(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire from the time of the first settlement within its borders"

/at 






/ 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



THE NEW YOMK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX 
TJLDEN FOUNDATtONS 




FRANKLIN BENJAMIN SANBORN. 
The sage of Concord — The most distinguished son of Hampton Falls. 



HISTORY 

OF 

HAMPTON FALLS, N. H. 



VOLUME II 



CONTAINING THE CHURCH HISTORY 

AND MANY OTHER THINGS NOT 

PREVIOUSLY RECORDED 



By 

HON. WARREN BROWN 



THE RUMFORD press 

CONCORD, N. H. 

1918 



TO THE READER. 

When the history of Hampton Falls was published about all 
that was known of the parish church history was contained in the 
journals of the two first ministers, Rev. Messrs. Cotton and 
Whipple, which had fortunately been saved when the church 
records had been destroyed. This journal gave a pretty full 
account of the happenings in the church from the time of its 
organization, in 1712, until a httle before Mr. Whipple's death in 
1757. From that time until the dissolution of the church soon 
after 1830, all that was known was derived from the town records 
which were not full or complete, as there was not much recorded. 

Soon after the history of Hampton Falls was published, Mrs. 
Abbot, wife of the late Sereno T. Abbot, for many years pastor 
of the line church, gave me a quantity of papers; among them 
was a copy of the parish church records during the entire time of 
its existence. This copy compared closely to that of the journals 
of the two ministers and there is every reason to believe that it is 
equally correct during the entire period of which il relates, and 
that he had obtained in other wa 'S some things not in the one 
destroyed, and that it is more vah'able than tl ^ orginal record. 
The town owes Mr. Abbot a debt of gratitude for having saved 
for us what was supposed to have been hopelessly lost. 

I copied the record and filed it away, thinking that at some time 
it might be published. On showing it to my cousin, Mr. Frank 
B. Sanborn, he insisted that I take measures to have it published 
and offered to assist me in the work. His death soon after de- 
prived me of his help. 

Having been the only person who had this knowledge, I had 
long felt it was my duty to place it before the public where it 
would be of great benefit to the present generation, and to those 
who are to come after. On laying the matter before the town it 
was voted to assist in its publication. The reason why towns 
should assist in the publication of their history is that the edition 
is usually small, and would be attended with so much expense 
that few could afford to buy. Works of this kind are of Httle 
value unless they can be obtained by all at a price they can afford 



IV HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

to pay. The money the towns appropriate in this way has a 
lasting effect for many years after. The church history of a town 
is valuable ill itself and often gives an insight into other matters 
which would l)e hard to get in any other way. I have inserted 
the names of those admitted to church memVjership, and the 
baptisms of Rev. Mr. Cotton and Rev. Mr. Whipple and have no 
doubt readers will there find some information which will be of 
interest. All that is recorded in the two ministers' journals will 
be found in the two volumes of the town history. There are 
some duplications of matters in the second volume; this has been 
carefully avoided as far as possible, and only allowed to make a 
connected narrative. 

Rev. I\Ir. Bailey, w^ho succeeded Mr. Whipple, does not appear 
to have kept any record. If he did it has been lost. During Mr. 
Wingate's ministry there were unhappy differences which con- 
tinued din-ing his entire pastorate. This, together with the 
demoralization cavised by the Revolutionary War, made the 
interest in vital religion sink to a low ebb. 

Interest in religious matters improved under Rev. Dr. Lang- 
don. He, like many other learned men, was not much given to 
detail; he omitted to record many things which now would be of 
great interest. Rev. Mr. Abbot, who succeeded him, gathered 
and recorded much which should have been done by his prede- 
cessor. Church discipline was relaxed somewhat during Mr. 
Abbot's pastorate. He later became a Unitarian. He kept a 
very good record. The Baptists and others who had withdrawn 
made it difficult to raise his salary. After Mr. Abbot's resigna- 
tion there was little to be recorded. 

As the church history of itself would not be enough for a volume 
I have continued the journal of current events, etc., such as was 
published in the history of Hampton Falls. 

The past eighteen years have been eventful ones, and much has 
happened well worth recording. This, with some other things 
which have been collected, will be of interest to the reader. I 
have tried to give a correct picture of the town in my boyhood in 
the decade from 1840 to 1850, to give an account of the manners, 
customs, and methods of doing business which prevailed at that 
time, which was very different from anything we know at the 
present time. I have given a short sketch of the people who lived 
in nearly every house in the town. I have given the familiar 



TO THE READER V 

names and titles by which they were spoken of without middle 
names as they were known at the time. Seventy years ago this 
town took a high rank among the towns of the state for temper- 
ance, morality, industry and intelligence and in all things which 
go to make up a desirable community. I have inserted a number 
of pictures of townsmen who were my contemporaries and valued 
friends. In looking over their pictures, I think one must be im- 
pressed that the town has retained its former good reputation. 
After twenty years of attention in gathering material relating to 
the history of the town, I think there is not much more that can 
be had than is recorded in the two volumes. If this second 
volume should meet as favorable reception from the public as did 
the first, I shall feel well compensated for the time and labor spent 
in its production. 

Warren Brown. 
Hampton Falls, 
March 1st, 1918. 



CONTENTS 

PAGE 

Introduction iii 

List of Illustrations ix 

The History of the Church in Hampton Falls 1 

The Meeting House 7 - 

The Baptist Church 67 

The First Congregational Society 71 

Universalist Society 75 

Extracts from the Church and Town Records 118 

Extracts from Weare Papers 147 

A List of Persons Taxed in Hampton Falls in 1776 148 ■ 

Facsimile of Advertisement of First Horse Show in America 152 

Fire Record 153 

Drownings 157 

Mail Service 159 

Rural Free Delivery 161 

Town Library Building 163 

From Town Records 171 

Extracts from Warren Brown's Journal 180 

Conditions in the Town in the Decade from 1840 to 1850 233 

Facsimile of Program of Exhibition at Union School, February 24, 1851 237 

Short Notes of the People Who Lived in the Town between 1840 and 1850 277 

Applecrest Farm 288 

Lafayette Road 291 

Esquire Philbrick's Theory 292 

Town Officers and Representatives Since 1900 294 

Physicians, Natives of this Town 296 

Rev. Sereno T. Abbott, Sketch 297 

Charles Treadwell, Sketch 299 

An Ancient Saddle 301 

Joseph Mayo, Sketch 302 

Rev. Lysander Dickerman, Sketch 303 

Franklin Benjamin Sanborn, Sketch 305 

Biographical Sketches 313 

Hon. Warren Brown 315 

Illustration (Hon. Warren Brown) 316 

Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown 318 

Illustration (Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown) 317 

Charles P. Akerman 319 

Mary Dodge Aiken 320 

Mary Dodge White 320 

Moses Emery Batchelder 321 

Samuel Batchelder 322 

Arthur Warren Brown 323 



Vlll CONTENTS 

Biographiral Sketches page 

Charles Hufus Brown 324 

George Cjrus Brown 325 

Harrj' Benson Brown 326 

Morrill Marston Coffin 327 

Joseph Blake Cram 328 

William Everett Cram 329 

George Janvrin Curtis 330 

Dr. ^^'illianl ^^'aldo Curtis 331 

Charles Xealey Dodge 332 

Horace A. Godfrey 333 

John H. Gove 334 

Frank S. Green 337 

Charles A. Hardy 338 

Jerome A. Hardy 339 

George Clifford Healey 340 

Bertram Thompson Janvrin 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 

Levi Edwin Lane 345 

George F. Merrill 346 

Gen. Charles A. Nason- 347 

Edwin Prescott 348 

Warren James Prescott 350 

Nathan Henry Robie 351 

Frank B. Sanborn 352 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

Hon. John Newell Sanborn 355 

Roscoe Franklin Swain 356 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

Emmons Brown Towle 358 

Charles F. W^adleigh 359 

Benjamin Franklin Weare 360 

Dr. Francis Edward Clarke 361 

Harriett Elizabeth Abbott Clark 362 

George Moulton 364 

Invoice of Town 365 

Index of Names 383 

Index of Subjects 397 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 

Frank Benjamin Sanborn Frontispiece and 352 

Facsimile of Advertisement of First Horse Show in America 152 

Order of Exercises of Exhibition at the Union School February 24, 1851 237 

Hon. Warren Brown 316 

Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown 317 

Charles P. Akerman 319 

Mary Dodge Aiken 320 

Mary Dodge White 320 

Moses Emery Batchelder 321 

Samuel Batchelder 322 

Arthur Warren Brown 323 

Charles Rufus Brown 324 

George Cyrus Brown 325 

Henry Benson Brown 326 

Morrill Marston Coffin 327 

Joseph Blake Cram 328 

George Janvrin Curtis > 330 

Dr. William Waldo Curtis 331 

Charles Nealey Dodge 332 

Horace A. Godfrey 333 

John H. Gove 334 

Frank S. Green 337 

Charles A. Hardy 338 

Jerome A. Hardy 339 

George Clifford Healey 340 

Bertram Thompson Janvrin 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 

Levi Edwin Lane 345 

George F. Merrill 346 

Gen. Charles A. Nason 347 

Edwin Prescott 348 

Warren James Prescott 350 

Nathan Henry Robie 351 

Frank Benjamin Sanborn 352 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

Hon. John Newell Sanborn 355 

Roscoe Franklin Swain 356 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

Emmons Brown Toole 358 

Charles F. W^adleigh 359 

Benjamin Franklin Weare 360 

Dr. Francis Edward Clarke 361 

Harriett Elizabeth Abbott Clarke 362 

George Moulton 364 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS. 

THE HISTORY OF THE CHURCH IN HAMPTON 

FALLS. 

The history of the church in Hampton Falls cannot be intelli- 
gently written or properly understood, without going back to the 
church founded at Hampton in 1638. 

What is now known as Hampton Falls was then a part of Hamp- 
ton, and so continued for about seventy years. Our people, who 
were a church going people, attended meeting there, and were taxed 
on their polls and estates for the support of preaching and the build- 
ing of meeting houses, three different meeting houses having been 
built, before a meeting house was built on the Falls side. The 
first five ministers settled over the church in the old town were as 
much our ministers as theirs, and it is apparent why we should 
take an interest in the Hampton church. A tablet erected within 
a few years, near the site of the log meeting house and near where 
the Hampton Academy formerly stood, says three meeting houses 
were built there. The common about them was known as the 
meeting house green. 

