(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the town of Claremont, New Hampshire, for a period of one hundred and thirty years from 1764 to 1894"

Q0 




OTIS F. R. WAITE. 



HISTORY 



TOWN OF CLAREMONT 

New Hampshire 



FOR A PERIOD OF 



ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY YEARS 

From 1764 to 1894 

By OTIS F. R. WAITE 



Published by Authority of the Town 



MANCHESTER, N. H. 

Printed by The John B. Clarke Company 

1895 



Entered according to Act of Congress, In tbe year 1895, 

BY THE TOWN OF CLAREMONT, N. H., 

In the oflSce of the Librarian of Congress, at Washington. 



v^ 



1154040 
INTRODUCTION. 



At the annual town-meeting in 1892, the question of a his- 
tory of Claremont being under consideration, and having heard 
the report of the committee previously appointed to investigate 
and report upon the subject, it was : 

"Voted that the committee, viz., John S. Walker, Ira Colby, and 
George L. Balcom, be authorized to act as a committee to procure 
the writing and publication of a history of Claremont." 

Agreeably to the authority thus conferred, the committee, 
on behalf of the town, contracted with Otis F. E. "Waite to 
write and prepare such history, from the grant of the township 
and its settlement through all its subsequent growth and 
progress down to the close of 1894. 

The work, completed, is now submitted to the approval of 
the town. John S. Walker. 

Ira Colby. 
George L. Balcom, 

Claremont, K H., August, 1895. 



ERRATA. 



On page 138 the following names of graduates of Stevens High School should have been 
inserted. 

1871. 1872. 

Edward F. Barnes. Clarissa A. Bardwell. 

Imogene E. Barnes. Annie E. Stone. 

Cora E. Chellis. 1873. 

Elizabeth VV. Goddard. Fannie A. Bailey. 

Mary E. Partridge. Ella B. Carroll. 

Abbie B. Read. H. Maria Chase. 

Kate M. Rossiter. James P. Holt. 

Marshall S. Rossiter. Franklin N. Hunton. 

Julia E. Roys. Arthur G. Jones. 

Georgianna H. Tutherly. Fannie B. Jones. 

Emma J. Weed. Itla B. Rossiter. 

Mary E. Whitcomb. LiHa A. Tutherly. 

On page 290, insert Andrew J. Pierce, mustered into Co. G, iSth Regt. Oct. 12, 1861; dis- 
charged for disability, Oct. 28, 1862; pensioner. 
Page 43, eleventh line, read Grandy instead of Grundy. 



PREFACE. 



Sober and exact history is one thing, while imagination and ro- 
mance is quite another. In writing a history of Claremont from 
1764 to 1894 — a period of one hundred and thirty years — which 
has been too long delayed — the author has relied upon town and 
other records, written history, and available tradition for his facts. 
Many who might have furnished valuable information of interest- 
ing and entertaining incidents of the early days of the settlement 
of the town and of the struggles, lives, and habits of the inhabit- 
ants of a century and a quarter ago, have long been numbered 
with the great majority and their records are to be found upon stones 
in the cemeteries. Tradition is generally unreliable, from the fact 
that the children and grandchildren of the early settlers know the 
stories they relate only from hearsay and, as a consequence, conflict 
in their statements of the same event. Information from this 
source has been examined with much care, with a view of arriving 
as nearly as possible at the exact truth. 

It would be worse than idle to suppose that this history is en- 
tirely free from errors of statement or other mistakes, although they 
have been guarded against in all practicable ways ; but it is hoped 
that none will suffer from them. 

Believing that the genealogy of families of any real value is 
impracticable, it has not been attempted ; but biographical sketches 
of m-any dead and living citizens are given in the last part of the 



VI PREFACE. 

book. Others would have been noticed , in a similar way had the 
necessary data been obtained. In these sketches the author has 
confined himself to ascertained facts, rather than resort to the use 
of rhetoric in the treatment of each subject of them. 

To the many who have in any way assisted in this work, by fur- 
nishing data or otherwise, the author hereby tenders his grateful 
thanks. o. f. r. w. 

July, 1895. 



CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER I. 

Grant of the town — Division into shares — Names of grantees — Names of pro- 
prietors — Meetings of proprietors — Draught of lots . . . 9-25 

CHAPTER n. 

First settlement of the toAvn — Burying yard and common — Taxes — Small-pox 

— Paper currency 26-46 

CHAPTER III. 

New Hampshire grants — Vermont controversy — Letter from George Wash- 
ington — Petition of sundry inhabitants of Claremont . . . 27-58 

CHAPTER IV. 

Federal and state constitutions — Federal constitution — State constitution 59-66 

CHAPTER V. 
County of Sullivan 67-69 

CHAPTER VI. 
Boundaries — Natural characteristics — Localities — Village in 1822 . 70-77 

CHAPTER Vn. 

Ecclesiastical — Congregational church — Settlement of Rev. George Wheaton 

— Will of Joel Richards 81-92 

CHAPTER \^II. 
Episcopal church — Division of the parish — Trinity church . . 93-110 



Vlll CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER IX. 

Baptist church — Methodist Episcopal church — Alterations and improvements 
of the church building — Junction camp-meeting grounds — Universalist 
church — St. Mary's church 111-129 

CHAPTER X. 

Schools and academies — Stevens high school — Mary J. Alden prizes — Rev. 
Virgil H. Barber's academy — Claremont academy . . . 133-143 

CHAPTER XI. 

Literai-y societies — Libraries — New Hampshire Historical Society — Newspa- 
pers — United Fraternity of Young Men — Fiske free library — Claremont 
Book Club — Private libraries — the Claremont Spectator — Independent 
Advocate — The Impartialist — The National Eagle — The Northern Ad- 
vocate — The Compendium 144-155 

CHAPTER XII. 

Farming interests — Family manufactm-es — Sullivan County Agricultural So- 
ciety — Market day and cattle fair — New Hampshire State Agricultural 
Society — Claremont — Farms 156-182 

CHAPTER XIH. 
Town hill — Part of the town first settled 183-187 

CHAPTER XIV. 

Water power — Manufacturing and industrial interests — Monadnock mills — 
Sullivan Machinery Company — Sugar River Paper Mill Company — The 
Claremont Manufacturing Company — Slipper shop — Sugar River Mills 
Company — The Home mill — The Emerson-Heyward privilege — The Sulli- 
van Manufacturing Company — The old knife-factory privilege — The Lower 
Falls Company — The Lafayette privilege — The old Meacham factory — 
Freeman & O'Neil Manufacturing Company — The Maynard & Washburn 
shoe factory — The Eastman tannery — Carpet factory — The S. T. Coy Pa- 
per Company — Benjamin Tyler's smelting and iron works— The Gilmore 
edge tool works — Flax mill — The Grannis lumber mill — Shoe manufactur- 
ing — Claremont creamery 191-212 



CONTENTS. IX 

CHAPTER XV. 

Revolutionary War — Stamp act — Sons of Liberty — Duty act — Arrests on 
charge of Toryism — False alarm — Arrest of William McCoy — Another 
alarm — Claremont men engaged — Capt. Oliver Ashley's company 215-241 

CHAPTER XVI. 

The war of 1812 and Texan wars — Volunteers from Claremont — Capt. Joseph 
Kimball's company — Capt. Reuben Marsh's company . . . 242-246 

CHAPTER XVII. 

War of the Rebellion — Assault on Fort Sumter — Meetings of citizens — Vol- 
unteers — Home guard — Meeting of condolence — County war meeting — 
The draft — Claremont's quota of soldiers — Ladies' Soldiers' Aid societies 

— Auxiliary sanitary commission — Thanksgiving to soldiers' families 

247-269 

CHAPTER XVIII. 

Soldiers' monument — Financial statement 270-279 

CHAPTER XIX. 

Memorial tablets — Citizen soldiers who have been killed or died in the war of 
1861-1865 280-302 

CHAPTER XX. 

National, state, county, and town officers — Representatives in congress — Presi- 
dential electors — United States marshal — Members of the governor's 
council — Railroad commissioners — Insurance commissioner — State sena- 
tors — Speakers of the house — Clerk of the house — Engrossing clerk — 
Judges of the supreme court — Judges of probate — Register of probate — 

— County treasurers — Sheriffs — County solicitors — Road commissioners 

— County commissioners — Town officers from 1768 to 1894 — Moderators 
— Town clerks — Selectmen — Representatives .... 30;5-313 

CHAPTER XXI. 
Marriages — Births — Deaths, prior to 1797 314-324 

CHAPTER XXII. 
Licensed liquor sellers and tavern keepers 325-331 



X CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER XXIII. 
Lawyers and physicians — Brief records 332-335 

CHAPTER XXIV. 

Fires — Casualties — Freshets — Lightning — Tornadoes — Earthqualie — Mur- 
ders . . . , ■ . . . . . . . . 336-344 

CHAPTER XXV. 

Postal service — Banks — Railroads — List of postmasters in Claremont — Sum- 
nerville — West Claremont — Claremont Junction — The Claremont bank — 
The People's National bank— Sullivan Savings Institution — Sullivan County 
railroad — Concord and Claremont railroad — Windsor and Forest Line rail- 
road — Claremont and White River Junction railroad — Black River railroad 

345-351 
CHAPTER XXVI. 

Town hall — Cottage hospital — Highways and bridges — Ashley ferry — Lot- 
tery bridge — Turnpike 352-360 

CHAPTER XXVII. 

Death of Presidents William H. Harrison, Abraham Lincoln, and Ulysses S. 
Grant 361-365 

CHAPTER XXVIH. 

Secret societies — Masonic organizations — Hiram Lodge, No. 9 — Union Mark 
Lodge, No. 1 — Webb Royal Arch Chapter — Columbian Council, No. 2 — 
Sullivan Commandery — Odd Fellows — Sullivan Lodge, No. 12 — Knights 
of Pythias — Grand Army — Major Jai'vis Post, No. 12 — Patrons of 
Husbandry . 366-369 

CHAPTER XXIX. 

Marks of cattle, sheep, and swine — Musical reminiscences — Western New 
Hampshire Musical association — Coaching party — Speculation times — 
West Claremont Cadets — Visit of General Lafayette — Unusual seasons — 
The cold season — Army worm — Flood — Cai-nival of coasting — Large 
elm tree — First muster 361-384 

CHAPTER XXX. 

Biographical sketches 387-500 



INDEX OF BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES, 



Abel, Dr. Truman 
Ainsworths 
Alden family 

Ezra B. 

Levi 

Levi, 2d 

Louisa M. 

Lucinda C. 

Thomas W. 
Allen, Dr. Arthur N. 
William H. H. 
Ashley, Samuel 
Austin, William P. 
Baker, Dr. Cyrus E. 

Edward D. 
Balcom, George L. 
Balloch, George W. 
Barnes, Bill 
Bingham, Charles M. 
James H. , 
Bond, Daniel 

Daniel, Jr. 
George . 
Job . 
Bowker. Daniel S. 
Breck, William . 
Brown, Oscar J. 
Bunnell, Abel , 
Charlton, Edwin A. 
Chase, Arthur . 

Rev. Dr. Carlton 

Daniel . 



387 


Chase, Dudley T. 


406 


387 


Chapin, Bela 


407 


388 


Chellis, Burt 


409 


390 


Clark, William . 


409 


388 


Colby, Ira . 


410 


389 


Cole, Samuel . 


411 


388 


Cooke, Capt. John . 


411 


390 


Cossitj Ambrose 


413 


389 


Ambrose, Jr. . 


413 


390 


Cummings, Dr. Alvah R. . 


414 


390 


Dexter, Col. David . 


414 


392 


Dickinson, Aurelius . 


415 


393 


Dole, Edmund . 


416 


394 


Lemuel 


415 


394 


Dustin, Mighill . 


418 


395 


Moody . 


417 


399 


Thomas and Timothy 


417 


398 


Dowlin, Dr. AVinefred M. 


418 


400 


Eastman, Charles H. 


418 


401 


Timothy . 


418 


401 


Ellis, Barnabas . 


419 


401 


Caleb 


420 


402 


William . 


420 


402 


Emerson, John T. 


422 


402 


Farley, Harriet ^. . 


423 


402 


Farwell, George N. . 


424 


377 


George N., 2d . 


426 


404 


John L. 


425 


405 


Nicholas 


423 


406 


Fay, Harry C . 


426 


405 


Fisher, Leonard P. . 


426 


406 


Fiske, Samuel . 


427 



INDEX OF BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



Fiske, Samuel P. . . . 


427 


Ladd, Dr. William M. 




Freeman, Philander C. 


428 


Leland, Charles 




Fuller, Samuel W. . 


428 


Leland, Thomas 




Gardiner, Col. Alexander . 


429, 


Lewis, George G. 




Gates, James M. 


429 


Livingston, Jonas 




Gilmore, Hiram 


429 


Locke, Francis . 




Leonard 


429 


Long, Charles H. 




Glidden, Charles E. . 


431 


Lovell, Michael 




Gen. Erastus 


430 


Levering, Leonard A. 




Goddard, Edward L. . 


431 


Marden, Albert L. . 




Goss, Joel .... 


432 


Maynard, Frank P. . 




Nathaniel 


432 


McClure, Milon C. . 




Grannls, Solon C. ... 


438 


Metcalf, Gov. Ralph . 




Timothy 


432 


Moody, William H. H. 




Timothy, Jr. 


432 


Noyes, Chase . 




Graves, Dr. Leland J. 


433 


Parker, Hosea W. . 




Handerson, Gideon . 


434 


Patten, Henry . 




Phinehas 


434 


Ralston, Alexander . 




Rufus 


435 


Rand, Samuel S. 




Hart, Ichabod . . 


435 


Richards, Dr. Josiah 




Hitchcock, Ichabod . 


436 


Rossiter, Sherman 




Holt, Hermon . 


436 


Pomeroy M. 




Dr. James P. . 


436 


Stephen F. . 




Holton, Asa 


437 


Timothy B. 




Howe, Rev. James B. 


437 


William 




Hubbard, Isaac . 


438 


Sabine, Dr. Silas H. . 




Rev. Dr. Isaac G. 


438 


Sankee, Simeon 




Ide, Simeon 


439 


Smith, Rev. Henry S. 




Jarvis, Dr. Leonard . 


441 


Dr. Nathan . 




Dr. Leonard, 2d . 


442 


Snow, Alpheus F. 




Russell . 


441 


Stevens, Alvali . 




Col. Russell . 


441 


Godfrey 




Dr. Samuel G. 


442 


Col. Josiah . 




Jewett, Frederick 


443 


Dea. Josiah . 




John 


443 


Linus . 




JohnW. 


444 


Paran . 




Marcus L. 


443 


Stone, Dea. Matthias . 




Johnson, Daniel W. . 


444 


Stowell, George H. . 




Miles . 


444 


Swett, Josiah . 




Parmer 


445 


Rev. Josiah 




Kimball, John . 


445 


Josiah, Jr. 




Kingsbury, Sanford . 


446 


Dr. John L. . 





INDEX OF BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



Sumner, Col. Benjamin 


471 


Upham, James P. 


485 


Dr. William 


471 


Samuel R. . 


485 


Tappan, John W. 


471 


Vaughan, Edwin 


299 


Taylor, Capt. Joseph 


472 


Waite, Col. Joseph . 


486 


Tenney, Amos J. 


473 


Otis F. R. 


490 


Edward J. . 


473 


Walker, Horace Eaton 


493 


George A. . 


474 


John S. 


490 


Ticknor, George 


474 


Warland, John H. . 


493 


Thomas, John . 


475 


Warner, Thomas 


494 


Tolles, Dr. Clarence "W. . 


476 


Way, Dr. Osmon B. . 


495 


Dr. Nathaniel 


475 


Weber, Joseph . 


495 


Tutherly, Herbert E. 


477 


Whitcomb, Dea. Jonathan 


496 


William E. 


476 


Whipple, John M. . 


495 


Tyler, Austin . 


479 


Wilkinson, Dr. Frederick C. 


496 


Col. Benjamin 


477 


Williamson, Alonzo B. 


499 


John 


479 


Wilson, Josiah . 


497 


John, 2d 


479 


Nahum 


498 


Upham, George B. . 


480 


Woolson, Charles J, 


499 


Jabez . 


483 


Constance Fenimore 


500 


Dr. J. Baxter 


484 


Thomas . 


498 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Maps— 




Soldiers' Monument 


175 


Town of Claremont 


9 


Highland View, W. H. H. Moodj 


177 


Claremont Post-office 


71 


The Capt. John Cooke farmhouse 180 


Claremont Village . 


167 


Shoe shop dam 


191 






Monadnock mills . 


195 


Views of — 




Sugar River paper mill 


197 


Village, from Flat rock . 


29 


Sullivan Machinery Co.'s works 


201 


John Tyler house, W. Claremont 41 


Sullivan mills, Geo. L. Balcom 


203 


Hira R. Beckwith's residence 


71 


aiaynard & Washburn shoe fac- 




The Bill Barnes homestead . 


73 


tory 


205 


East side of Tremont square . 


73 


Stone watering trough . 


223 


Upper iron bridge . 


75 


George N. Farwell's residence 


227 


George H. Stowell's residence 


77 


Hosea W. Parker's residence 


273 


Dr. Osmon B. Way's residence 78 


Union block .... 


329 


Congregational church . 


81 


Heywood's and Rand's blocks 


331 


Union church. West Claremont 95 


Hunton's block 


331 


Interior of Union church 


99 


Hotel Claremont block . 


333 


Trinity church 


105 


Tremont House, in 1870 


337 


Baptist church 


110 


Claremont National bank 


347 


Methodist church . 


114 


Sullivan Railroad high bridge 


351 


Universalist church 


125 


Town House, in 1850 . 


353 


From High street, in 1846 


127 


Cottage Hospital . 


355 


St. Mary's church . 


129 


Lower village and bridge 


356 


Stevens High School 


135 


Upper dam, and Green Moun- 




Sugar river at high water 


141 


tains .... 


359 


Fiske Free Library 


147 


Coaching party 


375 


Cupola farm, Pomeroy M. Ros 


5iter 171 


Central street .... 


379 


Broad street . 


174 


Frank P. Maynard's residence 


427 



6 ILLUSTRATIONS. 




Portrait of William H. H. Allen 


391 


Portrait of Rev. Robt. F. Lawrence 91 


George L. Balcom . 


395 


Francis Locke . 


449 


Geo. W. Balloch . 


399 


Charles H. Long 


279 


Charles M. Bingham 


401 


Frank P. Maynard . 


205 


William Breck 


403 


William H. H. Moody 


176 


Oscar J. Brown 


375 


Hosea W. Parker . 


455 


Bela Chapin . 


407 


Dr. Josiah Richards 


459 


Bishop Carlton Chase 


109 


Pomeroy M. Rossiter 


172 


William Clark 


409 


George H. Stowell . 


469 


Ira Colby 


411 


Rev. Henry S. Smith 


105 


Ambrose Cossit 


413 


Paran Stevens 


135 


John T. Emerson . 


423 


Dr. Clarence W. Tolles 


477 


Harry C. Fay . 


153 


Dr. Nathaniel Tolles 


475 


George N. Farwell . 


425 


Edward J. Tenney . 


473 


John L. Farwell 


347 


John Tyler, 1st 


479 


Samuel P. Fiske 


149 


John Tyler, 2d 


197 


Philander C Freeman 


429 


George B. Upham . 


481 


Erastus Glidden 


431 


Dr. J. Baxter Upham 


173 


Isaac Hubbard 


178 


James P. Upham . 


196 


Rev. Isaac G. Hubbard 


97 


Edwin Vaughan 


297 


Rev. James B. Howe 


487 


Otis F. R. Waite, Fr'ntisp'ce 


Simeon Ide 


199 


John S. Walker 


491 


Dr. Leonard Jarvis 


441 


Dr. Osmon B. Way . 


494 


Dr. Samuel G. Jarvis 


443 


Joseph Weber . 


155 


Daniel W. Johnson 


195 







EARLY HISTORY, 



^wvOlI^-wV*. 



/ Ji»^'- 






^ 







TOWN OF 



I 

^ __ TOWN OF 

Cx 

SULL/VAN, CO. N. H 



a 



\^v^ 



"H 



ih'-i : 



\^ 



^sfti. Ij 



.f.n\vvA\ 









% 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT 



CHAPTER I. 

GRANT OF THE TOWN, — DIVISION INTO SHARES. 

By the proprietors' book of records it appears that on October 
26, A. D. 1764, a township six miles square, containing twentj-four 
thousand acres, and named Claremont, was granted to Josiah Wil- 
lard, Samuel Ashley, and sixty-eight others. The name of the 
town was derived from the county seat of Lord Clive, a celebrated 
English general, who was styled the founder of the British Empire 
in India. The following is a verbatim copy of the charter : 

Province of New Hampshire. 

George the Third, by the Grace of God of Great Britain, France and Ireland, 
King, Defender of the Faith, &c. 

To all persons to whom these Presents shall come greeting, know ye that we 
of our Especial Grace certain knowledge and mere Motion for the Due En- 
couragement of Settling a New Plantation within our s'd Province, by and with 
the Advice of our Trusty and well Beloved Benning Wentworth, Esqr., our 
Governor and Commander-in-chief of s'd Province of New Hampshire, in Ncav 
England, and of our Council of the s'd Province, have, upon the Conditions and 
Reservations hereinafter made, given and Granted, and by these presents, for us, 
our heirs and Successors, Do give and grant in Equal Shares unto our lovino- 
subjects, Inhabitants of s'd Province of New Hampshire and our other Govern- 
ment, and to their Heirs and Assigns forever whose names are entered in this 
Grant, to be divided to and amongst them into 75 Equal Shares, all the Tract or 
Parcel of Land Situate, Lying and Being within our^s'd Province of New Hamp- 
shire, containing by admeasurement, 24,000 acres, which Tract is to Contain 



JO HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

about Six Miles square and no More, out of which an allowance is to Be made 
for highways and unimproved Lands, by Rocks, Ponds, Mountains and Rivers, 
J040 acres, free, according to a Plan and Survey thereof made by our said Gov- 
ernor's order and returned into ye Secretary's office, and hereunto Annexed, 
Butted and Bounded as Follows (viz.) : Beginning at a marked Tree Standing 
on the Easterly Bank of Connecticut River, which is in the Northwesterly corner 
bounds of Charlestown ; from thence running South 78° Easterly about 6 miles, 
and one-half mile to the Southwesterly angle of Newport ; from thence Turning 
off and running North 8° Easterly about 5 miles, and seven-eighths of a mile by 
Newport, aforesaid, to the Southwesterly angle of Cornish ; thence turning off 
again and running North 77° Westerly about 6 miles, by Cornish, aforesaid, to 
Connecticut River, aforesaid; thence Down the said River, as that runs, to the 
Bound Begun at, together with the Islands lying in the Said River opposite to 
the Premises, and that the same be and hereby is Incorporated into the Town- 
ship by ye name of Claremont, and the Inhabitants that Do or shall henceforth 
Inhabit the said Township are hereby Declared to be Enfranchised with and 
Entitled To, all and Every, the Privileges and Immunities that other Towns 
within our Province by Law Exercise and Enjoy, and Further, that the s'd Town, 
as soon as there shall Be fifty Families Resident and settled thereon, shall have 

the Liberty of holding two Fairs, one of which shall be on the and the 

other in the , annually, which Fairs are not to be continued longer 

than the . Following the said, and that, as soon as the said Town shall con- 
sist of Fifty Families, a market May be opened and kept one or more Days in 
Each Week, as may be thought most advantageous to the Inhabitants ; also, that 
the First meeting for the choice of Town Oflicers, agreeable to the Law of our 
said Province, shall be held on ye Second Tuesday of March Next, which s'd 
Meeting shall be Notified by Samuel Ashley, who is hereby appointed the 
Moderator of s'd first Meeting, which he is to Notify and Govern agreeably to 
Law and Customs of our s'd Province, and that the annual Meeting forever here- 
after for the Choice of such officers for the said Town shall be on the Second 
Tuesday of March, annually. To Have akd To Hold the s'd Tract of land as 
above Expressed, together with all the Privileges and Appurtenances to them, 
and their Representative Heirs and Assigns forever, upon the following 
conditions (viz.) : 

Istly. That every grantee, his heirs or assigns, shall plant and cultivate 
Five acres of Land within the Term of Five years for eveiy fifty acres contained 
in his or their share or proportion of Land in said Township, and Continue to 
Improve and Settle the Same By additional Cultivations, Penalty of the For- 
feiture of his grant or Share of Land in said Township, and of its Reverting to 
us, our heirs and Successors, to be by us or them Regranted to such of our 
Subjects as shall Eflfectually Settle and Cultivate the same. 

2dly. That all white and other pine Trees within ye s'd Township fit for 
Masting our Royal Navy be Carefully Preserved for that use, and none to be 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 11 

Cut or Felled without our Special License for so doing first had and obtained, 
upon the Penalty of the Forfeiture of the Rights of such grantee, his heirs and 
assigns, to us, our heirs and successors, as well as being subject to the Penalty 
of any act or acts of Parliament that now and hereafter shall be Enacted. 

3dly. That before any Division of s'd Land be made to and among the 
Grantees, a Tract of Land, as near the Centre of ye s'd Township as the Land 
will admit of, shall be Reserved and marked out for Town Lots, one of which 
shall (be) allotted to each Grantee of the Contents of one acre. 

4thly. Yielding and paying, therefor, to us, our heirs and successors for the 
Space of Ten Years, to be Computed from the Date hereof, the rent of one ear 
of Indian Corn only, on the Twenty-fifth day of December, annually, if Law- 
fully Demanded, the First payment to be made on ye 25th Day of December, 
1764. 

othly. Every Proprietor, Settler or Inhabitant Shall Y'ield and pay unto us, 
our heirs and successors, yearly and every year forever, from and after the ex- 
piration of Ten Years from the above s'd 25th Day of December, namely, on the 
25th Day of December, which will be in the Year of our Lord 1774, one Shilling 
Proclamation Money for every hundred acres he so owns, settles or Possesses, 
and so in proportion for a greater or lesser Tract of ye s'd Land, which money 
shall be Paid by the Representative Persons above s'd, their heirs or assigns, in 
our Council Chamber at Portsmouth, or to such ofllcer or officers as shall be 
appointed to Receive the same, and this is to be in Lieu of all other rents and 
services whatsoever. 

In Testimony whereof, we have caused the Seal of our s'd Province to be 
hereunto affixed. 

Witness Benning Wentworth, Esq., qur Governor and Commander-in-Chief of 
our said Province, the Twenty-sixth day of October, in the year of our Lord 
Christ 1764. 

(Signed), B. Wentworth. 

By his Excellency's command. 

With advice of Council, 

T. Atkinson, Jun'r, Sec'y. 

NAMES OF the grantees, 

Josiah Willard Esq'r Jno Scott Sam'l Field 

Sam'el Ashley Wm. Richardson Hen'y Bond 

Jere'h Hall Jno Peirce Sim'n Chamberlain 

Josiah Willard Jun'r Tho's Lee Elijah Alexander 

Tho's Frink Esq'r Stephen Putnam Eben'r Dodge 

Jno. Ellis Timothy Taylor Jno. Cass 

Samson Willard Benj'a Freeman Joshua Hide 



12 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



Abra'm Scott 
Hen'y Foster 
Solomon Willard 
Jon'a Hammond 
Wm Heaton 
Prentice Willard 
Jo's Hammond 
Wm. Grimes 
Jon'a Willard 
Sam'el Ashley Jr 
James Scott 
Sam'el Scott 
Ol'r Ashley 
Abijah Willard 
Micah Lawrence 
Abel Lawrence 



Ol'r Fairwell 
Jno Searles 
Ol'r Fairwell, Jun'r 
Ephr'm Adams 
Phineas AVait 
Lem'l Hedge 
Clem't Sumner 
Abel AVillard 
Michael Medcalf 
Eph'm Dorraau 
Jos. Lord 
Wm Willard 
Jeremiah Powers 
Jno. Armes 
David Field 
Jno. Hawks 



Nath'l Heaton 

Gideon Ellis 

Jos. Ellis 

Jno. Grimes 

Jos. Cass 

Samuel AVells 

Jno Hunt 

Wm Smeed 

Col. Jno Goffe Esq'r 

Dan'l Jones Esq'r 

Hon'le Jno Temple Esq'r 

Mark H. Wentworth Esq'r 

Theodore Atkinson Jun'r 

Col. William Symes 

Simon Davis 

The'r Atkinson Esq'r 



The Governor's reservation, which he invariably made in his 
grants, and also reservations of lands for other purposes, as appears 
by the records, were as follows : 

His Excellency, Benning Wentworth, Esq., a Tract of Land to contain 500 
Acres, as marked B. W. in the Plan, and also a small Island lying in the River, 
opposite s'd 500 acres, which are to be accounted two of the within Shares ; one 
which shares for the Incorporated Society for the propagation of the Gospel in 
foreign parts ; one whole share for a Glebe for ye Church of England, as by law 
established ; one whole share for ye first settled (minister) of the Gospel, and 
one share for the Benefit of a school forever, in said Town forever. 

Governor Wentworth's share was located in the southwesterly 
corner of the town, and included what has long been known as the 
Isaac Hubbard farm. Lieutenant George Hubbard acquired this 
right and was one of the early settlers of the town. At his death, 
which occurred April 16, 1818, he was succeeded by his son, Isaac 
Hubbard, Esq. The farm is now owned and occupied by Isaac H. 
Long, a grandson of Isaac Hubbard, Esq., and the widow and 
children of the late Rev. Isaac G. Hubbard, D. D.,who was a son of 
Isaac Hubbard. The island in Connecticut river, known as 
Hubbard's Island, was included in the Governor's share. A por- 
tion of the school lands are situated on the east side of Broad street, 
beginning at Sugar river and extending southerly to and in- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 13 

eluding the residence of the Eev. Charles S. Hale. Of the land 
reserved " for the society for the propagation of the Gospel in 
foreign parts," one hundred acres lie in the north part of the town, 
and are owned by the heirs of the late Solon C. Grannis, and 
others. About one hundred acres of the glebe land are located on 
the northerly side of what is called the new road from Claremont 
to N'ewport, about three miles from Claremont village, now owned 
by the Monadnock Mills corporation. Another portion lies near 
Union church, West Claremont. 

The first meeting of the proprietors of Claremont, as appears by 
the records, was held at " ye house of Lieutenant Hilkiah Grout, 
inn-holder, in "Winchester, on Monday, ye second day of February, 
A. D. 1767." An organization was formed as provided by the 
charter. The first act is recorded as follows : 

Voted, Istly, and chose Lieut. Samuel Ashley Moderator for this meeting. 
2d, Voted, and chose Colonel Josiah Willard Proprietors' clerk. 

They then laid out the Governor's two shares : 

Beginning at ye southwest corner of ye Town, on the bank of ye river, run- 
ning East 12 deg. south on ye line between Claremont and Charlestown, 360 
rods, to a pillow of stones; then runs West 12 degrees North, 260 rods to ye 
river, and then runs down ye river as that runs to where it begins, including the 
Island in said river oppposite ye two shares aforesaid. 

It was afterwards ascertained that the tract thus laid out did not 
contain the required quantity of five hundred acres, and an addi- 
tion was accordingly made of a triangular piece of land on the 
easterly side of the lot first set oflE*. Next were the shares of " ye 
honorable council," when it was 

Voted and agreed to set off ye share of Col. William Symes as follows: 
Beginning at Governor Wentworth's southeast corner, and running east 12 deg. 
south to the southeast corner of the tow», then running north on ye town line 
thirty rods to a pillow of stones. Then running west 12 deg. north to the east 
line of the Governor's share ; then running north 12 deg. west 30 rods to where 
it began. 

Voted and agreed that ye share of Jno. Goflf, Esq., be set off as follows: 
beginning at ye northwest corner of ye share set off to Colonel William Symes, 
and running east 12 deg. south on Colonel Symes line to the east line of the 
town ; then runs west 12 deg. north to the east line of Gov. Wentworth's shares; 
then runs south 12 deg. west to where it began. 



14 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Voted and agreed that ye share of Theodore Atkinson, Jr., shall be setoff 
as follows. Beginning at ye Northwest corner of s'd Goffe's share runs East 12° 
South on s'd Goife's line to ye East Line of Town, then runs Northerly on the 
East Line of the Town 30 rods to a pillow of Stones then runs West 12° North 
to the Line of Governor Wentworth's Shares then runs South 12° West to where 
it began. 

Voted and agreed that ye Share of Mark Hunking Wentworth be set off as 
follows Viz. Beginning at the Northwest corner of s'd Atkinson's Share & run- 
ning East 12° South on s'd Atkinson's line to the East Line of ye town and then 
running Northerly on ye East Line of je Town 30 rods to a Pillow of Stones, 
then running west 12° North to ye East Line of Governor Wentworth's Share 
then runs South 12° West 30 rods to where it began. 

Voted and agreed that ye Share of Jno. Temple Esq. be set off in the fol- 
lowing manner Viz. Beginning at ye Noi'thwest Corner of s'd Mark H. Went- 
worth's Share & running East 12° South on s'd Wentworth's Line to the Line of 
ye Town, then running Northerly on East Line of ye Town 30 rods to a Pillow 
of Stones then running West 12° North to ye East Line of Governor Wentworth's 
share then running South 12° West 30 rods to where it began. 

Voted and agreed that shares of Lemuel Hedge, Micah Lawrence, John Hunt, 
Simon Chamberlain, Joshua Hide, Wm. Willard, Joseph Lord Jr., Thomas 
Frink, Jno Hawks, David Field, Samuel Field, Samuel Ashley, Samuel Ashley 
Jr., & Ol'r. Ashley be set off in the following manner, Viz, Beginning at a 
Pillow of Stones on the Bank of Connecticut River Being ye Northwest corner 
of Governor Wentworth's two shares East 12° South in ye Governor's Line 260 
rods to a pillow of Stones then running South 12° West 50 rods to a pillow of 
Stones then ruiming East 12° South on ye share sett off to John Temple Esq. to 
ye East line of the Town then running northerly on ye town Line 400 rods to a 
Pillow of stones then running west 12° North to Connecticut River then Down 
ye river as that runs to where it began including an (Island) against Hubbard's 
meadow so called. 

They next appointed William Parker of Portsmouth, Samuel 
Livermore of Londonderry, Josiah Willard of Winchester, " all of 
ye Province of ISTew Hampshire Esq'rs. and Samuel Ashley of 
Winchester in s'd Province agents and Attorneys for ye Proprietors 
in all suits and Controversies moved or to be moved for or against 
s'd Proprietors & in their behalf to appear, plead and pursue to 
final judgment & Execution with full power of Substitution & 
power to Compound and settle such actions and controversies 
wherein s'd Proprietors are or shall be concerned, the s'd Pro- 
prietors hereby ratifying confirming and holding valid whatever s'd 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 15 

Agents & Attorneys or any two of them shall Legally do or cause 
to be done in or about the Premises." 

At a meeting of the proprietors at the house of Colonel Josiah 
Willard, in Winchester, on the eighteenth of February, 1767, Captain 
Enos Atwater, Captain Benjamin Brooks, Colonel Josiah Willard, 
Jotham Hitchcock, and Asa Leet, were appointed a committee to 
"lott out ye remaining part of said Town in such manner as they 
shall judge most proper and Return a Plan thereof to the Pro- 
prietors." It was also " voted and agreed that Benj. Tyler have 2 
acres of Land for a Mill yard and Convenience for Building Mills 
in the most Convenient Place on Sugar River in Claremont with 
ye priviledge of said Stream on Condition the said Tyler doth Build 
a Mill or Mills and keep the same in Repair for ye space of Ten 
Years." 

The Willard and Ashley line, beginning on the easterly line ot 
the town, at a distance of five hundred and fifty rods from the 
southern extremity, extended westerly, parallel with the south line 
of the town, to Connecticut river. Ashley's claim was limited on 
the south by the share of John Temple, and on the north by the 
line just described. It comprised a tract of about four hundred rods 
in width through the town, from east to west. Willard's claim 
comprised all that part of the town north of " Willard and Ashley 
line." Thus it will be seen that with the exception of the shares 
of the Governor and Council, Willard and Ashley were the actual 
owners of the entire township. After obtaining such liberal grants 
their next object was to find purchasers. This, it seems was not 
difficult, as settlements were made quite rapidly after the year 1767* 
But as late as 1787, Willard was the owner of fifteen shares, equal 
to forty-eight hundred acres. This is on the supposition that the 
town was divided into seventy-five equal shares, according to the 
provisions of the charter. Whether such division was ever made 
does not appear from any known records. The shares set off" to the 
Council included each three hundred and twenty acres. 

The method first adopted by the proprietors in laying out the 
township into lots was to set off" fifty acres of meadow for tillage, 
the same quantity of upland for pasturage, and three acres for house 
lots. They then proceeded to draw by lot — taking care to have 



16 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

several more lots of each kind than there were persons to draw — 
80 that if any were dissatisfied with the result they might relinquish 
those assigned by the drawing, and select from those remaining. 
The first meeting for the selection of lots was at Winchester, on 
April 14, 1767. The committee appointed at the former meeting 
having discharged the duties imposed upon them acceptably were 
" desired by a vote to lay out ye Gleab for ye church of England 
and ye school in some convenient place ye whole Right together." 
This was accordingly done, and the whole were located at the west 
part of the town. Exchanges were afterwards made so that the 
glebe lands and school lands were situated in various parts of the 
town. A tract was also set ofif for a fair and market ground. This 
is believed to have included the cemetery and grounds about 
Union church, at the west part of the town. 

At the meeting of the proprietors at Winchester, on the four- 
teenth day of April, 1767, it was " Voted to Except the Plan of ye 
51 house Lotts Laid out in s'd Town & also ye Plan of ye 51 
meadow Lotts, and also proceeded to draw the Same." "Voted that 
ye Committee be Desired to lay out ye Glebe the Church of 
England & ye school in some Convenient place ye whole right 
together." "Voted that there be 75 acres Laid on ye hill South of 
house Lot No. 44 for Town Lotts or that place be Reserved for that 
Use." 

At a meeting of the proprietors at the house of Thomas Jones, 
innholder, in Claremont, on the twentieth day of -April, 1768, 
"Voted to Except ye plan as Returned & Signed by the Committee 
& to proceed to draw ye second division Both of upland and 
■meadow lots as they are laid out." " Voted as there is 8 50 acre 
Lotts of upland laid out more than one Lot to Each proprietor that 
if any Person shall be Dissatisfied with his Lott he may have Lib- 
erty to throw up his Lott & Take one of the Eight Lots already 
Laid out by applying to the Committee & they giving him a cer- 
tificate to ye Cleric any Time within 6 months from the date 
hereof" 

The drawings according to the proprietors' records, were as 
follows : 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



17 



PROPRIETORS' NAMES. 



si 

< > 


c 
o 


«.2 


46 


02 


46 


42 


24 


38 


14 


26 


54 


36 


25 


11 


31 


10 


19 


29 


45 


21 


44 


16 


13 


26 


3 


17 


10 


34 


18 


18 


2 


57 


17 


22 


14 


60 


28 


41 


23 


39 


37 


34 


35 


30 


51 


8 


31 


3 


50 


15 


43 


49 


48 


. 15 


43 


29 


39 


15 


28 


1 


40 


50 


19 


41 


34 


47 


18 


1 


16 


21 


16 


48 


88 


27 


13 


30 


56 


24 


47 


5 


4 


14 


49 


38 


44 


7 


7 


5 


12 


9 


27 


53 


6 


9 


32 


22 


46 


2 


5 


7 


4 


41 


31 


55 


40 


6 


35 


28 


29 


58 


33 


37 


20 


49 


17 


3 


32 


1 


22 


45 


19 


33 


21 


12 


41 


11 


23 


51 


37 


51 


52 


35 


33 


4 


30 


4 


61 


22 


46 


2 


8 


13 


10 


27 


48 


39 



Josiah Willard 

Jeremiah Hall ..... 
Josiah Willard, JunY 

Jno Ellis 

Samson Willard 

Abraham Scott 

Henry Foster 

Solomon Willard. . . . 
Jon'a Hammond .... 

Wm Heaton 

Jos. Hammond 

Prentice Willard 

Wm Grimes 

Jon'a Willard 

James Scott 

Samuel Scott 

Minister 

Abijah Willard 

Abel Lawrence 

Clement Sumner .... 

Abel Willard 

Michael Medcalf.... 
Ephraim Dorman .... 
Jeremiah Powers . . . 

Simon Davis 

Jno Ames 

Henry Bond 

Elijah Alexander. . . . 

Eben'r Dodgo 

Jno Cass. ... 

Nath'l Heaton 

Gid'n Ellis 

Jno Grimes 

Jos Cass 

Jno Scott 

Wm Richardson 

Jno Peirce 

Tho'sLee..,. 

Stephen Putnam 

Timo Taylor 

Benjamin Freeman . . 

Ol'rFairwell 

Jno Series. 

Ol'r Fairwell Jun'r. . 

Ephraim Adams 

Jos Ellis 

Phin's Waite 

Samuel Wells 



18 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



PROPRIETORS' KAMES. 


4 


II 

-5 


«5 

§5 


ofiH 


TVm Smeed 

Theodore Atkinson 


25 
12 
2 
52 
53 
54 


11 

36 
32 
52 
53 
54 


59 
26 
36 
8 
6 
60 


18 

27 




43 


Glebe 


20 


School 


45 


Propjication of ye Gospel 


21 







MEETING OF THE PROPRIETORS. 



At a meeting of the proprietors at the house of Thomas Jones in 
Claremont, on the nineteenth of August, 1769, it was 

Voted to Lay a Third Division of upland Containing one Hundred acres in Each 
Lott in the best Lands and in the best manner they can. Voted to Lay out said 
Hundred acre Lotts by Draught, 

and Jeremiah Spencer, Benjamin Sumner and Asa Jones were 
chosen a committee to lay out the lots ; and they were empowered 
to rectify any mistakes in the former layings, both in lots and high- 
ways. At a meeting on the fifth of April, 1770, 

Voted and chose Jacob Kice to supply the place of the Late Jeremiah Spencer, 
Deceased, Voted that if the Committee for the Laying out the third Division 
of upland in said Town do not complete the survey by the first Day of No- 
vember next that then there office shall seece and others chosen in their Room. 

At a meeting on the twelfth of December, 1770, at the house of 
Benj. Sumner, 

Voted to Except the Plan and Survey Returned by the Committee (viz) Ben- 
jamin Sumner, Asa Jones and Jacob Rice in Laying out the Hundred acre 
Division containing 105 acres Each Lott to Each Proprietor that hath a Wright 
North of Col. Ashley's Line in said Town in the year 1770 ; and further Voted to 
Draw ye Lotts to Each Proprietor. Voted that the 50 acre Lott of Second Di- 
vision Number 36 be Recorded to the Schools. Voted that 50 acre Lott of 
the Second Division Number 39 be Record to the Propigation of the Gospel in 
forron Parts. Voted to Proceed and Draw the Hundred acre Lotts, 

and they were drawn as follows : 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



PROPRIETORS' NAMES. 



Josiah Willard Esq'r 

Jeremiah Hall 

Josiah Willard JnV. . 

John Ellis 

Sampson Willard 

Abraham Scott 

Henry Foster 

Solomon Willard . . . . 
Jonathan Hammon, . , 

William Heaton 

Abill Willard 

Mieah Medcalf 

Ephereum Dorman.. , 
Jerathmiel Powers. . . 

Simon Davis 

John Armes 

H enry Bond 

Elijah Alexander . . . . 

Ebenezer Dodge 

John Cass 

Nathaniel Heaton . . . . 

Gideon Ellis 

Joseph Ellis 

John Grimes 

Joseph Cass 

John Scott 

William Ritchardson. 



Div. 

105 



PROPRIETORS' NAMES. 



Joseph Hammon 

Prentis Willard 

William Grimes 

Jonathan Willard 

James Scott 

Samuel Scott 

First Settled Minister .... 

Abijah Willard 

Abil Larrence 

Clement Sumner 

John Pirce 

Thomas Lee 

Stephan Putnam 

Timothy Taylor 

Benjamin Freeman 

Oliver Farrwell 

John Series 

Oliver Farwell Jun'r 

Epherium Addams 

Phenihas Wait 

Samuel Wells 

William Smeed , 

Theo'd Atkinson 

Daniel Jones 

Gleebforye Ch'h 

Schools 

Propegation of the Gospel 



Div. 
105 



This meeting is Dissolved 

Test Josiah Willard 

B Sumner Pr Clerk. 



Moderator. 



The first meeting of the proprietors was not held in strict' 
accordance as to time with the provisions of the charter, which 
provided that 

The First meeting for the choice of Town officers agreeably to the laws of our 
s'd Province shall be held on ye Second Tuesday of March next (1765) which' 
s'd meeting shall be Notified by Samuel Ashley who is hereby appointed 
Moderator of s'd first meeting. 

According to the record the first meeting of the proprietors was 
held on the second of February, 1767 — nearly two years later 



20 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

than the time fixed by the royal grant. To a great extent the 
interests of the proprietors and those of Governor Benning Went- 
worth were identical and sustained by the same authority. Appar- 
ently Messrs, Willard and Ashley were in favor with the Governor 
and had only to ask to have any indulgence in his power granted 
to them. Hence respecting their acquisition of Claremont, they felt 
at liberty to act when and in such manner as their interests might 
suggest. They were in no haste for the settlement of the town, 
seeming to regard it as a valuable acquisition, on account of its 
agricultural and manufacturing advantages. They therefore de- 
termined to be governed in their proceedings by the degree of 
earnestness manifested by those who sought to purchase. Another 
object was to induce such persons to settle the town as would be 
sure to be loyal and faithful to the crown. 

While the proprietors were waiting to secure these advantages, 
there was danger from another source, which it was necessary to 
check without delay. " Squatter Sovereignty" had planted itself 
upon their territory and was rapidly gaining strength there ; and 
having once secured a foothold, it would not be easily eradicated. 
Further delay they saw would therefore be injurious to their in- 
terests, and accordingly, as before stated, in 1767 they took active 
measures for the settlement of the town by virtue of their incor- 
porated rights. 

The grantees found a few squatters upon their grant, among them 
Moses Spafford and David Lynde. The proprietors proposed to 
such as had built cabins and made improvements, to give to each a 
deed of sixty acres of land, to be located by the proprietors. These 
propositions were gladly accepted. Moses Spafford's sixty acres 
were located south of Ashley Ferry, said to have been a part of the 
farm owned by the late Charles Leland. David Lynde's sixty 
acres were located at the foot of Green Mountain, near the farm of 
the late Tracy Cowles. 

On the twenty-second of April, 1784, Josiah Willard, owner of 
fifteen shares of the town of Claremont, petitioned Benjamin 
Sumner, clerk of the proprietors, to call a meeting of the pro- 
prietors, to act on the subjects set forth in the petition. The fol- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 21 

lowing is a verbatim copy of the record of the doings of the meet- 
ing, as found in the proprietors' book of records : 

Att a Legal meeting of the Proprietors of the Town of Claremont Holden at 
the House of Mr John Spencer in s'd Claremont on the 26th day of May 1784. 

First Voted and ehoos L'tt Asa Jones Moderator of s'd Meeting. 

2dly Voted and choos Cap't Benjamin Sumner, Colo. Samuel Ashley Mr 
Prentis Willard L'tt Asa Jones and Mr Ambrous Cossit a Committee to pre- 
ambelate the Lines of the Town. 

3dly Voted to Subdivide the undivided Land in s'd Town Equally in acres 
amongst s'd Propt's and appointed Capt Benjamin Sumner Ltt Asa Jones and 
Deack Jacob Koys for that Purpos a Committe 

4thly Voted the Two Shares belonging to the Late Gov'r Benning Wentworth 
Colo William Symes John Goff Esq'r Theo Atkins Jun'r Esqr Mark H. "Went- 
worth Esqr and John Temple Esqr Lemvel Hedge Micha Larrance John Hunt 
Simon Chamberlin Joshua Hide William Willard Joseph Lord Jnr Thomas 
Frink John Hawks David Field Sam'll Field Sam'll Ashley Sam'll Ashley 
Junior and Ol'r Ashley is Not entitled to, Nor Shall have any one acre House Lot 
Layd out to them North of Colo Sam'll Ashleys Line, so called in s'd Town, 
those Shares having had their full Cotas of Land Laid out to them here to fore 
in one Tract 

othly Voted Two acres Three Quarters and Ten Rods of Land be Laid out 
Eighteen Rods East and west and Twentyfive Rods 7 L's North and South and 
Recorded for a Bulging Yard for the use and Benefit of the Town to Bury their 
Dead in and to be Alienated to No Other use whatever, Lying and Butting 
North on Mr Ebenezer Rice House Lot and west on the Church Gleeb 

6thly Voted to lay out house acres for the use and Benefit of the Apescopol 
Church ; Commonly called the Church of England for a church yard Including 
the ground on which the Church Now Stands, said Land Butting North on Mr 
Ebn'r Rice and West on the Burying ground Beforementioned ; Lying in a 
Squair Forme 

7thly Voted to Lay out and Record for the use and Benefit of Building a 
meeting House and Trayning field four acres in a squair forme Lying East and 
adjoining the Gleeb and South and adjoining the Burying ground and Church 
yard, provided that the Town shall set a meting House on the same Lands 
within the Terme of Twelve years from this Date if Not Built by s d Town 
with in the Terme of Twelve years from this Date as above sd then to Revert 
back to the Promotors Aforesd 

Sthly Voted to Adjourn this meting to Tuesday the 17th Day of August Next 
at one of the clock P. M. then to meet at this place 

Test Asa Jones, Moderator 



22 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

■ At a meeting of the proprietors on the nineteenth of May, 1789, 
at the house of Capt. Benjamin Sumner, it was voted to 

Discontinue the agency of Wm Parker, Sam'll Livermore, Josiah Willard and 
Sam'll Ashley, Esqr and in their Room and Sted choose Capt Benj'n Sumner Mr 
Ambrous Cossit and Mr David Dodge with as full power of attorney as the 
former Committee or Agents had, being full athority to act for s'd Proprietors in 
all Causes Moved or to be moved against them with full power of substitution 
they or any two of them and prosecute in their Name and act to final judgement 
and execution. 

Voted to Discontinue the Roads Left in the common medows for the proprietors 
to Pass and Repass on from the Lottery Bridge over Sugar River all along on the 
North Banks of said River to the Banks of Connecticut River and Likewise to 
Discontinue the gate Standing at the North End of medow Lot Number 
31 and No. 32 and Likewise to Discontinue the passways on Roads Between No. 
31 and No. 32 and connect the same to the Proprietors Lands adjoining and 
voted to Discontinue the Roads or passway from said Bridge all along on the 
South Banks of Sugar River to the mouth there of and Likewise the Roads 
Between the full tier of medow Lots to the South side of Medow Lot No. 13 
Running from Sugar River Southward and connect the same to the Proprietors 
use oning the Land adjoining and to open in sted of the last mentioned Rode to 
the use of s'd Proptrs a Road from the East End of Medow Lot No 51 to the 
South side of No 23 and on as the Rode Now Travelled to the 13th Lot Con- 
tinuing the Roads open for the Proprietors use to the first Lot as they are now 
Used and frequented. 

At a meeting of the proprietors December 7, 1789, it was 

voted to lay out a road of four rods wide to their use Beginning at a stake and 
stones on the division line east of DocV Abner Meiggs house between the 
second and third division of fifty acre lots east 20° South to the dividing line of 
lots No. 14 and 15, then to run northward to intersect the division line between 
the two tier of lots then to continue on the s'd division line eastward to Newport 
about seven hundred rods. 

Voted to accept of the plan and survey of the third division of fifty acre 
lots according as they are bounded and numbered agreable to the plan returned 
by the Committee. 

Voted to accept of the one acre lotts so called house lots according to plan 
thereof returned by the Committee. 

Voted to draw the 2 divisions. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 
A DRAUGHT OF THE THIRD FIFTY ACRE DIVISION. 



23 





No. 




Xo. 


Josiah Willard Esqr 


47 
50 
29 
52 
10 
43 
35 
2 
7 
9 
34 
13 
16 
18 
28 
44 
49 
8 
22 
25 
46 
37 
12 
31 
19 
54 
3 


Michael Medcalfe 


41 


Jeretniah Hall ...• 


Epherium Dorman . . 


38 


Josiah Willard Junior 


Jerathmiel Powers 


48 


John Ellis 




33 


Sa-mpson Willard 


John Armes 

Henry Bond .... . 


53 


Abraham Scott 


40 


Henry Foster 


Abijah Alexander 


1 


Solomon Willard 


Ebenezer Dodge 


21 


Jonathan Hammond 


John Cass 


26 


Prentis Willard 


Nathaniel Heaton 


23 


TVilliiim Heaton 


Gideon Ellis . . . 


37 


Joseph Hammond 


John Grimes 


24 


William Grimes 


Joseph Cass 


11 


Jonathan Willard 


John Scott 


42 






45 






36 


Samuel Scott 


Thomas Lee 


30 


Abijah Willard 


Stephen Putnam 

Timothy Taylor 


27 




20 




51 


Abel Willard 




39 


Joseph Ellis 


William Smeed 


5 






15 


Oliver Fairwell Jun'r 


Daniel Jones Esqr 


32 




Gleeb 


4 




School 


14 


Samuel Wells 




6 









A DRAUGHT OF THE ONE ACRE LOTTS. 





So. 




No. 


Josiah Willard Esqr 


26 
51 
33 
28 
14 
39 
41 
10 
15 
40 
22 


Jonathan Willard 


21 


Jeremiah Hall' 

Josiah Willard Junior 


James Scott 

Minister Lott 

Samuel Scott 


9 
2 


John Ellis 


25 




Abijah Willard 


12 


Abraham Scott 

Henry Foster 


Abel Lawrance 

Clement Sumner 


34 

20 


Solomon Willard 


AbeljjWillard 


32 




Michael Medcalfe . .' 


38 






1 


Joseph Hammond 


Jerathmiel Powers . • • . 


29 









24 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

A DRAUGHT OF THE ONE ACRE LOTTS. — Continued. 



Prentis Willard 

William Grimes... 

Henry Bond 

Elijah Alexander. . 
Ebenezer Dodge. . . 

John Cass 

Nathaniel Heaton . . 

Gideon Ellis 

Joseph Ellis 

John Grimes 

Joseph Cass 

John Scott 

William Richardson 

John Peirce 

Thomas Lee 

Stephan Putnam. . . 



No. 



23 
27 
48 
24 
43 
53 
18 
52 
54 
11 
16 
19 
35 
17 
4 
6 



Simeon Davis 

John Armes 

Timothy Taylor 

Benj'a Freeman 

Oliver Fairwell 

John Series 

Oliver Fairwell Jn'r. . 
Epherium Aduams . . 

Phenihas Wait 

Samuel Wells , 

William Smeed 

Theo'd Atkinson Esqr 
Daniel Jones Esqr. . . . 

Gleeb 

School 

Gospel 



Several of the lots drawn in the third fifty acre division were 
surrendered to the proprietors, and other lots not drawn were 
taken in their stead. 

At a meeting of the proprietors of the common or undivided 
lands, at the Tremont house in Claremont, on the second of De- 
cember, 1845, ITathaniel Cowles was chosen moderator, and Solon 
C. Granuis, proprietors' clerk; Solon C. Grannis and Nathaniel 
Cowles a committee for " making sales and giving deeds " of lands. 
It was 

Voted that the following instruction to the Committee of Sales be adopted. 
That as David H. Sumner is a large proprietor of the lands, no sales of any part 
of them (until further ordered jOtherwise) shall be made without his consent in 
writing the said consent to be put on file and recorded in the record of the 
Proprietors. 

Voted and chose Alpheus F. Snow, Nathaniel Cowies and Moody Dustin, 
Agents. 

By consent of Mr. Sumner, the committee conveyed tracts of 
these lands to James Sperry, Hira Ayer, Ichabod Hitchcock, 
Leonard Eichardson, Leonard P. Fisher, Curtis Stoddard, Charles 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 25 

Cotton, Nathan G. Allds, David H. Sumner, and Daniel J. Liv- 
ingston. At a meeting March 28, 1857, at the office of Snow & 
Baker, Solon C. Grannis and Leonard P. Fisher were chosen the 
committee for making sales. 

The last meeting of the proprietors that appears on record, was 
held at the office of A. F. Snow, on the twenty-eiglith of October, 
1858. David H. Sumner was moderator. By a loose paper, in 
the handwriting of A. F. Snow, Esq., dated July 16, 1864, 
found in the proprietors' record book, David H. Sumner 
consented to the sale, to Daniel J. Livingston, of the westerly 
half of Lot N'umber 2, and to himself of Lots IsTumbers 9 and 10, 8, 
15, and 16, and the westerly half of Lot iN'umber 5, and three fourths 
of an acre adjoining Lot l^umber 10, called the " Mill Privilege." 
These sales, it would appear, disposed of the last of the common or 
undivided lands in Claremont. Solon C. Grannis was the last pro- 
prietors' clerk chosen and in his possession the records remained 
until his death, March 7, 1892. 



CHAPTER II. 



FIRST SETTLEMENT OF THE TOWN. 



In 1762 Moses Spafford and David Lynde came to town, selected 
land and built cabins. They cleared some land and did other 
things to make for themselves homes. Between that time and 1767 
a few others came, built cabins, cleared land and returned to their 
homes to pass the winter. Most of these cabins and clearings were 
in the west part of the town and along Sugar river. In 1767 the 
proprietors began to take steps to dispose of their shares and held 
out inducements for people to settle upon their grant. That year 
several came from Farmington, Hebron, Colchester, and other 
towns in Connecticut. Kone of the grantees came that year, and 
only Samuel Ashley, Samuel Ashley, Jr., and Oliver Ashley of the 
whole number ever became inhabitants of the town. Samuel Ash- 
ley did not become a citizen of the town until 1782. The early 
inhabitants of the town were nearly equally divided in their attacli- 
ment to the Episcopal and Congregational denominations. An 
Episcopal church was organized in 1771, and a Congregational 
minister was settled in February, 1772. 

Some years ago Bela Chapin, a painstaking and careful writer, 
prepared an interesting sketch of the " Bygone Times in Clare- 
mont," which was published in the " National Eagle." His data 
were gathered mostly from tradition and are as reliable, probably, 
as the generality of information obtained from that source. He 



Near the middle of the last century a man named Eastman of Killingworth, 
Conn., a hunter and trapper, came up the Connecticut river as far as this town, 
and here, by the Sugar river and the various brooks which empty into it, he pur- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 27 

sued his vocation with great success. He extended his excursions into Newport, 
and having taken a lai'ge number of beavers and otters, he carried their dry 
skins back to Connecticut. He gave there a marvelous account of the region 
he had visited, and after disposing of his valuable furs he set out again for the 
same hunting ground. But he was heard from no more. After the first settlers 
arrived in Newport from Killingworth, Mr. Eastman's bones were found near 
Mink brook, just east of Kelleyville. It is thought he was killed by Indians^ 
who considered him trespassing upon their hunting grounds. 

At an early day many of the first settlers made changes in the ownership of 
their land. Some were afraid of the early autumn frosts on the lowland farms. 
Some were suspicious that the fertility of the light terrace land farms would not 
endure, and would some day become like the soil in parts of Connecticut. One 
Mathews, who had settled in what is now called Puckershire, sold his large farm 
and bought another uncleared on the high northern slope of Green mountain. 
''I am going," he said "where there is land,'''' meaning by his emphasis that he 
was going where he would have much better land to till than where he had lived. 
He lived many years upon the mountain, and there are yet to be seen the ruins 
of his cellar and barnyard wall and a few old apple trees where he lived so Iodo- 
perhaps in contentment and happiness. The farm where he dwelt upon the 
mountain is now occupied by Timothy B. Rossiter as a sheep pasture. Two 
other men also sold their farms and went to live upon the mountain. Another 
early settler in the west part of the town became discouraged and sold his farm, 
which was nearly covered with great pine trees, and went where the trees were 
smaller, because there was so much labor required in burning and clearing away 
the great pine trees. 

One of the oldest roads in Claremont was that running north and south over 
the hills in the western part of the town. This was the highway of travel up 
and down the river valley. It was through this town on that road that, in 1770, 
President Wheelock and his family in a large wagon, accompanied by students 
and attendants, about ninety in all, passed on their way from Connecticut to 
Hanover, driving before them a drove of hogs. At Hanover they established 
Moor's Charity School, which in due time became Dartmouth College. 

Manufacturing in the early days of our history was carried on in all parts of the 
town. There were many blacksmiths who made nails and many kinds of farm- 
ing tools. There were also shoemakers in abundance, and a few coopers. But 
every house, especially every farmhouse, was a manufactory. Nearly all 
wearing apparel was home-made. Woman's lot then was that of great hardship. 
Carding wool and flax, and spinning and weaving it, was much of her employ- 
ment. The warping bars, the loom, and the spinning wheels, both for flax and 
wool, were had in almost every residence. Then carding machines and fulling 
mills were put in operation, and, as time progressed, facilities increased. At 
the close of the war of 1812 manufacturing by water power became more exten- 
sive, and continued to increase as the years passed by, and the business of the 



28 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

town became still more important. About 1835 there were in Claremont eight 
stores, one fm-nace, four fulling mills, one woolen factory, one cotton factory, 
two paper-mills, eight saw-mills, and two printing offices. 

In olden times corn, rye, oats, potatoes, pumpkins, and maple sugar were the 
principal producdons of the soil. The raising of corn, oats, wheat, and rye were 
attended with some uncertainty. Raccoons, bears, and hedgehogs devoured the 
corn, much of it before it became ripe. Men killed the raccoons and hedgehogs 
at night by going with sled-stakes where would be the exit of the game, while 
the boys ran through the cornfields, and, with great noise, drove out the animals 
for the men to kill as they were about to escape to the woods. Potatoes were 
raised in abundance. Pumpkins were a sure crop, and many were raised. 
These last afforded food for both man and beast, and often were eaten in various 
ways when better food was scarce. Maple sugar was the first crop of the year. 
There were an abundance of maple trees in the different parts of the town, and 
especially along the hillsides near Sugar river, which from that fact received its 
name. And it was believed that the time for tapping sugar maples was only 
after the river had cleared itself of ice in the spring. Many a tired and hungry 
man, returning to his cabin, would refresh himself with sugar from his abundant 
store. 

Claremont was once a region of lofty pines. These were cut down and dis- 
posed of in various ways. Many were split into rails for fences, and many were 
sawn into boards or made into shingles and clapboards, and many were burned 
and wasted. But the stumps remained in the ground and were likely to almost 
never rot. Then the stump-puller was put in operation. This consisted of a 
long, slim tree, cut and made into a lever, with a stout truck-wheel upon the 
smaller end. The longer end of the lever was chained to the stump with a mon- 
strous chain, a link of which would weigh about fifteen pounds. Then a half- 
dozen yokes of oxen were hitched to the wheel and driven forward, and the 
great stumps were thus turned out of the ground. These wei-e drawn away and 
fences made of them. 

New England rum for many years made sad havoc among the town's people. 
The first or early settlers were temperate in the use of ardent spirits, but the 
next generation of inhabitants were carried away and made miserable, many of 
them, by intemperate habits. It was a fault of the times. It was customary 
and fashionable to drink rum, brandy, and other kinds of fire-water upon all 
occasions and in everyday life. The preachers of the gospel drank rum, the 
deacons drank it, and almost every one, male and female, the aged, the middle- 
aged, and those in tender years, drank intoxicating drink. Not all were excess- 
ive drinkers, most drank moderately. On extra occasions, such as ordinations, 
weddings, funerals, family and friendly reunions, huskings, the raising of build- 
ings, bear hunts, musters, and on all occasions of merriment, much liquor was 
used, and often many became drunk or much beside themselves. Rum-drinking 
was a cause of much trouble, poverty and unhappiness. It made men quarrel 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 29 

with each other and spend their money foolishly. One old man, in his latter 
days, used to boast that he had had a dozen lawsuits and had beaten every time. 
This manner of life continued until about 1828, when Dr. Reuben Muzzey, of 
Dartmouth College, came about delivering his noted lecture, entitled •' Rum, — 
its history, its uses and abuses." This lecture had immediate effect. All the 
good people, almost without exception, signed a pledge of total abstinence from 
all intoxicating drinks, and from that day to the present time the cause of tem- 
perance reform has continued its onward progress among our people. Still rum 
was sold and used in town. When laws were enacted to prevent its sale, sellers 
were licensed to sell it. We remember one noted rumseller in town [Luther 
Farwell]. He had a general assortment store in Dog Hollow. He was licensed 
to sell from year to year, but sometimes there were gaps when he had no license. 
Before the expiration of his legal time of selling he would advertise his stock so 
as to reduce it by a more rapid sale. One year the following was a part of his 
advertisement : 

"The appointed time is hastening on 
To prosecute for selling rum. 
Bring in your things, glass, wood, and stone, 
The time is coming when you'll get none, 
For selling rum is just and right 
Till 12 o'clock next Saturday night." 

Small were the excuses for drinking rum. A friend of mine tells me of 
his first visit one winter morning, long ago, at the house of two maiden 
sisters, neighbors of his, who lived about a mile from the village. He called 
at the house, and after some talk, the lady there asked: '• Are you going to 
the village? " He told her he was going there, and she then said : " You see, 
my sister has to do the chores at the barn, and she veiy much needs some- 
thing to keep the cold from her lungs. Would you get her a gallon of rum ?" 
He answered yes. Going then to the barn he found the other lady cleaning 
the stable, and after some talk, she asked: "Are you going to the village?" 
He replied in the alSrmative, and she continued: "You know my sister in 
the house is not very Avell, and she needs something to strengthen her. 
Would you be so kind as to get her a gallon of rum?" He said he would, 
and on his return he brought them their rum. After the era of licensing 
had gone by, the people of the town elected a rum-seller to furnish fire-water 
to all who wanted it for medicinal and mechanical uses. Then there appeared 
to be much sickness in town. Men bought liquors for all kinds of complaints, 
and many bought it as a preventive of sickness. Much was sold for me- 
chanical purposes. Farmers bought it for the purpose of making their scythes 
swing easily in hay time. We once heard of a man from a neighboring town 
who called at the agency to buy rum for the purpose of pickling cucumbers. 



30 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

After getting his large jug filled, and having paid for it all, he took a solid drink. 
Said the agent: "Hold on, sir; you bought that for pickles." "So I did,'' 
said the man, " and want first to pickle the cucumbers I had for breakfast." 

In 1764, according to E. D. Sanborn's History of New Hamp- 
shire, from Charlestown to Haverhill, more than seventy miles, 
there was no road, only a bridle path indicated by marked trees. 
This was often hedged up by fallen trees or made impassable by 
freshets. Claremont then contained two families, and Cornish 
and Plainfield one each. A rude cabin was their only shelter, 
game or fish, for a time, their principal food, and water from the 
spring their only beverage. The wife lived alone while the hus- 
band was abroad felling trees or securing food. Comfort was 
unknown. When food became more plenty the inhabitants gen- 
erally ate meat once in a day. Porridge of beans, pease, or milk 
furnished their other meals. Bowls, dishes, and plates were 
usually of wood. The more wealthy used pewter and tin. There 
was then a mill at Charlestown for grinding corn, and people 
came long distances to get their grain made into meal. 

The first meeting of the inhabitants of the town of Claremont 
in the Province of New Hampshire was held on the eighth day of 
March, 1768. How this meeting was notified or warned does 
not appear. The record of that meeting is as follows : 

At a meeting of the Inhabitants of the Town of Claremont holden at the 
House of Capt. Benj'n Brooks of said Claremont on tuesday the eigth day of 
March, 1768. 

Capt. Benj'n Brooks was chose Moderator to regulate said Meeting. 

Joseph Ives was chose Town Clerk. 

Capt. Benj'n Brooks, Ebenezer Skinner, Benj'n Tyler, Thomas Jones and 
Amos York were chosen Selectmen. 

Benj'n Brooks, Jr. was chosen constable 

Then this meeting was adjourned to the 29th day of instant March at one 
o'clock in the afternoon. 

Mar. 29th, 1768. Then met according to adjournment. 

Amos York and Benedick Roys were chose Tithingmen. 

Benedick Roys and Josiah Rich were chose Deer Reves 

Asa Leet and Ebenezer Skinner were chose Surveyors of Highways. 

Voted to build a Pound for the use of the Town, near Thomas Jones' 
House, in the most convenient place 

Thomas Jones chose Pound Keeper. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 31 

Voted to raise a Kate of ten Pounds, Lawful Money to defray Town charges. 

Capt. Benjamin Brooks and Benjamin Sumner were chose a committee to 
lay out a Road to Newport. 

Voted to take two acres of land oflf from the North west corner of the Fair 
for a Burying place 

At a legal Town meeting holden at the House of Dr. William Sumner, on 
Tuesday, the fourteenth day of March, 1769, 

Dr. William Sumner was chose Moderator 

Benjamin Sumner was chose Town Clerk. 

Jeremiah Spenser, Lieut. Benjamin Tyler and Benjamin Sumner were chose 
Selectmen. 

Ebenezer Rice was chose Constable. 

Ebenezer Skinner and Lieut. Tyler were chose Tithingmen, and said Tyler 
refused to serve, Asa Leet chose in his Room 

Benedick Roys and Joseph Ives were chosen surveyors of Highways and 
Thomas Jones Keeper of the Town Pound. 

Voted to adjourn this meeting to Tuesday the 28th day of instant March, 
at 3 o'clock p. M. at the above mentioned place. 

This meeting was opened according to adjournment. 

At the same meeting chose Asa Leet, Thos. Gustin and Joseph Ives to be 
a Committee to examine the Selectmen's accounts for the last year. 

Asa Jones, Asaph Atwater, Beriah Murray, Hawards or field drivers. 

The duty of a hayward was to keep a common herd of cattle 
of a town and see that they did no harm to hedges or enclosed 
grounds; to decide how many cattle each man was entitled to 
pasture on common grounds set off for grazing; and to im- 
pound all cattle going at large, doing or liable to do mischief. 
This officer long since became obsolete. 

Josiah Rich and Jacob Roys chose fence viewers. 

Amos York chose Leather Sealer. 

Voted that Daniel Warner shall have for his services in making a road to 
Merrimack £1-8-0 Lawful money 

Voted that Hogs may run at large Yoked and ringed according to law. 

This meeting is dissolved. 

A Town meeting legally warned, March 13, 1770. 

Capt. Benjamin Brooks was chose Moderator 

Ebenezer Rice was chose Town Clerk 

Capt. Benjamin Brooks, Capt. Benjamin Sumner, Jacob Rice, Joseph Ives 
and Asa Jones were chosen Selectmen. 

Barnabas Ellis was chose Constable 



32 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Josiah Rich and Benjamin Brooks, Jun'r, "vvere chosen Tithing men. 

Messrs. Joseph Ives and Asa Jones were chose Leather Sealers. 

John Spencer and Joseph Taylor were chose Field Drivers. 

Thomas Gustin was chose Town Treasurer. 

Joseph York, Asa Leet, Moses Spaford were chosen Surveyors of Highways, 

Thomas Gustin, Ebenezer Skinner and Samuel Ashley were chosen a Com- 
mittee to examine the Selectmen's accounts. 

Voted that swine shall go upon the Commons yoked and ringed according 
to Law. 

Voted that this be dissolved 

The preceding extracts are given verbatim, showing how the 
records were kept, as well as the business that was transacted. 
Following are such abstracts from the recorded proceedings of 
town meetings as seem of interest. 

At the annual meeting, on March 12th, 1771, holden at the 
house of Benjamin Brooks, who was chosen moderator, Samuel 
Cole was chosen town clerk, Thomas Gustin, Benjamin Brooks, 
and Asa Jones selectmen, and John Kelborn sealer of measures 
and weights. 

Voted that the Town should record the Marks for Cattle and swine belonging 
to the Inhabitants of the Town. 

September 26th, 1771. A meeting of the Inhabitants of the town of Clare- 
mont qualified to vote in common affairs and warned according to Law, at 
the South School House. At the same meeting Capt. B. Brooks was chosen 
Moderator. At the same meeting Capt. B. Brooks was chosen Grand Juror 
for the year ensuing. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1772, it was 

Voted to raise three Pounds Lawful Money to purchase weights and measures 
for the use of the Town. 

At a town meeting held on the sixth day of January, 1773, 
" Mr. Thomas Gustin was chosen moderator," and " Messrs. John 
Sprague, Benjamin Brooks, Jr., Ebenezer Rice, and Jacob Rice, 
drawn and appointed to serve on the petit jury." 

At a town meeting held on April 5, 1773, it was 

Voted that those who are appointed to serve as Jurors at the Court of Com- 
mon Pleas should Serve at the Court of General Sessions of the Peace also. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 33 

At the same meeting John Thomas and Capt. Wait were drawn and appointed 
to serve at both Courts aforesaid. 

At a town meeting on August 16, 1773, 

Mr. Phineas Fuller was chosen Grand Juror, to serve at his Majesty's Su- 
preme Court to be holden at Keene. on the third day of Sept. next. 

The selectmen of Claremont received the following letter, and 
promptly made return as given below : 

Portsmouth, October 15th, 1773. 
Sir.— 

I am to request an exact list of the number of inhabitants in the town of 
Claremont, distinguished into different Ranks or Classes, according to the 
schedule below, which I shall be glad to have returned to me, authenticated, 
as soon as possible. 

John Wentworth. 



Unmarried men 16 to 60 years of age 
Married men 16 to 60 years of age 
Boys 16 years and under 
Men 60 years and upwards 
Females unmarried 
Females married . 
Widows . 
Male slaves . 
Female slaves 



41 

66 

121 

2 

125 

66 

2 







Total 423 

Asa Jones, 
Benjamin Brooks, 
Joseph Taylor, 

Selectmen. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1774, Matthias Stone 
was chosen moderator, Benjamin Sumner town clerk, Thomas 
Gustin, Matthias Stone, and Stephen Higbee selectmen, and all 
of them were sworn. This is the first record of any of the town 
officers having been sworn to the faithfal performance of their 
respective duties. 

At a town meeting on April fifth of that year, it was 



34 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Voted that those Jurors that are appointed to serve at next Court of Common 
Pleas, to be holden at Charlestown in and for The County of Cheshire, on the 12th 
day of April Instant, shall serve at the General Sessions of the Peace to be 
holden at said Charlestown on the 14th day of Instant April. Joseph Hubbard 
and Asa Jones was appointed to serve the Courts aforesaid as jurors. 

At a legal town meeting holden in the town of Claremont, at the meeting 
house in said town on July the 8th, 1774, Voted and chose Deak'n Matthias Stone, 
Moderator. At the same meeting a vote was called to see whether the town 
would stand trial with Mr. John Kilborn, who had commenced an action against 
said town for boarding the wife of Samuel Lewis and her children, by order of 
the Selectmen. Voted not to stand trial on the above action. 

At the same meeting Voted to raise on the inhabitants of said town money for 
the discharging the several debts hereunder mentioned : 

To Lieut. John Kilborn for keeping the wife and children 



of Samuel Lewis and his children 


92 6 


£4 12 6 


To Joseph Hubbard .... 


23 8 


1 3 8 


To Daniel Curtis .... 


16 9 2-6 16 9 2-4 


To Capt. Sumner .... 


13 


13 


To Capt. Brooks .... 


22 9 


1 2 9 


To Lieut. Joseph Taylor 


17 6 


6 17 6 




6 63 38 2-4 



Thier several accompts being exhibited in the open town meeting and allowed by 
vote. 
The above meeting was dissolved by 

Matthias Stone, Moderator. 

At a town meeting on the thirteenth of September, 1774, 

Voted and chose Capt. Benjamin Sumner to be Agent for the town to stand trial 
against a bill found by the Grand Jury for said County, against said town for 
not building a bridge over Sugar River on the road leading from Mr. Thomas 
Jones northward over said River. 

Voted to raise money for the defraying the charges of said suit and collect it 
in the next Provincial rate that is gathered in said Town. 

At a town meeting on June 15, 1775, "For the purpose of hear- 
ing the reports of Mr. Oliver Ashley from Provincial Congress and 
to choose a Committee of Safety, &c.," 

Voted that the town is fully satisfied with the doings of our Member, Mr. Oliver 
Ashley, at the Provincial Congress, holden at Exeter on the 17th of May last. 
Voted and chose Capt. Joseph Wait, Ens'n Oliver Ashley, Mr. Thomas Gustin, 



HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 35 

Mr. Asa Jones, Jacob Roys, Eleazer Clark and Lieut. Joseph Taylor a Commit- 
tee of Safety in this town. 

Voted that Mr. Oliver Ashley shall attend Provincial Congress till further 
orders. 

At a town meeting on December 15, 1775, " Capt. Joseph "Wait 
was chosen Representative to attend the Provincial Congress to be 
held at Exeter on the 21st day of December next." 

Voted that said member shall have full power with the other members of said 
Colony to resolve themselves into such a House as the Continental Congress 
shall recommend for taking up Government in the Colony. 

In accordance with an order of the Provincial Congress, the cen- 
sus of Kew Hampshire was taken in 1775. The following is a 
verbatim return of Claremont : 

Males under 16 years of age 148 

Males from 16 to 50 — not in the army .... 125 

All males above 60 years of age ...... 18 

Persons gone in the army 1 

All females 231 

Negroes, and slaves for life 

Total 523 

The number of fire-arms in the Town of Claremont fit for actual service, 60 
stand ; 65 wanted. 
Colony of New Hampshier, Claremont, Oct'r 13th, 1775. 
A true Number. Attest, 

Matthias Stone, 
Oliver Ashley, 

Selectmen. 

Thus it will be seen that in this year the number of inhabitants 
in Clarement was five hundred and twenty-three. In the year 1776 
the number of new settlers fell so far short of the number of re- 
movals that in the winter of 1777-78, according to tradition, there 
were only forty families in town, which, being estimated at eight 
persons in each family, — considerably more than the subsequent 
and present average, — we find a reduction of two hundred in the 
population in the short space of two years. Among those who left 
about this time was Colonel Benjamin Sumner, who took up his 



1154040 



36 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

residence in Long Island. He was suspected of being on friendly 
terms with the British. He occasionally made short visits to this 
town, when on his journeys to and from Canada, carefully avoid- 
ing any contact with his former townsmen, excepting certain known 
and well-tried friends. Several attempts were made by the Com- 
mittee of Safety and other ardent Whigs to arrest him when on his 
flying visits, but without success. 

The order for this census required a return of " The Number of 
Fire Arms in the respective Districts fit for use, and the number 
wanting to complete one for every person capable of using them," 
and it was "further strictly enjoined upon all Selectmen and Com- 
mittees to endeavor to prevent all persons from burning their Pow- 
der in shooting at Birds and other Game." 

At a town meeting held December 10, 1776, 

"Voted and chose Mr. Elihu Stevens for a Representative to represent s'd town 
in the Assembly to be held at Exeter on the third Wednesday in December next, 
at 3 of the clock in the afternoon, and also empowerd said Representative for 
the term of one year from their first meeting. 

Then proceeded and voted for two Counsellors for the Province of Cheshire 
and State of New Hampshire, in obedience to the warrant. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1777, 

John Sprague was chosen Constable on the south side of Sugar River, Edwin 
Goodwin was chosen Constable on the north side of Sugar River. 

Voted to pay the Rev'd Mr. Angustine Hibbard's third year's salary in good 
wheat at five shillings per Bushel ; in good well fatted pork at four pence per 
pound; good flax, well dressed at eight pence per pound, and other articles of 
provision or labor in jjroportion to the above Articles. 

Benning "Wentworth was commissioned governor of the Prov- 
ince of New Hampshire in 1741. In 1767 he resigned his office in 
favor of his nephew, John Wentworth, a son of Mark Hunking 
Wentworth, and to his nephew and successor in office it was sup- 
posed he would bequeath the bulk of his large estate. But in 1759, 
on his sixtieth birthday — being a childless widower — he had mar- 
ried Martha Hilton, his twenty years old servant girl, a young 
woman of matchless beauty, ready wit, and good sense, but very 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 37 

poor, and died childless at the age of seventy-four years, in 1770. 
To her he bequeathed by his will, executed but a short time before 
his death, almost his entire property. Events which followed the 
death of the late Governor caused great uneasiness and perplexity 
to the owners of lands reserved by himself in townships granted by 
him. Those reservations were carefully located with reference to 
timber, soil and other advantages, and were bought at high prices 
by actual settlers. Doubtless the late Governor intended, and sup- 
posed he had, invested the several grantees with titles which could 
never be disputed, much less disturbed. 

The hopes of his successor in office being cut off, he determined, 
if possible, to oust the young widow from her inheritance. Long 
forgotten claims against the late Governor's estate were unearthed 
and brought forward, suits at law were commenced, and even in 
some instances forcible entries were made upon the lands devised. 
But these proceedings, so long as they were confined within the 
range of the domestic circle, were but little noticed by the public. 
It was not long, however, before the new Governor began to turn 
his attention to the reservations made by his deceased uncle in 
grants of townships. He submitted the question to the Council 
" whether the reservations of five hundred acres in the several 
townships made by the late Governor Benning Wentworth, in the 
charter grants, conveyed the title to him ? " The Council deter- 
mined this question in the negative. The Governor then asked 
whether they would advise him to grant the said tracts to such of 
his majesty's subjects as should settle and cultivate the same? To 
this they gave their assent. It may be stated that of the council- 
lors seven on this occasion were relatives of the governor. 

The next step was to dispossess all who had derived their title to 
the reserved lots through the late Governor. This extraordinary 
movement brought forth, in rapid succession, its legitimate results. 
The occupants of the disputed lands at once determined to defend 
their estates at whatever cost. The officers of the government used 
every artifice in their power to accomplish the object of their mis- 
sion, but the settlers remained firm and uncompromising. Threats, 
insults, and violence were resorted to, but without success. A few, 



88 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

alarmed at the prospect of a lawsuit and intimidated by the men- 
aces of officers, relinquished their titles, and at no inconsiderable 
expense repurchased their possessions. Complaints were at last 
sent to the Lords of Trade of England, and measures were 
taken to examine into the acts and conduct of the Governor. The 
Council undertook to reply to the charges made against themselves 
and the Governor. "With their defense were sent depositions from 
persons in all ranks and professions testifying in favor of the Gov- 
ernor. " In reference to the matter before us," it was declared by 
the King in Council, that " the lands granted to the late Governor 
were granted in the name of the King, which was sufficient to em- 
power him to convey a title, and that the Council was mistaken in 
directing otherwise." 

In accordance with this decision the Governor was directed not to 
disturb the title or interest of those who had purchased of the late 
Governor and had complied with the terms of the charter, by actu- 
ally occupying and improving the lands. Lieut. George Hubbard, 
father of the late Isaac Hubbard, Esq., and great-grandfather oi 
Isaac Hubbard Long, the present owner and occupant of the farm, 
was the owner of the governor's reservation in this town. He was 
an early settler, having come here in 1778, and had made consid- 
erable improvements upon his lands. The possession of these was 
considered by the Governor and those employed by him to dispos- 
sess Mr. Hubbard, as very desirable. They were favorably located, 
and the common prediction that Claremont was destined to become 
a wealthy and prominent town rendered them of still more import- 
ance. Hence no effiart was spared which might insure success to 
the undertaking. But Mr. Hubbard was not the man to be deluded, 
driven, or persuaded to acceptance of the terms or inducements held 
out to him to part with that which he wished to retain. His reply 
to those who from time to time attempted to dispossess him of what 
he regarded as his rights, almost invariably was, " The law sustains 
me, if law is common sense, and neither the Governor nor His 
Majesty King George shall drive me from this soil." Mr. Hubbard 
had early been informed, through Peter Livius, Esq., one of the 
Council, that preparations were making to lay the whole matter 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 39 

before the King's Council, and doubtless felt quite sure that the 
acts of the late Governor, unless clearly illegal, would never be dis- 
countenanced by the King. The title of the late Governor to the 
lands in question being confirmed by the King in Council, the own- 
ers were relieved from further anxiety. 

The committee, Benj. Brooks and Benj. Sumner, chosen at the 
first town meeting to lay out a highway to Newport, in pursuance 
of this duty, began about half a mile, south of the middle point of 
the west line of the town, and proceeded easterly in a straight line 
to Sugar river. The course was not varied by hills or valleys. The 
width of the highway was uniformly ten rods. This road passed 
through what is now the south part of the village, near the Stevens 
High School building. It was the custom to reserve strips of land 
ten rods in width between adjacent tiers or divisions of lots, with 
the intention that whenever lands might be taken for actual high- 
ways, the owners of lands so appropriated could be compensated 
from the " reservations." Hence it is found that the one hun- 
dred acre lots generally contain one hundred and five acres each. 

In 1769 the settlement of the town had so far progressed that 
husbands who had provided cabins sent for their wives and chil- 
dren, and single men began to consider the subject of matrimony. 
Barnabas Ellis and Elizabeth Spencer were the first couple married 
in Claremont according to the usages of civilized society. There 
being no one in town empowered to perform the ceremony, the 
Rev. Bulkley Olcott of Charlestown was sent for to officiate. There 
were no roads through the wilderness, and a brother of the bride 
was sent to act as pioneer for the clergyman and to procure new 
rum for the wedding. All the people in town were invited. The 
ceremony was performed in a log cabin, — the largest and best 
adapted one in the neighborhood for such a gathering. It con- 
tained three rooms, and a chamber which was reached by a ladder 
made of spruce poles. The guests were seated upon benches, 
stools, and blocks of wood. In front of the happy pair was a stand 
upon which was a Bible, hymn book, and a full tumbler of the bev- 
erage provided. The parties being in order the minister approached 
the stand, and with becoming dignity took up the tumbler, and 



40 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

after a generous sip of its contents, said : " I wish you joy, my 
friends, on this occasion." A chapter from the Bible was read, a 
hymn was sung, — the minister reading a line and those present 
singing each line as read. The marriage knot was then solemnly 
and duly tied, a long prayer offered and the ceremony was com- 
plete. Then followed toasts, jokes, and merriment, interspersed 
with black-strap. 

Mr. Ellis was one of the early settlers. He filled several town 
offices, was a lieutenant in the continental army, and was with 
Ethan Allen's expedition against Forts Ticonderoga and Crown 
Point, in 1775, and in the battle of Bennington, August 16, 1777. 
He purchased a tract of land on Town hill, where he lived, hon- 
ored and respected, and died in 1837. The farm continued the 
home of his youngest son, William Ellis, until his death, in 1880, 
and is now owned by his grandson, William Barnabas Ellis. 

Since the termination of the French and Indian War, in 1760, 
the Indians had not troubled the settlements along the Connect- 
icut river. Game and fish were very abundant, and occasionally 
they resorted in small numbers to their old hunting and fishing 
grounds, but their visits were few and short. Probably they 
never occupied the territory in this vicinity as a permanent or 
habitual abode, as no relics of the race have ever been discovered 
in the neighborhood which would indicate it. At the time 
referred to a single Indian by the name of Tousa still lingered 
in the west part of the town, and claimed certain territory as his 
hunting ground, on which he mostly stayed. Tradition has it 
that he had been chief of a tribe who were once lords of the soil, 
but now were either exterminated or had removed to Canada. 
But he seemed determined not to relinquish the possessions of 
his ancestors to the aggressive palefaces. Though he continued 
to remain here for several years after the settlement of the town, 
and at last died on what he termed his own soil, yet he sought 
no intercourse or friendship with the new occupants, but followed 
his favorite pursuits — fishing and hunting. It was known that 
he had borne a conspicuous part in the bloody and devastating 
expeditions against Charlestown, Keene, and other English colo- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 41 

nies, and it was feared that he might be still lurking about, 
watching an opportunity to enact similar scenes. 

He had frequently warned the white hunters not to trespass 
upon his ground, and they generally heeded his warning. He 
was present at the raising of the frame of Union church in 1773, 
^nd expressed great indignation at the erection of so large a 
building, seeming to regard it as an encroachment upon his rights. 
He became crazed with too much fire-water, was boisterous, and 
loudly threatened to shoot any white hunter who should intrude 
on his territory. One Timothy Atkins, a full match for Tousa 
In size and strength, between whom and the Indian a bitter 
.enmity had long existed, hearing these threats, determined to 
liunt on Jthe forbidden ground. One morning he went off in that 
direction alone, with his gun heavily charged, after which Tousa 
was never seen or heard of, and his sudden disappearance was 
£i mystery. In 1854, Josiah Hart, now living, in digging on his 
premises — territory which was claimed by Tousa as his ground 
- — unearthed a skeleton, which from its great size, and the form 
^f the skull and face bones, was believed to be that of the last 
Indian habitue of Claremont. 

The territory claimed by Tousa as his hunting ground was on 
the north side of Sugar river, and embraced parts of the farms of 
ihe late Messrs. Danford Rice, Dr. S. G. Jarvis, and John Tyler. 

In the spring of 1767 Benjamin Tyler, a mill-wright and an 
ingenious and enterprising mechanic, came from Farmington, 
•Conn., to Claremont on foot. In March of that year the grantees 
voted him two acres of land on Sugar river for a mill yard, with 
the privilege of the stream, on condition that he build a mill or 
mills and keep them in repair for ten years. That summer he 
built the first dam across that river at West Claremont, in the 
same place where the Jarvis and Coy dam now is, and then 
returned to Farmington. The next March he brought his wife, 
fiix children, and his household effects here on an ox sled. There 
being no roads he came on the ice of Connecticut river from 
JBellows Falls. He was delayed at Montague, Mass., several days 



42 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

by a snow storm, and in the time made a pair of cart wheels- 
for the tavern keeper to pay for his entertainment. 

While building his dam Mr. Tyler lived in a rude hut under 
a fallen pine tree, near where the dam was built. When he ar- 
rived in Claremont with his family, in March, 1768, they stopped 
at the log house of Daniel Warner, located on the meadow near 
where Lottery bridge now stands. This was the second house 
built in town, the first one being built by Samuel Ashley on what 
has since been known as Ashley meadow, a short distance north 
of Ashley ferry. Soon after the arrival of Mr. Tyler the ice 
in Connecticut river broke up, formed a dam near the mouth of 
Sugar river, the water set back onto the meadow, and the inmates 
of the Warner house were forced, to save their lives, to make 
their escape on rafts and a canoe. The house and its entire 
contents were carried away and destroyed. 

Mr. Tyler was born at Wallingford, Conn., on February 22, 
1732 — George Washington's birthday — married Mahitabel An- 
drews, and removed to Farmington, Conn., where they had seven 
children born to them, the first of which died in infancy. At 
the first town meeting, in March, 1768, and before his arrival 
with his family, Mr. Tyler was chosen one of the selectmen, was 
subsequentlv re-elected several times, and held other offices of 
honor and trust in the town. That summer he built, in con- 
nection with his dam, grist and saw mills on the north side of 
the river. At the raising of the frame of the grist mill, which 
was no common event, the settlers in the vicinity were present 
to help, some of them coming twenty miles. Mr. Tyler had 
brought with him from Connecticut half a barrel of West India 
rum for this occasion. It was not tapped until the work of raising 
the frame was finished. Any kind of spirituous liquor was a rarity 
in town in those daj^s, and some of the men indulged so freely 
as to be overcome by it, were unable to reach their homes that 
night, and slept by the side of fallen trees in the forest. 

For two or three years the crops were almost a failure, and 
the settlers suffered greatly in consequence. As soon as he got 
his mills in order, Mr. Tyler ground corn and other grain for 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 43 

the settlers over a considerable extent of territory, many bringing 
their grists through the forest for miles on their backs. He also 
got out lumber, and being a carpenter as well as millwright, su- 
perintended the building of many framed houses and barns in 
the next few years, the most of them in the west part of the 
town. He built for himself what was for those days a large twa 
story house, the same that has for many years been well known 
as the Maynard tavern stand. 

The first framed house in town was built by Benedick Roys, 
about a hundred rods east from James P. Upham's residence, 
on Town hill. In 1807 Benjamin Grundy moved it to its present 
location, finished it in a few years, and then sold it to Benjamin 
Tyler, father of West Part John Tyler, as he was called, to dis- 
tinguish him from John Tyler of Claremont village. The house 
and surrounding lands, after the death of his father, Benjamin 
Tyler, the younger, passed into the possession of West Part Johm 
Tyler, who spent most of his life there, and from it was carried 
direct to his last resting place by the side of his ancestors, in the- 
cemetery near Union church, in which he had worshiped all his 
life. This house is still standing and is occupied by his widow. 

Town meetings for several years prior to 1792 were held at pri- 
vate houses and at the tavern of Ebenezer Rice. 

In the warrant for a town meeting to be held on the eighth day 
of December, 1794, was this article, " To choose one of the following 
persons, viz: Abel Foster, Esq., or Paine Wingate, Esquire, they 
having the highest number of votes next to those already elected to 
represent this State in the Congress of the United States, to hold 
his place for two years from the fourth day of March next." 

The vote of Claremont at the town meeting was, for Abel Foster, 
Esq., 43; Paine Wingate, Esq., 28. Abel Foster, a clergyman of 
Canterbury, was elected. 

Prior to 1794, two tax collectors — one on the north and the 
other on the south side of Sugar river — had been chosen. At the 
annual meeting this year it was voted that one man should be 
chosen tax collector for the whole town, and that the ofiice for the 
ensuing year "should be set up at thirty pounds, and any person 



44 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

should have the right to say how much less he would do it for, with 
the privilege of being Constable, and furnish a good and sufficient 
bondsman." After several bids Joseph Rice declared that he would 
comply with the conditions and perform the duty for the sum of 
nineteen shillings and eight pence, and he was chosen. 

It was voted to raise one hundred and twenty pounds for the sup- 
port of schools the ensuing year ; one hundred and twenty pounds 
to repair highways, and sixty pounds to defray incidental expenses. 
The whole number of votes cast for governor was 120, viz : John 
Taylor Gilman, Esq., 112; Simeon 01cott,Esq., 6 ; Bazellah Wood- 
ward, Esq., 1, and Benjamin West, Esq., 1. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1776, 

Voted to choose George Hubbard to inspect the Bank of Connecticut River on 
those days which the law prohibits fishing. 

At a town meeting on August 29, 1796, 

Voted to choose a committee to view the Common & to see what addition was 
necessary to be made to said Common. 

Voted and chose Oliver Ashley, Esq., Moody Dustin, Esq., George Hubbard, 
Gentleman, Giddeon Handerson, Ezra Jones, Gentleman, a committee for the 
above purpose. 

The Committee report that it is necessary to make an addition to the Common 
of three quarters of one acre of land taken on the west side of said Common of 
Capt. Stevens land. 

Voted to accept the report of the Committee. 

BURYING YARD AND COMMON. 

At a town meeting on August 27, 1792, 

Voted to give of the school lot two acres of Land for a Burying Yard near the 
Meeting House. 

At the same meeting 

Voted to accept the Highway beginning at Atkins Bridge by the meeting house 
so through Mr. James Strobridge land. Voted to exchange one acre and two 
rods of land on the school lot No. 29, with Samuel Whitter for one acre & two 
rods of Ground which the meeting house stands on. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 45 



At the annual town meeting, on March 10, 1778, " Dea. Matthias 
Stone and Dr. Thos. Sterne were chosen a committee to petition 
the Assembly in the State of New Hampshire that no land Tax may 
be laid on the lands in the Town of except nonresident lands 

only, and that s'd Committee shall ofler the Town's reasons and 
their remonstrance against it." 

SMALL POX. 

On February 7, 1788, in legal meeting, the town voted that 
" they would admit of a Pest House to be set up or procured for ' 
the purpose of Innoculating for the small pox if leave can be ob- 
tained of the Sessions of the Peace," and that " Capt. George Hub- 
bard, Sanford Kingsbury, Esq., and Ambrose Cossit, Esq., be a 
committee to over see the affairs or take due measures to prevent 
the Small Pox from spreading from those that are Innoculated." 

At a town meeting on January 19, 1792, 

Voted to discontinue the pest houses or liberty of Innoculating in s'd Town, 

In 1783 there is no record of an annual town meeting for the 
choice of the usual town officers. During that year there were 
several town meetings, but mention is only made of the assemblings 
and adjournments without the transaction of any business, except- 
ing in jN"ovember, when a vote was passed to " assess the town or 
Claremont in the sum of 130 pounds lawful money to pay the re- 
maining part of Rev. Mr. Hibbard's settlement," and also to "raise 
money to pay the bondsmen of Capt. Benj. Sumner, on account 
of the charges incidental to the settlement of the late Mr. Whea- 
ton's estate." 

PAPER CURRENCY. 

At town meeting on August 8, 1786, 

Voted that this State make a Bank of paper Cuirency. Voted to choose a Com- 
mittee of five men to give our Representative instruction how and in what man- 
ner s'd money shall be made to answer the publick interest, and also in what 
manner said money shall be drawn out of the Treasury to answer the most valu- 
able purpose. 



46 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Samuel Ashley, Jun., Major OVv Ashley, Elihu Stevens, Esq'r, Lt. Benjamin 
Tyler & Dea. Matthias Stone were chosen a Committee for ye above purpose. 

At a town meeting on ITovember 21, 1786, this committee re- 
ported apian which they had agreed upon for a paper currency, 
and " Eighteen voted for the plan proposed to make paper money 
five voted against s'd plan." 

To make this matter as clear as possible at this remote period, it 
may be stated that at the close of the Revolutionary War the gen- 
eral government as well as the states, was involved in debt. " Sil- 
ver and gold, which had been extensively circulated during the last 
years of the war, were now returning by the usual course of trade 
to those countries whence large quantities of necessary and un- 
necessary commodities had been imported." The country was 
drained of specie, and congress then possessed no power to lay im- 
posts, and there was no check to this universal flow from the pub- 
lic treasury. To remedy existing evils taxations upon polls and 
estates were resorted to, and thus frequent and almost insupport- 
able burdens were thrown upon the husbandman and the laborer. 

Hence arose a clamor throughout the state for the establishment 
of a paper currency. In almost every town was a party in favor of 
this measure. It was insisted that through this method life would 
be imparted to commerce and encouragement to agriculture ; that 
the poor would thereby be provided with means for the payment 
of their debts and taxes, and finally that it would act as an eff*ect- 
ual check to the operations of speculators and monopolists. 

To still the clamor and ascertain the real sentiments of the people 
upon the subject, the General Assembly in session at Exeter, on Sep- 
tember 13, 1786, formed a plan for the emission of fifty thousand 
pounds to be loaned at four per cent on land securities, and this to 
be a tender in payment of taxes, and for the fees and salaries of 
public officers. This plan was sent to the several towns, and the 
people were requested to give their opinions in town meeting for 
and against it, and to make return of the votes to the Assembly at 
its next session. This plan, however, did not meet with public ap- 
probation, — a majority of the people having voted against it. 



CHAPTER ni. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE GRANTS — VERMONT CONTROVERSr. 

In 1749 a controversy arose between Governor Benning Went- 
worth of ]!^ew Hampshire and Governor George Clinton of New 
York, as to their respective jurisdictions over the territory now 
forming the state of Vermont, concerning the western line of the 
Province of New Hampshire, and the eastern line of New York. 
Governor Wentworth claimed that by the King's commission to 
him he had authority to grant townships on the west side of Con- 
necticut river, according to Williams's History of Vermont, extend- 
ing to a line "twenty miles east of Hudson river, as far as that ex- 
tended to the northward ; and after that as far west as the eastern 
shore of Lake Champlain;" while Governor Clinton claimed that 
he had jurisdiction over all the lands from the west side of Con- 
necticut river to the east side of Delaware bay. Governor Went- 
worth had granted the township of Bennington, gave to it his own 
name, and continued to give grants of townships on the west side 
of Connecticut river until August, 1764, On December 28, 1763, 
Mr. Colden, Lieutenant-Governor of New York, issued a proclama- 
tion " commanding the sheriff of the county of Albany to make 
return of the names of all persons who had taken possession of 
lands under the New Hampshire grants; and claiming jurisdiction 
Bs far east as Connecticut river," by virtue of a royal grant to the 
Duke of York. 

The government of New York resorted to many methods to dis- 
possess all those who had derived their titles from Governor Went- 
worth. Officers were sent among them, commanding them to 
deliver up their premises ; landlords claimed rent, and attempted to 



48 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

collect it ; actions were commenced against the occupants, which^ 
being brought in the courts of 'New York, were invariably decided 
against the defendants. Long and bitter controversies arose, and 
the sturdy settlers, determined not to yield, resorted to arms in 
defense of their estates. Acts of violence were frequent, and the 
officers of New York often found the physical power was on the 
side of the settlers. There were among the inhabitants many 
daring, intrepid men, ready to encounter danger, if necessary, and 
by no means scrupulous of the observance of " points of law," as- 
settled by the courts of Kew York. 

The early settlers of l^ew Hampshire, especially the western por- 
tion of the province, as well as those of Vermont, were not, like 
the Plymouth colonists, actuated solely in their enterprises by re- 
ligious motives. Their association consisted primarily more in 
the regulations of mercantile companies than in civil legislation ; 
though, from the necessity of the case, the latter became their con- 
dition in the process of time. Speculation and the acquisition of 
wealth formed the basis of their movements ; and it is thought that,- 
judged in accordance with the principles of sound morality andlaw^ 
their acts would in some instances have been considered oppressive 
and unjust. The institutions of religion were not disregarded. In 
many cases, among the first of their legislative corporate acts was 
the providing for a minister "to come and settle among" them. 
Particularly was this the case with the first settlers of Claremont^ 

Soon after the declaration of American independence the in- 
habitants of the territory in question assembled to take into con- 
sideration their peculiar condition, and to provide means of safety. 
The situation of the country created, as they believed, a radical 
change in their political connections. By the dissolution of the- 
bonds which had subjected America to the rule of Great Britain, 
they imagined that all acts sanctioned by the authority of the 
mother country were abrogated, and no longer binding; and hence 
conceiving themselves free from the government of New York, to- 
which they had never willingly submitted, and being, as they 
declared, " reduced to a state of nature," they insisted that they had 
a right to form such association as was agreeable to themselves. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 49 

Accordingly, they made the declaration that " they would at all 
times consider themselves as a free and independent state, capable 
of regulating their own internal police ; that they had the sole, ex- 
clusive right of governing themselves in such manner as they should 
choose, not repugnant to the resolves of Congress ; and that they 
were ready to contribute their proportion to the common defense." 
Guided by these principles, they adopted a plan of government, 
established a code of laws, and petitioned Congress to receive them 
into the Union. 

The inhabitants of the eastern valley of the Connecticut river, 
both on account of location and sympathy, were strongly inclined 
to unite with those on the western side in the formation of a new 
state. They claimed that the original grant to Captain John Mason 
was limited by the line drawn at a distance of sixty miles from the 
sea; that all the lines westward of that line were royal grants, which 
being under the jurisdiction of New Hampshire merely by the 
force of the royal commission, were vacated by the assumed in- 
dependence of the American colonies, and therefore, that all the 
inhabitants of this territory had "reverted to a state of nature." 
By this it was understood that each town retained its corporate 
unity, but was wholly disconnected from any superior jurisdiction. 
They made a distinction between commissions derived from the 
King, revocable at his pleasure, and incorporations granted on 
certain conditions, which conditions having been performed, the 
powers and privileges incident to or resulting from the corporate 
bodies were perpetual. 

They asserted that when the power of the King had been re- 
jected and no longer recognized, the only legal authority remaining 
was vested in their town incorporations, and that the majority of 
each town had a right to control the minority. These views, how- 
ever, did not meet with universal approval. 

Doctor Jeremy Belknap, in his History of New Hampshire, pub- 
lished in 1813, from which valuable work the facts connected with 
this matter are mainly derived, says. 

The majority of some towns was in favor of their former connexion, and in 
those towns where the majority inclined the other way, the minority claimed 



50 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

protection of the government. They supposed that the existence of their town 
incorporations, and the privileges annexed to them, depended on their union to 
New Hampshire ; and that their acceptance of the grants was in effect an ac- 
;Jinowledgment of the jurisdiction, and a submission to the laws of the State 
from which they could not fairly be disengaged without its consent, as the 
State had never injured or oppressed them. 

Much pains were taken by the other party to disseminate the new ideas. 
Conventions were held, pamphlets were printed, and at length a petition was 
drawn in the name of sixteen towns on the eastern side of Connecticut river, 
requesting the new state, which had assumed the name of Vermont, to receive 
them into its union, alleging that they were not connected with any state, with 
respect to their internal police. These towns were Cornish, Lebanon, Dresden 
. — now Hanover, Bath, Lyme, Orford, Piermont, Haverhill, Lyman, Apthorp — 
since divided into Littleton and Dalton — Canaan, Cardigan — now Orange, Lan- 
daff, Gunthwaite — now Lisbon, Morristown — now Franconia, and Enfield. 

The Assembly at first appeared to be against receiving these 
towns ; but the members from those towns which were situated 
near the river on the west side, declared that they would withdraw 
and join with the people on the east side, in forming a new state. 
The question was then referred to the people at large, and means 
were used to influence a majority of the towns to vote in favor of 
the union, which the Assembly could not but confirm. The six- 
teen towns were received, and the Assembly of Vermont passed a 
resolution that other towns on the eastern side of Connecticut river 
might be admitted on procuring a vote of a majority of the inhab- 
itants, as in the election of a representative. 

In 1778 great eftbrt was made to secure the favor of Claremont 
and other towns below in behalf of this movement, but without 
fiuccess. The towns thus admitted gave notice to the government 
of 'New Hampshire, and expressed their desire for an amicable 
adjustment of a jurisdictional line and a friendly interchange. 
Bitter animosities and confusion were the offspring of this act. 
The President of New Hampshire, as the executive was then styled, 
resorted to persuasions and threats in order to reclaim the seceders. 
Vermont was slow to give up an acquisition so valuable, and at 
last both parties appealed to Congress for aid. After long delay, 
Congress declared it an "indispensable preliminary" to the ad- 
mission of Vermont as a member of the United States, that she 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 51 

should " explicitly relinquish all demands of lands and jurisdic- 
tion on the east side of the Connecticut river, and on the west 
side of a line drawn twenty miles eastward of Hudson's River to 
Lake Champlain." 

The resolution being laid before the Assembly of Vermont, in 
session at Charlestown, they voted to " remain firm in the prin- 
ciples on which they had first assumed government, and to hold 
the articles of union inviolate; that they would not submit the 
question of their independence to the arbitrament of any power 
whatever ; but they were willing at present to refer the question 
of their jurisdictional boundary to commissioners mutually chosen; 
and when they should be admitted into the American Union, they 
would submit any such disputes to Congress," 

This state of things produced, as it naturally would, deep re- 
sentment between the people of Kew Hampshire and Vermont, 
w^hich, on slight occasion, would break forth in acts of hostility. 
An example is furnished in an aifray which had its beginning 
at Chesterfield in 1781. A constable, under authority of Vermont, 
had a writ against a man favorable to the interests of New Hamp- 
shire, and went in pursuit of him. He found him in a dwelling 
house, surrounded by his friends, and attempted to arrest him. 
The owner of the house interfered and ordered the oflicer to depart. 
The constable produced a book, which he said contained the laws 
of Vermont, and began to read. The householder commanded 
him to desist. Threatening words followed, and, finally, the officer 
was compelled to retire. Under a writ issued by a Vermont 
justice, the householder and another of the company were arrested 
and committed to prison at Charlestown. The prisoners sent a 
petition to the Assembly of New Hampshire for relief The 
Assembly authorized the Committee of Safety to direct the sheriff 
of Cheshire county to relieve the prisoners ; and, further, empow- 
ered the committee to cause to be committed to prison, in any 
of the counties, all persons acting under the pretended authority 
of the state of Vermont, to be tried b}^ the courts of those counties 
where they might be confined ; and for this purpose sheriffs were 
4lirected to raise the 'posse comitatus. 



52 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

The sheriff of Cheshire county, in the attempt to release the 
two prisoners, was himself arrested and imprisoned by the Ver- 
mont sheriff, under the authority of three justices. The impris- 
oned sheriff applied to a brigadier general of New Hampshire 
to call out the militia for his liberation. This alarmed the Ver- 
monters, and orders were issued by the governor for their militia 
to oppose force with force. A committee from Vermont was sent 
to Exeter " to agree on measures to prevent hostilities." One of 
the committee was the Vermont sheriff, who was immediately 
arrested, thrown into prison at Exeter, and held as a hostage for 
the release of the sheriff of Cheshire. 

There were many instances of collisions and open violence, in 
attempts of officers from each of the two states to collect the taxes 
and enforce other restrictions upon the people. Such was the 
menacing aspect of affairs at this juncture that Congress, from 
motives of general policy, determined to settle the difficulties, if 
possible. General Washington wrote the governor of Vermont 
the following letter : 

Letter from General George Washikgton to Governor Thomas 
Chittenden of Vermont. 

Philadelphia, 1st January, 1782. 

Sir, — I received your favor of the 14th of November, by Mr. Brownson, 
You cannot be at a loss to know why I have not heretofore, and why I cannot 
now address you in your public character or answer you in mine. But the 
confidence which you have been pleased to repose in me, gives me an oppor- 
tunity of offering you my sentiments, as an individual, wishing most ardently 
to see the peace and union of this country preserved, and the just rights of 
the people of every part of it fully and firmly established. 

It is not my business, neither do I think it necessary now, to discuss the 
origin of the right of a number of inhabitants to that tract of Country, for- 
merly distinguished by the name of the New Hampshire Grants, and now known 
by that of Vermont. I will take it for granted that their right was good, be- 
cause Congress, by their resolve of the 7th of August imply it ; and by that of 
the 21st, are willing fully to confirm it, provided the new State is confined to 
certain described bounds. It appears, therefore, to me, that the dispute of 
boundary is the only one that exists, and that being removed, all further diffi- 
culties would be removed also, and the matter terminated to the satisfaction of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 53 

all parties. Now I would ask you candidly, whether the claim of the people 
of Vermont was not, for a long time, confined solely, or very nearly, to that 
tract of country which is described in the resolve of Congress of the 21st of 
August last ; and whether, agreeable to the tenor of your own letter to me, 
the late extension of your claim upon New Hampshire and New York, was not 
more a political move, than one in which you conceived yourselves justifiable. If 
my first question be answered in the affirmative, it certainly bars your new claim. 
And if my second be well founded, your end is answered, and you have nothing 
to do, but withdraw your jurisdiction to the confines of your old limits, and 
obtain an acknowledgment of independence and sovereignty, under the resolve 
of the 21st of August, for so much territory as does not interfere with the 
ancient established bounds of New York, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts. 
I persuade myself you will see and acquiesce in the reason, justice, and indeed, 
the necessity of such a decision. 

You must consider. Sir, that the point now in dispute is of the utmost polit- 
ical importance to the future union and peace of this great country. The State 
of Vermont, if acknowledged, will be the first new one admitted into the con- 
federacy ; and if suffered to encroach upon the ancient established boundaries 
of the adjacent ones, will serve as a precedent for others, which it may here- 
after be expedient to set off, to make the same unjustifiable demands. Thus, 
in my private opinion, while it behoves the delegates of the States now con- 
federated, to do ample justice to a body of people sufficiently respectable by 
their numbers, and entitled by other claims, to be admitted into that confed- 
eration, it becomes them also to attend to the interests of their constituents, 
and see, that under the appearance of justice to one, they do not materially 
injure the rights of others. I am apt to think this is the prevailing opinion 
of Congress, and that your late extension of claim has, upon the principle I 
have above mentioned, rather diminished than increased your friends; and that, 
if such extension should be persisted in, it will be made a common cause, and 
not considered as only affecting the rights of those States immediately inter- 
ested in the loss of territory; — a loss of too serious a nature, not to claim tho 
attention of any people. There is no calamity within the compass of my fore- 
sight, which is more to be dreaded than the necessity of coercion on the part 
of Congress; and consequently every endeavor should be used to prevent the 
execution of so disagreeable a measure. It may involve the ruin of that State 
against which the resentment of the others is pointed. 

I will only add a few words upon the subject of the negotiations, which have 
been carried on between you and the enemy in Canada and in New York. I 
will take it for granted as you assert it, that they were so far innocent, that 
there never was any serious intention of joining Great Britain in their attempts 
to subjugate your country; but it has had this certain bad tendency — it has 
served to give some ground to that delusive opinion of the enemy, and upon 
which, they in a great measure, found their hopes of success; that they have 



54 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

numerous friends among us, who only want a proper opportunity to show them- 
selves openly ; and that internal disputes and feuds will soon break us to pieces. 
At the same time the seeds of distrust and jealousy are scattered among our- 
selves by a conduct of this kind. If you are serious in your professions, these 
will be additional motives for accepting the terms which have been offered, 
(and which appear to me equitable) and thereby convincing the common enemy, 
that all their expectations of disunion are vain, and that they have been worsted 
at their own weapons — deception. 

As you unbosom yourself to me, I thought I had the greater right of speaking 
my sentiments openly and candidly to you. I have done so, and if they should 
produce the effect which I most sincerely wish — that of an honorable and 
amicable adjustment of a matter, which if carried to hostile lengths, may de- 
stroy the future happiness of my country — I shall have attained my end, while 
the enemy will be defeated of theirs. 

Believe me to be, with great respect. 

Sir, your most obedient Servant, 

George Washixgton. 
Thomas Chittenden, Esquire. 

Although the town records are silent upon the subject, it would 
seem from the following, copied from the New Hampshire Pro- 
vincial and State Papers, Vol. X., p. 483, that Claremont, if not 
in hearty accord with either side of this controversy, in common 
with othei* towns more actively engaged, had her trials in con- 
sequence of it. 

Petition of sundry inhabitants of Claremont, praying for speedy 
relief from difficulties of Vermont interference. 

To the Honorable General Assembly or Committee of Safety for the State of 

New Hampshire: 

We, the Inhabitants, as individuals, of the Town of Claremont Laboring 
under great Difficulties on account of the pretended claim of Vermont, & not 
being able to Hold Town meetings under New Hampshire, we Humbly Request 
Directions how to proceed, as we are threatened in person & and property, by 
their taxes and Laws, which we utterly refuse to submit to, they carry so 
High a hand that we must have a speedy relief or must submit to their Juris- 
diction which will be very grievous to your petitionei'S and therefore we Humbly 
pray for a speedy answer. We are short in words & perticulars as being sen- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 5& 

sible you are in some measure knowing to our circumstances, & we your peti- 
tioners in Duty Bound shall ever pray. 
Claremont, Jan'y 14, 1782. 

Elihu Everts Wm Strobridge Jesse Matthews 

Henry Stevens Gideon Davis Thomas Jones 

Roswell Stevens David Rich Joseph Ives 

Rueben Petty Josiah Stevens Bartlett Hinds 

Josiah Rich Elihu Stevens John West 

John Peckens T. Sterne 

The effect of General Washington's letter to Governor Chitten- 
den was salutary. At a session of the Vermont Assembly at Ben- 
nington, on the nineteenth of February, 1782, it resolved itself into 
a committee of the whole to take into consideration the action of 
Congress on the seventh and twenty-first of August, 1781, — His 
Excellency Gov. Chittenden in the chair, — and also the letter of 
Gen. Washington of January 1, 1782. The next day the committee 
adopted the following resolution : 

Resolved, That in the opinion of this Committee, Congress, in their resolu- 
tions of the 7th and 21st of August last, in guaranteeing to the respective states 
of New York and New Hampshire all territor}- without certain limits therein 
expressed, have eventually determined the boundary of this State. ^ 

This resolution being accepted and adopted by the Assembly, 
then on the twenty-second of February, 1782", an act was passed 
" to relinquish the claims to territory therein mentioned," and on 
the twenty-third it was 

Besolved, That the west bank of Connecticut River & a line beginning at the 
northwest corner of the Massachusetts State, from thence northward twenty 
miles east of Hudson's river, as specified in the Resolutions of August last, shall 
be considered as the east and west boundaries of this State, and that this assem- 
bly do hereby relinquish all claim and demand to the right of Jurisdiction in and 
over any and every district of territory without said boundary lines ; and that 
authenticated copies of this Resolution be forthwith officially transmitted to 
Congress and the States of New Hampshire and New York respectively. 

This relinquishment of jurisdiction by Vermont substantially- 
ended the controversy between that state and New Hampshire, so 

1 Dr. N. Bouton's notes, Provincial Papers, Vol. X., page 485. 



56 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

far as boundaries were concerned, but Dr. Belknap, in his history 
before alluded to, said, " Though cut off from their connexion 
with Vermont, the revolted towns did not at once return to a state 
of peace, but the divisions and animosities which had long sub- 
sisted continued to produce disagreeable effects." 

The members of the Assembly from the east side of the river, find- 
ing themselves thus virtually cut off' from the legislative body, took 
their leave with chagrin and feelings of resentment. Though ex- 
cluded from their recent connection, the excluded towns did not at 
once peaceably place themselves under their former jurisdiction, but 
for some time continued to keep alive the difficulties and animos- 
ities which had so long existed. During these strifes the courts of 
New Hampshire had held their regular sessions, with but little op- 
position, though the officers of Vermont claimed and exercised 
jurisdiction in the same territory ; but when the latter were de- 
prive'd of authority by the Assembly of Vermont, a spirit of resist- 
ance against the former became apparent. 

In September, 1782, during the sitting of the Inferior court at 
Keene, several persons attempted to stop its proceedings, and suc- 
ceeded in effecting an adjournment. Three of the leaders were ar- 
rested and bound over to the Superior court. Meanwhile efforts 
were being made to resist and overpower the Superior court. Ee- 
ports were circulated that two hundred men had combined and 
armed themselves for that purpose. On the morning of the open- 
ing of the court several of the leaders went to the chambers of the 
court and presented a petition, praying " that the court might be 
adjourned, and that no judicial proceedings might be had while the 
troubles in which the country had been involved still subsisted." 
They were told that the judges could come to no decision upon the 
subject but in open court. The court was opened in due time, the 
petition was publicly read and its consideration postponed to the 
next day. The court then proceeded to its business. The grand 
jury were impaneled, and, with open doors, the attorney-general 
laid before them the case of the rioters at the Inferior court. A 
bill was found against them, they were arraigned, pleaded guilty, 
and threw themselves upon the mercy of the court. The court 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 57 

remitted their punishment on condition of future peaceable be- 
havior. 

This method of firmness and lenity at once disarmed the disturb- 
ers, and they quietly dispersed. From this time the spirit of insub- 
ordination gradually died away, and the people quietly returned to 
their allegiance to New Hampshire. 

New Hampshire was first settled in 1628, by Edward and Wil- 
liam Hilton, brothers, from London, and David Thompson, from 
Scotland. For eighteen years after the first settlement the people 
in the several plantations were governed by agents appointed by 
the proprietors, or by magistrates chosen by themselves. In 1641 
they were united with Massachusetts, and so continued until 1680, 
when New Hampshire became a royal province, and continued a 
provincial government until the Revolution, with the exception of 
the interim from 1688 to 1692, when the people, in consequence of 
the disorders and confusion which attended the short but oppressive 
administration of Sir Edmund Andros, again placed themselves 
under the protection of Massachusetts. Massachusetts was made a 
province in 1692, and the same person was governor of both prov- 
inces from 1699 to 1741, when a separate governor was appointed 
for New Hampshire, and this was the beginning of Governor Ben- 
ning "Wentworth's administration. He was a son of Lieutenant 
Governor Wentworth, "was a merchant of good reputation in 
Portsmouth, and well beloved by his people." He had represented 
his town in the Assembly several years, and had been a member of 
the Council, 

During the commotions excited by the stamp act he was careful 
not to make himself conspicuous in the ranks of either party. At 
that time he had been in the executive chair twenty-five years, and 
expected that his successor would soon be appointed. The long 
term of his administration gives reason to believe that his acts, as a 
whole, were not oppressive or dissatisfactory to the people. He had 
become quite wealthy, though it is not charged that he filled his 
cofifers by extortions from the people. His grants of land, profuse 
and unauthorized, perhaps, in some instances, proved to be of great 
advantage to New Hampshire in filling up her waste places with 

5 



58 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

industrious and enterprising men, and in laying the foundation for 
that prosperity which ever since his day has marked the progress 
of the state. Under his administration the town of Claremont was 
incorporated, as before stated. 

Vermont had long been a petitioner for admission into the Union. 
The boundaries between IS'ew Hampshire and Vermont and ^ew 
York and Vermont having been determined by Congress, and ac- 
cepted by the Vermont Assembly, and the troubles between the 
towns bordering on Connecticut river in New Hampshire and Ver- 
mont having been virtually settled, Vermont was admitted on equal 
terms with the thirteen original states and became the fourteenth 
state in the confederacy, by virtue of an act of Congress, signed as 
follows : 

Frederick Augustus Muhlenburg, Speaker of the Souse of Representatives ; 
JoHX Adams, Vice President of the United States, and Presideyit of the Senate. 

Approved, February the eighteenth, 1791. GEORGE WASHINGTON, Pres- 
ident of the United States. 

Deposited among the Rolls of the Office of the Secretary of State. 
Th. Jefferson, Secretary of State. 

Here ended the controversy, and times were much better be- 
tween New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York. 



CHAPTER IV. 

FEDERAL AND STATE CONSTITUTIONS. 
FEDERAL CONSTITUTION. 

At a town meeting held on February 7, 1788, Deacon Matthias 
Stone was chosen a delegate to a convention at Exeter to "con- 
sider the Constitution of the United States," and Samuel Ashley, 
Sanford Kingsbury, David Dodge, Benjamin Tyler, Ambrose Cos- 
sit, and Elihu Stevens, " were chosen a committee to instruct the 
delegate how to act." 

