(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the town of Gilsum, New Hampshire from 1752 to 1879"

V 




(4*w 








C* >- s t- 







t 






HISTOEY 



OF THE 



TOWN OF GILSUM 



NEW HAMPSHIRE, 



FE/OM 1752 TO 1879 



WITH MAPS AND ILLUSTRATIONS. 



BY SILVANUS HAYWARD, A. M. 



" The kindly spot, the friendly town, where every one is known, 
And not a face in all the place but partly seems my own." 



PRINTED FOR THE AUTHOR, 

BY JOHN B. CLARKE, MANCHESTER, N. H. 

l88l. 



JV. B. Persons discovering mistakes, or able to supply omissions, are urgently 
requested to write the same to the author immediately. 



Copyright, 1881, by Silvanus Hayward. 






PREFACE. 



This History has grown out of the Centennial Address of 1872, (Page 11G.) Begun in 1875, it has occupied 
more than five busy years. At the annual meeting in 1870, the town voted $500 towards an edition of 250 copies, 
each tax-payer having the privilege of buying a copy at a corresponding reduction in price. The town afterwards 
voted $80 towards the expense of general views, and $50 to secure the portraits of Capt. Hurd, Elder Kilburn, 
and Gen. Mack. The views were selected by a Committee, consisting of Daniel Smith, Silvanus Hayward, Will- 
iam A.. Wilder, J. Qiiiucy Pickering, Josiah G-uillow, William L. Isham, and Solomon Mack. It was intended to 
secure a view of the East part of the town, but much to the regret of the Committee, no satisfactory result was 
obtained. Private views and other portraits have been inserted at the expense of parties interested. 

National and State affairs are not legitimate to a Town History, except such occasional brief statements as 
may be necessary to explain some town action. Primitive habits and customs have been so fully and vividly por- 
trayed in other histories, as well as in the newspapers of almost every season, that it has not seemed wise to enter 
that beaten path wherein one could scarcely hope to overtake, much less surpass his predecessors. Hence, this 
work claims to be nothing more than a local record of events pertaining to this little town, during the century and 
a quarter of its existence. 

Accuracy, completeness, brevity, and impartiality have been my aim; how nearly reached, others must judge. 

The inaccuracy of traditions is surprising. Traced back to their source, a nucleus of fact will usually be 
found, but almost unrecognizable under the accretions of two or three generations. 

It is much to be regretted that the town records for the first twenty-five years are not to be found; how lost, is 
uncertain. These were the most important and valuable of all our records, and the loss is irreparable. 

Repetition could not be entirely avoided. For the sake of brevity, however, vital statistics are mostly omitted 
from Biographical sketches, and historical facts from the Genealogies. Consequently, to learn the history of any 
person, the name must be sought not only in the Genealogy, but also in every place referred to in the Index. 

While abhorring that namby-pamby, jelly-fish goodiness that cannot be classed as belonging anywhere, or 
having any opinions of its own, I have, nevertheless, carefully endeavored to avoid all such partizanship in politics 
or religion, as can give reasonable offense to any. 

The stand-point of time is the year 1879, unless otherwise indicated. 

It has been found impossible to arrange the chapters in logical order of sequence. Those who are fastidious 
in this respect can easily satisfy their more logical minds by reading the chapters in the order of their own choice. 

Part II is believed to be hitherto unique in its design; — at least, I have met nothing similar in any town 
history. It is an attempt to give a brief mention of the several families residing upon every spot where has stood 
a dwelling. Only a few wood-choppers' shanties have been purposely omitted. The record is necessarily incom 
plete, and at the close of each list of residents, it will generally be safe to add the words, and others. 

The maps locate every road, and every residence from the first settlement to the present time, so far as can be 
ascertained. They represent not less than a year of solid work, being the result of a minute survey by the author, 
assisted by Edwin D. Hayward of Winchendon, Mass. 

Public invitation was given to all to furnish sketches and portraits of themselves and friends, and whatever 
was received in season, has been for substance inserted, so that none can complain of being slighted. Obituary 
notices and letters of friends and acquaintance have been freely used. Except in a few cases where I have pecu- 
liar facilities of a personal knowledge, the responsibility of estimates of character has been thrown upon others. 
It should be remembered also, that the length of a notice is no criterion of a person's relative worth or prominence. 
It only indicates that more particulars were communicated to the author. It would have been easy to have added 
a piquant flavor gratifying to many, by collecting the gossip and scandal of a century past, or by sharply sketching 
the prominent traits of peculiar characters. Except, however, in a few notable instances that could not well be 
left out, criminal records, and gross defects of character have been carefully omitted. In all cases, I have intended 



4 GIL SUM. 

to make the record as I should wish it to be done, if each person were rny own relative. Humani nihil a me 
alienum puto. 

Part III from a small beginning, continually grew upon my hands to the last moment of going to press, and 
five years more of labor would hardly exhaust the field of research. It contains more than 10,000 names exclu- 
sive of ancestral records. As "king Ahasuerus laid a tribute upon the land, and the isles of the sea," so have I 
laid tribute upon all accessible resources, town records, family Bibles, family and town histories, gravestones, pri- 
vate diaries, the memory of the aged, &c. &c. Accuracy in dates is almost an impossibility. Records obtained 
from different branches of the same family, very rarely agree. Even dates sent by the same person at different 
times are frequently unlike. Add to these the cemetery and town records, and we sometimes have three different 
dates for the birth or death of the same person. To decide certainly between them is often impossible. I have 
generally taken what seemed to me to be the best authority, but in a few instances have given a double date. 
Honorary titles have been mostly omitted, except where needed for identification. 

Out of more than a thousand letters, about fifty have failed to reach the persons addressed. A few have re- 
ceived no reply. Three or four persons have declined giving any information. One only sent an insulting answer. 
My first thought was to print it, for future generations to see and laugh at, but remembering Uncle Toby and the 
fly, I forbear. 

My grateful acknowledgments are due for the courtesy and helpful kindness of both strangers and townsmen. 
Special mention should be made of John Ward Dean the accomplished Librarian of the Mass. Historical and 
Genealogical Society, George Hammond of Rennet's Corners, N. Y., and Isaac W. Hammond of Concord, N. H. 
My elder daughter has rendered invaluable service, especially in the preparation of the Genealogies. 

My work is ended, but far from finished. None can be more sensible of its defects than the author. For 
those who may be surprised at its mistakes, which must be many. I can only wish a personal experience of the 
same kind of work. S. H. 

SOUTHBRIDGE, MASS., April 1881. 



CONTENTS. 



PAGE 

Chapter I. Introductory 9. 

Chapter II. Natural History 10. 

Chapter III. Indians 16. 

Chapter IV. Charter and Proprietorship 17. 

Chapter V. Formation of Surry and Sullivan 29. 

Chapter VI. Vermont Troubles 32. 

Chapter VII. Gilsum in the Revolution 34. 

Chapter VIII. War of 1812-15 40. 

Chapter IX. Militia 41. 

Chapter X. War of the Rebellion 43. 

Chapter XI. Fires and Fire Company 46. 

Chapter XII. Paupers and Lawsuits 50. 

Chapter XIII. Roads and Bridges 53. 

Chapter XIV. Cemeteries 62. 

Chhpter XV. General Finances 79. 

Chapter XVI. Town Officers 80. 

Chapter XVII. Political Parties 86. 

Chapter XVIII. Anti-slavery 88. 

Chapter XIX. Temperance 91. 

Chapter XX. Ecclesiastical History 97. 

Chapter XXI. Schools 125. 

Chapter XXII. Libraries and Lyceums 132. 

Chapter XXIII. Industries 136. 

Chapter XXIV. Census Returns 145. 

Chapter XXV. Celebrations 149. 

Chapter XXVI. Casualties 151. 

Chapter XXVH. Hunting Stories 155. 

Chapter XXVIII. Salmagundi 159. 

Chapter XXIX. First Settler 169. 

Chapter XXX. Proprietors 171. 

Chapter XXXI. Professional and Literary 176. 

Chapter XXXII. Residents in District Number Three 188. 

Chapter XXXIII. Residents in District Number One 196. 

Chapter XXXIV. Residents in District Number Six 208. 

Chapter XXXV. Residents in District Number Four 211. 

Chapter XXXVI. Residents in District Number Two 218. 

Chapter XXXVDI. Residents in District Number Seven 236. 

Chapter XXXVjTI. Residents in District Number Five 245. 

Genealogies ................... 253. 

Genealogical Additions and Corrections 426. 

Miscellaneous Addenda ................. 431. 

Appendix 435. 

General Index 451. 

Index to Genealogies 463. 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Gilsuxn Village from the Southwest . Fronl 


ispiece. 


Silvanus Hayward ..... 


7. 


Bearden ....... 


10. 


Vessel Rook ...... 


. 12. 


Daniel Smith 


43. 


Isaac W. Hammond .... 


. 44. 


Hammond or Polley Bridge .... 


60. 


Aaron D. Hammond .... 


. 80. 


Daniel W. Bill 


81. 


Group of Representatives 


. 85. 


A. W. Kingsbury ...... 


90. 


Luther Hemenway ..... 


. 96. 


Old Meeting House and Stone Bridge . 


103. 


Madam Fish 


. 106. 


Ezra Adams 


114. 


Horace Wood 


. 116. 


Hartley Thurston 


128. 


Village from Northeast with Granite Mill 


. 139. 


WillardBill 


149. 


Group of Citizens 


. 167. 


Residence of E. W. Gunn .... 


170. 


David Kilburn 


. 176. 


K. D. Webster ...... 


182. 


Theron Howard 


. 184. 


Harvey A. Bill 


185. 


Oscar A. Mack 


. 186. 


Elijah Gunn 


188. 


Samuel Woodward 


. 191. 


Residence of Lansing W. Wilder 


192. 


Robert Lane Hurd .... 


. 194. 


David Bill 


197. 


Dudley Smith ...... 


. 200. 


David Fuller 


201. 


Mark W. Fuller 


. 202. 


Lower Village ...... 


204. 


John Hammond ..... 


. 208. 


Hammond Hollow 


210. 



Residence of Levi Mansfield 

Residence of Charles W. Rawson 

Claudius B. Hayward 

Residence of George W. Newman 

N. O. Hayward 

Amherst Hayward 

Sarah F. Hayward . 

Ezra Webster .... 

Newman's Store and Buildings . 

Ebenezer Jones' 

Chilion Mack 

Solomon Mack 

Israel B. Loveland 

A. P. Hemenway 

James Downing 

Residence of Daniel W. Bill . 

Stephen Collins 

Moses Fish .... 

Whitney D. Foster 

Elisha W. Gunn 

J. E. W. Hammond 

Residence of Amherst Hayward 

Samuel Isham, Jr. 

Isaac Loveland 

Luther W. Mark . 

Newman Family 

Residence of Daniel Smith . 

Residence of C. B. Hayward 

Eseck T. Willson 

H. M. Hayward 

George W. Hammond . 

Elisha S. Fish 

Maria T. Dart 

Lot Map .... 

Map Explanations . ' . 

Town Map .... 

Village Map .... 



. 216. 

218. 
. 221. 

223. 
. 225. 

227. 
. 227. 
. 231. 

234. 
. 237. 

238. 
. 240. 

241. 
. 242. 

249. 
. 266. 

289. 
. 307. 

308. 
. 319. 

320. 
. 323. 

343. 
. 355. 

360. 
. 371. 

392. 
. 416. 

420. 
. 433. 

441. 
. 446. 

450. 
. 24. 

168. 
Pocket. 
Pocket. 



HISTORY OF GILSUM. 



PART I. 

HISTORICAL 



FA.CTA. JPA,TRTT2£. 



" Say not thou, what is the cause that the former days were better than these ? for thou dost not inquire 
wisely concerning this. " 



ERRATA, 



Before reading the book, please make the following corrections with pen or pencil. 
Page 13. Eighteenth line, — omit larch. 

Fifth line, — for map, read table. 
Nineteenth line, — for Brigham, read Bingham. 

In list of Selectmen, — for Briggs, read Griggs ; after Samuel Whitney, 1788, insert 1792,-1,-6,-7, 
-9,-10,-3,-4,-5; for Bawson, read Rawson. 

In list of Justices, — after Samuel Isham, insert Jr. 
Last line, — after Adolphe for F. C., read C. F. 
Thirteenth line, — for Bliss, read Blish. 

Tenth line, — for wfe, read wife. 

Eighteenth line, — after James, insert W. 

Eighth line, — for 1846, read 1816. 

Eleventh line, — for below, read above. 

Second line, — for 2 Lots, read 2nd Lots. 

Thirteenth line from bottom, — before Fisherville, insert afterwards to. 

Third line, — before grandson, insert great. 

Fourth line, — before grandson, insert great. 

Tenth line, — for Boileau, read Bolio. 

Fourteenth line from bottom, — for Titraut, read Titraux. 

Twenty-third line from bottom, — for Titraut, read Titraux; fifth line from bottom, — after Davis, 

Twentieth line from bottom, — after Thomas, omit D. 

Twenty-third line, — for — — Stamford, read Willis Stanford. 

Fourteenth line, — after Herbert, for E., read C. 

Twelfth line from bottom, — after Moses, for G., read E. 

Nineteeenth line from bottom, — for Eli, read Hilaire; after Herbert, for D., read C. 

Sixteenth line, — for he soon left, read he. left after two years. 

Seventh line, — for A. F. C, read A. C. F. ; tenth line, — after Herbert, for E., read C. 

Sixth line, — after Israel Loveland, insert Jr. 

Thirteenth line from bottom, — for Maturin, read Marturin. 

Twentieth line from bottom, — at end of line, add down. 



Page 26. 


Page 59. 


Page 81. 


1800,4,-6,-8,-i 


Page 85. 


Page 96. 


Page 99. 


Page 101. 


Page 119. 


Page 131. 


Page 154. 


Page 175. 


Page 180. 


Page 184. 


Page 185. 


Page 190. 


Page 191. 


Page 192. 


omit H. 


Page 196. 


Page 198. 


Page 204. 


Page 216. 


Page 224. 


Page 227. 


Page 236. 


Page 241. 


Page 247. 


Page 439. 



GI L S U M. 



CHAPTER I. 

INTRODUCTORY. 

Few enterprises can be of greater importance or more absorbing interest than to trace the 
present condition of families or communities back to its sources, and record the various influ- 
ences which have molded the character of individuals, or villages, or towns, or nations. To 
portray not only events, but the causes out of which they grew and the results to which they 
tend, is the office of the historian. Launching his canoe upon the wide stream of the present, 
he must urge it upward to the mountain ranges of the past, and under the shadows of its ancient 
forests, through tangled thickets and up rocky defiles, on foot and alone, he must press on, till 
he can bring back the story of each brook and rill, whether oozing from the mire of gloomy 
swamps, or crawling from stagnant pools, or springing in fresh beauty amid the moss of crystal 
springs. Thence returned, he must spread the sails of some larger craft, till, borne swiftly down 
the resistless river, he reaches the shoreless sea of the great humanity of the future. This 
were indeed a noble task. This, to the extent of his ability, the historian of state or nation is 
privileged to perform. But sundry limitations hedge about the town historian, not so much 
restraining his feet from the paths of exploration, as forbidding his lips to divulge the secrets he 
may have learned. The historian of New Hampshire may express his judgment of the charac- 
ter and influence of measures, or parties, or individuals, with the utmost freedom. He may be 
criticised and controverted, his opinions may not be accepted, but no one will accuse him of 
transcending the legitimate province of an historian. But not so in writing a town history. 
It is only in very general terms that opinions, or even facts, otherwise than favorable concern- 
ing individuals or families, can be recorded. Very many facts must be entirely suppressed by 
the town historian, or both himself and his book will be swept away in a storm of indignation. 
From the influence of a single individual, from the coming in of a certain family, from the 
preaching of a certain system of doctrines, from the circulation of certain books or newspapers, 
from the prevalence of certain political ideas, the character and real history of almost every town 
have been greatly controlled ; its business prosperity, its tendencies to virtue or vice, its elevation 
or degradation, have been determined. But the circumstances of the case forbid the historian 
from making the record. He must nearly follow the old maxim, "Nil de mortuis nisi bonum." 
He cannot contribute to social science the true story of " The Jukes " of his native town, nor mount 
upon the pillory of disgrace the names of his neighbors deemed worthy of that bad eminence. He 
is often, also, restrained from expressing all his convictions in reference to the good accomplished 
by certain men, or measures, or principles. People are apt to be jealous of hearing others 
highly extolled. The state historian can compare both men and measures, and pass judgment 
upon each in the light of results and by the application of examples gathered from other states 
and from other times. But nowhere more than in town history is felt the force of the saying, 
" Comparisons are odious." Thus limited, the town historian cannot illuminate his work with 
philosophical speculations, or embellish it with poetical fancies, or even adorn it with the graces 
of rhetoric, but only rehearse, in plain language, the simple record of unvarnished facts. 
i 



10 GILSUM. 

CHAPTER II. 

NATURAL HISTORY. 

" To him who in the love of Nature holds 
Communion with her visible forms, she speaks 
A various language." 

The forty-third parallel of north latitude crosses the southern extremity of the town of 
Gilsum, and the seventy-second meridian west from Greenwich passes about twelve miles east of 
the village. 

Gilsum is in form somewhat like a boot, or a carpenter's square, having the village at the 
instep of the boot, or the inner angle of the square. It is bounded north by Alstead and Mar- 
low, east by Stoddard and Sullivan, south by Sullivan and Keene, and west by Surry. The 
Ashuelot* River flows through the town in a south-westerly course from Marlow to Surry. Into 
this river run many brooks from all parts of the town, as shown on the map. 

Gilsum has two small natural ponds or lakes. Cranberry Pond, situated near Marlow line, 
is about twenty rods long and fifteen wide. Its outlet is the brook that enters the Ashuelot 
some forty rods above the residence of Josiah Guillow. The other pond contains only a few 
square rods, and is not known to many persons. It is, however, a permanent pond and contains 
some fish. It is situated on the south-west part of David A. Roundy's farm. 

Geologically, Gilsum was formed in what Prof. Hitchcock calls the " Atlantic or Gneissic 
Period," and suffered no special change till the " Mica Schist Period," when its eastern half 
was covered with the new formation. The scratches of the " Glacial Period " lie in a south-east- 
erly direction. They can be very plainly seen on the ledges east of the Deacon Mark place. The 
surface is hilly, or almost mountainous, the village being about 780 f feet above sea level. 
The lowest point is where the river enters Surry, about 162 feet J lower than the village street. 
The highest point is probably near the east end of the town, next to Stoddard line, about 700 
feet above the village. The summit of the hill east of the town line, near the south end of Surry 
Mountain, is nearly the same height, and the top of Mansfield hill and the height in C. B. 
Hayward's pasture, south-east of the Converse place, do not fall fifty feet below. The west line 
of the town, crossing the line near the foot-bridge below William Kingsbury's, runs along the 
eastern slope of Surry Mountain, passing a little west of the summit at the south end. 

The early deeds speak of Surry Mountain as " a great Mountain." It extends about four 
miles in a north and south direction. Near its center there is a notch in which lies Lily Pond. 
This is west of the present Gilsum line, and is specially remarkable for its great depth, sound- 
ings of eighty feet having been tried without reaching bottom. Near the east line of the town, 
next to Sullivan, is a remarkable ledge facing the west, called " Bearden " in the earliest known 
records. Prom the perpendicular, and in some places overhanging, ledges at the summit, some 
tremendous force has rent huge masses of rock and thrown them one upon another in every con- 
ceivable form of disorder. Under and among these rocks are numberless holes and dens, some 
of considerable size, now populous with hedgehogs, but formerly furnishing shelter to wolves and 
bears, especially the latter. The rocks are mostly irregular in shape, as well as in size and posi- 

* This is the original Indian name, and is said to mean a collection of many waters. (Keene Annals.) 

t Hitchcock's Geology of N. H., Vol. I., p. 385, says 926 feet, but the later contour maps from the same authority give it as 
above. 

( Taken in the road, the river being some eight feet lower. 



NATURAL HISTORY. 11 

tion, but in some places are wedged together almost like masonry. One obelisk, some twenty feet 
long and three and a half square, and nearly as regular as if wrought by the stone-cutter, was 
apparently caught while falling, and remains with one end held fast by overlying rocks, while 
the other extends some twelve feet horizontally, almost like a beam projecting from the side of a 
building. Huge rocks, of hundreds or even thousands of tons, are found with the shelving 
under side hollowed into countless cavities, with the appearance of having been long subjected to 
the action of falling water. In these holes birds' nests are sometimes found. At the foot of 
Bearden lies a small swamp, the principal source of the Beaver Brook, which runs thence in a 
southerly direction through Keene. About forty rods south-west from the Bearden ledges, where 
precipitous rocks rise on either hand, it falls over beds of green moss, forming a cascade much 
smaller, but perhaps more beautiful, than the well-known " Beaver Falls " of Keene, five miles 
below on the same stream. 

The Hemenway Brook furnishes another fine fall, just above the river road, half a mile from 
the village. It flows in an almost continuous cascade from the Hemenway place to the river. 

Thirty or forty rods below the stone bridge, on the north side of the river, in the face of the 
perpendicular cliff, is an inaccessible notch or seat, called " The Devil's Chair." Though this 
has no great interest in itself, yet the narrow defile below, through which the river dashes and 
winds and twists among enormous bowlders, is, in picturesque beauty, scarcely inferior to the 
scenery of White Mountain glens. 

Along the banks of Beaver Brook are many gravelly ridges of an artificial appearance. They 
are called " kames," and are supposed by geologists to have been deposited from melting ice.* 
The longest of these is below the old Bridge place in Keene, where the road runs along its top 
for more than a mile. Others similar to this, but of small extent, lie between the road and the 
Mark meadow. At the upper end of the meadow, on the east side of the brook, are found others 
of the same gravelly character, but, instead of lying parallel to the general course of the stream, 
they are arranged in a series of connected circles, or rather ovals, giving to the unscientific eye 
an almost irresistible impression that they were erected by the hand of man for purposes of 
defense. The largest extends about twelve rods from north to south, and six from east to 
west. On the north-west is an opening about three rods wide. The ridge itself is from two and 
a half to three rods wide at the base, and raised from eight to fifteen feet above the swamp on 
either side. 

About a mile south-west of this, on the farm of Capt. David Bill, is a spot called " Cranberry 
Hole." This is a circular opening in the woods, about ten rods in diameter, apparently a bed 
of moss, but over which one cannot walk except in winter. It was doubtless once a pond, but 
gradually filled with moss, till no water is visible above the surface. Blueberry bushes and other 
shrubs crowd its edge, and the cranberries, which gave its name, have mostly disappeared. It 
may have been originally a beaver pond. ( Page 15.) From it, on the east, flows a small 
stream, which, uniting with another from the south, forms what is known as the Fish Brook, one 
of the principal tributaries of Beaver Brook. 

Like other hilly regions, Gilsum is not wanting in variety of minerals. The prevailing rock 
is a coarse granite, interspersed with smaller specimens of the stones common to such a forma- 
tion. Crystals of tourmaline and quartz are frequently met with, and occasionally small speci- 
mens of beryl. Garnets are abundant. After a shower, the village street, as well as many 
other roads, is noticeably red with innumerable garnets of the finest quality, but so minute 
as to be unavailable for the jeweler. Mica has been extensively quarried a short distance 

* Hitchcock's Geology of N. H., Vol. III., p. 12, et sq. 



12 GIL SUM. 

north of the town line in Alstead, and abounds in many of the Gilsum rocks. Hornblende and 
actinolite are not rare. On the " minister lot " in the south part of the town is a large quartz 
ledge, whence fine specimens of rose quartz have been taken. Other smaller " white ledges " 
are found in several parts of the town. 

Surry Mountain has always been thought to be rich in ore. There have been many traditions 
of finding pure lead there. It was said the Indians obtained bullets by simply cutting off pieces 
of lead from a ledge, of which they alone knew the locality. It is a family tradition that Capt. 
David Fuller, while crossing the mountain to his work, found lead which he cut off with his ax, 
and afterwards run into bullets, but that he never could find the place again. Nearly ninety 
years ago, after long-continued fires in the woods on the west side of the mountain, places were 
seen where little streams of molten lead had run down the rocks. Lead and silver are certainly 
to be found there in considerable quantities, and recent explorations have brought to light both 
gold and copper. Attempts at mining have been often made, but without profitable results. In 
1878, a vein of silver mingled with lead and gold, was opened at the north end of the mountain. 
Specimens of the ore are said to compare favorably with those from Arizona. 

At the top of the mountain, about west of the farm now occupied by Bradley Stone, plumbago 
of the very finest quality has been found. Large lumps of the same mineral have been dug up 
on the land of Luke Houghton, just above the village. 

Iron is indicated in numerous places by the appearance of red oxide in the soil, about the 
springs, or on the rocks, and also by the deflection of the magnetic needle. On Surry Mountain, 
especially in the vicinity of Lily Pond, it is impossible to run lines by the needle, on account of 
the local attraction. 

A little east of Mill Brook, on land belonging to F. A. Howard, is a cold spring strongly 
impregnated with iron and sulphur, and probably as valuable for medicinal use as many of 
famous resort. It is now covered with accumulations of soil. It is to be hoped the enterprise 
of the future will unseal and develop its salubrious powers. 

On the farm of George H. Carpenter are large beds of ochre, or mineral paint. Similar beds 
are also found in the Hammond meadows farther south. In a letter to Mr. Carpenter, Prof. 
Hitchcock says : " It may not be quite equal to the best of the Brandon paint, but would do for 
most purposes." 

Not only are the Gilsum hills filled with ledges, but the surface is greatly diversified with 
bowlders. On the hill north-west of the old Ballard place are several of remarkable size. The 
largest of these is conspicuous for a long distance to one approaching from the east. Its extreme 
dimensions are 15 feet in length, by 13 in height and 13|- in breadth. 

" Vessel Rock" is another notable bowlder, resting on a ledge of coarse granite very near the 
center of the town. This is 45 feet in length, by 3*2 in breadth and 25 in height. It received 
its name from its striking resemblance to a vessel under full sail. This resemblance has been 
much marred by the falling of a large piece from the west side, which represented the bow and 
jib-boom of the vessel. Before its fall the breadth of the rock was very nearly equal to the 
length. The fall was doubtless occasioned by the earthquake of October 5, 1817, as it occurred 
the night before Thanksgiving following. The fall was heard by the Church family, who 
supposed it to be another earthquake. Another smaller piece lies a little farther west, which 
apparently fell off long before. Other fragments have fallen from different sides. The north- 
east corner of the rock affords a shelter sufficient for several persons, and tradition says that 
Indians, and subsequently white hunters, often spent the night there. The best view to give the 
peculiar " vessel " form of the rock is now cut off by the school-house. The one here given is 



NATURAL HISTORY. 13 

from the south-east.* Fifteen or twenty rods west of this are other large bowlders of the same 
rock. 

The soil of Gilsum is mostly rocky and heavy, strong to produce grass-like crops, but not well 
adapted for corn and the higher kinds of cultivation. It abounds in the usual varieties of 
vegetation found in granite regions and damp soils. It is probable that the fauna and flora are 
quite rich in the number of species, as the limit of white oak touches the south-western corner, 
and the boundary between the Canadian and AJleghanian fauna passes through the town. 

Gilsum was originally heavily timbered with hemlock, beech, maple, birch, spruce, ash, poplar, 
bass-wood or linden, and ;i sprinkling of red oaks and large white pines. The last were abundant 
on the hills east and west of the Hammond Hollow. But little of the old growth is now left. 
The narrow valley through which Beaver Brook flows was known as " The Gulf," being dark 
with a thick growth of spruce and black ash. The hackmatack or larch is not rare. A very 
few white oaks are found near the south end of Surry Mountain. Buttonwood, otherwise called 
the plane-tree or sycamore, grows sparsely along the river in the west part of the town. But- 
ternuts are plenty in some places, and seem to be indigenous. Hickory and chestnut are not 
native, but have been introduced in some places, especially on the " minister lot." Black poplar 
or " Balm of Gilead," and a few Lombardy poplars have been introduced near dwellings. Of 
smaller trees, the larch, leverwood, whistlewood or striped maple, and mountain ash, frequent the 
hills and forests, while ironwood, willows, hazel, witch-hazel, and alders throng the valleys and 
banks of streams. 

As elsewhere in New England, old. scraggy, decaying orchards testify to the fondness of the 
early settlers for apple-sauce and cider. Hardly any mark is more sure, whereby to find an old 
cellar-hole, than one or two half-dead apple-trees. By the scattering of pomace and the feeding 
of cattle, they have become so widely spread that the edge of almost every thicket shows its 
white and pink masses in spring, and its knurly globes of vinegary pulp in autumn. Other 
smaller indigenous fruits are plenty. Blackberries, raspberries, (red, black, and white !) blue- 
berries, and strawberries abound : also service-berries, black and red cherries, choke-cherries and 
currants, checkerberries, bunchberries, thorn-apples, pigeon-berries, and the beautiful creeping 
snowberry deck the knolls in the thickets and the mossy woods. 

The diversified and beautiful scenery which may be viewed from every Gilsum hill is adorned 

with an almost endless variety of flowers. 

" When beechen buds begin to swell, 

And woods the bluebird's warble know, 
The yellow violet's modest bell 

Peeps from the last year's leaves below." 

The trailing arbutus perfumes the spring air. 

" The liver-leaf puts forth her sister blooms 
Of faintest blue." 

The spring beauty with its delicate shading, snowy patches of innocence, the pure white 

blood-root wrapped in gray-green blanket, the elegant corydalis, the odd Dutchman's breeches, 

the bishop's cap with its creamy spikes, bellflowers, the yellow adder's tongue, sturdy jack-in- 

the-pulpit, purple and snowy trilliums, ladies' slippers, and the spicy linnsea, beautify field and 

wood, while fragrant 

" Violets lean 
O'er wandering brooks and springs unseen, 
And columbines, in purple dressed. 
Nod o'er the ground-bird's hidden nest." 

* In the summer of 1877 the school-hoys, with some assistance from the ^.ii-ls, built a monument of stone on its highest point. 



14 aiLSUM. 

The shad-bush, the cherry, and the thorn, the hobble-bush, and rarely the wild snow-ball 
fringe our streams and thickets with white, the rhodora tinges the swamps with purple, while the 
pastures, a little later, grow rosy with the low kalmia, or sheep-laurel. The finest of all our 
shrubs is the fragrant azalea, native to our thickets, but now mostly transferred to gardens. 
One small locality, a tongue of land of a few square rods between the Thompson Brook and the 
river, is covered with the beautiful mountain laurel, or spoonwood. This is remarkable as 
being the only spot for many miles where this shrub is found. Later, the fields are speckled 
with buttercups, white daisies, and clover ; while autumn brings the twisted orchids, the closed 
soapwort, the white snake's head, and the splendid fringed gentian, — 

" Blossom bright with autumn dew 
And colored with the heaven's own blue." 

Then the roadsides, the thickets, and the brambly hedges are decked with the blue and gold of 
a multitude of asterworts, golden-rods, and wild sunflowers. (Appendix A.) 

It would be vain to attempt to enumerate the forms of insect life that crawl the ground, or 
wriggle in the waters, or creep and sing among the grasses of the field and foliage of the forests, 
or flit about as " living blossoms of the air," or make night hideous with their blood-thirsty hum. 

Nor will it be possible to name save a few of the more prominent species of higher animals 
that inhabit the town. Formerly the brooks were filled with beautiful trout, now rendered 
small and scarce by the wiles of the tireless and remorseless fisherman. The river, too, was 
rilled in the spring with millions of shad, now driven away by the mills that infest the stream. 
Shiners, dace, perch, pouts, pickerel, roach, suckers, and eels are about all that now tempt or 
reward the fisher's toil, whether in stream or pond. Snapping turtles and land turtles, brown, 
spotted, and scarlet lizards, are not rare. The common varieties of snakes are abundant in the 
grassy meadows. Adders, also, and water-snakes, are plenty. Black snakes are very rarely found. 
In the sprin»- the swamps, everywhere, resound with the voices of frogs and toads, and the rarely 
seen tree-toad gaily chirps amid the foliage and the showers of June. 

Song-birds abound in great variety almost throughout the year. The blue-bird, and soon 
after the robin, welcome the first warm days with their cheery notes. The ground-bird or song- 
sparrow, and the hair-sparrow, fill the air with their melody, while their slaty-white cousin more 
quietly chirps among the shrubs and brambles. In the thickets, the cat-bird, and rarely his near 
kinsman, the mocking-bird (!) of the South, and the brown thrasher utter their mimic notes, 
while now and then the quaint cry of the cuckoo is supposed to tell of present or approaching 
rain. The chewink and the bridge-loving pewee, with sharply reiterated name, challenge 
the acquaintance of every passer. Rarely may be heard the chitter of querulous wren, while 
swallows of various kinds twitter on the harn-roofs, dive into chimneys, or sweep in graceful 
curves through the air. Occasionally a gray plover Hitters from a field of grass or a black- 
bird whistles in the meadow, while merry bobolinks flood the air with their unique melody. 
Lovely greenlets and shy warblers throng the woods, and crested cherry-birds squeal amid the 
orehard-boughs, while noisy king-birds snap up the unfortunate bee or saucily pursue the pass- 
ing crow. At evening the boo of the plunging night-hawk interrupts the rich melody of the 
wood-thrush, or nightingale. Flopping bats are sure to discover an open window in their search 
for flies, and not unfrequently the weird cry of whip-poor-will is heard in the deepening twilight. 

Birds distinguished lor beauty as well as song are not rare. The humming-bird, with ruby 
throat, darts among the lilacs and lilies ; t<he oriole, with liquid note, flashes his brilliant plumage 
amid the blossoms of orchard and garden ; flocks of thistle-loving gold-finches bedeck the air in 



NATURAL HISTORY. 15 

their jerky flight ; the indigo-bird whistles from the shrubbery ; and occasionally a tanager, or a 
summer red-bird, almost startles the eye with his fiery brilliance. The whicker of the richly- 
clad, golden-winged woodpecker is often heard from the tree-tops, while his red-headed cousin 
haunts the orchards and newly-cleared fields. Wild pigeons, formerly abundant, are now 
scarce. 

In the winter, yellow-birds and a few robins remain in the swamps and thick woods, while 
flocks of snow-birds and grossbeaks frequently visit the fields. The lively chickadee, in forest and 
about our dwellings, even in the coldest weather, keeps up his cbirp of cheer. In warmer days 
the merry hammering of woodpeckers, and the shrill scream of the dandy jay, enliven the forest, 
while as spring comes on the Canada grouse drums on every hill-side. " The ubiquitous crow " 
exhibits his black coat and harsh croak at all seasons, and in every place. 

Of water-fowl, we have the stilt bowing, balancing, and peeping along the flat stones of the 
larger streams, and sometimes near the dwellings and barns. Wild ducks, grebes, and goosan- 
ders are frequently seen, and have been known to breed along the river. Every season is heard 
the ominous cry of the loon, and occasionally a blue heron has been captured, while the king- 
fisher haunts the river every day with his noisy chatter. 

Birds of prey are not few in number or variety. Hawks abound, from the small sparrow- 
hawk to the tawny and powerful hen-hawk. Owls, too, find here a congenial home. The snowy 
owl is rarely seen. The barn-owl and the larger cat-owl are numerous, while the saw-whetter 
and screech-owl are nightly heard from the forest. The bald eagle, not often seen, has at times 
found a summer home in this vicinity. Less than forty years since a pair remained here for two 
seasons, probably having a nest on Surry Mountain. 

The early settlers found bears and wolves very plenty, and they have' been occasionally seen 
till within the last thirty years. The lynx and the wild cat still rarely molest the sheep in the 
mountain pastures. Deer also were a great dependence to the first settlers, both for the flesh for 
food, and the hides to bring money or to exchange for other necessaries of life. Tradition says 
that moose were found, though rarely. Beavers, too, were then plenty, as the name Beaver 
Brook testifies. Evidence also of their work is still seen. Lately, in ditching from Cranberry 
Hole, gnawed sticks were dug up, which soon crumbled away on being brought to the air. Now 
we have about our homes rats and mice, with an occasional weasel to diminish their numbers. 
Along our streams are musk-rats and minks, with rarely an otter. In the fields are found moles, 
meadow-mice, the beautiful jumping or deer mouse, woodchucks and spicy skunks. Chipmunks 
along the fences, red, gray, and flying squirrels in the thickets, rabbits and hares entice the 
youthful Nimrod to leave his toil to pursue them to their haunts. In rocky woods hedgehogs are 
very numerous. Raccoons frequently infest the corn-fields, and their cry is often heard in the 
autumn woods. Red foxes are plenty, with some cross foxes, and very rarely a black or silver- 
gray fox. The presence of civilized inhabitants has thus cleared our territory of the larger and 
more dangerous animals, that could rouse the fear of the child, or the zeal of the courageous 
hunter. (Chapter 27.) 



16 GILSUM. 

CHAPTEE III. 

INDIANS. 

The Indian history of this town is exceedingly meagre. Even tradition, which like a thin 
mist so often exaggerates the objects seen through its obscuring veil, fails to bring the dusky 
forms of skulking aborigines into any considerable prominence in the background of Gilsura his- 
tory. As will be hereafter seen, the proprietors of Boyle failed to make a settlement on account 
of danger from the Indians. Peter Hay ward, the first settler in " Westmoreland Leg," was 
obliged, in 1755, to hurry his family to the fort at Keene for protection, while himself with a 
company of men went in pursuit of the treacherous foe, who had already killed one woman near 
the gate of the fort. The Indians, however, escaped, having captured one man, whom they 
carried to Canada. This Peter Hayward was well known to the Indians as a dangerous foe. In 
later times of quiet, a friendly Indian said that he lay at one time concealed in the bushes where 
he saw Mr. Hayward and his dog pass by on a log. He aimed his gun first at one and then at 
the other, but dared not fire, knowing that if he killed either the other would certainly kill him. 
It is remembered, that, after the Revolutionary war, an Indian was lurking around for some time, 
who made inquiries for Col. Smith (the Jonathan Smith, Jr., of the proprietors), and it was 
understood at the time that Col. Smith killed him, as the only means of saving his own life. 
There is a dim tradition of relics of two Indians having been found under a log heap in the valley 
by the river, south of the place now occupied by Milton Steams. An Indian trail is said to have 
been traced in early times from the south part of the town over the hill east of Hammond Hol- 
low, crossing the river near the May Brook, and so on to Warren Pond in Alstead. There can 
be no doubt that they were well acquainted with all these hills and streams, hunting bears and 
wolves and deer from Surry Mountain to Bearden, and fishing up and down the Ashuelot River. 
A few arrow-heads and other relics have been occasionally found. A large spear-head was dug 
up in repairing the road just at the turn below the brook, at the south end of the village. This 
was for many years in the possession of Philip Howard, but has been lost. A stone pestle, 
found near Brake Hill, is also lost. At the south end of Brake Hill, next the river, was a 
cleared spot of about half an acre, when the first white settlers came here. It had evidently been 
used by the Indians as a camping-place, being near a hole in the river favorable for fishing. This is 
about all the Indian history (?) which can be now picked up. It is very vague and shadowy, 
with scarcely the flavor of authentic tradition or the glamour of fanciful romance to give it 
interest or to awaken confidence. But however faint the traces of their sojourn, however dark 
and misty the tale of their slight intercourse with the white settlers, — 

" Though 'mid the forests where they roamed 
There rings no hunter's shout; 
Yet their name is on our waters, 
We may not wash it out." 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 17 

CHAPTEE IY. 

CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 

The territory afterwards called Gilsum was first granted by the name of Boyle. At " a 
Council holden at Portsmouth by his Excellencys Sumons on Tuesday December 21 1752," 
the following petition was presented : — 

To His Excellency Beiming Wentworth Esq Gov r of the Province of New Hampshire &c. 

Humbly Shews 

The Petition of William Lawrence of Groton & Thomas Read of Westford in the Province of the Massa" s 
That they together with fifty Six more of their Neighbours are desireous of Setleing a township in the Province of 
New Hampshire many of them not Having a Sufficiency of Lands in the Massachusetts to Employ them Selves in 
Husbandry And haveing Account of a tract of Land yet ungranted by your Excellency, that we apprehend is 
Capable of Settlement, (which Lyes Northerly of the Upper Ashuelot [Keene] and Westmoreland and Easterly 
from Walepool Adjoyning to those towns, and Extend Eastward to make the Contints of Six miles Square) and 
in case we may Obtain the favour of your Excellency in making us a grant on y e Conditions Other of his Majestys 
Lauds there are Granted, Shall make a Spedy & Effectual! Setlement there 

Wherefore we pray that y r Excellency would See meet to favour us with Liberty to Survey the Same Under 
your directions, And that we may Obtain a Grant Accordingly and as in Duty bound Shall pray &c 

Groton March 16. 1752 

William Lawrence 
Thomas Read 

The council unanimously advised the governor to make the grant. No name is here given 
to the town, but the names of the two petitioners and the location identify it as Boyle. 

The charter is in almost the same words as that of Gilsum. (Pages 19, 20.) On the back is 
the following : — 

The names of the Grantees of Boyle — Viz — Joseph Osgood. Ebenezer Harris, Ephraim Stevens, Nathaniel 
Davis, Jacob Farmer, Daniel Colburne, Stephen Powers, Thomas Parker, William Parker, Joel Dix, Josiah Brown, 
John French, Joseph Barnes, Joseph Blanchard, Joseph Blanchard Jun r ., William Lawrence, Nathaniel Butter- 
field, Andrew Betty, James Thompson, Andrew Spalding, James Dutton Jun r ., John Parry, Daniel Stickney, 
Daniel Foster, Benjamin Barrot, Benj" Parker. Samuel Greele, Robert Nivius, Timothy Taylor, Sampson French, 
Sam" French. Zacheus Lovewell, John Coombs, William Coombs, John Varnum, John Kendall, Abraham Ken- 
dall. Thomas Buxby, Charles Barron, Zebediah Keyes, John Chamberlain, Joseph Kidder, Ezekiel Chace Esq r ., 
Jonathan Snow, Jonathan Chamberlain. Nathaniel Merrill, James Minot, Jonathan Coombs, Archibald Starke, 
Samuel Gibson, John Goft'e, Joseph Danforth, Abel Laurence, Benjamin French, James Whitney, William 
Spaulding, Jeremiah Lawrence, Thomas Read, Joseph Fitch, Jonathan Cummins. Jonathan Cummins Jun r ., 
John Usher, Robert Usher, Henry Sherburne, Theodore Atkinson, Richard Wibird, Samuel Smith, John Down- 
ing. Sam" Solley. Sampson Sheaffe, John Wentworth Jun r ., His Excellency Benning Wentworth Esq'. A Tract of 
land to contain five hundred Acres which is to be accounted two of the within Shares — One whole share for the 
Incorporated Society for the propagation of the Gospel in foreign Parts, one whole share for the first settled Min- 
ister of the Gospel in the said town — One whole Share for a Glebe for the ministry of the Church of England as 
by law established — 

Entred and Recorded from the back of the Charter of Boyle the 30 th Day of December 1752 — 

P r Theodore Atkinson Sec'^ 

There is also a plan of Boyle corresponding to the description, and precisely the same as here- 
after given of the town of Gilsum. 

No record is found of the meeting of the above grantees. None of them ever settled in Boyle 
or vicinity, so far as can now be ascertained, and, with the single exception of Theodore Atkin- 
son, the colonial secretary, they all disappear from our history with this document. The princi- 
pal reason of their failure to settle the town was the troubles witli the Indians, who, at that 
period, harassed the early settlers in the neighboring towns by their frequent attacks, slaughter- 
ing and carrying captive whole families, and often compelling others to leave their homes and 
flee to the fort at Keene for safety. 



18 aiLSUM. 

In March, 1761, Benjamin Bellows (afterwards major and colonel, the ancestor of the well- 
known family of that name in Walpole,) bought of Rebecca Blanchard, widow of Joseph Blanch- 
ard of Dunstable, Mass., the " Rights he had in Boyle," for Ml. 10 sh., " sterling money." The 
number of rights thus conveyed was twenty-six, and the names of the original owners are given 
in the deed. Four days after, March 28, 1761, he also bought of Theodore Atkinson of Ports- 
mouth, for £60. losh., " sterling money of Great Britain," twenty-seven rights in Boyle. May 
1, 1761, he sold " fifty nine Right or Share of land in the Township of Boyle In the Prov. n of 
New Hanip 8 . which s d fifty Nine Rights is to Contain Eighteen thousand acres " for " £1350 
lawful money." The purchasers were, as stated in the deed, " Samuel Gilburd Esq r . Josiah 
Kilburn Tanner Thomas Sumner Gent, all of Heburn in the County of Hartford & Jonathan 
Smith of Bolton Husbandman In the County afores d & Joseph Mack of Lime in the County of 
Newton and all in the Colleney of Connecticut." This deed was witnessed May 14, 1761, by 
Peter Hayward and T. Chandler, and acknowledged the same day before Josiah Willard, justice 
of the peace. 

These five men doubtless sold shares to those who became associated with them as the pro- 
prietors of Gilsum, though no record is found of the sale. The following are the only records 
of the proprietors of Boyle : — 

August 14, 1761, a warrant was issued by Benjamin Bellows, Esq., to Clement Sumner, 
directing him to call a meeting of the proprietors of Boyle, " at the house of M r Peter Haywood 
[Hayward] of Westmoreland, on the sixteenth of October next, at Ten of the Clock in the Fore- 
noon." No record of this meeting can be found. The only records of meeting are the follow- 
ing : — 

At a Town meeting for Boyle holden in Hebron on March the 9 th 1762 : the following Persons were chosen, or 
voted for the present Year into the public Offices of the said Town of Boyle. — Josiah Killburn, Moderator of Pro- 
prietor's Meeting. 

Clement Sumner (of Kane) [Keene] Town Clerk. 

John Starling Josiah Killburn Joseph Spencer, select Men. Josiah Killburn Thomas Sumner Abner Mack, Assessors. 
Joseph Mack, Collector. Abner Mack, Treasurer. 

Test Joshua Dart Clk of s<> Meeting 

Copia Vera P r Clement Sumner Proprietor's Clerk &c. 

The Proceedings & Votes of a legal Meeting of the Proprietors of the Town of Boyle, held at the House of M r 
Peter Hayward in Westmoreland ; September 16" 1 1762. 

l C8t Voted, M r Thomas Pitkin Moderator to govern said Meeting. — 

2 d Voted ; Clement Sumner Proprietor's Clerk. 

3 d Voted ; Joseph Mack, Collector. 

4 th Voted ; Abner Mack, Treasurer. 

5 th Voted ; Not to draw as the Lotts are already laid out. 

6 th Voted ; To Size the Land of the Town of Boyle, in Order for a Draught. — 

7 th Voted ; Joseph Mack, Seth Haze and Abner 'Mack for a Committee to size said Land, and make a Report 
thereof to the Meeting. 

8 th Voted; To Raise the Sum of one Pound three Shillings Lawful Money, on each Bight to be paid to the 
Proprietor's Treasurer, to defray the Charges of the Township of Boyle, that have arisen or shall hereafter arise. 

!>"' Voted ; Clement Sumner Joseph Mack and Seth Haize a Committee to transact any Affair that shall be 
needed. 

10 th Voted; To adjourn the meeting till Wednesday the 23 d instant. , 

And the said Meeting is accordingly adjourned and appointed to sit at the House of M 1 Ephraim Dormant at 
the town of Kane [Keene] on the s d Day 

sign'd by Order. 

P Clement Sumner Pro : Clerk 

At a Meeting of the Proprietors of the Town of Boyle, met, and assembled, according to Adjourment; Sep- 
tem r 23' 1 1762 at the House of M r . Ephraim Dormant in the Town of Keen; the following Votes were pased. 
1 st Voted ; To draw the Lotts of the Town of Boyle as they are now laid out and sized. 
2' 1 Voted ; Joseph Spensor, Joseph Mack and Seth Haize to be the select Men for the said Town of Boyle. 
And further Voted; • ^ 

That the above Joseph Spensor, Joseph Mack and Seth Haize should be Assessors of the lownship : and, that 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 19 

for the future upon an Application made by Seven or more of the Proprietors, to their Clerk for the calling a Pro- 
prietor's Meeting, he, the said Clerk, shal} set a Notification fourteen Days before the Meeting, setting fourth the 
articles to be transacted in the s d Meeting ; which shall be Deem'd a legal Warning, till the Proprietors shall repeal 
this Vote. 

f The above are a true Entry of the Votes passed at 
the meeting within discribed. 

Test Tho» Pitkin 

moderator. 
Sign'd by Order, 

P Clement Sumner Pro : Clerk 

Inasmuch as the charter of Boyle had been forfeited by a failure, on account of the Indian 
troubles, to fulfill the conditions therein named, a petition was sent to the governor and council, 
as follows : — 

To His Excellency Benning Wentworth Esq. Governor and Commander in Chief in and over his Majestys 
Province of New Hamp r and To the hon ble his majestys Council for said Province. The memorial of Thomas 
Sumner in Behalf of himself and Other Prop 15 in the Town of Boyle in said Province Shews That in the year 
1752 your Excell'y & Honors Granted the Township of Boyle upon the conditions & under the restrictions as sd 
Charter Declared — 

That by the Intervention of the Late Warr your memorialists Constituents have been (till very Lately) Pre- 
vented (for the reason aforesaid) from Doing the Duty, but Notwithstanding they have sever'd and Drawn by Lotts 
the Said Tract of Land to \ among all the l'rop rs that many of your Memorialists Constituents are now actually 
Living with their familys on S d Tract of Land & Many more Going- on Early In the Spring & there are now Many 
acres of Wheat Sowd there & In all Probability the Township Will be Intirely Settled according to the True & In- 
tent & meaning of the Grant by Next Summer. But as the Time Prefixed in the Grant was Elapsed & that 
Before it Was Possible (for the reason afores d ) for 'em To Enter & Improve, they Conceive it absolutely Necessary 
that your Excell'y & Honors (if you think fit) Sho d Grant a Suspension of the forfeiture & further Indulge 'em with 
Such a Term of time as they be enabled to fulfil the Duty aforesaid & are encouraged to ask the fav r Because your 
Excelly & honors are Wonted To Endulge Prop" in the Like Circumstances & your Memorialist Shall ever pray — 

THO a . Sl'MNER. 

Jan? 24, 1763. 

Tradition says there was a dispute whether the town should be called Gilbert or Sumner. 
Rev. Clement Sumner, of Keene, was the son of Thomas Sumner, and had married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Samuel Gilbert. Possibly this family connection led to the compromise by which 
the first syllable of each name was taken to form the unique name of Gil-Sinn. 

The original charter was, for many years, supposed to be lost. The substituted copy, signed 
by Philip Carrigam, secretary of state, bears date July 22, 1807. I have recently discovered 
the charter itself among the records of the town of Surry. The following is an exact copy : — 

-^ PROVINCE OF NEW-HAMPSHIRE. 

U s I 

I " f GEORGE The Third, 

By the Grace of God, of Great-Britain, France and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith, &c. 
To all Persons to whom these Presents shall come. Greeting. 

Know ye, that we, of ( )ur special Grace, certain Knowledge, and meer Motion, for the due Encouragement of 
settling a New Plantation within Our said Province, by and with the Advice of Our Trusty and Well-beloved 
Benning Wentworth, Esq; Our Governor and Commander in Chief of Our said Province of New-Hampshire 
in Neio-England, and of Our CouNCir of the said Province: Have upon the Conditions and Reservations herein 
after made, given and granted, and by these Presents, for l"s. Our Heirs and Successors, do give and grant in equal 
Shares, unto < )ur loving Subjects, Inhabitants of Our said Province of New-Hampshire, and Our other Govern- 
ments, and to their Heirs and Assigns for ever, whose Names are entred on this Grant, to be divided to and 
amongst them into Seventy nine equal Shares, all that Tract or Parcel of Land situate, lying and being within Our 
said Province of New-Hampshire, containing by Admeasurement. 23,000 Acres, which Tract is to contain about Six 
Miles square, and no more; out of which an Allowance is to be made for High Ways and unimproveable Lauds by 
Rocks, Ponds, Mountains and Rivers, One Thousand and Forty Acres free, according to a Plan and Survey thereof, 
made by Our said Governor's Order, and returned into the Secretary's Office, and hereunto annexed, butted and 
bounded as follows. Viz. 

Beginning at the South Easterly Corner of Walpole &r runs from thence South Seventy Eight Deg s , East Two 
miles Sf one hundred Iff our rods to tke North Easterly Corner of Westmorland from thence South Six Hundred Sr 



20 



GILSUM. 



Twenty rods to the North Line of Keen § from thence North Eighty four deg s East Six miles Sf Two Hundred Sf 
Twenty four rods to a Stake Sf Stones from thence North by the Needle four miles Sf one half mile to a Stake Sf Stones 
from thence West by the Needle Eight miles Sf Three Quarters of a mile Sf fifty two rods to the Eastermost Line of 
Walpole from thence South Two miles Two hundred Sf Eighty Eight rods by Walpole to the Bounds first above men- 
tioned as began at 

And that the same be, and hereby is, incorporated into a Township by the Name of Gilsum And the Inhabi- 
tants that do or shall hereafter inhabit the said Township, are hereby declared to be Enfranchized with, and In- 
titled to all and every the Priviledges and Immunities that other Towns within Our Province by Law Exercise and 
Enjoy : And further, that the said Town, as soon as there shall be Fifty Families resident and settled thereon, 
shall have the Liberty of holding Two Fairs, one of which shall be held on the And the other on 

the annually; which Fairs are not to continue longer than the respective following the 

said and that as soon as the said Town shall consist of Fifty Families, a Market may be opened and kept 

one or more Days in each Week, as may be thought most advantageous to the Inhabitants. Also, that the first 
Meeting for the Choice of Town Officers, agreeable to the Laws of our said Province, shall be held on the First 
Tuesday in august next which said Meeting shall be Notified by Samuel Gilbert Esq who is hereby also appointed 
the Moderator of the said first Meeting, which he is to Notify and Govern agreeable to the Laws and Customs of 
Our said Province ; and that the annual Meeting for ever hereafter for the Choice of such Officers for the said 
Town, shall be on the Second Tuesday of March annually, 

To Have and to Hold the said Tract of Land as above expressed, together with all Privileges and Appurte- 
nances, to them and their respective Heirs and Assigns forever, upon the following conditions, viz. 

I. That every Grantee, his Heirs or Assigns shall plant and cultivate five Acres of Land within the Term of 
five Years for every fifty Acres contained in his or their Share or Proportion of Land in said Township, and con- 
tinue to improve and settle the same by additional Cultivations, on Penalty of the Forfeiture of his Grant or Share 
in the said Township, and of its reverting to Us, our Heirs and Successors, to be by Us or Them Re-granted to 
such of Our Subjects as shall effectually settle and cultivate the same. 

II. That all white and other Pine Trees within the said Township, fit for Masting Our Royal Navy, be care- 
fully preserved for that Use, and none to be cut or felled without Our special Licence for so doing, first had and 
obtained, upon the Penalty of the Forfeiture of the Right of such Grantee, his Heirs and Assigns, to Us, Our 
Heirs and Successors, as well as being subject to the Penalty of any Act or Acts of Parliament that now are or 
hereafter shall be Enacted. 

III. That before any Division of the Land be made to and among the Grantees, a Tract of Land as near the Cen- 
tre of said Township as the Land will admit of, shall be reserved and marked out for Town Lots, one of which shall 
be allotted to each Grantee of the Contents of one Acre. 

IV. Yielding and paying therefor to Us, our Heirs and Successors for the Space of ten Years, to be computed 
from the Date hereof, the Rent of one Ear of Indian Corn only, on the twenty-fifth Day of December annually, if 
lawfully demanded, the first Payment to be made on the twenty fifth Day of December. 1763 

V. Every Proprietor, Settler or Inhabitant, shall yield and pay unto Us, our Heirs and Successors, yearly, and 
every Year forever, from and after the Expiration of ten Years from the abovesaid twenty-fifth Day of December, 
namely, on the twenty-fifth Day of December, which will be in the Year of Our Lord 1773 One shilling Proclama- 
tion Money for every Hundred Acres he so owns, settles or possesses, and so in Proportion for a greater or lesser 
Tract of the said Land ; which Money shall be paid by the respective Persons abovesaid, their Heirs or Assigns, in 
our Council-Chamber in Portsmouth, or to such Officer or Officers as shall be appointed to receive the same ; and 
this to be in Lieu of all other Rents and Services whatsoever. 

In Testimony whereof, we have caused the Seal of our said Province to be hereunto affixed. 
Witness, BENNING WENTWORTH, Esq ; Our Governor and Commander in Chief of Our said Province, 
the 15 th Day of July in the Year of our Lord CHRIST, One Thousand Seven Hundred and Sixty three And 
in the Third year of Our Reign. 

By His ENCELLENCY's Command, B Wentworih 

With Advice of COUNCIL, 

Theodore Atkinson Sec" Province of New Hamp r July 13"' 1703 

recorded in the Book of Charters Page 492 Sf 493 
P r Theodore Atkinson Sec r * 



The " 15 " in the charter is evidently a slip of the pen for " 13.' 
is the following : — 



The Names of the Grantees of the Township of Gilsum 



Samuel Gilbert 10 
Jon a Smith 9 
Josiah Kilborn 46 
Thomas Sumner 47 
Joshua Dart 57 
Joseph Wells 60 
Clement Sumner 55 
Samuel Gilbert jun r 
Samuel Phelps 1 
Elijah Owen 3 



Abijah Mack 7 
Thomas Smith 50 
Icabod Smith 26 
Jon' Smith J r 13 
Daniel Dart 63 
Ezra Lomis 11 
Jonathan Burge 54 
Jonathan Wright 12 
Duran Wade 13 
Josiah Blodget 53 



Josiah Kilborn inner 
Benj a Sumner 2 1 
Samuel Banning 27 
Joseph Lothrop 28 
Icabod Fisher 15 
Jonathan Levet 30 
Eliphalet Young 32 
James Spencer 33 
John Sterling 3."> 
Joseph Beakit 38 



58 



On the back of the charter 



Stephen Giswold 62 
Edmund Wills 
Thomas Wills 40 
Nathan Rowlee 34 
Abner Brown 36 
Abner Waters 5 
Roger Dewey 17 
Abner Skinner 14 
John Skinner 45 
Stephen Houghton 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 



21 



James Noble 21 
William Sumner 31 
Nathaniel Dart 25 
Eliphalet Dart 4 
Jonathan Dart 29 
William Dart 6 
Benj" Graves 5 
Ichabod Warner 48 
Josiah Mack 37 



James Cox 2 
Ebenez r Kilborn 16 
Abel Allen 23 
Joel Kilborn 44 
John Mack 41 
Ruben Sumner 
William Cox 
Joseph Spencer 19 
Thomas Pitkin 22 



David Taylor 39 
Ebenez r White 42 
John Hooker 43 
Samuel Lord 49 
Seth Hall 51 
Seth Haize 56 
Lemuel Wylly 59 
Abner Mack 61 



Abijah Rowlee 20 
Levi Post 
Thomas Brown 17 
Jon" Brown 52 
Theodore Atkinson ) 
Nath 11 Barrell [■ Esq™ 

Theodore Atkinson jun r ) 
Parsonage 64 



One Tract of Land for his Excellency Benning Wentworth Esq r to Contain Five Hundred acres as marked 
B : W : in the Plan which is to be accounted Two of the within Shares one whole Share for the Incorporated Soci- 
ety for the Propagation of the Gospel in foreign Parts one Share for a Glebe for the Church of England as by Law 
Established one Share for the first Settled minister of the Gospel & one Share for the Benefit of A School hi Said 
Town. 

Prov of New Hamp r July 13 th 1763 
Recorded in the Book of Charters Page 494 
P> Theodore Atkinson Sec^ 

The figures annexed to the names are the numbers of the rights drawn, and were written 
afterwards by a different hand. 

It will be observed that this charter not only grants the territory but incorporates a township. 
Mutatis mutandis it is almost identical with the charter of Boyle. The only important differ- 
ence is the provision setting apart one share for school purposes, which is not found in the charter 
of Boyle. 

A fac-simile of the plan on the back of the charter is herewith presented. The scale is very 
nearly two miles to an inch. The corner marked B Wis Gov. Wentworth's share of 500 acres. 



spoj gg 7g | v( ss[im 8 : ^ 





Plan of Gilsum 






One thing manifest here, as in all ancient deeds and surveys, is the carelessness in estimat- 
ing the number of acres. Land was of so little value, that a few acres more or less in a hun- 
dred was little regarded. It was intended that the land should never fall short of the estimate, 
and it generally overrun a large amount, as here. Thus the description and plan give 25,340 
acres, instead of 23,000 named in the charier. The proprietors, however, lost more than the 
extra amount, by the Masonian claim, as seen hereafter. 



22 GILSUM. 

The first record of the proprietors, after the second grant, is as follows : — 

At a legal meeting of The Proprietors of the Town of Gilsum in the Province of Newhampshire. Holden at the 
House of Cap' Ichabod Phelps inholder in Hebron in the County of Hartford and Colony of Conecticut, on Tues- 
day the 16 August 1763, Being met and duly formed, 

1 Chose Tho s Pitkin jr moderator of S d meeting 

2 Chose Clement Sumner Proprietors Clark, 

3 Chose Tho s Sumner Clark for S d meeting to Transmitt the votes to S d Clement Sumner, 

4 Chose Samuel Gilbert, Esqr D r W m Sumner & Tho s Pitkin J r Cessors, for S d Propriety 

5 Chose Samuel Gilbert Treasurer 

6 Chose Thomas Sumner, & Joshua Dart Collectors 

7 Voted to raise a Rate of one Pound thirteen Shillings & Sixpence lawfull money of the Bay on each Right to 
defray the Charges of S d Township that have already arisen and Shall arise 

8 Voted that S d Money Shall be paid to the Proprietors Treasurer in the Space of Six weeks from the dates 
hereof 

9 Chose Samuel Gilbert Thomas Pitkin Joshua Dart, a Committe to ajust the accounts of S d Propriety. 

10 Voted to draw the money out of the Treasurey by themselves or their order to Defray S d Charges 

11 Voted to adjurn S d meeting to the House of mr Benj" 1 Buel inholder in S d Hebron &c till the 30 day of 
August Instant 17G3 at one of the Clock in the afternoon 

At the adjourned meeting the subject of dividing the land was the principal topic. A com- 
mittee consisting of Joseph Mack, Clement Sumner, and Ichabod Fisher, were chosen to rectify 
a mistake in the " Ranging Table " whereby " Some Rights have drawn more <fe Some less than 
their real proportion." Each share was to consist of 250 acres, and Jonathan Smith, Samuel 
Gilbert, Thomas Sumner, Thomas Pitkin, and Benjamin Sumner were a committee " to lay out 
the Common & undevided land." Samuel Gilbert, Esq., Thomas Pitkin, and Jonathan Smith 
were chosen " to Settle affairs with major Bellows." 

From the records and deeds it becomes very evident that land speculation was extensively car- 
ried on. Many prominent names were of men who had no intention of settling on their lands, 
but bought only to sell again. Some, like Col. Bellows, owned whole townships. The Gilberts 
and the Simmers were not bona fide settlers, but leading land speculators. Capt. Gilbert, from 
whom the town was named, probably never came here at all ; yet lie took the management of 
affairs, at first, almost entirely into his own hands, and that the actual settlers were far from 
satisfied is plain from their records. In a warrant for a meeting at Jonathan Smith's house, 
July 16, 1764, appears the following article : — 

2 To Chuse a Committee to Treet and Setel with Cap' Samuel Gilbert of hebrou aboute a Sum of money that 
was paid to the Rev 1 M r Clement Sumner of Keen which s d proprietors think hath no Just Right to and that s d 
Committee agree and Setel with S d Gilbert about a man or men whose name or names ware Sent to be put into the 
Charter whose name or names is soposd that he the S a Gilbert Struck out and put others in ami that S d Commit- 
tee agree and Setel with S d Gilburt about the overplus Rights that fall in what was Calld Masons pattern [-the 
patent line,"] which S d proprietors think they have a Just Right to have and further that S d Committee Setel with 
the old Committee whitch Bought the Town of Gilsum about the Six overplush Rights which the S d proprietors 
think they have a Right to have and make their Return of the Same. 

Thomas Pitkin, Jr., Peter Olcott, and Jonathan Smith were chosen said committee. Septem- 
ber 21, 1768, Obadiah Willcux, Jonathan Smith, and John Marvin were chosen " to Settle with 
Samuel Gilbert about the Lands he Laid out after the first Laying out." Also chose Obadiah 
Willcox and Joshua Dart " to go and take advice of Lawyer Olcott in the matter." This was 
Simeon Olcott, Esq., of Oharlestown. A warrant for meeting January 9, 1769, " at the House of 
M r . Jonathan Smiths," has the following article : — 

"3'y: to See if the proprietors will Exsept of the Settelment made with Capt Samuel Gilbert about the money 
that was Given to M 1 . Sumner of Keen and the five overpluch Rights that the Committee that Bought S a Town 
Resarved to themseavels, 4 |V to Chuse a Committee to Setel with Capt Gilbert about the Rights of Land he pre- 
tends to Clame in S a town and Granted in the Charter." 

It is evident they felt themselves much aggrieved, thinking that Capt, Gilbert had taken the 
lion's share for himself and his son-in-law, Rev. Mr. Sumner. They voted not to accept the com- 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 23 

mittee's return of settlement with him, and, apparently thinking it of no use, declined to 
appoint any further committee. It seems, however, that the committee's settlement held good. 
The committee having been appointed for that purpose, their action probably was legally binding 
on the proprietors. Their settlement is recorded at length, and is signed, Peter Olcott, Jona- 
than Smith, Samuel Gilbert. Mr. Pitkin's name is omitted, and perhaps he did not concur. 
The date of the settlement is Dec. ye 4th, 1764, and clears Capt. Gilbert, throwing the responsi- 
bility as to the money paid to Clement Sumner on Mr. Sumner himself. About the names 
inserted in the charter, the committee say " Capt. Gilbert has Settled to our Satisfaction : " 
" as to the third article we find that he had a Right to take them Rights to himself which was 
charterd to him in the East End of s d Township as to the fourth article we find their time and 
Trouble & Pateague that they hant more than to pay them Honourably <tc." 

It appears that all town business prior to 1769 was transacted by the proprietors without 
separate organization. The roads attracted their principal attention. March 13, 1764, Jona- 
than Smith, Woolston Brockway, and Joseph Mack were chosen " to lay out and Clear necessary 
Rodes or highways." In April of the same year a road was laid out by this committee. Other 
roads were laid out by the proprietors in 1764-65-66. (Chapter 13.) 

August 26, 1766, Ebenezer Dewey, Abel Allen, and Joseph Spensor were chosen "to Lay out 
and Clear Highways." " Chose Ebenezer Dewe Obadiab Willcox Medad Thornton a Committee 
to Tret with the Town of Keen about a Highway Leeding from the Town of Gilsum to Keen 
Meeting house." 

No subsequent action of the proprietors indicates any care of town affairs. Previous to 
this they had all along chosen assessors and collectors as they needed. March 13,1764, Obadiah 
Willcox was chosen proprietors' clerk in place of Clement Sumner, who was not a Gilsum man, 
and had evidently fallen into disfavor about the transactions with Col. Bellows. Mr. Willcox 
remained clerk till December 20. 1798, when he " Resined," and " Lemuel Holmes, Esqr." was 
chosen in his place. November 6, 1810, Mr. Holmes " Resined," and " Capt Samuel Allen was 
chosen Clerk and remained in office till the close of the Records." 

Assessments were made from time to time to defray various expenses. The first two, of 1762 
and 1763, have already been noticed. (Pages 18, 22.) The next was July 16, 1764, " two Pol- 
lers on Each Right." August 26, 1766, " Eighteen Shillings on Each Proprietor," was assessed; 
May 6. 1771. " Six Shillings on Each Right " ; June 9, 1772, " one Poller on Each Right," and 
the same amount March 18, 1805. September 7, 1807, " Voted to Rais 2 Dollers upon Each 
Proprietors Share." February 23, 1813, " Voted to Rais money by subscription." Thus the 
whole amount assessed on each proprietor for fifty years was less than nineteen dollars. 

The principal business which occupied the proprietors, in early times, was the division of the 
land; and, in later times, the looking up and defending their claims as proprietors against 
claims of other settlers. The committee appointed in August, 1763, (p. 22) seem to have neg- 
lected, or not to have finished, laying out the land, for at a meeting July 16, 1764, " Chose 
Joseph Mack Nathanel Dart Job Gleson a Committee to Lay out to Each proprietors their 
Equal proportion in S d Town." Something had already been done while the town was called 
Boyle, as appears by the numbers still claimed on the back of the charter, and the survey here- 
after mentioned by Caleb Willard seems to have been made at that early date. But there was 
still great confusion, and the looseness witli which surveys were then made caused continual 
trouble. In the call for the meeting of August 26, 1766, is an article " to Chuse a Standing 
Committee to Deside all Controverseys that may arise By the Lotts Enterfearing one on another 
and fienely Settel the Same Between man and Man when aply'd to." It was, however, dis- 



24 



GILSUM. 



missed without action. The warrant for November 3, 1767, contains several articles referring to 
this subject, all of which were dismissed except the following : " to See if the proprietors will 
Vote to Establish the Lines on the west Side of the Mountain whare they now are," which was 
voted. 

This is only one of many points, showing that what is now Surry was settled much more 
rapidly than the more eastern parts of the town. The meadows along the river were more 
attractive to the settlers than the rough, hilly farms on the east of the mountain. 

The most important of the proprietors' records is the following : — 

At a meeting of the proprietors of the town of Gilsum Leagely warn'd and Holden at the house of Joshua 
Darts in Surry on monday the fifteenth Day of January Ad 1770 Being met and Duely formd the following 
Votes ware then past 1"' Chose John Marvin Moderator to Govern Said Meetting -J}? at the Same meetting it was 
Voted to Exsept of the plan of Boyl now Gilsum in maner and form as Surv'd and Returnd By Caleb Willard 
Surver of Lands, with an alowene of fore acres to Each Hundred acres for 1 1 ighways : 3'- v : at the Same meetting 
Voted that Each proprietor Shall hold two hundred and fifty acres to Each Right or Share of Land and the Same 
Be Recorded at Large on the proprietors Book 4 1 ? Voted to Exsept of the Survey of the Land Laid out By Breed 
Bachelor Surver of Lands and the Committee that asisted him : 5'? : Chose obadiah Willcox Joshua Dart and 
Ebenezer Killburn Jx>t Layers to Lay out to Each Share two Hundred and fifty acres : & y Chose John Marvin to 
ascest the Clark in Recording : 7 ly Chose Thomas llervey Johnathan Smith ir and Joshua Dart a Committee to 
treet witli Westmore Land and walpool to measher their town Lines to See if hant got more that their Comple- 
ment of Land. 

att the sam meeting it was voted that Each Proprietors Shall Hoold their Number of Loots to the amount of 
two Hundred and fifty acrs to Each Right or Shear as was Lotted and Drawn (viz) 

Then follows a description of sixty-four rights or shares, the substance of which will be 
found on the map, with reference to the table. 



West of Mountain. 


East of Mountain. 


. 






o 




V 




O 




<D 




® 




o 


o-S 






ta 




to 




bO 




ta 




bo 




Cfl 






o 


a 


o 


a 


i 


1 

2h 


o 
►J 


a 


1 


B 
eS 

a 


O 


3 


1 


Samvell Phelps, 


1 


1 


1 


2 


i 


3 


15 


8 










2 


Joseph Burt, 


2 


1 


2 


2 


4 


1 


15 


5 










3 


Thomas Sumner, 


3 


1 


3 


2 


3 


3 


15 


7 










4 


Richard Hays, 


1 





2 





5 


1 


15 


6 










5 


Benjamin Graves, 


3 













14 


7 


13 


7 






6 


Jonathan Dart, 


4 













9 


5 


10 


5 






7 


Jonathan Mack, 


1 


6 


1 


5 


1 


4 


13 


8 










8 


Noah Beebe, 





6 










9 


6 


10 


6 






9 


Jonathan Smith, 


3 


5 
3 


2 
10 


4 
3 


7 


1 














10 


Samvell Gilburd, Esq., 


6 


3 


5 


3 


4 


10 


8 










11 


Joshua Dart. 


4 


5 


4 


4 


4 


3 


11 


9 










12 


Jonathan Wright, 


5 


4 


5 


3 


5 


2 


11 


S 










13 


Duran Wade, 


6 


3 


6 


2 


6 


1 


15 


4 










14 


Jared Nolton, 


6 


4 










14 


6 


13 


6 






15 


Samvell Gilbert, Esq., 


5 


5 










10 


9 


9 


9 






16 


Josiali Kilbun, 


6 


5 










8 


6 


7 


6 






17 


John Mack, 


7 


5 


7 


4 


7 


3 


14 


8 










18 


Jonathan Smith, Jun r , 


4 


6 










7 


5 


9 


7 






19 


Joseph Spenser, 


5 


6 










13 


5 


14 


5 






20 


Jonathan Mack, Jun r , 


6 


6 










11 


5 


12 


5 






21 


Thomas Sumner, 


7 


6 










7 


9 


7 


8 






22 


Thomas Pitkin, 


1 


7 










13 


9 


12 


9 






23 


Josiah Killiun, 


6 


5 










2 


7 


6 


6 






24 


Benjamin Sumner, 


3 


7 










10 


4 


11 


4 






25 


Richard Hays. 


4 


7 










12 


8 


12 


6 






26 


Jonathan Smith, 


5 


7 










8 


5 


8 


4 






27 


Samvell Banning, 


1 


8 










11 


7 


10 


7 






2S 


Clement Sumnor, 


o 


8 










11 


C 


9 


8 






29 


Joshua Dart, 


3 


8 










13 


3 


13 


4 







£ 

& 





3 
o 


— M OJ 


^ 


tn 


en 


N tt iO 


o 






i 1 

nj / 

3 


















- 




















to 




re / 
oo. 




















(jj 






















*■ 






















Ul 














, . » 


7 




01 














i 


f 




VJ 














I 






CO 




Surry 1 


t-0 


w 


-^ 


til 


cr> 


-4 a 


) 1 i£> 


o 


— 


M 


| 


-F- 


(_n 


_> 

01 




Line 




















_Jj 








Ma. 




^ 1 




























UJ 


* 


















m 
1 












*> 


■ 


\ 
















u 












Ln 




Sullivan r — 
Line 


















^ 










01 




1 




















t 








v, Alstead 




Marlow 


























1 






CO 


























. 






tf> 




, LI 


K> 


LU 


,_f- 


Cn 


CTl 


--J CO 


o 


\x 


^~St 






^t 












~ _ ^ 










*"--l. 




1 5 


-_. 






ll 
















^z 




r 


^ 




















01 


CD 




o 




















to '-u 




























U) 


9 





Kn r&— O ^OSS CT>0l-f^t>i M — 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 



25 







West of Mountain. 










East of Mountain. 




o-S 






p 

be 




9 

60 






to 








9 
tO 






6SS 




o 


a 


o 


1 


o 

►J 




o 

-J 


1 


o 

►J 


3 


o 


3 


30 


Jonathan Leevitt, 


4 


8 










10 


2 


10 


1 






31 


Thomas Suranor, 


9 


6 


9 


7 


9 


8 


14 


1 










32 


Eliphalet Yongs, 


10 


6 


10 


7 


10 


8 


15 


1 










33 


James Spenser, 


10 


1 


9 


1 


8 


1 


15 


2 










34 


Benjamin Maan, 


10 


2 


9 


2 ' 


8 


2 


14 


2 










35 


John Starling, 


8 


6 


8 


5 


8 


4 


15 


3 










36 


Joseph Mack, 


8 


1 


9 


4 


10 


4 


12 


4 










37 


Jonathan Mack, 


7 


1 


10 


5 


9 


5 


14 


3 










38 


Joseph Wille, 


6 


1 










10 


3 


12 


3 






39 


David Taylor, 


5 


1 


S 


3 


7 


2 


9 


4 










40 


John Starling, 


4 


2 










4 


1 


7 


4 


6 


1 


41 


Joseph Mack, 


1 


1 


2 


1 


3 


1 


6 


4 










42 


Wolston Brockway, 


4 


1 


5 


1 


7 


1 


7 


2 










43 


Jonathan Levitt, 


i 


1 










13 


2 


12 


2 






44 


Joel Kilbun, 














9 


a 


9 


3 


1 


1 


45 


Joseph Mack, 


3 


2 


4 


2 






11 


3 










46 


Josiah Kilbun, 














1 


2 


6 


2 


1 


3 


47 


Thomas Sumnor, 














2 


2 


8 


2 


5 


2 


48 


Xathanill Dart, 


2 


3 










7 


3 


8 


3 






49 


Samvell Lord, 














3 


3 


4 


3 


14 


4 


50 


Jonathan Smith, 














f 2 
l 5 


3 
3 


1 


3 


8 


1 


51 


Seth Hull, 














] 1 

i 2 


4 
4 


12 


7 


5 


4 


52 


Xathanill Warnor, 














5 i 

( 2 
3 


4 
4 


6 


3 


o 


5 


53 


James Cox, 














6 


2 


6 


4 


6 


54 


Joseph Ransun, 














2 


7 


5 


6 


5 


5 


55 


Clement Sumnor. 














3 


9 


2 


9 


8 


9 


56 


Seth Hays. 














4 


9 


11 


1 


4 


5 


57 


Joshua Dart, 














3 


7 


8 


7 


11 


2 


58 


Josiah Kilbun, Ju r , 

















7 

7 


6 


7 


12 


1 


59 


Allin Wille, 














7 


7 


7 


13 


1 


60 


Joshua Dart, 














5 


7 
7 


6 


7 


3 


4 


61 


Abner Mack, 


o 


8 










8 


S 


8 






62 


Stephen Griswold, 














11 

3 


S 
8 


4 


8 


4 


5 


63 


Daiiill Dart, 














5 


5 


9 


6 


9 


64 


I'asanage Loot. 














6 


8 


5 


9 


4 


4 



The spelling is given as in the earliest record of the " draw." In three different records, No. 
41 is given to Joseph, John, and Josiah Mack. No. 4 5 in a later record is given to John Skinner. 

The map has been constructed from four different sources. First, the record of the drawing 

just referred to. Second, a parchment map with the following inscription : — 

A Plan of the Township of Boyle or Gilsum laid out according to the Charter of the same. By Caleb Williard. 
There are 4 Acres allowed to every 100 Acres for a Road and so in proportion to Every parcel of Land laid out. 

Jonathan Smith. 

Third, an ancient copy of the same on brown pasteboard with the numbers much more distinct 

than on the parchment ; and. Fourth, a map of the same owned by Silvanus Hay ward, who was 

surveyor in this town for so many years. This map bears the following inscription : — 

A plan of Gilsom as drew by Caleb Willard a trew Coppy from the original & Contains Gilsom & Surry & 
part of Sullivan & is laid down at 160 rods to an Inch : this Coppy taken Jan r 14" 1 1796 
A true Coppy from the original 

atest Obadiah Willcox 

Proprietors Clerk 
2 



26 GILSUM. 

This contains also the lots at the east end of the town, in the tenth, eleventh, and twelfth 
ranges, as surveyed by Breed Bachelor, October, 1763, and shows " the Gore " where the Wil- 
lard and Bachelor surveys failed to meet. The river courses have not been verified, but are 
given as on the old map. 

It cannot be expected that the map as here presented is entirely free from errors. The an- 
cient data disagree in many particulars. In some cases these discrepancies have been reconciled, 
but in others no explanation has been found, save that there must be an error in the old records. 
For instance, half of the fifth lot in the ninth range was drawn to the '' Minister Lot ;" but, in 
1794, a deed from Rev. Elisha Fish, as recorded, conveyed to Samuel Seward, for ,£48, the east 
half of the fourth lot, ninth range, " originally granted to the first minister." 

The lots on the west of " the Mountain " were intended to contain fifty acres each, — those 
on the east, one hundred. As measured on the map, by the scale, those on the east are one 
hundred and sixty rods east and west, and one hundred and four north and south. But in meas- 
uring these old lines now, there is found a difference frequently of from ten to twenty rods. 
A lack of accuracy is also manifest upon the map itself. It will at once be noticed that the third 
lot on the cast of the mountain is only about one-half as wide as the rest, and the second lot is 
wider. Of this no explanation is given. In old deeds the third lot is sometimes called fifty 
acres, and sometimes seventy-five. This inaccuracy occasioned trouble very early. In 1771, one 
article in the call for a meeting is : — 

to See if the proprietors will agree to make new Bounds and New Lines Between pertickelor Lotts whare 
their is manifest Earor in the Lines Run by Caleb Willard. 

The same year, Jeremiah Stiles, surveyor, was employed " to measure the Town of Gilsum 
exclusive of What Westmoreland takes off." He was also employed, two years later, to lay out 
the undivided land at the northeast corner of the town, including two hundred and fifty acres 
in " the Gore" to Samuel Wadsworth on the right of " Rubin Sumner." Nov. 5, 1771, Thomas 
Harvey, Stephen Griswould, and Ebenezer Kilburn were appointed " to Run Round those 
Lotts that are not Run and make Division between man and man." They employed William 
Russel as surveyor. Other committees for a like purpose were chosen from time to time as late 
as 1789, when Moses Hale was the surveyor. 

It will be seen from the map, that Gilsum originally extended more than a hundred rods 
beyond the east line of Sullivan. At the northeast corner it was cut off by the " Curve " or 
" Patent Line," so called, which is the present boundary between Gilsum and Stoddard. This was 
the most western of the different lines run by the Masonian proprietors, and was intended to be 
run in a curve sixty miles from the sea. Parts of this line are still preserved in the west lines 
of Fitzwilliam, Marlborough, Stoddard, Washington, and other towns. It cut off from Gilsum a 
large tract, including the Governor's lot and the lot for the Society for the Propagation of the 
Gospel in Foreign Parts. 

This " Curve Line " evidently occasioned the proprietors considerable trouble. Though they 
laid out and drew lots east of this line, yet it seems doubtful whether they ever realized much 
profit therefrom. 

July 13, 1768. Sampson Stoddard & Jonathan Blanchard for themselves and others, Propr 8 of a Tract of 
Land Called Monad k No. 7. 

Petitioned, that as a considerable part of the land granted to Samuel Gilbert & others, by the name of Gilsum, 
in July 1763, was (as we apprehend By mistake) laid out within Masons Patent So Called Long Since granted to 
us & associates. That the Grantees of Said Gilsum have failed making any Settlement on any part So falling 
within Masons Claim, that to prevent Disputes Between his Majestys Good Subjects, We pray that we may 
allow d to Improve our Lands as far West as the Patent Line aforesaid &c. 



CHARTER AND PROPRIETORSHIP. 27 

Jan. 9, 1772, Jonathan Smith was chosen to represent to the governor that certain shares had 
not been settled according to the provisions of the charter, and to ask that they might therefore 
be regranted. He was also instructed to " make application to his Excel 1 " the Governor & 
Counsil to make up to the Proprietors the Compliment of Land which our Charter contains." 
That this application refers to the part cut off by the " Curve Line," is seen not only by the 
subsequent action of the proprietors, but in the fact that, otherwise, instead of less they had 
much more land than was specified in the charter. June 10, 1778, they voted "to Pay Samuel 
Gilbart and others that had Demands on the Proprietors in Common and undevided Lands East 
of the Ninth Range not yet Laid out as far as the Pattent Line So Called," reserving certain 
rights to Samuel Wadsworth and John Byenton. That they received no satisfaction from the 
governor and council is apparent from the proposition in the warrant for a meeting May 16, 
1774, "to write home also to his Majesty lor the Confirmation of our Charter." The same 
tiling is seen by the charter of Stoddard, which was granted in November, 1774, making " the 
Pattent Line so called " its western boundary, beginning at the northwest comer of Packersfield, 
thence running seven miles to a stake and stones. This cut off not only the east part of Gilsum 
but of Marlow also, and occasioned considerable trouble between these towns. It is not strange 
that the proprietors were persistent in pressing their claims, as it involved the title to more than 
four thousand acres. 

In May, 1788, it was voted to divide the common land at the east end of the town, " to Each 
Right their Equal Share." and Capt. Thomas Harvey, Col. Jonathan Smith, and Capt. Ebenezer 
Kilburn were appointed to lay out and make a plan of the same, for which service they were to 
receive fifty acres of land. Several adjourned meetings were held, at which nothing was done, 
apparently owing to the negligence or unwillingness of Col. Smith, a6 we find that on December 
10th he was summarily dismissed from the committee, no cause being assigned, and Levi Fuller 
chosen in his place. At the next meeting, June 2, 1789, the committee reported, and the lots 
were drawn as shown on the map. 

At the annual town meeting in 1794. Gilsum " Voted to Opose the Town of Stoddard in their 
Petision to the General Cort that there jurisdiction Line may Exstend to the Curved Line." Op- 
position, however, was of no avail, and the present boundary between Gilsum and Stoddard is 
that same " Curved Line." This was established by an act of the legislature passed June 20, 
1797, and approved the next day, giving to Stoddard — 

All thnl strip of Land claimed by said Stoddardlying on the Easterly side of the curved line of Masons Patent 
as run by Major Joseph Blanchard which strip is included in the grants of said towns of Marlow and Gilsum 
(excepting what is included in the Corporation of Sullivan) with the inhabitants living thereon. 

At a meeting of the proprietors Oct. 2, 1804, Lemuel Holmes, Esq., was chosen to attend the Gen rl Court and 
Exammin the Records of the State Respecting the Mason Clame and the Settlement Between the Committies Chosen 
by the State and the Masonian Committee and there Report and the Gen rl Courts Proceedings thereon. The next 
March, L805, they Chose John Chaberlin agent to attend the Gen rl Court in June Next for which they protnis to 
pay him thirty Hollers also Voted to Chuse a Committee of three to Procure the Xecessary Evidence to Carry to the 
Gen rl Court Chose Ebenezer Kilburn Clement A Sumner * & Lemuel Holmes for Said Committee. 

About the same date the town " Voted to rais $15 dollars to help the proprieters of Gilsom 
to Support their pitetion in the General Court respecting the Masonian Claims." 

At a proprietors' meeting in July of the same year, the committee chosen to " Look up and 
take Care of the unlocated Land " was " impowered to Commence a Suit at Law if Necessary 
against those that now Clame S d Land." In June, 1806, " Voted to Carry on the action now 
pending in Court Respecting the Last Division in Gilsum Township." March 1, 1808, " Chose 
Col. Jon 1 Smith to attend at Charleston at Court to assist Capt Kilburn in Defending the Suit in 

* Son of Rev. Clement Sumner. 



28 aiLSUM. 

favour of the Proprietors" Feb. 2, 1813, "Voted that Lie™ L Fuller be a Committee to defend 
the Lawsuit now pending." 

In December, 1782, it was voted to sell " all the undevided Land at the North End of the 
Mountain in Surry that is not already Drawn " This was estimated at 258 acres, and was sold 
for fifty pounds to " Elisha Briggs of Keene Millrite." 

After " the last Division " of 1789, no meetings were held for nine years, when the only 
business was to choose a new clerk, and a committee " to Transcribe the Proprietors Book and 
Record what of the doings of the Proprietors that is not yet Recordid : Only Enterd on paper as 
minits : " At the next meeting, Feb. 18, 1799, Lemuel Holmes, the new clerk, was allowed 
" 13 Dollers for Transcribing the Book & Other Servises." This copy is the one we now have. 
The original is in the town clerk's office at Surry. 

The remaining history of the proprietors is mostly the looking-up of undivided lands, and 
prosecuting claims to such corners and gores as could be found left out of their former careless 
surveys. Men who supposed they had a clear title to the lands they had occupied, every now 
and then found themselves confronted by a claim of the proprietors to some strip not described 
in the deeds they held. The proprietors evidently took much pains to look up such cases. Some 
things seem to be easily read between the lines of the record. The meetings were generally held 
at some tavern ; Robinson's or McCurdy's in Surry, or Grimes's, afterwards Smith's, in Gilsum. 
A frequent record after the organization is " adjourned one hour." Usually no business was 
transacted after this adjournment ; but sometimes, matters which had been hanging along for 
months or years before, were disposed of with great facility. Knowing the habits of the times, 
we can have no doubt of the festive nature of the recess taken, or the cause of the facility with 
which business was sometimes closed up after it. A man on whose land they levied a claim, if 
he understood how to manage the matter, coidd apparently settle without difficulty after an 
adjournment of this kind, during which he, of course, was the host. In short, if the man treated 
freely, he could settle easily ; but if not, he would have to pay a round sum. These things are 
not, indeed, recorded, but the clue is given by which they may be fairly inferred. In 1814 their 
records come suddenly to a close. They had apparently made good and sold all the claims they 
could establish, and their " occupation was gone." Jan. 11, 1814, the committee reported having 
sold lands for $271. One item is, " Sold the Colpit lot So Cald to Calvin Lock for $100." 

A meeting was held February 8th, at which various accounts were allowed, and a piece of land 

" that Esqr Robinson pretends to own under the mountain," was sold to Samuel Robinson by his 

" giving his Note to Edo Kilburn " for sixteen dollars. The meeting was adjourned to " the first 

tuesday in may Next to meet at L, L. Fullars." They seem to have failed to come to time, for 

the only subsequent record is as follows : — 

1814 May 5 I the subscriber took ten Dollars of Lieu Calvin Lock of .Sullivan and G" 1 of May payd it over to 
Lieu L. Fullar by Request, of S d Fuller & S d Lock— Sam 1 . Allen 

EXEUNT PROPRIETORS. 



FORMATION OF SURRY AND SULLIVAN. 29 

CHAPTER V. 

FORMATION OF SURRY AND SULLIVAN. 

The natural features of the town, as originally chartered, were such as to render a division 
almost a necessity. Scarcely a year had elapsed from the giving of the charter, when in the 
call for a proprietors' meeting, July 16, 1764, was inserted an article " to See if Said Proprietors 
will Vote and Set off the west End of Said Town of Gilsum as far East as the top of the Moun- 
tain." It was, however, dismissed without action. The settlers in what was called " West- 
moreland Leg " lying between the west end of Gilsum and Keene, were as anxious as any for 
the formation of a new town ; and the next action of which we find record was that of West- 
moreland, March 12, 1766, when it was " Voted to set of the people to Gilsum that Belong to 
the North East corner of this Town from Walpole Corner to Keen Line." This seems to have 
hastened the movement on the part of Gilsum people, as among the papers sent to the provin- 
cial assembly with the petition for the new town are the following : — 

Province of New Hampshier. 

At a Meeting of the Inhabitants of the Town of Gilsum meet at the House of Mr Jonathan Smiths in s d 
Town on Tuesday y e 26 of August 1760 being meet and duly formed Mr Joseph Spensor Being chose Moderator 
to Govern S d Meetting S d Inhabitants Voted to seet off the west End of S d Towne as farr East as the Mountain 
Range — 

a True Coppey of the Vote as it was then past 

rr, . ) OBADIAH WlLLCOX, 

Test P r " me - [ Town Cla'k 

Gilsum Sep tln y c 1 st 1766, 

Ne P w°lSmpsnear } Gilsum - ^ the ls ' A D : 17 ' 18 

This may Certifle the Honerabell General Cort of this Provence, that we the Suscribers Inhabitince of the East 
parte of the Town of said Gilsum Do Agrea and give our free Concente that the West pearte of this the Said Town 
of Gilsum shold be sett off to be one Intier Town or Pearish or presink with a part of Westmoland and to Extend 
as fear East as is here Disscribed (viz) To Begin at the South Line of said Gilsum 80 Rods East of the South 
East Corner of Westmoland Ledg * (So cald) and to run North by the neadel 260 Rods then Makeing a seat off 80 
Rods East, and then Running North by the Neadel a cross the said Town — 
In Conformacion hereof we Subscribe 

Josiah Kilburn Henry White 

Ebenezer Kilborn Pelatiah Pease 

Jonathan Adams John Chapman 

Medad Thornton Obediah Willcox f 

The following is the petition : — 

To His Excellency John Wentworth Esq. Captain General. Governour &c in and over his Majestys Province of 
New Hampshire — The Hon ble His Majesty's Council and House, of Representatives for said Province — 

The Petition of the Suscribers, Inhabitants of the Westerly Part of the Township of Gilsum and the North- 
westerly Part of the Township of Westmoreland in said Province Humby Sheweth : 

That said Westerly part of Gilsum being seperated from the Easterly Part of the Same Township by a long 
and impassable Mountain almost thro the Township of said Gilsum Dividing the Same so as to leave about one 
third part of the Lands of the Township of said Gilsum on the Westerly side of said Mountain, and no conveni- 
ent Communication can be had with the Easterly Part of said Township, so very necessary for the well Regulating 
and management of Town affairs ; and the Westerly part of said Gilsum being too Small in Contents of Land for 
a Seperate and Distinct Town, Parish or Precinct, And whereas the Northwesterly part of said Westmoreland being 
that part of said Town Called Westmoreland Leg Lying at a Great Distance from and very dificult Passage to 
the main Body of y c Town and Inhabitants of said Westmoreland and also paying Large Taxes for the Support 
of the Ministry & other Town Charges, without being able to Receive any Benefit or advantage therefrom And 

* Doubtless intended for Legg. 

t Not the proprietors' clerk, who lived in Surry, but his cousin, of this town. 



30 GILSUM. 

being adjoining to and conveniently Situate to be joined and incorporated with said Westerly part of Gilsum 
therewith to make one Seperate and Distinct Town &c. 

Now your Petitioners humbly pray your Excellency and Honour that Said Westerly part of Gilsum and 
Northeasterly part of Westmoreland : (viz beginning at the Southeast corner of Walpole thence running South- 
erly on a Straight Line to the North West corner of Keene thence running Easterly on the Line of said Keene to 
the Southeast corner of Westmoreland Leg so called and continuing the same Line Eighty Rods East of S d (last 
mention'd) corner thence running North two Hundred and Sixty Rods, thence East Eighty Rods, thence on a 
North Line to the North Line of said Township of Gilsum thence West on the Line of Said Gilsum to the 
Northwest Corner of the Same thence South on the Line between said Gilsum & Walpole to the first men- 
tioned Bounds that part of said Westmoreland & Gilsum included in the aforementioned Lines, may be taken off 
from y e aforesaid Towns of Westmoreland & Gilsum. and be Erected made and Incorporated into one Sep- 
erate & Destinct Town, Corporation & Body Politick with all the Powers, Priviledges and immunities that any 
town hath or by Law ought to have in said Province or otherways as to your Excellency & Honours seam fit and 
as in Duty bound shall Ever pray — 

Dated Gilsum July 4 th A D."l768. 

Obadiah Willeox Ichabod Smith Joshua Fuller Charles Rice 

Samuel Hall Eliphalet Darte Joseph Mack Nathaniel Darte 

Job Gleason John Marvin Jonathan Pareish Jonathan Smith 

Joseph Spencer Abel Allen Peter Hayward Jonathan Smith, Jr 

Moses Field Beniaman Wheetney William Barns Woolston Brockway 
Thomas Smith 

Most of these are recognized at once as original Surry names. Peter Hayward was the first 
settler in Westmoreland, near the northeast corner of " Westmoreland Leg." Samuel Hall, 
Benjamin Whitney, and Jonathan Parish probably belonged to " the Leg." Benjamin Whitney 
was at the battle of Bunker Hill. 

Leave was granted " to bring in a Bill for incorporating said Town prayed for, the Bounds 
to be agreeable to the said Plan." The bill was enacted March 2, 1769, and from that date 
Gilsum included only what lies east of the division between the first and second ranges of hun- 
dred-acre lots. 

The notch, 260 rods long and 80 wide, described in the petition, belonged to the Kilbums, 
and it is probable Joel Kilburn resided there. It was doubtless their wish to be included in 
Gilsum, according to the petition. It will be noticed, however, that the act of incorporation made 
the bounds agreeable to the plan and not to the petition. On the plan accompanying the papers, 
no such notch is found, but the line accords with the present town boundary. 

INCORPORATION OF SULLIVAN. 

Eighteen years after Surry was formed, Gilsum lost another large portion of territory out of 
the southeast corner of the town. At the time Surry was set off, there were probably no 
inhabitants east of the present Sullivan line. Afterwards, when the farms east and south of the 
Bearden hill began to be settled, the people found it burdensome to cross "the gulf" for 
Sabbath meetings and town gatherings. It was impossible to locate the meeting-house where all 
parties would be satisfied. The only solution of the difficulty seemed to be the formation of 
a new town. The following petition was sent to the legislature : — 

To the Honorable the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court convened. 

Humbly shew, your Petitioners, the subscribers, Inhabitants of the Towns of Keene, Packersfield, Gilsum and 
Stoddard. That they live remote from the centres of their respective Towns and by reason of distance and bad 
roads are deprived * town privileges. That they cannot enjoy the conveniences of public worship — That 

some of their duties as members of their several towns are by their situation very burdensome — That if they 
might be incorporated into a separate and distinct township it would be highly advantageous to them, and no detri- 
ment to the towns to which they now belong — That they are encouraged to hope that no objections will be made 
to their being thus incorporated unless by the town of Gilsum, and that those objections may be easily obviated — 

The prayer of this their humble Petition therefore is — That the tract of land marked out upon the plan 

* Illegible. 



FORMATION OF SURRY AND SULLIVAN. 



31 



herewith exhibited may be set off from the several towns aforesaid into a distinct township by the name of Orringe, 
and the Inhabitants of it incorporated as aforesaid — and your Petitioners as in duty bound shall ever pray. 



August 22 d , 1786. 



Grandal (?) Keith 
Jonathan Burnam 
Nathan Bolster 
Josiah Seward 
William Buroam 
James Rowe 
Timothy Dimmock 
Joseph Ellis 
William Cory 
Samuel Cory 
Joshua Cory 
Jonathan Heaton 
John Chapman 
Benjamin Chapman 
John Chapman Jr 
James Locke 
Timothy Dewey 



Roswell Hubbard 
Zadock Nims 
Erastus Hubbard 
Joshua Osgood 

Oliver Carter 
Ezra Osgood 
Sam 1 Seward 
Elijah Carter 
Samuel Wyman 
James Pratt 
Jesse Wheeler 
Lockhart Willard 
Jonathan Baker 
John Dimick 
Ebenezer Birdit 
John Row 
Benj" Ellis 
Simeon Ellis 
Nathan Ellis 
James Locke Jun r 
Thomas Morse 



Inhabitants 

of 

Keene 



Inhabitants 

of 

Stoddard 



J 



Inhabitants 

of 

Gilsum 



Other papers show that Gilsum made no objection to the division. Packersfield objected, as 
it " would be a means of removing the present centre and frustrate our Design in Building a 
House for Public Worship and thro the Town into the uttermost confusion imaginable." The 
legislature appointed a committee to view the premises, the chairman of which was Lemuel 
Holmes of Surry. They doubtless reported in favor, as the act of incorporation was passed 
Sept. 27, 1787. 

This left Gilsum substantially in the same form as at present. A few acres, however, on the 
north side of the river were taken from Sullivan and annexed to Gilsum in 1878. The south 
bank of the Ashuelot now forms the town line, from a few rods below Collins's factory till it 
strikes the west line of Sullivan. 

In 1816, an effort was made to annex the northeast part of the town to Marlow, but an 
article in favor of the project was dismissed. 

In 1871. a portion of Alstead, including what is known as " South Woods," petitioned to be 
annexed to Gilsum. As Alstead was burdened with a large debt, and Gilsum would be obliged 
to assume a share of the same, the town dismissed the article. 



32 GILSUM. 

CHAPTEE VI. 

THE VERMONT TROUBLES. 

Gilsum, with other towns west of the " Curve Line," was drawn into the triple controversy 
between New York, New Hampshire, and Vermont. Both New York and New Hampshire laid 
claim to what is now Vermont. From 1749 to 1764, Gov. Wentworth granted the territory for 
more than one hundred and twenty-five towns west of the Connecticut River. When the royal 
decision was given against New Hampshire, New York refused to recognize the claims 
of the settlers to these lands. But the sturdy "Green Mountain Boys" would not 
be driven from their homes, and in 1777 published a declaration " that they would at all times 
consider themselves as a free and independent State," and petitioned Congress to receive them 
into the Union. Having adopted a constitution, representatives assembled for the first time at 
Windsor, Vt., in 1778. Sixteen towns from the east side of the river sent a committee to ask 
that they might be included in the new State of Vermont. They claimed that New Hampshire 
was originally a grant to Mason, and extended no farther west than the " Curve Line " ; that all 
towns west of that line had been granted by authority of the royal governors, and, therefore, 
since the royal authority had been overthrown, they " were not connected with any State," and 
were " at perfect liberty to determine for themselves" what jurisdiction they would be under." 

The anticipated conflict with New Hampshire made the Vermont Assembly hesitate. They 
granted the request, but at the next session in October, though their representatives were admit- 
ted to seats, they nevertheless left these towns practically " out in the cold," by refusing them a 
County organization. On this, the members from these towns withdrew and called a convention 
which met at Cornish, Dec. 9, 1778. This convention determined to make proposals to 
New Hampshire, whereby the towns east of the Green Mountains should join that State. At 
its next session, in February, 1779, the Vermont Assembly dissolved all connection with towns 
east of the river. But this failed to settle matters, as New Hampshire was now in hopes to 
extend her territory farther west. The inhabitants in the southeast part of Vermont held a 
convention in October, 1780, in which it was proposed "to unite in one political body all the 
inhabitants from Mason's grant, on the east side of the Connecticut River, to the heights of land 
on the west side." This State was to be called New Connecticut. In the following November, a 
convention of towns in Cheshire County was held at Walpole, and appointed a committee to 
confer with others and " consider what is proper to be done." This committee consisted of Dr. 
William Page and Col. Samuel Hunt of Charlestown, Capt. Lemuel Holmes of Surry, Daniel 
Jones, Esq., of Hinsdale, and Col. Benjamin Bellows of Walpole. They recommended that a 
convention should be held at Charlestown the next January. Forty-three towns were represented 
in the Charlestown convention. They appointed a committee to confer with the Vermont 
Assembly in reference to terms of union, and adjourned to meet at Cornish, in February, when 
the Assembly would be in session at Windsor, Vt., only a few miles away. The Assembly 
accepted this proposition, on condition that two-thirds of the towns interested, on both sides of 
the river, should approve of it, and adjourned till April. They found on assembling that the 
necessary number of towns had given a favorable vote, and the union was therefore consum- 
mated. Representatives from thirty-five towns on the east side of the river took their seats as 
members. The towns south of the north line of Claremont and east of the river were organized 
into Washington County. After meeting at Bennington the following June, the Vermont 



THE VERMONT TROUBLES. 33 

Legislature assembled Oct. 11, 1781, at Charlestown. The Lieutenant Governor and one of 
the councilors were chosen from the east side of the river. Vermont had thus taken actual 
possession of nearly a third part of New Hampshire, and it was evidently impossible that such a 
state of affairs should long continue without some violent contention. Two Chesterfield men 
having been arrested and lodged in Charlestown jail by a Vermont sheriff, the New Hampshire 
Assembly authorized Col. Hale, the sheriff of Cheshire County, to release them, by force if 
necessary. Not succeeding in the attempt, he was himself arrested by the Vermont sheriff and 
committed to the same jail. In retaliation, Dr. William Page of Charlestown, who had accepted 
the office of sheriff under Vermont authority, was arrested by order of the New Hampshire 
House of Representatives and confined in Exeter jail. The danger of actual civil war between 
the two States was imminent. Vermont was making military preparations, and in January, 
1782, New Hampshire ordered a thousand men to be raised and sent into Cheshire County to 
support the civil officers. But, largely through the influence of Gen. Washington and the 
inducements offered by Congress, Vermont was led to a wiser policy, and on the twenty-third of 
February, 1782, the Legislature at Bennington, Vt., passed resolutions dissolving their union 
with the towns east of the Connecticut, and accepting their present state lines. This ended the 
conflict, the disaffected towns returning quietly to their former state allegiance. For this con- 
cession, Vermont expected to he received into the Union at once, but was much disappointed by 
being kept out for nine years, during which period she was named, by the humorists of that day, 
" The Future State." 

The loss of our records leaves us to other sources for the action of Gilsum in these troubles. 
It has already been seen that Surry was represented in the Walpole convention by Capt. 
Holmes. It seems probable that Gilsum sent a delegate to the Charlestown convention, but 
there are no records to determine the fact. Gilsum voted to join Vermont, and was represented 
in the Assembly at Windsor, and at Charlestown, by Ebenezer Dewey. Surry was represented 
by Woolston Brockway. 

Surry records show, that, during the period of union, town meetings were called in the name 
of the State of Vermont and County of Washington, and there can be no doubt the same was 
done in Gilsum. 

Note. — Those wishing to know more of this controversy are referred to Bouton's Provincial and State 
Papers, Vol. IX., in the town clerk's office, and Saunderson's History of Charlestown. From these sources the 
preceding account has mostly been taken. 



34 GIL SUM. 

CHAPTER VII. 

GILSUM IN THE REVOLUTION. 

" What heroes from the woodland sprung, 
When, through the fresh awakened land. 
The thrilling cry of Freedom rung, 
And to the work of warfare strung 
The yeoman's iron hand ! 

" As if the very earth again 

Grew quick with God's creating breath, 
And from the sods of grove and glen, 
Rose ranks of lion-hearted men 

To battle to the death." 

The attempt to construct a satisfactory history of Gilsuni during the " times that tried men's 
souls" in the period of the Revolution, is much like •' making bricks without straw." The early 
records of the town were in unbound manuscript. The marriages, births, and deaths were 
copied into the first and second bound volumes. The remaining records were subsequently lost, 
probably through some carelessness in the transfer from one town clerk to another. Conse- 
quently the votes of the town during the stormy period prior to 1789 are entirely missing. The 
only item in our town books, which seems to indicate that there was any Revolutionary war, is 
the following among the deaths : " Ido 4 th .Son of Elizabeth Church Diparted this life Sep*. 19 — 
1777 Kild in Battle." The records of almost any other twenty-five years could have been better 
spared. We know that the fathers of the town were thoroughly imbued with the spirit of 
liberty, and devoted their lives and their property to the sacred cause, with untiring zeal and 
self-denying heroism. 

As already seen, that bloody conflict known as the " French and Indian War," occurred 
before the settlement of Gilsum. In it, however, were engaged some of those who afterwards 
settled in Gilsum, as, for instance, Solomon Mack and John Bingham, [Biog.] and doubtless 
many others. A curious letter relating to those times was written in 1813 by Abner Sanger, 
then residing in Gilsum. (Appendix B.) 

The names and record of those who served in the Revolutionary army have been obtained 
from state documents. These, and a few family traditions of uncertain value, are the only 
sources from which this chapter has been compiled. 

Aug. 25, 1775, the Provincial Congress "recommended to the Select Men of the several Towns, ... to 
take an exact Number of the Inhabitants of their respective Districts, including every soul in the Same," . . . 
also to " return the Number of the Fire Arms in their respective Districts fit for use, and the Number wanting to 
compleet one for every person capable of usuing them, . . . adding there to the Quantity of Powder in each 
place ; and where there is a Public Stock to return a separate Account thereof, & that the whole be returned to the 
Committee of Safety for this Colony." 

In compliance with this recommendation, we find the following return from Gilsum : — 

Males under 16 years of age 45 

Males from 16 years of age to 50, not in the army .... 32 

All males above 50 years of age 10 

Persons gone in the army ........ 7 

All Females 84 

Negroes and slaves for life 

178 
The Number of Guns 15 



GILSUM IN TEE REVOLUTION. 



35 



Destitute of Powder & town Stock — in Persuance to the above direction we have taken an exact accompt of 
the number of Soles and guns in the town of Gilsum. 
Gilsum October 
30 y e 1775 

Test Sam l Church ) Selectmen 

Stephen Griswold V of said 
Peletiah Pease ) Gilsum. 

On enrollment list of March, 1777, Gilsum reports thirty-nine men from sixteen to fifty years old. 

The Continental Congress having " recommended to the several .... Committees of Safety of the United 
Colonies, immediately to cause all Persons to be disarmed, within their Respective Colonies, who are notoriously dis- 
affected to the cause of America, or who have not associated, and refuse to associate, to defend by Arms, the United 
Colonies, against the Hostile attempts of the British Fleets and Armies," the Committee of Safety for New Hamp- 
shire, under date of Ap. 12, 1778, sent to the selectmen of every town a request "to desire all Males above Twenty- 
one years of age (Lunaticks, Idiots, and Negroes excepted) to sign to the Declaration on this paper ; and when so 
done, to make return thereof, together with the Name or Names of all who shall refuse to sign the same, to the 
General Assembly or Committee of Safety of this Colony. 

The declaration or pledge was as follows : — 

We, the Subscribers, do hereby solemnly engage and promise, that we will, to the utmost of 
our Power, at the Risque of our Lives and Fortunes, with Arms, oppose the Hostile Proceedings 
of the British Fleets and Armies against the United American Colonies. 



Gilsum and Surry both have the honor of being in the list of towns who had no Tories to 
report, every man signing the above pledge. The signers in Gilsum were the following : — 



Ebenezer Dewey 
Justus Hurd 
Pelatiah Pease 
Ebenezer Dewey Jr 
Gershom Crocker 
Josiah Kilburn 
Ebenezer Kilburn 
Tho. Morse 
Josiah Kilburn, Jr 
Ebenezer Church 
John Marks 



Stephen Griswold 
James Rowe 
Elisha Pendell 
Jonathan Adams 
Ichabod Youngs 
Henry White 
Shubael Hurd 
Stephen Bond 
Joseph Youngs 
David Bill 
Stephen Bond, Jr. 



Elisha Mack 
Obadiah Smith 
John Boynton 
John Boynton, Jr. 
John Dimick, Jr 
John Dimeck 
Levi Bliss 
Jonathan Bliss 
Abner Bliss 
David Bliss 



Jonathan Bliss Jr 
Ebenezer Bill 
Joel Kilbourn 
Obadiah Willcox Jr 
Elezer Willcox 
John Chapman 
Timothy Dimock 
John Row 
John Row, Jr. 
Obadiah Willcox 



This may Certify that the Names Annexed to this paper are all the inhabitants of the town of Gilsum that 
come within the Limits of this Request. 

Test Eben e Dewey, Jr. ) Selectmen of 

Pelatiah Pease } Gilsum 

Prior to the Revolution, the militia of this part of the State, from Massachusetts line as far 
north as Claremont and including Newport, were in one regiment commanded by Col. Josiah 
Willard of Winchester. When the war came on, he was found on the Tory side, and in August, 
1775, this regiment was divided into two. Gilsum was assigned to the first, and the command 
given to Samuel Ashley, Esq., of Winchester. Capt. Joseph Hammond of Swanzey was 
appointed Lieutenant Colonel, and Isaac Butterfield of Westmoreland, and Timothy Ellis of 
Keenc, Majors. As afterwards appears, this was known as the Sixth New Hampshire Regiment. 
A regiment raised in July, 1776, for the defense of Portsmouth, was under command of Col. 
Isaac Wyman of Keene. The fifth company of this regiment had for its officers, Samuel 
Wetherbee of Charlestown, Captain ; Ebenezer Kilburn, first Lieutenant ; and Davis Howlet of 
Keene, second Lieutenant. In June, 1777, Cols. Bellows and Ashley were both summoned with 
their regiments to re-inforce the Continental army at Ticonderoga. 

The following is the roll of Col. Ashley's seventh company, which was composed almost 
entirely of men from Gilsum and Surry : — 



36 



aiLSUM. 



Elisha Mack, Captain. 
Ebenezer Kilburn, Lieutenant. 
Abner Skinner, 2d Lieutenant. 
Timothy Dimock, Ensign. 
Shubal Hurd, Sergeant. 
Ichabod Young. Sergeant. 
Samuel Smith, Sergeant. 
Delavarne [Delavan] Delelance, Serg. 
Obadiah Crane, Corporal. 
Joseph Whitney, Corporal. 
Obadiah Smith, Corporal. 
Henry White, Corporal. 
John Boynton, Filer. 
Thomas Smith. 



Jonathan Smith. Ichabod Smith. 

Joshua Fuller. Thomas Dart, 3d. 

Justus Dart. Moses Hale. 

Thomas Dart. Charles Rice. 

Samuel McCurdy. Thomas Morse. 

Thomas Dart, Jr. Peter Beebe. 

Benjamin Carpenter. Abner Bliss. 

Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. Joel Kilburn. 
Nathan Howard [Hayward].Joseph Ellis. 

William Barnes [Barron]. Benjamin Ellis. 

John Rading [Redding]. John Roe. 
Sylvanus Howard [Hayward]Elisha Pendall. 

Abel Allen. Stephen Bond. 

Jonathan Smith, Jr. Levi Bliss. 



Theody [Theodore] Preston. 

Justus Hurd. 

Ebenezer Dewey. 

John Marks. 

Moses Field. 

Jehiel Holdridge. 

Jonathan Carpenter. 

Samuel Fuller. 

Peter Howard [Hayward]. 

Josiah * Dart. 

Jesse Dart. 

Asa Wilcox. 

Daniel Wright. 

Obadiah Wilcox. 

Ebenezer Bill. 



They inarched for the relief of Ticonderoga in the latter part of June, 1777, " to Black 
River, when they were ordered home, and arrived there July 8. On the next day they were 
ordered again for Ticonderoga, and went as far as Col. Mead's, at Otter Creek, when the army 
was met retreating, and they turned and arrived home July 10." Probably most of these men 
did not re-enlist, and these few days of marching was all the service they saw. 

In another regiment, under Col. Moses Nichols of Amherst, the ninth company was about 
half from Gilsum and Surry, and the rest probably from Keene and Westmoreland. The roll is 
as follows : — 



Elisha Mack, Captain. 
Josiah Richardson, Lieut. 
Moses Fields, 2d Lieutenant. 
Samuel Fuller, Sergeant. 
Ebenezer Cook, Serg't Major. 
Aden Holbrook, Sergeant. 
Tilly How, Sergeant. 
Robert Worsley, Corporal. 
Asa Wilcox, Corporal. 
Jehial Holdridge, Corporal. 



Nathan Howard, Corporal. 
John Rowe, Drummer. 
John Boyington, Filer. 
Nicholas Bragg. 
Ebenezer Bragg. 
Peter Beebe. 
David Bond. 
Cephas Clark. 
Joshua Durant. 
Matthew Dolf. 



Job Gleason. 
Benjamin Gutridge. 
Samuel Hall. 
John Royce. 
Ezra Metcalf. 
Amos Puffer. 
Gideon Packard. 
Timothy Rhodes. 
John Reding. 
James Sawyer. 



Jonathan Smith. 

Jonathan Wheeler. 

Daniel Willson. 

Jonathan Dwiuel. 

David Willson. 

Zadock Wheeler. 

David Harris, discharged Aug. 19. 

Michael Metcalf,} 

Joshua Fuller, - killed Aug. 16. 

William Wood, 



This company marched from New Hampshire July 22, 1777, joined the Continental army at 
Saratoga, and was in the battle of Bennington, where three of their number were killed. They 
were discharged about Sept. 22, and were paid for two months and two days' service. Capt. 
Mack was paid for " a journey from Gilsum to Exeter to make return of the Roll, 9 days 
at 8/ _£3-12-0." 

The following accounts from the state records show the bounties paid by the town : — 



Accounts for Town Bounties, Gilsum. 

April, f Lexington alarm and Roll in 1775, 

1777 May Continentals, 5 men 
July Starks Brigade 8 men 

1778 April 1 Continentals, 2 men paid in rye 
June Thomas Morse, Col. Peabodys Reg*, R. I. 

1779 July Continentals 2 men Mooneys Regt, R. I. pd in rye, 

Jesse Smith 

1780 July New levies 2 men % 

Nichols Regiment 4 men (west Point) 
Alarm at Haverhill, Coos pr roll at the time Royalstown 
was burnt 



£7-1-4 

121- - 

32- - 

40- - 

7- - 

60- - 

7- - 

32- - 

24- - 

24-3-5 



Possibly a mistake for Joshua. 



t Samuel White. 



£354-4-9 
\ Samuel Crane and Joseph French. 



GILSUM IN THE REVOLUTION. 37 

Gilsum account for bounties paid. 

1777 Zadoc Hurd, bounty for 8 nio s £8-11-2 

1779 Samuel White, bounty for 1 year 21-11-6 

" Frederick Tubbs, bounty for 1 year 21-11-6 



£51-14-2 



Account of bounties and supplies paid by the several Towns to soldiers in the years 1777 - '78 & '79 which 
was deducted from the soldiers' depreciation * Jany 17SG 

Gilsum. 

Iddo Church £10-2-4 

Thomas Church 22-8-6 

David Adams 22-8-6 



£54-19-4 



There are also papers sworn to by Capt. John Griggs, Elisha Pendell, and Ebenezer Church, 
selectmen of Gilsum for the year 1779, certifying that they had paid a bounty of ,£60 each to 
Frederick " Tubs "■ and Samuel White, for one year's enlistment in the Continental army, and also 
that they had paid Jesse Smith, enlisted in Col. Mooney's regiment for the defense of Rhode 
Island, bounty £30 ; travel to Providence, £12. 

The following men are credited to Gilsum in the state archives : — 

David Aisraham was in Samuel Wetherbee's company, Wyman's regiment, enlisted from Gilsum July 12, 

1776, and is on Wyman's roll at Mount Independence, Nov. 5, 1776, paid UI-19-7. He was in Stark's regiment 
in 1778, and in Cilley's in 1781, but in both cases credited to Alstead. Nothing further is known of this man. 
He was probably a substitute. 

David Adams was mustered at Cambridge, May 26, 1775, in Capt. Watson's company, and was doubtlesffin the 
battle of Bunker Hill. He was in Capt. Samuel Wetherbee's company. Col. Isaac Wyman's regiment, enlisted 
July 2, 1776, sent to join the Northern army, and is on a pay-roll of Wyman's regiment dated "Mount Inde- 
pendence Nov. 5, 1776," as " mustered August 20, 1776, and paid an advance for bounty and wages £9-18, and for 
twenty-six miles' travel, £0 - 2 - 2." He was in Capt. Josiah Brown's company. Col. Enoch Hale's regiment, which 
marched to Ticonderoga May 6, 1777, in service forty-nine days, paid wages, travel, etc., £7- 16 -8. He is on roll 
of men who were engaged under Capt. William Scott (Peterborough) and mustered by Abial Abbott, Dec. 17, 

1777. for three years, and served in the First New Hampshire Regiment, under command of Joseph Cilley, was 
discharged Dec. 81, 1780, was corporal in first company Cilley's regiment in 1780, and was sergeant in same company 
as it was re-organized Jan. 1, 1781. Was in the army June 26, 1782, and probably served through 1783. He 
was allowed $167.50 for " Depreciation money " 1777, 1778, and 1779. He was reported absent from Camp Valley 
Forge Jan. 10, 1778. Cause — sick — age 18. [That is, at enlistment.] lie is described as five feet and seven 
inches in stature, light " comjjlection," dark hair, and light eyes. 

Peter Beebe was in Capt. Jason Wait's company, Col. Bedel's regiment, mustered February, 1776, by John 
Bellows, Esq.; was with ('apt. Mack at Saratoga, enlisted July 22, discharged Sept. 22, 1777; was in Capt. John 
Gregg's [Griggs] company, Scammel's regiment, mustered and paid by Thomas Sparhawk April 10, 1778; gives 
his age as 18 years. He re-enlisted Dec. 8, 1779, for the war. and was paid a bounty of £90 by Col. Nichols ; was 
in the eighth company of Scammel's regiment, Capt. Wm. Ellis of Keene, and is reported as " Deserted May 20, 
1780." If he did desert, he returned, as he is on roll of the First New Hampshire Regiment as it was re-organized 
in 1781. 

" Gilsum ye Sept ye 13, 1782. 
this is to certifie that this town Ingaged Peter Beebe to serve In the Continental army In y° year 1778, During 
the present war Great Britton, and Now return s d Beebe as our man to make up the Quoto of this towns proportion 
of men 

by us Thomas Darte ) „ , , 

Justus Hurd f belec * 

Jonathan Adams ) meu 

Nothing further is known of this man. Was probably never a resident of Gilsum. May possibly have been 
a son or brother of Noah Beebe. (Chapter 30.) 

David Bill was in Capt. John Houghton's company, Col. Baldwin's regiment, mustered and paid by Lieut. 
Col. Jos. Hammond, Sept. 22, 1776, — for New York, wages, bounty, travel, £7 - 18 - 4. He was in Davis Howlet's 
company, Ashley's regiment, marched from Keene May, 1777, to re-inforce the Continental army at Ticonderoga ; 
engaged May 7, discharged June 23, in service one month, seventeen days, paid total £7- IS -4. 

Stephen Bond was in Capt. Wetherbee's company, Wyman's regiment, enlisted July 12, 1776, mustered 
Aug. 2, and paid bounty, advance wages, and travel, twenty-five miles, £10-0-1, and was in the same at Mount 

* This refers to some allowance made by the State, above the nominal wages, on account of the depreciation of paper money. 



38 GILSUM. 

Independence Nov. 5, 1776. Is on Capt. Mack's roll on march to Black River June, 1777, and on roll of Davis 
Howlet's company, which marched from Keene May. 1 777 ; engaged May 7, discharged June 17, in service one 
month eleven days, paid £7-1-4. He was in Capt. Nehemiah Houghton's company, Nichols's regiment, at West 
Point, as engaged July 13, and discharged Oct. 21, 1780. 

Iddo Church was first Sergeant in Capt. Ellis's company, the eighth of Scammel's regiment, enlisted in the 
Continental service for '-three years or the war," Jan. 1, 1777; was killed in battle Sept. 19, 1777, at Saratoga; 
received a bounty of £20; depreciation money, 1834.47. 

Thomas Church, (brother to the preceding.) was in Capt. Scott's company, Cilley's regiment, mustered by 
Abial Abbott Dec. 17, 1777; paid bounty, £20. He died June 21, 1778, probably on account of army service. 

Josiah Comstock was in Capt. William Ellis's company, in Scammel's regiment, enlisted Ap. 27, 1777, 
for three years, and died Jan. 8, 1779. lie was from that part of Gilsum which is now Sullivan. Tradition 
says he was hired as a substitute by John Mark, and was killed in his first battle. 

Samuel Crane was one of the " new levies" which •'joined the New Hampshire line," was mustered in 
camp by Major William Scott, June 29, 1780, discharged Dec. 6, 1780. Nothing further is known of him. Probably 
a substitute. 

Joseph French was the other one of the two " new levies " furnished from Gilsum, mustered and discharged 
same dates as Crane. He was second Lieutenant in Capt, James Ford's company, Nichols's regiment, Stark's 
brigade, at Bennington and Stillwater; joined July 20, 1777, discharged Sept. 19, 1777. And also in Samuel 
Dearborn's company, Peabody's regiment, at Rhode Island, engaged Feb. 18, 1778, discharged Jan. 7, 1779. 
Probably a substitute. 

Isaac Griswold was in Wetherbee's company, Wyman's regiment. Northern ami} 7 , enlisted July 6, 1777, 
mustered Aug. 2, paid advance wages, bounty, and twenty-nine miles' travel, £10-0-5; was in Davis Howlet's 
company, Ticonderoga, enlisted June 29, discharged July 3, 1777, and in Wyman's regiment as Sergeant at Mount 
Independence Nov. 5, 1776. He probably lived in that part of Gilsum which is now Sullivan, afterwards removed 
to Keene, and was prominent in the Vermont troubles, being deputy sheriff under Vermont authority. 

Brooks Hudson, Drummer, on pay-roll of Capt. Nehemiah Houghton's company, Nichols's regiment, at West 
Point; engaged July 13, discharged Oct. 21, 17S0. 

Zadoc Hurd was in the eighth company, Scammel's regiment, enlisted May 1, 1777. discharged Jan. 10. 1778, 
in service eight months and ten days ; was in Capt. John Gregg's company, Scammel's regiment, mustered by 
Thomas Sparhawk May 26, 1778, age 16. He was paid £12 in 1782 for " Taking up and securing a deserter." 
The family tradition says that he was wounded, and received an invalid's pension. 

Ebenezer Kilburn was Lieutenant in Mack's company June, 1777. Do. on roll of Capt. Samuel Weth- 
erbee's company, sent to join the Continental army, mustered Aug 20, 1776, paid £10-16-0. His name is on the 
staff roll of Col. Ashley's regiment, entered June 29, 1777, as "volunteer." 

Capt. Elisha Mack was in Capt. Wetherbee's company, Wyman's regiment, as private, enlisted July 2, 

1776, and was at Mount Independence Nov. 5, same year; was Lieutenant in Davis Howlet's company, Ticon- 
deroga, engaged May 7, discharged June 17, 1777 ; was Captain of a company raised in Ashley's regiment June, 

1777, to re-in force the Continental army at Ticonderoga (see roll) ; and in command of a company in Col. Moses 
Nichols's regiment, Stark's brigade, at Saratoga, joined July 22, discharged Sept. 3, 1777. He was the hero of the 
Keene raid. (Chapter 28.) 

Thomas Morse was with Capt. Mack on his inarch June, 1777; is on pay-roll of Capt. Daniel Reynolds's 
company, Peabody's regiment, at Rhode Island, as engaged June 15, 1778, discharged Jan. 6, 1779; was mustered 
at Winchester June 22, 1778, by Samuel Ashley. He lived in what is now Sullivan. 

Jesse Smith was in Capt. Brockway's company, which marched on the 6th and 13th days of July, 1777, 
for Ticonderoga, and on roll of Capt. Stephen Parker's company, Nichols's regiment, which joined the Continental 
army under Gates at Stillwater July 19, 1777, discharged Sept. 1777, and on roll of Capt. William Gary's company, 
Col.' Benjamin Bellows's regiment, at Saratoga, as entered Sept. 21, and discharged Oct. 29, 1777. He was in Pea- 
body's regiment at Rhode Island as engaged June 10, 1778. and discharged Jan. 5, 1779; was Corporal in Capt. 
Ephraim Stone's company, Col. Hercules Mooney's regiment, at Rhode Island, engaged July 13. 1779, and discharged 
Jan. 16, 1780 ; was Corpora! in Capt. Benjamin Spaulding's company, Nichols's regiment, at West Point, engaged 
July 15, 1780, discharged Oct. 21, 1780. The name of Jesse Smith appears on a petition from inhabitants of 
Connecticut in 1763, for a grant of land at " Little Cowas." Nothing is known of him. 