This church, like all others organized in those early days in this 
state, was Congregational in form, and strictly Puritanic in 
character. Mr. Frank B. Sanborn, in his history of New Hamp- 
shire, complains of the activity of the colony of Massachusetts 
Bay in forcing their strict notions on the people of this state. 
These churches were the foundation of what has since been known 
as New England Congregationalism. They were also known as 
the Standing Order. Being dissenters from the established 
Church of England, the forms and ceremonies of that church 
were obnoxious to them; instead of kneeling they stood during 
prayers; hence the name. Since my remembrance the Congre- 
gational church was spoken of by that name to distinguish it from 
those of other denominations which had come into existence in 
later years. They called their places of worship meeting houses, 
instead of churches. They did not dedicate their meeting houses. 
They did not observe Christmas. The Congregationalists were 

2 



I HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

among the last to celebrate Christmas. As late as 1854, when I 
was a student at Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., no attention 
was paid to the day, not even a half holiday being granted. Thus 
it will be seen that it was intended that the customs and practices 
of the church should be as different as possible from that of the 
Episcopal form. Mrs. Harriet Beecher Stowe took up her resi- 
dence in Andover in 1852. She shocked the people by the nature 
of entertainments held at her house, such as charades, tableaux, 
and, on one occasion, there was a Christmas tree. 

The Rev. Stephen Batchelder, the first minister at Hampton, 
was born in England in 1561. The place of his birth is unknown. 
He was educated at Oxford University where he took orders in 
the established church, but soon he became a dissenter. His 
conduct became very obnoxious to the bishop and rulers of that 
church, and he was said to have suffered much persecution at 
their hands. About 1630 he, with his followers, removed to 
Holland where he gathered a church with the intention of soon 
emigrating to America. They were known by the name of the 
"Company of the Plough." After making the arrangements, 
by some misunderstanding or double dealing of the shipmaster, 
their departure was prevented. The company returned to Eng- 
land. 

On the 9th of March, 1632, Mr. Batchelder and his company 
sailed from London on the William and Francis, and landed in 
Boston on the 5th of June, with Christopher Hussey, his son-in- 
law, and others. They continued their church relations, and to 
which others were soon added. As this church had not been 
organized by permission of the General Court, or Governor and 
Council, he was enjoined from continuing his church work, except 
to those who had come with him from England. He removed to 
Ipswich, where he had a grant of land. Soon after he was in 
Newbury. He came to Hampton with his followers, in 1639, and 
founded the Hampton church. 

From the fact of having had a previous organization of several 
years before coming here, the Hampton church claims to be the 
oldest in the state. The Dover church, organized in 1635, was 
the first ever organized in the state. Mr. Batchelder was pastor, 
and associated with him was Rev. Timothy Dalton, with the title 
of teacher. This condition continued for about two years, when 
difficulties and troubles arose. Mr. Batchelder was enjoined 



HISTORY OF THE CHURCH IN HAMPTON FALLS 6 

• 

from his ministerial office and suspended from his membership 
of the church. Some time after he was restored to membership, 
but never to his ministerial office. He remained in the country 
for a number of years but never had another pastoral settlement. 
He returned to England about 1655, and died at Hackney, near 
London, 1660, in the one hundredth year of his age. He was 
nearly eighty years old when he came to Hampton. He gave the 
first bell ever in the town to the church. He was granted a house 
lot and a farm of two hundred acres near the Massachusetts line. 
It was in Seabrook, and bounded on the south by the Rocks 
Road. Before leaving Hampton he conveyed this farm back to 
the town, but we find no record of this transaction. 

The relations of pastor and teacher, which existed here, appear 
to have been unknown anywhere else. One reason for this may 
have been that the men were well advanced in years, the parish 
extended over a large area, and was too much for one man to look 
after. At that time Portsmouth was the nearest church. Their 
work was divided in the following manner: in the morning the 
pastor preached; in the afternoon the teacher; in the morning 
the pastor offered the prayer which preceded the sermon, the 
teacher the closing prayer; in the afternoon the order was re- 
versed; the teacher pronounced the benediction at the close of 
the morning service, the pastor at the close in the afternoon; at 
the celebration of the Lord's Supper, one part by the pastor, the 
other by the teacher, the order being reversed at each communion. 
Baptisms were performed by each in the same manner. The re- 
lations between pastor and teacher were not harmonious; the 
differences were not in doctrine, but in practice. Those who 
came with Mr. Batchelder from England adhered to him, the 
remainder, which were much the more numerous, adhering to Mr. 
Dalton. Mr. Batchelder appears to have been a man of great 
force of character, restive under authority, and the governing 
powers. This caused him to be in trouble nearly all his life. His 
descendants are very numerous; there are not less than one hun- 
dred at the present time in Hampton Falls who are his lineal 
descendants. 

The Rev. Timothy Dalton, the teacher, was born in England 
in 1577, graduated from Cambridge in 1613, came to this country 
in 1637, and settled at Dedham, Mass., where he remained for a 
year and a half, when he removed to Hampton, and became asso- 



4 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

• 

ciated with Mr. Batchelder in the church work with the title of 
teacher. His connection with Mr. Batchelder continued for two 
or three years, until Mr. Batchelder 's removal. After this he 
continued the pastoral work alone, until 1647. In 1647, Rev. 
John Wheelwright was associated with him in the pastoral work, 
until 1656. After this his associate was Rev. Seaborn Cotton, 
until his death in 1661. 

In the earlier period of Mr. Dalton's ministry he did not receive 
any stated salary, but received several grants of land, among 
them a farm of three hundred acres at Sagamore Hill, in Hampton 
I" alls, which embraced the farms occupied b}' William H. Brown, 
Nath Batchelder, Fred P. Sanborn, and a part of the farm of 
Warren Brown. The tract of woodland, now known as the 
"Farm, " received its name because it was a part of Mr. Dalton's 
farm. Mr. Dalton had no children, at his decease. He gave his 
farm to Nathaniel Batchelder, Manuel Hilliard and Jasper Blake, 
supposed to have been connections or kinsmen of either Mr. or 
Mrs. Dalton. Manuel Hilhard was a seaman, and was lost at the 
wreck of Rivermouth in 1657, which event has been made 
memorable bj^ Whittier in a poem of that name. Some of the 
land left Nathaniel Batchelder has remained in possession of his 
descendents until the present time. Mr. Dalton was inducted 
into the work of the ministry in England, and came to this coun- 
try that he might worship God in accordance with the dictates of 
his own conscience. He was about eighty-four years old at the 
time of his death. 

The Rev. John W^heelwright, who was settled in 1647 as col- 
league of Mr. Dalton, was born in England about 1570. He was 
educated at Cambridge University. Oliver Cromwell, with whom 
he often engaged in athletic contests, was one of his classmates. 
He came to this country in 1635, and located at Mount Wollas- 
ton, with the intention of founding a church there. He preached 
a sermon which the magistrates considered to be seditious. For 
this he was disfranchised and banished from the colony. He 
later attempted to found a church at Exeter, but was prevented 
on account of his previous troubles in Massachusetts. He re- 
moved to Wells, Maine. After this his dishabilities were re- 
moved; he came to Hampton where he remained eight or nine 
years. There is little recorded of his work in Hampton. While 
here he had several grants of land. Among other tracts was the 



HISTORY OF THE CHURCH IN HAMPTON FALLS 5 

farm which had previously been given Rev. Stephen Batchelder, 
which he afterward sold to John Cass, who was an ancestor of 
Gen. Lewis Cass of Michigan. He was grantee in the famous 
Wheelwright deed, in which the Sagamores granted to him all the 
land between the Merrimac and Piscataqua rivers, which deed is 
now considered to have been a forgery. He did, however, obtain 
a grant from the Indians around Squanscot Falls, which is the 
present town of Exeter. He preached at different times at Exeter, 
Wells, Maine, and Salisbury, Mass., where he died November 5, 
1679. At that time he was the oldest minister in the colony. He 
was inclined to be disputatious, and from this cause was constantly 
in trouble wherever located. The courts decided that the sermon 
he preached at Mount Wollaston was not seditious, and was the 
cause of his dishabilities being removed, which allowed him to 
come to Hampton in 1647. 

Rev. Seaborn Cotton succeeded Mr. Wheelwright as Mr. Dal- 
ton's colleague in 1656 and continued until Mr. Dalton's death in 
1661. He was the son of Rev. John Cotton, minister of the first 
church in Boston. He was born during the passage of his parents 
from England. He was baptized on the second day after his 
arrival, September 6, 1633. From the circumstance of his birth, 
he was generally known by the name of Seaborn. He graduated 
from Harvard in 1651, where his name appears upon the catalogue 
as Margena. He was settled at Hampton and ordained over the 
church in 1660. His salary, fixed November, 1667, was eighty 
pounds per year, one half payable in provisions at current prices. 
November 24, 1679, it was voted to cover his house with short 
shingles, to make it tight and convenient, for the better protection 
of his books, and make a cellar with what speed they could. 

About this time Gov. Cranfield issued an order which caused a 
great deal of consternation — that all clergymen should administer 
the sacrament and baptism, according to the practice of the Church 
of England, to any who might apply. There was no execution of 
this order in Hampton. All the preceding ministers of Hamp- 
ton had been granted farms, but as there was no convenient land 
left Mr. Cotton was granted a farm at Hogpen Plains, in Kensing- 
ton, of two hundred acres, which farm is that now owned by 
Warren Lamprey. He died April 19, 1686, atthe age of fifty-two 
years. 

At his death the Hampton church was without a pastor for the 



6 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

first time in forty-eight j'ears. He was succeeded by his son, 
John Cotton, \yho preached for a number of years as a supply be- 
fore he was ordained. He was ordained November 19, 1696, ten 
years and four months after his father's death. Being so long 
without a pastor, the church had decreased somewhat in member- 
ship. After a pastorate of thirteen years and four months, and a 
ministry of more than twenty years, Mr. Cotton was suddenly 
removed from his people by death, at the age of fifty-one years, 
ten months and nineteen days. During his ministry two hundred 
and fifteen were admitted to the church, four hundred and eighty- 
seven were baptized. The sacrament was administered seven 
times a j^ear, being omitted from December 1 to March 1, on ac- 
count of the cold weather. His salary was fixed at eighty-five 
pounds per year. Wheat was to be secured at five shillings per 
bushel; Indian corn at three shillings, malt and rye at four shil- 
lings, pork at three pence per pound, beef at two pence per 
pound — all to be merchantable and good. He was to receive 
thirty cords of wood, at five shillings per cord; one half was to be 
of oak. The selectmen were to look after and keep account of 
the wood. 

