, Virgil Woodcock was taking contracts to build meet- 
ing houses and other large stiuctures in this and neighboring towns. 
To prepare a portion of the building material, he erected a large steam 
shop south of J. A. Rand's present residence. His enterprise was 
not successful, and the large business which he followed for some 
years was discontinued, his shop being converted into the dwelling 
houses now owned by Mrs. E. Howes and Mrs. H. Chamberlain. 

Mr. Woodcock went to California soon after gold was discovered, 
remained there a few years, returned with considerat)le capital, and, 
in company with Phinehas Stone, Sylvander Stone and Giles Taft 
erected a large steam-mill where that of M. C. Stone's now stands. 
Before much progress had been made in building, Messrs. S. Stone 
and Taft sold their interest in the concern to the other partners. A 
considerable amount had been contributed by people in the vicinity 
to encourage the undertaking. A saw-mill, grist-mill, pail works and 
nmchinery for manufacturing chair stock were put in the building, 
and for several years it was one of the busiest places in Swanzey. The 
different branches of business were carried on by Woodcock and Stone 
except the making of pails which was done by Luther S. Lane and 
J. L. Parker. The capital of the firm being insutflcient to run the 
business they liad the assistance, during some of the last years tiiat 
the mill was in operation, of Paul F. Aldrich and David Parsons, who 
were its principal managers. The enterprise did not prove to be a 
financial success. The mill was sold about 1864 to Osborne and Hale, 
of Keene, taken down, carried to South Keeneand set up there, about 
ten years from the time it was built. 

On the same spot, by the side of the old historic moat, Marcus C. 
Stone, in 1888, erected a smaller saw- and stave-mill, in which he is 
doing a good business. 

GUAVES' PLACE. 

It is supposed that Elijah Graves commenced to dig the canal at 
the Graves' place, on the South Branch, as early as liSOl. He sold, 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 243 

Sept. 10, 1802, one-half the land and waterpower to Philemon "Whit- 
comb for a saw-mill whicli was doubtless soon built. After several 
transfers of the Whitcomb part, Mr. Graves ultimately became the 
owuer of tlie whole wliich he sold to his son Ezekiel. 

Ira Taft, wlio married a sister of Ezekiel Graves, built an addition 
on the west end of the saw-mill for a shingle-mill. Abel W. Read 
became the owner of this shingle-mill after Taft. He made shingles 
and other kinds of wooden ware. 

George F. Lane bought the saw-mill Dec. 5, 1842, and at a later 
date became the owner of the shingle-mill building. He commenced 
to make buckets in 1856, and was burnt out in 1861. He immediate- 
l_y rebuilt a much larger and more convenient mill. Tiiis mill was 
burned March 3, 1873. Mr. Lane then built the substantial mill now 
standing, and the stone flume at the mill. 

P^lisha F. Lane became the owner of this mill, June 10, 1878. He 
made substantial improvements ; built the stone dam at the head of 
the canal and enlarged the canal by raising the embankment. Mr. 
Lane sold the mill to George E. and Andrew J. Fuller, near the last 
of 1890. During the time he owned the mill, his son Hubert E. was 
connected with him, manufacturing buckets and had the principal 
management of the business. 

The Fuller brothers manufacture buckets, use 500 cords timber and 
employ ten men. 

A public house was kept by the Graves's in the house near the mill. 

WILCOX SHOP. 

The Wilcox shop, the next down the stream, was built in 1859 by 
Elisha F. Lane, Stilman A. Bigelow and John A. Batchelder. Before 
the close of the year, Lane sold his interest to Bigelow and Batchel- 
der, and in 1860, Bigelow bought out Batchelder. These firms manu- 
factured chair stock. 

Edward Wilcox bought the shop in 1861. From this time to 1874 
he manufactured clothes pins, bucket hoops and chair stock. Since 
1874 he has made packing boxes, bucket hoops, chair stock and pail 
stock. He recently put in a saw-mill and manufactures lumber to 
some extent. His son, Allen C. Wilcox, has been associated with bis 
father for some years past in the business. They employ some six 
hands and require about 300 cords of timber annually for their busi' 
ness. 

LANE MILL. 

The third mill down the South Branch in Swanze}', about a mile 
from East Svvanzey, was built in 1858 by Elkanaii and Frederick A. 



244 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Lane. It was a •ncll constructed two-story huilcling, in which was 
placed a grist-mill and machinery for making pail stock and pails, 
which were used till 18G4. At this date, the Lanes with D. H. Dick- 
inson and J. Herbert Smith formed a copartnership for manufactiir- 
ing horse blankets. They continued in this business till 1870, when 
the mill was burned. A portion of this time, Messrs. Blanding and 
Hill were partners in the business. 

A company of which Luther 8. Lane, E. and F. A. Lane and Eph- 
raim Kendall were partners, made wool mattresses at this place a 
number of years after the fire ; machinery for preparing the material 
being used in a building that escaped the fire. The company trans- 
ferred this business to Cleveland, Ohio. 

INDUSTRIES UPON BRIDGE BROOK. 

Some years before the Revolutionary War, Timothy Bishop was 
located upon the old Swanzey and Boston road, a little west of the 
line that now divides Swanzey and Troy. Here he had a farm, made 
potash and probably sold goods. On the Bridge Brook, about a mile 
above the East Swanzey and Richmojid road, he had a foundry in 
which were cast necessary household utensils. A large hewed stick 
of timber across the bed of the brook marks the place where the foun- 
dry stood. 

Just above the East Swanzey and Richmond road, Josiali Wilson 
built a shop about 1840, for making window sash. 

Nathan Whitcomb at one time and Jesse Thompson at another 
were subsequent owners of this property. 

Above where Mr. Wilson built his shop, Samuel S. Farris built a 
mill about 1866 for manufacturing wooden ware stock. IMr. Farris died 
in 1878, and tiie mill was subsequently' bought by Elkanah Lane. Mr. 
Lane used it only a few years, since which nothing lias been done in it. 

C. G. and R. R. Ramsdell built a mill in 185G, below the road, for 
manufacturing wooden ware. They followed the business here about 
fifteen years. The mill has gone to decay. 

Zadock L. Taft and his son Farris, built a mill on the East Rich- 
mond Brook near the house of Frank E. Ballon. They owned it in 
1843, and used it a number of years for doing various mechanical 
work. Mr, Farris Taft died in 1854, after which the mill was bought 
by Jeremiah Hale, and it subsequently went to decay. 

OTHER MILLS IN SWANZEY. 

At the foot of Swanzey pond, about 1780, a dam was ])uilt, a mill 
erected and sickles mamifactured hy Wynian Richardson. The mill 



W ^f^ 




^cC/T^^^L^^y'-'^i^C^ 




SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 245 

was afterwards purchased by Stephen and John Potter and used as a 
cloth dressing or fulling mill. After this, about 1812, the Potters and 
Manning Hunt built a saw-mill on the same location, which soon after 
came into the possession of Ebenezer Hill. It was operated by him 
till about 1825, when it passed into the hands of Ricliard Crossett and 
George Darling; Elbridge Goodell being associated with them a part 
of the time while they owned it. From 1832 till 1865, Daniel H. Hol- 
brook was the successful proprietor. He rebuilt the mill and built 
the stone dam, and annually cut out large quantities of boards and 
lumber. In 1865,Holbrook sold to Varus Stearns, who retained pos- 
session about two years, when it was purchased by B. F. Lombard, 
and operated by him (and his son F". F. Lombard a part of the time) 
till 1890, when John F. Ballon became the owner. 

A few rods below this mill, on Pond Brook, about the year 1816, 
another saw-mill was built by John Hills and managed b}' him some ten 
3'ears, when he took it down and rebuilt it on the west stream flowing 
from Richmond, about a half mile below the Perry mill. It was subse- 
quently purchased, with territory adjacent bj' D. H. Holbrook, and 
soon after went to decay. 

The Perry saw-mill, so called, in the extreme south part of the town 
was built by John Perry about the year 1806, and was managed and 
operated by the Perry family until it was burned a few years since. 

On Hyponeco brook near where William Ballou now lives, a saw- 
mill was built about 1828 by Nathaniel Thompson. It was used only 
a few years ; the ruins of the old dam now only mark the place where 
it stood. 

On the same stream, near No. 8 schoolhouse, in 1853, Roswell Whit- 
comb built a saw- and a stave-mill propelled by an overshot wheel. It 
was operated very successfully till 1875, when it was sold to Simeon 
Holbrook and taken down a few years after. 

Wyman Richardson had a mill on Pond Brook above the bridge 
near Lorenzo N. Hewes' house in 1800. 

Ichabod Woodward had, in 1808, a mill in the southeast part of the 
town, that part now belonging to Troy. 

Erastus Dickinson built a saw-mill on "New Rum" Brook about 
1826. It was owned in after years by Nathaniel and Asa Dickinson, 
2d. 

In 1862 Edmund Stone built the saw and stave-mill that stands 
near his house. It can be used only a small part of the year on ac- 
count of the insufficiency of water. Lyman M. Stone has operated the 
mill for a number of years past. 



240 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Daniel Veny had a saw-mill on Rixford brook, near his house. He 
was taxed for it from 1826 to 1859. 

Near the close of the last century a mill, probably owned and op- 
erated by Abel Wilson, stood on California brook just south of the 
liouse of Joiin Fitzgerald. The liighwa^^ then ran east of where the 
barn now stands. 

About 1830 David and Luke Bennett erected a saw-mill ou a small 
brook about half a mile west of their buildings, and which was re- 
moved in 1840 and sold to Benj. Whiteomb. 



STOKES, HOTELS, ETC., NOT BEFORE NAMED. 

But little is known where goods were sold in Swaiizey or who sold 
them previous to 1800. The old meeting house was built between 
1753 and 1755, and William Grimes furnished the rum for the raising, 
from which it is inferred that he mi<>lit have sold other iroods at this 
earl}'^ period. Jonathan Whiteomb was a merchant about Revolution- 
ary times. 

Francis Goodhue, 2d, bought in 1799, of William Wright, Wyat 
Gunn and Israel H. Gunn, the i)lace where Mrs. Watson now resides, 
and commenced trading there. Some of these men may have been in 
trade there before Goodhue bought. Mr. Goodhue advertised in the 
N. H. Sentinel, English and West India goods. West India rum at 
5s. 11 pence per gal., sugar, 7 pounds for 6s; Bohea tea at 3 s. i)er 
pound, and other articles in proportion. Would pay Is. 6d. for good 
ashes. In 1803 Mr. Goodhue was taxed for $1500 in trade. 

In 1804 he sold to Benjamin Barrett of Brattleborough, Vt. Cal- 
vin Farrar was in company with Goodhue for some time. Barrett 
traded some seven years, haviug as i)artner a portion of the time Jo- 
seph Emerson, who died in 1810. Jonas Blodgett traded at this place 
some tiiree years after Emerson. 

From 1814 to 1822 Abraham Stearns, 2nd, traded where A. H. Free- 
man now resides. Bela Chase and Benjamin Page succeeded Slearns. 
They traded some three years. Caleb Sawyer was in trade in tliis 
place in 1829. 

Benjamin Page and Bela Chase bought the land where Buttrick's 
hotel now stands in jNIarcli, 1825, and on it erected a store. The 
following persons have since been in trade here: B. Page and Joel 
Whiteomb in 1.S27 ; Reuben Porter and Silas Hills, 1829 ; Charles C. 
Pratt, 1831 ; Samuel Belding, 3d, 1832 ; Henry R. Morse, Hunt Broth- 
ers, Clark Gray, 1840 ; B. Page, 1843 ; Nathan Watkins, 1848 ; James 



SWANZEY INDUSTRIES. 247 

M. Robb, Elijah Sawyer, Darwin D. Baxter, 1859 ; Amos Richardson, 
1863 ; Henry H. Aldrich and Oliver C. AVhitcomb, 1870. 

The store now owned by Mrs. H. Chamberlain was bought by her 
husband John Chamberlain in 1867. He traded here till his death in 
1870, since which time Mrs. C. and her sons have continued the busi- 
ness. Elijah Bullard at one time, and Edward Ferry at another, sold 
goods here. 

Elisha Osgood built the house now owned by Lyman N. Howes, 
and previous to 1825, occupied a part of it for a store. In 1825 and 
1826, Otis and Alva Whitcomb traded at this place. 

When the travel to the lower towns from Keene and places north 
passed over the "Boston" road, there was much business for hotels 
in the central part of Swanzey. Jonathan Hammond kept a public 
liouse at the place now owned by Sylvander Stone ; Elijah Belding at 
the Zina Taft place, and Dan Guild in the old red house on the Car- 
ter Whitcomb place. These houses were all kept at an early period 
of the town's history. From 1800 to 1812, there was a public house 
where Mrs. Watson resides. It was first kept by Francis Goodhue, 
next by Benjamin Barrett, and afterwards by Jonas Blodgett. 

Henry Morse, 2d, for many years previous to 1825, kept a hotel 
where Levi Crouch now lives. A public house was kept for a long 
time at William C. Belding's place, the occupants from 1793 being 
Jacob Bump, N .ah Arnold and David Holbrook. 

Between 1830 and 1840, John L. Aldrich at one time, and Col. 
Phineas Stone at another, were keeping tavern at Mrs. P. Stone's 
place. William Hewes owned Asa Healey's several years and kept 
there a public house. 

Buttrick's hotel has been opened to the public most of the time 
since 1861. Those that have been in possession of it have been Amos 
Richardson, George Howe, L. C. Whitney and W. H. Buttrick. 

Brick-making to a considerable extent was carried on at different 
times for a long period by Solomon IMatthews, J. H. Matthews and 
other former owners of the Timothy Fitzgerald place. 

Jonathan Babbitt had a brick yard on the east side of the road near 
Frank E. Ballou's residence. The brick for the house of Aaron Hol- 
brook and brothers (C. H. Holbrook's) was made a few rods west of 
Willardl. Ballou's. 

Between the years 1830 and 1860, a large amount of the red oak 
timber in Swanzey was worked into shook. It was split into staves, 
shaved, bent, packed into bunches large enough to make a hogshead, 
and sent mostly to New Haven, Conn., and thence to the West 
Indies. 



248 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

For a long time Levi Blake's tannery was one of the most impor- 
tant industries in town. Previous to 1800 Fisher Draper had been 
doing a small business at tanning:, where Mr. Blake at this date com- 
menced and continued nearly forty years. He carried on tanning and 
currying, did custom work, bought hides and sold leather. Benjamin 
C. Blake, the youngest son of Levi Blake, died in 1843. A few years 
before his death the business of the establishment had passed into his 
hands. Following him, William C. Belding carried on the business 
some three years. Heniy Abbott was the last person doing business 
at the Blake tannery. Henry Hill is the present owner of the site. 
There were two tanneries in early times in the southeast part of the 
town. Benjamin Parsons had one on the place now owned by An- 
thony S. Whitconib, located several rods west of where his buildings 
stand. Aquilla Ramsdell had the other on the place now occupied by 
the llamsdell family. It was east of the buildings down near the 
meadow. 

The making of palmleaf hats was an important industry in town 
from 1830 to 1870. By this occupation the women and children in 
many a family procured not only theii; groceries but also materials 
for clotiiing and many other articles for family use. At first the coun- 
try merchants furnished the rough leaf to the braiders, who split it 
into strands, bleached, braided, pressed, completed the hat, and re- 
turned it to the merchants in exchange for their goods. 

Later, the leaf was prepared ready for braiding before being dis- 
tributed to the braiders, and the hats were sold before being pressed ; 
the pressing and preparing the leaf being done in factories by ma- 
chinery. Still later, hat peddlers to a large extent monopolized the 
trade, sold the leaf to their customers and bought the hats, paying ia 
goods or cash. 



CHAPTER X. 

Ifiscellaneoiis. 
Fatai- accidents — Murders — Small-pox — Swanzey Ckmeteiues— Eev- 

OLUTIOXARY PENSIOKKRS IN 18J:0— EPIDEMIC IN WkSTPOKT — PROFESSIONAL 

Men— Mail Caurying and Postmasteus — Town Debt — Town Pau- 
TKRS — Marking Sheep — A Rolling Stonk —Rain and Snow Storms — 
Cold Year — Grasshopper Year — Temperance — Boating on the 
AsHUELOT River — Justices of the Peace — Supervisors of the 
checklist — Grkat Snow Storm —Secret Societies — Bear and Wolf 
Stories. 

FATAL accidents. 

THE folloxving instances have been reported to tlie compiler: 
While Samuel Hills was returning from a visit to friends in 
Keene, coming down the Ashuelot river in a boat, he had a child 
drowned. 

Before there was a bridge at East Swanzev, Pliiueas Battles, a lad 
living witli Samuel Lane, undertaking to cross, the stream on a log, 
in the spring when the water was higli, fell in and was drowned. 

Silas Cresson, a son of Thomas Cresson, was scalded to death Dec. 
31, 1759. 

"Caleb Sawj'er, while frolicking when returning from town meeting 
March 10, 1772, fell from a sled and was killed. 

Jan. 17, 1774, Benjamin Parsons fell down cellar and was killed. 

Daniel Gunn, 2d, was drowned Nov. 22, 1786. 

JMoses Belding, 2nd, died from the effects of swallowing a bean, Feb. 
0, 1788. 

Abel Wilson had a child scalded to death in 1791. 

Nathan Goddard was found dead in the woods Dec. 30, 1811, under 
a tree which he had felled while alone. 

William Wright fell from a scaffold in the barn Jan. 14, 1812, and 
was instantly killed. 

A child of Nathan Whitcomb, nearly two years old, died from a 
scald March 9, 1814. 

Brown Taft was drowned at Westport Jul}' 21, 1815. 

Enoch Kimball was drowned Jan. 18, 1816. 

Amariah Peck removed from Swanze}- to Vermont, and in digging a 
17 (249) 



250 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

well, the air in it became insupportable of life during his absence, and 
when lie went into it he died there ; also a son of his who descended 
first into tiie well died from the same cause. 

Calvin Bryant had a son Calvin born July 4, 1821, killed at East 
Swanzey when about six years old by a rail falling off the fence upon 
him. 

Emery, son of Abijah Whitcomb, 2d, born in 1815, was drowned at 
West Swanzey when a young lad. 

Feb. 18, 1826, Ziba W. Read, while chopping a log on which he 
was standing, fell backward on to a sprout stub which entered his 
bod}' and caused his death. 

Cynthia B. Sawyer, a daughter of Henry Sawyer, was scalded to 
death when a little over a year old, July 15, 1827. 

Aaron Thayer, while driving a two-horse team in the night, got 
under one of the wagon wheels and was found dead July 2G, 1829. 

Joseph Bridge was killed by the kick of a horse about 1830. 

Dr. E. K. Frost's twin daughter was burned to death in 1830, about 
four years of age. 

While Amos Richardson (the giant), was driving his oxen drawing 
a cart, the right ox lifted him with one of its horns which entered 
the rectum, causing inflammation and death Nov. 6, 1831. 

A son of the above named Richardson was killed by having his 
head crushed between a cart wheel and the side of the barn, when the 
father was backing the oxen and cart from the barn. 

Seth Holbrook, while riding horseback, was thrown from his horse 
Dec. 11, 1833, and received an injury from which he died a few hours 
after. 

Robert Ware was drowned at Albany, N. Y., July 5, 1835. 

Two young men emplo3'ed in a mill at East Swanzey were drowned 
while bathing about 1835. 

Charles Moore was l)urned to death in a cabin while lendins: a coal 
pit, Nov. 30, 1843. Mowry A. Thompson, who was with him at the 
time, barely escaped with his life. 

David Read went alone to Franklin mountain for a load of logs and 
was found dead under a log, Jan. 31, 1845. 

Willard Watkins was drowned in Swanzey pond, falling out of a 
boat, August 10, 1845. 

Artcmas Richardson was wounded and bled to death at Swanzey 
Factory village, by accidentall}' sticking a jack knife into his thigh. 

Julius Francis, a son of Moses Howard, was drowned in a watering 
rough Oct. 8, 1846, when nearly two years old. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 251 

John Park Henry was run over by an ox cart and fatall3' injured, 
dying August 14, 1847. The oxen ran away wiien he was attempting 
to detach theui from the cart. 

Dec. 30, 1848, Asa Jackson was found dead in the road east of 
Westport, at a point now intersected by the Asluielot raih'oad. 

Lewis Gunn was drowned in the Ashuelot river June 26, 1849. 

Aaron Wlieeler, when descending from a barn scaffold, fell upon a 
cart stake and died from the injury received, Feb. 27, 1850. 

Elijah Starkey was killed June 24, 1850, by a tree falling upon him 
in the woods while peeling bark. 

Virgil Verwell, son of Silas Whitconib, 3d, was drowned in a tub 
of water when about a year and a half old, July 15, 1854. 

David Woodward was struck and killed by. a railroad train in 
1856. 

William W. Palmer and another man sawed off a tree, that had 
blown down, close to the roots ; when sawed off the stump fell for- 
ward upon Mr. Palmer and killed him, Dec. 15, 1860. 

Israel Applin was killed Nov. 1, 1861, by falling off the end of a 
building upon which he was at work laying shingles. 

Nugent, a blind man, was drowned in the Ashuelot river near 

Westport about 1861. 

About the same time another man (supposed, by some to 'have been 
murdered) was found dead in the river at Westport. 

Charles M. Hills was killed by falling from a railroad car Feb. 1, 
1862. 

Lorin A. Britton, a railroad engineer, was killed in Tennessee in 
1862. 

George L. Black, a son of Orrin Black, was drowned in Lake Mich- 
igan, Oct. 20, 1865. 

A daughter of Schuyler Seaver, nearly nine months old, was 
smothered in bed Dec. 21, 1868. 

Mary Isabel, a daughter of Solon W. Snow, was scalded to death, 
Jan. 23, 1869, nearly two j'ears old. 

George W. Mason, a son of Hale Mason, was killed while living in 
Boston, Mass., by falling (rom a staging on v/hich he was at work. 

George H. Wilder, a resident of West Swanzey several years, went 
over the dam at Holyoke, Mass., while engaged upon work about the 
dam, and was drowned. 

Mrs. Joshua Sawyer was killed by the kick of a horse. 

Jotham Ballon died of a kick from a horse. 

Benjamin Cross was killed in Peterborough l)y an engine explosion. 

David A. Pomeroy was killed in a mill at Townshend, Vt. 



252 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Olive Prime, after her marriage, was burned to death in Illinois 
by her clotiies taking fire. 

Lurana, daughter of Elkanah Lane, was burned to death by her 
C'lotlies taking fire, after her marriage and residence in Massachusetts. 

Eber Carpenter died from a kick by a horse after he became a cit- 
izen of Northfiold, Mass. 

Joshua Bradle}' Sawyer, after he became a resident of Winchendon, 
Mass., was killed by a railroad train, Avhen crossing a track in a 
carriage. 

Lot Aldrich was drowned at AVestport. 

Elbridge G. Prentice, when walking upon a railroad track, was 
killed by a passing train. 

Leighton fell from the dam into the water at East Swanzey 

and was drowned. 

Rev. E. I. Carpenter, in returning to his home from Keene, his 
horse becoming unmanageable, was thrown from his sleigh as he 
was turning into his yard and injured so severely that he died soon 
after, Feb. 10, 1877. 

Jehiel White was found dead in the woods, Feb. 23, 1879, under a 
tree which he had felled. 

Sarah L., daughter of John Rice, five years of age, was burned so 
severely by her clothes taking fire, that she died, Feb. 1, 1881. 

John Naylon, as he was walking from Keene to Swanzey on the 
Aslmelot railroad. May 1, 1881, was struck by the train and instantly 
killed. 

Lock M. Rixford, while in the employ of a railroad companj', was 
killed April 26, 1883. 

G. Bernard, a son of Oscar R. Farr, was scalded to death by the 
overturning of a coffee pot, and died Feb. 7, 1887, nearly seven months 
old. 

David Parsons fell upon the railroad track at West Swanzey and 
received an injury frojn which he died July 13, 18.S8. 

Fred. L. Iredale, a lad nearly fifteen years old, was drowned at 
West Swanzey, Aug. 3, 1888. 

Frank A. Ballon died Feb. 11, 1890, from a fractured skull caused 
by a liml) of a tree falling upon him that had been wrenched from 
another tree which he had cut. 

Willard Trask inflicted in the right side of Joseph Austin a wound 
from which he died March 26, 1850. For thisolfence Trask was con- 
victed and sentenced to State's Prison for life. But, after several 
years of confinement, his deportment in prison having been good, he 
was pardoned by the Governor and released. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 253 

Joseph Perry, a single man, fift3^-six years old, who lived alone in 
a house in the south part of.the town, was murdered about the first 
day of August, 1876. He was shot, but was alive when first found 
by a neighbor. No knowledge could be obtained from him who the 
murderer was. He lived about a day after he was found, unconscious. 
No clew to the murderei has yet been obtained. 

SJIAI.L-POX. 

Jonathan Webster, a soldier, died with the small-pox Aug. 31, 
1757. 

Jan. 16, 1761, Isaac Clark died of tiiis disease. Jan. 25, I. Har- 
rington ; Feb. 5, Mrs. Amos Foster; March 2, Mr. Amos Foster; 
Aug. IS, 1776, Widow Timothy Brown, and Oct. 24, Triphena Fair- 
banks. 

In the winter of 1845 and '46 Mr. Pliilo Applin went from home to 
work. He became unwell and returned. His illness proved to have 
been varioloid of a mild type. His family consisted of a wife and 
nine children, all of whom had the small-pox except the oldest daugh- 
ter, who, though remaining in the family through the sickness, did 
not have the disease. Mr. Ap[)lin lived on the Leonaid A. Newell 
place, in a house near the spring, west of the road. In taking care 
of his family he had the assistance of his daughter and a man who 
had previously' had the disease. Three of the children died and were 
carried out and buried by Mr. Applin and the man who assisted him 
in caring for his family. The burial v/as on the hill east of the road. 

SWANZEY CEMETEKIES. 

The Mount Ccesar cemetery at Swanzey Centre doubtless dates back 
to the first settlement of the town.^ Appearances indicate that the 
northwest part of the present cemetery was first used for burying pur- 
poses. 

As stated in Chapter III the proprietors set apart a piece of land 
for a "burying place," and chose a committee to see to the cutting 
down the trees, etc. The records make no mention of any further 
lay out or any fencing of the old cemetery. There was evidently no 
general plan in the arrangement of the graves ; though they are some- 
what in ranges, these frequently overlap or pass by each other. The 
heads of the graves, as in most other ancient cemeteries, are uni- 
formly towards the west. There are no stones or other monuments 
to mark the earliest graves. The thin slabs of slate of various sizes 



254 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

and adornments, many with quaint inscriptions, are the most ancient, 
unless it be the rough granite stones with no names attached. INIany 
of the inscriptions are hardly legible. The oldest date back to about 
1760. No marble was used till the beginning of the present century. 
The family tomb of Jonathan Hammond is evidently quite ancient, 
erected probably about 1820; that of the Dickinson family is more 
modern, built some twenty years later. 

In 1858 it became necessary to enlarge this burying ground, and 
about three acres adjoining on the south side were purchased of Car- 
ter Whitcomb and enclosed liy a stone wall. A committee consist- 
ing of Carter Whitcomb, Luther S. Lane and B. F. Lombard, was 
chosen to lay out this addition into lots, with avenues, etc., corre- 
sponding to the modern style. They appraised the lots at prices rang- 
ing from less than one dollar to three dollars and thirty-three cents. 
The lots were sold at the appraised prices till 1865, when the town 
voted to make them free, and refund the money to those that had then 
purchased. In 1859 a receiving tomb was built; Alfred Seaver doing 
the work for $118. In 1890 it was deemed necessary to again en- 
large the cemetery or purchase land for a new one. Several acres 
were bought for this purpose from the Sylvander Stone farm, about 
three-fourths of a mile south from the old ground. 

WEST SWANZEY BURYING GROUND. 

The old burying ground at West Swanzey was probably used as 
such about 1798. No records pertaining to it appear till 1835, when 
at the annual meeting the town voted to sell the fencing of it. Like 
that at the Centre, it became nearly filled with graves, and in 1858 
Henry Eames, Oliver Capron and Isaac Stratton were chosen a com- 
mittee to purchase land for a new one. The following year Virgil A. 
Molbrook of district No. 11, Oliver Capron of No. 13, Henry Eames 
ofNo. 6, Edwin Snow of No. 12, Henry Holbrook of No. 7, and Daniel 
H. Holbrook of No. 8, were chosen a committee to assist in laying 
out and fitting up the new cemetery. The expense for land and fenc- 
ing was $352. 

In 1860 a receiving tomb was built by Alfred Seaver costing 
$125. 

In 1890-*91 Henry D. Thompson gratuitously built the faced gran- 
ite wall around the old cemetery. 

The neat little burying ground at Westport is owned and cared for 
by individuals, and not by the town. The oldest head stone is at the 
grave of Jonathan Holbrook who died May 6, 1796. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 



255 



REVOLUTIONARY PENSIOKERS LIVING IN SWANZET, JUNE 1, 1840. 

{Taken from U- S. official documents.) 



NAME. 


AGE. 


RESIDENCE. 


Russell Ballon, 


76 




Mollie Cunimings, 


76 




Elisha Chamberlain, 
Mary Scott, 


77 
88 


Lived with Abel Dickinson. 


Jotham Eames, 


84 




Elizabeth Green, 


70 




Benjamin Howard, 
Rosilla Hill, 


80 
83 


Lived with David Hill. 


Asaph Lane, 
Samuel Lane, 


81 
81 


Lived with Elisha Lane. 


Phebe Long, 
Mary Ockington, 
Jemima Stone, 


80 
85 
86 


Lived with Joseph Long. 
Lived with David Stone. 


Ivory Snow, 
Abijah Whitcomb, 


78 
88 


Lived with Joseph Snow. 



EPIDEMIC IN "WESTPORT. 

In 1849 an epidemic of unusual proportions prevailed in town, but 
principally in the village of Westport. Between July 7, and Oct. 21, 
fifty-five persons in Swanzey died of dysentery ; five in July, twenty 
in August, twenty-four in September, and six in October. Of this 
number thirty-five were within one mile of the schoolhouse in West- 
port. 

swanzey's professional men. 
Physicians. 
Nathaniel Hammond, Wm. C. Belding place ; died Oct. 11, 1773. 
Calvin Frink, F. Downing place ; died 1821. 
Israel Sawyer, J. Handy place; born 1753, died Jan. 18, 1832. 
Ezra Thayer, School District No. 8. 
Abel Wilder, removed from town. 
Paul Raymond, died 1814. 

Ephraim K. Frost, Mrs. Watson's place ; came 1819. 
Henry Baxter, H. D. Thompson place; 1820-1853. 



256 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Daniel Linscy, removed from town 1828. 

N. B. Barton, West Swanzey, died 1852. 

Samuel D. King, Cong. Parsonage, 1835-1845. 

John F. Jennisou, Eclectic, Sylvander Stone place, 1844; died in 
Keene. 

Willard Adams, Cong. Parsonage, 1845-1871. 

D. L. M. Comings, AVest Swanzey, 1853-1863. 

F. H. Underwood, Eclectic, West Swanzc}', 1857 ; died in Boston. 

Geo. I. Cutler, AVest Swanzey, since 18G5. 

In addition to the foregoing Avho have been the practising physi- 
cians in Swanzey, are the following who were born or bred in this 
town and have practised their profession elsewhere: Simeon Brown, 
Abner Stanley, Hiram Bennett, Joseph Streeter, Samuel Lane, Mellen 
R. Ilolbrook, Hiram O. Bolles, George W. Gay, Clarence W. Downing, 
and Charles H. Bailey. 

The town has rarely deemed it necessary to maintain a lawyer with- 
in her borders, but it has raised up and sent to other localities more 
needy the following: Joseph Larnerd, Luther Chapman, Benjamin 
Kimball, David Thompson, Asahel H. sBennett, Farnum F. Lane, 
Daniel K. Healey, Lloyd D. Eaton, Milo P^aton. 

Of Swanzey men who became clergymen or were licensed to preach 
are the names of Sel)astian Streeter, Russell Streeter, Robert Crossett, 
Henry AVoodcock, Caleb Sawyer, Tristan Aldrich, Jonathan Bailey, 
Asa Withingtou, Truman A. Jackson, Don Carlos Taft, Myron AV. 
Adams. 

MAIL CARRYING AND POST-MASTERS. 

Many of our older inhabitants remember when the postage on a sin- 
gle letter was 6, 10, 12^, 18f and 25 cents, according to the distance 
cari'ied ; 25 cents being the rate when the distance was over four hun- 
dred miles. 

These were the rates from 1816 to 1845. In the early days of the 
country's history according to the established rates the postage on a 
one-half ounce letter from Boston to San Francisco would be $2.74. 
In 1845 the rates were changed to five cents on a half ounce letter 
for a distance not exceeding three hundred miles, and ten cents for 
any greater distance. 

AVe have no authentic record of mail carrying to or from Swanzey 
in colonial and early days. As in other localities it was doubtless 
done on horseback, at infrequent and probably irregular periods. 
For many years previous to the advent of railroads thi-ough the 



MISCELLANEOUS. 257 

town the mail was carried by stages, then quite numerous. One of 
these lines extended from Worcester through Richmond and Swanzey 
to Keene. Later a stage connected Greenfield, Mass., with Keene 
passing through Westport, West Swanzey and Swanzey Centre. Af- 
ter the Ashuelot railroad was built the mail for the Centre for many 
years was delivered at Sawyer's Crossing. More recently it has been 
carried by the Keene and Richmond stage. 

The records fail to tell us when the first post-office was formed at 
the Centre or who was the first post-master. It was the only post- 
office in town till 1831 when that at Westport was formed. The 
post-office at West Swanzey was established in 1846, and that at 
East Swanzey in 1873. The following are the post-masters with 
dates of appointment : 

Cevtre. Clark Brown, Jan. 17, 1815; Abel Wilder, Nov. 11, 
1816 ; Abraham Stearns, March 29, 1819 ; Benjamin Page, Sept. 1, 
1821 ; Amos Bailey, April 6, 1830; Elijah Sawyer, April 27, 1854; 
Willard Adams, 1861; Enoch Howes, May 28, 1872; Asa Healey, 
Nov. 23, 1881. 

Westport. B. C. Peters, 1831 ; Sylvanus Bartlett, 1840 ; Benja- 
min L. Draper, 1858 ; Stephen Faulkner, 1859 ; Henry Holbrook, 
1861 ; Sylvanus Bartlett, 1862 ; Edwin F. Read, 1868 ; George W. 
Brooks, 1870 ; Walter Marsh, 1882 ; Frank S. Faulkner, 1886. 

West Swanzey. Jotham W. Friuk, 1846 ; Joseph Hammond, 1861 ; 
Edwin F. Read, 1863 ; Salmon H. Fox, 1866 ; Obadiah Sprague, 
1884; Addie J. Faulkner, 1889. 

East Swanzey. Albert B. Read, 1873 ; George W. Willis, 1886 ; 
Albert B. Read, 1888. 



THE WAK DEBT OF THE TOWN. 

The debt of the town, principally caused by the war of the Rebel- 
lion, reached its highest figures according to the reports of the select- 
men in 1866. The amount then due corporations and individuals 
was $63,921.86 with assets of $8,403.73 ; leaving the net indebted- 
ness $55,518.13. Of $63,921.86, $11,000 was due the Savings 
Banks in Keene ; $120 the Congregational Society ; $800 the town offi- 
cers ; and the remaining $52,001.86 was due to seventy-one individ- 
uals, mostly citizens of Swanzey, and in sums varying from $50 to 
$10,000. This debt was gradually extinguished year by year, and 
in 1885 a balance in favor of the town was reported in the treasury. 



258 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

TOWN PAUPERS. 

How to care for the unfortunate poor by tlie public in the most hu- 
mane, and at the same time in the most economical manner, has ever 
been a problem of difficult solution. The practice of selling at public 
auction to the lowest bidder, the maintenance of a person by the week 
or year, as was done sixt}'^ or eight}' years ago, would hardly be tol- 
erated now. 

"In 1.S22, the maintenance of Adolphus Loveland was set up at })ub- 
lic vendue, to be supported the term of one 3'ear with all necessaries 
of life, clothing, doctoring, etc., and struck off to Joseph Long ; and 
he is to receive $54, or in that proportion for a shorter time." 

"March 13, 1821. The maintenance of Abigail Genney was set up 
at public auction to be supported the term of one3'ear with all the nec- 
essaries of life, in health and in sickness, and pay physicians if nec- 
sar}', and struck off to John Perry, and he to receive S21, or in that 
proportion for a shorter time." 

At the annual town meeting in 1835 it was voted that the select" 
men contract with some person for the support of the poor for one or 
more years, not exceeding five years. 

In 1837, the farm now occupied by L. J. Crouch was purchased for 
a "poor" farm, but used as such only a year or two when it was sold. 
After this, Moses Howard had the contract for many j'ears for caring 
for all paupers in town, and following him, John Starke}' had a simi- 
lar contract. 

In later years the number of town paupers has been relatively 
smaller than formerly, — the county assuming the support of those not 
having a residence in any town. 

MARKING SHP:F.P. 

The practice of marking or bi'anding sheep, and having a descrip- 
tion of the mark or brand recorded by the town clerk, as autiiorized 
by law was quite common in the early years of the town's history. 
A few specimens are as follows : — 

"Calvin Frink'« mark. A crop off the tips of both ears, and a slit 
lengthwise of the right ear." 

"Jonathan Hammond's mark. A crop off the left ear and a slit in 
the same." 

"Elijah Belding's mark. A swallow tail in both ears." 

""Wyman Richardson's mark. A round hole about half an inch in 
diameter in the middle of the left ear." 



MISCELLANEOUS. 259 



A ROLLING STONE. 

The laro;e boulder that lies below the road a few rods west of the 
spring at E. Swanzey, rolled from the top of the hill over two roads 
about 1870, one afternoon just after the school children had passed 
beneath it on their way home from school. The rock supposed to be 
securely embedded had been undermined by the earth being removed 
for road repairing. Tlie stone that lies on the west side of it was 
split off when it struck the lower road. 



RAIN AND SNOW STORMS. 

There were great freshets on the South Branch in August, 1826, 
and October, 1869. Tlie bridge over the stream at E. Swanzey was 
taken away on both occasions. The storm which produced the last 
freshet was very extensive. 

A remarkable storm occurred Oct. 9, 1804. It has been said that 
snow fell to the depth of two feet. The annual muster of the regi- 
ment to which Swanzey belonged was appointed to be held that day 
at Winchester. The storm prevented many of the soldiers from reach- 
ing the place, and no duty was performed by those that were enabled 
to get there. The great snow storm of March 12, 1888, prevented 
the annual town meeting from being held on the 13th. The roads 
were impassable for several days. 

COLD YEAR. 

The summer of the year 1816 has passed into history as the "cold 
season." The corn crop in this town was entirely destroyed. At 
that time corn constituted a large part of the food of the people, and 
the principal article for fattening their beef and pork. In such an 
emergency some supplies were obtained from Connecticut river towns. 

GRASSHOPPER YEAR. 

A severe drought prevailed in 1826 through the summer till late in 
August. The hay crop was very light and feed in pastures very scant. 
In some instances, farmers cut down trees for their cattle to browse 
upon. Grasshoppers were propagated in great numbers. It seemed 
for a time that they would destroy a large part of the crop that es- 
caped the drought. At mid-day the air was full of them, and at the 
approach of evening the fences were covered by the devastating 
hordes. 



260 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

TEMPERANCE. 

The subject of temperance lias probably received verj' much the 
same consideration and attention in this as in other towns of New 
Hampsliire. The habits and social customs of the peo[)le here have 
been similar to those elsewhere. From the first settlement of the 
town to 1830 most people believed that no harm resulted from the 
moderate use of spirituous liquors, and their practice was In accordance 
with their belief. It was believed that a person could withstand se- 
vere cold or great heat better after having drank a limited quantity 
of liquor. It was used by all classes of people both on festive and 
mournful occasions, at the raising of buildings, at military parades, 
on the farm and in the shop. 

The selling of liquor at retail constituted a large part of the busi- 
ness of the hotel keeper and the country merchant. 

It appears, however, that public opinion did i^.ot concede to any 
one the right to sell without a license. The object of the license was 
to keep the business in respectable hands, and keep those out of it 
who would not manage it with discretion. The following are samples 
of the licenses that were given from time to time, and the character 
of the men that obtained them. 

"May 28, 1821. We the subscribers do license Abraham Stearns, jr., 
to retail and mix liquors in the store lately- occupied by Cyrus Brooks 
in Swanzey, for six months. 

AbelWilson, -v Selectmen 

Wyman Richardson, > of 

Farnum Fish, * Swanzey. 

"May 29, 1821. "We the subscribers do license Bela Chase and 
Benjamin Page to retail and mix liquors in the store lately occupied 
by Abraham Stearns, jr., in Swanzey lor the term of one year from 
this date. 



Farnum Fish, ) Selectmen 

Abel Wdson, ) Swanzey. 



"May 26, 1824. To whom it may concern, we, the subscribers, do 
hereby license Jonathan Whitcomb, jr., to exercise the business of 
retailing of spirituous liquors at his store in Swanze}- , for the term of 
one year. 

Daniel Wetherbee, ^ Selectmen 

Siuibael Seaver, > of 

Thomas Wheelock, jr., J Swanzey. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 261 

"Oct. 5, 1827. In consideration of twenty dollars paid by Messrs. 
John Stratton and Jonathan Whitcomb, jr., we, the snbscribers, se- 
lectmen of the town of Swanzey, do hereby license said Stratlon and 
Wiiiteonib, to mix and sell spirits by small quantities in their store, 
near the Baptist meeting honse, in said Swanzey, for tlie term of one 
year from this date, and also to sell by retail all kinds of spirits at 
said store for the same term of time. 

Elijah Belding, ) Selectmen 

of 



1 



Amos Bailey, ) Swanzey. 

People did not believe in drunkenness at the time when most of 
them drank intoxicating liquor. Tliey were ratlier tolerant of one 
wlio niigiiton some particular occasion when the temptation was great, 
drink to excess, but the habitual drunkard was execrated then as he 
is now. 

Tlie work of tliose who first commenced to bring about a temper- 
ance reformation was maiidy directed against the use of distilled 
liquor, and obtaining pledges not to use it, but allowing the use of 
wine and cider. But the temperance reformer soon found out tlie 
necessity of including all intoxicating liquor in temperance pledges, 
for consistent temperance work. In the early days of the temperance 
movement, it received a stronger and more powerful support from 
the clergy than from any other class of people. Many of the most 
popular doctors very early gave the cause their hearty support. No 
man in this vicinity did more for it tlian Dr. James Batcheller of 
Marlboro, by his influence and lectures. 

Wiienever the voters of Swanzey have acted upon the liquor question, 
the vote has been against licensing the sale of liquor when that has 
been the issue, and in favor of su[)pressing the sale of it; but there 
has generally been liquor sold in the town in defiance of law and the 
public sentiment of the people. 

BOATING ON THE ASHUELOT RIVER. 

About the year 1800 a company was formed for the purpose of boat- 
ing on the Ashuelot river, the design being to take heavy articles 
brought up the Connecticut river in boats, tiausfer them by teams 
past the rapids in Hinsdale and Winchester, and then boat them to 
Keene. Locks were built at the falls in AVestport and West Swanzey, 
and one loaded boat only was propelled up the river and the enter- 
prise was abandoned. "It did'nt pay." The locks at Westport were 



262 



HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 



utilized b}' the manufacturing interests of the pUice and served as 
flumes for properly conveying the water. 



JUSTICES OF 

The following persons have held 
peace in Swanzey. 
Amos Bailey, 
Sylvanus Bartlett, 
Henry l^axter, 
Eli jail Belding, 
Luke Bennett, 
Rufus Bowen, 
George Buckliu, 
Elijah Carpenter, 
Nehemiah Cummings, 
George I. Cutler, 
Franklin Downing, 
Stephen Faulkner, 
Farnum Fish, 
Calvin Frink, 
Jotham W. Frink, 
Joseph Hammond, Jr., 
Charles N. Hills, 
Aaron Holbrook, 



THE PEACE. 

commissions as justices of the 

Franklin Holman, 
Enoch Howes, 
Asa S. Kendall, 
Josiah Parsons, 
Barnabas C. Peters, 
William Read, 
Benjamin Read, 
Elijah Sawyer, 
Obadiah Sprague (not. pub.) 
Isaac Stratton, 
Alonzo A. AVare, 
Daniel Wetherbee, 
Thos. T. Wetherbee, 
Levi AVillard, 
George AV. AVillis, 
Abel AVilson, 
Voluey AA^oodcock. 



SUPERVISORS OF THE ClIKCK LIST. 

1878 Joseph O. Gary, George F.. AVliitcomb, 

Benjamin Read. 
1880 George E. AVhiteomb, George AA\ AVillis, 

Henry Holbrook. 
1882 Obadiah Sprague, Daniel Snow, 

Park E. Wright. 
1884 Park E. AVright, Frank X. Stone, 

Arthur A. AVoodward. 
1886 Edmund Stone, George A. Seaver, 

Charles R. Worcester. 
1888 Josiah Parsons, Fred H. Dickerman, 

Arthur A -AA^oodward. 
1890 Josiah Parsons, Fred H. Dickerman, 

Arthur A. AA'oodward. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 263 



GREAT SNOWSTORM. 

The greatest and most severe snowstorm ever known in Swanzey 
occurred on the 12th and 13th days of March, 1888, as realized by 
Edmund Stone, George A. Seaver and Charles R. Worcester, super- 
visors of the check list of the town. Agreeably to appointment they 
met at the town house on the 12th inst. at two o'clock p. m. for the 
coirecting of the check list, and at four o'clock, having closed their 
session, on leaving the iiouse, they found it almost impossible, on 
account of the driving storm and the depth of snow to reach the 
stable for their teams. Stone and Worcester, after consultation, finally 
started in the blinding storm for home ; but when about twenty rods 
away the horse fell in the snow and was partially buried therein ; they 
assisted it in rising, and were glad to return to the stable, on reaching 
which, Stone foiuid both of his ears frozen. 

Seaver with his team started for home at West Swanzey, three miles 
away, but was met by Stone and Worcester who told him that it was 
impossible to push through. Seaver replied that he must go home, as 
a man can always go home when he can go nowhere else, and moved 
on; but soon confronted by the fury of the storm, he returned, and 
all put up for the night. 

The next day, the warrant calling for a town meeting remained in 
the box unmolested, as it was impossible for the people to get to the 
town house. In the meantime, Stone harnessed his team and started 
for home about a mile away. He was met by his son Lyman with a 
shovel and succeeded in reaching home in safety. Worcester, also 
living about three-fourths of a mile out wallowed through amid the 
drifts and driving wind to his home. 

■ Seaver, leaving his team, started for his home at twenty minutes past 
two o'clock p. M., crossing the trackless plain and having reached the 
road by the Indian sandbank where, seemingly, the drift was twelve or 
, fifteen feet deep, and utterly impassable, he crossed the road and went up 
the river to Worcester's, thinking to reach the raikoad at the Swanzey 
depot and find an easier and quicker route home. AYorcester think- 
ing the trip would be a hazardous one, said he had better remain over 
with him. No, he said, he must go home. Worcester went with him to 
the railroad bridge and then returned to his home. After Seaver had 
crossed the bridge finding the snow so deep in the valley on the track 
that he could not make any advance, he climbed up on the east side of 
the bank to the wall, which was scarcely visible, using his umbrella as 
a support, and now at dark, he travelled on the wall to the end there- 



264 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

of ; then, stmo-olinp; to the track, notwithstanding he was very weary, 
he pushed forward till he reached the "Cut" on the road, near Eaton's 
burnt ruins, the snow being fully ten feet in depth here, lie found him- 
self unable to advance a foot ; every effort to step dropped him loAver 
in the snow. There in the darkness of night, strength nearly exhausted, 
clothes saturated with sw^eat, limbs badly cramped after a struggle of 
nearly half an hour, he felt that he could not get out, that there he 
must perish alone ; but knowing that, ceasing his efforts, eJiills would 
come upon him, and his desire being so strong to get home, he exerted 
his utmost strength to reach the highway. In treading his way his 
foot struck a small birch tree standing on the bank, bent down towards 
the track, under the snow. This he seized and pulled himself up to 
the bars, his foot striking a board about twelve feet long which he 
pulled out of the snow and placed it forward of him, on which he 
walked its length, and thus utilized the board till he reached O. S. 
Eaton's. Then, being so exhausted, he left the board and wallowed 
on till, passing N. C. Carter's, he came near Gi'eenleaf's gate when, 
with the aid of his umbrella, he climlied the wall on which he made ad- 
vance, falling off, and climbing on again until he reached the Bailey 
brook, when he became so weak and badlj' cramped that he could 
travel no further. Here he discovered a light in the village ; then Avith 
umbrella in hand laid horizontally on the snow he crawled on his hands 
and knees to the track (seemingly he could not move), for the first time 
in his life he becanic faint, and had not voice enough to call for help ; 
but he nmst go home, and with a strong will power he was enabled to 
reach the house of B. F. Bowen, and aided by him he reached home 
at twenty minutes past eight o'clock in the evening. Not until the 
17th inst. were the roads opened so that he could go after his team. 

SECRET SOCIETIES. 

There is no record of any organization of Free INIasons or Odd Fel- 
lows in Swanzey ; but at all times since near the first settlement there 
have been Masons in this town belonging to lodges in adjoining towns ; 
and since the institution of Odd Fellowship in this country the same 
may be said of that order. Some of the early clergy and other prominent 
men were Masons. In later years a multitude of secret societies have 
sprung into existence, some of an ephemeral nature, designed to ac- 
complish a certain object and then pass away, while others appear to be 
of a permanent character and have come to stay. 

In IHoG the American or Know-nothing party, a secret political or- 
ganization, suddenly appeared in the country and very soon vanished. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 265 

Swanzey, in common with otlier towns iu New England, helped to swell 
the Avave that swept over the laud. It is not well known who were the 
principal managers in this movement as few of the leaders care to be 
recognized as such in history. 

Good Templars. 

About 1868 the "Ark of Safety" Lodge of Good Templars, No. 78, 
was formed at West Swanzey. This was an organization in the interest 
of the temperance movement. Under the inspiration of Hon, A. S. 
Kendall and his wife, S. C. Kendall, O. Sprague and other temperance 
workers it flourished some five or six years and exerted a salutary in- 
fluence in training the youth in habits of sobriety and in restraining the 
illegal sale of liquor. 

Golden Cross, 

The United Order of the Golden Cross, Swanzey Commandery, No. 
151 , was instituted at East Swanzey, August 2d, IJSSI. This is abenefit 
or life insurance association, designed also to advance social improve- 
ment, temperance, etc. The charter members were Edward Wilcox, 
Ellen A. Ramsdell, Ahmson W. Banks, Albert B. Read, Thankful B, 
Read, William F, Read, Ella C, Read, Francis M. Taft, Sarah L. Taft, 
Nathan F. Newell, Emily B. Newell, Martin L, Lane, Flora E, Lane, 
Henry C, Lane, Lucy Mabel Lane, Joseph E. Long, Lois A. Long, 
James E, Handy, Arthur A, Woodward, Clara M. Lane, P^l)enezer 
F. Lane, Hannah P, Lane, James M, Ramsdell, Hattie R. Ramsdell, 
Clara M. Lane, Dr. Geo. I. Cutler, Geo E. Lane, S. Lizzie Lane. 

Over sixty others have joined this commandery and it has been at 
all times and now is in a flourishing condition. 

Its first officers were A. W. Banks, Past Noble Commander; Ed- 
ward Wilcox, Noble Commander ; Pollen A. Ramsdell, Vice Noble Com- 
mander; Martin L. Lane. Prelate-; A. B. Read, W. Herald; Clara 
N. Lane, Keeper of Records ; Geo. E. Lane, Financial Keeper of Re- 
cords ; Henry C. Lane, Treasurer ; Ella C. Read, Warden Inner Gate ; 
A. A. Woodward, Warden Outer Gate. 

The Noble Commandeis have been Edward Wilcox, Jas. M. Rams- 
dell, Geo. E. Lane, A. B. Read, C. M. Lane, A. W. Banks, W. C. 
Belding, C. H. Applin, C. G. Ramsdell, A. A. Woodward, C. A. 
Bouvier. 

The Golden Star Commandery, No. 319, U. O. G. C, was instituted 
at West Swanzey, July 16, 1887, by Deputy Grand Commander A. B. 
Read, with fourteen charter members as follows : Park E Wright, 
18 



266 HISrORY OF swanzky. 

Mary E. Wright, Herbert O. Young, Carrie E. Young, Charles B. Spar- 
hawk, Alice L. Sparhawk, Geo. B. Richardson, Ara L. Richardson, 
Ansel K. Bourn, Ilattie E. Bourn, Edward H.Snow, Mary L. Handy, 
Albert M. Hardy, Calista Hill. The numljer of members January 1, 
1892, is seventy-two. The Noble Commanders have been : Herl)ert O. 
Young, Charles B. Sparhawk, James E. Handy, Geo. W. Richardson, 
George C. Wright, Lester H. Towne. 

Officers for the 1st term, 1892: N. C, P. E. Wright; V. N. C, 
Minnie Wright; AY. P., James E. Handy; W. H., Joseph Rugg ; F. 
R. of R.. Archie Thompson; R. of R., Nellie Thompson; W. T., 
Carrie Young ; W. I. G., Addie Eames ; W. O. G., Ansel IJourn. 

77ie Grange. 

The organization called The Grange^ for the especial benefit of 
farmers and their families, which has flourished for many years at the 
west, has only recently appeared in New Hampshire. Golden Rod 
Grange, No. 114, was instituted March 15, 1886, by general deputy 
E. C. Hutchinson of Milford, with the following charter members : — 
William C. Belding, Andrew B. Cook, Calvin E. Hills, Charles H. 
Rockwood. George Carpenter, Lyman M. "Stone, Albert B. Read, Geo. 
L. Underwood. Zina G. Taft, AYilliam C. Belding, jr., Hicliard R- 
Ramsdell, jr.. Marcus C. Stone, Benjamin F. Mead, Benjamin Read, 
Geo. L Cutler, M.D., Mrs. E. H. G. Taft, Miss Nellie M. Belding, 
Mrs. L. J. W. Carpenter, Mrs. Leaffle J. Stone, Miss Alice A. 
Stanley, Mrs. Eva L. Ramsdell, Mrs. Anna G. Hills. 

The following officers were elected : — Master, W. C. Belding ; Over- 
seer, C. E. Hills; Lecturer. B. Read; StCAvard, C. H. Rockwood; 
Assistant Steward Z. G. Taft; Chaplain, L. M. Stone; Treasurer, 
George Carpenter ; Secretary, Mrs. Annie G. Hills ; Gate-keeper, G. 
L. Underwood ; Pomona, Mrs. E. L. Ramsdell; Flora, Mrs. L. J. 
Stone; Ceres, Mrs. E. H. G. Taft; Lady Assistant Steward, Miss 
Alice A. Stanley. 

The following have been the leading officers of The Grange since 
1886 : • 

1887. Master, Clias. H. Rockwood; Overseer, C. E. Hills; Lecturer, 

B. Read. 

1888. Master, C. H. Rockwood ; Overseer, C. E. Hills ; Lecturer, Mrs. 

E. H. G. Taft. 

1889. Master, Zina G. Zaft ; Overseer, Marcus C. Stone; Lecturer, 

Mrs. E. H. G. Taft. 

1890. Master, Marcus C. Stone ; Overseer, G. L. Underwood ; Lectur- 

er, Geo. Carpenter. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 267 

1891. Master, M. C. Stone; Overseer, G. L. Underwood; Lecturer, 

G. Carpenter. 

1892. Master, Henry W. Banks; Overseer, L. LoAvell Belding ; 

Lecturer, INIrs. L. A. Carlton. 

The meetings of the Grange were held at the houses of the mem- 
bers and at the vestry of the Cougregationl Church until 1891, when the 
membership was so large it was deemed expedient to hold them at the 
town hall. The numbers at the close of each year have been as follows : 
1887, 31 ; 1888, 40 ; 1889, 49 ; 1890, 91 ; 1891, 12,5. It is the largest 
Grange in the county except that at Iveene. 

Lincoln Grange, No. 159, was instituted at West Swanzey, Dec. 31, 
1890, with sixteen charter members, viz. : Geo. O. Caprou, Rose L. 
Capron, James K. Handy, Mary L. Handy. Herbert O. Young, Carrie 
E. Young. Albert M, Hard}^ Oliver Capron. Park K. Wright, Mary 
E. Wright, Geo. C. Wright, Minnie A. Wright, Geo. W. Richardson, 
Ara L. Richardson, J, Byron Porter, Flora M. Porter. 

The following are its officers, viz. : Worthy Master, P. E. Wright; 
Worthy Overseer, C. J. P^aiues ; Worthy Lecturer, J. E. Handy ; 
Worthy Assistant Lecturer, Mrs. Woodward ; Worthy Steward, B. C. 
Snow; Worthy Assistant Steward, G. C. Wright; Worthy Chaplain, 
A. M. Hardy ; Worthy Secretary, Mrs. S. C. Kendall ; Worthy Treas- 
urer, Mrs. Angle Woodward ; Ceres, Mrs. Wright ; Flora, Jennie Thoru- 
ing ; Pomona, Addie Karnes ; Lady Assistant Steward, M. A. Wright. 
Number of members Jan. 1, 1892, 61. 

A BEAK STORY. 

About the year 1800 as General Philemon Whitcomb and two sons, 
Benjamin and Abijah, were examining a large territory of old growth 
pine timber about one-fourth of a mile south from Mrs. Susan Jolm- 
son's, and near the "Ware Barn," their attention was attracted by the 
barking of their little dog, and on examination found that the dog had 
discovered some kind of an animal in a cave, under a huge boulder, 
now visible, which they thought might be a bear. They barricaded 
the entrance of the cave that he might not escape, and then sent for 
John Grimes, who being a hunter and trapper came with an axe, if 
need be, to kill the bear supposed to be therein, if he attempted to 
escape; hut the General, being a military man and fond of riding 
horseback, did not want the bear killed for he wanted to bridle her 
with a cod line and ride bear back, so Grimes told them to remove 
the obstruction from the entrance to the cave, while he with uplifted 
axe, stood ready to meet Bruin as she came out 



268 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

After patient waiting for the disturbatice of the intruders to cease, 
the rage of liruin began to show itself, and she was determined to 
make her egress and eject her intruders or lay down her life in the 
conflict, and soon made her appearance when Grimes struck iicr on 
the head with the head of tlie axe. Tiie blow staggered her back some- 
what: but she soon lallied, anil Avith iiicreasiiig rage, made another 
attempt to come out, when (Jrrmes pUinged the bit of the axe into her 
head, but this did not stop lu'i'. Rage added to madness, she came out 
and the General, not having time to l)ridlelier witli cod line. s[)rangupon 
her liack and rode away, not dismounting, until she fell dead under 
him. although rot a great distance away. — E. G. S. 

A WOLF STOHY. 

Many years ago there lived a Mr. Fairbrother in West Swanzey, on 
a farm once owned by Clement Sumner, later by Arba Stearns, and 
now owned by Charles J. Hanrahan, whose house stood east of the 
now-standing barn, and the road passed between them. Whilft Mr. 
Fairbrother was shingling the roof of his buildini>-. the weather beincr 
warm and fine, his child, having been at play there, fell asleep on a 
pile of shavings which came from the shingles, and while quietly sleep- 
ing a wolf came Crom the near forest probabW scenting the child, 
covered it with shavings, hastened back to the forest and invited liig 
friends to share with him the collation which he had secured. The 
father discovered the wolf before he had fully hidden the child, and 
probably thinking the safety of the child would be more sure did not 
molest him till after he retmned to the forest; then he descended, 
aroused the little sleeper and took it on the roof Avith him. Soon the 
wolf returned with two or three companions with sharpened appetites 
to enjoy the repast ; but when the wolf removed the shavings and found 
an empty table, and that the precious meal was gone, he appeared dis- 
ajjpointed and troubled, whereupon the guests, greatly enraged at the 
imposition, pitched upon their host and killed him. — E. G. S. 



GENEALOGIES. 



19 



CHAPTER XI. 

Genealogical Records. 

ABBOTT. 

Hknry^ Abbott {Tsaac^ of Chesterfield) ^ b. Dec. 16, 1818; m., 1st, 
Clarinda C. (b. Nov. 30, 1825; d. Nov. 9, 1881), dau. of Paul F. 
Aldiich; 111., 2iid, Jan. 1, 1885, Melissa S. (b. Nov. 10, 1839), dau. 
of Rufus Thompson. Children : George H., b. Oct. 27, 1846. Frank 
F., b. March 4, 1849. Mary C, b. March 16, 1853; d. July 24, 
1859. Mabel E., b. Aug. 26, 1862 ; m. Henry F. Whitconib. 

George H.3 Abbott (Ilenry,'^ Isaac^), b. Oct. 27, 1846; m. Ella 
(b. July 27, 1848), dau. of John S. Thayer. Children : Susie S., b. 
Aug. 15, 1868; d. Jan. 23, 1875. Marguerite, b. Sept. 20, 1876. 

Frank F.^ Abbott {Henry,- Isaac^), b. March 4, 1849 ; m, Nov. 
19, 1871, Mary E. (b. Sept. 2, 1850), dau. of David Woodward. 
Child : Rupert H., b. June 26, 1876. 

William Abbott m. Oct. 30, 1804, Sally, dau. of Nathan Wood- 
cock ; she was b. March 1, 1783. 

ADAMS. 

WiLLARD- Adams (Thomas,^ of New Salem, Mass.), b. Dec. 6, 
1806 ; d. in Woburn, Mass., July 19,^1883; ni., 1st, Anstris (b. May 
5, 1808 ; d. Dec. 14, 1880), dau. of Joseph Joslin ; m., 2ud, a lady in 
Woburn. Children: Josepii Willard, b. in Wells, Me., Aug. 31, 
1835. Thomas, b. in Wells, Me., June 22, 1837. Emily Joslin, b. 
in Woburn, Mass., Apr. 2, 1839 ; d. March 31, 1840. Randall, b. in 
Woburn, Sept. 23, 1841 ; d. Feb. 17, 1842. Amasa Randall, b. Jan. 
19, 1847; d. Apr. 9, 1847. Emily Lucretia, b. July 28, 1848; m. 
Levi A. Fuller of Marlborough, Oct. 30, 1866. Everett, b. June 19, 
1850. 

Joseph W.^ Adams {Willard," Thomas^), b. Aug. 31, 1835; m. 
Mary Emeline Dix (b. 183G) of Wakefield, Mass. 

(271) 



272 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

TiiOMAs3 Adams (Willarcl,^ Thomas^), b. June 22, 1837; m. Aug. 
17, 18G2, Nancy Jane Thompson (b. 1839) of Geneva, N. Y. 

EvEHETT^ Adams (Willard,- Thomas^), b. June 19, 1850; ni. Em- 
ma S. (b. March 31, 1850), dan. of George W. Ellis. Children: 
George, b. Oct. 20, 1873. Lottie E., b. June 25, 1875. 

John Brooks^ Adams (Albert^ of Rinclge), b. Aug. 12, 1842; m. 
May 23, 1872, Mary J. (b. Nov. 11, 1850), dau. of Samuel Wood- 
bury of Winchendon, Mass. Children : George Arthur, b. Feb. 5, 
1873. Fred Albert, b. July G, 1875. John Henry, b. June 15, 1878. 
Edwin Myron, b. Aug. 7, 1882. 

Myron2 W. Adams (Rev. Ezra^ of Gihum), b. Nov. 27, 1860 ; m. 
May 29, 1884, Nellie B., dau. of AVilliam F. Davis, Denmark, Me. 

Elijah H.2 Adams {Elijah^ of Keene), b. in Keene, Nov. 28, 1826 ; 
m. Sept. 19, 1848, Luthera (b. in this town, Aug. 18, 1827), dau. of 
Silas Howe. Children: Marion A., b. Feb. 18, 1850; m. June 2, 
1869, INIarvin D. Lewis; lives in Orange, Mass. Charles L., b. Dec. 
15, 1851 ; m. Dec. 15, 1880, Julia E. Caldwell of Ryegate, Vt., where 
they now live. LydiaA., b. March 25, 1854 ; m. Oct. 30, 1877, Wil- 
liam S. Blair of Springfield, Mass., where they resided. Sarah M., b. 
March 27, 1856 ; m. March 21, 1883, Horace W. Baker of Warwick, 
Mass., where they reside. Uleyetta C, b. Apr. 2, 1858, in Marlbor- 
ough ; lives in Troy. John, b. Oct. 19, 1860; d. in Troy, Mar. 14, 
1862. Susan E., b. Jan. 6, 1863, m. Dec. 24, 1889, Fred E. Whit- 
comb of Tro}', where they reside; the last four born in Marlborough. 

ALEXANDER. 

George W.^ Alexander (Caleb^ of Winchester), b. 1814; m. May 
22, 1842, Harriet (b. Apr. 5, 1819), dau. of John Stratton ; he d. July 
15, 1883. Child: Ellen L., adopted dau., m. Ripley Nittrowr. 

Calvin^ Alexander {Joseph^ of Troy), b. Apr. 23, 1816 ; m. Feb. 
19, 1843, Abbie Ann (b. Dec. 5, 1822), dau. of George W. Murphey, 
New Ipswich ; d. Dec. 18, 1888. Children : George D., b. July 3, 1847 ; 
d. March 18, 1866. Abbie Frances, b. Nov. 27, 1854; m. Herbert 
^y. Mason. Hattie Rebecca, b. Aug 21, 1859 ; m. James M. Rams- 
dell. 

Luther2 Alexander {Joseph^ of Troy), b. May 1, 1825 ; m. Sept. 
7, 1848, Lydia S. (b. Sept. 9, 1832), dau. of Stephen Harris. Chil- 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 273 

dren: Walter S., b. May 9, 1849. Martha A., b. Dec. 24, 1853; 
m. George E. Fuller of Marlborough, Jan. 24, 1872. Lillian M., b. 
Oct. 2, 1856 ; m. Jasper E. Lovering. Lora E., b. April 29, 1860; 
m. Fred A. Carter of Winchendon, Mass. Nellie M., b. March 8, 
1865 ; m. Charles A. Barden of Richmond. 

Charles^ Alexander {Joseph^ of Troy), b. March 5, 1831 ; m. 
March 27, 1856, Ellen C. (b. July 19, 1837), dau. of Philo Applin ; 
d. in Fitchburg, Mass., Aug. 31, 1889. Children : Charles W., b. Oct. 
28, 1857. Julian E., b. April 14, 1859. Frank P., b. July 28, 1860 ; 
d. May 6, 1883. Willie E., b. March 8, 1862; d. Oct. 31, 18G3. 
Willie W., b. Sept. 8, 1863. Earl E., b. March 20, 1865 ; d. June 4, 
1887. 

Walter Scott^ Alexander (Ltither,'^ Joseph^), b. Maj' 9, 1849 ; 
tn. June 16, 1880, Nellie Adaline (b. .Jan. 1, 1862), dau. of Hernion 
L. Lincoln. Child: Koland Luther, 1). Apr. 21, 1884. 

albee. 
Benjamin Albee was a resident of Mendon, Mass., as early as 1667. 
The line of descent from him to Hardin Albee was b}' John, b. in 
Mendon, 1680; John, b. in Mendon, 1721; Ichabod, b. 1755; re- 
moved to Westmoreland. 

Hardin^ Albee (Ichabod,'^ John,^ JoJin,^ Benjamin,'^ of Mendon, 
Mass.), b. March 8, 1800; d. Nov. 13, 1863; ra., 1st, March 25, 
1827, Almira H. (b. March 23, 1804; d. March 16, 1853), dau. of 
Philip Howard of Winchester ; ra., 2nd, March 2, 1854, Anna A. (b. 
Se[)t. 5, 1819), dau. of Capt. Calvin May of Gilsum. Children: 
Almira Melissa, b. Jan. 7, 1828; m. Abraham Stearns. George 
Hardin, b. Jan. 2, 1831. Ida Marioq, b. Sept. 12, 1855 ; d. Aug. 18, 
1865. 

Ahira^ Albee (Ichabod,'^ JoJin,^ John,- Benjambi^), b. April 7, 
1790 ; d. at the home of his brother Hardin, July 25, 1853. 

George H.'' Albee {Hardin,^ Iclmbod,^ John, ^ John, ^ Benjamin^) , 
b. Jan. 2, 1831; ra. April 23, 1859, Mary A. Burns (b. April 23, 
1835 ; d. Jan, 17, 1886). Children : Jennie Almira, b. Aug. 31, 1860. 
Annie Marion, b. May 25, 1862. He lives in Neenah, Wis. 

aldrich. 
Amasa Aldrich,! b. in Mendon, Mass., June 13, 1760 ; ra. Nov. 1, 
1780, Uranah Paine (b, Sept. 17, 1763) ; d. Dec. 2, 1813. She m., 



274 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

2nd, June 3, 1818, Gen. Philemon Whiteomb ; d. Feb., 1843. Chil- 
dren: Mannadnke, b, in Mendon, Aug. 18, 1781. Maiy, b. May 
27, 1783; in. Timothy Thompson. Uranah, b. March 31, 1785; m. 
Jesse Thompson. Phinehas, b. Jan. 20, 1787. Amasa, b. Marcli 18, 
1789. Paine, b. Jan. 4, 1791. Rufus, b. Jan. 20, 1793 ; d. Aug. 27, 
1798. Otis, b. July 6, 1795 ; d. Aug. 27, 1798. David, b. Sept. 6, 
1797. Anna, b. Aug. 31, 1799 ; m. Luke Bennett. Paul Fisher, b. 
Dec. 26, 1801. John Langdon, b. March 27, 1805. William, b. Oct. 
20, 1808. 

PniNEiiAs^ Aldrich (Amasa^), b. Jan. 20, 1787; m. Oct. 8, 1814, 
Mary Council (b. in Scituate, R. I.. Apr. 4, 1789 ; d. at Spring Prai- 
rie, Wis., Sept. 26, 1859) ; he d. Oct. 2, 1847. Children: Nathan- 
iel L., b. March 3, 1816 ; d. Feb. 20, 1841. Betsey H., b. Sept. 20, 
1817; d. Nov. 9, 1845. Cyrel R., b. Apr. 6, 1819. Maria B., b. 
Feb. 20, 1822 ; d. Aug. 23, 1845. 

Amasa- Aldrich (Amnsa'^)^ b. March 18, 1789; m. 1812, Candace 
(b. March 28,1793; d. Nov. 12, 1876), dau. of Simeon Cook ; d. 
May 20, 1880. Children: Harrison, b. Oct. 31, 1812. Amasa, b. 
March 7, 1814. Simeon Cook, b. Feb. 24, 1816. Emelinc, b. March 
14, 1818 ; m. Benjamin C. Blake. Flavilla C, b. Oct. 10, 1819 ; m. 
Sumner Applin. Nancy H., b. March 7, 1822; d. Jan. 21, 1S41. 
Candace C, b. Feb. 23, 1825; m. James Marsh. Carlon Cook, b. 
Oct. 2, 1829. Calista T.,b. Apr. 1, 1830; m. J. Mason Reed. 

Paine- Aldrich (Amasa^), b. Jan. 4, 1791; m. Feb. 18, 1813, 
Sally (b. June 17, 1793), dau. of Joseph Hammond. 

David- Aldrich (Amasa^), b. Sept. 6, 1797; m. Jan. 3, 1827, 
Olive (b. April 16, 1804 ; d. March 2, 1887), dau of David noll)rook ; 
he d. Sept. 3, 1841. Children: Phinehas L., b. Dec. 27, 1829. 
George O., b. Oct. 22, 1831; d. Apr. 3, 1881. Uranah Paine, b. 
Apr. 6, 1834; m. Granville Pratt. 

Paul FiSHKR- Aldrich {Amasa^), b. Dec. 26, 1801; m. Aug. 7, 
1822, Luvana (d. Dec. 1, 1866), dau. of Simeon Cook; d. Oct. 20, 
1878. Children : Clarinda Cook, b. Nov. 30, 1824 ; m. Henry Ab- 
bott ; d. Nov. 9, 1881. Paul Fisher, b. Nov. 30, 1827. John Lang- 
don, b. Nov. 12, 1830; d. Aug. 13, 1863. George Herman, b. May 
30, 1833. Cyrel Rounds, b. Nov. 19, 1835; m. Sept. 2, 1862. Lu- 
vana Maria, b. April 14, 1838; m. May 1, 1862, Charles Green. 
Henry Hubbard, b. Feb. 22, 1843. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 275 

John Langdon- Aldrich (Amasa^), b. March 27, 1805 ; m. March 
27, 1828, Esther (b. Nov. 19, 1806 ; d. Sept. 15, 1888), dan. of Eph- 
raira Whitcomb; d. July 24, 1832. Child: Charlotte, b. Feb. 13, 
1829 ; m. Fernando B. Bennett. 

Ctrel E.^ Aldrich {Pliinehas,'^ Amasa^), b. Apr. 6, 1819; m. 
May 18, 1850, Julia Ann, dau. of Elijah Carpenter. Children : Ma- 
ria Elizabeth, b. in Swanzey, May 1, 1851. Fanny Partridge, b. in 
Springfield, Mass., Jan. 3, 1853 ; m. Edgar A. Weeks of Lj'ons, Wis. 

Carlon Cook^ Aldrich (Amasa,- Amasa^), b. Oct. 2, 1829; m. 
Amanda (b. Aug. 29, 1835), dau. of Charles Wilson. 

Paul Fisher^ Aldrich {Paul Fisher ^^ AmascO-) b. Nov. 30, 1827; 
m. April 30, 1847, Hannah (b. Nov. 9, 1827) daughter of Martin 
Stone. Children : Edwin H., b. about 1853 ; m. Jan. 21, 1873. Anna 
b. about 1862. Winnie, b. 1867; d. Aug. 24, 1867. Chester C, b. 
1869 ; d. Nov. 10, 1875. 

George Herman^ Aldrich (Patd Fisher,^ Amasa^) ^h. in Swanzey 
May 30, 1833 ; m. Oct. 3, 1853, Hannah (b. Jan. 20, 1832) daughter 
of Alvah Thompson. Children: Walter Herman, b. July 2, 1854. 
Herbert Cyrel, b. Aug. 23, 1855. Edwin Thompson, b. Aug. 24, 
1858. Edith Luvania, b. Aug. 24, 1862. John Laugdon, b. Aug. 
23, 1864; d. April 2, 1865. Eugene Laugdon, b. March 30, 1866. 
Emma Maria, b. Nov. 30, 1868. Sidney Cook, b. May 3, 1872. 

Henry Hubbard^ Aldrich (Paul Fisher,- Amasa^), b. Feb, 22, 
1843; m. Mary E. (b. Nov. 21, 1843), daughter of Sylvander L. 
Whitcomb. 

Edwin H."* Aldrich (Paul Fisher,'^ Paul Fisher,- Amasu^), m. Jan. 
21 , 1873, Flora H. (b. 1851) , daughter of Philemon Foster. Children : 
an infant, b. Apr. 28, 1874; d. Aug. 10, 1874. Gertrude H., b. 
Nov. 18, 1877. Bertha A., b. Nov. 26, 1879. Robert E., b. Sept. 

30, 1881. 

Tristan^ Aldrich (Jesse,^ Noah,'^ Jacob,^ Jacoh,^ George^), b. 
Oct. 13, 1781 ; m., 1st, Sept. 7, 1806, Polly Sampson (b. in Pres- 
cott where she died) ; m., 2nd, Nov. 20, 1823, Betsey (b. Dec. 20, 
1799 ; d. Jan. 12, 1876), daughter of Nathan Cross. He died Dec. 

31, 1870. Children: Maria, b. Oct. 21, 1807; m. Moses Howard. 
Alice S., b. March 12, 1811 ; m. Alfred Britton. Tristan, b. Aug. 



276 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

24, 1817; d. Aug. 26, 1838. Priscilla, b. Feb. 2, 1825; ni. William 
Moore. Adouinim J., b. Sept. 18, 1826; d. Feb. 13, 1827. Adoui- 
ram J., b. Jan. 9, 1830. Ellen E., b. March 3, 1842 ; m. Orleans S. 
Eaton Dec. 31, 1863. 

Adoniram J.'^ Aldkicii {Tristan,^ Jesse,^ Noah,'^ Jacoh^^ Jacob,- 
George^), b. Jan. 9, 1830; m. Maria, daughter of Joshua Wyman of 
Keene. 

Sands^ Aloricii {Daniel^ of Douglas, Mass.), h. Nov. 26, 1779; 
m. Feb. 21, 1799, Abigail (b. June 1, 1779 ; d. Jan. 27, 1863, in Rich- 
mond) daughter of Edward Aldrich of Douglas. He died in Richmond 

Jan. 26, 1855. Children : A , b. March 13, 1800. Elizabeth, b. 