According to Dr. Belknap's History of New Hampshire, 
the population of the state in 1788 was about one hundred and 
thirty-four thousand. The New Hampshire convention met at 
Exeter, on the thirteenth of February of that year, " for the In- 
vestigation, Discussion, and Decision of the Federal Constitu- 
tion." Joseph B. Walker, of Concord, prepared with much pains 
and skill a history of this convention, which was published in a 
handsome little volume in 1888, from which most of the facts 
in relation to its proceedings are derived. 

On the first day of the convention there were about fifty dele- 
gates present and a temporary organization was effected. One 
hundred and thirteen delegates were returned to the convention 
from one hundred and seventy-five towns and places. There 
were eight towns that were not represented at the first session 
of the convention, and seven at the second. Each town was 
usually represented by one delegate — Portsmouth, however, sent 
three and Londonderry two, while several small towns joined and 
sent but one — Holderness, Campton, and Thornton were repre- 
sented by Judge Samuel Livermore. Colonel Ebenezer "Webster, 



60 HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 

father of the Hon. Ezekiel and Daniel Webster, was a delegate 
from Salisbury. 

On the second day about one hundred delegates took seats in. 
the convention and a permanent organization was effected by 
the choice of His Excellency John Sullivan, president, and John 
Calef, of Hampstead, secretary. Mr. Walker, in his history, says,. 

A majority of the members were undoubtedly opposed to the Constitution. It 
has been alleged that before the delegates had been chosen, active anti-Federal^ 
ists ^ had visited more or less of the towns which were off the more public lines 
of travel, and induced their citizens, who as yet knew little regarding its pro- 
visions, to instruct their delegates to vote against it.^ 

The talent of the convention was decidedly on the side of the Federalists, and 
a majority of the ablest members were in favor of ratification .^ His Excellency 
John Sullivan, Hon. Samuel Livermore, chief-justice of the supreme court, Hon. 
John Taylor Gilman, Hon. John Langdon, as well as other members of com- 
manding influence, were outsiJoken and earnest for its adoption. These all 
worked in harmony to that end. 

The opposition was led by Hon. Joshua Atherton,who was earnestly supported 
by Captain Charles Barrett, Hon. Abel Parker, Rev. William M. Hooper,^ 
Deacon Matthias Stone, and others. 

It is presumed that Deacon Matthias Stone acted according to 
the directions given him by the committee chosen by the town of 
Claremont, to " instruct the delegate how to act," although no 
record has been found to show w^hat those directions were. 

The constitution was considered by paragraphs, and on some of 
them considerable discussion was had, and continued from day to 
day, for the ensuing seven days. 

For a time the friends of the constitution had hopes of securing its ratification 
without a recess of the convention. Although a greater number of the members- 
from the upper part of the state came down rather opposed to its adoption, yet 
on the final question it was hoped that a majority would be found to favor it.* 
But these hopes proved delusive. While some of the members who came to the 
convention instructed to vote against the constitution, had been led by the dis' 
cussions to a change of opinion and now favored it, they still felt bound by their 



1 Those favoring and those opposing the ratification of the Constitution were respect' 
ively designated as Federalists and anti-Federalists. 

2 Massachusetts Centinel, February 27, 1788. 

3 Memoir of Joshua Atherton, by Hon. C. H. Atherton. 

4 Massachusetts Centinel, February 28, 1788. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 61 

instructions, and frankly said that if a final vote was to be taken before they had 
opportunity to consult their constituents their vote would be adverse to ratifica- 
tion. This would secure a rejection of the constitution, and prejudice unfavora- 
bly its success in those states where conventions were yet to be held. At the 
same time the declaration indicated that some of them would array themselves 
with the friends of the new system of government, could they free themselves 
of the shackles which bound them. Under these circumstances it seemed to the 
friends of the constitution that the wisest course to be pursued Avas 

First, To secure, if possible a recess of the convention. 

Second, During the time to effect, as far as practicable, a change in public 
opinion favorable to the great cause which they had so much at heart, particularly 
in the towns represented by the delegates above mentioned. Their first efibrt, 
therefore, was to secure an adjournment to a future day, suflSciently distant to 
give time for the contemplated effort. 

Mr. Langdon accordingly introduced a resolution to that effect, and urged its 
passage with his wonted force and eloquence. 

Mr. Atherton, Mr. Hooper, Mr. Parker, and Deacon Matthais Stone 
made speeches in opposition to the adoption of the resolution. 
After considerable debate the resolution was adopted by only live 
votes — fifty-six having voted for and fifty-one against its adoption, 
and the convention adjourned to meet at Concord on the eighteenth 
day of June, 1788. 

To make the constitution operative, nine of the thirteen states 
of the confederation must ratify it. Before the assembling of the 
convention six states had ratified it, and between the time of its 
adjournment, February 21, and its re-assembling, on June 18, 
Maryland and South Carolina had ratified the constitution, and 
only one more state was required to make it operative over the 
whole country ; and on the twenty-first of June, 1788, the ISTew 
Hampshire convention, by a vote of fifty-seven yeas to forty-seven 
nays, ratified it by a majority of ten votes. Below are given the 
states, the order in which and the date when each ratified the con- 
stitution, and their population at the time of taking the first census 
by the United States government, in August, 1790. 

STATES. DATE OF RATIFICATION. POPULATION. 

Delaware, December 6, 17S7. 59,096 

Pennsylvania, December 12, 1787. 434,373 

New Jersey, December 18, 1787. 184,189 



62 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



STATES. 


DATE OF RATIFICATION. 


POPULATION. 


Georgia, 


January 2, 1788. 


82,648 


Connecticut, 


January 9, 1788. 


238,141 


Massachusetts, 


February 6, 1788. 


378,717 


Maryland, 


April 28, 1788. 


319,728 


South Carolina, 


May 23, 1788. 


249,073 


New Hampshire, 


June 21, 1788. 


141,899 



During the recess the Federalists of New Hampshire were active in their ex- 
ertions in behalf of the ratification. They were greatly cheered by the results 
of the conventions held in Maryland and South Carolina — in the first of which 
ratification was carried on the twenty-sixth day of April by a vote of sixty to 
eleven, nearly six to one ; and in the latter by one hundred and forty-one to 
sixty-three, or about two to one. 

Dr. Bancroft's history says that 

The vote on ratification was taken on Saturday, June 21, at one o'clock, P. M, 
As the glad tidings flew through the land, the hearts of the people thrilled with 
joy that at last the tree of union was firmly planted. 

This action of 'New Hampshire was regarded all over the coun- 
try as of very great importance, as it really was, and it was cele- 
brated with demonstrations of joy by the people of Rockingham 
county, at Portsmouth, on the twenty-sixth of June, in which many 
prominent men from other sections of the state took part. The 
" New Hampshire Gazette and General Advertiser," in an interest- 
ing account of the celebration, said : " Thursday being the day ap- 
pointed to celebrate the Ratification of the Federal Constitution 
by the State of New Hampshire, a numerous concourse of the in- 
habitants of Portsmouth and neighboring towns being assembled 
on the Parade, about eleven o'clock an armed ship was espied 
from the State House bearing down under full sail ; being hailed 
on her approach, she proved to be the ship Union, Thomas Man- 
ning, Esq., Commander, from Concord, out five days, bound to the 
Federal City, all well and in good spirits. About a quarter past 
eleven she dropped anchor, and having received pilot on board, got 
under way and joined the procession." Celebrations took place 
at Salem, Mass., and other places in New England. 

The session of the convention which ratified the constitution and 
thus made it operative as the fundamental law of the land, was held 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 63 

in the Old North Meeting House' at Concord, which made that 
building ever after one of more than common interest. 

Dea. Matthias Stone, the delegate from Claremont in that con- 
vention, opposed the ratification to the last, and there is no known 
record nor tradition that the people of this town celebrated the 
event by any public demonstration, 

STATE CONSTITUTION. 

On the twenty-eighth day of December, 1775, the fifth and last pro- 
vincial congress of New Hampshire voted to " take up civil govern- 
ment, to continue during the present contest with Great Britain, 
and resolved themselves into a house of representatives, and then 
chose a council to continue one year from the 21st day of Decem- 
ber current," and a committee consisting of Matthew Thornton, 
Mesheck Weare, Ebenezer Thompson, Wyseman Claggett, Benja- 
min Giles, Joseph Giddings, and Joseph Badger, was appointed 
" to frame and bring in a draft of a new constitution for the rule 
and government of the colony." This committee reported on the 
fifteenth day of January, 1776, and the convention voted " That this 
congress take up civil government for this colony," and be gov- 
erned by the constitution as adopted by the convention. 

On the seventh of September, 1791, a convention to revise the 
constitution of the state was held at Concord. Claremont elected 
Sanford Kingsbury a delegate to this convention. Four sessions, 
occupying thirty-six days, were held before the work of revision 
was completed. The constitution as amended was approved by 
the people and it went into effect in June, 1793. By it the title of 
President for the chief executive was changed to that of Governor. 

At a town meeting on May 7, 1792, 

Voted to choose a committee to take into consideration the Constitution with 
the amendments and report thereon. 

The following persons were appointed that committee : " Jabez 
Upham, Esq,, Thomas Sterne, Ebenezer Eice, Elihu Stevens, Esq,, 



1 This building was sold to private parties, turned into a tenement house, occupied as 
such several years, and was destroyed by fire on the night of Nov. 28, 1870. 



64 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Ambrose Cossit, Esq., Ezra Jones, John W. Russel, George Hub- 
bard, Nathan Smith, Josiah Stevens, Giddeon Handerson, and John 
Strobridge." 

At a meeting held on the twenty-first of the same month this 
committee submitted the following report : 

Agreeable to the vote of said Town the Committee have met and taken into 
consideration the constitution with the amendments agree to report as followeth, 
viz — That the several amendments be accepted except the addition to the sixth 
article under the head of Bill of rights in the first amendment and the forty- 
ninth Amendment under the head of secretary &c. 

Attest Ambrose Cossitt, 

Clerk for the Committee. 

This constitution continued the fundamental law of the state 
for nearly sixty years. It provides that " the general court shall, 
at the expiration of seven years from the time this constitution 
shall take effect, issue precepts, or direct them to be issued from 
the secretary's office, to the several towns and incorporated places, 
to elect delegates to meet in convention for the purposes aforesaid; 
the said delegates to be chosen in the same manner and propor- 
tioned as the representatives to the general assembly ; provided, that 
no alteration shall be made in the constitution before the same shall 
be laid before the towns and incorporated places, and approved by 
two-thirds of the qualified voters present and voting upon the 
question." 

The following table, found in " The New Hampshire Manual for 
the General Court," compiled by Hosea B. Carter, Actuary, shows 
the dates of the action on the approval of the several acts of the 
legislature subsequent to 1793, providing for taking the sense of 
the qualified voters on the expediency of calling a convention to 
revise the constitution, and the aggregate affirmative and negative 
votes on the question, as returned to the secretary. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



65 





DATE OF ACT. 


TEA. 


NAY. 


1799 


December 13, 
June 11, 
December 11, 
January 5, 
July 6, 
July], 
June 19, 
July 10, 
July 7, 
June 27, 
July 4. 
July 9, 
August 19, 
July 2, 
July 8, 
July 2, 
July 27, 
August 13, 


2,478 

1,722 

2,407 

4,623 

5,973 

2,821 
10,855 

4,583 
28,877 

2,822 
11,078 

1,044 
18,422 
No vote on record. 
No vote on record. 
28,771 
13,036 
11,466 


4,246 
10,903 


1806 


1820 


13,853 


1833 


11,818 


1833 


12,183 


1837 


16,830 


1844 


20,994 


1846 


12,415 


1849 

1857 


14,482 
18,449 


I860 


9,753 


1862 


12,428 


1864 


15,348 


1868 




1869 




1875 


10,912 


1883 


14,120 


1885 


10,213 







The act of the legislature of 1849, authorizing the calling of a 
convention in 1850, to revise the constitution, as will be seen, was 
approved by a large majority of the voters of the state. Delegates 
were chosen on the eighth of October, and the convention met at 
Concord on the sixth of November, 1850. The delegates from 
Claremont were John S. Walker, P. C. Freeman, and William 
Rossiter. 

Forty thousand dollars had been appropriated by the legislature 
to pay the expenses of the convention ; the people called for but 
few amendments to their fundamental law, and expected a short 
session. But the convention sat forty-six days, the cost far exceeded 
the appropriation, and it adopted fifteen amendments. The people 
were indignant and the voters by a large majority rejected all of 
the proposed amendments. The convention reassembled on the 
sixteenth of April, 1851, and having ascertained the result of the 
vote, adopted the following to be voted on at the annual town 
meeting in 1852: 1st. To abolish the property qualification; 2d. 
To abolish the religious test; 3d. To empower the legislature to 
originate future amendments to the constitution and send them 



66 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

out to the people for acceptance or rejection. The first of these 
amendments was adopted by a two-thirds vote, and the other two 
were rejected. 

This was a notable convention, composed of able men from all 
over the state. Franklin Pierce, afterwards president of the 
United States, was president ; Thomas J. Whipple, secretary ; and 
Charles H. Bell, afterward governor of the state, assistant secretary. 

In 1860 the votes as returned were 11,078 in favor and 9,753 
against calling a convention to revise the constitution. In view 
of the small number of votes cast, probably, the legislature did 
not pass an act authorizing it. In 1864 the returns showed 
18,422 as voting in favor and 15,348 against calling a convention, 
and the legislature did not pass the necessary act. In 1875, the 
legislature passed an enabling act, which was approved by a vote 
28,771 in favor and 10,912 against it. A convention was called 
and assembled at Concord on December 6, 1876, was in session 
eleven days, proposed several amendments, all but two of which 
were ratified by the voters. This amended constitution provides, 
amongst other things, for biennial elections for state and county 
of&cers; biennial sessions of the legislature, and for twenty-four 
instead of twelve state senators. The delegates from Claremont 
to this convention were : John S. Walker, George H. Stowell, 
Nathaniel Tolles, Stephen F. Eossiter, and Albert F. Winn. 

In 1885 the vote in favor of a convention was 11,466, against it 
10,213, and the legislature passed an act providing for one, which 
met at Concord on January 2, 1889, did its business, and adjourned 
on the eleventh of the same month. It proposed several amend- 
ments — one of which was changing the time of the sessions of the 
legislature from June to December — all but two of which were 
adopted by the people at the annual town meeting in March. The 
Claremont delegates to this convention were Ira Colby, George H, 
Stowell, Robert E. Mussey, and Israel D. Hall. 



CHAPTER V. 

COUNTY OF SULLIVAN. 

Prior to 1771 the sessions of the legislature, and of the courts 
for the province of New Hampshire, were held at Portsmouth. In 
that year the province was divided, by act of the legislature, with 
the approval of the King, into five counties, and they were named 
by the Governor, Rockingham, Hillsborough, Cheshire, Straftbrd, 
and Grafton. After the settlement of their several boundaries 
separate courts were established in Rockingham, Hillsborough, and 
Cheshire. The counties of Strafford and Grafton, being sparsely 
settled, were attached to the judicial circuit of Rockingham, till the 
Governor and Council should deem them competent to exercise 
separate jurisdictions; and this was so ordered in 1773. Sub- 
sequently, from time to time, other counties were created and their 
boundaries defined by the legislature. 

Cheshire county extended north from the line of the state of 
Massachusetts to the line of Grafton county, about sixty-five miles, 
and east from the west bank of Connecticut river, about twenty 
miles to the lines of Hillsborough and Merrimack counties, em- 
bracing thirty-eight towns in its territory. Courts were held 
alternately at Keene and Charlestown, at each of which places was 
a jail. To better accommodate the business of the northern part of 
the county, in 1824, the legislature passed an act that the May 
term of the Supreme court should be removed from Charlestown 
to Newport. 

In June, 1826, the question of a division of Cheshire county came 
before the legislature. There was considerable opposition to the 
division, but finally an act passed to submit the question of division 



68 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

to the voters of tlie several towns in Cheshire county, and also, in 
case of a division, the question as to whether the courts and county 
buildings should be located at Claremont or Newport. There was 
much discussion among the people upon both of these questions, 
but the result was decidedly in favor of a division and of !N"ewport 
as the county seat. 

The proposed new county was to comprise the towns of Acworth, 
Charlestown, Claremont, Cornish, Croydon, Goshen, Grantham, 
Langdon, Lempster, Newport, Plainfield, Springfield, Sunapee, 
Unity, and Washington. 

In 1827 the subject came again before the legislature; and w^hile 
it was pending, a name for the new county was being considered. 
In a letter to the author of this history from George W. Nesmith, 
dated July 23, 1878, among other things, he gives an interesting 
account of the way in which the name of Sullivan was settled 
upon, as follows : 

The frieuds of the new county had assembled in the library room in the old 
state house in Concord, and were carrying on an earnest discussion upon the 
subject of the most appropriate name for the proposed new county. We 
recollect the name of Sunapee had advocates. Others objected. Amid the dis- 
xjussion, Colonel Cheney of Newport arose and said — "1 will now propose a name 
against which no one can find objection. It is Sullivan — a name distinguished 
in our history and held in reverence by all our people. For him, who as a gen- 
eral, often for many years led our armies and exposed his life in battle with the 
enemies of our country; and as a civilian, frequently represented us ably in 
Congress; who presided over the convention which brought our state constitu- 
tion into existence; who served us in the capacity of attorney-general and chief 
magistrate for many years, and who has left us a rich legacy in his living and 
accomplished sons. For this man I propose the name of our new county." All 
opposition was hushed and the name of Sullivan was adopted. At this time we 
were standing near Jona. Smith, representative from Peterborough, and James 
Thorn, i-epresentative of Londonderry. Smith remarked to Thom, "That name 
settles the new county;" " Yes," says Thom," the charm of Sullivan's name will 
bring Rockingham and Strafford to the support of the bill, and Hubbard, with 
all his ability and adroitness, may as well hang up his fiddle." So you see the 
virtue of a good name in all times of need. 

On July 5, 1827, the act incorporating the county of Sullivan 
was passed, to take effect the following September. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 6^ 

Sullivan county is about thirty miles long from north to souths 
by about twenty miles wide from east to west. It is bounded 
on the north by Lebanon, Enfield, and Grafton in Grafton county j 
on the east by Wilmot, ]N'ew London, Newbury, and Bradford, 
in Merrimack county, and Hillsborough and Windsor in Hills- 
borough county; and on the south by Stoddard, Marlow, Alstead, 
and "Walpole in Cheshire county; on the west by Rockingham, 
Springfield, Weathersfield, Windsor, and Hartland in the state of 
Vermont. Its population, according to the census of 1890, was 
17,304. 

Sunapee lake — about ten miles long and from two to three 
miles wide — with an elevation above the level of the sea of 
1,103 feet, and 820 feet above the Connecticut at the mouth of 
Sugar river, is partly in the town of Sunapee, in Sullivan county, 
and partly in the towns of New London and Newbury, in Mer- 
rimack county. In the last few years this beautiful lake has- 
attracted large numbers of city people seeking a quiet, inexpen- 
sive, and healthful spot in which to pass a summer vacation. 
Its waters are full of choice fish, and on its surface are five steam- 
boats and other craft, for business and the accommodation of 
pleasure seekers. The highest point of land in this county is 
Croydon mountain, with an elevation of 2,789 feet above sea level. 
From its summit a large part of the area of the county may be 
seen, while on Connecticut river are some of the best farms in 
the state, and Sugar river furnishes motive power for many im- 
portant industries in Claremont, Newport, and Sunapee. 



CHAPTER YI. 

BOUNDARIES — NATURAL CHARACTERISTICS — LOCALITIES — VILLAGE IN 

1822. 

The town of Claremont, as originally granted, was six miles 
square, and contained twenty-four thousand acres. In 1828, by 
act of the legislature, a tract of land nearly a mile long, and a 
little more than a half mile wide, embracing what have been 
known as the Francis Whitcomb, Jacob Smith, Winthrop Sargent, 
Ira Colby, and Joshua Colby farms, was set off from the town 
of Unity on to Claremont. The town is bounded on the north 
by Cornish, east by Newport, south by Unity and Charlestown, 
and west by Charlestown and the west bank of the Connecticut 
river at Weathersfield, Vermont. 

The altitudes above tide-water or sea-level of different localities 
in Claremont and of Sunapee lake, in feet and hundredths of a 
foot, as obtained from a reliable source, are as follows : 



Soldiers' monument, Central park 



567.47 



Eailroad station 543.10 

Junction railroad station .... 473.25 
Sunapee lake, high water . . . 1,103.22 

It is in latitude 43° 22'' north, and longitude 4° 46" east from 
"Washington. 

This is the largest town in point of business, valuation, popu- 
lation, and importance in the western part of 'New Hampshire. 
There are but few, if there are any, towns in the state which 
possess so many natural advantages and striking beauties as Clare- 
mont. Some of these are her fertile meadows and uplands ; high 
hills, cultivated or grazed to their very tops; large and produc- 




HIRA BECKWITH'S. RESIDENCE. 







WALL 

— I -"a" □ □ □ □ d. ("□ 

^^-""m ra ^'^^^^M |/.?/../.rH □/■-J^^.v/.^/ 



\W.KSirLiih- P ^ ' 



- — — ~^2iA?pin\ 



^J.O':h'tiLL' 



ITi uy.Cf uf. 



! 

i 



1 D ^ijiorda 



/ emetery 

t t 



JfrsJfMftxiUy 



CHAPE-L ST 



D 



□ 



Up, ! 



MrsJfJioojuS^ 



V^HM 



JYfUSOTh 






^G.i:iiah 



'OfTL 



A . H. .'^otLli-Zf, I /TH. PmuA da . \ 



I , .vi/.V 



.rJ 



*rT; 












ii«!^W\VU* 



^\A»Wv.\.'> 



.^"iov^^Q\^■i^ [_ 



O q jnorne-fflia JaoW' | 






J ... f.} 



^^^*^».^:\V j .vAv^^^.b^ / ..w?v^- ^.-i ^v 



1o Hr>45i}ji9r> ^^ 






HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. ' 71 

tive farms, on which are neat, substantial, and capacious buildings 
and good fences, indicating abodes of taste, intelligence, and 
thrift ; and rapid and useful rivers and brooks. There is an air of 
prosperity, plenty, comfort, and contentment throughout the town 
found in but few places of similar size anywhere. 

The village is situated about three miles due east from Con- 
necticut river, near the geographical center of the town, occupies 
a large and varied area, and through it, from east to west, runs 
Sugar river. The fall of this river is about three hundred feet 
in the town, about one hundred and fifty feet of which is in the 
village, in a distance of half a mile. Each foot of fall is capable 
of turning one thousand spindles. This water power, though not 
fully, is pretty well occupied. Here is an abundant market for 
all the wood and farm products of this and the surrounding towns, 
and it is the center of trade for the western part of the county 
of Sullivan and adjacent towns in Vermont. 

In the village are extensive and prosperous manufacturing 
establishments, workshops, excellent hotels, national and savings 
banks, stores with stocks of goods the equal of the best found 
in cities; church, school, and other substantial and handsome 
public buildings; private residences — all comfortable, many of 
them large and elegant, with well kept lawns, and fruit, flower, 
and vegetable gardens. Two aqueducts supply an abundance of 
pure water for drinking and culinary purposes, and hydrants dis- 
tributed all about the village, with pressure sufficient to carry 
streams over the highest buildings, with electric fire alarm, steam 
fire engine and good apparatus, and a well organized department 
for extinguishing fires, render property reasonably secure from 
destruction by this element. The streets, public buildings, stores, 
offices, and residences are lighted by gas and electricity; and on 
most of the streets are concrete and other good side and cross 
walks. These, with the excellent high and graded schools and 
large free library, make the village and town a desirable place 
of residence. 

The hills and mountains in and about Claremont form a land- 
scape which is a continual source of pleasure and pride to her 



72 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

citizens, and of admiration to visitors. There are gentle and 
graceful elevations in the north, Green mountain in the east, 
Flat Eock and Bible hill in the south, and Trisback hill and 
Barbouis mountain in the west part of the town ; while Ascutney 
mountain, just across Connecticut river in Vermont — an isolated, 
conical elevation of more than three thousand feet above the 
valley, with its ever changing lights and shades, in full view from 
many points in Claremont — is claimed by her people as a kind 
of inheritance. These hills and mountains are covered with fresh, 
living green in summer, all the varied, rich, warm tints in autumn, 
and a thick mantle of snow in winter, producing scenes of unsur- 
passed beauty. 

The roads in Claremont, as a matter of pride and economy, 
are kept in good condition, and the drives in almost every direc- 
tion are varied, attractive, and pleasant. ISTewport, Cornish Flat, 
and "Windsor, Yt., are each ten miles distant, and Charlestown 
twelve. In going to either of these places, one road may be taken, 
and another in returning, making an agreeable variety. Few 
towns are more generally healthy. It is free from epidemics or 
prevailing sickness of any kind, which is accounted for by the 
character of the soil, pure water, and entire exemption from fogs 
and the causes of them, or malarial influences of any kind. 

LOCALITIES, 

Many years ago certain localities in town became distinguished 
by such names as Puckershire, a neighborhood about two miles 
east from the village, on the new road to iTewport; Bible Hill, 
an eminence south of the village ; Green Mountain, a picturesque 
hill northeast of the village; Cat-Hole, north of Green Mountain; 
Hop- Yard, in the northeast corner of the town ; Slab City, about 
two miles north of the village, and Dog Hollow, in the vicinity 
of the Sullivan House. There is no record as to the origin of 
the names as applied to these localities, and the traditions are 
various and conflicting in regard to them; nor is it essential to 
know why or by whom they were thus designated, since the 
names were accepted long ago, and will probably continue many 
years to come. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 73 

CLAREMONT VILLAGE IN 1822. 

Dr. James Hall, in a letter published in the " National Eagle," 
describing Claremont in 1822, when he lived here, is of interest, 
and liberal extracts are given from it. Dr. Hall died near Bal- 
timore, Md., in 1888. 

The township then contained some three thousand inhabitants ; was entitled 
to two representatives in the state legislature, and was considered a wealthy 
town with great possibilities, dependent upon its valuable and easily utilized 
water power. But I propose merely to speak of the village, the contrast in that 
between the then and now being greater. 

Five main roads entered the village, connecting it with the adjacent towns 
and villages. The, Windsor, or Cornish river road, entered on the north side 
of Sugar river, joining the Newport road at the upper bridge and dam. At 
the eastern or southern extremity of the Plain, as it was then called, the Unity 
road entered — the one now leading to Newport. The Charlestown road, or the 
one leading through North Charlestown, left the village by the back street, or 
"sandhill" way, and a half mile or so forked, one branch passing over the 
hill due south, the other deflecting to intersect the river road from Charlestown 
to Cornish. Another road led directly west from the village center to the west 
part, or " Union church." 

The actual number of buildings and population can be better calculated by 
tracing one of these roads to the village center, beginning with the Windsor 
road. The first house on coming in sight of the churches, after rising a steep 
sand hill from a swampy bottom, was one of two stories, and occupied by Bill 
Barnes, a well-to-do farmer, near which was that of his son-in-law, Mr. Eastman, 
a tanner; next the low dwelling and shop of Jotham Willard, a blacksmith; 
next Linus Stevens's house and shop, a carpenter ; next and near it, the dwelling 
of Oliver Hubbard, wagon maker, with his shop underneath, — the last three 
all on the southeast side of the road. Nearly opposite the last named, on a 
slight elevation, was the two-story house of Walter Bingham; further on on 
the same side the two story dwelling and small shop of Eliel Parmelee, shoe- 
maker. Nearly opposite these last and under the hill, were two or three low 
dwellings, occupied by the overseer and operatives of a paper mill. On the 
north side, next comes the large square house of Mrs. Clarke, and a small 
unoccupied store with stable and shed — the house afterwards a tavern. At 
this point we come to a triangular square covered mainly by logs for sawing, 
and sawed lumber, often blocking the roadway leading through it. On the 
north side, or base, of this triangle was the large dwelling and out-houses of 
Col. David Dexter, and a small house further on, occupant not remembered; 



74 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the south side of the place was covered by the miller's house, saw and grist 
mills and smith shop of Col. Dexter. On the east was the store of Samuel 
Fiske, Esq., bordering on the Newport road, which joins the Windsor road at 
the bridge. On the road north of Fiske's store were two or three small dwellings 
occupied by one Fargo, the bell ringer, and a man named Russell ; farther out, 
and still to be reckoned in the village, were the residences of Mr. Abraham 
Fisher, Mr. Patch, and Mr. Handerson, a tanner, all men of means, independent. 
This list comprises every dwelling and shop on the north side of the river, 
excepting a small dwelling between Fiske's store and the bridge. On crossing 
the bridge we come to three one story dwellings on the left, one owned and 
occupied by Stephen Starbird, tailor; next, on the same side, the three story 
tavern house of Daniel Chase, with extensive stables and yards. On the oppo- 
site, or west side from the bridge, is the gristmill of Col. Stevens, and the low 
dwelling and saddler's shop of Capt. Matthew Porter — the latter on a corner 
formed by a cross road leading to the dwelling house of Col. Stevens, on a 
level with the Plain or common. 

To return. Ascending a sandy hill from Chase's tavern, we come to the 
Plain with the meeting-house, now town house, on the right and back and east 
of the roadway, the burying place, then the only cemetery near the village. 
Back of this, on the hill, was an unfinished brick dwelling, afterwards owned 
and occupied by Dr. Josiah Richards, then the only building of any kind east 
of the Plain. The octagon brick church, Episcopal, nearly shut in the path to 
the hill back — hardly a road. South of the church, on the east side of the 
Plain, follow in order, first, a one story house owned by Walter Bingham; a 
one story dwelling occupied by Dr. Richards ; a two story brick dwelling and 
small store or shop of George Fiske ; a low dwelling of Reverend Jonathan Nye, 
and small shop near it; then a low brick building and brick law office of Asa 
Holton, Esq. ; next a low dwelling, afterwards a two story brick, and shoe shop 
of John Farwell; then a small house, or hut, of Josiah Holt, hatter. Then 
comes the swamp, south of which, on the corner of the road leading to Unity, 
is a one story dwelling. On this road east were two low dwellings and the 
two story house of Mr. Brooks, tanner, with yard and shop. 

Returning to the Plain we find nothing more on the east, but the dwelling of 
Ambrose Cossit, Esq., fronts us from the ultimate south limit of the Plain 
across the gully, as it then was. From Mr. Cossit's house a cross road passes 
to the Charlestown road, on which there was one dwelling, shop, and outbuild- 
ings, occupied by a Mr. Barrett, and a shoe manufacturer named Alcock, or 
Otis, afterwards. Recrossiug the gully, passing north on the south side of the 
Plain, we come first to a large dwelling and outbuildings owned and occupied 
by Dr. Timothy Gleason ; next to this a like establishment of Samuel Fiske, 
Esq., at the southwest corner of a cross street leading to what was then called 
the back way, or Charlestown road. On this cross street were two dwellings, 
that of Rev. J. B. Howe, and one of Peter Parmelee, with the cabinet maker's 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 75 

shop of Mr. Parmelee. On the northwest corner Cross street with the Plain, 
and opposite the dwelling of Esquire Fiske, was the law office and dwelling of 
George B. Uphana, Esq. Continuing north, next come the store, postoffice, and 
dwelling of John Tappan, Esq., formerly a congregational clergyman. Next, 
the store of Glidden & Dean, with dwelling of Mr. Dean and family overhead. 
Next the shoe factory and large brick dwelling of Nicholas Farwell. Further 
on, at an angle in the west line of the Plain, is a shop and one story dwelling, 
afterwards owned and occupied by Captain Porter, before mentioned. Next, 
the hat factory and dwelling of Nathan Bingham. Next the dwelling of Josiah 
Stevens, Jr. Next that of Godfrey Stevens, his yard including the entire ground 
between the back street and the Plain. On this back street was a range of 
large barns and yards fronting on it, and but one dwelling, that of Alvah 
Stevens. Immediately west of the Congregational church, now town house, was 
a long, low building, apparently extended at different periods, the store of 
Josiah Stevens & Sons. Directly opposite, at the angle of the road leading west, 
was the dwelling of Col. Josiah Stevens, afterwards extended and called the 
Tremont House. On the road west, after passing barn yards on one side and 
a range of outbuildings, wood-yard, and sheds on the other, comes a low tene- 
ment house on the right; then the dwelling of Thomas Woolson, at the angle 
of a road leading down to the river. On this road was the dwelling of Ros- 
well Elmer, and a small one and shop of " Cooper Smith." 

Returning to the road leading west we find the shop of Woolson & Elmer, 
a machine card factory; then a dwelling of Colonel Booth, and also a small 
one occupied by a Miss Petty, an elderly maiden lady. From this, on the top 
of the hill, none other till we come to the dwelling and outbuildings of Eph- 
raim Tyler on the right, nearly opposite a by-road leading to the Charlestown 
road, some half a mile away. On this road is the two-story dwelling of Austin 
Tyler, and further on, a smaller one occupied by a Mr. Draper, house painter. 
At the angle formed by this road and the one leading west, is a small dwelling 
and shop occupied by a Mr. Turner, a wheelwright. From this a road leads 
to the river, which is here crossed by a biidge, and then extends to intersect 
the Windsor road at our place of starting. On the east or south side of the 
river, just above the bridge, are the grist and sawing mills of Ephraim Tyler 
&. Sons; on the north side a carding machine and possibly clothing works of 
Benjamin Meacham. 

This rough sketch, at random, from memory, extending back sixty and odd 
years, embraces nearly every dwelling house, name of occupant, and the various 
ishops and stores in the village of Claremont in 1822. The general summary 
shows some sixty dwellings in all, twenty on the north side and forty on the 
south side of the river. Allowing six people to a house, a fair estimate, the 
village then contained 360 souls, or making allowance for oversight, say 400. 
By no fair calculation could it reach 500. 

Use of the Water Power. The upper dam, where the main bridge crosses 



76 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the stream, supplies the saw and grist mill of Colonel Dexter, together with 
Lis smithing works, scythe factory, etc., on the north side; and the grist mill 
of Colonel Stevens on the south side. The second dam supplies the paper mill 
of Josiah Stevens & Sons, and the fulling mill and clothing workt, of Walter 
Bingham on the north side, and the casting, stove, sheetiron, and carding ma- 
chine factory of Woolson & Elmer on the south. A small, low dam further 
west is used by Mr. Eastman, the tanner. The fourth dam runs the mill of 
Ephraim Tyler & Son, and the carding machine of Benjamin Meacham. 
There were four stores in the village, nearly, in capital employed and business, 
as in order named : Josiah Stevens & Sons, Samuel Fiske, Glidden & Dean, 
and George Fiske. They were supplied with goods mainly from Boston; the 
merchants generally visiting the then town, after a city, twice a year, and 
the hauling to and from was mainly done by a six horse wagon owned and 
driven by one Hazeltine. 

The business which brought money to the village was the extensive morocco 
shoe factories of Nicholas and John Farwell and Cyrus B. Alcock, or Otis. 
They were, in number of hands engaged and work marketed, nearly in the order 
above, or perhaps the factory of Nicholas Farwell equalled those of the other 
two. The product of all was marketed in Vermont or northern New Hamp- 
shire, supplanting all others, from the excellence of the work. 

The next production for export was that of Woolson & Elmer, consisting of 
machine cards and iron castings, stoves of sheet and cast iron, etc. The ma- 
chine card and shoe manufacture afforded remunerative labor for many women 
and children, in shoe binding and lining and setting the wire teeth in the 
leathers of the cards. 

The paper mill furnished an article of export. The scythe factory also, and 
possibly the three tanneries, especially that of Mr. Eastman, did more than 
supply the home demand. 

The professions of law, medicine, and theology were filled by couples, two of 
each, in order as below : Messrs. Upham and Holton in law. Doctors Richards 
and Gleason in medicine, and Reverends Nye and Howe as pastors or preachers. 
Occasionally a Methodist preacher held services in some hall or schoolhouse, 
but no church building existed at that time of that denomination, nor of the 
Baptist, either. 

It is not my intent to characterize the town, village, or individuals, but merely 
to show what might be called in modern parlance the plant of the village, 
the number and locality of the dwellings, the names of their occupants, and to 
sketch briefly the various industries of the place. Were a citizen asked as to 
the general character of the village as to business, the answer would have been, 
" a very dull place, a dead-and-alive place." This was the character of the 
village at that time, at home and in the neighboring towns and villages, mainly 
owing, I think, to the lack of business capacity or enterprise of its merchant* 
or traders. The stock of goods in any and all the stores merely covered 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 77 

articles of every day use and necessity of what we might call common people. 
The best shopping was done in Windsor, some in Newport, and I well recol- 
lect one, in want of a buffalo robe, sought it successfully in Unity. 

Although a dull place the people were mostly, even for that day, a moral and 
a religious people or community. They were about evenly divided in politics 
and religion, but in both quite tolerant. 

What Claremont lacked at that time was a printing office, a bank, a library, 
or a bookstore at least, an apothecary, a jeweler, a milliner. It had not even 
a fire engine. 

My self-imposed task is done in placing before you the then. You have the 
now. The change is no way remarkable in this country, even in New England. 
It is rather remarkable that it has been so long in coming. I am sensible this 
sketch can interest no one except a resident of the village at this time, and of 
those only the curious. Were the ground plotted and the various improvements 
jotted down, even on a rough lithograph, it would be of more interest and 
worthy of preservation. 



ECCLESIASTICAL 



CHAPTER VII. 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

In 1771 the entire number of the inhabitants of the town was 
less than fifty, and of these only a portion remained here during 
the winter. Up to this time no steps had been taken to secure the 
permanent settlement of a minister. The greater part of the set- 
tlers belonged to the Congregational church — the prevailing theo- 
logical system of 'New England — and unless a person was connected 
with some ecclesiastical body of a diflferent denomination, he was 
compelled to pay taxes for the support of this society, was con- 
sidered as under its spiritual guidance, to some extent subject to its 
jurisdiction, and the authority was exercised to enforce the collec- 
tion of taxes without regard to the condition of membership. 

From an early period of the settlement of the town, a portion of 
the inhabitants had formed themselves into an ecclesiastical body 
and observed religious services regularly on the Sabbath. Samuel 
Cole, who came here in 1767, was appointed their reader, and to 
some degree supplied the lack of a settled minister. He was a 
graduate of Yale college, and for many years was very useful as an 
instructor of youth. At a meeting of a few of the inhabitants in- 
terested in the Congregational denomination early in the spring of 
1771, Thomas Gustin suggested that it was a duty binding upon all 
to adopt immediate measures for the settlement of a minister of 
the gospel ; that the settlement was sufiiciently large and able to 
support a religious teacher ; and besides, the share of land reserved 
by the charter for the first settled minister would enable him to 
furnish himself with a portion of his subsistence, and to some ex- 
tent lighten the burden of the community. He urged immediate 



82 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

action, lest this share of land should fall to some other society by a 
prior compliance on its part with the terms of the charter. 

Accordingly, at a town meeting on May 9, 1771, at the house of 
Thomas Jones, " warned according to law," Thomas Gustin was 
chosen moderator. It was 

Voted that we will call a Minister to come and preach the Gospel among us on 
Probation in order to settle in the Gospel ministry among us. Voted in the 
Affirmative, Thos. Gustin, Wm. Sumner, Ebenezer Skinner, Capt. B. Sumner, 
Jacob Rice, Joseph Wright, John Kilborn, Asaph Atwater, John Spencer, Asa 
Jones, Jonas Stewart, Barnabas Ellis, Joseph Ives, Joseph Hubbard, Beriah Mur- 
ry, Amaziah Wright, Gid'n Lewis, Timothy Dustin, and Thos. Dustin. In the 
Negative, Amos York, Oliver Ashley, and Moses Spatord. Capt. B. Sumner, 
and Messrs Thos. Gustin, and Samuel Ashley chose a committee to call a Min- 
ister to settle among us. Voted to apply to Mr. Elijah Parsons to come and 
preach the Gospel among us on probation in order to settle with us. But if he 
fails to apply to Dr. Wheelock for advice who to apply to in his room. 

December 10th, A. D. 1771. A meeting of the inhabitants of the Town of 
Claremont qualified to vote in common affairs of the town, warned according to 
Law, at the South School House. Samuel Chase, Esq., was chosen Moderator. 
Voted to give Mr. George Wheaton a call, and do call Mr. George Wheaton to 
settle among us in the work of the Gospel Ministry agreeable to the Congrega- 
tional or Cambridge Platform. For encouragement for Mr. Wheaton to settle 
with us we do agree and vote to give Mr. Wheaton the Ministerial Right of 
Land given to the Town by Charter for the first settled Minister, and also Fifty 
Pounds Lawful Money, fifteen to be paid in money and the rest to be paid in 
specie for building at money price. At the same meeting voted to give Mr. 
Wheaton for Salary forty-five Pounds Lawful money for the first year, and to rise 
five Pounds pr. year until it amounts to Eighty Pounds, one half to be paid in 
money yearly and the rest to be paid in provision at money price, and that to 
be his stated salary. Moses Spaflford and William Porter protested against the 
whole proceedings of the meeting and ordered their protest to be recorded. At 
the same meeting Voted to choose a Committee to present the doings of this 
meeting to Mr. Wheaton, and to agree with him upon the conditions above men- 
tioned and to make suitable return to the Town of Claremont. At the same 
meeting Messrs Phineas Fuller, Capt. B. Sumner, Ebenezer Skinner, and Dr. 
Sumner chosen a committee for the purpose aforesaid. At the same meeting 
Voted to adjourn this meeting to this place until next tuesday come sevenight 
at 10 o'clock in the morning. 

Met according to adjournment, Samuel Chase, Moderator. At the same meet- 
ing Voted to adjourn for the space of one hour to the house of Capt. B. Sum- 
ner. Met according to adjournment. Mr. Wheaton's answer as followeth : 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 8S 

To the Church of Christ and other Inhabitants of the town of Claremont: 

Gentlemen — Whereas you have given me a call to settle among you in the 
work of the Gospel Ministry, so I return you my sincere and very hearty thanks 
for the respect you have shown unto me herein. I have taken into serious and 
deliberate consideration and have been instant at the Thrown of Divine Grace 
for direction of Almighty God in so weighty and important a matter as that of 
my taking the charge of a flock, and I have also taken advice of my friends and 
Fathers in the Gospel Ministry. 

And this is to signify to you, my Christian friends, that upon a mature consid- 
eration I do find it my duty to accept of your call to settle among you in the work 
of the Gospel Ministry, and accordingly I do accept of the Proposals made unto 
me in your Call, both with regard to settlement and Salary. 

And may God in his infinite mercy grant that I may be more and more furnished 
and qualilied for so great, arduous and glorious work, and make me a faithful 
minister of the new testament, not of the Letter but of the spirit, and may Grace, 
Mercy and Truth be multiplied to you and to all the Churches of our Lord Jesus 
Christ. And may we grow in Grace and in the Knowledge of our Lord and 
Savior, Jesus Christ, to him be glory in the Church both now and for ever. 
Amen. 

I subscribe myself your sincere friend in Heart, and affectionate Brother in 
our Immanuel. 

George Wheaton. 

December 23d, 1771. 

If there was at that time a Congregational church organization 
in town, the record of it has been lost. 

Mr. Wheaton, who was a native of Mansfield, Conn., was settled 
on the nineteenth of February, 1772. The ordination sermon 
was preached by Rev. Abiel Leonard, of Woodstock, Conn., the 
exercises being performed in the South schoolhouse, a frame 
building forty feet long by thirty wide, covered with rough boards, 
with rude benches for seats and a floor of earth. It was on 
Town hill, but a short distance from the residence of the late Rus- 
sell Jarvis. 

At the time of his settlement Mr. Wheaton was not in robust 
health. In April, 1773, such was his feeble condition that he was 
obliged to abandon his charge and return to the home of his 
father, in Norton, Mass., where he died on the twenty-fourth of 
the following June, at the age of twenty-two years, 
to have been a young man of considerable ability, and that by his 



84 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

sincerity and earnestness as a pastor he had endeared himself 
to the people over whom he had been but for a few months. 

By a law then in force it was imperative upon the selectmen 
to take due care that tithingmen be annually chosen at the 
general meeting for the choice of town officers, " whereof at 
least two shall be in each town, and not above ten in any," 
whose duty it was to inspect all licensed houses, and to inform 
of all disorder therein committed ; and also to inform of all idle 
and disorderly persons, profane swearers, and Sabbath-breakers. 
Each was " to carry a black staff two feet long, tip't at one end 
with brass or pewter about three inches, as a badge of their 
office, the same to be provided by the selectmen at the expense 
of the town." Either by virtue of their office or by common 
consent, they seem to have been invested with power to inflict 
punishment at once upon such as they might find engaged in 
any misdemeanors during public worship, or between the morn- 
ing and afternoon services on the Sabbath. They were vigilant 
and, if tradition may be relied upon, rigid in their notions of 
order and sobriety, especially on Sundays. On one occasion when 
meetings were held in the South schoolhouse, John, a son of Mr. 
Thomas Gustin, was obliged to "stand strate upon the bench dur- 
ing the singing of the last psalm, and there to remain until the 
meeting is dismissed and the people have left the house, for turn- 
ing round three times, and for not paying attention to Mr.Wheatou 
while he is preaching." It was not usual for the tithingmen to 
call out the offender, pronounce sentence upon him and put it in 
execution during the performance of the various exercises of public 
worship, but it seems it was sometimes done. 

The Rev. Augustine Hibbard, the second minister, was settled 
October 19, 1774, and dismissed December 28, 1785. By reason 
of his eccentricities, inconsistencies, and perhaps for other reasons 
for which he was not accountable, his pastorate of a little more than 
eleven years did not result in much good to j^the people of the 
town. Mr. Hibbard was born in Windham county. Conn., March 
27, 1648; graduated at Dartmouth college in 1772 — being one of 
two students who graduated there that year. It was the second year 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 85 

when degrees were conferred at that college. It is not known that 
he had another settlement as a minister of the gospel, after his dis- 
missal at Claremont. After the close of the Eevolutionary War he 
removed to Canada, where he officiated as magistrate for many 
years and was frequently employed by the governmeut there to 
discharge various duties and important trusts. He died at the 
home of his son. Major Hibbard, at Stanstead, Canada, on De- 
cember 4, 1831, at the age of eighty-three years. 

The most reliable account of the first meeting-house is, that a 
building to be used as a Congregational, meeting-house was erected 
near what is known as the Harvey Draper place, on the road to the 
junction of the Sullivan and Concord & Claremont railroads in 
1785 ; that in 1790 it was taken down and removed in pieces to the 
location of the present town-house, and there put together again, 
and the next year was finished inside. In 1808 the east tower and 
the front, or circular portion, were added. From that time until 
1835, when the new Congregational meeting-house, on Pleasant 
street, was erected, this building was used both as a church and 
town-house. After that date its use for a church was abandoned, 
and it has since been used exclusively as a town-house. This Con- 
gregational meeting-house on Pleasant street was dedicated on 
February 3, 1836. In 1871 it was thoroughly remodelled inside 
and all the pews made the common property of the society, to 
be rented to pay for preaching and other expenses. A fine bell 
was placed in the tower in April, 1874, 

In 1785 it was decided by vote in town meeting " that those 
people who call themselves Baptists pay know more rates to the 
Congregational order for the fewter." 

Originally the towns in New Hampshire were parishes for the 
support of the ministry established by a majority. These were 
generally Congregationalists, and Presbyterians, Methodists, and 
Baptists were taxed for the support of the Congregationalists who 
had created the parish. 

Christopher Erskine was a resident of Claremont and was liable 
to pay tax to support the Congregational society here. He was a 
Universalist, and in 1796 united with the Universalist society in 



86 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Cliarlestown, and presented the following certificate, which it was 
supposed would meet all the legal requirements, and relieve him 
from the payment of any future minister tax assessed against him 
in this town : 

Charlesto-vvn, Feb. 19, 1796. 
This may certify that Christopher Erskine belongs to the Universalist Society 

and contributes to that order. 

William Far well, Elder. 
Recorded Feb. 23, 1796.* 

ISTotwithstanding this certificate, the selectmen — Gideon Han- 
derson and Alexander Pickens — assessed Mr. Erskine §4.49, being 
his proportion of $300 voted to be raised by the Congregational 
society to support the minister in 1799. Mr. Erskine refused or 
neglected to pay this assessment, was arrested by the collector and 
thus compelled to pay. He brought suit against Messrs. Hander- 
son and Pickens in a plea of trespass, for compelling him, by ille- 
gal imprisonment, to pay this tax. The case was tried before 
Francis Smith, Justice of the Peace, in March, 1801, and was de- 
cided in favor of the defendants. Mr. Erskine appealed to the 
Court of Common Pleas, the case was tried by a jury, and he re- 
covered $6.50, and costs, $57.34. The case was taken to the Su- 
preme Court on exceptions by Ilanderson and Pickens; the judg- 
ment of the Court of Common Pleas was reversed, and the follow- 
ing certificate was made by Chief Justice Olcott, which evidently 
refers to a case of earlier date than that of Erskine : 

I certify that it has been settled by the Supreme Court that persons called 
Universalists are not such a sect, persuasion, or denomination, as by the Con- 
stitution of New Hampshire are exempt from the payment of taxes for the sup- 
port of a regularly settled minister of a Congregational Society in the town 
where such person lives. And I think that in establishing this practice the court 

were unanimous. 

SiMEOX Olcott. 
April ye 3d, 1801. 

The New Hampshire legislature, in June, 1805, took this action : 

A resolve that all the people of this State known by the name of Universalists 
be and they are hereby recognized as a distinct religious sect or denomination 



►Records of Claremont. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 87 

from any other, and are entitled to all the privileges and immunities which any 
other denomination is entitled to by the Constitution and laws of said State, was 
brought ui), read and concurred, presented and ajiproved. 

There was no settled pastor from the time of Mr. Hibbard's 
dismission until March 9, 1796, when John Tappan was ordained. 
He was dismissed in 1802. He was excommunicated from the 
church the following year, entered mercantile life, and remained 
in town until his death, which occurred October 1, 1837, at the 
age of 68 years. He was a native of East Kingston, Mass., and 
graduated at Harvard College in 1790. From the following 
record on the town books it would seem that there was consid- 
erable opposition to Mr. Tappan's settlement as a minister over 
the Congregational society. 

Be it known to all whom it may concern, that we the subscribers. Inhab- 
itants of the Town of Claremont in the County of Cheshire & State of New 
Hampshire, do hereby express our dissent against paying or contributing towards 
the support of Mr. John Tappan as Minister of the Congregational Society in 
said town of Claremont. 

December 18th, 1795. Reuben Pettey, 

Reuben Pettey, Jun'r. 

Recorded Dec'r 22d, 1795, 

A similar dissent, dated January 9, 1796, signed James Stro- 
bridge, was recorded the day of its date. 

At a town meeting held June 9, 1794, Elihu Stevens was 
chosen agent to present a petition to the General Court for an 
act to incorporate the Congregational Society of Claremont, and 
to attend to the same as action might require. An act was 
passed by both branches of the legislature and presented to the 
Governor, John Taylor Gilman, for his approval. June 18, 1794, 
he vetoed the bill for the reason, as set forth in his message to the 
legislature, that 

The bill purports that the society may hold real and personal estate to the 
amount of three hundred pounds neat yearly income, but for what purpose is 
not expressed. 

Also, 

The bill purports that they may consider persons coming of age, or moving 
into town as belonging to this society which has the appearance of giving pre- 



88 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ference to them when compared to the other society of said Claremont incor- 
porated by an act passed February 19, 1794. That it expressly authorizes them 
to tax persons moving into town or coming of age, but no mention is made of 
taxing the society. That the bill does not appear to the Governor to be per- 
fectly consistent with the sixth article of the bill of Rights. 

This society was not incorporated until June 20, 1815, when 
an act was passed and approved by Governor Gilman, granting 
to Josiah Stevens, Samuel Fiske, David Dexter, Thomas Warner, 
Gideon Handerson and their associates, and those who may here- 
after associate with them, by the name and style of the Congre- 
gational Society in Claremont, all the powers, privileges, and 
immunities incident to corporations of a similar nature. 

For about two years from August, 1803, Rev. Elijah Brainerd 
was acting pastor. Under him the church was reorganized by the 
adoption of more explicit articles of faith and covenant, and rules 
of discipline. The members of the church were enrolled for the 
first time, so far as appears, in 1804. The names of sixteen male 
members and twenty female members are recorded at that time. 

Eev. Stephen Farley was installed December 24, 1806. His pas- 
torate closed April 4, 1819. The " Church Manual," published in 
1879, says : 

The first marked revival occurred in 1816 ; as a result fifty-four were added 
to the church on profession of faith in that year. This work of grace, however, 
brought no peace. The pastor's attitude in relation to it was not satisfactory to 
those most active in promoting it, and he seems not to have enjoyed the confi- 
dence of the new converts. The result was divisions in the church, and a pain- 
ful want of harmony between the church and society, the latter sympathizing 
strongly with the pastor. During the years 1819 and 1820, no new members 
were received. Not long after his dismission Mr. Farley became openly a. 
Unitarian. 

He lived at Amesbury, Mass., several years, and died there Sept. 
26, 1851, at the age of 72 years. 

The Claremont Congregational Society was formed February 20, 
1806, and held its first meeting June 9 of that year. Up to this 
time parish meetings were called by the selectmen of the town, 
and the records kept by the town clerk. " The Congregational 
Society of Claremont " was incorporated June 20, 1815. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 89 

" The society took the lead in calling the next pastor, Rev. Jona- 
than Nye. He received and accepted the society's call in the au- 
tumn of 1820. But it was not until the May following that the 
church was prevailed upon to accept him, and then not without 
many misgivings. He was installed June 6, 1821, not, however, to 
enjoy a quiet ministr}^ Those were days of discipline in more 
than a single sense, of which the aged speak with sorrow. The 
misgivings of the church proved to be too well founded. Mr. Kye 
was dismissed in 1828." 

Tradition has it that after Mr. ISTye was dismissed from his pas- 
torate, charges were preferred against him as an unworthy member 
of the church, and he was subjected to atrial of considerable length. 
The charges seemed to have been substantiated by proof, and Mr. 
Nye was called upon for any answer which he might have to make. 
He arose, and in a very cool and respectful manner said, in sub- 
stance, that he had listened very attentively to the proceedings, 
and while doing so it had occurred to him that if he was to be 
turned out of the church, it might be necessary for him to join it 
first. The fact was that he had never been admitted as a member 
of the Congregational church. 

Mr. Nye is represented as a man of imposing appearance, an attrac- 
tive and impressive speaker, and especially gifted in prayer. He 
had political aspirations, was representative in the legislature in 
1825, state senator in 1827, and postmaster for several years. He 
held high offices in the Masonic fraternity, and was in many ways 
a prominent character in this section. He was more respected for 
his talents than for his private virtues. He died at Fort Madison, 
Iowa, April 1, 1843. 

Difficulty arose again in the choice of a new minister. In a 
meeting of the society forty-two votes were cast in favor of calling 
Mr. Moses Thomas, a Unitarian, and but forty-four against. Mr. 
Elijah Paine was finally called by the church with the concurrence 
of the society, and ordained April 1, 1829. His ministry was 
marked by earnest, evangelical preaching, and eighty were added 
to the church on profession of faith in 1830 and 1831. Strong 



90 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ground was taken in the cause of temperance. It was voted in 
1833, " That this Church admit no more members to her Commun- 
ion as regular members, unless they first sign a pledge to abstain 
from all use of ardent spirits as a beverage." Mr. Paine was dis- 
missed Nov. 14, 1833. 

Rev. Tertius D. Southworth was installed June 18, 1834. A Mr. 
Burchard was laboring as a revivalist at this period with neighbor- 
ing churches. Mr. Southworth was opposed to his methods, and 
this was thought to have hastened the termination of his pastorate, 
which occurred July 31, 1838. 

The following is an extract from the will of Joel Richards, exe- 
cuted July 5, 1837, soon after which he died : 

I give and devise one-third part of my real and personal estate to the Congre- 
gational Church and Society in said Claremont, as a permanent fund, the inter- 
est of which is to be appropriated and used in the delivering occasionally a 
course of Lectures to said Church and Society on the following subjects, to wit: 
*' The doctrine oi Divine decrees and personal election," " The doctrine of total 
depravity of the human heart," "The necessity of a change of heart by the 
gracious operations of the holy spirit," and "On the errors of Popery." The 
said lectures to be under the regulation of the deacons of said church, according 
to their best discretion to effect the greatest good in said Church and Society in 
relation to the subjects and doctrines above mentioned. And I do hereby 
authorize and empower my executor hereafter named, if he think proper, to give 
a good and suflacieut deed or deeds, lease or leases, or other conveyance of any 
real estate I may be possessed of at my decease, and convert the same into per- 
sonal estate to be paid over to legatees according to the terms of this Will. The 
donation last mentioned to remain in the hands of my executor hereafter named, 
he paying the interest annually to the said deacons of the Church, to be laid 
out as above mentioned, and giving satisfactory bonds to said Congregational 
Society for the security of said donation. And I do constitute and appoint 
James H. Bingham of said Claremont the executor of this Will, whose duty it 
shall be to pay over the two first mentioned bequests in one year from my 
decease. 

(Signed.) Joel Kichards. 

Witnesses — Thomas B. Kittredge. 
William A. Howakd. 
Luther Averill. 

There is no available record as to the compliance with the terms 
of this bequest, or of the disposition of the funds derived from it. 




REV. ROBERT F. LAWRENCE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 91 

Mr. Southworth is represented to have been an upright, con- 
scientious man and able preacher, and his dismission was regretted 
by many. Subsequently he was for many years pastor of Dr. Em- 
mons's church, at Franklin, Mass. 

Rev. Robert F. Lawrence was installed January 16, 1839. His 
labors seemed to be crowned with success, and more than forty 
were added to the church in that year. In 1842, in union meet- 
ings, the whole town was moved, and forty-one were added to this 
church. Another revival occurred in 1853. 

In 1840 twenty-eight members of the church, many of whom 
w^ere thought to be good Christians, were suspended from church 
privileges, on account of their having subscribed to a " covenant 
of Christians, who, irrespective of religious denominations, decide 
on cultivating unitedly holiness of heart and a millennial spirit.'^ 
Some were subsequently restored, but thirteen were finally excom- 
municated September 15, 1841. Mr. Lawrence's ministry contin- 
ued until January 24, 1863, twenty-four years. 

This was Mr. Lawrence's last settlement in the gospel ministry, 
though he preached occasionally as a supply. He was born at 
Moria, ]S. Y., August 9, 1810; graduated at Middlebury, Vt, col- 
lege, in 1832; was ordained in 1834, and preached at Westport 
and Gouverneur, N. Y., until his settlement in Claremont. He pre- 
pared with much care a book, " The New Hampshire Churches,'* 
comprising histories of the Congregational and Presbyterian 
churches in this state, which was published in 1856. He was es- 
pecially interested in the cause of temperance, and delivered and 
published a course of lectures upon that subject. He also deliv 
•ered and published a course of lectures to youth. He died at 
Albany, N. Y,, on October 20, 1886, and his wife, with whom his 
whole married life had been passed, survived him but three days. 
The funeral of both took place at the same time, from Union 
church, Boston. 

Rev. Edward W. Clark was installed February 25, 1864, and on 
account of failing health was dismissed June 10, 1870. Mr. Clark's 
adopted son. Rev. Francis E. Clark, of Boston, was the founder 



92 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

of the Society of Christian Endeavor, and is president of the 
United society. 

Rev. Levi Eodgers was ordained and installed pastor October 
19, 1871. Mr. Eodgers resigned April 10, and was dismissed May 
5, 1880. He was settled for a time at Georgetown, Mass., and is 
now at Greenwich, Conn. Rev. A. J. McGown was called April 
19, 1881 ; installed pastor November 10, 1881 ; resigned on account 
of the death of his wife, September 24, 1882 ; dismissed October 
24, 1882. He is now settled at Amherst, K H. 

In February, 1874, Mrs. Oscar J. Brown, a member of the 
church, raised by subscription over eleven hundred dollars to pay 
for a bell, which was placed in the tower of the meeting-house^ 
and rung first for the state Fast Day services, April 9 of the same 
year. Her husband subscribed one hundred dollars, and was fol- 
lowed by George N. Farwell and Edward L. Goddard, with the 
same sum each. The balance was contributed in smaller amounts. 

Rev. Frank P. Tompkins was called to the pastorate December 
26, 1882, and was installed June 19, 1883 ; dismissed September, 
1888; settled at Hamilton, R Y., for a time. 

The Rev. Edgar L. Warren was called in November, 1888, com- 
menced his labors the first of January, and was ordained on Feb- 
ruary 4, 1889, the Rev. William J. Tucker, D. D., of Andover, 
Mass., preaching the sermon. Mr. Warren resigned, and his 
resignation took effect September 1, 1893. 

Rev. John B. Lawrence, who came from Norwalk, Conn., com- 
menced his pastorate December 22, 1898. 

The whole number of living members of the church, enrolled 
September 1, 1893, 212; whole number since its first organi- 
zation, 1183. 

Twelve members of this church entered the Congregational min- 
istry, viz : George Fargo, David Wright, Manning Ellis, Henry 
Jones, James McEwen, Seth Farnsworth, Simeon Goss, Henry 
Chapin, Edward Greeley, Ira Case, Joseph Rowell, and Lyman 
White. 



CHAPTER YIII. 

EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

On the twenty-eighth of April, 1769, a memorial of the inhab- 
itants of Qlaremont, addressed to the "Reverend Clergy of the 
Church of England and Missionaries of the venerable S. P. G. F. 
P., to be convened at New Milford, in the Colony of Connecticut 
in Trinity week," and signed by Abel Bachelor, Her. Rice, Micah 
Potter, Cornelius Brooks, Benjamin Tyler, Ebeuezer Price, Daniel 
Warner, Levi Warner, Asa Leet, Benjamin Brooks, Benjamin 
Brooks, Jr., and Benjamin Rice, it was represented that 

The land here is exceedingly burdened with timber, which renders the cultiva- 
tion of it very laborious. However, the little of it we have brought under cul- 
tivation is abundantly fruitful, so that (God willing) most of the necessaries of 
life will be plentiful. That some of us have numerous families of small children 
fit for schooling. The number of children under 16 years of age is 35. There 
are about two families of dissenters to one of ours. We are grieved at the 
thought of having them brought up in ignorance, and dread their becoming a 
prey to enthusiasts and being carried away by every wind of doctrine. We 
believe a good school lays the foundation for a sober, godly and righteous life ; 
and since Samuel Cole, Esq., has been much employed in keeping school and is 
an inhabitant and proprietor among us (whose character and qualifications some 
of you know well) , we humbly desire you would be pleased to represent our 
state to the venerable Society, and endeavor that he may be appointed Catechist 
and Schoolmaster among us a few years till we have got over the first difficul- 
ties and hardships of a wild, uncultivated country. 

During the two years preceding the date of this memorial the 
population had largely increased. The accessions were mainly 
Cougregationalists, and that continued to be the rule in after years. 
The first minister of the Episcopal church, who is known to have 



94 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

officiated here, was the Eev. Samuel Peters, of Hebron, Conn. He 
was a missionary of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, 
and several years subsequently was chosen Bishop of the Diocese 
of Vermont, though never consecrated. As early as 1768, he made 
an extensive missionary tour through Vermont, and, in the fall of 
1770, he visited the towns along the Connecticut river, both in 
New Hampshire and Vermont. Of the latter journey he gave the 
following account : 

Upon the tenth of September I left Hebron, taking my clerk with me. We 
arrived among the poor immigrants upon the sixteenth of said month. The 
bank of the west side of the river is in the government of New Yoi'k, lately 
taken from New Hampshire government— a territory now sufficient for two 
large counties, viz : Cumberland and Gloucester ; the latter having only one 
independent teacher (poor enough), the former without any kind of a teacher. 
Yet in both counties are several thousand souls, who live without the means of 
grace, destitute of knowledge, laden down with ignorance and covered with 
poverty. On the east side of the river are many settlements begun, whose 
inhabitants much resemble their neighbors in evei-y uncomfortable prop- 
erty. Among these people I spent four weeks, traveling from j)]ace to 
place, preaching and baptizing, the people being careful to attend divine ser- 
vice, many waiting for a clergyman to reside among them, viz : in the towns of 
Claremont, Strafford, Thetford, Moretown, AVindsor, Orford, Haverhill, and 
being so nigh one another that one clergyman might accommodate the whole." 

There is no mention in this narrative of his having organized 
the church in Claremont at that time. In an article in the 
" Churchman's Magazine," of August, 1805, it is stated that " this 
church was organized by the Rev. Samuel Peters, in or about 
the year 1771," and in the documentary history of the church of 
Vermont it is positively asserted that in "1771 he was on mission- 
ary duty in the western part of New Hampshire and organized the 
church in Claremont." 

The first record of a parish or vestry meeting in this town is as 
follows : 

November, 1773. Being the first Veslry-meeting holden after the Rev. Ranna 
Cossitt returned from England with Holy orders, at which Samuel Cole, Esq., 
was appointed clerk; Captain Benjamin Brooks and Lieutenant Benjamin Tyler 
were chosen wardens; Daniel Warner, Asa Leet and Ebenezer R'ce were 
chosen vestrymen. 




UNION CHURCH, WEST CLARE(V\ONT. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 95 

The late Rev. Isaac G. Hubbard, D. D., then rector of Trinity 
Church, Claremont, in an historical address, delivered at Union 
Church, West Claremont, on the occasion of the centenary of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church in Claremont, September 27, 1871, 
and from which address much of our data is derived, said : 

The discouragements and privations attending the position of a missionary 
over such an outpost in the wilderness may readily be conceived. They must 
have been great enough in periods of ordinary quietness, for his people were 
struggling, with small resources, under the necessity of lifting oil", before they 
could mark the ground from Avhich to derive their support, the burden of a 
dense forest, the groAvth of centuries. They had, also, first to pay their rate 
or tax, as did all the people of the town, for the support of the Congregational 
order. 

Mr. Cossitt, said Dr. Hubbard, 

Was surrounded by constantly increasing numbers who were hostile to their 
faith and worship, which he Avas commissioned to uphold and defend. And, as 
for support for himself and family (to say nothing of the luxuries with which 
ministers, in those days, were in no danger of being pampered), he might pray 
for his daily bread, but, so far as human eye could see or human help appeared, 
the prospect was very dismal. We find, in the records, no mention, at the time 
of his settlement, of any salary beyond the sum of thirty pounds sterling 
allowed him as a missionary by the venerable society. But in 1777, at the 
Easter meeting^it "was agreed by the Vestry to give the Rev. Ranna Cossitt 
thirty pounds lawful money for preaching the last year." This proved too 
heavy a burden, and in 1778 they " agreed to give Mr. Cossitt fifteen pounds 
for the year ensuing." 

In January, 1771, they " agreed with the Rev. Ranua Cossitt to 
give him thirty pounds for a year ending at Christmas, allowing 
him four Sundays to visit vacant churches. And the Rev. Ranna 
Cossitt agrees to throw by all other business and apply himself to 
the work of the ministry." This probably continued to be his 
salary until he left. 

The support, however, proved inadequate, with the utmost econ- 
omy, to protect him from the galling bondage of debt. An anec- 
dote is related of him, which appears authentic, and which I give 
as showing the power of patient endurance to develop a noble 
magnanimity. He had given his note to a prominent man and 



96 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

landholder in town, to an amount about equal to his yearly income. 
He had already paid some small installments upon the note, 
together with the interest, when, one day, his creditor called upon 
him and demanded the whole amount. Mr. Cossitt replied that it 
was out of his power to pay any portion of it immediately, but 
that when his salary became due he would pay a definite sum, 
which he named. This answer was not satisfactory; the whole 
sum must be paid at the time mentioned. The minister replied 
that it would be impossible. He must reserve enough to buy 
bread for his family. " Unless you promise to pay me then^'^ said 
the creditor, " I shall sue you at once, and take all you have." 
" You can do that," he answered. " You can attach my furniture, 
my library, and my horse ; you can confine me in jail. But you 
will not obtain nearly enough from my efiects to satisfy your claims, 
and you will put it out of my power, not only to support myself 
and those dependent upon me, but to redeem my pledge to you, 
which, God being my helper, shall certainly be fulfilled in a rea- 
sonable time." But the creditor clung to the pound of flesh, and, 
as he departed, he loudly proclaimed his intention to bring an exe- 
cution that very night. Seeing him inexorable, and blank ruin 
staring him in the face, the good man went to the door and called 
back the hard usurer, and said, " My friend, if you are determined 
to carry out this purpose you will need your note. When you were 
here to get the last payment which is indorsed on it, you inad- 
vertently left it on my table. I have kept it safely. Here it is, 
sir." It is hardly necessary to say that the note was not sued, and 
that the minister took his own time in which to pay it. But greater 
trials than these awaited both minister and people. 

" We can hardly estimate aright at this distant day, and in the. 
midst of circumstances so greatly changed, the position in which 
churchmen found themselves at the breaking out of the Revolu- 
tionary War. The period of religious toleration had not arrived, 
and the spirit of the ancient contests, which had raged for cen- 
turies in the Old World, and in a measure spent their force, was 
here revived in all its intense bigotry and malignity. It was not 




REV. ISAAC HUBBARD, D. D. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 97 

^tLe fear of such men as Samuel Cole and Ranna Cossitt, in a 
civil point of view, that led to their cruel persecution and abuse. 
Doubtless they were loyal to the government, and most warmly 
attached to the Church of England. But they were peaceable, 
law-abiding men. There was no treachery or sedition in them. 
Their own principles taught them to obey the powers that be. 
While the great struggle was going on they could not be hired 
or driven to take up arms against the King, neither would they 
take up arms, nor plot nor conspire against the lives and hap- 
piness of their fellow citizens. They desired to remain quiet and 
await the decision of Providence. And when that decision came, 
if it were adverse to their hopes, they would be as faithful and 
obedient to the new government as they had been to the old. 

" The speaker is not attempting to defend their political position. 
His own ancestors, though churchmen, were on the other side. 
The blood of a Revolutionarj^ soldier flows in his veins, and he 
has been nurtured from infancy on the bread of liberty. It was 
not incompatible with church principles to espouse the cause of 
the Republic. When the civil power was shaken, under which 
they had reposed in safety, when the Provincial Governor had 
fled to the northern dominions of the Crown, then the storm 
broke on their defenseless heads." 

Dr. Hubbard read two letters, the first from Col. John Peters 
to his brother, the Rev. Samuel Peters, in London, and the other 
from the Rev. Ranna Cossitt. Colonel Peters's letter was dated 
Quebec, July 20, 1778, and was as follows : 

Rev. Dr. Wheelock, President of Dartmouth College, in New Hampshire, in 
conjunction with Deacon Bayley, Mr. Morey, and Mr. Hurd, all justices of the 
peace, put an end to the Church of England in this State, so early as 1775. 
They seized me, Capt. Peters, and all the judges of Cumberland and (Jloucester, 
the Rev. Mr. Cossitt and Mr. Cole, and all the Church people for 200 miles 
up the river (Connecticut), and confined us in close goals, after beating and 
drawing us through water and mud. Here we lay some time and were to 
continue in prison until we abjured the king and signed the league and cove- 
nant. Many died ; one of which was Capt. Peters' son. We were removed 
from the goal and confined in private houses at our own expense. Capt. Peters 



y» HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

and myself were guarded by twelve rebel soldiers, while sick in bed, and we 
paid dearly for this honor ; and others fared in like manner. I soon recovered 
from my indisposition, and took the first opportunity and fled to Canada, leaving 
Cossitt, Cole, Peters, Willis, Porter, Sumner, Paptin, etc., in close confinement, 
where they had misery, insults, and sickness enough. My flight was in 1776, 
since which my family arrived at Montreal, and inform me that many priso- 
ners died; that Capt. Peters had been tried by court-martial and ordered to be 
shot for refusing to lead his company against the King's troops. He was after- 
wards reprieved, but still in goal, and that he was ruined both in health and 
property ; that Cossitt and Cole were alive when they came away, but were 
under confinement, and had more insults than any of the loyalists, because they 
had been servants of the Society, which, under pretense (as the rebels say) of 
propagating religion, had propagated loyalty, in opposition to the liberties of 
America. 

Mr. Cossitt's letter to the secretary of the Society for the Propa- 
^gation of the Gospel, was as follows : 

New York, June 6, 1779. 
I arrived in this city last Sunday, by permission, with a flag, and am to 
return in a few days. I trust the Society cannot be unacquainted with the 
persecutions the loyalists have endured in New England. I have been by the 
committee confined as prisoner, in the town of Claremont, ever since the 12th 
of April, 1775; yet God has preserved my life from the people. I have con- 
stantly kept up public service, without any omissions, for the King and royal 
family, and likewise made use of the prayer for the high court of parliament, 
and the prayer to be used in time of war and tumults; have administered the 
Lord's Supper on every first Sunday in the month, except two Sundays that 
we could not procure any wine. The numbers of my parishioners and commu- 
nicants in Claremont are increased, but I have been cruelly distressed with fines 
for refusing entirely to fight against the King. In sundry places where I used 
to ofliciate, the church people are all dwindled away. Some have fled to the 
King's army for protection ; some were banished ; and many died." 

IsTotwithstanding these persecutions, many of the most promi- 
nent inhabitants of Claremont sought the society and communion 
of the Episcopal church. Among these were Benjamin Sumner, 
Daniel Dodge, John Marsh, John Marsh, Jr., John and Ichabod 
Hitchcock, James Steel, Bill Barnes, Joseph Norton, Ahner Cole, 
Asa Jones, Timothy Grannis, William McCoy, Daniel Curtis, Ab- 
ner Meiggs, and Ambrose Cossitt — sixteen families. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 99 

In 1785 the Rev. Eanna Cossitt left this church and was ap- 
pointed missionary at Sidney, in the island of Cape Breton, where 
he remained until his death, in 1815. 

Union church was erected in 1773, two years before the war. 
It was built according to a plan furnished by Gov. John Went' 
worth. The master carpenter was Ebenezer Rice. The Governor 
promised to furnish the glass and nails when the work had reached 
a certain point. He also pledged them a good bell and organ. 
But the state of the country compelled him to flee before his 
promise was fulfilled. It also interrupted the work of building. 
Only the frame was erected and the roof and outer boarding 
put on, the floor laid, and some temporary arrangements made 
for holding service in it in summer. And so it remained until 
August, 1789, when, according to a previous vote, twenty-five 
pews were sold in order to purchase the nails and glass where- 
with to finish it. The frame of the church, constructed of the 
mighty forest trees then abundant, is exceedingly heavy and pow- 
erful, made of the strongest and best kinds of timber. It is said 
that on one occasion, in the early part of the present century, a 
tornado swept over the country while the people were assembled 
for divine worship. Among them was a Mr. Dodge, who had 
been employed as a carpenter when the frame was raised. He 
was a very large and strong man and had a seat near the door. 
When the trees began to fall about the building, many were 
greatly alarmed, and rushed for the door, where they found Mr. 
Dodge defending the passage, denying all egress, and with his 
brawny arm pushing back the crowd, saying : " I know this frame. 
]^o wind can demolish it. Your only safety lies in keeping 
beneath its shelter." I may as well mention here that the tower 
and belfry were added in the year 1800, and the whole church 
was re-covered, except the north side and part of the east endy 
and the entire exterior was painted, A bell weighing six hundred 
and eighty-two pounds was procured and hung in 1806, and an 
organ, whose whistling pipes were the wonder of our childhood, 
was subsequently placed in the gallery. In 1820 an addition of 



100 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

twenty feet was made at the east end of the church, to accom- 
modate the increased congregation. The original size of the 
church was fifty feet in width, and one hundred in length, with 
posts twenty feet high. 

After the departure of the Rev. Mr. Cossitt the church contin- 
ued vacant several years, but the services were kept up by lay 
reading. Mr. Ebenezer Rice was chosen to keep the records, and 
also to read prayers and sermons, with liberty to call in what as- 
sistance he should think proper. 

In 1784 the town voted to lay out four acres for the use and ben- 
efit of the Episcopal church, commonly called the Church of Eng- 
land, for a churchyard, including the ground on which the church 
ROW stands. In 1785, a service for the Holy Communion was pro- 
cured, of pewter, which continued to be used until another of more 
valuable material was presented by Hon. S. Kingsbury and Mr. 
Dustin in 1822. In 1787, an agreement w^as made with Mr. Abra- 
ham Towmlinson, a clergyman, as I suppose, to read prayers and 
preach for a term of seven months, from the eighth of September 
to the next Easter. 

July 14, 1785. It was voted to send letters to the clergy of Con- 
necticut for better satisfaction about their connection with Bishop 
Seabury. " October, 1785. Voted, to choose Mr. Bill Barnes to 
represent the Church of Claremont at the adjourned convention to 
be holden at Boston on the twenty-sixth of October inst. Voted 
to send our united thanks to the convention for taking pains to 
send us their doings. Voted a concurrence with their progress." 
"April 28, 1791. Voted not to accede to the constitution formed at 
Boston. Voted to adopt the doings or alterations of the Book of 
Common Prayer as proposed at Philadelphia." In 1788 an arrange- 
ment was made with the Rev. Solomon Blakeslee to ofliciate as 
minister of the church, on a salary of fifty-two pounds, with the 
use of the glebe, together with the rents then due thereon. 

Mr. Blakeslee is represented as an eloquent preacher, of easy 
address and exemplary conduct, possessing an unusual faculty for 
attracting people to him and the church. Such was his influence 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT, 101 

that thirty families from the Congregational society conformed to 
the Episcopal church in one day. Mr. Blakeslee, at his own re- 
quest, obtained a dismission in 1791, and removed to East Had- 
dam. Conn. 

In the town records of 1796 are certificates of the following gen- 
tlemen, most of whom professed to have united with the Episcopal 
church, protesting against paying any more taxes for the support 
of the Rev. John Tappan, then minister of the Congregational 
society, viz : 

Elisha Sheldon, Francis Chase, John Cotton, Peter Russell, Benj, 
Swett, Walter Ainsworth, Matthias Stone, Jonathan Emerson, 
John Stone, Asa Dunsmore, Samuel Atkins, Joseph Wilson, Abel 
Dustin, Jonathan Shaw, Jr., Nicholas Carey, Christopher York, 
Josiah Rich, Stephen Barber, Roger Philips, and Lemuel Dean. 

Petition for Incorporation of Episcopal society, and proceed- 
ings thereon, being verbatim copy from Town Papers of JS'ew 
Hampshire, Vol. XI, pages 382 and 383 : 

To The honorable the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court con- 
vened Humbly shew 
Benjami)! Sumner & Ebenezer Rice — Members of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church in Claremont in the County of Cheshire that said Church has laboured 
under many and great inconveniences for want of an incorporation, they there- 
fore pray your honors to incorporate said society by law and make them a 
body politic capable of receiving and holding property both real and personal 
and to have and enjoy all the privileges and immunities belonging to a cor- 
porate body, and as in duty bound will ever pray 
Claremont December 26th 1793 

Benj'a Sumner ") In behalf of the 
Ebenezer Rice j Church 

State of New ") ^ , „ „ „ . ,.,.,_„. 

H rnvshre I House of Representatives Jan'y 21 1^94 

Upon reading and considering the foregoing petition & the report of a Com- 
mittee thereon. Voted that the prayer thereof be granted and that the Petition- 
ers have leave to bring in a Bill accordingly 
Sent up for concurrence 

Nath'l Peabody Speaker 
In Senate the same Day Read & Concurred 

Nath'l Parker Bep'y Sec'y 



102 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

In the year 1794 this church was incorporated by act of the New 
Hampshire legislature, with the name of Union Church. The 
records show that a parish meeting was warned for May 13, 1794, 
'■'■ to take into consideration a proposition made to them by the Con- 
gregational people to join with them in hiring Mr. "Whiting to be 
the minister for both Congregationalists and Episcopalians." Mr. 
Whiting was a Congregational minister. At the meeting referred 
to it was voted that they would join with the Congregational peo- 
ple, provided they could agree upon the terms. Then it was voted 
to choose seven men as a committee to meet the other committee. 
^' Chose Messrs. Bill Barnes, EbenezerRice, Ambrose Cossitt, David 
Dodge, Sanford Kingsbury, John W. Eussell, and Captain George 
Hubbard. Voted to authorize them to hire Mr. Whiting to offici- 
ate for such term as they should agree upon, as a candidate for 
settlement over the whole town, on the following conditions, viz: 
1st, That he receive Episcopal ordination, (as he had done Con- 
gregational), and 2d, That he officiate alternately at the church 
and at the meeting-house. That on these terms this society will 
agree that Mr. Whiting be settled over the whole town, and that 
the town reap the benefit of the public lands belonging to the 
church so long as he continues to be our minister." The meeting 
was adjourned to the twentieth of May. It then met and heard 
the report of the committee, which was, in substance, that the 
Congregational society would not comply with the terms. 

The Rev. Daniel Barber became rector of this church in 1795, 
and continued as such until 1818. He was a native of Simsbury, 
Conn., the birthplace of Bishop Griswold. Mr. Barber was born 
and educated a Congregationalist. He was ordained by Bishop 
Seabury at Middletown, Conn., October 29, 1786. He is reported 
to have been an eccentric character, doing and saying many queer 
things, and quite wanting in dignity. It is due to him to say, how- 
ever, that he kept the church together for many years, and that it 
increased very considerably under his ministry. 

The rectorship of Mr. Barber ended disastrously to himself In 
1817 his son, Virgil H. Barber, who had already been ordained 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 103 

both deacon and priest, joined the Eoman Catholic church. Soon 
the father confessed that he had embraced the Roman Catholic 
faith, began to use his influence in favor of that church, and to try 
to unsettle the minds of the people. While Mr. Barber still re- 
mained rector — but rumors having arisen respecting his defection, 
and not a little dissatisfaction existing in consequence — at a meet- 
ing called for this purpose expressly, on September 29, 1818, it was 
" Voted that the Rev. James B. Howe be hired to preach among 
us for such time as he will agree to, not exceeding one year." No- 
vember 12, 1818, " Voted to dismiss the Rev. Daniel Barber from 
the rectorship." April 19, 1819, called the Rev. James B. Howe 
to the rectorship, on a salary of seven hundred dollars. 

Mr. Barber remained with his son, Virgil H., a few years, and 
then went to Connecticut, from there to Georgetown, D. C, where 
his daughter-in-law and two granddaughters were in a convent, 
and died at Saint Inigoes, Md., in 1834, at the age of seventy-eight 
years. 

The building nearly opposite Union church, intended for a 
church, school, and dwelling, erected by Virgil H. Barber, with 
the aid of means furnished by Catholic friends in Canada, was 
begun in 1823, and completed a few years later. There services 
were held regularly on the Sabbath, and during the week a school, 
which was quite largely attended by sons of his father's former 
parishioners, and students from distant parts, was kept up for sev- 
eral years, and was occupied by the Catholics for religious services 
until 1866. Dr. Hubbard says that Virgil H. Barber's efforts here 
were " without fruits so far as conversions to Romanism were con- 
cerned, the only family from this church, I believe, that followed 
Mr. Barber in his apostacy was that of Mr. Noah Tyler, whose 
wife was a sister of Mr. Barber. The son of Mr. Tyler, William, 
became a Roman Catholic bishop, and the daughter, Rosetta, the 
Lad}' Superior of a nunnery. Sanford Spaulding, also, who had 
married an Irish woman, concluded to join his wife, and two ladies 
by the name of Alden went to the Roman Catholic church." 

" The Rev. James B. Howe, who succeeded Mr. Barber, was born 



104 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

in Dorchester, Mass. He had been a successful classical teacher in 
Boston for some years previous to his ordination, which took place 
not long before his call to this parish. He was recommended by 
the Rev. Dr. Eaton, the venerable and excellent rector of Christ's 
Church, Boston. About the time he assumed the rectorship, a 
large, round, brick building, erected by a sort of ecclesiastical 
union, in which I believe Universalism was the predominant ele- 
ment, standing on the present site of Trinity church, Claremont 
village, was purchased as a chapel by Union church, and therein, 
during the greater part of Mr. Howe's ministry, services were held 
alternately, one Sunday in this church, and the next in Trinity 
chapel. Mr. Howe was a man of very diflerent quality from his 
predecessor. He was truly a gentleman of the old school. Like 
Bishop Griswold, he continued to wear, as long as he lived, the 
long stockings and short clothes of the olden time. He was open, 
frank, hearty, courteous, sincere, true to his convictions of duty, 
earnest in his religious feelings. In short, he was a man to win 
the confidence and afiection of his people. Until the unfortunate 
strife arose as to the rights and interests between the two parts of 
the parish, in which, from his position and residence, he was neces- 
sarily involved, no parish was more united or more cordially 
attached to their rector. There may have been individual excep- 
tions, but they were rare. I believe that those who in the heat of 
controversy were bitterly opposed to him, will now, when these 
feelings have subsided, be ready to acknowledge his good qualities, 
his high-minded and noble Christian character. Very soon after 
he commenced his ministry a large number of persons, headed by 
Colonel Josiah Stevens, a deacon in the Congregational society, 
joined this parish. I find the names of over forty men, mostly 
heads of families, residing in or near Claremont village, enrolled 
in 1819 among the voters in the parish meeting. The first con- 
firmation during the rectorship, September 14, 1819, numbered 
forty-six. In 1824 this parish came into possession of a fund 
amounting to over five thousand five hundred dollars, devised by 
will of Major Oliver Ashley, one of the original proprietors of the 




TRINITY CHURCH. 




REV. HENRY S. SMITH. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 105 

town. The income of this fund was given for the support of a 
clergyman of this church. Thus this church, with the Ashley- 
fund and the income of church lands, was provided with the means 
of abundant self-support, amounting to more than eight hundred 
dollars." 

There were local and other causes which finally resulted in a 
division of the parish. Mr, Howe's connection with the contro- 
versy which preceded the division was such that the last years of 
his rectorship were made very unpleasant for him, and unprofitable 
for the church. He was dismissed peremptorily by the majority, 
who sympathized with the western portion of the parish, because 
they supposed him to sympathize wholly with the village portion, 
and, after a hearing before the standing committee of the diocese, 
he was advised, on certain conditions, to resign. A new parish was 
formed in the village, and the Rev. Henry S. Smith was called as 
assistant to the rector of Union church parish, and began his ser- 
vices there after Easter in 1838, officiating alternately there and in 
Trinity church, Cornish, and so continued four years. After the 
resignation of Mr, Howe, Mr. Smith was elected rector of Union 
church, which he held twenty-nine years, ending in 1871, He re- 
signed on account of his age. 

Rev, W. B. T. Smith, son of the Rev. Henry S, Smith, was rec- 
tor from June 23, 1872, to June 23, 1876. Rev. Isaac G, Hubbard, 
D. D., was rector from October, 1876, until his death, March 30, 
1878, Rev. W. B. T, Smith was again rector from 1880 until No- 
vember 16, 1884. Rev. W. W. Campbell was rector from June, 
1885, to July 1, 1888. Rev. Joseph G. Ticknor became rector 
June 1, 1889. 

TRINITY CHURCH. 

The subject of a division of Union parish, and the establishment 
of a church at the village having been agitated for some time, at a 
special meeting at Union church, August 26, 1843, it was "Voted 
that the wardens are hereby authorized and directed in the name 
of Union church, to convey by assignment of lease or otherwise, 
all the right, title and interest of Union church, and all privileges 



106 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

and appurtenances thereof, to Trinity church in Claremont, in pur- 
suance of an article in the warrant." 

On September 20, 1843, the parish of Trinity church, Clare- 
mont, was duly organized. Thirty-seven gentlemen, at that time, 
signed the articles of association ; others signed at later dates. 
September 30, of the same year, having adopted a code of by-laws, 
the parish proceeded to elect the following officers ; James P. 
Brewer, clerk; Charles M. Bingham and Lewis Perry, wardens; 
Philander C. Freeman, James M. Gates, Josiah Richards, David 
"W. Dexter, and Charles Mitchell, vestrymen ; John W. Tappan, 
treasurer; Thomas Leland, delegate to the special convention of 
the diocese, at Concord, October 4, 1843. It was then "Voted, 
That the Wardens of this Church procure, if they think practica- 
ble, from Union church, a conveyance of Trinity Chapel and the 
land and all the appurtenances belonging to the same, to Trinity 
church." April 8, 1844, P. C. Freeman was appointed by the 
parish meeting " an agent to attend to the transfer of Trinity 
Church, from the members of Union Church, Claremont, N. H." 
The transfer was made prior to June 26, 1844. 

According to the "History of the Eastern Diocese," Trinity 
church was received into union with the Diocese of ITew Hamp- 
shire, at the special convention at Concord, October 4, 1843, and 
its delegates took part in the election of the Rev. Carlton Chase, 
D. D., bishop. 

The Rev. Eleazer A. Greenleaf officiated at Trinity church from 
November, 1843, to Easter, 1844. On December 30, 1843, at a 
special meeting of the parish of Trinity church, the following res- 
olution was offered by Thomas Leland, Esq., and was unanimously 
adopted : 

Resolved, As the sense of this Society, that the Wardens and Vestry of this 
parish be instructed to invite the Rev. Carlton Chase, D. D., to become Rector 
of said parish, and to make such contract for his salary as they may think for 
the best interest of the Society. And, in case he accepts of such a call, to 
make all other arrangements proper for raising means for his salary, and for 
his institution as rector." 

Dr. Chase accepted the rectorship of Trinity church, and entered 



HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 107 

upon its duties at Easter, 1844. His salary from the parish was 
five hundred dollars. At the annual convention in June, 1844, 
he reported sixty families, three baptisms and eighty-four com- 
municants. 

The old Trinity chapel, after having been used for the church 
service thirty-four years, was taken down in the early part of 1852. 
The corner-stone of the present edifice, on the same site, was laid 
on June 16, 1852, by Bishop Chase, assisted by the Rev. Henry S. 
Smith, rector of Union church, Claremont, and the Rev. Marcellus 
A. Herrick, rector of St. James church, Woodstock, Vt. Under 
the corner-stone the following-named articles were deposited: 

1. Printed copies of the journals of the diocese of New Hamp- 
shire from 1843 to 1851, inclusive. 

2. A list of the communicants of Trinity church from its organ- 
ization in September, 1843, to June, 1852 — the whole number 
being one hundred and seventy-two. 

3. One number each of three religious newspapers published 
severally on or near the twelfth of June, 1852, to wit : The " Church- 
man," "The Christian Witness and Advocate," and "The Cal- 
endar." 

4. One number each of the newspapers published in Claremont 
village — the "iN'ational Eagle," and the "Northern Advocate." 

5. A declaration, of which the following is a copy : "I, Carlton 
Chase, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese of New Hampshire, in the 
fifty-ninth year of my age, and in the eighth year of my episco- 
pate — Millard Fillmore being President of the United States, and 
Noah Martin being Governor of New Hampshire — this sixteenth 
day of June, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred 
and fifty-two, lay this corner-stone of Trinity Church, and with my 
own hand make this deposite." 

6. A schedule of donations from churches and individuals from 
abroad, to aid in the erecting of Trinity church. 

7. An account of the organization of the parish, with a list of 
officers for the year 1852. Also, the names of the architects, 
Messrs. Wills & Dudley, of the city of New York ; of the builders, 
Messrs. Washburn & Nichols, of Albany, N. Y.; of the building" 



108 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

committee, Messrs. Charles M. Bingham, Lewis Perry, Charles F. 
Long, and Alvah Stevens. 

" 8. A paper containing the names of subscribers and donors to 
the building fund, and stating generally the terms of the contract 
for erection. 

The chancel window was the gift of All Saints Church, New 
York. The cost of this church edifice was about seven thousand 
dollars. Additons and alterations since made have augmented 
considerably that sum. It was duly consecrated by Bishop Chase, 
in the presence of the convention of the diocese, May 25, 1853. 

Bishop Chase resigned the rectorship of this church June first, 
1863, as follows : 

Diocese of New HAMPsmRE. 
To the Wardens and Vestry of Trinity Church : 

Dear Brethren, — Proceedings in the late Convention, by which the Diocese as- 
sures my full support, and solicits for itself my undivided cares and labors, make 
it my duty to resign the Rectorship of your Church. This I beg leave now to do. 
And in doing it, I assure you, Brethren, that my connection of nineteen years 
with Trinity Church has afforded me innumerable occasions of happy and grate- 
ful remembrance. As your Bishop I shall still be in your service, and shall be 
most happy at all times to do what I can for Trinity church. 
With much affection and respect, 

Yours in most holy bonds, 

Carlton Chase. 

Bishop Chase died on the eighteenth of January, 1870, at the 
age of seventy-six years. 

At an adjourned meeting of the members of Trinity Church cor- 
poration, June 22, 1863, it was "Voted that the Wardens and 
Vestry be authorized to tender the Eev. John Milton Peck, of 
"Warren, R. I., an invitation to officiate in this church as Pastor 
one year for the consideration of 800 Dollars as Salary." Mr. Peck 
accepted this invitation, and entered on his duties August 2, 1863. 
Subsequently his salary was increased to one thousand dollars and 
the use of the rectory. He resigned in June, 1867. Mr. Peck 
reported to the committee in June, 1867, twelve baptisms, twenty 
confirmations and one hundred and sixty communicants. 

Mr. Peck was subsequently rector of Trinity church, Rutland, 




RT. REV. CARLTON CHASE, D. D. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 109 

Yt., and of other parishes. He died at Longwood, Mass., July 
25, 1890. 

On the first of August, 1867, the Rev. Isaac G. Hubbard, D. D., 
took charge of Trinity church. To the convention of 1868, Dr. 
Hubbard reported ten baptisms, eleven confirmations, two hun- 
dred and one communicants, and one hundred Sunday-school 
scholars. 

In 1871 the parish sold its rectory for three thousand dollars, 
and purchased the Dr. Robert Gleason house and grounds adjoin- 
ing the church lot, for four thousand five hundred dollars. In 1884 
the old buildings on this lot were sold for about one hundred and 
fifty dollars, to be removed, preparatory to building new. 

In September, 1866, George G. and Lemuel K Ide, brothers, pre- 
sented to Trinity church a bell weighing one thousand and fifty- 
seven pounds, and costing, with mountings, etc., five hundred and 
thirty-one dollars and sixty-two cents, " for religious and church 
uses only." 

The following explains itself: 

Claremont, N. H., Dec. 19, 1871. 
To the Rector, Wardens, and Vestry of Trinity Church : 

Gentlemen, — I have had prepared a Memorial Tablet in memory of Rt. Rev. 
Carlton Chase, D. D., our late worthy Bishop and Rector, which I herewith 
offer for your acceptance, to be placed in the chancel of the Church. 
Very truly your associate in the Vestry, 

Geo. L. Balcom. 

Dr. Hubbard, on account of ill health, was granted a vacation, 
Ms place being supplied by the society, and went to Europe, his 
expenses being paid by contributions of members of his parish and 
others. 

By reason of continued ill health, Dr. Hubbard resigned his 
rectorship March 31, 1875, to take efifect the first of the following 
May. The Rev. C. R. Batchelder, Rev. Mr. Pearson, and others 
supplied until the Rev. Henry Ferguson was called and com- 
menced his labors as rector the 3d of March, 1878. On account 
of the poor health of Mrs. Ferguson, Mr. Ferguson resigned in 
December, 1880. The Rev. Charles S. Hale was called, and 



110 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

commenced his rectorship at Easter, 1881. He resigned March 
9, 1885, his resignation to take effect after Trinity Sunday, May 
31, 1885. The present rector, the Eev. James B. Goodrich, 
commenced his labors the following October. 

In February, 1882, a new organ was placed in the church, at 
an expense of $3,150. In 1884 a choir-room was added to the 
church, which, with furnishings, cost $1,375. A chancel choir of 
men and boys was organized in February, 1882. In August, 1884, 
a legacy of $8,000 was received from the estate of Mrs. Carrie, 
widow of Frank Evans, of Boston, with which to build a rectory 
for Trinity parish, which was completed in 1885. The number of 
communicants in October, 1893, was 185. The officers for that 
year were, Henry Judkins and Charles H. Long, wardens ; 
Charles H. Weed, Herman Holt, Harry C. Fay, Isaac H. Long, 
and George A. Briggs, vestrymen; Frank P. Vogl, clerk. 




BAPTIST CHURCH. 



CHAPTER IX. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

In 1785 a Baptist society was formed in Claremont. There 
was no stated preaching, however, until the following year, Avhen 
Rev. John Pickens was ordained. The formation of this new 
religious society increased the bitterness of feeling against the 
ministerial tax system. The members of the new society refused 
to conform to the requisitions of the law, pleading that they were 
of a different denomination from the original church organization. 

The town records show that on September 6, 1785, " The In- 
habitants of the Town of Claremont assembled at the dwelling- 
house of Mr. Ebenezer Rice in s'd Town," and " Voted on the 
fourth article in the warning that those people that call them- 
selves Baptists pay no more taxes to the Congregational order 
for the fewter." 

This secured from taxation, by the terms of the law, such per- 
sons as were conscientiously of a different persuasion, and attended 
constantly public religious worship on the Lord's day. 

In July, ] 776, a church of seventeen members was constituted 
and recognized. Mr. Pickens remained but a few months, under 
whose ministry the society flourished. In the Manual of this 
church, published in 1884, it is stated that after the removal of 
Mr. Pickens, from various causes the church "became extinct in 
a few years." In 1815 the Baptists, Methodists, and Univer- 
salists united and built a meeting-house on the spot where Trin- 
ity church now stands ; and in 1821 the Baptists and Universalists 
sold their respective shares to the Episcopalians, and the building 
was made over, called Trinity chapel, and was occupied as a 



112 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

place of worsHp by the latter denomination until 1852, when it 
was taken down to make room for Trinity church. In the fall 
of 1820, Rev. Isaac Kimball labored three months as a Baptist 
missionary in Claremont. In January, 1821, the scattered mem- 
bers were brought together, and a church of seventeen members 
was constituted. The names of these members were as follows : 
Joseph Cummings, Thomas Warner, Ezra Smith, Jesse Bunnel, 
Mehitabel Dodge, Milly Bunnel, Eunice Smith, Prudence Sweet, 
Betsey Bunnel, Ruth Bond, Prudence Richards, Hannah Cum- 
mings, Betsey Patrick, Lydia Wilkins, Sally Draper, Mehitabel 
Bunnel, Charlotte Petty. 

Under Mr. Kimball's labors the church membership increased 
to fifty-four. The six following years the church was without a 
pastor and worshiped in a hall connected with Clark's tavern, 
on the north side of Sugar river. Notwithstanding the disad- 
vantages endured in this time, there was an accession of several 
men of standing and wealth. In 1827 the First Baptist Society 
was formed, and a chapel was built on the east side of High 
street, which was occupied six years. 

In January, 1829, the Rev. Leonard Tracy was settled as the 
first pastor of the church, and his connection with it continued 
eight years, during which the Manual, published in 1884, from 
which much information is derived, says " the foundations of 
much of its future prosperity were laid." In 1833-34, encour- 
aged by the growth of the church and society, a lot at the junc- 
tion of Main and Central streets, where their handsome house 
of worship now stands, was purchased, and the erection of the 
building was commenced, which was completed and dedicated in 
November, 1834. 

The Rev. Darwin H. Ranney succeeded Mr. Tracy, and began 
his labors in March, 1838, and continued them until September, 
1839, after which the pastorate was vacant until September, 1840, 
when Rev. J. M. Graves became pastor. He held the ofiice about 
three years, during which it is recorded that " the church gained 
in strength and efficiency, although it did not increase in mem- 
bers." 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 113 

The Rev. William B. Jacobs succeeded to the pastorate in 
November, 1843, and ''filled the office with fidelity for about three 
years." His successor was Rev. Thomas G. Wright, who began 
his labors in July, 1847. " Though the number of members 
decreased during this period, yet the character of the church was 
greatly improved, and a foundation was laid for future success. 
Some long standing difficulties were settled, disorderly members 
were removed, and the body became more homogeneous and 
harmonious." He closed his labors with this church in June, 1851. 

The Rev. Oliver Ayer was settled in July, 1851. " His pas- 
torate was the longest the church has yet enjoyed, — thirteen 
years, — and was blessed with seasons of refreshing from on high. 
The year 1858 was especially memorable in the number of acces- 
sions by baptism." Mr. Ayer, though not a noisy or very 
attractive preacher to the generality of hearers, was a man of 
culture and refinement; his sermons were finished, sound, and 
logical, setting forth in no questionable terms his belief in the 
doctrines he preached. No one who heard him could doubt his 
sincerity; and no one who knew him, whether they subscribed 
to his peculiar doctrines or not, could fail to respect him as a 
citizen and clergyman. Mr. Ayer was settled as pastor at Groton, 
Mass., for several years, but by reason of age and infirmities is 
now retired and lives at Providence, R. I. 

In October, 1864, Francis W. Towle was called to the pastorate 
of this church, and ordained the following month. " During his 
pastorate the church enjoyed steady growth in number and re- 
sources. Early in 1872 the society began the work of enlarging 
and repairing its house of worship. A new vestibule, tower, and 
chapel were built, the interior of the main house remodeled, 
refurnished, and frescoed. The whole cost of the repairs exceeded 
nine thousand five hundred dollars. The service of dedication 
was held January 2, 1873." Mr. Towle resigned in July, 1873, 
and became professor in Colgate University, Hamilton, N. Y. 
From there he went to Concord, Mass., where he died in 1892. 

Charles A. Piddock served as supply from October, 1873, be- 
came pastor in March, 1874, and was ordained the same month. 



114 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

His pastorate extended to July, 1877, and " was characterized by 
revival spirit and work, and by numerous accessions to the church."' 
Mr. Piddock is now editor and proprietor of the " Christian Sec- 
retary," Hartford, Conn. 

Rev. Joseph S. Swaim was called to the pastorate in October, 
1877, and having been ordained in Cambridge, Mass., "continued 
his labors until February, 1883, the church during this time being 
united and prosperous and steadily increasing in numbers." Mr. 
Swaim is now pastor of the First Baptist church, jN'ew Bedford, 
Mass. 

Kev. T. G. Cass was next called, and began his labors as pastor 
in April, 1883, and resigned and was dismissed March 27, 1885. 
He was succeeded by Rev. Joseph H. Bobbins, who was settled 
June 7, 1885. Mr. Cass is pastor of a church at Norwich, K Y, 

The Rev. Joseph H, Robbins succeeded Mr. Cass, was dis- 
missed in August, 1889, and is now pastor of the Baptist church 
at Chester, Yt. 

The Rev. 0. C. Sargent was recognized as pastor on October 
20, 1889. 

The number of members of this church in 1893 was 323 ; the 
whole number since its organization, 1,119. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Many of the following facts are gathered from a " Historical 
Sketch," by the Rev. M. V. B. Knox, then pastor, published in 
1892: 

The date of the first preaching of Methodism in Claremont, 
probably cannot at this distant period be definitely fixed, but it 
was undoubtedly between the years of 1795 and 1798. One 
authority states that the Rev. Mr. Daniels, the first Methodist 
preacher who died in New England and was buried in the adjoin- 
ing town of Unity, preached the first sermon here. Another 
statement is, that the eccentric Lorenzo Dow was the first to 
preach here, when he was nineteen years old, which would fix 
the date as 1796, he having been born in 1777. The statement 
is that Mr. Dow first preached in the neighborhood known as 




METHODIST CHURCH, CLAREMONT. 



A 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 115 

Puckershire, It is known that in the winter of 1798 Lorenzo 
Dow preached once in four weeks in what is called the Green 
Mountain district, and that his labors resulted in some conver- 
sions and the formation of a class at the house of Eliphalet Kob- 
ertson, who sometimes acted as leader. Dow's eccentricities were 
j&nallj thought unbearable, and "he was advised to leave the 
town, which he did in quite a characteristic manner. Riding to 
its line, with thoughts and maledictions the results of which 
it may be impossible to tell, and the nature of which the last 
day alone may reveal, he dismounted, and, rapping his shoes 
together, shook the dust of Claremont off them, solemnly declar- 
ing that he should never enter the town more until solicited by 
those who were anxious for his labors as a minister of the Lord 
Jesus Christ. Never being invited he never did return, and his 
testimony thus feelingly given still remains." 

The first organized Methodism in Claremont was a class formed 
of those who were converted under the labors of Mr. Dow, in 
the Green Mountain district. The leader was Eliakim Stevens. 
In 1801 Claremont was included in the new circuit of Hanover. 
A quarterly meeting is reported in Claremont May 7, 1801, 
connected with which were nine baptisms. In 1802 the mem- 
bership in Claremont consisted of Eliakim Stevens, Prudence 
Stevens, Eliphalet Pobertson, Mary Robertson, Susanna Stevens, 
John Amidon, Dorcas Tolman, Susanna Stoddard, Cynthia Fiske, 
Hezekiah Mills, Phebe Farrington, Amos Stoddard and Betsey 
Howell. 

Under Rev. Elijah Willard's preaching a revival of religion 
occurred at Draper Corner, several families being converted, Mrs. 
Moore, an influential lady, encouraged the work by opening her 
house to meetings. She became a Methodist, as also her daughter 
Ethana, afterwards the wife and widow of Rev. Caleb Dustin. 
A class was formed under the leadership of Jacob Smith, of Unity, 
a local preacher. 

In 1806 Rev. Caleb Dustin labored here successfully. From 
this time up to 1815 the Methodists held their meetings at private 
houses, and wherever else they could find accommodations. In 



116 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

that year the Methodists, Universalists, and Baptists united and 
erected a meeting-house on the spot where Trinity church now 
stands. During the year 1821 the Baptists and Universalists, 
who had owned and occupied this meeting-house jointly with the 
Methodists, sold their shares to the Episcopalians, who at once 
put the house under alterations and repairs. This was a great 
disappointment and inconvenience to the Methodists, as the Epis- 
copalians, owning two thirds — a controlling interest — refused its 
occupancy to the Methodists for their fourth quarterly meeting, 
which was appointed for the eighteenth of August. As the day 
approached, Mr. Daniel Chase, a Universalist, who kept what has 
latterly been known as the Sullivan House, tendered the use or 
a large new horse-barn, which he had just finished, for the meeting, 
And his dance-hall for the love-feast, which was accepted. 

After this meetings were held for a time at Draper Corner; 
then in an old, red cabinet shop at the north side of the Upper 
Bridge, on Washington street, and finally in the hall of the " Old 
Clark Tavern," on North street, which was occupied about two 
years. "In this hall Wilbur Fisk and other able, godly men 
preached the word." 

In 1826 the Methodists of Claremont undertook to build for 
themselves a meeting-house, and in quarterly conference, held 
January 4, it was " voted to raise a committee of three to esti- 
mate the sum and obtain subscriptions to build a meeting-house 
in Claremont." Nathan Howard, Thomas Davis, and Eli Draper 
were appointed said committee. Eliakim Stevens, Nathan Howard, 
Thomas Davis, Asa Dinsmore, and Eli Draper were constituted 
trustees. The enterprise was at once begun. 

A subscription paper, dated January 26, 1826, and headed as 
follows, was circulated : 

Whereas, it is the duty of all that have means and opportunities to promote 
the public worship of Almighty God, and, whereas, the Society of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church in Claremont, N. H., labors under many inconveniences 
and embarrassments for want of a house of public worship, therefore we, the 
subscribers, promise to pay the sum set against our names, respectively, to the said 
Methodist Society, or a committee which they shall appoint, to be by them 
appropriated for the erecting a free house of public worship in or near the 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 117 

Tillage, in said Claremont, of such dimensions as shall by them be judged suit- 
able, and upon such principles as shall accord with the discipline and usages 
of their church. 

At an adjourned meeting held January 26, 1826, the following 
board of officers was chosen : Eliakim Stevens, president ; Kathan 
Howard, secretary; Thomas Davis, treasurer and agent; Asa 
Dinsmore, Nathan Howard, Eliakim Stevens, Thomas Davis, 
Harvey McLaughlin, trustees. At this meeting the society " voted 
to proceed to build a chapel for public Avorship," and that 
" Thomas Davis, Eliakim Stevens, and Nathan Howard be a 
committee, whose duty it shall be to purchase a site for and 
superintend the building of said chapel." 

Mr. Austin Tyler, a man of no particular denominational affin- 
ities, magnanimously offered them a very eligible site on Sullivan 
street, as a gift, which was gratefully accepted, " When the timber 
was collected, the brethren, desirous of securing the blessing of 
God upon their humble effort, solicited the services of the Eev. 
Mr. Nye, the Congregational preacher, as their own was too 
remote on other parts of the circuit to be conveniently called. 
Mr. Nye met them in the lot containing the scattered materials 
for the chapel, and solemnly invoked the divine aid on the workers 
and work." The meeting-house was raised, partly finished, and 
occupied for service through the summer season in this condition, 
the congregation sitting on rough seats, men on one side of the 
house, women on the other, while the carpenter's bench made 
the minister's pulpit. The house was finally completed and ded- 
icated in December, 1829, the sermon being preached by Eev. 
B. E. Hoyt. 

The official members of Claremont voted, in 1833, a request 
to be separated from the other places, and constituted a separate 
appointment. At a quarterly conference held at Unity, June 
29, 1833, it was "voted that Charlestown and Claremont become 
stations." But the quarterly conference included Unity, Clare- 
mont, and Charlestown until the conference year of 1835-36. 

At the first quarterly conference the new station had formed 
itself into a missionary society. The first stationed preacher was 



118 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

C. W. Levings, but matters were not prosperous, and, at the 
quarterly conference of June 25, 1836, his dismission from the 
charge, at his own request, was assented to, and he left. 

John Jones, who followed Mr. Levings, " was successful in his 
work, but was greatly impeded by a long course of sickness. The 
people helped him in a characteristic manner. To meet the ex- 
penses of his illness, the sum of seventy-three dollars and eighteen 
cents was raised, over and above his regular salary, and awarded 
him as a gift — this being the whole amount of expenses incurred 
by his sickness. He reported one hundred and nineteen members." 

The next year Moses Chase was the preacher, " and the place 
was favored with a revival of great power. So many were the 
additions that he reported the membership at two hundred and 
twenty-one." 

At the annual meeting of the society, September 4, 1837, 
" Charles H. Mann, Erastus Clark, and Frederick A. Henry were 
made a committee to see how a house-lot could be bought and 
a parsonage-house built." An adjourned meeting, held Sep- 
tember 16, of the same year, " Voted to proceed in the building 
of a house as soon as four hundred dollars should be raised." 
This sum was soon pledged, and Samuel Tutherly, William Proc- 
tor, and Frederick A. Henry were appointed a building com- 
mittee. It was found necessary to enlarge the meeting-house, 
and it was decided to abandon the parsonage project for that time. 

The quarterly conference, in January, 1838, resolved itself 
into a domestic missionary society, auxiliary to the Domestic 
Missionary Society of New Hampshire. In that year Rev. William 
Hatch succeeded Mr. Chase in the pastorate. The quarterly 
conference, in May, " Eesolved, in the opinion of the quarterly 
conference, that our discipline prohibits the use of intoxicating 
liquors, except as a medicine, and that no person ought to be 
received into the church unless he will live up to this rule." 
The same Conference, in April, 1839, resolved : 

1. That in our opinion the use of intoxicating drinks as a beverage is sin. 

2. That if any member of our church in this place shall be guilty of so doing, 
such member or members ought to be dealt with according to the rules of dis- 
cipline, unless speedy reformation renders it unnecessary. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 119 

Rev. James AI. Fuller, in 1839, succeeded Mr. Hatch, and, at 
the close of the first year, reported a Sunday school, with twenty- 
four officers and teachers, one hundred and eleven scholars, and 
three hundred volumes in the library. 

Mr. Fuller stayed two years, and reported the number of mem- 
bers of the church at two hundred and one. He was succeeded 
by Rev. Eleazer Smith. 

About this time the Second Advent, or Miller excitement, 
manifested itself, threatening the interests of the church. In a 
quarterly conference, April 15, 1843, it was "Voted that those 
brethren who sustain meetings abroad are requested to refrain; 
if not, they are invited respectfully to withdraw from the church," 
and G. W. "Wilson, E. Clark, A. M. Billings, and others imme- 
diately withdrew. At the close of his second year Mr. Smith 
reported two hundred and ninety members of the church. 

The !N'ew Hampshire Annual Conference — then including Ver- 
mont as well as this state — met at Claremont for the first time, 
in June, 1843. The public services were held in the town hall. 
" On the Sabbath an immense audience assembled, filling not only 
the town hall, but the grounds about it. The venerable Bishop 
"Waugh, standing on a platform erected for that purpose at the 
south door, proclaimed with masterly effect, in behalf of the 
ministry, ' We preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord.' " 

Mr. Smith was succeeded in 1843 by Rev. Elihu Scott. " His 
first year's pastorate was greatly injured by the desolating influ- 
ence of Millerism, defections in the membership multiplying so 
that he reported but one hundred and eighty members at the 
close of that year." At the end of his second year, Millerism 
having collapsed, Mr. Scott reported two hundred members of 
the church. 

At the close of Mr. Scott's term, the quarterly conference, 
having tested the station system, " Voted to request the bishop 
to form Claremont station into a circuit, by adding one or more 
towns, and to send two or more preachers." But the experience 
of a year or two under this plan reversed the request, and Clare- 
mont has since remained a station. 



120 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

In 1845 Rev. Silas Quimby succeeded Mr. Scott, and at the end 
of the year reported the membership at two hundred and thirty- 
three. Rev. Justin Spaulding succeeded Mr. Quimby, remaining 
one year, and was succeeded by Rev. Jacob Stevens, in 1847, 
remaining on the charge about three quarters of the year, when 
he retired on account of poor health, and the year was filled out 
by Rev. Matthew Newhall, a supernumerary preacher. This year 
the quarterly conference "Voted to adopt a number of resolu- 
tions against the circus soon to be exhibited in this place." It 
also voted to admit " a seraphim in the gallery." 

Rev. Joseph 0. Cromack was the next preacher. During his 
pastorate the church bought the house on Pleasant street, now 
owned by Dr. F. C. Wilkinson, for a parsonage. In 1850 Rev. 
Lewis Howard succeded Mr. Cromack, and in 1851 the quarterly 
conference ordered twenty-five dollars to be "paid to Jonathan 
Miner for leading the singing." On February 23, 1852, the society 
" Voted to build a new meeting-house, and that Samuel Tutherly 
ie a committee to obtain subscriptions." Plans for the house were 
presented and adopted, and, at a meeting on March 6, it was 
" Voted that the rent of pews go toward the preaching," and at 
another meeting, a week later, "Thomas Sanford, Samuel 
Tutherly, and James Sperry were made a committee to dispose 
of the old meeting-house and lot, purchase a new lot, raise 
subscriptions, and build a new meeting-house." This com- 
mittee was also authorized to sell the parsonage, and the 
trustees were directed to hold the funds arising from that 
sale until they could build or purchase another, which was to be 
done within six years. " The trustees were also authorized to use 
the money arising from the sale of the parsonage in the new 
church, with the interest of it to go for house-rent for the preach- 
er." Frederick A. Henry and Ebenezer E. Bailey were added to 
the building committee ; subscriptions to the amount of $2,484.60 
were soon obtained ; the old meeting-house was sold for $650, and 
the parsonage for $1,191 ; a new church lot was purchased on Cen- 
tral street ; a new meeting-house was erected, which, with furnish- 
ings, cost $5,601.76. The new " church was dedicated to the ser- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 121 

vice of Almighty God, January, 25, 1853, by Bishop Osmon C. Ba- 
ker." During the building of the new meeting-house, and up to 
1854, Rev. John McLaughlin was the preacher. The membership 
at the close of his pastorate numbered two hundred and eighty- 
one. 

Mr. McLaughlin was succeeded by Rev. Frederick A. Hewes, 
whose pastorate, for two years, was quite successful, and the church 
and society were strong and prosperous. The second session of 
the New Hampshire conference was held in Claremont, in May, 
1856, presided over by Bishop E. S. Janes. The conference ser- 
mon was delivered by Rev. Elihu Scott, a former pastor. Rev. W. 
F. Evans succeeded to the pastorate in 1856. During his pastorate 
the debt that had remained on the church since its dedication was 
fully paid. 

Mr. Evans was succeeded, in 1858, by Rev. 0. H. Jasper, D. D. 
a popular and powerful preacher, during whose pastorate of two 
years much good was accomplished. In 1860, Rev. R. S. Stubbs 
took the place of Mr. Jasper. At the annual meeting of the soci- 
ety, 1860, it was voted that the church be lighted with gas, and 
"Eli Smith was requested to furnish and take charge of singing, at 
his discretion, either in the gallery or in the congregation." In 
1862, Mr. Stubbs was succeeded by Rev. H. H. Hartwell. During 
his first year the Sunday school increased from two hundred to 
two hundred and ninety-two, and the Sunday school library num- 
bered over a thousand volumes. The membership at the close of 
his second year was reported at three hundred and twenty-four. 
Rev. S. G. Kellogg followed Mr. Hartwell in 1864. He preached 
here three years, in which time he preached three hundred and 
eighty sermons, attended sixty-nine funerals, and baptized eighty- 
one persons. 

In 1867, Mr. Kellogg was succeeded by Rev. D. C. Babcock. 
After a few months' service, he accepted the secretaryship of the 
New Hampshire State Temperance League, and Rev. C. W. Mellen 
supplied the remainder of the year. In 1868 Rev. S. P. Heath came 
and remained here two years, which " were crowned with substan- 



122 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

tial success." Following Mr. Heath came Rev. H. L. Xelsey, in 
1870. During the years 1870 and 1871, a new, handsome two-story 
parsonage house was built on a lot adjoining the meeting-house lot, 
on Central street, under the direction of Hon. C. H. Eastman, 
chairman of the board of trustees, assisted by Mr. Kelsey. The 
job was contracted to George H. Stevens for two thousand seven 
hundred dollars for house, barn, and well. On the completion of 
the job, Mr. Stevens was paid something in addition for extra 
work. The ladies of the church furnished the new house with car- 
pets, stoves, tables, etc. 

In 1873, Rev. N. M. Bailey succeeded Mr. Kelsey, and continued 
here for two years, with marked success. During his pastorate "it 
appears that two women were elected on the board of stewards, — 
Mrs. Ann Perkins and Mrs. Melissa Fitch. They served five years, 
resigning in 1879, in spite of all efforts to retain them." In 1875 
Rev. E. R. Wilkins came in place of Mr. Bailey. " During his pas- 
torate of three years, the people were pleased with him, and he 
with the people. His indefatigable pastoral labors were greatly 
appreciated." In 1878, Rev. Daniel Stevenson, D. D., succeeded 
Mr. "Wilkins. " His sermons were of a high order." In the sum- 
mer of 1879 he resigned his charge, and accepted a re-transfer to 
the Kentucky conference, from which he had come to the New 
Hampshire conference, four years before. He entered on the pres- 
idency of Augusta Seminary and Female College. Rev. M. Y. B. 
Knox, of the South Kansas Conference, who was recuperating in 
northern Vermont, was secured to fill out the remainder of the 
year. During the year 1879, Mrs. Julia A. D. Eastman, widow of 
Hon. C. H. Eastman, to carry out an expressed wish of her hus- 
band, donated the money — one thousand five hundred dollars — 
to erect a memorial chapel, sixty-one by thirty-nine feet, and paid 
for carpet and other furnishings, at a cost of about two hundred 
and fifty dollars more. It joins the church on the northeast corner, 
and contains a vestry capable of seating two hundred and fifty 
people, large parlor, library, and vestibule. It was dedicated De- 
cember 22, 1880, by Presiding Elder George J. Judkins. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 123 

In 1881 the annual conference was again held in Glaremont, 
meeting April 20. "Bishop Thomas Bowman presided with 
marked ability and success." Mr. Knox continued his pastorate 
until 1882, and was succeeded by Rev. Henry Dorr. During his 
first year here Mr. Dorr met with a serious accident. He was 
thrown from his carriage, injuring his ankle so badly as to render 
amputation between the knee and foot necessary. He died in 1894. 
In 1885 Rev. G. M. Curl succeed Mr. Dorr three years; Rev. D. 
C. Babcock, two years ; Rev. A. C. Coult, one year. Mr. Coult's 
health was not equal to the requirements of so large a parish, and 
Jie was therefore, at his own request, relieved, after one year's ser- 
vice. He was succeeded in 1891 by the Rev. Charles U. Dunning, 
the present pastor. The number of members in October, 1893, 
was 330. 

ALTERATIONS AND IMPROVEMENTS OF THE CHURCH BUILDING. 

Alterations, improvements, and repairs of the church building 
liad been contemplated for some years. In the summer of 1891, 
Hira R. Beckwith, having been employed for the purpose, submit- 
ted plans and specifications for the changes desired, and they were 
adopted by the board of trustees, consisting of Ira Colby, 0, B. 
Way, D. W. Johnson, G. W. Holden, and Milton Silsby, who 
estimated that at least four thousand dollars would be required to 
carry out the plans. The trustees, assisted by the pastor, the Rev. 
Mr. Dunning, at once set about raising that sum by voluntary con- 
tributions. In a very few days more than that amount had been 
pledged, and George T. Stockwell was employed to superintend 
the mechanical part of the work, which was begun on the twenty- 
third day of September, and completed, including repairs of the 
chapel, slating and painting the parsonage buildings, and placing a 
fine toned bell, weighing near nineteen hundred pounds, in the 
belfry, on the twenty-sixth day of January, 1892. The whole cost 
of these alterations, improvements, repairs, and new furnishings was 
some more than eight thousand dollars. Of this sum the ladies 
of the society contributed nine hundred and sixty-one dollars, 
which included the price paid for a piano placed in the chapel. 