There does not appear to have been any records by the first 
ministers. If any were kept they have been lost, and little is 
known of them except what can be gathered from the town record. 
Very little church record appears before 1700. In the grant for 
most of the New Hampshire towns a lot was set apart on which to 
set a meeting house which must be built within a certain time or 
the grant became invalidated. This did not occur at Hampton 
because the church was organized before coming here. 



THE MEETING HOUSE. 

The first we find in relation to a meeting house in Hampton 
Falls was in 1667, when liberty was given the Falls people to build 
a house of shelter and relief for use on the Lord's day, and at other 
times when needed. This house appears to have been located 
upon what is now the town common, near the old pound. This 
house appears to have been used for holding social religious meet- 
ings, and on Sabbaths when it was impossible to cross the cause- 
way by reason of the high water. It was the forerunner of the 
meeting house built forty years later. 

At a town meeting held at Hampton April 30, 1706, it was 
voted to repair the walls of the meeting house, earth all the clay 
walls, and daub them, and wash them over with white lime; mend 
the glass windows, and cause shetts to be made; to shingle it 
anew, and lay the floor over the beams, and to make a rate to pay 
the same. Nathaniel Weare, Joseph Cass and John Gove, and 
twelve others, enter their dissent, not because they were opposed 
to the repair of the meeting house, but because they were en- 
gaged in building a meeting house on the Falls side, at their 
own expense, and at the same time rated for the repairs of the 
meeting house at the old town, December 3, 1709. A petition 
of the inhabitants of the south part of Hampton, to the Coun- 
cil and General Assembly at Portsmouth, was read, setting 
forth the great distance from the place of worship, and the 
impossibility of crossing the causeway at times, by reason of 
the high tides, and that they had been at the expense of build- 
ing a meeting house, and supporting preaching, and at the same 
time were rated for the support of preaching at the old town, 
that we and the old town rates be raised together, and maintain 
two churches; and that our rates on this side of the river, be raised 
and applied to the support of preaching and support of the church 
here. After a hearing it was voted that the rates be raised to- 
gether, and those on the west side of the river be raised , and applied 
and used in the new parish. This was accepted, and a church 
organized and a minister employed. The rates were raised to- 
gether, until the death of Mr. Cotton in 1726, when it was dis- 



8 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

continued by legislative act. By this the two towns became en- 
tirely disconnected, and the west parish became an independent 
town. 

There was considerable opposition on the part of the old town. 
We can readily believe that the passage of the causeway was im- 
possible at times, as at first there was only a ford at the river, and 
later a low bridge, all of which would be overflowed during the 
season of high tides. Fifty years later, when the first stages 
began to run from Portsmouth to Boston in 17()1, they did not 
come over the causeway, but went up and forded the river at 
what has since been known as Coffins Mills, then through the Old 
Mill road, up to the Exeter road, then down to what has since 
been known as the Lafayette road at Hampton Falls hill. 

The meeting house was located very near the site of the Weare 
Monument. It was at first a rude building, neither clapboarded 
or plastered. It would appear that the meeting house was too 
small to comfortably seat the congregation as on March 23 it was 
voted that James Prescott be appointed to take care that the 
alleys in ye meeting house be kept clear, and any person that re- 
fuseth to have their chairs removed out of ye meeting house 
shall pay a fine of five shillings, James Prescott is appointed to 
prosecute said act, and have one half for his pains, and ye other 
half for the benefit of ye parish. James Prescott was a prominent 
citizen, he lived in a garrison house near the residence of the late 
Newell W. Healy. He was dismissed from the Hampton Falls 
church with twelve others to form the church at Kingston in 1725, 
where Mr. Prescott was then living. It was also voted that any 
person who allowed his dog to come into the meeting house should 
pay a fine of five shillings. It appears by the record that a num- 
ber of persons were at different times appointed to sweep and 
have general care of the meeting house. There was great com- 
plaint that the glass in the windows was broken, and that there 
was considerable trouble in keeping the windows in repair as the 
boys seem to have been busy in that direction. A numlicr of 
votes were passed requiring the pew holders to keep the windows 
against their pews in repair, or they would be boarded up and 
made tight. It was voted to put a window or windows back of 
the pulpit. 

The men sat on one side of the house, and the women upon the 
other; each had a gallery. September 26, 1726, it was voted that 



THE MEETING HOUSE 9 

the hind seat in the women's gallery may be built up for the use of 
the young women, provided they maintain the glass against said 
seat, and that they bring in their names to ye selectmen, within a 
month's time. There is no record to show how the young women 
acted in this matter. In 1737 it was voted to put a new roof on 
the meeting house, and that they put on spouts to carry away the 
water from the eaves ; for plastering under the beams ; for win- 
dows and clapboards, and for all things to put the meeting house 
in good repair, which appears to have been done. Shutters were 
probably put on the windows, as after this there are no votes in 
relation to broken glass. April 3, 1739, an article was inserted 
in the warrant, "To see if the parish would vote to purchase a 
bell." We find no note of any action being taken, the record 
being silent. 

There is no record showing the dimensions of the house. After 
the meeting house had been repaired in 1737, we find nothing re- 
lating to the meeting house until 1780, when it had become very 
much out of repair, and another meeting house had been built in 
another part of the town, when it was voted to sell the old meet- 
ing house, and devote the proceeds to the support of the poor. 
We have never found any record as to the amount received from 
the sale of the old meeting house. The town meetings were held 
in this house until 1770, after which they were held at the new 
meeting house. After permission had been given in 1709 that 
the rates raised on the south side of the river could be used by the 
new parish, they lost no time in securing a minister. Thomas 
Crosby, the schoolmaster, was the first to conduct religious serv- 
ices on the Sabbath, but he was not qualified to administer the 
sacrament and some other duties of an ordained minister. He 
was a son of Rev. Seaborn Cotton's wife by a previous marriage. 

About this time occurred the death of Rev. John Cotton, and 
it was ordered that the new parish bear their part of the expense 
of his funeral charges. They now engaged Rev. Theophilus 
Cotton, a graduate of Harvard College in 1701, youngest son of 
the Rev. John Cotton of Plymouth, Mass., who was a brother of 
Rev. Seaborn Cotton of Hampton. Rev. Theophilus Cotton 
was born at Plymouth, Mass., May 5, 1682. He was a nephew of 
Rev. Seaborn Cotton, cousin of Rev. John Cotton, and an uncle 
of Rev. Ward Cotton, all of whom had been settled over the 
Hampton church at different times. He was also a cousin of 



10 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Rev. Dr. Cotton Mather of Boston. He married Mary, widow of 
Dr. Gedney of Salem, Mass. They had no children. He finished 
the course at Harvard at the age of nineteen. Of the next eight 
years of his life we know nothing. He probably studied theology 
with his father, preaching as opportunity offered. He came to 
Hampton Falls sometime between December, 1709, and May 16, 
1710, and preached for nearly two years before the church was 
organized. 

On the 9th of December, 1711, forty-nine members of the old 
church at Hampton were dismissed in order to form the Hampton 
Falls church, and four days after, amid the solemnities of a day of 
fasting and prayer, the new church was organized with twenty- 
one male and thirty-five female members. Four weeks later, 
January 2, 1712, Mr. Cotton was ordained. His salary, at first, 
was sixty pounds and firewood and the use of the parsonage land 
of thirty acres, to which was added twenty pounds and more land 
a few years later. When the church records were burned in 1858 
it was supposed that all history of the Hampton Falls church 
was lost, but among the things saved was a little book which had 
been kept by Mr. Cotton and Mr. Whipple, the first two minis- 
ters of the town, as a journal of happenings in the church during 
their ministry. This little book was highly prized, as it shed con- 
siderable light upon what was done in the church previous to 
1752, although not a complete chronicle of events. The Rev. 
Sereno T. Abbot, who was for many years pastor of the Line 
church, had copied our record. In 1900 Mrs. Abbot gave me 
this copy which had been made by her husband which appears to 
be a full record of our church from its organization until its final 
dissolution about 1830. By the aid of the two journals we are 
enabled to present a pretty full and complete history of the church 
in this town. We gather the following from Mr. Cotton's diary, 
in his own hand writing: 

"The inhabitants of Hampton Falls having given me a call to 
settle amongst them in the work of the ministry did thereupon 
call in some of the neighboring ministers to keep a day of fasting 
and prayer with them to seek the blessing of heaven upon them. 
As also to gather them into a church estate that they might be 
capacitated to proceed in that affair." 

This fact was on the 13th of December, 1711. The ministers 
who carried on the work of that day were the Rev. Mr. Odlin 



THE MEETING HOUSE 11 

who began with prayer, Rev. Mr. Gushing who preached and 
gathered the church, and the Rev. Mr. Googin ended with 
prayer. At this solemnity the following covenant was read and 
acknowledged by those whose names are signed thereto: 

"GOVENANT OFF THE GhURCH OFF HamPTON FaLLS. 

*'We whose names are hereunto subscribed apprehending our- 
selves called of God to joyn together in Ghh communion in hum- 
ble dependence on free grace for assistance and acceptance. We 
do this day in presence of God his angels and this assembly Avouch 
the Lord to be our God and the God of our children which we 
give unto him accounting it a signal yt he will accept of us and 
them to be his people. Promising that by the help of his spirit 
& Grace to draw unto God (whose name is Jehovah) as our choic- 
est good, and to our Lord Jesus Christ as our prophet Priest and 
king by faith and gospel obedience as becometh his cov* people 
forever making at all times the holy word of God the rule of our 
faith and practice. We do also give ourselves one unto another 
as a church of Christ in all the ways of his worship, according to 
the holy rules of his word promising in brotherly love faithfully 
to watch over one anothers souls, and to submit ourselves unto 
the discipline of Christ in the church. And duly to attend the 
seals & Conserves of whatever ordinances Christ has commanded 
to be observed by his people so far as the Lord has or shall by his 
word and Spirit reveal unto us to be our duty. Beseeching the 
Lord to own us, humbly craving help at his hands for the per- 
formance of our engagements and covenant obligations." 

The covenant adopted at this time continued to be used in the 
government of the church as long as the town church was in exist- 
ence. The signers of the covenant were: 

Theophilus Cotton. Moses Blake. 

Nath'l Weare, Esq. Thomas Cram. 