Ananias Tubus was in Davis Howlet's company, sent to Ticonderoga June, 1777, and on pay-roll of Capt. 
Samuel Wright's company, Nichols's regiment, which joined the Continental army at Bennington and Stillwater July 
23, 1777. He enlisted as from Swanzey, and gave his age as 45 years. At the battle of Bennington he was wounded 
in the hip, but was still "fit for garrison duty." A committee on pensions, etc., appointed by the New Hampshire 
Assembly, reported -'Ananias Tubbs Nov. 13 1777 for expences in getting wounds cured at battle of Bennington 
£46-16." He was also put on the pension list, " pay 9/ per month " from Aug. 31. 1777. 

Frederick Tubbs is on roll of Lieut. Col. Henry Dearborn's battalion, Scammel's command, as enlisted "for 
the war" June 26, 1777. He was evidently discharged, as he is on roll of recruits for Col. Hale's regiment as 
enlisted for one year, July 20, and mustered at Keene July 29. 1779, by Timothy Ellis. He was discharged June 
26, 1780. Nothing is known of this man; may have been a brother of Ananias. 

Samuel White was Corporal in Capt. Jacob Hinds's company. Col. .lames Reed's regiment, at Bunker Hill, 
and was paid to Aug. 1, 1775. £5-0- 3. His loss at Bunker Hill was one blanket, 12 s., one shirt, 6 s., one trousers, 
5s., one stockings, 6 s., shoes, 4 s.; probably lost a gun also, as his whole loss is placed at £3 - 4. lie is on roll of 
Capt. Joseph Dearborn's company, Wyman's regiment, which was sent to Canada June, 1776, and on pay-roll of 
same at Mount Independence Nov 5, 1776. He was in Capt. Jonathan Brockway's company. Col. Enoch Hale's 
regiment, which marched on the 6th of July, 1777, for Ticonderoga. " On the 8th they marched from Washington 



GILS UM IN THE REVOLUTION. 39 

to Cavendish, forty miles, then ordered to return. Ordered to march again on the 13th, and met the army at Otter 
Creek on its retreat." He is on the roll of Oapt. Ezekiel Worthen's company, Peabody's regiment, as engaged Ap. 5, 
1778, and discharged Jan. 4. 1779. He was one of the men raised from the t>th regiment of militia for the Continen- 
tal service, and mustered by Major Timothy Ellis July 20, 1779, for twelve months; was paid bounty, £60, and £6 
for traveling fees to Springfield ; was discharged June 20, 1780 ; was during this year in Lieut. Col. Henry 
Dearborn's battalion, Scammel's command. Nothing further is known of him. Probably a substitute. 

The rest is but traditional. The Kilburn family relate that Capt. Ebenezer Kilburn went to 
the battle of Bennington, taking with him his hired man, (name forgotten,) and Brooks Hudson, 
then a youth of seventeen, living with him. Being suddenly ordered to start with his company, 
he notified thern to meet at his house. Finding that many of them were destitute of the neces- 
sary provision, he hurried home, emptied a sack of two bushels of flour into kneading-troughs, set 
his two large brick ovens to heating, and kindled fires in all the fire-places. His wife prepared 
the bread in small loaves, filling the ovens and setting the rest around the fire-places. In two 
hours it was all ready on long tallies set out in the door-yard for the men. Mrs. Kilburn had 
baked the day before enough for the family a week, which was added to the supply. The men 
hurriedly ate what they needed, and taking the rest in their knapsacks marched away. Such is 
the tradition. It is doubtless substantially correct, except in two points. From the records it 
seems most likely that the occasion was the relief of Ticonderoga, July 4, 1776, as stated on 
page 36, and that it occurred while Mr. Kilburn was Lieutenant, before he became Captain. In 
fact there is no evidence that he served as Captain, except in the militia after the war. [Biog.] 

Another tradition is that Peter Hayward went to the battle of Bunker Hill, wearing a leather 
apron, and taking his dog with him; that, on charging bayonets after their ammunition failed, 
he was in the front rank with his dog, and that a brother of old Capt. David Fuller was shot by 
his side. I have not been able to verify the tradition. Joshua Fuller of Surry, brother of David, 
was killed at Bennington, and very likely this fact is mixed up with the tradition. 

Ebenezer Hurd was waiter for Benedict Arnold, and got his horse for him when he fled. He 
was also in the battle of White Plains, and was hit three times, but not wounded. One ball 
went through his cartridge-box, and another through his coat and shirt. 

Levi Blood, known as " Gen." Blood, told many stories of his service. At one time when 
on guard, he was directly exposed to the fire of the enemy. He, however, remained bolt upright 
at his post without seeking any protection, as he might have done. His general happened to sec 
him, and directed him to get behind a rock for shelter. He did so, and holding up his hat on 
his bayonet let them shoot at that. 

There were doubtless others as worthy of record as these, but it is difficult, if not impossible, 
to make a complete list. Some further items will be found in the Biography and Genealogy. 

Eleven years after the close of the war of the Revolution, on account of serious troubles with 

the Western Indians, and the turbulent insurrections in Pennsylvania, Congress passed an act 

requiring each State to furnish a certain number of men, who were to be held in readiness to 

march at any time. New Hampshire voted four regiments of minute men. and the several 

towns were called on to furnish their proportion. June 24. 17'.J4, Gilsum •• Voted to Give the 

Men that turned out as Minet Men 40/ P r Month Including what Congress has Granted if Cold 

into Actual Service." The wages given by Congress was only $4 a month. None of these men 

were called into action, and their names are not known. 

Probably no town can show a better record for bravery and self-denial, in proportion (o its 

population, than Gilsum. 

" Honor the brave and bold ! 
Long shall the tale be told, — 
Yea, when our babes are old " 






40 GILSUM. 

CHAPTEE VIII. 

WAR OF 1812-15. 
"Eternal vigilance is the price of Liberty." 

First and foremost in the Revolution, New Hampshire has always been ready to bear her part 
in every national struggle, and Gilsurn has never been reluctant, when called on for the defense 
of the State or Nation. 

No demand for soldiers from Gilsum was made till September, 1814, when Gov. Gilman 

ordered " the whole of the militia" to " hold themselves in readiness to march at a moment's 

warning." A detachment from twenty-three Regiments was ordered to " march to Portsmouth 

immediately." Gilsum was called on to furnish seven men. The Captain of Gilsum Company 

was Benjamin Ware. Solomon Mack was Sergeant, and Obadiah Ware, I 'rummer. The Captain 

called his Company together, and proposed a draft. Fourteen men at once volunteered. The 

seven who went were — 

Roswell Borden, enlisted for 3 months Sept. 20, 1814. 
Iddo Kilburn, enlisted for 3 months Sept. 20, 1814. 
John Ravmond, enlisted for 3 months Sept. 20, 1814. 
David Bill, enlisted for 60 days Sept. 25, 1814. 
Jonas Brown, enlisted for 60 days Sept. 25, 1814, 
David Dort, Serg't, enlisted for 60 days Sept. 25, 1814. 
Ira Ellis, enlisted for 60 days Sept. 25, 1814. 

The other seven were held as minute men. Their names cannot be ascertained. Capt. David 
Bill, now in his 84th year, is the only one of the seven, who is still living. 

These troops marched to Portsmouth where they remained a short time as a coast guard, but 
were not engaged in battle. 

Willard Carpenter of Surry, Jehiel Day of Keene, Jonathan Hall Jr. of Westmoreland, and 
Calvin Wilson of Stoddard enlisted under the same call. There are doubtless others whose 
names appear in the Genealogy, who served in this war, but these are all at present identified. 

The only Town Record referring to the last War with England is March 14, 1815. 

Voted to give those Soldiers who went from Gilsum to Portsmouth on military duty two dollars per month in 
addition to their other wages. 

The wages paid by the Government was eight dollars a month. The State afterwards 
refunded all gratuities given by the towns. 

In 1871, Congress granted a pension of $96 per annum to all who were sixty days in service. 
In 1878, this was made to include all who were out thirty days. 

Note. — So far as known, there were no Gilsum men in the Mexican War, though it is probable some mentioned 
in the Genealogy were in service at that time. 



MILITIA. 41 

CHAPTEE IX. 

MILITIA. 

" Yankee Doodle came to town 
Riding on a pony, 
Stuck a feather in his hat 
And called it Macaroni." 

In the town records we have very little about military affairs. After the war of the Revolu- 
tion, this State like others kept up a military system requiring all able-bodied men to appear 
" armed and equipped," twice a year in their own town, and once in regimental Muster, wherever 
summoned in the bounds of the Regiment. These gatherings were known as " May Training," 
" Fall Training," and " Muster." They were always occasions of great hilarity and more or less 
drunkenness. Less than fifty years have passed, since every man drew a gill of rum for the 
occasion. And still later, every new officer chosen was expected to " treat the company," and 
was insulted as " hoggish " if he declined to do so. The natural result was that not unfrequently 
there were fights and other disgraceful disorders, and sometimes dangerous accidents. It was 
largely these " training-day " disorders that stimulated the early temperance movement. One 
aged man, now living here, says that it was the fatal accident at the bridge (Chap. 26) that made 
him resolve to let liquor alone from that time. The first town action in reference to the militia 
is the vote in 1809, to raise $31 "to provide military stores" and to give each soldier that attends 
on muster day two shillings. Nothing more is found till 1827, when it was " voted to allow the 
troopers two shillings on muster day instead of a dinner and drink." This was probably through 
the influence of those who had become interested in the temperance cause. " The troopers " 
were a Cavalry Company organized out of Gilsum, Keene, Sullivan, and Surry. Those who joined 
it from Gilsum, as near as can now be told, were the following : — 

Hartford Butler, Capt. Joseph Clark, John Hammond, Orlando Mack, Solomon Mack, Lieut. James M. Mark, 
Samuel Mark, William Mark, John Rouudy, Dudley Smith, Almon Taylor, Alvin White, Danford White, and 
Joseph Whitney. 

In 1835, the town voted to give bonds to procure U. S. arms for the use of the militia 
" at their lawful trainings." These arms were furnished by the State to such towns as would 
give sufficient bonds for their safe-keeping. Before this, each man furnished his own musket 
and other accouterments. Having procured the " arms," it became important to have an armory. 
An effort was made for several successive years to get an appropriation from the town for that 
purpose, but the articles were summarily dismissed. A subscription to build an Armory was 
circulated in 1S37, and about sixty dollars subscribed. It was probably built the same year, and 
was located on a very narrow level place east of the road about half way from the Stone Bridge 
towards the Bond grave-yard. The land was owned by Stephen Day. After the militia disbanded 
and the arms were returned to the State, the building was taken down and sold by the owner of 
the land to Abram C. Wyman, who made it into a woodshed at the upper end of the village, 
where it now stands. 

This town, though always ready to do its part in time of war, has not, at least in later days, 
been fired with any great military enthusiasm in time of peace. Some zealous military men have 
frequently endeavored to awaken the town to a sense of the importance of helping the militia, 
but with very poor success. The last record is in 1845, when an article to raise money to pay 
volunteers to make a company of forty-five, was dismissed without action. 



42 GILSUM. 

Gilsum company was at one time, according to an established custom, entitled to carry the 
colors of the Regiment. In some way, Westmoreland company had possession of the colors on 
the muster ground, and refused to give them up. Gilsum company under command of their 
Captain " charged upon them at double quick" and recovered their rightful honors. The Captain 
was Robert Lane Hurd, probably the most of a military genius the Regiment could furnish. 
He was very popular with his men, who kept him in command for many years. He drilled them 
very thoroughly, and kept their enthusiasm constantly awake. He trained them to execute the 
most difficult maneuvers, and won the applause of bystanders whenever he paraded his men. 
At one time he marched upon the muster field, with his company apparently unformed or in 
strange disorder, so that all wondered what fool was in command, when by a skilful maneuver in 
which he had drilled them, he suddenly by one order brought them almost instantly into proper 
position as they took their place upon the field, surprising the spectators at his exhibition of 
skill. According to usage he would have been promoted to the field, being the senior Captain in 
the Regiment, but the jealousy of other towns prevented. Gilsum people were for many 
years very indignant under the slight. 

In 1806, a " muster" at Keene was appointed for October 9. Men started very early in the 
morning as usual, but a fearful snow-storm came on with violent wind. From what is now 
District No. 7, Solomon and Dudley Smith and Solomon Mack started and got as far as Iddo 
Kilburn's where they were forced to stop. Many suffered severely. The company were unable 
to get home till the next night, on account of the deep snow, and the many trees blown across 
the road. Antipas Maynard. at that time drummer in Sullivan company, nearly perished before 
he reached home. 

In 1834, when E. K. Webster was Colonel of the Regiment, the annual muster was held in 
Gilsum. The broad flat on the hill east of the village is still often called " The Parade." Other 
towns were accustomed to despise Gilsum, and the men were indignant at being summoned here 
to muster. Many still remember the hootings with which Walpole and Westmoreland companies 
made " night hideous," and the fires which they built of the neighboring fences and trees. 
Large quantities of flannel from Upton and Fletcher's, which had been put up as a protection to 
the peddlers' stands were taken and destroyed in the fires. The amount of drunkenness and 
rowdyism that prevailed cannot be recorded. 

In 1850, the law requiring military duty was repealed, provision, however, being made for 
volunteer companies to organize and receive pay for training, if they chose. Under this law, the 
Third Company of Light Infantry was organized by the name of " Cheshire Invincibles," with 
Amasa May for Captain, Ezra Webster, Lieutenant, and Daniel Smith, Ensign. Most of those 
enrolled as liable to military duty joined the company. Their military enthusiasm, however, 
lasted only one year, when the company disbanded. 

Joseph M. Chapin was Orderly Sergeant of the old company and made the following record 
in the Orderly Book : — 

April 1850. The Officers having gone to reside without the limits of the Company it is not expected that we 
shall have any Military parade for the season. 

In October he made record as follows : — 

The members of the Fifth Company mostly volunteered in the fall, under the Law of this season for enlist- 
ments with some old Soldiers, training several times and mustering [for] drill according to the late Law, with the 
arms that the former Company used. 

In March 1851, Solomon Mack, Jr., received a commission as Captain of the Fifth company, 
which office he held as long as the company had a nominal existence. It seems to have been a 




o^Zi^^ ^£-£^£^> ' 








WAR OF TEE REBELLION. 43 

sinecure, kept up for form's sake, as there is no record of any assembling of the company from 

that time. The last annual return was made May 19, 1857, as follows. 

One Captain, One Sergeant, One hundred nine Privates, One hundred eleven, Aggregate. Public Property- 
One infantry Regulations, One Orderly Book, One Roll Book, one Militia Law. 

The following list of Captains is not complete for the earlier days, but is as nearly correct as 

I have been able to make it. 

Ebenezer Kilburn. Ebenezer Bill, Jr. Timothy Dort. William S. Mansfield. 

Zadok Hurd. Berzeleel Lord Mack. Willard Bill. David Converse. 

Jehiel Holdridge. Justus Chapin, Jr. Eliphalet K. Webster. Calvin May, Jr. 

Robert Lane Hurd. Jonas Brown. Calvin Mack. Daniel W. Bill. 

David Fuller. David Bill. Benjamin Hosmer. Daniel Smith. 

Joseph Taylor. John Taylor. John Horton. George H. Gassett. 

Solomon Mack. True Webster, Jr. George W. F. Temple. Solomon Mack, Jr. 
Benjamin Ware. 

Gilsum furnished the following Field Officers in the 20th Regiment, and perhaps more. 

Only the highest office each man held is mentioned. 

Ebenezer Bill, Major. Benjamin Hosmer, Major. George H. Gassett, Colonel. Aaron H. Livermore, Adjt. 

Eliphalet K. Webster, Col. Daniel W. Bill, Brig. Gen. Daniel Smith, Lieut. Colonel. Joseph M. Chapin, Adjt. 



CHAPTER X. 

WAR OF THE REBELLION. 

" The land is holy where they fought 
And holy where they fell." 

As seen by the last chapter, when the great rebellion came, New Hampshire had no organized 
militia, save a few companies in the large towns. But the first note of conflict called volun- 
teers to the ranks from every quarter. Gilsum was not behind in furnishing her quota. The 
town records, however, give only a very meagre account of her part in the war. 

In August 1862, the town voted to pay $100 to eacli volunteer. The next month, this was 
increased to $150. In September 1863, it was voted to pay each drafted man or his substitute 
1300. The following December, the Selectmen were instructed to fill the town's quota by giving 
such bounty as may be necessary in addition. In June 1864, the Selectmen were instructed to 
procure eight men and pay the bounties. At the annual meeting in 1875, an effort was made 
by some who had hired substitutes or paid commutation money, to have the same refunded by 
the town, but the article was dismissed by the decisive vote of 106 to 2. This is the substance 
of all that could be learned from our town books, save that the Treasurer's account shows certain 
sums paid for bounties, — no names being given. 

In 1870, the Legislature voted to re-imburse the towns who paid bounties, by giving them $100 
for each soldier put in for three years, not including those who went in 1861. Gilsum received 
$5400. The following summary and list of names are from papers furnished by F. A. Howard, 
who was Selectman at the time of the re-imbursement. Other particulars are taken mainly from 
the Reports of the Adjutant-General for 1865-6, in which is given a minute history of each N. 
H. Regiment. Those desiring a fuller account can consult the same in the Town Clerk's office. 



44 GILSUM. 

Under the first call in 1861, there were four volunteers, as follows. 

Thomas W. Bignall, 1st Reg't, Co. G. This regiment was under Col. Mason W. Tappan, "and passed every- 
where by the sobriquet of the 'New Hampshire Wild Cats.'" Mr. Bignall re-enlisted for three years in the 2d 
Reg't, Co. C, — was promoted to Corporal, and after having been in about fifteen battles, was killed at Gettysburg, 
Penn., July 2, 1863. 

Joseph Collins, 1st Reg't, Co. G. 

Sherman H. Howard, 1st Reg't, Co. C. In December 1861, he re-enlisted in 6th Reg't, Co. K, — was wounded 
at the second Bull Run battle, and died five days after, Sept. 3, 1862. 

Horace H. Nash, 1st Reg't, Co. C, re-enlisted in September, 1862, and served till close of war in 14th Reg't, 
Co. C. 

Under the second call in 1861, besides the two mentioned above, Gilsura furnished volunteers 
for three years as follows. 

John A.Blake, 2d Reg't, Co. A, — was "wounded severely "at Gettysburg, Penn., July 2, 1863, and "dis- 
charged for disability. June 7, 1864." 

Sterry W. Bridge, 2d Reg't, Co. I, — served three years. 

James Leonard Davis, 6th Reg't, Co. G, — discharged Sept. 10, 1862, — re-enlisted December, 1863, in 9th Reg't, 
Co. I, — was taken prisoner at Poplar Grove, Va., Sept. 30, 1864. After being paroled, and reaching Annapolis, 
Md., he died from the starvation and cruel treatment received in the rebel prison. 

John W. Everdon, 2d Reg't, Co. D. After twenty-one months' service, he was " discharged for disability, 
July 19, 1863." 

Aaron R. Gleason enlisted as Hospital Attendant in 2d Reg't, Co. F, — was transferred to Invalid Corps, and 
afterwards to Volunteer Rifle Co. In 1864, he was appointed Assistant Surgeon in Campbell Hospital, Washing- 
ton, D. C, — received also an appointment as Assistant Surgeon in the 14th Reg't, but declined, — was connected 
with the U. S. service four years. 

Gleneira J. Guillow served three years in 2d Reg't, Co. C. 

Isaac W. Hammond enlisted in 2d Reg't, — was appointed Commissary Sergeant in 5th Reg't, and served in 
that capacity three years in the " Army of the Potomac." 

Charles Henry Harris, 5th Reg't, Co. F, — was killed at Chancellorsville, Va., May 3, 1863. 

Franklin Nash, 2d Reg't, Co. A, — " discharged for disability, Feb. 9, 1S63." 

Stillman D. Nash, 6th Reg't, Co. F, — " discharged for disability, Aug. 26, 1863." 

Calvin H. Wilcox, 2d Reg't, Co. G, — " discharged for disability, Oct. 12, 1862." 

The following volunteers for 1862 each received $100 bounty from the town, $5 from George 
W. Foster, and $10 from F. A. Howard. 

George C. H. Deets, 2d Reg't, Co. E, — " discharged for disability, March 2, 1863." 

Asa E. Howe, 4th Reg't, Co. D, — killed in the attack on Fort Gilmer, Sept. 29, 1864. 

John Howard, 9th Reg't, Co. I, — " died of disease, Feb. 20, 1864," — said to be buried in the Hospital Cem- 
etery, David's Island, N. Y. 

Merrill J. Howard, 9th Reg't, Co. I. 

Edward G. McCoy, 9th Reg't, Co. I, — served till close of war. 

Ansel A. Morse, 14th Reg't, Co. C, — served till close of war. 

Horace H. Nash, mentioned above. 

Orsamus Nash, 9th Reg't, Co. I, — "died of disease at DeCamp Hospital, N. Y., Sept. 6. 1864," — said to be 
buried in Hospital Cemetery, David's Island, N. Y. 

Edwin E. Roundy, 14th Reg't, Co. B, — served till close of war. 

Franklin W. Roundy, same Co., and same service. 

Henry E. Wilcox, 14th Reg't, Co. C, — " died of disease at Gilsum, Jan. 24, 1865." 

In September 1863, six men were drafted, as follows. These and all following received $300 
each from the town. 

Temple Baker, — got a substitute. 

George W . Bancroft, — got a substitute. 

Lowell White, — got a substitute. 

Jotham Bates, — paid $300, commutation fee. 

Calvin W. Spooner, 5th Reg't, Co. A, — served till close of war. 

Albert H. Waldron, 5th Reg't, Co. F, — wounded at Chickahominy, June 16, 1864, and served till close of war. 

The calls of October 1863, and February 1864, were filled by hired substitutes, except James 
Leonard Davis mentioned above. 

Under the call of March 1864, Lucius Davis volunteered in 1st N. H. Cavalry, Troop B, and 
served till close of war; and five men were drafted as follows. 




cjjano 




C{/??)mcnA^c 



WAR OF THE REBELLION. 45 

Harvey L. Bates, — got a substitute. 

Joel Cowee, — got a substitute. 

Josiah Guillow, — got a substitute. 

George H. McCoy, — got a substitute. 

Charles E. Crouch, 9th Reg't, Co. I, — transferred to Gth Beg't, Co. I, and served till close of war. 

In July 18(34, the town furnished seven substitutes, and the following citizens, seven more : — 

Jesse B. Isham, John J. Isham, Samuel L. Kingsbury, George A. Learoyd, Hans II. Mark, Leonard White, and 
William A. Wilder. 

In December 1864, the town furnished three, and the following citizens, one each : — 

Daniel W. Bill, Aaron D. Hammond, George N. Hayward. and Daniel Smith. 

The Adjutant General's Report, under date of April 30, 1865, credits Gilsum with a surplus of 
ten men over her quota under all the calls. The number enrolled as liable to military duty was 
79, and it was estimated that Gilsum had 40 men then in service, in Army and Navy. 
A large number more of Gilsum men served in the war from other towns, and from other States. 
Many of these are mentioned in the following Biographies and Genealogies, though the list is 
necessarily incomplete. The summary of the preceding record is as follows. 

Whole number of men furnished for three months, 4. 
" " " " for three years, 67. 

Gilsum men included in the above, 29. 

Eleven men were drafted, of whom three went into the service. Eleven citizens not drafted 
furnished substitutes, the town paying them $300 each, — the price of substitutes being from 
$500 to $1100 apiece. Two other citizens, as mentioned above, paid bounties, one $55, and the 
other $110. In 1864, most of the citizens liable to draft paid $20 apiece, as a fund towards 
furnishing substitutes. Those who procured substitutes, as named above, were obliged to pay 
from one to three hundred dollars each, in addition to the bounties from all other sources. 

soldiers' aid society. 

Though not privileged to bear arms in the field, the women of the land contributed their full 
share to the success of the Union armies. What they did in Gilsum is only a specimen, on a 
small scale, of what they accomplished all over the North. 

In October 1861, Mrs. Eliza E. Howard and Miss Emily G. Hayward, assisted by a few 
others, prepared and forwarded a box for the Sanitary Commission. Through their influence a 
society was soon formed, called " The Ladies' Soldiers' Aid Society of GUsum." Through the 
untiring zeal of & few who would never allow the good work to cease, this Society maintained 
weekly meetings, with only slight interruptions, till the close of the war. From sixteen, at first, 
the membership soon increased to forty-six. Mrs. Howard was chosen Treasurer, and Emily G. 
Hayward, Secretary, which office she held to the last. 

The product of the first month's effort was sent to the 6th N. H. Regiment, just then on 
the eve of departure from Keenc. The following March, a still more valuable box was 
sent to the same Regiment at Hatteras Inlet, N. C. After this, everything was forwarded either 
to the Sanitary or the Christian Commission, to be distributed to the most needy. 

The stores furnished by the Society consisted mainly of dried fruit, bedding, feeting and 
other articles of clothing. The record of such articles forwarded shows their value to have been 
more than $150. The Society also raised over $200 in money. On Sunday, Sept. 11, 1864, the 
congregation contributed $26, which was sent to the Christian Commission. It is also known 
that individuals sent money to the Cheshire Co. Soldiers' Aid Society, in addition to what they 



46 aiLSUM. 

did at home. Those well acquainted with the circumstances, and competent to judge, estimate 
the contributions from these various sources, at not less than $500. 

Besides many indirect expenses, the following statement gives, as nearly as can now be 
ascertained, the direct expenses incurred by the town of Gilsum to help put down the most 
infamous rebellion the world has ever seen. 

Soldiers' Aid Society, etc. ........ $500 

One Commutation Fee ........ $300 

Bounties by individuals $3140 

Town bounties $13i'56 

Total $17196 

Refunded by the State $5400 

Net Total $11796 

These things were done " that the government of the people, by the people, and for the 
people should not perish from the earth." 



CHAPTER XI. 

FIRES AND FIRE COMPANY. 

The first fire of which we have any record, was on the place where George Wright now lives. 
A log house built by Daniel Peck and then owned by John Mark, was burned with considerable 
furniture, Oct. 8, 1793, while the residents had gone to a " dedication " in Alstead. It was 
afterwards known to have been set by a prominent citizen, because Mr. Mark opposed building 
the river road. 

The house which Samuel Whitney first built in the orchard north of C. B. Hayward's, was 
burned on Sunday, probably about 1798. He had just got into his new house. It was supposed 
to have taken fire from ashes thrown out at the time of removing. 

David Dean's house on the hill southwest of John Nash's was burned about 1800. 

On Monday, the latter part of May 1803, the house of Joshua Isham, where George H. 
Carpenter now lives, was burned. Mrs. Isham was rinsing clothes at the spring under the hill, 
just east of the house, so that the fire got far advanced before it was discovered. The neighbors 
turned out and built him a new house, so that they moved into it before Saturday night. 

The South School House, No. 3, was burned in the winter of 1815-6. The wooden mantle- 
tree above the large fire-place frequently caught fire, and the boys put it out with snow. 
Probably it was not entirely extinguished when they left Saturday night. It burned in the night, 
and no one knew of it, till Sunday morning. Capt. Lord Mack was teaching there, and had a 
trunk of books burned in the School House. 

Luther Whitney's Clothing Shop on the brook south of his father's house, was burned about 
1817. A new one built on the same spot was raised on Friday, much to the grief of his mother, 
who said it would certainly be burned. After it was moved to the village, the prophecy came 
true, and it was burned in February, 1822. 



FIRES AND FIRE COMPANY. 47 

In 1822 or 1823, a hut in the northeast part of the town, heyond where George Bates lives, 
was torn down and burned one dark stormy night. This was done by connivance of the town 
authorities, who furnished a bottle of rum for the occasion. The purpose was to get rid of a 
disreputable family named Wolf or Dolph, who were harboring there. The family escaped to 
the neighbors, and what little furniture they had was carefully taken out, before the hut was 
burned, and covered with bark, to protect it from the rain. The family speedily left for parts 
unknown. 

The Woolen Factory built by Luther Whitney, and then owned by David Brigham, was burned, 
Sunday afternoon, Dec. 5, 1830. Tbe fire caught from ashes carelessly thrown into a cigar box. 

In the summer of 1811, Luther Abbott's house was burned in the night. It was supposed to 
have been set, as it had been unoccupied for a considerable time. The place is still called 
" Burnt House Hill." 

Dec. 2, 1811, Milan Towne's bobbin-shop, on the brook ahove Alpheus Chapin's, was 
burned, — cause unknown. 

Luther W. Mark's barn was struck by lightning and burned, May 11, 1842. 

Silsby's Woolen Factory was burned, Sunday morning, before day, June 14, 1846, — cause 
unknown. Jonathan Winch who slept there, barely escaped. 

In 1850, the School House in District No. 1 was burned in the night, having caught from a pail 
of ashes carelessly left in a closet. 

Daniel Converse's barn with all its contents was burned by lightning, October 1851, about 
eight o'clock in the evening. 

Solomon Dean's Woolen Factory was burned March 28, 1858. Caught in the Picker, by what 
means is unknown. 

The Tannery belonging to George B. Rawson was burned, Feb. 16, I860,- — cause unknown. 

A Blacksmith's Shop back of Day's store was burned about 1861. 

In 1863, the house of Perry Waldron, on the place where Jotham Bates lives, was burned. 
It was supposed by the family to have caught from a defect in the chimney. 

Jesse Dart's Chair Factory by the Stone Bridge was burned in 1869. It was supposed to have 
taken from the funnel or chimney, as a fire had been built there by people who were repairing 
the highway, the day before. 

The first action of the town in reference to protection from fires was the choice of Fire Wards, 
in 1834. An article to raise money for an Engine House, and to defray expenses already 
incurred, was dismissed. As in other towns, a jealousy has always existed between the village 
and the outside farming population, and as the latter are the more numerous, they can generally 
carry the vote against any expense that seems to be of special interest to the village. So in this 
matter, the farmers have a feeling that an engine and a fire company can help them very little 
in case of fire, and that the expense ought to be borne by the village people who are more par- 
ticularly protected by such measures. In 1835, it was voted to raise $30 for the benefit of the 
Engine Company, and the Selectmen to appropriate the same as they deem most necessary. A 
part of this, $9.92, was paid to Lyman Gerould, for said company, the next March. Probably 
the rest had been expended in building an Engine House. 

In 1836, portions of the Fire Law of 1828 were adopted by vote of the town, but in 1839, it 
was voted 51 to 45, the yeas and nays being recorded in full on the town book, to repeal 
the Fire Law. Two things are specially noticeable in the record, — no resident of the Fac- 
tory Village voted in the affirmative, and with almost no exception the yeas were from one 
political party. There were three elements of opposition, that operated powerfully against a Fire 



48 GILSUM. 

Company. First, the general opposition to expense, on the part of the farming community who 
felt they would not be benefited by it. Second, the jealousy between the lower village and the 
Factory Village. Third, and probably the greatest, the military opposition, because members of a 
Fire Company were exempt from military duty. In October 1839, an effort was made, by calling 
a special meeting, to re-adopt the Fire Law, but every article in the warrant, except choosing a 
Moderator, was dismissed. No fire wards were chosen till after the fire of 1846. In 1854, an 
article to provide for the care of the Fire Engine was dismissed. In 1860, ten dollars was voted 
to repair the Fire Engine, on condition the citizens put it in good order, and provide a suitable 
place for the same. Nothing, however, was done. In 1871, the Selectmen were instructed to 
repair the old engine or purchase a new one, and $50 was raised for the purpose. The old engine 
was repaired, at an expense of $25. 

The Fire Wards of 1836 adopted a set of Rules which are recorded on the town book. Also 
in 1847, after the Silsby fire, a long list of Rules and Regulations is recorded. That the Fire 
Wards really accomplished anything else, does not appear. 

Col. Jehiel Day was the prime mover in getting a Fire Engine. In June 1833, a subscription 

paper was circulated for the purchase of " one of Hubbard's Fire Engines," " to be kept in the 

Factory Village." A little over $230 was collected, and the engine procured. On the following 

4th of July, " Gilsum Fire Engine Company No. 1 " was organized, with Harrison G. Howe, 

Captain, Jehiel Day, Second Captain, and David Brigham, Clerk. Jehiel Day, John Taylor and 

H. G. Howe were appointed a Committee to build an Engine House, to be " located on the brook 

south of Solon Eaton's house on the west side of the road, to be built 14 feet square with a 

cistern under the house sufficient for filling the Engine." The location is very near F. C. Minor's 

front yard. In April 1834, 

Let out to the lowest bidder the finishing of the Engine House. H. G. Howe took it at $10 to have what 
Lumber and nails there is on hand and to Board with £ inch boards and clapboard with planed clapboards Double 
Doors and hung with Iron hinges double floor and to be finished previous to next meeting. 

That the members were not very prompt in attendance is seen from the fines collected, twenty- 
five cents for each absence. The first year, the fines were over six dollars, and very much the 
same afterwards. 

The Constitution provided for a Festival at the annual meeting in January. In 1836, a 
receipt is on record, from Jehiel Day, of " eight dollars in full for the Festival Supper." 

At the annual meeting in January 1838, the Constitution was revised and this provision 
omitted. At the next annual meeting, the money in the Treasury, not being needed for the 
usual supper, was divided, giving the members 12£ cents each. In 1841, there was a re-organ- 
ization of the Company with another revision of the Constitution. The Engine House was 
removed from the spot where Mr. Minor's house now stands and set on Mill Brook at the north- 
east corner of the lot belonging to the Congregational Society. In April 1846, it was voted 
to pay C. W. Bingham $2.72 for repairing Engine House, which was probably at the time of 
removal. The house remained on that spot till it rotted down. In 1847, two incidents worthy 
of record occurred. The engine pole and wheels were carried off in the night. The wheels 
were afterwards found in the river below the Loveland Bridge. This trick was understood to be 
caused by the jealousy of the militia company. 

At the meeting in September, we find the following record, — " paid A. W. Kingsbury four 
Dollars for damage done his house." At this time the excitement between the militia and the 
fire company was at its height, and it was proposed to go to the lower village and " wet down " 
the militia Captain. Daniel Smith then held the office, and lived where Willard Bill now does. 



FIRES AND FIRE COMPANY. 



49 



One of the company took a large dinner bell which he kept ringing along the way. Having 
finished their work by showering the Captain's house, they returned. Two members of the 
company, A. W. Kingsbury, and A. J. Howard, had gone home, and the others thought for a joke 
they would serve them, as they bad Captain Smith. It was now dark, and they very quietly 
brought the Engine near Mr. Kingsbury's house and suddenly let the water with full force upon 
the windows where he was sitting. Much to their surprise, the power was sufficient to break the 
glass, and scattered the fragments mingled with water through the rooms and over the furniture. 
The family was much frightened by the sudden and unexpected shock. Very wisely for them- 
selves, the company settled on the spot, as above recorded. This mishap prevented their visiting 
Mr. Howard, as they had intended. 

The only fire recorded on the company book is that of June 14. 1846, as follows: "Engine 
Co. met at the Burning of Silsby factory." For the rest, they pursued the even tenor of their 
way, having two Oyster Suppers, one in 1848, and one in 1849, till the closing record July 6, 
1850, " Voted to adjourn to the first Saturday in September at (3 o'clock p. M." The military 
law requiring annual training having been repealed, there was not interest enough to keep up 
the organization. The Engine is still in running order, though of an old style, and very hard to 
work. The village is evidently in very poor condition to encounter a fire. The Captains and 
Clerks of the Engine Co. were as follows : — 



1833, Harrison G. Howe, 

1834, Joseph Upton, 

1835, Loring Loveland, 

1836, Lyman Gerould, 

1837, Asa Cole, 

1838, Enoch B. Mayo, 

1839, Ezra Webster, 

1840, Ezra Webster, 

1841, Lyman Gerould, 



David Brigham. 
Israel B. Loveland. 



Abijah W. Kingsbury. 
David Brigham. 
Hartley Thurston. 



CAPTAINS. 

1842, Solon W. Eaton, 

1843, Lyman Gerould, 

1844, Hartley Thurston, 
1845-6, Roswell W. Silsby, 

1847, Nahum 0. Hayward, 

1848, Kendall Nichols, 

1849, It. W. Silsby, 

1850, N, O. Hayw'ard, 



Hartley Thurston. 
Milan Towne. 
George W. Newman. 
Milan Towne. 
George W. Newman. 
N. O. Hayward. 
Silvanus Hayward. 
Amos Weeks. 



In 1877, the town voted to pay one half the expense of a new Fire Engine, provided the other 
half could be raised by subscription. The same vote was renewed in 1878, but nothing has yet 
come of it. 



50 aiLSUM. 

CHAPTER XII. 

PAUPERS AND LAWSUITS. 

" The poor ye have always with you." 

The first record that relates to the poor, is May 13, 1790, — 

Voted to Alow Sam 1 Whitney One pound Four Shilling For His Service in Warning Folks out of Town. 
This was in most cases a mere form, for the purpose of preventing their gaining a legal 
residence, but with no desire that the warning should be obeyed. The ceremony seems to have 
been applied to almost every settler, as all were poor, and if allowed to gain a residence with 
increasing families, such as they had in those days, were very liable, in case of sickness or 
misfortune, to require public assistance. The early records being lost, no list of those warned 
out has been preserved. Though this practice has long ceased, other devices to accomplish the 
same result have been employed whenever occasion offered. In 1810, five dollars was voted to 
one man to move his family away, and in 1822, twenty dollars was voted to assist another to 
remove from town. Others have been more privately assisted out of town, for the same purpose. 
At the present, taxes are regularly abated to prevent any one from gaining a residence. 

In 1797, three children of one family were disposed of to different citizens to keep " untell we 
Could have a trial with Swanzey." The price for keeping a small child at this time, was from 3 
shillings to 3/6 per week. The oldest of the three mentioned was kept for " one Shill one 
Penny per week." At a special meeting in 1800, — 

Voted to put out Phidelle Dolphs Child at the Lowist Bidder at Vandew S d Child was struck of to Timothy 
Dart to keep till the Last Monday of august Next at three Shillings pr week. 

This name will be recognized as the one known generally as " Dilly Wolf," who lived in what 
is now Sullivan, on the " Baker Lot," now Daniel Smith's pasture. The next year, the child 
referred to was " bound out" to Moses Farnsworth. In the writings, he is called "Henry Page 
as his mother hath named him." Mr. Farnsworth was to have fifty dollars for taking him. 
Many other children have been bound out by the town on similar terms, the town giving from 
fifty to seventy-five dollars, and the other party agreeing to give the child proper care and com- 
mon schooling, and " two suits of apparel " at the age of eighteen, if a girl, or at twenty-one, if 
a boy. > 

In the early part of the century, the records show that sometimes the poor were individually 
provided for in different families, apparently by a kind of "boarding round" system. In 1801, 
the Selectmen were authorized to divide the town into three districts for the support of one poor 
family. In 1802, was the first setting up the poor to the lowest bidder. The poor then con- 
sisted of four persons, one being an infant, and were bid off by Iddo Kilburn for #105. This 
vote was reconsidered, and Mr. Kilburn received five dollars to " release his bargain." After 
this, in 1813, and subsequently, the support of individuals was often provided for by setting up 
to the lowest bidder. In 1830, the Selectmen were directed to receive proposals for the support 
of the poor, and for several years after, a similar vote was passed. In most cases, a choice was 
to be made between the. five lowest bidders. 

In the Council Records at Concord is found the following. 

June 14, 1804. The Governor was advised to draw a warrant on Treas. for $75.64 in favor of the Town of 
Gilsum for support of State pauper. 

No name is given, nor is it known who the pauper was. 



PA UPER S AND LA WS UITS. 51 

Only two Overseers of the Poor apart from the Selectmen have been chosen by the town ; 

Amherst Hayward in 1842, and Nahum 0. Hayward in 1851. Expenses for the poor have 

generally been provided for under the general head of Town charges, but in some cases a specific 

sum lias been raised for the purpose. In 1802, — 

Voted to raise .f'26 for the support of Rubin Barron one year; also, to Allow Elisha Bond two Shilling for 
Cloth for A petty coat for Rubin Barron. 

This " Rubin Barron " was afterwards known as John Barnes. 
In 1818, it was — 

Voted to raise $75 for the maintenance of the Town's poor and for repairing burying yard fences. 

In 1820, there was raised $175 "for the support of the Town's poor." These are the only rec- 
ords of money raised directly for the support of the poor. 

In 1848, an effort was made to buy a Town Farm, but the article was dismissed. In 1850, — 

Voted that Allen Butler and I. B. Loveland be a Committee with the Select Men to buy a Farm to keep the 
Poor on, also to furnish the same with Stock and Farming Tools. 

Accordingly the Farm now owned by George C. Hubbard was bought for $1500, and Hartley 
Thurston was put in charge of the same. For some reason, the town was not satisfied with the 
movement, and an effort was made that same year, at a special meeting in October, to sell the 
Farm, but no action was taken. At the next annual meeting, 1851, it was voted to sell the Town 
Farm. There was so much opposition, that the Selectmen deemed it best to call another meeting 
March 29, when the vote was re-affirmed and they were instructed to sell the Farm " and all 
property belong to the Farm at Public Auction one week from to-day." The Farm was accord- 
ingly sold back to the widow Thompson for the same price paid her the year before. 

Whether from their own experience or other causes, the town was at first, opposed to the plan 
of a County Farm. When the question of buying a County Farm was raised in 1860, this town 
went against it by a vote of 17 to 59. This opposition has been gradually diminishing, till 
probably now a majority are in favor of it. In 1868, an article proposing to instruct the Select- 
men and Representative to oppose any further appropriations for the County Farm, and to use 
their influence to sell the same, was dismissed. Since the purchase of a County Farm, and the 
change in the law, by which a large portion of the poor become a County instead of a Town 
charge, there has been very little town action relative to the poor. The Selectmen and County 
Commissioners manage the whole matter. 

LAWSUITS. 

From time to time, the town has been engaged in lawsuits, almost entirely in regard to the 

maintenance of Paupers, and damages from defective highways. The records are very meagre in 

these matters, generally giving only the fact of a suit by appointing an agent or instructing the 

Selectmen to defend or carry it on. The result in any case cannot be determined from the 

town books, except that sometimes it may be inferred from some subsequent action. In 1789, it 

was — ■ 

Voted that if the Committee (which consisted of Zadok Hurd, Daniel Wright, and David Fuller,) Gets 
Evidence the Esqr Newcomb thinks propper to Carry the Case with Sulivan the Select Men Shall Make anote to 
rais the Money to Carry on the Same. 

This was concerning the support of " Rubin Barron " and his mother. Gilsum was beaten and 

had to pay the bills. 

In 1790, it was " Voted to stop the Lawsuit between David Bill and Daniel Newcomb By paying twenty Shilling 
For that purpose." 

This was probably the same case. 



52 aiLSUM. 

In 1794, " Chose Saml Whitney, Capt. Kilborn Agents to Defend the town Against David Adams Demands 
that he Clanies Against the town." 

What this claim was, is not now known, but it was probably in connection with " minister 
taxes." 

In 1797, a " Lawsute " with Swanzey was carried on " Concerning the widdo Davis Children." 
The result is not apparent. 

In 1802, the town raised $100, and chose Jehiel Holdridge, David Blish, and Zadok Hurd to 
carry on " a law suit with Major Bill Concerning his minister tax." This is more fully explained 
in the Church History. (Chap. 20.) The town lost the case. 

In 1804, R. L. Hurd and Samuel Whitney were chosen to defend the town against any claim 
of Sullivan " respecting Phidilla Dolph and her children." The probability is, Sullivan had to 
support them in the end. 

In 1815, Samuel Whitney was appointed " to defend the cause brought against the town by 
the rev Clark Brown." This was for damages sustained on account of defective roads. 

In 1824, Josiah Hammond was chosen agent to get the cost of supporting one Daniel Strat- 
ton on the County. 

The town having persistently refused to build a bridge across the river between Mr. Randall's 
and Mr. Taylor's, in 1828 a suit was brought for the neglect. Luther Whitney and Dudley 
Smith were chosen to defend the town. Their efforts proved successful, and the bridge was not 
built. 

In 1838, a pauper case against Keene, defended by Samuel Woodward, Jr., was successful in 
obliging Keene to support Abiah Ellis. 

In 1840, Win. Kingsbury conducted a pauper case against Surry. In 1844, Samuel Wood- 
ward managed another against Marlboro'. The results do not appear. 

In 1845, the town was indicted for the bad condition of the new County Road, it being " rocky, 
rutty, broken, uneven, narrow, ruinous and in great decay in want of due reparation thereof." 
The town repaired it the next year, at an expense of $ 500. 

In 1847, it was voted to borrow #230 " to defray expenses of Benton lawsuit and repairing 
new road near Philander Nash's." This suit was for injury on highway, and the town was com- 
pelled to pay damages. 

In 1851, Samuel Woodward was chosen agent for the town in various road suits. No particu- 
lars are on record. * 

In 1854, Asa Cole was chosen " agent to defend suits now pending against the town." These 
were probably road suits also. 

In 1857, D. W. Bill was agent in a pauper case against Sullivan, but was unsuccessful. 

In 1859, Stephen Day, Jr., was chosen agent to defend the town against suit of George W. 
Tubbs, and was instructed to leave it out to three disinterested men. This was for injury from 
bad roads. Mr. Tubbs received about #100. 

In 1860, the Selectmen were instructed " to see about suit of Kingsley Sawtell of Rich- 
mond." This was for injuries received on the highway, and was settled by paying him twenty 
dollars. 

In 1874, D. W. Bill was agent to attend to the case of Nelson, Rice & Co., in relation to tax- 
ing hides. In this case the town was successful, and the tax was paid. 

The experience of the town in lawsuits certainly tends to confirm the Scriptural advice, 
" Agree with thine adversary quickly, while thou art in the way with him." 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 53 

CHAPTER XIII. 

ROADS AND BRIDGES. 

" In the days of Shamgar the son of Anath, in the days of Jael, the highways were unoccupied, and the 
travelers walked through by-ways." 

In early times, all travel was on foot or horseback, and the roads were mostly " bridle paths," 
sometimes to be followed only by " marked trees." Their location was fixed by the settlers' 
houses, running as nearly as possible in a direct line from house to house. These " old paths " 
determined the laying out of the first roads. The destruction of the early records leaves us 
without knowledge of the origin of most of the old roads. The first were laid by the Proprie- 
tors in 1764-5-6, after which they were laid by the Selectmen. It is to be noticed, in tracing 
these old roads, that they were often built or traveled with great variations from the record. 
Roads were often laid out that were not " worked," and were never more than " bridle paths." 

The first road on record was laid out by Woolston Brockway, Joseph Mack, and Jonathan 

Smith, Proprietors' Committee, " Apriel y e 16 th & 17 th , 1764." As appears by the description, 

this was the principal road running from Keene to Alstead through what is now Surry, and was 

laid six rods wide. The Proprietors laid another road, June 1, 1765, nearer the river, running 

on the river bank part of the way, but as there is another record in November of the next year, 

of a road running nearly in the same place, it may be inferred the first one was not built. This 

road was to be two rods wide. The first road laid out in what is now Gilsum, was recorded as 

follows : — 

November ye 14 th 1764 
Then Laid out by the Proprietors Committee a Certain Highway on the East Side the Mountain Beginning at 
the South Line of the Town of Gilsum a Little South of the Dweling house of Benajah Taylor in the third Range 
Leading North West wardly by trees marked with four Noches and Leading to & by the House of Josiah Kilburn 
in the Second Range thence Northwardly by trees Marked till it falls in the Dividint Line of the Second & 
third Ranges and then to be one Moyety on the one Side and the other Moyety on the other Side S d Line till it 
Corns to the North Side of the Sixty acre Lotts Said Highway is Laid four Rods Wide and to be and Remain an 
oppen & Publick Highway 

Test AVoolston Brockway ) Prop r 

Jonathan Smith £ Comtte 

This is the old road running up the hollow east of Elijah Gunn's, passing a little west of 

the old Adams' place. The " Sixty acre Lotts" referred to, are evidently the Lots numbered 

three in the several Ranges. (See map.) This was part of the old County Road, and no record 

is found of its discontinuance. In the earliest town record of 1789, it is called the " Main rode 

in Gilsum." 

After this we have no record till March, 1789, when the town — 

Voted that the Select Men Shal lay out A rod from James McCurdy's land to the Main rode in gilsum in the 
Moste proper place. 

This is the road from the Austin place in Surry by the old Hurd place. No record is found 
of its being thrown up. At the same meeting, it was " Voted to flingup arode that runs Acrost 
Samuel Whitney land " This was probably from C. B. Hayward's, north through the old 
orchard, to Joseph M. Chapin's. The remainder of the same road " from Justus Chapin's hows 
to Alsted Line " was thrown up in 1794. 

In August 1789, roads were laid out " Begining Near timothy Dartes South Line " and ending 
at " the Corner of the rode Between Zadok Hurd's and Ebenezer dartes." This last point is 
near the Brick School House, and the road went from the Hendee place over the top of the hill 



54 GILSUM. 

south of Dennis Keefe's. At the same time changes were made in the road near David Bliss's 
" turning westerdly into David Blisses parster Between to white rocks." Location now unknown. 
In 1790-1-2, changes were made in the road from " Bb u Darts to Jn° Ellises," being from the 
Hendee place to Darius Porter's. 

About this time, there was considerable excitement over the question whether the road from 
the " Mills to Surry Line " should go " Along by the House of John marks Formerly Bult By 
Daniel peck" or " Along by the River." Several contradictory votes are recorded, but the river 
road finally prevailed. 

In 1790, the town " voted to fling up the Road that goes from Israel Lovelands House to 
Sullivan Line," but two years after it was voted to open the same road. This is the old Sullivan 
road from the Dea. Mark place by the Greenwood house. 

In 1803, " Voted to allow Willim Mark to put up two Gates Convenient for A man to open and Shet on horse 
Back on the Road that Goes from w m Marks to Sullivan." 

In 1818, this road was discontinued. 

In 1791, the road from Justus Hurd's to the County Road was straightened by the Selectmen. 

The road from Chas. W. Rawson's to Geo. W. Newman's and over the hill to the Ballard 
place was laid out in 1792, three rods wide. Prom the top of the hill south of Mrs. Cram's, it 
was laid on the lot line to James Ballard's house, but as shown on the map, it was not built 
entirely on that line. In 1798, it was changed between John Dart's and James Ballard's to 
where the road now runs by Solomon Mack's. 

In 1804, " Voted to trow up the road from the bars that goes in to M r J. Clarks lot . . . to where David 
Bills old log house used to stand." 

This is that part of the road from the top of the hill south of Mrs. Cram's to the garden in 
front of George W. Newman's. In 1825, that part from Chas. W. Rawson's to the old David 
Bill house was discontinued " on condition that there is good gates for people to pass and repass 
thro'." In 1877, an article for the discontinuance of this road from Geo. W. Newman's to 
Chas. W. Rawson's was dismissed. 

Sept. 26, 1791, "Laid out a Highway Beginning at the Southeast Corner of the School hows a few Rods East 
of Jonathan Bliss Jun r Running East South East tell it Corns to Samuel Whitney Barn." 

This is the road from Geo. C. Hubbard's to C. B. Hayward's. 

In September, 1793, a road was " Excepted " from Samuel Corey's to the " Curveline." This 
was probably the same that was laid out the preceding January, from " Joshua Cores North line 
. . . to M r Jonathan Ramonts Lot . . . and from thence an Easterly point to the town 
line." This is the old road from Sullivan to " Leominster Corner." By votes passed in 1842 
and 1845, that part of it beyond where George Bates now lives to the Raymond place was 
discontinued. 

In 1794, " Voted to fling up the Rode thrue Sa m Bill And John mark Land to the old meeting hous Spot." 

This is probably the road marked on the map with a dotted line extending from Daniel W. 
Bill's by the old John Mark place to the Meeting House spot numbered 51. 

In October, 1794, the road was laid out from James Ballard's by the Maynard place, "to the 
South line of lot No : 14 : in the Eighth range." Four years later, this road was completed to 
Marlow line, " about 80 rods from M r Downing's house, on a Dry Ridg Calculated for a Road." 

The road between the Stone Bridge and the Village was at first only a " bridle path " cut 
through and used by Silvanus Hayward and his brother-in-law, Capt. Solomon Mack. They 
were laughed at for fools when they said it would be the most traveled road in town, a proph- 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 55 

ecy which they lived to see fulfilled. It was laid out two rods wide, " to be a bridle or pent road 
during the pleasure of the Town." The town voted to make it "an open road," March "10, 1795. 

The old road from the Pickering place by the Stephen Foster place to the top of the hill 
where the old road goes by the Hosmer place to George C. Hubbard's, was laid out three rods 
wide, in January 1796. In 1830, that part of it west of the Foster place was discontinued " by 
there being good gates provided on said road." 

In 1796, the road from the John Hammond place to Oscar J. Wilson's was laid out three rods 

wide. In 1874, it was discontinued " to the foot of Meadow hill," on account of the road having 

been opened the year before, from near T. T. Clark's to that point. 

A road was laid out in 1796, "from the road that leads from John Marks to the Meeting house beginning . . . 
twelve or fourteen rods North of S d marks house at the North End of a Little Swamp yu runs north 52 D r west 
112 Rods to the mouth of the road that Leads from M r Hammonds to L' Rights. 

This road evidently ran directly from the road north of the old Mark place to the road south 

of Edouard Loiselle's. It was laid three rods wide, but was probably never worked much. The 

road running north from the Stephen Foster place to the Samuel Isham place was opened in 

1797, three rods wide. 

The same year, a road three rods wide was laid out " from Sil™ Hayward to Josh Coreys." 

This is the road from the village by Israel Loveland's and the Benjamin Thompson place, and 

was opened three rods wide to the Corey place. The eastern part was never worked much. 

In 179S, a road was laid " from the South w. Corner of Jo' Clarks house on the Line Between John Darts & 
Obed Darts to the South Side of S d Lots . . . Down to the bridge a Crost ashawillet River between Sil™ 
Haywards & Israel Loveland." 

As frequently happened, it will be seen by the map that the road as actually traveled was 

considerably east of the recorded survey. When the road was laid out from the village by John 

Hammond's in 1801, it was called in exchange for this road. 

In 1803, " Voted to make a road from Surry line to Sullivan line to meet a road from Boston through Peter- 
borough to Sullivan and to Gilsom . . . provided the above mention" 1 town Made A road to meet Our S d road." 

Probably the other towns failed to do their part, as no further account of this road appears 
in the records. 

The road from Mason Guillow's by Alvin White's to Sullivan line was laid out in 1806, three 
rods wide. 

The road from the Village by John Hammond's, was laid out three rods wide, in 1804. It 

began about two rods east of Silvanus Hayward's house, that is very near the ell part of George 

B. Rawson's present house. It ran up the brook near where the houses now stand on the east 

side of the street, crossing the brook and continuing up the hill, very nearly as at present. 

There is no record of the change in the street except at the north end. This was altered in 

1814, so as to run west of the house built by Lemuel Bingham, where N. O. Hayward's house 

now stands. 

About 1804, (date not given) a road was laid out " beginning ten rod East of the Corner of the road where the 
schoolhoose usto stand between Sam 1 Whitneys and Jon' Blisses on the South Side of the road that leads to S d 
whitneys ... to the South line of David bills lot on his East line to the Southeast Corner of S d lot." 

The School House referred to stood a few rods east of Geo. C. Hubbard's, and the road ran 
down the hollow through " Kansas " to the lot corner in the Street near K. D. Webster's. This 
road was never built, though it is very evident it was laid where the road towards Alstead ought 
to be. Efforts have since been made to open a road on this line, but without success. 

In 1806, a road was laid " from Capt. Fullers Mill to the Meeting House." It was probably 
traveled some on horseback, but never built. 



56 aiLSUM. 

The road from near Chilion Mack's to the Converse place, was laid out three rods wide, in 
1807, and there is no record of its discontinuance. 

In 1808, the road was laid out three rods wide, as it now runs from Darius Porter's to Win. 
Kingsbury's. Before this, it went over the hill by Daniel Wright's. 

About 1810, a road was laid out three rods wide " from the School House in the north dis- 
trict to Samuel Whitney's cider-house," that is from the road south of Mrs. Cram's to C. B. 
Hayward's sugar-house. At the same time, a road three rods wide was opened " from Justus 
Chapin's land to the road . . . thro' Mr Websters land : " This is the road from Joseph M. 
Chapin's to Kendall Nichols's. 

The original County Road from Alstead to Keene went a little west of Joseph M. Chapin's 
by George C. Hubbard's, the old Hosmer place, Charles W. Rawson's, and down the hill to the 
" great bridge." It also went directly over the hill from near the widow Gates's through Mason 
Guillow's pasture, following the present road by Edouard Loiselle's, passing close to Daniel W. 
Bill's house, turning to the right near the ledge south of George S. Mansfield's, by the old 
Adams place down the hollow to Elijah Gunn's. 

About 1806, a turnpike was started from Newport to Keene. This town, as usual, opposed it 
as long as possible. It was, however, laid out by " the Newport Turnpike corporation," and, in 
June 1811, the Selectmen laid out the road three rods wide from " Alstead south line to the 
north line of Keene." This was rather a straightening of the old road, than really building a new 
one. It is the road as now traveled from above Kendall Nichols's to below Elijah Gunn's. - 

About the same time, the road was amended to its present location from the old Wilcox place 
by the minister lot and the Mark place to meet the new County Road. This road was also three 
rods wide. 

In 1812, that part of the old road from near the Adams place to the ledge south of George 
S. Mansfield's, was discontinued. 

In 1815, a road was laid " in exchange for the old road from John Grimes's to the road that 
comes from Samuel Cory's, to be as wide as old road." 

In 1817, a road was laid two rods wide " from the foot of the hill as you come from Zenas 
Bingham's .... to the road that leads from Stephen White's to Jonathan Peases .... in 
exchange for the old road which comes out south of Aaron Days." Aaron Day then lived where 
Mason Guillow now does, and the road south of his house was discontinued the next year. The 
road then opened, was the north part of the old road from Henry Bingham's and came out near 
Harriet Swinton's. After the new road was built in 1839, the whole of this road was thrown up. 

In 1823, the road was laid out from Timothy Dart's house to Alstead line, two rods wide, 
where the road now is. 

In 1830, it was " voted to discontinue the road north of Stephen Days." This road went 
through about where John J. Isham's barnyard is, and came out near the mill at the bridge. 

The next year, a road was " laid out beginning 5 rods East of the bridge over the brook East 
of Calvin Mack's .... to near the West end of Calvin May's house .... to be made free of 
any expense to the town." This has sometimes been used as a winter road, but was never built. 

In 1833, a road was opened from James Hudson's " to the old road ; one rod and ten links 
north of John Nash's .... to be two rods and one half wide." 

In June of the same year, the road from Enos Cross's to the Polley Bridge was laid out two 
and a half rods wide. 

That part of the old County Road from Geo. C. Hubbard's by the Hosmer place " to the Road 
leading from Calvin Mack's to Aaron Day's mills," was discontinued by vote of the town in 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 57 

1834. Several efforts were afterwards made to re-open it, but failed. The same year, " Voted 
to alter the Road near John Nash's so that it be opened through south of his buildings to the 
old road near John Guillow's." It seems probable, however, that this change was not carried 
out. It was also " Voted to lay out a Road from Nathan Ellis Jr to the Village Should the Select- 
men deem it necessary." The next year, the same road was voted without condition. But it 
was never built. 

March 7, 1835, the Selectmen " widened and straightened" the Main street in the Village as 
follows : — 

Beginning twenty three feet and two inches west from the north west corner of the house now owned by Jerome 
B. Aldrich thence south 11 deg west 33 rods & 11£ feet thence south 15 deg 30 min west 20 rods to the south end 
of factory village street, the above described line to be the middle of the highway and the same highway to be 
three & half rods wide. 

The starting point of this survey is marked by an iron pin. 

In 1837, the road from the County Road to the Hurd place was discontinued. But in 1839, 
it was opened " from Luna Foster's to Charles Grant's farm." In 1865, it was again discon- 
tinued " subject to bars and gates." 

In 1838, " Voted to discontinue the road leading from John Livermore's to Calvin Randall's 
by the said Randall's keeping good Gates." This was the road from George H. Carpenter's 
across the old ford to Bradley Stone's. 

About the year 1833, the plan began to be talked up of a new County Road from Newport to 
Keene. Col. Jehiel Day, who, with his brother Daniel, had recently opened a store and a hotel 
in the " Factory Village," was the most active leader in favor of the road through Gilsum. The 
majority of the town, as thirty years before, were bitterly opposed to the road, and fought it off 
as long as possible, Capt. David Bill being their agent in the matter. But they were at last 
compelled to yield, and in 1838, John Horton, Allen Butler and Asa Cole were chosen to super- 
intend the building of the new road. John Horton having left town, Solomon Mack was chosen 
in his place. The road from Marlow to Keene was opened four rods wide, in the Fall of 1839. 

In 1838, a short road was laid at the southwest corner of the town to connect Sullivan with 
the new County Road. This is part of the road that comes out near the old Bridge place below 
Keene line. The same year, the road from near Chilion Mack's to the Loveland Bridge was laid 
out two rods wide. 

In 1840, the road " from Nathaniel Heaton's Barn on the plain, to the road leading from 
Cutler Knights' to Polly Blood's " was discontinued. 

In 1842, the street between L. W. F. Mark's and Herbert Adams's new house was laid out 
two rods wide, to extend three rods east of the center of bridge across the brook. The town 
refusing to appropriate money, it was not opened till 1844. In 1861, that part east of the west 
bank of the brook was discontinued. 

In 1846, on petition of F. W. Day and others, a road was laid out from the east side of the 
County Road in front of Day's store to Aaron Day's barn. This seems to have been open for 
use long before, but it was desired to have a more accurate record. It was laid three rods wide. 

In 1850, the street between L. W. F. Mark's and the Meeting House, was laid out two rods 
wide. It begins " at the S. W. corner of land belonging to the Congregational Society " and runs 
a little south of east fifty and a half rods. 

A road was laid out, about this time, by the County Commissioners, up the brook from near 
David A. Roundy's to Alstead line. The town refused to build it, and in 1851 voted its discon- 
tinuance. 

4 



58 GILSUM. 

On account of trouble from freshets, and especially river ice, the road " between George 
H. Nash's Mill and James P. Nash's " was amended in 1853. 

In 1859, the road "from the late Capt. Benjamin Wares Farm" to the road from " Elisha 
S. Fish's to William Mark's " was made " Subject to Gates and Barrs." 

The same year, a road one rod wide, subject to gates, was laid out from Jothain Bates's to the 
house of Benjamin F. Jefts, " to be made by the petitioners and to remain a highway so long as 
said petitioners shall keep the same in repair and no longer." 

Brake Hill Street running from Sullivan street to the old Sullivan line was laid out in 1873, 
two rods wide. 

In 1875, the town voted that a road is needed from Wm. A. Wilder's to Keene road, and 
appointed a Committee to attend to the matter. The County Commissioners being called, refused 
to lay out such a road. But another petition in 1879 was successful, and the road is to be opened 
in 1880. 

In 1876, the town 

Voted to remove the Gates S; Bars on the highway leading from Milton Stearns to Cha" E Eveleth House & the 
Selectmen are to attend to the matter & Settle Damage on the Same. 

The Selectmen accordingly laid out said road, but at the next Town Meeting in 1877, an article 

to raise money for the same was dismissed. 

The same year, a road three rods wide was laid out by the Selectmen, to extend from "Burnt 
House Hill " to the road near the Centennial Cemetery, but the town refused to build it, and, in 
1878, voted its discontinuance. The Commissioners being called, reported in favor of the road, 
and the Court ordered it built. The job was bid off by C. B. Hayward and E. D. Banks for $245. 
With some volunteer help from interested citizens, they completed it in the Fall of 1879. 

In 1878, a road two rods wide was opened from the road leading to James L. Bates's to the 
river road south of Simeon Mason's. 

In 1879, the road from George Wright's running southeast to the river road was discontinued. 

BRIDGES. 

Both the Ashuelot river and the many mountain brooks that flow into it, become so violent in 
the Spring freshets, that Gilsum has almost needed a " pontifex," like ancient Rome. In early 
times, for horseback travel, bridges were of comparatively small importance, and " fordways" 
were generally deemed sufficient. A bridge called " the great bridge " was built by Capt. Elisha 
Mack and his brothers, where the Stone Bridge now stands, in 1778 or 1779. In 1795, it is 
mentioned as " the Bridge that crosses the Ashawylot river in Gilsum," from which it appears to 
have been the only river bridge at that time. This bridge was so far above the water that it 
was not easily disturbed by freshets, but owing to spray from the dam just above, the timbers 
rotted so soon as to put the town to frequent expense for repairs. In 1798, a Committee ap- 
pointed by the town " to vew the Grate Bridg," reported that " a timber 14 inches Square be 
put under the Middle of S 3 Bridge and three brases Each Side to Extend to the Roks Each 
Side the River." The following is the receipt for the work : — 

Reed of the Town of Gilsum Ten Dollars in full for what I have Don to the grate Bridg by Baxters Mills in 
S a Gilsum to this Date 

Gilsum Feb. 20th 1799 Zadok Hurd 

In September 1801, it was " voted to Give Robt. L. Hurd two Dollars and fifty Cents to put 
the brace under the Great brige by Baxters mills." In August 1804, a Committee was ap- 
pointed to examine both bridges, and at an adjourned meeting in September, it was voted to 
repair " according to the Committees Report," which report is not given. These repairs were 



ROADS AND BRIDGrES. 59 

set up at "vandue" to the lowest bidder, and "the Bridge by Griswolds mills" was bid off by 

David Blish at sixteen dollars. In August 1806, "Esq Blish " was instructed by the town to 

" repair the Bridge by Griswolds Mills." The next March, it was voted to repair again " by 

putting a cap piece under the Bridge and three Braces on each side," and the job was struck off 

to Jonathan Pease for four dollars, lit 1810, a Committee examined the Bridge and reported it 

needed repairs, — and one dollar was voted to Elisha Bond for the timber for that purpose. The 

labor was to be done by the surveyors, out of the " highway money," excepting the northwest 

district. In August of the same year, it was voted to build a bridge " by Pease's mills." 

To be built like the old bridge only to be raised eighteen inches higher five string pieces 15 inches by 13 — to be 
built with good sound hemlock timber the plank to be 2i inches thick. Struck off to William Baxter at $75. 

In 1815, " Voted that Jonathan Pease new plank the bridge by his mills." Expense not 
recorded. In 1819, twenty dollars was raised "to repair the bridges across the Ashuelot river." 
The next year, $10 was raised lor the same purpose, and in 1821. twenty dollars. In 182-1, a 
new bridge was built. — ••struck off to Belding Our; at $130.00." In 1832, Aaron Day, Am- 
herst Eayward, and Jehiel Day. were chosen "to examine the Bridge near Aaron Days & near 
I B Lovelands and see what is necessary to be done." This Committee reported •• in favour of 
building a stone arch bridge," but the town " voted to build a wooden bridge like the old one." 
It was to be completed by the first of July 1833, " with planke 3 i0 thick," and was struck off to 
Joseph Clark for $117. In 1843, a new bridge was built by Calvin C Brigham — finished Sept. 
7 th . In 1851, the Selectmen were instructed to " examine the Bridge near A. D. Townes Mill, 
and make such repairs as may lie considered necessary." A similar vote was passed the next 
year, and $125 raised for the purpose. In 1860, the Selectmen were instructed 

to contract for the building of a Stone Arch Bridge over tin- Ashuelot River near Andrew D. Townes Mill if 
in their opinion the same shall be for the interest of the Town. 

A contract was made with one Otis Smith, and a bridge built at a cost of about $975. Owing 
to faulty construction, the contractor not understanding his business, the arch fell in, after a few 
months' use. In July 1862, it was voted that the Selectmen " build a Stone Arch Bridge near 
the place of the old one .... in the best possible manner." and William L. Kingsbury was 
appointed " Agent to superintend the building of the Bridge and furnish the necessaries for that 
purpose." In 1863, the Selectmen were instructed to borrow money and finish the Stone 
Bridge. The expense as near as can be now gathered from the Town Reports was $5,211.97. 
To this add the expense of the first Bridge, and we have $6,185.19, the whole cost. The County 
afterwards paid $500, so that the town has now invested in the Stone Bridge not less than 
$5,685. 

The bridge known for so many years as " Loveland Bridge," was probably first built about 
1797, when the road was laid out from Silvanus Hayward's to Joshua Corey's. The first 
record of its repair is in 1801, — bid off by Turner White for 23 dollars. In 1807, it was voted 
to " rebuild," and the job was struck off to Thomas Redding for eighty-six dollars. The next 
year, he was discharged from the contract, and the Selectmen were instructed to " do what is 
necessary to be done." In 1812, repairs on the " Loveland Bridge " were struck off to John 
Dart for four dollars. In 1814, "the planking" of this Bridge for three years was struck off 
to Stephen White for fourteen dollars. There is added to the vote evidence of the peculiar dan- 
ger that has always attended this Bridge, viz.: — 

If the said bridge should be carried off within the said three years, .... the Town shall procure as many feet 
of new plank .... as shall have been put on the old bridge by the said White. 

In 1822, a new bridge was built, the old one having been probably carried off by a freshet. 

It was voted to build the bridge ten inches higher than the Committee reported, and " that those 



60 GILSUM. 

who build the stone butments . . . shall risk them to stand one year." The west "hutment was 
struck off to belding Dart at forty four dollars," — " the east hutment to Orlando Mack at fifty 
dollars," — and " the wood work to Berzeleel L. Mack at thirty five dollars." This bridge has 
been rebuilt and repaired several times since, but the records make no mention of it. The 
expenses have probably been "lumped" with highway repairs. It was destroyed by a freshet 
in 1842, and perhaps at other times. In 1862 it was broken down by Burnap's team. He 
received $50 damage from the town, and the bridge was rebuilt by N. 0. Hayward for $80. 

When the road was laid out from Capt. Fuller's Mill in 1806, it was to begin " at the North 
end of the Bridge below said mill." The town voted, however, to have it begin on the south 
side of the river, thus avoiding the necessity of keeping up a bridge. Probably the bridge 
spoken of as already there, was only for foot passengers. 

Strenuous efforts were made by the inhabitants in the west part of the town, to have a 
bridge across the river, at the old ford near George H. Carpenter's. As early as 1806, the 
town sent a Committee "to examine the river between Simeon Taylors and Joshua Ishams in 
order to find the best place to build a bridge." No action followed, however, and in March 
1826, it was voted not to build. In September following, another Committee was appointed 
" to examine the river." The next year, it was voted again not to build, and Luther Whitney 
was chosen agent apparently to resist any attempts that might be made to compel the town to 
build a bridge. In 1828, the applicants for a bridge were again repulsed (p. 52). They seem 
then to have commenced building, hoping the town would help them out. The abutments they 
built are still standing. In 1830, and again in 1832, articles asking the town " to complete 
building a Bridge across Ashuelot river between Ivory Randall's and John Livermore's " were 
dismissed, and nothing further has been done. 

In 1833, the " Hammond Hollow Bridge " was built in accordance with the vote of the town 
to " build a bridge across the Ashuelot river at or near the ford way so called below Phillip How- 
ard's on condition that the inhabitants that are most benefitted build the road to the bridge 
without expence to the town and clear the town from all expence except the bridge." This 
bridge has been several times rebuilt, but no records have been kept. It was so damaged in the great 
freshet of 1869, that it had to be rebuilt at a cost of about $100. In 1879, T. T. Clark rebuilt 
it for $80. 

In 1871, an effort was made to have a bridge across the river "near Ephraim Howard's," but 
the article was dismissed. A foot-bridge is generally kept up there during the summer. 

HIGHWAY TAXES. 

At the first annual meeting of which we have the record, March 10, 1789, it was " Voted to 
Rais Sixty Pound to repair Highways " and that labor be " at three Shillings pr day." In No- 
vember following, Justus Hurd was appointed " to petition the General Cort to tax The non-resi- 
dent land in Gilsum for repairing highways." This petition was successful, for w T e find that in 
1790, 

The town of Gilsum was authorized by the Legislature to assess and collect a tax of one penny per acre upon 
all non-resident lands in the town, the money to be use solely for the purpose of repairing roads and building 
bridges, and that a mans labor should be recconed at three shillings per day. 

In 1810, $250 of the amount raised for highways, was ordered to be laid out on the " County 

Road." This was the old road to Keene. 

The next year, at a special meeting in September, it was 

Voted to Lay out one hundre and Fiffy Dollars At the South End of s d road beginning at Keen Line and the 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 



61 



Same Sum Nearly to the North line meamring at the road by Joseph Taylors, and that S rt Jobbs shall be Finished 
by the Last Day of June 1812. 

In 1846, $500 of the amount raised, was to be laid out on the " County Road." This was 
the " New Road from Keene to Marlow." 

In 1813, it was voted that the work on highways should " be jobbed out to the lowest bidders by 
the Surveyors of the several Districts." This method seems to have been unsatisfactory, as in 
September following, #120 extra was raised, and it was " Voted to lay out the above raised money 
in the antient method by the day." 

The following table gives the amount raised each year for repairing roads, and the price 
allowed for labor. Where no price is given, it is understood to be the same as the next preced- 
ing vote. 



1789, 

1790, 

1791, 
1792, 
1793, 

1794, 
1795, 
1796, 
1797, 
179S, 
1799, 



£60, 3 shillings per day. 

con f 3 sh. & 6 d. from May to Sept., in Sept. 

' J 3 sh. after that 2 sh. per day. 
£30. 

3 sh. per day till Sept., after that 2 sh. 



£40, 
£30. 
£30, 

$100, 
£50, 

$200, 
£40, 
£50, ' 

1800, $166.68, 

1801, $167.34. 

1802, £50, 

1803, $200. 



3 sh. in June, 2/6 in Sept. 

3 sh. to Oct., after that 2 sh. 

4 sh. to Oct. after that 3 sh. 
4 sh. to Sept., after that 2/6. 
3 sh. to Oct. 

4 d Pr Our." 

" Six Cents Pr Our." 



for summer and $50 for winter. 



" Six Cents p r hour." 
6 cents per hour, " oxen and tools ac- 
cordingly." 

1804, $250. 

1805, $200 
1806-7, $200. 

1808, $250. 

1809, $100. 

1810, $400, 

1811, $600. 

1812, $200.' 

1813, $320. 

1814, $200. 

1815, $300. 

1816, $450, 
1817 to 1822, $300. 

1823-4, $350. 

1825-6, $500, 8 cents per hour. 

1827, $450. 

1828, $615, $105 of which in money. 

1829, $450. 

1830, $400. 

1831, $500. 



$250 of which on County Road. 
$550 Do. Do. Do. 



$150 of which on County Road. 



1832, $550. 
1833-4, $500. 

1835, $600. 

1836, $500. 

1837, $400. 
183S, $350. 

1839, $450. 

1840, $675, 
1841-2-3, $500. 

1844, $450. 

1845, $525. 
1S46, $700, 

1847-8, $500. 

1849, 
1850-1, 
1852-3, $500. 

1854, $500, 

1855, $500. 

1856, $600, 
1857-8, $700. 

1859, $600. 

1860, $700, 
1861-4, $600. 

1865, $1,200 
1866-7, $900, 

1868, $800. 

1869, $900, 



of which on County Road. 



$500 of which on County Road. 
$50 of which in money. 

$200 of which in money. 
10 cents an hour. 

$100 of which in money. 

IS cents an hour. 
15 cents an hour. 



18 cents an hour. 
1870. $1,000, 20 cents an hour. 
1871-2, $700. 

1873, $600, in money. 

1874, $700. 

1875, $1,000, $400 of which in money. 

1876, $800, $200 of which in money. 

1877, $800, Do. Do. Do. 15 cents an hour. 

1878, $950, $150 Do. Do. 

1879, $1,000, $200 Do. Do. 12i cents an hour. 



It will be seen, by the table, that the largest sum nominally raised for highway repairs, was 
$1,200 in 1865, and the smallest was £30 equal to $100, which was the sum raised for five out 
of the first 20 years on record. To get the actual amount raised, however, the price of labor must 
be taken into account. By this comparison, the largest arnonut was in 1811, representing 1,000 
days labor at 10 hours a day. Or leaving out those years in which special sums were raised for 
the County Road, the largest amount is 800 days labor, the present year, which is certainly an 
encouraging fact. The smallest amount is 167 days in 1809. The average for 91 years is 525 
days annually. The average in dollars is $172, making the average wages per day of 10 hours, 
very nearly 90 cents. For the last thirty years the average amount has been $728 representing 
577 days labor, making the average wages $1.26 per day. 



62 aiLSUM. 

The first guide board in town seems to have been put up in the year 1800, in accordance with 

the following record. 

Voted to Build a post gide and Setit the North Side of Joseph Taylors Land at the Croch of the Rode to 
william Baxters mills S d Post guide Struck of to Timothy Dart to Build at one Dollar and fifty Cents — 

This was where the road from Surry divided towards " Hammond Hollow " and " Baxter's Mills." 

In 1817, it was voted that the Selectmen " put up post guides where they think proper." And 

this has been the practice from that time. 

It has been said, that one of the surest tests of civilization is the condition of public roads. 
If so, Gilsum cannot boast a high grade. It is but justice to say, however, that the heavy teams 
passing from Marlow to Keene cost the town hundreds of dollars in annual road repairs, without 
bringing a cent in return. This fact furnishes certainly a very substantial, if not wholly 
sufficient excuse. To get rid of these Marlow teams, Gilsum could well afford to give from five to 
ten thousand dollars towards building a railroad from Keene to Newport. Meanwhile the town 
needs a zealous prophet to cry, as of old, 

" Prepare ye the way of the people ; cast up, cast up the highway ; gather out the stones." 



CHAPTER XIY. 

CEMETERIES. 

" Erewhile, on England's pleasant shores, our sires 
Left not their churchyards unadorned with shades 
Or blossoms 

The pilgrim bands who passed the sea to keep 
Their Sabbaths in the eye of God alone, 
In his wide temple of the wilderness, 
Brought not these simple customs of the heart 
With them 

Naked rows of graves 
And melancholy ranks of monuments 
Are seen instead, where the coarse grass, between, 
Shoots up its dull green spikes, and in the wind 
Hisses, and the neglected bramble nigh, 
Offers its berries to the schoolboy's hand." 

The first record in reference to Cemeteries is in 1798. " Chose Berzeleel Mack Jon' Pease 
Saxtons." Two burying places were then in use : — the old one on the hill north of Mr. Gunn's, 
and the one still known as " the Bond grave-yard." The first known burial was that of Jemima, 
wife of Ebenezer Kilburn, who died June 24, 1765. She was buried in 

THE SOUTH CEMETERY, 

where her monument may still be seen. This was the first death of a white person within the 
present limits of Gilsum. One earlier death stands on the record, as follows : — "The aged 
John Brook Departed this life Nov. 21 — 1764." (Appendix C.) He doubtless belonged in 
what is now Surry, and was buried there. There are probably forty or fifty graves in this old 
Cemetery, but only eight can be identified. These have the old black slate headstones, most of 
them with a hideous winged head at the top, and bearing the following inscriptions. 



CEMETERIES. 63 

1. In Memory of Mi* Marah Kilbour n y« "Wife of M' Josiah Kilbourn SheDec d Dec r f2^ 1782 in y« 64 th 
year of her Age. 

2. Memento Mori. In Memory of Rev Dd , Josiah Kilburn who was Minister of Chesterfield in y e Bay State he 
Dec* Sep* y e 24 th 1781 in y° 29 th year of his Age. 

he who cheapens life abates the fear of Death. 

3. In Memory of Mr» Jemima Kilbourn y e Wife of M r Eben r Kilbourn. She Dec d June y* 25 ,h 1765 in y* 
21"' year of her Age. 

4. In Memory of M r Obadiah Willcox who died Aug" y c 27 ,h 1778 in y e 62 nd year of his Age. 

5. In Memory of M r Obadiah Willcox Jun r who Dec d Dec rabr y e 12 th 1776 in y e 30 th vear of his Age. 

6. In Memory of M™ Huldah Reli ct to M r Obadah AVilcot [x] J r And Wife of M r Thomas Redding Who died 
August 17 th 1791 aged 38 years. 

Let me not forgotten lie 

Lest you forgat that you must die 

7. In Memory of Mrs Anna Pease, wife of M r Pelatiah Pease, who died May 29 th 1787 in the 46 th year of her 
age. 

Remember me as you pass by, 
As you are now so once was I, 
As I am now soon you must be, 
Prepare for death & follow me. 

[Below this inscription is the following in as large letters as the rest. Made by Moses Wright of Rockingham — 
Price 7 Dollars.] 

8. In Memory of M r Oliver Pease who died June 1"' 1799 in the 22 nd year of his age. 

Friends nor physicians could not save, 
My mortal body from the grave, 
Nor can the grave confine me hear, 
When Christ in glory shall appear. 

This Cemetery has been sadly neglected. Lying in an open pasture for the past eighty 
years, many graves are obliterated, even the stones are broken down and defaced. There 
have been those who wished to have it cared for, but the town has never been willing. As far 
back as 1809, an article was put in the warrant to raise money " to fence the South burying 
yard," but it was summarily dismissed. The same thing was done in 1827. In 1874, it was 
voted to fence it with stone wall and to raise #75 for the purpose. But at a special meeting in 
September following, the vote was rescinded 35 to 33. An article for the same purpose was dis- 
missed in 1875, and it was voted to take the $75 raised the year before, and use it to pay debts 
with. As the town is now free from debt, it is to be hoped there will be respect enough for the 
fathers who endured the hardships of the wilderness to prepare homes for their children and 
successors, to protect at least their graves from the trampling of cattle, otherwise the time will 

soon come when 

" The grassy hillocks are leveled again, 
And the keenest eye shall search in vain, 
'Mong briers, and ferns, and paths of sheep, 
For the spot where these aged people sleep." 

This " yard " was not probably used after the beginning of the present century. Of the 
"Saxtons" chosen in 1798, Jonathan Pease was doubtless in charge of this, and Berzeleel Mack 
of 

THE BOND CEMETERY. 

This is mentioned, in 1804, as "the Burying place that Stephen Bond has Given to the 
town Viz one half ackre." It was given before 1798, and the earliest burial was probably that of 
Mrs. Fisher, in December, 1785. The Deed, however, was not executed till 1807. A strip one 
rod wide at the south end was given by Solomon Woods. The steepness of the road has always 
been a serious objection to this" locality, and many efforts have been made to have a more feasi- 
ble road opened. In 187G, the Selectmen laid out Centennial Street which makes this Cemetery 



64 GILSUM. 

very accessible from the village. (Page 58.) Probably one half of all burials in town have been 
here. A large part of the graves are now unnamed and unknown. The following are the 
inscriptions — : 

1. HARRIET E. dau 1 , of Enoch B. & Eliza Mayo, died Oct. 5, 1835, M. 2 ys. 10 mo. & 19 ds. 

Sleep on my babe, from trouble free. 
Thy parents soon will follow thee. 

2. LORY ANN, wife of JOSEPH CHAPMAN, died Mar. 4, 1831. Mt. 37. 

3. FANNY, R. daughter of William & Rebecca BANKS, died Feb. 22, 1832. aged 4 y's 9 mo. & 17, days. 
SAMUEL I. son of William & Rebecca BANKS, died Feb. 10, 1832. aged 3 years 2 mo. & 29, davs. 

4. HELEN M. daugh. of William & Rebecca I. BANKS. Died Dec. 20, 1855, M. 18 y'rs, 

We miss thee at home, 

May we meet thee in Heaven. 

5. REBECCA I. wife of WILLIAM BANKS DIED Dec. 2, 1871, M. 68 yrs. 6 mos. & 10 dys. 

Mother, Home, and Heaven. 

6. MARTHA E. dau. of SAMUEL Jr. & Hannah GOODHUE, died MAR. 26, 1852, M. 4 mos. 7 ds. 

7. STEPHEN DAY JR. DIED Nov. 25, 1859, M. 59 yrs, 8 mos. & 7 days. 

8. FRANKLIN W. DAY DIED JUNE 18, 1849, 2Et. 39. 

We part to meet again. 

9. ELIZABETH B. DAY. Wife of JOHN HORTON Esq DIED April 3. 1838 M. 30. 
JOHN HORTON ESQ DIED at Days Ville Ogle Co. 111. Oct. 6, 1839, JE. 37. 

10. STEPHEN DAY DIED APR. 13, 1860, M. 83 Yrs. 2. Mos. & 28 days. 

11. MARTHA, wife of STEPHEN DAY, DIED MAR. 30. I860. M. 77 Yrs. & 8 Ds. 

12. SOLOMON W. sonof Solomon & Adaline Mack, died May 12, 1831. JE. 9 mo. & 2 ds. 

13. EDWARD R. son of Solomon & Adaline Mack, died March 23, 1836, M. 9 mo. 9 ds. 

14. HANNAH WARE wife of CHILION MACK, Died Apr. 6, 1871, M. 73 ys. 5 ms. 2 ds. 

Gone to the better land. 

15. Here lies the Children of Chilion and Hannah Mack. 
Martha Ann died Oct. 16, 1835, M. 3 y's 4 mo. 
Edwin W. died Oct. 15, 1835, M. 1 y'r 8 ds. 

16. In memory of Lois, wife of Dea. James M. Mark, who died Sept. 29. 1831. M. 43 years 1 mo. & 6 ds. 

17. In Memory of Dea: James M. Mark who died Nov. 25. 18^5. aged 38 years. 

18. In Memory of Selena daugh of James & Lois Mark who died Oct. 24, 1823 aged 10 years 

19. WILLIAM H. son or JOHN & MARY DAVIS, DIED APR. 26, 1860, ^E. 1 y. 1 m. & 17 d. 

A flower lent not given, to bud on earth, and bloom in heaven. 

20. IDA F. daughter of JOHN & MARY DAVIS, DIED NOV. 17, 1862, M. 2 y. 4 m. & 15 d. 

Dear little Ida, one less to love on earth one more to meet in heaven. 

21. SELENA J. daughter of James & Catharine MARK, DIED NOV. 30, 1862, M. 1 1 y. 9 m. & 20 d. 

Darling Selena is safe in heaven, 

Kept by the Saviours love, 
Oh ! when we cross the river of death 

May we meet with her above. 

22. In Memory of James Ballard who died Feb. 4 1830, aged 71 years. 

23. In Memory of widow Mary Baker who died April 1, 1825. aged 86 years. 

24. DANIEL C. GUILLOW DIED June 28, 1874, ^3. 03 y'rs. 

25. SUSAN P. wife of Daniel C. Guillow. DIED June 24, 1875, M. 57 y'rs. 

26. ANDALUSIA F. dau. of Andrew J. & Rizpah HOWARD, DIED Jan. 30, 1849, M. 2 y'rs 3 mo. 

27. DENNIS A. Son of Andrew J. & Rizpah Howard, DIED Feb. 13, 1849, M. 4 y'rs 5 mo. 

28. SOLOMON MACK, 1st. Died Aug. 23, 1820, .E. 84 ys. 

29. ESTHER MACK DIED Oct. 26, 1824, M. 9 yrs. 

30. AMOS MACK, DIED Oct. 17, 1824, 2E. 17 yrs. 
81. DENNIS MACK DIED Aug. 4. 1811, M. 1 yr. 

32. ESTHER, wife of Capt. Solomon Mack ,died Apr. 13, 1844, in the 70 year of her age. 

33. SOLOMON MACK Died Oct. 12, 1851. M. 78. 

Tread softly by this sacred spot. 
Where parents sleep, though not forgot ; 
In life we shared their love, 
May we in Heaven meet them above. 

34. BETSEY A. MACK, Died Oct. 5, 1863, M. 71 ys. 

35. CHAUNCEY ALEXANDER DIED Apr. 25, 1851, M x 19. 



CEMETERIES. 65 

36. The curb stone were put up by Orlando Mack, of Butler, Montgomery Co. 111. & C. & S. Mack, of Gilsum 
N. H. in 1877. 

37. NANCY wife of TRUE WEBSTER Jr. DIED July 18, 1840, JE. 46. 

38. In Memory of Rebeckah Webster who died March 28, 1814. aged 9 years. 

39. Hannah, dau't of True & Nancy Webster Jr. died April 20, 1824, JE. 7 mo. 

40. In Memory of Mrs Patty Ware wife of Mr Elijah Ware Jr : who died April 1, 1825. aged 24 years. 
Also A Child died April 6 1824 

41. In Memory of Mrs Patty Webster wife of Mr True Webster who died Sept. 8. 1827. aged 59 years. 

42. TRUE WEBSTER DIED APR. 3, 1850, JE. 83. 

43. In Memory of Abner Webster who died Jan. 4, 1830, Aged 29 years & 5 mo. 

My friends dry up your tears, 

I must lie here till Christ appears. 

44. HANNAH S. daughter of Hezekiah & Ireny Webster, Died Feb. 23, 1833. JE. 2 yrs. 
Also an Infant the same year. 

45. HEZEKIAH WEBSTER DIED Apr. 13, 1855, JE. 53. 

46. WARREN H. son of HEZEKIAH & IRENE WEBSTER, DIED Jan. 27, 1865, IE. 26 yrs, 8 mos. 

Dear one : thou art sleeping, 
This change thou didst not fear; 
Tis only leaving this dark world 
For a brighter happier sphere. 

47. JACOB POLLEY Died and buried in Butler, Montgomery Co. 111. Mar. 16, 1870, JE. 80 ys. 1 mo. 21 ds. 

48. LOIS G. Wife of JACOB POLLEY, Died Apr. 7, 1S69. JE. 77 y'rs, 7 m'os, 15 d'ys. 

49. LUCINDA, daughter of Jacob & Lois POLLEY, DIED March 11, 1840, JE. 18 y'rs. 

50. J. MERTON DIED Mar. 11, 1S72, JE. 6 y's. 4 m's. 
JESSE A. DIED Sep. 30, 1863, JE. 3 w's. 3 d's. 
W. DENNIS DIED Aug. 23, 186s, JE. 1 y'r. 23 d's. 
Children of Varnum & Mary E. POLLEY. 

Cherished hopes lie buried here. 

51. Mr. ELISHA BOND died May 2, 1824. ^Et. 60. 

Short from my labors to the grave. 

52. Sacred to the memory of Mrs. MARY BOND, who died Aug. 29, 1819, in the 88, year of her age. 

When Gabriels trumpet shakes the skies. 
I with my husband shall arise. 

53. Sacred to the memory of Dea. Stephen Bond, who died Nov. 28, 1815. in the 88, year of his age 

When the last trumpet sounds I shall come forth. 

54. In Memory of M r . David Bond, who died Oct/ 16 th , 1786. In the 28 th year of his age. 

55. In Memory of, Jolm Mark Bond, who Died Sept. 27 th 1811, in the 18 th year of his Age, Son of Elijah and 
Jean Bond. 

Return my friends dry up your tears, 
And wait a while till Christ apears, 
Death is a debt thats natures due, 
Ive paid the debt & so must you. 

56. In Memory of Doctor ABNER BLISS who died May 29 th 1812 in the 60 th year of his age. 

Great God I own thy sentence just 
And nature must decay : 
I yield my body to the dust, 
To dwell with fellow clay. 

57. BENJAMIN HOSMER DIED Dec. 30, 1837, JE. 30 ys. 
LUCINDA W. DAY DIED Oct. 7, 1875, JE. 63 ys. 11 ms. 

HOSMER. DAY. 

58. In Memory of Mrs. Ruth Hosmer, Consort of Dr. Benjamin Hosmer, who Died Sept. 2 nd 1798 JE 31 years. 

Compos'd in death she smil'd adieu 
Bid friends f orb are to weep, 
Then sweetly lean'd on Jesus breast 
And Calmly fell asleep. 

59. In memory of Mrs. Martha wife of Dr. Benj. Hosmer, who died Aug. 29, 1820. JEt. 48. 

N Virtue lives beyond the grave 

60. In Memory of Dr. Benjamin Hosmer, who died June 24, 1826 aged 60 years 



66 GILSUM. 

61. Ziba Jaquith, died Sept. 4, 1815. in the 19, year of his age. 

62. Sacred to the Memory of Mr. Jesse Jaquith, who died Jan. 29 ,h 1808, aged 43 years two months, and two 
Day. 

Behold and see as you pass by, 
As you are now so once was I ; 
As I am now so you must be. 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

63. In memory of alden Haward Son of Jesse and Charlotte Jaquith. who died June 23* 1810 Aged 4 m,'s 
3 d,'s. 

64. Emma M. Daughter of Jesse and Charlotte Jaquith died April 27, 1826 aged 2 months & 20 days 

Happy infant, [thou] art bless'd, 
Rest in peaceful slumber, rest; 
Early rescu'd from the cares, 
Which increas with growing years. 

65. In Memory of TIMOTHY DORT. who died June 27, 1814. ^E. 55 years. 

66. LOUISA, wife of Timothy Dort died Nov. 6, 1835. M. 35. 

67. In Memory of Justus Chapin who died July 15, 1825, Aged 72 years. 

68. MARY W. daughter of Justis & Annis Chapin, died Dec. 6, 1836, Aged 18 years. 

69. JUSTUS CHAPIN died Sept. 20, 1869, JE. 79 y's, 5 m's, 20 d's. 
ANNIS W. his wife died Mar. 13, 1867, 2E. 73 y's, 9 m's, 16 d's. 

70. ELIZA ANN daugh of Justis & Annis CHAPIN. died Feb. 3. 1839 M. 2 yr's 3 mo. & 4 days. 

71. Samuel Clark, died Jan. 16, 1812. in the 8-t, year of his age. 

72. Mercy Clark died July 4, 1814. in the 84 year of her age. 

73. Sacred to the Memory of M r " Tamer Wife of Rev. Elias Fisher of Lempster; Who died Dec' 11 th 1785, 
In the 35 th year of her age. 

Also their infant son Elias who died Dec r 15 th 1785. 

Gone but not lost. 

74. ELIGAH WARE DIED June 27, 1847, JE. 78. 
MARTHA, wife of Eligah Ware DIED Aug. 19, .33.1846, 76. 

75. In Memory of Mrs. Anna Wire, wife of Mr. Elijah Wire, who Died July 10 th 1808 in the 40 th year of her 
Age. 

76. In Memory of Mrs Esther wife of Mr. Asa Wing who died Jun 30 1811. aged 40 years. 

77. In Memorv of Mr. John Roundy who died Nov. 16, 1825. JEt : 36 years. 

78. DAVID BILL Died Nov. 11, 1824, M.l\. 

79. SUSANNAH wife of DAVID BILL Died Nov. 6, 1842 M. 86. 

80. STATIRA, wife of JOHN DEAN, died June 23, 1845, M. 37. 

81. In Memory of Jonathan Clark who died Sept. 15, 1830. Aged 72 years. 
Delilah wife of Jonathan Clark who died Dec. 5, 1819. Aged 48 years. 

82. Franklin Clark died March 5, 1808. JE. 5 months. 

83. In Memory of Huldah Clark who died Jan. 10, 1831. Aged 26 years. 

84. In Memory of Jonathan Clark Jr. who died July 25, 1824. aged 22 years. 

85. MARTHA LOVINA Dau. of Abijah W. & Enieline Kingsbury, died Sept. 28, 1844, M, 4 y'rs 2 mo. 

Sweet child, thou art gone from earth away, 

And left us here to mourn : 

We grieve to think how short thy stay, 

And that there's no return ; 

But 'tis not grief without the hope 

That we again shall meet no more to part. 

86. LUCINDA COLE widow of JAMES BOLSTER, Died July 16, 1870, M. 67 y'rs. 

87. JAMES BOLSTER DIED Apr. 25, 1851, M. 59. 

Man is like to vanity : his days are as a shadow that passeth away. 

88. RUTH wife of James BOLSTER, Died Dec. 6, 1842, M. 39. 

89. FATHER & MOTHER 
DANIEL DEETS DIED Nov. 5, 1849, M. 61 vs. 

HARRIET HAYWARD, HIS WIFE DIED Dec. 30, 1875, M. 71 ys. 5 MS. 

90. In memory of Mrs. Olive, wife of Mr. Silvanus Hayward, who died July 19, 1799, aged 42 years & 6 
months. 

Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection & the life : he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall 
he live. 

91. In memory of Mr. Sylvanus Hayward who died Oct. 1, 1817 aged 60 years & 5 months. 

Vain man. thy fond pursuits forbear — 
Repent, thy end is nigh 1 
Death at the farthest can't be far : 
Oh, think before thou die I 



CEMETERIES. 67 

92. MARY HOSMER DIED July 30. 1841 JE. 81. 

I shall rise again. 

93 HULDAH, wife of Col. Jon a SMITH of Surry, died March 11, 1839, M. 90 y'rs. & 4 months. 

94. JULIA wife of LEVI BARRETT died Jan. 29, 1843. Mt. 36. 

95. JOHN THOMPSON Died Dec. 6, 1840, JEt. 36. 

96. SIMON THOMPSON died Sept. 24, 1837. 2Et. 21. 

97. JOHN, son of John & Martha Harris, died Oct. 17 th 1814. JE. 1 year 2 m. 

98. BENJAMIN THOMPSON died Jan. 11, 1857, JE. 82. 
ANNA, his wife died Mar. 1, 1848, JE. 67. 

They rest in Jesus. 

99. BENJAMIN THOMPSON Jr. DIED Feb. 1, 1850, JE. 47. 

100. BETSEY, wife of Amherst Hayward died Aug. 9, 1820, JE. 28. 

" Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord." 

101. DEA. AMHERST HAYWARD Born in Surry Nov. 18, 1788, Died in Gilsum JAN. 16, 1867. 

The end of that man is peace. 

102. POLLY, 2nd wife of Amherst Hayward Died Nov. 21, 1826, JE. 26. 

This mortal must put on immortality. 

103. ESTHER W. HAYWARD Wife of CHARLES W. HYDE, of Gilead, Conn. Born Dec. 6, 1841, died 
Mar. 5, 1866, 

" Asleep in Jesus." 

104. EMILY G. HAYWARD, daut. of Dea. Amherst & Sarah F. HAYWARD, Born Feb. 8, 1838, died Apr. 16, 



1866. 



Meet me in heaven. 



105. ALICE, Wife of DAVID ADAMS Died Oct. 13, 1846, JE. 84. 

106. DAVID ADAMS. Died Oct. 1. 1844. JE. 87. 

107. SAMUEL ISHAM died Apr. 26, 1854, JE. 89 y's. 10 m's. 

POLLY CARPENTER wife of Samuel Isham, died Oct. 12, 1811, JE. 41 y's. 

108. SUSANNAH FISHER wife of Samuel Isham, died Dec. 8, 1862, JE. 82 y's 11 m's. 

109. POLLY ISHAM DIED DEC. 4, 1860, JE. 59. 

110. ISAAC WALLIS. DIED Aug. 31, 1841. JE 38 years. A native of Colebrook, N. H. 

111. STEPHEN FOSTER Died Nov. 12, 1844 JE. 48 years & 10 mo's. 

112. VIOLA, dau. of Israel B. & Sarah T. Loveland, DIED Mar. 31, 1846, JE. 2 y'rs. 

113. In Memory of Mrs. Sarah Loveland wife of Israel Loveland, who died Feb. 28, 1825, aged 59 years 8 mo', 
& 16 days. 

114. ISRAEL LOVELAND, died Sept. 23, 1850, Aged 90. 

115. OUR BABY One of the Lambs. 

(Reverse.) MABEL E. Daut. of E. R. & C. L. Geer, died Aug. 29, 1870, JE. 3 weeks. 

116. SANFORD, son of John & Betsey GUILLOW, DIED Sept. 28, 1846, JE. 25. 

117. JOHN GUILLOW DIED July 1, 1870, JE. 86 y'rs. 

118. BETSEY, wife of JOHN GUILLOW, DIED Jan. 14, 1864, JE. 73 y'rs. 

119. LEMUEL BINGHAM born Jan. 4, 1758, died Jan. 13, 1857. 
ELSEA FULLER his wife Born Apr. 2, 1786, Died Sept. 7, 1875. 

120. GEORGE L. Son of Lemuel & Elsea Bingham, Died Aug. 29, 1839, JE. 13. 

121. PAMELIA wife of Franklin Bingham DIED Oct. 22, 1839. JEt. 20. 

122. ABBY STELLA, daughter of George W. & Esther L. NEWMAN, DIED Dec. 21. 1848, JE. 4 y'rs 5 mo. 

123. FLORENTINE dau. of George W. & Esther Newman, DIED Sept. 24, 1843, IE. 1 mo. & 5 d's. 

124. ELLIOT, son of Isaac & Patty Loveland, died Aug. 19, 1835, JE. 3 ys. 

Sleep on my son divinely blest, 

Thy Saviour call 4 thee home 
His kindness has prepared thy rest, 

His voice invites thee, come. 

125. PATTY, wife of Isaac Loveland DIED Mar. 14, 1842, JE. 42. 

126. DANIEL E. DIED MAR. 11, 1847, Infant son of DANIEL & MARTHA A. SMITH. 

127. In Memory of Elsea Bingham, Daughter of Mr. Lemuel Bingham, & Elsea his wife, who Died Sep' 2 nd 
1810 aged 5 months & 27 days. 

Reader prepare to meet thy God, 
For thou like me must meet his rod. 

128. In Memory of Mary, wife of Samuel Cory, who died March 11, 1823, JEt. 53. 

You beheld me on a dying bed, 
Forget me not now I am dead. 



68 GILSUM. 

129. SAMUEL CORY died Apr. 2, 1841. JEt. 86. 

130. Willard, son of Benjamin & Phila Cory, died Mar. 19, 1832. ^t. 3 yrs. 6 mo. 

131. BETSY NASH died Apr. 11, 1853, M. 75 y's. 

Erected by her sons L., N. & E. K. Bridge. 

132. ABIGAIL M. Wife of WILLARD S. CADY, DIED FEB. 23, 1852, M. 25. 

133. AMORETTA, dau. of Calvin C. & S. E. Bingham, died Aug. 19, 1841. JEi. 1. 

Sleep on dear babe from trouble free, 
Thy parents soon will follow thee. 

134. SYRENA E. Wife of Calvin C. Bingham Died Oct. 25, 1846. M. 24. 

135. POLLY, Wife of Samuel NICHOLS, died Jan. 31, 1859, .<Et. 69. 

136. 1862 R. E. D. D. nov. 12. 

137. ELLA A. CONVERSE Died Dec. 26, 1870, M. 19 y'rs. 6 mo's. 

138. LOENA A. CONVERS Died Dec. 22, 1861, .E. 2l"vrs. 8 mos. & 19 days. 

139. ABRAM CONVERS Died Sept. 20, 1852, JE. 39. 

140. DEA. DANIEL CONVERS Died Sept. 28, 1852, M. 78. 

141. RUTH CONVERS DIED Apr. 28, 1856, M. 84. 

142. Children of William & Margaret Parker, Mary Jane, died Aug. 6, 1834, M. 4 ys. 1 mo. John Henry, 
died Feb. 16, 1834, JE. 1 yr. 3 mo. 

143. ROSA G. wife of SOLON EATON Died Nov. 17, 1*39, M. 31. 

144. OLIVE JANE, dau. of Levi & Elsea B. GATES, Died Mar. 31, 1852, M. 1 yr. 8 mos. & 27 days. 

145. LEVI GATES DIED Sept. 16, 1859, Mi. 54 y'rs 7 mos. 20 d'ys. 

" Not lost but gone before." 

146. SAMUEL SMITH Died Jan. 8, 1853 M. 95. 

147. Smith, son of George & Lorena Howard, died Feb, 3, 1833. M 23 days. 

148. GEO. H. NASH, DIED Feb. 17, 1856. M 27. 

149. SALLY, Wife of Charles Nash, DIED Feb. 12, 1832, M. 30. 

150. Sarah M. Nash, died Feb. 16, 1822. aged 4 mo. 8 ds. 

Return my friends 
Dry up your tears 
Here I must lie 
Till Christ appears. 

CENTENNIAL CEMETERY. 

In 1856, an article was put in the warrant to enlarge the 'Bond grave-yard" hut it was 
dismissed. In 1876, a lot of land lying directly south of the original yard was bought of Willard 
Bill for $150. This lot contains over four acres, and has been carefully laid out, with convenient 
avenues in both directions. From the year '76 it has been named Centennial Cemetery. Monu- 
ments with the following inscriptions have been removed from the old yard : — 

Lot 118. 1. HATTIE (Reverse.) HATTIE U. RAWSON DIED JUNE 15, 1867, AGED 22. 
2. HENRY N. Died May 19, 1864 jet 23 Yrs. 8 Mos. 

MARYETT, Died Oct. 24, 1856, jet. 13 Yrs. 6 Mos. 

Children of James & Mary Rawson. 
Lot 295. JANE ELSEA Daughter of Cha's W. & Limah S. Bingham, died Jan. 31, 1847 M. 5 mo. & 20 d's. 

Burials in this Cemetery have been the following : — 

Lot 118. FATHER AND MOTHER (Reverse.) JAMES RAWSON DIED Dec. 24, 1878 M 74 ys. 7 ms. 

MARY his wife Dec. 8, 1878, M. 72 ys. 2 ms. 
Lot 119. Mrs. Vienna B. Hay ward. 
Lot 127. Thomas T. Clark. 
Lot 133. Mrs. Eliza A. Webster. 
Lot 271. Charles E. Crouch. 
Lot 312. Reuben Leander Jolly. 
Lot 313. Mrs. Louisa J. Bates. 
Lot 315. Caleb Hill. 

VESSEL ROCK CEMETERY. 

At a town meeting, Aug. 27, 1804, it was " Voted to buy one ackre of land that Jon*. Pease 
purchace d of Simon Baxter for the purpose of haveing it for A buriing Place." The Deed was 



CEMETERIES. 69 

given in 1810, and reserved the right " to pasture only sheep and calves." Though it was called 
at first " one ackre," it is evident only about half an acre was taken by the town. In 1820, it 
was enlarged by the purchase of 14 Rods of Land on the west side of the original lot. The first 
burial in this yard was that of Justus Eurd in 1804, and the second was three years later, Rev. 
Elisha Fish. The inscriptions in this Cemetery are as follows : — 

1. FOSTER TEMPLE DIED JULY 12, 1839 M. 64. 

2. SARAH D, wife of FOSTER TEMPLE, died May 6, 1865. M. 88 y's, 9 m's. 

3. CAPT. GEORGE W. F. TEMPLE DIED Oct. 5, 1876, M. 65 yrs. 

Asleep in Jesus 1 blessed sleep. 
From which none ever wake to weep. 

4. Erected as a tribute of respect to the memory of LUCY PEASE MACK, Rom Mar. 17, 1852, Died Jan. 8, 
1852, JEt. 27. 

Green be the turf above thee, 
Friend of our youthful days; 
None knew thee but to love thee, 
None named thee but to praise. 

5. Sacred to the Memory of Mrs. Asenath Mack wife of Capt B. L. Mack, who died April. 18, 1828. in the 31 
year of her age. 

Beware what earth calls happiness; beware 
All joys, but joys that never can expire." 

6. Erected in Memory of Mrs Olive wife of Mr Berzeleel Mack who died Feb : 22. 1827. aged 69 years. 

A heap of dust is all the proud shall be. 

7. In Memory of M r Justus Hurd who died March 31 st 1804, aged 83 years. 

Death is a debt to nature due 
Which I have paid and so must you 

8. In Memory of Mrs Rachel Mack, wife of Mr Berzeleel Mack, who died Oc' 15> h 1820 in the 62 year of her age. 

Remember me as you pass by, 
As you are now so once was I, 
As I am now soon you must be 
Prepare for Death & follow me. 

9. HULDAH, Wife of Capt. BEN J. WARE, DIED March 29, 1811. M. 35. 

10. MARIAH. daut. of Benj. & Huldah WARE DIED March 21, 1811. M. 8 yrs. 11 mos. 

11. STATIRA, daut. of Benj. & Huldah WARE DIED Dec. 15, 1810. M. 6 yrs. 9 mos. 

12. In memory of ANNA wife of Dea. Jonathan Pease, who died Jan. 31. 1835 M. 57. 

13. Sacred to the memory of Dea. Jonathan Pease who died Jan. 16. 1829. aged 55 years. 

14. In Memory of Mr Pelatiah Pease, who Died Feb 15 th , 1811, aged 73 years. 

He did not fear this death to die, 
But felt himself resign'd ; 
He bid adieu to things below, 
And left this world behind. 

15. In Memory of Mrs Polly Pease, wife of Mr Jonathan Pease, who Died Nov. 16'" 1808 in the 29 th year of 
her age. 

Strangers & friends beneath this sleeps in Death 
One who in peace resigned her vital breath 
Husband & children she has left behind, 
To mourn the loss of wife & mother kind, 

16. In Memory of Miss Lucy Pease, daughter of Dea. Jonathan & Polly Pease, who died Nov 18 tt 1820 in the 
16 th year of her age. 

Come all young people you may see, 
This is a call from God to thee, 
No age from Deaths arrest is free, 
Prepare for great Eternity. 

17. Erected to the memory of Mr. Obediah Pease, who died April 30, 1825. in the 46, year of his age. 

All earthly cares beneath the sun, 
Are banish'd from my mind 
Eternity with me's begun 
My God is just and kind. 



70 CHLSUM. 

18. Martha Ann E. daughter of John & Electa Livermore died June 11, 1830, JE, 3 yrs. 2 mo. 

So fades the lovely blooming flower. 

19. David B. Son of Amasa & Lucy Miller died Nov. 23. 1824. JE. 7 years 8 months 

20. EMILY, DAU. OF TRUMAN & LYDIA MILLER, DIED AUG. 3, 1815, JE. 1 YR. 1 MO. & 23 
DAYS. 

A bud that in the morn's first rays 

Opened to life and love. 
An angel now to lisp the praise 

Of Him whose home's above. 

21. ELLEN M. daughter of Eleazer & Esther WILCOX, DIED JUNE 13th, 1862, JE. 20 yrs. 4 mos. 

22. D. A. H. D. Jun. 28 A. D. 1843 A. G. 2 Y 

23. CAPT. BENJAMIN WARE DIED Jan. 1st. 1858, JE. 84 Yrs. 8 Mos. 

24. MARTHA, wife of Capt. BENJ WARE. DIED Sept. 30. 1819, JE. 61 y'rs 

25. STATIRA C. dau. of Capt. Benj. & Martha WARE, DIED Apr. 4, 1835, JE. 19. 

26. MARY E. dau'. of Zenas & Martha Metcalf died May 17. 1830 JE. 2 y'rs 5 mo. 

27. In Memory of GEORGE E. Son of Zenus & Martha Metcalf. died Oct, 18, 1832. JE. 2 years. 

This lovely bud so young & fair, 
Call'd hence by early doom, 
Just came to show, how sweet a flower 
In paradise might bloom. 

28. Erected in memory of DAVID BLISH Esq', who died Dec. 5 th 1817, in the 65 th year of his age. 

The dead shall be raised incorruptible. 
Lo, where this silent marble weeps, 
A friend, a father and a husband sleeps. 
A heart within whose sacred cell, 
The peaceful virtues, lov'd to dwell. 

29. SALLY, wife of John Grimes, died Jan. 23, 1845. JE. 67. 

30. John Grimes Died March 24, 1851. JE. 77. 

31. AMY, wife of Josiah GRIMES, died Nov. 16, 1857, JEl. 69. 

32. JOSIAH GRIMES DIED Sept. 28, 1875, JE. 67 ys. 6 ms. 10 ds. 

33. OLIVE WYMAN, wife of ABRAM WYMAN, Died May 16, 1860, JE. 63. 

34. EZRA J. only son of George W. & Mary Day CRANE, died Aug. 18, 1849, JE. 2 y'rs. 

35. GEORGE H. DAY DIED Dec. 31, 1846, ^Et. 22. 

36. BETSEY CHURCH, wife of AARON DAY, died Sept. 13, 1840, JE. 52. 

37. AARON DAY DIED Sept. 28, 1862, JE. 76. 

38. BETSEY, WIFE OF Dudley Smith, DIED DEC. 2, 1872, JE. 82 ys. 4 ms. 7 ds. 

39. DUDLEY SMITH DIED APR. 20, 1855, ^Et. 83. 

4<). Sacred to the Memory of Mrs Hannah Smith, wife of Mr Dudley Smith, who died Feb: 25, 1822. in 
the 52 year of her age. 

Mortality's the fate of all 
All to the dust must soon return, 
Pause reader and reflect on this 
Bind all your hopes on future bliss 

41. In Memory of Daniel Smith, son of Mr Dudley & Mrs Hannah Smith, who died June 30 th , 1813, aged 
8 years 8 months & 17 days. 

Here lies a sweet a smiling boy, 
A Mothers pride a Fathers joy, 
Swift flew the turning shafts of death, 
The lovely charmer yields his breath. 

42. ELIZA ANN, wife of Philander Howland, Died May 24, 1852, ^t. 22. 

Thou art gone, sweet, gentle, ELIZA, 
And we are left thy loss to mourn : 
We will hope to meet thee, dear One, 
But thou to us wilt ne'er return. 

43. ABIGAIL FISH, Dau. of Rev. Elisha Fish, DIED July 31, 1876, JE. 79 ys. 9 ms. 15 ds. 

There the weary are at rest. 

44. REV. ELISHA FISH DIED Mar. 28, 1807, JE. 51. 

" Say ye to the righteous, that it shall be well with him." 

45. ABIGAIL SNELL, Wife of REV. ELISHA FISH, Died Nov. 2, 1849, JE. 85 yrs. 

" Jesus said, I am the resurrection and the life." 



CEMETERIES. 71 

46. MOSES FISH DIED Sept. 5, 1874, JE. 68 ys. 10 ms. 

Asleep in Jesus. 

47. JANETTE L. Wife of Moses Fish, DIED Deo. 4, 1875, JE. 59 ys. 9 ms. 

Let me go for the day breaketh. 

48. ELISHA S. FISH DIED July 4, 1869, JE. 79 ys. 10 ms. 

" I shall be satisfied when I awake with thy likeness." 

49. MARY, Wife of ELISHA S. FISH, Died Sept. 13, 1861, M. 73 yrs. 6 mos. 

My flesh shall rest in hope. 

50. ELISHA EDWARDS Died Feb. 9, 1819, JE. 4 ms. 6 ds. 
AARON Died Apr. 8, 1825, JE. 3 ys. 8 ds. 

ELISHA WILLIAM Died Feb. 13, 1830, JE. 8 ms. 17 ds. Sons of Elisha S. & Mary Fish. 

Of such is the kingdom of heaven. 

51. Dana C son of Abram C. & Olive Wyman died Oct : 24. 1824. aged 2 years. 

52. Harriet N. Wilcox died Nov. 16, 1825, JE. 5 y'rs. & 2 mo's. 
Esther Wilcox died Dec. 29, 1825, JE. 11 mo's. 
Daughters of Eleazer & Esther Wilcox. 

53. ESTHER M. dau'. of Eleazer & Esther Wilcox died August 22, 1831, M. 17 mo's. 

54. Molly, wife of Eleazer WILCOX, died Jan. 23, 1830, JE. 76. 

55. In memory of Eleazer Wilcox, who died Nov. 7, 1823, in the 75 year of his age. 

56. In memory of Dr. Obadiah Wilcox, who died May 24, 1812, in the 33 year of his age. 

57. EDMUND WILCOX, Died Aug. 17, 1825, JE. 32 ys. 
ABIGAIL W. SANGER, his wife Died Nov. 23, 1878, JE. 86 ys. 

58. PHILISTIA, daughter of Eleazer & Esther WILCOX, died Dec. 3. 1839, JE. 17 years. 

59. ESTHER, wife of ELEAZER WILCOX, DIED AUG. 31, 1843, JE. 45. 

60. ELEAZER WILCOX DIED APR. 13, 1855, JE. 66. 

Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord. 

61. SARAH, dau. of IVORY RANDALL, DIED JAN. 11, 1858, JE. 37. 

62. IVORY RANDALL DIED JUNE 27, 1858, JE. 82. 

63. SARAH, Wife of IVORY RANDALL, DIED Feb. 5, 1859, JE. 67. 

Blessed are the dead that die in the Lord. 

64. An Infant Daughter of A. P. & V. W. Hemenwav, Died Dec. 13, 1844. 

65. HERBERT S. son of Luther S. & Elvira HEMENWAY, died 1838, M. 16 Mos. 

66. MARY E. dau. of Iddo & Mary RANDALL, DIED Jan. 11, 1838, JE. 2 y'rs 11 mo. 

This lovely bud so young and fair 
Was plucked by early doom : 
Came forth to show how fair a flower, 
In paradise might bloom. 

67. An Infant son of Jehiel & Cvnthia Day, died April 3, 1836, 

68. ORVIS G. Son of David & Luthara P. RANDALL, DIED Feb. 18, 1849, JE. 1 y'r. 11 mo. 

Rest sleeping child in silent rest 
In the cold grave that Jesus blest 
In faith & hope we lay thee there, 
Safe in our heavenly father's care 

69. Mrs. Sarah Kilburn, wife of Mr. Ebenezer Kilburn, died Sept. 29, 1822. JEt. 74. 

70. Dea. EBENEZER KILBURN, died Aug. 3, 1810. JE. 66 years. 

71. RUTHY U. widow of Ebenezer Isham, wife of ROBERT AUSTIN, Died Aug. 5, 1874, JE. 80 yrs. 

72. EBENEZER ISHAM, died Aug. 13, 1835. JE. 42. 

73. ROBERT AUSTIN, DIED Mar. 23, 1852, JE. 67. 

74. HANNAH, wife of Jonathan Adams, died Feb. 5, 1833. JE. 97 yrs. 

75. In Memory of Mr Jonathan Adams who Died Sept 8 th , 1813, in the 81 8t year of his age. 

Virtue liv's beyond the grave. 

76. HANNAH wife of Stephen Mansfield, died May 1, 1825. JE. 37, yrs. 

77. STEPHEN MANSFIELD Died Aug 9, 1872, JE. 83 y'rs. 

78. MR. John Mark died Dec. 29, 1832. JEt. 86. 

A Native of Ireland, parish of Ahoghill County of Antrim: lived in Gilsum 61 yrs. 
His duty done, down drops the clay, 
Light from its load the spirit flies. 
Farewell my friends and children too, 
I bid you ail a long adieu. 



72 GILSUM. 

79. Mrs. Ann, wife of Mr. John Mark, died Jan. 21, 1824. Aged 76 years. 

A native of Ireland, Parish of Ahoghill, County of Antrim, lived in Gilsum 52 yearn 
Now fare you well my husband dear, 
In the hand of God I leave you here, 
In silence I shall call on thee, 
Beg you prepare to follow me. 

80. In Memory of George B. son of Simon & Anna Carpenter died Nov. 22, 1823 JEt 6 years 
Jennett M. daut', of Simon & Anna Carpenter died Nov, 28 1823 Mt 9 years. 

81. SIMON CARPENTER DIED Apr. 13, 1863, M. 75 ys. 17 ds. 

He has finished his course. 

82. ANNA, wife of Simon CARPENTER, died Dec. 29, 1847, M. 62 yrs. 5 mos. 

83. JANE BOND DIED August 16, 1847, Mt. 78. 

84. Mr. FRANCIS H. HATHHORN, DIED July 4, 1851, M. 71. 

Farewell my wife I am loth to part. 
Dry up your tears let sobs be o'er 
We soon shall meet to part no more. 

85. CLARENCE 

86. LUCIUS, Children of J. C. & F. P. GUILLOW. 

87. PAULINE 

88. FATHER & MOTHER (Reverse.) REV. LUTHER HEMENWAY, died May 2, 1870, M. 90. 

I'm not ashamed of the Gospel. 
FINIS PATTERSON, died Dec. 22, 1857 M. 73. 

A sweet Peace. 

89. CAROLINE, Wife of LEVI ISHAM, Died Feb. 15, 1872. JE. 60 yg. 5 ms. 7 ds. 

90. LEVI ISHAM died Sept. 2, 1864, M\ 66 y'rs 11 mos. & 13 days. 

91. OTIS G. ISHAM died Aug. 10, 1860, M. 33 y'rs 9 mos. & 2 days. 

92. In Memory of Mr. Jonathan Church who died April 29, 1826 aged 68 years. 

93. In memory of Miss. Olive Church dau of J. & R. CHURCH, who died Feb. 4, 1821. Mi. 37. 

Nor pain nor grief nor anxious fear 
Invade thy bounds. No mortal woes 
Can reach the peaceful sleeper here, 
While angels watch the soft repose. 

94. ESECK T. WILLSON DIED Mar 25, 1871, JE. 77 y'rs. 

95. RUTH, wife of Eseck T. Wilson died Oct. 14, 1838. M. 43. 

96. JOEL WILLSON DIED July 8, 1823. ^E. 57 yrs. 

97. JOEL W. son of Oliver & Mary A. AVILSON DIED Oct. 22, 1835. Aged 2 years. 

98. SUSAN M. dau. of David & Charlotte SUMNER, died SEPT. 12, 1847, M. 1 ys. & 5 Mos. 

99. CYNTHIA, wife of CHARLES SUMNER DIED Aug. 28, 1859, M. 82. 

100. CHARLES SUMNER died March 24 1835, M. 04 yrs. 

101. Lucy daughter of Charles and Cynthia Sumner, died Jan. 13, 1834. M. 24, yrs. 

Religion should our thoughts ingage, 
Amidst our youthful bloom ; 
Twill fit us for declining age, 
And for the awful tomb. 

102. ELIZA ANN wife of JOHN SUMNER, died May 6. 1836 M. 18. 

103. Ella E. Dau't. of Geo. W. & Eliza M. MANSFIELD, Died July 23, 1875, M. 19 ys. 8 ms. 

Dearest Ella — how we miss thee, 
For we loved thee, Oh so well; 
And we never can forget thee 
For our grief no tongue can tell. 

104. In Memory of Mrs Rachel Bill wife of Maj : Ebenezer Bill, who died Nov : 7. 1828. aged 75 years. 

105. In Memory of Maj r Ebenezer Bill, who Departed this life Feb'15 th , 1815, Aged 64 years. 

No more my Friends I meet you here again, 
I'm free from sorrow trouble toil & pain, 
My soul has gone from earth to heaven above, 
To drink full draughts of universal love. 

106. ELSEA ADAMS wife of EBENEZER BILL, born Oct. 25, 1784, died July 15, 1868, M. 83 yrs. 

107. EBENEZER BILL, BORN December 30, 1776, DIED February 9, 1850, Mt. 74. 

108. RACHEL HAMMOND died Mar. 10, 1849, M. 66 yrs. 

109. RHODA LOVELAND, died March 15, 1826, in the 23 year of her age. 

Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord 



CEMETERIES. 73 

110. In memory of Mr. Aaron Hammond, who died April 7, 1818, JFA. 75. 

111. In memory of Mrs. Rachel, wife of Mr. Aaron Hammond, who died Dec. 6, 1812. y£. 69 years. 

Her sorrows now are at an end, 
The Lord did for her call, 
And Jesus is her only friend, 
Her life, her health, her all ! 

112. In memory of Aaron Hammond Jr. who died March 23, 1812. in the 3-1, year of his age. 

He's left this world, his toils are o'er, 
Free from all sorrow, grief & pain, 
To you he will return no more, 
, But you shall meet with him again. 

113. LUCY wife of AARON HAMMOND Jr. DIED MAECH 25th, 1803, AGED 84 YRS. 

" Love one another, 
Be good and kind to all." L. H. 

114. Mrs. Fanny, consort of Allen Butler, died Feb. 5, 1824. Mt. 20. 

115. BETSEY, daughter of AARON & LUCY HAMMOND, DIED JULY 30th, 1874, AGED 67 YRS. 
6MOS. 28DS. ... 

AX 16St. 

116. ABIGAIL, wife of Stephen White died July 17, 1836. M. 73. 

117. BETHANIA M. Daughter of William & Cynthia M. BARRON, DIED March 11, 1849, Mt. 21. 

We laid her where the wild flower shed its fragrant leaves, 
And mourned that her pale, sweet form should moulder there. 
Adieu ! adieu ! Bethania, dear, 
So loved and so lamented here ; 
Shall we not meet again 
The face and form so dear. 

118. RACHEL, wife of DEA. WILLIAM MARK, died Sept. 20, 1S62, M. 87. 

In God is my trust. 

119. Dea. WILLIAM MARK died Aug. 18, 1861, M. 87. 

I rest in hope. 

120. Mrs. Betsey, wife of Dea. William Mark, died Sept. 5, 1829. Mi. 58 

121. In memory of Robert B. Mark only son of William & Betsey Mark who died Dec. 31, 1820, in 
the 14, year of his age. 

122. In memory of HEZRO HUBBARD who died Aug, 1, 1831. M 32 years. 

Thou art dear, little spot, Oh ! to me thou art dear, 
For the ashes your bosom contains 
Though no willow is planted to shed the soft tear 
On the sod o'er my husband's remains. 

12::. Elizabeth B. dau. of Hezro & Nancy Hubbard, June 1, 1834. Mt. 4. 

124. ELLEN S. daut. of David & Sophia Brig-ham, died Sep. 25, 1835, M. 1 yr. 2 mo. 11 ds. 

125. DEBORAH HAMMOND DIED Mar. 29, 1871, ^E. 93 ys. 7 ms. 19 ds.' 

126. JOHN HAMMOND Esq. died Mar. 20, 1S30. M. 57. 

127. DEBORAH, died June 23, 1829. iE. 28. 

MARY, died June 21. 1S29. M. 17. daughters of John Hammond Esq. & Deborah his wife. 

128. FANNY MAIIALA, daughter of John & Fannv D. Hammond, died Nov. 17, 1846. ^E. 20. 

129. E. PRATT EVARDON Died Jan. 15, 1867, M. 62 yrs. & 2 mos. 

130. CAPT. WILLIAM S. MANSFIELD, DIED Sept. 2, 1846. M. 30. 

131. LUCY DORT, wife of Capt. DAVID BILL, Died June 29, 1S64, M. 67 yrs. 2 mos. 

132. Lieut. SAM L BILL died Aug. 13, 1845, M. 82. 

He has gone to his rest in the home of the blest, 
Where troubles no more can assail him: 
Where the Righteous shall shine in their robes all divine, 
And the angels of glory shall hail him. 

133. In memory of Mrs. Lydia, wife of Lieut. Samuel Bill, who died Jan. 8, 1826. iEt. 62. 

Now she's gone to realms above, 
Where saints and angels meet; 
To realize her Saviour's love 
And worship at His feet. 

bit. In memory of Mr. Samuel Bill, Jr. who died April 12, 1824. Mt. 35. 