124 HISTORY OF GLAREMONT. 

On the 27th of January, 1892, the church building was re-dedi- 
cated with appropriate exercises. A sermon was preached by the 
Rev. Dr. J. W. Hamilton, of Boston, and the declaration of dedica- 
tion was made by the presiding elder, the Rev. O. S. Baketel. 

The sixty-fifth annual Methodist conference was held in Clare- 
mont, commencing April 10, 1894, presided over by Bishop Cyrus 
D. Foss. 

JUNCTION CAMP-MEETING GROUNDS. 

In 1871 the subject of securing permanent camp-meeting 
grounds for the Claremont, K H., and Springfield, Vt., Methodist 
conference districts, began to be agitated. A preliminary meeting 
of committees of those districts was held at Dr. O. B. Way's 
office in Claremont, on January 2, 1872. Rev. James Pike was 
chosen chairman, and Dr. Way, secretary. A camp-meeting con- 
vention, consisting of all the preachers of the two districts, and 
one layman from each charge, was held at Claremont Junction, 
June 2, 1872. Rev. James Pike was chosen chairman; Rev. P. 
Wallingford, secretary, and Rev. J. H. Hillman assistant secre- 
tary. Grounds of William Ellis, William Jones, and D. Canty 
near the Sullivan and Concord & Claremont railroad junction, 
were purchased. 

The first permanent officers consisted of the following gentle- 
men : President, Rev. James Pike, D. D. ; vice president, Rev. 
J. W. Guernsey ; secretary, Rev. Philander Wallingford; treasurer, 
Dr. 0. B. Way; executive committee, H. H. Howe, A. L. Jones, 
A. C. Davenport, Rev. H. W. Worthen, Rev. H. L. Kelsey. The 
first camp-meeting was held there the last week in September, 
1873. The ground had been cleared of trees and other obstruc- 
tions, seats built, a preachers' stand erected, and several sizable cot- 
tages were put up by societies and individuals. Good water has 
been brought to the grounds, and other improvements have been 
made from year to year, so that it is quite an attractive place. 
Camp-meetings have been held there each year since 1873. 

In 1893 camp-meeting was held from the twenty-second to the 
twenty-ninth of August, and was largely attended. The presiding 




UNIVERSALIS! CHURCH. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 125 

elders were O, S. Baketel of the Claremont, and L. L. Beeman of 
the Springfield district. The names of these were changed in 1893, 
— the Claremont to Manchester district, and Springfield to Mont- 
pelier district. 

During this camp-meeting ofiicers for the ensuing year were 
chosen, as follows: Eev. O. S. Baketel, of Portsmouth, president; 
Rev. L. L. Beeman, of Windsor, Vt., vice president; F. P. Ball of 
Bellows Falls, Vt, secretary; George W. Stevens, of Claremont, 
treasurer and superintendent of the grounds ; George H. Fairbanks, 
of Newport, H. F. Wyman, of Springfield, Vt, L. F. Quiraby, of 
Unity, J. C. Chadwick, of Brattleboro, Vt, G. H. Perkins, of 
Antrim, and Rev. Elihu Snow, of White River Junction, Vt., 
executive committee. 

UNIVERSALI8T CHURCH. 

From a manual prepared by the Rev. Lee S. McCollester, a 
former pastor, and published in 1885, many of the following facts 
in relation to the church have been derived : 

The object of the formation of this church is the cultivation of Faith, Hope, 
and Charity in our own hearts ; the diffusion of gospel truth and light among 
our fellow-men ; and a systematic application of Christianity in our daily life. 

There must have been some kind of an organization of the Uni- 
versalists in Claremont as early as 1815, because in that year the 
Universalists united with the Baptists and Methodists and built a 
meeting-house, which was known for many years, and until it|was 
taken down in 1852, to make a place for the erection of Trinity 
church, as the " old round brick church." The manual says : 

There was occasional Universalist preaching in Claremont as early as 1824, 
by such eminent clergymen as Revs. Russell Streeter, Otis Skinner, Samuel 
Willis, Samuel C. Loveland, John Moore, and others. The services were then 
and for several succeeding years held in the hall of what is now the Sullivan 
House, and even after Rev. W. S. Balch became settled pastor, in April, 1832, 
this hall was the regular place of worship until the completion and dedication 
of the church. 

At the annual town meeting in 1832, 

Voted, on motion of Mr. Abel Wheeler, that the First Universalist Society in 



126 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Claremont have liberty to build a house for public worship on the Common in 
the center of the town, near the west line of the burying ground, by paying at 
the rate of five hundred dollars per acre for the use of the land taken up by 
said house — place to be designated by the Selectmen. 

The dedicatory services took place in tlie forenoon of the twenty- 
fourth of October, 1832, and were conducted by the Rev. W. S. 
Balch, pastor, assisted by the Rev. Messrs. F. F. King, J. Gilman, 
and John Moore, In the afternoon of the same day the first meet- 
ing of the New Hampshire State Convention of Universalists 
occurred, when an organization was effected, and the convention 
held sessions the next day. 

The first organization of the Universalist church in Claremont 
took place during the settlement of Mr. Balch, the precise date of 
which is not known, though it was probably in 1834. In March, 
1836, Mr. Balch resigned his pastorate, and the following Novem- 
ber was succeeded by the Rev. John G. Adams, who continued 
here fifteen months. 

The Rev. William S. Balch, D. D., was born at Andover, Vt, on 
April 13, 1806, and died at Elgin, HI., December 25, 1887. He 
was the author of the first " Manual or Sunday-school Service 
Book" used by the Universalists, "Lectures on Language," "Ire- 
land as I saw It," "A Peculiar People," etc. He was an able man 
and very popular preacher. 

In the spring of 1837, during the pastorate of Mr. Adams, a 
Sunday school was organized, w^hich for many years met only dur- 
ing the warm seasons. In 1861 it began to hold sessions through 
the whole year, and has so continued without intermission, wheth- 
er the church had a settled pastor or preaching, or not, and is one 
of the useful and valued institutions of the town. Hon. H. W. 
Parker has been superintendent of this Sunday school without in- 
terruption, since 1862. 

Mr. Adams was a man of marked ability as a preacher and 
writer. After leaving Claremont he preached at Providence, R. I., 
"Worcester, Mass., and Cincinnati, Ohio. From Ohio he returned 
to New England, gave up pastoral work, but continued to preach. 
He was the author of numerous books, was at one time editor of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 127 

" The Myrtle," and later of the " Sunday School Helper." The 
last years of his life his home was at Melrose, Mass., where he 
died May 4, 1887. His son, John Coleman Adams, is an eminent 
Universalist preacher in Brooklyn, N. Y. 

The resignation of Mr. Adams was immediately followed by the 
settlement of the Rev. John Nichols, who remained here until 1843. 
In the fall of 1842, under his direction, the Ladies' Samaritan So- 
ciety was formed and became a permanent organization of the 
church. 

The Rev. R. S. Sanborn followed Mr. Nichols, remained a few 
months, and was immediately succeeded, in July, 1844, by the Rev. 
0. H. Tillotson, who remained one year. Rev. Samuel Willis was 
settled in May, 1845, and remained about five years, during which 
special attention was given to Sunday-school work and to the per- 
fection of the organization of the church. According to the rec- 
ords, " The form of church government contained in the Univer- 
salists' Guide was adopted December 7, 1845, as the constitution of 
the Universalist church of Claremont." Mr. Willis closed his pas- 
torate in the fall of 1849. For the next few months the pulpit was 
supplied by Revs. A. A. Miner, O. H. Tillotson, W. S. Balch, and 
Mr. Clark. Rev. J. D. Pierce was settled in February, 1850, and 
continued until May, 1855, and for about a year and a half the 
church was without a regular pastor, the pulpit being supplied by 
Revs. H. A. Philbrook, S. A. Spencer, and others, and by lay 
reading. 

Rev. Giles Bailey was settled in 1857 and continued until 
1860. Rev. Carlos Marston followed in the spring of 1861. Rev. 
E. S. Foster was pastor from 1863 to 1865, and Rev. Asher Moore 
from July, 1867, to 1870. For a while Rev. T. Barron preached 
here and at North Charlestown, half the time at each place, and in 
the early part of 1871 Rev. Eli Ballou occupied the pulpit. 

On May 7, 1871, Rev. C. E. Sawyer, having accepted a call to 
settle, preached his first sermon as pastor, and on the morn- 
ing of June 28 of the same year, he, with his young wife and 
wife's father, Mr. Sylvanus Gushing, of Abington, Mass., was 
drowned at Ashley's Ferry, in Connecticut river. Mr. Cushing 



128 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

came here to visit his daughter, who had been but a few weeks 
married, and on that morning, the skies being bright and the air 
balmy, Mr. Sawyer took a two-seated, covered carriage, with one 
horse from a livery stable, and set out with his wife and father-in- 
law for a drive. They crossed Claremont bridge into Vermont, 
•drove down the river to Weathersfield Bow, and, it is supposed, 
attempted to ford Connecticut River at Ashley's Ferry, with the 
sad result above stated. No one saw them enter the river, and no 
one of the party survived to tell how the distressing calamity hap- 
pened. It was only left for conjecture. The horse was also 
.drowned. 

The following November Rev. S. P. Smith began a pastorate 
which continued until September, 1873, and was followed in June, 
1874, by Rev. Edward Smiley, who remained until March, 1881. 
During his pastorate special and effective work was done in the 
Sunday school. Rev. J. M. Johns was pastor from August, 1881, 
to October, 1883, " and was instrumental in causing the church to 
be remodeled at an expense of over seven thousand dollars, so that 
it is now one of the most complete church edifices in the state." 
The dedicatory ser\dces took place August 1, 1883, and were par- 
ticipated in by Drs. A. A. Miner and G. L. Demarest, and Revs. 
J. M. Johns, E. Smiley, J. Eastwood, and R. T. Polk. 

On January 6, 1884, Lee S. McCollester preached here for the 
first time, and soon after received and accepted a call to settle as 
pastor. He was then pursuing his theological course, which was 
not completed until the following June, when he came here and 
settled permanently. The New Hampshire Universalist Sunday 
school and state conventions met here on September 29, contin- 
ued in session until October 2, 1884, and concluded with the ordi- 
nation of Mr. McCollester, who resigned his pastorate in Decem- 
ber, 1888, to accept the pastoral charge of the Church of Our 
Father, in Detroit, Mich, He was succeeded by Rev. L. O. Wil- 
liams in July, 1889, who resigned in November, 1892. Rev. Les- 
lie Moor followed Mr. Williams, commencing his pastorate in 
June, 1893. 




ST. MARY'S CHURCH. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 129 

ST. mart's church. 

The first mass in Claremont, and probably the first in New 
Hampshire, was celebrated by the Eev. Dr. French of New York, 
in 1818 — there is no known record of the precise date — at the 
house of the Eev Daniel Barber, while he was still rector of Union 
x)hurch. 

In 1823, the Rev. Virgil H. Barber, a son of the Rev. Daniel, 
erected a church at the west part of the town, named St. Mary's, in 
which services were held by the Catholics, conducted by non-resi- 
dent priests, after the removal of Virgil H. Barber, until 1866. 

The Catholic denomination purchased a lot on the north side of 
-Central street, and in 1870, when under the pastorate of the Rev. 
G. Derome, commenced the erection of a church building. It is 
of the Gothic style of architecture, brick, with granite trimmings, 
forty-five feet wide and one hundred and forty-five feet long, with 
bell tower one hundred and thirty-seven feet high, in which is a 
^eal of three bells, weighing respectively twenty-three hundred, 
sixteen hundred, and twelve hundred pounds. In the last few 
years, under the supervision of Father J. P. Finnegan, it has been 
thoroughly renovated, new pews replacing the old ones, new altars 
built and set in place, and the whole interior painted in fresco, gas 
^xtures put in, and the interior woodwork remodeled. This build- 
ing is complete, and has thus far cost fully thirty thousand dollars. 

In 1871 Rev. Mr. Derome was succeeded by Father L. L'Hiver, 
who in 1872 was replaced by the Rev. M. Goodwin, who remained 
but four months. The Rev. M. Laporte took charge of the parish 
in July, 1872, and continued as pastor until November, 1873, when 
the Rev. Cornelius O'SuUivan was appointed to the place. The 
Rev. P. J. Finnegan succeeded Mr. O'Sullivan in 1875, and is still 
in charge of the parish. 



LITERARY, 



CHAPTER X. 

SCHOOLS AND ACADEMIES. 

Prior to 1780 there were but two school districts in town — 
one on Town hill and the other near Union church. At the 
annual town meeting that year it was "Voted to raise thirty 
Pounds L. M., to be raised as wheat at five shillings pr. Bushel 
for ye support of schools." In 1781, "Voted and chose Elihu 
Stevens, Esq., Mr. Josiah Rich, and Lieut. Barna Ellis, a com- 
mittee to divide the town of Claremont into districts, as they 
think proper, for the benefit of schools." In 1800 the sum of 
six hundred dollars was voted for this purpose; in 1810, eight 
hundred; in 1820, one thousand dollars. At the annual town 
meeting in 1824, the Rev. Jonathan Nye introduced the follow- 
ing preamble and resolutions, which were adopted : 

Whereas a prudent and judicious regulation and management of our schools 
is highly necessary and important for the instruction and benefit of the rising 
generation as well as for the peace and prosperity of the town, therefore 

Resolved, That a committee be appointed to superintend and visit the schools 
in town, as near their commencement and close as may be convenient, in order 
that they may be able to judge of the improvement which the scholars shall 
have made. 

Resolved, That if any difficulty shall arise in any school, or any complaint 
be made respecting the master, or any irregularity be discovered or complained 
of in either, this committee shall be called in by the master, or agent of the dis- 
trict, and said committee shall have the power, and it shall be their duty, to 
dismiss the master, or any irregular or unruly scholar, if in their opinion the 
good of the school or interest of the district require it. 

Resolved, That said committee be empowered to direct what books shall be 
used in the schools. It is not the understanding, however, that the scholars 
shall be obliged to purchase an entire set of new books at once ; but as 



134 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

fast as new ones are needed, such books shall be procured as the said com- 
mittee may select, that in process of time there may be an uniformity in all 
the schools in town. 

Resolved, That no agent of the town shall hire any instructor, or continue 
him or her in the employ of the district, who does not, previous to the com- 
mencement of his or her school, or within twenty days from such time, obtain 
a certificate from said committee of his or her qualifications to instruct — and 
that his or her moral character is unimpeached. 

Resolved, That this committee shall receive such compensation for their ser- 
vices as the prudence and judgment of the selectmen shall consider reasonable, 
provided that the same do not exceed one doUar per day. 

The Rev. Mr. Nye, the Rev. Mr. Howe, and Samuel Fiske 
were chosen to serve as visiting committee of the schools. At 
the annual town meeting in 1826 it was voted not to choose school 
visiting committee. In 1830 it was voted to raise what money 
the law required for the support of schools. 

New school districts were formed from time to time in town, 
as the increasing population made necessary. For many years 
preceding 1884 there were nineteen districts, in which were 
twenty-five schools. By an act of the legislature authorizing the 
same, in that year the three village districts, Nos. 1, 15, and 17, 
were consolidated into one, called Union school district. A board 
of education, consisting of 0. B. Way, L. S. Hastings, H. C. Fay, 
I. D. Hall, E. Vaughan, and C. H. Weed, was chosen. They 
graded the scholars, and established in the district nine schools 
— five primary, three intermediate, and one grammar. The money 
apportioned to this district in 1884 was three thousand three 
hundred and seventy dollars and eighty cents. In 1886 the school 
district system was abolished by act of the legislature, and each 
town was made one district for schooling. At a meeting of the 
town school district, on March 22, 1886, Edwin Yaughan, Israel 
D. Hall, and John Bailey were chosen a school board. 

Mrs. Harriet E. Tappan, widow of John W. Tappan of Clare- 
mont, who died October 3, 1873, left a will in which was this 
clause : 

To the Town of Claremont, in said County of Sullivan, to be Kept Safely 
invested by said town, and the income thereof paid over annually to the Pru- 




PARAN STEVENS. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 135 

dential Committees of the several school districts in said town in proportion to 
the number of scholars, to be expended by said Committee in their discretion 
for prizes for best scholarship and to enable indigent scholars to attend the 
High School in said town. 

The amount thus bequeathed and paid over to the town by 
the executor was thirty thousand and five hundred dollars. This 
amount has been kept at interest, and the income expended 
according to the terms of the will. Prudential committees have 
generally given prizes in money to scholars in their several dis- 
tricts for excellence of scholarship, deportment, and constancy 
and punctuality of attendance upon school, so that any child, 
however backward or dull as a scholar, may get a share of this 
prize money. 

In the early da^^s of the settlement of the town, the schools 
in some of the out or hill districts were quite large — ranging 
from twenty to sixty scholars — where now in some of them there 
are next to none, and in others not enough to warrant the em- 
ployment of a teacher. In the district for many years designated 
No. 16, at the north side of Green mountain, on the Cat Hole 
road, early in the present century there were twenty or more 
scholars, while now it is said that there is not within its limits 
a child of legal school age, or an inhabited dwelling-house. 

STEVENS HIGH SCHOOL. 

In the summer of 1866, Paran Stevens of 'New York city, a 
son of Josiah Stevens, one of the early inhabitants of Claremont, 
whose ancestors and relatives spent their lives here, and whose 
graves are in our cemeteries, proposed to donate the sum of ten 
thousand dollars to aid in founding a high school, provided that 
the town would appropriate a like sum for that purpose. In the 
autumn of that year a town meeting was called to consider and 
act upon the subject, and the citizens, with great unanimity, voted 
to accept the donation offered by Mr. Stevens, with the condition 
named, and voted to raise and appropriate fifteen thousand dol- 
lars, which, with the ten thousand dollars from him, was to be 
used to purchase a lot and erect a school building. Samuel P. 



136 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Fiske, George K Farwell, !N'athaniel Tolles, Aurelius Dickinson, 
and Benjamin P. Gilman were chosen a committee to carry out 
this object. The homestead lot of the late George B. Upham, 
corner of Broad and Summer streets, and running back to Mid- 
dle street, containing nearly two acres, on which was then no 
building except a small law office which had been for years occu- 
pied by Mr. Upham — one of the most eligible and valuable lots 
in town — was selected for the school building, and purchased of 
John S. Walker, a son-in-law of Mr. Upham, for the sum of two 
thousand five hundred dollars. Materials were bought and other 
preparations made for the speedy erection of a brick high school 
building forty-four by sixty-four feet on the ground, two stories 
high, with a French or Mansard roof, which, as completed, is 
one of the most elegant, substantial, and convenient edifices for 
the purpose for which it was built in the state. In it are four 
large school-rooms, large vestibules, basement for furnaces, fael, 
etc., and an elegant hall in the upper story, the size of the whole 
building. The building is ample for the accommodation of two 
hundred students. When completed, the cost for site, grading, 
building, furniture, and iron fence was $27,225.27. It was finished, 
furnished, and ready for occupancy the first of September, 1868. 

Mr. Stevens, not to be outdone by the town, paid for the bricks 
for the building, for a portion of the iron fence, and in other 
ways contributed full half of the cost of the high school building 
and the lot on which it stands. Soon after the completion of the 
building he gave to the town ten thousand dollars towards a per- 
manent fund for the support of the school, and also presented 
full life-size oil portraits of George Washington and Daniel Web- 
ster, painted by the best artists in this country and considered 
very valuable, which now hang in the hall of the school building, 
and a Chickering full concert grand piano. At his death, which 
occurred on the twenty-fifth of April, 1872, Mr. Stevens by his will 
bequeathed forty thousand dollars, to be paid within two years 
of the time of his death, to be added to the ten thousand dollars 
before given, for a fund, the interest of which is to be used for 
the support of the school. This forty thousand dollars has not 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 137 

yet been paid over to the town by the executors of the will, but 
it is believed that it will be at no very distant day, with interest. 
Thus it will be seen that Mr. Stevens's donations for the school 
which bears his name will amount to $65,000, $50,000 of which 
must forever remain as a fund for its support. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1868, Edward L. God- 
dard, John S. "Walker, Ira Colby, Jr., H. W. Parker, and Hiram 
"Webb — one from each religious society in town — were chosen 
the high school committee ; and it was voted to give to this new 
institution of learning the name of the Stevens High School. It 
was the expressed wish of Mr. Stevens, and indeed of the town 
generally most interested in its welfare and permanent success, 
that the school should he kept entirely free from anything like 
sectarianism, and that its exercises, instruction, and management 
should be acceptable alike to all religious denominations. The 
committee accordingly made a regulation that " The morning 
sessions shall begin with reading the Bible, singing, and repeat- 
ing the Lord's Prayer in concert by the whole school." 

The first term of the Stevens High School commenced on the 
seventh of September, 1868, with ninety-eight scholars who had 
reached the age of thirteen years, and had passed the requisite ex« 
amination, all but sixteen of whom belonged in town. There is a 
regulation that scholars from other towns may be admitted to this 
school by paying a moderate term fee. The teachers were Dr. N. 
Barrows of Berwick, Me., principal, assisted by Miss Mary J. 
Wightman, of Claremont, and Miss H. W. Freeley, of Springfield, 
Yt, and Mr. A. P. Wyman, as teacher of vocal music. At the 
close of the first term Miss Freeley resigned, and Miss Ruth P. Per- 
kins, of Pomfret, Yt, filled her place, and she was succeeded in 
the third term by Miss A. H. Carleton, of Haverhill, N. H. At 
the close of the school year, in June, 1869, there was an examina- 
tion by a committee consisting of the Rev. I. G. Hubbard, D. D., 
W. H. H. Allen, Rev. Francis "W. Towle, Rev. Francis Chase, and 
James P. Upham, which was creditable to teachers and scholars. 

Dr. Nathan Barrows continued as principal, with several assist- 
ants, three years, and was succeeded by Mr. Arthur J. Swain. The 

10 



138 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

course prescribed in this school is four years, at the end of which 
scholars who graduate and receive diplomas are fitted to enter 
almost any college. At the close of the fourth school year the ex- 
amining committee reported the school to have been eminently 
successful. The faithfulness of the teachers and the deportment 
and diligence of the scholars were mentioned in highly compli- 
mentary terms. Seven scholars — one boy and six girls — had not 
been absent or tardy during the year. 

A. J. Swain resigned October 4, 1880, to take effect the middle 
of the fall term. His resignation was accepted, and R, S. Bingham 
was elected principal, and occupied the position to the end of that 
school year. In September, 1881, L. S. Hastings took charge of 
the school as principal, and continued until the close of the school 
year, in June, 1890, and was succeeded by Melville C. Smart, the 
present principal. 

Mrs. Mary J, Alden, of Claremont, who died November 11, 
1869, by her will bequeathed to the town her entire estate, which, 
at the death of her husband, was to go into a fund for the benefit 
of the Stevens high school, the income to be given annually in 
prizes to the three graduates of the school who should rank highest 
for proficiency and excellence in English studies. Her husband, 
Ezra B. Alden, died in 1874. This bequest, when it came into the 
hands of the trustees of the fund, consisted of real estate on High 
street, and $428.11 deposited in the Sullivan Savings Institution. 

Following are the names of graduates, at the end of a four 
years' course of study, of the Stevens High School, and also of 
those to whom the Alden prizes have been paid : 

1874. 
Henry E. Bailey. Alice F. Bailey. Clara L. Hunton. 

Darwin Comings. Fancy Chamberlin. Nellie L. Knights. 

Chalmers W. Stevens. Emma L. Cowles. Fannie A. Spencer. 

Imogene B. Hudson. 

1875. 
Fred H. Rugg. Lizzie Bardwell. Ella M. Phelps. 

Rosa B. Allen. Anna J. Brooks. Mary Roberts. 

Ada I. Ayer. Fannie S. Goss. Mary T. Young. 

Ida M. Lufkin. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT, 



139^ 



Henry W. Allen. 
William E.Barrett. 
William II. Drury. 
George E. Little, j 
Frank H. PeiTy. 



Edwin S. Bailey. 
Charles M. Fitch. 
Morris G. Fitch. 
Kate Cowles. 



Burt Chellis. 
Rush Chellis. 
Mott A. Cummings. 



Elmer S. Hunter. 
William H. Hunton. 



1876. 

Edward D. Reardon. 
Hoell Tyler. 
Josiah D. Wilson. 
Luella F. Smith. 
Hattie A. Bailey. 
Mary B. Deane. 

1877. 

Lilla D. Ide. 
Delia J. Lufkin. 
Francis E. Johnson. 
Stephen J. Roberts, Jr. 

1878. 

Willard C. Hunton. 
George H. Ide. 
Bertha S. Allen. 
Estella G. Henry. 

1879. 

Marion P. Bartlett. 
Flora E. Nelson. 



Marion L. Eggleston. 
Alice B. Ide. 
Anna T. Lovering. 
Lelia Mullen. 
Ida G. Rugg. 



Minnie Bell. 
Rosella Perry. 
Elizabeth G. Phelps. 
Canie A. W. White. 



Gratia M. Jones. 
Jenny M. Mellen. 
M. Evelyn Tolles. 



Fannie Roberts. 
CoraE. Stowell. 



James C. Flanders. 
Walter A. Pierce. 
George E. Quimby. 



1880. 

Lewis J. Quimby. 
Kate E. Brooks. 
Mary E. Emerson. 
Nettie F. Glidden. 



Sarah Ide. 
Annie F. Morrill. 
Ida Proctor. 



Charles F. Chase. 
Maurice L. Clark. 
Eugene H. Hunter. 



Albro Blodgett. 
William E. Chaffin. 
Thomas J. Harris. 
Josiah Ide. 



1881. 

Velma G. Allen. 
Orinda A. Boucher. 
Marcia B. Chellis. 
Mary L. Deane. 

1882. 

Kate I. Bliss. 
E. Belle Durant. 
M. Lulu Fitch. 
Esther A. Hubbard. 
Nellie C. Lewis, 



Florence B. Davis. 
Addie M. G. Walker, 
Etta M. Wolcott. 



Hattie E. Perkins. 
Jenny M. Perley. 
Ellen F. Phelps. 
Julia E. Wells. 



140 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



Ned Blake. 
Alice C. Chase. 



Arthur Chase, Jr. 
Charles A. Perkins. 
William Tutherly. 
Mary B. Allen. 
Annie L. Bailey. 



Ora D. Blanchard. 
Ora E. Cowles. 
William B. Deane. 
Kussell Jarvis, Jr. 
Herbert F. Quimby. 



Charles F. Abbott. 
Ned W. Blood. 
Eugene D. Burbank. 
Lewis J. Eichardson. 



Emerson A. Quimby. 
Minnie A. Back. 



Clifton E. Densmore. 
George L. Hall. 
Edwin J. Hey wood. 
Herbert E. Rice. 



Alger V. Allen. 
John L. Ayer. 
Orlan P. Fitch. 
William R. Jarvis. 
Charles N. Piper. 
Augusta Briggs. 



1883. 

Nettie Clark. 
Stella Graves. 
Jennie L. Parker. 

1884. 

Kate F. Bailey. 
Delia M. Boucher. 
Elizabeth A. Cassidy. 
Carrie I. Foster. 
"Vesta A. Piper. 

1885. 

Frank J. Reynolds. 
Martin Sears. 
Walter Thayer. 
John M. Whipple. 
George E. Wolcott. 

1886. 

Thomas Sears. 
Herbert T. Spencer. 
Sheriden A. Stowell. 
Susie D. Bailey. 

1887. 

Myra L. Briggs. 
Emily E. Brooks. 
Frances E, Fisher. 

1888. 

Josephine M. Bailey. 
Clara E. Bartlett. 
Mary A. Bailey. 
Elizabeth M. Hoban. 
Rose F. Jenkins. 

1889. 

Carrie H. Gay. 
Mary I. Goodrich. 
Louie G. Hawkes. 
Mabel R. Hatch. 
Edith M. Howard. 
Ellen P. Jones. 



Mary Pierce. 
Hattie Eossiter. 



Florence L. Kempton. 
Nellie V. Kempton. 
Forris J. Moore. 
Lizzie S. Parker. 



Annie S. Elmer. 
Jennie M. Hall. 
Evelyn Jenks. 
Mary A. Jones. 
Emma H. Parker. 



Anna Eveleth. 
Sadie C. Farwell. 
Myrtie B. Symonds. 
Josie L. Willey. 



Bertha A. Pierce. 
Ida L. Stowell. 



Alice A. Stowell. 
Cora D. Whipple. 
Florence C. Whitney. 
Minnie M. Wolcott. 



Ella G. Leet. 
Ellen B. Nott. 
Delia M. Perry. 
Bert P. Porter. 
Henry C. Sanders, Jr. 
Edgar W. Stockwell. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



141 



Charles T. Rossiter. 
Don Colby. 
John E. Allen. 
Charles F. Weed. 
George C. Warner. 
Georgietta A. Baker. 
Clara J. Bell. 



1«90. 

Florence M. Blanchard. 
Grace L. Bond. 
Hannah M. Carroll. 
Sarah T. Emerson. 
Grace M. Fifield. 
Agnes N. Hodgson. 
Ollie A. Lewis. 



Emily H. Lewis. 
Flora A. Magown. 
Abbie M. Perkins. 
Ella P. Bobbins. 
Marian I. Rice. 
Florence A. Sleeper. 
Fannie F. Wilson. 



Edward E. Houghton. 
Walter B. Woolley. 
Ruth E. Hubbard. 
William H. H. Fitch. 



1891. 

Franklin E. Perkins. 
James E. Rossiter. 
Mabelle R. Burbank. 
Nellie C. Chandler. 



Lillian I. Macomber. 
Annie F. McGrath. 
Amy L. McQuaid. 
Minnie H. Tolles. 



Sarah E. Briggs. 
John W. Dow. 
Catherine F. Eaton. 
Grace P. Hooper. 
Ethel F. Taylor. 
Mary C. Nott. ' 



1892. 

Charles S. Farrington. 
Charles H. Webster. 
Grace T. Bouck. 
Mary E. Shepard. 
Harriet M. Sanders. 
Wilhelmina E. Stowell. 
Mabel Tolles. 



Ida B. McCoy. 
William F. Whitcomb. 
Nettie M. Frye. 
Alice Goodrich. 
Estelle M. Grandy. 
Mabel S. Thomas. 



Herman Holt, Jr. 
Frank A. Angler. 
Rolla A. Healey. 
Urbane P. Pierce. 
Harry F. Rowell. 



1893. 

Lillian J. Deane. 
Anna L. Hall. 
Alleen E. Messer. 
Isabella G. O'Neil. 
Stella E. Putnam. 



Lois A. Whipple. 
Mary I. Heywood. 
Mary A. Jenney. 
Verlina R. Pierce. 
Ola M. Pope. 



John C. Angler. 
Bessie R. Balcom. 
Lillian M. Bartlett. 
Emma J. Burke. 
Cora M. Dunsmoor. 
Edna N. Dyke. 
Ida B. Ewing. 



1894. 

Gertrude L. Grandy. 
Carrie W. Hooper. 
Minnie M. Parker. 
Marian E. Pierce. 
Verne M. Rowell. 
Lillian A. Sholes. 
Albert E. Smith. 



Ada M. Stockwell. 
Lulu J. Thrasher. 
Mary D. Walker. 
Isabella I. Whitcomb. 
Mary A. Wilson. 
Ervin E. Woodman. 
Bessie M. White. 



142 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



MARY J. ALDEN PRIZES. 





1879. 






1880. 




1st prize, 


Cora E. Stowell, 


$60 


1st prize, 


James C. Flanders, 


$50 


2d 


Flora E. Nelson, 


50 


2d 


Nettie F. Glidden, 


40 


3d 


William H. Hunton, 


40 


3d 


Lewis J. Quimby, 


30 








3d 


Annie F. Morrill. 


30 




1881. 






1882. 




1st prize. 


Maria B. Chellis, 


$50 


1st prize. 


Nellie C.Lewis, 


$50 


2d 


Florence B. Davis, 


40 


2d 


Julia E. Wells, 


40 


3d 


Addie M. G. Walker, 

1883. 


30 


3d 


E. Belle Durant, 

1884. 


30 


1st prize, 


Mary Pierce, 


$50 


1st prize. 


Kate F. Bailey, 


$50 


2d 


Alice Chase, 


40 


2d 


Lizzie S. Parker, 


40 


.3d 


Jennie L. Parker, 
1885. 


30 


3d 


Mary B. Allen, 
1886. 


30 


1st prize, 


Emma H. Parker, 


150 


1st prize. 


Eugene D. Burbank, 


$50 


2d 


Annie S. Elmer, 


40 


•2d 


Myrtie B. Symonds, 


40 


3d 


Jennie M. Hall, 

1887. 


30 


3d 


Lewis J. Richardson, 

1888. 


30 


1st prize. 


Emerson A. Quimby, 


$50 


1st prize. 


Mary Adelaide Bailey, 


$50 


2d 


Bertha A. Pierce, 


40 


2d 


FlorenceCynthia Whitney, 40 


3d 


Ida L. Stowell, 
1889. 


30 


3d 


Herbert Eugene Rice, 
1890. 


30 


1st prize. 


Henry C. Sanders, Jr., 


$50 


1st prize. 


John E. Allen, 


$50 


2d 


William R. Jarvis, 


40 


2d 


Abbie M. Perkins, 


40 


3d 


Mabel R. Hatch, 
1891. 


30 


3d 


Charles F. Weed, 
1892. 


30 


1st prize. 


Ruth E. Hubbard, 


$50 


1st prize. 


Grace P. Hooper, 


$50 


2d 


William H. Fitch, 


40 


2d 


John W. Dow, 


40 


3d 


Frank E. Perkins, 
1893. 


30 


3d 


Charles H. Webster, 
1894. 


30 


1st prize, 


Isabella G. O'Neil, 


$50 


1st prize. 


Carrie W. Hooper, 


S50 


2d 


Lois A. Whipple, 


40 


2d 


Emma J. Burke, 


40 


3d 


Mary A. Jenney, 


30 


3d 


Ida B. Ewing, 


30 




REV. VIRGIL 


H. B 


arber's 


ACADEMY. 





Virgil H. Barber was a son of Eev. Daniel Barber, for many 
years rector of Union church. He became an Episcopal clergy- 
man, and after a few years a convert to the Catholic faith, and 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 143 

was ordained a priest. In 1823, with the aid of Catholics in 
Canada, he commenced the erection of a building for a school 
and a Catholic church adjoining, nearly opposite Union church. 
Here he established a classical and scientific school, which he 
managed for several years. It was patronized by Protestants as 
well as the few Catholics in the vicinity. After Mr. Barber left, 
the school was continued for a time by others, among them Jo- 
siah Sweet, who afterwards became an Episcopal clergyman. The 
church building, known as St. Mary's, was occupied by the Cath- 
olics until 1866, and is now standing. 

CLAREMONT ACADEMY. 

Prior to 1840 there had been a number of private or select 
schools in town where the higher branches were taught for dif- 
ferent periods, but no suitable building for them was to be had. 
For a year or more L. Hunt had kept a popular select school, 
and more students than could be accommodated in any available 
quarters had applied for admission. To supply what seemed a 
pressing need, Mr. Kent, Simeon Ide, Edward L. Goddard, and 
three others, sharing alike, subscribed a sum sufficient for the 
purpose, and erected a building costing about one thousand dol- 
lars, at the corner of Sullivan and "Walnut streets, and named it 
Claremont Academy, which was rented to diflerent teachers from 
time to time, until ithe establishment of the Stevens High School. 
Among the principals of this academy were L. Kent, Josiah 
Swett, David Cummings, Milon C. McClure, Edwin A. Charlton, 
Henry Chase, C. C. Church, and Miss Mary Chamberlain. This 
building was sold in 1869 to George "W. Howe, and converted 
into a dwelling-house. 



CHAPTER XI. 

LITEEARY SOCIETIES. — LIBRARIES. — NEW HAMPSHIRE HISTORICAL 
SOCIETY. — NEWSPAPERS. 

The first organization in Claremont for debating, declamations, 
and other literary exercises, was formed February 2, 1791, and con- 
sisted of six members, who adopted the following constitution : 

We whose names are hereunto subscribed, being ambitious to enlarge and 
improve our own minds, meliorate and refine our hearts, &c., render ourselves 
usefull among our fellow men, do hereby form ourselves into a literary friendly 
society — a Society the very existence of which rests on candor, freedom, and 
friendship. We most solemnly engage, like a little band of Brothers, to sup- 
port and assist each other in ascending the regular grades of literature ; to 
point out, smooth and in concert tread the path of friendship, and to cultivate 
all the social virtues. We firmly oblige ourselves to obey such laws and regu- 
lations as are or may be formed and adopted by a majority of this Community. 
While performing the duties required by the rules of this Society we bind ourselves 
io correct in a kind, friendly, gentle, and endearing manner each other's foibles 
and errors. Being convinced by reasons, which strike the mind at first blush, 
that the purposes for which we associate require profound secrecy, we pledge 
our honor as men, we engage by the most sacred ties of this our Brotherhood 
and by everything we hold dear, to exert ourselves to conceal the transactions 
and indeed the existence of this institution from every person unconnected 
with it. 

The original members of this society were Jabez Upham, Sol- 
omon Blakeslee, John W. Russell, Thomas Sterne, Jr., George 
B. Upham, and Perley Marsh. Between July, 1791, and Decem- 
ber, 1795, nine others were admitted to membership, as follows : 
Kathan Smith, John H. Sumner, Joseph Petty, Benjamin J. Gil- 
bert, Frederick A. Sumner, John Lane, Samuel Fiske, John 
Tappan, and Jonathan Fisk, Jr. Four honorary members were 



HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 145 

admitted, viz.: Sanford Kingsbury, John Strobridge, William 
Breck, and Major Dustin. All these men were prominent citi- 
zens of the town in their time. No new members could be 
admitted without the unanimous consent of the society. 

Regular meetings were held every Friday evening at the house 
of William Breck — the same that is now the home of Charles 
P. Breck, West Claremont. The rules of this society were quite 
rigid. The by-laws provided that "It shall be the duty of each 
member at every stated meeting of the society to exhibit a piece 
cf his own composition, consisting of not less than one hundred 
and fifty words, or speak a piece." Extemporaneous disputations 
were held every second regular meeting, the president naming 
the subject. Each member neglecting a stated performance, and 
not excused by the society, was to be fined sixpence ; and absence 
from meetings, without sufficient excuse, one shilling. The meet- 
ings were continued until April, 1796. 

UNITED FRATERNITY OF TODNG MEN. 

A few young men met December 15, 1848, and organized a 
fiociety under this name. The preamble to the constitution which 
they adopted explains the objects of this association: "We, the 
young men of Claremont, believing it to be our duty to improve 
and cultivate those faculties and powers of the mind which our 
Creator has bestowed upon us; and believing also that a more 
perfect union among ourselves is necessary to accomplish this 
great object, do therefore agree to adopt and sustain the following 
constitution and by-laws." 

Kew members could be admitted by a vote of two thirds of 
those present at a regular meeting, and a member could be ex- 
pelled by the same vote. The first officers were Daniel M. Keyes, 
president; Edwin F. Way, vice-president; George Hitchcock, 
-secretary; Alfred Tracy, treasurer; J. D. Billings, doorkeeper. 
The first question discussed was, "Are secret societies beneficial 
to the members?" Disputants appointed, affirmative, J. D. Bil- 
lings and Alfred Tracy ; negative, George 0. Way and Edwin 
A. Charlton. It was a kind of secret society, using signs and 



146 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

passwords, and none but members were admitted to its meetings. 

The meetings were held at different places until June, 1855, 
when a large and commodious hall in the second stor}', west end, 
of O. J. Brown's wooden block, was leased and formally dedi- 
cated as Fraternity Hall, by which name it was ever after known 
as long as the building stood. In August, 1855, the Fraternity 
adopted the voluntary corporation act in the statutes, applicable 
to religious and other societies, and became a corporation. 

From a small beginning this society grew to be an institution 
of considerable influence and importance in the town, numbering 
among its active members many of the leading citizens. The 
members became accustomed to speaking in public, and preparing 
and reading essays upon the current topics of the day. Correct 
habits and good morals were inculcated, and the beneficial influ- 
ence of this society was long felt in the community. The last 
record was of a meeting on April 30, 1864, after which by reason, 
probably, of the enlistment in the army of many members, and 
the all absorbing subject of the War of the Rebellion, after an 
existence of sixteen years this organization became extinct. 

Other debating and literary societies — the most of them public 
— were organized at difierent times, at West Claremont and in 
the village, but generally had but a brief existence, and were of 
no considerable importance. 

FISKE FREE LIBRARY. 

In 1873, Samuel P. Fiske, a native citizen of Claremont, founded 
a free library in the following manner : 

Deed of Samuel P. Fiske to the Town of Claremont. 

Know all men by these presents, That I, Samuel P. Fiske, of Claremont in 
the County of Sullivan and State of New Hampshire, do hereby give, grant, 
and convey unto the town of Claremont, in said county, in trust forever, Two 
Thousand volumes of Books, named and described in a Catalogue or Schedule, 
hereafter to be made, to constitute, with such other books as may hereafter be 
added by the donor, a library for the benefit of all the inhabitants of said 
town, and the members of Stevens High School in said Claremont, and to be 
known as Fiske Free Library. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 147 

This gift is made on condition that the said town of Claremont shall accept 
the same; shall furnish a suitable building, room, or rooms in which to keep 
the same, and the same shall be kept in the upper hall or room of Stevens 
High School, until a more suitable place shall be provided therefor ; shall at 
all times keep the same well insured against loss from fire ; shall keep said books 
in a good state of repair, and shall replace with books of equivalent value any 
that may be worn out, lost, or otherwise destroyed. And the Committee of 
Stevens High School shall have the custody, control, and management of said 
Library ; purchase, arrange, and catalogue the books, appoint a Librarian, and 
make all needful rules and regulations for the management of said Library and 
the use of the books, all at the expense of the Town of Claremont; and the 
said Town shall in like manner keep and care for and replace losses in all ad- 
ditions to or enlargements of said Library by said donor. 

In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal this seventh day of 
August, A. D. 1873. 

SAMUEL P. FISKE. [l. s.] 
(Witness) Ira Colby, Jk. 

W. H. H. Allen. 

The above deed was read at a town meeting, held Agust 15, 
1873, when the following resolution was passed : 

Resolved by the town of Claremont, That we cordially accept the munificent 
gift of Two Thousand volumes of valuable books from Samuel P. Fiske, Esq., 
upon the conditions and terms of his deed of trust to said town of Claremont, 
dated August 7, 1873, hereby pledging to the donor that such conditions shall 
be faithfully complied with, on the part of the town, for the use and perpetu- 
ation of the Fiske Free Library. 

The following resolution was offered by Prentis ,Dow, and 
passed : 

Resolved, That the Selectmen of the town of Claremont are directed to pay 
the bills of Stevens High School Committee for the insurance of the books do- 
nated by S. P. Fiske, Esq., and for any expense incurred in providing a suitable 
location for the same, not exceeding in all the sum of one hundred dollars per 
annum. 

The location of the library in the upper story of the Stevens 
High School building, away from the center of business, was found 
to be inconvenient for readers, and, as a consequence, was unsat- 
isfactory to Mr. Fiske. Early in January, 1877, Mr. Fiske invited 
gentlemen supposed to be most interested in the library to meet 



J.48 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

him for consultation as to the best means for making it more 
accessible to readers, and accomplish more fully the donor's wishes. 

A committee, consisting of John S. Walker, Otis F. R Waite, 
and Charles A. Piddock, was appointed to recommend a plan at 
a subsequent meeting, who made a report recommending the 
purchase of the Bailey building, at the junction of Main and 
Sullivan streets, for four thousand five hundred dollars, and that 
the second story be fitted up for the library at an expense not 
exceeding one thousand dollars; the money for the purpose to 
be borrowed from the Tappan school fund at six per cent interest. 
The committee stated that the building was then rented for four 
hundred and ninety dollars; that, after taking what would be 
required for the library, the remaining part of the building would 
rent for more than enough to pay the interest on the debt in- 
curred. After some discussion the meeting voted to recommend 
to the town at its next annual meeting to purchase the Bailey 
building for four thousand five hundred dollars, and fit up, alter, 
and repair it at an expense not exceeding two thousand five hun- 
dred dollars. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1877, it was 

Voted, that a board of five Trustees be chosen by the Town, and be author- 
ized to purchase in behalf of the Town the Bailey Building, so called; to fit 
up such portion of the second story as may be necessary for the accommodation 
of the Fiske Free Library. Such purchase not to exceed Forty-five Hundred 
Pollars, and such alterations not to exceed the sum of twenty-five Hundred 
Dollars. And that the said Trustees be authorized to draw from the Tappan 
Fund for the requisite sum to carry out this order, and pay therefor from the 
rents of said building interest at the rate of six per cent per annum. And 
that said Board of Trustees, and their successors hereafter, have the custody of 
the Fiske Free Library, instead of the High School Committee. Or that said 
Board be further authorized, if in their judgment they think proper, to purchase 
and fit up some other building, not to exceed the sum heretofore named for 
said purpose. 

At the same meeting Daniel W. Johnson, Otis F. R Waite, 
Alfred T. Batchelder, Osmon B. Way, and Algernon Willis were 
elected and qualified as trustees of the Fiske Free Library. 

The trustees at once took a deed in the name of the town of the 
Bailey building, paying therefor four thousand five hundred dollars. 




SAMUEL P. FISKE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 149 

Before anything had been done by them toward altering and fit- 
ting up the building for the library, a special town meeting was 
held on the 28th of April, 1877, at which the following resolution 
was passed : 

Kesolved, That the Town Treasurer and Selectmen be authorized and instructed 
to give the note or notes of .the Town, at six per cent interest, to the Trus- 
tees of the Tappan Fund, for the sum appropriated at the last annual Town- 
Meeting for the purposes relating to the Fiske Free Library, not exceeding in 
all the sum of Five Thousand Dollars. 

The trustees did not call for the five hundred dollars author- 
ized to be expended for alterations, etc., and made no essential 
changes in the building, and the library remained in the high 
school building. At the annual town meeting in March, 1878, 
the trustees reported : 

Received and will be due for rents of Library building, April 1, 1878 . $420.00 
Interest on $4,500, one year . . . . . . $270.00 

Paid water rent and repairs 12.74 

282.74 



Leaving a balance over interest, water rent, and repairs of . . . $137.26 

At this meeting the town, on the recommendation of the trustees, 
re-enacted its vote of 1887, and appropriated two thousand five 
hundred dollars to alter and repair the library building. The 
trustees procured plans and specifications, and let the contract to 
do the work to Messrs, Hira R. Beckwith and Levi R Chase, of 
Claremont. The work was very satisfactorily done by them for a 
little more than two thousand three hundred dollars. The balance 
of the two thousand five hundred dollars was expended in furnish- 
ing the library rooms. 

Early in September, 1878, the books were moved from the high 
school building to the new rooms, about six hundred new books 
added, and all were arranged and catalogued. At a meeting of the 
trustees on the sixteenth. Miss Abbie Field was chosen librarian, 
and has served faithfully in that capacity ever since. Messrs. 
Batchelder and Willis removed from town, and their places were 
filled by the election of Messrs. H. W. Parker and Ira Colby. 



150 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Mr. Fiske made a will, giving to the town of Claremont nine 
thousand dollars, five thousand dollars to be expended in books 
as they should be needed, and as he pleased, should he live to expend 
that sum; the balance, if any, at his death, to go into the hands 
of the trustees, to be expended by them for the same purpose, and 
the other four thousand dollars to be a fund to be invested by the 
trustees, the interest of which was to be used for the purchase of 
books. His wife, Miranda S. Fiske, in her will added one thou- 
sand dollars to this fund, making it five thousand dollars. Mr. 
Fiske died February 8, 1879, and Mrs. Fiske deceased May 27, 
1882. At the death of Mr. Fiske there was found by a detailed 
account left by him, to be unexpended for books §1,194.68. 

Books have been added to the library from time to time by Mr. 
Fiske while he lived and since his death by the trustees, so that 
the whole number in 1893 was more than seven thousand volutnes 
■ — many of which are works of reference, some of them quite ex- 
pensive and valuable — affording advantages for obtaining infor- 
mation realized only by such as are fortunate enough to enjoy 
them, while there is a fair proportion of standard histories, biogra- 
phies, and travels. The demand has been largely for light reading 
and fiction. To meet this demand great care has been exercised 
to select books only of a wholesome and improving character, by 
the best authors. From ten to twelve hundred books are con- 
stantly in circulation, the whole number of patrons of the library 
being about three thousand. 

It will be seen by the terms of the bequest of Mr. Fiske that the 
income of the permanent fund left by him and his wife must be 
used to increase the library, as the town has to pay all expenses, 
for room, librarian, incidentals, keep the books in repair, and re- 
place any worn out or destroyed with others of equal value. Thus 
in a few years Claremont will have a collection of considerable 
magnitude. 

CLAREMONT BOOK CLUB. 

About 1865 twenty or thirty persons formed a club under this 
name, which was continued until after the Fiske Free Library was 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 151 

established in its present rooms. Each member paid five dollars 
as an admission fee, and such annual assessments as the club voted. 
Others, not members, had the privilege of reading the books by 
paying three dollars per year in quarterly payments. All the 
money thus obtained, after paying expenses, which were very 
small, was expended for books until six or seven hundred volumes 
had been collected. It was managed by a committee of its mem- 
bers and supplied a present want. When there was no further 
need for this club the books were distributed among its members 
by auction and its affairs wound up. 

The several churches in town have each a Sunday school library, 
composed of books suited to the capacity of the young, but supply 
a need in their way and help to form a habit and create a taste for 
good reading. 

In town are many private libraries, some of them quite large and 
valuable. 

George L. Balcom has more than four thousand volumes of val- 
uable, and many of them rare, old and new books, the accumula- 
tion of years of patient research. His collection of American his- 
tories, and especially those of N'ew Hampshire, is one of the most 
complete of any in the state. 

Bela Chapin has between one and two thousand volumes of 
standard works of history, science, poetry, and literature, selected 
with much care. 

Robert K. Dow has a collection of rare books, largely devoted 
to science and art. 

C. B. Spofford has about two thousand bound volumes and three 
thousand pamphlets, consisting of historical and genealogical 
works, principally relating to New Hampshire, a large collection of 
Masonic and other secret society publications, and said to be one of 
the largest pharmaceutical collections in the state. 

Dr. C. W. Tolles has a large and very complete collection ot 
medical and surgical works and a good miscellaneous library. 

Dr. O. B. Way has a large and valuable collection of medical 
works, and quite an extensive miscellaneous library. 



152 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Dr. F. C. Wilkinson has a large and valuable collection of works 
devoted to veterinary science. 

Otis F. R Waite has between two and three thousand volumes 
of books of reference, history, biography, agriculture, poetry, and 
fiction. 

J. S. Walker has a miscellaneous collection of about one thou- 
sand volumes. He has also some copies of paintings by the old 
masters, ordered when he was in Europe. 

F. H. Brown has a considerable collection of classical books and 
works of fiction. 

H. W. Parker, Ira Colby, E. D. Baker, and Herman Holt, each 
have extensive law and miscellaneous collections of books. 

John L. Farwell has about one thousand volumes, many of them 
rare and expensive. Among them is an edition of Audubon's 
"Birds of America." He also has some copies of paintings by the 
old masters. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 

The annual field day of this society was observed by a visit to 
Claremont, on the twenty-ninth of September, 1891, and to 
Charlestown on the following day. On arrival at Claremont the 
members were met at the railroad station by George L. Balcom, 
a member of the society, and one of the committee of arrange- 
ments, whose guests they were while in town. Of those from out 
of town were John J. Bell, of Exeter, president of the society ; 
Isaac K. Gage and daughter and Mrs. C. H. Sanders, of Penacookj 
John Kimball, Hon. Sylvester Dana, Rev. C. L. Tappan and Mrs. 
Tappan, Edson C. Eastman and Mrs. Eastman, Joseph B. Walker, 
J. E. Pecker, P. B. Cogswell, Woodbridge Odlin, and John C. 
Ordway of Concord, and George Olcott of Charlestown. They 
were escorted to rooms of the Tremont club in Union block, where 
had assembled about forty of the prominent ladies and gentlemen 
of the town, who extended to the visitors a cordial and hearty wel- 
come. It was a notable company and a notable event for Claremont. 

A sumptuous banquet had been prepared by caterer C. M. Leete, 
in Grand Army rooms, in the same building, to which the party 





■|R| 4!lP 


K*. 






^ 


^, 


•f? 


^m 


JL '^^^jMWBIIIII^^BIfcfe' 


m 


^^^Hr 




f '" 



HARRY C. FAY. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 153 

was invited. The " National Eagle" had an account of this gather- 
ing, from which the following is an extract : 

After the banquet the meeting was rapped to order by President Bell, and 
Major Otis F. B,. Waite, who had been requested to do so, read a paper relating 
to the early history of Claremont. It was replete with incidents of hiscorical 
events connected with Claremont's early days. We publish it in full and doubt 
not it will be read with pleasure. 

Joseph B. Walker offered resolutions, which were unanimously adopted, of 
thanks to Tremont club and Major Jarvis Post of the Grand Army for the use of 
their rooms ; to George L. Balcom for his generous hospitality ; and to Major 
Waite for his interesting address, and requesting a copy for publication in the 
Transactions of the Historical Society. 

The visitors were driven in carriages about the village, to West 
Claremont, and thence to Claremont Junction, whence they took 
cars for Charlestown. 

NEWSPAPERS. 
THE CLAREMOKT SPECTATOR 

was the first newspaper published in town. Cyrus Barton was its 
publisher and editor. The first number was issued August 29, 
1823, and the last September 3, 1824. It was in a building ''just 
south of the Brick Church, formerly occupied by Caleb Ellis as a 
law ofi&ce," which was on the ground where the Episcopal rectory 
now is. Mr. Barton removed his paper and printing office to IS'ew- 
port, where he established the "]S[ew Hampshire Spectator." In 
1833 a newspaper called the " Argus " was started here, and edited 
by Edmund Burke. In 1834 it was removed to ]!^ewport and united 
with the " Spectator," the new paper taking the name of the " Argus 
and Spectator," which it has ever since borne, Mr. Burke becoming 
editor. 

INDEPENDENT ADVOCATE. 

This was the title of a newspaper published here in 1833, by J. 
Nye, for a short time, " in the room over the postoffice." How 
long its publication was continued, or why it was discontinued, is 
not known. 



154 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

THE IMPARTIALIST. 

A paper with this title, devoted to the interests of the Universahst 
denomination, published by W. A. R. 'Njq and edited by W, S. 
Balch and T. F. King, and at different times by others, from 1832 
to 1835, was issued every Saturday. It was finally merged in the 
*' Watchman and Christian Eepository," published at WoodstockjYt. 

From about 1847 to 1849 Solon Silsby published a paper devoted 
to musical science, entitled " The Philharmonic Journal." It was 
finally sold to a 'New York firm and merged in some other publi- 
cation. 

THE NATIONAL EAGLE. 

This paper was established in October, 1834, under the direc- 
tion of a committee appointed at a "Whig Sullivan county con- 
vention the year before. The first number was issued by John 
H. Warland, editor, and Samuel L. Chase, printer. In 1836 the 
establishment was purchased by John H. Warland and Joseph 
Weber. In 1842 Mr. Weber bought Mr. Warland's interest, and 
became sole proprietor and editor, and continued the publication 
of the paper until October, 1846, when Charles Young and John 
S. Walker bought the establishment, Mr. Walker taking charge 
of the editorial department. In 1849 Mr, Walker sold his interest 
to John H. Brewster, and the paper was published by Young & 
Brewster until April, 1854, when Otis F. R. Waite bought the 
establishment, and continued the business until 1860, when he 
sold out to John S. Walker. Mr. Walker sold to Simon Ide, 
whose successors have been Arthur Chase, Thomas J. Lasier, 
Hiram P. Grandy, and H. C. Fay. The present publishers and 
editors are Messrs. Fay, Thompson & Fay. 

THE NORTHERN ADVOCATE. 

This paper was started in Claremont in June, 1849, by Joseph 
Weber, as a Free Soil paper, who continued its publication until 
l!^ovember, 1881, when by reason of advancing age, he sold the 




JOSEPH WEBER. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 155 

establishment to the present editor and proprietor, R. E. Mussey, 
who changed the title of the paper and called it " The Claremont 
Advocate." 

THE COMPENDIUM. 

The publication of a literary paper with this title was com- 
menced in May, 1870, by S. H. Story, and printed one year as 
a weekly. The publication was then discontinued until January, 
1872, when it was resumed and published fortnightly until Jan- 
uary, 1875. It was then changed to a monthly and called " The 
Narrative," under which arrangement it has since been continued 
by Mr. Story. 



CHAPTER Xn. 

FARMING INTERESTS. 

As an agricultural town' Claremont has but few equals in New 
Hampshire, and her farmers are among the most intelligent and 
independent of her citizens. Those settled on Connecticut river 
were the earliest to engage in tilling the soil — this section being 
the best adapted to that industry — while the inhabitants of other 
parts of the state were employed in lumbering, fishing, and other 
pursuits, to the exclusion of agriculture. Our farmers have gen- 
erally been readers upon the subject, and as a consequence have 
adopted the best methods, and used the best implements known 
for carrying on the business to which their lives have been de- 
voted. Industry, intelligence, temperance, 'and economy have had 
their reward in healthy bodies, thrift, comfort, and independence. 

With a few exceptions the farms have not been large — varying 
in size from one hundred to two hundred acres — but they are 
almost all of them well tilled, productive, having upon them well 
kept, commodious, and substantial buildings, and good fences. 
Many of our farmers have manifested an interest in town, county^ 
and state agricultural societies from the early days, been active 
in promoting their organization, and constant in encouraging and 
supporting them. Cheshire county — Sullivan then forming a part 
of it — was the second in the state to organize an agricultural 
society, Eockingham being the first; but Cheshire put forth the 
first premium list, and held the first fair, or show of stock and 
other productions of the farm. 

In 1817 the Cheshire Agricultural Society, which had been pre- 
viously formed, appeared before the legislature as petitioner for 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 157 

the bounty and aid of the state, and the subject was referred to 
a committee who reported, recommending that " the sum of one 
hundred dollars be appropriated to the use of the Cheshire Ag- 
ricultural Society for the purpose of enabling said society to grant 
premiums for the best productions, either of stock, grain, or such 
articles as may be thought advisable, and that said society be re- 
quested to include the subject of domestic manufactures with the 
objects of their association." In'accordance with this recommen- 
dation a resolution was passed granting one hundred dollars each 
to the agricultural societies of Eockingham and Cheshire counties. 

The first meeting of the Cheshire Agricultural Society was held 
^t Claremont on the first Wednesday of October, 1817, at which 
the following ofiicers were chosen : Mr. Roswell Hunt, of Charles- 
town, president; Col. Joseph Alden, of Claremont, vice-president; 
Major Ezra Jones, of Claremont, treasurer; Isaac Hubbard, Esq., 
of Claremont, secretary. An executive committee was chosen, 
consisting of nine persons, of whom Josiah Stevens, of Claremont, 
was one. 

At this meeting a premium list was agreed upon. This docu- 
ment was the first of the kind ever issued in ^ew Hampshire. 
Two hundred and twenty-eight dollars were offered, divided as 
follows : 

For the best pair of -working oxen, not over eight years old . $25 

For the next best do 15 

For the best bull, not less than two years old ... . 15 

For the next best do 10 

For the best milch cow, not over eight years old ... . 15 

For the next best do 10 

For the best pair of steers, three years old 20 

For the best do., two years old 15 

Best yearlings, not less than four in number .... 20 

For th3 best boar, not over two years old 10 

For the next best do 5 

Best pigs, not over eight months old, nor less than four in number 12 
Best merino ewes, not over four years old, nor less than five in 

number 15 

Next best do 10 

Best ewes of common sheep 10 



158 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

FAMILY MANUFACTURES. 

Best piece dressed woolen cloth, not less than ten yards . . $15 

Best piece of linen cloth, not less than ten yards ... 10 

Best piece of flannel made from wool, not less than twenty yards 10 

Best cheese 5 

Best flax, from one acre 20 

Best wheat, on old ground, per acre, reference to be had to the 

quality 15 

Among the rules at the close is an offer of " ten per cent, in 
addition to the above, to be paid to any member of the society 
who may present any stock raised and owned by himself, enti- 
tled to a premium, or any of the manufactures or produce." The 
exhibition was notified to take place at the next annual meeting, 
to be holden at Charlestown, on the first "Wednesday of October, 
1818, at 10 o'clock a. m. 

In 1819 this society held a cattle show and fair in Claremont. 
The day was fine, the exhibition in every department large and 
excellent, and the crowd of people one of the greatest ever seen in 
town. A procession was formed and marched from the north to 
the south side of the river, headed by Joel Goss and David Buck- 
man, dressed in farmer's frocks and wide brimmed straw hats, 
sowing oats on the way. Vegetables, fruits, domestic manufac- 
tures, and fancy articles were shown in the building on Broad 
street, afterward occupied by Glidden & Dean as a store, and 
now Dr. Cyrus E. Baker's dwelling-house. 

This society continued in existence until the county of Cheshire 
was divided, and the fifteen towns in the northern part of it were 
set off" and made the county of Sullivan in 1827. 

SULLIVAN COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

This society was organized in February, 1848. The following 
autumn an exhibition or fair was held in Claremont, and proved 
a great success in every respect. Among the Claremont men 
who were prominent and active members of this society were 
Isaac Hubbard, first president; John S. Walker, president in 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 159 

1857; Horace Dean and Charles F. Long, vice-presidents; Jona- 
than E. Eowell, director; George W. Blodgett, for many years 
secretary, and others. At a meeting held at Claremont in April, 
1857, the society voted to locate the fairs at Charlestown for the 
next ten years, if certain conditions, such as providing and fencing 
the grounds, erecting suitable buildings thereon, etc., were com- 
plied with. This was done, and the fairs held there were suc- 
cessful for a few years; but by reason of the war, combined 
with other causes, the interest in the exhibitions flagged, and the 
organization was finally abandoned, since which no Sullivan 
county society has existed. 

MARKET DAY AXD CATTLE FAIR. 

In the " N'ational Eagle" of October 10, 1861, under this cap- 
tion, appeared the following editorial notice : 

We are requested to give public notice to all persons having fine cattle, horses, 
sheep, pigs, or other stock, and all who desire to purchase, exchange, match, 
or sell, and to the public generally, that a Market Day and Cattle Show will 
be held in Claremont village, on Tuesday, the fifteenth inst., in and about the 
Common in front of the Town House — informally and without expense to the 
public or to individuals. Neat stock, sheep, swine, etc., will rendezvous at the 
Common at ten o'clock a. m. Horses, of all classes, will rendezvous at the same 
place at two o'clock p. m. Committees will be detailed who will make a careful 
and discriminating examination at the hours mentioned of all stock exhibited, 
and afterwards publish their report. No premiums are offered and of course none 
will be awarded — but the report will aim to do justice to noteworthy and de- 
sirable points and features which may come under the observation of the com- 
mittees. The Town Hall will be opened during the day for the convenience 
of exhibitors who may desire to display specimens of butter, cheese, honey, 
vegetables, grains, &c., &c. 

On the 17th of the same month the " Eagle," in noticing the 
fair, said : 

The demonstration of Tuesday was really splendid. Such a show of oxen 
and other cattle has not been seen in Claremont since one or two of our County 
Fairs, twelve years ago, when every town contributed, as the record of weights 
(which the committee will publish next week), will testify. We have only 



160 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



time and space to-day to instance that ten yoke ran up into the thirty-eight 
and thirty-nine hundreds, while several went into the forties. D. W. Barney's 
six-year-olds pulled down 4,180 lbs. ; William Jones's, 4,200, and Benajah Ro- 
gers's, 4,420. The noble procession of bovine aristocracy came into town headed 
by a fine band from Acworth, and escorted by the marshal, Dr. S. G. Jarvis, 
and his aids, all admirably mounted. In the afternoon the display and pro- 
cession of horses was also remarkable. William Breck, Esq., of West Clare- 
mont, with his beautiful matched blacks, headed a procession of about three 
quarters of a mile in length, followed by Lewis Perry's dashing black stallions, 
Rufus Carlton's dainty stepping sorrels, and an endless number of beauties, to 
which the committee will do full justice in their report. 

The show in the town hall was not large. The day is repre- 
sented to have been all that could be desired, and thousands of 
spectators witnessed the show. 

The committees were: On horses, Otis F. R Waite, Oscar J. 
Brown, and John S. Farrington; on cattle, William Clark, Henry 
C. Cowles, and Stephen F. Rossiter; on swine, Horace Dean, C. 
Henry Abbott, and Thomas B. Fletcher; on dairy, vegetables, 
etc., George W. Blodgett and John S. Walker. The next week, 
October 24, these committees published elaborate, and some of 
them learned, reports. The committee on cattle made a lengthy 
report, which in part was. 



Daniel W. Barney, one pair oxen, 

Daniel W. Barney, " 

Daniel W. Barney, " 

Daniel W. Barney, " 

Daniel W. Barney, " 

Daniel W. Barney, " 

William Jones, " 

William Jones, " 
Fred. A. Henry, 
Enoch Johnson, 

Enoch Johnson, " 

Enoch Johnson, " 
Horace Dean, 

John G. Putnam, " 
Joseph Cram, Unity 
Horace Dean, yearling bull 



years old, weight 3,868 



3,810 lbs. 


" 4,180 lbs. 


3,920 lbs. 


2,310 lbs. 


2.130 lbs 


4,200 lbs 


3,568 lbs. 


3,930 lbs. 


4,090 lbs 


3,360 lbs 


1,110 lbs 


3,890 lbs 


3,800 lbs 


2,390 lbs. 


920 lbs. 



Many other specimens were commended. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 161 

By notice published in the town papers, citizens were invited 
to meet at the town hall on October 24, 1861, to consider the 
subject of forming a Town Agricultural Club, which meeting 
was adjourned to November 1, at Tremont hall, at which there 
was a good attendance, and it was voted to organize a town club, 
and that the officers consist of a president, a vice-president for 
each school district, a secretary, treasurer, and board of five man- 
agers. Daniel W. Barney, Thomas Kirk, and Fred. A. Henry 
were appointed a committee to report the names for a board of 
officers, who reported : For president, John S. Walker ; vice-pres- 
idents, district 1, Thomas Kirk; 2, Jacob W. Sanborn; 3, Hosea 
P. Shedd; 4, Danford Eice; 5, William Ellis; 6, Ira Colby; 7, 
Austin T. Cowles; 8, Frederick Jones; 9, Jonathan Densmore; 
10, William F. Bartlett; 11, William E. Tutherly; 12, Euel R. 
Bowman ; 13, George Bond ; 14, Andrew J. Pike ; 15, David F. 
Tutherly; 16, Horace Dean; 17, George G. Ide; 18, Fred. A, 
Henry; 19, Solon C. Grannis; secretary, Charles iN". Goss; treas- 
urer, Enoch Johnson; managers, Daniel W. Barney, Charles F. 
Long, Franklin Norton, George W. Blodgett, and Fred. P. Smith, 
which report was adopted. 

Messrs. Otis F. R. Waite, Oscar J. Brown, and Thomas Kirk 
were appointed a committee to select a suitable lot for a fair 
ground and report at an adjourned meeting. It was voted that 
the name of the club should be the Claremont Agricultural and 
Mechanical Association. Otis F. R. Waite, John S. Walker, and 
George W. Blodgett were appointed a committee to draft and 
report a constitution and by-laws for the government of the as- 
sociation. 

The committee appointed to select a suitable lot for a fair 
ground, by its chairman, reported in favor of taking a lease of 
what was known as the Tenney lot, for five years. The report 
was adopted, and the committee instructed to complete a contract 
in behalf of the association. This is the same lot that was after- 
ward bought by the Sullivan County Park Association, and is 
now laid out into house lots, several of them built on, and known 
as Fair View. 



162 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

At an adjourned meeting, on the 4th of the same I^Tovember, 
Mr. Waite, chairman of the committee on constitution and by- 
laws, submitted a report which was adopted. The following is 
the constitution, and the by-laws were in conformity with it : 

Section 1. This society shall be styled the Claremout Agricultural and Me- 
chanical Association. Its object shall be the encouragement and improvement 
of agriculture and the mechanic arts. 

Sect. 2. The officers of this association shall be a president, a vice-president 
in each school district, a secretary, a treasurer, and a board of five managers, 
all of whom shall be chosen annually in November, and shall hold their offices 
until others are chosen in their stead. The president, secretary, and treasurer 
shall be ex-officio members of the board of managers. 

Sect. 3. The annual meeting of the association shall be holden on the 
first Tuesday of November of each year, at 7 o'clock p. m., for the choice of 
officers and the transaction of other business ; the place of meeting to be desig- 
nated by the board of managers, notice of which shall be signed by the secre- 
tary, and published at least two weeks previous to the time of such meeting, 
in such newspapers in Claremont as will insert it without charge. Other meet- 
ings of the association may be held at such times and places and for such pur- 
poses connected with the objects of the association as the board of managers 
may determine. 

Sect. 4. At the annual meeting the president shall submit in writing a full 
report of the transactions of the association during the preceding year, with 
such remarks and suggestions as he may think proper; and the treasurer shall 
submit, also in writing, a full account of his receipts and disbursements for the 
year, both of which reports shall be placed upon the files of the association. 

Sect. 5. Any person may become a member of this association by paying to 
the treasurer twenty-five cents and signing the constitution and by-laws. 

The Tenney lot, contaiuiug about ninety acres, was leased for 
five years. The same fall a half mile track was laid out, plowed, 
scraped, made level, and as perfect as possible, the most of the 
work being done by farmers and others interested, without charge. 
The lot was used for a cow pasture, and in this way paid the 
rent agreed upon. 

The following winter fortnightly meetings were held for the 
discussion of subjects connected with the objects of the associa- 
tion. The first meeting was held at Tremont hall, December 4, 
1861, the subject for discussion being "The management of farm 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 163 

stock in winter." The meeting was quite largely attended. The 
president, John S. Walker, opened the discussion, and was fol- 
lowed by Fred. A. Henry, Daniel S. Bowker, Charles N". Goss, 
Samuel G. Jarvis, Benj. P. "Walker, Henry Fitch, and others. 
At the next meeting the consideration of the same subject was 
continued. The same gentlemen, and Thomas Kirk, Leonard P. 
Fisher, Fred. P. Smith, Daniel W. Barney, Horace Dean, George 
G. Ide, Ovid Chase, and others, told their own experience and 
observation in the matter of feeding and care of stock while at 
the barn. The speeches were quite fully reported for the " Eagle," 
and created considerable interest in the meetings and the subjects 
discussed. Subsequent meetings were held at Fraternity hall. 
Several members prepared essays upon the subjects to be con- 
sidered, and read them in the course of the debate. 

On the twenty-second of January, 1862, by invitation, Otis F. E. 
Waite occupied about forty minutes, with an address carefully pre- 
pared, upon the subject of " The breeds and breeding of neat stock," 
at the conclusion of which Dr. Samuel G. Jarvis moved the 
thanks of the association to Major Waite for his address, with a 
request that he continue his remarks on a future occasion. The 
motion was adopted, and it was also voted that the address be 
published in the "Eagle," and that two hundred copies be printed 
in pamphlet form for the use of the association. The meetings 
increased in interest and attendance throughout the winter, and 
were continued monthly through the summer. 

In May, 1862, the association organized under the provisions 
of the ISTew Hampshire statutes, became ' a corporation, and so 
continued during its existence. On the thirtieth of September the 
association held a fair and field day on their grounds. Everybody 
was invited to make exhibits, and participate in the festivities, 
free of charge. Forage for stock from out of town was furnished 
by the association free. The novelty of holding fairs upon the 
principle of asking no fees and paying no premiums seemed to 
meet with universal favor. The day was fine, the display of neat 
stock, among which was eighty yokes of heavy oxen, farm pro- 



164 HISTORY or CLAREMONT. 

duce, domestic and other manufactures, fruits, and fancy articles 
was large and excellent, and the gathering of people from this 
and the surrounding towns in IsTew Hampshire and Vermont was 
such as had seldom been seen in Claremont, and all seemed more 
than satisfied. 

At the annual meeting, November 4, the president, John S. 
"Walker, as required by the constitution, made a written report, 
reviewing the doings of the association during the past year, to- 
gether with some valuable suggestions as to the future manage- 
ment of its affairs. On motion of Dr. Jarvis it was voted to re- 
sume the series of fall and winter meetings, and that they should 
be opened by the members giving a personal account of their 
farm operations and results during the past season. 

The meetings for discussion were kept up during the ensuing 
three cold seasons, but the war, then in progress, absorbed the 
attention of almost everybody and detracted from the interest in 
the objects of this association. At the annual meeting in N"ovem- 
ber, 1864, it was voted that meetings be held through the ensuing 
fall and winter so often as they could be made profitable. The 
fairs were held annually the last of September or fore part of 
October, and were entirely successful until 1869, soon after which 
the fair ground was purchased by John Tyler. A company with 
a capital stock of ten thousand dollars, under the name of the 
Sullivan County Park Association, was organized early in 1872, 
bought the ground, fenced it, erected buildings, etc., and fitted 
it up for a trotting park. The Connecticut Eiver Valley Agri- 
cultural Society held its fairs there for a few years with a mod- 
erate degree of success, but it degenerated into a horse-racing 
rather than an agricultural society, and finally went the way of 
many other similar organizations. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

In conformity with a request contained in a circular signed by 
thirty-two influential citizens of the state, among whom were 
Isaac Hubbard, Samuel Tutherly, Jonathan E. Eowell, and John 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 165 

S. "Walker, of Claremout, a meeting was held at Manchester, 
December 12, 1849. John S, Walker called the gentlemen to 
order, and stated that the object which had called so many to- 
gether was the formation of an association for the advancement 
of agriculture and the mechanic arts. A temporary chairman 
was chosen, who, on motion, appointed E. D. Sanborn, of Hanover, 
George W. iTesmith, of Franklin, Josiah Stevens, of Concord, 
Chandler E. Potter, of Manchester, and John S. Walker, of Clare- 
mont a committee to prepare and report a constitution and by- 
laws for the government of this society. The constitution which 
was adopted provided for a president, a vice-president, an exec- 
utive committee of five, a secretary, and treasurer. George W. 
IS'esmith, of Franklin, was elected president; Ezra J. Glidden, of 
Unity, vice-president for Sullivan county, and John S. Walker, of 
Claremont, secretary. 

At the session of the legislature in June, 1850, George W. 
!N'esmith and seventeen others — among them John S, Walker,, 
of Claremont — and their associates and successors, were granted 
a charter under the name of the New Hampshire State Agricul- 
tural Society. An appropriation asked for passed the house, but 
was defeated in the senate by a tie vote. 

The first cattle show and fair by this society was held at Concord 
on the second and third days of October, 1850. The show of horses, 
cattle, articles of domestic manufacture, fruits, vegetables, and 
fancy needle work was very large. In the evening of the first 
day of the fair a meeting of members and others was held at 
which addresses were made by ex-governor John H. Steele, Levi 
Woodbury, ex-governor Anthony Colby, Thomas M. Edwards, 
Franklin Pierce, afterwards president of the United States, Noah 
Martin, afterwards governor of New Hampshire, Nathaniel S. 
Berry, afterwards governor, and others. 

Among the Claremont people awarded premiums were John 
S. Walker, best Durham bull, ^15; Hubbard & Glidden, best Ayr- 
shire bull, $8; Isaac Hubbard, best Durham cow, $12; Sunapee 
Mills, three cases of cotton goods, diploma. Since 1850 this so- 



166 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ciety has been kept up and fairs held annually — except a few 
years during and succeeding the war — at Manchester, Laconia, 
Keene, Dover, and other places; but Claremont being consider- 
able distance from the places where the fairs have been held, her 
people in later years have not participated in them to the extent 
that they otherwise might have done. 

In 1870 the legislature passed an act creating a State Board of 
Agriculture, to consist of one member for each county. This 
board was empowered to solicit returns and reports from the differ- 
ent agricultural societies, and secure complete returns from all sec- 
tions of the state ; hold meetings in the different counties ; collect 
and distribute grains and other seeds, and make fall report of their 
doings annually, before the first day of May, to the Governor, with 
suolo. recommendations and suggestions as in their judgment the 
interests of agriculture shall require. These reports were to be 
printed, distributed, and disposed of the same as other public docu- 
ments. This board has a secretary with an oflace in the state house. 
Concord. He issued a circular calling upon the selectmen of the 
several towns for answers to twelve interrogatories. In case of the 
neglect of the selectmen to reply, individuals were requested to do 
so. For Claremont for 1873, Otis F. E. Waite was called upon for 
a report. The significance of the interrogatories will be inferred 
from the following replies : 

CLAKEMONT. 

Being in Connecticut river valley this is one of the best farming 
towns in New Hampshire, and her farmers are generally intelligent, 
industrious, and independent. Her large village and extensive 
manufactories furnish a home market for more of every kind of 
farm produce than is raised. The following answers to the twelve 
questions in the circular of the secretary of the board of agricul- 
ture of the 20th of March, 1873, convey but a faint idea of the 
beauty and fertility of many of her farms, or the general comfort 
everywhere to be seen within the limits of the town. 

1. The most, say from one half to three fourths, of the farmers 
in town, are saving something annually after supporting their fami- 



J? 



^\i?e:mowt,P. O. 



Towii of ClaT^emont. 

SULL/VAN CO. N. H . 



II 



Q /tW 200 too 



Scale of Fee /^ 

iOO 800 /Ot 



Explaiiatioii . 

§/°^5'Z/^ BU/LOINGS 

a BL/S/f</£SS BLOCffS 
■ F>£S/0ENCEr3. 



>\ 



'jar Chase 



CHDoLe. 



%MrsBea.TV 
}f. E.Br own., \:^\^FjfJBroxvn. 




I* 




166 HISTORY or CLAREMONT. 

ciety has been kept up and fairs held annually — except a few 
years during and succeeding the war — at Manchester, Laconia, 
Keene, Dover, and other places; but Claremont being consider- 
able distance from the places where the fairs have been held, her 
people in later years have not participated in them to the extent 
that they otherwise might have done. 

In 1870 the legislature passed an act creating a State Board of 
Agriculture, to consist of one member for each county. This 
board was empowered to solicit returns and reports from the differ- 
ent agricultural societies, and secure complete returns from all sec- 
tions of the state ; hold meetings in the different counties ; collect 
and distribute grains and other seeds, and make full report of their 
doings annually, before the first day of May, to the Governor, with 
such recommendations and suggestions as in their judgment the 
interests of agriculture shall require. These reports were to be 
printed, distributed, and disposed of the same as other public docu- 
ments. This board has a secretary with an office in the state house, 
Concord. He issued a circular calling upon the selectmen of the 
several towns for answers to twelve interrogatories. In case of the 
neglect of the selectmen to reply, individuals were requested to do 
so. For Claremont for 1873, Otis F. R. "Waite was called upon for 
a report. The significance of the interrogatories will be inferred 
from the following replies : 

CLAREMONT. 

Being in Connecticut river valley this is one of the best farming 
towns in New Hampshire, and her farmers are generally intelligent, 
industrious, and independent. Her large village and extensive 
manufactories furnish a home market for more of every kind of 
farm produce than is raised. The following answers to the twelve 
questions in the circular of the secretary of the board of agricul- 
ture of the 20th of March, 1873, convey but a faint idea of the 
beauty and fertility of many of her farms, or the general comfort 
everywhere to be seen within the limits of the town. 

1. The most, say from one half to three fourths, of the farmers 
in town, are saving something annually after supporting their fami- 



t 



1!^^VI» OIT 



To^vii of Clarcmont . 

SULLIVAN CO. N.H. 




/ ■' 







''>i^ /V 











HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 167 

lies comfortably and educating their children in good schools. 
This by mixed agriculture — the production of the various kinds 
of grain, potatoes, the dairy, and cattle and wool. There are but 
very few farmers in town who are not making a good living, with 
moderate industry and economy. 

2. This is a complicated question, and an intelligent answer to it 
is difficult to give. It is known that almost all farmers, who have 
their farms nearly clear from debt, are improving their fields and 
buildings, supporting their families better, dress them better, ride in 
good carriages, and are saving more money than the average of 
mechanics and men engaged in mercantile pursuits who have an 
equal amount invested in their business and houses. Yet farmers 
generally feel that they have a license to complain at the high price 
of labor and the low rates of some kinds of produce as compared 
with ten years ago. Almost without exception farmers are more 
intelligent, take more papers, read more, live in better buildings, 
and have more conveniences and luxuries than formerly. Most of 
them have more money at interest, work less hours, and are gener- 
erally not more economical, if so much so, as before the war. 
There is no class in the community that lives so well, has so much 
leisure, is so independent, or complains so much of hard times, as 
the farmer. He does not stop to consider that if a mechanic or 
professional man has an income of from eight to twelve hundred 
dollars per year, he has to pay high rents, buy his fuel and every- 
thing he eats, and if he has much family, finds himself at the last 
about where he was the first end of the year ; whereas the average 
farmer, with a less capital invested, has supported his family more 
respectably and better, his children have had more means of im- 
provement, he has added something to the value of his farm by 
way of improvements, and his deposit in the savings bank has 
increased. 

3. It is safe to say that from two thirds to three quarters of farm- 
ers' sons leave the farm for other pursuits. But very few farms 

not ten per cent — have been abandoned to wood or pasturing, or 
been united with other farms in the last ten years. 



168 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

4. There is no more disposition this spring than formerly to 
abandon farming for other pursuits. 

5. It is the general opinion that farms and farm property are ap- 
praised nearer to their real value than village residences, manufac- 
turing property, or stocks in trade, though selectmen have generally 
tried to get as nearly as possible at the true cost value of all pro- 
ductive property in making up their tax lists. There has prob- 
ably been no discrimination in favor of any one class of property 
to the prejudice of others. 

6. There are some pure-blooded cattle in town of several difier- 
ent breeds, principally, however, Durhams, Devons, and Jerseys ; 
and farmers, as they become informed upon the subject, are giving 
more attention to breeds of cattle, and are breeding from better 
animals than formerly ; consequently they are considerably increased 
in value, probably twenty-five per cent in ten years. There has 
been no cattle disease in town the past year. The number of neat 
cattle has not varied much in the last few years. 

7. There are but two valuable stock horses owned in town, and 
none that are thoroughbred. Last fall almost all the livery, stage, 
team, and driving horses in the village were more or less affected 
by the prevailing horse disease, while farm horses, and those that 
had run out during the summer, suffered but little comparatively. 
But very few — not a quarter of one per cent — died, while all are 
apparently well now, and their value has not been perceptibly 
diminished by the disease. 

8. Col. Russell Jarvis, Dr. S. G. Jarvis, J. P. Upham, Elijah 
Whitmore, Mighill Dustin, and Dr. S. A. Sabine are among the 
largest sheep breeders in town. Mr. Dustin has quite a flock of 
Cotswolds, while the others are Merinos. Sheep, at the present 
price of wool, are thought to pay quite as large a profit as any other 
kind of farm stock. There has been no prevailing disease amongst 
them during the past year. Dogs destroyed two hundred and forty- 
two dollars' worth of sheep, and the dog tax was one hundred and 
ninety-seven dollars, and this is about an average for the last five 
years. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 169 

9. Probably from a fifth to an eighth of the area o± the town is 
covered with growing timber, more than half of which is what 
would be called old growth. It is not now diminishing in amount. 
All of the timber cut in town is manufactured here, mostly hem- 
lock and spruce, into building materials. A large share of the 
wood consumed comes from adjoining towns. 

10. The leading crops on the river and valley farms are corn and 
the smaller grains and hay, while the hill farms produce the smaller 
grains, hay, and potatoes. A few farmers have raised tobacco suc- 
cessfully, and on what is known as the " Cupola Farm," owned by 
Hon. Benj. H. Steele, of Vermont, special attention is being given 
to the dairy ; from thirty to forty cows are kept, and their milk is 
made into butter and cheese, which finds a ready market in the 
village. Most farmers are using considerable quantities of com- 
mercial fertilizers, plaster, and ashes. 

11. There is a growing interest in the production of apples, 
pears, and grapes, but none of our farmers are making a specialty 
of this branch of husbandry ; and any estimate of the value of the 
crop for any given year, or an average for the last ten years, would 
be wide of the true mark. 

12. The labor question has become a very important one, since 
labor is at the foundation of all productive industry, and will always 
command its full value. The supply and demand for farm and 
farmhouse labor keep pretty even pace with each other. Many, 
and indeed most, farmers in the vicinity have introduced the latest 
improved machines for saving manual labor, such as planters, cul- 
tivators, mowers, and horse-rakes. 

If there is any one mistake more fatal to the success of the 
farmer than others, it is for him to attempt to produce upon his 
lands what they are not calculated to grow in profusion and per- 
fection. Almost all New Hampshire farmers think they must grow 
a little of nearly every kind of grain, vegetable and fruit ; keep a 
few sheep ; make a little butter and cheese ; raise a few cattle, and 
a colt or two, and indeed do a little of everything. This is about 
as sensible as it would be for a mechanic — because he is a me 
chanic — to attempt to make his own shoes, clothes, wagons, and 



170 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

do his blacksmithing and carpenter work; or for a professional 
man to do his own doctoring, law business, and preaching. No one 
man can do a great variety of work and do it economically and 
well, nor can a farmer possibly understand thoroughly every con- 
ceivable branch of husbandry, and pursue them all, and expect the 
best results ; nor is every farm capable of producing equally well 
horses, cattle, sheep, and other farm stock, and every kind of cereal 
and vegetable and hay, with the best profit. If our farmers would 
study the character and capacity of their farms and then turn them 
to the production of such crops or stock only as they are able to 
produce in the greatest abundance and perfection, and then learn 
to do these few things to the best advantage and in the most per- 
fect manner, the results would be much more satisfactory than to 
do such a great variety, all indifferently well and to but small profit. 
Artisans, in their wisdom, have so divided up their work that each 
has a particular part assigned to him — one man makes but one of 
the many parts of a watch, another makes another part, and so on 
until all parts are made, when another man puts them together and 
makes the watch tick and keep the time by which the day is divided ; 
one man makes the spokes, another the felloes, another the hub, 
while another puts them together and completes the whole of a car- 
riage. The same general system is pursued in ever}^ considerable 
mechanical establishment, and in this way each part of the work 
in hand is done rapidly and well ; and establishments pursuing a 
different system cannot compete with them either in price or quality 
of work. 

It would require a much longer article than you can spare room 
for in your report to make this matter clear to a majority of men 
who are and have been all their lives practicing differently, but the 
subject is most certainly worthy of serious consideration by the 
farmers of iSTew Hampshire. This is but a hint for such as choose 
to take it. 

FARMS. 

There are many farms in Claremont which might be especially 
noticed, while there are a few that imperatively demand it in this 
history. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 171 

THE CUPOLA FARM 

Is situated about four miles northwest of Claremont village, on the 
road to Windsor, Vt. ; it is bounded on the west by Connecticut 
river, and through it runs Sugar river. If not the best it is one of 
the best two farms in New Hampshire — the Peirce farm in Green- 
land being the other. The Cupola farm has been owned by Pom- 
roy M. Eossiter, a native of the town, since 1879. It contains five 
hundred acres, two hundred of which are under cultivation, the 
rest pasture and woodland. One hundred or more acres of the 
meadow bottom is flowed about every spring by the high water of 
Connecticut and Sugar rivers, keeping the land constantly in con- 
dition for the production of large crops of hay of excellent quality. 
This farm was owned for near a hundred years by Dr. William 
Sumner and his direct descendants by that name. A tavern, known 
as the Cupola Tavern, was kept there many years preceding 1851. 
The farm was carried on and the tavern kept by Horace Dean for 
about twenty years immediately prior to that date. After Mr. Ros- 
siter purchased the property he completely remodeled, enlarged, 
and repaired the buildings. The main house is now forty-two feet 
square, two stories, with French roof, and a back or kitchen part 
sixteen by forty-six feet, two stories, finely finished in every part, 
and covered with slate. The barns, as made over and enlarged, are 
now in L shape — one wing is forty by one hundred, the other 
thirty-two by one hundred and forty feet, with cellar under the 
whole, clapboarded and painted, and covered with slate roof 
The floors in which hay and other fodder, corn to be husked, and' 
grain to be threshed, are unloaded, are above the stables. In the 
stable ninety-five cattle can be tied up and there are stalls for eight 
horses. In the cellar or basement there is a place for keeping 
sheep. In every part of the barn and yards where it is needed 
there is an abundant supply of running water. At the south side 
of Sugar river, reached by a substantial iron bridge more than a 
hundred feet long, are two barns, thirty by forty, and thirty -two 
by forty feet, with cellars, capable of storing one hundred tons of 
hay, and tie-ups for thirty-two cattle. At the John Sumner place> 



172 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

SO called, opposite the Cupola buildings, and a part of the Cupola 
farm, is a two-story house and an L barn, one wing twenty by 
sixty, and the other twenty by thirty feet, that holds forty tons of 
hay, where young cattle and sheep are kept. Mr. Rossiter, with the 
assistance of his only son and only child, Charles P. Rossiter, has 
greatly increased the productiveness of this farm. He has in good 
years cut 400 tons of hay, raised 3,000 baskets of corn, 1,000 
bushels of oats, 500 bushels of turnips, besides other smaller crops. 
The farm is supplied with all the latest improved and best im- 
plements and tools. Before Mr. Rossiter bought this farm it had 
been rented, on shares and otherwise, for fifty years, and as a con- 
sequence the buildings were in poor repair, and the land was 
considerably run down. The last tenant claimed that in some 
seasons he had cut two hundred tons of hay. 

THE HORACE DEAN FARM. 

This is one of the many good farms in town. It is located on 
the Charlestown road, two and a half miles south of the village. 
It consists of three hundred acres of upland, most of it with a 
southern slope. It was bought by Horace Dean in 1851, and car- 
ried on by him, until within a few years of his death, in December, 
1884. Mr. Dean was succeeded in the ownership of the farm by 
his son-in-law, John F. Jones, who now owns it. It was owned 
from the early times by Maj. Ezra Jones, who died in August, 1841. 
He was succeeded by his son, Roys Jones, of whom Mr. Dean pur- 
chased it. It is noted for the row of fine maple trees on either 
side of the highway running through it, fully three quarters of a 
mile long, which were set out by Major Jones, more than sixty 
years ago. The soil is naturally productive and has been made 
more so by generous feeding and careful cultivation. Any kind of 
grain or root crop can be grown upon it in abundance, while it is 
an excellent grass farm. Being induced thereto by the urging of 
his friends and neighbors, in 1857 Mr. Dean entered his farm for 
one of the premiums — first, second, or third — offered by the ITew 
Hampshire State Agricultural Society. Twelve farms — presum- 




POMROY M. ROSSITER. 




DR. J. BAXTER UPHAM. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 173 

ably the best — in different sections of the state, were entered as 
competitors. After a thorough and careful examination of the 
farms entered, their condition and productiveness, together with 
the income and expense of carrying them on and the improve- 
ments made upon the land and buildings in the last year, by the 
committee, they awarded the first premium of fifty dollars to Mr. 
Dean's farm. 

In their report to the society the committee say: "Mr. Dean 
purchased this farm, of three hundred acres, six years ago. Price 
paid, $7,000; mows seventy-five acres; nine acres of corn, one of 
potatoes ; keeps thirty-five head of cattle, four horses, one hundred 
and twenty-five sheep ; fats ten hogs ; spreads twenty loads manure 
per acre on his corn land; has built four hundred rods of wall; 
set out two hundred and fifty fruit trees, grafted ; thirty acres of 
woodland kept fenced. When he came into possession of the farm 
there were twenty-five acres of waste land, or nearly so, yielding 
about six bushels of rye per acre. It is now in a high state of culti- 
vation, capable of producing twenty-six bushels of wheat per acre." 
" "When Mr. D. came into possession of the place, its former owner 
mowed thirty-five acres more than is now mowed, and cut forty 
tons less hay." 

Few farms anywhere can show so much care and thorough cultiva- 
tion; and the buildings — house and barns slated — have been 
much improved by the present owner, and are of the very best. 

THE HUBBARD FARM. 

This is a farm of considerable historic interest. When Benning 
Wentworth, provincial governor of New Hampshire, in 1764, 
granted this township, it was divided into seventy-five equal shares 
of two hundred and fifty acres each. The governor's reservation 
of two shares of five hundred acres was located in the southwest 
corner of the town, with three islands in Connecticut river, oppo- 
site, and marked " B. W." In 1766 Governor Wentworth granted 
his reservation in Claremont to Joseph Waite, in consideration of 
his services in the French and Indian war. In 1776 Joseph Waite 



174 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

was appointed Lieutenant Colonel of Col. Timothy Bedell's regi- 
ment, raised in New Hampshire, and sent in command of it to the 
defense of Canada ; was wounded in the head by a splinter from a 
gun carriage, in an engagement near Lake Champlain, and died in 
Clarendon, Vt., when on his way to his home in Claremont, Sep- 
tember 28, 1776. In some way Lieut. George Hubbard acquired a 
title to the Governor Wentworth shares — supposed from the widow 
and heirs of Lieutenant Colonel Waite. Afterward a controversy 
as to the validity of Governor Wentworth's title to his reservations 
in this and other townships arose, but by compromise or in some 
other way Lieutenant Hubbard continued in possession of this five 
hundred acres until his death, April 16, 1818, He was succeeded 
on this farm by his son, known for many years as Isaac Hubbard, 
Esq., who died January 29, 1861. This was an exceptionally fine 
tract of land, and Isaac Hubbard an excellent farmer, as was his 
father before him. He was interested in choice farm stock, espe- 
cially neat cattle, and had some of the best in this section. He 
raised an ox of the short-horn Durham breed, which was remark- 
able for its great size, beauty of proportions, and color. 

This ox was called " Olympus," and the following were his 
weights at different periods : January 4, 1833, when just one year 
old, 874 pounds ; December 23, 1833, 1,280 ; January 5, 1835, 1,800 ; 
December 26, 1835, 2,350 ; February 15, 1837, 2,190 ; April 4, 1838, 
3,370. In the fall of 1838 Olympus was taken to England for 
exhibition, by a Mr. Niles of Boston, and given the name of 
"Brother Jonathan." The following is the way in which he was 
advertised on the other side of the Atlantic : 

The American Mammoth Ox, Brother Jonathan, weighing 4,000 pounds or 
500 stone, of beautiful proportions. This astonishing animal was seven years 
old on the 4th of Jan. 1839; color dapple bay; was bred by the Hon. Isaac 
Hubbard, in the Town of Claremont, State of New Hampshire, New England, 
and imported to England under a heavy bond to her Majesty's customs to re-ship 
Brother Jonathan to America in six months. This beautiful creature was exhib- 
ited at the Egyptian Hall, Piccadilly, London, seven weeks, during which time 
22,368 persons visited him, including most every branch of the Royal Family 
and the leading Agricultural noblemen and gentlemen. He has been purchased 



SOLDIERS' MONUMENT, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 175 

by some gentlemen for the purpose of exhibiting him through the agricultural dis- 
tricts, to show the laudable rivalry in our Transatlantic Brethren. Her Maj- 
esty's Government have been pleased to extend the bond. 

PROPORTIONS. 

Measui'ing in length from nose to rump, 11 ft. 10 in.; height over fore 
shoulder, 5 ft. 11 in.; girth, 10 ft. 6 in.; loins, 9 ft. 11 in. ; breadth of hips, 3 
ft. 1 in. ; breadth shoulders, 2 ft. 11 in.; girth of fore arm, 2 ft. 6 in. ; height 
of breast from ground, 1 ft. 11 in. 

This ox was afterward taken to France for exhibition, and re- 
turned to England, where he was slaughtered for beef. After the 
death of Isaac Hubbard, Esq., the farm was divided, his son, the 
late Rev. Dr. Isaac G. Hubbard, taking a portion, which is still 
owned by his heirs, and his grandson, Isaac Hubbard Long, the 
rest, which he has since occupied. 

HIGHLAND VIEW FARM. 

In 1877, William H. H. Moody, a native of the town, by reason 
of impaired health, caused by too close application to business as 
the head of the shoe manufacturing firm of Moody, Estabrook & 
Andersons of JSTashua, and having acquired a considerable fortune, 
retired temporarily from the firm and turned his attention to the res- 
toration of his health by out-door exercise. He returned to Claremont, 
bought what had long been known as the Mann farm of eighty-seven 
acres on the Charlestown road, a little more than a mile south of the 
village, and immediately began the erection of fine buildings, upon 
high ground, overlooking the village, commanding a view of a 
large extent of surrounding country, and improving his land by 
ditching and other means employed by good farmers with ample 
means. The house is large, substantial, and elegant — two stories 
with Mansard roof, wide piazzas and verandas on three sides, and 
elaborately finished and decorated inside. ^N'ear to it is a neat cot- 
tage for the superintendent of the farm and stables. The build- 
ings, about a hundred rods west of the Charlestown road, are 
reached by a winding avenue on either side of which is a row of 



176 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

rock maple trees. The grounds in front of the house are orna- 
mented by evergreen and other trees and shrubs, giving the place 
a picturesque appearance. 

Having a liking for good horses, Mr. Moody turned his attention 
to breeding blooded stock for trotters and gentlemen's driving 
horses, and erected barns, sheds, and other buildings for that pur- 
pose. There are three barns, one hundred by fifty feet, and 
one hundred by thirty, and forty by eighty, and twenty-five box 
stalls, under the same roof, each twelve by fifteen feet, well 
lighted and aired, for brood mares. At the south side of the 
road to Claremont Junction, two miles from the village, he has a 
park of thirty acres, with a tight board fence, eight feet high on 
the highway ; stables for the accommodation of thirty horses, with 
running water at convenient points, and a track on which the 
horses are exercised by careful and experienced drivers. It is 
named Highland View Park. The track is sixty-five feet wide, the 
ends thrown up one inch to the foot ; twenty thousand cart loads 
of earth were moved in the grading of it, and it is as level, hard, and 
perfect as money and skillful engineering could make it. 

Mr. Moody's stock horses are among the best blooded animals in 
the country, with undoubted pedigrees. In 1893 he had in all — 
stock horses, brood mares, and colts of all ages — one hundred and 
fifty head. His ambition is to have not only the most complete 
and best equipped horse breeding establishment in Xew England, 
but the best blooded stock in the country. He is at work with this 
end constantly in view, and is not far from its accomplishment. 

From time to time Mr. Moody has added to his original purchase 
several difi"erent tracts, some of which have good buildings upon 
them, and has now six hundred acres, all connected. This land 
has been vastly improved by blind ditching and tile draining, re- 
moving all loose stones, great and small, and generous fertilizing. 
A notable thing about the place is a wall on the west side of the 
Charlestown road, extending from his south line to his north line, 
at Draper Corner, made with stones taken from the land. Many 
of the bowlders were too large to be removed|by ordinary means 
without being broken up or split. This being done they made good 
face wall, which was skillfully laid. It is four feet wide on the top, 




WILLIAM H. H. MOODY. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 177 

is sunk into the ground two or three feet, and six feet high above 
the surface. 

To supply his buildings with an abundance of pure water, with 
head sufficient to carry it forcibly to desired points, in 1892 Mr. 
Moody sunk into a ledge back of and higher than the top of his 
house, an artesian well six inches in diameter and one hundred 
feet deep. The water is forced into a large reservoir by means 
of a pump attached to a Gem wheel, operated by a wind-mill, 
and from this reservoir it is taken in pipes to places where it is 
desired. 

After a few years Mr. Moody almost wholly recovered the 
health and vigor of his early days, and resumed his former place 
in the shoe iirm, from the profits of which he derives an income 
sufficient to enable him to carry forward his Claremont projects. 
The most of his time winters he spends in Boston, where the 
firm has an office and warehouse, and the summers he spends 
upon his farm, going occasionally to Boston. He has an effi- 
cient and trusty superintendent here who attends to everything in 
his absence. 

THE BRECK FARM. 

This farm is situated on the road to Windsor, Vt, four miles 
from Claremont village, north of and adjoining the Cupola farm. 
It contains one hundred and thirty acres, about seventy of which 
is Connecticut river meadow, in a high state of cultivation. In 
1792 William Breck bought and settled on this farm, and he 
and his descendants have owned and occupied it continuously to 
the present time. He died November 22, 1819, and was suc- 
ceeded by his son, William, who had been a sea captain. The 
latter died April 13, 1848, when his brother, Henry, took the 
farm, and continued upon it until his death, July 10, 1872, at the 
age 'of eighty-six years, then his youngest son, Charles P. Breck, 
came into possession of the farm and owns it still. In many ways 
this is a very desirable farm, where location, fertility of the soil, and 
the ease with which it is worked are considered. Under the pres- 



178 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ent owner the farm has been greatly improved in productiveness, 
buildings, and surroundings, adding to its value and attractiveness. 
Upon it in 1892 one hundred tons of hay were cut; twelve hun- 
dred baskets of sound corn and other grains and root crops raised ; 
two hundred sheep, fifty neat cattle, and eight horses were kept. 
Mr. Breck, being a cattle fancier, gives attention to good breeds, 
and has some fine animals. The buildings on the place are ample, 
and kept in a good state of repair. 

THE MICHAEL LOVELL FARM. 

This farm, on Town hill, contains one hundred and fifty acres. 
It was owned by Asa Jones and then by Benjamin Jones, from 
1784 to 1804, when it was bought by Alexander Ealston, who 
kept a tavern there, known as the Ralston Tavern, until about 
1815. In 1821 Michael Lovell bought the place, and from that 
time it has been owned by him and his connections, and has been 
known as the Michael Lovell farm. In 1850 Gordon Way, whose 
wife was Mr. Lovell's daughter, took the farm and occupied it until 
his death, in 1880, when it went into possession of his son. Dr. 
Osmon B. Way, who still owns it. The land slopes to the east, 
is very strong, well cultivated, and produces abundantly of grass, 
grain, and other crops. Since Dr. Way has owned this farm, the 
house and other buildings have been remodeled, thoroughly re- 
paired, and are in excellent condition. The location commands 
an extended view of the surrounding country, the superior of 
which for attractiveness is seldom found. 

THE JARVIS FARM. 

This is a large farm on Town hill. It was bought by Dr. Leon- 
ard Jarvis, of Judge Sanford Kingsbury, in 1795, and was owned 
and occupied by him until his death, in 1848, after which his 
son, Russell Jarvis, succeeded to it. He died in February, 1888, 
and the farm has since been owned by his heirs. It is beauti- 
fully located, and the soil is naturally excellent. The specialty 
of the place has been the breeding of merino sheep and the pro- 
duction of fine wool. 




ISAAC HUBBARD. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 179 

THE JAMES P. UPHAM FARM. 

This farm, formerly known as the Dove farm, consists of two 
hundred and thirteen acres, mostly upland, on Town hill. It 
was several years a part of the Dr. Leonard Jarvis farm. Mr. 
Upham bought it in 1850, of Eussell Jarvis, and built upon it a 
handsome two-story house and ample barns and farm appurte- 
nances. He has given considerable attention to fruit culture, 
particularly apples. From 1850 to 1860 he set out four hundred 
apple, two hundred pear, and a large number of smaller fruit 
trees, all grafted with choice varieties of fruit, making a fine 
young orchard. The lawn in front of the ho.use, sloping to the 
east, is ornamented with evergreen and other trees and shrubs. 
Like other places on Town hill, this one commands a view of a 
large extent of picturesque country, scarcely equalled. On the 
farm Mr. Upham keeps blooded Jersey cattle, and flocks of me- 
rino and southdown sheep ; cuts annually seventy-five tons of hay ; 
raises seven hundred baskets of corn, and six hundred bushels of 
smaller grains, together with potatoes and root crops. 

THE DR. SAMUEL G. JARVIS FARM 

Is at West Claremont, two and a half miles from the village, 
on the road to Windsor, Vt. It consists of upland, sloping to 
the south, strong, rich soil, capable of producing large crops of 
grass and grain. It was occupied by Dr. Samuel G. Jarvis for 
more than fifty years preceding his death, on the 5th of March, 
1892. He made the raising of merino sheep and the growing of 
fine wool a specialty. It is owned by his two sons, Drs. William 
and Leonard Jarvis. 

THE LABAN A INS WORTH FARM. 

This was formerly the Luther Ashley farm. It is situated a 
short distance south of Claremont Junction, and contains about 
three hundred and fifty acres, seventy of it being Connecticut river 
meadow, a portion of which is flowed at times of high water each 
spring. It is an excellent farm and very productive with a moderate 



180 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

amount of labor. It was bought by Laban Ainsworth in 1837, and 
he lived there until his death, May 19, 1881, since which it has been 
owned by his sons, George J. and Ralph Ainsworth. They cut one 
hundred and fifty tons of hay annually, raise large quantities of 
corn and other grains, keep from sixty to seventy-five neat cattle, 
six horses, and fatten from thirty to thirty-five good-sized hogs. 

THE COOKE FARM 

Is on the road from Claremont to Windsor, Vt., about midway be- 
tween the two places. This was a widely known tavern stand for 
many years — the tavern being a long two-story house, on the oppo- 
site side of the highway from the present handsome mansion, and 
was not removed until about 1858. In 1779 Capt John Cooke 
bought this farm and tavern stand and continued the business until 
his death, February 8, 1810, when his sons, George and Godfrey, 
succeeded to the tavern business and farm. After a few years the 
tavern business was abandoned. Godfrey died April 4, 1849, and 
George survived him until October 29, 1850. This is a large and 
valuable farm, considerable of it being Connecticut river meadow. 
It has been known for more than a hundred years as the Cooke 
ferm, and has been owned for more than fifteen years by Erastus 
Reed. 

JOHN bailey's farm. 

This was originally the Oliver Ashley farm, just south of Ashley 
Ferry. For many years it was owned by Benajah Rogers, then by 
his son, Abram. In 1882 John Bailey bought and has since owned 
it. It contains one hundred and twenty-five acres, seventy-five of 
which is Connecticut river meadow, and he has other out 
lands. He is a progressive farmer, liberal in the use of manures, 
knows how to make two blades of grass grow where but one grew 
before, and has improved his land every year since he bought it. 
He has remodeled and thoroughly repaired the buildings and 
erected a good new barn, thoroughly ventilated and well lighted. 
He cuts about one hundred tons of hay each year ; raises from one 
thousand to twelve hundred baskets of corn, five or six hundred 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 181 

bushels of oats, potatoes and other crops ; has a considerable dairy 
and fattens twenty hogs. In many ways this is a very desirable 
farm. 

Besides those farms particularly noted, may be mentioned as 
among the best, the William Jones farm, just north of the Junction 
railroad station, owned by the heirs of Lucian E. Jones ; on the 
river road, the Ralph Ainsworth farm, one hundred and fifty acres, 
owned by Charles H. Ainsworth ; the Woster Jones farm, owned 
by George F. Long. These farms have considerable Connecticut 
river meadow, good corn and grass land, free from stones and easily 
worked. On the Charlestown road, the Edward Ainsworth farm, 
owned by Walter H. and William E. Ainsworth, and the Joel Goss 
farm, owned by George P. Rossiter. These are upland farms, 
strong rich soil and productive. On Bible hill, the Erastus Glid- 
n farm, for many years owned by Joshua Colby and his son 
enry, and now by James Sylvester and James Brown, and the Ira 
Colby farm, now owned by Daniel Adams. These are among the 
best hill farms in town, and with good management have been 
quite profitable. On the east road to Cornish Flat, a little more 
than a mile north of the village, the Ichabod Hitchcock farm, owned 
by Frederick P. Smith, very productive of grass and grain crops. On 
the southeast side of Green Mountain were formerly several good 
farms, high up, but sloping to the south, strong soil, excellent for 
the production of grass, small grains, and potatoes. These have 
been mostly acquired by Prescott Putnam, who has about five hun- 
dred acres, made up of the Jonathan E. Powell and Samuel C. 
Abbott farms and a part of that formerly owned by the late Abner 
Stowell. Mr. Putnam has a large dairy and makes butter for the 
home market. The Lemon Cowles farm, on the southwestern slope 
of Green mountain, for many years owned by him, then by his son, 
Tracy Cowles, and now by the latter's heirs, ig also a good grass, 
small grain, and root crop farm. On the old road to JNewport, a 
mile and a half east of the village, is the Solomon Hubbard farm, 
Sugar river meadow and upland, owned by Freeman S. Chellis. 
Next east is the Bartlett Clement farm, for many years owned by 



182 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Samuel Tutherly and his son, William E. Tutherly, later by Syl- 
vester Bartlett, and now by James N. Perkins, contains nearly 
three hundred acres, and is classed with the best upland farms. 
In Puckershire are the Proctor farm, owned by George Walker; 
the Harriman farm, owned by Jacob W. Sanborn ; the Way farm, 
owned by Enoch Johnson; the John Blodgett farm, owned by 
Herbert E. Tutherly — which has been named the Elm Farm — on 
which is kept a dairy and supplies milk to the village ; the Barstow 
farm, owned by William F. Jones, where a specialty is made of 
raising poultry and producing eggs for the home and Boston mar- 
kets. On Maple avenue is the Joseph Wilson farm, which has 
been in the possession of the Wilson family since 1776, and is now 
owned by Josiah Wilson, a grandson of Joseph. In the north part 
of the town is the large farm, owned and occupied by the late Solon 
C. Grannis for seventy years and now owned by his heirs; the 
Bailey farm, now owned by Erastus B. Bailey; the farm on Bed 
Water brook road, owned by Samuel H. Andrews, the neat ap- 
pearance of whose buildings and surroundings attract attention. 
On the old road to the Junction, bordering on Sugar river, is the 
Harvey Tolles farm of about two hundred and twenty acres of Sugar 
river and Beaver brook meadow and upland. More than forty 
years ago Mr. Tolles raised on this farm an ox, which at maturity 
weighed over three thousand pounds. The farm is now owned by 
his son, Lawrence A. Tolles, who makes a specialty of producing 
and supplying milk to the village. At the south end of Broad 
street is the Cossit farm. It has been owned by the Cossit family 
for nearly a hundred and twenty-five years — first by Ambrose 
Cossit, then by his son, Ambrose, then by his son, John F., and is 
now owned by the latter's son, Henry A. Cossit. On the hill, east 
of the old road to Newport, is the Nathaniel Cowles farm, now owned 
by Stepen J. Roberts. This is a productive and valuable hill farm. 



CHAPTER Xin. 

TOWN HILL. 
PART OF THE TOWN FIRST SETTLED. 

In the early days of the settlement of the town and for many 
years, Town hill was the center of population, business, and fash- 
ion. The highway from the Cupola house south, if not the first, 
was one of the first, built in town, and until long after the 
Revolutionary War, was the only road . from points south on 
the Connecticut river to Haverhill. There is a tradition that it 
was called the King's highway. Through the town it was laid 
out ten rods wide, and for a considerable distance on Town hill, 
on either side was a row of tall Lombardy poplars. In a dis- 
tance of about a mile and a half from Lottery bridge south 
were more than twenty houses — by far the best in town and 
some of them large and for that time fine and expensive. 

The first house south of Lottery bridge was occupied by 
James Balloch, a Scotchman, father of George W. and William 
Balloch. Subsequently the son, George W. Balloch, for many 
years a famous butcher, lived there, and in this house Gen. 
George W. Balloch of Washington, D. C, was born. The next 
two were occupied by Sumners. Then there are evidences of 
three or four houses, about which there is no known history. 
East of the highway John Wise, a Scotchman, who married 
Hannah, daughter of Benjamin Sumner, built a large and hand- 
some house, and nearly opposite was the Dove house, not far 
from where James P. Upham's house now stands. On the west 
side of the highway is the Judge Sanford Kingsbury house, the 
same now occupied by the heirs of Russell Jarvis. Is'ext comes 



184 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the Stephen Mann place, afterward owned by George Wooddell 
now by Thomas J, Fitch. Near his buildings is now standing 
a portion of the first meeting-house in town. It was also used 
for a schoolhouse. On the east side of the highway is the Barna- 
bas Ellis place, bought by him of Josiah Willard, one of the 
grantees of the town, in 1767, after whose death it was owned 
by his youngest son, William Ellis, who was born there in 1807 
and lived there until his death, in August, 1880, since which it 
has been owned by the latter's son, William B. Ellis. Next, on 
the west side of the highway, is the Dr. Thomas Sterne place. 
Dr. Sterne was the first physician settled in town. He came here 
from Boston in 1768, and soon built the house on this place, 
which was then the largest and most elegant one in this vi- 
cinity. He died there November 24, 1816. For a number of 
years this place was owned by Stephen Mann, who kept a tav- 
ern there, then by Hi;igh Moore, who sold it to James Leet and 
it was known as the Leet place for many years. James P. 
IJpham bought the farm in 1893 and took the house down. 
Next, on the same side of the way was the Nicholas Farwell 
house and shoe shop. The house was the John Picket house, 
one of the first framed houses built in town, the same in which 
George N. Farwell was born in 1804, and Dr. Silas H. Sabine 
afterward lived and practiced his profession. Just south of this 
Capt. John Farwell, brother of Nicholas, also a shoemaker, lived. 
Both of these Farwells removed to the village about 1813 and 
continued the shoemaking business. Nicholas built the brick 
house, corner of Broad and Pine streets, where Herman Holt 
now lives, and Capt. John built the one on the east side of 
Broad street, where Herbert Bailey lives. Next, on the same 
side of the highway, is the Ralston place. It was owned prior 
to 1784 by Asa Jones, who sold it in that year to Alexander 
Kalston, a Scotchman, who came from Boston to Keene, and 
from thence to Claremont. Mr. Ralston was so intensely loyal 
that he was included in the act of banishment from Boston in 
1778. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 186 

Alexander Ealston, John Wise, and James Balloch came from 
Scotland to America together, all lived on Town hill for a 
time and were fast friends. Mr. Ralston purchased four tracts 
of land in that locality, which included most of what is now the 
Way farm and the territory west of it, extending to Connecti- 
cut river — two hundred and eighty acres in all. Three of these 
tracts were bought of Asa Jones and the other of John Spencer. 
About 1784 Mr. Ralston built the large two-story house and L 
now standing, and with repairs and improvements made upon it 
by the present proprietor, it is in excellent condition. In this 
house was kept for more than thirty years the widely known Rals- 
ton tavern. Being on the main road from Massachusetts to north- 
western New Hampshire and northeastern Vermont, it was a 
famous stopping place for the daily six-horse stage, the large can- 
vas-covered freight wagons, and pleasure travelers. For a time 
the Free Masons held their regular meetings in the large hall in 
the house. On occasion of one of these meetings Mrs. Ralston's 
curiosity to know the secrets of the order led her to go quietly 
to the unfinished attic over the hall and listen to the proceedings. 
She was a large, heavy woman, and by mischance stepped upon 
the lathing, her feet went through the ceiling, and she was only 
relieved from her embarrassing position by the help of her hus- 
band and his brother Masons. The evidence of this adventure 
remained in the ceiling until the house was renovated in 1887. In 
1804 Mr. Ralston sold the tavern and about one hundred and fifty 
acres of land, which constitutes the Way farm, to Benjamin Jones, 
and returned to Keene, where he died in 1810. John White kept 
the tavern for a time and was followed by John Newell, a pioneer 
Methodist, whose son, Matthew, became a Methodist preacher. 
He removed to Weathersfield, Vt, and was the grandfather of 
Wilbur, Charles, and Asbury Newell, now living there. From 
1795 to 1806 Jesse Lee and other itinerant Methodist preachers 
held occasional meetings in the hall of the Ralston tavern. 

Before the controversy in relation to the Congregational meet- 
ing-house, which continued for some years, was settled, Matthias 



186 HISTORY OF CLARBMONT. 

Stone erected a suitable building for the purpose and offered to 
donate it to the town for a meeting-house. At a town meeting, 
called to consider the matter, it was voted not to accept the gift — 
probably on account of the location — and the structure was 
never used as a place of worship, but was removed to this farm, 
where it now stands, and has been used for a barn. 

Prior to the purchase of this property by Mr. Ralston, in 1784, 
on what is now the Way farm, was a house which was said to have 
been recently burned, on or near the site of the present one ; the 
John Picket house ; the store building and a blacksmith and wheel- 
wright shop opposite. In 1815 Benjamin Jones sold the Way 
place to Danforth Parmalee, at which time the tavern business was 
discontinued. In 1820 it was sold to Michael Lovell, and was 
known as the Michael Lovell farm from then until his death, April 
29, 1860, in the ninety-sixth year of his age. In 1850 Gordon 
Way, whose wife was a daughter of Mr. Lovell, took the place and 
kept it until his death, in 1880, soon after which it passed into the 
possession of his son. Dr. Osmon B. Way, who still owns it. 

South of this, on the west side of the highway, was the Christo- 
pher York place, afterward owned by Michael McConnon. Arnold 
Merrill lived there a few years preceding his death and was the 
last occupant of the house. It has since been taken down. 
Nearly opposite was a place owned by Oliver Corey, father of Mrs. 
Nicholas Farwell. The buildings were removed years ago. At 
the south of these places, in a lot distant from the highway, was 
formerly a pest-house, where persons afflicted with small-pox were 
treated. 

Many of the habitations named and others not named went to 
decay so many years ago that there is no known record or reliable 
tradition in relation to them, and there is now nothing but cellar 
holes, and in a few instances wells, left to mark the places where 
they stood. 

Town hill is an elevation from its surroundings, gently sloping 
to the east to meet the morning sun, and west to Connecticut 
river. The soil is warm, strong, and generous, and here are 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 187 

some of the best farms in town. From this elevation are exten- 
sive views of Connecticut river valley ; Ascutney, the Green 
Mountain range, and other sections of Vermont ; parts of Charles- 
town, Walpole, Acworth, Lempster, Unity, Newport, Croydon, 
Grantham, Plainfield, Cornish, and New London — the whole 
forming a panorama of quiet beauty rarely equalled. 



INDUSTRIES 



CHAPTER XrV. 

WATER POWER. 
MAJJUFACTURING AND INDUSTRIAL INTERESTS. 

One of the great advantages and sources of wealth of Clare- 
mont is its superior water power, derived mainly from Sugar 
river. This river is the outlet of Sunapee lake, which is nine 
and a half miles long, and from half a mile to two and a half 
miles wide, and is eight hundred and twenty feet above Connect- 
icut river, into which it empties in the town of Claremont. Sugar 
river is about eighteen miles long from its source to its mouth. 
It passes through the towns of Sunapee, Newport, and Clare- 
mont. It is fed by what is called South Branch, which has its 
source in Lempster, Unity, and Goshen ; the North Branch coming 
from Springfield, Grantham, and Croydon, both of which it re- 
ceives in the town of Newport, after passing the village of that 
town, and other smaller streams along its course. But the river 
is chiefly supplied with water from Sunapee lake, especially in dry 
times. 

The Sunapee Dam Company was incorporated by the New 
Hampshire legislature, December 4, 1820. This company is com- 
posed of mill owners in Claremont, Newport, and Sunapee, who 
derive their motive power from Sugar river. Among the rights 
granted by the legislature was that " to sink the outlet of Suna- 
pee lake at the source of Sugar river to the depth of ten feet 
below the low water mark of said lake, and to erect and main- 
tain a dam there, with suitable gates and flumes, to the height 
of said low water mark, for the beneflt of the mills and mill 
privileges." 



192 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

For many years Sugar river has furnished the power for a very 
large number of mills, representing a variety of industries in the 
towns through which it runs, and, at the present time, is a prin- 
cipal source of their wealth. Upon this water power they depend 
for their future growth and prosperity. As above stated, the fall 
of this river is eight hundred and twenty feet. In the town of 
Claremont it falls three hundred feet or more, and there are 
thirteen excellent mill privileges on these falls. Upon many of 
these privileges are mills upon both sides of the river, thus af- 
fording opportunity to utilize the whole power. It is estimated 
that each foot of fall is capable of turning one thousand spindles. 
There is a fall of two hundred and twenty-three feet in these thir- 
teen privileges. 

The Sunapee Dam Company was duly organized immediately 
after the charter was granted, and suitable dam and other appli- 
ances were erected for the purpose of holding the water of Suna- 
pee lake in reserve for use at times of low water in the river, 
by mills along its course. This corporation has been kept up, 
and the dam and other appliances erected have been maintained 
and improved from time to time. Whenever the lands about the 
lake have been flowed, or other damage accrued from the erec- 
tion of this dam, those injured have been compensated by the 
company, and in not a few instances the right to flow has been 
purchased. Without this great natural reservoir, and the right 
to use it, granted by the legislature, neither Claremont, Newport, 
nor Sunapee could have reached their present condition of wealth 
and consequent importance. 