Samuel Shaw. John Cram, Esq. 

Isaac Green. Benjamin Batchelder. 

Jacob Green. - Joseph Tilton. 

Peter Weare. James Prescott, Jr. 

Nath'l Weare. John Morgan. 

John Clifford. Nath'l Sanborn. 

Israel Clifford. William Brown. 

Timothy Blake. (Jacob Basford) 

Philemon Blake. Afterward dismissed to Chester 
Number of men, 2L 

Those who had not been dismissed from other churches but 
were living here and considered to be under the care of this church 
were: 



12 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Mrs. Heath, Haverhill Church. 
Mrs. Greenleaf, New Church. 



Mrs. Sanborn, wife of John, 

New Church. 
Mrs. French, Boston Church. 



The other women who signed the covenant were: 



Mary Cotton, dismissed 

Cambridge Church. 
Hannah Gove. 
Sarah Gove. 
Mary Green. 
Sarah Green. 
Elizabeth Shaw. 
Esther Shaw. 

Mary Cram, dis. Exeter. 
Mary Cram, Jr. 
Elizabeth Cram. 
Sarah Cram. 
Sarah Swett. 
Susanna Batchelder. 
Elisabeth Shaw, Jr. 
Alex Tilton. 
Deborah Shaw. 



from Mehitable Tilton. 
Margaret Tilton. 
Naomi Blake, Sr. 
Sarah Blake. 
Abigail Blake. 
Mary Fifield. 
Mary Philbrook. 
Mary Weare. 
Mariah Prescott. 
Elizabeth Prescott. 
Abigail Prescott. 
Elizabeth Clifford. 
Deborah Clifford. 
Deborah Morgan. 
Ruth Brown. 
Mariah Tilton. 



Number of women, 32. Whole number, 56. 

At the time Hampton Falls church was formed, forty-nine 
members from the Hampton church were dismissed to become 
members of the Falls church, among them Deacon Samuel Shaw, 
who lived where Mr. Birtwell now lives. He had been a deacon 
of the Hampton church for some time, but resigned to take the 
same office in the new church. Nathaniel Weare, Esq., was 
elected associate with Deacon Shaw. One man and eleven 
women who had been recommended by other churches were soon 
admitted to membership. Three women who were constant 
dwellers here, but had a membership elsewhere, were considered 
to be under our care. 

Theophilus Cotton was ordained pastor over the church at 
Hampton Falls January 20, 1712, Rev. Mr. Rogers of Portsmouth 
giving the charge and Rev. Mr. Gushing of Salisbury the right 
hand of fellowship. The other ministers who assisted at the 
gathering of the church were Rev. Mr. Googin of Hampton and 
Rev. Mr. Odlin of Exeter. It was voted that the Sacrament of 
the Lord's Supper be administered twice a quarter of the year, 
omitting the winter quarter, the whole seven times a year, the last 
being the first Sunday in December. It was voted to have a con- 



THE MEETING HOUSE 13 

tribution frequently to defray the expense of the Sacrament; 
later it was voted that every communicant shall give one shilling 
and six pence for the maintenance of the Lord's Supper. This 
was in 1715. It was voted that Deacon Shaw should be paid two 
shillings six pence per day for his trouble in providing the 
elements and care of the utensils. This vote was never complied 
with by Deacon Shaw. It was also voted that the church be 
called together at the end of the year (if need be) to call those to 
account who had been defective in paying the respective sums. 
And if any fall short, through poverty, to have contributed to 
make it up. This was in relation to the expense of maintaining 
the Lord's table. 

On October 16, 1717, at a church meeting held at the house of 
Dea. Samuel Shaw, it was voted that an assistant be appointed 
to assist the deacons in collecting the rates for the support of the 
Lord's table. Although the sum was small, one shilling six 
pence (twenty-five cents) in those days, when money was scarce 
and not many means of earning it, it was not strange that some 
were in arrears. It was voted that the deacon who provided the 
elements should be paid two shillings six pence (forty-two 
cents) for the expense of the elements at each Communion. 

At this meeting another vote was passed which had an im- 
portant bearing on the future of the church and was urged 
as a cause, a hundred and more years later, for the division 
of the church, when some left the old church to form the Line 
church. 

"Voted that the Rev. Mr. Cotton the pastor administer the 
seal of baptism to Adult persons & their children, they owning 
the covenant. If they dare not yet proceed to ye other seal of 
the Covenant. Provided he is clear in the matter, and any offer 
themselves therefor who in his judgment off Charity are suitable 
subjects for that ordinance." 

This vote allowed and authorized the use of the Halfway Cove- 
nant, which was in use and authorized in a majority of the Con- 
gregational churches in this state. When the effects of this cove- 
nant became apparent it was gradually eliminated until it ceased 
to be used. By it any person could own the covenant for the 
baptism of their children, and, in this way, unregenerate and 
often immoral persons were admitted whose presence was a source 
of weakness and a detriment to the progress and well being of the 



14 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

church. There are a great many entries on our church record 
where parents owned the covenant for the baptism of their chil- 
dren. It is a mystery to us at the present time why children of 
proper age and understanding should not be admitted on their 
own request. 

At a church meeting, February 20, 1724, Nathaniel Batchelder 
and Benjamin Sanborn were chosen deacons, Deacon Shaw hav- 
ing died September 12, 1725. Application was made by James 
Prescott, Sr., Jonathan Sanborn, Deborah Clifford, Mehitable 
Sanborn, Margaret Sanborn, now Sleeper, for a dismission from 
this church in order to be incorporated into a church at Kingston, 
and they were dismissed. At this time some charges were pend- 
ing against James Prescott, and at this meeting he convinced the 
church of his innocence and was granted his dismission. 

"May 10, 1726 I took along with me Col. Weare to the house 
of John Cass and before him and the mother of John Casses wife 
Dealt with her for with drawing from our communion, and for 
embracing the principles of the Quakers who proved obstinate. 
I did thereupon as pastor of ye church in the name of Christ Reject 
her and renounce her as one belonging to our communion and the 
good Lord have mercy on her and all here. Amen." 

This was the beginning of considerable trouble with the Quak- 
ers to which we will give some attention later. 

In 1719 Mr. Cotton appears to have been out of health and 
perhaps incapacitated from attending to his ministerial duties. 
At a meeting of the parish December 19, a committee was chosen 
to discourse with Mr. Cotton concerning the carrying on of the 
work of the ministry the ensuing winter, which they accordingly 
did. He answered them by saying that he hoped to be able to 
carry on the work of the ministry himself either at his own home 
or in the meeting house the ensuing winter. It was also voted 
that Deacon Shaw and James Prescott be a committee to dis- 
course with Mr. Cotton concerning his preaching our lecture on 
lecture day and bring his answer to them at the annual meeting 
in March. 

The service on lecture day was held in the latter part of the 
week which preceded the Sabbath when the Sacrament was ad- 
ministered. It was not held earlier than Thursday. Lecture 
day is mentioned a great many times on our record. It would 
appear that the sermon on that day was prepared with greater 



THE MEETING HOUSE 15 

care and the solemnity of the service exceeded that on the Sab- 
bath. It corresponded with what has since been known as con- 
ference day. 

Between June 1, 1718, and July 22, 1726, Mr. Cotton visited 
the Isles of Shoals a number of times to administer the ordinance 
of baptism. During his ministry Mr. Cotton baptized four hun- 
dred and sixty-seven persons, seventy-two of whom were at the 
Shoals; thirty-four owned the covenant. He solemnized ninety- 
nine marriages and ninety-seven were admitted to full communion 
of the church. All of them are recorded upon our church record. 
At that time there were a number of hundred persons living at the 
Shoals engaged in the fishery business, and it was a field where 
missionary work was needed. We are unable to find that any of 
the ministers of the nearby towns were engaged in this work ex- 
cept Mr. Cotton. 

Mr. Cotton's salary was at first sixty pounds per year, a little 
later twenty pounds were added and the use of the parsonage 
land; an ox five years old was valued at five pounds and eight 
shillings, another of the same age at four pounds and twelve shil- 
lings, a heifer at one pound ten shillings, a steer at four pounds 
fifteen shillings. From this it would appear that Mr. Cotton's 
salary was worth seven or eight yokes of oxen. 

The year Mr. Cotton died (1726) he presented the church with 
three silver communion cups. They bear an inscription, and are 
now in possession of The First Congregational Church (Unitarian) 
in this town. An effort should be made for the future preserva- 
tion of these cups. 

Those who owned the covenant to have their children baptized 
subscribed to the following: 

"You promise to walk in all the commandments and the ordi- 
nances of the Lord blameless, so far as God shall afford you light 
and direction." 

The church records contain the following notice for August 16, 
1726: 

"Died, the Revd. Theophilus Cotton Pastor of the Second 
Church in Hampton after a faithful discharge of that Office for 
nigh 15 years and was decently buried the 18th following at the 
charge of the parish." 



16 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

He was buried in the old })uryingground; a monument over his 
grave bears .this inscription : 

"Here Ues the body of ye Revd. Theophilus Cotton ye first 
minister of ye church at Hampton Falls who after he had served 
God faithfully in his generation, deceased August the 16th, 1726, 
in ye 45th year of his age. 'Blessed are the dead who die in the 
Lord.' " 

Mr. Cotton wrote a bold, round hand which was easily legible. 

The church appears to have been in a peaceful and prosperous 
condition during the whole period of Mr. Cotton's ministry. In 
his quiet country parish he spent the active years of his life in 
diligent labor for the good of a people by whom he was highly 
esteemed, and he enjoyed the respect of the neighboring ministry. 
The Rev. Mr. Googin of Hampton, who preached the funeral 
sermon on the next Sabbath after his death from II Corinthians 
5:4 and John 5:35, gave him a good character. 

At a parish meeting held six days after Mr. Cotton's death, 
the selectmen were directed to settle with Mrs. Cotton. She was 
voted the free use of the parsonage during the summer. The 
selectmen were instructed to negotiate with her for the entertain- 
ment of supplies for the pulpit and they were to assess every man's 
estate in the parish except Quakers (who were exempt from pay- 
ing ministerial rates) in order to pay the charges of our Rev. INIr. 
Cotton's funeral. 

Mr. Cotton appears to have owned the house he had lived in, as 
November 30, 1726, it was voted to take up with Mrs. Cotton's 
offer and give her for her buildings and land, and all things there- 
on, except his movables, three hundred and fifty pounds in lawful 
money or lawful bills of credit. 