Apr. 18, 1802, in New York State ; m. Samuel Thompson, 3rd. Sj^l- 
vester, b. Sept. 18, 1805, in Douglas. Sands, b. Apr. 26, 1808. Mary, 
b. March 19, 1810 ; m. Sept. 8, 1831, Lewis Daniels of Sutton, Mass. ; 
d. Dec. 17, 1834. Philadelphia, b. Jan. 9, 1812; m. Aug. 5, 1835, 
Lewis Daniels. Daniel Wesley, b. Nov. 27, 1813. Sarah, b. Oct. 
16, 1815; d. Jan. 15, 1818. Sally, b. May 16, 1817, in Burrilville ; 
d. Oct. 15, 1836, in Richmond. 

Sands3 Aldrich (Scmds,^ David^), b. Apr. 26, 1808; m. Oct. 22, 
1835, Betsey (b. Apr. 19, 1815; d. May 18, 1887), daughter of Jer- 
emiah Amidon of Richmond; d. Feb. 16, 1872. Child: Betsey R., 
b. Dec. 17, 1837; m. Merrick Worcester. 

David S.^ Aldrich (Sands,^ Sands,^ David^), b. Aug. 3, 1839 ; m. 
Sarah E., daughter of Shepley W. Knights. 

Ellert K.3 Aldrich { Na hum. ^ Nathan,^ of Bichmond),h. Sei^t. 18, 
1811 ; m., 1st, Dec. 15, 1834, Candace (b. Oct. 10, 1811 ; d. March 8, 
1873), daughter of Elias Taylor of Richmond; m., 2nd, Aug., 1873, 
Mrs. Walter Price (b. July 6, 1832; d. July 6, 1877) of Boston; ni. 
3rd, June 1 , 1880, Mrs. Sarah Loring of Hinsdale (b. Nov. 18, 1818 ; 
d. Aug. 6, 1888). She was a daughter of John Starkey of Richmond 
and tirst married Simeon Sabin of Winchester. He d. Oct. 16, 1888. 
Children : Harriet S., b. June 20, 1836. Susan A., b. May 26, 1838 ; 
m. Sumner Black. Lydia E., b. Oct. 16, 1841 ; m. Augustus Thomas. 
Frank S.. b. June 19, 1842. 

Lot- Aldrich (Jo/<n^ ofNort7ibridge),h. Oct. 30, 1754 ; m., 1st, April, 
18, 1779, Sarah, daughter of John Robertson ; m.,2nd, Nov. 24, 1800, 
Bethiah Nigh of this town. By Sarah had Olive, b. Dec. 20, 1779. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 277 

Ezra, b. Oct. 13, 1781. Huldah, b. Nov. 28, 1783 ; m. Cyrus Crouch. 
Children: Mary, Lucy, Elijah, Lydia, Bathsheba, Sarah and John. 

Abner- Aldrich {David} of 3Iendon, 3fass.), h. Nov. 17, 1727; 
m. 1st, Nov. 2, 1747, Elizabeth (b. 1729 ; d.May7, 1804), daughter of 
Deacon Nicholas Cook of Bellingham, Mass. ; m., 2nd, Dec. 16, 1805, 
Anna Brown. He d. Oct. 31, 1815. Children : Abner, Hannah, Sim- 
eon, Phila, Nicholas, Susanna, Ananias. 

Ananias^ Aldrich {Abner,^ DavkV), m. June 27, 1774, Mary (b. 
Oct. 22, 1756), daughter of Abraham Randall; d. 1826. Children: 
Abraham, b. Jan. 23, 1775. Isaac, b. Apr. 9, 1777. Silence, b. June 
30, 1779 ; m. Robert Read. Nathaniel, b. June 2, 1781. Waity, b. June 
3, 1783. Rufus, b. Sept. 28, 1785. Phila, b. Aug. 27, 1787 ; m. Aaron 
Tenney; m., 2nd, John Wheeler. Elizabeth, b. Aug. 12, 1789; m. 
Marshall. Judith, b. Oct. 20, 1791; m. Joseph Buffum. Su- 
sanna, m. Calvin Bryant. 

Noah2 Aldrich {Levi^ of Richmond), b. Dec. 9, 1788; m. May 
15, 1811, Waitstill (b. Jan. 17, 1787) daughter of Joseph Starkey of 
Richmond. Children : Angela, m. Augustus Cass of Richmond. My- 
randa, Joseph, Benjamin, Waitstill, Jillson. 

Anderson^ Aldrich {Benjamin^ of Richmond)^ b. Oct. 11, 1834; 
m. Nov. 6, 1855, Almira (b. July 10, 1835), daughter o*f Henry Ballon 
of Richmond. Children: Estella, b. Sept. 14, 1859; m. Frank 
Hardy of Marlborough. Mina J., b. Nov. 8, 1860; m. Herbert D. 
Aldrich of Keene. George B., b. Nov. 25, 1862. Henry A., b. 
March 24, 1865. Seth L., b. Apr. 7, 1870. Eva M., b. May 27, 
1873. 

George B.^ Aldrich {Anderson,^''Benjamin^) , b. Nov. 25, 1862; 
m. Nov. 25, 1884, Eimna J., daughter of Charles Safford, Athol, 
Mass. (b. 1867 ; d. July 26, 1890). Child : Mabel, b. Nov., 1885. 

Amasa2 Aldrich (JSfahitm^ ofRiclirtiond),\). 1799 ; m., 1st, Aug. 25, 
1816, Susanna, daughter of Samuel Thompson ; m., 2nd, Apr. 24, 1825, 
Anna, daughter of Benjamin Tolman, Troy. Children : Angeline, b. 
Feb. 26, 1827; d. Apr. 11, 1851. Andrew J., b. Nov. 13, 1829. 

ANDERSON. 

Nehemiah Anderson, m. Jan. 7, 1814, Betsey Lawrence. 



278 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



ANGIER. 

Philip D.^ AifGiETi(Abel^ of FitzimlUam) ,\) . March 25, 181 1 ; in., 1st, 
Sept. 28, 1834, Nancy D. Sargent; m., 2ncl, Jan. 1, 1844, Mary (b. 
Oct. 18, 1820; d. July 8, 1856) daughter of Samuel Haydon, Fitz- 
william; m. ,3rd, July 2, 1858, Arabella S. Read of Newfane, Vt. 
He d. Oct. 1, 1890. Children: Rosannah L., b. March 4, 1837 ; m. 
Francis Bowker of Fitzwilliam. Abbie F., b. Dec. 8, 1840 ; m. Dan- 
iel Read of Fitzwilliam. Mary E., b. July 31, 1848 ; m. George White, 
Fitzwilliam. Fanny B., b. Oct. 9, 1860; m. Willard B. Bevcrstock 
of Shrewsbury, Vt. ; m. 2nd, Oliver W. Caprou ; d. Oct. 20, 1890. 
Walter E., b. May 18, 1863. Philip C, b. Oct. 17, 1867. 

APPLIN. 

John Applin^ settled in Palmer, Mass. ; m. Rebecca, had a son 
Thomas who came to Swanzey about 1763. 

Thomas^ Applin {John,^ of Palmer, Mass.), m. Mabel Brown (b. 
1733 ; d. March 2, 1799) ; d. June 24, 1804. Children : John, b. 
Nov. 27, 1753. Anna, b. Oct. 21, 1755 ; m.Eli Kimball. Sarah, b. 
Sept. 10, 1757; m. Ebenezer Thompson. Thomas, b. Oct. 10, 1759. 
Timothy Brown, b. Nov. 13, 1760. Thomas, b. Aug. 1 1 , 1763. Thank- 
ful, b. Jan. 19,1767; m. Asa Freeman. Isaac, b. Aug. 10, 1769. 
Mabel, b. Feb: 24, 1772; d. Jan. 21, 1776. Pannelia, b. Aug. 30, 
1774. 

John3 Applin ( rZiom as ,2 John'^), b. Nov. 27, 1753; m. Fob. 8, 
1776, Mary (b. 1754; d. Feb. 29, 1812), daughter of Tliomas Sabin, 
Uxbridge, Mass. Children : Thomas, b. Jan. 7, 1779. John, b. July 
1, 1781. Ephraim, b. Oct. 10, 1783. Israel, b. July 31, 178T. Mary, 
b. June 10, 1790. Lucy, b. 1798 ; d. July 9, 1814. 

Timothy Brown^ Appmn {Thomas,^ John^), b. Nov. 13, 1760, in 
Palmer, Mass. ; m. Jan. 9, 1783, Anna Wyman. Children: Anna, 
b. July 13, 1783. Benjamin Redman, b. Dec. 12, 1784; d. Oct. 6, 
1785. Benjamin Redman, b. Aug. 7, 1786. Rebecca, b. Apr. 14, 
1791. Sabrina, b. Nov. 3, 1793. Philinda, b. July 17, 1796. Abi- 
jah, b. Aug. 29, 1799. 

Thomas^ Applin (Thomas,- John'^), b, Aug. 11, 1763 ; m. 1st, May 
24, 1792, Sabrina (d. Aug. 29, 1792), daughter of Timothy Road ; m. 
2nd, Nov. 24, 1794, Poll}', daughter of Samuel Page. Children: 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 279 

Sabrina, b. Dec. 16, 1795; m. Ezekiel Thompson, Samuel Page, b. 
Feb. 5, 1797. Benjamin, b. Jan. 29, 1798. Perrin, b. May 17, 1802. 
Philo and Fanny, b. Oct. 9, 1804 ; Fanny d. March 3, 1852. Wesson, 
b. 1806. Polly, b. 1808 ; d. Jan. 14, 1850. 

IsAAC^ Applin (Thomas,^ JoJin^), b. Aug. 10, 1769; m. Feb. 14, 
1793, Hephzibeth Dunton. 

John'* Applin {John,^ Thomas,'^ JoJin^), b. July 1, 1781 ; m. Sept., 
1806, Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel Bryant, of Richmond. 

Israel'* Applin {John,^ Thomas,- John^), b. July 31, 1787; m. 
Jan. 24, 1816, Lucy (b. June 26, 1795; d. March 21, 1841), daugh- 
ter of Nathan Fessendon ; d. Nov. 1, 1861. Children: Sumner, b. 
Jan. 2, 1816. Celinda, b. Aug. 24, 1817; d. Aug. 1, 1818. Benja- 
min F., b. May 24, 1819. Henry Sabin, b. Oct. 27, 1821 ; d. Aug. 
1, 1864. Lucy Ann, b. Dec. 9, 1823; ra. Orlando Page. Sarah 
Celinda, b. Jan. 12, 1827; m. Alanson W. Banks. John, b. June 27, 
1829. Mary Sabin, b. Aug. 27, 1831. Nancy Maria, b. Jan. 16, 1834. 

Benjamin Redman^ Applin {Timothy B.,^ Thomas,^ John^), b. 
Aug. 7, 1786 ; m. Oct. 24, 1805, Susanna (b. Dec. 11, 1777), daugh- 
ter of Philemon Whitcomb. 

Philo'' Applin (r/iomas,3 Thomas,- John^), b. Oct. 9, 1804 ; m., 1st, 
July 3, 1831, Elizabeth Knox (b. July 4, 1813; d. Apr. 1, 1856) of 
Portland, Me ; m., 2nd, Sept. 5, 1870, Mrs. Sophia Gage of Fitchburg, 
Mass. Children: Julia Murry, b. Sept. 10, 1832; m. Robert Brooks 
of Fitzwilliam. George Page, b. Feb. 22, 1834; d. Jan. 21, 1846. 
Sarah Elizabeth, b. Oct. 30, 1835 ; d. Jan. 6, 1857. Ellen Cordelia, 
b. July 19, 1837; m. Ciiarles Alexander of Troy, March 27, 1856. 
Charles Randolph, b. Apr. 17, 1839. Mary Frances, b. March 28, 
1841 ; m. Richard Ramsdell. Nan,cy Louisa, b. Apr. 13, 1843 ; m. 
Henry Ward. William Henry, b. Aug. 14, 1844 ; d. Jan. 29, 1846. 
Susan Amelia, b. Oct. 13, 1845; d. Jan. 12, 1846. Susan Amelia, 
b. Feb. 7, 1847 ; d. May 7, 1875. George Henry, b. Apr. 30, 1848 ; 
d. Sept. 24, 1849. William Waldo, b. May 27, 1850. George Knox, 
b. July 23, 1851 ; d. Oct. 5, 1851. Edgar Mathews, b. Aug. 6, 1852. 
Herbert Leroy, b. Dec. 10, 1853. Oscar Philo, b. March 10, 1855. 

Wesson^ Applin (Thomas,^ Thomas,'^ John^), b. Nov. 16, 1806; 
m. Dec, 1834, Susan Sherwin (b. Dec. 6, 1809), of Townsend, Mass. 
m., 2nd, Jan. 19, 1869, widow of Henry S. Applin (she d. July 21, 
1890). 



280 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Sumner^ Applin (Israel,'^ JoJm,'^ Thomas,'^ JoJm^) , h. Jan. 2, 181G ; 
ra. Flavilla C. (b. Oct. 10, 1819), daughter of Amasa AUliicli. 

Benjamin F.^ Applin {Israel,'^ John,^ Thomas,- Job n^) , l).Ma3'24, 
1819 ; in. Nov. 26, 1862, Harriet H. (b. March 29, 1830 ; d. July 21, 
1890), daughter of Joel Osgood, of New Salem, Mass. Child: 
Arthur Fessendon, b. July 16, 1867. 

Henry Sabin^ Applin (Israel,'^ John,^ Thomas,- John^), b. Oct. 

27, 1821 ; m. Feb. 15, 1847, Louisa A., daughter of Al)rahaia Corey, 
of Marlborough ; d. Aug. 1, 1864. Children: Charles Henry, b. 
July 18, 1849. Eugene E., b. July 8, 1851. 

JoHN^ Applin {Israel,'* John,^ Thomas,^ John^),h. June 27, 1829 ; 
m. Jan. 1, 1855, Mary Ann (b. July 5, 1833; d. Nov. 11, 1869), 
dan. of Carlton Parker; m., 2nd, Sept. 28, 1870, Martha A. Wash- 
burn of Kingstown, Mass. Children: A child born in Jul}', 1856; 
d. Oct. 10, 1856. George C, b. Nov. 2, 1861. Anna E., b. July 

28, 1863. Henry Herbert, b. July 5, 1867. 

Charles R.^ Applin {Philo,'* Thomas,^ Thomas,^ John^) , b. April 
17, 1839; m. Aug. 29, 1857, Selina A. (b. Aug. 31, 1839; d. May 
4, 1886), daughter of Ansel Bourn; m., 2nd., Aug., 1889, Abbie E., 
daughter of Luke Clark of Troy. Children : Lizzie A., b. March 14, 
1859 ; d. 1863. Charles Wesson, b. June 23, 1867. Frank Ernest, 
b. Nov. 13, 1871. Susan Louisa, b. Sept. 15, 1875. 

William Waldo^ Applin (P/uYo,'' Thomas,^ Thomas,^ John^), b. 
May 27, 1850; m. Jan. 20, 1876, Alary Abby (b. July 24, 1851), 
daughter of Samuel E. Tuttle, Antrim. Children : A daughter b. and 
d. July 15, 1878. Herbert Seldon, b. July 1 , 1883 ; d. May 20, 1884. 
Fanny L., b. July 8, 1885. 

Charles Henri ^ Applin (Henry Sabin,^ Israel,'* John,^ Thomas,^ 
John^), b. July 18, 1849 ; m. Lucy Ann (b. July 28, 1853), daugh. 
ter of David Woodward. Children : Charles Leon, b. Nov. 14, 1877. 
Leila May, b. Dec. 18, 1881. 

Eugene Elwin^ Applin {Henry Sabin,^ Israel,"* John,^ Thomas,^ 
John^), b. July 8, 1851 ; m. Dec. 17, 1872, Fanny Martha (b. June 
19, 1855) , daughter of IMoses D. Ballon. Children : Plorence Eunice, 
b. Apr. 19, 1874. Elwin Henry, b. Aug. 25, 1877. Harry Eugene, 
b. March 10, 1880. Frank Dexter, b. June 27, 1885. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 281 



AUSTIN. 

Benoni Austin, m. Nov, 28, 1805, Abigail Lane. Children: 
Allen, b. June 13, 1813. Hannah, b. April 17, 1815. Mary D., b. 
Sept. 29, 1817. Sylvester, b. July 8, 1822. 

ATKINSON. 

Frank P. Atkinson, b. in Brooklyn, N. Y. ; m. Ida C. Witherell 
of Warwick, Mass. ; have one daughter, Mary E. Atkinson. 

AVERYr 

Edward D. Avery, b. Nov. 17, 1833, in Granville, N. Y. ; m. April 
3, 1866, at St. Louis, Missouri, Julia A. Stullings of Madison, Illinois 
(b. March 28, 1849; d. April 13, 1879, in Keene). Children: Ed- 
ward D., b. Nov. 20, 1869. Julia M., b. Dec. 13, 1871. Elizabeth 
R., b. March 8, 1873. Charles E., b. Dec. 24, 1874. Mary I., b. 
Jan. 12, 1877. William H., b. April 6, 1879. He m., 2nd, Aug. 22, 
1879, Maggie G. Lahiff of Keene. Children: Robert J., b. Jan. 9, 
1881. Loyal L., b. Sept. 13, 1883. George W., b. Oct. 29, 1884. 
Hattie E., b. March 16, 1886. Annie M., b. March 15, 1889. 

babbit. 

Jonathan Babbit taxed in 1818. Children : Alvin, Roswell, m. 
Anna (b. about 1815), daughter of Timoth}^ Thompson and lives in 
Iowa ; Olive, Jonathan, Susan, Judith, Polly, Hannah, Betsey, Mar- 
cena, m. Angeliue (b. March 16, 1818), daughter of Jesse Thomp- 
son. 

BAILEY. 

Amos Bailey and his wife Zilpah were b. in 1756. Children: 
Hannah, m. Arad Hall. Rebecca, b. Apr. 4, 1784 ; m. Henry Saw- 
yer. Polly, m. Feb. 14, 1808, Ichabod Morse of Newport. Amos, b. 
Sept. 11, 1786. Jonathan, b. Nov. 27, 1788. Clarissa, b. Nov. 28, 
1792 ; m. William Goddard Eames. Cynthia, b. Aug. 19, 1796 ; m. 
Henry Sawyer. 

Amos^ Bailey (Amos^), b. Sept. 11, 1786; m. Sept. 16, 1810, 
Salome (b. Apr. 25, 1786; d. Dec. 15, 1845), daughter of Jona- 
than Whitcomb ; d. July 7, 1864. Child: Albert W., b. Feb. 12, 
1815. 



282 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Jonathan^ Bailey (Amos^), b. Nov. 27, 1788; m, March 26, 
1812, Sarah (b. July 17, 1785; d. Jan. 7, 1853), daughter of Thn- 
othy Clark ; d. Feb. 21, 1857. Children : Perliua, b. April 14, 1814 ; 
m. Dewitt C. Devine of Girard, Penn. ; d. in Wiscousiu. Arvilla, b. 
March 30. 1816; in. Joshua Palmer. Clark, b. Sept. 25, 1818. Sarah 
b. Jan. 13, 1822 ; m. Levi Crouch ; d. Oct. 5, 1878. Lovisa M., b. 
Dec. 23, 1825; m. Simeou B. Nelson of Menasha, Wis. Rebecca, b. 
May 19, 1827 ; m. May, 1851, Samuel Winchester ; removed to Grand 
Rapids, Mich. Jonathan, b. Dec. 23, 1830 ; d. Feb. 23, 1857. Phila, 
b. Jan. 14, 1835; d. June 14, 1857. 

Albeut W. 3 Bailey (J.?>ios,2 J.mosi), b. Feb. 12,1815; m. Oct. 
27, 1840, Abigail L. Pillsbury (b. July 3, 1819), of Winchendon, 
Mass.; d. Jan. 4, 1867. Children: Salome, b. Oct. 16, 1841 ; d. 
Sept. 27, 1845. Emily Rockwood, b. Jan. 5, 1845 ; d. Aug 18, 1890. 
Francis, b. May 31, 1849 ; d. June 4, 1849. Martha Jane, b. Sept. 
19, 1851. 

Clark^ Bailey (Jonathan- Amos^)^ b. Sept. 25, 1818; m. April 
6, 1851, Caroline C. (b. Aug. 28, 182^; d. March 31, 1862). daugh- 
ter of Kendall Walker Davis of Chesterfield ; m., 2nd, June 12, 1863, 
Harriet A. (b. May 6, 1834), daughter of Kendall Walker Davis of 
Chesterfield. Children by Caroline : George C, b. July 28, 1852 ; d. 
Dec. 23, 1862. Charles Hardy, b. Sept. 20, 1856. John F., b. Sept. 
12, 1859 ; d. Dec. 26, 1862. Child by Harriet A. : Edward A., b. 
Nov. 26, 1864. 

BALCH. 

William Balch and wife Mehitable, came from Dublin prior to 
1817 and settled on the farm, later called the "Coburn Farm," about 
half a mile N. E. from the home of Luman B. Crouch, ^Yith their 
family, among whom were: Mehitable, m. Dec. 25, 1817, Orriu 
Brown ; William, Ephraim, Aaron and Charles. 

ball. 

"The Balls in this country all descended from Edward Ball,' Avho 
came from Wales and settled iu Branford, near New Haven, Conn. ; 
his large family spread throughout New England and elsewhere, some 
going to New Jersey ; one son^, to Virginia, who was father of Mary 
Ball, the mother of George Washington. During the Revolutionary 
war the Balls scattered over the country." The Massachusetts branch 
of the family are from Edward Ball,' but some links are wanting, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 283 

probably two. Daniel Ball, of Brookfield, Mass. (may have been 
grandson of Edward^) and Patience, his wife, had: Benjamin,^ b 
1752, in Brookfield; d. Feb. 19, 1782. Silas^ Ball, b. 1775, in Lev 
erett, Mass.; d. April 5, 1844. Silas^ Ball, jr., b. 1804, in Town 
shend, Vt. ; d. Aug. 20, 1887, in Leverett. Charles L.'' Ball, b. May 
16, 1831, in Leverett; m. April 3, 1860, Mary L. (b. March 20,1835) 
daughter of Seth Wood of Leverett. Children: Anna M., b. July 8 
1861; m. Walter F. Oakman. Charles H., b. Aug. 13, 1863; d 
March 11, 1880. Flora M., b. May 1, 1868 ; m. J. Byron Porter. 

JosiAH Ball m. March 31, 1834, Amanda Worden. 

BALDWIN. 

Nahum Baldwin m. June 3, 1812, Philiuda Harvey of Marl- 
borough. 

BALLOU. 

SiLAS^ Ballou (Jesse^ of Richmond), b. Dec. 10, 1787; m., 1st, 
Feb. 8, 1810, Anna (b. May 23, 1790 ; d. Feb. 3, 1853) , daughter of 
Ebenezer Saunders of Fitzwilliam; m., 2nd, July 6, 1854, Mrs. Ches- 
ter Coombs (d. Aug. 28, 1883). He d. Sept. 16, 1872. Children: 
Leonard, b. Feb. 1, 1811 ; d. in Richmond. Laura Ann, b. Aug. 23, 
1812 ; m. Ansel Bourn; d. 1872. WUlard, b. Oct. 25, 1815. Elisha, 
b. May 28, 1817; d. Apr. 3, 1820. Amasa, b. Jan. 1, 1819. Alsaida, 
b. July 28, 1820; m. Henry Ballou, jr., of Richmond. Emily, b. 
March 12, 1822; m. Ozial Ballou; d. Nov. 20, 1852. Lorinda, b. 
Dec. 9, 1823 ; m. Ozial Ballou. Silas Warren, b. Nov. 5, 1825. Asa 
L., b. Feb. 4, 1829. William C, b. Apr. 9, 1832 ; d. Sept. 20, 1833. 

Willard3 Ballou (Silas,^ Jesse^), b. Oct. 25, 1815 ; m. March 31, 

1840, Abigail (b. Feb. 11, 1819), daughter of Jesse Forrestall of 
Fitzwilliam; came from Richmond in 1857. Children: Willard Liv- 
ing, b. July 1, 1841. Joseph W., b. Dec. 19, 1843. Frank E., b. 
Jan. 25, 1845. Lunette M., b. May 17, 1852 ; m. G. D. Stone. 

Amasa^ Ballou {Silas,'^ Jesse^), b. Jan. 1, 1819 ; m., 1st, July 4, 

1841, Lavina (b. Jan. 14, 1823; d. Dec. 13, 1844), daughter of 
Henry Ballou ; m., 2nd, widow Brooks (b. Jan. 25 ,1812 ; d. Oct. 25, 
1849), daughter of Jesse Forrestall, Fitzwilliam; m., 3d, Jan. 15, 
1850, widow of Charles Marsh (b. June 8, 1827 ; d. Oct. 28, 1888), 
daughter of Josiah Hammond. Children: Albert A., b. March 17, 
1843. Henrietta, b. June 19, 1846 ; d. Sept. 4, 1849. Eden Sawyer, 



284 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

b. Nov. 17, 1848 ; d. Aug. 30, 1849. Eleanor ,T., b. about 1850 ; m. 
Samuel Bishop. Isabel Hammond, b. March 5, 1853 ; d. April 28, 
1855. Isabel Nancy, b. Aug. 15, 1857 ; m. Jolni M. Prentice. 

Silas W.3 Ballou {Silas,'^ Jesse^), b. Nov. 5, 1825; m. Feb. 12, 
1851, Sarah J., daughter of Nathan Leonard of Providence, R. I« 
Children : Delancy L., b. Nov. 11, 1851 ; d. Jan. 21, 18G1. Elada 
G., b. March 27, 18C5 ; d. Aug. 3, 1865. 

Asa L.3 Ballou {Silas,'^ Jesse^). 

WiLLARD I.'i Ballou {Willard,^ Silas,^ Jesse^), b. July 1, 1841; 
m. Nov. 26, 1864, Eda E. (b. Dec. 14, 1851), daughter of C. C. 
Fuller, Gardner, Mass. Children: Viola E., b. Feb. 27, 1«66; d. 
Oct. 19, 1873. Josephine A., b. Dec. 31, 1867; d. Sept. 29, 1873. 
Demeritt I., b. May 19, 1869; d. Oct. 19, 1873. Mary U. B., b. 
Apr. 26, 1871. Bernis F., b. Dec. 29, 1874. 

Joseph W.^ Ballou {Wmarcl,^ Silas,^ Jesse^), b. Dec. 19, 1843; 
m., Feb. 26, 1865, Flavilla M. (b. Sept. 10, 1846), daughter of Ear- 
ns Taft. Children: Willie F., b. Nov. 12, 1866. Nora A., b. Sept. 

28, 1868. Frank J., b. Feb. 25, 1871. L. Plarl, b. Sept. 22, 1874. 
Lucy F., b. Sept. 26, 1875. 

Frank E.'' Ballou ( Willard,^ Silas,^ Jesse'^), b. Jan. 25, 1845 ; m. 
June 25, 1873, Julia J., daughter of Eri B. Jerome. Children : FJlie 
J., b. Aug. 12, 1873 ; d. Aug. 28, 1874. George L., b. Sept. 8, 1874. 
James M., b. Jan. 22, 1877. Edgar F., b. Sept. 30, 1878. Charles 
J., b. June 29, 1880. Aunis M., b. July 14, 1882. Ora S., b. May 
1, 1884. 

Russell- Ballou (James^ of Richmond), b. July 11, 1763 ; m., 1st, 
Feb. 23, 1783, Henrietta Aldrich (d. June 8, 1827) ; m., 2nd, April 
16, 1829, Mrs. Bebe Mellen (d. 1854). He d. Nov. 10, 1847. Chil- 
dren by Henrietta: Betsey, b. Oct. 6, 1783; m. Royal Blanding. 
Amy, b. Oct. 27, 1785. Nicene, b. March 6, 1788; m. Abel Bliss. 
Asquire, b. May 8, 1792. Russell, b. 1794. Luther, b. Sept. 7, 
1797. Priscilla, b. Jan. 25, 1800; d. May 8, 1814. Olive, b. Aug. 

29, 1803 ; m. Jacob Boyce of Richmond. 

Alonzo'' Ballou {Asquire,^ Russell,- James^ of Richmond) , b. 
Feb. 17, 1817; m. Oct. 18, 1838, Sarah (b. Dec. 21, 1821), daughter 
of Joel Mellen. He d. July 1, 1877. Children: Albert, b. Aug. 7, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 285 

1843; d. Oct. 15, 1843. Jotham, b. Nov. 11, 1844. Amy D., b. 
June 22, 1846 ; cl. Sept. 3, 1846. Charles R.,b. Sept. 11, 1848. Ella 
Jane, b. Nov. 12, 1851 ; d. March 19, 1857. Joel Gilbert, b. Dec. 
24, 1852; d. May 11, 1867. Augusta, d. young. George Oscar, b. 
Nov. 1, 1858. Wallace A., b. Nov. 27, 1860 ; d. May 12, 1867. 

JoTHAM^ Ballou (Alouzo,^ Asquive,^ Eussell,~ Jttmes^), b. Nov. 11, 
1844; m. Ann Asenath (b. Oct. 22, 1845; d. April 20, 1867), daugh- 
ter of Asa Healy. 

Charles R.^ Ballou (Alonzo,"^ Asquire,^ Russell,'^ Jaines^), b. 
Sept. 11, 1848; m. Feb. 22, 1875, Henrietta A. (b. June 3, 1854), 
daughter of J. R. Brown. Chihiren : Ehnore R., b. Nov. 22, 1875. 
Harry L., b. July 19, 1877. Don A., b. Dec. 8, 1878. Clyde, b. 
Jan. 17, 1881 ; d. March 22, 1881. Charles E., b. Jan. 17, 1884. 

Jamks Monroe^ Ballou {Javies,'^ Seth,^ Set/i,'^ James^ of Rich- 
mond), b. Sept. 24, 1841 ; m., 1st, Sarah Jane (b. Nov. 29, 1845 ; d. 
April 26, 1873),danghterofW.Jillson of Richmond ; m.,2nd, Nov. 16, 
1875, Hattie L. Ripley (b. May 26, 1857). Children : Aimer Jane, 
b. March 14, 1868 ; ra. Frank O. Dodge. Mary E., d. Lizzie O., d. 

David^ Ballou {David,^ Maturhi^ of Richmond), b. Oct., 1798; 
m. June 22, 1859, Mrs. Joanna Holbrook ; d. Jane 1, 1872. 

Lorenzo^ Ballou {Aaron,^ Jesse^ of Richmond), b. Dec. 7, 1820; 
d. July 11, 1890; m. Feb. 25, 1847, Italy Ballou of Richmond (b. 
March 30, 1830. Children : Silvia D., b. July 27, 1848 ; d. May 16, 
1849. Truman L., b. May 28, 1850. An infant, b. Jan., 1854; d. 
Oct. 20, 1854. Ella M., b. Sept. 8, 1858 ; d. June 14, 1861. Emma 
L., b. Oct. 6, 1860 ; m. Nelson A. Collier. Milo L., b. March 9, 1868. 

William W.^ Ballou (Aaron,- Jesse^ of Richmond), b. June 15, 
1833 ; m. Mary A. Williams of Solon, Maine. 

Truman L.'^ Ballou (Lorenzo,^ Aaron,^ Jesse^ of Richmond) , b. 
Blay 28, 1850 ; m. March 23, 1881, Dora M. Heath of Jaffrey. 

MosE&i Ballou of Sinithfield, R. I., b. June 2, 1781 ; m. Dec. 
28, 1818, Martha Randall (b. Feb. 29, 1792; d. Sept. 23, 1873, in 
Swanzey), of North Providence, R. I.; d. Oct. 3, 1838, in Troy. 
Children : John R., b. Aug. 25, 1819 ; d. Sept. 24, 1819. Deziah C., 
b. March 20, 1821, in Smithfield, R. I. ; m. Benjamin Read. Moses 
D., b. Dec. 2, 1822. Albert R., b. in Troy, Dec. 26, 1824. 
20 



286 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Moses D.2 Ballou (3foses^ of Troy), h. Dec. 2, 1822 ; m. Jan. 18, 
1850, Eunice F. (b. March 11, 1829), daugliter of Elijah Lane; d. 
Nov. 27, 18G7. Child : Fanny Martha, b. June 19, 1855 ; m. Eugene 
E. Applin. 

Albkrt R.2 Ballod (J/osesi of Troy), b. Dec. 26, 1824 ; d. Nov. 
20, 1805; m. Dec. 26, 1849, Mary M. (b. March 31, 1829), daughter 
of Benjamin Mason. Children : Frank Albert, b. March 4, 1850 ; d. 
Feb. 11, 1890. Emma M., b. Nov. 23, 1855; d. March 28, 1856. 
Elwln M., b. July 24, 1857 ; d. Apr. 28, 1859. Ella M., b. Feb. 22, 
1859 ; d. Nov. 3, 1865. Mary Deziah, b. June 22, 1862 ; m. Charles 
Eveleth. 

John F.s Ballou {Ozial,'^ Ebenezer,^ Ozial,^ James^), b, July 28, 
1853 ; m., 1st, March 2, 1874, Jennie, daughter of Luke EUor; m., 
2nd, M. P2tta, daughter of Clark B. Ilolbrook of Springfield, Mass. 
Child: , b. April 11, 1887. 

BANKS. 

James^ Banks, b. Dec. 19, 1751 ; m. Marthen (b. Oct. 17, 

1752 ; d. Nov. 19, 1829) ; d. Aug. 13, lv835. Child : William, b. Nov. 
2, 1777, in Rutland, Mass. 

William^ Banks (J^awesi), b. Nov. 2, 1777; m., 1st, Nov. 25, 1806, 
Polly Wiley (d. Nov. 1, 1816) of Rockingham, Vt. ; m., 2nd, Sept. 
24, 1817, Mary Weaver (d. Nov. 12, 1821) ; m., 3d, April 25, 1826, 
Martha H. Chapman (d. 1859). lied. March 26, 1848. Children by 
Polly Wiley : Alraira, b. May 10, 1808. Sarah S.,b. April 28, 1810. 
Wniliam, b. April 24, 1812. Mary M. b. May 9, 1814. Silvia and 
Sylvanus, b. "Sept. 25, 1816 ; he d. Oct. 11, 1846. Silvia m. Lyman 
Parker. Children by Mary Weaver: Harriet W., b. July 18, isi.S; 
m. Oren W^yley of Greenfield, Mass. ; d. 1872. Philena G., b. Jan. 
2, 1820 ; m. Darius Peterson of Winchester ; d. Feb., 1876. Child by 
Martha H. Chapman : Alanson W., b. Dec. 20, 1827. 

Ai-anson W.^ Banks {William,- James^), b. Dec. 20, 1827; m,, 
1st, Sept. 10, 1850, Selanda S. (d. Mar. 22, 1866), daughter of Israel 
Applin ; m., 2nd, Jan. 14, 1870, Eunice F. Lane (d. Apr. 1, 1872), 
widow of Moses D. Ballou. Children: Etta V., b. July 20, 1858. 
Henry W., b. April 10, 1864. 

Henry W.^ Banks {Alanson W.,^ William- James^), b. April 10, 
1864; m. Mar3' E. (b. April 15, 1870), daughter of Andrew B. Cook. 
Child : Edith Maj', b. March 23, 1890. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 287 



BARDEN. 

Charles A.^ Barden (Abner S.'^ of Richmond) , b. Sept. 17, 1859 ; 
m. Dec. 31, 1883, Nellie M. (b. March 8, 1865), daughter of Luther 
Alexander. Child : Charles D., b. Aug. 21, 1885. 

BARTLETT. 

Sylvands Bartlett^ {Sylvanus^ of Northfielcl, Mass.) ,xq., 1st, July 
10, 1845, Catherine L. (d. Jan. 8, 1849), daughter of Seth Willard 
of Winchester; m., 2nd, Nov. 7, 1868, Mary Jane, daughter of 
Jonathan Ellis of Kentuck3\ Children : Cassius M. C, d. Aug. 27, 
1849. Percey Gordon, b. Aug. 30, 1870. Lula E., b. Sept. 6, 1875. 

Fred F.^ Bartlett (Eoyal^ of Guilford, Vt.), b. Apr. 29, 1836 ; m. 
Jan. 28, 1864, Livonia M. (b. March 20, 1846), daughter of Lyman 
Leach. Children : Fred E., b. Nov. 11, 1864. Lillian M., b. July 
5, 1866. Rosie E., b. Oct. 8, 1868. Mary E., b. Feb. 7, 1871. Sarah 
J., b. Jan. 7, 1873. Laura W., b. Apr. 21, 1875. Anna R., b. Apr. 
16, 1877. 

BARRETT. 

Alfred Barrett m. Aug. 5, 1806, Philinda Hale. 

battles. 
PniNEHAS Battles m. July 27, 1797, Lydia Blodgett. 

BATES. 

Jarvis Bates and his wife Eliza Ann had : Julius Jarvis, b. Aug. 15, 
1839. Ann Elizabeth, b. July 22, 1842 ; d. Aug. 20, 1843. Edwin 
Earl, b. Jan. 7, 1843. 

Daniel H. Bates m. Apr. 28, 1840, Mary Ann, daughter of Ben- 
jamin Thatcher. 

BAXTER. 

Dr. Henri^ Baxter {Robert^ of Providence, R. /.), of Pomfret, Vt., 
b. March 15, 1784 ; m., 1st, Sept. 24, 1804, Mary (b. 1779 ; d. Feb. 23, 
1843), daughter of Elijah Weedon of Conn. ; m., 2nd, Feb. 4, 1844, 
Mary Ann, widow of Clark Wilson ; he d. April 4, 1853. Children by 
Mary : Edith, b. July 8, 1805 ; m. George Johnson of Surr3^ Anna 
H., b. Nov. 20, 1807; m. Aug. 14, 1831, Rufus Thompson. Mary 
G., b. Oct. 24, 1809 ; d. May 16, 1845. Darwin D., b. April 10, 



288 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

1811 ; d. July 7, 1863. Henry C, b. Jan. 1, 1813 ; d. Aug. 22, 1843. 
Belinda B., b. March 11, 1815; m. Jonathan W. Capron. Sarah 
W., b. Oct. 24, 1817; m. Hiram Drewry of Girard, Pa. Philotha 
P., b. Dec. 12, 1822; m. Thomas H. Wellington of Holyoke, Mass. 
Mary Ann, b. Nov. 15, 1845 ; m. B. F. Evans of Keene, 

Darwin D. 3 Baxter {Henry,- Robert^), b. April 10, 1811 ; ni., 1st, 
Parmelia Smith of Warwick, Mass. ; ra., 2nd, 1835, Mar^^ Rogers (d. 
Dec. 25, 1858) of Dover; m.,3d, 1861, Octavia Farnum of Holyoke. 
He d. July 7, 1863. 

BEAL. 

LuTiiEu- Beal (Samuel^ of Chesterfield), b. Nov. 4, 1819 ; m. Al- 
freda (b. Oct. 13, 1822), daughter of John Martin of Richmond ; d. 
Aug. 22, 1865. Children: J. S. Commodore, b. March 4, 1847. 
Lucy, b. Sept. 13, 1857 ; m. George A. Seaver. Amos E., b. March 
9, 1862. 

Harvey H.^ Beal {Samuel^ of Chesterfield), b. Oct. 11, 1821 ; 
m. Oct. 17, 1850, Julia A. (b. Aug. 8,1824), daughter of Jonathan 
Hill; d. Feb. 28, 1876. Children: Cora Jane, b. May 6, 1855; m. 
Will. II. Levering. Leonard E., b. March 22, 1860. Elmer E., b. 
Feb. 23, 1864 ;d. Jan. 26, 1866. Annie E., m. Fred E. Wellington. 

J. S. Commodore^ Bexl (Luther,- Samuel^), b. March 4, 1847; m. 
Oct. 6, 1870, Addie P., daughter of Andrew J. Bliss of Royalston, 
Mass. Children: Olin L., b. Apr. 21, 1873. Archie A., b. Aug. 
25, 1874. Henrietta A. F., b. June 20, 1877; d. March 24, 1878. 
C. Ivo, b. Feb. 5, 1879. Phebe M., b. Apr. 8, 1882. 

Amos E.^ Beal (Luther,^ Samuel^), b. March 9, 1862; ni. March 
17, 1888, Grace L., daughter of Jonathan Bryant of Richmond. 
Child: Leon Eugene, b. Oct. 24, 1889. 

BELDING. 

Samuel Belding, from StrafTordshire, England, settled in Wethers- 
field, Conn. Had four sons and two daughters. The sons' names 
were Noah, Kiah, Samuel and David. Samuel and David settled in 
Swanzey very soon after the first settlement in the town was made. 
One of the daughters married Noah Nash of Hatfield and the other 
William Ames of Deerfield. 



I 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 289 

Samuel^ Belding {Samuel^ of Wethersfield, Conn.), bad bj' bis 
wife Cbristian : Eleanor, bapt. May 27, 1744. Setb, d. Dec. 12, 
1745. Mary,b. 1752 ; ra. Jetliro Kimball. Martba, b. May 4, 1756. 
Samuel, bapt. July 15, 1758. Charlotte, bapt. Nov. 16, 1760; m. 
Abraham Page. Sarah, bapt. Jan. 29, 1764; d. Aug. 4, 1764. Sa- 
rah, m. Ephraim Page. 

David^ Belding {Samuel^ of Wethersfield, Conn.), had by his 
wife Thankful : Moses. Elijah, b. in May, 1743. David. Lydia, 
m. Mr. Read. Thankful, m. Roger Thompson. He d. in Aug., 1804. 
She d. May 6, 1798. 

Samuel^ Belding [Samuel,- Sanmel^), bapt. July 15, 1758. The 
name of his wife was Naomi. Children: Seth, b. Nov. 16,1787. 
Cynthia, b. Aug. 30, 1789. Milley, b. Aug. 3, 1791. Christian, b. 
May 11, 1793; m. Erasmus Marble. Wealthy, b. June 28, 1795. 
Samuel, b. Oct. 12, 1807. 

MosES-^ Belding (Davkl,^ Samuel^), m. Feb. 25, 1762, Rachel 
Hayes. Children : Lucinda, bapt. Oct. 2, 1763. James, b. May 4, 
1765. John and Asa, bapt. Jan. 15, 1771. Polly, bapt. June 6, 
1773. Dolly, bapt. March 19, 1775. Rachel, bapt. June 1, 1777. 
Moses, bapt. Nov. 7, 1779. Thankful, bapt. Sept. 8, 1782. David, 
bapt. Feb. 13, 1791. 

Elijah^ Belding (David,^ SamueU) bapt. May 20, 1743 ; m., 
1st, Dec. 9, 1767, Rlioda (b. about 1747 ; d. Jan. 25, 1802), daughter 
of William Carr ; m., 2nd, March 26, 1806, Submit Graves; d. June 
29, 1809 ; in., 3d, May 7, 1812, Mrs. Elizabeth Warner. He d. Jan. 
19, 1813. She m. May 14, 1816, Abel Twitchel of Dublin. Chil- 
dren : Elizabeth, b. Jan. 8, 1769 ; ni. Israel Houghton Gunn. Esther, 
b. Feb. 10, 1770 ; m. Cyprian Wright. Mary, b. Apr. 7, 1772 ; m. 
Moses Hills. Rachel, b. Oct. 2, 1774 ; m. Luther Wright. W. Carr, 
b. Feb. 28, 1776 ; d. July 5, 1814. Elijah, b. March 17, 1778. Sa- 
rah, b. Feb. 18, 1780 ; m. Calvin Hills. Thankful, b. Nov. 4, 1782 ; 
m. Consider Carpenter. Sophia, b. Apr. 6, 1789 ; m. Elkanah Lane 
Richardson. Sylvia, b. Sept. 21, 1792 ; m. Samuel B. Brown. 

David^ Belding (David,^ SamxieV-), m. Feb. 5, 1770, Lucy, prob- 
ably a daughter of Abraham Graves. Children : Lovina, bapt. Dec. 
15, 1771. An infant d. Aug. 28, 1775. Twins d. Dec. 18, 1776. 
Solomon, bapt. May 23, 1784. 



290 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Seth'' Belding (Samuely^ Samuel,^ Samuel^), b. Nov. 16, 1787; 
m. widow Abijah Whitcoinb (d. March 31, 1869, aged 72^ j^ears) ; 
d. Ma}' 1 1, 1876, aged 88 years. 

Jambs'* Belding {Moses,^ David,'^ SamueV), b. May 4, 1765; m. 
Jan. 18, 1787, Dolly (b. Feb. 12, 1765, and was the first child b. in 
INIarlboroiigh), daughter of Isaac McAlister of Marlborough. Chil- 
dren : Philander, b. July 29, 1787. Anna, b. Oct. 5, 1789. Asa, b. 
Aug. 4, 1792. Moses, b. Feb. 11, 1795. Ira, b. Aug. 14, 1797. 
Dolly, b. Nov. 30, 1799; m. a Mr. Goodnow. Aliuira, b. Oct. 1, 
1802. 

Elijah'* Belding (Elijah,^ David,^ Scnmiel^), b. March 17, 1778; 
m. Nov. 1, 1796, Margaret (b. Apr. 6, 1774; d. in Woodstock, Vt., 
Dec. 25, 1863), daughter of Thomas Trowbridge ; d. in Woodstock, 
Yt., Nov. 18, 1867. Children: Eliza, b. July 15, 1797 ; ni. Abraham 
Stearns. Maria, b. Feb. 2, 1799 ; d. Feb. 19, 1803. Maria, b. Jan. 
14, 1803 ; in. Abijah Blake. 

Elijah Carr^ Belding (grandson of Elijah,^ David,^ Samuel^), b. 
Aug. 7, 1795 ; m. Feb. 27, 1825, Elvira (b. March 13, 1804), daughter 
of Levi Blake. Children: AVilliam Carr, b. Jan. 11, 1826. Mary 
Grout, b. Nov. 4, 1827 ; m. Joseph Ware. George Blake, b. Sept. 
23, 1829. Maria Elizabeth, b. May 25, 1831 ; m. Aaron Richardson 
of Keene. Francis Abijah, b. Feb. 19, 1833. Elvira S., b. Dec. 7, 
1835; m. William C. Oakman of Hazel Green, la. Augusta Jane, 
b. Jan. 4, 1837; m. Frank Ilolden. Emeline Edith, b. April 9, 
1841; m. William S. Jackson. Ellen Eliza, b. Dec. 11, 1843; in. 
Charles S. Perry. Abbie Malvina, in. Frank Ilolden of Brattleboro', 
Vt. 

William C.^ Belding {Elijah C.,^ grandson of Elijah,^ David,^ 
Samnel^), b. Jan. 11, 1826; m. Jan. 29, 1862, Rebecca Hammond (b. 
Feb. 17, 1841 ; d. April 17, 1882) daughter of Mark Cook of Ches- 
teriield. Children : Mary Juliette, b. April 9, 1863 ; d. Oct. 31, 1863. 
William C, b. Dec. 4, 1864. Nellie Maria, b. March 8, 1867. Levi 
Lowell, b. Dec. 22, 1871. 

BENNETT. 

John Bennett b. about 1740 ; came from Douglas, Mass., in 1787 
and settled in Richmond, N. H., and afterwards came to S^anzey. 
Children : Levi, David and Deborah, b. July 3, 1765 ; Deborah, m. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 291 

Isaac Mann. Asaliel, b. July 16, 1766. Maiy, b. Dec. 15, 1768 ; 
m. Cyrus Garnsey. Nehemiab, b. Dec. 28, 1770. Joanna, b. Feb. 
12, 1778; m. Jonas Twitchell. Naomi, m. Mr. Curtis. 

David'-^ Bennett {John^ of Douglas, Mass.), b. July 3, 1765 ; m. 
June 10, 1787, Ama (b. March 19, 1764), daughter of Anthony 
Harris. Children : Levi, b. Feb. 9, 1789. Caleb, b. Aug. 30, 1794. 
David, b. March 12, 1797. Luke, b. Jan. 6, 1799. Lydia, b. Nov. 
29, 1803 ; m. Jan. 1, 1829, Arthur Hinds of Chesterfield. Allen, b. 
July 3, 1806. 

Nehemiah^ Bennett (John^), b. Dec. 28, 1770 ; m. Lucy (b. Nov. 
29, 1774; came from Richmond and d. June 30, 1836), dangiiter of 
Amos Garnsey. Children : Hirain. Esther, m. Aug. 16, 1815, Na- 
thaniel Prime of Chesterfield. Nellie, m. March 1, 1818, Job Whit- 
comb. Amos. Asahel went west. John, m. Ruth Britton of West- 
moreland ; residence unknown. Lucy m. Alvah Keyes ; removed to 
Hartland, Vt. 

JoHN^ Bennett, ra. Jan. 10, 1822, Mrs. Abigail Genney of West- 
moreland. 

Allen-^ Bennett {David,^ John^), m. Mary Cooly. Child: Eph- 
raim. 

Caleb? Bennett (David,^ Jolin^), b. Aug. 30, 1794; m. Dec. 23, 
1819, Sophia (b. Feb. 9, 1797), daughter of Isaac Hinds of Chester- 
field. 

David3 Bennett {David,^ JoJm^), b. March 12, 1797; m. Feb. 3, 

1825, Harriet (b. May 6, 1801 ; d. Aug. 6, 1849), daughter of Cal- 
vin Curtis. He d. Aug. 2, 1845. Cliildren : Fernando Byron, b. 
Dec. 31, 1826. Calfurna Amanda, b. Jan. 25, 1830; m. Oct. 12, 
1847, George A. Sprague ; d. Dec. 30, 1850. Samuel P., b. June 22, 
1834. William H., b. Oct. 24, 1840; m. Sept. 17, 1867, Ellen A. 
Martin. 

Ldke3 Bennett {David,^John^), b. Jan. 6, 1799 ; m. Feb. 8, 1825, 
Anna (b. Aug. 31, 1799; d. April 21, 1883), daughter of Amasa 
Aldrich ; d. April 22, 1854. Children: Irvin Boliver, b. Sept. 1, 

1826. Addis Emmit, b. Feb. 3, 1828. Amelia, b. Sept. 16, 1829 ; 
m. Gilbert S. Howard of Springfield, Mass. Albert Gallatin, b. Sept. 
9, 1831 ; d. Jan. 18, 1856. Amasa A., b. 1836. 



292 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Hiram P.^ Bennett (Nehemiah,- John^), rn., 1st, July 5, 1825, 
Polly, daughter of Jesse Thompson ; ni. a second wife in Indiana. 
She m. a Mr. Blake of Surry for a second husband; resides in Illi- 
nois. Children : Esther Maria, m. William Marian of Watpole; re- 
sides in Burlington, Wis. Mary Elizabeth, m. Frank Blake of Surry ; 
resides in Wheaton, 111. 

Amos^ Bennett (Nehemiah,'^ John^), m. April 18, 1821, Lueretia 
(d. May 13, 1882), daughter of Esek Buffum of Richmond; d. 
Sept. 2, 1856. Children: P^n^ily B., b. 1824; ni. P^nos Bigolow. 
Amos G., b. Oct. 7, 1826. Asahel, b. March 23, 1828. Oscar, b. 
July, 1830. John, b. March 4, 1834. Andrew, b. Nov., 1836. 
Wales B., b. Oct. 26, 1839. Fanny, b. Aug. 7, 1843 ; m. William 
Garnsey. Sarah Jane, b. June 23, 1848 ; m. John M. Swain. 

Fernando B."* Bennett (Davicl,^ Davicl,^ John^),h. Dec. 31, 1826; 
m. Ma}' 2, 1849, Charlotte W., daughter of John L. Aldrich ; d. June 
22, 1863. 

Addis E."* Bennett {Luke,^ David,^ John^), b. Feb. 3, 1828; ra. 
April 24, 1850, Elida Ann (d. Feb. 25, 1871), daughter of David 
Read. Child : Carrie M., b. Jan. 12, 1862. 

Samuel P.^ Bennett (David,'^ David,- Jolin^), b. June 22, 1834; 
m. June 7, 1854, Harriet M., daughter of Aaron R. Hammond, 3d; 
she resides in Somerville, Mass. He d. Oct. 24, 1868. Children : 
Eddie, b. Aug. 25, 1854 ; ni. and d. in Somerville, Mass. Emma H., 
b. April 18, 1862 ; d. Feb. 5, 1864. Leon S., b. May 14, 1866 ; ni. 
July 15, 1889, Edith Snell ; lives in Somerville, Mass. 

Irvin B.4 Bennett (Luke,^ David, ^ JoJm^),h. Sept. 1, 1826; ra. 
May 1, 1848, Abby J. Barlow. He d. A])r. 20, 1854. Children: 
Frank H., b. April 24, 1850; d. May 5, 1850. Addis Eldorus, b. 
Oct. 15, 1853 ; d. May 28, 1854. 

Amos G.^ Bennktt {Amos,^ Nehemiali,- John^),h. Oct. 7, 1826; 
ra. Apr. 18, 1847, Almina C. (b. Jan. 22, 1S28), daughter of Peleg 
Taft. Children: Oscar C, b. P^eb. 28, 1848. Otto P., b. Nov. 7, 

1857. 

Oscar C Bennett {Amos G.,^ Amos,^ NehemiaJi,^ John^), b. Feb. 
28, 1848; m. Feb. 1, 1870, p:mma S. Balstou (b. Jan. 24, 1851). 
Child: Ivo A., b. Aug. 4, 1871. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 293 

Otto P.^ Bennett {Amos G.,^ Amos,^ Nehemiah,^ John^) , b. Nov. 
7, 1857 ; m. March 29, 1879, Attie H., daughter of David B. Aldrich 
of Richmond. 

BEVERSTOCK. 

Edward Beverstock, m. June 17, 1773, Anna Hill. 

Daniel Beverstock, m. Nov. 18, 1788, Molly, daughter of Thomas 
Cressou. 

bidwell. 
Grove^ Bidwell (AUe7i^ of Langdon), b. 1801 ; m. May 18, 1823, 
Luciuda (b. 1803; d. Nov. 25, 1882), daughter of Lawrence Jefts 
of Charlestown. He d. Apr. 20, 1881. Children: Maria L., b. 
June 4, 1831 ; m. Geo. W. Draper. George G., b. Dec. 23, 1834. 
Osman A., b. AprU 29, 1837. Henry G., b. Sept. 13, 1847. 

George G.^ Bidwell {Grove,- AUeji^), b. Dec. 23, 1834 ; m. Nov. 
16, 1865, Emily A. (b. Sept. 24, 1837), daughter of Col. Ethan B. 
Wells of Eockingham, Vt., where he d. March 20, 1889. 

Osman A. 3 Bidwell {Grove,^ Allen^), b. April 29, 1837; m., 1st, 
April, 1870, Augusta (b. Nov. 5, 1853 ; d. June 26, 1874), daughter 
of George W. Eastman; m., 2nd, Clara E*, daughter of John D. 
Hale. He d. May 12, 1883. 

Bishop. 

Timothy Bishop and Hannah had: Lucy, b. Jan. 23, 1771. Abi- 
gail, b. May 23, 1773. 

Betsey Bishop m. Nov. 6, 1783, Ezckiel Kellogg of Clarendon, 
Vt. 

Daniel Bishop, 2d, m. May 24, 1787, Edith Steel. 

Timothy Bishop m. Dec. 9, 1790, Lois Whitcomb. 

Elisha Bishop m. Feb. 3, 1819, Fanny Piper. 

Samuel^ Bishop {David^ of Hubhardston, Mass.), b. Dec. 31, 
1844; m. Dec. 12, 1867, Eleanor J. (b. about 1850), daughter of 
Amasa Ballon. Children : Eugene R., b, Dec. 3, 1868. James B., b. 
April 26, 1871. Jennie E., b. Nov. 9, 1872; d. Feb. 24, 1873. 
Fred 0., b. Aug. 17, 1875. Stella A., b. March 18, 1881. 



294 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



BLACK. 

Sumner W.2 Black (EW of Chesterfield), b. 1819 ; m., 1st, in Ches- 
terfield, Rebecca Willanl (b. 1825 ; d. July 25, 1853) ; m., 2nd, Jan. 
20, 1855, Susan A. (b. May 26, 1838), daughter of EUery K. Ahlrich 
of Richmond. Cliihh'en : Ella A., b. Feb. 20, 1857, in Suny ; d. 
July 10, 1858. Gracie E., b. Feb. 14, 1860, in Ashburnhaiu, Mass. ; 
m. Edgar E. Ramsdell. 

Orrin2 Black {Jolin^ of Putney, Vt.), b. July 5, 1800, in Northfield, 
Vt. ; ni. Feb. 25, 1828, Abigail (b. June 24, 1800), daughter of Cal- 
vin Chapin of Craftsbury, Vt. Children: Ellen M., b. March 25, 
1830: ni. Oct. 24, 1850, David R. Marshall. Ann M., b. Aug. 29, 
1832; ni. May 16, 1850, Elbridge H. Ingalls of Keene ; m., 2ud, 
April 12, 1870, James H. Smith. Sarah Jane, b. Dec. 29, 1834; m. 
1875, John Dummer. Orrin, b. Sept. 12, 1836; lives in Canada. 
George L., b. Oct. 3, 1843; drowned in Lake Michigan, Oct. 20, 
1865. 

BLAKE. 

The emigrant ancestor of Levi Blake, who settled in Swanzey, 
settled in Sandwich, Mass. His descendants Andreio,'^ Andreio,^ and 
Abijah,^ ancestors of Levi, resided in Wrentham, Mass. 

Levi^ Blake {Ahijah,^ Aiidreto,'^ Andreio^), b. Jan 14, 1778; ra. 
Aug. 17, 1800, Polly Kelly (b. Aug. 25, 1773 ; d. Dec. 6, 1856). He 
d. Sept. 19, 1855. Children: Abijah, b. Aug. 11, 1801. Elvira, b. 
March 13, 1804; m. Elijah C. Belding. Maria Cornell, b. Nov. 5, 
1806 ; m. Nathan Fessenden. Polly Kelley, b. Jan. 12, 1809 ; d. Oct. 
5, 1830. Levi, twin to Polly, b. Jan. 12, 1809; d. Feb. 1, 1809. 
Levi and Lowell (twins), b. Apr. 8, 1811 ; Lowell, d. May 30, 1811 ; 
Levi, d. June 4, 1811. Benjamin Chever, b. Sept. 8, 1816. 

Abijah^ Blake {Levi,^ Abijah,^ Andreio,^ Aiuheiv'^), b. Aug. 11, 
1801 ; m. Feb. 8, 1826, Maria (b. Jan. 14, 1803), daughter of Eli- 
jah Belding. 

Benjamin C.^ Blake {Levi,'^ Abijah,^ Andreio,^ Andrew^), b. Sept. 
8, 1816 ; ra. March 11, 1841, Emeline A, (b. March 14, 1818), daugh- 
ter of xYinasa Aldrich ; d. Feb. 28, 1843. Child : Nancy Maria, b. 
June 11, 1842 ; ra. a Mr, Leach of Westmoreland. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 295 

Alfred S.^ Blake {Elijah^ of Keene), m. June 9, 1864, Martha 
Malindu (b. Jan. 20, 1840), dangliter of William Read. Children: 
Grade M. and Cata F. (twins), b. July 15, 1872. 

Carlostink Blake of Weare, m. Sophia (b. June 3, 1811), daugh- 
ter of John Holbrook. Children : John, b. Dec., 1838 ; d. April 22, 
1855. Nathan C, b. 1841 ; d. May 15, 1863. 

BLISS. 

Andrew J.^ Bliss {Benjamin^ from Royalston, Mass.), b. April 8, 
1820; m. Oct. 9, 1850, Pliebe A. (b. June 9, 1829), daughter of Jo- 
seph Streeter of Concord, Vt. ; d. Oct. 6, 1887. Children : Ella M., 
d. in Minnesota. Adaline P., b. Sept. 20, 1853 ; m. J. S. C. Beal. 
Amanda I., b. May 22, 1856; ni. George R. Putnam of Keene. 
Sopiiia L., b. July 27, 1859 ; m. Walter Davis. Andrew E., b. July 
4, 1864; m. Alice Haskins of Orange, Mass. Ora D., b. Feb. 3, 
1871. 

BLODGETT. 

Jonas Blodgett, b. Aug. 4, 1757; m, Sarah Fletcher (b. Jan. 1, 
1753 ; d. Jan. 19, 1833) ; d. Aug. 19, 1826. Children : John, b. Jan. 
12, 1782. Amma, b. Feb. 23, 1784; d. June 9, 1819. Joshua, b. 
April 27, 1785. Jonas, b. May 18, 1787. Jesse, b. July 21, 1789. 
Mittie, b. July 29, 1791; d. May 29, 1811. Sally, b. March 21, 
1793 ; d. March 29, 1816. Hannah, b. March 20, 1795 ; m. Lawson 
Moore. 

Charles Blodgett, b. July 7, 1847; m. Dec. 19, 1867, Ida So- 
phia (b. Jul}' 2, 1853), dangliter of Sanford Bowles. Children: 
Nettie E., b. June 17, 1868. Minnie F., b. May 22, 1870. 

BOLLES. 

Barney- Bolles {Elijah} of Riclimond), m. Emily (b. May 30, 
1811), daughter of James Olcott. Children: Emily Maria, b. Dec. 
24, 1833 ; m. Mr. Chatterton. Hiram O. James PL, m. Cora, daugh- 
ter of Nelson and Huldah Nash (a daughter of Joseph Hammond). 
Sarah E. and Marah M. (twins). Marah M., d. June 14, 1859. 
Flora J. The entire famil}', removed to Springfield, 111. 

Randall^ Bolles (JoJm^), b. Sept. 22, 1807; m. Susan Ann (b. 
Jan. 11, 1814; d. Feb. 12, 1879), daughter of John Holbrook; d. 



296 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Feb. 7, 1879, aged 73. Children: Hiram H., b. Jan. 19, 1837. 
Maria INI., b. Marcli 11, 1841 ; m. Reuben L. Angier of Fitzwilliam. 
Abida Ann, b. May 1, 1850. Ellen E., b. Jan. 29, 1855; m. Fred 
W. Farr. 

Hiram H.^ Bolles (RandalW^ John^), b. Jan. 19, 1837; m. Sept. 
8, 1868, Celeste J. (b. July 14, 1839), daughter of Henry R. Bennett 
of Glen Soutton, P. Q. Children : John, 1). July 14, 1869. Henry R., 
b. Nov. 7, 1872. LydiaM., b. Feb. 7, 1879 ; d. Aug. 17, 1881. Hiram 
H., b. Aug. 20, 1883. 

BOURN. 

Nathaniel^ Bourn (William,- Amos'^ of Richmond), b. March 3, 
1791 ; m. March 1, 1812, Mary (b. Oct. 13, 1790; d. May 7, 1803), 
daughter of John Cass, jr., of Richmond; d. Feb. 17, 1875. Chil- 
dren : Asahel B., b. May 30, 1813. Ansel, b. Aug. 15, 1814. Wil- 
liam, b. Apr. 2, 1817; d. Aug. 26, 1838. Selina, b. June 13, 1821 ; 
m. Moses Garfield of Royalston, Mass. Nathaniel, b. Jan. 8, 1826. 
John C, b. Oct. 8, 1829. 

Ansel'' Bourn (Nathaniel,'^ Willicnn,^ Amos^ of Richmond) , b. Aug. 
15, 1814 ; m. March 19, 1832, Laura Ann (d. Sept. 14, 1872), daugh- 
ter of Silas Ballon. He d. Aug. 1, 1848. Children: Amos AV., b, 
June 11, 1832. Almanza C, b. June 21, 1834; d. Sept. i^o, 1838. 
Albert A., b. Oct. 21, 1835 ; d. Sept. 13, 1838. Amasa W., 1). June 
11, 1837; d. July 29, 1869. Selina A., b. Aug. 31, 1839 ; m. Charles 
R. Applin; d. May 4, 1887. Silas, b. Dec. 26, 1840; d. young. 
Martha L., b. May 20, 1842 ; m. Charles P. Lawrence of Winchester. 
William J., b. June 10, 1844 ; d. Nov. 16, 1850. Ansel E., b. Jan. 
27, 1846. Laura A. M., b. April 12, 1848 ; d. Nov. 4, 1848. 

Nathaniel'* Bourn (Nathaniel,^ William,^ Amos^ of Richmond), b. 
Jan. 8, 1826; m. Aug. 20, 1851, Mary Butler of Troy, N. H. ; re- 
sides in Illinois ; had three children . 

John C.^ Bourn (iVa^7iaH('eZ,3 William,^ Amos^),h. Oct. 8, 1829; 
m. Nov. 24, 1853, Esther (b. April 12, 1834), daughter of Asa E. 
Emerson. Children : Eda May, b. Nov. 4, 1859 ; d. Nov. 16, 1877. 
Edmund A., an adopted son. 

Ansel E.^ Bourn (Ansel,'* Nathaniel,'^ William,'^ Amos^), b. Jan. 
27, 1846; m. May 1, 1867, Hattie E. (b. June 24, 1847), daughter 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 297 

of Albert A. Fassett, of Winchester. Children : Lizzie Maria, b. June 
17, 1868; d. Sept. 11, 1869. Nellie E., b. Jan. 9, 1870; m. Archie 
Thompson, 1887. Edgar Earl, b. May 20, 1872. Oscar E., b. April 
28, 1874. Grace E., b. Oct. 3, 1876. 

Edmund A. 5 Bovrs (John 0.,^ Nathaniel,^ William,^ Amos^), b. 
May 29, 1852; m. March 11, 1882, Flora A. (b. Sept. 5, 1860), 
daughter of Lucius Whitcomb. Children : Ella Agnes, b. March 3, 
1883, in Fitzwilliam. Esther Maria, b. Nov. 27, 1887, in Swanzey. 

BOUVIER. 

Charles A.^ Bouvier (Charles^ of Keene), b. March 18, 1861; 
m. June 18, 1883, Emma M., daughter of Thomas Naylon. Child: 
J. Edward, b. March 18, 1884. 

BOWEN. 

RuFUS^ BowEN (Reuben,^ Thomas^ of Richmond) , b. Oct. 8, 1800; 
m. March 2, 1826, Alona (d. Jan. 13, 1866), daughter of Rhoda Al- 
drich of Richmond. He d. Oct. 6, 1866. 

Henry R.^ Bowen (Uberto,'^ James,^ Nathaniel^ of Richmond, 
JSf. H.), b. June 13, 1840; m. Jennie C. (b. Dec, 1848), daughter of 
Jerrel A. Curtis of Richmond, N. H. 

Benjamin F.^ Bowen (Zimri of Richmond), b. July 12, 1851 ; m. 
June 9, 1886, Mary M. L. (b. Jan. 21, 1857), daughter of Schuyler 
Seaver. Child : Alice M., b. Nov. 22, 1887. 

BOWLES. 

Sanford^ Bowles (Elijah^ of Landaff), b. June 9, 1825 ; m. April 
21, 1850, Sylvia S. (b. April 21, 1820), daughter of Peter Starkey ; 
d. June 7, 1863. Children: p:ddie Sanford, b. Sept. 21, 1851; d. 
March 21, 1852. Ida Sophia, b. July 2, 1853 ; m., 1st, Charles Blodg- 
ett; 2nd, George Laden. Marcus Elijah, b. Sept. 30,1855; m. Sept. 
19, 1883, Mabel R. Raymond. 

BOYCE. 

Francis R.^ Botce (Jacob^ of Richmond), b. May 26, 1831 ; in., 
1st, Nov. 29, 1851, Nancy S. (b. Feb. 16, 1827 ; d. April 6, 1861), 
daughter of Kendall Fisher of Richmond ; m., 2nd, Lona A. (b. 
1839; d. Jan. 12, 1871), daughter of Silas White of Fitzwilliam; 
m., 3d, Mrs. Lydia A. Tubbs (b. April 6, 1836 ; d. May 20, 1888), 



298 HISTORY OF swanzey. 

daughter of John Thompson. Children: Elwin F., b. Feb. 17, 1S53. 
Ennna F., b. March 8, 1855, in Winchester; m. Arthur Hastings of 
Berlin, Mass. p:dgar C, b. Oct., 1856; d. 1857. 

BRAGG. 

RoswELL Bragg and his wife Rachel had children : Alba M. Lucy, 
m. Bezaleel Taft. Sarah A., b. 1825; d. July 29, 1846. Justus 
E., b. 1832 ; d. March 11, 1852. Willard S. 

Alba2 M. (liosicell^), m. Nov. U, 1844, Susan D. Allen of 
Keene. 

BREED. 

John A.^ Breed {31oses^ of Brattleborough, Vt.), b. Feb. 28, 1824 ; 
ni. July 26, 1846, Lucy (b. Oct. 27, 1828 ; d. April 10, 1869), daugh- 
ter of P^benezerNash of Chesterfield. Children : Lucinda K., b. July 
7, 1847; m. Alonzo Lewis of Chesterfield. Martha L., b. Feb. 20, 
1849 ; m. Timothy Lewis of Chesterfield. John J., I). May 10, 1852. 
Lucius F., b. Jul}' 7, 1854. Henrietta L., b. June 5, 1858. Henry 
E.,b. Nov. 14, 1866. Fanny M., b. April 5, 1869 ; d. Aug. 22, 1869. 

BREWER. 

James Brewer came to Swanzey. He d. Nov. 21, 1832. Mar}', 
bis wife, d. Feb. 27, 1826, both buried in Swanzey. Children : Asa, 
b. Jul}' 24, 1767. Persis, b. July 22, 1771 ; m. Silas Wheeler. 
James, b. June 10, 1780. Mary, b. Oct. 8, 1782; m. Charles Jack- 
son of Mount Holly, Vt. • 

Asa- Brewer (James^), b. July 21, 1767 ; m. Aug. 25, 1794, Deb- 
orah (b. 1772; d. Aug. 2, 1815), daughter of Samuel Sargent of 
Marlborough. He d. March 11,1836. Children : Polly, ra. Jonathan 
Clark. Asa. Deborah, m. Calvin Bemis. Silas. Betsey, m. Benj- 
amin Garey of Jaffrey. Persis, m. Samuel Cross of Salem, Mass. 

SiLAS^ Brewer {Asa,^ James'^),m, Lovina (d. Feb. 1884), daugh- 
ter of Josiah AYoodward. He d. Nov. 27, 1880. 

bridge. 

William Bridge m., 2nd, Jan. 3, 1816, Mrs. Elkanah Lane. Child- 
ren : Samuel, b. 1817. Solomon. John. Joseph. 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 299 



BRYANT. 

Chauncey^ Bryant {Daniel CA of Richmond, N. H.),h. 1795; 
m. Harriet (b. 1798; d. March 23, 1836), daughter of James Un- 
derwood. He d. Jan., 1861. Children: James U. William C. 
Eliza, m. Joseph S. Garner, of Gardner, Mass. 

Calvin^ Bryant {Daniel C.i of Richmond), m. Feb. 27, 1812, 
Susanna (d. June 15, 1880), daughter of Ananias Aldrich of Rich- 
mond. He d. June 5, 1864. Children: Hiram, b. Aug. 3, 1813. 
Nathaniel, b. Feb. 13, 1817. Diancy, b. Nov. 18, 1818 ; ra. John W. 
Starkey. Calvin, b. July 4, 1821. Luther, b. Oct. 2, 1823 ; d. Dec. 
29, 1838. Mary Ann, b. Oct. 10, 1826; m. Samuel Willard. Eliza 
Ann, b. Dec. 1, 1828; rn. John Scott. Angela, b. Dec. 1, 1830; m. 
N. G. Woodbury. Alphreda, b. May 6, 1833 ; m. H. Foster Thayer. 
Almarinda, b. June 21, 1835 ; m. Samuel Ball. 

HiRAM^ Bryant {Calvin,^ Daniel C.^ of Richmond), b. Aug. 3, 
1813 ; ra., 1st, March 16, 1845, Sarah M., daughter of Nathan Bul- 
lock ; m., 2nd, April 23, 1857, Azubah, daughter of John Martin ; m., 
3d, Mrs. Dexter Palmer. Had by Sarah M. : Henry L. Susan L. 
Albert. Had by Mrs. Palmer: Calvin. Sarah M., d. March 9, 
1854. Azubah, d. May 19, 1862. 

BRITTON. 

Reuben Britton, of Westmoreland, m. Nancy, daughter of Benja- 
min Howard of Mendon, Mass. Children : Laura and Aurilla 
(twins), b. Oct. 10, 1797; Laura, m. April 20, 1817, Samuel Read 
of New York ; Aurilla, m. Jan. 26, 1819, Josiah Hamblet. Loron. 
Betsey, m. March 15, 1821, Enoch Cross. Alfred, b. Oct. 15, 1806. 

Alfred^ Britton {Reuben^ of 'Westmoreland), b. Oct. 15, 1806; 
m. Oct. 11, 1829, Alice S. (b. March 12, 1811; d. Aug. 6, 1885), 
daughter of Tristan Aldrich ; he d. April 23, 1871. She m., 2nd, Mil- 
lens Taft of Mendon, Mass. Children : Loron A., b. Oct. 2, 1831 ; 
d. 1862. Eleanor M., b. April 29, 1835 ; m. Rufus Taft. Mary L., b. 
Nov. 21, 1837; m. Nov. 7, 1855, Henry C. Earl of Keene. Nancy 
A., b. Sept. 17, 1840; m., 1st, Sept. 19, 1855, Harry A. Stoddard of 
Brattleborough, Vt. ; m., 2nd, Oct. 30, 1872, C. Frank Woodward. 
Dennison D., b. April 7, 1843 ; d. April 10, 1844. Dennison D., b. 
Oct. 9, 1846. Charles F., b. June 14, 1849. Alice S., b. July 24, 
1855 ; d. Jan. 5, 1872. 



300 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Dennison D.3 Bkitton (Alfred,'^ Reiiben^),h. Oct. 9, 1846; m. 
March, 1868, Elizabeth Waldron of De Soto, Wis. Resides in Pet- 
erborough, N. H., and is a conductor on the Monadnock R. R. 
Children : Fred A. Lottie A. 

BROOKS. 

George W.~ Brooks (Dea. Oren Brooks^ of FitzicUUam) , b. INIay 
23, 1831 ; m. Sept. 8, 1853, Fanny A. (b, March 17, 1830), daughter 
of Dea. Clark Mason of Marlborough. She m., 2nd, Rev. Enville J. 
Emery of Greenville. Child: Grace Estelle, b. Aug. 2, 1858; d. 
Dec. 2, 1879. 

BROWN. 

Benjamin- Brown {Eleazer^ of Concord, Mass.), b. April 14, 1713 ; 
m. June 22, 1741, Submit (b. 1719; d. March 14, 1805), daughter 
of Oliver Ward, of Westborongh, Mass. He d. May 6, 1797. Chil- 
dren : Rhoda, b. Nov. 4, 1742; m. Mr. Soper of Boscawen. Oliver, 
b. Nov. G, 1743. Hannah, b. Sept. 5, 1745, in the fort on Meeting 
House Hill ; m., 1st, John Farrer of Shrewsbury, Mass. ; m., 2nd, Rev. 
Joseph Lee, of Royalston, Mass. Hephzibah, b. Feb. 5, 1747, in 
Rutland, Mass. Eleazer, b. Dec. 17', 1748, in Rutland, INIass. Lucy, 
b. Jan. 4, 1750, in Rutland ; m., 1st, John Rugg; m., 2nd, Mr. Has- 
kins of S[)ringfield, Vt. Submit, b. Doc. 30, 1751, in Concord, INIass. ; 
m. Samuel Jackman of Boscawen, N. H. Simeon, b. July, 1756, in 
Concord, Mass. Mary, b. A-ug. 14, 1757, in Concord, Mass. ; m. Mr. 
Wyman, of Shrewsbury, Mass. Abigail, b. May 15, 1759, in Con- 
cord, Mass.; m. Dec. 11, 1781, Nicholas Bragg, of Springfield, Vt. 
Benjamin, b. March 12, 1761, in Concord, Mass. Simeon, b. Oct. 
18, 1762, in Concord, Mass. 

Eleazer^ Brown {Benjamin,- Eleazer'^), b. Dec. 17, 1748, in Sul- 
livan ; m. Lucy Rugg. He d. in Sullivan in 1798. Children : John, 
b. March 12, 1777; d. Apr. 3, 1777. Lucy, b. March 22,1778; m. 
Matthew Niins of Roxbury. Lydia, b. June 7, 1779. Oliver, b. 
June 18, 1782. John, b. Feb. 29, 1788. Cephas, b. Aug. 9, 1791. 

Benjamin^ Brown {Benjamin,^ Eleazer'^), b. March 12, 1761 ; m., 
1st, Lydia Bartlett (d. soon after marriage) of New Ipswich ; m.,2d, 
June 3, 1802, Sally Stimson (widow of Bemsley Lord) of AYinchen- 
don, Mass. Children: Lydia Bartlett, b. Nov. 29, 1802; m. June 
10, 1829, Rev. Oils AVhiting. Maria, b. June 2, 1804; m. Oct. 8, 
1835, Sumner Putnam of Winchester. Benjamin B., b. Dec. 31, 
1805. Lucy, b. July 22, 1807. Luther, b. Sept. 26, 1810. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 301 

Dea. Timothy Brown, in., 1st, Thankful (d. Oct. 6, 1743) ; 

m., 2(1, Kezia (d. Sept. 15, 1744); m., 3d, Feb. 27, 1745, 

widow Hannah Wright (d. Aug. 18, 1776). He d. Jan. 3, 1770. 
Children: Thankful, bapt. Jan. 10, 1746. Timothy, bapt. Jan. 10, 
1746. 