Although this company has the right to draw the lake down 
ten feet below low water mark, it has never been drawn to any- 
thing like that extent. Since 1820, when the Sunapee Dam Com- 
pany was incorporated, the manufacturing business of Claremont, 
dependent upon water power, with a few pauses and lapses, has 
gradually, but steadily, grown to its present proportions. The 
first real, earnest start in manufacturing business did not occur 
until about 1833. In 1879 the late venerable Simeon Ide, who 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 198 

for many years — from 1834 — was prominently identified with 
the manufacturing interests of Claremont, prepared and published 
a little book, entitled " The Industries of Claremont, Kew Hamp- 
shire, Past and Present," containing many valuable statistics. 
This is the most reliable known source of information, and from 
it are gathered many facts upon this subject. Of this water power 
Mr. Ide says : 

From the statistics I have at hand, it would seem there was comparatively 
but very little use made of it previous to the year 1833-34. There was then 
at the upper fall, No. 1, a gristmill on the south side of the river; on the 
third fall, No. 3, south side, a wool-carding and fulling mill, carried on by 
Woodman & Elmer, and a furnace by Roswell Elmer; and on the north side 
a small hand-making paper mill, having two 120 lb. pulp engines, and other 
necessary appliances of that day in proportion, for making paper, owned and 
operated by Fiske & Blake, successors of the first paper maker in Cheshire 
county. Colonel Josiah Stevens. On fall No. 4 was a seven feet dam, and till 
the first of January, 1833, only water enough was drawn from it to move Tim- 
othy Eastman's bark-grinding machine. The Claremont Manufacturing Com- 
pany's stone factory, on the south side, had recently been put in order to receive 
its machinery. On the fifth fall, east side of the river, was the Tyler saw and 
grist mill ; on the west side, a wool-carding, spinning, weaving, and cloth-dress- 
ing factory. On the sixth fall, west side, Farwell's cotton factory, with Billings's 
machine shop in the basement or L, first put in operation in 1831 ; and on the 
west side, in "the Gully," a small slate-sawing and planing mill, operated by 
Curtis Stoddard. On falls Nos. 7, 8, and 9, in 1832 not even a dam had been 
built, so far as I can learn. 

Following the above order in a more minute historical descriptive view of the 
several present and former mill sites in the village proper of Claremont, the 
earliest date at which I find there had been any use made of that at fall No. 
1, north side of the river, was about the year 1800, when Stephen Dexter 
erected a small building there, and he and his brother. Colonel David Dexter, 
carried on in it a scythe-making concern till about 1824. They also owned 
grist, saw, and oil mills, located on and near where the Monadnock Mills 
Company's sawmill now stands, which were run by water drawn from a low 
dam then standing about midway between dams Nos. 1 and 2. On the decease 
of Colonel Dexter, in 1830, his son-in-law, Moses Wheeler, in 1831, succeeded 
the Messrs. Dexter in the several branches of business above stated, except the 
scythe factory, as sole proprietor, and carried them on for several years. 

In 1837-38 a two-story brick building took the site of the old Dexter scythe 
shop, and was owned and occupied by the Claremont Carriage Company two 



194 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

or three years. Hard times finally put a stop to this company's operations, and 
soon afterwards their buildings were destroyed by fire. Paran Stevens, Timothy 
Eastman, Moses Wheeler, A. J. Tenney, T. J. Harris (agent), were of the 
company. In 1843-44 the present three-story brick building was erected. It 
stood empty a few years, when John Fiske put into it cotton machinery; run 
it two or three years; then a Mr. Cozens bought the property, continued busi- 
ness but a short time, when the Monadnock Mills Company bought and con- 
tinued its use as a cotton mill until 1863, and then substituted the woolen for 
the old cotton machinery. This is the only factory on the north side of the 
river operated by power from fall No. 1. 

On the south side, in olden time, Colonel Josiah Stevens, it is said, built a 
one-story wooden building at the south end of the upper bridge, and put into 
it machinery for making paper. This must have been, according to Mr. Ide, 
prior to 1810. The building was burned about 1812, and the present two-story 
wood structure erected there, which, in 1831, was owned and occupied by David 
TV. Dexter as a gristmill. It was afterwards used for various purposes, and 
is now the repair shop of the Monadnock Mills Company. 

MANUFACTURING AND OTHER INDUSTRIES. 
MONADNOCK MILLS. 

In 1831 the New Hampshire legislature granted to Leonard 
Jarvis, Joseph T. Adams, and Russell Jarvis and their associates, 
a charter under the name of the Sugar River Manufacturing 
Company, for the purpose of carrying on the business of manufac- 
turing cotton and woolen goods in all their branches, in the town 
of Claremont. The charter was signed by Franklin Pierce, speaker 
of the house ; Samuel Cartland, president of the senate, and Sam- 
uel Dinsmoor, governor. In 1844 the company was organized, the 
mill now known as Mill No. 1 was put up and partly finished, and 
tenement and boarding houses built. Machinery was not put into 
the mill, and the property was idle until 1844, when the whole was 
sold to Parker, Wilder & Parker, and others, of Boston, who com- 
pleted the mill and put in machinery for manufacturing cotton 
sheeting. Henry Russell was appointed agent, and took charge as 
superintendent of the mill. He was succeeded by Jonas Livingston 
in November, 1845. In 1846, by act of the legislature, the name 
of the company was changed to that of Monadnock Mills. 





'' "^a 











DANIEL W. JOHNSON. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMOST. 195 

In 1853 the company bought the grist and saw mill and cabinet 
on the north side of the river, on the Island, so called, in- 
creased its capital stock to two hundred thousand dollars, and 
erected Mill No. 2, equal in capacity to Mill No. 1. In 1856 the 
plant was further increased by the purchase of what was known as 
Sunapee Mill, at the north side of the river, which was operated as a 
cotton mill until 1864, when the cotton machinery was exchanged 
for that for making wool flannel, and was changed back again in 
1881. In 1859 the gas works, which have since supplied the mills 
and village with gas for illumination, were built. In 1866 the mo- 
tive power for operating these mills, derived from Sugar river, was 
supplemented by a two hundred and fifty horse power steam 
engine, the boiler for which heats the mills, and the engine fur- 
nishes power in times of low water. In 1871 the company put in 
looms and other machinery for the purpose, and began making 
Marseilles quilts. In 1874 a brick building between Mills No. 1 
and No. 2 was erected, to be used for bleaching and finishing the 
goods made. In 1892 a weaving mill one hundred and ninety-six 
by sixty-seven feet feet on the ground, three stories and basement, 
was built west of and in a line with the other two, and early in the 
following year was put in operation. 

The whole number of hands employed in these mills is 425, and 
the monthly pay-roll is $12,000. The annual product is one million 
pounds of cotton sheeting and Marseilles quilts. In 1863, after 
having had charge of these mills seventeen years, Jonas Livingston 
resigned, and was succeeded by Daniel W. Johnson, who occupied 
the position until his death, on April 29, 1894, and he was suc- 
ceeded by Frank P. Vogl, for many years clerk in the office, and 
paymaster. For fifty years this corporation has been an important 
factor in the growth and prosperity of Claremont, and a good in- 
vestment for its stockholders. 

SULLIVAN MACHINERY COMPANY. 

This company occupies the water-power from fall No. 3, thirteen 
feet, which was formerly owned by Roswell Elmer, who carried on 
a small iron foundry, making castings for plows, stoves, potash 



196 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

kettles, etc. Mr. Elmer was succeeded by George W. Emerson, it 
a similar kind of business, who in 1850 built a machine shop. In 
1851, D. A. Clay & Co., consisting of D. A. Clay, James P. Upham, 
and John S. Walker, leased the machine shop and started a general 
machine business. Subsequently James P. Upham purchased the 
water-power and real estate, including the foundry,of Mr. Emerson, 
made extensive additions to the buildings and facilities for doing 
business, which was continued for a few years by D. A. Clay & Co. 
In 1868 the Sullivan Machine Company was organized, and pur- 
chased this property, — J. P. Upham, president, R W. Love, treas- 
urer, and Albert Ball, superintendent. These gentlemen owned 
most of the stock of the company. Mr. Love subsequently sold 
his interest to Charles B. Rice, who took Mr. Love's place as treas- 
urer. Mr. Rice died May 26, 1891, and was succeeded by J. Dun- 
can Upham. Between 1888 and 1890, all the old buildings, fur- 
nace, machine shop, and office, mostly of wood, were replaced by 
handsome and substantial brick structures, as shown in the illus- 
tration. In April, 1892, the Sullivan Machinery Company, to 
succeed the Sullivan Machine Company and the Dimond Pros- 
pecting Company, of Chicago, 111., was organized, and the fol- 
lowing officers elected : President, Frederick K. Copeland, of Chi- 
cago ; vice-president, James P. Upham ; mechanical engineer, 
Albert Ball ; treasurer, J. Duncan Upham ; secretary, Thomas 
W. Fry, of Claremont. 

The business of the present company is the manufacture of 
diamond drills for the prospecting of mineral lands; quarrying 
machinery ; coal and other mining machinery ; paper roving cans 
for cotton mills ; corn crackers ; water wheels, etc. It takes con- 
tracts for prospecting mineral and coal lands, and operating its 
machinery in stone quarries and coal mines, in which branches, 
in ordinary business times, from fifty to a hundred men are em- 
ployed. The principal shops of the company are in Claremont, 
where, in the difierent departments, one hundred and twenty-five 
men are employed, and the pay-roll is about five thousand dol- 
lars per month. The principal selling office is in Chicago, while 




JAMES P. UPHAM. 




JOHN TYLER, 2D. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 197 

they have a salesroom in Denver, Col., and an office in New 
York city. The machinery and tools made by this company are 
sold to go to almost every quarter of the globe. 

Many of the machines and tools made, sold, and used by this 
company have been originated or perfected by Albert Ball, its 
mechanical engineer, who has also invented and patented many 
other machines — some of them quite complicated — for different 
purposes. 

SDGAK RIVER PAPER MILL COMPANY. 

This company was incorporated in 1866 — capital stock one 
hundred thousand dollars, mostly owned by citizens of Clare- 
mont — erected mills on fall No. 6, east side of the river, for 
the manufacture of print paper, and commenced business in 1868. 
The dam first erected was twenty-two feet high, and was after- 
ward raised three feet. The power derived from Sugar river is 
supplemented by two steam engines aggregating two hundred 
and twenty-five horse power, John Tyler, a large stockholder 
in the company, superintended the erection of the dam and mill. 
The officers since the organization of the company have been : 
John Tyler, president ; John L. Farwell, treasurer ; John T. Em- 
erson, agent. In 1884 they purchased of Reuben Shepardson, 
what has been known as the Lafayette privilege, on the " Gully," 
on the west side of the river, and tunneled through the rock of 
the island, formed by the main stream and this " Gully," two 
hundred and four feet, the tunnel being six feet square, taking 
the water that runs in the " Gully" into their pond, thus getting 
the use of all the water that runs in the river. The Lafayette 
privilege had the right to take from the river, above the dam 
on privilege No. 6, and down this gully, one half the water of the 
river, and return it to the main stream below the paper mill 
dam. By this arrangement this company obviate, to a consider- 
able extent, the use of steam to supplement their water power. 
In 1889 this company added to its plant the grist and saw mills, 
known as the Sugar River Mill property, next above on the 



198 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

stream. The paper mill was built for a two ton mill, but by 
improvements in machinery, methods of manufacturing, and keep- 
ing pace with the times, its average production now is nine tons of 
fine book and news paper per day. It may be said that this is 
the first manufacturing corporation in Claremont that has con- 
tinued with substantially the same stockholders, under the same 
management, and with a good degree of success from its start. 

THE CLAREMONT MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

This company was chartered by the N'ew Hampshire legislature 
in 1832, with an authorized capital of one hundred thousand dol- 
lars. It was the first company for manufacturing purposes organ- 
ized in Claremont. The largest stockholders were Austin Tyler, 
Timothy S. Gleason, William Rossiter, and Timothy Eastman. 
The plant was located on the south side of the river, at fall No. 
4. The walls of the factory building and a large two-story ten- 
ement house are of stone, quarried within a few rods of their 
location. The business contemplated was the manufacture of 
cotton and woolen goods and printing and writing papers. In 
December, 1834, Simeon Ide, then a bookseller, printer, and pub- 
lisher of a weekly paper at Windsor, Vt., sold to the Claremont 
Manufacturing Company his entire stock of books and the print- 
ing establishment, taking his pay in the stock of the company, and 
came to Claremont and took the agency and general management 
of the concern, which he continued until 1858, and was succeeded 
by his brother-in-law, Edward L. Goddard, Mr. Ide sold his stock 
to his two sons, George G. and Lemuel N. Ide. Mr. Goddard con- 
tinued as agent until 1867, when George G. Ide succeeded to the 
place, and continued in it until his death, in 1883, and he was suc- 
ceeded by his brother, Lemuel K Ide. The business was contin- 
ued until 1880, when the paper-mill building and machinery were 
destroyed by fire, and the building has not been replaced. The 
printing and book making was continued until 1886, when the busi- 
ness was discontinued. The factory building and water-power 
were sold to Messrs Maynard & Washburn, and the houses and 




:iMEON IDE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 199 

other buildings to other parties. The factory building has since 
been occupied by John H. Parke for a shoeshop, and by an 
electric plant. For many years the Claremont Manufacturing 
Company employed from fifty to eighty hands. 

SLIPPER SHOP. 

In February, 1887, John H. Parke, of Lynn, Mass., began 
manufacturing a high grade of men's slippers in the building 
formerly occupied by the Claremont Manufacturing Company for 
printing and binding books. Subsequently shoes and women's 
boots were added to the products of this establishment. From 
sixty to seventy-five hands are employed, and the pay-roll is about 
$2,500 per month. 

SUGAR RIVER MILLS COMPANY. 

The mills of this company are at fall No. 5, on the east side of 
the river. From the Upper Bridge, or fall No. 1, Sugar river runs 
nearly due west, but between the Claremont Manufacturing Com- 
pany's privilege and the next one below it, the river turns and 
runs nearly due south ; hence the reader will understand why a 
part of the privileges named are said to be on the south and a part 
on the north side of the river, and so of those named as being on 
its north and west side. This fall No. 5 has been known for sev- 
eral generations as the old " Tyler Mills " privilege. Benjamin 
Tyler, before referred to, one of the first settlers of the town, once 
owned all the water-power from fall No. 1 to No. 9, both inclusive. 
He erected the first grist and saw mills in town, at the west part, in 
1768, and the old " Tyler Mills " on this privilege in 1785. He 
gave the latter to his son Ephraim on his coming of age, who 
continued to own them until 1836, when a company, consisting of 
three gentlemen of Keene and three of Claremont, bought the 
mills and mill yard and appurtenances with the avowed intention 
of removing the buildings, which were very old and dilapidated, 
and putting in their place suitable buildings for a first-class calico- 
printing establishment. In the spring of 1837 they commenced 



200 HISTORY OF GLAREMONT. 

their preparations for building, but before they had proceeded far 
the financial panic struck the country, and the project was aban- 
doned. The old mills remained standing, and were rented to 
Mr. Tyler, their former owner, and, by his administrator, to 
Lewis W. Randall and others until 1854, when the property was 
purchased by E. W. Sanborn of Boston, and Abner Stowell, 
Aaron Dutton, Edward Brown, and George Hart of this town. 
In 1855 they erected the large three-story brick building for a 
gristmill, and the sawmill adjoining, now standing and in active 
operation. They put into the grist mill eight run of stone, four 
flouring-bolts, and, to propel them, eleven Tyler turbine water 
wheels. The work was done under the superintendence of John 
Tyler, then of West Lebanon, but now of this town, patentee 
and manufacturer of the Tyler turbine water wheel. This mill 
was designed for custom grinding and to manufacture flour from, 
western wheat, and it was said to be capable of making ten 
thousand barrels of flour per annum. These mills have been 
leased to various parties since they were built. In 1889, the 
Sugar River Paper Company bought the property and it has 
since been leased by H. "W. Frost. 

THE HOME jyULL. 

The three-story brick building now standing at fall No. 4, 
north side of the river, was erected by the Claremont Manufac- 
turing Company in 1836, with the intention of using it for mak- 
ing fine writing papers. The times did not favor the comple. 
tion of the project, and the building was only so far finished as 
to protect the walls with roof and windows, until 1849, when a 
few of the stockholders of the Claremont Manufacturing Com- 
pany bought it, together with one half of the water-power, fitted 
it up Tvith machinery for manufacturing cotton cloth, and sold 
the whole to George D. Dutton of Boston. In 1852 Mr. Dutton 
sold a part interest to Arnold Briggs, a practical cotton manu- 
facturer, of Woonsocket, R. I., and under the firm style of Ar- 
nold Briggs & Co., the business of manufacturing cotton goods 



HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 201 

was carried on until 1875, when, by reason of there being but a 
limited demand for the goods made by this firm, the business was 
stopped. In 1876 Mr. Briggs died, subsequent to which the inter- 
est of Mr. Briggs's estate in the mill was purchased by Pierce, 
Harding & Co., of Boston, who ran it but a few months. In 1883, 
Messrs. Maynard and Washburn, gentlemen from Massachusetts, 
purchased the property, repaired the buildings, put in machinery 
for the purpose, and have since been manufacturing shoes there. 

THE EMERSON-HEYWARD PRIVILEGE, 

On fall 'No. 7, south side — the river has taken another turn and 
runs westerly — about 1842, George W. Emerson put up a one- 
story brick building, carried on the furnace business for a few 
years, when it passed into the hands of Simeon Heyward, who did 
some furnace work, made horse and hand rakes, and various other 
farm implements. The building was destroyed by fire in 1866, 
and the dam connected with it, by flood soon afterward, since 
which no use has been made of this privilege. It is now owned 
by George L. Balcom. 

THE SULLIVAN MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

This company's mills are located on fall No. 8, south side of the 
river. It was chartered about 1833 for manufacturing woolen 
goods, and its buildings erected the next year. The machinery, as 
before stated, was taken from the Claremont Manufacturing Com- 
pany's mill, and they commenced the manufacture of satinets. In 
1836, Ormond Button, of Keene, was appointed agent of the com- 
pany, and continued as such about three years. Buring the hard 
times, from 1836 to 1840, goods did not sell readily ; a large stock 
was accumulated, which was sold for less than it cost to produce it, 
and the mill was closed. Its capital, fifty thousand dollars, was 
exhausted, and. the company settled with its creditors in the best 
way it could. In 1844, Thomas Sanford and William Rossiter got 
possession of the real estate and some of the machinery, and manu- 
factured satinets and cassimeres until 1857, when the entire prop- 



202 HISTORY OF GLAREMONT. 

erty was purchased by George L. Balcom, who has manufactured 
woolen goods there ever since, runniDg three sets of machinery. 
During the late war Mr. Balcom was very successful, and one year, 
under the United States internal revenue law, he paid the largest 
income tax of any man in New Hampshire. He is now making 
fancy union cassimeres. 

THE OLD KNIFE-FACTORY PRIVILEGE. 

This privilege is on the north side of the river, on fall N"o. 8. 
The large three-story wooden building on this privilege was erected 
in 1836-37, by Dr. John S. Spaulding, but for what purpose it was 
to be used is not known. It stood empty, its inside but partially 
finished, until 1853, when Thomas Sanford, William Rossiter, and 
some other gentlemen formed a company and manufactured table 
cutlery there for about five years, when the business was aban- 
doned. In 1866, the " Claremont Linen Company " put in ma- 
chinery for making linen toweling from the raw material, by a new 
process, but this was not a success, and, after two or three years of 
experiment, this business was closed up, and the mill was unused 
until 1877, when Herbert Bailey, of Enfield, this state, bought the 
property and enlarged, repaired, fitted the buildings, and put in 
machinery for manufacturing knit goods, employing about forty 
hands and turning out goods to the amount of one hundred thou- 
sand dollars annually. This mill has not been in operation since 
1892. 

THE LOWER FALLS COMPANY. 

In 1836 this company, composed of gentlemen from out of 
town, bought a small farm of Jonathan Read, located below fall 
No. 8, with the design of making a ninth fall of about twelve 
feet, by taking the water from the river by a canal. The canal 
was dug, a good foundation for a large factory building put in 
and building materials got upon the ground, when, in view of 
the threatened hard times for manufacturers, the enterprise 
stopped, the building materials were disposed of, and the ninth 
privilege has never been utilized. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 203 

In 1832, Nicholas Farwell equipped a mill located on the west 
side of the river, just above the Sugar River Paper Mill dam, 
with machinery, and manufactured cotton cloth in it until it was 
destroyed by fire, March 13, 1841. This was the first cotton mill 
in town. 

THE LAFAYETTE PRIVU-EGE. 

On the west side of the river, at fall No. 7, on the " Gully," 
is what was known as the Lafayette privilege. In 1828 Arad 
Taylor bought this privilege of Bill Barnes. In 1836 the prop- 
erty was put on the market in thirty-two shares, of one hun- 
dred dollars each, which were soon taken, but it was not im- 
proved until 1844, when Chester Dunklee bought most of the 
shares and erected upon the privilege a two-story wood build- 
ing, which was occupied by Mr. Dunklee and Simeon Ide for 
sawing slate stone, and J. G. Briggs for making furniture, until 
1866, when Reuben Shepardson bought it, made extensive im- 
provements, and rented and used it for various manufacturing 
purposes until the fall of 1884, when he sold it to the Sugar 
River Paper Mill Company, as before stated. 

THE OLD MEACHAM FACTORY 

Was on fall No. 5, opposite the Tyler mills, and this factory is 
said to have been the first one built in Sullivan county for the 
manufacture of woolen goods. It was built in 1813, by Asa 
Meacham. It was a two-story wood building, and was occupied 
successively by Asa Meacham, Asa Meacham, Jr., "Woodman & 
Rockwell, Wilson & Earl, and William Earl, all of whom manu- 
factured woolen goods, until the spring of 1854, when the main 
building was destroyed by fire. The following year Simeon Ide 
bought the property. A small shop and storehouse escaped the 
fire; the first he fitted up with water power and rented it for 
various mechanical purposes, while he converted the other into 
a dwelling-house to rent. In 1859 Mr. Ide erected, on the site 
of the old factory building, a round brick structure, two stories 
high, and fitted it up with machinery, printing presses, etc., for 



204 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the making of books on contract for city publishers. The break- 
ing out of the war in 1861, and other unforeseen events, ope- 
rated against this enterprise, and the building was rented for 
different mechanical purposes. It was purchased by Reuben 
Shepardson in 1883. What was the shop was purchased by Ira 
Proctor and occupied by him as a sash, blind, and door factory 
until about 1873, when it was destroyed by fire. The site is 
now occupied by the Freeman & O'Keil Manufacturing Com- 
pany's buildings. 

FREEMAN & O^NEIL MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

In 1874 Messrs. Charles K Freeman and David W. O'E'eil 
purchased the site of the Ira Proctor shop, erected large wooden 
buildings, and fitted them up with the most approved machinery- 
for manufacturing stair builders' supplies and fine house and of- 
fice finish, using expensive foreign and domestic woods. They 
employed about forty men, until December, 1882, when their main 
building, stock, and machinery, valued at about twenty-five thou- 
sand dollars, were destroyed by fire. They immediately com- 
menced the erection of new buildings, which were completed and 
ready for occupancy in August, 1883. In April, 1892, this concern 
was made a stock company, with a capital of fifty thousand dol- 
lars, under the style of the Freeman & O'Neil Manufacturing Com- 
pany. The officers were George C. Currier, of New York City, 
president; Paschal P. Coburn, of Claremont, treasurer. They em- 
ploy from one hundred to one hundred and twenty-five hands — 
most of them skilled workmen — and their pay-roll is about one 
thousand dollars per week. 

THE MAYNARD & WASHBURN SHOE FACTORY. 

In the summer of 1883, Messrs. Frank P. Maynard and Charles- 
N. Washburn came from Massachusetts and bought the Home Mill 
property, on fall No. 4, north side of the river, fitted up the build- 
ings, put in machinery, and in November of that year commenced 
the manufacture of shoes, employing about fifty hands. The busi- 




FRANK P. MAYNARD. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT, 205 

ness was increased gradually until 1888, when the firm made exten- 
sive additions to their factory, and later made further additions. 
In 1893 they employed two hundred and twenty-j&ve hands, turned 
out eighteen hundred pairs of medium grade men's, boys', and 
youths' shoes per day, and their pay-roll was about $7,000 per 
month. In January, 1887, this firm bought the Claremont Manu- 
facturing Company buildings and water-power, on the south side 
of the river, made repairs and improvements upon the property, 
and leased a part of the buildings and water-power to John H. 
Parke, for a slipper factory. An electric light company was organ 
ized in IS'ovember of that year, and an electric apparatus was 
placed in the building, which had been occupied for many years as 
a paper mill. In April, 1893, Mr. Washburn sold his interest in 
the business to Mr. Maynard, but the style of the establishment 
has been continued. 

THE EASTMAN TANNERY. 

In 1811, Timothy Eastman established a tannery on fall No. 4, 
north side of the river, continued the business there until his death, 
in 1859, and was succeeded by his son, Charles H. Eastman. On 
January 22, 1871, the old buildings were burned and new and 
larger ones were erected on their site. Charles H. Eastman con- 
tinued the business until his death, in 1879, since which the prop- 
erty has been unused. The real estate is now owned by the widow 
of Charles H. Eastman, the buildings having been burned. 

CARPET FACTORY. 

Between fall 'No. 9 and the confluence of Sugar river with the Con- 
necticut it is claimed that the former river falls about two hundred 
and fifty feet. On the north side of Sugar river, a mile or so below 
fall No. 9, in 1852, Henry Eussell and Dr. F. T. Kidder built a 
dam twenty feet high, erected a large one-storj' brick mill, put into 
it machinery for the purpose, and manufactured tapestry carpets 
there for a few months, when the business ceased and dam and 
buildings have disappeared. 



206 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

At West Claremont, Sugar river furnishes excellent water power. 
The fall there is about nineteen feet. On the south side of the 
river, at this fall, Dr. Leonard Jarvis erected a two-story wood 
building, and in it manufactured broadcloth for about fifteen years. 
After his death, which occurred in 1848, this property passed into 
the hands of his son, Russell Jarvis, who died on the twenth-fourth 
of February, 1888. The broadcloth factory was converted into a pa- 
per mill about 1853, and was operated by Fiske & Burpee, the Clare- 
mont Manufacturing Company, 'N. Whitney, J. Pierce & Co., and 
its owner until his death, making hanging and some other kinds of 
paper. Russell Jarvis was succeeded in the paper making business 
by his oldest son, Russell. The mill was burned May 12, 1890 ; 
was replaced by a substantial brick building which was com- 
pleted and ready for operation in April, 1892. It makes about 
thirty hundred pounds of tissue manilla paper per day, and is called 
the Jarvis Paper Mill. 

Between 1830 and 1850 Ilock Hills had a mill just below the 
Coy paper mill, where he sawed out marble and slate stone. 

Just below Ilock Hills's stone mill was a tannery and a shop 
where J. H. Cross & Co. tanned deer skins and made them into 
gloves and mittens. This business was discontinued soon after 
1850. 

THE S. T. COY PAPER COMPANY. 

On the same privilege, and drawing water from the same pond, 
but on the north side of the river, is a large, well-appointed paper 
mill, owned and operated by the S. T. Coy Paper Company. This 
mill has been built within the last ten years, on the site occupied 
fifty years ago, more or less, by Leonard and Hiram Oilmore, 
brothers, for a blacksmith forge and trip-hammer shop, where they 
made axes and other edge tools, carried on a general blacksmithing 
business, and made heavy mill irons for many years. Subse- 
quently on this same spot was a paper mill where straw wrapping 
paper was made, owned and operated successively by Daniel F. 
Maynard and John S. Farrington. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 207 

BENJAMIN TYLER'S SMELTING AND IRON WORKS. 

Between 1770 and 1780, Benjamin Tyler, having bought a con- 
siderable tract of land on the north side of Sugar river, put a 
dam across that stream, near where the Sullivan County Railroad's 
high bridge now is, built a shop in which he had a forge, trip-ham- 
mer, and smelting works, and made heavy mill irons, and other 
articles from the ore. Here he did a large business in this line 
for those days, employing twenty to thirty men for more than 
twenty years. The iron ore used was brought from a bed three 
or four miles north of Charlestown village, and the lime from 
Weathersfield, Vt. This property finally passed into the hands of 
Mr. Tyler's son-in-law, John Strobridge. 

THE GILMORE EDGE TOOL WORKS. 

In 1826 Leonard and Hiram Gilmore, sous of Hon. Gawin 
Gilmore, came from Acworth and established themselves in the 
business of making axes, scythes, and other edge tools, in a shop 
on the north side of the river, on or near the spot where the 
S. T. Coy paper mill now stands. It was the only shop of its 
kind in the vicinity, and they did a large business until 1841, soon 
after which it was abandoned. 

FLAX MILL. 

In 1800 Benjamin Tyler put in operation, at or near the site of 
the Jarvis paper mill, what was known as the Flax Mill, the pur- 
pose of which was to prepare flax for the old hand spinning wheels. 

A short distance above the Bussell and Kidder dam, many 
years ago, was another dam across Sugar river, and on a canal cut 
across a point of land, on the north side of the river, stood a saw- 
mill, said to have been owned by a Mr. Billings. 

In 1840 Alexander Graham carried on brick making on his farm, 
south side of Sugar river, just above the site of the Russell and 
Kidder carpet-mill dam. This yard was being worked about 1850, 
and the bricks for that mill, which was called Aseutney Mills, were 



208 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

made there. They were loaded on to a scow or flat boat, floated to 
near the Red Water brook bridge, and then carried by team to 
where they were to be used. In 1891 and 1892 Marshall Harlow 
made bricks there. 

Sixty to seventy years ago quite a business was done in char- 
coal burning in the northwest part of the town. Solon C. Gran- 
nis, Samuel Carlton, and the Gilmore brothers had kilns. 

About 1812 Timothy Grannis built a sawmill on Red Water 
brook, between the highway to Windsor and the place where 
Daniel 'N. Bowker now lives, which was afterward owned and 
operated by John Pressey. It disappeared many years ago. 

THE GRANNIS LUMBER MILL. 

In 1883 Homer E. Grannis built a dam and mill for manufac- 
turing building lumber, on Red Water brook, about two miles 
above where the brook crosses the highway to Windsor, Here, by 
reason of the large fall, he has ample power except in very dry 
times. 

SHOE MANUFACTURING. 

Nicholas Farwell came to town in 1803, and had a small shoe- 
maker's shop on Town hill, just north of the Michael Lovell home- 
stead farm, now owned by Dr. O. B. Way. In 1813 he moved to 
the village and began, on a small scale, to manufacture women's 
sale shoes by hand, in the honest old fashioned way, doing much of 
the work himself These shoes he sold to country merchants. At 
iirst it was hard to convince them that any shoe not made to 
measure by the home shoemaker was worth having, or that they 
could be sold to any considerable extent. But Mr. Farwell war- 
ranted his work to be as represented, and before long a demand 
was created for it. His way was to carry out, sell, and deliver his 
shoes himself His best market was found on the west side of. 
Green mountain in Vermont. In one of his early trips he went to 
Yergennes and oftered his goods to the merchants there, who each 
and all turned a cold shoulder to him and declined to buy or look 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 209 

at his goods, saying there was no demand for them in that vicinity. 
Mr. Farwell was not the man to be discouraged or beaten in what 
he undertook. His reply was " I will create a demand for my 
shoes." He drew his wagon up in front of the principal tavern, got 
out his shoes and began to exhibit them to the crowd of people who 
had gathered to see what he had to sell. He said he only wished 
to show his shoes but did not care to sell them. He explained their 
quality, told where they were made, and said he warranted every 
pair of shoes that bore his mark. They were so much more stylish 
and handsome than home-made work, and appeared so good that 
people began to call for them. The next time Mr. Farwell went to 
Vergennes those same merchants who had treated him so coldly 
were only too ready to buy his shoes, and for many years afterwards 
ladies in that section wanted no other than Farwell's Claremont 
shoe. The business increased rapidly until more than a hundred 
hands, in and out of the shop, were employed. The shop was on 
Broad street, corner of what was Scrap alley, now Pine street. Just 
south of this Mr. Farwell opened a general store to supply his help 
with necessaries. 

In 1827 Mr. Farwell took his two oldest sons, George K and 
"William H., into partnership. After a year or two the senior 
member of the firm retired, William H. took the store, and George 
N. continued the shoe business. He erected the two-story brick 
building, corner of Broad and Pine streets, which was subse- 
quently converted into a dwelling-house and is now owned and 
occupied by Mrs. William Clark, and took Lewis Perry into 
partnership. In 1851 Kussell W. Farwell, a brother of George 
N., also became a partner, and the firm was styled G. IST. Farwell, 
Perry & Co. In 1852 Mr. Perry sold his interest to his partners, 
and the firm name was changed to G. N. Farwell & Co., and 
so continued until 1858, when Russell W. bought his brother's 
interest and became sole proprietor, soon after which the business 
was removed to the old Claremont bank building, on the east 
side of Broad street. In 1865 Edward J. Tenney became a partner 
with Russell W. Farwell, and the business was carried on by 



210 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Farwell & Tenney there and in the building south side of the 
upper bridge until 1871, when they divided the stock, machinery, 
and tools, and Mr. Farwell went on alone, and with one or more 
partners for a few years, and then removed to Rutland, Yt. 

Mr. Tenney formed a copartnership with Augustus Barrett 
and they carried on about the same kind of business in a build- 
ing corner of School and Oak streets, until 1877, when Mr. Bar- 
rett sold his interest to his son, George A., and he and Mr, 
Tenney continued until 1881, when George A. Barrett bought 
Mr. Tenney's interest, carried on the business alone for four or 
five years, and then it was abandoned. 

In May, 1846, William T. Koyes came from Newport to Clare- 
mont and opened a shoe store in Gleason's brick building, cor- 
ner of Broad and Tremont streets, and manufactured by hand 
women's shoes for his own retail trade. In the following Sep- 
tember, his brother, Silas E. Noyes, came, took the business and 
continued to make the same kind of shoes, in the same way, 
to supply his retail trade, and some in a small way, to sell at 
wholesale. He gradually increased his business of manufactur- 
ing until 1855, when he made from forty to sixty pairs of 
women's shoes per day, employing from eight to ten hands. In 
1865 he bought the first Gordon McKay machine, for stitch- 
ing on soles, that was brought into town, and with the help of 
this and other machinery, increased his production, and em- 
ployed twenty men and ten women in his business. Shoe manu- 
facturing changed by the introduction of machines for making 
every part of a shoe and putting it together, got into large es- 
tablishments where a great amount of capital was required to 
carry it on successfully, so that small shops could not compete 
with the large ones, and Mr. Noyes, as did all the other shoe- 
makers then in town, gradually abandoned the business. 

INDUSTRIES. 

In 1836 Ebenezer E. Bailey bought a small piece of land, at 
the junction of Sullivan and Main streets, of Paran Stevens, and 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 211 

erected upon it a two-story brick building. For several years 
previous Mr. Bailey had been engaged in manufacturing silver 
spoons and spectacles, at West Unity, which were mostly sold 
by peddlers going about on foot, carrying tin trunks. When 
this building was completed he removed his business to Clare- 
mont. Later he bought at sheriff's sale the house and lot ad- 
joining on the west and made an addition of fifteen feet to his 
building, which is now the Fiske Free Library building. He 
took his brother, Samuel C, into partnership, and they carried 
on the silversmith and jewelry business quite extensively, under 
the firm name of E. E. & S. C. Bailey, for twenty-five years, 
when the business of manufacturing was practically given up. 
Ebenezer E. Bailey fell from an elm tree, on Washington street, 
in the summer of 1862, and was instantly killed. Samuel C. 
Bailey removed to Missouri in 1873, where he now lives. 

About 1857 Josiah W. Deane commenced the manufacture of 
cigars, in Perry's block. In 1860 Edward J. Tenney became a 
partner, and they carried on quite an extensive business in mak- 
ing cigars, employing fifteen hands, and as wholesale dealers in 
manufactured tobacco, under the firm name of J. W. Deane & 
Co., until 1865, when Mr. Tenney sold his interest, and was 
succeeded by Henry C. Deane, a brother of Josiah W., who sub- 
sequently became sole proprietor, continued the business a few 
years, and then removed to Ogdensburg, N. Y. 

CLAREMONT CREAMERY. 

The Claremont Creamery Association was organized under the 
voluntary corporation act, March .6, 1889, with a capital of $3,000. 
Erastus B. Bailey was chosen president, Dudley T. Chase, clerk, 
and Edwin B. Heywood, business manager. Land was bought 
of Reuben B. Ellis, on Washington street, buildings erected and 
the first butter was made in June of that year. In April, 1891 
the capital stock was increased to $4,000, which is in shares of 
$50 each, and is largely owned by patrons of the creamery 
The total receipts for 1891 were $25,495 ,^ paid for cream, $20,886 ; 



^^^ HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

butter made in 1892, over one hundred thousand pounds, of su- 
perior quality. Officers for 1893, Reuben B. Ellis, president; 
Wilham B. Ellis, treasurer; Charles B. Spofford, clerk; Reuben 
B. Elhs, Geo. F. Long, George F. Scott, and Ora D. Blanchard, 
directors. ' 



MILITARY 



CHAPTER XV. 

REVOLUTIONARY WAR. 
STAMP ACT. 

In 1764 an act of Parliament was passed for raising a revenue 
by a general stamp duty through all the American colonies, 
which the colonists regarded as an assumption of power by Eng- 
land and oppression to her subjects in America. The stamped 
paper was prepared in England, brought over in bales, and Ameri- 
can citizens appointed to distribute it. The act was so framed 
that it was claimed it would execute itself, as no writing could 
be deemed legal without the stamp, and every newspaper and 
other publication must bear them. To this oppressive act there 
was a spirit of resistance manifested all over the country. 

SONS OF LIBERTY. 

The House of Burgesses in Virginia passed some strong and 
spirited resolutions, asserting the rights of the country. The 
Assembly of Massachusetts proposed a Congress of Deputies from 
each Colony, to consult upon our common interests in the mat- 
ter, as had been practiced in times of common danger. Several 
speeches were made, in one of which the Americans were styled 
" Sons of Liberty." The actions of Virginia and Massachusetts 
were generally approved by the colonists, and according to Dr. 
Belknap's History of New Hampshire, the title of " Sons of Lib- 
erty " was eagerly adopted by associations in every colony. The 
spirit of opposition to the stamp act was first manifested in Boston 
by publicly exhibiting efiigies of the enemies of America, and 



216 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

obliging the officer appointed to distribute the stamped paper to 
resign his employment. This spirit of opposition extended and 
animated the mass of the people in every colony. George Meserve, 
of Portsmouth, being in England, was appointed to distribute the 
stamps in I^ew Hampshire, and embarked for America. Before he 
landed he was informed of the opposition to the act, and that it 
would be agreeable to the people if he would resign, which he un- 
hesitatingly did, and was heartily welcomed on shore. On his arrival 
at Portsmouth he made a second resignation before he went to his 
own house. Soon after this the stamped paper designed for Massa- 
chusetts and New Hampslq^re arrived in Boston, but there being no 
one in either province who was authorized to receive it or had any 
concern with it, the governor of Massachusetts ordered it lodged 
in the castle. 

The stamp act was to go into efiect on the first day of November, 
previous to which the appointed congress, consisting of delegates 
from Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New 
Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, and South Carolina, 
was formed in New York. This congress framed a bill of rights 
for the colonies, in which the sole power of taxation was declared 
to be in their own assemblies. They prepared three distinct ad- 
dresses to the King, Lords, and Commons, stating their grievances 
and asking for redress. These were signed by the delegates of six 
colonies; the others present were not empowered to sign, but their 
constituents subsequently approved the proceedings in assembly 
and forwarded their petitions. No delegate went from New Hamp- 
shire to this congress, but the assembly at their next meeting 
adopted the same measures and sent similar petitions to England. 

It was doubtful whether the courts of law could do business 
without these stamps; but public sentiment was more powerful 
than the act of Parliament, and business was transacted by the 
courts, and newspapers and pamphlets opposing the act were issued, 
without bearing the offensive stamp. The courts of law and cus. 
tom-houses were kept open, and licenses for marriage, without 
stamps, were publicly advertised. Dr. Belknap, in his history, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 217 

said: "As it was uncertain what might be the event of the peti- 
tions to the King and Parliament, it was thought best to awaken 
the attention of the merchants and manufacturers of England, by an 
agreement to import no goods until the stamp act should be re- 
pealed. To provide for the worst, an association was formed by 
the ' Sons of Liberty ' in all the northern colonies, to stand by each 
other, and unite their whole force for the protection and relief of 
any who might be in danger, from the operation of this or any 
other oppressive act." " The petitions of the American assem- 
blies, enforced by the agreement for non-importation, and aided by 
the exertions of the British merchants and manufacturers, induced 
the new ministry to recommend to Parliament a repeal of the 
odious stamp act. It was accordingly repealed, not on the true 
principle of its repugnancy to the rights of America, but on that 
of political expediency." 



In 1767, a new act of Parliament, laying duties on paper, 
glass, painters' colors, and tea, and establishing a board of com- 
missioners for collecting the American revenue, was passed. 
According to Dr. Belknap, "In the other colonies, particularly 
in Massachusetts, these duties had become a subject of alterca- 
tion and serious alarm, being grounded on the right which the 
Parliament had assumed of binding America in all cases whatso- 
ever." The merchants in most of the colonies united in adopt- 
ing a non-importation agreement, which so affected the manu- 
facturers of Great Britain that they exerted their influence for 
the repeal of this revenue law, and all the duties, except that on 
tea, were taken off. This did not satisfy the Americans. The 
controversy between England and the colonies seemed to be ap- 
proaching a crisis. By the reservation of the duty on tea, the 
Parliament insisted on it as their right to tax their American 
brethren without their consent, to which the latter could not be 
brought to agree, and they opposed the claim by refusing to 
purchase or use the tea brought here on such conditions. Dr. 
Belknap says : " The revenue failed and the warehouses of the 



218 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

East India Company were filled with an unsalable commodity. 
The ministry and the company thus severely disappointed, formed 
a plan by which it was expected that the one would enforce 
its claim and the other secure its traffic. It was therefore 
enacted by Parliament that the duty on the exportation of tea 
from Britian should be taken off, and the East India Company 
be enabled to send tea, on their own account to America, sub- 
ject to a duty of only three pence on the pound, by which 
means it would come to us cheaper than before, or than it could 
be procured by illicit trade." 

This attempt to accomplish by indirection what England did 
not think it wise or safe to insist upon directly, so incensed the 
Americans that the principal trading towns passed resolutions 
not to permit tea freighted by the East India Company to be 
landed or sold; and in many instances it was returned unladen, 
while in others it was stored until it could be re-shipped. In 
Boston a large cargo was thrown into the sea and destroyed, by 
citizens in disguise. In New Hampshire, by the wise course of 
Oovernor Wentworth, assisted by citizens, the hateful commodity 
was sent away without damage and but little tumult. 

A general distrust and detestation of the measures of the Brit- 
ish ministry prevailed in the colonies in 1774, and the towns 
severally passed resolutions in which they asserted their right to 
exemption from taxation by Parliament; condemning the impor- 
tation and use of tea and appointing committees to carry their 
resolutions into effect. The committees were vigilant and were 
efficiently aided by the almost universal sentiment of the people. 

The Parliament assumed judicial as well as legislative powers 
over America, but the people were not to be frightened or co- 
erced, and were united in their determination to resist the op- 
pressive acts of the British Parliament, and further encroach- 
ments upon the sacred rights of liberty, and also to demand and 
regain, if in their power, the enjoyment of those privileges 
which had been taken away. 

In 1775 it was the general belief that by reason of the op- 
pressive acts of the British Parliament, war with the mother 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 219 

country was inevitable. Much the greater part of the people of 
Clareraont were in favor of open hostility with England, while some 
regretted the existence of the difficulty, and a few avowed them- 
selves firm royalists, labored to furnish aid and comfort in vari- 
ous ways to the King and his army, and were denominated Tories. 

In Claremont the two latter classes were more numerous than 
in most towns in New Hampshire, of the same, or nearly equal, 
population. The town was comparatively new, and many of the 
settlers were either recently from England or the sons of English- 
men, and their attachment to the old country would naturally 
be stronger than that of those who could then behold in their 
midst the graves of their ancestors covered with the turf of a 
century. Many regarded violent resistance as dangerous and felt 
that it probably would be unavailing. Still, the spirit of resist- 
ance against the tyranny of England was popular, and the neu- 
trals and Tories were greatly in the minority. About this time 
many families, some of whose descendants are now inhabitants 
of this town, disgusted with the opposition of the Whigs, re- 
moved to a large township in Canada, called Shipton, in which is 
now a parish or borough bearing the name of Claremont. Thither 
also many who remained here during the war resorted after its 
close. Many also removed to New York state, keeping them- 
selves under the protection of the British until the war was 
ended, soon after which most of them returned to Claremont. 

Among those who left about this time was Col. Benjamin Sumner, 
who took up his residence on Long Island, He was suspected of 
being on friendly terms with the British, but so far as is known no 
act of disloyalty was ever proved against him. He occasionally 
made short visits to the town, when on his journeys to and from 
Canada, carefully avoiding any contact with his former townsmen, 
excepting certain known and well-tried friends. Several attempts 
were made by the Committee of Safety and other active Whigs to 
arrest him when on his flying visits, but without success. One 
William McCoy, a noted Tory, was believed to be his confidential 
friend and adviser. So artful and shrewd was McCoy in this 



220 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

sort of sly diplomacy, that it was impossible to fasten upon him 
any act of a treasonable nature, although the effort was often made 
to do so. After the close of the war Colonel Sumner returned to 
town, was several times elected one of the selectmen and to other 
of&ces of honor and trust, and in 1793 and 1794 was a representa- 
tive in the "New Hampshire legislature. 

Among others who left town about this time were Capt Ben- 
jamin Brooks, one Spencer, several by the names of Leat and Nut- 
ting, and John Brooks, son of Capt. Benjamin Brooks. John 
Brooks actually joined the British army, and served during the war. 
His farm and all his property in town was confiscated and sold ; but, 
after the close of the war and the treaty with Great Britain, his 
property, or the value of it, was restored to him. Ko favor was 
shown to the Tories, or those suspected as such, by the mass of the 
people. Public indignation was aroused to so great an extent that 
Tories and suspected persons were continually in imminent danger 
of the loss of liberty, and even life itself, without the formality of 
legal proceedings. 

A small company of resolute and determined Whigs, among 
whom were Timothy Atkins and two or three of his brothers — all 
young men of unusual size and remarkable strength and activity — 
associated themselves together, and resolved to rid the town of all 
Tories. These men solemnly promised to give each other immedi- 
ate information if a Tory was discovered to be lurking about, and 
to pursue him instantly ; and if capture were impossible, to shoot 
him, if that could be done. In the neighborhood of such men 
there could be but little repose or security for the enemies of free- 
dom. Summer was the season when the secret agents of the Brit- 
ish were scouring the remote parts of the country, picking up, 
here and there, whatever information they could find respecting 
the condition and movements of the people, and carefully noting 
everything which they judged important to the interests of their 
employers. Scattered along the route from New York to 
Canada were certain places of rendezvous, where any one of them 
on his mission might be safely concealed and find ready means of 



HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 221 

communication with his confederates in the neighborhood. About 
fifty rods below what is known as the Rich place, on the right hand 
side of the road as you go toward Red Water brook, is a place 
famous in Revolutionary times as a favorite resort for Tories. It 
has since been known as " Tory Hole." So perfectly adapted was 
this spot to the purposes and wants of its occupants that for a 
long time they assembled there without exciting the least suspi- 
cion among the active and vigilant Whigs, 

Inaccessible on three sides by a swamp covered with a thick 
growth of alders, and protected, on its fourth side, by a steep bank 
about thirty feet high, it was, notwithstanding, easily approached 
by those who were familiar with the ground. The side of the 
precipice toward the retreat was nearly circular in form, and was 
intersected by a deep ravine, which afforded means of access from 
one direction. Another way began a little below the Rich place, 
and wound along the foot of the bank. The surface of the ground, 
including the spot, was irregular and slightly elevated. A few 
yards distant was a cool, bubbling spring of water. The Tories in 
the neighborhood were accustomed to convey thither provisions 
and whatever else might be needed by the transient visitors to the 
place. This led to the discovery of the retreat. One night, in the 
autumn of 1780, a man, with a huge pack on his shoulders, was 
seen passing along the road by the Rich place. His singular move- 
ments attracted attention, and he was closely watched. Turning 
into the woods a short distance from the house of Mr, Rich, he was 
instantly out of sight. 

Information of the fact was quickly communicated, and soon 
many persons were collected at the spot. The grounds were care- 
fully reconnoitered, and the secret was discovered. As the night 
was very dark, further search was postponed until the next morn- 
ing. A watch was posted by the path, with instructions to seize 
or shoot any one who should attempt to pass. Before sunrise a 
party assembled and renewed the search. As they approached the 
rendezvous, two men suddenly started up, and ran toward a ravine ; 
and now the race began. The pursued had several rods the start 



222 HISTOET OF CLARBMONT. 

of the pursuers, beside the advantage of the dense forest and the 
scanty light. The course of the former was toward Connecticut 
river. It required close attention and scrutiny to keep on their 
track, and the Whig party were often on the point of giving up 
the search as fruitless. Then some new trace would be discovered, 
and they would go forward with renewed vigor. At length they 
reached Connecticut river, where they found that the fugitives had 
swam across. Fastening their arms upon their backs, they plunged 
into the stream, and on gaining the opposite side, thej^ found the 
tracks of the other party. At night they encamped in the woods 
at the base of Ascutney mountain, and in the morning began its 
ascent from different points. On arriving at the summit they found 
the fugitives asleep. They were easily captured, and gave their 
names as Johns and Buel. Having arms with them, they could not, 
according to the rules of war, be treated as spies, and were therefore 
held as prisoners of war. They were taken to Charlestown, from 
thence to Boston, and afterward exchanged. One Kentfield was 
also pursued from " Tory Hole," and driven across Connecticut 
river. He managed to escape from his pursuers at this time ; but 
in a few days after was discovered by Isaac Hubbard, then but a 
child, while re-crossing the river into New Hampshire. He was 
again pursued, captured after a fierce resistance, and taken to 
Charlestown, where he was confined for some time ; but as it was 
impossible to prove him a spy, he was released. Afterward he 
joined the Continental army, deserted in a few days, was captured, 
and hung. 

On April 12, 1776, the Committee of Safety for the Colony of 
New Hampshire issued the following mandate, as appears from 
documents arranged by John Farmer agreeably to an order of 
the legislature of New Hampshire, in 1837, as copied verbatim 
from " State Papers of New Hampshire," Vol. YHI. : 

Colony of New Hampshire. 

In Committee of Safety, April 12, 1776. 
In order to carry the underwritten Resolve of the Hon'ble Continental Con- 
gress into Execution, you are required to desire all Males above Twenty-one 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 223 



years of age (Lunaticks, Idiots and Negroes excepted), to sign the Declaration 
on this Paper; and when so done, to make K 
Name or Names of all who shall refuse to sig 
sembly or Committee of Safety of this Colony. 



on this Paper; and when so done, to make Return thereof, together with the 
Name or Names of all who shall refuse to sign the same, to the General As- 



M. We ARE, Chairman. 

In Congress, March 14, 1776. 
Resolved, That it be recommended to the Several Assemblies, Conventions 
and Councils, or Committees of Safety of the United Colonies, immediately to 
cause all Persons to be disarmed, within their respective colonies, who are noto- 
riously disaffected to the cause of America, or who have not associated and 
refuse to associate, to defend by arms, the United Colonies against the Hostile 
attempts of the British Fleets and Armies. 

(Copy) Extract from the Minutes. 

Charles Thompson, Secretary. 

In consequence of the above Resolution of the Hon. Continental Congress, 
and to show our Determination in joining our American Brethren in defending 
the Lives, Liberties and Properties of the inhabitants of the United Colonies, 

We the Subscribers, do hereby Solemnly engage and promise, that we will 
to the utmost of our Power, at the Risque of our Lives and Fortunes, with 
Arms oppose the Hostile Proceedings of the British Fleets and Armies against 
the United American Colonies. 

REMARKS ON THE FOREGOING BY THE LATE JOHN FARMER. 

The preceding text was the Declaration of Independence by the People of 
New Hampshire. It was a Similar act to that of the Patriots who signed the 
National Declaration on the Fourth of July, 1776. It preceded that event, and 
seems to have been a sanction or an encouragement to those who contemplated it. 
It was a bold and hazardous step in subjects thus to resist the authority of one of 
the most powerful Sovereigns in the world. Had the cause in which these men 
pledged their Lives and Fortunes failed, it would have subjected every individual 
who signed it to the pains and penalties of treason — to a cruel and ignomin- 
ious death. 

It is not to be understood that all who declined signing it were Tories or 
were disaffected to the American cause; Some of them were Friends, whose 
principles forbade their signing a pledge to oppose their enemies with Arms ; 
others who were really friends to the cause of opposition to the British, had 
conscientious scruples, and others doubtless were influenced by their timidity. 
Among those whose conscientious scruples prevented them from giving such a 
pledge, was Eleazer Russell, Esq., of Portsmouth, (?) who, in a letter to President 
Weare, says " It was, and is, merely to secure the morality of my mind that I 
was reluctant to put my name to it. Solemnly to bind myself to the perform- 



224 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



ance of what nature and necessity rendered impossible, I started at the thought 
of, and though my health is mended, so wrecked are my nerves, that I could not 
do one hour's military duty to save my life. The article of shedding blood, in 
me is not a humor, but a principle — not an evasion, but a fact. It was re- 
ceived in early life, and has 'grown with my growth, and stregthened with 
my strength.' Not a partiality for British more than Savage blood ; for, all 
circumstances considered, I think the latter more innocent than the former." 



SIGNERS IN CLAREMONT. 



Claremont, May 30th, 1776. 
In compliance to the above Declaration, we have Shone the Declaration to 
All the Inhabitants of this Town, and the Associates are those who have signed 
to this paper. 



Matthias Stone, 
Asa Jones, 



Selectmen. 



The following Names of those who are twenty-one years of age and upward ; 



Thomas Goodwin, 
Joseph York, 
Matthias Stone, 
Jacob Rice, 
William Osgood, 
Asa Jones, 
John Spencer, 
Lemuel Hubbard, 
Christopher York, 
David Bates, 
T. Sterne, 
Barnabas Ellis, 
Joel Roys, ? 
Samuel Tuttle, 
Stephen Hige, ? 
Charles Higbe, 
Edward Goodwin, 
Ephraim French, 
Joseph Ives, 
Elihu Stevens, Junior, 
Ichabod Hitchcock, 
Ebenezer Dudley, 
Daniel Curte, ? 
Josiah Rich, 



David Lynd, 
Oliver Ashley, 
Eleazer Clark, 
Eleazer Clark, Junior, 
Joseph Hubbard, 
Amasa Fuller, 
Jerime Spencer, 
Patrick Fields, 
Gideon Lewis, 
Josiah Stevens, 
Seth Lewis, 
John Kilborn, 
John Peake, 
John West, 
David Rich, 
Ebenezer Washburn, 
Bill Barnes, 
John Adkins, 
Amaziah Knights, 
John Goss, 
Ezra Jones, 
William Sims, 
David Adkins, 
Timothy Adkins, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



225 



Oliver Ellsworth, 
Jonathan Parker, 
Edward Ainsworth, 
Nathaniel Goss, 
Joel Matthews, 
Oliver Tuttle, 
Amos Conant, 
Samuel Ashley, 
John Sprague, 
Adam Alden, 
James Alden, 



Moses Spaford, 
Benjamin Towner, 
Samuel Lewis, 
Abner Matthews, 
Elihu Stephens, 
Jonas Stuard, 
Beniah Murry, 
Thomas Duston, 
Timothy Duston. 



Total, 84. 



N. B. — These are the Names of those who have actually taken up arms and 
are now in the Continental Army : 



Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite, 
Lieut. Joseph Taylor, 
Ens. Thomas Jones, 
S. Abner Matthews, Jr., 
James Gooden, 
Jonathan Fuller, 
Peter Fuller, 
Reuben Spencer, 
Gersham York, 



Benjamin Towner, Jr., 
David Laynes, Jr., 
Charles Laynes, 
Henry Stephens, 
Jonathan York, 
Joseph York, Jr., 
The Rev. Augustin Hibbard, 
Chaplain, &c. 

Total, 16. 



Rev. Mr. Hibbard was appointed chaplain on Colonel David 
Hobart's staff, by a vote of the Nev^^ Hampshire legislature, April 
4, 1777, and subsequently of General Stark's brigade. 

The Names of those who Refuse to sign the Declaration : 



John Thomas, 

Capt. Benjamin Brooks, 

Barnabas Brooks, 

Capt. Benjamin Sumner, 

Rev. Ranna Cosset, 

Cornelius Brook, 

Samuel Cole, Esq., 

Daniel Warner, 

Levi Warner, 

James Steal, 

Amos Snow, 

John Hitchcock, 



Ebenezer Edson, 
William Coy, 
Enoch Judd, 
Ebenezer Judd, Jr., 
Lieut. Benjamin Taylor, 
Timothy Granis, 
Hezekiah Roys, 
Asa Leat, 
Benjamin Leat, 
Ebenezer Judd, 
Benjamin Peterson, 
Benjamin Brooks, Jr., 



226 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

David Dodge, Doct. William Sumner, 

Samuel Thomas, Ebenezer Roys, 

Amos Cole, Joseph Norton. 

Total, 31. 

Claremont, May 30, 1776. 
The Declaration having ben shone to the within named persons, they Refuse 
to Sign. 

Attest, 

When the returns were all in, it was found that there were 
8,999 names upon the declaration, and the names of 773 persons 
who had refused to sign it were mentioned. 

The following papers are copied from the original minutes of the 
Episcopal church, and are given as published in "The History of 
the Eastern Diocese " : 

The joint Com'tee of Safety from the Towns of Hanover and Lebanon, having 
received a Letter from the Com'tee of Safety for Claremont, requesting the 
assistance of said Com'tees in examining sundry Persons in said Claremont who 
were suspected of being inimical to the Liberties of America, convened with 
said Com'tee of Claremont and the Com'tee of Safety for the Town of Cornish, 
at the House of Mr. Joseph York, in said Claremont, on Tuesday the 5th day 
of December, A. D. 1775. At which time and place were present — 

Captain Oliver Ashley, Captain Joseph Waite, Lieutenant Asa Jones, Lieu- 
tenant Joseph Taylor, Ensign Ebenezer Clark, Deacon Jacob Royce, Com'tee 
of Claremont : 

Samuel Chase, Esq., Colonel Jonathan Chase, Deacon Hall, Mr. Commins, 
Captain Spalding, Com'tee of Cornish : 

Deacon Neheh Estabrooks, Major John Griswold, Mr. Silas Waterman, Lieu- 
tenant Jedah Hibbard, Com'tee of Lebanon : 

Captain Edmond Freeman, Lieutenant David Woodward, Lieutenant John 
Wright, Com'tee of Hanover. 

On which the Com'tee of said Claremont requested that all these Com'tees 
might (for sundry reasons) form into one general meeting for the examination 
of sundry Persons whom they had previously cited to appear before this Board 
for that Purpose, which request being complied with : 

1st. Chose Deacon Nehemiah Estabrook, Chairman. 

2d. Chose Lieutenant Jede'ah Hibbard, Clerk. 

Sam'l Cole, Esq., Captain Benjamin Sumner, Rev. Eanna Cossit, Captain 




GEORGE N. FARWELL'S RESIDENCE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 227 

Benjamin Brooks, Lieutenant Benjamin Tyler, Asa Leet, Eben'r Judd, Eben'r 
Judd, Ju'r, Enoch Judd, Eben'r Royce, Hez. Royce, John Thomas, Sam'l Thomas, 
Benjamin Brooks, Jr., Barne Brooks. Ebenezer Edson, Joseph Naughton, Daniel 
Warner, Jr., Benjamin Leet, James Steel, Ephraim Peterson, John Brooks, 
Azel Brooks, Levi Warner, Zebal Thomas, all of said Claremont. After which 
the Persons whose names are annexed appeared before said Com'tee in conse- 
quence of the aforementioned Citation, who on examination testify and declare, 
as follows : 

1. The Rev'd Ranna Cossit on examination says, "I believe the American 
Colonies in their dispute with Great Britain, which has now come to blood, are 
unjust, but will not take up arms either against the King or Country, as my 
oflBce and circumstances are such that I am not obliged thereto ;" respecting whom 
the following evidence further appears, viz. : Dr. Thomas Sterns testifies and 
says that the Rev'd Mr. Cossit says : " We (meaning the Americans) are in a 
state of Rebellion and are altogether in the wrong, and that if we should give 
up our Head man to justice, we should do well, and that the King and Par- 
liament have a right to make laws and lay taxes as they please on America, 
both internal and external." 

Captain Oliver Ashley testifies the same, and adds that such language is 
frequent. Mr. Cossit in presence of this meeting agrees to the foregoing depo- 
sition respecting him, and adds : " I mean to be on the side of the administration 
and I had as lives any person should call me a damned Tory or not, and take it as 
an affront if people don't call me a Tory ; for I verily believe the British troops 
will overcome by the greatness of their power and justice of their cause." 

2d. Sam'l Cole, Esq., on examination, says: "It is a rebellion to take up 
arms or fight against the King or his Troops in the present dispute; yea, 'tis 
more ; it is treason to fight against the King, in addition to which, that he is bound 
by his oath not to tight against the King." Sam'l Chase, Esq'r, testifies and 
says, " That about a fortnight ago, Esq'r Cole was at his house and he offered 
said Cole a bill of paper money of the Congress in payment of a debt ; on 
which said Cole says, I will not take said bill for it is of no more value than if 
you or I had made said bill." Esq'r Cole finally consented to the above, and 
adds, " I don't value the Congress money more than the sole of an old shoe." 

3d. Captain Benjamin Sumner, on examination, says, "As to the proceed- 
ing and conduct of the American Colonies in their contest with Great Britain , 
upon the whole I cannot agree with them, but I will not take up arms on either 
side, and if any of you gentlemen can in private or publick debate convince me 
of my error no man on earth shall be more ready to hear than myself." 

4th. Sam'l Thomas, James Steel, Daniel Warner, Jr., Asa Leet, John 
Thomas, Benjamin Leet, Ebn'r Royce, Levi Warner, Ebne'r Edson, Azel 
Brooks and Zebal Thomas, on examination declare their sentiments the same as 
those exprest by Capt. Benjamin Sumner. 



228 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

5th. Hez Royce, on examination, shews great contempt in equivocating in re- 
gard to questions asked him by the Com'tee, but in reply to one query says he 
likes the King's Proclamation last issued. 

6th. Captain Benjamin Brooks, on examination, says *' I am not settled with 
regard to the dispute between Great Britain and her Colonies. But according 
to what I understand of the dispute, I rather think the Americans are in the 
wrong, but will not take up arms on either side." 

7th. Ephraim Peterson, Barne Brooks and Joseph Naughton on examina- 
tion concur with Captain Benj. Brooks. 

8th. Lieut. B. Tyler on examination says " 1 am of the prevailing sentiment 
that the American Colonies in their contest with Great Britain are not just, but 
will not take up arms on either side.' 

9th. Cornelius Brooks and Ebenezer Judd on examination say that they will 
not take up arms on either side. 

10th. Benjamin Brooks, Jr., Enoch Judd and Ebenezer, Jr., on examination 
say that America is unjust in her contest with Great Britain, and we will not 
take up arms on either side. 

11th. John Brooks, when asked how he feels when he thinks of the quarrel 
between Great Britain and her Colonies that has caused the blood of our Ameri- 
can Brethren to be shed as well as Briton's, says " I feel for the King's troops 
and against the Colonies." 

Adjourned till to-morrow morning nine o'clock. 

December 6th, met according to adjournment. Present as yesterday. Voted 
that it appears to us on examination that Captain Benjamin Sumner, Samuel 
Cole, Esq., and the Rev. Ranna Cossit have been chief advisors and dictators to 
those other persons who have been under examination, and it is our opinion 
that they might with propriety be confined, as having endeavoured to stir 
up sedition in said Claremont, and also were against the united Colonies ; and 
their names ought to be returned to the Honorable Provincial Congress for their 
determination, which the Clerk is hereby directed to do, which we believe may 
as well serve the general cause as to confine all these persons examined by us. 
Motioned to those persons who have been examined that they voluntarily resign 
their fire-arms and ammunition into the hands of the Com'tee of said Clare- 
mont; which they unanimously agreed to comply with, and proposed to bring 
them in to-morrow morning. 

3dly, at the request of the Com'tee of Claremont, voted that the above men- 
tioned arms and ammunition be deposited in the hands of Mr. Barne Ellis, of 
said Claremont, and said Ellis is not to let any person have any of s'd arms 
without order from the Com'tee of said Claremont. Voted to adjourn till to- 
morrow morning, nine o'clock. Dec'r 7th, met according to adjournment. Pres- 
ent as yesterday. 

1st. Received the firearms and ammunition of those persons who have 
been examined, and delivered them to the custody of Barne Ellis agreeable to 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 229 

the vote passed yesterday, for each of which the Com'tee of said Claremont 
gave their receipt to the owners. 

2dly. Voted That this meeting be dissolved and it was dissolved accord- 
ingly. True copy from the minutes. 

Attest: Nath'l S. Prentice. 

In Congress at Exeter, Jan'y 3d, 1776 : Voted, That Benjamin Giles, Esq'r, 
Major John Bellows, Capt. Nath'l Sartel Prentice, Mr. Thomas Sparhawk and 
Mr. Elijah Grout, be a Committee to Examin and Try Capt. Benjamin Sumner, 
Sam'l Cole, Esq'r, the Rev'd Ranna Cossit and Eleazer Sanger — persons re- 
puted to be enemies to the Liberties of this Countrey, and, on conviction thereof, 
to inflict such Penalties or Punishments as they shall see fit — not to exceed Fine 
or Imprisonment, saving an appeal to this House or General Court." 

EXTRACT FROM THE JOURNAL OF THE CONGRESS. 

Colony of New Hampshire, Cheshire, ss. 

Pursuant to the fourgoing resolve, I do hereby give notice to the above 
mentioned Benjamin Sumner, Samuell Cole and Ranna Cossit of Claremont in 
said county and Eleazer Sanger of Keene in s'd county to appear at Charleston at 
the House of Abel Warner, Innholder in said Charleston on the second Wednes- 
day of April next at one of the clock, P. M., to answer the allegations brought 
against them by sundrie Evidences before the Commities of Saftie for the 
Towns of Claremont, Cornish, Lebanon and Hanover, on the 5th day of De- 
cem'r last as appears by an exhibition thereof, to the late Congress at Exeter. 

Benj'n Giles, FresidH, 

In behalf of the Committ. 

Charleston, March 28, 1776. 

Charlestown, April lOtb, 1776. 

Colony of New Hampshire, ss. 

Agreeable to a resolve of the Hon'ble Congress appointing Benj'a Giles, 
Esq'r, Major John Bellows, Capt. Nath'l Sartell Prentice, Mr. Thomas Spar- 
hawk and Mr. Elijah Grout a Com'tee to examine and try Capt. Benj'a Sumner, 
Sam'l Cole, Esq'r, Rev'd Ranna Cossett and Eleazer Sanger, persons reputed to 
be Enemies to the Liberties of this Country, etc. 

We, the subscribers, having notified the aforesaid Sumner, Cole, Cossett and 
Sanger to meet at time and place above mentioned, for the purpose afores'd, 
and Mr, Ranna Cossett, Sam'l Cole, Esq'r, and Capt. Benja. Sumner, appearing 
upon examination, by their own Confession and Evidences in the Case, having 
maturely considered the same, Judge that the evidence and fact exhibited by 
the Joint Com'tees of Claremont, Cornish, Lebanon and Hanover unto the 
afores'd Congress against the afores'd Cossett, Cole and Sumner are well sup- 
ported. 



230 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

We, the Subscribers, are of Opinion that the sM Mr. Ranna Cossett and 
Sam'l Cole, Esq'r, be, from and after the 12th day of this, instant, April, con- 
fined within the Limits of the Township of Claremont, in s'd Colony, during the 
present Contest between Great Britain and the Colonies, unless they or either of 
them shall be released by certifying their good Behaviour in future to the 
Com'ee of Claremont, or the Subscribers, or upon Application, if they see 
Cause, to the Hon'ble Council and Assembly of this Colony. 

Also, that Capt. Benj'a. Sumner be subjected in the same manner and within 
the same Limits as Cossett and Cole above mentioned, or give sufficient bonds* 
to the acceptance of the Com'tee of Claremont, for the time being, obligididing 
and binding him to his good behaviour, and that neither of the above named 
persons be seen conversent together upon any occasion whatever, except meet- 
ing together at Publick Worship. 

Furthermore, if any of the above named persons shall not strictly and up- 
rightly keep the above Determination, and, being fairly convicted thereof before 
the Com'tee of Safety of Claremont, that they be and are hereby directed to 
committ the offender to the Common Goal, there to abide untill released by Order 
of this Com'ee or the General Assembly of this Colony, and that their fire arms 
be still retained in Custody of the Com'ee of Claremont, afores'd ; 

Provided, Nevertheless, that if the afores'd Mr. Ranna Cossett shall be 
call'd by any of the people of his perswasion specially to officiate in his minis- 
terial office in preaching, baptizing and visiting the sick, this order is not in- 
tended to prohibit him therefrom. 

A Coppy Exami'nd. 
Attest. Nath'l S. Prentice, Clerk. 

ARRESTS ON CHARGE OF TORYISM. 

Elihu Stevens came to Claremont in 1775. He was an active 
and ardent Whig, and being a justice of the peace, an office 
of considerable dignity in those days, was frequently called to 
sit at the trial of persons arrested on suspicion of being Tories. 
So bitter were his feelings toward that class of persons, that 
according to his judgment it did not require the most conclusive 
proof to convict a person charged with being a traitor to his 
country. It often happened, therefore, that of the many trials 
and convictions before him, nearly all were discharged at the 
higher courts. 

Complaints were often made against the purest patriots in 
town. A complaint having been once entered, it was thought 
that no other course could be taken than to arraign and try 



HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 231 

the party accused. Among others thus complained against was 
Ichabod Hitchcock, an early settler in town. He was a thor- 
ough working "Whig, and although engaged in no actual ser- 
vice himself, yet he had on certain occasions paid at different 
times no less than three persons for service in the war. At that 
time he was the only master carpenter and builder in town, and 
his services in this line being very much in demand, he chose 
to send others in his stead. Some evil-minded person or prac- 
tical joker circulated the report that Hitchcock had turned Tory. 
The report having reached the ears of Mr. Stevens, he immedi- 
ately determined to arrest him. Accordingly, he started out 
very early one morning in company with his son, both being well 
armed, in pursuit of Hitchcock. A few rods beyond Hitchcock's 
house lived a man who was also suspected and had been complained 
against. It was the intention to arrest both at the same time and 
march them to the village, where they were to be tried. On arriving 
at the house of Mr. Hitchcock they found him at breakfast, and ar- 
rested him in the name of the Continental Congress. The son 
was stationed as guard before the only outside door, and the pris- 
oner was safely confined. The father went to secure the other 
person. Mr. Hitchcock, having finished his breakfast, asked the 
guard if he had eaten anything that morning, who answered 
that he had not, and he was politely invited to come in and 
partake of the good cheer of his prisoner, which invitation he 
readily accepted, laid aside his gun and sat down at the table ; 
whereupon Mr. Hitchcock seized the gun and coolly observed 
to his astonished guest that he might eat all he wanted, and 
nobody should molest him, as he had been taken prisoner while 
in the discharge of his duty to his country as well as himself. 

Soon the father returned with the other person, and seeing 
Mr. Hitchcock pacing to and fro before the door in true mili- 
tary style, immediately ordered him to lay down his arms. Mr. 
Hitchcock, being something of a wag, assuming an air of inno- 
cent ignorance, suddenly replied, " Oh, yes, I made him surren- 
der his arms some time ago, and I've got him safe. I'm satis- 



232 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

fied he is a Tory and wish that he may be taken from my 
house as soon as possible." It required considerable explanation 
before he could be convinced that he was the person actually 
under arrest; but after having received satisfactory evidence, as 
he termed it, that such was the fact, he at once yielded and 
accompanied his captors to the village. The ceremonies of a 
trial resulted in the discharge of the prisoners, who had, as it 
appeared, availed themselves of every opportunity to aid in the 
struggles for the country. 

FALSE ALARM. 

A few days after the trial of Mr. Hitchcock the people were 
alarmed by loud reports, in rapid succession, apparently of fire- 
arms. Messengers were at once dispatched in the direction of 
the sounds, with orders to ascertain the cause and return as 
quickly as possible. Meeting with two or three of their towns- 
men, the messengers inquired of them if they had heard the 
noise, and if they knew the cause. They replied they had heard it, 
that it proceeded from British scouts, and that a large body of 
the enemy were encamped at Cavendish, Yt, and before noon 
would be in Claremont, The messengers turned their horses 
and hastened back with the news. Among some of the families 
great consternation and confusion prevailed. Speedily they gath- 
ered up their movables and hastened away to the fort at Num- 
ber Four — now Charlestown. But the majority of the people 
determined to await the result. It was subsequently ascertained 
that the noise which had occasioned the alarm was caused by 
some one dashing one upright board against another lying flat 
on the ground. 

ARREST OF WILLLA.M M'COY. 

In town, at this time, was one William McCoy, before men- 
tioned, shrewd, cunning, and active, who was more than sus- 
pected of rendering service to the spies and emissaries of the 
British, and was a source of annoyance and vexation to every 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 233 

good Whig. Many efforts had been made to detect him in the 
commission of some treasonable act, but he succeeded iu keep- 
ing beyond the reach of his persecutors. Finally, one evening, 
he was discovered going in the direction of " Tory Hole," in 
company with a suspicious-looking stranger. This was enough. 
He was arrested and brought before Elihu Stevens, Esq., for 
trial. ITotwithstanding that he succeeded in making the princi- 
pal witness against him contradict himself in several important 
particulars, yet he was found guilty of treason and ordered to 
be imprisoned to await trial at the next term of the superior 
court. When the sheriff, Ichabod Hitchcock, who had, a short 
time before, been arrested for the same offense and discharged, 
was about to start off with the prisoner for jail, he asked the 
justice if he had prepared the mittimus. The justice, with some 
impatience, replied, " Take my horse and carriage. If they will 
hold out long enough to get him to jail, it will be all the mit- 
timus he deserves." 

ANOTHER ALARM. 

In the month of May of 1779 the people were alarmed by the 
intelligence of a messenger from Vermont, that a party of In- 
dians, Tories, and English had made an attack upon Royalton, 
where they had destroyed several houses and taken a number 
of prisoners ; that their course, so far as could be ascertained, was 
toward Connecticut river. The prospect of the approach of a 
large body of men friendly to the Tories, who infested this town 
in considerable numbers, could not but excite unpleasant feelings 
in the breasts of those who would be treated as rebels by the ad- 
vancing army. The Tories, on the other hand, were in high spir- 
its. For a long time they had anxiously looked for the complete 
triumph of the British, and now they regarded the wished-for 
event as near at hand. But the weak and defenseless condition of 
the Whigs by no means diminished their courage. Immediately a 
party of men was selected and sent off, with Lieut. Barnabas Ellis 
at their head, in the direction of the rendezvous of the enemy. 
They had not proceeded far, however, when news came that the foe 



234 HISTOBY OF CLAREMONT. 

had retreated to Canada. Before the company started on the ex- 
pedition it was very prudently determined to examine " Tory Hole," 
where a considerable quantity of provisions were found concealed. 
These discoveries led to the belief that the movements at this spot 
had some connection with the designs of the party which made the 
descent upon Royalton. 

OLAREMONT MEN ENGAGED AS SOLDIERS IN THE WAR. 

The records of the town and its action in regard to matters con- 
nected with the Revolutionary War, and her men engaged in it as 
soldiers during its continuance, are very meager, and therefore re- 
sort to other sources is had for information. The rolls in the 
United States War Department and in the Adjutant General's office 
in New Hampshire are confessedly incomplete and imperfect, after 
years of painstaking labor spent upon them ; and if errors and 
omissions are not made here it would be strange indeed. The fol- 
lowing names of the Claremont men who took up arms during 
that long struggle, the rank held, the organizations to which they 
were attached, and the casualties which happened to each, are 
gathered from all known sources. 

Col. Samuel Ashley, Henry Stevens, 

Chaplain Augustine Hibbard. Jonathan Fuller, 

Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite, Peter Fuller, 

Capt. Oliver Ashley, Benj. Towner, Jr., 

Lieut. Joseph Taylor, Reuben Spencer, 

Lieut. Barnabas Ellis, Gersham York, 

Ensign Thomas Jones, Jonathan York, 

Sergt. Abner Matthews, Joseph York, Jr., 

Privates David Lynch, Charles Lines. 
James Gooden, 

Samuel Ashley, at the time of the breaking out of the war, was 
a resident of Winchester, but before its close removed to Clare- 
mont. He was a volunteer aid on the staff of Gen. John Stark 
at the battle of Bennington, on August 16, 1777. 

Augustine Hibbard was chaplain of Gen. John Stark's brigade, 
and was at the battle of Bennington. In this battle Barnabas 
Ellis acted as lieutenant. 



HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 235 

Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite was of Col. Thomas Bedel's regiment. 

At a meeting at Hanover of the people of that and other 
towns in the vicinity, on the fifth of July, 1776, to provide men 
to protect the frontiers, it was "Voted to raise two hundred 
and fifty men, Exclusive of officers to go to Newbury [Vermont] 
to fortifie, scout and guard there for three months unless sooner 
discharged." These two hundred and fifty men were divided 
into four companies, and Oliver Ashley was appointed captain of 
one of them. 

Lieut. Joseph Taylor was of Capt. Jason "Wait's company. 
More extended notices of Col. Ashley, Chaplain Hibbard, Lieut. 
Colonel Waite, and Lieut. Joseph Taylor will be found in the 
biographical chapter. 

Reuben Spencer, while on guard duty in the night, at Winter 
Hill, in February, 1776, fell upon a sharp stone and injured his 
left knee so badly as to render him unfit for duty, and he was 
discharged. By reason of this injury that leg was amputated at 
the thigh in December, 1783, for which he was granted a pension 
of twenty shillings per month. 

Privates Jonathan Fuller and Charles Lines were killed at the 
battle of Saratoga, on the 19th of September, 1777. 

In 1777 the following-named men, belonging in Claremont, were 
enrolled in different organizations, the most of them for two and 
three years, several of whom were in Col. Joseph Cilley's regiment 
of the Continental line : 

Samuel Bates, Joel Rice, 

Ebenezer Matthews, Asa Stearnes, 

Joel Royce, Thomas Wright, 

Daniel Stearns, William Vinton, 

Joseph Wright, Sam Stone, 

John Clark, Thomas Osgood, 

Charles Lines, Jonathan Walker. 
Amos Rice, 

William Vinton was mortally wounded in the battle of Saratoga, 
on the nineteenth of September, 1777, and died of his wounds. 
Jonathan Walker died in the service on June 6, 1778. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



COL. BENJAMIN BELLOWS'S REGIMENT, AT TIGONDEROGA, MAY, 1777. 



Augustine Hibbard, Chaplain. 
Thomas Sterne, Surgeon. 



CAPT. OLIVER ASHLEY'S COMPANY. 



Oliver Ashley, Capt., 
Samuel Ashley, Lieut., 
Asa Jones, do., 
Barnabas Ellis, Sergt., 
Jeremiah Spencer, do., 
Moses Spafford, do., 
Gresham York, Corporal, 
Joseph Clark, do., 
Benj. Brooks, do., 
Amos Conant, do., 

Privates. 
Beriah Murry, 
Levi Warner, 
Daniel "Warner, 
Edward Goodwin, 
Nath'l Goss, 
Thomas Dustin, 
Josiah Hatch, 
Luther Cotton, 
Oliver Elsworth, 
Asahei Brooks, 
Joseph York, 
Edward Ainsworth, 



Jonas Stewart, 
Josiah Stevens, 
Elisha Stevens, 
Roswell Stevens, 
Barnabas Brooks, 
Charles Higsby, 
Levi Higsby, 
Amariah Knight, 
Samuel Tuttle, 
Eleazer Clark, 
Ebenezer Matthews, 
Joel Matthews, 
Wm. York, 
Benj'n Clark, 
Thomas Osgood, 
David Atkins, 
Gideon Lewis, 
Hezekiah Rice, 
Daniel Ford, 
Thomas Jones, 
Joseph Ives, 
Joseph Norton. 



This regiment and most of these men were at Saratoga, in Sep- 
tember, 1777. The names of many of them are found on different 
rolls. 

In consequence of the evacuation of Ticonderoga by the Ameri- 
can army the New Hampshire Committee of Safety requested the 
members of the legislature to meet them on the seventeenth of 
July 1777, for consultation. The council and house of repre- 
sentatives met on the day appointed, and resolved themselves 
into a committee of the whole to join the committee of safety 
for a conference. The state at that time was destitute of money 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 237 

and means, and " had done all that the citizens generally sup- 
posed it could do in the way of furnishing troops; but the 
alternative was before them of assisting to check the advance 
of Burgoyne's army by sending a force to Vermont, or of hav- 
ing the battlefield of the future transferred to their own ter- 
ritory." 

On the second day of this session' "the committee of the 
whole recommended that the militia of the state be divided into 
brigades, the first to comprise the regiments in the eastern por- 
tion of the state, and be under the command of Brigadier Gen- 
eral William Whipple, and the second to comprise those in the 
western portion of the state, and be under the command of 
Brigadier General John Stark. The committee also recom- 
mended that four companies of rangers be raised in the second 
brigade to scout on the frontiers, under orders of General Stark. 
These recommendations were adopted by the legislature the same 
day. Letters from Ira Allen, secretary of the council of safety 
of Vermont, earnestly entreating that troops be sent to their 
assistance, were then read in committee of the whole, of which 
Hon. Meshech Weare was chairman. The matter of furnishing 
men was fully discussed, and it was generally conceded that the 
exigency of the occasion required the raising and forwarding of 
a portion of the militia at once. The main question was as to 
obtaining money to pay and equip them. The treasury of the 
state was empty, and no way of replenishing it presented itself, 
until the patriotic John Langdon arose, and said : ' I have 
one thousand dollars^ in hard money, I will pledge my plate 
for three thousand more. I have seventy hogsheads of Tobago 
rum, which I will sell for the most it will bring. They are at 
the service of the state. If we succeed in defending our fire- 
sides and our homes, I may be remunerated. If we do not, 
then the property will be of no value to me. Oar friend Stark, 
who so nobly maintained the honor of our state at Bunker Hill, 
may safely be entrusted with the honor of the enterprise, and 

1 state Papers, Vol. XV, page 139. 

2 Some historians say three thousand. 



238 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

we will check the progress of Burgoyne.' This patriotic offer 
was received with enthusiasm, and the legislature at once voted 
that one fourth of Stark's brigade, and one fourth of Thornton's 
and "Webster's regiments, of General Whipple's brigade, be drafted 
and marched immediately for the defense of this and the neigh- 
boring states. This force was to be under the command of 
General Stark, who accepted the commission with the under- 
standing that he was to exercise his own judgment in the man- 
agement of his troops, and be accountable to and take orders 
from the authorities of ISTew Hampshire, and no other. 

"A draft was unnecessary; men enlisted with alacrity, and 
were forwarded to Charlestown by detachments, that place hav- 
ing been designated for rendezvous. As soon as five hundred 
men had arrived in Charlestown, the impetuous Stark moved on 
with them to Manchester, Yt, leaving orders for others to fol- 
low. They reached that place August 7, were re-enforced by some 
of the ' Green Mountain Boys,' and received information of the 
enemy's intention to capture the stores at Bennington. He 
pressed forward and reached that town on the ninth, accompa- 
nied by Col. Seth Warner. 

" The battle occurred on the sixteenth, and the result, as is 
well known, cheered and encouraged the Americans, disheart- 
ened the enemy, and led to the surrender of Burgoyne's army 
at Saratoga on the seventeenth of October following." 

On the twenty-first of July, 1777, the following-named Clare- 
mont men enlisted in the army — but for what periods is not 
known — in Capt. Abel Walker's company of Col. David Ho- 
bart's regiment, and all of them were engaged in the famous 
battle of Bennington, on the sixteenth of August, 1777, under 
General John Stark. 

And here it may be recorded that according to the ''Roll of 
the New Hampshire Soldiers at the Battle of Bennington," a 
most valuable addition to the state's military history, compiled 
by the Hon. George C. Gilmore, of Manchester, " The battle of 
Bennington, fought August 16, 1777, under the command of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 239 

Gen. John Stark, with 2,000 men — 1,467 of whom were Tls'ew 
Hampshire men, as appeared by the rolls, or 73 men of every 
hundred." 

Moses Allen, Levi Higbee, 

Barnabas Ellis, Stephen Kidder, 

Judah Benjamin, William Osgood, 

Joseph Clark, Asahel Powers, 

Oliver Cook, Silas Royce, 

Dan Clark, John Spencer, 

James Dunfee, James Spooner, 

Ebenezer Fielding, Henry Stevens, 

Daniel Ford, Joseph Woods, 

Amasa Fuller, Christopher York, 

Edward Grannis, John Verry, 

Josiah Hatch, Joseph Ellis. 

Joseph Ellis was lieutenant of Captain Walker's company. 
Between 1777 and 1782, the following-named Claremont men 
entered the Continental army : 

Thomas Osgood, Solomon Harris, 

Ebenezer IMatthews, Asaph Butler, 

Thomas Powers, Gideon Kirkland, 

Amos Snow, Ezra Butler, 

Samuel G. Allen, Gideon Caterling. 

At a town meeting on March 12, 1776, Dea. Matthias, Stone, 
Dea. Joseph Rice, Mr. Barnabas Ellis, Mr. William Osgood, Mr. 
Stephen Higbee, Mr. Thomas Goodwin, and Mr. Lemuel Hubbard 
were chosen a Committee of Safety for the town of Claremont. 

At a town meeting on the second of February, " Voted and 
chose Lieut. Joseph Ives, Selectman in the room of Captain Joseph 
Taylor, as he expects soon to join the American Army." 

At a town meeting, on the nineteenth of March, 1778, "Voted 
to raise the remainder of their quota of men to fill up the Conti- 
nental Battalion by assessing and bringing those Lihabitants of the 
above town to an average that have done nothing towards raising 
the above mentioned men, and also voted to give each man credit 
for what service he or they have done in the militia." 

By an act of the United States Congress establishing a Conti- 



240 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



nental army for the year 1781, the number of men apportioned to 
New Hampshire was 1,354, including those in the service whose 
term did not expire during that year. The legislature of this state, 
in January, 1781, passed an act providing for apportioning the men 
to be raised to the several towns. Towns were to receive a bounty 
of twenty pounds for each man who passed muster, the money to 
be paid in four years from the date of muster, with six per cent 
interest. The number apportioned to Cheshire county — which then 
included Sullivan county — was 230. 

The following is copied from " ]^ew Hampshire State Papers," 
Vol. XVI, pages 607, 608, and 609 : 

On account of the Bounties and Hires given to Soldiers in the Continental 
Army and Militia during the late War by the Inhabitants of the Town of Clare- 
mont and by whom respectively paid : 



Capt. Oliver Ashley, 


£306 18 


Amasa Andrews, 


£15 


Amos Cowls, 


10 


Amos Conant 


10 


David Dodge, 


14 


Christopher York, 


9 


John Alden, 


70 2 


Abel Rice, 


30 


Jonas Steward, 


12 


Ichabod Hitchcock, 


112 


Jesse Matthews, Jun'r, 


35 


Abner Meggs, 


3 


Asa Jones, 


114 6 


Asa Meacham, 


4 16 


Barnabas Ellis, 


50 


Timothy Grannis, 


9 


Joseph Spaulding, 


57 


Reuben Rice, 


50 


Thomas Osgood, 


12 10 


Oliver Ellsworth, 


12 12 


Timothy Dustin, 


15 


William Sims, 


9 


Timothy Cowls, 


60 


John Alden, 


70 2 


Ebn'r Edson, 


5 


Elihu Stevens, 


6 


David Kich, 


8 14 


Samuel Tuttle, 


25 


Elisabeth Ives, 


25 


David Matthews, 


5 


Josiah Stevens, 


24 


Matthias Stone, 


40 


Gideon Kirtland, 


10 


Benj'm Brooks, Jun'r, 


10 


Asa Leet, 


10 


Eben'r Rice, 


11 


L't Sam'll Ashley, 


50 


Asahel Brooks, 


12 


Levi Purdee, 


10 


Amos Judd, 


10 


Ezra Jones, 


15 


Nehemiah Rice, 


10 


Josiah Rich, 


18 


Amos Conant, 


10 


Oliver Tuttle, 


75 


Bill Barnes, 


^ 9 


Ebne'r Conant, 


' 19 


James Alden, 


19 


John Sprague, 


25 


Reuben Petty, 


150 


Thomas Dustin, 


10 
15 


John Cook, 


33 1 4 1 


Beriah Murry, 


£ 1563 9 4 1 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 241 

The foregoing Accounts is a True Coppy as we Collected them from the be- 
fore Named Persons also we have in Closed the Avoucher to the Said Accounts. 



Test Ambrose Cossit, 

Bill Barnes, ^Selectmen. 
Nath'el Goss, 

Claremont Dec'r 27th Anno Domini 1787. 

To the Secretary of the State of New Hampshire. 



SIT,"^ 

. 1 



CHAPTER XVI. 

THE WAR OF 1812 AND TEXAN WARS. 

By orders in council, the British government had declared that 
all vessels trading with France were liable to seizure, and that 
all such vessels, clearing from a hostile port, must touch at a 
British port to pay customs duties. This amounted to confiscation 
of American ships. British naval officers claimed and exercised, 
in a most arrogant and offensive manner, the right to search 
American vessels — ostensibly for British subjects — but often 
impressed from them American seamen, and compelled their 
service in the British navy, against absolute proof and the 
strong protestations of the American commanders and the men 
themselves. 

President Madison urgently requested the withdrawal of this 
Order in Council, and the discontinuance of the oppressive and 
unjust practice of the impressment of American seamen, both 
which requests were insultingly refused. In ^N'ovember, 1811, 
the president called an extra session of congress, laid before that 
body these grievances, and recommended preparation for war. 
In the early part of 1812 the American Congress — convinced 
that there was no hope of a change of policy or practice in 
these respects on the part of Great Britain, and that a resort 
to arms was the only alternative to protect the persons and pro- 
perty of American citizens and maintain the honor of the nation 
— on the eighteenth of June passed an act declaring war against 
Great Britain. 

This declaration of war was not at first a popular measure in 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



243 



New England, but a large majority of the people stood by the 
President. In May, Governor John Langdon, of New Hampshire, 
issued general orders for the detachment from the militia of the 
state of three thousand five hundred men, who were to be armed 
and equipped for actual service, and held in readiness to march 
on short notice. This detachment was mostly from regiments in 
the eastern part of the state. During the continuance of this 
war of nearly three years, Claremont, it is believed, did her full 
duty and furnished her share of men for the army. 

The company and regimental rolls which have been preserved 
in the United States and state military departments are acknowl- 
edged to be quite imperfect, while many of them have been lost 
or destroyed; and the town records afford but little information 
upon the subject. Hence the names of all Claremont men who 
served during that war cannot be obtained. 

VOLUNTEERS FROM CLAREMONT. 

Below are given the names of all the Claremont men known to 
have served during this war. Undoubtedly there were others who 
either volunteered or were detached from the militia. 

m CAPTAIN JOSEPH KIMBALL'S COMPANY. 



NAMES. 


Rank. 


Date of Enlist- 
ment. 


For what Time. 


David Dean 


Ensign 
Sergeant 

Private 


Sept. 12, 1814. 




.Tfl,mps Oscrnnd 




4 


Isaac F Munton ... 




Samuel Stone * 




James McDaniels 




Charles C. Stewart 




Benedick Taylor 




Shaler Buel. .. 




Andrew Bartlett 








Benjamin Perkins 





Samuel Stone was cJischarged for disability, Nov. 7, 1814. 



244 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 
m CAPTAIN REUBEN MAKSH'S COMPANY. 



Charles A. Saxton 

Asa Barker 

James McLoflBng. . 

James Fisher 

Samuel Petty 

Robert Angel 

Barnes Gilbert 



Corporal 
Private 



DATE OF Enlist- 
ment. 



Sept 



26, 1814. 



For what Time. 



Sixty days. 



In anticipation of the declaration of war, active preparations 
had been made by the government to carry it on before the decla- 
ration came. 

The militia of New Hampshire was well organized and in as 
good condition to respond to a call as it ever had been. Gov- 
ernor Langdon's term of office expired on the 5th of June, 1812, 
and he was succeeded by William Plumer. His heart and hand 
were in the cause, and his energy, patriotism, and great execu- 
tive ability were exerted to aid the government of the United 
States. Governor Plumer was ably seconded by the adjutant 
general, Michael McClary, of Portsmouth, who was a soldier in 
the Revolution, and every requisition of the government upon 
New Hampshire was met with great promptness. 

At this time all able-bodied men from sixteen to forty years 
of age were enrolled in the training band, with certain exceptions, 
such as clergymen, doctors, members of congress and of the legis- 
lature, etc. Men from forty to sixty years of age were exempted 
from the training band and enrolled in what was called the alarm 
list. Every non-commissioned officer and private of both the 
training band and alarm list was required to keep in readiness 
a musket and bayonet, with all necessary appendages and accou- 
terments and ammunition, suitable for a marching soldier. The 
training band was to be mustered four times, and the alarm list 
twice a year. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 245 

In time of invasion or of war drafts from the militia were 
made, unless a sufficient number to answer any requirement vol- 
unteered. The militia was organized into twenty-five regiments 
of infantry, divided into five brigades ; three regiments of cavalry, 
forming another brigade ; one independent corps of light horse, 
and one regiment of artillery. The military force of the state, ac- 
cording to Dr. Belknap, was computed as follows : 

Twenty-five regiments of training band, at 750 each . . 18,750 

Total of alarm list 7,500 

Three regiments, and one independent corps of cavalry . 1,000 

One regiment of artillery 300 

Total 27,550 

From this body of militia the New Hampshire men engaged 
in the war of 1812 were drawn, reinforced from time to time by 
volunteers. 

Claremont at that time, as later, formed a part of the Fifteenth 
New Hampshire militia regiment, of which Timothy W. Hale was 
lieutenant colonel commandant ; Isaac Chapman, major first 
battalion; Lebbeus Chase, major second battalion. 

On the twenty-fourth of December, 1814, a treaty of peace was 
concluded at Ghent, and the war of 1812 was at an end. 

TEXAN WARS. 

In the struggle in Texas, under General Sam. Houston, one 
life from Claremont, at least, went down to its unknown grave. 
Robert Harris Upham, the second son of Hon. George B. Upham, 
born in 1810, fitted at Kimball Union academy and entered Dart- 
mouth college, remained there two or three years, but did not 
graduate. He then studied law in his father's ofl&ce and at Steu- 
benville, Ohio. Upon the breaking out of the Texan war for 
independence he enlisted in a company raised by Captain Allen, 
at Cincinnati, went to the seat of war, joined the forces under 
General Houston, since which all traces of him have been lost. 



246 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

It was reported that he attained the rank of major, and it was 
currently believed at the time that his command was with those 
captured by Santa Ana, imprisoned at the fortress of Alamo, 
where, with their leader, David Crockett, all, to the last man, 
were, as helpless prisoners, massacred in cold blood in 1836. 
In the subsequent struggles, and during the decisive battles, the 
watchword of Houston's army was : " Remember the Alamo ! " 

It was here that Santa Aiia was defeated, lost a leg, captured, 
but suffered to live, and after many and strange reverses was again 
the military dictator of Mexico, and met his crushing defeats in 
successive sanguinary battles with the armies of the United States 
under the command of Generals Taylor and Scott in 1846-47. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

WAR OF THE REBELLION. 
ASSAULT ON FORT SUMTER. 

The War of the Rebellion in the United States of America 
opened with an assault upon Fort Sumter on the twelfth of April, 
1861, and closed with the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, then 
serving his second term as president of the United States, on the 
fourteenth of April, 1865. It is not necessary now to recount the 
causes, running through many years, which led to the insurrection 
of the people of a portion of the states of the Union against the 
general government, and arrayed more than a million citizens in 
arms, involving the expenditure of immense treasure and the loss 
of the lives of hundreds of thousands of the country's bravest and 
best men on either side, carrying sorrow and mourning to many 
hearthstones and multitudes of loving hearts. The causes have 
passed away; and fortunate indeed is he who shall make a just 
and impartial history of the events and of the men and women 
who participated in them during the four years of that bloody war. 
This book has to do more immediately with what the town, in its 
corporate capacity, and her citizens as individuals, did during its 
continuance. 

While momentous events were transpiring the people of Clare- 
mont had their share in them. Their coffers were opened ; their 
young men were sent forth with a blessing — some of them never 
to return, others to come home maimed or broken in health for 
life, and a few to return at the end of the great struggle, weary 
and worn, crowned with victorious wreaths. With great unanimity 
the men raised their voices in behalf of the cause of their country, 



248 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

and the women gave it hearty work with their hands, and unbid- 
den tears. 

On the twelfth of April, 1861, South Carolina, having a few 
months previously, by her legislature, passed an act seceding from 
the Union of States, commenced open hostilities by firing from 
James's Island upon Fort Sumter, garrisoned by Maj. Robert An- 
derson and about seventy men under his command. Fort Sumter 
was besieged for two days, her sources of supply cut off, when, on 
the fourteenth of April, Major Anderson surrendered the fort to 
the rebels, himself and his command marching out and embarking 
on board the United States ship " Baltic " for New York. 

In his dispatch to the Secretary of War, relative to the attack 
upon and surrender of the fort. Major Anderson says : — " Having 
defended Fort Sumter until our quarters were entirely burned, the 
main gates destroyed by fire, the gorge wall seriously injured, the 
magazine surrounded by flames, and its door closed from the effects 
of heat, and three cartridges of powder only being available, and 
no provisions but pork remaining, I accepted the terms of evacua- 
tion offered by General Beauregard — being the same offered by 
him on the eleventh inst, prior to the commencement of hostili- 
ties — and marched out of the fort on Sunday afternoon, fourteenth 
inst., with colors flying and drums beating, bringing away my com- 
pany and our private property, and saluting the flag with five 
guns." 

On the fifteenth of April President Lincoln issued a proclama- 
tion, stating that an insurrection against the government of the 
United States had broken out in the states of South Carolina, 
Georgia, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Texas, and 
declared the ports of those states in a state of blockade. On the 
same day the President issued a call for seventy-five thousand three 
months volunteers, to aid in suppressing the rebellion against the 
government, and called upon J^ew Hampshire for a regiment of 
militia. 

In response to this call of tfie President, on April 17, Ichabod 
Goodwin, then governor of New Hampshire, issued an order to 
Joseph C. Abbott, adjutant-general, to make proclamation,' calling 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 249 

for volunteers from the enrolled militia of the state for one regi- 
ment of ten companies, each company to consist of three commis- 
sioned officers, four sergeants, four corporals, and sixty-four pri- 
vates, with the requisite number of iield and staif officers, to be 
uniformed, armed, and equipped at the expense of the state, and 
to be held in readiness until called for by the United States gov- 
ernment. 

MEETINGS OF CITIZENS. 

Claremont was all on fire to do her share toward putting down 
the Rebellion. Governor Goodwin appointed Maj. Otis F. R. 
Waite general recruiting agent for the western part of the state, 
who was furnished with all requisite papers and authority to estab- 
lish recruiting stations at convenient points and appoint recruiting 
officers. On the eighteenth of April, William P. Austin, who had 
been one of the selectmen of the town for several years, offered 
his services as a soldier, took the oaths prescribed, and was duly 
enrolled by Major Waite. He was the first man in Sullivan county 
to enlist under the call of President Lincoln for seventy-five thou- 
sand volunteers for three months. The same day Mr. Austin was 
appointed recruiting officer for the town of Claremont and vicinity. 
He at once opened an office in the hall of the Tremont House, and 
entered upon his duties. Young men flocked in faster than they 
could be examined and -sworn. 

Notice was issued for a meeting of citizens at the town hall on 
Friday evening, the nineteenth. At the hour appointed the build- 
ing was filled to overflowing, ladies occupying the galleries. It 
was such a meeting of the citizens of Claremont, without distinc- 
tion of party or sex, as had seldom been held. The meeting was 
called to order by the venerable "Gen. Erastus Glidden, and 
Jonas Livingston was chosen president; Ambrose Cossit, Erastus 
Glidden, Walter Tufts, Thomas J. Harris, A. F. Snow, Josiah 
Richards, and Albro Blodgett, vice-presidents ; Edward L. God- 
dard and John M. Whipple, secretaries. On taking the chair Mr. 
Livingston made an enthusiastic and patriotic speech. Patriotic 
speeches were also made by H. W. Parker, Ira Colby, Jr., A. F. 



250 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Snow, Benjamin P. Walker, and Samuel G. Jarvis. The latter 
gentleman deposited one hundred dollars as the nucleus of a fund 
for the families of those who should enlist. Rev. Messrs. R. F. 
Lawrence and R, S. Stubbs, William P. Austin, and Henry G. 
Webber, of Charlestown, made stirring speeches. A. F. Snow, 
Otis F. R. Waite, John S. Walker, Joseph Weber, Simeon Ide, 
and George W. Blodgett were chosen a committee to prepare and 
report resolutions expressive of the sentiments of the town in re- 
gard to the Rebellion. The meeting was adjourned to the next 
evening. 

On Saturday evening the town hall was again crowded, and the 
excitement was on the increase. The meeting was opened with 
prayer by the Right Rev. Carlton Chase, D. D., bishop of the dio- 
cese of New Hampshire. The young men just enlisted by William 
P. Austin were marched into the hall, where front seats had been 
reserved for them, and they met with an enthusiastic reception. 
As they entered, the audience rose to their feet and gave three 
hearty cheers. The president, Mr. Livingston, led the speaking, 
and was followed by Otis F. R. Waite, from the committee on 
resolutions, who reported the following, which were unanimously 
adopted : 

Resolved, That all other considerations and issues are now absorbed in the 
one vital question, "Shall our government be sustained?" — a question of na- 
tional life and independence, or of ignominious submission to the reign of bar- 
barism and anarchy, or of unmitigated despotism. 

Resolved, That the issues forced upon us by the South, and the only one 
presented, is the existence of any government, — and more directly of that 
government under which the American people have lived and prospered for a 
period of eighty years. 

Resolved, That for the maintenance and perpetuity of the priceless boon of 
civil and religious liberty, bequeathed by our forefathers in the constitution of 
this Union, and the free institutions it guarantees, we would imitate their example 
in unitedly and unreservedly tendering to the government, if need be, " our 
lives, our fortunes, and our sacred honors." 

Resolved, That in this first call to defend the constitution and the laws at 
the point of the bayonet, we view with patriotic pride the ready response of 
the noble sons of New Hampshire and of New England, and the IMiddle and 
Western states. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 251 

Resolved. That while our neighbors are called to defend our flag abroad, 
we will fill their baskets and their stores, and protect their hearthstones at 
home. 

Spirited and patriotic addresses were made by Charles H. East- 
man, Thomas J. Harris, Arthur Chase, Simeon Ide, Thomas Kirk, 
Otis F. E. Waite, Rev, Carlos Marston, Heman H. Cumminojs, 
Oscar J, Brown, and Edward D. Baker, when, after three rousing 
cheers for the " Stars and Stripes," and three more for the brave 
young recruits who were present, on motion of Ambrose Cossit, a 
committee, consisting of Ambrose Cossit, Simeon Ide, and Thomas 
J. Harris, was appointed to petition the selectmen to call a town 
meeting for the purpose of making an appropriation of two thou- 
sand dollars, or more, " for the support of the families of those of 
our fellow-citizens who have enlisted or who may enlist in defense 
of the country." The meeting then adjourned to the following 
Tuesday evening. 

On Tuesday evening, the twenty-third of April, the people again 
assembled at the town hall, which was densely crowded, and many 
were unable to gain admittance. This seemed to be the culmi- 
nating point of the excitement. General Erastus Glidden, in the 
absence of the president, occupied the chair. Patriotic songs 
were sung, and fervent speeches were made by John S. Walker, 
.Chase i^oyes, George W. Blodgett, William P. Austin, Henry 
Fitch, and Rev. R. F. Lawrence. Frank S. Fiske, of Keene, 
special aid to the adjutant general in the recruiting service, was 
present, and being called upon, made an eloquent and stirring 
speech. Mr. Austin was present with fifty recruits. 

Immediately after the call of the president for troops, the ladies 
of the town bought large quantities of flannel and yarn, and went 
to work vigorously, making shirts and drawers and knitting socks 
for the soldiers. Forty or more met daily for this purpose at 
Fraternity hall. 

George N. Farwell and Edward L. Goddard authorized William 
Clark, chairman of the board of selectmen, to furnish the families 
of volunteers with such provisions as they might need, in his dis- 
cretion, and they would hold themselves personally responsible 



252 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

for the same. Under these instructions families were helped to 
the amount of $222.27, which was afterward assumed by the 
town. 

On the twenty-ninth Major Waite received the following tele- 
gram from the adjutant general : " Close up the stations and come 
on with the recruits tomorrow, as proposed. Telegraph me that 
you will do so. Cars will be for you at Nashua." The recruits 
from other stations having been sent forward, Major Waite started 
from Claremont on the morning of the thirtieth with eighty-five 
men enlisted by William P. Austin. They left the village at six 
o'clock, and marched to the Sullivan railroad station, followed by 
large numbers of relatives and friends of the recruits, and other 
citizens. At seven o'clock, after a most touching leave-taking, 
which will not soon be forgotten by those who participated in or 
witnessed it, the company went on board the cars, which moved 
ofi" amid the cheers of the three or four hundred people who had 
assembled to see their friends and fellow-citizens depart for the 
war. They went by way of Bellows Falls, Keene, Fitchburg^ 
Groton Junction [now Ayer], Nashua, and Manchester, arriving 
at Concord about three o'clock in the afternoon. At every con- 
siderable railway station multitudes of people were assembled, 
who gave the men their blessing and cheered them on their way. 
Before leaving Claremont our citizens had provided the recruits, 
with a full day's rations of cold meats, bread, pickles, etc. 

VOLUNTEEKS. 

It was understood that the men enlisted at Claremont would 
go in a company by themselves, and would have the privilege of 
choosing their own officers from their own number. Accordingly, 
when the company was full, they elected William P. Austin, cap- 
tain ; John W. Lawrence, first lieutenant ; John Dean, second 
lieutenant; Ziba L. Davies, third lieutenant; Homer M. Crafts, 
Baron S. Noyes, George H. Weber, Selden S. Chandler, sergeants ; 
Edward E. Story, Charles H. Parmalee, Chester F. Tibbills, and 
Joseph Richardson, corporals. The privates of this company from 
Claremont were 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



253 



Oscar C. Allen, 
Lyman F. Parrisb, 
Alfred Talham, 
Everett W. Nelson, 
Edwin M. Gowdey, 
Ralph N. Brown, 
Joseph Levoy, 
Charles W. Wetherbee, 
John W. Davis, 
John F. Wheeler, 
John Straw, 
Wyman R. Clement. 
George W. Straw, 
Alba D. Abbott, 
Charles M. Judd, 
Heman Allen, 
Henry S. Morse, 
Albert F. Russell, 
Charles E. Putnam, 
Charles F. Colston, 
Edward Hall, 
Jerome B. Douglass, 
James Delmage, 



Charles H. Sprague, 
George P. Tenney, 
Henry W. Patrick, 
Joseph Peno, 
William H. Nichols, 
Ebenezer E. Cummings, 
Andrew J. Straw, 
William E. Parrish, 
Henry F. Roys, 
William H. Pendleton, 
Julius E. Hey wood, 
Alanson F. Wolcott, 
William H. Blanchard, 
Anson M. Sperry, 
Warren W. Howard, 
Dennis Taylor, 
Lewis W. Laducer, 
Albert E. Parmelee, 
Matthew T. Towne, 
J. Parker Read, 
Napoleon B. Osgood, 
Svlvester E. H. Wakefield. 



The other members of this company were from Acworth, 
Charlestown, Cornish, and Unity. 

- A finer company of men than those enlisted by Captain Austin 
did not enter the army as volunteers. They enlisted from a sense 
of duty, the pay of privates being then but eleven dollars per 
month, and there was no offer of bounty from the town, state, 
or United States. 

Before leaving town, citizens presented the different recruits with 
dirk knives, revolvers, etc. At a large meeting at the town hall, 
on the evening of the twenty-ninth, Lietenant John W. Lawrence 
was presented with a sword by Sherman Livingston. The presen- 
tation speech was made by H. W, Parker, and responded to in 
behalf of Lieutenant Lawrence by Ira Colby, Jr. George G. Ide, 
in behalf of the Claremont Manufacturing Company, presented 
each member of the company with a handsomely bound pocket 
Testament. The ladies gave to each two pairs of flannel drawers, 



254 HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 

two flannel shirts, woolen socks, towels, pocket handkercliiefs, and 
needle-book well filled with useful articles. 

On arrival at Concord the company was sent to Camp Union ; 
but, being more than men enough already there for one regiment, 
they were sent to Camp Constitution, Portsmouth, where the Sec- 
ond regiment was being organized. Under the call of the Presi- 
dent for one regiment from I^ew Hampshire, in ten days men 
enough had been enlisted and sent to rendezvous at Concord and 
Portsmouth for more than two. 

On the third of May the President issued a call for twenty 
thousand volunteers for three years, and 'New Hampshire was 
immediately ordered to take no more volunteers for three months, 
but to enlist, uniform, arm, and hold, subject to orders from the 
war department, a regiment of three years men. In consequence 
of this order the alternative was presented to the recruits then at 
Camp Constitution to re-enlist for three years, or be discharged. 
Before this alternative was offered, however, the recruits were 
all re-examined by a surgeon, and those found physically disqual- 
ified for service were discharged. Among these were Edwin M. 
Gowdey, Charles F. Colston, and Joseph F. Garfield from Clare- 
mont. 

During the organization of the Second regiment a misunder- 
standing arose between Captain Austin and one or two of the other 
officers and some of the men, and the company was broken up. 
None of the officers chosen before the company left Claremont 
were commissioned. Captain Austin and Lieutenant Lawrence re- 
turned home, and Lieutenants Dean and Davis re-enlisted for three 
years as privates. Before the company to which Mr. Dean was at- 
tached was mustered he was taken down with rheumatic fever, re- 
ceived an honorable discharge, and came home. Having recovered 
he re-enlisted on the seventeenth of September, 1861, and was 
mustered into Company H of the same regiment. Forty-three of 
the men also re-enlisted for three years, and were put into differ- 
ent companies, while the remainder were either discharged or sent 
to Fort Constitution, Portsmouth harbor, to serve out the term of 
their enlistment. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 255 

Oil the eighth of May, agreeably to AYarrant, a town meeting 
was held, at which a vote was unanimously passed to appropriate a 
sum not to exceed twenty-five hundred dollars, to be paid to sol- 
diers' families wherever and whenever it may be needed, and 
Albro Blodgett was chosen, with discretionary power, to carry out 
the vote. Up to March, 1862, he paid out for this purpose two 
thousand seven hundred and ninety-seven dollars and twenty-three 
cents. 

In most of the churches in town sermons were preached against 
the Rebellion, and prayers offered for the success of our arms in 
putting it down. There was an almost unanimous expression of 
condemnation of the South, and political party lines seemed for a 
time to be almost wholly obliterated. Every man of influence en- 
couraged enlistments, and favored all reasonable measures for ren- 
dering aid to the families of such as had gone or might go to the 
war. Among the most zealous in the work of raising recruits and 
aiding families were many who, as Democrats, opposed the elec- 
tion of Abraham Lincoln for president. 

The ladies kept at work making articles needed by soldiers in 
hospitals and in the field; frequent meetings were held during 
the summer, and a most patriotic spirit was manifested among the 
people. 

HOME GUARD. 

In July a company, called the Home Guard, was organized, con- 
sisting of over a hundred men, many of them past middle age, and 
among the most prominent citizens of the town, all desirous to do 
something for the cause of the country. The company chose the 
following ofiicers : Arthur Chase, captain ; Edwin Vaughan, first 
lieutenant ; John M. Whipple, second lieutenant ; Ira Colby, Jr., 
Francis F. Haskell, Henry S. Parmelee, William D. Eice, ser- 
geants; Joseph Weber, John S. M. Ide, D. C. Colby, and John 
Geer, corporals. The company had frequent meetings for drill, 
and made quite an imposing appearance. 

In June, 1861, the legislature passed an act authorizing towns to 
raise money by vote to aid families of volunteers. 



256 , HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

About the twentieth of July Governor Berry issued an order for 
enlisting, arming, and equipping the Third Infantry regiment for 
three years, or during the war, and Dr. E. C. Marsh was appointed 
recruiting officer for Claremont and vicinity. He soon enlisted 
thirty-two men, twenty-two of whom belonged in Claremont. 
These men left Claremont for the rendezvous at Concord on the 
nineteenth of August. They attended the Methodist church on 
Sunday afternoon, the eighteenth, and the Eev. E. S. Stubbs 
preached a sermon from the text, — " Stand fast in the faith; quit 
you like men; be strong." On other occasions Mr. Stubbs had, 
through his sermons, and in other ways, shown his unconditional 
loyalty and entire devotion to the country; but, on this occasion, 
when addressing men who were about to take their lives in their 
hands and go forth to do battle for the Union, he was particularly 
eloquent and impressive. 

On the twentieth of August the governor issued an order to 
raise the Fourth and Fifth regiments. Dr. Eli C. Marsh was or- 
dered to recruit for the Fourth, and Charles H. Long was ordered 
to raise a company for the Fifth regiment, the men, when enlisted, 
to choose their own company officers. All the men accepted and 
mustered into the service under this call were to receive from the 
state a bounty of ten dollars. The men enlisted by Mr. Long, 
making nearly a full company before leaving Claremont, made 
choice of the following officers : Charles H. Long, captain ; Jacob 
W. Keller, first lieutenant; Charles O. Ballou, second lieutenant, 
who were subsequently commissioned by the governor. 

The last of September Edwin Vaughan was appointed recruiting 
officer, and enlisted several men, who were put into difi'ereut regi- 
ments then being organized. 

On the seventh of February, 1862, news was received by tele- 
graph of the capture of Fort Donelson. The bells of the village 
were rung and the joy of the people was manifested in other ways. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1862, it was voted that 
the selectmen be authorized to borrow a sum of money on the 
credit of the town, not to exceed five thousand dollars, as it may 
be needed, to aid the families of resident volunteers. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 257 

Edward L. Goddard, Aurelius Dickinson, and Alexander Gardi- 
ner were appointed a committee to designate what families were 
entitled to aid, and Sumner Putnam was chosen agent to pay out 
the money, without compensation. 

MEETING OF CONDOLENCE. 

On Sunday afternoon, June 22, 1862, a public meeting was held 
in the town hall as a demonstration of respect for the brave Clare- 
mont men who had been killed at Fair Oaks on the first day of 
that month, and in other battles, or died in hospitals, and of con- 
dolence with their surviving relatives and friends. A committee 
of arrangements had been chosen, and other preparations made, at 
a previous meeting of citizens of the town. Otis F. R. Waite, 
chairman of the committee, called the meeting to order, briefly 
stated its objects, and presided throughout. Rt. Rev. Carleton 
Chase, D. D., bishop of the diocese of New Hampshire, read selec- 
tions from the Scriptures ; Rev. Carlos Marston made the opening 
prayer ; Rev. H. H. Hartwell delivered an address which had been 
carefully prepared, giving some account of each of the soldiers 
who had been killed in battle or died in hospitals, together with 
circumstances connected with the death of each. Short addresses 
were made by Rev. Oliver Ayer, Rev. R. F. Lawrence, and Rev. 
Mr. Marston, of Claremout, Rev. Mr. Piper, of Vermont, Rev. Mr. 
Greeley, a native of Claremont, then settled at Methuen, Mass., 
Rev. Paul S. Adams, of Newport, and others. 

On motion of Bishop Chase, Otis F. R. Waite was chosen histori- 
ographer to keep a record of events in Claremont, which had tran- 
spired or should transpire during the war, having connection with 
it, with a view to its being published in book form after the war 
had closed. During the meeting several appropriate pieces were 
sung by members of the different church choirs in to"\vn. The 
relatives and friends of deceased soldiers w^ere assigned front seats, 
and this was made a kind of funeral occasion. The town hall was 
packed, and, being on Sunday, and clergymen of the several 
churches taking leading parts, made this one of the largest and 
most impressive meetings held in town during the war. 



258 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Early in July E. W, Woodclell was appointed a recruiting officer 
to enlist volunteers for regiments then being formed. On the four- 
teenth, in the evening, a meeting was held for the purpose of en- 
couraging enlistments. Walter Tufts was chosen chairman and 
Joseph Weber, secretary. Spirited speeches were made by D. C. 
Colby, Eev. Messrs. Lawrence and Marston, E. W. Wooddell, 
George R Lathe, and others. 

Pursuant to a call by the selectmen, a meeting was held on the 
evening of the nineteenth of July. Jonas Livingston was chosen 
chairman and C. C. Church, secretary. E. W. Wooddell offered a 
series of resolutions reaffirming confidence in the people, the ex- 
ecutive of the nation, and in the army, and calling upon the people 
to aid in all practicable ways in raising men to fill the regiments in 
the field, and form new ones as they may be needed to meet the 
exigencies of the country. Patriotic speeches were made by Rev. 
Messrs. Marston and Lawrence, E. D. Baker, C. C. Church, E. W. 
Wooddell, and others. 

On the twenty-fifth of the same month another meeting, with 
the same object in view, was held. C. H. Eastman presided. It 
was voted to hold a general county wa;; meeting at the town hall 
in Claremont, on the afternoon of the second of August follow- 
ing, and a committee was appointed to make the necessary ar- 
rangements. 

COUNTY WAR MEETING. 

On the second of August the town hall was crowded to its ut- 
most capacity, and the village was full of citizens of the county. 
Henry Hubbard, ot Charlestown, son of the late Governor Henry 
Hubbard, presided, who, on taking the chair, made some patriotic 
and well-timed remarks in relation to the state of the country and 
the duty of loyal men. Nathaniel S. Berry, governor of the state, 
James W. Patterson, member of congress, James W. Nesmith, 
United States senator from Oregon, A. H. Cragin, United States 
senator for l^ev7 Hampshire, Peter Sanborn, state treasurer, Capt. T. 
A. Barker, of the Second j^ew Hampshire regiment, H. B. Titus, ma- 
jor of the Ninth New Hampshire regiment, and other distinguished 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 259 

gentlemen from abroad, were present and made speeches. The 
hall was handsomely decorated with flags and other emblems ap- 
propriate for the occasion. This was one of the largest and most 
enthusiastic meetings ever held in town. 

At a legal town meeting on the seventh of August, the following 
votes were unanimously passed : 

Voted, That the selectmen be authorized to borrow a sum of money, not 
exceeding five thousand dollars, to pay a bounty to citizen volunteers — the 
sum of fifty dollars to each — to fill the quota of three hundred thousand, 
when mustered into the United States service. 

Voted, That the selectmen be authorized to borrow a sum of money, not 
to exceed three thousand dollars, to pay a bounty of fifty dollars to each 
citizen volunteer who has or may enlist and be mustered into the United 
States service, to fill the last quota of three hundred thousand. 

During the month preceding August 12, 1862, recruiting ofiices 
had been opened in town by Orville Smith, of Lempster, Syl- 
vanus Clogston, of Washington, and E. W. "Wooddell, of Clare- 
mont. Up to that date they had enlisted — Mr. Smith, thirty-five 
men; Mr. Clogston, twenty-six men; and Mr. Wooddell, ten, a 
large share of whom were residents of the town. They were taken 
to Concord to fill old and help to form new regiments, as the men 
themselves might respectively elect. 

About the middle of August William H. Chaflin was author- 
ized to recruit men in this town for regiments then being raised in 
the state, and opened an oflSce for that purpose. 

At a town meeting on the seventeenth of September, 1862, it 
was " Voted to pay all resident citizens who have enlisted under 
the two last calls of the President, and previous to August 11, 
1862, fifty dollars each when mustered into the United States 
service. Also, all those who have enlisted since August 11, 1862, 
one hundred dollars each, when mustered into the United States 
service," and the selectmen were authorized to borrow a sum not 
exceeding eight thousand dollars to carry this vote into effect. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1863, the selectmen were 
authorized by vote to borrow^ not exceeding five thousand dollars, 
to aid families of soldiers, the selectmen to designate who were 



260 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

entitled to aid, and Sumner Putnam was chosen to pay out the 
money, without remuneration. 

On Sunday, May 10, a telegram was received in town announcing 
the capture of Richmond. It was read in the churches, bells were 
rung, cannon fired, and other demonstrations of joy made. But it 
turned out that the telegram was not quite true. 