Mrs. Cotton appears to have been married again as in 1729 she 
is spoken of as Madam Newmarch. 

In the petition for a new parish is the following request: 

" That as we have been at equal expense according to our estates 
in purchasing and holding the parsonage of the town, that now we 
may have some land appointed and laid out for a parsonage as 
convenient as it may be had for the Falls side according to the 
worth of the town." 

In accordance with this request and the vote of the assembly 
it was voted by the commoners and proprietors 



THE MEETING HOUSE 17 

*'that we have no waste and unimproved lands therefore we 
cant lay out according to the act of the Assembly bearing date of 
Oct. 23d 1710. Yet we the commoners of the town of Hampton 
do agree that the new parish shall have on this part for a parson- 
age out of our pasture land as convenient as may be. They giv- 
ing up all right in the parsonage place in the old parish at the town 
to the commoners and proprietors grant to the inhabitants of the 
new parish five acres for a house lt)t." 

The five acres were laid out opposite the Governor Weare house, 
west of the schoolhouse and extending along the road to the old 
cemetery. Sixty acres of pasture land were laid out at Grape- 
vine Run, now owned by Warren H. Batchelder. Eight acres of 
thatch ground at Parsonage .Island, situated on the Seabrook 
River, on Plum Island side where the towns come together. The 
parsonage house had been bought from Mrs. Cotton with one 
acre of land, and the out buildings. The house and five acres 
were called the lower parsonage. The sixty acres at Grape- 
vine Run were called the upper parsonage, and are frequently 
spoken of upon the record. The parish paid Mrs. Cotton three 
hundred and sixty pounds for her house and land. At nearly 
every parish meeting a committee was appointed to look after the 
parsonage fence, and a numl^er of times it was voted to build 
stone walls, and the price of labor for both men and oxen which 
might be allowed to those who did the work. The Quakers 
were allowed twelve acres for a parsonage near Foggs Corner. 
When the parsonage lands were granted in 1716 it was understood 
that the new parish relinquished all claim to the remaining par- 
sonage or common lands in the old parish. Yet in 1745 Hamp- 
ton Falls, Kensington and North Hampton made an effort to 
claim some of the remaining land. On the 24th of June, 1745, 
some of the Hampton Falls men, headed by Col. Ichabod Robie, 
attended a town meeting at Hampton and attempted to vote but 
were not allowed and were forced to retire. This controversy 
continued for a number of years ; much ill feeling was generated 
and legal process threatened until 1760 when Hampton Falls voted 
to relinquish all further claims which ended a long and bitter con- 
troversy between the towns. 

After the death of Mr. Cotton the parish immediately set about 
to secure a successor. Unsuccessful negotiations had been had 
with a Mr. March who afterward settled in Amesbury. At a 
meeting of the parish October 4, 1726, the three deacons were 

3 



18 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

appointed to treat with Mr. Whipple. After some discussion 
Mr. Whipple, was hired for one hundred and twenty pounds and 
the use of the parsonage; in 1732, twent}^ pounds were added to 
his salary. 

Rev. Joseph Whipple, pastor of the Hampton Falls church, 
was born at Ipswich, Mass., in 1701, and was graduated from 
Harvard College in 1720. On January 4, 1726-7, Joseph Whipple 
was ordained pastor of the church in Hampton Falls. The Rev. 
Mr. Googin made the first prayer; the Rev. Mr. Wigglesworth 
preached from II Corinthians 5:11; the Rev. Mr. Cushing gave 
the charge; the Rev. Mr. Odlin extended the right hand of fellow- 
ship, and the Rev. Mr. Parsons made the last prayer. 

Mr. Whipple disapproved of the course of Whitefield and was 
one of the ministers who cautioned the Boston ministers against 
admitting him to their pulpits. 

During Mr. Whipple 's ministry there was a great depreciation 
in the currency which caused a great deal of inconvenience to both 
pastor and people and frequent additions were voted by way of 
equalization. Twenty pounds was voted additional to his salary 
in each of the years, 1734 and 1735. He gave a receipt in full of 
all demands to date, December, 1739, for one hundred and fifty 
pounds, the same year, because there had been a great rise in the 
price of provisions and other necessaries of life and the wood upon 
the parsonage was almost gone. A meeting was held to determine 
whether they would help Mr. Whipple or not. There is no record 
of this meeting. In 1740, at the annual meeting in March, 
methods were considered how to make Mr. Whipple's salary as 
much as it was at the time he settled with them. And thirty 
pounds was voted him that year in money or passable bills of 
credit. An attempt was made to adjust Mr. Whipple's salary so 
as to end all controversy in relation to it in the future. Thirty 
pounds was voted in 1742, and fort}' pounds in 1743- and 1744. 
This was in addition to his regular salary of one hundred and 
twenty pounds. In 1747 nothing was voted by way of increase 
of his salarj'. In September of that year he called for more, 
considering himself entitled b}^ his contract with the parish to 
enough to make his salary equal in purchasing value to what 
it was ivhen he was settled, namely one hundred and twenty 
pounds in lawful money. The parish then voted that Mr. 
Whipple's salary should yearly be as much as it was when he 



THE MEETING HOUSE 19 

was settled, with the parsonage and all other things being taken 
into consideration. After this a committee was chosen an- 
nually to adjust the minister's salary and there appears to 
have been no more trouble from this source. During the pas-^ 
torate of Mr. Whipple there was a great depreciation in the cur- 
rency. We have little idea how much was meant when old tenor 
is spoken of. The charges of the Lord's table were raised from 
one shilling six pence to seven shillings during Mr. Whipple's 
ministry. Probably no raise would have been made if lawful 
money had been the only currency used. 

In 1732 an attempt was made to set off the west part of the 
town, and to form a new parish with the east part of Kingston. 
There was a strong opposition to this. At a meeting held August 
25 a committee was appointed to carry up a petition of remon- 
strance to the General Court which proved unavailing and the 
new town of Kensington was the result. 

On the 24th of March, 1735, it was moved to excuse those in 
the west part of the parish from their ministerial rates and to 
agree upon a division line. The record does not say what action 
was taken in this matter. 

On October 4, 1737, fifty-seven persons, twenty-two males and 
thirty-five females, were dismissed from the Hampton Falls 
church to organize a new church at Kensington. During Mr. 
Whipple's ministry thirty-four others were dismissed to other 
churches, making a total of ninety-one who were dismissed. 

In a notice dated July 25, 1735, it appeared that Mr. Whipple 
had been "under such bodily sickness, that has rendered. him in- 
capable of carrying on the work of the ministry among us, and 
remains so sick and weak that it is doubtful if he will be able to 
preach for some time to come." A meeting was called in conse- 
quence of this and it was voted to pay Mr. Fogg thirty-five shil- 
lings a day for preaching three Sabbaths. A committee was 
chosen to secure Mr. Fogg if he should be wanted. 

In 1745 it was voted to take down the old barn at the parson- 
age and build a new one, using such of the old stuff as may be fit. 
On March 2, 1736, Joseph Worth was admitted into the church 
from Dr. Colman's church in Boston. He was later a deacon and 
a prominent man in town affairs. 

In 1738 Josiah Batchelder and Jonathan Fifield were chosen 
deacons. 



20 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

In 1733 six persons were chosen to take care of the boys on the 
Lord's day. ■ 

On Maj' 10, 1747, at a church niectinji; it was propounded to 
^ the congregation whether Josiah Batchelder, Samuel Shaw and 
Caleb Sanborn be assistants in reading and turning the Psalms. 
Voted in the affirmative. This is the only mention of this prac- 
tice on the record, but it probably had been in use before and con- 
tinued some time after. This practice of deaconing the Psalms 
originated because there was a scarcity of Psalm books in the early 
times. The deacons read two lines which were then sung by the 
congregation who got the words in that manner. When one 
deacon read in a deep bass voice and the other in a sharp shrill 
voice, and the congregation each sung in a "go as you please" 
manner the singing must have lacked in harmony and rhythm. 
After the principles of music were better understood and choirs 
were organized, the practice gradually went out of use but the 
deacons in some instances did not yield without a struggle. In 
some cases a compromise was effected, the deacons reading in the 
forenoon and the choir singing in the afternoon. In other 
instances the choir did not cease singing until the Psalm was 
finished, thus drowning out the reading of the deacons. Doctor 
Watts, author of Watts' hymns, was much opposed to the prac- 
tice which went out of use about the close of the eighteenth cen- 
tury. 

In 1747 Deacon Batchelder, Deacon Fifield and Aleshech 
Weare attended the ordination of Samuel Langdon at Ports- 
mouth. . Doctor Langdon was afterward pastor of the Hampton 
Falls church. 

During Mr. Whipple's ministry quite a numl)cr of the members 
of his church had become Quakers, which was not pleasing to him 
and efforts were made at various times to compel them to return 
to their former church relations but without avail. There is not 
an instance recorded Avhere anj' renounced the Quaker belief and 
returned to their former allegiance. They were early exempted 
from paying their ministerial rates. There is no record to- show 
how or when this was done. In any old invoice book there are 
those where there are no figures carried out in the tax columns in 
the ministerial rate. These appear to have been Quakers. They 
were granted twelve acres of land for a parsonage at the same time 
the parsonage lands were granted the church. This land was 



THE MEETING HOUSE 21 

near Foggs Corner and is now owned by George A. Philbrick, 
Those who came to the quarterly meetings in sunnner turned 
their horses out to feed. In winter they were fed on the grass cut 
on the parsonage land. We do not know when they disposed of 
this land. 

The Quakers became numerous in the south part of the town, 
now Seabrook, and built a meeting house as early as 1701. It 
may be of interest to know that that building is still standing and 
is the house owned by the late Oliver Eaton, now occupied by 
William Scooner, having been removed to its present location 
when the new Quaker meeting house was built at Seabrook. 
There was quite a large emigration from this town to Weare and 
an active Quaker society has existed there ever since. The 
trouble with the Quakers was the first of several which the town 
church had with other denominations, and for this reason some 
account of the Quakers might not be out of place here. 