Wright^ Brown {Timothy^) had: Child d. March 4, 1780. Joel, 
d, March 21, 1780. 

Abijah Brown and his wife Phebe had : Elizabeth, b. Oct. 9, 1779 ; 
m. Stephen Green of Leicester, Mass. Phebe, b. July 14, 1781. Sarah, 
b. Nov. 17, 1783; m. Philemon Whitcomb, 2nd. Solomon, b. July, 
23, 1785. David, b. May 18, 1789 ; d. June 1, 1789. Brigham, b. 
May 31, 1790. Jenisha, b. March 19, 1792. Harriet, b. June 21, 
1794. Orrin, b. Aug. 3, 1796. Jonathan Hubbard, b. June 8, 1798 ; 
resided where Darius E. Wright now lives. 

David^ Brown (Abi'jah^) and Lois his wife had : Belinda, b. 
March 27, 1814. Mary, b. Dec. 24, 1817. 

0rrin2 Brown (Abijah^), b. Aug, 3, 1796; m. Dec. 25, 1817, Me- 
hitable Balch, daughter of William Balch. 

Jonathan H. 2 Brown (Abijah^), b. June 8, 1798; m. Feb. 21, 
1821, Emma Jones. 

Samuel B. Broavn, m. Feb. 21, 1812, Sylvia (b. Sept. 21, 1792), 
daughter of Elijah Belding. 

John R.- Brown (Guy^ of Stow, Mass.), b. July 2, 1829 ; m. Nov. 
10, 1851, Ellen M. (b. Jan. 24, 1830 ; d. July 7, 1866), daughter of 
William Sebastian ; d. Aug. 9, 1863. Children : Henrietta A., b. Sept. 
13, 1852 ; d. Dec. 12, 1853. Henrietta A., b. June 3, 1854 ; m. Charles 
R. Ballon. Nellie S., b. Nov. 13, 1855; m. John E. Belcher of Cam- 
bridge, Mass. Walter. Annis M., b. Sept. 16, 1860 ; m. Russell C. 
Hill. 

BUCKLIN. 

George Bucklin, of Wallingford, Vt., was married and resided there 
until after the death of his first wife. He m., 2nd, Apr. 3, 1829, 
Mary (b. Aug. 30, 1806; d. Oct. 1, 1849), daughter of Joel Mellen; 
m., 3d, about 1850, Althusa Winch (d. in the West), of Troy. After 
the third wife's death in the West, he married once or twice more there. 
21 



302 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Children: Darius, b. 1826. Horace, b. 1827. An infant, d. 1828. 
George F., b. 1830. A child, b. 1831. Harvey, b. 1832 ; d. a young 
man. Elizabeth, b. 1833 ; m. Edmund Smitij ; d. ISept. 9, 1852. Dolly, 
b. 1835 ; m. Alouzo INIason ; d. May 8, 1(S52. Sarah Jane, b. 1836 ; 
d. Aug. 4, 1851. Lydia A., b. 1839 ; d. Feb. 12, 1854. Adelia, b. 
1842 ; d. Feb. 16, 1845. Hiram, b. 1843 ; d. young. Nathaniel, b. 
1845; d. Dec. 20, 1852. 

George F.^ Bucklin (George^), b. 1830; m. Esther Jane (b. 
March 17, 1836), daughter of Allen Hammond. Child : Edgar. 

BUCKMAN. 

Asa Buckman, m. July 23, 1811, Mar}' Franklin. 

BDFFUM. 

EsEK'' BuFFUM (Jame.9,3 EseJc,^ Jedediah^ of Richmond), b. June 
14, 1829; m. Nov. 19, 1863, Emily Frances (b. Feb. 14, 1845; d. 
Dec. 12, 1881) ; d. June 3, 1882. 

buixard. 
Fisher^ Bollard (Elisha,^ EUsha,'^-MaIachi,'^ Benjamin,'^ Bevja- 
viin^ of Uxhridge, 3Iass.), b. March 24, 1782; m. April, 1805, Rho- 
da Clark (d. Jan. 7, 1865), of Sharon, Mass. ; d. March 4, 1866. 
Children: Mary, b. Jan. 22, 1806; d. Dec. 24, 1809. Selina, b. 
Dec. 7, 1807; d. June 6, 1814. Lewis Clark, b. Oct. 6, 1809; d. 
Aug. 19, 1884, in Sharon, Mass. Elijah, b. Aug., 1811. Rhoda, b. 
May 4, 1815; m. Roswell Whitcomb. Susan, b. Apr. 28, 1816; m., 
1st, Silas Parsons ; m., 2nd, Levi Davis of Acworth. Mary Ann, b. 
June 25, 1818; d. July 17, 1832. Marcus, b. Nov. 10, 1820. Edwin 
Mason, b. March 30, 1823. 

Elijah'^ Bullard {Fishe7\^ EUsha,^ Elitiha,'* Mcdachi,^ Benjamin,^ 
Beitjamin^ of Uxhridge, 3Iass.), b. Aug. 15, 1811 ; m. April 7, 1856, 
Mehita (b. Jan. 28, 1817), daughter of Nathan Bullock of Richmond ; 
d. Dec. 11, 1862. 

Marcus''' Bullard {Fisher,^ ElisJia,^ Elisha,'^ Malachi,^ Bevjamin,^ 
Benjamin^), b. Nov. 10, 1820; m. Dec. 12, 1847, Elizabeth A. (b. 
Sept. 2, 1826 ; d. Nov. 21, 1887), daughter of Silas Jillson of Rich- 
mond. Children: Edward M., b. Oct. 18, 1848. Emily A., b. June 
2, 1851 ; m. J. H. Howard of Hatfield, Mass. Palmer J., b. April 30, 
1855. Ervin M., b. Nov. 11, 1858. Herbert Francis, b. June 14, 
1862. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 303 

Edwin MJ Bollard {Ftsher,^ Elisha,^ EUsJia,'^ Malachi,^ Benja- 
min,^ Benjamin^), h. March 30, 1823 ; m. Nov., 1849, Sarah (d. Aug. 
20, 1876), daughter of Thomas Marble, of Winchester. Children: 
Wallace Justin, b. Sept. 22, 1856; d. May 4, 1861. Jesse E., b. 
Sept. 13, 1862 ; d. iu Michigan ; lives in Grand Rapids, Mich. 

Edward M.^ Bullard (Marctis,'' Fisher,^ Elisha,^ Elislia,^ Mala- 
cJii,^ Benjamin^'^ Benjamin^), b. Oct. 18, 1848; m. Lizzie R. Blanch- 
ai-d of Concord, June 27, 1872 ; d. Dec. 10, 1873 ; m., 2nd, H. Cora, 
Dec. 23, 1877, daughter of Francis Phillips of Keene. Children: Wal- 
ter E., b. Dec 8, 1873. Helen P., b. Sept. 14, 1878. Arthur H., b. 
April 9, 1883. 

Elmer J.^ Bullard {Marcus,^ Fisher ^'^ Elisha/' Elisha,'^ Malaclii.,^ 
Benjamin,'^ Bevjawin^), b. April 30, 1855 ; m. Aug. 15, 1875, Ida E., 
(b. May 30, 1857), daughter of Edwin Hill. Children: Marcus E., 
b. Aug. 14, 1877. Myron H., b. July 8, 1880. 

Ervin M.s Bullard (3farcus,'' Fisher,^ Elisha,^ Elisha,'^ Malachi,^ 
Benjamin,^ Bevjmnin^), b. Nov. 11, 1858; m. March 16, 1879, Lu- 
ella, daughter of Roswell Stowell. Children: John P>vin, b. May 
10, 1880. Mary Emma, b. Oct. 3, 1881. Blanche Susan, b. Dec. 

29, 1882. Bertha J., b. April 9, 1884. Ressie Juliette, b. Dec. 2, 
1885. 

Hehbert F.^ Bullard (Marcus,'^ Fisher,^ ElisJia,^ Elisha,^ Mala- 
chij^ Beujamin,- Benjamin^), b. June 14, 1862; m. March 1, 1883, 
Louise Frances Alzingi-e (b. Dec. 6, 1857). Child: Barbara Emma, 
b. Jan. 26, 1889. 

bullock. 

Cabs'* Bullock (Cass,^ Jeremiah,^ Christopher^ of Richmond), b. 
Sept. 3, 1803; m. Candace (b. April 1, 1805), daughter of Martin 
Ellis, of Richmond; d. Sept. 22, 1875. Child: EmmaE., b. Sept. 8, 
1835 ; m. Andrew B. Cook. 

bump. 
Jacob Bump, b. 1738, in Mendon, Mass. ; m. Sept. 29, 1760, Di- 
nah Slew (b. 1741 ; d. Nov. 25, 1818 in Richmond), of Smithfield, 
R. I. ; d. Sept. 17, 1829, in Richmond. Children: Stephen, b. Jan. 

30, 1761. Asa, b. Jan. 29, 1763. Laban, b. Aug. 29, 1765. La- 
vina, b. May, 1767 ; m., 1st, Richard Sweet ; m., 2nd, Nathan Bowen. 



304 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Wanton, b. July 9, 1769. Ehoda, b. Apr. 25, 1771 ; m., 1st, Jacob 
Boyce; m., 2nd, Philemon Parker. Elizabeth, b. May 3, 1775; m. 
David Martin. Barnet, b. June 27, 1779. Jacob, b. May 12, 1783. 
Sylvia. 

BURKE. 

Patrick Burke, b. in Ireland, 1824 ; m. Feb. 10, 1855, Joanna To- 
biu (b. 1833), in Royalston, Mass. ; d. Dec. 22, 1885. Children: 
John, b. Nov. 23, 1855. Michael, b. Apr. 6, 1857. Mary, b. March 
26, 1859. Maggie, b. Feb. 20, 1861. Ellen, b. Apr. 6, 1863 ; d. in 
July, 1865. Jennie, b. March 6,1865. Annie, b. Feb. 22,, 1868 ; m. 
Herbert A. Foster. Nellie, b. March 5, 1870 ; m. June 6, 1888, Frank 
H. Taft. 

Michael^ Burke (Patrick^), b. Apr. 6, 1857; m. Sept. 7, 1881, 
Julia E. (b. Aug. 10, 1862), daughter of Henry W. Leonard. Chil- 
dren : Lee W., b. June 22, 1882. Clayton Lester, b. Sept. 17, 1888. 

BURNHAM. 

Charles Burnham m. Sarah C. Johnson (b. May 3, 1825). Chil- 
dren : C. Allen, b. Aug. 13, 1848. Henrietta E., b. July 23, 1850. 
George W., b. Nov. 11, 1852. Mary C, b. Dec. 9, 1854; m. John 
S. Rice. Leonard H., b. Feb. 13, 1858. Lizzie E., b. Aug. 3, 1861. 
Edna R., b. July 11, 1864.. Frank W., b. Oct. 12, 1869. 

BYAM. 

Benjamin Willard- Byam {Benjamin} of Fitzioilliam) , b. Feb. 21, 
1826; m. March 17, 1853, Martha A. (b. Aug. 28, 1832; d. Aug. 18, 
1887), daughter of Joel Saunders of Keene, N. H. Children: Clara 
N., b. March 18, 1854 ; d. April 7, 1854. Herbert, b. Aug. 13, 1855 ; 
d. Aug. 14, 1855. Edgar, b. July 5, 1856 ; d. July 6, 1856. Milton, 
b. June 26, 1857 ; d. June 27, 1857. Oscar L., b. June 14, 1858. All 
born in Fitzwilliam. Walter H., b. Dec. 24, 1859 ; d. Sept. 26, 1860. 
Madella, b. Sept. 14, 1861. Fred H.,b. March 8, 1864; d. Jan. 13, 
1866. Frank L., b. Sept. 12, 1865; d. Sept. 12, 1866. Eddie, b. 
June 22, 1868 ; ,d. July 28, 1868. Willie A., b. May 12, 1870. 

calkins. 
William H. Calkins, b. Aug. 13, 1813; m. Sept. 16, 1835, Eliza 
S. (b. Oct. 25, 1817) daughter of Joseph Hill; he died Oct. 9, 1841. 
Children : William H., b. March 8, 1837, in Winchester. Mary E., b. 
Dec. 9, 1838; d. Nov. 13, 1840. Lorenzo W., b. Nov. 1, 1840. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 305 

William H.^ Calkins (William H.^), h. March 8, 1837; m., 1st, 
Nov., 1864, Emeline Morey (d. 1873) ; m., 2ud, Feb. 7, 1874, Ellen 
A. Pratt. Children : WilUam H., b. Feb. 28, 1868. Edward F., b. 
May 22, 1870, in Winchester. Nahum, b. April 1, 1872. Katy Belle, 
b. Oct. 20, 1873 ; d. March 25, 1874. Christie C, b. April 6, 1876. 
Irez L., b. Oct. 14, 1878. Charles, b. June 30, 1880. Addie J., b. 
March 15, 1884 ; d. Sept 22, 1884. Horace, b. April 11, 1886. Roy, 
b. Sept. 8, 1888. 

Lorenzo W.- Calkins (William ^.i), b. Nov. 1, 1840; m. Jan. 
14, 1860, Ruth A. Stephens. Children : Forest H., b. Feb. 23, 1861 ; 
d. Nov. 14, 1862. Lizzie E., b. Oct. 23, 1865; d. Jan. 28, 1886. 
Edward L., b. March 16, 1868 ; d. Apr. 20, 1868. DoraM., b. July 
16, 1869; d. Nov. 21, 1886. Gertie C, b. Oct. 6, 1872; d. March 
2, 1890. Eugenia I., b. April 23, 1874. Children all born in Win- 
chester. 

CAPRON. 

Oliver^ Cai'ron (Banjield^ of Cumberland), h. July 1, 1736; d. 
1816. Children : Nathan, b. Apr. 24, 1758. Otis. Thaddeus, b. 
Dec. 6, 1764. Hannah, b. Apr. 6, 1767. Alpheus, b. July 21, 1770. 
Elizabeth. Oliver. 

Nathan^ Capron (Oliver,'^ Banfield^), b. Apr. 24, 1758 ; m. Apr. 2, 
1783, Dorothy (b. March 23, 1765; d. May 2, 1825), daughter of 
Jonathan Whitcomb. Children: Dorothy, b. Aug. 19, 1783. Anna, 
b. Sept. 1, 1785. Betsey, b. Jan. 30, 1788. Damaris, b. June 3, 
1791. Jonathan W., b. Jan. 29, 1804. 

Otis^ Capron (Olioer,^ BanfiekU), m., 1st, Judith Gale; m., 2nd, 
Polly King. Children by first wife: Alpha. Luther M. Polly. 
Edmund. Martha. By second wife : Gilbert. Sarah. Judith, b. 
Dec. 13, 1801 ; m. Nicholas Cook of Richmond. 

Alpheus^ Capron (Oliver,^ Banfield^), b. July 21, 1770; d. 1822; 
m. Sept. 17, 1809, Lucy (b. 1781; d. 1866), daughter of Pentecost 
Stanley. Children : Elon, b. June 18, 1810. Irene, b. 1812. Al- 
mena, b. 1814. 

Oliver^ Capron (Oliver,^ Bavjield^), b. Dec. 11, 1791 ; m. March 
29, 1816, Lois (b. Apr. 9, 1794; d. Aug. 31, 1852), daughter of Abel 
Wilson ; he d. March 4, 1875. Children : Adeline, b. Oct. 8, 1818 ; d. 



306 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Nov. 6, 1836. Lucy, b. Nov. 29, 1819 ; d. Sept., 1824. Hannah S., 
b. Sept. 14, 1821 ; d. Oct. 20, 1843. Augusta W., b. July 16, 1823 ; 
ni. Frankliu Whcelock of Winchester; d. Feb. 6, 1874. Lucy, b. 
Apr. 14, 1826 ; m. Oliver S. Lakiu of Springfield, Mass. ; d. Aug. 25, 
1887. Alzina, b. May 26, 1828; d. Aug. 12, 1851. Sarah W., b. 
Aug. 17, 1830; d. Oct. 12, 1833. Martiia A., b. Apr. 18, 1833; 
d. May 22, 1850. George 0., b. May 4, 1835. 

Jonathan W."* Capron (JS^athan,^ Oliver,^ BanfieW), b. Jan. 29, 
1804; ni., 1st, 1833, Susan (b. March 9, 1815; d. Sept. 18, 1837), 
daughter of John Strattou ; in,, 2nd, May 10, 1838, Belinda B. (b. 
March 11, 1815), daughter of Dr. Henry Baxter. He d. March 14, 
1878. Children : Helen S., h. Dec, 1835 ; d. May, 1837. Henry W., 
b. Feb. 11, 1845. John W., b. June 24, 1847; d. Jan. 10, 1803. 
Charles H., b. Dec. 11, 1853; d. Jan. 17, 1863. 

George O.^ Capron (Oliver,^ Oliver," BanJiekV), b. ]\Lay 4, 1835 ; 
m., 1st, Nov. 5, 1856, Roselle B. Francis (b. Oct. 9, 1836), of New- 
ington. Conn. Children : Carroll F., b. Jan. 29, 1860. Oliver W., b. 
June 11, 1862. Annie L., b. April 25, 1872. Lyle H., b. Oct. 30, 

1876. 

Henry W.5 Capron {Jonathan W.,'^ Natltan,^ Oliver,^ BanJielcU), 
b. Feb. 11, 1845; m. Dec. 22, 1881, Ida M. (b. Sept. 24. 1858), 
daughter of Rufus Taft. Children: Earl, li. July 5, 1884. Clyde, b. 
July 23, 1889 ; d. Oct. 1, 1890. 

Carroll F.^ Capron {George 0.,"* Oliver,'^ Oliver,- BauJieW), b. 
Jan. 29, 1800 ; m. Oct. 8, 1885, May F., daughter of Arvin Aldrich of 
Westmoreland ; reside in Westmoreland. 

Oliver W.^ Capron {George 0.,^ Oliver,^ Oliver,'^ Banfield^), b. 
June 11, 1862; m. Mrs. Fanny B. Beverstock (d. Oct. 19, 1890), 
daughter of Philip D. Angler. 

CARLTON. 

Philip P.2 Carlton {David} of Hancock), b. Sept. 4, 1814; m. 
Sept. 4, 1837, Olive M. (b. April 11, 1812 ; d. Aug. 17, 1890), daugh- 
ter of Solomon Matthews. He d. Feb. 26, 1890. Child : Harvey 
W., b. Aug. 22, 1844. 

Harvey W.3 Carlton {Philip P.,2 DavicU), b. Aug. 22, 1844; m. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 307 

Nov. 25, 1S68, Lucretia Auu (b. May 19, 1846), daughter of Chiron 
Holbrook. Children: Eva, b. Feb. 22, 1873. Katie L., b. March 
10, 1874. Mark H., b. July 14, 1876. Charles, b. Dec. 29, 1882. 

CARPENTER. 

William^ Carpenter, b. in England 1576, came to America in 1638, 
settled in "NYeymouth, Mass., and later returned to P^ngland. His son, 
WilUam^^ b. 1605, Avith wife Abigail and four sons, came and settled 
in Rehoboth, Mass., in 1638, with his father. William,^ b. 1631, came 
with his father and grandfather; m., 1st, Priscilla Bonet and had four 
children; m., 2nd, Marriam Saile ; he d. Jan. 26, 1703. Nathaniel,* 
b. May 4, 1667; m., 1st, Rachel Cooper (d. July 9, 1694) ; m., 2d, 
Mary Preston; m., 3rd, Mary Cooper. 

EzRA^ Carpenter {Nathaniel,^ WiUia^n,^ William,'^ William^ of 
England), b. March 20, 1698 ; m. Nov. 28, 1723, Elizabeth (b. April 
5, 1704, at Rehoboth ; d. March 19, 1766), daughter of Rev. Thomas 
Greenwood ; he d. Aug. 26, 1785, at Walpole, N. H. Children : Eliz- 
abeth, b. Jan. 13, 1724, at Hull, Mass.; m. Samuel Trott of Wal- 
pole, N. H. ; d. Sept. 20, 1796. p:iijah, b. Oct. 26, 1727, at Hull ; d. 
Oct. 7, 1755, in Swanzey. Theodocia, b. June 6, 1730 ; m. Mr. Bax- 
ter of Boston, Mass. ; d. Aug. 14, 1756. Greenwood, b. March 31, 
1733. Preston, b. March 17, 1736 ; d. April 5, 1736. Olive, b. 
July 24, 1738 ; d. June 30, 1755, in Swanzey. Content, b. Sept. 6, 
1740; m. John Kilboru, of Walpole; d. Oct. 22, 1810, in Shrews- 
bury, Vt. Rachel, b. in Hull, May 12, 1743 ; m. Dr. David Taylor, 
of Charlestown, N. H. ; d. March 30, 1796. 

Greenwood^ Carpenter {Ezra,^ NatJianiel,'^ William,^ William,^ 
William^), b. March 31, 1733, in Hull, Mass. ; m., 1st, 1752, Sarah 
Leathers of Charlestown, Mass. ;-m., 2nd, Susan (bapt. July 28, 
1745), daughter of Jonathan Hammond, of Swanzey; d. in Swanzey 
Feb. 3,1809. Children : William, b. at Charlestown, Mass. Betsey, b. 
at Charlestown; m. Sylvanus Hastings of Charlestown, N. H. ; d. in 
Lashute, Canada East. Olive, m. Joseph Barrows (b. in Charles- 
town, Mass. ; d. in Ohio) of Walpole, N. H. Children by second 
wife : Theodocia, b. Oct. 24, 1774, at Swanzey ; m. Dr. John Jackson, 
of Lebanon, N. H. ; d. in Swanzey, Aug. 7, 1822. Hastings, b. March 
22, 1776. Abigail, b. Oct. 7, 1777; m. Eben Hubbard, of Glaston- 
bury, Conn. ; d. March 5, 1839, in Fulton, N. Y. Elijah, b. Dec. 23, 
1779. Consider, b. Feb. 19, 1781. Dan., b. Oct. 26, 1782. Ezra, 



308 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

b. Oct. 26, 1784. Susan, b. Sept. 10, 1786. Sophrouia, b. Nov. 29, 
1788 ; d. Apr. 18, 1810. Prestou, b. March 3, 1792 ; d. Sept. 5, 1814, 
iu Genesee, N. Y. 

William'' Carpenter {Greenwood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,^ William,^ 
William,- William^) , b. in Cbarlestovvn, Mass., and Lucinda his wife 
had : Guy, b. May 7, 1782. 

Hastings''' Carpenter {Greemvood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,'^ WiUiayn,^ 
William,- William^), h. March 22, 1776 ; ui. Maria Ilooppole of Schen- 
ectady, N. Y. ; he d. iu Canada, March 1, 1815. 

Elijah'^ Carpenter {Greemoood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,'^ William,^ 
William,^ William^), b. Dec. 23, 1779 ; m. Dec. 11, 1815, Fanny (b. 
Nov. 1, 1787; d. March 10, 1876, at Algona, Iowa), daughter of 
Amariah Partridge of Cliesterfield. He d. Oct. 24, 1861. Chikh'en: 
Thankful, b. Feb. 14, 1817; m., 1st, Sept. 23, 1841, Joshua A\^yinau 
of Keene ; m., 2nd, Zebina Knights. Harriet R., b. Ma}' 4, 1819; 
ni. Nathan Watkins of Walpole. Julia Ann, b. May 15, 1823; ra. 
May 18, 1850, Cyrel Aldrich. Elizak'th G., b. Dec. 20, 1825. 
George, b. Sept. 13, 1828. Elijah Preston, b. April 10, 1831 ; d. iu 
Keene, Oct. 3lJ 1872. 

Consider''' Carpenter {Greenicood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,^ William,^ 
William,^ Wdliam^), b. Feb. 19, 1781 ; in., 1st, May 17, 1812, Thank- 
ful (b. Nov. 4, 1782 ; d. March 26, 1815), daughter of Elijah Belding ; 
m., 2nd, March 31, 1818, Fanny, daughter of John Leonard; he d. 
Dec. 31, 1857. Children : Ezra, b. Feb. 25, 1813 ; d. May 19, 1861. 
Thankful Belding, b. March 2, 1815; ni. June 6, 1836, Elbridge Fos- 
gate of Atliol, Mass. Hastings, b. March 1, 1819. F'anny Ann, b. 
Sept. 15, 1821 ; m. Dec. 1, 1840, Lyman Gates of Sullivan; d. Feb. 
7, 1853, at Glens Falls, N. Y. p:ber H., b. Jan. 22, 1824. John L., 
b. Jan. 11, 1827 ; lives in Richmond. 

Thankful Gunn^ Carpenter {Elijah,'' Greenvjood,^ Ezra,^ Nathan- 
iel,^ William,'^ William,^ William^), b. Feb. 14, 1817; ui., 1st, Sept. 
23, 1841, Joshua Wymau of Keene (b. Oct. IS, 1800; d. Dec. 
29, 1858); m., 2nd, Zebina Knight. Children: Emily Frances, b. 
at Keene, Feb. 14, 1845; m. Nov. 19, 1863, Esek Buffum of Rich- 
mond ; d. Dec. 12, 1H81, in Chicago, III. He d. June 24, 1882, in 
Chicago. Henry Joshua, b. Nov. 23, 1849 ; m. March 25, 1880, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 309 

Katie C. of Hastings, Neb. George C, b. Nov. 14, 1853 ; d. Sept. 
18, 1856. , 

Harriet Ross^ Carpenter {Elijah'', Greenwood,^ Ezra,^ NatJian- 
ieW^ William,^ WilUam,^ William^), b. May 4, 1819 ; m. Aug. 29, 
1837, Nathan Watkins of Walpole (b. Feb. 11, 1813; d. April 4, 
1850, in California). Children : AVdliam Elijah, b. Jan. 22, 1839, in 
Hinsdale; m. Jan. 8, 18G8, Mary Ball of Montague, Mass. Ella 
Madora, b. Oct. 19, 1842, at Hinsdale; m. Feb. 11, 1868, Oliver H. 
Phelps of Spring Prairie, Wis. 

Elizabeth Greenwood^ Carpenter (Elijah,'' Greenioood,^ Ezra,^ 
Nathaniel,^ Williavi,^ William,^ William^), h. Dec. 20, 1825; 
ni. Oct. 26, 1843, Dennis Hubbard (b. April 15, 1815; d. Jan. 11, 
1878, in Springfield, Mass.), of Middletown, Conn. ; she d. Sept. 7, 
1855, in Springfield, Mass. Children : George Walton, b. in Keene, 
Sept. 17, 1844. Elijah C.,b. in Keene, Nov. 8, 1846. Julia F., b. in 
Swanzey, Dec. 28, 1848. 

George^ Carpenter (Elijah,"^ Oreemvood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,'^ Wil- 
liam,^ William,^ William^), h. Sept. 13, 1828; m. June 14, 1864, 
Lucy Jane (b. March 9, 1834), daughter of Carter Whitcomb. 

Hastings^ Carpenter (Consider,'' Greenwood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,* 
William,^ William,^ William^) b. March 1, 1819; m. Sept. 14, 1847, 
Keziah W. (b. Jan. 1, 1829), daughter of Jotham Eames ; he d. Feb. 
10, 1851. 

Eber H.8 Carpenter (Consider,'' Greenivood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,'^ 
William,^ WiUium,'^ William^), b. Jan. 22, 1824; ra. Oct. 23, 1844, 
Mary A. Brighara of Erving, Mass. ; lives in Northfield, Mass. 

John L.^ Carpenter (Consider,'' Greemvood,^ Ezra,^ Nathaniel,'* 
William,^ Witlia^n,^ William^), b. Jan. 11, 1827; m. Oct., 1875, Al- 
freda (Martin) Fisher. 

Thojias Carpenter, ra. July 16, 1797, Abigail Brown. 

Lewis Carpenter was inn-keeper at Swanze}- Factory ; taxed in 
1850 and 1851. 

CARR. 

William Carr, m. Mary . Children : Sarah, d. Sept. 30, 

1744. Mercy, d. Oct. 3, 1744. Abner, d. Oct. 17, 1744. Mary, 
bapt. Sept. 4, 1743 ; d. Oct. 17, 1744. Mary, bapt. Nov. 18, 1744; 
d. Sept. 9, 1746. Rlioda, b. about 1746 ; m. Elijah Belding. 



310 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

CARTER. 

Rev. Thomas^ Carter emigrated to Woburn, Mass. 

Rev. Samuel- Carter {Rev. Thomas^), b. Aug. 9,1640; d. in 
Groton, Mass. ; had nine children, of wlioni tlie sixth was Thomas, ^ 
b. April 3, 1682 ; d. March 21, 1737. He had ten cliildren, of whom 
the third was Col. John,"* b. April 23, 1713 ; m. Abigail Joslin of Lan- 
caster; he d. May 8, 1766. Their fourth son was Joseph,^ b. Nov. 
17, 1745; came to Fitzwilliam, 1803. Had Joseph,'' b. April 19, 
1777 ; m. Nov. 28, 1802 ; d. Sept. 14, 1822. Had a son Ebenezer,' 
b. May 20, 1803; m. Jan. 31, 1833, Clarissa, daughter of Ebenezer 
Colburn of Rindge; d. Maich 21, 1871. Children, all born in Fitz- 
william: Elizal)eth G.,*^ b. Nov. 11, 1833; d. Oct. 1, 1847. Eben 
C, b. Dec. 2, 1835; d. Sept. 25, 1837. Margaret F., b. Feb. 22, 
1838; d. Dec. 16, 1842. Henrietta C, b. Oct. 9, 1840; d. April 6, 
1875. Martha F., b. March 12, 1843; m. John M. Fiske. 

Herbert E.^ Carter (Ebenezer,'' Josej)7i,^ Joseph,^ John,'^ TJiom- 
«.9,3 Samuel,- Thomas^ of Wobnrv, Mass.), b. Sept. 9, 1845 ; m. Ai)ril 
22, 1873, Nancie A., daughter of John Wheeler of Ashby. Child : Her- 
bert A., b. July 10, 1874. 

NoRRis C.^ Carter {Ebenezer,'^ Joseph,^ Joseph,-' John,^ TJioynas,^ 
Samuel,^ Tliomas^),h. Aug. 26, 1848; m. Feb. 23, 1871, Mary T. 
(b. Sept. 8, 1852), daughter of Daniel Greenleaf. Children: Flor. 
ence M., b. March 8, 1872; m. Edgar C. Emery. Lillian M., b. 
Oct. 21, 1883. 

Fred A. Carter, b. Oct., 1856; m. Sept. 21, 1881, Lora E. (b. 
Sept. 29, 1860), daughter of Luther Alexander. Children: Lora E., 
b. April 19, 1883. Bernice L., b. Feb. 6, 1887. 

CASS. 4 

JosiAH B.2 Cass {Marti'n} of Richmond), h. March 19, 1810; m. 
March 27, 1831, Eliza S. (b. Feb. 23, 1810), daughter of Gi<leon 
Willis; d. July 4, 1866. Children: F. Brigham, b. Feb. 21, 1832. 
George H., b. Dec. 23, 1833. Harriet M., b, Dec. 25, 1835; m. 
Luke Ellor. Nancy L., b. April 17, 1837; d. May 6, 1852. Ellen 
E., b. Oct. 19, 1841 ; d. Aug. 30, 1860. 

F. Brigham^ Cass (Josiah B.,~ Martin^ of Richmond) , b. Fe^). 21, 
1832 ; m. Cynthia L., b. Nov. 29, 1837, daughter of Jesse Bolles of 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 311 

Richmond, Children: Addie E., m. A. TV. Dickinson. Henry. Liz- 
zie; lives in Lunenburg, Mass. 

George H. Cass (Josiah B.,'^ Martin^) ^ b. Dec. 31, 1833 ; m. April 
7, 1853, Helen A. Cole of Stockholm, N. Y. Children : Clarence E., 
b. Oct. 7, 1854, in 111. ; d. May 13, 1859. Maria E., b. March 15, 
1861 ; d. Dec. 21, 1865. Alice L, b. Oct. 9, 1862 ; m. Nov. 11, 1882, 
Ned E. Purington. Ellen E., b. June 8, 1864; m. Sept. 26, 1888, 
Byron F. Purington. Francis B., b. June 22, 1872, in Erving, Mass. 

CHAMBERLAIN. 

JoHN^ Chamberlain (Elisha^ of FitcJiburg, 3Iass.), b. Sept. 10, 
1795; m., 1st, March 18, 1820, Nancy Stone (b. May 8, 1798; d. 
June 11, 1822) ; m., 2nd, Sept. 25, 1822, Olive H. Wyman (b. March 

18, 1792; d. Apr. 14, 1826) ; m., 3d, 12, 1826, Sylvia Perry 

(b. Sept. 14, 1797; d. Oct. 28, 1852) ; m.,4th, Feb.,7, 1854, Harriet, 
daughter of Jacob "Ware of Winchester. He d. Aug. 28, 1870. Chil- 
dren : Nancy S., b. Oct. 22, 1820; m. Franklin Holman ; d. Oct. 22, 
1845. Martha W., b. July 7, 1823; ra. a Mr. Austin of Newton, 
Mass. AVilliam, b. Apr. 9, 1826; d. Apr. 15,1826. Olive XL, b. 
Sept. 9, 1827; m. Albert N. Chase of Worcester. Mass. John E.^ 
b. Nov. 29, 1830 ; d. Aug. 19, 1849. Sylvia, b. March 11, 1832 ; d. 
March 28, 1832. William P., b. June 2, 1833. Sylvia A., b. Oct. 5, 
1835 ; 111., 1st, Albert Erastus Briggs ; 2nd, Otis B. Wheeler, of Whit- 
ingham, Vt. Sarah J., b. Sept. 5, 1837; m. Pearl P. Briggs. Ed- 
mund H., b. Oct. 18, 1840. Flora E., b. Jan. 9, 1855 ; m. George F. 
Newell.- Herbert R., b. Dec. 28, 1856. John S., b. Jan., 1864. 

William P.^ Chamberlain (JoJin,^ Elisha^ of Fitchburg, 3fass.), 
b. June 2, 1833 ; m. Jan. 8, 1856, Harriet E. (b. Oct. 1, 1833), daugh- 
ter of Samuel Persons of Reading, Vt. ; resides in Keene. Child • 
Berdia A. 

CLARK. 

Timothy Clark, b. in Billerica, Mass., with his wife Mary Laws 
came to this town and settled where Herbert E. Carter resides. Chil- 
dren : Timoth}' and Theodore ; went west. James. Mar}', ra. Sam- 
uel Gunn. Eliza, m. June 7, 1807, Brighani Smith of Cornish, N. H. 
Sarah, b. July 17, 1785 ; m. March 26, 1812, Jonathan Bailey. 

Jamks^ Clark {TimotJo/),h- in 1769 ; m., 1st, May 22, 1799, Lucy, 
daughter of Shubael Seaver ; lived in the same house in which Her- 



312 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

bert E. Carter now lives and where he d. Oct. 25, 1825; m., 2n{l, 
May 27, 1H06, Hannah Mears. Children by Lucy: William and 
Jatnes. Children by Hannah: Lucy, who d. young. Hester, ni., 
Nov. 18, 1830, Russell F. Thompson. Hannah, d. in 3^outh. Levi, 
went to Canada and never returned. Thomas, b. Aug., 1818 ; went 
to Illinois. 

William^ Clark {Janies,^ Timothy^), b. in the year 1800; ni., 1st, 
Susan Starkey ; m., 2nd, Hannah (d. Feb. 14, 1872), widow of Asa 
Jackson. He d. July 29, 18G9. 

James-^ (James,^ Timothy^), m., June 10, 1830, Susan INIorse, 
daughter of Capt. Henry Morse ; lived in Massachusetts until his 
death. 

Jonathan^ Clauk (TJiomas^ of Troy)^ b. June 3, 1788; m., 1812, 
Mary, daughter of Asa Brewer; hed. Aug. 20, 1850, in Troy. Chil- 
dren : Asa, b. Sept. 4, 1814. Jonathan, b. April 10, 1816. Betsey, 
b. Sept. 20, 1820; m., 1st, Bailey Starkey of Troy ; m., 2nd, Win- 
throp Knights of Troy. William, b. June 8, 1825. Daniel AVebster, 
b. Feb. 20, 1831. Henry C, b. Marches, 1838. 

Asa^ Clark (Jonathan,- Thomas^), b. Sept. 4, 1814, in Keene ; m., 
1837, Martha, daughter of Zalmon How. Children : Warren H., b. 
June 23, 1844. Chester. Hattie E., m. Frederick L. Wise of Marl- 
borough. 

Jonathan^ Clark (Jonathan,- Thomas^), b. April 10, 181G ; ra., 
Hannah L., daughter of Luna Starkey of Troy ; d. Oct. 14, 1852. 

William^ Clark (Jonathan,- Thomas^), b. June 8, 1825 ; ni. 1851, 
Martha BoUes. 

Daniel AVebster'-^ Clark (Jonathan,- Thomas^) ,h. Feb. 25, 1831 ; 
m. Nov. 15, 1851, Maria Diana, daughter of Silas Whitcomb. Child : 
Ruby M., an adopted daughter, b. Dec. 17, 1884. 

Henry C.^ Clark (Jonathan,^ Thomas^), b. March 8, 1838 ; m. a 
daughter of James Marble of Hinsdale. Children: Edward. Lona. 

COBURN. 

Daniel Coburn, of Chesterfield, m., 2d, Dec. 26, 1831, Dorcas 
Moore ; d. June 29, 1845. Children: Prescott D., b. 1815; d. in 
Winchester. 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 313 

Prescott D.- Coburn {Daniel^), b. 1815; m. Julia Ann Snow (d. 
Oct. 29, 1859, aged 47 3'eafs) ; he died Mai'cli 5, 1888, aged 73 years. 
Children : Watson B.,d. June 19, 1859, aged 153'^ears. LarUin D., d. 
April 24, 1853, aged 11 years. Watson A., d. Feb. 28, 1869, aged 4 
years. 

COLLIER. 

James M. Collier of Chesterfield, Mass., b. July 9, 1809; m., 
1st, March 2, 1835, Miss Dorinda Drewry ; m., 2nd, April 7, 1856, 
Mrs. Elijah Bullard. Children: Emerson, b. Dec. 27, 1835; d. 
March 2, 1837. Francis, b. March 25, 1838; d. Aug. 6, 1843. An 
infant, d. June 30, 1840. Julia E., b. July 26, 1842. Sainantha, b. 
June 9, 1845 ; d. May 14, 1874. Eu-.ma, b. July, 1847 ; m. Benjamin 
Taylor of New York. Nelson, b. Aug. 8, 1850. Frank F., b. Aug. 
1, 1852. Henry T., b. June 29, 1855 ; d. May 13, 1879. 

Nelson A.^ Collier {James ifcT.^), b. Aug. 8, 1850; m. Apr. 19, 
1881, Emma L. (b. Oct. 6, 1860), daughter of Lorenzo Ballon. Chil- 
dren : Etta L., b. Aug. 24, 1882. Lula, b. April 9, 1884. Norman, 
b. Oct. 11, 1887. Son, b. 1889. 

CONBOT. 

John Conboy, b. in Ireland about 1840; m. Nov. 12, 1871, Jose- 
phine (b. Aug. 31, 1856), daughter of Michael Corker3% of Beverly, 
Mass. Children: Bessie Ellen, b. Sept. 15, 1872; d. June 1, 1887. 
Josephine Vivian, b. Sept. 7, 1877. Mary Jane, b. June 7, 1879. 
John, b. Aug. 28, 1880. 

CONVERSE. 

Daniel Converse, m. Feb. 24, 1795, Ruth Seaver. 

COMBS. 

Amos D.^ Combs {Anthony^ of Winchester, N. II.), m. Laws. 

COOK. 

Francis Cook and his wife Catharine came from Winchester. 
Hed. Sept. 27, 1876. She d. June 27, 1887, aged 78 years. Chil- 
dren : Andrew B. and Etta. 

Andrew B.^ Cook (Francis^ of Winchester), b. Aug. 3, 1832; m. 
Apr. 2, 1866, Emerancy B. (b. Sept. 8, 1835), daughter of Cass Bul- 
lock. Child : Mary E., b. April 15, 1870. 



314 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

EvERSON- Cook {John^ of Winchester), m. Juliette B., (laughter of 
Paul Willard ; came to this town about 1831; had Frances; returned 
to AVinchester, 184G. 

Walter Cook, of Weymouth, Mass., came from England to America 
in 1635. The line of descent from him to Caleb Cook who settled in 
Svvanzey was, AValter, Nicholas, 1st, Nicholas, 2d, Caleb. 

Caleb"* Cook {Nicholas,^ Nicholas,'^ Walter'^), h. Sept. 25, 1727; 
ni. Sept. 17, 1753, Provided Gaskill (d. 1787) ; he d. Oct. 16, 1788. 
Children: George and Abigail, h. June 19, 1754; Abigail, d. in in- 
fancy. Olive, b. March 30, 1756; m. Sannid Curtis of Richmond. 
Patience, b. Oct. 30, 1756; ni. Amariah Curtis. Ziiricl and Aurilla, 
b. Oct. 22, 1763; the daughter d. in infancy. Jemima, b. Oct. 10, 
1765; m. Benjamin Hewes. Simeon, b. Doc. 8, 1770. E^lizabeth, b. 
Aug. 31, 1772 ; m., 1st, Gifleon Mann, of Richmond ; m., 2nd, Jere- 
miah Thayer, of Richmond; d. Feb. 11, 1846. 

Simeon^ Cook (Caleb, "^ NicJiolas,^ Nicholas,- Walter'^ from Eng- 
land), b. Dec. 8, 1770; m., 1st, July 26, 1791, Rhoda (b. in 1763; 
d. in July, 1815), daughter of Gideon Mann of Richmond ; m., 
2nd, April 19, 1816, Rachel Ilolman (widow Barriis, b. in 1780; d. 
Blaich 2, 1839) ; m., 3d, March 22, 1840, Sarah Brown (widow Smead, 
b. in 1781 ; d. Nov. 4, 1861), of Swanzey. Hed. March 18, 1859. 
Children: Caroline, 1). April 16, 1792; m. James Buffum of Rich- 
mond ; d. Nov. 12, 1876. Candace, b. March 28, 1793; m. Ainasa 
Aldrich. Clarinda, b. July 9, 1794; m. Oct. 22, 1812, Russell 
Streeter; d. in Portland, Me., Dec. 27, 1824. Caleb, b. March 12, 
1796. Aquilla, b. May 11, 1797. Carlon, b. Nov. 29, 1798. Fla- 
villa, b. Nov. 17, 1800; m. Hubbard Church of Volney, N. Y. ; d. 
Dec. 18, 1833. Lovanna, b. Oct. 7, 1802; m. Paul F. Aldrich. 
Fostina, b. Sept. 21, 1804; m. Nov. 27, 1825, Russell Streeter. 
George, b. Aug. 31, 1817. Simeon, b. Apr. 14, 1821. Malvina, b. 
June 30, 1823 ; m. Joseph B. Smead. 

Caleb^ Cook {Simeon,^ Caleb,^ yicholas,'^ Nicholas,'^ Waller^), b. 
March 12, 1796; m., 1st, 1818, Lydia Thompson (d. in 1856); m., 
2nd, Feb. 10, 1857, Mrs. Jennings (b. 1805; d. Dec. 14, 1878), of 
Vermont; he d. in January, 1877. 

Aquilla^ Cook {Simeon,^ Caleb,^ Nicholas,^ Nicholai^,- Walter^), b. 
May 11, 1797; m. Olive Bates (d. in 1860), of Bellingham, Mass. ; 
hed. in Feb., 1880. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 315 

Carlon^ Cook (Simeon,^ Caleb, '^ Nicholas,'-^ JSTicholas,^ Walter^), b. 
1798; m. Cynthia (b. March 18, 1799), daughter of John Carter of 
Leominster, Mass. He d. about 1830. She m., 2nd, Dec. 3, 1840, 
George AY. Daniels (d. in Winchester, Mass., in 1875), of Keene. 
ChiUl : Marcus. 

Simeon^ Cook {Simeon,^ Caleb,^ Nicholas,^ JSiicholas,^ Walter^), 
b. Apr. 14, 1821; w. 8ept. 24, 1841, Patience (b. May 28, 1820), 
dauojiter of Silas Parsons. Children : Silas Parsons, b. Oct. 18, 1845, 
Leroy, b. Feb. 4, 1849. Solon, b. 1851 ; d. in infancy. Clara J., b. 
Oct. 22, 1854 ; m. Herbert Aldrich. Charles S., b. May 28, 1857. 

COOPKR. 

Harvey ^Y. Cooper, m., Dec. 22, 1842, Hannah (b. Nov. 10, 
1823), daughter of Martin Thompson. They d. in Keene, leaving 
AVillie ; and Abbie, b. Sept. 14, 1856 ; both reside in Keene. 

CORLIS. 

BAir.Ei-2 CoRLis {Savuiel^ of Bote), b. March 26, 1815; m., 1st, in 
1838, Martha (b. in March, 1811 ; d. in 1845), daughter of Samuel 
Scribner of Salisbury; ra., 2nd, May 9, 1849, Nancy S., daughter of 
Joseph Edmonds of Thornton. Children : Benjamin B., b. in March, 
1839 ; d. in 1845. Ida G. B. Y., b. May 14, 1852 ; m. George Perry. 
Florence A. E., b. April 9, 1854; m. Edgar H. Nararaore, of AYin- 
chester. 

COREY. 

Amos L.^ Corey {Ahmham^ of Marlborough) . b. Aug. 1, 1839 ; m. 
Ellen M., daughter of John G. Sparry of Cavendish, Yt. Children : 
Clara A., b. Dec. 8, 1863 ; ra. Jesse Hall. Charles Lorenzo, b. Sept. 
22, 1866. Mary Isabel, b. May 30^ 1869. Francis Bryon, b. Sept. 
28, 1871. 

CRAM. 

Sylvanus Martin- Cram {Joseph^ of Neiv London), b. Jan. 20, 
1818; m. May 3, 1841, Charity (b. Nov. 17, 1824), daughter of John 
T. Ruter of AYashington, Yt. Children: Sylvanus Martin, b. July 
6, 1844 ; d. Oct., 1851. Julia, b. June 18, 1847 ; m. Oilman Ordway, 
North Randolph, Yt. Dora H., b. Aug. 14, 1851 ; m. Arza Higgins. 
Martin G., b. Dec. 1, 1855. Ursula Y., b. May 25, 1857; ra. Fla- 
vins F. Lombard. Susa, b. May 29, 1858. AYalter, b. Apr. 22, 1864. 
Jennie M., b. Dec. 31, 1866 ; m. Ned Evans. 



316 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

CRESSON. 

Thomas Crksson was in Swanze^^ as early as 1737, and was from 

Siin(lerhui(l,Mass. ; ni. Mary ; her clmrcli relation was removed 

to Swanzey from Rutland, Mass., in 1741. Children : Thomas, b. 
in August, 1722. Mary, m. a Mr. Fish. Sarah, m. AVyot Gunn. 
A ehild d. in 1740. AVilliam, d. Nov. 23, 1754. Submit, d. Aug. 9, 
1755. 

Tiiomas^Cresson {Tliomas^ from Sxinderland) ,h.\w Awg.^ 1722 ; m. 
Mary (b. in 1732 ; d. May 2G, 1814) ; he d. May 8, 1821. Chil- 
dren : Nathan, b. Feb. 15, 1754. William, b. Feb. 8, 1756. Silas, 
bapt. June 18, 1758; d. Oet. 3, 1759. Silas, b. Feb. 2, 1760; d. 
Feb. 15, 1778. Thomas, b. July 1, 1762. Gains, bapt. July 10, 
1765; d. Oct. 7, 1765. Gains, b. May 13, 1767. Molly, b. Nov. 3, 
1769 ; m. Nov. 18, 1788, Daniel Beverstock. Sarah, b. Oct. 4, 1772 ; 
m. James Kingsbury. Olive, l)a[)t. Jan. 26, 1777 ; d. Aug. 27, 1777. 
Elizabeth, b. Oct. 23, 1778. Paul, b. Dec. 19, 1780. Catharine, b. 
Dec. 7, 1782. 

Nathan^ Cresson {Thomas,^ Thomas^), b. Feb, 15, 1754 ; m. Lois 
. Children : Chloe, b. Feb. 10, 1782 ; m. a Mr. Rawson. Si- 



las, b. Sept. 9, 1785. AVilliam, b. Sept. 17, 1787. Thomas, b. Aug. 
14, 1789. Seth, b. March 1, 1792. Nathan, b. May 4, 1794. Elias, 
b. May 27, 1796. Rufus, b. Apr. 23, 1799. 

Gaids'-' Cresson (Thomas,'^ Thomas^), b. May 13, 1767 ; m. Nov. 
27, 1788, Mary Smith; he d. in 1812. Children: Melinda, b. Oct. 
14, 1789. Salome, b. April 21, 1791. Roxaua, b. April 15, 1793. 
Carlos, b. May 7, 1795. Sarah, b. April 15, 1797. Olive, b. July 
25, 1805. Mary, b. May 7, 1807. 

CROSS. 

Three brothers, Joseph, Thomas and Nathan Cross, came to Swan- 
zey from Nottingham about 1760 and settled near each other in the 
northwest corner of the town. 

Joseph Cross, b. 1758; m. March 10, 1785, Hannah (b. 1764; 
d. June 27, 1817), daughter of Benjamin Olcott ; lived on what was 
called "Pine Hill;" he d. Oct. 21, 1815. Children: Sarah, b. Feb. 
3, 1786 ; m. Oct. 8, 1806, Abijah Stearns. William, b. March 18, 
1787. Otis, b. July 12, 1789. Joseph, b. March 8, 1791. Benja- 
min, b. June 1, 1793. Hannah, b. June 14, 1795. Levi, b. Aug. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 317 

26, 1797 ; went to Vermont. James, b. Jane 15, 1800 ; went to Ver- 
mont. Luther, b. Oct. 17, 1802; went to Woodstock, Vt. 

Thomas Cross, brother of Joseph, m. Sarah Peraberton (b. 1764 ; 
d. Aug. 8, 1859, aged 95 years). He settled near his brother Joseph, 
but d. in Highgate, Vt. ; the cellar only marks the spot. Children : 
John, b. about 1784. Peter, b. Sept. 10, 1786. Henry, b. Nov. 22, 
1788. Nathan, b. Sept. 12, 1790 ; ra. Betse}^ Hammond and removed 
to Highgate, Vt., where they died. Enoch, b. May 28, 1792 ; m. 
March 15, 1821, Betsey Britton and removed to the state of New 
York. Lucina, b. 1794; m. April 4, 1820, Benjamin Hammond. 
Sarah, m. Joseph Ripley of "Winchester. Lewis. Celinda lives iu 
Boston. Charles lives in Keene. 

Nathan Cross, brother of Joseph and Thomas, ra. Betsey Law- 
rence (b. 1772; d. Dec. 13, 1854). He d. in Westport, Jan. 26, 
1842. Children: Polly, b. April 5, 1793; m. June 3, 1818, Enos 
Stevenson. Otis, b. Aug. 21, 1794. Eldad, b. 1796. Betsey, b. 
Dec. 20, 1799 ; ra. Rev. Tristan Aldrich. Matilda, m. Dec. 27, 
1826, David Read. Zadock. Allen. David. Daniel, b. March 
13, 1813 ; d. Jan. 13, 1890, in Fitchburg, Mass. 

Joseph^ Cross (Joseph^), b. March 8, 1791; ra. Feb. 18, 1816, 
Mariam (b. Dec. 31, 1793), daughter of Jonathan Whitcomb. Chil- 
dren : Francis. Frederick. Horace. 

Benjamin^ Cross (Joseph^), b. June 1, 1793; m. Feb. 2, 1816, 
Susanna (b. 1798; d. July 21, 1878, aged 80 years), daughter of 
Joel Foster. He d. July 13, 1846, aged 53 years. Children : Han- 
nah, b. Nov. 10, 1816 ; ra. Edwin Snow. Augusta, b. Oct. 15, 1820 ; 
m. John A. Dennis of Iowa. Levi, b. Dec. 8, 1821. Philemon W.» 
b. Dec. 9, 1823 ; lives in Peterborough, N. H. Sarah, b. Nov. 18, 
1825 ; m. John C. Young ; lives in Manchester, N. H. Benjamin, b, 
April 3, 1828 ; d. June 22, 1829. Martha J., b. March 9, 1831 ; m. 
George W. Perry of Maiden, Mass. Ira, b. July 23, 1833 ; m. Au- 
gusta Sanborn of Nashua. George H., b. Feb. 9, 1835 ; m. Jane M., 
daughter of Jonathan Jackson and lives in Winchester. 

JoHN^ Cross (Thoynas^), b. about 1784; m. Feb. 18, 1816, Milla 
(b. about 1784) daughter of Jonathan Whitcomb. Cliildren : Gil- 
bert. Levi, b. about 1819 ; m. Elizabeth, daughter of Clark Dodge ; 
she d. in Swanzey, Nov. 29, 1856 ; he lives in Keene. 
22 



318 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Peter- Cross (Thomas^), b. Sept. 10, 1786 ; m. Lucy (d. Aug. 15, 
1844), daughter of Benjamin Hammond; he d. May 1, 1865. Chil- 
dren : Calista, b. Jan. 16, 1810; m. Jolm A. Harablet. George, b. 
Sept. 7, 1812. Ebenezer F., b. March 15, 1815. Azuba, b. Julj' 
1, 1819; m. Feb. 12, 1846, Ephraim P. Rixford of AVinchester. 
Wilder, b. July 8, 1822. Ziba, b. May 30, 1825 ; d. June 22, 1833. 
Wesley, b. Sept. 14, 1827; d. Sept. 28, 1845. 

Henrt^ Cross (TJiomas'^), b. Nov. 22, 1788; m. Lydia Hammond 
of Winchester, Jan. 23, 1820. 

Otis^ Cross (Nathan^), b. Aug. 21, 1794; m. Charlotte (d. Jan. 
3, 1842), daughter of David Read; d. Oct. 1, 1849. Children: Sul- 
1 van, b. Aug. 17, 1817. Dulcy Ann, b. June 21, 1824; m. a Mr. 
Wells. Edwin L., b. April 7, 1833. Amy C, b. Aug. 14, 1837. 

Eldad2 Cross {NatJicm^), b. 1796; m., Nov. 19, 1818, Betsey 
Heffron (b. 1799; d. Sept. 1, 1869) ; d. April 16, 1878, in Worces- 
ter, Mass. Children: Enos H., b. Jan. 22, 1820; lives in Gilsum. 
Joseph, b. Oct. 25, 1824. Orrin T., b. Aug. 19, 1829; m. Sophia 
Verry, daughter of Horace Verry ; went to Whitehall where she died ; 
he is in Gilsum, N. H. 

George^ Cross {Peter,^ Thomas^), b. Sept. 7, 1812; m., 1st, Oct. 
14, 1841, Eunice (d. Sept. 26, 1862), daughter of Joshua Snow; 
m., 2d, Feb. 17, 1863, Helen, daughter of Reuben Foster of Ches- 
terfield ; d. Sept. 13, 1884. Children: An infant, d. Aug. 13, 1848. 
Irvin G., b. June 28, 1865. 

Ebenezer F.^ Cross (Peter,- Thomas^), b. March 15, 1815; m. 
Helen Clark of Chesterfield (d. Jan. 4, 1858) ; d. in Andersonville, 
Ga. Children: Fred and Edwin who live in Winchendon and John 
who lives in Worcester, Mass. 

Sullivan^ Cross (Otis,- Nathan'^), m. a Miss Taft, daughter of 
RufusTaft of Winchester. Children: Mary E., d. Sept. 24, 1849. 
Rufus, d. Oct. 21, 1849. The family removed from this town. 

Irvin G.'» Cross (George,^ Peter, ^ Tliomas^), m., 1st, May 26, 1886, 
Hattie A. Fox (b. 1864; d. Nov. 1, 1887), daughter of Joseph 
Ellor and adopted by Salmon H. Fox ; m., 2nd, Blanche (b. April 
5, 1872) daughter of Charles S. Whitcomb. Child, by Hattie: Carl 
F., b. Oct. 27, 1887. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. ^ 319 



CROSSETT. 

Richard^ Crossett (Robert^ of Prescott, Mass.), b. Nov. 5, 1764; 
m., Jan. 9, 1784, Olive Powers (b. 1762; d. March 10, 1835) ; d. 
Aug. 6, 1814. Children: Polly, b. Dec. 20, 1785; m. Samuel Hol- 
brook, Aaron, b. June 6, 1787; d. Apr. 25, 1802. Richard, b. 
1789. Isaac, b. Dec. 17, 1791. John, b. 1793. Luther and Calvin, 
b. Jan. 21, 1795. Chester, b. about 1796. Salmon, b. July 19, 
1798. Robert, b. Dec. 19, 1799. Powers, b. Oct. 17, 1802. 

Richard^ Crossett {Richard,^ Robert^), b. 1789; m. Mrs. Olive 
Darling of Northfield, Mass. ; d. Feb. 14, 1863. Children: Susan, 
b. about 1815; m. Frank Richardson. Louisa, b. about 1818; m. 
Isaac Lamson. James, d. 1823. Robert, b. Nov., 1823; d. in 
Michigan. 

Powers^ Crossett {Richard,- Robert^), b. Oct. 17, 1802 ; m. Mary 
S. (b. Sept. 26, 1808), daughter of Clement A. Sumner. Child : Mary 
A., d. July 2, 1832. 

CROUCH. 

Amos^ Crouch {Jolin^ of Chesterfield) , b. in 1769 ; m., 1st, Lydia 
Brown (b. 1773, d. Jan. 3, 1812), of Brookline ; m., 2nd, Sally (b. 
1778; d. Feb. 16, 1825), a sister of Lydia; m., 3rd, Sept. 27, 1825, 
Abigail (b. 1785 ; d. 1860), daughter of Daniel Holbrook of Keene. 
He died Aug. 18, 1861. Children : John, b. 1796. Lydia, m. Elisha 
Taylor of Ashby, Mass. Amos, b. May 25, 1800. Lucy, b. 1802 ; 
m. Aaron C. Brown. Clark, b. 1804 or 5 ; d. Apr. 8, 1817. Hannah, 
b. May 8, 1807. Ephraim, b. Jan. 28, 1811. 

JoHN^ Crouch {Amos,- John^), b. March 13, 1796 ; m., March 13, 
1817, Sarah (b. Sept. 27, 1794; d. March 21, 1869), daughter of 
Samuel Draper of Chesterfield; d.^ 1885. Children: Mary Ann, b. 
Nov. 15, 1818 ; d. Aug. 27, 1822. Abraham L. and Clark B., b. May 
26, 1820. Levi, b. July 14, 1823. Mary Ann, b. June 6,1827. 

Amos^ Crouch {Amos,~ Johv}), b. May 25, 1800; m. Sept. 25, 
1822, Lucy Brown of Brookline (b. July 24, 1799 ; d. Apr. 14, 1873) ; 
d. July 6,' 1877. Child : Amos C. b. Oct. 7, 1827. 

Ephraim^ Crouch {Amos,^ John>), b. Jan. 28, 1811 ; m. Feb. 15, 
1832, Eunice (b. Sept. 25, 1802 ; d. Jan. 20, 1888), daughter of Sam- 
uel Draper of Chesterfield. Children: Eunice S., b. June 7, 1833. 
E. Augustus, b. Oct. 18, 1835. Luman J., b. Apr. 6, 1845. 



320 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Abraham L."! Crouch {.Tohn,^ Amos^'^ John^), h. May 2G, 1820; 
m. Rebecca D., daughter of Elislia Taylor of Ashby, Mass. ; d. jNIay 
14 1874. 

Clark B.'' Crouch (JoJm,^ Amos,~ John^), b. May 26, 1820; m., 
1st, ]\Iary Jane Gilson ; m., 2d, the widow of his twin brother, Abra- 
ham L. 

Levi^ Crouch (JoJm,^ Amos,^ JoJin^)^ b. July 14, 1823 ; m., 1st, 
March 7, 1848, Sarah (b. June 13, 1822; d. Oct. 5, 1878), dauj^hter 
of Joualhan Bailey; m., 2d, Nov. 17, 1880, widow Mary Wilber, 
daughter of a Mv. Staples of Westmoreland. 

Amos Clark^ Crouch (Amos,^ Amos^, John^), b. Oct. 7, 1827 ; m., 
1st, Nov. 4, 1857, riuldah Augusta (b. Dec. 29, 1827; d. Dec. 22, 
1877), daughter of Asa Phillips of Peru, Vt. ; m., 2d, Aug. 20, 1878, 
Martha A., daughter of Amherst Lewis of Chesterfield. Child: 
Nellie Augusta, b. July 12, 18G4. 

Luman J.^ Crouch {Ephraim,^ Amos,^ Jolin^), b. April 6, 1845; 
m. Sept. 7, 18G5, Almira (b. Feb. 24, 1841), daughter of Stearns 
Tarbox of Marlborough. Children: P:isie E., b. Oct. 11, 1867. 
George L., b. June 7, 1870. Charles A., b. Jan. 18, 1873. 

Daniel E.2 Crouch {Cyrus^),m.^ 1st, Julia A. (d. March 23, 

1848, aged 24 years) ; m., 2d, Aurelia (d. July 27, 1850, aged 23 

years). 

CUMMINGS. 

Enoch Cummings, b. 1753; m., 1st, Sarah (b. 1762; d. Feb. 28, 
1812) ; m., 2d, Lovlna Woodcock, widow Starkey (b. 1777 ; d. Sept. 
10, 1831) ; d. Sept. 21, 1833. 

Nehemiah Cummings, b. 1757; m. May 11, 1780, Philadelphia 
White (d. June 26, 1849) ; d. March 30, 1815. She m., 2nd, Oct. 17, 
1833, Benjamin Howard of Stoddard. 

Daniel Cummings, b. 1763 ; m. March 6, 1792, Sally (d. Sept. 11, 
1851), daughter of Pentecost Stanle}' ; d. March 31, 1831. 

James Cumjhngs, b. 1786; m. Betsey (b. 1791; d. Apr. 19, 

1856) ; d. Jan. 6, 1858. 

John Cummings, b. 1771; m. Mary (b. 1771; d. May 11, 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 321 

1842) ; d. Aug. 3, 1842. Childreu : Johu, Nehemiah, Ebenezer, Sarah, 
Enoch and Daniel. 

Ebenezer- CuMMiNGS {John^), m. March 30, 1825, Elvira, daughter 
of Paddock Lawrence. Children: Rebecca, b. July 10, 1825; d. 
Aug. 15, 1825. Daniel, b. Nov. 28, 1827. Reuben, b. Sept. 16, 
1830; d. March 9, 1833. Arvilla R., b. Feb. 14, 1832; m. George 
W. Robinson. Infant dan., b. and d. Feb. 14, 1832, twin. Mary 
Wood, b. Nov. 24, 1833 ; d. Sept. 8, 1849. Elizabeth Jane, b. Jan. 
3, 1836. Amos Ebenezer, b. 1837. Louisa, b. Dec. 6, 1839 ; d. Oct. 

I, 1849. Hannah LaAvrence, b. Jan. 8, 1841 ; d. Sept. 20, 1849. 
RoseUa, b. July 30, 1843. George, d. Sept. 4, 1849. 

Enoch^ Cummings (John^) , m. Orpha W. (b. 1809 ; d. Feb. 22, 

1881). Children: Enoch Haynes, b. Apr. 10, 1832. James, b. Jan. 
21, 1834. Ehza Maria, b. Nov. 4, 1837. Hannah Mclntire, b. Aug. 
13, 1840. Frances Rebecca, b. Feb. 27, 1843. 

Amos Ebenezer^ Cummings (Ebenezer,'^ John^), b. 1837; m. Sept. 
7, 1870, Ellen M. (b. Oct. 17, 1847), daughter of Nathaniel B. Fisher, 
of Richmond. Children : Amos H, b. Apr, 24, 1873 ; d. Sept. 1 1 , 1883. 
Abbie E., b. Jan. 21, 1875 ; d. Aug. 25, 1875. Gertie A., b. Nov. 10, 
1878. 

Joseph Cummings, m., 1st, Hannah (d. Dec. 7, 1776) ; m., 2nd, 

Lucy . Children : Hannah, b. Sept. 24, 1769. Ephraim, b. July 

6, 1771. Priscilla, b. March 28, 1773. David, b. Feb. 20, 1775. 
Joseph, b. Nov. 30, 1776 ; d. March 4, 1777. Betty, b. Jan. 19, 1778. 
Lydia, b. Aug. 20, 1779. Sarah, b. April 28, 1781. Joseph, b. Sept. 

II, 1783. Lucy, b. May 25, 1785. Thaddeus, b. May 28, 1787. John 
Warren, b. June 17, 1789. Sophia, b. July 14, 1793. 

Ephraim Cummings, m. Betsey Bradstreet. Children: William, d. 
Sept. 12, 1777. Olive, d. Sept. 12, 1777. William, b. March 21, 
1778. Oliver, b. Feb. 6, 1780. Simeon, b. March 8, 1782. p:phraim, 
b. Apr. 24, 1784. 

Simeon^ Cummings {Ephraiin}), b. March 8, 1782; m. Apr. 3, 
1803, Frances Bradford. 

Nathaniel Cummings, m. Apr, 29, 1792, Lovina Whipple. Child: 
Maynard, b, Sept. 7, 1792. 



322 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Thaddeus Cummings, m. Abigail . Children : Henry, h. Sept. 

29, 1772. RhocUi, b. March 28, 1775; d. May 27, 18-29. Pru- 
dence, b. July 3, 1779. Jonas, b. March IG, 1783. John Harrod, 
b. Jan. 18, 1787. 

IIenuy2 Cummings (Thaddeus^), b. Sept. 29, 1772 ; m.Oct. 2, 1799, 
Sally Learned. 

John Harrod^ Cummings {Thaddeus'^), b. Jan. 18, 1787; m. March 
19, 1811, Mehitable, daughter of Moses Marsh of Keene ; d. Nov. 
7,1832. Children: Nancy, b. Feb. 10, 1812; m. Enoch Howes. 
Fanny, b. Sept. 15, 1814; m., 1st, Sept. 25, 1834, Rosweil Tliurston 
of Keene ; d. She m., 2d, ApoUos Nye of Keene ; d. ; m., 3rd, Dec. 
22, 1867, Charles Page of Londonderry. C. Alonzo, b. July 27, 
1816. Julia A., b. Nov. 4, 1817; m. Cheney Thompson of Keene ; 
d. Jan. 3, 1850. Peninah, b. Aug. 31, 1819 ; m. Henry Thompson, 
of Townshend, Vt. Esther, b. Apr. 3, 1821 ; m. Lyman N. Howes. 
Charles, b. March 28, 1823. Sarah, b. March 28, 1823 ; d. Dec, 1838, 
Eliza, b. May 25, 1829 ; d. Oct. 1, 1834. 

CURTIS.v 

Amariah Curtis, m. Patience (b. Oct. 30, 1760), daugliter of Caleb 
Cook. Children: Provided, b. Apr. 17, 1777. Hannali, h. Aug. 24, 
1779. Susanna, b. Sept. 29, 1781. Molly, b. Nov. 12, 1784. Lu- 
ther, b. May 8, 1786. Joanna, b. May 11, 1788. 

Calvin Curtis, m., 1st, Lydia, daughter of Capt. Nicholas Cook of 

Richmond; in., 2d, Betty . Children: Anna, b. Aug. 17, 1786. 

Lucina, b. Nov. 19, 1788 ; m. John Rice of Richmond. Thaddeus, b. 
Jan. 19, 1791. Sally, b. Nov. 20, 1793; m. Jan. 8, 1815, Samuel 
Parker of Richmond. Joseph, b, Dec. 18, 1795. Lydia, b. Oct. 12, 
1798; m. Mason "Whipple of "Winchester. Harriet, b. May 6, 1801. 
Almira, b. Sept. 17, 1803; m. AN'illiam Hewes. Calvin, b. Oct. 3- 
1805. Luther Cook, b. Jan. 6, 1809. 

Caleb^ Curtis (Samuel^ of Richmond)^ m. 1813, Lucy, daughter 
of Israel Sabin of Richmond. Children : Mary. Delila. Julia. 

Thaddeus^ Curtis (Calvin^), b. Jan. 19, 1791 ; m. March 4, 1817, 
Charlotte, daughter of Jethro Kimball. 

Calvin- Curtis (Calvin^), b. Oct. 3, 1805; m. Celia F, Ilewes. 
Children : Ervin, b. May 2, 1842. Milan H., b. Jan. 2, 1849. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 323 

Luther Cook^ Curtis {Calvin^), b. Jan. 6, 1809; m. Abigail, 
daugiiter of J. Amidon. 

Louisa Curtis, m. May 27, 1827, Ebenezer W. Nash. 

RoxANNA Curtis, m. Apr. 10, 1827, David Franklin of Winchester. 

CUTLER. 

George I.^ Cutler (Gardner C.,"^ Jonas, ^ Joel, ^ Abner,"^ Thomas,^ 
Thomas,- Javies,^ horn in England, 1 600, ca???e to America and settled 
in Watertoion in 1634), b. Dec. 10, 1833, inKeene ; m. Feb. 14, 1866, 
E. Jennie, daughter of Arvin Aldrich of Westmoreland. 

danforth. 

Richmond Danforth, m, Catherine . Children : Pliny, b. June 

13, 1802. Aliezer John Richmond, b. Oct. 22, 1803. 

Sally Richmond Danforth, m. Feb. 15, 1802, Throop Barney of 
Taunton, Mass. 

DANIELS. 

Elijah Daniels, m. Feb. 17, 1802, Sail}'' Gunn. 

DAVIDSON. 

Arthur B.^ Davidson (Benjamin B.^ of Fitzwilliam),h. March 
9, 1855 ; m. Dec. 19, 1881, Jennie M. (b. Dec. 7, 1857) daughter of 
Simeon H. Holbrook. Child : Hugh C, b. Feb. 15, 1888. 

darling. 

George- Darling {3Trs. Olive^ Darling of Nortlifield, Mass.), m., 1st, 
Emily Thayer; m., 2d, Jan. 26,. 1841, Mrs. Miriam Thayer; d. 
Dec. 31, 1849. Children : Aaron T., b. Oct. 12, 1824. Elijah S., b. 
Oct. 10, 1826. Lowell W., b. July 25, 1829. Mary Louisa, b. March 
4, 1832. Susan, b. June 14, 1835; d. May 1, 1849. Olive J., b. 
Sept. 5, 1837; d. March 6, 1838. Emily, b. Dec. 18, 1841 ; d. Dec. 
9, 1858. 

Lovtell W.3 Darling {George'^), h. 3 \\\y 25, 1829; d. Sept. 17, 
1862 ; m. Eliza Houghton. Child : Edgar E., b. March 26, 1858 ; d. 
Nov. 26, 1858. 



324 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



DAY. 

Ralph Day, the emigrant ancestor of the Swanze^y Days, was in Ded- 
ham, Mass., as earl3'as Jan. 1, 1645 ; ni. Oct. 12, 1647, Susan Fairbanks 
of tliat town. The line of descent from Ralph Day to Israel Day 
who settled in Swanzey was John,^ b. Apr. 5, 1654, in Dedham. John,^ 
b. Oct. 11, 1679, at Dedham ; he settled in Wrentham, Mass. 

Israel^ Day {John,^ JoJm,'^ Ralph,'^ of Dedham), h. Nov. 2, 1713 ; 
m. May 23, 1739, Maria Ileaton of Wrentham ; d. Jan. 8, 1776. 
Cliildren : Abigail, b. Aug. 2, 1740; d. Aug. 9, 1740. Jonathan, 
b. Jan. 24, 1742. Keziah, b. JMarch 4, 1744 ; m. Jan. 4, 1770, Ziba 
Ware of Winchester; d. March 8, 1792. Daniel, b. June 24, 1747. 
Josepli, b. about 1750; d. Nov. 31, 1782. Jacob, d. Apr. 20, 1779. 
Hannah, d. May 14, 1779. Beriah, b. about 1758 j d. in Dec, 1824. 

Jonathan^ Day (Israel,'^ John,^ John,- Ecd2)h^ of Dedham) ^h . Jan. 

24, 1742; m. Miriam Very (d. Aug. 1, 1793), of Worcester, Mass.; 
d. Dec. 20, 1799. 

Joseph^ Day {Israel,^ John,^ John,^ Ralj)h^), b. about 1750; m. 
Dec. 28, 1780, Susan Hefflon ; d. Nov. 31, 1782. 

Beriah^ Day (Israel,"^ John, ^ John,^ BaJjyh^), b. about 1758; m. 
July 6, 1784, Rose Heffron ; d. in Dec, 1824. Children : Betty, d. in 
infancy. Susan, d. aged 19 years. Sarah, b. 1789 ; m, Nicholas 
Howes. 

Amos Day, m. Nov. 2, 1781, Abigail Wright of Warwick, Mass. 
Children : Asa, b. May 16, 1783. Calvin, b. Jan. 31, 1785. Jere- 
miah, b. Apr. 2, 1790. 

Enoch^ Day {Joseph^ of Wrentham, Mass.), b. Dec 6, 1771 ; m. 
Rebecca Lawrence. Children: Melinda A.,m. Jonathan Hill, Nov. 

25, 1812. Joseph, b. Oct. 14, 1799 ; d. in Chesterfield. 

Benjamin^ Day (Caleb^ of Wrentham, Mass.), b. Feb. 18, 1748 ; m. 
Sept. 10, 1778, Elizabeth Larden of Wrentham, Mass. 

dickerman. 
Fred H.2 Dickerman (Charles'^ of Hinsdale), b. June 15, 1852; 
m., 1st, Jan. 17, 1884, Vara J. (b. Feb. 13, 1860; d. June 13, 1885), 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 325 

daughter of David Wilson ; m.,2nd, Oct., 1890, Lottie Ricliardsou of 
West Acton, Mass. 

DERBY. 

Webster D.^ Derby (./oeZi of Hinsdale), h. Feb. 10, 1840; m. 
March 16, 1867, Harriet A. (b. July 10, 1846), daughter of John Beal 
of Chesterfield. Children: Henry A., b. July 8, 1868. George N., 
b. May 6, 1871. John W., b. Aug. 27, 1873. Charles E., b. Oct. 
23, 1876. Nettie M. and Nellie S., twins, b. May 6, 1883. Nettie, 
d. June 6, 1883; Nellie, d. Oct. 22, 1883. Frank A., b. Feb. 15, 
1885. 

DICKINSON. 

Joseph^ Dickinson (Nathaniel^ of Deerjield, Mass.) ; ni., 1st, Car- 
oline — (d. March 19, 1777) ; m., 2nd, March 17,1778, Rebecca War- 
ren, Children: Rebecca, b. July 4, 1773; m. Jeremiah Gilmore. 
A child, d. Jan. 31, 1776. Caroline, b. Dec. 9, 1778; m. William 
Butterfield of Westmoreland. Submit, b. Oct. 8, 1781. John, b. 
Feb. 3, 1784. Joseph, b. June 24, 1786 ; d. Feb. 4, 1847. Joshua, 
b. Oct. 4, 1788 ; d. 8ept. 4, 1790. Luther, b. Feb. 24, 1791. Calista, 
b. Feb. 8, 1793. Delana, b. Feb., 1795. Polly, b. Aug. 19, 1798. 

Nathaniel^ Dickinson (Nathaniel^ of Deerjield, 3Iass.), b. 1745; 
m. May 15, 1770, Caroline Cummiug ; d. March 25, 1814. Children: 
William, b. July 16, 1771. Azariah, b. May 2, 1774. Nathaniel, b. 
Sept. 25, 1776. Asa, b. Sept. 10, 1778. Aaron, b. Oct. 30, 1780; 

d. . Aaron, 2ud, b. Feb. 17, 1783. Abel, b. May 25, 1785. 

Israel, b. Nov. 12, 1787. Rachel Hale, an adopted daughter, bapt. 
Aug. 5, 1787. 

William^ Dickinson {Nathaniel,'^ Nathaniel^), b. July 16, 1771 ; m. 
Apr. 24, 1800, Lucinda Gardner of Sunderland, Mass. Children : Eras- 
tus, b. 1800. Caroline. Nathaniel, b. Aug. 1, 1806. Arvilla. David S. 
Ansel, b. Feb. 22, 1822. Rollins. 