The surrender of Vicksburg was celebrated in Claremont, July 
7, 1863, by the ringing of bells, firing of cannon, etc. Edward P. 
Johnson, a son about twenty years old of Edwin Johnson, while 
assisting to fire the cannon on Dexter hill, was very severely injured 
by the premature discharge of the gun, losing the right hand, and 
having the other badly mutilated, besides other injuries. Subse- 
quently a considerable sum of money was contributed by citizens 
of the town for his benq£.t. 

On the fifth of August what was left of company G-, Fifth regi- 
ment, came home on furlough. Out of eighty-one men who left 
town under Captain Long, in September, 1861, less than two years 
before, only twelve came home. Twenty-four had been killed in 
battle or died of disease, and the balance had either been dis- 
charged, or were left behind in hospitals. An ovation was given 
these twelve men at the town hall ; addresses were made by several 
gentlemen, and a handsome supper was provided at the Tremont 
House, to which about fifty citizens sat down. After the eating 
had been finished, spirited speeches were made, sentiments oflered, 
and the whole affair passed ofi" very pleasantly. 

On Thursday, the sixth of August, the President's thanksgiving 
for the success of our arms was observed. Business was generally 
suspended. Religious services were held at the Baptist church, the 
Congregationalists and Methodists uniting. All three of the cler- 
gymen took part and made addresses. 

THE DRAFT. 

On the twenty-seventh of August, 1863, the first draft in this 
congressional district took place at West Lebanon. Mnety-seven 
men were drafted for Claremont, only four of whom — William S. 
Sturtevant, Jotham S. Toothaker, and Charles H. Parmelee, — 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 261 

entered the army. All the others were either rejected by the ex- 
amining surgeon as unfit for duty, paid commutation, or furnished 
substitutes. 

On the twenty-first of September, in town meeting, it was voted 
to pay drafted men, or their substitutes, three hundred dollars each 
and the selectmen were instructed to borrow the money therefor. 

On the seventh of December the town ofifered a bounty to her 
citizens who should enlist of three hundred dollars in addition 
to other bounties. At a previous meeting it had been voted to 
pay to each volunteer six hundred dollars, the town taking an 
assignment of the state and government bounties. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1864, the selectmen were 
authorized to borrow a sum, not exceeding six thousand dollars, to 
aid the families of volunteers and drafted meu. Sumner Putnam^ 
as agent, had paid to families of soldiers the preceding year the 
sum of 15,558.39. 

In May, 1865, there was another draft at the provost-marshal's 
office, "West Lebanon, to make up all arrearages, and thirteen men 
were drafted for Claremont, all of whom were exempted by the 
examining surgeon, or furnished substitutes. In June, eight more 
men were drafted for this town, to make up deficiencies in her 
quota under all calls, none of whom entered the army. 

At a town meeting on the twenty-third of June, it was voted to 
instruct the selectmen to " pay a sum not exceeding six hundred 
dollars to any person who has, or may hereafter, enlist and be mus- 
tered into the service of the United States, and counted on the 
quota of this town for the present or any future call." The select- 
men were also instructed to proceed forthwith to enlist men, as 
opportunity may olfer, in anticipation of future calls. 

In August, 1864, the selectmen ofifered, for men to enlist into 
the army, bounties as follows : Two hundred for one, and three 
hundred dollars for three years, besides the bounties offered by 
the state and United States, amounting in all, for three years' men, 
to eleven hundred dollars. 

At the annual town meeting in March, 1865, by vote, the 
town treasurer was authorized to borrow a sum, not exceeding 



262 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

seven thousand dollars, to aid the families of volunteers and drafted 
men. 

William E. Tutherly was appointed military agent to provide 
soldiers to fill all quotas of the town the ensuing year. 

On the morning of the fourteenth of April, 1865, news of the 
taking of Kichmond came by telegraph, followed on Monday morn- 
ing, the nineteenth, by this telegram : 

OflScial. Lee and his whole army surrendered on Sunday afternoon. Gloria! 

This was soon followed by a telegram from Governor Gilmore 
to the selectmen, ordering them to fire one hundred guns, at the 
expense of the state, in honor of the overthrow of the Rebellion. 
Business was immediately suspended; the stores closed; men, 
women, and children were upon the streets; all the church, mill, 
and school bells were rung; and the order of the governor was 
executed emphatically upon the common. Everybody rejoiced at 
the final overthrow of the greatest rebellion on record. A meeting 
was notified to be held at the town hall in the evening. 

At the appointed time the town hall was filled as it had seldom 
been filled before. The multitude was called to order by Charles 
M. Bingham, and Moses R. Emerson was chosen chairman, who 
stated the objects of the meeting, and made some pertinent remarks. 
Rev. Edward W. Clark, pastor of the Congregational church, 
opened the meeting with prayer. The congregation then united 
in singing, in a most thrilling manner, " Praise God, from whom 
all blessings fiow," to the tune of " Old Hundred." The glee 
club, under the direction of Francis F. Haskell, next sang a pat- 
riotic piece. Spirited addresses were made by Rev. Messrs. J. 
M. Peck, Edward W. Clark, and E. S. Foster, Hosea W. Parker, 
Edward D. Baker, Ira Colby, Jr., and others. The audience arose 
and joined in singing " America," as it is sung only when its 
eloquence and beauty are fully felt by those who sing it. The 
meeting dissolved to witness a display of fireworks outside. Many 
of the public buildings and private residences were handsomely 
illuminated, and Jefferson Davis and John C. Breckinridge were 
burned in effigy on the common. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 263 



ASSASSINATION OF ABRAHAM LINCOLN. 



On the morning of the fifteenth of April came a telegram an- 
nouncing the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, president of the 
United States, the night before. This news turned the rejoicing 
of the loyal people of the North to sincere and deep mourning. 
On Wednesday, the nineteenth of April, in accordance with rec- 
ommendation from Washington, and special proclamation of the 
governor of New Hampshire, the obsequies of the President were 
observed. Business of every kind was entirely suspended; at 
twelve o'clock the church bells were tolled; minute guns were 
fired, and the people assembled at the tow^n hall to pay their 
respects to the memory and worth of the murdered President, 
Abraham Lincoln. Never did the people of Claremont more sin- 
cerely mourn than on this occasion. Rev. Edward W. Clark 
read the governor's proclamation, and made the opening prayer. 
An appropriate piece was sung by the choir, under the direction 
of Francis F. Haskell. Rev. E. S. Foster read selections from 
Scripture; Rev. F. W. Towde offered prayer; addresses were made 
by Rev. Messrs. S. G, Kellogg, Moses Kimball, of Ascutneyville, 
Vt., Foster and Towle, of Claremont, Albert Goss, of Auburn, N. 
Y., and Clark, of Claremont. The choir sang the hymn com- 
mencing, " Why do we mourn departing friends ?" to the tune 
of " China," and Rev. Mr. Kimball pronounced the benediction 
in the most solemn manner. 



SUMMARY. 



Whole number of volunteers from Claremont . 
Whole number of drafted men who entered the army 
AVhole number of drafted men who furnished substitutes 
Whole number killed in battle ...... 

Whole number who died of wounds ..... 

Whole number who died or disease 

Whole number who served to the end of the war . 

Number of families who received aid from the town and state 

Amount of town and state aid furnished to families . $26,219.61 

This summary includes all the Claremont soldiers who were 
connected with New Hampshire and other regiments whose his- 



370 
5 

74 
33 
14 
20 
85 

173 



264 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

torj is known. Many re-enlisted, while others served in more 
than one organization, — some in three or four, — which, with 
substitutes furnished, and commutation paid by men who were 
drafted, make the whole number four hundred and forty-nine, of 
soldiers put down to the credit of the town during the war. 

claremont's quota of soldiers. 

The enrollment in Claremont in April, 1865, embracing all 
male citizens of the age of eighteen years, and under forty-five 
years, liable to do military duty, was four hundred and thirteen. 
The whole number who entered the army and navy, from April, 
1861, to April, 1865, was four hundred and forty-nine. This 
includes all enlistments, some of the men having enlisted two or 
more times, the drafted men who furnished substitutes, and those 
who entered the army. The quota required to be sent from each 
town in the state under all the calls for troops, from July, 1863,, 
was proportioned to the number of enrolled militia, as above. 
Claremont's quota was set at one hundred and seventy-seven,, 
and she furnished two hundred and six recruits, being an excess 
of twenty-nine over what she was required to furnish. 

LADIES' SOLDIERS' AID SOCIETIES. 

Immediately after the assault upon Fort Sumter and the call 
of the president for seventy -five thousand volunteers, for three 
months, the ladies of Claremont manifested their zeal in the 
cause of their country by meeting at the house of Mrs. Susan 
J. Adams, to prepare bandages and other articles needed in 
army hospitals. 

In May, 1861, an urgent call came to the ladies for hospital 
stores and garments suitable for sick and wounded soldiers. A 
notice was published in the village papers inviting the ladies to 
meet in Fraternity hall. At the appointed time a large number 
assembled. The meeting was called to order by Miss Elizabeth 
Sprague. Remarks were made urging the importance of organ- 
ized and earnest effort to minister to the comfort of the sick 
and wounded soldiers, and to give to our men articles of cloth- 
ing not furnished them by the government. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 265 

A society called the Ladies' Union Sewing Circle was organ- 
ized by the choice of the following officers: Mrs. M. A. Met- 
calf, president; Mrs. Edward L. Goddard, vice-president; Miss 
Elizabeth Sprague, secretary and treasurer ; Mrs. Obed D. Barnes, 
Mrs. Otis F. R. Waite, Mrs. Lewis Perry, Mrs. Charles H. East- 
man, Mrs. Edward L. Goddard, and Mrs. Mary Blanchard, com- 
mittee to have special care and direction of the work. 

This society met at Fraternity hall daily. The work at first 
was upon flannel garments and other articles for the men en- 
listed by Capt. William P. Austin, a large portion of whom be- 
longed in Claremont. Each man was furnished by this society 
with a pair of woolen drawers, undershirt, towels, pocket hand- 
kerchiefs, woolen socks, pin-flat, and needlebook, well filled 
with useful articles. By special contribution they raised seventy- 
five dollars for rubber blankets, eight dollars and thirty-eight 
cents for havelocks, and thirteen dollars and twenty-nine cents 
for extra pairs of woolen hose. 

The ladies kept at work as well at home as at their stated 
meetings, throughout the summer, for soldiers and hospitals. 
In September Charles H. Long enlisted a company of one hun- 
dred men for the Fifth regiment, all belonging in Claremont 
and vicinity, and each was furnished with bed sack, towels, hand- 
kerchiefs, and woolen hose. 

AUXILIARY SANITARY COMMISSION. 

Early in October, 1861, the United States Sanitary Commis- 
sion sent an appeal to the ladies of Claremont to organize an 
Auxiliary Sanitary Commission, in order the better to systema- 
tize their labors and the manner of sending forward and appro- 
priating to their proper uses the fruits of their liberality and 
labor. In response to a call, the citizens met at Fraternity hall 
on the eleventh of October for this purpose. Simeon Ide, Thomas 
J. Harris, Joseph Weber, Mrs. Edward L. Goddard, Mrs. M. A. 
Metcalf, and Mrs. Charles H. Eastman were appointed a com- 
mittee to canvass the town and secure the co-operation of all 
loyal women in this movement. 

18 



266 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

An adjourned meeting was held on the sixteenth of October, 
when the committee submitted a plan of organization, making 
every lady in town, who would pay into the treasury one dol- 
lar, a member, and proposed the following list of officers, which 
plan and report were adopted : Simeon Ide, president ; Mrs. 
Samuel P. Fiske and Mrs. Leonard P. Fisher, vice-presidents; 
Thomas J. Harris, treasurer; Cyrenus S. Parkhurst, secretary; 
Edward L. Goddard, Frederick T. Kidder, Arthur Chase, Mrs. 
M. A. Metcalf, Mrs. G. W. Lewis, Mrs. Obed D. Barnes, Mrs. 
Edward L. Goddard, Mrs. Charles H. Eastman, and Mrs. Jotham 
G. Allds, directors. 

The directors appointed Mrs. Lewis Perrj^, Miss Marion Kich- 
ards, Mrs. Francis Whitcomb, Miss Diantha Sargent, Miss Alice 
Jones, Mrs. James Goodwin, Mrs. James Brickett, Mrs. Otis F. 
R. Waite, Mrs. Stephen F. Rossiter, Mrs. David F. Tutherly, 
Miss Stella Wallingford, Miss E. M. Bond, Mrs. Albert O. Ham- 
mond, Mrs. Freeman S. Chellis, Mrs. Amos D. Johnson, Mrs. 
Robert R. Bunnell, Mrs. Anson S. Barstow, Mrs. George W. 
Lewis, and Miss Isabella D. Rice to solicit money, hospital stores 
— such as preserves, jellies, pickles, etc., or clothing — to fill a 
box which the society wished to send forward. 

For a time this organization received the active co-operation 
of the gentlemen holding the principal offices, after which they 
seemed occupied with other matters, and early in the winter of 
1861 the ladies took the management and funds of the society, 
Mrs. Samuel P. Fiske acting as president, and Mrs. Edward L. 
Goddard as secretary and treasurer. 

The sewing circle was a Union sewing circle in the fullest 
acceptation of the term. Love of country, love of the brave and 
noble soldiers who left their homes to fight our battles, to suffer 
and die in prison or hospital, helped these patriotic women to 
surmount every obstacle and forget all opposition and discour- 
agement. 

A few ladies of Unity sent valuable contributions, which were 
forwarded in the first boxes sent to Washington from Claremont. 

The meetings were frequent, well attended, seemed to be per- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 267 

vaded by a solemn sense of the importance of the utmost dili- 
gence in the performance of the work in hand, and pleasant to 
all interested in their object. Many ladies, whose names do not 
appear as having any special charge, were among the most ac- 
tive and efficient workers. 

Among the gentlemen in town most active and enthusiastic in 
aiding the ladies in their work, encouraging enlistmeuts, and 
helping soldiers and their families, was Rt. Rev. Carlton Chase, 
bishop of the diocese of New Hampshire. He opened his house 
to the ladies, attended and addressed public meetings, and in 
other ways showed how much he had the cause of the country 
at heart. 

The ladies engaged in this society enlisted for the war, nor 
did they cease their eiForts until Richmond was taken and the 
rebel armies had surrendered. During the existence of this aux- 
iliary society they sent thirty-three large boxes to the United 
States Sanitary Commission rooms in Washington and Boston, 
containing the following articles : 153 pairs woolen drawers, 195 
woolen shirts, 373 cotton shirts, 29 pairs cotton drawers, 1,029 
towels, 901 handkerchiefs, 84 needlebooks, 624 pairs of woolen 
hose, 221 woolen blankets, 333 quilts, 169 sheets, 244 pairs mit- 
tens, 39 comfort bags, 45 vests, 59 pillow sacks, 139 bed sacks, 
261 pillows, 241 pillow cases, 198 pairs slippers, 189 dressing 
gowns, 51 havelocks, 2 collars, 1 military overcoat, 1 military 
dress coat, 1 pair military pants, 1 blouse, 1 linen jacket, to- 
gether with large quantities of dried and canned fruits, pickles, 
bandages, lint, linen and cotton pieces, 75 quarts of wines, and 
50 pounds of cornstarch, books and other reading matter, all of 
which was most generously given by the friends of the soldiers in 
every part of the town. They also sent to the Boston and Balti- 
more fairs, for the benefit of the soldiers, about one hundred and 
fifty dollars' worth of fancy articles, all of which were contrib- 
uted by the ladies of this society. 

The society received of its members and other individuals about 
twelve hundred dollars, four hundred dollars of which was real- 
ized from exhibitions, festivals, and concerts. When they closed 



268 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

their labors, in the spring of 1865, there remained in the treasury- 
one hundred and sixty dollars, which was placed at interest, to be 
appropriated for the erection of a monument in commemoration of 
Claremont's brave soldiers, who gave their lives for the country 
when she needed such sacrifice. 

At the commencement of the war the ladies of West Claremont 
formed themselves into a working band for the soldiers, and met 
together occasionally for work, though much was done at their 
homes. Large numbers of articles were sent to their destination 
during the first few months through the society at the village, after 
which they sent the articles of their industry and benevolence 
direct to Washington. As no ofiicers were chosen, no record of 
the money expended was kept for any length of time. The money 
used and articles given were from residents at West Claremont, ex- 
cept fifty dollars from the Sanitary Commission in the village in 
the winter of 1864-65, placed in the hands of Mrs. Wyllys Red- 
field, and expended for materials which were made up by the 
ladies. During the war not less than eight or ten barrels and 
boxes filled with quilts, shirts, dressing gowns, socks, dried fruits, 
jellies, wines, and other articles, were sent by the ladies of West 
Claremont. 

THANKSGIVING TO SOLDIEKS' FAMILIES. 

In November, 1864, Charles M. Bingham, Nathaniel Tolles, Otis 
F. R Waite, Samuel G. Jarvis, and Walter H. Smith were chosen 
a committee to collect contributions, and distribute to families of 
soldiers, and others in town who were considered needy, provisions 
for Thanksgiving. Citizens freely contributed from their stores 
what was valued in money at thirty dollars and thirty-one cents, 
and, in money, one hundred and twenty dollars and forty-five 
cents, making a total of one hundred and fifty dollars and seventy- 
six cents. The money received was carefully expended for provis- 
ions, which were distributed to one hundred and three families, 
according as the committee judged of their several needs. The 
articles carried to the difierent dwellings consisted of one hundred 
and fifty chickens, seventy-five roasts of beef, weighing from seven 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 269 

to fourteen pounds each, several pieces of fresh pork, a large quan- 
tity of butter, cheese, vegetables, groceries, etc. 

To the credit of the citizens of Claremont it should be recorded 
here that during the four years of that cruel war no soldier's family 
had just cause for complaint that the means of comfort were not 
abundantly and cheerfully provided them ; and sympathy and aid 
extended to such as were called to mourn the loss of husband, 
father, son, brother, or friend, by the casualties of the Rebellion. 



CHAPTER XYin. 

soldiers' monument. 

At tlie annual town meeting in March, 1867, it was voted to ap- 
propriate one thousand dollars for the erection of a monument to 
those Claremont men who had been killed in battle or died in the 
army during the War of the Rebellion, on condition that five hun- 
dred dollars should be raised by subscription, or otherwise, for the 
same purpose. The Ladies' Sanitary Commission appropriated 
the funds — about one hundred and sixty dollars, which they had 
on hand at the close of the war — to this object; and the committee 
of arrangements for the Fourth of July celebration in 1865 also 
appropriated about fifty dollars, which they had after paying ex- 
penses. In addition to this, the ladies obtained in subscriptions 
not exceeding one dollar each — heads of families generally paid 
one dollar, and children of all ages twenty-five cents each — a suffi- 
cient amount to secure the town appropriation ; and these several 
sums, except the thousand dollars appropriated by the town, were 
placed at interest. At the annual town meeting in March, 1868, 
the farther sum of two thousand dollars was voted for this object, 
provided that one thousand dollars should be raised by contribu- 
tion or otherwise. 

At the same meeting Samuel P. Fiske, Benjamin P. Gilman, 
Edward L. Goddard, Charles H. Long, and John L. Farwell were 
chosen a committee to have the whole matter of the monument 
in charge. Early in August, 1868, Frederick A. Briggs, Oliver 
A. Bond, Hosea W. Parker, A. George Boothe, Wm. P. Far- 
well, James A. Cowles, Austin C. Chase, and some other gen- 
tlemen, assisted by several young ladies, gave two very credit- 
able dramatic entertainments in aid of the Soldiers' Monument 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 271 

Fand. A string band extemporized for the occasion, and under 
the joint leadership of Messrs. George W. Wait, of this town, 
and Henry A. Christie, of Christie & Wedger's band, Boston, 
who had his summer home in Claremont, furnished some excel- 
lent music and contributed very much to the entertainment. 
The receipts from this source were about one hundred and fifty 
dollars. Subscription papers were circulated, without limiting the 
amount that each might pay, and other means used to obtain a 
sufficient sum to secure the last two thousand dollars voted by 
the town — making up the whole sum of forty-five hundred dol- 
lars. Many gentlemen subscribed very liberally, while others 
gave according to their means, and the required amount was 
secured. 

The committee decided to place the monument in the park, 
south of the town house, and made a very favorable contract 
with Martin Milmore, of Boston, for a bronze monumental statue 
of an infantry soldier, at rest. When the monument and grounds 
were so nearly completed that a day could be fixed for the dedi- 
cation, the committee called a meeting of the citizens of the 
town, at the town hall, on the evening of July 17, 1869, to take 
measures for the arranging and carrying out of proper exercises. 
At this meeting Edward L. Goddard was chosen chairman, and 
Hosea W. Parker secretary. The following gentlemen were chosen 
a committee to have the whole subject of dedicating the monu- 
ment in charge : Samuel P. Fiske, Benjamin P. Gilman, Edward 
L. Goddard, Charles H. Long, John L. Farwell, Oscar J. Brown, 
John S. Walker, John F. Cossit, IsTathaniel Tolles, Hosea W. 
Parker, J. W. Pierce, Sherman Cooper, Henry Patten, Charles 
H. Eastman, and William H. Nichols. 

At a meeting of the committee of arrangements, it was voted 
to dedicate the monument on the anniversary of the battle of 
Cedar Creek, October 19, 1864, when Gen. Phil. H. Sheridan, by 
his timely arrival on the field, changed a defeat of our arms 
into a glorious victory, taking fifty guns from the enemy. It 
was also voted to invite Dr. J. Baxter Uphani, of Boston, a na- 
tive of the town, and a son of the late George B. Upham, to 



272 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

pronoance an oration. The committee appointed the following 
officers for the day of dedication : President, John S. "Walker ; 
vice-presidents, Edward L, Goddard, George N. Farwell, Samuel 
G. Jarvis, Albro Blodgett, Daniel W. Johnson, James P. Upham, 
Arnold Briggs, Daniel S. Bowker, Edward Ainsworth, Charles 
M. Bingham, William E. Tutherly, Sylvanus S. Redfield, William 
Ellis, Fred P. Smith, Hiram Webb ; secretaries, Joseph Weber, 
Arthur Chase ; chaplain, Edward W. Clark ; marshal, Nathaniel 
Tolles, who appointed for assistants, Edwin W. Tolles, Edward 
J. Tenney, Sherman Cooper, and George H. Stowell. He also 
appointed Otis F. R Waite, Hosea W. Parker, William H. H. 
Allen, and Francis F. Haskell to receive and attend to the com- 
fort of the invited guests. 

Invitations were extended by circulars to many prominent gen- 
tlemen, and by posters to the people generally, to be present and 
join in the ceremonies. The day was ushered in by a salute of 
thirty-seven guns and the ringing of bells at sunrise. A large 
concourse of people, variously estimated at from five to ten thou- 
sand, among them many distinguished ladies and gentlemen 
from towns in this vicinity and the eastern and middle jDortions 
of the state, assembled to do honor to the occasion. 

At half-past nine o'clock a. m., the invited guests were met at 
the station of the Sullivan railroad and conveyed in carriages to 
the village. At ten o'clock a procession, consisting of invited 
guests and officers of the day in carriages, fire companies, posts 
of the Grand Army of the Republic, and citizens, was formed on 
the common under direction of the marshal, and escorted by the 
Stearns Guards of Claremont, headed by the Claremont Cornet 
band, marched through Broad, North, Maple, Elm, Union, Sulli- 
van, Pleasant, Summer, and Broad streets to the speaker's stand, 
at the east side of the common, and facing the monumental statue 
to be dedicated. There was also a stand for the band and choir 
erected against the south wall of the Universalist church. 

Arrived at the stand, the band performed a national air. The 
marshal, Nathaniel Tolles, called the assembly to order, and intro- 
duced Samuel P. Fiske, chairman of the committee of arrange- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 273 

ments, and also chairman of the monument committee, who made 
a short address, giving an account of the inception of the soldiers' 
monument to be dedicated, and the work upon it to completion, 
announced the officers and introduced the president, John S. 
Walker. The president called upon the chaplain, Rev. E, W. 
Clark, who invoked the divine blessing in fitting and eloquent 
terms. 

The president delivered a short address, welcoming, in well 
chosen words, all who were present, as well those of the town 
and county as those from more distant parts. He said that General 
Philip H. Sheridan had accepted an invitation to be present, and 
had been expected until that morning, when a telegram was 
received from him, explaining his inability to be with us. It 
concluded : 

Please say to my old comrades and the good people in attendance how deeply 
I regret not being present with them to do honor to the memory of the gallant 
men from New Hampshire who fell in defense of the Union and their rights. 

At the close of the president's address, the signal being given, 
the American flag, which had enveloped the bronze statue, was 
skillfully lifted therefrom by Samuel P. Fiske, chairman of the 
monument committee, assisted by Benjamin P. Gilman, raised 
to the top of the pole to which it was attached, and floated in the 
breeze over the monument. 

The orator, Dr. J. Baxter Upham, was then introduced, and 
delivered a very appropriate oration, in a voice that could be 
heard by those of the vast crowd most remote from the speaker. 
It was a touching and eloquent tribute to the dead heroes com- 
memorated by the monument. Every word of it is worthy a 
place in this book, but the imperative law of necessity compels 
its abbreviation, at the risk of marring the beauty of the per- 
formance. Among other things the speaker said : 

Standing here, under this gray October sky, near the spot where I was born, 
on an occasion at once so novel and impressive, before these high dignitaries 
of the state, these hero-representatives of our armies, in the presence of this 
vast multitude who have come up hither from all parts of the old county of 



274 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Cheshire, and from more distant towns — many of whom are known to me 
from my childhood — a crowd of tender recollections comes rushing back upon 
my brain. 

The outward world around us remains indeed the same. The same nature 
— undying, undecayed — is here. But all else, how changed! As I look out 
upon these scenes, so familiar and dear to me — this amphitheater among the 
hills, the solemn Ascutney, the meadow and its winding river, — to swim in 
whose waters and skate upon whose glassy surface was a part of my early edu- 
cation, — the sight of the old schoolhouse and the church, these plains and 
valleys and fertile fields, calm and peaceful as of old, I can with difficulty bring 
to myself the reality that some of those who joined with me here in the sports 
of boyhood have passed through the maddening carnage of civil war, and I now 
read their names on yonder tablets — that martyr list of heroes. 

But if, amid all the carnage, political and social, which must needs happen 
in a quarter of a century and more of one's life, it had been possible to foresee 
that "great trial and great task of our liberty" through which we have just 
gone, I could have also foreseen, to a certainty, that the part my native town 
should bear in it would be just the honorable record it has shown. The mili- 
tary history of the state justifies this. The chronicles of the town from the 
first settlement in 1762, have given a warrant and a pledge of it. From among 
the earliest settlers I find the name of Joseph Waite — whether or not an an- 
cestor of our respected fellow-citizen of that name to whom we are all so much 
indebted for his valuable and painstaking history of our Claremont soldiers in 
the recent struggle I cannot say — Colonel Joseph Waite, who, on the authority 
of Mansfield, the annalist, had already won distinction in the French and Indian 
war, was a captain in Rogers's famous corps of Rangers in 1759, and com- 
manded a regiment in the war of the Revolution, — Captain Joseph Taylor, 
who, in 1755, was taken by the Indians and sold to the French, but escaped 
and took part in the siege of Louisburg, and afterward in the Revolutionary 
struggle, and died at the good old age of eighty-four, in 1813, — Hon. Samuel 
Ashley, a man of note in our annals, who had served with credit in the old 
French war, and filled many offices of civil trust in the town, and others of 
like distinction, who might be named if the time would permit. And imme- 
diately upon the outbreak of hostilities in 1775, I find the names of several of 
our citizens upon the muster rolls of the First New Hampshire regiment — that 
honorable regiment which, under the gallant Stark, was conspicuous at Bunker 
Hill, and which followed the varying fortunes of the patriot army till the final 
capitulation at Yorktown. The men of Claremont bore their part also in the 
second war with England, on the field where Miller and McNeil so nobly up- 
held the honor of the state. In later struggles — in Texas, under Houston — 
one life from here, at least, went down to its unknown grave. Nor were the 
Florida and Mexican wars without their representatives from this devoted town. 

So, when the news came that treason and rebellion had burst forth into 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 275 

actual hostilities on that memorable twelfth of April, 1861, true to the old 
honor and name, the citizens of Claremont, with one accord, sprang to meet 
the issue. I need not recall to your minds with what alacrity the whole com- 
munity came together, each vying with the other in encouraging enlistments, 
and furnishing that material which has well been called "the sinews of war" 
— pledging, if need be, in the spirit and language of the Revolutionary fathers, 
"their lives, their fortunes, and their sacred honor," — womanly hands, too, 
taking up the good work, and laboring earnestly and unceasingly for the same 
noble end — all this is still fresh in your memories. 

Within three days of the President's proclamation and call for seventy-five 
thousand men to suppress a rebellion against the government of the United 
States, and immediately upon the order issued by the governor for a regiment 
to be raised in this state to serve for three months, an office was opened here 
for enlistments; "the young men," says our historian, "flocked in faster than 
they could be examined and sworn." On the thirtieth of the same month, 
Major Waite set forth, with the eighty-five patriot soldiers recruited by Captain 
Austin, for the rendezvous of the regiment at Concord — a full company, nearly, 
from this town of about four thousand inhabitants, — and if the whole popu- 
lation of the state had been represented in the same ratio, instead of a single 
regiment of seven hundred and eighty rank and file, enough for more than ten 
regiments could have been had on this first call to arms. As it was, more 
than enough for two regiments volunteering, the Claremont men were sent to 
Portsmouth, where, at the second call of the President, on the third day of 
May, for three hundred thousand men for three years, one half of this company 
at once re-enlisted, the remainder being discharged for disability or sent to the 
defense of the sea coast at Fort Constitution. This was the first offering of 
some of its noblest representatives sent forth by this town to battle with 
the Rebellion. They could have been urged by no other than the purest mo- 
tives of patriotism — with no prospect of reward save the proud consciousness 
of doing their duty. 

This regiment, in which they finally enlisted, was virtually the first of the 
New Hampshire regiments in the War of the Rebellion, though still retained 
as the second in nomenclature of the New Hampshire line — first, as it was, at 
least, coeval in its organization with the three months' regiment which preceded 
it, by a little, to the field of strife, — first, as it had the priority in its actual 
baptism of fire and of blood. Not to lay undue stress upon this point, I may be 
pardoned for dwelling somewhat on the exploits of this gallant regiment, from 
the circumstances I have already named, and from the fact that it was my proud 
good fortune, at the head of a thousand sons of New Hampshire, to welcome 
its full ranks as it passed through Boston on its way to Washington, on the 
twentieth of June, 1861 ; and therefore I have followed its onward career with 
more than ordinary interest. It alone, among the regiments of our state, par- 
ticipated in the first great battle of Bull Run, doing all, under its brave leaders. 



276 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

that valor and determination could do to breast the woful disasters of that day 
— giving in the death of Andrew J. Straw of this town, the first New Hamp- 
shire martyr to freedom, slain in battle, in this war. The loss of the regiment 
in killed and wounded was severe. Its gallant colonel was stricken down at 
the head of his command, early in the action, but returned and continued in 
the fight. It went into the fray with full ranks and buoyant spirits. It came 
out of it with at least equal honor with any other of that patriot army, which 
then and there learned the stern but salutary lesson of a first defeat. Its next 
•experience was at the siege of Yorktown, and immediately afterward, at the 
sanguinary battle of Williamsburg, where it fought with honor and with varying 
success, with the loss of about one hundred men. We bear of it next at Fair 
Oaks and Malvern Hill, and in most of the bloody battles of the memorable 
seven days fight and retreat to the James river. The following year, after 
■consecrating itself to the cause at the second Bull Run, where it behaved with 
distinguished gallantry, losing ten of its twenty-one commissioned officers, and 
one hundred and thirty-two of the little more than three hundred rank and 
file with which it entered the fight, it encamped at night on the identical spot 
where it formed its first line of battle in 1861. Thence its route was direct 
to Chantilly and Fredericksburg, in which last it found in the general-in-chief 
of the army, its tried and faithful leader, under whom, as colonel commanding 
a brigade, it had fought at the first Bull Run. In the memorable battle of 
Gettysburg its gallantry was conspicuous, suffering a loss, in killed and wounded, 
of a majority of its field and line officers, and more than one half of its rank 
and file. The next year finds the regiment engaged in the action at Drury's 
Bluff — the battle of Cold Harbor and second Fair Oaks, and the siege of 
Petersburg. This was after it had returned to New Hampshire, been reorgan- 
ized, had incorporated into its ranks the residue of the Seventeenth, a nine 
months regiment, and otherwise recruited its shattered forces, and came back 
with a renewed vigor to the scene of conflict. The regiment was subsequently 
in several skirmishes and minor engagements, losing heavily in the aggregate 
— took part, under Butler, in the defense of Bermuda Hundred — and on the 
third of April, 1865, entered the city of Richmond and encamped on its out- 
skirts, amid the smoke and cinders of the burning capital. Here it remained 
until after the surrender at Appomattox. It was not until the twenty-sixth of 
December following that the corps was finally paid off and disbanded, having 
enlisted earlier and remained later in the field than any other permanent organi- 
zation from the state. 

"The roll of this regiment," writes one of its field officers, "presents, since 
its organization, a list of more than three thousand names. Every regiment 
from New Hampshire, with two exceptions, has been supplied, in part, with 
officers from its ranks. The rosters of more than thirty regiments in the field 
contain the names of those who were identified with it. It has marched six 
thousand miles, and lost in action upwards of one thousand men." 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 27T 

On the marble tablets in yonder town hall, which from henceforth shall be 
a memorial hall as well, we may trace the names of seventy-three young men 
who fought in these armies and voluntarily laid down their lives upon the altar 
of their country — more than a seventh part of the four hundred and nine, 
who, from first to last, enlisted here — so many, alas, in number, that there is 
not room for them upon the entablature of this or any common monument. I 
could wish it were possible to write them, one and all, in letters of living lights 
on the sides of these everlasting hills, that they might be read and known of 
all men. 

Suffer me, reverently, to speak to you some of these familiar names : 
Colonel Alexander Gardiner, commanding the Fourteenth regiment, — the 
model of a faithful, efficient officer, the scholar, and the accomplished gentle- 
man, — Captain William Henry Chaffin, acting lieutenant-colonel of his regi- 
ment, and Lieutenant Henry S. PauU — both brave and true men, killed at the 
same time that their beloved commander was mortally wounded at the battle 
of Opequan creek, near Winchester, on the nineteenth day of September, 1864 
— over whose remains, with others slain in that memorable engagement, a 
grateful state has placed a monument on the field. 

Lieutenant Ruel G. Austin, mortally wounded at the battle of Gettysburg. 
Lieutenant Charles O. Ballou, "whose memory shall be kept," wrote the 
captain of his company, "so long as the banner of the glorious Fifth continues 
to wave." 

Lieutenant Robert Henry Chase, "than whom New Hampshire has sent na 
braver man to the field," said the commanding officer of his regiment. 

Lieutenant Samuel Brown Little, stricken down in the thickest of the fight 
at Antietam, and though still disabled, hastened to Fredericksburg, to receive 
there his mortal wound. 

Lieutenant George Nettleton, whose last words to his wife were, — "If I falU 
remember it was at the post of duty and in a noble cause." 

Lieutenant William Danford Rice, — "too well known and loved for any words 
of mine to add to or detract," wrote Lieutenant-Colonel Whitfield of him. 

Sergeant Luther A. Chase, Sergeant Horatio C. Moore, Sergeant Edward F. 
Moore, Sergeant Ard Scott, Sergeant George E. Rowell, Sergeant Charles W. 
Wetherbee, — " Dead on the field of battle." 

There remains unread a still larger list of the honored dead — equally high 
on the martyr roll of fame; indeed, it is the peculiar feature of this war that 
in the rank and file of the patriot army are to be found instances innumerable 
of heroic daring — of devotion, of self-sacrifice, and Christian patriotism — that 
can hardly be paralleled in the annals of war in the world. To name two or 
three only of such instances : Take young Putnam of the Second, who in the 
hurried and disastrous retreat of the first Bull Run, found time to go out of 
his way to visit his wounded associates in the hospital, and to get water for 
his dying comrades, under the storm of the enemy's shot and shell — of whom 



278 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

his commanding officer wrote, " His kindness and manly bearing had taught 
me to love him like a brother ; " and Neal, of the Third, whose last regret 
was that he " had but one life to give to his country; " and Hart, of the Fifth, 
— Charles A. Hart, — who, when mortally wounded and left upon the field, 
did just what immortalized the name of Sir Philip Sidney at the battle of Zut- 
phen — declined the proffered aid to himself in favor of another at his side who 
seemed to him to need it more. But I forbear. 

Surviving heroes! — who so freely offered yourselves to death and yet live — 
to you and your children and your children's children belongs the legacy of this 
goodly day. 

Spirits of the heroic dead! — slain in battle, or dead of wounds or disease, of 
exposure or starvation, — martyrs to your country and to liberty, — if from your 
serene abode it be permitted you to take cognizance of things here, — to you 
and to your beloved memory we dedicate this offering of our admiration and 
our love. Nay, rather, in the undying words of our martyr president, "It is 
altogether fitting and proper that we should do this thing. But, in a larger 
sense, we cannot dedicate — we cannot consecrate — we cannot hallow — the 
ground where rests our heroic dead. It is for us. the living, rather to be ded- 
icated to the work they have so nobly achieved. It is rather for us to take 
from these honored dead, increased devotion to the cause for which they gave 
the last full measure of devotion; to highly resolve that the dead shall not 
have died in vain — that this great nation shall, under God, have a new birth 
of freedom, and that the government of the people, by the people, and for 
the people, shall not perish from the earth." 

After the oration, ''America" was sung by the choir, under the 
leadership of Moses E. Emerson. The president then introduced 
Gov. Onslow Stearns, who made a short address, followed with ad- 
dresses by ex-Govs. Walter Harriman, Frederick Smyth, United 
States senator James W. Patterson, Col. Mason W. Tappan, and 
ex-congressman Jacob H. Ela. The exercises closed by the sing- 
ing, by the choir and all present, of that grand old ascription, 
" Be Thou, O God, exalted high." 

The procession was then re-formed and marched to the Tremont 
House, where the invited guests, the committee of arrangements, 
officers of the day, and citizens, in all about eighty, ladies and gen- 
tlemen, at four o'clock partook of a sumptuous dinner. Members 
of fire companies and posts of the Grand Army were liberally pro- 
vided for by contributions of citizens, at the town hall, where tables 
were laid for about five hundred. After these had eaten, the doors 




CHARLES H. LONG. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 279 

were thrown open to the multitude, and not less than one thousand 
were fed in this way. There was a great quantity of food left, 
which was carefully gathered up and distributed to such as needed it. 

THE MONUMENT. 

The monument consists of a handsome granite pedestal, seven 
feet high, surmounted by a bronze statue of an infantry volunteer 
soldier, of heroic size, in full regulation uniform, leaning in an easy 
and graceful way upon his gun. Beneath the statue, on the gran- 
ite die, is the following inscription : 

" ERECTED 

IN HONOR OF THE SOLDIERS 

OF 

CLAREMONT, 

WHO DIED 

IN THE REBELLION OF 1861-65, 

BY THEIR GRATEFUL 

FELLOW-CITIZENS, 

1869." 



FINANCIAL STATEMENT. 

Receipts. 
E. L. Goddard, for Fourth of July committee of 1865 ; 

principal, $47.00; interest, $13.00 $60.00 

Mrs. E. L. Goddard, Treasurer Auxiliary Sanitary Com- 
mission: principal, $150.00; interest, $41.25 . . 191.25 
From subscriptions of 1867 : principal, $642.72 ; interest, 

$95.37 738.09 

Dramatic company 94.00 

Subscriptions, 1869 970.63 

Town appropriations for monument and park improve- 
ments, as per vote of 1867-68 . . • . . 3,500.00 

Total $5,553.97 

Disbursements. 

Martin Milmore, for monument $4,000.00 

E. Batchelder, for granite curbing 250.00 

Concrete walk and grading 807.23 

Fence, $337.14; labor, $159.60 496.74 

Total .......... $5,553.97 



CHAPTER XIX. 

MEMORIAL TABLETS — RECORD OF SOLDIERS. 

The large number of those Claremont men who were killed in 
battle and died of wounds or disease while in the service, rendered 
the inscription of all their names upon the monument impracti- 
cable; therefore marble tablets were erected in the town hall — 
bearing the following Roll of Honor, except that the date and man- 
ner of death of each is added here, to perpetuate more fully their 
record : 

CITIZEN SOLDIERS OF CLAKEMONT WHO DIED FOR THEIR COUNTRY IN THE 
WAR OF THE REBELLION, 1861-65. 

Colonel Alexander Gardiner. 14th Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded at 
the battle of Cedar Creek, near Winchester, Va., Sept. 19, 1864. Died of 
wounds Oct. 8, 1864. 

Captain William Henry Chaffin. Co. I, 14th Eegt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the 
battle of Cedar Creek, near Winchester, Va., Sept. 19, 1864. 

Lieutenant Ruel G. Austin. Co. A, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Wounded at the 
battle of Gettysburg, Pa., July 6, 1863. Died of his wounds at Baltimore, Md., 
July 26, 1863. 

Lieutenant Charles O. Ballou. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the 
battle of Fredericksburg, Va., Dee. 13, 1862. 

Lieutenant Robert Henry Chase. Co. G, 5th Eegt. N. H. Vols. Killed at 
the battle of Ream's Station, Va., Aug. 25, 1864. 

Lieutenant Samuel Brown Little. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Wounded 
at the battle of Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. Died of wounds at Fal- 
mouth, Va., Dec. 24, 1862. 

Lieutenant George Nettleton. Co. G, 5th Eegt. N. H. Vols. Wounded at the 
battle of Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. Died of wounds Dec. 23, 1862. 

Lieutenant Henry S. Paull. Co. I, 14th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the 
battle of Cedar Creek, near Winchester, Va., Sept. 19, 1864. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 281 

Lieutenant William D. Kice. Co. G, 9th Regt. N. H. Vols. Supposed killed 
at Poplar Grove Church, Va., Sept. 30, 1864. 

Daniel S. Alexander. Co. F, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of 
Drury's Bluflf, Va., May 13, 1864. 

Oscar C. Alien. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Philadel- 
phia, Pa., Oct. 2, 1862. 

James P. Bascom. Co. G, 9th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Fal- 
mouth, Va., Dec. 25, 1862. 

Samuel O. Benton. Co. E, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in battle at Ream's 
Station, Va., Aug. 16, 1864. 

Horace Bolio. Co. F, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Gettys- 
burg, July 2, 1863. 

Amos F. Bradford. Co. G, 9th Regt. N. H, Vols. Died of diphtheria at 
Paris, Ky., Nov. 10, 1863. 

Josiah S. Brown. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of 
Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. 

James Burns. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Gettys- 
burg, Pa., July 3, 1863. 

Charles F. Burrill. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of 
Gettysburg, Pa., July 2, 1863. 

Charles E. Ballou. Died at Washington, D. C, of disease, Feb. 18, 1864. 

Samuel S. Carleton. Fourth Battalion, Mass. Rifles. Died at Claremont, 
K. H., Jan. 23, 1867, of wounds received in battle. 

Luther A. Chase. Co, G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of 
Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1863. 

Wyman R. Clement. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Wash- 
ington, D. C, Aug. 1, 1861. 

Joseph Craig. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Gettys- 
burg, Pa., July 2, 1863. 

Albert G. Dane. Co. A, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died while prisoner at Salis- 
bury, N. C, Feb. 3, 1865. 

Ziba L. Davis, Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Falmouth, 
Va., Jan. 12, 1863. 

James Delmage. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Fair 
Oaks, Va., June 1, 1862. 

Edward E. French. Co. E, Berdan's Sharpshooters. Wounded at the battle 
of Cold Harbor, Va., June 19, 1864. Died of wounds Sept. 7, 1864. 

Moses Garfield. Co. H, 7th N, H. Vols. Died of disease at Goldsborough, 
N. C, June 29, 1865. 

19 



282 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

John Gilbert. Co. F, 3d Kegt. ]Sr. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Deep 
Run, Va , Aug. 16, 1864. 

Frederick W. Goddard. Co. H, 44th Regt. Mass. Vols. Died of disease at 
Pemberton Square Hospital, Boston, July 3, 1863. 

Charles B. Graudy. Co. A, 62d Regt. N. Y. Vols. Died of disease at Wash- 
ington, D. C, Oct. 16, 1861. 

David H. Grannis. Co. A, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Hilton 
Head, N. C, March 4, 1863. 

Timothy Grannis. Co. E, U. S. Sharpshooters; mustered Sept. 9, 1861; died 
suddenly in camp at Washington, D. C, Jan. 31, 1862. 

Chester F. Grinnels. Co. G, oth Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of 
Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. 

Charles A. Hart. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Fred- 
ericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. 

Elisha M. Hill. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of wounds received in 
battle, Oct. 27, 1862. 

Damon E. Hunter. Co. G, oth Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded at the 
battle of Fair Oaks, Va., June 1, 1863. Died June 22, 1862. 

William L. Hurd. Co. F, 3d Regt. Vt. Vols. Killed at the battle of Lee's 
Mills, Va. April 16, 1862. 

John S. M. Tde. Co. E, Berdan's Sharpshooters. Killed in an engagement 
at Yorktown, Va., April 5, 1862. 

Joseph W. Kelly. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H, Vols. Died of disease on passage 
from Fortress Monroe to Washington, in May, 1862. 

Walter B. Kendall. Co. F, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in front of Peters- 
burg, Va., June 16, 1864. 

J. Fisher Lawrence. Co. H, 7th Regt. X. H. Vols. Died of disease at Port 
Royal, S. C, Aug. 8, 1862. 

Charles B. Marvin. Co. G, 9th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in the battle of 
Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. 

Noah D. Merrill. Co. D, 2d Regt, N. H. Vols. Died of wounds received in 
battle, Sept. 16, 1862. 

Edward F. Moore. Troop L, First New England Cavalry. Killed in the 
battle of Gettysburg, Pa., July 2, 1863. 

Horatio C. Moore. Co. F, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded in the 
battle of James Island, S. C, June 16, 1862. Died June 19, 1862. 

Ransom M. Neal. Co. A, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Hilton 
Head, S. C, Oct. 30, 1862. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 283 

Everett W. Nelson. Co. H, 7th Regt. N. H. Vols. Wounded and taken 
prisoner at Fort Wagner, July 18, 1863. Died July 24, 1863. 

Charles H. Nevers. Co. G, oth Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in battle at White 
Oak Swamp, Va., June 30, 1862. 

Frederick A. Nichols. Co. F, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded near 
Bermuda Hundred, June 16, 1864. Died next day. 

Lyman F. Parrish. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of small-pox in gen- 
eral hospital, West Philadelphia, Feb. 20, 1863. 

William E. Parrish. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Wounded and taken pris- 
oner in the battle of the Wilderness, and is supposed to have died at Ander- 
son ville. 

Joel W. Patrick. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Clare- 
mont, N. H., Aug. 15, 1862. 

Henry W. Patrick. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Clare- 
mont, N. H., Aug. 20, 1868. 

Joseph Peno. Co. C, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of James 
Island, June 16, 1862. 

Charles E. Putnam. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in the battle of 
Williamsburg, Va., May 5, 1862. 

George H. Putnam. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in the battle of 
Cold Harbor, Va., June 3, 1864. 

George Read. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Newark, N. 
J., Sept. 9, 1862. 

Edgar T. Reed. Co. G, 6th Regt. N. H. Vols. Shot while attempting to ar- 
rest a deserter in the autumn of 1864. 

Willis Redfield. 15th Regt. Conn. Vols. Died of yellow fever at Newbern, 
N. C, Oct. 11, 1864. 

Charles D. Robinson. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed in the battle of 
Fredericksburg, Va., Dec. 13, 1862. 

George E. Rowell. Co. H, 11th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Bal- 
timore, Md., April 10, 1864. 

George W. Russell. Co. G, 9th Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded at the 
battle of Antietam, Md., Sept. 17, 1862, and died next day. 

Ard Scott. Co. F, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Taken prisoner at Darbytown, Va., 
Oct. 1, 1864. Died of starvation and exposure at Salisbury, N. C, Nov. 20, 
1864. 

Charles N. Scott. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle of Fair 
Oaks, Va., June 1, 1862. 

Edward E. Story. Co. G, 6th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Hatteras 
Inlet, March 4, 1862. 



284 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Andrew J. Straw. Co. H, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Wounded at the battle of 
Bull Run, Va., July 21, 1861, and is supposed to have died in the hands of the 
enemy. 

Roland Taylor. Co. G, 6th Regt. N. H. Vols. Mortally wounded at the 
battle of Gettysburg, Pa., July 2, 1863, and died a few days afterward. 

Horace A. Tyrrell. 2d Regt. Mass. Cavalry. Died of disease on his way 
home, after discharge, Dec. 30, 1865. 

Harvey M. Wakefield. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease in 
hospital, July 5, 1862. 

George O. Webb. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease at Camp 
Fair Oaks, Va., June 15, 1862. 

Charles W. Wetherbee. Co. G, 5th Regt. N. H. Vols. Killed at the battle 
of Fair Oaks, Va., June 1, 1862. 

John F. Wheeler. Co. A, 2d Regt. N. H. Vols. Taken prisoner at the bat- 
tle of Bull Run, Va., July 21, 1861. Exchanged and died on shipboard, between 
Salisbury, N. C, and New York. 

Norman F. Whitmore. Co. A, 3d Regt. N. H. Vols. Died of disease, occa- 
sioned by wounds, at Jacksonville, Fla., June 9, 1864. 

Augustus E. Woodbury. Co. H, 7th Regt. N. H. Vols. Taken prisoner at 
Olustee, Fla., Feb. 10, 1864. Died at Andersonville, Ga., June 23, 1864. 

RECORD OF SOLDIERS. 

In the following pages is given, alphabetically arranged, in their 
order by regiments, the names and dates of death of each Clare- 
mont soldier who has died since the close of the war, in April, 
1865 ; and also the record of those who are now living, their places 
of residence, and if in receipt of pension from the United States 
government, so far as it has been possible to obtain these facts con- 
nected with each one. 

FIRST KEGIMENT. 

For reasons heretofore stated, there were no Claremont men in 
this, the only three months regiment from New Hampshire. 

SECOND REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Gilman Marston, colonel. It 
was organized . at Portsmouth, the muster into the United States 
service completed, and it left the state for the seat of war on June 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 285 

20, 1861. It was finally mustered out and its men paid oflf and 
discharged at Concord on the twenty-sixth of December, 1865. 

Corporal Heman Allen. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861; discharged June 21. 
1864 ; resides at the West. 

Selden S. Chandler. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861; transfeiTed to Fourth 
United States Artillery Nov. 1, 1862 ; died in the service. 

Sergeant Homer M. Crafts. Co. I, mustered June 7, 1861 ; discharged for 
disability May 28, 1862; died at Northampton, Mass., July, 1872. 

John Dean. Co. H, enlisted Sept. 17, 1861; discharged for disability March 
17, 1863; lives at Parsons, Kans. 

John W. Davis. Co. I, mustered June 7, 1861 ; discharged July 21, 1864 ; 
subsequently enlisted in the regular army. 

Edwin M. Gowdey. Co. F, enlisted Sept. 16, 1861 ; discharged June 23, 1863 ; 
was in other service later ; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Edward Hull. Co. I, mustered June 7, 1861; transferred to Second U. S. 
Cavalry Oct. 27, 1862. 

Joseph Levoy. Co. I, mustered June 7, 1861; transferred to Second U. S. 
Cavalry Oct. 7, 1862; lives in Claremont. 

Eugene F. Leet. Co. E, enlisted Sept. 17, 1861 ; discharged on account of 
wound in knee, July 2, 1862; lives in Boston; pensioner. 

Med. Cadet Charles A. Milton. Co. B, mustered June 1, 1861; transferred 
to Medical Department U. S. Army ; died of fever at Mound City, 111., May 15, 
1862. 

William H. Pendleton. Co. I, mustered June 7, 1861; discharged July 21 
1864 ; died at Denver, Col. 

Henry F. Eoys. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861; discharged June 21, 1864; 
lives at Fitchburg, Mass. ; pensioner. 

Sergeant Joseph Richardson. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861 ; discharged June 

21, 1864; lives in New York state. 

J. Parker Read. Co, I, mustered June 7, 1861; discharged for disability Dec. 
23, 1862 ; lives in Chicago, 111. 

John Straw. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861; wounded in leg at Bull Run, 
July 21, 1861, and in foot May 5, 1862; discharged for disability Feb. 1, 1863; 
enlisted in Co. A,,N. H. Heavy Artillery; discharged Sept, 11, 1865; died in 
1867. 

Sergeant George P. Tenney. Co. H, mustered June 5, 1861 ; discharged June 
21, 1864; died at Washington, D. C, Sept. 10, 1892; pensioner. 



286 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

THIRD REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Enoch Q. Fellows, colonel. It 
was organized at Concord and left the state for the front on Sep- 
tember 3, 1861, and the men were paid off and discharged on the 
third of August, 1865. 

Sergeant Albert J. Austin. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; wounded at 
Deep Run, Aug. 16, 1864; discharged July 20, 1865; lives in Boston. 

Alba D. Abbott. Co. A, mustered Aug. 22, 1861 ; mustered out with his regi- 
ment; residence unknown. 

John P. W. Barnard. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; discharged July 28, 
1862, for disability ; residence unknown. 

Sergeant William H. Bigley. Co. A, mustered Aug. 22, 1861 ; discharged 
with his regiment Aug. 3, 1865 ; lives at North Lubec, Me. ; pensioner. 

Charles Carroll. Co. D, enlisted Aug. 29, 1862 ; discharged June 26, 1865 ; 
lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Sanford Colburn. Co. H, enlisted Sept. 19, 1862; wounded in the arm at 
Morris Island, July 10, 1863; transferred to Veteran Reserve Corps; lives in 
Cornish; pensioner. 

Jerome B. Douglass. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; discharged for disa- 
bility June 23, 1864; residence unknown. 

George W. Emerson. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; discharged at end of 
his term of enlistment; died Feb. 3, 1876. 

Corporal Frank W. Evans. Co. A, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; lost an arm at 
Morris Island, S. C, July 10, 1863; discharged Nov. 10, 1863; lives in Wash- 
ington, D. C; pensioner. 

Corporal Tracy L. Hall. Co. H, enlisted Sept. 22, 1862 ; wounded June 16, 
1864; mustered out with his regiment ; lives atKeene; pensioner. 

William C Parkhurst. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; discharged Sept. 23. 
1861 ; died at Springfield, Mass., Jan. 25, 1890. 

John G. P. Putnam. Co. A, enlisted Sept. 19, 1862; prisoner from August, 
1864, to March, 1865; discharged in June, 1865; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

George W. Spencer. Co. K, mustered Aug. 24, 1861 ; mustered out Aug. 23, 
1864 ; lives in Chicago. 

Jotham S. Toothaker. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861; dischai'ged for disa- 
bility Dec. 13, 1862 ; drafted Aug. 27, 1863, and mustered into Co. E, 5th Regt. ; 
wounded June 17, 1864; mustered out with regiment ; lives in Claremont; is 
in receipt of a pension. 

Joel Veasey. Co. F, mustered Aug. 23, 1861 ; discharged at the end of his 
term of enlistment ; lives at West Windsor, Vt. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 287 

Geoi-ge H. Weber. Co. K, mustered Aug. 24, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
July 29, 1862; re-enlisted in Co. D, 8th N. H., Sept. 2, 1862; wounded at the 
storming of Port Hudson, May 27, 1863; discharged on account of wounds, 
Sept. 2, 1863 ; died at Claremont, Jan. 30, 1872. 

FOURTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Thomas J. Whipple, coloneL 
It was organized at Manchester, and left the state for Washington 
on September 27, 1861, and was mustered out of the service August 
27, 1865. 

Corporal George H. Emerson. Co. B, enlisted at Nashua, mustered Sept. 18» 
1861 ; discharged at the end of his term of enlistment; he was the only Clare- 
mont man in this regiment. 

FIFTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Edward E. Cross, colonel. It 
was organized at Concord. It left the state on October 28, 1861, 
and joined Gen. 0. 0. Howard's brigade at Bladenburg, Md. It 
was mustered out at Concord on the eighth of July, 1865. This 
regiment was known as " The Fighting Fifth." A full company 
was enlisted at Claremont by Charles H. Long, a large majority of 
the men being citizens of the town. 

Charles S. Abbott. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
April 4, 1862 ; lives at Melrose, Mass. 

Charles H. Bacon. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Oct. 27, 1862; killed by falling from a building here, July 25, 1877. 

Frank Bolio. Co. H, mustered Dec. 29, 1863; wounded slightly at Cold Har- 
bor, June 3, 1864; deserted from hospital Feb. 21, 1865; lives at Charlestown. 

Thomas Burns. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; wounded severely in the 
hand at Fair Oaks, June 1, 1862, and again in the same hand and right leg at 
Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862 ; discharged on account of wounds June 6, 1863 ; 
lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Sergeant George E. Brown. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for 
disability Sept. 6, 1862 ; lives at Charlestown, Mass. 

Albert W. Brown. Co. F, mustered Dec. 18, 1863 ; wounded severely at Cold 
Harbor, June 3, 1864; lives at Sunapee. 

Corporal Ralph N. Brown. Co. G, mustered Aug. 11, 1862 ; wounded severely 
at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864 ; lives at Concord ; pensioner. 



288 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Corporal Hollis S. Brown. Co. G, mustered Dec. 18, 1863; discharged with 
the regiment ; lives at Concord ; pensioner. 

John Butcher. Co. F, mustered Feb. 28, 1862; wounded severely in battle; 
discharged Nov. 12, 1864; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Selwin R. Bowman. Co. I, mustered Oct. 15, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
July 22, 1862 ; lives in New York city. 

Charles D. Brough. Co. F, mustered Feb. 28, 1862 ; severely wounded at 
Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; discharged on account of wounds; received a 
pension; died at Weathersfield, Vt., July 31, 1879. 

Lieutenant Wendell R. Cook, Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; was succes- 
sively promoted to corporal, sergeant, and second lieutenant; was mustered out 
at the end of his term of enlistment; residence unknown. 

William W. Cook. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; deserted Nov. 18, 1863, 
and again April 10, 1865; died in Claremont, Feb. 1, 1889, 

Samuel Ci'owther. Co. G, mustered Oct, 12, 1861 ; wounded in shoulder at 
Gettysburg, July 2, 1863, and again in both legs at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864 ; 
discharged at the end of his term of enlistment, Oct. 29, 1864 ; drew pension ; 
died in Claremont, May 24, 1885. 

IraD. Cheney. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged July 11, 1862; 
lives at Lowell, Mass; pensioner. 

Elijah S. Carleton. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; wounded at Fredericks- 
burg, Dec. 13, 1862; transferred to V. R. C. July 1, 1863; discharged at the 
end of his term of enlistment ; lives in Claremont. 

Daniel Cummings. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged at the end of 
his term of enlistment; died at Keene, Aug. 4, 1877, 

Lyman H. Cone. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged at the end of 
his term of enlistment ; lives at Windsor, Vt. 

Charles F. Colston. Co. G, mustered Oct., 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Jan. 20, 1863; enlisted in the navy; died in 1866. 

George W. Fairbanks. Co. G, mustered Oct 12, 1861 ; discharged for disa- 
bility Sept. 6, 1862; enlisted in V, R. C. ; discharged Nov. 7, 1865; lives in 
Marlborough ; pensioner, 

James S. A. Gates. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged for disability 
Sept. 3, 1862 ; lives in Boston. 

Israel Germarsh. Co. G, mustered April 20, 1862; deserted in Aug., 1863; 
lives in Claremont. 

Lemuel A. Giles. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; severely wounded in thigh; 
discharged at the end of his term of enlistment. 

Charles B. Hart. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 289 

Nov. 29, 1862; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 30, 1864, for three years; lives in Cali- 
fornia. 

Leander Harriman. Co. G, mustered Sept. 17, 1862; transfeiTed to V. R. C. 
Sept. 1, 1863 ; lives at North Walpole. 

Samuel Henry. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability Sept. 
3, 1862; enlisted in Y. R. C. Aug. 21, 1863; discharged Nov. 7, 1865; lives at 
East Berlin, Conn. ; pensioner. 

Sergeant Levi Johnson. Co. G, mustered Aug. 20, 1862; mustered out May 
30, 1865; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Captain Jacob W. Keller. Co. G, commissioned first lieutenant Oct. 12, 1861 ; 
captain, July 26, 1862; wounded severely in the arm at Fredericksburg, Dec. 
13, 1862; honorably discharged; appointed captain V. R. C. ; after the close of 
the war he was commissioned first lieutenant in the regular army ; he is now re- 
tired and lives in New York city. 

David Latermoulle. Co. H, mustered Jan. 4, 1864; wounded June 3, 1864; 
transferred to V. R. C. Jan. 24, 1865; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Lieutenant John W. Lawrence. Co. E, mustered Oct. 19, 1861 ; appointed 
sergeant ; promoted to second lieutenant ; wounded in the battle of Malvern 
Hill, July 3, 1862; resigned on account of wound Oct. 23, 1862; died at Clin- 
ton, Mass., about 1868. 

Russell Lovejoy. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Feb. 28, 1863; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 30, 1864; discharged Nov. 7, 1865; 
died at West Claremont in 1877. 

Captain Charles H. Long. Co. G, commissioned captain Oct. 12, 1861 ; 
wounded severely in the arm in the battle of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862 ; resigned 
to receive promotion Nov. 6, 1862 ; captain heavy artillery April 17, 1863 ; pro- 
moted colonel Sept. 29, 1864; mustered out June 15, 1865; lives in Claremont; 
pensioner. 

Addison P. Moore. Co, G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged for disability 
Oct. 20, 1862; lives in Claremont; pensioner, 

James P. Milton. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
March 24, 1862; died in Claremont, July 27, 1866. 

James Maley. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; wounded severely at the battle 
of Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862 ; discharged Feb. 28, 1863 ; re-enlisted in Co. 
A, heavy artillery, May 26, 1863, and served to the end of the war, 

Frank E. Marsh. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; mustered out at the end of 
his term of enlistment ; lives in Nashua. 

George W. Moody. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged Aug. 28, 1862; 
lives at Nashua ; pensioner. 

Sergeant Baron S. Noyes. Co. E, mustered Oct. 19, 1861; discharged for 



290 HISTORY OF claremo?;t. 

disability March 4, 1863 ; enlisted in the U. S, Invalid Corps Sept. 9, 1864 ; 
mustered out Nov. 14, 1865 ; pensioner, 

Enos B. Nevers. Co. I, mustered Oct. 15, 1861 ; deserted Oct. 30, 1862; resi- 
dence unknown. 

Daniel J. Nevers. Co. I, mustered Feb. 28, 1862; discharged Dec. 12, 1862; 
enlisted in V. R. C. Dec. 29, 1863; discharged at the end of the war; residence 
unknown. 

David H. Xichols. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged for disability 
Feb. 18, 1863 ; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 24, 1864; discharged for disability May 
6, 1865 ; lives at Haverhill, Mass. 

Corporal Edward P. Pike. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged at the 
end of his term of enlistment ; died in California. 

Sergeant William E. Parrish. Co. F, 2d Regt., from June 4 to July 31, 1861, 
when he was discharged for disability; mustered into Co. G, 5th, Oct. 12, 1861; 
appointed sergeant; discharged for disability Sept. 2, 1862; drafted at St. 
Johnsbury, Vt. ; assigned to 4th Vt. Vols. ; wounded three times at the battle 
of the Wilderness ; taken prisoner, sent to Libby prison, Richmond, from there 
to Andersonville, since which time nothing is known of his fate. 

John J. Prentiss, Jr. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged Nov. 23, 
1863; lives in Chicago. 

Charles H. Parmelee. Drafted at West Lebanon, Aug. 27,1863; mustered 
into Co. F Oct 10, 1863; mustered out June 28, 1865; lives in Claremont; pen- 
sioner. 

Edward A. Parmelee. Drafted at West Lebanon, Aug. 27, 1863 ; mustered 
into Co. F Oct. 10, 1863; wounded severely in foot near Hatcher's Run, Va., 
March 25, 1865 ; taken prisoner and sent to Libby prison ; his foot was ampu- 
tated at the instep by a Rebel surgeon on the field ; discharged June 26, 1865 ; 
lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Julius B. Paul. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; transferred to V. R. C. July 
1, 1863 ; discharged at the end of his term of enlistment ; died at Windsor, Vt. 

John D. Roberts. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged Oct. 28, 1862; 
lives at Newport; pensioner. 

Henry L. Rowell. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; discharged for disability 
March 25, 1862. 

Levi F. Reed. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability Nov. 
26, 1862; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 30, 1864; discharged Nov. 7, 1865 ; died at 
Cambridge, Mass., Jan. 22, 1894. 

David R. Roys. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; wounded at battle of Antie- 
tam; mustered out July 8, 1865; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 291 

William S. Sturtevant. Drafted at West Lebanon, Aug. 27, 1863; mustered 
into Co. F Oct. 10, 186;5; mustered out June 28, 1865 ; lives at Windsor, Vt. 

Elisha S. Sholes. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; wounded severely in right 
side, and again in the leg, at the battle of Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; dis- 
charged on account of wounds; enlisted in "V. R. C. Sept. 12, 1863; discharged 
Nov. 13, 1865 ; died in Olaremont, May 26, 1889. 

Charles E. Severance. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; wounded at Fair 
Oaks, June 1, 1862; transferred to V. R. C. July 1, 1863; lives in Claremont; 
pensioner. 

Corporal Charles L. Severance. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; wounded in 
thigh by minie ball at battle of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; transferred to V. R. 
C. July 1, 1863; mustered out at the end of his term of enlistment ; he still car- 
ries the ball in his thigh ; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Henry S. Silsby. Co. G, mustered Aug. 11, 1862; disabled at the battle of 
Chancellorsville, May 3, 1863 ; transferred to V. R. C and was discharged at the 
end of the war; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Cornelius H. Stone. Co. F, mustered Feb. 28, 1862; taken prisoner at White 
Plains, Va. ; kept at Libby prison and Belle Isle one hundred and fourteen days; 
exchanged ; at the battle of Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864, received ten wounds — 
one through the right arm, breaking it badly; three in the left leg, two with 
minie balls below the knee, a grape shot in the knee ; a minie ball in the side, 
and a piece of shell in the back ; fell into Rebel hands and was robbed of all his 
money and valuable papers ; his leg was amputated above the knee ; lives in 
Wisconsin ; pensioner. 

Samuel J. Thorning. Co. F, mustered April 20, 1862; in the seven days bat- 
tle he contracted disease which terminated in epilepsy ; discharged Jan. 15, 1863 ; 
died at Unity. 

Corporal Matthew T. Towne. Co. E, mustered Oct. 19, 1861 ; discharged for 
disability Dec. 24, 1862 ; died from being hooked in the abdomen by a cow, in 
Sept., 1863. 

Sergeant Sylvanus M. Tyrrell. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; mustered out 
Oct. 29, 1864 ; lives in Chicago. 

Chester F. Tibbills. Co. G, mustered Oct 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
April 22, 1864 ; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Corporal Lucius Veasey. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; wounded in the 
head at the battle of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862; discharged for disability April 
13, 1863 ; lives at Windsor, Vt, ; pensioner. 

Nelson N. Whitmore. Co. G, mustered Sept. 17, 1862 ; wounded severely in 
the leg, in consequence of which he was discharged ; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 
25, 1864 ; mustered out Nov. 7, 1865 ; died in Newport in 1893. 



292 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Lucius C. Webb. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
April 18, 1863 ; lives at Canaan, Me. 

Erank Young. Co. F, mustered Feb. 28, 1862; mustered out with his regi- 
ment; lives at New Bedford, Mass; pensioner. 

Sergeant John E. Young. Co. G, mustered Oct. 12, 1861; wounded in the 
battle of Cold Harbor; mustered out at the end of his term of enlistment; 
lives in Claremont. 

SIXTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Kelson Converse, colonel. 
It was organized at Keene; the muster was completed on the 
thirtieth of November, and it left the state for Washington on 
the twenty-fifth of December, 1861, and joined General Burn- 
side's expedition. It was mustered out of the United States 
service July 17, 1865. 

Surgeon Sherman Cooper. Commissioned assistant surgeon Oct. 17, 1861; pro- 
moted to surgeon March 20, 1863 ; resigned and mustered out of the service 
Nov. 30, 1864; lives at Westfield, N. J. ; pensioner. 

William H. Hadley. Co. G, mustered Aug. 26, 1862; discharged July 1, 
1863 ; lives at Lebanon ; pensioner. 

Charles L. Hadley. Co. G, mustered Nov. 28, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Feb. 3, 1864; enlisted in Co. A, Heavy Artillery, Aug. 30, 1864; mustered out 
Aug. 31, 1865 ; lives in Boston. 

Lieutenant Russell Tyler. Co. G, mustered Dec. 3, 1861 ; wounded May 12, 
1864, and again June 22, 1864; promoted to first lieutenant March 4, 1865; 
wounded again April 2, 1865; mustered out July 17, 1865; lives at Westfield, 
Mass. ; pensioner. 

SEVENTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Haldimand S. Putnam, col- 
onel. It was organized at Manchester, and left the state January 
14, 1862. It was mustered out at Concord July 30, 1865. 

William Dooley. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
July 20, 1862; died at Unity Feb. 3, 1891; received pension. 

John W. Hammond. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1862; discharged for disa- 
bility July 20, 1862; enlisted in Y. R. C. Jan. 31, 1865; mustered out Nov. 7, 
1865. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 293 

Edwin IVIartin. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861; discharged for disability 
July 20, 1862; died in Massachusetts. 

Azro J. Mann. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861; wounded badly at Chatta- 
nooga, Aug. 30, 1863; discharged on account of wound, July 31, 1864; lives 
in Claremont; pensioner. 

Lieutenant Mansel Otis. Co. A, mustered Oct. 29, 1861; promoted to ser- 
geant and to second lieutenant Jan. 1, 1864; residence unknown. 

Corporal Willard C. Severance. Co. H, mustered Dec. 18, 1863; mustered 
out July 20, 1865 ; lives at Riverside, R. I. 

Jesse Sparling. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861; discharged for disability in 
March, 1862 ; died in Claremont Nov. 8, 1893 ; pensioner. 

Sergeant Chester M. Sprague. Co. H, mustered Sept. 5, 1862; wounded Jan. 
19, 1865 ; mustered out July 17, 1865; lives in Claremont. 

Andrew Walker. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861; discharged Sept. 25, 1862; 
died in Illinois. 

George H. Walker. Co. H, mustered Dec. 14, 1861; wounded Feb. 20, 1864; 
mustered out at end of his term of enlistment, Dec. 22, 1864. 

Harvey Ward. Co. A, mustered Oct. 21, 1861; discharged for disability July 
29, 1862; died at Boscawen about 1879. 

There were no Claremont men in the Eighth regiment. 

NINTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Enoch Q. Fellows, colonel. 
It was organized at Concord; left the state on the twenty-fifth 
of August, 1862, and was mustered out of service on the tenth of 
June, 1865. 

George W. Currier. Co. K, mustered Aug. 15, 1862; discharged for disability 
Feb. 29, 1863 ; died in Claremont Aug. 22, 1863. 

Sergeant Newell T. Dutton. Co. E, mustered Aug. 6, 1862; mustered out 
with his regiment; is a Baptist minister at Houlton, Maine. 

Nathan Harris. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; discharged for disability 
Aug. 19, 1863; lives at Cornish; pensioner. 

George W. Kenerson. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; transferred to V. R. 
C. Jan. 15, 1864; mustered out June 30, 1865; lives at Wilmot. 

Charles H. Murphy. Co. G, mustered Aug. 14, 1862; wounded May 8, 1864; 
mustered out June 10, 1865; died at Bellows Falls, Vt. 



294 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Charles B. Mann. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; wounded l[ay 31, 1864; 
transferred to V. R. C. May 1, 1865; mustered out July 1, 1865; lives in Clare- 
mont; pensioner. 

Franklin G. Nevers. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; captured Aug. 30, 1864; 
paroled March 2, 1865 ; mustered out June 2, 1865 ; lives at Gilsum. 

John H. Rugg. Co. G, mustered Aug. 19, 1862; discharged June 26, 1863; 
enlisted in V. R. C. Feb. 18, 1864; died in Claremont Feb. 20, 1893; pensioner. 

Lyman N. Sargent. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; wounded in right ankle 
at the battle of Cold Harbor, May 31, 1864; foot amputated above ankle joint, 
same day upon the field; discharged July 1, 1865 ; lives at Grantham ; pensioner. 

Harvey H. Sargent. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; transferred to V. R. C 
Jan. 16, 1864; mustered out July 13, 1865; lives at Aurora, 111. ; pensioner. 

Samuel C Towne. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; mustered out June 10, 
1865 ; lives at Richmond ; pensioner. 

Corporal Lorenzo M. Upham. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; wounded in 
hand by accidental discharge of his own gun Sept. 17, 1862; discharged on 
account of wound Oct. 30, 1862; residence unknown. 

Sergeant George L. Wakefield. Co. G, mustered Aug. 13, 1862; wounded 
in right arm and missing Sept. 30, 1864; gained from missing; mustered out 
June 10, 1865; lives in Manchester; pensioner. 

TENTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, Michael T. Donohoe, colonel. 
It was organized at Manchester, and left the state on the twenty- 
second of September, 1862, and was mustered out of the service 
at Concord on the twenty-fifth of June, 1865. 

Alfred W. Burrill. Co. A, mustered Aug. 20, 1862; wounded at the battle 
of Fort Harrison, Va., Sept. 29, 1864; mustered out with his regiment; lives 
at Warner ; pensioner. 

John Herrin. Co. F, mustered Aug. 24, 1864; captured at Fair Oaks Oct. 27, 
1864; exchanged March 23, 1865; transferred to Second regiment June 21, 
1865; mustered out July 7, 1865; residence unknown. 

Patrick O'Connell. Co. F, mustered Sept. 1, 1862; transferred to V. R. C. 
Aug. 20, 1863; discharged for disability; died at Philadelphia Sept. 3, 1864. 

ELEVENTH REGIMENT. 

This was a three years regiment, "Walter Harriman, colonel. 
It was organized at Concord, left the state on the eleventh of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 295 

September, 1862, and was mustered out of the service at Con- 
cord on the tenth of June, 1865. Claremont had but one man 
in this regiment, Sergeant George E. Eowell, who died of disease 
at Baltimore, Md., April 10, 1864. 

The Twelfth, Thirteenth, and Fourteenth regiments were raised 
bj congressional districts — the Twelfth in the first district; the 
Thirteenth in the second, and the Fourteenth in the third, com- 
prising the counties of Cheshire, Sullivan, Grafton, and Coos. 
There were no Claremont men in the Twelfth regiment, and but 
one in the Thirteenth. 

Henry V. Freeman. Co. E, mustered Sept. 26, 1862; mustered out June 9, 
1865; lives in North Ashburnham, Mass.; pensioner. 

FOURTEENTH REGIMENT. 

This was the last of the full three years regiments sent to the 
war from New Hampshire. The men composing seven compa- 
nies were enlisted from the four western counties — Cheshire 
county furnished four companies, while Sullivan, Grafton, Coos, 
Carroll, Merrimack, and Hillsborough, each furnished one com- 
pany, Robert Wilson was colonel. The regiment was organized 
at Concord, left the state the first part of October, 1862, and was 
mustered out at Concord on the twenty-sixth of July, 1865. 

John Bowler, Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; discharged for disability July 
9,1863; residence unknown. 

Charles S. Bowker. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; mustered out with the 
regiment ; dead in 1892. 

Fred. L. Barker. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24; mustered out with the regiment; 
lives at Bellows Falls, Vt. ; pensioner. 

Joseph A. Dickey. Co. I, mustered Oct. 6, 1862; mustered out with the 
regiment; residence unknown. 

Sergeant Charles E. Foster. Co. I, mustered Oct. 6, 1862; transferred to V. 
E. C. Dec. 27, 1865; mustered out June 26, 1865; residence unknown. 

Oliver P. Gillingham. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; discharged for disa- 
bility Feb. 5, 1863 ; died April 22, 1863. 



296 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Levi D. Hall, Jr. Co. I, mustered Jan. 14, 1864; mustered out Aug. 14> 
1865 ; lives at Cambridge, Mass. 

Martin V. B. Hurley. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862 ; mustered out June 
12, 1865 ; died at Cornish in 1892 ; pensioner. 

Patrick Hoban. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; mustered out June 8, 1865; 
lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Levi Leet. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; discharged for disability June 
26, 1863; died July 17, 1863. 

Mitchell Oliver. Co. I, mustered Dec. 29, 1863 ; wounded in both egs at the 
battle of Winchester, Va., Sept. 19, 1864; died Nov. 12, 1890; pensioner. 

Sergeant George H. Stowell, 2d. Co. I, mustered Sept. 24, 1862; slightly 
wounded in the battle of Winchester, Sept. 19, 1864; died in Claremont Nov. 
21, 1888 ; pensioner. 

In response to the call of the president, in July, 1862, for three 
hundred thousand nine months troops, the Fifteenth and Six- 
teenth regiments were organized at Concord, sent to the field, 
and mustered out after the expiration of their term of enlistment. 
John W. Kingman was colonel of the Fifteenth, and James Pike 
of the Sixteenth, The Seventeenth regiment was not fully organ- 
ized, but the men enlisted for it were transferred to fill the de- 
pleted ranks of the Second regiment. No Claremont men were 
enlisted for the first two named regiments, and for the last 
only one. 

Harrison Fillmore Hawkes. Co. I, mustered Dec. 5, 1862; transferred to Sec- 
ond regiment; mustered out Oct. 9, 1863; lives in Boston; pensioner. 

Under a call issued in July, 1864, for five hundred thousand vol- 
unteers, six companies were enlisted for the Eighteenth regiment, 
and sent forward as a battalion, which completed the quota of 
the state. Under a call for troops in December, 1864, four other 
companies were enlisted, and Thomas L. Livermore was commis- 
sioned colonel. The last company of this regiment was mustered 
out August 8, 1865. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE CAVALRY. 

In the autumn of 1861 the governors of the six New England 
states were authorized to raise a cavalry regiment of twelve com- 




EDWIN VAUGHAN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 297 

panies — two from each state — to be called the Xew England Cav- 
alry, All these states except Ehode Island and New Hampshire, 
raised each a full regiment ; and Rhode Island raised eight and 
New Hampshire four companies, making another regiment. In 
January, 1864, the four New Hampshire companies were detached, 
and subsequently three more companies were enlisted, and these, 
John L. Thompson, colonel, were called the New Hampshire Cav- 
alry. This organization was discharged at Concord, July 21, 1865. 

Corporal Henry G. Ayer. Troop K, mustered Oct. 24, 1861 ; mustered out 
Oct. 2-i, 1864 ; lives at Washington, D. C. 

Charles S. Allen. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861; mustered out with his 
regiment; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Ethan A. Ballou. Troop I, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
April 19, 1862; enlisted in V. R. C. Jan. 21, 1865; mustered out Nov. 7, 1865. 

William H. Briggs. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; wounded at the bat- 
tle of Chantilly, Sept. 1 , 1862 ; discharged on account of injuries received in 
battle, Jan. 16, 1862 ; lives at Cambridge, Mass. ; pensioner. 

Francis Clark. Troop L, mustered Jan. 8, 1862 ; transferred to V. R. C. Nov. 
15, 1863 ; died in Claremont. 

William H. Fai^well. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; discharged for disa- 
bility Dec. 5, 1862 ; died in Claremont, Oct. 24, 1888. 

Lewis W. Laducer. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; sent to Lincoln hospi- 
tal, Washington, D. C, since which time nothing has been known of him. 

William H. H. Moody. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; discharged by or- 
der Jan. 18, 1862 ; lives in Claremont. 

Sergeant Eli C. Marsh. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; transferred to V. 
R. C. March 4, 1863; died at Nashua, Oct. 7, 1882. 

Heni7 H. Niles. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861; discharged for disability 
June 16, 1862; enlisted in V. R. C. Aug. 25, 1864; mustered out Nov. 7, 1865; 
lives at Cambridge, Mass. 

Captain John J. Prentiss. Troop L, commissioned captain Dec. 3, 1861 ; dis- 
missed Dec. 3, 1863 ; died at Chicago in 1890. 

Captain William P. Prentiss. Troop L, commissioned second lieutenant Dec. 
3, 1861; first lieutenant, Aug. 4, 1862; captain, April 21, 1864; resigned Jan. 
18, 1865 ; lives in Chicago. 

Captain Charles E. Patrick. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; promoted to 
Sergeant ; to first lieutenant, April 15, 1864 ; captain, June 19, 1865 ; mustered 
out as first lieutenant July 15, 1865 ; died Feb. 4, 1875. 



298 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Sergeant Otis G. Robinson. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; discharged 
for disability Sept. 14, 1862 ; died in Claremont, July 8, 1880. 

Samuel J. Sawyer. Troop L, mustered Oct. 4, 1862 ; mustered out with his 
regiment ; residence unknown. 

Corporal George W. Sleeper. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861; wounded 
March 17, 1863 ; mustered out Dec. 27, 1864 ; lives in Vermont. 

Benjamin W. Still. Troop L,* mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; severely injured by his 
horse falling upon him ; discharged in consequence June 4, 1862 ; died at Alstead 
in 1890. 

Corporal James M. Southwick. Troop L, mustered Dec. 27, 1861 ; mustered 
out with his regiment; lives in Claremont. 

Captain Edwin Vaughan. Troop L, mustered Dec. 13, 1861; appointed ser- 
geant; second lieutenant, Aug. 14, 1862; first lieutenant, Jan 1, 1863; captain, 
March 31, 1864, and assigned to Troop A ; discharged June 7, 1865 ; died at 
Claremont, Dec. 18, 1890 ; pensioner. 

HEAVY ARTILLERY. 

In the summer of 1863, under special order of the War Depart- 
ment, two companies of heavy artillery were raised to garrison the 
defenses of Portsmouth harbor. In August a full regiment was 
raised and Charles H. Long was commissioned colonel of it. It 
served in the defense of Washington, D. C, and was mustered 
out on the nineteenth of June, 1865. 

Oscar Booth. Co. A, mustered Nov. 26, 1864; mustered out with regiment; 
lives in Iowa; pensioner. 

Alvaro L. Chafiin. Co. A, mustered Aug. 5, 1864; mustered out with regi- 
ment ; lives at county farm ; insane ; pensioner. 

Gilbert F. Colby. Co. A, mustered Sept. 24, 1864; mustered out Sept. 11, 
1865 ; lives at Hanover ; pensioner. 

George E. Ford. Co. A, mustered May 26, 1863 ; deserted March 27, 1864. 

Warren H. Gould. Co. B, mustered Sept. 7, 1863; mustered out with regi- 
ment ; lives at Manchester. 

Thomas Hart. Co. H, mustered Sept. 13, 1864 ; discharged for disability May 
4, 1865 ; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Albert Newcomb. Co. A, mustered Aug. 3, 1864; mustered out Sept. 11, 
1865. 

William L. Parkhurst. Co. A, mustered July 2, 1863 ; mustered out Sept. 
11, 1865. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 299 

Corporal Francis Tlaflferty. Co. A, mustered Dec. 26, 1863 ; mustered out 
Sept. 11, 1865 ; lives at Athol, Mass. ; pensioner. 

Daniel B. Smith. Co. A, mustered May 26, 1863; mustered out Sept. 11, 
1865. 

Harvey D. Stone. Co. A, mustered Sept. 15, 1865; mustered out Sept. 11, 
1885; lives at Laconia. 

George H. Waldron. Co. B, mustered Sept. 15, 1863 ; mustered out Sept. 11, 
1865 ; lives at Ctiester, Vt. ; pensioner. 

SHARPSHOOTERS. 

In the summer of 1861 three full companies of sharpshooters 
were raised in Is'ew Hampshire and attached to a regiment known 
as Berdan's Sharpshooters. 

Captain William P. Austin. Commissioned first lieutenant of Co. E Aug. 17, 
1861 ; captain, Dec. 20, 1861 ; wounded Aug. 30, 1862 ; discharged on account 
of wounds May 16, 1863 ; captain of Invalid Corps Aug. 13, 1863 ; acting assist- 
ant quai'termaster and ordnance oflficei-, which position he held until March, 
1866 ; died at Lewiston, Va., July 9, 1889 ; pensioner. 

Charles M. Judd. Co. E, mustered Sept. 9, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Nov. 1, 1862; enlisted in V. R. C. Sept. 9, 1864; mustered out Nov. 7, 1865; 
lives in Claremont; i^ensioner. 

William H. Nichols. Co. E, mustered Sept. 9, 1861 ; mustered out at the end 
of his term of enlistment ; died in Claremont, March 15, 1884 ; he received a 
pension. 

Ruel G. Osgood. Co. G, mustered Dec. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
April 27, 1862 ; residence unknown. 

Henry S. Parmalee. Co. E, mustered Sept. 9, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Jan. 21, 1862; died in Claremont, June 6, 1882; received pension. 

Henry A. Redfield. Co. G, mustered Dec. 12, 1861 ; discharged for disability 
Dec. 22, 1862; lives at Dover ; pensioner. 

Chester P. Smith. Co. G, mustered Dec. 12, 1861; discharged for disability 
May 12, 1862; died at Togus, Me., Soldiers' Home, April 8, 1884. 

George W. Straw. Co. E, mustered Sept. 9, 1861 ; taken prisoner May 8, 
1864; paroled Dec, 1864; discharged Jan. 25, 1865; lives in Claremont. 

Corporal Horace W. Whitney. Co. E, mustered Sept. 9. 1861; discharged 
March 14, 1862; lives at Cambridge, Mass. 

Charles H. Baker, Ebenezer E. Cummings. Anson M. Sperry, and Sylvester 
E. H. Wakefield enlisted for three months, in April, 1861, declined to enlist for 



300 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

three years; were sent to gan-ison Fort Constitution, Portsmouth harbor; 
there served out their three months term of enlistment, and were honorably 
discharged. 

CLAREMONT MEN SERVING IN OTHER THAN NEW HAMPSHIRE ORGAN- 
IZATIONS. 

COMPANY D, NINTH VERMONT VOLUNTEERS. 

This regiment was a part of the eleven thousand five hundred 
troops disgracefully, and it was feared treacherously, surrendered 
by Colonel Miles, an experienced regular army officer, to Stonewall 
Jackson, at Harper's Ferry, on the fifteenth of September, 1862. 

George W. Davis. Mustered July 9, 1862 ; mustered out June 13, 1864 ; lives 
at Lebanon ; pensioner. 

Albert E. Parmelee. Mustered July 9, 1862 ; taken prisoner Sept. 2, 1862 ; 
discharged Oct. 31, 1862; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Sergeant Albert F. Russell. Mustered July 9, 1862; mustered out June 13, 
1865 ; died in New York state about 1888. 

George W. Spaulding. Mustered July 9, 1862; mustered out June 13, 1865; 
lives at Keene ; pensioner. 

Leonard M. Stevens. Mustered July 9, 1862 ; mustered out June 13, 1865 ; 
lives at Little Falls, Minn. 

Algernon M. Squier. Mustered July 9, 1862; appointed hospital steward; 
discharged Jan. 25, 1865; assistant surgeon U. S. Army; died of cholera at 
Fort Lamed, July 29, 1867 . 

OTHER VERMONT REGIMENTS. 

Asher S. Burbank. Co. A, 4th Lifantry, mustered July 8, 1863; taken pris- 
oner June 12, 1864, with about two thousand others; paroled in Feb., 1865; 
mustered out July 13, 1865 ; lives in Boston. 

Charles R. Bardwell. Co. B, 16th, mustered Oct. 23, 1862, for nine months; 
mustered out Aug. 10, 1863; lives at Pleasanton, Kan. ; pensioner. 

Henry S. Blanchard. Co. A, 12th, mustered Oct. 4, 1862, for nine months ; 
mustered out July 14, 1863 ; died in Claremont, of cancer, Dec. 19, 1867. 

Wallace Dane. Co. F, 4th, mustered Sept. 26, 1861; discharged for disability 
Jan., 1863; residence unknown. 

Lewis Henry Dutton. Co. C, 3d, mustered July 16, 1861 ; wounded in foot at 
the battle of Fredericksburg, Dec. 13, 1862; discharged on account of wound 
March 24, 1863 ; lives in Boston ; pensioner. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 301 

Ethan A. Gile. Co. A, 12th ; mustered in and mustered out Oct. 4, 1862. 

Captain Calvin A. Laws. Co. B, 12th, mustered Oct. 4, 1862, for nine months; 
mustered out with the regiment; in May, 1864, he raised a company of one 
hundred days men in Illinois, and was commissioned captain of it, which was 
mustered out Oct. 17, 1864; he died in Florida several years ago. 

Benjamin L. Header. Co. E, 2d, mustered June 20, 1861 ; mustered out 
July 15, 1865; residence unknown. 

MASSACHUSETTS REGIMENTS. 

Oliver A. Bond. Co. A, 4th, mustered Sept. 28, 1862, for nine months; mus- 
tered out at the end of his term of enlistment; lives at Cambridge, Mass. 

Samuel W. Chapman. Co. E, Heavy Artillery, mustered Aug. 7, 1864; taken 
prisoner Oct. 3, 1864; paroled in March, 1865; died in Claremont, April 5, 1865, 
from the effects of exposure and starvation while a prisoner. 

Horace W. Cook. Co. F, 24th, mustered Jan., 1864; mustered out at the end' 
of the war; supposed to be dead. 

Captain Homer G. Gilmore. Co. F, 10th, enlisted June 21, 1861; tirst ser- 
geant; promoted to second lieutenant Kov. 6, 1861 ; first lieutenant, Aug, 9, 1862;. 
captain, Nov. 26, 1862; brevet major, Feb. 13, 1865; wounded at Spottsyl- 
vania Court House; mustered out July 6, 1864; resides at Springfield, Mass.;. 
pensioner. 

Henry W. Mace. 53d, nine months regiment; served his term and again en- 
listed for a hundred days and did garrison duty ; lives at Fitchburg, Mass. 

Thomas D. Parrish. Co. F, 26th, mustered Sept. 18, 1861; mustered out Sept., 
1865 ; residence unknown. 

Henry Scott. Co. H, 4th, mustered Aug., 1861, for nine months; mustered' 
out Oct., 1862; died at Lawrence, Mass., in Nov., 1875; was a iDcnsioner. 

Dennis Taylor. 5th, but for what time is not known; died in Claremont, Aug.. 
18, 1892. 

REGIMENTS FROM OTHER STATES. 

Captain James E. Ainsworth. Captain in the loth Iowa regiment; after 
about a year's service he resigned on account of disability, and returned to his 
home at Dubuque, la. 

Lieutenant C. Edward Bingham. First lieutenant of Co. H, Second Fthode 
Island Cavalry, Feb., 1863; adjutant. May, 1863; mustered out July, 1863; died 
at Brookljm, N. Y., April 28, 1876. 

George Colby. 24th Illinois regiment, mustered in July, 1861 ; captured by 
Morgan in 1862, soon paroled and subsequently exchanged ; discharged at the 
end of his term of enlistment; re-enlisted in the 15th Kentucky regiment Sept. 
4, 1864; discharged June 23, 1865; his legal residence during the war was 
Claremont; now lives at Shelby, la. 



302 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

James B. Ford. Co. K, Ist Maine regiment, mustered April 20, 1861, for 
three months; subsequently mustered in Co. E, 7th Maine regiment; discharged 
for disability Sept. 26, 1861. 

Lieutenant Charles P. Ford. Co. I, 75th New York Volunteers, mustered Sept., 
1861 ; promoted to first lieutenant ; after about three years service he resigned. 

William H. Redfield. 14th Connecticut, drafted; wounded at Bristo, Va., 
Oct., 1863, also in the battle of the Wilderness, and also at Petersburg. 

Henry Grannis. Heavy Artillery, Minnesota Vols. ; enlisted Feb. 7, 1865 ; 
died at Chattanooga, Tenn., June 1, 1865. 

Samuel H. Grannis. Heavy Artillery, Minnesota Vols. ; enlisted Feb. 7, 
1865; discharged Oct. 8, 1865; resides at Mankato, Minn. 

George Hills. Co. A, 2d Regt. Wisconsin Vols.; enlisted June 1, 1861 ; pro- 
moted to sergeant; wounded in right arm ai Gettysburg, July 1, 1863 ; mustered 
out June 30, 1864 ; inmate of Soldiers'" Home, Togus, Me. ; pensioner. 

John Mathews. Co. H, 31st Regt. Iowa Vols.; enlisted Oct., 1864; mustered 
out June, 1865; resides at Monticello, la. ; pensioner. 

John McConnon. Co. H, 81st Regt. Iowa Vols.; enlisted Oct., 1864; mus- 
tered out June, 1865 ; resides at Monticello, la-; pensioner. 



Dr. Jeffrey Thornton Adams. Appointed acting assistant surgeon in the 
navy in Dec, 1861 ; was assigned to duty on board the U. S. armed ship Pursuit; 
for a time was in charge of the U. S. military hospital at Key West ; resigned 
in March, 1863 ; after partial recovery he took the position of assistant surgeon 
in the U. S. military hospital at Brattleboro, Vt., which he relinquished on ac- 
count of a return of his old diiiiculty, in the winter of 1864-65; he died in 
Claremont on the 17th of June, 1865. 

George W. Fitch. Enlisted as carpenter, Nov. 22, 1861; assigned to ship 
Morning Light; discharged March 7, 1862; lives in Claremont; pensioner. 

Dr. Emery G. Judkins. Appointed acting assistant surgeon Nov. 21, 1861, and 
assigned to ship Morning Light; resigned April, 1852; died of diphtheria June 
29, 1863, at Waitsfield, Vt. 

George E. Judkins. Appointed surgeon's steward on board the ship Morning 
Light, Nov., 1861; resigned, Ajjril, 1862; lives in Claremont ; pensioner. 

Charles C. Philbrook. Enlisted as marine Aug., 1861, and assigned to ship 
Pawnee; in July, 1864, promoted to orderly sergeant on board supply steamer 
Union; honorably discharged at the end of the war; lives in Massachusetts. 

Sebastian D. Norrington. Enlisted March 29, 1864; transferred to navy; 
steward on steamer Agawam ; discharged Nov. 13, 1865 ; lives in Claremont ; 
pensioner. 



MISCELLANEOUS, 



CHAPTER XX. 

NATIONAL, STATE, COUNTY, AND TOWN OFFICERS. 
REPRESENTATIVES IN CONGRESS. 

George B. Upham, 1801, one term. Caleb Ellis, 1805, one term. Hosea W. 
Parker, 1871, two terms. 

PRESIDENTIAL ELECTORS. 

Caleb Ellis, 1812. Thomas Woolson, 1828. Nathaniel Tolles, 1860. Edward 
L. Goddard, 1868. 

UNITED STATES MARSHAL. 

Russell Jarvis, from 1865 to 1869. 

MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNOR'S COUNCIL. 

Sanford Kingsbm-y, 1789. Caleb Ellis, 1809. Milon C. McClure, 1855 and 
1856. Charles H. Eastman, 1863 and 1864. William E. Tutherly, 1867 and 
1868. George H. Stowell, 1881 and 1882. John M. Whipple, 1891 and 1892. 

RAILROAD COMMISSIONER. 

Edward J. Tenney, from 1880 to 1887. 

INSURANCE COMMISSIONER. 

Otis F. E. Waite, 1858, 1859, and 1860. 

STATE SENATORS. 

Sanford Kingsbury, 1790 and 1791. Caleb Ellis, 1811. George B. Upham, 
1814. Samuel Fiske, 1815. Jonathan Nye, 1827. Thomas Woolson, 1828. 
John Gove, Jr., 1837 and 1839. Austin Tyler, 1838. Alonzo B. Williamson, 
1852 and 1853. Ira Colby, Jr., 1869 and 1870. Samuel P. Thrasher was elected 
in Mai'ch, 1871, died April 12, and the vacancy was filled by the election by the 
legislature of Alvah Smith, of Lempster, George H. Stowell, 1874 and 1875. 
George L. Balcom, 1889 and 1890. 



304 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

SPEAKERS OF THE HOUSE. 

George B. Upham, 1809 and 1815. John J. Prentiss, 1855. 

CLERK OF THE HOUSE. 

Thomas J. Harris, 1846. 

ENGROSSING CLERK OF THE LEGISLATURE. 

Otis F. R. Waite, 1856 and 1857. 

JUDGES OF THE SUPREME COURT. 

Caleb Ellis, from 1813 until his death, in 1816. William H. H. Allen, fi'om 
1876 to 1893. 

JUDGES OF PROBATE. 

Sanford Kingsbury, from 1797 to 1798. William H. H. Allen, from 1866 to 
1874. William Clark, from 1876 to 1883. Edwin Vaughan, from 1883 to 1891. 
Edward J. Tenney, from 1891. 

■ REGISTER OF PROBATE. 

Uriel Dean, from 1840 to 1845. 

COUNTY TREASURERS. 

Albro Blodgett, 1861 and 1862. Charles H. Long, 1879 and 1880. Charles H. 
Weed, 1888 and 1889. 

SHERIFFS. 

James Holt, from 1875 to 1880. Edwin W. Tolles, from 1889 to 1895. 

COUNTY SOLICITORS. 

Alonzo B. Williamson, from 1854 to 1859. George Ticknor, from 1859 to 
1864. Ira Colby, from 1864 to 1888, with the exception of two years. Burt 
Chellis, from 1891. 

ROAD COMMISSIONERS. 

Fred. A. Henry, 1846. John F. Cossit, 1850. Sylvanus F. Redfield, 1855. 

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 

Nathaniel Tolles, from 1857 to 1858. William Clark, from 1864 to 1867. 
Aurelius Dickinson, from 1868 to 1871. Albert H. Danforth, from 1872 to 1875. 
William E. Tutherly, from 1876 to 1885. Stephen F. Eossiter, from 1886 to 
1892. Isaac H. Long, from 1892. 



HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 



305 



TOWN OFFICERS FROM 1768 TO 1894. 



MODERATORS — ANNUAL MEETINGS. 



1768, 70, 71, 73, Benjamin Brooks. 

1769, William Sumner. 
1772, Thomas Gustin. 

1774, 77, 79, '81, Matthias Stone. 
1778, Joseph Ives. 
1780, '88, Elihu Stevens. 

1782, Oliver Ashley. 

1783, no record of annual meeting. 

1784, '85, Benjamin Sumner. 

1786, '87, '89, '92, '95, '96, Sanford 

Kingsbury. 
1793, '94, from '97 to 1803, and 1809, 

Ezra Jones. 
1804 to '08, '10, and '18, George B. 

Upham. 
1811 to '17, Josiah Stevens. 



1819 to '24, and '26, '28, '29, Rufus 

Handerson. 
1825, Jonathan Nye. 
1827, Josiah Richards. 
1830 to '35, Austin Tyler. 
1836 to '42, Godfrey Stevens. 
1843, '44, '48, '50, '53, '55 to '68, '70, 

'71, Charles M. Bingham. 
1845, '49, '52, '54, Nathan Waldo. 
1851, George W. Blodgett. 
1869, '83 to '86, Edwin Vaughan. 
1872 to '76, William H. H. Allen. 
1877, '82, '89, Osmon B. Way. 
1887, '91, '93 to '95, Burt Chellis. 
1880, '90, Frank H, Brown. 

1892, Hosea W. Parker. 

1893, '94, Burt Chellis. 



TOWN CLERKS. 



1768, Joseph Ives. 1839 

1769, '74, '75, Benjamin Sumner. 1842 

1770, '88 to '91, Ebenezer Rice. 1844 
1771 to '73, Samuel Cole. 1854, 
1776 to '86, David Bates. 1855, 
1783, no report of annual meeting. 1856, 
1787, Oliver Ashley. 1858 
1792 to '97, Ambrose Cossit. 1871, 
1798 to 1816, Samuel Fiske. 1872, 
1817 to '24, George Fiske. 1874 
1825 to '27, Asa Holton. 1877 
1828 to '38, James H. Bingham. 

SELECTMEN. 



to '41, Newton Whittlesey. 
, '43, Charles Williams, 
to '53, Josiah Stevens. 

Sylvanus F. Redfield. 

James Goodwin. 

'57, Alexander V. Hitchcock, 
to '70, Thomas R. Gowdey. 

Charles O. Eastman. 
, '73, William Clark. 

to '76, Henry C Sanders, 
to '94, Francis F. Haskell. 



1768. 



Benjamin Brooks. 
Ebenezer Skinner. 
Benjamin Tyler. 
Thomas Jones. 



1768. Amos York. 

1769. Jeremiah Spencer. 
Benjamin Tyler. 
Benjamin Sumner. 



306 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



1770. Benjamin Brooks. 1784. Asa Jones. 
Benjamin Sumner. Sanford Kingsbury. 
Jacob Kice. Ambrose Cossit. 
Joseph Ives. JosiahRich. 

Asa Jones. Elihu Stevens. 

1771. Thomas Gustin. 1785. John Cook. 
Benjamin Brooks. Ambrose Cossit. 
Asa Jones. Ebenezer Rice. 

1772. Thomas Gustin. Jeremiah Spencer. 
Asa Jones. Joseph Ives. 
Joseph Taylor. 1786. Asa Jones. 

1773. Asa Jones. Sanford Kingsbury. 
Benjamin Brooks. Ebenezer Rice. 
Joseph Taylor. 1787. Bill Barnes. 

1774. Thomas Gustin. Nathaniel Goss. 
Matthias Stone. Ambrose Cossit. 
Stephen Higbee. 1788. Ezra Jones. 

1775. Thomas Gustin. Josiah Stevens. 
Matthias Stone. Levi Pardee. 
Oliver Ashley. 1789. Sanford Kingsbury. 

1776. Matthias Stone. Ezra Jones. 
Asa Jones. Ambrose Cossit. 
Elihu Stevens. 1790. Ambrose Cossit. 

1777. Matthias Stone. Ezra Jones. 
Joseph Taylor. Bill Barnes. 
Eleazer Clark. 1791. Ambrose Cossit. 

1778. Joseph Ives. Gideon Handerson. 
Joseph Hubbard. Ezra Jones. 
Josiah Rich. 1792. Ezra Jones. 

1779. Matthias Stone. (iideon Handerson. 
Oliver Ashley. Josiah Stevens. 
John Adkins. 1793. Ezra Jones. 

1780. Matthias Stone. Gideon Handerson. 
Oliver Ashley. Alexander Pickens. 
Asa Jones. 1794. Ezra Jones. 

1781. David Bates. Gideon Handerson. 
Samuel Ashley. Alexander Pickens. 
Asa Jones. 1795. John Strobridge. 

1782. Matthias Stone. Alexander Pickens. 
Ambrose Cossit. Thomas Warner. 
James Alden. 1796. Ezra Jones. 

1783. Xo record of annual town meet- Barnabas Ellis. 

ino-. Thomas Warner. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



307 



1797. Ezra Joiies. 
Barnabas Ellis. 
John Strobridge. 

1798. Ezra Jones. 
James Strobridge. 
Caleb Baldwin. 

1799. Sanford Kingsbury, 
Gideon Handerson. 
Alexander Pickens. 

1800. Ezra Jones. 
Samuel Fiske. 
David Dexter. 

1801. Ezra Jones. 
Samuel Fiske. 
David Dexter. 

1802. Ezra Jones. 
John Strobridge. 
David Dexter. 

1803. Ezra Jones. 
David Dexter. 
William Brack. 

1804. Ezra Jones. 
John Smith. 
Gideon Handerson. 

1805. Ezra Jones. 
Gideon Handerson. 
John Smith. 

1806. John Smith. 
Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Linus Stevens. 

1807. John H. Sumner. 
Alexander Pickens. 
Thomas Warner. 

1808. John H. Sumner. 
Alexander Pickens. 
Thomas Warner. 

1809. Thomas Warner. 
Ezra Jones. 
Alexander Pickens. 

1810. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Isaac Hubbard. 



1811. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Isaac Hubbard. 

1812. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Isaac Hubbard. 

1813. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Rufus Handerson. 

1814. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Rufus Handerson. 

1815. David Dexter. 
Theophilus Clarke. 
Rufus Handerson. 

1816. David Dexter. 
Rufus Handerson. 
Isaac Hubbard. 

1817. David Dexter. 
Isaac Hubbard. 
John Smith. 

1818. David Dexter. 
Isaac Hubbard. 
John Smith. 

1819. John Smith. 
Rufus Handerson. 
Elisha Hitchcock. 

1820. Rufus Handerson. 
Elisha Hitchcock. 
Joel Goss. 

1821. Joel Goss. 
Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Nathaniel Cowles. 

1822. Joel Goss. 
Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Nathaniel Cowles. 

1823. Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Solomon Walker. 

1824. Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Austin Tyler. 



308 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



1825. Austin Tyler. 
Isaac Hubbard. 
Nathaniel Cowles. 

1826. Austin Tyler. 
Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Bartlett Clement. 

1827. Austin Tyler. 
Timothy Grannis, Jr. 
Bartlett Clement. 

1828. Austin Tyler. 
Timothy Grannis. 
Rufus Handerson. 

1829. Timothy Grannis. 
Rufus Handerson. 
Isaac Hubbard. 

1830. Isaac Hubbard. 
Austin Tyler. 
Godfrey Stevens. 

1831. Joel Goss. 
Austin Tyler. 
Samuel Seward, Jr. 

1832. Austin Tyler. 
Samuel Seward, Jr. 
Ambrose Cossit. 

1833. Austin Tyler. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Samuel Seward, Jr. 

1834. Austin Tyler. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Samuel Seward, 

1835. Samuel Seward. 
Erastus Glidden. 
Albro Blodgett. 

1836. Albro Blodgett. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Samuel Seward. 

1837. Albro Blodgett. 
Samuel Tutherly. 
Erastus Glidden. 

1838. Albro Blodgett. 
Samuel Tutherly. 
Ralph Ains worth. 



1839. 



1840. 



1841. 



1842. 



1843. 



1844. 



1845. 



1846. 



1847. 



1848. 



1849. 



1850. 



1851, 



1852. 



Samuel Tutherly. 
William Rossiter. 
Alexander Graham. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Wooster Jones. 
Samuel Putnam. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Ralph Ainsworth. 
Samuel Putnam. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Ralph Ainsworth. 
Philemon Tolles. 
Austin Tyler. 
Philemon Tolles. 
Solon C. Grannis. 
Solon C. Grannis. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Samuel C. Abbott. 
William Rossiter. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Wooster Jones. 
Solon C. Grannis. 
Samuel Glidden. 
Jotham G. Allds. 
Solon C. Grannis. 
Jotham G. Allds. 
Samuel Tutherly. 
Samuel Tutherly. 
Samuel Putnam. 
Laurens A. Grannis. 
Daniel S. Bowker. 
Samuel Putnam. 
Lewis W. Randall. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Daniel S. Bowker. 
William Rossiter. 
Albro Blodgett. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
Daniel S. Bowker. 
William Rossiter . 
Alvah Stevens. 
Solon C. Grannis. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT, 



309 



1863. Daniel S. Bowker. 
Aurelius Dickinson. 
William Clark. 

1854. Daniel S. Bowker. 
Aurelius Dickinson. 
William Clark. 

1855. William Clark. 
William P. Austin. 
Edward Ainsworth. 

1856. Aurelius Dickinson. 
William P. Austin. 
Edward Ainsworth. 

1857. William P. Austin. 
James Goodwin. 
Frederick Smith. 

1858. James Goodwin. 
William Clark. 
Ira Colby. 

1859. William Clark. 
Ira Colby. 
Frederick A. Henry. 

1860. William Clark. 
William E. Tutherly. 
Horace Dean. 

1861. William Clark. 
William E. Tutherly. 
Horace Dean. 

1862. William Clark. 
William E. Tutherly. 
Edwin W. Tolles. 

1863. William E. Tutherly. 
Edwin W. Tolles. 
Stephen F. Rossiter. 

1864. Edwin W. Tolles. 
Stephen F. Rossiter. 
William Clark. 

1865. Edwin W. Tolles. 
Stephen F. Rossiter. 
Franklin Norton. 

1866. William E. Tutherly. 
Francis Locke. 
Franklin Norton. 



1867. Francis Locke. 
Arnold Briggs. 
Henry C. Cowles. 

1868. Albert H. Danforth. 
John W. Jewett. 
Laban Ainsworth. 

1869. Albert H. Danforth. 
John W. Jewett. 
Laban Ainsworth. 

1870. Stephen F. Rossiter. 
Francis Locke. 
Henry Colby. 

1871. Stephen F. Rossiter. 
Francis Locke. 
Henry Colby. 

1872. William E. Tutherly. 
Francis Locke. 
Charles H. Ainsworth. 

1873. Aurelius Dickinson. 
Charles H. Ainsworth. 
Charles G. Buel. 

1874. William E. Tutherly. 
Charles G. Buel. 
George P. Rossiter. 

1875. Stephen F. Rossiter. 
William Clark. 
Hosea P. Shedd. 

1876. Stephen F. Rossiter. 
William Clark. 
Hosea P. Shedd. 

1877. Stephen F. Rossiter. 
John W. Jewett. 
Hosea P. Shedd. 

1878. William Clark. 
John W. Jewett. 
Isaac H. Long. 

1879. William Clark. 
John W. Jewett. 
Isaac H. Long. 

1880. William Clark. 
John W. Jewett. 
Isaac H. Long. 



310 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



1881. William Clark. 
John W. Jewett. 
Marshall S. Rossiter. 

1882. Isaac H. Long. 
Marshall S. Rossiter. 
Henry C. Sanders. 

This board of selectmen was re- 
elected each year until 1891. 
1891. Marshall S. Rossiter. 
Charles P. Breck. 



1891. 
1892. 



1893. 



1894. 



Stephen J. Roberts. Jr. 
Marshall S. Rossiter. 
Stephen J. Roberts, Jr. 
Frank P. Huntley. 
Marshall S. Rossiter. 
Frank P. Huntley. 
Ora D. Blan chard. 
Marshall S. Rossiter. 
Charles A. Fisher. 
Charles H. Hubbard. 



REPRESENTATIVES . 

The following are the names of the representatives of the town 
in the ITew Hampshire legislature from 1777 to 1893, — none 
were chosen prior to the former date. 



1777. Elihu Stevens. 




1816. 


Samuel Fiske. 


1778. Thomas Sterns. 






Ezra Jones. 


1779. Thomas Sterns. 




1817. 


Ezra Jones. 


It does not appear by the 


records 




David Dexter. 


that representatives were chosen in the 


1818. 


George B. Upham. 


years 1780, '81, '82, and '83. 






David Dexter, 


1784. Benjamin Sumner. 




1819. 


David Dexter. 


1785. Benjamin Sumner. 






Isaac Hubbard. 


1786. Sanford Kingsbury. 




1820. 


David Dexter. 


1787. Voted not to send. 






John Smith. 


1788. Did not choose. 




1821. 


George B. Upham. 


1789-91. Sanford Kingsbury. 






Isaac Hubbard. 


1792. Jabez Upham. 




1822. 


Rufus Handerson. 


1793-94. Benjamin Sumner. 






John Smith. 


1795. Oliver Ashley. 




1823. 


Rufus Handerson. 


1796-97. George B. Upham. 






John Smith. 


1798. Josiah Stevens. 




1824. 


Rufus Handerson. 


1799. George B. Upham. 






Ambrose Cossit. 


1800-02. Ezra Jones. 




1825. 


Jonathan Nye. 


1803. Caleb Ellis. 






Thomas Woolson. 


1804-13. George B. Upham. 




1826. 


Rufus Handerson. 


1814. Samuel Fiske. 






Thomas Woolson. 


David Dexter. 




1827. 


Austin Tyler. 


1815. George B. Upham. 


' 




Josiah Richards. 


Ezra Jones. 









HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



311 



1828. 


Austin Tyler. 


1844. 


P. C. Freeman. 




Josiah Richards. 




Charles Williams. 


1829. 


Godfrey Stevens. 




H. P. Handerson. 




Timothy Grannis. 


1845. 


Charles Williams. 


1830. 


Godfrey Stevens. 




Philemon Tolles. 




Timothy Grannis. 




James M, Gates. 


1831. 


Timothy Grannis. 


1846. 


Frederick S. Kidder. 




Austin Tyler. 




Philemon Tolles. 


1832. 


Austin Tyler. 




James M. Gates. 




Timothy Grannis. 


1847. 


Frederick T. Kidder. 


1833. 


Godfrey Stevens. 




Albro Blodgett. 




Zenas Clement. 




William Rossiter. 


1834. 


Godfrey Stevens. 


1848. 


Albro Blodgett. 




Zenas Clement. 




William Rossiter. 




Arad Taylor. 




Jotham G. Allds. 


1835. 


Godfrey Stevens. 


1849. 


Jotham G. Allds. 




Austin Tyler. 




Thomas Sanford. 




Erastus Glidden. 




Charles M. Bingham 


1836. 


Austin Tyler. 


1850. 


John S. Walker. 




Zenas Clement. 




Thomas Sanford. 




Arad Taylor. 




John Tyler. 


1837. 


George B. Upham. 


1851. 


John S. Walker. 




Austin Tyler. 




Sumner Putnam. 




Joel Wallingford. 




John Tyler. 


1838. 


Joel Wallingford. 


1852. 


Charles Young. 




John H. Warland. 




Charles F. Long. 




John Kimball, Jr. 




Sumner Putnam. 


1839. 


Erastus Glidden. 


1853. 


Jonas Livingston. 




John H. Warland. 


1854. 


Jonas Livingston. 




Charles L. Putnam. 




John J. Prentiss. 


1840. 


(lodfrey Stevens. 




Moses Wheeler. 




John H. Warland. 


1855. 


John J. Prentiss. 




James H. Bingham. 




Moses Wheeler. 


1841. 


James H. Bingham. 




John Hendee. 




Nathaniel Cotton. 


1856. 


Moses Wheeler. 




L. A. Grannis. 




John Hendee. 


1842. 


Nathaniel Cotton. 




John J. Prentiss. 




L. A. Grannis. 


1857. 


Milon C. McClure. 




Austin Tyler. 




Joseph Weber. 


1843. 


P. C. Freeman. 




Oscar J. Brown. 




Alexander Graham. 




Joshua Colby. 




H. P. Handerson. 







312 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



1858. 


Milon C. McClure. 


1869. 


Edward L. Goddard. 




Joseph Weber. 




George N. Farwell. 




Oscar J. Brown. 


1870. 


Hiram Webb. 


1859. 


Joshua Colby. 




Charles H. Long. 




John A. Winn. 




George N. Farwell. 




Edward D. Baker. 




Enoch Johnson. 


1860. 


John A. Winn. 


1871. 


Charles H. Long. 




Edward D. Baker. 




Enoch Johnson. 




Solon C. Grannis. 




Osman B. Way. 




Timothy D. Kimball. 




Edward J. Tenney. 


1861. 


Solon C. Grannis. 


1872. 


Osmon B. Way. 




Timothy D. Kimball. 




Edward J. Tenney. 




James Goodwin. 




George H. Stowell. 




Charles H. Eastman. 




Ira Colby. 


1862. 


Charles H. Eastman. 


1873. 


Ira Colby. 




James Goodwin. 




George H. Stowell. 




Robert F. Lawrence. 




Charles M. Bingham. 




Edward W. Wooddell. 




Francis W. Towle. 


1863. 


Robert F. Lawrence. 


1874. 


Charles M, Bingham. 




Edward W. Wooddell. 




Albert H. Danforth. 




Arnold Briggs. 




John L. Farwell. 




William P. Austin. 




Oscar J. Brown. 


1864. 


Arnold Briggs. 


1875. 


Albert H. Danforth. 




Ira Colby, Jr. 




John L. Farwell. 




James P. Brewer. 




Oscar J. Brown. 




Alfred Tracy. 




Samuel G. Jarvis. 


1865. 


Ira Colby, Jr. 


1876. 


Samuel G. Jarvis. 




Alfred Tracy. 




John P. Rounsevel. 




William E. Tutherly. 




Algernon Willis. 




James P. Upham. 




Henry Colby. 


1866. 


James P. Upham. 




Winthrop Sargent. 




Edwin Vaughau. 


1877. 


Algernon Willis. 




Edward Ains worth. 




Henry Colby. 




Moses R. Emerson. 




Winthrop Sargent. 


1867. 


Edwin Vaughan. 




John P. Rounsevel. 




Edward Ainsworth. 




George G. Ide. 




Moses R. Emerson. 


1878. 


George G. Ide. 




Francis W. Towle. 




William E. Tutherly. 


1868. 


Did not send. 




Stephen F. Rossiter. 


1869. 


Hiram Webb. 




George 0. Woodcock. 




William Ellis. 




Joseph S. Bartlett. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



313 



A law providing for the biennial election, in November, of 
state and county officers, and for biennial sessions of the New 
Hampshire legislature, went into effect in 1878. 



1879. Stephen F. Rossiter. 

George O. Woodcock. 

Joseph S. Bar tie tt. 
1879-81. Ira Colby. 

Frederick Haubrich. 

John F. Jones. 
1881-83. Ira Colby. 

Frederick Haubrich. 

John F. Jones. 
1883-85. Ira Colby. 

George L. Balcom. 

William Breck. 

Charles H. Ainsworth. 
1885-87. Edward D. Baker. 

Israel D. Hall. 

Henry A. Dickinson. 

Pomeroy M. Rossiter. 



1887-89. Ira Colby. 

Charles N. Freeman. 

Harry C. Fay. 

John W. Chaffin. 
1889-91. Herman Holt. 

John M. Whipple. 

John Tyler. 

Charles A. Fisher. 
1891-93. Frank H. Brown. 

Frederick Jewett. 

Joseph G. Briggs. 

Charles P. Breck. 

George P. Rossiter, 
1893-95. Frederick Jewett. 

Frank P. Huntley. 

Daniel W. Johnson. 

Charles L. Severance. 

Frank H. Brown. 



CHAPTER XXI. 

MARRIAGES — BIRTHS — DEATHS. 

The following marriages, births, and deaths are given as they 
appear in the town records. For many years succeeding 1801 no 
records were made of these events. 

MARRIAGES. 

John Sprague and Rebekia Alden, Oct. 12, 1767, at Bridgewater, Mass. 

Timothy Grannis and Sarah Sumner, Jan. 1, 1772. 

Joseph Hubbard and Thankful Rawley, Oct. 8, 1772. 

John Goss and Hannah Scott, Oct. 15, 1772, as recorded at "Winchester, N.|H. 

Timothy Dustin and Eunice Nutting, Aug. 7, 1773. 

Ezra Jones and Susanah Stone, Oct. 15, 1773, at Barre, Mass. 

John Hitchcock and Phebe Tyler, May 2, 1774. 

James Goodwin and Mary Sumner, Aug. 18, 1774. 

Ephraim French and Comfort York, April 6, 1775. 

Nathaniel Goss and Rachel Gould, June 11, 1776. 

Amos Conant and Elizabeth Erskine, Aug. 21, 1776. 

Doctor James Steele and Lucretia Dible, Dec. 12, 1776. 

Rev. Augustine Hibbard and Mrs. Eunice Ashley, Jan. 7, 1777. 

Henry Stevens and Widow Martha Waite, Feb. 26, 1777. 

James Alden and Esther York, March 6, 1777. 

Ambrose Cossit and Anne C. Cole, Feb. 1, 1778. 

Thomas Goodwin and Mary Dustin, Aug. 10, 1778. 

Capt. Oliver Ashley and Mrs. Olive Sumner, Oct. 18, 1778. 

Isaac Cleveland and Mamre Matthews, Aug. 5, 1779. 

Cotton Dickinson and Olive Field, Nov. 3, 1779. 

Amasa Andrews and Achsa Butler, Aug. 24, 1780. 

Solomon Bates and Hannah Lawrence, July 17, 1781. 

Ezra Jones and Esther Rice, July 26, 1781. 

Amariah Ainsworth and Rebeckah Skinner, Aug. 30, 1781. 

William Osgood, Jr. and Priscilla Stone, Dec. 6, 1781. 

Henry Stevens and Mary Diman, Feb. 26, 1782, at Ashburnhara, Mass. 

Thomas Dustin and Sarah Barron, July 31, 1783. 

Timothy Cole and Sarah Stilson, Nov. U, 1783. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 315 

Ephraim Page and Sary Thompson, Oct. 27, 1784. 

Luther Ashley and Sarah Jones, July 26, 1785. 

Christopher Erskine and Freelove Greene, May 14, 1786. 

Major Moody Dustin and Alice Kingsbury, Oct. 7, 1787. 

Asa Leet, Jr. and Mitte Bates, Feb. 25, 1788. 

Roswell Clapp and Rachel Stevens, Feb. 19, 1789. 

Phineas Cowles and Catherine Stone, April 2, 1789. 

John Kibling and Elizabeth Fisher, July 6, 1789. 

Reuben Atkins and Sarah Lawrence, Sept. 6, 1789. 

Moses Phelps Russell and Polly Lois Marks, Oct. 22, 1789. 

Jonathan Shaw, Jun'r and Polly Richardson, Nov. 12, 1789. 

Phinehas Parker and Deborah Hutchinson, Dec. 22, 1789. 