The Quakers originated in the north of England in 1664, George 
Fox being the founder. The doctrines proclaimed by him spread 
rapidly and he soon had many followers. They were bitterly 
opposed by Catholics, Protestants and Puritans, who saw nothing 
good in their teachings. They were from principle opposed to 
'war, slavery, intemperance and profanity, going so far with the 
latter as to refuse to have administered judicial oaths, but they 
always gave solemn affirmation instead. They claimed to be 
guided in all things by the inner light of conscience, which, when 
heeded, would allow no one to do wrong. Their opposition to 
slavery had not a little to do with its abolition in this country. 
Their opponents charged that their doctrines of inner light would 
lead to licentiousness. They became very aggressive in propa- 
gating their principles and doctrines, even sending some of their 
number to Rome to try and convert the Pope. Others were sent 
to Constantinople to induce the Grand Turk to embrace their 
ideas. They were persecuted, imprisoned and put to death in 
England. Even this had no effect to deter them from trying to 
increase their numbers. 

The reputation of the Quakers reached New England and 
caused consternation among the inhabitants, lest they come here 
and attempt to establish their religion. They came and their 
conduct fully justified the reports which had preceded them. 
The first installment was sent out of the country and forbidden 



22 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

to return under penalty of having their ears cut off. They were 
disputatious,' holding arguments with the clergy, and would dis- 
turb religious meetings with their ranting. Those who have 
seen the modest, soft-spoken, mild-mannered Quakers of today 
would be surprised at the conduct of the women of those days. 

The wild freaks of these fanatics were no doubt in some 
measure provoked by their cruel persecution. If they attended 
meeting and dissented from what they heard, they were whipped. 
If they stayed away the same treatment was accorded them — 
whipping. The Puritans felt that they were called of God to 
found a Christian community and that they had a perfect right 
to exclude all who differed from them in opinion. 

In 1662 the Quakers made their appearance in Dover, and soon 
after Mary Thompkins, Alice Ambrose and Anna Coleman were 
apprehended by virtue of the cart law and an order was made to 
whip and pass them along, as follows: 

"To the Constables of Dover, Hampton, Salisbury, Newbury, 
Rowley, Ipswich, Wenham, Lynn, Boston, Roxbury, Dedham 
and until these vagabond Quakers are out of this jurisdiction 

"You and every one of you are required in the Kings Majestys 
name to take these vagabond Quakers Anna Coleman, Mary 
Thompkins, and Alice Ambrose, and make them fast to the carts 
tail and drawing the cart through the several towns to whip them 
on their naked backs not exceeding ten stripes apiece on each of 
them and to so convey them from Constable to Constable till they 
are out of the jurisdiction as you will answer at your part and this 
shall be your warrant. Per Me Richard Waldron 

"Dec. 22d 1662" 

This order was issued by Richard Waldron, commonly known 
as Major Waldron, who was a prominent man in the early history 
of Dover and was afterward killed by the Indians with whom he 
had dealt treacherously. 

It was a bitter cold day when this order was executed, and these 
poor women were tied to the cart and stripped from their waist 
upward and compelled to walk through dirt and snow, and were 
cruelly whipped in each town until they reached Salisbury, when 
Walter Barefoot, who was at that time acting governor, under the 
pretense of delivering them to the constable of Newbury, quietly 
conveyed them out of the province that they might escape further 
punishment. This is said to have been the only meritorious act 
recorded of Governor Barefoot. The cruel lash may have been 



THE MEETING HOUSE 23 

applied to these poor women within the Umits of this town. In 
the extremity of their suffering on the journey they sang, much 
to the astonishment of their persecutors. 

Notwithstanding this punishment these women soon again 
appeared in Dover, to be again persecuted. They were dragged 
through the snow, over stumps and uneven ground, face down- 
ward, for more than a mile and thrown into the river which was 
filled with floating ice. No amount of persecution daunted these 
disciples of the inner light. Show them a whipping post and they 
clung to it, a prison and they entered it, a halter and they put 
their necks into it. All these things had no effect. There is no 
record that any of these people ever renounced their religion, or 
yielded in the least in their principles. 

One of the largest Quaker societies in the state was at one time 
in Seabrook. Some writer, in the history of the Congregational 
churches of New Hampshire, says that the influence of the Quak- 
ers had an injurious effect upon the cause of evangelical religion 
in the town of Seabrook. 

On February 18, 1749, the parsonage house was burned, while 
occupied by Mr. Whipple, and was rebuilt the same year. In the 
meantime Mr. Whipple lived in a house recently vacated by Mr. 
Morton. This house was situated near the top of Morton Hill, 
on the east side of the road, and was owned by "Benj. Swett in- 
holder. " 

Mr. Whipple officiated at both marriages of Gov. Meshech 
Weare: July 3, 1738, when he married Elizabeth Shaw, and again 
December 11, 1746, when he married Mehitable Wainwright. 

Mr. Whipple continued to keep the diary commenced by his 
predecessor, Mr. Cotton, which contains nearly all that is known 
of the church history previous to 1756. He wrote a fine hand 
which in some cases needed a reading glass to decipher. 

On December 28, 1756, in consequence of the sickness of Mr. 
Whipple, the parish voted to hire some one to preach until the 
annual meeting. 

During Mr. Whipple's ministry the church was invited to send 
delegates to sixteen councils, thirteen of which were for ordina- 
tion. The church was represented at nearly all of these occasions. 
The two deacons were usually the delegates, and later Meshech 
Weare accompanied them. 

During Mr. Whipple's ministry he administered 1,136 bap- 



24 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

tisms; 179 owned the covenant; 23G were admitted to full com- 
munion; 389 niairiages were consummated; 91 were dismissed 
to other churches; deaths and burials from 1727 to 1755, all but 
the last two years of Mr. Whipple's ministry, 605. Mr. Whipple's 
ministry extended over nearly thirty-two years. 

Mr. Whipple died on February 17, 1757. A parish meeting 
was called and held the next day, at which a committee was 
chosen to make arrangements for his funeral, and to defray the 
expense from the parish treasury provided it did not exceed four 
hundred pounds old tenor, which was, at that time, about forty 
pounds sterling. 

Rev. John Lowell of Newbury came here and preached a funeral 
sermon on the Sabbath following Mr. Whipple's death, taking for 
his text: "I will not leave you comfortless but will come unto 
you. " In about eight months Mr. Lowell came over and married 
Mrs. Whipple and took her away. The people were not pleased. 
They said that they did not desire any such miserable comfort as 
this — ^" You were preaching to the widow and not to us." 

Mrs. Whipple was baptized April 14, 1728, and admitted to full 
communion the June following. Her name was Elizabeth but we 
do not know her maiden name. She was much beloved by the 
people with whom she had so long resided. She survived her 
second husband and died in Portsmouth at more than ninety 
years of age. 

At the annual meeting, March, 1757, it was voted that Mrs. 
Whipple should have the use of half the house, half the garden, 
and a part of the parsonage lands for one year. The remainder 
of the parsonage lands and property was let for one hundred and 
eighty pounds. 

Mr. Whipple was an active and efficient pastor. The record 
shows that there were frequent cases of discipline and suspension 
from the church for a time by those who had fallen into sin. By 
kindness and admonition they made confession and in almost 
every case were restored to church fellowship. Mr. Whipple ap- 
pears to have been an ideal pastor who showed a commendable 
attention to the purity and the highest welfare of his church and 
the community. Rev. Thomas Barnard of Salem, Mass., who 
preached the ordination sermon of Rev. Mr. Bayley, Mr. Wh p- 
ple's successor, thus speaks of him: "Your late most worthy 
pastor that friend of mankind who now we trust in full exercise of 



THE MEETING HOUSE 25 

that generous friendship and univeral love in the Providence of 
the Lord which he so cultivated and of which he was such a shin- 
ing example." 

He was buried besides his predecessor, Mr. Cotton, in the old 
cemetery. His tombstone bears the following inscription: 
"Here hes the body of the Rev. Joseph Whipple, who having 
wisely and faithfully discharged the pastoral office in the Second 
Church of Hampton, deceased Feb. 17th, 1757, in the 56th year of 
his age and the thirty-second of his ministry highly esteemed and 
beloved in life and in death much lamented." 

Mr. Whipple appears to have been the most valuable man to the 
community of any of the town pastors. 

On May 3, 1757, a committee was chosen to present Mr. Josiah 
Bayley a unanimous call to settle there as a successor to Mr. 
Whipple. The call was made in the name of the parish. The 
terms offered were fifty pounds sterling and the use of a part of 
the parsonage lands. This offer was declined; then all the par- 
sonage lands were included. This Mr. Bayley accepted in the 
following letter which is the only written production from Mr. 
Bayley's pen known to be in existence at the present time : 

"To the inhabitants of the Parish of Hampton Falls. Gentle- 
men I have carefully weighed and deliberated the last vote you 
passed for my encouragement to settle in the work of the gospel 
ministry over you in this place, and under a solemn sense of the 
great importance of the work and with humble dependence upon 
the grace and good providence of God — I hereby declare my ac- 
ceptance of your invitation and offer to settle in the work of the 
gospel ministry. Not doubting your readiness not only carefully 
and faithfully to make good your purpose for my outward com- 
fort, but on every occasion to testify the same good will for me as 
unforseen Providence may give occasion and above all a constant 
remembrance of me at the throne of grace that I may be faithful 
and successful in my office among you. Who am your affectionate 
friend and humble servant for Christ's sake. 

"Josiah Bayley. 

"Hampton Falls, June 30th, 1757." 

This is the first place upon the records where Falls is spelled 
with a capital F. 

On October 19, 1757, Josiah Bayley, M. A., was ordained to 
the pastoral care of the church in Hampton Falls. Rev. Peter 
Coffin of Kingston began with prayer; Rev. Thomas Barnard of 
Salem, Mass., with whom Mr. Bayley appears to have studied 



26 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

theology, preached from Titus 2:11, 12, 13, 14 and 15; the Rev. 
John Lowell of Newbury gave the charge ; Rev. Jeremiah Fogg of 
Kensington, the right hand of fellowship; Rev. Nathaniel Googin 
of Northhill concluded with prayer. Mr. Bayley was chosen 
pastor unanimously, every vote being cast for him. 

Although the call to Mr. Bayley was unanimous and no objec- 
tion made to the terms at the time of his settlement, some of the 
inhabitants were dissatisfied and called a parish meeting October 
5, the same year, to fix Mr. Bayley's salary at forty-two pounds 
annually and the use of the parsonage. The following appears 
upon the record in relation to this vote: " Instead of £50 Sterling 
and the parsonage that was formerly voted, I have accepted £42 
Sterling and the use of the parsonage. Signed by Josiah Bayley." 