Azariah^ Dickinson {Nathaniel,^ Nathaniel^), b. May 2, 1774; 
m. Feb. 28, 1797, Elizabeth, daughter of Matthew Robley. Children : 
Sally, m. David Whitcomb. Joshua, bapt. May 5, 1811. Clarana, 
bapt. May 5, 1811. Eliza, bapt. May 5, 1811. Orriu, b. Nov. 28, 
1809. Manthana, bapt. Nov. 10, 1811. Harriet, bapt. July 10, 
1814. 



326 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Nathaniel^ Dickinson {Nathaniel,^ Nathaniel^), b. Sept. 25, 1776. 

AsA^ Dickinson {NatJiwiiel,- Nathaniel^), h. Sept. 10, 177S; m. 

Betty . Children: Koweiia, bapt. July 18, 1811. Asa, b. Oct. 

10, 1806. Betsey, bapt. July 18, 1811. Zibu, bapt. June 4, 1815. 

Aaron^ Dickinson {Nathaniel^^ NathanieV- of Deerjield), b. Feb. 
17, 1783 ; m. Feb. 16, 1808, Polly (b. Sept. 4, 1787 ; d. Oct. 2, 1873) 
daughter of Jonathan Whitcomb ; d. in Oct., 1837. Children : Nathan- 
iel, d. March 8, 1813. Alexander, d. Sept. 5, 1811. JNIary, b. Oct. 

6, 1812; d. Oct. 17, 1837. Martha, b. Aug. 4, 1814. Alexander, b. 
March 5, 1817. Aaron, b. Nov. 29,1821; killed in battle. Sarah, 
b. Dec. 30, 1823. Laura, b. Aug. 9, 1827 ; m. Wellington Kingsley 
of Williamsburg, Mass. 

Abel^ Dickinson (NatJianiel,- Nathaniel of Deerfield) , b. May 25, 
1785; in. Sept. 27, 1815, Abigail (b. Aug. 18, 1786; d. Sept. 25, 
1860) daughter of Hezekiah Scott; d. July 28, 1865. Children : Ka- 
chel, b. Oct. 24, 1816 ; m. Albert A. Fasset of Winchester. Lucy, b. 
Feb. 1, 1819 ; d. Dec. 8, 1820. Harriet Ann, b. Dec. 23, 1821 ; d. 
Mar. 26, 1839. George, b. Apr. 2, 1825. Cordelia, b. May 28, 1830. 

Erastus^ Dickinson {William,^ Nathaniel,^ Nat]ianieU)^\>. 1800; 
in. July, 1828, Esther (b. July 14, 1799 ; d. Apr. 7, 1877), daughter 
of Moses Hills ; d. July 22, 1865. 

Nathaniel^ Dickinson {William,^ Nathaniel,^ Nathaniel^) ^ b. Aug. 
1, 1806; m. Apr. 18, 1839, Lucina (b. Oct. 18, 1816), daugliter of 
David Hill; d. Aug. 2, 1866. Children: Lucinda Keziah, b. May 19, 
1840 ; m. Joseph Read of Ashuelot. Laura Lucina, b. Aug. 12, 1841 ; 
d. Nov. 4, 1843. Ansel Byron, b. Jan. 15, 1843. Lora Ellen, b. 
Dec. 1, 1844; d. June 4, 1858. Joseph Gardner, b. Sept. 3, 1847. 
Mary Calista, b. March 9, 1849; m. George Smith of Hinsdale. 
Nathaniel William, b. Sept. 25, 1850. John Henry, b. 1851 ; d. Jan. 

7, 1863. Frances Lovilla, b. May 11, 1853 ; d. Dec. 27, 1862. Louisa 
Jenette, b. Sept. 8, 1855. Daniel B., b. Sept. 20, 1857. Addie Jane, 
b. Nov. 19, 1859; m. Clarence J. Eames. Charles W., b. Nov. 10, 
1861. 

Ansei.^ Dickinson {William,^ Nathaniel,'^ NathayiieP), b. Feb. 22, 
1822 ; m., 1st, 1852, Jane L. Boleyn (d. shortly after m.) of Hinsdale ; 
m., 2nd, Mary Theresa Felch of Winchester; d. Aug. 1889. Chil- 
dren : La Fell, Milan A., John H. and William Eugene. 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 327 

Orrin"* Dickinson {Azariah,^ Nathaniel,- NatJianieP), b. Nov. 28, 
1809 ; m., 1st, April 4, 1833, Mary Ann (d. April, 1840), daughter of 
Joshua Lawrence of Roxbury ; m., 2nd, Sept. 15, 1840, Emily H. (b. 
Dec. 14, 1819), daughter of Aaron Wilson of Keene ; d. Sept. 7, 
1890. Children: Ellen E., b. April 13, 1837. Wallace G., b. Aug. 
14, 1839. Elmer F, b. June 25, 1841 ; d. Dec. 13, 1858. Fanny M., 
b. Feb. 27, 1843 ; m. Charles Gilmore. James W., b. Jan. 9, 1846. 
Charles H., b. Nov. 15, 1848. Anna E., b. March 24, 1851; m. 
Charles E.Page. Abbot W., b. Dec. 7, 1854. Elvie, b. Oct. 1, 
1856; d. Dec. 13, 1858. Frank O., b. Jan. 10, 1859. Whitney, b. 
Aug, 2, 1861. Harry, b. May 22, 1865. 

Ansel B.^ Dickinson {Natlianiel,'^ William,'^ Natliayiiel,^ NatJianiel^), 
b. Jan. 15, 1843 ; m. Jan. 1, 1868, Mary A. (b. Dec. 8, 1850), daugh- 
ter of Thomas J. Noyes of Boston, Mass. Children: Anna F., b. 
March 31, 1869. Flora E., b. Nov. 8, 1870. Nathaniel J., b. April 
20, 1872; d. March 12, 1884. Esther Jane, b. Sept. 3, 1873. Ida 
Belle, b. May 26, 1876. Rosilla H., b. Nov. 4, 1880. Ansel B., b. 
Jan. 24, 1882. David W., b. May 24, 1883. 

Joseph G.^ Dickinson {Nathaniel,'^ William,^ Nathaniel,- Nathan- 
iel^), b. Sept. 3, 1847; m. Aug. 20, 1879, Mary M. (b. Aug. 7, 1862), 
daughter of Cyrus G. Eaton. Child : Pearl I,, b. July 23, 1880. 

Nathaniel W.^ Dickinson {Nathaniel,^ William,^ Nathaniel,'^ 
Natlianiel^), b. Sept. 25, 1850; m. Mary Alice, daughter of Jarvis 
Ino;alls of Richmond. 



'O^ 



Daniel B.^ Dickinson (Nathaniel,'^ William,^ Nathaniel,^ Nathan- 
iel^), b. Sept. 20, 1857 ; m. Marion M. (b. Aug. 28, 1861), daughter 
of Jarvis Cass of Richmond. 

Charles H.^ Dickinson {Orrin^, Azariah,^ Nathaniel,- Nathaniel^), 
m. 1881, Abbie M. Kendall. 

Abbot W.^ Dickinson {Orrin,'^ Azariah,^ Nathaniel,^ NathanieV-), 
b. Dec. 7, 1854 ; m. Oct. 30, 1876, Addie E., daughter of Francis B. 

Cass. 

Frank 0.'' Dickinson {Orrin,'^ Azariah,^ Nathaniel,'^ Nathaniel^) , 
b. Jan. 10, 1859 ; m. Feb. 12, 1879, Lillian A., daughter of Leander 
Page. Child : Augustus L., b. Apr. 26, 1879. 



328 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

John W.- Dickinson (3fr. Dkkinson^ of Harvard, 3fass.),in. Feb. 
27, 18G7, Harriet A. (b. April 3, 1842, in Swanzey), daughter of Carl- 
ton Parker. Children : S. Carlton, b. Dec. 29, 1867, in Ayer, Mass. 
John Willard, b. Sept. 22, 1872. Mary, b. Dec. 6, 1875; d. Jan. 20, 
1876. D. Harrison, b. Oct. 27, 1878. George G. P., b. Jan. 12, 
1882. 

Daniel H.^ Dickinson (3Tr. DicJcinson^ of Harvard, 3fass.), b. 
Sept. 12, 1843, in Swanzey; in. Cordelia E., daughter of Carlton Par- 
ker. Children: Lois E., b. Sept. 29, 1867. Anna Ma}-, b. Nov. 
15, 1868. 

DODGE. 

John Dodge had a child d. Dec. 1, 1760. 

Joshua Dodge had a child d. Aug. 11, 1760. 

Phinehas Dodge and Betty Morse were m. Feb. 8, 1791. 

Frank 0.2 Dodge (Abram^ of Chester, Vt.), b. Oct. 15, 1860 ; m. 
Nov. 26, 1884, Alma Jane (b. March 14, 1868), daughter of James 
Monroe Ballou. Child : Guy F., b. Oct.' 20, 1885. 

DOLBY. 

Frederick Dolby, b. April 5, 1850, in England ; m. March 9, 1874, 
Margaret Bolton (b. Aug. 4, 1849), in Hamilton, Canada. Cliildren : 
Sarah, b. April 26, 1875. Malvena, b. Feb. 28, 1879. Nellie, b. 
Dec. 31, 1881. George, b. Jan. 2, 1884. 

downing. 
Franklin- Downing (Janies^ of Marlow, N. H.),h. Sept. 1, 1821 ; 
m. Aug. 31, 1854, Mary L, (b. Dec. 4, 1831), daughter of Jonatlian 
D.Ware. Children: Fayette F., b. Sept. 25,^ 1856. Clarence W., 
b. Aug. 12, 1859. Mary A., b. Feb. 7, 1862. Eugene A., b. May 5, 
1864 ; d. July 26, 1867. Arthur A., b. Oct. 31, 1867 ; d. April, 1868. 
Marshall W., b. March 15, 1870. Florence L., b. April 2, 1872. 

Fayette F.^ Downing (Franklin,^ James^), b. Sept. 25, 1856 ; m. 
Sept. 14, 1886, Addie J. Stanley (b. Apr. 25, 1864). Child : Mabel 
K., b. Dec. 18, 1888. 

Clarence W. 3 Downing {Franklin,- James^) ,h. Aug. 12, 1859 ; m. 
Nov. 29, 1886, Lela R. Roundy. Child : Morton F., b. Nov. 7, 1887. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 329 



DRAPF.R. 

Abram- Draper {Samuel^ of Chesterfield), b. Aug. 15, 1805, in 
Chesterfield ; m. Dec. 31, 1829, Sarah (b. July 29, 1803), daughter of 
Samuel March of Alstead ; d. Sept. 7, 1884. Children : George W., 
b. Sept. 22, 1830, in Chesterfield. Abbie A., b. Sept. 13, 1832 ; m. 
Enoch Howes. Harriet H., b. Dec. 31, 1846, in Alstead ; d. Sept. 14, 
1850. 

Geok&e W. 3 Draper (yl&ram,2 Samuel^), h. Sept. 22, 1830; ra. 
Dec. 16, 1852, Maria L. (b. June 4, 1831), daughter of Grove Bidwell. 
Child : Emma L., b. March 12, 1859 ; d. July 3, 1878. 

DREAVRT. 

Horace Drewry, m. Jan. 17, 1828, Sally Thompson, daughter of 
Samuel Thompson. 

DUNHAM. 

Levi Dunham and his wife Belinda had : Delia, b. May 19, 1816. 

DUNTON. 

Elijah Dunton, d. in 1786. 

DURANT. 

Levi Durant, m. Aug. 19, 1779, Mary, daughter of William Wright. 
Children: Sabra, b. Feb. 12, 1781; m. Edward Goddard. John, 
b. Oct. 18, 1783. William, b. Dec. 14, 1785. Levi, b. Nov. 21, 1787. 
Polly, bapt. Apr. 14, 1793. Luther, bapt. Jan. 10, 1796. 

JoHN^ Durant {Levi^), b. Oct. 18, 1783 ; ra. Nov. 23, 1806, Han- 
nah White (b. 1787; d. Apr. 2, 1813). Child: William Wright, b. 
June 25, 1807. 

DUSTON. 

Gardner Duston, m. Rachel . Children : Dorcas Pollard, b. 

May 2, 1764. Pearly, b. Aug. 26, 1766. Alithea, b. Sept. 13, 1768. 
Cyrus, b. Feb. 23, 1771. Presson, b. Apr. 13, 1773. 

DWINNEL. 

David Dwinnel m. Susan, daughter of Josiah Woodward ; she 
was b. 1786; d. Oct. 6, 1861. 



330 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



EAMKS. 

Jethro Eames and his wife Ahiah had three children : Abigail. 
Charles. Phineas, d. Sept. 22, 1744, in Swiinzey. 

Thomas^ Eames, a brickmaker, b. about 1618, came to America as 

early as 1634, and settled in Framingham ; m., 1st, Margarette ; 

m., 2d, Mary, daughter of John Blanford of Sudl)nry ; d. Jan. 25, 1680. 
Slie was killed by the Indians with five of her children in 1776. Had 
twelve children, one of whom was John.- 

JoHN^ Eames {TJiomas,^ a hrkhnaker) ^ b. Oct. 6, 1642, in Dedham, 
Mass. ; m., 1st, Mary Adams; m., 2d, Elizabeth Eames; d. Dec. 14, 
1733, in Framingham. Had ten children ; among the sons was Ilenry,^ 
who continues the line. 

HenryS Eames (John,^ Thomas^), b. Apr. 28, 1698; m. Nov. 12, 
1722, Ruth Newton ; d. March 11, 1761. Had ten children, the third 
one of the family was Henry.'* 

Henry"* Eames (Henr?/,3 Jb7»i, 2 TJioynas^), b. Apr. 30, 1726, in 
Framingham ; m. May 13, 1750, Lois, daughter of Peter How of Hop- 
kinton, Mass. Had nine children : Henry. Gershom. Jotham, b. 
1756. Lois. Lucy. Ruth. Peter. Nabby. Luther ; d. 1792 in Fram- 
ingham. 

Jotham^ Eames {Ilenry,^ Henry,^ John.,- Thomas^), h. 1756; m. 
May 24, 1787, Eusebia (d. April 11, 1856), daughter of Rev. Wil- 
liam Goddard ; d. Feb. 21, 1841. Children : William G., b. June 16, 
1788. Lucy, b. Oct. 16, 1790. Jotham, b. Oct. 11, 1793. Eusebia, b. 
March 18, 1800; m. Samuel Winchester and removed to Sullivan. 
Rhoda, b. April 30, 1804. Maria, m. William Ames and lives in Hud- 
son, Michigan. 

William Goddard^ Eames {Jothccm,^ Henry, ^ Henry ^^ John,- Thorn- 
as^), b. June 16, 1788 ; m. April 22, 1813, Clarissa (1). Nov. 2>^, 1792 ; 
d. Jan. 14, 1867), daughter of Amos Bailey ; d. April 2, 1861. Chil- 
dren : Cynthia, b. May 1, 1814 ; m. Sept. 16, 1834, Jonathan D. Tur- 
ner of Jaffrey. Louisa, b. Sept. 22, 1815; d. Feb. 17, 1844. Henry, 
b. July 24, 1817. Zilpha, b. April 4, 1821 ; d. July 31, 1837. Claris- 
sa, b. Aug. 10, 1828 ; m. Lyman N. Howes. William, b. March 22, 
1831 ; d. June 26, 1884, in California. Eusebia, b. Oct. 21, 1834; m. 
George Moore (d. May 25, 1880, in California). 





€?^77il^ 



GENEALOGICAL RECOKUS. 331 

JoTHAM^ Eajies (JotJiam,^ Henry ^'^ Henry, ^ John,^ TJiomas^) , h. 
Oct. 11, 1793 ; m. Sept. 7, 1819, Kezia M. (b. Sept. 23, 1794 ; d. Sept. 
1891), daughter of David Ely of Lyme, Conn. ; d. March 11, 1850. 
Children: Lucy, d. young. Sarah Ann, b. June 30, 1820; d. July 
19, 1820. David Ely, b. Feb. 22, 1822 ; d. April 3, 18fi4. Lucy 
Ann, b. Aug. 28, 1823; m. Jan. 27, 1854, Ephraim Kidder of Mich- 
igan. James C, b. June 17, 1825. Nancy, b. Feb. 27, 1827; m. 
Henr}' H. Atwood. Kezia M., b. Jan. 1, 1829 ; m. Hastings Caipen- 
ter. Rhoda, d. April 10, 1830. Rhoda M., b. Jan. 25, 1830; m. 
Orlando Ames of Michigan. JothamC, b. Dec. 9, 1834 ; d. Feb. 2, 
1841. Frederic P., b. Jan. 21, 1838 ; d. March 25, 1840. 

Henry''' Fames (William G.,^ Jotham,^ Henry,^ Henry,^ John,^ 
Thomas,^ from England), b. July 24, 1817; m., 1st, May 1, 1844, 
Eliza Ann (b. June 15, 1820 ; d. Dec. 8, 1867), daughter of Joseph 
Brown ; m., 2d, Sept. 20, 1868, Mrs. E. A. Allen (b. Aug. 14, 1827). 
He d. Nov. 7, 1886. Children : Frank H., b.Feb. 22, 1845. George H., 
b. May 25, 1847. Floretta M., b. March 11, 1849 ; m. John Ballon. 
Fred B., b. Dec. 3, 1851. Harriet A., b. Sept. 16, 1856 ; m. Willis 
Hutchinson. Eliza A., b. June 14, 1859 ; m. Simeon E. Cameron of 
Keene. 

James C.''' Fames {Jotham,^ Jotham,^ Henry,'^ Henry,"^ JoJin,^ 
Thomas^), h. June 17, 1825 ; m., 1st, Aug. 13, 1844, Martha M. (b. 
March 13, 1827), daughter of Lawson Moore ; m., 2d, July 23, 1864, 
Ellen F. Higgins of Hinsdale (widow of Francis J. Porter) ; d. April 
19, 1888. Children : p:mma F., b. Nov. 2, 1847 ; m. George S. i:ilis ; 
d. Nov. 9, 1863. Ella M., b. Sept. 2, 1851 ; m. Theodore H. Miller 
of Washington, D. C. Clarence J., b. Aug. 7, 1853. Ozro C, b. Dec. 
10, 1857 ; d. Nov. 21, 1863. Arthur E., b. Oct. 15, 1870. 

Frank H.^ Fames {Henry,'' William G.,^ Jotham,^ Henry, '^ Henry ^^ 
Jolin,'^ Thomas^), b. Feb. 22, 1845 ; m. Etta A. Williams. Children : 
Percy. Willie. 

George H.s Fames (H'en?-?/,''' William G.,^Jotham,^ Henry, ^ Henry, ^ 
Jolin,^ Thomas^), b. May 5, 1847 ; m. March 22, 1876, Margaret An- 
derson of Keene. Child : George Herbert, b. Aug. 25, 1884. 

Fred B.^ Fames {Henry,'' William G.,^ Jotliam,^ Henry, ^ Henry, ^ 
John,- Thomas)^, b. Dec. 3, 1851; m. June, 1876, Louie Toye. 
Child : Harry, b. 1883. 



332 HISTORY OF SWANZET. 

Clarence J.^ EAMEs(t7a??ie.s C," Jotham,^' Jotham/' Henry, '^ Henry, ^ 
John,- Thomas^), b. Aug. 7, 1853; m. Nov. 8, 1875, Addie Jane (b. 
Nov. 19, 1859), daughter of Nathaniel Dickinson, 3rd. Children: 
Clarence N., b. Nov. 1, 187G. Walter Lee, b. Sept. 30, 1878; d. 
Feb. 28, 1880. Cressie, b. Apr. 9, 1884. 

EASTMAN. 

George W.^ Eastman {Carlton^ of Hartland, Vt.), b. ]May 18, 
1830; m. June 18, 1852, Jane (b. Aug. 26, 1834) daughter of James 
Tufts of Keene. Children : Augusta C, b. Nov. 5, 1853 ; m. Osman 
Bidwell. Alice, b. Aug. 20, 1855 ; m. George G. Page. Charles C, 

b. June 3, 1857 ; d. Apr. 11, 1858. Emily Jane, b ; m. Walter 

E. Ilewes. Jenney, b. May 1, 1861 ; m. Jan. 1, 1882, Lorin Wliite 
of Marlborough. Sarah Lizzie, b. June 3, 1863; d. Oct. 14, 1865. 
Jesse, b. Aug. 17,1865. John C, b. Oct. 10, 1867; d. March 30, 
1873. William Henry, b. June 10, 1870. George Frank, b. Apr. 25, 
1872. Robert R., b. Apr. 29, 1876. 

Erdix S.2 Eastman {Amos^ of Corinth, Vt.), b. March 15, 1836; 
m. Oct. 29, 1872, Emma E. (b. Dec. 12, 1843), daughter of Irus Met- 
calf. Children: Josie E., b. Sept. 6; 1873; d. Dec. 1, 1878. Roy 
E., b. Jan. 15, 1881. 

EATON. 

Jedutiiun Eaton m., 2nd, Nov. 14, 1844, Mrs. Phebe Turtelot of 
Winchester. Child : Joel, b. in Winchester, July 25, 1800. 

Joel^ Eaton (Jednthnn^ of Winchester) , b. July 25, 1800 ; m. Mary 
AnnAVooUey (b. May 16, 1807) of AYinchester ; d. June 3, 1863. Chil- 
dren : Martha A., b. in Chesterfield, Dec. 25, 1832 ; ra. July 2, 1856, 
George A. Leonard. F. Loyd, b. June 22, 1835, in Chestei field ; 
resides in Michigan. Mary Lorette, b. June 16, 1837, in West- 
moreland. Francis H., b. July 8, 1839 ; d. Sept. 10, 1856. Amasa R., 
b. Nov. 23, 1841 ; d. May 29, 1859. Ellen F., b. Dec. 3, 1844; d. 
March 17, 1874. Joel M., b. Nov. 5, 1848; resides in Michigan. 

Joel^ Eaton {Abel,^ Samuel,^ Samuel,^ Jonathan,^ Jonas^ who 
came from Evgland prior to 1640, later from Reading), m. Eunice (b. 
March 4, 1801) daughter of Abraham Stearns; removed to Wood- 
stock, Vt. Children : Augusta, Elizabeth, Ellen, and Jolm S. 

Orleans S.'^ Eaton {Loren,'^ AheU^ Samuel^ of Holden, Mass., 
SamueP of Worcester, Jonathan? of Reading, Mass., Jonas^ who came 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 333 

from England prior to 1640 and settled in Reading^ Mass.)^ b. Dec. 

17, 1833 ; m., 1st, Dec. 31, 1863, Ellen E. (b. March 3, 1842 ; c1. Feb. 
16, 1877), daiigliter of Rev. Tiistan Aldrich ; m,,2n(l, Jan. 12, 1887, 
Mrs. Adelphia Thayer (tl. Ang. 25, 1888), daughter of Benjamin F. 
Draper. Children: Herbert J., b. Nov. 25, 1864. Willie O., b. 
Ang. 27, 1869. Mabel L., b. March 5, 1873 ; d. Sept. 4, 1888. Cora 
Ellen, b. Feb. 10, 1877. 

James T.^ Eaton {Ahel^^ Samuel,'^ Samuel,^ Joyiathan,^ Jonas,^ of 
England iwior to 1640), b. June 22, 1813 ; m., Jnly 10, 1845, Martha 
N. (b. June 26, 1824 ; d. March 19, 1863) daughter of Joseph Snow ; 
d. Jan. 25, 1872. Chihlren : James Harvey, b. Jan. 30, 1847 ; d. June 

18, 1864, at Washington, D. C. Humphrey G., b. April 9, 1849. 
Alfred S., b. June 30, 1851. Addie J., b. Feb. 29, 1856. 

Humphrey G.''' Eaton {James T.,^ Abel,^ Samuel,'^ Samtiel,^ Jona- 
than,^ Jonas^),h. April 9, 1849 ; ni. Sept. 5, 1875, Julia M. (b. March 
9, 1849) , daughter of E. G. and M. P. Goodell of Winchester. Chil- 
dren : Addie Geneva, b. June 3, 1877. Ned Herman, b. July 20, 1879. 
Carl Wesley, b. July 30, 1882. Delia L., b.' June 4, 1884. Children 
all born at Winchester. 

^ Ellis. 

George W.' Ellis (formerly of Keene), b. Jan. 29, 1809 ; m., 1st, 
Dec, 1837, Louisa (b. Jan. 25, 1818 ; d. March 24, 1856), daughter of 
Mr. Farwell of Nelson ; m., 2nd, Sarah P., daughter of Daniel Thomp- 
son, of Keene. Cliildren : George S., b. March 10, 1838. D. Warren, b. 
Nov. 7, 1839. Al)bie L., b. Oct. 9, 1841 ; m. Homer E. White of 
Marlborough. Elbridge C, b. June 22, 1843. J. Lucius, b. Jan. 
27, 1845. Anna M., b. Feb. 8, 1848 ; m. Arthur F. Bigelovv of Keene, 
May 28, 1877. Emma S., b. March 31, 1850; m. Everett Adams. 
Ella W. (twin to Emma S.), b. March 31, 1850; m. Charles W. 
Pierce of Keene. Hattie M., b. Apr. 11, 1852; d. Sept. 10, 1854. 

George S.^ Ellis (George WA), b. March 10, 1838 ; ra., 1st, Aug. 
6, 1863, Emma F. (b. Nov. 2, 1847; d. Nov. 9, 1863), daughter of 
James C. Eames ; m., 2nd, Oct. 11, 1864, Nellie M. (b. Apr. 15, 
1840), daughter of Hiram Forbusli. 

D. Warren2 Ellis (George WA), b. Nov. 7, 1839; m. Jan. 2, 
1878, Annie M. Heustis of Boston. Child : Georgiana, b. Feb. 26, 
1882. 

23 



334 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Abbie L.2 Ellis (George TF.i), b. Oct. 9, 1841 ; m. June 15, 1863, 
Homer E. White (b. June 12, 1840), of Marlborough. Children: 
Walter H., b. Sept. 4, 18G7, in Marlborough. Louie and May, b. 
Apr. 3, 1873, in Keene ; May d. Apr. 3, 1873 ; Louie d. Apr. 5, 1873. 

Elbkidge C.2 Ellis {George W.^), b. June 22, 1843; ni. May, 
1871), Clara E. Hill of Belmont, Mass. 

J. Lucius^ Ellis (George TF.i), b. Jan. 27, 1845; m. Feb. 10, 
1869, Grace A., daughter of Mr. Gurnsey, of Keene. Children: O. 
Mabel, b. in Keene, Sept. 8, 1871. Jessie G., b. Jan. 18, 1873, in Som- 
erville, Mass. Maude G., b. July 18, 1877, in Waverly, Mass,; d. 
Sept. 9, 1878. 

Ella W.2 Ellis (George WJ), b. INLarch 31, 1850; m. Oct. 23, 
1872, Charles W. Pierce of Keene. Children : Florence L., b. Aug. 
2, 1875. Arthur G., b. Dec. 16, 1880. 

George W.- Ellis (George^ of Keene), b. March, 1829 ; m. July 3, 
1852, Louisa (b. Sept. 28, 1827), daughter of David Hill. Children : 
Etta Jane, b. Oct. 11, 1852 ; m. in July, 1876, James Castle ; d. March 
26, 1883. Abbie Louisa, b. March ^21, 1854; ni. Charles Davis of 
Bellows Falls. Emma C, b. Oct. 24, 1855 ; m. Herbert Raymond of 
Keene. George T., b. Jan. 24, 1858. David,»b. Nov. 28, 1859. 
Helen Sophia, b. March 16, 1866. Murter K., b. Sept. 24, 1868. 

George T.^ Ellis (George TF.,- George^ of Keene), b. Jan. 24, 
1858 ; m. Minnie Hendricks of Keene. 

ELLOR. 

Ldke Ellor, b. March 31, 1836, in Canada; m. Dec. 16,1854, 
Harriet M. (b. Dec. 25, 1835), daughter of Josiah B. Cass. Children: 
Mary I., b. Nov. 11, 1855 ; d. Nov. 9, 1859. Emma J., b. March 8, 
1858; m. John F. Ballon. George C, b. July 14, 1861 ; d. Oct. 6, 
1870. Eva L., b. Feb. 15, 1869 ; m. Frank Carlton of Winchester, 
Plora A., b. Dec. 7, 1870; m. Fred Spring. Leon C, b. Aug. 10, 
1873. 

EMERSON. 

Ezra2 Emerson (CaleW of Marlborough), h. 1788; m.May 7, 1815, 
:Sally (b. 1798; d. Nov. 26, 1878), daughter of Oliver Carter of 
Marll)orough ; d. Sept. 6, 1861. Children : Franklin Carter, b. Aug. 
19, 1815 ; d. young. Lucinda A., b. May 21, 1817, in Marlborough ; 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 335 

m. Sylvester Whitcomb. Jerome Oliver, b. Dec. 23, 1818. Phebe 
Carter, b. Nov. 18, 1820. Marietta, b. Apr. 21, 1822; ra. Jacob Polly 

of Gilsnm. An infant, b. June 1, 1824 ; d. . Joseph Frencli, b. July 

12, 1825 ; d. Jan, 19, 1841. Laura, b. Sept. 27, 1827 ; m., 1st, George 
Kendall of Troy ; m., 2nd, Ansel Martin of Richmond. An infant son, 
b. June 24, 1829. Sally M., b. June 23, 1830; d. Sept. 19, 1837. 
Irena, b. March 6, 1836 ; m. — Scott, of "Winchester. 

EMERY. 

George E.3 Emery (Daniel,^ Daniel^ of York, 3fe.), b. Oct. 24, 
1846, at Great Falls; m. Oct. 24, 1866, Mary (d. Jan. 27, 1868), 
daughter of Theodore Ricker of Great Falls; m., 2nd, March 12, 
1870, Carrie M., daughter of Mark N. Silsbee of Wakefield. Cliil- 
dren: George F., b. Jan. 15, 1868. Edgar C, b. Jan. 6, 1871. 
Archie C, b. June 30, 1872 ; d. Jan. 10, 1878. Frank S., b. Dec. 2, 
1874. Berthold L., b. Oct. 6, 1877. Addie M., b. Jan. 24, 1879. 
Raymond, b. June 15, 1886. Florence M., b. Aug. 17, 1889 ; d. 
Sept. 22, 1889. 

Edgar C.^ Emery (George E.,^ Daniel,'^ Daniel^) , b. Jan. 6, 1871 ; 
m. Oct., 1890, Florence M. (b. March 8, 1872), daughter of Norris C. 
Carter. 

EVANS. 

Homer W.2 Evans (Charles^ of Halifax, Vt.), b. Oct. 12, 1834; 
m. March 11, 1862, Mary A. (b. Sept. 14, 1841), daughter of James 
Stone of Readsborough, Vt. He d. June 11, 1884. Children : Ned 
H., b. Aug. 17, 1865. Leon E., b. Oct. 7, 1874; d. Dec. 12, 1874. 
Maud S., b. Sept. 17, 1875. 

Henry B.^ Evans (Charles^), b. Feb. 7, 1841 ; m. Sept. 8, 1875, 
Julia A. Perry of Malone, N. Y. -Child : Lelia P., b. June 14, 

1881. 

JoHN^ Evans (Peter^ of BoUon, 3/ass.), b. 1711 ; m. Lydia (b. 
Aug. 24, 1720; d. Apr. 2, 1806), daughter of Benjamin Doolittle of 
Northfield, Mass ; d. Feb. 23, 1781, in Hinsdale. Child d. in Swan- 
zey in 1740. 

EVELETH. 

Charles E.^ Eveleth (EUsha^ of Marloio),h. Aug., 1854; m. 
June 21, 1882, Mary Deziah (b. June 22, 1862), daughter of Albert 
R. Ballou. Child : Lottie M., b. Feb. 1, 1889. 



336 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



FAIRBANKS. 

Luther Fairbanks and his wife Thankful had : Luther bapt. Oct., 
1779. Sarah, bapt. Dec. 24, 1780. Abel, bapt. June 12, 1782. 

Calvin Fairbanks and his wife Jennette had: Nathan, d. Jan. 
14, 1777. Nathan, 2nd, bapt. Aug. 24, 1778. Polly, bapt. July 15, 
1781. Ebenezer, bapt. May 16, 1784. Wilder, bapt. Aug. 24, 1788. 

FAULKNER. 

Stephen^ Faulkner {William^ of Chesterfield), b. Feb. 14, 1816 ; 

m. June 27, 1847, Adaline T. (b. March 28, 1826), daughter of 

Samuel Holbrook, 2d; d. Aug. 31, 1885. Children: Addie Jane, b. 

June 19, 1849. Jonas, b. June 5, 1854 ; d. Sept. 9, 1854. Frank S., 

*b. Apr. 22, 1857. A. Gertrude, b. Oct. 10, 1858. 

George W. Faulkner of Chesterfield, b. April 15, 1828 ; ra. June 
14, 1854, Lizzie, daughter of Calvin Field. Children : P^mraa A., b. 
Nov. 12, 1855. Almon G., b. July 30, 1800. Charles W.,b. Aug. 
2, 1868 ; d. Jan. 4, 1877. 

FARNSVrORTH. 

MosES Farnsworth, m. Jan. 15, 1789, Martha, daughter of Nathan 
Woodcock. 

John Farnsworth, m. Oct. 12, 1791, Bethiah Harvej'. 

FARR. 

Alonzo^ Farr {WUUam,^ Isaac^ of Chesterfield, N. II.), b. May 
30, 1816, in Chesterfield ; m., 1st, Oct. 11, 1838, Sarah E. (b. Mtiy 4, 
1819), daughter of Mason Herrick ; ni., 2nd, Feb. 8, 1881, Phebe G. 
Stowell (b. May 14, 1822, in Newfane, Vt.) ; came from Keene to 
Ssvanzey in 1870. Cliildren : Sarah J., b. Oct. 18, 1839 ; m. William 
P. Coburn, Oct. 24, 1859. Helen A., b. June 21, 1841 ; m. Charles 
S. Fay, Sept. 13, 1865; d. July 17, 1889. Martha Ette, b. July 2, 
1847 ; d. June 18, 1848. Lloyd A., b. March 16, 1819 ; d. Sept. 16, 
1849. Fred W., b. Oct. 18, 1854 ; m. April 22, 1878, Ellen E. Bolles 
daughter of Randall Bolles ; d. May 29, 1884. 

Fred M. Farr, m. May 30, 1858, Mary J,, daughter of Elijah 
Hills ; resides in Keene. 

Henry I. Farr, m. Oct. 21, 1856, Sarah E. Wright (b. in Syra- 
cuse, N. y., March 8, 1830 ; d. April 25, 1887, in Swanzey). Chil- 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 337 

dren : Oscar R., b. Nov. 26, 1857, in Waterford, Vt. Walter P., b. 
June 4, 1866, in Putne}^ 

Oscar R.2 Farr {Henry 7.i), b. Nov. 26, 1857 ; m. Aug. 21, 1884, 
Emma L. (b. in Grafton, Vt.), daughter of E. B. Rugg. Children: 
G. Bernard, b. July 18, 1886 ; d. Feb. 7, 1887. W. Percy, b. March 

26, 1888. 

Walter P.^ Farr {Henry^), b. June 4, 1866, in Putnej', Vt. ; m. 
Nov. 30, 1889, Mrs. Gertrude M. Simonds (b. 1861), daughter of 
John Q. A. Wilson. 

FARRIS. 

Samuel S.- Farris {Samuel,^ of Yarmouth, Mass.), b. Jan. 23, 
1805 ; m. May 7, 1855, Clementine R. (b. March 23, 1819), daughter 
of Elisha Ramsdell. He d. Sept. 7, 1878. Child : Hattie E., b. July 
18, 1857 ; m. Frank Hewes. 

FASSETT. 

Albert A. Fassett, of Winchester, m. Nov. 18, 1846, Rachel (b. 
Oct. 24, 1816), daughter of Al)el Dickinson. Children : Hattie E., 
Henry, b. Apr. 18, 1849. Walter C. 

Henrt2 Fassett (Albert^), b. Apr., 1849 ; m. Nov. 5, 1876, Mary 
J., daughter of Joseph W. Cummings of Keene. Child : Warren H., 
b. March 2, 1880. 

fessenden. 
Timothy^ Fessenden had children : Timothy. John. Lucy, b. June 
26, 1795 ; ra. Israel Applin. Sally, d. Jan. 15, 1826. Nathan. Nancy, 
m. Benjamin Applin. Benjamin and Charles. 

Timothy'-^ Fessenden {Timothy^), m. Dec. 15, 1814, Angelina 
(bapt. Sept. 16, 1798), daughter of Mathew Robley. 

Nathan^ Fessenden (Timothy^) , m. Maria, daughter of Levi Blake. 

field. 
Calvin Field, b. May 4, 1787, in Winchester ; m., 1st, Lovice (b. 
June 28, 1798), daughter of John BoUes of Richmond ; m., 2nd, Feb. 
28, 1830, Sarah Poraroy. Children : Willard, b. Sept. 25, 1819. Lizzie, 
m. June 14, 1854, G. W. Faulkner. 



338 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

WiLLARD^ Field (Oalvin^), b. Sept. 25,1819; m. Nov. 6, 1859, 
Sophia, diuighter of Artenius Kixfoid of "Winchester. 

Ltman^ Field (Phinehas^ of Winchester), rn. Feb. 11, 1829, Lucy 
Read (d. June 3, 1866). Chihben : Elsie, b. 1833 ; ni. Arzu Iliggins; 
d. Feb. 5, 1873. Lyman, b. Nov. 20, 1837 ; d. June 18, 1862. 

Jekome C.2 Field (Erastus^ of Winchester), b. May 24, 1831 ; m., 
1st, Electa Guillovv of Gilsuin ; m., 2nd, Dec, 1859, INIaiy Ellen, 
daughter of Stephen Fay, of Walpole. Children : Mary E., b. Sept. 
14, 1861. Mattie J., b. Oct. 25, 1863. 

Zachariah Field of Winchester, m. Oct. 21, 1811, Meril)ah (b. 
March 27, 1785), daughter of John Pierce. Children: Alvin, George, 
b. 1814. Bradford, b. 1816. Harriet, b. 1819. Gilbert, 1821. Syl- 
via, b. 1821. 

FIFIELD. 

Stillman- FiFiELD {Paxil^ of Roxbury),h. June 12, 1802 ; m. Sept. 
28, 1828, Julia Robbins (b. in 1808s d. Apr. 5, 1881), of Nelson; 
d. Dec. 15, 1878. 

FISH. 

Seth Fish and wife had Lois, b. Ma3' 31, 1781. Chloe, b. Nov. 
23, 1782. Susanna, b. Jan. 25, 1786. Esther, b. in Aug., 1787. 

Farnum Fish, b. In Uxbridge, Mass., March 5, 1775; m. Feb. 25, 
1796, Rachel Thnyer (b. Aug. 27, 1778, in Mendon, Mass ; d. Oct. 20, 
1845) ; d. July 14, 1826. Children : Rachel T., b. July 27, 1796; m. 
Ezekiel Lane. Nathaniel, b. Feb. 18, 1799. Susan, b. Nov. 19,1802; 
m., 1st, Feb. 6, 1822, Alpheus Bridge; ra., 2d, Feb. 3, 1828, Daniel 
Slate of Bernardston, Mass. Mary, b. Feb. 17, 1805; d. Aug. 9, 
1840. Amos F., b. Apr. 29, 1809. Ezra T., b. May 28, 1813. Caro- 
line, b. Feb. 20, 1816; m. Abram Spofford, May 6, 1841. 

Nathaniel- Fish (Farman^ of Uxbridge), h. Feb. 18, 1799; m. 
May 10, 1823, Judith (1). in 1798; d. Nov. 20, 1837), daughter of 
Barzillai Streeter; d. May 13, 1839. Children: Rachel, b. Oct. 14, 
1824 ; m. Alonzo F. Lane. Nancy B., b. Sept. 24, 1827 ; m. Josiah 
Parsons. Susan M., b. Feb. 1, 1830 ; m. Elisha F. Lane. 

AmosF.2 Fish (Farnum^), b. Apr. 29, 1809; m. Aug, 26, 1834, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 339 

Lovilla (1), Nov. 3, 1812), daugliter of John Stratton. Children: 
Fayette Farnum, b. Aug. 22, 1836 ; d. March 3, 1839. John Strat- 
ton, b. Sept. 19, 1838. Nathaniel F., b. Dec. 15, 1840; d. May 5, 
1842. Ezra Farnum, b. Oct. 22, 1843. Ellen R., b. July 15, 1848 ; 
adopted by Mr. and Mrs. George W. Alexander. 

Ezra Thayer"2 Fish (Farnum^), b. May 28, 1813; m. Apr. 28, 
1850, Sarah Jane Campbell (b. Feb. 9, 1827) ; d. March 14, 1886. 
Children : Ella Amanda, b. March 23, 1851. Adeline S., b. Dec. 5, 
1854; d. May 29, 1855. Caroline Susan, b. Dec. 5, 1854; d. July 
15, 1858. P^arnum Thayer, b. Nov. 24, 1857. William Campbell, 
b. July 23, 1860. Charles Winthrop. 

FITZGERALD. 

John Fitzgerald, b. in Kerry County, Ireland, in 1825; m. in 

1849, Joanna Murphy (b. 1828). Children : Thomas J., b. Nov. 28, 

1850. Kate C, b. Dec. 5, 1852 ; m. Charles Hanrahan. Mary Ann, 
b. Sept. 8, 1854; d. Dec, 1862. Joanna, b. Dec. 6, 1856 ; d. Jan. 
1863. John, d. Jan., 1863. Frank, d. young. Elizabeth Jane, b. Jan. 
25, 1866. Charles, b. in 1868 ; d. in 1870. 

Thomas J.2 Fitzgerald (Johu^),h. Nov. 28, 1850; m. Feb. 23, 
1879, Ann Dorothy McPhee of Prince Edward Island. Children: 
Mary A., b. Nov. 1, 1880. John M., b. Jan. 31, 1884. Laura, b. 
Aug. 30, 1885. Vincent, b. Jan. 14, 1887. 

TiMOTHy Fitzgerald and wife Ellen Leahey, b. in Ireland. Chil- 
dren : Mary A., b. Jidy 20, 1875. Frank A. George. 

FLINT. 

Benjamin Flint, b. in Winchester, Nov. 17, 1784 ; m. Jan. 1, 1811, 
Harriet Rixford (b. Sept. 24, 1793, in Winchester). Children : AVil- 
liam R., b. June 19, 1812, in Stowe, Vt. Harriet, b. Aug. 13, 1813, 
in Stowe, Vt. Swain S., b. Dec. 21, 1818, in Winchester. Wilson, b. 
Sept. 11, 1820, in Youugstown, Ohio. Ephraim, b. iu Bloomfield, 
Ohio, Oct. 30, 1822; d. in Swanzey. Lucy A., b. Nov. 6, 1824, in 
Bloomfield, Ohio; m. Mr. Rice of South Royalston, Mass. Mary, b. 
May 15, 1827, in Winchester; d. in N. Y. City. Hepzi, b. Sept. 20, 
1859, in Winchester; d. in W^inchester. Daniel, b. May 9, 1832, in 
Swanze3\ 

William R.^ Flint (Benjamin^), b, June 19, 1812, and his wife Han- 
nah, had : Royal M., b. Feb. 28, 1836. Harriet Rand, b. Oct. 1, 1837 ; 



340 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

d. Aug. 30, 1841. James William, b. Jan. 28, 1839; d, Feb. 22, 
1839. Hannah Rand, b. Sept. 24, 1840. Eliza Abbie, b. Nov. 27, 
1842. 

Royal M.^ Flint {William R.,^ Benjamin^), b. Feb. 28, 1836 ; m. 
Fanny M., daughter of Mellen Ilolbrook. 

FOLLET. 

John FoLLET and his wife Rachel had : John, Hannah, d. Dec. 
13, 1770. Hiram, b. June 18, 1770. 

JoiiN^ FoLLET (John^), m., 1st, Dec. 7, 1773, Christian (d. Feb. 
11, 1778), daughter of Samuel Belding; m., 2(1, Feb. 9, 1779, Sybil 
Willard of Winchester. Ciiildren: Silas, d. Sept. 2, 1777. Luther, 
d. Sept. 5, 1777. Levi, b. June 6, 1776. 

FORBUSH. 

Hiram- Foubush {Daniel^ of Harvard, 3fass.), b. Dec. 13, 1812; 
m. Aug. 20, 1836, Lucina L. (b. Jan. 27, 1816; d. Sept. 8, 1870), 
daugliter of Asa Willis of Winchester; d. Sept. 24, 1883. Ciiildren: 
Nellie M., b. Apr. 15, 1840; m. George S. Ellis. Lucius M., b. 
Aug. 3, 1841 ; d. Sept. 24, 1866, in Iowa. Fay M., b. Sept. 5, 1843 ; 
d. Dec. 17, 1864, iu Marlborough. Charles H., b. Jan. 10, 1846. Net- 
tie L., b. July 29, 1848 ; m. J. Frank Perry of Worcester, Mass. 
Emma E., b. Jul}' 28, 1850 ; m. Solon W. Nelson of Worcester. Anna 
L. S., b. Jan. 8, 1856 ; d. July 26, 1857. 

FORRISTALL. 

Franklin B.^ Forristall (Josfjyh MA of Troy), b. Dec. 15, 1821 ; 
m. Sept. 15, 1846, Martha Ann (b. Nov. 24, 1827 ; d. Oct. 7, 1890, 
in Keene), daughter of William Lawrence; d. May 5, 1884. Chil- 
dren : Marietta, m. Levi Randall ; d. Nov. 21, 1890. Jane, d. June 
5, 1884. George H. 

Joseph N.^ Forristall {Joseph MA), b. April 19, 1826 ; m Sept. 
10, 1851, Mary Ann, daughter of Abner Haskell of Troy; d. June 
1, 1871. Child: Willie. 

FOSTER. 

Amos Foster, d. March 2, 1761, and Mary, his wife, d. Feb. 5, 1761. 

Joel Foster, m. Jan. 24, 1793, Martha, daughter of Philemon 
Whitcomb. Children : Patty, m. Willard Whitcomb. Hannah, b. 
Apr. 20, 1794. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 341 

Nathaniel Foster, m. Feb. 16, 1797, Silence (b. Dec. 3, 1772), 
daughter of Philemon Whitcomb. A child, b. in 1805 ; d. Dec. 5, 
1814. 

Abraham Foster had a child b. Sept. 12, 1812 ; d. March 12, 
1813. 

Joel2 Foster {Joel^), m. Betsey (b. May 19, 1806; d. April 11, 
1890), daughter of Amos Richardson; removed to Waitsfield, Vt., 
where both died leaving a son Joel, and a daughter who m. O. C. 
Campbell of Omaha. 

Philemon W.2 Foster (NathanieP),h. 1807 ; m. June, 1835, Mar- 
iam (b. June 9, 1817), daughter of John Stratton ; d. March 20, 1877. 
Children : Mary J., b. 1836 ; d. Aug. 15, 1847. Helen S., b. 1839 ; 
m. Charles L. Pond (d. Oct. 19, 1873) ; d. July 3, 1860. Edson H., 
b. 1841. Julia B., b. 1844; m. Charles G. Howard of Winchester, 
in 1866; d. May 21, 1871. Emogene S., b. 1846; ra. Feb. 28, 
1864, Daniel A. Potter, Middlebury, Vt. Jennie M., b. 1848; m. 
Clarence A. Parker. Flora H., b. 1851 ; m. Edwin H. Aldrich. Fred 
W., b. July 16, 1853. Abbie L., b. Dec. 26, 1857; m. May 13, 1879. 
Willie M. Moore, of Hadley, Mass. Clinton, b. 1859 ; d. March 27, 
1860. 

FOWLER. 

Rev. Thomas L."^ Fowler {David,'^ b. 1783, yl&ner,^ b. 1753, Sam- 
uel,^ b. 1722, Jacob,^ b. 1692, Samuel,^ b. 1660, Abner,^ b. 1635 in 
Killarney, Munster County^ Ireland), b. Oct. 10, 1823, in Bridgewa- 
ter, N. H. ; m., 1st, Aug. 20, 1844, Mary F. (d. 1847) daughter of 
Rev. Benjamin Hazelton of Northfield ; m., 2nd, May 10, 1848, 
Nanc}' M. (1). Feb. 25, 1827, in Windsor, Me.), daughter of Levi Giles. 
Children: Eugene A., b. Feb. 1, 1846. Herschel J., b. Apr. 23, 
1849. Orrin R., b. May 21, 1851. Oris Lee, b. April 13, 1853 ; d. 
April, 1854. Manson L., b. Feb. 3, 1859. 

FOX. 

Salmon H.^ Fox (Jared^ of Bernardston, Mass.), b. Nov. 25, 1822 ; 
m., 1st, April 21, 1847, Mary Thayer (d. Dec. 5, 1848, aged 28 years), 
of Bernardston, Mass. ; m., 2nd, Apr. 16, 1851, Harriet (b. July 6, 
1832 ; d. Dec. 6, 1860), daughter of David Wilson ; m., 3rd, Dec. 1, 
1864, Almira J. (b. 1832), sister to Alfred Marble of Hinsdale. 
Children : Mary, b. May 6, 1852 ; m. Frank L. Snow. Willie, b. 
Jan. 3, 1859 ; d. Sept. 30, 1881. 



342 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



FRANKLIN. 

Ebenezeu Fkanklin and his wife Esther had: Esther, b. July 29, 
1798. Nathaniel, b. Feb. 28, 1800. 

FRARY. 

Jonathan Frary and Prudence, his wife, had : Prudence, bapt. Oct. 
4, 1743. 

John Fuary and Abigail, his wife, had : Mai-y, b. Nov, 25, 1752 ; 
m. Feb. 16, 1772, John Pierce. John, b. June 4, 1755; d. John, b. 
1757. Sarah, b. June 7, 1759 ; d. March 23, 1777. Abigail, b. Feb. 
10, 17G1 ; ni. AVilliam Hills. Pliebe, b. Sept. 4, 1763. Jonathan, b. 
in Feb., 1770. Sarah, m. April 26, 1802, Caleb Chase. 

FREEMAN. 

Amos Freeman, m, Sept. 12, 1786, Delilah Hill. 

Asa Freeman m. Dec. 30, 1790, Thankful (b. Jan. 19, 1767), 
daughter of Thomas Applin. Child : Ahaz, b. Nov. 3, 1791. 

Ebenezer Freeman m. Feb. 7, 1791, Betty Wilson. 

Amos H.^ Freeman {Luther^ oj Glens Falls, N.Y.), b. Apr. 9,1817; 
m. Jan. 17, 1838, Harriet E., daughter of Asa Hemenway of Granville, 
N. Y. Children : Georgianna, b. Aug. 15, 1839, Sarah R., b. Ma}', 
1843. Emma H., b. Aug. 8, 1845 ; d. May 30, 1874. Flora E., b. 
May 14, 1849. 



FRENCH. 

James French and Malinda Sluuv were m. Jan. 19, 1868. 

Albert A.^ French (Luke^ of Jaffrey),h. Feb. 10, 1846 ; m. Jan. 
26, 1872, Ella F. (b. Aug. 20, 1849), daughter of John S. Lawrence. 
Children : Rosa M,, b, July 19, 1875, AV^ilmer O., b. Dec. 21, 1879. 

Jonah and Melatiah French had Silas and Melatiah, bapt, July 14, 
1754. 

FRINK. 

Calvin Frink and his wife Sarah had : Arethusa, b. May 9, 1773 ; 
m. Thomas Trowbridge. Sarah, b, Sept. 17, 1779. Wyman, b. Sept. 
16, 1784. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 343 

JosiAH Fkink, m. Feb. 1, 1790, Rebecca, daughter of Samuel Smead 
of Montague, Mass. Child: Samuel. 

Samdel^ Frink (Josiah^), m. July 11, 1816, Damaris (b. 1786), 
daughter of Philemon Whitcomb. He d. Apr. 1, 1826. Children: 
Jotham W. Isabel. 

JoTHAM Whitcomb^ Frink {Samuel,- Josiah^), b. 1817; m. Julia 
(b. Jan. 10, 1823; d. July 9, 1883), daughter of John Stratton. 
Child: Willie, d. young. 

Orlando Frink, b. in Greenfield, Mass., March 10, 1809 ; m., 1st, 
Apr. 20, 1830, Eunice Russell (b. in AValpole, March 7, 1808 ; d. Oct. 
23, 1852 ;m., 2iid, March 1, 1853, Mary A., daughter of Ebenezer 
Willard, Winchester ; d. Apr. 16, 1877. Children : Mary E., b. July 
23, 1831 ; ni. Judson A. Read. Henry C, b. March 9, 1836. Sarah 
E., in. Charles Maynard of Berlin, Mass. Fanny M., b. Nov. 28, 
1853 ; d. March 19, 1866. EmmaL., b. Nov. 1, 1855 ; m. Willard B. 
Smith. Charles H., b. Sept. 19, 1860 ; ra. April 8, 1883, Mary L. 
(b. Oct. 2, 1860), daughter of Josiah Stebbins, of Jaffrey. 

FROST. 

Ephraim Kimball Frost b. in Jaffre}', Dec. 17, 1790 ; m. Nov. 11, 
1813, Persis (b, June 19, 1790; d. in Burlington, Iowa, March 4, 
1872), daughter of Jonadab Baker, of Marlborough ; d.in Lincoln, Ne- 
braska, Nov. 23, 1870. Children : Charles, b. Sept. 3, 1814 ; d. Sept- 
23,1814. Feronia, b. Dec. 26, 1816; m. George N. Sherwood of 
McDonough, N. Y. Lyman, b. Feb. 10, 1820. Lafayette S., b. 
June 4, 1824. Caroline and Emcline, b. Jan. 12, 1826 ; Caroline d. 
Jul}' 3, 1830; Eineline, m. John Speed Lee, of Wellsville, N. Y. 
Franklin, b. Apr. 1-1, 1831. 

Charles^ Frost {Benjamin^ of Marlhorovgh) , b. July 8, 1789 ; m., 

1st, Feb. 23, 1824, Sarah (d. Feb. 28, 1826) ; m., 2nd, Vilura, 

daughter of Joseph Slate; d. Apr. 17, 1866. Ciiildren : Jane Char- 
lotte, b. Apr. 3, 1842. Henry Morse and Charles Roberts, b. March 
31, 1814; Charles, d. Oct. 4, 1849. 

FULLER. 

Amasa^ Fuller (Isaac^ of Troy) b. Dec. 7, 1797; m., 1st, Anna 
(b. July 5, 1801 ; d. June 19, 1826) , daughter of Jonathan Bemis of 
Troy; m., 2nd, Jan. 11, 1827, Hannah Jackson (b. Nov. 5, 1803; 



344 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

d. April 5, 1845), of Wallingfonl, Vt. ; m/, 3rd, Oct. 2, 1845, Maiy 
Knight (Widow Hager) b. Feb. 14, 1802 ; m., 4tli, in 1857, Lovey P. 
Kidder (1). Oct. 6, 1814), of Mailborongh. He d. July 18, 1879. 
Children: Isaac, b. Aug. 10, 1819. Elmira, I). Apr. 9, 1822 ;m. 
Stephen Hanis. Anna, b. Feb. 14, 1826; d. Nov. 23, 1826. A 
daugiiter, b. June 11, 1828; d. July 18, 1828. A son, b. Apr. 29, 
1829; d. Apr. 30, 1829. Elvira, b. Sept. 21, 1830; d. March 14, 
1832. A daughter, b. March 1, 1832; d. March 6, 1833. Aniasa, 
b. Sept. 28, 1833. Levi A., b. May 4, 1836. A son, b. July 1, 
1838 ; d. same da3'. Erwin J., b. Sept. 19, 1839. 

Levi A.^ Fuller (Amasa,'^ Isaac^), b. May 4, 1836 ; m., 1st, Feb. 
22, 1860, Elvira L. (b. June 4, 1839; d. Nov. 15, 1865) , adopted 
daughter of Joseph P. Bemis ; m., 2nd, Oct. 30, 1866, Emily L. (b. 
July 28, 1848), daughter of Dr. Willard Adams. Children : Cora A., 
b. June 24, 1862; d. July 27, 1862. Elmer A., b. Dec. 27, 1863. 
Ida E., b. Nov. 16, 1871. AV^alter T., b. July 6, 1876. Cora Anstris, 
b. July 2, 1887. 

GARY. 

Joseph O.^ Gary {Aaron^ of Keene), b. Aug. 19, 1819 ; m. Sept. 
29, 1844, Eliza Jane (b. May, 1825), daughter of Hiram Underwood. 
He d. July 26, 1890. Children : Joseph E. and Francis E. (twins), 
b. Feb. 15, 1846; Joseph E. d. March 11, 1847. Edna M. and Ella 
M. (twins), b. Dec. 19, 1847; Ella M. was stillborn, Edna d. a few 
months later. Edna M., b. July 27, 1849 ; d. Aug. 15, 1851. Jose[)h 
E.,b. Sept. 18, 1851. Gertrude M.,b. Aug. 1, 1856 ; ra. May 25, 1886, 
William K. Merrill of Paterson, N. J. 

gates. 

RuFUS^ Gates (Elijah^ of Marlborough), b. Sept. 12, 1807 ; m. May 
12, 1836, Minerva(b. May 12, 1812), daughter of Ezeldel Page. He 
died in Keene. 

Lyjian Gates, m. Fanu}' Ann, daughter of Consider Carpenter. 
Children : Elbridge, b. July 4, 1841 ; d. Aug. 12, 1843. Edwin G., 
b. Sept. 30, 1842. Ellen, b. May 26, 1844 ; d. June 17, 1855. 

GAY. 

Seth Gay m., 1st, Sarah (d. Apr. 7, 1756) ; m., 2nd, March 

7, 1776, Sarah Parker. Children : Chloe and Lois bapt. Aug. 18, 1754:. 
Silas, bapt. Dec. 14, 1755. A child d. about Apr. 7, 1756. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 345 

JoHN^ Gat who came to America in 1630, was the emigrant ances- 
tor of Willard^ Gay of Svvanzey. 

• 

WiLLARD Gay, b. Feb. 8, 1811, in West Dedham, Mass; m., 1st, 
Fanny, daughter of Caleb "Wright of Keene ; m., 2nd, in 1843, Emily 
H. (d. Jan. 21, 1886), daughter of Samuel Farwell, of Nelson; d. 
1882. Children: George W., b. Jan. 14, 1842. Ella H., b. Feb. 4, 
1844 ; ra. Zina G. Taft. Phineas Ellis, b. May 10, 1846. Annie, b. 
Nov. 22, 1847 ; m. Calvin E. Hills. 

George W.^ Gay(, Willard,^ Jo/m^), b. Jan. 14, 1842 ; m., 1st, Mary 
E. (d. Feb. 22, 1873), daughter of B. F. Hutchinson, of Milford ; m., 
2nd, a daughter of J. H. Hathorn, of Boston, Mass. 

Phineas Ellts^ Gay ( Willard,^ John^),h. May 10, 1846 ; m. Lizzie 
G. (b. May 9, 1850), daughter of Elijah Hills. Children : Winnie, b. 
Aug. 1, 1873. Willard, b. March, 1881. 

GILMORE. 

Jeremiah Gilmore, m. F'eb. 2, 1806, Rebecca (b. July 4, 1773), 
daughter of Joseph Dickinson. 

Charles G. Gilmore, taxed in 1860 ; m. Fanny M. (b. Feb. 27, 
1843), daughter of Orrin Dickinson ; lives in Keene. 

GODDARD. 

Edward Goddard, 1st, b. ; Lois Howe (b. in 1749 ; d. Dec. 

26, 1838). He d. Oct. 13, 1811. Children : Nathan and Edward, twins, 
bapt. Nov. 6, 1770; Nathan, d. Nov. 6, 1770; Edward, d. Aug. 27, 
1776. Hephzibah, b. Aug. 26, 1773; d.Aug. 20, 1776. Hephzibah, 
b. Nov. 1776 ; m. Jan., 1813, Jonathan Hammond. Edward, b. Dec. 
31, 1778. Nathan Howe. b. Marclf 4, 1781. Hapgood, b. Apr. 12, 
1783. Eunice, b. Aug. 11, 1785 ; m. Jan. 18, 1826, Aaron Goddard 
of Reading, Vt. Infant child d. in 1786. Lois, b. Nov. 21, 1788 ; d. 
Lois, b. Dec. 3, 1792; d. May 21, 1793. 

Edward- Goddard (EdtvarcV), b. Dec. 31, 1778; m., 1st, Sept, 
5, 1804, Sabe (b. Feb. 12, 1781 ; d. Jan. 28, 1816), daughter of Levi 
Durant; m., 2nd, Jan. 29, 1819, Loma Augusta (d. March 18, 1849), 
daughter of John Hastings of Charlestown ; ra., 3d, Nov. 6, 1853, 
Mrs. Roxana Stone (widow Woodcock) ; he d. May 18, 1856. Chil- 
dren : Esther, m. David Parsons, Dec. 8, 1833. Mary, m. Eli 



346 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Hunt. Aurolia, m. George Whitcomh, April 13, 1836. Alvira, 
b. June 8, 181G; m. Lovell Tai't, Oct. 29, 1838. Louisa, m., 1st, 
Samuel C. Oliver, June 10, 1830; ui., 2n(l, William B. Kimball. Ar- 
villa, m. Oct. 4, 1835, Amos II. Bulleii. Edward II. James M. 

t 

Edward H.^ Goddard {Edivaixl,^ EdioarO}), d. in Swanze\' ; farm 
between Swanzey and Keene. 

Wii.LTAM Goddard and Rlioda Beverstock were m. Dec. 20, 1792. 

GOODELL. 

Elhridge G. Goodell of Winchester, m. Feb. 21, 1830, Rel)ecca 
Darling (d. IVIa^' 29, 1834). Children : Julia INI., an adopteil daugh- 
ter, m. Sept. 5, 1875, Humphrey G. Eaton(b. Mai'ch 9, 1849). 

Wyman J.2 GoODELL (Jonalhrm'^), h. March, 1849; ni. June 9, 
1871, Mary R., daughter of Edwin Hill. Ciiihb-en : Harry W., b. 
Jan. 16, 1872. Mary B., b. Oct. 9, 1«74. Martha A., b. Feb., 1, 
1876. Fred P., b. Aug. 16, 1878. Fanny M., b. June 27, 1881 ; d. 
June 29, 1882. Ethel R., b. July 2, 1883. 

GOODnUE. 

Daniel Goodhue, m. Betty, daughter of John Whitcomb. Chil- 
dren : Richard Weeks, b. Oct. 7, 1793. Daniel. Patty. Ruhamah 
Whitcomb, b. 1811 ; m. Aquilla R. Taft. 

goodnoav. 

Franklin Goodnow, m. May 20, 1826, Philena, daughter of E[)h- 
raim Page. 

William W. Goodnows m. Oct. 19, 1839, Sophia (b. May 12, 
1812), daughter of Peter Ilolbrook. 

GRAVES. 

Abraham Graves, b. 1690 ; d. Oct. 28, 1777 ; Thankful, his wife, 
d. March 12, 1775. Children : Elizabeth, m. Nathan Blake of Keene, 
in 1741. Asahel. Abraham, d. Nov. 16, 1745. Joshua. Lydia, 
ni. Charles Howe of Marlborough, Mass., Apr. 8, 1746. Mar}', m. 
Elijah Scott of Sunderland, Mass., May 25, 1756. Sarah, m. Sam- 
uel Hills, June 27, 1758. Mehitable, m. William Wright, Aug. 27, 
1758. Elijah. Abner. Lucy, m. David Belding, 2d, Feb. 7, 1770. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 347 

Joshua^ Graves (Abraham^), m. Oct. 12, 1758, Lydia Woodcock. 
Children: Martha, b. April 29, 1759; m. Uriah How. Asahel, b. 
Aug. 25, 1761. Lydia, b. Jan. 25, 1764. Meletiah, b. 'Jan. 20, 
1766 ; ra. Abijah Sawyer. Hephzibah, b. March 26, 1768. Joshua, 
b. Apr. 19, 1770. Benjamin, b. May 19, 1772. Hannah, b. Feb. 15, 
1784. 

Elijah^ Graves (Abraham^) and his wife Submit had : Elijah. 
Gad, bapt. Sept. 18, 1763. 

Abner2 Graves (Abraham^) and his wife Dorcas had: Sarah, b. 
Nov. 3, 1765. John, b. Jan. 20, 1771. Isaac, b. Apr. 13, 1775. Dor- 
cas, b. June 9, 1778 ; m. Elisha Scott. 

Joshua^ Graves (Joshua,^ Abraham^), b. Apr. 19, 1770; m. Jan. 
1, 1789, Sarah (b. Feb. 1, 1767), daughter of Caleb Sawyer. Chil- 
dren : Sarah, b. Dec. 5, 1789. Ira, b. Jan. 9, 1793. Rufus, b. 
Dec. 13, 1794 ; d. July 25, 1814. 

Asahel^ Graves (Joshua,'^ Abraham^) , b. Aug. 25, 1761 ; m., 1st, 
May 31, 1780, Martha Holmes (d. March 30, 1788) ; m., 2d, April 26, 

1789, Lydia Adams Guild. Children : Dolly, b. Apr. 4, 1781. Pat- 
ty, b. Sept. 2, 1783. Giles, b. Feb. 19, 1787. Josiah, b. June 29, 

1790. Sarah, b. Feb. 28, 1792. Esther, b. May 20, 1795. Asahel, 
b. July 9, 1797. 

Simeon^ Graves (Joshva,^ Abraham}), d. 1810, at the age of 37. 
Children, by his wife Huldah : George, b. March 28, 1799. Harry, 
b. Aug. 12, 1801. Elmira, b. Jan. 22, 1805. 

Elijah^ Graves {Elijah,^ Abraham^), m. March 31, 1785, Lucy 
(b. Sept. 12, 1761), daugiiter of Isaac McAllister of Marlborough. 
Children : Lucy, b. Nov. 4, 1786 ; nf. Peter Starkey. Zadock, b. May 
7, 1788. Susanna, b. Aug. 16, 1790 ; m. Abijah Whitcomb. Ezekiel, b. 
Aug. 15, 1792. Sylvia, b. Oct. 28, 1794 ; d. Aug. 17, 1796. Sylvia, 
b. Dec. 23, 1796; m. Abel W. Read. Polly, b. Aug. 3, 1803; ra. 
Ira Taft. 

Gad3 Graves {Elijah,'^ Abraham^), b. Aug. 14, 1763 ; m. June 8, 
1785, Mary (b. Feb. 18, 1767 ; d. Aug. 31, 1848), daughter of Samuel 
Sraead of Montague, Mass. ; d. June 28, 1841. Children: Pliilena, 
b. Sept. 27, 1787; m. Oct. 9, 1817, Zebina Knight ; d. March 10, 
1859. Sophia, b. July 30, 1789 ; m. David Wilson. Polly, b. Dec. 
14, 1791 ; d. Sept. 1, 1798. Louisa, b. Sept. 6, 1794; d. Aug. 31, 



348 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

1798. Riifus, b. March, 1797 ; d. Aug. 16, 1871. Isaac, b. Feb. U, 
1802. Albert, b. Aug. 10, 1806. 

Ira'' Graves (Joshua,^ Joshua,^ Abraham^), b. Jan. 9, 1793; m. 
April 12, 1829, Mary Wilson. 

Zadock'* Graves (Elijah,^ Elijah,^ Abraham^), b. May 7, 1788 ; m. 
Clarissa (b. May, 1800 ; d. July, 1860), daughter of Jesse Lincoln, of 
Lancaster, Mass, ; d. Jan. 22, 1867. Children : Jesse Wilder, b. July 
27, 1821. James Mtinroe, b. July 23, 1826. Charles Lincoln, b. July 
23, 1828; d. April 7, 1854. Edwin Buttrick, 1). 1829. Lydia Ann, 
d. young, Zadock, b. 1840. 

Jesse W.^ Graves (Zadock,'^ ElijaJi,^ Elijah,^ Abraham^), b. July 
27, 1821; no. Oct. 27, 1847, Mary A, Stone (widow of Thomas L. 
Woodward). Children: Thomas Nelson Woodwanl, b. July 16, 
1844; Nellie J., b. Nov. 24, 1848; m. Dec. 26, 1866, George H. 
Jackson. Amanda L., b. Feb. 15, 1850; m. Jan. 5, 1876, Eugene C. 
llamsdell. 



James M.^ Graves {Zadock,'^ Elijah^ Elijah,'^ Abraham^), b. July 
23, 1826 ; m. Susan A. (b. Aug. 9, 1829) , daughter of William Stephen- 
son. 

Edwin B.^ Graves {Zadock,'^ Elijah,^ Elijah,^ Abraham^) , b, 1829 ; 
m,, 1851, Polly Maria Stevenson (b. May 12, 1829; d. March 24, 
1854), daughter of Enos Stevenson ; d. Sept. 24, 1867. 

ghanger. 
William Granger of Chicago, m. Oct. 1, 1870, Melvenah (b. Jan. 
11, 1836), daughter of llufus Thompson. Child: William Roscoe, 
b. April 14, 1872. 

GREENE. 

Thomas Greene, m. March 2, 1780, Lydia Foster. Children: 
Thomas, b. Dec. 16, 1782. Seth, b, March 17, 1784. 

Joseph Greene, m. Apr. 2, 1778, Betsey Bigelow. 

Samuel Greene, m. Dec. 14, 1780, Esther Freeman. 

Patrick Greene, m. Nov. 24, 1785, Abigaillvneeland. 

James Greene, m. Oct. 30, 1787, Elizabeth Grimes. 

Absalom Greene, m. Nov. 7, 1788, Relief Foster. 



%* 



^ 



II 




Hubbard Williams, 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 349 

Elizabeth Greene ra. March 9, 1794, William Farnswovth of 

Charlestown. 

William^ Greene (Salmon^), m. Elizabeth (b. 1777; d. Feb. 27, 
1858), daughter of William Cutler of Chesterfield; d. Dec. 6, 
1834. Children: Abigail, b. Oct. 13, 1792; m. Ebenezer Hackett of 
Chesterfield. Lucy, b. June 25, 1794 ; m. David Belding of Riclimond. 
Permelia, b. March 8, 1796 ; d.Nov. 10, 1868. Anna,b. Oct. 13, 1798 ; 
m. L^-nda Ballard. Sarah, b. Mnrch 8, 1800 ; ni. David Buxston of An- 
dover, Mass. Polly, b. Nov. 16, 1802 ; d. March 18, 1852. Sophia, 
b. Aug. 16, 1804; m. Eli Stevenson. Loammi, b. Oct. 7, 1806. 
William, b. Dec. 28, 1808. Elizabeth, b. Apr. 26, 1812; d. Jan. 2, 
1854. 

Loammi^ Gkeene (William," Salmon^), b. Oct. 7, 1806; m. Oct. 
29, 1832, Maria (d. Dec. 25, 1875, aged 67), daughter of Jeremiah 
Amadon ; d. in Winchester. 

Charles Green, b. near Canada, 1802; m. Apr. 9, 1837, Sarah C. 
(b. in 1806; d. Sept. 29, 1876, aged 70 years), daughter of James 
Pierce; d. May 29, 1882, aged 80 years. Children : Charles, b. Oct. 
22, 1837. Rexiville S., b. Sept. 14, 1839; m. Menzies E. Stratton. 
Mary E., b. Aug. 17, 1841. James. George, d. March 26, 1881. 

Charles^ Green (Charles^) , h . Oct. 22, 1837; m. May 1, 1862, 
Lnvana M. (b. Ai)ril 14, 1838), daughter of Paul F. Aldrich ; resides 
in Keene. 

GREENLEAF. 

Daniel Greenleaf, of Templeton, Mass., came to Swanzey and 
d. Nov. 16, 1858, aged 90 years. Sarah, his wife, d. Sept. 12, 
1849, aged 86 years. 

Daniel^ Greenleaf (Daniel^ of Templeton, Mass.), b. Aug. 7, 

1800 ; m., 1st, Sarah (d. Sept., 1879) ; m., 2nd, Miranda Carter 

(b. 1815), daugliter of Nathan Carter ; d. July 3, 1874. Children : Ma- 
ria, b. Jan. 15, 1825 ; ra. Norton E. Pratt of Hinsdale. Calvin T. 
Estella, d. July 7, 1840. Leafie J., b. July 5, 1848 ; m. Oct. 4, 1870, 
Lyman Stone. Amelia A., b. Sept. 4, 1850 ; m. Wallace Heal}-. Mary 
T., b. Sept. 8, 1852; m. Feb. 23, 1871, Norris C. Carter. Charles 
D.,b. Sept. 20, 1854. William A., b. July 7, 1856 ; d. July 23, 1865. 
24 



350 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



GRIFFITH. 

William Griffith, b. 1751 ; m. Dec. 29, 1785, Deborah Corey of 

Gilsum ; m., 2nd, Polly (b. March 13, 1761 ; d. 1834). lie d. 

Dec, 1842. Children : Two infants d. in 1786. Abraham, b. June 
21,1788. Betse}^, b. March 31, 1790 ; m. Lot Chapman. Lucy, b. May 
6, 1793. Polly, b. Nov. 25, 1801. Samuel, b. Oct. 1, 1803. Barney, 
b. Feb. 10, 1806. 

SamuelS Griffith (William^), b. Oct. 1, 1803 ; m. Feb. 22, 1826, 
Mahala (b. May 2, 1804 ; d. May 21, 1887), daughter of John Grimes ; 
d. May 18, 1880. Children : John Gihnan, b. Aug. 16, 1827 ; Eliza 
Ann, b. Oct. 18, 1828. Charles Grimes, b. Aug. 15, 1830. George 
.Johnson, b. March 5, 1832 ; d. July 5, 1873. Henry Alonzo, b. Dec. 
5, 1834. Albert Parker, b. Oct. 7, 1836. Olive Relief, b. Apr. 7, 
1838. Lucy Victoria, b. June 11, 1839. Daniel D., b. Dec. 16, 
1842. Edwin A., b. Aug. 12, 1844. Joseph E., b. Jan. 29, 1846. 

Barnei2 Griffith {William^), b. Feb. 10, 1806 ; m.Nov. 12, 1837, 
Irene White of Keene ; d. Dec. 8, 1880. Children: Edward S., b. 
Apr. 11, 1838; m. Addie Tyrrell of Chesterfield. Rodne^', b. Sept. 
24, 1841 ; m. June 16, 1871, Mrs. Rose Maxley of Lowell, Mass. 

GRUIKS. 

William^ Grimes m. Mar}- ; d. Jan. 14, 1781. Children: 

John, b. May 24, 1741. James, b. Feb. 10, 1743. Mary, b. Nov. 
10, 1744; m. Benjamin Wilson. William, b. May 12, 1747. Eliza- 
beth, b. Apr. 12, 1749 ; d. Oct. 6, 1770. Samuel, b. March 4, 1751 ; d. 
Mai'ch 10, 1761. Charles, b. Apr. 15, 1754. Sarah, bapt. in Apr., 
1756 ; m. Robert Wire of Jaffrey. Susanna, bapt. Jan. 27, 1760. 

JoHN^ Grimes (William^)^ b. May 24, 1741 ; d. in 1765 ; Lydia, his 
wife, m. Nov. 30, 1775, Daniel Read of Richmond. Children : John, 
bapt. Jan. 17, 1766, by its mother, the father being dead. Zenas, 
bapt. Feb. 24, 1774. 

James- Grimes {Willia7n'^), b. Feb. 10, 1743; m. Elizabeth . 

Children: Samuel, bapt. July 22, 1770. Elizabeth, bapt. July 21, 
1771 ; in. James Greene, Oct. 30, 1787. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 351 

Charles'^ Guimes {William^), h. April 15, 1754; in. Azubah 
Greene, Ang. 26, 1778. 

William^ Grimes (William^), b. May 12, 1747; m. May 3, 1770, 
Mary Willard of Lancaster, Mass. Children : Sarah, b. Aug. 21, 1771 ; 
m. Aug. 5, 1792, Dulan Battles of Winchester. William, b. Jan. 24, 
1773. Mary, b. Dec. 17, 1774. Lucinda, b. Sept. 25, 1776. 

John3 Grimes {John,^ William^), h. \i\ 1766; m. Aug. 21,1783, 
Tryphena (b. 1764; d. Sept. 22, 1850), daughter of Joseph Razey ; 
d. Aug. 7, 1848. Children : Lydia, b. Jan. 15, 1785 ; m., 1st, Luther 
Howes ; m., 2nd, his brother Silas. Tryphena, b. Jan. 20, 1788 ; ni. 
Henry Jaquith. Anna, b. July 6, 1791 ; m. Abel Worcester. John, 
b. March 14, 1792; d. John, b. Nov. 14, 1793. Polly, b. Feb. 9, 
1796; in. William Stephenson. Asenath, b. Jan. 19, 1798. Daniel, 
d. Nov., 1802. Susan, b. July 25, 1802; m. Cyrene Johnson. Ma- 
hala, b. May 2, 1804; m. Samuel Griffith. Ava, b. Dec. 11, 1807; 
m. Dexter Warren, Jan. 20, 1830. 