John Clow, of Colchester, Vt. and Dolly Lawrence, of Claremont, Feb. 23, 
1790. 

Benjamin Swett and Polly Healy, March 17, 1790. 

Samuel Taler and Dorkess Richardson, May 9, 1790. 

James Erskine and Esther Nightingale, June 27, 1790. 

Jona. Chase, of Cornish, and Mary Osgood, of Claremont, July 4, 1790. 

Duthan Kingsbury, of Plainfield, and Miranda Knight, of Claremont, July 
10, 1790. 

Lieut. Josiah Stevens and Mrs. Matilda Brewer, Sept. 9, 1790. 

Doct. Abner Megs and Sarah Labere, Sept. 12, 1790. 

Nathan Benton and Tarza Putnam, Sept. 12, 1790. 

Walter Bingham, of Charlestown, and Sally Gilbert, of Claremont, Sept. 27, 
1790. 

Harkins Judd and Anis Butler, Oct. 3, 1790. 

Daniel Bond and Ruth Kirtland, Oct. 4, 1790. 

Levi Chaffin and Chloe Tolman, Nov. 13, 1790. 

Benjamin Grandy and Clowe Coy, Nov. 21, 1790. 

Samuel Man and Hannah Petty, Jan. 3, 1791. 

Timothy Grannis and Sarah Nigh, Jan. 27, 1791. 

William Larrabe and Amy Rice, Feb. 3, 1791, 

Matthias Stone, Jun'r, and Judith Fox Bangs, May 8, 1791. 

Joseph Commins and Widow Hannah Munrow, June 26, 1791. 

John Dodge and Eunice Lawrence, March 8, 1792. 

James Meacham, Jun'r, and Polly Rhodes, April 1, 1792. 

Charles J. Kinsley and Cynthia Geer, May 21, 1792. 

Jesse Alden and Sarah Rice, May 31, 1792. 

Dimon Rice and Lydia Bradley, June 17, 1792. 

Samuel Mann and Sarah Petty, Aug. 19, 1792. 

Benjamin Watson and Cebia Spencer, Sept. 3, 1792. 

John Ives and Mary Thomas, Sept. 30, 1792. 



316 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Ezra Eastman, of Newport, and Hannah Hutchinson, of Claremont, Sept. 
25, 1792. 

Francis Chase and Mary Weade, Nov. 15, 1792. 
Cephas Clark and Phebe Green, Dec. 2, 1792. 
William Miller and Sarah Lane, Dec. 2, 1792. 
David Dexter and Parnel Strobridge, Dec. 30, 1792. 
Jonath York and Widow Temperance Taylor, Jan. 10, 1793. 
Joshua Handle and Coziah Hawley, Feb. 18, 1793, 
Waldo Field and Mary Atkins, March 3, 1793. 
Aseph Ellis and Damaras Judd, March 6, 1793. 

Elias Cook, of Middletown, Vt., and Lucy Hawley, of Claremont, Oct. 31, 
1793. 
Daniel Peck and Elizabeth Hawley, Jan. 20, 1794. 
Luke Blodgett and Sarah Bangs, Jan. 30, 1794. 
Stephen Mann and Lucy Petty, Feb. 2, 1794. 
Samuel Blodgett and Sarah Sprague, Feb. 13, 1794. 

Bill Barnes, of Claremont, and Esther Spaulding, of Cornish, May 4, 1794. 
Joseph Fisher and Sarah Osgood, May 20, 1794. 

Thomas Perkins, of Randolph, Vt.. and Elizabeth Olive Fielding, of Clare- 
mont, Oct. 12, 1794. 

Jonathan Emerson and Mahitabel Morgan, Nov. 11, 1794. 

William Lewis and Betsey Stewart, Dec. 25, 1794. 

Eber Gilbert, of Ludlow, and Mabel Allen, of Claremont, Dec. 25, 1794. 

Asa Dunsmore and Abagail Willson, March 26, 1795, 

Richmond Hillyerd and Lydia Ford, April 13, 1795. 

Walter Ainsworth and Rozey Blodgett, April 20, 1795. 

Stephen Conant, of Windsor, Vt., and Fanny Sterne, of Claremont, June 1, 
1795. 

Reuben Petty, Jun'r, and Charlotte Parmele, June 18, 1795. 

Joel Rich and Sarah Norton, Aug. 1, 1795. 

Real Shaw and Sabray Richardson, Sept. 13, 1795, 

Benjamin Goodwin and Abagail Hutchinson, Sept. 27, 1795. 

Samuel Sherman, of Weathersfield, Vt., and Keturah Boys, Oct. 24, 1795. 

John Goss, Jun'r, and Polly More, Nov. 19, 1795. 

Asa Elmore, of Peru, N. Y., and Maria Hall, of Claremont, Feb. 10, 1796. 

Asa Upham, of Weathersfield, Vt., and Patty Greene, of Claremont, March 
9, 1796. 

George Cook, of Claremont, and Tama Willson, of Cornish, May 2, 1796. 

Samuel Ashley, Jun'r, and Anne Sumner, June 29, 1796. 

Seth Deming, of Cornish, and Polley Gustin of Claremont, July 24, 1796. 

Samuel Niles and Lovinia Thomas, July 31, 1796. 

Elisha Abot and Mahitable Parmele, Aug. 20, 1796. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 317 

Daniel WhelocK and Luciuda Stodard, Aug. 28, 1796. 

Amos Fisher and Cynthia Sholes, Sept. 3, 1796, 

Moses Hutchins and Charlotte Larnard, Sept. 25, 1796. 

Luther Very, of Winchester, and Polley Larrence, of Clai'emont, Nov. 6, 1796. 

Daniel Brown, of Newport, and Betsey Stone, Jan. 31, 1797. 

Hezekiah Eoys, Jun'r, and Polley Cadey, Feb. 16, 1797. 

Joseph S. Stevens and Betsey Kingsbury, Feb. 26, 1797. 

Aaron Butterfield and Susanah Brewster, March 1, 1797. 

Seth Bennet and Rebekah Rice, April 2, 1797. 

William Chase, of Cornish, and Olive Mathews, of Claremont, June 11, 1797. 

Parker Hosmer and Phebe Thomas, Aug. 27, 1797. 

Phinehas Knight and Esther Mathews, no date. 

Noah Tyler, of Claremont, and Nabbe Barber, of Simsbury, Oct. 1, 1797. 

John Wise and Hannah Sumner, Oct. 27, 1797. 

Semore Burnham and Mabel Potter, Oct. 30, 1797. 

Walter Coley and Lucinda White, Nov. 16, 1797. 

John Airs Perkins, of Newport, and Anne K. Cossit, of Claremont, Dec. 24, 
1797. 

James Harrington and Lois Jones, Dec. 28, 1797. 

William Smith, of Cornish, and Huldah Batchelder, of Claremont, April 14, 
1798. 

Samuel Semmunds and Polly Smith, Sept. 29, 1798. 

Rufus Westcott and Phebe Shattuck, Oct. 14, 1798. 

Joseph Pulling and Farah Chase, Oct. 16, 1798. 

Jeremiah Westcott, Jr., of Clarement, and Ruth West, of Cranston, R. I., 
Nov. 16, 1798. 

Samuel Spencer and Bulah McCoy, Dec. 26, 1798. 

William Edmunds and Rebecca Westcott, Feb. 11, 1799. 

Benjamin Grandy and Susannah Leet, May 4, 1800. 

John Temple and Hannah Redfield, April 1, 1801. 

Zeriah Redfield and Trephena Sims, April 1, 1801. 



To Capt. Benjamin and Prudence Sumner. Daughter, Mary, Dec. 21, 1760.* 
Daughter, Prudence, June 14, 1760. Son, William Benjamin, Oct. 4, 1762. 
Son, David Hubbard, June 18, 1764. Son, John Henry, April 28, 1766. Daughter, 
Hannah, Sept. 2, 1768. Son, Frederick Augustus, May 1, 1770. Daughter, 
Honnor, Feb. 18, 1772. Daughters, Hannah and Anne, March 9, 1774. 

To Asa and Sarah Jones. Son, Asa, July 18, 1762. Son, Josiah, Aug. 28, 
1763. Daughter, Sally, March 6, 1766. Daughter, Jerusha, July 28, 1767. Son, 



1 Children, the date of whose birth is given as prior to 1765, were not, probably, b orn in 
Claremont. 



318 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Jabez, Nov. 10, 1768. Daughter, Eunice, June 30, 1770. Daughter, Lovice, 
Nov. 13, 1771. Son and daughter, Edward and Lucy, Jan. 24, 1775. Son, 
Thomas, Dec. 25, 1778. Son, Anson, July 6, 1782. Son, Ransom, Jan. 23, 1784. 
Daughter, Anne, May 3, 1786. 

To Lieutenant Joseph and Elizabeth Ives. Daughter, Mary, July 1, 1763. 
Son and daughter, John and Mamre, Nov. 14, 1767, all three born in Connecti- 
cut. Son, Stephen, July 31, 1771. Son, David, March 23, 1773. Daughter, 
Elizabeth, Jan. 29, 1775. Son, David, July 18, 1778. 

To Beriah and Mary Murray. Daughter, Sabina, Aug. 24, 1765. Son, Curtis, 
Nov. 7, 1767. Son, Calvin, Nov. 24, 1769. Son, Surkenath Mackensey, Nov. 
22, 1771. Son, Asahel, Oct. 3, 1773. Son, Beriah, Jr., Dec. 5, 1775. Selah, 
Dec 5, 1777. Daughter, Mary Anne, March 20, 1780. Daughter, Rose Lyndey, 
Feb. 12, 1782. Son, Warren, July 24, 1784. 

To Josiah and Elizabeth Rich. Son, Samuel, June 14, 1764. Son, Artemus, 
Nov. 23, 1767. Son, Josiah, June 18, 1768. Son, Bazeleel, July 27, 1770. 
Daughter, Phebe, June 28, 1773. Son, Bazeleel Ives, July 21, 1774. Son, Jo- 
seph, Nov. 3, 1776. Daughter, Elizabeth, Feb. 15, 1778. Son, Benjamin Hart, 
May 15, 1780. 

To David and Mary Bates. Son, Solomon, June 27, 1759. Son, Samuel, Aug. 
9, 1760. Daughter, Submit, March 17, 1764. Son, John, Oct. 14, 1770. Daughter, 
Lj'dia, Sept, 3, 1772, all born at Haddam, Conn. Son, Ezra, Oct. 8, 1774. 
Daughter, Esther, June 20, 1777. Son, Joseph, Dec. 23, 1781. 

To John and Hannah Kilborn. Son, John, Feb. 2, 1772. 

To Oliver and Mahitable Ellsworth. Daughter, Olive, Aug. 24, 1767. 
Daughter, Susannah, Aug. 1, 1769. Son, Lemuel, Aug. 1, 1770. Son, Chan- 
cey, Oct. 27, 1772. Son, William, July 14, 1774. Son, William, ye 2d, May 1, 
1778. Sous, Orrin and Warren, Jan. 29, 1780. Son, Orrin, ye 2d, Nov. 11, 
1782. Daughter, Susannah, ye 2d, April 9, 1783. 

To John and Phebe Hitchcock. Son, Elisha, Jan. 1, 1775. Daughter, Phebe, 
Feb. 5, 1783. Son, Lemuel, May 19, 1776. Son, Samuel, Dee. 26, 1784. Son, 
pnisha, Jan. 21, 1778. Son, Ellemuel, Nov. 14, 1779. Son, John, April 30, 1781. 
Son, Zenus, May 11, 1786. David, May 18, 1788. 

To John and Rebekia Sprague. Son, John Chandler, June 10, 1770. Daughter, 
Susanna, April 4, 1772. Son, Isaac, April 9, 1776. 

To Ichabod and Rebeckah Hitchcock. Son, Samuel, Sept. 30, 1774. Daughter, 
Hannah, April 5, 1776. Daughter, Hannah, June 18, 1778. Son, Samuel, June 
2, 1780. Son, Lyman, Feb. 21, 1782. Son, Ransom, May 16, 1784. Son, Amos, 
Nov. 2, 1786. Daughter, Rebeckah, Nov. 27, 1788. Daughter, Esther, Oct. 11, 
1791. 

To Ezra and Susanah Jones. Daughter, Elizabeth, Feb. 2, 1773. Son, Ezra, 
March 23, 1775. Son, Jenison, Jan. 1, 1777. Son, Matthias Stone, April 12, 
1778. Son, Joel, Dec. 15, 1779. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 319 

To Ezra and Esther Jones. Daughter, Caroline, April 27, 1782. Son, Nathan- 
iel, July 4, 1783. Son, Rice, Oct. 28, 1784. Son, George Augustus, March 16, 
1786. Son, Henry, Jan. 8, 1788. Daughter, Esther, March 4, 1790. Daughter, 
Fanny, April 3, 1792. 

To Josiah and Abigail Stevens. Daughter, Abigail, July 14, 1776. Daughter, 
Abigail, July 28, 1778. Son, William, June 5, 1781. Daughter, Ruth, Oct. 16, 
1782. Son, Josiah, Sept. 9, 1784. Daughter, Ruth, July 18, 1787. 

To Josiah aud Mitilda Stevens. Daughter, Mitilda, June 28, 1791. Son, 
Alfred, June 9, 1793. Son, Godfrey, Sept. 10, 1796. Son, Alvah, Dec. 12, 1798. 
Son, Edwin, Nov. 24, 1800. 

To Abner and Eunice Matthews. Daughter, Eunice, Jan. 25, 1776. Daughter, 
Cloe, Dec. 8, 1778. Daughter, Lois Ellis, April 23, 1781. Son, Dana, Sept. 6, 
1783. 

To Benjamin and Polly Alden. Daughter, Polly, Aug. 23, 1779. Son, Adam, 
Nov., 1781. Daughter, Malinda, April 8, 1787. Son, Henry, Nov. 8, 1789. 
Daughter, Scheherazade, Feb. 22, 1792. Daughter, Atalanta, April 6, 1794. 
Daughter, Dinah, Aug. 20, 1796. 

To Deac. David and Mary Bates. Son, Ezra, Oct. 18, 1774. Daughter, 
Esther, June 20, 1777. Son, Joseph, Dec. 23, 1781. 

To Ebenezer and Phebe Rice. Daughter, Elizabeth, Oct. 17, 1767. Son, Jo- 
seph, Oct. 25, 1769. Son, Samuel, Feb. 25, 1771. Son, Ebenezer, Oct. 22, 1772. 
Son, Reuben, Dec. 5, 1774. Son, Stephen, May 24, 1777. Daughter, Phebe, 
March 13, 1779. 

To Rev. Augustine and Eunice Hibbard. Son, Horace Gates, Oct. 14, 1777. 

To John Goss. Son, Alpheus, April 25, 1771. 

To John and Hannah Goss. Son, John, April 8, 1773. Son, Asa, Aug. 14, 
1774. Son, Ziba, May 5, 1776. Daughter, Sally, July 13, 1778. Son, Oliver. 
April 25, 1780. Daughter, Betsey, Aug. 12, 1782. Son, Charles, Aug. 22, 1784. 
Son, Ebenezer, July 4, 1786. Daughter, Fanna, April 16, 1788. Son, Martin, 
March 4, 1790. Son, Cyrus, April 1, 1792. 

To Amos and Lydia Snow. Daughter, Molly, Aug. 16, 1776. 

To Henry and Martha Stevens. Son, Augustine, Dec. 1, 1777. 

To James and Mary Goodwin. Daughter, Sarah, Jan 29, 1776. 

To Timothy and Eunice Dustin. Son, David, May 29, 1776. 

To Ebenezer and Mary Judd. Son, Amos, Sept. 16, 1755. 

To Doct. Thomas and Sarah Sterne. Daughter, Nabby, Dec. 23, 1771. 
Daughter, Fanny, April 13, 1772. Son, Thomas, May 30, 1774. Daughter, Polly, 
May 5, 1779. Daughter, Eunice, July 8, 1781. Son, William, Feb. 1, 1784. 
Daughter, Betsey, Jan 2, 1786. 

To Joseph and Else York. Daughter, Esther, Nov. 21, 1779. 

To Eleazer and Esther Clark. Son, Nov. 13, 1774. 

To Joseph and Thankful Hubbard. Daughter, Nancy Malinda, March 9, 1777. 



320 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

To Timothy and Sarah Grannis. Son, Timothy, June 30, 1772. Daughter, 
Abigail, July 20, 1774. Son, Clement, May 6, 1777. Daughter, Margaret, 
June 15, 1778. Son, Cyrus, April 26, 1783. Son, John, June 24, 1789. 

To Timothy and Sarah Nigh Grannis. Son, David, Nov. 17, 1792. Son, Sid- 
ney, June 2, 1795. Son, Evander, Aug. 31, 1796. 

To Doct. James and Lucretia Steel. Daughter, Libbie, April 12, 1777. Son, 
James, June 23, 1781. Son, Josiah Dibbell, March 30, 1783. Son, Samuel Hol- 
ister, March 26, 1785. 

To Patrick and Abigal Field. Daughter, Freedom, Dec. 19, 1778. Son, David^ 
Jan. 28, 1781. 

To Ebenezer and Mary Conant. Daughter, Millessent, Dec. 17, 1779. 

To Keziah Hawley. Son, Asa, Sept. 11, 1788. 

To Richard and Coziah Hawley. Daughter, Esther, Dec. 14, 1779. 

To Oliver and Elizabeth Cook. Son, Oliver, March 8, 1780. Daughter, Nancy 
Love, Dec. 14, 1781. 

To Gideon and Mary Ellis. Son, Calvin, April 10, 1782. Son, Luther, Sept. 
13, 1784. Daughter, Sarah, June 1, 1787. 

To Cotton and Olive Dickinson. Daughter, Fanny, Sept. 27, 1780. 

To Joseph, Jr., and Elsa York. Son, Samuel Jamison, April 11, 1782. 

To William and Hepzibath Osgood. Son, Solomon Washington, Aug. 27, 
1776. Daughter, Hepzibath, March 18, 1779. Son, John, April 18, 1781. Son, 
Samson, July 29, 1783. Daughter, Anne, March 11, 1786. 

To Capt. George and Thankful Hubbard. Son, Ahira, Oct. 13, 1779. Daughter, 
Parmela, April 13, 1781. 

To Capt. Reuben and Lydia Petty. Daughter, Keziah, April 30, 1780. 
Daughter, Roxane, July 21, 1782. Daughter, Fanny, Oct. 7, 1784. 

To Jonathan and Keziah Holmes. Daughter, Philana, March 30, 1782. 
Daughter, Molla, Aug. 28, 1784. 

To Oliver and Hannah Tuttle. Daughter, Prudence, Sept. 8, 1785. 

To James and Esther Alden. Daughter, Esther, Jan. 5, 1778. Son, Joseph, 
Nov. 21, 1779. Daughter, Esther, March 19, 1781. Son, Chester, Aug. 31, 1782. 
Daughter, Cynthia, Aug. 10, 1784. Daughter, Sophia, Aug. 10, 1786. Daughter, 
Clementina, Nov. 28, 1788. Daughter, Elvira, Oct. 31, 1790. 

To Jonathan and Elizabeth Parker. Daughter, Hannah, Feb. 1, 1775. 
Daughter, Elizabeth, Dec. 28, 1777. Son, Jonathan, Jan. 4, 1780. Son, Isaac, 
July 9, 1781. 

To Ephraim and Comfort French. Daughter, Rebecca, June, 1776. Daughter, 
Hannah, June, 1778. Daughter, Experience, May 20, 1780. Son, Isaac, July 
25, 1782. 

To Solomon and Hannah Bates. Daughter, Bathsheba, Oct- 2, 1781. Son, 
Levy, April 26, 1783. Son, Amos, Sept., 1784. Son, Levy, Sept. 12, 1787. 

To Asa, Jr., and Mitte Leet. Daughter, Polly, March 27, 1790. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 321 

To Amasa and Achsa Andrews. Son, Luman, Jan. 22, 1781. Son, Amos, Dec. 
29, 1782. Daughter, Irena, Nov. 21, 178i. Son, Amos Butler, Sept. 13, 1788. 

To Nehemiah and IMary Kice. Son, Bela, Jan. 10, 1778. Son, Benjamin, 
Nov. 28, 1780. Son, Nehemiah, Oct. 28, 1781. Daughter, Maryalma, Nov. 4, 

1783. Daughter, Mary, Oct. 9, 1785. Daughter, Almay, Dec. 8, 1787. 

To Dea. Matthias and Susana Stone. Son, John, Jan. 15, 1775, Son, Joseph, 
July 1, 1777. 

To Christopher and Freelove Erskine. Daughter, Rebeckah, April 23, 1788. 
Daughter, Content, May 23, 1789. Daughter, Celia, Sept. 1, 1791. Daughter, 
Catharine, Dec. 3, 1793. Son, Christopher, Nov. 13, 1795. 

To David and Hannah Stedman. Daughter, Polly, May 13, 1786. Son, 
Fisher, Sept. 13, 1788. Son, John, Nov. 2, 1790. 

To Moody and Alice Dustin. Daughter, Malinda, Dec. 15, 1788. 

To Ebenezer and Matilda Brewer. Son, Ebenezer, Sept. 13, 1785. 

To Sarah Thornton. Daughter, Sarah Norton, Nov. 11, 1779. Daughter, 
Lovice Taylor, Nov. 2, 1781. 

To Ambrose and Anne C. Cossit. Daughter. Anne Catharine, May 5, 1779. 
Daughter, Mary Alma, Feb. 26, 1781. Daughter, Betsey Ruth, April 21, 1783. 
Son, Ambrose" Aug. 28, 1785. Son, Samuel Cole, Feb. 13, 1788. Son, 
Frainsway Ranna, April 24, 1790. Daughter, Phebe Levina, May 2, 1793. 

To Ephraim and Sarah Page. Daughter, Rowena, Nov. 7, 1783. Daughter, 
Clarisa, Dec. 6, 1787. Son, Joseph Hawking, Aug. 10, 1790. Son, Phelon, 
Nov. 1, 1792. 

To Sanford and Elizabeth Kingsbury. Son, July 31, 1782. 

To Nathaniel and Rachel Goss. Daughter, Susanah, Nov. 19, 1777. Son, Na- 
thaniel, Feb. 27, 1780. Son, Joel, Jan. 30, 1782. Daughter, Rowena, Feb. 11, 

1784. Daughter, Polly, Dec. 6, 1787. Daughter, Orenea, Jan. 18, 1790. Daughter, 
Lucinda, July 17, 1794. Daughter, Matilda, Aug. 23, 1795. 

To Amos and Elizabeth Conant. Daughter, Betsey, May 14, 1778. Son, 
Amos, Jan. 9, 1780. Son, Samuel, March 8, 1781. Daughter, Betsey, Dec. 12, 
1782. Son, Ebenezer, May 20, 1785. Son, Charles, Sept. 30, 1787. Daughter, 
Cynthia, March 21, 1790. Son, Ezra, Oct. 16, 1792. Son, Ralph, Sept. 29, 1794. 
Daughter, Rosan Sharlotte, Feb. 4, 1797. 

To Peter and Deliverance Davis. Son, Peter, July 2, 1778. Son, Ebenezer, 
June 13, 1780. Son, Ebenezer, June 7, 1782. Son, Jonathan Goss, Dec. 9, 1783. 
Daughter, Deliverance, Nov. 8, 1785. Son, Peter, June 24, 1787. Son, Elijah, 
March 21, 1790. Daughter, Mary, Feb. 23, 1792. Son, Solomon, June 10, 1793. 
Son, Abel, Aug. 11, 1795. 

To Isaac and Mamre Cleveland. Son, Isaac, Sept. 23, 1780. Son, Harvey, 
Aug. 20, 1782. Daughter, Sarah, Sept. 9, 1784. Daughter, Mamre, May 31, 
1786. Daughter, Irena, Sept. 19, 1788. Son, Decastro, July 3, 1790. Daughter, 
Nancy, Aug. 19, 1793. 



322 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

To John and E izabeth Kibling. Daughter, Sarah, March 1, 1785. Daughter, 
Hannah, April 11, 1788. Son, Fisher, Feb. 20, 1790. Daughter, Betsey, June 
15, 1792. Daughter, Polly, Jan. 15, 1795. 

To Joel and Hannah Roys. Son, Joel Gardiner, June 25, 1781. Daughter, 
Fanny, Dec. 4, 1782. 

To Timothy and Sarah Cole. Son, Nehemiah, Oct. 12, 1784. Daughter, 
Ammendlees, Nov. 23, 1785. 

To Adam R. and Taphu Leet. Son, Ezra, March 13, 1783. Son, Reuben, 
April 22, 1785. Daughter, Elizabeth, July 19, 1789. Daughter, Cloe, May 5, 
1791. Son, Adam Rayner, Jr., May 16, 1794. Son, David Migs, May 6, 1800. 

To Samuel and Anna Atkins. Son, Thomas Jones, Dec. 25, 1784. Son, Guy 
Jarome, May 2, 1786. Son, John Albro, Jan. 12, 1788. Daughter, Harriet Pau- 
lina, July 6, 1789. Son, Israel Gardnier, June 22, 1791. Son, Ralph Cada, 
Feb. 22, 1793. Daughter, Lucia Olive, Feb. 9, 1795. 

To Thomas and Sarah Dustin. Daughter, Sarah, Jan. 5, 1786. Daughter 
Phylindia, April 20, 1785. Daughter, Sarah, March 2, 1787. Daughter, Han- 
nah, May 5, 1789. Son, Abel, March 10, 1792. Son, Thomas, April 10, 1794. 

To Jonathan and Hannah Bradley. Daughter, Cinthia, Oct. 7, 1790. Son, 
Ranna, June 2, 1793. 

To Phinehas and Deborah Parker. Son, Franklin, May 14, 1790. Son, War- 
ren, Nov. 8, 1791. Daughter, Malinda, Dec. 9, 1792. 

To Timothy and Abigail Fisher. Daughter, Abigail, Jan. 17, 1790. 

To Benj'n and Policy Healy. Daughter, Policy, Oct. 20, 1790. Daughter, 
Hitty, May 30, 1792. Daughter, Nancy, Feb. 17, 1794. Daughter, Reukiah, 
Oct. 5, 1795. 

To Luther and Sarah Ashley. Son, Robert, Oct. 21, 1785. Daughter, Clowry 
Dewlittle, March 12, 1788. Son, Alphua, Nov. 19, 1789. Son, George, Oct. 6, 
1791. 

To Jacob and Abigail Raimond. Daughter, Betsey Lawrence, Nov. 8, 1790. 
Daughter, Abigail King, Sept. 11, 1792. 

To Benjamin and Clowe Granda. Daughter, Cinthia, Oct. 11, 1791. Son, 
Alpha, Jan. 29, 1793. Daughter, Fanny, Sept. 3, 1794. Daughter, Chloe Coy, 
Sept. 7, 1796. 

To Jonathan, Jun'r, and Polly Shaw. 3d Son, Jonathan, May 1, 1791. 

To Micah and Sally Morse. Daughter, Clarissa, l)ec. 22, 1792. 

To Roswell and Rachel Stevens. Son, Harris, May 1, 1792. Son, Solon, 
Feb. 12, 1794. 

To Demon and Lydia Rice. Daughter, Betsey, March 16, 1793. 

To Francis and Mary Chase. Daughter, Mariah, May 16, 1793. Son, Elijah, 
Oct. 3, 1794. Daughter, Betsey, Sept. 23, 1796. 

To Waldo and Mary Field. Daughter, Polly, July 31, 1793. Son, Waldo 
Hannebel, Aug. 10, 1797. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



323 



To Petei- and Keziah Wakefield. Son, Peter, Sept. 24, 1794. 

To Bill and Esther Barnes. Daughter, Eunice Spaulding, Sept. 11, 1795. 
Son, Bill Andrews, March 12, 1798. Son, Ira Norton, April 28, 1800. 

To Ezekiel and Elizabeth Leet. Son, Levi, Sept. 2, 1796. 

To Ichabod and Mahitabel Dodge. Daughter, Prudence, Sept. 5, 1795. Son, 
Isaac, June 13, 1797. 

To Demon and Lydia Roys. Daughter, Sally, March 26, 1797. Daughter, 
Esther Bunnel, Oct. 23, 1798. 

To Wilia and Betsey Lewis. Son, Frederick Steward, Dec. 11, 1797. 

To Asa and Mary Jones. Daughter, Sally, July 13, 1797. 

To Doct. Thomas and his wife. Daughter, Almanda, Oct. 6, 1798. 

To Royal and Sabina Shaw. Son, ^Hartford Dennis, March 26, 1799. 

To Benjamin and Susannah Grandy. Daughter, Cynthia, Oct. 3, 1800. 
Daughter, Jan. 13, 1802. 

To John and Hannah Temple. Son, Charles William Henry, Aug. 2, 1801. 

DEATHS, PKIOR TO 1797. 

Hannah, daughter of Capt. Benj. and Prudence Sumner, Sept. 22, 1772. 
Son, David Hubbard, April 6, 1774. 

Mary, daughter of Dea. Matthias and Susana Stone, Dec. 7, 1773. Susana, 
wife of Matthias Stone, March 6, 1789. 

Ezra, son of David and Mary Bates, Jan. 7, 1775. 

Lemuel, son of John and Phebe Hitchcock, Jan. 9, 1776. 

Anna, daughter of Thomas and Sarah Cotton, July 25, 1777. 

Reuben, son of Ebenezer and Phebe Rice, Aug. 3, 1777. Son, Samuel, 
burned to death in a house, Jan. 26, 1783. 

Abigail, daughter of Josiah and Abigail Stevens, Sept. 28, 1777. Son, Wil- 
liam, June 5, 1781. Daughter, Ruth, Nov. 21, 1782. Son, Alfred, Aug. 10, 
1796. Abigail, wife of Josiah Stevens, April 29, 1790. 

David, son of Lieut. Joseph and Elizabeth Ives, July 31, 1777. 

Lemuel Hitchcock, Aug. 5, 1777. 

Samuel, son of Ichabod and Rebekah Hitchcock, July 26, 1777. Daughter, 
Hannah, Aug. 3, 1777. Son, Lyman, Feb. 17, 1787. 

Esther, daughter of James and Esther Alden, Oct. 20, 1779. 

Susanah, wife of Ezra Jones, March 5, 1780. Joel, son of Ezra and Susanah 
Jones, 1780. George Augustus, son of Ezra and Esther Jones. Aug. 4, 1790. 
Daughter, Esther, Oct. 4, 1791. 

Betsey, daughter of Amos and Elizabeth Conant, March 27, 1780. 

Ebenezer, son of Ebenezer and Mary Judd, Oct. 5, 1780. 

Ebenezer, son of Peter and Deliverance Davis, March 4, 1782. Son, Peter, 
July 11, 1784. Son, Peter, Oct. 9, 1793. 



324 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Jonathan Pine Holmes, Sept. 1. 1784. 

Maryalma, daughter of Nehemiah and Mary Rice, Sept. 2, 178-4. 

Levy, son of Solomon and Hannah Bates, April 25, 1785. 

Hannah, wife of Oliver Tuttle, Sept, 12, 1785. 

Luther, son of Gideon and Mary Ellis, April 27, 1786. 

Rebeckah, daughter of Christopher and Freelove Erskine, April 24, 1788. 
Daughter, Celia, Feb. 11, 1794. 

Clement, son of Timothy and Sarah Grannis, July 30, 1789. Sarah, wife of 
Timothy Grannis, June 25, 1789. 

Decastro, son of Isaac and Mamre Cleveland, Oct. 8, 1790. 

John Albro, Son of Samuel and Anna Atkins, Jan. 13, 1792. 

Warren, son of Phinehas and Deborah Parker, Feb. 11, 1792. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Jonathan and Hannah Bradley, May 25, 1793. 

Eunice, wife of Bill Barnes, July 27, 1793. 

Hitty, daughter of Benj. and Polly Swett, Dec. 24, 1793. 

Cynthia, daughter of Benjamin and Chloe Grandy, Sept. 8, 1796. Chloe, 
wife of Benjamin Grandy. 



CHAPTER XXII. 

LICENSED LIQUOR SELLERS AND TAVERN KEEPERS — TEMPERANCE. 

The following from the town records shows not only the num- 
ber of liquor sellers necessary to supply the needs of the people, 
and the number of taverns, or places of entertainment for man 
and beast, required, but the manner of doing such things an 
hundred years ago. Liquor sellers were permitted to sell by the 
pint, quart, or larger quantity, but not to mix liquors or sell by 
the glass, unless especially licensed to do so. 

liquor sellers. 

State of New Hampshire. Cheshire SS. 

To Josiah Stevens, Samuel Mann, & John W. Russell of Claremont in the 

County of Cheshire and State of New Hampshire, Gentlemen: 

We reposing especial trust and confidence in your fidelity and abilities have 
thought fit to appoint each of you Retailers of Spirituous Liquors and by these 
presents do give and grant to each of you our full Liberty and License to retail 
Spirituous Liquors at each of your Several Stores or dwelling houses within the 
limits of Claremont aforesaid for the term of one year from the date here of 
agreeable to the act of the General Court of the State of New Hampshire in 
that case made and provided. 

Given under our hand and Seal at Claremont aforesaid the eighth day of 
October in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and ninety-two. 

Recorded Oct. 8th, A. D. 1792. 

Ezra Joxes, 

Gideon Handerson, Selectmen. 

On December 8, 1794, the selectmen gave Jacob Parker liberty 
" to retail those Liquors that he shall distil in his still in Clare- 
mont till the second tuesday of September next." 



326 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Claremont, Nov. 1st, 1802. 

We the subscribers, Selectmen of Claremont do hereby license John Tappan 

to mix spirituous liquors in his store on publick days during the space of one 

year from this first day of November, 1802. 

John Strobridge, } „ i . 

T^ Ts } Selectmen. 

David Dexter, S 

Another form of license. 

Claremont, Sept. 5th, 1803. 
We the subscribers hereby license S. & G. Fiske to retail Spirituous liquors 
at their Store in Claremont, also to mix and sell liquors at said store for one 
year from the date hereof. 

Ezra Jones, '\ 

David Dexter, v Selectmen. 
Wm. Breck, j 

Entered, Sept 6th, 1803. 

In 1796 sellers of spirituous liquors derived their licenses from 
the United States Collector of the Revenue, on the recommend- 
ation of the selectmen of the town. The following is one of 
many of those recommendations : 

This may certify that Gawen Arma & Ambrose Cossit are in our opinion 
proper persons for retailers of Spirituous liquors and that there is need of one 
in the place where they live. 
Claremont, Sept. 2d, 1796. 

Ezra Jones, "^ 

B. Ellis, '> Selectmen. 

Thomas Warner, ) 
To Samuel Crosby, 

Collector of the Revenue, 
Charlestown. 

That year, in addition to the above-named Gawen Arma and 
Ambrose Cossit, James Ralston, Elijah Dunbar, Josiah Stevens, 
and Samuel Fiske were recommended by the selectmen as suit- 
able persons to retail spirituous liquors, and gave it as their 
opinion that there was need of one in the place where each 
lived. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 327 

TAVERN KEEPERS. 

A tavern keeper's license implied the right, though not always 
expressed, to mix and sell spirituous liquors, though not to sell 
by the pint or larger quantity : 

State of New Hampshire — Cheshire S.S. 

To George Cook, Ebenezer Rice, William Park, Daniel Chase, Bill Barnes, 
Gawen Arma, George Hubbard, Christopher Erskine, Stephen Mann, Scar- 
borough J. Stearns, AVilliam Strobridge, all of Claremont in said County, 

Greeting : 
We reposing special trust & confidence in your fidelity & ability have thought 
fit, and by these presents, do appoint each of you Tavern Keepers, and do 
give each of you free liberty & our license to keep Tavern at each of your 
places of abode for the term of one year from the date here of, your keeping 
such public houses of entertainment as the law in such cases requires. 

Given under our hands at Claremont the second day of Sept'r in the year of 
our Lord one thousand seven hundred and ninety-six. 

Thomas Warner 

Ezra Jones ]- Selectmen. 

B. Ellis 

Thomas Dustin also was licensed to keep tavern the same 
year. Thus it will be seen that in the year 1796 there were 
twelve taverns in the town of Claremont, with a population of 
about sixteen hundred souls. 

Claremont, Sept 10, 1798. 
This may certify that we the Subscribers have licensed the following persons 
to keep Tavern at their dwelling houses in Claremont for one year from the 
date, viz: Stephen Dexter J. Scarboro Sterne, George Hubbard, Eben'r Rice, 
Bill Barnes, Daniel Chase, Col. Benjamin Sumner, Capt John Cook. 

Ezra Jones 

Caleb Baldwin [■ Selectmen. 

James Strobridge 

taverns and hotels. 

Amoug the taverns or hotels in the period from 1795 to 1845 
were the 



328 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

D. chase's tavern, or SULLIVAN HOUSE. 

This house was built by Daniel Chase in 1794, and opened to 
the public the next year. Mr. Chase kept it until his death, in 
November, 1840. For many years the Masonic fraternity held 
their regular meetings there. Mr. Chase was succeeded by his son- 
in-law, Amos A. Watson, and he by his brother, Ebenezer Watson. 
The name was changed from D, Chase's Tavern to that of the 
Sullivan House in April, 1841. It has been kept by George E. 
Bingham, the White brothers, Horace A. Perry, Eli C. Marsh 
& Son, James Leet, Francis Raflerty, H. C. Fitch & Son, and 
by others for short periods. It has been a public house up to 
the present time. Frank F. Pitcher is the proprietor. 

THE BILL BARNES TAVERN. 

About 1790, Bill Barnes built the large two-story house on 
North street, known as the Barnes place, and kept a tavern 
many years. Near the present junction of North and Spring 
streets was a sign, hung to a tall post, on which was painted the 
picture of an animal supposed to be a lion, and an inscription 
directing the way to " Bill Barnes's Tavern." In the house was 
a large hall where the Free Masons held their regular meetings 
for a time, and which was a favorite place for balls and dancing 
parties. 

THE CUPOLA HOUSE. 

This house, about four miles from the village, on the road to 
Windsor, Vt., now owned by Pomeroy M. Rossiter, was kept from 
the early days of the settlement of the town, as a tavern, by Col. 
Benjamin Sumner and later by Horace Dean, from 1833 until 1851. 
Being on the direct road from northeastern Vermont and north- 
western New Hampshire to Boston and other important markets, 
this house was largely patronized by travelers and teamsters, 
until the Sullivan railroad was built. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 329 

THE EALSTON TAVERN. 

lu 1784 Alexander Ralstou came to town and bought several 
tracts of land on Town hill, including what has been known for 
sixty years or more as the Michael Lovell farm, now owned by Dr. 
0. B. Way. On this place he built a large two-story house and 
kept it as a tavern, and it was widely known while he kept it and 
for many years afterward when kept by others, as the Ealston Tav- 
ern, The stages to and from Boston stopped at this house regu- 
larly, and it was a favorite stopping place for teamsters, 

TREMONT HOUSE. 

In 1800 Josiah Stevens built the hostelry well known as the 
Tremont House from 1823 until it was destroyed by fire, March 
20, 1879. He kept it until his death, April 10, 1827, and was suc- 
ceeded by his sons, Josiah, Jr., Godfrey, Alvah, and Parau. After 
a few years the latter became sole proprietor and continued to 
keep the house until 1839, when he sold the entire property to 
Aurelius Dickinson, who owned it until he died, November 3, 
1880. Mr. Dickinson kept the house at different intervals while 
he owned it, and it was kept by his son, Henry A. Dickinson, and 
by others at different periods. At the time of its destruction F. 
H. Gibson & Co. were the lessees. It was in this house that Paran 
Stevens became so favorably known as a landlord that he wa& 
called to the management of some of the best hotels in Boston. 
Subsequently he became manager of large and elegant houses in 
New York, Philadelphia, and Mobile, and was well known as a 
hotel manager all over this country. 

THE COOKE TAVERN, 

In 1779 Capt, John Cooke came to Claremont and bought the 
tavern stand and large meadow farm, on the Connecticut river 
road, about midway between the village and Windsor, Vt,, for 
more than a hundred years known as the Cooke farm, now owned 
by Erastus Reed. The tavern house was on the west side of the 



330 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

highway, nearly opposite the mansion on the place, and there it 
stood, for many of its last years uninhabited, until 1858, when it 
was taken down. It was kept and known as the Cooke Tavern 
until the death of Captain Cooke, February 8, 1810. He was suc- 
ceeded by his two sons, George and Godfrey. Under their man- 
agement this house had an excellent reputation. It was here that 
Paran Stevens, a grandson of Captain Cooke, is said to have re- 
ceived his first lessons in hotel keeping from his uncle, Godfrey 
Cooke. 

LOWER VILLAGE HOTEL. 

For nearly fifteen years subsequent to 1832, there was a hotel of 
good repute, well patronized, at the lower village, just west of the 
Freeman & O'iS'eil Company's shops, known by the names of those 
who kept it from time to time. It was kept for several years each 
by Josiah Richardson and J. L. Prescott, and afterward by William 
Bartlett, Henry W. Galpin, and Thomas Kirk. The buildings were 
burned about 1848, while Thomas Kirk was proprietor. 

THE MAYNARD TAVERN. 

In the early part of the present century, Col. Benjamin Tyler 
built for a homestead the large two-story house at West Claremont, 
which was afterward kept for a tavern by Austin Tyler and by 
Daniel F. Maynard for many years prior to the death of the latter, 
which occurred August 25, 1865. Before the Sullivan railroad was 
built this house was largely patronized by teamsters from northern 
Vermont and other travelers. It was a stopping place for stages 
up and down Connecticut river, and in the hall were held frequent 
balls, political meetings, and other gatherings. 

JUNCTION HOUSE. 

Soon after the Sullivan railroad was built a small public house 
was opened near Claremont station, and it has been kept at inter- 
vals by many different parties since then. After the Concord and 
Claremont railroad was built it was named the Junction House. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 331 

BELMONT HOUSE. 

Ill 1872 Joel M. Hej'wood erected on the east side of Pleasant 
street a large three-story brick block of stores, and the two upper 
stories were made into a hotel, which he named the Belmont 
House. It has since then been leased by several diflerent parties, 
and is now kept by Henry C. Fitch & Son. Since the death of 
Joel M. Hey wood the property has been owned by his son, Edwin 
B. Heywood. 

ASCUTNET VIEW HOUSE. 

In 1891 Ira F. Chandler built at the corner of Main and Union 
streets, lower village, a three-story block, containing on the ground 
floor three stores, and a hotel in the second and third stories. The 
hotel part was leased to Albion E. Campbell, who still keeps it. 

HOTEL CLAREMONT. 

A syndicate purchased a portion of the land on which the 
burned Tremont House buildings stood, for a site for such a hotel 
as the size of the town and the requirements of the traveling pub- 
lic seemed to demand. They erected a building with brick walls, 
three stories high, containing on the ground floor a spacious office, 
dining room and kitchen, six stores, and postoffice ; the two upper 
stories were made into large parlors, spacious halls, and suites of 
sleeping apartments, with all the conveniences of a modern first- 
class hotel. ^ The hotel and all the stores are heated by one steam 
apparatus. The building was completed and all the stores and 
postoffice were occupied early in June, 1892, and on the twenty- 
seventh of that month Fred C. Camp, from Boston, lessee, opened 
Hotel Claremont for the reception of guests. This building, with 
site and postoffice, and hotel furnishings complete, cost about nine- 
ty-five thousand dollars. It is a credit to the town and a comfort 
and convenience to the traveling public. 



CHAPTER XXin. 

LAWYERS AND PHYSICIANS. 

Of the following named lawyers, alphabetically arranged,' who 
have practiced in Claremont, notice is made of each in the bio- 
graphical chapter : 

William H. H. Allen. Kussell Jarvis. 

Edward D. Baker. John Kimball. 

James H. Bingham. Thomas Leland. 

Dudley T. Chase. Milon C. McClure. 

Burt Chellis. Ralph Metcalf . 

Ira Colby. Hosea W. Parker. 

Caleb Ellis. Alpheus F. Snow. 

Philander C. Freeman. John W. Tappan. 

Samuel W. Fuller. George Ticknor. 

Alexander Gardiner. George B. Upham. 

James M. Gates. Jabez Upham. 

Hermon Holt. Edwin Vaughan. 

Asa Holton. Alonzo B. Williamson. 

Alphabetically arranged are brief records of otherjlawyers, with 
dates, as nearly as practicable, when they were in town : 

Alfred T. Batchelder, studied law with Ira Colby; was admitted to Sullivan 
county bar; partner of Mr. Colby from 1875 to 1879, and then removed to 
Keene, where he has since resided. 

Frank H. Brown, read law with William H. H. Allen; graduated at Boston 
University Law School ; was admitted to the bar in Boston ; practiced for a 
time at Concord ; lives in Claremont, but does not practice. 

Edmund Burke, was admitted to the New Hampshire bar in 1830 ; in practice 
at Whitefield; in Claremont in 1833 and 1834; removed to Newport; member of 
congress three terms, from 1839 to 1845 ; commissioner of patents from 1845 to 
1849, and distinguished as a political writer. He died at Newport, Jan. 25, 
1882. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 333 

Arthur Chase, was admitted to Sullivan county bar in 1861 ; practiced a few 
years and then turned his attention to journalism and agriculture. He died 
Nov. 20. 1888. 

George Davis, was in practice in Claremont a few months in 1877. 

Charles Leland, son of Thomas Leland, studied law with his father, and they 
were in partnership a few years. He died March 28, 1884. 

Hubbard Newton, was in practice in town in 1841. 

Charles Parkhurst, studied law with Hosea W. Parker ; was admitted to Sul- 
livan county bar in 1862; practiced here a few years; is now a doctor of di- 
vinity and editor of Zion's Herald, Boston. 

John J. Prentiss, was in practice in Claremotit at different times from 1846 to 
1868 ; was member of the New Hampshire legislature and speaker of the house 
in 1855; died at Chicago, 111., in 1890. 

Charles L. Putnam, a native of Chesterfield; was in practice in Claremont 
from 1830 to 1840; postmaster of Keene four years; died in Worcester, Mass., 
about 1887. 

Frank T. Vaughan, studied law with Ira Colby ; was admitted to the New 
Hampshire bar in 1892 ; in practice a few months and removed to Kansas in 1893. 
He is a son of the late Edwin Vaughan. 

Edward W. Wooddell was in practice in Claremont from about 1850 to I860 ; 
died in Unity, Oct. 20, 1889. 

PHYSICIANS. 

In the biographical chapter are sketches of the following named 
physicians : 

Truman Abell. Albert L. Marden. 

Arthur N. Allen. Josiah Richards. 

Cyrus E. Baker. Silas H. Sabine. 

Alvah R. Cummings. Nathan Smith. 

Winefred M. Dowlin. William Sumner. 

Leland J. Graves. Clarence W. Tolles. 

James P. Holt. Nathaniel Tolles. 

Leonard Jarvis. Samuel R. Upham. 

Leonard Jarvis, 2d. Carl A. Yolk. 

Samuel G. Jarvis. Osmon B. Way. 

William M. Ladd. Fred C. Wilkinson. 

BRIEF RECORDS. 

Edward F. Barnes, son of Obed D. Barnes, was in practice in Claremont 
from 1879 until his death, Aug. 28, 1883. 

Albert Bartlett, in town from 1835 to 1845 : lived on Central street. 



334 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

George W. Brooks, son of the late Levi Brooks, in practice here from 1883 
until his death, about 1886. 

Enoch F. Colby, in town from 1838 until his death, in 1849 ; lived on Central 
street. 

Sherman Cooper, in town from 1859 to 1867 ; now lives in "Westfield, N. J. ; 
native of Croydon. 

C. C. Ellis, in town from 1877 to 1885; now at Somerville, Mass. 

Thomas Field, in town in 1790. 

Bela Fitch, in town from 1810 until his death, March 2, 1813. 

Andrew J. Flagg, in town a few years succeeding 1868. 

Mrs. Fletcher, in town about 1876. 

A. A. Gilbert, in town in 1865. 

Robert S. Gleason, came to town about 1820; in practice here until his deaths 
Oct. 23, 1868. 

Timothy S. Gleason, came to town with his brother, Dr. Robert, about 1820,. 
and was in practice here until his death, April 5, 1843. 

Harvey M. Guild, came to town in 1887; died May 8, 1892. 

Charles Haddock, in town in 1850; died at Beverly, Mass., Oct. 10, 1889. 

E. J. Hall, here a few months in 1886. 

James Hall, in town in 1822 ; died near Baltimore, Md., in 1888. 

Edward F. Houghton, graduated at Hanover Medical College; not in active 
practice. 

M. G. Houghton, in town a few months in 1863. 

Emery G. Judkins, in town from 1854 to 1862 ; died at Waitsfield, Vt. 

Thomas B, Kittredge, in town from about 1830 to 1848 ; died at Keene, about 
1883. 

Luke Lincoln, in town from 1810 to 1820. 

F. L. Mcintosh, in town from 1885 to 1889 ; now at Newton, Mass. 

Abner Meigs, in practice here more than twenty years succeeding 1773 ; lived 
in the east part of the town. 

G. M. Morse, in town from 1843 to 1846 ; removed to Clinton, Mass. 
T. E. Parker, in town from 1887 to 1890 ; now lives in New Jersey. 
Joseph Petty, in town from 1791 to 1796. 

M. B. Richards, in town about 1879. 

Leonard E. Richardson, in town in 1849 ; removed to Stoddard, and thence to 
Hartford, Conn. 

George D. Roberts, here in 1885. 

Thomas F. Saxton, in town from 1812 to 1822 ; removed to Windsor, Vt.» 
where he died ; lived near Union church. 

S. T. Shaw, in town in 1876. 

J. S. Spaulding, in town from 1810 to 1840; removed to New York state^ 
where he died. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 335 

C. C. Slocum, in towu from 1853 to 1864; went West. 

William H. Smart, Jr., in town from 1860 to 1863 ; lives in Boston. 

James Steel, in town a few years succeeding 1776. 

William C. Squier, in town from about 1858 to 1865 ; went West, where he 
died about 1890. 

Thomas Sterne, the first physician settled in town; here from 1768, living on 
Town hill, until his death, Nov. 21, 1816. 

Linus Stevens, in town a few years succeeding ISli ; died in Michigan, in 
1851. He was a son of Elihu Stevens. 

A. F. Sumner, in town in 1889 ; now in practice at Concord. 

J. H. Thuriault, in town in 1890. 

E. Torrey, in town from 1810 to 1815. 

Henry Tucker, in town from 1868 to 1874; removed to Brattleboro, Vt. ; now 
living at Lakeport. 



CHAPTER XXrV. 

FIRES — CASUALTIES — FRESHETS — LIGHTNING — TORNADO — EARTH- 
QUAKE — MURDERS. 

Claremont has not suffered from fires to the extent of many 
other places of similar size. Some of the more notable confla- 
grations have been the following : 

What was known as Union Factory, situated on the Island south 
of the Freeman & O'lSTeil works, principally or wholly owned by 
the late Nicholas Farwell, was burned November 13, 1841, and 
has not been rebuilt. 

In April, 1853, the house of Arnold Farr, in the north part 
of the town, on the Red Water brook road, in the absence of 
Mr. and Mrs. Farr, in the evening, took fire and was burned 
down. Their three children, aged from seven to fourteen years, 
perished in the fiames. 

The Meacham factory, on the site now occupied by the Free- 
man & O'JSTeil works, at the time operated by William Earl, was 
burned in March, 1854. 

A part of the Eastman tannery buildings, on the north side of 
Sugar river, were destroyed by fire January 22, 1871, and the 
balance of them in the same way, October 6, 1890. This property 
was owned by the widow of Charles H. Eastman. 

The Sugar River Paper Mill buildings were damaged by fire 
in May, 1873, to the amount of about $12,000. In April, 1882, 
tne bleach exploded, forcing out a portion of the west wall of 
the building, killing Warren Whitney, an employee of the com- 
pany, and causing a damage of near $20,000. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 337 

The house, bam, and other buildings of Harvey Barney, near 
the brickyard on the road to Unity, about two miles from the 
village, were burned February 6, 1876. The fire originated from 
&, defective stovepipe. 

The most distressing fire in this town, because destructive to 
human lives, was that of the Tremont House, which occurred 
March 29, 1879. This house was built by the late Josiah Ste- 
vens, in 1800, and had been occupied as a hotel from 1823. 
When the fire occurred there were about forty persons in the 
house, including the proprietors, Messrs. F. H. Gibson and Eiley 
Deming, and their families, servants, boarders, and transient 
guests. Soon after the last guest, who came by the midnight 
train, and the clerk, Fred. Marvin, had gone to their rooms, 
something like an explosion of gas occurred in or near the ofiice, 
and the halls and stairways were immediately filled with smoke 
and flames, cutting off escape by the stairs. Abel McCoy, a 
boarder, who had just gone to his room on the third floor, gave 
the alarm and aroused sleepers and others and apprised them of 
the danger of their situation. The only means of escape for 
those on the second and third floors was by the windows. Citizens 
and the fire department soon assembled, but the building was so 
filled with fire as to make the saving of any part of it, or of 
any considerable portion of the furniture, almost hopeless, and 
attention was directed to rescuing the inmates, by ladders and 
other means at hand. At least four persons perished, viz : Mrs. 
Gibson, mother of one of the proprietors, Mrs. S. A. Place, a 
cook, Annie Johnson, chambermaid, and Lydia Merrill, table 
girl, were known to have been burned. Charles Morgan, a lodger, 
was missing, but in searching the ruins no remains of him were 
found, and it is said that he has been seen alive since the fire, 
Mrs. Fred. Marvin, wife of the clerk, was seriously injured in 
escaping from the third floor, and William Butler, of Brattlebo- 
rough, Vt., suflered the sprain of his ankle in jumping from a 
window on the second floor. The fire extended to two large 
barns, an annex occupied by A. C. Stone & Co. as a stove and 



338 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

tin shop, and three small buildings at the west of the hotel, one 
occupied by Lambert D. Patten as a harness shop, one by Henry 
A. Dickinson as a boot and shoe store, and the other by Mrs. 
Harlow, dressmaker, and all were destroyed. The cause of the 
fire and the disappearance of Charles Morgan are mysterious. 
The Tremont House, and all the other buildings, were of wood, 
and owned by Aurelius Dickinson, who was partially insured. 

The paper mill of the Claremont Manufacturing Company, and 
the paper machinery, were destroyed by fire in 1880, and the 
company did not resume the paper-making business. 

In December, 1882, the main building of the Freeman & O'Neil 
wood-working establishment, containing valuable machinery, choice 
woods, and finished and partially finished work, was destroyed 
by fire. The loss was estimated at nearly twenty-five thousand 
dollars. 

Oscar J. Brown's three-story wooden block, at the corner of 
Sullivan and Pleasant streets, where Union block now stands, 
which was occupied by the postofl&ce, express office, and stores 
on the first floor, a meat market in the basement, and by offices 
and halls in the second and third stories, together with a building 
adjoining, on Pleasant street, containing two stores and a tene- 
ment occupied by George Judkins, were totally destroyed by fire 
on the night of March 25, 1887. Most of the contents of the 
postoffice and express office were saved, while the goods in the 
stores, and the furniture, libraries, and other property in the 
offices and halls of the upper stories were nearly a total loss. 
Most of the occupants had more or less insurance. The whole 
loss was estimated at the time to be $50,000. 

On the 30th of March, 1890, a tenement house on North street, 
occupied by seven families, owned by Gell Lenven, was burned. 

The Jarvis Paper Mill, at West Claremont, with a considerable 
amount of stock and paper, was destroyed by fire May 12, 1890. 

On the 15th of April, 1892, the house, barns, and other build- 
ings on what was for many years the town farm, owned by the 
late Thomas B. Fletcher, were completely destroyed by fire. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 339 

On January 30, 1893, the storehouse owned by the Monadnock 
Mills, near the railroad crossing on Mulberry street, filled with 
bales of cotton, was discovered to be on fire. The fire was not 
accessible, and in spite of the best efforts of an efficient fire de- 
partment, with ample apparatus and an abundance of water, the 
building was nearly destroyed and the contents damaged to the 
extent of about $30,000. The cause of the fire has not been satis- 
factorily accounted for. 

On May 23, 1894, the sawmill at the north side of Sugar river> 
owned by the Monadnock Mills, leased to Burt Chellis, with the 
machinery, was considerably damaged by fire. 

CASUALTIES. 

Joel Roys, a Revolutionary soldier, was burned to death. He 
was buried at West Claremont, and his gravestone bears the 
following inscription: "Here lies buried Mr. Joel Roys Who 
Fell in to a Fier and Burnt to Death Sept. 4, 1782 in the 27th 
year of his age. O ! Mortality." 

Amos, aged twenty-one years, son of Jonathan York, was 
drowned in Connecticut river, July 26, 1788. 

Artemas, son of William Whiting, eleven years old, fell from a 
horse and was killed, I^ovember 23, 1799. 

Miles, son of Ephraim Tyler, was killed by being run over by a 
cart. Near the spot, on the east road to Cornish Flat, about two 
miles north of Claremont village, a stone was erected, which bears 
this inscription : " 6 or 7 Feet East of this stone, Miles Tyler, 
son of Ephraim Tyler, was killed by a cart wheel, August 5th, 
1811, in his 13th year." 

Chester and Elisha, sons of Solomon Putnam, were suffocated 
by the fumes of charcoal, and found dead in their bed on the 
morning of January 29, 1814. A kettle of coals was placed in 
their room to warm it, and caused the death of both. Chester 
was in the twenty-seventh year of his age, and Elisha was in his 
nineteenth. 



340 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

At a time of high water in Sugar river, in 1815, Aaron 
Wheeler, a brother of the late Moses "Wheeler, and a man by 
the name of Merrill, were carried over the gristmill dam at the 
lower village, in a small boat, and both were drowned. 

Bill Andrews Barnes, aged twenty-five years, a son of Bill 
Barnes, was killed instantly, June 29, 1822, by a tree falling 
upon him. 

While the Fourth of July, 1846, was being celebrated, and a 
salute was being fired on the common, the cannon burst, and a 
piece of it hit and instantly killed Willard Fales, a young, me- 
chanic who was standing in a crowd of spectators, five or six 
rods from the gun. 

The Fourth of July, 1856, was celebrated by a procession, ora- 
tion, trial of fire engines, and other ceremonies. In attendance 
was the Mascoma fire engine company, of Lebanon. After the 
exercises in the town hall, the Mascoma company, preceded by 
music, went for a march. They crossed the upper bridge and 
went by way of North street onto the suspension wire bridge, 
between the Home Mill and the Claremont Manufacturing Com- 
pany mills, keeping step to the music. The strain was too great, 
a cable broke, and the bridge with all upon it fell into the river. 
In the fall, William Griffin, of I^orth Hartland, Yt., a fifer, had 
his back broken, and he was dead when taken out of the river. 

On the twenty-second of September, 1869, Amos Keyes, owner 
and occupying the Cottage Hospital farm, fell from his cart, was 
run over and so much injured that he lived but a few minutes. 

On the seventh of May, 1871, the Rev. C. E. Sawyer, his young 
wife, and father-in-law, Sylvanus Cushing — the latter of Abington, 
Mass. — were drowned in Connecticut river, at Ashley's Ferry. For 
fuller account, see history of the Universalist church. 

William D. Pierce, a miller, was killed by being caught in the 
machinery in Sugar river gristmill, February 19, 1874. 

Alden J. Bliss, a shoemaker, was drowned in the mill pond 
of the Sugar river gristmill, April 8, 1874, and his body was 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 341 

found on the twelfth. The verdict of a coroner's jury was to 
the effect that he probably accidentally fell into the pond the night 
of the eighth, which was very dark, when on his way home. 

Charles H. Bacon, while painting the Herbert Bailey knitting 
mill, fell from a staging, near sixty feet, and was instantly killed. 

David Ewing was instantly killed in one of the Mouadnock 
mills, January 23, 1877, by being caught by a belt and drawn over 
a shaft. 

Ebenezer E. Bailey, while trimming an elm tree in his yard^ 
on Washington street, in the spring of 1860, fell and was instantly 
killed. 

William C. Wheeler was found drowned in the Claremont 
Manufacturing Company mill pond, October 1, 1873. Supposed 
accidental. 

The dead body of Philip S. Hunter, a man of middle age, was 
found in the wheel-pit of George L. Balcom's woolen mill, Octo- 
ber 15, 1883. It was supposed that he accidentally fell into the 
flume, and was carried by the strong current into the wheel-pit. 
The wheel was clogged and stopped, which led to the discovery 
of the accident. 

Daniel Canty was fatally scalded by accidentally falling into a 
bleach vat in the Coy paper mill, at West Claremont, June 25,. 
1881, and died the next day. 

Matthew Caffrey fell down stairs, broke his skull, and died in a 
short time after, November 20, 1886. 



In consequence of very heavy rains on the fifth and sixth of 
August, 1856, the water in Sugar river reached a height seldom 
known before. The meadows east of the village were completely 
flooded, and late crops nearly ruined. Bridges were swept from 
their foundations, and small buildings, piles of wood and lumber, 
as well as other property within reach of the high water, were 
carried down stream. The Monadnock Mills Company was the 



342 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

greatest sufferer. Three or four small buildings owned by this 
company, on the north side of the river, used for various me- 
chanical purposes, were carried away. A three-story building on 
the same side of the river, also owned by this company, occupied 
by Joseph G. Briggs for a cabinet-furniture manufactory, and by 
other parties for different mechanical uses, was swept from its 
foundation and badly broken up. Basements of the mills were 
filled with water, and their contents damaged. The loss to the 
company was estimated at the time to be eight to ten thousand 
dollars. The Claremont Manufacturing Company's paper mill, 
printing office, and bookbindery were flooded. The suspension 
wire bridge, owned by this company and the proprietors of the 
Home Mill, was carried away. Two or three bridges on Eed 
"Water brook were washed away, and roads all over town were 
gullied by the rains, and in many places made impassable for 
teams. 

The last part of February, 1866, a thaw melted the heavy body 
of snow, and raised the water in the streams to an unusual height. 
Connecticut river was very high, and caused considerable damage 
along its course. On the twenty-fifth the toll-bridge at Windsor, 
Yt., was carried away, and as it passed down stream it took the 
Sullivan railroad bridge along with it, and the two hit the Clare- 
mont toll-bridge and carried away a portion of that structure. 
The railroad bridge was soon replaced, but it took some months 
to repair the toll-bridges, and public travel was accommodated 
by ferryboats. The ice dammed up at the mouth of Sugar river, 
and set the water back onto the Cupola and John S. Lovell 
farms to considerable depth. Fred. W. Dunsmore, on the Cu- 
pola farm, lost one hundred and sixty-four valuable sheep, and Mr. 
Lovell had two cows and two steers drowned in his barn. In 
many places highways were badly washed, as was the bed of 
Sullivan railroad. 

On the twenty-eighth of August, 1891, the reservoir of the 
Bible hill aqueduct, owned by John Tyler, in consequence of 
heavy rains, broke away, the water rushed down a ravine, doing 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 343 

some damage to fields, and carrying oflf a small bridge at Draper 
Corner. 

LIGHTNING. 

On the eighth of July, 1805, Zara and Orlando, sons of Zara 
Thomas, were killed by lightning. Zara was about eighteen years 
old, and Orlando about seven. 

On the fourteenth of April, 1890, Mrs. Drury's house, on East 
street, was struck by lightning and badly damaged. Mrs. Baker, 
a sister of Mrs. Drury, received a severe shock. On the same day 
the barns of Oliver A. Bond and Lemuel Dole, north of the 
village, were struck and slightly damaged. In the same shower 
the barn of George Davis, in the north part of the town, on 
the river road to Windsor, was struck and considerably dam- 
aged. Mr. Davis and six horses were in the barn, and all were 
killed. On the twenty -fifth of June, of the same year, the house 
of Leonard N. Kempton, on Pleasant street, was struck, and suf- 
fered some damage. 



On the first of July, 1881, two large barns and sheds of Joel 
Goss, on the farm about two miles south of the village, now 
owned by George P. Rossiter, were demolished by a tornado. 
The timbers and boards were hurled in every direction, some of 
them to a considerable distance. 

EARTHQUAKE. 

About twelve o'clock on the night of July 20, 1871, an earth- 
quake shook houses in Claremont village and vicinity, and fright- 
ened the people. 



The dead body of George Ducharm, a Canadian blacksmith, in 
the employ of the Sullivan Machine Company, was found in a 
well near the company's furnace, September 10, 1865. Marks 



344 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

upon the body plainly indicated that the victim was killed before 
the body was put into the well. Ducharm was seen alive about 
nine o'clock on the night before his body was found. The party 
guilty of the murder has never been discovered. 

George Wooddell, a quiet and inoffensive citizen, was murdered 
by his nephew, James Kenney, January 18, 1869. Mr. Wood- 
dell lived with his wife and infant child on a back road in an out 
of the way place in the west part of the town, near Connecticut 
river, and Kenney made his home with them. Early in the 
evening, without warning, Kenney rushed into the house with 
a kind of Indian war-whoop, and attacked his uncle with a sharp 
ax, killing him in a barbarous manner, and then attacked Mrs. 
Wooddell, who had the infant in her arms, but both escaped 
alive, although she was considerably gashed. On investigation 
it was found that Kenney was violently insane at the time, though 
he had previously manifested no marked indications of insanity. 
He has since been confined in the insane Avard of the New 
Hampshire state prison, growing more and more demented year 
by year. 



CHAPTER XXV. 

POSTAL SERVICE — BANKS — RAILROADS. 

According to its records, published in the Collections of the 
New Hampshire Historical Society, the Committee of Safety, on 
the third of December, 1779, voted as follows : 

Agreeable to a vote of the G. Assembly of the 18th of Novemb'r last, au- 
thorizing the Committee of Safety to Establish a post to ride weekly from 
the post office in Portsmouth to the western part of this State, Resolved that 
agreeable to the proposal of Peter Kobinson, He be & hereby is appointed 
Post Rider for the term of Six months, to ride weekly from the post office 
in Portsmouth ; to Set out from thence on Saturday morning & ride to Peter- 
borough in this State, and Send a man from that place weekly to Charles- 
town, No four, and to Carry and Return all public letters & Despatches 
free of Charge, for which Service he shall receive from this State the Sum 
of Three Hundred pounds Lawful money. 

The same committee, on July 27, 1781, " Appointed Mr. John 
Balch a Post-rider for the term of three months, and agreed with 
said Balch to set out from Portsmouth on Saturday morning and 
to ride to Haverhill, by way of Conway, Plymouth, thence down 
the River to Charlestown, Keene, & to Portsmouth again, every four- 
teen days during said term, For which Service he shall receive the 
sum of seventy hard Dollars, or paper money Equivalent." 

The Federal constitution, adopted in 1779, gave the exclusive 
power to establish post-offices and post-roads to congress. In 1790 
there was a post-rider from Walpole through Charlestown, Claremont, 
^Newport, Unity, and some of the other towns in the vicinity. As 
there were no post-offices in these towns at that time, letters and other 
postal matter were delivered by the post-rider or left by him at con- 



346 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



venient places on his route. The first post-office established in 
Claremont was January 1, 1802, and Josiah Stevens was appointed 
postmaster. 

In 1790 there were seventy-five post-offices in the United States. 
The rates of postage were, on a single letter, composed of one 
piece of paper, for any 



Distance not exceeding 30 miles 

above 30 and not exceeding 

" 80 " " 
" 150 " " 
" " 400 miles . 



miles 



150 
400 



cents. 



10 
12>^ 

25 



A letter composed of two pieces of paper was charged with 
double these rates ; of three pieces, with triple ; and four pieces, 
with quadruple. 

POST-OFFICES AND POSTMASTERS IN CLAREMONT. 

A post-office was established in the village in January, 1802. In 
June, 1828, an office was established under the name of Sumner- 
ville. The name was changed to West Claremont in August of the 
same year. In April, 1891, an office was established at Claremont 
Junction. Following are the names of the postmasters and the 
dates of their appointment : 

Postmasters. Date of Appointment. 

Josiah Stevens January 1, 1802. 

John Tappan April 11, 1813. 

Jonathan Nye September 25, 1829. 

Holden R. Nye February 24, 1841. 

Albro Blodgett . . ' July 15, 1841. 

Ambrose Cossit . August 30, 1842. 

John J. Prentiss April 17, 1843. 

Alonzo B. Williamson May 16, 1845. 

Edwin Ainsworth April 9, 1849. 

William M. Ladd May 5, 1853. 

Charles O. Eastman June 17, 1861. 

Edgar L. Hapgood June 11, 1870. 

John M. Whipple February 10, 1875. 

George W. Paul February 22, 1887. 

Henry C. Sanders February 12, 1891. 



^/3Ȥ: 



SV.. 



. i. I \ 





U'^a, i^ 





JOHN L. FARWELL. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



347 



SUMNERVILLE. 

Ezekiel Carey June 17, 1828. 

WEST CLAREMONT. 

Ezekiel Carey August 7, 1828. 

John H. Sumner October 9, 1829. 

John Tyler July 30, 1841. 

Leonard Gilmore January 15, 1847. 

Wyllys Redfield July 23, 1861. 

Henry A. Eedfield July 23, 1863. 

Horace G. P. Cross January 18, 1870. 

Nancy J. Pierce December 20, 1887. 

Clifton E. Densmore October 29, 1894. 

CLAKEMONT JUNCTION. 

Stephen Noonan April 28, 1891. 

Frank Shelden April 1, 1894. 

BANKS. 

THE CLAREMONT BANK, 

Capital sixty thousand dollars, was in operation in 1826. George 
B. Upham was president during its existence ; James H. Bingham, 
cashier; directors, George B. Upham, John Tappan, Samuel Fiske, 
Leonard Jarvis, David Dexter, Phinehas Handerson, and Godfrey 
Stevens. In 1842 Erastus Glidden was elected cashier. Its busi- 
ness was wound up between 1844 and 1846. At this time the offi- 
cers were: George B. Upham, president; Erastus Glidden, cash- 
ier; directors, George B. Upham, George N. Farwell, Ambrose 
Cossit, William H, Farwell, John W. Tappan, Nicholas Farwell, 
and Samuel Glidden. 

In 1848 a new bank, under the same name as the old one, with a 
capital of sixty thousand dollars, was chartered and organized, 
with Ambrose Cossit, president; Uriel Dean, cashier; directors, 
Nicholas Farwell, Ambrose Cossit, Isaac F. "Wetherbe, of Charles- 
town, William Rossiter, George N. Farwell, Woster Jones, Thomas 
Sanford. In April, 1851, Mr. Dean resigned and George N". Far- 
well was elected cashier in his place, and in March, 1853, his son, 
John L. Farwell, was elected assistant cashier. In March, 1856, 
Mr. Farwell resigned and John L. Farwell was elected cashier. 



348 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

On November 22, 1864, the organization was changed to the 
Claremont National Bank, under the laws of the United States. 
George K Farwell, president; John L. Farwell, cashier; directors, 
George N. Farwell, Thomas Sanford, Nathaniel Tolles, Aurelius 
Dickinson, Lewis Perry, Jotham G. Allds, Charles H. Eastman. 
Present capital, one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. In Octo- 
ber, 1881, provision was made for a vice-president, and John L. 
Farwell was elected to that position, and his son, George N. Far- 
well, 2d, was elected cashier. George N. Farwell, senior, died 
February 24, 1887, and on March 15 his son, John L. Farwell, was 
elected president. The officers for 1893 were : John L. Farwell, 
president ; George N. Farwell, cashier ; Chester Pike, of Cornish, 
John L. Farwell, Francis Locke, George N. Farwell, Stephen F. 
Rossiter, J. Duncan Upham, directors. 

THE people's national BANK. 

This bank was organized and commenced business September 
1, 1892, with a capital of one hundred thousand dollars. F. P. 
Maynard, president ; George H. Stowell, vice-president ; George A. 
Tenney, cashier ; directors, F. P. Maynard, George H. Stowell, H. 
W. Parker, W. H. H. Allen, O. B. Way, I D. Hall, E. J. Tenney, 
P. A. Johnson, and C. A. Forbush. This bank is located in Union 
block. 

SULLIVAN SAVINGS INSTITUTION 

Was chartered by the New Hampshire legislature in 1838, organ- 
ized in 1847, and commenced business in 1848. President, Am- 
brose Cossit ; treasurer, George N. Farwell. After the institution 
was organized and well started in business, Mr. Farwell resigned 
and Samuel C. Bailey was elected treasurer in his place. January 
7, 1852, Mr. Cossit resigned the presidency, and Timothy Eastman 
was elected president, and George N. Farwell again chosen treas- 
urer. On January 2, 1856, John L. Farwell was elected treasurer. 
In January, 1859, Albro Blodgett was elected president, in place 
of Timothy Eastman, deceased. In January, 1861, Mr. Blodgett 
resigned and was succeeded by Jonas Livingston. Mr. Livingston 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 349 

having removed from town, Mr. Blodgett was re-elected president, 
which position he held until his death, and was succeeded by Daniel 
"W. Johnson, in January, 1870, who held the office until January, 
1893, when he resigned, and John L. Farwell was elected presi- 
dent. In February, 1874, John L. Farwell resigned the treasurer- 
ship, and Albert Rossiter was elected in his place, which he 
held until December, 1882, when he resigned, and John L. Far- 
well was again elected. At the annual meeting in January, 1893, 
the deposits were $1,732,812.75; guaranty fund, $85,000 ; surplus, 
$21,492.82. 

The Claremont Bank and Sullivan Savings Institution were located 
on Broad street, in the building now the residence of Geo. L. Balcom, 
until 1855, except that while Samuel C. Bailey was treasurer the 
Sullivan Savings Institution was in Bailey's block, now the Fiske 
Free Library building. In 1855 these two banks were removed to 
the north end of George N. Farwell's block. In 1876 the two cor- 
porations united in erecting the bank building, at the south of Mr, 
Farwell's block, and when it was completed removed to it. 

RAILROADS. 
SULLIVAN COUNTY RAILROAD. 

This railroad runs from Bellows Falls, Yt., through Charlestown, 
Claremont, and Cornish, l!^. H., to Windsor, Vt., a distance of 
twenty-six miles. It was chartered by the 'New Hampshire legisla- 
ture July 10, 1846, and opened for business February 5, 1849. It 
connects at Bellows Falls with the Cheshire railroad for Boston, 
via Keene and Fitchburg ; the Valley railroad for New York, via 
Springfield and Hartford ; the Rutland for Montreal and the 
West ; at Claremont Junction with the Concord and Claremont rail- 
road for Concord and Boston, and at Windsor with the Central 
Vermont railroad for St. Albans, Montreal, and the West. The 
cost of this road was represented by five hundred thousand dollars 
in stock and eight hundred and fifty-four thousand seven hundred 
and ninety-six dollars and ninety-three cents in debts secured by 



350 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

mortgage bonds. After having been in operation two years it was 
surrendered to trustees for the benefit of creditors, and in 1863 was 
leased to the Central Vermont. In 1866, the corporation being 
hopelessly bankrupt, the property was sold for five hundred thou- 
sand dollars to the bondholders, who formed a new corporation, 
changing the name from Sullivan railroad to Sullivan County rail- 
road, and the road was re-leased for two years to the Central Ver- 
mont for twenty-five thousand dollars per year. Of the stock of 
this corporation the Northern railroad was the principal owner. 
In 1880 the Vermont Valley corporation purchased the stock, and 
it became a part of the Connecticut river system. In 1893 this 
road was leased to the Boston and Maine railroad, 

CONCORD AND CLAREMONT RAILROAD. 

This road extends from Claremont Junction, where it connects 
with the Sullivan County railroad, through Newport and Bradford 
to Concord, fifty-six miles, where it connects with the Concord rail- 
road for Boston, and with the Northern and Boston, Concord and 
Montreal railroads. At Contoocook it connects with the Monad- 
nock, Peterborough and Hillsborough railroad for Winchendon, 
Mass., via Hillsborough and Peterborough. This road was built 
from Concord to Bradford, twenty-seven miles, in 1850. In 1871 
and 1872 it was built from Bradford to Claremont Junction, twen- 
ty-nine miles, and opened for business over the entire line, in Octo- 
ber, 1872. That part of this road from Bradford to Claremont 
was built under the name of the Sugar River railroad, aided by 
gratuities from towns on its lines. Claremont contributed one 
hundred thousand dollars. In 1873 the Sugar River was consoli- 
dated with what was called the Merrimack and Connecticut Rivers 
railroad, under the name of the Concord and Claremont railroad. 

WINDSOR AND FOREST LINE RAILROAD. 

At the session of the New Hampshire legislature, in 1870, a 
charter was granted for a railroad from Windsor, Vt., to Green- 
field, N. H., there to connect with the Nashua and Wilton railroad. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 351 

Soon a company was organized by the grantees, and a route has 
been surveyed through Cornish, Claremont, Unity, Acworth, 
Lempster, Washington, Marlow, Stoddard, and Hancock, to 
Greenfield, and pronounced feasible. The distance from Claremont 
to Boston over this route is from twenty-six to thirty miles shorter 
than by way of Concord, or Keene and Fitchburg, an advantage 
which may secure the building of this road in the future. 

CLAREMONT AND WmTE RIVER JUNCTION RAILROAD. 

In 1872 the New Hampshire legislature granted a charter for a 
railroad from Claremont to White Eiver Junction ; the grantees 
organized a company, and a route was surveyed from Claremont 
village through Cornish, Plainfield, and Lebanon to White River 
Junction, Yt. It was found that a road could be built over the 
route surveyed at very moderate cost, and it has been thought that 
the many advantages to be gained by it would ensure its con- 
struction. 

BLACK RIVER RAILROAD. 

Charters for a railroad from Cavendish, Vt., through Springfield 
village to Claremont Junction, there to connect with the Concord 
and Claremont and Sullivan County railroads, have been granted 
by the Vermont and New Hampshire legislatures ; a company has 
been organized, surveys and estimates of the expense of building 
the road made. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

TOWN HALL — COTTAGE HOSPITAL — HIGHWAYS AND BRIDGES. 
TOWK-HAXL. 

This is truly an historic building. In 1783 Ichabod Hitchcock, 
the only master carpenter in town for several years, hewed the 
timber, which was packed up for nearly two years ; then it was 
framed, raised, boarded, and rough floors laid, under the supervis- 
ion of Mr. Hitchcock, in which condition it was used for the Con- 
gregational meeting-house, for a time. It stood on the highway 
leading from the village to Claremont Junction, near W. H. H. 
Moody's horse training park. The building was taken down, its 
timbers and boards removed to the village, and in 1790 put to- 
gether again in its present location, by Mr. Hitchcock. The inside 
was subsequently finished with large square pews and hinged seats 
and a high pulpit, which was reached by a flight of narrow stairs, 
with a sounding-board over it, according t o the general fash- 
ion of that period. In 1808 the steeple, or tower, and the octa- 
gon portion on the south side, were added. A bell was placed in 
the tower in 1810, and in December, 1827, a clock, made by 
Thomas Woolson, an ingenious mechanic of the town, was put in 
the tower, and has remained there, marking the hours and minutes 
into which the day is divided, with commendable accuracy, to the 
present time. 

Upon the top of the steeple was a gilded wooden ball, ten or 
twelve inches in diameter. On this ball Linus Stevens, a carpen- 
ter's apprentice, sixteen years old, mounted and stood upon his 
head, with his feet in the air. At the age of seventy-six years 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 353 

he was present at the rededication of the town hall, in January, 
1868. 

The land on which this building stands, and the park south of it, 
was given to the town by Josiah Stevens, father of Deacon Josiah, 
Alvah, Godfrey, and Col. Paran Stevens. 

This building was occupied by the Congregational society as a 
place of religious worship, and for town-meetings, until 1835, when 
that society had completed its new meeting-house on Pleasant 
street. Since that time it Has been used only as a town-hall. 

From 1835 for thirty-two years, but little was done to improve 
the inside of the building, except to replace the square pews with 
rude board settees and the high pulpit with a small platform or 
stage ; and nothing to the outside more than to keep it covered 
and give it a coat of paint occasionally. In April, 1867, pursuant 
to a vote of the town, passed at the annual meeting in the preced- 
ing March, under the direction of the board of selectmen, consist- 
ing of Francis Locke, Arnold Briggs, and Henry C. Cowles, and 
with Benj. P. Gilman as architect and superintendent of the work, 
the building was completely remodeled and repaired, inside and 
out, at an expense of something more than ten thousand dollars, 
making it a very handsome and commodious town hall, of suffi- 
cient capacity for the needs of the town at that time, though the 
population had quite outgrown it in 1894. 

Early in January, 1868, the work having been completed, a 
meeting of citizens was held and a committee to arrange for ap- 
propriate exercises for the rededication of the building was chosen. 
On the evening of January 15 the hall was packed with citizens of 
Claremont and vicinity interested in the event. Otis F. R. Waite, 
chairman of the committee of arrangements, in a short address, 
welcomed the people to their reconstructed and elegantly finished 
and furnished town hall. Amongst other things, he said, "We 
have suffered so long and so much from the inconveniences and 
discomforts of the old building as to make the changes and repairs 
made upon it in the last few months stand out like ' a good deed 
in a naughty world.'" He then announced the following as the 



354 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

officers for the occasion : President, Charles H. Eastman ; vice- 
presidents, Samuel P. Fiske, Charles M. Bingham, Geo. N. Far- 
well, Daniel W. Barney, Hosea P. Shedd, Samuel G. Jarvis, "Wil- 
liam Ellis, Winthrop Sargeant, David Dodge, Charles F. Long, 
Francis Whitcomb, Alonzo Thomas, Freeman S. Chellis, Euel 
Bowman, Benj. P. Walker, Samuel H. Andrews, Amos Hitchcock, 
Lyman Barnes, Horace Dean, IlTathaniel Tolles, Edward L. God- 
dard, Arnold Briggs, Fred. A. Henry, and Solon C. Grannis ; sec- 
retaries, Otis F. R. Waite and Arthur Chase. 

The president being introduced delivered an appropriate address, 
commending the improvements upon the building and the skill 
and faithfulness of those engaged in making them. Prayer was 
oiFered by the Rev. E. W. Clark, pastor of the Congregational 
church, followed by the performance by a select choir and orches- 
tra under the leadership of A. P. Wyman, of the anthem " Mighty 
Jehovah." 

John S. Walker was introduced as the principal speaker of the 
evening, and made a very interesting address, giving a history of 
the town-hall building, its various locations and changes since 
1783, followed with short speeches by Samuel G. Jarvis, Ezra J. 
Glidden, of Unity, and some others, and the adoption of resolu- 
tions of thanks to the superintendent and artisans, who had acted 
well their respective parts in the execution of the work upon the 
building being dedicated. 

These exercises were folloAved by a genaral ball, in which about 
eighty couples of old, middle aged, and young participated. The 
ladies appeared in elegant and tasteful toilets, and the gentlemen in 
becoming evening dress. The music was furnished by a fine orches- 
tra, and it was a gay and brilliant affair, successful in all its parts, 
and will be long remembered by those who took active part in, or 
witnessed it. 

Since 1868 no material changes have been made in the external 
or internal appearance of this building. It is a landmark, beloved 
for its age, venerable architecture, and many pleasant associations 
with former and present generations, but for which it would prob- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 355 

ably long since have been replaced by a more commodious and 
modern structure. 

COTTAGE HOSPITAL. 

In 1866, the Ladies' Union Aid Society, composed of women be- 
longing to the several religious societies in town, and others, was 
organized. The object of this organization was to extend help to 
the feeble and poor, according to their needs. In 1892 the Clare- 
mont Building Association donated to this society a small building 
which had been used for a post-office ; it was moved to a vacant 
spot a few rods east of the town-hall and fitted up for meetings 
and storage for donations of clothing, etc. 

In December, 1891, this society voted to take up hospital work, 
and iu February, 1892, thirteen members signed articles of agree- 
ment and organized as a voluntary corporation, the object being 
" the establishment and maintenance of a hospital ; the care of the 
aged and children ; caring for the poor; educating the young, and 
lending a helping hand to all." In March, 1892, a committee to 
select a site for a hospital was chosen, consisting of Drs. C. W. 
Tolles and 0. B. Way, H. W. Parker, Mrs. H. C. Fitch, Mrs. C. U. 
Dunning, Mrs. S. 'N. Bennett, Mrs. Samuel Baum, and Misses Fan- 
nie B. Jones and C. Isabelle Dutton. This committee settled upon 
a part of what was for many years the Keyes farm, about a 
mile north of the town hall, between Hanover and Elm streets, 
owned by R. B. Lull, with a cottage house, stables, and sheds 
thereon, which could be bought for thirty-five hundrecjr dollars. 
Means were taken to raise this amount by subscriptions, which 
was accomplished early in November, in sums varying in amount 
from twenty-five cents to two hundred and forty dollars. Ten 
gentlemen subscribed one hundred dollars each. Other sums 
were obtained by a picnic upon the hospital grounds and in 
other ways. At the annual town meeting in March, 1893, by 
virtue of an enabling act of the New Hampshire legislature, it 
was voted to exempt from taxation the real estate owned by 
this society, so long as it shall be used for hospital purposes. 

This society has a relief fund, which has been kept distinct 



356 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

from the hospital fund. The officers for 1893 were Mrs. Edwin 
Vaughan, president ; Mrs. H. A. Dickinson and Mrs. H. C. 
Fitch, vice-presidents; Mrs. Samuel Baum, secretary; Miss C. 
Isabelle Dutton, treasurer: Mrs. Herbert Bailey and nineteen 
other ladies, executive committee; advisory board of gentlemen, 
John L. Farwell, George L. Balcom, O. B. Way, John T. Em- 
erson, and P. P. Coburn ; auditor, Burt Chellis. 

Repairs and alterations on the house, adapting it for a hospi- 
tal for the sick, capable of accommodating ten or twelve pa- 
tients, having been completed, it was dedicated with appropriate 
exercises and named the Cottage Hospital, on July 13, 1893, 
soon after which it was opened for the reception of patients. 
The Episcopal, Congregational, Baptist, Methodist, Universalist, 
and Catholic churches, each donated a hospital bed, while citi- 
zens and others interested gave liberally of money, furniture, 
provisions, etc. 

HIGHWAYS AND BRIDGES. 

The first road through Claremont was a horse road or bridle- 
path from Lebanon to Charlestown, laid out in 1762, by marked 
trees and other signs to guide the traveler through the wilder- 
ness. Lebanon was the first town on Connecticut river above 
Charlestown to be settled. The settlers had to go to Charles- 
town to get their grain ground, until a mill was built nearer to 
them. Hence the necessity for this horse road. 

At an adjournment of the first town meeting held in Clare- 
mont, on the twenty-ninth day of March, 1768, Benjamin Brooks 
and Benjamin Sumner were chosen a committee to lay out a 
road to l!^ewport. 

At the annual town meeting in 1772, it was "Voted to raise 
thirty-five Pounds Lawful Money toward the amendment of the 
Highways." 

At the annual town meeting in 1780, it was "Voted that each 
man shall work two days on highways and bridges." 



HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 357 

ASHLEY FERRY. 

In 1784, Oliver Ashley was granted a charter for a ferry 
across Connecticut river, from the south part of Claremont to 
"Weathersfield Bow, Vt., and a ferry has been maintained there 
since then. 

LOTTERY BRIDGE. 

In 1785 there was necessity for a bridge over Sugar river, on 
the road up and down Connecticut river, and the following were 
the means taken to obtain it : 

To the Hon'ble the Gen'l Court of the State of New Hampshire 
Humbly Sheweth — 

That Your Petitioners Who Were appointed a Committee by a Number 
of the Inhabitants of the town of Claremont, assembled on the first day of 
November 1783 for the Purpose of Laying a plan for building a bridge 
Over Sugar River, to Accomadate the Main Country Road; Subscriptions 
Were Open'd in the Town aforesaid And the Generous Donations Came in 
to the Am't of Sixty Pounds Chiefly by Yr Petitioners (Except a few Indi- 
viduals on the Great road who Expected to be Accomadated by Said Bridge) 
Which Money Was Carefully Laid Out by yr Petitioners in procuring timber 
Which is Now on the Spot. And in the Meantime When Said Work Was 
Carried on Subscription papers Were forwarded to the Principal Gent'm in 
Each Town From Walpole to Haverhill, begging their assistance in So Pub- 
lic & Important A Matter. We had Many kind Ans'rs from these Gent'm 
We Addressed, And Wrote to, but When a return of the Subscriptions Were 
Come in found the Whole Am't to be but about one pound ten Shill's — 

That your Petitioners have Since in Public Town Meeting in said Clare- 
mont Urged the Assistance of the town but to No purpose; therefore y'r 
Petitioners beg leave to Represent that there is Sixty pounds Worth of tim- 
ber on the Spot, and the Cost of Building Said bridge Will be According to 
the Judgm't of the best Artificers two Hundred pounds — therefore y'r Pe- 
titioners beg y'r Hon'rs to Grant a Lottery that Shall Neat free of the Need- 
full Expense two Hundred pounds, to be appropriated to the use afores'd 
And Appoint -Such Directors as y'r Wisdom Shall think fitt And y'r Petition- 
ers as in duty bound Will pray — 

Fran's Beatty San'd Kingsbury John Spencer 

John Cook Elihu Stevens T. Sterne 

Josiah Rich Asa Jones 



358 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

The foregoing is a verbatim copy of a petition found in Vol. 
XI, page 379, Town Papers of New Hampshire, and the editor 
adds what is inclosed in brackets : 

[An act was passed June 23, 1785, authorizing them to set 
up a lottery, and thereby raise three hundred pounds for the 
aforesaid purpose. Samuel Ashley, Jr., Sanford Kingsbury, and 
Francis Beatty were appointed managers. — Ed.] 

At the annual meeting in 1786, the town " Voted to raise 
100£ to be laid out on Highways," and " to give three shillings 
per day for a man & eighteen pence per day for a yoke of 
oxen and six pence per day for cart and six pence per day for a 
plow." 

TURNPIKE. 

At a special town meeting, November 18, 1799, voted " To 
encourage a Turnpike through Claremont, Unity, and Amherst." 

According to Farmer & Moore's New Hampshire Gazetteer 
published in 1823, the Second New Hampshire Turnpike was 
incorporated by the legislature December 26, 1799, "from Clare- 
mont, Unity, Lempster, Washington, corner of Windsor, Hills- 
borough and Antrim, Deering, Francistown, corner of Lynde- 
borough and New Boston, Mont Yernon, Amherst — distance 50 
miles — cost $80,000." Fifty-three turnpikes were chartered by 
the legislature prior to 1823. The Second New Hampshire 
Turnpike, with toll-gates, was continued until near 1840. In 
1838 the legislature passed an act authorizing the selectmen 
and the courts to take the franchise and other rights of corpo- 
rations for public highways, in the same manner as they took 
the land of individuals, soon after which this turnpike was dis- 
continued, a free highway having been laid over it. 

On October 5, 1804, the town "Voted to build a Bridge over 
Sugar river by Col. Tyler's Mills the next summer." The 
building of this bridge was bid off at vendue, Josiah Rich be- 
ing the lowest bidder, for six hundred dollars. 

At the annual town meeting in 1824, it was " Voted that the 
selectmen be authorized to lay out a Road from the Turnpike 




UPP£R DAAl, AND GREEN MOUNTAIN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. ' 359 

west of Bill Barnes's & build a Bridge across Sugar River, near 
E. & A. Tyler's Mills; provided the expense to the town shall 
not exceed Three Hundred Dollars." The Messrs. Tyler were 
interested in this project and agreed to bear a portion of the 
expense of building the bridge. 

In 1825 the town " Voted that the selectmen be authorized 
to lay out a road from Jesse Campbell's up redwater brook 
by Albin Andrews's saw mill to Cornish line, if they shall 
think it expedient." 

In May, 1829, it was "Voted that the town will build a 
bridge across Sugar River, near Doct. Leonard Jarvis's Factory," 
and raised eight hundred dollars for that purpose. 

At a town meeting, April 16, 1831, it was " Voted that Isaac 
Hubbard, Ambrose Cossit and Bartlett Clement be a commit- 
tee to make contracts in behalf of the town of Claremont for 
making those portions of the road laid out by the Court's Com- 
mittee in August last, commencing on the Turnpike near Mr. 
Josiah Rich's and ending at the Common; and commencing at 
the road near Mr. Albro Blodgett's and ending at Newport 
line; and that said Committee be authorized and requested, in 
behalf of the town of Claremont, to proceed immediately to 
make contracts by auction or otherwise, for the making of such 
part of said road as they may deem expedient, in such divisions 
or sections as they shall think proper; and that the selectmen 
be instructed to pay or make legal tender to the owners of land 
through which said road passes, the several sums assessed them 
as damages." The town also voted to raise the sum of one 
thousand dollars to be applied toward the expense of making 
this road. 

In 1837 a corporation built a bridge over Connecticut river, 
between Claremont and Weathersfield, Vt, and it was opened 
to public travel as a toll-bridge in December of that year. It 
took the place of a ferry. 



360 ' HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 

In the last few years three iron bridges over Sugar river — 
two in the village and Lottery bridge — have taken the place 
of wooden structures. 

In the summer of 1890, Pleasant street, from Tremont square 
to the Concord and Claremont railroad station, was macadamized— 
thus converting a very muddy street in wet, and dusty one in 
dry seasons, into an excellent drive-way at all times, — at an 
expense of about ten thousand dollars. 



CHAPTER XXVII. 

DEATH OF PRESIDENTS HARRISON, LINCOLN, AND GRANT. 

William Henry Harrison was inaugurated president of the 
United States, March 4, 1841, and died of pleurisy fever on the 
fourth of April following — just one month after his induction 
into the highest office in the gift of the American people. On 
the thirteenth of that month, John Tyler, who had succeeded 
to the presidency, issued a proclamation recommending that 
Friday, the fourteenth of May, be observed by the people through- 
out the country as a day of fasting and prayer on account of 
the death of President Harrison. In response to this proclama- 
tion, the people of Claremont met and took steps for suitable 
exercises on the day named. The following officers were chosen : 
Committee of arrangements, John H. Warland, Thomas J. Harris, 
Uriel Dean, A. Watkins, Joseph Weber, J. S. Spaulding, Wil- 
liam Rossiter, Edward L. Goddard, B. D. Howe, Charles Jones, 
Theron Metcalf, James P. Brewer, and H. R. ]S"ye ; marshal, 
Silas L. Bingham; aids, Joseph Weber, Philemon Tolles, Ed- 
ward L. Goddard, and James P. Brewer. 

In the "Eagle" of May 21 appeared a full account of the ex- 
ercises, from which the following is extracted : " At ten o'clock 
in the forenoon the citizens of all classes and denominations, ladies, 
teachers and pupils of the different schools, assembled near the 
Baptist meeting-house, and formed in procession under the direc- 
tion of the marshal, esco,rted by the Fusilier and Rifle companies, 
in uniform, under the command of Captains Watkins and Goss, 
proceeded through the different streets, and marched to the sol- 
emn music of the Claremont band to the town house. The pro- 

24 



362 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

cession was very large, and completely filled the spacious house. 
The exercises were very interesting and impressive. President 
Tyler's proclamation was read by the Rev. Mr. Nichols. Then 
followed an anthem by the Sacred Music Society; reading of 
Scriptures by Rev. Mr. Graves ; prayer by Rev. R. F. Lawrence ; 
funeral address by Prof E. D. Sanborn, of Dartmouth College ; 
singing by the Sacred Music Society; and benediction by Pro- 
fessor Sanborn. At about one o'clock the procession was re- 
formed and marched to the Baptist meeting-house where a dox- 
ology was sung to the tune of Old Hundred by the congregation. 
The town house was hung with crape, and the national flags 
were decorated with the habiliments of grief. Every part of the 
performance was done with great propriety and in order." 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT LIXCOLN. 

On Eriday evening, the fourteenth of April, while President 
Abraham Lincoln was witnessing the play of " Our American 
Cousin," at Eord's Theater, Washington, D. C, with his wife and 
two friends, John Wilkes Booth, a play-actor, worked his way to 
the box w^here they were seated, and coming up behind the presi- 
dent, shot him in the head with a revolver, the ball entering 
the brain, and he died on Saturday morning, the fifteenth, at 
about half-past seven o'clock. jSTever before was the nation 
plunged in such deep and universal grief. Strong men met on 
the streets and wept in speechless anguish. The announcement 
of this great calamity in Claremont was followed by the tolling 
of bells on the several churches, and other demonstrations of real . 
heartfelt sorrow by the people. On Sunday the churches were 
decorated with emblems of mourning, and the clergymen in their 
prayers and sermons made touching allusion to the bereavement 
that had so suddenly befallen the country, at a time when the 
people were rejoicing at the termination of the four years' war of 
the Rebellion, and the hoped for peace throughout the land. 

On Wednesday, the nineteenth of April, in accordance with 
recommendation from Washington, and special proclamation of 
Joseph A. Gilmore, governor of !N'ew Hampshire, the obse- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. db3 

quies of President Lincoln were observed. Business was entirely 
suspended; at twelve o'clock the church bells were tolled, minute 
guns were fired, and the people assembled at the town hall. 
Rev. Edward W. Clark read the governor's proclamation, and 
made the opening prayer; appropriate pieces were sung by the 
choir, under the leadership of Francis F. Haskell ; Rev. E. S. 
Foster read selections from Scripture ; Rev. F. W. Towle offered 
prayer; addresses were made by Rev. Messrs. S. G. Kellogg, 
Moses Kimball, of Ascutneyville, Vt., Foster, Clark, and Towle, 
of Claremont, and Albert Goss, of Auburn, K Y., a native of 
the town. The choir sang the hymn, " "Why do we mourn depart- 
ing friends," to the tune of China, and Mr. Kimball pronounced 
the benediction. Appropriate services, conducted by Rev. J. M. 
Peck, were held at Trinity church, between eleven and twelve 
o'clock. ISTever did the people of Claremont mourn more sincerely 
than on this occasion. 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT GRANT. 

The eminent general and ex-president, Ulysses S. Grant, after 
a long and painful sickness, died at Mount McGregor, near Sar- 
atoga, New York, on the twenty-third of July, 1885. The select- 
men published the following notice in the town papers : 

TAKE NOTICE. 

The citizens of Claremont are requested to meet at the town hall, Saturday 
evening, August 1, at 8 o'clock, to make arrangements for the proper observ- 
ance of the day of the funeral of the nation's beloved hero and patriot. General 
Grant, which will take place August 8. 

I. H. Long, -\ 
M. S. RossiTER, V Selectmen. 
H. C. Sanders, ) 
Claremont, N. H., July 30, 1885. 

Pursuant to this notice, a large number of citizens assembled. 
John S. Walker was chosen chairman, and stated the object for 
which the people were called together. Otis F. R. Waite, Hosea 



364 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

W. Parker, and David W. O'^N'eil were appointed a committee to 
report a committee of arrangements for the funeral exercises, and 
named George H. Stowell, John M. Whipple, James B. Thrasher,. 
Marshall S. Rossiter, Hosea W. Parker, George T. Stockwell» 
Frank G. Winn, Hartley L. Brooks, and George W. Paul, to 
act in conjunction with Hiram G. Sherman, Charles H. Long, 
and Harry C. Fay, appointed by Major Jarvis Post of the Grand 
Army. 

At a meeting of the committee of arrangements, Hosea W. 
Parker was chosen president of the day of the funeral. Ira Colby,, 
John S. Walker, Harry C. Fay, Edwin Yaughan, Charles H. Long, 
Solon C. Grannis, Simeon Ide, John W. Hammond, Samuel G. 
Jarvis, Henry K Hunton, George L, Balcom, Edward Aius- 
worth, Russell Jarvis, Osmon B. Way, Daniel W. Johnson,, 
George N. Farwell, Charles M. Bingham, and Frederick P. 
Smith, vice-presidents; W. H, H. Allen, orator; Rev. Lee S. 
M'Collester, chaplain. 

On the day of the funeral, by order of the postmaster-general, 
all the post-offices in the states and territories were closed from 
one to five o'clock, p. m. In Claremont, business was suspended 
from twelve to six o'clock, and bells were tolled from half past 
one to two o'clock. The town hall was tastefully decorated with 
emblems of mourning. At two o'clock the exercises were opened 
by the singing by a select choir, under the leadership of F. F. Has- 
kell, of the hymn beginning, 

"My faith looks up to Thee," 

followed by prayer by the chaplain. The president made a 
short opening address, and presented the orator, William 
H. H. Allen, who spoke about forty minutes. He was followed 
in short addresses by Ira Colby, John S. Walker, Edwin 
Vaughan, Revs. Lee S. M'Collester, J. H. Robbins, and G. M. 
Curl, and Dr. Osmon B. Way. The oration and addresses were 
all eloquent, touching, and appropriate to the occasion. 

The president, Mr. Parker, said, — " Before dismissing this as- 
sembly I desire to say that I have seen General Grant under- 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 365 

different circumstances for four years, and one of his most prom- 
inent characteristics was his great modest}^ Under all circum- 
stances he was as modest as a schoolboy, and as simple as a 
child." 

The exercises were concluded with singing by the choir of the 
hymn, the first two lines of which are, 

".Beyond the smiling and the weeping, 
I shall be soon." 



CHAPTER XXVm. 

SECRET SOCIETIES — MASONIC ORGANIZATIONS. 

hibam: lodge, no. 9. 

This lodge has been in existence nearly a hundred years, 
having been instituted June 25, 1798. Among its members 
from the first have been numbered many of the most able, in- 
fluential, and substantial men of the town, and the institution 
has commanded the respect of all classes. The first principal 
officers were Ithamer Chase, W. M. ; Daniel Barber, S, W. ; Eben- 
ezer Rice, J. "W. ; Stephen Dexter, treasurer; Ambrose Cossit, 
secretary. 

UNION MARK LODGE, NO. 1. 

By dispensation from DeWitt Clinton, Grand High Priest of 
the General Grand Royal Arch Chapter of the United States of 
America, this lodge was instituted July 13, 1818. The first 
principal officers were Stephen Rice, Rt. W. master ; Nathan 
Bingham, senior warden; Zenas Hitchcock, junior warden; Jo- 
seph Rice, treasurer; Joseph Alden, secretary. This lodge con- 
tinued in existence until August 20, 1820, when, by vote, it was 
disbanded, and the funds on hand were given to Webb Chap- 
ter, thereafter to be instituted, and the records and papers were 
to be deposited with its secretary, when chosen. 

WEBB ROYAL AKCH CHAPTER 

Was instituted July 11, 1821. The first principal officers were 
Jonathan Nye, high priest; Nathan Bingham, king; Godfrey 
Stevens, scribe. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 367 

COLUMBIA COUNCIL, NO. 2, R. AND S. M. 

This council was instituted April 12, 1822. The first princi- 
pal officers were Jonathan Nye, T. I. G. M. ; Nathan Bingham, 
D. I. G. M. ; Godfrey Stevens, P. C. ; Roswell Elmer, C. of G. ; 
Stephen Starbird, G. S. ; Stephen Eice, recorder; Daniel Chase, 
treasurer. 

SULLIVAN COMMANDERT, NO. 6. 

This commandery was instituted January 23, 1866, by Charles 
A. Tufts, G. C. of the Grand Commandery of New Hamp- 
shire. The principal officers were Leland J. Graves, E. C. ; 
Henry A. liedfield, generalissimo; A. K. Howard, C. G. Its 
eminent commanders have been Leland J. Graves, Hosea "W. 
Parker, Joseph W. Robinson, Albert S. Wait, Edward F. Hough- 
ton, and Charles H. Long. 

ODD FELLOWS. 
SULLIVAN LODGE, NO. 12. 

On the thirteenth of October, 1845, Charles Williams and five 
other citizens of Claremont, who were members of White Moun- 
tain Lodge, of Concord, petitioned the Grand Lodge of New 
Hampshire for a dispensation to form a subordinate lodge in 
Claremont, which was granted, and on the twenty-third of the 
same month Sullivan Lodge, No. 12, was duly instituted, with 
Philemon Tolles, noble grand; William 0. C. Woodbury, secre- 
tary, and Sylvanus F. Redfield, treasurer. The lodge continued 
in active work until 1857, when the organization was abandoned 
and the charter surrendered. 

On March 21, 1872, on petition to the Grand Lodge of the 
state, a new charter, with the same name and number, was 
granted to William 0. C. Woodbury, John Hendee, Joseph 
Weber, Stephen Carleton, Fred. A. Henry, William Clark, Dan- 
iel J. Livingston, and Lewis W. Randall, and the lodge has 
been in active operation to the present time. It has eligible 
rooms in S. S. Rand's block. 



368 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

Sullivan Lodge was instituted August 2, 1872, with ten char- 
ter members. The largest number of members at any time was 
twenty-six, in 1873. It was not very prosperous during its ex- 
istence, and on August 21, 1875, the organization was aban- 
doned and the charter subsequently surrendered. On December 
30, 1887, Claremont Lodge, No. 15, was instituted, with twenty- 
six charter members. Its membership July 1, 1894, was fifty- 
four, mostly young men. This organization occupies eligible 
and handsomely furnished rooms in the third story of Union 
block, and has a fund on deposit in the savings bank. It is a 
benefit institution, and paid in benefits from its organization to 
December 31, 1893, two hundred and sixty-two dollars. 

GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC. 
MAJOR JARVIS POST, NO, 12, 

Was organized on July 7, 1868, with twenty-one charter mem- 
bers. Edwin Vaughan was the first commander. The succeed- 
ing commanders were Charles H. Long, Henry E. Barrett, and 
Oliver A. Bond. The post was disbanded in May, 1872. Dur- 
ing its existence one hundred and ten comrades enlisted. A new 
post, with the same name and number, was organized on June 
29, 1880, with Hiram G. Sherman as commander. His succes- 
sors have been "William H. Redfield, James H. Perkins, Irving 
A. Hnrd, Charles L. Severance, William Dodge, Harry C. Fay, 
Levi D. Hall, Shubael Gould, Levi Johnson, Edward A. Parme- 
lee, Cyrus W. Dana, Allen P. Messer, and George A. Walker. 
Meetings were held in a hall in what was known as Oscar J. 
Brown's wood block, which was completely destroyed by fire on 
the morning of March 27, 1887, with all the records, library, 
furniture, and other property of the Grand Army Post, which 
was insured for nearly its full value. When Union block was 
built, on the site of the one burned, a large hall and rooms 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 369 

adjoining were fitted up in its third story for this organization, 
which it has since occupied. 

In iN'ovember, 1882, the Major Jarvis "Woman's Relief Corps, 
auxiliary to the Grand Army, was organized, with Mrs. Nellie 
M. Gerry, president. 

PATRONS OF HUSBANDRY. 

Claremont Grange, Xo. 9, was organized November 18, 1873. 
It is composed mainly of farmers and their wives. Meetings 
are held regularly each month in Grand Army hall, and special 
meetings are held occasionally at the homes of its members. 



CHAPTER XXIX. 

MARKS OF CATTLE, SHEEP, AND SWINE. 

The following names of persons who had cattle, sheep, and 
swine marks recorded by the town clerk, from 1771 to 1793, are 
given as showing the probable owners of land in Claremont during 
that period : 



1771. 



Names. 
Asa Leet. 
Ebenezer Rice. 
John Thomas. 
Cornelius Brooks. 
Samuel Cole. 
Meea Potter. 
John Hitchcock. 
Joseph Ives. 
Benjamin Brooks, 
Stephen Higby. 
Hezekiah Roys. 
Capt. Benj. Brooks. 
Daniel Warner. 
Thomas Gustin. 
Thomas Jones. 
Ebenezer Skinner. 
John Kilborn. 
Barnabas Ellis. 
Capt. Benj. Sumner. 
Asa Jones. 
Amazia Knight. 
Jonas Steward. 
Gideon Lewis. 



Year. 
1771. 



Names. 



John Spencer. 
Amos York. 
John Peak. 

1772. Benj. Towner. 
Beniah Murray. 
Joseph York. 

1773. Samuel Thomas. 

1774. Thomas Goodwin. 
Doct. William Sumner. 
Edward Goodwin. 
Elihu Stevens. 
Josiah Stevens. 
Elihu Stevens, Jr. 
Roswell Stevens. 

1776. Timothy Grannis. 
David Bates. 
Berna Brooks. 
Asahel Brooks. 
John Brooks. 
Stephen Higbe. 
Levy Higbe. 

1777. Doct. Thomas Sterne. 
Capt. Gideon Kirtland. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMOIJT. 



371 



1777. Oliver Ellsworth. 
Sergt. Joseph Hubbard. 
Capt. Ebenezer Clark. 
Dea. Jacob Rice. 
Amos Conant. 
Jonathan Parker. 

1778. Joseph Clark. 
John Adkins. 
Daniel Ford. 

Eev. Augustine Hibbard. 

1779. Megs Stevens. 
Zeba Stevens. 
Linus Stevens. 

Sergt. Jeremiah Spencer. 
James Alden. 
John West. 
Richard Hawley. 
Ephraim French. 
William York. 
Dr. James Steele. 

1780. Ebenezer Judd. 
Samuel Bates. 
Levy Pardee. 
Joseph Clark. 
Bill Barnes. 

1781. Reuben Petty. 
Josiah Rich. 
Amos Cole. 

1782. Ezra Butler. 
Ichabod Hitchcock. 

1783. Henry Stevens. 

Maj. Sanl'ord Kingsbury. 

1785. Timothy Cole. 

1786. Asa Jones. 

1788. Daniel Greene. 

1789. Nehemiah Rice. 
Adam Raner Leet. 
Zara Thomas. 

1790. Isaac Morgan. 
James White. 



1790. JohnDutton. 
Joseph Rice. 
Eliphalet Robinson. 

1791. Moses Allen. 
Capt. John Cook. 
Gideon Handerson. 
Joseph Spalding. 
Timothy Atkins. 
Ashbei Richardson, 

1792. David Rich. 
Enoch Judd. 
Bruster Judd. 

Linus Stevens, Phisition. 
Jonathan Bradley. 
Ambrose Cossit. 
John C. S^jrague. 
John Sprague. 
Thomas Warner. 
Martin Andrews. 
James Alden. 
Capt. John Blodgett. 
Amos Conant. 
Benj. Peterson. 
Ephraim Peterson. 
Doct. Abuer Megs. 
Eliakim Stevens. 
W^idow Mary Bellield. 
Joseph Cummins. 

1793. Phinehas Cowles. 
William Breck. 
Roswell Clapp. 
Benedick Rice. 
Aaron Sholes. 
Christopher Erskine. 
David Stedman. 
Reuben Petty. 
Abraham Fisher. 
William Rhodes. 
Ezekiel Leet. 



372 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

MUSICAL REMINISCENCES. 

Early in the present century Claremont was quite celebrated 
for the talents and accomplishments of her singers and performers 
tipon various musical instruments. Dr. J. Baxter Upham, of Wew 
York city — a native of the town — furnishes interesting remin- 
iscences touching this subject, which are given in the main in his 
own language. 

The period embraced in this sketch extends from about 1830 
to 1842 inclusive, and it may be called perhaps the musical epoch 
of Claremont. At no time before or since has the town — always 
foremost in this particular — contained so many really excellent 
voices and instruments. It was then that the old Claremont 
Sacred Music Society was in its prime — a body of sixty mem- 
bers selected for their proficiency — having as their leader Mr. 
Silas L. Bingham, who had been trained as a choir boy at Trinity 
church in Boston; for organist Mr. John Long, formerly of the 
Temple church, London, Among the prominent vocalists of the 
society were Mrs. Luther S. Porter, formerly Eliza Bingham, 
soprano; Mrs. Silas L. Bingham, nee Mary Mansfield, a lovely 
contralto; Messrs. Hosea Booth, Jonathan Miner, and John M. 
Gowdey, tenors; Messrs. Luther S. Porter, George N. Farwell, 
and Charles M. Bingham, bassos, and a host of others, who made 
up the rank and file of the chorus. 

The orchestra — if it may be so called — was, of course, limited 
in numbers and scope, but contained such excellent players as 
Caleb Densmore, violin; James H. Brigham and Levi Bingham, 
violoncellos; Arnold Merrill,* contra basso; J. Fisher Lawrence, 
piccolo; John Dane, clarionet; Charles R. Bingham, Robert 
H. Upham, Morris Evarts, and Walter Bingham, flutes — the 
latter a very accomplished musician, a resident of Acworth, but 
who was wont to come up and join his musical brethren on im- 
portant occasions, together with the aforesaid John Long, who 
presided at the organ, iN'ot unfrequently Mr, Pushee, of Leba- 

* Silas L. Bingham nicknamed liim Traitor Arnold, which cognomen he good na- 
turedly accepted, and by it was called by his musical associates, with all of whom he 
was very popular. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 373 

non, who will be remembered as a rioted performer on the violin 
and teacher of dancing, appeared and took part with the society. 
In several of the more important of the public performances, 
Sig. Ostinelli, the most famous violinist of the day in this coun- 
try, did not disdain to come up from Boston and lend life and 
spirit to the orchestral parts. 

Silas L. Bingham, the originator and ruling spirit of this fa- 
mous organization, deserves more than a passing notice. He was 
a born musician. He had a rich, ringing tenor voice, was of 
imposing presence and singularly magnetic power; had an orig- 
inal and forceful manner of his own, and his control of the ma- 
terial at his command was absolute and supreme. Full to over- 
flowing with nervous action, he accentuated the movement and 
rhythm of the music with hands, head, and feet. He perfectly 
embodied the graphic picture by "Wordsworth of the earnest and 
enthusiastic lover of music, 

"Can he keep himself still, if he would? oh, not he! 
The music stirs in him like wind through a tree." 

When nearly seventy years old, Mr. Bingham journeyed a 
thousand miles to be present at the fiftieth anniversary of the 
founding of the Handel and Haydn Society of Boston. At his 
own request he was assigned a place in the chorus, and of the 
vast multitude of earnest participants in the closing exercises of 
that memorable week, — it being his favorite "Messiah," — his 
voice and action were conspicuous and effective. 

The Claremont society possessed a valuable repertoire of music,, 
selected from the standard oratorios mostly, isolated extracts, of 
course, but of the best. It was their custom to hold frequent 
meetings for practice during the autumn and winter months, and 
to come out strong at the Christmas season, when the walls of 
the old octagonal Episcopal church were made to tremble with 
the sublime strains of Handel, Haydn, and Mozart. 

Such, and of such nature, was this old society, whose reputa- 
tion reached beyond the limits of the town and state, and which 



374 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

was no mean compeer, in its smaller dimensions, to the older and 
stately Handel and Haydn society of Boston, which was, under its 
energetic leader, taken for its model. 

It was the custom, in those old days, to enlist music as an 
ally in the entertainment of guests at parties and social gather- 
ings. The playing of James H. Bingham on his violoncello, and 
the simple and touching ballads sung by Mr. and Mrs. Silas L. 
Bingham deeply moved many, and greatly pleased all who listened 
to these performances. 

It will be noticed that the Binghams — though not all of them of 
one family — figure largely in the foregoing musical reminiscences. 
To the artistic talent and genius of the Binghams the town owes 
much of its wide-spread musical reputation. To the older citizens 
it is a sad reminder of the swiftness of time and the rapidity 
with which whole generations melt away, that scarcely any of 
that honored name are now to be found in the town records. 

WESTERN NEW HAMPSmRE MUSICAL ASSOCIATION. 

In August, 1885, an association under this name was formed, 
intending to embrace such individuals in Claremont and sur- 
rounding towns in New Hampshire and Vermont, interested in 
musical progress, as chose to join it. A constitution was adopted, 
and the organization perfected by the choice of the following 
officers : Hosea W. Parker, president ; Joseph H. Haskell, secre- 
tary; Israel D. Hall, treasurer; Otis F. R. Waite, corresponding 
secretary; Osmon B. Way, Albert Ball, Francis F. Haskell, Is- 
rael D. Hall, and Clarence M. Leete, executive committee. It 
was voted that a music festival be held for the week beginning 
August 31, provided that fifty names should be obtained to guar- 
antee to make up the deficiency, if any, of expenses above receipts. 
The names of sixty-eight guarantors were readily obtained, and 
the festival was held, with H. R. Palmer, of New York, as con- 
ductor ; Mrs. Martha Dana Shepard, of Boston, pianist, and other 
well known artists. The receipts were $875.31, and the expenses 
$607.13. 




OSCAR J. BROWN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 375 

Festivals have been held annually, the last week in August, 
since then — all successful musically, and with varying degrees 
of success financially, — but on the whole the association has ac- 
cumulated a small fund. Dr. Palmer was conductor of five fes- 
tivals, C. Mortimer Wiske, of New York, two, and Carl Zerrahn, 
of Boston, two. Mrs. Shepard has been in attendance as pianist 
at all of the ten festivals. The choruses, made up of singers, 
old and young, of both sexes, living in towns in the vicinity of 
Claremont, have varied in number of voices, from one hundred 
and seventy to two hundred and twenty-five. 

In October, 1886, this association adopted the voluntary corpo- 
ration act, with forty-two members, enacted by-laws, and elected 
a board of ofiicers. Associates have been admitted from time 
to time, and there were in 1893, seventy-six members. The 
officers for that year were : Hosea W. Parker, president ; James 
B. Goodrich, vice-president ; Otis F. R. Waite, clerk ; Israel D. 
Hall, treasurer; Frank P. Vogl, corresponding secretary; Clarence 
M. Leete, George W. Stevens, Horace W. Frost, George A. Briggs, 
and Noah P. Woolley, directors. A music festival under the 
conductorship of Jules Jordan, of Providence, R I., was held in 
1894, which was quite as successful as any preceding one. 

COACHING PARTY. 

On the eightieth birthday of Oscar J. Brown, the veteran 
stage proprietor and driver, which occurred October 22, 1888, sev- 
enteen of his elderly fellow townsmen invited him to drive them, 
with a team of eight spirited gray horses, which had never before 
been harnessed together, attached to a Concord stage-coach, to 
Windsor, Yt., ten miles, where they had a handsome special din- 
ner provided, at the Windsor House. The party consisted of Os- 
car J. Brown, William E. Tutherly, John L. Farwell, John Tyler, 
Francis Locke, Otis F. R. Waite, George L. Balcom, Henry Pat- 
ten, Leonard P. Fisher, John S. Walker, Daniel W. Johnson, John 
T. Emerson, James P. Upham, John McCuUough, Samuel G. Jar- 
vis, Ira Colby, Fred. A. Tyler, and Pomeroy M. Eossiter, most of 



376 HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 

them natives or long-time residents and well-known Claremont 
citizens. The party, when mounted upon the coach, at the resi- 
dence of Mr. Brown, was photographed by the artist, E. C. Fisher, 
and at about ten o'clock, a. m., started off, amid the cheers of a 
large gathering of men, women, and children, and the tooting of 
stage-horns, as of the olden time. This expedition had been heard 
of, and all along the route the people were out to cheer its prog- 
ress and the veteran driver. Windsor was on the alert to give it a 
welcome, as the coach passed up the main street, just before twelve 
o'clock, in stately style, and drew up at the Windsor House, where 
several of Mr. Brown's old friends and staging days associates had 
assembled to meet him. 

The dinner was elegantly gotten up, and the service everything 
that could be desired. After the eating had been concluded, John 
S. Walker, who sat at the head of the table, with Mr. Brown, the 
guest of the occasion, on his right, and Leonard P. Fisher, the 
oldest man of the party, on his left, called to order, and in a few 
well chosen words introduced Mr. Brown, who thanked his neigh- 
bors and friends for their kind remembrance of his eightieth birth- 
day, and gave an interesting account of some of his experiences as 
a stage-driver before the days of railroads. He was followed by 
happy short speeches by Ira Colby and others. At half-past three 
o'clock, p. M., the party started on its return trip, followed by the- 
cheers of the Windsor people, and arrived home safely, without 
accident or mishap, at five o'clock. A handsome collation was 
provided at Mr. Brown's house, to which all were cordially invited. 

On the eleventh day of February, 1892, every member of this 
notable party of eighteen was living. Since that date five of them' 
have died, viz. : February 11, 1892, Fred. A. Tyler, aged sixty- 
eight years ; March 5, 1892, Samuel G. Jarvis, aged seventy-six 
years; March 27,1892, Oscar J. Brown, aged eighty-four years ; 
December 6, 1892, Leonard P. Fisher, aged eighty-five years ; Jan- 
uary 8, 1893, William E. Tutherly, aged sixty-nine years. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 377 

SPECULATION TIMES. 

The period from 1833 to 1837 was known as " Speculation 
Times" in Claremont. From the earliest settlement of the town 
her people, in matters of business, have generally been conserva- 
tive, and at times they might, perhaps, have been considered over 
cautious or slow. But this period in her history was an excep- 
tion, the conditions having been brought about by causes easily 
explainable. 

In September, 1833, during Andrew Jackson's second term as 
president of the United States, the government deposits, amount- 
ing to more than ten millions of dollars, were removed from the 
National Bank in Philadelphia and distributed amongst certain 
state banks, called " pet banks." This had the effect to make the 
issues of paper money by these banks very plentiful, and loans ob- 
tainable on easy terms, which seemed to stimulate speculation in 
every kind of commodity and real estate all over the country. 
The people of Claremont caught the prevailing fever. Some of 
them saw in the splendid water-power of Sugar river the source 
of great wealth, and visions of a big town or city in the immediate 
future distracted them — in short, they lost their heads. In view 
of the brilliant prospects water-privileges were bought; farms 
within a mile of the center were purchased at what a few months 
before would have been thought fabulous prices, laid out into 
building lots, and put into the market, passed from one to another 
in rapid succession, each making a handsome profit, and specula- 
tion was indeed lively. 