In the year 1762 Mr. Bayley was sick. At a parish meeting 
February 19, the parish voted to procure some person to supply 
the pulpit at their expense. They also gave Mr. Bayley one 
hundred pounds old tenor as a free gift. Subsequently, at Mr. 
Bayley's request, the parish took charge of the parsonage for his 
benefit, and it was let out for three hundred and sixty pounds old 
tenor. 

Mr. Bayley died September 12, 1762. The parish voted to 
defray the expense of his funeral and raised three hundred and 
fifty pounds old tenor. The parish continued to care for the par- 
sonage. Mr. Bayley was buried in the town cemetery beside his 
predecessors, Rev. Messrs. Cotton and Whipple. 

Mr. Bayley died of that much dreaded disease, consumption — 
which was much more prevalent then than at the present time — 
at the age of twenty-eight years, after a ministry of four years 
and ten months and twenty-four days. During his ministry one 
hundred and twenty-two persons were baptized; twenty-two 
persons owned or renewed the covenant. Mr. Bayley was thor- 
oughly evangelistic and devotedly pious. During his ministry 
interest in religious matters was greatly increased. During his 
short stay he endeared himself very much to his people and died, 
after an illness of seven or eight months, greatly lamented. - 

Rev. Josiah Bayley was a lineal descendant of John Bayley 
who died at Newbury, Mass., November 2, 1651. He was liorn 
January 20, 1734; graduated from Harvard College, 1753; or- 
dained at Hampton Falls, October 19, 1757. He never married. 

His tombstone bears the following inscription: "Here are in- 



THE MEETING HOUSE 27 

terred the remains of Rev. Mr. Josiah Bayley, the third pastor of 
the Church in Hampton Falls, who after he had wisely and faith- 
fully discharged the duties of office for the space of five years, was 
received into the joy of his Lord, Sept. 12th 1762 aged 28 years. " 

Sometime in 1763 Dea. Edmund Bayley, father of Rev. Josiah 
Bayley, came here and demanded the rent of the parsonage and a 
balance of salary. A committee sent out to settle with him was 
empowered to offer him three hundred pounds old tenor, which 
offer he declined. By a receipt dated June 8, 1763, and recorded 
upon the town records, Mr. Bayley settled for three hundred and 
sixty pounds old tenor. This, it would seem, should have settled 
the matter, but at a meeting held November 23, 1767, Mr. Weare 
was chosen an agent to defend the parish in a suit which had been 
brought against them by Edmund Bayley. It was voted to pay 
the costs of maintaining the suit. There is no record of how this 
suit was settled. Before another minister was settled, a space of 
about two months, twenty-three persons were baptized. 

Mr. Barnard, who preached Mr. Bayley's ordination sermon, 
used this language concerning him: "He has been pleased to ask 
one instruction in addition to those I had the pleasure of giving 
him in his early youth and of which he has made such a happy 
improvement." He gave him plain advice respecting his duty 
as a minister: 

"You are not so much to inform others what Plato thought, or 
who Cato was. That were a needless labor. You are not called 
to range the schools to follow the ways of metaphysics. Too close 
application to this science first corrupted Christianity and has 
ever injured its interests. The plan of your work is complete in 
the sacred volume. Every principle of faith you are to teach, 
every rule of life, every argument and motive to enforce the 
Christian faith and practice, keep close thereunto and let every 
human composure have but a second place in your regard. Speak 
thou the truth as it is in Jesus. You will certainly lose minis- 
terial authority if you leave the doctrines which are ac':*ording to 
godliness and dwell upon thing,? which men have attached to the 
doctrines of inspiration. When once people think you would 
urge the inven^ion of men upon them, for the word of God, their 
veneration for you will cease." 

Nor was he less pointed in his advice to the church. Among 
other things he said: 

"At some times and in some places it might be useful to show 
how people hurt their own souls and their best interests by ways 



28 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

which naturally diminish their value for their minister, by an im- 
prudent fondness for strangers of uncertain character, by suffering 
them to fall into poverty, which is of itself apt to render men con- 
temptible with the unthinking, and necessarily takes ministers off 
from their ai)plication to study which is needful to give them a 
proper figure with the judicious, which naturally dispirits a man 
and forces him to an air of meanness below his rank and station. " 

Mr. Bayley did not continue the journal kept by his predeces- 
sors. If he kept any record it must have been upon the church 
records which were destroyed. 

On November 22, 1762, it was voted to extend a call to Mr. 
Paine Wingate, Jr., to settle in the work of the ministry. They 
offered him fifty pounds sterling and the use of the parsonage. 
The fences were to be kept in repair by Mr. Wingate. He at 
first accepted on condition that they make some alteration in the 
terms. This being refused he sent them a negative answer. 
The parish hired preaching until the September following, Air. 
Wingate preaching a part of the time. Mr. Tellis Merrill and Mr. 
Micah Lawrence also preached. A call was extended to Mr. 
Lawrence to settle upon the same terms offered Mr. Wingate. 
Mr. Lawrence gave a negative answer, although the parish further 
offered to keep the fences and buildings in repair. Mr. Lawrence 
was at that time preaching in Hawke (now Danville). Mr. 
Lawrence was ordained at Winchester, N. H., November 14, 
1764, and continued there until February 19, 1771. The cause 
of his dismission was because he was unfriendly to his country 
during the Revolutionary War. 

Capt. Jonathan Swett, Ebenezer Knowlton and Job Haskel 
dissented to the call of Mr. Lawrence. These men, with a num- 
ber of others, soon signed a petition for a Presbyterian Society. 
October 31, 1763, the call to Mr. Wingate was renewed. The 
terms of settlement were fifty pounds sterling and the use of the 
parsonage, the parish to keep the fences in repair. Mr. Wingate 
accepted the call in a long letter in which he expressed some views 
upon the situation. A few persons opposed the settlement of 
Mr. Wingate but their number was at that time small, but from 
some cause the dissatisfaction rapidly increased. In 1765 Henry 
Robie refused to pay his ministerial tax and a suit was commenced 
by the parish to recover it. Subsequently a number of suits were 
commenced for similar cause, and the troubles continued until a 
new parish was formed, which resulted in a new town. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 29 

Some time after the middle of the eighteenth century, the Pres- 
byterian church made a great effort to extend their jurisdiction 
into new territory. In Hampton they outvoted the Congre- 
gationahsts and got possession of the meeting house, and the Con- 
gregational parties of the church were obliged to build a new meet- 
ing house which is the building now used for the town house. The 
Presbyterian society continued in Hampton until 1808 when the 
two societies united in the Congregational church. On trial the 
Presbyterian form of church government was not found as good 
for the country parishes as was that of the Congregational. From 
this cause, in many cases, the Presbyterian churches were short 
lived. 

About 1760 there was a movement in the lower part of the 
parish to establish a Presbyterian parish. At the time of Mr. 
Wingate's settlement a few dissented to the vote authorizing the 
call. In a short time the number was much increased. The 
alleged cause for the movement was dissatisfaction with the doc- 
trine Mr. Wingate preached. But, from what we can learn, this 
was used as a pretext and excuse for their action. We are led to 
believe that this Presbyterian movement was well under way be- 
fore Mr. Wingate came there to preach, as some of the men's 
names, who dissented from Mr. Lawrence's call, are found upon 
the petition to the General Assembly, and some of the men whose 
names were upon that petition were dead some time before Mr. 
Wingate came. The movement in this town probably had its 
origin in the desire of the Presbyterians to extend their influence 
into new territory. Influences had probably been at work quietly 
for some time to bring this about in this town, and almost any 
pretext was good enough if it tended to bring the desired end. 
This was the second trouble which the town church had with 
other denominations. 

The Presbyterians built their meeting house in 1763. Mr. 
Wingate was not ordained until December 1 of that year. There 
is no notice of the matter until 1765 upon our record, when they 
asked for a new parish to be located in the south part of the town 
to be of the Presbyterian persuasion, and to be relieved from their 
rates which had been paid for the support of the minister settled 
by the town. To be allowed the minister tax, assessed upon their 
polls and estate, to be used for the support of their own minister. 
They asked for a new parish to be formed in the town, but did not 



30 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

want to be made a separate town. At a parish meeting, Septem- 
ber 2, 1765, all these requests were voted in the negative. But at 
the same meeting it was voted that they be set off as an entirely 
Separate parish in all matters and become a separate town. 

A petition was sent to the Cieneral Assembly signed by fifty-six 
persons, asking to be allowed to form a new parish within the town 
of Hampton Falls to be of the Presbyterian persuasion, setting 
forth their reasons for so doing. 

The parish, by a committee chosen for the purpose, sent an 
answer to this petition in which they show some pretty sharp 
practice on the part of the petitioners, and remonstrating against 
the prayer of the petitioners. The result of the movement was the 
incorporation of the town of Seabrook in 1768. 

As there were some living in the new town who were not Pres- 
byterians, and some who professed to be Presbyterians living in 
Hampton Falls, these people were allowed, within two months 
after the act forming the new town went into effect, to elect in 
which town they would be taxed with their polls and estates. 
This was called polling off. This provision was made so that 
each man could pay his tax to the support of the church in which 
he was in sympathy and belief, whether Congregational or Pres- 
byterian, the idea being that Hampton Falls would always remain 
a Congregational parish, and Seabrook would always be Presby- 
terian. Quite a number in each town availed themselves of this 
privilege. More polled from Hampton Falls to Seabrook than 
from Seabrook to Hampton Falls. Non-resident tax-payers 
elected in which town they would be taxed. The right to poll off 
was extended to minors, quite a number of whonii availed them- 
selves of the privilege. By reason of this act many persons living 
in Hampton Falls held office and were sent to the legislature from 
Seabrook. This act continued in force until 1790 when some 
trouble arose in relation to the highway tax when it was repealed. 

The Presbj'terian meeting house was built in Seabrook in 1763. 
This house is still in existence, has been remodelled and is used^ 
the lower part as a town house and the upper as the Baptist 
church. The church was organized in 1764 and Rev. Samuel 
Perley became their pastor January 31, 1765, and continued until 
May 22, 1775. He was afterward pastor of the church in ^SIoul- 
tonboro and in Groton. In 1784 he was installed over the church 
in Gray, Maine. He ceased to preach in 1791. He died in Gray,. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 31 

Maine, in 1821, at the age of eighty-nine. There were fourteen 
added to the church in Seabrook during Mr. Perley's ministry. 
The Presbyterian church in Seabrook appears to have ceased 
active work on the removal of Mr. Perley. The Boston Presby- 
tery met at Seabrook in 1775, and was divided into three, prob- 
ably Boston, Salem and Londonderry. Mr. Perley then became a 
member of the Salem Presbytery. 