Samuel^ Grimes (James,^ William^), bapt. July 22, 1770 ; ra. Feb. 
9, 1797, Mary, daughter of Nicholas Trask. Children: Tryphena, 
m. March 4, 1816, Samuel Read of New York. Nancy S., b. June. 
5, 1805 ; in., 1st, May 25, 1829, Horace Verry ; in., 2nd,Elijah Howard ; 
she d. May 31, 1889. Esther. Sylvia. 

JoHN^ Grimes {Jolin,^ John? TF?7?mm'), reared a family and re- 
moved from this town. Children : Gilman. John. Celiuda. Hiram. 
Priscilla. 

GROGAN. 

Richard Grogan, b. in Ireland; m. June 29, 1867, Margaret 
O'Donnell (b. in 1844). Children: Richard, b. Feb. 28, 1869. 
Daniel J., b. Apr. 30, 1872. Mary E., b. Apr. 3, 1874. Katie A., 
b. Sept. 9, 1875. Frederick T., b. Feb. 5, 1879. Maggie V., b. 
Nov. 29, 1880. 

GUILD. 

Dan. Guild, m. Sarah ; d. about 1798. Children: Thom- 
as, b. July 24, 1786. Esther, b. Apr. 4, 1788. Rufus, b. Jan. 28, 
1790. 

John Guild, ni., 1st, Dec. 11, 1791, Hepzibah, daughter of Joshua 
Graves; m., 2nd, March 13, 1834, Hannah Young of Guilford, Vt. 



352 HISTOHY OF SWANZET. 



GUNN. 

Wyot Gtjnn, m. Nov. 25, IT.'iG, Sarah (d. Marcli 3, 17G4), the 
widow of William Hill. He d. about 1798. Children : Mary, h. Dec. 
24, 1757. Tirza, b. May 17, 17G0. William, b. June 26, 1763. 
Sarah, b. Jan. 2, 1767; d. Dec.l2, 1769 Israel Houghton, b. Oct. 
10, 1768; m. Oct. 21, 1792, Elizabeth Belding, 

Daniel Gunn, b. in 1734; m. Submit ; d. Feb. 25, 1812. 

Children: Submit, b. Dec. 11, 1757; m. William Lawrence of Win- 
chester. Samuel, b. Oct. 26, 1760. Daniel, b. March 3, 1763 ; d. 
Nov. 21, 1786. Ebenezer, b. May 28, 1765. Eunice, b. Oct. 21, 
1767. Elijah, bapt. June 27, 1770. Elisha, b. March 29, 1772. 
Calvin, bapt. Aug. 27, 1777. Luther, bapt. Aug. 27, 1777; d. May 
14, 1781. Daniel, bapt. Nov. 5, 1780. 

William^ Gunn ( Wyot^), b. June 26, 1763 ; m., 1st, Oct. 18, 1790, 
Lydia Jacks of Keene ; m., 2nd, June 6, 1805, Rhoda Durfee of 
Smithfield, R. I. He d. in 1741. Cliildren by first wife: Lewis, d. 
June 26, 1849. Sally. Children, by second wife : Delata, b. Dec, 
1805 ; m. Daniel Vaughn of Prescott, Mass. William, b. Se[)t. 5, 
1807. Clarissa, b. April 4, 1809 ; m. Charles Talbot. Daniel, d. 
young. Israel Houghton, b. Sei)t. 14, 1814. Angelina, m. a Mr. 
Bennett of Southbridge, Mass. Lucinda, m. Daniel Robins of Charl- 
ton, Mass. 

Samuel^ Gunn (Dcmiel^), b. Oct. 26, 1760 ; m. Mar}', daughter of 
Timothy Clark. Children: Samuel. Justin. Daniel. George. Charles. 
Sarah. Sylvia. Achsah, m. John IMarch, Jan. 1, 1840. 

Charlks^ Gunn {Samuel,'^ Daniel^), m. Abbie Pettiplace. Chil- 
dren : P^dward. Mar}-. George M., b. Sept. 22, 1855; m. Nov. 26, 
1886, Lizzie A., daughter of E. B. Rugg and had Frank E., b. Feb. 
6, 1887. 

Wili.iam3 Gunn (William,^ Wyot^), b. Sept. 5, 1807; m., 1st, Oct. 
1, 1«35, Hannah (b. Apr. 16, 1815 ; d. March 11, 1869), daughter of 
Benoni Austin; m., 2nd, Feb. 17, 1872, widow Carlton (d. Oct. 1, 
1882), of Greenwich, Mass. Children: Fidelia Ann, b. Sept. 14, 
1836 ; d. Nov. 19, 1836. Andrew Austin, b. Oct. 25, 1839 ; d. Mar. 
4, 1841. Marrilla Ann, b. Feb. 15, 1842; ra. Eben Smith. Harriet 
E., b. May 6, 1»44; d. Apr. 4, 1868. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 35 



9 



Israel H.3 Gunn (William,^ Wyot^),h. Sept. 14, 1814; m. Oct. 1, 
1835, Lydia M. (b. Aug. 25, 1815), daughter of David Bishop of 
Warwick, Mass.; he d. May 20, 1885. Children: Mary A., b. 
March 2, 1837 ; m. Roswell Whitcomb. Philander W., b. June 6, 

1839. Daniel H., b. Apr. 29, 1843. Henry W., b. Apr. 26, 1850 ; 
d. June 3, 1872. 

Philander W."* Gunn (Israel H.,^ William,'^ Wyot^),h. June 6, 
1839 ; m. Nov. 20, 1866, Mary W. Ward of Troy ; d. Aug. 22, 1867. 

Daniel H.^ Gunn {Israel H.,^ William,^ Wyot^),h. April 29, 1843 ; 
m. Lucinda Talbot, daughter of Charles Talbot, April 29, 1867. 
Children : Alice E., b. Aug. 8, 1867 ; d. 1868. Alma N. and Alice 
M., b. Aug. 18, 1870 ; Alice d. May 6, 1872. Homer D., b. June 23, 
1872; d. Mar. 9, 1874. 

hale. 
Eliphalet Hale, m. March 1, 1781, Rachel Scott. 

Israel C. Hale, b. 1799 ; m. 1833, Parmelia Austin (b. 1810 ; d. 
1860) ; he d. Sept. 22, 1874. Children : Lovina, b. June 1, 1834 ; m. 
Nahum Bullock. Mary, b. Aug. 17, 1836 ; m. Alvin Kempton of 
Winchester. Twins, d. young. Parmelia A., b. Sept. 3, 1840 ; m. 

Slate. Israel C, b. Nov. 19, 1842. Rhoda G., b. March 11, 

1849 ; m. F. G. Waldo. 

John^ Hale (Daniel^ of Jlidimond) ,m., 1st, Susanna Bullock; ra., 

2d, Drewry. Children: Jeremiah, b. Sept. 9, 1811. Nancy. 

John D., b. April 10, 1824. Otis D., b. Nov. 3, 1828. Lydia. 
Mar}' Ann. 

Jeremiah^ Hale (John,^ Daniel^), b. Sept. 9, 1811; m. Jan. 3, 

1840, Sybil (b. Apr. 20, 1820), daughter of Caleb Willis of Win- 
chester ; d. May 2, 1879, in Alstead. Children: Jeremiah L.,b. Feb. 
6, 1841 ; d. Aug. 19, 1842. Emily S., b. Jan. 25, 1844, in Warwick, 
Mass. ; m. Sept. 5, 1864, Mr. Parks (b. in Warwick, Mass.) ; d. March 
13, 1865. Willard R., b. Oct. 25, 1850 ; m. Dec. 13, 1883, Emma A. 
Northrop of Keene ; lives in Alstead. Otis W., b. June 15, 1862; 
d. June 28, 1862. 

John D.^ Hale (John,^ Daniel^), b. April 10, 1824; d. April 30, 
1889 ; m. Abigail Wright of NorthQeld, Mass. Children : Clarissa, 



354 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

m. Mr. Bosworth; lives in Keene. John F., m. Chloe E. (b. Dec. 
14, 1870), daughter of Nelson W. Rice; lives in Tro}'. James M. 
Orissa, ni. and lives in Winchendon. Nancy, lives in Keene. P^mma, 
m. Artliur Edwards of Troy. Anna, m. George Ballon of Sprague- 
ville. Walter. 

Otis D.3 Hale (John,^ DanieU), b. Nov. 3,- 1828; m. Abigail 
Conistock. Children : Nellie V., d. young. Pearl, lives in Keene. 
Grace O. 

Daniel Hale ni. Joanna Oakes ; both d. in Winchester. Child: 
Charles, d. in 1849, aged about 17 years. 

hall. 
Zaccheus Hall, came from Fitzwilliam about 1793 ; in. Susannah 
• . Cliild : Jonas, b. June 21, 178G, in Fitzwilliam. 



Jonas^ Hall (Zaccheus^), b. June 21, 1786; m. Lurana (b. Sept. 
10, 1786), daughter of Eliezer Mason. Children : E. Mason, b. Oct., 
1818. Levi A., b. in 1820. Russell B., b. Sept, 19, 1822. Amasa, 
b. in 1824. Adaline, b. in 1827. Ainariah C, b. in 1829. Jane, b. 
in 1831 ; d. in Minnesota in 1860. 

Russell B.3 Hall {Jonas,- Zaccheus^), b. Sept. 19, 1822 ; m. Jan. 
2, 1848, Sarah (b. May 4, 1818; d. April 25, 1877, in Minnesota), 
daughter of Martin Mason ; m., 2nd, May 12, 1879, Sarah, widow 
of Henry Holbrook. Children : Alonzo R., b. Jan. 4, 1849. George 
D., b. June 13, 1853 ; d. Sept. 13, 1853. Eliza E., b. in Aug., 1857, 
in Minnesota. George M., b. Oct. 12, 1859. Willie E., b. Jan. 20, 
1863. 

William E.'* Hall (Russell B.,^ Jonas,- ZaccJieiis^), b. Jan. 20, 
1863; m. Mary E. (b. Aug. 28, 1857). Children: Ger- 
trude May, b.July 21, 1882, in Troy. George W., b. March 29, 
1884. Walter R., b. Sept. 18, 1886, in Otter River, Mass. 

HAMBLET. 

JosiAn Hamblet and Alice Atwood came from Pelham, settled in 
the nortiiwest corner of tliis town. Children : Mehitable, b. Feb. 7, 
1787; m. John Long of Northtield, INLiss. Josiah, b. May 15, 1793. 
Maiy, b. April 4, 1797 ; m. Aug. 2, 1821, George Metcalf of Chester- 
field. Daniel, b. May 26, 1799. Alice, b. Oct. 26, 1801 ; m. Jonathan 
D. Ware. John A., b. May 7, 1804. A son b. in 1809 ; d. in 1813. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 355 

JosiAH^ Hamblet {Josiah^ of Pelham), b. May 15, 1793 ; m. Jan. 
26, 1819, Aurilla (b. Oct. 10, 1797; d. Nov. 25, 1883), daughter of 
Reuben Britton ; he d. April 24, 1866, aged 72 yrs. 

John A.^ ITamblet {Josiali^ of Pelham), b. May 7, 1804 ; m. Apr. 
3, 1833, Calista (I). Jan. 16, 1810; d. Jan. 11, 1879), daughter of 
Peter Cross; m., 2nd, widow Lydia B. Stevenson, who d. Nov. 24, 
1890. Children: Atwell J., b. Jan. 12, 1834; d. April 7, 1863. 
Almira C, b. Jan. 19, 1836 ; ra. Rev. T. C. Potter of Burlington, Ver- 
mont. Lucy Jane, b. May 24, 1846 ; m. Charles H. Holbrook. 

Phinehas^ Hamblet came from Pelham ; m., 1st, Rachel (d. Feb, 15, 
1804) ; m., 2nd, Dec. 8, 1804, Betsey Hill of Keene. He d. Oct. 13, 
1841. Children : Sarah, b. June 16, 1787; m. Jacob Ware of Win- 
chester. Elizabeth, b. March 22, 1789 ; m. James Snow of Win- 
chester. Benjamin, b. June 12, 1791. Phebe, b. April 4, 1793; m. 
Joshua Snow. Hannah, b. May 10, 1796; d. Dec. 16, 1797. Ra- 
chel, m. March 3, 1831, Joel Estabrooks ; d. Aug., 1835. Phinehas. 
Abigail, b. and d. Jan. 5, 1804. 

Benjamin^ Hamblet (Phinehas^ of PeUiam), b. June 12, 1791 ; d- 
Dec. 19, 1852, in Keene ; m. Sept. 29, 1816, Lucy Willis, whod. Jan. 
26, 1860. Children : Horace, b. Jan. 25, 1817. George, b. Nov. 30, 
1818. 

Phinehas^ Hamblet {Phinehas^ of Pelham) ^m. . Children: 

Eliza, David. Benjamin. Ruel ; removed to the state of New York 
about 1830. 

Horace^ Hamblet {Benjamin,^ Phinehas'^) , h. Jan. 5, 1817; m., 
1st, Jan. 8, 1840, Olive (d. July 12, 1845) daughter of Simon Stone 
of Keene ; m., 2nd, 1847, Nancy S. Loomis ; he d. Aug. 9, 1889, aged 
72 yrs. Children : Lucy Jane, b. 1841 ; m. 1865, James D. Wheeler ; 
d. Jan. 20, 1874. Albert H., b. 1848. Mary O., b. 1855 ; m. 1878, 
Charles H. Clark. 

George^ Hamblet {Benjamin,'^ Phinehas^) , b. Nov. 30, 1818 ; m. 
Sarah (b. Nov. 8, 1813, and d. in Rochester, N. Y.), daughter of Ben- 
jamin Whitcomb. Resides in Rochester, N. Y. 

HAMMOND. 

William- Hammond the emigrant ancestor of the Swanzey Ham- 
monds was a son of Thomas' Hammond of Lavenhani, Suffolk count}'. 



356 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

England; anil was b. in 1575; m. June 9, 1605, Elizabeth Pa^J'ne ; 
came to America in 1G32 and settled in Watertown, Mass., where he 
d. Oct. 8, 1G62. His wife came in 1634 bringing with her three of 
their eight children: Elizabeth, aged 15; Sarali 10, and John 7. 

Tiie line of descent from William Hammond to Nathaniel Ham- 
mond who settled in Swanzey was Thomas^ (h. about 1618 in Eng- 
land ; d. in Watertown Dec. 10, 1655); Thomas^ (b. July 11, 
1656). 

Nathaniel^ Hammond {Tliomas,'^ Thomas,^ William,^ of Watertown, 

Thomas^ of England)^ b. about 1692 ; m., 1st, Bridget ; m., 2nd, 

Abigail (d. Aug. 29, 1746, in Svvanzey), of Chelmsford, Mass. ; 

lie d. in Swanzey, Feb. 2, 1756. Children: Jonathan, b. in 1714. 
Nathaniel, d. in Svvanzey, Oct. 9, 1743. Thomas. Joseph, b. about 
1722. Timothy, b. in Littleton, Mass., Feb. 17, 1724; d. in Swan- 
zey, Sept. 27, 1746. Sarah, b. in Littleton, Apr. 13, 1727; m. Oct. 
16, 1759, Oliver Metcalf of Keene. Oliver, b. in Littleton, Oct. 29, 
1729. 

Jonathan^ Hammond {Nathaniel,^ Tliomaa,^ Thomas,'^ William^ 
Thomas^ of Evglcmd), b. in 1714 ; m. July 29, 1741, Abigail Hastings 
(b. in 1721 ; d. Sept. 5, 1777) of Lunenburg, Mass. He d. Sept. 11, 
1777. Children : Susanna, bapt. in Uec, 1741 ; d. Apr. 14, 1742. 
Jonathan, bapt. in June, 1743 ; d. Sept. 5, 1744. Susanna, bapt. July 

28, 1745; m. Greenwood Carpenter. Mary, b. in 1749; m. Dec. 5, 
1819, Daniel Hawkins of Winchester; d. in Swanzey, Oct. 8, 1833. 
Abigail, b. Sept. 23, 1752; m. Sept. 21, 1786, Ichabod Kieth of Ux- 
bridge, Mass.; d. Aug. 26, 1815. Miriam, b. Jan. 23, 1755; m. 
John Hastings of Charlestown. Hastings, b. A[)r. 1, 1758; d. Oct. 

29, 1771. Jonathan, b. Aug. 31, 1760. Eunice, an infant, d. June 

10, 1764. 

Thomas^ Hammond {Nathaniel,^ TJiomas,'* Thomas,'^ William,'^ 

Thomas'^), whose birth we place at about 1719 ; m., 1st, Martha (d. 

Jan. 3, 1744), who joined the church by letter from the church in 
Brookfield, Mass., at or about the time of its organization ; m., 2nd, 
Abia (d. Aug. 9, 1772), who joined the church by letter from the 
church in Littleton, Mass., Nov. 30, 1754; m., 3rd, Priscilla, who 
joined the church b}'^ letter from the church in Boxford, Mass., Aug. 

11, 1776. Children: Aaron, b. Oct. 7, 1742. Nathnniel. Isaac. 
Bridget, m. Apr. 4, 1771, Joseph Ellis of Keene. Thomas, d. in 
IMay, 1759. J(jhn, b. Sept. 21, 1757; d. Nov. 28, 1760. Thomas, 
b. Sept. 27, 1759. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 357 

Joseph^ Hammond {Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ Thomas,'^ William,'^ 
Thomas'^), b. about 1722; m., 1st, Nov. 2, 1752, Esther (b. May 
29, 1722 ; d. April 1, 1754), daughter of Epliraim Pierce, and widow 

of Benjamin Gould of Lunenburg, Mass. ; m., 2nd, Abigail ; 

he d. 1804. Children : Joseph and Benjamin, b. June 30, 1753. Es- 
ther, b. Jan. 21, 1757; m. Apr. 10, 1777, Ziba Hall of Keene ; d. 
Sept., 1777. Lucretia, b. Oct. 10, 1758 ; ra. Sept. 29, 1777, Isaac 
Wyman of Keene. Olive, b. Sept. 22, 1760 ; m. Jan. 16, 1781, John 
Blake of Keene. Sarah, b. Dec. 8, 1762 ; m. June 12, 1783, Thomas 
Dwinnell of Keene. 

Jonathan''' Hammond (Jonathan,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,"^ Thomas^^ 
William,^ Thomas^), b. Aug. 31, 1760; m., Jan. 19, 1813, Hepzibah 
(b. Nov. 26, 1776 ; d. Apr. 24, 1836), daughter of Rev. Edward God- 
dard. She m., 2nd, July 4, 1824, Gen. John Steele of Petersborough. 
He d. in March, 1823. 

Miss Nabby Hammond d. in Svvanzey in Sept., 1815, aged 61 yrs. 
— M. H. Sentinel. 

Aaron''' Hammond (Thomas,^ Nathaniel,^ TJwmas,^ Thomas,^ Wil- 
liam,'^ Thomas^), b. Oct. 7, 1742 ; m. April 28, 1771, Rachel Wood- 
ward ; d. in Gilsum, April 7,1818. Cliildren : Martha, b. Jan. 4, 
1772. John, b. June 26, 1773. Josiah, b. March 22, 1775. Twins, 
still born, Nov. 2, 1776. Aaron, b. May 9, 1778. 

, Dr. Nathaniel''' Hammond {Thomas^^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ Thom- 
as,^ William,^ TJioonas^), m. Jul_y 2, 1771, Esther Franklin of Win- 
chester; d. Oct. 11, 1773. Children: Thomas, bapt. Apr. 5, 1772. 
Esther, bapt. Oct. 17, 1773. 

Isaac''' Hammond {Thomas,^ WatJianiel,^ Thomas,'^ Tliomas,'^ Wil- 
liam,^ Thomas^), m. Mehitable Prime. Cliildren : Euni(!e, b. March 
y, 1774; d. in 1786. Joshua Prime, bapt. Aug. 25, 1776; d. Sept. 
11, 1777. Sarah, bapt. Apr. 16, 1780. Joshua Prime, bapt. April 
22, 1781. Sally, ba[)t. Dec. 7, 1783. Mehitable, bapt. June 18, 1786. 
Isaac, bapt. June 15, 1788. Thomas, bapt. May 2, 1790. 

Joseph''' Hammond (Joseph,^ NathanieU^ Thomas,'^ Thomas,^ Wil- 
liam,^ Thomas^), h. June 30,1753; m. Mary Pierce of Lunenburg, 
Mass. Children : Esther, b. Aug. 9, 1780 ; m. in 1799, Stephen Ran- 
dall of Winchester. Polly, b. Feb. 2, 1782; m. Joseph Newell of 



358 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Richmond ; d. May 2, 1858. Josiali, b. Nov. 6, 1785. Sail}', b. 
June 17, 1793 ; m. Paine Aldricli. 

Benjamin''' Hammond (Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas^^ Thomas,^ 
William,^ Thomas^), b. June 30, 1753 ; m. Jan. 16, 1781, Sarah Fisk 
(d. Sept. 11, 1815), of Deerfield, Mass. ; d. March 27, 1813. Cliil- 
dren: Josopli, b. Jan. 31, 1782. Sarah, b. April 18, 1781 ; m. Ben- 
jamin Wliitcomb. Lucy, b. Sept. 22,1786; m. Peter Cross. Ben- 
jamin, b. Nov. 21, 1792. Betsey, b. Feb. 17, 1796; m. Nathan 
Cross. Azubali, b. Apr. 29, 1801; m. Nov. 19, 1819, Clarke Albee 
of Chesterfield ; d. in Highgate, Vt. Joel, b. July 10, 1804 ; d. June 
4, 1811. 

Aauon^ Hammond {Aaron,'' Thomas,'^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,^ Thom- 
as,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. May 9, 1778; m. March 29, 1803, Lucy 
(bapt. Jan. 3, 1779 ; d. March 25, 1863, in Gilsum), daughter of Eli- 
jah Osgood. He d. March 23, 1812. 

Josiaii^ Hammond (JosejyJi,'' Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ Tfiom- 
as,3 William,^ Thomas^), h. Nov. 6,1785; m. Feb. 24, 1806,.Pedee 
(b. Jan. 1, 1785; d. Oct. 1, 1875), daughter of Pentecost Stanley ; 
he d. Nov. 7, 1829. Children : Joseph S., b. Sept. 20, 1806. Allen, 
b. Dec. 30, 1809. Horace, b. Apr. 10, 1811. Willard, b. IMarch 3, 
1813. Hiram, b. Feb. 13, 1816. Esther M., b. Sept. 21, 1821 ; m. 
Roswell S. Osgood. Nancy S., b. March 31, 1824 ; m. Nathan Wliit- 
comb. Angela P., b. June 8, 1827 ; m. Charles Marsh. 

Joseph^ Hammond (Benjamin,'^ Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ 
TJiomas,^ William,'^ Thomas^), b. Jan. 31, 1782; m., 1st, Dec. 17, 
1807, Mary (h. Jan. 3, 1784; d. Aug. 7, 1834), daughter of p:rie 
Richardson of Keene ; m., 2nd, Mrs. Sophia Morse (d. 1834) ; m., 
3d, Elizabeth S. Watkins of Winchester (d. Feb. 21, 1876) ; he d. 
April 26, 1861. Children: Joseph, b. Apr. 5, 1809. Joel, b. July 
20, 1811. Mary, b. Oct. 24, 1812 ; m., 1st, Thomas W. Howard ; 
ra., 2d, Joseph Hill. Aaron R., b. May 25, 1814. Huldah, b. March 
12, 1815 ; m. Nelson Nash ;' d. in Underbill, Vt., Nov. 9, 1847. El- 
liot, b. Dec. 10, 1817. Betsey, b. May 14, 1820 ; m. John Hancock, 
who d. in Hinsdale, July 25, 1878 ; she d. in West Swanzey, Dec. 16, 
1888. Azubah, b. June 8, 1822 ; d. Oct. 28, 1852. Child l)y third 
wife: Sarah J., b. May 17, 1837; m, Joseph Ware. 

Benjamin^ Hammond {Benjamin,'^ Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ 





t^^-^^^^^iy yXOi^ 



^^^^^i^^/^ty ^ iiy i^^^f<^^<^^^t;r^^^/^/^ 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 359 

Tliomas^^ William,- Thomas^), b. Nov. 21, 1792 ; rn., 1st, April 4, 
1820, Liicina (d. Feb. 3, 1823), daughter of Thomas Cross; m., 2nd, 
Charlotte, daughter of Amos Richardson (the giant) ; d. 1858, in Illi- 
nois. Children, by first wife: Daniel, b. 1820. Benjamin, b. 1823; 
lives in Wilmington, 111. Children, by second wife: C. Morrill, b. 
1825 ; lives in Gunnison, Col. Charlotte,, d. in California. Julia, 
d. in Utica, N. Y. Betsey, lives in Erieville, N. Y. Polly. 

Joseph S.^ Hammond (JosiaJi,^ Joseph,"^ Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Tliom- 
as,'^ Thomas,^ William,^ Tliomas^), b. Sept. 20, 1806; m. March 31, 
1830, Mary, daughter of Thomas Prime; d. in Maine. 

Allen^ Hammond (Josiah,^ Jose'ph,'' Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ 
Thomas,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. Dec. 30, 1809; m. Dec. 30, 1830, 
Czarina (b. Apr. 4, 1811), daughter of Ezekiel Osgood. Children: 
Esther Jane, b. March 17, 1836; m. George F, ^Bucklin. Charles 
Henry, d. in Illinois. 

Horace^ Hammond (Josiah,^ Joseph,'^ Joseph,^ Nathcmiel,^ TJiom- 
as,'^ Thovias,^ William,'^ Tliomas'^), b. April 10, 1811; m. Alvinah 
Smith of Waltham ; d. Jan. 2, 1880, in Waltham, Mass. 

WiLLARD^ Hammond (Josiah,^ Joseph^ Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ TJiom- 
as,^ Thomas,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. March 3, 1813 ; d. in Iowa, 
Feb. 21, 1864 ; m. Jan. 2, 1837, Susan Gower of Maine. Children : 
Helen M. Charles. Susan F. Josiah W. Emma. Frank. Her- 
bert. 

HiRAM^ Hammond {Josiah,^ Joseph,'' Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ 
Tlwmas,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. Feb. 13, 1816 ; m. Louisa, daugh- 
ter of Josiah Parsons ; and removed to Illinois. Children : Augusta 
L. Lillian. Carrie. Nellie. 

Joseph^ Hammond {Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ 
Thomas,'^ Thomas,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. April 5, 1809; m., 1st, 
March 20, 1835, Luthera S. (b. March 21, 1819; d. Apr. 24, 1860), 
daughter of Amasa S. Rogers; m., 2nd, May 19, 1861, Ardelia C. 
(b. Oct. 26, 1824; d. Feb. 11, 1884), daughter of Joseph Randall of 
Richmond; m., 3rd, Oct. 10, 1887, Marion E. (b. Oct. 19, 1866, in 
Lunenburg, Mass.), daughter of William Farmer of Dal)lin. Children : 
Sophina J., b. Feb. 17, 1837; m. Martin Mason. Maria E., b. Sept. 
16, 1859 ; ra. Eugene M. Keyes of Keene. 



360 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

JoEi.9 Hammond (Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Joseph,^ Nathaniel,^ Thom- 
as,'^ Thomas,^ William,^ Thomas^), h. July 20, 1811; m. Nov. 17, 
1835, Mary M. (b. July 29, 1814), daughter of Amasa S. Rogers. 
IIe.d. Jan. 21, 1885. Children: Lowell W., b. May 29, 1840. So- 
phia M., b. March 16, 1842. 

Aaron R.^ Hammond {Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Josej^h,^ Nathaniel,^ 
Thomas ^ Thomas? William,'^ Thomas^), h. May 25, 1814; m., 1st, 
March 17, 1836, Emily (b. July 19, 1817 ; d. March 12, 1869), daugh- 
ter of William Seaver ; m., 2nd, Sept. 16, 1869, Cynthia A. (b. May 
3, 1832), daughter of Jose[)h Randall, of Richmond ; he d. Oct. 8, 1872. 
Chihb'en : Harriet Melissa, b. June 28, 1837 ; m., 1st, Samuel P. Ben- 
nett ; m., 2nd, James C.Lewis of Somerville, Mass. Loron Uberto, 
b. June 8, 1842. William Denison, b. ]\Iay 4, 1845; d. Apr. 26, 
1848. William Denison, b. Apr. 15, 1852. Joseph Byron, b. Oct. 
26, 1857. 

Elliot^ Hammond {Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Joseph,^ Jsfathaniel,^ 
Thomas,^ Thomas,^ William,^ Thomas^), b. March 10, 1817; rn. Lu- 
reann (b. July 24, 1817 ; d. Sept., 1872)^, daughter of Hosea Picket 
of Winchester. He d. Jan. 3, 1859. Children : Georgeanna, b. Nov. 
16, 1842; d. Aug. 9, 1849. Eleanor F., b. Jan. 23, 1845; d. Aug. 
11, 1849. Orville H., b. March 10, 1847. Frank E., b. Sept. 21, 
1849 ; d. July 31, 1857. George W., b. Apr. 2, 1852; d. Apr. 17, 
1857. Nellie M., b. Oct. 13, 1858 ; ra., 1st, Henry Shaw of Proctors- 
ville, Vt. ; he d. July 6, 1884 ; m., 2nd, Harden 0. Ford, Oct. 16, 
1884, of Winchester. 

Lowell W.^^ Hammond (Joel,^ Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Joseph,^ Na- 
thaniel,^ Thomas,^ Thomas,"^ William,- Thomas^), b. May 29, 1840; 
m., 1st, Sept. 12, 1865, Mary E. (b. March 26, 1842; d. Oct. 16, 
1881), daughter of Madison Fairbanks ; m., 2nd, Oct. 14, 1886, Mary 
C. Ordway of Fitchburg, IMass. Children : Fred L., b. Jan. 21, 1867. 
Edith G. and Edward H. (twins), b. May 31, 1871 ; Edward, d. June 
6, 1871. Lottie L., b. Dec. 22, 1878. 

Loron U.^" Hammond {Aaron R.,^ Joseph,^ Benjamin^ Joseph,^ 
Nathaniel,^ Thomas,'^ Thomas,^ William,- Thomas^), b, June 8, 1842; 
m. Harriet Wheeler. Child : Josephine V., b. May 16, 1870 ; live in 
Worcester, Mass. 

Orville H.'^ Hammond {Elliot,^ Joseph,^ Benjamin,'' Joseph,^ 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 361 

Nathaniel,^ Tliomas,"^ Thomas,^ WlUiam^^ Thomas^), b. Marcli 10, 
1847 ; ni. Alice Walker of Cavendish, Vt. Cliilcl : Hariy Oiville, b. 
Jan. 22, 1878; resides in Gardner, Mass. 

LoRON P.2 Hammond (Christopher^ of Mcdtapoisett, Mass.),h. 1820 ; 
m. Parmelia (b. March 31, 1827; d. April, 1889), daughter of Ivory 
Snow ; d. Dec. 17, 1878. Child : Emma L., b. March 8, 1857. 

HANDY. 

Martin^ Handy {James^ of Eoyalston, Mass.), b. IMarch 21, 
1825; m. May, 1850, Mary, daughter of Levi Lewis of Royalston, 
Mass. Children : Frederick M,, b. Sept. 27, 1851. Willard A., b. 
Nov. 29, 1853. James E., b. Aug. 12, 1857. M. Isabell, b. Jan. 
10, 1861. Cora E., b. Oct. 19, 18G3 ; d. Aug. 22, 1865. Flora E., 
b. Dec. 21, 1871. 

JosEPHus^ Handy {James^ of Bethlehem, Vt.), b. May 18, 1828; 
m. Nov. 16, 1848, Rowena A. (b. in Richmond June 16, 1829), daugh- 
ter of William Woodward. Childien : William Edgar, b. Aug. 19, 
1849. Emma Josephine, b. Feb. 24, 1851 ; d. Nov. 16, 1864. Clara 
A., b. March 8, 1853 ; m. George A. Whitcomb. Frank E., b. Feb. 19, 
1855. Eda 15., b. Feb. 26, 1858; m. Henry Page. Emma Josephine, 
b. Oct. 16, 18—; d. Dec. 28, 1865. Bertie W., b. June 29, 1867. 
Jessie E., b. June 1, 1870. 

James E.^ Handy (Martin,^ James^ of Royalston, Mass.), h. Aug. 
12, 1857; m. Oct. 31, 1882, Mary Lizzie (b. July 13, 1862), daugh- 
ter of Joseph Ware. 

William Edgar^ Handy {Josephus^) , b. Aug. 19, 1849 ; m. Clara 
A. (b. Jan. 27, 1860), daughter of Henry Hill. 

Frank E.^ Handy {Josephus,^ James^), b. Feb. 19, 1855 ; m. Oct. 
9, 1875, Ida I. (b. Nov. 23, 1857), daughter of Roberts Hovey. 
Children: Theodore F., b. Apr. 23, 1876. Wayland L., b. Oct. 5, 
1881. 

hanrahan. 

Martin^ Hanrahan, b. in Ireland, Oct. 3,1844; m., 1st, Jan. 1, 
1869, Joanna Fole\- (b. in America, 1847 ; d. June 15, 1875) ; m., 2nd, 
Sept. 25,1878, Margaret A. O'Brien (b. in Ireland). Children: 
Mildred K., b. Oct. 23, 1869. Susie A., b. July 28, 1879. Mary, 
b. May 10, 1882. Margaret, b. July 8, 1888. 



362 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Charles J. H.^ Hanrahan, h. in Ireland, May 1, 1855, m. June 18, 
1882, Catharine, daughter of John Fitzgerald. Child: INIary Ann, 
b. March 22, 1883. 

Thomas' IIankaiian, b. in Ireland, 1846; m. Jan. 23, 1883, Cath- 
erine Somers. Children : Annie, b. Dec. 2, 1883. Margaret, b. 
March 9, 1885. 

HARDY. 

Sanford S.~ Hardy {Benjamin PA of Dublin)^ b. 1842; d. Aug. 
24,1876; m. Ellen A. Edwards of Dublin (b. 1848; d. Feb. -22, 
1885). Children: Cora, b. May 12, 1873. Ellen S., b. Aug. 18, 
1876. 

Albert M.^ Hardy {Benjamin PJ and Mary C. Hardy), b. in Dub- 
lin, Sept. 7, 1849 ; m. Nellie F. Frost, daughter of Charles R. Frost 
of Londonderr}'. Came to Swanze}', Nov. 29, 1877. Children : Har- 
lan Edgar, b. in Londonderrj', Aug. 27, 1875. Sanford Page, b. 
in Swanzey, Aug. 29, 1879. Myron Albert, b. Dec. 16, 1883. Ethel 
Louisa, b. Aug. 31, 1887. 

HARE. 

Patrick^ Hare, b. in Ireland, 1845 ; m. May 12, 1872, Lizzie 
Murphy (b. in Ireland, 1846). 

HARRIS. 

Stephen^ Harris {Stephen^ of Richmond)., from Gloucester, R. I., 
b. Sept. 25, 1790 ; m., 1st, 1816, Patty (b. March 4, 1793 ; d. Sept. 
24, 1852) , a daughter of David Ball of Marlborough ; m., 2nd, widow 
Joseph Whitcomb. Children: Elisha, b. Sept. 29,1817. Gilbert, 
d. young. Stephen, b. Oct. 24, 1820. Willard, b. June 3, 1823; 
d. Aug. 15, 1852. William A., b. Aug. 29, 1825. Lucy E., b. Feb. 
16, 1829; m., 1st, Welcome Ballon of Troy ; m., 2nd, Merrick Had- 
ley of Ashburnham, Mass. Lydia S., b. Sept. 9, 1832; ni. Luther 
Alexander. 

David^ Harris {Stephen^ of Richmond), b. Sept. 12, 1793; m. 
Feb. 26, 1815, Polly (b. Nov. 13, 1796), daughter of Peleg Bowen of 
Richmond ; d. Aug. 2, 1858, Children : Alcista, in., 1st, E^dwin Cass 
of Richmond ; m., 2nd, David Martin ; m., 3rd, ]\Ir. Lincoln of Peru, 

Vt. James, m. -. Patience, d. when about 3 years old. William 

Riley. David W.,b. Aug. 21, 1825. Louisa A., b. 1829 ;m. 

Joseph Whitcomb of New York State. Mary E., b. 1831 ; 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 363 

m. Rev. Mr. Hicks of New York State ; d. 1862. Alonzo, b. 1837 ; 
d. about 1841. 

Elisha3 Harris (Stephen,^ Stephen^), b. Sept. 29, 1817 ; m. 1846, 
Emily Scott of Winchester. 

]Stephen3 Harris {Stephen,- Stephen^), b. Oct. 24, 1820; m. 
July 16, 1846, Elmira (b. Apr. 9, 1822; d. May, 1847), daughter of 
Amasa Fuller of Troy. 

William A.^ Harris {Stephen,^ Stephen^ of Richmond). \>. Aug. 

29, 1825; m., Oct. 25, 1849, Sarah E. (b. May 23, 1826), daughter 
of Timothy Fife of Troy. 

David W.3 Harris (David,^ Stephen^), b. Aug. 21, 1825 ; m., Oct. 
8, 1851, Mary (b. May 8, 1828 ; d. Apr. 11, 1861), daughter of Mar- 
tin Cass of Richmond; m., 2d, Aug. 26, 1862, Maria (b. Aug. 18, 
1835 ; d. Jan. 12, 1878), daughter of Colonel Cheney of Chesterfield ; 
m., 3d, July 26, 1879, widow of Jehiel White. Children : George W., 
b. Aug. 8, 1852. Mary L., b. Dec. 4, 1853 ; m. Lovell Taft. Margie 
E., b. Nov. 30, 1855; d. Nov. 28, 1862. Abbie M.,b. Nov. 19, 1857; 
d. March 10, 1862. Henry M., b. May 10, 1859 ; d. March 20, 1862. 
James E., b. Apr. 11, 1861. Abbie M., b. Sept. 28, 1864. Charles 
C, b. Sept. 5, 1865. Milan D., b. June 22, 1868 ; d. Nov. 6, 1890, 
in Fitchburg, Mass. Addie H., b. May 16, 1871 ; m. J. L. Starkey. 
Walter L., b. May 28, 1875. 

HARVEY. 

John Harvey and Jemima his wife came from Taunton, Mass., and 
settled in Swauzey previous to 1776. The following persons may all 
have been their sons and may have been here quite as early : Ephraim 
Harvey, Timothy Harvey, Kimber. Harvey, John Harvey, jr., Ezra 
Harvey. 

TiMOTHT^ Harvey (John^ of Tannton, Mass.) , b. at Taunton, Mass. , 
March 20, 1751; d. in Marlborough, Dec. 11, 1828; m., Apr. 12, 
1774, Martha Long (b. in Taunton, Mass., May 24, 1750; d. in 
Marlborough, Apr. 8, 1822). Children : Patty, b. Dec. 22, 1774; d. 
Dec. 23, 1776. Martha, b. Apr. 19, 1776. Timothy, b. Aug. 31, 
1777; d. Feb. 19, 1789. Jemima, b. Nov, 4, 1780. Lemuel, b. Sept. 
1, 1782. Zephaniah, b. Apr. 30, 1784. Anna, b. Feb. 25, 1786. 
Sally, b. Apr. 7, 1788. Timothy, b. Nov. 4, 1790. Daniel, b. Sept. 

30, 1794; d. Aug. 15, 1795. 



364 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

KiMBKR- Harvey (John'^), h. Apr. 15, 1755; d. in Marlborough, 
Feb. 1, 1828 ; m., Sept. 11, 1783, Mary Hazeltine. Children : Lutlier 
and Calvin, b. Sept. 26, 1783. Polly, b. Jan. 16, 1785. Betsey, b. 
Oct. 26, 1786. Fhilinda, b. Nov. 9, 1788; m. Nahum Baldwin. 
Charlotte, b. Nov. 25, 1790; d. Nov. 16, 1816. Hannah, b. Oct. 
23, 1792. Nehemiah, b. Oct. 13, 1794. David, b. Aug 1(), 1796. 
Damaris, b. Oct. 3, 1798. Oilman, b. Oct. 11, 1800. Roxanna, b. 
Aug. 2, 1802. George, b. Aug. 27, 1805. Ira, b. July 25, 1806. 
James, b. Dec. 8, 1810. 

Ezra2 Harvet (John^), m., Aug. 10, 1774, Zipporah Blake of 
Keeue, who d. Oct. 30, 1778. 

JoHN^ Harvey, (John^), m. Mercy . Children: John 

Thurber, bapt. March 31, 1782. Mercy, bapt. July 27, 1783. lul- 
ward, bapt. Aug. 30, 1785. The mother died previous to the baptism 
of Edward. ' 

HASKELL. 

Orrick L.2 Haskell (Abiier^ and Laura Haskell of Troy), b. Nov. 
•18, 1825; m. Elizabeth W., daughter of Nahum and Mary Ward of 
Troy. Children: Andrew L., b. in Tro}', March 11, 1851. Lizzie 
A., b. June 30, 1854; m., Nov. 24, 1874, James Biggs of LoAvell, 
Mass. George H., b. Apr. 6, 1856. Maria A., b. in Troy, Oct. 21, 
1857; m., Nov. 8, 1880, Frank H. Strickland of Winchendon, Mass. 
Eva M., b. June 28, 1860. 

Andrew J.^ Haskell {Orrick L.,~ Abner^), b. March 11, 1851 ; 
m., Dec. 15, 1874, Annie M. Lord, b. Feb. 21, 1848. 

George H.^ Haskell {Orrick i.,~ Abnei'^), b. April 6, 1856; m. 
Oct. 2, 1878, Nellie Andrews of Chesterfleld. 

HASTINGS. 

John Hastings, of Charlestown, m. Jan. 2, 1776, Miriam (b. Jan. 
23, 1755; d. March 12, 1835), daughter of Jonathan Hammond. 
Children: Garinter, b. July 25, 1779. Augusta, m. Edward God- 
dard. 

Garinter- Hastings {John^ of Charlestown) , b. July 25, 1779 ; d. 
in Waitsfield, Vt., June 28, 1857; m., Mar. 7, 1801, Hannah Olcott 
(b. Feb. 13, 1784; d. March 19, 1860), of Rockingham, Vt. Chil- 
dren born in Swanzey : Martha, b. Aug. 24, 1803. Eliza F., b. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 365 

Apr. 28, 1805. Fanny O., b. Nov. 3, 1806. Yorick C. W., b. Ang. 
24, 1808. George H., b. June 14, 1810. Marian D., b. Jnly 17, 
1812. Susan Carpenter, b. Nov. 26, 1813. Clarissa Webb, b. May 
27, 1816. Justus P., b. Apr. 14, 1818. Clarissa Webb, b. July 22, 
1820. Rodney D., b. Dec. 10, 1821. Jonathan Hammond, b. in 
Waitsfield, Vt., Feb. 12, 1824. Maria A., b. in Waitsfield, Dec. 2, 
1825. 

Samuel Hastings, m. Jan. 20, 1783, Lucy Eugg. 

HAZEN. 

Edward Hazen, m. Sarah . Children: Edward. Samuel, 

b. Dec. 16, 1768. Luke and John, b. Jan. 31, 1771; John d. 
March 19, 1771. Nathaniel, b. Apr. 6, 1772. Mary, b. Dec. 9, 1775. 

Edward^ Hazen {Echcard^) , m. Aug. 9, 1785, Jemima Bathrick 
of Lunenburg, Mass. Children: Josiah, bapt. March 16, 1788. 

HATES. 

Joseph R. Hates, m. Dec. 24, 1865, J. M. W. Houghton. 

HKALET. 

Davis^ Healet {Samuel^ of Winchester), b. Aug. 22, 1782; m.. 
Nov. 27, 1805, Asenath (b. Feb. 24, 1781 ; d. in Feb., 1826), daugh- 
ter of Samuel Hills ; d. Feb. 17, 1824. Children : Sally, b. Oct. 15, 
1806 ; d. Oct., 1823. Asa, b. Aug. 22, 1808. Samuel, d. aged two 
years. Nathaniel Davis, b. Jan., 1813 ; d. in Reading, Mass., 1837. 
Asenath, b. 1815 ; m. Gardner Currier of Lowell, Mass. Lucy, b. 
March 21, 1817 ; m. Edmund Stone. Hannah, b. Nov. 17, 1819 ; m. 
John Stone. 

AsA^ Healet (Davis,^ Samuel^), b. Aug. 22, 1808 ; m., 1st, Nov. 
16, 1840, Mary Clark (b. Dec. 23, 4809 ; d. Oct. 28, 1857), daughter 
of Joseph Kimball, m., 2nd, Susan, widow of Martin Thompson. 
Children : Daniel Kimball, b. Sept. 14, 1841. Davis Brainard, b. Dec. 
22, 1843; d. Aug. 24, 1864. Anna Asenath, b. Oct. 22, 1845; m. 
Jotham Ballon. Chauncey Wallace, b. Dec. 4, 1848. 

James^ Heaton {James^ of Wrentham, Mass.),m. Abigail ; 

d. Aug. 14, 1753. Children: John, b. Nov. 20, 1744. Moses, b. 
Dec. 2, 1747. Samuel, b. March 25, 1750. James, b. May 30, 
1752. 

William- Heaton (James^), m. Feb. 14, 1754, Irene King. Chil- 
25 



3(i6 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

dren : MaiT, bapt. Ma}' 18, 1755; d. Aug. 24, 1755. Maiy, bapt. 
Nov. 21, 175G. Lucy, bapt. Apr. 22, 1759. Orauge, bapt. Apr. 5, 
1761. Solomon, bapt. Apr. 15, 1764. King, bapt. June 4, 1769. 
Irene, bapt. Aug. 18, 1771 ; d. June 13, 1773. Irene, bapt. Apr. 17, 
1774. 

Nathaniel IIeaton m., 1st, Esther , who d. IMay 23, 1761 ; 

m., 2nd, Rebecca . Children: Rebecca, b. Feb. 26, 1764. 

Joseph, b. Feb. 23, 1766. Nathaniel, b. Nov. 27, 1768. Gershom, 
bapt. Sept. 8, 1771. 

James"^ Heaton {James,- James^ from Wrentham, Mass.), b. May 
30, 1752; m. Aug. 13, 1778, Susannah, daughter of William Grimes. 
Children: Rachel, b. Oct. 1, 1779. William, b. Apr. 1, 1781. Su- 
sannah, b. Jan. 25, 1783. Nathan, b. Dec. 1, 1784. Esther, b. Jan. 
14, 1787. James, b. July 30, 1789. John, b. June 6, 1791. 

IIEFFUON. 

Michael Heffron d. about 1798 ; a son d. Aug. 9, 1777. 

Mrs. Molly Heffron d. Feb. 21, 1812, aged 72. 

Susanna Heffron m. Dec. 28, 1780, Joseph Day. 

Rose Heffron m. July 6, 1784, Beriah Daj\ 

John Heffron m. Feb. 5, 1784, Lydia Lawrence. A child d. in 
Jan., 1786. 

Enos Heffron d. Jan. 30, 1812, aged 39 ; Sarah, his wife, d. March 
17, 1839, aged 62. A child d. in 1811. 

Betsey Heffron m. Eldad Cross. 

Joel Heffron m. May 14, 1789, Olive Marble of Winchester. 

Mary Heffron m. Feb. 20, 1828,Benoni Thompson, of Richmond. 

HENRY. 

James- Henry {William^ of Chesterfield), b. Sept. 25, 1773; m. 
1798, Mary (b. July 14, 1775; d. Feb. 25, 1850), daughter of 
Gibson "Willard of Harvard, Mass. ; d. Feb. 10, 1854. Children : 
Frederick William, b. Dec. 17, 1798; d. Feb., 1820. Rebecca, b. 
Oct. 20, 1800. James, b. Apr. 17, 1803; d. Apr. 9, 1855. John 



GENEALOGICAL EECOEDS. 367 

Park, b. Sept. 2, 1806. Willard, b. Feb. 1, 1809. Mary F., b. May 
30, 1812; m. March 30, 1854, Charles W. Brown, of Winchester; d. 
Jan. 16, 1890, aged 77 years. Betsey Elizabeth, b. Nov. 6, 1814; 
m. Jay Jackson, Chesterfield ; d. March 14, 1870. 

JohnPark^ Henry (James,^ William^), b. Sept. 2, 1806 ; m. Laura 
(daughter of Amaziah Stone) ; he d. Aug. 14, 1847 ; she m., 2nd, in 
1850, David Holman. Children: Maria A., b. in Chesterfield, July 1, 
1836 ; m. Dec. 26, 1855, Charles W. Adams. John Harfield, b. in 
Chesterfield, March 4, 1838. Elizabeth L., b. June 27, 1840; m. 
Feb. 28, 1872, Edwin W. Clark. Charles E., b. May 15, 1842. James 
S., b. March 8, 1844. George L., b. Apr. 3, 1846. 

HEWES. 

Benjamin Hkwes, Sr., m. Elizabeth . Children : Benjamin, b. 

Aug. 20, 1759. William, b. March 22, 1761. Elijah, b. March 15, 
1763. George, b. June 28, 1765. Mary, b. Jan. 29, 1768. Martha, 
b. March 8, 1772; m. Jan. 19, 1794, John Montague Field of Sulli- 
van. 

Bkn-tamin^ Hewes (Benjamin^), b. Aug. 20, 1759; m. Oct. 10, 

1781, Jemima (b. Oct. 10, 1765), daughter of Caleb Cook. Children : 
Anna, b. Sept., 1783. Sally, b. Jan. 29, 1785'; d. Apr. 13, 1785. 
Patty, b. 1786. Sally, b. Nov. 1, 1787. Polly, July 13, 1789. 
Providence, b. June 12, 1791. Lyman, b. Feb. 4, 1793. 

William^ Hkwes (Benjamin^) , b. March 22, 1761; m. Feb. 18, 

1782, Abigail (bapt. Feb. 11, 1759), daughter of Jonathan Woodcock. 
Children : Samuel, b. Aug. 2, 1782 ; d. May 12, 1785. Mary, b. June 
4, 1784. Fanny and Thusa, b. Sept. 1, 1786 ; Thusa, d. Oct. 5, 1786. 
Samuel, b. Apr. 22,1788. Luman, b.^ July 11, 1790. Arethusa, bapt. 
Sept. 16, 1792. Esther, bapt. June 14, 1794. Benjamin, bapt. Sept. 
4, 1797. William, b. in 1800. 

George^ Heaves (Benjamin^), h. June 28, 1765; m. Jan. 31, 1793, 
Sarah, an adopted daughter of Benjamin Wilson. 

Samuel^ Hewes ( William,- Benjamin^), b. Apr. 22, 1788 ; m., 2nd, 
Sarah Norwood. Children : Celia, m. Calvin Curtis. Matilda, b. 
April 13, 1821. Sarah Sophia, b. Aug. 16, 1822. Lorenzo Nor- 
wood, b. April 13, 1827. Medora, b. May 11, 1839. 

William^ Hewes {William^^ Benjamin^) ^ b. 1800; m. Oct. 3, 



368 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

1825, Alinira(b. Sept. 17, 1803), daughter of Calviu Curtis ; cl. Oct. 
25, 1857. 

Lorenzo N.^ Hewes (Samuel,'^ William,- Bevjamin^) , b. April 13, 
1827; m. Nov. 19, 1849, Pliebe S. (b. April 19, 1826), daugliter of 
Wyniau Richardson. Children: Janette L., b. Dec. 11, 1850. 
Franklin N. and Flora (twins), b. July 30, 1852 ; Flora, m. Jan. 9, 
1872, George D. Ilutchins; reside in Northfield, INIass. Lilhi K., 1). 
April 18, 1855; d. Feb. 17, 1857. Frederick II., b. June 7, 1857; 
lives in Brooklyn, N. Y. Walter R., b. Feb. 3, 1859. Charles O., 
b. March 17, 1870. 

Frankltn N.^ Hewes {Lorenzo iV.,^ Saimiel,^ William,^ Benja- 
min^), b. July 30, 1852 ; m. April 14, 1875, Hattie E. Farris. Chil- 
dren : Ray F. Elsie R. 

Walter R.-'' Hewes {Lorenzo N.,^ Samuel,'^ William,^ Benjamin'^), 
b. Feb. 3, 1859 ; m. April 3, 1879, Emma J., daughter of George W. 
Eastman. Children: Henrj' N. Bessie B., resides in Fitchburg, 
Mass. 

HIGGINS. 

Arza A.^ Higgins {Josiali,'^ Charles,^ Joseph,^ JosepJi^ of Chester- 
field) , b. March 13, 1831 ; ni., 1st, Sarah, daughter of Jacob T. AVhite ; 
m., 2nd, Elsie (d. Feb. 5, 1873), daughter of Lyman Field; ni,, 3d, 
April 25, 1875, Dora (b. Aug. 14, 1852), daughter of Martin Cram. 
Child: Lillian A., b. April 28, 185G. 

HILL. 

William Hill and wife Sarah were in Swanzey in 1754. He d. 
Oct. 19, 1754. His widow lu. Nov. 25, 1756, Wyot Gunn. Chil- 
dren : Anna and Hannah, bapt. May 12, 1754. 

Jonathan Hill m. Rusella Combs of Winchester. Children : 
George, b. 1777. Reuben. Joseph, b. in Oct., 1781. Sall}^ b. April 
2, 1787; m. Seth Leonard. Barney. Jonathan, b. Oct. 14, 1792. 
David, b. Feb. 14, 1794. Caleb, b. 1798. Elisha, b. April 12, 1800. 
Betsej', m. John Sanderson. Massa, m. George Darling. JMary, m. 
Seth Pomroy of Swanzey. 

George^ Hill {Jonathan^ of Winchester), b. 1777; m. Lona Al- 
drich (b. 1781 ; d. Sept. 6, 1849) ; d. 1852. Children : Elijah. Han- 
nah, b. Sept. 9, 1813 ; m. Benjamin Pomroy. George Elliot, b. 1818 ; 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 369 

d. Apr. 5, 1847. David A., b. Nov. 29, 1819. Charlotte, b. about 
1825 ; d. Jan. 4, 1847. 

Joseph^ Hill (Jonathan^), b. Oct., 1781 ; m. April 30, 1808, 
Mary (b. June 21, 1792 ; d. July 17, 1870), daughter of Seth Pom- 
roy ; he d. Aug., 1867. Children: George H., b. 1809; Lucy, b. 
1811 ; m. Ferdinand Pickering of Winchester. Daniel, b. 1813. 
Eliza, b. 1815. Josepli, b. July 31, 1819. Luther N., d. about one 
year old. Luther N., b. Feb. 18, 1825 ; d. April 30, 1867. John P., 
b. Aug. 13, 1832. 

Jonathan^ Hill {Jonathan^) ^h. Oct. 14, 1792 ; m. Nov. 25, 1812, 
Malinda Ashley, daughter of Enoch Day ; d. Feb., 1877. Children : 
Emily, b. Feb. 13, 1813 ; m. Lewis Leach. Lawson, b. Feb. 3, 1817. 
Bradley, b. Sept. 22, 1820. Julia, b. Aug. 8, 1824; ni. Harvey 
Beal. Maria, b. Aug., 1826 ; m. Otis Scott of Chesterfield. Albert 
G., b. Sept. 28, 1832. Jewett Jonathan, b. Nov. 1, 1833. Rebecca 
J., b. Apr. 30, 1835; m. Dec. 23, 1860, Capt. Edward F. Adams of 
Troy. Seraph S., b. Oct. 3, 1837 ; m. Charles A. Quinn. 

David2 Hill (Jonathan^), b. Feb. 14, 1794; m. June 20, 1816, 
Keziah (b. Aug. 11, 1797; d. Dec. 6, 1870), daughter of Stei)hen 

Franklin of Winchester; d. . Children: Lucina, b. Oct. 18, 

1817 ; m. Nathaniel Dickinson. Abraham T., b. Jan. 9, 1819. Wes- 
ley, b. June 14, 1821 ; lives in Minnesota. Laura, b. July 27, 1824; 
m. P^liphalet Noyes. Luthera, b. May 15, 1825; d. May 28, 1852. 
Louisa, b. Sept. 28, 1828 ; m. George AV. Ellis. Edwin, b. Oct. 31, 
1829. Henry, b. Apr. 16, 1832. Lovilla, b. March 9, 1835 ; m. Jon- 
athan G. Huntley. Daniel B. C, b. Feb. 4, 1836. David, b. . 

An infant d. L. Sophia, b. Dec. 1, 1843; m. Leonard Whitcomb. 

Joseph^ Hill (Josejjh,- Joriathan^) , b. July 31, 1819 ; m., 1st, Jan. 
18, 1841, Mary (b. Oct. 24, 1812; d. Feb. 3, 1853), daughter of Jo- 
seph Hammond, and widow of Thomas W. Howard ; m., 2nd, June 9, 
1853, Sarah F. Colby (d. Feb. 14, 1859, aged 34 years) ; m., 3d, Sa- 
rah F. Floyd from Maine (b. Nov. 9, 1817; d. Nov. 20, 1886) ; ra., 
4th, April 11, 1888, widow Mary Shelly (1). Aug. 13, 1833) of Keene ; 
resides in Keene. Children : Elvira J., b. INIarch 2, 1842 ; d. Sept. 2, 
1849. Algernon H., b. Jan. 20, 1846 ; resides in Keene. An infant 
d. Jan. 14, 1853. 

LuTiiER N.3 Hill {Joseph,- Jonathan^), b. Feb. 18, 1825; m. 



370 IIISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

Marcli 22, 1848, Lucretia N., (laughter of David Road ; he d. March 
31, 1867. Children: Fred. Charles. Waldo. Wilfred A. The 
family resides in AValtluini, IMass. 

John P.3 Hill {Joseph,- Joiathan^), b. Aug. 13, 1832; ni. Jan. 

I, 1852, Olive A. (b. Aug. 24, 1835; d. Feb. 28, 1872), daughter of 
Luther Lawrence; ni., 2d, July 17, 1873, Relief (b. Aug. 17, 1851) ; 
daughter of Barton Grant of Fitzwilliam. Children: John M., b. 
April 29, 1853 ; d. Sept. 16, 1864. Lillias, b. March 26, 1856. 
Russell C, b. Dec. 19, 1858. Evie A., b. Aug. 1, 1862; d. March 
2,1888. Amos M., b. May 24, 1864. 

Russell C.^ Hill (JohnP.,^ Joseph,^ Jonathan^), b. Dec. 19, 
1858; m. Nov. 26, 1884, Annis M. (b. Sept. 16, 1860), daughter of 
John R. Brown. 

Amos M.^ Hill {John P.,3 Joseph,- Jonathan^), b. May 24, 1864 ; 
m. Oct. 15, 1888, Janett A. (b. Nov. 21, 1864), daughter of Barret 
Fosgate of Winchester. 

Bradley^ Hill {Jonathan,'^ JonatJtcm^), b. Sept. 22, 1820; m. 
Oct. 14, 1844, Prussia (b. 1823; d. Oct. 14, 1848), daughter of Reu- 
ben Willard of Chesterfield ; ni., 2d, Susan (1). 1837; d. Aug. 18, 
1858), daughter of James Remington of Deerfield, Mass. Children: 
Bradley W., b. March 4, 1845. Angelina, b. Oct. 14, 1847 ; in. Ed- 
ward P. Sebastian. 

Abraham T. 2 Hill {David,- Jonathan^), b, in Winchester, Jan. 
9, 1819 ; m. in South Vernon, Vt., June 4, 1850, Sarah B. Gary (b. 
in Westmoreland, Jan. 25, 1835) ; he d. Sept. 11, 1890. Children : 
Charles W., b. April 24, 1851 ; lives in Alstead. Jennie L., b. Sept. 

II, 1856 ; d. Oct. 9, 1865. Eliza I., b. July, 1857. 

F.Dyyiii'^B.iLh {David, '^ Jonathan^), b. Oct. 31, 1829; d. Jan. 28, 
1884; m. May 22, 1854, Martha J. (b. Aug. 28, 1834), daughter of 
David Whitcomb. Children : INIary R., b. Oct. 6, 1854 ; m. Wyman 
Goodell. AdaE., b. ]\Iay 30, 1857; ni. Elmer J. Bullard. Adella 
W., b. June 26, 1861 ; m. Eldvvard P. Sebastian. Edwin A., b. Apr. 
6, 1865. 

Henry^ Hill {David,- Jonathan^), b. Apr. 16, 1832; m. June 19, 
1855, Sarah C. (b. Aug., 1836), daughter of David Whitcomb. Chil- 
dren : Clara A.,b. Jan. 27, 1860; m. William E Igar Handy. Mar- 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 371 

shall H., b. Oct. 16, 1862. Jolm H., b. March 28, 1865. Infant, 
b. Aug. 25, 1868. Clara M., b. July 2, 1871. 

Daniel B. C.^ Hill {Davkl,^ Jonathan^), b. Feb. 4, 1836; ra. 
Feb. 4, 1861, Lizzie Ann (b. Nov. 7, 1839 ; d. Dec. 23, 1887), daugh- 
ter of George Leonard ; m., 2d, Maj' 25, 1889, widow E. L. Carpen- 
ter of Surry, Children : Dan Leonard, b. Apr. 30, 1864. Lizzie Eva, 
b. May 27, 1866. Earl George Burdin, b. May 27, 1869. 

David^ Hill {Davkl,^ Jonathan'^), m. Harriet Lane. Child: 
George, b. Jan. 22, 1863. This family removed from town. 

Bradley W.^ Hill {Bradley,'^ Jonathan,'^ Jonathan^) ^ b. March 
4, 1845 ; m. Feb. 27, 1864, Filly White of Walpole. 

JoHN^ Hill (EUhu^ of Hinsdale), b. June, 1832 ; in. Sept., 1854, 
Calista L. (b. Nov. 30, 1834), daughter of Darius E. Wright. They 
have an adopted son, Fred J., b. Feb. 22, 1857. 

HILLS. 

Samuel Hills from Massachusetts had three sons : Nathaniel, b. 
1728. Samuel. Ebeuezer, b. in Swanzey, 1738. 

Nathaniel^ Hills {Samuel^) , b. in 1728 ; m. Meletiah who 

d. May 14, 1765 ; m., 2d, Sarah , who d. Feb. 13, 1781 ; m., 

3d, Hannah (b. 1741 ; d. 1812) ; he d. Feb. 1807. Children : 

Samuel, b. March 4, 1754. Nathaniel, b. Nov. 4, 1755. AVilliara, 
b. Feb. 26, 1758; m, a Miss Randall from Richmond and moved to 
Vermont. John, bapt. July 13, 1760; d. Sept. 21, 1763. Reuben, 
bapt. Apr. 24, 1763 ; removed to Hancock. Meletiah, bapt. Aug. 12? 
1770 ; d. June, 1773. Sarah, 'bapt. May 30, 1773. 

Samuel^ Hills (SamueU) , b. about 1730 ; d. about 1800 ; m. June 
27, 1758, Sarah, daughter of Abraham Graves. Children : Asa, bapt. 
Apr. 22, 1759 ; d. young. Asa, b. Apr. 20, 1761 ; d. young. Elisha, 
b. March 15, 1763 ; d. July 24, 1772. Esther, b. Jan. 23, 1765; d. 
young. Moses, b. March 19, 1767. Asa, bapt. March 20, 1770. 
Esther, b. May 31, 1772 ; m. Ezekiel Osgood. 

Ebenezer- Hills (Samuel^), b. in Swanzey, 1738; m., 1st, Abigail 

; m., 2d, June 30, 1795, Abigail, daughter of Elkanali Lane. 

Cliildren : Abigail, b. June 25, 1767. Calvin, b. Apr. 12, 1769. 
Ebenezer, b. Aug. 16, 1771. Gains, b. July 7, 1773. 



372 HISTORY OF SWAXZEY. 

Samuel^ Hills {Nathaniel^" Samuel^), b. March 4, 1754; m. May- 
Si, 1780, Asenath (b. Dec. 4, 1761 ; d. Dec. 14, 1820), danglitor of 
pjlisha .Scott; m., 2(1, Mrs. Hannah Healc}' of Winchester; d. May 
28, 1832, Children: Asenath, b. Feb. 24, 1781; m. Davis Healey. 
Sally, b. Aug. 17, 1783; d. May 7, 1800. MeLitiah, b. May 17, 
1787 ; d. Jan. 7, 1811. Polly, b. Apr. 13, 1789 ; m. Joshua Parker ; 
m., 2d, Joseph Kimball. Rachel, b. June 2, 1791 ; m., in 1819, Jo- 
seph Stickne^^ of N. Y. John, b. June 28, 1793. Samuel, b. May 
31, 1795. Prudence, b. Sept. 18, 1796 ; m. Hubbard Mason of Brook- 
line, Vt. Reuben, b. Dec. 23, 1798. Nathaniel, b. Aug. 25, 1801; 
d. Feb. 25, 1804. Georgiana, ni. Fosgate of AVebster. 

Nathaniel^ Hills {Nathaniel-, Samuel^), h. Nov. 14,1755; ra. 
Patty, daughter of Shubael^ Seaver ; d. Dec. 22, 1845. 

William^ Hills {Nathaniel,^ Samuel^), b. Feb. 26, 1758 ; m. Aug. 
8, 1782, Abigail (b. Feb. 10, 1761; d. Jan. 3, 1850), daughter of 
John Frary; he d. Oct. 18, 1859. Children: Abigail, b. Nov. 11, 
1782. Hannah, b. Dec. 24, 1784. Nathaniel, b. Apr. 14, 1787. 
Surah, b. Apr. 7, 1789. 

Moses-' Hills (Samuel,'^ SamueV-)^ b. March 19, 1767 ; m. June 23, 
1796, Mary (b. Apr. 17, 1772; d. Oct. 20, 1850), daughter of Elijah 
Belding ; he d. Dec. 3, 1842. Children : Prudence, b. Feb. 8, 1797 ; 
m. Reuben Porter. Esther, b. July 14, 1799 ; m. Erastus Dickinson. 
Silas, b. June 6, 1801. Samuel, b. Sept. 12, 1803, at Newfane, Vt. 
Rhoda, b. March 6, 1806, at Newfane, Vt. Elijah, b. May 3, 1808. 
Elisha, b. Oct. 20, 1810. Chauncey. 

Asa^ Hills (Samuel,'^ SamueU), bapt. March 20, 1770; m., Jan. 
31, 1793, Rachel (b. May 25, 1769), daughter of Timothy Read. 

Calvin^' Hills (Ebenezer,^ Samuel^), b. April 12, 1769; m. Feb. 
12, 1804, Sarah (b. Feb. 18, 1780), daughter of Elijah Belding; he 
d. Nov. 23, 1819. Child : Charles Nicholas. 

Ebenezer^ Hills (Ebenezer,- Samuel^), h. Aug. 16, 1771 ; m. June 
8, 1796, Lydia Chamberlain (b. in Washington, Aug. 15,1775; d. 
June 24, 1840) ; d. Sept., 1847, Gainesville, N. Y. Children : Sylvia, 
b. Apr. 6, 1797; m. Nathaniel Stanley. Calvin, b. Sept. 16, 1799, in 
Windsor, Vt. Sidney, b. Dec. 23, 1801, in Bernardston, Mass. James 
M., b. in Bernardston, Feb. 14, 1804. Henry L., b. in Bernardston, 
June 25, 1806. William G., b. in Marlborough, June 23, 1808. Fran- 
cis D., b. in Marlborough, Oct. 15, 1810. 





^^y^L^<^7 




2 t^^. 




GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 373 

Gaius^ Hills {Ebenezer,- SamueP), b. July 7, 1773; m. Priscilla 
(b. in 1774; d. Feb. 3, 1815) ; d. June 1, 1804. Children: Luther, 
b. June 2, 1800. Clarissa, b. Apr. 17, 1802. Albert, b. March 22, 
1804. 

John'* Hills (Samuel,^ Nathaniel,^ Samuel^), b. June 18, 1793; 
m. Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Hill, Chesterfield. Children : 
Charles Bradlej^ b. Aug. 10, 1826. George Harvey, b. July 6, 1828. 
Francis, b. Jan. 2, 1831. Eliza, b. Feb. 2, 1833. Henry, b. March 
30, 1837. 

Samuel'' Hills {Samuel,^ KathanieU'^ Samuel^), b. May 31, 1795. 
m. Miss Washburn of Peterboro' ; d. in Canada. Children : Samuel. 
Frederick. William. 

SiLAs^ Hills (3foses,^ Samuel,^ Samuel^), b. June 6, 1801 ; m., in 
1832, Emeline Walker. 

Elijah'' Hills (Moses,^ Samuel,'^ Samuel^) ^ b. May 3, 1808; m. 
May 10, 1836, Jemima Darling (b. Nov. 15, 1815 ; d. Feb. 26, 1883), 
of Winchester ; d. Feb. 16, 1874. Children: Isaac A., b. Aug. 10, 
1838. Charles M., b. Jan. 12, 1841 ; d. Feb. 1, 1862. Sarah B., b. 
July 13, 1843 ; m. George A. Pottle of Boston, Mass. Calvin E., b. 
Sept. 11, 1846. Hiram G., b. May 16, 1848. Elizabeth, b. May 9, 
1850 ; m, Phiuelias Gay. Nancy P., b. May 1, 1853 ; m. Charles R. 
Worcester. William B., b. June 6, 1855. Mary J.,b. May 30, 1858; 
m. Fred M. Farr. 

George Harvey^ Hills {Jolin,^ Samnel^^ Nathaniel,^ Samuel^) > 
b. July 6, 1828; m., 2nd, Mary E. Aldrich from Westmoreland. 
Children : George. Sherman. Stella. 



' o^ 



Calvin E.° Hills (Elijah,'^ 3foses,^ Samuel,'^ Samuel^), h. Sept. 
11, 1846; m. April 3, 1878, Anna G., daughter of Willard Gay. 
Child : Gay E., b. Sept. 5, 1882. 

HOLBROOK. 

Petee'^ Holbrook (Eh'pJialet,^ Eliphalel'^ of BellingJiavi,^ Peter of 
Mendon, Thomas^ of Braintree, Thomas^ settled in Weymouth about 
1635), b. Nov. 23, 1762 ; m. Mary Bates of Mendon, Mass. (b. 1767 ; 
d. April 19, 1850) ; he d. Dec. 3, 1837. Children : Elkanah, b. 
Jan. 21, 1788, in Bellingliam, Mass. Julia, b. Nov. 21, 1789 ; d. 
July 19, 1845. Isaac B., b. Jan. 21, 1792 ; d. in 1875. Clark B., 



374 HISTORY OF SWANZEr. 

b. April 11, 1794. Mary, h. Feb. 24, 1797; d. Sept. 23, 1S54. 
Peter, b. July 28, 1799 ; d. .July 30, 1819. Olive, b. Jan. 2G, 1804 ; 
d. April 7, 1849. Helon, b. Aug. 27, 1807. Sophia, b. May 12, 
1812; m. William W. Gooduovv. 

Seth'5 Holbrook (ElipJialet,^ ElipJialet,"^ Peter,^ Thomas,- Thom- 
as'^), b. July 19, 1765 ; m. Hannah Bates (b. in Apr., 1776 ; d. Nov. 
19, 1868) of Mendon, a sister of Mrs. Peter Holbrook; settled in 
Swanzey in 1800 ; d. Dec 11, 1833. Children : Lucretia, b. Apr. 14, 
1800; m. James Whittaker of New York State. Chiron, b. Ai)r. 11, 
1803. 

Elkanah''' Holbrook {Peter,^ Eliphcdet,^ Eliphalet,^ Peter,^ Thom- 
as,^ Thomas^), b. Jan. 21, 1788; m. March 26, 1812, Diana Wade. 
Children: Elkanah. Sail}', m. Daniel Starkcy of Tro}'. Isaac W., 
b. in Nov., 1818. 

Clark B.' Holbrook (Peter,^ EUpJialet,^ Eliphalet,"^ Peter,^ Thom- 
as,^ Thomas^), b. in Bellingham, Mass., April 11, 1794; m., 1st, 
Dec. 26, 1817, Abigail (b. in Fitzwilliam, May 30, 1793; d. Apr. 12, 
1855), daugliter of Joel Mellen ; m., 2nd, widow of Josepli Wood- 
ward of Marlborough, who d. Aug. 15, 1870; he d. May 2, 1879. 
Children : Mellen Robert, b. Feb. 7, 1819. Lyman, b. Apr. 18, 1821. 
Mary Alzina, b. Aug. 12, 1823 ; ^ra. Chiron'Holbrook. Cyrus Foote, 
b. Feb. 13, 18J5 ; d. July 29, 1876. Betsey Maria, b. March 15, 
1827; ra. Oct. 20, 1846, Nathaniel B. Fisher of Fitzwilliam. Olive 
Priscilla, b. Oct. 25, 1828 ; m. Thayer Thompson. Charles, li. Aug. 
31, 1830. Clark Bates, b. Aug. 22, 1834. Henry, b. March 9, 1837 ; 
d. Aug. 22, 1837. 

Helon' Holbrook (Peter,'^ Eliphalet,^ Ehphalet,'^ Peter. ^ Thomas,'^ 
Thomas^), b. Aug. 27, 1807; m. Sept. 8, 1835, Polly (b. 1809; d. 
Feb. 11, 1837), daughter of Thomas Applin, Chelsea, Vt. 

Chiron''' Holbrook (Seth,^ ElipJialet,^ Eliplmlet,^ Peter,^ Tliom- 
as,^ Thomas^), b. April 11, 1803; m. May 26, 1844, Mary A. (h. 
Aug. 12, 1823), daughter of Clark Bates Holbrook ; lie d. Oct. 18, 
1872. Children: Lucretia, m. Harvey M. Carlton. Lovilla R., ni. 
George W. Taft. Nancy IM., m. A. Woodward. 

Mkllen R.8 Holbrook {Clark B.,"^ Peter, ^ Eliphalet,^ Eliplialet,^ 
Peter ■^ Thomas,^ Thomas^), b. Fel). 7, 1819; ra., 1st, Jan. 1, 1857, 
Emily E. Smith of Volney, N. Y., who d. May 5, 1857; m., 2nd, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 375 

Mil}' 8, 1861, Mary J. Lobdell of Poughkeepsie, N. Y., who d. in 
1863; he d. June 6, 1881. 

Lyman^ Holbrook {Clark B.,'' Peter, ^ Ehphalet,^ Eh phalet,'^ Peter, '^ 
Thomas,^ TJiomas^), h. April 18, 1821 ; m. May 15, 1849, Morandy 
(b. Apr. 14, 1817), daughter of Levin Aldrich of Richmond. 

Charles^ Holbrook {Clark B.,'' Peter, ^ EUphalet,^ EUpJialet,'^ 
Peter,^ Thomas,^ TJiomas^), b. Aug. 31, 1830 ; m. Jan. 29, 1866, Su- 
san M., daughter of M. S. Hurd of Sacramento, California. Chil- 
dren : Henry Morgan. Mar}' Hurd. Susan Maria. Olive Mellen. 
All born in California. 

Clark B.s Holbrook {Clark B.,'' Peter, ^ EUplmlet,^ Eliphalet,'^ Pet- 
er,^ TJiomas,^ Thomas^), b. Aug. 22, 1834; m. Jan. 1, 1862, Mary L. 
Parker of SpringQeld, Mass. 

Isaac W.^ Holbrook {Elkanah,'' Peter,^ Eliphalet,^ EUphalet,'^ Pet- 
er,^ Thomas,^ Thomas^), b. Nov., 1818 ; ra. May 23, 1841, Sarah M. 
(b. Oct. 23, 1819), daughter of Luke Harris of Troy; he d. in Marl- 
borough. Children : Ellen Maria, b. June 15, 1842 ; m. Nov. 3, 1864, 
George G. Newcomb of Roxbury. Susan L., b. Nov. 10, 1844; m. 
Fred C. Lang. Mary C, b. July 27, 1847 ; m. May 23, 1875, Charles 
Phillips of Keene. John H., b. May 23, 1853. Ida L., b. Jan. 24, 
1855. 

JoHN^ Holbrook {John'^ of UxhrUlge, John^ of Uxbridge, John^ of 
Weymouth, John^ came to Weymouth 1640), b. 1747 ; came to Swanzey 
about 1796 ; m., 1st, Rhoda Thaj-er, of Mendon. Mass. ; ni,, 2nd, June 
1, 1797, widow of Josiah Prime (d. March 31, 1857) ; he d. July 27, 
1817. Children: Moses. Ezra. John, b. 1778. Catharine or Cata, 
m. George Brown of Richmond. Thayer. Rhoda, b. June, 1798. 
Eber, b. April 8, 1800. Aaron, b. March 8, 1802; d. Oct. 18, 1889. 
Joshua, b. March 12, 1804: d. Dec. 2, 1878. Peter R., b. July, 
1806. 

EzRA^ Holbrook {John,^ John,"^ John,^ John,^ John,^ of Weymouth, 
iJfass.),m.Sally (1). Junel3, 1782 ; d. in Roxbury, Mass., 1827), daugh- 
ter of Joshua Prime. 