135. DENNIE L. Son of L. A. & E. A. WELKINS, DIED Apr. 16, 1870, M. 3 y'rs. 9 mo's. & 26 d's. 

Our dear one is waiting in Heaven. 
5 



74 GILSUM. 

136. EMER L. Uau. of D. W. & L. T. Bill DIED Sept. 16, 1848, M. 3 Mo's. 

This little flower so young & sweet 
Has gone to rest at her Saviours feet. 

137. AN INFANT dau. of Capt. David & Lucy BILL, died Sept. 22, 1820. 

138. DAVID M. SON OF MARTIN L. & LOUISA D. GODDARD, DIED MAR. 15, 1854, M. 4 YRS. 
2 MOS. & 11 DAYS. 

Dear little David ; so soon he's gone 
To his eternal home. 
While friends around him weeping stood 
Christ called to him to come. 

139. DAVID D. son of Saml. D. & Susan P. BILL. Died Sept. 1, 1858,' M. i Yrs. 3 Mos. & 16 Days. 

We cannot — cannot say farewell, — 
Our precious darling boy 
We hope at last with thee to dwell, 
In worlds of endless joy. 

14(). JOSEPH A. WILDER DIED Mar. 13, 1853, M. 45. 

141. The sisters. MEHITABEL, wife of JOSIAH HAMMOND, died June 8, 1857, M. 79. 
RACHEL, wife oi WILLIAM BAXTER, Died Oct. 22, 1861, M. 87. 

142. JOSIAH HAMMOND DIED AUG. 15, 1851, M. 76. 

143. OTIS G. HAMMOND ESQ. DIED Apr. 22, 1849, M. 39. 

144. ALBERT O. HAMMOND died at Savannah Ga. Sept. 12, 1864, .E. 28 years. Killed by rebel 
brutality while a prisoner at Andersonville. 

OTIS ALBERT, son of Albert O. & Kate A. HAMMOND, M. 6 months. 

145. POLLY, widow ok ELISHA GUNN, DIED SEPT. 27, 1860, M. 84. 

146. DANIEL W. son of ELIJAH & LOUISA GUNN, DIKD NOV. 26, 1858, .E. 16 YEARS. 

147. ARTHUR L. son of Elisha & Martha A. Gunn, died Oct. 17. 1856. M. 8 M's. 

148. MARTHA ANN, wife of ELISHA W. GUNN died Nov. 12, 1857, M. 28. 

Friends nor physicians could not save 
My mortal body from the grave ; 
Nor can the grave confine me here, 
When Christ my Lord, calls me to appear. 

In 1835, Asa Nash gave the town a lot of land for 

THE EAST CEMETERY. 

( )nly a few families have chosen to bury here. The inscriptions are as follows : — 

1. EMMET J. son of Jacob & LydiaNASH Died Feb. 10, 1852, M. 5 mo's. 

2. LYDIA D. Wife of JACOB D. NASH, DIED Dec. 26, 1863. M. 36. 

3. DIED. Dec. 16. 1833 Arvila Davis, Daughter of JAMES & ELMIRA Davis, AG 5 
BETSA B. Davis DIED FEB. 5. 1833. DAUGHTER of James & ELMIRA Davis. AG 2 

4. ALLEN NASH Died Dec. 3. 1857, M. 22. 

5. ASA NASH DIED OCT. 21. 1856, M. 67. 

6. RHODA Wife of Dea. Asa Nash, Died Sept. 14, 1871, M. 76 y's, 7 m'o, 26 d's. 

Sleep on dear Mother 
Take thy rest, 
God has called thee home 
He thought it best. 

7. ESTHER A. Daut. of Franklin Jefts Died Dec. 8, 1865, M. 12 y'rs. 

8. DAVID DEAN died May 1835. M. 65. 

The Bond Cemetery being difficult of access, various efforts were made to secure a burying 
place nearer the village, but without success. In 18o0, David Ware buried his son near the south- 
east corner of his farm, just above the village, and soon after sold some adjacent lots. This 
was the beginning of 

THE WARE CEMETERY. 

This is entirely a private institution, belonging at present to George W. Newman. Its 
inscriptions are as follows : — 

1. MERRILL J. HOWARD Died Nov. 19, 1878, M. 36 ys. 10 ms. 



CEMETERIES. 75 

2. ARTIE A. son of A. J. & R. M. Howard Died Jan. 2, 1871, JE. 21 y'rs. 

"Lord remember me when thou comest in thy kingdom." 
(Reverse.) ANDALUSIA F. Jan. 30, 1849, JE. 2 yrs. 
DENNIS A. Feb. 13, 1849, M. 4 yrs. 
FREDDIE. Feb. 13, 1855, JE. 6 mos. 
Children of A. J. & R. M. HOWARD. 

3. SAFE WITH THE ANGELS — LITTLE ALICE. 

Ah ! they do not know how deep a shade. 
This little grave in our home lias made. 
(Reverse.) ALICE EMILY, DAU. OF L. W. F. & E. Z. MAKE, DIED SETT, 28. 1870, M. 9 MOS. 

& 11 DY'S. 

4. GEO. ALOXZO, Only son of G. H. & L. A. Temple, died Jan. 31, 1868, .E. 7 mo's. 

•• ( )f such is the kingdom of heaven." 

5. LUSYLVIA A. wife of GEO. H. TEMPLE, died Sept. 13, 1868, Aged 22. 

Henry, I'm waiting. 

6. SALLY LOYELAND Wife of Elijah Mansfield, DIED Nov. 29, 18(16, AGED 77. 

7. I. AMASA, Twin son of Israel B. & Sarah T. LOYELAXD. DIED Mar. 7. 1868, .E. 17 y'rs, 1 mo's. 

8. Husband & Father ISKAEL B LOVELAND DIED July 27, 1875, M. 76 yrs. 

9. SARAH G. SUMNER DIED Oct. 19, 1874, JE. 68 y'rs. 

Gone to rest. 

10. CYNTHIA S. wife of HENRY J. DAY, DIED FEB. 17, 1859. JE. 23. 

11. MARY C. BEMIS Died Dec. 12, 1876, JE. 54 Y's. 2 Ms. 4 Ds. 

12. ANDALUSIA HOWARD DIED Dec. 20th. 1838, JE. 27 Ys. 10 Ms. 15 Ds. 

•• Blessed are the pure in heart." 

13. PAMELIA B. HEMMEXWAY, Formerly Wife of Thomas Howard, DIED Jan is. 1867, M 78. 

" Mothers Grave." 

14. THOMAS HOWARD DIED Nov. 8th. 1857, JE. 73. 

'■ Fathers Grave." 

15. SAMUEL B. Son of David & Mary WARE, died Dec. 18, 1S56 .E. 21 vs. 9 ins. 7 Days. 

16. DAYID WARE DIED Apr. 15, 1863, JE. 65 ys. 13 ds. 

The strong staff is broken. 

17. MARY, Wife of David WARE, died Apr. 6, 1851, JEt. 60. 

There is rest in Heaven. 

18. HATTIE A. PRATT, only child of Mrs. RACHEL WARE died at Hillsboro 111. Oct, 9, 1862, JE. 19 ys 
10 mo. 

" Mother, I'm waiting." 

19. CLARENCE E. son of W. & A. GLEASOX, died Jan. 20. 1857, JE. 2 Yrs. 11 Mos. 

So fades the lovely blooming flower. 

20. I am not afraid to die. MARIA L. LEAROYD, DIED Sept. 8, 1872, JE. 32 vs. 
. 21. OUR. BABY son of S. & A. Banks. 

22. LUTHER W. MARK DIED Nov. 3. 1863, JE. 54 ys. 7 mos. & 7 ds. 

Farewell to earth. 

23. OUR BABY Infant son of H. H. & A. J. Mark, died Jan. 16, 1870. 

24. SUSAN E. wife of PERRY H. WALDRON, DIED Dec. 12, 1861, M. 42 y'rs. 

25. REBECCA O. wife of HIRAM N. DAYIS, DIED Nov. 13, 1860, JE. 19 y'rs. 

26. HIRAM O. son of Hiram N. & Rebecca O. DAYIS died Oct. 22, 1S64, JE. 3 y'rs. 11 mo's, 21 d'ys. 

27. SALLY M. wife of Daniel Howard DIED May 19, 1872, JE. 78 y's. 9 m's. 

28. DANIEL HOWARD DIED Oct. 15. 1862, JE. 71 ys. 9 mo. 

29. ORMACINDA H WIFE OF MASON GUILLOW died June 25, 1S62, JE. 36 ys. 5 mo. 22 ds. 

30. STILLMAN son of Ebenezer & Mary annie JONES, DIED Mar. 22, 1851, ^E. 6 mos. 

31. ELVIRA W. Wife of EBEN'R JONES DIED June 23, 1855, JE. 26. 

I know that my Redeemer liveth ; 
Because he liveth I shall live also. 

32. FATHER. JOHN LIVERMORE DIED Mar. 12, 1872, JE. 70 ys, 8 ms. 

33. MOTHER. ELECTA G\ WIFE OF JOHN LIVERMORE DIED Mar. 8, 1872, JE. 66 ys. 3 ms. 

34. MARY ELIZABETH, WIFE OF J. ELLIOTT SMITH, DIED MAR. 9, 1872, M. 30 ys. 3 ms. 9 ds. 

Dear Mary, Dear Mother, we cherish fond memories of thee. 



76 aiLSUM. 

35. IDA MAKY Dau. of J. Elliott & Mary E. Smith DIED Dec. 3, 1876, M. 16 ys. 3 ms. 

Gone, but not forgotten. 

36. FRANZ 

That lie doth live we know. 

Then let us cease to weep, 

And on his promise lean 

In love, he sent this sleep 

That we might meet again. 
(Reverse.) Sleep on Darling till we meet thee. 
FRANZ W. Infant son of G. A. & D. R. Polzer, DIED AUG. 31, 1874, M. 1 yr. 7 ms. 9 ds. 

37. DART. ROBERT JESSE, ONLY SON OF S. W. & ANN DART. DIED MAR. 14, 1877, M. 2 YS. 
5 MO 7 DS. 

"Jesus loves me." 

MARIA THERESA WIFE OF JESSE DART DIED MARCH 28, 1879 M. 53 YRS. 9 MOS. 

38. (Granite curbstone.) RAWSON. 

39. MARSHALL H. son of Harvey B. & Susan MILLER. Died Aug. 25. 1869. M. 18 y'rs. 5 rao's. 

We cannot call thee back again. 

40. LIICINDA W. wife of Henry H. Howard, died Aug. 22, 1865, M. 47 y'rs. 

41. FATHER Osman McCoy DIED Oct. 25, 1875, M. 64 yrs. AT REST. 

42. SALOME, WIFE OF CALVIN MAY, DIED FEB. 13, 1875, M. So yrs. 10 mos. 

Not separated by death. 

43. CALVIN MAY DIED APR. 12, 1875, M. 82 yrs. 4 mos 

United in life. 

44. Calvin May Jr. DIED Sept. 20, 1862, ML 39 Yrs. 

45. GEORGE H. Son of John & Nancy S. DEAN, Died July 23. 1877, M. 24 ys. 9 ms. 

46. Merrill H. son of John & Nancy S.'DEAN, Died Apr. 21, 1867, M. IS ys. 11 ms. 

47. HOLLIS T. GATES DIED July 20. 1857, M. 23. 

48. HENRY H. son of MARVIN cSc MARY GATES died Apr. 4, 1S6S, M. 26 yrs. 

49. MARY HENDEE DIED June 1, 1855, M. 46. 

Blessed are the dead that die in the Lord. 

50. EUNICE R. wife of JOSIAH HENDEE DIED Apr. 3, 1869, M. 87 ys. 8 ms. 

51. JOSIAH HENDEE DIED DEC 21, 1864, AGED 88. 

52. FOSTER WHITNEY DAY FOSTER DIED Mae. 27, 1873, M. 31 yrs. 
.53. WIFE & BABY GONE HOME 

(Reverse.) S. EMMA wife of SAMUEL L. KINGSBURY, DIED JUNE 14, 1874. M. 25 ys. 11 ms. 



26 ds. 



ETHEL MAY, their daughter DIED APR. 25, 1874, M. 29 ds. 

54. MY HUSBAND GONE HOME 

(Reverse.) EDWARD L. HAMMOND DIED June 17. 1874, M. 35 ys^. 2 ms. 17 ds. 

55. DON, son of Geo. & L. A. BARRETT, Died Sept, 2. 1874. ^E. 1 yr. 22 ds. 

At rest, thy sufferings all are o'er. 
Thou'rt gone to dwell on yon bright shore ; 
Jesus called, and to his arms hath flown 
Dear patient, loving, little Don. 

56. SOPHRONIA, wife of Charles Crouch, died Apr. 15, 1877, M. 55 y's. 10 m's. 15 d's. 

Missed in life's actions, missed in our hearts most of all. 

57. JENNIE A. Dau. of John & Sarah THOMPSON, DIED FEB. 18, 1859, M. 19. 

Thou hast gone from us dear Jennie 

Thy smile no more we see 
The music of thy voice is hushed 

Yet shall we think of thee. 

58. MOTHER MARY E. Wife of Calvin Chandler, Died Apr. 13, 1872, M. 03 ys. 4 ms. 30 ds. 

The grave is the home of all living. 

59. TEMPLE BAKER DIED Feb. 5, 1869, M. 34 yrs. 

60. ABIGAIL B. Wife of REV. EZRA ADAMS, DIED Feb. 23, 1858, ML 43. 

61. REV. EZRA ADAMS DIED Mar. 20, 1864, ML 54. 

62. FLORENCE 

Blessed little angel. 

(Reverse.) Florence M. Dau. of I. B. & M. A. Newman. Died Apr. 9, 1879, M. 19 Mos. & 11 Dys. 



CEMETERIES. 77 

03. OUR MOTHER. ORINDA FULLER Wife of Samuel Isham, Died May 29, 1841, Mt. 38 y'rs. 
CALVIN M. their son Died Sept. 8, 1828 Mt. 3 y'rs. 

64. FATHER SAMUEL ISHAM JR. DIED June 21, 1871, M. 71 ys. 1 mo. 15 ds. 

At rest. 

65. LYMAN F. Died Sept. 22, 1868 M. 21 y'rs, 2 mo*s. 25 d'ys. 
FRANCES J. Died May 16, 1869, M. 16 y'rs, 1 mo. 8 d'ys. 
SARAH P. Died Aug. 16, 1869, .E. 24 y'rs, 4 mo's, 16 d'ys. 
Children of Samuel & Elmina Lsham. 

66. OUR LITTLE CHARLIE. 

( ) ! how we miss thee darling. 

(Reverse.) CHARLIE C. son of F. C. & E. F. MINOR, Died July 27. 1869, M. 4 y'rs, 8 mo's, 5 d'ys. 

67. FRANCES R WHITE wife of J. F. HORTON, Died Oct. 7, 1860, M. 33 yrs. 3 mos. 15 .Is. 

68. WEBSTER 1866. 

09. EZRA WEBSTER Died Nov. 22, 1804, M. 52 ys. 7 ms. 9 ds. 

70. JAMES WELCH DIED Nov. 25, 1870, M. 27 ys. 10 ms. 

Dearest one thou art gone, but not forgotten. 

71. JOSEPH W. BECKWITH, DIED June 13, 1872, M. 04 ys. 8 ms. 

Gone Home. 

Iii 1805 the town 

Voted to fence the Burying yards in this town meaning one by W m Baxters and the other on Stephen Bonds 
Land Voted that the Burying yards be fenced with Hemlock posts not less than ten inches through and Boards 
Spiked on to them three posts to one length of Boards the Boards to Be a foot wid three boards on a post, the 
posts to be put 2 feet in to the Ground to be boarded to the top of the posts two nails in a Board on Each post — 
to be four feet and a halt' high from the top of the Ground the boards to be Sixteen feet long or under the work 
to be don by the first of June 1806 — - the pay to be made when the work is done there is to be a gate Eight feet 
wide hung with Iron hinges. 

voted to Set up the fenceing of S d yards to those that will do them the Ceapist accordingly Struck of the 
yard by W" 1 Baxters to John Ellis at 49 Cents p r rod — and the other yard to Elisha Bond at 50 Cents p r rod. 

It was afterwards " voted to Give John Ellis liberty to get Black ash posts instid of Hemlock." 
These fences lasted about ten years, as we find the Selectmen instructed to repair them in 
1816. In 1819 " Voted to fence the burying Yards with Stone wall " the Selectmen " to See to 
the making of s d wall." These walls are still standing. 

The first recorded purchase of undertaker's implements is in 1825, when it was " Voted that 
the town procure two palls and two satchels and cords." In 1836, the town " Voted that the 
Select Men furnish a Grave Cloth, with a bag to keep it in." In 1839, " Voted to procure a 
Hersc and build a Horse house located at discretion of the Select Men." They placed it a few 
rods below the Stone Bridge, on the Surry road, where it now stands. An effort was made to 
buy a new Hearse as early as 1851, but it was not accomplished till 1870, when the Hearse now 
in use was purchased. 

In 1867 the Selectmen were instructed to appoint some one to toll the bell and keep a record 
of deaths, also to go with the Hearse at Funerals, and keep it clean and in repair. Capt. Chand- 
ler held the appointment for about ten years, since which George H. McCoy has been chosen. 
Practically, his duties pertain only to the management of the Hearse. 

TOMBS. 

At a meeting called for that special purpose, in April, 1825, " Voted to have the town build 
a tomb in the center burying yard." Jonathan Pease, Luther Whitney, Aaron Day, and True 
Webster Jr. were the committee " to draw the plan and see the work well done," and sixty 
dollars was raised for the pui'pose. The building was struck off to Josiah Hendee, for 139.90. 

About 1830, Samuel Isham Jr. and Nathan Ellis Jr. built a tomb at the Bond cemetery. 



78 



GIL SUM. 



Within a few years the town has bought out their heirs, so that both tombs are now the property 
of the town. 

The special anxiety to have a tomb, fifty years ago, was not mainly the convenience in winter, 
but rather the fear of " body snatchers," which prevailed at that time, not without cause. 
Medical Colleges then largely depended for " subjects" upon bodies surreptitiously obtained. A 
student could pay his full fees by furnishing a body, and no questions were asked. It was 
thought that bodies locked in the tomb were safer from these marauders, than in the grave. 
That this fear was no idle imagination is well known. Probably no grave-yard in the country 
was secure from these depredators. In the case of David Smith, watchers were stationed to 
guard the grave by night, and some of them still living testify that parties came from different 
directions, and drove hastily away on finding themselves discovered. The trouble of watching 
became so burdensome, that the body was taken up and buried under the wood-pile in the 
widow's door-yard, a log being left in the grave. A few months after, when the body was 
returned, it was found that the log had been turned over by the grave-robbers. 

The Sextons appointed by the town have been as follows, so far as recorded : — 

Hammond, 1837 to 40.-2 to 



Berzeleel Mack, 1798, 1802,-25. Otis G 

Jonathan Pease, 1798, 1802. 48. 

Joel Wilson, 1806,-19,-20. Marvin Gates, 1838 to 41 

ElishaBond, 1806,-11 to 13,-16 to 24. Asa B. Nash, 1838,-43. 



1856,-7. 
1857,-61 



to 06,-8,-9, 



Silas Woods, 1811-2. 

Samuel Bill Jr.. 1815,-7. 

David Smith, 1816,-8,-21 to 23,-5. 

True Webster Jr.. 1824,-6 to 30. 

David Ware, 1826 to 30. 

David Bill, 1831 to 37,-41. 

Nathan Ellis Jr., 1832 to 37,-43 to 8, 

-50,-53,-4,-6,-9. 
Asa Nash, 1836,-7,-9, 40,-2,-8,-51. 



6,- 



Cyrus Bliss, 1841. 
Ephraim Howe, 1842. 
Otis Amniidon, 1844. 
Benjamin Cory, 1844,-54 

-61 to 73. 
John Guillow, 1845 to 7. 
Cyrus R. Bliss, 1850. 
David Sumner. 1850. 
Martin L. Goddard, 1851,-3.-4. 
Charles Nash, 1853. 



Samuel D. Bill, 
James Rawson, 

-72. 

George W. Bancroft, 1859,-61 to 64. 
Addison Gates, 1865. 
Franklin B. Gates, 1866-7. 
Calvin Chandler, 1867. 
Temple Baker, 1868. 
Daniel W. Bill, 1869,-70,-2 to 75. 
Charles W. Rawson, 1870,-1,-3 to 5, 

-9. 
Albert R. Cory, 1871. 
Joel Nash, 1874,-5,-9. 



GENERAL FINANCES. 79 

CHAPTER XV. 

GENERAL FINANCES. 
" The Almighty Dollar." 

Prior to 1821, no money appears to have been raised except for specified objects, such as 
preaching, schools, and highways, but at the annual meeting in that year, it was " Voted to raise 
one hundred and seventy-five dollars to defray Town expenses." When, after spending a large 
amount in " fighting" the " new road " from Keene to Marlow, the town was at last obliged to 
build it, instead of raising the money by lax, the poor policy of borrowing was adopted. Then, 
instead of paying it up as fast as possible, there appeared a great reluctance to tax themselves 
for that purpose. Articles inserted in the warrant, to raise money for the debt, were repeatedly 
dismissed. Worse than this, when the Surplus Revenue was received from the United States 
in 1839, it was first voted to use it to pay for the " New Road," but the next day, that vote was 
rescinded, and the money divided equally among the tax-payers. After about ten years, however, 
there was an effort gradually to reduce the debt. In another ten years, the war came on, and 
the debts were largely increased. The great expense attendant upon building and re-building 
the Stone Bridge, came in at the same period. At the close of the war in 1865, the net indebt- 
edness of the town was reported as $19,518.80. This, however, included the $5400, afterwards 
refunded by the State, (page 46,) so that the real debt was a little over Fourteen Thousand 
Dollars. By a wise persistence in high taxes, for the next decade, in 1876 the town found itself 
free from debt, for the first time in nearly forty years. It is to be hoped that the experience of 
that " forty years wandering in the wilderness " of debt, will be sufficient to establish in Gilsum, 
for all time to come, the wholesome motto, " Pay as you go." 

Amounts raised for general town charges and the payment of debts: — 

1821, $175. 1833, $140. 1846, $600. Debt. 1861, $1700* 

1*22, *-'■"">. 1834, $37.5. 1847, $250 and $-250. 1862-3, 



1823, $225. 1835, $325. 1848, $400. 1864 to 7, $2500. 

1824, $360. 1836-7, $350. 1840, $300. 1868, $1950. 

1825, $300. 1838, $500. 1850, $500. 1869 to 71, $2500. 

1826, $100. 1839, $800. 1851, $500 and $200. 1872, $2200. 

1827, $150. 1840,1500. 1852, $500 and $100. 1873 to 5, $2000. 
1*28. x7f.. 1841, $900. 1853, $500 and $11:;. 1876, $1000. 

1829, $175. 1842, $600. 1854, $5(111 and $200. 1*77, $100 and $200.f 

1830, .¥150. 1843, $400. 1855, $500 and $loo. 187S, $150. 

1831, $300. 1844. $450. Debt. 1856-7, $600 and $200. 1879,10.50. 

1832, $350. 1845, $250 and $150. 1S58-60, $600 and $300. 

The smallest sum raised any year before the present was $75 in 1828, and the largest $2500 

for seven years while paying the debt. The average for the fifty-nine years on record is $867. 

The following table gives the tax on each dollar of the grand levy, for each year, so far as 

we have the records. This includes all money taxes, both State and County, but not the highway 
tax. 



1805, 


$1.00. 


1817, 


$1.22. 


1823, 


$1.22. 


1829, 


$1.07. 


1835, 


$0.99. 


1841, 


$1.62. 


1806, 


$1,404. 


1X18, 


$1.00. 


1824, 


81.41. 


1830, 


$0.89. 


1836, 


$0.81. 


1842, 


$1.28: 


1807, 


$0.57. 


1819, 


$1.27. 


1*25. 


$1.44. 


1831, 


$1.26. 


1837. 


>U.S4. 


1843, 


$1.05. 


1808, 


$0.91. 


1820, 


$1.33. 


1826, 


So.90. 


1S32. 


$1.34. 


1838, 


$0.98. 


1844, 


$1.18. 


1809, 


$0.69. 


1821, 


$1.18. 


x 1827, 


$1.19. 


1833, 


$1.15. 


1839, 


$1.30. 


1845, 


$1.05. 


1816, 


$1.23. 


1822, 


$1.67. 


1828, 


$1.08. 


1834, 


$0.99. 


1840, 


$1.12. 


1846, 


$1.30. 



"Including Stone Bridge. t For Repair of Town House. 



80 GILSUM. 

1847, $1 20. 1853, $1.39. 1859, $1.85. 1865, $4.55. 1870, $4.75. 1875, $3.80. 

1848, $2.16. 1S54, .$1.68. I860, $1.96. 1866, $4.25. L871, $4.10. 1876, $2.90. 

1849, $1.08. 1855, $1.30. 1861, $2.75. 1867, $3.90. 1872, $3.50. 1877, $2.46. 

1850, $1.30. 1856, $1.55. 1862, $1.78. 1868, $3.90. 1873, $4.65. 1878, $2.10. 

1851, $1.50. 1857, $1.75. 1863, $2.24. 1869, $4.40. 1874, $3.70. 1879, $1.80. 

1852, $1.64+. 1858, $1.80- 1864, $4.20. 

The lowest tax recorded is $0.57 in 1807. The lowest in the last sixty-four years is $0.81 in 
1836 ; and the highest is $4.75 in 1870. The average for sixty-four years is very nearly $1.94. 

Financially, Gilsum at the present time, is in a sound, healthy condition, able to take hold 
manfully and energetically, of all enterprises for the public good, such as schools, libraries, and 
highways. " There is that scattereth and yet increaseth : there is that withholdeth more than 
is meet, but it tendeth to poverty." 



CHAPTER XVI. 

TOWN OFFICERS. 

It has been observed that the Charter not only made a grant of land, but incorporated a 

Town. It is probable that the Proprietors did not organize as a town, for two or three years 

after the Charter was given, as they certainly transacted business in those years, which properly 

belonged to the town. The loss of the records leaves us very much in the dark, as it is only by 

accident that we can pick up here and there the name of some town officers prior to 1789. The 

first Town Meeting of which we have any knowledge was held Aug. 26, 1766, at Jonathan 

Smith's. " Joseph Sponsor " was Moderator, and Obadiah Willcox, Clerk. From that time to 

1789, no name of Moderator has been found. Moderalors at the annual meetings since 1789, 

have been as follows : — 

Justus Hurd, 1789,-93. Obadiah Pease, 1817. Otis (i. Hammond, 1S43. 

Jonathan Adams, 1790. Josiah Hammond, 1818 to 21 and 23. Vmasa May, 1845,-6,-58. 

Aaron Hammond, 1791. John Hammond, 1822,-5,-6,-9. Daniel W. Bill, 1847,-65,-6,-7,-70,-1. 

Daniel Wright, 1792. Berzeleel Lord Mack, 1824. Francis A. Howard, 1848. 

Jehiel Holdridge, 1794,-7, 1802. Aaron Day, 1827,-8. Calvin May, Jr . 1849,-50,-1,-5. 

Zadok Hurd, 1795,-8,-9, 1801. Luther Abbot, 1830,-2 ,-7,-40,-1 -2 - I.David S. Ware, 1852. 

Samuel Whitney, 1796, 1800,-6,-15. Willard Bill, 1831. Aaron H. Livermore, L853. 

Silvanus Hayward, 1803. Charles H. Cummings, Jr., 1833,-4. Charles F. Kingsbury, is. ,4. -6,-7. 

David Adams, 1804. George W. Hammond, 1835. Aaron D. Hammond, 1859 to 64, 

David Blish, 1805,-7,-8,-12 -3,-4,-6. Allen Butler. 1836. 1868,-9,-72 to 79. 

Robert Lane Hurd, 1809,-10,-1. Samuel Woodward, Jr., 1838,-9. 

In 1809, immediately after choice of Moderator is the following record : — 

2 — Voted to adjourn to Smiths Hall [the tavern.] 

3 — Voted to adjourn back to the meeting. 

Evidently the new Moderator " treated" Probably this rase was no! an exception, save in the 
fact of its being put on record. Moderators have never received pay for their services. 

As seen above. Obadiah Willcox of Surry was the first Town Clerk, and from all the writings 
of that day, now extant, lie was evidently much better qualified for that office than any other of 
(be actual settlers. He doubtless held the office till the setting off of Surry, in 1769. Who 
filled this office for the succeeding 20 years cannot now be told, save as in one instance found in 





Ct-^2~~?-z 



-tf-^u^y 



Theflel[ot3/peJ>jintingCo.2IIIiem(iiiry 





a^. 




. . 






TOWN OFFICERS. 



81 



In 1787. Timothy Dewey was Town Clerk. Since 1789, Town Clerks have 



State documents. 

been : — 

Zadok Hurd, 1789. David Brigham, 1834,-5. 

Robert Lane Hurd, 1790,-1, 1801 to Israel B. Loveland. 1836 to 44, 1846 

5, 1811,-2. 
David Blish, 1792 to 1800. 
Josiah Hammond, 1806 to 10, 1815, 

-6,-24 to 31. 
Elisha S. Fish. 1813. 
Obadiah Pease, 1814,-7 to 23. 
Luther Abbot, 1832,-3. 



to 58. 
Allen Butler, 1845. 
Martin L. Goddard, elected 1856, 

but left town. 
Hervey E. Rawson, 1859,-65,-6. 
Ezra Webster, i860 to 64, died in 

office. 



Calvin Chandler, appointed by Select- 
men, 1864. 

George Henry McCoy, 1867 to 70,-72 
to 77. 

John Gould, 1871. 

John A. Smith, 1878. 

Benjamin H. Horton, 1879. 



Town Treasurers since 1789 have been : — 



Aaron Hammond, 1789,-90. 
David Blish, 1791 to 04. 
Ebenezer Bill, 1795,-6,-7, 1802,-3. 
Zadok Hurd, 1798 to 1801. 
John Hammond, 1804 to 10. 
Obadiah Pease, 1811 to 19. 
Ebenezer Bill, Jr., 1820,-1,-2,-41. 
Amherst Havward, 1823 to 28,-49. 
Israel B. Loveland, 1829,-39. 
Allen Butler, 1830,-1,-50. 



Willard Bill, 1832. 

Aaron Day, 1833,-4,-5. 

Calvin May, 1840,-5, acted also in 

1836,-7,-8. 
David Bill. 1842. 

Ezra Webster, lS43,-4,-58,-61 to 64. 
David Ware, 1846. 
Samuel Isham, Jr., 1847. 
Josiah Hendee, 1848. 
William Mark, elected 1850, but did 

not serve. 



Asa Cole, 1851,-2,-5. 

N. O. Havward, 1853. 

Davis II.' Wilson, 1854,-6,-9,-60. 

George B. Rawson, 1857. 

Calvin Chandler, 1864,-5,-8,-9. 

L. W. F. Mark. 1866. 

Aaron D. Hammond, 1867,-72 to 76, 

1879. 
John S. Collins, 1871. 
Allen Hayward, 1877,-8. 



In 1836-8, the town voted to dispense with the office of Treasurer, but Calvin May acted by 
appointment of the Selectmen. The first salary paid the Treasurer was three dollars, in 1809. 
Since then it has risen to 15 dollars at the present time. 

At a town meeting for Boyle in March, 1762, the Proprietors chose for Selectmen, John 
Sterling, Josiah Kilburn, and Joseph Spencer ; and in September following, Joseph " Spensor,'' 
Joseph Mack, and Seth Haize. (Page 18.) The following list prior to 1789, has been made up 
from State documents : — 



Ebenezer Dewey, [Sen.] 1773. 
Ebenezer Dewey Jr., 1776-7. 
Pelatiah Pease, 1773,-5.-6. 
Samuel Church, 1773,-5. 
Stephen Griswold, 1775. 
Jonathan Bliss, 1777. 
John Briggs, 1779. 
Elisha Pendell, 1779. 
Ebenezer Church, 1779. 
Thomas Darte, 1781,-3,-5. 
Justus Hurd, 1781-2. 
Jonathan Adams. 1781-2,-4,-6,-8,-91. 
Theodoer Presson, 1782. 
Aaron Hammond, 1783,-5,-91,-5. 
Timothy Dimock, 1784,-6. 
Ebenezer Bill, [Sen.] 1784,-6,-9,-92, 
-6,-7,-9, 1804,-8. 

David Blish, 1787,-92,-6,-7,-9, 1801, 
-4,-7,-8,-9.-13.-4. 

Zadoc Hurd, 1787,-9,-90,-3,-9, 1801. 

Samuel Whitney, 1788. 

Eleazer Wilcox, 1788. 

David Adams, 1789,-90,-4. 

Jehiel Holdridge, 1790, 1801. 

Robert Lane Hurd, 1791,-3,-5, 1800, 
-5,-7,-11,-2. 

Samuel Bill, Jr., 1793,-8, 1800,-2,-6, 
-10,-6,-7,-9,-21. 

James Ballard, 1794. 



Silvanus Hayward, 1795,-8, 1803. 
John Hammond, 1798, 1802,-5,-10, 

-1,-6,-9,-20 to '23,-6,-7,-9. 
William Mark, 1802,-5,-7,-9,-12. 
Jonathan Pease, 1803,-6,-13 to '16, 

-8,-22,-3,-5. 
Dudley Smith, 1803,-11,-2,-5. 
Luther Whitney, 1817,-21,-2,-3,-5,-6. 
Jonathan Davis, 1817. 
Aaron Day, 1818,-20,-5,-7-8,-44. 
Josiah Hammond, 1818,-9,-20,-4. 
Solomon Mack, 1824.-9. 
Israel B. Loveland, 1824,-6.-8,-30,-3. 
Willard Bill, 1827,-9,-31,-71,-2,-4. 
David Bill, 1828,-30,-1,-2,-4,-5,-6.-47. 
Calvin Mack, 1830. 
David Brigham, 1831,-6. 
David Ware, 1832,-41,-3,-51. 
Allen Butler. 1832,-3. 
Ebenezer Isham, 1833. 
William Kingsbury, 1834,-5,-8,-9,-45. 
Calvin May, 1834 to '38,-12,-9. 
Luther Abbot, 1837,-41. 
Eliphalet K. Webster, 1837,-9,-40. 
Samuel Woodward, Jr., 1838,^1,-2, 

-3,-50,-2. 
Eseck T. Wilson, 1839,^0,-5. 
Samuel Isham, Jr., 1840,-2,-6,-8,-54, 

-60,-1. 



Amherst Hayward, 1843. 

Otis G. Hammond, 1844. 

Stephen Foster, Jr., 1844. 

John Livermore, 1845,-6,-9,-53,-4. 

Luther W. Mark, 1846. 

True Webster, Jr., 1847,-8. 

Amasa Mav, 1847,-8. 

N. O. Hayward, 1850,-2,-5,-8. 

Daniel W. Bill, 1850,-1,-6,-7,-9 to '70, 

-2,-3. 
Aaron H. Livermore, 1851. 
Daniel Smith. 1852. 
Asa Cole, 1853. 
David S. Ware. 1853. 
George W. Newman, 1854. 
Martin L. Goddard, 1855. 
Calvin May, Jr., 1855. 
Joseph M. Chapin, 1856. 
John Hammond, 1856,-7. 
William Banks, 1857,-8. 
-9.George B. Bawson, 1858,-9. 

William L. Kingsbury, 1859,-60,-2. 

John C. Guillow, 1861,-3,-4. 

Darius Porter, 1862,-3,-8. 

Aaron D. Hammond, 1864 to '67,-73, 

-5 to '78. 
Allen Hayward, Jr., 1865,-7,-8,-9. 
Francis A. Howard, 1866,-71. 
John J. Isham, 1869,-70. 



82 GILSUM. 

William L. Isham, 1870,-1. Josiah Guillow, 1874. Lucius R. Guillow, 1877,-8,-9. 

George H. Carpenter, 1872,-4,-6,-7. George C. Hubbard, 1875. Elmer D. Banks, 1878,-9. 

Thomas T. Clark, 1873. George D. Hayward, 1875,-6. Oscar J. Wilson, 1879. 

It appears from old Deeds conveying Land sold for taxes, that Levi Bliss was Collector in 

1781-2. In 1793, is the following record : — 

Voted to Release Cap' Holdridge from paying the Extent that Come a gainst the town on his Colection of 
taxes twenty tow pounds uppon Condition of his procuring a Note against Col Bruer of twenty tow pounds. 

Whatever else this vote may mean, it plainly implies that Capt. Holdridge was Collector at 
some time previous. The same year, Thomas Dart was chosen " Constabel and Colector of 
taxes," for which he was paid $3.00. These two offices were for a long time held by the same 
person. The office of Constable was evidently regarded desirable in a pecuniary point of view. 
For some years the two offices were put up together to the lowest bidder. In 1798, they were 
struck off to Jesse Dart for Eleven Shillings. For three years previous to 1809, these offices were 
held by William Baxter, apparently without pay. In 1809, " the collector birth " (evidently 
including the office of constable,) was put up to the highest bidder, and William Baxter paid the 
town -$3.00 for the office. The same course was pursued with one exception, for six years after. 
Since 1815, the Collector has been either chosen by the town, or, more usually, appointed by the 
Selectmen. Practically, however, the office has been given to the lowest bidder, if a suitable 
person. In 1817, Aaron Day having been chosen Collector, it was voted to give him " the 
constable's birth " for his services. The office of constable seems to have separated from that 
of collector about this time, and to have been still given to the highest bidder, as in 1825 we find 
Jonathan Pease paid #1.05 for " the privilege of being Constable." In later years the pay for 
collecting gradually increased till it reached $50 in war time. At the present, it is about $25. 

The following list, before 1789, is made from old deeds and State documents. The first 

three are not absolutely certain : — 

Ebenezer Kilburn ? 1775. Ebenezer Bill, 1790. Lemuel Bingham, 1813,-5. Samuel Isham, Jr., 1847. 

Obadiah Wilcox ? 1776. Jesse Dart, 1791,-8. Dudley Smith, 1814,-6,-20, N. O. Hayward, 1848,-9, 

Shubael Hurd V 1777. David Fuller, 1792. -31,-2,-43,-4,-6,-50,-1. -54,-5. 

Ebenezer Bill, [Sen.] 1778. Thomas Dart, 1793. Aaron Day, 1817. George W. Newman, 1852, 

Stephen Bond, 1779. Daniel Wright, 1794. Iddo Kilburn, 1818,-9,-21, -3,-69,-79. 

James Howe, 1780. John Ellis, 1795,-6,-9, 1800, -7,-8,-9. Calvin Chandler, 1856,-7. 

Levi Bliss, 1781,-2. -2. Josiah Hendee, 1825,-45. Jesse Dart, 1858,-9,-62,-3, 

avid Bond, 1783. Benjamin Ware, 1797, 1801. David Ware, 1830,-4,-5,-41. -4,-71,-2,-3,-4. 

ohn Dimmock, 1784. Robert L. Hurd, 1803. Amherst Hayward, 1833, L. W. Mark, 1860,-1. 

David Bill, 1785. Samuel Mark, 1804. -42. A. D. Hammond, 1865,-6,-7. 

Jonathan Heatou, 1786. Jonathan Pease, 1805,-22, Jehiel Day, 1836. William Banks, 1868. 

Daniel Wright and Jona- -3,-4,-6. Not Found, 1837,-8. Hervey E. Rawson, 1870. 

than Baker, 1787. William Baxter, 1806,-7, Kimball D. Webster, 1839. Daniel Smith, 1875. 

Roger Darte, 1788. -8,-9,-10,-2. Otis Bill, 1840 to 46. Samuel W. Dart, 1876,-7,-8. 

Samuel Whitney, 1789. Thomas Redding, Jr., 1811. 

Under date, Sept. 21, 1803, in an account of " A rate made For the Town of Gilsom " is an 
item of $14.00 " to purchace Weights and measures." At the next annual meeting, it was 
" Voted that the Seal in the weights and measures be G e — " In 1805, it was " Voted to allow 
Sam 1 . Bill twenty two Shilling for procureing necessaries for the weights and mesures." 

The following list of those holding the office of Sealer shows a number of vacancies. Prob- 
ably in such cases the old officer acted without formal appointment. 

Roger Dart, 1789 to 92. Dudley Smith, 1807 to 1815. George Hammond, 1857. Theron Hayward, 1873. 

Robert Lane Hurd, 1794. Aaron Day, 1816 to 43,-45 James L. Wilson, 1859. John A. Smith, 1877. 

Samuel Bill, Jr., 1798, 1804. to 52. Joseph M. Chapin, 1861 to Benjamin H. Horton, 1878, 

Aaron Hammond, 1802. Ezra Webster, 1844,-53,-4. 67,-71,-2,-4,-6. -9. 

Stephen Griswold, 1805. Amherst Hayward, 1855. George N. Hayward, 1868 
Solomon Woods, 1806. Calvin Chandler, 1856,-8, to 70,-5. 

-60. 



TOWN OFFICERS. 83 

The old office of Tithing-ruan, which was considered important and honorable in the early times, 

gradually fell into disuse, and has not been filled here, since 1831. Doubtless, interesting 

items might have been preserved, here as elsewhere, concerning adventures in keeping rude boys 

quiet in meeting, and arresting Sabbath travelers. None such have, however, been brought to 

my attention. It will be noticed that three were chosen for 1814, one more than had been 

customary. It was voted, the same year, " to enforce the sabbath act." Isaac Loveland is the 

only one of the following list of " Tything Men " in Gilsum, who is now living. 

David Blish, 1789,-1806,-14, Silvanus Hayward, 1794.-6. Ziba Ware, 1803. Daniel Converse, 1819. 

-6,-7. -9, 1802 to 9,-11. Jonathan Pease, 1804,-14, David Smith. 1819. 

Elezer Willcox, 1789. 1801. John Hammond, 1797. -5,-6,-8,-20 to 27. Amherst Hayward, 1820, 

Thomas Redding. 1790. Jesse Dart, 1797. John Ellis, 1807. -1.-5,-6,-7. 

Aaron Hammond, 1790,-3. Zadok Hurd, 1798. Dudley Smith, 1809,-15, James M. Mark, 1823,-4. 

Daniel Wright, 1791. Jehiel Holdridge, 1798, -22,-31. Iddo Kilburn, 1828. 

Ebenezer Kilburn, 1791.-3. 1805. Jacob Ames, 1814. Tower Spear, 1830. 

Jonathan Church. 1792,-6. Thomas Dart, 1799. Obadiah Pease. 1817. Isaac Loveland, 1830. 

Samuel Bill. Jr.. 1792. James Ballard. 1801,-8,-11. Elisha S. Fish, 1818. Jehiel Day, 1831. 

Samuel Whitney, 1794. Josiah Hammond, 1802. 

The office of " Hog-reeve " was long continued as a source of amusement, by appointing all 

who had been married during the year. This practice was kept up till 1843, almost every man 

in town having held it, in his turn. That this office was formerly no sinecure is probable from 

votes passed in 1791, " that Hogs shall not Run at large Upon the Commons," — and again, as 

late as 1824, " that no swine be allowed to run in any of the Highways of the town." No 

restriction other than that of State law, by which cattle doing damage could be driven to pound, 

seems to have been laid upon any animals but swine, till 1830, when it was voted that " no 

swine or neat stock shall run at large in the highways." In 1833, a Committee consisting of 

Charles Cummings, George W. Hammond and Aaron Day was appointed to draft by-laws for 

the town, and reported that 

No horse kind mules jacks neat cattle sheep or Swine Shall be permitted to run at large in any street highway 
or common or in any public place in the town. 

The penalty annexed was one dollar for each offense. This by-law was renewed year by year for 
about ten years, when it gradually fell into disuse. In 1844, " voted that horses shall not run 
at large." In 1852, the old by-law was revived, and no action has since been taken. 

That ancient institution of all New England towns, the Pound, is worthy of a place in our 
history. The first record is March 8, 1791, 

Chose Lieut. Daniel Wright pound Keeper and his Barn and Barn Yard For A Pound. 

May 17, 1794, " Voted to Build apound three Rods Squair Joining the highway about fifteen Rods North of 
Lev' Wrights Barn Majah Bill Lev' Hurd Capt Kilburn James Ballard Be a Committee to See that the pound is 
Built Voted to Build a wall Round the pound Six feet high with a timber on the top hewd Eight inches Squre 
Voted to Build the pound the first week in June " 

From the urgency of these votes, and the substantial fence deemed necessary, it seems prob- 
able they had a rather unruly breed of cattle. In 1814, it was " Voted that Jonathan Pease's 
barn-yard shall be used as a pound." Nothing further appears, not even the choice of a Pound 
Keeper, till 14 years later, when Aaron Day's barn-yard was voted for the same purpose. In 
1830, it was moved to Stephen Day's barn-yard. In 1833, it went back to Aaron Day's 
barn-yard. In 1837, $19 was raised, and the Selectmen were instructed to buy land and build a 
Pound. Jacob Polley sold land to the town for a pound for $2.00, Jan. 1, 1838. The first 
pound was near Edouard Loiselle's residence. This second pound was near Jacob Polley's, 
just south of the river near the Hammond Hollow Bridge, where the walls are still stand- 
ing. In 1845 and 1846, articles to take measures in regard to the Pound were ignominiously 
dismissed. Though it will be seen the office of Pound Keeper was kept filled for many years, 



84 GILSUM. 

yet it became a sinecure, and in 1875, after several had declined, it was voted to defer the choice 

of a Keeper till a Pound was built. Immediately following which action, it was voted to dismiss 

an article to build or repair. So ends the Pound. Pound Keepers have been as follows : — 

Daniel Wright, 1791,-4,-5. Aaron Day, 1833,-5,-6. Enos Cross, 1856,-65,-9. Sidney C. Gates, 1868. 

Turner White, 1797,-8,-9. Jacob Polley, 1838 to 45,-7, Varnum Polley,1861,-4. George N. Hayward, 1871. 

Jonathan Pease, 1814. -50 to 54,-8,-60,-2,-3,-7. Jacob Polley, Jr., 1866,-70, Charles W. Bingham, 1874. 

Stephen Day, 1828,-30. Benjamin Foster, 1855,-7. -2,-3. 

REPRESENTATIVES. 

The first evidence of any representation of Gilsum or Surry in the Legislature, is in the list 
of members of the " Fourth Provincial Congress," or " Convention of Deputies," which met at 
Exeter, May 17, 1775. " Keen & Surry" are classed together, and sent " Tim thy Ellis " as their 
Delegate. Alstead and Marlow sent letters pledging their support to the acts of said " Con- 
gress," but pleading their poverty as an excuse for not sending Delegates. Probably Gilsum 
neglected to send for the same reason. 

In November of the same year the Provincial Congress directed that one hundred freeholders 
should entitle a town to a Representative, and that towns having a less number should " couple 
with one or more other Towns or Parishes until they make up the number of such Freeholders." 
The Congress also voted " That every Legal Inhabitant Paying Taxes shall be a voter." * To 
be eligible to the office of Representative a man must be worth £200 in " Real Estate in this 
Colony." 

The roll of the Fifth Provincial Congress of December, 1775, has the name of Capt. Robert 
Pollock of Camden as the Representative from Packersfield, [Nelson,] Limerick. [Stoddard,] 
Cambden, [Washington,] and Gilsum. At the next Congress in March, 1776, these towns neg- 
lected to send, probably on account of the expense, as each district sending a Representative was 
responsible for his pay. At the adjourned session, however, in the June following, " Mr. Joseph 
Rounseval of Cambden " was their Delegate. His pay for 85 miles travel and 9 days attendance 
was £4. 2s. 4d. He was re-elected the following year, also in 1780 and 1781. In 1778-9, and 
1780 Dr. Nath'l Breed of Packersfield was the Representative. 

Nov. 24, 1781, the " General Assembly " passed a " Vote for two precepts for Representa- 
tives to issue to the district of Stoddard, Washington, Packersfield & Gilsum, which heretofore 
have sent but one." Gilsum joined with Packersfield and sent Jonathan Adams for 1781-2. 

In March, 1784, Surry voted to join with Gilsum in sending a Representative to the General 
Court, and chose Obadiah Willcox and Lemuel Holmes to go to Gilsum and consult them on the 
matter. Gilsum doubtless concurred, as we find in the Surry record that Lemuel Holmes was 
chosen Representative " with Gilsum," in 1784 and 1786. In 1788 Jonathan Read was sent. 

From 1789 to 1793, Gilsum was joined with Surry and Sullivan, and elected the following 
Representatives : — 

Lemuel Holmes of Surry, 1789 to 1792. Roswell Hubbard of Sullivan, 1793. 

For the next thirty years, Gilsum and Surry were classed together. Meetings for the choice 
of Representative were held alternately in each town, the person elected usually belonging to the 
town where the meeting was held, and the Moderator to the other. On this plan the following 
were the Representatives : — 
David Blish, 1795,-7, 1801, Zadok Hurd, 1799. Samuel Hills, 1810,-2,-4,-6. Sylvester Smith, 1820,-2,-4. 

-3,-13,-15. Samuel Whitney, 1805,-7, Jonathan Pease, 1817. Luther Whitney, 1825. 

John McCurdy, 1794. -11. Elijah Fuller, 1818. Francis Holbrook, 1826. 

Jonathan Robinson, 1796, Asa Willcox, 1806,-8. John Hammond, 1819,-21, 

-8, 1800,-2,-4. Robert Lane Hurd, 1809. -3. 

•This is a very early precedent for Woman Suffrage. Whether any women availed themselves of the right thus granted is not 
known. Probably not. 



TOWN OFFICERS. 



85 



On the day of the Presidential election, 1824, Gilsum " Voted to petition to the General 
Court for the privilege of sending a representative to the General Court unconnected with Surry 
and Chose John Hammond to attend to the business." The next Legislature granted the peti- 
tion, and Gilsum has been entitled to one Representative since. The persons chosen to that 
office have been as follows : — 



Luther Whitney, 1827. 
Aaron Day, 1828,-9,-31. 
Josiah Hammond, 1830. 
Jehiel Day, 1832,-1. 
Allen Butler, 1833,-5. 
John Horton, 1836,-7. 
David Bill, 1838,-9,-41. 
David M. Smith, 1840. 
William Kingsbury, 1842. 



Eliphalet K. Webster. 1843, Ebenezer Jones, 1855. 

-4. Francis A. Howard, 1858. 

Franklin W. Day, 1845,-6. Ezra Webster, 1859,-60. 

John Hammond, 1847,-8. Daniel W. Bill, 1861,-2, 
Samuel Isham, Jr., 1849, -74,-6. 

-50,-6,-7. Joseph M. Chapin, 1863, 
Amasa May, 1851,-2. -4,-7. 

David Ware, 1853. 
John Livermore, 1854. 



Hervey E. Rawson, 1865,-6. 
Aaron D. Hammond, 1868, 

-9. 
Allen Hayward, 1870,-1. 
John S. Collins, 1872,-3. 
William L. Isham, 1875,-7. 
John J. Isham, 1878. 



Under the amended Constitution of 1876, Gilsum is classed with Sullivan, and in November, 
1878, elected Francis C. Minor, Representative for two years. 

Gilsum was not represented in the First Constitutional Convention of 1778-83. In 1788, 
Gilsum and Surry sent Jonathan Smith, and in 1791, Lemuel Holmes. In the Convention of 
1850, Gilsum was represented by George W. Hammond, and in 1S76, by Daniel W. Bill. 

The following list shows who have been appointed to the office of Justice of Peace in Gil- 
sum : — 



David Blish, 1790-1815. 

Samuel Whitney, 1811-26. 

Obadiah Pease, 1816-25* 

John Hammond, 1823-30* 

Luther Whitney, 1827-32. 

David Brigham, 1829-39. 

George W. Hammond, 1830-5, also 
J. P. and Quorum 1837-57, also 
Do. for the State 1855-70. 

Willard Bill, 1830-5. 

Jehiel Day, 1833-8. 

Allen Butler, 1835-55. 

John Horton, 1837* 

Samuel Woodward, 1839-54. 

David Bill, 1840-55. 



David M. Smith, 1840-45. 

Lemuel Bingham, 1842-58. 

William Kingsbury, 1842-52. 

Israel B. Loveland, 1843-73. 

Eliphalet K. Webster, 1844-54. 

Otis G. Hammond, 1845-50. 

Franklin W. Day, 1846-9* 

John Hammond, Jr., 1848-53. 

Samuel Isham, 1849-54. 

Amasa May, 1852-7, and Quorum 
1856-61. 

Calvin May, Jr., 1856-61, and Quo- 
rum 1861-2* 

Ebenezer Jones. 1856-61. 



George W. Newman, 1856-61. 
George Hammond, 1857-67. 
Francis A. Howard, 1857-78, for the 

State 1878.f 
Ezra Webster, 1860-4* 
Daniel W. Bill, 1866. f 
L. W. F. Mark, 1869.J 
N. O. Hayward, 1869.f 
A. D. Hammond, 1869.f 
George A. Tyrel, 1871. 
Charles W. Bingham, 1872.f 
George H. McCoy, 1875.f 
George C. Hubbard, and Quorum 

for the State, 1877-f 



John Hammond was appointed Coroner in 1805, and Aaron Day in 1830. 



* Died in office. 



t Now in office. 



86 GILSUM. 

CHAPTER XVII. 

POLITICAL PARTIES. 

After the establishment of our general government, there was at first but little political 
excitement. The people were substantially agreed. This is plainly seen in the record of Gil- 
sum. The first division into parties was under the names of Federalists and Republicans. But 
the vote of Gilsum for Governor, or President, as he was at first called, and for Representative 
to Congress, was unanimous on the Federalist side for the first twelve years after the adoption of 
the Constitution in 1789. The apparent exception in 1796, was evidently not political, but a per- 
sonal dislike to Gov. Gilman. This is seen from the vote for Congressmen, the same year, which 
was unanimously Federalist. The first Democratic, or rather, as then called, Republican votes 
ever cast in Gilsum, were seven for John Langdon, in 1802. The Federalists retained their 
majority till 1806, when Gov. Langdon had 32 majority over Gov. Gilman. In the Congres- 
sional vote, however, the Republican majority was only four. It is plain that at this period the 
Governor vote fails to show the real political bias of the town. The vote for Representatives to 
Congress is the more correct test. In 1808, the Federalists had 15 majority in the Congres- 
sional vote, and 10 for President. They retained a strong majority for the next 11 years. The 
Presidential vote in 1820 and 1821 was unanimous for the Republican electors. An aggregate 
vote of only about half the voters, shows it to have been a period of little partisan interest. 
Their opposition to the war had killed the Federal party, and there was no clear division into 
parties, after the war, till Jackson's last term. About this time, the division was into Adams 
men, and Jackson men. In 1824, the Adams men had a plurality for Governor and continued 
to hold the vote of the town till 1827, when the Jackson men prevailed by a large majority, and 
in the Presidential election of 1828, Jackson had 63 votes against 51 for Adams. Since Jack- 
son's time, Gilsum has had a strong Democratic majority with the exception of two elections. In 
1855, the " Know Nothings " carried the Governor vote by seven majority, and the Congressional 
vote by 23 majority. In 1858, the Republican party carried the Governor vote by 10 majority. 
The largest Democratic vote ever cast in Gilsum was in 1872, 113 for Gov. Weston, giving him 
51 majority. Their majority has been sometimes greater, but they have never cast so many 
votes in any other election. The largest aggregate vote ever cast in Gilsum was 176 in 1875. 

Gilsum lias been conservative rather than radical in all its political tendencies. This may be 
seen from the votes from time to time on revising the Constitution. With the exception of 
three years, 1831—42-50, these votes have been strongly against revision, sometimes unanimous. 
Hence, third parti/ movements have usually met with little success in Gilsum. There has been 
occasionally a slight split from local causes, but generally parties have voted solid for the " reg- 
ular " candidates. In 1869, one " Labor Reform " vote was cast by Charles W. Bingham, and 
in the two succeeding years the same party received four votes. Though there have been a good 
number of strict Teetotalers and Prohibitionists here, they have not generally thought it advis- 
able to throw away their votes on the third party ticket. In 1873, however, there were 10 votes 
for the " Prohibition " candidate for Governor, and two in 1874. In the Fall election of 1878, the 
" Greenbackers " cast seven votes. The " Know Nothings " can hardly be called a third party, as 
they sprung up at once fully gr'own, carrying the town, as they did the State, by a sudden and 
irresistible impulse. But as Jonah's gourd withered at the rising sun, so this party melted away 



POLITICAL PARTIES. 



87 



under the heat of the more vital issues of the Anti-slavery contest. The Anti-slavery record of 
Gilsum seems to be of sufficient importance to demand a separate chapter. 

The following Tables give a synopsis of the votes for Governor, members of Congress, and 
Presidential Electors from 1789 to 1878. It is in some cases difficult to classify the vote exactly 
by party names, but it has been done as accurately as seemed possible : — 





G0VEKN( 


jr. Congress. 


President 




Governor. 


Congress. 


Peesident. 






1 

& 


Scattering. 

Federal. 


a 
o 

3 
a 
ft 

CI 


si 
a 

oj 
CO 


"3 

a 
u 

•a 


z 

t 
- 




13 
u 

03 


U 

o 
o 

B 

p 


si 

a 

u 
CO 


*5 

V 

P* 


s 

o 

a 
a 


ti 
e 
"C 

« 
V 
CO 


u 

-a 


15 

b 

o 

a 

a 


1789 .... 


38 




.. 32 












1810 .... 


33 


27 




39 


25 








1790 . . . 


22 






.. 23 














1811 . 




40 


38 




42 


38 








1791 .... 


32 






■ • 














1812 . . 




47 


41 


, , 


62 


33 




60 


35 


1792 . . . 


41 






.. 27 










- 


5 




1813 . 




58 


35 














1793 .... 


27 






















1814 . . 




52 


42 


. . 


46 


33 








1794 . . . 


22 






.. 21 
















1815 




53 


43 














1795 .... 


34 






















1816 . 




56 


46 


. , 


45 


37 




48 


37 


1796 . . . 


2 


i 


7 


.. 24 










■1 


6 




1817 




53 


44 














1797 .... 


34 






.. 16 
















1818 . 




49 


46 














1798 . . . 


42 






. . 
















1819 . 




50 


35 


2 












1799 .... 


24 






















1820 . 




93 


8 


1 




45 






44 


1800* . 


55 






.. 33 
















1821 . 




79 


12 














1801 .... 


29 






. . 
















1822 . 




86 




1 




57 








1802 . . . 


57 


7 


















1823 




35 


49 




io 


43 


5 






1803 . 


53 


10 


















1824 . 




46 


36 


is 


23 


48 






44 


1804 . . 


35 


39 


.. 43 


3; 


! 






3 


i 


it 


1825 




80 






46 


51 


13 






1805 . 


39 


32 


















1826 . . 




58 


21 














1806 . . 


20 


52 


.. 28 


2' 














1827 . 




8 


72 




85 










1807 .... 


5 


48 


6 .. 
















1828 . . 




47 


58 










51 


63 


1808 . 


4 


46 


1 .. 










27 


37 


1829 . . 




36 


68 




31 


65 








1809 .... 


43 


33 


•• I •• 
















1 

































* No Presidential vote recorded. 
























Governor. 


CONGKESB. 


President. 




Governor. Congress. 


President. 




ti 

1 


u 

o 

o 

a 

Q 


to 

9 

V 

1 


si 

a 

ta 
o 
CO 


ti 
3 


aS 
o 

o 

a 
n 


m 

3 
Pm 

V 

1 


si 

a 

u 
ss 
CO 


si 
3 


oa 

o 

a 

it 

a 


0) 

a, 
■a 

3 
H 




So 


u 

o 

a 

A 


to 
o 


si 
a 

5 si 
CO || ^ 


n 

o 

o 

a 




Ph 

1 


si 

a 
'u 

0J 

oi 
o 
CO 


.si 


ti 
a 
o 

a 




a) 

3 


si 
a 
'C 
a 

O 
CO 


1830 
1831 
1832 
1833 
1834 
1835 
1836 
1837 
1838 
1839 
1840 

1841 
1842 
1843 


34 
32 

17 
6 

26 
23 

34 
36 
33 

33 

8 
27 


77 

77 

101 

103 

108 

77 

104 

87 

86 

93 

81 

76 
74 
84 


Lib. 

4 
30 
17 


2 
2 

1 

3 
5 
1 

"l 
2 


31 

15 
27 

39 

33 

25 


70 
78 
77 
94 
93 

76 

85 


4 
1 

5 

Lib. 

4 
20 


3 

1 


40 
16 
44 


83 
80 
87 


2 


1844 
1845 
1846 
1847 

1848 
1849 
1850 
1851 
1852 
1853 
1854 

1855 
1856 


23 
33 
35 
32 

] 
33 
30 
33 
35 
19 
19 

o 


69 
83 
78 
86 

89 
87 
90 
82 
87 
89 
90 

66 
83 


Lib. 

34 
23 
25 
21 
F.S. 
55 
28 
31 
30 
28 
24 
33 

6 


1 

K.N. 

81 
75 


33 
34 
31 

62 


84 
78 
86 

87 
59 
80 

69 

66 


Lib. 

22 
26 
22 
F.S. 

49 
63 

64 


K.N. 

89 


31 

33 
29 


79 

76 
66 

88 


Lib. 
22 

F.S. 
19 

27 

Rep 

84 


1 



Explanatory. — Lib., Liberty; F. S., Free Soil; K. N., Know Nothings ; Rep., Republican. 



88 



aiLSUM. 





Governor. 


Congress. 


President. 




Governor 




Congress. 


President. 






^ 














en 1 
— 1 






„; 








a) 










A 


to 


















§ 






s 






a 




ce 


O 




ci 


U 












Dj 








a 










o 

a 


3 




O 

6 


^3 




o 

a 


3 






o 

a 


.a 




O 

a 


3 




P* 


o 
o 
S 


a. 




R 


P5 


CO 


0) 






GO 


o 




3 






P3 


B | 


n 




H 


Q 


PS 




























L. R. 






T,. R. 






1857 


97 


77 




97 


77 










1869 


98 


61 


1 


98 


60 


1 






1858 


70 


80 


, 














1870 


90 


55 


4 












1859 


84 


77 




85 


77 








Wilis 


1871 


90 


62 


4 


90 


61 


4 




■■ 


1860 


95 


70 










87 


72 


1 


1872 


113 


62 


Pro. 








102 


67 


1861 


84 


62 
















1873 


105 


54 


10 


105 


60 


3 






1862 


82 


65 


2 














1874 


106 


61 


2 












1863 


87 


55 


7 


88 


61 










1875 


111 


65 




111 


65 








1861 


89 


61 










94 


63 




1S76 


102 


69 










103 


70 


1865 


79 


64 




79 


64 










1877 


105 


67 




106 


65 








1866 


92 


60 
















1878* 


107 


58 


i 

G. B. 






G. B. 






1867 


85 


52 




85 


45 


5 








1878f 


108 


60 


7 


111 


60 


3 






1868 


93 


66 










93 


66 























Explanatory. — L. R., Labor Reform ; Pro., Prohibition; G. B., Greenback. * March election, t November election. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 



ANTI-SLAVERY. 



The first record of The Gilsuin Anti-slavery Society is as follows : — 

Gilsum June 6, 1838 — Pursuant to previous notice the Inhabitants of Gilsuru & vicinity met at the meeting 
house in the Village, at which time an address was delivered by Rev. Mr. Brewster after which the 
Committee, [consisting of David Brigham, David M. Smith, and A. W. Kingsbury,] appointed at a previous meet- 
ing, to draft a Constitution to be presented at this meeting — reported the following preamble & Constitution which 
was adopted without amendment — 

The Preamble quotes from the Declaration of Independence, showing how inconsistent there- 
with is the system of human slavery. The 3d Article of the Constitution is as follows : — 

The objects of this Society shall be to obtain & diffuse intelligence on the subject of American Slavery, by 
encouraging free discussion, the circulation of publications on the subject, and in every way to promote & secure 
the object desired viz the speedy termination of Slavery in " boasted free America." 

The annual meeting was to be on the 4th of July of each year. At the organization, sixteen 

men and twenty-eight women became members. Thirty-eight afterwards joined making in all 

just forty-one of each sex. 

Lyman Gerould. 
Ezra Webster. 
Ralph J. Holt, (Alstead.) 
A. P. Hemmenway. 
E. B. Rollins. 
Lemuel Bingham. 
James Downing, Jr. (Mar- 
low.) 



The names, in the order of signing, were the following : — 



David Convers. 
Stephen Foster, Jr. 
Luther White. 
George Langdon. 
Amherst Hayward. 
Jesse Dart. 
Chilion Mack. 
James Tisdale. 



John Q. A. Ware. 
Samuel Woodward. 
John Taylor. 
Stephen Foster. 
Kimball D. Webster. 
David Brigham. 



William Hayward. 
A. W. Kingsbury. 
Solon Eaton. 
Harry D. Randall. 
Gilbert M. Phillips. 
Jas. L. Loveland. 



Aaron Brigham, (Alstead.) Jas. F. Isham. 
William Campbell. Wm. Mark. 



ANTI-SLAVERY. 



89 



Rufus Guillow. 
Abijah Wetherbee. 
Joseph M. Chapin. 
Hartley Thurston. 
Oren Wyrnan. 
Josiah Grimes. 
A. J. Howard. 
Luther Hemenway. 
Jon a. Winch. 
Charles E. Baker. 
Harriet W. Isham. 
Nancy B. Foster 2d. 
Sophia Foster. 



Catharine H. Taylor. 
Sarah Wilcox. 
Emeline Taylor. 
Diancy Taylor. 
Hannah Hayward. 
Abigail Taylor. 
Esther Wetherbee. 
Harriet Wetherbee. 
Mary Mason. 
Maria S. Burroughs. 
Esther Loveland. 
Betsey Farnum. 
Maria Farnum. 



Hannah W. Mack. 
Nancy L. Abbot. 
Nancy Smith. 
Lydia Abbot. 
Betsey Isham. 
Elizabeth Townsend. 
Priscilla D. Dort. 
Sophia Brigham. 
Hannah White. 
Fanny Mark. 
Mariah T. Ware. 
Ann Townsend. 
Sarah Townsend. 



Eliza Townsend. 
Mary Guillow. 
Sarah Farnum. 
Nancy B. Foster. 
Mehitable Foster. 
Mary Jane Foster. 
Sarah N. Foster. 
Beulah E. Hemenway. 
Maria T. Foster. 
Valeria W. Hemenway. 
M. Caroline Tisdale. 
Eunice Fish. 



To those acquainted with Gilsum, it will be noticeable that nearly all the men were members 
of the Whig party, and that some of them became in later times bitter opponents of the Repub- 
lican party which most of them joined. 

The first President of the Society was William Hayward, who was one of the earliest and 
most radical of anti-slavery men, taking and circulating Garrison's " Liberator," an,d entering 
heartily into his extremest views. He soon, however, left Gilsum, so that his name is not found 
among the first voters of the Liberty party in this town. David Brigham was the first Secretary, 
and retained the office four years. His Report for the first year, presented July 4, 1839, is as 
follows : — 

The Society during the past year have done but little — occasional meetings have been held — the concert of 
Prayer for the Slave has been sustained in part — 5 vols belong to the Library — being purchased by individuals 
belonging to the Society — the Society like many others among us seem to lose sight of the great object in view — 
& while we have a name to live we are dead — 

When O ! when will the professed friends of the poor Slave put forth their efforts and influence in union & 
tell their southern brethren in accents of kindness & the spirit of the Gospel to prepare the way of the Lord by 
breaking every Yoke & let the oppressed go free, by undoing the heavy burdens that are borne by the Slave & to 
fulfil the grand precept of doing unto others as we would that they should do unto us 

In behalf of the Society D. Brigham Sec 

At the same meeting an Address was delivered by Rev. Moses Grosvenor of Marlboro'. The 
second President was A. W. Kingsbury. In 1840, A. P. Hemenway was chosen President, and 
an address was delivered in Dort's Hall by Rev. Mr. Brewster. No records are found of 1-841. 
July 4, 1842, an address was delivered in the Meeting House, by Rev. James Tisdale. Stephen 
Foster was chosen President, and A. P. Hemenway, Secretary. The nest year, John Q. A. 
Ware was elected President, and Rev. James Tisdale, Secretary, which office he held as long as 
the Society continued its existence. In November, an anti-slavery lecture was given by Luns- 
ford Lane, an escaped slave. In 1844, Samuel Woodward became President, and a Report was 
presented, no copy of which is preserved. After the transaction of the annual business, " Con- 
siderable discussion followed particularly on the duty of the members in respect to voting for 
Slaveholders." In 1845, the same officers were continued, and it was voted to send the Secre- 
tary's Report to the " Granite Freeman," published at Concord, and it accordingly appeared in 
the number for July 24, of that year. In 1846, the annual meeting was adjourned from time to 
time, for lack of a quorum, until Oct. 21, which was the last meeting of the Society. The 
Secretary's Report states that " on Sabbath Evening Sept. 21, a Sermon was delivered on the 
subject of Anti-slavery by the Sec. from Pro. 31 : 8 & 9, attended by a goodly number of persons." 
After congratulating the Society on the political changes in the State, by which John P. Hale 
was elected to the U. S. Senate, the Report continues : — 

We have strong confidence that ... he will show himself an able and unflinching advocate for the 
principles of liberty, the unyielding friend of the slave. 

No officers were chosen, and the following entry closes the record : — 



90 GILSUM. 

The meeting was adjourned till such time as some person could be provided to deliver a Lecture on the subject 
of Anti Slavery, of which due notice should be given, and after which the Society should be called to order, when 
such business as might come before the Society should be transacted. 

Since then, the eyes of the Society have " failed with longing," while patiently waiting the 
advent of the Lecturer aforesaid, — but hitherto non est inventus. 

The Anti-slavery record of Gilsum is, on a small scale, very much like that of the State and 
country. Beginning with the strong convictions of a few individuals who could neither be 
persuaded nor frightened into silence, it gradually extended its influence, till it merged into the 
powerful Republican party. Doubtless the Anti-slavery Society did something to awaken public 
interest and stimulate thought upon this subject, but far more effective was the private influence 
of individuals in conversation, and the circulation of documents from hand to hand. While 
others were true and earnest workers in the cause, yet no one familiar with the circumstances, 
can deem it invidious to name A. W. Kingsbury, as one of its earliest and most efficient 
advocates. At the very beginning, he took the papers that sided against Slavery, and his shop 
became a nucleus out of which quietly but persistently radiated influences that drew in one after 
another to the Anti-slavery movement. There the " Independent Democrat" and other radical 
documents were always found, and the walls were adorned with hand-bills and pithy sayings in 
reference to the Slavery question Quietly he turned the thoughts of those who came on business 
or for loafing, to the great evil of Slavery. Firm to his own convictions of duty, however his 
best friends might differ, and meekly quiet under violent reproaches and abusive epithets of 
enemies to the cause, he accomplished far more than many a blatant " apostle of freedom." 

The first Anti-slavery vote in Gilsum was in 1841, when the '• Liberty Party " nominee for 

Governor received four votes. They are known to have been cast by A. W. Kingsbury, Stephen 

Foster, Jr., Luther White, and Solon W. Eaton. In justice to others, it should be here observed 

that there were many more, as heartily and conscientiously opposed to Slavery, and as decided 

and outspoken in their opposition as these, whose judgment led them still to act within the old 

party lines, rather than to fall into a third party movement. But when the Whig party perished 

through its opposition to the Mexican War, and the Know Nothing movement proved ephemeral ; 

while a few of the Whigs joined their old Democratic foes, a large majority of them were swept 

into the new Republican party. The Know Nothing organization also became a bridge, over 

which many dissatisfied Democrats passed into the Republican ranks. The rapid growth of the 

Anti-slavery party in Gilsum may be seen by inspecting the Table at the close of the preceding 

Chapter. Springing suddenly from four to sixteen in the second year, it rose to 33 in 1854, 

and the largest vote ever cast by the Republican party in this town was the first, being 84 for 

the Presidential Electors in 1856. Anti-slavery men in Gilsum, as elsewhere, have always relied 

on the power of voting as the best means to accomplish their purpose, saying to their opponents, 

in the words of one of their own poets : — 

" We have a weapon firmer set 
And better than the bayonet, — 
A weapon that comes down as still 
As snowflakes fall upon the sod, 
But executes a freeman's will 

As lightning does the will of God, 
And from its force nor bars nor locks 
Can shield you : — 'tis the Ballot Box." 








"fin -7f 4__ //^/^-OV/' i loj SitJi. 



r 



ThjsEelftitspeJ l miQi- t g CoJJHTra 



TEMPERANCE. 91 

CHAPTER XIX. 

TEMPERANCE. 

" War hath slain his thousands, and Rum his ten thousands." 

The Temperance cause everywhere runs back like the earth to a time " without form and 
void," when " darkness was upon the face of the deep." In public and private, alone and in 
social gatherings, spirit was used freely, and though to get drunk was a reproach, yet to drink 
freely was not esteemed of even doubtful propriety. Everybody drank. No time or place was 
considered inappropriate for the introduction of the social glass. 

Religious as well as secular gatherings were always provided for, by laying in a store of New 
England rum. Ordinations, dedications, councils, weddings, births, and funerals were seasons 
of great hilarity in the consumption of large quantities of spirit and tobacco. Town meetings, 
and especially "trainings" and "raisings" carried the indulgence to a still greater extent. 
The tavern stood " hard by the synagogue," where at " noon-time " on Sabbath days, both 
minister and people might repair, not only to seek external relief from the bitter cold of the 
fireless sanctuary, but internal warmth by sips of hot toddy. Every tavern, and almost every 
store sold liquor freely. To sell by the glass, it was necessary to have a license. Since 1793, 
the Selectmen of Gilsura have granted 99 unrestricted licenses to retail spirituous liquors, and 
seven to sell only for chemical, mechanical and medicinal purposes. These seven were appointed 
under the law for a Town Agency. One license, in 1843, was given to the tavern keeper " pro- 
vided he shall not sell nor allow to be sold any spirituous or intoxicating liquors to any person 
belonging to the town." Another was given the same year to the principal trader in town, " till 
he shall have disposed of his stock of liquors now on hand which time shall not extend beyond the 
20th of Sept. next." These two licenses were given five days before town meeting by two of the 
Selectmen privately, knowing that the temperance movement was likely to bring into office those 
who would refuse to license at all. The trader, who had thus secured his license for six months, 
was then active at town meeting in the effort to elect a Temperance Board of Selectmen, thus 
craftily securing the field to himself. The 99 licenses were given to forty different persons, 
including some of those who afterwards became foremost in the Temperance cause. Twenty-five 
of these licenses were for certain public occasions, running only from one to three days. The last 
unrestricted license on record was in 1842. 

The results on such public occasions as " trainings," and " raisings, ' when extra licenses 
were needed to supply the thirsty crowds, were what first startled people into a sense of their 
peril, and to perceive the necessity of a change. The accidental death of one man as he returned 
from " training," led some to resolve never to expose themselves to a like fate. The death also 
at the raising of " the plastered house," not through drunkenness, but because all were unduly 
excited and rendered careless by the use of spirit, roused others to take a stand against the use 
of intoxicating liquors at " raisings." 

The first raising in Gilsum without rum was of the woodshed and ell that was built towards 
the street at the west end of Amherst Hayward's house in 1827. Those who aided him were 
Aaron Day, Elisha S. Pish, Moses Pish, Eleazer Wilcox, and Israel B. Loveland. Some other 
help he hired, but these five were the only men in town, who were then willing to assist a 
neighbor to raise a building without liquor. A crowd of rum-lovers gathered on the opposite 



92 aiLSUM. 

side of the street, during the raising, and greeted the workmen with hooting and jeers. This 
building is now the house owned by Harriet Pierce, and occupied by the widow Stevens, on the 
south side of Sullivan Street, a little beyond " the dug-way." 

At this time, the first extensive Temperance movement had just got well started. Very few, 
however, had yet embraced the doctrine of Total Abstinence as now understood. It was thought 
that to abstain from distilled liquors would be sufficient, and that wiae, beer, and cider might 
be freely used without injury. A curious illustration of this was given in Gilsum, at a Fourth of 
July celebration in 1834, when wine was provided expressly for the " Temperance men," and 
ruin for the rest. 

The first Temperance Society in Gilsum was organized about 1834, but its records are lost, 
and its origin and history mostly unknown. It professed Total Abstinence from distilled liquors 
only. This Society held a Temperance celebration July 4, 1835, with an address by a son of 
" Squire Hatch " of Alstead. The pledge was circulated that year with considerable success, 
and frequent meetings were held in different parts of the town. One exercise at these meetings 
was the reading of articles both original and selected. Washington's birth-day 1836, was 
celebrated in the evening with a Temperance address by Barton Skinner of Westmoreland. At 
the annual meeting, on the second of May following, an address was delivered by Elder Brewster 
of the Methodist Church. This Society did not confine itself to meetings and talk, but in 1837, 
circulated a petition to the Legislature, to have " the License laws abolished or so amended as 
not to promote intemperance." At the annual town meeting in 1838, they got an article into 
the warrant to instruct the Selectmen not to give licenses, but failed to carry the vote. At a 
special meeting in May, however, they succeeded. At the next annual town meeting in 1839, 
both parties made active exertions to carry the day. The vote was taken by each man's answer- 
ing Yes or No, as his name was called from the check-list The rum party prevailed by a very 
small majority, obtained in part, at least, through fraud, as some were known to have answered 
to other names than their own. On Fast Day, Ap. 12, 1838, and two or three times subsequently, 
Temperance addresses were delivered by a Rev. Mr. Morgan of the Methodist Church. Under 
the auspices of this Society, also, the well-known Dr. Charles Jewett gave several lectures 
illustrating the effects of drinking, upon the human stomach. These lectures were in the Con- 
gregational Meeting House and were largely attended. The exact date cannot be given, but it 
is known to have been before 1840. Feb. 25, 1840, an address was delivered before this Society 
by Elder Rollins. The meeting was held in F. W. Day's Hall, and the address was preceded by 
some remarks from Lemuel Bingham, who probably presided on the occasion. This Society had 
accomplished much in awakening public interest, and instructing people in regard to the real 
meaning and value of the Temperance pledge. It performed the office of a forerunner, preparing 
the way for 

THE WASHINGTONIAN MOVEMENT. 

This originated in a grog-shop at Baltimore, Md., Ap. 5, 1840 ; when six drunkards moved 
by some sudden impulse, drew up and signed a Total Abstinence Pledge. Their influence 
extended rapidly through the large cities, and thence to the smaller towns. The Gilsum Wash- 
ington Temperance Society was organized about the first of November, 1840. The pledge is 
as follows : — 

We the undersigned do agree that we will not use intoxicating liquors, nor traffic in them as a beverage. That 
we will not provide them as an article of entertainment, nor for persons in our employment, and that in all suitable 
ways we will discountenance their use in the community. And particularly will we use our individual exertions 
in all suitable ways to reclaim the intemperate. 



TEMPERANCE. 93 

This pledge was understood to include fermented as well as distilled liquors. It is much to be 
regretted that the first volume of records, containing the doings of six years, is missing. Among 
the most active in organizing this Society were Dr. George W. Hammond and his brother Otis 
G. Hammond. The former by his pen, and by his poetical talent, and both by frequent lectures, 
accomplished much for Temperance, in Gilsum and the neighboring towns. In October, 1843, 
the Temperance Society appointed a committee in each School District " to collect statistics 
in regard to the condition of every person in town as to the practice or habit of drinking intoxi- 
cating liquor." They reported as follows : — 

Whole No. of inhabitants in town 645 * 

Pledged to Total Abstinence 309 

Others not known to drink intoxicating liquor .......... 107 

Moderate Drinkers .71 

Frequent Drinkers ............... 29 

Drunkards 10 

This report leaves over a hundred not classed — probably children. They also reported forty- 
eight farms out of eighty-two, " carried on the past season without the use of strong drink." 
Nov. 28, a temperance convention of the towns of Gilsum, Sullivan and Stoddard was held in 
this place, and was largely attended. Among the speakers were Dr. Hammond, who exhibited 
and explained Dr. Sewall's celebrated plates of the drunkard's stomach, John Prentiss, William 
Lamson and Benaiah Cooke from Keene. At the beginning of the year it was stated that 
" within the last year and a half 16 heads of families have risen up from a life of drunkenness 
and wo to a life of soberness — renewed health and happiness." Most of these maintained a 
temperate life ever after. 

In the Annals for 1844, (Chap. 22,) we find the following : — 

An effort was made . . by a few persons who are opposed to the Temperance cause to bring together 
from this town & all the towns adjoining all the friends of true liberty — meaning as was understood all who 
wish to have liberty to Sell & drink Spirituous liquors without any restraint. — It was said they would celebrate 
the day in the true Spirit of 76. The day was very fair & beautiful. The greatest number that could be induced 
to join at any time in the day was about 15 — showing decidedly that no person of intelligence who wishes to 
maintain a respectable standing among his neighbors — will at this age of light & reformation on the subject of 
drinking strong liquors be willing to be seen in the ranks of rum drinkers on public occasions. 

The names of the leaders in this rum celebration are well remembered, but it seems best to let 

them remain unrecorded. 

Rev. S. S. Dudley of the Methodist Church and Rev. James Tisdale of the Congregational 

Church were among the most efficient laborers in the Temperance cause. At the outset, the 

pledge was circulated from house to house, and offered to every person in town. The second 

volume of records begins with the sixth annual meeting, Nov. 4, 1846. K. D. Webster was 

chosen President, and David S. Ware, Secretary. At that time, there were between four and 

five hundred names on the books, but the Directors estimated the real number of resident 

members " about 260," and recommended that the pledge be circulated " anew to every person 

in Town." The work of the Society can be judged of somewhat by the annual report. It is 

stated that twenty-one meetings were held, and thirty-one persons signed the pledge. 

From out of town we have had the past year three Lectures, two sermons, four addresses, and one recitation. 
From persons in town, three Lectures, four manuscript papers, and one sermon, and two printed sermons have 
been read, while many of the members have taken part in the discussions. 

One prosecution for unlawful sale is reported, which was settled before coming to trial, by the 
defendant's paying costs, and pledging himself not to sell in future. The Directors also report 
that so far as known, no person in town was then in the habit of selling liquor. At the annual 

*The record says 745, but it is certainly a mistake. 



94 GIL SUM. 

meeting in November, 1847, twenty-three meetings were reported, at six of which a manuscript 
paper called the " Gilsum Temperance Banner " was read. Lectures were given by Dr. Charles 
Jewett, T. D. Bonner, Rev. Mr. Crossett of Alstead, George C. Hubbard then of Sullivan, and a 
sermon by Rev. Mr. Folsom of Marlow. Levi Leland, called " the honest Quaker," delivered 
five addresses in different parts of the town. Some clandestine sale is reported and the Society 
exhorted to take measures for its suppression. Seventy-five of the " Concord Temperance Banner " 
were taken in town that year. In accordance with a vote to circulate the pledge, the town was 
canvassed for that purpose except School districts Nos. 5 and 7, the persons appointed for those 
districts having neglected their duty. The Society numbered at that time 303. The report 
complains of too many " non-working members," " who are not disposed to attend our meetings 
unless some distinguished lecturer is to be present, or something special to be done." Hartley 
Thurston was chosen President and the Secretary re-elected. At the next March meeting, 1848, 
the town voted 80 to 31 not to have liquor sold in town. At the next annual meeting of the 
Society, November, 1848, the President was re-elected, and Roswell W. Silsby chosen Secretary. 
The Directors reported twenty-three meetings, four manuscript papers, and ten lectures, five 
from townsmen and five from abroad. One of these five was by Daniel Allen, known as " The 
Norfolk Farmer." Number of members 369. They announce that the sale has been almost 
entirely suppressed. 

At the opening of the Village Hotel the last relic of bygone days disappeared and the Town of Gilsum may 
in this respect be called a Temperance Town. Thus after a long and severe struggle has the enemy been driven 
from his strong holds and one great object for which you have been struggling has been attained. 

In conclusion we would say that the success that has attended our efforts during the seven years in which the 
Society has existed is such as leaves no doubt that we must soon completely succeed. The bitter opposition that 
characterized our opponent during the early stages of the Society has been almost entirely abandoned, and no 
candid man denies the justness of our cause. 

Though the sanguine hopes here expressed were not fully realized, yet a victory was then won 

which will never cease to be felt in Gilsum. The next year nineteen meetings were held. 

There was one discussion by persons from abroad, and five lectures and addresses. Prom this 

point there is a break of two years in the record. The Society continued its organization, but 

was probably rather inactive. 

The eleventh annual meeting was held Nov. 5, 1851, when Luther W. Mark was re-elected 

President, and Davis H. Wilson was chosen Secretary. The Maine Law had then just begun its 

course and caused a general revival among Temperance organizations. The pledge was again 

circulated, and 263 names reported. During the winter, meetings were held in every School 

House except in No. 5, the subject at each time being the Maine Law. This was a new idea 

then, and was discussed in all its bearings, by the principal men of the town. Two Lectures were 

delivered this winter, — one of which was on this same Maine Law. So far as the records show, 

only two meetings were subsequently held, which were the annual meetings in 1852 and 1853. 

In 1852, Andrew J. Howard was chosen President, and the Secretary was re-elected. In 1853, 

Amherst Hayward was chosen President, and Claudius B. Hayward, Secretary. Those who 

remember this Society in its most flourishing state, and even those who read its records must 

feel that it accomplished more for the cause of Temperance than all other means that have been 

used in Gilsum. One of its most efficient instrumentalities was in the singing conducted by 

Artemas P. Hemenway, who had a fine clear voice, and was an enthusiastic Temperance worker. 

Some of his most popular songs were written by Dr. Hammond. One of our former townsmen 

writes as follows : — 

Those touching little songs so sweetly rendered by Artemas P. Hemenway, so plainly enunciated that every 
person in any part of the assemblage could perfectly understand every word, were a power in themselves. What 



TEMPERANCE. 95 

Sankey's Songs are to Moody's Sermons, Hemenway's songs were to the able and faithful speakers of that 
philanthropic movement. Dr. Hammond's poetical talent and Hemenway's fine singing, and the sound reasoning 
of Hammond and Woodward and others did perhaps as much or more than the lecturers from abroad to accomplish 
the great good. 

Soon after the formation of this Society, a Martha Washington Temperance Society was 
organized. Nothing is now known of its officers or members. It was short-lived and did very 
little while it lasted. 

The immediate cause of the disbanding of the Washingtonians was the organization of a 
Division of the 

SONS OF TEMPERANCE. 

" Upper Ashuelot Division No. 35, Sons of Temperance," was organized Sept. 4, 1851. The 
Charter members were Harvey C. Wood, N. 0. Hayward, Roswell W. Silsby, Stephen L. Parker 
John B. Otis, Hartley Thurston, Solomon Mack, Jr., John C. Guillow, Alexander O. Brown, 
and Calvin May, Jr., of whom all except Solomon Mack were then initiated for the first time. 
Calvin May, Jr., was elected Worthy Patriarch, and N. 0. Hayward, Recording Scribe. The 
regular meetings were on Saturday evening, and a new board of officers was chosen every 
quarter. During the first years, the Division was well disciplined and prosperous. More than 
100 male members were added, and nearly as many female visiting members. The last board of 
working officers was elected March 28, 1856, Amasa May being Worthy Patriarch, and Daniel 
Smith, Recording Scribe. After May of the same year no meetings were held till, by a special 
call of the Steward, the Division assembled Feb. 28, 1857. They adjourned till March 7, when 
they elected officers, Porter Cowee being chosen W. P. and Addison G. Gates R. S. The last 
meeting of the Division was one week later, and was mainly taken up by a settlement of their 
finances. Their furniture and other property was scattered, the Charter being left in the hands 
of N. 0. Hayward. 

The Division held several Festivals and Celebrations, the most notable of which was a formal 
Dedication of the Hall, Feb. 25, 1852, and a Celebration Sept. 21, of the same year. A large 
center cake used on the latter occasion was sold to N. 0. Hayward for $2.25. Their appetites 
however growing urgent, it was bought back, and cut and divided to all the members present. 
The frosting on the top of the cake was sold to Josiah Guillow for twenty-one cents, and the 
sugar birds to Father Hemenway for twenty cents. They also held a Fair at the Methodist 
Meeting House, February, 1856, which was their last public demonstration. 

This Division included a large part of the most active and influential citizens, and during the 
first years of its existence exerted a powerful influence for good. Many public meetings were 
held. Addresses were given by the clergymen and other townsmen, with occasional lecturers 
from abroad. Copies of the Maine Law were circulated, with petitions to the Legislature for a 
similar law in New Hampshire. Much was done to suppress the liquor traffic. Committees 
were appointed to procure evidence and prosecute the liquor dealers in Gilsum and Surry. Had 
it been purely a Gilsum society, with no " entangling alliances " without, there appeal's no good 
reason why it might not be living to-day, and still doing manly work for the cause. But being 
organically united to a State body at Concord, it became infected with the virus from that politi- 
cal cess-pool which insinuated its filth into every Division. It became evident that political 
aspirants had gained control of the order, and were running it to get themselves into office. 
Managed for political ends instead of moral reform, when a more mighty political power 
appeared in the Know Nothing order, it gobbled up the Division almost entire. 



96 aiLSUM. 

THE GILSUM YOUNG PEOPLE'S TEMPERANCE SOCIETY 

was formed in 1866, through the earnest and persistent efforts of Elder Hemenway. It was 

formally organized Oct. 14, by adopting a Constitution, and choosing officers. George K. 

Nichols was elected President, and Theron Hayward, Secretary. The first volume of records 

has on its title page the following inscription : — 

Presented to the Gilsum Young Peoples Temperance Society by Elder Hemenway he being in the 87 th year of 
his age. 

The pledge of the Society is as follows : — 

We agree that we will neither buy or sell or use as a beverage any intoxicating drinks neither will we chew, 
smoke or snuff Tobacco or use profane language. 

It began with fifteen members, but increased so rapidly, that in about one year and a half, 
there were 144 members. Meetings were held about once in two weeks through the year. 
These meetings were conducted with discussions, readings, recitations, and some manuscript 
papers, called " The Temperance Banner," with rarely a lecture from abroad. On the 4th of July, 
1870, a Temperance Convention was held, music being furnished by the Acworth band, and an 
address by Rev. Mr. Babcock of Nashua. 

The last regular meeting of the Society was Ap. 14, 1875, when Dan A. Hayward was 
President, and Mary E. Hayward, Secretary. Appointments were made for the next meeting, 
but a small-pox scare prevented their assembling, and the organization was not revived. A special 
meeting was called May 22, 1876, and it was unanimously voted to give the funds and other 
property of this Society to the Gilsum Reform Club. 

The amount of good accomplished by this Society was very great. An extensive interest 
was manifest in well-attended meetings kept up for more than eight years. Its influence in the 
triple pledge has been great among the young people, many of whom have kept it strictly to 
this day. Some have gone out and carried its influence elsewhere. In Canada, in a small town 
where such a thing as Total Abstinence had never before been thought of, a member of this 
Society organized a similar one, with a membership of 150. It is much to be regretted that this 
Society has not continued to live and flourish, that it might still save the boys from the evil 
influence of not only rum, but also of tobacco, and profanity. 

A new Division of the Sons of Temperance was organized Oct. 15, 1874, with nearly the 

old name, " Ashuelot Division, No. 35." The Charter members are : — 

Adaline K. Mack, Solomon Mack, Mary L. Hayward, George H. McCoy, Charles W. Bingham, Miranda 
McCoy, Joseph S. Bingham, Osman McCoy, Frances A. Beckwith, Rufus E. Guillow, Claudius B. Hayward, Lil- 
lie J. McCoy, Louis N. Loiselle. 

Solomon Mack was elected Worthy Patriarch and Mary L. Hayward R. S. This Division 

has held a few public meetings with lectures, and one exhibition. Steering clear of the rock of 

politics it has reclaimed and held up, for a time, at least, some who were before drunkards. 

The forms and methods of the Temperance movement are continually changing, and it has been 

found difficult to sustain the meetings of the Division, since the organization of 

THE GILSUM TEMPERANCE REFORM CLUB. 

May 9, 1876, a meeting of the citizens was held in the Methodist Meeting House, now the 
Town Hall, to listen to Mr. Creasy of Cliarlestown, Mass., and members of Keene Temperance 
Reform Club. The pledge was circulated, and 93 names subscribed. A temporary organization 
was effected with P. A. Howard, President, and H. E. Rawson, Secretary. The following 
week the organization was completed by adopting a Constitution and By-laws. L. Roscoe Guil- 
low was chosen President, and Adolphe F. C. Laurent, Secretary. Meetings have since been 





/<* 



'tt^ %c 



c^rT7 £/? 



O^J' 



22 



ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 97 

lield weekly, except in the summer, with various literary exercises, and have heen well attended. 
The pledge has been circulated through the town, securing a membership of 265. It is now 
largely sustained by the younger people. One interesting feature of the meetings is singing, led 
at first by Robert Cuthbert, Jr., and more recently by Thomas Charmlmry, Jr. 

The Presidents of the Club, since the first, have been Edouard Loiselle, Mason Guillow, 
Arthur Smith, and Fred A. Stevens. Much good has already been accomplished, and it is to be 
hoped this organization will long continue to exert a salutary influence in the community. 

One thing is evident, a Temperance Society should be entirely free from outside entangle- 
ments. Any organization, paying tribute to a set of political " fuglers " and "bummers," 
will, in the long run, find confusion in its ranks, and defeat in its purposes of good. 

At a special meeting Dec. 16, 1879, the town voted to adopt the law prohibiting the sale of 
lager-beer in small quantities. 



CHAPTER XX. 

ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 

" Religion is the chief concern 
Of mortals here below." 



To understand the history of any people or town, nothing is more necessary than to study 
the religious sentiments which prevailed at its origin, and to trace their influence in molding the 
character of men, and directing the form and spirit of their institutions. A century of church 
history must be a most important element in the past record and present condition of any com- 
munity. A professed church of Christ, claiming to teach men the truths that pertain to their 
higher nature, that shall guide them to the best paths not only for the fleeting hours of time, but 
for the ages of eternity, cannot exist without exercising an immense power over the hearts and 
lives, not only of those who accept and yield to its teachings, but of those who not accepting 
their authority do yet come under its influence both of precept and example. 

It is difficult for us at the present day to realize or even fully to understand the circumstances 
of our fathers a hundred years ago. Nothing is now more fully established in the minds of 
most Americans than that the union of church and state in any form is disastrous to the highest 
welfare of both ; but in the early history of New England that idea was scarcely understood at 
all. Men who came from the old country to avoid religious persecutions for themselves, thought 
no harm in incorporating their own religious views into their laws. They honestly supposed that 
as citizens, it was not only their duty to protect the religious interests of the people, but that 
they ought to compel them by law to serve God in public, and forbid all non-professors of religion 
from positions of trust and authority in the State. Their early training had been such that 
they supposed they could not be truly loyal to God, unless they did this. Nor at the first was 
anybody injured thereby. All were of one mind. No one thought of opposing the enactment of 
such laws, for all were agreed in believing them just and right. When the laws of the 
province of New Hampshire were enacted, no one thought of any other plan than that of requir- 

7 



98 GILSUM. 

ing the people to support the preaching of the gospel by tax. It was supposed necessary to the 
idea of a Christian State that the services of the Christian religion should be maintained and 
supported in the same manner as civil offices. Nor was any wrong or injustice dreamed of in 
such enactments. So when towns were incorporated, reservations were made in the interests of 
the Christian religion. (Page 21.) 

The charter coming from the King's government before the revolution, gave no distinct recog- 
nition of any church but the Church of England. No other church was established by law. But 
our fathers had even then so far broken away from her authority that they secured a lot " for the 
first settled minister of the gospel." And this form of expression should serve to correct the 
erroneous impression that the Congregational Church, as such, was established by law. It was 
only that the church first gaining possession of the ground was recognized as the existing church 
to receive whatever privileges the laws should grant. So in regard to the taxes collected for the 
support of the ministry. The law required every taxable person to pay for the support of the 
minister settled by the town. It did not designate a particular denomination. It only put into 
the hands of the town the business now usually transacted by religious societies, such as building 
meeting-houses, hiring and settling ministers, fixing the amount of salary, and the like. Nothing 
in the laws restricted towns to employ ministers of any particular denomination. Whatever 
Protestant sect had a majority vote in any town, settled and supported its own minister. The 
town of New London, for instance, settled a Baptist for their first minister. He consequently 
received the minister's lot, and was supported by a town tax. The same is doubtless true of 
other towns. Many people have an idea that the laws favored Congregationalism or Orthodoxy 
as it was called. But this is entirely a mistake. The law made no distinction in favor of any 
sect. All had the same rights and privileges under the law, only whichever had the majority 
vote in town, thereby secured the reserved lot for its first minister, and gained the legal right to 
assess a tax for his support. The town as a body corporate was independent in its religious 
affairs, save that the State authorized it to have some religion, and having made its own choice, 
to support that religion by due course of law. What particular form of Protestant Christianity 
should be supported, was left to the free choice of every town. It was only because the first 
settlers were almost unanimously in favor of the Congregational belief and form of church polity, 
that this became the prevalent system, so as to be called the standing order. That their minis- 
try was supported by law, that taxes were assessed and collected by civil process, was not the 
fault of the church or of Congregationalism, or Orthodoxy, but a fault of the times. The odium 
which thereby became largely attached to the denomination is entirely unjust. Whatever hard- 
ships or oppressive acts may have been suffered under this system, were the result of the laws 
framed in accordance with public opinion. It was the ignorance of the times and not the fault of any 
church or denomination. The first movement against it was largely supported by those who had 
not arrived to the idea that all should be free to support preaching or not, but who admitting 
the right and duty of the State to require every one to be taxed for religious purposes, yet 
claimed the right for each to designate to what denomination his money should be paid. This 
system was evidently more absurd than the other. It was like allowing each voter in a school 
district to say what teacher should be supported by his money. This must, as it did, create inex- 
tricable confusion. The only tenable ground was that reached in 1819, when the support of 
religion was entirely separated from State authority, and left to the voluntary contributions of 
the people. And none more than Congregationalists would to-day oppose any semblance of return 
to the old system of supporting religion by law. Religion that is not voluntary is worthless. 



ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 99 

In regard to alleged oppressions occurring under the old system, after diligent search and 
inquiry, I find the facts to he as follows. Some prominent men in town being dissatisfied with 
the doctrines taught in connection with this church, refused, on that ground, to pay the tax for 
the support of the minister. The officers whose duty it was to enforce the collection of taxes 
took their property in some few instances, as they would have taken it for any other town tax. 
Tradition says that one Peter Rice at the south end of the town had his only cow sold at auction 
to pay his minister tax. That this must have been unnecessary on his part, is evident from the 
Grand Levy, by which it appears that the year his tax was the lowest, twenty-five tax-payers out 
of eighty-six were poorer than he, and the next year his Levy rose to within the first third of the 
town. 

Not only the nature of the law itself, but the town records show conclusively that the whole 
action in such matters was by the town, and the church and ministry had nothing to do with it. 
Thus in July, 1802, we find a Committee, consisting of Jehiel Holdridge, David Bliss and Zadok 
Hurd, was appointed to stand a law-suit with a prominent citizen, concerning his minister tax, 
and a hundred dollars was voted for the purpose. This was entirely a civil process, and a town, 
not a rhurch affair. The whole system was no doubt a mistake. But the point to be insisted on 
is, that the responsibility rested not on the church or denomination, but on the whole people. 
The town had the control, and the odium of any forcible collection of church rates belongs not 
to church or ministry. It was simply the regular process of law, as ordered by town authority, 
and neither desired nor approved by the minister. It is certain that, in Gilsum, the minister, 
whenever it came within his power, remitted the taxes of those unwilling to pay, and refused to 
retain possession of property forcibly taken for his support. In one case a horse was taken by 
the officer and put in the minister's yard. When he knew it, he told his son to let him out, and 
the horse went immediately home. 

This method of supporting the gospel is well illustrated in the district school system. The 
school agent chosen by a majority vote, may put in a teacher that many in the district dislike. 
But no one dreams of calling it oppression and tyranny that he must pay his school tax. No 
other way is possible, if schools are to be supported by law. The majority must rule, however 
obnoxious their action may be to the minority. So in regard to " minister taxes." The mistake 
was in the underlying notion that religion requires a legal support. That idea granted, no other 
course is possible. The majority must rule. Nor should any reproach thereby be cast upon the 
sect to which that majority chanced for the time to belong. It was entirely a town affair. And 
no denomination had any advantage over another, save the advantage of being able to secure the 
largest number of votes. 

The lands set apart by the charter, for religious purposes, were three whole shares, amounting 

to 750 acres. The land for a " Glebe " for the Church of England was the 3d, 4th and half the 

5th Lots in the 12th Range, also half the 10th Lot, 3d Range in the " second division." In the 

Proprietors' record of May 16, 1774, is the following : — 

Voted to Clause an agent to treat with the Revr" a M r Cosset Relative to the Right Belonging to the Church 
of England accordingly Chose M r abel allien agent for that Purpose. 

The result of this conference is not recorded. (Appendix D.) 

The share for the Society for'the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts was laid out in 

one Lot " two hundred and fifty acres South of S'd Governor's Lott," and is marked S. P. G. on 

the map, (page 24,) where it will be seen that this share, as well as the " Glebe," was cut off 

from Gilsum in the final establishment of Stoddard line. 



100 GILSUM. 

The share " for the first Bettled Minister of the Gospel " isisted of the 1th Lot 4ili Elange, 

the 6th Lol Bth Range, half of the -"»tli Lot 9th Elange, and half the 2d Loi 3d Range of the 
" second division." Rev. Mr. Fish being the firsl settled minister, was entitled to these lots. 
He built his house on the one first named. He sold one to Samuel Seward of Sullivan Eor £18, 
(page 26,) and in May. 1796, he sold the 6th Lot 8th Range to James Kingsbury of Surry for 
<£94. •' The second division " probably yielded him nothing, being beyond the " Patent Line.* 

THE CONGBEG ITIONAL CHUBCH 

was formed three years after Surry was set off, which was nine years after the charter was given. 
Previous to this, and indeed Eor more than twenty years Later, the town depended upon neighboring 
ministers, especially from Keene, for preaching and other services. 
The first record of the church is as follows : — 

At a meeting of the brethren in full communion held at the house of Jonathan Adams in fiilsum en the 26th 
day of September, in the year of our Lord one thousand Seven hundred ami Seventy-two : Chose Justus llunl as 
Clerk. Appointed Josiah Kilburn, Deac. Ebenezer Dewej and Samuel Church as a Committee. Voted to apply 
to the Church of Christ in Northfield, [Mass.] in Winchester, in Swanzey, in Walpole, and in Charleston [Charles- 
town, X. 11.] for assistance uncollecting a church in B'd Gilsum. Also agreed that Wednesday, the 1'Tth of octo 
next, be set apart for a day of fasting and prayer. Voted that the meeting be held on s'd day at the dwelling house 
of Ebenezer Dewey in s'd (iilsum. 

Of the churches invited there were present Rev. Mr. Hubbard of Northliehl. Mass., Rev. 
Edward Goddard of Swanzey, Rev. Micah Lawrence of Winchester, and two delegates whose 
names and churches are not given in the record. There was no minister at Oharlestown at this 
time, and Rev. Thomas Fessenden of Walpole did not come. On that day. " the Church was 
collected in Gilsum and Ebenezer Dewey, Jr., Henry White and Sarah his wife were admitted 
as members in full communion." That is. these three persons were received on profession of 
their faith, while the others were collected from their previous church relations This is all the 
record we have oi the proceedings of that day. except the baptism of Ebenezer killmrn"- sou 
Ebenezer. It would be interesting now to know the services of the occasion and by whom 
performed, ami it is specially to be regretted that no list .if members is given. Nor can that list 
be accurately reproduced. As near as can be ascertained the original members were as 
follows : — 

Jonathan Adams and Hannah his wife, Stephen Bond and Molly his wife. Samuel Church and Elizabeth his 
wit'.-. 1 )e;i. Ebenezer Dewey and Temperance his wife, Ebenezer Dewey, Jr., and his wife, Justus Hurd and Rachel 

his wile. Bbenezer Killmrn (afterwards DeaconJ Josiah Killmrn and Marah his wife, Rev. .losiah Killmrn. Jr., 
Henrj Whit.' and Sai ill his wile. 

It is not certain that these eighteen make the exact list of original members, but it is tis 
nearly accurate as it can now be made. There are records of baptism of the children of some 
who are nowhere recorded as church members. But it is not safe to infer their membership 
from this alone. The practice largely prevailed iii the \ew England churches of allowing per- 
sons to take the half-way covenant as it was called, not admitting them to full communion, but 
only thereby granting them the prh ilege of household baptism. It has been doubted whether this 
church ever tell into this practice, but the following record is conclusive : — 

June 5, 17!M, Received .Jesse Dart into the church who had previously owned, the covenant & had had his children 
baptized. 

When Mr. Fish came, the practice was discontinued. Others too, who being members of 
churches elsewhere, had not transferred their relation to this, brought their children to receive 

baptism. This ifi known to have been the Ca8e With .John and Ann Mark, who being members 

of the Presbyterian Church in the old country, bad their children baptized here, but without 
joining this church. So doubtless with others. 



MEETING HOUSE. 101 

What few records are now extant from the organization of the church till the settlement of 
the first pastor, a period of twenty-two years, consist mostly of dateless baptisms and admis- 
sions to the church. Those who are recorded as having become members, during this time, are 
as follows : — 

Phiuehas Allen, Ebenezer Bill and Rachel his wife, Samuel Bill and Sarah his wife, John Bingham and Sibyl 
his wife, Jonathan Bliss. Jr , and Sarah his wife, Levi Bliss and Ann his wife, Sibyl the wife of Elisha Y. Bond, 
Gershom Crocker and Ann his wife, Thomas Dort and Sarah his wife, Irene the wife of Asa Davis, Temperance 
Dewey afterwards the wife of Rev. Josiah Kilburn, Timothy Don, Joseph Ellis, Aaron Hammond and Rachel his 
wife, Shubael Hard and Rachel his wife, "widow" Phebe Mack, Theodore Preston and Eunice his wife, Obadiah 
Smith and Martha his wfe, Mary the wife of Eleazer Wilcox, and Margaret the wife of Joseph Young. 

Others of whom no record is found but whose membership is well ascertained are as follows : — 

David Blish (afterwards Deacon,) and Lucy his wife, Justus Chapin and Martha his wife, William Comstock, 
Silvanus Hayward and Olive his wife, John Row, Jr., Obadiah Wilcox and Lydia his wife. 

Probably there were some others, but these are all whose membership can now be determined. 

As the church was organized at a private house, there was probably no Meeting House then 
built. There can be no doubt, however, that the town built one, very soon after, on the height 
of land between William Mark's and David Bill's, where the foundation is still visible. (Map 
43.) A lever-wood about two inches through and 15 feet high, now stands within six inches of 
the northeast corner-stone, and a red-oak and a hemlock each about 15 inches through, stand a 
little east of the center. Here the people gathered in time of the Revolution, to form patriotic 
plans, and to enlist for the defence of their country. 

This house was built like an old-fashioned school-room with seats raised at the back and sides 
for the singers, and boards laid upon movable blocks below for the rest of the congregation. The 
men and women sat on opposite sides, facing each other. It remaiifed on this spot till 1783, 
and perhaps longer. As the eastern part of the town began to be settled, the people there 
demanded its removal for their accommodation. It is a common tradition that this house was 
moved several times. Rev. Aaron Hall of Keene riding up one Sabbath morning to preach, 
was unable to find it, not knowing that it had been removed during the week. There is a faint 
tradition of there having been a Meeting House near the old Sullivan road, east of the Mark 
meadow. (Map 356.) It is not improbable that its first removal may have been to this spot. 
It was certainly moved to a spot a little west of the Keene road, about 20 rods southeast of the 
" wheel-pit," where the foundation still remains. (Map 51.) No proof has been found of its 
standing elsewhere. A foundation was prepared and the " sills leveled," on the hill southeast 
of Henry Bingham's, (Map 87,) but the house was never set there. It is well known that there 
was much excitement about its location, and an obscure tradition exists that, in 1788, about the 
time the last foundation was made ready, " king David " having seized an ax to knock off the 
first board, an opposing citizen was struck down by the blow. 

In 1789, Sullivan having been set off, the quarrel about location seems to have been ended. 

There was a general agreement to set the Meeting House as near the center of the town as 

practicable. The exact center was then supposed to be Vessel Rock. The spot chosen was 

about a quarter of a mile further north, where the foundation still remains. (Map 78.) It is 

indicated by the white flag in the accompanying heliotype. 

At a legal town Meting of the inhabitants of gilsum Holden at the hous of Lieu' daniel wrights on tuesday 
the Tenth day of March 1789 

first Choes Justus hurd Moderator * * * 
Choes John Bingham Zadok Hurd Samuel B lock 
To plan the Meting hous and Sel the pews 

At an adjourned meeting, March 24, — 



6£ 


Osh 


5 


2 


4 


13 


4 


1 


5 


10 


3 


6 


3 


1 


3 





1 


17 


2 


10 



102 aiLSUM. 

The Committee Brought in their plan and was Excepted 

1 ly Voted that the payment for the pews Shall Be Paid in Neat Cattle Equil to Beef at twenty Shillings per 

hundred To Be paid as folows one third to Be paid in Sept 1789 One third in Sept 1790 and one third 
in Sept 1791 — 

2 ly Choes Aaron hammond Daniel Wright E WillCox Committee To receive the pay for the pews and See it 

is laid out At the Best advantag upon the Meting lious 

3 ly Agreable to the Vote of the town the Committee Set up the Pews at public Vandue John Bingham was 

Vandue Master 
Pew No one was B off By Aaron hammond at Six pound Thirteen Shilings. 
Pew No two Bid of By Robert lane hurd at Seven pound Sixteen Shillings 

The remainder were as follows : — 

No. 3. Elezer Willcox 7£ 2sh. No. 14. Jonathan Clerk 

No. 4. Samuel B. Lock 9 6 . No. 15. Ebenezer Bill 

No. 5. david Bish and Daniel right 6 7 No. 16. Samuel Bill Jr. and Jonathan Church 

No. 6. Stephen Bond and Jonathan Addams 8 1 No. 17. Aaron hammond and Zad Hurd 

No. 7. Zadok Hurd 5 12 No. 1. " in the Girlery "* Roger dorte 

No. 8. david fuller and Jehiel hoklridge 7 8 No. 2. Aaron hammond and Ebenezer Kilborn 3 

No. 9. Samuel Barron Lock 7 2 No. 3. Zadok hurd and Justus hurd Jr 

No. 10. Ebenezer Kilborn 6 4 No. 4. Jehiel holdridge 

No. 11. Daniel peck 6 4 No. 5. Samuel Barron Lock 

No. 12. david Addams and israel Loveland 5 1 No. 6. Brooks Hudson 

No. 13. daniel peck 6 4 

July 1 1793 Voted to Sell the pews that the town took back at publick Vandue. Chose Lev' Daniel Wright 
Vandue Master. 

No Nine Struck of to David Bill and Elisha Bond 5£ 

No 11 Turner White and Jesse Dart 5£ Is 

No. 1 " in the Galery " Joseph Taylor Ebenezer Bill Peletiah Pease Jr Benjamin ware 5£ 2s. 

Voted to Sell the Ground for four pews taking out the low hind Seats in the Bodey of the meting hous and the 
persons that purchis s' 1 Ground are to Build S d pews on thare one Cost By that time the meting hous is finished, 
the first pew Ground in the Boddv of the meting hous at the Right hand Struck of to Zadock Hurd tow pounds 
Six Shillings. 

the Second at the Right hand Struck of to Justus Chapin one pound fourteen Shillings 

the first in the boddy at the Left hand Struck of to Aaron Hammond tow pounds fifteen Shillings 

the Second in the Bodey of at the Lef hand Struck of to David fuller two pounds Eight Shillings 

Nov. 5, 1789, twenty pounds to be paid in labor was voted for underpinning the house, and 
the work was to be done by the next June. The Committee for this work were Ebenezer Kil- 
burn, Ebenezer Bill, Ebenezer Dart, Sam'l Whitney and David Blish. Some parts of the older 
house were used in the new one, as we find the next March the account of Eleazer Wilcox 
allowed, " for moving the Old meeting House Boards and Straightening the Nails." It was 
voted at the same meeting to raise twenty pounds for carrying on the Meeting House " to be 
pay'd In Good potash Salts at markt price at Keen." The House was not finished till 1793, but 
a town meeting was held at the Meeting House Aug. 30, 1790. Sept. 2b", 1791, it was voted to 
finish off the Meeting House. It was struck off to Thomas Redding to finish for 157 Pounds, 
paid in Neat Cattle at twenty shillings per hundred weight, " said Redding to procure a Bonds- 
man to the Exceptance of the town." This he probably failed to do, for we find a meeting Oct. 
20, when it was bid off by Aaron Hammond for 180.£. It was stipulated that 

the Outside of the meeting house is to be Coulourd A Bright Orring, Only the Doors which are to Be a Stone 
Gray the gets and Cornishes and winddows to Be white. The Inside to Be A Stone Gray only the Canopy to Be 
A Prusian Blue & Pews and Stairs with Banisters. The Pulpit and Canopy to Be made Like Surry's. 

It was to be finished off complete by Nov. 20, 1793. If done sooner, the contractor was to be 
paid sooner. It was made like others of that day with high bird's-nest pulpit, with an over- 
hanging sounding-board, and high galleries on three sides supported by fluted pillars. It was 
elegantly carved around the pulpit and ornamented with pilasters around the square pews. The 
seats were hung upon hinges, so they might be raised to furnish convenient standing place in 

*In this word the Town Clerk evidently thought he had found the original of " gal-lery." 



MEETING} HOUSE. 103 

prayer time. The Amen was the signal for a rapid succession of slams like the firing of mus- 
ketry at old-fashioned trainings. 

There is no record found of the dedication of this House. We are however able to fix 
the time very nearly, by an inscription on the manuscript outline of a sermon by the first 
pastor, which reads thus : — " Preached at Gilsum on the Sabbath after the dedication of their 
meeting house, Dec. 1, 1793." The text is Judges 11 : 35 : " I have opened my mouth unto the 
Lord, and I cannot go back." As it is well known that in those times, Wednesday was almost 
uniformly selected for such occasions, there can be little doubt that the dedication occurred 
Wednesday, Nov. 27, 1793, just 19 years and one month after the organization of the Church. 
What ministers were present or who preached is unknown. 

The House had been previously occupied for town purposes, but probably not for preaching. 
March 11, 1794. the town voted to give Jonathan Church 6 shillings for sweeping the Meeting 
House and keeping the " Kees." Next year a similar vote is recorded in favor of Turner White. 

There is nothing further about the House for eighteen years. Sept. 15, 1813, it was voted 
to raise money to repair the Meeting House. Some idea of the extent of the repairs may be 
gathered from the next record, that " James M Mark bid off the repairs for one dollar and fifty 
cents." After this there were votes repeated about once in three years instructing the Selectmen 
to repair the Meeting House. In 1824 it was voted to paint the Meeting House " except the 
roof." 

As usual in those days, no means had been provided for warming the house. In 1826 and 
again in \X'-',i, an article was in the warrant, to see if the town would furnish a stove, but in 
both cases it was dismissed without action. Many still remember meeting there in winter with 
no lire, and how the tavern opposite was crowded at noon by young and old, the women 
replenishing their little foot-stoves with coals from the large open fire-place, and the men " taking 
something " to keep the cold out. 

There was a large Common surrounding the Meeting House, mainly on the soutli : on the east 
and south sides of which were rows of horse-sheds. Trainings and public gatherings of almost 
every kind were held here. There was a tall " Liberty Pole" close by the road at the south- 
west corner of the Common. 

During a period of fifteen years, commencing in 1837, frequent discussions were held in 
town meeting about moving or selling the " Old Meeting House." Various propositions were 
made, and Committees appointed, " to inquire into the ownership," " to purchase the Meeting 
House," (that is evidently the pews,) " for the benefit of the Town," " to consult with the Metho- 
dist Denomination." and the like. At one time it was almost decided to move it to the " Lower 
Village," and it was voted that " if the Old Meeting House be moved it be located within thirty 
rods of Towne's Mill," and A. J. Howard, David Bill, and Jacob Polley were chosen a Com- 
mittee to attend to " all business respecting the moving of said house." But all these plans failed, 
and at the annual meeting, March 9, 1852, 

Voted that the Selectmen sell at public auction the old Meeting-house, and all the land where the Meeting 
house is now situated that the town own, the sale of the Meeting house to be seperate from that of the land, and 
that the proceeds lie applied to liquidate the old debts of the town. 

The land was bought by Daniel Smith for twelve dollars. The house was bid off by N. 0. 

Hayward for Dr. K. D. Webster at eighty dollars. The pulpit windows may be seen in the west 

end of C. B. Hayward's barn on Sullivan St., just above " the dug-way." The piazza of C. B. 

Hayward's residence, (the old Whitney place, Chap. 36,) is supported by several of the pillars 

that were under the gallery. 



104 aiLSUM. 

Of the ministers employed before 1794, very little can be ascertained. Rev. John Hubbard 
of Northfield, Mass., (Genealogy,) was among the first. He baptized Jennet Mark, now Mrs. 
Hathhorn, in May, 1783. He also married her sister Jean to Elijah Bond Sept. 10, 1789. Rev. 
Edward Goddard from Shrewsbury, Mass., then laboring in Swanzey, often preached here, also 
Rev. Elias Fisher who afterwards settled in Lempster. He had a son Elias baptized here, probably 
by himself. Rev. Aaron Hall of Keene, and probably other neighboring ministers, often rode 
over from their own towns to preach to the destitute parish of Gilsum. At almost every town 
meeting of which we have the record the subject of hiring preaching was discussed. 

June 8, 1790 Voted to Join with Surry to Hire preach the Gospel with us 

Voted to Rais Fifteen pounds to Be paid In wheat Rye Indian com and Flax weat at 5/ — p r . Bushel Rye at 
3/6 — p r . Bushel Indian Corn at 2/8 — p r . Bushel and Flax at seven pence p r . pound Likewise Chose Aaron 
Hammond Stephen Bond A Committee to Find A minester to preach with us. 

Surry records show that on May 31, 1790, they appointed " Capt. Samuel Smith, Nathaniel 
Parte & Ely Darte a committee to hire preaching in connection with Gilsum." July 19, 1790, 
Gilsum "Voted to Give M r . Newel Pour Dollars and Half p 1 '. Day For preaching." Sept. 13. 
1790, the vote of June 8, was reconsidered, the plan of union with Surry being abandoned. It 
was also " Voted to pay M r . Newel out of the Salts rate," that is the Salts of Potash mentioned 
above. 

Oct. 18, 1790 " Voted to give M r . Gad Newel A Call Upon probation " and " Chose Justus Hurd Jonathan 
Adams & tho B . Dart Committee to Consult with m r . newel." 

For some reason which is not now known, Mr. Newel was not finally called to a settlement 
here, but settled in Nelson in 1794, where he was pastor for forty-two years, and died aged 95. 

Nov. 28, 1791. Voted to Have M r . Colton Stay with us this winter then voted to Give m r . Abishai Colton A 
Call for Nine months Upon trial In order for Settlement Voted to pay M r - Colton in Cattle or Grain at Cash price 
At twenty Shilling p r - Day for preaching Chose Stephen Bond Tho B - Dart Justus Hurd Eben r - Bill Aaron 
Hammond Esq'- Blisli & Eben r . Kilborn A Committee to report the doings of S d . meeting to m r - Colton. 

Aug 27 1792 Voted to hire m r Abisha Colton two Sabaths on trial for Settelment 

m r Jonathan Addams m r Justus Hurd m r Justus Chapin a Committe to treete with m r Colton on trial for Set- 
telment 

Sept. 10 1792 Voted to Hire m r Abisha Colton one year to preach the Gospill and Give him fifty pounds and 
bord him if Sullivan will form a union with us and hire him one half the time 

This Sullivan refused to do, and how long he remained is not known. He is remembered as 
a " good looking man with a fine voice." He settled for a time in Stoddard. 

March 13, 1792, " Voted to Pay m r Eanock Bliss for his preaching with us." No further 
information of this man has been found. 

Rev. Elisha Fish of Windsor, Mass., having been dismissed from his pastorate there, had 
been preaching at Bath, N. H., and on his way home stopped in Gilsum. He was recommended 
by Rev. Aaron Hall of Keene. Mrs. Dea. Bond, by whom he was entertained, told him that the 
Lord had sent him. In September, 1793, he was hired three months on probation at twenty 
shillings per Sabbath. Feb. 15, 1794, the church voted to invite Rev. Elisha Fish to settle with 
them as their pastor and teacher, requesting the town to concur. The same day the town voted 
41 to 6 to give Mr. Fish a call, giving him " Fifty Pounds to rise with the Levy of s'd town to 
Sixty pounds lawful money for his annual salary." Samuel Whitney, Lev't Daniel Wright, and 
Capt. Jehiel Holdridge were the Committee to act with a Committee of the Church. It was 
voted to give Robert L. Hurd nine shillings to notify Mr. Fish. In May following, a Committee 
was voted to make provision for the Council. Mr Fish's reply to his call is recorded in the 
Town Book and is as follows : — 
To the Church and Congregation in Gilsum. 

Gentlemen : — The invitation which you some time since gave me to settle with you in the work of the gospel 
ministry, I have seriously and I trust maturely considered. I have availed myself of the advice of friends and 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 105 

have frequently I hope with humble dependence on Divine illumination, applied to the throne of grace that I might 
be directed to give you a wise and right answer, and now considering the providential manner of my being intro- 
duced among you, the union which has since taken place and still appears to exist, and the place which you have 
given me reason to believe I hold in your affections. I am prone to think that your call is the call of GOD and that 
I am therefore bound in duty to accept, which I accordingly do. And now my friends you will readily agree with 
me, when I observe, that the office of a watchman on the walls of God's spiritual Jerusalem is an awful charge. 
If the watchman be unfaithful and the people of his charge perish on his account, as he has reason to expect they 
will, their blood will be required at his hand. But if he be faithful, and they refuse to hear and obey, his faithful- 
ness will be a surprising aggravation of their final overthrow. The settlement therefore of a minister should be 
undertaken with the most deliberate and devout seriousness. When you and I think of a connection of this kind, 
we should consider that our contract if consummated will be attended with eternal consequences. 

If God should see fit to settle me here in the work of the Gospel ministry, I pray him to give me instruction 
and grace to be both skillful and faithful, and give you hearts to receive the ingrafted word in love, and that he 
would enable us to be workers together with him in the building up of his kingdom, and hereby become helpers of 
each others joy. With these devout wishes in my heart I subscribe myself, Your Friend, 

Elisha Fish. 

The Council met on the 29th of May at the house of Capt. Ebenezer Kilburn. It was com- 
posed of Rev. Edward Goddard and Dea. Thomas Applin from Swanzey. Rev. Elias Fisher and 
Dea. Elijah Bingham from Lempster, Rev. Aaron Hall and Dea. Abijah Wilder from Keene, Rev. 
James Briggs and Dea. Ebenezer Snell (father-in law of Mr. Fish) from Cummington, Mass.. 
and Rev. Holloway Fish (brother of the pastor elect) and Dea. Eliphalet Stone from Marlboro. 
Rev. Mr. Goddard was Moderator and Rev. Mr. Hall Scribe. The services were as follows : — 
Introductory Prayer, Rev. Mr. Fish : Sermon, Rev. Mr. Briggs ; Installing Prayer, Rev. Mr. 
Fisher ; Charge, Rev. Mr. Goddard ; Right Hand, Rev. Mr. Hall ; Concluding Prayer, Rev. Mr. 
Briggs. There is no record of the singing. 

In the Town Book is the following record : — 

Voted to allow M r Hammonds Ac', for Bording Re\ M r Fish 21 weeks . . . . £5:5:0:0 

more to keeping his horse — . . . . . . . ... . . . 2:8:0 

more for Carring Letters missive to the Counsill . . . . . . . . : 12 : 

Voted to pay Cap' Kilborn for keeping the Counsil that Reinstalled M r Fish . . . £5:0:0:0 
Voted to have Rev r M r Fish Sallary Be paid to him the first of December annualy. 

Thus commenced the pastorate of Mr. Fish. The records of town or church give almost 

nothing further in reference to his ministry, till we come to his death. One page of the church 

records is thus inscribed : — 

March 28th, 1807. 
This day departed this life, much lamented, our beloved Pastor, The Revd. Elisha Fish, aged 51, having had 
the charge of us in the Lord 

Twelve years and Ten months. 

The only town record is a vote allowing $21.62 for his funeral expenses. They also voted to 
continue his salary nine Sabbaths after his death, the preaching being given by the members of 
the ministerial Association to which Mr. Fish belonged. 

Rev. Elisha Fish graduated at Harvard University in 1779. and studied Theology with his 
father at Upton, Mass. He was ordained at Windsor, Mass., June 16, 1785, and was dismissed 
July 5, 17',>2. While here, he received an accidental injury, which resulted in the amputation 
of one leg. This may have been a remote cause of his comparatively early death. In 1806, 
there had been a revival in which between twenty and thirty were hopefully converted, and 
twelve heads of families united with the church. During this revival Mr. Fish was unwearied in 
his labors for their instruction, even beyond prudence, doubtless thereby hastening his premature 
decease. During his last sickness he prayed much for the people of Gilsum, but expressed a 
willingness to leave them, if they would only turn to the Lord. A short time before his death, 
he is remembered to have spoken earnestly for some minutes in a language unknown to the 
family, supposed to be Latin, and apparently in prayer. 



106 GILSUM. 

The following particulars are from a journal kept by Mrs. Sibyl Bond : — 

He began to fail in the Fall of 1806, and didn't preach for a number of Sabbaths. Jan. 11, he was present, 
and assisted some. Jan. 18, he preached and administered the Sacrament. Jan. 25, he preached for the last time, 
after which he lived nine weeks, and died on Saturday, Mar. 28. He was buried Wednesday, Ap. 2, just after a 
very severe snow-storm. Rev. Aaron Hall of Keene preached the sermon from 2 Tim. 4 : 6, 7, and 8th verses. 
Few ministers were present on account of the great snow. Rev. Mr. Newell of Nelson started 
on snow-shoes, but was obliged to turn back. 