A company was formed, built a large carriage factory at the 
north end of the upper bridge, and carried on an extensive busi- 
ness for a few years, with apparent success, but finally, for some 
cause, failed, and those who had invested one hundred dollars in 
the stock had to pay six hundred dollars to clear themselves from 
their liabilities. Another company built the upper Monadnock 
mill, not knowing what it was to be used for. It stood unoccupied 
for many years, and was then sold to its present owners at a large 
discount from its original cost. Simeon Ide, in a small pamphlet. 



378 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

entitled " The Industries of Claremont," says that about 1836 the 
company expended twenty-five thousand dollars in the purchase of 
land, water-power, and the erection of the mill building and two 
boarding and tenement houses, and in 1844 sold the entire prop- 
erty for three thousand dollars. 

In 1835 and 1836, the four large brick houses, with tall pillars 
in front, on the south side of Central street, were built by Charles 
L. Putnam, Simeon Ide, Ormon Dutton, and Henry Russell. 
They were then the finest and most expensive houses within fift}- 
miles. During those two years more than one hundred and fifty 
buildings, mostly dwelling-houses, were erected in the village. 
Everybody had plenty of money and seemed to be prospering. 

In 1837 the United States Bank suspended specie payments, as 
did most of the state banks, and the great financial crash of that 
year immediately followed. Many Claremont men had put into 
these speculations all the money and credit they could command, 
and when the bubble burst they could not meet their obligations 
and thereby ruined themselves and many of their friends and 
neighbors. Specie was very scarce — not enough in circulation to 
do business with — and after a while the banks issued fractional 
bills. Hon, Jacob Collamer, of Vermont, went about in 1840, lec- 
turing in the Harrison campaign, and speaking of the hard times, 
eaid : " Everybody owes everybody and nobody has anything to 
pay anybody." 

WEST CLAKEMOXT CADETS. 

In the fall of 1850 an independent military company was organ- 
ized at West Claremont, called the West Claremont Cadets. At 
a meeting of the company, in D. F. Maynard's hall, the following 
officers were elected: Captain, J. H. Cross; lieutenants, John 
McConnon, W. G. Kidder, and H. G. P. Cross ; sergeants, Gaw^en 
Gilmore, S. A. Higbee, D. M. Keyes, and J. Wilder. There were 
about seventy members. It had attached to it the Burpee Band, 
led by Aaron Burpee, which furnished excellent martial music. 
Mr. Burpee was a famous drummer. This company attended an 
independent muster at Newport, in a new and showy uniform, and 




CENTRAL STREET. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 379 

attracted much notice. On the twentieth of November the ladies 
of West Claremont presented the company a handsome silk ban- 
ner, the presentation address being made by Miss Ellen Wetherbee, 
now the wife of DeWitt Thrasher, of "Weathersfield, Yt., whose 
father, Jonathan Wetherbee, was toll-gatherer at Claremont bridge 
for many years. In the evening the cadets gave a grand military 
ball in Maynard's hall. The cadets paraded at the county fair, in 
Claremont village, in 1851. On the Fourth of July, 1853, this 
company made its last public appearance, at the celebration. They 
met the Norwich University Cadets at the High Bridge, escorted 
them, headed by the Windsor Cornet Band, to a breakfast pro- 
vided by the West Claremont ladies, in Wyllys Redfield's grounds. 
The two companies then marched to the village, where a juvenile 
company, commanded by Capt. Fred. A. Briggs, met them at the 
lower bridge, and all marched up town and took part in the day's 
celebration.' 

VISIT OF GENERAL LAFAYETTE. 

In 1824 the congress of the United States passed unanimously a 
resolution requesting President Monroe to invite Lafayette to visit 
the United States, He accepted the invitation, but declined the 
offer of a ship of the line for his conveyance, and with his son, 
George Washington Lafayette, and secretary, took passage on a 
packet ship from Havre to New York, where he landed on August 
15, 1824. His progress through the country resembled a continu- 
ous triumphal procession. He visited in succession each of the 
twenty-four states and all of the principal cities. In December 
congress voted him a grant of two hundred thousand dollars and a 
township of land, " in consideration of his important services and 
expenditures during the American Eevolution." 

Among the earliest of the arrangements for the laying of the 
corner stone of Bunker Hill monument, on the seventeenth of 
June, 1825, was an invitation to General Lafayette to be present. 
He so timed his progress through the other states as to return to 
Massachusetts in season for that great occasion, and was addressed 

1 This account is given on the authority of C. H. Gilmore, a son of the late Hiram Gil- 
more, now living at Cote St. Paul, near MontreaL 



380 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

by Dauiel Webster, in the course of his oration, in feeling and fit- 
ting terms. 

General Lafayette then started on a tour through New Hamp- 
shire and Vermont. He visited the New Hampshire legislature, 
then in session at Concord, on the twenty-second of June, soon 
after which he started for Vermont, by way of Bradford, Newport, 
and Claremont. He was met at the Newport town line by a com- 
mittee, cavalcade, and many citizens. Dr. Josiah Richards being 
chief marshal. Tradition says that when he reached the line of this 
town, it being quite dark, all formalities were waived, and General 
Lafayette and his immediate party were conveyed quietly to the 
Tremont House, where they passed the night of the twenty- 
seventh of June. The next morning he was met by the Claremont 
committee and welcomed to the town. Dr. Leonard Jarvis deliver- 
ing a short address. Dr. Jarvis then conveyed the general to 
"Windsor, Vt., in an unique foreign-made willow carriage, now in 
possession of Dr. Jarvis's grandson, in a good state of preservation. 

On September 7, 1825, General Lafayette sailed from Washing- 
ton in a frigate named in compliment to him, the Brandywine. 
On his arrival in Havre the people assembled to make a demon- 
stration in his honor, but were dispersed by the police. 

UNUSUAL SEASONS. 

The winter of 1779-80 was an unusually severe one all over 
New England. On the nineteenth of October snow fell to the 
depth of two feet and did not disappear until late in the following 
spring. Many cattle died of starvation. A day of fasting and 
prayer was held on account of the sad prospects. 

May 19, 1780, the " dark day " occurred, which added to the 
gloom of the desolate vrinter just passed. 

THE COLD SEASON. 

The season of 1816 is recorded and spoken of as the cold sum- 
mer. In this section it is said that there was frost every month in 
the year. Rev. Ebenezer Price, in his Chronological History of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 38X 

Boscawen, says that " on the sixth of June, the day of the general 
election, snow fell several inches deep, followed by a cold and 
frosty night, and the following day snow fell and frost continued, 
July 9th, a deep and deadly frost killed or palsied most vegetables. 
The little corn which had the appearance of maturity was desti- 
tute of its natural taste and sustenance. But the providence of 
God was bountiful in supplying the article of bread from the 
crops of rye, which were uncommonly good." The crops raised 
the year before had been almost entirely consumed and the means 
of transportation were very limited, so that provisions could not 
be brought from distant parts, while money was so scarce that but 
few could pay for them, and a famine seemed imminent. The 
people depended upon what could be got from the soil for their 
support. It was only by those who had the necessaries of life di- 
viding with those who had not, that extreme suffering by man and 
beast was prevented during that period of short crops. The 
season of 1817 was a favorable one, and crops of all kinds were 
abundant. 

ARMY WORM. 

In 1770, according to E. D. Sanborn's History of IsTew Hamp- 
shire, the Connecticut river valley, from Northfield, Mass., to Lan- 
caster, N. H,, was visited by a species of army worm, which 
destroyed most of the crops and reduced the people nearly to starva- 
tion. In their maturity the worms were as long as a man's finger 
and as large in circumference. The body was brown, with a velvet 
stripe upon the back, and a yellow stripe on each side. They were 
the most loathsome and greedy invaders that ever polluted the 
earth. They marched from north or northeast and passed to the 
east and south. They covered the entire ground, so that not a 
finger's breadth was left between them. In their march they 
crawled over houses and barns, covering every inch of the boards 
and shingles. Every stalk of corn and wheat was doomed by 
them. The inhabitants dug trenches, but they soon filled them to 
the surface and the remaining army marched over their prostrate 
companions. They continued their devastations more than a 



382 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

month ; then suddenly disappeared, no one knew how or where. 
Eleven years later a second visitation of the same worm was made, 
but they were then few in number. Potatoes and vines were not 
eaten by them. Pumpkins were abundant and very useful in sus- 
taining the lives of men and animals during the autumn. The 
atmosphere was also black with flocks of pigeons, which were 
caught in immense numbers, and their meat dried for winter use. 



In 1771 a great freshet occurred in Coos and Grafton counties, 
and the rich Connecticut river meadows were not only submerged 
by water, but in some places buried two or three feet with sand. 
Thus the inhabitants lost their crops for that year, and the use of 
their fertile lands for several years after. Cattle, sheep, swine, and 
horses were swept away, and in some instances families were 
caught in their dwellings by the tide, and were saved with great 
diflaculty by boats. Severe suffering followed this sudden flood, 
the greatest, perhaps, known on the Connecticut river. 

CARNIVAL OF COASTIKG. 

One of the notable seasons was the spring of 1862. Early in 
April the snow in the vicinity of Claremont was fully three feet 
deep on a level. Upon the top of it a crust was formed by fine 
sleet and rain, followed by a freeze, perfectly smooth, and so hard 
and firm that heavy teams could go all over the lots without com- 
ing in contact with fences or tree stumps. The people of the town 
— young, middle aged, and old — left their usual occupations and 
enjoyed a rare carnival of sleighing and coasting on this crust. 
The grounds known as Sullivan Park — now Fair View — and 
north of it the powder-house lot, west of Mulberry street, for days 
and evenings were thronged with boys, girls, and frisky older 
people, with hand-sleds, enthusiastically coasting down the knolls 
into the valleys, and spectators in sleighs and on foot, witnessing 
the sport. On the thirteenth a warm spell came on, the snow 
melted under the influence of an April sun, soon disappeared, and 
the season was not more backward than usual. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 383 

By the town records it appears that at the annual meeting in 
1811, it was "Voted that the inhabitants be allowed to wear their 
hats in the meeting." 

In 1823, " Voted that the Rev. Mr. Nye be requested to make a 
prayer." The record is, " That rev. Gentleman not being present, 
proceeded to vote for Town Clerk, and George Fiske was chosen, 
the oath of office was administered to s'd Clerk by J. H. Sumner. 
The rev. Mr. J!^ye having come in — offered up Prayer — & then 
the meeting proceeded to ballot for Selectmen." 

In 1833 it was " Voted that horses, cattle, sheep and swine shall 
not run at large in the town of Claremont the ensuing year ; and 
that the penalty for each and every offense be one dollar." 

LARGE ELM TREE. 

A short distance from the house, on the old Hitchcock farm, 
now owned by Daniel K. Bowker, on Eed Water brook, stands 
the largest elm tree in town. It was planted by John Hitchcock, 
more than a hundred years ago, is still growing, sound, and healthy. 
A few feet from the ground it is nineteen feet in circumference, 
very tall, of graceful shape, and its branches cover an area of fully 
one hundred feet in diameter. Mr. Hitchcock's children watched 
its growth with much interest as long as they lived, and his grand- 
children pay frequent visits to it. 

FIRST MUSTER. 

The first muster of the militia in Claremont of which there is 
any known account, occurred October 9, 1806. According to the 
late Amos Hitchcock and Nahum Wilson, there was no place where 
a regiment could be paraded, and after the day for the muster was 
appointed the men cleared one from the town house to near the 
Prentis Dow residence, on Broad street. A snow storm interfered 
with the parade. 

In the Claremont Spectator of March 5, 1824, is the follow- 



384 HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 

ing: " Married, ill this town, ou Wednesday morning last, by J. 
H. Sumner, Esq., Mr. Josiali Jones to Mrs. Eebekah Picket, aged 
about 60 years each. 

" Who'd think Cupid strong enough 
To pierce two hearts so old and tough ? — Communicated." 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



CHAPTER XXX. 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 
DR. TRUMAJf ABELL, 

Son of Phinehas Abell, was born at Lempster, February 16, 1779, 
and died there, May 19, 1853. He studied medicine with Dr. Na- 
than Merrill, of Lempster, passed an examination and was licensed 
to practice by a board of the New Hampshire State Medical So- 
ciety, soon after which, probably about 1806, he came to Clare- 
mont, where he remained but a short time, and then returned to 
Lempster, to fill the place of Dr. Merrill, who had died. Dr. 
Abell continued in practice — most of the time being the only 
physician in that town — until his death. He devoted much time 
to the study of astronomy, mathematics, and botany, and was au- 
thority upon these subjects. He was the author of " Abell's New 
England Farmers' Almanac," which was the popular almanac in 
New England. He published it annually for more than fifty years ; 
the last part of the time, having lost his eyesight, he was assisted 
by his son, Truman W. 

THE AmSWORTHS. 

The Ainsworths of Claremont are direct descendants of Edward 
Ainsworth, born in England in 1652. He was a seafaring man 
and came to America prior to 1687. His grandson, Edward, born 
at Woodstock, Conn., November 21, 1729, settled in Richmond, 
Cheshire county, where for a time he combined the practice of 
medicine and farming, and in 1765 removed to Claremont and de- 
voted himself to agriculture. He was the father of ten children — 
seven sons and three daughters. His son, Walter, had six sons. 



388 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

viz.: Harry, who died at Northfield, Vt., about 1858; Ralph, 
father of Charles H., of this town, and James E., living in the 
West; he died some years ago; Laban, father of George J, and 
Ralph, of this town, died May 19, 1881 ; Elijah, who died in Hart- 
land, Yt., about 1780; Edwin, who died here November 11, 1868 ; 
and Edward, twin of Edwin, father of Oliver, living in Michi- 
gan, Wilham E. and Walter H., of this town, died July 1, 1892. 
Ralph Ainsworth, senior, was selectman in 1838, 1841, and 1842 ; 
Laban was selectman in 1868 and 1869 ; Edwin was postmaster from 
April 9, 1849, to May 5, 1853 ; Edward was selectman in 1855 and 
1856, and representative in 1866 and 1867; Charles H., son of Ralph, 
senior, was selectman in 1872 and 1873, and representative from 
1883 to 1885. 

THE ALDEN FAJnLT. 

John, James, and Benjamin Alden, sons of John and Hannah 
(Kingman) Alden, were born in Bridgewater, Mass. They were 
lineal descendants of John Alden and Priscilla Moline, his wife, who 
came from England in the Mayflower and landed at Plymouth in 
1620. They came to Claremont in 1772, and became joint owners 
of a tract of twelve hundred acres of land in the southeast part of 
the town, which was subsequently divided up among their descend- 
ants. James was one of the selectmen in 1782. From these three 
brothers sprang numerous families, scattered all over the country, 
bearing their name. 

LEVI ALDEN, 

The oldest son of John, came to Claremont with his father. He 
was a man of considerable activity and extensive business. Be- 
sides the care of his farm he operated a brickyard, which turned 
out many of the bricks used in buildings erected in his time in 
town, manufactured earthen ware, and carried on blacksmithing 
He married Bedina, second daughter of Thomas Warner, a Revo- 
lutionary soldier. Among their children were Louisa M., Thomas 
W., Levi, and Lucinda C. 

LOUISA M. ALDEN 

Married Jacob R. Peterson, and was left a widow with two young 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 389 

children. Before her marriage she had taught school in her own 
and other districts in town. She was largely dependent upon her 
own exertions for support, and having received a good education, 
opened a private school in Claremont, which was very popular, 
and well patronized for many years. In 1855 she removed to 
Janesville, Wis., and there established a select school, which was 
quite successful, and continued it until near the time of her death, 
IS^ovember 6, 1881, at the age of eighty-one years. Of her chil- 
dren, James died in Janesville, and Mary Louisa is assistant post- 
master in that city. 

THOMAS W. ALDEN, 

Son of Levi, was born January 2, 1807, and died January 14, 1892. 
He married Huldah Blodgett, who died April 29, 1892, at the age 
of eighty-five years. He was a thrifty farmer in the southeast 
part of the town, and a respected citizen for many years. They 
left children — Carrie and John, of this town, and Sarah, wife of 
Charles Hurd, of Wapella, HI. 

LEVI ALDEN, 

Son of Levi, was born in Claremont, July 24, 1815, and died at 
Madison, "Wis., November 23, 1893. He was educated at Unity 
Academy and Union College, Schenectady, N. Y. He taught at 
academies in New York state and Wisconsin. Li 1845 he settled in 
Janesville, Wis., where he soon began the publication of the 
Janesville Gazette, of which he was proprietor for a number of 
years. He was several times elected representative in the Wiscon- 
sin legislature ; was clerk of the circuit court of Eock county from 
1858 to 1867; removed to Madison, the state capital, and was 
elected superintendent and auditor of public printing, which posi- 
tion he held for many years, and was associate editor of the 
Wisconsin State Journal. He married Sarah Ann Leach, of 
Fleming, N. Y., who died at Madison, January 23, 1873, leaving 
children — Mary E., wife of George Judkins, of Claremont, whose 
son, Levi Alden, is observer in the United States weather bureau, 
Boston; Frances B., wife of Frank C. Cook, of Janesville ; Louisa 



390 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

J., wife of Dr. T. W. Evans, who died April 23, 1887; Sarah Lo- 
vinia, wife of Dr. Henry S. Hall, of Hyattsville, near Washington, 
D. C; and Hattie L., who resides at Washington, D. C. June 19, 
1879, Mr. Alden married for his second wife Mary A. P. Dean, who 
survives him, and resides at Madison. 

LUCINDA C. ALDEN 

Married Horace Baker, of Claremont, who died May 13, 1893, at 
the age of eighty-five years. They have surviving children — 
George H., who resides at West Newton, Mass. ; Horace Albert, of 
New York city ; and Alfred, of Janesville, Wis. Mr. Baker was 
for many years janitor of the Congregational church and a blame- 
less man. 

EZRA B. ALDEN, 

Son of Adam, and grandson of Benjamin Alden, died in 1874. 
His wife, Mary B. Alden, who died in 1869, in her lifetime founded 
the Alden Literary Prize Fund, of the Stevens High School, giving 
to it her entire estate, after the death of her husband, which 
amounted to about three thousand dollars. 

DR. ARTHUR N. ALLEN, 

Son of John D. Allen, was born in Rutland, Vt., August 6, 1868. 
He graduated at Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, Pa., 
in April, 1892, and commenced the practice of his profession in 
the following October. 

W. H. H. ALLEN, 

Son of Joseph Allen, was born in Winhall, Bennington county, 
Yt., December 10, 1829, and died in hospital in New York city, 
April 26, 1893, when on the return to his home in Claremont from 
Florida, w^here he went in the hope of improving his health. He 
was of Puritan stock — a direct descendant from Samuel Allen, 
who came from Braintree, Essex county, England, and settled in 
Cambridge, Mass., in 1632. Ethan Allen, of Revolutionary fame, 
was the fifth in the line of descent from Samuel, through his sec- 




W. H. H. ALLEN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 391 

ond son, and Judge Allen was the eighth, through his third son. 
In 1844, after living in different places in Vermont, the last being 
Hartland, his father returned with his family to Surry, the place of 
his birth. Judge Allen lived at home, working on farms and at- 
tending public schools a few months each year, until he was fifteen 
years old. After that he attended the academies at West Brat- 
tleboro' and Saxton's Eiver, Vt., and Keene, and taught school 
occasionally. For eighteen months he was under the tutelage of 
Joseph Perry, of Keene, an accomplished scholar and veteran 
teacher, by whose instruction he completed his preparation for ad- 
mission to college. He entered Dartmouth College in 1851, and 
graduated second in his class in 1855 — Walbridge A. Field, chief 
justice of the supreme court of Massachusetts, being the first. 
The late William S. Ladd, of Lancaster, ex-judge of the supreme 
court of New Hampshire, ex-Gov. Il^elson Dingley, of Lewiston^ 
Me., Charles A. Teuney, who died in 1856, and Sidney S. Harris, 
who died in New York city in 1892, both of Claremont, were of 
the same class. Following his graduation. Judge Allen was princi- 
pal of a high school at Hopkinton, Mass., and superintendent of 
schools at Perry sburg, 0. He read law in the offices of Wheeler 
& Faulkner and F. F. Lane, Keene, and Burke & Wait, Newport, 
and was admitted to the bar at the September term of the court 
for Sullivan county in 1858. In November, of the same year, 
Thomas W. Gilmore resigned the clerkship of the courts for Sulli- 
van county and Mr. Allen was appointed to the position and took 
up his residence at Newport. He continued in this ofi&ce, trying 
referee cases and doing much other business now done by the 
judges, until 1863, when he was appointed paymaster in the army, 
which place he held until December, 1865. He then returned to 
Newport, opened an oflB.ce, and commenced the practice of his pro- 
fession, and continued it there and in Claremont, to which place he 
removed in 1868, until 1876, when he was appointed associate judge 
of the supreme court of New Hampshire, which place he resigned 
in March, 1893, on account of failing health. He was judge of 
probate for Sullivan county from January, 1867, to July, 1874, 



392 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

and register in bankruptcy when the bankrupt law of 1867 went 
into effect, and held that office until he was called to the supreme 
court bench. Judge Allen was a man of varied attainments, a pro- 
found scholar, and had the reputation of being an upright judge. 

SAMUEL ASHLEY, 

One of the grantees of Claremont, son of Daniel Ashley, wa& 
born in Deerfield, Mass., March 20, 1720, and came with hi& 
father to Winchester, when quite a young man. He was chosen 
selectman of "Winchester in 1755, and several subsequent years, 
and was representative in the provincial congress in 1775 and 
1776. He had grants of land by Governor Benning Wentworth 
in several towns on each side of Connecticut river in New Hamp- 
shire and Vermont. He was a justice of the peace, and one of 
three persons in Cheshire county authorized to record deeds. In 
1775 he was appointed one of the Committee of Safety for the 
state ; was a member of the executive council from 1776 to 1780 ; 
mustering officer, superintended the enlistment and organization 
of many of the troops raised in the westerly part of 'New Hamp- 
shire during the Revolutionary war, and was commissioned colonel 
of a regiment. He was a volunteer on the staff of General John 
Stark, and with him in the battle of Bennington, on the sixteenth 
of August, 1777. Mr. Ashley removed from Winchester to Clare- 
mont, about 1782, his sons, Oliver and Samuel, Jr., having pre- 
ceded him. He died in Claremont, was buried in the cemetery 
in the west part of the town, and his tombstone bears the following 
inscription : 

In memory of the Hon. Samuel Ashley, Esq. Blessed with good natural 
talents, and a heart rightly to improve them, he in various departments of 
civil and military life, exhibited a character honorable to himself and useful 
to others. Having presided for several years in the lower court of this county, 
he with probity and fidelity displayed the virtues of the patriot and Christian 
as well in public as domestic life. The small-pox put an end to his earthly 
course February 18, 1792, aged 71. 

CAPTAIN OLIVER ASHLEY, 

One of the grantees of the town, was the oldest son of the Hon. 
Samuel Ashley, came to Claremont soon after the town was 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 393 

granted, and was a prominent citizen for many years. He was 
a member of |the first provincial congress, which assembled at 
Exeter on May 17, 1775, an ardent Whig, and very active in 
devising means for the defense of the colony. He was captain, 
and his brother, Samuel, Jr., lieutenant, of a company that 
marched to Ticonderoga in May, 1777; was one of the town 
Committee of Safety, and was conspicuous as a patriot in military 
and civic positions all through the Revolutionary War. In 1775, 
1779, and 1780, he was selectman ; moderator in 1782, and rep- 
resentative in the legislature in 1795. In 1784 he obtained a 
charter and established the ferry across Connecticut river, since 
known as Ashley's ferry. He lived on the farm known for 
many years as the Benajah Rogers farm, now owned by John 
Bailey. He died April 9, 1818, at the age of seventy-four years, 
leaving by his will five thousand dollars, the income of which 
was perpetually to go toward the support of the Episcopal church 
at West Claremont, known as Union church. 

WILLIAM p. AUSTIN 

Was the first man in Claremont to oflier his services in the War 
of the Rebellion. On April 18, 1861, he enlisted as a private 
under the call of President Lincoln for seventy-five thousand 
volunteers for three months. On the same day he was appointed 
recruiting ofiicer for Claremont and vicinity, and opened a re- 
cruiting station. In a few days he had enlisted eighty-five men, 
the most of whom belonged in Claremont. In August of the 
same year he was commissioned first lieutenant of the first com- 
pany of sharpshooters raised in New Hampshire, and promoted 
to captain on the tw^entieth of the next December. In the second 
battle of Bull Run, August 30, 1862, he was severely wounded in 
the right arm by a rifie ball, in consequence of which he resigned 
May 16, 1863. On the thirteenth of the following August he 
was appointed captain in the Veteran Reserve corps. He served 
in various ofiicial positions and at difterent places until May, 1866, 
when he was ordered to report to the Commissioner of the bu- 



394 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

reau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands, assigned to 
duty in Virginia, and stationed at Wytheville. He rendered varied 
and important services to the country, from April, 1861, until his 
death. He was selectman of Claremont in 1855, 1856, and 1857, 
and representative in the Kew Hampshire legislature in 1863. He 
died in Virginia in 1891, and was buried here. 

DR. CYRUS E. BAKER. 

Son of the late Dimick Baker, was born in Plainfield, April 9, 
1835. He was educated at Kimball Union Academy; studied 
medicine with the late Dr. IS'athaniel Tolles, of Claremont, and 
Dr. Edward R. Peaslee, in New York city, and took the degree 
of M. D. at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York 
city in June, 1862, standing one of the first six in a class of 
over two hundred. Immediately after his graduation he was 
appointed acting house physician in the New York state hospital, 
located in New York city, which position he resigned in July, 
1862, to accept an appointment of acting assistant surgeon in the 
United States Army, in the "War of the Rebellion. He served in 
the field with difterent organizations, and in hospitals, as his ser- 
vices were most needed, in the department of Virginia and North 
Carolina, at a time when there was an insufliciency of medical 
oflicers, and his duties often subjected him to severe exposures, 
and were many times extremely arduous. He had a sun-stroke, 
and was severely attacked with malaria, disabling him to such a 
degree that in October, 1863, he resigned. He then came to 
Claremont and entered upon the practice of his profession, which 
was quite extensive for two or three years, or until he had a 
recurrence of his army troubles, since which his practice has been 
limited by impaired health, by reason of which he receives a pen- 
sion from government. 

EDWARD DIMICK BAKER, 

Son of the late Dimick Baker, of Plainfield, was born April 21, 
1827. Joseph Baker came from England and became an early 




'it^.^.r-jj. ^ 



CX^-A— 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 395 

resident of the New Haven colony, probably prior to 1670; and 
from him descended this branch of the Baker family. Among 
the first settlers of Plainfield was Dr. Oliver Baker, who came 
from Tolland, Conn., about 1768, and bought a farm. He had 
received a medical education, and practised his profession and 
managed his farm until his death, which occurred October 13, 
1811. He was the paternal grandfather of Edward D. Baker. 
His father's farm was within a half mile of Kimball Union Acad- 
emy, and he attended that school five years, working upon the 
farm during vacations, and teaching school winters. When 
twenty-one years of age he began the study of law in the ofiice 
of iSTathaniel W. Westgate, in Enfield, and subsequently studied 
with the late chief justice Henry A. Bellows. He was admitted 
to the bar in Sullivan county in July, 1851, and opened an office 
at Cornish Flat. In 1855 he removed to Claremont, and formed 
a law partnership with the late A. F. Snow, which continued 
until September, 1857. Since then he has been alone in the ac- 
tive practice of his profession. He is a well-read, painstaking, 
careful lawyer, industrious in the preparation and trial of the 
cases intrusted to him, and a discreet counselor. He was repre- 
sentative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1859, 1860, and 
1885; been a member of the Stevens High School committee, 
and held some other minor oflices. He is an extensive owner of 
real estate, and an excellent financier. November 12, 1851, he 
married Elizabeth Ticknor, of Plainfield, but has no children. 

GEO«RGE LEWIS BALCOM, 

Son of Jonas and Mary (Kichardson) Balcom, was born in Sud- 
bury, Mass., October 9, 1819. 

He is a descendant of Henry Balcom, who came to this country 
in, or previous to, 1665, and settled in Charlestown, Mass., where 
he was admitted inhabitant September 1, 1665, was made tithing- 
man in 1679, and died February 29, 1683. 

He married, first, Sarah Smith, who died December 8, 1665. 
Second, Elizabeth Haines, "Deacon Haines of Sudberrie's daugh- 



396 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ter," August 12, 1666, — who was born June 19, 1644, and died 
November 20, 1715. After his death, the family settled in Sud- 
bury, Mass., where y£t reside very many of their descendants, 
although the name of Balcom is there extinct. 

When four years old, George Lewis, the subject of this sketch, 
removed with his parents to Lowell, Mass. He fitted for college at 
the Lowell High School and Westminster, Mass., academy, and 
entered Harvard College in 1835. 

From an alfection of the throat he decided to abandon his inten- 
tion of a professional for a business life, and near the end of the 
Sophomore year, he left college and entered a hardware store in 
Boston. He was the lowest boy in the store, and took that position 
from choice, that he might grow up with the business. In this way 
he may be said to have served a regular business apprenticeship, 
same as to a trade. 

In January, 1841, at the age of twenty-one, he went to Phil- 
adelphia, where he again found employment in the hardware 
business, and remained until 1846, and then returned to his native 
state. 

In 1847 he went to Proctorsville, Vt., and for one year was 
book-keeper in the woolen mill of Gilson, Smith & Co. In 1848 
he was made superintendent, and in 1850 he became one of the 
owners, and for seven years was the junior partner under the 
firm of Smith & Balcom. In 1857 he sold his interest to hi& 
partner, William Smith, and removed to Claremont, K H., having 
purchased of Sanford & Rossiter what was called the Sullivan 
Mills, which he has operated to the present time, 1894. At the 
same time, he has at different intervals, about seventeen years 
in all, had an interest in the mill at Proctorsville, Vt. 

He married, October 20, 1845, Anna, daughter of Samuel West, 
of Philadelphia. She died July 8, 1881. They had three chil- 
dren, two of whom died in infancy. 

William Smith Balcom, the only survivor, was born August 
3, 1850, and is connected with his father in the woolen business in 
Claremont. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 397 

He married, first, Mary Ruft^ier Bellas, of Philadelphia, Octo- 
ber 8, 1874. She died July 21, 1879, leaving one child, Bessie 
Richardson Balcom, born August 31, 1876. Second, Cecilia 
Challett Sower, of Philadelphia, January 17, 1883, and have had 
children — 1, George Lewis, Jr., born August 20, 1884, died 
October 6, 1884. 2, Louis West, born June 7, 1888. 

Mr. Balcom was a representative from Cavendish in the legis- 
lature of Vermont, in 1855 and 1856, and the extra session of 1857, 
and was a member from Claremont in the legislature of New Hamp- 
shire of 1883-84, and a member of the state senate of 1889-90. 
He is one of the trustees of the Protestant Episcopal church in 
ITew Hampshire, and has been a delegate to the general conven- 
tion of the Protestant Episcopal church in the United States 
since 1871. He has been a trustee of the Holderness School for 
Boys since its incorporation in 1878, and is a member of the 
l!^ew Hampshire Historical Society. He w^as a delegate to the Re- 
publican national convention holden in Chicago in 1884. 

In 1868 he visited Europe, and traveled extensively through 
France, Italy, Switzerland, and Great Britain. 

He has given much attention to books, of which he has a col- 
lection of over four thousand volumes, consisting largely of Amer- 
ican history, especially of New Hampshire, and with perhaps one 
or two exceptions, it is the most complete in the state. 

Micah Balcom, grandfather of George Lewis, was a private in 
the Revolutionary War, and stationed at Fort Warren. He was 
also a member and officer in the old time town militia, as the fol- 
lowing receipt will show : 

Sudbury Sept 9. 1814. 
Rec'd of Corporal Micah Balcora by the hand of his son Joseph, one mug of 
the best flip that we have drank for this several months past, it being in full 
of our demands of him for his late promotion as an officer onto the Volunteer 
Company in this town, which Capt Isaac Gibbs has the honor to command. 
I say Rec'd by us the undersigned being Cartridge Makers for said Town. 

Reuben Maynard \ 
Peter Smith Cartridge 

Walter Haynes \ ^^^'"'^ 
Abel Wheeler \ '^^ 

Samuel Knights JrJ ^^dbury 



398 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



BILL BARNES 



Was a son of Daniel Barnes and of the fourth generation in 
direct descent from Thomas Barnes, who came from England to 
this country in the last quarter of the seventeenth century. He 
was born at Farmington, Conn., in 1753, and came to Claremont 
in 1772, when nineteen years old, and bought a tract of land on 
the north side of Sugar river, opposite the present village. A few 
years later, having made a home, he returned to Farmington, mar- 
ried a wife and brought her home by an ox team. Soon after his 
marriage Mr. Barnes built the large two-story house now standing 
on North street, on a site about midway between Hanover and 
North streets, and opened it as a tavern. In accordance with the 
general custom of that time he combined farming with keeping a 
house of public entertainment. When the second New Hamp- 
shire turnpike was opened, about 1800, Mr. Barnes's tavern was 
left some distance from the line of travel, and he had his house 
moved to its present location. Near the present junction of 
Spring and North streets was a swinging sign, on which was a lion, 
painted in colors unknown to natural history, pointing the way to 
" Bill Barnes's Tavern." In this house was a large hall in which 
the Masons held their regular meetings for a time, Mr. Barnes 
being an active member of the order, and it was used for balls and 
other festivities. By industry and thrift he accumulated a consider- 
able fortune, and when a special tax was laid for the support of 
the government during the war of 1812, he was the third largest 
taxpayer in town. He was a prominent member of Union Episco- 
pal church and one of its first wardens. He was selectman in 
1787 and 1790, and held other offices of trust. 

After seventeen years of married life, July 22, 1793, his wife 
died, leaving no issue. Subsequently Mr. Barnes married Esther, 
daughter of Capt. Dyer Spaulding, of Cornish, by whom he had 
six children, viz. : Eunice, who married Timothy Eastman ; Wil- 
liam A., killed by a tree falling upon him; Ira K., scalded to death 
while boiling sap; Orilla, married a Mr. Brooks; Lyman S., who 
spent his life on the homestead and died there, November 9, 1888, 




GEN. G. W. BALLOCH. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 399 

and Ovid D., who died September 23, 1856, on the farm lately 
owned by Melvin Proctor. Bill Barnes died February 24, 1842, 
at the age of ninety-four years, at the old homestead, in which 
four generations lived and three of them were born. It is now 
owned and occupied by his grandchildren. 

GEORGE WILLIAMSON BALLOCH, 

A son of George Williamson and Amanda (West) Balloch, was 
born on December 3, 1825, in a small house which stood a short 
distance south of Lottery bridge, West Claremont. His grand- 
father, James Balloch, came from Sterlingshire, Scotland, and set- 
tled in Cornish, in 1790. He was a lineal descendant of Daniel 
Balloch, King of the Western Islands, known in Scottish history 
as Donald Dhu — Donald the Black. The name, Balloch, is a 
compound Gaelic word, Bal-loch, and means running lively, or 
rippling water. The subject of this sketch in his boyhood worked 
at farming, attended the public schools, and two terms of the New 
England Academy, at Windsor, Vt. In September, 1844, he en- 
tered I^orwich, Vt., University, then under the presidency of Gen. 
T. B. Ransom, who was killed at the storming of Chapultepec, 
Mexico, September 13, 1847. He continued in the university three 
years. In 1865 this university conferred upon him the honorary 
degree of A. M. In 1847 he joined the engineer corps of the 
Sullivan railroad, then being built, and remained on that road 
until 1850, being stationed at Charlestown. That year he entered 
the service of the Boston and Maine railroad, and Avas station agent 
at South Reading — now Wakefield, Mass., — and tilled different 
positions on that road until 1856, when he became general ticket 
and freight agent of the Great Falls and Conway railroad. He 
was town clerk of Somersworth, in 1856, 1857, 1858, and the 
latter year was appointed the first police justice of that town. In 
September, 1861, he enlisted nearly half a company for the Fifth 
Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers, and on October 11 of that 
year was commissioned first lieutenant of Company D of that regi- 
ment, and soon after arrival at the front was detailed by Gen. O. 
0. Howard as acting commissary of subsistence of his brigade. 



400 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

In July, 1862, he was appointed captain and commissary of sub- 
sistence of U. S. Volunteers, assigned to his old brigade, and was 
with it in all its campaigns until General Howard was assigned to 
the command of the Eleventh army corps, when Captain Balloch 
was promoted to lieutenant-colonel and chief commissary of sub- 
sistence of General Howard's corps. He served in this capacity in 
the Chancellorsville and Gettysburg campaigns, and on the famous 
bloody march of General Sherman through Georgia to Atlanta, 
and from Atlanta to Savannah, in the summer and fall of 1864 ; 
and in the march from Savannah to Goldsboro, in the winter of 
1865, was chief commissary of subsistence of the Twentieth army 
corps. Army of the Cumberland. 

In June, 1865, General Howard was assigned to the position of 
Commissioner of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Aban. 
doned Lands, and Colonel Balloch was made chief disbursing 
officer of that bureau, which position he held until October, 1871, 
when he was appointed by the board of public works of the Dis- 
trict of Columbia, superintendent of streets, which position he 
held until the board was abolished by congress, in July, 1874. 
Since then he has been engaged as patent attorney, insurance 
agent, and notary public. In August, 1866, he was promoted to 
brigadier-general of volunteers, to date from March 13, 1865, for 
meritorious service in the subsistence department during the war. 
He is a prominent Freemason, having received all the degrees up 
to, and including, the thirty-third, and the Royal Order of Scot- 
land, and has held many important offices in this ancient order. 

CHARLES M. BINGHAM, 

Son of Nathan Bingham, was born in New London, Conn., in 
1804, and died February 5, 1888. He came to Claremont with his 
parents in 1808. He learned the mercantile business and was in 
trade in Chester and Reading, Vt, and Claremont, from about 
1828 until within a few years of his death, and was' for many 
years a prominent and valued citizen. He was moderator of town 
meetings many times and representative in the New Hampshire 




CHARLES M. BINGHAM. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 401 

legislature in 1873 and 1874. He was an active and influential 
member and warden of Trinity church for a long period. 

JAMES H. BINGHAM 

Was born at Lempster, April 11, 1781, and died at Washington, 
T>. C, March 31, 1859. He graduated at Dartmouth College in 
1801. He was a classmate and room mate of Daniel Webster, who 
kept up a correspondence and friendship as long as they lived. 
Mr. Bingham studied law, was admitted to the bar, and com- 
menced practice in Alstead. In 1826 he came to Claremont and 
was cashier of the first Claremont bank from its organization until 
1842. He was town clerk from 1828 to 1838, and representative in 
the ^e\y Hampshire legislature in 1840 and 1841. Subsequently 
he was for many years clerk in the treasury department at Wash- 
ington, D. C. 

THE BONDS. DANIEL BOND, 

Born in !N"atick, Mass., December 31, 1761, came to Claremont 
about 1775, and settled on the farm in the north part of the town, 
which, after his death, April 15, 1845, was divided between his two 
sons, George and Job. He married Ruth, daughter of Gideon 
Kirtland, and they had five children, three sons and two daughters. 
The sons were Daniel, George, and Job. 

DANIEL BOND, JR., 

Was born June 1, 1792, and died March 17, 1882. His grandfather, 
Gideon Kirtland, was one of the seven first settlers of the town. 
He bought four hundred acres of land, about half a mile northeast 
of the town house, and settled upon it. It embraced land now 
owned by the heirs of Leonard P. Fisher, the heirs of William E. 
Tutherly, the heirs of Melvin Proctor, and the widow of Dr. Har- 
vey M. Guild. Mr. Kirtland died April 15, 1805, and his wife 
about two years afterward. Daniel Bond, being one of the heirs, 
bought out the others, and his son, Daniel, in 1817, took posses- 



402 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

sion and lived on the place until his death. The house, built by Mr. 
Kirtland, is one of the oldest in town. When built the shingles 
upon the house and barn were fastened with wooden pins, nails 
being very expensive. The fifty acres remaining of the home 
place and the buildings are now owned by the heirs of Daniel 
Bond, Jr., — Oliver A. Bond and his sisters, Mrs. Levi D. Hall, 
and Miss Ellen M. Bond — and the house is occupied by the latter. 
Daniel Bond, Jr., was a prominent Freemason for many years. 

GEORGE BOND, 

Son of Daniel Bond, senior, was born May 5, 1794, and died June 
27, 1864. He was a good farmer and respected citizen. 

JOB BOND, 

Youngest son of Daniel Bond, senior, died September 11, 1876, on 
the farm in the north part of the town, where he w^as born May 5, 
1794. He was a cultivated musician, and organist of the Congre- 
gational church for many years. 

DANIEL S. BOWKEK, 

Son of Elijah Bowker, was born in Springfield, Vt., and died in 
Claremont, March 11, 1872, at an advanced age. He was an expert 
miller. He came to town in 1837, carried on the Gilmore grist- 
mill, at West Claremont, several years, and afterw^ard the Dexter 
mill, in the village. In 1860 he bought of the Adam Dickey estate 
the farm on Red Water brook, which was first settled on by John 
Hitchcock, there lived the remainder of his life, and was succeeded 
by his son, Daniel N. Bowker, who has since lived there. This 
farm is the birthplace of a large family of Hitchcocks, who were 
prominent business men in this and other places for many years. 
Mr. Bowker was active in town affairs for many j^ears ; selectman 
five years — 1849, 1850, 1851, 1853, and 1854 — and chairman of 
the board three years. 

WILLIAM BRECK, 

Son of Henry Breck, was born in Croydon, December 17, 1826, 
and died in Claremont, December 10, 1889. He was assistant post- 




WILLIAM BRECK. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 403 

master in this town, under Alonzo B. Williamson, from 1844 to 
1846 ; partner of his brother, John T. Breck, in trade at Cornish 
Flat, from 1848 to 1852, at the end of which time, by reason of 
asthmatic affection, he went to California, where he was in active 
mercantile business eight years, when, having recovered his health 
and acquired a considerable fortune, he returned to Claremont, 
which was ever afterward his home. For several years he was a 
director in the Claremont National Bank, the JSullivan Savings In- 
stitution, and the Sugar River Paper Mill Company. He was a 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature from 1883 to 
1885. On October 7, 1868, he married Susan L., daughter of 
the late George N. Farwell, by whom he had one daughter, 
Sarah McDonald Breck, 

OSCAR J. BROWN 

Was born at Hartford, Vt., October 22, 1808, and died in Clare- 
mont, March 27, 1892. His ancestors came from the state of 
Connecticut to Westmoreland, and from there removed to Hart- 
ford, Vt. His father, Amos Brown, died, leaving a widow and 
five young children — three sons and two daughters — of whom 
Oscar J. was the oldest, and became and continued during the 
life of each the adviser and helper of such of them as needed 
help, as long as he lived. In 1832 he commenced driving stage 
from Hanover to Royalton, Yt., twenty-five miles, and soon be- 
came proprietor of the line. In 1835 he came to Claremont 
and was part owner of the line of stages from Walpole to 
Chelsea, Vt., a distance of eighty-three miles, being himself one 
of the drivers. From time to time he was connected as owner 
and driver with dififerent stage lines, having for partners Benj. 
P. Cheney, now of Boston, iSTathaniel White, late of Concord, 
and Paran Stevens. From 1832 to 1885, with many changes of 
lines and routes, he was almost constantly connected with the 
staging and livery business — his last being as owner of the 
staging from Claremont village to the Junction and village rail- 
road stations. In all this period of fifty-three years he never 
met with a serious accident, injured a passenger, or killed a 
horse. He was known as a careful and expert driver. 



404 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

In 1850 Mr. Brown erected a one-story wooden block of stores, 
on the corner of Pleasant and Sullivan streets, where Union 
block now is, and added two stories to it in 1854. This build- 
ing was destroyed by fire March 26, 1887. In 1860 he built the 
brick block on the opposite corner of Pleasant street, and other 
buildings and dwellings during his residence in the town. He 
was a strong, energetic man, and his life an active and always 
busy one. 

In 1849, when the Sullivan railroad was opened for business, 
Mr. Brown was the first passenger conductor on it, which po- 
sition he resigned after a few months' service. In 1857 and 
1858, and in 1874 and 1875 he was a representative in the 
New Hampshire legislature. To celebrate his eightieth birth- 
day, October 22, 1888, seventeen gentlemen among his older 
neighbors, in compliment to him, his age and reputation as a 
stage man, having provided a Concord stage-coach, with eight 
spirited gray horses attached to it, invited Mr. Brown to drive 
them to Windsor, Yt., for a dinner. 

In February, 1836, Mr. Brown married Miss Lavinia Porter, 
of Thetford, Yt., who died March 20, 1883, leaving to mourn 
her decease a husband and two children — Frank H. Brown, a 
member of the Sullivan county bar, and Susan Amanda, the 
wife of Henry Judkins. 

ABEL BUNNELL 

Came from Guilford, Conn., in 1775, and located on the west 
side of Green mountain, on what was afterward for many years 
the David Dodge farm, where he found a spring of good water. 
He brought his wife, one child, and everything else he pos- 
sessed on horseback. He brought some apple seeds in his 
pocket, planted them, and some of the trees are now living 
and bear fruit. He was twice married, and had eighteen chil- 
dren. His second wife was Mrs. Dodge, mother of the late 
David Dodge. He died September 27, 1847, at the age of eighty- 
nine years. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 405 

EDWIN A. CHARLTON, 

Son of Walter Charlton, was born in Littleton, September 29, 
1828, and at an early age came with his father's family to Clare- 
mont. He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1854. He was 
for a time principal of Claremont academy, and taught in other 
schools. He was the author of the historical part of the book 
entitled " New Hampshire As It Is," published in 1855. He 
lives at Brodhead, Wis., and is editor of the Brodhead Inde- 
pendent. 

RT. REV. CARLTON CHASE, D. D., 

Son of Charles Chase, a well-to-do farmer, was born at Hopkin- 
ton, February 20, 1794. He graduated at Dartmouth College 
second in his class, in 1817. During the last year of his college 
course he was baptized at Hopkinton, and united with the Episco- 
pal church. He read theology at Bristol, R I., under the direc- 
tion of Bishop Griswold; was made a deacon in December; 
1818; from May to July, 1819, he officiated at Springfield, Mass., 
and in September of the same year commenced his work at 
Bellows Falls, Vt, officiating one third of the time in St. Peter's 
church, Drewsville, N. H., for a year or more, after which his 
whole time was given to Immanuel church. Bellows Falls. He 
was ordained priest by Bishop Griswold, in Newport, E. I., on 
September 28, 1820. In 1839 he received the degree of Doctor 
of Divinity from the University of Vermont. He continued rec- 
tor of Immanuel church until April 7, 1844. On October 4, 
1843, Dr. Chase was elected bishop of the diocese of New Hamp- 
shire. He removed to Claremont early in 1844, and in addition 
to his duties of bishop took charge as rector of Trinity church 
the first Sunday after Easter of that year, which he continued 
until 1863, when he relinquished it by reason of infirmities 
consequent upon advancing age, and the requirements of the 
diocese. He was consecrated bishop of the Protestant Episcopal 
church in the state of New Hampshire, in Christ church, Phila- 
delphia, by the Rt. Rev. Philander Chase, D. D., on Octo- 
ber 20, 1844. He died at his residence in Claremont on Janu- 



406 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ary 18, 1870. His funeral took place on the twenty-fifth, in 
Trinity church, and was attended by Bishops Williams, of Con- 
necticut, and Bissell, of Vermont ; many Episcopal clergymen 
of this and other states ; the clergymen of the town ; the Ma- 
sonic fraternity, of which he had been for many years a revered 
member, and a large concourse of citizens of the diiferent de- 
nominations, who loved him for his tolerance, uniform kindness, 
and many virtues. 

ARTHUR CHASE 

Was born at Bellows Falls, Vt, October 31, 1835. He was a 
son of Bishop Carlton Chase ; graduated at IS'orwich University 
in 1856; read law with George Ticknor, in Claremont; gradu- 
ated at Cambridge Law School and was admitted to the bar in 
1859. He was never much in the practice of his profession. 
He died suddenly November 20, 1888. 

DANIEL CHASE 

Came from Sutton, Mass., to Cornish, and removed from the 
latter place to Claremont in 1792. He kept a tavern on the 
north side of Sugar river, in a house next west of the Colonel 
Dexter place, and owned and drove a stage to Windsor, Vt. 
In 1794 he built the house on the south side of the river and 
opened it as a tavern the next year, which was known until 
after his death, which occurred December 2, 1840, as Daniel 
Chase's Tavern, and since April, 1841, as the Sullivan House. 
Mr. Chase was a Freemason, and in his hall this fraternity 
held their regular meetings for many years. He had thirteen 
children born to him while he kept this tavern. His oldest 
daughter was the wife of Austin Corbin, of l^^e^\^ort, and the 
mother of Austin Corbin, the !N'ew York banker and railroad 
oflScial. 

DUDLEY T. CHASE, 

Son of Col. Leebbeus Chase, was born in Cornish, April 2, 
1823. He fitted for college at Kimball Union Academy; gradu- 




BELA CHAPIN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 407 

ated at Dartmouth College, and received the degrees of A. M. 
and A. B. in 1848 ; attended Yale Law School in the summer 
of 1847; read law with ex-Gov. Carlos Coolidge and Warren 
Currier, at Windsor, Yt. ; admitted to Windsor county, Yt., 
and Sullivan county bars in 1849, and as counselor, attorney, 
proctor, and solicitor at the United States circuit court, at Wind- 
sor, in 1859. He was located at Windsor and was in the active 
practice of his profession in Windsor and Sullivan counties from 
1849 to 1863. In the latter year, on account of his impaired 
health, he gave up practice and removed to Claremont, where 
he has since been engaged in farming. 

BELA CHAPIN, 

Born in Newport, February 19, 1829, is descended in the 
seventh generation from Deacon Samuel Chapin, who emigrated 
to this country and settled in Springfield, Mass., in 1642. 
His education was acquired in the public schools and Kimball 
Union Academy. In 1847 he came to Claremont and entered 
the office of the National Eagle, where he learned the print- 
ing business. Afterwards he worked as a compositor in Keene, 
Concord, and elsewhere. Then he returned to his native town, 
where he carried on farming a few years, then sold his farm 
and bought the Dartmouth Press printing establishment and 
bookbindery, at Hanover, where he remained as college printer 
until about 1870, when he sold his office and bookbindery 
and returned to Claremont and bought the farm where he has 
since lived, devoting his time to the cultivation of flowers, the 
raising of thoroughbred cattle, and to general farming. Mr. 
Chapin has employed his leisure hours among his books. 
He has a good library of more than a thousand volumes, which 
he has selected with great care, embracing standard works of 
history, science, and literature. He has been a discriminating 
reader and industrious student, and, like some other printers, 
has been a writer of verses. While an apprentice he wrote sev- 
eral short poems, which were published and commended without 



408 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the author being known. He has been a contributor to various 
periodicals. Lyrics of his, with portrait and biographical sketch, 
are included in a large volume of American Poets, published 
a few years ago in Chicago, and he is also represented in vari- 
ous other collections — mostly published at the West. In 1883 
he collected the mateiual and compiled " The Poets of New 
Hampshire," a volume of eight hundred pages, which was pub- 
lished by C. H. Adams, Claremont, N. H., and met with a 
ready sale. He has made translations in Spenserian stanza from 
Yirgil's ^neid, which have been well received, and more re- 
cently has completed a rhymed verse translation of the entire 
Eclogues of the same Roman poet. Appended is a single one 
of Mr. Chapin's many poetic effusions : 



O Lamb of God, who died for all, 
Thou who didst die for me, 

In penitence on thee I call, — 
Give me a hope in thee. 

Amid the vanities of life, 

Oh, keep my spirit free, 
From sin's allurements and from strife, 

And give me peace in thee. 

And may I oft in worship sweet 
Before thee bend the knee ; 

And do thou guide my wayward feet 
And grant me faith in thee. 

Forgive the wrong that I have done, 

Of whatso'er degree; 
And give me grace, thou Holy One, 

To spend my days for thee. 

Whatever ills my life betide 

Whatever is mine to see. 
Oh, may I still in hope abide. 

And rest secure in thee. 




WILLIAM CLARK. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 409 

When my departing hour is near, 

Oh, joyful may it be 
To cross death's stream devoid of fear. 

Upheld, dear Lord, by thee. 

BURT CHELLIS, 

Sou of Freeman S. Chellis, was born in Claremont, September 
19, 1860. He graduated at Stevens High School in June, 
1878, and at Dartmouth College in 1883. He read law in the 
office of Hermon Holt, and was admitted to the New Hamp- 
shire bar in June, 1883, soon after opened an office in Clare- 
mont, and has since been in practice here. He was elected 
moderator of the annual town meetings in 1887 and 1891, and 
in JSTovember, 1892, for two years. In 1890 he was elected 
county solicitor, and re-elected in 1892. 

WILLIAM CLARK, 

Son of Moses Clark, was born March 9, 1819, on the old road 
to Newport, about three miles from Claremont village, and 
lived in town until his death, which occurred May 30, 1883. 
He worked on his father's farm, attending schools in the dis- 
trict a few months each year, until he reached his majority, 
when he engaged with Rufus Carlton in the butchering and 
meat business, and subsequently with Philemon Tolles, on sal- 
ary, and then on his own account, and with Henry C. Cowles 
as partner. In 1857 he disposed of his interest in the meat 
business and formed a copartnership with Albert H. Danforth, 
under "the firm name of Clark & Danforth, in the wholesale 
iiour and grain trade, which he continued until 1871. In 1853 
Mr. Clark was chosen one of the selectmen and held that office 
fifteen years, ten of which he was chairman of the board; was 
county commissioner from 1864 to 1867, and town clerk from 1871 
to 1873. As executor and administrator he settled several estates, 
— some of them large and complicated. In 1876 he was appiointed 
judge of probate, which office he held until his death. 



410 HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 

IRA COLBY, 

Oldest son of the late Ira Colbj, was born in Claremont, January 
11, 1831. His parents came from Henniker, of which town his 
father was a native, and settled here in 1827. Both parents were 
of pure English descent. His father was a thriftv and highly 
respected farmer on Bible hill. He served the town as select- 
man in 1858 and 1859, and was representative in the New Hamp- 
shire legislature in 1872 and 1873, and died in 1873. His mother's 
family name was Foster, being a direct descendant from Reginald 
Foster, who came from Exeter, Devonshire, England, and settled 
in IpsAvich, Essex county, Mass., in 1638. She was living in the fam- 
ily of her son Ira in 1894, at the age of ninety-one years. The sub- 
ject of this sketch was brought up on the Bible hill farm, wdth no 
advantages for acquiring an education other than those afforded by 
a public school in a back district, until he was seventeen years old. 
After this he attended Marlow academy for a time, completed his 
academical course at Thetford, Vt, and entered Dartmouth College 
in 1853, graduating in 1857. During the winters, from the time he 
began his academical course to that of his graduation from college 
and for one year thereafter, he engaged in teaching, — first in his 
own state, and afterward in Massachusetts and Waukesha, Wis. 
In 1858 he entered the office of Freeman & McClure, then the lead- 
ing lawyers of Claremont, as a student. After two years of study 
he was admitted, on examination, to the bar of Sullivan county. 
Mr. McClure died September 1, 1860, soon after which Mr. Free- 
man retired and Mr. Colby succeeded to the office and a large 
share of the business of the firm of Freeman & McClure. He had 
as partners Lyman J. Brooks and Alfred T. Batchelder — both now 
of Keene — three or four years each. With these exceptions he has 
been alone in business and occupied the same office, in the north 
end of the Farwell block, for more than thirty-five years. Several 
young men now in successful practice have read law with him. He 
has been a leading member of the Sullivan county bar almost ever 
since his admission to it ; has had a large and constantly increasing 
practice; been engaged — generally as senior counsel — in the trial 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 411 

of nearly every cause of any considerable importance before the 
courts in the county, and ranks with the first lawyers in the state 
as an advocate before the jury. 

In politics Mr. Colby is an active and influential Republican, and 
being of the dominant party in town, has been honored with many 
offices, all of which he has filled with ability and credit. He was 
representative in the iN'ew Hampshire legislature in 1864, 1865, 
1881, 1883, and 1887, and state senator in 1869 and 1870. He took 
a leading part in each branch in committees, and on the floor as a 
debater. 

From 1864 to 1888, with the exception of two years, by appoint- 
ment and election, he held the office of solicitor for Sullivan county. 
He was delegate at large from 'New Hampshire to the Republican 
national convention in 1876. In 1889 he was appointed by the 
governor and council one of a commission of three to revise, codify, 
and amend the Public Statutes of New Hampshire, which were 
published in 1891. On the resignation of Judge Allen, in March, 
1893, Mr. Colby was appointed associate justice of the supreme 
court, which position he declined. 

In 1867 he married Miss Louisa M. Way, by whom he had two 
children, — a son and a daughter. The latter died in early child- 
hood. The son, Ira Gordon Colby, graduated at Dartmouth Col- 
lege in 1894, and is now a student in the law department of Boston 
University. 

SAMUEL COLE 

Was a graduate of Yale College in 1768, was among the earliest 
settlers of the town, often read the Episcopal service for several 
years, and was very capable and useful as an instructor of youth 
for a considerable period. He was a justice of the peace, and 
town clerk in 1771, 1772, and 1773. He died here October 19, 1777. 

JOHN COOKE. 

About 1779 Captain John Cooke came from Norton, Conn., with 
his wife, who was a Miss Godfrey, of Taunton, Mass., and five 
children, and bought the tavern stand and large and valuable 



412 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

meadow farm on the river road, about midway between the present 
village of Claremont and Windsor, Vt., which was long known as 
the Godfrey Cooke place, now owned by Erastus Reed. Their 
youngest son, Godfrey, was born here on July 22, 1780. The 
old tavern house was on the west side of the highway, and there 
it stood until 1858. After the death of Mr. Cooke, which oc- 
curred February 8, 1810, he was succeeded by his two sons, 
George and Godfrey. Under their management this tavern was- 
famous, and said to have been the best kept one on the road 
between Keene and Haverhill. This was the regular stage road 
from Boston to northeastern Vermont. 

In June, 1825, when General Lafayette was on his tour through 
New England, and on the way from Concord into Vermont, it 
was arranged that he should pass a night at this hostelry, and a 
large number of Dartmouth College students were there to meet 
him. But by reason of the lateness of his arrival in town, he 
passed the night in the village, at the Tremont House. The 
next day, on their way to Windsor, the party called at the Cooke 
tavern, and Lafayette partook of some choice old wine. It was 
here that Paran Stevens, the famous American hotel proprietor 
and manager, is said to have received his first lessons in hotel 
keeping, under the direction of his uncle, Godfrey Cooke. 

There is a family tradition that a bushel of continental money 
changed hands when the old tavern house was bought, which, in 
view of the rapid depreciation of that currency about that time, 
proved a fortunate venture for Captain Cooke. 

The oldest daughter of Captain Cooke, Matilda, married Colo- 
nel Josiah Stevens, the father of Deacon Josiah, Godfrey, Alvah, 
and Paran Stevens, and his daughter Miranda married Samuel 
Fiske. Thus it will be seen that from two of Matilda Cooke's 
children the town has received liberal endowments to the Stevens 
High School and the Fiske Free Library. 

In 1825 Godfrey Cooke built the house shown in the illustration, 
now occupied by Erastus Reed. It is on the east side of the high- 
way, nearly opposite the site of the old tavern house. Of Captain 
Cooke's direct descendants, there is but one in the third gener- 




AMBROSE COSSIT. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 413 

ation, Mrs. M. E. Partridge ; in the fourth generation, Mrs. Charles 
H. Long, Mrs. George F. Long, Miss Emma F. Cooke, and Miss 
M. E. Partridge ; in the fifth generation, Frederick S. and Mary 
E. Shepard, and John F. Long, all living in Claremont. Miss 
Emma F. Cooke is the only descendant bearing the name of Cooke. 
Edward A. Partridge, the husband of Mrs. M. E. Partridge, was a 
graduate of Dartmouth College in 1846, and as engineer, of Nor- 
wich University. He was an engineer on the Sullivan railroad 
while it was being built, and died in 1855. 

AMBROSE COSSIT 

Came from Granby, Conn., where he was born in 1749, to Clare- 
mont in 1767, when eighteen years old. He married Anna C, 
daughter of Samuel Cole, February 1, 1778. Before he was 
twenty-one years old he established a country store at what is 
now the corner of Broad and Chestnut streets, on the spot where 
Almon F. Wolcott's house now stands, and it is said brought 
the first barrel of flour into town. He bought the farm at the 
south end of Broad street, and lived there until his death, July 
13, 1809. He was succeeded in the store, and as owner of the 
farm by his son, Ambrose — the late Judge Cossit — he by his 
son, John F., who spent his life there, and at his death by his 
only child, Henry A. Cossit, who now lives there. Ambrose 
Cossit, senior, was a justice of the peace, and as such, did a great 
deal of business, such as solemnizing marriages, making deeds, 
«tc. He was seven times, from 1782 to 1791, elected selectman, 
and six times, from 1792 to 1797, town clerk. 

AMBROSE COSSIT 

Was born in Claremont on August 28, 1785 ; was a son of Am- 
brose Cossit, and at the centennial celebration, July 4, 1865, was 
the oldest native citizen in town. He was president of the Clare- 
mont bank from its organization, in 1848, until the organization 
was changed to the Claremont ISTational Bank, in 1864. He was 
selectman in 1823, 1824, and 1833, representative in the l^ew 



414 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Hampsliire legislature in 1824, and postmaster from August 30, 
1842, to April 17, 1843. He was appointed side or county justice 
of the courts for Sullivan county, January 8, 1833, and held that 
position until the office was abolished by the remodeling of the 
courts in 1855. He died April 7, 1866. 

DR. ALVAH R. CUMMINGS 

Was born in Acworth, August 27, 1826. He fitted for college 
at Marlow and Hancock academies. He studied medicine with Dr. 
William Grout at Camden, Ohio, and Dr. J, N. Butler at Lempster. 
He attended lectures and took the degree of M. D. at Dartmouth 
College in 1852. He practiced at Topsham, Vt., and Washington, 
^. H., three years; in the winter of 1855-56 he attended a course 
of lectures at the New York Medical College, and came to Clare- 
mont in March, 1856, and has been in practice here since that 
time. 

DAVID DEXTER 

Was born in Smithfield, R. I., was a lineal descendant of Gregory 
Dexter and Rev. Charles Brown, of Providence, R I. He was a 
captain in 1776 in Colonel Lippitt's regiment. Soon after the close 
of the war, probably between 1780 and 1790, he came to Clare- 
mont, married, and had several children. In 1800 he and his 
brother Stephen erected a dam across Sugar river, at the upper 
fall, put up suitable buildings for grist, saw, and oil mills, and a 
scythe shop, all of which were run by water. This scythe shop 
was the first established in these parts, and was a great wonder 
in those days. The scythe business was continued until 1824, 
and the other branches of business above named by the brothers 
until the death of David in 1831, when they were succeeded by 
the late Moses Wheeler, a son-in-law of David. The Dexters sub- 
sequently became interested in other manufacturing enterprises 
in Claremont. Colonel David Dexter was an enterprising and 
influential citizen of the town for about fifty years. He was one 
of the selectmen of the town for thirteen years, between 1800 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 415 

and 1818, and chairman of the board every year from 1810 to 
1818, both years included ; representative in the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1814, and each succeeding year up to and includ- 
ing 1820 ; moderator of town meeting many times, and a director 
in the Claremont bank several years. 

AURELIUS DICKINSON. 

Mr. Dickinson was born at Granville, Mass., February 10, 1804, 
and died in Claremont, ISTovember 3, 1880. He lived and labored 
on his father's farm until twenty-one years old, when he engaged 
as clerk in a leather store in Hartford, Conn., where he served a 
few years and then established himself in the business of a country 
store-keeper and was quite successful. In 1835 he purchased the 
principal hotel at Amherst, Mass., which he kept until December, 
1837, when the buildings were destroyed by fire with the most of 
their contents. With the insurance and the sale of the site he was 
not a heavy loser. In the spring of 1838 he came to Claremont and 
bought of the late Paran Stevens the Tremont House property, 
which he kept as a hotel continuously until 1850, and at intervals 
after that, until the buildings were burned, March 29, 1879. He 
was also interested in different stage lines until they were super- 
seded by railroads. He was one of the selectmen of the town a 
large share of the time succeeding 1852, and county commissioner 
from 1868 to 1871. Mr. Dickinson was a very careful and success- 
ful business man. 

LEMUEL DOLE, 

Son of David Dole, was born at Washington, October 20, 1814. 
He is a direct descendant from Eichard Dole, who came from Eng- 
land and settled in Newbury, Mass., in 1639. All of the Doles in 
this country, so far as known, are descendants of this Richard. 
Lemuel came to Claremont in 1842 and bought a farm in Pucker- 
shire and has resided in town since then. He lives now about a 
mile north of the village, on the east road to Cornish Flat. He has 
three sons, all living in town, — George W., engaged in the grocery 



416 HISTOEY OF CLAREMONT. 

business; Levi R., in the meat business; and Frank H., a farmer 
on the old Parmer Johnson farm on the west side of Green 
mountain. 

EDMUND DOLE, 

Son of David and brother of Lemuel Dole, was born at Washing- 
ton, January 11, 1817. He came to Claremont about 1850 and 
bought a farm in Puckershire, on the road to Newport, and has 
since resided there. He had two sons, — Charles H., who lives with 
his father, and John A., who died at Jamestown, Dakota, a few 
years ago. 

THE DUSTINS. 

According to Dr. N. Bouton's History of Concord, Thomas Dus- 
tin married Hannah, the oldest of fifteen children of Michael and 
Hannah Emerson, December 3, 1677. They had thirteen children, 
and their descendants in 'New Hampshire are quite numerous. It 
was this Hannah Dustin who became famous nearly two hundred 
years ago. During an incursion made by Lidians upon Haverhill, 
Mass., on the 15th of March, 1697, a party attacked the house of 
Thomas Dustin, captured Mrs. Dustin in bed with an infant seven 
days old, and her nurse, Mary Nifi*, dashed out the brains of the 
infant against a tree and set fire to the house. The captives were 
marched through the wilderness to the home of the Indians on a 
small island at the junction of the Contoocook river with the Merri- 
mack, near where the village of Penacook now is. In the night, 
when the Indians were asleep, the two captive women, with the 
assistance of a boy w^ho had been captured at "Worcester, Mass., 
some time before, killed ten of the Indians by striking them upon 
the head, and the three captives escaped and returned to Haverhill. 
On the 21st of the following April the three went to Boston, car- 
rying with them the scalps of the Indians and other evidences of 
the exploit, and received as a reward from the General Court fifty 
pounds, and many valuable presents from others. A few years ago 
a monument was erected upon this island to the memory of Han- 
nah Dustin, and to mark the spot where, according to common 
tradition, this tragedy was enacted. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 417 

TIMOTHY DUSTIN, 

A son of Thomas and Hannah Dustin, was born in Haverhill, 
Mass., September 14, 1694, and died in 1775. He had three sons, 
— Eliphalet, and Thomas and Timothy — twins. 

THOMAS AND TIMOTHY DUSTIN, 

Twins, sons of Thomas 2d and grandsons of Thomas and Hannah 
Dustin, were born in 1745. They came to Claremont about 1770 
and bought a tract of land on the south side of Sugar river, nearly 
opposite the site of the carpet factory, where they carried on brick- 
making for many years. They also owned, on the north side of the 
river, the farm afterward owned by Moody Dustin and that known 
as the Xorton place. Timothy occupied the former and Thomas 
the latter. Thomas was married to Sarah Barron, July 31, 1783, 
and they had ten children. Timothy was married to Eunice Cut- 
ting, August 17, 1773, and they had nine children. Timothy Dus- 
tin, his wife, and one daughter, died within twenty days, in Febru- 
ary and March, 1813, of spotted fever. 

MOODY DUSTIN, 

A son of Timothy and great-grandson of Thomas and Hannah 
Dustin, was born in Claremont, i^^ovember 19, 1780, and died here 
August 29, 1860. He married Lucy Cowles, April 8, 1807, and 
they had nine children — three sons and six daughters. He settled 
on the farm on Green mountain now owned by Peter Haubrich, 
where he lived until 1834, when he removed to the farm at West 
Claremont, afterward owned by his son, the late Mighill Dustin, 
and now by the latter's daughter, Mrs. Charles Keith. Of the sons, 
William, born December 2, 1811, died at Summer Hill, 111., 
October 12, 1873. Timothy, born July 18, 1823, died in Illinois, 
August 7, 1846. Of the daughters, Sarah M., born June 3, 1808, 
married William Haven, of Newport, and died there Feb- 
ruary 17, 1865. Alvira, born December 14, 1809, is the wife of 
Timothy B. Rossiter, of Claremont. They were married May 31, 
1835, and both were living in 1894. Mary, born November 9, 



420 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Ellis was a lieutenant in the Continental army, was with Ethan 
Allen's expedition against Ticonderoga and Crown Point in 1775, 
and served as a lieutenant under Gen. Stark, in the battle of 
Bennington, August 16, 1777. He was one of the selectmen in 



WILLIAM ELLIS, 

Youngest son of Barnabas Ellis, born on Town hill in 1807. At 
the death of his father he succeeded to the farm where he was 
born, ahvays lived, and died August 29, 1880. He was a good 
farmer and reputable citizen. For many years he was warden 
■of Union church, and was representative in the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1869. 

CALEB ELLIS 

Was born at Walpole, Mass., in 1767; graduated at Harvard 
College in 1793; read law in the office of Hon. Joshua Thomas, 
of Plymouth, Mass. ; settled in Claremont about 1800. In 1804 
he was chosen a member of congress from New Hampshire. In 
1809 and 1810 he was a member of the executive council. In 
1811 he w^as elected state senator; in 1812 elector of president 
and vice-president; and in 1813 he was appointed one of the 
judges of the supreme judicial court of New Hampshire, which 
office he held until his death. May 9, 1816. In February, 1816, 
he married Nancy, daughter of Hon. Eobert Means, of Amherst, 
N. H. He built the house near the south end of Broad street, 
which was purchased by J. S. Walker in 1860. 

At his death Judge Ellis left a will, in which he bequeathed 
*' five thousand dollars to the Congregational society of Clare- 
mont, for constituting a fund, the interest of which shall be an- 
nually appropriated to the support of the Christian ministry." 
Rev, Stephen Farley, minister of the Congregational church, 
delivered a sermon on the occasion of the funeral of Judge Ellis, 
taking for a text Proverbs x. 7 : " The memory of the just is 
blessed." In the course of this eloquent and somewhat remark- 
able sermon the preacher said : 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 421 

Although he has left the world, his memory continues in it, and will long 
survive his decease. His memory is blessed. If there be any justice in the 
present and succeeding generations, the name of the man whose remains are 
now before us will be held in most cordial, grateful, and honorary remem- 
bi'ance. 

The Hon. Caleb Ellis was a man distinguished for native vigor and capa- 
ciousness of mind. The God of nature formed him capable of high mental 
attainments and great intellectual effort. For strength of intellect, accuracy of 
discrimination, soundness of judgment, and propriety of taste he attained an 
extraordinary eminence. His native superiority of mind was improved by very 
extensive cultivation. His learning was various, profound, and general. . . . 

Concerning his professional character, I shall not attempt a particular delin- 
eation. It is sufficient that I say, as an attorney, as a legal counselor, as an 
advocate, as a statesman, and as a justice of the supreme judicial court, his 
worth is generally known, acknowledged, and admired. 

In private life Mr. Ellis was eminently inoffensive, amiable, and exemplary.. 
He wronged no one ; he corrupted no one ; he defrauded no one ; he slighted no 
one ; he injured no one. His treatment and attention towards persons of dif- 
ferent classes were marked with the strictest propriety, justice, and liberal gener- 
osity. He gave them all satisfaction and enjoyed their cordial esteem. In 
freedom, not only from all vice, but also from common faults, he attained an 
eminent distinction. There were no censurable excesses, no despicable defi- 
ciencies, no unamiable habits about him. His moral integrity was like tried 
gold. Many of the most frequent imperfections of human nature were but 
faintly discovered in his heart and life. 

At the opening of the trial term of the supreme judical court 
for Grafton county at Haverhill, in May, 1816, Chief Justice 
Jeremiah Smith read a sketch of the character of Judge Ellis, 
in which he said : 

Since the commencement of the present circuit it has pleased the Almighty 
Disposer of all events to remove one of the judges of this court by death. If 
living, he would have filled the place I now occupy. It is believed that this 
is the first instance of the death of a judge of the supreme court, while in office, 
since the adoption of the present constitution, and, indeed, since the Revolution. 
Though the whole number who have served during this period has been nearly 
thirty, and more than half that number have paid the debt of nature, yet they 
have generally quitted the office before age had made retirement from the active 
scenes of life necessary. 

Nature endowed Judge Ellis with a mind at once ingenious, discriminating, 
and strong. Without education he would doubtless have attracted no small 



422 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

share of the esteem and confidence of those within the circle of his acquaint- 
ance. But his great modesty would probably have concealed him from public 
notice. Fortunately, it was otherwise ordained; and he received the best edu- 
cation our country could give. He was graduated at Cambridge in 1793, and 
left that distinguished university with a high character for learning, morals, 
and general literature. 

Perhaps no student ever left a lawyer's office with a larger and better stock of 
law knowledge. He commenced practice in this state. Soon after his admission 
to the bar of the supreme court, in the county of Cheshire, I well recollect his 
argument in a case of some difficulty and importance, and the remark of a 
gentleman, then at the head of the bar, and who seldom errs in his judgment 
of men, "that Mr. Ellis would soon be numbered among the most valuable 
and respectable members of the profession." 

When the new judiciary system was formed, in 1813, the best informed of 
all parties named Mr. Ellis for the office of judge of this court. The merit of 
the executive of that day, in relation to this appointment, was in concurring 
in that nomination. Mr. Ellis was an independent and impartial judge. . . . 

His mind was too lofty to enter into any calculations foreign to the merits 
of the cause in the discharge of his official duties; neither the merits nor de- 
merits of the parties nor their connections, however numerous or powerful, 
could have any influence with him. I am sensible that this is very high praise, 
— a praise which could not, in truth, be bestowed on all good men, nor even 
on all good judges. But it is praise which Mr. Ellis richly merited. 

JOHN T. EMERSON, 

Son of the late Jonathan Emerson, was born in Claremont, March 
9, 1834. When eighteen years old he entered the store, at the 
south end of the upper bridge, of the late Charles Farwell, as 
clerk, where he remained a few months, when he went into a 
mill at Westminster, Mass. , to learn the business of paper making. 
Soon after the completion of his apprenticeship he took charge 
of a paper mill at Leominster, Mass., in which position he con- 
tinued eight years, during which time he built a mill at Fitch- 
burg, Mass., where he furnished the plans, superintended the 
building of the mill, and had charge of both three years, until 
1867, at which time the Sugar River paper mill in Claremont 
was being built. Mr. Emerson became a stockholder in the com- 
pany, and was given charge as superintendent and agent of the 
mill, which position he still holds. 




JOHN T. EMERSON, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 423 

HARRIET N. FARLEY 

Was the sixth of ten children of the Rev. Stephen Farley, pastor 
of the Congregational church in Clareniont from 1806 to 1819. 
When still a young girl she became an operative in a factory at 
Lowell. In 1841, while thus employed, she started and edited 
the Lowell Offering, or Factory Operatives' Magazine, subse- 
quently became its owner and publisher, and so continued several 
years. It had, under her management, a circulation of more than 
four thousand copies. She gave an autobiographic account of her 
early life, which was published thirty years ago in Mrs. Hale's 
" Woman's Record." Among other things she said : 

My father is a Congregational clergyman, and at the time of my birth was 
settled in the beautiful town of Claremont, in the state of New Hampshire. 
Though I left this place when six years of age, I still remember its natural 
beauties, which even then impressed me deeply. The Ascutney mountain, 
Sugar river with its foaming falls, the distant hills of Vermont, all are in my 
memory. My mother was descended from the Moodys, somewhat famous in 
New England history. One of them was the eccentric and influential Father 
Moody. Another was Handkerchief Moody, the one who wore, so many years, 
"the minister's veil." One was the well known Trustee Moody, of Dumwell 
academy, who educated my grandmother. She was a very talented and esti- 
mable lady. 

In 1848 Miss Farley published a volume chiefly made up of 
her contributions to the Lowell Offering, entitled " Shells from 
the Strand of the Sea of Genius." She married John Donelery, 
of Philadelphia, after which but little was known of her by her 
New England friends. 

NICHOLAS FARWELL, 

The first of the family in Claremont, was born May 5, 1781, 
and came from Packersfield — now Kelson — in 1802, settled on 
Town hill, where he had a shoemaker's shop and carried on the 
business in a small way until 1813, when he removed to the 
village, commenced manufacturing women's shoes, and sold them 
to country merchants. The business grew gradually under his 



424 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

management until he employed more than a hundred hands. 
He left it to his sons, George i^. and William H. Farwell^ 
about 1828, and engaged in manufacturing cotton and in other 
kinds of business. He was the first cotton manufacturer in 
town, and director in the first Claremont bank, and also in the 
one organized in 1848 by the same name. He married Susan 
Corey in 1803, by whom he had thirteen children, but two of 
whom, Russell W. Farwell, now living at Rutland, Vt., and the 
widow of George W. Blodgett, of this town, are now living. 
He built the house on Broad street, now owned and occupied 
by Hermon Holt, where he died, October 13, 1852. His widow 
continued to occupy the house until her death, which occurred 
September 25, 1860. 

GEORGE N. FARWELL, 

The oldest of thirteen children of Nicholas and Susan (Corey)' 
Farwell, was born on Town hill, February 18, 1804. He had 
learned the trade of a shoemaker in his father's shop, and soon 
after reaching his majority went to St. Albans, Vt., where he 
commenced the business of shoe manufacturing, but after about 
fifteen months, in 1827, he returned to Claremont and went 
into partnership with his father and brother, William H. Far- 
well, in the shoe and mercantile business. After two or three 
years the firm was dissolved, the father retiring, William H. 
taking the mercantile business and George IST. the shoemaking,. 
in which, by himself and with Lewis Perry and his brother,. 
Russell W. Farwell, as partners, he continued until 1858, a 
period of more than thirty years, when he sold out to Russell 
W. George N. Farwell was a director in the first Claremont 
bank, which wound up its business between 1844 and 1846. In, 
1848 a new bank, under the same name, was chartered, and 
Mr. Farwell was chosen a director and Uriel Dean, cashier. In. 
April, 1851, Mr. Dean resigned and Mr. Farwell was elected in. 
his place, which position he held until March, 1856, when he 
resigned, and his son, John L. Farwell, who had been assistant 




GEORGE N. FARWELL. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 425 

cashier since March, 1853, was elected cashier. November 22, 
1864, the organization was changed from a state to a national 
bank, and George N. Farwell was elected president, which po- 
sition he held until his death. He was representative in the 
New Hampshire legislature in 1868 and 1869. In 1854 he built 
the brick block on the east side of Tremont square, which bears 
his name, and subsequently extended it on the south side of 
Tremont street; in 1851 he built the brick house at the corner 
of Broad and Putnam streets, where he passed his last years, 
and several others in town. 

Mr. Farwell married Sarah A. McDonald, of Middlebury, Vt., 
December 27, 1827, by Avhom he had three children — James 
H., who died February 26, 1889; John L., and Susan L., the 
widow of William Breck, Mrs. Farwell died February 11, 1876, 
and her husband survived her until February 24, 1887, when he 
died, at the age of eighty-three years. 

.JOHN L. FARWELL, 

Second son of George N. and Sarah A. Farwell, was born in 
Claremont, March 1, 1834. When nineteen years old he was 
made assistant cashier of the Claremont bank, and succeeded 
his father as cashier in 1856, which position he held until Octo- 
ber, 1881, when he was elected vice-president, and his son, 
George N. Farwell, then second, succeeded to the cashiership. 
On March 15, 1887, on the death of his father, John L. Far- 
well was elected president of the Claremont National bank, 
which position he now holds. On January 2, 1856, his fatlier 
having resigned that office, he w^as elected treasurer of the Sul- 
livan Savings Institution; resigned February 7, 1874; was suc- 
ceeded by Albert Eossiter, who resigned December 27, 1882, and 
Mr. Farwell was again elected treasurer and has since held that 
position. He is also a director and treasurer of the Sugar River 
Paper Mill Company. In 1874 and 1875 he w-as a representa- 
tive in the New Hampshire legislature. 



426 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

GEORGE N. FAKWELL, 

Named for his grandfather, is the oldest son of John L. Far- 
well. He was born January 3, 1858. When in his minority he 
entered the Claremont National bank as teller. On the election 
of his father vice-president, in October, 1881, he was chosen 
cashier, which position he has since held. He is also a director 
in this bank and in the Sullivan Savings Institution. In 1887 
he built a large and handsome house on the west side of Broad 
street, where he now lives. 

HARRY 0. FAY, 

Son of Nathan, and great-grandson of John Fay, who was killed 
in the battle of Bennington, August 16, 1777, was born in 
Richmond, Yt., November 30, 1830. He learned the printer's 
trade in Montpelier, Yt. ; was editor and publisher of the Cou- 
rier and Freeman, Potsdam, N. Y., from 1849 to 1861; post- 
master from 1856 to 1861 ; commissioned captain in the Ninety- 
second Regiment New York State Yolunteers in September, 1861, 
and served through the War of the Rebellion. He was in 
command of the regiment as senior captain when it was mus- 
tered out of the service, in 1865. He came to Claremont in 
1872, has been editor and publisher of the National Eagle 
since 1880, and was representative in the New Hampshire leg- 
islature in 1887. 

LEONARD p. FISHER, 

Son of Josiah, and grandson of Abram Fisher, who came from 
Natick, Mass., to Claremont in 1785, was born October 6, 1807, 
in the house on Washington street, where he died December 
6, 1892. His grandfather, Abram, was a cabinet maker by 
trade and pursued that avocation for years. He had a small 
farm and a cidermill, which was run by water power. He died 
February 3, 1851. Josiah, son of Abram, and father of Leonard 
P., died in York, Livingston county, N. Y., in 1854. Leonard 
P., when about ten years old, joined his father in what was 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 427 

then the wilderness of New York state, and was brought up 
in the lumber business. In 1829 he came back to Claremont, 
to make his home with his grandfather, remained with him 
until his death, and inherited his property, which was a moder- 
ate fortune for that time. Mr. Fisher was a busy man; built 
many houses for himself and others ; was liberal in many things 
and encouraged by his means and in other ways everything 
tending to the growth and prosperity of the town. At his 
death he left a widow and five surviving children — four sons 
and one daughter. 

SAMUEL FISKE, 

Graduated at Harvard University in the class of 1793, came from 
Brookfield, Mass., to Claremont in 1794, and died December 30, 
1834, at the age of sixty-five years. He was an active and enter- 
prising citizen for forty years ; was engaged in mercantile business 
and manufacturing of various kinds, among which was print paper, 
under the firm of Fiske & Blake, successors in that business of 
Josiah Stevens, the first paper-maker in the then Cheshire county. 
Mr. Fiske was selectman in 1800 and 1801 ; town clerk seventeen 
years, from 1800 to 1816 inclusive ; representative in the New 
Hampshire legislature in 1814 and 1816, and state senator in 1815. 
He built the large house corner of Broad and Summer streets, and 
there died. 

SAMUEL PHILLIPS FISKE, 

Son of Samuel Fiske, was born November 17, 1800, and died in the 
house where he was born, February 8, 1879. His active life was 
spent in mercantile business in Claremont, in partnership w^ith his 
father and others, — among them the late Amos J. Tenney, — under 
the firm of Fiske, Tenney & Co., and James P. Brewer, under the 
firm of Fiske & Brewer. He acquired by inheritance and in busi- 
ness a comfortable fortune, and having no children to inherit it, in 
his lifetime he founded a library which, by vote of the town, was 
named the Fiske Free Library, and by the conditions imposed by 



428 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Mr. Fiske was to be for the free use of all the inhabitants of the 
town. By his will he bequeathed to the library five thousand dol- 
lars, to be expended for books, — any amounts that he might have 
so expended in his lifetime to be deducted from this sum, — the 
balance remaining at his death to be expended by the five trustees 
which had been named by him. In addition to this sum he left 
four thousand dollars, and his wife, Miranda Stevens Fiske, who 
died May 26, 1882, one thousand dollars as a permanent fund, to be 
invested and cared for by the trustees, the interest of which was to 
be used by them for the purchase of books. Thus Mr. and Mrs. 
Fiske have erected a monument bearing their name, which it is 
hoped will stand forever. 

PHILANDER CHASE FREEMAN 

Was born in Plainfield, August 27, 1807, and died in Claremont, 
April 20, 1871. He was a son of Benjamin Freeman, also a native 
of Plainfield, He graduated at Kenyon College, Gambler, Ohio, 
in 1825; read law with J. H. Hubbard at Windsor, Yt., and for a 
short time was associated with him in business. He removed to 
Claremont in 1835, where he was in active practice until within a 
few years of his death. He had for partners at different times A. 
B. Williamson, Samuel W. Fuller, and lastly Milon C. McClure. 
He was a representative in the N'ew Hampshire legislature, and 
several years justice of the police court. 

SAMUEL W. FCLLER, 

Son of Francis E. Fuller, was born at Hardwick, Yt., April 25, 
1822, and died in Chicago, 111., October 25, 1873. He read law in 
the office of Philander C. Freeman, in Claremont; was admitted to 
Sullivan county bar in 1849; was in practice here until 1852, when 
he removed to Illinois and settled in Chicago in 1856, where he 
became quite eminent in his profession and attained a high position 
in the state and United States courts by his legal learning and 
ability. 




PHILANDER C FREEMAN. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 429 

ALEXANDER GARDINEK 

Was born at Catskill, E". Y., July 27, 1833; fitted for college at 
Kimball Union Academ}^ Meriden ; studied law with Shea & Rich- 
ardson, New York city; admitted to the bar in that city in 1856; 
was in Kansas about two years during the political troubles there ; 
came to Claremont in the spring of 1859, and opened a law office 
with Edwin Vaughan ; continued in practice until September, 1862, 
when he was commissioned lieutenant in the Fourteenth Regiment 
of New Hampshire Volunteers ; promoted to major September 12, 

1863, and to colonel of that regiment September 12, 1864. In the 
battle of Winchester, Va., September 19, 1864, Colonel Gardiner 
was mortally wounded ; he remained in the hands of the enemy 
five hours, when the Union troops regained the ground and recov- 
ered the dead and wounded. He died of his wounds October 8, 

1864, and his remains were buried in Claremont. 

JAMES M. GATES, 

Son of Abel Gates, born in Cornish, October 30, 1808, commenced 
the practice of law in Claremont in 1835, which he continued until 
his death, April 8, 1854. He had a considerable reputation as 
advocate, and good standing as a counselor. He represented the 
town in the New Hampshire legislature in 1845 and 1846, and was 
conspicuous on the floor of the house and in committees. 

LEONARD AND HIRAM GILMORE, 

Sons of Hon. Gawen Gilmore, of Acworth, came to Claremont in 
1826, bought the Tyler mills at West Claremont, and from that 
time until 1841 carried on an extensive business in making axes 
and other edge tools, employing quite a number of men. Their 
tools had a good reputation and had a large sale. They also had 
grist and saw mills on the north side of the river. In 1858 Hiram 
removed to Montreal, and was engaged with his sons in the manu- 
facture of augers and bits at Cote St. Paul, near Montreal, Canada. 
He died November 12, 1862, and his wife, Mindwell McClure, died 



430 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

at Cote St. Paul, July 14, 1877. Both were buried at West Clare- 
mont. Leonard Gilmore was for several years engaged in mercan- 
tile business with Hock Hills, and postmaster at West Claremont 
from 1847 to 1861. He died December 10, 1876, his wife, 
Sarah M., sister of the late Solon C. Grannis, having died January 
10, 1875. The Gilmores were prominent and influential men in 
town in their time. 

Hiram Gilmore's two sons, Hiram Gawen and Charles Homer, 
learned the edge tool business of their father and are engaged in 
manufacturing augers and bits at Cote St, Paul. 

ERASTCS GLroDEN, 

A son of Jonathan Glidden, was born March 26, 1792, on that part 
of Bible hill which was then in the town of Unity, but was set off 
on to Claremont by act of the legislature in 1828. He lived upon 
the farm where he was born until 1838, which was afterward for 
many years owned by Joshua Colby and his son Henry ; came to 
the village and built the brick house on the west side of Pleasant 
street, where George H. Stowell's house now is, which was burned 
in 1864. He owned the tract of land west of Pleasant street, between 
Myrtle street and the Concord and Claremont railroad, and 
extending west to Mulberry street. This tract which he carried on 
as a farm is now covered by West Summer, Prospect, and Tyler 
streets, and fully occupied with dwelling-houses, all handsome, and 
some of them expensive and elegant. In 1830 Mr. Glidden was 
brigadier-general and commanded the Fifth Brigade of ISTew Hamp- 
shire militia. He was elected cashier of the first Claremont bank 
on the retirement of James. H. Bingham in 1842, and continued 
until its business was fully closed up in 1846. He was a represent- 
ative in the Kew Hampshire legislature in 1835, 1838, and 1839, 
and was often called upon to preside over public gatherings. He 
is said to have had a remarkable memory, and could repeat verba- 
tim long speeches after having read them once or twice. He was 
a prominent and honored citizen. He died in November, 1866, 
and was buried beside the remains of his first wife, at North 
Charlestown. 




ERASTUS GLIDDEN. 



HISTORY OF CLAKEMONT. 431 

CHARLES E. GLIDDEN, 

The only son of the late Gen. Erastus Glidden, was born on 
the farm on Bible hill, December 4, 1835. He studied law, was 
admitted to the bar, and settled in Warren, Trumbull county 
Ohio. In 1861 he was elected judge of the court for his county 
for five years ; was re-elected without opposition for another term 
of five years, at the end of which he was tendered a third nomina- 
tion, but on account of ill health declined it. He died at Rox- 
bury, Mass., June 14, 1882, at the age of forty-six years. 

EDWARD L. GODDARD, 

Son of Capt. Mchols Goddard, was born at Rutland, Vt., June, 
1808, and died at Thomasville, Ga., March 30, 1880, where he 
went on account of impaired health. He was buried in Clare- 
mont. He worked as clerk in stores in Rutland, and Boston and 
'New Bedford, Mass., from the time that he was fifteen until twen- 
ty-four years old, when he formed a copartnership with his brother- 
in-law, Simeon Ide, at Windsor, Vt., which continued a few years. 
In 1837 he came to Claremont and engaged as book-keeper for the 
Claremont Manufacturing Company, of which Mr. Ide was agent 
and treasurer. In 1858 Mr. Ide disposed of his interest, declined 
those offices, and Mr. Goddard, having bought of the stock of the 
company, was elected agent and treasurer, in place of Mr. Ide, and 
continued in those positions until 1867, when, after thirty years' 
connection with the company, he retired from the active manage- 
ment of its affairs. He was prominent as a business man in the 
town, in the Congregational church, of which he was for many 
years a member, and in many other ways, from 1837 until his 
death. In 1868 he was chosen one of the five electors for JSTew 
Hampshire of president and vice-president of the United States, 
and was representative in the legislature in 1869. In July, 1833, 
he married Elizabeth W^orth, of I^antucket, Mass., by whom he 
had seven children, four of whom survive, viz. : the Rev. Edward 
K Goddard, rector of the Episcopal church at Windsor, Vt. ; 



432 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Alice B., wife of Moses E. Emerson, of Boston; George W. 
Goddard, of 'New York city, aud Elizabeth Worth. His wife 
died May 7, 1852. On June 13, 1855, he married Elizabeth P., 
daughter of the late Eev. Christopher Marsh, of Jamaica Plain, 
Mass., by whom he had one son — Christopher M. Goddard, of 
Boston. 

NATHANIEL GOSS 

Came from Winchester to Claremont about 1775 and settled on 
the farm west of the Charlestown road, two miles south of the 
village, afterward owned by his son Joel, then by his grandson, 
Charles N., and now by George P. Rossiter, He had eight chil- 
dren — two sons, IS'athaniel and Joel, and six daughters. He died 
June 25, 1824, at the age of seventy-three years, and his widow on 
March 29, 1840, at the age of eighty-seven years. He was select- 
man in 1787. 

JOEL GOSS, 

Son of ]^athaniel, was born January 30, 1782, and died January 
4, 1833, on the farm w^here he was born aud always lived. He 
was the father of the late William and Charles JST, Goss, an excel- 
lent farmer, prominent citizen, and selectman in 1820, 1821, 1822, 
and 1831. 

TI3I0THY GRANNIS 

Came from Xorth Haven, Conn., and settled in Claremont in 1769. 
He married a daughter of Dr. William Sumner, by whom he had 
seven children. She died June 25, 1789, and he married for his 
second wife Sarah Nje, of Tolland, Conn., and they had four 
children born to them. On July 4, 1888, appeared in the Clare- 
mont Advocate half a column of blank verse, headed " Ascut- 
ney. Written on the top of Ascutney mountain, in October, 1804, 
by Timothy Grannis." He died May 7, 1827. 

TIMOTHY GRANNIS, JR., 

Oldest son of Timothy Grannis, was born June 30, 1772, married 
Phebe, daughter of Ebenezer Rice, and lived on what has since 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 433^ 

been known as the Samuel Carleton farm, at the west part of the 
town. They had five children, Solon C, Laurens A., Homer P., 
Sarah M., and Samuel K., all of whom are dead, except Laurens 
A., born in 1802, and is now living in Guildhall, Vt. Timothy 
Grannis, Jr., was quite prominent in town in his time. He was 
selectman eight years, from 1821 to 1829, and representative in the 
legislature for the years 1829, 1830, 1831, and 1832. 

SOLON C. GRANNIS, 

Oldest son of Timothy Grannis, Jr., was born on the Samuel 
Carleton farm, at the west part of the town, in August, 1801. 
When but little more than twenty years old he married Nancy 
Spaulding and went to live on the large farm where she had been 
brought up by her uncle, about a mile north from his birthplace, 
there lived more than seventy years, and there died on the sev- 
enth of March, 1892. They had six children, five of whom are 
living. Of the sons, Joseph S. is a lawyer, at Cleveland, Ohio; 
Homer E. owns considerable real estate in the northwest part of 
the town and has a lumber mill on Red Water brook ; and George 
C. lives on a good, farm adjoining that of his father. Of the 
daughters, the oldest was the wife of the late Chester P. Smith, 
and died young; the second is the wife of Daniel N. Bowker, a 
farmer living on Red Water brook ; and the youngest lived with 
and cared for her father through his declining years. The sub- 
ject of this sketch was five times, from 1843 to 1852, both inclu- 
sive, elected one of the selectmen of the town, and was chairman 
of the board several years. He was representative in the New 
Hampshire legislature in 1861. From early age Mr. Grannis was 
a member of Union Episcopal church, and warden more than forty 
years preceding his death. He was an excellent farmer, an extensive 
and intelligent reader ; authority in matters relating to the early 
history of the town, and much respected. 

DR. LELAND J. GRAVES, 

Son of David J. Graves, was born at Berkshire, Vt., May 24, 1812. 
He was educated in the public schools and Chester, Cavendish, and 



434 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Ludlow, Vt., academies; attended lectures at Woodstock, Vt., and 
graduated from the medical department of Dartmouth College, 
May 10, 1842. Soon after his graduation he located at Langdon, 
and had an extensive practice in that town and vicinity. In 1868 
he removed to Claremont with his family, intending to retire from 
general practice, but responded to calls from his old patrons in the 
south part of the county. He died February 22, 1891. He was a 
prominent Freemason, and his burial was attended with high Ma- 
sonic honors. 

THE HANDERSONS.— GIDEON HANDERSON 

Was a son of Gideon Handerson. He was born at Amherst, Mass., 
October 9, 1753, and died here July 10, 1825. He married Abigail 
Church, of Amherst, January 1, 1778, and the following year, with 
his wife and infant son Phinehas, removed to Claremont. The}^ 
came through the woods on horseback, Mrs. Handerson carrying 
her infant in her arms. Mr. Handerson engaged in the tannins" 
and currying business, at the north side of Sugar river, a few rods 
east of the present residence of Edwin W. Tolles ; continued it 
until his death, and was succeeded in that -business by his son 
Rufiis. He was one of the selectmen seven years, from 1791 to 
1805, both years inclusive. Mrs. Handerson died June 23, 1846. 
They had two children, Phinehas and Rufus. This Gideon Han- 
derson was a soldier in the War of the Revolution, in the company 
of Capt. IToadiah Leonard, which was attached to Col. R. Wood- 
bury's regiment. The most of this regiment was engaged in the 
battle of Bunker Hill, June 17, 1775. 

PHINEHAS HANDERSON, 

Son of Gideon, was born at Amherst, Mass., December 13, 1778. 
He came to Claremont with his parents in 1779. He studied law 
with George B. I^pham,was admitted to the bar in 1804, and opened 
an office at Chesterfield in 1805 or 1806, where he continued in the 
practice of his profession until 1833, when he removed to Keene, 
and there was in practice until his death, March 16, 1853. He was 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 435 

one of the selectmen of Chesterfield in 1811, representative from 
that town in the E"ew Hampshire legislature in 1812, 1813, and 
1815; state senator in 1816, 1817, 1823, 1831, and 1832; and mem- 
ber of the executive council in 1841 and 1842. He also was a rep- 
resentative from Keene in 1843 and 1849. At the time of his death 
he was president of the Cheshire county bar, and was one of the 
oldest practicing lawyers in N"ew Hampshire. 

RUFUS H ANDERSON, 

Son of Gideon, was born in Claremont, December 13, 1781, and 
died October 16, 1829. He married Betsey Munger, Il^ovember 20, 
1803, who died March 20, 1853. They had five children, two of 
whom died in infancy. The three that lived to maturity were 
Frederick W., born April 5, 1806, and died May 4, 1862; Horace 
P., born June 6, 1811, and died August 26, 1867; and Lucius R, 
born February 18, 1819. He removed to Vergennes, Vt., in 1869. 
Rufus Handerson carried on the tanning and currying business 
from the death of his father until he died, and was succeeded in the 
business by his son, Horace P., who continued it for a few years. 
Mr. Handerson was moderator of the annual town meetings nine 
years, from 1819 to 1829 ; selectman eight years, from 1813 to 
1829; and representative in the jSTew Hampshire legislature in 
1822, 1823, 1824, and 1826. 

ICHABOD HART 

Was born in Connecticut in 1780, and died in Brattleboro', Vt, 
December 1, 1874. He came from Charlestown to Claremont in 
1813, and settled on the farm in the west part of the town, now 
occupied by his grandson, Oliver C. Hart, where he lived until 
within a few years of his death. He was by trade a carpenter and 
brick mason, a useful and respected citizen. He had eleven chil- 
dren, two of whom, Josiah Hart, of West Claremont, and Thomas 
Hart, of the village, are now" living. Ichabod Hart was in Xew 
York in 1807, wdien Robert Fulton's steamboat Clermont was 
launched and made her trial trip on Hudson river. Mr. Hart asked 



436 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Mr. Fulton if he could go with him, and the latter replied that he 
could if he went. This was the first successful steamboat trip ever 
made in this country if not in the world. 

ICHABOD HITCHCOCK 

Came from what was then a part of New Haven, Conn., to Clare- 
mont,.with Bill Barnes in 1772. He bought and settled on the 
farm a little more than a mile north of the village, the same now 
owned by Frederick P. Smith. This farm continued to be owned 
and occupied by Mr. Hitchcock and his son Samuel and his grand- 
son William for more than a hundred years. He was a master 
builder, and as such and in other ways a useful and valued citizen. 
He died IsTovember 24, 1838, at the age of eighty-nine years. He 
had eleven children, ten of whom were born in this town, and all 
but three of them died in infancy or when quite young. Those 
that reached maturity were: Samuel, the father of Ichabod and 
William, both of whom died several years ago; and Amos, the 
father of Henry A. Hitchcock, for many years a prominent citizen 
of Walpole,and state senator in 1872 and 1874, who has since died; 
Alexander V. Hitchcock, now living at Newport, register of deeds 
for Sullivan county several years, and representative from that town 
in the New Hampshire legislature; and the widow of George Wal- 
lingford, now living in Claremont. 

HERMON HOLT 

Was born at Woodstock, Vt, September 7, 1845 ; fitted for college 
at Kimball Union Academy ; graduated at Dartmouth College in 
1870; read law with Judge B. H. Steele, of Vermont, and Ira 
Colby, of this town ; admitted to the Sullivan county bar in 1873, 
and has since been in practice in Claremont. He w^as a representa- 
tive in the New Hampshire legislature in 1890 and 1891, and state 
senator in 1895 and 1896. 

DR. JAMES P. HOLT 

Was born in Claremont, June 19, 1853, and is a son of James Holt, 
late sheriflT of Sullivan county. He graduated at Stevens High 




REV. JAMES B. HOWE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 437 

School ill June, 1873 ; entered the drug store of Dr. W. M. Ladd 
and remained there about four years, the last two years of which 
time and the following year he studied medicine with Dr. 0. B. 
Way. He took a medical course at Dartmouth College and gradu- 
ated there October 30, 1877. He then commenced practice in 
Claremont and continued until September, 1880, when he entered 
the Hartford Hospital, Hartford, Conn., and was there one year, — 
six months as assistant and six months as house physician and sur- 
geon. At the end of this time he returned to Claremont and 
resumed practice. In May, 1884, he bought a half interest in the 
drug store of Dr. W. M. Ladd. Dr. Ladd having died, he became 
sole proprietor in July, 1885, and continues the business and the 
practice of his profession. 

ASA HOLTON, 

Son of Jonathan Holtou, born at Charlestown in JSTovember, 1786, 
and died in Claremont, March 4, 1840. He read law in his native 
town in the office of ex-Governor Henry Hubbard ; was admitted 
to the bar in 1815 ; practiced at Dempster about two years and then 
removed to Claremont, wdiere he spent the remainder of his life in 
the active practice of his profession. He was town clerk in 1825, 
1826, and 1827. 

THE REV. JAMES B. HOWE 

Was born at Dorchester, Mass., March 31, 1773, and graduated 
at Harvard College in 1794. He was ordained deacon November 
25, 1817, and priest May 14, 1819, by the Rt. Eev. Alexander V. 
Griswold, and installed rector of Union church, to succeed Rev. 
Daniel Barber, September 15, 1819. He resigned his parish 
August 4, 1843, after which he made his home with his children 
in Boston. For some years preceding his ordination he was a 
successful classical teacher in Boston. Mr. Howe was an old 
school gentleman ; always wore the long stockings, short clothes, and 
silver knee and shoe buckles of the latter part of the eighteenth 
and the fore part of the nineteenth century. He was tall, 



438 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

erect, of commanding appearance, a conspicuous figure in town 
for many years ; highly respected for his ability and faithfulness 
as a rector, and beloved for his goodness by all who knew him. 
He died of apoplexy, in a railroad car, at Albany, IST. Y., on the 
seventeenth of September, 1844, when on his way to Indiana to 
visit one of his sons. He was the father of the late Rt. Rev. 
W. B. W. Howe, Bishop of South Carolina, who resigned his 
bishopric on account of ill health, in May, and died in Novem- 
ber, 1892. 

ISAAC HUBBARD, 

Son of George Hubbard, a Revolutionary soldier, was born in 
Tolland, Conn., July 28, 1770. In 1778 he came with his parents 
to Claremont and settled on the farm in the southwest corner of 
the town now occupied by Isaac H. Long, a grandson of Isaac 
Hubbard, and the widow of Dr. I. G. Hubbard, a son of the 
subject of this notice. Isaac Hubbard spent his whole life, after 
eight years old, on that farm. He was an extensive and suc- 
cessful farmer and stock raiser. He was selectman in 1811, 1812, 
1816, 1817, and 1818 ; representative in the 2^ew Hampshire legis- 
lature in 1819 and 1821 ; prominent in the Episcopal church, and 
regarded as one of the solid and strong men of the town. He 
was a brother of Judge J. H. Hubbard, of Windsor, Yt. He died 
January 28, 1861. 

THE REV. ISAAC G. HUBBARD, D. D., 

Was born in Claremont, April 13, 1818, and was a son of Isaac 
Hubbard, Esq. He graduated at Trinity College in 1839. He 
passed from college into the General Theological Seminary, New 
York, where he spent two years, and finished the prescribed course 
of study with Bishop Carlton Chase. While studying with Bishop 
Chase he officiated as lay reader at Drewsville and Bellows Falls, 
Yt. He was ordained deacon in Trinity church, Claremont, June 
25, 1845. He served his deaconate at Yergennes, Yt., and received 
priest's orders from Bishop Chase in March, 1847. The first four 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 439 

years of his priesthood he was rector of a church at Potsdam, 
N. y. Then for several months he was assistant of the venerable Dr. 
Muhlenburg, in the Church of the Holy Communion, Xew York. 
In March, 1852, he became rector of St. Michael's church, Man- 
chester, iS". H., where he remained until February, 1866. The 
field was a missionary one, demanding great self-denial, patience, 
energy, and wisdom, and involving a large amount of work. The 
growth of the parish was real and lasting. The great visible 
work of Dr. Hubbard was the erection of a beautiful stone church 
and comfortable rectory, to accomplish which he wrought with 
his own hands and superintended every detail. The strain 
upon him was very great and produced the usual result, and in 
the spring of 1866, by reason of mental and bodily exhaustion, 
he was compelled to resign his parish, and retired to his portion 
of his late father's farm in Claremont for rest. In August, 1867, 
he was sufficiently restored to accept the rectorship of Trinity 
church, Claremont, where he remained until Easter, 1875. During 
this period he was forced by a recurrence of his former trouble 
to take a rest of six months, and through the kind instrumen- 
tality of a few friends he visited Europe. Again his health failed, 
and when he resigned and returned to his farm he did not ex- 
pect to resume priestly labors. However, in October, 1876, he 
began services at Union church, without making any permanent 
engagement. The Easter following he felt able to accept the 
post of minister in charge for a year, and renewed the engage- 
ment at Easter, 1878. On Passion Sunday, March 30, 1879, he 
drove to church with his family as usual, but on his arrival did 
not feel able to perform service, and started to return home in 
a sleigh, and expired very suddenly on the way. Dr. Hubbard 
was one of the trustees of St. Paul's school. Concord, for twenty 
years immediately preceding his death. 

SIMEON IDE, 

The oldest of eight children of Daniel Ide, was born in Shrews- 
bury, Mass., September 28, 1794, died at the house of his daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Dibblee, Boston Highlands, June 22, 1889, and was 



440 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

buried in Claremout. When fifteen years old lie was apprenticed 
to the printing business in the office of Farnsworth & Churchill, 
publishers of the Vermont Republican, at Windsor, Vt. Before 
completing his a[)prenticeship there was a change in the estab- 
lishment, and Mr. Ide returned to his father's house, then in 
New Ipswich, N. H., in 1814, set up a small printing office, and 
with the help of a sister, eleven years old, printed and published 
an edition of the ISTew Testament, said to have IJeen the first 
published in New Hampshire. It bore the imprint of 1815. In 
February, 1817, Mr. Ide started the publication of a newspaper 
at Brattleborough, Vt., under the title of the American Yeo- 
man, and in 1818, in company with a Mr. Aldrich, bought the 
Vermont Republican establishment, at Windsor, and united 
the two papers under the title of the Vermont Republican and 
American Yeoman. Subsequently Mr. Ide bought the interest 
of Mr. Aldrich, and continued the business alone, adding book- 
binding, publishing, and book-selling. Under the administration 
of President John Quincy Adams, Mr. Ide had the contract for 
supplying the post-office department with all the blanks, paper, 
and twine used by the post-offices in the New England states and 
New York. He carried on quite an extensive business at Windsor 
for about sixteen j^ears. In 1834 he united his Windsor estab- 
lishment with the Claremont Manufacturing Compan}^ which had 
just commenced manufacturing paper, and he became manager 
of the business of the concern, which was well equipped for 
making books, in which he continued until 1858, when he sold 
his interest to his sons, George G. and Lemuel N. Ide, and retired 
from business. In 1863 he bought the National Eagle news- 
paper and printing establishment, and was publisher and editor 
of that paper until 1867, when he sold out to Arthur Chase, after 
which he did not engage in active business. In March, 1818, 
Mr. Ide married Evelina Pamela, daughter of Captain Nichols 
Goddard, of Rutland, Vt., by whom he had ten children — two 
sons and eight daughters — five of whom are still living. His 
wife died in 1857, and in 1859 he married Mrs. B. Maria Mott, 
of Auburn, N. Y., who died March 23, 1889. 




DF. LEONARD JARVIS. — (THE ELDER.) 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 441 



DR. LEONARD JARVIS 



Was born in Boston, June 22, 1774; graduated at the Boston 
Latin School, and studied medicine with his uncle, Dr. Charles 
Jarvis, of Boston. He came to Claremont and commenced the 
practice of his profession in the fall of 1795. He was quite famous 
as a physician and surgeon, and, for about twenty years, had a 
large practice in Claremont and surrounding towns. After that 
he engaged extensively in sheep breeding, Avool-growing, and 
manufacturing, but was often called in consultation with other 
physicians as long as he lived. He died February 9, 1848. 

RUSSELL JARVIS, 

Son of Samuel G. Jarvis, senior, and brother of Dr. Leonard 
Jarvis, senior, studied law with his cousin, William C. Jarvis, of 
Pittsfield, Mass., was admitted to the bar and opened an office in 
Claremont in 1818. In 1820 he married Miss Caroline Dana, of 
Chelsea, Vt., who died in two or three years, leaving an infant 
daughter, Caroline, the wife of John H. Uhl, of New York city. 
Soon after the death of his wife Mr. Jarvis removed to Boston, 
and in time married Miss Eliza Cordis, who, with their two young 
daughters, was lost in Long Island sound in the burning of the 
steamer Lexington, January 13, 1840. The Lexington had on board 
one hundred and ten or fifteen passengers, and thirty-live officers 
and crew, all but four of whom were lost. Mr. Jarvis left the 
practice of law, became noted as a journalist, and died in New 
York city in 1853. 

COL. RUSSELL JARVIS, 

Third son of Dr. Leonard Jarvis, senior, w^as born January 8, 1824, 
and died February 24, 1888, in the room where he was born. He 
owned considerable mill and other property in the west part of the 
town, including the home farm on Towai hill, to the most of which 
he succeeded on the death of his father, in 1848. He was extensively 
engaged in the breeding of Spanish merino sheep, and the raising 



442 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

of fine wool, in whicli business his father was a pioneer in this 
country. For fifteen years preceding his death he carried on 
paper manufacturing in the mill at the south side of Sugar river, 
which was burned the twelfth of May, 1890, and rebuilt by his son 
Russell, in 1892. He was a man of remarkable energ}- and activity. 
He was aid-de-camp, with the rank of colonel, on the staff of Gov- 
ernor William Haile, in 1857 and 1858, and United States marshal 
for iJ^ew Hampshire during the administration of Andrew Johnson. 
He left surviving him a widow and three sons. 

DR. SAMUEL GARDINER JARVIS, 

Oldest son of the late Dr. Leonard Jarvis, was born in Claremont, 
September 30, 1816. He was educated in the public schools of the 
town, at the academy of the Eev. Virgil H. Barber, West Clare- 
mont, and the Boston Latin School. He studied medicine with Br. 
Thomas B. Kittredge, then in practice here ; graduated at Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia, in 1830, and commenced the prac- 
tice of his profession, having located on the farm at West Clare- 
mont, where he spent the remainder of his life. His practice 
extended over the towns in this vicinity in New Hampshire and 
Vermont for a period of fifty-two years, and until within a few 
weeks of his death. He was for two or three years United States 
examining pension surgeon, and was a representative in the New 
Hampshire legislature in 1875 and 1876. He died March 5, 1892. 
In the annual town meeting, on the 14th of that month, John L. 
Farwell offered a series of resolutions, which were unanimously 
adopted by rising vote, expressive of the sense of the people at the 
death of Dr. Jarvis, and it was ordered that they be spread upon 
the records of the town. 

DR. LEONARD JARVIS, 

Second son of Dr. Samuel G., and grandson of the late Dr. Leonard 
Jarvis, was born in Claremont on July 29, 1852. He graduated at 
Dartmouth College in 1873, and at Harvard Medical School in 
1882. He was house physician at the lying-in hospital, Boston, 




DR. SAMUEL G. JARVIS. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 443 

four months, and house surgeon at Rhode Island Hospital, Provi- 
dence, fifteen months. He commenced practice in Claremont in 
May, 1884, and continued until the fall of 1892, when, by reason of 
impaired health, he went to Colorado and remained until the fol- 
lowing spring, when he returned and resumed the practice of his 
profession. 

THE JEWETTS. — JOHN JEWETT, 

Of "West Windsor, Vt, had nine children — seven sous and two 
daughters. Four of the sons and the two daughters are still living. 
Three of the sons — Marcus L., Frederick, and John W. — came to 
Claremont more than forty years ago, where they have been con- 
spicuous in trade and in other ways ever since. 

MARCUS L. JEWETT 

Was born April 16, 1825, and died January 25, 1891. He came to 
Claremont in 1853, and was engaged in the grocery and provision 
business the most of the remainder of his life, alone, in company 
with his brothers, later with his sons, and at his death was suc- 
ceeded by his sons. 

FREDERICK JEWETT 

Was born May 25, 1827. He came to Claremont in October, 1848, 
and was of the firm of Kidder, Danforth & Jewett three years, after 
which he was clerk in the store of C. M. Bingham a few years. In 
1857 he entered into copartnership with his brothers, Marcus L. 
and John W., under the firm name of M. L. Jewett & Co., which 
was continued seventeen years, when he bought out his brothers, 
and afterward took his son George W. into partnership. After a 
few years the son retired, and he continued alone until January, 
1890, when he formed a copartnership with his brother John W., 
under the firm name of F. & J. W. Jewett & Co., and has so con- 
tinued to the present time. Frederick Jewett has been longer in 
trade in Claremont than any other man now living. He was elected 
a representative in the !N"ew Hampshire legislature in 1890, and 
re-elected in 1892. 



444 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 



JOHN W. JEWETT 



Was born August 4, 1829. He came to Claremont in July, 1851,. 
and bought the grocery and provision business of Kidder, Danforth 
& Jewett, and carried it on until 1853, when his brother Marcus L. 
came to town, and they formed a copartnership in the same busi- 
ness, which they carried on until 1857, when the brother Frederick 
was admitted to the firm, which was continued under the firm name 
of M. L. Jewett & Co., until 1874. After this John W. Jewett car- 
ried on the same business, having for a partner Clarence E. Pea- 
body, under the firm name of Jewett & Peabody. At the end of 
eight years Mr. Peabody retired and Mr. Jewett continued the busi- 
ness alone until January, 1890, when the copartnership of F. & J. 
W. Jewett & Co. was formed and still continues. John W. Jewett 
was one of the selectmen in the years 1868, 1869, 1877, 1878, 1879, 
1880, and 1881, and several of these years overseer of the poor. 

DANIEL W. JOHNSON, 

Son of the late Moses Johnson, was born in Sutton, October 16,. 
1827, and died April 29, 1894. In December, 1845, when but little 
more than eighteen years old, he came to Claremont, entered the 
Monadnock mills and was employed there in responsible positions 
until February, 1858, when he accepted the appointment of agent 
and superintendent of the Phoenix cotton mill at Peterborough. 
"When Jonas Livingston resigned the agency of the Monadnock 
mills in 1863, Mr. Johnson was appointed to the place, and held it 
until his death. He was president of Sullivan Savings Institution 
from January, 1870, to January, 1893 ; was chairman of the board of 
trustees of Fiske Free Library, and was elected representative in 
the New Hampshire legislature in November, 1892. In 1874 he 
made a trip to Europe on business connected with the Monadnock 
mills. He was attacked with apoplexy April 29, 1894, and died in 
a few hours afterward, leaving a widow. 

MILES JOHNSON 

Was born in 1748 and died in Claremont December 1, 1834. He 
came here from Guilford, Conn., in 1796, bringing his family and 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 445 

eiiects by a team of four oxen, driven by his son Parmer, then eight 
years old. He was a soldier in the war of the Revolution ; was 
with Washington's army when it crossed the Delaware river, in 
the battle of White Plains, and with Israel Putnam at Ticonderoga. 
In his old age he often related incidents of the marches and battles 
in which he participated. He settled on the farm on the west side 
of Green mountain, now owned by his grandson, Amos D. Johnson- 

FARMER JOHNSON, 

Son of Miles Johnson, was born in 1788 and died in Claremont 
March 25, 1866. When eight years old he came with his father 
from Guilford, Conn., and ever after lived on the west side of Green 
mountain. He was drafted into the army in the war of 1812, but 
by reason of the declaration of peace was not mustered into the ser- 
vice. He had two sons, both living, — Rev. J. G. Johnson, of Red 
Wing, Minn., and Amos D. Johnson, of this town, and several 
daughters. 

JOHN KIMBALL 

Was born at Haverhill, September 30, 1796. He graduated 
at Dartmouth College, and studied law at Bath, in the office 
of Hon. Moses Payson, and was admitted to the bar at Haverhill. 
He was in practice at Claremont from 1830 to 1839, and at Putney, 
Vt., from 1839 to 1870. He was twice elected to the New Hamp- 
shire senate while he lived in Claremont. He represented Putney 
in the Vermont legislature several years ; was twice state senator 
for his district, and once president of the senate. He died at Put- 
ney, February 23, 1884. 

PHILANDER C. FREEMAN 

Was born at Plainfield, August 27, 1807. He graduated at 
Kenyon College, Gambler, Ohio ; studied law in the office of Judge 
J. H. Hubbard, at Windsor,Yt. He came to Claremont about 1838, 
opened an office and commenced the practice of his profession. 
He was a representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1843 



446 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

and 1844, and for several years Avas justice of the police court. He 
died April 20, 1871. 

SA^TFOKD KINGSBURY 

"Was born at Windham, Conn., April 7, 1743, was one of the early 
settlers of the town, and a prominent citizen until his death at the 
age of ninety-one years, which occurred November 12, 1833. He 
settled on the farm on Town hill now owned by the heirs of Russell 
Jarvis, and lived there until 1795, when he sold it to the senior Dr. 
Leonard Jarvis. He was selectman in 1784, 1786, and 1789 ; mod- 
erator in 1786 and six years succeeding ; representative in the 'New 
Hampshire legislature in 1786 and three years succeeding; state 
senator in 1791 and 1792 ; member of the executive council in 1789 ; 
and judge of probate from December 20, 1797, to June 20, 1798. 

DR. WILLIAM M. LADD 

Was born in Unity in 1813. He graduated at Kimball Union 
Academy ; studied medicine with his uncle, Dr. Charles Perry, in 
Rutland, Vt. ; attended lectures at the Vermont School of Medicine, 
where he took his degree of M. D. For the next ten years he was 
in the active practice of his profession at Townshend, Yt. He then 
came to Claremont, continued practice for a time, and then opened 
a drug store and continued in that business until his death, June 
29, 1885. He was postmaster of Claremont from May 5, 1855, to 
June 17, 1861, being appointed by President Pierce. He was also 
commissioner of schools for Sullivan county for several years. 

CHARLES LELAXD 

Was a son of Thomas Leland ; born at Windsor, Vt, July 28, 
1817 ; was educated in the schools of his native town ; studied law 
with his father ; was admitted to the Kew Hampshire bar, and 
was in the practice of his profession at Claremont a few years. 
For the twenty-two last years of his life he was salesman for a 
New York drug house. He died at Claremont March 28, 1884. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 447 

THOMAS LELAND, 

Son of Thomas Leland, was born at Grafton, Mass., August 5, 
1784; graduated at Middlebury, Vt, College in 1809; studied 
law in the office of Judge J. H. Hubbard, at Windsor, Vt. ; vras 
admitted to the bar in 1812; was in practice at Windsor until 
.1834, when he came to Claremont and continued in practice until 
his death, March 3, 1849. He represented Windsor in the Ver- 
mont legislature one or more terms. 