JoHN^ Holbrook { John, ^ John, "^ John, ^ John, '^ John^), b. in Ux- 
bridge, Mass., 1778; m. 1802, Mercy (b. 1780; d. Dec. 2, 1856), 
daughter of Daniel Hill, of Mendon, Mass. ; he d. in Swanzey, May 



376 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

7, 1838. Children: Infant, d. unnamed. Rhoda, b. Apr. 2G, 1804; m. 
Nathan Cheney of Orange, IMass. Daniel II., b. Jan. 8, 180G. Infant. 
Abida, b. Oet. 11, 1809 ; m. Hiram Bolles, and d. in Wisconsin, Dec. 
15, 1881. Sophia, b. June 3, 1811 ; m. Carlostine BlaUe of Weare. 
Susan Ann, b. Jan. 11, 1814; m. Randall Bolles. Cliloe, b. March 
20, 1816 ; m. James Pierce. John, b. July 22, 1818. Mercy H., b. 
Sept. 3, 1821 ; m. July 8, 1849, Ebenezer Flanders of Weare. 

Thayer^ Holbkook {John,^ John^'^ John,^ John,- John^), b. about 
1785 in Uxbridge, Mass. ; m. June 13, 1811, Sally Lawrence of Win- 
chester; he d. in Pennsylvania. 

Daniel II.''' Holbrook (John,^ John,^ Jolin,'^ John,^ John,^ JoJin^), 
b. Jan. 8, 1806 ; ra. Sept. 5, 1837, Caroline (d. Dec. 5, 1880), daugh- 
ter of Josiah Prime. Children : Ellen S., d. young. Chloe P. John 
J., b. Dec. 10, 1844; d. March 24, 1884. Frances V., m. D. M. 
Nichols of Keene ; d. there 1890. 

John''' Holbrook {John,^ Jolin,^ John,^ Jolm,^ Jolin? JoJin^) , b. July 
22, 1818 ; ra. Lydia Flanders of Ilopkinton where he now lives. 

Peter^ Holbrook (Samuel^ of Uxhndge, Mass.), b. 1740; ui. Ly- 
dia ; d. July 12, 1807, in Swauzey. Children : Stephen, m. Mary, 

daughter of I^lisha Whitcomb. Joseph, m. Lucina Cook. Peter, 
m. Amy Read. Henry, m. Joanna Taft. Samuel, m. Polly Crossett. 
Eunice, m. Ivory Snow. Mary, m. Nathan Ballon. Lydia, m. James 
Olcott. Abigail, m. Nathan Hix. Rachel, m. Thomas Prime. 

Petek^ Holbrook {Peter^, SamueU), m. Nov. 16, 1797, Am}' (d. 
April 14, 1851), daughter of David Read. Children: Malinda, b. 
May 6, 1799 ; m. James Olcott. Lucina, b. about 1801 ; d. about 
1815. Peter, b. Nov. 9, 1807. David R., b. in 1814. 

Samuel^ Holbrook (Peter^, Samuel^), b. Oct. 16, 1784; m. Nov. 
17, 1806, Polly (b. Dec. 20, 1785; d. Feb. 18, 1848), daughter of 
Richard Crossett ; he d. Sept. 15, 1860. Children: Olive, b. Feb. 25, 
1816 ; m. Elisha Hutehins of Winchester, Avho d. Sept. 2, 1852. 
Henry, b. Aug. 19, 1819. Joseph, d. Feb. 18, 1825. 

Peter'* Holbrook {Peter^, Peter-, Samuel^), b. Nov. 9, 1807; m. 
Oct. 25, 1831, Joanna (b. Apr. 5, 1811), daughter of Samuel Hol- 
brook; d. Aug. 15, 1849. She m., 2nd, June 22, 1859, David 
Ballon. Children: Malinda Jane, b. Doc. 17, 1832; d. Aug. 11, 
1849. Jonas Whitcomb, b. Jan. 29, 1834; d. Aug. 19, 1849. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 377 

David R."* Hoi.brook {Pet(r,^ Peter, ^ SamneU), m., 1st, Tammy 
Perry ; m , 2d, Olive Todd, of Charlemont. Child by Tammy : John. 

Henry^ Holbrook (Samuel,^ Peter,- Samuel^), b. Aug. 19, 1819 ; 
m. Nov. 25, 1841, Maria P. (b. Mar. 8, 1821), daughter of Samuel 
Holbrook, 3rd. Children: Charles H., b. Nov. 22, 1843. Herbert 
H., b. June 29, 1855 ; d. Aug. 9, 1856. 

Charles H.^ Holbrook {Henry, ^ Samuel,^ Peter, ^ SamueV-), b. 
Nov. 22, 1843 ; m., 1st, Lucy Jane (b. May 24, 1846 ; d. Jan. 27, 
1870), daughter of John A. Hamblet; m., 2d, Oct. 2, 1872, Julia M. 
daughter of James Atkinson, N. Y. city. Child: Emily, b. Aug. 29, 
1873. 

Jonathan^ Holbrook, b. in Uxbridge, Mass. ; settled in Swanzey 
in 1793; m. Abigail Benson; d. there in 1796. Children: Samuel, 
b. in Uxbridge, Sept. 4, 1784. Joanna, m. Abijah Whitcomb. Chloe. 
Jonathan, b. Jan. 2, 1797. 

Samuel^ Holbrook (Jonathan^), b. Sept. 4, 1784; m. June 8, 
1809, Hannah (b. Sept. 14, 1788; d. Nov. 18, 1863), daughter of 
Simeon Howes ; he d. Apr. 17, 1853. Children : Benson, b. Nov. 9, 
1809. Joanna, b. Apr. 5, 1811 ; m. Peter Holbrook, 4th. Edward, 
b. Feb. 17, 1813. Leonard W., b. Jan. 6, 1816. Henry, b. Sept. 
20, 1818. Maria P., b. March 8, 1821 ; m. Henry Holbrook, 2nd. 
Everett S., b. May 17, 1824. Adeline T., b. March 28, 1826; ni. 
Stephen Faulkner. Elizabeth, b. Dec. 28, 1828 ; m. Marshal Rixfoi'd. 
Simeon H., b. Sept. 12, 1832. 

Jonathan^ Holbrook (Jonathan^), b. Jan. 2, 1797; m. Jan. 31, 
1819, Roxey (b. Nov. 9, 1799 ; d. in Peterborough, Dec. 30, 1879), 
daughter of Jotliam Whitcomb ; he d. March 29, 1838. Children : 
Jotham W., b. May 16, 1819. Chloe Ann, b. June 8, 1823 ; d. May 
9, 1845, in Peterborough. Harriet A., b. July 10, 1825. Nanc}' L., 
b. Aug. 1,1827; m. Jan. 23, 1851, Charles D. French of Peterbor- 
ough. Emilyette, b. Sept. 1, 1829 ; m. April 19, 1855, Aaron S. Da- 
mon of Cochituate. Arvilla, b. Aug. 11, 1831; m. June 8, 1858, 
George Bruce of Peterborough. James W., b. Apr. 29, 1834. Fan- 
nie D., b. Feb. 12, 1837; m. John A. Taggart of Waukon, la. 

Edward^ Holbrook {Samuel,^ Jonathan^), h. Feb. 17, 1813; m. 
Emily, daughter of James Snow of Winchester; d. in Winchester, 
April, 1884. Children : Emily Eldora, b. Oct. 28, 1843 ; d. Aug. 1, 
1849. Fannie Abbie, d. Aug. 6, 1849. George. 



378 HISTORY OF SWAKZEY. 

Leonard W.3 IIolbrook (Samuel,'^ Jonathan^), b. Jan. 16, 1816 ; 
ra. Jan. 25, 1844, Permelia (b. Oct. 12, 1818), daiigliter of Al)ijali 
Wliilcomb; he d. Dec. 23, 1884. Children: Abijali W., b. Nov. 5, 
1844. Elhridge L., b. Aug. 11, 1846. Elizabeth, b. Oct. 26, 1850; 
d. May 6. 1854. Two infants d. young. 

IIenry^ Holbrook (Samuel,^ Jonathan^), b. Sept. 20, 1818; m. 
Sarah A. Watkins of Winchester; lie d. Dec. 29, 1872. She ni., 
2nd, Russell B. Hall. Cliildrcn : Frank F., b. May 22, 1845. A 
child d. Aug. 9, 1857. 

Everett S.^ IIolbrook (Samuel,- Jonathan^), b. I\Iay 17, 1824; 
m., 1st, 1856, Eliza D. (b. 1833; d. Apr. 26, 1857), daughter of 
Artenias Richardson of Keene ; ni., 2nd, Dec, 1880, widow of Charles 
Dwinell of Alstead. Child: Samuel Everett, b. Apr. 17, 1857. 

SniEON H.3 HoLBROOK {Samuel,^ Jonathan^), b, Sept. 12, 1832; 
m. Nov. 21, 1854, Mary L. (b. Aug. 2, 1837), daughter of Aaron 
Ballon of Richmond. Children : Jonas S., b. Jan. 27, 1856 ; d. July 
4, 1864. Jennie M., b. Dec. 7, 1857; m. Arthur Davison. Pidward 
B., b. Dec. 8, 1859. Mary J., b. Dec. 6, 1861 ; m. Walter Perry. 
Fanny P2., b. May 23, 1863; m. Manson Fowler; reside in Keone. 
Helen E., b. April 19, 1865 ; m. George^W. Ward. Alice L., b. May 
15, 1870; m. Elmer Simonds. Fred E., b. Nov. 10, 1875. Bertha 
L., b. Sept. 25, 1880. 

Abijah'* W. Holbrook {Leonard TF.,"^ Samuel,'^ Jonathan^), b. 
1844; ra. Sept. 17, 1872, Abi.la Ann, daughter of Randall Bolles. 
Children : Charles F., b. Dec. 6, 1872. George E., b. Dec. 28, 1874. 
Lee, b. Nov. 27, 1877. Susie P., b. Nov. 19, 1881. Emery, b. April 
29, 1886. 

Frank F.^ Holbrook {Henry, ^ /Samuel,^ Jonathan^) , b. May 22, 
1845 ; m. Jul}' 5, 1870, Louisa, daughter of George Winslow of Dana, 
Mass. Children: Frank B., b. March 11, 1872. Fred H., b. Dec. 
19, 1873. Louis M., b. Sept. 11, 1875. Bertha S., b. Jan. 30, 
1878. Christie B., b. Oct. 21, 1879. 

Samuel E.^ Holbrook {Everett S.,^ Samuel,- Jonathan^), b. Apr. 
17, 1857 ; m. Sept. 23, 1878, P^tta Emily, daughter of Jonathan Mill 
of Winchester. Cliildren: Alma Etta, b. May 28, 1879. p:mily 
Eliza, b. May 27, 1881. Sanford Samuel, b. Jan 11, 1883. Herbert 
P:., b. May 1 1, 1885. Edna F., b. Aug. 22, 1887. p:dilh J., b. Sept. 
29, 1889. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 379 

Edward B.^ Holbrook {Simeon H.,^ Samuel,^ JonatJian^), b. 
Dec. 8, 1859; m. Aug. 1, 1881, Anna L., danghter of Allen Read. 
Children : Royden E., b. Apr. 17, 1883 ; d. June 17, 1883. Ernest 
E., b. March 5, 1887. 

David"^ Holbrook {MichaeV- of Smithfield, R. /.), b. Sept. 4, 1765 ; 
m. March 4, 1786, at Gloucester, R. I., Sarah (b. Sept. 1, 1770; 
d. Dec. 22, 1850), daughter of Noah Arnold of Gloucester, R. I. ; he 
d. Jan. 17, 1852. Children: Ann A., b. at Uxbridge, Mass., May 
19, 1791 ; ra. Ira Aldrich of Richmond ; d. Nov. 26, 1877. Rhoda, 
b. March 4, 1793, at Uxbridge; m. Benjamin Kelton of Richmond. 
Sarah B., b. May 13, 1795, in Richmond; m. James Harris of Biir- 
rillville, R. I. Mary, b. July 14, 1797 ; m. Joseph Randall of Rich- 
mond ; d. in the state of New York. David A., b. . Olive 

"SV., b. Apr. 16, 1804; m. David Aldrich. Betsey R., b. Jan. 6, 
1807; m. Charles C. Pratt. Virgil A., b. Oct. 19,1809. Lorenzo 
R., b. Oct. 9, 1813. Aurilla T., b, Sept. 9, 1817 ; ra. Nov. 9, 1845, 
Horace T. Slade ; d. Nov. 27, 1881, at East Saginaw, Mich. 

Virgil A.^ Holbrook {David,^ Michael^), b. Oct. 19, 1809; m. 
Jan. 23, 1839, Rowena T. (b. Sept. 13, 1816; d. Oct. 12, 1884), 
daughter of Moses T. Thompson ; he d. Oct. 2, 1877. 

Lorenzo R.^ Holbrook {David,^ Michael^), b. Oct. 9, 1813 ; ra. 
March 20, 1842, Electa E. (b. June 21, 1824; d. Oct. 24, 1887), 
daughter of Araasa S. Rogers. Ciiildren: Walter S., b. Feb. 26, 
1843. Dorr R , b. Dec. 27, 1844. Ozro R., b. Feb. 18, 1847; d. 
Feb. 21, 1847. Elmy E., b. Oct. 12, 1848 ; d. Jan. 18, 1849. Flora 
I., b. July 16, 1850. Amasa S., b. Aug. 9, 1853 ; d. Aug. 28, 1853. 
Henry A., b. Nov. 2, 1855 ; d. Jan. 4, 1856. Adella J., b. July 5, 
1857; d. Aug. 22, 1857. Ozro H., b. Dec. 14, 1860. Lorenzo R., 
b. Apr. 13, 1862; d. Apr. 24, 1862. ^Arthur M., b. March 29, 1863. 
Frank D. L., b. Sept. 7, 1866 ; d. Feb. 2, 1869. 

Ozro H.^ Holbrook {Lorenzo B.,^ David,^ 3fichaeP), b. Dec. 14, 
1860 ; m. May 3, 1883, Lillean Brilton of Keene. 

MiLLiNs- Holbrook {Daniel^ of Keene), b. March 27, 1808; m. 
Apr. 6, 1834, Laura (b. May 5, 1808; d. Sept., 1864), daughter of 
Benjamin Temple; he d. Aug., 1863. Children: Hattie E., h. Jan. 
14, 1835; m. Feb. 13, 1853, Levi W. Wellington. Henry D., b. 
Aug. 16, 1838. Fanny M., b. Dec. 24, 1841 ; m. Royal Flint. George 
B., b. Sept. 13, 1846. - " , ^ 



380 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Henry D. 3 IIolbrook (MilUns,^ Daniel^), h. Aug. 16, 1838; m. 
Jan. 1, 1SG8, Frances L. Smith (b. Aug. 1, 18-16), of New York State. 

HOLMAN. 

Alvin^ IIolman {Charles^ of 3Iarlhorough) ^h. Oct. 13, 1798 ; ni. Lu- 
cretia Nye of Roxbury ; he d. in Winchester, March 1, 1869. 

Franklin- IIolman {Charles^ of 3farlborovgh) , b. Dec. 31, 1812 ; ni. 
Nov. 17, 1836, Nancy S., daughter of John Chamberhun. 

HOSLEY. 

Mr. and Mrs. David Hosley had John, b. Ma}' 2, 1814. 

Salli' Hosley m. March 9, 1816, Nathaniel Kingsbur}' of Ja- 
maica, Vt. 

Henry Hosley ra. March 11, 1824, Abigail Carpenter. 

James Hosley m. Lydia (b. July 31, 1804 ; d. Feb. 6, 1881) , daugh- 
ter of Abijah Sawyer. 

HOLDEN. 

Samuel Holden and Rhoda Holden his wife became members of 
the Baptist church 1810. He d. Nov., 1833; she d. Oct. 1, 1839. 
They came from Bernardston, Mass. 

HOUGHTON. 

Amos- Houghton ( Ho^ighton,^ of Putney, Vt.'), b. Apr. 22, 

1800 ; m. June 19, 1822, Almira (b. June 19, 1802), daughter of Da- 
vid Page; d. Oct. 6, 1889. Children : Charles A., b. Dec. 2, 1S22. 
George W., b. Aug. 27, 1824. Curtis E., b. Aug. 14, 1827. Dian- 
thy H., b. Jan. 11, 1831 ; m. W. B. Forbes of Cambridge, Mass. ; d. 
Jan. 20, 1872. Esther E., b. Oct. 31, 1836 ; m. Russeil O. Forbush 
of Westborough, Mass. ; d. March 17, 1883. Joseph J., b. Oct. 31, 
1836, twin to Esther E. Clark H., b. July 29, 1839. Alvin A^., b. 
May 5, 1842. Jennie M., b. June 22, 1844 ; m. AVilliani Tabor of 
New Bedford, Mass., Aug. 11, 1864; d. Jan. 17, 1870. 

hovey. 
Robert^ Hovey {Richard} of Peterborough) , b. Ma}- 17, 1807 ; m, 

Dec. 4, 1833, Elizabeth (b. May 22, 1813), daughter of Smiley. 

Children : Lucinda Melissa, b. Oct. 29, 1834 ; m. David Allen Pratt; 
d. Aug. 17, 1858. Francis Alonzo, b. Oct. 20, 1836. Sarah P^liza- 
beth, b. Aug. 11, 1838 ; d. Aug. 9, 1864. p:ilen Victoria, b. Apr. 17, 
1840 ; m. J. E. Long; d. June 14, 1864. Theodore,b. Aug. 7, 1842 ; 




ENOCH HOWES. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 381 

d. June 16, 1864. Sylvaiider, b. June 4, 1844; d. Apr. 27, 1866. 
Fernando Smiley, b. Aug. 27, 1846 ; d. March 3, 1866. Ruth Clem- 
entine, b. Aug. 4, 1848. Harriet Asenath, b. Dec. 22, 1849 ; d. Sept. 
1,1866. Flora, b. Nov. 28, 1852; d. Jan. 8, 1867. Emma Jenette, 
b. Nov. 18, 1854, Ida I., b. Nov. 23, 1857; ra. Frank E. Handy. 

Francis Alonzo^ Hovey {Robert^^ Ricliard}), b. Oct. 20, 1836 ; m. 
1st, Helen S. (b. in 1839 ; d. Jan. 6, 1863), daughter of Jonathan 
W. Capron ; m., 2nd, Lucina, daughter of John H. Matthews; d. 
Feb. 9, 1868. Children: Frank Edrick, b. July 21, 1860; d. Oct. 
10, 1866. Herbert, b. Dec. 22, 1862 ; d. Aug. 4, 1887. 

Ruth Clementine Hovet, daughter of Robert Hovey, b. Aug. 4, 
1848; in. Willard I. Thomas (b. Sept. 3, 1844; d. May 13, 1873). 

Emma Jenette Hovey, daughter of Robert Hove)', b. Nov. 18, 
1854 ; m. Nov. 19, 1878, George H. Taylor of Richmond. Child : 
Blanche E., b. May 30, 1880. 

HOWARD. 

Ahaz Howard, b. in 1782, in Dorchester, Mass. ; m. Parraelia Wis- 
wall (b. Apr. 24, 1785 ; d. in Apr., 1868), of Milford, Mass. ; d. Jan. . 
13, 1853. Children: Thomas W,, b. Oct. 16, 1809. Parmelia, b. 
Jan. 28, 1817 ; m. Apr. 16, 1850, George W. Wiswall of Sharon, Mass. 
Lucretia, b. Apr. 21, 1825; in. Jan. 7, 1841, Amos Richardson of 
Ke^ne. Everett A., b. Apr. 21, 1825. 

Thomas W.2 Howard {Almz^),h. Oct. 16, 1809 ; m. Mary (b. Oct. 
24, 1812 ; d. Feb. 3, 1853), daughter of Joseph Hammond ; d. March 
17, 1837. She m., 2nd, Joseph Hill. 

Everett A.^ Howard (Ahaz^), b» April 21, 1825 ; m. Miss Hart, 
daujihtev of Jacob Hart of Keene. 



D 



Elijah Howard came from Winchester to this town Sept. 10, 1872 ; 
b. Aug. 25, 1807 ; ra. April 15, 1872, widow Nancy M. Verry (d. May 
31, 1888, aged 83 yrs.) ; d. Nov. 10, 1879. 

Benjamin^ Howard of Mendon, Mass., m. Elizabeth Thayer and 
reared a family of six or seven children of whom Tryphena,- Deborah 
Nancy and Moses, ^ son of Tryphena, removed to Westmoreland 
and thence to Swanzey early in 1800. Tryphena (mother of Moses) 
d. May 6, 1823. Deborah, d. Oct. 31, 1847, aged 81 years. 
26 



382 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

MosES^ Howard (TnjpJiena,^ dangJder of Benjamin Iloivard^ of 
Menclon), b. Dec. 31, 1790; m. April 16, 1826, Maria (b. Oct. 21, 
1807), daiighlerof Tristan Aldricli. He d. Aug. 7, 1857. She m., 2nd, 
Feb. 10, 1859, Leonard Taft of Mendon, Mass., and d. Jan. 3, 1872. 
Children : Louisa M., b. May 3, 1827 ; d. Aug. 22, 1847. Hiram M., 
b. Aug. 24, 1829 ; d. at Niagara Falls, Juno 19, 1880. Charles H., 
b. April 16, 1832. Daniel C, b. Nov. 20, 1834. George T., b. July 
11, 1837 ; d. April 2, 1862. Oscar J., b. Oct. 27, 1839. Helen W., 
b. May 27, 1842; m. Lucius C. Doolittle. Julius F., b. Nov. 25, 
1848 ; resides in Ashuelot. 

Charles H.^ Howard (J/oses,^ Trj/phena,,- Benjamin^ of Mendon')^ 
b. April 16, 1832; m. May 10, 1853, Julia C. (b. July 27, 1833), 
daughter of Jonathan Jackson ; hed. Aug. 18, 1883. Child : John 0., 
b. Oct. 15, 1856. 

Daniel C.^ Howard (3/o,se.s,3 Tr]/phena,~ Benjamin^), b. Nov. 20 
1834; ni., 1st, Emily F. Hunt (d.May 24, 1864) of AVinchester ; m.\ 
2nd, Jan. 13, 1870, Emma, daughter of Daniel Buss; resides in 
Keene. Child : Helen M., b. Apr. 11, 1858. 

Oscar J."* Howard {Moses,^ Tryphena,^ Benjamin^) ^h. Oct. 27, 
1839 ; m. April 29, 1853, Mary E., daughter of John W. Starkey of 
Keene ; resides in Keene. 

Julius F.** Howard (J/oses,^ Tryphena,'^ Benjamin^) ^ b. Nov. 25, 
1848 ; m. Elena M. Chapin of Ashuelot, where they reside. 

John O.^ Howard {Charles JI.,'^ Moses,'^ Tryphena,^ Benjamin^)., 
b. Oct. 15, 1856 ; m. May 27, 1885, Luella F., daughter of Cyrus G. 
Eaton of Winchester. 

Samuel E.^ Howard {Amos^ of Reene)^ b. Aug. 1, 1846 ; m. Sept. 
21, 1876, Carrie (b. July 21, 1850), daughter of G. W. Read of West- 
moreland. 

Dexter Howard, m. Dec. 6, 1832, Emeline, daughter of John 
Guild. 

HOWE. 

Theodore Howe and Lydia, his wife, had : Rhoda, bapt. Nov. 10, 
1776. Patience, bapt. Apr. 12, 1778. Mehitable, bapt. Apr. 16, 
1780. Calvin, bapt. March 10, 1782. Luther, bapt. Aug. 29, 1784- 
Eunice, bapt. Nov. 5, 1786. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 383 

Uriah Hoave and Martha, daughter of Joshua Graves, were m. Oct. 
10, 1775. ChUdren: Charles, b. Oct. 18, 1778. Brighani, b. Nov. 
23, 1779. Henry and Huldah, b. Dec. 29, 1781. Dolby, b. Aug. 22, 
1784. Barzillai, bapt. Sept. 10, 1788. 

Antipas Hovte and Joanna, his wife, had Isaac, b. Jan. 21, 1783. 
Joshua, b. March 17, 1785, 

George W. Howe and Lucy, his wife, had : Roderick A., b, March 
12, 1835. J. Ann, b. May 11, 1839. Eliakini, b. July 6, 1841. 
Charles, b. June 28, 1843. George W. 

Tabitha Howe and Ezekiel Newton were ni. Aug. 31, 1770. 

Albert N.^ Howe {Dudley'^ of Londonderry^ Vt.), b.'Jan. 26, 1826 ; 
m. Sept. 20, 1849,Enieline ¥.. (b. Aug. 19, 1830), daughter of Emery 
Melenda, Londonderry, Vt. ; d. Jan. 6, 1889. Children : Albert Web- 
ster, b. Aug. 12, 1854. Ella Eraeline, b. Oct. 8, I860'; m. Leonard 
0. Boyce of Keene. Fred A., b. Oct. 6, 1866. 

hoaves. 

Simeon^ Howes, b. 1748, in Yarmouth, Mass. ; d. Dec. 19, 1834, 

in Swanzey; m. Huldah (b. 1750; d. Aug. 18,1832). Children : 

Silas, b. 1776. Jerusha, b. 1778 ; d. Ma}- 2, 1831. Edward and Enoch 
(twins), bapt. Aug. 28, 1781. Henry. Polly, b. March, 1784. Nich- 
olas, b. March 3, 1785. David, bapt. Apr., 1787. Hannah, b. Sept. 
14, 1788 ; m. Samuel Holbrook. Luther, b. 1790. 

Nicholas- Howes {Simeon^), b. March 3, 1785 ; m. May 31, 1807, 
Sarah (b. 1789; d. Dec. 9, 1861), daughter of Beriah Day. He d. 
Feb. 22, 1864. Children: Susan Day, b. Apr. 15, 1808; m. Moses 
Worcester. Two infants. Enoch, b. Dec. 27, 1813. Lyman N., b. 
Nov. 3, 1822. 

Luther- Howes {Simeon^), b. about 1790 ; m. LA'dia (b. Jan. 15, 
1785), daughter of John Grimes. He d. Jan. 28, 1826. 

SiLAS^ Howes {Simeon^)^ b. 1776; m. Jan. 10, 1827, Lydia (the 
widow of his brother Luther), daughter of John Grimes (d. May 9, 
1855). He d. May 8, 1855. 

Enoch^ Hoaves (NicJioIas-, Simeon^), b. Dec. 27, 1813 ; m., 1st, 
Oct. 16, 1839, Nancy (b. Feb. 10, 1812; d. Dec. 10, 1860), daughter 



384 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

of John Cummings: m., 2nd, July 18, 18G1, Abbie A. (b. Sept. 13, 
1832), daughter of Abram Diaper; he d. July 23, 1881. Children : 
Ann E., b. June 20, 1845. Ilattie S., b. Apr. 7, 1862. Carrie N., b. 
Jan. 17, 1869. 

Lyman N.3 Howes {Nicholas^, Simeon^), b. Nov. 3, 1822; m., 1st, 
Apr. 3, 1846, Esther (b. Apr. 8, 1821 ; d. Dec. 5, 1848), daughter 
of John H. Cummings; m., 2nd, Nov. 26, 1851, Clarissa (b. Aug. 
10, 1828), daughter of William G. Eames. Chiklren: Charles Ed- 
ward, b. Aug. 14, 1847; d. Aug. 13, 1849. Henry Cummings, b. 
Dec. 3, 1848. Charles Lyman, b. Sept. 10, 1854. Walter Eames, b. 
Jan. 28, 1863 ; d. Apr. 3, 1877. Willie Aldis, b. Apr. 21, 1864. Etta 
Clara, b. Nov. 2, 1868. 

HenryC.^ Howes (Lyman iV.,^ Nicholas,^ Simeon^) , b. Dec. 3, 1848 ; 
m. Jan. 22, 1873, Clara A. (d. May 2, 1889), daughter of Orren F. 
>Oakman. Children: Grace Martha, b. Feb. 21, 1876; d. July 24, 
1876. Ethel Oakman, b. Oct. 6, 1879. 

Charles L."* Howes {Lyman N.,^ Nicholas^- Simeon^), b. Sept. 
10, 1854; m. Sept. 7, 1881, Ada Cummings (b. March 27, 1861), 
daughter of B. Howard Richardson. Children: Charles Lyman, b. 
July 13, 1882; d. young. 

HattieS.'* Howes (Enoch,^ Nicholas,^ Simeon^), h. April 7, 1862; 
m. June 12, 1883, James T. Higgins. Children: Harry Enoch, b. 
April 14, 1884. Guy, b. Feb. 16, 1886. 

HUNT. 

Jonas Hunt, m. Polly (b. 1778 ; d. Sept. 24, 1853). Children : 

Polly, b. May 22, 1809. William, b. Feb. 25, 1811. Eliza, b. Aug. 
16, 1815 ; d. Nov. 5, 1837. Elvira, b. June 17, 1817. Mila, b. Dec. 
20,1821. 

William Hunt and his son Manning came to Swanzey from Ux- 
bridge, Mass., prior to 1793. 

Manning- Hunt (William'^ of Uxbrklge, 3fass.), b. June 8, 1788; 
m., 1st, March 10, 1817, Polly (b. June 10, 1790), daugliter of John 
Applin ; m., 2nd, July 9, 1826, Polly Sophrona (b. Oct. 13, 1809), 
daughter of Laban Starkey ; he d. Dec. 29, 1867. Children : Caroline 
Starkey, b. Sept. 20, 1827 ; m. Jan. 14, 1857, Thomas J. Lyon of 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 385 

Rutland, Vt. Charles G., b. Jan. 1, 1831. Norman, b. April 10, 
1835. Francis Alonzo, b. March 29, 1838; d. June 25, 1854. Har- 
riet M. Lemuel O., b. Sept. 21, 1846. 

Caroline S.^ Hunt {Manning^^ William}), b. Sept. 20, 1827; ra. 
Jan. 14, 1857, Thomas J. Lyon of Rutland, Vt. Child : Hattie. 

Charles G.^ Hunt {Manning,^ William^), b. Jan. 1, 1831; ra. 
March 30, 1852, Phebe E. (b. Jan. 31, 1828), daughter of Abraham 
Corey of Marlborough. 

Norman^ Hunt {Manning,^ William^), b. Apr. 10, 1835; ra. Apr. 
26, 1855, Czarina (b. Apr. 25, 1835), daughter of Otis Whitcorab. 

Lemuel 0.^ Hunt {Manning,^ JVilliavi^), b. Sept. 21, 1846; ra. 
Harriet R., daughter of Gideon G. "Willis. 

John F.^ Hunt {Chapin^ of Bath), b. Jan. 17, 1837, in Bath ; ra. 
Feb. 5, 1861, a daughter (b. 1844) of Jairus Perry. Children: 
Eva S., b. Aug. 27, 1861. Mabel L., b. July 2, 1864; d. April 6, 
1878. Fred, b. May 14, 1866. Inez V., b. Jan. 15, 1868. Eugene 
C, b. Feb. 20, 1870. Bert S., b. March 23, 1872. Jennie A., b. 
Sept. 13, 1874. Leon H., b. Sept. 30, 1878. Homer G., b. Oct. 28, 
1881. Lloyd C, b. June 22,^1884. Ruth L., b. Oct. 3, 1886. 

\ 

HUNTLY. 

John T. G. Huntly, b. in Marlow, March 5, 1804; m. Mariam 
Jones (b. in Topsham, May 10, 1810) ; he d. Sept. 13, 1884. Chil- 
dren : Jonathan G., b. May 14, 1830. Mariam Lucinda, b. Feb. 5, 
1835. 

Jonathan G. Huntly (John T. G.^), b. May 14, 1830; m. 1857, 
Lovilla(b. March 9, 1834), daughter of David Hill. 

INMAN. 

Ethan I.^ Inman (Isaiah,^ Isaiah^ from Providence, R. /.), b. 
July 1, 1824; m. Feb. 22, 1848, Julia A. Kilborn (d. Nov. 21, 1854). 
Children : Henry L., b. Dec. 7, 1851. Elwyn J., b. Aug. 26, 1854. 
Both b. in Keene. 

IREDALE. 

Joseph Iredale and his wife Sarah came from Merrimac in 1883 ; 
she d. Jan. 10, 1885. Children: Lillian M., b. May 3, 1868. Fred 



386 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

L., b. Oct. 21, 1873 ; d. Aug. 3, 1888. William Henry, b. May 8, 
1876. Alice F., b. Sept. 12, 1878. 

JACKSON. 

Dr. John Jackson of Lebanon ni. Tlieodocia (b. Oct. 24, 1774 ; d. 
in Swanzey, Aug. 7, 1822) daugliter of Greenwood Carpenter; d. in 
Swanzey. Children : Charles Fox, b. July 13, 1807. Aionzo Don 
Carlos, b. Oct. 31, 1809. 

Daniel Jackson, from Templeton, Mass., settled in Swanzey and 
there d. about 1815 ; ni. Milly Whitcomb. Children : Daniel, b. Dec, 
1801 ; d. in Clinton, Mass. Jonatlian, b. Oct. 30, 1804. Asa, b. 
about 1806. Milly, d. young. 

Jonathan^ Jackson (Daniel^), b. Oct. 30, 1804 ; m. June 4, 1828, 
Mary (b. July 4, 1810 ; d. June 5, 1878) daughter of William Seaver ; 
he d. Nov. 27, 1883. Children : Emily Maria, b. Nov. 18, 1828 ; m. 
William Wheelock of Winchester; d. Nov. 22, 1856. Mar^^ Louisa, 
b. Oct. 27, 1830 ; m. H. Willard Leonard. Julia Calista, b. July 27, 
1833; m. Cliarles H.Howard. William Seaver, b. Jan. 22, 1835. 
Jonathan W., b. Nov. 19, 1836 ; d. Sept. 24, 1853. Jane Melissa, 
b. March 25, 1840 ; m. George H. Cross, of Winchester; d. June 26, 
1865. George Henry, b. May 11, 1842. Charles Daniel, b. July 24, 
1845. Francis Walter, b. May 9, 1848. 

Asa- Jackson (Daniel^), h. about 1806 ; m., 1st, Calista (d. Dec. 1, 
1841), daughter of Jesse Thompson; m., 2nd, Hannah (b. Feb. 22, 
1815; m., 2nd, William Clark), daughter of Seth Pomroy ; d. Dec. 
0, 1848. Children : Truman A., b. Oct. 19, 1835. 

William S.^ Jackson (Jonathan,- DanieU), b. Jan. 22, 1835; m. 
Emeline E. (b. Apr. 9, 1841), daughter of Elijah C. Belding. Chil- 
dren : John. Emma, b. July 7, 1S63. George, b. 1868. A son, b. 
Nov. 24, 1874. 

George H.^ Jackson (Jonathan,'^ Daniel^) , b. May 11, 1842; ra. 
Nellie J. (b. Nov. 24, 1848), daughter of Jesse W. Graves. Child : 
Mary S., b. May 18, 1878. 

Charles D.^ Jackson {Jonathan,'^ Daniel^), b. July 24, 1845 ; m. 
May 5, 1868, Sarah, daughter of Allen Houghton of Hinsdale. Chil- 
dren : Rose S., b. July 12, 1869. Percy, b. July 9, 1871. Ava May, 
b. July 4, 1875. Willie, b. Oct. 7, 1880. 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 387 

JEROME. 

Eri B. Jerome from Irasburg, Vt., m. Joanna Slielden ; had twelve 
children, all born in Vermont, of whom Julia J. m. Frank E. Ballou 
June 25, 1873. Philo B., b. April 16, 1857. 

Philo B.- Jerome {Eri BA of Irasburg, Vt.), b. April 16, 1857; 
m. Dec. 25, 1876, Amy V. (b. May 18, 1857). Children: Almyra 
C, b. July 6, 1877. Leon M., b. Aug. 16, 1879. Clyde H., b. May 

10, 1884. Ella C, b. Oct. 26, 1887. 

JOHNSON. 

Cyrene^ Johnson {Jolin^ of Burlington, Vt.), b. Sept. 4, 1795; m- 
July 30, 1820, Susan (b. July 2, 1802), daughter of John Grimes ; d. 
in Swanzey, Mar. 3, 1884. Children : Emeline Grimes, m. John Par- 
ker of Keene. George W., b. Aug. 27, 1821 ; d. Jan. 3, 1875, in 
South Carolina. 

KENDALL. 

Asa. Skelton^ Kendall {William} and Euth of Burlington, 
3fass.), b. April 27, 1814; m. Jan. 14, 1842, Sarah C. (b. Jan. 26, 
1819) , daughter of William and Mar}^ Kilbourn of Groton, Mass.) ; 
he d. April 26, 1887. Children : William E. G., b. March 28, 1844, 
in Groton ; d. May 15, 1849, in Medford, Mass. Charlotte Eliza- 
beth, b. Dec. 8, 1853, in Fitzwilliam ; m. Emery W. Stratton. 

Dauphin W.^ Kendall {Alpheus^ of CJiarlestoivn) , b. June 30, 
1834; m. Aug. 11, 1866, S. E. Davis (b. Oct. 30, 1844), daughter 
of Amos Davis) ; he d. March 15, 1886. Children : Nettie E. (Mrs. 
Kendall's daughter), b. June 18, 1865; m. George Roy. Charles 
W., b. Dec. 2, 1867; d. Aug. 12, 1868. Martin E., b. Nov. 3, 
1869. Grace E., b. Apr. 8, 1871. ^ 

KIBLIN. 

HobartL.- Kiblin {Hobart^ of Asliburnham, Mass.), b. Oct., 1832 ; 
m. Georgie E. Whittaker (b. May 1, 1832), of Felchville, Vt. 

KIDDK.R. 

John F. Kidder in. Jan. 29, 1859, Hannah L., daughter of Ben- 
jamin Pomro\\ 

KIMBALL. 

Eli Kisiball, m. Sept. 22, 1774, Annah (b. Oct. 21, 1755), daugh- 



388 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

ter of Thomas Applin. Children: Eunice, b. Aug. 14, 1775. Amos, 
b. Nov, 11, 1777. Thomas, bapt. Apr. 16, 1780. Joanna, bapt. 
June 23, 1782. David, bapt. July 16, 1784. Eli, bapt. Aug. 5, 
1787. Isaac, bapt. Jul^' 5, 1790. Moses, bapt. Nov. 4, 1792. Isaac, 
b. Sept. 6, 1795. Levi, bapt. Nov. 19, 1797. 

Jethro Kimball, b. 1742; m. Blay 11, 1775, Mary (b. 1752; d. 
Jan. 18, 1815), daughter of Samuel Belding; he d. March 11, 1828. 
Children: Joseph, b. Apr. 30, 1776. Benjamin, b. March 1, 1778. 
Enoch, b. March 7, 1780 ; d. Jan. 18, 1816. Christian, b. March 25, 
1782; d. Sept. 12, 1821. Polly, b. Oct. 24, 1784; m. Zadock Edson 
of Grafton, Vt. Charlotte, b. March 18, 1787; m. Thaddeus Curtis. 
Betse}'. Abel, d. Jan., 1823. 

Joseph^ Kimball (Jethro^), b. Apr. 30, 1776; m., 1st, Nov. 10, 
1805, Anna (b. March 26, 1777 ; d. March 16, 1825), daughter of Dan- 
iel Warner; m., 2nd, July 3, 1834, Polly (widow of Joshua Parker), 
daughter of Samuel Hills, 3d ; he d. June 8, 1857. Children : Daniel 
W., b. Sept. 15, 1807 ; d. young. Mary Clark, b. Dec. 23, 1809 ; m. 
Asa Heale}'. Daniel W., b. Sept. 10, 1811. Chaunce}', b. Aug. 21, 
1813; d. Dec. 4, 1853. 

Benjamin^ Kimball (JetJiro^), b. March 1, 1778 ; m., 1st, Nov. 27, 
1811, Lucy Russell Conant of Winchester; m., 2nd, a sister. 

Amos^ Kimball (EW)., m. Lucy . Child: Eliza, b. May 

14, 1804. 

Daniel Warner^ Kimball (JosepJi^), b. Sept. 10, 1811 ; m. 

Haseltine ; d. Sept. 25, 1840. 

KING. ' 

Eliakim King d. May 18, 1756, and his wife d. Apr., 1769. 

Orange King d. May 11, 1756. 

Samuel D. King and wife came to this town about 1835. 

KINGSBURY. 

James Kingsbury ra. Jan. 2, 1794, Sarah (b. Oct. 4, 1772), daugh- 
ter of Thomas Cresson. 

KINNEY. 

MosES Kinney m. Isabella, daughter of Samuel Frink. Children : 



GENEALOGICAL RECOKDS. 389 

Mary E., b. Feb. 11, 1838. Sarah Jane, b. Jan. 19, 1843. Fanny 
I., b. May 4, 1845. A son, b. March 29, 1848. 

KNIGHT. 

Shepley W. Knight of Langdon, b. 1810; m., 1st, Oct. 30, 1839, 
Sarah Blodgett (b. March 31, 1818; fl. Jan. 2, 1850), danghter of 
Lawson Moore; ra., 2nd, Oct. 26, 1851, Eliza A. Moore (b. Dec. 7, 
1815), widow of Reuben Worcester; d. in Swanzey Oct. 20, 1874. 
Chiklren : Martha E., m. Derrick Richardson of Stoddard. Hannah, 
m. Harrison M. Thorning. Abbie 1., m. Thomas W. Parkinson. 
Sarah E., m. David Aldrich. 

William H.2 Knight (William^), b. Sept. 1, 1836; m. Nov. 2, 
1859, Louisa J, (b. Oct. 10, 1832), daughter of Joshua Davis. Chil- 
dren: Herbert L., b. Marcii 28, 1861. Mary Lizzie, b. Oct. 10, 
1865. George E., b. Feb. 20, 1869. Henry J., b. Aug. 20, 1872. 

LAMSON. 

Jonathan Lamson m. Aug. 23, 1796, Mary (b. June 15, 1771), 
daughter of Benjamin Olcott. Children : Jonathan, b. May 26, 1797. 

Isaac Lamson came from Walthani, Mass. ; m. Louisa (d. Aug. 21, 
1867), daugliter of Richard Crossett; d. in Brooklyn, N. Y. about 
1875. Children : Louisa F. Bradford. Robert. Olive. Charles. 
Freddie. 

Bradford"^ Lamson {Isaac^), m. Sarah L. (b. April 7, 1844) , daugh- 
ter of Leander Page ; d. in the war of the Rebellion. Had : Grace, 
b. Sept., 1862. 

LANE. 

Asaph Lane b. 1758; m. Sept. 1,^1791, Lydia Osgood (b. 1769; 
d. Oct. 21, 1840) ; d. Sept. 22, 1845. Chihlren : Mary W., b. June 

14, 1792; d. Sept. 23, 1872. Roxanna, b. Aug. 28, 1795; m. 

Baker of Winchester. Another dau. m. Graves of Keene. 

Parthenia, m. Baker of Winchester. 

Elkanah^ Lane (Epliraim,^ John^ b. 1648, George,^ William,^ came 
from Norfolkshire, England, in 1635, and settled in Dorchester, 3fass.), 
b. 1718; d. Dec. 6, 1811. Children: Eikanah, b. 1745. Ruth, b. 
Dec. 1, 1752 ; m. Wyman Richardson, Oct. 31, 1771. Samuel. Abi- 
gail, m. Ebenezer Hills June 30, 1795. 



390 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Elkanah** Lane (Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ John,^ George,- William^), 

b. 1745 in Norton, Mass.; ni., 1st, Esther ; m., 2n(1, Annis 

Knight (she m., 2n(l, William Bridge) ; d. Oct. 21, 1811. Cliildren by 
fust marriage: Esther, d. July 7, 1780. Esther, b. Feb. 8, 1781. 
Elkanah, b. Oct. 23, 1783. Hannah, b. Feb. 19, 178G ; d. Aug. 
16, 1787. Hannah, b. Dec. 16, 1791. Children by second mar- 
riage: Alvinzy, b. Sept. 16, 1801. Prudence, b. Dec. 22, 1802 ; m. 
Dec. 22, 1842, Jonathan Eaton of Westminster, Mass. Clarissa, b. 
July 14, 1804 ; m. a Mr. Savvin of Gardner, Mass. Annis, b. Sept. 

6, 1806. Lnrena, b. Oct. 2, 1808 ; m. a Mr. Cheney of , Mass. 

A child d. in 1811. 

Samuel^ Lane (Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ JoJm,^ George,^ William^ of 
England), b. Jan. 9, 1759 ; m. June 15, 1785, Eunice (b. June 15, 
1766 ; d. Nov. 28, 1825), daughter of Elisha Scott; d. Jan 26, 1845. 
Children: Samuel, b. May 1, 1786. Elijah and Elisha, b. Oct. 2, 
1788. Ezekiel, b. Sept. 28, 1790. Luther, b. July 15, 1793. Lucy, 
b. Nov. 12, 1795 ; m. Hale Mason. 

Elkanah''' Lane (ElkanaJi,^ Elkanah,^ E2')liraim,'^ John,^ George,- 
William^), b. Oct. 23, 1783 ; m. March 28, 1804, Sarah Foster. Chil- 
dren : Frederick. Elkanah. Samuel. Ephraira. 

Alvinzy''' Lane (Elkanah,^ Elkanah,^ Ejjhraim,^ John,^ George,^ 
Willicwi^), b. Sept. 16, 1801 ; ra. Oct. 14, 1824, Lucy Arnold. 

Samuel''' Lane (Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ John,^ George,- Wil- 
liam^), b. May 1, 1786; m. June 1, 1814, Maria (b. July 6, 1789 ; 
d. Apr. 2, 1815), daughter of Nahum Parker of Fitzwilliam ; d. July 
16, 1815. Child : A child, d. March 27, 1815. 

Elijah^ Lane {Samxiel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ Jolin,'^ George,^ Wil- 
liam}), b. Oct. 2, 1788; m. Jan. 29, 1815, Fanny Scott (d. March 
14, 1871), of Winchester; d. May 16, 1851. Children: Maria P., 
b. Nov. 13, 1815 ; m. George Oliver. Luther Scott, b. July 20, 1817. 
Elliott W., b. Sept. 16, 1819. Fanny F., b. March 13, 1821; m. 
Jan. 1, 1846, Francis M. Mason. Ebenezer F., b. Nov. 20, 1824. 
Eunice F., b. March 11, 1829 ; m., 1st, Moses D. Ballon; m., 2nd, 
Alanson W. Banks. 

Elisha''' Lane {Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,'^ John,^ George,'^ 
William^), b. Oct. 2, 1788 ; m. June 28, 1809, Electa, daughter of Sam- 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 391 

nel Healey, of Winchester (b. Aug. 31, 1790 ; d. May 11, 1817) ; m., 
2(i, April 9, 1834, Asenatli, daughter of Ashley Norton, Northfield, 
Mass. (b. Jan. 24, 1796 ; d. April 6, 1873) ; d. June 26, 1859. Chil- 
dren : Eliza A., b. March 27, 1811; d. in 1813. Samuel, b. Sept. 
27, 1812. Ephraim, b. Jan. 6, 1815. Elkanah, b. Feb. 11, 1837. 
Frederick Augustus, b. May 3, 1838. 

Ezkkiel''' Lane (Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim^'^ Jolin,^ George,'^ 
William^), b. Sept. 28, 1790 ; m. Feb. 3,1814, Rachel Thayer (b. July 
27, 1796; d. May 17, 1880), daughter of Farnum Fish; d. May 16, 
1851. Children : Farnum Fish, b. March 15, 1816. George Farrington, 
b. Feb. 21, 1818. Alonzo Franklin, b. Dec. 28, 1819. Ezekiel Francis 
b. April 27, 1823. Elisha Frederick, b. April 29, 1826. Alpheus 
Ferdinand, b. July 3, 1828. Ezra Fish, b. Dec. 14, 1830. Rachel 
Caroline, b. Apr. 1, 1833 ; m., 1st, Alonzo Mason ; m., 2d, J.Wood- 
ward. Nathaniel Fayette, b. Feb. 21, 1839; killed in the army. 
Sarah Josephine, b. Jan. 8, 1842 ; m. June 8, 1862, Adoniram Judson 
Van Orraun, of Hartford, Vt. 

Luther ScottSLane {Elijah^'' Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,'^ John, ^ 
George,"^ William'^), b. July 20, 1817; m. Oct. 14, 1845, Sarah (b. 
Apr. 25, 1823), daughter of Martin Stone ; d. Sept. 13, 1883. Chil- 
dren : Solon Herbert, b. July 21, 1847. Eugenia Maria, b. 1848 ; m. 
Lauren A. Freeman. Clara Nanc}', b. Jan. 1, 1850. Martin Luther, 
b. Sept. 20, 1851. Sarah Elizabeth, b. Apr. 29, 1856 ; m. Fred H. 
Young ; d. May 12, 1886. 

EbenezerF.^Lane {Elijah,'^ Samuel,^ ElhanoJi,^ Ex)liTaim,^ JoJm,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Nov. 20, 1824; m. Aug. 14, 1850, Hannah 
Porter (b. May 21, 1829; d. May 22, 1886), daughter of Chester Ly- 
man. Ciiildren : Henry C, b. Feb. 22, 1852. Edgar W., b. Aug. 12, 
1853 ; d. Aug. 30, 1854. Hattie M., b. Aug. 15, 1854 ; m. Don Carlos 
Taft. Chester L., b. Apr. 9, 1857. Maria F., b. Apr. 20, 1863; m. 
Frank H. Ellis. 

Samuel^ Lane {Elisha,'^ Snmriel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,'^ John,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Sept. 27, 1812 ; m. Sept. 25, 1845, Charlotte 
Oaks (b. Aug. 19, 1822; d. March 25, 1874), daughter of Calvin 
Stearns of Northfield, Mass. ; d. in Northfield, Mass., 1863. Child : 
Carrie Flora. 

Ephraim^ Lane {Elisha,'^ Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ep)hraim,^ John,^ 



392 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

George,^ William^), b. Jan. 6, 1815; m. Apr. 6, 1845, Caroline E. 
Wakenian of New Haven, Conn. Children : Andrew A. Horatio M* 

ElkanahS Lank {Elisha,'' Samuel,'^ Elkanah,^ EpJiraim,'^ JoJin,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Feb. 11, 1837 ; m. Oct. 28, 1SG8, Susie S. Ellis 
(b. Feb. 16, 1849), ofKeene. Children : Frederick E., b. Aug. 9, 1869. 
Samuel E., b. March 2, 1881 ; d. March 20, 1883. 

Fredkric A.s Lane (Elisha,'' Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,'^ John,^ 
George,^ William^), b. May 3, 1838; m., 1st, Ellen O. (b. Feb. 27, 
1842; d. May 28, 1863), danghter of George W. Worsley; m., 2d, 
Nov, 28, 1867, Frances S. Willard (b. March 28, 1846) of Keene. 
Children : Frank A., b. May 11, 1860. Laura E., b. May 30, 1862; 
m. Charles L. Wright. Leila, b. Aug. 29, 1868. 

Farnum F.s Lane {EzeMeW Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ei)hr aim, ^ John ^^ 
George,^ William^), b. March 15, 1816 ; m. Oct. 29, 1846, Harriet M. 
Butler, of AVinchester; d. June 18, 1887. Children: HatLieM., b. 
July 21, 1848 ; d. Feb. 22, 1853. Helen L., b. Jan. 7, 1854 ; m. Gus- 
tavus Lucke. Emily B., b. June 28, 1>857. 

George F.^ Lane (Ezekiel,'' iSamttel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim^^ John,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Feb. 21, 1818; m. Jan. 9, 1844, Sarah (b. 
March 17, 1821 ; d. Aug. 14, 1885) ; daughter of Edward Wilcox of Gil- 
sum. Children : Abbie Florence, b. June 27, 1848; d. May 27, 1862. 
Cleon Marcellus, b. July 22, 1849. Georgianna Emeline, b. May 8, 
1852; d. Sept. 17, 1852. George Edward, b. Oct. 31, 1854. Lucy 
Mabel, b. July 17, 1856 ; m. Henry C. Lane. Lester Leverett, b. 
Aug. 24, 1858 ; d. Nov. 7, 1861. Sarah Lestina, b. Oct. 16, 1862 ; d. 
Sept. 1, 1863. Leonard Loring, b. Nov. 1, 1870. 

Alonzo F.8 Lane (Ezekiel,'' Samuel,'^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ John,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Dec. 28, 1819; m. May 15, 1845, Rachel 
Thayer (b. Oct. 14, 1824 ; d. Jan. 5, 1855) daughter of Nathaniel Fish ; 
m., 2d, Nov. 1, 1859, Mary W. Lyman, of Hartford, Vt. He d. Jan. 
31, 1879. Children: Nancy Judith, b. Nov. 6, 1848; m. Alonzo 
E. Maon, of Vineland, N. J. Flora M., b. in 1852; d. March 12, 
1855. Frank. Charles. 

Ezekiel F.^ Lane (Ezekiel,'' Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,^ John,^ 
George,- William^), b. Apr. 27, 1823; m. Nov. 5, 1851, Diana Maria 
Elmer of Hartford, Vt. Children: Daniel E., b. Oct., 1852. Ella M., 



GENEALOGICAL RECOKDS. 393 

b. March, 1856. Flora M., b. Feb., 1861. George E., b. Aug., 
1863. 

Elisha F.^ Lane (EzeJciel,'' Samuel,^ ElkanaJi,^ Ephraim,^ JoJin,^ 
George,^ Wdlkm^), b. April 29, 1826; m. March 15, 1849, Susan M. 
Fish (d. March 31, 1867) ; he ra., 2d, Sept. 15, 1868, Harriet P. 
Wilder of Keene. Children : Hubert E., b. March 19, 1854. Henry 
W., b. April 2, 1871. Susanna Grace, b. Sept. 14, 1876. Harriet 
M., b. July 6, 1879. 

Alpheus F.s Lane (Ezekiel,'' Samuel,^ ElJcanah,^ Ephraim^'^ John,^ 
George.^ William^), b. July 3, 1828 ; m., 1st, Caroline Holmes of Bel- 
fast, Me. ; m., 2nd, Dec. 24, 1881, Mary E. Cole (b. March 25, 1851, 
at Fox Lake, Dodge Co., Wis.). Children : Ruth, b. Dec. 4, 1882 ; 
Carrie, b. Sept. 23, 1884; d. Oct. 11, 1884, at Moorhead, Minn. 
Ferdinand C, b. Oct. 25, 1885. 

Ezra F.*^ Lane {Ezekiel^'' Samuel,^ ElJcanaJi,^ Ephraim,'^ JoJin,^ 
George,^ William^), b. Dec. 14, 1830; ra. Jan., 1857, AnnV. Water- 
house of Marlborough. Children : Harry H., b. Nov., 1857 ; d. 1878. 
Cora Belle, b. Dec. 4, 1862. 

Solon H.^ Lane (LutJier S.,^ Elijah,'^ Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ Ephraim,'^ 
John,^ George,^ William^), b. July 21, 1847 ; m. Clara E. (b. Jan. 10, 
1850), daughter of Edward Wilcox. Child : Carl S., b. . 

Martin L.^ Lane {Luther S..,^ Elijah,'' Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ 
Ephraim,^ John,^ George,"^ William^), b. Sept. 20, 1851 ; ni. Nov. 28, 
1878, Flora E. (b. Sept. 3, 1853), daughter of Edward Wilcox. 
Children : Elliott W., b. Dec. 26, 1880. Nellie E., b. Aug. 22, 1882. 

Henry C.^ Lane (Ebenezer F.,^-. Elijah,'' Samuel,^ Elkanah,^ 
Ephraim,'^ John,^ George,'^ William^), b. Feb. 22, 1852 ; ni. Nov. 10, 

1878, Lucy Mabel (b. July 17,1856), daughter of George F. Lane. 
Cljild : Josephine Eunice, b. Jan. 9, 1880. 

Chester L.'' Lane {Ebenezer F.,^ Elijah,'' Saimiel,^ Elkanah,^ 
Ephraim,'^ John,"^ George,'^ William^), b. April 9, 1857 ; m. Sept. 27, 

1879, Emma Florence (b. Jan. 30, 1861) daugliter of Nathan F. 
Newell. Children: Ralph Waldo, b. Dec. 4, 1880; Florence S., b. 
Dec. 2, 1881 ; d. Aug. 27, 1883. Zora Alice, b. April 6, 1883. 

Cleon fM.9 Lane {George F.,^ Ezekiel,'' Samuel,'^ Elkanah,^ 
Ephraim,"^ John,^ George,^ William^), b. July 22, 1849 ; m., 1st, Dec. 



394 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

24, 18G8, Rosanna (b. Feb. 11, 1850; d. Nov. 5, 1880), danglitor of 
Charles Sly field of Keene ; m., 2d, May 24, 1881, Etta (b. May 12, 
1855), a sister of Rosanna. Children : Charlotte Marion, b. Nov. 5, 
1869. Mildred Elizabeth, b. Dec. 19, 1873. Rachel Lestina, b. Jan. 
28, 1876. Mary Emeline, b. Oct. 16, 1878. 

George E.^ Lane (George F.,^ Ezekiel,"^ Samnel^^ Elkanah,^ 
Ephraim,'^ Jolin,^ George,'^ William}), b, Oct. 31, 1854; m. June 20, 
1876, Clara M. (b. Aug. 20, 1857), daughter of Leander Page; d. 
May 2, 1888. Child : Lester M., b. May 8, 1877. 

Hubert E.^ Lane (Elisha F.,^ Ezekiel,'' Samuel,^ ElMnah,^ 
E jyhr aim, '^ John, ^ George,^ William^), b. March 19, 1854; ni. Lilla, 
adopted daughter of Albert G. Read. 

LAWRENCE. 

Nathaniel- Lawrexce (2^uthaniel^ of Winchester), b. June 3, 1781 ; 
m. Aug. 5, 1806, Sally (b. Aug. 28, 1790; d. Sept. 7, 1841), daughter 
of William Rixford ; d. Oct. 12, 1837. Children : Mary, b. Jan. 6, 
1807 ; d. May 3, 1845. Selah W., b. Sei^. 27, 1808 ; d. July 18, 1831. 
Lorenzo D., b. April 3, 1811 ; d. in Kansas, Oct. 26, 1885. Ntithan- 
iel S., b. June 12, 1813 ; m. Louisa Noah ; d. in Kansas, Feb. 6, 1863. 
Sarah M., b. Feb. 26, 1816; ra. Jan. 31, 1842, James IL Sibley. 
Solomon R., b. April 25, 1819 ; ni. Jan. 20, 1846, Maria Wliitcomb; 
d. Nov. 21, 1884, in Palmer, Mass. Rhoda S., b. Oct. 14, 1822 ; m. 
Nov. 20, 1844, Daniel Snow. Harriet N., b. Aug. 2, 1825; d. May 
15, 1890. Selah W., b. May 14, 1832 ; m. Nov. 23, 1853, Harriet A. 
Foster (d.'june 29, 1887). 

Justin Lawrence, settled in Swanzey previous to 1777, and d. 
probablj' about 1802. His wife d. Aug. 24, 1777. Children : Pad- 
dock, b. about 1760. Martha, m. Jan. 22, 1798, James Smith of 
Andover, Vt. Betsey, m. Aug. 26, 1798, Levi Rice of Winchester. 
A child d. Aug. 19, 1777, and one Aug. 21, 1777. 

Paddock- Lawrence (Juslin^), b. about 1760; m. Sept. 7, 1786, 
Rebecca Cunningham ; d. Jan. 20, 1847. Children: Reuben. Polly, 
ra. Samuel Wood of Winchester. Alvira, m. Ebenezer Cummings. 

LEACH. 

Josiah Leacif m., 2nd, Jan. 31, 1819, Sarah Ockington. Ciiildren : 
Thomas G., b. Sept. 19, 1819. Charles A., b. Aug. 14, 1821. Leon- 
ard W., b. June 19, 1824. Lovilla E., b. Dec. 12, 1826. Lucy A., 
b. May 11, 1829. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 395 

Lyman^ Leach (Josi'aJi^), b. Jan. 4, 1807; m. March 24, 1830, 
Eliza (b. Oct. 19, 1811), daughter of Benjamin Whitcomb ; d. Nov. 
2, 1877. Children: Lyndall W., b. Dec. 5, 1830; d. Apr. 8, 1831. 
Laura E., b. March 15, 1833 ; m. James U. Merrill, Oneida, N. Y. 
Lyndall W., b. June 15, 1835. Emily, b. March 20, 1838 ; d. Jan., 
1841. Livonia M., b. March 20, 1846 ; m, Fred F. Bartlett. 

LEBOURVEAU. 

• 

John Lebourveau b. June 28, 1793 ; m. Arethusa Nourse (b. in 
Keene, April 6, 1793 ; d. March 19, 1872) ; d. June 18, 1874. Chil- 
dren : Emily, b. Aug. 3, 1817 ; d. Oct. 20, 1839. Eliza, b. Aug. 9, 
1819 ; d. May 16, 1832. Diantha, b. Oct. 4, 1821 ; m. Calvin Wright 
May 10, 1842. Elizabeth, b. Sept. 16, 1823; m. Charles Eveleth 
June 16, 1841. Jerome, b. Nov. 27, 1825 ; m. Betsey Seward, Oct. 
15, 1850. Harriet, b. May 30, 1830 ; ra. Samuel Seward, Dec. 18, 
1848. Aaron, b. Dec. 31, 1833. 

Aaron^ Lebourveau (JoJin^), b. Dec. 31, 1833; m. Nov. 2, 1858, 
Lura Davis. Child : Ellery, m. Nellie, daughter of Joseph E. Long. 

LEONARD. 

Seth^ Leonard (Seth^ of Westmoreland), b. Dec. 20, 1799; m. 
June 8, 1822, Sally (b. Apr. 2, 1787 ; d. Apr. 23, 1877), daughter of 
Jonathan Hill of Winchester; d. March 2, 1853. Children: Susan, 
b. Oct. 28, 1823. Mary, b. Feb. 2, 1825. William, b. Feb., 1826. 
Henry W., b. March 2, 1827. Rusella, b. Nov., 1828. Lucy, b. May 
27, 1830 ; m. Ransom 0. Taylor. George A., b. Nov. 29, 1831. 

George^ Leonard (Seth^ of Westmoreland), b. Ma3' 1, 1806; m. 
Oct. 4, 1837, Esther (d. Oct. 5, 1867), daughter of John Smith of 
Peterborough. Child : Lizzie Ann, h. Nov. 7, 1839 ; m. D. B. C. 
Hill. 

Henry W.3 Leonard (Seth,^ Seth^), b. March 2, 1827 ; m. Apr. 2, 
1850, Mary L. (b. Oct. 27, 1830), daughter of Jonathan Jackson. 
Children : Henry S., b. March 4, 1853. Herman G., b. Nov. 4, 1856. 
Jane M. and Julia E., b. Aug. 10, 1861 ; Jane M. m. Carlton J. Jos- 
lin of Keene ; Julia E. ra. Michael Burke. Ra^^ J., b. Jan. 2, 1869, 

Geoge A.3 Leonard (Seth,^ Seth^), b. Nov. 29, 1831 ; m. July 2, 
1856, Martha A. (b. Dec. 25, 1832), daughter of Joel Eaton. Chil- 
dren : George Wyman, b. March 29, 1858; d. Sept. 29, 1864. Min- 



396 . HISTORY or swaxzey. 

nie Helen, b. June 8, 18G3; d. March 20, 1809. Martha Adehiide, 
b. Aug. 17, 1866. Ellie May, b. Jan. 16, 1869. 

John Leonard, b. in 1753 ; d. April 27, 1829. 

Nathan Leonard of New York m. March 5, 1817, Lucy (b. Jan. 
21, 1792; d. in Keene Aug. 24, 1884), daughter ol" Selh Pouiroy. 
Children: Alonzo, Welcome and Robert P. reside in Keene. Eliza, 
m. Logan Willard of Winchester. Sarah J., m. Silas W. Ballou^ 
Feb. 12, 1851. 

LEWIS. 

Levi Lewis m. Dec. 28, 1819, Betsey, daughter of Eliezer Mason. 
Children : Almira. Maria. Eliza. Jerome. Jane. Levi. Edgar. 
Emil}^ 

LINCOLN. 

Herman L.^ Lincoln {James AA of Peru, Vt.), b. Oct. 26, 1838 ; 
m. Dec. 29, 1859, Ellen (b. Dec. 31, 1838), daughter of Col. Clark 
Chencey of Chesterfield. Children : Fred C, b. Sept. 26, 1860. Nel- 
lie A., b. Jan. 1, 1862 ; m. Walter S. Alexander of this town. Frank 
L., b. July 10, 1866 ; ni. Mary, daughter of Fred A. Bartlott. Nettie 
L., b. Sept. 10, 1867 ; m. Orman L. Crown of Keene. Susie A., b. 
Feb. 9, 1870. Lena M., b. July 4, 1874 ; d. young. Luana, b. June 
6, 1876. Ella M., b. June 1, 1878. 

Frkd C.^ Lincoln {Herman Z.,- James A.^), b. Sept. 26, 1860 ; m. 
March 11, 1881, Rosie L., daughter of Elijah B Rugg. Child: L. 
Winifred, b. July 30, 1886. 

LOCKE. 

Jonathan Locke and Nancy his wife had : Eliza, b. Nov. 14, 1815. 
Franklin, b. Oct. 17, 1818. 

LOMBARD. 

Aaron^ Lombard {Joseph^ Lombard of Brimfield) , b. in Brimfield, 
Mass., March 2, 1772; m. June 21, 1796, Eunice (b. May 12, 1777 ; 
d. Jan. 18, 1859), daughter of Isaac Gibbs, Sudbury, Mass. He d. 
Jan. 27, 1859. Children: Parley, b. Jan. '22, 1798; d. Aug. 2, 
1799. Joseph, b. Sept. 8, 1800; d. June 24, 1856, in New York. 
Sylvester, b. Aug. 27, 1801 ; d. Oct. 27, 1802. Eliza, b. May 9, 
1803 ; d. 1879, in Boston. Benjamin F., b. May 3, 1805 ; d. Oct. 2, 
1807. Laura, b. Feb. 7, 1807 ; in. Oct. 18, 1823, Daniel Kendrick 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 397 

of "Winchester, removed to Nashua. Mary F., b. April 22, 1809 ; m. 
William SlraUon. Emil}^ b. JUI3' 3, 1811 ; m. John Scates of Nashua, 
Benjamin F., b. June 29, 1814. Isaac G., b. Aug. 24, 1816 ; d. Dee. 
3, 1837. Eunice Jane, b. Nov. 19, 1818 ; m. John H. Hinckley of 
Boston. George Sumner, b. Oct. 15, 1820. 

Benjamin F.^ Lombard (Aaron,'^ Joseph^ of BrimfieJcl, Mass.), b. 
June 29. 1814; m. Feb. 2, 1840, Fanny (b. Dec. 9, 1816), daugliter 
of Benjamin Whitcomb. Children: Addis W., b. Dec. 30, 1840; 
d. Dec. 9, 1862. Eliza Jane, b. Aug. 14, 1842 ; m. George J. Page 
of Buffalo, N. Y. p:inora Adelaide, b. Sept. 27, 1845; d. Feb. 6, 
1849. A son, b. and d. Aug. 24, 1847. A daughter, b. Jan. 16, 
1849; d. Jan. 19, 1849. Flavins Frank, b. March 29, 1850. Cora 
Frances, b. July 4, 1852 ; m. Feb. 13, 1878, Leason Martin of Rich- 
mond. Kate Elnora, b. Dec. 26, 1854. Edric Aaron, b. Sept. 14, 
1859 ; d. Dec. 14, 1862. 

George S.^ Lombard (Aarori,'^ Joseph^), h. Oct. 15, 1820; m. Nov. 
9, 1852, Mary E. Crosby of Boston. He d. Jan. 3, 1865, in the 
arm}'. 

Flavius F."* Lombard ( Benjamin F.,^ Aaro7i,^ Joseph^), b. March 
29, 1850 ; m. Oct. 31, 1877, Ursula V. (b. May 25, 1857), daughter 
of Sylvanus Cram. Children: Frank H., b. Aug. 12, 1878. George 
H., b. Oct 8, 1879. Guy F., b. May 26, 1881. Louie Howard, b. 
Feb. 22, 1884. 

lonergan. 
Thomas LoNERGAN, b. in Ireland March 18, 1828; ra. April 13, 
1856, Catharine Fitzgerald (b. in Ireland, June 14, 1832). Children: 
Ellen, b. June 9, 1857; d. Oct. 6, 1857. Margaret, b. July 25, 
1858. James, b. Dec. 10, 1859 ; d. Oct. 8, 1872. John, b. Dec. 13, 
1861. Mary E., b. May 17, 1863 ; d. Nov. 26, 1882. Catharine, b, 
July 7, 1865. Thomas, b. April 15, 1868. Daniel, b. Nov. 16, 
1869; d. Sept. 22, 1871. Anna, b. June 27, 1872; d. Jan. 25, 
1873. 

LONG. 

Joseph'^ Long, came to Swanzey from Massachusetts, and d. when 
about forty years of age ; m. Phebe Hill (b. 1758 ; d. 1857) of Doug- 
lass, Mass. Children: Levi. William. Lemuel. John. Joseph. 

Levi^ Long {Josepli^) m. July 15, 1807, Cynthia (b. March 29, 
1782), daughter of John Pierce. 
27 



398 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

John- Long {Joseph^) ^ m. June 4, 1812, Melutable (b. Feb. 7, 
1787; d. Jan. 6, 1843, in Noithlield, Mass.), daughter of Josiah 
Hamblet. 

Joseph^ Long (Joseph^), h. ; ni. Ma}-, 1821, Gillias A., daugh- 
ter of P^zra Rice of Northboro, Mass. ; d. April 3, 1874. Chihlren : 
Levi H., b. June 22, 1822. L^'dia Ann, b. Ma}'^ 1, 1824 ; m. Ilana- 
niali W. Allen of Keene. Fanny, b. Nov. 22, 1828 ; ni. Aaron L. 
Kirk of Springfield, Vt. Lemuel F., b. June 2, 1831. Mary C, b. 
Aug. 4, 1833 ; ra. Reuben S. Kirk of Keene. Josepli E., b. Apr. 30, 
1836. 

Joseph E.^ Long {Joseph,- JosejjJi^), b. Apr. 30, 1836; m., 1st, 
Ellen (1). Apr. 17, 1840; d. June 14, 1864), daughter of Robert 
Hovey ; ni., 2nd, Jan. 1, 1867, Lois A. (b. Oct. 5, 1844), daugliter 
of Lovell Taft. Children : Nellie M., b. Aug 2, 1862 ; m. Klery Le- 
borveau. George E., b. June 12, 1864. Cora E., b. Aug. 8, 1867 ; 
ni. Walter II. Streeter. Lemuel F., b. Oct. 22, 1870. Fannie L., b. 
Aug. 14, 1877; Willie S., b. Oct. 9, 1818 ; d. Aug. 16, 1879. 

LORD. 

George Lord, b. Dec. 3, 1810; ni., 1st, Elvira (1). 1819; 

d. Feb. 12, 1844) ; m., 2nd, June 15, 1846, Ann (b. May 12, 

1814; d. Aug. 29, 1887), daughter of Laban Starkej' ; lied, in Swan- 
ze3',Apr. 25, 1865. Children: Helen, b. Dec. 27, ; d. in Spring- 
field, Vt. Ann Maria, b. Feb. 21, 1848 ; m. Andrew L. Haskell. 

BemsleyLord of Winchendon, Mass., m. Sally Stimson (who ra., 
2nd, Benjamin Brown, 2nd, of Swanzey). Cliildren : PCunice, b. 
March 3, 1786. Sally, b. July 17, 1787. Bemsley, b. July 16, 1789. 
Luke, b. Nov. 18, 1792. 

Bkmsley- Lord {Bemdey^ of Winchendon, Mass.), b. July 16, 

1789 ; m. Rebecca . Child : Bemsley, b. in 1828 ; d. Dec. 22, 

1856. 

loveland. 
Adolphus Loveland, d. April 24, 1823. 

Eleazer Loveland, d. March 25, 1822. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 399 



LOVERING. 

Jaspkr E.2 Lovering (Frank'^), b. June 22, 1855; m. July 18, 
1877, Lillian M. (b. Oct. 2, 1856), daughter of Luther Alexander. 
Child : Carroll A., b. Feb. 20, 1883. 

Will H.^ Lovering {Ilenry^ of FitzwiUiani), b. May 8, 1854 ; m. 
Nov. 23, 1881, Cora Jane (b. May 6, 1855) , daughter of Harvey Beal. 

LYMAN. 

Chester Lyman, b. in 1783 ; m., 2nd, Lucy Porter (b. 1798; d. 
Dec. 19, 1849) of Marlborough; m., 3rd, widow Lovina (Porter) 
Knowlton (b. in 1787 ; d. Jan. 18, 1876) ; he d. Dec. 12, 1873. Chil- 
dren : Chester. Joseph. AVilliani. A daughter, m. Mr. Kingsbury 
of Keene. Harriet, b. 1833 ; d. Sept. 27, 1849. Hannah, m. P^ben- 
ezer F. Lane ; d. May 22, 1886. Lucretia, m. Ephraini Wheeler of 
Troy. Leonard. (Record incomplete.) 

Leonard- Lyman (Chester^) , m. Carrie, daughter of Sylvanus Per- 
liamofTroy. Children: Addie, in. Allen Wilcox. Walter, lives 
in Michigan. Giace, m. Charles Pond of Keene. Emma, m. Fred 
A. Watson ; m., 2nd, Mr. Barker. Chester, d. in youth. 

MACK. 

John Mack m. Tirza Gunn. Child: Solomon, b. July 18, 1786. 

MANN. 

Hezekiah Mann m. Molly . Children : Samuel. Sarah. 

Molly. Abigail, b. Apr. 3, 1784. Calvin, b. Aug. 17, 1785. Lu- 
ther, b. Feb. 24, 1787. Lois, b. Feb. 4, 1789. 

MCFARDAND. 

Edward A. McFarland from Philadelphia, m. May 24, 1882, Mel- 
venah (b. Feb. 25, 1863), daughter of H. Denman Thompson. Chil- 
dren : Alice, b. Jan. 6, 1884 ; d. Jan. 10, 1887. Ethel, b. Sept. 10, 
1885. Denman, b. June 30, 1888. 

MANSFIELD. 

William Spofford- Mansfield (Stej^hen^), b. in Charlestown, 
March 7, 1816 ; m. 1844, Louisa Pollej' of Gilsum ; he d. in Swanizey 
Sept. 2, 1846. Child : William Alonzo, b. in Swanzey, July, 
1845. 



400 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



MARBLE. 

EuASMUs Marble b. 1789; ni. May 8, 1834, Christian (b. Ma}' 11, 
1703), daugbter of Samuel Belding, 2(1; bed. Sept. 23, 1878. 

Alfred^ Marble {James^ of Hinsdale), b. Aug. 23, 1819; m,, 
1st, June 7, 1843, Alniira E. (b. Sept. 3, 1819 ; d. Feb. 17, 1853), 
daugbter of Benjamin Williams; m., 2nd, Aug. 17, 1853, Esther A. 
(b. 4 Nov., 1831), daughter of Zadock L. Taft. Children : William 
B., b. June 26, 1844 ; d, June 26, 18G9. Samantlia M., an adopted 
daughter, b. in Fitcliburg, Mass., Jul}^ 29, 1849; m,, 1st, Aug. 3, 
1875, Alfred Temple of Bernardston, Mass. (d. Nov. 28, 1877) ; 
m., 2n(l, INIarcli 12, 1879, Walter A. Sprague of Keene. Addie E., 
b. Apr. 27, 1857 ; m. Dr. M. E. Dix of Hinsdale. 

John Marble, m., 1st, June 8, 1794, Damaris (b. Jan. 17, 1775), 
daughter of Aaron Parsons; m., 2nd, Betty (b. March 27, 1772; d. 
March 12, 1778), sister of Damaris. Child : Damaris, bapt. June 
14, 1795. 

MARCY. 

George Marcy of Windsor, Vt., m. Clara from Plainfield. 

Children : Fanny, b. May 30, 1827 ; m. Phinehas H. Snow. Silas R., 
b. Jan. 21, 1830. Samuel. Ellen, lives in Keene. Hubbard. 

VoLNEY A. Marcy taxed in this town first about 1868. 

MARSH. 

Charles^ Marsh (Charles^ of Keene), b. Oct. 10, 1846; m., 1st, 
•Sept. 4, 1867, Celinda Marietta (d. Aug. 1, 1885), daughter of El- 
bridge G. Prentice; m., 2nd, Minnie . Cliildren : Gracie M., 

b. Apr. 23, 1870. Angle L., b. Aug. 27, 1872. Minnie E., b. July 
23, 1874. Chester L., b. Aug. 15, 187V. Martia A., b. July b 
1880 ; d. Nov. 23, 1880. Charles E., b. Sept. 10, 1882. 

Amasa a. 2 Marsh {James^ of Keene), b. 1853 ; m. Dec. 25, 1886, 
Alice G. Scott of Chesterfield. Child : Winona F., b. Jan. 3, 1888. 