Mr. Fish was called a Hopkinsian, and was firmly attached to what he believed to be God's truth. At one 
time, when on a council for ordination, he insisted on a thorough examination of the candidate's belief, and finding 
him lax in doctrine, he alone of the ministers present, refused to take part in his ordination, and with five lay dele- 
gates entered a protest against proceeding. For this he was severely rebuked by some of the members, but he 
valued the approbation of his own conscience more than the praise of man. Though thus fearless in defence of 
the truth when occasion seemed to require, he was no lover of controversy. He was decided and clear in his 
preaching, declaring what he believed to be the whole counsel of God, but when men came to the town preaching- 
other views, he kept right on in his own course without turning aside to attack any. Definite in his own views of 
evangelical truth, his preaching was of no doubtful character. None could mistake his ideas of truth or duty. 
His style was simple, clear, and forcible. Heeding the injunction " Feed the flock of God," he aimed not merely 
or mainly to move the feelings, but rather to instruct his people. He once remarked, " If my people knew a hun- 
dred times as much as they do, it would be a great deal easier teaching them." None doubted his sincerity and 
piety. Even those who refused his doctrines, were for the most part friendly to the man. He was unusually social 
and genial in his intercourse with the people. Some one in Cummington. Mass., said of him, " He is the most 
agreeable man, I ever knew." 

Doubtless many anecdotes might have been preserved illustrative of Mr. Fish's ministry and 
the peculiarities of the times. The following serves to indicate the terms of familiar intercourse 
between Mr. Fish and his people: — 

One Sabbath he preached a very plain sermon against worldly-mindedness. Having occasion the next morning 
to borrow some farm tool of his neighbor, John Mark, he arrived' at his house before Mr. Mark was up. After 
getting him the desired article, Mr. Mark said, " You preached yesterday against worldly-mindedness, but you are 
more worldly-minded than I am, for you are attending to your work before I get up." 

On occasion of a severe drought, the church appointed a Fast to pray for rain. An ungodly man, in token of 
his unbelief, engaged an unusual number of hands, and cut down several acres of his best grass. A storm came 
on that very night and nearly ruined the whole. " Who hath hardened himself against God, and hath prospered t " 

" Madam Fish," as it was then the custom to call her, was Abigail Snell, sister of Rev. 
Thomas Snell, D. D., of North Brookfield, Mass, and of Mrs. Bryant, the mother of the poet. 
She was an amiable and excellent woman. The portrait on the opposite page was taken in her 
83 d year. 

In giving the names of those who united with the church during Mr. Fish's ministry, it is 
proper to notice that lie himself united by letter from Windsor, Mass., on the day of his Instal- 
lation, and before the Installation services began. The following persons were added to the 
church during his pastorate : — 

James Ballard and Molly his wife, Lucinda wife of Daniel Beverstoek, Lydia the wife of Samuel Bill, 
Susanna wife of David Bill, Hannah Bingham. Jonathan Clark and Delilah his wife, Samuel Clark and Mercy 
his wife, Jesse Dart, John Davis, Elisheba wife of John Dort. Polly wife of Fortunatus Eager. Eunice wife of 
John Ellis, Martha wife of Moses Farnsworth, Orinda wife of David Fuller, Claudius Drusus Hayward, Luther 
Holmes and Mary his wife, Zadok Hard and Mary his wife. Sarah wife of Ebenezer Kilburn, Rachel wife of 
Berzeleel Mack. Joseph Plumley and Rachel his wife Sally Redding, Dudley Smith and Hannah his wife, David 
Thompson and Molly his wife, Hannah wife of Ananias Tubbs, and Hannah wife of Turner White. 

Before the settlement of Mr. Fisli no deacons had been chosen. Ebenezer Dewey and Stephen 
Bond had probably officiated in that capacity, as they were called by that title, and had perhaps 
held the office in the church from which they removed here. The first choice of Deacons in 
this church was Aug. 28, 1794, when David Blish and Ebenezer Kilburn were elected. They 
signified their acceptance of the office Oct. 2, 1795. 

From the death of Mr. Fish to 1818 the records are very defective, the church remaining 
without a pastor till 1829. A prominent reason for this long vacancy in the pastorate was the 
great variety of religious opinions then prevailing. Probably few towns as small as Gilsum, 
have had so great a variety of beliefs intermingled and confused together from before the begin- 




Madam Abigail Fish. 



HELIOTrPE PRINTING CO., BOSTON. 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 107 

ning of the present century. We find in the town records, as far back as 1788, and for twenty 
years following, certificates from sixteen different citizens stating either their disbelief in, and 
consequent unwillingness to support the preaching provided by the town, or more frequently 
excusing themselves on the ground that they had become supporters of the Universalists, or 
Baptists, or Methodists mostly in Surry, Sullivan, and Alstead. (Appendix E.) Had they 
been united in any one of these beliefs, they might probably have carried the vote of the town, 
so as to have obtained and supported a minister of their own persuasion. But being so divided, 
they could only prevent the maintenance of the "Orthodox" preaching which they mutually 
disliked. In 1804, an article was inserted in the warrant " to see if the town would release the 
Universalists, the Methodists, and Baptists from paying Minister tax in this town," but it was 
dismissed without action. Similar efforts with the same result were made in 1805 and 1807. 
But in March, 1808,— 

Voted to raise I $120 for preaching on the following plan, that every individual shall have liberty to pay to 
which denomination he pleases, the money to be preached out in the meeting house, if they please. 

Maj. Bill, Esqr. Blish, Daniel Converse, and Iddo Kilburn were the Committee to carry the 
vote into effect. This plan seems to have been pursued thereafter as long as the meeting house 
was used for religious purposes, the last Committee for dividing the house having been appointed 
in March, 1833, consisting of Iddo Kilburn, David Brigham, Daniel Day, Timothy Dort, and 
Simon Carpenter. The next year, the Congregatioualists having built a Meeting House at the 
village, the other denominations no longer asked for a division of the old house. 

The only money raised by the town for preaching, after Mr. Fish's death, was the #120 in 
1808, $100 in 1810, and the same sum in 1814, making in all $320, in each case to be divided 
among the different denominations. In other years the subject was cither left out entirely, or 
if named in the warrant, was dismissed without action, or in one case, in 1811, after voting to 
raise money for preaching it was reconsidered and nothing done. The only reference to a 
particular preacher, during this time, is an article in the warrant for Oct. 6, 1808, " to see if the 
town or any part of them will take any method to obtain the Rev. Sam'l Goddard to preach with 
them," on which no action was taken. Mr. Goddard was however employed some months, and 
regret was expressed that more effort was not made to retain him. He afterwards preached in 
Concord, now Lisbon. A Mr. Hutchins, who had been Preceptor in Chesterfield Academy, 
was next employed for two seasons, and after him Rev. Broughton White, for the same length 
of time. Mr. White preached here occasionally till 1819. He afterwards labored in various 
places, and died at Acworth in 1861, aged 88 years. 

The church at this period was much discouraged and had but little preaching. Sometimes a 
neighboring church would let their pastor come a Sabbath and administer the ordinances, and 
occasionally a young man just commencing would happen along, and by taking up a contribution 
they would hire him a Sabbath or two. About the year 1814, Mary Wilcox, not then a member 
of the church, was moved to make an effort to secure preaching, and herself went to all 
the sisters of the church asking them to give something for that purpose. The women thus 
raised money enough to hire the Rev. Gideon Burt of Long Meadow, Mass , eight weeks. 
As a result of his preaching the church became more engaged and four persons united by pro- 
fession, among them the one who started the movement. 

In 1816, a change in the laws, more fully completed in 1819, freed the town from responsi- 
bility in reference to preaching, and left the support of religious institutions, as now, entirely 
voluntary. Though this change was undoubtedly wise, and on the whole better for the cause of 
religion, yet it was mainly brought about by the factious and ignorant opposition of those who 



108 aiLSUM. 

hated the influence of the pure gospel, and wished to be free, not to support different forms of 
religious instruction, but no form at all, choosing utter ungodliness as their portion. Not all 
who favored the change were of this class, but the leaders and managers in the State were nearly 
all, men who lifted any form of vital religion. Nor was it strange that good men should have 
been greatly discouraged, and doubtless gave utterance to unwise and unguarded expressions in 
reference to the enactment of such laws. They were mistaken in supposing that it would be 
the overthrow of evangelical religion. Both the hopes of one party and the fears of the other 
were unfounded. " T/ie kingdom of God cometh not with observation.'' The more entirely 
distinct church and state become, the better will religion prosper. What was intended by the 
adversary as a blow at piety and godliness, proved, in the hands of a mightier than he, the very 
means to nurture and extend the influence of pure and undefiled religion. A religion main- 
tained by law is comparatively worthless. It speedily becomes dead and corrupt. But that 
which springs voluntarily from an abiding principle in the soul, vitalized by the Spirit of God, 
has a self-propagating power, pouring out blessings in ceaseless and increasing flow upon the 
people where it once gains a footing. 

An article in the warrant for a town meeting in September, 1815, to see who wish to form 
themselves into a Congregational Society, was passed by without notice. In the following year a 
successful effort was made to obtain a charter for a Corporate Body by the name of the Con- 
gregational Church and Society. It is dated June 28, 1816, and was granted to " Obadiah 
Pease, Elisha S. Fish, Dudley Smith, and Jonathan Pease, and their associates, and all such as 
may hereafter associate with them." There were forty signers to the petition, twenty-five of 
whom signed the charter. None of these forty are now living. The following are the names, 
C. signifying those who finally signed the Charter: — 

James Ballard, C, David Bill, C, Lemuel Bingham, David Blish, C, David Bliss, Elisha Bond, William Bond, 
Justus Chapin, Jonathan Church, Jonathan Clarke, Jesse Dart, C, Jonathan E. Davis, C, Aaron Day, C, John 
Dort, C. Ira Ellis, C, Elisha S. Fish. C., Aaron Hammond, C. Amherst Hayward, C, Silvanus Hayward, C, 
Berzeleel Mack, C, Berzeleel Lord Mack, C, James M. Mark, William Mark, C., Waldo May, Jonathan Pease, C, 
Obadiah Pease, C, Israel Plumley, David Smith. Dudley Smith. C, Elijah Ware, C, Obadiah Ware, True Web- 
ster, C, True Webster, Jr., Nathan White, C, Stephen White, C, Luther Whitney, Edmund Wilcox, C, Eleazer 
Wilcox, Eleazer Wilcox, Jr., C, Solomon Woods, C. 

That there was some preaching during the years from 1816 to 1819, is evident from the 
Society Records, which show a vote to raise money each year. But how much and by whom is 
not now known. Rev. Levi Lankton of Alstead, the brother-in-law of Mr. Fish, is known to 
have been employed during the summer of 1820. He died over 80 years of age at Marietta, 
Ohio, in 1843. 

Under the influence of zealous opposition, the church at this period was made a by-word and 
reproach among the people. Some of its own members failed in the hour of trial, deserting its 
ranks to join others of different faith and practice. The few who continued steadfast were 
feeble and discouraged. But one Sabbath morning in the winter of 1819, the same Mary Wil- 
cox, (then Mrs. Fish.) whose efforts had previously secured the preaching of Mr. Burt, proposed 
to repair to the house of Dea. Pease, and statedly hold a reading meeting, which had been only 
occasional before, until they should have a minister. The plan was adopted and proved success-' 
ful. A weekly prayer meeting was also established. This movement seemed to be the turning 
point in the history of the church. Upon the persistent maintenance of these reading meetings 
the very life of the church seemed to depend. As an apparent result of this effort, the Society 
increased the sum voted for preaching from A to \ of one per cent on their taxable property. 

In January, 1819, during the intermission one Sabbath, at " a reading meeting" at the house 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 109 

of Dea. Pease, Dudley Smith offered to give fifty dollars a year, if preaching could be secured all 
the time, or to give his proportion with any others. Acting on this suggestion. Elisha S. Fish, 
not then a member of the church, went round among the people and made strenuous efforts to 
get others to join in this movement. His journal kept at that time gives a minute account of 
his exertions and the varied reception he met. 

Rev. Ezekiel Rich was employed the following season. He was a man of learning and strong 
mind ; an able preacher, sound in doctrine, prudent in his measures, and very laborious in the 
cause of religion. He afterwards became insane, and died at the age of 70 years, somewhere 
in Connecticut. He resided at Troy, where he had been previously settled. He procured $25 
aid for the church, from the Society for the Promotion of Christian Knowledge. Through his 
influence also, assistance was obtained in 1820, from the New Hampshire Missionary Society, 
which was continued for more than thirty years, in sums varying from fifty to one hundred 
dollars. 

Soon after Mr. Rich came here. June 3, 1819, after a prayer meeting, six Directors were 
chosen to provide the means for a system of Sabbath School instruction and regulate its man- 
agement. The Committee consisted of Dea. Pease, Dea. Mark, Esq. Pease, Dr. Davis, Iddo 
Kilburn, and James M. Mark. June 7, these Directors chose two teachers, Esq. Pease and Anna 
Dort. What day the Sabbath School first met, I have found no distinct record, but in all prob- 
ability it was June 13, 1819. June 20, Mr. Fish's journal states, " 11 more scholars have united 
with the Sabbath School, making forty in the whole." Those above 16 years of age were organ- 
ized into what was called a Christian Knowledge Society. The Sabbath School has been in 
operation ever since, save that it has sometimes been suspended during the winter. 

Those who united with the church, during these 23 years after Mr. Fish's death, while they 

remained without a pastor, were as follows : — 

David Bill, Susanna Bill, Lemuel Bingham, Lucy wife of Salmon Bixby, Betsey Bond, Mehetabel wife of Col. 
William Bond, David Brigham (afterwards Deacon.) and Sophia his wife, Abigail Fish, Sarah Fish, Widow Lois 
Gibbs, Amherst Hayward (afterwards Deacon,) and Polly his wife, Mary wife of Silvanus Hayward, Capt. Robert 
Lane Hurd and Lydia his wile, Dr. Benjamin Hosmer. Charles Livermore, Berzeleel Mack, William Mark (after- 
wards Deacon,) and Betsey his wife, Phinehas G. Miller and Sally his wife, Jonathan Pease (afterwards Deacon,) 
and Anna his wife, Obadiah Pease and Lucy his wife, Oliver Pease, Hannah wife of Israel Plumley, Betsey wife of 
Dudley Smith, Betsey wife of Jesse Temple, Widow Olive Temple, Sophira Temple, Hannah wife of Eli Thayer, 
Harriet wife of Col. E. K. Webster. Mary Webster, Kebecca Whitcomh, Eleazer Wilcox Jr. and Esther his wife. 
Lumund Wilcox (afterwards Rev.,) Mary Wilcox, and Betsey wife of Solomon Woods. Of these forty-two, only 
two are supposed to be now living ; Sarah Fish, the widow of Dea. Amherst Hayward, and Hannah Locke the 
widow of Israel Plumley. 

September, 1814, Jonathan Pease was chosen Deacon in place of Deacon Kilburn who died 
in 1810. July 8, 1819, William Mark was elected to fill the place of Dea. Blish who died in 1817. 

For the next ten years, various preachers were employed, mostly in the Summer season. 
Rev. George Perkins preached here a few weeks, and was considered " a young man of more 
than ordinary promise." He gave the church six dollars towards a Sabbath School Library. 
Rev. Sylvester Cochran, formerly pastor of the Presbyterian Church in Antrim, was here one 
season, also Rev. George Freeman. Rev. Isaac Esty preached here two or three seasons. During 
his stay there were several added to the church. A Mr. Claggett, afterwards of Ludlow, Vt., 
was here about 1827. Rev. Moses Longley was a candidate for settlement in 1829. 

Nov. 15, 1829, David Brigham was chosen Deacon in place of Jonathan Pease, who had died 
the January before. 

In 1830, a parsonage was completed, the money being raised by subscription. It stood a few 
rods north of the old meeting house, (Map 82,) and is the same house that Daniel Smith now 
lives in. Dudley Smith gave three-quarters of an acre of land, and Amherst Hayward and 



110 GILSUM. 

David Brigham gave nearly the whole of the building material, while others subscribed liberally 
in money and labor. 

March, 1830, the church voted to give a call to Rev. Ebenezer Chase from Enfield, in whicli 
the Society shortly concurred. The salary offered was " fifty dollars in the use of the parsonage, 
One hundred and iifty in produce and those articles of living Commonly wanted in a family, and 
one hundred dollars in money." It was also stipulated that if they could not make up the full 
sum, he should be allowed to obtain it by preaching for other societies a part of the time. Mr. 
Chase accepted this call and was installed Sept. 22, 1830. Lemuel Bingham, Eleazer Wilcox, 
and E. S. Fish were a Committee to provide for the Council. The ministers invited were Rev. 
Phinehas Cooke of Lebanon, Rev. Isaac Robinson of Stoddard, Rev. S. S. Arnold of Alstead, 
Rev. Z. S. Barstow of Keene, Rev. Moses Gerould of East Alstead, and Rev. Job Cushman of 
Sullivan, none of whom are now living. Of the installation services there is no record. It is 
remembered however that Rev. Mr. Cooke preached the sermon, text Phil. 3 : 18, and Rev. Mr. 
Cushman gave the Right Hand. 

Rev. Ebenezer Chase " early became a Christian, having been led to anxiety for his own 
salvation, by seeing the anxiety of his mother concerning her eternal welfare, whom he had sup- 
posed had long been a Christian. In August, 1807, he began to preach under the care of the 
Free Will Baptist Church, and was ordained as an Evangelist in August, 1810. In 1809, he 
edited and published a monthly religious newspaper called the ' Religious Informer,' which was 
largely circulated in the Free Will Baptist connexion.*' 

"The Christian courtesy of Rev. O. C. Whiton of Troy, N. Y., led to the removal of preju- 
dices against Congregationalism ; and after careful examination of the system, he united with 
the Windsor (Vt.) Association of Congregational ministers, Nov. 12, 1828." 

April 26, 1833, he was dismissed from the church in Gilsum, at his own request, and labored 
with good success in Westmoreland for two years. He was pastor of the Congregational 
Church in West Tisbury, Mass., seven years, and subsequently four years in West Yarmouth, 
Mass., and several years in Eastham, Mass. " He was more than fifty years in the active duties of 
the ministry, preached more than eleven thousand sermons, and was blessed with many revivals." 

The minister who gave him the charge at his ordination, said, " I charge you before God, when about to preach, 
never in any case put pen to paper, with a view to assist you in preaching, nor premeditate beforehand what you 
shall say; but trust entirely to God, who •will teach you in the same hour what you shall speak." 

Mr. Chase had an eminently spiritual mind, and was heartily devoted to his Master's service. His memory is 
fondly cherished by those who enjoyed his labors. His daughter writes : — 

" Since my earliest recollection my father was an earnest student, always rising very early so as to have several 
hours for uninterrupted study before breakfast. He was also a faithful pastor, spending most of his afternoons in 
visiting his parishioners." 

After the death of his first wife, his three boys, then aged 12, 10, and 8, "became much dissatisfied with the 
housekeeper. After consulting together the eldest went to his father as spokesman for the whole, and addressed 
him about as follows. ' Father, we want a mother. When other men lose their wife, they marry again, and we 
want to have you marry, for we want a mother.' Father replied, • Well, my son, who would you like to have me 
marry ? ' ' We should like Eliza Patten for our mother,' was the reply, naming their school teacher." A few months 

later the marriage took place, " and she proved the wisdom of the children's choice At my father's death 

he left 7 children and 22 grandchildren Two of his sons have been editors of newspapers, one a preacher 

of the gospel, and the youngest is now a Professor of Music in New York. Two of his daughters have written 
poetry, some of which has been linked to music, and prose articles from the pen of one of them can be found in 
several religious papers and magazines." 

This church had been so long without a pastor, that the coming of Mr. Chase was quite an 
event in their history. His labors here were productive of good resulting in considerable addi- 
tions. During his pastorate the following persons, besides himself, united with the church : — 

Nancy wife of Luther Abbot, Hannah wife of Allen, Melintha Bill, Asa Bond and Elmira his wife, 

Eliza wife of Rev. Ebenezer Chase, Anna wife of Dr. Jonathan E. Davis, Martha wife of Stephen Day, Lucy wife 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. m 




jijah 
Wetherbee, and Mary Ann wife of Oliver Wilson. Only four or five of these 23 are now living. 

After the dismission of Mr. Chase, Rev. S. S. Arnold from Alstcad Center came to this 
church. Finding them much restrained in their usefulness, from the want of a place of worship 
of their own. inasmuch as the old house belonged equally to other denominations, he urgently 
advised to build in the village, and recommended the sale of the parsonage to assist in this 
enterprise. This was agreed to, and under his wise and efficient management the work went 
rapidly forward, and was completed in the Fall of 1834. The Committee for building were Rev. 
S. S. Arnold, Dudley Smith. Amherst Hayward, E. S. Fish, and Eleazer Wilcox, all of whom 
are now dead. A Committee from Keene consisting of Dr. Barstow, Dea. Jacquith,and Timothv 
Hall, located the Meeting House where it now stands. The cost was near $2000, and was paid 
through great struggles and self-denial, not only on the part of the larger subscribers, but of 
those who of their poverty cast in but little. Many contributions were received in small sums 
from those interested in the place, but resident elsewhere. Some also of the citizens, not mem- 
bers of the church or Society, kindly assisted in the enterprise. In 1820, Mrs. Mary Baker and 
her son James Ballard had presented the town with a large Bible to be kept in the desk of the 
old meeting house for the use of all denominations. This Bible is now in possession of Sidney 
Gates. When the new meeting house was built, Luther Ballard, adopted son of James Ballard, 
presented a Bible to this church, which remained in the pulpit, till becoming somewhat worn, it 
was taken for vestry use, and a new Bible for the pulpit was presented by Adam Brown of 
Wolfeboro, a personal friend of Rev. Mr. Wood. 

This church owes a large debt of gratitude to Rev. Mr. Arnold. To his advice and leader- 
ship the present house of worship is almost, entirely due. They would have been glad to have 
kept him as their pastor, and in November, 1835, gave him a formal call. But he declined to 
settle, thinking his duty called him elsewhere. 

Rev. Seth S. Arnold spent his early life on the farm and in the business of tanning. He 
fitted for College largely under the instruction of his pastor, Rev. Sylvester Sage, but went to 
the Academy at Deerfield, Mass., a short time. He graduated at Middlebury College in 1812. 
The following year " he taught a select school at Bladensburg, Md., with the exception of the 
months of July and August, 1813, during which time he was first sergeant of a company of 
volunteers for the defence of Annapolis against British troops." Arms being scarce he carried 
a stick in place of a musket. This stick he had afterwards made into a cane which is now in 
possession of his only surviving daughter, Mrs. Gage of Ascutneyville, Vt. He studied Theology 
with Rev. J. Brcckenridge of Washington, D. C, and with his pastor, Rev. S. Sage of West- 
minster, Vt. He was recommended as a candidate for the ministry by Windham Association, 
Sept. 27, 1814. He was ordained and installed pastor of the Congregational Church in Alstead 
Center June 17, 1816. Here he continued for eighteen years and was blessed with three exten- 
sive revivals. During this period he was one of the Directors of the N. H. Missionary Society, 
and often engaged in missionary work among neighboring churches. 

After leaving Alstead he came to Gilsum where he remained two years. His wise counsels 
and hearty assistance were of the greatest value to the church here. 

In 1830 he returned to Westminster, Vt., to care for his aged father, now over ninety years 
of age. While here, he supplied the church in Walpole two years, and that in Westminster the 
same length of time. A powerful revival attended his labors. 



112 GILSUM. 

After the death of his father, he preached four years in Halifax, Vt., from October 1852 

to March 1856, two years in Roxbury, six years in West Townshend, Vt., from 1858 to 18(34. At 

the age of 75, he retired from the ministry and removed to Ascutueyville, Vt., where he was " an 

active worker in the cause of Christ, in the Sabbath School, in prayer meeting, and visiting from 

house to house." 

As a preacher. Mr. Arnold was instructive rather than sensational. His sermons were always prepared with 
care, in language simple, such as his hearers would readily understand. As a man he was of noble form, erect, and 
dignified in all his actions, courteous in his treatment of all men, a lover of hospitality, prudent of speech, a wise 
counselor, a true friend, in all respects a Christian gentleman. He was specially remarkable as a wise counselor 
and eminently skillful in adjusting and pacifying old difficulties and church quarrels. " Blessed are the peace- 
makers." 

The new Meeting House was dedicated Nov. 11, 1834, and the occasion was made the begin- 
ning of a four days meeting. Rev. Mr. Arnold preached the sermon from 2 Chron. 6: 40, 41. 
The Hymns were the L. M. and C. M. versions of the 132 d Psalm. Rev. Z. S. Barstow offered 
the dedicatory prayer. 

After Mr. Arnold left, Rev. William Hutchinson came in 1836, and in July, 1838, a call was 
extended to him, which he declined. 

Rev. William Hutchinson was ordained at Bethlehem, Jan. 27, 1830. After three years lie 
went to Dalton, where he remained two years before coming to Gilsum. While at Bethlehem and 
Dalton he also supplied the church at Whitefield. After leaving Gilsum, he went to Plaintield, 
where he was installed May 28, 1839, and where he died in 1842. 

He was a godly, sincere man, of limited education, and very humble estimate of his own powers. He was a 
useful minister, not fearing to declare the whole counsel of God. He was in early life a successful teacher of music 
and had a fine voice both for speaking and singing. 

He was unusually favored in hi.-- marriage relations. His first wife was " a very devoted self-sacrificing christian. 
In dying, she committed her four little ones to the care of a covenant keeping God, praying, that Nathaniel Merrill, a 
babe of six weeks, might ' become a vessel of mercy.' " It is worthy of notice that he is now a missionary. 
(Chap. 31.) 

His second wife, Mrs. S. M. Bingham of Lempster, was a woman of rare gifts, and lovely christian character. 
She proved a mother indeed to the orphaned children. One of them testifies that she was " a faithful wife, a loving, 
conscientious mother to us all, a devoted christian woman, a bright light, in society and church, an original thinker, 
born to lead. She was one in a hundred. With us she yet lives, her example will always be felt." 

In 1839, a call was given to Rev. Henry White, which he accepted, but on assembling of the 
Council, unexpected opposition led him to take back his acceptance. He was a plain, practical 
man of sedate bearing, and apparently of very earnest piety ; a sound preacher, but without the 
brilliant qualities which attract the multitude. He was the author of a valuable book called, 
" The Early History of New England." He labored here one year, and died somewhere in 
Maine, Dec. 8, 1858, aged 68 years. 

In the following year several ministers preached for a short time. Rev. A. R. Livermore 
staid three months, and a call was given him which he declined. He is still living in Connecticut. 

Rev. George Langdon preached here a year and a half but declined a call to settlement. He 
was a man of ability but feeble in health. It is not known whether he is now living or not. 
His name is not found in the list of Congregational ministers at the present time. He was a 
descendant of Capt. Samuel Gilbert. 

Mr. Langdon's ministry closes a period of about ten years after Mr. Chase's dismission, during 
which the meeting house had been built, and though there was no special revival, therfe had been 
some additions, and it was on the whole a season of prosperity and gradual increase of strength. 

The following are the names of those who united with the church during this period : — 

Maiy Ann Arnold, Sophia Arnold, Elsea wife of Lemuel Bingham, Eliza Bragg, James Downing and Lydia 
his wife, James Downing, Jr., Susanna wife of John S. Farrar, Eunice Fish, Luna Foster, Rossa Gates, Lyman 
Gerould and Susan his wife, Elizabeth Hathhorn, Lydia Hodgkins, Lucy widow of Zachariah Howes, Arnold 



CONGREGATIONAL CBURCH. 113 

Bryant Hutchinson and Martha his wife. Ebenezer Hutchinson and Thomasin his wife, Senah wife of Rev. Wil- 
liam Hutchinson. Abijah Wilder Kingsbury (afterwards Deacon.) and Lovina his wife, Fanny Mark. Rachel wife 
of Dea. William Mark. Rachel Esther Mitchell. Ashbel Whitney Rouse. Nancy Smith, Orinda Smith, Mary Fiske 
wife of Capt. George W. F. Temple (afterwards Deacon,) Andrew Dexter Towne, Isaac Wallis and Susan his wife, 
Herriet L. Way, Esther wife of Rev. Henry White, Hannah White, Julian Caroline White, Mary Emmons White, 
Edith wife of Joel Wilson, and Emeline Wood. Of these forty, sixteen are supposed to be living. 

Soon after Mr. Langdon left, in the Spring of 1842, Rev. James Tisdale from Dublin was 
employed. Not wishing to settle, he was hired by the year and remained for seven years. 

Rev. James Tisdale graduated at Brown University in 1821. He then taught an Academy at 
Darlington Court House, S. C, two years. He had embraced infidel views in College, but while 
teaching was converted " by reading the sermons of Dr. Emmons." He studied Theology with 
Rev. A. Cobb of West Taunton, Mass., and was approbated as a candidate for the ministry, Oct. 
25, 1825. Sept. 29, 1830, he was ordained at Guildhall, Vt., where he remained six years. He 
next labored at Dublin for about the same length of time, till he came to Gilsum. After leaving 
Gilsum he went to Shutesbury, Mass., where he remained nearly eight years. He then removed 
to Tonica, 111., where he preached two years. " His last labors were at Lowell, 111., to the Con- 
gregational Church of Vermillion." 

Mr. Tisdale was a man of learning and unusual ability. His preaching was not what would be called eloquent, 
perhaps, though sometimes well worthy the name, but it bore marks of deep thought, and careful research, and was 
eminently instructive. Few preachers impart so much instruction in a, year as he. He was a man of strong 
passions/which he kept under such control that they were for the most part a power to increase his usefulness; 
while if at any time his temper gave way for a moment, he was quick to apologize in the most satisfactory manner 
to whomever he might have offended. He won the good-will and respect of all who knew him. No one who 
lived near him could long remain his enemy. One neighbor who said in a passion, that Mr. Tisdale should not 
stay in town another year, tried the next year to have him sent to the Legislature. 

Of intense radical convictions, he was an earnest reformer, embracing the causes of Anti-slavery and Total 
Abstinence in the days of their unpopularity. Very few men have done so much for the Temperance cause in 
Gilsum as Mr. Tisdale. He was also deeply interested in education, and held the office of Superintending School 
Committee four years. He had a very deep religious experience leading him to exalted views of God and his 
kingdom. His favorite Hymn was the 4th Select, commencing, 

11 Keep silence all created things, 
And wait your Maker's nod, 
My soul stands trembling while she sings 
The honors of her God ! '* 

He selected it to be sung at his funeral. 

Many still remember the fervor with which he was accustomed to read this hymn, as also the 15'2 a Select, 

beginning, 

"Now for a hymn of praise to God." 

His heart was evidently set on the kingdom of Christ. He delighted to study the prophecies. In them he 
thouo-ht he found the richest food, the strong meat of the Bible, while the doctrines which many call strong and 
hard, he regarded as only " milk for babes in Christ." Remarkably clear and forcible in the presentation of the 
great doctrines, it was in the contemplation of the promised reign of Christ on the earth, that his heart warmed 
and his eye kindled, and he rose almost to ecstasy in view of the wonderful glories then to be revealed. He was 
accustomed in preaching and other instructions to speak much of entire submission to God, one of his most fre- 
quent expressions being, " We must make God all-in-all and ourselves nothing." His last days gave full evidence 
of this complete resignation to God's will. He thought much of the value and efficacy of prayer, and frequently 
referred to the " golden vials full of odors which are the prayers of saints." About a week before his death, the 
last time he was able to pray with his family, after praying individually for them, he prayed earnestly for each of the 
parishes where he had labored. 

" A plain white marble slab marks his resting place, on the top of which is carved a hand holding a Bible open 
to the text, ' Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord.' " 

During Mr. Tisdale's ministry here, the debt of the society, $1,100, which had been incurred 
in building the meeting house, was paid up. There were also extensive repairs on the meeting 
house. The basement had been remodeled once or twice, and variously used for tenements. 
The town being without a Hall, an effort was made in 1849 to make arrangements to finish off 
rooms for their use in said basement. But the town declined to consider it. This period was as 
heretofore a time of self-denial and struggles to support the institutions of religion, yet, on the 
whole, it was a season of general prosperity to the church. The instructive preaching and private 



114 GILSUM. 

labors of Mr. Tisdale were by no means without effect. Though there was no marked revival, 

there was deep seriousness, an earnest religious thoughtfnlncss pervading the congregation, and 

eleven united with the church, whose names are as follows : — 

Lydia Eveline Miller Abbott, Sarah Ann Church, Hannah More Fish. Martha Paige Fish. Mary Wilcox Fish, 
Anna Maria Temple, Mary the -wife of True Webster, Charles Thomas Wetherby and Nancy his wife, Beulah 
Rizpah Wilcox, and Sally the wife of Eleazer Wilcox. Five of them are supposed to be still living. 

June 1, 1846, Amherst Hay ward was chosen Deacon in place of Dea. Brigham who had 
removed to Manchester. 

Rev. Abraham Jackson from Walpole, supplied the pulpit one year, but did not care to reside 
here. He was an interesting and instructive preacher. He died in Connecticut, April, 1S74, 
aged 82. 

Rev. Ezra Adams, formerly of Surry, and afterwards of Roxbury, was then hired for a year, 
and in January, 1851, accepted a call on a salary of three hundred and twenty-five dollars. He 
was installed March 19, 1851. The services on the occasion were as follows : Scriptures and 
Prayer, Rev. Bezaleel Smith, Roxbury ; Sermon and Installing Prayer, Rev. Dr. Barstow,Keene ; 
Charge to Pastor, Rev. S. S. Arnold, Acworth ; Right Hand, Rev. T. S. Norton, Sullivan ; 
Address to People, Rev. J. Perkins, East Alstead ; Concluding Prayer, Rev. Mr. Aspenwall of 
the Methodist Church, Gilsum. 

Mr. Adams continued pastor till his death in 1864, having been settled 13 years, and having 
preached here nearly one year before. His death in the midst of life was one of those afflictive, 
and to us mysterious Providences, in which God seems to have forgotten the necessities of his 
people, and the interests of his own kingdom. A page in the church records is thus inscribed : 

March 20th, 1864. 

This day departed this life much lamented, our beloved Pastor, Rev. Ezra Adams, aged 54, having had this 
church under his charge Fourteen years. 

There were present at his funeral six of the neighboring ministers. Rev. Dr. Barstow 
preached from Heb. 4 : 9. 

Rev. Ezra Adams graduated at Amherst College in 1835, and at East Windsor Theological 
Seminary in 1838. He was ordained pastor of the Church in Surry, Ap. 28, 1840. After 
three years he went to Roxbury where he labored seven years, and then removed to Gilsum. 

In early life he was sickly, and he considered that his life was prolonged only by his strictly temperate habits. 
His schoolmates used to tell him, he would certainly be a drunkard because he refused to drink with the rest. But 
he answered that if he never tasted liquor, it would be impossible. He was a good scholar and a diligent student. 

In a little volume which Mr. Adams wrote, entitled " Advice to an Enquirer, or Children led to 
Christ," we learn that he was early the subject of religious impressions, but being naturally diffident, he 
kept all to himself, and gave way to a self-righteous spirit ; became opposed to God, and the humbling 
doctrines of his word. For some years he continued in that condition, when a pious friend spoke kindly 
to him of the interests of his soul, and the Holy Spirit enabled him to look to the Lamb of God. As 
a pastor and minister of Christ, all are ready to testify how faithfully and perseveringly he prosecuted his work : 
and how discreetly he demeaned himself in all things. The crowning excellence of this beloved man was 
self-denial and self-sacrifice. That the Missionary Society might be less burdened, he voluntarily relinquished its 
aid, and thus diminished the little pittance of a salary which he received. 

His sermons were plain, practical presentations of the truth, clear and forcible, and especially free from any 
suspicion of cant or insincerity. Perhaps his most marked characteristic was a peculiarly unaffected simplicity, 
free from every semblance of sham. Of few men, in these days, could it as well be said, " Behold an Israelite 
indeed, in whom is no guile." He was specially gifted in prayer, seeming to have a nearness and freedom of access 
to God, granted to but few. He was a wise and judicious counselor, prudent in worldly affairs, with a business 
tact rare among clergymen. He was beloved by his parish, and highly respected throughout the town for his 
sterling worth. He served thirteen years as Superintending School Committee. 

Mr. Adams's ministry was one of marked usefulness. Through his efforts, and with no small 

self-denial on his part, as well as others, the aid received from the N. H. Missionary Society was 

given up, and the church has been self-sustaining ever since. The first year the aid was given 




<fe -10L CsV~(?l#^uJ 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 11? 

up, it was found the tax would lie a little more than 1| per cent on the taxable property. Mr 
Adams was unwilling the Society should be so burdened, and voluntarily reduced it to one pei 
cent, thus giving up over forty dollars of his salary, and continued to give up from forty to 
seventy dollars annually till his death. Soon after his settlement, a revival occurred in which 
many additions were made to the church, including some of the most active present members. 
The number of elderly people then brought in was particularly noticeable. 

The names besides his own were as follows : — Abigail the first wife of Kev. Ezra Adams, Alice Melissa the 
second wife of the same, William Bigelow Adams, Aaron Day and Jane his wife, Mary Louisa the wife of Franklin 
Downing, Elisha Snell Fish, Janette the wife of Moses Fish, Warren Foster and .Jane his wife, Elmira the wife of 
Winsor Gleason, Claudius Buchanan Hayward and Mary Louisa his wife, Sarah Jane Hayward, Martha the wife 
of Philander Howland, John Livermore, Chilion Mack. Elbridge Smith (afterwards Deacon,) and Mary Ann his 
wife, Eunice Morse Smith, Rebecca the wife of Solomon Smith. George William Foster Temple (afterwards Dea- 
con), Eliza Ann the wife of A. D. Towne, Sally the wife of Andrew Towne, Fanny the wife of Capt. Benjamin 
Ware, and Luther Abram Wilkins. Of these twenty-seven, 12 are now dead. 

Nov. 3, 18(34, Elbridge Smith was chosen to fill the office vacated by the death of Dea. Mark. 

After Mr. Adams's death, the neighboring ministers supplied the pulpit for two months, for 
the benefit of the family. Having heard various candidates, it was finally agreed to hire Rev. E. 
B. Bassett, from Westmoreland. He remained here about two years, and removed to Washing- 
ton, N. H., in 1866, and is now residing in Shutesbury, Mass. The following persons united with 
the church during his ministry : — 

Lucy D. the wife of Daniel Downing, Emily Graham Hayward, Esther White Hayward, and Harriet Augusta 
the wife of Lyman G. Pierce, two of whom are still living. 

In April, 1867, Rev. Horace Wood from Ossipec, who had been preaching here some months 
previous, was hired as stated supply, with a salary of three hundred and twenty-five dollars 
and the use of the parsonage, and continued here till August, 1875. At the beginning of his 
ministry a parsonage and lot was purchased, Dea. Hayward giving $500 for the purpose. 
Through the exertions of Mr. Wood $50 was obtained three successive years, from the Society 
for the promotion of Christian Knowledge, which was in part applied to help pay for the Parson- 
age. It cost $1,100, which has all been paid. The Meeting House was largely repaired, the 
basement remodeled into a comfortable vestry, and a new Cabinet Organ purchased, all involving 
an expense of something like $1,300. Mr. Wood obtained some assistance from abroad, and it 
should be specially noticed that many of those outside the church here generously aided in these 
important enterprises. 

Rev. Horace Wood was converted in the great revival at East Alstead in 1827, when 80 
united with the church, 7 of whom became ministers. His ancestry as far back as traced have 
been Christian people. On his mother's side the family is descended from the celebrated band 
of Waldenses who suffered the terrible persecutions of the 12th and 13th centuries. 

Having chosen the ministry as his calling, in Sept. 1831 he set out on foot for Kimball Union 
Academy, at Meriden, intending to work his way through College. The first term he supported 
himself, using what he had earned during the Summer, and also continuing some manual labor 
at the school. He subsequently received aid from Funds given for the purpose of preparing 
young men for the ministry. After a little more than a year, his health failed from over-work, 
especially from studying by lamp-light. He was therefore obliged to suspend his studies for three 
years, and ultimately give up the idea of a Collegiate course. This, he terms the great trial of 
his life. 

In 1836, his health had so far recovered that he was able to enter the Theological Seminary 
at Gilmanton, and was a member of the first class that graduated there. 

He was ordained and installed over the Congregational Church in Dalton, July 10, 1839, 



116 GILSUM. 

where he remained six years, preaching also a part of the time in Whitefield. In 1845, he 
removed to Gilmanton, where lie supplied the pulpit of the first Church for three years. In 1848, 
he began to preach for the Church at Center Ossipee, and was acting pastor there for fifteen years, 
having also supplied their pulpit in connection with Ossipee Corner one year more. Here he 
lin ried his first wife and their adopted daughter. He then resided two years at Ossipee Center, 
supplying the pulpit there and also at North Wolfeboro. 

In August, 1866, he began at Gilsum, where he remained as acting pastor for nine years, six 
of which he served the town as Superintending School Committee, and where he still resides. 
His health having somewhat failed, he found himself obliged to give up preaching in the Spring 
of 1875, since which he lias preached only rarely. For 36 years previous, he very seldom lost a 
Sabbath, and lie frequently speaks of his great enjoyment in the work of the ministry, and his 
thankfulness to God for continuing him so long in it. 

The Lord's Day, Oct. 27, 1872, being the Centennial Anniversary of the church, was com- 
memorated by a discourse in the morning, by Rev. Mr. Wood. Text, — Ps. 48 : 12-14. Sub 
ject, — Zion's beauty, strength, and safety. The Lord's Supper was observed in the afternoon, 
and in the evening a manuscript sermon of the first pastor was read. It was preached by him 
Dec. 15, 1793. Text, — Exodus 3 : 14. On Monday following, Rev. Silvanus Hay ward, th en 
of South Berwick, Me., delivered an historical address which was published in pamphlet form, 
and from which a large part of the preceding church history has been taken. 

During Mr. Wood's ministry the following persons besides himself united with the church : — 

Ann Cuthbert. Margaret Cuthbert, Franklin Downing, William Hayward, Nancy Houston, George Learoyd and 
Ann his wife, Elmina wife of Chilion Mack, Vienna Dort Mack, Lydia Caroline wife of Chester Nichols, Lyman 
Gilbert Pierce, Mary wife of James Rawson, Hannah Theodosia Spaulding, Lucy widow of Asa Whittemore, Almaria 
Wilder, Sarah Ann wife of Rev. Horace Wood, and Jane Elizabeth wife of George Wright, all but one of whom 
are still living. 

Iii June, 1875, Rev. Silvanus Hayward supplied the pulpit for Mr. Wood. On the resignation 
of Mr. Wood he was invited to become the acting pastor of the church with a salary of a thousand 
dollars and the use of the parsonage. He continued to hold the office for four years. The most 
important action of the Church, during his ministry, was the adoption of new Rules, and the 
remodeling of the Creed and Covenant. None of the old doctrines were omitted, but were 
expressed more entirely in Scriptural language, and the conditions of membership were made 
such as to exclude no one who gives credible evidence of believing in the Lord Jesus Christ. 

July 9, 1876, the Nation's Centennial was observed by the Church. The Meeting House was 
trimmed with evergreen and flowers. The pastor preached from Eccl. 7 : 10, and an interesting 
Centennial service was conducted by the Sabbath School. 

The following persons besides himself, were received into the Church during Mr. Hayward's 
ministry. One has since died. 

Sarah F. wife of Levi Barrett, Jane F. Crichton, Robert Cuthbert and Margaret H. his wife, Mason Guillow and 
Elizabetn C. his wife, Bell Hayward, Grace Hayward, H. Elvira wife of Rev. S. Hayward, Theron Hayward 
and Eniilie E. his wife, A. J. Howard (now Deacon,) and Rizpah M. his wife, Francis C. Minor and Emily F. his 
wife, Gustave Polzer and Ardella R. his wife, Huldah B. wife of George B. Rawson, and Carrie H. wife of John 
A. Smith ; also Dea. Elbridge Smith and Mary A. his wife were received back from the church in Keene to which 
they had been dismissed. 

METHODIST CHURCH. 

The history of this church is necessarily imperfect, very few records having been found. 
For the following account I am largely indebted to Rev. S. E. Quimby, Clerk of the N. H. Con- 
ference, and President of the Seminary at Tilton. 

Methodist preachers first came to Gilsum just about the beginning of the Century, possibly a 





^oc^u^ /^W/, 



.... -■,■:: ■-" "'J. 



METHODIST CHURCH. 117 

year or two earlier. The first positive record is in 1801. Their meetings were first held in one 
of the private houses in the edge of Keene ; — which house is not now known, perhaps in different 
places. Soon after, they came to Dea. Kilburn's, and held meetings in his house and barn. His 
daughter Jemima was the first person in Gilsum who joined their church. Afterwards they 
received many from different parts of the town. Some of their strongest supporters, as the 
Kilburns and the Blishes, came from the Congregational Church. 

Rev . John Gove (Appendix E) was probably the first preacher. He was here in 1801, and it 
was through his influence that Elder Kilburn was converted. He was here also in 1803, and 
perhaps later. Rev. John or Joshua Crowel was here about the same time. 

Rev. Martin Ruter, then only 16 years of age, preached here that year, and was considered 
" a prodigy." He was born in Charlton, Mass., Ap. 3, 1785. With no advantages for education, 
except the common school, his taste for study stimulated him to gather knowledge from every 
available source. Converted in 1799, the next year he was licensed to preach, and in 1801 was 
appointed on the Chesterfield circuit, during which appointment he preached in Gilsum. In 
1803, lie was ordained Deacon at the New York Conference, and the next year was stationed 
at Montreal. In 1805, at the age of 20, he was ordained Elder and appointed to Bridgewater 
circuit in N. H. The same year he married Sibyl Robertson of Chesterfield. He was after- 
wards stationed at Northfield, Portsmouth and Nottingham, and in 1808 at Boston, Mass. In 
1809, he returned to N. H. and married Ruth Young of Concord. He was appointed to 
Portland, Me., in 1811, and afterwards resided at North Yarmouth, Me., " and preached in 
the vicinity." In 1815, he was at Salisbury, Mass., and two years following at Philadelphia, 
renn. " In 1818, the degree of A. M. was conferred upon him by Asbury College, Baltimore, 
Md., and he was appointed to take charge of New Market Wesleyan Academy. In 1820, he was 
elected Agent of the Cincinnati Book Concern and honored with the degree of D. D. by the 
University at Lexington, Ky." In 1828 he was appointed President of Augusta College, Ky. Four 
years later he resigned, and was stationed at Pittsburg, Penn. " In 1831 he was appointed 
President of Alleghany College, where he remained until, at his own request, he was sent a mis- 
sionary to Texas in 1837, and was appointed by Bishop Hedding, Superintendent of the Texas 
Mission. Having accomplished the object of his mission, he started for home, but was taken 
sick and died at Washington, Tex., May 16, 1838. He was buried there, and a handsome monu- 
ment erected by public subscription, marks the spot." 

He was a man of rather feeble constitution, much devoted to God, more than ordinary preaching abilities, very 
studious ; — a self-taught scholar, he was not only acquainted with his mother tongue, but had a good knowledge 
of the Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and French languages, and paid some attention to the Arabic and Persian. 

Bishop Hedding, who knew him intimately, says, " He was never known, accused, or even suspected of having 
done a mean action." 

Rev. Thomas Ravlin preached here in 1802, and Rev. John Tinkham in 1804 and 1805. 

Rev. Elijah Hedding preached here about 1806, and four years after, married a daughter of 
Dea. Blish " and took up his residence at Winchester." " As a boy he evinced more than ordi- 
nary physical and mental power, and an adventurous spirit. He led a somewhat wild life " till 
his conversion in 1798. Having preached two years under license, he was admitted to the N. Y. 
Conference in 1801. In 1803, he was on the Bridgewater circuit in N. H. In 1807-8, he was 
Presiding Elder on the N. H. District, and the following year on the New London District. He 
was stationed three times at Boston, Mass , also at Lynn, Mass., and Portland, Me. In 1821-2, 
lie was Presiding Elder on the Boston District. " In 1824, contrary to his own strongly 
expressed wishes, he was elected Bishop, and brought to the position all that zeal, devotion, 
industry, and strength of purpose, which characterized his previous life." 



118 GILSUM. 

" His family residence was in Lynn, Mass., from 1824 to 1837, when he removed to Lansing- 
burg, N. Y., and in 1842 to Saratoga Springs, from there in 1844 to Poughkeepsie, N. Y., where 
he died." 

David Kilburn says, " He was a man of commanding appearance, large and well-built frame, 
manners perfectly simple, and yet dignified, energetic, and a truly great and good man." 

Almost nothing can now be told of the next thirty years of Methodism in Gilsum. There 
was preaching from time to time, in private houses, and at the old Meeting House, but we have 
no record of appointments here. 

In August, 1829, a Camp Meeting in charge of Elder John W. Hardy was held in the woods 
south of the old Keene road, above the Kilburn place, very near the town line. The spring 
stoned up for their use, also several stone fire-places for cooking can still be seen. (See map.) 

About 1834, meetings were held in Day's Hall at the Factory Village, and at the house of 
Gapt. John Taylor. One of the more prominent Methodist preachers at that time was 

Rev. William H. Brewster. — a native of Claremont, — '' a self-made man," entering the 
ministry at the age of 21. Early espousing the cause of Anti-slavery, in the struggles which 
arose he was led to sever his connection with the Methodists, and joined the Oongregationalists. 
" A greater part of his ministerial labor has been in cities, — twelve years in Lowell, Mass. ; 
five years in Providence, R. I. ; eleven years in Cleveland, Ohio." Since 1868, he has labored 
in various fields in Illinois, and is now at Blue Island, near Chicago. " During 45 years of 
ministry, he has been absent from his pulpit only a few Sabbaths on account of ill health, has 
taken but four vacations, neither of wliicli exceeded four weeks, is now able to preach twice on 
the Sabbath and attends S. School." 

At a Quarterly Meeting held in Gilsum in November, 1835, Rev. Lorenzo D. Barrows first 
received a " local preacher's license," and is remembered to have preached here occasionally 
while located at Keene soon after. At the time of his death in 1878, he was President of Tilton 
Seminary, and had for many years held a prominent position in the M. E. Church. 

In November, 1842, Rev. Samuel S. Dudley came to Gilsum and held meetings at the South 
School House. Quite a revival followed, bringing in the young people especially. The following 
year, he organized the Methodist Episcopal Church in Gilsum. Mr. Dudley was stationed here 
again in 1859, and after laboring in various fields, is now at Fitzwilliam. 

In 1845, the meetings were held in Dort's Hall, and many conversions were reported, some 
of whom went to the Baptists. Very soon after, the movement for a Meeting House was taken 
hold of in earnest. The work was accomplished in 1848, at a cost of $ 1,450. The building- 
Committee were Milton Silsby, Osman McCoy, and Justus Chapin. In 1876, this House was 
sold to the Town for #700. 

The ministers stationed or laboring here after Mr. Dudley were as follows : — 

Rev. Henry C. Henries was here a short time in 1847. The next year Rev. Amon S. 
Tenney took his place. He was followed in 1849-50 by Rev. Nathaniel W. Aspeniva/l who 
subsequently removed to Vt., where he died. Rev. Joseph Hayes who joined the N. H. Con- 
ference in 1810 was stationed here in 1851-2, and after laboring in various places is now at 
North Charlestown. Rev John M. Blake was stationed here the next two years. For the next 
six years Gilsum was classed with churches in the neighboring towns. In 1860-1, Elder Kil- 
burn, then residing in Keene, supplied the church. Rev. A. K. Howard now at South Acworth 
began here in 1864, and continued his services about three years. Rev. James Fitch from 
Conn, preached here a year or two, returned to Conn., and is reported to have become a Congre- 



BAPTIST CHURCH. 119 

gationalist. Rev. A. J. Howard subsequently preached for this church some two or three years. 
In 1869, they were supplied by Rev. H. W. Merrill who afterwards became a Baptist. The 
last regular supply of this church was Rev. G. A. Tyrell in 1870-1. 

Tbe Conference reports give the membership here mostly in connection with some neighbor- 
ing church. The largest number separately reported is 41 in 1861. The last report gives 25 in 
1874. About this time, the church was disbanded, and its membership was transferred to the 
M. E. Church at Marlow. 

The following list is as nearly complete as it can be made from memory of aged persons, and 
a few of the later records now in possession of F. A. Howard, Esq. : — 

Mary A. Austin, Robert Austin, Thomas Austin and Lucy his wife, Wesley Austin and Emily his wife, Hiram 
Baldwin and Elvira his wife, Dimmis S. Banks, Eliza V. Banks, Charles M. Barrett, Mary Ella Barrett, Ebenezer 
Bill and Elsea his wife, Emily Bill, Anna Blish, David Blish, Jr., John Blish, Lucy Blish, Lucy wife of Dea. David 
Blish, Zeruiah Blish, Lucinda wife of James Bolster, Ansel Borden, Mrs. Selden Borden, Sen., Reuben Brown and 
Sena his wife. Davis Carpenter and Livonia his wife, Jedediah Carpenter and Eunice B. his wife, Fanny Chapin, 
Martha Chapin, Charles Cobb and Louisa hi.s wife, Dolly wife of Abram Converse, Loena Converse, Sophronia 
wife of Charles E. Crouch, Alexander Cuthbert and Allison his wife, Daniel Day, Jr., and Hannah G. his wife, 
Anna wife of John Dustin, Nathan Ellis, Jr., Ephraim P. Everdon and Sally his wife, Maggie N. wife of Rev. 
James Fitch, Cyrus Gates, Marvin Gates (steward.) Winsor Gleason, Josiah Grimes, Nancy Grimes, Sally wife of 
John Grimes, Effie R. Guillow, Daniel W. Gunn, Elijah Gunn and Louisa his wife, Elisha W. Gunn and Martha 
A. his wife, E. Nelson Gunn, Martha E. Gunn, Mary L. Gunn, widow Polly Gunn, Eunice Hall, Sarah H. wife 
of Rev. Joseph Hayes, Edith T. Hayward, Mary Hendee, Fanny Houghton, Daniel Howard and Sally his wife, 
Francis A. Howard (steward) and Eiiza E. his wife, Francis C. Howe and Sarah his wife, Ebenezer Jones, Mary 
A. and Rhoda Elvira his wives, John Clark Kendrick and Rebecca his wife, Clarissa Kilburn, Rev. David Kilburn, 
Iddo Kilburn and Abigail his wife, Polly Kilburn. Dr. Timothy S. Lane and Mary his wife. Dr. I. Albert Love- 
land, Nabby Loveland, Sally Loveland, Sarah T. wife of Israel B. Loveland, Stephen Mansfield and Nancy his 
wife, Luther VV. F. Mark (steward) and Emily Z. his wife, Elizabeth wife of George H. McCoy, Hattie E. 
McCoy, Osman McCoy (steward) and Miranda L. his wife, Francis C. Minor (steward) and Emily his wife, 
Abigail M. Nash, Elizabeth wife of Jacob D. Nash, Hannah Nash, John Nash and Ruth his wife, George K. 
Nichols (steward,) John B. Otis and Mary C. his wife, Calvin Randall and Sarah his wife, Ivory Randall and 
Sally his wife, Peter Rice and Lucy his wife, Milton Silsby and Betsey his wife, John H. Sparhawk, Catherine H. 
Taylor, Caty L. wife of Capt. John Taylor, Emeline Taylor, Simeon Taylor and Eunice his wife, Fanny M. wife 
of Milan Towne, Charles T. Townsen'd, Martha wife of Capt. Benjamin Ware, Rachel S. wife of David Ware, 
Samuel B. Ware, Theoda Ware, Amos Weeks, Butler A Whittemore and Julia A. his wife, Maria C. Whitte- 
more, George W. Willis, Harriet C. Wilson, Mary wife of Calvin Wilson, Jonathan Winch, Oren Wyman and 
Robert P. Young. About sixty of these 137 are supposed to be still living. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

There seems to have been no preaching regularly by the Baptists in this town, till a com- 
paratively recent date. Persons of that persuasion went to Alstead, at first, where Elder Higbee 
was pastor. Probably there was occasional preaching by him and others in some parts of 
Gilsum, but the principal Baptist influence that extended to Gilsum, was from meetings held in 
the north part of Sullivan by Elder Higbee, and others, about the beginning of the present 
century. Feb. 11, 1806, a " Baptist Society " was organized at Sullivan. There are 21 names 
signed to the Constitution, but there are no means of determining just how many joined at that 
time. Of these names the following seven will be recognized as Gilsum men : — 

Antipas Maynard, Benjamin Thompson, Daniel Converse, Israel Loveland, John Borden, Selden Borden, John 
Withington. ' 

As appears from the names in records of subsequent meetings there were others that after- 
wards joined, but their names are not signed to the Constitution. The first year, thirty dollars 
was raised for preaching, which was paid to seven different individuals for 15 days' preaching at 
the " north school house in Sullivan." Jan. 14, 1808, a Council was convened in Sullivan, 
(whether at tbe School House, or at a private house the records do not state,) " In pursuance 
to letters missive from the Baptist Brethren in Sullivan and Gilsum." The churches in Alstead, 
Dublin and Swanzey were the only ones represented. Elder William M'Culler of Swanzey was 



120 aiLSUM. 

chosen Moderator, and Brother Charles Cummings of Dublin, Clerk. The Council proceeded to 
organize the " Sullivan Baptist Church." The names of the original members cannot now be 
distinguished from those who afterwards joined. Almost no records were kept till 1831, or if 
kept, have not been preserved. Oct. 9, 1809, Daniel Converse was chosen Deacon. March 15, 
1810, the Church gave a call to Charles Cummings, " to take upon you the office of Eider or 
Evangelist or an Itinerant Preacher but at the same time to take the care of this Chh." A 
Council was called to meet Oct. 23, and the ordination took place on the 24th. Elder Cummings 
seems to have supplied the church for nearly twenty years. The sum raised each year for the 
support of preaching was from $35 to $ (30, to secure preaching half the time. The services were 
in the north school house, the center school house, and the Meeting House, when they could get 
it. As in other places, the Meeting House belonged to the town, and was for a long period 
divided among the different denominations according to their proportion of taxes. The latter 
part of this period they also secured a Hall at Sullivan Center. 

In 1840, the Constitution of the Society was revised, and of the twenty who became members 
from that time, the following belonged to Gilsum : — 

Stephen Foster, Jr., Hartley Thurston, David Randall, Timothy Dort, Winsor Gleason, George W. Foster, and 
Jesse Dart. 

In 1839 and 1840, the Society raised $150 on condition of having preaching all the time. 
The sums subsequently raised, varied from $30 to $85 till 1849, after which no money was raised 
by vote, only by subscription. There was a vote each year, however, appropriating " a part or 
all of our fund money for the support of the gospel." What this fund money was, I have been 
unable to find out. For the last few years the Society is called " the First Baptist Society of 
Sullivan and Gilsum," though there is no record of a vote to make the change. The last Society 
meeting was " at Jesse Dart's in Gilsum." Jan. 3, 1859, at which only ordinary routine business 
was recorded. 

Sept. 14, 1836, the Church " Voted to give Brother Arnold Kingsbury a call to ordination & 
settlement over Sullivan & Nelson Church in connection." He was accordingly ordained by a 
Council Nov. 2, 1836, Rev. John Woodbury of Swanzey being Moderator, and Rev. Frederick 
Page of Hancock, Scribe. 

Aug. 25, 1839, the Church " Voted to give Bro. D. P. French a call to ordination as an 
Evangelist." A Council representing fourteen, churches was convened and the ordination took 
place Sept. 4, 1839. Rev. David Gage of Washington was Moderator and Rev. John Peacock of 
Keene, Scribe. The sermon was preached by Rev. John Woodbury of Hancock. 

In 1841, Rev. Sem Pierce was employed and remained for about two years. 

Somewhere about 1848, the records fail to show when, this Church and Society held its 
meetings in the Methodist Meeting House at Gilsum. Rev. Henry Archibald was their pastor. 
Rev. John Peacock, an evangelist, labored here in the winter of 1852-3. The Society became 
small and unable to sustain preaching. The last Church record is the following : — 

Gilsum Aug. 15 — 61. 

Met at Brother Goodhues [in Alstead] 2 C hoes Bro. Rawson Moderator S Foster Clerk protein 3 Chose S 
Foster Commitee to look after the Church property now belonging to the church and dipose of it at his discis- 
sion for any worthy Baptist Church or to the cause of domestic Missions 

4 Voted to adopt the following Preamble and resolutions 

Whereas in view of the changes in our circumstances & the many obstacles in the way of our further honor- 
able & useful existence as a church, it has become our settled conviction that our organization should cease, there- 
fore, 

Resolved That, when proper letters of dismission shall have been provided all our members in regular standing 
upon which they may unite with neighboring sister churches, — this church be disbanded, its organised existence 
ceasing. 

Resolved That the Clerk be directed to furnish such letters in behalf of the church. 



CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 121 

The Gilsuui members of this church, so far as the records show, have been the following, — 

in order of record : — 

Daniel Converse, Selden Borden, Antipas Maynard, Stephen Foster, Jr., Luther Hemenway, Luther Hemen- 
way, Jr., Solon W. Eaton, Otis Atnmidon, Francis Bolster, Ephraim Howe, Francis Howe, Asbury Howe, Asa 
Howe, John Q. A. Ware, Jesse Dart, George W. Foster, Henry Archibald, David Randall, Elizabeth Maynard, 
Delilah Converse, Finis Hemenway, Betsey Banks, Lucena G. Thompson, Nancy B. Foster, Cynthia Hemen- 
way, Phila Corey, Susan Farrar, Julia H. Dort, Mrs. E. Howe, Mary Towne. Mary Ann Bolster, Olive Bolster, 
Maria T. Dart, Susanna Farrar, Mary Isham. Mary Farrar, Luthera P. Randall, David Randall, A. Jackson 
Thurston, Timothy Dort, Hartley Thurston, Windsor Gleason, Jr., Lydia Thompson, Fanny Livermore, Martha 
A. Livermore, Angelia M. Gleason. 

UNIVERSALISTS. 

There has never been any church of this order in Gilsum. The doctrine was brought here 
about the beginning of the Century. Rev. Zebulon Streeter of Surry was one of the most 
prominent Universalist preachers in this and the neighboring towns. When the Meeting House 
was divided, the Universalists claimed their share of the time. There has been but little preach- 
ing, otherwise than occasional funerals in families devoted to this belief. The most active and 
efficient disseminator of this doctrine was the wife of Major Bill. Whatever Universalism has 
existed in Gilsum to this day, is probably due more to her influence than to all other causes com- 
bined. At the present time, though perhaps no member of a Universalist Church can be found 
here, yet many if asked of their belief would probably call themselves Universalists. 

CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 

The entire lack of records renders the available history of this Church exceedingly meagre. 
The following sketch has been picked up here and there, but has been mainly furnished by Elder 
A. J. Howard : — 

The doctrines of this Church were first introduced to Gilsum by Elders E. B. Rollins and 
John Smith, two young men who came to Gilsum in 1818, and held meetings in private dwellings 
and school houses. " A reformation followed their labors, the outgrowth of which was the 
organization of the Christian Church." The exact date of its organization is not known. Can- 
didates for membership were expected to relate " their religious experience and give evidence of 
leading a new life." They were then baptized, " taking the Scriptures as their only creed, 
believing that ' all Scripture is given by inspiration of God,' being ' able to make wise unto 
salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus.' There was not a uniformity of belief, each 
individual interpreting scripture according to his own understanding, fellowship being based on 
Christian character. This view was then deemed dangerous and unwise, and met with much 
opposition." The doctrines taught were looked upon by other denominations " as little less than 
heresy," and some " deemed it duty to discountenance their teachings in every form." 

In 1835, and again in 1837, protracted meetings were held at the Old Meeting House, and in 
the Boarding House Hall. The principal speakers were Elder Rollins and Rachel Hosmer, 
daughter of Dr. Hosmer. Elder Rollins remained here several years and re-organized the church 
not entirely to the satisfaction of some of the old members. 

" The history of this Church is about what must be expected of any feeble church without a 
house to worship in, and without means to support preaching, sometimes trying to live, and then 
so near dead that hardly any signs of life remained, one after another having passed away, 
till the Church lost its visibility." Of the surviving members a few remain without any partic- 
ular church connection, but most have joined other churches, several coming to the Congregational 
Church, when they found the conditions of membership had become such as to involve no sac- 
rifice of conscientious principle in so doing. (Page 116.) 



122 GILSUM. 

The principal preachers of the Christian Church in Gilsum have been the following : — 
Elder Edward B. Rollins was originally from Andover. " He entered the Christian 
ministry in 1815, and traveled and preached in twenty-three States of the Union, also in New 
Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Canada, and delivered more than fourteen thousand public addresses. 
He was editor of 'The Vermont Luminary,' Randolph, Vt., 1826; and 'The Green Mountain 
Eagle,' Wilmington, Vt., 1850. He was also in the service of his country in the war of 1812." 
He believed he was called to the gospel ministry and went forth into the world, and preached that men 
should repent and turn to God. He was a man of noble personal appearance, with strong intellectual powers, and 
a good voice, having much power in the gift of song. lie was an able debater thoroughly versed in the scriptures, 
they being to him the foundation of all religions truth. His solemn appeals were made in scripture language, and 
being accompanied by the Spirit, moved the hearts of those that heard. 

Elder John Smith was a son of Samuel Smith. (Chap. 36.) "He was spoken of as a 
devoted minister of Christ," and died somewhere in New York, leaving four sons. Elder Jacob 
B. Burnham lived in Walpole, where he married Betsey Dickey, — preached here at times, but 
never resided in Gilsum. Elder Josiah Knight, preached here for a time, when he was a young 
man residing at Dea. James Mark's. Elder Seth Allen resided in Marlow and preached here 
after Elder Knight left. Elder Ira R. Pettengill also resided in Marlow and supplied the 
Church here for a time. Elder Jared Greene lived at Dea. James Mark's, and his wife taught 
school. Elder Bennett Palmer lived here two or three years. He afterwards went to Marlow 
and was chosen Representative to the Legislature. Elder Amos Stevens was here when a young 
man and lived at Dea. Brigham's. He removed to Ohio. Elder Daniel Winchester was from 
Westmoreland. He lived here about four years, and removed to Vermont. He came back in 
1812, and introduced the teachings of Elder Miller. Elder Charles E. Baker was a farmer 
here for about twelve years, and preached for this church, as opportunity offered. He removed 
to Concord and afterwards to Massachusetts, where he died. Elder John Spaulding- was here 
with Elder Hendee, and worked at awl-making for Elder Hemenway. 

Elder Jehiel P. Hendee was a native of Randolph, Vt., and a wheelwright by trade. He had 
only a common-school education, but having some natural gifts as a speaker, he was encouraged by 
his brethren in the Christian Church to enter the ministry. He accordingly became a preacher, 
and as such was a member of the Christian Conference but was never ordained. From 1831 to 
1833 he resided in Stowe, Vt., where he published the " Christian Summary." He soon after 
went to Middlesex, Vt., and in 1835 came to Gilsum and remained about three years. He then 
removed to Morrisville, Vt., and afterwards to Lowell, Mass., returning to Morrisville in 1845, 
where he died at the comparatively early age of 45. 

Though never ordained or permanently located as pastor of a church, he frequently preached with acceptance in 
the various towns of his residence. "He was a very upright man, — had good abilities as a writer and minister, — 
was an excellent debater, and was an abolitionist from the start of that party, and was also a thorough and strong 
temperance man and advocate." 

(For Elders Hudson, Hemenway, and Howard, see Chaps. 3(3-7-8.) 

In the absence of records the following list of Gilsum members of the Christian Church is 
as nearly complete as memory will admit : — 

Aaron Brigham and Charlotte his wife, William Campbell and Nancy his wife, Simon Carpenter and Anna 
his wife, David Chapin, Fanny Chapin, Joseph M. Chapin and Dimmis his wife, Justus Chapin (afterwards Dea- 
con) and Annis his wife, Martha Chapin, Rebecca Chapin, Huldah Clark, Jonathan Clark and Delilah his wife, 
Joseph Clark and Rizpah his wife, Mercy Clark, Polly Clark, Samuel Clark and Sally his wife, Ira Emerson Corn- 
stock, William E. Comstock, Abram Converse, Daniel Converse and Ruth his wife, Deliverance Converse, Polly 
Converse, Rosanna Converse, Sally Converse, David Dean, Moses Farnsworth, Mason Guillow and Ormacinda his 
wife, Artemas P. Hemenway, Luther Hemenway and Finis his wife, Josiah Hendee, Andalusia Howard, Andrew 
J. Howard and Rizpah his wife, Harriet P. Howard, Mary Catherine Howard, Thomas Howard and Pamela his 
wife, Betsey Ishani, Polly Isham, Rebecca Isham, Esther Loveland, Syrena E. Loveland, Chilion Mack, Capt. Solo- 
mon Mack and Esther his wife, Solomon Mack, Jr., and Adeline his wife, Betsey Mark, James Mark (afterwards 



MORMONS. 123 

Deacon) and Lois his wife, Louisa Mark, Luther W. Mark and Mary his wife, Orinda wife of Waldo May, Asa 
Nash (afterwards Deacon,) David Smith and Lucy his wife, Samuel Smith, Benjamin Thompson and Anna his wife, 
Hannah Thompson, John Thompson and Sally his wife, Julia Thompson, Lydia Thompson, Polly Thompson, Jon- 
athan Twining and Eliza A. his wife, Elijah Ware, Mary wife of David Ware, Samuel White and Abigail his 
wife, Abigail White, and Lucy Whitney. Of these 84 about twenty are supposed to be living. 

MORMONS, OR LATTER DAY SAINTS. 

The fact that Lucy Mack, the mother of Joseph Smith, was a native of Gilsum, and that her 
brother and his family resided here, was undoubtedly the principal cause of the introduction of 
Mormonism into Gilsum. In 1836, Joseph Smith, Sen., father of "the prophet," and his 
brother John, visited their relatives in Gilsum, and vainly endeavored to convert them to their 
new doctrines. In 1841, Elders E. P. Maginn and Austin Cowles came and held a protracted 
meeting in the old Meeting House. They received 16 converts from this and the neighboring 
towns. A church was organized, called " Gilsum Branch of Latter Day Saints." The exact 
date of organization is not known. The first record is dated " Tuesday Morning 8 Oclock A. M. 
October 1842." Meetings were held in the following years at Dort's Hall and various other 
places, with considerable success. The Elders seem to have been itinerant. The following- 
Elders are named in the records, as being here, during the history of " Gilsum Branch " : E. P. 
Maginn, Austin Cowles, Ormus Bates, Luther Reed, Charles A. Adams, and Jesse C. Little. 
The records are evidently incomplete. The first recorded choice of President of the Gilsum 
Branch is that of Elder Adams, Ap. 30, 1843. Chilion Mack was the only Clerk. In August 
following, Elder Little was chosen President, and apparently continued in office as long as the 
" Gilsum Branch " retained its organization. After five or six years this Branch got into quar- 
rels in matters of discipline. The cause is not clear in the record, but old members say it was 
connected mainly with the subject of intemperance. The records of the new Branch intimate 
that the trouble was an unwillingness on the part of some, to submit to the church authorities. 
In 1849, Elder Joseph Grover, recommended by the " Twelve Apostles," came to Gilsum, and 
after holding meetings, and investigating the troubles, organized a new Branch, 

at the dwelling House of Solomon Mack, Jr., May 28, 1849. After some appropriate remarks by Elder 
Grover Showing the importance of saints being united and living in love and felowship with each other that our 
faith may be strengthened, and that we instruct one another in priciples of Kighteousnss as we shall obtain 
information through the means prepared of God for that purpose even through his Servents posessing the Priest- 
hood and the Revelations which are or shall be given for the benifit of the Saints in the Last Days 

That such Love and union does not exist in the Gilsum Branch is plain and obvious to every thinking mind 
and contention is calculated to destroy the Saints Therefore it is not wisdom to introduce new members into a 
blanch full of contention And as there are members that do not belong to any Branch we will Organise a branch 
to be Called the Cheshire County Branch of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints 

To be subject to the propper Authority of said Church at all times 

The following persons were then Organised as a branch under the above name 

Joseph Grover and his wife Rebecca D Grover Willard S Cady and wife Abigail M Cady by appointing Joseph 
Grover President and Willard S Cady Clerk 

Recommended that we pray for the Constituted Authority of said Church uphold and 
sustain them for where the Priesthood and records with a majority of the Church goes there is the true Church 
Therefore we discountenance all Apostacy from the Presidency and Council of said Church 

we will uphold the Chorum of the Twelve Apostles and all the Chorums of the church 

We will hold ourselves ready at all times to Abide by the council and instruction of the above named 
Authority ..... 

And that all shall be united for union is our moto Peace our theame the Glory of God and Salvation of Man 
our object 

May the Blessings of Heaven and Earth Attend us is our Prayer in the name of Jesus, Amen 

Joseph Grover 

President 
Willard S Cady 
Clerk 

A part of these original members, and some received soon after, were those who had been 

excluded from the Gilsum Branch. Having been duly organized, they speedily retaliated, at a 



124 GILSUM. 

Conference held in Dort's Hall, July 21 and 22, 1849, by cutting off the remaining members of 
Gilsum Branch. At this conference much was said about sustaining the authority of the church, 
and the ostensible reason for the exclusion of these members was for " rejecting authority, and 

quiriling for slander and abusing the authority of the church and for apostacy, 

&c. &c." Elder Solomon Mack was chosen President, which office he held as long as any organ- 
ization was sustained. This Branch seems to have been very inactive as there are almost no 
records till Aug. 21, 1855, when the Branch was " KeOrganized by Martin H. and E. M. Peck." 
Solomon Mack was re-elected President, and John Young, Clerk. In 1856, Benjamin H. Horton 
was chosen Clerk and no other has since been chosen. In 1857, the Branch was visited by 
" Elder Win. H. Branch on a Mission from Utah to the State of New Hampshire," who re-bap- 
tized most of the members. The remaining records consist mainly of visits by various messen- 
gers from Utah, and baptisms, re-baptisms, and ordinations. 

The resident members of the Gilsum Branch as shown by the records in order of joining, 
were the following : — 

Daniel Converse, Edna Beckwith, AVilliam Barns [Barron,] Solomon Mack, Jr., Rebecka Davis, Dolly Con- 
verse, Lucy Gates, Cynthia Barron, Martha Metcalf, Rebecca Chapin, David Adams, Sophia Foster, Nancy B. 
Foster, Allice Adams, Joanna Beckwith. William Campbell, Alvah Foster, Nancy Heudee, Susan Gates, Stephen 
Foster, Chilion Mack, Zenas D. Metcalf, Kimbal Metcalf, Sally Loveland, Finice Guillow, Luther S. Hemming- 
way, Alvira Hemmingway, Nancy Campbell, Hemon Gates, Abigail Davis, Elisha Foster, Betsey Foster, Adaline 
Mack, Hannah Mack, Eliza G. Nash, Zerua Guillow, Asa Nash, Paul Farnsworth, Israel Loveland, Sally Murphy, 
Fanny Hendee, Lydia Foster, and Bethany Barron. 

The original members of the Cheshire Co. Branch were : — 

Joseph Grover, Rebecca D. Grover, Willard S. Cady, Abigail M Cady, Solomon Mack, Jr., and Adaline K. 
Mack. 

Of those not members of the Gilsum Branch, the following are recorded : — 
Lorena Howard, John H. A. Young, Elisha Nash, George S. Howard, Deliverance Nash, J. W. Pierce, Beuj. 
H. Horton, Andrew I. Gates, Ellen Gates, Lucy Gates, and John Dustin. 

Under the re-organization of 1857, there were only eight resident members, with no new 
names. Some other of our citizens are reported to have been baptized by Elder Mack, but these 
are all that the records show. 

We find also the record of the following ordinations of Gilsum men : — 

At Walpole Ap. 13, 1844, William Campbell and Luther S. Hemmenway. At Peterboro'. July 13 or 14, 1844, 
" Under the hands of Elder's Brigham Young & Orson Pratt," Solomon Mack, Zenas D. Metcalf, Stephen Foster, 
Elisha Foster, Alvah Foster, Chilion Mack, and Asa Nash. July 1 1857, Heman Gates, by William Walker 
and Solomon Mack. At Philadelphia, Penn. Dec. 25. 1856 Solomon Mack was ordained to the High Priesthood, 
by Elders John Taylor and N. H. Felt. 

No meetings have been held for a long time, and most of these members have apparently 
fallen away from Mormonism, some to other chinches, and some to no church. It is impossible 
to say how many quietly retain their faith in the Mormon church. Elder Mack is the only one 
who openly maintains the doctrine at present. John H. A. Young and his wife Edna, William 
Campbell and his wife Nancy, Luther S. Hemmenway and his wife Elvira, went to join the body 
of the faithful at Utah. Several of them perished on the way. Elder Solomon Mack went as 
far as Kansas, but his family not being willing to go with him, he returned home. 

MILLERISM. 

The first preaching of this doctrine in Gilsum was in October, 1842, by Elder Daniel 
Winchester. As is well known, the day on which the world was to come to an end was set in 
April, 1843. Meetings were held almost every night through the winter. There was great 
excitement among a certain class in the community, and many baptisms took place. No list of 
those embracing this delusion can now be given. Nor would it be desirable. Finding them- 



SCHOOLS. 125 

selves deceived, not many could be again cajoled by the fixing of another day. The excesses of 
disorder, and squandering of property authentically reported in many other places did not, 
however, reach Gilsum to any considerable extent. It is not known that any here continued 
their belief for more than a year or two. Alden Greene was a devoted Seventh Day Adventist. 

SPIRITUALISTS. 

There never has been any organization of this belief in Gilsum. There are, however, a few 
holding its doctrines, and there have been occasional sittings, and " spiritual manifestations," to 
the satisfaction of the believers. 



CHAPTER XXI. 

SCHOOLS. 

" There stands in every country town 
A school house and a church, 
The parson with his awful frown, 
And he who wields the birch." 

Who was the first to " wield the birch " in Gilsum cannot now be told. All the school 
history prior to 1700, remains in oblivion. There can be no doubt, however, that schools were 
maintained here long before that time. They were at first held in private houses. The winter 
school was considered of principal importance, and was always taught by a man. The celebrity 
of a " master" depended largely on his being able to " thrash the big boys." Every boy went 
to school till lie was of age, and sometimes longer ; so that there were generally, in those days 
of large families, from six to twenty full grown young men in the school. Successfully to 
manage these was no light task. Only the younger children attended the summer school, all 
that were large enough being kept at work in the house and field. 

Rachel Bill, the oldest child of Maj. Bill, and afterwards the wife of William Baxter, was a 
famous " school ma'am," having been employed with great success in Gilsum, Keene and 
Sullivan, nearly every summer from 1787 to 1800. The certificate of which the following is a 
copy, is in possession of her grand-nephew, George Hammond : — 

These may certify whom it may concern That haveing examined Miss Rachel Bill concerning her qualifications 
for a Schooldauie cannot but judge her a person qualified for that business and as such do hereby reccommend her 
wherever a door shall be opened for her improvement 

Gilsum may 30 Ul 1791 ' Clement Sumner 

Silvanus Hay ward was a. prominent teacher in this and the neighboring towns for many 
years. Obadiah Root, nephew of Mrs. Major Bill, was another of the early " school masters." 
" Squire Hammond " was eminent as a teacher for many years. Somewhat later, " Squire 
Pease," and " Cajit. Lord Mack " were successful pedagogues. Others, perhaps equally prom- 
inent, are too numerous to mention. No doubt many anecdotes of those early school days 
might have been preserved that would add interest to this volume. But they are mostly for- 
gotten now. 

To read and spell and write, beginning with straight lines and " pot hooks " followed by 



126 GILSUM. 

" coarse hand " nearly half an inch in height, and to " cipher," were all the best masters thought 
of teaching. Geography came in soon, and Grammar worked its way slowly into the schools, in 
the first part of the present century. Now, there is scarcely a branch of study taught in our 
Colleges, but may be sometimes found in our district schools. Too many, however, only skim 
over the surface, and actually acquire less valuable knowledge than in those early days. 

It has already been seen that the charter made provision for the support of schools, by grant- 
ing one share of 250 acres for that purpose. This share was " No. 1 and No. 2 in the 12 th 
Range and the East half of No. 2 in the 11 th Range," also half of the 2 nd Lot 3 d Range in " the 
second division." (Map, page 24.) In 1794, the town 

Voted to sell the School Rite of Land Belougin to the town M r Samuel Whitney John Mark Zadok Hurd 
David Blish Be a Committe to Sell S d Land 

No account of the sale is found. The only record referring to it is in 1798, as follows : — 

Voted that David Blish Ceep the Notes Reed for the School Right Choose Cap' Hurd Majah Bill David 
Blish a Committe to take Care of the Money Reed for the School Right. 

It appears by the following records from the Treasurer's Book, that this Committee loaned 

it out in small sums : — 

Intrests Money for 1799 

Cent 

Samuel Mark .$3 — 45 

Jonathan Clark 1 — -95 

Jedidiah Carpenter . . . . . 6 — 20 

Elijah Bond 2 — 70 

Elezer Willcox 3 — 70 

James Nash 2 — 

$20 00 

The records also show the same amount of " Interest Money for Schooli ng " nearly every 
year since. The principal changed hands many times. It will be seen that the amount received 
for the School Right must have been $333,331, which sum is named in the report of the Select- 
men for 1831. In war time, being obliged to borrow money at high rates of interest, the 
Selectmen called in these loans. The town therefore has in its possession a permanent School 
Fund yielding, at six per cent interest, twenty dollars per annum. 

Another source of income for the support of schools is the Literary Fund. This is a tax 

laid by the State upon the capital stock of all Banking Institutions, and distributed to the towns 

according to their Levy, and by law devoted to the maintenance of schools. This Fund seems to 

have been first received in 1829, when the town 

Voted that the money received from the Literary fuud be kept good as to the principal and to lay out the 
interest annually. In 1835, Voted that one third of the Principal of the Literary Fuud be laid out yearly . 
also what is received hereafter be appropriated as fast as it may be [received.] 

The amount of this Fund for 1829 is not on record. For 1830 it was $17.20, and for 1878 
it was $55.04. 

Had the original plan of reserving the principal been followed to this time, the town would 
have a large Fund yielding probably much more than the whole annual Fund now amounts to. 
The dog tax is another income for the aid of schools. The tax for the present year is $29. 
Last year it was $40. 

In 1790, we find " Ten pound " raised for schooling. In 1792, the money raised " with what 
the State ordered" was "Twenty pound." Not far from the same amount, varying from 
seventy to one hundred dollars, was raised each year for about ten years. In 1802, there is no 
record of raising money for schools, and from that time till 1847, no money was raised above 
what the law required. Nearly every year, an article was in the warrant, but was either dismissed 



SCHOOLS. 127 

or the town voted " not to raise any school money." But in 1847, it was " Voted to raise $300 
for support of schools including the sum required by law." In 1849, the sum was advanced to 
#400, and so continued till 1855, when the vote was to raise $175.23 in addition to the sum 
required by law, and the same was voted the next year. In 1857, #550 was raised in all, and the 
same each year till 1860, when $575 was raised, dropping to $500 in 1861. In 1864, the sum 
was increased to $600, continuing the same till 1869, when $700 was raised. In 1874, the amount 
was increased to $800, and so continued for three years. In 1877, it was raised to $900, but in 
1878 went down to #850. The amount required by law is nearly $500. There ought to be 
enough raised and so managed as to secure to each child of suitable age and ordinary health, at 
least thirty-six weeks of schooling in the year. 

In most country towns, the apathy on the subject of schools is amazing. Outside the family 
and the church, there are no influences so vital to the welfare of the community as those which 
emanate from public schools. And as in too many homes the family influence is far from elevat- 
ing, and in our intense individualism and fear of priestcraft, church influence fails to reach 
directly only a fraction of the young, the public school comes to be the principal dependence for 
imbuing the youthful mind and heart with sentiments of patriotism and virtue. In the present 
state of society, it is mainly through schools, that children imbibe ideas of the beauty of morality, 
and are trained to habits of purity and manliness, whereby they may become useful citizens, a 
source of strength and protection instead of weakness and danger to our great republic. Since 
education is more important than all other enterprises, it becomes our duty, in ordinary circum- 
stances, to place it foremost in the amount of money raised and expended. 

In 1816, and several times after, the subject of dividing the school money was discussed but 
no action was taken. Till 1845, the division seems to have been entirely by the valuation of 
property, on the theory that each family was entitled to just the amount of their own taxes, in 
schooling for their children. In 1845, it was " voted to divide the School money one third 
equally among the seven first school districts, and the remainder according to the Levy." The 
same plan seems to have prevailed for the next twenty years. In 1866, it was voted to divide 
one half equally, and the remainder on the Levy. In 1868, it was divided one half equally, one 
fourth by the Levy, and one fourth by the number of pupils. In 1869, each district was given 
$100, and what was left was divided as the year before. This plan was followed for three years. 
In 1872, the same plan was adopted with this addition, that if the amount paid to any district 
should exceed $135, the excess should be divided equally among the other districts. In 1873, it 
was the same except that the limit was made $140 instead of $135. In 1875 and '76, $80 was 
voted to each district, one half the remainder to be divided by the Levy, and the other half by 
the number of scholars. In 1877, $100 was first given to each district and the remainder divided 
as before. In 1878, $200 was distributed according to valuation, and the remainder divided 
equally. 

Between 1840 and 1850, there was a great school revival throughout Cheshire County, largely 
due to the efforts of Rev. Levi W. Leonard of Dublin. The clergy generally, of all sects, were 
nobly active in the cause. This was the day of Teachers' Institutes, — genuine schools for drill, — 
which stimulated and awakened many a before indifferent teacher to new life and energy. The 
influence was felt here. Some took hold of the matter in earnest. Such men as Rev. Mr. 
Tisdale, Samuel Woodward, Esq., Dr. Hammond, the Mays, and others were zealous leaders in 
endeavoring to awaken the town to such an appreciation of the value of Teachers' Institutes as 
would lead them to vote money for their assistance. Their success was small. In 1847, four 



128 GIL SUM. 

dollars of the school money was granted in aid of a Teachers' Institute in the County. An 

attempt to reconsider this rote in July following failed of success, and the same amount was 

appropriated in 1848. In 1851, a motion to raise five dollars for the same purpose, was lost. 

About this time a law was passed requiring towns to pay a small per cent of their school money 

for Teachers' Institutes. In 1860, this town instructed their Representative to use his influence 

to have the law repealed, which was done soon after. 

The first trace of any office like that of Superintending School Committee is in 1816, when 

the Selectmen were appointed " a committee to inspect the schools." Nothing further appears till 

1822, when " Obadiah Pease, Berzeleel L. Mack, and Amherst Hayward " were " a Committee to 

inspect the schools." The next year, Josiah Hammond was substituted for Amherst Hayward. 

In 1826, " Chose Willard Bill, David Chapin, & Amherst Hayward a Committee to examine Schools & make 
some arrangements concerning books to be used in schools." 

The first Superintending School Committee, by that name, was appointed in 1843. The 
number has varied from one to three, and some years the record of their appointment is missing. 
The following list shows all that are on the records as having held that office. They have gen- 
erally been appointed by the Selectmen, in a few instances by the town. 

James Tisdale, 1843,-4,-6,-7. Francis A. Howard, 1846,-7. George W. Foster, 1856,-7. 

Hartley Thurston, 1843,-4,-8. Otis G. Hammond, 1848. Andrew J. Howard, 1856,-7. 

George W. Hammond, 1843,-54,-5, Aaron H. Livermore, 1848,-9,-51. William B. Adams, 1866. 

-64,-5. Samuel Woodward, 1849,-50,-2. Herbert E. Adams, 1866,-75,-9. 

Amasa May, 1844,-5. David S. Ware, 1850,-1,-3. Horace Wood, 1S67 to 1872. 

Calvin May, Jr., 1845,-9,-50,-2. Ezra Adams, 1850,-1,-3. to 1863. Oscar J. Wilson, 1873. 

Daniel W. Bill, 1845,-6,-7 -72,-3,-4, Joseph Hays, 1852. George C. Hubbard, 1876,-7. 

-5. Harvey B. May, 1853,-4,-5. Samuel W. Dart, 1878. 

At first, the Superintending Committee received no pay for their services. The first report was 
made in 1845, when the town voted their thanks, and fifty-six cents for money paid out. In 1846, 
their report, written by Rev. Mr. Tisdale, awakened unusual interest, and it was voted to publish 
the same, and furnish each family with a copy. The Committee were thanked for their services, 
and allowed eighty-six cents for expenses. In 1847, voted thanks and 200 copies printed. Similar 
votes were passed the two following years. In 1850, it was voted not to print. The Committee 
brought in a bill of $4.25 which was allowed. The next year, the bill was referred to the 
Selectmen. In 1852, the bill allowed was five dollars. Since that time, the bill has varied from 
ten to sixteen dollars, generally being about twelve, till the last few years when it has risen to 
nearly forty. As the number of visits to the schools now required by law is at least twenty-eight, 
besides the examination of teachers, and all the other duties of the office, it is plain the compen- 
sation is not excessive. 

Prior to 1830, the committee or agent for each district was chosen in town meeting, in the 
same manner as Highway Surveyors. The records frequently call them School Collectors, as 
they collected the school tax, each in his own district. There seems to have been at first no 
definitely bounded School Districts. There was a vaguely general division, each family paying 
their tax and sending their children where most convenient. In 1790, there were four men 
chosen as School Committee, indicating that there were already four districts. The men chosen 
were Eleazer Wilcox, Aaron Hammond, Samuel Whitney and Thomas Dart, Jr. The general 
location of the several districts can be inferred from their places of residence. These were 
known as the " South," " Middle," " North " and " Northwest " Districts. In other connections 
the last was generally known as " Dart Corner." Another called the " Northeast " District 
was established in 1796. This was otherwise known as " Nash Corner " or " Nash Town." In 
1805, Samuel Whitney, Silvanus Hayward, John Nash, Samuel Bill, Benjamin Ware, and Jesse 
Dart were 




%g, s,,'^- 



6-7 



SCHOOLS. 129 

impoward to Call School meeting[s] in order [to] Establish Schools in the Several Destricts in this town — 
The year following, the town Chose Sam 1 . Bill Dudley Smith Eben r . Bill Berzeleel Mack David Blish a com- 
mittee to divide the town into school districts. 

This seems to have been the first definite bounding of the several districts. The following 
is the report of the Committee : — 

Ebenezer Kilburn Iddo Kilburn Ebenezer Bill Ebenezer Bill Jun. Eleazar Wilcox Obadiah Wilcox Benjamin 
Ware Samuel Crandall Pelatiah Pease Jun. Jonathan Pease Samuel Foster Jonathan Adams Robert L. Hurd 

The farms which the above named do now occupy is to contain the south district — 

John Mark William Mark Samuel Bill John Ellis Joel Wilson Silas Woods Jonathan Church James Grimes 
David Fuller Daniel Beverstock Turner White Solomon Woods Stephen Griswold Henry Kindrick Stephen 
White John Bingham Zenas Bingham Simeon Taylor David Blish Josiah Hammond Aaron Hammond Aaron 
Hammond Jun. John Hammond Jedidiah Carpenter Ebenezer Isham 

The farms which the above named do now occupy is to contain the middle district 

Timothy Dart Jesse Dart Eli Thayer Elijah Bond Moses Ware Elijah Ware Jesse Jaquith Josiah Hendy 
William Baxter Joshua Isham Asa Wing James Kingsbury Moses Ware Jun. Bezeleel Mack Samuel Mark Samuel 
Isham John Borden 

The farms which the above named do now occupy is to contain the northwest district 

Jehiel Holdridge Joseph Taylor Sam'. Whitney Justus Chapin Daniel Convas Jonathan Clark John Dart 
Solomon Mack James Ballard Dudley Smith Solomon Smith Augustus Bigalow Luther Homles [Holmes] David 
Thompson Sylvanus Hayward Joseph Plumblv Israel Loveland Benjamin Hosmer Claudius D. Hayward! David 
Bill Stephen Bond Elisha Bond Lemuel Bingham Thomas Bedding 

The farms which the above named do now occupy is to contain the north district 

Benjamin Thompson John Nash Paul Farnsworth Maturin Guillo Moses Farusworth Samuel Cory Levi 
Blood. 

The farms which the above named do now occupy is to contain the northeast district. 

The town adopted the report, after transferring Robert L. Hurd from the south to the 

middle district. In 1807, Luther Holmes was transferred to the northeast district, and Levi 

Blood was allowed to lay out his school money " where he can be best benefited." Reference is 

here made to the " Union District " known as " Leominster Corner," to which in 1817 it was 

voted to set off Levi Blood and John Withington for ten years. In 1819, the widow Ames was 

allowed to pay her school money to the same district. Again in 1828, Levi Blood, Abner 

Raymond, and Franklin Barker were allowed " a district by themselves." In 1847, these farms 

were restored to No. 5, but on petition of inhabitants of both Marlow and Gilsum, the Selectmen 

in 1848, transferred the Blood farm from No. 5 in Gilsum to No. 5 in Marlow. In 1828, Dudley 

Smith, Israel B. Loveland, Ebenezer Bill, David Bill, and Asa Nash were appointed " to make 

any alterations which may be deemed expedient respecting the limits of the several school 

districts in said town and to define and establish the limits of the same." The only essential 

change made by this Committee was in the line between No. 2 and No. 5 which they established 

" by the line of Solomon Mack's and Daniel Converse farms." In 1835, Eseck T. Wilson, E. K. 

Webster, Samuel Woodward, Jr., Allen Butler, Benjamin Corey and Abner Raymond were a 

Committee to make alterations in School Districts. They reported the next year, making two 

new districts, by dividing Nos. 1 and 2. No. 6 was to consist of the farms occupied by John 

Livermore, Jacob Pulley, George W. Hammond, John Hammond, Levi Isham, Eseck T. Wilson, 

and the widow Ruthy U. Isham, which is substantially the same as at present. The division 

which they made of No. 2 was unsatisfactory, and the following year a committee was chosen 

" to define the bounds of the several School Districts." This Committee consisted of Aaron 

Day, Eliphaiet K. Webster, lddo Kilburn, James Pickering, Israel B. Loveland, George W. 

Hammond, Luther Abbot, and Asa Nash. The only important part of their action was in 

establishing the bounds of District No. 7 as follows : — 

Bounded on the west . . on the east and south lines of James Bolster's farm until it strieks the road thence 
on the road until it strieks Luther Mark's north east cornier, thence south on said Mark's and Amherst Hayward's 
east line to Sullivan line. . . on the north by Alstead line, on the east by the east line of land owned by David 
Convers Solomon Mack Andrew A [J] Howard Orlando Mack's home farm, and John Thompson, on the South 
by Sullivan line — 

it 



130 GILSUM. 

It was voted to give the old school house to No. 7. There was evidently considerable 
dissatisfaction, as the subject was brought before the town every year without success till 1840, 
when on petition of some of the inhabitants of No. 2, the Selectmen proceeded " to establish and 
define the boundaries . . in the manner and form by law prescribed." They however made 
no essential changes, but only described the boundaries more exactly. 

In 1844, a slight change was made in the line between Nos. 1 and 3, making it the south 
line of Lots No. 5 in the several ranges. In 1846, James Bolster's farm was transferred to 
No. 7, but in 1865, the same farm, now owned by C. B. Hayward, was restored to No. 2. 

In 1852, on petition of several of the citizens, the Selectmen defined the districts by record- 
ing the exact boundaries, making no changes from the lines already given. 

In 1856, James Rawson's farm was transferred from No. 4 to No. 2. Since then several 
efforts have been made to have the town re-districted but without effect. In 1874, a proposition 
to abolish the School Districts was rejected, and " all things continue as they were." Probably 
no one change could accomplish so much for our schools as the abolition of Districts, bringing 
the whole town under one efficient system of grading. The District system has been a curse to the 
schools of New Hampshire in many ways. One result is that the schools are frequently so small 
as to be very unprofitable. At present in Gilsum, one district has only seven pupils, and another 
only five, and as the last has the same number of old bachelors, the prospect is far from 
encouraging. 

The first School Houses were probably built in 1794, when we find the following record : — 

Voted to Raise one hundred and twenty ft to Buld four School houses in the town one in Each District 
Chose Capt holdredg James Ballard timothy Dart Jesse Dart Capt kilburn David Adams David Blish Samuel Bill 
Capt Fuller a Comette to Serv the Destricks for Belding S d houses 

The first School House in District No. 1 stood on the east of the road very near where Mr. 
Loiselle's shop now stands. (Map 52.) In 1819, another was built on the west of the road 10 or 
15 rods further north. (Map 54.) In 1850, this was burned, and the next season the present 
house was built near Vessel Rock, being located by a committee from the other districts. 
(Map 76.) The first School House in District No. 2 was north of the road running towards C. B. 
Hayward's, and a few rods east of Geo. C. Hubbard's house. (Map 366.) In 1S08, the 
Treasurer's book shows a tax of $224.61 assessed " on the north school Destrict," from which it 
seems a School House must have been built that year. This was the second one in this district, 
and stood on the north side of the road by the turn south of Mrs. Cram's. (Map 367.) It 
was probably about this time, that the school was kept by Elisheba Dort in her father's house, 
now occupied by Chilion Mack, who remembers going; to school there, and that she had an hour- 
glass to mark the time. This School House was occupied till the district was divided in 1836. 
That winter, the chamber at the west end of Dea. Kingsbury's house was used for the school, 
which was taught by Aaron Day, Jr. (Chap. 31.) The same room was used for the school 
several terms, and afterwards a room in Capt. Taylor's old Tannery, till 1843, when the present 
house was built above the village, (Map 373,) where it was located by a committee from other 
parts of the town. 

In District No. 3, the first School House stood near the spot now used for the same purpose. 
(Map 355.) This was burned about 1816, and the school was kept for a time in Major Bill's 
old house on the north of the road. (Chap. 32.) In 1820, another School House was built on 
the old spot. This remained till 1847, when the present house was built. Samuel Woodward 
was the prime mover in the enterprise, and it has been ever since the best School House in town. 



SCHOOLS. 131 

In the tornado of 1877, it was lifted from the foundations and turned one quarter round without 
serious injury. (Chap. 26 ) 

In District No. 4, the School House stood on the small triangle between the roads in front of 
David A. Roundy's house. (Map 130. ) In 1829, the present house known as " the Brick School 
House " was built, (Map 359,) the brick being made at Win. Kingsbury's brick yard. (Chap. 23.) 

District No. 5 had a large log School House, north of the road a little beyond A. B. Nash's 
present residence. (Map 375.) This was probably built about the beginning of the present 
century, and remained in use until 1846, when the present house was built. (Map 376.) 

District No. 6 was set off from Nos. 1 and 4 in 1836. The school was kept for several years 
in the old Blish house, on the place where Enos Cross now resides The School House now in 
use was built in 1841. ( Map 67. ) 

District No. 7 was also set off in 1836. The school was kept for several seasons in the ell 
part of Chilion Mack's house, then running towards the west, instead of south as now. In 1844, 
they built the School House near Martin Bates's. (Map 374. ) 

Of school apparatus the town has almost none. A few outline maps, and perhaps in some 
districts, blocks to explain Cube Root are about all. But there are signs of progress. At the 
annual meeting in March. 1879. the town voted to purchase seven Unabridged Dictionaries, one 
for each district. No wiser or mure honorable vote stands on our records. 

In addition to the public schools, there have been occasional " select schools " in nearly every 
district. Several "High Schools" have also been held in the village. The list cannot be 
exactly given. The first wis in the Fall of 1834, and the following Spring. It was kept in the 
Congregational Vestry by Jonathan Hall, then a student in Amherst College. 

Pour years after, George W. Ash kept a High School in what is now Chandler's Hall. He 
was afterwards pastor of the Congregational Church in Westmoreland. The next year a young 
man began a school, bin gave it up on account of small attendance. 

Rev. James Tisdale kept a High School in the Vestry in 1843-4, and perhaps afterwards. 
.Mrs. Alice Adams also had a school in the same room for several terms. 

A Oilman and also a Pratt taught still later in Chandler's Hall. 

SINGING SCHOOLS. 
"Music hath charms to soothe the savage breast." 

Singing in early times was much the same in Gilsum as elsewhere. At first, all who could 
sing, or thought they could, sang in the congregation as the " Psalm " was " lined out" by dea- 
con or minister. Later, probably as early as the dedication of the Meeting House in 1794, the 
singing was conducted by a large choir led by a bass-viol. Everybody has been made familiar 
with the old tunes and style of singing through "Father Kemp" and his imitators. It must be 
confessed that modern church music, in small towns, is thin and meagre compared with the rich- 
ness of those old tunes sung with genuine zeal, with all their marvelous fugues, and the peculiar 
sweetness of a good "counter." The bass-viol was played by Silvanus Hayward, and it is 
remembered Squire Hammond frequently exchanged with him, one playing in the forenoon, and 
the other in the afternoon. Amherst Hayward afterwards played the bass-viol in the choir for 
nearly or quite forty years. 

Singing schools were early introduced. Benoni Wright, brother of Gen. Daniel Wright, was 
one of the first singing masters. He had a fine tenor voice of unusual sweetness, and taught 
many winters. Silvanus Hayward, Squire Hammond, Oliver Pease, David Brigham, Selini 
Frost of Sullivan, and a Mr. Warren from Dublin are also in the list of music teachers in Gil- 



132 GILSUM. 

sum. In 1813, and again in 1816, the town was asked to do something "to encourage and 
support a singing school," but dismissed the article. 

The modern methods as taught in Mason's Manual were first introduced here by Sumner 
and Levi Rust of Alstead, in 1838 and 1839. Gilman C. Sanborn of Windsor followed in 
1842-3-4. Alfred Partridge of Alstead taught several winters about 1847-9. Moses Twitchell 
and a Mr. Hutchins were here soon after. George W. Foster taught several winters, before 
1860. So much interest was awakened at this period that for a time two schools were sustained 
by rival parties, the other being in charge of a Mr. Houston. Subsequently, singing schools 
were kept here by a Mr. Gilpa trick, Sylvester Little of Antrim, Charles W. Bingham, and 
George K. Nichols. In the winter of 1876-7, Charles H. Scoville of Walpole was employed for a 
few weeks, and in 1878-9, S. F. Merrill of Keene had a large singing class in the Town Hall. 
In the Summer of 1879, Prof. David Batchellor, an Englishman residing in Boston, Mass., while 
spending his vacation in Gilsum, gave several free lessons in singing, introducing the " tonic 
sol-fa system." The class thus started was taken by Thomas Charmbury, Jr., and continued with 
much success through the Fall and Winter. 

It is to be hoped the time is approaching when Vocal Music will have a place beside Geog- 
raphy and Grammar among the required studies in our public schools. 



CHAPTER XXII. 

LIBRARIES AND LYCEUMS. 



In molding the character of any place, the influence of Libraries and Lyceums is second 
only to that of Churches and Schools. Libraries and Literary .Societies properly managed serve 
to refine and elevate the tone of society. They are worth more than can be estimated in money. 
No man is worthy of more honor as a public benefactor, than he who founds a good Public 
Library. It purifies morals, restrains vice, refines the home, kindles honorable ambition, 
inspires hope, stimulates to activity, and broadens and develops true manhood. A good Debating 
Society strengthens the intellect, sharpens the logical powers, creates tact, and often awakens 
even the apparently dull and stupid to a fair amount of zeal and energy. 

A Town Library was in existence here in the early part of the present century. It was 
probably begun about 179o. Shares were one dollar each. It consisted largely of the standard 
works of that day, such as Belknap's History of New Hampshire, Josephus's Works, Burditt's 
Sermons, Ossian's Poems, Goldsmith's Histories, and the like. About thirty years after its 
organization, it was decided to distribute the books among the shareholders. A few of them 
are still to be found in some of the older families of the place. 

Nov. 30, 1831, a meeting was held at Stephen Day's to organize a " Gilsum Universalist 
Library Society." The organization was completed Dec. 6, by the adoption of a Constitution and 
By-Laws. The fee for membership was one dollar, with a provision for an annual tax of twenty- 
five cents on a share. Fifty-six volumes were obtained that year, of which nearly half were some- 
what theological and religious, favoring the peculiar views indicated by the name adopted. A few 



LIBRARIES AND LYCEUMS. 133 

volumes; were added each year till the whole number reached 110. After the first, they were of 
a general character, consisting almost entirely of History, Biography, and Travels. The records 
show only the routine business of annual meetings till Dec. 6, 1845, when it was "Voted to 
strike out the word Universalist and substitute the word Union in the constitution of the society." 
This was doubtless done to enlarge the membership, but met with only slight success. In 1847, 
the Directors were " instructed to dispose of such Books now in the Library, as in their opinion 
are not beneficial to be kept in the Library." The last record is of the annual meeting Dec. 5 
1848, at which time sixty-four cents were reported in the Treasury. Subsequently, some of the 
leading members took away portions of the Library. The remaining volumes are in the hands of 
Mrs. Sarah T. Loveland, widow of the last Librarian. The whole number of different members 
of this Society was forty-three. Only six are supposed to be now living, viz. : — 

Otis Ammidon, William Banks. Roswell G. Bennett. David Bill, John Hammond, Hartley Thurston, of whom 
three are now residents of Gilsum. 

Presidents : Israel B. Loveland. George W. Hammond, Jesse Jaquith, Samuel Woodward, Jr., Calvin May, 
Stephen Foster, Jr., Aaron Day, Hartley Thurston, Nathan Ellis. 

Librarians : Daniel Day, Jr., Franklin W. Day. Allen Butler, Levi Gates, Aaron Day, Israel B. Loveland. 

About 1844, through the efforts of Rev. James Tisdale, " the Ministerial and Congregational 
Church Library " was started. It was kept at the Parsonage, for the use of the minister and the 
families connected with the Congregational Society. It consists of about one hundred volumes. 
The last addition was made in 1854, by a subscription of about fifteen dollars. It pertains almost 
entirely to theological and religious subjects, and has been very little used. 

The Sabbath Schools here have had libraries such as are usually found in small country towns. 

At present the town is almost entirely destitute of facilities of access to good reading. No 
opportunity exists to become acquainted with the standard literature of the day, save to those 
who are able to buy for themselves. 

In 1812, a society designed especially for young men was organized, called a " Moral and 

Literary Society." The records have not been found. It required its members to abstain from 

drunkenness and profanity. Meetings were held monthly at Smith's Hall, and afterwards at 

Dea. Pease's. The fee for membership was a " ninepence." The exercises consisted of written 

essays and addresses, and probably some discussions. It is remembered that the list of original 

members was nearly as follows : — 

Justus and Vestus C'hapin, Elisha S. and Samuel Fish, Clark and James Hudson, Lyman and Russell Hurd, 
Obadiah Pease, Edmund, Eleazer, and Lumund Wilcox. 

The first President was " Squire Pease," and the Secretary, Elisha S. Pish. The first annual 

report written by the Secretary has been found. There were then twenty-seven members. The 

report laments that a " dull heartless stupidity, a death-like apathy universally pervades the 

members. No life, enterprise or activity is to be found among us." How long this Society kept 

up its existence is not known. It gradually died out from neglect. 

The first Literary Society or Lyceum in this town of which we have the records, was formed 
in 1833. The record begins, as follows : — 

At a meeting of the citizens of Gilsum at Messrs Day's Hall (now Chandler's Hall) Nov. 16, 1833 to consider 
the expediency of forming a debating Society — voted that it is expedient, and made choice of Jehiel Day for Mod 
erator and David Brigham Clerk. Appointed John Fletcher, David Brigham & H. G. Howe a Committee to 
draft bye-laws and present at next meeting — also to prepare an address on the utility of the debating system. 

Made choice of John Fletcher for President 
of Jehiel Day for V. President 
& David Brigham Secretary. 
as the officers of this 

Voted to meet again next Saturday evening at t> o'clock. 

At the next meeting a Constitution was adopted providing for membership on payment of 25 



134 GILSUM. 

cents and subscribing to the Constitution. The only exercise provided for was the discussion of 
some question previously chosen. This was soon found to be insufficient, as in about a month, 
it was voted to admit written compositions. Judges were at first appointed to ; ' decide the 
debate according to the weight of the arguments." This plan probably failed to secure har- 
mony, as it was soon abandoned. One rule forbade the admission of any but members to the 
meetings. This was soon amended so as to admit ladies once a month, and the public once a 
month. This Society had evidently a practical aim in the subjects introduced, for while there 
are occasionally the old stock questions of Bonaparte and Washington, the abolition of Capital 
Punishment, and the like, we find more having immediate reference to Gilsuni affairs. The 
first question was. 

Will the contemplated Road from Keene to Newport through this place be beneficial or detrimental to the 
Town at large ? Another question was, Which woidd appear the most agreeable to a traveler, a clean, neat street 
through this village, or as it is at the present day ? 

This Society continued its meetings, except during the summer months, every week till Dec. 
6, 1834, when it was " Voted that this Society be dissolved without day."' The Presidents 
were John Fletcher, Jehiel Day, I. B. Loveland, C. H. Cummings, David M. Smith, Wm. Camp- 
bell, Ezra Webster, and H. G. Howe. The list of members includes most of the then active 
citizens who lived within convenient distance, besides some from the neighboring towns. More 
than forty of the 67 members have already deceased and only three are aiow residents of Gilsum, 
viz., Joseph M. Chapin, John C. Guillow, and Chilion Mack. 

In the Fall of 1842. the " Gilsum Lyceum " was organized. The first record finds it already 
in operation, and is as follows : — 

Dec. 23 1842 The members of the Gilsum Lyceum Met at D. II. Willson's agreeable to pi'evious adjournment 
and was called to order by the President and the following business transacted 

1"' Voted to defer discussion until next meeting. 

2 d Messrs Tisdale & Dr. Hammond introduced a plan whereby we might obtain the early history of this town 
Also that the annals of this town be kept hereafter. 

It was resolved to carry the same into effect by choosing the following Officers Viz 

Dr. Geo. W. Hammond, Historian. 
Mr. Amherst Havward Annalist 
& 

Messrs. Lemuel Bingham, J. (j. A. Ware, I. B. Loveland, O. G. Hammond, Samuel Isham Jr. Amherst Hay- 
ward and Davis II. Willson Were chosen a committee to gather Statistics &c. 

Rev. Mr. Tisdale, Dr. Hammond. Mr. Amherst Hayward & Kimball Metcalf were requested to propose ques- 
tions for the use of the aforesaid Committee on Statistics &c. 

3d Voted the historian have power to fill all vacancies that may occur. 

4th Voted that Mr. A. Hayward present at the first meeting held in Jan. 1843 a picture (or description) of this 
town as it now is. 

5th Voted the next meeting be held in the vestry of Congregational Meetiug house Dec. 29th at six o*clock 
P.M. 

D. H. Willson Sec'y. 

The " picture " above spoken of was presented Jan. 5, 1843, and is given substantially in 
Chap. 24. Out of this historical movement came the verses by Dr. Hammond. (Appendix G.) 
He also collected some materials pertaining to the early history, which have been furnished by 
bis son for use in writing this book. 

There was more real work done by this Lyceum than by any that preceded or followed. 
There were prepared and read 20 numbers of a paper called firsl •• The People's Organ." After 
three numbers, the name was changed to " The Gilsum Pioneer." It was also voted that these 
papers should be deposited for safe keeping in the hands of the Secretary. Most of them have 
thus been preserved and are in the hands of Joseph M. Chapin. Lectures were also given 
by some of the members. Rev. Mr. Tisdale gave two, and Joseph M. Chapin and Amherst Hay- 
ward one each. Kimball Metcalf gave two Lectures on Phrenology with practical illustrations 



LIBRARIES AND LYCEUMS. 135 

from which he became generally known in town as " Bump Metcalf." Some Lectures from 
abroad were given. One on Phrenology by a Mr. Nichols, and one on Temperance by a Mr. 

Sanborn. 

The editors of the paper so far as recorded were Kimball Metcalf, Rev. James Tisdale, Dr. G. W. Hammond, 
Geo. W. Newman, J. Q. A. Ware, Amherst Hayward, Lemuel Bingham, Hartley Thurston, Otis G. Hammond, 
Calvin May, Jr., David Brigham, Charles T. Wetherby, Samuel Woodward, and Joseph M. Chapin. 

The Presidents, except the first who is not named, were Joseph M. Chapin, Charles T. Wetherby, William 
Campbell, J. Q. A. Ware, and Lemuel Bingham. 

As in the old Debating Society, many of the questions discussed were of the most practical 

character such as the following : — 

Is it advisable for the people of Gilsnm to procure a town farm for the residence and support of paupers ? 
Would the prosperity of the inhabitants in Gilsum be promoted by the extension of a railroad to Keene ? 

A Lyceum conducted in this practical and laborious manner, by the most prominent citizens 
of the town, could not fail to exert a valuable influence in educating and stimulating the minds 
of old and young. Seventeen of the 24 members are already dead, and only two are now living 
in Gilsum, viz., Joseph M. Chapin and George W. Newman. 

Nov. 27, 1844, there was a re-organization under the same name with a new Constitution, A. 

P. Hemenway being the first President, and Geo. W. Newman, Secretary. It was very much on 

the same basis as before, except that the fee for membership was reduced from 25 to 10 cents, 

and a new President was chosen each week. The paper was called " The Evening Star," of 

which there were issued five numbers by Asa Withington, A. P. Hemenway, J. Q. A. Ware, 

George Webster, and George W. Newman. For some reason, which does not appear, the Society 

failed to meet after Jan. 8,1845. Of its 16 members, ten are dead and three still reside in town, 

viz., Joseph M. Chapin, A. J Howard, and George W. Newman. 

Nov. 11 1848 Agreeable to previous notice those interested in forming a Lvceum met at Ezra Webster's 
Hall. D. S. Ware in the chair. 

A Constitution was adopted with the name " Gilsum Young People's Lyceum." George 
Hammond was chosen President, and Silvanus Hayward, Secretary. Meetings were held through 
the Winter, sometimes in the different School Houses, and latterly in the Methodist Hall. 

March 15, 1849, it was voted to adjourn sine die. This was the first Lyceum that admitted 
ladies as active, members. It was not however a great success in this respect. An effort was 
made to secure their services in editing " The Evening Star," but only one number was read by 
ladies. This was by Christiana A. Spaulding (then teaching here,) and Sarah E. Horton. AH 
others, who were invited, declined the service, and the remaining editors were Benjamin Hitch- 
cock, George W. Foster, Joseph M. Chapin, and A. P. Hemenway, making five numbers in all. 
The questions discussed were more general than formerly, the most practical question for im- 
mediate application being the following : — 

Ought young Ladies to associate with ybuug Gentlemen of intemperate habits ? 

The Presidents, after the first, were Benjamin Hitchcock, Harvey B. May, Roswell W. Silsby, 
and David S. Ware. 

Of the 44 members 17 have died, and only eight now reside in Gilsum, viz. : — 

Joseph M. Chapin, Mary L. Dort (now Mrs. C. B. Hayward.) Aaron D. Hammond, C. B. Hayward, Silvanus 
Hayward, James C. Isham, Solomon Mack, and Elbridge Smith. 

This was the last Lyceum of which there is any record. Attention has since been given 

mainly to Temperance organizations. (Chap. 19.) 



136 GILSUM. 

CHAPTER XXIII. 

INDUSTRIES. 
" In all labor there is profit." 

Gilsum has no doubt had its share of shiftless loafers, but has always been free from that far 
more despisable class, who having gorged themselves with the fruit of others' toil, have settled 
down into luxurious ease to enjoy their ill-gotten gains. No one here has become so enervated 
by wealth, as to rest contented with no profitable employment. 

Farming stands first among all the industries of the place, — first in order of time, and first 
in the number of persons engaged in it. Though the soil is for the most part. hard, heavy, cold 
and stubborn, yet persevering labor on our hills and along our valleys has rewarded four genera- 
tions of diligent husbandmen, always with a comfortable living, frequently with easy competence, 
and occasionally with extensive wealth. The most valuable farm products are hay, apples, and 
maple sugar, — from five to ten tons of the latter being annually produced. Further particulars 
will be found in the Chapter on Census Returns. 

In January, 1878, a Farmers' Club was organized and has sustained meetings about once in 
two weeks. A manuscript paper has been started, and much has been done through lectures and 
discussions to stimulate the members to greater zeal and better methods in the various opera- 
tions of agriculture. Two very successful Town Fairs were held in 1878 and 1879. The Presi- 
dents of the Club have been Daniel W. Bill and George H. Carpenter ; the Secretary, Oscar J. 
Wilson. For 1880 the President is George W. Newman ; the Secretary, Charles W. Bingham. 

The natural features of Gilsum have specially adapted it to manufacturing enterprises. The 
river falls some three hundred feet in its passage through the town, thus affording a mill 
privilege almost every quarter of a mile. Many of the brooks, also, are suitable to carry mills a 
part of the year. Hence it happens the whole life of the place depends upon its manufacturing. 

First of all, the settlers needed 

GRIST-MILL-'. 

The first one was built by Aaron Chapin, probably before 1765, where the mill now stands 
below Shaw's corner in Surry. The first within the present limits of Gilsum was built by Elisha 
Mack and his brother Solomon about 1776, near the Stone Bridge. (Map 100.) This soon 
became a place of great resort, people coming from the towns above as far as Camden, (now 
Washington,') often bringing their grists upon hand-sleds, or on their backs. This mill was kept 
running for about 75 years. The next grist-mill was built about half-a-mile down the river, 
(Map 104,) in 1802. by David Fuller and Stephen White. Mr. White sold out his share the 
next year, and in 1806, Capt. Fuller sold to Daniel Beverstock. Aaron Loveland afterwards 
owned it, from whom the hill is still named. He left in 1834, and the mill was no longer used. 

About 1853, A. D. Towne put a small set of stones into the old Starch Factory, and Davis 
H. Wilson carried on grinding here, some three or four years. In 1857, A. B. Nash built a 
grist-mill on the Nash Brook, some twenty rods northeast of his house, (Map 371,) but never got 
it into running order. In 1871, Dart's mill, near " Burnt House Hill," was built, and is now 
the only grist-mill in Gilsum. 



INDUSTRIES. 137 

SAW-MILLS. 

As in all new settlements, the first houses were built of logs. Very soon, however, there 
was a desire for something better. The skilful ax-men of those days could easily hew timbers 
for the frame, but for boards, saw-mills were necessary. The first boards were probably 
obtained at Chapin's Mill in Surry, from about 1765 till 1776. when Elisha Mack built at the 
Stone Bridge. These mills were sold by Capt. Mack to his brother-in-law Abishai Tubbs of 
Marlow in 1784. I have not been able to trace their ownership perfectly. They were owned 
for a time by Samuel McCurdy of Surry, Turner White, Benjamin Baxter of Alstead. and after- 
wards by his brother William Baxter, who sold to Stephen Griswold for $1500 in 1803. Mr. 
Griswold sold in 1808 to Jonathan Pease for $1700. Dea. Pease run the mills for twenty years 
and sold to Aaron Pay for $1500. Aaron and Stephen Pay rebuilt and continued business here 
till 1843, when they sold to A. P. Towne. In 1845, Mr. Towne let the mills to Cheney Kilburn 
who established the chair business here. Mr. Kilburn was followed by Porter and Joel Cowee 
and afterwards by M'Key and Burbank in the same business. In 1868, Jesse Part bought these 
mills, which were burned in 1869. (Page 47.) John S. Collins now owns the water privilege 
and has made liberal offers to induce manufacturers to build, but the place still remains vacant, 
after having been used for over ninety years. 

Soon after the Revolution, Ebenezer and Thomas Part had a saw-mill on the Part Brook, near 
where it touches the road between Parius Porter's and William Kingsbury's. (Map 364.) 

The next saw-mill was built by Silvanus Hayward, about 1795, on Mill Brook, a little above 
C. W. Bingham's shop, where remnants of the dam can still be seen. ( Map 199.) 

About 1820, Amherst Hayward built a saw-mill where the tannery now stands. The abut- 
ments of the old dam still remain. About fourteen years after, he sold to Pudley Smith, and 
he to Palphon L. Gibbs, who run it two years. George W. Newman then bought it, and run it 
till 1849, when he sold to the Tannery Company by whom it was torn down. 

In 1830, Orlando Mack assisted by his father built a saw-mill about a mile up the river. 
(Map 368.) In 1837, Jesse Hemenway bought it, and after four years sold to Charles Nash. 
In little over a year A. J. and F. A. Howard bought it, and continued business there for eight 
years. Then Mason Guillow bought a share, and soon after George W. Newman bought the 
remainder. They ran it in company for six years, when Mr. Guillow sold to Malone Norris who 
remained about a year. Since then it has been practically under the control of Mr. Newman, 
though nominally in dill erent hands, at times. About 200,000 feet of lumber has been sawed 
there this year. 

About 1836, Eleazer Wilcox built a saw-mill on the brook southwest of his house. (Map 354.) 
So far as known, this was the only saw-mill in Gilsum south of the river. It could be run only 
a short time in the Spring, and was soon given up. 

In 1836, Capt. Timothy Port built a saw-mill northwest of his house on the Part Brook. 
(Map 363.) In 1842. it was destroyed by a freshet, and never rebuilt. 

In 1848, Charles Nash built the saw-mill about a mile above Newman's for his son George. 
(Map 369.) Four years after. Charles Nash, Jr., bought it. and carried on the business for 
nearly twelve years. After passing through several hands, N. 0. Hayward bought it in 1877. 

In 1871, F. A. Howard, Allen Hayward, and Jesse Part built the saw-mill near " Burnt 
House Hill." (Map 223.) For the sake of having a grist-mill attached, the citizens raised 
$800 to assist them in building. In 1872, they sold to Paniel Smith and he to Jesse Part. 
A. P. Hammond and S. W. Part then bought it, the latter being now the exclusive owner. 
This year's product has been about 275,000 feet of lumber. 



138 GILSUM. 

CLOTH MANUFACTURE. 

Several of the first settlers were weavers by trade in the old country, and almost every family, 
except the poorest, had not only " great wheel and little wheel " for spinning wool and flax, but 
"dye-tub," " quill wheel," " warping bars," and loom. Raising their own flax and wool, the 
men well understood the now forgotten arts of breaking and swingling and hatcheling, while the 
women plied their cards, or were busy at wheel and loom. They were thus able to furnish all 
their own clothing, from the tow shirt and breeches to the finest linen for bed or table, woolen 
blankets, linsey-woolsey gowns for the women and girls, and even "go-to-meeting" coats for 
the men and boys. Nabby Kilburn, afterwards Mrs. Daniel Day of Keene, was specially skilled 
in making damask linen. The fine figured linen still used for the Communion Table in the 
Congregational Church, is of her manufacture. Mrs. H. M. Nye of Marlboro' has table linen of 
the same pattern by the same hands. It was probably woven about 1790. 

John Bingham was a clothier, or cloth-dresser by trade, and at fust went from house to house 
with hand-brushes and shears preparing cloth for men's wear. About 1780, he built a fulling 
mill on the brook south of Mason Guillow's. It probably stood near where the brook crosses 
the Keene road. He afterwards had machinery for shearing and dressing cloth in the mill by 
the bridge. 

In 1813, Luther Whitney built a clothing mill on the brook south of his father's house, on 
the east side of the road, near the bridge. (Map 387.) This mill was burned about 181 ti, and 
another built on the same spot. This second mill was moved in March, 1820, to near where the 
west end of the tannery now is. The moving took two days, and was a great occasion. " Almost 
everybody was there." Many women and children came from along distance to see it. The mill 
was drawn through the pasture now owned by N. 0. Hayward, and the hollow in the hill south- 
east of John Hammond's, coming out near where George N. Hayward's house stands. In passing 
over the hill the building had to be held up with ropes. This shop was burned about two years 
after. (Page 46.) Mr. Whitney rebuilt and continued the business till 1829. when he sold to 
David Brighain. Mr. Brigham took Thaddeus H. Flint into partnership, and they carried on the 
business about two years, when Mr. Flint sold out. In December, 1830, the mill was burned. 
(Page 47.) The citizens helped Mr. Brigham to build up again, and the next year he took Asa 
Cole as a partner. About the last of 1832, Harrison G. Howe bought out Mr. Cole. Brigham 
and Howe then enlarged the mill, and put in machinery for making cloth. They bought a fine 
bell, which hung under a tin-covered dome in the center of the building. Business revived and 
for a few years there was much activity and "great expectations" of the wealth and growth 
that were coming to Gilsum. Benjamin Hosmer was in company with them for a time, but 
withdrew on account of ill health. The company began to get into debt and Mr. Howe left. 
Dea. Brigham thought if he could get money for a time, he could run on and pay up. Times 
were good, and many people had an idea money could be made very fast in manufacturing. 
Twelve men were induced to form a company and loaned Dea. Brigham 1500 each. These men 
became quite noted in this vicinity as " the twelve apostles." Two of them belonged in Alstead, 
and one in Sullivan. They were Aaron Brigham, Aaron Day, Jehiel Day, Francis Eveleth, Wil- 
liam Eveleth, Dalphon Gibbs, Benjamin Hosmer, Enoch B. Mayo, Dudley Smith,' Benjamin 
Thompson, Jr., Eliphalet Iv. Webster, and Alvin White. Only Mr. White is now living. Dea. 
Brigham agreed to pay them the interest and #1,000 on the principal every year. The first year 
he succeeded in doing so. The second year he could no more than pay his help, and gave the 
company fifty dollars to wait. Tlie third year he couldn't even pay his help, and the twelve 





V. 



/. 



INDUSTRIES. 139 

were forced to take the Factory into their own hands to secure their debt. Five of the number 
thought they had seen enough of it, but the other seven, Aaron Brigham, Aaron Day, Francis 
Eveleth, Dalplion Gibbs, Dudley Smith, Benjamin Thompson, Jr., and Eliphalet K. Webster, con- 
cluded to go on, being in high hopes that they should not only recover what they had put in, but 
make a large amount in addition. They employed Dea. Brigham as their agent, and agreed to 
meet once a quarter. The first quarter they seemed to be doing well, but the second quarter 
found them running behind. They however kept on about two years, lured by the ever-receding 
hope of gain, till they found themselves $7,500 in debt. They then closed up the business with 
a loss of about $2,000 each. The actors in these scenes have nearly all passed away, but many 
still vividly remember the excitement of those times, probably hitherto unequaled in the business 
history of the town. Some enthusiasts expected Gilsum to rival Lowell in a few years. The 
mortgage records of that time are a warning to such as live too fast for their earnings. Some 
are rather amusing. One spruce young man executed a mortgage of " One olive Green Coat, 
one skye blue pair of pantaloons, one silk Vest." 