GEORGE G. LEWIS, 

Son of Wilca and Elizabeth (Stewart) Lewis, was born in Clare- 
mont, July 7, 1800, and died at Worcester, Mass., February 12, 
1889. He descended in about the eighth generation from George 
and Mary (Fuller) Lewis. This George Lewis came from England 
in 1630, and settled near Plymouth, Mass. His son, through 
whom George G. Lewis's descent is traced, married a daughter ot 
Dr. Fuller, one of the Mayflower Pilgrims. Wilca Lewis, father 
of George G., settled in Claremont about 1790, on the farm at the 
east side of Red Water brook, known later as the Mrs. Whitcomb 
place. George G. Lewis's grandfathers, Jabez Lewis and Jacob 
Stewart, were both soldiers in the Revolutionary War, on the side 
of the colonies, and Jabez Lewis served throughout the entire war. 
George G. Lewis married Adeline Labaree, a great-granddaughter 
of Peter Labaree, who was captured by a party of Indians at 
Charlestown in 1754 and carried to Canada, with the Johnson 
family. Labaree afterward escaped and returned to Charlestown, 
where he raised up a considerable family. George G. Lewis and 
his wife had ten children born to them — seven sous and three 
daughters. The oldest son, George William, and the youngest, 
Herbert, died in infancy; the eight others are still living. Mrs. 
Lewis was highly educated for her time, had fine literary taste, 
great energy, and ambition for her children, whom she encouraged 
and materially aided in obtaining good educations. The five sur- 
viving boys graduated at Dartmouth College, and the girls were 



448 HISTOEY OF CLAREMONT. 

fitted to teach the higher branches of learning. She died l!lovem- 
ber 26, 1876. 

Of the five boys, Eugene, born in 1839, graduated at Dartmouth 
in 1864 ; read law with H. W. Parker, of Claremont ; was later ad- 
mitted to the bar; practiced for a time at Peterborough, and 
Moline, 111., and is now living at Salt Lake city, Utah. Frank W., 
born in 1840, graduated at Dartmouth in 1866 ; read law with 
Plenry W. Paine, of Boston, and was admitted to the bar there ; 
removed to Lincoln, !N"eb., and engaged in the business of western 
investments. In 1893 he returned to Boston, where he is acting 
president and eastern manager of the Merchants' Trust Company. 
Arthur G., born in 1845, graduated at Dartmouth in 1869; en- 
gaged as teacher and superintendent of schools, aiTd is now prin- 
cipal of a grammar school in Worcester, Mass. Henry E., born in 
1848, graduated at Dartmouth in 1872 ; studied law and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in Illinois; moved to Lincoln, IsTeb., in 1881, and 
was engaged in making western investments for eastern parties. 
From 1889 till 1893 he was president of the Lincoln Safe Deposit 
Company, and is now secretary and treasurer of the Merchants' 
Trust Company. Homer P., born in 1849, graduated at Dart- 
mouth in 1872. Since leaving college he has been engaged in 
teaching. At Davenport, la., he was principal of the high school, 
from whence he went to Omaha, Neb., in 1883, since which he has 
been principal of the high school there. Of the daughters, Ellen 
A., born in 1838, married John Bugbee, of Hartford, Vt, and now 
resides there. Belle H., born in 1842, has for several years been 
assistant teacher in the high school at Omaha, iN'eb, Marion, born 
in 1843, lives at Salt Lake city, where she has been chiefl}^ engaged 
in teaching. 

This is a remarkable record of a family of eight children of a 
'New Hampshire farmer of but moderate means, due largely to the 
intelligence, ambition, frugality, and industry of the mother, in co- 
operation with the father and the children themselves. 




FRANCIS LOCKE. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 449 



JONAS LIVINGSTON, 



Son of William Livingston, a Scotchman, was born at Sharon, Hills- 
borough county, December 13, 1806, and died at Peterborough, 
November 22, 1877. He was agent of the Phoenix cotton mill, at 
Peterborough, and came from there to Claremont in 1845, as agent 
and manager of the Monadnock mills, which position he held until 
1863, when he resigned and returned to Peterborough. He subse- 
quently bought a controlling interest in the Phoenix mill, which he 
operated successfully until his death. He was sole representative 
from Claremont in the iN'ew Hampshire legislature in 1853, and was 
elected a member of that body, with others, in 1854. He was 
president of the Sullivan Savings Institution several years, and a 
prominent citizen of the town. 

FRANCIS LOCKE 

Was born in Stoddard, March 19, 1810. He is the youngest of 
eleven children of Enos Locke. When twenty-one years old he 
went to Walpole, where he worked as a farm laborer, carrying on 
a farm on shares, and then as owner, until 1862, during which time 
he was selectman and overseer of the poor four years. Having 
accumulated a comfortable fortune, that year he sold his farm, 
came to Claremont, and bought the large brick house on the west 
side of Pleasant street, built by the late S. F. Redfield, which has 
since been his home. He was selectman of Claremont in 1866, 
1867, 1870, 1871, and 1872. He has been twice married and is 
now a widower. By his first wife he had one daughter, the wife 
of George W. Holden, who lives with him. By reason of the 
trials and hardships of his early years, caused by the excessive use 
of ardent spirits hy others than himself, in whom he was inter- 
ested, he has been an ardent temperance man for many years. 

CHARLES H. LONG, 

The oldest son of Charles F. Long, was born in Claremont 
March 14, 1834. He graduated at Norwich, Vt., Military 
University in 1855. Soon after the breaking out of the War of 



450 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

the Rebellion, in April, 1861, he was employed to drill recruits 
at Newport, Concord, Dover, Portsmouth, and other places in 
the state. In July, 1861, he opened an office and recruited men 
for the Fifth Eegiment, and was commissioned captain of Com- 
pany G. At the battle of Antietam, September 17, 1862, he 
was severely wounded in the left arm by a minie ball, and re- 
signed ISTovember 6. April 17, 1863, he was commissioned cap- 
tain and authorized to raise a company of heavy artillery to 
garrison the defenses of Portsmouth. In the summer of 1864 
a full regiment was raised and he was commissioned colonel of 
it September 29. This regiment was ordered to the front, 
served in the defenses of Washington, and was mustered out 
June 15, 1865. In J^ovember, 1864, Colonel Long was ordered 
to the command of the First Brigade, Hardin's Division, Twenty- 
second Army Corps, and retained that position until mustered 
out with his regiment. Generals Howard, Hardin, and other 
officers under w^hom he served, spoke of Colonel Long and his 
conduct as an officer in commendatory terms. When the Con- 
cord and Claremont railroad was opened he was appointed station 
agent at Claremont village, which position he has since held. 

MICHAEL LOVELL 

Was born in Rockingham, Vt., in 1764, and died here April 
29, 1860. He was a son of Michael Lovell, who was a captain 
in the War of the Revolution, and both he and his wife were 
zealous and active in the cause of liberty. Michael Lovell, the 
younger, came to Claremont in 1821, bought the Alexander 
Ralston farm on Town hill and lived there until his death. His 
son. Porter Kimball Lovell, graduated at Bowdoin College and 
became a physician. He went to Hayti with Dr. James Hall, 
formerly of this town, who was made president or governor of 
Liberia. On their arrival there the yellow fever was raging, 
and Dr. Lovell soon became famous by reason of his success in 
the treatment of that fearful disease. He was surgeon-general 
in the army in the revolution of Hayti in 1842-44, and died 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 451 

there at the age of thirty-seven years. Another son, Seymour, 
died while attending medical lectures in j^ew York city. 

LEONARD A. LOVERIXG, 

Son of the late John L. Lovering, was born at Hartford, Vt., 
November 13, 1854. He was appointed cadet at West Point in 
1872 ; graduated and was commissioned second lieutenant Fourth 
IJ. S. Infantry June 15, 1876; promoted first lieutenant of same 
January 3, 1885, and captain of same October 15, 1893. He 
was detailed by the war department acting assistant professor 
of chemistry and mineralogy and geology at the United States 
Military Academy, West Point, 1881- 85 ; engineer otficer. De- 
partment of the Columbia, 1888-89; aid-de-camp to Brig. 
Gen. John Gibbon, U. S. Army, 1889-91; aid-de-camp to 
Brig. Gen. Thomas H. Ruger, U. S. Army, 1891; in command 
of his company at Boise City, Idaho, in 1894. 

DR. ALBERT L, MARDEN, 

Son of Nathan J. Marden, was born at Epsom, December 31, 
1849, and graduated at Dartmouth Medical College in 1874. He 
was resident physician at Rumford Island, Boston Harbor, for a 
time, and in 1875 settled at Perkinsville, Weathersfield, Yt., 
and removed to Claremont in 1891, where he is in the prac- 
tice of his profession. 

MILON C. M'CLURE 

Was born in Acworth, January 7, 1819 ; graduated at Dart- 
mouth College in 1846 ; taught in the Claremont Academy two 
years ; was admitted to the bar in 1849 ; formed a law partner- 
ship with P. C. Freeman in Claremont, which w^as continued 
until his death, September 1, 1860. In 1855 and 1856 he was 
a member of the governor's council; in 1857 and 1858 repre- 
sentative in the New Hampshire legislature. 



452 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

FRANK P. MA'i'NARD, 

Son of Levi P. Maynard, was born in Fairfield, Me., August 
25, 1850. In 1869 he went to California and was engaged in 
hydraulic mining three years. He then returned east and 
went to Nashua, where he was in the shoe manufacturing busi- 
ness until 1879, when he went to Boston and was in the retail 
shoe trade. In 1883 he formed a copartnership with his brother- 
in-law, Charles N. Washburn, under the firm name of Maynard 
& Washburn, and they came to Claremont, bought what was 
known as the Home Mill property, and commenced the manu- 
facturing of shoes on an extensive scale. They made additions 
to the buildings from time to time and this industry became an 
important addition to the business of Claremont. They employ 
from two hundred to two hundred and twenty-five persons, and 
the goods made by them are distributed all over the country. 
In April, 1893, Mr. Maynard bought the interest of Mr. Wash- 
burn and became sole proprietor of the concern. He was the 
founder of the Claremont Electric Light Works ; is president of 
the Claremont Building Association, and was one of the com- 
mittee that built Hotel Claremont. When the People's IS'ational 
Bank was organized, in 1892, Mr. Maynard was chosen presi- 
dent of it, and has been interested in other enterprises for 
building up and improving the town. 

In 1876 Mr. Maynard married Helen E., daughter of IST. P. 
Washburn, now of Claremont. She died in December, 1890, 
and in April, 1892, he married Miss Jennie Sampson, of Port- 
land, Me. They have a handsome residence, corner of School 
and Oak streets, shown in the illustration. 

RALPH METCALF, 

Oldest son of John Metcalf, a thrifty farmer, of North Charles- 
town, was born November 21, 1796, and died in Claremont, 
August 26, 1858. He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1823 ; 
studied law with Henry Hubbard, of Charlestown, Richard Bart- 
lett, of Concord, and George B. Upham, of Claremont ; admitted 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 453 

to the Sullivan county bar in 1826, and opened an office at 
Newport. In 1831 he was elected secretar}^ of state of New 
Hampshire and held the office eight years. He represented the 
town of Newport in the New Hampshire legislature in 1852 and 
1853 ; register of probate for Sullivan county from 1845 to 1851 ; 
chairman of a committee to revise the laws of the state in 
1852; governor in 1855 and 1856. With a few temporary in- 
tervals he had his home at Newport until 1856, when he removed 
to Claremont and built the house on Broad street, where he 
died, now the home of the widow of William Breck. He was 
a man of varied attainments and an able chief executive of the 
state. 

WILLI A3I H. H. MOODY, 

The seventh of eleven children of the late Jonathan Moody, 
was born in Claremont May 10, 1842, and was named for President 
William Henry Harrison. When fourteen years old he entered the 
shoe factory of Russell W. Farwell here, with the design of learn- 
ing the business, where he continued four years. In December^ 
1861, he enlisted in Troop L, New England Cavalry, served a few 
months and was honorably discharged. In the fall of 1862 he 
engaged as traveling salesman for a large shoe jobbing house in 
Boston, and sold goods all over the country. In 1867 he was ad- 
mitted as partner in the concern, under the firm name of McGib- 
bons. Moody & Raddin, having but little capital other than ability 
and knowledge of the business. In 1873 he became a partner in 
the firm of Crain, Moody & Rising, and they established a shoe 
manufactory at Amoskeag, employing one hundred hands, 
making shoes for the western and southern markets. In a few 
years, the business having outgrown its quarters, the firm removed 
to Nashua and continued there about seven years. Then the shoe 
manufacturing firm of Moody, Estabrook & Andersons was organ- 
ized and has continued to the present time. They built at Nashua 
a three-story brick factory large enough to accommodate from nine 
hundred to ten hundred hands, and to turn out eight thousand and. 



454 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

live hundred pairs of men's, boys', and women's shoes of various 
styles per day. This is the largest manufactory of its class of goods 
in this country. Its business amounts to about two million dollars- 
annually. The goods are sold wholly to jobbing houses at the west 
and south. The firm has an ofiice and warehouse in Boston, and 
Mr. Moody is a director in the National Shoe and Leather Bank, 
Boston. 

In the early half of the present century Jonathan Moody, the 
father of William H. H., employed several men and made shoes by 
hand, using pegs of his own make, for one half the people of the 
town. He was also a famous tenor drummer, and was in request 
at all military trainings and musters. 

Since going to Boston Mr. Moody has accumulated a handsome 
fortune. In 1877 he bought what was known for many years as 
the Mann farm, of eighty-seven acres, about a mile south of Clare- 
mont village on the west side of the road to Charlestown. He has 
added to it from time to time adjoining farms and lots of land, and 
has now six hundred acres all connected with his original purchase, 
mostly strong, productive upland. On this farm he has erected a 
large and elegant house, barns, and other buildings and appurte- 
nances adapted to an extensive first-class horse-breeding establish- 
ment; and in 1893 had one hundred and fifty blooded horses of all 
kinds. He has expended large sums of money annually in enrich- 
ing and improving his farm, adding to the wealth, importance, and 
beauty of his native town, for which he has always had a strong 
affection. Mr. Moody spends a portion of each summer on his 
place here, and his winters in Boston. 

CHASE NOYES, 

Son of Tristham Noyes, was born at Boscawen in 1790. He came 
to Newport in 1828, and from there to Claremont in 1854. He died 
here May 22, 1862. He was an uncompromising abolitionist, was 
prominently connected with the underground railroad, and is said 
to have aided many slaves in escaping from bondage to freedom. 
He had eight children — four sons and four daughters. The sons, 




HOSEA W. PARKER. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 455 

William T., Silas E., Heniy C, and Baron S. Noyes, are all 
living except William T., who died in November, 1884. The 
father and all the sons were at different times engaged in the man- 
ufacture and sale of shoes. 

HOSEA W. PARKER, 

Second son of the late Benjamin Parker, was born in Lempster, 
May 30, 1833. His father died in 1845, leaving a widow, two sons, 
a daughter, and a good hill farm. Hosea W., twelve years old, 
assisted his brother Hiram, three years older, in the work of the 
farm, attending the district and an occasional term of a select school 
in the town until he reached his eighteenth year. He attended 
Tubbs Union Academy, Washington, a few terms, and then entered 
the Green Mountain Liberal Institute, South Woodstock, Yt., 
where he fitted for college. In 1855 he entered Tufts College, 
where he remained two years, then commenced the study of l^w in 
the office of Burke & Wait, Newport, and was admitted to the Sul- 
livan county bar in 1859. While pursuing his studies he taught 
school winters in New^port and other places. He commenced prac- 
tice in his native town and removed to Claremont in the fall of 
1860, where he has since resided. He soon acquired a remunera- 
tive practice, which increased continually until he became one of 
the leading lawyers in western New Hampshire, being engaged on 
one side or the other of almost ever}^ important cause tried in the 
Sullivan county court. As a jury lawyer he ranks with the fore- 
most in the state, both in the examination of witnesses and as an 
advocate. He has been admitted to practice in the United States 
circuit and district courts in New Hampshire, and in 1873 was ad- 
mitted to the supreme court of the United States at Washington, 
D. 0. 

In politics Mr. Parker is a Democrat, and has been a leader in 
and worker for that party ever since he became a voter, attending 
county, state, and national conventions, and taking the stump in 
all exciting canvasses. In 1859 and 1860 he represented the town 



456 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

of Lempster in the New Hampshire legislature, and took a leading 
part on committees and as a debater in the house. In 1869 he was 
the candidate of his party for member of congress from the third 
Kew Hampshire district — which had been Republican by a decided 
majority for many years — and was defeated by Jacob Benton. In 
1871 he was again a candidate and was elected over Gen. S. G. 
Griffin, the Republican candidate, — receiving many more than his 
party vote, — fully one hundred in Claremout. He was again 
elected over General Griffin in 1873, by an increased majority. 
Nobody voted for him supposing that he was anything but a true 
and loyal Democrat. In congress he was constantly in his place in 
the house, generally acting and voting with his party. He was 
always opposed to jobs and jobbery. He was a member of the 
committees on education and labor, and on patents. The patents 
held by the sewing-machine monopolies were about to expire, and 
extraordinary etforts and large sums of money were used to secure 
an extension of these patents ; but Mr. Parker was opposed to it in 
the interest of the people. The committee, by a majority of one^ 
voted to report against the extension, and the report was sustained 
by the house. 

Since the close of his second term in congress Mr. Parker has 
devoted himself closely to the practice of his profession, seeking no 
political honors. In 1892 he was nominated unanimously in con- 
vention of the second district for member of congress, but was 
defeated by Henry M. Baker by a small plurality. In 1883 Tufts 
College conferred upon him the degree of A. M., and at the same 
time elected him one of the trustees of the college, which position 
he still holds. He is a prominent Freemason, and has been for 
the past twenty years eminent commander of Sullivan Commandery, 
Knights Templar, of Claremont. 

In 1861 Mr. Parker was married to Miss Caroline Lovisa South- 
gate, of Bridge water, Vt., and has one daughter, the wife of Rev. 
Lee S. M'Collester, of Detroit, Mich. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 457 

HENRY PATTEN, 

Son of William Patten, was born June 11, 1817, in Eoxburj, Mass., 
now a part of Boston. He came to Claremont in October, 1839, 
and entered the store of Nicholas & William H. Farwell, father 
and son, at the west end of the lower bridge, known as the Far- 
mers' Exchange for many years. In the following February Mr. 
Patten became a partner in the firm, and so continued three 
years, when Nicholas Farwell retired, and the copartnership of 
Farwell & Patten was formed, and existed about three years. 
Mr. Patten then moved across the bridge and established him- 
self in trade in the west end of the brick block erected by 
Horace Parmelee, and known for a long time as the Parmelee 
building, where he continued until 1882, when he retired from 
active business. In 1840 he married Nancy, daughter of Nicholas 
Farwell, and they had five children — three sous and two daugh- 
ters — four of whom are living. The oldest son died in early 
manhood, and Mrs. Patten died in May, 1881. 

ALEXANDER RALSTON 

Came from Scotland to Boston, where he carried on the business 
of manufacturing gloves before and duriug the Revolutionary War, 
and accumulated a handsome fortune for those times. Being a 
pronounced Tory he was obliged to leave Boston soon after the 
close of the war, came to Keene and from there to Claremont 
in 1784, and purchased four tracts of land on Town hill, which 
included most of what was for many years known as the Michael 
Lovell farm, now owned by Dr. Osmon B. Way, and the territory 
west of it extending to (Connecticut river. He kept an inn at 
the Lovell place, widely known while he kept it and afterward, 
for more than thirty years, as the Ralston Tavern. He returned 
to Keene about 1804, where he died March 29, 1810, at the age 
of sixty-four years. He had five children — three sons and two 
daughters. His daughter, Jennette, married Ithamer Chase, of 
Cornish, father of the late chief justice of the United States su- 



458 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

preme court. Thus it will be seen that Alexander Ralston was 
the maternal grandfather of Salmon P. Chase. Ithamer Chase 
removed from Cornish to Keene, where he died August 8, 1817. 

SAMUEL S. RAND, 

Son of Samuel Rand, was born in Portsmouth, June 1, 1819. He 
learned the trade of a tinsmith at Portsmouth, worked as a jour- 
neyman a few years, then commenced business on his own account 
at Lowell, Mass. ; from there he removed to Holderness, N. H., 
and came to Claremont in 1851, opened a shop in the Fiske 
building, north side of the upper bridge, and in 1854 moved into 
O. J. Brown's building on Pleasant street, and connected the stove 
with his tin business. In 1871 he erected on the east side of 
Pleasant street the three-story building known as Rand's block. 
The lower story is occupied with five stores; the second with 
rooms connected with the Belmont House, and the third with the 
Odd Fellows' hall. The building of this and the Heywood block, 
connected with it, at the same time, started business on Pleasant 
street. Mr. Rand sold his tin and stove business to his son, Fred 
deF. Rand, in 1885. He has been twice married — first, to Miss 
Lucinda "W. Brown, by whom he had four children — three sons 
and one daughter, all grown to maturity, and living. This wife 
died April 13, 1865, and May 25, 1866, he married her sister, Miss 
Mary W. Brown, who died April 14, 1892. 

DR. JOSIAH RICHARDS, 

Son of Josiah Richards, was born at Washington, N. H., May 30, 
1784, and died in Claremont, January 29, 1871. He attended 
Atkinson academy, and studied medicine with Dr. Cogswell, of 
that town. During the war of 1812 he obtained a situation under 
the United States government in the land and naval hospital at 
Portsmouth, and after a few months was appointed assistant sur- 
geon in the naval service, and assigned to duty at Xewburyport, 
Mass. .After a time he secured his discharge and entered the 




DR. JOSIAH R1CHARD5. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 459 

privateer service, in which he continued about two years, and then 
returned to ISTew Hampshire, and entered the medical department of 
Dartmouth College, where he graduated in 1815. The next year 
he came to Claremont, where the remainder of his life was spent 
— the most of it in an extensive practice of his profession, his 
specialty being obstetrics, in which he is said to have been very 
successful. He represented the town in the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1827 and 1828, and was several years superintending 
school committee. He was a man of great physical and mental 
strength and activity, and responded to calls until quite advanced 
in years. In 1816 Doctor Richards married Emily Haskell, of 
"VVeathersfield, Vt., who died November 17, 1882, leaving two 
daughters — Miss Marion, who has since died, and Helen, the 
widow of Sullivan W. Healey. 

SHERMAN ROSSITEK 

"Was a son of Captain William Rossiter, and a direct descendant 
of Edward Rossiter, who was one of the assistants to Governor 
John Winthrop, chosen in London in 1629, and came to the 
colonies in the spring of 1630. Sherman Rossiter was born in 
Guilford, Conn., April 20, 1775. About 1802 he came to Clare- 
mont and soon after purchased and settled on a farm on the old 
road to New^port, the eastern boundary of which is the line be- 
tween these towns, where he passed the remainder of his life. 
By industry and frugality he accumulated a handsome property, 
and died October 2, 1838. He married Olive Baldwin, of his 
native town, November 5, 1804, and they had nine children — 
seven sons and two daughters. The sons were William, Timothy 
Baldwin, Pomeroy Morse, Luzern Sherman, Chittenden, Stephen 
Farley, and Rounseville Yan Ness; the daughters. Submit Chit- 
tenden and Loret Collins. William died in Claremont, February 
29, 1860; Chittenden, a successful farmer in Windsor, Yt, died 
May 8, 1892, and Rounseville Yan Ness in infancy. Timothy 
Baldwin, Pomeroy Morse, and Stephen Farley are living in Clare- 
mont, and Luzern Sherman is living in Kasson, Minn., engaged 



460 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

in staging and keeping a hotel. Submit Chittenden married 
Edmund Wheeler, of Newport, and died March 2, 1856 ; Loret 
Collins married the late William E. Tutherly, of this town, and 
died January 8, 1888. 

WILLIAM ROSSITER, 

The oldest child of Sherman and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was 
born September 24, 1805, and died February 29, 1860. He lived 
in Claremont during his whole life, was an active business man, 
and prominent citizen. For several years he, in company with the 
late Thomas San ford, operated the Sullivan woolen mill, since 
1857 owned by George L. Balcom, and was engaged in general 
mercantile business for quite a number of years, in the store now 
occupied by Israel D. Hall, having for partners for different pe- 
riods, Cyrus Clement, Tyler Tupper, Sumner Putnam, and perhaps 
others. He was selectman in 1839, 1845, 1850, and 1852, and 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1847 and 1848.. 
He married Lucy Barrett, of Claremont, who survives him. 

POMEROY MORSE ROSSITER, 

Third son of Sherman and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born 
December 4, 1810, and has always been engaged in farming. He 
worked for Joel Goss, on his farm, from 1829 to 1832. On July 
1, 1831, Mr. Goss's two large barns and sheds adjoining were 
destroyed by a tornado, Mr, Rossiter being in one of the sheds 
at the time, and escaped injury. Mr. Goss was an extensive farmer,, 
keeping from twenty-live to thirty cows, and his rule was to fatten 
as many hogs as he kept cows. Each winter, like other farmers 
in those days, he carried his pork, butter, cheese, poultry, and 
other produce to Boston market. In the winter of 1831-32, he 
sent Mr. Rossiter, with a team of six oxen and sled, to Boston 
with produce weighing six thousand pounds, which he disposed 
of, and brought back about an equal amount of merchandise. 
He was twelve days on the trip, and the entire expense in money 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 461 

paid out, for himself and team, as he reports it, was $24.94. In 
1832 Mr. Rossiter went to Milford, and in 1836 bought a large farm 
there and carried it on successfully, making hop raising a specialty, 
until 1865. In 1879 he bought the well known Cupola farm in 
Claremont, which, if not the best, is one of the two best, farms in 
'New Hampshire. He was selectman of Milford in 1856, 1858, and 
1859, and representative from Claremont in the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1885 and 1887. He married Eliza Tucker, of Milford, 
November 15, 1836, who died several years ago. 

STEPHEN FARLEY ROSSITER, 

Sixth son of Sherman and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born 
October 7, 1820, and he has always Jived in Claremont and 
been engaged in farming and dealing in farm stock. He was 
selectman eight years, from 1863 to 1877, both years inclusive ; 
representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1878 and 
1879; county commissioner from 1886 to 1892; and collector of 
taxes in 1891 and 1894. He married Maria A. Marshall, of 
New Ipswich, March 20, 1850. 

TIMOTHY BALDM'IN ROSSITER, 

Second son of Sherman and Olive (Baldwin) Rossiter, was born 
September 18, 1807. He has been engaged in farming all his 
life. He owned and carried on a farm in Newport several years. 
In 1859 he bought what was known as the Joel Goss farm, about 
two miles south of Claremont village, where he has since lived. 
He married Elvira, daughter of the late Moody Dustin, of Clare- 
mont, May 30, 1836. 

DR. SILAS H. SABINE 

Was born at Pomfret, Conn., July 3, 1777. At an early age 
he went with his parents to Windsor, Vt., and worked on his 
father's farm until twenty years of age, after which he 
fitted for college at Haverhill, and graduated at Dartmouth 



462 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

College in 1803. He studied medicine with Dr. Trask, at 
Windsor, and commenced practice at Strafford. Vt., in 1807, 
which he continued at Windsor until 1819, and in Claremont 
until 1834, when he retired from active business in his profes- 
sion. When in Vermont he was examining surgeon in the war 
of 1812. In Claremont he was superintendent of schools several 
years. He was a man of fine literary attainments and wrote 
and published many essays on various medical topics. He died 
in Claremont, July 29, 1850. 

SIMEON SANKEE, 

A colored citizen, was a conspicuous character in town for many 
years succeeding 1832. He was a barber and kept a small shop 
where he dispensed cakes, custards, candy, nuts, and ice cream 
in the warm seasons. He had a poetic turn, and displayed his 
talent in this direction in advertising his business. In the 
National Eagle of January, 1835, he introduced himself in this 

wise : 

Look, gentiles ! I'm Simeon Sankee ! 

I shave in shine or rain ; 
Scissors ! if I suit not each Yankee, 

I'll shave him o'er again. 

After a long catalogue of his accomplishments as a " tonsorial 
artist," he closes — ''Mr. Sankee may be found during shaving 
hours, at his office, opposite Stevens's Hotel, where he will attend 
to the calls of his customers." He died at Morristown, Vt., in 
1861. 

THE REV. HENRY SUMNER SMITH 

Was born in ISTashua, March 15, 1801. He entered Kenyon 
College, at Gambier, 0., but on account of the disorganized 
state of that institution, he did not graduate. He studied the- 
ology at Gambier; was made deacon by Bishop Mcllvaine at 
Gambier, September 7, 1833; ordained priest at Cleveland, O., 
September 11, 1836, by Bishop Mcllvaine. Following his ordi- 
nation, Mr. Smith officiated in several parishes in the diocese 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 463 

of Ohio. At Easter, 1838, he became the assistant of the Rev. 
James B. Howe, in Union church, Claremont, one half of the 
time; the other half he officiated in Trinity church, Cornish. 
In 1842 Mr. Smith officiated in Cornish and Plainlield. He be- 
came rector of Union church — Trinity church having been or- 
ganized at the village — in 1843, and continued in this office 
until Easter, 1871. He died February 16, 1872. 

DR. NATHAX SMITH 

Was born at Rehoboth, Mass., September 30, 1762, and died at 
New Haven, Conn., July 26, 1828. His father removed with 
his family to Chester, Vt., in 1770. When about twenty-one 
years old, the subject of this sketch was incited to become a 
physician and surgeou, through having witnessed an amputation 
of the thigh by Dr. Josiah Goodhue, of Putney, Vt., when he 
held the limb and tied the arteries as the doctor took them up. 
He then requested Dr. Goodhue to take him as a pupil, but 
was advised to first further perfect his education, and he ac- 
cordingly put himself under the tuition of the Rev. Mr. Whit- 
ing, of Rockingham, Vt., which he continued several months, 
and then commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Goodhue, 
and remained with him three years, paying his way by doing 
work about the doctor's place. He began practice at Cornish 
in 1787, without any degree, and subsequently married a daughter 
of Gen. Jonathan Chase, of that town. He was in practice in 
Claremont for a time succeeding 1788. To further perfect him- 
self in his profession he entered the medical department of 
Harvard College, and received the degree of M. B. in 1790, be- 
ing the only graduate of that j'ear in a class of four. 

In 1798 Dr. Smith was appointed professor of the theory and 
practice of medicine, and also of anatomy and surgery, at Dart- 
mouth College. He held both chairs until 1810, and the former 
until 1813, when he was called to take the foremost place in 
the medical department of Yale College, and resigned, but lec- 
tured at Dartmouth several years afterward. In 1821 he organ- 



464 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ized the medical school of BoAvdoin College and lectured there 
aud at the University of Vermont several years. 

Dr. Smith v^-as famous for his success in surgerj^, and origi- 
nated new methods and operations. In a biographical sketch, 
read before the New Hampshire Medical Society at its centennial 
anniversary in June, 1891, by Dr. John W. Parsons, of Ports- 
mouth, he said of Dr. Smith — "To him more than to any other 
man, it is believed, may be ascribed the rapid increase in the 
advantages for medical education in America at this date." 

ALPHEUS F. SNOW, 

Son of Alpheus Snow, was born in Chesterfield, May 29, 1818. 
He studied law in the office of Hubbard & Gilchrist, Charles- 
town, and graduated at the Harvard Law School. He was ad- 
mitted to the Sullivan county bar in 1841, and soon opened an 
office in Claremont and practiced his profession here until 1864, 
which, by reason of impaired health, he discontinued at that time. 
In 1866 he removed to Hartford, Conn,, where he died November 
25, 1886. His remains were buried in the Pleasant Street Ceme- 
tery, in this town. He was justice of the police court between 
1850 and 1854. 

THE STEVENS FAMILY. 

The first of this family in Claremont, which became conspicuous 
and made a considerable figure in the early and later history of 
the town, was Elihu Stevens. He was born in Guilford, Conn, 
in 1731, came here about 1768, and died in 1814. He was an ar- 
dent Whig, and very active on the side of liberty during the Eevo- 
lutionary War. He was a justice of the peace, selectman in 1776 
and 1784, moderator in 1780 and 1788, and representative in 1777. 

JOSIAH STEVENS, 

The oldest son of Elihu, was born in Guilford, Conn., August 12, 
1752, came to Claremont with his father, and died April 10, 1827. 
If not the first, he was one of the first, merchants in town, and 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 465 

for several years was the leading one in this section of the state. 
He engaged in manufacturing of different kinds and built the 
Trernont House in 1800, which he kept as a hotel, and was suc- 
ceeded in it by his four sons, Josiah, Jr., Godfrey, Alvah, and 
Paran. He was prominent in business in many other ways from 
the time when he first came to town until his death. He was the 
first postmaster, from 1802 to 1813, selectman in 1788 and 1792, 
moderator in 1811 and for the six succeeding years, and representa- 
tive in 1798. His first wife was Abigail Dudley, of Guilford, by 
whom he had several children, all of whom, except Josiah, Jr., 
died young. This wife died in April, 1790, and the following 
September he married Mrs. Matilda Brewer, oldest daughter of 
Godfrey Cooke, by whom he had five sons and two daughters. 
The sons were Alfred, Godfrey, Alvah, Edwin, and Paran. Alfred 
and Edwin died young. Of the daughters, Matilda became the wife 
of Samuel Fiske, Miranda the wife of Samuel P. Fiske. She died 
May 26, 1882. 

DEACON JOSIAH STEVENS, 

Son of Colonel Josiah and Abigail Dudley Stevens, born Septem- 
ber 9, 1784, was for many years succeeding 1832 deacon of the 
Congregational church, and town clerk from 1844 to 1854. In 
consequence of senile dementia, in the night of February 3, 1857, 
he climbed out of his bedroom window in the house of the late 
Hiram Putnam on Washington street, now owned by the heirs of 
the late "William E. Tutherly, where he was living, his feet bare, 
with nothing on but his night clothes, and wandered off! He was 
missed, the people rallied, followed his tracks in the snow, and 
found him in a neighboring field frozen to death. 

GODFREY STEVENS, 

Son of Colonel Josiah and Matilda Brewer Stevens, was born Sep- 
tember 10, 1796. He was in trade with his father, and also with 
Charles M. Bingham, under the firm name of Stevens & Bingham, 
in the brick store where the Claremont National Bank building 



466 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

now stands, for several years ; was many times chosen moderator 
of town meetings; representative in 1829, 1830, and 1833, and held 
other town offices. He is said to have been a man of great energy 
and business ability. He died September 14, 1842. 

ALVAH STEVENS, 

Son of Colonel Josiah and Matilda Brewer Stevens, was born De- 
cember 12, 1798. He was a farmer and widely-known cattle dealer. 
He was several years collector of taxes, and held other town offices. 
He built the large brick house on Pleasant street now owned and 
occupied by E. D. Baker, where he died. 

PA RAN STEVENS, 

Son of Colonel Josiah and Matilda Brewer Stevens, was born Sep- 
tember 11, 1802. He and his three brothers succeeded the father 
in the management of the Tremont House, of which he subsequently 
became sole proprietor, which he continued until 1838, when he 
sold out to Aurelius Dickinson. While keeping the hotel he had 
an interest in difterent stage lines, which were quite profitable in 
those days. During what was known as speculation times in Clare- 
mont, from about 1880 to 1838, Mr. Stevens engaged in several dif- 
ferent enterprises, some of which were not fortunate, owing more 
to the financial condition of the country than to any want of care 
or good judgment on his part. Under his management the excel- 
lence of the Tremont House became very widely known and he 
famous as an accomplished landlord. About 1843 he had a call to 
go to Boston and keep the Xew England Coffee House, which he 
accepted. For capital he took with him little more than energy, 
industry, ability, and integrity. His success in that house was such 
that in 1846, when the Massachusetts Mechanics' Charitable Asso- 
ciation built the Revere House, the most extensive and elegantly 
finished, furnished, and equipped hotel in the country, they invited 
Mr. Stevens to take the management of it. This establishment was 
thought by many to be in advance of the requirements of the time, 



HISTORY OF CLARExMONT. 467 

and that it could not be made to pay ; but Mr. Stevens conducted 
it so well that it became known far and near in a very short time, 
was a success in every way from the start, and made a reputation 
for him as the most accomplished hotel manager in the country. 
He soon became general manager of the Fifth Avenue, ISTew York ; 
the Continental, Philadelphia ; the Battle House, Mobile ; and the 
Tremont House, Boston. All these houses were extremely popular 
and prosperous, and from his share of the profits of them he accu- 
mulated a large fortune in a few years. 

In 1866 Mr. Stevens proposed to donate to the town of Claremont 
ten thousand dollars towards establishing a high school, on condi- 
tion that the town would raise and appropriate a like sum for that 
purpose. The town called a meeting of its citizens, who without 
hesitation voted fifteen thousand dollars. Not to be outdone by the 
town, Mr. Stevens made his donation about equal by iron fence for 
the school ground and in furnishings for the school building; and 
the town voted to name the school the Stevens High School. About 
the time of the completion of the school building Mr. Stevens gave 
another ten thousand dollars, to be kept as a fund the interest of 
which should be used toward defraying the expense of the school, 
and bequeathed in his will forty thousand dollars more to be added 
to that fund, made payable within two years after his death. He 
died in N'ew York city, Aprir25, 1872. 

On receiving intelligence of the death of Mr. Stevens the citizens 
of the town took steps for a suitable memorial service. Ira Colby, 
Dudley T. Chase, William E. Tutherly, S. G-. Jarvis, George I^. 
Farwell, Edward L. Goddard,and Charles M. Bingham were chosen 
a committee of arrangements, and the day fixed was the 21st of 
June, at the close of the school year. At 2.30 o'clock, p. m., on that 
day a procession consisting of the pupils of the town schools was 
formed at the high school building, under the marshalship of Henry 
E. Barrett, and escorted by the Claremont Cornet Band, marched 
to the town hall, which was literally packed by the people. Dr. 
Nathaniel Tolles was president. Rev. Dr. Isaac G. Hubbard, the 
chaplain, oftered prayer. The pupils of the high school, under the 



4fi8 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

leadership of F. F. Haskell, sang the hymn "My Heavenly Home." 
John S. "Walker delivered a carefully prepared and appropriate ora- 
tion. Another hymn was sung, and the Rev. H. L. Kelsey pro- 
nounced the benediction. 

LINUS STEVENS 

Was a son of Meigs Stevens and grandson of Elihu. He was born 
August 9, 1792, and died March 14, 1873. He was a carpenter by- 
trade ; a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity, having held 
the highest oflS.ces in the dijfferent lodges in town, and a respected 
citizen. By his first wife he had three children, none of whom sur- 
vive. His second wife was Jerusha Hurlburt, of Lebanon. By this 
marriage he had two daughters — Emma Jane, the wife of Law- 
rence A. Tolles, of this town, who is still living ; and Sarah Eva, 
who married Frank P. Thrasher, and died April 13, 1882, at the 
age of twenty-nine years. Mr. Stevens was painstaking and curious 
in many ways. He kept a diary, the last entry in which was : " I 
have kept a daily record of the weather and where I was every day 
for thirty-nine years, to the last day of 1871. I now leave it." 

MATTmAS STONE 

Came to Claremont to live in 1770, and was for more than twenty 
years one of its most prominent and valued citizens. His farm was 
on what is now the road to Claremont Junction. He was born at 
Watertown, Mass., on October 23, 1723. His father, Samuel Stone, 
died there in 1726. At the age of about five years Matthias went 
to live with his great-uncle, Dea. David Stone, a blind man, and 
remained with him until about twenty-three years old, when he 
went to "Worcester, Mass., where he was married to Susan Chad- 
wick. From Worcester he removed to Barre, Mass., and was dea- 
con of the Congregational church there. They had fifteen children 
— ten sons and five daughters. The two youngest sons, John and 
Joseph, were born here. His wife died and he afterward married 
Huldah Fletcher. Four of his sons removed to Cabot, Vt., when 




GEORGE H. STOWELL. 



HISTORY OP CLAREMONT. 469 

that town began to be settled, and about 1790 he joined them, 
where he died in 1814 at the age of ninety-one years. While he 
lived in Claremont Mr. Stone was many times moderator of town 
meetings and selectman and representative in the legislature. He 
was a delegate to the convention that adopted the federal constitu- 
tion, in 1788; was also a justice of the peace, and as such officiated 
at many marriage ceremonies. 

GEORGE H. STOWELL, 

Son of Amasa Stowell, was born in Cornish, October 28, 1835. 
His boyhood was spent on a farm and attending the public 
schools in that town. He came to Claremont in March, 1860, 
and engaged in the gravestone and marble manufacturing busi- 
ness, carrying it on until 1864, when he bought the hardware 
stock of Levi B. Brown, in the northwest corner store in O. J. 
Brown's brick block, where he has been engaged in a whole- 
sale and retail trade in hardware, iron, and coal ever since. 
He has also been quite extensively engaged in real estate, hav- 
ing built several first-class tenement houses, all of which he still 
owns, and is a third part owner of Union block. 

Mr. Stowell has been prominent in town atfairs for thirty 
years. He was a representative in the N'ew Hampshire legisla- 
ture in 1871 and 1874; state senator in 1875 and 1876; member 
of the executive council from 1881 to 1883; aid to Governor 
Prescott, with the rank of colonel, from 1887 to 1889; member 
of the conventions to revise and amend the state constitution in 
1876 and 1889 ; delegate to the Republican national convention 
to nominate candidates for president and vice-president in 1884; 
and has been chief engineer of the tire department, with the 
exception of the year 1878, from 1873 to 1894. He has been a 
director and vice-president of the People's National Bank from its 
organization. In 1888 he made a trip to Europe for health and 
pleasure. 



470 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

JOSIAH SWETT 

Was born in Essex county, Mass., December 20, 1741, and died 
December 25, 1808. He descended from immigrants from the 
south of England early in the colonial period, and settled in 
Essex county. He came to Claremont in 1783, and bought a 
farm on Maple avenue, afterward for many years owned and 
known as the Eli Draper farm, latterly divided up among dif- 
ferent owners, where he lived until his decease. He had six 
children — four sons and two daughters. 

JOSIAH SWETT, JR., 

Son of Josiah Swett, was born in Wenham, Mass., October 2, 
1768, and died December 19, 1843. He came to Claremont in 
1793, and bought a farm on Maple avenue, adjoining that of his 
father, directly west of the Wilson place, afterward owned and 
occupied by the late Ira Colby. He raised up a family of ten 
children — three sons and seven daughters — among w^hom were 
Dr. John L. Swett, an eminent physician, of Newport, and the 
late Rev. Josiah Swett, an Episcopal clergyman, of Highgate, Vt. 

DR. JOHN L. SWETT, 

Second son of Josiah Swett, Jr., was born on Maple avenue, 
Claremont, February 7, 1810. He studied medicine with Dr. 
Nathaniel Tolles, then in practice in Eeading, Vt., and with Dr. 
Thomas B. Kittredge, in Claremont; received the degree of M. 
D. at Jefferson College, Philadelphia, in 1836, and soon after 
commenced practice at Newport, which was quite extensive for 
more than fifty years, and held a prominent place in his 
profession, being a member of the National Medical Association, 
an honorary member of the California State Medical Society, 
and a member since 1841 of the New Hampshire Medical So- 
ciety, of w^hich latter he was president in 1874. Dr. Swett was 
twice married, but is now a widower. By the first marriage he 
had four children — two sons and two daughters — only one of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 471 

whom, Mrs. C. C. Shattuck, of San Francisco, Cal., survives. 
In the eighty-fifth year of his age he is in full possession of 
his mental faculties and straight and active, like a much younger 
man. When eighty years old he retired from active practice. 

REV. JOSIAH SWETT, 

Third son of Josiah Swett, Jr., was born on Maple avenue, 
Claremont, August 4, 1814, and died at Highgate, Vt., January 
4, 1890. He was for many years a well-known successful teacher 
in Claremont and elsewhere; became an Episcopal clergyman 
and was settled as rector at Bethel and Highgate, Vt., being 
succeeded at the latter place in the rectorship by his son, the 
Rev. Paul F. Swett. He had ten children — live sons and five 
daughters — all of whom, except one daughter, are living. 

BENJAMIN SUMNER 

Was one of the earliest settlers of the town. He was selectman 
in 1769 and 1770 ; town clerk in 1774 and 1775 ; moderator in 
1784 and 1785 ; representative in the ^ew Hampshire legislature 
in 1784, 1785, 1793, and 1794; and was a civil magistrate for many 
years. He died here in May, 1815. 

DR. WILLIAM SUMNER 

Came from Hebron, Conn., to Claremont, in 1768, and was the 
first practitioner of medicine in town. He was moderator of town 
meeting in 1769, and a useful and influential citizen. He owned 
the Cupola farm, and died there March 4, 1778. 

JOHN W. TAPPAN, 

Son of Rev. John Tappan, was born in Claremont in 1807, and 
died December 29, 1869. He attended Kimball Union Academy, 
Meriden ; studied law with his uncle, Weare Tappan, of Brad- 
ford ; was admitted to the bar of Sullivan county, but did not 
practice his profession. He married Harriet Erskine, who died 



472 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

October 3, 1873, at the age of sixty-live years. She left to the 
town, by will, the most of her estate, which amounted to thirty 
thousand dollars, the interest of which was to be expended in pay- 
ing prizes to meritorious scholars in the public schools of the 
town. Mr. Tappan was for several years president of the Con- 
necticut River Bank at Charlestown. He built the large brick 
house on Broad street, now owned by the widow of Prentis Dow,, 
where he died. They had two sons, both of whom died before 
their parents. 

JOSEPH TAYLOK 

Was engaged in the Cape Breton War in 1745 ; in the French and 
Indian War in 1755, and in the Revolutionary War. While he 
and a companion by the name of Farwell were hunting in the 
woods of Maine, near Snow's Falls, on the Little Androscoggin 
river, in 1755, they were both captured by a party of Indians, 
taken to Canada, and sold to the French. For a long time he was 
kept so closely confined that his friends could learn nothing of 
him. He finally succeeded, after several attempts, in making his 
escape, wandered through the woods, subsisting upon what he 
could find, and after an absence of several months — the late Solon 
C. Grannis said seven years — he reached his home. He was cap- 
tain in Col. Timoth}^ Bedel's regiment, raised by order of con- 
gress, in New Hampshire for the expedition against Canada, in 
1777, and served in other organizations during the Revolutionary 
War. He was one of the selectmen of Claremont in 1772 and 
several succeeding years. In 1777, by a vote of the town, he was 
excused from serving on the board because he was about to join- 
the army. He married a daughter of Dr. William Sumner, and 
died in what is known as the John Sumner house, on the Cupola 
farm. He was buried in the cemetery at Cornish Center. The 
inscription on his tombstone is : " Capt. Joseph Taylor, died March 
17th, 1813, aged 83 years. 

" A neighbor once, kind, generous, brave, 
Yes reader know this is a heroe's grave." 




EDWARD J. TENNEY. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 473 

AMOS J. TENNEY 

Went from Rindge to Greenwich, Mass., and from the latter place 
came to Claremout in 1837, his father, Amos Tenney, coming with 
him, who died May 17, 1889, at the age of lifty-tive years. Amos 
J. formed a connection with the Claremont Carriage Company and 
was involved with its complicated aifairs until they were closed up 
in 1843. He was engaged in trade with Samuel P. Fiske under 
the firm name of Fiske, Tenney & Co., from 1838 to 1845, after 
which he followed farming and trading in various commodities. 
He was an active, careful, and thrifty man. He died August 3, 
1855, at the age of forty-seven years, leaving a widow, a second 
wife, and three sons, viz.: Charles A., born at Greenwich, January 
23, 1834, graduated at Dartmouth College in the class of 1855, and 
died August 10, 1856; Edward J., born at Greenwich, December 
11, 1836; George P., born in Claremont, February 9, 1838, who 
for several years held a position in the war department at 
Washington, D. C, and died there suddenly of heart failure, Sep- 
tember 12, 1892. He enlisted in the War of the Rebellion, under 
Capt. W. P. Austin, in April, 1861; was sergeant of Co. H, Sec- 
ond Regiment, !N"ew Hampshire Volunteers; wounded in the hand 
and mustered out at the end of his three years term of enlistment, 
June 21, 1864, leaving an honorable record as a soldier. 

EDWARD J. TENNEY 

Was born December 11, 1836. At the time of the death of his 
father Mr. Tenney was less than nineteen years old. With a step- 
mother and older brother, both in feeble health, and a younger 
brother, the business affairs of his father, with which he was well 
acquainted, and the settlement of the estate, seemed to rest largely 
upon him. He assumed the responsibility and managed things 
with the judgment of one of more mature years. He was a clerk 
in the general stores of James P. Brewer and Charles M. Bingham 
until he reached his majority, soon after which he formed a copart- 
nership with Edwin W. Tolles in the grocery business, under the 



474 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

firm name of Tolles & Tenney. Subsequently he was engaged 
with J. W. Deane, under the firm name of J. W. Deaue & Co., in 
the cigar and tobacco business; with E. W. Farwell, as Far- 
well & Tenney, and also with Augustus Barrett, as Barrett & 
Tenney, in shoe manufacturing. Mr. Tenney was director of 
the Claremont National Bank from 1881 to 1893 ; is now director 
of the People's National Bank; director and treasurer of the Sulli- 
van Park Association; director and manager of the Claremont 
Bridge Company ; director and treasurer of the Claremont Electric 
Light Company ; director and treasurer of the Claremont Building 
Association; and on the committee for the building of Hotel Clare- 
mont. In 1871 and 1872 he was a representative in the New 
Hampshire legislature, and from 1881 to 1887, by election and ap- 
pointment he was one of the state railroad commissioners. In the 
fifteen years preceding 1892, as executor, administrator, trustee, 
and guardian, he had the care, management, and settlement of 
many estates — some of them quite large and more or less compli- 
cated — in all which fiduciary positions he discharged his duties 
ably and faithfully. In December, 1891, he was appointed judge 
of probate for Sullivan county, which oflice he still holds. 

GEORGE A. TENNEY, 

Born in Claremont February 9, 1864, is the only surviving child of 
Edward J. Tenney. He was employed in the office of the Boston 
and Lowell railroad, Boston, two years, when, in 1887, by reason of 
the ill health of his older brother, who was cashier of a bank in 
Kansas, he w^ent to fill his place, and remained there engaged in 
banking in that state and Nebraska until the spring of 1892, when 
he returned to Claremont and took the position of cashier of the 
People's National Bank, which he has since held. 

GEORGE TICKNOR, 

Son of Benjamin and grandson of Elisha Ticknor, of Lebanon, who 
was a lieutenant in the Revolutionary army, was born in Boston, 
April 14, 1822. He took a preparatory course at Kimball Union 




DR. NATHANIEL TOLLES. 



HISTOEY OF CLAREMONT. 475 

Academy ; entered Dartmouth College, where he graduated in 
1847; studied law with the late Judge George "W. IS'esmith, of 
Franklin ; was admitted to the bar, opened an office in Claremont 
in 1852, and continued in practice here about teA years. From 
1854 to 1859 he was solicitor for Sullivan county. He was author 
of the Gazetteer of the State of New Hampshire, which forms a 
large part of the book entitled "New Hampshire As It Is." In 
1862 he removed from Claremont to Marlow, from there to Keene, 
and was editor of the New Hampshire Sentinel. He died De- 
cember 25, 1866. 

JOHN THOMAS. 

John Thomas was among the first settlers of Claremont. He came 
from Connecticut in 1768 and bought the farm on Eed Water brook 
in the north part of the town, where he died May 24, 1798, at the 
age of sixty-eight years. His son Zina succeeded to the farm, and 
after his death Alonzo, son of Zara and grandson of John, went 
into possession of it. Alonzo Thomas was born August 28, 1807, 
and died on that farm December 20, 1890. His son, Charles L. 
W. Thomas, has owned it since the death of his father. It has 
been in possession of the Thomas family one hundred and twenty- 
six years. The house, now standing, is one of the oldest frame 
houses in town. 

DR. NATHANIEL TOLLES 

Was the fifth and youngest son of John Tolles. He was born at 
Weathersfield, Vt., September 17, 1805, and died in Claremont, 
June 24, 1879. When thirteen years old he came to Claremont 
with his parents. He fitted for college at the school of Rev. Yirgil 
H. Barber, West Claremont, but did not take a college course. 
He studied medicine with Dr. James Hall, of Windsor, Vt., and 
Dr. Charles G. Adams, of Keene ; attended lectures at Bowdoin 
and Dartmouth colleges, and received his degree at the latter in 
November, 1830. He was appointed resident physician at the 



476 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

South Boston almshouse, where he remained six months, and then 
located in Heading, Vt, remained there ten years, and in March, 
1842, came to Claremont, where he passed the remainder of his life 
in an extensive practice of his profession. He was amemher of the 
first board of county commissioners, elected in 1858; presidential 
elector of ^ew Hampshire in 1860, and member of the New Hamp- 
shire constitutional convention in 1876. 

DR. CLARENCE W. TOLLES, 

Son of the late Dr. Nathaniel Tolles, was born in Claremont, April 
30, 1845. He studied medicine with his father; graduated at 
Bellevue Medical College in 1868 ; studied one year at University 
Medical College, London ; was associated with his father in prac- 
tice until the latter's death, in June, 1879, when he succeeded to 
the practice of the firm, making a specialty of surger3^ 

WILLIAM E, TUTHERLY, 

Second son of the late Samuel Tutherly, was born in Unity, Janu- 
ary 27, 1823, and died January 8, 1893. He came to Claremont 
with his parents in 1833, which was ever afterwards his home. He 
attended Norwich, Vt, Military University two years, but did not 
graduate. He was selectman seven years, his first term being 1860 
and his last 1874 ; county commissioner from 1876 to 1885 ; repre- 
sentative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1865, 1866, and 1878 ; 
member of the governor's council in 1867 and 1868, and for several 
years a director in the Claremont National Bank. "When not occu- 
pied with his public duties Mr. Tutherly gave his attention to 
farming. He was a careful, painstaking, and prudent business 
man. June 1, 1847, he married Lorette C, daughter of Sherman 
Eossiter, who died January 8, 1888, just five years before the death 
of her husband, at nearly the same hour of the day and in the same 
house, leaving three children — Capt. H. E. Tutherly, of the United 
States army; Mrs. F. W. Haubrich, of Montreal; and William 
Tutherly, assistant clerk of the New Hampshire house of repre- 
sentatives. 




DR. CLARENCE W. TOLLES. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 477 



HERBERT E. TUTHERLY, 



Son of the late William E. Tutherly, was born in Claremont 
April 5, 1848. He was appointed cadet at West Point July 1, 
1868 ; graduated and commissioned second lieutenant, First U. S. 
Cavalry, June 14, 1872 ; promoted first lieutenant of same, April 
14, 1879, and captain of same, January 15, 1891 ; received the 
honorary degree of M. A. from the University of Vermont in 
1885. He has served on regimental duty about fourteen years, 
and college duty about eight years. He was detailed by the war 
department as professor of military science and tactics at the Uni- 
versity of Vermont, 1881-85 ; at Cornell University, 1889-92 ; and 
at the University of Vermont, September 1, 1893. 



BENJAMIN TYLER 



Was born at Wallingford, Conn., February 22, 1732, and died at 
Claremont March 9, 1814. He removed to Farmington, Conn., 
and from there came to Claremont, traveling on foot, in the spring 
of 1767, and that summer built the first dam across Sugar river, at 
West Claremont, in the same place where the Jarvis and Coy dam 
now is, having been given a grant of the privilege and a small 
tract of land for that purpose by the proprietors of the town. 
After the completion of the dam he returned to Farmington, and 
the following March started with his wife, six children, and house- 
hold eflects on an ox sled, for Claremont. At Montague, Mass., 
he was detained by a snow storm, and in the time, being an ingen- 
ious mechanic, made a pair of cart wheels for the landlord, in pay- 
ment for his entertainment. From Bellows Falls there was no 
road, and he came from there on the ice of Connecticut river. 
On arrival here he stopped with Daniel Warner, who came the 
year before and built a log-house near where Lottery- bridge now is. 
Soon after Mr. Tyler's arrival the ice in Sugar river broke up, 
formed a dam where it empties into the Connecticut, the water 
set back, and the family were forced to leave the house on a raft. 
The Tylers lived with the Warners until the former built a log- 
house near where he had erected a dam the year before. 



478 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

That year, 1768, Mr. Tyler built a grist-mill and saw- mill on the 
north side of the river, in connection with his dam. For two or 
three years after this the crops were almost a failure, and there 
was considerable suffering in consequence. The millstones were 
obtained on Ascutney mountain, and were brought over Connecti- 
cut river on the ice. The quarry from which these stones were 
taken was worked by Mr. Tyler and his sons for several years. 
The blocks were brought in a rough state to West Claremont, 
where they were finished into millstones, and supplied mills in 
pretty nearly all parts of E"ew England, I^ew York, and Canada. 

In consideration of Mr. Tyler's having built the mills the pro- 
prietors of the town gave him ten acres of land on the south side 
of Sugar river, opposite the mills. He purchased the land on 
the north side of the river, from where the High bridge now stands 
to the line of the Dustin farm ; eight acres south of the river, op- 
posite the site of the High bridge, and a tract extending from the 
Lawrence A. Tolles place to where the town house now is, and was 
granted fifty acres on what was called Big Meadow, east of the 
village. >He built and occupied for a homestead the large two- 
story house at "West Claremont, which has been known as the 
Maynard tavern stand for the last fifty years. 

About 1790 Mr. Tyler built a dam near the site of the High 
bridge, and a forge and smelting works in connection with it. 
The ore used was brought from Charlestown, and the lime from 
Weathersfield, Vt. John Strowbridge came from Bridgewater, 
Mass., superintended this establishment, married Mr. Tyler's daugh- 
ter Patience, and subsequently received this property as a legacy. 

Mr. Tyler invented and had patented a process for dressing flax, 
and an improved bucket for a wooden water-wheel with an upright 
shaft, called the rye fly or tub-wheel, for which he was granted 
two patents — one in 1800 and the other in 1804. When near sev- 
enty-five years old he retired from active business, and was suc- 
ceeded by his three sons, John, Benjamin, Jr., and Noah. He had 
eleven children, five of whom were born in Claremont. Mr. Tyler 
was selectman in 1768 and 1769. In his life-time he gave to each 
of his ten children a good farm. 



C^- 




■0^ 




Mi^w: ' g ^ 


S^it. 


^^H %jK 


•v ' 







JOHN TYLER, 1ST. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 479 

AUSTIN TYLER, 

Son of Benjamin Tyler, Jr., and grandson of Col. Benjamin Tyler, 
was born in Claremont January 6, 1790. He was one of the most 
active, enterprising, and public-spirited men in town in his time. 
He was selectman nine years, between 1824 and 1834; moderator 
many times ; representative in the 'Kew Hampshire legislature 
in 1827, 1828, 1831, 1835, 1836, 1837, and 1842, and state sen- 
ator in 1838. He died August 12, 1844. 

JOHN TYLER, 

A son of Benjamin Tyler, Jr., and grandson of Col. Benjamin 
Tyler, was born in Claremont in 1803, and died in the first framed 
house built in town, where he had lived for many years, at West 
Claremont, January 13, 1886. He learned the mill-wright trade of 
his father and followed it until sixty years old. He had six chil- 
dren — five sons and one daughter — John Henry, Charles Webster, 
James Andrews, Austin, and Hoell, and Mary Anna. John Henry 
died at the home of his late father, January 29, 1890, the result of 
an injury sustained by being thrown from a carriage a few days 
before. Charles Webster, James Andrews, and Austin are in busi- 
ness in New York city, and Hoell is assistant medical superintend- 
ent of the New York City Hospital for the Insane, at BlackwelFs 
Island. The daughter, Mary Anna, is the widow of Daniel W. 
Johnson, of Claremont. Mr. Tyler was a representative in the 
New Hampshire legislature in 1850 and 1851, and warden of Union 
church many years. His father and grandfather had also been 
wardens of the same church. 

JOHN TYLER, 2d, 

Is a son of John Tyler, and grandson of Col. Benjamin Tyler. 
He was born in Claremont March 26, 1818. He learned the trade 
of mill-wright, serving an apprenticeship of seven years, and was 
then for eight years foreman of the shop where he learned his 
trade, in Barre, Vt. He then came to West Lebanon in 1850, for 
several years did a large business in building mills, sometimes em- 



480 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ploying fifty men. He returned to Claremout in 1872, where he 
has since resided. He was engineer and superintendent in building 
the Sugar River Paper Mill, is a principal stockholder and presi- 
dent of the company. In 1856 he invented and got patented the 
iron Tyler turbine water-wheel, the first iron water-wheel ever 
made, since which he has been granted nine patents for improve- 
ments on it. These are now running in most of the states and 
territories in the Union and in the Canadas. He is also the in- 
ventor and patentee of Tyler's copper cylinder washer, for wash- 
ing paper stock. In 1872 Mr. Tyler built what is known as the 
Bible hill aqueduct, to supply Claremont village with pure spring 
water. It runs to over two hundred families. He was a repre- 
sentative in the Xew Hampshire legislature for the years 1891 and 
1892. 

GF.ORGE B. UPHAM. 

The Uphams have been conspicuous in politics, in business, 
and socially in this town, county, and state for more than a 
hundred years, and are entitled to other than a brief notice in 
this histor}'. The descent of the Uphams with whom this sketch 
has more immediately to do has been traced back in an unbro- 
ken line to Hugo de Upham, the first known Upham in England, 
in 1208, in a genealogical record of "The Descendants of John 
Upham," prepared by Frank K. Upham, a captain in the United 
States army, published in 1892. This record is the result of many 
years of painstaking and persistent research. The Uphams have 
become quite numerous in this country, more especially in Mas- 
sachusetts and ]!^ew England. According to this record, after 
Hugo de Upham — without here tracing back through many gen- 
erations and naming each minutely — in a direct line came Rich- 
ard Upham, who held the copyhold estate in Bykton in 1546; 
then John Upham, who emigrated to Xew England with the Hull 
colony, settled in what is now Weymouth, Mass., and soon re- 
moved to Maiden, where his son Phineas was born, being the 
first Upham born in America, and from whom all of the name 




GEORGE B. UPHAM. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 481 

ill this country have descended. He was a lieutenant in the King 
Pliilip War in 1675. At the storming of Fort Canonicus, De- 
cember 19, 1675, his captain, Johnson, was killed early in the 
engagement, and Lieutenant Upham was in command of the 
company until he was mortally wounded. He died of his wounds 
October 8, 1676. The heads of the next two generations also 
bore the name of Phineas. The third was the father of Dr. Jabez 
Upham, of Brookfield, Mass., who had a son Phineas, the father 
of the subject of this sketch. 

George B. Upham died in Claremont on February 10, 1848, 
soon after which an interesting article, connecting the family 
with the trying events immediately preceding the Revolutionary 
"War, appeared in;the Boston Daily Advertiser, from which many 
of the following facts are gathered : 

George B. Upham's father, Captain Phineas Upham, of Brookfield, Mass., 
was a representative from that town in the last House of Assembly convened 
in Massachusetts, by writs of election issued by royal authority. General Gage, 
at a moment when he flattered himself that there was a reaction in the popular 
sentiment, dissolved a refractory House, and ordered the election of a new As- 
sembly. The precepts were issued on the first day of September, 1774; and 
they directed that representatives who might be elected, convene at Salem on 
the fifth day of October following. The result of the election was found to be 
most unfavorable to the royal cause, an increased number of patriots being 
returned to the House. On the twenty-eighth day of September His Excellency 
issued a proclamation discharging the members elect from attendance, and de- 
claring his intention not to be present at the time specified in the writs of 
election. It was at once resolved not to pay any regard to the proclamation of 
the twenty-eighth of September. The right of the governor to prorogue a House 
of Assembly before it had convened was denied, and ninety members, belonging 
to the popular party, and constituting a majority of the whole number elected, 
made their appearance in the Court House at Salem, on the fifth of October, 
1774. They awaited in silence the appearance of His Excellency to administer 
to them the usual oaths. Thus passed the day. The next morning they met 
-again, and again awaited the appearance of the governor. But he came not. 
On the third day, having chosen John Hancock their chairman, and Benjamin 
Lincoln their clerk, and, considering the executive department of the govern- 
ment as derelict, they assumed the entire legislative and political control of the 
colony, and declared themselves a Provincial Congress. This procedure severed 
the tie that bound Massachusetts to the throne of Great Britain, and may be 



482 HISTORY OF CLAREMOXT. 

considered the very first act of the American Revolution, regarded as a civil 
or political transference of allegiance. The body of men who took this step 
crossed the Rubicon; they pointed and led the way by which the colonies, 
without convulsion or misrule, without any suspension of law or order, without 
being for a moment cut adrift upon a sea of anarchy, passed from the sov- 
ereignty of the mother country into the quiet and regular enjoyment of inde- 
pendence and self government. Captain Phineas Upham of Brookfield was an 
active and faithful member of the Congress that accomplished this great and 
momentous work. 

George B. Upham was born at Brookfield, December 9, 1769. 
He received bis preliminary education at Phillips Exeter Acad- 
emy, and graduated at Harvard College in 1789. He studied 
law with his older brother, Jabez, who had established himself 
in practice in Claremont. Soon after his admission to the bar, 
Jabez left his business to his brother, and returned to his native 
town. George B. found himself in an extensive practice, and 
continued in active and lucrative professional employment until, 
at the age of sixty years, he voluntarily relinquished it. He was 
a sound lawyer — a persuasive rather than a brilliant advocate — 
and a safe and able counselor, whose legal opinions might always 
be relied upon. 

Mr. Upham Avas representative of his to"svn in the New Hamp- 
shire legislature fifteen years, his first election being in 1796, and 
his last in 1821, and was speaker of the house in 1809, and 
again in 1815, and state senator in 1814. He was elected mem- 
ber of congress in 1801, and declined a re-election. This was 
during the administration of Thomas Jefferson, when the northern 
and southern sections of the confederacy often clashed. Mr. 
Upham uniformly and boldly advocated the rights of Xew Eng- 
land. Early in his term in congress, an incident occurred illus- 
trating the difference in temper and spirit of the northern and 
southern character. The eccentric and irascible John Randolph 
of Roanoke had an overbearing and offensive way of making 
l!^ew England members whom he could intimidate by his inso- 
lence turn out for him on sidewalks or wherever he chanced to 
meet them. Mr. Upham had heard of this, and soon after his 



IIISTOKY OF CLAEEMONT. 483 

arrival in Washington, met Mr. Randolph on a narrow sidewalk, 
and determined to come to an understanding with the arrogant 
Virginian then and there. Mr. Upham placed himself on the 
inside of the walk and the two met face to face. Mr. Randolph 
instantly took the measure of the large and powerfully built New 
Englander, and seeing something in his eye that boded trouble 
if he persisted, stepped aside and let Mr, Upham pass, not a word 
being uttered by either of the gentlemen. Ever after that Mr. 
Randolph treated Mr. Upham with marked politeness. 

Mr. Upham was president during its existence of the first Clare- 
mont bank. By his legal professional business, good judgment, and 
economy he accumulated a large fortune for his time. He died 
at his residence on Broad street, on the spot where the Stevens 
High School building now stands, of a paralytic affection. His 
usual good health continued unimpaired until within a few hours 
of his decease, in the seventy-ninth year of his age. His death 
was announced at the next session of the court at iSJ'eAvport, and 
it immediately adjourned. He was buried with the impressive 
ceremonies of the Episcopal church, of which he had long been 
a member. A funeral discourse was preached in the old octagon 
brick church, on the occasion, by the late Rev. Dr. Clapp, of 
Bellows Falls, Vt. A large concourse of people of his own and 
surrounding towns, testified by their presence their respect for 
his character and appreciation of the public services of his early 
and active life, of the integrity of his principles, and of the kind- 
ness of his heart. 

JABEZ UPHAM 

Was a son of Captain Phineas Upham, of Brookfield, Mass., 
and an older brother of George B. Upham. He graduated at 
Harvard College in 1785, came to Claremont in 1789, opened a 
law office in a small building which stood just south of the Breck 
house, West Claremont, and was representative in the New Hamp- 
shire legislature in 1792. He remained in town about three years, 
and then returned to Brookfield. He acquired a large practice and 



484 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

a leading position at the "Worcester county bar ; was elected to con- 
gress in 1807, from Massachusetts, served two terms, and died in 
1811. 

DR. J. BAXTER UPHAM, 

Third son of George B. Upham, was born May 13, 1820. He 
graduated at Dartmouth College in 1842, and Harvard Med- 
ical School in 1847, having in the mean time studied his pro- 
fession at Dartmouth, Bowdoin, the University of Pennsjdvania, 
and the medical department of Harvard College. He afterwards 
further pursued his studies in the hospitals of London and Paris. 
Soon after his graduation he settled. in Boston, in a general prac- 
tice, being often called in consultation with his medical brethren. 
He was president of the Handel and Haydn Society, of Boston, 
from 1860 to 1870 ; the Boston Music Hall Association from 1854 
to 1880 ; and chairman of the music committee of the Boston public 
schools from 1857 to 1872. 

While president of the Music Hall Association, Dr. Upham 
went to Europe, where, after spending much time in visiting the 
most celebrated organs and organ builders in the Old World, he 
contracted for " The Great Organ " which was placed in the 
Boston Music Hall in November, 1863, and has since attracted 
the attention and admiration of music lovers throughout the land. 
Dr. Oliver Wendell Holmes, in a description of it in the Atlantic 
Monthly, at the time, said, " It is the most precious work of art 
that ever floated from one continent to the other." 

In 1862 Dr. Upham offered his services as a physician to the 
government, in whatever capacity he might be most useful in the 
War of the Rebellion, which were gladly accepted. He was after- 
wards given the constructive rank of major and assigned im- 
portant duties with the Eighteenth Army Corps. He organized 
the General Army Hospital at IS'ewbern, N. C, and had charge 
of it during the winter of 1862 and the spring of 1863. 

Dr. Upham's life has been largely devoted to science and art. 
His profound study of the diseases to which humanity is subject, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 485 

his scientific treatment of them, and the results of his experience 
and observation, as contributed to medical and scientific journals, 
have made him distinguished in scientific and art circles, as well 
as in his chosen profession. Since 1887 his home has been in 
New York city. 

JAMES p. UPHAM, 

Fourth son of George B. Upham, was born October 17, 1827, 
and graduated at Dartmouth College in 1850. Soon after his 
graduation he acquired an interest in the iron foundry and 
machine shop, which has since grown into the Sullivan Machinery 
Company, of which he was president twenty-five years, up to 1892. 
He is an owner in and president of the Brandon, Vt., Italian 
Marble Company, and has also been extensively engaged in farm- 
ing. He was a representative in the New Hampshire legislature 
in 1865 and 1866, and is warden of Union church. He has five 
children — three sons and two daughters. Of his sons, J. Duncan 
is treasurer of the Sullivan Machinery Company; George B, is 
a lawyer in Boston ; and Samuel R. is a practicing physician here. 

DR. SAMUEL R. UPHAM, 

Third son of James P. Upham, was born October 9, 1861. He 
attended Stevens High School three years, and graduated at Gran- 
ville, N. Y., Military Academy in 1879; studied at the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, New York city, three years, and 
graduated at the University of Vermont in 1887. He was interne 
two years, externe in the outpatient surgical department two years, 
and surgeon three years at the Rhode Island Hospital, Providence ; 
in general practice in that city from 1887 to 1892, during which pepiod 
he was attending physician to Providence day nursery, and also four 
years to Providence dispensary. He has been in general practice 
of his profession in Claremont since September, 1892. 

EDWIN VAUGHAN 

Was born at Chelsea, Vt, September 14, 1832, and died at Clare- 
mont December 18, 1890. His father's family came from Bridge- 



486 HISTOKY OF CLAREMONT. 

water, Mass., to Chelsea, and in 1834 removed to Taftsville, in 
the town of Woodstock, Vt. He graduated at Kimball Union 
Academy, Meriden, in 1855 ; studied law" in the Law University, 
Albany, N. Y. ; was admitted to the bar in 1857, and commenced 
the practice of his profession in Claremont, in partnership with 
the late Alexander Gardiner, in an office at the lower village, in 
1858. In December, 1861, he enlisted in the New Hampshire 
Cavalry as a private, passed through the several grades, and was 
commissioned captain of Troop A in March, 1864. He was assist- 
tant provost marshal of the Eighth Army Corps, and stationed 
at Baltimore, Md., the last six months of his service, and was 
discharged June 7, 1865. He was a member of the New Hamp- 
shire legislature in 1866 and 1867; United States revenue in- 
spector in 1867 and 1868; member of the Chicago Republican 
convention which nominated General Grant for president in 1868 ; 
was appointed United States consul at Coaticook, Canada, from 
April, 1869, to 1881, when he returned to Claremont, and was 
appointed judge of probate for Sullivan county, June 7, 1883, 
which office he held until his death. June 20, 1860, he married 
Elizabeth L., daughter of the late Rev. S. G. Tenney, of Spring- 
field, Vt., by whom he had two sons — the oldest died in Canada, 
and the other, Frank T., is a lawyer in Claremont. 

CAKL A. VOLK, M. D., 

Was born in Hamburg, near Frankfort, Germany, June 18, 1812. 
He came to America in 1834, and settled in Ohio. He came to 
Claremont in 1844, and had a large practice as long as he lived. 
Dr. Volk studied in Heidelberg, and took the degree of M. D. 
from Dartmouth College in 1859. He died in Claremont March 
3, 1883. 

JOSEPH WAITE. 

Among the planters of Watertown, Mass., was Richard Waite, 
who came from England, and in 1637 became a proprietor by pur- 
chasing all the lands and rights of one of the original grantees of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 487 

the town. Of his three sons, John, Thomas, and Joseph, the de- 
scendants of the former removed to Framingham, Mass., Joseph 
removed to Marlboro', Mass., and Thomas remained in Water- 
town, where he acquired considerable property. His sons were 
John, Richard, Thomas, and Joseph. The tw^o first died in the 
early Indian wars ; Thomas removed to Lyme, Conn., and was the 
ancestor of Henry M. Waite, late chief justice of Connecticut, 
whose son, Morrison E. Waite, was chief justice of the United 
States, and Marvin Wait, a distinguished lawyer of the Revolu- 
tionary period, whose son, John Turner Wait, was late representa- 
tive in congress from Connecticut. Joseph removed from Water- 
town to the adjoining town of Sudbury, and had one son, John, 
who, with his father, removed to Brookfield, Mass., in 1746, and 
opened an inn on the post-road from Boston to Albany, which was 
widely known for many years as the " Old Waite Tavern." He 
had seven sons, John, Joseph, Thomas, Benjamin, Richard, Jedu- 
than, and William. 

The subject of this sketch, Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite, second 
son of John, the tavern-keeper, was born at Sudbury, Mass., in 
1732. In May, 1754, he entered the provincial army, for the de- 
fense of the eastern frontiers ; the following December he was 
corporal of a company of rangers in the Crown Point expedition, 
stationed at Falltown, in the line of forts commanded by Col. 
Israel Williams ; in February, 1756, he was appointed ensign of 
his company, which was attached to Col. Dwight's regiment, with 
headquarters at Forts Edward and William Henry. Among his 
associates were Robert Rogers, the famous ranger, Israel Putnam, 
and John Stark. In 1757 he was transferred to the corps of 
rangers commanded by Rogers. The rangers were raised in Wew 
England, paid by the Crown, and oiiicered by the most hardy, in- 
telligent, and enterprising partisans of that day, many of whom 
were afterwards distinguished in the Revolutionary War, They 
were picked men, of extraordinary bodily powers, combined with 
the most acute mental energies, and were trained in a discipline of 
their own. Their services were attended by difficulties and hard- 



488 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

ships, and beset with dangers in which men of ordinary stamina 
would never think of engaging. In 1759 Mr. Waite was commis- 
sioned captain of a company of rangers, and served continuously 
in that capacity until the end of the French and Indian War, in 
1761, when that organization was disbanded. Captain Waite re- 
turned to Brookfield, where he was elected to several important 
town offices. The history of Brookfield, Mass., says that " in 1762 
he married a sister of Colonel iS'athan Stone, of Shrewsbury, Mass., 
who, with his father Zedekiah and brothers David and Samuel, 
were prominent in the French War. In 1767 they were all living 
in Windsor, Vt., which had been chartered to them the previous 
year, and where by their exertions and enterprise, they increased 
the wealth and prosperity of the place, and rendered it, at an early 
period, one of the most flourishing and popular villages in the 
'New Hampshire Grants, as Vermont was then called." From 
what follows in the same history it is inferred that Joseph Waite 
and his brother Benjamin became inhabitants of Windsor at nearly 
the same time as did the Stones. 

The first settlers of the towns in New Hampshire and Vermont, 
bordering on Connecticut river, known as the New Hampshire 
Grants, had derived their titles to the lands from the royal gov- 
ernor of New Hampshire. In 1768 a claim to this territory on 
the west side of Connecticut river was set up by the governor of 
New York, and many attempts were made to dispossess the occu- 
pants, who resolutely denied the authority of New York over 
them or their possessions. For their own protection the organiza- 
tion known by the name of the Green Mountain Boys was called 
into existence, of which Joseph and Benjamin Waite and Nathan 
and Samuel Stone were active members, and large rewards were 
oflered by the governor of New York for their delivery, with 
others, marked for the punishment of death. In 1770 the Waites 
and Stones had been arrested by High Sherift' Daniel Whipple, 
acting under a New York commission, for resistance to the assumed 
authority of that state, and had been rescued by a number of 
armed men. To retake them Whipple collected a posse of a dozen 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 489 

or fifteen persons, and went with them to the house of Joseph 
Waite, in order to arrest him, but were met by a party led by the 
latter, overpowered, and kept prisoners for several hours. In June 
of that year, Colonel Stone, Captain Waite, and others appeared 
at a court held in Chester and emphatically denied any authority 
of ]^ew York over them or their grants. 

In 1771 the Green Mountain Boys were formed into a regiment, 
of which Ethan Allen was colonel, and Joseph Waite captain of 
one of the companies. He was with Ethan Allen in the memor- 
able capture of Ticonderoga, in 1775, and served in Canada during 
the following campaign. 

In 1766 Captain Waite was granted five hundred acres of land 
in the southwest corner of the town of Claremont, together with 
three small islands in the Connecticut river opposite thereof, 
which has for many years been known as the Hubbard farm. 
Captain Waite came to live in Claremont in 1773, and was a mem- 
ber of the provincial congress of New Hampshire in 1775-76. 
In January, 1776, he was appointed lieutenant-colonel of Col. Timo- 
thy Bedel's regiment, raised in 'New Hampshire for the defense of 
Canada. In a severe skirmish, a few days before the battle of Val- 
cour, Lieutenant-Colonel Waite was wounded in the head by a 
splinter from a gun-carriage and on his way home died at Clar- 
endon, Vt. He was buried with military honors, at the roadside, 
about two miles from Clarendon Springs. On the^ spot a monu- 
ment was erected which bears upon it the following inscription : 
" To perpetuate the memory of Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite, an 
officer in the American Revolutionary War, who died on his re- 
turn from an expedition into Canada, September 28, 1776 ; this 
stone is erected in testimony of respect by his brethren in arms." 
On the monument is the figure of an officer in full uniform with a 
raised sword, and beneath it is the inscription: "Our common 
country claims our aid. Living or dying I will defend her.'" This 
monument is surrounded by a strong iron fence. 



490 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

OTIS F. K. "WAITE. 

The family of Waites trace their descent from Richard Waite, 
who immigrated from England and became a proprietor of Water- 
town, Mass., in 1637, by purchasing all the lands and rights of one 
of the original grantees of the town. Among his descendants may 
be named Lieut. Col. Joseph Waite, of Revolutionary fame ; Morri- 
son R. Waite, late chief justice of the United States; John T. 
Wait, of Norwich, Conn., an ex-member of congress; and Albert 
S. Wait, an able lawyer of New^port, the only brother of the sub- 
ject of this sketch. His father was Daniel Wait, an ensign in the 
W'ar of 1812, and major-general of the Vermont state militia. 

Otis F. R. Waite, the writer of this History of Claremont, was 
born in Chester, Yt, March 3, 1818. He learned the trade of 
printer in New York city, was foreman of the Cheshire Republi- 
can at Keene from 1838 to 1847; editor and publisher of the 
Spirit of the Times, which was merged in the American News ; 
was associate editor of the Springfield, Mass., Republican; editor 
and publisher of the Berkshire County Eagle, Pittsfield, Mass., 
during various terms prior to his purchase of the National Eagle, 
Claremont, which he edited and published from April, 1854, to 
April, 1859. He was engrossing clerk of the New Hampshire 
legislature in 1856 and 1857; state insurance commissioner three 
years following 1859; and associate editor of the American 
Stock Journal, published in New York city, four years. He also 
compiled the New Hampshire Register, published by the Clare- 
mont Manufacturing Company, three years. 

Upon the breaking out of the War of the Rebellion, in April, 
1861, Governor Goodwin appointed Mr. Waite general recruiting 
officer for Sullivan county, and soon after military secretary of the 
war committee of the governor's council, and he was re-appointed 
by Governor Berry upon his succession to office in June, 1861, in 
which position he rendered efficient service in the organization, 
equipment, and transportation of the early regiments sent to the 
front by New Hampshire. After the close of the war he prepared 
" Claremont War History," "New Hampshire in the Great Rebel- 




JOHN S. WALKER. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 491 

lion," and "Vermont in the Great Rebellion," books of permanent 
value locally and in the general history of the civil war. He was also 
author of " Eastman's Eastern Coast Guide Book." On the occa- 
sion of the meeting of the New Hampshire Historical Society in 
Claremont for its annual field-day, September 29, 1891, Mr. Waite, 
by special request, prepared a paper giving sketches of the " Early 
History of Claremont," which he read to the large company of 
members and guests, and which has since been published by the 
society in its " Transactions " and in pamphlet form. 

It may be mentioned that while living in Keene Mr. Waite was 
promoted from the ranks of the famous Keene Light Infantry com- 
pany to quartermaster, adjutant, and major of the 20th Regiment 
of New Hampshire militia, and was appointed brigade inspector in 
1845. 

Major Waite bears his seventy-six years of active life with uncom- 
mon bodily and mental vigor, giving promise of yet many years of 
usefulness in his chosen pursuits. He and his estimable wife cele- 
brated their golden wedding on September 10, 1893. J. s. w. 

JOHN S. WALKER 

Is the oldest son of the late Rev. John Walker, a native of Bedford, 
whose father, Robert Walker, and uncle, James Walker, were the 
earliest settlers of that town, going from Londonderry, the famous 
New Hampshire Scotch-Irish settlement, and of Arethusa (Hum- 
phrey) Walker, daughter of Dr. Royal Humphrey, of Athol, Mass. 
The Rev. John Walker was a graduate of Dartmouth College in 
the class of 1808, and the second settled minister of Greenfield, 
where John S. Walker was born June 19, 1820. He acquired his 
education mainly under the instruction of his father. When nine- 
teen years old he became sole proprietor and editor of a daily paper 
in Buffalo, N. Y., which he continued two years. In 1841 and 1842 
he reported the proceedings of the New York legislature for the 
Albany Free Press. He then became proprietor of a bookstore 
and was editor of the Cortland County Whig, which he contin- 
ued for about three years. 



492 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

In the spring of 1846 Mr. Walker returned to New Hampshire 
and was editor of the Daily Statesman — the first daily paper 
published in the state — during the memorable session of the New 
Hampshire legislature which elected Anthony Colby governor and 
John P. Hale speaker of the house, and also United States senator 
for six years. In October of the same year, in company with 
Charles Young, he came to Claremont, and they bought the Na- 
tional Eagle newspaper establishment, Mr. Walker taking the edi- 
torial charge of the paper. On May 18, 1848, he was married to 
Harriet Harris, youngest daughter of the late George B. Upham, 
in the old round brick church, by the late Bishop Carlton Chase, 
and the same day they started on a bridal tour on horseback through 
Vermont, New York state, and Canada, including Montreal and 
Quebec, returning to Claremont the first of July, having made a 
journey of one thousand miles. 

In 1850 Mr. Walker w^as instrumental in organizing the New 
Hampshire State Agricultural Society, and the three first years was 
its secretary. In 1852 he was a delegate to the Whig national con- 
vention at Baltimore, and with the New Hampshire delegation, on 
fifty-two successive ballots, voted for Daniel Webster for candidate 
for president. On the fifty-third ballot they voted for Winfield 
Scott, and he was nominated. In 1863 Mr. Walker was appointed 
assistant deputy surveyor of customs for the port of Boston, which 
position he held until after the death of President Lincoln, when, 
under Andrew Johnson, a change was made in all departments. 
On retiring from that position he was for a time on the editorial 
staff of the Boston Journal. 

Mr. Walker was aid to Governor Berry and also to Governor 
Gilmore, with the rank of colonel, during the War of the Kebellion, 
and with the late Mason W. Tappan represented the latter gov- 
ernor at a meeting of governors of the loyal states at the consecra- 
tion, in November, 1863, of the National Cemetery at Gettysburg. 
He was active in procuring the extension of the line of railroad 
from Bradford to Claremont, and was the first president of the 
Sugar River railroad, as the extension was then called. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 493 

Mr. Walker has made several trips abroad, spending considerable 
time in England, France, Italy, and Switzerland, visiting South 
America and making a stay of several weeks in Rio Janeiro. Dur- 
ing these journeys he was a constant correspondent of the Boston 
Journal. He was representative in the New Hampshire legislature 
in 1850 and 1851, and delegate in the conventions to revise the 
state constitution in 1850 and 1870. He was three years a member 
of the State Board of Agriculture, and with the board visited 
numerous towns in the state, holding farmers' conventions and 
making occasional addresses. In local affairs Mr. Walker delivered 
a memorial address in the town hall on the occasion of the death 
of Paran Stevens ; also one upon the rededication of the town hall, 
in January, 1868. 

HORACE EATON AVALKER 

Was born at North Charlestown, August 9, 1852. His father was 
the late Simeon W. Walker, whose father came from Lunenburg, 
N. Y., to North Charlestown. The subject of this sketch was edu- 
cated in the public schools and by private tutors. He spent his 
childhood at the place of his birth, and his later years have been 
passed in Claremont, where he has been an operative in the Monad- 
nock mills, occupying his leisure hours with literary work, writing 
prose and verse, of which he has produced a large amount. In 1885 
he gathered and published a volume of over six hundred pages of 
his own writings. In it is a poem of nearly three hundred lines, 
" The Lady of Dardale," which is the title of the book. His pro- 
ductions have been published in the collection of New Hampshire 
Poets, Ballou's and Waverly magazines, the Boston Journal, and 
many other papers. The Woman's Illustrated World has pub- 
lished his two serials entitled " All About a Woman," and " Lady 
Geraldine," and stories and verses. 

JOHN H. M'ARLAND 

Was a native of Cambridge, Mass., and a graduate of Harvard 
College. In 1831: he came to Claremont, was the first editor of the 



494 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

National Eagle, and continued in that capacity until 1842. He 
was representative in the New Hampshire legislature in 1839 and 
1840. After leaving Claremont he was editor of the Lowell Jour- 
nal and different newspapers in Boston. He was a ready and 
brilliant writer, and published a book entitled " The Plume," con- 
taining selections of prose and poetry from his writings. He was 
insane for several of the last years of his life, and died in an asy- 
lum at Taunton, Mass., about 1875. 

THOMAS WARNER 

"Was born in Connecticut in 1748, and died in Claremont in 1818. 
He came from that state to Newport about 1789, and soon after 
removed to this town. During the Revolutionary War he served 
with different Connecticut regiments in New York and Long 
Island, from 1775 to 1781, as private and sergeant. He was en- 
gaged in a severe skirmish at Harlem Plains, September 16, and in 
the battle of White Plains, 'October 28,1776. He was selectman 
five years, first in 1795, and last in 1809, and was prominent in 
church matters. He was twice married. His oldest daughter, 
Lucy, married Col. Joseph Alden, of Claremont. His second wife 
was Huldah, daughter of John Blodgett, of Strafford, Conn. The 
oldest daughter by this marriage became the wife of Levi Alden, 
and the second of Lieut. Chester Alden, both of this town, and 
from their unions have descended a majority of the Claremont 
Alden families. 

DR. OSMON B. WAY, 

Son of Gordon Way, was born in Lempster, March 22, 1840 ; 
came to Claremont with his parents when four years old, and 
has since been a resident here, except two or three short inter- 
vals. He was educated at Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, 
studied medicine with the late Prof. A. B. Crosby, M. D., of 
Hanover, and the late Dr. Nathaniel Tolles, of Claremont ; 
and graduated at Dartmouth Medical College, in 1865, receiving 
the first prize for scholarship. He was in practice about eighteen 




DR. OSMON B. WAY. 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 495 

months at South Acworth, and returned to Claremont in 1867, 
where he has since continued in the practice of his profession. 
In December, 1873, he was appointed U. S. examining pension 
surgeon, and resigned in May, 1882. He was a representative 
in the Xew Hampshire legishiture in 1871 and 1872, and has served 
more than twenty-five years as superintendent of schools and high 
school committee. 

JOSEPH WEBER 

Was born in the state of Pennsylvania in 1804. He served an ap- 
prenticeship to the printing business in Norristown, that state; 
worked as a journeyman in Boston a few years ; came to Clare- 
mont in 1836, and became joint publisher with John H. Warland 
of the National Eagle newspaper. In 1842 he bought Mr. War- 
land's interest and became sole proprietor of the establishment and 
editor of the paper. In 1846 he sold the paper and its belongings 
to Messrs. Charles Young and John S. Walker. In 1849 he com- 
menced the publication of the Northern Advocate, and esj)oused 
the cause of the Free Soil party, which he advocated with earnest- 
ness and vigor until 1856, when the Whig and Free Soil parties 
united and became the Republican party, and Mr. Weber took up 
the cause of the new organization. He was a man of positive 
character and decided opinions, which he expressed with force and 
clearness in his paper. He advocated temperance and good mor- 
als whenever he had occasion to speak or write upon these subjects. 
By reason of senile infirmities he sold the Advocate establishment 
in 1882. He was representative in the New Hampshire legislature 
in 1857 and 1858. He was an active member of the Methodist 
church from 1842 until his death. On Sunday evening, December 
3, 1883, as was his custom, he went to prayer-meeting in the 
church vestry, and almost immediatel}'' after taking his seat fell to 
the floor and instantly expired. 

JOHN M. WHIPPLE, 

Son of Joel G. Whipple, was born in Ljniie, September 16, 1834. 
His father and grandfather, Jonathan Whipple, went from Marl- 



496 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

boro', Mass., to Lyme, where the former died June 6, 1859, and 
the latter March 29, 1839. John M. came to Claremont in April, 
1856. In 1857 he was made paymaster of the Monadnock mills 
corporation, which position he held until he was appointed post- 
master, February 10, 1875, and he held that office until February 
22, 1887. He was representative in the New Hampshire legislature 
for the two years from 1889, and member of the executive council 
of the state from January, 1891, to January, 1893. On Septem- 
ber 26, 1860, he married Carrie L., daughter of the late Jonathan 
Miner, of Claremont, by whom he had a son, John M., Jr., clerk 
in the Sullivan Savings Institution, and town treasurer in 1894, 
and a daughter, Lois A. 

DEACON JONATHAN WHITCOMB, 

Son of Jacob Whitcomb, was born at Warner, June 8, 1787, and 
died here January 24, 1«56, on the farm at the foot of Bible hill, 
where he settled when he came to town, about 1824. He was 
chosen deacon of the Congregational church in 1828, and held 
that office until his death — twenty-eight years. His children 
were Francis Whitcomb, who succeeded to the farm on the death 
of his father, and the wife of the late Mighill Dustin. Francis 
Whitcomb died August 29, 1885, since which the farm has been 
owned and occupied by his widow, son, George F. Whitcomb, and 
daughter. Jacob Whitcomb came from Stowe, Mass., and was 
one of the eight first settlers of Henniker, in 1764. From there 
he removed to Warner, and from the latter town Jonathan came 
to Claremont. The farm on which he settled has been owned and 
occupied by the family nearly seventy years. 

DR. FREDEKICK C. WILKINSON 

Was born in the city of Lincoln, Lincolnshire county, England, 
June 12, 1843. He was apprenticed for five years to a veterinary 
surgeon, two years of which he was a student in the Royal Veteri- 
nary College, London. He came to America in 1869, and was 
engaged in caring for the horses of James H. Carter, of Lebanon, 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 497 

two years, during which time he continued the study of the profes- 
sion he had chosen, and practiced some. He came to Claremont in 
1871, which has since been his home, and practiced liis profession 
with a good degree of success until 1884. He then entered Onta- 
rio Veterinary College, Toronto, and graduated in 1887, taking 
the gold medal of his class. He was the first educated veterinary 
physician and surgeon in this section, and has acquired a large 
practice, being called long distances to treat valuable animals. 

HON. ALONZO B. WILLIAMSON 

Was born at Woodstock, Vt., December 20, 1815. He was edu- 
cated at Woodstock, Vt., Academy ; studied law in Claremont with 
P. C. Freeman ; admitted to the bar in 1837 ; practiced in Clare- 
mont from 1842 to 1844 ; then in Cornish about a year. He was 
appointed postmaster at Claremont May 16, 1845, which office he 
lield four years. At the end of this time he resumed the practice 
of his profession and continued it in Claremont until his death. 
In 1850 he was appointed solicitor for Sullivan county, which 
position he held five years. He was elected state senator in 1852, 
and re-elected in 1853. He died March 19, 1860. 

.TOSIAH AVILSON 

Came from Newton, Mass., to Claremont in 1776, bringing his 
wife and two children on horseback. He bought and settled 
on the farm on Maple avenue, now owned by his grandson, Jo- 
siah Wilson, which has been in the family ever since. The 
farm contained eighty acres, and Mr. Wilson bought it of a ^Ir. 
Knights for eight hundred dollars, paying the price with conti- 
nental money, which soon depreciated and finally became almost 
worthless. On the premises was a small log cabin, which was 
replaced in 1780 by a small framed house, now used for a 
granary. Later a commodious two-story house, barns, and other 
buildings were erected. Joseph Wilson had born to him ten 
children — five boys and five girls, — eight of Avhom lived to 
maturity, viz. : Joseph, Jr., Jonathan, Xahum, Josiah F., Lydia, 



498 HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 

Hannah, Abigail, and Mary. Joseph, Jr., Jonathan, and Joseph 
F. settled and died in Haverhill. Josiah, Jr., who married a 
daughter of Deacon Matthias Stone, died at the age of thirty- 
two years, and his body was brought down Connecticut river 
on a raft and buried in West Claremont cemetery. Jonathan 
and Josiah F. lived to old age. Nahum lived on the home farm 
until his death, December 5, 1873. Abigail married Asa Dens- 
more, of Claremont, and had a large family; Lydia married a 
Mr. Dustin, and died young, leaving one son, Selah; Mary mar- 
ried Mr. Stuart, and died in 1841. 

NAHUM WILSOK, 

Son of Joseph, had seven children — five sons and two daugh- 
ters — of whom only two are living — Josiah, who succeeded to 
the care of the farm and of his father in his old age, and the 
widow of Gustavus N. Heath, a near neighbor. These Wilsons 
have been an industrious and thrifty family, and it has been 
said of them that they never oppressed the poor nor turned the 
needy from their door empty handed, 

THOMAS WOOLSON, 

Son of Thomas Woolson, was born at Danvers, Mass., in 1777, 
and came to Claremont about 1813, from which time until his 
death, July 3, 1837, he was prominent in business and politics. 
He was well educated, an intelligent mechanic, and an ingenious 
inventor. His leading business was iron founder and stove 
maker. He invented and had patented the first cooking stove 
that met with any success in the United States, about 1818. 
He also made parlor stoves, some of which are in use at the 
present time, all known as the Woolson stoves. About the same 
time he made the first cast-iron plow ever used. It was with 
considerable difliculty that farmers could be induced to adopt 
them. He had as partner in the furnace business, Roswell Elmer. 
The furnace was located just east of the Sullivan Machinery 
Company's works. Mr. Woolson carried on some other kinds of 



HISTORY OF CLAREMONT. 499 

business alone and with other partners. He made cards for 
carding wool, the teeth being bent and set in the leather by 
hand, an operation in which half the families in town — men, 
women, and children — employed time not otherwise occupied. 
This business w^as continued until a machine was invented which 
did the whole. He had a machine for spinning cotton yarn, 
which was sold to work into tow cloth made by housewives at 
that period. Mr. Woolson also made several town clocks, that 
now in the tower of our town hall being one of them. The 
cards and town clocks were made in a two-story wood building 
on the south side of Sullivan street, a little east of where the 
Dr. L. J. Graves dwelling now stands. He lived and died in a 
one-story house, nearly opposite, on the spot where Dr. Jasper 
Back's house noAV is. Mr. Woolson was representative in the 
New Hampshire legislature in 1825 and 1826; state senator in 
1828; and the same year elector of president and vice-presi- 
dent for New Hampshire, he and his seven colleagues casting 
their votes for John Quincy Adams for president of the United 
States. 

CHARLES JARVIS WOOLSON, 

Son of Thomas Woolson, was born at Chester, Vt., June 26, 1806, 
and came with his parents to Claremont about 1813. His mother 
was a member of the Peabody family, a direct descendant from 
Lieut. Francis Peabody, who came from St. Albans, England, in 
the ship Planter, to Massachusetts in 1635. Charles Jarvis Wool- 
son attended the public schools and the academy kept by the Rev. 
Virgil H. Barber, at West Claremont. When old enough to do so 
he was engaged with his father in the stove and card making busi- 
ness. In 1830 he married Miss Hannah Pomroy, of Cooperstown, 
N. Y., a niece of the late James Fenimore Cooper, the novelist. 
One of their daughters was Miss Constance Fenimore Woolson, the 
famous novel writer and poetess. After the death of his father 
Charles Jarvis Woolson removed to Cleveland, Ohio, established 
an iron foundry and manufactured stoves, which he continued until 
his death, August 6, 1869. Mr. Woolson was a man of fine literary 
taste and attainments, an extensive reader, and at one time was 



500 HISTORY OF CLARExMONT. 

engaged in journalism, being part owner of the New England Pal- 
ladium, published in Boston. For several years immediately pre- 
ceding his death he was senior warden of Grace church, Cleveland. 

CONSTANCE FENIMORE WOOLSON. 

The subject of this sketch, now well and widely known as an 
American authoress, daughter of Charles Jarvis "Woolson and 
granddaughter of Thomas Woolson, was born in Claremont, in the 
house on Sullivan street next west of the Fiske Free Library building, 
built and then owned by her father, now owned and occupied by the 
widow and daughter of Joseph Weber. Her mother was Hannah 
Pomroy Woolson, granddaughter of Judge William Cooper, the 
founder of Cooperstown, N. Y., and niece of James Fenimore 
Cooper. During her early childhood the family removed to Cleve- 
land, Ohio, and Constance, who, when quite young, manifested a 
decided taste for literature, inherited and encouraged and aided by 
both parents, had the best advantages for obtaining a thorough 
education, and being an industrious student, became well grounded 
in English and ancient classics ; and in her long residence in 
Europe acquired a knowledge of the French, German, and Italian 
languages, so that when she entered the literary field she was well 
equipped for the work before her. 

Miss Woolson's first venture was an unpretending descriptive 
tale, published in Harper's Magazine, the proprietors of which were 
not slow in discovering the scholarly talent and originality of the 
author and in securing her exclusive services. Her first books 
were : Castle Nowhere, Lake Country Sketches, Rodman the 
Keeper, Southern Sketches, and Anne. Her later ones : For the 
Major, East Angels, and Jupiter Lights. Horace Chase is but just 
completed. Besides these prose works she has produced the poems 
Kentucky Bells and Two Women, and many very pretty shorter 
poems. 

For the last twelve years Miss Woolson has resided mostly 
abroad, in England, France, Switzerland, Germany, and Italy, and 
has visited Greece, Egypt, and the Holy Land. She died in Yen- 
ice, Italy, January 24, 1894. 



INDEX. 



INDEX OF NAMES. 



A 




1 


Ainsworth, Oliver 


388 






Ralph . 


181, 388 


Abot, Elisha 


316 


Ralph, 2d 


180, 308, 387 


Abbott, Alba D. 


253, 286 


Walter . 


101, 316, 387 


Charles F. . 


140 


Walter H. 


181, 388 


C. Henry 




160 


William E. 


181, 388 


Joseph C. 




248 


Alcock, Cyrus B. 


76 


Samuel C. . 




308 


Alden, Adam 


225. 319, 390 


Adams, Charles G. . 




475 


Atalanta 


319 


Daniel . 




181 


Bedina W. . 


388 


Ephraim 


12, 1 


I, 19, 23 


Benjamin 


319, 388, 390 


Jeffrey Thornton 




302 


•Ciiester . 


320, 494 


John 




68 


Clementina 


320 


Rev. John Colman 




127 


Cynthia . 


320 


Rev. John G. 




126 


Dinah . 


319 


Joseph T. . 




7, 194 


Elvira . 


320 


Rev. Paul S. 




257 


Esther . 


320, 323 


Phinehas 




23 


EzraB. . 


138, 390 


Mrs. Susan J. 




264 


Hannah Kingman 


388 


Adkins, David . 




224 


Hattie L. 


390 


John 


224, 


306, 371 


Henry 


. ■ . 319 


Timothy 




224 


Huldah B. . 


389 


Ager, Hira 




24 


James 


225, 210, 306 


Ainsworth, Amariah . 




314 


314, 320 


323, 371, 388 


Charles H. 181 


309, 313, 387 


Jesse 


315 


Edward . 


225, 236, 272 


John 


240, 388 


309, 


312, 364, 387 


John, 2d 


389 


Edwin 


346, 388 


Joseph . 


157, 320, 366 


Elijah 


387 


Levi 


388, 494 


George J. 


180, 388 


Levi, 2d . 


389 


Harry 


388 


Louisa M. 


388 


James E. 


301, 387 


Lueinda C. . 


388, 390 


Laban 


189, 


309, 387 


Malinda 


319 



504 



INDEX. 



Alden, Mary A. P 

Mary J. 

Polly . 

Priscilla Moline 

Rebekia 

Scheherazade 

Sophia . 

Thomas W. 
Alexander, Abijah 

Daniel S. 
Elijah 
Allds, Jotham G. 

Mrs. Jotham G 
Allen, Alger V. 

Dr. Arthur N 
Bertha S. 
Charles S. 
Eihan 
Hem an . 
Henry W. 
Ira . 
JohnE. . 
John D. . 
Joseph 
Mabel 
MaryB. . 
Moses 
Oscar C. 
Rosa B. . 
Samuel G. 
Yelma G. 
William H 



40. 



H. 



272, 
348, 



Ames, Jno. 
Amidon, John 
Anderson, Major Robert 
Andrews, Achsa 

Amasa 

Amos 

Amos B. 

Irena . 



390 

138. 390 

319 

388 

314 

319 

320 

388 

23 

281 

11, 17, 19 

25, 308, 311 

266, 348 

140 

333, 390 

139 

297 

390, 420, 489 

253, 285 

139 

237 

141, 142 

390 

390 

316 

140, 142 

239, 371 

253, 281 

138 

239 

139 

137, 147 

304, 305, 332 

364, 390, 391 

17 

115 

248 

321 

240, 314, 321 

321 

320 

321 



Andrews, Luman 






321 




Martin 






371 




Samuel H. 






182, 354 


Angel, 


Robert . 






244 


Angier 


, Frank B. 
John C. 






141 
141 


Arm a. 


Garvin 






326, 327 


Armes 


John 






12, 19, 23 


Ashley, Alpha . ■ 






322 




Clowry 






322 




Daniel 






392 




Dewlittle 






322 




Mrs. Eunice 






. 314 




George 






322 




Luther 




179 


, 315, 322 




Oliver 12, 14 


, 21, 


26, 


34, 35, 44 




46, 82, 


104 


, 180, 224 




226, 


227, 


234 


, 236, 240 




305, 


306, 


310 


, 314, 392 




Robert 






322 




Samuel 


9, 


11, 


13. 14, 19 




21 


26, 


32, 


46, 59, 82 




225, 


234, 


235 


. 806, 392 




Samuel, Jr. 


12, 


14, 


21, 22, 26 




236. 


240, 


316 


358, 392 




Sarah . 






322 


Atherton, Joshua 






. 60. 61 


Atkins 


, Anna . 
David . 
Harriet P. 
Israel G. 
Jerome 
John Albro 
Lucia 0. 
Mary . 
Ealph C. 
Reuben 






322, 324 
236 
322 
322 
322 

322, 324 
322 
316 
322. 
315 




Sanmel 




101 


322, 324 




Timothy, Jr. 


21 


, 41 


220, 371 




Thomas J. 






322 


Atkinson, Theodore 






. 12, 23 




Theodore, J 


r. 11 


,12, 


14, 18, 1» 



INDEX. 



i05 



Atwaler, Asaph 




. 31, 82 


Baker, Edward D. 152, 


258, 


262, 312 


Capt. Enos . 




15 


313, 


332, 


394, 395 


Austin, Albert J. 




286 


Georgietta A. . 




141 


Ruel G. 




277, 280 


Henry M. 




456 


William P. 




249, 250 


Horace . 




390 


251, 


254, 


265, 299 


Horace A. 




. 390 


309, 


312, 


393, 473 


Bisliop Osmon C. 




121 


Averill, Luther 




90 


Dr. Oliver 




. 395 


Ayer, Ada J. 




138 


Mrs. 




343 


Henry G. 




297 


Baketel, Rev. 0. S. . 




124, 125 


John L. . 




140 


Balch, John 




345 


Rev. Oliver . 




113, 257 


Rev. W. S. 125, 
Balcom, Bessie R. 


126, 


127, 154 
141, 397 


B 






George L. . 


109, 


151, 152 








201, 202 


303 


313, 341 


Babcoek, Rev. D. C. 




121, 123 


349, 356 


364 


375, 395 


Bacheler, Abel 




93 


George L., Jr. 




397 


Back, Minnie A. 




140 


Henry 




395 


Jasper 




499 


Louis West 




397 


Bacon, Charles H. 




287, 341 


Mary . 




395 


Badger, Joseph 




63 


Micah 




397 


Bailey, Alice F. 




138 


Williams. . 




396 


Annie L. 




140 


Baldwin, Caleb 




307, 327 


Ebenezer E. 120, 


210 


211, 341 


Ball, Albert 


196 


197, 374 


Edwin S. 




139 


F. P. . . 




125 


Erastus B. . 




182, 211 


Balloch, Daniel 




399 


Rev. Giles 




127 


George W. . 




183, 399 


Hattie A. 




139 


Gen. George W. 




399, 400 


Henry E. 




138 


James 


183, 


185, 399 


Herbert 




184, 202 


William 




183 


Mrs. Herbert 




356 


Ballou, Charles E. . 




281 


John 


134 


180, 393 


Charles 0. . 


256, 


277, 280 


Josephine M. 




140 


Rev. Eli 




127 


Kate F. 




140, 142 


Ethan A. 




. 297 


Mary A. 




140, 142 


Bardwell, Charles R. 




300 


Rev.N. M. . 




122 


Lizzie 




138 


Samuel C. 


211 


348, 349 


Barnard, John P. W. 




286 


Susie D. 




140 


Barney, Daniel W. 160 


161, 


163, 354 


Baker, Alfred . 




390 


Harvey 




337 


Charles H. . 




299 


Barnes, Bill 98, 100, 


102, 


203, 224 


Dr. Cyrus E. . 


158 


333, 394 


240, 241, 306, 


316, 


323, 324 


Dimick . 




. 394 


337, 340, 371 


398, 


397, 318 



506 



INDEX. 



Barnes, Bill Andrews 


323, 340 


Batchelder, Alfred T. 


148, 


332, 410 


Daniel 


398 


Rev. Charles R 




109 


Dr. Edward F. 


333 


Huldah . 




317 


Esther . 


323, 398 


E. . . , 




279 


Eunice S. 


323, 324, 398 


Bascom, James P. 




. 281 


Gilbert 


244 


Bates. Amos 




320 


Ira IS^. 


323, 398 


David 


224, 


305, 306 


Lyman 


354 


318, 


319, 


323, 370 


Lyman S. 


398 


.Esther . 




313 


Obed D. 


333, 399 


Ezra 




319, 323 


Mrs. Obed D. 


265, 266 


Hannah . 




320, 324 


Orilla . 


398 


John 




318 


Thomas 


398 


Joseph . 




318 


William A. . 


398 


Levy 




320, 324 


Barber, Eev. Daniel 102, 


103, 129, 366 


Lydia . 




318 


Kabbe . 


317 


Mary 


318 


319, 323 


Stephen 


101 


Mittie . 




315 


Rev. Virgil H. 


102, 103 


Samuel . 


235 


318, 371 


129, 


142, 475, 499 


Solomon 314, 


318, 


320, 324 


Bangs, Judith Fox . 


315 


Submit . 




318 


Sarah 


316 


Baum, Mrs. Samuel . 




355, 356 


Barker, Asa 


244 


Beatty, Francis 




357, 358 


Fred L. 


. 295 


Beauregard, General 




248 


Tileston A. . 


258 


Bedel, Col. Timothy . 




174, 235 


Barrett, Augustus 


210, 474 


Beckwith, Hira R. . 




149 


Charles 


60 


Beeman, Rev. L. 




125 


George A. 


210 


Belfield, Widow Mary 




. 371 


Henry E. 


368 


Belknap, Dr. Jeremy 56 


,59 


216, 217 


William E. . 


139 


Bell, Charles H. 




66 


Barron, Sarah . 


314, 417 


Clara J. . 




141 


Rev. T. 


127 


John J. 




152 


Bartlett, Dr. Albert . 


. 333 


Minnie 




139 


Andrew 


243 


Bellas, Mary R. 




. 397 


Clara E. . 


140 


Bellows, Henry A. 




395 


Joseph S. . 


312, 316 


John . 




. 229 


Lillian M. . 


141 


Benjamin, Judah 




239 


Marion P. . 


139 


Bennett, Seth . 




. 317 


Sylvester . 


182 


Mrs. S. N. . 




355 


William 


330 


Benton, Nathan 




315 


William F. 


161 


Samuel 0. . 




281 


Barrows, Dr. N. 


137 


Berry, Gov. Nathaniel S. 




165 


Barstow, Mrs. Anson S. 


266 




256 


, 258, 492 


Barton, Cyrus . 


153 


Bigley, William H. . 




286 



INDEX. 



507 



Billings, Albert M. 


119 


Bond, George 






161, 401 


J.D 145 


Grace L. . 






141 


Bingham, C. Edward . . 301 


Henry 




11, 


17, 19, 23 


Charles M. 104, 108, 262, 268 


Job . 






401 


272, 305, 311, 354 


Oliver A. 270 


,301 


343 


, 368, 402 


364, 372, 400, 473 


Ruth 






112 


Charles R. . . 372 


William H. 






000 


Eliza ... 372 


Booth, A. George 






270 


George E. ... 328 


Hosea 






372 


James H. . 305, 311, 332 


John Wilkes 






. 362 


347, 372, 374, 400 


Oscar 






298 


Levi .... 372 


Boucher, Delia M. 






140 


Nathan 75, 366, 367, 400 


Orlando A. 






139 


R. S. ... 1.38 


Bouck, Grace T. 






141 


Silas L. 361, 372, 373, 374 


Bouton, Dr. Nathaniel 




416 


Walter . 73, 76, 315, 372 


Bowker, Charles S. 






295 


Blake, Frederick H. . . . 140 


Daniel N. 




208 


, 383, 402 


Blakeslee, Rev. Solomon 100, 101, 144 


Daniel S. 






163 


Blanchard, Florence M. . . 141 




272, 


308 


, 3Q9, 402 


Henry S. . . 300 


Elijah . 






402 


Mrs. Mary . . 265 


Bowler, John 






. 295 


Ora D. . 140, 212, 310 


Bowman, Ruel . 






161, 354 


William H. . . 253 


Selwin R. 






288 


Bliss, Alden J 340 


Bishop Thomas 




123 


Katie 1 139 


Bradford, Amos F. 






281 


Blodgett, Albro 139, 249, 255, 272, 304 


Bradley, Cinthia 






. 322 


311, 346, 348, 349, 359 


Elizabeth 






324 


George W. 159, 160, 161, 250 


Hannah 






322, 324 


251, 305, 308, 424 


Jonathan 




322 


324, 371 


Huldah ... 494 


Lydia . 






. 315 


John . 


182, 371, 494 


Ranna . 






322 


Luke . 


316 


Breck, Charles P. 


145, 


177, 


310, 313 


Rozey . . 


. 316 


Henry 






177, 403 


Samuel 


316 


John'T. . 


. 




402 


Blood, Ned W. . 


140 


Sarah McD. 






. 403 


Bolio, Frank 


. 287 


Susan L. 






403 


Horace . 


281 


William . 


177, 


307, 


326, 371 


Bond, Daniel 


315, 401,J402 


William, 2d 


145, 


160, 


313, 402 


Daniel, Jr. 


401, 402 


Breckenridge, John C 


. 




262 


David 


000 


Brewer, Ebenezer 






. 321 


Ellen M. . 


266, 402 


James P. 


106, 


312 


361, 473 


Mrs. E. M. 


000 


Mrs. Matilda 






315, 321 



508 



INDEX. 



Brickett, Mrs. James 
Brewster, John H. 
Susannah 
Briggs, Arnold . 

272, 309, 

Augusta . 

Fred. A. 

George A. 

Joseph G. 

Myra L. 

Sarah E. 

William H 
Brooks, Annie J. 

Asahel . 

Azel 

Barnabas 

Capt. Benjamin 

32, 

93, 

236, 

Benjamin, Jr. 

93, 
228, 

Cornelius . 93, 

Emily E. 

Dr. George W 

Hartley L. 

John . 220, 

Kate E. 

Lyman J. 
Brough, Charles D. 
Brown, Albert W. 

Amos 

Kev. Charles 

Daniel . 

Edward . 

Frank H. 152, 305, 

George E. 

Hollis S. 

James 

Josiah S. 

LeviB. . 







266 






154 






317 




200, 


201 


312, 


353 


354 
140 




270, 


379 




110, 


375 




203, 


313 
140 
141 

297 
138 


236, 


240 


370 
227 


225, 


227 


228 
30 


33, 


34 


39 


220, 


225 


228 


305, 


306 


370 


15,30,31, 32 1 


94, 


225 


227 


236, 


240 


370 


225, 


228 


370 
140 
334 
364 


227 


228 


370 
139 
410 
288 
287 
403 
414 
317 
200 


313, 


332 


404 

287 
288 
181 
281 
469 



Brown, Oscar J. 


146, 


160, 161 


271 


312, 338, 


375, 376 


404 


Mrs. Oscar J. 




92 


Ralph N. 


253, 


287 


Susan A. 




404 


Buckman, David 




158 


Buel, Charles G. 




309 


Bugbee, John 




243 


Bunnell, Abel . 




404 


Betsey . 




112 


Jesse . 




112 


Mehitabel . 




112 


MiUy . 




112 


Mrs. Robert R. 




266 


Burbank, Asher S. 




300 


Eugene D. . 


140, 


142 


MabelleR. . 




141 


Burchard, Rev. Mr. . 




90 


Burgoyne, General 




238 


Burke, Edmund . 


153, 


332 


Emma J. 


141, 


142 


Burnham, Semore 




317 


Burns, James 




381 


Thomas 






287 


Burpee, Aaron 






378 


Butcher, John 






288 


Butler, Achsa 






314 


Anis 






315 


Asaph 






239 


Ezra 




239, 


371 


Dr. J. N 






414 


William 






337 



Cady, Polly 
Caffrey, Matthew 
Camp, Fred C. . 
Campbell, Albion R. 

Rev. W. W 
Canty, Daniel 
Carey, Ezekiel . 



217 
341 
331 
331 
105 
124, 341 
347 



INDEX. 



509 



Carey, Nicholas . 


101 


Chase, Betsey . 


. 322 


Carleton, A. H. . 


137 


Rev. Dr. Carlton . 


106, 107 


Elijah S. 


288 


108, 250, 257 


Rufus . 


160, 409 


405, 406, 458 


Samuel 


208 


Charles F. 


139 


Samuel S. 


281. 288 


Daniel . . . 


116, 327 


Stephen 


367 


328, 


332, 367, 406 


Carroll, Charles . 


286 


Dudley T. 


211, 406 


Hannah M. 


141 


Elijah . 


322 


Carter, Hosea B. 


64 


Farah 


. 317 


James H. 


496 


Francis . 


316, 322 


Cartland, Samuel 


194 


Rev. Francis . 


101, 137 


Case, Ira . 


92 


Henry 


. 143 


Cass, John 


11, 17, 19, 23 


Ithamer . 


366, 458 


Joseph 


. 12, 19, 23 


Jonathan 


226, 315 


Rev. T. G. 


114 


LeviR. . 


149 


Cassidy, Elizabeth A. 


140 


Lebbeus . 


245, 406 


Caterling, Gideon 


239 


Mariah . 


322 


Chadwick, J. C. 


125 


Mary 


322 


Chaffin, Alvaro L. 


298 


Rev. Moses 


118 


John W. 


313 


Ovid 


163 


Levi . 


. 315 


Rt. Rev. Philander 


405 


WiUiam E. . 


139 


Robert H. 


277, 280 


William H. 


259, 277, 280 


Salmon P. 


. 458 


Chamberlin, Fanny 


138 


Samuel . 


82, 226 


Mary 


143 


Samuel L. 


154 


Simeon 


. 11, 14, 21 


William . 


317 


Chandler, Ira F. 


331 


Chellis, Burt 


139, 304, 305 


Xellie C. 


141 


332, : 


538, 356, 409 


Selden S. 


252, 285 


Freeman S. . 


354, 409 


Chapin, Bela 


26, 151, 407 


Mrs. Freeman S. 


181, 266 


Henry . 


92 


Maria B. 


139, 142 


Samuel . 


407 


Rush. . 


139 


Chapman, Isaac 


245 


Cheney, Colonel 


68 


Samuel W. 


301 


IraD. . 


. 288 


Charlton, Edwin A. 


143, 145, 405 


Chittenden, Thomas . 


52, 54 


Walter 


405 


Christie, Henry A. 


. 271 


Chase, Alice C. . 


140, 142 


Church, C. C. . 


143, 258 


Arthur . 


154, 251, 255, 266 


Cilley, Col. Joseph 


235 




272, 333, 354, 406 


Claggett, Wyseman . 


63 


Arthur, Jr. 


. 140 


Clapp, Roswell . 


315, 371 


Austin C. 


270 


Clark, Benjamin 


236 



510 



INDEX. 



Clark, Cephas . . 




316 


Colby, Henry ... 70, 309 


Dan 


239 


Ira . 161, 309, 312, 410 


Rev. Edward W. . 


91, -262, 263 


Ira, Jr. . . . 66, 70, 123 


272, 


273, 354, 362 


137, 147, 149, 152, 249, 253 


Eleazer 35, 


119, 224, 226 


255, 262, 303, 304, 312, 313 


236, 


306, 319, 371 


332, 364, 375, 376, 410, 411 


Eleazer, Jr. . 


. 224 


Ira Gordon . . .411 


Erastus . 




118 


Joshua . . 70, 311, 312 


Esther . 




319 


Colburn, Sanford ... 286 


Francis . 




297 


Cole, Abner .... 98 


Erancis E. 




91 


Ammendlees . . . 322 


John 




235 


Amos . . . 226, 371 


Maurice L. 




139 


Anne C. . . . 314, 413 


Moses . 




409 


Nehemiah ... 322 


Nettie . 




140 


Samuel 32, 97, 98,225, 226, 229 


Theophilas 




307 


239, 305. 370, 411, 413 


William . 




160 


Sarah .... 322 


209. 


251, 304, 305 


Timothy . . 314, 322, 371 


309, 


310, 367, 409 


Coley, Walter .... 317 


Clay, D. A. . . 


196 


Collamer, Jacob ... 378 


Clement, Bartlett . ^^ 


181, 308, 359 


Colston, Charles F. . 253, 254, 288 


Decastro 


. 321 


Comings, Darwin . , . 138 


Irene . 


. 321 


Commins, Mr 226 


Sumner 


. 12,17 


Joseph . . 315 


Wyman R. . 


253, 281 


Conant, Amos . . . 225, 236 


Zenas . 


311 


240, 314, 321, 323, 371 


Cleveland, Decastro . 


. 324 


Betsey . . 321, 323 


Isaac 


314, 321, 324 


Charles ... 321 


Mamre 


321, 324 


Cynthia . . . 321 


Nancy 


. 321 


Ebenezer 240, 320, 321, 323 


Sarah 




321 


Elizabeth ... 321 


Clinton, DeWitt 




366 


Ezra .... 321 


George 




47 


Mary .... 320 


Clogston, Sylvester . 




259 


Mellesent . . . 320 


Clow, John 




315 


Ralph .... 321 


Coburn, Paschal P. . 


204, 350 


Rosan S. . . . 321 


Cogswell, P. B. . 


. 152 


Samuel ... 321 


Colby, Anthony . 


165, 492 


Stephen . . . 316 


D.C. 


255, 258 


Cone, Lyman H. . . . 288 


Dr. Enoch F. . 


334 


Cook, Elias .... 316 


George 


301 


Elizabeth ... 320 


Gilbert E. 




298 


EmmaF. ... 413 



INDEX. 



511 



Cook, Frances B. . . . 389 


Cotton, John . 




101 


Frank C 389 


Luther . 


236 


George . 189, 316, 327, 330 


Nathaniel 


311 


Godfrey . . 189, 330, 412 


Sarah . 


323 


Horace W. . . . 301 


Thomas . 


323 


John . 179, 240, 306, 327 


Coult, Rev. A. C. 


123 


Capt. John . . 329, 330 


Cowles, Amos 


240 


357, 371, 411, 412 


Austin T. 


161 


Matilda .... 412 


Emma L. 


138 


Miranda .... 412 


Henry C. 


160, 309, 353 


Nancy L. ... 320 


James A.