Walter E.2 Marsh {James^), b. July 30, 1855 ; m. Jan. 8, 1883, 
Jessie II., daugliter of Charles N. Tottingham. Child : Raymond 
Eugene, b. Jan. 27, 1885. 



GENEALOGICAL KECORDS. 401 

MARSHALL. 

Henry Marshall, m. Oct. 7, 1771, Mary Wier. Cliildren : Han- 
nah, b. Apr. 10, 1773. Tryphena, b. June 9, 1775. Mary, b. Sept. 
9, 1777. John, b. Apr. 10, 1782. Henry, b. June 6, 1785. 

David R. Marshall, m., 1st, Nancy Stone; m., 2n(l, Oct. 24, 
1850, Ellen M. (b. March 25, 1830), daughter of Oirin BUxck ; he d. 
1881. Children: Ella R., b. Sept. 5,1856; m. 1882, Frank Chap- 
man. 

MARTIN. 

Jonathan^ Martin (Moses^ of EicJimond), b. Dec. 6, 1773; m., 
1st, Jan. 31, 1796, Zilpah, daughter of Joseph Cass of Richmond; 
m.,2nd, Aug. 14, 1803, Lydia (b. Sept. 25, 1776; d. July 19, 1856), 
daughter of Israel Sabin of Richmond ; he d. May 28, 1832. Chil- 
dren : Lovisa, b. 1799; d. Aug. 25, 1870. Roxelana. Lydia, b. 
1805. Jonathan, b. May, 1807. Laton, b. Jan. 31, 1809. James 
Madison, b. 1812. Zilpah, b. 1813; d. Nov. 10, 1839. Rachel, 
b. 1818; d. Feb. 2, 1837. ' 

John- Martin (Wilderness^ of Richmond'), b. March 16, 1791 ; m. 
Feb. 24, 1819, Hannah Kendall. Children: Emily, b. Nov., 1819. 
Azuba, m. April 23, 1857, Hiram Br^-ant. 

MARVIN. 

Benjamin Marvin m. Eliza . Children : Flora E., b. 1845 ; 

d. Sept. 3, 1849. Enrico C, b. 1849 ; d. Oct., 1860. Mary S., b. 
June 30, 1860 ; d. Aug. 26, 1860. 

MASON. 

Eliezer Mason came from Fitzwilliam prior to 1806 ; his wife Re- 
becca, b. in Swansea, Mass., Dec. 29, 1761 ; d. in Hardwick, Vt., March 
24, 1837. He d. in Walcott, Vt., Dec. 9, 1843. Children : Levi, b. 
in Swansea, Mass., Oct. 19, 1782. Phebe, b. in Fitzwilliam, Aug. 24, 
1784 ; m. Benjamin Temple of Northborough, Mass. Lurana, b. 
Sept. 10, 1786 ; m. Jonas Hall. Rebecca, b. Feb. 18, 1789 ; d. young. 
Martin, b. July 15, 1792. Mary, b. Dec. 21, 1794; m. Joseph But- 
ler. Rebecca,!). Aug. 5, 1796 ; m. Asahel Hall of Hardwick, Vt., Jan. 
19,1815. Betsey, b. Nov. 23,1800; m. Levi Lewis. Candace, b. 
July 3, 1803 ; m. Horace Starkey. The last six children b. in Fitz- 
william. Benjamin, b. March 22, 1806, in Swanzey. (From Hist. 
of Fitzwilliam.) 



402 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Hale2 Mason (Eliezer'^), h. June 20, 1790; ni. June 22, 1815, 
Lucy (b. Nov., 1795), daughter of Samuel Lane. Children: Samuel. 
Levi. Alverdo. Francis M., b. May 29, 1823. George W. Lucius. 
P^unice. 

Martin^ Mason {EUezer^),h. July 15, 1792 ; m. about 1813, Catha- 
rine Rooks of Doylston, Penn. (h. May 22, 1795; d. March G, 1870). 
Hed. Apr. 4, 1872. Cliildren : Mary Ann, b. Dee. 11, 1815 ; m., 1st, 
Alfred Seaver ; in., 2nd, Oramon Snow. Sarah, b. May 4, 1818; m. 
Russell B. Hall. Daniel, b. Apr. 5, 1820 ; d. Feb. 11, 1859, in Haver- 
hill, Mass. Fanny, b. Oct. 5, 1823; d. Dec. 28, 1831. Betsey, b. 
Jan. 14. 1826 ; ni. Samuel WilUins, Middleton, Mass. Lucy, b. May 
14, 1828; ni. Luman W. Seaver. Charles E., b. Aug. 15, 1«30. 
Martin, b. Nov. 20, 1833. 

Benjamin^ Mason (EUezer^), b. March 22, 1806; m., 1st, Jan. 1, 
1826, Ahneda (1). July 31, 1808; d. Jan. 6, 1856), daughter of Levi 
Woodcock; m., 2nd, Miriam (d. Feb. 4, 1890), daughter of Zenas 
Ware (widow Aaron Thayer, widow George Darling). He d. Nov. 
22, 1881. Children: Alonzo. Mary il., b. March 31, 1829; m. 
Albert R. Ballou. Eliza, b. Feb. 18, 1834; d. Blay, 1853. William 
Henry, b. June, 1837. 

Francis M.3 Mason (Hale,^ Eliezer^), b. May 29, 1823; m. Jan. 

I, 1846, Fanny E. (b. March 13, 1821 ; d. Jan. 30, 1876), daughter 
of Elijah Lane. Children : Frank Dexter, b. Feb. 10, 1857. Eu- 
nice Maria, b. Apr. 15, 1859 ; d. May 6, 1886. 

Martin3 Mason {Martin,^ EUezer^),h. Nov. 20,1833; m. June 

II, 1860, Sophina J. (b. Feb. 17, 1837), daughter of Joseph Ham- 
mond. Children: Frank E., b. Aug. 28, 1865. Kate L., b. June 
6, 1870; m. Charles Emmons. Charles H., b. July 24, 1873. 

Alonzo3 Mason {Benjamin,^ Eliezer^), m., 1st, Dolly (b. 1835; 
d. May 8, 1852), daughter of George Bucklin ; m., 2nd, Rachel Car- 
oline (b. Apr. 1, 1833), daughter of Ezekiel Lane. She m., 2nd, ■ 

Woodward of Keene. 

Herbert W.2 Mason (Nathaniel P.i of Stoddard), b. June 26, 
1849 ; m. June 26, 1877, Abbie Frances (b. Nov. 27, 1854), daughter 
of Calvin Alexander. Children: Herbert D., b. Nov. 2, 1878. Al- 
exander, b. Aug. 7, 1880. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 403 

Orson L.^ Mason (Stephen SA of Dublin) , b. Aug. 1, 1849 ; m. July 
4, 1873, Martha Adams, daughter of Isaac Starkey. Children : Ger- 
trude Rush, b. March 31, 1879. Floyd Oren, b. Jan. 29, 1886. 

MATTHEWS. 

Solomon- Matthews (Solon^ of Broolcjield, J/ass.), b. June 1, 

1763 ; m., 1st, Shaw ; m., 2nd, 1800, Pruda (b. March 24, 1770 ; 

d. Aug. 3, 1854), daughter of Eliphalet Holbrook,Bellingham, Mass. 
He d. Aug. 12, 1859. Children: Boardman, b. Sept. 19, 1790; d. 
in Mexico, N. Y. Daniel, b. Jan. 8, 1792 ; d. Jan. 3, 1851. Rhoda, 
b. Jan. 29, 1793 ; d, young. Anna, b, March 29, 1795 ; d. Aug. 5, 
1806. Lydia and Lucy, b. July 1, 1797; Luc3%d. young; Lydia, d. 
June, 1839. Abigail and Nancy, b. Jan. 20, 1801; Nancy, d. Sept. 
8, 1866; Abigail, m. Dec. 30, 1830, Levi Farnsworth of Fitchburg, 
Mass. ; d. June 10, 1867. Patty, b. Jan. 20, 1803 ; d. Nov. 15, 
1804. Anna, b. Oct. 8, 1804 ; d. Aug. 5, 1806. John H., b. Aug. 
6, 1806. Levi, b. Oct. 16, 1807. Olive, b. Apr. 11, 1812; m. Philip 
P. Carlton. Solomon, b. June 15, 1814 ; d. Feb. 21, 1815. 

John H.^ Matthews {Solomon,'^ Solon'^), b. Aug. 6, 1806; m. Lo- 
mira Crossett (d. Oct. 25, 1888). He d. July 9, 1881. Children: 
James Henry, b. Sept. 7, 1840. Nancy Jane, b. Dec. 30, 1841. Lu- 
cina, b. Oct. 6, 1843 ; m. Frank Hovey. 

Levi^ Matthews (Solomon,^ SoIon'^),h. Oct. 16, 1807; m. Jan. 
3, 1833, Lucy (b. Sept. 8, 1805 ; d. Aug. 3, 1846), daughter of Francis 
Bowman of Henniker. Hed. July 28, 1861. Children: Maria Antoin- 
ette, b. Nov. 24, 1833 ; d, March, 1837. Anna Agenore, b. May 26, 
1835 ; m. July 28, 1857, Charles H. Woods of Henniker. Helen Maria, 
b. March 11, 1837; m., 1st, Dec. 10,1855, Daniel W. Smith of Henniker 
(d. July 28, 1859) ; m., 2nd, June ,22, 1862, Moses 0. Bean of Ha- 
verhill, JNIass. ; m., 3rd, Apr. 16, 1879, John M. Farnsworth of P^itcli- 
burg, Mass. Etlwin Bowman, b. Dec. 24, 1838. E)ffle Ann, b. Aug. 30, 
1841, in Marlborough ; m. Sept. 8, 1861, George G. Jones of Dracut, 
Mass. 

Edwin B.'* Matthews (Levi,^ Solomon,^ /S'o?o?i'), b. Dec. 24, 1838. 
m. Jan. 24, 1860, Mary L. (b. Sept. 5, 1840) , daughter of Joseph Col- 
lins, of Marlborough. Children: Hattie, b. Ai)r. 29, 1861. BirdieE., 
b. Feb. 12, 1867. Herbert Leon, b. Jan. 21, 1873. Lula G., b. June 
21, 1877. All children b. in Marlborough. 



404 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



MEAD. 

Benjamin- Mead (John^ of Hillsborough), h. Sept. 26, 1808; m. 
Muicli 7, 1834, Sarali (1). April 18, 1810), diuighter of James Ball of 
Antrim. He d. Aug. 11,1888. Children: Laura Ann, b. Oct. 21, 
1837, in IMarlow ; ni. Jan. 14, 1858, Sylvester Tinker of Nashua; d. 
July 10, 1865. Benjamin F., b. Oct. 15, 1842. 

Benjamin F.^ Mead (Benjamin,- JoJm'^), h. Oct. 15,1842; ni., 
1st, Sept. 1, 1861, Minerva C. E. Ilerrick of Chesterfield (b. July 11, 
1836 ; d. July 11, 1875) ; m., 2nd, March 20, 1881, Abbie J. Bemis, 
of Marlboro. Children : Eva L., b. Dec. 8, 1862 ; m. Oct. 6, 1879, 
Richard R. Ramsdell, jr. Willie E., b. April 13, 1865; d. Sept. 8, 
1875. Annie Eihel, b. Sept. 8, 1886. 

mellen. 

J0E1.S Mellen (Robert^ of Holliston, Mass., Daniel,'^ Henry, ^ 
Thomas-, Simon^ of Framingham, Mass.), b. April 2, 1764 ; ni., 1st, 
May 31, 1792, Mary (b. Sept. 22, 1765 ; d. June 2, 1802), daughter 
of William Ilolbrook; m., 2nd, Nov. 28, 1805, Bebe (b. Dec. 16, 
1778 ; d. Apr. 11, 1851), daugliter of Isaac Jackson, of Fit;5\villiam. 
He d. May 12, 1828, and she m. Russel Ballon, Apr. 16, 1829. Ciiil- 

dren : Betsey Holbrook, b, ; m, Nov. 2, 1813, Cyrus Foot of 

Springfield, Mass. Abigail, b. May 31, 1793, in Fitzwilliam ; ni. 
Clark B. Holbrook. Robert, b. Jul}' 20, 1795, in Fitzwilliam. 
Mary, b. Aug. 30, 1806 ; m. George Bucklin. Joel, b. Apr. 6, 1811. 
Sarah, b. Dec. 21, 1821 ; m. Alonzo Ballon. 

JoEiJ Mellen {Joel,^ Robert,^ Daniel,'^ Henry, "^ Thomas,^ Simon^) , 
b. April 6, 1811 ; m. Sarah Harvey. 

mekriam. 
Jonas H.- Merriam (John^ of Barre, Mass.), b. 17.^6, in Barre ; 
in. about 1805, Mary Adams; had seven children ; went to Cambria, 
N. Y., where he m., 2iid, in 1820, Caroline Warting ; had three chil- 
dren ; ni., 3d, in 1832, Sally F. Talbot; about 1836, removed from 
Athol to this town and d. Aug. 8, 1857 ; she d. May 5, 1874. 

William^ Merriam (Jonas H.,~ John^), b. Dec. 9, 1825, in Cam- 
bria, N. Y. ; m. Sept. 20, 1846, Frances Jane (b. Oct. 21, 1828), 
daughter of Otis Whitcomb. Children : Caroline Jane, b. Aug. 5, 
1847, in Rindge; d. Oct. 10, 1848. Caroline Jane, b. March 12, 1849, 
in Fitzwilliam. Esther Eliza, b. June 7, 1851, in Fitzwilliam. 



GENEALOGICAL RECOEDS. 405 



METCALF. 

Irus"^ Metcalf (N'aJmm^ of Keene), b. 1807 ; in. Eiiieline (b. 1812 ; 
d. May 10, 1851) , daughter of John Haile ; he d. Feb. 17, 1872. Chil- 
dren : Emma, b. 1834 ; d. in 1840. Ellen, b. 1835 ; d. in 1840. John 
W., b. Jan. 1, 1837. William H., b. Apr. 30, 1840. Emma E., b. Dec. 
12, 1844 ; m. Erdix S. Eastman. Charles W., b. Apr. 12, 1847. Her- 
bert W., b. May 7, 1848. 

Ralph^ Metcalf {Nahum^ of Keene) ^ m. Apr. 18, 1832, Adaline 
Woodcock. 

George^ Metcalf {Nahum^ of Keejie), m. Dec. 5, 1837, Abigail 
Stone of Keene; d. in Harrisville. Children: Abigail Mariah, b. 
Sept. 30, 1838. Olive Louisa, b. Apr. 29, 1840. 

John W. 3 Metcalf {Irus,~ Nahum^), b. Jan. 1, 1837; m. Sadie 
McAllister of Boston, Mass. 

William H.^ Metcalf {Tries'^, Nalium^), b. Apr. 30, 1840 ; m., 1st, 
Ellen Chase, of Jamaica, Vt. ; m., 2nd, Mary Ripley, of Winchester; 
d. May 5, 1870. 

Charles W.^ Metcalf (Jj-ms,^ JSfaJmm^), b. April 12, 1847; m. 
Anna Norwood, of Winchester, N. H. 

Caleb H. Metcalf, m. Lydia (b, Aug. 30, 1814), daughter of 
James Olcott. Children : George E., b. Apr. 21, 1838. Lucina M., 
b. Nov. 13, 1840. Mary E., b. Apr. 14, 1843. They went west. 

MOORE. 

Lawson MooRE,b. in Marlboro, Mass., about 1758 ; m. Lydia Good- 
iiow of Franiingham, Mass. ; d. Dec^. 20, 1847. Children : Lydia, b. 

May 10, 1786 ; m., 1st, Hugh Mason of Marlborough ; 2d, Eben- 

ezer Coburn of M. Lawson, b. Dec. 12, 1791. William, b. May 21, 

1798. 

Lawson^ Moore (Latvso7i^), b. Dec. 12, 1791 ; m. Mar. 30, 1814, 
Hannah (b. Mar. 20, 1795 ; d. Dec. 4, 1872), daughter of Jonas Blod- 
gett) ; d. Mar. 25, 1872. Children: an infant, d. Dec. 7, 1814. 
Eliza Ann, b. Dec. 7, 1815 ; m., 1st, Reuben Worcester ; 2d, Shepley W. 
Knight. Sarah Blodgett, b. Mar. 31, 1818; m. Shepley W. Knight. 
William, b. June 11, 1820. Charles, b. Sept. 30, 1822 ; d. Nov. 30, 
1843. Jonas Lawson, b. Jan. 9, 1825. Martha M., b. March 13, 



406 HISTORY or SWANZEY. 

1827 ; m, James C. Eames. Emily J., b. May 28, 1829 ; m. Augustus 
"Woodward of Marlborougli. Fanny, b. June 24, 1832; m. Jolui W. 
Taogard of Marlborougli. George H., b. July 20, 1834. Hannah, b. 
Aug. 13, 1837; d. Apr., 1841. 

William^ Moore (Lmoson,^ Laiuson^), b. June 11, 1820 ; m. Nov. 
19, 1845, Priscilla (b. Feb. 2, 1825), daughter of Tristan Aldrich. 
He died July 12, 1886. Children: Emogene P., b. Oct. 28, 1846; 
m. Dexter Burbee of Keene, Oct. 31, 1866. Julius W., b. Mar. 8, 
1848. Gertrude M., b. Dec. 21, 1849; m. Charles Castle, Dec. 24, 
1872. Ciiarles T., b. May 25, 1852. Nettie E., b. Aug. 21, 1854; 
m. Ellis Boyce of Chesterlield, May 2, 1878 ; d. Mayl5, 1890. Nor- 
man A., b. Aug. 4, 1860 ; d. Oct. 13, 1860. 

Jonas L. ^Mooke {Laivson,^ Laivson^ ) , b. Jan. 9, 1825 ; m. Apr. 23, 
1850, Clarissa Heaton of Kcene (b. Aug. 18, 1829). Children : Clara 
Elizabeth, b. Mar. 15, 1851 ; m. Aaron L. Robinson of Keene. Frank 
H., b. July 31, 1853. Lawson, b. Aug. 26, 1855 ; d. Aug. 26, 1877. 
Oscar L., b. Aug. 14, 1858; d. Sept. 1, 1858. Charles E., b. Jan. 
22, 1861 ; d. Jan. 6, 1881. Ellen R., b.^Aug. 6, 1863. Mary Edith, 
b. Sept. 4, 1867 ; d. Apr. 7, 1880. 

Georgf: H.3 Moore {Lcnvson,- Laivson^), b. July 20, 1834; m. 
Eusebia (b. Oct. 21, 1834 ; d. in California May 25, 1880), daughter of 
William G. Eames. 

Julius AV.'* Moore {WiUiam,^ Laicson,- Lawson'^), h. March 8, 1848 ; 
m. Miss Castle and removed from S\vanze3\ 

Charles T.'* Moore ( William,,^ Laiv son, ^ Lawson^), h. May 25, 1852. 
Resides in Grand Rapids, Michigan. 

Frank H.^ Moore (Jonas L.^ Laioson,^ Lcnvson^), b. July 31, 1853 ; 
m. May 29, 1883, Mary E. (b. Mar. 29, 1860), daughter of Henry Smiih 
of Keene. Children : Herbert Lawson, b. May 10, 1884 ; d. Aug. 24, 
1884. 

morse. 

William Morse, m. Sophia Packard ; came from Winchester. Had 
William, Angeline, Francis, Sophia, Wilson, Zadock, all removed from 
town . 

Francis- Morse (William^ and Sophia) had Mary Eliza, b. April 
17, 1847 ; ra. Charles W. Scott, removed to Winchester. George, b. 
July 8, 1858. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 407 

Hexrt Morse, b. 1733, came from Cbarlesto-n-n in 1773 and settled 
in tills town on what is now the "Jonathan Clark Farm" in Troy ; 
m. Esther Pidge (b. 1733 ; d. Aug. 12, 1822); d. Aug. 24, 1787. 
Children : Isaac. Henry. Waitstill, ra. Joseph Starkey, July 23, 
1778. Esther, m. John Whitcomb. Polly, m. Samuel Barker of 
Eindge, June26, 1791. 

Henry^ Morse {Henry^) b. 1765 ; m. Susanna Fish, Dec. 31, 1789 ; 
m., 2d, widow of Benjamin Frost of Marlborough (b. 1772 ; d. April 28, 
1835) ; he d. Aug. 2, 1825. Children (of Mrs. Frost) : Charles, b. July 
8, 1789. Charlotte, b. Feb. 10, 1792 ; m. William Rider of this town. 
Phebe, b. June 25, 1796; m., 2d, a Mr. Bishop of Troy. Mr. and 
Mrs. Morse had Henry. Susanna, m. James Clark, June 16, 1830 
(dau. of Capt. Henr^' Morse). Harriet, d. March 19, 1856. 

Henry^ Morse {Henry ^~ Henry^), m. Esther, daughter of ^Yilliam 
Wright and removed to the state of New York. 

MUNSELL. 

Elisha Mdnsell, b. at East Windsor, Conn., March 13, 1793 ; m. 
Mary Hurd, Oct. 30, 1818 (d. about 1830) ; he d. June 27, 1869. Had 
by her, Sarah D., b. Dec. 8, 1819. Mary, b. March 1, 1821. Delia 
A., b. June 13, 1823. Julia E., b. April 23, 1825. Stephen D., b. 
Aug. 5, 1827. He ra., 2d, Sept. 8, 1834, LucyC. Sibley (d. Dec. 20, 
1889, aged eightj'-four years) . By her had : Elisha. Lucy and Lydia 
A., d. young. Robert B., b. March 15, 1840. Elisha, b. June 14, 1845. 
Thomas W., b. April 18, 1847, and lives in Denver, Col. Robert B. 
and Elisha reside in Keene. He d. June 27, 1869. 

MURDOCK. 

Baxter Mckdock and wife had Jacob B. Henry. Emil}'. Wil- 
liam. Isaac. Edwin, m. Miss Crane. Robert. 

Jacob B.^ Mdrdock (Baxter^) ra. Mary Seaver. Had Henry H., b. 
March 4, 1841. Mary M., b. May 10, 1843. John, lives iu Boston, 
Mass. 

MURDOUGH. 

William- Mdrdodgh (Thomas Jefferson^), b. June 28, 1860; ra. 
June 14,1882, Lizzie (b. Nov. 6, 1866),daughter of Merrick Worcester. 
Children: Walter Jefferson, b. April 11, 1884. 

MURPHY. 

Jksse W.2 Murphy' {George^, of New Ipsivich), b. Aug. 27, 1816 ; 
m. Feb. 17, 1840, Mary Brackett (b. Nov. 2, 1819), daughter of Dan- 
iel Woodward. 



408 HISTORY OF SAVAXZEY. 

NADOW. 

Benjamin Nadow, b. July 11, 1847, in Swanton, Vt. ; ni. Oct. 11, 
1866, Mary (b. Dec. 27, 1847), daughter of Alwiu Hill ofHighgate, Vt. 
Had three children : Mary H., b. Oct. 6, 1867; m. Walter D. Knight. 
Emma J., b. Aug. 27, 1869. Louisa E., b. Nov. 27, 1871 ; m. March 
15, 1889, John S. Nittrowr. 

NASON. 

Alvin2 Nason (Ziba^ of Marlhorough), b. Apr. 3, 1800 ; m. Aug. 6. 
1823, Pedee (b. 1802), daughter of Silas Whitcomb ; he d. Mar. 10, 
1866. Children : Charlotte Jane, b. in 1824 ; ni. William Flagg. Susan 
Lovina, m. Nov. 12, 1844, Jewett IMann, of Montpelier, Vt. Alvin 
W., b. March 14, 1828. James R. Rogers. Hiram T. Josephine 
Maria; m. Robert Cotts of Windsor, Vt. Hattie N., m. Cyrus Peck 
of Winchendon, Mass. 

NATLON. 

Thomas Naylon, b. in 1821 ; d. Sept. 21, 1889, leaving a family 
in which was Emma M., who m. Charles Bouvier, June 18, 1883. 

nelson. 
Simeon B. Nelson, ni. Lovisa (b. Dec. 23, 1827 ; d., in Westport, 
Feb. 11, 1863), daughter of Jonathan Bailey. He resides in Michi- 
gan. 

NEWELL. 

Nathan F.^ Newell {Nathan^ of Richmond), b. July 31, 1820; 
m. Emily B. (b. Dec. 27, 1823), daughter of Luke Harris, of Rich- 
mond. He d. 1884. Children : Edgar L., b. July 26, 1850. Leon- 
ard A., b. Feb. 12, 1858. Emma F., b. Jan. 30, 1862 ; m. Chester L. 
Lane. 

Leonard A.^ Newell (Nathan F.,^ Nathan^ of liichmond), b. 
Feb. 12, 1858; m. Nellie I., daughter of N. I. Lewis, of Winchester. 
Child: James Garfield, b. March 4, 1881. 

George F. Newell, b. in Alstead, March 25, 1845; m. Oct. 21, 
1868, at Hanover, Lizzie (b. July 17,1841 ; d. Jan. 1, 1874, at Keene), 
daughter of Jonas and Rhoda Garlield ; m,, 2d, Dec. 7, 1880, Flora 
E. (b. Jan. 9, 1855, in Swanzey), daughter of John and Harriet Cham- 
berlain. 

NEWTON. 

Calvin^ Newton {Luther^ of Marlborough), b. Feb. 1, 1791; ni., 
1st, Sally (d. May 25, 1832), daughter of Reuben Newton, of Southboro, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 409 

Mass. ; m., 2n(l, Feb. 24, 1833, Lucretia Leboiirveau fd. July 25, 
1840) of Keene; m., 3d, Apr. 6, 1841, Sally Elmina (b. July 11, 
1811; d. IMai-ch 24, 1843) daughter of Benjamin Mason, of Dublin; 
m., 4tli, Oct. 1, 1844, Sally Hart (d. March 29, 1849), of Hancock ; 
m., 5th, May 13, 1857, Sabra (d. Oct. 16, 1871), daughter of Reu- 
ben Worcester, of Svvanzey. He d. in Troy, Dec. 16, 1873. 

NrCHOLS. 

Andrew Nichols m. May 30, 1781, Lucretia Howe. 
Francis Nichols m. March 14, 1787, Lucy Bishop. 

NICHOLSON. 

John Nicholson ra. Nov. 13, 1783, Esther Page. 

NITTROWR. 

Ripley^ Nittrowr (Pctren^ of Blossbiirg, P€nn.),h. Aug. 26, 1846 ; 

m. Jan. 26, 1866, Ellen L. (b. July 15, 1850), adopted daughter of 

George W. Alexander. Children : John Stratton, b. Nov. 26, 1866. 

•Daisy G., b. Jan. 22, 1871 ; d. Jan. 13, 1874. Florence H., b. June 

18, 1876. 

John Stratton=^ Nittrowr {Eipley,- Paren^), b. Nov. 26, 1866; 
m. March 15, 1889, Louisa E. (b. Nov. 27, 1871), daughter of Ben- 
jaraiu Nadovv. 

NORWOOD. 

MicAjAH- Norwood {Charles^ of Richmond), m. Feb. 5, 1792, 
Lydia Cooper. 

OAKMAN. 

Joseph L." Oakman {Joseph B.,^ Isaac,^ Samuel,'^ Samuel,^ Josiah,^ 
Samuel'^ of Sjmrwinh River, Me.), b. in Chesterfield, Feb. 19, 1793; 
ra. Mary Nickerson of Provincetown, Mass. He d. Feb. 21, 1842, 
in Wendell, Mass. Had eight cliildren : Richard N. Mary W. 
Joseph J. Eliza F. Orrin F. Hannah N. Loina O. William C. 
Of these, only two have been residents of the town. 

Orrin F.^ Oakman {Joseph L.,'' Joseph B.,^ Isaac, ^ Samuel,^ Sam- 
uel,^ Jo siah,^ Samuel^), b. April 14, 1827; m. May 12, 1851, Martha 
Ann, daughter of Joel 4. Davenport of Petersham, Mass. Children: 
Clara A., b. Dec 17, 1853; m. Jan. 22, 1873, Henry C. Howes. 
Walter F., b. July 12, 1861. 

^iiaakmC^ OKK.^iPi.'n{Joseph L.,"^ Josephs.,^ Isaac,^ Samuel,"^ Sam- 
uel,^ Josiah,^ Samuel^), b. June 11, 1836 ; m. March 4, 1857, Alvira 



410 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

8. (b. Dec. 7, 1835), daughter of Elijah C. Balding. Besides in Hazel 
Green, Iowa. 

Walter F.^ Oakman {Orrin F.,^ Joseph L.J Joseph B.^^ Isaac/' 
Samuel,"^ Samuel,^ Josiah,- SamneU), b. July 12, 1861 ; m. Dec. 29, 
1885, Anna M., daughter of Charles L. Ball. 

OCKINGTON. 

Thomas Ockington, b. in 1747, came to this town aliout 1819 ; m. 

Mary ; d. Dec. 7, 1832. Children : IlannMli, m. Nov. 12, 1812, 

Silas Hill of Keeiie. Sarah, ni. Jan. 31, 1810, Josiah Leach. She 
went to Edoni, Vt., and lived with her daughter Sarah. 

OLCOTT. 

Bkn.tamin Olcott, b. in 1732 ; ni. Naomi Ciimstock (b. in 1739 ; d. 
Dec. 21, 1831), d. Sept. 26, 1813. Children : Lucy, b. Feb. 26, 1764 ; 
m. Abel Wilson. Hannah, b. in 1764; m. Joseph Cross. Benjamin, 
b. 1766. Mary, ni. Aug. 23, 1796, Jonathan Lampson. Anna, b. in 
1776 ; m., 1st, Jotham Whitcomb ; m., 2d, Elisha Wiiitcomb. William, 
d. Feb. 17, 1779. Dolly, d. Feb. 18, 1779. Dorothy, b. March 26, 
1780. James, b. March 23, 1783. Otis, b. 1805. 

Benjamin^ Olcott {Benjamin^), b. 1766; m. May 29, 1788, Mary 
(b. in 1766; d. Oct. 15, 1859), daughter of Leonard Pemberton; 
she m., 2d, Bela Prouty ; he d. Apr., 1812. Farm is in Chester- 
field. 

James- Olcott {Benjamin^), b. March 23, 1783; m., 1st, Aug. 30, 
1804, Lydia (b. Sept. 3, 1779; d. May 23, 1829), daughter of Peter^ 
Holbrook; m., 2d, May 6, 1830, Malinda (b. May 17, 1799; d. in 
111., Aug. 20, 1872), daughter of Peter3 Holbrook. He d. Jan. 19, 1855. 
Children : Infant, b. June 6, 1805. Lucina, b. June 25, 1806 ; m. Josh- 
ua Sawyer. Hannah, b. Nov. 1, 1808; m. Caleb Sawyer. Emily, 'b. 
May 30, 1811, m. Barney Bolles. Lydia, b. Aug. 30, 1814 ; m. Caleb 
H. Metcalf. Eliza, b. Feb. 9, 1819 ; m. Ziba Ware. Mary II., b. 
Aug. 10, 1821 ; ra. Joseph N. Taft of Winchester. James H., b. 
Au^. 1, 1832. Naomi A., b. Sept. 8, 1834; m. Enoch H. Cum- 



niings. 



Otis- Olcott (Benjami)i^), h. 1805; m. April 15, 1838, Hannah 
(d. Jan. 29, 1859), daughter of Ivory Snow. He d. Oct. 1, 1873. 

James II.^ Olcott {James,- Benjamin^), b. Aug. 1, 1832; m. 



GENEALOGICAL EECORDS. 411 

March 8, 1860, Laura (b. Sept. IG, 1835), daugbter of Peter Hol- 
brook of Whitinghani, Vt. Children: Charles J,, b. Dec. 11, 1860. 
Rufus W., 1). Dec, 1864. Herbert H., b. April 19, 1866. Carrie N., 
b. in Illinois, Dec. 26, 1868. Bertha, b. in Illinois. 

OLIVER. 

George^ Oliver {George^ of Athol, Mass.), b. Sept. 4, 1808; m. 
Oct. 29, 1833, Maria P. (b. Nov. 13, 181,5), daughter of Elijah Lane; 
he d. Apr. 14, 1869, in Swanzey. Children : Maria Y., b. Dec. 22, 
1834 ; d. March 3, 1836. George W., b. Feb. 18, 1837, in Swanzey. 
Francis E., b. Sept. 1, 1839, in New Ipswicli. Henry C, b. Dec. 25, 
1842, in New Ipswich ; d. Feb. 16, 1850, in Exeter. 

George W.^ Oliver {Oliver,'^ George,^ of Atliol, Mass.), h. Feb. 18, 
1837 ; m, Sept. 7, 1858, Amanda P. Hiibbell of Mattawan, N. Y. 
Children all b. at MattawMU : Josephine H., b. March 2, 1860; d. 
Jan. 16, 1866, in N. Y. city. Henry Clinton, b. Oct. 4, 1862; d. 
Jan. 30, 1866, in N. Y. city. Francis Elliot, b. Oct. 20, 1867. 

Francis E.3 Oliver {George,'^ George^), h. Sept. 1, 1839 ; m. Feb. 
3, 1863, Minnie E. Barnes; d. Sept. 8, 1864, in New Haven, Conn. 

OSBORN. 

Daniel Osborn, m. widow of Gideon "Willis about 1815. Child: 
Sally. 

OSGOOD. 

Elijah and Marj' Osgood were the ancestors of the Swanze}^ Os- 
goods. Children : Snl)mit, m. Mr. Chamberlain of Stockbridge, Vt. 
Elijali, b. March 21, 1765. Ezekiel, b. May 3, 1767. Lydia, b. Oct. 
14, 1769 ; m. Asaph Lane. An infant, d. Aug. 16, 1771. Oliver, a 
twin, d. Aug. 18, 1771. Oliver, b. Aug. 21, 1772. Lucy, bapt. Sept. 
1, 1776 ; d. Dec. 25, 1777. Luc}-,!). Nov. 6, 1778 ; m. Aaron Ham- 
mond. 

Elijah^ Osgood {Elijah^), b. March 21, 1765; m. Oct 16, 1788, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Roger Thompson. 

Ezekiel- Osgood {Elijah'^), b. May 3, 1767; in. Jan. 16, 1787, 
Esther (b. May 31, 1772; d. Dec. 26, 1851), daughter of Samuel 
Hills. He d. Aug 7, 1851. Children: Elisha, b. June 11, 1788. 
Sarah, b. Apr. 27, 1790 ; d. Aug. 27, 1807. Sabriua, b. Oct. 30, 
1793; m. Benjamin "Williams. Rebecca, b. March 3, 1797; m. John 



412 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Woodward. Esther, b. Oct. 17, 1799; m. Otis "Vriiitcomb. Alinira, 
b. July 30, 1802; ni. Alva Wliitconib. Ezekiel, b. Sept. U, 1806; 
d. July 30, 1807. Sarah H., b. July 14, 1808; m. Joel Wliitconib. 
Czarina, b. Apr. 4, 1811 ; ni. Allen Harauiond. Roswell Satwell, b. 
Apr. 18, 1818. 

Elisha^ Osgood (Ezelciel,^ Elijah^), b. June 11, 1788; m. Mov. 1, 
1809, Clara, daughter of Josiah Rawson of Warwick, Mass. ; d. Sept. 
20, 1827. Children : Ezekiel, b. Sept. 30, 1810. Lauren, b. Mar. 
18, 1814. Adaline, b. Aug. 12, 1810. Elliot, b. Jan. 13, 1819. 

Roswell S.^ Osgood {Ezekiel,- Elijah^), b. April 18, 1818; m. 
Jan. 1, 1840, Esther Maria (b. Sept. 27, 1818; d. June 23, 1866), 
daughter of Josiah Hammond; d. Sept. 29, 1859. Child: Helen, 
m. Elisha Munsell. 

Ezekiel'' Osgood {Elisha,^ Ezekiel,- Elijah^), b. Sept. 30, 1810; 
m. June 5, 1830, Rachel, daughter of Jesse Thompson. 

page. 

Samuel Page, ancestor of the Page family of Swanze}', m. Sarah 

Children: Sarah, in. April IG, 17-^2, E[)hraim Mathews of Keene 

Benjamin, b. ; d. Jan. 12, 1788. Samuel, m. July 15, 1792 

Sybil Follett. Abraham. Ephraim. Elizabetli, m. Jid}' 5, 1787 
Solomon Hazeltine. Poll}', b. 1770; m. Thomas Applin. James 
bapt. Oct. 17,1773. Ezekiel, b. Feb. 26, 1775; d. June 2, 1777. Eze 
kiel, b. April 10, 1777. Rachel, b. March 11, 1779. David, b. Feb 
3, 1780. 

Abraham^ Page (SamiieP), m. Nov. 23, 1786, Charlotte, daughter 
of Samuel Belding. 

Ephraim- Page (SamueP),rr\. May 6, 1788, Sarah, daughter of Sam- 
uel Belding. Children: Sally, b. March 18, 1790; m. Feb. 6, 1834, 
Bela Child of Thetford, Vt. Benjamin, b. Oct. 19, 1792 ; d. Jan. 18, 
1859. Calvin, b. Jan. 19, 1795 ; d. in Keene. Abigail, b. Feb. 19, 

1797; m. Howard. Philena, b. April 22, 1801; m. Frank- 

lin Goodnow. 

Ezekiel^ Page (SamueU),h. Apr. 10, 1777; m. Apr. 14, 1802, 
Olive (b. July 17, 1781 ; d. Aug. 19, 1868), daughter of Roger 
Thompson. He d. Oct. 11, 184C.. Children: Arvilla, b. Dec. 24, 
1802; ra. Alvah Thompson. Louisa, b. Dec. 1, 1803; m. Joshua 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 413 

Parker. Ira, b. March 24, 1805. Ambrose, b. Jan. 26, 1807. Eze- 
kiel Thompson, b. Sept. 26, 1808. A chiUl, d. 1811. Minerva, b. 
May 29, 1812; m. Lyman Gates. Miranda, b. Ang. 25, 1813. Ma- 
rinda, b. Oct. 15, 1815. Leander, b. Jan. 25, 1818. Orlando, b. 
Sept. 8, 1820. Olive Augusta, b. Jan. 10, 1825 ; m. Alphonso Hil- 
dreth. 

David^ Page (Samuel^), b. Feb. 3, 1780 ; m. Lucy Jackson of Guil- 
ford, Vt. Children: Almira, b. June 19, 1802; ra, Amos Hough- 
ton. Ephraira. George. Jackson. Harriet. Horatio. Abigail, 
m. Nath'l Sears. 

Ira^ Page (Ezekiel.,^ Samuel^), h. March 24, 1805; m. Laura, 
daughter of Josiah Leach, and removed to the state of New York, 
where he died. 

Leandkr^ Page {Ezekiel,^ Samuel^), b. Jan. 25, 1818 ; m. Apr. 4, 
1841, Hannah Brown (b. Oct. 19, 1819), of Stowe, Mass. Children : 
Aiavilla M., b. Oct. 23, 1842 ; m. William Sebastian. Sarah L., b, 
Apr. 7, 1844 ; m., 1st, Bradford Lampson ; m., 2nd, N. B. Cloutnian 
of Alexandria. Ella E., b. March 12, 1846; d. Apr. 26, 1847. 
Charles E., b. Feb. 16, 1848. Henry L., b. Apr. 27, 1850. George 
G., b. March 13, 1852. Elsie E., b. June 28, 1854 ; m. A. P. How- 
land of Keene. Clara M., b. Aug. 20, 1857 ; ra. George E. Lane. 
Lillian A., b. Feb, 28, 1860; m, F. O. Dickinson. IdaE., b. Sept. 
11, 1862; m. Lewis Spoflford. 

Orlando^ Page (Ezekiel,^ Samuel^), b. Sept. 8, 1820; m. Feb. 15, 
1847, Luc}' Ann (b. Dec. 9, 1823), daughter of Israel Applin. 

Charles Ezekiel"* Page {Leander,^ EzeJciel,'^ Sarmiel^), b. Feb. 16, 
1848 ; m., as her second husband, Oct. 18, 1873, Anna E. (b. March 
24, 1851), daughter of Orren Dickinson. Children: Wallace, b. 
Nov. 26, 1871. Josie Maria, b. June 29, 1875. Jessie Ellen, b. Jan. 
7, 1877. 

Henry L.'* Page (Leander,'^ EzeTiiel,^ Samuel^), b. April 27, 1850; 
m. E<la (b. Feb. 26, 1858), daughter of Josephus Handy; resides iu 
Marlborough. Children : Harry. Raj'^, resides in Marlborough. 

George G."* Page {Leander ^^ Ezekiel,^ Samuel^), b. March 13, 
1852; m. June 20, 1876, Alice C. (b. Aug. 20, 1855), daughter of 
George W. Eastman. Children : Guy, b. Aug. 6, 1877. Ernest 
M., b. Dec. 2, 1880. Leander, b. June 25, 1883. 
28 



414 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



PALMER. 

William "W.^ Palmer {Daniel^ of NeicmarJiet) , h. July 17, 1815 ; 
m. Jan. 16, 1840, Martha (b. Aug. 4, 1814), daughter of Aaron 
Dickinson. He d. Dec. 15, 1860. Children: W. Alexander, b. 
Sept. 10, 1841. Two infants d. D. Sanford, b. Sept. 14, 1850. 

PARKER. 

Amasa Parker and Sarah, bis wife, had : Sarah, bapt. Aug. 6, 1769. 
Joshua, bapt. Aug. 16, 1771. 

JosnuA^ Parker (Amasa^), b. Aug. 16, 1771; m. 1st, Nov. 24, 
1803, the widow of Alpheus Wright ; ni., 2d, Poll}', daughter of Samuel 
Hills. Children : Joshua, b. July 28, 1804. Eliza, b. Dec. 28, 1806 ; 
m. George Talbot. Benjamin, b. Jan. 12, 1812. 

Joshua^ Parker (Joshua,'^ Amasa^), b. July 28, 1804 ; m. Oct., 
1829, Louisa (b. Dec. 1, 1803), daughter of Ezekiel Page. 

Benjamin Parker, m. Lois Daniels 'wlio d. in Swanzey. He d. 
in Swanzey. Children: Benjamin. Japheth. Lyman, b. Dec. 9, 
1793. Koswell. Carlton, b. Feb. 8, 1805. 

Lyman- Parker {Benjamin^') ^ b. Dec. 9, 1793; m. Susan (1). Aug. 
19, 1798 ; d. May 18, 1842), daughter of Daniel Holbrook, of Keene ; 
nL, 2d, Nov. 8, 1842, Sylvia (b. 1817;d. March 11, 1856), daugiiter of 
AVilliam Banks; m., 3d, June 8, 1858, Lucinda (b. April 18, 1808), 
daughter of Joel Read ; he d. Nov. 10, 1878. Children : Joseph L., 
b. March 20, 1820. Mary Ann Benson, b. June 12, 1825; d. March 

2, 1828. Susan Arvilla, b. June 1, 1831 ; d. July 26, 1841 . Benjamin 
Franklin, b. Oct. 21, 1843. Milan George, b. Nov. 26, 1845 ; d. Nov. 
18, 1864. Florianna A., b. Nov. 25, 1848. 

RoswELL- Parker {Benjamin^), m. March 11, 1829, Sarah, daughter 
of Asahel Randall. 

Carlton- Parker (Benjamin^), b. Feb. 8, 1805; m. June 2, 1830, 
Mary Ann (b. June 12, 1812), daughter of Josiah P. Read ; d. Nov. 4, 
1880. Children : Mary Ann, b. July 5, 1.S33 ; m. John Applin, Pollen 
E., b. Nov. 28, 1834 ; m. Moses M. Wright. Harriet Arvilla, b. Ai)ril 

3, 1842 ; m. John W. Dickinson. Cordelia Elizabeth, b. Sept. 12, 
1843 ; m. Daniel H. Dickinson. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 415 

JosKPH L.3 Parker {Lyman,^ Benjamhi^) , b. March 20, 1820; m., 
1st, Nov. 7, 1843, Ann (d. Fob. 10, 1869), daugliter of Martin Stone; 
ni., 2(1, Mrs. N. S.Perkins. He d. July 24, 1885. Children : Clarence 
A , b. Nov. 21, 1844. Abbie L., b. March 2, 1848 ; ra. Frank Horton 
of Providence, R. I. Orianna E., b. July 5, 1852 ; ra. Lysauder Cur- 
tis. 

Benjamin F.^ Parker (Lymari,^ Benjamin^), b. Oct. 21, 1843; m. 
April 2, 1874, Flora Whiting of Pennsylvania. 

Clarence A.^ Parker {Joseph L.^ Lyman,^ Benjamin^) . b. Nov. 
21, 1844; m. Dec. 5, 1867, Jennie M. (b. Feb. 15, 1848), daughter of 
Philemon W. Foster. Children : Harry C, b. March 8, 1869. Fred 
F., b. Aug. 6, 1880. Ralph J., b. Nov. 9, 1888. 

John Parker, ni. Nov. 18, 1790, Polly Williams. 

Joseph Parker, m. July 14, 1781, Mary McAUester. 

PARKINSON. 

Thomas W. Parkinson, b. in Canada July 2, 1849 ; m. March 17, 
1873, Abbie I. (b. July 23, 1850), daughter of Shepley W. Knight. 
Children : Ida I., b. Dec. 2, 1874. Lillian S., b. May 12, 1880. 

PARSONS. 

Benjamin Parsons, b. in England; m. Oct. 6, 1653, Sarah Vore of 
Windsor, Conn. ; d. Aug. 24, 1689, in Springfield, Mass. 

Ebenezer2 Parsons {Be'iijamin^),h. Nov. 17, 1668, in Springfield. 

Benjamin^ Parsons {Ebenezer,^ Benjamin^), b. Dec. 15, 1696; m. 
March 15, 1723, Martha Bliss of Springfield; d. Jan. 17, 1774, in 
Svvanzey. 

Aaron^ Parsons (Benjamin,^ Ebenezer,^ Benjamin^), b. July 21, 
1740, in Palmer, Mass. ; m., 1st, Feb. 8, 1770, Damaris (b. May 24, 
1741; d. Oct. 20, 1796), daughter of David Whitcomb of Bolton, 
Mass.; m., 2d, June 15, 1797, widow Mary Forbes (b, 1752; d. July, 
1831), of Rutland, Mass. He d. Sept. 1, 1820, in Swanzey. Chil- 
dren: An infant, b. Jan. 9, 1771 ; d. Jan. 13, 1771. Betty, b. March 
27, 1772; m. John Marble of W^inchester ; d. March 12, 1798. Silas, 
b. May 29, 1773. Daraaris, b. Jan. 17, 1775; m. Jan. 8, 1794, John 
TSIarble; d. Oct. 20, 1796. Aaron, b. Nov. 12, 1776. Abigail, b. 
Dec. 15, 1778 ; d. Oct. 18, 1791. Josiah, b. July 7, 1781. 



416 HISTORY OF SWANZEY- 

SiLAs^ Parsons (Aaron,'^ Benjamin,^ Eheyiezer,'^ Benjamin^) , b. Mny 
29, 1773 ; m. March 25, 1806, Patience (d. Feb. 1, 18G5), duugliler of 
Silas Haskins, of New Salem, Mass. ; d. March 15, 1859. Children : 
Silas, I). Oct. 24, 1809. Damaris, b. Jan. G, 1812; d. Oct. 31, 1815. 
Daniaris, b. Dec. 6, 1817; m. Phinehas Stone. Patience, b. Ma^- 28, 
1820 ; m. Simeon Cook. 

JosiAH^ Parsons (Aaron,"^ Benjamin,^ Ehenezer^^ Bmjamin^), b. 
Jnly 7, 1781 ; m., 1st, Ang. 31, 180G, Nattalla (b. May 30, 1782 ; d. 
Sept. 1, 1840), danghter of Aqnila Ramsdell ; m., 2d, June 1, 1843, 
Mrs. Lucinda Colbiirn (b. Jan. 30, 1793 ; d. Dec. 5, 1870), of Vernon, 
Vt. ; d. May 2, 1861. Children : David, b. Feb. 12, 1807. Amanda, 
b. Sept. 10, 1808; m. Dec. 5, 1832, Aaron Stone of Camden, N. Y. ; 
d. Feb. 5, 1890. Marinda, b. Nov. 21, 1809 ; d. April 29, 1811. Alcis- 
ta, b. Feb. 24, 1812 ; m. Feb. 22, 1857, Leverett Bryant of Camden, 
N. Y., whod. Jan, 15, 1875. Marinda, b. Dec. 3, 1815 ; m. July 19, 
1840, Newell J. Smith of Camden, N. Y. ; she d. May 25, 1869. 
Louisa Ann, b. May 15, 1818 ; m. Nov. 4, 1838, Hiram Hammond ; d. 
July 13, 1847. Josiah, b. Feb. 27, 1822. 

SiLAS^ Parsons (Silas,^ Aaron,'^ Benjamin,'^ Ebenezer,^ Benjamin^) , 
■b. Oct. 24, 1809; m. Sept. 19, 1839, Susan M. (b. Apr. 28, 1816), 
daughter of Fisher Bullard. She m., 2nd, May 3, 1843, Levi Davis of 
Acworth; d. Mai'ch 15, 1859. 

David^ Parsons (Josiah,^ Aaron,^ Benjamin,^ Ebenezer,- Benja- 
min^), h. Feb. 12, 1807; m. Dec. 8, 1833, Esther G. (b. May 28, 
1-805 ; d. Ang. 4, 1876), daughter of Edward Goddard, 2<1. He d. July 
13, 1888. Children : Orlow E., b. May 24, 1838. Louisa Ann, b. IMay 
27, 1840 ; d. Jan. 17, 1886. Mary Nattalla, b. Oct. 31, 1844 ; m. Oct. 
26, 1876, Clifford Smith of Boston ; d. June 16, 1882. 

Josiah^ Parsons {Josiah,^ Aaron,'^ Benjamin.,^ Ebenezer,^ Benja- 
min'^), b. Feb. 27, 1822 ; m., 1st, Oct. 22, 1846, Nancy B. (d. Jan. 11, 
1848)^ daughter of Nathaniel Fish; m., 2nd, Sept. 23, 1852, Dolly 
W., daughter of Hubbard Williams. Children : Nathaniel F., b. Oct. 
7, 1847; d. Apr, 11, 1848. An infant, b. Apr. 14, 1858 ; d. Apr. 16, 
1858. 

Orlow E.''' Parsons (David,^ JosiaJi,^ Anron,'^ Benjamin,^ Eben- 
ezer,^ Benjamin^), b. May 24, 1838; m., 1st, May 4, 1869, Mary S. 
(b. June 19, 1843 ; d. Feb. 19, 1880), daughter of Roswell Whitcomb ; 



GENEALOGICAL KECORDS. 417 

m., 2nd, Nov. 6, 1881, Emma F., daughter of Joseph Turnev, of Claren- 
don, N. Y. Children : Ida Louisa, b. Oct. 6, 1870 ; d. Feb. 6, 1883. 
Lilla Florence, b. Dec. 17, 1872. 

Benjamin- Parsons (DavicP). m. Miriam . Children: Phebe, 

b. Feb. 27, 1780. David, b. March 25, 1782; d. March 18, 1785. 
Benjamin, b. Apr. 19, 1784; d. Apr. 19, 1784. Miriam, b. Dec. 30, 
1785. David, b. May 18, 1788 ; d. June 5, 1788. Philander, bapt. 
July 26, 1789. Philadelphia, b. Oct. 9, 1791. 

PATCH. 

Jacob Patch, b. Feb. 25, 1789 ; m. March 13, 1817, Elizabeth (b. 
April 28, 1797 ; d. in Fitchburg), daughter of John Harkness of Rich- 
mond. He d. in Fitchburg, Mass. Children: Edwin, b. Oct. 4, 1817. 
Angelina, b. Jan. 29, 1819 ; d. Feb. 16, 1821. Jacob, b. March 25, 
1821. Lyman, b. Dec. 24, 1822. Lydia M., b. July 10, 1825; d. 
March 17, 1845. Eliza E., b. Oct. 17, 1827; ra. Harvey Evans. 
Isaac, b. May 31, 1831. John II., b. Sept. 14, 1835. Mary Jane, b. 
April 20, 1840 ; m. George Green. 

partridge. 

Amariah Partridge, m. Thankful . Child : Fann}^, b. Nov. 

1, 1787 ; ra. Dec. 11, 1814, Elijah Carpenter. 

Silas B.^ Partridge {Edward^ of Marlhorougli), b. Maj' 27, 1821 ; 
m. Mary (b. Apr. 2, 1828, in Keene), daughter of Asa Eraersoli of 
Troy. Children : S. Emerson, b. May 14, 1848, in Cavendish, Vt. 
C. Edward, b. March 27, 1852. 

S. Emerson^ Partridge (Silas B.,^ Edioard^), b. in Cavendish, Vt., 
May 14, 1848 ; m.May 11, 1875, Anna M. Dunn of Ludlow, Vt. (b. 
March 15, 1851). Child: Clyde Ralph, b. in Marlborough, Feb. 

2, 1883. 

C. Edward^ Partridge (Silas J3.,- Edioard^), b. March 27, 1852 ; 
m. June 1, 1870, Minnie P. (b. Nov. 25, 1852), daughter of Elisha 
Tolman of Troy. Children : Edward Ralph, b. May 12, 1875 ; d. Nov. 
22, 1882. Maurice Emerson, b. in Troy, Apr. 3, 1878. Leon Ros- 
coe, b. Aug. 19, 1880. Harry Tolman, b. Nov. 17, 1884, in Win- 
chester. 

peasley. 

Warren E. Peasley, b. in 1847; m., 1884, Candace, daughter of 
Horace Starkey. 



418 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 



PERHAM. 

WiLLARD S.~ Perham (Sylvcmus^ ofFitzivilUayn), b. Nov. 7, 1839 ; 
m. Oct. 15, 1862, Mary Jane, daughter of Harvey Blaiuling of Troy. 

TECK. 

Iciiabod Peck, ra. Oct. 18, 1781, Lydia Deane of Keene. 

PELKEY. 

David^ Pelkey {Alexander'^ of New York), b. Jan. 25, 1823 ; m. 
June 15, 1845, Emily Billings (b. March 23, "1827). Children : Ad- 
die, b. June 28, 1846 ; m. William H. Calidns ; d. Oct. 24, 1863. Ju- 
lia, b. Oct. 28, 1847; d. Apr. 10, 1867. Jerry, b. June 30, 1840. 
Rose, b. Apr. 13, 1852. Maria, b. Feb. 27, 1855 ; m. James W. 
Price of Keene. Bertie, b. Nov. 24, 1858. Nellie, b. Oct. 27, 1860. 
Willie A., b. Oct. 15, 1866. Carrie E., b. Nov. 13, 1869. 

perry. 

Oliver Perry of Mendon, Mass., m. Amy Streeter ; settled in Rich- 
mond, and had eleven children. Of these John and Alpheus settled in 
Swanzey, and Jairus lived in the town a number of years. 

John2 Perry {Oliver^), b. Apr. 19, 1781 ; m. Dec. 26, 1805, Tam- 
asin (b. Sept. 2, 1779 ; d. Nov. 17, 1843), daughter of Moses Martin 
of Richmond. He d. Jan. 28, 1852. Children: Martin, b. Feb. 
4, 1807. Fila, h. Aug. 27, 1808. Lamson, b. Aug. 13, 1810. Hi- 
ram, b. Feb. 10, 1812. Nahum, b. Apr. 21, 1814. Noah, b. Dec. 
23, 1815. Tamasin. Margery, b. Apr. 7, 1818; d. Dec. 2, 1821. Jo- 
seph, b. Nov. 16, 1820. 

Alpheus- Perry {Oliver^), h. Apr. 24, 1786; m. Lucy McCloud 
(b. 1790 ; d. Nov. 17, 1852). He d. Sept. 18, 1852. Child : Edward, 
b. Oct. 4, 1811. 

JaikuS" Perry {Oliver^^, b. June 25, 1804; m. March 16, 1829, 
Susan (b. 1805; d. July 16, 1865), daughter of Harris. Chil- 
dren : Esther Jane, b. Dec. 7, 1829; d. Nov. 19, 1831. Stephen 
Potter, b. Nov. 8, 1831. George Taylor, b. Nov. 9, 1833. Daniel 
Oliver, b. Dec. 5, 1835. Amasa Winter, b. May 25, 1839. Susan 
Jane, b. May 4, 1841. 

Martin^ Perry (John,^ Oliver^), h. Feb. 4, 1807; m. Jan. 1, 
1834, Malinda Z. W. (b. July 23, 1807), daughter of Jason Tyler. 



1 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 419 

Nahdm3 Perry (Jo/i/i,2 Oliver^), b. April 21, 1814; m. Dec. 1, 
1846, Arethusa (b. March 3, 1821), daughter of George Martin of 
Richmond, lie d. Sept. 18, 1870. ChiUlren : George W., b. March 1, 
1848. Walter H., b. May 24, 1854. Byron D., b. March 25, 1858. 
Elmer E., b. Aug. 19, 1862 ; d. young. 

Edward^ Perry {Alplieus^^ Oliver^), b. Oct. 4, 1811; m. Feb. 5, 
1840, Emeline (b. Apr. 26, 1817; d. Aug. 29, 1856), daughter of 
Benjamin O. Williams. Children : Esther, b. Jan. 7, 1841 ; m. John 
F. Edwards of Needham, Mass. Elizabeth, b. Aug. 12, 1842; m. 
Darius E. Chamberlain. Ellen, b. Nov. 17, 1843 ; ra., 1st, Daniel W. 
Trask of Keene ; m., 2nd, Charles Barnes. Oliver Boardman, b. 
Sept. 12, 1847. Sabrina, b. Apr. 8, 1849 ; ni. George B. Britton of 
Surry. Luc}', b. June 2, 1853 ; m. Newell J. Farnham of Keene. 
Edward B., b. May 29, 1854 ; d. March 29, 1879. Emma Maria, b. 
July 2, 1856 ; d. Aug. 24, 1856. 

Walter H.'* Perry (Nahum,'^ John,'^ Oliver^), b. May 24, 1854 ; m. 
July 6, 1880, Mary J. (b. Dec. 6, 1861), daughter of Simeon H. Hol- 
brook. Children : Ora F., b. May 29, 1882. Harmon H., b. Aug. 

25, 1883. 

Byron D."* Perry (iVa7<rtm,3 JoTin,^ Oliver^), h. March 25,1858; 
m. Carrie A. Long of Gilboy, N. Y. ; resides in Richmond. 

Alexander Perry, taxed in 1818. Removed from town man}' j^ears 
ago. Children : Caroline. Fisher. 

peters. 

Jesse Peters, ra. Celinda . Children: James. Clarissa, m. 

T. Jefferson Thayer. Susan, removed to Mohawk, N. Y. Ann Janette, 
removed to Mohawk, N. Y. 

Barnabas C. Peters, b. in Adams, Mass., Feb. 1, 1798; m. Aug. 

26, 1819,RebeccaP. Willard of Winchester ; d. Dec. 30, 1879. Chil- 
dren : Francis R., b. in Rutland, Vt., Aug. 16, 1821. John Q.. b. Aug. 
2, 1826 ; d. Oct. 1, 1830. Lawren W., b. Aug. 22, 1828. Mary A., 
b. May 14, 1836 ; m. Orrin S. Gleason of Keene. 

Francis R.^ Peters {Barnabas C.^), b. Aug. 16, 1821; m. Aug. 
30, 1843, Luc}' M. Severance of Alstead. Child : Emma F., b. in 
Alstead, Jan. 7, 1847 ; m. June 20, 1866, Thomas N. Woodward of 
Keene ; d. June 5, 1880. 



420 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Lawren "\V.- Peters (Barnabas C^), h. Aug. 22, 1828; m. Aug. 
9, 1849, SjuuIi A. Way of Alstead ; d, in Mohawk, N. Y., Dec. 3, 
1882. 

PI.DFF. 

Mike G. Plui-f, b. Nov. 11, 18ir>; m. June 20, 18G5, Axnlia M. 

(b. May 31, 1850). Children : IlattieC, b. April 2, 1870; d. Jan. 

9, 1885. Freddie M., b. Sept. 11, 1873 Axalia E., 1). Feb. 19, 1878. 
Clara O., b. Jan. 9, 1881. Nettie L., b. July 15, 1882. 

PLUMMER. 

Jones Plummkr of Guilford, b. March 1, 1807; m. Dec. 7, 1842, 
Mrs. Eliza S. Calkins (b. Oct. 25, 1817). He d. Feb. 10, 1883. 
Ciiildren : Edward J., b. June 25, 1844 ; d. Aug. 16, 1863, in Gettys- 
burg hospital. Julius D., b. Dec. 29, 1846; d. Aug. 13, 1849. 
Amanda M., b. Nov. 27, 1848; d. Aug. 31, 1849. Ella A. M., b. 
Sept. 25, 18>0; m. Dec. 16, 1865, William A. Morey. Sarah E., 
b. Jan. 29, 1853; m. June 28, 1871, Martin D. Bryant. Oscar J., 
b. July 7, 1856 ; m. Feb. 7, 1878, Lillian E. Pratt. 

PIERCE. 

James^ Pierce, b. in 1769; m. Feb. 10, 1795, Polly Stacy (b. in 
1773 ; d. Aug. 15, 1847) ; d. Feb. 4, 1849. Children : Alvah, b. .Tan. 
30, 1796. Polly, b. July 20, 1800 ; m. March 22, 1820, Salmon Field 
of Winchester. Daniel W., b. Oct. 25, 1802. Enoch, b. Dec. 9 , 
1803 ; d. Nov. 22, 1815. Sarah, b. 1806 ; m. Ciiarles Green. James. 
Nancy, b. 1809 ; d. June 28, 1853. William. Cumraings, d. young. 

Alvah^ Pierce (James^), b. Jan. 30, 1796 ; m. Leafv (b. 

1805 ; d. Aug. 31, 1876, in Vermont). He d. Jan. 20, 1869. 

Daniel W.2 Pierce (Jatnes^), b. Oct. 25, 1802 ; m. Ursula Cald- 
well (b. Aug. 24, 1808), of Northfield, Mass. 

James^ Pierce (Javies^), m. Jan. 1, 1839, Chloe (b. March 20, 
3 816; d. Oct. 16, 1886), daughter of John Holbrook. Children: 
James, b. Sept. 23, 1839. Walter and Wallace, b. Oct. 19, 1842. 

William- Pierce (Ja^Jies^), ra. Martha, daughter of Job Whltcomb. 
Children : Job AVhitcomb, b. Nov. 25, 1845 ; m., 2d, M. Nellie, daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Whitcomb ; resides in jMissouri. 

Anthony Pierce, d. about Aug. 14, 1753 ; ma}' have been brother 
of John Pierce. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 421 

John Pierce, b. in 1749 ; m. Mary ; d. Feb. 27, 1812. Had 

nine children : Zerne, b. May 17, 1773. Sarali, b. May 8, 1777 ; m. 
Sliubael Seaver. Batlislieba, b. July 25, 1779; ni., 1st, Dec. 2, 1807, 
David Ballon of Richmond ; ui., 2nd, Selli Poraroy. Mary, b. April 
8, 1781; m. William H. Seaver. Cynthia, b. March 29, 1782; ni. 
Levi Long. Meribah, b. March 27,1785; m. Oct. 21, 1811, Zacha- 
riah Field, jr., of Winchester. Susannah, b. March 25, 1787; m. Bar- 
nard Wheeler. Sylvia, b. May 13, 1792 ; m. Longley AVillard. John, 
b. July 19, 1794. 

POMKOY. 

Seth Pomroy, b. in 1759 ; m. Mary (b. in 1756 ; d. Jan. 11, 1829). 
He d. in Swanzey in 1810. Children: Seth, b. Feb. 17, 1779, in 
Suffleld, Conn. Anna, b. Dec. 7, 1783; m. Nov. 19, 1816, Moses 
Thayer. Putnam, b. Oct. 2, 1786. Mary, b. June 5, 1788 ; m. April 
3, 1808, Joseph Hill of Chesterfield. Lucy, b. Jan. 21, 1792; m. 
March 5, 1817, Nathan Leonard of New York. Eunice, b. Jan. 20, 
1794. Sally, b. July 25, 1797; m. Calvin Field. John, b. May 29, 
1800. 

Seth^ Pomroy {Sem of Suffield, Ct.),h. Feb. 17, 1779 ; m. in 1804, 
Hannah Bond (b. April 11, 1780; d. March 3, 1832), of Winchester. 
He d. in Swanze}' Oct. 28, 1852. Children : Samuel, b. Jan. 25, 1805. 
Philinda, b. Nov. 13, 1807. Irena, b. Oct. 19, 1809 ; m. Dickin- 
son of Northfield. Benjamin, b. Feb. 11, 1811. Hannah, b. Feb. 22, 
1815 ; m., 1st, Asa Jackson ; m., 2nd, William Clark. Nathaniel B., 
b. Feb. 7, 1817. Nancy S., b. Sept. 3, 1819; m. Sept. 13, 1842, 
Charles C. Shepherd of Northfield. David A., b. May 26, 1822. 

Benjamin^ Pomroy {Seth,^ Seth^), b. Feb. 11, 1811 ; m. Oct. 14 
1834, Hannah, daughter of George Hill; d. Dec. 6, 1862, Children: 
Benjamin Preston, b. Dec. 17, 1835; d. Oct. 4, 1849. Albert T., b. 
July 28, 1837. Hannah Josephine, b. March 17, 1839 ; ra. Jan. 29, 
1859, John F. Kidder. Nancy Agnes, b. May 1, 1841 ; d. May 12, 
1862. Edna Jane, b. Jan. 18, 1843; d. Sept. 24, 1849. Emma C, 
b. Ma}' 24, 1847. Edna Jane, b. Oct. 5, 1849; m. Frank Mather of 
Fall River. Frances E., b. April 13, 1852 ; m. Lester Taft. George 
P., b. Feb. 1, 1856 ; d. April 2, 1859. 

Nathaniel B.^ Pomroy (Seth,-^ Se(h^), b. Feb. 7, 1817 ; ra. Emily, 
(b. March 20, 1820), daughter of Arba Stearns ; resides in West Town 
send, Yt. 



422 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

David A.^ Pomuoy {Seth,^ Seth^), b. May 26, 1822; m. Jane 
Starkey (I). 1831 ; d. Aug. 11, l<sr)4), daughter of Mrs. William Clark ; 
d. in Townsend, Vt., Nov. 28, 1881. Children: Frank E., b. Nov. 
5, 1850. Florence. He m., 2d, Julia A. Wood ; had Anna Jane. He 
m., 3tl, Elizabeth E., daughter of Loron Eaton formerly of Chester- 
field ; had Carlos D. Carrie E., b. in Townshend, Vt., June 7, 18G0. 

Albert^ Pomroy (Benjamin,^ Seth,~ Seth^), b. July 28, 1837; ra. 
June 28, 1863, Mrs. Emma (Shepherd) INIcCady (b. Oct. 22, 1842), of 
Worcester, Mass. Children: Joseph Henry McCad}', b. Feb. 8, 1857. 
George Albert, b. July 5, 1864 ; d. Sept. 21, 1878. Sarah S., b. Feb- 
8, 1867. Etta N., b. Aug. 12, 1869 ; d. Dec. 9, 1876. E:sther L., b. 
Oct. 12, 1872 ; d. July 19, 1874. Benjamin D., b. Jan. 26, 1880. 

PORTER. 

Reuben^ Porter {Asa^ of Marlhorougli), b. June 8, 1797; m. Apr. 
5, 1824, Prudence (b. Feb. 8, 1797), daughter of Moses Hills. Chil- 
dren : Lovell, b. Feb. 18, 1826. Mary B., b. in 1834; d. in Chester- 
field, Aug. 28, 1853. Sumner AY., d. in Chesterfield, 1838. 

Francis J.^ Porter {Noah^ of Marlbo)-ough) , b. Feb. 9, 1835 ; in. 
Jan. 1, 1856, Ellen F. (h. July 29, 1839; m., 2nd, July 23, 1864, 
James C. Fames), daughter of Harve\' Higgins, Dummerston, "Vt. 
He d. Oct. 26, 1862. Children : Arthur E., b. March 2, 1860 ; d. June 
2, 1860. J. Byron, b. Dec. 21, 1861. 

J. Byron3 Porter {Francis J.? Noah>), b. Dec. 21, 1861 ; m. Flo- 
ra M. (b. May 1, 1868), daughter of Charles L. Ball. 

POTTER. 

William Potter, b. 1724 ; d. May 3, 1816. 

Stephen- Potter ( TFi7Z/a??i^) , b. in 1766; in., 1st, (b. 

in 1789 ; d. Nov. 5, 1840) ; m., 2nd, Patty (b. Aug. 6, 1786 ; d. Aug. 
4, 1853), daughter of Nathan Aldrich of Richmond ; d.Dec. 16, 1863. 

PRENTICE. 

Elbridge G. Prentice m. Lestina (b. 1820; m., 2iid, John A. 
Breed of Winchester), daughter of Josiah Read; d. Dec. 14, 1869. 
Children : Asa M., b. 1850 ; d. Dec. 22, 1872. John M., Ij. May 6, 
1856. 

John M.^ Prentice {Elbridge G.^), b. May 6, 1856; m. July 15, 
1874, Isabel (b. Aug. 15, 1857), daughter of Amasa Ballon. Child: 
Lula A., b. July 4, 1886. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 423 



PRIME. 

Joshua Jewett- Prime (Joshua^ of Rowley^ 3fass.), m. Jan. 1, 
1780, Olive (d. March 13, 1826), daughter ofThomas Baker of Keene ; 
d. March 30, 1796. Children : Sally, b. June 18, 1782 ; ra. Ezra Hol- 
brook. Thomas, b. Jan. 4, 1784; d. March 29, 1786. Thomas, b. 
Mar. 11, 1786. Olive, b. Oct. 11, 1787 ; d. June 2, 1789. Olive, b. 
July 1, 1789 ; m. Rev. W. K. Stewart of Illinois; d. Aug. 17, 1874. 
Joshua, b. Apr. 13, 1791 ; d. Feb. 5, 1813. David, b. Jan. 7,1793 ; 
d. July 10, 1814. Abigail, b. Nov. 13, 1794 ; d. Jan. 3, 1795. Jew- 
ett, b. Dec. 4, 1795. 

JosiAH^ Prime (Joshua^), m. Hannah Record (m., 2nd, John Hol- 
brook) of Sutton, Mass. Children : Phebe, b. Apr. 10, 1785. A 
child, d. Jan. 3, 1786. Josiah, b. May 5, 1788. Rachel, b. Sept. 
20, 1790 ; m. Dec. 29, 1816, Artemas Rixford of Winchester. 

Thomas^ Prime {Joshua J".,^ Joshua^ of Roioley, Mass.), b. March 
11, 1786 ; m. Rachel (d. Sept. 11, 1861, in Parkman, Me.), daughter 
of Peter Holbrook ; d. Sept. 12, 1871. Children : Mary, b. Dec. 25, 
1807; m. Joseph Stanley Hammond. Harriet, b. March 4, 1810; 
111., 1st, Thomas Trowbridge July 3, 1836 ; m., 2nd, Thomas T. Weth- 
erbee. Olive, b. May 7, 1812; m., 1st, Almon Hart; m., 2nd, Caleb 
.Gorton, East Greenwich, R. I. Rachel, b. Apr. 6, 1815; ni., Ist, 
James Carson ; m., 2nd, Aaron Miller. 

JosiAH^ Prime (Josiah,^ Joshua^), b. 1788 ; m. in 1813, Sophia (b. 
1790; d. in Boston 1870), daughter of Nathaniel Lawrence; d. in 
1845. Children: Madison R., b. 1814 in Winchester; m. and had 
three children ; lives in Girard, Perm. Caroline L., b, July 1, 1816 ; 
m. Daniel H. Holbrook ; d. in Keene, T)ec. 5, 1880. Bradley, d. 3'oung. 
Bradley L. Sophia, d. in Girard, Penn., aged fourteen years. Mary 
P., b. 1830; probably m. Gilbert Fosgate of Winchester ; had three 
chil(b-en and d. in Winchester, 1872. Emily H., b. 1835 in Girard ; 
m. Joseph Sawyer of Boston, Mass. ; had one child ; lives in Somer- 
ville, Mass. 

George H.^ Prime {Hubbard F.,^ Nathaniel'^ of Chesterfield), b. 
May 4, 1851 ; m. April 4, 1874, Jane N. (b. July 2, 1852), daughter 
of Abel H. Cook of Winchester. Children : Cora E., b. July 16, 1875 ; 
d. Oct. 26, 1879. Mabel J., b. March 22, 1878. 



424 HISTORY OF SAVANZEY. 

PUOUTY. 

Stephen Proutt m. March 1, 1792, Judith Divol. 

PUFFER. 

Simeon Puffer m. Dec. 8, 1780, Lydia (1). Jan. 25, 17G4), daughter 
of Joshua Graves. ChiUh-en : Lydla, b. Oct. 12, 1781. Jemima, b. 
Feb. IG, 1784. Martha, b. July 2-3, 1790. Simeon, b. Jan. 5, 1793. 

QUINN. 

Charles A.- Quinn {Carlos^ of Keene), b. May 4, 1837 ; m. 1858, 
Seraph S. (b. Oct. 30, 1837), daugliter of Jonathan Hill. Children: 
Ada I., b. Aug. 2, 1859 ; d. Sept. 10, 1878. Charles Elmer, b. Aug. 
2, 1861. 

William Quinn, b. in Ireland ; m. Bridget Reardon. Children all 
born in Keene: Michael, b. Sept. 2i), 18G5. Mar}^ b. Jan. 30, 18G6. 
Margaret, b. Feb. 22, 18G8. Kate, b. Nov., 1870. William, b. April 
15, 1873. John, b. Nov. 1, 1875. 

RAMSEY. 

William Ramsey ni. Aug. 8, 1782, Anna Gilchrist. _ Children : 
Charles, b. Nov. 29, 1782. Anna, b. June 5, 1785. Mary, b. in 
1787. 

ray:mond. 
Alpheus Raymond, ni. Cynthia Daniels, June 25, 1809. 

Paul Raymond, b. in 1780; d. July 23, 1814. His widow Sally 
m., 2d, May 30, 1817, J. Smith, of Orwell, Vt. Children : Lucy, b. 
Nov. 22, 1808. Paul, b. Oct. 18, 1810. 

RAMSDELL. 

Aquila RAMSDELL,b. 1757 ; m., 1st, Esther Brown (b. 1750 ; d. April 
24, 1828) ; m., 2d, Dec. 31, 1829, Mrs. Lydia Harris ; d. April 14, 
1844. Children: Nattalla, b. May, 1782 ; m. Josiah Parsons. Ju- 
dith, m. James Sibley Taft. Mary, b. in 1785; m. Elijah Sawyer. 
Elisha, b. Dec. 2, 1786. Esther, b. in 1788 ; ni. Joseph Woodward. 
Italy, b. 1789; m. Zadock L. Taft. Anna, b. 1792; m. Zadock L. 
Taft. 

Elisha^ Ramsdell (Aquila^), b. Dec. 2, 1786 ; m. Dec. 16, 1807, 
Eunice (b. Aug. 15, 1786 ; d. Sept. 13, 1866), daughter of Matthew 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 425 

Robley. He d. Jan. 28, 1834. ChiUlren : James Madison, h. Oct. 21, 
1808. Mary E., b. Sept. 30, 1810 ; ra. John B. Salisbury, of Black- 
stone, Mass. Aquila, b. Dec. 8, 1812. Esther A., b, Dec. 4, 1814 ; d. 
Aug. 11, 1816. Esther A., b. March 15, 1817; d. May 10, 1818. 
Clementine, b. March 23, 1819 ; m. Samuel S. Farris. Cliarles G., b. 
March 15, 1821. Italy, b. June 16, 1823; d. I\ray29, 1841. Esther 
Angeline, b. Jan. 12, 1827 ; d. Apr. 2, 1873. Richard Robley, b. in 
Riclimond, July 10, 1831. 

James M.^ Ramsdell (ElisJici,^ AquilcO-), b. Oct. 21, 1808; m. 
Apr. 6, 1834, Lucy, daughter of Joseph Starke}' of Richmond. 

Aquila^ Ramsdell (EUsha,'^ Aquila^), b. Dec. 8, 1812; m. Nov. 
30, 1837, Lovisa, daughter of Joseph Whitcomb. He d. Aug. 2, 1887. 
Children: Fostina W., b. Jan. 14, 1838; ni. George E. Whitcomb. 
Clementina, b. July 27, 1840 ; m. Hubbard W. Whitcomb. Italy A., 
b. Marcii 10, 1843; m. William W. Starkey. Lucy Ann, b. Oct. 21, 
1846. Henry A., b. Nov. 5, 1850. Edgar E., b. Sept. 16, 1853. 