The Factory lay idle till 1844, when it was bought by Milton Silsby of Acworth, who con- 
tinued to run it till 1852. During this time it was burned, and rebuilt. (Page 47.) 

When the Silsbys came they bought an additional water privilege up the river, where they 
built the present dam, in 1844. In the first mill they manufactured about 600 yards of Cassi- 
mere per week. In the new one they doubled the amount. The first mill stood facing the north. 
The new one faced the west, having the tower in front of its center, with a small bell costing 
only $100. In 1855, the Silsbys sold to Solomon Dean who continued business till it was again 
burned in 1858. (Page 47.) He then sold to the Tannery company. 

In 1833, Joseph Upton and Harrison G. Howe hired the Starch Factory of Luther Abbot, and 
putting in machinery began the manufacture of colored flannels. Mr. Howe sold the next year 
to John Fletcher, and went into company with David Brigham. Upton and Fletcher continued 
business till 1838. John Townsend then hired the Factory and carried on the same business till 
1845, when George Learoyd and Thomas Townsend bought. They kept on making flannels till 
1847. John Scribner and Jonathan Winch hired it in 1849, and made flannels for a little more 
than a year. 

In 1865, Wright, Cornell and Lyman proposed to build a large woolen mill where Dart's saw- 
mill now stands, and induced the citizens to form a Stock Company for that purpose. Some of 
the timber was got out and the foundation partly laid, but as they neglected to give the security 
which the company required, the work stopped, the citizens who were engaged in it losing about 
three dollars on a share. 

The same parties then took down the old Abbot Factory and built the present structure. 
They made flannel there about three months, when they failed and the work ceased. 

In 1867, the firm of Cuthbert, Gould and Minor bought, and have carried on the flannel 
business here ever since. The firm is now Cuthbert and Minor, Mr. Gould having left in 1872. 
In the year ending June, 1873, they manufactured 127,125 yards of flannel. In 1878, they 
made extensive repairs, putting in new and improved machinery, and are now turning out about 
50,000 yards of flannel per week, and employ from 15 to 20 hands. Since 1867, the establish- 
ment has been known as "The Granite Mill." 

In I806, John Thurston and Lyman Gerould hired a small mill where Collins's Factory now 
is, and set up the flannel business. About two years after, Isaac Wallis and Arnold B. Hutchin- 
son were in the company. In 1840, it passed into the hands of Faulkner and Colony of Keene. 



140 GILSUM. 

Charles S. Faulkner personally superintended the business for two years. Gerould and Weth- 
erby began business there in 1842. In 1845, they removed the old mill to the river bank across 
the road, for a Boarding House, and built the mill now in use. In 1848, the company to whom 
their goods were consigned at Boston failed, and they were obliged to suspend business for about 
two months. Parks, Baldwin and Parks of Boston took the property, and employed Lyman 
Gerould and Kendall Nichols to work up the stock on hand. In 1849, Ebenezer Jones came from 
Acworth, and soon after bought the Factory, and continued the manufacture of woolens for 
nearly eight years. He employed from 16 to 20 hands. In the Census of 1850, he reported 
115,000 capital invested, and a yearly production of 14,000 yards of Broad Cloth valued at 
124,500. 

In 1857, Joshua and Thomas Ward bought, and began business, but soon failed, and sold 
to Seth and William Ward, who kept on for about three years, under the name of the Ashuelot 
Manufacturing Co.. when it fell into the hands of Henshaw Ward of Boston. During the war, 
army blankets were manufactured here by Lewis Wright. 

In 1867, the Wards sold to Stephen Collins and Sons. They put in new machinery, and 
manufactured Doeskin, Beaver, and Tricot, to the amount of about $100,000 annually. Since 
1872, it has been run by John S. Collins, producing Cassimeres, all wool and worsted suitings. 
He employs 35 hands, with a monthly pay-roll of about f 1500, producing the present year the 
value of 1125,000. 

About 1830, Aaron Day put a carding machine into the upper part of his mill, where he did 
" custom work " for nearly ten years. The same set of cards was then put into Luther Abbot's 
old mill, and run by him till he removed to Stoddard in 1846. 

TANNERIES. 

The first tanning in town was done by Obadiah Wilcox, who had some vats near the brook 
southwest of his house. Having no means for grinding bark, he prepared it for use by threshing 
it with a flail. 

In 1827, John Taylor set up the business on Mill Brook, a little northeast of the house now 
owned by the widow McCoy. In 1838, he sold out and went West. Eleazer M. Poor followed 
him in the same business, but failed and left in 1840. 

In 1841, Jonathan Rawson of Alstead hired the place and carried on the business two years. 

In 1849, George 15. Rawson bought the saw-mill of George W. Newman, and established a 
Tannery. He and his brothers continued the business for about fifteen years, having bought out 
the whole privilege after the Factory was burned in 1857. Their Tannery was burned in 1860, 
(Page 47.) after which they rebuilt and enlarged the business. Nelson, Rice, and Rawson took 
the establishment in 186-i. Mr. Nelson having died, the firm is now Rice and Rawson. When 
business is active, they employ about 15 hands, with a monthly pay-roll of 16700, and turning 
off about 13,000 hides yearly. 

BRICK-YARDS. 

At first, the chimneys were built of stone. Old cellars are now marked by a large pile of 
stones which formed the chimney. One such is still in use. in the house of John Davis. As 
they began to build framed houses, the early settlers sought out clay, and burned brick. The 
enormous size of the old chimneys warranted the setting up a brick-yard to build a single house. 

It is altogether probable there were a number of such brick-yards of which all trace and 
remembrance is lost. John Bingham had one southeast of Mason Guillow's orchard. There was 
a brick-yard on the flat near the brook, southwest of Darius Porter's, probably owned by one of 



INDUSTRIES. 141 

the Darts. There was another just south of Mrs. Dean's. About 1806. Silvanus Hayward made 
brick where Newman's store now stands. There was a brick-yard for many years on the flat 
south of the road just east of the Dart Brook, near Mr. Kingsbury's, where he made the brick for 
his own house and for the School House. The last brick made in town was about 1830, by 
David and Elijah Ware, Jr. Their yard was near where Herbert E. Adams's new house stands. 

BLACKSMITHS. 

The number of Blacksmiths in Gilsum has been very large, and it is not probable that the 
following list is complete. The first was probably Theodore Preston who 'settled on a five-acre 
lot near Dr. Hosmer's. The use of this lot was given by the Proprietors. A Boynton worked 
there a short time after Preston. Daniel Wright was one of the early blacksmiths and had his 
shop near where Edward Loiselle lives. 

Ziba Ware, Levi Hardy, Theophilus Eveleth and still later Silas Woods carried on the busi- 
ness at the same place. Ziba Ware afterwards lived where Milton J. Steams now resides, and 
had a shop just north of the road to George Wright's. (Map 110.) Timothy Dort had a shop a 
little south of his house where he did a large business. (Map 362.) His son Timothy, known 
as Capt. Dort, followed the same business, both here and afterwards at the village. 

Early in the pi'esent century, Solomon Woods carried on blacksmithing at the lower village? 
and afterwards on the old Pease place in the south part of the town. His shop stood west of 
Day's store, and he had a trip-hammer on the brook below Mrs. Gates's. I have found no tradi- 
tion or remembrance of this trip-hammer, but the passage to and from it is reserved in deeds 
of 1806-7. 

The Days built a shop near the same place, (Map 352,) which was used by many workmen, 
among whom were a Boynton, Thomas T. Wetherbee, John Parmenter, and Zenas D. Metcalf. 

John Burroughs was a blacksmith in the Factory Village, about 1821-4. He had a shop near 
Mrs. McCoy's house, which he moved to where Jacob Nash's house is, and put in a wheel to blow 
the bellows. He had another shop a little north of the elm between the roads at the head of 
the street. 

Thomas T. Chapin bought out Mr. Burroughs and employed Tower Spear, Benjamin Eaton, 
and perhaps others. Tower Spear made " potato diggers," being assisted by Thomas T. Wether- 
bee and others. Nathaniel Trask was a blacksmith here about the same time. 

John Harris had a shop a few rods north of Smith's Tavern. (Map 80.) He was probably 
the most skilful of Gilsum blacksmiths, easily keeping time with another workman, while shift- 
ing his sledge so as to strike alternate blows with each hand. He employed Phinehas Moor and 
others. 

John Borden made nails in a shop near number 391. Enoch B. Mayo built the shop 
(Map 348,) now owned by Capt. Chandler, and worked there for about six years. Marvin 
Bigelow and others worked with him. 

David Dean made nails and edge-tools on the place where Harvey Bates lives. 

Eleazer Wilcox had a shop near his house where he did his own blacksmithing. (Map 353.) 

Chilion Mack built a shop where he made awls, about 1830. It stood a little northeast of 
Dea. Brigham's barn, and was afterwards moved, and made into the house now owned by the 
widow Beckwith. 

Zenas D. Metcalf carried on blacksmithing at various places for many years. He had a shop 
for a time, just south of Mrs. Dean's. (Map 361.) 



142 GILSUM. 

Luke Houghton had a shop near the maple tree by the road north of the old Hendee house. 
(Map 360.) He worked here from 1856 to 1866 when he removed to where he now resides. 

Philip R. Howard was a blacksmith and worked in various places. He and his brother 
George had a shop where they made hammers, a little west of the house where Samuel W. Dart 
lives. (Map 196.) 

George S. Howard also had a hammer shop near Collins's Factory. (Chap. 37.) 

About 1840, Luther Abbot put up a shop below the road near the Learoyd Brook and let it 
to Philip R. Howard ; (Map 372.) About 1858. Mr. Howard had a shop on Mill Brook, above 
Alpheus Chapin's, (Map 185,) and still later at the north end of Kansas. (Map 168.) 

George Stevens worked for several years in Capt. Chandler's shop. In 1876, he built the 
shop opposite Brake Hill, now occupied by Eugene Carpenter. (Map 346.) Byron J. Mullins 
now carries on the business in Capt. Chandler's shop. 

In 1876, George W. Newman built a shop. (Map 347,) where his son Dudley carried on 
blacksmithing and carriage-making for a year or two, and then let it to Byron Alexander and 
his son Frank. In 1879, Charles H. Lamphere hired the upper part for a wheelwright shop. 

Among other blacksmiths have been Amos Weeks, Samuel Ham, Alvin A. Beckwith, and 
James Bates. 

Carpenters. — Of carpenters and joiners there have been a large number. Many who never 
served any regular apprenticeship have worked at the trade. Only a very imperfect list can be 
o-iven. Moses Belding is the first whose name has been mentioned to me as a carpenter. Daniel 
Day of Keene built a good many houses in Gilsum before 1800. Others are Stephen White. 
Gilbert Carson, Stephen Mansfield. Stephen Cross, Abram C. Wyman, Joseph Clark, Calvin C. 
Bingham, Thomas Howard, F. A. Howard, David A. Roundy, Allen Hayward, James Pickering, 
J. Q. Pickering, Lucius R. Guillow, John J. Isham. 

Shoemakers. — The early shoemakers went from house to house, mending old shoes, and 
making up the year's stock of new ones. This was called " whipping the cat," and was kept up 
to considerable extent till within about forty years of the present time. It was not uncommon for 
men who owned farms, to make shoes in the Winter, both at their own homes and at their 
neighbors'. Of this class was Israel Loveland and probably many others. His brother Aaron 
Loveland was a shoemaker by trade. He had but one hand, and his wife did the sewing for him. 
Another still earlier shoemaker was William Lamb. The first shoe shop in Gilsum was built 
about 1822, by William Banks, a little north of where Day's store stands. When the store was 
built about 1833, this shop was moved to the south side of the road opposite Stephen Day's. In 
1877, it was again moved to the north side of the road near the barn, and turned into a carpen- 
ter shop. 

In 1828, John Taylor built a two-story shoe shop in what is now S. W. Dart's garden, just 
south of Dr. Webster's house. (Map 194.) The lower part was used as a currier's shop by 
Samuel White from Alstead. It has been moved to the Marlow road and is now occupied as a 
dwelling house by Byron Alexander. (Map 269.) Willard Hassall was Taylor's foreman in 
shoemaking. Levi Gates was a well-known shoemaker here for many years. He worked in the 
Banks shop, when it stood south of the street. Loren Loveland worked at shoemaking in the 
chambers of what is now N. 0. Hayward's store. A. W. Kingsbury came here from Sullivan 
in 1835, and Amherst Hayward built for him that year, the shop in which he and his son Samuel 
still carry on the shoe business. (Map 201.) This was long known as "the red shop." Its 
upper story has been occupied by various tenants. 



INDUSTRIES. 143 

There have been many transient shoemakers working for A. W. Kingsbury or others, the 
list of whom it is now difficult to give. Oliver B. Kent learned the trade of Loren Loveland in 
1836-7. Charles Newman worked with Mr. Kingsbury in 1848. 

Tailors so far as ascertained, have been Mrs. Lucy Hammond, William Parker, Gideon W. 
Huntress, and Eliza Bragg. 

Stores. — Probably the first " store" in Gilsura was kept by John Mark. (Chap. 32 ) The 

following extracts from his account books will be of interest. The first is the account of Pela- 

tiah Pease, dated November, 1792 : — 

1 Book for to learn to fife 6s 8d 

1 qt Cider 2d 

3 needles Id 

h quoir of paper 7d 

1 glass of rum 2d 

1 mug of tody Is 2d 

1 bole of tody 6d 

1 pare of verses 6d 

James Ballard, Dec. 1792 

£ 

Suit of trooping clothes 14/ 

1 Coat 4/ 

1 Coat & breaches 6/6 

3 jackets 6/ 

From other accounts about this time we find that Beef was £1 per hundred, "Turkeys, 2^6 pr Peace," West 
India Rum, 8s. per gallon, Brandy Is. a quart, Tea 2/ 10 to 3 ' a pound, " Ribing 1/8 a yard," " Codfish fresh /3" 
a pound, "Shugar 1/ " a pound, Butter 7 a pound. &c. Salt varied from 1 4 to 8/6 a bushel. 

One charge I have been able to find no explanation of. It is to Elijah Bond, Nov. 1792. " 1 rate for the poor 
man 1/1/1 qr " 

It is probable that a store was established very early at the •' Mills." but the first of which 
any certain knowledge is now at hand, was by Stephen Griswold, early in the present century. 
His account books show that at least three-fourths of his trade was in rum. 

He charged 20 cts for " a mug of flip or toddy." In 1809 half a yard of "Callico"is charged at 30 cts. 
Flour was 4A cents a pound — "a Shall, 5/" — Maple sugar ninepence a pound. A glass of rum was 4 cents — a 
Gill, 8 cents — Wool 2/ a pound — "half an ounce of Camphire " 21 cents — Corn 50 cents a bushel, — Wheat 
84 cents. 

Jonathan Pease also had a store in the upper part of the Mill. Lemuel Bingham kept store 
for a time in Dea. Pease's house, and afterwards in the house where Dr. Webster lives. There 
were probably others of which we have no account. 

About 1826, Samuel Woodward had a store in Smith's Tavern for a short time. 

In 1829, Jehiel and Daniel Day opened a store in the Factory Village. They carried on an 
extensive business for several years, "till they removed to the West. 

In 1833, Franklin W. Day & Co. built the store at the Lower Village, and had a large 
amount of custom not only in Gilsum, but from the neighboring towns. At Mr. Day's death in 
1849, this store was closed, and has not since been opened. These stores, as indeed all others, 
till as late as 1840, made their principal profit from the sale of New England Rum. This was 
the grand staple, and one of the greatest obstacles to the Temperance movement was that no 
merchant thought he could live by trade, without selling rum. 

Amherst Hayward bought the stand of J. and D. Day, and in 1839, let it to Luther Abbot. 
About a year later, Ezra Webster hired it, and continued in trade here for seven years. The 
store remained closed for two years, when Dr. Webster and Ebenezer Jones took the business. 
After six years Mr. Jones sold to N. O. Hayward and F. A. Howard. This firm traded two 
years, when Dr. Webster withdrew, and the others continued the business six years. Then A. D. 



144 GILSUM. 

Hammond bought out Mr. Howard. Since 1872, the firm has been N. 0. Hayward and Son. 
In November, 1879, they sold out to John A. Smith. 

Davis H. Wilson had a store at the upper end of the village, in the house built by Lemuel 
Bingham on the east side of the street, where N. 0. Hayward now lives. He continued trade 
here from 1852 to 1857. 

About 1841, Luther Abbot built the house where Mrs. Hathhom now lives, opened a store, 
and continued business there till he went to Stoddard in 1846. 

In 1864, L. W. F. Mark opened the store which he still occupies. 

In 1870, George W. Newman built the store and house on the corner of Sullivan Street. 
His sons carried on business here till 1878, when A. D. Hammond began the trade which lie 
still continues. 

Taverns. — Formerly, taverns were much more numerous in country towns than at the 
present. One of the earliest was kept by John Mark. In 1792. his charge for lodging was 6d, 
for keeping a Horse over night, 9d. Samuel Bill also kept tavern about the beginning of the 
century, in the south part of the house now occupied by his son David. There was a tavern for 
many years, where Edouard Loiselle lives. It was first kept by Daniel Wright and afterwards by 
Fortunatus Eager. Ziba Ware and after him William Baxter kept it for a few years. 

Ebenezer Dart was licensed to keep tavern in 179~>. He lived on the Hendee place. 

James Grimes had a tavern opposite the old Meeting House, as early as 1804. In 1806, he 
sold to Dudley Smith, who continued the business here for nearly thirty years. 

Stephen Griswold kept tavern at " the Mills " for some years, and after him Jonathan Pease. 
Stephen Day, Jr., kept tavern at the same place from 1837 to 1840. Probably there were others 
here earlier. 

In 1830, Jehiel Day opened the " Ashuelot Hotel " in the Factory Village. When he left in 
1837, the tavern remained closed for about three years. In 1839, Timothy Dort bought the 
stand and kept public house there for eight years. 

In 1848, Ezra Webster opened the " Village Hotel " which he managed till his death in 1864. 

Hervey E. Rawson next took it for three years, after which he sold to Albert Hubbard who 
still owns it. 

Miscellaneous. — On May Brook, a little above the river road, (Map 106,) John Bingham, 
Jr., built a shop about 1800, the foundation of which can still be seen. Here he turned wooden 
bowls, plates, and like utensils. 

On the same brook, (Map 365,) the Mays built a dam and put in a " lazy saw." 

Thomas T. Chapin built a dam for a mill just below the Village in 1827. After his death, 
(Chap. 26,) Luther Abbot bought the privilege and built a Starch Factory, (Map 219,) which 
he run about five years. 

In 1861, A. D. Hammond and Milon Loveland hired the Abbot mill and put in machinery 
for manufacturing chair backs. They carried on the business about five years. 

Luther Hemenway built the shop on the brook near his house in 1830. (Map 271.) Here 
he and his sons carried on the awl business for more than twenty years. 

A few rods below on the same brook, (Map 272,) may be seen the ruins of an old dam and 
foundations for a mill. This was begun by Joseph Foster of Sullivan, 1830-1, but never 
finished. 

About 1832, Solon W. Eaton built a shop where Collins"* Factory stands, lor wood-turning 
and making awls. Zenas D. Metcalf was in company witli him for a time. The next year. 



CENSUS RETURNS. 145 

Alfred Beckwith put a sli ingle mill into the same building. In 1836 it was taken by Thurston 
& Co. for the flannel business. (Page 139.) 

About 1836, Chilion Mack built a shop on the brook east of his house, where he carried on 
the awl business for several years. 

About 1846, Linus and Jacob Nash built a turning shop on the brook near Josiah Guillow's. 
(Map 370.) Wishing to divide the property, they sawed it in two in the middle, and it was 
afterwards made into a house. (Chap. 38.) 

In 1834-5, a wheelwright and paint shop was built a little south of where Taylor's Tannery 
stood. It was carried on by Jerome B. Aldrich, till 1841. After that it was used for various 
purposes. 

About 1830, Chilion Mack built a wheelwright shop southwest of his house, where A. W. 
Kingsbury's garden now is. He carried on the business here only a few years. It was after- 
wards occupied as a tenement. (Cliap. 36.) 

Money being scarce, Potash and Pearlash were formerly used as a standard of exchange. 
(Page 102.) The manufacture was carried on in many places, a large part of which are now 
forgotten. One of the earliest was on the Fuller place a little west of Daniel Smith's house. 
Another was north of the road about 20 rods east of Harriet Swinton's, and still another at 
the upper end of the village near Henry McCoy's barn. 

A man named Thompson, afterwards of Peterboro', kept a jeweler's shop in the room north 
of J. and D. Day's store, for a year or two about 1835. 



CHAPTER XXIV. 

CENSUS RETURNS. 

The first Census of the State was taken in 1767. The returns from Gilsum were as follows. 

Unmarried men from 16 to 60 . . . . . 7 

Married Do. Do 22 

Boys from 16 years & under ...... 36 

Men 60 years & above 1 

Females unmarried ........ 39 

Females married ........ 23 

Slaves . . 

Widows 



Total 128 

In the " List of Rateabli 
tion 



In the " List of Rateable Estates of the Several Towns as settled by the General Assembly for a new Propor- 

which each Town pays to £1000," the following is set down to Gilsum: — 

Amount of Rateable Estate ...... £800 

Proportion to £1000 £1:18 

Number of Polls 31 

In a similar List for May, 1773, we find for Gilsum : — 

Rateable Estates £38 

Proportion to £1000 £1:16 

Number of Polls 37 

At the same time Surry is reported as having 47 Polls and Rateable Estates, £55. 

The " Rateable Estates" are evidently given on a reduced scale. The increase of population 

in these six years is very great, certainly not less than 100 per cent, and probably more. 

10 



146 



GILSUM. 



By order of Gov. John Wentworth, a Census was taken in 1773 

som" were the following: — 

Unmarried men 16 to 60 
Married Do. Do. 
Boys 16 years and under 
Men 60 years and upwards 
Females unmarried 
Females married 
Widows . . ! 
Slaves 



The returns from " Gil- 



17 

21 

32 

4 

37 

22 

2 





Total 139 

Surry returned a total of 208. 

In 1786, the Legislature ordered a new Census, and Gilsuin made this return :- 

The Number of the souls that are in Gillsom are as followes 

females from 16 and under . . . . . . 113 

females from 16 too 21 . . . . . . 16 

females from 21 and upward ...... 72 

males from 16 and under ...... 78 

males from 16 too 21 ...... 7 

males from 21 and upward ...... 78 



364 
One Black. (Chap. 37.) 

Jonathan Adams ) 
Timothy Dimmuck V Selectmen 
Ebenezee Bill ) 

In 1767, Gilsum included all of Surry except "Westmoreland Leg," and the whole number 
of polls was 31, but in 1773, Gilsum alone had 37, and the two towns, including " Westmore- 
land Leg," 84. In 1775, Gilsum reported a total population of 178. (Page 34.) In 1777, 
Gilsum made return of " 51 male polls eighteen years old & upward," 16 Horses, 32 Oxen, 
47 Cows. In 1784, Gilsum reported 71 Ratable Polls. Surry made no return. 

Sullivan having been set off in 1787, the first return from Gilsum in its present form, is 47 
Ratable Polls, 18 Horses, 21 Oxen, and 86 Cows. 

In 1790, the population was 298, males 134, females 164. 

An Inventory of taxable property in Gilsum returned to the State 1793, is as follows. 



Number of Polls between 18 and 70 years 


59. 









68 acres. 




252 acres. 




367 acres. 


Horses & Mares 


26. 




34. 




94. 


Horses & Cattle 2 [prob. 3,] years old . 


43. 


2 years old ....... 


35. 


1 year old ....... 


37. 



Sum total of all buildings and real estate unimproved and owned by the inhabitants at half per cent, £9. 
11 sh. 4 d. 

Sum total of value of real estate not owned by inhabitants, £276. 10 sh. 

This indicates a total value of buildings and unimproved Real Estate of nearly .f 7,300. 

Census returns for 1800 have not been found. In 1810, there were 133 persons engaged in 
Agriculture and 18 in Manufacturing. The population was 267 males and 246 females, 513 in 
all, of whom 165 were under ten years of age. 

In 1820, population 601, males 287, females 314, under ten 171. 

In 1830, population 642, males 323, females 319, under ten 180, of whom 93 were under 
five. There were 14 persons over 70, of whom one is reported to be over 100. This was prob- 



CENSUS RETURNS. 147 

ably a mistake, as the oldest person at that time is said to have been Mrs. Nash, who died that 
year aged 95. 

In 1840, population 656, males 323, females 333, over seventy 28, between five and ten 89, 
under five 106, pupils in schools 218. 172 persons engaged in Agriculture, and 41 in Manufac- 
turing. There were 91 horses, 555 neat cattle, 1,529 sheep, 126 swine, and $161 worth of 
poultry. There were raised 578 bushels of wheat, 573 of barley, 4,076 of oats, 787 of rye, 2,288 
of Indian corn, 15,858 of potatoes, 1,237 tons of hay, 3,602 pounds of wool, 90 of flax, 15,835 of 
sugar, $4,559 worth of dairy products, $451 worth of fruit, and 299 cords of wood sold. There 
were $1,427 worth of home manufactures, and $2,000 worth of hardware and cutlery. 

In 1850, population 668, males 341, females 327, over ninety 1, between eighty and ninety 6, 
between seventy and eighty 24, between five and ten 70, under live 77, pupils in schools 230. 
There were 135 dwellings, and 144 families. 

In 1860, population 678, males 334, females 344, between ninety and one hundred 1, between 
eighty and ninety 9, between seventy and eighty 28, between five and ten 77, under five 66. One 
is reported to be 100 which is a mistake. Stephen White was then in bis hundredth year. 
There were 145 dwellings and 146 families. 

In 1870, population 590, males 288, females 302, over ninety 1, between eighty and ninety 
10, between seventy and eighty 28, between five and ten 50. under five 59. There were 136 
dwellings and 153 families. 

In an account of Manufactures in Gilsum, taken in 1832 by George W. Hammond, by request 
of Congress, to assist in revising the Tariff, we find the following. 

Amount of business in Tannery . .$1,601.16 Blacksmithing $1,450.00 

Spiral Gimblets .... I,6o0.00 Shoes & Boots 800.00 

Pegging Awls 1,500.00 Home-made Flannel, 2,433 yds. . 1,216.00 

Woolen Factory, Brig-ham & Cole . 2,000.00 Linen Cloth, 1,364 yds. . . . 227.33 

Starch, 60,000 lbs. . . . . 2,100.00 Maple Sugar, 10,070 lbs. . . . 805.60 

Wagons, 17, & Repairing . . . 540.00 Palm Leaf Hats, 629 ... 157.25 

The following items are from the " picture of Gilsum " in 1843 referred to on page 134. 

Whole number of inhabitants 645, whole number of families 132. 10 families are under the care of widows, 
and 22 live in hired houses. There are 13 females in single life over 30 years of age, and only five males in the 
same state to match them ; 24 widows, and 8 widowers. There are 67 persons over 60 years of age, of whom 7 or 
8 are over 80. There are 118 dwelling houses, and one family now lives in " a snug new log house in true ancient 
style." The Factory Village contains 22 dwelling houses containing 28 families, one Meeting House, 2 Stores, one 
Tavern, 3 Blacksmith's Shops, 2 Turning Shops with water power, one Tannery, one Shoe Shop, one Wheelwright 
Shop, one Saw-mill. The other village contains one Store, one Grist-mill and Saw-mill with Shingle-mill attached 
and also a Carding machine, with only 5 dwelling houses containing 6 families. There are in town 6 Justices, 2 
Physicians, 6 Carpenters, 5 Blacksmiths, 1 Millwright, 2 Coopers, and " one man makes shingles by boiling the 
timber and cutting them while hot with a large knife in a machine." There are 3 Woolen Factories, but only one 
in operation — 2 establishments for making Awls — 3 Saw-mills, 2 of which have Shingle-mills attached. There 
are 3 merchants, and one Tavern. " Most of the inhabitants of Gilsum are in comfortable circumstances at present 
as to the things of this life, being generally industrious they maintain themselves, but there are now 3 or 4 persons 
who the town has to support at an expense for the current year of about $220." The number of voters last March 
was 135. No. of rateable Polls 145, besides these are 7 Widows and 3 Single women who pay taxes. There were 
taken in town one daily, 122 weeklies, and 13 monthlies. During 18-42 there were 19 Births, 6 Marriages and 5 
Deaths. 

The following facts are gathered from other papers left by Dea. Hay ward. 

In 1794 there were 67 houses with families : in 1800,' 73 ; in 1815, 82 ; in 1820, 110 ; in 
1862, 134 ; in 1864, 150 ; Jan. 1, 1866, 158. In 1864 there were 122 husbands with wives, 9 
widowers, and 19 widows. There were 19 persons between 70 and 80, and 5 over 80. The 
greatest number of deaths reported in any one year was 24 in 1820, the next greatest was 19 in 
1849 ; the least number was 4 in 1840. 

At the present time, Dec. 31, 1879, there are 611 inhabitants, 310 males and 301 females. 



148 aiLSUM. 

There are 9 under one year, 41 between one and five, 53 between five and ten, 109 between 10 
and 20, 94 between 20 and 30, 86 between 30 and 40, 65 between 40 and 50, 65 between 50 and 
60, 45 between 60 and 70, 29 between 70 and 80, 14 between 80 and 90, and one 96 years of 
age. There are 31 widows, and 14 widowers ; women over 20 who were never married, 30 ; 
men in the same state, 37. There are 161 dwellings not reckoning separate tenements in the 
same house, 22 of which are not inhabited, and containing 176 families. Births in 1879 were 
8 ; deaths 11. 

So far as can be readily ascertained the following periodicals were taken in Gilsurn for the 
year 1879: — 

Dailies : — Boston Journal, Boston Herald, Boston Post, one each. 

Semi-weeklies : — Boston Journal, Inter Ocean, one each. 

Weeklies: — Portland Transcript, New York Atlas, New Orleans Picayune, Springfield 
(Vt.) Reporter, New York Sun, Republican Observer, New York Express, L'Opinion Publique, 
Massachusetts Plowman, Deseret News, State Press, New York Ledger, Voice of Angels, Kansas 
Volks Freund, Family Herald it Weekly Star, Golden Censer, one each ; New York Messenger, 
Wochenblatt der New York Zeitung, two each ; Boston Pilot, Home Circle, Christian Union, 
three each ; Boston Globe, Child's Paper, Herald of Gospel Liberty, four each ; New York 
Times, Well Spring, Sunday School Times, five each ; Christian at Work, six ; Youth's Com- 
panion, Mirror and Farmer, Independent Statesman, seven each ; New England Farmer, 
American Cultivator, eight each ; Granite State Journal, nine ; Boston Journal, twenty-two ; 
People, twenty-three ; New Hampshire Sentinel, thirty-three ; Cheshire Republican, forty-nine. 

Monthlies : — American Agriculturist, Atlantic, Scribner's, St. Nicholas, Potter's American 
Monthly, Journal of Chemistry, Granite Monthly, Life and Light, Scottish American Journal, 
Contributor, one each ; Scientific American, Christian World, Bible Society Record, two each ; 
Missionary Herald, four ; American Missionary, Household, People's Illustrated Journal, five 
each ; Peterson's Magazine, Home Missionary, six each ; American Messenger, nine ; Illus- 
trated Family Monthly, twelve. 

Quarterlies : — Ehrich's Fashion Quarterly, two ; Smith's Bazar, five. 

Total : — Three dailies, two semi-weeklies, two hundred and thirty-five weeklies, sixty-four 
monthlies, and seven quarterlies. 

The following statistics are taken mainly from a record kept by Dea. Hayward, and continued 
after his death, by N. O. Hayward. The particular deaths are not on record previous to 1825. 
In ten years ending May 1, 1825, there were 80 deaths, including 29 over 50 years of age, 7 
between 30 and 50, 16 between 10 and 30, and 28 under ten. The largest number of deaths 
in Gilsum in any one year, so far as known, is 24 in 1820. From 1825 to 1879, a period of 55 
years, there have been 542 deaths in town, making an average death rate of a little less than 
ten, or about one in 60 of the population. The largest number was 19 in 1849 ; the smallest, 
four each in 1840, 1865, and 1873. Of these deaths, 72 were under one year of age ; 88 between 
one and 10 ; 33 between 10 and 20 ; 52 between 20 and 30 ; 46 between 30 and 40 ; 29 
between 40 and 50 ; 30 between 50 and 60 ; 56 between 60 and 70 ; 80 between 70 and 80 ; 
47 between 80 and 90 ; and 9 over 90, five of which were over 95, and one within a few months 
of 100. The average age is very nearly 39 years, probably full that, if the months were taken 
into account. Not many towns, it is believed, can show a record so favorable as this, either in 
the average age, or in the ratio of deaths to the population. 

The causes of death are not given prior to 1835. The great mortality in 1820 was from a 




%p//„^ xy/// 



y 



"■ 



CELEBRATIONS. 149 

fatal fever, then called typhus. The large number of deaths in 1849 was owing to the prevalence 
of scarlet fever among the children, seven of whom died of that disease. During these 45 years, 
443 deaths are reported, and the cause is mentioned of 3b'0. Among the more prominent causes 
are the following : — 15 or 20 can be traced directly to intemperance, and many more indirectly ; 
heart diseases 11; cancer 13; apoplexy 15 ; accident 16 ; scarlet fever 22 ; bowel complaints 
24 ; fevers 29 ; old age 45 : lung diseases 114. 



CHAPTER XXV. 

CELEBRATIONS. 

" Sound the fife and beat the drum, 
Independence day has come ! 
Bring the banjo and the fiddle, 
To-day we dance ter-diddle-diddle. 
Jothani, git the great, big bottle, 
Your teeth can pull the corn-cob stopple." 

These ancient rhymes are doubtless a picture of the hilarious celebrations many of our 
grandfathers were wont to observe on the Fourth of July. Music, dancing, and drinking, with 
firing of cannon, and patriotic speeches, were probably rarely omitted on the return of that 
" glorious " anniversary. Only a few celebrations, however, have been sufficiently prominent 
to be remembered now. It is known that the first minister, Rev. Elisha Fish, delivered a Fourth 
of July Oration, but the year cannot now be ascertained. It was probably before 1800. There 
was also a celebration of the beginning of the Century in 1801, at which time he delivered a 
Poem. It is much to be regretted that neither of these manuscripts has been preserved. 

In 1823, just after the cannon had been taken from Keene, it was thought best to make the 
Fourth of July an occasion to be remembered. The Meeting House with Smith's Tavern oppo- 
site, was of course the place of gathering. The cannon was brought out and four kegs of 
powder of 25 lbs. each, were burned. The Oration was in the Meeting House, but the festivities 
subsequent were on the Common, booths of boughs having been built there, under whose shade 
the women and children found shelter from the sun. Capt. Solomon Mack was Marshal, and 
Willard Bill, then just arrived at manhood, was the Orator. The following extracts and synopsis 
will give a general idea of the oration. It begins as follows : — 

"Assembled together at this time for the celebration of the birthday of our national Independence, it is with 
the greatest satisfaction that we hail the auspicious moment for the now happy and flourishing state of the nation, 
that we are free from intestine commotions and outward foes, that we are in the midst of peace and plenty, that 
our liberties remain unmolested, unimpaired by time, and that we have a pleasing prospect of their future contin- 
uance. It is on no ordinary occasion that we have met. Worthy to be remembered by every American and grate- 
ful to his memory must be the commencement of his liberties and deliverance from the tyrannical grasp of a foreign 
power." 

The value of such a celebration in its tendency to foster the love of Liberty, was next spoken of ; after which 
the Declaration was read. Then followed a cursory review of the prominent events of the Revolution, and a com- 
parison with the celebrated heroic actions of past history. "More true bravery cannot be found in the history of 

any country than was displayed by the undisciplined militia engaged in the different attacks in 

the Revolutionary War." Attention is next called to the present state of the country, contrasted with what it 
would have been if the result of the war had been reversed. "Ten millions of freemen can attest to the present 



150 aiLSUM. 

prosperity of our country, for there has been no time since the first settlement that a greater portion of happiness 

has been enjoyed than .is enjoyed at the present time Although no human mind can look through 

the veil of futurity with certainty, yet we may infer from present appearances that Freedom's banner will in time 
be unfurled through all the habitable parts of the globe." 

Other countries are then contrasted with our own and gratitude expressed to God for the superior blessings we 
enjoy. The oration closes as follows: "But in all our happiness let our fervent ejaculations ascend to Heaven that 
in all our prosperity we may be kept from those vices frequently attendant on prosperity, particularly that we may 
not pollute the sacred name of Liberty by the frenzy of licentious passions, but may our present glorious Constitu- 
tion while it protects our freedom from the unhallowed ravages of Tyranny, remain an unshaken bulwark against 
the destructive fury of faction. 

Tyrants, turn from the impious work of blood in which your hands are imbued and tremble at the desperation 
of your revolting subjects. Repent in sackcloth and ashes. For behold, ye, who have been exalted up to heaven 
shall ere long be cast down to hell. The final period of your crimes is rapidly approaching when the Spaniard, 
the Greek, and the Jew shall no longer be oppressed, nor feel the iron bondage of despotic sway. The grand polit- 
ical millennium is at hand, when Tyranny shall be buried in ruins, when all nations shall be united in one mighty 
Republic, when the four angels that stand on the four corners of the earth shall with one accord lift up their voices 
to heaven proclaiming peace on earth and good-will to men." 

At another celebration, not long after, it is remembered that Dr. Jonathan E. Davis gave the 
oration. 

About 1830, there was a Sabbath School Celebration at the Old Meeting House. 

In 1832 or 1833, Day's Hall (now Chandler's) was dedicated with a Celebration of Independ- 
ence. Dca. Brigham read the Declaration. 

In 1834, there was a semi-military celebration, Sullivan Company joining the parade with 
Gilsum. Charles Cummings gave an oration on the Common near the Meeting House, the frame 
of which had just been raised. 

July 4, 18:}o, there was a Temperance Celebration, with an oration by "a son of Squire Hatch 
of Alstead." 

In 1838, the Anti-slavery Society, which had just been organized, celebrated the day with an 
address from Rev. Moses Grosvenor of Marlboro'. 

In 1843, there was a Sabbath School Temperance Celebration of Independence in the village. 
A stand was built near the old Hay Scales, tables of food were provided, the seats and tables 
being shaded with green boughs. A procession largely composed of children marched up and 
down Main Street, music being furnished by Amherst Hayward with his bass-viol, assisted by 
Charles W. Bingham with a violin. A Temperance oration was delivered by William P. 
Wheeler, Esq., of Keene. 

In 1844, a " rum celebration " was attempted, but proved " a fizzle." (Page 93.) 

The Nation's Centennial was celebrated on the Sunday after July 4, 1876, by religious ser- 
vices in the Meeting House. (Page 116.) 

In 1878, after bell-ringing and cannon during the day. Independence evening was observed 
by a torchlight procession in masquerade. The Captain of the Company was Uriah Bates. 
After parading the streets, they entertained the crowd with songs and a brief patriotic oration. 
The singing was by Timothy O'Leary and George Deets, disguised as " Aunt Deborah and Aunt 
Dinah." The orator was C. W. Bingham, Esq., in antique costume, represented as " Elder 
Hardy." 



CASUALTIES. 151 

CHAPTER XXYI. 

CASUALTIES. 

Bridges, dams, and mills have been frequently destroyed by floods. (Chap. 13.) The mill 
by the Stone Bridge was washed away when William Baxter owned it, and Samuel Whitney 
rebuilt it. The same mill was nearly all swept away when Dea. Pease owned it, about 1810. 
Aaron Loveland's mill was carried away by a freshet in 1825, and the citizens helped him build. 
Oct. 4, 1869, occurred a very extensive flood doing great damage in many places. Charles W. 
Bingham's house was washed away that night. He had just built, and had moved in most of his 
household goods, but not his family. He was sleeping there himself, and barely escaped through 
the chamber window to the bank. Furniture, books, and provisions were scattered and largely 
destroyed. The neighbors helped him liberally in his time of need. 

In June, 1787 or 1788, Abraham Griffin was chopping with his son Nathan, when a tree fell 
on him, injuring him so that he died in about a fortnight. Jonathan Adams took one of his 
boys to bring up, and changed his name from Lot to Erastus. About 1790, as Mr. Adams was 
chopping off the butt of a large tree, that had been blown over by the wind, the boy came up 
behind the root, which falling back, killed him instantly. 

June 29, 1798, Jonathan Raymond, while at a chopping bee on the old Downing place in 
Marlow, was instantly killed by the fall of a tree. 

Sept. 1, 1813, Thomas Redding, Jr., was returning home from "training." Coming to the 
bridge by Pease's mill, he apparently steadied himself by the side railing. About half way 
across, the top board was missing, and when he reached that place he pitched over and was 
drowned. 

David Smith was killed, March 20, 1825, by the fall of timber, at the raising of "the plas- 
tered house," a little south of Vessel Rock. When the house was taken down, about fifty years 
after, spots of blood were found on the frame. 

Oct. 10, 1827, Thomas T. Chapin was drowned at the dam where Cuthbert and Minor's Factory 
now is. There was a great freshet and he was trying to prevent the breaking away of the dam. 
His brother Justus caught hold of him, but the current was so powerful that both would have 
been swept away, had not others held him on the bank. 

A child of Zenas D. Metcalf, named George Everett, was drowned in one of Taylor's tan- 
vats, Oct. 18, 1832. 

Feb. 21, 1835, an infant child of Esek T. Greene was accidentally smothered while riding to 
a neighbor's in a cold day. 

Oct. 5, 1835, Harriet E., a child of Enoch B. Mayo, was killed by the falling of a cart that 
was set up on end in the yard where she was playing. 

John Thompson was killed Dec. 6, 1840, by some injury received while putting up his cattle 
in the evening. He came into the house, and sitting down, died almost instantly. 

Stephen Foster, 3d, while returning from Surry late in the evening, Nov. 12, 1844, was killed 
by the upsetting of his wagon just where the road turns towards the house now occupied by 
Daniel Wright. 

Aaron Hammond Nash, while bathing in the pond at Charles Nash's mill, was drowned 
June 3, 1849. 



152 aiLSUM. 

Ap. 23, 1851, while James Bolster was returning from Stoddard, he was thrown from his 
wagon, near Luther Abbot's, and died there two days after. 

Phedrus Parker of Sullivan, while bathing in Silsby's pond, was drowned. May 23, 1852. 

Oct. 21, 1856, Asa Nash went to the woods witli his son to cut some wood. His son found 
the tree was about to fall, and called to his father to be out of the way. Somewhat startled and 
confused by the call, he jumped right under the tree. He lived only a few minutes. 

July 20, 1857, while hastily running to the house, where they were haying in Walpole, Hollis 
and Franklin, sons of Marvin Gates, were struck down with lightning, and Hollis was instantly 
killed. 

Dec. 3, 1857, Allen Nash was found dead by the road-side, where he had apparently fallen 
in a fit. 

While returning from Keene, March 5, 1860, Truman Bill was thrown from his wagon and 
instantly killed, near the head of Beaver Falls. 

Dec. 3, 1861, Philip R. Howard was choked to death with a piece of tough beef. 

About the first of February, 1869, Temple Baker had his leg broken by a kick from a cow, 
and died in a few days. 

Charles C, son of Francis C. Minor, was drowned in the flume near Cuthbert and Minor's 
mill, July 27, 1869. 

Ap. 26, 1870, George Augustus Griggs, one of Mr. Burnap's teamsters, while driving a load 
up Bingham hill, was killed instantly by a blow on his head from a contrary horse. The spot 
is marked by the letter G cut in the rock on the east side of the road. 

James Welsh was thrown from his horse near the " dug-way" on Sullivan Street, Nov. 24, 
1870, and died the next day. 

Dec. 21, 1875, a Frenchman named Cote was thrown from his sled, near Mr. Gunn's, and 
died two days after. 

While examining a loaded pistol, July 23, 1877, George H. Dean was shot through the head, 
and lived only a few hours. 

Charles E. Crouch in attempting to cross the dam near Newman's mill fell into the water 
below, and was drowned, Oct. 22, 1878. 

Mrs. Matilda Nash was killed June 16, 1829, by Daniel H. Corey. He was certainly insane. 
In his boyhood he was naturally strange. His grandmother and sister were both insane, so that 
his affection was doubtless hereditary. This natural tendency, increased by the frequent use of 
strong drink, rendered him dangerous. He had wild notions about gold and silver on his farm, 
and dug a mine in which he worked for a long time. He was also afraid of witches, and thought 
his black cat was a witch. Every old woman he saw, he would call a witch. His wife and 
children had become more than usually alarmed and went to Daniel Nash's. Old Mrs. Nash thought 
perhaps she might quiet him, and took her granddaughter and a bundle of flax making it appear 
she was going to hatchel it. Corey was lying down when she came, and called out, " Go along 
off, you old witch." He then got up and took his gun. They started for home, and the girl 
got away, but he caught Mrs. Nash close by the town line, and struck her over the head with his 
gun several times, striking so hard that the barrel came out of the stock, and killing her almost 
instantly. When asked about it, he said he hadn't done anything but kill " an old witch." He 
was tried for murder, the jury disagreeing,' and while lodged in Kcene jail, made his escape by 
the assistance of friends, and, as was always believed, the connivance of the authorities. He 
went to New York, where his family afterwards joined him. 



CASUALTIES. 153 

Alarming accidents not resulting in death have been frequent. A few are here given. 

About 1796, Amherst Hay ward, then a boy of eight years, while at play where his father had 
been digging sand from the bank just east of C. W. Bingham's house, was suddenly buried by 
the falling in of the bank. The screams of the other children brought his father to the spot, 
barely in season to save his life. 

About 1820, Luke Hemenway, while bathing with others in the pond by the " Pease Mill," 
6truck his head against a rock in diving, and would have drowned but for the energetic assist- 
ance of Justin Pease. 

About 1836, John U. Weeks accidentally " turned his ankle." The sprain not being properly 
cared for, he was obliged to have his leg amputated. 

One Fourth of July, David Brigham got into his water-wheel to repair it. It soon began to 
turn, and he had to step from one float to another, and kept going faster. He finally obtained 
help, and was taken out much frightened and exhausted. 

Dec. 8, 1837, C. B. Hayward, while riding from Keene to Swanzey, was thrown from the 
Stone Bridge, about a mile below Keene Street, and taken up senseless. It was three days 
before he was able to be brought home. 

Sept. 21, 1838, occurred one of those numerous accidents from carelessness with fire-arms 
supposed to be unloaded. A High School was at that time kept by Mr. Ash in what is now 
Chandler's Hall. At noon-time the girls were laughing and talking on the stairs and in the 
front entry. One of their number thinking to scare them, slipped into the next room where a 
gun stood in the corner. Having no suspicion it could be loaded, she procured a percussion cap, 
and putting the muzzle of the gun into the entry through the partially opened door, suddenly 
snapped it. It proved to be loaded, and two of the girls were seriously wounded with shot in 
side and shoulder. None of the actors in this almost tragedy are now living. 

At the muster of Sept. 16, 1842, in Keene, Jesse Dart had his left hand badly injured by the 
explosion of his musket. He had, as he supposed, discharged his gun with the rest of the com- 
pany. But unnoticed by him it had failed each time, till he got six cartridges in it together. 
Sanford Guillow had his leg injured by the same explosion. 

In January. 1843, James Bolster, while returning from Marlow in the evening, upset his 
wagon and was very badly gashed in the face. So much blood flowed from it, that it extended 
" about a yard like a small stream or brook." He was supposed to have lain senseless for con- 
siderable time. By the assistance of Mr. Andrew Towne's family, he was enabled to reach 
home in safety. 

Oct. 18, 1843, James Davis was thrown from his horse and taken up for dead, but recovered, 
having a shoulder and several ribs broken. 

March 22, 1844, Benjamin Hosmer Horton, then about six years of age, while playing near 
the door of his grandfather, Stephen Day's house, was kicked on the head by a horse. He was 
taken up for dead, but came to in about three hours. The only permanent injury was a partial 
loss of hearing. 

In 1845, Sylvester Nash had his leg cut off, on account of fever sores brought on by going 
into the water too frequently. 

In 1851, Adelaide M. Townsend fell into the flume near Cuthbert and Minor's mill, and was 
barely brought to in several hours. She fell into the water again after the family went to llar- 
risville, but was rescued immediately. 

In 1856, Israel B. Loveland lost a leg in consequence of an injury done to the knee, some 
years before. 



154 GIL SUM. 

Jesse Dart had one hand mostly destroyed by a circular saw, in March, 1857. 

Elizabeth M. Howard lost one foot from an injury received at play in 1857. 

March 31, 1872, Lawrence Brennan, a boy of about thirteen years, had his left arm crushed 
and torn off under a belt in Collins's Factory. 

In 1871, Mrs. Sarah G. Wood had one leg amputated on account of a fever sore of long 
standing. 

While Fred F. Willard was swinging in a barn at Keene, Nov. 13, 1879, a pistol in his pocket 
was accidentally discharged, wounding his left leg severely. 

Jan. 21, 1880, Timothy O'Lcary, in attempting to put a band on a drum of the main driving 
shaft in Collins's Factory, was caught by his arm, and whirled around the shaft several times, 
before it could be stopped. His arm was amputated below the elbow. 

About 1781, a violent tornado passed over Gilsum. The principal effect now remembered 
was the sweeping down of the heavy growth of pines on Surry mountain and the hill east of 
Hammond Hollow. Many hundreds of those old pines rotted and were burned on the ground. 
Some still remember the huge logs which lay on these hills, and which would now be worth 
thousands of dollars for lumber. They have been mostly burned by hunters' fires. 

On Sunday afternoon, July 1, 1877, between five and six o'clock, occurred another tornado 
or whirlwind. At the village there was a very black cloud with a great amount of sharp light- 
ning and a heavy shower of rain, lasting about an hour. But the report of what had taken 
place in the south part of the town was hardly believed at first. Apparently beginning on the 
crown of the hill just south of where the original Pease house stood, it took a general course a 
little south of east. Striking the Webster barn on the east of the road it left a mass of ruins 
mingled with farm utensils broken under the falling timber. Tearing up part of the sugar 
and apple orchards of B. H. Britton and Calvin Wright, it lifted the School House from its foun- 
dation and turned the front from the south to east, scarcely disturbing even the plastering upon 
the walls. Orescit evndo. Rending from the ground nearly the whole of the Woodward 
orchard, it tore the barns and sheds into kindling wood, and partly unroofed the house. One 
building was swept clean from the foundations and shivered to splinters, scattered for many rods 
in the path of the whirlwind, while the grindstone and ploughs that were stored under it, were 
entirely undisturbed. Only the heavy oaken frame of the old Wilcox house on the hill, saved it 
from utter demolition. Standing in the path of the tempest, it was unroofed and rendered 
uninhabitable, while the barns and other buildings were mostly destroyed. Pouring over the hill 
with redoubled fury, large trees were twisted off like twigs in its path. Nearly the whole of the 
maples and apple-trees on Lansing Wilder's place were destroyed. His house was partially 
unroofed, the windows broken, the ell part ruined, and all but one of his out-buildings demol- 
ished. Heavy pieces of timber were carried long distances, boards were driven in some instances 
several feet into the ground, and left standing in the track. A shingle was observed driven into 
the bark of a maple-tree and standing firmly there. After destroying full twenty buildings in 
Gilsum it passed on through Sullivan, Nelson, and Hancock. 



HUNTING STORIES. 155 

CHAPTER XXVII. 

HUNTING STORIES. 

Bears, wolves and deer were frequently killed by the first settlers. Only a few anecdotes 
remain. Moose were very rarely seen. I remember hearing the story of a moose hunt some- 
where in this vicinity, when the man who discovered him was so excited that he forgot to shoot, 
but cried out, " I see the moose ! I see the moose ! " who of course speedily got out of the way. 
At certain seasons of the year, deer were protected by law. Hence the early records of Surry 
show the appointment of " deer-riefs," who wen- officers to enforce the laws against the hunters. 

Bears were often seen even by the children. Horace Hay ward and his younger brother 
Amherst out berrying when quite small boys, saw a bear on a burnt log, picking blackberries. 
They shouted at him and lie ran off. Benjamin Corey remembers going home from the neigh- 
bors, when he was about 12 years old, and running against a bear in the dark, felt him brush 
against him. He ran back and got some one to go home with him. That it was a bear was 
known from the tracks found there in the morning. He also remembers that Paul Parnsworth 
caught a bear in a log-trap Another log-trap set for a bear caught Thomas Powell's " big hog." 

Zenas Bingham and his two sisters were frightened home from berry-picking by a bear, about 
the beginning of the century. 

A bear took a shote from Samuel Mark's pen. Mr. Mark pursued him with an ax, but the 
bear showing fight, he ran across to Capt. Holdridge's for a gun. When he got back, the bear 
bad got so far away that pursuit was useless. 

Capt. David Fuller had an encounter with a bear on Surry mountain. The versions of the 
story differ greatly. One says it was when lie was a young man, and was going home from his 
clearing without any gun. The bear had been previously wounded and was lame, so that he 
thought he might overtake and dispatcli her with his ax. Others say it was after his marriage* 
and while living with his first wife, that he had a gun and shot the bear who at once fell down. 
Thinking her dead, he neglected to reload, but on approaching the bear, she suddenly turned 
and attacked him. He fled for his life and climbed a tree, where the bear guarded him a long 
time before he could raise help by his cries. His brother Levi in Surry, and others in the Ham- 
mond Hollow, and some who were at work on the Hendee place, heard him and started to his 
assistance. Twenty or thirty came from Surry. Squire Blish was at work clearing, and had an 
ax in his hand. Seeing the bear close by, he absent-mindedly dropped his ax, and looked around 
for a club. It was just at night, and the bear got away. It was very dark, and the company 
lighted pine torches to get home by. 

The rocky hill known from the earliest times as " Bearden," was evidently a great resort for 
bears, and was doubtless well-known to the Indian hunters. It is related of Peter Hayward 
that he and John Borden chased a bear into a den in this mountain. The place is well-known, 
under a projecting rock a little south of the overhanging cliff at the north end of the ledge. 
Mr. Hayward undauntedly followed the bear, leaving Mr. Borden to shoot him as he came out. 
Having come to a narrow place between two parts of the den, the bear was alarmed and squeezed 
out between his legs. Mr. Borden snapped his gun at the bear, but it flashed in the pan, and he 
got away. To the early settlers this would be quite a serious loss. They were often brought to 
very close straits for provisions, and had to depend almost entirely on success in hunting. It is 



156 GILSUM. 

related of this same Peter Hay ward that one Friday noon he found their meat and meal were all 
used up, and they hadn't bread to last till Monday, nor had he any money with which to- buy. 
About four o'clock, leaving Ins boys to go on with their work, he took his gun, (a very long one, 
now owned by N. 0. Hayward,) and went over west on the hills about a mile. As he was look- 
ing about, he saw a fine buck rubbing his horns against a tree. The distance was thirty or forty 
rods, but he feared to try to get nearer, and putting an extra bullet in his gun, and in the 
extremity of his need, lifting a prayer for success, he fired and killed him. He hung up three 
of the quarters out of the way of wolves, and carried the hide and one quarter home. It was 
after dark, when he took his horse and started for Northfield, Mass., a distance of 30 miles I 
where he sold the Buckskin, (then in great demand for military uniforms,) bought three bushels 
of corn, and after getting it ground, started for home, where he arrived Saturday night. He 
was a great hunter of both wild beasts and Indians, by whom he was well-known, and greatly 
feared. (Page 16.) 

Early in June, 1777, Eleazer Wilcox, Senior, had a noted fight with a bear. The story is 
told with many variations, and the exact truth is difficult to get at. The locality has been 
claimed for Keene, but the best authority asserts that it was very near the line in Gilsum, east 
of Lansing Wilder's meadow. Mr. Wilcox had previously wounded the bear, and sent for 
Joshua Osgood of Sullivan to come and help him. After hunting a good while, they were sepa- 
rated some thirty or forty rods, when the bear disturbed by the dog, suddenly came at Mr. Wil- 
cox from behind the root of a tree. His gun missed fire, and the bear rising on her hind legs 
struck it with such force as to bend back the guard and made a heavy dent, still to be seen in 
the stock.* The man and bear then clinched. Mr. Wilcox was a large, powerful man, noted 
for his strength in wrestling. He seized the bear's tongue and held on with all his might. The 
dog kept attacking the bear from behind, and his barking and the shouts of Mr. Wilcox soon 
brought Mr. Osgood. He feared to fire at first, lest he should kill the man, but seeing that the 
bear would soon dispatch him, if let alone, he watched his chance and fired. The bear dropped 
her hold and ran away. She was found dead the next day near a little pool of water. Mr. 
Osgood went immediately for assistance and they carried Mr. Wilcox home on a litter of boughs. 
He had forty-two wounds on him, some say sixty. It was a wonder that he recovered. He said 
his worst hurt was in his back, by struggling to hold up against the bear, who, with her paws on 
his shoulders, was trying to push him over backwards. He was never as well as before, and 
occasionally had ill turns, that he called his " bear fits." 

Moses Farnsworth going home through the woods one night was chased by a bear, and was 
obliged to climb a tree, where the bear watched him for some time. Finally she went off with 
her cubs, and lie hurried home greatly frightened. A company gathered and went in pursuit, 
and at length shot her in the woods " up the river." 

Capt. Solomon Mack with some of his neighbors went coon-bunting in the woods on the hill 
in what is now Smith's pasture, over east of the Stone Bridge. Having treed their game, they 
built a fire, and began chopping down the tree, when a huge bear came backing down the trunk. 
In their astonishment, they failed to use either ax or gun, and the bear " cleared out." 

When Solomon Mack and his brother Daniel were boiling sap by night in the woods, the one 
whose turn it was to watch, got asleep. Solomon happening to awake, saw a large bear sitting 

* This gun is now in possession of Edwin C. Ware of Milford. It weighs 6 1-2 pounds, and is 5 feet in length. The barrel is 
44 3-8 inches long, witli 5-8 inch bore. The stock is cherry of an ancient pattern, trimmed with brass. Six marks of the bear's teeth 
are plainly visible near the breech. 



HUNTING STORIES. 157 

up between him and the fire. In his fright he called out, " Dan, Dan, here's a moose ! " The 
bear hastily made off. 

Old Mr. Jesse Dart and Capt. David Fuller are said to have killed eight bears one Fall. 

The last and most noted bear hunt in Gilsuiu, occurred in December, 1816. Authorities dis- 
agree so radically, that I have sometimes almost thought there must have been two. But they 
agree in many peculiar points that could have happened but once. Dates vary from 1815 to 
1822, but investigation fixes the date as above. Belding Dart says that he and Levi Dort had 
been fishing at " Becket pond " in Alstead, and finding a bear track followed it down through 
the village across where the Cuthbert and Minor pond now is. It being then night, people were 
notified and had the hunt the next day. Alvin White says he followed the bear three days. 
First day tracked her to Bearden ledges, and got there just at night, and while talking about 
what they should do the next day, the bear all at once jumped out of a bunch of spruces near by, 
and leaped more than 20 feet down the ledges and escaped. The next day : ' five of us," Alvin 
White, Israel Plumley, Asa Bond, James Locke, and Truman Miller, followed her all day, going 
over Boynton Hill to Stoddard woods. There being some crust, her tracks were bloody. At sun- 
down they came to the Stoddard woods, and concluded to go to Capt. Phelps of Stoddard who 
was a noted bear hunter. When he came to the door, he started back to see five men with guns 
and asked them what they were there for. After they told him, he kept them all night, and 
started early in the morning, telling them if it was a bear she would go right back on her track 
towards Bearden. When he examined the track he was excited and pleased as a boy, shouting, 
" It's a bear, it's a bear ! " He sent as quickly as possible to notify men in Stoddard and Sul- 
livan. Then mounting his horse he rode to Gilsum village and directed about forming a ring 
around the hill, the signal of a complete line to be given by blowing a horn, and then the ring 
was gradually to close up. Benjamin Thompson first saw the bear just escaping from the ring. 
Having no weapon, he jumped up and down and shouted till he drove her back. Edmund Wilcox 
first hit her, breaking her jaw. More than 100 shots were fired, some striking the trees 30 feet 
above the ground, the men were so excited. Hosea Foster says Jacob Spaulding first shot the 
bear. Belding Dart says three men were sent into the ring to shoot her, Capt. Solomon Mack, 
Joshua Osgood, and one other whose name is forgotten, and that she was hit with nine balls 
before she fell. Alvin White says only four balls hit her, and after that, as she was crawl- 
ing over the ledges to get out of the ring, almost dead, two Proctors caught her by the hind legs 
and Samuel Locke stabbed her with a large butcher knife, the only weapon he had. Capt. 
Phelps ordered three cheers. They withed up her legs and carried her on a pole to Stephen 
White's. Tbe men were tired and cold, hungry and dry. They eat up all Mrs. White had 
cooked, and sold the bear to Dudley Smith for eight gallons of rum. It was said as many as 
forty got more or less intoxicated. Some men were drunk then, who never were before or after. 
The bear was killed on the ledges southeast of Mr. White's. This was the last bear killed in 
this town or immediate vicinity. Bears have however been seen a few times since, on the hills 
in the neighborhood of Bearden. 

Horace Hayward at the time Sullivan Meeting House was built, on which he was at work, 
came home Saturday night, and having been " sparking," was going back late Sunday night. 
When he got a short way into the woods, he saw a bear and two cubs. The cubs climbed a tree. 
He came back on the run and got Stephen White and Nathan. The cubs had come down when 
they got there, but quickly ran up again. Nathan White then went for help. Men came from 
the Hammond Hollow and Dart Corner. It was towards morning before they got there. Simon 



158 GILSUM. 

Carpenter happened to catch his gun in the brush so that it went off, and the old bear became 
frightened and " cleared out." They thought they would take the cubs alive. Theophilus 
Eveleth undertook to catch them in a great coat, while Titus Dart climbed the tree to shake them 
down. When Eveleth started for the first one, lie stepped on the coat and fell over the cub who 
bit his hand through ; but after a time they were both captured, and led down to the house with 
cords. Mr. White took them into the old kitchen and his wife gave them some milk which they 
immediately " lapped up like dogs." One of the Darts took one cub, but it got away as he was 
going home. It was heard for some time after crying by night in the woods, and people 
fancied it said " ma'am " almost like a child. Lemuel Bingham took the other cub and kept it 
tied in his shop on the Bond place, where he made window sash. One Sunday when they were 
away at meeting, he got loose and tore and gnawed a whole week's work. 

Alvin White says," One Sunday night my father thought he heard something in the corn, and 
went out about nine o'clock with his little dog. The dog ran right against a bear who turned 
and chased them both most home." 

" When I was 14 or 15 years old, tlie dog barked at something when 1 was stirring hay. I 
thought he had got a woodchuck, and went and found a bear and cubs. Ran for father, but when 
we came back they had gone. We followed them most to Stoddard woods." 

" About 30 years ago my wife saw a bear and cubs when she went for the cows. Two of my 
children saw a bear when they went for the oxen to get in hay. I found next day where the 
bear lay all night." 

When Squire Whitney lived at the old place he had an oven outdoors. One day when Mrs. 
Whitney was getting ready to bake a leg of mutton, she set the pan on the ground while she 
went into the house. When she came out, a bev was just carrying off the leg of mutton. 
Catching up the oven broom, she chased him away, and saved her dinner. 

Of wolves there are not many stories extant. Capt. David Fuller returning from Surry one 
winter night, heard and saw a pack of wolves who followed him up the river as far as the Love- 
land mill, but kept on the other side all the way. 

In March or April, 1828, occurred what is still remembered as " the wolf hunt." The first 
known of the wolf was in killing some early lambs close by Ebenezer Bill's barn. They thought 
it was a wild cat, but a man who saw the track said it was a wolf. Willard Bill followed the 
track till dark, into the woods southwest of the barn. The next morning he went after Amasa 
Miller and his hounds. Mr. Miller said the only way was to get men and surround the woods. 
They sent to Keene and through Gilsum. But for the lack of leadership everything went " hap- 
hazard," the ring was broke and the wolf escaped, having been seen once near Goose Pond by 
Marvin Gates. Some men kept after him for 3 or 4 days but didn't see him again. About ten 
days after, he killed some sheep for Stephen Foster in Sullivan. People rallied from Alstead and 
Sullivan and Gilsum, and formed a ring around the hills where he was supposed to be. Not long 
after it was found he had broken the ring. James Bolster, then belonging to Sullivan, saw him 
pass out, but didn't shoot, supposing him to be a great yellow dog. The company was called 
together to consult. Amasa Miller directed a part to take their stand across the Scripture pasture, 
and lines were formed on the north and east, to close in around by the west. He was seen not 
long after by James Osgood, and word went round that lie was in the ring. No one saw him 
again, till they had nearly closed the ring and began to talk of giving him up. A. R. Livermore 
walking along on a log saw him crawl out of an old spruce top close by, and shot him. He was 
carried up to Dea. Mark's and bid off by Gilsum for $25. Aaron Loveland took him and carried 



SALMA G UNDI. 159 

him about for a show, giving the Gilsum company half the profits. He took $50. The hunters 
got 18 cts. apiece. The Sullivan men got each a pistareen. The skin of the wolf was made 
into the head of a bass-drum, now owned by A. B. Nash. 

The last wolf seen in this town was in the winter of 1847-8. He was seen in various places 
and killed some sheep. He lay all night on a rock near where Mrs. S. F. Hayward now lives. 
Several persons saw him and thought it was a large dog. Old Mr. Huntoon then living in 
Herbert Adams's house by the river, saw him come to the river and drink. He recognized a 
wolf at once, and several persons started after him and chased him nearly over to Bearden. 
March 1 , a large company were collected from Alstead and Gilsum and some from Marlow, and 
without much leadership went after him to Alstead and Marlow. He was tracked to the woods 
north of Daniel Downinu's, which was surrounded, but the ring got broken, and when we came 
together no wolf was found. He was known however to be in the woods and his track out was 
found the next day, so that if the ring had been again more carefully formed he must have been 
captured, but the snow was deep and all were very tired and hurried home about the middle of 
the afternoon. He was afterwards shot in Washington. 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 

SALMAGUNDI. 

"And cooks us up on every Monday 
A horrid dish of salmagundi." 

In 1773, the Selectmen of Gilsum were appointed to take, and did take, an Inventory of the 
property in Limerick (or Limbrick as they call it, now Stoddard) for which they charged #2 
each. It was done by Ebenezer Dewey, Jr., and Samuel Church, who express themselves as 
dissatisfied with the job, and recommend the appointment of " Isaac Temple & Oliver Parker 
of sd Limbrick " to do the business in the future. 

In September, 1791, " "Voted to Build A Sign post which David Puler Undtook to make For 
one Dollar." It seems he failed to accomplish the undertaking, for in October following " Struck 
off the Signpost to Turner White to Build For ten Shillings." It was probably not built even 
then, for in December, 1791, " Voted to Reconsider the Vote for Building a Sign post," and in 
1800 " Voted to discharge Ebenezer Bill as Bondsman for Building a Sine post." What this 
" Signpost" was for, or where to be placed, is not evident. No record or tradition serves to clear 
up the matter. 

Before the establishment of Post Offices in the smaller towns, people could hear from their 
friends only at long intervals, by private means. Whenever a person took a journey, he carried 
letters and messages for all his neighbors who had friends in the parts to which he was traveling. 
Persons, now called tramps, were in those days among the most useful members of society. 
They were not generally ill-disposed, but simply shiftless vagabonds, who preferred roaming 
from place to place, living on the hospitality of the then open houses, rather than to live by the 
sweat of their brow. They were generally thoroughly trustworthy in the matter of letters and 



160 aiLSUM. 

messages, and a letter intrusted to their care, was sure in time to reach its destination, and 
receive its reward in a comfortable lodging and the abundant though coarse fare of the times. 
Such persons were expected to return at nearly regular intervals, and seldom failed of punctu- 
ality. They frequently had beats, so to speak, of several hundred miles. Even after the 
establishment of postal facilities this ruder system continued its benign operations for many 
years. There are probably some families even now, who would take pains to send a letter in this 
way, in preference to the mail. In 1789, Uzzel Hurd advertised to supply Gilsum and other 
towns north to Plainfield, once a fortnight with the "New Hampshire Recorder," then published 
at Keene. 

The first Post Office in Gilsum was established in 1828. The following is the list of Post 
Masters with dates of appointment : — 

Chilion Mack, Dec. 20, 1828 ; Ezra Webster, Oct. 8. 1842 ; John B. Otis, July 6, 1852 ; Ezra Webster, Feb. 
19, 1853; Davis H. Wilson, May 11, 1859; Aaron D. Hammond, Jan. 31, 1861 ; Francis A. Howard, June 19, 
1861 ; John A. Smith. Nov. 14, 1877. 

Before 1828, the mail was usually obtained from the Keene Post Office. At first the mail 
was brought only once a week, by John H. Priest of Alstead, who continued to carry the mail for 
27 years. A large part of the time he went on horseback. 

Before 1789, the annual meetings of the town were doubtless held at the Meeting House, 
when they had one, — at other times in some dwelling, generally a tavern. In 1789, the meet- 
ing was called " at the Dwelling house of Lieut Daniel Wright's." The next year, the special 
meetings were at the Meeting House, but the annual meetings were at " Lieut. Wright's " till 
1793. Prom that time, the annual, and most of the special meetings were held at the old 
Meeting House near Dudley Smith's tavern, till 1849, when " Dort's Hall" became the place for 
assembling. This same Hall was used for this purpose for twenty-eight years. Efforts were 
made at various times to have some more suitable place provided, but articles on the subject were 
dismissed no less than six times. In 1876, the Meeting House belonging to the Methodist Society 
was bought for 1700. It has since been fitted up at an expense of nearly $500, and the town, 
for the first time in its history, owns a good Hall. 

Capt. Elisha Mack, who was building the first bridge across the Ashuelot where the Stone 
Bridge now stands, was the hero of the notorious Keene Raid, which took place May 31, 1779. 
Gilsum had no Tories, while Keene had a considerable number. Thirteen refused to sign the 
Association Test, and others fled for a season. But there were still enough left to excite the 
suspicion and wrath of the zealous patriots of that day. Capt. Mack assembled a company at 
" Partridge's Tavern near Wright's Mills," that is near the Holbrook mills of later times. He 
sent several men in the night to guard the houses where the Tories were known to reside. " At 
sunrise he rode into Keene at the head of his party with a drawn sword ; and when he came to 
the house of a Tory, he ordered the sentinel, standing at the door, to ' turn out the prisoner.' 
The prisoner being brought out, and placed in the midst of his party, he proceeded onward." 
Their houses were searched for provisions and ammunition, as they were suspected of making 
collections of supplies for the British, but nothing of importance was found. He took the 
prisoners to Hall's tavern, which stood just below the railroad on the east side of Main Street, 
" and confined them in a chamber." Capt. Davis Howlett quickly summoned his company with 
" arms and ammunition," and " about the middle of the forenoon " had them drawn up facing 
the south across the Square " on a line with the north line of West Street," with their muskets 
loaded. Capt. Mack's company was drawn up opposite. An express had been sent to Winches- 



SALMAGUNDI. 161 

ter for Col. Alexander, the commander of the Regiment. Soon after the assembling of Howlett's 
company he arrived, and demanded of Mack " if he intended to pursue his object. 'I do,' replied 
he, ' at the hazard of my life.' 'Then,' said the Colonel, emphatically, ' you must prepare for 
eternity, for you shall not be permitted to take vengeance, in this irregular mode, on any men, 
even if they are Tories.' This resolute speech cooled the ardor of many. After deliberating 
awhile, Mack ordered his party to face about, and led them a short distance southward ; and the 
militia then went into the meeting-house." Seeing the determination of his superior officer 
whose orders he was under obligations to obey, and no doubt beginning to realize that his pro- 
ceeding was entirely unlawful, Capt. Mack soon after led his company back silently toward home. 
The women along the road, came out with tin-pans and warming-pans and other utensils, with 
which they gave them a lively tune, interspersed with hooting and jeers. 

There is no doubt that Capt. Mack, who was a bold and honored officer in the service of his 
country, was stirred up to the expedition by some of the zealous Whigs of Keene, who were 
afraid to be seen in it themselves. He felt the great importance of breaking up the Tory bands, 
and his action, though rash, ill-considered, and futile in its immediate results, had without doubt 
a salutary influence. (Appendix F.) 

A cannon provided by the King before the Revolution and kept at the fort in Walpole was 
long a source of contention among the towns of this vicinity. The rivalry between Keene and 
Walpole is related in the Annals of Keene. The finale of that history is not, however, given 
correctly there. William Banks relates the following incidents quorum pars fuit. About eight 
o'clock one evening in April, 1823, a party of 17 mounted on horseback met by appointment at 
Lieut. Samuel Bill's. There they got a cart, two yoke of oxen, ropes and skids. The cannon 
was known to be hid in Daniel Day's cellar, on the road from the Peter Hayward place to Keene 
street. Loren Loveland who had lived at Mr. Day's conducted the company. He went ahead 
and made friends with the dog and got the hatchway open. The cannon was taken and put on 
the cart, when they hurried away as quickly and quietly as possible till they got out of hearing, 
when they stopped and fastened it securely for coming up the long hills. One of the party went 
back through Surry and got eight pounds of powder which was fired in three charges ; the first 
when they got back to Mr. Bill's, and the other two in front of Dudley Smith's tavern near the 
meeting house. The last charge contained nearly half the powder, and the report broke both 
windows and bottles in Smith's tavern. The difficulty now was to keep the cannon. It was 
first carried back and hid in Mr. Bill's cellar. It was then moved to Berzeleel Mack's cellar ; 
but he got frightened, and said he wouldn't keep it, for he heard men around the house in the 
night. It was then buried in the path between Dea. Pease's house and the spring. But fearing 
lest Keene folks had got track of it, it was put under Dea. Pease's bed, where it was kept 
for a long time, except when brought out for use. Keene never got it again. Gilsum let Marlow 
take it, the Fourth of July after their own celebration, on condition of returning it when wanted. 
It was afterwards carried to Westmoreland to celebrate the first steamer's arrival, and was there 
purposely exploded, by being filled with an enormous charge of powder jammed down with brick- 
bats and stone. Exit Walpole cannon. 

A certain citizen who was notorious in all the region for his mean tricks, became so obnoxious, 
that seven of his neighbors built a wooden horse and set it up against the fence iii front of his 
house. After much threatening, he finally gave one of them ten dollars to bring out the rest. 
He then had the men arrested and taken before Esq. Hill at Holbrook's old tavern in Surry. 
They chose a captain and marched in regular order, with horns and all kinds of hideous noises 



162 GILSUM. 

for music. Mr. Holbrook came out, invited them in and gave them a treat. They had the 
sympathy of all the people, nearly 200 of whom assembled to hear the trial. It was proved that 
the horse neither injured the fence nor obstructed the highway, and the justice decided that the 
man had no ground of action They then turned and demanded of him what had become of the 
horse, which they claimed as their private property. He owned that he had cut it up and burned 
it. They demanded pay, and he was actually obliged to pay them seventy-five cents apiece for 
the horse. Probably no other case can be found where a man paid for a wooden horse to be set 
at his own door. 

Somewhere about 1790, three yoke of oxen were stolen out of Samuel Corey's barnyard in 
the night. They were found in the pine woods near Swanzey factory the next day. As they 
were all yoked up right, it was thought some one who was acquainted, must have been engaged in 
it. Besides, the thieves could find only two yokes, and one pair had a neighbor's yoke on. This 
neighbor came to Mr. Corey next morning inquiring after his yoke. Nothing, however, could 
be proved against him. The chain with which the oxen were fastened together, when they were 
driven away, was 16 feet long and was used at the moving of Whitney's clothing shop, and bore 
the strain of the whole draft more than half the way, when for some reason a change was made 
and the chain which was substituted broke. This chain was sold at auction in 1873, to John W. 
Hubbard of Sullivan for $1.55. 

Few boys " raised " in Gilsum but have been admonished of fickleness of purpose by the 
story of John. When a boy, lie was taken by his father, to Squire Hill's in Surry, to learn the 
tanners' trade. They went over afoot. The father left him, and then went to McCurdy's 
tavern and spent the night. When he came home the next morning, he found John had got 
back first. " Why, John, how came you here ? " said the father. " I'm sorry I tarn' t the trade" 
whimpered John, " I never wanted to see Zene so in all my life." 

Every community, not to say every family, has its superstitions, which no amount of reason- 
ing can wholly eradicate. No doubt a whole chapter might be filled with anecdotes of such 
things firmly believed by many persons in Gilsum. Only a few can here be given. 

On the last Sabbath that Rev. Mr. Fish preached, a partridge flew into the meeting house, 
during service. It was caught and killed. Many thought it should have been set free, and that 
the killing of it, was an omen of Mr. Fish's death, which occurred a few weeks after. 

Though the horrors of witch-hanging seem to have been mainly confined to the eastern part 
of Massachusetts, yet the belief in witchcraft reached almost every household. An old Mrs. 
Rice, who lived in the south part of the town, was reputed to be a witch. Many were afraid of 
her power. Respectable citizens said they saw her pass along over the light snow and leave no 
tracks. It is related as an undeniable fact, that Dr. Munroe of Surry was called to attend a 
sick woman, and was much surprised to find his medicines had no effect. The neighbors said 
Mrs. Rice had bewitched her. The doctor bled his patient and threw the blood in the fire. 
Immediately the woman began to improve, and medicine had its usual effect, while Mrs. Rice 
was found to have her hands terribly burned just at that time. John Mark took a common-sense 
view of the matter, saying he didn't believe she was a witch, for he turned her out of his house 
once, and if she had the power, she would have bewitched him. 

The history of all ages shows that fanaticism commits its greatest excesses under the guise 
of religion. Great truths are many-sided; and minds of much sincerity but little judgment, 
seizing only upon one aspect thereof, are often led by their zeal for truth itself, to the extremes 



SALMAGUNDI. 163 

of absurdity and folly. Gilsum has furnished a few such examples. Some, in cases of danger- 
ous sickness, have refused to call a physician, trusting to " gifts of healing " supposed to reside in 
the " elders of the church." Two persons even attempted to " raise the dead." One man placed 
stones in his heated oven, vainly hoping that by the power of faith, they would become bread. 
Another, in relating his religious experience, told of a terrible fight with the devil, and that he 
conquered at last by shooting him with a " fo'pence ha'penny." No doubt many others might 
have slain the devil of avariciousness in their souls by giving their silver pieces to the Lord. 

Everybody rode horseback till some years after the present century came in. The women 
had their side-saddles to ride by themselves, or oftentimes the pillion on which to sit behind the 
saddle, and hold on with arm around husband, father, brother, or lover. Every dooryard had 
its horse-block from which more easily to mount. A fine specimen of this article may be seen 
just south of the first parsonage. It was doubtless placed there at the building of the house in 
1794. Mrs. Hathhorn says the first wheeled carriage that ever came into town was Dr. Adams's 
of Keene, about 1810, and the first owned in town was old Mr. Hammond's, two or three years 
later. Dea. Blish got one about the same time. People ridiculed them, and thought it was 
very bad for the horses. It was a common remark that it was " like drawing a cat by the tail." 
The first bell brought into town was put on Brigliam's Factory in 1831. This was the heav- 
iest and finest toned bell ever used in Gilsum. It was broken by constant and violent ringing, 
July 4, 1834. Another smaller bell was put on the Factory in March, 1835. This was destroyed 
in the fire of 1846. 

The first bell on the Congregational Meeting House was a very good one, though not equal 
to the first factory bell. It weighed 734 pounds. This was cracked in 1858, and the present 
bell weighing 505 pounds, was raised the next year. 

In 1847, the Silsbvs put a new bell, much smaller than the old one, on their new Factory. 
The bell at Collins's Factory is the same first raised by Gerould and Wetherby, October, 1844, 
and weighs 164 pounds. 

On Sunday, Dec. 8, 1844, there were five preaching services in the village at the same hour, 
— Congregationalist, Methodist, Christian, Universalist, and Mormon. 

About 1812, Mrs. Justus Chapin sold land in Connecticut and took a dozen clocks in pay- 
ment. Her son, Joseph M. Chapin, has one of them ; Israel Loveland bought one ; and the 
others were sold to various families. > 

Orlando Mack relates that Squire Whitney came to his father's in the winter of 1806-7, (?) on 
horseback ; put up his horse, and went across the river on foot, the snow being " boot top deep," 
to perform the marriage ceremony for some anxious couple. When he got back, he exhibited 
" a pair of nice birch peeled brooms," which he had received for his services, " and seemed as 
well pleased as ministers now do with a ten." 

The " cold season " of 1816, is often spoken of by the older people. Frost and snow appeared 
every month in the year but August. No corn was raised except " pig corn," and most of it 
got " slimy and moldy " before it could be husked and dried. People were very much straitened 
for food to eat. Pigeons were unusually plenty and furnished most of their meat. One man 
speaking of the season says, " We lived poor I can tell ye ! " Fodder was so scarce many were 
obliged to turn out the cattle as early as January, 1817, to live by browsing trees cut down for 
the purpose. 

In the Spring of 1843, many farmers were obliged to do the same thing, as the preceding 



164 aiLSUM. 

hay-crop was light, and the snow was very deep, so that on the first day of May, the drifts 
were over the fences in many places. 

Iu March, 1844, the best hay was only #8.00 a ton. The same is true of 1879. 

Aug. 4, 1835, there was frost in low ground. June 11, 1842, there was snow so that 
Monadnock was white. The next morning there was a very severe frost. Ice formed half an 
inch thick. Vegetation was almost entirely killed. 

From the Annals of 184?), (page 134,) is taken the following record : — 

April 25, 1843. A few of the citizens in the Factory Village spent most of the day transplanting trees for 

ornament & shade, 12 Maples were sett & one Elm about 8 inches through at the butt was sett in front of the 

Meeting house on the Street. 

This elm was taken from the bank near Chas. W. Bingham's shop. April, 1879, it meas- 
ured eight feet in circumference, at four inches from the ground. It is very properly called the 
Tisdale Elm, as it was owing to the constant care of Rev. James Tisdale, who watered it with 
his own hands every day through the summer, that it was kept alive. 

A part of the maples mentioned are still standing near the brick house, and north of New- 
man's store and barn. Most of the maples on the street are somewhat younger. Those in 
front of Dea. Kingsbury's were set probably one year later. The elm in front of Fanny Mark's 
is of spontaneous growth. In 1846, it was less than two inches through. 

The elm at the head of Main Street was set by K. D. Webster and N. 0. Hayward, as a 
Centennial tree in 1876. A large number of citizens aided in planting another, in the square at 
the head of Sullivan Street. The attempt was renewed the next year, but both trees failed. 

Two Centennial elms were set at the Lower Village by the citizens there, — one between the 
roads north of the Stone Bridge, — the other in the square in front of the old Store. 

Several trees near C. W. Bingham's were set by him the same year. The elms near Col- 
lins's Factory were also set at that time by John S. Collins. There are other Centennial trees 
in different parts of the town, but these are all of which I have any definite information. 

The coon is sometimes reported to " play possum " by feigning itself dead. When Silvanus 
Hayward was clearing a spot for his house, where the center of the village now is, he caught a 
coon one forenoon and laid it away in the shade for dead. When night came, he took it up by 
the hind legs and started for home. Soon, however, the coon bit him severely. He finally recap- 
tured and killed him. 

In the Annals of 1842, (page 134,) is found the following record : — 

October, 1842. A fight took place on the Banks of the Ashuelot between 1 man & woman on one side & 2 

men & 1 woman on the other side — the 2 women commenced the Battle — it was on account of drinking rum — 

no lives lost. 

Suggestions which startle us in elaborate works of philosophers are sometimes more startling 
on the lips of childhood. A small boy in Gilsum went with his mother to visit a poor family, 
where one of the children was " a fool." When they came away, he said to his mother, with 
great earnestness, " Why don't they kill him ? " 

How much Ashuelot water, and soap, or other worse ingredients have been sold for rum, in 
Gilsum, no man living can tell. One man remembers, when a boy, happening to be sent to the 
store rather early in the morning where he found the merchant in his back room briskly stirring 
up a hogshead of rum with a broom handle. Another dealer was awakened early Monday morn- 
ing by one of his best customers, who brought back a bottle of rum he had bought there Satur- 
day night, demanding his money back, because, as he said, " It aint pally-ate-able." 

Mr. Dimmoek lived on the top of the hill near the Cannon place in Sullivan. At one time, 



SALMAGUNDI. 165 

becoming vexed with his farm and his neighbors, he declared he wouldn't live in Sullivan, or 
anywhere else, but would move to Keene. 

John Chappell was an Irishman, and very poor. One Spring he went to Capt. Fuller's and 
asked for some hay for his cow. Capt. Fuller told him he would give him as much as he could 
carry home on his back. Anxious to get as much as possible, he tied up so large a bundle, that 
when he tried to go with it, he found he could hardly stagger under its weight. Throwing it 
down he said, " I don't feel very well to-day, and / can't carry as much as I can" and asked 
leave to take it at two loads, which was granted. He lived on the hill back of where Collins's 
Factory now stands, and often complained that the hill was so steep that it hit him in the face, 
when he went home at night. 

Many a forlorn, love-sick swain has wondered whether the materia medica contained a cure for 
his pangs. The following discovery, not patented, may be of use in such cases : A. young man, who 
afterwards became a citizen of this town, was deeply in love with a girl who treated him rather 
coldly, as he thought. It was the early part of Winter, and a barrel of apples, which had been 
badly frozen, stood in the large, open chamber where he slept. One night after he had gone to 
bed, he was overheard talking to himself, and uttering bitter complaints about the scornful fair 
one. After a while he said, "Now, I'll eat some of them frozen apples, and that'll give me the 
belly ache, so I shall forget all about it." 



PART II. 



TOPOGRAPHICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL. 



" Let not Ambition mock their useful toil, 
Their homely joys, and destiny obscure; 
Nor Grandeur hear with a disdainful smile 
The short and simple annals of the poor. 

Far from the madding crowd's ignoble strife, 
Their sober wishes never learned to stray ; 

Along the cool, sequestered vale of life 
They kept the even tenor of their way." 



EXPLANATIONS. 
Numbers in Part II. refer to the maps. 

In Chapter 30, the names in small capitals are found on the back of the charter ; those in italics are found in 
the " ranging table," but not in the charter. 

In Chapters 32 to 38 names in small capitals are supposed to be the first settlers on the places mentioned. 

MAP EXPLANATIONS. 

Old building spots are marked with a circle, o 
Houses now standing, with a rectangle, □ 
Roads in present use, with double lines, — 

Old roads, with one dark line, — — — 

Old roads and paths not surveyed out for this map, with dotted lines, 

A single date, or the earliest date beside a road shows the year it was opened ; a date with the letter T, the year 
it was thrown up ; with the letter G, when made subject to gates and bars. 
Names indicate residents in 1879. 

School Houses, S. H. Blacksmith's Shops, B. S. Meeting Houses, M. H. 
See also the Preface. 



CHAPTEE XXIX. 

FIRST SETTLER. 

The Kilburns have always claimed to have been the first settlers in Gilsum. So far as I 
know, every Gazetteer or similar work names Josiah Kilburn as the first settler. A counter 
tradition has been met in looking up materials for this history. It is believed the following 
record gives a full and fair statement of the case. 

Josiah Kilburn, was in company with a Mr. Ford, (grandfather of Jemima,) in a large Tan- 
nery and Shoe manufactory in Glastonbury, Conn. They were prosperous in business,, and had 
accumulated considerable wealth for those times. Mr. Kilburn having the old English idea that 
real estate was the only property to give a man position, was very anxious to buy land. Hearing 
of this township for sale, he sent up men to look over the ground. When they got here, they 
were taken in hand by agents of Col. Bellows, who first bewildered them by wandering in the 
woods, and then kept them traveling three days in Surry meadows. Thinking they had gone 
over a large tract of country, they returned and reported that it was a very level town " without 
a stone large enough to throw at a bird." Encouraged by this report, Mr. Kilburn joined with 
Samuel Gilbert and others (page 18) in the purchase of 18,000 acres, May 1, 176T. In a deed 
given by him the same year, he calls himself of Hebron, Conn. In November, 1762, he 
writes himself Josiah Kilbourn of Keene. Before finding this deed, I had met the tradition that 
he supposed the log cabin that he first built was in Keene. It was within a few rods of the town 
line, on the spot marked 1 on the map. This deed fixes the time of his coming from Connect- 
icut, in the Fall of 1762. His son Ebenezer came with him. They spent the Winter and the 
Summer following, in clearing the land, building a barn, and preparing their cabin to receive 
their families. They then returned to Connecticut, and in the Spring of 1764, brought up their 
families, with a large herd of cattle and sheep and several horses. 

The following tradition of a still earlier settlement is from George Hammond, Esq., of 
Bennett's Corners, N. Y., who received it from his Aunt Rachel (Bill) Baxter, a niece of Dca. 
Kilburn's wife, and "an extremely particular and accurate person." 

In that first winter of 1762-3. the Kilburns not having raised any crops the Summer before, 
came near starvation. " Guided only by the marked trees of the beaver hunter, they went 
through the heavy forest near where Ebenezer Isham settled, to a spot the beavers had cleared 
in the lowland known as the old Hammond Meadow, where they cut some swale grass for their 
oxen. Hearing afterwards that a settler in the northwest part had raised some rye, Mr. Kil- 
burn started on snow shoes to visit his neighbor and purchase a bag of rye. He followed the 
Indian trail to near where Calvin May once lived, and then struck for the high land and tried to 
discern the smoke of the settler's cabin, but could see none, and became nearly discouraged. He 
finally halloed at the top of his voice, and great was his joy to hear an answer, and in a short 
time, hungry and fatigued, he found the cabin, got a bushel of rye, and after rest and food 
returned to his home." 

This cabin was that of Jonathan Bliss, on the farm now owned by Dennis Keefe, supposed to 
be on the spot numbered 135. From this tradition the claim is made that Jonathan Bliss was 
the first settler in Gilsum. Careful examination involving much time, has been made to verify 
this statement. The name of Jonathan Bliss does not appear on the charter of cither Boyle or 



170 GILSUM. 

Gilsuin, nor is it found throughout the records of the Proprietors. The land he afterwards 
owned was " drawn " by Joshua and Nathaniel Dart, and their brother-in-law, Joseph Spencer. 
His name is not found among the Gilsum men of 1768. February, 1769, in a deed to Samuel 
Church, he calls himself of Bolton, Conn. In a deed of October, 1769, he calls himself of 
Gilsum. The deeds in which he is grantee have not been found. It has been suggested that 
" there were numerous settlers in Surry before Mr. Kilburn settled in Gilsum, and Jonathan 
Bliss was an extension up the river from the Surry settlement." All the deeds and Proprietors' 
records show, however, that there were no settlements north of " Westmoreland Leg " prior to 
1762. Probably several families had settled in Surry before the Kilburns brought their families 
in 1764. But the first settlements along Surry meadows were not before 1762, when the Kil- 
burns came to Gilsum. J. Homer Bliss, Esq., of Norwich, Conn., writes that he has items con- 
cerning the Bliss family, collected by Rev. Sylvester Bliss, in which Jonathan Bliss is said to have 
removed from Tolland, Conn., to Gilsum in 1752. Possibly he left Tolland at that time, and it 
being known that his life was mainly spent in Gilsum, it was inferred that he came immediately 
here. That it could not have been obtained from contemporary records is evident from the fact 
that the name Gilsum had no existence till more than ten years later. It seems more probable 
that it is a slip of the pen for 1762. All tradition and documentary evidence concur in making 
Peter Hay ward in 1752-3 the first settler north of Keene. During ten years of the Indian 
troubles it would have been impossible for Mr. Bliss to have escaped their attacks. From five 
miles further north, he could not well have fled to the fort, as did Mr. Hay ward. Situated within 
a short distance of the old Indian trail, he could not have escaped their notice, and must have 
been scalped or captured. The fact that no evidence, or trace of evidence, exists of his fleeing 
or being molested, is conclusive that he could not have been there at that time. 

The conclusion I have reached, (of the substantial accuracy of which I have no doubt,) is 
the following. Mr. Bliss came early enough to get a crop of rye in 1762, while Mr. Kilburn 
came the Pall after. Jonathan Bliss was therefore the first settler by a few months ; but re- 
turned to Connecticut, remaining there several years, and permanently located in Gilsum in 1769. 



PROPRIETORS. 171 

CHAPTER XXX. 

PROPRIETORS. 

Of a large part of the original proprietors of Gilsum very little is now known. The follow- 
ing names are those which arc given on the back of the Charter, (page 21,) with such as after- 
wards appear in the proprietors' records. 

Nothing has been learned respecting Elijah Owen, Jonathan Dart, William Dart, Ichabod 
Warner, Jonathan Burge, James Spencer, or Joseph Beakit. Noah Beebe, Jared Nolton, 
Nathanill Warner and Joseph Ransun, found in the " Ranging Table," (pages 24, 25,) are also 
unknown. 

For the Kilburns, Abner Mack, and Stephen Griswold, of the original Grantees ; and 
Ebenezer Bill, Ebenezer Dewey, Mcdad Thornton, and Eleazer Wilcox, named in the proprietors' 
records, see the following chapters. 

Samuel Gilbert was of Hebron, Conn. He was a Captain, and probably served as such in 
the French and Indian war. At the time of his death he is called Colonel. He also held the 
office of Justice of the Peace. He was a land speculator on a large scale, and was one of the 
leaders in securing the grant of Newton, now Alstcad. Though at one time the owner of a 
large part of Gilsum, no evidence has been found that he ever came to see it. He died in 1786, 
and his heirs were Samuel, Thomas, Elizabeth wife of Rev. Clement Sumner, John 2d, Sylves- 
ter, and Gardner. 

Jonathan Smith was of Bolton, Conn., and was associated with Samuel Gilbert in the pur- 
chase of the township. (Page 21.) He settled about 1764, in what is now Surry, on the farm 
at present occupied by Frank Carpenter, and was among the petitioners for a new town. In 
1776 he was on a committee to join with Alstead and Marlow to petition the Legislature for " a 
full and free election or representation of each of the individual towns above-mentioned." He 
also represented these three towns in the Legislature of 1779-80. He died October 4, 1786, in 
the 71st year of his age, and his heirs were Thomas ; Ichabod m. Lydia dau. of Obadiah Wilcox 
of Gilsum ; Jonathan m. Huldah dau. of Peter Hayward, served in the Revolution, was Colonel 
in the militia, represented Gilsum and Surry in the Constitutional Convention of 1788, removed 
to Rockingham, Vt., where he died leaving no children ; Samuel ; Patience, wife of Moses D. 
Field ; Experience, wife of Abia Crane ; Sarah, wife of Nathan Hayward ; and Susanna, wife of 
Abner Skinner ; all of whom settled in Surry about the same time with their father. 

Thomas Sumner was of Hebron, Conn., and is not known to have come to Gilsum. He was 
associated with Capt. Gilbert in other land enterprises, and was one of the leading grantees of 
Lyme. In the records, he is styled Lieutenant. 

Daniel Dart was of Bolton, Conn., where he died before 1777. His dau. Lucy m. Joseph 
Spencer. Three of his sons settled in Surry : — Nathaniel who came about 1765 and sold his 
residence, 2nd Lot 3rd Range, to Thomas Harvey in 1777 ; Eliphalet who came about the same 
time and was Deacon in the Congregational Church in Surry for many years, and has left many 
descendants called Dort ; and Joshua, who came about 1770, and after a little more than ten 
years removed to Weathersfield, Vt. Nathaniel and Eliphalet signed the petition for a new town. 

In November, 176G, Joseph Wells, Samuel Gilbert, Jr., James Cox, William Cox, Edmund 
Wells, Nathan Rowlee, Abner Brown, Abner Waters, Roger Dewey, John Skinner, Stephen 



172 GIL SUM. 

Horton, Abijah Rowlee, Levi Post, Thomas Brown, and Jonathan Brown, all of Hebron, 
Conn., sold their shares, " for and in consideration of the Love and Good will we Bear unto 
Samuel Gilbert, and other Valuable Species in hand." The name of Thomas Wells appears in 
the deed, but he did not sign it. He is probably the same who settled in Keene and sold his 
share in Gilsum to John Starling. The name is Wills on the charter. Stephen Horton is 
doubtless the same as Stephen Houghton. Which is the true name remains doubtful. This 
whole transaction appears to have been " a put-up job." Capt. Gilbert probably hired these 
fifteen men, for a sum so small he was ashamed to put it into the deed, to allow their names to 
be used in getting the Charter, and then transfer their rights to him. 

Clement Sumner was the son of Thomas Sumner, and married Elizabeth, daughter of Capt. 
Gilbert. He graduated at Yale College, 1758, was ordained and installed pastor of the First 
Church in Keene, June 11, 1761, where he remained eleven years. He was first Clerk of the 
Proprietors of Gilsum. His wife was a woman of marked peculiarities. On one occasion, 
either an ecclesiastical Council or other gathering of ministers, she entertained her guests with 
bean porridge. On being reminded that such provision was somewhat discourteous, she said it 
was " better than they deserved." The reply was made that it was indeed better than they 
deserved at the hands of the Lord, but not at her hands. Clement A. Sumner was their son, 
and in the later records represented his father's right among the proprietors. 

Samuel Phelps was of Lyme, Conn., and sold his right to Thomas Harvey of the same 
place in 1766. 

James Noble was of Pittsfield, Mass., and sold his right in 1767, to Simeon Dunham of 
Hebron, Conn., for £30. 

William Sumner was a physician, and settled in Clarcmont before 1773. 

Benjamin Graves was of East Haddam, Conn., and sold his right for £26 to Woolston 
Brockway in 1767. 

Jonathan Mack died at Lyme, Conn., before November, 1774. He m. Aug. 24, 1727, Sarah 
Bennett, and had Joseph, Jonathan, Love d. inf., John, Elizabeth, Josiah, Samuel, Sarah, Abijah, 
Love, and " Lidia." 

Joseph Mack b. Lyme, Conn.. July 22,1728, was associated with Capt. Gilbert in the purchase 
of Gilsum, (page 21.) and it is remarkable that his name (lues not appear on the charter. In 
the " Ranging Table " he drew No. 36, which is assigned to Abner Brown on the back of the 
charter. He was at Lyme, Conn., in 1766, but in 176'.) is called of Gilsum, at which time he 
bought the 2d Lot, 6th Range in what is now Surry. His daughter Betty was bom there, Sept. 
16, 1770. In 1772, he sold to Abel Allen and removed to Alstead where he died about 1792. 
The inventory of his estate is dated Feb. 10, 1792. His " home farm " was bounded on Surry 
line. The name of his first wife was Lois, and of his second, Lydia. The children mentioned 
in the settlement of his estate were Nathan, Dorothy, Mary wife of John Slade, Jr., Reuel, and 
Lois wife of Joseph Razor. He was the first Collector and one of the Selectmen appointed by 
the Proprietors in 1762. 

Jonathan Mack, Jr., b. Lyme. Conn., July 1, 1730, is found in the Ranging Table in place of 
Abijah Rowlee, and probably sold his share to Capt. Gilbert before 1763. 

John Mack b. Lyme, Conn., Jan. 13, 1737, also sold his right to Capt. Gilbert about 1763. 

Josiah Mack b. Lyme, Conn.. July 25, 1740 or 1741, gave his right in Gilsum to his son-in- 
law John Marvin in 1766. He owned another share which he sold to his brother Joseph in 1771. 

Abijah Mack b. Lyme, Conn., Sept. 3, 1746, sold all his right to lands in Gilsum, inherited 
from his father, to his brother Josiah in 1774, for £20. In the deed he calls himself " Clerk." 



PROPRIETORS. 173 

Ezra Loomis was of Bolton, Conn., perhaps the son of Serg't Thomas Loomis, and born about 
17-3. He sold a part of his right to Joseph Spencer in 1766. 

Jonathan Wright was of East Windsor, Conn., and sold his right to Samuel Church of East 
Haddam, Conn., in 1768. 

Duran Wade was of Lyme, Conn., where he married Jan. 3, 174|, Phebe Ransom. 
Their children were Anna, Phebe, Thomas, and John. He settled in Surry before 1770, and in 
1773, sold his place to Dr. Gideon Tiffany of Keene, and removed to Walpole. 

Josiah Blodgett was of Windsor, Conn., and sold his right to Job Gleason in 1767. He 
signs his name Bloggit. 

Abel Allen was born Windsor, Conn., Aug. 14, 1733 0. S. In November, 1762, he was still 
at Windsor, and bought of Josiah Kilburn " One Right in Boyle," which included the 6th Lot 
in the 5th Range of fifty-acre Lots west of the mountain, where he probably settled the next 
year. It is the place now occupied by the widow Abbot and formerly known as the " Humphrey 
Tavern." fie married in 1756, Elizabeth, daughter of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Pease) Chapin 
of Enfield, Conn., by whom he had nine children. He died in Surry Nov. 13, 1820. and she in 
1808. The family has been not only very numerous but of high standing and influence. Judge 
Wm. H. H. Allen of Claremont is his great-grandson. Abel Allen's name appears in the petition 
for the new town of Surry, and at the first town meeting in 1769, he was chosen Tithing Man. 
Capt. Samuel Allen, who afterwards appears among the Proprietors, was his son, was born at 
Surry in 1766, and was the last Clerk of the Proprietors. 

" Ruben " Sumner was probably son of Lieut. Thomas Sumner who sold Reuben's right in 

1770, to Samuel Wadsworth of Keene. 

Joseph Spencer of East Haddam, Conn., was a weaver by trade, and married Lucy the 
daughter of Daniel Dart. He settled in Surry in 1770, and removed to Charlestown about 
1776-7. He was one of the first Selectmen appointed by the Proprietors. His children were 
Erastus, Luther, Elijah, Joseph, Jerusha, and one more. 

Thomas Pitkin, (frequently called Jr.,) was of Bolton, Conn. He was Moderator of Pro- 
prietors' Meetings in 1762-3, but probably never settled in New Hampshire. He sold part of 
his right to Jonathan Smith in 1763, and the rest to John Boynton of East Windsor, Conn., in 

1771. This Boynton was probably the ancestor of the Sullivan family of that name. 
Benjamin Sumner was of Hebron, Conn., in 1767, and removed to Claremont about that 

time. He sold his right to Stephen Griswold and others. 

Samuel Banning was of Hartland, Conn., and, in April, 1765, sold his share to Medad 
Thornton for £30. 

Joseph Lothrop was of Springfield, Mass., and sold his right for £40 to William Cumstock 
or Comstock of Lyme, Conn., Jan. 5, 1769. His wife's name was Elizabeth. 

Ichabod Fisher settled in Keene, where his name appears on the alarm list of 1773. He 
sold his right to Samuel Gilbert. 

Jonathan Levet probably settled in Walpole, as the name is found there before 1765. 

Eliphalet Young was of Hebron, Conn., and sold his share in 1770, to Stephen Taylor of 
Coventry, Conn., who soon after removed to Tyringham, Mass., and sold to Giles Crandall of 
Tolland, Conn. Ichabod and Joseph Young (Chap. 34,) may have been his sons. 

John Sterling, (frequently written Starling,) was of Lyme, Conn., where he died before 
1769. He was probably son of Capt. Daniel and Mary (Ely) Starling, and born Oct. 28, 1704. 
At the first meeting of the Proprietors in 1762, he was chosen Eirst Selectman. 



174 GIL SUM. 

David Taylor was of Bolton, Conn., and gave part of his right to his nephew David Fuller. 
(Chap. 33.) 

Ebenezer White was from Westfield, Mass., and settled in Swanzey before 1779. He was 
also one of the original proprietors of Marlow. He presented the Congregational Church in 
G-ilsum, with a pewter basin for baptismal service, which is now in possession of the writer. 
(Genealogy.) 

John Hooker was of Northampton. Mass., and sold his right to Woolston Brockway in 1761. 

Samuel Lord was of Lyme, Conn., and sold part of his share to Jonathan Adams in 1766. 
In one place he is called Samuel B. Lord. 

Seth Hall was of Hebron, Conn., and sold his share in 1770, to John Rowe of the same 
place. He probably did not settle here. The name is found in Keene in 1778, but at Hebron, 
Conn., again in 1786, and may not refer to the same man. 

Richard Hays (written also Hayes, Haze, or Haize,) was of Lyme, Conn., and in. Ap. 24, 1735, 
Patience Mack. Their children were the following : — 

Silas ; Seth b. Lyme, Conn., Dec. 26, 1737, was chosen Selectman by the proprietors in 1762, 
but probably never settled here, as he was of East Haddam, Conn., in February, 1764, when he 
sold his share to William Markham of the same place; Ric/iard b. Lyme, Conn., June 30, 1740, 
appears in the " Ranging Table " in place of Eliphalet Dart ; John ; Catherine ; Titus ; Philemon 
b. Lyme, Conn., Feb. 26, 174|, settled in Surry : and Joseph. 

Lemuel Wyly [Willey] was of East Haddam, Conn., and sold his right to Allen Willey of 
the same place in 1769. 

Allen Willey is afterwards called of Chatham, Conn. He was one of the proprietors of 
Lempster, and served as their Clerk. He settled in what is now Goshen before 1773. His 
wife Mary died Aug. 9, 1804. 

Abner Skinner from Bolton, Conn., was son-in-law to Jonathan Smith, and settled in Surry 
about 1764. John Skinner (page 25,) was probably his brother. 

Theodore Atkinson was the Colonial Secretary, and followed the example of the Governor 
in claiming a share in the Townships granted, as one of the perquisites of his office. Theodore 
Atkinson, Jr., and Nathaniel Barrell were doubtless inserted in the same way. The lots 
drawn by Theodore Atkinson were the 7th and 8th in the 12th Range, and the south half of 
the 8th in the 11th Range. Theodore Atkinson, Jr., had the 6th and 7th and the north half of 
the 5th in the 12th Range. Nathaniel Barrell had the 7th and 8th in the 10th Range, and the 
north half of the 8th in the 11th Range. (Map page 24.) 

Joseph Burt found in the " Ranging Table " in place of James Cox, settled in Westmore- 
land. He was a prominent opposer of Vermont in the contention between that State and New 
Hampshire, and was a delegate from ten towns in Cheshire County, including Gilsum, " to wait 
upon the Committee of Safety " in reference to the same. He was also a Captain in the Revo- 
lution, and represented Westmoreland in the New Hampshire Assembly for three years. 

Benjamin " Maan " [Mann] was of Hardwick, Mass., in 1763. In the " Ranging Table " he 
drew No. 34, which is not assigned on the back of the charter. He may have been the same 
person who commanded a Company at Bunker Hill and was one of the most prominent of the 
early settlers of Mason. 

Joseph " Wi/le " found in the " Ranging Table " in place of Joseph Beakit was probably the 
son of Joseph and Lucretia (Holmes) Willey of East Haddam, Conn., where he was b. March 
22, 1734. He deeded his share, " in consideration of y e Love Election & good will 1 bare " to 



PROPRIETORS. 175 

his son Barnabas, July 4, 1768. Barnabas and his wife "Marcy " settled in Surry before 1767, 
and removed to Walpole about 1775, when he sold the 2 Lots in the 1st and 2nd Ranges with 
buildings to Thomas Harvey. 

Wuolston Brockway was of Byrne, Conn., and settled in Surry about 1763, on the place now 
occupied by Joshua D. Blake. His first wife was Anna or Mary Brook of New London, Conn. 
At the time of his death his wife's name was Esther. His will was dated July 8, 1789, and 
proved Oct. 29 following. His children as therein mentioned were John, Rufus, William, Wool- 
ston, Bridget Hudson, Sarah Doolittle (then deceased,) Parnal Beckwith, Jane Gates, Jerusha 
Whitney, Phebe Chaffe, Esther Meriam, Mehetabel, and a grandchild Anna Alger. The inven- 
tory of his estate was £265-16-4. He represented Surry in the Vermont Legislature at 
Windsor in 1781. At the time of his death, he had 87 living descendants. 

The following additional names are mentioned in the Proprietors' records, and there were 
doubtless others who bought or inherited shares, whose names are not found here : — 

William Comstock of Lyme, Conn., bought the right of Joseph Lothrop and settled in 1769 
on the farm now occupied by Alonzo Farrar in Sullivan. (Genealogy.) 

John Dimmock was from Ashford, Conn., and settled on the hill near the Cannon place in 
Sullivan, about 1766. He owned a large amount of laud which he divided to his children. 
Timothy Dimmock, his son, lived with him, and was Selectman in 1786. 

Joshua Fuller was from Bolton, Conn., and settled in Surry in 1764-5. His wife was sister 
to David Taylor. Capt. David Fuller was their son. Another son, Joshua, Jr., was killed at 
the battle of Bennington. Lieut. Levi Fuller was another son, who lived on his father's {dace in 
Surry, now occupied by George K. Harvey, Esq. 

Job Gleason first appears on a Committee to lay out land in 1764. He bought a share of 
Josiah Blodgett. In 1765 the County road from Keene is said to run between " Mr. Fuller and 
Mr. Gleason," and another road was laid out " Running North Between Job Gleason & Mr. 
Willcoxes." 

Samuel Hall is found among the proprietors in 1766, and signed the petition for dividing the 
town in 1768. He probably settled in " Westmoreland Leg." The same name is prominent in 
Keene Annals, but is probably that of another man. 

Thomas Harvey was of Lyme, Conn., and settled in Surry about 1766, on the farm now occu- 
pied by Edward H. Joslyn. He was the ancestor of the well-known family of that name in 
Surry. He served the town as Selectman and was a Captain in the militia. He was a Lieutenant 
in Capt. Reuben Alexander's Company at Ticonderoga in 1777. Asahel Harvey was his son, was 
Town Clerk of Surry for many years, and was otherwise prominent in town affairs. 

Lemuel Holmes lived both in Keene and Surry. He was Proprietors' Clerk for many years, 
and was one of the most prominent men of those times. He had a Captain's commission from 
Gen. Washington in the Revolution, and was taken by the British and held prisoner at New 
York for a long time. He was on the Committee of the Walpole Convention concerning the 
Vermont troubles, and represented Gilsum with Surry and Sullivan six years in the New Hamp- 
shire Legislature. He was also Justice of the Peace, and Judge of the County Court. His 
farm was at the foot of Bald Hill, and is still known as the " Holmes place." 

Lieut. Calvin Locke was son of Lieut. James Locke who came from Ashby, Mass., and settled 
in Sullivan about 1784, on the farm afterwards occupied by Dea. Charles P. Locke late of Marl- 
boro'. 

John Marvin was born at Lyme, Conn., Jan. 30, 1727, and settled near the northwest corner 



176 GIL SUM. 

of Surry about 1766, where he died Dec. 24, 1792.. He was among the petitioners for a new 
town, and was Moderator of the proprietors in 1768. 

Samuel McCurdy was from Antrim County, Ireland, and settled in Surry about 1772. He 
kept tavern for many years on the place now occupied by Edmund Woodward. His descendants 
are numerous. (See Mark and Dart in Genealogy.) 

Benjamin Olcott or Alcott was from East Haddam, Conn., and settled on the 4th Lot, 9th 
Range in what is now Sullivan, 1767-8. He was a cooper by trade, and in 1772, sold out to 
Capt. Gilbert, and removed to Swanzey. 

Peter Olcott was of Bolton, Conn., and sold to Benoni Olcott of East Windsor, Conn., in 
1772. Benoni sold to Thomas Wheelock of Alstead in 1790. 

Samuel Wadsworth who owned the land marked S. W. on the map, (page 24,) was a black- 
smith and settled just below the railroad in Keeue. He was one of the Tories taken by Capt. 
Mack in 1779. (Page 160.) 

Obadiah Wilcox was from Guilford, Conn., and settled about 1764, on the farm now occupied 
by his grandson, Hollis Wilcox of Surry. He was for many years Proprietors' Clerk, and Town 
Clerk of Surry. 



CHAPTEE XXXI. 

PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 

This list cannot lie made complete. Whatever material has come to hand, is inserted here. 

I have been somewhat surprised to find only three natives of Gilsum, who have graduated 
from College : — Aaron Day, Jr., Silvanus Hayward, and Harvey Woodward. There have been 
others, brought up here and identified with Gilsum history who have graduated, and others more 
distinguished who have not been graduates, but these three, so far as known, are the only gradu- 
ates born here. Another, Myron W. Adams, is now in his Junior year in Dartmouth College, 
and bids fair to graduate with high honor. 

CLERGYMEN. 

Josiah Kilburn, Jr., graduated at Dartmouth College 1778, received the degree of A. M. in 
course, studied divinity, and was ordained and installed pastor of the Congregational Church at 
Chesterfield, Mass., Nov. 9, 1780. The following spring he married Temperance Dewey, the 
daughter of his nearest neighbor in Gilsum. While on a visit at his father's the next September, 
he died at the age of 28. 

David Kilburn was among those whose career has been an honor to his native town. The 
following sketch of his public life is condensed from " Zion's Herald." 

In 1801, through the instrumentality of Rev. John Gove, he was converted, and received to 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1805, he was licensed to preach, and after three years' 
labor as a local preacher, was received into the New England Conference. He was first stationed 





6^j-^gy 




PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 177 

at Union, Me., in 1808, was afterwards appointed to Readfield, Me. ; Stanstead, Canada ; Barnard 
and White River, Weathersfield and Barre, Vt. In 1815, he was made Presiding Elder of the 
N. H. District. He was afterwards stationed at Needham, and Boston, Mass. ; Portland, Me. ; 
and Danville and Barre, Vt. From 1825 to 1829, he was Presiding Elder on Portland District, 
Maine Conference, and the year following, on Springfield District, N. E. Conference. He was 
next stationed at Providence, R. I., then at Lowell, Lynn Common, Bridgewater and Northwest 
Bridgewater, Mass. He was then Presiding Elder on Providence District for three years, and 
the next four years on Boston District. He was next stationed at Waltham, Barre, Ashburn- 
hani, South Royalston, and Dudley, Mass. In 1851, he took a superannuated relation, but in 
1852-3, was again able to lie at work on Enfield Station. In 1854, he was made supernumerary ; 
in 1856, was stationed at Southampton, Mass. ; in 1858, supernumerary ; and in 1859, took 
again the superannuated relation. He then moved to Keene, and continued to preach and labor 
in that vicinity as long as his health permitted. It was at this time he supplied the M. E. 

Church in Gilsum. 

Few men have traveled more New England roads or formed acquaintance with more people than he. Inherit- 
ing a strong constitution and large physical frame, and being early accustomed to hardships, he was eminently 
qualified for the immense labor he performed. He possessed a sound .judgment, clear understanding, strong will, 
and a great degree of conscientiousness, so that in all matters of truth and duty, lie was earnest and decided. His 
sermons were argumentative, systematic, in language well-chosen, and delivered with a pathos that made the truth 
attractive and searching. In his earlier days, especially, he had great power in the pulpit. His administrative 
abilities were of a high order. He was born for a leader. His prudent foresight, his comprehensive views, his 
knowledge of men, his almost intuitive perception of character, his urbanity of manners, his elevated Christian 
character, all raised him to a high social and official position in the church. 

Iu 1812, he married Lovisa Perkins of Barnard, Vt., who lived with him nearly 52 years, proving a devoted 
" helpmeet" in all his labors. She was a woman of saintly piety, — truly " a mother in Israel." 

Alter her death in 1864, Mr. Kilburn having no children, removed to the residence of his nephew, Merrill I. 
Kilburn, at Hartford, Vt., where he died. His closing life was in keeping with that of his greater activity. His 
last appearance in public was at a meeting near by his home, about three weeks before his death. Sitting in his 
chair, extremely pale ami feeble, he addressed the people, for about twenty minutes, in words of remarkable 
eloquence, causing the deepest sensation among those who listened as it to his dying utterances. The Sabbath 
evening before he died, he raised himself in bed. and in an extremely weak but clear voice united with the family 
in prayer, commending each separately to the Divine care and protection. This was his last vocal prayer. 

He was buried beside his wife in the in-w Cemetery at. Keene. where his monument bears the following words: 

'• Rev. David Kilburn was lor 60 years an eminent, faithful, and successful minister in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and for 57 years a beloved and honored member of the New England Conference. He finished his course 
with joy, and the Ministry he received of the Lord Jesus. His dying message was ' Tell my brethren that I 
greatly love the doctrine, discipline and membership of the church of my early choice.'" 

Samuel Chapman Loveland was one of the most distinguished of the natives of Gilsum. In 
his youth " he was a simple, honest boy, and everybody loved him." His early opportunities for 
education were very limited, and in his " search for knowledge " he was beset with difficulties 
unknown to the youth of the present day. His zeal and perseverance, however, triumphed over 
all obstacles. He had a special aptitude for the study of language, and eagerly embraced every 
opportunity for gratifying this taste. Through the preaching of the noted Elhanan Winchester 
his parents had accepted the doctrine of Universal Salvation. Early imbibing these views, he 
was impressed with the duty of devoting himself to their propagation in the work of the ministry. 

To this end he first desired to be able to study the original Scriptures. His near neighbor, Silvauus Hayward, 
who had been three years a member of Dartmouth College, had a few Latin and Greek books, among them "part 
of an old Latin Bible, which he procured, and with a grammar and dictionary plodded through several chapters. 
He then commenced the Greek, with old Schrevelius, and a grammar, and tumbling back and forth iu search of 
roots of words, changes, syncopations, and constructions of sentences, lie was able, generally, to read out a whole 
verse in the space of half a day. Words that he could not trace were carefully noted down for further develop- 
ments to bring to light. . . . This course he pursued with indefatigable industry, employing every moment 
that coidd be spared from the labors of the farm, till 1811, when he devoted a year exclusively to study in direct 
preparation for the ministry." 

" He received a letter of fellowship from the General Convention at its session in Cavendish, Vt., 1812, . . . 
and was ordained by the same body at Westmoreland, N. II., iu 1814. About this period he commenced the 

12 



178 aiLSUM. 

study of Hebrew with such facilities as he could get, . . . but was able to make but little advance till 1823, 
when he took hold of it in right earnest. A few years subsequently, he prepared and published a Greek and 
English Lexicon of the New Testament." This was highly commended, and considering the circumstances in 
which it was prepared, is truly a remarkable production. He studied also the Chaldee. the Syriac, and Arabic, the 
Anglo-Saxon, French, Spanish, German, Modern Greek, Danish, besides others to some extent. He wrote of him- 
self " I have loved the study of languages on account of their relation to each other, and it seems I have some real 
specimens of what men have done, and thought, and are, when I know something of their forms of speech." 

" In 1827 and onward, he became considerably interested in political matters. . . . He represented the town, 
where he then resided, (Reading, Vt.,) in the State Legislature; his County in the Council; was a judge of the 
County Court, and held several other offices of honor and respectability, in all of which he proved himself honest 
and honorable." 

In 1821, he established " The Christian Repository" at Woodstock, Vt. He continued its publication for 
about six years, when it passed into other hands. " It was an out and out work on Universalism, connected with a 
belief in a future paternal, disciplinary punishment." 

Lumund Wilcox pursued his early studies with his brother-in-law, Elisha S. Fish, and after- 
wards with Rev. Perley Howe of Surry. He then went to the Academies at New Ipswich, and 
Chester, and afterwards graduated at Kimball Union Academy in 1819, and from Bangor Theo- 
logical Seminary, three years later. Oct. 25, 1823, he was ordained and installed over the 
church in Copenhagen Village in the township of Denmark, N. Y. Here he remained two years, 
during which time he married Elizabeth, the daughter of Rev. Enos Bliss. In 1825, he went to 
Russia, N. Y., where he labored over five years, and in 1831, was settled in Hartwick, N. Y. 
In 1836, he removed to Lorraine, N. Y., to care for his aged father-in-law, laboring in various 
places with great success. In 1862, he went to Lyman, 111., where he preached four years, when 
he was invited to take charge of the Church in Brenton, (now Thawville,) 111., where he died in 
the 77th year of his age. 

He was a man of ability and well versed in the Bible. An aged minister remarked that he had assisted at 
the examination of hundreds of young ministers, but had " never found one so thorough in Theology," as Mr. 
Wilcox. His preaching was earnest and effective, li somewhat in the style of Prof. Finney." His labors were 
remarkably blessed with revivals, some thousands having been converted under his ministry. 

He was a fiery advocate of both the Anti-slavery and the Temperance reforms, entering upon them at an early 
day, and never relaxing his zeal in their behalf. He was the second minister in his County to take the ground of 
Total Abstinence, and was employed by the New York State Temperance Society, as a lecturer for many years. 
He was also one of the first agents sent out by the Anti-slavery Society. More than forty years ago he said to one 
of his friends, " if Slavery is not destroyed, the nation will be shivered like a potter's vessel." In the early times 
of the Anti-slavery excitement " more than once a sword was brandished over his head to intimidate him." Mobs 
often collected, but he would " throw himself among them," and by talking with them disarm their rage. 

He was a very social companion, genial, " of pleasant aspect, animated, and cheerful." He was ardently 
attached to his friends. 

The death of his youngest daughter was a blow from which he never fully rallied. " For two or three months 
previous to his death he seemed like a weaned child, so heavenly minded." To a friend who asked him how he 
felt in the near view of death he replied, " I have no anxiety. It has been the business of my whole life to pre- 
pare for this hour." After having " preached Christ for half a century with unusual health and vigor, and with 
singular devotion and success," " his spirit departed like an infant's dropping into a sweet slumber." 

John Quincy Adams Ware was brought up to hard labor on the farm. At the age of six- 
teen he was converted under the ministry of Rev. Mark Carpenter of Keene, and almost at once 
devoted himself to the work of the ministry. He attended the Academy at Hancock one year, 
and then took the full course of the New Hampton Theological Institute. He was " licensed " 
Ap. 19, 1846, by the Baptist Church of Sullivan and Gilsum. He was ordained Pastor of the 
Baptist Church at Marlboro', where he remained two years. He then removed to Sanbomton Bay, 
where he preached four years, enjoying the special blessing of God's Spirit upon his labors. 
He was at Addison, Vt., the next two years. From thence he removed to Whiting, Vt., where 
he labored to the time of his death. He died suddenly, in his 43d year, while on a visit to his 

sister in Surry. 

He was a man of large physical frame, over six feet in height, and of great power of endurance. In his early 
manhood he manifested his literary tastes and ability, by an active membership in Lyceum and Debating Societies, 
in his native town. 



PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 179 

He was of a mechanical turn of mind, ami his shop in which he spent his hours of recreation gave abundant 
proof of his skill in the use of tools. He was social and friendly in his manners and habits. But the intensity of 
his convictions, and the force with which he condemned what he thought to be wrong, made him sometimes dreaded 
by those of opposite views. He was " a man of more than ordinary ability, one whose air and mien made his 
mere presence an influence." He was naturally a leader. In Whiting he was several times chosen Moderator of 
Town Meetings, and wielded great, influence in the stormy days of the war of the rebellion. In the Association 
of Baptist Churches, he was often chosen Moderator, and always exerted a great influence in its acts and delibera- 
tions. "His style of composition for the pulpit, was that of strength rather than the ornaments of rhetoric and 
the glosses of diction; his manner of speaking was open, earnest, and impressive." His death in the full strength 
of manhood, was not only a misfortune to his family, but a great loss to his church, and to the cause of Christ. 

Calvin May, Jr., attended Mt. Cesar Seminary in Swanzey, where he stood highest in his class. 

After studying Theology with Rev. L. J. Fletcher of Brattleboro', Vt.. lie was ordained and 

settled as pastor of the Universalist Church in Hinsdale. Here he spent two years, and was 

" admired for his able discourses and genial life." " Being unable to preach on account of a 

throat difficulty," he entered Norwich University in 18-16. He maintained a high standing in 

his class for two years, but did not continue his studies through the course. He returned to 

Gilsum where he " busied himself by farming in the Summer and teaching in the Fall and 

Winter." He served the town as Moderator and Superintending School Committee four years 

each, and as Selectman one. He was very active in educational and temperance reforms, being 

a leader in the Order of Sons of Temperance. He was appointed Clerk of the New Hampshire 

Senate four years, was Register of Probate for Cheshire County two years, and Register of Deeds 

three years. At the time of his death he held the office of Assessor of the Direct Taxes of the 

United States for the Third District of New Hampshire. 

An obituary notice says : " He loved religious institutions, and was a punctual, faithful member of the Church 
and the Sunday School. He was a friend to moral reform, and ever gave his voice and vote on the side of human- 
ity." Gilsum has produced few men of more brilliant natural gifts than he. He had also a peculiar power of 
winning personal friends even among those of different political and religious views. One of his former towns- 
men writes : " Few men at the age of thirty years could equal him as a finished orator. — ■ so much power, and yet 
so smooth and so sweet." 

Silvanus Hayward received his early education at home, living with his uncle, Elisha S. 
Fish, from the age of 8 to IT. The only school he attended before entering College, was about 
two months in 1836-7, in the chamber of A. W. Kingsbury's house. The teacher was Aaron 
Day, Jr. He also attended two terms of Teachers' Institutes at Keene in 1847 and 1818. Hav- 
ing studied Latin and Greek under the private instruction of Rev. James Tisdale, he entered 
Dartmouth College in August, 1849, graduating July, 1853. He worked his way through Col- 
lege with but little assistance, by teaching winters, and by manual labor in the vacations. After 
graduating he taught the Academy at Francestown three years ; at Mclndoe's Falls, Vt., two 
years ; and at Pembroke one year. He was assistant at Kimball Union Academy, Meriden, one 
year, and at Appleton Academy, New Ipswich, one year. He was approbated as a candidate for 
the ministry, by the Hollis Association, at Amherst, in May, 1860, and supplied the pulpit of the 
2d Congregational Church at New Ipswich for nine months. Oct. 9, 1861, he was ordained and 
installed pastor of the Congregational Church in Dunbarton, was dismissed May 1, 1866, and 
installed at South Berwick, Me., May 11, 1866, where he remained seven years. He was then 
called by the American Missionary Association to a Professorship of Mathematics in Fisk Uni- 
versity, Nashville, Tenn., where he remained two years. He then supplied the pulpit in his 
native town for four years, while engaged in writing the present volume. During his residence 
at Dunbarton, he was for two years Commissioner of Schools for Merrimack County, and held a 
Teachers' Institute at Contoocookville the second year. In July, 1870, he delivered before the 
Literary Societies of Dartmouth College a Poem entitled, " Brass and Brains," which he has 
since repeated in various places. He lias also lectured in different places, and has published many 



180 GILSUM. 

transient articles in the papers. While at Dunbarton, he published, by request, a sermon enti- 
tled, "Liberty, of God." In 1872, he delivered an Address on the occasion of the Centennial 
Anniversary of the Congregational Church in Gilsum, which was published. (Chap. 20.) 