Charles G.^ Ramsdell (EllsJia,^ Aquila^), h. March 15, 1821 ; m. 
Dec. 2, 1845, Martha E. (1). June 16, 1819 ; d. July 19, 1876), daugh- 
ter of Joseph Whitcomb; ni., 2nd, Mrs. Pollen Blodgett. Children: 
Charles H., b. Apr. 5, 1849 ; d. Apr. 9, 1849. Eugene C, b. March 
15, 1850. Elmer C, b. Feb. 23, 1852; d. Nov. 20, 1864. Georgi- 
anna, b. Jan. 9, 1854; m. Cliarles N. Stone. 

Richard R.^ Ramsdell {EUsJia,- Aqnila^), b. July 10, 1831 ; m., 
1st, July 2, 1856, Frances (b. March 28, 1841 ; d. Nov. 22, 1870), 
daughter of Fhilo Applin ; m., 2d, Jul}' 12, 1876, Mary Eliza Dodge 
(b. March 12, 1854, in New Castle, Me.). Children : James Marshall, 
b. Nov. 17, 1858. Richard Robley, b. Sept. 24, 1861. Lizzie p:u- 
iiice, b. July 12, 1863. Angle Maria, b. May 5, 1869. p:thel May, 
b. Oct. 26, 1881. Alice Eugena, b.^Feb. 25, 1885. 

Edgar E.'* Ramsdell (Aqidla,^ Eli slia,^ Aquila^), b. Sept. 16, 1853 ; 
ra. Feb. 6, 1884, Grace E. (b. Feb. 14, 1860), daughter of Sumner 
W. Black. 

Eugene C.^ Ramsdell {Charles G.,^ Elisha,^ Aqnila^), b. March 
15, 1850; ra. Jan. 6, 1876, Amanda L. (b. Feb. 15, 1850), daughter 
of Jesse W. Graves. 

James M.'* Ramsdell {Richard i?.,^ Elisha,^ AquikO)^ b. Nov. 17, 
1858 ; m. March 24, 1881, Hattie Rebecca (b. Aug. 21, 1859), daugh- 



426 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

ter of Calvin Alexander. Children : Blanche Rebecca, b. Ma}- 28, 
1882. Ruth Frances, b. Sept. 5, 1883. 

Richard R."* Ramsdelt. (Richard R.,'^ Elisha,^ Aqicila^), b. Sept. 
24, 1861; m. Oct. 6, 1879, Eva L. (b. Dec. 8, 1862), daiijrl,ter of 
Benjamin F. Mead. Children: Edith M., b. July 12, 1880. Carl 
R., b. March 29, 1884. 

RANDALL. 

Abraham^ Randall, b. Nov. 24, 1731 ; came to this town from 
Smithfield about 1786; m. Sarah Lyon. He d. 1804. Children: 
Freelove, b. Jan. 11, 1754; m. Jonatlian Wheeler. ]Mary, b. Oct. 
22, 175G ; m. Ananias Aldrich. Reuben, b. Jan. 27, 1760. Levi, b. 
Dec. 22, 1761. Wait, b. April 10, 1763. Sarah, b. Aug. 20, 1765; 
m. David Tvvitchell. Rufus, b. Dec. 5, 1768. Asahel, b. April 30, 
1770. Stephen, b. Feb. 15, 1774. Abraham, b. Oct. 7, 1778. Wil- 
liam, b. Sept. 26, 1780. 

Levi2 Randall (Abraham^), b. Dec. 22, 1761 ; m. Nov. 12, 1792, 
Huldah (b. 1774 ; d. May 16, 1861), daughter of Joseph Newell, 1st, 
of Richmond. He d. July 3, 1843, Children: Mar^^, b. Jan. 3, 
1793 ; d. Feb. 15, 1828. Benjamin, b. July 28, 1794. Joseph, b. Aug. 
24, 1796. Levi, b. Aug. 31, 1798. Iluldaii, b. Aug. 31, 1798 ; d. 
March 24, 1803. Abraham, b. Aug. 16, 1800; d. Sept. 29, 1873. 
Lucy, b. July 15, 1802 ; d. Apr. 12, 1803. Reuben, b. July 15, 1804 ; 
d. July 8, 1818. Elisha, b. Aug. 2, 1806 ; d. Nov. 10, 1809. Stephen, 
b. March 9, 1808. Lyman, b. Apr. 17, 1810. Jonas, b. Nov. 14, 
1811. John, b. Apr. 15, 1814. Silence, b. Apr. 18, 1816; m. Edson 
Starkey of Richmond. David, b. Feb. 14, 1819. 

Rufus- Randall (Abraham^), b. Dec. 5, 1768. Children: Ros- 
well. Rufus. Mahala. 

AsAiiEL- Randall (AbraJiam^) , b. Apr. 30, 1770; m. jNIarch 2, 
1797, Damaris, daughter of John Whitcomb. Children : Damaris. 
Sarah, m. March 11, 1829, Roswell Parker. Asahel. Missouria, m. 
March 11, 1829, George Howard of Hinsdale. Stephen. Washing- 
ton. Jefferson. Jonas, b. about 1815. 

Stephen- Randall (Abraham^), h. Feb. 15, 1774; m. 1799, Es- 
ther (1). Aug. 9, 1780), daughter of Joseph Hammond.' 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 427 

William- Randall (Abraham^), b. Sept, 26, 1780; m., 1st, Nov. 
11, 1802, Sanih (b. Sept. 22, 1783; d. June 26, 1834), daughter of 
Uriah Parnienter ; ni., 2nd, Aug. 18, 1835, widow Mahala Kelton (d. 
Nov, 28, 1865), of Richmond, He d, Apr, 11, 1859, in Riclunond. 
Children: Willard, b. Dec, 24, 1802. Uriah, b. Sept, 30, 1804; 
d. Aug, 9, 1806. Clarissa, b. Dec, 7, 1806; m. Amos Gurnse}'. 
Moses, b. Feb. 23, 1809. William, b. Aug, 7, 1811; d. June 18, 
1813. Alfreda, b. March 23, 1814; m, Andrew Watrous, Wil- 
liam, b, Aug. 25, 1816. Rhoda, b. Api-. 11, 1819 ; m. Ahaz Bassett. 
Asahel, b, July 26, 1822 ; d. Sept, 27, 1846. 

Rosvtell'^ Randall {Rufus^), b, about 1796 ; m. Miss Page of Dor- 
set, Vt, 

READ, 

JoHN^ Rkad, the emigrant ancestor of the Swanze}^ Reads, came to 
America in 1630 ; in 1634 he was in Weymouth and in 1638 in Dor- 
chester ; from Dorchester he went to Braintree ; in 1643 or 4 he set- 
tled in Rehoboth where he d. Sept. 7, 1685, aged eigiitN'^-seven years. 
The line of descent from him to Timothy' Read, who settled in Swan- 
ze^', was Jolin,-b. in Braintree, Aug. 29, 1640 ; John,^ b. Dec. 8, 1669 ; 
Timothy,'! b. July 11, 1699. 

Timothy^ Rkad {Timothy ,^ John,^ John,- John^ of Rehoboth, Mass.), 
b. April 24, 1732 ; in. Martha (b. Aug. 11, 1738 ; d. Jan. 24, 1812), 
daughter of John Pidge ; d. March, 1808, in Swanzey. Children : 
Obadiah, b. July 21, 1761 ; d. Jan. 31, 1762, Joel, b. Dec. 2, 1762, 
John, b. Feb. 10, 1765. Sabrina, b. June 4, 1767; m, Thomas Ap- 
plin. Rachel, b. May 25, 1769; m. Asa Hills. Josiah Pidge, b. 
Apr. 8, 1772. Benjamin, b. May 3, 1774. Robert, b. March 30, 
1776. Martha, b. Oct. 11, 1778; m. Jan. 1, 1800, Isaiah Haivey of 
Chesterfield. Betsey, b. May 24, 1781 ; m. Nov. 13, 1803, Ziba Al- 
drich of Shrewsbuiy, Vt. 

Joel'' Read {Timothy.,^ Timothy,'^ John,^ John,- John^) , b. Dec. 2, 
1762 ; m. Feb. 14, 1796, Judith Mears (b. Jan. 5, 1765 ; d. Jan. 22, 
1829), of Sterling, Mass.; d. Jan. 22, 1812. Children: Sabrina, b. 
June 12, 1796 ; d. Dec. 9, 1879. Betsey, b. March V, 1798. Han- 
nah, b. March 19, 1800. Joel, b. June 28, 1802 ; d. Nov. 17, 1825. 
Judith, b. July 14, 1805; m. Erick Drewrey of Athol, Mass. Lu- 
cinda, b. Apr. 18, 1808 ; m. Lyman Parker. 

J oun^ Uv.AV^Thnothy,^ Timothy,-^ John,^ John,- John^), b. in Re- 
hoboth, Feb. 10, 1765; m. March 1, 1795, Lucy (b. May 7, 1769; d. 



428 HISTORY OF swanzet. 

Dec. 4, 1844), daughter of Daniel Warner; d. June 3, 1813. Chil- 
ren : Abel Warner, b. Nov. 4, 1796. Timothy, b. June 17, 1798. 
John, b. Aug. 3, 1800. Daniel, b. Apr. 1, 1803; d. Nov. 3, 1807. 
Cliarles, 1). Oct. 23, 1805. Lucy, b. Nov, 5, 1807 ; d. Oct. 16, 1878. 
Rawson, b. May 12, 1810; d. Oct. 18, 1885. 

JosiAii P.6 Read {Timothy,^ Timothy,* John,^ John,^ John^), b. 
April 8, 1772; ni. Feb. 10, 1800, Mary (b. Nov. 17, 1782; d. July 
30, 1866), daughter of William Forbes of Barre, Mass.; d. Aug. 8, 
1865. Children: AVilliam, b. Oct. 29, 1800. Maria, b. May 29, 1802; 
m., 1st, Joseph Read, of Rutland, Mass. ; m., 2nd, William S. Wilder, 
of Fitchburg, Mass. Malinda, b. Nov. 26, 1804 ; m. John S. Sargent. 
Benjamin, d. young. Josiah JMiles, b. Apr. 1, 1809. Mary Ann, b. 
June 12, 1812 ; m. Carlton Parker. Demaris, b. Feb. 13, 1815 ; m. 
John S. Sargent. Benjamin, b. March 13, 1817. Edwin Forbes, b. 
March 5, 1819. 

Bknjamin'^ Read (Timothy.,^ Timot/iy,'^ JoJin,^ Jolin,^ JoJin^), b. 
May 3, 1774 ; m. Phebe Farnsworth, who d. soon after her marriage. 
He d. Jan. 30, 1812. 

Robert*' Read {Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John, ^ John^^ Johv}),h. March 
30, 1776 ; m. Silence, daughter of Ananias Aldrich of Richmond. 

Abel W.''' Read {John,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,* John, "^ John,- John^), 
b. Nov. 4, 1796 ; m. Nov. 14, 1827, Sylvia (b. Dec. 22, 1796 ; d. Feb. 
15, 1872), daughter of Elijah Graves ; d. March 29, 1873. Children : 
Albert G., b. Oct. 21 , 1830. George Henry. 

Timothy''' Read {John,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,* John, '^ John,^ John^) , 
h. June 17, 1798 ; m. the widow of Barton Kelly ; d. Feb., 1847 or 8, 
in Danby, Vt. Children : Timothy. Edward. Lucy. P^unice. 

John" Read {John,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,* John,^ John,^ Jolni^), b. 
Aug. 3, 1800; m. Eliza Baker (b. 1805; d. March 13, 1847); d. 
Jan. 23, 1875. Children : Sarah Jane Leonard, b. 1831 ; d. Feb. 16, 
1875. Charles Rawson, b. Dec. 20, 1836 ; d. Aug. 12, 1837. Daniel 
Henry, b. Nov. 1, 1838; d. Jan. 7, 1867. George Elliot, b. Feb. 
28, 1841; d. Aug. 19, 1842. 

Ciiakles'^ Read {John,^' Timothy,^ Timothy,* John, ^ John,- John^), 
b. Oct. 23, 1805 ; m. Keziah Ripley of Hartford; d. Apr. 3, 1867, in 
Hartford, Conn. 




^Sf.^ 




GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 429 

William" Read (Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John,^ John,- 
JoJin^), b. Oct. 29, 1800; ra. Sept. 80, 1828, Susanna (h. Jan. 4, 1807), 
daughter of Abijali Wbitcouib ; d. Aug. 17, 1881. Children : Joel, b. 
Oct. 26, 1829. Mary, b. Feb. 13, 1834 ; m. P. Atwood Ware of Win- 
chester. Francis, b. Dec. 30, 1837. Martha Malinda, b. Jan. 20, 
1840; m. Alfred S. Blake. 

JosiAH MiLES^ Read {Josiah P., ^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John, ^ John,^ 
John^), b. April 1, 1809 ; ni., 1st, June 10, 1834, Martha Carter (d. 
March 27, 1841) ; m., 2nd, June 26, 1842, Eliza S. Newman. Chil- 
dren : Ann Elizabeth, b. June 10, 1837. Helen Maria, b. March 14, 
1840. Josiah Clark, b. Dec. 21, 1845. Georgianna, b. Dec. 10, 1847. 
Emma Forbes, b. July 5, 1849. Melville Whitton, b. Oct. 5, 1854. 

Benjamin"^ Read {Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,^ John,'^ John^^ 
John^), b. March 13, 1817; ra. Dec. 20, 1842, Deziah Carpenter (b. 
in Smithfield, R. I., March 20, 1821 ; d. Nov. 10, 1882), daughter of 
Moses Ballon of Troy. Children : Albert Benjamin, b. Apr. 27, 1846. 
William Forbes, b. July 6, 1849. Edwin Moses, b. Feb. 10, 1854. Jo- 
siah Warren, b. Oct. 7, 1857. 

Edwin F.''' Read {Josiah P.,^ Timothy^^ Timothy^^ John,^ John,^ 
John^),b. March 5, 1819; m. June 24, 1841, Ambre (b. March 6, 
1821), daughter of Martin Stone. Children : Josephine, b. July 6, 
1845 ; d. March 13, 1854. Emma F., b. Apr. 22. 1851 ; m. Irvin A. 
Whilcomb. Arthur C, an adopted son, b. Apr. 28, 1862. 

Albert G.^ Read {Abel W.,'' John,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John,^ 
John,^ John^), b. Oct. 21, 1830 ; m. Nov. 23, 1853, Hannah, daughter 
of Marcus J. March of Hardwick, Mass. Have two adopted children : 
Lilla F., b. July 21, 1862 ; m. Herbert E. Lane, June 15, 1881. Sam- 
uel A., b. Dec. 31, 1867. 

JoEL^ Read ( William,'^ Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John,'^ 
John,^John^),h. Oct. 26, 1829 ; m., Sept. 4, 1851, Helen M. (b. Nov. 
23, 1828), daughter of William Wright. Child : William H., b. 1852. 

Francis^ Read {William,'^ Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ John,^ 
John,^ John}), b. Dec. 30, 1837 ; m. Mury Etta Caswell of Winchen- 
don, Mass. 

Albert B.^ Read {Benjamin,'' Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ 
John? John^John^), b. Ai)r. 27, 1846 ; m. June -IQ, 1867, Thankful 

29 



430 HISTORY OF SVVANZET. 

Burnham (b. Dec. 29, 1846), daugliter of Burnham Perkins of Mor- 
ristowii, Vt. CliiUl : Beatrice Martha, b. Nov. 19, 1888. 

William F.^ Read (Benjamin,'' Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'^ 
John,^ John,^ Jolin^), b. July 6, 1849 ; ra. Feb. 21, 1872, P^ila C. (b. 
May 1, 1852), daughter of Edwin Mann of Troy. Children : Ehner 
C, b. Oct. 6, 1873. Burton L., b. June 7, 1879. 

Edwin M.^ Rkad {Benjamin,'' Josiah P.,'' Timothy,^ Timothy,'* 
John,^John,^ John^), b. Feb. 10, 1854; ni. May 22, 1879, Octavia (b. 
May 1, 1859), daughter of John Henry Tuttle of Newfield, Me. Chil- 
dren : Winnifred Deziah, b. March 30, 1885. Helen Octavia, b. 

Feb., 1889. 

Josiah W.^ Read {Benjamin,'' Josiah P.,^ Timothy,^ Timothy,'* 
John,^ John^ John^), b. Oct. 7, 1857 ; m. March 29, 1882, Ida May 
(b. March 26, 1859), daughter of Burnham Perkins of Fitzwilliain. 
Child : Madeline R., b. Jan. 17, 1885. 

WESTPORT READS. 

The emigrant ancestor of David Read who settled in Swanzey was 
John^ Read of Rehoboth. 

David^^ Read {David,*'* Ebenezer,*^ Samuel,*^ John,** William,*^ 
3Iatthew,^ William,^ Sir William,'' William,^ Echvard,^ John,'* John,^ 
Thomas,- Brianus de Rede*), b. Nov. 14, 1744, in Uxbridge, Mass. ; 
in. Lydia Sabin (d. July 21, 1805) ; he d. March 23, 1827. Chil- 
dren : Rufus, b. May 31, 1778. Amy, b. May 26, 1780; m. Peter 
Holbrook. Louis, b. 1782. Josiah, b. Feb. 24, 1784. Lucy, b. 
Feb. 22, 1787. Lydia, b. Dec. 24, 1789. Candace, b. Aug. 7, 1792. 
Charlotte, b. Sept. 27, 1795; m. Otis Cross. Eunice, b. June 21, 
1799; m. Benjamin Kidder, 1822; she d. 1844. 

RuFUs's Read {David,*^ David,** Ebenezer,*^ Samuel,*- John,** 
Williayn,*'* Mattheu',^ William,^ Sir William,'' William,^ Edward,^ 
John,'* John,^ Thomas,'^ Brianus de Rede*), b. May 31, 1778 ; ra. Ke- 
ziah (b. Apr. 30, 1779 ; d. June 17, 1859), daughter of Ziba Ware of 
Winchester. He d. Aug. 28, 1844. Children: David, b. June 30, 
1801. Joel, b. Feb. 9, 1803. Rufus, b. Dec. 8, 1804 ; d. Sept. 2, 
1805. Lucy, b. July 4, 1806; m. Lyman Field. Ziba, b. Aug. 31, 
1808; d. Feb. 19, 1826. Josiah, b. Jan. 6, 1811. Alanson, b. Jan. 




EDWIN M. READ. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 431 

24, 1813. Chloe, b. March 10, 1815; m. Anthony Walker; d. Oct. 
18, 1883. Lucina, b. May 20, 1817; d. Aug. 11, 1849. Henry P., 
b. Nov. 19, 1821. 

JosiAH^^ Read {David^^ Davicl,^'^ Ebenezer,'^^ Samuel,^'^ John,^^ 
William,^^ Mattheic,^ William,^ Sir William^'' William^^ Edivard,^ 
John,'^ John,^ TJwmas,^ Brianus de Bede^), b. Feb. 24, 1784; ra. 
Luc3' (b. 1790; d. June 10, 1867), daughter of Lot Aldrich of Rich- 
mond. He d. Sept. 16, 1855. Cliildren : Aldrich, b. 1815; d. March 
28, 1877. Asa, b. June 16, 1816. Allen, b. Feb. 28, 1818. Lestina, 
b. 1820. Rufus, d. young. Sabin, b. Jan., 1822. John, m. Maria 
Seaver ; lived and d. in Winchester. Eliza, m. George Mansfield of 
Gilsum. 

David^" Read (Eufus,^^ David,^^ David, ^"^ Ebenezer,^'^ Samuel,^'^ 
John,^^ William,^'^ 3Iattheiv,^ William,^ Sir William,'' William,^ Ed- 
ward,^ Jolin,^ John,"^ Thomas,^ Brianiis de Bede^), b. June 30, 1801 ; 
m. Dec. 27, 1826, Matilda (b. 1803; d. March 24, 1854), daughter 
of Nathan Cross. He d. Jan. 30, 1845. Children : Adoniram J., b. 
Oct. 9, 1827. Lucretia N., b. Sept. 20, 1829; m. Luther N. Hill. 
P21ida Ann, b. Jan. 17, 1832; m. Addis E. Bennett. Alzina M.., b. 
Jan. 15, 1834. Ziba Wells, b. Nov. 1, 1836. Daniel C, b. Aug. 
17, 1838 ; d. May 5, 1861. Herman M., b. Dec. 11, 1840 ; d. March 
9, 1841. Caroline, b. July 1, 1843. 

Alanson^''' Read {Rufus,^^ David,^^ David,^'^ Ebenezer,'^^ Samuel,^- 
John,^^ William,^'^ 3fattheiv,^ William,^ Sir William,'' William,^ Ed- 
ward,^ John,'^ JoJin,^ Thomas,^ Brianus de Rede^), b. Jan. 24, 1813 ; 
m., 1st, Hannah (b. 1809 ; d. Feb. 16, 1842), daughter of Phinehas 

Field of Winchester; m., 2nd, May 28, 1842, Roxanna (b. 

1805; d. Jan. 5, 1885. He d. Sept. 20, 1884. Children: Hannah 
Lucina, b. July 17, 1843. Rufus Elton, b. June 7, 1847 ; d. Aug. 31, 
1863. 

Henry P.i'^ Read {Rufus,^^ David, ^^ David, ^'^ Ehenezer,^^ Samuel,^'^ 
Jolin,^^ William,^^ Ifattheiv,^ William,^ Sir William,'' William,^ Ed- 
ward,^ John, ^ JoJin,^ Thomas,'^ Brianus de Rede^), b. Nov. 19, 1821 ; 
ni. May 5, 1855, Sarah S. Briggs of Hinsdale (b. 1833; d. Aug. 4, 
1871). Children : Ada E., b. Jan. 31, 1857. H. Wayland, b. July 
11, 1858. Albert J., b. Oct. 16, 1859. Lizzie M., b. July 22, 1865. 
Lelia K., b. June 5, 1867. 



432 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Allkn^^ Rkad (Josiah,^'' David,^^ Daoid,^* Ebenezer,^^ Samnel,^"^ 
John,^^ WiUiam,^'^ Matthew,^ Williain,^ Sii' William,'^ William,^ Ed- 
ivard,^ John,'^ John,^ Thomas,^ Brianus de Eede^), b. Feb. 28, 1818 ; 
m. Dec. 25, 1851, Sarah E. (b. Dec. 28, 1824), daughtei- of Hiol 
Stebbinsof Winchester; bodied Apr. 17, 1889. Children : George A., 
b. April 27, 1853. Anna L., b. Aug. 1, 1861 ; m. j:d\vard B. IIol- 
broolv. Mary L., b. Nov. 14, 1866; ni. Andrew Bloom. 

Adoniram J. is Read {David,^" Iltifns,^'^ David^' David,^^ Ehen- 
ezer,'^^ Samuel,'^^ John,^^ William,^^ Mattkeio,^ William,^ Sir Wil- 
liam,'' William,^ Edu'a7-d,^ John,'^ John,^ Thomas,^ Brianus de Rede^), 
b. Oct. 9, 1827 ; in. Nov. 13, 1849, Mary E. (b. July 23, 1831), daugh- 
ter of Orlando Frink ; he d. Jan 15, 1856. 

George A.^^ Read {Allen,'^'' Josiah,^^ David}^ David, ^'^ Eben- 
ezer,^^ Samuel,^- Juhn,^^ TF<7/m?n,'" Matthew,^ William,^ Sir Wil- 
liain,'' Willia^n,'^ Edioard,^ John,'^ John,^ Thomas,^ Brianus de liede^) , 
b. April 27, 1853; m. Sept. 6, 1881, Dora S. (b. Feb. 20, 1860), 
daughter of Alviii "Willanl of Winchester. Children : Karl A., 1). Aug. 
7, 1883. Guy A., b. May 29, 1885. Roy E., b. Jan. 30, 1887. 
Madge, b. Nov. 18, 18«8 ; d. Aug. 12, 1891. May, b. Sept. 28, 
1890. 

George H.- Read {George M.,^ of Westmoreland), b. July 26, 
1853; m. June 17, 1877, Abbie E., daughter of John Joslin of Ches- 
terfield. Children : Robert E., b. Feb. 9, 1878, in Westmoreland. 
'Lena E., b. Apr. 19, 1879. Herbert A., b. Nov. 13, 1880. AVilliam 
J.,.b. Feb. 25, 1882. Edith, b. Dec. 9, 1883. 

reed. 

The emigrant ancestor of Joseph Reed who d. in Swanzey was 
William^ Reade of Woburn who came to this country in 1635. The 
line of descent was Israel, ^ b. 1642. Israel,^ b. March 17, 1667. Js- 
rael,"* b. Nov. 16, 1722. Jeremiah, ^ b. Sept. 25, 1770, at Littleton, 
Mass. 

Joseph^ Reed (Jeremiah,^ Israel,'^ Israel,'^ Israel,- William^ of Wo- 
burn, Mass.), b. in New Braintree, Mass. ; m. Jan 4, 1824, Maria (b. 
May 29, 1802 ; d. Sept. 6, 1888), daughter of Josiah P. Read ; d. in 
Swanzey, Dec. 31, 1840. Children, b. in Rutland, Mass. : John 
Forbes, b. Nov. 4, 1824. Joseph Mason, b. Aug. 12, 1826. Josiah 
Miles, b. Sept. 21, 1830. Malvina Maria, b. Aug. 20, 1832 ; d. Aug. 
28, 1833. Maria Malvina, b. Sept. 20, 1834 ; d. in April, 1883. Mar- 
tha Malinda, b. Jan. 9, 1837 ; d. Dec. 6, 1838. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 433 

Joseph Masox''' Reed {Joseph,^ Jeremiah,^ Israel,'^ Israel,^ Israel,^ 
William^ of Wobtirn, 3Iass.), b. Aug. 12, 1826; m. Dec. 13, 1849, 
Calista T. (I). Apr. 1, 1827), daughler of Amasa Aklrich. Children: 
Joseph Carloii, b. Jane 5, 1852, in Swanzey. George Mason, b, 
Feb. 8, 1855, in Keene. Ada Malvina, b. Dec. 11, 1857, in Swan- 
zey. Agnes Maria, b. Oct. 18, 1859, in Swanzey; m. Nov. 24, 1881, 
Carlon R. AVilson of California. 

RICE. 

Peter Rice and Jndith Smith were ra. Jan. 13, 1806. Children : 
Nathan, b. July 22, 1806. Aaron, b. March 22, 1809. Richard, b. 
April 22, 1811. Jnda, b. Aug. 24, 1812. Polly, b. P^eb. 15, 1816. 
Sally, b. May 22, 1818. 

Nelson W.~ Rice {Lxike^ of WincJiendon, Mass.), b. in Apr., 1840 ; 
m. Jnne 5, 1867, Jennie M. Brooks (b. Feb. 17, 1852). Cliildren : 
Chloe Eliza, b. Dec. 14, 1870 ; ni. John Hale. Ella Jane, b. Nov. 6, 
1874; d.Jnly 7, 1880. 

John S." Rice {George^ of Chesterfield), m. Cordelia Bnrnham. 
Children : Anna. George. Harry. 

RICH. 

Jacob E.^ Rich { Jacob, ^ Jacob, '^ Jacob,^ Jacob,'^ Jacob,^ came from, 
England and settled on Cape Cod, 3Iass.), b. Jan. 19, 1844 ; m. Mar. 
9, 1864, Rosella S. (b. May 31, 1843), danghter of Charles Rich of 
Winchester. Children: Jacob Otis, b. Ang. 25, 1865. Luna R., 
b. May 11, 1868. Irma A., b. April 20, 1883. 

RICHARDSON. 

Three Richardsons, Ezekiel, Samuel and Thomas, as tradition says, 
came from Kent in England, and were descendants of the old Danes, 
who conquered England at an early period. They, as supposed, can.e 
to America in 1630 in Gov. Winship's company, landed at Salem, Mass., 
proceeded to Charlestown, thence to Woburn, Mass. Ezekiel, d. 
Oct. 21, 1647. Thomas, d. Aug. 28, 1651 ; Samuel, d. March 23, 
1658. 

Stephen^ (Samuel^), b. Ang. 15, 1649 ; m. Abigail Wyman. 

William^ Richardson {Stephen,'^ Samuel^) , b. in Woburn, Dec. 14, 
1678; m. Sept. 15, 1703, Rebecca Vinton. 

John"^ Richardson {William,^ Stephen,^ SamueP), b. Nov. 27, 
1719 ; m. April 19, 1742, Elizabeth Wilmarth; had Wyman,^ b. May 
13, 1746. 



434 HISTORY OF SWANZET. 

Wyman-'' Richardson {John,^ William,^ Stephen^- Samuel,^ h. in 
England), h. May 13, 1746 ; m., Oct. 31, 1771, Ruth (b. Dec. 1, 1752 ; 
(1. Jan. 2, 1835, at Acwortli), daughter of ElUanah Lane of Norton, 
Mass. ; d. Oct. 14, 183i), at Acworth. Chiklren : Ruth and Orra (twins), 
b. Aug. 8, 1772; Ruth d. young. Azubali, b. Feb. 8, 1775; d. in 
Acworth. Wynian, b. June 10, 1777. Elkanali, b. Jul^' 9, 1780. 
Stephen, b. June 4, 1783. Luna, b. May 10, 1785. Ruth, b. Sept. 
18, 1787; m. Sebastian Streeter. Calvin, b. July 17, 1790. Lucy, 
b. June 14, 1793 ; m. Amasa Lincoln ; d. May, 1830, in Newfane, Vt. ; 
Sophia, b. July 8, 1796; d. May, 1813. Esther, b. Apr. 27, 1799 ; 
m. Alpheus Chatterton of Acworth. 

Wyman'' Richardson {Wy^nan,^ John,'^ William,^ Stephen,- Sam- 
uel), I), in Attleboro, Mass., June 10, 1777 ; m. Oct. 22, 1802, De- 
liverance (I). July 21, 1782; d. Aug. 11, 1870), daughter of Nathaniel 
Bollos of Richmond ; d. Feb. 26, 1868. Children : Wyman, b. March 
5, 1803. Nathaniel, b. Dec. 21, 1804. Delia, b. Apr. 23, 1807 ; m. 
Iliram Boardman of East Townsend, Ohio, Jan. 6, 1832. Luna, b. 
Dec. 27, 1809. Thankful, b. Jan. 17, 1813 ; m. Ethan Lord of Athol, 
Mass. Nathan, b. Sept. 13, 1815; d.s Aug. 24, 1816. Almira, b. 
Oct. 16, 1817; m., 1st, Jonathan Goodell ; m., 2nd, John Kindall of 
Alhol, Mass. Nathan Gleason, b. Sept. 20, 1820 ; d. Sept. 4, 1823. 
Nathan Henry, b. May 31, 1823. Phebe, b. Apr. 19, 1826 ; m. Lo- 
renzo N. Ilewes. 

Elkanah^ RicnARDSON ( Wyma7i,^ John,^ William,'^ Stephen,^ Sam- 
neP), b, Jul^^ 9, 1780; m., 1st, in 1804, Olive, daughter of Samuel 
Seward of Sullivan; m., 2nd, Feb. 2, 1815, Sophia, daughter of Eli- 
jah Belding; went to Ohio in 1817; m., 3rd, May 25, 1829, P^lvira 
Wallace of Stowe, Ohio. He d. Jan. 8, 1836. Children: George 
Seward, b. Sept. 8, 1805. Marcia, b. April 23, 1807. Elkanah Lane, 
b. March 21, 1809; d. July 21, 1810. Elkanah Lane, b. June 6, 
1811 ; d. Aug. 2, 1813. William Carr B., b. 1815, in Swanzey. 
Omar, b. in Ohio; went to California and d. 1885. Elkanah, b. 1821 
in Ohio. Ella. Harr}'. 

William Carr Belding"'' Richardson (Elkanah,^ Wyman,^ John,^ 
William,'^ Stejjhen,^ SamueU), b. 1815; ra. Sarah Everett in 1837; 
and in 1868 bought a ranch in California and removed thereto in 
1880. Children: Omar S., b. 1844. Elkanah, b. 1850. Burt W., 
b. 1859. Charles. Soi)hia and Etta, d. in youth. 

O.MAR S.^ Richardson ( William Carr Belding J ElkanaJi,^ Wynian,^ 
John,"^ William,^ Stephen,'^ SamueP), b. 1844 ; name of wife not given. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 435 

Childi-en: William Carr B., b. 1868. Harry S., b. 1870. Belle, b. 
1871. Grace, b. 1873. Ella, b. 1875 ; d. 1877. Dora, b. 1879. 

Stephen^ Richardson (Wyman,^ John,^ William,^ Slephen^^ Sam- 
uel^), b. June 4, 1783 ; m., 1st, Oct. 29, 1805, Relief, daughter-in-law 
of Moses Boardman Williams ; m., 2nd, June 9, 1819, Electa Udall ; 
m., 3rd, Jan. 26, 1835, Joanna Hinkley. He d. July 30, 1860, in 
Hardwick, Vt. 

Calvin^ Richardson ( Wyman,^ John,^ William,'^ Stephen,^ Sam- 
ueV), b. July 17, 1790; m. Nov. 20, 1810, Nancy, daughter of Bar- 
zillai Streeter; d. July 12, 1871, at Wolcott, Vt. 

Wyman''' Richardson ( Wi/mon,^ Wyman,^ John,* William,^ Ste- 
phen,- Samuel^), h. March 5, 1803 ; m. ArethusaSouthiclc ; d. March 
8, 1879, in Fitchburg, Mass. Children : Seneca M. William Augus- 
tus. 

Nathaniel'^ Richardson (Wyman,^ Wyman,^ John,* William,^ 
Stephen- Samuel^), b. Dec. 21, 1804; m. Emeline Young; d. Feb. 
16, 1883, in Athol, Mass. 

Luna ''' Richardson ( Wyman,^ Wyman,^ John,* William,^ Ste- 
phen,^ Samuel^), b. Dec. 27, 1809 ; ni. Mary Kimball. 

N. Henry''' Richardson ( Wyman,^ Wyman,^ John,* William,^ 
Stephen,^ SamtceU), h. May 31, 1823 ; m. May 31, 1849, Martha Ann 
Barber of Northfield, Mass. Children : Myra B., m. E. P. Miller of 
Fitchburg, Mass. Maurice H. Charles Franklin. Mark Wyman. 

Stephen^ Richardson (Stephen,^ Samuel^), b. April 20, 1676. 
Children: Susanna, b. June 28, 1700. Stephen, b. Aug. 17, 1702; 
d. Jan. 14, 1711. Henry, b. June 13, 1705. Ebenezer, b. Feb., 1707. 
Amos, b. March 25, 1710. Jonas, b. June 27, 1712. All b. in Bil- 
lerica, Mass. 

Dr. Amos^ Richardson (Stephen,'^ Stephen,^ Samuel^), b. INIarch 
25, 1710; m. Sarah Frost of Billerica; d. Jan. 20, 1765, in Pelham. 
Was a noted physician. Children: Erie, b. 1741. Sarah, b. 1743. 
Joseph, b. March 5, 1745. 

Erie^ Richardson (Aynos,* Stephen,^ Stephen,- SamueU), b. 1741 ; 
m. Sarah Durant. Children : Amos, b. Feb. 27, 1764. Reuben, b. 
March 30, 1766. Phebe, b. Jan. 25, 1768. Eldad, b. Nov. 20, 1769. 



436 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Lemuel, b. Aug. 23, 1771. Sarah. Rlioda, b. July 5, 1774. Ben- 
jamin, b. March 20, 1777. Erie, b. March 6, 1779. Polly or Mary, 
b. Jan. 3, 1784; m. Doc. 17, 1807, Joseph Hammoud. Iluldah, b. 
1786. Asa, b. 1789. 

Amos*^ Richardson {Erie,^ Amos,'^ Stephen,^ Stephen,^ Samtiel^), 
b. Feb. 27, 17G4; m. Phebe Hill (b. 1769; d. Aug. 11, 1830) ; d. 
Nov. 6, 1831. Children : Barzillai,!). June 21, 1792. Aaron, b. June 
22, 1796 ; d. Sept. 1, 1822. Ruel, b. April 16, 1798. Amos, b. July 
5, 18U0. David, b. Ai)ril 26, 1801. Charlotte, b. April 27, 1804; 
m. Benjamin Hammond. Betsey, b. 1807 ; m. Joel Foster and lived 
in Waitsfield, Vt. ; d. in 1890. 

Benjamin*' Richardson {Erie, ^ Amos, '^ Stephen,^ Stephen,^ SamueV), 
b. March 20, 1777 ; m. .lune 3, 1800, Dolly, daughter of Benj. Olcott, 
lived where Martin Mason now lives until 1815, when he removed to 
Cazenovia, N. Y. 

Amos''' Richardson {Amos,^ Erie,^ Amos,^ Stephen.^ Stephen,- Sam- 
«e/i), b. July 5, 1800; m., 1st, Kezia (b. Oct. 4, 1805; d. March 2, 
1826), daughter of Zenas Ware ; m., 2nd>, Ruth A., daughter of Joel 
Foster ; he d. April 15, 1865. Children : Lloyd D., b. April 21, 1827. 
Ziba, b. Dec. 11, 1828. Hiram, b. Oct. 25, 1830. George, b. Nov. 
10, 1832. Alfred, b. Nov. 1, 1834. Kezia, I). Aug. 25, 1837; m. 
Volney Woodcock. Ruth Ann, b. May 25, 1839 ; ra., 1st, Isaac Hills ; 
m., 2nd, W. D. Wliittaker of Hinsdale. Amos A., b. Dec. 31, 1841 ; 
lives in Centreville, Md. Marshall, b. April 23, 1843 ; d. Aug. 29, 
1849. Martha W., d. Aug. 13, 1849. 

Lloyd D.^ Richardson (A^nos,'' Amos,^ Erie,^ Amos,^ Step)lien,^ 
Stephen,- Samuel^), h. April 21, 1827 ; m., 1st, Oct. 27, 1847, Martha 
P. (d. Sept. 19, 1849, in Keene), daugliter of Mason Herrick of Keene ; 
m., 2nd, Sept. 12, 1865, Josephine (b. Nov. 7, 1839), daughter of 
Isaac Stratton. 

Jonathan Richardson m. April 24, 1792, Rhoda Thompson. 

Benjamin Howard"'^ Richardson {Theodore^ of Stoddard), b. Nov. 
7, 1826; m., Jan. 7, 1852, Betsey (b. Dec. 11, 1827), daughter of 
Benjamin Whitcomb. Child: Ada Cummings, b. March 27, 1861; 

m. Charles L. Howes. 

• 

George W.'~ Richardson {Sherman^ of Winchendon, Mass.), b. 
Dec. 5, 1847, at Concord, Mass. ; ra., in Keene, Jan. 1, 1871, Mrs. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 437 

Eveline E. White (b. Dec. 26, 1847; cl. May 11, 1885), daughter of 
Ephraim F. Towns; m., 2cl, June 24, 1886, Mrs. Ara L. lugalls (b. 
March 30, 1854), daughter of Henry W. Smith of Keene. Chiklren: 
Ida Bell, b. Oct. 1, 1871 ; d. March 22, 1872. Fred C, b. Jan. 4, 1873. 
LulaBell, b. March 13, 1875. Arthur, son of Mrs. Eveline E. White, 
b. April 4, 1866, in Keene. Children of Leonard B. and Ara L. In- 
galls : Rosa Ara, b. Jan. 18, 1872. Elbridge Hale, b. Feb. 19, 1874. 

RIDER. 

William Rider m. Charlotte (b. Feb. 10, 1792; d. in Swanzey, 
March 16, 1817), daughter of Benjamin Frost of Marlborough. Child : 
Jano C, b. 1816. 

RIPLEY. 

William N.- Ripley {Alden^of Winchester) ,h. June, 1833 ; m. Su- 
san Elizabeth, daughter of Moses Worcester. Children : Charles W., 
b. March 12, 1855. Hattie L., b. May 12, 1857 ; m. James Monroe 
Ballon. Alden Moses, b. Sept. 24, 1859. Abbie M., b. March 28, 
1862; 111. John O'Brien. Mary Ann, d. young. 

Charles W.^ Ripley (William^, Alden^), b. March 12, 1855; m., 
Apr. 28, 1873, Jennie, daughter of John Sawin. 

RIXFORD. 

Marshall^ RixFORD {Artemas^ of Windiester) , b. Jan. 3,1822; 
m., Apr. 29, 1849, Emily (b. Sept. 5, 1824), daughter of Erastus 
Field of Winchester; m., 2d, May 15, 1868, Elizabeth H., daughter 
of Samuel Holbrook. Children : Georgianna. Frances, b. Sept. 26, 
1851. Lock M., b. May 14, 1854. Henry T., b. July 27, 1856. 
Robbie, b. May 12, 1873 ; d. Aug. 12, 1873. 

Artemas W.2 Rixford {Bradley'^ of Winchester) , b. in Winchester, 
Jan. 10, 1860; m., Nov. 3, 1887, Frances J. (b. Oct. 24, 1867), 
daughter of Charles W. Thompson. Child: Ora M., b. Nov. 10, 

1888. 

Ephraim P.^ Rixford (Artemas^), b. Oct. 30, 1817; m. Azubah 
(b. July 1, 1819 ; d. Dec. 1, 1875), daughter of Peter Cross. Children : 
Frank W., b. Sept. 24, 1848. Abbie J., b. June 4, 1850. 

ROBBINS. 

Patrick H.^ Robbins {Patrick^ of Denamora, N". T.), b. June 9, 
1855; m., Jan. 22, 1880, Matilda Riell (b. Dec. 26, 1862), of Sara- 



438 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

nac, N. Y. Cliildren : Patrick H., b. March 11, 1884. Mary L,, 
b. April 21, 1887. Willie, b. June 21, 1888. Florence, b. Jan. 23, 
1890. 

Geouge- Robbins {Patrick^) , b. April 18, 1861, in Denaraora, N. Y ; 
ni., Aug. 20, 1887, Malvina (1). Aug. 18, 1868), daughter of Joseph 
Tessier of Denainora, N. Y. Child : Jesse J., b. Nov. 28, 1889. 

ROBLEY. 

INIatiikw Robley, m., Jan. 20, 1780, Mary Scott. Children: 
Elizabeth, bapt. Oct. 30, 1784; ni. Azariah Dickinson. Mary, bapt. 
Oct. 30, 1784; m., Jan. 17, 1804, Amos Tucker of Vt. Sarah, bapt. 
Oct. 30, 1784. Eunice, b. Aug. 15, 1786; ni. P^lisha Ramsdell. 
Mathew. Richard, bapt. July 3, 1791. Henry, bapt. Nov. 3, 1793. 
Angelina, m. Timoth}' Fessenden. 

ROGERS. 

Nathan C. Rogers, b. in Norwich, Conn., Oct. 11, 1771 ; ni. Mary 
Smith (1). March 3, 1774; d. Oct. 3, 1848) ; d. inSwanzey, Apr. 14, 
1842. Child : Amasa S., b. March 22, 1.795. 

Amasa S.- Rogers (Nathan C.'), b. March 22, 1795; m. Sophia 
(b. Oct. 5, 1798; d. May 7, 1858), daughter of Joseph Slate; he d. 
Jan 29, 1854. Children : Mary M., b. July 29, 1814 ; m. Joel Ham- 
mond.^ Luthera S., b. March 21, 1819; m. Joseph Hammond. ^ 
Justice R., b. Sept. 26, 1821. Electa E., b. June 21, 1824; m. Lo- 
renzo R. Holbrook.i 

Justice R.^ Rogers (Amasa S.,'^ Nathan C} of Norivich, Comi.), 
b. Sept. 26, 1821 ; m., 1st, Persis (b. 1824 ; d. March 14, 1849), daugh- 
ter of Elisha Whitcorab ; in., 2d, Ann, daugliter of Jacob T. AYiiite of 
Chesterfield. Children : George, b. March 23, 1851. Fred, b. April 
18, 1858 ; lives in Keene. 

ROBINSON. 

George W. Robinson, m. Arvilla R. (b. Feb. 14, 1832), daughter 
of Ebenezer Cummings. Children: A daughter, b. July, 1857. A 
son, b. Feb. 13, 1858. 

ROCXWOOD. 

Elisha^ Rockwood {Elisha^ of Chesterfield), b. May 9, 1778; m., 
1st, Susan (d. 1835), daughter of Breek Parkman of Westborough, 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 439 

Mass; m., 2d, in 1836, Emily (widow of Rev. Osgood Herrick of 
Milljury, Mass.), daughter of Abel Wilder of Keene ; d. in Swanzey, 
June 19, 1859. 

Richard^ Rockwood was a planter in Dorchester, Mass., in 1636 ; 
was married two or three times. His son by first marriage, Nicholas,^ 
b. as early as 1628 ; lived in Braintree, Medfield and Medway, Mass. ; 
m. Jane Adams (d. Dec. 15, 1654) ; d. Jan. 30, 1680. His son, 
John, 3 b. Feb. 12, 1662; lived in Medway; m. Bethia, daughter 
of Benjamin Twitchell ; d. Dec. 16, 1746. His son, Joseph,"* 
b. Nov. 10, 1692; d. Oct., 1774. His son, John,^ b. Nov. 7, 
1735 ; m., June 14, 1753, Hannah Frost. His son Samuel, ^ 
b. Dec. 1, 1759, settled in Fitzwilliam ; m. July 27, 1782, Rhoda 
(b. June 10, 1765 ; d. Dec. 5, 1812), daughter of Joseph Johnson of 
Holliston ; d. Jan. 5, 1839. 

Martin"^ Rockwood (Samuel,^ JoJm,^ Joseph,'^ JoJin,^ Nicholas,'^ 
Richard^ of Dorchester), b. March 11, 1784 ; m. June 8, 1809, Polly 
(b. June 14, 1786; d. June 10, 1815), daughter of Jonas Kuights ; 
he d. Dec. 19, 1819. Had four children. 

Samuel''' Rockwood {Samuel,^ John,^ Josej^h,"^ John,^ Nicholas,^ 
Richard^), b. Nov. 25, 1814 ; m. June 13, 1843, Malinda F. (b. Aug. 
11, 1814 ; d. April 13, 1886), daughter of Samuel Stone ; he d. Sept. 
30, 1886. Children : Ella E., b. Sept. 21, 1845, m. Eli B. Knowlton 
of Marlborough. Lovina A., b. Oct. 13, 1848; d. Aug. 14, 1879. 
Charles H., b. Feb. 23, 1852. George H., b. July 23, 1854. Han- 
nah S., b. Feb. 19, 1857; d. Feb. 4, 1881. 

Charles H.^ Rockwood (Samuel,'' Samvel,^ John,^ Joseph,^ John,^ 
Nicholas,^ BichcmV), b. Feb. 23, 1852 ; m., 1st, June 10, 1873, Alma 
L. (b. April 17, 1853), adopted! daughter of Enoch Foster of Marl- 
borough ; m., 2d, Alice A. (b. Dec. 23, 1860), daughter of Alonzo 
A. Stanley. Children: Claude E.,b. March 2, 1877. Fanny M., b. 
May 24, 1889. 

George H.^ Rockwood (Samuel,'' Samuel,^ John,^ Joseph,'^ John,^ 
Nicholas,'^ Richard^), b. July 23, 1854; m., July 1, 1886. Fanny 
Hoyt of Brockton, Mass. 

RUGG. 

Widow Mary Rugg, b. in 1736 ; d. in Swanzey, Feb. 15, 1811. 



440 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

John Rugg m., March 2, 1775, Lucy, probably a daughter of Ben- 
jamin Brown. Child : Rebecca, b. Sept. 17, 1775. 

Levi Rlgg, m. May 11, 1775, Relief Wliitcomb. Children : Nabbe, 
b. Dec. 5, 1775. Ruth, b. Feb. 19, 1777. Relief, bapt. April 10, 
1779. Abel, bapt. June 15, 1783. 

RUSSELL. 

Charles Lewis^ Rdssell {Thomas T.,^ of Keene), b. Jan. 24, 

1838 ; m. May 15, 1873, Mary M., daughter of Peter Annis of Stod- 
dard. Children: Harry Lewis, b. Apr. 15, 1874. George Tarbell, 
b. May 1, 1.S79. Grace Mabel, b. July 9, 1881. 

SARGENT. 

John S,~ Sargent (John} of Marlborough), b. Sept. 29, 1808 ; m., 
1st, Nov. 10. 1836, Damaris (b. Feb. 13, 1815; d. Dec. 4, 1849), 
dangliter of Josiah P. Read ; m., 2d, Sept. 8, 1850, Malinda (b. Nov. 
26, 1804; d. Oct. 3, 1888), daughter of Josiah P. Read. Children: 
Fidelia, h. Doc. 1, 1837; d. Oct. 2, 1849. Harvey, b. Feb. 17, 1839. 
^lilton, I). May 23, 1841; d. Sept. 19, 1849. Annette, b. Dec. 8, 
1843; d. Sept. 21, 1849. 

Harvey^ Sargent (John S.,^ John^ of.Marlhorougli), h. Feb. 17, 

1839 ; ni. June 12, 1867, Susan H. (b. July 29, 1839), daughter of 
Hezeltine Gould of Dover, Vt. Child : George Harvey, b. July 14, 

1868. 

sawyer. 
Caleb Sawyer d. in Swanzey, March 10, 1772. Sarah, his wife, m., 
2nd, John Starkey. Cliildren : Abijah, b. Sept 24, 1765. Sarah, b. 
Feb. 1, 1767 ; m. Joshua Graves. Samuel, b. Sept. 1, 1768. Eunice, 
b. May 6, 1770. Caleb, b. March 4, 1772. 

Abijah2 Sawyer (CaJeb^), b. Sept. 24,1765; m. Nov. 26, 1783, 
Meletiah (b. Jan. 20, 1766; d. Nov. 8, 1837), daughter of Josluia 
Graves, 1st; d. March 28, 1823. Children : Henry, b. Feb. 29, 1784. 
Hannah, b. Jan. 20, 1786; ra. Jan. 7, 1806, Abraham Day; d. in 
Penn. Hephzihah and a twin brother, b. May 5, 1791 ; the daughter 
d. Sept. 14, 1795, the son the day of its birth. Rhoda, b. July 5, 
1793 ; d. March 2, 1803. A daughter b. Aug. 31, 1795 ; d. the same 
day. Caleb, b. Dec. 5, 1796; d. Feb. 8, 1801. Lydia, b. June 14, 
1799; d. March 3, 1803. Joshua, b. July 21, 1801. Lydia, b. July 
31, 1804; ra. James Hosley. Caleb, b. Sept. 9, 1806. 



GEXEALOGICAL RECORDS. 441 

Sa5IOel2 SAWfER {Cide¥) ,h. Sept. 1, 1768 ; m. Nov. 23, 1790, Ru- 
hanmli Ilazen. 

Hknry3 Sawyer (Abijah,^ Caleh^),h. Feb. 29, 1784 ; ra., Ist, April 
28, 1808, Rebecca (b. April 4, 1781; d. July 17, 1816), (hinghter of 
Ainos Bailey; m., 2ii(l, July 20, 1817, Cynthia (b. Aug. 19, 1796 ; d. 
Jan. 24, 1840), daugliter of Auios Bailey ; d. Sept. 28, 1877. Cliildi-en : 
Albert, b. Feb. 28, 1809; d. March 28, 1809. Elmira, b. June 10, 
1810 ; d. May 23, 1879. Clarissa, b. May 2, 1812 ; m. Virgil Wood- 
cock. Amos B., b. Feb. 22, 1814. Rebecca, b. Feb. 9, 1819; m. 
April 17, 1838, Hiram W. Peabody of Newport; d. July 28, 1846. 
Abijah, b. April 20, 1821. Joshua Bradley, b. March 9, 1823. Cyn- 
thia B., b. June 2, 1826; d. July 15, 1827. Cynthia J., b. June 26, 
1828; m. Isaac Boynton of Haverhill, Mass.; d. Feb. 21, 1875. 
Henry, b. April 27, 1832 ; d. Feb. 24, 1867, iu Winchendon, Mass. 

Joshda3 Sawyer (Abijah,^ Cale¥), b. July 21, 1801 ; m. March 31, 
1830, Lucina (b. June 25, 1806 ; d. July 27, 1840), daugliter of James 
Olcott; d. May 15, 1839. Children : Lydia W., b. July 1, 1831 ; m. 
1st, May 4, 1852, James Ward of Bradford, Conn. ; m., 2nd, Henry 
Stanchfield of Minnesota. Joshua, b. July 7, 1833 ; d. Dec. 22, 1835. 
Emily E., b. June 28, 1836 ; d. Aug. 14, 1851. Joshua A., b. July 
3, 1839. 

Caleb^ Sawyer {Abijah,^ Caleb'^), b. Sept. 9, 1806; m. May 4, 
1829, Hannah (b. Nov. 1, 1808), daughter of James Olcott; d. Mar. 
14, 1881. Children : Caleb A., b. April 7, 1812. Martin L., b. Feb. 
22, 1849. 

Amos'* Sawyer {Henry, ^ Abijah,'^ Cale¥), b. Feb. 22, 1814; ra. 
Nov. 18, 1847, Dorothy (b. Apr. 27, 1824), daughter of Chauncy 
Davis of Fitzwilliam ; d. May 9", 1864. Child : Albert Henr}'. 

Israel Sawyer, b. in 1752; m. Caty ; d. Jan. 18, 1832. 

Children: Elijah. Archibald, b. Dec. 29, 1791. Josiah, b. May 19, 
1796. AVilliam, b. Nov. 25, 1797. Caty, b. Dec. 4, 1799. Bulah, 
b. Mar. 5, 1808. Aholiab, b. July 26, 1809. 

Elijah- Sawyer (Israel^), m., 1st, Dec. 2, 1804, Mary (b. 1786 ; d. 
March 8, 1843), daughter of Aquila Ramsdell ; m., 2nd, Mrs. Mary 
Ann Baxter. Children: Thankful, b. Feb. 15, 1805; in. William 
Sebastian. Jerome, b. Feb. 3, 1807. Esther Brown, b. Aug. 20, 



442 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

1811. Elijah Houghton, b. Feb. 11,1814. Selick Osl)orn, b. Nov. 
26, 1817. George Gardner Byron, b. Nov. 28, 1820. Mary Cathe- 
rine, b. March 3, 1823. 

Jeromk^ Sawyer {Elijah,'^ Israel), b. Feb. 3, 1807 ; m. Nov. 28, 
1830, Abigail Varney of llallowell, Me. Children : LeRoy Milton, b. 
Mar. 1, 1831. Edna Arvilla, b. March 22, 1833. Jerome, b. Sept. 
12, 1836. George II., b. Apr. 19, 1838. Charles, b. Dec. 20, 1842. 

Charles H.~ Sawyer (Daniel^ came from Ludlow, Fit.), b. March 
21, 1856; m. Feb., 1879, Mrs. Ella M. Knight (b. Aug. 17, 1853), 
of Boston, daughter of Charles Talbot. Children : Clara L. Knight, 
b. Feb. 3, 1874. Hattie Ella, b. Aug. 22, 1880. Charles B., b. Jan. 
26, 18S3. 

SCOTT. 

William Scott, d. Dec. 2, 1771. 

Willi AM^ Scott, jr., d. Sept. 24, 1769. 

SiMKON Scott, d. Sept. 10, 1810, aged seventy-six 3'ears. 

Elisha Scott, m., 1st, March 25, 1756, Maiy, daughter of Abra- 
ham Graves; m., 2d, June 21, 1797, Mrs. Mitty Bigelow, of Kcene. 
ChiUb'en : Mary, m. Matthew Robley. Assena, b. Dec. 4, 1761 ; m., 
Samuel Hills. Eunice, b. June 15, 1765 ; m. Samuel Lane. Ebenezer, 
b. Maich 5, 1767. Elisha, b. Apr. 18, 1770. Jerusha, an adopted 
daughter, b. Aug. 11, 1776. 

Nathan Scott m. Ruth . Children : Rachel, bapt. May 6, 

1770. Ora, b. July 14, 1771. Thankful, bapt. Aug. 8, 1773. Con- 
tent, bapt. July 12, 1775. Ilepzibah, bapt. Jan. 25, 1778. Ruth, 
bapt. Jan. 30, 1780. Ellen, bapt. Nov. 13, 1785 ; d. Nov. 15, 1788. 
Joshua, bapt. June 15, 1790. 

Ebenezer- Scott {Elisha^), b. March 5, 1767; m. Jan. 5, 1792, 
Angelina Belding. 

Elisha'- Scott {Elisha^), h. Apr. 18, 1770 ; ra. Dec. 11, 1800, Dorcas 
(b. June 9, 1778), daughter of Abner Graves. 

SEAVER. 

Robert Seaver, of Roxbury, Mass., came from England to Ameiica 
in the year 1634; m. Dec. 10, 1634, Elizabeth BuUard. He d. May, 
1683. Had six children : Shubael, b. Jan. 31, 1639. Caleb. Joshua. 
Elizabeth. Nathaniel. Hannah. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 443 

Shubael^ (Slmbael,'^ Robert^), ra. Jane 12, 1704, Abigail Twelves. 
Had a son : Shubael, b. April 25, 1705. 

Shdbaei/ Seaver (Shubael,'^ Shubael,^ Robert^), b. April 25, 1705 ; 
m. July 4, 1734, Mary Rogers, of Boston. Children : Abigail. Mary. 
Sliubael, b. Aug. 11, 1740. 

Shubael^ Seaver {Shubael.^ Shubael,^ Shubael,- Robert^), h. Aug. 
11, 1740 ; ni. Deliverance (d. March 5, 1825), daughter of Noah Hyde 
of Newton, Mass. Went to Framingham ; thence, Oct. 1, 1781, 
removed to Swanzey. He d. Jan. 20, 1826. Children: Mary,b. Nov. 
8, 1764; m. Nov. 6, 1786, Abijah Whitconib. Deliverance, b. Feb. 
7, 1767; m. P'eb. 21, 1786, Longley Willard. Patty, b. July 23, 
1769 ; m. Nathaniel Hills. Ruth, b. Sept. 1, 1771 ; m. Feb. 24, 1795, 
Daniel Converse. Shubael, b. July 11, 1773. Lucy, b. Oct. 13, 
1776; ra. May 22, 1799, James Clark. William Hyde, b. June 5, 
1779. John, b. about 1783; m. Dorothy Whitcomb. Ebenezer, m. 
Roxanna, daughter of Asa Dickinson. 

Capt. Shubael^ Seaver {Shubael,^ SJmbael,^ Shubael,^ Shubael,^ 
Robert^), b. July 11, 1773; ra., 1st, Mary, (b. May 8, 1777; d. 
Nov. 28, 1815), daughter of John Pierce ; ra., 2d, Dec. 23, 1817, Hep- 
zibath Stratton frora Bernardstown. He d. Dec. 6, 1828. Children : 
Polly, b. Dec. 16, 1799 ;d. Dec. 15, 1815. Sarah, b. Oct. 11, 1802; d. 
March 26, 1831. Shubael, b. Feb. 2, 1804 ; went to N. Y. John P., 
b. May 7, 1809 ; went to N. Y. Alfred, b. Nov. 15, 1814. Polly, 
b. July 20, 1818; m. Jacob B. Mnrdock. Maranda, b. Nov. 20, 
1820; m. Isaac Murdock. Luman W., b. Oct. 15, 1822. Schuyler, 
b. Dec. 23, 1824; m. Sally A., daughter of John Ellis of Keene. 
Mariah, b. March 12, 1827 ; m. John Read of Winchester. 

William H.^ Seaver {Shubael,^ SJmbael,'^ Shubael,^ Shubael,'^ Rob- 
ert^), b. June 5, 1779; m. Nov. 28, 1805, Polly (b. April 8, 1781 ; 
d. Jan. 18, 1864), daughter of John Pierce; he d. April 11, 1854. 
Children : Abram, b. Nov. 3, 1807. Mary, b. July 4, 1810 ; ra. Jona- 
than Jackson. Emily, b. July 14, 1817; m. Aaron R. Haramond. 

JoiiN^ Seaver {Shubael,^ Shubael,'^ Shubael,^ Shubael,- Robert^), 
b. about 1783 ; ra. Dorothy Whitcomb (b. June 3, 1791). He died 
Dec. 26, 1856. 

Ebenezer^ Seaver ( Shubael,^ Shubael,'^ Shtibael,^ Shubael,^ Rob- 
ert^), m. Roxanna, daughter of Asa Dickinson. 



444 HISTORY OF swanzey. 

Alfred'^ Skavkr (Shubael,^ Shubael,^ Shiibnel,^ Shuhael^^ Shubael,'^ 
Robert^), b. Nov. 15, 1814; m. April 24, 1842, Mary Ann (b. Dec. 
11, 1815), (laugliter of Mtutin Mason. He d. Dec. 21, 18G8. Cliil- 
di-en : Lmnan li., b. April 6, 1843. Mary E., b. July 8, 1849 ; m. Si- 
meon A. Spring. George A., b. Sept. 11, 1853. John A., b. Feb. 7, 
1861; d. April 30, 1861. 

LuMAN W.''' Seaver {Shubael,^ Shnbael,^ Shubael,'^ Shnbael,'^ «S/t«- 
baeU^ Robert^), b. Oct. 15, 1822 ; m. Lncy (b. May 14, 1828), daughter 
of Martin Mason. Children : Ennna. Charles D. Catie or Katie. 

Schuyler'^ Seaver {Shubael,^ Shubael,^ Shubael,'^ Shubael^^ Sliu- 
bael,'^ Robert^), b. Dec. 23, 1824; m. Sally Ann, daughter of John 
Ellis, of Keene ; he d. 1886. Children : Mary Ann, b. Jan. 21, 1857 ; 
m. Benjamin F. Bowen. Osman N., b. Aug. 28, 1858; d. Ang. 23, 
1882. P:imer A., b. Feb. 8, 1863. John S., b. Oct. 15, 1865. Myra 
A. L., b. April 1,1868; d. Dec. 21, 1868. Grace A. J., b. July 7, 
1870; ni. Frank Applin. Lyford W., b. Oct. 19, 1873. Frank M., 
b. April 4, 1876 ; d. May 2, 1877. 

Abram''' Seaver {William H.,^ SJiubael,^ Sliubael,^ Shubael,^ Shu- 
bael,^ Robert^), b. Nov. 3, 1807 ; m. Oct. 16, 1832, Direxa (b. March 

22, 1810), daughter of Daniel Verry ; d. Dec. 9, 1881, in Keene. 
Children : William, b. Sept. 23, 1833. Edwin, b. March 19, 1838. 

LuMAN B.^ Seaver {Alfred,"^ Shubael,^ Shxibael,^ Shubael,'* Shubael,^ 
Shubael,^ Robert^), b. April 6, 1843 ; m. Aug. 11, 1864, Maggie M., 
(b. in Ireland), sister of Thomas Lonergan. Children : Lilla A., b. 
March 14, 1865. Willie D., b. Aug. 12, 1866. Nellie M., b. Sept. 

23, 1867. Alfred L., b. April 14, 1869. Eugene A., b. Feb. 5, 1872. 
Fred W. and Walter, b. Sept. 25, 1873; Walter, d. Oct. 30, 1873. 

George A.^ Seaver {Alfred,'' Shubael,^ SJmbael,^ Shubael,'^ Shu- 
bael,^ iShubael,'^ Robert^), b. Sept. 11, 1853; m. Jan. 9, 1876, Lucy 
(b. Sept. 13, 1857), daughter of Luther Beal of Richmond. Child: 
Cleon A., b. Sept. 9, 1889. 

SEBASTIAN OR SEBASTIN. 

"WiixiAM- Sebastian {Samuel^ tvas a sea captain and loaa lost at sea) , 
b. Feb. 27, 1804, in Saco, Maine; m.Oct. 3, 1827, Thankful (h. Feb. 
15, l''^05), daughter of Elijah Sawyer. Children: Ellen M., b. Jan. 

24, 1830 ; m. Nov. 10, 1851, John E. Brown ; d. July 7, 1866. Thank- 
ful S., b. Aug. 11, 1834 ; m. March 9, 1860, Charles II. Gove of Hart- 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 445 

land, Vt. "William, b. May 12, 1836. Samuel, b. Oct. 6, 183S. 

Edward P., b. Jan. 31, 1841. Charles N., b. Jan. 8, 1843. Frederick 

E., b. Sept. 10, 1845; went to the Black Hills. Mary E., b. Feb. 

15, 1847. 

William^ Sebastian {WilUavi,- SamueP), b. Ma}- 12, 1836; m., 
1st, March 6, 1861, A. Maria (b. Oct. 23, 1842; d. April 8, 1872), 
daughter of Leander Page; m., 2d, Lillian Wilson, daughter of J. Q. 
A. Wilson. 

Samuel^ Sebastian {William,'^ Samuel^), b. Oct. 6, 1838; m., 
Roxe}' and bad Harr}'. He d. Jan. 18, 1884. 

Edward P.^ Sebastian ( William,^ Samuel^), h. Jan. 31, 1841 ; m,, 
1st, Angelina (b. Oct. 14, 1847), daughter of Bradley Hill; ra., 2d, 
Adella (b. June 26, 1861), daughter of Edwin Hill. Children : Leon 
E., b. July 6, 1877. Leicester A., b. Sept. 26, 1883 ; lives in Keene. 

Charles N.^ Sebastian ( William,^ Samuel^), b. Jan. 8, 1843 ; m., 
1st, Oct. 3, 1867, Henrietta E. (d. Sept. 28, 1873), daughter of Charles 
Burnham ; m., 2d, Hattie Ingalls and removed to Troy. Children: 
Fred. Mary. 

SHERMAN. 

Timothy Sherman m. Helen W. (b. March 2, 1841), daughter of 
Hiram Uuderwood. 

David Sherman ra., 2d, March 9, 1797, Hannah Curtis. 

SIMONDS. 

JoHN^ SiMONDS (EUsha^), in. Dec. 4, 1828, Asenath, daughter of 
Zalinon Howe, of Troy. 

Perin^ SiMONDS {Elisha^) , m. July 31, 1833, Eliza, daughter of 
Azariah Dickinson. 

Elmer P. Simonds m., 1st, Gertrude M., daughter of John Q. A. 
Wilson; m., 2d, Apr. 13, 1889, Alice L. (b. May 5, 1870), daugh- 
ter of Simeon H. Holbrook. 

slate. 

Daniel Slate came from Bernardston, Mass., and died in Swan- 
zey, Feb. 15, 1817. Child: Joseph, b. 1769 in Bernardston, Mass. 

30 



446 HISTORY OF SWANZEY. 

Joseph^ Slatr {Daniel), h. 1769; m. Mehitable (b. 1772; 

(1. Sept. 3, 1855) ; d. March 20, 1847, inSwanzey. Cluldren : Daniel. 
Sopliia, m. Amasa S. Rogers. Viliira, m. Ivory Snow. 

Daniel^ Slate {Jo^eph,^ Daniel^ of Bernardston, Mass.), m. Feb. 
3, 1828, Susan (widow Bridge, b. Nov. 19, 1802; d. Aug. 9, 1840), 
daughter of Farnum Fish. 

SMALLEY. 

Benjamin Smalley and Polly Severance, ra. Apr. 24, 1803. 

SMEAD. 

The emigrant ancestors of the Swanzej^ Smeads were : widow Judith^ 
Smead and her son William. ^ They came in 1636 and settled in Dor- 
chester, Mass. The son was but one year old. Previous to 1660, 
the faniil}' had settled in Northampton, Mass., and removed from 
there to Deerfield about 1673. The line of descent was William, ^ 
Samuel,^ Samuel.'' 

NiMs^ Smead {Samxiel,'^ Samuel,^ William,- Judith^), m. Oct. 23, 
1783, Sul)n)it Scott. Children: Elisha, b. July 23, 1784. Chester, 
b. Aug. 28, 1786. Elizabeth, b. -Jaiu 9, 1789. Electa, I). July 1, 
1791. Rufus, b. Jan. 31, 1794. Submit, b. March 21, 1796. 

Joseph^ Smead {Samuel,'^ Samuel,'^ Williavi,- Judith^), b. June 26, 
1759, in jMontague, Mass. ; m.,lst, Nov. 27, 1782, Persis (b. Oct. 7, 
1758; d. Aug. 30, 1815, in Swanzey), daughter of Simeon Lyman of 
Noithfield, Mass. ; m., 2d, Sept. 22, 1816, Sarah (widow of Ehenezer 
Wetherell, b. Oct. 24, 1781; d. Nov. 4, 1861), daughter of Aaron 
Brown, of Westmoreland. He d. March 11, 1834, in Swanzey; she 
m., 2d, March 22, 1840, Simeon Cook. Children : Sally, b. Oct. 20, 
1791 ; d. about 1825. The AVetherell children were : Maranda, b. Nov. 
16, 1803 ; d. Jan. 5, 1805. Lydia L., b. Nov. 30, 1805 ; m. May 11, 
1831, Calvin Kendall of Athol, Mass. Emeline, b. Feb. 17, 1807; 
m. Oct. 24, 1832, Rev. Charles Granger of West Randoli)h, Vt. Mary 
B., b. Jan. 19, 1809 ; m. Jan 19, 1832, George F. Gray of Templeton, 
Mass. Ebcnezer P., b. March 13, 1811. Fanny B., b. Sept. 1, 1813 ; 
m. March 14, 1838, Jonathan A. Winchester of Westmoreland, 
Smead children : Persis L., b. Dec. 20, 1817 ; d. Jan. 22, 1841. Jo- 
seph B., b. Sept. 20, 1819. Ei)hraim A., b. Feb. 1, 1822. 

Joseph B.^ Smead {Saimiel,'^ Saymiel,^ William,'^ Judith^), b. Sept. 
20, 1819; m. Nov. 16, 1842, Rachel Malvina (1). June 30, 1823), 
daughter of Simeon Cook. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 447 

Ephratji A.^ S.mead {Samuel^^ Samuel,^ William,'^ Judith^), h. 
Feb. 1, 1822 J m. Sept., 1846, Susan A. Knight (b. 1826 in Wind- 
ham), of Boston. 

SMITH. 

Timothy Smith, m. May 27, 1806, Patience Dexter. Cliildren : 
Timothy, b. Oct. 13, 1806. Hosea, b. March 30, 1809. Sarah, b. 
Oct. 26, 1811. Rnfus, b. May 7, 1814. Alba, b. Oct. 11, 1816. 
Jonatlian, b. Feb. 27, 1819. Oliver, b. June 19, 1823. Dorothy, 
b. March 5, 1826. Annis, b. Feb. 27, 1830. Betsey, b. 1833; d. 
Sept. 8, 1852. 

Hector A. Smith m. Lucy, daughter of Samuel Beal of Chester- 
field. Child : Clarence. 

Nathan Smith (brother to Timothy) m. Parmel . Children : 

Parmel, b. Sept. 7, 1807; m. Lyman Whittaker. Polly, b. Sept. 2, 
1809 ; m. Aug. 7, 1831, Isaac Whittaker. Daniel S. 

SNELL. 

Marvel Snell, m. Jan. 14, 1805, Annah Smith. Lived near Mar- 
cus Bullard's farm. 

Mrs. Thankful Snell d. Apr. 9, 1812, aged seventy years. 

SNOW. 

Ivory Snow, b , 1762, in Mattapoisett, Mass. ; m. Holbrook 

(b. 1762 ; d. Apr. 26, 1845) ; d. Feb.-17, 1852, in Swanzey. Children : 
Phebe, b. Jan. 23, 1783 ; m. May 2, 1810, Joseph Hill of Chesterfield ; 
d. Sept. 2, 1854, in Winchester. James, b. Jan. 20. 1785. Peter, b. 
Oct. 19, 1787. Joshua, b. May 11, 1789. Hannah, b. P'eb. 27, 1792; 
d. Jan. 29, 1859. Ivory, b. March 18, 1794. Joseph, b. Jnly 7, 
1796. Timothy, b. Jan. 29, 1799 ; d. Dec. 12, 1822. Henry, b. in 
1805 ; went to Michigan. 

James'^ Snow (Ivory^), b. Jan. 20, 1785 ; m. Elizabeth (b. March 
22, 1789), daughter of Phinehas Hamblet. 

Pkter2 Snow (Ron/), b. Oct. 19, 1787 ; m. Jan. 10, 1813, Mercy 
(b. Nov. 29, 1791; d. Oct. 29, 1874), daughter of John Bolles of 
Richmond ; d. Feb. 3, 1867. Children : Edwin, b. Oct. 22, 1813. 
Oramon, b. Apr. 3, 1818. 

Joshi;a2 Snow {Ivon/), b. May 11, 1789 ; m. July 20, 1817, Phebe 
(b. Apr. 4, 1793; d. Apr. 22, 1861), daughter of Phinehas Hamblet; 



448 HISTOKY OF SWANZEY. 

d. Jan. 15, 1873. Children: Eniiice, b. Jan. 16, LSIS; m. George 
Cross. Daniel,!). Jan. 20, 1820. Solon W., b. May 2, 1822. Pliinehas 
H., b. Nov. 2, 1824. Arba, b. Oct. 4, 1826 ; d. 1827. Ivory, b. Sept. 
24, 1831 ; d. Apr. 1, 1853. Charles, b. Aug. 13, 1833. 

" Ivory^Snow {Ivonf),h. March 18, 1794 ; in. Feb. 15, 1816, Viliira, 
daughter of Joseph Slate ; d. in Mattapoisett, Mass. Cliildreu : Juliua, 
b. Dec. 19, 1818 ; tn. Alfred Stratton. Joseph W., b. Oct. 22, 1820. 
Russell E., b. Nov. 19, 1822. Annis, b. Oct. 20, 1824; m. Leander 
Brovvnell. Parmelia, b. March 31, 1827; ni. Loren P. Hammond. 

Joseph^ Snow (/yoj-?/^), b. July 7, 1796; m. Abigail Richardson 
(d. July 2, 1876, aged eighty-five years) of Mass. ; d. Oct. 31, 1872. 
Children: Martha, b. in 1825 ; m. Thomas J. Eaton. Adaline, d. 
young. 

Edwin^ Snow {Peter ^- Icory^ of Mattapoisett, Mass.), b. Oct. 22, 
1813 ; m. Feb. 20, 1839, Hannah, daughter of Benjamin Cross. Chil- 
dren : Susan J., b. Sept. 13, 1840; m. Elijah Haker of Winchester. 
Augusta N., b. July 16, 1842 ; ni. Nathaniel Henry of Chesterfield, 
Benjamin C, b. Jan. 13, 1848. 

Oramon3Snovv (Peter,^ Ivory^), b. April 3, 1818; m., 1st, Oct. 21, 
1847, Martha Holbrook (b. Jan. 24, 1820; d. March, 1868) ; m., 2ud, 
Feb. 16, 1870, Mary Ann (widow of Alfred Seaver), daughter of Mar- 
tin Mason. Children: Leroy O., b. Feb. 5, 1851. Irvin \V., b. Feb. 
11, 1856. 

Daniel^ Snow (Jbs7i?(a,2 /wry ), b. Jan. 20, 1820; m. Nov. 20, 
1844, Rhoda S. (b. Oct. 14, 1822), daughter of Nathaniel Lawrence. 
Child : Frank L., b. Aug. 5, 1849. 

SoLON W.3 Snow (Joshua,'^ Ivor}/), b. May 2, 1822 ; m. Nov. 15, 
1849, Sarah C. (b. Jan. 28, 1827), daughter of Martin Thompson. 
Children : George S., b. Jtdy 31, 1852. Delivan J., b. July 6, 1855 ; 
d. Jan. 8, 1856. Edward H., b. Aug. 27, 1857. Alice L., b. Nov. 
16, 1860; m. Charles B. Si)arhawk. Charles T., b. Sept. 23, 1S62. 
Lizzie N., b. Jan. 18, 1865. Mary L, b. Apr. 5, 1867; d. Jan. 23, 
1869. 

PniNEnAS H.^ Snow (Joshua,- Ivory^), b. Nov. 2, 1824 ; ni. July 7, 
1852, Fanny ]\L, daughter of George Marcy of Cornish. He d. Aug. 
5, 1888. Child : Clara R., b. Feb. 3, 1856 ; d. March 25, 1856. 



GENEALOGICAL RECORDS. 449 

Charles^ Snow {Joshua,'^ Ivory^), b. Aug., 1833 ; m. June 1, 1854, 
Martlia J. Colby; d, Aug. 5, 1859. Child: Carrie L., b. Dee. 
2, 1856 ; m. Nov. 6, 1880, Charles S. Whitcomb. 

Benjamin C."* Snow (Echvin,^ Peter, '^ Ivory'^), b. Jan. 13, 1848 ; m. 
Jan. 1, 1875, Jennie L. (b. Marcli 21, 1855), daughter of Marshall 
B. Shaw of Chesterfiekl. Child: Ernest J., b. Sept. 8, 1879. 

Frank L."* Snow {Daniel,^ Joshua,^ Ivory^), b. Aug. 5, 1849 ; ra. 
Sept. 17, 1878, Mary F. (b. May 6, 1852), daughter of Salmon H. 
Fox. 

George S.'' Snow {Solon W.,^ JosJiua.^ Ivory'^), b. July 31, 1852; 
m., 1st, Nellie M. (b. June 9, 1856), daughter of Benjamin Wiiit- 
comb ; m., 2nd, Jan, 16, 1888, Nellie A. Sweet. A