Charles Wetherby obtained his preparatory education at Meriden, and graduated from Mid- 
dlebury College in 1856. After teaching two years at Lowell, Ohio, he was ordained as an 
evangelist, and gathered a church of eighty members at that place. He then entered Union 
Theological Seminary, where he remained some over a year, and then settled in Cornwall, Conn., 
laboring there about six years, with much success. His next settlement was in Winsted, Conn., 
where he remained five years and a half. In December, 1N71, he was installed pastor of the Pearl 
Street Church, Nashua. His ministrations here were successful in largely increasing the church 
and congregation. During his stay in Nashua, lie was " closely identified with every moral and 
religious enterprise of that city." In May, 1879, he was installed pastor of the Congregational 
Church at Clinton, Mass. lie has lectured in various places with much acceptance. 

Nathaniel Merrill Hutchinson, then a member of Western Reserve College, enlisted in 
the Fall of 1861, as color bearer in an Ohio Regiment. He afterwards served two years as 
Lieutenant and Captain. He was in the battle of Murfreesboro', and was thirty days under fire, 
but unharmed. After returning from the war, he read law, and was admitted to the Bar in New 
York City. Finding law practice disagreeable, he entered Union Theological Seminary, and 
after graduation was ordained at Olivet Chapel, a missionary enterprise in that city. After gath- 
ering a flourishing church, he settled at Dunellen, N. J., where, during his stay of one year, 
fifty were added to the church. He was then appointed Superintendent of Presbyterian Mis- 
sions in the City of Mexico, where he is still laboring. 

Harvey Woodward received his preparatory education at Keene High School and New 
London Academy. In August, 186-1, he enlisted in the 9th Regiment of New Hampshire Volun- 
teers, and was on "detached service" at Concord, N. H., till the close of the war. He then 
spent a year in the Seminary at Tilton. In 1866, he entered the Sophomore Class in Wesleyan 
University, Middletown, Conn., and graduated in 1869, " dividing the fourth class honor with 
Prof. C. T. Winchester" of that place. He was for one year " Professor of Mathematics and 
Latin in Falley Seminary, Fulton, Oswego County, N. Y. ; " " joined the Central New York 
[M. E.] Conference at Syracuse in 1870, and was ordained Deacon by Bishop Simpson; was 
ordained Elder by Bishop Foster at Carthage, N. Y., in 1874; and was appointed in New York to 
Jordanville, Deanesville, and New York Mills." " In 1875, he was transferred to the New 
Hampshire Conference and stationed at High Street, Great Falls ; " and was subsequently ap- 
pointed to Bristol and Fisherville, where he is now laboring. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Abner Bliss was the first physician in Gilsum. He removed to Alstead about 1789. He 
previously lived at " Dart Corner," on the place now occupied by Dennis Keefe. He had an 
extensive and successful practice. He died in Alstead, but was buried in the Bond grave-yard. 
It is remembered that the burial was on Sunday, and that many of the people ran out of meeting 
to see the procession, as it was iu plain sight from the old common. Rev. Zebulon Streeter of 
Surry was the preacher that day, and to stop the disturbance quoted the text, " Let the dead 

bury their dead." 

His son, Abner Bliss, Jr., received the degree of M. D. at Hanover in 1820, and settled at Alstead, where, after 
a successful practice of over thirty years, he died at the age of 67. 

His son, Abner F. Miss, is also a physician, residing at Wardsboro', Vt. lie received his degree from Castleton 
Medical College iu 1851. 



PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 181 

Benjamin Hosmer came from Amherst in 1793, and boarded at Dea. Bond's. He built a 
bouse the next year on what is still known as the *' Hosmer place," and brought his wife there 
in 1795. Here he continued to reside till his death in 1826. Of his education, I have no 
information. As a physician he was particularly cautious and careful. His daughter Rachel, 
afterwards Mrs. Thompson, became a preacher of considerable note in the Christian denomination. 
(Page 121.) 

Henry Kendrtck settled here as a physician about 1805, boarding with Mr. Griswold at the 
lower village. He remained here only about two years. Nothing is known of him. 

Obadiah Wilcox studied with Dr. Amos Twitchell, who considered him one of the most 
promising students he ever had. Where he took his degree, 1 have been unable to learn. He 
was feeble from a child, having an organic defect in his heart, which caused his instantaneous 
death at the early age of 33. 

Jonathan Edwards Davis was a physician in Gilsum from 1816 to 1820. He rcmeved to 
Nashua, but I have been unable to trace his history. 

Benjamin Palmer came to Gilsum in 1819, and went to Cleveland, Ohio, 1822. It was dur- 
ing his stay that " typhus fever " prevailed so fatally, there being some 20 deaths in a few weeks. 
He had no family, and boarded with Dea. Pease at the lower village. He was considered "a 
very substantial young doctor." I have not been aide to trace his history. 

Isaac Hatch was a native of Alstead. He studied his profession with old Dr. Adams of 
Kcenc. and attended lectures at Dartmouth Medical College, beginning practice in Gilsum, in 
1822. After his marriage in 1824, he lived about two years in the house with Allen Butler, and 
then removed to Moriah, X. Y., where he remained about eleven years. In 1837, he went to 
Newport, where he died the next year, at the age of 43. He was a member of the Baptist 
church. 

Dudlf.v Smith worked on his father's farm, teaching school in the Winter, till he became of 
a^e. He then entered the Academy at Alstead. remaining there about a year and a half. In 
1822, he began his medical studies with Dr. Daniel Adams of Keene, and afterwards continued 
them under Dr. Warren of Boston. Mass. lie attended lectures at Dartmouth Medical College 
where he took the degree of M. D. in 1825. He settled in practice at Concord, Mass., where he 
remained seven years, and where he was first married. In 1832, he removed to Lowell, Mass., 
and a few years later, returned to Keene and went into company with bis fellow-student. Dr. 
Charles G. Adams, son of his first medical instructor. After about four years they dissolved 
partnership, and he continued in practice at Keene for sixteen years. •• During this period be 
experienced religion, and made a profession of Christianity, which be maintained to the day of 
his death." 

In 1856, he removed from Keene and settled in the practice of his profession at De Kalb, III. 
Here bis first wile died, and in 1859, be married one of bis former pupils at Keene. He died 
very suddenly in the 75th year of bis age. 

■• The last evening of his life he spent in his usual cheerful manner; retired to rest, and rose between five and 
six next morning, and stepped into an adjoining' room, and while wanning his slippers en the stove tell, and in- 
stantly expired. A post mortem examination showed that death was caused by the rupture of the principal blood 
vessel of the heart." 

He was one of the most efficient and valuable members of the Congregational Church in De Kalb. He held 
the offices of dea. -on. clerk and trustee. "He sought for no politieal office, but loved his books and his home. He 
was ,i well-read and intelligent man not only in his profession but generally: and was a most pleasant and genial 
companion. The principles which he adopted lie held firmly, and could warmly defend them. He was impetuous 
and sharp in his utterances when provoked, and thereby was sometimes hurried into mistakes. But few who only 
knew this side of his character would suspect the affection and tenderness which were in his heart. He was sin 
cerely interested in all his patients, and proved a ready and skilful operator in many difficult cases." 



182 GILSUM. 

Timothy S. Lane studied with Dr. James Batcheller of Marlboro', — received the degree of 

M. D. at Hanover in 1824, and settled at Sullivan the following year. In 1832, he removed to 

Luneuburgh, Vt., and in 1831, to Gilsum, where lie remained four years. In 1838, he went to 

Daysville, 111., and three years later to Fillmore, 111., where he died in 1819. 

His son, Jonathan Bowers Lane, is a prominent merchant in Fillmore, 111., where he has been postmaster for 28 
years, and has served as County Judge. 

George Washington Hammond was one of Gilsum's most distinguished citizens. A long 
and dangerous sickness from disease of the heart having rendered him, in early life, unable to 
endure the severe labor of the farm, he determined to fit himself for the medical profession. Un- 
able to meet the expense of a collegiate course, which he much desired, he attended Alstead 
Academy a few terms, teaching District schools in the Winter to obtain the necessary funds. He 
then entered Dartmouth Medical College where " he graduated with more than average honor," 
Aug. 21, 1824. Prof. R. D. Mussey, one of his instructors, secured him the offer of an excellent 
position, with flattering recommendations. But not having the funds with which to purchase the 
Medical Library that he needed for the place, he felt obliged to decline the favorable opportunity. 

He began the practice of his profession in Richmond, where he became acquainted with the 
family of Josiah Rawson, Esq., whose eldest daughter he married. Removing from Richmond, 
he settled at Proctorsville, Vt. At the urgent desire of his parents he returned to Gilsum in 
February, 1830, where he engaged in the practice of his profession for thirty-six years. 

In February, 1866, he removed, with all his family, to Stockbridge, Madison Co., N. Y., where 
he died at the age of 70 years. 

" He had a mind of more than common activity and his life was spent in study. His talents were versatile. 
In his chosen profession he deservedly occupied a high position for his scientific attainments, but this did not en- 
gross his entire attention. He had a taste for literary labors and wrote witli beauty and force." He wrote many 
articles for the press, thereby wielding " a much greater influence in Political and Temperance Reforms of the day 
than was generally known at home." He was one of the leaders in the Washingtonian movement in this vicinity, 
and frequently lectured with good success in this cause. In Lyceums and Debating Societies he was one of the 
most active and useful members, both with tongue and pen. Historical matters connected with the town especially 
interested him. (Appendix G.) He was interested in education, using his influence in behalf of the improvement 
and enlargement of school privileges for the young. He served the town as Superintending School Committee 
five years. He was one of the founders and most efficient supporters of the Universalist Library. 

" He was always an able and conscientious advocate of equal rights to all men of whatever color or creed. He 
was of the firm belief that it is the prerogative of the Eternal alone to judge man's motives and spiritual conduct 
and that one man was better than another, only so far as he behaved better." 

He inherited from his father one of the best farms in Gilsum, and few professional men take as deep interest 
in Agriculture as he, or practice farming with better success. He was chosen to represent the town in the Consti- 
tutional Convention of 1850, and did " all in his power to protect the interests of the small towns." He served the 
district as State Senator in 1855 and 1856, and was Justice of the Peace for many years. " Pleasant in his inter- 
course, genial in his manners, he left many warm friends to mourn his death." 

Kimball David Webster was brought up on his lather's farm in Alstead, being the seventh 
in a family of ten children. Having a taste for the medical profession, he began his preparation 
by attending the Academy in his native town. He studied a short time with Drs. .Smith and 
Adams of Keene, but mostly with Dr. Eber Carpenter of Alstead. Lie attended lectures at 
Woodstock, Vt., where he received the degree of M. i>. in L836. The next year, he settled in 
Gilsum, following Dr. Lane, and has had a successful local practice in this and the neighboring 
towns. 

Calvin Clark Bingham followed the business of a mechanic in a variety of forms, till about 
thirty years of age, when he commenced the study of dentistry. He followed this profession 
" with a good degree of success " for ten years. Having studied medicine, he commenced prac- 
tice in 1868. Desiring a more thorough acquaintance with the theory of his chosen profession, 
he entered the '-American Health College," in Ohio, where he graduated with the degree " M. D. 
V. D." He is now in successful practice in the city of Brooklyn, N. Y. 




"-PiuuingCo.211IieiM>nlSt!cn«i 



PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 183 

Charles Franklin Kingsbury fitted for College at the Academies at Swanzey, Marlow, and 
Brattleboro', Vt. He entered Norwich University in 1818, and remained three years. He then 
attended three courses of Medical Lectures at Woodstock, Vt., and one at Hanover, N. H., 
where he took the degree of M. D. in 1855. The following year he settled in practice at Stod- 
dard, where he remained four years. In 1860, he removed to Lyme, where lie lias a large and 
successful practice. He has' been an active and efficient member of the Board of Agriculture for 
seven years. 

Aaron H. Livbrmore spent about two years in Norwich University. He then returned to 
his father's, and assisted in carrying on the farm for a few years. During this time he served 
the town as Moderator, ami Selectman, and three years as Superintending School Committee. 
About 1854, lie removed to Boston, Mass., ami having studied dentistry, has established a suc- 
cessful practice in that profession. 

Milon Elliott Loybland after having followed mechanical pursuits for some years, turned 
hi* attention to dentistry, ami learned his professi >n in the office of Dr. S. L. Geer of Norwich, 
Conn. ' After a year or two of business in Winchendon, Mass., he settled in Keene in 1868, 
where he was in company with Dr. P. X. Stratton for some years. In 1878, Dr. Strattou having 
left, Dr. B. E. Olcott became his partner, and they enjoy an extensive patronage. 

Aaron R. Gleason attended lectures at Georgetown Medical College and received the degree 
of M. D. there in 1864. After four years medical service in the army, (page 44,) he attended 
an additional' course of lectures in New York City, and was for a time in the N. Y. General Hos- 
pital. He settled at Fitzwilliam where he has a large and successful practice. 

Israel Albert Loveland obtained his preliminary education at Marlow Academy, after 
which he taught school a few terms. He pursued his medical studies under the direction of Dr. 
G. C. Hill of Keene. and Prof. C. P. Frost of Hanover. Having attended lectures he received 
the degree of M. D. at Dartmouth Medical College in November, H74. He began practice at 
Nelson, but in September, 1875, removed to Westmoreland, where he is physician to the County 
Alms House, and enjoys •' a good and steadily increasing private practice." He has served four 
years as a member of the School Board, and has been Treasurer of the Westmoreland Insurance 
Association from its beginning. He and his wife are members of the Congregational Church. 

Among the descendants of Justus Hurd were the following. 

William Henry Hiitu fitted for College at Meriden, and then entered upon the .study of medicine with Dr. 
McQuestiou of Washington. He attended medical lectures at Cincinnati. Ohio, and afterwards at Hanover, 
where he received the degree of M. D. in 1855. He commenced practice at Wells River, Vt., but soon removed to 
Canada, where he died. 

Wii.LAnn Otis Hurd (brother of the preceding,) studied medicine witli him in Camilla, and graduated at 
Albany Medical College in I860. He went into practice in company with his brother at Carlton Place, C. W., Eov 
about three years. He then enlisted in the 8yd N.Y. Regiment, — was appointed Assistant Surgeon, and after- 
wards transferred to the 97th X. Y. Regiment. At the close of the war, he settled in the practice of his profession 
;il Grantham, where he still resides. 

Yorick Gordon Hurd, (second cousin of the preceding,) having only the usual advantages of a farmer's boy 
in the public schools, began to teach at the age of 17. By teaching winters and attending " Select Schools " in the 
Fall for several years, he fitted himself to take charge of Peterboro' Academy, which he managed successfully for 
three years. Meanwhile he began the study of medicine with Prof. Albert .Smith, M. D.. of that place. Having 
attended lectures at Woodstock, Vt., and Hanover, he received the degree of M. D. from Dartmouth Medical Col- 
lege in 1853. He settled in practice at Amesbury, Mass. In September, 1862, he was appointed Post Surgeon of 
the Camp at Wenhani, Mass., and the December following was commissioned Surgeon of the 48th Regiment of 
Mass. Volunteers, which was ordered to the Department of the Gulf. He resumed practice at Amesbury in 1st; I. 
Three years after, h • w i ; ap loint i 1 Medical Director of Division o£ M iss. Volunteer Militia, on the Staff of Maj. 
Gen. B. F. Butler, and held the position nearly ten years. He was a member of the School Committee of Ames- 
bury for ten years. He was twice elected to the Mass. State Senate. He was appointed Superintendent of 
Essex Co. House of Correction, and Insane Asylum Jan. 1. 1866, and still holds the position. Under the law 
of 1877, relating to Coroners in Mass., he was appointed Medical Examiner for Essex District No. 2. He is also 



184 GIL SUM. 

President of the Board of Trustees of Manning School, Ipswich. In 1876, Bowdoin College conferred on him the 
honorary degree of A. M. 

George Clinton Fuller, grandson of Capt. David, (Genealogy,) attended two courses of lectures at Hanover, 
and one at Castleton, N. Y., where he took his degree; settled in practice at Sutton, and after four years was 
appointed Surgeon of the City Hospital at Utica, N. Y., where he resides. 

LAWYERS. 

Hon. Theron Howard removed from Gilsum to Danville, Vt., at the age of 22, in Septem- 
ber, 1821, at which place and at Peacham, Vt., he followed his trade of shoemaking for nearly 
three years. In June, 1824, he entered the office of George B. Shaw, a prominent lawyer in Dan- 
ville, where he studied faithfully for three years, and was admitted to the bar in September, 1827. 
He resided at Cabot for a few years, when he returned to Danville, and entered into partnership 
with his fellow-student, George B. Chandler. He was elected State's Attorney for the Comity 
by the Democracy, of which party he was fur many years an active member. He, however, early 
recognized the importance of the ••irrepressible conflict," and became a zealous pioneer in the 
Anti-slavery movement, and never swerved from his fidelity to that cause. He was a delegate 
from Vermont to the National Convention of the Free Soil party, which nominated Van Buren 
and Adams, at Buffalo, in 1848. The same year he was elected Judge of Probate, which office 
he held four years. In 18;">4, he represented Danville in the Legislature. In 1862, the County 
seat having been removed from Danville, he followed it to St. Johnsbury, where lie spent, the 
remainder of his life, with the continued and increasing esteem and confidence of a large circle 
of acquaintances. 

Judge Howard was a representative man of the people. With few early advantages, he worked his own way 
into a public life of honor and usefulness. Having experienced lh" trials, temptations, and struggles incident to a 
life of poverty and labor, lie always warmly espoused the cause of the burdened and oppressed. 

He was eminently social in his tastes, a delightful friend, fond oE anec lote, of inexhaustible cheerfulness, 
spreading genial sunshine wherever he went. But his geniality never degenerated into weakness. His principles 
were established, and no influences could turn him from the path of duty. He united with the Methodist Church 
in early life, and remained till its close a faithful and consistent member, always throwing his influence by example, 
as well as words, on the side of the Master in whose cause he had enlisted. An honest man, a true Christian, 
the value of his life is greater and more permanent than can be r icorde 1 in words. No more fitting tribute can be 
applied than the words of St. Paul, " I have fought a goo 1 fight ; 1 have finished my course ; 1 have kept the 
faith. " — Caledonian. 

Hon. George Whitman Hendee, son of Rev. Jehiel P. Hendee, (page 122,) was born in 
Stowe, Vt., and resided in Gilsum with his parents when a boy. His father was poor, and like 
most New England boys he was brought up to hard work. Having obtained a good academical 
education, lie read law, and was admitted to the bar, in Lamoille Co., Vt., at the age of 22. 
Three years later, he was elected State's Attorney for the same County, and held the office two 
years. In 1861 and 1862, he was a member of the lower House in the Vermont Legislature- 
Two years following, he was deputy Provost Marshal of the 3d Vermont District, witli his head 
quarters at Burlington. In 1866, he was chosen State Senator from his County and was twice 
re-elected. In 1869, he was chosen Lieut. Governor of Vermont, and by the death of Gov. 
Washburn in February, 1870, he became Governor. Declining a re-election, in 1872, he was 
chosen to represent his District in the 43d Congress, and lias been twice re-elected. 

He was an •' industrious and faithful member" of the House, engaging frequently and skilfully in debate, and 
enjoying the confidence both of his associates in Congress, and his constituents at home. In his profession as a 
lawyer he stands high, being " a good speaker, and extra as a jury advocate." He is a man of commanding pres- 
ence being six feet tall and weighing 250 pounds. His residence is Morrisville, Vt. In April, 1879, he was 
appointed a National Bank Examiner for the State of Vermont. 

Stephen Warren Horton having obtained a fair Academy education at Marlow, went to 
Effingham, 111., and read law. After being admitted to the bar, he removed to Louisville, Ky. 
Naturally gifted with energy and tact, and fluent in speech, he was rapidly rising into a first- 
class practice at the bar, when he died at about, forty years of age. 




//<?CIi~lZ><^/c 



'£ -cry 



^ 



.^.Pai.tingCo.2llIiu.. 





/>/;■ 



t ^4. s&LttL, 






PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 185 

Oscar Mack Metoalf was in Dartmouth College three years, was a teacher in Maine for a few 
years, and then read law with Butler and Libby of Portland, Me., where he was admitted to 
the liar, and entered upon practice about 187-">. 

Henry W, Fuller, grandson of Capt. David. (Genealogy,) graduated at Dartmouth College in 1857, at 
Harvard Law School in 1859, taking the first prize. Began the practice of law at Concord, but soon enlisted in 
the first N. H. Regiment. He is said to have been the first man in M". H. who enlisted as a private soldier. 
(Chap. 32.) He was promoted to 1st Lieut, and afterwards to Adjutant in the 4th Regiment. In 1862, he was 
commissioned a-s Lieut. Colonel in the 16th Regiment. He was afterwards Colonel of the 75th Regiment of col- 
ored troops, and was brevetted Brig. General. He is now a lawyer in Boston. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 
Hon. Ar. vaii Smith of Lempster, a grandson of Justus Hard, was a tanner by trade. With only a common 
education, his business capacity and his sterling integrity won the confidence of his fellow-citizens. He served in 
both branches of the State Legislature, was also a member of the Council. He was Judge of Probate for eleven 
years, and was afterwards U. S. pension agent. 

Harvey Adams Bill was brought up on his father's farm, but having a taste for literary 
pursuits, •■ strove to fit himself by reading and study I'm- an intelligent and useful citizenship. " 
He learned the trade of a printer in the office of the " Farmer's Museum," afterwards the 
" Cheshire Republican," at Iveene. By persevering diligence he rose to the position of business 
manager in the office, and eventually became the editor. 

■■ His editorial labors extended over a perio 1 of ten years, during which time the paper maintained a high repu- 
tation for truth and honesty. Few editors have labored more faithfully than he, and fewer still are they who have 
written so little that upon a death-bed they might desire to blol out. Unswerving in his principles, a mind pecu- 
liarly disciplined to investigation and rigid criticism, his labors for the cause iu which his heart was enlisted were 
acknowledged by all with whom li>- was engaged. " 

"There are very few men in our midst who command the universal respect that was awarded to Mr Bill. 
In his dealings with his fellow-meu he was guided by the strictest integrity ; in his capacity as a public officer, no 
ime ever had re isou to complain of any unfaithfulness ; as an editor, his ability and discretion were acknowledged 
as well by his patrons as by the editorial fraternity." 

•• While we remember the more public virtues of our friend, we would not be forgetful of 

' That best portion of a good man's life — 
His little, nameless, unremembered acts 
Of kindness and of love,' 

that were only witnessed and felt by those who were his most intimate acquaintance. Kind, affectionate, and 
genial in his disposition, it was in the inmost recesses of private life that his true nature was unfolded, and it is 
there that his loss will meet with the most heartful sorrow." 

Maria T. Ware sailed for Oregon from New York, Oct. 9, 1839, by way of Cape Horn with 
a large reinforcement for the Methodist Mission to the Indians. They arrived at the Columbia 
River the 23d of May following. Site shortly after married Rev. Daniel Lee. 

He was the second of thirteen children of Elias Lee of Stanstead, C. E. He worked with his father on the 
farm till 21 years of age. He then went to the Academy at Peacham, Vt., and afterwards to Wilbraham, Muss., 
working his way by teaching school in the Winter. 

He received his first appointment as a minister of the M. E. Church at Goshen, in 1831 . The next year he 
preached in Vt.. and in 1833 was ordained by Bishop Hedding. He and his uncle, the Rev. Jason Lee, were the 
first missionaries to Oregon. They crossed the country with the American Fur Company taking with them two 
cows, the first ever introduced there. They arrived there Sept. 1, 1833. 

In 1843 Rev. Daniel Lee and his wife returned by ship around the Cape. He was afterwards stationed at 
various places in N. H. and Mass., till 1857. when they removed to Hillsboro', 111., and are now residing in Caldwell, 
Kansas. Two of their sons were given for the Union in the late war. 

Aaron Day. Jr.. obtained his preparatory education at Chesterfield (?) Academy, and gradu- 
ated from Dartmouth College in LS42. The following Autumn he taught a High School ai 
Westmoreland, "then at Concord Academy to September, 184") : was next private Tutor in 
Prince George's Co., Mil., fifteen months : after that taught in Upperville. Fauquier Co., Va., to 
1849: was assistant at the Rittenhouse Academy, Washington, D. C, one term: then at 
Eldorado, Union Co., Ark., to 1852." He then taught at Marion, Union Parish. La., till, his 
health failing, he went to his brother's in Whitewater, Wis., in the Fall of 1854, and died there, 
at the age of 35. A friend writes : — 



186 GIL SUM. 

•'He was a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church and died in the triumphs of faith. Thus passed from 
earth one of the noblest of men, — one who was kept in almost constant pain by his weak and suffering body, but 
whose mind was clear and strong and well calculated to be one of the foremost men of his time, had his strength of 
body been equal to his aspirations. His fine mind, gentle and unassuming manners, and patient endurance of 
suffering, endeared him to all who knew him. " 

Amasa May resided on the farm with his father till 1858. teaching school with eminent 
success for fourteen winters. He then removed to Philadelphia, Penn., where he was employed 
by Lippincott & Co. in introducing their text books through the Middle States. In 1865, he 
went to Kansas, hoping to establish a home there. After a year's labor, he lost all he had 
gathered, by a prairie tire. He returned to his former employment at Philadelphia, traveling 
continuously through Pennsylvania and New York. In 1867, he settled at Haddonfield, N. J., 
where he remained for six years, when he removed to Stamford, Conn. While at New York on 
business, he was suddenly attacked with diphtheria and died in six hours, at the age of 53. 

Wherever he resided he became an active and earnest advocate of good schools. It was to this branch of reform 
that he specially directed his attention, and in spite of great opposition he achieved much success. He was asso- 
ciated with Epes Sargent as joint author of a valuable series of readers. An obituary notice in the " West Jersey 
Press," from which the above facts are largely taken, says : " Mr. Amasa May was a man endowed with many 
excellent qualities of head and heart, interested in the advanced thought of the day, alive to the spirit of progress." 
He had already become one of the leading citizens in his native town, where he served three years as Moderator 
and two years as Selectman. 

His only son Sidney H. May graduated from the Naval Academy in 1869, and received a Lieutenant's coin- 
mission in 1879. 

Lydia E. M. Abbott graduated at Mount Holyoke Seminary in 1846. She engaged in 
teaching at Westfield, N. Y., where she died the year following. 

Oscar Addison Mack though not born in Gilsum, came here at a very early age. Here his 
ancestors for three generations had made their home. Considering the shortness of his life, it 
would be difficult to mention a name that brings more honor to Gilsum than his. He inherited 
from his father a natural aptitude for learning, and from his grandmother, Rachel Hurd, a taste 
for military life. His mother dying while he was yet an infant, and his father, when he was 
about five years of age, he was brought up in the family of Capt. True Webster. While yet a 
boy, in his eagerness to learn, he would spend a large portion of the night in study. Rev. James 
Tisdale seeing his aptitude for study took a great interest in his success, and it was largely due 
to his influence that he applied for and received an appointment as Cadet at West Point, where 
he graduated in 1850. He ranked No. 8 in a class of 48. 

His Military Record, as taken from the Files of the War Department at Washington, is as follows : — 
"Graduated from the U. S. Military Academy and appointed 

Brevet 2nd Lieutenant, 3d Artillery July 1, 1850. 

2nd Lieutenant 4th Artillery ..... January 9, 1851. 
1st Lieutenant " " ..... February 14, 1856. 

Captain, 13th Infantry May 14, 1861. 

Major, 9th Infantry June 1'.), 1866. 

Assigned to 1st infantry Dec. 15, 1870. 

Lieutenant Colonel, 21st Infantry ..... Dec. 15, 1874. 

[Brevetted Major, U. S. Army, Sept. 10, 1861, for gallant services at the battle of Carnifex Ferry, Virginia ; 
Lieut. Colonel, Dec. 31. 1862, for gallant and distinguished services at (he battle of Murfreesboro', Tenn.; and 
Colonel, March 13, 1865. for gallant and meritorious services during the War.] 

Served as Major and Aide-de-Camp of Volunteers from April 16, 1863, until honorably mustered out of service, 
July 1, 1866. 

Service: On graduating leave to Sept. 30, 1850. With regiment on duty to Sept. 7, 1852. On leave of absence 
to Oct. 2, 1852. With regiment to Sept. 13, 1855 ; on leave to Oct. 5, 1855'; with regiment to Nov. 20. 1856 ; on 
detached service as Ass'. Commissary Subsistence at Fort Myers, Fla.. to 1 tec. 20, 1856; on duty with regiment in the 
field, Fl*., to Jan. 18.1857; on detached service as Ass'. Commissar) of Subsistence at Forts Brooke and Myers, Fla., 
to Jan. 6. 1858 ; on leave of absence to April 1, 1858, and absent sick to June 22, 1860. With regiment and command- 
ing Co. " I " 4th Artillery in the field to May 1, 1862. ( )n si aft' of General Geo. H. Thomas until wounded at battle of 
Stone River, Dec. 31, 1862 ; absent wounded to June 15, 1863 ; on duty as Ass'. Provost Marshal General, at Concord, 
N. H., to Nov. 9, 1863, and on duty as Secretary and Treasurer U. S. Soldiers' Home, District of Columbia, to Nov. 




d£&e+* *£/£«*%. 



rtO Dr.n, Qn, Rr,< 



PROFESSIONAL AND LITERARY. 187 

30, 1867. Before Retiring Board at N. Y. City; permission to delay joining regiment; on Court Martial duty at 
Wash" and Commanding Camp Gaston, Cal., to May 14, 1869, and on duty in War Department from June 11, 1869, 
in addition thereto engaged in inspection of National Cemeteries from January 16, 1871, to date of death. 

Died (while on special duty to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and return) Oct. 22. 1876, on the cars at Brunswick, 
Missouri. 

One of his most intimate friends writes : — 

It was impossible for any one to know Col. Mack, without admiring him, he was so perfectly unselfish, and 
such a consistent Christian in every position in life, and such a true and loyal soldier to his country that he will- 
ingly gave up everything to advance the interest of the service lie loved so dearly. He was a great lover of nature, 
and all of his leisure time for years he had devoted to the study of Botany, so he was peculiarly fitted for the care 
of the National Cemeteries, which he took unwearied pains to render beautiful. He was always very proud of his 
native State and glad to proclaim himself a native of New Hampshire. He was confirmed as a member of the 
Episcopal Church in Germantown, Penn.. in 1 857, and his whole life was full of good deeds, doing kindness without 
number, never letting his left hand know what his right was doing. His good example was felt by every one. 
Among his soldiers he was beloved and respected, and his own immediate family and friends were devoted to him. 
He was buried from the Church of the Epiphany of which he was a member, and sleeps in the Congressional 
Cemetery at Washington, D. C. 

Alice M. Ware, afterwards the wife of Rev. Ezra Adams, (page 114,) graduated at Mount 

Holyoke Seminary in 1858. Since her husband's death in 1864, she has been engaged in 

teaching. At present, she has charge of the Female Department in Wilberforce University, 

Xenia, Ohio. 

Charles Edwin Hubd, great-grandson of Justus, is a newspaper man. He was two years editorially con- 
nected with a semi-weekly called " The Tribune," at Yarmouth. N. S. Was for a time connected with "The 
Leader " in Boston, Mass. In 1865 he became city editor of the " Erie Dispatch " at Erie, Penn. He now resides 
in Boston, Mass., and is the literary editor of the " Transcript." 

Sarah Jane Hayward graduated at Mount Holyoke Seminary, July, 1858. She intended to 
make teaching her profession, but her hearing becoming somewhat impaired, she was obliged to 
relinquish the design. She resides with her mother in Gilsum. 

Abram Brown was in Gilsum with his brothers ( Chap. 36,) about 1860. He enlisted, Aug. 
19, 1862, in the 9th N. H. Reg't, Co. K, — was promoted to Corporal, — had three fingers shot 
off at Antietam, — " wounded severely Dec. 13, 1862, and discharged for disability March 4, 1863." 
He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1867, — taught for several years in Ohio, and is now 
agent for School Books in Chicago, 111. 

William Bigelow Adams, oldest son of Rev. Ezra Adams, fitted for College at Kimball 
Union Academy. He graduated at Amherst College in 1863, — then taught the Academy at 
Westminster, Mass", two years, and the High School at Edgartown, Mass.. one year. Jn March, 
1869, he went to Xenia, Ohio, where he became Professor in Wilberforce University. In (he 
Spring of 1880 he returned to Gilsum and opened a High School. 

Whitney I>. Foster •'entered the • Herald' office in 1870 as a compositor, and afterwards 
went to Norwich, Conn., where he was employed on the ' Norwich Bulletin.' Subsequently he 
returned to this office and obtained a situation as proof-reader, which lie held at the time of his 
death. He was possessed of a large share of those mental acquirements which nave promise of 
earning him a high rank in the profession which he had adopted and for which he seemed emi- 
nently fitted. His many good qualities of mind and heart had won for him a large place in the 
affections and respect of his associates, and the loss which they have sustained in his death is 
deeply felt." — Boston Herald. 



188 GILSUM. 



CHAPTER XXXII. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER THREE. 

1. Josiah Kilkurn built a log house here in 1762. (Page 169.) 

2. A few years later, Mr. Kilburn built the first framed house in Gilsum, on this spot. It is 
designated in the picture by the white flags a little in the background and to the left of the 
present buildings. This house was " an English Cottage with two parlors, two sleeping rooms, 
with a large cook-room, and large store-room and pantry on the lower floor." 

Mr. Kilburn became infirm at an early age, probably owing to the exposures of the first years 
in a new country. At the time his son was in the army, he was unable to leave the house. He 
was Moderator of the first meeting of the proprietors, and was one of the first Selectmen in 1762. 

3. PJhenezer Kilburn moved the house to this spot. He was a large man over six feet in 
height, weighing 230 pounds, and of great energy and courage. He served as Lieutenant in 
the army, (page 38,) and was afterwards Captain in the militia. He was Deacon of the Con- 
gregational Church for many years. 

His first wife, Jemima Ford, belonged to "one of the wealthiest families in Connecticut." The hardships and 
exposures of those early times were too severe for her delicate constitution, and she died of consumption, about a 
year after marriage. (Page (32) Her daughter Jemima, the first white child born in Gilsum, became blind in 
early childhood, and died in Plattsburg, N. Y., at the age of 96. 

Dea. Kilburn's second wife was Sarah, sister of Maj. Bill. " She was a very handsome woman, amiable, kind 
in Hie poor, and beloved by all her acquaintance " She was of strong constitution, and a great amount of energy 
and determination. When her husband went to the war she was left with four children under ten years of age, 
one being an infant, a blind girl of about twelve, an old man so infirm as hardly to move from one room to 
another, besides a large stock of cattle and sheep. Her only help and protection were two large dogs, that had been 
trained to drive the cattle, and kept off the wild beasts. When Sunday came she went to meeting, where she was 
taunted by Tory women telling her that her husband was a fine mark for the British, and would never come home 
alive. !She simply replied that he had the same keeper in battle as at home, ami bore all with unflinching courage. 
Fler characteristic energy was shown in later years, when the family having all. left their former Church to attend 
the services of another sect, and the Communion season at the Congregational Church having arrived, she mounted 
her horse, and taking the bread and wine in a basket in her lap, brought it to the meeting at the appointed time. 

Joel Kilburn, the second son of Josiah, owned the lot west of his father's, the first Lot in the first Range. He 
probably had a house there, though it is not certain. He sold the place to his brother Ebenezer in 1772. He also 
received from his father the Taylor lot in Hammond Hollow, and sold it to Moses Belding of Swanzey in 1774. 
He was a millwright by trade, and removed to Royalton, Yt., before the Revolution, as it is known his family resided 
there while he was in the army. He afterwards returned to Surry, had several children born there, and went 
back to Vt. about 1793. 

Iddo Kilburn, third son of Ebenezer, received the farm of his father. He enlarged the old 
house, building on what is now the ell part towards the east. In L839, be sold the place and 
removed to Hartland, Vt;., where he died, leaving two sons, one of. whom lias since died. The 
other, Francis A., is said to be a wealthy merchant in Iowa. 

George YV. Slurtevanf. when a young man, lived at Dea. Kilburn's anil married the daughter of his brother 
Jehiel. He settled in Keene where " for nearly fifty years he practiced surveying ami performed the offices of a 
civil engineer," having " no equal in this section of the State." "His sound judgment, unswerving integrity and 
valuable experience in matters pertaining to the interests of the Town, served as passports to many important 
public positions, even when his political friends were largely in the minority." He served five years as Town Clerk, 
and was chairman of the Board of Selectmen for mauy years. He was also Register of Probate five years. "An 
entire generation must pass away before the community will cease to deplore the loss of his valuable services, his 
genial companionship, and his kindly sympathy for those in affliction and distress. (Keene paper.) 

Edward E. Sturtevant, a great-grandson of Capt. Kilburn, had the honor of being the first in N. H. to 
volunteer for service in the war of the rebellion. He was commissioned as Captain of Co. I in the First N. H. 
Regiment. In L862, he was commissioned as Major in the Fifth Regiment and was killed at Fredericksburg, Ya., 
Dee. 13, 1862. 

Elijah Gunn came here from Winchester in 1839. In 1S.V2, be took away the old house. 





^ 




uJ-cLfu V^/Y/Z. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER THREE. 189 

(page 188,) and built the one in which he still lives with his son. Both himself and wife have 
been for along lifetime earnest and devoted members of the Methodist Church. 

Elisha W. Gunn lives with his father on this place, and manages the farm, which is one of 
the best in town, with great success. He has a large orchard, and raises much excellent fruit. 
One tree set there about 1764, still survives and yields a good amount of apples. He and his 
family are among the most constant attendants and liberal supporters of the Methodist Church 
in Keene. 

E. Nelson Gunn resided here with his brother for about eight years. He then removed to 
Illinois where he remained five years. In 1870, he returned to Keene. 

Both Mr. Kilburn and Mr. Gunn sometimes had tenants in part of the house. 

Antipas Maynard, Jr., lived here from 1822 to 1826, when he removed to Keene, and soon 
after to Ashburnham, Mass., where he has " held many important offices, and is very prominent 
in the work of the Methodist Church." 

Hiram Hefflon came here from Vt. in 1835. He lived here about two years, and went from 

place to place in town till 1846, when lie removed to Chesterfield. He afterwards went West. 

Other residents : — George W. Willis now of Keene, Daniel Fairbanks, Jr., a mechanic ; and Addison 
Bancroft. 

4. This is one hall of the original Kilburn house, which Mr. Gunn moved from number 3, and made into a 
sugar house. The frame of huge oak timbers can here be seen in its original form, showing the shape of the rooms, 
and the immense size of the chimney. 

5. Bena.iah Taylor settled on this place about 1763, and built a log house. He was probably 
from Hebron, Conn., and left town in 1768. The place is still called " the Taylor lot," and is 
not known to have been inhabited since his removal. 

6. This place is a few rods over the line, in Surry. Who first settled it, is not now known. .Tames McCurdy 
bought it in 1787. In 1806, William Thompson lived there, and the house had the name of being haunted. It 
was, however, discovered to be only through the tricks of some of his roguish boys. It has long been known as 
the Austin place, from Thomas Austin who lived there many years. 

7. Peter Rice built a house on this spot, about 1800. He was the son of Peter and Phebe 
Rice of Keene and lived in various places in the south part of the town. He was a Methodist 
and has become somewhat noted in Gilsum traditions by the cow story. (Page 99.) 

8. This spot is a few rods west of the ancient burying place marked in the picture by a white 
flag in the background. Ebenezer Dewey of Hebron, Conn., bought this lot of Thomas Sumner in 
December, 1764. Ebenezer Dewey, Jr., came up and settled here the next Spring. The father did 
not come before 1767. It was at this house the Congregational Church was organized in 1772. 
(Page 100.) Mr. Dewey is supposed to have been Deacon of the church in Hebron, Conn., as he 
is called Deacon before the organization of the Gilsum church. He was Selectman in 1773, and 
Delegate to the Vermont Assembly at Windsor, Vt., and Charlestown, in 1781. Ebenezer Dewey, 
Jr., was also a prominent citizen, and served the town as Selectman in 1776-7. In May, 1786, he 
sold to Daniel Newcomb, Esq., of Keene, for £300, and removed to Royalton, Vt., and afterwards 
to Genesee Co., N. Y. 

The Dewey family was one of more refinement and culture than was usual in those times and 
their removal was a great loss to the town. They were workers in wooden ware : — " turned 
wooden dishes, bowls, plates, bedsteads, and such." 

Charles Rice who was a Revolutionary pensioner from Surry, (page 36,) lived here a few 

years after the Deweys left. The house was burned and Mr. Rice being helpless, was rescued 

with great difficulty. 

Timothy Dewey was probably a son of Dea. Dewey, and married Jemima Griswold. He settled west of 
Sullivan Center in 1778. He signed the petition for the incorporation of Sullivan, and was Town Clerk of Gilsum 
in 1787. He sold his place to Abel Allen of Lancaster, Mass., the same year, and probably followed his relatives 
to Vermont. 



190 GIL SUM. 

9. Mrs. Jean Bond built a small house here about 1825, where she lived alone for more 
than twenty years. .She was a very energetic, resolute woman. When she came to this house, 
young people thought to frighten her, but never succeeded. 

10. Samuel Crandall lived here, and was probably the first settler. Afterwards Mrs. 
Eunice Hall, widow of Benjamin of Keene, resided here for some years. 

11. David Sumner built this house about 1840. He removed to Keene in 1855, and after- 
wards to Manchester. He was a tall man of powerful voice, and fond of military service, in 
which he had been appointed Captain. While at work on his farm, be could sometimes be heard 
for a mile or more, rehearsing military orders. 

Other residents : — William Bates, William Eastman, George W. Willis, and Theodore Boileau. After the 
death of Capt. Benjamin Ware, his widow came here to live. In 1863, she married Stephen C. Sweetzer, who 
remained here about two years. She now resides in Surry. 

Benjamin H. Britton came here from Marlboro', Mass., in 1869. He served during the last 

ten months of the War of the Rebellion, in the 2d Mass. Regiment of Heavy Artillery, Co. C. 

Was in the Wattles of Kingston and Greensboro', remaining at the latter place on provost duty 

till July, 1865. 

12. This was part of the original Pease place, and was given by Pelatiah Pease to his son 
Pelatiah, who built a barn in the orchard south of the road but never resided here. About 1812, 
he removed to Canada. 

John Sumner first settled here about 1824, in a plastered house. His father lived here with 
him for some years. After his father's death, he removed to Keene in 1839. 

Ephraim P. Everdon came here from Winchester in 1839. In 1852, he went back to Win- 
chester for about five years, when he returned. In 1865, he removed to the Capt. Chapin place 
in Alstead, (142,) where he died. He was a mechanic, and introduced to this town the 
process of slicing shingles from blocks softened by steam. (Page 147.) 

Cyrus W. Stanley was here in 1855. In 1856, he removed to Swanzey, where he still resides. 
He served three years as Corporal in the 6th N. H Reg't, Co. P, — was severely wounded July 
24, 1864, and draws a full invalid pension. He is a member of the Baptist Church in Swanzey. 

Calvin Wright, formerly of Keene, bought this place and has resided here since 1867. 

Other residents : — Daniel Allen, William Bates and Francis C. Howe. 
388. School House. (Page 130.) 

13. Nabby Ann Smith bought the old School House in 1849, and set it on this spot. She 
lived here about two years and then went West, where she died. She was well known in all this 
vicinity as an experienced nurse. After she went away, E. P. Everdon moved her house which 
is now the front part of Calvin Wright's dwelling. 

14. Ebenezer Bill bought this place of his father, Samuel Bill of Hebron, Conn., in Feb- 
ruary, 1772, and probably settled here that year. He is said to have been " a very neat farmer." 
He was Major in the militia, and served the town nine years as Selectman. He was one of the 
earliest opposers of the support of preaching by town tax. (Pages 52, 99.) He and his wife 
belonged to the Congregational Church, but having adopted " Restorationist " views, removed 
their membership to the church in Surry, which was less strict in doctrine. His wife, Rachel 
Root, was a woman of clear intellect and marked ability. She was very fond of argument, 
especially on religious subjects, expressing her ideas with great force and clearness. Pew min- 
isters could sustain an argument with her on Scriptural doctrines. Probably no woman has ever 
exerted so great an influence in Gilsum, as she, and the impress of her religious views has not 
yet passed away. 




~y&-~ t i , i it-(_ / . c 



c -£<~l Cu^-e^^&L. 



..- .■ 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER THREE. 191 

15. Ebenezer Bill, only son of the preceding, succeeded to his father's homestead, and 
built the house now standing south of the road, in 1802. He was a careful, prudent man, diligent 
in business, and quiet in his tastes. He served as Captain in the militia. 

Samuel Woodward, Jr., came from Westmoreland about 1826, and " kept store" in a room of 
Dudley Smith's tavern for a year. He afterwards lived with his father-in-law on this place from 
1884 to 1852, when he removed to Keene, where he died in 1876. 

In early life he acquired a good academic education, which with many natural qualifications enabled him to 
attain a high position as a teacher — a calling which he loved and followed many years. 

He was eminently a man of progress. As a farmer he was enterprising and successfid. He was specially 
interested in education, and it is largely due to his influence that this School District has won and maintained the 
reputation of having the " banner school " in Gilsum. 

Few men have more decided opinions or are more earnest in their maintenance than he. He was a man of 
great zeal and energy in all matters of reform, — an ardent leader in Anti-Slavery and Temperance, " at a time 
when it required firmness and resolution to take a decided stand in favor of these movements." When he went to 
Keene, he took charge of a paper called the " American News." in which he boldly advocated the doctrines of free 
soil and liquor prohibition, in the face of a bitter opposition little realized at the present time. In 1855 this paper 
was merged in the " Sentinel " of which Mr. Woodward continued editor four years. 

His ability and character were such that he necessarily occupied a conspicuous place in any society, where he 
happened to be. He served this town three years as Superintending School Committee, and six years as Selectman. 
In Keene he served as Selectman several times before the adoption of the City charter, and afterwards as Assessor 
in Ward 3. He was elected to the Legislature in 1872 and again in 1873. He was also President of the Keene 
Five Cent Savings Bank. 

" His interest in religion, temperance, education, and the general welfare of the community, never flagged, and 
to the end of his days, he was a public-spirited, liberal, useful citizen. Beneath a rough exterior he concealed a 
heart as warm, tender, and sympathizing as a woman's, and no person in distress ever vainly applied to him for 
aid." 

He became a member of the Baptist Church in early life, and was one of the most liberal contributors towards 
building the Baptist Meeting House in Keene. His widow still resides in Keene, and is a member of the First 
Congregational Church. 

Warren Poster from Hillsboro' came here in 1854 and carried on the farm live years. In 1859 
he removed to Sullivan, and afterwards to Keene. 

David Wood formerly of Keene bought this place in 1859 and resided here fifteen years. 

His family is now living in the house of Willard Dill at the lower village. 

Other tenants : —David Sumner; Joseph Paquin, known as Joe Palmer ; Wm. A. Wilder ; Abram C. Guyatt ; 
and Alfred Bernard. 

16. Edmund Wilcox built here in 1816. His widow continued here nearly forty years after 

his death, when she removed to Swanzey. In 1870, Moses Fish bought the house and removed 

it to his place for a shop. 

Other residents : — Hiram Hefflon ; Edward R. Winchester ; Wm. W. Powers ; Wm. Eastman ; John H. 
Sparhawk from Walpole, now at West Swanzey ; and Charles Titraut. 

17. Obadiah Wilcox bought this place in October, 1765, and is called in the deed " of Guil- 
ford, Conn." He built a log house on this spot 1765-6. He was a tanner by trade, and probably 
an employe of the Kilburns and Fords in Connecticut. (Page 140.) 

He was called " an odd man," — was a great hunter, and very fond of telling stories, acting 
them out, to the amusement of the young people. He owned considerable land, settling his 
oldest son on a farm near by, and leaving the homestead to his second son, Eleazer. 

18. Mr. Wilcox built a house on this spot in 1772, and it was inhabited with but little altera- 
tion for 105 years, when it was unroofed by a tornado. (Page 154.) 

Eleazer Wilcox and his sister Lydia came from Connecticut with their father. After 
building the log house and getting them somewhat settled, their father returned home, leaving 
them to clear the farm and carry it on for a year, as best they could. During this time Eleazer 
broke his leg, and his sister brought him to the house, and laid him on the bed, though he was a 
full-grown man of six feet in height. The rest of the family came the next year. Like his 



192 GIL SUM. 

father, he was a man of marked peculiarities, ami often delighted children by rehearsing his 
great bear fight. (Page 156.) He was an active supporter of religion though he never joined 
the church on account of the opposition of one of his neighbors. He had unusual self-control. 
At one time a neighbor getting angry struck him on the side of his face. Mr. Wilcox remem- 
bering the Scriptural injunction, turned to him the other cheek. The man instantly apologized, 
saying, " I was wrong." 

Mrs. Wilcox was a devoted and intelligent Christian, exerting a powerful influence over her 
family. Her youngest son Lumund (page 178,) ascribed his conversion to his mother's " godly 
life." 

Eleazer Wilcox, Jr., received this place at his father's death in 1823. He was always ready 
to do his part in sustaining the Gospel, and whatever expenditures were needed. When the new 
Meeting House was built he took hold heartily, although it was removed a mile and a half fur- 
ther from his residence. Living at a greater distance than any other member, lie was yet very 
constant at meeting, especially in stormy weather. In the worst storms, when others failed, lie 
was sure to be out. in 1842, he built the house now occupied by Lansing Wilder, to which he 
soon after removed with his family. He died very suddenly, as he sat in his chair. 

Joseph Addison Wilder bought this place of Eleazer Wilcox, and removed here from Sullivan 
in the year 1842. He was an industrious, upright man — a thrifty farmer, a good neighbor, and 
respected as a citizen. He died at the age of 46, leaving the homestead to his oldesi son. 

19. William Addison Wilder built the house (in this spot in 1878, the tornado of 1877 
having nearly demolished the old house. This is one of the most productive farms in town, and 
the new road of 1880 (page 58.) will add largely to its value. 

20. Eleazer Wilcox built here in 1842. After his death, the place was occupied by his 

oldest son, Moses Field Wilcox, for nine years. In 1865, Lansing William Wilder bought the 

place, where he still resides. The place suffered much from the tornado. (Page 154.) 

Other residents : — Robert Alexander a Frenchman from Burlington, Vt.; Charles Titraut ; William Wilbur; 
William Eastman ; and Sumner Wellington now of Keene. 

21. Lewis Bridge formerly of Keene came to Oilsuin in 1860, and lived on the Capt. Ware 
place (22,) fifteen years. He built the house on this spot in 1875. His widow still resides here 
with her sons Ora and John. 

Reuben H. Newcomb, son-in-law of Mr. Bridge, enlisted from Keene, Feb. 1SG4, in 1st Reg't of N. II. Cavalry. 
Troop K. lie was taken prisoner at Cedar Creek, Va., Nov. 13, 1SG4, and was confined in Libby and Salisbury 
prisons for about five months. His exposure and suffering while iu prison were the cause of his death in 1875. 

22. Obadiah Wilcox, Jr., built a house on this spot about 1773, and died here 1776. After 
his death, his widow married Thomas Redding, who lived here till her death in 1791. The next 
year, he married Pamela Rice of Keene, to which place he removed. He was the son of Thomas 
and Lucy Redding of Surry, and his father married in his old age the widow Phebe Rice, mother 
of Pamela. There is considerable confusion about the name Thomas Redding, but 1 think the 
above is correct. 

Benjamin Ware having married Mrs. Reddiug's daughter Huldah Wilcox, who had inherited 
the place from her father, came here, in 1791, and remained till his death in 1858. He had 17 
children, 13 of whom lived to adult age. He was a tall man, of strong voice, and served several 
years as Captain in the militia. 

Three sons-in-law of Capt. Ware lived here with him at different times, — John C. Kendrick, Davis II. Car- 
penter, and Hiram Baldwin. Zenas D. Metcalf was here in 1851. 

Obadiah Ware, son of Benjamin, removed in 1821 to a farm near St. Louis. Mo. After two years he settled 
with his brother Benjamin, in Butler, Montgomery Co., 111., taking up a tract of U. S. land now called Ware's 
Grove, and was " one of the earliest pioneers of civilization " in that County. 




Resi; inc. \V. Y\ 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER THREE. 193 

Mr. Ware was a leading and influential member of the Lutheran Church for many years, and gave liberally of 
his means for the dissemination of gospel truths and for the upbuilding of houses dedicated to worship. _ He was 
ever active and generous in his assistance to every project looking to the advancement of educational facilities. 

He was one of the substantial, solid men of Montgomery County and one who did as much in a humble and 
unpretentious way to advance its material interests as any man within its borders. 

23. James Sawyer built a log house on this spot and had several children born here. He 
removed to Keene before 1783. It is not known that any other family lived here. 

24. David Adams built here about 1785, and remained seventeen years, when he went to live 
with his father. After his father's death he lived with his son-in-law, Calvin May. He was a 
soldier in the Revolution. (Page 37.) He served the town as Moderator, and was Selectman 
three years. 

Thomas Powell came from Sullivan about 1801, and lived in various places, till he settled 
here about 1815. In 1825, he removed to Mount Tabor, Vt., where he died leaving a large 
family. 

Abiah Ellis lived here several years, and was the last occupant of the house. She was some- 
what insane and kept several dozen cats. She was very deaf, and at one time, when sitting in 
her door, knitting, she dropped asleep. When she awoke, she found a large snake coiled up on 
her shoulder. 

Other residents : — James Kingsbury, Samuel Crandall, David Thompson, Obadiah Root, John Bingham, Jr.> 
and Antipas Maynard. 

25. John Chapman built a log house here probably about 1767. His father-in-law, John 
Dimmock, deeded him the place " for love and good-will " in 1770. 

John Griggs of Keene bought the place in 1777. He was at that time Captain in Col. 
Scammel's Regiment, but resigned " on account of sickness." Capt. Griggs lived here five or 
six years and returned to Keene. He was one of the Selectmen in 1779. (Page 37.) The 
name " Capt. John Grigg " appears on a petition from sundry inhabitants of Fairfield Co., Conn., 
for a grant of land at " Little Cowass " in 1763. 

26. Solomon Woods removed from Woburn, Mass., to Sullivan, and came to Gilsum about 
1805. He was a blacksmith, and first settled where Mason Guillow lives. About 1810, he 
removed to the Pease place and soon after built on this spot east of the road. In 1817 he 
removed to Keene. 

James Phillips came here from Keene and remained about three years. He served as 
Captain in the Keene militia. 

Charles Sumner bought the place in 1820, and remained about ten years. His son-in-law? 
Hezekiah Webster, continued to occupy the place for twenty-five years, and the widow Webster 
remained till 1865, when she removed to Keene. 

Other residents : — Abraham Stiles who removed to Keene ; Calvin "Wright ; a Frenchman named Lapierre ; 
and Mrs. Thomas Wheelock. 

27. Pelatiah Pease came from Hebron, Conn., and settled here in 1764. He was prominent 
among the first settlers of the town, and served as Selectman three years. 

Jonathan Pease, son of the preceding, lived here till 1808, when he bought the mills at the 
Stone Bridge, and removed to the house now occupied by John J. Isham. In April, 1828, he 
sold out to Aaron Day, and died the next January at the house of John Liverrnore. 

He was much respected and trusted, as an upright, conscientious man. He was Selectman for ten years, and 
represented Gilsum and Surry in the State Legislature in 1817. He was one of the pillars of the Congregational 
Church in its days of weakness, and in 1814 was chosen Deacon. In many respects he supplied the place of a 
pastor, being gifted in prayer and conference meetings, and a judicious counselor to religious inquirers. His sudden 
death at the age of fifty-four was a sad bereavement to the church, causing them great discouragement. 

Oliver Pease, son of Dea. Jonathan, devoted himself to Music. He was an ingenious man, 

13 



194 GIL SUM. 

and invented a new system of musical notation said to be a great improvement on the old 
methods. 

28. Osman McCoy built here in 1837, where he resided till about 1850, when he went to the 
village for two years. He then lived on the Crocker place till 1869, when he bought the Taylor 
house, now occupied by his widow, and where he died instantly of heart disease, in October, 
1875. He was a carpenter by trade, was a member of the Methodist Church, and during his last 
years an active and faithful member of the Sons of Temperance. 

In 1864, Larkin Welch came to Gilsum from Sullivan, and resided with his father-in-law, 

Lewis Bridge, for a year and a half, and then went to the Dea. Mark place, (40,) where he 

remained two years and a half. In the Fall of 1868, he came to this place where he still resides 

Other residents : — Elder Charles E. Baker; Alonzo B. Cook; Harvey B. Mansfield who died here in 1857; 
and James Chapman for about ten years. 

29. Jonathan Adams from Hebron, Conn., came here soon after the Kilburns. He built 
the house now standing, before the Revolution. He was a great singer, and is remembered as 
having " lined out the hymn " at communion seasons. He served the town both as Moderator 
and Selectman, and was the Representative from Gilsum and Packersfield in 1781-2. His son 
David lived here about eight years. 

Stephen Mansfield removed from Stoddard to Charlestown, and after a few years came to 
Gilsum. He lived on the Hurd place one season, and settled here in 1821. His father, William 
Mansfield, came to live with him. Mr. Mansfield was a carpenter by trade. His son George 
lived here with him for some years. In 1870, they removed to the Crocker place. 

Edward H. Bates, a tin-peddler, resided with the Mansfields a year or two about 1843. 

30. Justus Hurd came to Gilsum from East Haddam, Conn., and settled on this spot, in 
1769. He resided here till his death in 1804. He and his wife were among the original mem- 
bers of the Congregational Church, and he was its first Clerk. He was one of the most valuable 
and respected citizens of the town, though somewhat noted for his violent temper. At one time 
before the settlement of the first minister, a black man came and offered himself to preach. He 
was sent to Mr. Hurd who was at work in the field. Whether thinking the proposal an insult 
to the people, or a sacrilege to the ministerial office, is not known, but in indignation at his pre- 
sumption, he drove him out of the field with his cane. After Rev. Mr. Fish's death, David 
Thompson referred to this circumstance, and said he thought the church never would be pros- 
pered in their ministers on account of it. Mr. Hurd served the town as Selectman in 1781-2, 
and as Moderator in 1789 and 1793. Besides carrying on his farm, he was employed as a builder 
of " Stone Chimbleys." He had ten children, and the family was for many years among the 
most active and efficient in all public affairs. His descendants at the present time are very 
numerous. 

Robert Lane Hurd lived here with his father, and remained till about 1814, when he removed 
to Chesterfield, and afterwards to the West. He was a man of great energy and marked execu- 
tive ability. He was Captain in the militia for many years. (Page 42.) He served the town as 
Moderator three years, as Clerk nine years, as Selectman eight years, and represented Gilsum 
and Surry in the Legislature in 1809. The family tradition is that he served six months at the 
close of the Revolutionary War. 

John Stevens came here from Alstead in 1818, and after a year or two removed to Surry. 

Stephen Mansfield bought the place about 1820, and the next year swapped farms with his 
brother-in-law, David Adams, who removed here with his son-in-law Calvin May. In 1824 they 
went to the farm which is still known as the May place. (148.) 




/TfO' C\^ -c/h^^efC. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER THREE. 195 

About 1825, Robert Austin came here from Surry, and remained till 1835, when he removed 
to Massachusetts. In 1850, he came back to Gilsum, married the widow Ruthy Isham, and died 
at her home two years after. Since Mr. Austin's removal, the place has not been tenanted. 

34. This was the lot set apart for the first settled minister. The old house was built in 1794 
for Rev. Elisha Fish. (Page 105.) The carpenter employed was Daniel Day of Keene. 

Elisha S. Fish, oldest son of the first minister, spent his life here. Perhaps no native of 
Gilsum had greater natural ability in a literary direction than he. He was first cousin to the 
celebrated William C. Bryant, and had poetical gifts of no mean order. (Appendix H.) 

In 1814-5, he wrote a Poem entitled " The Retrospect," extending to some 2,500 lines. Its tone and spirit 
strongly resemble Cowper, and many passages are not inferior to his. He published many short poems in the 
papers, particularly the " Boston Recorder. " 

He was naturally a scholar and would have been a man of mark in either of the learned professions. But 
owing to his father's early death, he was obliged to give up seeking a liberal education. His life was spent in 
farming, and he was well known for his success in horticulture. 

Positive in his own convictions, he was intolerant of the slightest laxity in life or doctrine. Hence those who 
knew him little were apt to think him austere and conceited. But to his intimate acquaintances he was known to 
be genial and large-hearted, quick in sympathy, and humble in his estimate of himself. With no sympathy for 
fanaticism, he practiced Total Abstinence, and wrote with strong feeling against Slavery, long before Teetotalers or 
Abolitionists had been heard of. Remarkable for simple-hearted truthfuluess, even his enemies never doubted his 
integrity. Few men practice so much self-denial for the sake of the gospel. Even when a young man, the Church 
seemed to be dearer to him than all other interests. As has been said of another, " He was a pillar of the church 
many years before he became a member." His piety was of a reflective, quiet type, mingled with great self-distrust. 
His last days were marked with patience and resignation, and his end was one of peaceful rest. 

Moses Fish, brother of the preceding, built a house adjoining the old parsonage, mostly with 

his own hands. He began it in 1848, and was several years in the work. He was a man of 

very decided, firm principles, a very genial friend, and highly esteemed by every one who knew 

him well. He was Superintendent of the Sabbath School for several years. He died instantly 

of heart disease, at the age of 68, and the place has not since been inhabited. 

35. Jesse Johnson, a shoemaker, built a log house on this spot, about 1791, and after six 
years removed to number 57 below Edouard Loiselle's. In 1801-2 he went to Vermont, where 
his son Jesse is said to be a merchant. 

Claudius D. Hayward settled here in 1806. After two years he went to Concord, Vt., and 
about 1815 removed to Wrentham, Mass., and engaged in woolen manufacture. In later years 
he went to Newton, Mass. He was a man of devout Christian character, and for many years 
Deacon in the Congregational Church at Wrentham. 

John Borden came to Gilsum about 1794, and lived awhile at the lower village, and on the 
place by the Loveland mill. (105.) In 1803 he came to this place, where he resided several 
years, and then removed to Pennsylvania. He was a blacksmith and made nails in a shop beside 
a large rock, near 391. 

Other residents : — Samuel Shipman, Samuel Foster, Chester Coombs, and Anson Russell. 



196 GIL SUM. 



CHAPTEK XXXIII. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 

31. Henry White came from Lebanon, Conn., and built a log house here in 1769. In 1787, 
he sold to Joseph Wilson of Keene and removed to Vermont. 

32. Joel Wilson of Keene bought this farm of his father in 1790, and built a house on this 
spot, where he resided over thirty years. 

Oliver Wilson, son of Joel, remained here after his father's death, till 1837, when he 
removed to New York. 

Other residents : — Abram C. Wyman, John C. Kendrick, William Blanchard, David Holman, Salmon Win- 
chester of Westmoreland, James Rawson, and George Mansfield. 

33. Gershom Crocker of East Haddam, Conn., bought the 5th Lot in the 3d Range of 
Jonathan Smith, in September, 1768. He probably came to Gilsum the next Spring and built a 
log house near this spot. One afternoon in April, 1791, he had engaged to work for his neigh- 
bor, Samuel Bill. As he was always " a prompt man," when he failed to come at the time, Mr. 
Bill went over to see about it. He was not at the house, having gone with his team to the 
woods, and had not got back. Mr. Bill started for the woods and found him dead in the road 
not far west of his house, where he had fallen apparently in a fit. 

Truman Miller came here about 1810, remained about fifteen years, and returned to Marlow. 

Reuben Brown bought the place in 1817 and twenty years after built the present house. In 
1839, he went West, and afterwards returned to Westmoreland. 

Luna Foster came here from Westmoreland in 1839. He was a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church, and died here at the age of 83. 

E. R. Winchester, son-in-law of Mr. Foster, came to live with him in 1842. After six years 
he returned to Westmoreland. 

Osman McCoy lived here several years, and his son-in-law, Thomas D. Wheelock. Mr. 
Wheelock served in an Ohio regiment, was taken prisoner, and died from the barbarous cruelties 
of Andersonville. 

George Mansfield settled here in 1870. His son, William S. Mansfield, lives with him. 

Other residents : — Roger Dart, John Ellis, and Martin L. Goddard. 

36. This house was built by George Greenwood, a Methodist preacher, for the accommodation of wood- 
choppers. Tenants : — Horace H. Nash, A. P. Wright, John R. Willard. 

356. Possible Meeting House Spot. (Page 101.) 358. Millstones quarried here. 

37. Israel Loveland, who had previously removed from Glastonbury, Conn., to Keene, 
bought the 5th Lot in the 5th Range for £15, in January, 1778. He settled on this spot, probably 
the Spring following, and remained till 1787, when he sold the place to John McCurdy of Surry 
for £130. He afterward lived with his son Aaron. 

Chester Coombs lived here a short time, and possibly some others. . 

38. This spot is on the same Lot as the preceding. A log house stood here, and was occupied for a time 
by Peter Rice. It is not known by whom or when it was built. 

39. Israel Loveland, Jr., bought the east half of the 5th Lot, 4th Range, for £50, in 
1782. He built a house on this spot about 1784, and lived here nine years, when he sold to John 
Mark, who gave the place to his son William. 

40. William Mark moved the house from 39 to this spot about 1799. It is the south half of 
the house still standing. In 1821-2, he built the north half, and continued to live here till 1858, 




yjcusz^ 



The Heuotype PrintihoCo. 126 Pearl St Boston 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 197 

when he removed to the village. He held the office of Deacon in the Congregational Church over 
forty years, and was always faithful to his trust. He served the town five years as Selectman. 

Hezro Hubbard lived here with his father-in-law, from 1829 till his death in 1831. 

Ellsworth Hubbard, brother of the preceding, married his widow in 1835. They came to this 
place from Sullivan in 1845, remained five years, and then returned to Sullivan. After his 
death in 1859, his widow returned to Gilsum, and resides in the village with her younger sister. 

Other residents : — Luther Richardson, Ariel Carpenter, John R. Willard, and John Dow. In 1875, this house 
was taken by the town for a pest-house, and the family of A. C. F. Laurent remained here, while several of them 
had the small-pox, one of whom died. 

41. John Rowe of Hebron, Conn., built a log house here about 1771. He served in the 
Revolution, (page 36,) and had a single-handed fight with a Hessian whom he killed, and whose 
coat he wore home for a trophy. His son James lived in Sullivan, owning the land on which the 
Meeting House stands. 

42. John Rowe, Jr., built a house here, and his father lived with him for some years. 

43. Original Meeting House. (Page 101.) 

44. Shubael Hurd, oldest son of Justus, bought this place of John Dimmock in June, 
1772. He had already been married about three years, his oldest child having been born in 
Connecticut, and probably put up a log house that year. In 1777, he had built a frame for a 
house on this spot, and enclosed it with boards running up and down. He then removed to 
Lempster, where he became a leading citizen for nearly fifty years. The family tradition is, that 
he served for a time in the Revolution. They had thirteen children, one of whom, Mrs. Can- 
dace Beekwith, is still living in Lempster at the age of 98. 

Samuel Bill came from Hebron, Conn., 1775-6, and lived for a time with his son Ebenezer. 
(Page 190.) Sept. 27, 1777, he bought this place, half of the 6th Lot, 3d Range, for £140. 

45. Samuel Bill. Jr., inherited this place, and in 1800 built the south part of the house now 
standing. In 1802 and 1803 he kept tavern here. He was a " peculiar man," fond of invent- 
ing odd words and expressions, some of which are still remembered. He was often called Lieut. 
Bill, having held that office in the militia. He served the town as Selectman for ten years. 

David Bill, son of the preceding, inherited the old homestead. In 1821, he built on the 
north half of the house. He has served the town three years as Representative, eight years as 
Selectman, and has been Justice of the Peace. He volunteered as a soldier in the war of 1812, 
served sixty days at Portsmouth, and has been a United States pensioner since 1871. He was 
commissioned as Captain in the militia, and is still living on the old place at the age of 84. 

Daniel W. Bill, his second son, lives on the same place. He is one of the largest land-own- 
ers in this vicinity, a prosperous and intelligent farmer. Serving in the militia, he rose from 
Captain through the successive offices to that of Brigadier-General. He has served the town six 
years as Moderator, seven years as Superintending School Committee, four years in the Legisla- 
ture, and as Selectman eighteen years, which is the longest term upon our records. He was also 
Delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1877 and is Justice of the Peace. 

This farm takes precedence of all others in Gilsum for permanency of occupation, having been in the same 
family for over a century. 

The Bill family in all its branches has been one of the most extended and influential in the town, though not 
so prolific as the Hurds. 

Tenants in Mr. Bill's chambers : — Edward O. Corey from Columbia, and Joseph W. Caldwell. 

46. A house was built on this spot about 1825, for the widow of Samuel Bill, 3d. Four years after, she mar- 
ried Timothy Wyman, a shoemaker by trade, who lived here about twenty years. Abram Wilkins and Jonathan 
Mansfield also lived here for a time. 

383. This was built for a barn in 1846. In 1865, it was made into a house, and Mrs. .Wilkins lived here a 



198 aiLSUM. 

few years. Merrill E. Flagg also resided here in 1872-3. Luther A. Wilkins lived here and at other places and now 
resides at Westminster, Vt. 

47. In 1807, John Mark employed Stephen White to build the house now standing on this 
spot, for his son James M. Mark, who removed to the Plumley place (183,) about 1816. He 
was Deacon in the Christian Church, and died while on a visit to Pepperell, Mass., in 1825. 

Antipas Maynard was here in 181b'-7 and cleared the lot near Sullivan line known as the 
Maynard lot, near where the millstones for the mill by the Stone Bridge were got out. (358.) 
James McCurdy from Surry lived here in 1818. Charles Cobb was a Methodist preacher who 
came here from Canada, and lived also at the Loiselle place. 

Luther Richardson from Stoddard lived here in 1834, and the next year with Dea. William 
Mark. He now resides in Sullivan, and had five sons in the war of the rebellion. 

David Luther Richardson enlisted from Keene and served three years in the 14 th Reg't Co. A. 

Lyman Edward Richardson enlisted from Concord in the 6 th Reg't Co. K, — was wounded at Antietam, and 
discharged on account of wounds the December following. 

Edwin Richardsou enlisted from Nelson in the 2 d Reg't in 1861. After serving three years he re-enlisted and 
was appointed Sergeant Major. He was afterwards promoted to First Lieutenant of Co. D, and was honorably 
discharged May 11, 1805. This Reg't was in a large number of the most noted battles of the war. 

Frank Richardson enlisted from Stoddard in 1861, and servad three years in the 6 th Reg't Co. K, — re-enlisted 
and served till the close of the war. This Reg't was also in many of the severest battles of the war. 

James Harvey Richardson served in the 1 st N. H. Cavalry. 

In 1851 James M. Mark, Jr., bought the place and lived here nine years, when he removed to 
Peterboro' and afterwards to Keene. 

Other residents : — Joshua D. Crane, Linus N. Beckwith, Hiram HerHon. Stamford, Levi Gates, Jonathan 

Wilbur, Henry Kingsbury, Jonathan Mansfield, and Luther A. Wilkins. 

49. John Mark came from Antrim Co., Ireland, in 1772, and built a log house here in 1773. 

48. A few years after, Mr. Mark built on this spot. He was a weaver by trade, and knew 
nothing about farming. His next neighbor, Mr. Rowe, complained of his falling trees on to his 
land. Mr. Mark excused himself by saying he C1 chopped all around a tree, and let it fall which 
way it had a willing mind." When he first settled here, old Mr. Adams told him " nothing but 
blue-jays and the devil could live on such a farm." He, however, accumulated a large property 
for those times, settling his children on farms in different parts of the town. He gave each of 
his sons a farm, a yoke of oxen, a horse, and the necessary outfit to join " the troopers." 

He and his wife were members of the Presbyterian Church in the old country. They were 
good examples of the sturdy energy of the " Scotch-Irish" emigrants. Their youngest daughter, 
Mrs. Hathhorn, now 96 years of age, relates many circumstances of her father's life. 

In the Revolutionary war he hired a substitute by the name of Comstock from that part of the 
town afterwards Sullivan. (Page 38.) This Comstock boasted that no bullet could ever kill 
him, but he was shot in his first battle. Mr. Mark then hired another substitute, supposing he 
was obliged to do so. 

He kept tavern here for many years. (Page 144.) He had also a country store, probably 
the first in Gilsum. (Page 143.) He was in the habit of going to Boston with a span of horses, 
with which he brought his goods to Charlestown, where his sons would take the loading and 
bring it to Gilsum with two yoke of oxen. One trip took about a fortnight. There was great 
fear of small-pox in those days, and he was not allowed to leave Boston, till he had been thor- 
oughly smoked in a house provided for that purpose. At one time he went to New York and 
sold a horse, taking his pay all in ribbons. " The beautifulest ribbons you ever saw, and each of 
us girls had a sash." 

Francis Hathhorn, his son-in-law, came to live with him in 1824. He was a blacksmith by 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 199 

trade, and had carried on the business in Surry for some years before his marriage. His widow 
removed to the village in 1852. 

50. Samuel Bill, 3d, built on this spot about 1816, and remained here till his death in 1824- 
Jesse Temple came to Gilsum from Marlboro' about 1823, and settled here soon after. He 

lived here about twenty years, and the place lias since been vacant. 

51. Old Meeting House. (Page 101.) 52. Original School House. (Page 130.) 

Samuel Church of East Haddani, Conn., bought one share in " Boyle" in 1768. He proba- 
bly settled on the 7 th Lot 4 th Range the next year. Just where his house stood is uncertain, but 
probably a little north of the Loiselle place. He was Selectman two years. 

The Inventory of his property taken Ap. 3, 1777. by Justus Hurd and Stephen Bond, amounts to £237. 16s. 4d. 
The Real Estate was appraised as follows : — 

S. W. Lot of Highway takiDg House and Barn £85 

S. E. Lotas Highway goeth ............. £35 

Vessel Rock Lot £36 

N. E. Lot £10 

100 Acres by Boynton's £5 

Among the Personal Property we find two Sermon Books valued at £2. It would be interesting to know just 
what these books were that were appraised so high. His son Ebenezer inherited this place of his father, and soon 
after removed to Vermont. 

53. Daniel Wricht came to this place from Hebron, Conn., about 1769. He is called in 
our records " Lev't Wright," and kept tavern here for many years. (Page 144.) He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and removed to Westport, N. Y., about 1796. 

He afterwards became "a General in the N. Y. State Militia, was in command of the American land forces at 
the battle of Plattsburg. and won an enviable reputation as an officer." His brother, Benoni Wright, was a well- 
known music teacher in this and the neighboring towns. 

Fortunatus Eager from Sullivan followed Gen. Wright, and kept " a large tavern stand " here 
for a few years. 

Ziba Ware bought the place in 1800, and carried on blacksmithing and kept tavern here for 
about three years. 

Silas Woods came here about 1806, and remained eight or nine years. He was also a black- 
smith. He was brother of the Rev. John Woods of Newport, and was a member of a Baptist 
Church. 

David Smith came to this place from Gardner, Mass., in 1815. After his accidental death 
(page 151,) his widow married Berzelcel Mack who died here in 1829. She then married Laban 
Gates from Nelson. She continued to reside here after his death, with her son Lewis Smith, till 
about 1850, when they removed to Sullivan. 

Martin L. Goddard from Rindge lived here several years, and built the present house in 1852. 
About 1856, he returned to Rindge, where he has been Selectman eight years. He and his wife 
are members of the Congregational Church there. 

George W. Bancroft, also from Rindge, lived here about ten years, and removed to New York. 

In 1871, Edouard Loiselle from Canada bought the place, which he still occupies. 

Other residents: — Levi Hardy, a blacksmith from Acworth ; Theophilus Eveleth, a blacksmith; Charles 
Cobb ; Waldo May : and Walker Gassett. 

54. Second School House. (Page 130.) 

55. Samuel Bill, 3d, settled here about 1810, and remained five or six years. 
Jonathan Webster lived here a few years, and afterwards went West. 

True Webster, Jr., came hereabout 1819. He afterwards lived on the Elijah Ware place, 
also where Henry Grant now lives, and died on the Horton place. He was Captain in the 
militia, and served the town as Selectman. 



200 aiLSUM. 

John Grimes came here from Roxbury about 1829. John Grimes, Jr., bought the place 

in 1831, but soon after removed to Wilmington, Vt. 

Other residents : — Vimis Pierce, Daniel Mansfield, Otis Bill, Jeremiah L. Morse from Westmoreland, Hiram 
Hefflou, and Nahum T. Raymond. 

75. Abram C. Wtman built " the plastered house " here in 1825. Lemuel Bingham bought 
the place in 1833, and lived here about seven years. 

Walker Gassett lived on this place about five years. He came from Townsend, Mass., in 
1834. He was a carpenter and built the " Boarding House" for Maj. Hosmer. He lived in 
many different places till about 1850, when he removed to Walpole. He died at Westmoreland, 
at the age of 80. 

Other residents : — David Porter, Marvin Gates, and Harvey B. Miller. 

76. School House. (Page 130.) 

77. Jonathan Church built here about 1782. He died in 1826, and his son, Iddo Church, 
inherited the place. He removed to Acworth in 1841. 

Oren Wyman came here from Vermont, and remained about four years. He was after- 
wards miller for A. D. Towne. David Porter was here one year after Mr. Wyman left. 
Samuel D. Bill lived here from 1853 till about 1860, when he removed to Marlow. 

Temple Baker came here from Nelson in 1859. Ten years after, he died from a broken leg. 

Isaac Knight from Langdon married the widow Baker and has resided here since 1871. 

78. Old Meeting House. (Page 101.) 

79. Justus Hurd, Jr., bought two acres here of David Fuller for £8, in 1794. He prob- 
ably built here at that time, but in a year or two removed to Chesterfield. He seems to have 
returned to Gilsum, as he was taxed here in 1801-2. 

James Grimes from Swanzey, established a tavern here in 1804. After about three years he 
sold out and returned to Swanzey. 

Dudley Smith came from Dracut Mass., and was of Scotch-Irish descent. His earliest 
remembrance of his father was of his coming home from the army on a furlough, in time of the 
Revolution. In 1795, he came to Sullivan and bought of Berzeleel Mack the place now occu- 
pied by Alexander Brown. A log house was already built there. He cleared land by day, and 
worked at his trade of cabinet making till eleven at night, and from four in the morning till 
daylight. His son Daniel has some of the furniture he then manufactured. After one year lie 
returned to Dracut and remained a year. In 1798, he bought of Charles Carpenter of Surry 
the west part of the 13th and 14th Lots in the 8th Range for |200. He lived at first in a log 
house built by Ananias Tubbs. (282.) Here his oldest son, Dr. Dudley Smith, was born. About 
1800, he built a house on the hill further east. (283.) In 1806, he bought the Grimes tavern 
and removed a building from the hill west of George C. Hubbard's, (157,) with which he 
enlarged the original house. Here he kept tavern for many years. He afterwards bought the 
Fuller place, and in 1844 removed there. In 1849 he went to his house in the village, where he 
died at the age of 83. He served as Selectman four years. 

He was noted for the amount of hard work he could perform, rarely finding a man who could keep even with 
him in the field. By industry and economy he accumulated a large property, and was one of the most liberal 
supporters of the Congregational Church. He was especially fond of a fine horse, and understood horses, as well 
as any man in town. 

Residents : — Samuel Woodward, Hiram Hefflon, and Jacob D. Nash. 

80. John Harris's Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 141 ) 

81. John Harris lived here in a small house made for him out of the old School House. He 
was a Revolutionary pensioner. He was a blacksmith of unusual skill. ( Page 141.) He came to 
Gilsum about 1812, and probably worked for a few years at the village, as we find that he owned 




ZTfi^uelC^ 



J/'^T 1 










^i^-^>>^y J£*>-r>-AS) 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 201 

a shop between the roads just above Dr. Webster's, which he sold to Dudley Smith for $20 in 
1817. Probably Mr. Smith built him this house about that time. He died here in 1837, and no 
one has since occupied the place. 

82. In 1830, the Congregational Church and Society built a Parsonage on this spot. It was 
occupied by Rev. Ebenezer Chase, during his short pastorate of three years. Rev. S. S. Arnold 
also lived in it a short time. When the Meeting House was built at the village in 1834, this 
spot was no longer available for a Parsonage. Luther White, a blacksmith, occupied it for a 
time, and perhaps others. 

83. Dudley Smith having bought the old Parsonage, moved it to this spot in 1841. Three 
years after, he built on an ell, and came here to reside. His son, Daniel Smith, came to live with 
his father in 1849. Like his father, he is specially skilled in the management of horses, and is 
one of the most active and wealthy citizens of Gilsum. He was Selectman in 1852, and having 
a taste for military affairs rose to the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. 

84. David Fuller from Bolton, Conn., received this lot from his uncle David Taylor, in 
1780. He lived at that time with his father in Surry, and came over the mountain every day to 
work at clearing a place for a home. He built a plank house near this spot, and came here with 
his bride in January, 1782. He was a very energetic, wilful man, served as Captain in the 
militia, and from his peculiarities was sometimes called " King David." He removed to Jay, 
N. Y., about 1810. 

David Fuller, Jr., started at 20 years of age " to seek his fortune, as he always expressed it." 
All his father could furnish him was a pair of " corduroy pants, two tow and linen shirts and a 
frock." " He borrowed a silver dollar of a Mr. Brigham,* . . . and started for Boston." For 
some reason which is not apparent, he went by way of Hillsboro' and " came to the Tavern 
kept by Gen. Benj. Pierce, then standing- beyond the present residence of Scott Moore. He had 
become so footsore that he stopped to rest." Gen. Pierce had a blunt way of asking the busi- 
ness of every one who stopped at his door. " So he says to the stripling, ' Young man, what is 
your name, sir? ' ' David Fuller.' ' Where did you come from, sir ? ' ' Surry, N. H.,' (where he 
had worked the season before). ' Where are you going, sir ? ' ' Started for Boston to seek my 
fortune, but can go no further, I am so footsore. And now, landlord, can you tell me of any 
place, that I can find work till Fall ? ' ' Yes, sir, young man, Mrs. Major Andrews, whose hus- 
band is crazy, wants to hire.' He immediately went there to work on the farm, earned enough 
for comfortable clothing, and then concluded to learn the trade of shoemaking of a neighbor, Mr. 
Gay. In the Fall he went home to see his folks. Before going back he called on Mr. Brigham, 
and said, ' I've brought you back the same silver dollar you lent me, and thank you for the loan.' 
Mr. Brigham said, ' Well, David, how much did you earn ? ' 'I earned these clothes, and a little 
besides, and have been saving so that I might pay you.' Mr. Brigham said, ' Here, David, is the 
dollar, keep it as long as you live, for a pocket piece, and always remember it was your energy and 
enterprise that you received the dollar for.' Two days before his death at the age of 87, he gave 
the dollar to his son, Mark W. Fuller, with the injunction to keep it as long as he lived. He, in 
turn, directed the dollar to be given to Wirt X. Fuller of Boston, Mass., to be kept and trans- 
mitted to his son with the same injunction." 

After learning the shoemaker's trade he went to Francestown in 180G, where he carried on 
the business not only of shoemaking but tanning and currying for seven years. He then established 
the same business at Hillsboro' Lower Village, and carried on the same till his death. 

* Probably Stephen Brigham of Alstead. 



202 GILSUM. 

He was a tall man of commanding appearance, and inherited much of his father's 
determination and energy. He was a great singer, and very fond in his old age of finding some 
former acquaintance with whom he could sing the ancient fugue tunes. He frequently visited 
Gilsum, and was interested in all that pertained to his native town. 

David G. Fuller, son of the preceding, was a well-known business man in Concord for many years " In early 
life he was in the hotel business at Utica and Rome, N. Y., Washington, D. C, Richmond, Va., and other places." 
In Concord he had an extensive business as a druggist, supplying country stores for a long distance. He was a 
member of the Masonic fraternity for over fifty years. 

" Mark W. Fuller removed with his father, David Fuller, from Francestown to Hillsboro' 
Lower Village, when six years of age. After serving an apprenticeship witli his father, lie com- 
menced business at Hillsboro' Upper Village, about 1829. By strict attention to business, perfect 
integrity of character, and honesty of purpose, he became beloved by his townsmen and honored 
by all his business acquaintances. 

He was eminently a self-made man, receiving only the limited educational advantages of the 
common schools of that period, — several terms of which were passed with the late ex-president 
Pierce and his brother Henry D., — also with the Cheney brothers, the well-known expressmen. 
His social qualities and his well-known hospitality ever made his house a favorite place of 
resort for many of his large circle of honored friends. Nor did he forget his townsmen, for in 
his last will, he made a liberal bequest to the town, which has been used to found a library, and 
which to perpetuate his name, has been ordered by the citizens to be known as the Fuller Library 
of Hillsboro'. 

Politically, he was largely conservative, originally acting with the Whigs. But on the dis- 
ruption of that party he acted with the Democrats, and in 1852-3 represented the town in the 
Legislature. He was honored by his fellow citizens by being elected a member of the Board of 
Selectmen for four successive years — three of which he served as chairman — and for many 
years was much engaged in matters pertaining to the Probate Courts in Hillsboro' County. 

At the breaking out of the rebellion he ceased to act with the Democratic party, and having 
all his life been a hard-working man, his sympathies were very strong for the working man, and 
approving of the principles of the Labor Reform party, he allowed his name to be used as a candi- 
date for Senator in that district for two years. 

He married in 1831, Sarah Conn, who still resides at Hillsboro' Upper Village in the same 
house they had so long made their home. They had one daughter who lived until 19 years of 
age, and whose death was a very severe shock to both the father and mother. 

His funeral was attended by a large number of the citizens of the town, the church being 
crowded, notwithstanding a pouring rain. After an eloquent address by the Rev. Mr. Brickett, 
of Hillsboro' Bridge, many tears were shed, as his dear old friends and neighbors, — many of 
whom came long distances — took their last look of him they loved so well." 

Other residents, some of whom occupied the house with Capt. Fuller : — Turner White ; James Kingsbury ; 
Abram C. Wyman ; Daniel Beverstock ; Phinehas Moor, a blacksmith ; Phinehas G. Miller ; Dr. Jonathan E. 

Davis; Araasa Miller; Don Carlos Griswold; Samuel Frost, and his son-in-law Lewis; Warren Farnngton, 

a house painter ; and Jesse Temple. 

86. John Bingham came from Montague, Mass., about 1777 and lived a year or two at 
number 94. In April, 1778, he bought the farm now owned by Mason Guillow, and lived there 
for fifteen years. In 1792 he bought this place and built a log house on this spot soon after. 

He was a clothier by trade, and went from house to house to shear and dress cloth by hand. 
He built a shop on the brook, and afterwards had his machinery in Dea. Pease's mill. (Page 138.) 
His grandson, Chas. W. Bingham, has papers showing his appointment, during the old French 




^//^^ S* $^L^, 



- "?ft Z>c«ci Qt. Rni^ 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 203 

War, March 22, 1760, to the office of Corporal, and his promotion at Crown Point, Aug. 20, 

1761, to First Sergeant and Clerk. 

85. Zenas Bingham lived with his father, and built a house on this spot in 1815, where he 

remained till his death in 1857. His son-in-law, Rufus Guillow, lived with him for a time. 

Henry Bingham, his youngest son, still occupies the place. 

Belding D. Bingham, a grandson of John, removed from Sharon, Vt., to Nashua. lie was the originator of the 
Nashua Watch Company, now the Waltham Watch Company, and one of the founders of Odd Fellowship in New 
Hampshire. He was unquestionably the most skilled and inventive mechanic in the Granite State. He was a 
modest gentleman, who never sought places of prominence, and yet, so kind, gentle, and loyal was he to all that is 
good and true, his memory will be long and tearfully kept green by friends and acquaintances. — Boston Journal. 

87. Old Meeting House foundation. (Page 101.) 

88. James Kingsbury came with his brother John from Needham, Mass.. and settled in Sul- 
livan, where they are found as "Inn keepers" in 1796. In 1801-2 he put up a frame for a 
house on this spot, and in 1802 swapped farms with Stephen White and went to 94 below the 
Fuller place. Soon after, he went to the place in Surry, number 123, and then to where his son 
William now lives. About 1821 he returned to Needham. 

Stephen White came from Swanzey about 1793, and lived below the Fuller place, at 94. In 

1802, he bought with David Fuller the " Mill Spot," (104,) where they built a grist-mill. The 

same year he removed to this place, where he died in 1860, aged 99 years and 5 mpnths, the 

oldest person that ever died in Gilsum. He was a carpenter, and many of the older houses in 

Gilsum are of his workmanship. In 1825 he added the second story to his house. 

He was a sprightly man, specially fond of company and good jokes. At one time he was at " Holbrook's 
tavern " in Surry, when a man who had a sick horse inquired what was good for it. Mr. White told him bitter- 
sweet was the best remedy. The man then asked where he could get it. Mr. White who had been seeking for a 
ride home, told him he had more than a hundred pounds at his house, and if he would carry him home, he would 
give him all he wanted. So the man carried him six miles in a cold day to get it. When they arrived, Mr. White 
pointed to his wife, and said that was the bundle of bittersweet he spoke of. 

Alvin White still occupies this place which was left him by his father. 

89. Nathan White built here about 1808, and remained till 1821, when he went West. 
Aaron Brigham, uncle to Dea. David. (Chap. 36,) lived here several years. He afterwards 

went to the " plastered house " in Surry. (121.) 

Other residents: — James Hudson, Phinehas G. Miller, Jonathan Twining, and Justin Pease. 

390. Louis Bourbett came to Gilsum from Canada in 1870. After living in various tene- 
ments, he built on this spot in the Fall of 1879. 

90. John Horton came to Gilsum from Chester, Vt., in 1832, and lived about a year on the 
Clark place. In the Summer of 1833, he built this house, while residing in the house now 
occupied by Alpheus Chapin. He moved in the Fall, and continued to reside here till 1838, 
when he went to Daysville, 111., where he died soon after. He was Captain in the militia, was 
elected to the Legislature two years, and commissioned as Justice of the Peace. 

Aaron Day removed from Keene to Gilsum, 1815, and lived in the house now owned by 
Mason Guillow, till 1838, when he removed to this place, where he died in 1862. He and his 
brother Stephen owned the mills by the bridge for many years. He served the town as Modera- 
tor two years, as Selectman six, and as Representative three. He was also commissioned as 
Coroner for the County in 1830. 

Ira Church Day, son of Aaron, removed to Whitewater, Wis., in 1852, and died there in 1864. A friend 
writes : — " As a friend, neighbor, and citizen he had few equals, and no superiors. A man of unimpeachable in- 
tegrity and genuine courtesy — every one who became acquainted with him became a personal friend. His stand- 
ard of morals was high, and his aim was to live up to it. Xo man has passed away from our midst in 20 years 
more sincerely regretted, or one whose memory is more tenderly cherished. The Golden Rule controlled him in 
all his intercourse with his fellow men. In every sense of the word he was a manly man." 



204 GILSUM. 

Roswell G. Bennett, son-in-law of Aaron Day, lived with him a year or two, and removed to 
Nunda, N. Y. He is a millwright by trade. 

Ira D. Gates came here with his father-in-law, Capt. True Webster, in 1868, and removed to 
Keene in 1871. He is a barber by trade. 

Harriet Swinton emigrated from England to this country in 1861. Ten years after, she 
bought this place, where she still resides. 

John Coy came from England with his father in 1853. After living in various tenements 
he came here in 1874, and remained three years. He is a spinner, and now resides at Marlboro. 

Robert Cuthbert, Jr., came from Scotland with his father in 1852. He was in mercantile 
business at Mankato, Minn., a few years, and afterwards settled on a farm in Garden City, Minn. 
Owing to the " grasshopper plague," he removed to the East. In 1864 he enlisted in the First 
Vermont Cavalry, Troop A, and served to close of the war. He and his wife are members of 
the Baptist Church. 

Other residents : — John A. Blake of Surry, and Herbert E. Gates. 

91. Elisha Mack of Marlow bought the 9th and 10th Lots in the 5th Range of Joshua 
Dart of Surry in 1775. When he sold, there were houses on both lots. Whether he built 
them both cannot be certainly determined. The one on this spot was probably a log house. He 
with his brother Solomon, and perhaps also Samuel, built the first mills and the first bridge, 
where the Stone Bridge now stands. He was a Captain in the Revolution, and the hero of the 
Keene raid. (Page 160.) In 1784, he had removed to Montague, Mass., and sold the mills to 
his brother-in-law, Abishai Tubbs of Marlow, — "A Saw Mill and Grist Mill and Dwelling . 
House." 

John Bingham bought the place in 1778, and lived here 15 years. Abijah Wetherbee came 
from Sullivan, tended the grist-mill several years, and removed to Surry. Solomon Woods lived 
here while building Mason Guillow's house. John Parmenter, a blacksmith, came here from 
Leominster, Mass., and about 1815, removed to Monson, Mass. He was fond of reading, and 
quite active in a debating society of that period. 

Other residents : — John Borden and Selden Borden. 

92. Solomon Woods built this house in 1806. Two years after, he swapped farms with Dea. 
Pease, who lived here a short time. In 1815, Aaron Day came from Keene to this place. He 
added the second story to the house, in 1830, and eight years after removed to the Horton place- 
Asa Cole lived, when a boy, with his brother-in-law, Amherst Hayward. After his marriage 

in 1829, he lived at the Factory Village several years, and was in company with Dea. Brighara. 
(Page 138.) In 1833 he bought the Clark place, where he remained four years. He bought this 
place in the Spring of 1838, and after twenty-one years, removed to Keene. By prudence and 
hard labor, he has accumulated a large property. He served the town as Selectman in 1853- 
Daniel R. Cole, his son, has been a member of the city government at Keene, for several years. 

Mason Guillow settled on the place now owned by Horace Howard, near Newman's mill, 
where he remained eleven years. In 1859 he bought this place of Mr. Cole, and still resides 
here. 

The house has frequently been occupied by two families. About 1845, Cheney Kilburn came 
here from Gardner, Mass., and carried on the chair business for about five years. He is now an 
extensive furniture dealer in Philadelphia, Penn. Philander Howlandwas here for several years 
in the same business, and afterwards lived at the Factory Village. He now resides in Keene. 
Gardner W. Isham was here about two years, and afterwards at the Stephen Day house. (99.) 
In 1864 he went to Keene. 




I 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 205 

Other residents : — Oren A. Willard from Fitzwilliain, James Pierce, Leroy Gates, and Alexander Cuthbert. 

93. In 1783, Elisha Clark bought 18 acres in the 9th and 10th Lots, 5th Range. This 
included the Store lot, and the place now owned by Willard Bill, and the widow Gates's place. 
No buildings are mentioned in the deed. The next year he sold the same, together with four 
acres just west of it, to Samuel Clark, who had come that year from Worcester, Mass., to Gil- 
sum. In 1787 the same land was sold to Joseph Clark. It seems probable that the Clarks built 
on this place though it is not certain. There was an old house here before 1807. It was used 
as a school house one or more seasons. 

Stephen Cross was a carpenter from Monson, Mass., and lived here in 1807, and for some 
years after. Other tenants are uncertain. Probably the blacksmiths, Boynton and Theophilus 
Eveleth, lived here for a time. Dr. Kendrick bought the place, but left town very soon after. 

Zenas D. Metcalf, a blacksmith, came to Gilsum about 1830, and lived in many different 
places. In 1833, Aaron Day's shop, standing just south of Mason Guillow's house, was moved 
to this spot and fitted up for a house for Mr. Metcalf, who lived here several years, working in 
the shop on number 352. About 1852, he removed to Westminster, Vt. 

Levi Gates was a shoemaker by trade, and formerly went from house to house to do up 
their year's work of making and mending. He lived, in 1832, in the house now occupied by 
Alpheus Chapin. He went to Alstead two years, and after that lived in different places till 
about 1844, when he bought this house, where his widow still resides, with her son Sidney. 

Other residents : — Edward Gates, Leroy Gates, Herbert Gates, John Coy, Albert R. Corey, and Frank Smith. 

94. John Bingham built a log house on this spot when he first came from Montague, Mass., 
and lived here about a year. Stephen White bought of David Fuller in 1793, and sold to James 
Kingsbury in 1802. Probably there were others between Mr. Bingham and Mr. White. 

Turner White came from Uxbridge, Mass., about 1780, and lived in Keene and afterwards 
in Alstead. He owned the mills by the Bridge for a short time, and lived in the Stephen Day 
house. (99.) He next lived in the house with Capt. Fuller for several years. About 1803; he 
bought this place and in 1807 removed to Chesterfield. 

95. Joseph Young or Youngs, perhaps son of Eliphalet, of Hebron, Conn., then livino- 
in Gilsum, (Chap. 34,) bought 60 acres of the south part of the 10th Lot, 4th Range, for £24, 
in December, 1781. He built a house on this spot, which is still known as the Young lot. He 
removed to Weathersfield, Vt., about 1793. 

96. George W. F. Temple built this house in 1835. Nine years after, he removed to the 
Holt place in Alstead. (393.) He was a very social man, and a popular Captain in the militia. 
His death in 1876, just after he had been chosen Deacon, was a serious loss to the Cono-reoa- 
tional Church. His brother, Isaac F. B. Temple, lived with him in this house for two years, 
and now resides at Boston, Mass. 

George Henry Temple, son of Capt. Temple, enlisted November, 1861, and served three 
years in the 6th N. H. Reg't, Co. E, which was in many of the severest battles of the war, 
including Camden, Second Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, The Wilder- 
ness, and Petersburg, where it was under fire for about nine weeks. He lived in various 
tenements in Gilsum, and now resides on his father's place in Alstead. (393.) 

Andrew Dexter Towne removed here from Marlow, in 1843, and carried on the chair busi- 
ness. In 1856, his father, Andrew Towne, came to reside with him. His brothers Luke and 
John also lived with him for a time. In 1864, he removed to Keene where he still resides. 

Willard Bill was noted in his youth for his aptness for learning. This taste was indulged 



206 QILSUM. 

and cultivated as he had opportunity till it " ripened into a thorough scholarship." He taught 
district schools for many years with excellent success. After marriage he lived one year with 
his parents, but in 1835 removed to Westmoreland, " where he applied himself closely and suc- 
cessfully to the pursuit of agriculture. Advancing years and failing health led him to leave his 
business to the care of his son. and in the year 1866 he returned to his native town where he has 
since resided," mostly on this place. He has always enjoyed the confidence and esteem of his 
townsmen. In Westmoreland he served as Superintending School Committee. In Gilsum he 
has served six years as Selectman, and, what is very unusual, there were 47 years between his 
first election to that office, 1827, and the last in 1874. He was also Captain in the militia and 
Justice of the Peace. (Page 149.) 

Willard Bill, Jr., is a farmer in Westmoreland. He has been Selectman five years. He was also Commis- 
sioner for Cheshire County, 1873-4-5. 

Other residents : — Charles Parker, Oren Wynian, Rev. James Tisdale, Jacob Polley, Jr., Porter and Joel 
Cowee, George II. McCoy, Leroy Gates, John R. Willard, Samuel Isham, Jr., and Mrs. David Wood. 

97 and 98. Day's Hall and the upper part of the Store have been made into tenements, and have had many 
occupants, among whom are the following : — George Henry Temple, Joseph W. Pierce, Roswell C. bourse, Joseph 
Dubd, Joseph Dupies, Herbert C. Gates, Edward O. Corey, Louis Bourrett, and Mrs. John L. Foss. 

352. This is near where Solomon Woods had a Blacksmith's Shop. The Days also had a shop here, which 
was afterwards burned. (Page 47.) Thomas T. Wetherbee, Zenas D. Metcalf, and others worked here. 

99. Elisha Mack probably built here before 1779. All the residents cannot now be given. 
William Baxter lived here several years, and it is thought he built the lower story of the present 
house. Turner White lived here, perhaps before Mr. Baxter. 

Stephen Griswold, both father and son, resided here for many years. They were from Beech 
Hill in Keene, and removed to New Keene, N. Y. The father was Selectman in 1775. Where 
they lived at that time cannot now be told, but probably in what is now Sullivan. 

After Dea. Pease bought the mills, he first lived in the Solomon Woods house, (82,) but soon 
removed to this place, where he remained till 1828. 

Stephen Day came here from Chester, Vt., about 1828, and remained till his death in 1860. 
He was in company with his brother Aaron, and run the grist-mill for many years. In 1838, he 
enlarged the house to its present form. 

Stephen Day, Jr., lived with his father and kept tavern here for several years. He also kept 
tavern in Marlow for about five years, returning to this place in 1850. 

Franklin W. Day, brother of the preceding, also lived here with his father. He was an 
enterprising business man, and accumulated a large property for a small country town. In 1833, 
he and his brother built the store on number 98, long known as Day's store. Here he carried 
on a large business. He died suddenly of brain fever in 1849. He was one of the leading poli- 
ticians of the town, served as Representative two years, and was Justice of the Peace. 

Benjamin Foster, son-in-law of Stephen Day, lived here several years. After the death of 
Mr. Day, Mrs. Foster and her sister Lucinda remained here till 1876. 

John J. Isham is the present owner. He has served two years as Selectman, and represented 
the town in the Legislature of 1878. 

Alexander Cuthbert came from Scotland with his father in 1852. He is a woolen manufact- 
urer and has resided here since 1878. 

Other residents : — Dr. Benjamin Palmer, Dr. Henry Kendrick, James Edwards, Gardner W. Isham, George 
S. G. Porter, Mrs. Charlotte Morrison, William H. Coy, and Louis Bourrett. 

100. Elisha Mack's Mills. (Page 137.) 

101. This building was put up by the Cowees (page 137,) for a dry shop. 

John Kelley emigrated from Ireland to New York in 1851, soon after settled in Surry, and 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER ONE. 207 

came to Gilsum in 1853. After residing two years on the Livermore place, he lived in this 
house four years. In 1859 he removed to Keene. 

Other residents : — Asa E Howe, Luke Parkhurst, Charles E. Crouch, Valire Langlois, Joseph Dube, William 
Riley Kenney now of Surry, Lucius Milan Miller, William Chapin, Dr. James Plummer now of Lempster, and 
Joseph S. Bingham. 

102. Armory. (Page 41.) 

103. Solomon Mack from Lyme, Conn., was one of the original proprietors of Marlow, 
where he settled in 1761. He came to Gilsum and built a log house on this spot, probably in 
1773. Several of his children were born here, among whom was Lucy, who married Joseph 
Smith of Vermont and became the mother of the notorious Mormon prophet, Joseph Smith, 
Jr. He lived for a time in the old house on Mason Guillow's farm. (91.) He removed to 
Tunbridge, Vt., and in his old age returned to Gilsum and resided with his son. (260.) He 
published an autobiography, but very defective in dates, and giving almost nothing of his Gilsum 
history. 

At the age of four years he was hound out to a farmer, by whom he was harshly treated, being "rather con- 
sidered a slave than a member of the family." 

"Soon after I left, my master, I enlisted in the service of my country, under the command of Capt. Henry, 
and was annexed to a regiment commanded by Col. Whitney. I marched from Connecticut to Fort Edwards ; 
there was a severe battle fought at the half-way brook, in the year 1755." 

He was sick for nearly a year, then went back to Lyme and purchased a farm. In 1757-8, he was again in the 
King's service. While on his way from Fort Edward to Stillwater, he had the following encounter : — 

" When I got about half way I espied at about thirty yards distance, four Indians coming out of the woods 
with their tomahawks, scalping-knives, and guns. I was alone, but about twenty rods behind me there was a man 
by the name of Webster. I saw no other way to save myself only to deceive them by strategem. I exclaimed like 
this : ' Rush on ! rush on ! Brave Boys, we'll have the Devils ! we'll have the Devils ! ' I had no other weapon 
only a staff ; but I ran towards them, and the other man appearing in sight, gave them a terrible fright, and I saw 
them no more." 

He was afterwards in the battle in which Lord Howe was killed, and " escaped very narrowly by a musket ball 
passing under my chin, perhaps within half an inch of my neck." 

After various other adventures, he went to Crown Point where he kept a sutler's shop for two years. He 
" accumulated a handsome sum of silver and gold " with which he bought sixteen hundred acres of land in Gran- 
ville, N. Y. Owing to sickness he was unable, however, to finish the clearing which was necessary to make good 
his claim, and therefore lost the whole. He served also in the Revolution, and with two of his sons, probably 
Jason and Stephen, went privateering. He was afterwards severely crippled by the fall of a tree, and is remem- 
bered as riding about town on a side-saddle. At the age of 70, he experienced a very remarkable religious conver- 
sion, and became very zealous, often visiting the schools and talking to the young on the subject of religion. 

Jason Mack, oldest son of Solomon, became a Christian minister, and preached for many years in Vermont and 
New York. 

Stephen Mack, second son of Solomon, enlisted in the Revolutionary army at the age of fourteen, and was 
promoted to Brigadier-General. 



208 GIL SUM. 

CHAPTEE XXXIV. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SIX. 

56. Jesse Johnson built a log house here in 1797, and remained about five years. 

57. Ebenezer Isham from Bolton, Conn., built this house about 1800. Ebenezer Isham, Jr., 
continued here after his father's death. He served the town as Selectman, and died here at the 
age of 41. His widow continued to carry on the farm till 1850, when she married Robert 
Austin, who died here after about two years. James C. Isham, her son, occupied the place till 
1879, (vhen he sold to Daniel W. Bill. Edward 0. Corey is the present occupant. 

58. On this spot Ebenezer Isham built a log house, when he first settled here in 1794. 

59. Jonathan Wehster put up a barn and a frame for a house on this place about 1818. 
Levi Isham bought of Mr. Webster, finished the house, and settled here in 1820, where he 

lived for more than forty years. William L. Isham inherited the place from his father, and 
still resides here. He has served two years as Selectman, and two years in the Legislature. 

60. Jedediah Carpenter, Jr., came from Surry and settled on this place about 1794. Abram 
C. Wyman lived here with him several years. 

Eseck T. Wilson settled here about 1815, and resided here 56 years. He had considerable 
skill as a veterinarian, and was frequently employed in that capacity. He served the town three 
years as Selectman. His son, Oscar J. Wilson, still occupies the place. He has served as Super- 
intending School Committee, and holds the office of Selectman at the present time. 

61 and 62. Ichabod Youngs of Hebron, Conn., owned both these places, and doubtless 
built on one of them, and perhaps both. In 1779, he sold to Phinehas Allen of Hebron. Conn. 
Tradition connects Mr. Allen's name with both these dwellings. " He tended mill at the Bridge, 
was very poor, and wore wooden shoes." He removed to Surry before 1790. 

63. Joseph Youngs, supposed to be a brother of Ichabod, bought this lot of Ebenezer Dewey 
in October, 1768, and probably settled on this spot. 

John Clemens of Swanzey bought the north half of this lot for £70 in May, 1780, and lived 
on this spot. He was a Frenchman by birth, and sold out in 1789. 

64. John Hammond, son of Aaron, built the house standing here, about 1796. He served 
the town four years as Moderator, was Selectman fourteen years, and represented Gilsum and 
Surry three years in the Legislature. He was Justice of the Peace, and Coroner for the County. 
He was a noted school-master for many years. He also taught singing, was leader in the choir, 
and played the bass-viol. 

John Hammond, Jr., whose portrait is on the page opposite, remained here till 1871, when 
he removed to the Plumley place, above the village. (183.) He has served the town two years' 
as Selectman, two years in the Legislature, and received a commission as Justice of the Peace. 
In 1874, his fellow citizens assembled at his house to celebrate his golden wedding, and pre- 
sented him a fine gold-headed cane. Though past fourscore, he still retains the vivacity of youth, 
to a remarkable degree. 

J. E. W. Hammond, son of John, after attending school at Marlow Academy, Mount Cesar in 
Swanzey, and at Lebanon, entered Norwich University and remained to within three terms of 
graduation. He taught district schools with good success, beginning in Langdon at the age of 





^ g&fec 



{Zt^i^-rtsi^cT 7 ^- 




ThtHeliotypel'mting Co.SUIxeinuiitSiBasToii 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SIX. 209 

seventeen, and ending with the Center District in Keene. He was desired to return there, bu1 
preferred to enter mercantile life. He was in business with his uncle, Stephen Day, Jr., at 
Perkinsville, Vt., for three years. In 1853, he removed to Chicago, 111., where he "engaged in 
different lines of trade" for nine years. He then went to Omega, 111., where he still resides. 
He has been highly successful as a merchant, and has of late given considerable attention to 
farming. He is also an active politician — has been township Supervisor three years, and in 1878 
was elected to the Legislature, " by a large majority, in a very hotly contested election." 

Aaron D. Hammond, brother of the preceding, resides with his father, and is at present 
engaged in trade at Newman's store. He is one of the political leaders of the town, and has 
served as Moderator sixteen years, as Selectman nine years, has represented the town two years 
in the Legislature, and is Justice of the Peace. 

Other residents : — Phinehas Wheelock, Albert R. Corey, and Edward O. Corey. 

65. Moses Belding, a carpenter from Swanzey, probably built a log house on this spot, and 
lived here a few years before 1783, when he sold to Aaron Hammond, also of Swanzey. 

66. Aaron Hammond built here about 1785. He drew the boards for his house from Swan- 
zey, and split and shaved his own shingles and clap-boards, some of which were found sound 
and bright seventy years after. This house was removed some years ago, and is now the Sugar 
House owned by Mrs. T. T. Clark. Mr. Hammond served the town as Moderator, and was 
Selectman four years. He was the ancestor of all the Gilsurn Hammonds. This has always 
been one of the leading families of the place, and though mostly scattered at present,' those who 
have gone to other places have maintained the reputation of the family elsewhere. 

Aaron Hammond, Jr., lived here with his father till his death, at the early age of 34. His 
widow was well-known as a tailoress for many years, and was highly esteemed. 

Rachel Hammond, daughter of Aaron, was the only child in Gilsum who was born blind. 

Her mother took unwearied pains to instruct her, so that she learned to knit and sew. Hearing 

others read, she would repeat the words after them, and called it reading. In this way she 

read the Bible through in course more than once. But for her blindness, she would have been a 

woman of more than common activity and influence. 

Other residents : — Frazer A. Hodgman. a shoemaker from Troy, X. Y., who removed to Keene about 1828 ; 
Baruch Davis ; Phinehas Wheelock ; Daniel Phillips, from Nelson : Abram C. Wyman, seven years ; Jacob 
Polley ; James L. Bates, and his brother-in-law. David Holman ; Davis H. Wilson; John Foster, who removed to 
Westmoreland about 1S42 ; and Kimball Metcalf. 

67. School House. (Page 131.) 

68. Otis G. Hammond, son of Josiah, built this house about 1829. He was a successful 
school-teacher for many years, and served as Superintending School Committee. He was one of 
the first to join the Washingtonian movement, (page 92,) and was an earnest worker in the 
cause, being quite successful as a temperance lecturer, in this and neighboring towns. He served 
the town as Moderator and Selectman, and was commissioned Justice of the Peace. 

Isaac Ware Hammond, son of Otis G., is an accountant and merchant in Concord. He 
served three years in the army. (Page 44.) He was one of the board of Selectmen in Man- 
chester two years, and represented his Ward in Concord as member of the Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1876. He was Deputy U. S. Marshal for taking the census of 1870 ; was appointed 
Deputy Secretary of State in 1877, and re-appointed the following year. He is also a member 
of the N. H. Historical Society. 

Albert Otis Hammond, son of Otis G., learned the printer's trade of H. A. Bill of Keene, 
and was for a time publisher of the " Claremont Eagle." He afterwards had a job office at St. 

14 



210 GIL SUM. 

Louis, Mo. Returning East, he was engaged on " The Gazette," at Dedham, Mass., from which 
place he enlisted Jan. 4, 1864, in the 2d Reg't Mass. Cavalry, and " was taken prisoner by 
Mosby's Guerillas, Feb. 22, was kept a short time at Libby prison, thence removed to Anderson- 
ville, Ga., where he suffered inhuman and barbarous treatment until Sept. 9, when a mere 
skeleton, unable to walk, he was removed to Savannah, where without food after his arrival, he 
died Sept. 12, 1864." 

Thomas Tyler Clark came here from Acworth in 1865. While walking beside his team at 
the town fair in 1879, he fell dead from disease of the heart. He was well-known as a road- 
builder, and was highly respected by all who knew him. He served the town as Selectman. 
His widow still occupies the place with her son-in-law, Henry H. Carter. 

69. Josiah Hammond, son of Aaron, settled here on the north part of his father's farm. He 
served the town as Moderator five years, as Selectman four years, as Town Clerk fifteen years, 
and was in the Legislature one year. His son, Dr. George W. Hammond, (page 182,) followed 
his father on this place, and added the second story to the house. 

George Hammond, son of the Doctor, lived here with his father till 1866, when the whole 
family removed to Stockbridge, N. Y. While in Gilsum, he was appointed Justice of the Peace. 
He now resides on a farm at Bennetts Corners, N. Y., where he has served as one of the Assess- 
ors of Madison Co. 

Allen Hayward of Acworth came here in 1865, and died the following January. He had 
been a man of some prominence in his native town, and was Captain in the militia. His son, 
George Dayton Hayward, remained here till November. 1879, when he removed to Laconia, 
having served this town two years as Selectman. 

Other residents : — Joshua D. Crane ; Moses Cass, and Jonathan M, Cass, from Richmond. 

70. David Blish from Glastonbury, Conn., settled on this place about 1783. He served the 

town as Moderator seven years, as Selectman twelve years, and Town Clerk nine years. He 

represented Gilsum and Surry in the Legislature six years, and was appointed Justice of the 

Peace. He was for many years Deacon of the Congregational Church. His wife afterwards 

joined the Methodists, with most of her children, one of whom married Bishop Hedding. 

(Page 117.) After Dea. Blish's death, the family removed to New York. 

John Blish, son of Dea. David, settled in the tin-ware business at Woodstock, Vt., in 1829. He was in com- 
pany with a Mr. Roby, and was an active member of the Methodist Church there. 

, Waldo May came to Gilsum with his brother Calvin, about 1815, and lived a short time on 

the Loiselle place. (53.) He then removed to this place where he remained about seven years. 

He lost his left hand, when a boy, in a saw-mill. He was able, however, to do a good day's work 

at all kinds of farming. He removed to Pennsylvania about 1823, having only twenty-five cents 

left, when he got there. He built a small log cabin, and his wife taught the neighbors' children, 

while he worked on the farm. 

Daniel Wade of Easton, Mass., married Dea. Blish's daughter, and lived here several years. 

Jonas Brown from Alstead was here a few years. He was one of the volunteers in the war 
of 1812, and afterwards served as Captain in the militia. About 1830, he removed to Java, 
N. Y., where his widow still resides. 

Barton Cooke from Surry was here about seven years and removed to Westmoreland. 

Enos Cross came here from Swanzey in 1848. He is fond of reading and debate, and raises 
a large number of fowls. 

Other residents : — Thomas Powell, Joseph Thompson, Aaron Loveland and his son-in-law Milton Whitcomb, 
Jonathan Webster, Jacob Polley, Warren Farrington, and Hiram Hefflon. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FOUR. 211 

71. Simeon and Joseph Taylor came from Swanzey and settled in a log house on this spot 
in 1781. They kept " bachelor's hall ,- for eight years, when Simeon married. Joseph contin- 
ued to live with him for eleven years, when he also married and went to live with his father-in- 
law, where George C. Hubbard now resides. 

72. Simeon Taylor built the house on this spot, about 1813. After his death the family 
went West. 

John Livermore from Alstead settled here about 1825, and lived here forty-four years, when 

he removed to the village. He was an upright, industrious man, somewhat noted for roughness 

of speech. He served the town five years as Selectman, and was one year in the Legislature. 

Other residents : — James L. Pierce from Stoddard, Luke Parkhurst, Luther Stone, Nahum T. Raymond, 
George W. Emerson, William Riley Ketmey, Lucius M. Miller, Edward O. Corey, and Eli Carpenter. 

73. Mr. Livermore built this house about 1855 for his sou Aaron, who lived here a few years. 
(Page 183.) Bradley Stone came from Milford in 1869, and still resides here. 

74. Jacob Polley, Jr., built this house about 1850, and remained four years. Benjamin 
Foster from Ashby, Mass., lived here about seven years. Whitney D. (page 187,) was his son. 
His second son, Leonard, is a druggist in Keene. Byron Alexander settled here in 1861. In 
1879 he removed to the village. James C. Isham now resides here. 

108. Jacob Polley removed from Alstead to Gilsum in 1831, and lived several years on the 
old Hammond place. (66.) After living a short time on the Blish place, he took down the old 
Blish house about 1835, and moved it to this spot, where he built the present house. In 1869 
he went to Butler, 111., and died there at the house of his daughter. 

His son, Jacob Polley, Jr., after following the sea a few years, came here in 1863, and still 
occupies the place. He also lived eight years in Butler, 111. 



CHAPTER XXXV. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FOUR. 

101. Grist-mill built by Fuller and White. (Page 136.) 

105. Who first settled here is uncertain. It seems probable that Capt. Fuller built and let 
the house to his millers. William Lamb, a shoemaker, lived here, and was the miller for a time. 
Seldcn Borden came to Gilsum about 1806. He lived here and at various other places, and 
about 1816 removed to Pennsylvania. John Borden lived here, perhaps with his brother. 

Aaron Loveland lived here with his father and carried on the mill for some years. He was 
also a shoemaker. (Page 142. ) He lived for a time on the Blish place and removed to Graf- 
ton, Vt. 

Philip Howard came from Winchester to Gilsum about 1815, lived in various parts of the 
town, and was here several years. In his old age he went to Alstead to live with his daughter. 

10(5. John Bingham's turning shop. (Page 114.) 

107. John Bingham, Jr., built a log house here about 1800. About 1816 he removed to 
Granville, N. Y. He was a mechanic, and turned wooden bowls and plates. 



212 GIL SUM. 

109. Daniel Peck probably came from Lyme, Conn. He built a log house here before 1784. 
(Page 46.) Nothing is known of the family. 

John Mark bought the place, and Elijah Bond lived here a while. Mr. Mark gave the farm 
to his son-in-law, Simon Carpenter, who built the present house about 1817. John Hcenan 
bought and lived here a few years after Mr. Carpenter's death. John R. Willard came here in 
1871 and remained six years, when he went to the Foster place. (145.) George Wright came 
to Gilsum in 1862, and after living on several different farms, bought and settled here in 1876. 

110. Ziba Ware's Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 141.) 

111. Zadok Hdrd settled here before 1703, and removed to Chesterfield in 1803. He was 
a Captain in the militia, served the town four years as Moderator, one year as Clerk, six years as 
Selectman, and represented Gilsum and Surry one year in the Legislature. 

Ziba Ware was a blacksmith who came from Winchester, about 1790, and lived with his 
father-in-law on the Hendee place, a short time. After his marriage, he went to the Gen. 
Wright place, where he kept tavern two years. He then came to this place and remained till 
1806, when he removed to Vermont. 

William Baxter was grandson of the notorious Tory, Simon Baxter of Alstead, and came to 
Gilsum not far from 1795. He owned the mills at the Bridge, and lived where John J. Isham 
now does. In 1804, he went to the Gen. Wright place and stayed about two years. In 1806, 
he bought this place, and lived here ten years. He then went to what is now called Shaw's 
Corner in Surry, where he died in 1828. 

William Bond removed from Watertown, Mass., to Surry in 1808. He bought this place 
about 1816, and remained till his death in 1819. He was Colonel in the militia. 

Allen Butler, Jr., followed Col. Bond, and resided here till 1859, when he removed to Delmar, 
Penn. He served the town as Moderator and Clerk, was Selectman two years, represented the 
town twice in the Legislature, and was appointed Justice of the Peace. 

George Hubbard from Westmoreland settled here in 1859. In 1867, he removed to Keene, 
and two years later to Sullivan, where he still resides. 

Milton I. Stearns came here from Alstead in 1867, and still occupies the place. 

112. The first known of this place is, that Joshua Isham settled here about 1800. The south 
part of the house now standing is the one put up by the neighbors in 1803. (Page 46.) 

Ivory Randall came to this place about 1815. In 1837 he removed to Keene, just below the 
Kilburn place, leaving his sons here. Eleven years later, he came back to live with his sons, and 
in 1854 removed to Surry. Of his sons, Calvin removed to Surry in 1850, David went to 
Wisconsin in 1854, and Harry is a shoemaker at Alstead. 

Winsor Gleason followed the Randalls and remained on this place till 1867, when he removed 
to Keene and afterwards to Canaan. His son-in-law, George H. Lathrop, and Francis C. Howe 
lived here with Mr. Gleason. 

Willard Carpenter from Surry settled here in 1865. After his death, his son, George H. 
Carpenter, took the place. He is much interested in the theory and practice of Agriculture, and 
in 1878 was President of the Farmers' Club. He has served the town four years as Selectman. 

113. Thomas Dart,, Jr., built a log house about 1778 and lived here a few years, before he 
went to live with his father. (120.) He and his wife were members of the Congregational 
Church in Surry. 

114. Ebenezer Dart built a log house on this place and lived here many years. In 1806, he 
moved away, and sold the place to Simon Baxter, brother of William. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FOUR. 213 

Josiah Hendee with his father came from Ashford, Conn., and settled in Walpoln in 1796. 
The next year, they bought the lot west of William Kingsbury's, and built a " plastered house " 
in the edge of Surry. (121.) In 1806, Josiah Hendee bought this farm, still known as the 
Hendee place, for ¥600 After two years, he removed to Chesterfield, and in 1810 bought back 
this farm for $580. While lie was absent, William Baxter had built the north half of the house 
now standing, and a few years later, Mr. Hendee built on the rest. 

William P. Cummings eame from Keene in 1852, and lived here for two years. He then 
went to the Ballard place, and soon after returned to Keene. 

Joseph VV. Cummings, his son, enlisted from Keene in the 14 th N. H. Reg't, Co. C, — was in 
the battles of Winchester, Fisher Hill, and Cedar Creek, in the first of which he was slightly 
wounded. 

Luke N. Houghton, a blacksmith, eame from Walpole and settled here in 1856. After ten 
years, he removed to the place where lie now resides, above the village. (175.) 

3G0. Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 142.) 359. P. rick School House. (Page 131.) 

115. C. W. Bingham states on the authority of his uncle David Fuller, that a son of Samuel Derby lived here, 
a few years, in a log house. 

116. John Roundy came from Surry about 1815. and built the house on this spot. His son 
John Elijah prepared himself for the ministry, but died just before completing his studies. Jon- 
athan Houghton lived here a year or two about 1825, and returned to Keene. 

John Dean of English birth lived here about fifteen years, ami removed to Illinois. He is a 

woolen manufacturer. Mrs. Dean and her twin sister, Fanny Hendee, now occupy the place. 

Other residents: — Iddo Randall, William Dean, Walker Gassett, Zenas D. Metcalf, and William L. 
Kingsbury, 

361. Metcalf \s Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 141.) 

117. David Bliss, son of Jonathan, built a log house here about 1783. His widow lived 
here till 1818. 

118. Ebenezer Hathhohx from Jaffrey settled here about 1798. Some sixteen years after, 
he returned to his former home. He was a blacksmith and made steelyards. Elijah Bond lived 
here a few years, and removed to Vermont. John Roundy first lived here before building Mrs. 
Dean's house. 

119. William Kingsbury, son of James, bought this place of William Baxter, by whom he 
had been brought up, about 1818. In 1837 he built the brick house now standing here. He has 
served the town six years as Selectman, one year in the Legislature, and was commissioned as 
Justice of the Peace. Otis H. Kingsbury lives here with his father. 

120. Thomas Dart came from Bolton, Conn., and settled in Surry in 1771. Ten years later, 
he bought this place for £50, and built a house on this spot. He served three years as Select- 
man. His son Thomas lived with him many years, and removed to New Keene, N. Y., in 1812. 

William Baxter bought the place and let it to James Kingsbury, who resided here till about 
1818. His son William lived in this house till 1837. 

[121. Plastered house in Surry built by Mr. Hendee. 122. Dustin place in Surry. 

123. David Reed place in Surry, where James Kingsbury lived about 1812. 

124. Moses Ware came from Wrenthain, Mass., to Surry. His name appears among the sign- 
ers of the Association Test in 1775. He came to Gilsum before 1793, with several of his boys. As 
they were coming near this place, where he was intending to make a clearing, he told them that 
the one who cut the first stick, would probably be the one who would have the farm. Elijah 
hurried forward and succeeded in winning the chance, and it so fell out that he afterwards 
owned the farm. Mr. Ware built a log house on this spot, where he and his son Moses lived till 



214 GIL SUM. 

1806, when they removed to New Keene, N. Y. He and his wife were members of the Congre- 
gational Church in Surry. 

125. Comfort Ware, his second son, was living on the Dustin place (122,) in 1789. The 
next year he and his older brother, Elijah, bought a large part of this farm, and built a log 
house on this spot. About 1800, Comfort sold out his share and removed to New Keene, N. Y. 

Elijah Wark put up a framed house near the same spot, about 1811, where he lived till 
his death in 1847. The house he built is the north part of the one still standing. His father's 
old house was made into the cider mill. 

Asa Wing, brother-in-law of Mr. Ware, a shoemaker by trade, lived here with him awhile, 
and at various other places, early in the present century. He afterwards lived in Surry, and 
removed to Vermont. 

True Webster, Jr., lived here some years after the death of Mr. Ware. 

William L. Kingsbury built the house now standing, in 18o0. Fifteen years later he removed 
to Surry, having served the town three years as Selectman. 

Ira L. Morse lived here several years. In 1860, he removed to Fitzwilliam. 

Daniel Wright came from Keene in 1867, and has resided here ever since. His brother 
George lived here with him for a year or two. 

364. Old Dart Saw Mill. (Page 137.) 

126. John Ellis came from Winchester (?) and settled on this farm before 1790. He is 
supposed to have built this house prior to 1800. He afterwards lived on the Crocker place, 
(33,) and removed to Swanzey in 1810. 

Jesse Jaquith, formerly from Jaffrey, came here from the Dustin place in Surry, (122,) 

about 1803. Some think he built this bouse, instead of Mr. Ellis. He was a shoemaker by 

trade, and his sons followed the same business. Jesse Jaquith. Jr., remained here till 1818, and 

removed to New York. 

Collins H. Jaquith, son of Jesse, settled in Keene. where he was for many years a leading man, and Deacon in 
the Congregational Church. He had an extensive shoe business, but through the dishonesty of his agent at St. 
Louis, Mo., he lost all his property. He >oon after removed to Java, X. Y. 

Aaron Mansfield lived here several years and carried on the farm for Mr. Jaquith. He after- 
wards removed to Vermont. 

John Farrar came to this place from Sullivan in 1837, and remained four years, when he 
removed to Keene. 

Silas Morse came here in 1842 and remained three years, when he returned to Fitzwilliam. 
His son, James Morse, resided here till about 1866, and removed to Keene. 

Joseph Thatcher and his sons came about 1867, and after six years removed to Massachusetts. 

Darius Porter who had been living on bis father's farm, (136,) settled here about 1873. He 
has served the town three years as Selectman. His father-in-law, Henry Hurd, a grandson of 
Justus Hurd, lives with him. 

Other residents : — Simeon Ingalls from Alstead. Berzeleel Lord Mack, and John Babbitt. 

127. William Dean moved the old Roundy house from 128 to this spot in 18o0 He is an 
Englishman by birth. After living li ere a vcar or j W0) ] ie removed to Dclmar. Penn., and now 
resides in Illinois. 

John Dustin came here from the old place in Surry, < 122,) about 1852. Since the death of 
his widow in 1877. the place has remained vacant. 

128. Elijah Roundy came from Surry and built here in 1820. In 1828, Joshua Willard, a 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FOUR. 215 

revolutionary pensioner, also from Surry, married the widow Roundy and came here to reside. 
The place has not been tenanted since her death in 1847. 

129. David A. Roundy, son of Elijah, built this house in 1845, where he still resides. 

130. Original School House. (Page 131.) 

131. Who built here is not positively certain. From old deeds, it seems probable that Dr. 
Abner Bliss was the first settler. He sold land near here with a dwelling on it, to Silvanus 
Hayward of Surry, in December, 1789. Mr Hayward lived here one year, and sold the place 
to David Bond. 

Eli Thayer, a blacksmith, worked at the lower village, and lived here a part of the time 
between 1803 and 1815. 

132. Samuel Borden Bliss with the assistance of his brother David, built a log house on 
this spot, about 1808. He lived here twelve years, and removed to Pennsylvania. 

133. John Ellis built a log house liere before 1790, and lived here some years. 

134. Ebenezer Hathhorn, Jr., is said to have lived in a log house near this place. 

135. Jonathan Bliss from Tolland, Conn., built a log house near this spot, 1761-2. 
(Page 169.) He had a large number of descendants, some of whom are still living in Alstead. 
He owned much land and settled his sons on farms in Gilsum. He was Selectman in 1777. 
Dr. Abner Bliss lived for a time with his father, and removed to Alstead about 1790. 

136. David Bliss, Jr., after living with his brother Samuel B., for two years, built this 
house in 1810. He died here, unmarried, at the age of 29. 

Bethuel Beck with from Lempster lived here 1823-4, and removed to Alstead. 

Stephen Foster, 3d, came here from Sullivan in 1837, and remained till his death in 1844. 

David Porter came from Keene to the Church place in 1842. The next year he lived on the 
Pickering place, and in 1844 bought this farm, where he lived twenty-three years. 

Dennis Keefe emigrated from Ireland to Xew York in 1856. In 1875 he came to Gilsum 
and bought this place the next year. 

Other residents : — Jonas Brown and George Wright. 

137. Belding Dart, son of .Jesse, built a house here about 1810. Twenty years after, he 
took it down, and lived in his father's old house. (138.) Mr. Dart was a man of great endur- 
ance, and did more hard work than almost any other man whoever lived in Gilsum. He recently 
died in Keene, in his 91st year. 

138. Jesse Dart built a house on this spot about 1785, and resided here till his death. His 
son, Belding Bart, lived here eight or ten years. James Pickering, son-in-law of Belding Dart, 
lived here for a time. 

139. James Pickering, a carpenter, came from Lowell, Mass., in 1834. About 1855 he 
built this house, where he still resides. John Quincy Pickering, also a carpenter, lived here 
several years with his father, and now resides in Holyoke, Mass. 

140. Matthew Dwolf or Dolph was the first settler here. Almost nothing is known of the 
family. " Dilly Wolf " (page 50,) was probably his daughter. His name appears on the Revolu- 
tionary rolls. (Page 36.) His wife's name was Sibyl, and they went from here to Walpole. 

Jesse Dart bought this place for £o0, in 1780. When he came, he had nothing but an ax 
and a hoe, but by diligent labor, soon had a comfortable home. The family cooking was done in 
an oven on the large rock in the dooryard near this spot. He wrote his name Darte. 

Ariel Carpenter lived here a year or two, and after residing in several other places returned 
to Surry in 1862. 



216 GIL SUM. 

Other residents : — Marvin Gates, Charles Billings now of Salem, Mass., Simon Whitney, David Porter, John 
N. Hodgkins, and .Walter Scripture of Surry. 

141. Timothy Dort came from Bolton, Conn., and settled in Surry. He was probably 
cousin to old Thomas Dart, but it is not certain. He bought the north half of the 15th Lot, 3d 
Range, for .£36, in January, 178."). and probably settled here that year. He built the house now- 
standing, and being a blacksmith made the nails, door-latches, and hinges still in use. His simp 
stood near number 362. 

Timothy Dort, Jv , succeeded his father on this farm. He also was a blacksmith, and about 
1828, resided for a time in the village and worked at his trade. He, however, soon returned to 
the farm. In 1840, he bought the Day tavern-stand, and removed to the village, where he kept 
tavern, carried on a farm, and worked at his trade. In 1854, he removed to Butler, 111. He 
served as Captain in the militia. 

Levi Mansfield, son-in-law of the preceding, came here from Alstead in 1841, and still occu- 
pies the place. His son Clement lives with him, and has secured the view of the place. 

Other residents : — Joshua D. Crane and George W. F. Temple. 

363. Dart's Saw Mill. (Page 137.) 142. Capt. Chapin place in Alstead. (Page 220.) 

143. David Isham from Bolton, Conn., built a log house here, about 1794. After a few years 
he removed to Vermont, and sold the place to his brother, Samuel Isham, who built the house 
now standing very near the same spot, about 1800. 

Samuel Isham, Jr., lived here with his father. In 1N67, he removed to the lower village. 

Besides carrying on his farm, he worked at the trade of a brick-mason. He served the town 

seven years as Selectman, was four years in the Legislature, and was appointed Justice of the 

Peace. In less than three years before his own death, he buried a son and two daughters. An 

obituary notice says : " He was a kind husband, father, and neighbor;" and referring to the 

children: " They leave a large circle of friends and relatives who will long feel the void their 

presence alone could till." 

" They have gone to Heaven before us, • 

But they turn and wave their hands, 
Pointing to the glories o'er us 
In that happy spirit-land." 

Joseph W. Caldwell came from Walpole to this place in 1871, and has resided in different 
places. In 1879 he was on the Bond farm with Charles W. Rawson. In the Spring of 1880 he 
returned to Daniel W. Bill's. He enlisted in the 14th N. H. Regiment, Co. B, in 1862, and 
served till Ap. 4, 1864, when he was " discharged for disability." 

Moses G. Wright from Reading, Vt., was here in 1873, and removed to Walpcfle. 

144. John Davis is supposed to have built a log house here about 1780. In 1787, he moved 
to Keene, but returned in about a year and settled on number 155, where he died about 1796, 
and the family were scattered. 

Silvanus Hayward resided here one year, while building his log house near number 202. 

145. Samuel Mark built this house in 1792. About 1810, he hired Abram C. Wyman to 
paint it white, for which he paid him " a nice horse and a yoke of steers." Mrs. Hathhorn says 
this was the first house painted in Gilsum. In 1826, he removed to New York. 

Calvin Mack next settled here, and remained ten years, when he went to Illinois. He served 
as Selectman, and was Captain in the militia. 

Stephen Poster, Jr., from Sullivan settled here in 1838. He was one of the early abolition- 
ists, and served the town as Selectman one year. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FOUR,. 217 

George W. Foster, his son, resides in Keene, and has distinguished himself as a composer and 
instructor in music. He served the town two years as Superintending School Committee. 

Allen H. Giffin came here from Marlow in 1875, and two years after removed to the West. 

Charles Eveleth bought the place in 187S, and resides here with his mother. 

Other residents : — Albert Kingman of Roxbury and Moses E. Wright. 

146. Levi Bliss, then of Surry, received this place by gift from his father, Jonathan Bliss, 
in 1769. In 1787, he sold to John Mark for £100, and went to Bethel, Vt. Mr. Mark gave 
the farm to his son, Samuel Mark, who settled here about that time. 

117. Obadiah Smith was the first settler on this farm, and probably built a log house on this 
spot. The family has not been traced. 

148. Berzeleel Mack came from Hebron, Conn., with his brother Aimer, and settled in 
what is now Sullivan. In 1788, he bought this lot for „£1")0. He afterwards built the house 
standing on this spot, and resided here till he married the widow Smith in 1827. 

Calvin May came from Charlestown, Mass., and first lived on the Hurd place, but soon after 
settled here, where he spent most of his life, removing to Swanzey in his old age. He served 
the town seven years as Selectman. 

Harvey B. May, son of Calvin, like the rest of the family, was naturally a scholar. He 
taught school many terms, and served the town as Superintending School Committee three years. 
He was for some time engaged in a school-book agency, and is now in the poultry business in 
Massachusetts. 

Elbridge Smith came here from Keene in 1874. He formerly owned the Mills near the 
Towne place in Marlow. In 1862, he enlisted in the 14th Regiment, N. H. Volunteers, and was 
Corporal in Co. A. He served two years, and having contracted disease, was " discharged for 
disability, Oct. 10, 1864." He was chosen Deacon of the Congregational Church, and is at 
present Superintendent of the Sabbath School. He fitted for College at Meriden, but his health 
failing, he turned his attention to farming. 

149. In 1843 Amasa May (page 186,) employed Calvin C. Bingham to build a house for him 

on this spot. After Mr. May left Gilsum, this house was occupied for a time by Isaiah Davis, 

who removed to Walpole. 

Other residents : — James Chapman, Charles A. Britton of Surry, George Wright, and Joseph W. Caldwell. 
It is now used as a sugar-house. 

365. May's Saw Mill. (Page 144.) 



218 GIL SUM. 



CHAPTEK XXXVI. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 

1.50. Stephen Bond of Hebron, Conn., bought two lots here, the eleventh Lots in the fifth 
and sixth Ranges, in 1768-9, and settled here the next year. In 1798 lie built a two-story house 
on this spot. He was known as Dea. Bond. (Page 106.) He was a soldier in the Revolution, 
and was a Lieutenant in the militia. (Page 37.) His wife was a very active Christian. In her 
old age, she became specially interested for the conversion of the Jews, and in her last sickness, 
remarked to Mr. Rich that she didn't feel satisfied with any prayer that left out the Jews. As 
he prayed with her in almost her last moments, he forgot to mention them, and when he ended, 
she exclaimed, " 0, those blessed Jews ! " 

Elisha Y. Bond followed his father on this place, and remained here till his death in 1824. 

Asa Bond, adopted son of the preceding, continued here about six years, and removed to 
Nashua, and afterwards to Antrim. He was a machinist by trade. At Antrim he was Deacon 
in the Presbyterian Church, and was " a pure and devoted man." 

Nathan Ellis, Jr., came here from Sullivan about 1823, and resided on the place fifteen years. 
His father lived with him. He afterwards removed to the village. 

151. On this spot Dea. Bond built a log house in 1770, and lived here 28 years. 

152. Nathan Ellis, Jr., built this house about 1835, and remained here three years. 

Otis Ammidon came here in 1838, and returned to Westmoreland in 1851. He was for a 
time an ardent Millcrite. He lived a part of the time, at least, in the old house. 

Ephraim Howe came to this place in 1841, and resided three years. He then returned to 
Acworth, where he died at the age of 73 

" He was a man of good sound judgment, of plain common sense, and unflinching integrity. His organ of 
mirthfulness was well developed. No man loved a joke better than he. . . . He was a man of calm temper, 
respected and beloved by all who knew him. more perhaps for his goodness than his greatness. People in speak- 
ing of him almost invariably called him ' Uncle Ephraim.' He was an earnest and devoted Christian and a con- 
sistent member of the Baptist Church. He died in the full exercise of Christian faith, and was gathered to his 
fathers, like a shock of corn fully ripe for the harvest." 

James Rawson removed from Sullivan to the Joel Wilson place (32.) in 1851, and came here 
four years later. Charles W. Rawson, his son, still occupies the place, and has secured the 
accompanying heliotype of the premises. 

Other tenants, some of which were in the old house: — Marvin Gates, Walker Gassett, Austin P.Howe, 
Charles E. Baker, Alonzo B. Cook, and Joseph W. Caldwell. I 

153. David Bill owned the twelfth Lot in the fifth Range, and settled in a log house near 
this spot. 

154. Tradition locates David Bill on this spot. But as he did not own this lot, but the next 
one on the cast, the tradition is almost certainly incorrect. Who did live here is uncertain. 
The first settler on the lot was Obadiah Smith, and it is not unlikely that he had a house here. 

155. Theodore Preston was the first blacksmith in what is now Gilsum, and settled here 
about 1776. It has been said that this lot was given him by the proprietors, for the purpose of 
having a blacksmith here. As the inventory of his property after his death includes no Real 
Estate, it is probable that they only gave the use of the land. He served as Selectman in 1782. 
After his death in 1788, the place was occupied by John Davis for about nine years. A black- 
smith named Boynton also worked here for a time. No other tenants are now known. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 219 

156. Benjamin Hosmer, M. D., built a house here in 1794. (Page 181.) After his death 
William Banks lived here till 1841. The place has since been vacant. 

157. On this spot a house was erected about 1800, by whom is uncertain. It was bought by Dudley Smith 
and formed part of the tavern so long occupied by him. (79.) Tradition says that there is a charge of powder 
in a rock, somewhere near this place, which was put there before 1800. 

158. Jonathan Bliss, Jr., bought this lot of his father in 1786, for £12. He is supposed 
to have been the first settler here. He died in 1799, and the family went to New Keene, N. Y. 

Joseph Taylor lived here with his father-in-law, and received the place from him. 

159. Joseph Taylor built a two-story house here about 1817. In the second story was a sort 
of hall, used for a ball-room. Joseph M. Chapin has a ticket dated Dec. 5, 1817, signed by J. E. 
Davis, D. Bliss, and J. Taylor, inviting Justus Chapin and Lady to a Christmas Ball at that 
place, at one o'clock Friday P. M. This is supposed to have been a sort of dedication of the 
new house. Mr. Taylor was Captain in the militia, and lived here till 1829, when he removed 
to Java Village, N. Y. He lived there for about twenty years, ami then went with his oldest 
son to Warrenville, 111., where he died at the advanced age of 94. 

Alonzo Taylor, the fourth son of Joseph, started West on foot at the age of 18, accompanied 
by Selden Borden. He reached Wyoming Co., N. Y., as he writes, with but a sixpence in his 
pocket, and " went to work for a man to pay for an ax, (the first piece of property I ever 
owned,) and went to chopping." In 1850, he removed to Cook Co., 111., and two years after to 
Carrol Co., of the same State, where he still resides. He remembers studying geography in 
" the old Clark School House," when the Mississippi River, which runs by his present farm, was 
the western boundary of the United States. He is a successful farmer on a large scale, raising 
150 acres of wheat, and 100 acres of corn each year. 

Joseph Whitney lived here about three years with his father-in-law. 

Benjamin Thompson, Jr., settled here about 1830. He was a hard working, prudent man, 
and had by his industry paid for his farm and was in comfortable circumstances. By his con- 
nection with the Factory, (page 138,) he lost more than the whole value of his farm. 

" Having a good constitution, he succeeded by persevering efforts, and the blessing of God, in paying for his 
farm a second time." By exposure and overwork his system became broken, so that " a severe cold terminated 
in a. confirmed consumption." During his long sickness of more than two years, "he was brought to feel his 
need of salvation and found peace in believing. . . . ' It is this religion,' he often repeated, 'which disarms 
death of its terror, and enables me to rejoice in the hope of a glorious immortality.' Thus he continued to the 
last ; and to human view, calmly fell asleep in Jesus." 

In 1850 the town bought this farm, and Hartley Thurston was put in charge of it for one 
year. (Page 51.) Jesse Dart came here soon after and built the present house in 1858. In 
1874 he removed to Keene. 

George C. Hubbard came to this place from Marlow in 1874. He had previously lived in 
Sullivan and Surry, in both of which he served as Selectman, and represented Sullivan in the 
Legislature. He has served this town as Selectman and Superintending School Committee, has 
been County Commissioner for three years, and holds the office of Justice of the Peace and 
Quorum for the State. 

Amos Huntley, Esq., the father-in-law of Mr. Hubbard, came here to live with his daughter. He came from 
New York to Marlow in 1805, at the age of 15, with only 42 cents in his pocket. He said he "wouldn't have 
given five cents for the whole town." By his diligence and upright character he gained property, and won a high 
position among his townsmen. He was a trusted business man, extensively employed to settle estates, and for 
County affairs. He and his wife were members of the Methodist Church, ami she was sister of the well-known 
Bishop Baker. 

Other tenants : — Lewis A. Knight, Abram C. Wyman, and David Sawyer. 

366. Original School House. (Page 130.) 



220 GIL SUM. 

160. Jehiel Holdridge was probably from Connecticut. He is called of Gilsuni in 1778, 
when he bought this Lot for =£40. After living in a log house about two years, he built a plank 
house near this spot, where he lived till 1807, and removed to New York. He was Captain in 
the militia, and served the town as Moderator and Selectman. In 1800 be put up tbe frame for 
the present house, but sold before it was finished. 

Benjamin Sawyer from Atkinson bought the place and finished off tbe house in 1807. 
Three years after, he swapped farms with his brother-in-law, and removed to Alstead. 

True Webster came from Atkinson to Francestown, whence he removed to Alstead about 
1790. In 1810, he came to this place, where he spent the remainder of his life. He was a man 
of strong will, not given to change. Many remember him as the last man in Gilsum who 
retained the old custom of wearing a queue. He was a member of the Congregational Church 
in Alstead. 

Eliphalet K. "Webster, son of the preceding, remained on this place till 1856, when be 
removed to Alstead, and afterwards to Walpole. He was one of the " Twelve Apostles." 
(Page 138.) He was Colonel in the militia, was Selectman three years, twice represented the 
town in the Legislature, and was commissioned Justice of the Peace. 

An obituary notice says, " In his death the temperance cause lost a friend, the community a respected member, 
his children an affectionate father, and his wife a kind husband." 

Henry M. Webster, a grandson of True, enlisted from "Walpole and served three years in the 1st X. H. 
Cavalry, Troop I. He was in many battles, and was a prisoner five weeks at Belle Isle. 

Kendall Nichols came from Stoddard to Gilsum about 1836, and worked in the Factory for 
Gerould and Thurston. He afterwards went into company with Gerould and Wetherby. He 
lived first at I. B. Loveland's, and then in various places till 1856, when he bought this farm, and 
has resided here ever since. George K. Nichols, his son, is a music teacher at Fort Edward, N. Y. 

161. When Capt. Holdridge bought in 177S, there was a log house on this spot, where he lived about two 
years. It was built by a wood-chopper whose name has been forgotten. 

162. House of Benjamin B. Beckwith in Alstead. 

393. This house in the edge of Alstead was formerly occupied by David Holt, and at present by George Henry 
Temple. 

163. Justus Chapin came from Surry and built a log house on this spot in 1778, where he 
lived twenty-three years. He had a small still and made essences. His wife was somewhat 
noted as a skilful nurse and midwife. 

161. Justus Chapin built the house now standing here, in 1801. 

Justus Chapin, Jr., lived here with his father till 1822, when he removed to Alstead (142,) 
where he died in 1869. He was Captain in the militia, and a Deacon in the Christian Church. 

Joseph M. Chapin, brother of the preceding, has lived on this place since his birth. He is a 
man of literary tastes, and has been one of the most efficient supporters of Lyceums and Debating 
Societies. He was the last Adjutant of the 20 th Regiment in the militia. He has served the 
town as Selectman, and has been three years in the Legislature. Allen Hayward lived here with 
Mr, Chapin several years. 

165. Elisha Mack built a log house here, about 1775. Old Mr. Plumley lived here a year or 
two and perhaps others. 

166. Samuel Whitney came from Worcester, Mass., about 1780, and built a log house on 
this spot, where he lived about sixteen years. 

167. Samuel Whitney built the house now standing here about 1796, and resided here till 
his death in 1831. He was one of the most respected citizens of the town. He served as Mod- 
erator four years, as Selectman fourteen, represented Gilsum and Surry in the Legislature three 







The Helio v 



all he 1 


iiad 


was 


a jack-1 


cnil 


e ami 


a boug 


;h, while 


1 lie was 


at 


work 


mainly 


by 


catc 


lung pit; 


eon 


s and 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 221 

years, and was Justice of the Peace. When lie came to Gilsum, 
twenty-five cents in his jacket pocket. He hung his jacket on 
clearing, and it got on lire and burned up. He paid for his place 
raising fowls. 

Daniel Whitney, sou of Samuel, removed from Gilsum in the year 1819, ami established himself in mercantile 
business near Camp Smith, two and a half miles from Green Bay, Wis. All this region was then a wilderness 
inhabited only by Indians, and he became one of the most efficient pioneers of civilization, exploring the Fox River 
to its source, ami the Wisconsin from its rapids to the Mississippi. Many incidents might be related showing his 
intrepidity and indomitable perseverance. In the winter of 1822, he went on foot from Fort Snelling, on the St. 
Peter's River in Minnesota, (where he had been sutler for the L*. S. troops,) to Detroit, with only an Indian for a 
companion, taking their provisions and bedding on a hand-sled. During the whole 1,000 miles they saw but one 
white man, and only two cabins. In crossing one of the many rivers, the ice was so poor as to alarm the Indian 
guide, and he refused to go on. Mr. Whitney crossed over and drew the sled. He then took a cudgel and com- 
pelled the Indian to lie down on the ice, when by the aid of a strong rope he drew him over in safety. Having 
established several trading posts on the Mississippi, his extensive business I'd him to traverse large unexplored 
sections of country on foot, in company with the many employes who transported his goods. Petween 1825 and 
1830, he built mills at Plover Portage, which was the first lumbering establishment on the Wisconsin river, and 
"probably the first on any tributary of the Mississippi." lie also built a shot tower at Helena and inaugurated an 
extensive business at that place. 

In 1828 or 1829, he laid out the town of Xavarino since incorporated as Green Bay, and commenced building a 
city. By 1830, he had completed a wharf and spacious warehouse, a portion of a large Hotel, a School house and 
dwelling houses for his laborers. He afterwards continued to build, till he had erected eight or ten stores and a 
large number of dwelling houses. He also gave away many lots to laborers desiring to build homes for themselves. 
He contributed very largely towards the Episcopal Church edifice, which was "the first Protestant house of worship 
in the State." 

Honest and upright in his dealings, he possessed the confidence of all who transacted business with him. The 
Stockbridge Indians, for whom he kept a supply store, had entire confidence in him. " as a stricth honest man. and 
a fair and liberal dealer." and to the time of his death regarded him as their " father and friend " " The poor, the 
unfortunate, and the afflicted, in his death lost a friend who never forgot them. Many is the time that such in 
their greatest want have found the needed supply in their door-way without ever knowing the hand that befriended 
them. Calmly he waited the approach of death, and spoke of it, as if he were expecting a friend to accompany him 
on a pleasant journey." — (Condensed from Green Bay Advocate.) 

William Eveleth came here from Alstead about 1829 and remained seven years. 

James Bolster removed here from Sullivan in 1836. In 1849 he went to the place now 
occupied by Mrs. Cram, (250,) and let out this farm. Jonathan Petts from .Stoddard was here 
for a time, and some others. 

Claudius B. Hayward learned the machinist's trade, and worked at the same for a couple of 
years at Lawrence, Mass. In 1851 he hired the Foster place in Sullivan, where he lived one year. 
He then lived on the old David Bill place west of the Village for two years. In 1854 he came to 
this place where he still resides. 

387. Luther Whitney's Clothing Mill. (Page 138.) 

168. Here Philip R. Howard had a Blacksmith's shop for a few years before his death. 

169. Tenants here : — Philip It. Howard and Leonard J. Davis. 

170. ( hsamus Nash lived here for a time. 

171. Amos Franklin Knight came here from Alstead about 1855, and built all the houses 
in this settlement. He lived two or three years in this house, and then removed to Keene. He 
made persistent efforts to have a road built through this valley to Alstead. Special town meet- 
ings were held for this purpose, but without success. It being about the time of the Kansas 
t roubles, this settlement acquired the nickname of " bleeding Kansas," which it retains to this day. 

Harvey B. Miller after residing in various places settled here about 180'4. He is somewhat 
noted for skill in hunting and trapping. 

Other tenants : — George S. Howard, and John Howard. 

172. Tenants here : — llorace H. -Nash and John Howard ; afterwards used for a shop. 

173. Mr. Knight first lived here. Other tenants : — Philip Howard and his son Solomon, who moved it to 217. 

174. James Hudson began putting up a house on this place in 1822, but before he had done 
much, sold it to Mrs. Sally (Clark) Carpenter for $70. She had her brother, Joseph Clark, 



222 G1LSUM. 

finish off the house the next year. After about three years, she sold to Aaron Brigham for $200. 

She married Dea. John Burditt of Clinton, Mass., where she died. 

The " Clinton Courant" says, " for half a century she had been a consistent professor of religion. . . . She was 
much esteemed and beloved, — was familiarly known as Aunt John to a whole generation. She had kept boarding 
house for many years, and was mourned by an unusually large number of acquaintances." Her husband, John Bur- 
ditt, was a Baptist deacon, but became a strong second Adventist, and had Sunday meetings regularly in his house 
for many years. 

Rufus Greene came to Gilsum in 1865, and after living in several places came here in 1869. 
In 1876, he removed to Alstead. 

Henry Grant has since occupied the place with his wife's mother, now Mrs. Jonathan Howard, 
who came here from Marlow in 1878. Mr. Grant came to Gilsum from Rochester in 1866. He 
has been a seafaring man, and was three years in the naval service of the British East India 
Company, at the time of the great Sepoy rebellion. He afterwards served in the U. S. Navy, and 
in December, 1863, enlisted in the N. H. Heavy Artillery, Co. M, and remained till the close of 
the war. 

Other tenants : — Aaron Brigham, uncle to David ; Lemuel Bingham; Lyman Reed ; Merit Winter; Joshua D. 
Crane ; Solomon Smith ; Capt. True Webster ; and Ira D. Gates. 

175. Isaac Loveland built this house about 1826. 

In 1830, Samuel White came here for a year or two. He was a currier and worked for Capt. 
Taylor. (Page 142.) After living in several places he removed to Walpole (?) about 1837. 

Other tenants : — Elder E. B. Rollins ; William Banks ; Elder Bennett Palmer; Mrs. Anna Joslyn ; Clement 
Stone; Elijah Mansfield; James Bates, a blacksmith, now residing at Winchester; Luke Houghton; and his son- 
in-law, Oren Jefts, who died here. 

381. Houghton's Blacksmith Shop. 

344 Here are a few old apple trees just west of George C. Hubbard's sugar orchard. Tradition says there was 
a log house somewhere near this place, but the name of the man who built it is forgotten. 

176. David Ware after living eleven years in the old David Bill house (180,) built the 
house now standing here, in 1838. He was a strong friend of temperance, and was one of the 
Selectmen at the time when the question at issue was license or no license. (Page 91.) He 
served in that office four years, and one year in the Legislature. 

The following account of Mr. Ware's father-in-law is taken mainly from an obituary notice. 

Samuel Smith was a native of Goffstown. In April, 1775, at the age of eighteen, he enlisted in the American 
army, for eight months. Like many others he literally left the plough in the furrow, to answer the call of his 
country. He was at Bunker Hill, under Gen. Stark, and remained in service near Boston during the summer. In 
July. 1776, he re-enlisted for five months, and went to Ticonderoga, where he suffered from the severe sickness 
which prevailed among the troops. In the spring of 1777, he enlisted for the war, in the Regiment that commenced 
the memorable battle of Stillwater. He passed the following winter amid the destitution and suffering at Valley 
Forge. Here a plan was discovered among Washington's Guard to destroy his life. The leaders were hung, the 
Guard disbanded, and a requisition was made upon the New England troops for men to form a uew Guard. Mr. 
Smith was one of those selected. From this time he followed the fortunes of Washington, being on duty in his 
immediate vicinity, guarding his person, at all times, whether in his sleep, or in attendance on divine worship. The 
duties of this company did not often lead them to the field of battle, though occasionally they were called to the 
assistance of their fellow soldiers. They were present at the siege and capture of Yorktown, and from thence went 
to Newburg, N. Y., where they were disbanded, and returned to their homes in poverty. In 1789, Mr. Smith 
removed to Hartland, Vt., where he resided till 1821), when he came to live with his daughter at Gilsum. Here he 
died at the advanced age of 95. He used to relate many stories of his revolutionary experience, but they are mostly 
lost now. It is worthy of mention that, at the age of eighty he voluntarily abandoned ardent spirits and tobacco, 
after using them habitually for more than sixty years. 

David S. Ware lived here with his father till 1855, when he removed to Butler, 111. In his 
youth, he was one of the most active and efficient members of the Gilsum Lyceum, and Tem- 
perance Society. He served the town as Moderator and Selectman. He was specially interested 
in education, and held the office of Superintending Committee three years. He is a prominent 
citizen in the township where lie resides. 

Samuel B. Ware, youngest son of David, died here at the age of 21. 







V, 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 223 

'• He was a person of cultivated mind and unquestioned morals. Early in life he acquired a reputation that 
not even a breath of suspicion ever soiled. He became connected with the various reform movements of the day, 
and was ever found alive and active in every enterprise calculated to improve and bless. As a teacher he pursued 
his avocation with fidelity and success, as a member of the church he labored for its highest interests, and in his 
intercourse with mankind he has left an example worthy of all imitation." 

George H. Towle lived here with his father-in-law about four years, when he returned to 
Newport, where he has served as Selectman. 

George W. Newman bought this place in 1863. Beginning with nothing but his hands, by 
industry and good management he has acquired a large property, and lias probably built more 
houses in Gilsum than any other man. He is well-known through the country as a dealer in 
lumber and farm produce. He is a radical temperance man. always active in debating societies, 
and is President of the Farmers' Club for 1880. He has served as Selectman and was commis- 
sioned as Justice of the Peace. 

177. Here David Bill had a log house. (Page 54.) 

178. Isaac Loveland built this house not far from 1880, using part of hi? father's old house 
from 263, and has lived here ever since. He is a wheelwright by trade. In early life he spent 
some years in Canada. He has a remarkable memory, being able to repeat almost verbatim, 
sermons heard many years since. He has always been fond of stories and jokes, and has made 
many burlesque verses illustrating laughable incidents. 

179. Edward Waldo built a house here about 1798, and removed to Alstead after four years. 

180. David Bill, brother of Maj. Bill, built a house on this spot, probably before 1800. He 
was a soldier in the Revolution. (Page '■'>!.) 

Israel K. Plumley lived here several years with Mr. Bill, and removed to Pennsylvania about 
1824. James Locke came here in 1819, and after two years went to Pennsylvania. He was a 
gunsmith and silver-plater, and had a shop in Lemuel Bingham's house. " He was celebrated as 
a good shot with a long rifle." 

Berzeleel Lord Mack lived here for a time, and at various other places. In 1827 he removed 
to Nashua, where he died in 1833, and his family returned to Gilsum He was a successful 
school teacher, served the town as Moderator, and was Captain in the militia. Col. Oscar A. 
Mack (page 186,) was his son. 

David Ware bought the place in 1827, and lived in this house eleven years. It was taken 
down in 1879. 

Other resideuts: — Nathan Ellis, Jr., C. B. Hayward, Francis C. Howe, Harvey B.Miller, and Magloire 
Loiselle. 

181. Eliphalet Dart, afterwards of Surry, was probably the first settler on this place, and 
had a house near this spot. In 1803, his son Silas sold the place to Joseph Plumley for #200. 

182. Joseph Plumley built here, probably about 180.5. His son Israel K. lived with him. 
Thomas Redding, Jr., followed Mr. Plumley, and his widow resided here some years after 

his death. James M. Mark bought the place in 1815, and lived here a short time. 

183. James M. Mark built here soon after 1815, and remained here till his death. 
Luther VV. Mark succeeded his father ou this place. He served the town as Selectman. 
Hans H. Mark remained here with his mother several years after his father's death. He now 

resides in Rockingham, Vt. 

John Hammond and his son Aaron D. came here in 1871. 

Other residents : — Jared L. Greene and Joshua D. Crane. 

184. Here stood a log house, probably built by one of the Reddings. It is known that Amherst Hayward 
lived here in 1816. Other tenants are uncertain. 

185. Philip R. Howard's Blacksmith's shop. (Page 142.) 373. School House. (Page 130.) 



224 aiLSUM. 

186. Isaac Loveland had a wheelwright shop near here, and in 1835 Benjamin Gerry built a Chair Shop on 
this spot. It was afterwards used as a turning shop by Dalphon L. Gibbs and others. Milan Towne used it for 
;i Bobbin factory. (Page 47.) More recently it was finished into rooms and used for a tenement. Some of the 
tenants have been Jacob D. Nash, George F. Atwood now of Winchendon, Mass., John Laing, Lowell White, and 
Henry Beckwith. 

187. Willard S. Cady from Langdon, came to Gilsum about 1847, and lived in several 
places. In 1850, he built a shop on this brook, and lived in it with his family two or three years. 
He now resides in Alstead. 

188. Isaac Loveland bought this place in 1819, and built the house on this spot. 
Benjamin Gerry came here from Lowell, Mass., in the fall of 1835. Three years after, he 

removed to Nashua, where his widow is still living. They were members of the Congregational 

Church in Lowell, Mass. 

Alpheus Chapin came here from Alstead in 1853. He followed teaming for some years, but 

having bought the Ballard place, has more recently turned his attention to farming. 

Other residents : — Berzeleel L. Mack, Abram C. Wyman, Levi Gates, John Howard, Philip Howard, Alfred 
Beckwith, the widow Thompson now Mrs. Levi Barrett, Henry Morse, Henry A. Thompson, Samuel Bannister, 
Jacob H. Cornell, Henry Grant, James Welsh, James W. Russell, and Henry Beckwith. 

189. The main body of this house was built by William Campbell in 1843. 

James L. Wilson came to Gilsum in 1850 from Athol, Mass., and lived here several years. 
He built on the south ell, and afterwards moved the house, from number 380, and added it to 
the north side. 

Jacob D. Nash, after living in various places, bought this house and resided here five or six 
years. He afterwards removed to East Sullivan, and from there to Nelson. 

The lower part of the house has been fitted up with a water-wheel, and used for various 
mechanical purposes. 

Eugene P. Nash, son of Jacob, lived here for a time, and in various tenements. Ap. 9, 

1864, he enlisted from Claremont in the First N. H. Cavalry, Troop C; was transferred to 

Troop M, and served till close of the war. He then enlisted in the regular army, and served 

three years in the 9th Regiment of U. S. Infantry. 

Other residents : — Amos Weeks, Francois Cloutier, Eli Gosseau, Edward O'Keefe, Herbert D. Gates, John M. 
Hill, and Joseph S. Bingham. 

190. This is the house built by Lemuel Bingham on the place next south. (192.) It was 
moved here in 1852. The widow Betsey Mack lived here some years with her son Byron Alex- 
ander. Josiah G. Rowell next occupied the place for two years. 

George Henry McCoy came here in 1864. He is a mechanic, having a tray-shop under his 
house, and a blacksmith's shop close by. He keeps a livery stable, and raises fowls. He has 
served as Town Clerk ten years, and is Justice of the Peace. 

191. Elder E. B. Rollins (page 122,) built this house about 1836. After putting up the first 

story he moved on the wheelwright shop from 381, for the second story, in which he had a small 

Hall for religious meetings, and other gatherings. 

Edward Fay Rollins, son of Edward B., is a printer by trade, and published "The Winchendon Mirror" in 
1851. He enlisted June 1, 1861, in the 13" 1 Mass. Reg't Co. D, and was promoted through the several grades to 
First Lieutenant May 1, 1864, and mustered out the following August. He was with his Regiment in many battles, 
including Bull Run, Antietam, Gettysburg, and the Wilderness, and was acting Adjutant for a time. He now resides 
in Boston, Mass. 

Abram C. Wyman from Rindge learned the trade of carpenter in Alstead, and came to 

Gilsum about 1810. After living in several places, he settled here about 1840, and remained till 

his death in 1866. He was a natural musician, and played the bass-viol. 




^yy^Zj^ /7^-^^ 




i . 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER. TWO. 225 

Other residents: — George K. Smith, a mechanic; Alvin A. Beckwith, a blacksmith, now of Drewsville ; 
Charles W. Lyman; Edouard Guay; Edward O. Corey, Albert Bowen ; Paul Langlois ; and Lowell White. 

192. Lemuel Bingham built here in 1813. Ira Ellis of Sullivan dug the cellar after the 
frame was put up. 

Luther Whitney came here in 1820, and remained about ten years. He was a clothier by 
trade. (Page 138.) He served the town six years as Selectman, was twice in the Legislature, 
and was Justice of the Peace. He removed to Massachusetts about 1830. 

Jerome B. Aldrich, a wheelwright, came here about 1834, and remained six years. He built 
a shop near the brook back of the town house. He now resides in Boston, Mass. 

Ambrose L. Farnam came here from Stoddard in 1836. Six years later he removed to Peter- 
boro'. He served in the U. S. army at Portsmouth in 1812. 

Davis H. Wilson, son of Joel, after living at various places settled here about 1848, and kept 
store in the north part. (Page 144.) He afterwards removed to the house now occupied by 
L. W. F. Mark, where he died in 1861. 

Nahum 0. Hayward resided in Boston when a young man, and was in the employ of Jesse 
Maynard in the bakery business for nine years. In 1846, he returned to Gilsum, and after liv- 
ing a few months with his father, settled here. In 1852 he had the old house removed to number 
190, and built the house in which he still resides. He has been connected with the store for 
many years. (Page 143.) He is well known through the County as an auctioneer and dealer 
in lumber and cattle. He is frequently employed in the settlement of estates and similar busi- 
ness, and is a Director in the Five Cents Savings Bank of Keene. He owns a large amount of 
real estate, and has built several houses. He has served the town as Selectman four years, and 
is a Justice of the Peace. 

Other residents : — Asa Cole, David Brigham. A. W. Kingsbury, Marvin Gates, Alfred Beckwith, Kimball 
Metcalf, Thomas Auty an Englishman, and "William Cook. 

193. Lemuel Bingham built this house about 1814. He first lived in the house with Dea. Pease 
at the Lower Village, and after that on the Bond place. In 1813, he built where N. 0. Hayward 
lives, and resided there for some time after building this house, in the east end of which he had 
a store. (Page 143.) In the lower part was a shop occupied by James Locke, a silver plater. 
After selling the other house, he remained here till 1832, when he went to where Henry Grant 
lives. The next year, he bought the " Plastered House," where he lived about eight years. In 
1841, he came back to the village, and lived one year in the brick house, after which he returned 
to this house, where he resided for the most part till 1855, when he removed to Keene. He was 
well known throughout this and the neighboring Counties, as a publisher and dealer in Maps. 
He had a taste for the law, and acquired considerable legal knowledge. He held the office of 
Justice of the Peace for sixteen years, and transacted a good deal of business. In the war of 
1812-5 he was employed to transport soldiers and Commissary Stores to Portsmouth. His son, 
Charles W., has a pass for him as Quartermaster, signed by " Nat Fisk," dated Sept. 21, 1814. 

K. D. Webster (page 182,) bought the place in 1857. He built over and enlarged the house, 
where he still resides. 

Other residents : — William Parker ; Chilion Mack who had the Post Office here for a time ; and Calvin C. 
Bingham. 

194. About 1S28 John Taylor built a two-story shop here for shoemaking and currying. George S. Howard 
lived in it for a time, also Philip K. Howard. About 1851, Nathan Ellis moved it back near the brook, and did a 
little blacksmithing in the lower part. (Page 142.) 

195. John Burroughs, Jr., a blacksmith, came here from Alstead, and built a house near this 
place about 1821. He had a shop at first near Mrs. McCoy's, and afterwards on the brook above 

15 



226 aiLSUM. 

Henry McCoy's. (Page 141.) After about five years, he sold to Thomas T. Chapin who built 
the shop now owned by Oapt. Chandler, number 348, and employed men to do blacksmithing. 
After his death, (page 151,) Tower Spear, a blacksmith, lived here three years. Nathaniel 
Trask. a blacksmith, also lived here and employed Benjamin Eaton, Jr., 1818-9. Berzeleel L. 
Mack also lived here a short time. 

Enoch B. Mayo, a blacksmith from Alstead, came here in 1831 and remained about seven 
years, when he removed to Nashua. Marvin Bigelow worked for him and lived in his house a 
year or two. After Mr. Mayo left, the house was occupied for a time by the widow of Ruel 
Ellis. William Cook married her daughter and lived here a year or two. 

Nathan Ellis, Jr., bought the place and in 1851 built the house now standing here. 
Porter Cowee and perhaps others lived here for a time. John Cole, an industrious, prudent man 
after remaining single to the age of 63, married the widow Bolster, and lived on number 250, for 
three years. In 1863, he bought this house, and lived here for nine years. He now resides with 
his brother in Keene. 

Capt. Chandler bought the place in 1873, and his son-in-law, A. D. Hammond, occupied it 
about a year. 

Samuel W. Dart has resided here since 1876. He owns the mill number 223, (page 137,) 
and has a prosperous business. He is a member of the Baptist Church at Keene, and has served 
the town as Superintending School Committee. 

196. Here was the Howard Hammer Shop. (Page 142.) 
348. Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 141 ) 

351. Methodist Meeting House, now the Town House. (Pages 118, 160.) 

197. John Taylor bought this place for $38, and built the house here in 1827. He resided 
here eleven years, when he removed to Ogle Co., Illinois. He built a tannery on the brook north- 
east of his house, near number 199. He also carried on the shoe business, hiring hands who 
worked in the shop number 194. He and his family were active Methodists, and meetings were 
often held at his house. He served as Captain in the militia. George H. Taylor, his son, resides 
at Franklin Grove, 111., — owns a grain elevator, and is an extensive dealer in farm produce 
and machinery. 

Eleazer M. Poor, a tanner from Nelson, settled here in 1838, but left in less than two years. 
He was afterwards in mercantile business at the West. 

Osman McCoy came here in 1871, and his widow resides here still. 

There have been many other owners and occupants of this place. Joseph Upton lived here with Capt. Taylor 
in 1833. Rev. Mr. Aspeuwall owned the place for about two years. Charles W. Bingham owned it about seven 
years. Other residents : — Rev. John M. Blake, Rev. Joseph Hayes, Thomas Townsend, Lemuel Bingham, James 
Chapman, and Barton Cooke. 

198. Capt. Taylor built this house in 1832. 

Thaddeus H. Flint lived here a year or two. He came from Alstead as an apprentice to Luther 
Whitney, in 1816. After four years, he went to Billerica, Mass., to work at his trade. In 1826, 
he came back and worked for Mr. Whitney about a year, when he went into company with David 
Brigham and bought out Mr. Whitney. After three years, he went to Coventry, Vt. In 1834, 
he returned to Gilsum for a year or two, and then went to Keene, where he still resides. 

Henry Flint, son of the preceding, enlisted from Keene in the 6th N. H. Reg't, Co. E, November, 1861. He 
was wounded at second Bull Run battle, and died of disease at the Georgetown General Hospital, Oct. 16, 1862. 

Erastus Reed had this house for a time as a shoe-shop. 

Other residents : — Luke Taylor, William Campbell, Francis Phillips, Thomas Auty, Thomas Townsend, George 
K. Smith, Barton Cooke, and Louisa Mark for the last ten years. 

199. Silvanus Hayward's Saw Mill. (Page 137.) 

200. Chilion Mack built this house in 1832 and resided here four years, when he sold to 



>»** 



- 




The Heuotvpe Print™ Co 126 PeablSt. Boston. 




' /, 



t/an^l 7- Jor/, ti'-tt m ' 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 227 

A. W. Kingsbury, who still occupies it. Dea. Kingsbury first settled at his trade of shoemaking in 
Sullivan, but in 1835 removed to Gilsum, living that year in the Whitney house. (192.) In 
1877 he was chosen Deacon of the Congregational Church. 

Many tenants have occupied the chambers of this house. Harrison G. Howe lived here before Mr. Mack 
sold it. After selling, Mr. Mack lived a year in the chambers. In the winter of 1836-7 and two terms following 
the District School was held here. Sabbath meetings were also held here by the Christian Society. Other resi- 
dents : — Jehiel P. Hendee, (page 122 ;) John Spaulding, (page 122 :) Lyman Gerould ; Franklin Bingham; David 
Converse; John C. Guillow ; George W. Newman ; Horace Carter; Calvin C. Bingham; Milton Silsby; Amos 
Weeks; John B. Otis: Allen Hayward ; Charles P. Matthews a blacksmith, rem. to Nashua; F. A. Howard; 
Mrs. Whittemore; and Samuel L. Kingsbury 

382. Here Chilion Mack built a Wheelwright Shop about 1833. Carley Guillow lived in it several years, and 
Lemuel Bingham a short time. 

201. In 1835, Amherst Hayward built this Shoe Shop for A. \V. Kingsbury. He and his 
son Samuel L. still occupy it. The chambers have been used for a tenement. 

Jonathan Hall came from Westmoreland, when a boy, and lived with Amherst Hayward. He 
had a taste for learning and entered Amherst College. For lack of means, however, he soon left. 
In 1835, having married, he lived in the chambers of this shop, and taught the first High School 
in Gilsum, that Fall, in the Vestry of the Congregational Meeting House. In the winter lie 
taught District School. The next year he removed to Saratoga, N. Y. He is a machinist by 
trade, and afterwards went to Bridgeport, Conn., and was employed in the manufacture of Wheeler 
and Wilson Sewing Machines. He is still residing there. 

Other residents : — Eliza Bragg, (page 143;) E. S. Fish's daughters; Nancy and Orinda Smith; Charles W. 
Bingham; Walker Gassett, Jr. ; George Porter; Richard Eagan, a Tannery workman; Alfred Hoyle ; Ephraim 
Ash worth; George Henry Temple ; and Alden Greene. 

202. Silvanus Hayward from Surry was the first settler here. He bought the west half of 
the 11th Lot, 6th Range, for £38, in April, 1791. It was then a thick, dark swamp and people 
laughed at his folly in selecting such a homestead. He afterwards bought a strip from the next Lot 
west, so that he owned all the village smith of Dr. Webster's. He built a log house in 1791 very 
near the southwest corner of George 15. Rawson's garden. Fourteen years after he built the 
house on the opposite page, on the spot where Mr. Rawson's house now stands. He moved into 
it in November, 1806. Having a taste for learning he managed to pick up sufficient education to 
enter Dartmouth College about 1780, being certainly a College mate, (and tradition says a class- 
mate ?) of the notorious Stephen Burroughs. In his Junior year he found it impossible to keep 
on, his father being able to assist him but little. He received an honorable discharge from 
the College, written on parchment and signed by President Wheelock. He soon married and 
settled in Surry on the place where George A. Blake now resides. Here he lived for 8 or 9 years, 
when he removed to a lot of 60 acres which he had bought of Abner Bliss in the northwest part 
of Gilsum. He remained there only one year, when he sold to Elijah Bond and returned to Surry, 
but came back to Gilsum the next year and lived on the place now owned by Charles Bveleth, 
while clearing and building in what is now the village. 

Having both a theoretical and practical acquaintance with the art of Surveying, he was exten- 
sively employed in that business. He was also a noted -i school-master," teaching for many 
winters after he came to Gilsum. He also taught singing schools, and played the bass-viol in 
the choir for many years. He served the town as Moderator, and three years as Selectman. 

He was tall and erect, very social, and especially fond of discussion, being ready to dispute with anybody 
upon almost auy subject. He was a ready speaker, and often conducted religious meetings. His death was occa- 
sioned by being ovei'-heated in righting fire which caught in the woods from the " Sugar camp " south of the river. 
He lingered only a few months after the exertion. 

' Amherst Hayward was brought up by Col. Jonathan Smith who married his father's sister. 



228 GIL SUM. 

After his own marriage in 1811 he lived with Col. Smith in Rockingham, Vt., but in 1815 came 

to live in Gilsum. The first year he lived in the house with his father. The next year he lived 

just above the village, on the west of the road at the top of the hill below where John Hammond 

now lives. This was " the cold season " and food was very scarce. He managed to procure what 

it was necessary to buy, by peeling birch brooms at ninepence a piece. The next spring he went 

to the " Maynard place." The spring after his father's death he came to this place to live, where 

he spent his life. 

By industry and prudent management he acquired a comfortable competence. " Diligent in business " he was 
also " fervent in spirit," and none who were acquainted with him doubted that the main purpose of his life was 
attained in "serving the Lord."' He was a man of firm principles and sound judgment and his advice was often 
sought in business affairs. He served the town one year as .Selectman. He was an earnest friend of Temperance, 
and was the first in town to raise a building without liquor. (Page 91 .) He was also a decided anti-slavery man. 
He had considerable taste for public speaking and was active in Lyceums and the like. He was a natural musi- 
cian, and played the bass-viol and led the choir most of the time for nearly fifty years. He was Deacon in the 
Congregational Church for over twenty years. No man in Gilsum has ever given'so much for religious purposes 
both at home and abroad, as he. A short time before he died he said it was hard parting with the Church, and 
one of his last acts was to give them SoOO towards buying a parsonage. " During his last sickness his faith never 
wavered. The promises were bright and sure. His hope was built upon a sure foundation, even the rock of ages. 
His end was peace." 

Emily Graham Hayward, daughter of Amherst, received an Academic education at Meriden 
and New Ipswich. Being naturally of a kind and benevolent disposition, she was .deeply inter- 
ested in temperance and all enterprises to help the poor and suffering, and hence became a 
leader in the Soldiers' Aid Society. (Page 45.) A neighbor says, " She had a heart as 
large as Surry Mountain." " In the latter part of her life she abounded in labors for the spirit- 
ual welfare of others, and her latest breath was spent in entreating her friends to prepare to 
meet her in Heaven." She had a natural taste for music and drawing, and wrote many 
verses, some of which were published. (Appendix J.) 

Horace Howard, son of Silvauus Hayward, early changed his name to correspond to the pronunciation then in 
almost universal use. He was a carpenter and joiner and learned the trade of millwright. After his marriage in 
1S12. he removed to Winchester where he resided about six years. He went to Ohio in 1818, where after a year of 
farming he worked at his trade and also in the manufacture of woolens. He was overseer in Cotton Mills at 
Cincinnati iu 1832, at the time of the cholera visitation, with which he was attacked and barely escaped with his 
life. He kept Hotels in various places, and finally settled at Wooster, and was proprietor of the American House 
there for ten years. At 75 he retired from business, and died at Wooster. Ohio, at the advanced age of 82 years. 

He was a man of great mechanical ingenuity and skill. As a landlord he was very popular. He had a 
remarkable memory, and could recite a large part of Buxns's poems, as well as hymns and songs almost without 
number. He was very social and fond of story telling, and would entertain a company for hours, by reciting verses 
and telling stories. He was one of the earlier settlers of that region, and his memory was relied on to establish 
dates. His son, Harvey Howard, is a wealthy apothecary, and a leading citizen of Wooster. 

George C. Hayward, sou of Silvanus, left Gilsum in 1823 to learn the trade of shoemaking. In 1829 he 
removed to Honeoye Falls, X. Y.. where he resided 16 years. He then removed to Dansville, N. T., where he 
remained ten years. In 1857 he went to Landgrove, Vt., and remained two years. In 1860 he went to Cayuga 
Co., N. Y., where he remained till 1876, when he went to live with his daughter at Sherman, Mich. He has been 
a good musician, teaching singing schools for many years with good success. He is a spiritualist in belief, and has 
practised in later years as a healing medium. 

George B. Rawson removed from Alstead to Gilsum, in 1850, and established the business of 
tanning, in which he is still engaged. He lived for some years in the house just east of the Tan- 
nery, but in 1870, bought the original Hayward place, and built a large house in which he still 
resides. He has been very successful in the accumulation of property. He has served the town 
as Selectman two years, and is at present one of the Supervisors of the Check List. 

Monroe Brown, brother-in-law of George B. Rawson, came here from Canterbury in 1863, 
and remained four years, when he removed to Keene, and now resides in Winchester, Mass., — 
is a tanner by trade, lie enlisted from Canterbury in the 15th N. H. Reg't, Co. G, — served 
nine months holding the office of Corporal, and was at the siege of Port Hudson under Gen. 
Banks. His brother, Cyrus Brown, resided here two years, and was employed in the tannery. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 229 

203. Jehiel Day came here from Keene and built the ell part of this house in 1829. In 
1832 he built on the front part with the Hall, which was dedicated July 4, 1833. (Page 144.) 
He was a leading man in all public enterprises, was Colonel in the militia, served two years in 
the Legislature, and was Justice of the Peace In 1837 lie removed to Daysville. 111. 

Daniel Day, brother of the preceding, came here with him, and they were in company in 
business here for eight years. He lived in the house now occupied by Fanny Mark. (208.) He 
went with his brother to the place named from them, Daysville, 111. 

After the Days left, William Hayward resided here a year or two. In 1840, Capt. Dort 
(page 144,) came here, and remained till 1854. 

Calvin Chandler of Alstead then bought the place. (Page 144.) He is known as Capt. 
Chandler, having served in that office in his native town. In 1864, he was appointed Town 
Clerk to fill out the unexpired term of Ezra Webster deceased. He has also served the town as 
Treasurer several years. 

William Parker, a tailor by trade, came from England, and was here from 1834 to 1837. He 
removed to Stoddard and afterwards to Nashua, where he died at the age of 89. Hon. Wm. T. 
Parker of Merrimack is his son. 

Byron James Mullins is a blacksmith who came to Gilsum in 1874, and resides here. He 

served the country in a N. Y. Regiment from June, 1864, to the end of the war. He was in the 

battle of Fort Fisher, and was slightly wounded in the shoulder. 

Other residents: — George K.Smith; Porter Cowee ; Cyrus Brown; Albert II. Wright from Londonderry, 
Vt. ; and Timothy O'Leary a dyer in Collins's Factory. 

204. This store and tenement above was built by Chilion Mack in 182S. He lived a while in the chambers, 
but sold out the next year to Jehiel and Daniel Day. The front chamber was used afterwards as a tailor's shop 
by Parker and Huntress, (page 143.) and -till later by Loren Loveland as a shoemaker's shop. Other residents: — 
Rev. H. C. Henries, Dr. K. D. Webster, F. A. Howard, and George N. Hayward. 

205. Thebon Hayward built this house in 1876. He was the junior member of the firm of 
N. O. Hayward and Son. (Page 144.) In 1879 he sold to Daniel Smith, and removed to 
Keene, where he is clerk in the Citizens' Bank. 

206. This house and store was built by George W. Newman in 1870. (Page 144.) I. B. 
Newman, his son, lived here a year or two, and removed to Langdon. Daniel W. Newman, 
another son, lived here about two years, and went into trade at Keene. Another son, George 
Elmore Newman, still resides here. He is a well-known trader in cattle, horses, lumber, and 
farm produce. Other tenants have been Lawrence A. Gravlin and Franklin W. Roundy. 

207. John Hendee bought this place in 1833 for SI 75, and built the " brick house " the next 
year. He is a carpenter by trade, and removed to Claremont in 1836. The number of families 
residing in this house has been large. 

Harrison G. Howe, a woolen manufacturer, came to Gilsum in 1832, was in company witli 
Dea. Brigham, and was the first tenant here. 

Luke Taylor came from >ullivun about the same time, and lived here two years. He worked 
at awl-making with Solon Eaton, and removed to Springfield, Vt., where his widow still resides. 

Charles T. Wetherby removed from Fitchburg. Mass., and settled in Walpole in 1831. In 
1837 he went to Drewsville, in the north part of Walpole, where he remained five years. He 
was a woolen manufacturer by trade, and came to Gilsum in 1842, and carried on his business 
with Gerould and Nichols. In 1849 he removed to South Acworth where he was employed in 
the same business for two years. After residing a short time in Gilsum lie removed to Lowell, 
Ohio, in 1852, where he remained till his death, nineteen years later. He was a man of firm 
principles and straight-forward character. His widow resides in Minnesota. 



230 GIL SUM. 

Solomon Dean lived here three years, while in the manufacturing business. (Page 139.) 
He removed to Newport where his widow still resides. 

Franklin A. Rawson, son-in-law of Mr. Dean, lived here a short time and assisted his brother 
in the Tannery. In 1863, he removed to Newport where he still resides. He is engaged in the 
grocery business. He has served as Selectman and held other town offices, and is prominently 
active among the Odd Fellows. 

Allen Hayward came from Acworth, when a young man, and worked for the Silsbys. He is a 

carpenter by trade. He lived many years with Joseph M. Chapin, but about 1868 came to this 

place. He has served the town four years as Selectman, and two years in the Legislature, and 

is one of the Supervisors of the Check List, under the revised Constitution. 

Other residents : — Jehiel P. Ilendee, (page 122 ;) Marvin Bigelow; Abijah Wetherbee ; Rev. Henry White, 
(page 112;) Lemuel Bingham ; Calvin C. Bingham; Franklin Bingham; Charles Parker; John Scribner now 
residing at Newport; Joshua Wedgewood a woolen manufacturer from Bethel, Vt., and his overseer. Stephen Rus- 
sell, who returned to Bethel and was killed by falling from the roof of a building ; John Carpenter ; Henry Page ; 
Mrs. Whittemore ; Willard B. Tinker from Acworth ; Lowell H. .Stearns ; Thomas Charmbury ; and Thomas 
Charmbury, Jr. 

208. Dudley Smith built this house in 1833. He let it to various tenants for many years. 
In his old age he removed here from his farm, and remained till his death. Dea. Mark bought 
the place, and spent his last years here, leaving it to his daughter, Fanny Mark, who still resides 
here with her sister, Mrs. Nancy Hubbard. 

The following sketch was received too late for insertion in its proper place. Rev. Aaron Rus- 
sell Livermore was for a time in Amherst College ; one year in Lane Seminary ; graduated from 
the Theological Seminary at East Windsor, Conn., in 1839 ; was ordained and installed over the 
church at North Mansfield, Conn., Aug. 30, 1843, where he remained fifteen years ; was installed 
pastor of the church in Goshen, Conn., Feb. 22, 1860, and remained eight years ; was stated 
supply at Bozrahville, Conn., from 1870 to 1873, when he retired from the ministry on account 
of poor health, and is now residing at Fair Haven, Conn. 

Rev. George Langdon resided here while in Gilsum. (Page 112.) The following items 
were received too late for insertion in their proper place. Mr. Langdon received his education 
in part at Yale College, but was obliged to leave on account of ill health. He graduated at 
East Windsor Theological Seminary in 1839. After preaching in Gilsum, he remained three 
years in Connecticut, and was ordained and installed as pastor at Downer's Grove, 111., Feb- 
ruary, 1846, where he continued five years. He was next pastor at Crystal Lake, 111., three 
years, and afterwards at Cincinnatus, N. Y. In 18;">4 bis health became so feeble that he was 
" obliged to desist from preaching altogether." He is now residing at Lakewood, N. J., and 
is able to preach occasionally. 

Rev. James Tisdale lived here several years. (Page 113.) 

James Tisdale, Jr., fitted for College in the Academy at New Salem, Mass., graduating there, at the head of 
his class, in 1S54. Owing to a throat trouble he was forced to give up his studies. He afterwards engaged 
in mercantile pursuits at Tonica and Minonk, 111., till the war broke out, when he enlisted in the 47th 
Illinois Regiment. He was commissioned First Lieutenant of Co. 1. He served mainly in Missouri, was at the 
taking of Island No. 10, and suffered severely from exposure and hardships, so that he was obliged to resign on 
account of sickness in 1S62. In the Spring of 1863, he resumed business in Minonk, but not succeeding to his 
mind, in the Fall of 1875, he took up a quarter of a section of government land in Austin, Kansas, where he still 
resides, unmarried. His mother is with him. 

Eugene Tisdale, brother of the preceding, left Gilsum for Boston, Mass., and attended Chauncy Hall School 
for a time. In 1850 he became a clerk in the store of Kendall, Whitwell ami Co., and remained there till the 
beginning of the war. In April, 1861, he enlisted in Co. B, 4th Battalion Mass. Volunteers. The same year he 
raised and recruited a Company for the 13th Regiment Conn. Volunteers at Hartford, and was commissioned 
Captain of Co. E, in which capacity he served till May 1, 1864, when he was promoted to LieutenautColonel of 
the 1st Regiment, and was honorably discharged June 1, 1866. In May, 1867, he was appointed by Pres. Johnson 




u 



f^u 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 231 

Collector of Internal Revenue for the Third District of Louisiana, having his office at Monroe. He held this 
position till the close of Johnson's Administration, when he removed to New Orleans, La., where he still resides. 
He has held high offices in various Masonic bodies, and has received the 32d Degree, A. A. S. R. 

Henry E. Hubbard, son of Ellsworth, lived here a year or two with his mother. He is a 

brick-mason by trade, and now resides in Keene. He enlisted in the 9th N. H. Regiment for 

three years, received a commission as First Lieutenant in Co. B, Jan. 1, 1864, and served till 

the close of the war. He was in the battles of South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, 

and The Wilderness. 

Other residents : ■ — Daniel Day; Rev. William Hutchinson; Dr. K.D.Webster; John Livermore ; Hervey 
E. Rawson: George Ward well ; Calvin W. Spooner; Henry Beckwith ; JohnLaing; Henry Grant; Franklin W. 
Roundy ; John M. Hill ; and David Kenion. 

350. Congregational Meeting House, built 1834. (Page 111.) The basement was used as a tenement for 
about fifteen years. Moses Fish and his sisters occupied it for a time. Abijah Wetherbee, now of Springfield, 
Vt., was the next tenant, and after him Jesse Temple lived here for several years. 

209. Benjamin Hosmer, Jr., bought this lot in 1832 for $80, and built the house in 1833-4. 
He died here in 1837. He was Major in the 20th Regiment of militia. The house was designed 
as a Factory Boarding House. Mrs. William Thomson kept boarders here several years. Mrs. 
Lucy Howes, sister of Rev. William Hutchinson, bought the place, and lived here three years. 

In 1848, Ezra Webster bought and opened a tavern here. (Page 144.) He served the 
town as Clerk five years, as Representative two years, and was Justice of the Peace. He was 
Postmaster nearly sixteen years. His daughter is an accomplished teacher of Music, and resides 
with her mother in Keene. 

After the death of Mr. Webster in 1864, Hervey E. Rawson bought the place, and remained 
here for nearly seven years. 

Albert Hubbard, who had formerly kept tavern in Marlboro', came here from Alstead in 

1871, and still resides here. In January, 1880, he let the place to L. Shaffner of Keene. 

Other residents : — William Townsend, Dr. K. D. Webster, Luther Abbot, Henry W. Wakefield, Calvin C. 
Bingham, and John Little. 

210. Solon W. Eaton built this house in 1832, lived in it a short time, and sold to Luther 
Abbot, who resided here several years. 

George Learoyd bought the place in 1846, and still occupies it. He is a woolen manufacturer 

by trade. (Page 139.) 

Other residents : — Samuel White; Harrison G. Howe; Joseph Clark; and Charles T. Townsend, better 
known as Thomas Townsend. 

211. Davis H. Wilson and his son-in-law, Ezra Webster, built this house and store in 
1860. After Mr. Wilson's death, Mr. Webster removed to a farm in Alstead. 

Luther W. F. Mark bought the place in 1864, and moved into it the next year, F. A. Howard 
having been a tenant here meanwhile. Mr. Mark was a photographer for some years previous. 
He has since kept a general country store here, and has been appointed Justice of the Peace. 
The Post Office was kept here during Mr. Howard's term of office. 

212. David Brigham came from Alstead when a young man, about 1819, and learned the 
clothier's trade of Luther Whitney at the old shop on the brook near C. B. Hayward's. After 
the mill was moved he continued to work for Mr. Whitney, and afterwards bought the establish- 
ment in company with Thaddeus H Flint. (Page 138.) He lived in the house that stood 
where N. O. Hayward now lives, till 1834, when he built on this spot, where he continued to 
reside till 1843, and then removed to Manchester. About 1862 he went to a farm in Auburn, 
where he died in 1867. 

He was a man of agreeable qualities, which made him many friends. His pecuniary diffi- 



232 aiLSUM. 

culties here turned some of his warmest friends into enemies for a time. But his reverses 
served in the end to show his Christian character ; as in striking contrast to most men of the 
world, he reduced himself to absolute poverty, in the effort to meet the claims of his creditors. 
In 1829, he was chosen Deacon of the Congregational Church, and after removing to Manches- 
ter, was elected to the same office there. He served the town as Clerk and Selectman, and was 
ten years Justice of the Peace. 

Rev. William Hutchinson lived here a year or two after Dea. Brigham left. (Page 112.) ' 

Joseph Hutchinson, son of Rev. William, served three years in the 1st Regiment of Ver- 
mont Cavalry, and suffered much as a prisoner at Belle Isle. He is a farmer at Moretown, Vt. 

Milton Silsby came from Acworth in 1844. He is a woolen manufacturer, and lived in this 
house five years. (Page 139.) He was one of the most liberal supporters of the Methodist 
Church, both in building their Meeting House, and in sustaining preaching. In 1852 he left 
Gilsum, and at present resides in Philadelphia. Joseph Huntoon, his father-in-law, lived here 
with him. 

Rev. Ezra Adams bought this house in 1851, and resided here till his death in 1864. 
(Page 114.) The Adams family still own the house, and have occupied it till 1876. It has 
frequently been tenanted by two families. 

John Little came here from Antrim in 1866 and remained three years. He was an overseer 

in the Tannery. He now resides in Waltham, Mass. 

Other residents : — K. D. Webster, Rev. E. B. Bassett, Alden Green, Robert Cuthbert, Jr., Rev. Horace Wood, 
Thomas Charmbury, Jr., and Cyrus Judson Kingsbury. 

213. Herbert E. Adams fitted for college at Meriden, but was obliged to leave his studies on 
account of the death of his father. He was in the office of Dr. Brown at Hartford, Conn., 
a short time, after which he went into the business of tanning at Bondville, Vt., a year or two, 
and then returned to Gilsum. He built this house in 1876. He is now serving as Superintend- 
ing School Committee for the third time. 

Tenants : — Rev. Horace Wood, Gustave Polzer and John Laing. 

214. Luther Abbot built a store adjoining the south side of his house in 1839. Mr. Learoyd had it moved to 
this spot and fitted up for a tenement. Since 1852, it has been occupied by Mrs. Jennett Hathhorn. 

215. This house was built by Calvin C. Bingham about 1850. Before it was finished he sold 
it to Roswell W. Silsby, who lived here till he left town in 1852. 

Hervey E. Rawson who was connected with his brother in the Tannery business then lived 
here for several years. George W. Tubbs followed him for a year or two, when Mr. Rawson 
returned and remained here till 1865 when he bought the hotel, which he occupied till 1871. 
He has since lived in various places. He has served the town three years as Clerk, and twice as 
Representative to the Legislature. 

After Mr. Rawson, Charles Nash, Jr., resided here till about 1867, when it was sold to the 
firm of Gould, Cuthbert and Minor. John Gould is a woolen manufacturer especially skilled in 
buying wool. He came to Gilsum from Northfield, Vt., in 1867, and resided in this house. He 
carried on the manufacture of Flannels in company with Cuthbert and Minor for five years. In 
1872, they dissolved partnership and he removed to Amesbury, Mass., where he still resides. 
He was Town Clerk for one year. 

Francis C. Minor removed to Gilsum from Northfield, Vt., and carries on the flannel business 
in the firm of Cuthbert and Minor. In September, 1862, he enlisted in the 15th Vt. Regiment, 
Co. C, and served nine months. In November, 1878, he was chosen to represent Gilsum and 
Sullivan for two years in the Legislature. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 233 

Prank L. Minor, son of Francis C, died in early manhood. An obituary notice says : " It 
is with grief we chronicle the death of one of our model young men, beloved by all who knew 
him." 

216. This house was originally a blacksmith's shop built by Chilion Mack. (Page 141.) 
Capt. Port first moved it, and used it a short time for a shop, near where Capt. Chandler's shop 
now stands. About 1843,' Mrs. Sarah G. Sumner had it moved to this spot and fitted up for a 
house, where she lived till 1875. After her death Prances A. Beckwith bought the place, where 
she lives with her mother. 

217. Luther Abbot came to Gilsum in 1828, and built the house on this spot that summer. 
He lived here till 1835, and then was three years in " the burnt house." In 1838, he went to 
the house now owned by George Learoyd, and remained seven years. He lived one year in the 
Hotel and then removed to Stoddard. He first established the Starch Factory, and afterwards 
did custom carding. (Pages 140, 144.) He was also in the mercantile business about seven 
years. (Page 144.) He served the town seven years as Moderator, and as Clerk and Select- 
man two years each. 

John Fletcher, a woolen manufacturer, came to Gilsum in 1833, and lived about a year in 
this house. He afterwards lived in the Boarding House, and in 1836 removed to Massachusetts. 
Charles T. Townsend (best known as Thomas Townsend,) was here several years. He is a 
woolen manufacturer and was in company with George Learoyd. (Page 139.) He removed to 
Peterboro' and afterwards to Milton Mills. 

Other residents: — John Townsend, Robert Cuthbert, F. C. Minor, Harvey B. Miller, Mrs. Wheelock, and 
Horace H. Nash. The house is now used as a store room. 

218. This house was built but not finished at 220, by Wright, Cornell, and Lyman in 1866. 
Robert Cuthbert lived in it two years, on the old spot ; but the falling of earth and stone 

from the bank above, sometimes with force enough to break the windows, led him to move the 
house to this place ill 1869. Mr. Cuthbert emigrated from Scotland, landing in New York, 
Sept. 3, 1852. He is a woolen manufacturer and resided in Andover and Lawrence, Mass., and 
Quechee, Vt., before coming to Gilsum in 1867. 

219. Granite Mill. (Page 139.) 

220. On this spot the Cuthbert house first stood. (See 218.) It is now occupied by a waste house. 

221. Joseph Upton came from Dunstable, Mass., about 1832, and was the first resident in 
the house just built here by Luther Abbot. Mr. Upton hired Mr. Abbot's mill, and with John 
Fletcher as a partner engaged in the manufacture of colored flannels. Owing to poor sales, the 
company failed in 1835, and Mr. Upton removed to Watertown, N. Y. He afterwards went to 
Munsonville, N. Y., and thence to Clarksburg, Canada, where he still resides, and continues in 
the woolen manufacture. His younger brother, Peter Upton, then about 16 years of age, came 
to Gilsum to work for him, and left a little before he did. In 1836, he entered a store at New 
Ipswich as clerk, and the next year was employed in the same capacity in the store of Hiram 
Duncan at East Jaffrey, whose daughter he afterwards married. He became an equal partner 
in the business in 1840. Soon after this, Mr. Duncan died, and he continued the mercantile 

.business with good success, till on the starting of a bank in that village he was chosen cashier 
which position he still holds. He is highly esteemed and trusted by his fellow citizens, having 
represented the town for three successive years in the Legislature. 

Mr. Abbot, the owner of the house, lived here about three years, a part of the time with Mr. 
Upton and Mr. Townsend. 

Joseph Townsend emigrated from England in 1824. He was a woolen manufacturer, 



234 GILSUM. 

and worked in several places in Massachusetts till November, 1835, when he came to Gilsum, 
and hired the Flannel Mill for five years. He lived here till 1839, when he returned to 
Massachusetts. 

James Townsend, son of Joseph, sailed from Southampton, England, and arrived at 
Philadelphia in September, 1820. He is a woolen manufacturer by trade, and resided at 
Framingham, Mass., till 1826. In 1827 he put in operation the Troy Woolen Manufactory at 
Troy, N. Y. Two years later he started a Woolen Mill at North Brookfield, Mass. Afterwards 
was dyer and finisher in Flannel Mills at Lowell, Andover, and North Dighton, Mass. In 1836, 
he followed his father to Gilsum, and the next year removed to Marlboro' where he has carried 
on the woolen manufacture ever since. He is a member of the Congregational Church there. 
This house was burned in 1841. (Page 47.) 

222. Jonathan Twining removed from Townsend, Mass., to Gilsum in 1819, and lived for a 
time on the Grimes place, and after that in various tenements. About 1826, he concluded to build 
his house, and went to work framing the timber in Dea. Pease's mill-yard. When asked where 
he was going to put it, he answered " out doors." Owning no land, he set it on this unoccupied 
spot near the road, the owner making no objections. Here he remained till 1832, when he 
removed to Shrewsbury, Vt. Very few men have so remarkable personal appearance as he, 
having very short legs with unusual length of body. He was " a character " not easily 
described. His business was teaming, taking produce to Boston, and bringing back merchandise 
in return. Being always in needy circumstances his team was noted for the harnesses mended 
with withes and strings. From this circumstance he acquired the sobriquet of " Twisty Twin- 
ing" or " Twiney " as it was usually pronounced. He was a member of the Christian Church, 
and though of limited education had a remarkable gift of language, and preached a good deal, 
especially in Brookfield, Sherburne, and vicinity, in Vermont. His mind became so impaired 
in his old age, that it was necessary to remove him to the asylum at Brattleboro', Vt.. where he 
died at the age of 74. 

223. S. W. Dart's Mill. (Page 137.) 

372. Abbot's Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 142.) 

224. Rice and Rawson's Tannery. (Page 140.) 

225. George W. Newman built this house in 1877, and his son, C. Dudley Newman, has 

occupied it till the present time. He learned the trade of blacksmith and carried on the business 

of carriage-making a year or two. He is extensively engaged in raising fowls, rabbits, and 

other pets. Paul Langlois lives in the house with Mr. Newman. 

347. Newman's Wheelwright and Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 142.) The heliotype opposite represents the 
buildings on numbers 206, 225, and 347. 

226. Charles W. Bingham, after living in various tenements, built this house in 1869. 
(Page 151.) In digging the cellar he found a vein of very fine sand, valuable for polishing 
purposes. He is a mechanic, turning his hand readily to almost any kind of work with tools ; 
has taught singing schools, and is Justice of the Peace. He is also a frequent correspondent of 
several newspapers. 

349. C. W. Bingham's work-shop. 

227. Francis Ashley Howard, after living in various places, built this house in 1865. He 
is a carpenter, and was for some years in the lumber business. He was also in trade with N. 0. 
Hayward for six years. He is Justice of the Peace, and was Postmaster for twelve years He 
has served the town as Moderator, Selectman, and Superintending School Committee, and was 
Representative to the Legislature one year. He was a successful school teacher for many years, 
and is one of the strong supporters of the Temperance cause. 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER TWO. 235 

228. George W. Newman built and settled here in 1845, and remained till 1849. 

Roswell W. Silsby, a woolen manufacturer from Acworth, lived here for a time. In 1852, he 
left Gilsum, and is now engaged in the carpenters' trade at Claremont. 

Wesley Austin came here from Marlow and was overseer in the tannery several years. In 
1878, he removed to Keene. 

Adolphe C. F. Laurent of French descent came from Canada to Gilsum in 1865. He is an 
overseer in the tannery, and resides here. He was educated for a priest, and can write the 
English language more correctly than many of our native born citizens. 

Other residents : — George B. Rawson about twenty years, Alden Green, Henry Morse, Magloire Loiselle, and 
Gustave Polzer. 

229. A. J. Howard built here in 1874. He came to Gilsum from Marlow when a young 
man, and lias lived in various places. In early life he was converted under preaching of Elder 
Rollins. Having a natural gift for public speaking, and being zealous in the cause of religion, 
he was encouraged by his brethren to enter the ministry. He was ordained by Elders Abner 
Hall, 0. J. Waite, and Jonathan Farnham Oct. 23, 1851, and joined the Merrimack Christian 
Conference. He preached in this and the neighboring towns some six or seven years. He has 
always been a strong friend of Total Abstinence. Having joined the Congregational Church, he 
was chosen Deacon in 1876. He was a successful school teacher for some years, and has served 
the town two years as Superintending School Committee. 

230. George W. Newman built this house in 1849, and resided here till 1863. 

George S. G. Porter having resided for a time in Harrisville and Wilmot, returned to Gilsum 
in 1863, and lived in this house three years. He then removed to Lempster and died there. 

Josiah G. Rowell, an overseer in the Tannery, was here a year or two, and removed to Clare- 
mont. He is now living on a farm in Cornish. 

Alden Green was from Stoddard, worked in the Tannery, and lived here about five years. He 
is a very earnest worker in the Temperance cause, and a devoted Seventh Day Adventist. He 
now resides in Norfolk, Conn. 

This house was designed for two families and has had many occupants, among whom were Stephen L. Parker, 
boss-finisher for the Silsbys, and James S. Carpenter who worked in Collins's Factory. 

In 1866, it was purchased by the Congregational Church, and has since been occupied as a parsonage, by Revs. 
Horace Wood and Silvanus Hayward. 

231. This house was built in 1868, by F. A. Howard and Allen Hayward. It now belongs 
to the Tannery Company. 

Peter Lapham was the first resident here. He is of French descent and came from Canada 
in 1855. After living eleven years in Shrewsbury, Mass., he came to Gilsum, and was employed 
in the Tannery. In 1872 he set up business in Keene in company with Hcrvey E. Rawson. 
After two or three years the business was abandoned, and he still resides in Keene. 

Valire Langlois of French descent came to Gilsum from Canada in 1869. Since 1872 he has 
occupied this house, and is employed in the Tannery. 

232. This house was built by C. B. Hayward in 1868. 

Albert R. Corey, the present occupant, is a shoemaker by trade, now employed in the Tannery. 
He came from Lempster to Gilsum in 1866, and has lived in various places. He served two 
years in the war, in the 1st N. H. Heavy Artillery, Co. B. 

Other residents : — Francis C. Minor ; William H. Coy; John Coy; George A. Stevens, a blacksmith from 
Surry; Julius A. Pletzner, now of Stoddard; J. Q. Pickering; Byron Alexander: and David Y. Kenion. 

233. The ell and wood-shed from Amherst Hayward's house was moved here by N. O. Hayward, and fitted up 
for a dwelling, in 1870. George N. Hayward lived here six years. In 1877 Mrs. Hattie D. Pierce bought it and 
built on a kitchen. In 1878 she removed to Lawrence, Mass., and the place has since been occupied by the widow 
Stevens. Other residents : — Franklin W. Roundy and Gustave Polzer. 



236 GIL SUM. 

234. Mrs. Sarah P. Hatw'ard had this house built for her in 1869, and still resides here 
with her daughter and sister. Few persons have so familiar acquaintance with the Bible as she. 

235. George N. Hayward built this house in 1876. 
Tenants in the chambers : — Frederic Bowker, and Charles Hubbard. 

236. George Barrett built here in 1872. Seven years later he removed to Keene. The 

place is now owned by Solomon Mack. 

Other residents : — A. F. C. Laurent, Louis Bourrett, Willard S. Tinker, Hervey E. Rawson, and Robert 
Polzer. 

237. This house was built by N. O. Hayward in 1872. Tenants have been Frank L. Webster, Mrs. E. F. 
Downing, Eugene P. Nash, Joseph S. Bingham, Lawrence A. Gravlin, James A. Nichols, Herbert E. Gates, John 
M. Hill, and Frederic Bowker. 

238. Eugene Carpenter, a blacksmith, came to Gilsum from Surry in 1877. In 1879 he 
built this house, where he resides. 

346. Blacksmith's Shop. (Page 142.) 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN. 

239. Levi Barrett built this house in 1867, and still resides here. 

Tenants : — Rev. James Fitch, Mrs. Mary Mark, Eugene Carpenter, and Thomas Charmbury. 

240. William Campbell came to Gilsum about 1831, and engaged in the awl business. He 
built this house in 1837. In 1847 he removed to Peterboro'. Having been converted to 
Mormonism, he started with his family for Salt Lake. He and his wife died of cholera at St. 
Louis, Mo., and his children were taken in charge and educated by the Free Masons, to which 
order he belonged. 

Three sisters, Mrs. Hathhorn, Mrs. Miller, and Deborah Kidder, lived here about two years, 
worked in the Factory, and took boarders. 

Stephen Collins, a woolen manufacturer, emigrated from Dublin, Ireland, in 1830, and 
settled in Worcester Co., Mass. In 1867, he began business here with his sons. (Page 140.) 
By industry and skill he has been successful in acquiring considerable property, and in 1872 left 
the business to his sons. 

John S. Collins, son of Stephen, resides here and manages the Factory with much success. 
He enlisted in the U. S. Navy December, 1863, and served nine months on board the war 
steamer Neptune. He is fond of reading, and has served the town two years in the Legislature. 

Michael Collins, brother of the preceding, was in business here seven years, and is now 
engaged in extensive manufacturing at Dracut, Mass. He served four months under Col. 
Devens in the 3d Battalion Mass. Rifles. 

Other residents: — Solon W. Eaton; Rufus Guillow; Kimball Metcalf; Kendall Nichols; Ebenezer Jones; 
Edwin Birkenshaw, an Englishman, who went to Ashuelot; and Michael Wall. 

241. Solomon Mack built this house about 1835, and took factory boarders for a year or 
two. 

John Thurston removed from Fitchburg, Mass., to Walpole, where he engaged in farming. 




A>6~^>>^ <£o-r^*S> 



The Heuotype Prititino Co. 126 Pearl St. Boston 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN. 237 

In 1836, he came to Gilsum and entered into company with his brother-in-law, Lyman Gerould, 
in the woolen manufacture, and died here in 1838. 

William Harnden was here five years. He was an Englishman employed in the Factory. 

John C. Guillow came here in 1817,' and, with the exception of three or four years, has 
lived here till the present. He has served the town three years as Selectman. 

Other residents : — David M; Smith, Calvin C. Bingham, Stephen L. Parker, and Henry Morse. 

212. Solon W. Eaton built this house about 1833. He came here from Sullivan in 1831, 
lived in several places and carried on the awl business. (Page 144.) He sold this house with 
his mill, and it has belonged to the Factory Company ever since. 

Lyman Gerould came to Gilsum from Williamsburg, Mass., in 1835, and was in company 
with his brother-in-law, John Thurston, in the manufacture of woolens. He continued in 
the same business, either as partner or employe till 18.30, when he removed to Cavendish, Vt. 
He is now engaged in mercantile business in Kasson, Minn. His two sons are Superintendents 
of Gas Works, one in Newton, Mass. ; the other in Cairo, 111. 

Among the tenants here have been the following : — Kendall Nichols. George H. Temple, Alfred Hoyle, John 
Bahan, John Brennan, John Collins, Michael Dynan, Frank L. Webster, B. H. Horton, Thomas McEvoy, and 
Michael McCaffery. 

243. This house, which is the Factory Boarding House, was the original mill put up by 
Solon Eaton. It was moved here and made over by Gerould and Wetherby in 1845, and has 
had many tenants. 

Harvey Towne came from Stoddard in the Spring of 1855 and kept the Boarding House a 
year and a half, when he returned to Stoddard. He now resides in Marlow village. 

In 1852, Butler A. Whittemore came here from Hancock and resided a little over two years. 
He then went to Dublin and afterwards to Marlow where he died. His widow and his mother 
returned to Gilsum in 18G3. His widow afterwards married J. S. Partridge and resides in 
Alstead. His mother, after living in several places in Gilsum, removed to Claremont, where she 
lives with a daughter. 

Ebenezer Jones, having received a common school education, served an apprenticeship of three 
years with Amasa Whitney, a Clothier at Winchendon, Mass. In 1825 he went into company 
with Henry Gray, and bought a Clothing Mill at Acworth. After seven years he went to South 
Antrim for one year. He then bought a Mill in Wilton, where he was quite successful, but lost 
all through the failure of his partner in 1836. He then went back to Acworth, where with the 
assistance of " six good farmers " he started business again. In the great financial crash of 
1842, he was again reduced to poverty, but after a hard struggle succeeded in paying off the 
farmers and had the Mill in his own hands. He sold out in 1847, and the next year came to 
Gilsum, and was connected with Gerould and Wetherby in the woolen manufacture. In 1849 
he went into company with K. D. Webster in the village store, which they managed for seven 
years, with good success. In 1850 he bought the Factory where he continued the woolen busi- 
ness, at the same time furnishing stock for the Silsbys. During this seven years he probably 
carried on a larger business than any other resident of Gilsum, before or since. In 1857 he 
sold to the Wards, and after traveling for a year, established business in the " Brick Store " at 
Harrisville. After two years he opened also a Clothing Store at Peterboro' to which place he 
removed. In 1865, he retired to " a small Village Farm," where he died at the age of 75. 
While at Winchendon, he united with the Congregational Church during an extensive revival. 
At South Acworth he joined the Methodists, and was steward and class-leader both there and at 
Gilsum. He represented Gilsum in the Legislature of 1855, and was appointed Justice of the 
Peace. In his later years was a Director of the Savings Bank at Peterboro'. 



238 GIL SUM. 

Charles Stearns Faulkner, son of Francis, of the firm " Faulkner and Colony," Keene, came to Gilsum in 1841, 
and rented the mill of Gerould and Nichols. He carried on the manufacture of flannels for about a year and a 
half, and had 15 to 20 thousand dollars of annual-business. He was then a single man. In 1813 he returned to 
Keene where he settled in business with his father, and died in 1879. " He received an academic education in the 
schools of Keene and Walpole. In 1871 he visited Europe, where he spent two years. At the time of his death he 
was a director of the Cheshire National Bank, and a trustee of the Cheshire Provident Institution. He was for 
two terms a Representative in the Legislature of the State. He was a prominent and liberal member of the Uni- 
tarian Society in Keene, and a leader in business circles." 

Other residents: — Francis Phillips, Kendall Nichols, John Carpenter, John R. Willard, Michael Bowen, Wil- 
liam Barr, George B. Fiske, Mrs. Eugene Nash, and Silvanus Guillow. 

211. In 1816, John C. Guillow removed a small hammer shop built by George S. Howard between the road and 
the canal, to this spot, fitted it up for a house and occupied it one year. Various factory hands have since lived 
here. In 1873, a small shanty temporarily occupied by George Barrett, near number 236, was moved here and 
fitted up for the west part of this house. Daniel Hickey lived here till 1879, when he removed to Connecticut, and 
George B. Fiske now occupies it. 

245. Collins's Mill. (Page 110.) 

345. Lucius R. Guillow built this house in 1865. In 1878, he built the shop on the other 
side of the road. He is a carpenter by trade, and is now serving his third year as Selectman. 
374. School House. (Page 131.) 

246. Roswell Nash moved the wheelwright shop from A. W. Kingsbury's garden, (382,) 
and made it into a house on this spot. After three years he sold to Henry Grant who lived here 
a year or two. A Frenchman named Edward Cote was here a short time. Franklin W. Roundy 
hired the place one year. In 1870 James Chapman bought it and remained three years, when he 
sold to Martin Bates the present occupant. 

247. Solomon M. Howard about 1856 removed the house from " Kansas " (173,) and 
rebuilt on this spot. After ten years, he sold to Varnum Polley, the present resident. 

248. John Dort from Surry settled here about 1787. In 1820, he went to Bainbridge, Penu. 
Obadiah Pease lived here several years. He was a noted school-master, and was appointed 

Justice of the Peace. He served the town as Moderator, and eight years as Clerk. 

Daniel Winchester came here from Westmoreland in 1836, and remained about five years, 
when he removed to Pomfret, Vt., and afterwards to Springfield, Vt. He served as a soldier in 
the war of 1812. He was an elder in the Christian Church and preached here and in Vermont 
for many years. His daughter says, " A grander man in the noble simplicity of truth and good- 
ness never lived." 

Alfred Beckwith, a machinist, lived here a year or two, and removed to Stoddard. 

Chilion Mack came to this place in 1840. He spent several years in the mines of California, 
where he had a varied experience. He is a wheelwright by trade, but has spent most of his life 
at farming. He was the first Postmaster in Gilsum, and held the office fourteen years. 

Other residents: — James Kingsbury, Antipas Maynard, Merit Winter, Joseph Thompson, Solomon Mack, and 
Walker Gassett. 

249. Elisha Clark bought the south half of the 14th Lot, 6th Range, of Stephen Bond in 
January, 1781. He came from Worcester, Mass., at the same time with Squire Whitney who 
bought the north half of the same lot. He probably built a log house near this spot and resided 
here about three years when he sold to Samuel Clark of Worcester, Mass. This Samuel Clark 
removed to Gilsum in 1784 and lived on this place, which he sold in 1786 to Jonathan and 
Joseph Clark who were probably his sons. 

Jonathan Clark built the present house in 1791, and .remained here till his death in 1830. It 
is remembered that Rev. Levi Lankton of Alstead preached at his funeral from Job 5 : 26. 

Joseph Clark, a carpenter, lived here after his father's death. About 1837, he removed to 
Vermont, and afterwards to Raymondsville, N. Y. He was Captain in the ; ' Troopers." 

Hartley Thurston removed from Alstead to this place in March, 1840. In June, 1854, he 





^6^r2_ 




rheiWtotjjeJmtmg i 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN 239 

went to Manchester, Wis., where he engaged in farming. In May, 1868, he again removed, 
finding a home in Berlin, Wis. While on a visit at his brother's iii Alstead, Feb. 13, 1880, he 
died instantly of heart disease. 

He was a man of scholarly tastes and more than ordinary natural ability. With a common 
school and Academy education obtained in his native town, he became noted as a successful 
teacher, having begun at the early age of sixteen, and followed the profession for more than 
thirty years. His services were in such demand, that terms of schools were frequently fixed 
early or late as might be necessary for his accommodation. He taught forty -six terms of school 
about equally divided between Alstead and Gilsum. His wife was also an accomplished teacher, 
and first cousin to the celebrated Horace Greeley. He has been always an active, enterprising 
citizen, especially prominent in educational matters. He served as Superintending School Com- 
mittee for ten years in Alstead, and three years in Gilsum. In Manchester he served in the same 
office, and also as Town Clerk several years. 

His only son, Andrew Jackson Thurston, died in the U. S. army at Nashville, Tenu., at the 
age of 29. " He was an excellent young man, and his death cast a deep gloom over his family, 
and a large circle of friends." 

Arnold B. Hutchinson, brother of Rev. William, resided here about two years. He is now 
living at Portsmouth. 

A. J. Howard bought this place which he still owns, and lived here about fifteen years. 

Other residents : — Asa Cole, Lyman Petts, Simon Wheeler, George A. Stevens, John Pletzuer, William 
Chapin, Joseph Herrmann, and Silvanus Guillow. 

380. Here Hartley Thurston built a small house about the year 1849 for John H. A. Young who married Edna 
Beckwith and lived here two years. They went to join the Mormons and died on the way to Utah. This house 
was moved to the village by James L. Wilson and is the north ell of Jacob Nash's house. (189.) 

367. Second School House in District number Two. (Page 130.) 

250. Polly Clark had this house built in 1829. About three years after she married John 
U. Weeks, an Englishman, who remained here six years, and removed to Vermont. (Page 153.) 

There have been many residents here, among whom are the following : — Isaac Wallis ; James Bolster ; John 
Cole; George K. Smith; John Graham an Englishman, who removed to Harrisville; Jacob D. 1ST ash; George S. 
Howard; Alonzo B. Cook; Rev. Henry Archibald, (Page 120;) Horace Howard; George H. Temple; William H. 
Coy; James W. Russell; James Chapman; and Mrs. Charlotte Cram. 

251. Charles Nash moved a house to this spot, from 255, about 1826, and lived here fifteen 
years. He then lived a year or two at Newman's mill, (277,) and in 1814 removed to Sullivan, 
where John Locke now lives. He died at Niagara, N. Y., in 1878. 

William Banks, a shoemaker, (page 142,) came from Marlboro' to Gilsum in 1820. He 
lived first at the lower village, and in 1828 went to the Dr. Hosmer place for ten years. In 
1841, he came here, and has a shop across the road. He was brought up by his uncle William 
Banks who died here. He has served the town as Selectman. 

Elmer D. Banks lives here with his father, and is now serving for the second time as Select- 
man. 

252. Here Daniel Converse built a log house in 1795, and lived here fifteen years. 

253. Here Daniel Converse had a temporary hut or shanty while building his log house. 

254. Daniel Converse of Swanzey bought 60 acres here in December, 1794, for <£40. The 
next Spring he came bringing a cow, a yoke of oxen and a pig, and found shelter in a sort of 
hut built against a large rock. (253.) The first night the dog barked constantly, and in the 
morning they found a path trod where a bear had walked back and forth trying to get the pig. 
Mr. Converse went to work clearing and built a log house near the present bar-way. (252.) In 
1810, he built a house on this spot, where he resided till his death in 1852. He was for some 
years Deacon in the Baptist Church at Sullivan. 



240 GIL SUM. 

Daniel Converse, Jr., lived with his father till 1826, when he removed to Sherburne, Vt. 

David Converse lived with his father a few years, and in 1844 removed to Alstead. He was 
Captain in the militia. 

Abram Converse, the youngest son, continued to reside here till his death, which occurred 
just eight days before his father's. The widow soon moved away, and now resides with her 
sister in Surry. 

Henry Howard lived here a year or two and the place has not been occupied since. 

255. Samuel Nash built a house on this spot about 1816. He sold it to his brother Charles, 
who moved it to 251. 

256. On this place, in Alstead, lived Barney Hill, half-brother to Dea. Converse. 

257. James Ballard built the house now standing here, not far from 1800. He was Select- 
man in 1794. Luther Ballard, adopted son of James, lived here till about 1824, when he 
removed to Nashua. 

Marvin Gates lived here five years after his marriage in 1881. He then went to the 
Bond place four years, and after that lived in various places, till he removed to Alstead in 1849. 

Heman Gates came here from Putney, Yt., in 1855, remained about two years, and removed 
to Alstead. He was well-known as a very zealous Mormon 

Other residents : — Antipas Maynard, Merit Winter, Solomon Mack, Win. F. Cummings, Luke Parkhurst, 
Joseph N. Taft of Richmond, Francois Bellisle, and Joseph W. Pierce now of Keene. 

258. James Ballard built a log house here, probably about 1792. In 1804, it was used as a 
school house, and Polly Whitney taught there that year. Capt. Solomon Mack lived in it the 
next year, while building his house. David Clark and perhaps some others, also lived here. 

259. David Thompson from Alstead built a log house here about 1789, and lived here nearly 
fifteen years. 

Joseph Razor came here about 1803, and remained a few years. He was a shoemaker, and 
returned to Walpole. 

260. Joseph Plumley built a log house here, probably about 1788, having lived before that 
on number 165, and also in Alstead. He afterwards moved to the place now occupied by John 
Hammond. 

Solomon Mack, Jr., came here in 1796, and built the house now standing in 1805. His father 
lived here with him for some years. He was Captain in the militia, and served the town as 
Selectman. 

Solomon Mack, 3d, lived here for a time with his father, and still occupies the old homestead. 
He was the last of the Captains under the militia law, and now, although far past the prime of 
life, he is exceedingly fond of the martial sound of fife and drum, aud still retains the spirit and 
witty geniality of his youthful days. He has been for many years an ardent and indefatigable 
worker in the Total Abstinence cause. 

Merrill E. Mack, son of Solomon, Jr., removed to Pecatonic, HI., in 1839, and died there in 184-1. The local 
paper says of him : — 

" Li his death we lose one of our best citizens. As a christian, he was sincere ; as a husband and father, all 
that we would seek in that sacred relation ; as a citizen, honorable and upright in all his acts and dealings ; as a 
neighbor, just and obliging ; as a friend, steadfast and true. If indeed ' the memory of the just is blessed,' long 
and fondly will the remembrance of him be cherished. If l the just should live,' then is he in the full enjoyment of 
that immortal reward, the anticipation of which soothed him on a bed of sickness and death, and sweetened the 
last moments of his existence." 

261. James Chapman built this house in 1877. 

262. Charles H. Nichols built this house and settled here in 1878. He had formerly been 
a merchant at Fitchburg, Mass., and he and his wife are members of the Rollstone Church in 
that city. 





/7/7/// v ^^C 





J^&i-iA^tJZ) cZo-^^^^ 1 



.,—. n.....— ,..„ r- mo rv.^. c m Rnmnu 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN. 241 

263. Israel Loveland, Jr., built a house on this spot about 1800, and resided here till his 
death. He enlisted in the Revolutionary army, when under age, and served five months near 
Lake George. 

264. John Chappel of Hebron, Conn., bought the east half of the 11th Lot, 6th Range, of 
Berzeleel Mack for <£20 in October, 1785. He built a log house on this spot and lived here till 
1794, when he sold to Israel Loveland. (Page 165.) 

In January, 1795, Israel Loveland, Jr., came to this house and lived a short time before he 
bought the east part of his farm. 

378. Ananias Tuisus had a log house on this spot. He was a brother of Abishai Tubbs of 
Marlow, and served in the Revolution. (Page 38.) About 1796, Israel Loveland, Jr., bought 
the place and lived here four or five years. 

265. Israel B. Loveland lived with his father on number 263 till about 1830, when he 
built this house, where his widow still resides. He was one of the early friends of Temperance, 
and a valuable citizen. He served the town as Selectman five years, and as Clerk twenty-two 
years. The records furnish lasting evidence of his peculiar fitness for that office. He was also 
Justice of the Peace. 

Sidney Barrett bought the farm and lived here two years, when he removed to Sullivan. 
Other residents : — Kendall Nichols, Samuel Bruce a tin-peddler from Lempster, and Gustave Polzer. 

266. Benjamin H. Horton built this house in 1877. He is Town Clerk the present year. 

267. Benjamin Corey built this house in 1876, and still resides here. 

268. Willard S. Cady put up the house on this spot about 1852, but did not finish it. Truman 
Bill bought it and resided here till his deatli in 1860. His brother Otis lived here with him 
several years. John Bahan came to Gilsum in 1869, and lived here two years. After five years 
at Harrisville lie returned to Gilsum, and now lives near the Loveland Bridge. (242.) He 
served nearly three years in the 14th N. H. Reg't, Co. G. 

Charles E. Crouch and his family lived here till 1877. Lawrence A. Gravlin bought the 
place and settled here in 1879. 

Other residents : — Joseph S. Bingham, and John Pletzner. 

269. This was the shop number 194, and was moved here for Otis Bill about 1861. He 
was crippled by an accident when a schooL-boy, and was helpless for many years. He died here 
in 1878. 

Daniel Carley Guillow was a shoemaker, and after living in many places, came here to take 
care of Mr. Bill, and died here in 1876. John L. Foss next came here, and died in 1879. 
Byron Alexander now occupies the place. 

270. Luther Hemenway came from Boylston, Mass., and settled in Sullivan in 1818, 
removed to Gilsum in 1830, and built this house in 1832. When he came, this was a thick alder 
swamp, and his daughter says, when she lived in Sullivan, she was always afraid to go by here, 
and " thought Gilsum was an awful place." 

Mr. Hemenway was an ingenious mechanic, and in 1826 patented an awl handle. These 
handles had a large sale, and the principle involved is still in use. He and his wife were mem- 
bers of the Baptist Church in Sullivan, but under the influence of Elder Rollins joined the 
Christian Church in Gilsum. Having much zeal and a natural gift for public speaking, he 
became a preacher, and was ordained in his own house about 1835. The house was unfinished, 
and some of the partitions were taken down to accommodate the gathering. He preached in 
the vicinity, as opportunity offered, mostly in schoohhouses, and baptized many converts. When 

16 



242 GIL SUM. 

asked how he succeeded in a certain field that seemed very discouraging, he answered, "It is 
easy enough converting them, but the trouble is they won't stay converted." He was interested 
in " every good word and work," and especially zealous in the cause of temperance. (Page 96.) 
He lived to great age, and none could doubt the sincerity of his piety towards God, and good-will 
towards men. His descendants are numerous. 

Luther S. Hemenway lived with his father and in the shop till 1844, when he removed to 
Daysville, 111., and having become a Mormon went to Utah in 1847, where he still resides. 

Artemas P. Hemenway resided here with his father several years. In 1852. he removed to 
Springfield, Mass., ami was employed in the United States Arsenal, and afterwards by a private 
firm in the manufacture of arms. In 1875 his health was suddenly destroyed by "inhaling the 
oxide from red-hot lead with which he was experimenting in the interest of the firm in whose 
employ he had for years held an important position." He retired to a small farm in Douglas, 
Mass., where he died in 1879, at the age of sixty. 

A brother writes : — " My brother, so full of life, how could he ever become old, and his enlivening song for- 
ever cease? Iu his gayest moments he would outrival the bob-o-liuk in love-time. Art. could put fitting words to 
the warbler's song, and the bird gallantly acknowledged his rival. Can his voice forever cease, and his intellect 
fade, and the light of it forever slumber, like the everlasting rocks? Let us hope not. but that he lias a happy 
change to a life of greater enjoyment, and is now with kindred that passed before." 

His friend, J. B. Smead of Fitchburg, Mass., writes: — "I first met him in 1841, and our acquaintance 
rapidly ripened into a friendship that has continued uninterrupted ; and when separated, a letter correspondence 
was maintained up to within a short time before his departure for the • Beautiful land by the spoiler untrod.' " 

" In all moral questions, he was ever on the side of right, and dearly as he prized the approbation of his 
friends, could not compromise conscience for any consideration. Deeply religious in his mental and moral consti- 
tution, he was far too progressive to be shackled by any system of creeds. He was an enthusiastic worker in the 
cause of temperance, in which field he did efficient service early and late, not only in the word spoken ' in the right 
time and in the right place,' but in the singing — as only he could sing — the most stirring temperance songs." 
(Page 94.) 

li In the social circle his presence was ample security against dullness. While he was generous — the mere 
worldling would say 'to a fault' — he had too sacred a regard for the right in all thiugs, to indulge his generosity 
at another's expense." 

" He had a very receptive mind, grasping the truth at a glance, as by intuition. He was scrupulously honest, 
and open as the day. 

'I trow that countenance cannot lie, 
Whose thoughts are legible in the eye.' 

In a close acquaintance of nearly forty years, I never saw in him the least prevarication ; to dissemble was for him 
impossible." 

" In politics, from his first vote to his last, he was for true Democracy, in the highest and best sense of the 
term. In the Fremont campaign, he was an indefatigable worker, and the political songs of that time were sung 
by him with ' telling effect.' " 

" The combination of his highly religious and affectional nature constituted his most prominent characteristic. 
Up to the time of the failure of his health, at about fifty-six years of age, he had all the vivacity and buoyancy of 
youth ; and though cut off in the midst of his years and usefulness, he had really lived a hundred years, if meas- 
ured by the standard of average manhood. He did nothing at halves ; for him to touch a subject was to lay hold 
of it." 

" I can hardly refrain from giving the first stanza of a hymn that was an especial favorite with my dear Arte- 
mas, which he often sang, and with an unction, always repeating the last two lines of each stanza. 

' Ye objects of sense, and enjoyments of time, 
Which oft have delighted my heart, 
I soon shall exchange you for joys more sublime, 
For joys that will never depart.' " 
" Alas ! — 

' That I should have to say I hncto him, 
And have not in possession still.'" 

E. Perley Hemenway, son of Artemas P., was a graduate of the High School at Springfield, 
Mass., in 1867, and of the Scientific Department of Dartmouth College in 1870. He was then 
employed for a year in machinery drafting for Smith and Wesson at Springfield, Mass. The next 
year he went to Hartford, Conn., and engaged in drafting for the Connecticut Valley Railroad, 
and afterwards became their chief assistant engineer. He was employed one winter in the " State 




~^^ 



/-^tf?, 



t^7-^€y 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER SEVEN. 243 

evening drafting schools," at Springfield, Mass., and had charge of the same schools for two 
winters at Northampton, Mass. The care of his father, during the first part of his protracted 
sickness, withdrew him from business for about two years. Since October, 1878, he has been 
Mechanical Engineer for the Washburn and Moen Manufacturing Co. of Worcester, Mass., and 
employed principally in drafting and conducting experiments.* 

George W. Taylor, a grandson of Elder Hemenway, has resided here since 1872. 

271. This was built for an awl shop by Elder Hemenway in 1830, and he lived in it two 
years before building the house. 

David M. Smith, son-in-law of Elder Hemenway, lived here several years, and removed to 
Springfield, Vt. He was sent one year to the Legislature, and received the appointment of 
Justice of the Peace. 

Charles H. Cumminga was a son of Elder Charles Cummings of Sullivan, (page 120,) and 
lived here about three years. He served the town two years as Moderator. 

Other residents : — Luther S. Hemenway; Artemas P. Hemenway; Joseph B. Smead, now of Fitchburg, 
Mass.; Lorenzo Rice from Woodstock, Vt. ; Alexander Brown ; Lorenzo Derby; George O. Dow; John E.Dow; 
Joseph S. Bingham ; and John II. Boody, the present occupant. 

272. Joseph Foster's mill. (Page 144.) 

273 Jacob D. Nash moved this house from the hill near the old Guillow place, (294,) 
and lived here a few years. 

Henry C. Lawton was here in 1865, and died here. In January, 1864, he enlisted from 
Acworth in Troop L of the 1st N. H. Cavalry, and served till the close of the war. He was 
reported missing at the battle of Winchester, but was " gained from missing," and promoted 
from Corporal to Sergeant, Ap. 30, 1865. 

Simeon A. Mason from Keene bought this place in 1870. Seven years after he went to 
Marlow and let it to Daniel Nevers, who remained a year or two. Solomon M. Howard is the 
tenant at the present time. 

274. Benjamin Thompson came from Alstead and settled here about 1798. When a boy he 
lost his right hand in a "corn mill," but could labor successfully at all kinds of farm-work. He 
was a man of great zeal and enthusiasm in religion and whatever else he engaged in. John 
Thompson lived here with his father till his death in 1840. (Page 151.) 

Levi Barrett came here from Stoddard in 1841, and remained till 1867, when he removed to 
the village. 

James L. Bates came from Keene in 1839, and hired the Squire Hammond place. After 
living in various places, fourteen years of the time in Sullivan, he settled here in 1871, and 
remained till 1879. when he removed to Acworth. 

275. Warren Farrington, a house painter, built a log house on this spot. He afterwards 
built on number 280, and still later lived in the old Fuller house. 

David Nash afterwards lived here. He and Philip R. Howard were married the same evening 
in Philip Howard's log house. 

276. Here was a log house, with oiled paper in the windows instead of glass. Whether 
built by Philip Howard is uncertain, but he is the first resident now remembered here. 

Michael Murphy, an Irishman, lived here a year or two, about 1847, and removed to Alstead. 

277. Orlando Mack built this house in 1831. In the Spring of 1839, he removed to Illi- 
nois, and the next year settled in Butler, Montgomery County, where he spent his life. 

He was a man of more than average energy and perseverance in business and achieved considerable success. 
He was known as a public-spirited citizen, having at heart the progress of the community and county in which he 

*This sketch belongs in Chapter 31, but was received too late for insertion there. 



244 G1LSUM. 

lived. He showed this spirit, not only in educational and religious matters, but took a great interest in all 
improvements calculated to benefit his neighbors, such as the establishment of mills, public roads, and was ever 
ready to help forward all public enterprises. His immediate neighbors feel that they have lost a kind and obliging 
neighbor and friend, the community a good man, and the county an honest, upright citizen. In all the relations 
of life he performed every part and every duty that devolved upon him faithfully and well. A good man full of 
years, an estimable citizen is gone. His death has left a void that cannot easily be filled. — Local paper. 

Jesse Hemenway came from Marlboro' about 1837 and remained till 1842, when lie swapped 

the place for a farm in New York to which he removed. Charles Nash took the place a few 

years. In 1848 Mason Guillow settled here and remained fourteen years. 

Other residents : — Levi Gates, Jacob D. Nash, Charles Osgood, Joseph S. Bingham, Horace Howard, and 
Leander Pratt. 

278. Otis G. Isiiam built this house in 1856, where he died four years after. Daniel W. 

Bates has resided here for several years. 

Other residents : — J.Dana Wyman, Francis C. Howe, Ariel Carpenter, Joseph N. Taft, William Smith, 
George Wright, William F. Bruce, James Bates, and Henry Grant. 
368. Newman's Saw Mill. (Page 137.) 

279. Mrs. Harriet H. Deets built here in 1865. She was a woman of marked peculiari- 
ties, and was formerly well-known as a peddler of children's books and trinkets, at Worcester. 
Mass. After her death, her son George occupied it a year or two. Joseph S. Bingham was 
here a short time. In 1879 Francis F. Bates bought and settled here. 

280. Warren Farrington built this house and lived in it a year, when it was only boarded 
up at one end. Esek T. Green from Taunton, Mass., lived here a short time. 

Thomas Howard from Marlow settled here about 1886, and remained here till his death in 
1857. In his later years he was very zealous and ready to speak in the cause of temperance and 
religion. His son, A. J. Howard, lived here with him several years. 

Lyman G. Pierce came here in 1865, and resided here till 1878. He has been a sea-faring 
man, and has visited many parts of the world. He is very peculiar, and at times insane. He 
now resides at Worcester, Mass. 

Clement Uriah Bates came here in 1878, and has bought the place. In April, 1864, he 
enlisted from Bradford in the 1st N. H. Cavalry, Troop B, and served till the close of the war. 
A fortnight before mustering out, he was promoted to Corporal. 

281. Levi Nash built a log house on this spot about 1815, and lived here many years. 

282. Ananias Tubbs built a log house on this spot, probably about 1796. In 1798 Dudley 
Smith came here and lived about two years. 

283. Dudley Smith built a house on this spot about 1800, and lived here about six years. 
Antipas Maynard removed from Bolton, Mass., and settled in Sullivan about 1797. Five 

years after, he came to Gilsum, and lived on this place about fourteen years. He lived after- 
wards on different farms till 1828, when he removed to Keene. 

He was "highly esteemed as a citizen and a christian man." His wife " was an estimable lady and even in 
her advanced years was cheerful and made sunshine wherever she was." Lambert Maynard, their oldest son, was 
for many years proprietor of the New England House, Boston, Mass. Jesse Maynard, another son, a baker by 
trade, resided in Boston, Mass., many years, where he was a member of the Common Council, and now resides in 
Worcester, Mass. 

Amherst Hayward lived here in 1817, and it was here N. 0. Hayward was born. 

William Hayward lived here about 1832. He afterwards lived in the house now occupied by 
Capt. Chandler, and at some other places. He removed to Manchester, and afterwards to Law- 
rence, Mass., working at his trade of machinist. He lived a short time with his brother George 
on a farm at Landgrove, Vt. He next went to Bridgeport, Conn., where he was employed for 
many years in the manufacture of Wheeler and Wilson's sewing machines. Becoming infirm 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FIVE. 245 

with age, he returned to Gilsum, where he still resides. He has been a very social man, and 
extremely radical in his views. He was a zealous follower of Garrison, and even left the church 
for a time on account of his anti-slavery zeal 

Other tenants : — John Bingham, Jr., Selden Borden, David Clark, and Joseph Clyde. 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 

RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FIVE. 

284. John Grimes came from Maine about 1806 and lived on the Asa Nash place several years'. 
He went to Roxbury in 1820, where he remained ten years. He then returned to Gilsum, and 
after living a short lime on the place south of Edouard Loiselle's (155,) he removed to this place 
where he built a house. Several of his children were notoriously non compotes. 

Josiah Grimes continued here after his father's death till 1859, when he removed to Stod- 
dard and afterwards to Marlow. About 1870, he went to Westmoreland, where he was killed 
by the falling of a bank under which he was at work. He was well-known for many years as an 
essence peddler, and was frequently called Dr. Grimes. His manner of speech sometimes 
tempted would-be wits to make sport of him, but he generally got the better of his assailants. 

Perry H. Waldron, of Indian descent, removed from Dighton, Mass., in 1858, and came 
from Stoddard to this place in 1860. In 1863, the house built by Mr. Grimes was burned, and 
Mr. Waldron immediately built what is now the ell part of the house. Two years later, he built 
the rest of the house. In 1867, he removed to Nelson. Hiram N. Davis lived here with his 
father-in-law a year or two. James L. Bates was here a year or two. Jotham A. Bates settled 
here about 1870, and still occupies the place. 

285. Brooks Hudson came from Connecticut with the Kilburns and went with Capt. Kilburn 
to the war. After the war, he settled on this place, where he died about 1800. 

A family tradition says that at one time he was on guard over a fine peach orchard. Geu. Washington came 
along and asked liim about the peaches, and took some to eat, and told him to eat. While they were eating, 
Arnold went by in flight. They saw him, but didn't mistrust who it was. He was near enough to have shot him, 
had they known. Gen. Washington was then on his way to the fort to look after Arnold's management there. 

James Hudson lived here after his father's death till about 183:'., when he removed to Surry, 
and about 1836 to Vermont. He was a preacher in the Christian Church. 

Joseph Clyde, a carpenter, came from Hancock in 1827, and lived here two years, when he 
went to the Maynard place for a year. He next removed to Alstead, and then to Marlow. 

Other residents : — Samuel Clark and Jonathan Twining. 

286. This house was built in 1876 for James Davis and has not been occupied since his death. 

287. Joshua Isham. of Bolton, Conn., (called " Esom" in the deed,) bought the east half 

of the 14th Lot. 8th Range, for .£18, of Silvanus Hayward, Ap, 22, 1794. He probably began 

clearing about that time, and having built a log house came here with his bride in 1798. About 

1800, he settled on the place where George H. Carpenter now lives, and in 1815 went to Alstead. 

James F. Isham. learned the trade of watchmaker and carried on tin' business at East Alstead. He was 
appointed Post Master under President Tyler in 1841, ami held the office till his death in 1*74. " He was for 45 
years a deacon in the Congregational Church, beloved and respected by all. as an upright man and a devoted 
Christian." 



246 aiLSUM. 

Solomon Smith settled here about 1803. He was from Dracut, Mass., and remained here 
about five years, when he returned to Massachusetts. In 1839, he came back to Gilsum, and 
lived where Henry Grant now does, where he died in 1859, aged 89. 

381. On this spot appears to have been a log cabin. In searching records, 1 find that in 
October, 1789, Oliver Holman of Brookfield, Mass., sold this place for £35 to " Prince Gun, a 
Black Man." In the Census of 1780 " One Black " is reported. (Page 110.) Putting these 
facts together, it seems probable that Prince Gun, after having been in Gilsum for a few years, 
had saved a little money, and bought this place, and settled here. Nothing is known of him. 

288. Elisha Pendell settled here before the Revolution, and in 1779 was one of the Select- 
men. In some old deeds this place is mentioned as " the Pendell lot." In 1785, Irene Pendell, 
probably his widow, sold the place for £50. She was then of Montague, Mass. 

Luther Holmes settled here about 1798, and the place is still called the Holmes lot. 
After Mr. Holmes, a Mr. Whitcomb, the father of Mrs. Luther Ballard, is said to have lived 
here a short time, and the place has since remained vacant. 

289. This house was built in 1848 by Charles Nash for his son, George H. Nash, who 
resided here four years and removed to Swanzey. 

Charles Nash, Jr., was here a short time with his brother George, and then lived in the 

village. In 1867 he removed to Iowa. 

Other residents : — Cyrus R. Bliss, Lucius L. Goodenough, Gleneira J. Guillow, Solomon M. Howard, and 
Leander Pratt. 

290. This house was built about 1851 for Cyrus R. Bliss who lived here twelve years and 
removed to Massachusetts. 

William H. Bates has lived here since 1870. He enlisted from Bradford, April, 1864, in the 
1st N. H. Cavalry, Troop B, but soon left on account of sickness. 
Other residents : — Amasa Barron, and J. William Bates. 
369. N. O. Hayward's Saw Mill. (Page 137.) 

291. Silas Davis was brought up by John Nash and built this house about 1830. His uncle 
afterwards gave him a small farm in the edge of Sullivan, where he built a log house on number 
299, and went there to live about 1841. 

Other residents : — David Nash, Alonzo Cook, George Bates, B. F. Jefts, and Lucius Davis the present 
occupant. (Page 44.) 

292. Paul Farnsworth came from Surry about 1799 and built a log house on this lot, prob- 
ably a few rods east of this spot, in which he lived a few years. After him Daniel Nash was 
here a while. 

John Guillow, of Italian descent, came from Gill, Mass., about 1806, and two years later 
setted on this place. In 1829, he built the house now here. He studied medicine with Dr. 
Palmer, (page 181,) and bought some of his books. He also attended some medical lectures, 
but never took a degree. He was known as Dr. Guillow, but never practiced much. His 
descendants are numerous. 

Other residents : — Francis F. Bates, B. F. Nevers, Warren Howard, Joseph Dupies, and Luther Guillow. 

293. John Nash settled here in 1796. He lived here forty years, and having no children, 
left the place to his nephew, Cyrus Bliss, who remained here till his death in 1872. The well 
on this place is probably the deepest in town, and was dug for Mr. Nash by Silvanus Hayward. 
Alfred Bolton, brother-in-law of Mr. Nash, lived with him a few years, and returned to Taunton, 
Mass., in 1817. Jacob D. Nash lived here about a year. 

294. Jacob D. Nash built a house here in 1851, and afterwards removed it to number 273. 

295. Asa Nash built a log house here in 1809, where he lived about fifteen years. He afterwards built the 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FIVE. 247 

house now standing, which has been occupied by various tenants, including the following : — Joseph Jolly and 
B. F. Nevers. 

297. David Dean, a blacksmith from Taunton, Mass., settled here about 1801. He made 

board nails and edge tools. 

296. David Dean, Jr., built this house and resided here for many years. 

Other residents: — .Samuel Frost, Warren Farrington, J. Win. Bates, and Harvey Hales the present occupant. 
"298. Here a man earned Howe lived for some years, and one or two of his children were buried near by. 

299. Here Silas Davis had a log house in Sullivan. 

300. Samuel Cokey came from Tewksbury, Mass.. and bought this place of Ezra Loomis in 
1781. While building a house, he boarded at Dea. Bond's. About that time he went on foot to 
Billerica, Mass., and brought home two dozen panes of glass on his back. His brothers Joshua 
and William settled near him in what is now Sullivan 

Benjamin Corey followed bis father on this place, and built the house now standing, in 1823. 
In 1876 he removed to number 267 where he still resides. 

Woodbury Corey, grandson of Benjamin, has lived on the old place since 1873. 

301. Samuel Derby was a cooper from Behoboth, Mass., and settled here about 1795. 
Samuel Lawrence came here from Swanzey in 1802. He moved an old school bouse from 

Sullivan and lived in it about three years. He returned to Swanzey and was drowned there. 
His brother, Isaac Lawrence, lived here with him in 1803. 

John Grimes came here about 1806 and lived a year or two. 

302. Daniel Steele married Samuel Derby's daughter and lived here from 1797 to 1803. 
388 and 38!t. All that is known of these places is, that a Boynton lived on one, and a Rich on the other. 

303. John Grimes bought this place in 1807, and built a log house, where he lived about 
twelve years. 

Asa Nash settled here in 1824. and built the house now standing. He was for many years 
the leading man of this part of the town, and called himself " king of the hill." He joined the 
Christian Church, and was ordained Deacon by Elder Hemenway. 

Sylvester Nash, son of Asa, still occupies the place, which be carries on with remarkable 
success, considering that he has but one leg. (Page 153.) His brother Joel lives with him. 

304. The house on this spot was a shop built on number 370. 

John Barron moved it here about 1850 and lived in it ten years, when he removed to Stod- 
dard, where he still resides. 

Harvey Bates next occupied it till 1873 when Adelbert Nash bought it and still lives here. 
376. School House. (Page 131.) 

305. Elijah Derby, possibly a brother of Samuel, built a log house near this spot. 

In 1799, Maturin Guillow from Gill, Mass., bought the place. Be built the house now 
standing, soon after. 

Asa Bradford Nash, son of Dea.. Asa, is the present owner. 
371. A. B. Nash's Grist Mill. (Page 136.) 

306. John Davis built a log house here in 1811 and lived in it six years. 

307. John Davis came with his mother from Shutesbury, Mass., in 1794, and lived for 
seventeen years on the " Eaton place " in the edge of Sullivan. In 1817 he built the house on 
this spot. He built the stone chimney himself, and hewed and framed the timber with a common 
ax. He still lives here at the age of 87, being the oldest man in town. 

Lewis Davis, son of John, resided in Boyalston, Mass., and afterwards in Underbill, Vt. 
In 1865 he returned to Gilsum and lives here with his father. Hiram H. Davis, bis son, served 
three years in a Vermont Regiment, and was sun-struck. Another son, Wiliard Milan, died of 
wounds received in the battle of Cedar Creek, Va. 



248 GILSVM. 

308. Levi Nash had a log house here. 375. Old Log School House. (Page 131.) 

309. James Davis built a log house here about 1797. The present house was built by 
James Morse about 1850. George W. Bates settled here about 1856. 

Other residents : — John Barron, James L. Bates, Levi Nash, Gardner Nash, and Cyrus R. Bliss. 

310. Levi Nash had a log house here. 311. Here Daniel Nash had a log house. 

312. Thomas Powell had a hut here beside a great rock, about 1801-5. 

313. James Davis built a log house here in 1843. This was the last log house built in 
Gilsum. The road then went near the river. About three years after, the shop from number 
370 was moved here and fitted up for a house. Jotham Bates lived here a while, also Charles 
B. Crouch. 

314. Linus Nash built a house on this spot about 1834. In 1839 he moved it to number 315. 

315. Josiah Guillow came here in 1849, and lived in this house about five years. It was 
afterwards moved and is now Adelbert Nash's barn, number 304. 

316. Josiah Guillow built this house in 1854 and has resided here ever since. He has 
served the town as Selectman. 

317. Martin Comstock settled here and built a house about 1856. 

370. This was a turning mill built by Jacob and Linus Nash. (Page 145.) While standing here, it was used 
for a tenement and occupied by Harvey B. Miller, Willard S. Cady, and perhaps others. 

379. Orsamus Nash built a house in 1859 and lived here about two years. (Page 44.) 

318. J. Philander Nash built this house about 1847. He served nine months in the 12th 
Vt. Regiment, Co. A, and was in the battle of Gettysburg. He now resides in Walpole. 

Other residents : — James W. Due, Amos Nash now Amos Wilbur, Charles E. Crouch, Gilbert Guillow, Henry 
Howard, and Mrs. Lucetta Cook. 

319. Ezra Howard moved a blacksmith's shop from Marlow to this spot, and made it into 
a house in 1871. In 1877 he went to the Raymond place in Marlow, number 341. 

320. Ephraim Howard built this house in 1870, and in 1878 Lucius M. Miller removed here. 

321. Zebedeb Whittemore from Marlow built a log house on this spot in 1822. He was a 
Revolutionary soldier, and his wife is remembered as " a very neat woman." His son, Prentiss 
Whittemore, and his son-in-law, Samuel Plagg Bryant, lived here with him. In 1826 they 
returned to Marlow. 

392. Old Downing place in Marlow. 

322. Ira Emerson Comstock built this house in 1854. He lived here eight years and 
removed to Sullivan. 

Other residents : — Amasa Barron, B. F. Nevers, and Ephraim Howard. 

323. William E. Comstock came from Sullivan in 1823, and built a small house near this 
spot. In 1849, he built the present house, where he died in 1876. 

Other residents : — B. F. Nevers, Luther Guillow, and L. Milan Miller. 

324. Near this spot was the hut where " Dilly Wolf " lived a year or two. (Page 47.) 

325. Daniel Nash had a log house here for several years. 

326-7-8. James Davis built these three houses, in which he and his mother lived at different times. 

329. Philip Howard lived here a few years. 

330. Charles Xasii had a house here a short time. 

Lydia Smith of Taunton, Mass., married Abram Nash and removed to Shutesbury, Mass. 
About 1794, she moved with seven children to Sullivan. In June of that year she bought of 
James Grimes of Swanzey what is known as the Eaton place. She was said to be of Indian 
descent and was the mother of all the families of the Nash name both here and at Chesterfield. 

331. James Nash, her oldest son, bought 84 acres in the 13th and 14th Lots of the 10th Range, 
of Ananias Tubbs for $150, in August, 1797. He built a house on this spot where he spent his 
life. He was a Revolutionary soldier, and his grand-daughter, Mrs. Rhoda Brown of Saxon- 




O^fiT^j c^tfn^jr, 



c 



a^UyHijf 



RESIDENTS IN DISTRICT NUMBER FIVE. 249 

ville, Mass., has his powder horn, also a six dollar continental bill that he had. He set out the 
white-oak, and chestnut, and willow now growing here. His wife, Matilda Waters of Taunton, 
Mass., was the oire afterwards murdered. (Page 152.) All that remain in Gilsuin of the Nash 
name are his descendants. 

332. Cyrus Bliss built a house on this spot, where he lived for many years. 

333. Cyrus Bliss built a log house here about 1823. 

334. Daniel Nash settled here about 1818, and remained here till his death in 1830. 

335. This is the house of Daniel H. Corey in the edge of Sullivan. 

336. This is also in Sullivan, and is where Curtis Nourse lived for many years. 

337. Nathan Woodcock came to Gilsum from Swanzey in 1811, and lived for a short time 
in the Blood house. He built a log house on this spot, where he resided a few years, and 
returned to Swanzey. 

338. Daniel Isham was a goldsmith by trade, and lived somewhere near here 1800-2, when 
he returned to Bolton, Conn., and afterwards removed to Weathersfield, Vt. 

Moses Farnsworth came to Gilsum from Swanzey in 1791, and settled on this place. Jacob 
Ames came from Keene in 1813, married the widow Farnsworth and resided here till his death 
in 1818. Moses Farnsworth, Jr., remained here till 1835 and removed to New York. 

339. Franklin Barker settled on this spot about 1825, and removed to New York in 1836. 

340. Abraham Griffin bought a part of the Samuel Wadsworth lot marked S. W . on the 
map, (page 24,) in July, 1776, and built a log house near this spot. Eleven years after, he was 
killed by the fall of a tree. (Page 151.) Samuel Farnsworth was administrator of the estate. 
The real estate was as follows : — " One acre improved land, £1. 10 sh. ; one house, 10 sh. ; 199 
acres wild land, £58." In the Probate Records he is called Abraham Griffith. 

Abner Raymond resided here ten or twelve years and removed to Keene in 1837. Calvin 
Wilson lived here in 1839-40. 

341. Jonathan Raymond settled here in Marlow about 1790, and was killed by the fall of a tree in 1798. 
(Page 151.) His son John lived here many years. The [■lace is now occupied by Ezra Howard. 

342. This house is also in Marlow and was the residence of Cutler Knight. Julius H. Pletzner has lived here 
since 1S76. 

386. Union School House. (Page 129.) 

343. Levi Blood, a soldier of the Revolution, (page 39,) built the house on this spot about 
1793. The town line runs through the house leaving " the living part " of it in Gilsum. In 
1798, he married Mrs. Betsey Downing of Marlow. Five years later she united with the Congre- 
gational Church in Stoddard. Being unable, on account of feeble health, to go to the Meeting 
House, a church meeting was held in the barn, she being carried thither in a chair. She was 
there baptized and received to the church, and the Lord's Supper was administered. Her son 
James, then thirteen years old, was baptized on her account. His son, Franklin Downing, of 
Swanzey, has the chair used on this occasion. 

Mrs. Blood's first husband was Daniel Downing who removed from Antrim in 1794 and 
settled a little north of the town line in the edge of Marlow. (392.) Four years after, he died 
leaving an only son, James Downing, who was brought up at Gen. Blood's in Gilsum, but on 
coming of age settled on his father's farm in Marlow. He was an industrious farmer and 
accumulated considerable property. After the new road was opened from Keene to Marlow, 
he and his wife removed their church relation to Gilsum. For nearly thirty years following, 
they were among the most reliable and efficient supporters of the gospel here. Though their 
home was four miles distant, their seat was very rarely vacant on the Sabbath. 

In 1861, their children and grandchildren, (then 28 in number,) met at the old homestead and celebrated their 



250 GIL SUM. 

golden wedding. The day was spent in " cordial greetings, agreeable conversation," and appropriate festivities, 
with prayer and remarks by their pastor, Rev. Mr. Adams, and Rev. Mr. Smith of Alstead, interspersed with song 
and mutual presentation of gifts. (Appendix I.) 

Mr. Downing married for his second wife the youngest daughter of the first minister of Gilsum. 
" He was a man of strong physical powers, and mental energy, modest and unassuming, kind and obliging, 
charitable, liberal in his contributions to Christian enterprises, economical in his expenditures, never idle." 

His children and grandchildren, now widely scattered, have been everywhere valuable citizens, and three 
of them for many years among the best supporters of the Congregational Society in Gilsum. The removal of 
Franklin Downing to Swanzey in 1873 was a great loss to the place. Daniel and James Downing remain near 
the old homestead in Marlow, both families retaining their church connections in Gilsum. 

Calvin Wilson, who had previously lived at the Abner Raymond place for two years, came 

here in 1841 and remained four years. He afterwards lived two years in Gilsum village, 

1847-8, and some years in Stoddard. In 1863 he came back to this place, where he died in 

1864. His widow remained here till 1877, when she went to live with her daughter in Marlow. 

Other residents : — Walker Gassett, Almon P. Tyler, and Edward W. Moulton. 

385. Jonathan Heaton removed from Keene to Gilsum about 1780 and settled in what is now the southeast 
part of Sullivan. His son Nathaniel in 1843 removed to the farm formerly owned by Rev. Dr. Robinson in Stod- 
dard and soon after bought the Farnsworth place. (338.) He built a barn on spot numbered 385, known as the 
Heaton barn. His widow now resides in Keene. 



PART III. 



GENEALOGICAL 



" Once in the flight of ages past, 

There lived a man : and who was he ? 
Mortal ! howe'er thy lot he cast 
That man resembled thee. 

He suffered — but his pangs are o'er ; 

Enjoyed — but his delights are fled; 
Had friends — his friends are now no more ; 

And foes — his foes are dead. 

He saw whatever thou hast seen ; 

Encountered all that troubles thee ; 
He was — whatever thou has been; 

He is — what thou shalt be. 

The annals of the human race, 

Their ruins, since the world began, 

Of him afford no other trace 
Than this — there lived a man ! " 



EXPLANATIONS. 

Ancestral records are in small type at the beginning of each family. When the family enters Gilsuni, the 
name of its head is in small capitals, followed by his personal record, and the family name is not afterwards 
repeated. Each generation of descendants is indented, but in smaller type than the preceding. Daughters' chil- 
dren not having the family name are in Italics, followed by the surname in parentheses. 

The place of marriage is uniformly omitted. In ancestral records the omission of the place of births or 
deaths denotes that it is unknown to the writer ; in other cases the omission of the place signifies Gilsum. Where 
no State is named, New Hampshire is to be understood. 

Peculiarities in the spelling of names are taken from the person's own writing, or that of his near relatives. 

See also the Preface. 

ABBREVIATIONS. 

b. born. m. married. 

bapt. baptized. q. v. which see. 

bro. brother. r. resides, resided, or residence. 

ch. children, child, or childhood. rem. removed. 

d. died. s. settled. 

dau. daughter. unk. unknown to the writer. 

d. ch. died in childhood. num. unmarried. 

d. inf. died in infancy. y. young. 

inf. infant or infancy. 



GENEALOGIES. 



\ Ti\i(\H[^ George Ahbot emigrated from Yorkshire, Eng., about 1640, and s. at Andover, Mass., where 
-CX-D D\J X • he d. Dec. 24, 1681, O. S., »t. 66. He m. 1647 Hannah, dau. of William and Annis Chandler. 
Their ch. were John; Joseph d. inf.; Hannah d. ch.; Joseph killed by Indians; George; William; Sarah; Benjamin; 
Timothy ; Thomas; Edward drowned y. ; Nathaniel; and Elizabeth m. Nathan Stevens. Benjamin b. Andover, 
Mass. Dec. 20, 1661; d. there March 30, 1703; m. 1685 Sarah dau. of Ralph Earnum. Ch. : — Benjamin, Jona- 
than, David, and Samuel. David b. Andover, Mass. Jan. 29, 1689; d. there Nov. 14, 1753; m. 1718 Hannah 
Danforth, and had Hannah d. inf.; Hannah: David; Solomon: Sarah m. Robert Hildreth of Dracut, Mass.; 
Elizabeth d. y. ; Josiah d. y. ; Jonathan; and Benjamin d. y. Solomon d. Dracut, Mass. Dec. 17, 1797; ni. 1756 
Hannah Colby. Ch. : — Hannah, Solomon, Sarah, Daniel Colby, Elizabeth D., Lydia, and David. Daniel Colby, 
Esq. b. Dracut, Mass. Oct. 26, 1766; d. there Sept. 18, 1842; m. 1792 Patience Coburn. Their ch. were Patience 
m. William Ames, Esq. of Hollis ; Luther ; Daniel C. d. inf. ; Ziba ; Dolly m. Leonard Peabody of Bradford, Mass. : 
and Daniel. 

Luther Abbot b. Dracut, Mass. May 20, 1795; d. Stoddard March 2, 1872; m. 
Dec. 27, 1825 Nancy Locke b. Sullivan Ap. 10, 1802, dau. of Calvin and Sarah 
(Jewett) Locke. [She m. 2d July 6, 1873 David "Wilkinson of Marlboro', where 
he d. Nov. 3, 1879; and she r. with her sister at Concord.] 

1. Lvdia Eveline Miller (adopted) b. Feb. 25, 18-26 ; d. Westfield, N. Y. Nov. 1847. 

2. William Luther (adopted) b. Boston, Mass. Ap. G, 1848; m. Dec. 17, 1867 Ella Eliza- 
beth Osgood b. Milford, Mass. Feb. 14. 1853, dau. of Joseph and Sarah (Lovejoy) Osgood. 

1. Ada Nancy b. Stoddard Ap. 8, 1870. 2. Fred Luther b. Peterboro' March 6, 1S72. 3. Samuel Gerould 
b. Peterboro' Aug. 25, 1875; d. Stoddard Dec. 26, 187S. 4. Abner William b. Stoddard Ap. 28, 1878. 

A T\ A 1X/TC Henri/ Adams of Devonshire, Eng., emigrated with eight sons, 1630, and s. at Braintree, 
£»■ -L' -£*- -"-I- k5 • Mass. Of his sons, one returned to England; Joseph remained at Braintree; Henry, 
Jonathan, Edward, and Peter s. at Medfield, Mass.; Thomas and Samuel s. at Chelmsford, Mass. Edward's sons 
were Henry rem. to Canterbury, Conn.; John r. Medway, Mass.; Dea. Jonathan r. Medway, Mass.; James r. Bar- 
rington, Mass.; Elisha; Edward; and Eliashib r. Bristol, (R. I. ? ) The sons of John were Thomas r. Amherst, 
Mass. : Jeremiah r. Brookfield, Mass. ; Phineas r. Medway, Mass. ; Abraham r. Brookfield. Mass. ; John r. Medway, 
Mass.; Edward rem. to Milton, Mass.; Eleazer; Daniel; Obadiah ; and Jonathan r. Medway, Mass. The sons of 
Obadiah were David r. Spencer, Mass. ; Obadiah r. Bellingham, Mass. ; Nathan r. Medway, Mass. ; Jesse r. Holliston, 
Mass. ; and Stephen r. Medway, Mass. Stephen had Ezra b. Medway, Mass. 1775, m. Nabby Partridge, dau. of Joel 
and Waitstill (Morse) Partridge of Medway, Mass. Their ch. were Cyrus, Stephen, Ezra, and Nancy. 

Ezra Adams b. Medway, Mass. Aug. 28, 1809; d. March 20, 1864; ni. 1st Oct. 
16, 1839 Abigail Bigelow b. Winchendon, Mass. July 26, 1814, d. Feb. 23, 1858, 
dau. of Win. and Betsey (Maynard) Bigelow. 

1. William Bigelow b. Surry Nov. 17, 1810 ; m. March 22, 1869 Emily Dunham Francis b. 
Edgartown, Mass. Ap. 8, 1843, dau. of Charles and Mary Stuart (Dunham) Francis. 

1. Frank Stanley b. Xenia, O. March 12, 1870. 2. Mary Abbie b. Xenia, O. Dec. 9, 1873. 
3. Emma Parker b. Xenia, O. Ap. 9, 1875. 4. Alice Esther b. Xenia, O. Dec. 3, 1876. 

2. Ann Maria b. Roxbury Nov. 13, 1843 ; d. there May 21, 1844. 

3. Herbert Eugene b. Roxbury Aug. 14, 1845 ; m. Dec. 24, 1871 Eliza Richmond Francis b. 
Edgartown, Mass. Aug. 1, 1845, dau. of Charles and Mary Stuart (Dunham) Francis. 

1. George Eugene b. June 14, 1873. 2. Charles Ezra b. Nov. 14, 1874. 3. Albert Francis b. July 13, 1876. 

m. 2d Oct. 20, 1858 Alice Melissa Ware b. Swanzey May 30, 1829, dau. of Dea. 
Jonathan and Alice (Hamblet) Ware. 

4. Myron Winslow b. Nov. 27, 1860. 



254 aiLSUM. 

Jonathan Adams b. Hebron, Conn. 1732; d. Sept. 8, 1813; m. March 11, 
1756 Hannah Yemmons b. Hebron, Conn. March, 1735 ; d. Feb. 5, 1833. 

1. David b. Canterbury, Conn. March 7, 1757 ; d. Oct. 1, 1844; m. Jan. 7, 1784 Alice Love- 
land (q. v.) d. Oct. 18, 1846. 

1. Elsea b. Oct 28, 1784; m. Ebenezer Bill (q. v.). 

2. Anna b. Feb. 2, 1786; d. Westmoreland March 13, 1815; m. Jan. 15, 1811 Amasa Chaffe b. Westminster, 
Vt. March 30, 1786, d. Westmoreland March 22, 1863. 

1. Anna L. (Chaffe) b. Westmoreland Sept. 26, 1811; m. Otis Ammidown (q. v.). 

2. Constant (Chaffe) b. Westmoreland Oct. 15, 1813; d. there July 19, 1815. 

3. Hannah b. Aug. 21, 1787 ; m. Stephen Mansfield (q. v.). 

4. Salome b. March 22, 1789 ; m. Calvin May (q. v.). 5. Amasa b. March 19. 1793 ; d. Lempster Sept. 26, 1806. 

2. Hannah m. Oct. 16, 1786 Bliphalet Farnam. 

3. Jerusba b. Sept. 25, 1774: m. David Fuller (q. v.). 4. Amasa d. Dec. 24, 1777. 

Mason Adams son of James Mason Adams of Franklin, Mass.; m. Ruth Car- 
penter (q. v.) ; was taxed here in 1822; d. Walpole; family rem. West. 
Peter Adams m. June 30, 1778 Dinah Porter " of Gilsum." 
Stephen Adams m. and d. Marlow about 1856; was taxed here 1849-50-53. 

\ "1 l"|tj TY^TT ^ man °^ **" s name came from England and s. at Mendon, Mass. He had a son, 
-t\— YU\J JAiAvy-LL. N a t/ lan Aldrich, who first s. at Smithfield, R. I., was in the army at Cambridge, 
Mass., when Gen. Washington took the command, and was in the battle of Bunker Hill. After the war he rem. 
to Richmond. His son Levi b. Smithfield, R. I. 1777; d. Richmond May, 1852; m. Mary Bolles; and had Jerome 
Bonaparte. 

Jerome Bonaparte Aldrich b. Richmond Ap. 16, 1808; m. Aug. 16, 1836 
Sabrina Knight dau. of Joseph and Anna (Wilder) Knight of Marlow; r. Bos- 
ton, Mass. 

1. Willie b. Sept. 16, 1837 ; d. the next day. 2. Adalette E. b. Sept. 20, 1838 ; d. Boston, 

Mass. Aug. 6, 1854. 3. Estella G. b. Marlboro' Aug. 31, 1842. 

4. Florence F. b. Boston, Mass. March 17, 1845 ; m. Jan. 20, 1865 William H. Tuttle. 

1. E. Maud (Tuttle) b. Boston, Mass. Aug. 20, 1866. 

2. Carrie E. (Tuttle) b. Lynn, Mass. Sept. 20, 1869; d. Boston, Mass. Dec. 22, 1869. 

3. Eliza D. (Tuttle) b. Boston, Mass. June 24, 1871. 

4. William H. (Tuttle) b. Cambridge, Mass. Oct. 20, 1873; d. there Nov. 7, 1874. 

5. Herbert L. b. Concord, Mass. June 27, 1848 ; d. there Aug. 31, 1848. 

6. Rosabelle V. b. Boston, Mass. June 10, 1851. 

A T TT , "V" A IVri^TrT? Jahez Alexander, youngest son of Thomas who was killed in the French 
AJUUA.i\l^ UXJ1X. war, was b. Marlboro' 1755; d. Acworth Feb. 18, 1845; m. 1st Lois Pool, 
who d. Acworth June 19, 1821, and left 11 ch. He m. 2d Dec. 13, 1821 Betsey Way. 

Betsey (Way) Alexander b. unk. 1792. [She m. 2d Capt. Solomon Mack 
q. v.] 

1. Elkanah M. b. Acworth Jan. 14, 1824 ; d. Lempster Oct. 28, 1870 ; m. Arvilla Booth 
dau. of Truman and Sophia (Spencer) Booth of Lempster. 

1. George E. 2. Eugene A. 3. Orra T. 4. Ada S., and one more. 

2. Jabez L. b. Acworth Nov. 8, 1828 ; m. 1st Sally A. Cram, dau. of Willard and Harriet 
(Straw) Cram ; m. 2d ■ Brown ; r. Boston, Mass. 

3. Chauncev b. Acworth Dec. 15, 1831 ; d. Ap. 26, 1851. 

4. George Byron b. Acworth Aug. 12, 1833 ; m. Jan. 8, 1860 Pamela Statira Bignall b. 
Alstead Nov. 16, 1844, dau. of Joseph Perkins and Harriet Cambridge (Beckwith) Bignall. 
(See Redding.) 

1. Frank Ellsworth b. Feb. 5, 1862. 2. Hattie Monona b. Feb. 12, 1866. 3. Fred Warren b. Dec. 13, 1868. 
4. Minnie Lusylva b. Oct. 20, 1871. 5. George Clarence b. March 28, 1874. 6. Bertie Almon b. Nov. 14, 1S78. 

Robert Alexander a Frenchman, m. Selina ; r. Burlington, Vt. 

1. A son b. Feb. 26, 1857. 

ATT Ti^lV -^^ Allen, ancestor of all the Surry Aliens, was b. Windsor, Conn. Aug. 14, 1733, O. S.; 
Xi-LiJ-J-L'n • d. Surry Aug. 18,1808; m. 1756 Elizabeth Chapin b. Conn. 1736, d. Surry Nov. 13, 1820, 
dau. of Ebenezer and Elizabeth (Pease) Chapin. They had Abel; Phineas m. Rachel Platts; Love b. Gilsum 



GENEALOGIES. 255 

(now Surry) Nov. 29, 1766; Samuel; Susannah m. Dr. Samuel Thompson, the founder of the Botanic system of 
medicine; David m. Achsah Dart (q. v.); Noah; and two more. Abel, Jr., b. Conn. 1756; d. Surry 1839; m. March 2, 
1786 Susanna Wilber b. Nov. 29, 1757; d. Surry Sept. 10, 1811. Their ch. were Susanna m. John S. Britton; 
Abel; Mary m. Elijah Mason; Elizabeth m. Alvin Alden of Alstead; Daniel ; Joseph b. Surry May 28, 1798, m. 
March 5, 1820, Lyna Abbot, and had a large family of ch., among whom is Hon. Wm. H. H. Allen of Claremont; 
and Calvin, r. Troy. Abel, Jr., m. 2d Delane , and had Delane b. Surry Oct. 18, 1814. 

Daniel Allen b. Surry Nov. 4, 1795; d. Keene Ap. 20, 1874; m. Dec. 29, 1816, 
Deidamia Wilber b. Westmoreland Ap. 14, 1800, dan. of Hananiah and Phebe 
(Brockway) Wilber. He served 3 months in the war of 1812, and was Captain in 
the militia. 

1. Phebe Wilber !>. Surry Oct. 10, 1817 ; m. March 3, 1853 Joseph Cross b. Swanzey Oct. 
25, 1824, son of Eldad and Betsey (Heffron ) Cross. He served in the 6th N. H. Reg't, Co. 
F, and is supposed to have d. in the rebel prison at Florence, Ala. 

2. Susan Deidamia b. Surry May 22, 1820 ; m. Nov. 14. 1844 Alba Marie Bragg b. Brandon, 
Vt. Ap. 25, 1822, son of Roswell and Rachel (Twiss) Bragg of Swanzey ; r. Alstead. 

1. Susan Deidamia (Bragg) b. Keene March 23, 1816. 

2. Daniel Alba (Bragg) b. Charlestown Aug. 25, 181S; d. Langdon Sept. 12, 1854. 

3. Man/ Jam' (Bragg) b. Charlestown June 15. 1S.50. 4. Emily Melissa (Bragg) b. Langdon Ap. 27, 1853. 

5. Marshall Franklin (Bragg) b. Langdon Dec. 28, 1855. 6. Alma Eliza (Bragg) b. Langdon March 20, 1858. 
7. Nellie Etta (Bragg) b. Alstead Aug. 28, 1860. 

3. Daniel b. Surry Jan. 2, 1822 : d. there Dec 12. 1841. 

4. Hananiah Wilber 1>. Surry Dec. 11, 1823; in. Ap 28, 1855 Lydia Ann Long b. Swanzey 
May 1, 1826, dau. of Joseph and Gillias (Rice) Long; r. Alstead. 

1. John Herbert 1>. unk. Sept. 14, 1865. 2. Edward Lawson b. unk. May 28, 1S67. 

5. Emily b. Surry Oct, 5, 1825 ; d. there July 24, 1831. 

6. Hiram Britton b. Surry Ap. 20, 1828: m. Elizabeth Osborne of Peterboro' ; r. California. 

1. Etta Viola. 2. Irving Elmer. 3. Mary. 

7. Joshua Britton b. Surry Jan. 19, 1880 : m. Nov. 29,1877. Lydia Ann Marden b. Lancaster 
Sept. 24, 1836, dau. of John and Mary Ann (Chamberlain) Marden. 

8. Emily Trythena b. Surry Jan. 26, 1832 : m. Jan. 21, 1869, Dr. Azro Hebard Reynolds b. 
Tunbridge, Vt. Dec. 14, 1838, son of Joseph Warner and Eliza (Cleaveland) Reynolds. 

1. Zoe Emily (Reynolds) b. Barnston, P. Q. Dec. 20, 1S69. 

2. Josephine Deidamia (Reynolds) b. Tunbridge, Vt. Ap. 8. 1873. 

9. Levi b. Surry Jan. 18, 1834 ; r. Keene. 

10. Sarah Jane b. Surry Ap. 13, 1836; d. Alstead Feb. 23, 1873; m. Ap. 2, 1863, Henry 
Rockwell Thayer b. Acworth Jan. 18, 1839, son of Larned and Serena (Fay) Thayer. 

1. Albert Larned (Thayer) b. Alstead Sept. 13, 1866. 2. Jennie Serena (Thayer) b. Alstead Sept. 14, 1868. 

3. Addie Maria (Thayer) b. Alstead Sept. 19, 1870. 

11. Benjamin Franklin b. Surry Dec. 2, 1838; m. Jan. 1, 1867, Ellen Webster, (q. v.); is 
a printer : r. Keene. 

1. Frank Webster b. Keene Sept. 15, 1871. 2. Ida Mary b. Keene March 11. 1874. 

12. William Brockway b. Surry Feb. 14, 1841 ; in. May 29, 1865, Kate Elizabeth Smith b. 
Cheshire, Mass. May 1, 1848, dau. of John Minor and Diantha (Sornberger) Smith. 

1. Cora Bell b. Keene Oct. 28, 1866; d. there Sept. 6, 1869. 2. Arthur Smith b. Keene Sept. 6, 1877. 

13. Daniel b. Keene June 28, 1843, m. Nov. 5, 1874, Margery Rutledge. He is a tailor at 
Boston, Mass. 

14. Lucius Lorenzo b. Keene, Sept. 26, 1845 ; r. there. 

Lewis L. Allen, son of Galen and Hannah (Copeland) Allen, from Acworth, 
was clerk for Jones and Webster, 1853-4. 

Phinehas Allen m. Eleanor . 

" 5th dau." Sarah Ford b. Oct. 10 or Nov. 20, 1780. Other ch. were Abijah, Lois, Fanny, 
and several more. 

Jacob Ames from Keene m. 2d 1813 Mrs. Martha (Woodcock) Farnsworth. 
They had one ch., Fisher b. June 5, 1814. The will of Jacob Ames was proved 
July 8. 1818, and the ch. mentioned were Jacob, Hannah Ferren, Thomas F., 
Simeon, Silas, and Mary Jane Farnsworth. 



256 GIL SUM. 

A IVTlVrTT^O W IV This name is var io us lv spelled Aimedown, Airnedowne, Ammeydowne, Ami- 
£*--m-MXXXJ\_7 TT ill don, and Amadon. " The latter is believed to be the correct name." The fam- 
ily origin is from the French Huguenots. Roger Ammidown, who s. in Salem, Mass., before 1636, is supposed to 
be the ancestor of all of the name in America. He rem. to Weymouth, Mass., and was one of the first proprietors 
of Rehoboth, Mass., in 1644, where he was buried Nov. 13, 1673. His wife was Sarah and their ch. were Sarah, 
Lydia, Roger, Ebenezer, and Joanna. Roger, Jr. m. Dec. 27, 1666 Joanna Harwood, and had Philip, Henry, and 
Mehetable. Philip m. 1st Mehetable Perry by whom he had Henry and Roger. He rem. to Mendon, Mass.; m. 
2d Ethemore Warfield, and had Ichabod, Mary, Philip, Ephraim, Ethimore, John, and Hannah. Philip. Jr. b. 1708- 
m. Submit Bullard, and had Caleb, Joseph, and Reuben. Caleb b. Aug. 1736; d. Ap. 13, 1799; m. Ap. 14, 175S 
Hannah Sabin; r. Charlton, Mass. Their ch. were John, Luther, Calvin, Mehetable, Susannah, and Hannah. 
John b. Ap. 5, 1759; d. Dec. 3, 1814; m. June, 1783 Olive Sanger, and had Caleb, Otis, Larkin, Lewis, Susannah, 
Adolphus, Callina, John, Olive, and Julina. Otis b. Jan 1, 1785 ; d. Dec. 19, 1827; m. Sally May, and had Otis and 
Elbridge. 

Otis Ammidown, Jr. b. Southbridge, Mass. May 7, 1809; m. Feb. 14; 1839 
Anna L. Chaffe. (See Adams.) 

1. Auiasa Otis, b. Dec. 31, 1843 ; m. Sept. 4, 1866, Sarah C. Black of Keene. 

1. Lucius E. b. Westmoreland Sept. 19, 1870. 2. Emma C. b. Keene Feb. 5, 1876. 

2. Elbridge P. b. Southbridge, Mass. May 11, 1846. 

3. Sarah A. b. Westmoreland Feb. 3, 1848 : m. Ap. 22, 1871, Horatio S. Black of Keene. 

1. Frank S. (Black) b. Keene March 11. 1S74. 

4. George W. b. March 8, 1850 ; d. Westmoreland May 17, 1864. 

5. Abbie S. b. Wellington, Conn. May 12, 1852; d. Southbridge, Mass. Aug. 17, 1854. 

6. Carlina M. b. Southbridge, Mass. Feb. 28, 1855. 

Orin H. Annan of Manchester m. May 3, 1854 Amelia Barrett of Stoddard. 
Jerusha Archer was probably dau. of Benjamin Archer of Keene, who m. 
Dec. 13, 1764 Elizabeth Ellis. 

1. Virita b. May 29, 1798 ; d. June 17, 1800. 

Henry Archibald, a Baptist minister, 1848-50. 

A "R1VOT T^ Seth ArnoU m - Au S- 15 > 174 4 Abigail Shadier of Haddam, Conn., where they both d. 
-Ci-J-tLTI V^-Li-I-/. Dec. 1747. They had two sons, Ambrose and Seth b. Haddam, Conn. Sept. 3, 1747; 
was a Sergeant in the Revolution; was twice a prisoner; was a tanner, shoemaker, and farmer. He rem. to 
Westminster, Vt. 1782, where he d. July 6, 1849, being nearly 102 years of age. He m. Oct. 8, 1786 Esther 
Ranney b. Westminster, Vt., where she d. July 11, 1841. They had 7 children, of which the oldest, 

Seth Shailer Arnold b. Westminster, Vt. Feb. 22, 1788; d. Ascutneyville, Vt. 
Ap. 3, 1871; m. 1st Jan. 22, 1817 Ann House b. Andover, Conn. Jan. 8, 1788, d. 
Westminster, Vt. Feb. 3, 1841, dau. of Elijah and Hannah H. (Davenport) 
House. 

1. Mary Ann b. Alstead Nov. 16, 1817 ; d. West Westminster, Vt, March 1, 1857 ; m. 
June 23, 1846 Rev. Alfred Stevens, D. D. 

2. Sophia b. Aistead June 28, 1820; d. unm. South Hadley, Mass. June 29, 1841. 

3. Olivia b. Alstead June 2, 1822 ; m. 1st Sept. 10, 1843 Henry Dwight Hitchcock, M. D., 
who was instantly killed by cars at Middlehoro', Mass. Feb. 23, 1847. 

1. Henry Shailer (Hitchcock) b. Middleboro', Mass. June 1, 1846. 

m. 2d May 11, 1852 Newton Gage b. New London Dec. 29, 1817. 

2. Seth Newton (Gage) b. Bristol Ap. 2, 1857; graduated from Dart. Coll., Scientific Dept. 1879. 

3. Alfred Stevens (Gage) b. West Townshend, Vt. Feb. 8, 1860. 

4. Caroline b. Alstead March 15, 1827 ; d. there May 2, 1852 ; m. Oct. 1849, Albert Scrip- 
ture Wait, Esq.; r. Newport. 

1. Fred Arnold (Wait) b. Alstead Ap. 16, 1852; d. Saxton's River, Vt. July 16, 1852. 

m. 2d Nov. 5, 1844 Mrs. Mary (Davis) Grout b. Mass. Feb. 17, 1786; d. Acworth 

May 22, 1852. 

m. 3d Dec. 20, 1854 Mrs. Naomi (Jones) Hitchcock, d. Ascutneyville, Vt. Feb. 

1873. 

Ephraim Ashworth b. England 1819; d. Washington 1879; m. March 10, 1859 
Mrs. Fanny Hill b. England 1823. 



GENEALOGIES. 257 

Nathaniel W. Aspenwall b. unk. 1801 ; m. Laura , b. unk. 1802. 

1. Anna S. b. unk. 1829. 2. Laura B. b. unk. 1833. 
3. Mary W. b. unk. 1836. 4. Sarah C. b. unk. 1843. 

A nn\\7/"^f^T"| Jonathan B. Ativood r. Plymouth, Mass. and had a son Daniel Lothrop m. Mary Whit- 
-£*- -*- * » \J\J U . marsh Standish, a descendant of Miles Standish, and rem. to Middleboro', Mass. Their 
ch. were Mary Lothrop, Daniel Webster, George French, and William Whitmarsh r. New Bedford, Mass. 

George Fkench Atwood b. Middleboro', Mass. July 7, 1810; m. 1866 
Juliaett Briggs McCoy (q. v.) ; r. Wiuchendon, Mass. 

1. Mary Miranda b. Jan. 28, 1867. 2. Eva Roberts b. March 15, 1871 ; d. Boston, Mass. 
Nov. 24, 1876. 3. Hattie Bell b. Boston, Mass. Oct. 1, 1876. 

A TTQrMriyj" A man by this name r. in Mason and had a son, Thomas Austin, b. Mason 1755; d. there 
-a- U IO J. ill . Dec. 18, 1804; m. Ruth Russell b. 1756, d. Richmond, Vt. June 24, 1840. Their ch. were 
Robert, Jane, Hannah, Ruth, and Thomas. 

Eobekt Austen b. Mason Aug. 20, 1785; d. March 23, 1852; m. 1st Jan. 14, 

1811, Rebecca Farmer b. Towusend, Mass. Ap. 1, 1777, d. Braintree, Mass. Nov. 7, 
1819. 

1. Haskell b. Swanzey Ap. 12, 1812 ; d. Surry Aug. 16, 1813. 

2. Haskell b. Surry Nov". 22, 1813 ; d. Halifax, Mass. 1877 ; m. 1st Dec. 5, 1842 Mary Ann 
Richardson of Pownal, Me. ; in. 2d Nov. 1867 Hannah Matilda Byam of Wiuchendon, Mass. ; 
r. Halifax, Mass. 

3. Sophia b. Surry June 19, 1815 ; d. Worcester, Mass. June 10, 1868; in. Nov. 1842 Jere- 
miah Eastman ; r. Henniker. 

1. Jeremiah Austin (Eastman.) 

4. Mary Ann b. Surry March 14, 1817 ; m. James C. Isham (q. v.). 5. Manthano b. Surry 
Sept. 17, 181& ; d. there Sept. 10, 1821. 6. Elvira b. Surry March 13, 1821 ; d. there May 

5. 1822. 

m. 2d Dec. 26, 1850, Mrs. Ruthy U. (Hosmer) Isham (q. v.) ; d. Aug. 5, 1874. 

Thomas Austin, bro. to preceding, was b. Mason March 2. 1793; rem. to the McCurdy place in Surry where he 
speut most of his life, and d. Keene March 9, 1860; m. March 28, 1816 Lucy Kendrick b. Hanover Oct. 30, 1794, 
dan. of Thomas and Sevia (Closson) Kendrick. Thev had 12 ch. and she r. with the sixth, Wesley. 

Wesley Austin b. Surry Sept. 22^ 1829; m. 1st May 11, 1851, Emily Phelps 
Csee Miller) d. Dec. 11, 1871. 

1. Carrie Stella b. Marlow March 3, 1867. 
m. 2d Oct. 7, 1875 Mary Elizabeth Woodward (q. v.). 

Thomas Auty, an Englishman, worked in the Factory 1847-8; had a family. 

Johx Bahan, (son of John and Alice ( Garbin) Bahan,) b. Co. Tipperary, Ire- 
land 1835; m. May 2, 1869 Bridget Pender b. Co. Clare, Ireland Oct. 28, 1845, 
dau. of Edmund and Bridget (Quin) Pender. [The last named was b. Ireland 

1812, dau. of Batt and Margaret (Dunlin) Quin, and landed at Boston, Mass. Nov. 
20, 1865.] 

1. Mary Alice b. March 9, 1870. 

2. John Ed b. Harrisville Jan. 28, 1873 ; d. there June 15, 1873. 

3. Eddie James b. Harrisville Ap. 2, 1*75. 

4. John b. Harrisville Nov. 18, 1876 ; d. Aug. 28, 1877. 

Edward Baine r. Marlow; taxed here 1877. 

T3 \ T7^ IVR John Baker came from England in the "Rose" and settled at Ipswich, Mass. 1638. A 
-U-£*- * * * *■*-*>• John Baker, supposed to be his descendant; r. at Marblehead, Cape Ann, and Andover, Mass.; 
had a son Jonathan who settled in Topsfield, Mass. and is said to have removed to Keene about 1775. He is 
found soon after in Gilsum, now Sullivan. 

Jonathan Baker b. Cape Ann, Mass. June 15, 1749; d. Sullivan Oct. 13, 
1833; m. May 4, 1775 Sarah Holt b. unk. Feb. 3, 1758. 

17 



258 aiLSUM. 

I. Betty b. Keene? July 4, 1776. 2. Sally b. Keene ? Ap. 25, 1778 ; in. Thomas Powell (q. v.). 

3. Jonathan b. Aug. 15, 1779 ; d. unk. Oct. 28, 1863. 

4. Polly b. Dec. 3, 1781 ; d. unk. Ap. 13, 1869. 

5. Phebe b. unk. Ap. 22, 1784 ; d. Hopkinton, N." Y. Ap. 8, 1880 ; m. Joseph Smith. 

6. Aaron b. unk. July 10, 1786 ; d. May 28, 1849. 

7. Thomas b. Sullivan Ap. 30, 1788 ; d. Watertown, N. Y. Feb. 10, 1841 ; m. Ap. 27, 1817 
Betsey Tolman b. Marlboro' June 2, 1788, dau. of Ebenezef and Mary (Clark) Tolman. 

1. William Clark b. Watertown, N. Y. March 3, 1819; m. Oct. 16, 1844 Ruth Bull b. Watertown, N. Y. 
Dec. 11, 1819. 

1. Thomas Duayne b. Watertown, N. T. Oct. 28, 1845; d. there July 31, 1846. 2. De Forest b. Watertown, N. Y. June 
27, 1847. 3. Jane Madora b. Watertown, N. Y. Nov. 8, 1849. 

2. Orson Montgomery b. Watertown, N. Y. Feb. 11, 1820; m. March 1849 Jeanette Fisher b. Cayuga, N. 
Y. Feb. 1, 1831. 

1. Medora H. b. Lawrence, Mich. May 23, 1850. 

3. George b. Watertown, N. Y. Ap. 17, 1821; m. Dec. 25, 1819 Jennette Goodenow b. Sandy Creek, N. Y. 
Feb. 1833; r. Crete, 111. 

4. Nancy Fay b. Watertown, N. Y. March 1, 1823. 

5. E. Collins b. Watertown, N. Y. July 26, 1824 ; m. Nov. 1, 1848 Sarah Ann Barlow b. Rodman. N. Y. 
Aug. 16, 1826; r. Adams, N. Y. 

6. Mary Elizabeth b. Watertown, N. Y. Ap. 2, 1828; m. March 5, 1851 Charles Knights b. Rodman, N. 
Y. March 21, 1828 ; r. Watertown, N. Y. 

8. Rebecca ) , Q „. A OT i-ron m. Solomon Smith (q. v.). 

o ai- -i i "• Sullivan, Ap. 2 , 1790 ; , , T iot-i xt 

9. Abigail ) ^ ' d. unk. Jan. 1871 : m. Nye. 

10. Mahala b. Sullivan Nov. 9, 1792 ; d. March 28, 1867 ; m. Johnson. 

II. George b. New Ipswich ? Feb. 1, 1794 ; d. Oct. 16, 1835 ; m. Nov. 18, 1814 Eunice 
Whittemore b. unk. May 2, 1783, d. Peterboro ' June 14, 1866. 

J. Elizabeth b. Peterboro' March 30, 1816; m. ■ Upton. 

2. George F. b. Peterboro' May 20, 1817. 

3. Emily T. > , t> t „_v,„„> -vw 8 i«ir d - Hudson, June 14, 1876. 

4. William E. | D> - relerDoro iN0V - 8 ' isi8; m. 1st Aug. 20, 1850 Julia N.Chase d. Peterboro' Sept. 8, 
1853 set. 30. 

1. Orrin Chase b. Peterboro' July 1, 1853. 
m. 2d March 8, 1855 Elizabeth Buss. 

2. William A. b. Peterboro' May 26, 1856. 

3. Clarence M. | . p .,.,v„,„, »„„ R 1a c-. d. there Ap. 7, 1858. 

4. Clara S. j b ' Peterbor ° A "S- 6- 185, ; d there g^ '^ 185g 

5. Arthur b. Peterboro' Oct. 8, 1858; d. there Oct. 8, 1839. 6. Ella A. b. Peterboro' Ap. 12, 1862. 
7. Fred E. b. Peterboro' Sept. 10, 1864. 

5. Harriet E. b. Peterboro' July 5, 1820; m. Farley; r. Nashua. 

6. Orrin W. b. Peterboro' July 8, 1826. 7. Washington d. inf. 8. Sarah d. inf. 

12. David b. unk. June 11, 1796. 13. William b. unk. Oct. 27, 1797 ; d. unk. May 27, 1861. 

14. Emerson b. unk. March 25, 1798 or 1799. 

15. Elijah b. unk. Oct. 20, 1800 ; m. 1823 Laura Mason b. Dublin Dec. 16, 1800, dau. of 
John and Mary (Haven) Mason ; r. Dalton ; six sons and three daus. 

Edward Baker came from England and s. at Lynn, Mass. 1630. He m. Joan and had seven ch., among 

whom was Joseph b. Lynn, Mass. about 1640; m. Feb. 5, 1662 Ruth dau. of William Holton; and rem. with his 
father to Northampton, Mass. 1667. Joseph had five ch., among whom was Joseph, Jr. b. Jan. 25, 1676; rem. to 
Marlboro', Mass.; m. Elizabeth Perry of that place; and had seven ch., of whom Robert b. Marlboro', Mass. 

Nov. 24, 1713; m. Lydia and had fifteen ch. Of these, Thomas was b. Dec. 31, 1756; m. Feb. 26, 1781 

Sarah, dau. of Jonathan Temple. They had thirteen ch., of whom Jasper was b. Aug. 20, 1802; m. Aug. 25, 
1826 Louisa Healey of Salem, Mass. Their ch. were Jasper ; Mary m. Elbridge Taft of Nelson; William H., r. 
Leominster, Mass. ; Temple ; Frank r. Saccarappa, Me. ; and Sarah m. Benjamin W. Mayo. 

Temple Baker b. Nelson Sept. 22, 1834; d. Feb. 5, 1869; m. 1859 Sarah 
Maria Pratt. (See John Dort.) 

1. Fred Eugene b. Nov. 18, 1859. 2. Mary Ellen b. June 13, 1861. 
3. Andy Johnson b. Aug. 25, 1864. 

Charles B. Baker (p. 122). 

1. Lora Marr b. 1846 ; d. March 24, 1849. 2. Le Forest. 3. Dolly. 4. b. 1853. 

Isaac Baker, son of Widow Mary Baker, (see Ballard) was taxed 1819-25. 
Hiram Baldwin b. Keene? Aug. 14, 1807; m. Ap. 8, 1828 Elvira Ware (q. v.) 
d. Brattleboro', Vt. Nov. 17, 1862. 



GENEALOGIES. 259 

1. Marion Josephine b. Stratton, Vt. Nov. 19, 1842 ; m. Nov. 25, 1861 Clinton Carlos 
Staples b. Guilford, Vt. Dec. 10, 1841, son of Nelson and Nancy Staples. 

1. Charlie Francis (Staples) b. unk. Jan. 18, 1863. 2. Addie Elvira (Staples) b. unk. July 10, 1865. 
3. Nettie Marion (Staples) b. unk. Jan. 8, 186S. 4. Flora Evelyn (Staples) b. unk. Dec. 28, 1870. 
5. Eugene Clinton (Staples) b. unk. July 9, 1875. 

2. Cassius Mahan b. Stratton, Vt. Oct. 14, 1844. 

3. Adalade Victoria b. Stratton, Vt. Sept. 3, 1847 ; d. unk. Ap. 5, 1870 ; m. Rice. 

T3 \1 \ T> T\ The Ballards are said to have originated in Wales. " Mrs. Judge Baker " was step- 

-D-£\. 1^1 i-A LA)1-J» mother to James Ballard, resided here with him, and d. Ap. 1, 1825, ast. 86. Her name 
was Mary, and she had a son Isaac Baker. 

James Ballaud b. unk. 1759; d. Feb. 4, 1830; m. Polly Clark (q. v.). 

1. Luther (adopted) b. Keene Jan 15, 1796 ; m. about Jan. 1820 Rebecca Whitcomb of 

Alstead ; rem. to Nashua. 

1. James Franklin b. March 28. 1821. 

R A IVTOT? OT? r P LieuL Thomas Bancroft was b. England 1622 ; d. Lynnfield, Mass. Aug. 19, 1691; 

-D-ci-JJl V^XXVyX _L . m . i s t at Dedham, Mass. 1647 Alice Bacon who soon d. He m. 2d Sept. 15, 1648 
Elizabeth Metcalf ; rem. about 1650 to Heading, Mass. He was a prominent man and highly honored. Among 
his children was Ensign John Bancroft b. Reading, Mass. March 3, 1056; d. Lynnfield, Mass. Jan. 25, 17« ; m. 

1st Sept. 24, 1678 Elizabeth Eaton d. March 12, 170J ; m. 2d Hannah d. June 7, 1732. Timothy his son was b. 

Lynnfield, Mass. Jan. 20 1702; d. Lunenburg ? Mass. about 1775 ; m. 1st March 12, 173? Elizabeth Gary or Gerry 
d. Jan. 28, 1756; m. 2d Nov. 1, 17-VT Mary Harriman d. Feb. 4, 1776. His son John was b. Lunenburg, Mass. 
Nov. 14, 1753 ; served in Revolution; d. Union, N. Y. June 16, 1822 ; m. Jan. or June 20, 1776 Mary Newell d. 
Union, N. Y. Oct. 26, 1833. Their ch. were Polly, John, Betsey. Ebenezer, Onesimus, Mehetabel, Timothy, and 
Elijah Newell. Maj. John b. Rindge Nov. 14, 1779 ; d. Mobile, Ala. July 15, 18111 ; m. May ;!, 1804 Elizabeth dau. 
of Josiah Coburn of Rindge. Ch. : — Charles: Alrnira m. Charles Stearns of Lowell, Mass. ; Addison ; John Gai-d- 
ner; George Washington; Elizabeth m. David K. Boutelle of Lake City, Minn. ; and Evelina. 

Addison Bancroft b. Rindge Dec. 16, 1808; m. 1st Ap. 3, 1832 Mary Ann 
Goddard b. Rindge May 16, 1813, d. there Sept. 19, 1852, dau. of Dea. Luther and 
Polly (Furbush) Goddard. 

1. George Washington b. Rindge March 28, 183:1 ; m. Nov. 5, 1857 Emerett 0. dau. of Peter 
Pratt of Coleville, N. Y. where they reside 

1. Jennie Frances b. Feb. 1, 1859. 2.' Ellsworth D. b. March 7, 1861. 

3. Maryettb. Dec. 27, 1803. 4. Adelaide S. b. Coleville? N. Y. Jan. 31, 1869. 

2. Charles Addison b. Rindge Aug. 11, 1834 ; d. there July 11, 1837. 

3. Martha June b. Rindge March 15, 1836 ; m. Lyman B. Graham; r, Minneapolis, Minn. 

4. Harriet Elizabeth b. Rindge June 1, 1839 ; m. May 8,1866 George Jones Allen b. Rindge 
May 11, 1836, son of Eliphaz and Tila (Jones) Allen ; r. Pitchburg, Mass. 

5. John Gardner b. Rindge Sept. 23, 1840 ; d. there Sept. 26, 1840. 

6. Mary Mersylvia b. Rindge Dec. 12, 1841 ; m. Edwin S. Bnrnap ; r. Fitchburg, Mass. 

7. Almira Lucinda b. Rindge Ap. 5, 1849; m. Ephraim H. Bowen of Pitchburg, Mass. 

m. 2d Jan. 5, 1853 Mrs. Mary (Ward) Jones d. Rindge March 19, 1869, dau. of 
Caleb Ward of Ashburnham, Mass., and widow of Christopher Jones of the same 
place. 

8. Charles Addison b. Rindge May 26, 1857. 9. John Perry b. Rindge Nov. 13, 1859. 

m. 3d Oct. 14, 1869 Mrs. Elmira (Peirce) Sruiley, dau. of Joseph Peirce and 
widow of Charles M. Smiley. 

~D \ 1\TTZ"C William Banks came from Oakham, Mass. and settled in Keene (now Roxbury). His son 

-U -£*-!■! -l\-0. Israel b. unk. May 30, 1780 ; m. Patty Lewis, dau. of James and Martha (Collins) Lewis, of 
Marlboro', where he settled about 1802. He afterwards removed to Canada, and left his son William in charge of 
an uncle for whom he was named. This uncle, William Banks b. Oakham, Mass. Feb. 29, 1760 ; d. Gilsum Ap. 

29, 1830 ; m. Elizabeth Dwinell b. Dauvers, Mass. 1756 ; d. Gilsum March 4, 1853, dau. of Benjamin and 

(Esty) Dwinell. 

William Banks b. Marlboro' (now Roxbury) May 30, 1802; m. 1826 Rebecca 
Isham (q. v.) d. Dec. 2, 1871. 

1. Fanny Rebecca b. May 5, 1827 ; d. Feb. 22, 1832. 

2. Samuel Isham b. Nov. 12, 1828 ; d. Feb. 10, 1832. 



260 GIL SUM. 

3. Eliza Vilas b. Aug. 12, 1830 ; m. Sept. 1852 Grenville Clinton Slader son of Jesse and 
Nancy (Finlay) Slader of Acworth. He d. in array at Columbus, Ky. 1863. 

1. Carrie H. (Slader.) 2. Jesse W. (Slader.) 3. Mabel R. (Slader.) 

4. Dimmis Salome b. July 2, 1833 ; r. Peterboro'. 

5. William Wallace b. Jan. 21, 1835 ; d. by sunstroke, Newark, N. J. July 6, 1873 ; m. 
Mary Clark. 

6. Helen Marion b. Dec. 28, 1837 ; d. unm. Dec. 20, 1855. 

7. Samuel Osman b. Dec. 14, 1839; m. Ap. 2, 1863 Annie E. Learoyd (q. v.); r. New 
London, Conn. 

1. Gladys Learoyd b. Norwich, Conn. May 9, 1870. 2. George Elmer b. Norwich, Conn. May 22, 1877. 

8. Elmer David b. Sept. 23, 1843 ; m. Dec. 7, 1865 Ellen A. Cbapin (q. v.). 

1. Elmer Clifford b. Sept. 29, 1866. 

Samuel, Bannister was " boss finisher " in Factory 1864-5. 

13 A 13 T7" T^TJ John Barker, son of Ephraim was b. Pomfret, Conn. Dec. 18, 1756 ; m. July 9. 1786 
-D-ci rVlVXjXlJ. Esther Richardson, and d. Stoddard March 15, 1834. He was in the battle of Bunker 
Hill, and served through the war. Their twelfth ch. was Franklin. 

Franklin Barker b. Stoddard Ap. 11, 1803; d. Onondaga, N. Y. July 14, 
1858; m. about 1826 Betsey Blood (q. v.) ; rem. to Onondaga, N. Y. 1836. 
1. Morrill. 2. Ryley. 3. Betsey. 4. Eckford. 

William Barr kept Boarding House for the Wards 1874; rem. to Mass. 

"D A 1_> T> p^T^^P John Barrett a turner of mortars and other wooden ware s. at Nelson. His son 
-D-a-J-i/JAiJ-J -l -L • j hn m. Lucy Nichols and had Levi, John, Alonzo r. Nelson, and Lucy m. James 
Abbot r. Sullivan. 

Levi Barrett b. Nelson June 13, 1803; m. 1st Nov. 1834 Julia Thompson 
(q. v.) who d. Jan. 29, 1843. 

1. George b. Stoddard Dec. 23, 1835 ; m. Dec. 25, 1862 Lnella Angelima Bingham (q. v.). 

1. Ernest Fuller b. Nov. 11, 1868. 2. Don b. Aug. 11, 1873 ; d. Sept. 2, 1874. 

2. Julia Anna b. Stoddard Feb. 4, 1838 ; ra. Feb. 25, 1877 Luke G. Robbins of Acton, Mass. 
m. 2d May 12, 1843 Mrs. Sarah Foster (Winchester) Thompson (q. v.). 

3. Julia Vienna b. Aug. 2, 1844 ; m. George Nabum Hay ward (q. v.). 

4. John Marshall b. Aug. 18, 1846 ; m. Sept. 1867 Clara, dau. of Ashley and Sarah (Davis) 
Spaulding ; r. Sullivan. 

1. Mabel I. b. Sept. 12, 1868. 2. Althea S. b. Sullivan Nov. 15, 1869. 

3. Lestou M. b. Sullivan Aug. 27, 1872. 4. Ethel Abbie b. Sullivan July 15, 1874. 

5. Charles Milan b. Jan. 30, 1849 ; m. Nov. 8, 1871 Hattie Bedard b. Bedford, Canada June 
1846, dau. of Peter and Pamelia (Decker) Bedard ; r. Acworth. 

1. Kitty Winchester b. Natick, Mass. Sept. 18, 1874. 2. Verne Havward (adopted) b. Dec. 16, 1877. 

\ Ros y sa S EveTyn° U } b " Acworth Dec ' 14 ' 1878 > d ' ACW ° rth ***" ^ "^ 

6. Sidney Eugene b. Jan. 3, 1851 ; m. Sept. 1875 Ellen Amanda Seward. (See Heaton.) 

7. Mary Ella b. Ap. 23, 1853 ; m. Nov. 5, 1871 Nahum Cole Reed b. Acton, Mass. March 1, 
1838 ; son of Joseph Porter and Ruth (Cole) Reed. He is R. R. Station Agent, Acton, Mass. 

John Barrett bro. of Levi, m. Sophronia Evans; rem. to Hadley, N. Y. They had Thomas F.; Sarah m. 

Bennett, r. Marlow; Lucy m. Curtis of Antrim; Russell d. unm. Gilsum ; Julia m. Charles Thompson of 

Winchester; Emeline m. and d. Keene; Levi r. Winchester; Melvin r. Winchester; and Nancy Jane m. Thompson 
r. Winchester. 

Thomas Francis Barrett b. Hadley, N. Y. Feb. 24, 1833; m. July 4, 1857 
Sarah Experience Hastings b. Sullivan June 25, 1837, dau. of Abijah and Sarah 
(Hale) Hastings. 

1. Abijah Hastings b. Marlow, March 24, 1859. 2. Addie Sarah b. Marlow March 1, 1862. 

3. John Francis b. Keene March 1, 1864. 4. Henry Levi b. Keene June 6, 1866. 

5. Herbert Thomas b. Keene March 22, 1868. 6. Estber Laurena b. Keene Oct. 16, 1870. 

13 \ T> TT> /"V iyr This name is frequently called Barnes, and sometimes so written, but the old deeds 
XJx\. XVAW/l.™ . almost uniformly have it Barron. The family originated in Scotland. William Barron 
m. 1st Sept. 28, 1752 Isabel Larrabee, dau. of Samuel and Sarah Larrabee. He s. in Surry where she d. June 5, 



GENEALOGIES. 261 

1770. He m. 2d Aug. 7, 1770 Tabithy Williams who d. Surry Dec. 1, 1775. He m. 3d Jemima d. Surry 




McCurdy, dau. of Samuel and Elizabeth (Mooty) McCurdy 

1. Jeanette b. Surry June 10, 1787 ; m. Thomas Smith ; r. Barre, Mass. 

2. Nathan b. Surry" Sept. 7, 1789 ; m. Anna Bly ; r. Kirby, Vt. 

3. Isabel m. Ware ; r. N. Y. 4. Anna d. unm. Kirby, Vt. 

ra. 2d March 3, 1818 Cynthia Metcalf b. Keene Jan. 20, 1786; d. Oct. 3, 1850; 
dau. of Abijah and Mercy (Ellis) Metcalf. 

5. William b. Keene Ap. 24, 1820 ; m. Oct. 5, 1847 Phebe Esty, dau. of Aaron and 

(Davis) Esty of Roxbury; r. Westminster, Mass.; is a carpenter. 

1. Charles b. Fitchburg, Mass. Sept. 5, 1848; m. Fanny . 

1. Almeda. 

2. Albert b. Fitchburg, Mass. 1850 ; m. Emma Bruce. 

3. Clara b. Fitchburg, Mass. Ap. 19, 1852 ; m. Arthur Brown ; r. Gardner, Mass. 

1. Charles Arthur (Brown). 

4. Florence b. Fitchburg, Mass. March, 1851 ; m. Edward Lynde ; r. Westminster, Mass. 

5. Alden d. eh. Fitchburg. Mass. 6. William d. ch. Fitchburg, Mass. 7. Eddie b. Westminster, Mass. 1870. 

6. Elizabeth Dwight b. Keene Aug. 29, 182:! ; d. there March 1, 1828. 

7. Althea b. Keene July 2, 1826 ; d. there Nov. 10, 1826. 

8. Bethania Melissa b. Keene March 27, 1827 ; d. unm. Leominster, Mass. March 11, 1849. 

9. Jonathan Boyce b. Alstead, Aug. 30, 1831 ; m. Maria Hogan b. Quebec 1834 ; r. Keene. 

1. Cynthia b. Brattleboro', Vt. May 18, 1856 ; m. 1875 Thomas Baldwin b. Pittsford, Vt. 1855, son of John 
Baldwin. 

1. John (Baldwin) b. Keene Sept. 1876. 

2. Mark William b. Brattleboro', Vt. Sept. 10, 1859. 3. Cora b. Keene Dec. 1861 ; d. there Sept. 1867. 

John Barron son of William Barron and Miriam Mackentire (q. v.) was b. 
May 14, 1801; m. 1st Aug. 1827 Rachel Mansfield (q. v.) d. March 1, 1828; m. 2d 
March 5, 1830 Sarah Fairbanks, b. Stoddard March 21, 1810, dau. of Aaron and 
Sarah (Brown) Fairbanks. 

1. Amasa Fairbanks b. Bridgewater, Vt. Aug. 24, 1832 ; m. 1st Ap. 30, 1854 Nancy Me- 
lissa Parkhurst (q. v.). 

1. Amasa Albert b. Feb. 15, 1859. 
in. 2d Mrs. Mary Ann (Kimball) Farnsworth of Washington; r. Bridgewater, Vt. 

2. Okey Jefferson b. Stoddard March 20,1834; m. Dec. 1858 Cynthia Elmira Jefts b. 
Alstead 1844 ; dau. of Benjamin and Olive (Reed) Jefts. 

1. Emma b. Gilsum. 2. Eddie b. Washington; r. there. 3. Ernest Alvinza b. Washington, Ap. 14, 1871. 

3. Lodema Algena b. Stoddard July 30, 1836 ; in. Cyrus R. Bliss (q. v.). 

4. Sarah Salome b. Stoddard Ap. 15, 1841. 

5. Rhoda Alzina b. Stoddard Aug. 29, 1845; m. 1st Horace W. Howard (q. v.) ; m. 2d June 
1870 George Henry Richardson (q. v.). 

6. Cynthia Rozelva b. March 2, 1847 ; m. Oct. 24, 1870 George Gould b. Peterboro'; r. Stod- 
dard. 

7. Sylvia Candace b. March 30, 1849 ; m. Ap. 22, 1871 Ira A. Ellis. (See Crandall.) 

Edward Bartlett son of James and Mary ( Birne) Bartlett, was b. Co. Ros- 
common, Ireland Dec. 1844; m. July 22, 1871 Anna Bridget McCarty b. Co. Ros- 
common, Ireland Aug. 27, 1850, dau. of Michael and Anna (Fallon) McCarty; r. 
Keene; employed in Collins's Factory 1868-72. 

1. James b. Keene Dec. 19, 1874; d. there Nov. 4, 1877. 2. Edward b. Keene Aug. 4, 1879. 

Tt A ^i^T^HPHP Tradition says three brothers of this name came from England : ■ — one s. on Cape Cod, 
UilkjOJ-i -L L • one m the South, and one in the West. A sea captain of this name rem. from Marble- 
head, Mass. to Newburyport, Mass. and d. at sea. His son Nathaniel began business as a merchant with six and 
a quarter cents, which he gradually increased to $20,000 a year. He m. Betsey dau. of Gilman Frothingham. 
Their son 



262 GILSUM. 

Edward Barnard Bassett b. Newburyport, Mass. Ap. 11, 1819; m. Mary 

Abigail Taylor b. Milford, N. Y. Aug. 1832, dau. of Chandler and Palmyra Taylor. 

1. A son b. Granville, N. Y. 1856 ; d. inf. 2. Mary Ella b. Cuttingsville, Vt. 1859. 

~D \ '"PTj^Q Edward Bates m. Polly Corey and rem. from Carlisle, Mass. to Stoddard. They had Almira 
-D •£*- J- J-ilO» m. John Phelps of Keene, James L., Mary, Louise m. John Flynn of Lynn, Mass., Betsey m. 
William Wiley of Westmoreland, and Lucretia m. William Blanchard (q. v.). 

James Lovell Bates b. Stoddard July 10, 1803; m. Sarah Whittemore b. 
Fitchburg, Mass. March 15, 1800, dau. of Daniel and Sarah (Osborne) Whittemore. 

1. Ellen Maria b. Keene Feb. 6, 1820 ; m. Albert Church of Surry ; seven oh. 

2. Elmira b. Keene March 13, 1822 ; d. Boston, Mass. ; in. Uriah Sears. 

3. James William b. Keene May 3, 1825'; m. July 4, 1843 Lucy H. Howe. [She m. 2d 
Samuel C. Hudson son of James and r. Greengarden, 111.] 

1. Alfoncie b. July 18, 1844 ; m. 1st Aug. 1858 Henry C. Lawton d. Sept. 16 ? 1865, son of Henry and Bet- 
sey (Howe) Lawton ; m. 2d Albert H. Waldron (q. v.). 

2. William Herbert b. Dee. 5, 1845; m. Dec. 27, 1870 Phila E. Nash (q. v.). 

3. Charlotte D. b. July 15, 1854 ; m. Loren Derby of Saxton's River, Vt. 

1. Charles (Derby). 2. Nina Bell (Derby). 

4. Mary Georgiana b. Stoddard March 7, 1856 ; m. Luther Davis (q. v.). 

5. Charles J. b. Sullivan Oct. 3, 1858 ; r. Washington. 

4. George Washington b. Landgrove, Vt. July 13, 1827 ; in. Jan. 5, 1847 Cynthia Davis (q. v.). 

1. Francis Freeman b. Oct. 3. 1847; m. Jan. 31, 1874 Ida Mabel] Pratt b. Marlboro' May 8, 1855 dau. of 
Ira B. and Lizzie Ann (Davis) Pratt. 
1. Forest Eddo b. Dec. 28, 1878. 

5. Jotham Alexander b. Keene Dec. 23, 1829 ; m. Aug. 17, 1848 Alice Bethseba Chapman 
b. Alstead Oct. 2, 1825, dau. of Daniel and Rebecca (Cady) Chapman. 

1. Daniel Webster b. Alstead May 23, 1851 ; m. Oct. 1. 1871 Anna Dora Holmes b. Middlefield, Mass. Jan. 
5, 1847, dau. of Alvan and Roxana (Geer) Holmes. 

2. Eddo Vasco b. Alstead Sept. 22, 1853. 3. Lucy Mahala b. June 19, 1855. 
4. Charles Albert b. Ap. 18, 1857. 5. Clara Etta b. Sept. 22, 1859. 

6. Hamilton M. b. Keene Jan. 19, 1832 ; d. there 1837. 

7. Harvey Leonard b. Landgrove, Vt. Feb. 19, 1835 ; m. Louisa Jane Davis (q. v.), d. 
Oct. 7, 1878. 

1. Rosey Ella b. March 14, 1855 ; m. Luther H. Guillow (q. v.). 2. Hattie Josephine b. Sept. 27. 1856. 

3. Nellie Leora b. Sept. 16, 1858 ; m. Joseph H. Jolly (q. v.). 4. Herbert Harvey b. Sept. 13, 1860. 

8. Elvira I. b. Swanzey 1836 ; d. same day. 

9. Sarah b. Swanzey Ap. 13, 1836 ; m. Francis C. Howe (q. v.). 

10. Martin b. Nov. 9, 1839 ; m. 1868 Adaline Martha Howard (q. v.). 
1. Effie Josephine b. Dec. 21, 1868. 

11. Clement Uriah b. Dec. 11, 1S43 ; m. 1st Oct. 20, 1860 Mary Howard (q. v.). 

1. Elmer Ellsworth b. Sept. 1, 1863. 

m. 2d March 5, 1866 Amanda L. Howard (q. v.). 

2. Theron Uriah b. Jan. 11, 1871. 

Edward H. Bates a tin-peddler, m. Nancy Swallow from Vt., taxed 1843. 
James Bates nephew of James L., a blacksmith, worked in Chandler's shop 
1865; rem. to Keene. 

T> 4 "V"rpT^"D Simon Baxter, a noted Tory in the Revolution r. Alstead. His wife's name was Pru- 

-D i\-A-J- J-J JTL>. dence. Among their ch. were Simon, William, and Abraham b. Alstead July 17, 1771. 

Capt. Sirnon b. Alstead 1747 ; m. Margaret ; rem. to Surry where he d. Ap. 17, 1817. His widow Margaret 

d. Surry Sept. 16, 1825 a;t. 75. Among their ch. were William, Simon, Benjamin, George, Hollis, and Nancy. 

William Baxter b. Alstead Nov. 2, 1770; d. Surry Sept. 1828; m. 1st Ap. 16, 
1792 Thankful Smith d. Surry Sept. 29, 1799 set. 27; m. 2d July 7, 1800 Rachel 
Bill (q. v.) d. Oct. 22, 1861. 

T> t^f^TZ" \\f TT^TT Andrew Beckwith came to Alstead from Lynn, Mass. 1767, m. Catherine Shailer 
-D Xli \j XV ii J- -L -I_L. and had nine ch. among whom was 

Benjamin Brooks Beckwith b. Alstead June 10, 1786; d. Alstead July 10, 
1831; m. Joanna Chapin (q. v.) d. Alstead Feb. 19, 1856. 



GENEALOGIES. 263 

1. Alfred b. March 25, 1808 ; m. Rachel Spaulding; r. Stoddard. 

1. Helen b. New Ipswich. 2. Emma b. Hooksett. 3. Sarah b. Sept. 1834. 4. Henry b. Gilsum. 

5. Herbert b. Stoddard. 6. Arthur b. Stoddard. 

2. Orinda b. May 8, 1810 ; m. June 9, 1835 Richard Kimball Metcalf (q. v.). 

3. Oliver b. Walpole Ap. 11, 1816. 4. Silas b. Alstead Nov. 1, 1818 ; m. in California. 

5. Rizpah Field b. Ap. 25, 1821; m. George Stewart of Stoddard; r. at Hillsboro' ; three 
daus. 6. Edna b. Alstead May 6, 1826 ; m. John H. A. Young (q. v.). 

Niles Beckwith m. Jemima Wedge from Conn. ; s. at Lempster and had Warren (see Redding); Byron m. 
Candace Hurd (q. v.); Bethuel : Lauren m. Sally Dutton of Lempster ; Nelson ; Polly m. Hodge of Lemp- 
ster; Charlotte; Betsey m. Moses Cooper of Greenfield; Lucinda ; Esther m. Fuller of Sutton; Jemima; 

Clarissa m. Caleb Stiles of Greenfield ; and one more. 

Bethuel Beckwith b. Lempster June, 1782; d. Alstead Oct. 10, 1831; m. 
June 9, 1808 Betsey Davis (q. v.) d. Lempster Aug. 22, 1809. 

1. Bethuel Davis b. Lempster Aug. 19, 1809; d. unm. Townsend, Mass. Oct. 23, 1833. 
in. 2d Margaret Davis (q. v.). 

2. Linus Niles 1,. Lempster Aug. 19, 1811 ; d. Alstead Feb. 19, 1880 ; m. Oct. 16,1835 Eliza 
Ann Davis b. Barre, Mass. Feb. 16. 1816. dau. of Tilly Moses and Katherine (Morse) Davis. 

1. Albert Davis b. Lempster Feb. 22, 1837; m. Oct. 25, 1870 Amelia Lincoln; enlisted in 2d Vt. Reg't, 
June, 1861, and served till close of war; was wounded in battles of Fredericksburg and The Wilderness. 

1. Ernest Clarence b. Alstead Oct. 1873. 2. Edna Jane b. Alstead Sept. 29, 1878. 

2. Ransom Esker b. Lempster Dec. 29, 1838; d. Nashua Sept. 22, 1878; m. 1st Nov. 1861 Mary Peck d. 
Chester, Vt. July, 1866. 

1. George d. inf. 
m. 2d Lizzie White. 

2. Lucina Elsina b. Florida March, 1876. 

3. Henry Harrison b. Marlow June 20, 1841; m. June 17, 1874 Eliza Ann Townsend b. Alstead May 29, 
1850, dau. of Charles and Lucinda (Messer) Townsend. 

1. Charles Henry b. Keene Sept, 19, 1875; d. there Aug. 31, 1876. 2. Harrv Willard b. Keene Oct. 14, 1876. 

4. George Augustine b. Weston, Vt. June 22, 1843; wounded at Fredericksburg, Va. and d. in army hos- 
pital May 13, 1864. 5. Eliza Ann b. Weston, Vt. Oct. 21, 1845; d. unm. Alstead Jan. 15, 1S65. 

6. Milan Niles b. Weston, Vt. Aug. 29, 1848; m. July 3, 1870 Ruth Ella, dau. of Henry Dodge of London- 
derry, Vt. ; served in 2d Vt. Reg't; r. Nashua. 

7. Nelson Bethuel b. Weston, Vt. Dec. 11, 1850; m. 1st July 24, 1S74 Caroline Beebe d. Keene June 25, 1875. 

1. Eva Grace d. inf. 
m. 2d 1878 Florence Wheeler. 

9. Addle " 1 } b - Weston > Vt - Se Pt- 16 > 1853 ; d. Alstead May 28, 1870. 

10. Hattie Matilda b. Weston, Vt. Feb. 24, 1857; d. Alstead Oct. 25, 1870. 

3. Betsey Davis b. Lempster Aug. 3, 1812 ; m. 1st Baruch Davis (q. v.) ; m. 2d Isaac Love- 
land (q. v.). 

4. Lucy Almorineb. Lempster Sept. 24, 1814 ; m. Ransom Tifft d. Franklin, Mass. Dec. 1872. 

1. Sarah (Tifft) (adopted.) 

5. Salmon Chandler b. Marlow July 7, 1816 ; d. unm. Lempster Dec. 1853. 

6. John Benjamin b. Alstead Sept. 6, 1819 ; m. Susan Cushing of Walpole ; r. Illinois. 

1. Mary. 2. Susan. 3. Miltou. 4. Helen. 5. Matilda. 6. Joseph. 7. David. 8. Charles. 
9. Dora Bell d. ch. 10. Carrie Bell. 

7. Margaret Charlotte b. Alstead Feb. 14, ? 1823 ; d. unm. Mason July 10, 1860. 

8. Esther Matilda b. Alstead Nov. 28,1824 ; m. Sept. 1850 Oliver Inman ; r. Burrillville, R. I. 

1. Willie (Inman) b. R. I. 1855; m. 1877 Edna . 2. Irene (Inman) b. R. I. 1859. 

9. Amanda Augusta b. Alstead July 28, 1828 ; m. James Spaulding of Wilton ; r. Wise. 

1. Ida (Spaulding,) and several more. 

10. Ezra Nelson b. Alstead May 9, 1832; d. there Jan. 3, 1868; m. Maria Spaulding of 
Hollis. 

1. Charles b. Alstead 1849. 2. Nellie Margaret b. Alstead 1852. 3. Henry Nelson b. Alstead 1855. 

Alvln A. Beckwith b. Conn. 1827 ; m. Nancy Redding b. Alstead 1830, dau. 
of Jonathan and Irene (Streeter) Redding; r. Drewsville. 

1. Charles E. b. Walpole 1855. 

Henry Sumner Beckwith (see Redding) b. Bennington Dec. 26, 1849; m. 
Jan. 20, 1873 Mrs. Jennie M. (Chapin) Welch (q. v.). 

1. Lena b. Oct. 12, 1873. 



264 GIL SUM. 

Francois Bellisle known as Frank Bell, m. Mary Fairbanks; rem. to Win- 
chester; six eh. 

Roswell Griggs Bennett son of John, was b. unk. Dec. 1807; d. Nunda, 
N. Y. May 21, 1878; m. Oct. 20, 183(3 Betsey Day (q. v.) d. Nunda, N. Y.Dec. 
20, 1877; taxed here 1829-35. 

1. Ira Griggs b. Nuuda, N. Y. July 14, 1840 ; d. there Ap. 30, 1865. 

Alfred Bernard son of George and Marguerite (Berri) Bernard, was b. 
Canada Ap. 3, 1851 ; m. Oct. 18, 1873 Kate Cassidy b. Quebec, Ap. 5, 1856, dau. 
of John and Marie (Cloutier) Cassidy; came to Gilsum 1879. 

1. Joseph George b. Concord, Vt. Nov. 1, 1876. 

2. William Alfred b. Claremont Dec. 9, 1878. 

Thomas L. Berry son of John, was b. Keene Sept. 21, 1858; m. March 13, 
1880 Mrs. Fanny (Houghton) Jefts (q. v.). 

Chakles W. BEin:y bro. of the preceding, was b. Keene Jan. 1, 1861. 

12 T^TTTc" T-{ ,^ r PO( ^ K" The ancestor of all the Beverstocks in this country emigrated hither before 
-"-*-" » X-i-Ll'kj X KJKJ i\_. the Revolution. His name is not known. He was drafted to serve in the 
Revolution, but his son John went in his place. His wife's name was Margaret. John s. at Needham, Mass., and 
had a son Daniel. 

Daniel Beverstock b. Needham, Mass. Feb. 5, 1762; d. Alstead 1837; m, 
Jan. 26, 1801 Lucinda Bingham (q. v.) d. Sullivan Ap. 21, 1851. 

1. Lucinda b. Keene March 16, 1805, m. March 26, 1826 Martin Rugg b. Sullivan July 29, 
1798, d. there Oct. 21, 1858, son of Elijah and Lois (Wilder) Rugg. 

1. James Henry (Rugg) b. Sullivan Ap. 4, iS27; d. there Aug. 29, 1832. 

2. Lucy Ann (Rugg) b. Sullivan March 28, 1830; m. Ebenezer Franklin Temple (q. v.). 

3. Ellen Jane (Rugg) b. Sullivan May 17, 1836; m. Jan. 1858 Eben Clark Tolman b. Nelson Dec. 6, 1831, 
son of Cyrus and Lucy (Abbot) Tolman. 

1. Ellen Gertrude (Tolman) b. Nelson May U, 1862. 2 Cyrus Wilmer (Tolman) b. Nelson Ap. 17, 187H. 

4. Charles Wilson (Rugg) b. Sullivan Oct. 4, 1838; m. Nov. 19, 1861 Lucy Ann. dau. of Luther and Lucy 
(Dunn) Richardson of Stoddard. 

1. Fred Andri w I Rugg) b. Sullivan Nov. 30, 1863. 2. Harlan Elbert (Rugg) b. Sullivan Ap. 1867. 
3. Myra June (Rugg) b. Sullivan Nov. 1871. 4. Lucy Isabel (Rugg) b. Sullivan .lime 8, 1876. 

5. Andrew Jackson (Rugg) b. Sullivan Sept. 21, 1841 ; d. in army Philadelphia, Penn. July 25, 1862; served 
in 2d N. H. Reg't Co. D. 

6. Emily Sophia (Rugg) b. Sullivan June 18, 1846; m. Nov. 17, 1864 Henry Davis b. Stoddard May 5, 1841, 
son of Marcus and Lydia Lane (Wilson) Davis. 

1. Leston Francis (Davis) b. Sullivan Ap. 7, 1877. 

2. Olive b. July 27, 1806 ; m. Alanson Bingham (q. v.). 

3. Sophia b. Alstead Ap. 30, 1808 ; m. Jan. 30, 1824 Harrison Ruag b. Lancaster, Mass. 
June 27, 1791, d. Sullivan May 25, 1859. 

1. Emily Sophia (Rugg) b. Sullivan July 17, 1825; in. Daniel Towne; r. Marlboro'. 

1. Emily Raselte (Towne) b. Sullivan Ap. 1845; m. Albert Davis; r. Nashua. 

1. Ltdit Luella (Davis.) 

2. Clara Ann (Towne) b. Langdon June, 1S47; m. George H. Clapp; r. Brattleboro', Vt. 

3. Daniel Watson (Towne) b. Langdon May, 1850; m. Jennie Phillips; r. Marlboro'. 

1. Hari-y Delbert (Towne.) 

4. Loren Wesley (Towne) b. Langdon Jan. 1853. 5. Addle Loiina (Towne) b. Langdon Oct. 1855. 

6. Ella Sophia (Towne) b. Hebron, N. Y. Aug 1, 1863. 7. Lester Henri/ (Towne) b. Cambridge, X. Y. Dec. 28, 1865. 

2. Horace Kendall (Rugg) b. Sullivan Dec. 6, 1830; m. 1st Clara Keith; d. Acworth 1868; r. Acworth. 

1. Elmer Herbert (Rugg) b. Langdon May, 1858. 

m. 2d Mary Chatterton, dau. of Alpheus and Esther (Richardson) Chatterton. 

2. Floyd Neu-ell (Rugg) b. Acworth Dec. 6, 1876. 

3. Gardner Harris (Rugg) b. Sullivan Feb. 15, 1834; m. Elizabeth Jackson d. Carbondale, 111. Ap. 21, 
1867; served in the army. 

1. Etta Luella (Rugg) b. Carbondale, HI. May, 1859. 2. Era id: Curtis (Rugg) b. Carbondale, III. Dec. 1862. 

4. Daniel Willard (Rugg) b. Sullivan July 18, 1836; m. 1st Elvira Davis of Stoddard. 

1. Arthur Harrison (Rugg) b. Sullivan Sept. 1863. 
m. 2d Rosabel Davis of Stoddard. 

5. Edward Ellery (Rugg) b. Sullivan Jan. 7, 1841 ; m. Sabrina S. Barrett of Stoddard. 

6. Edna Elmira Luella (Rugg) b. Sullivan Dec. 14, 1851; d. unm. Acworth Jan. 1, 1870. 

4. Sibyl Bond b. Alstead Oct. 15, 1810 ; m. Feb. 22, 1838 Daniel Holt b. Temple June 5, 
1805, d. Nelson June 24, 1871, son of Ephraim and Rhoda (Russell) Holt. 



GENEALOGIES. 265 

1. Abbie M. (Holt) b. Keene Jan. 13, 1839. 

2. Emily M. (Holt) b. Keene May 22, 1840; m. Dec. 30, I860 Francis Stratton b. Lincoln, Mass., son of 
Henry and Sylvia (Bowker) Stratton; r. Harrisville. 

I. Henry Francis (Stratton) I.. Harrisville Dec. 18, 1861. 2. Fred Smith Adams( Stratton) b. Harrisville March 19, 1886. 
3. Edgar Harris (Stratton) b. Harrisville Aug. "28, 1871; (1. there Nov. 1871. 

3. Lawson C. (Holt) b. Keene Dec. 28, IM1; .1. there Ap. 3, 1842. 

4. Lawson A. (Holt) b. Keene. Ap. 10, 1844; d. there March 31, L845. 

5. A.iahel N. (Holt) b. Keene Aug. 16, 1845; m. July 13, 1869 Nellie A. Pond b Bennington Aug. 27, 
1849, dan. of James and Electa J. (Richardson) Bond. 

1. Mamie Luella (Holt) b. Harrisville March 9, 1872. 

6. Paschal A. (Holt) b. Keene May 15, 1847; in. Xov. 3, 1870 Mary, dau. of Batrick Magee of Farming- 
ton, Conn. 

1. Grace Mary (Holt) b. Farmington, Conn. June 13, 1872. 2. Jennie Alice (Holt) b. Farmington, Conn. Nov. 22, 1873. 

7. Sumner A. (Holt) b. Keene Ap. 6. 1.S50; d. Nelson Ap. 6, 1861. 

5. Daniel Wright b. Alstead Oct. 6, 1815; d. Marlow Ap. 26, 1842; m. Ap. 5, 1886 Louisa 
M. Guillow (q. v.). 

1. Alma Augusta, b. Ap. 12, 1837; m. May 1, 1855 Charles Albert Tarbox b. Stoddard Feb. 18, 1834, son 
of Stearns and Nanev (Smith) Tarbox: r. Sullivan. 

1. Frank Albert (Tarbox) b. Nelson Jan. 23, 1857. 2. Charles Arthur (Tarbox) b. Nelson Sept. 3, 1864. 
3. Alice Mabel (Tarbox) b. Nelson Nov. 11, 1868. 4. Willie Herbert (Tarbox) b. Marlboro' Dee. 17, 1870. 
5. An tin Linii.il [ trnli. ix) b. Sullivan March 16, 1874. 

2. Oscar Page b. Alstead June 27, 1839; d. Marlow Ap. 9, 1842. 

3. Daniel Oscar b. Marlow June 27, 1842 ; m. 1866 Sarah Ninis, dau. of Oilman and Charlotte (Stowe) 
Nims of Roxbury; r. Sullivan. 

1. Cora b. Sullivan; d. there ch. 2. Oscar b. Sullivan Nov. 1874. 3. Herbert b. Sullivan Dec. 1, 1875. 

DT T is one of the oldest names in England. It is probably derived from the bill or battle-ax carried by a cer- 
-*-* J- J_i J_J tarn class of soldiers. The origin of the family in America is not certain. John Bill bapt. 1576 Farish 
of Much Wedlock, Shropshire. Eng., m. Anne Mountford who d. May 3, 1621 ajt. 33, leaving an only child John, 
who is supposed to have m. Dorothy Tuttle, and to have emigrated to America before 1635. Ch. : — James, 

Thomas, Philip, John, and Mary. Philip b. England about 1620; m. Hannah ; s. at Ipswich, Mass.; rem. 

to New London, Conn, about 1667. Their ch. were Philip, Mary. Margaret, Samuel, John, Elizabeth, Jonathan, 
and Joshua. Samuel b. Ipswich, Mass. about 1665; m. 1st Mercy, dan. of Richard Haughton of New London, 

Conn.; m. 2d Elizabeth ; and had Hannah, Samuel, Philip, James, Ebenezer, Joshua, Jonathan, Mercy, John, 

and Abigail. Ebenezer b. Groton, Conn, about 161)6; m. Patience Ingraham b. France; d. 1771. Their ch. 
were Samuel, Bridget. Beulah, Hannah, Jonathan, Ebenezer. Thomas. Asahel, and Eunice. 

Samuel Bice b. Groton, Conn. Sept. 2o, 1719; d. May 8, 1800; m. Sept. 16, 
1742 Sarah Bond b. Hebron, Conn. May 28, 1719, d. Feb. 22, 179(5, sister of Dea. 
Stephen Bond. 

1. Samuel b. Hebron, Conn. Aug. 7, 1744; d. y. 

2. Sarah b. Hebron, Conn. Jan. 30, 174| ; in. Ebenezer Kilburn (q. v.). 

3. Elizabeth b. Hebron, Conn. Feb. 5, 174| ; m. John Rowe (q. v.). 

4. Ebenezer b. Hebron, Conn. Jan. 19. 175^ : d. Feb. 15, 1815; m. Rachel Root b. Hebron, 
Conn. Aug-. 11, 1753 : d. Nov. 7, 1828. 

1. Bachel b. July 20, 1774; m. William Baxter (q. v.). 

2. Ebenezer b. March 30, 1776; d. Eeb. 9, 1850; m. Nov. 7, 1802 Elsea Adams (q. v.); d. Keene July 15, 
1868. 

1. Willard b. Dec. 8, 1803 ; m. 1st May 1, 1834 Clarissa Esty b. Westmoreland July, 1804, d. there Dec. 19, 1856, dau. 
of Steward and Marv (Blown) Esty. 

1. Willard b. Westmoreland Oct. 14, 1S39 ; m. Ap. 12, lSGfi Ellen O. Ishaui (q. v. ). 

1. Clara Fiances b. Westmoreland Juno 23, 1860. 2. Jennie Lillian b. Westmoreland Aug. 21, 1813. 
m. -2d Nov. 18. 1857 Betsey [sham (q. v.). 

2 Harvey Adams, twin, b". Ap. 30, 1808; d. Keene Ap. 21, 1858; m. Dec. 31 1840? Susan Butterticld Keves b. Keene 
Aug. S, 181H. dau. of Zebadiah and Sibyl (Dunn) Keves. 

3. Emily, twin, b. Ap. 30, 1808; d. Keene Sept. 19, 1879. 4. Hiram b. July 2, 1810; d. July 29, 1810. 
5. Mary b. Ap. 19, 1813; m. Samuel Woodward (q. v.). 

3. Mehitabel b. June 1, 1778; m. Josiah Hammond (q. v.). 

4. Anna b. Oct. 16, 1779; d. Sullivan Ap. 28, 1872; m. Nov. 29, 1796 Messer Cannon, M. D. of Sullivan 
where he d. Feb. 3, 1829. 

1. Eliza (Cannon) b. Sullivan Jan. 30, 1798; d. Keene June 15, 1876; m. Sept. 21,1819 Stephen Dean b. St. Johnsbury. 

Vt. Ap. 2:;. 1796, d. Keene June 29, 1876, son of Abialhar and Freelove (Hawkins) Dean. 

I. Xiturji Hawkins (Dean) b. Westmoreland June 11, 1S20; a. Manchester May 23, 1S6G ; in. Joshua Brooks Bradley d. Man- 
chester Dec. 1870, son of Joshua? and Dorcas (Coburn) Bradley id Draeut, Mass. 

1. Charles Brouts (Bradley) b. Lowell, .Ma*. is«; m. 1871 Lizzie d. Manchester, 1879; r. Manchester. 

■1 M-iiii f-i, tin l-.-a.ll.-M i . ,1. there 1844. 

3. Stella Eliza (Bradley) ) " "• lowcii, .Mass. 1844, m l8 69 James Blackmer of Charlestown, Mass. 

1. Chulej lljla.kiu.-r) a. inf. 2. Jvaei Malcolm (niackmetj b. e n loll. 

4. Leslie Maria (Bradley) b. Lowell, Mass. ]s4ii; in. Sent. 1868 J. Brooks BodweU of Manchester. 

1. Cliarle. (Ik..litill( h. M i.i.chustw Nov. 1872. -J. Itun; (Bnowfll) I.. Manuhostoi Oho. 1875. 

5. Glen Soy (Bradley) b. Lowell, .Mass. 184S; u. Keene ls53. 

6. Malcolm Lafayette (Bradley) b. Keene Nov, 4, 1854; m. 1875 Pauline Demorest; r. Manchester. 

18 



266 GIL SUM. 

2. Stephen Hawkins (Dean) b. Westmoreland Dec. 4, 1821; d. there Jan 15, 1825. 

3. Messer Cannon (Dean) b. Westmoreland Dec. 5, 1823 ; in. 1st Jan. 15, 1852 Harriette Ann Osgood b. Milford, May 28, 1828, d. 
Chicago, 111. May 6. 1857, dan. of Josiah and Maria Theresa { Vanghan) Osgood. 

1. Harriette Vaughan (Dean) b. Keene (>ct. 31, 1852: in. Dec. 5, L876 James s. Harvey b. Kinesbury, X. Y. Sent. 7,1841. 

1. Dean (Hnrrm 1>. Chicago, HI. Jan. 1. 1879. 

2. Frank Han-kins i Dean) b. Keene Jan. 7. 1»J4; a. Chicago, 111. July 20, 1855. 
m. 2d May 15, ISO!) Martha Jane Cornell b. Jamestown, N. Y. July 8, 1S37, dau. of Sidney Smith and Caroline (Tubbs) Cornell. 
:<. Mae Bishop (Dean) b. Chicago, 111. Feb. 9, 18B5. 4. Messer Edward {hem) b. Chicago, 111. Nov. 26, 187"; d. there Jan. 25, 1872. 

4. Stephen Hawkins (Dean) b. Westmoreland June 5, 1820; d. Keene Sept. 14, 1842. 

5. Eliza Ann (Dean) b. Westmoreland March 15, 1S28; in. Nov. 1, 1855 Milton Hutchins b. Thetford, Vt. Sept. 5, 1826, son of 
Ezra and Asenath ( Warriuer) Hutchins. 

1. Herbert Mil tan (Hutchins) b. Boston, Mass. Dee. 14. 1856. 

2. Annie Liiella i Hutchins) b. Mcdl'urd. .Mass. Oct. 4, 1859; d. Melrose, Mass. Feb. 5,1872. 

3. Walter Dean (Hutchins) b. Medford, Mass. Oct. 21, 1861. 

4. Aliee FJiza (Hutchins) b. Melrose, .Ahiss. .March 2(1, IstiS; d. there Sept. 9, 1868. 

G. Lafayette Philip (Dean ) b. Westmoreland Nov. 3, 1830 ; m 1st 1858 Nancy Marilla Lamphcar d. Keene I860. 

1. Fred Stephen (Dei I inf. 

ni. 2d Sept. 25, 1802 Rebecca Martin Crossfii Id d. Keene Oct. 22, 1S70, dau. of Kendall and Rebecca (Martin) Crossfield. 

2. Emma Jane (Dean) b. Keene Oct. 30, 1863. 3. Barry Crossfield (Dean) b. Keene Oct. In. 1*70. 

7. Lama Canaan (Dean) b. Chester, Yt. Feb. 11, 1S33. 8. Bradley (Dean) b. Keene Oct. 11, 1840 ; m. Jan. 1809 Maria Dixon ; 
served four years in the army, and was Captain of a Mass. Cavalry Co. 

2. Nancy (Cannon) b. Sullivan Oct. 2(1, 1800; in. Sept. 24, 1818 George Hubbard b. Sullivan Sept. 4, 17D7, il. there 
June 12, 185:1, son of Roswell ami Elizabeth 'Church) Hubbard. 

1. Eliza Ana (Hubbard) b. Sullivan Oct. 24, 1819; in. K. D. Webster, M. D. (q. v.). 

2. George Cannon (Hubbard) (q. v.) b. Sullivan Ap. 14, 1S27. 

3. Laura (Cannon) b. Sullivan .lime 21, 1804; d. there .March 6, 1811. 

4. Mary Ann (Cannon) b. Sullivan Nov. 28. 180!) ; d. there Aug. 8, 1813. 

5. David b. Hebron, Conn. March 2,175:5 ; d. Nov. 11, 1*24; in. 1st Feb. 13,1777 Prudence 
Willey of East Haddain, Conn. 

1. Prudence m. 1st Thomas Redding (q. v.); m. 2d Capt. William Thomson (q. v.). 

m. 2d Dee. 30, 17'J8 Mrs. Susannah (Kimball) Locke d. Sullivan Nov. 6, 1842 set. 86, widow 
of James Locke (q. v.). 

2. Susan b. 1800 ; d. unm. Clinton, Mass. June 2, 1866. 

6. Patience b. Hebron, Conn. July 26, 1757; m. Daniel Wright (q. v.). 

7. Rachel b. Hebron, Conn. Jan. 7, 1760 ; m. Jonathan Church (q. v.). 

8. Samuel b. Hebron, Conn. Fell. 27, 1763; d. Aug. 13, 1845 ; m. Jan. 26, 1786 Lydia Mack 
(q. v.) d. Jan. 8, 1826. 

1. Lydia b. Jan. 30, 1787; m. Truman Miller (q. v.). 

2. Samuel b. Sept. 1, 1788; d. Ap. 12, 1824; m. Sept. 4, 1810 Melintha Ellis (q. v.). 

1. Melintha b. Nov. 15, 1811 : m. 1st Abeam Wilkius (q. v.); m. 2d Jonathan Mansfield (q. v.). 

2. Truman b. March 21, 1813; d. March 5, I860. 

3. Otis b. Jan. 19, 1815; d. May Hi, 1878; m. Nov. 19, 1840 Lucy Tryphena Mansfield b. Stoddard July 15, 1822, d. 
Langdon, dau. of Daniel and Betsey (Jenkins) Mansfield. 

4. Elmira Louisa b. Jan. 20, 1817; d. Ashburnham, Mass. June 20, 1874; m. Feb. 1841 John Varnum Platts, son of 
John Varnum and Maria (Demary) Platts; r. Ashburnham, Mass. 

1. Maria (Platts) b. Rindge. 2. Irving Emery (Platts) b. Ashburnham, Mass. 3. Jerome (Platts) b. Ashburnham, Mass. 

5. Irving Emery b. Jan. 31. 1819; drowned Swanzey June 13, 1841. 

6. Mary Ann !>'. Feb. 12, 1821 ; d. Winchendon, .Mass. Aug. 1, 1812 ; in. Samuel, son of Archibald and Susanna (Jones) 
Tenney of Marlboro'. 7. Lucy b. March 10, 1824; d. 1832. 

3. Lucy b. Nov. 23, 1792; d. inf. 4. David b. Ap. 2, 1794; d. inf. 

5. David b. Nov. 2, 1795; in. Jan. 11, 1818 Lucy Doit (q. v.); d. June 29, 1864. 

1. David Wilder b. Dec. 20, 1818;m. June 4, 1845 Lucretia Tenney b. Marlboro' March 19, 1827, dau. of Archibald and 
Susanna (Jones) Tennev. 

1. Emma Lucretia b.'june 24, 1848; d. Sept. 1G, 1S48. 

2. Daniel Wright b. July 10, 1822: m. Nov. II, 1840 Fanny Hammond Butler (q. v.). 

1. Lucy Mahalab. Dec. 14, 1851 ; m. Albert Israel Loveland, M. D. (q. v.). 

3. Samuel Dennis b. Sept. 9, 1824; m. June 15, 1853 Susan Pratt Knight b. Marlow Sept. 5. 1826, dau. of Ira and Abi- 
gail (Pratt) Knight. 

1. David Dennis b. May 15, 1S54 ; d. Sept. 1, 185S. 2. Fred Wilder b. Marlow Dec. 27, 1859. 

4. Louisa Dort b. Ap. 5, 1827; m. Martin Luther Goddard (q. v.). 
6. Lucy b. Jan. 8, 1798; m. Amasa Miller (q. v.). 

Chahlbs Billings half bro. of Zenas D. Metcalf, m. Esty of Roxbnry. 

"D T TV" /"IJ. XT A "jV/r is supposed to be of Saxon origin, as a family of this name lived in Sutton, England 
-l-» J- -L ' vT-L-L A LtJ_ before the Norman Conquest. Four brothers, supposed to be of about the 20th genera- 
tion, sons of Thomas and Mary Bingham of Sheffield, Eng., came to America in the latter part of the 17th cen- 
tury. Thomas, Samuel, and Joseph settled in New England; William in Pennsylvania. Den. Thomas b. Sheffield, 
Yorkshire, Eng. 1642; d. Windham, Conn. Jan. 16, 1730; was one of the Proprietors of Norwich, Conn, in 1660, 
where he m. Dec. 12, 1606 Mary, dau. of Jonathan Rudd. Their ch. were Thomas, Abel, Mary, Jonathan, Ann, 
Abigail, Nathaniel, Deborah, Samuel, Joseph, and Stephen. Abel b. Windham, Conn. June 25, 1669, m. Elizabeth 

in England. Their ch. were Abigail, Mary, John, Elizabeth, Abel, Ann, Jemima, Jonathan, and David. 

John b. Stratford, Conn. Feb. 9, 1700; d. Ellington, Conn. Sept. 9. 1747; m. Dec. 6, 1721 Mary Moulton. Their 
ch. were Dea. Ithamar, Thomas, Mary, Lucy, Josiah, Jerusha, and John. 

John Bingham b. Windham, Conn. Dec. 22, 17:57; d. Dec. 18, 1815; m. Sibyll 
Wright b. Windham, Conn., d. Dec. 25, 1815. (He chose his bro. Ithamar for his 
guardian.) 



GENEALOGIES. 267 

1. Sibyll b. Mansfield, Conn. June 27, 1767 ; m. Elisha Yeramons Bond (q. v.). 

2. Mary b. Montague, Mass. July 2, 1770; m. Samuel Cory (q. v.). 

3. Orinda ) , ^ . ,, t i in 1772 • m ' David Fuller (q. v.). 

4. Lucinda \ ° ' x J ■> > m . Daniel Beverstock (q. v.). 

5. Hannah b. Montague, Mass. Nov. 1, 1774 ; d. Belmont, Ont. Sept. 15, 1864 ; m. March 
15, 1808 John Austin Sumner b. Conn. Nov. 18, 1768 ; d. Westminster, Canada Dec. 21, 1854. 

Three ch. d. inf. 

4. Frances M. (Sumner) b. Canada Ap. 5, 1810; m. July 4, 1832 Horatio Grece b. Ryegate, Surry, Eng. 
Nov. 23, 1801; d. Belmont, Ont. July 21, 1870. 

1. Maria Anne (Grece) b. Belmont, Out. Aug. 19, 1833. 2. Cornelia Victoria (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. Jan. 2, 1837. 
3. John William (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. Feb. 24, 1839. 4. Octavia (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. Feb. 28, 1841. 
5. Martha Zenobia (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. Ap. 3, 1843. 6. Horatio (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. June 21, 1845. 

7. Edward Septimus (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. Sept. 15, 1847; a lawyer in Detroit, .Midi. 

8. Charles Wesley (Grece) b. Belmont, Ont. March 5, 1849. 9. Henry (Grece) b. Belmont, Out. May 31, 1852. 

5. Erastus b. Canada Sept. 9, 1812. 

6. John !>. Montague, Mass. May 25, 1777 ; d. N. Y. Ap. 1857 ; m. Anna Hebbard b. Shafts- 
bury, Vt., d. West Pawlet, Vt. Feb. 1843. 

1. David b. July 21, 1803; went West; m. 1st Harriet B. Chase of Bloomington, Ind.; four ch.; m. 2d 
about 1830 Armena Granger; r. Fort Ann, N. Y. ; six ch. 

2. Philarmon b. 1805; in. about 1831 Maria Stevenson of Queensbury, N. Y.; rem. to Canada. 

3. John Hebbard b. Granville, N. Y. 1807; d. Fort Ann, N. Y. 1872; m. about 1850 Caroline Stearns; 
three sons. 

4. Ann b. 1809; m. 1st Oliver Gates of Kingsborough, N. Y. ; one son; m. 2d Joseph Gates, bro. of 
Oliver; three daus. 

5. Laura b. 1811; d. Iowa Jan. 1S77; m. 1st David Draper a blacksmith, rem. to Hartford, N. Y., where 
he was killed by kick of a horse Sept. 1838; left three sons, all of whom d. in army. She m. 2d 
Ephraim Perrin r. Granville, N. Y. lie had 22 children by two former wives, and three more by this 
third wife. 

6. Alanson b. Alstead Ap. 21, 1813; m. Ap. 5, 1836 Olive Beverstock (q. v.) d. Marlboro' Sept. 22, 1875. 

1. Lama Ann b. Alstead Nov. 29, 1836; m. Ap. 9, 1856 Daniel Wetherby Willoughby; r. Fitchburg, Mass. 

Ten ch. ; one living, Elberton (Willougllby) 1'. Fitchburi,', Mass. 1S69. 

2. Osmore Alanson b. Sullivan Sept. 8, 1840; m. Aug. 1870 Eunice Piper, dau. of Thomas and (Smith) Piper of 

Weatherstiehl, Vt. 

3. Elmaetta Augusta b. Sullivan Sept. 30, 1842; m. Sept. 30, 1863 Nahum Wright b. Keene Sept. 24, 1821, son of 
James and Lucy (Nims) Wright. 

1. Anna May (Wright) b. Keene June 6, 1S70. 

7. Chauncey b. May, 1815. 

8. Samuel Perry b. Granville, N. Y. 1821); killed at Queensbury, N. Y., by slipping on hoe-handle, June, 
1835. 9. Lucy' Maria b. Kingsborough, N. Y 1827; d. Fort Ann, N. Y. 1830. 

7. Zenas b. Jan. 23, 1780 ; d. Jan. 1, 1857 ; m. Jan. 1, 1805 Electa Mackentire (q. v.) d. 
Feb. 22, 1872. 

1. Lucina b. Oct. 20, 1805; m. Nathan Ellis. Jr. (q. v.). 2. Franklin b. Aug. 31, 1807; d. Sept. 24, 1809. 

3. Mary b. Ap. 2, 1810; m. Marvin Gates (q. v.). 

4. Amasa Wright b. Nov. 15, 1811; d. mim. in Texas 1834. 

5. Franklin b. Feb. 4, 1814; ra. 1st Sept. 11, 1838 Pamela Thurston Emery, b. unk. 1819, d. Oct. 22, 1839, 
adopted dau. of John and Roxa (Gerould) Thurston. 

1. George Henry b. Oct. 19, 1839; d. Oct. 21, 1839. 

m. 2d Nov. 5, 1846 Elvira McKean b. Bedford Nov. 17, 1827, dau. of David Daniel and Lydia (Page) 
McKean. 

2. Pamelia Gertrude b. Nashua June 6, 1850; m. Sept. 19, 1872 George Ebenezer Burtt b. Pelham Nov. 12, 1839, son of 
Ebenezer and Nancy (Elleuwood) Burtt. 

6. Sibyll b. March 15, 1817; d. Ap. 3, 1818. 7. Zenas b. Jan. 23, 1819; d. Ap. 14, 1820. 

8. Calvin Clark b. March 19, 1821; m. 1st Feb. 26, 1839 Syrena E. Lovelaud (q. v.) d. Nashua Oct. 25, 
1846. 

1. Amoretta b. Aug. 18, 1840; d. Nashua Aug. 19, 1841. 

2. Marthietta b. Oct. 18, 1843 ; m. 1st Aug. 11, 1862 Ezra S. Lewis b. unk. Feb. 16, 1839, d. Elizabethtown, N. Y. Nov. 

3. 1864, son of John and Roxy Lewis. 

1. Ezra Albert (Lewis) b. Cleveland, O. June 17, 1SG3; d. Parkman, O. Nov. S, 1SG3. 

2. Mary (Lewis) b. Elizabethtown, N. Y. Aug. 23, 1864 ; d. Glen's Falls, N. Y. Feb. 18, 1865. 

m. 2d Aug. 29, 1865 Thomas H. Herrick b. Corinth, N. Y. Julv 3, 1839, son of Loten and Betsey (Handy) Herrick. 
3. Nelly Syrena (Herrick) b. Corinth, N. Y. June 10, 1806. 

m. 2d Oct. 17, 1847 Rebecca Angeline Bingham (q. v.) d. Aug. 8, 1854. 

3. Angeline Rebecca b. Nov. 27, 1851 ; d. Aug. 15, 1852. 

m. 3d Dec. 15, 1857 Mary Astle b. England Ap. 14, 1839; d. Brooklyn, N. Y. Dec. 9, 1877, dau. of Dr. 
George and Betty Astle. 

4. Albert D. b. Fitchburg, Mass. Sept. 13, 1859. 5. George A. b. Woburn, Mass. Aug. 7, 1867. 
6. Eleanor C. b. Philadelphia, Penn. Nov. 15, 1869. 

9. Henry b. July 22, 1823; m. June 21, 1855 Ruthena Porter (q. v.). 

1. Ella Sophia b. Nov. 22, 185G. 2. Emma Ireau b. March 17, 1861. 



268 GIL HUM. 

10. Electa b. May 28, 1826; m. 1st Austin P. Howe (q. v.) ; m. 2d Rufus Guillow (q. v.) ; m. 3d July 10, 
1854 Jerome C. Field of Winchester where she d. Sept. 22, 1855. 

11. Royal b. Sept. 14, 1829; d. Ap. 28, 1830. 

8. Ira b. Ap. 28, 1782 ; d. Shoreham, Vt. March 12, 1817 ; m. 1803 Jane Dart (q. v.), d. 
Nashua, July 21, 1839. 

1. Ira b. March 28, 1804; d. Shoreham, Vt. March 5, 1814. 

2. Hervey Wright b. Essex, N. Y. March 3, 1807; d. Nashua Dec. 26, 1876: m. 1st Aug. 16, 1832 Heph- 
zibeth Perry of Newport; three ch.; m. 2d Mary Greeley of Pelham; onech.; m. 3d Betsey Perry of 
Newport; one ch.; r. Nashua. 

3. Belding Dart b. Shoreham, Vt. July 5, 1812; d. Nashua Oct. 4, 1878; m. 1st Nov. 15, 1836 Mary Brown 
b. Alstead June 13, 1812, d. Roxbury, Mass. Aug. 5, 1866. 

1. George Brown b. Dunstable. Mass. July 27, 1837 ; d. Lowell, Mass. Jan. 28, 1870; m. June 27, 18G5 Abba P. Mitchell. 

2. Arthur b. Nashua June 13, 1839; d. there July 13, 1878; m. 1869 Lucy J. Beard. 

1. Richmond Fletcher b. Nashua Nov. 9, 1873. 

3. Albert Dart b. Nashua March 26, 1811; m. 1867 Alice E. Gilson. 

4. Mary Jane b. Nashua Dec. 11, 1844; d. Keene Oct. 7, 1853. 

m. 2d Dec. 1, 1868 Clara E. L. Walker b. Grafton, Mass. Oct. 18, 1844, dau. of George and Mary P. B. 
(Hoyt) Walker. 

5. Herbert Belding b. Nashua Oct. 8, 1873. 

9. Lemuel b. Jan. 4, 1785 ; d. Keene Jan. 13, 1857 ; m. Oct. 2, 1801 Elsea Fuller (q. v.) d. 

Peterboro' Sept. 7, 1875. 

I. A son b. June 1, 1806; d. same day. 2. Caleb b. July 19. 1807; d. unm. New York July 27, 1834. 
3. Elsea b. Surry March 6, 1810; d. Sept 2, 1810. 4. David Lemuel b. Sept. 2, 1812; d. Nov. 24, 1815. 

5. A son b. Nov. 16, 1814 ; d. same day. 6. Elsea Maria b. Dec. 2, 1815 ; m. Charles Thomas Townsend (q. v.). 

7. Lemuel Fuller b. Nov. 19, 1818; d. March 27, 1820. 

8. Charles Washington b. Ap. 26, 1821 ; m. Limah Sophia Smith b. Unity Nov. 7, 1820, dau. of Joseph 
G. and Lucy (Howe) Smith. 

1. Luella Angelima b. May 24, 1845; ra. George Barrett (q. v.). 2. Jane Elsea b. Nashua Aug. 12, 1846; d. Jan. 31, 1847. 

3. Charles Washington b. June 10, 1849; m. Nov. 21, 1870 Lina Rosalie Hartt b. Guvsboro', Nova Scotia June 19, 1850. 

4. Joseph Smith b. Feb. 22, 1851; ra. 1st Sept. 3, 1870 Silva Madura Trumbull b. Sutton July, 1854; m. 2d June 1, 1875 
Lillie Jane McCoy (q. v.). 

1. Grace Miranda b. March 12, 187C. 2. Miles Joseph b. Dec. 9, 1877. 3. Charlie Earl b. Sept. 29, 1879. 

5. Nellie Annie b. Ap. 10, 18U2. 

9. Harriet Newell b. May 21, 1823; m. Ap. 13, 1851 Alfred Horace Kingsbury b. Oxford. Mass. ; r. Fitch- 

burg, Mass. 

1. Ella A. (Kingsbury.) 2. Hattie A. (Kingsbury.) 3. Frederick A. (Kingsbury.) 4. Ada H. (Kingsbury.) 

10. Lemuel George b. March 12, 1826; d. Aug. 29. 1839. 

II. Rebecca Angeline b. Sept. 29, 1828 ; m. Calvin Clark Bingham (q. v.). 

10. Wealthy b. July 4, 1787 ; m. Daniel Nash (q. v.). 

Augustus Bigelow, a relative of old Mrs. Ballard, was taxed here 1806-7. 
Marvin Bigelow, a blacksmith, was on tax-list 1830-7. 
Edward Birkenshaw, an Englishman, in Factory 1859-02. 

Salmon Blxby m. Lucy French. 

1. Malvina bapt. Sept. 19, 1819. 

T7> T * T7" Tp Paine Blake r. Sanbornton and had a son Royal who was b. there Aug. 1 7, 1784, and d. Aug. 
JjLj±Vj\-Jli. 17, 1854. Hem. Jan. 1808 Polly Prescottb. May 13, 1786, d. March, 1838, dau. of Samuel and 
Mary Prescott. Their fifth ch. was 

John Morrison Blake b. Sanbornton June 8, 1819 ; d. Cornish July 24, 1858 ; 
m. 1st Sept. 8, 1844 Harriet Augusta Burnham d. Alexandria Jan. 20, 1851 , dau. 
of John Putnam Burnham; m. 2d July 1, 1852 Susan Elizabeth Burnham b. Wood- 
stock, Vt. March 10, 1830, d. there Dec. 0, 1874, dau. of John Putnam and Azuba 
Elizabeth (Farnsworth) Burnham. 

1. John Parker b. unk. March 18, 1853 ; d. Cornish Aug. 15, 1856. 

2. Frank Henry b. Oct. 22, 1854 ; d. Cornish Aug. 8, 1856. 

3. Martha Ella b. Cornish May 18, 1856. 

4. John Morrison b. Woodstock, Vt. Aug. 12, 1857 ; r. there. 

5. Osraan Brewer Shaw b. Woodstock, Vt. Jan. 6, 1859 ; r. New York. 

John Adna Blake son of Joseph and Mehitable (Holman ) Blake was b. Surry 
July 28, 1840; m. 1804 Abbie Jane Blake b. Surry March 10, 1845, dau. of Joshua 
D. and Abigail Jane (Carter) Blake. 



GENEALOGIES. 269 

1. Mary Louisa b. Surry Feb. 28, 1865. 2. Adna Joshua b. Surry Feb. 20, 1868. 

3. Fred Sumner b. Surry June 26, 1870. 

4. Estella Sylvia b. Surry Sept. 6, 1871 ; d. there Jan. 6, 1872. 

5. Belle Carter b. Surry Oct, 10, 1872. 6. Delbert Russell b. Surry Jan. 1, 1875. 
7. Ada Fanny b. Surry Feb. 23, 1877. 8. Frank Louis b. Surry July 28, 1879. 

William Blaxciiakd m. Lucretia Bates and was taxed here 1859; r. Lynn, Mass. 

T>T T^"LT The family tradition says that three brothers of this name emigrated from England, one of 

Jj-LiAoXl • whom, Daniel, son of Tristram, s. in New Hampshire and had a son David. 

David Blisr b. unk. Nov. 1, 1752 or 1753; d. Dec. 5, 1817; m. Lucy, dau. of 
Obadiah and Sarah Wilcox of Surry. 

1. Anna b. Glastonbury, Conn. July 22, 1776 ; m. Delavan Delance b. Surry Feb. 5, 1774, 
son of Delavan and Hephzibah (Marvin) Delance. 

1. Lucy (Delance) m. Stoughton Richardson of Essex, N. Y. 

1. Helen (Richardson) m. Stickney of Au Sable Forks, N. Y. 

1. Anna (Stickney) in. Gray of Ithaca, N. Y. ; one ch. 2. L/tcy (Stickney.) 

2. Phehe (Delance) m. — — Eggleston of Essex, N. Y. ; r. with a dau. in Vt. 

3. Garrett (Delance) r. in the West. i. Dean. (Delance) b. Surry Oct. 6, 1796; m. and d. at Chazy, N. Y. 
5. Thankful (Delance) r. Chazy, N. Y. 0. David (Delance.) 7. Alvan (Delance.) 

8. Jane (Delance) m. Nichols; r. Chazy, N. Y. 9. Mary (Delance.) 

2. Lucy b. Glastonbury, Conn. Jan. 27, 177s ; d. there March 22, 1778. 

3. Daniel b. Glastonbury, Conn. Aug. 29, 1780 ; d. Jay, N. Y. 1829 ; m. Dec. 30, 1802 Beu- 
lah Wilcox (q. v.), d. Jay, N. Y. May 15, 1869. 

1. Mary Wilcox b. Jay, N. Y. Sept. 14, 1814; d. there Jan. Hi, 1S65; m. Oct. 27, 1830 Daniel B. Newell d. 
Minn. Aug. 16, 1866, son of Rufus Newell of Sutton, Vt. 

1. Martha 11. (Newell) b. Jay, N. Y. June 13, 1832; in. May 17, 1857 John S. son of John Boynton, formerly of 
Weatherstield, Vt. 

1. Letlie (Boynton) b. Tern, N. Y. July 29, 1S5S. 2. Lucy (Boynton) b. Peru, N. Y. March 3, 1S61 ; d. there Sept. 1862. 

3. John S. (Boynton) b. .lay, N. Y. March 6, 1803; d. there Sent. 1862? 

4. Abraham TAncoln (Boynton) b. Peru, N. Y. May 3, 1865. 5. D. Newell (Boynton)b. Jay, N. Y. Dec. 16, 1867. 
6. Mollus X. (Boynton) b. Jay, N. Y. May 24, lS7u. 7. Ueulah ],. (Boynton) b. Jay, N. Y. Ap. 28, 1873. 

2. /.. Boardman (Newell) b. Jay, N. Y. Ap. 15, 1834; m. 1861 Sarah W., dau. of Nathaniel Purmont of Jay, N. Y. 

1. Katit (N.-vvcll.) 2. Minnie "(Newell.) 3. Alice (Newell.) All adopted. 

3. Benlah Blish (Newell) b. Jav. N. Y. Ap. 12. 1836; in. May 17, I860 Benjamin S. Bull of Minneapolis, Minn. 

1. Irving J. (Bull) b. Minneapolis, Minn. July 30, 1801. 2. Miirij Newell (Bull) b. Minneapolis, Minn. Nov. 1864. 

3. Bcnnie (Bull) b. Minneapolis, Minn. June, 1869. 
i. Isaac l>. (Newell) h. Jav, N. Y. June 10, 1838; d. Minneapolis, Minn. Sept. 8, 1872; m. May, 1867 Harriet N., dau. 
of William II. Buttrick ofJay, N. Y. She '1. Minneapolis, Minn. I860. 

5. Electa A. (Newell) b. Jav,"N. Y. July 7, 1840; d. there Sept. 10, 1842. 

6. Marij Rosalie (Newell) b! Jay, N. Y. July 30, 1849; m. Aug. 12, 1875 Henry M. Chase of Minneapolis, Minn. 

1. Harry Arthur (Chase.) 

7. Arthur I). (Newell) b. Jay, N. Y. March 19, 1852; m. Dec. 11, 1870 Charlotte Vanornum of Westport, N. Y. 

2. Daniel b. Jay, N. Y. Jan. 6, 1816; d. Dec. 12, 1856; m. Jan. 6, 1840 Mary H., dau. of Joseph Bruce of 
Jay, N. Y. 

1. David b. N. Y. Ap. 1842. 2. Lucy b. N. Y. Oct. 1846; d. there Sept. 1863. 3. Martha b. N. Y. Feb. 1849. 

4. Frank D. b. N. Y. June, 1832. 

3. Beidah b. Jay, N. Y. March 30, 1819; m. Aug. 18, 1842 Pierpont E., sou of Nathan Jones of Conn. 

1. Mary K. (Jones) b. Granville, N. Y. (let. 2, 1842; in. June 20, 1802 S. J. Bull of Jav, N. Y. 

1. ll //<■« (Bull) b. Jav, N. Y. May 30, 1864. 2. Eugenia 31. (Bull) b. Jay, N. Y*. Feb. 21, 1SG7. 
3. Semite (Bull) b. Jay, N. Y. June 16, I860. 4. Pierre (Bull) b. Jay, N. Y. March 30, 1876. 

2. Martha E. (Jones) b. N. Y. March 16, 1845; r. Dansville, N. Y. 

3. Daniel Blish (Jones) b. N. Y. Nov. 8, 1846; in. Feb. 24, 1878 M. Elizabeth Cunningham of Jay, N. Y. 

4. Margaret E. (Jones) b. N. Y. July 7, 1848; m. May 15, 1872 William Thompson of Port Henry, N. Y. 

5. Li/dia M. (Jones) b. N. Y. July 7, 1850; in. June 25, 1873 Woodlev W. Campbell of Busti, N. Y. ; missionaries to India. 

6. Elijah Blish (Jones) b. N. Y. March 5, 1852; r. Ticonderoga, N.'Y. 

7. Nathan II. (Jones) b. N. Y. Dec. 1, 1854; m. Feb. 24, 1875 Ida DeKalb of Granville, N. Y. 

1. Lydia Blish (Jones) b. N. Y. July 4, 1876, 

8. Beuldh Blish (Jones) b. N. Y*. Jan. 18, 1857; r. Au Sable Forks, N. Y. 9. QUman Mack (Jones) b. Oct. 6, 1862. 

4. Lucy b. Glastonbury, Conn. Aug. 4, 1782 ; in. Elijah Hedding, Bishop of M. E. Church. 

5. Hope b. Glastonbury, Conn. July 30, 1784; m. Samuel Whitney, Jr. (q. v.). 

6. David b. Nov. 1, 1786 ; d. Lawrenceville, N. Y. Nov. 15, 1872 ; m. 1811 Tolly Whitney 
(q. v.) d. Lawrenceville, N. Y. June 17, 1868. 

1. Daniel b. June 17, 1812; m. Nov. 12, 1810 Julia Ann Gilbert b. Springfield, N. Y. Feb. 23, 1821. 

1. William G. b. Dowasjiac, Mich. Oct. 26, 1842; m. Mariette Godfrey. 

2. Emily b. Dowagiac, Mich. Aug. 27, 1846; in. Sept. 26, 1860 Charles E. Corey b. Springfield, N. Y. June 23, 1847. 

1. George D. (Corey) b. Mich. Jan. 8, 1872. 2. William M. (Corey) b. Mich. Sept. "9, 1S74. 

3. David b. Dowagiac, Mich. Sept. 14, 1853; m. Sept. 18, 1S74 Sarah Whitbeck. 

1. Iva b. Mich. Feb. 12, 1876. 

2. David b. Surry Nov. 30, 1814; perished on burning steamer Pha-nis Nov. 21, 1847. 

3. Mary Jane b. Jay, N. Y. Jan. 27, 1817. 4. John b. Jay, N. Y. Nov. 28, 1819; d. there March 17, 1820. 



2T0 GIL SUM. 

5. Lucy b. Jay, N. Y. Feb. 1, 1821 ; d. LawrenceviUe, N. Y. Ap. 30, 1838. 

6. Emily b. Jay, N. Y. Ap. 30, 1828; m. Dr. John F. Carpenter d. leaving four ch.; r. LawrenceviUe, N. Y. 

7. William Clark b. Peru, N. Y. Nov. 30, 1825; m. Nov. 1, 1853 Harriet Eveline Ferris b. LawrenceviUe, 
N. Y. Aug. 81, 1829, dau. of Luther and Clarissa (Bush) Ferris. 

7. Zeruiah b. June 16, 1789 ; d. Easton, Mass. June 23, 1863 ; m. Feb. 3, 1808 Rev. John 
Tinkham d. Easton, Mass. June 29, 1824, set. 42. 

8. Dimmis b. June 10, 1791 ; m. Daniel Wade (q. v.). 

9. John b. March 21, 1793; d. Woodstock, Vt, Sept. 1, 1843; m. 1813 Merab Wales b. 
Hampton, Conn. 1793, d. Chicago, 111. Jan. 5, 1861, dau. of Stephen and Mary Wales. 

1. Merab Ann b. Woodstock, Vt. Aug. 8, 1815; d. there Ap. 17, 1831. 

2. Ellen Douglas b. Woodstock, Vt. March 10, 1817; m. May 10, 1840 Dr. Milo L. Burnham of Montpe- 
lier, Vt. 

3. Lucy Heddiug b. Woodstock, Vt. May 5, 1819; m. Jan. 29, 1844 Chester Alvin Alden of Claremont; 
d. Janesville, Wis. Dec. 25, 1870. 

1. John Gardner (Alden) b. Woodstock, Vt. May 5, 1848; d. there Nov. 8, 1S54. 

2. Belle Francis (Alden) b. Woodstock, Vt. Jan. 8, 1853; d. Janesville, Wis. June 9, 1862. 

3. John Blish (Alden) b. Janesville, Wis. Nov. 16, 1856. 

i. John H. b. Woodstock, Vt. Ap. 25, 1821 ; m. Sept. 28, 1854 Sarah Shields of Seymour, Ind. where they r. 
1. Medy S. b. Seymour, Ind. Dec. 14, 1855. 2. Emma M. b. Seymour, Ind. June 1, 1858. 

3. John B. b. Seymour, Ind. Sept. S, I860; a midshipman on U. S. man-of-war Alaska. 

4. Lucy S. b. Seymour, Ind. Oct. 8, 1862. 5. Tipton S. b. Seymour, Ind. Jan. 13, 1865. 

5. Mary b. Woodstock, Vt. Ap. 5, 1823; d. there Aug. 1824. 

6. Elijah Hedding b. Woodstock, Vt. March, 1825; m. Sept. 8, 1848 Mary A. Smith of Franklin. 

7. Mary Dunham b. Woodstock, Vt. Feb. 20, 1827; m. Aug. 21, 1845 Prof. Benjamin Franklin Marsh b. 
Taftsville, Vt. March 10, 1810, son of Otis and Julia (Ransom) Marsh. 

1. George Franklin, (Marsh) b. Canaan V Aug. 21, 1846; d. there Sept. 21, 1846. 

2. George Franklin (Marsh) b. Canaan Oct. 21, 1847; m. Ap. 7, 1875 Lizzie Shippen b. O. 1855; is U. S. surveyor at 
Helena, Mont. 

1. George- Frairl.ii// (Marsh) b. Helena, Mont. Dec. 18, 1875. 

3. John Mason (.Marsh) b. Vienna, Ind. Oct. 15, 1849; m. Oct. 3, 1874 Laura Merrick b. Mo. 1858; clerk in U. S. 
survey office at Helena, Mont. 

1. Maud (Marsh) h. Helena, Mont. July 17, 1877. 2. Linn M. (Marsh) b. Helena, Mont. Aug. 10, 1879. 

4. Julia Emma (Marsh) b. Jeffersonville, Ind. Nov. 3, 1853. 

5. Flora Atwood (Marsh) b. Anderson, Ind. Ap. 11, 1856; m. Feb. 21, 1875 Joseph Davis b. Coatesville, Penn. Nov. 24 
or 25, 1845, served three months in the war, rem. to Montana 1866, engaged iu mining, is called " Rocky Mountain Joe," 
and has served his district in the Legislature. 

1. Louis Joseph (Davis) b. Helena, Mont. Jan. 9, 1S7C. 2. May Helle (Davis) b. Helena, Mont. July 3, 1878. 

6. William Wales (Marsh) b. Chicago, III. Sept. 19, 1860; d. Janesville, Wis. Jan. 27, 1863. 

8. Edwin Wales b. Woodstock, Vt. Dec. 24, 1829 ; m. June 8, 1855 Elizabeth Kester of Seymour, Ind. 

9. Emily Tinkham b. Woodstock, Vt. Nov. 3, 1831; d. Stoughton, Wis. Ap. 6, 1855; m. Oct. 16, 1861 
Nelson Williams of LawrenceviUe, N. Y. 

10. William Wales b. Woodstock, Vt. Dec. 5, 1833; d. unm. Janesville, Wis. Ap. 12, 1856. 

13 T Tt^Q lltomas and Margaret Bliss came from England 1635, s. at Braintree, Mass., but soon rem. to 

JDJ_J-Lk50. Hartford, Conn, where he d. 1640 ret. about 50. She d. Springfield, Mass. Aug. 28, 1684. Their 
fourth son, Samuel, was b. Eng. 1624, rem. to Springfield, Mass. with his mother, where he d. March 23, 1720. 
He m. Nov. 10, 1665 Mary Leonard b. Springfield, Mass. 1647, d. there March 24, r 1724, dau. of John and Sarah 
Leonard. Their second son Jonathan b. Springfield, Mass. Jan. 5, 1672; rem. to East Windsor, Conn, where he 
became owner of large tracts of land between Bolton and Enfield, Conn. He d. there about 1740; m. March 7, 
1702 Sarah, dau. of Benjamin Eggleston of Enfield, Conn. Their only son was Jonathan. 

Jonathan Bliss b. Windsor, Conn. Jan. 4, 1712; d. Ap. 1799; m. Sibbil Fox d. 
June 2, 1789. 

1. Jonathan b. Conn. ; d. Oct. 14, 1799 ; na. Sarah . 

1. Sarah b. unk. Jan. 7, 1765; m. Joel Kilbum (q. v.). 2. Naomi b. Oct. 25, 1767. 

3. Molly b. Feb. 12, 1769; m. David Thompson (q. v.). 

4. Samuel b. July 11, 1771; m. Sally ; a carpenter and joiner; r. near Portsmouth, O. 

1. Sophia b. Aug. 25, 1796; m. Reuben Nurse. 2. Henry b. Feb. 2, 1799. 
3. John. 4. Samuel. 5. George. 6. James. 7. Sara. 8. Emily. 9. Fanny. 

5. Prudence b. July 31, 1773; m. Sept. 1796 Asahel Griswold of Walpole. 6. Susannah b. July 28, 1775; 
m. Joseph Taylor (q. v.). 7. Orphia bapt. about 1782; m. Isaac Griswold (q. v.). 

8. Theodore b. July 27, 1780; d. Wheelersburg, O. 1856; m. Nov. 28, 1805 Abigail Atherton of Alstead. 

1. Theodore b. Essex Co. N. Y. Aug. 16, 1S10; m. Mav 4, 1837 Mary P. Flower; a farmer. 

1. Francis M. b. Wheelersburg, O. Feb. 9, 1839; d. there Nov. 23, 1872 ; a printer. 

2. Clarence P. b. Portsmouth, O. Dec. 25, 1840; m. May 2G, 1864 Kate Laughlin ; a saddler. 

3. Ella M. b. Wheelersburg, O. Sept. 12, 1844 ; m. S. B. Laughlin. 

4. Winfiehl S. b. Wheelersburg, O. June 13, 1847 ; d. there Jan. 13, 1852. 

2. Parthena b. Essex Co. N. Y. Jan. 7, 1814; m. Feb. 2, 1864 Levi Smith; r. Sciotoville, O. 

3. Martin b. Essex Co. N. Y. Dec. 6, 1816; rn. Feb. 7, 1845 Harriet A. Can- b. Vanceburg, Ky. Jan. 30, 1829. He is a 
tailor at Rushville, Ind. 

1. Elizabeth M. b. Concord, Ky. June 26, 1S4G ; m. May 7, 1S67 A. B. Campbell ; r. Bloomington, 111. 

2. George W. b. Concord, Ky. July 12, 1850 ; m. Ap. 22, 1S78 Harriet Denning ; a clerk at Rushville, Ind. 



GENEALOGIES. 271 

3. Flora B. b. Concord, Kv. Oct. 15, 1855 ; m. Dec. 12, 1872 Cassius Roininger ; r. Hope, 111. 

4. William b. Cvnthiana, ky. Mav 9, 1S58 ; a clerk at Rushville, Ind. 5. Laura b. Cyuthiana, Ky. Sept. 12, 1861. 
6. Hattie J. b. Rushville, Ind. Not. 1, 1805. 

9. Jonathan b. June 7, 1783; d. Wheelersburg, O. Ap. 4, 1S42 ; m. Dec. 15, 1805 Esther Griswold b. unk. 
Ap. 17, 1786, d. Wheelersburg, O. June 7, 1826. 

1. Harriet b. unk. Feb. 1, 1810; m. Ball ; r. Knightstown, Ind. 

2. Stephen Van b. N. Y. Sept. 21, 1811; d. Mavsville, Kv. Nov. 29, 1871; m. 1st Jan. 27, 1834 Rebecca Jane Can- b. 
Vanceburg, Kv. Jan. 18, 1819, d. there July 16", 1855. 

I. George R. b. Vanceburg, Kv. March 7, 1835; d. there Ap. 15, 1850. 2. Mary E. b. Vanceburg, Ky. March 15, 1837; d. there 
Oct. 27, 1840. 3. Virgil b. Vanceburg, Ky. Jan. 26, 1830; d. there Sept. 25, 1841. 

4. Francis M. b. Vanceburg, Ky. July 15, 1841 ; m. Oct. 19, 1862 Alice Dugan ; a machinist at Pittsburg, Penn. 

5. William H. b. Vanceburg, Ky. Dec. 1, 1843 ; r. Paris, Ky. 

6. Harriet A. b. Vanceburg, Ky. July 24. 1S46; m. Feb. 14", 1S68 William T. Orrj r. Cincinnati, O. 

7. James H. b. Vanceburg, Ky. Jan. 14, 1840 ; a cigar-maker at Latrobe ? Penn. S. Ella Jane b. Vanceburg, Ky. Aug. 19, 1S51 ; 
in. 1873 Thomas M. Adamson ; r. Ironton, O. 9. Ma