On November 17, 1780, the members who had withdrawn from 
the ordinances under Mr. Wingate's ministry, contrary to order, 
and also put themselves under the care of the Presbyterian church, 
returned, made confession and were restored. At the same time 
those who had gone off to the Presbyterian church presented their 
dismission which read as follows: 

"Voted to grant the petition of the society of Hampton Falls 
that they are disowned from this body. Simon Wilhams, Synod 
Clerk." — Extract from the Minister's Synodical Council at 
Salem September 11, 1774. 

On February 3, 1799, letters missive were received by the 
Hampton Falls church to attend the ordination of the Rev. Elias 
Hull at Seabrook. The church at that time had become Congre- 
gational, and quite a number of its members were living in Hamp- 
ton Falls. It may be well to record its proceedings. 

Rev. Elias Hull, ordained over the Congregational church at 
Seabrook February 6, 1799, was born in Tolland, Conn., in 1778, 
and died at Seabrook February 22, 1822, twenty-three years after 
his settlement. During the latter part of his life he had become 
unsteady and died an inebriate. He preached only occasionally 
during his last years. When he was first settled he was an accept- 
able preacher and drew a full house. He was not a college gradu- 
ate, preached without notes, and was a fluent speaker. He once 
favored Methodist views but was settled as a Congregationalist. 
The records, if any were kept during his ministry, have been lost 
as now no knowledge of them can be found. There were but few 
male members of Mr. Hull's church. Mr. Hull's sad ending had 
a bad effect upon the religious welfare of the town, and there was 
no settled minister in the town for several years. At times there 
was preaching by men of different denominations, or supphes from 
the missionary society. Quite a portion of the time they were des- 
titute and had no religious service. Things went on in this way 
until 1834 when sixteen persons, who had withdrawn from the 



32 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Hampton Falls church, went to Seabrook and united with others 
in that town and formed what has since been known as the First 
Evangelical Congregational Society of Seabrook and Hampton 
Falls. A few of the surviving members of Mr. Hull's church 
united with this new society. 

The following seems to have emanated from those who were 
opposed to Mr. Wingate's settlement and was addressed to the 
church : 

"Being that the great interesting doctrines of Christianity as 
explained in the catechism and orthodox confession of faith are 
not preached by those that are settled in the ministry among us, 
that they have been put upon enquiry, and from enquiring into 
doctrines have been led to search into church discipline do cor- 
dially embrace the doctrines contained in the Assembly's Shorter 
Catechism and the Presbyterian form of government." 

The above is copied from the records of the church in Hampton 
Falls, and appears to have been copied from some paper or docu- 
ment containing the reasons why a new church should be formed 
in the south part of the town. To these reasons the church in 
Hampton Falls replied as follows: 

"We desire it to be remembered all these great things were done 
in about a fortnight or three weeks. They further contend that 
the thing was done hastily. That no objections were made to 
Mr. Wingatc at the time of his settlement. That those who have 
withdrawn have done it in an irregular and disorderly manner. 
That if they have received new light they ought to have imparted 
it to others. That some who desire a new church cannot judge 
whether the truth has beeji preached or not, as they have been 
constant neglectors of public Avorship, and that the Presbytery 
are ignorant of the true state of affairs." 

After the formation of the new parish in Sea])rook the ijalance 
of the old parish was disturbed, the majority living in the upper 
part of the town. On October 20, 1768, it was voted to Iniild a 
new meeting house two miles w*^est of the old meeting house on the 
road toward Exeter. To this there developed a strong opposition 
in the lower part of the parish, who did all in their power to pre- 
vent the vote being carried out for building the new meeting house 
Those who opposed the building of the new meeting house claimed 
that there was a tacit agreement when Mr. Wingate was settled 
that the place of worship should not be changed during his min- 
istry; and also on account of the expense; that some of the par- 



THE MEETING HOUSE 33 

sonage property was held conditionally and might be forfeited in 
case of the removal; that no attempt had been made to come to 
an amicable adjustment of difference before commencing the work 
of building; that the location was an improper one, and that 
undue haste was made in forcing the vote. 

At a town meeting held December 19,1768, it was voted that a 
new meeting house forty by fifty-five feet in dimension be built 
on the vacant lot near Jeremiah Lane's; that John Tilton, Abner 
Sanborn and William Prescott, selectmen, and Elisha Prescott, 
Samuel Prescott and Jonathan Cram be the building committee, 
and that the committee sell the pews to the highest bidder, and 
make a report at an adjourned meeting the first Tuesday in Feb- 
ruary. Immediately a dissent was made which concluded as 
follows : 

"That the whole proceedings tend to bring the parish into con- 
fusion as it is evident from the notification itself, which says that 
there are disputes about the place the meeting house shall be set, 
as to accommodate the inhabitants. And yet would force a vote 
without trying any proper measures of accommodation wherefore 
we protest against all the proceedings as illegal, and against any 
part of any cost or charge in consequence of said vote." 

This dissent was signed by Meshech Weare and twenty-two 
others. 

A committee was chosen to centre the parish. This was done 
territorially instead of finding the centre of population. They 
found the centre of the town to be near a large rock just south of 
the cemetery on the cross road — and the meeting house was lo- 
cated as near this as was practical, on the road. It has been 
claimed that if the meeting house had been located near the site 
of the present town house much trouble would have been avoided, 
and the future history of the town would have been much differ- 
ent. The house was built in 1768, and was ready to be dedicated 
in 1769. 

The pews were sold before the house was built and the proceeds 
used in construction. The meeting house had a gallery on three 
sides, the men's gallery on the east, the women's on the west and 
the singing gallery in front of the pulpit, which was a high one 
with a sounding board over it 

The new meeting house was ready to be dedicated in 1769. 
Mr. Wingate refused to go there and dedicate the house, or to 



34 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

preach therein although urged to do so. On January 30, 1770, a 
parish meeting was held. This meeting was called by Walter 
Bryant and Noah Emery, two justices living at Exeter, the select- 
men being opposed to the new meeting house having refused to 
call the meeting. The whole parish participated in this meeting. 
The test vote on moderator was hotly contested and the new meet- 
ing house party won by three votes on the vote for moderator, 
electing Capt. Jonathan Tilton moderator. The vote was cast on 
nearly sectional lines, the upper part of the town being solid for 
the new meeting house and the lower part as solid against. The 
new meeting house party was led by Nathaniel Healey, then up- 
ward of eighty years of age, the opposition by Aleshech Weare, 
and is the last record of his appearance at the town meetings. 

At this meeting it was voted that Mr. Wingate should go to the 
new meeting house and "dedicate and preach in said house to the 
public worship of God, as conveniently as may be." Air. Win- 
gate was duly notified of this vote in a memorial signed by sixty- 
one persons, but he declined to act in accordance with the vote 
for reasons which he assigned, declaring that he could not settle 
the controversy and it was unwise for him to attempt it. Neither 
did he consider a vote of the parish a sufficient reason for chang- 
ing the place of worship. Mr. Wingate was sustained in the 
position he had taken by influential members of the parish living 
in the lower part of the town, and it was claimed that-some of the 
ministers in the neighboring towns advised him in the course 
he pursued. 

In consequence of Mr. Wingate's refusal to preach in the new 
meeting house, a meeting was held December 7, 1770, when it was 
voted that there be no rate or assessment made or raised upon the 
polls or estate in the parish for the salary or support of Mr. Win- 
gate for the current yesiY and that the selectmen "be and hereby 
are directed not to make nor raise such tax or assessment. " This 
vote was confirmed and ratified at a meeting held March 4, 1771. 
It appears that a protest signed by fifty-eight persons had been 
received by the selectmen declaring that they would not pay any 
minister tax for the support of Mr. Wingate. 

We have no knowledge when the new meeting house was first 
used for holding religious meetings, but in a protest dated August 
30, 1771, it was stated that they were obliged to hire preaching at 
their own expense, at the new meeting house. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 35 

At the annual meeting in March, 1771, it was voted to concur 
with the church in calHng a council to advise and assist in regard 
to existing difficulties and to defray the expense of said council. 
A similar vote was passed at an adjoined meeting, and the time 
for holding the council was fixed for the 23d of April. There is 
nothing upon the record to show that this council was ever held, 
or if held of what churches it was composed. But from Mr. 
Wingate's letter of resignation and other sources we believe that 
the council was held, and that it recommended the dissolution of 
the relations which had existed between Mr. Wingate and the 
parish. 

At a parish meeting, September 30, 1771, it was voted to dis- 
miss Rev. Mr. Wingate; to choose a committee to treat and agree 
with him. with respect to what compensation should be allowed 
him, to be paid by said parish for the secular inconvenience to 
which the dissolution of his said relations exposed him. In case 
the committee and Mr. Wingate failed to agree, to provide for 
arbitration. The meeting which passed these votes was ad- 
journed three times and finally dissolved November 13. This 
was a victory for the new meeting house party. 

Mr. Wingate resigned his pastorate December 4, 1771, the 
resignation to take effect four years from the March following 
which would be in March, 1776. He was to receive fifty pounds 
lawful money to be paid immediately, or if not paid at once he 
was to receive interest thereon until paid. He was to have the 
use and enjoyment of the parsonage property rent free during 
that time, and to be exempt from all taxes. All repairs upon the 
parsonage buildings and fences were to be made by the parish. 
He was not to be relieved from ministerial duties unless he chose 
to do so voluntarily. He also agreed not to stand in the way or 
to oppose the settlement of any other minister should the parish 
desire to do so during the four years. At the end of the four 
years he was to quit all ministerial relations and resign the par- 
sonage. He released the parish from paying him his annual 
salary of fifty-five pounds during the four years. 

Mr. Wingate continued to live in the parsonage until March 
12, 1776, when he asked for a little time to remove his effects. At 
that time he signed a paper in which he quit his ministerial rela- 
tions and resigned the parsonage, and all privileges as a settled 
minister. Many have considered that Mr. Wingate made a 



36 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

pretty sharp bargain with the parish in the terms of his resigna- 
tion. The course i\Ir. Wingate persued in relation to the new 
meeting house caused a great deal of trouble which resulted in the 
permanent injury to the parish. He was sustained and en- 
couraged in his course l)y quite a large minority in the parish. 

Rev. Paine Wingate, Jr., M. A., was ordained pastor of the 
church at Hampton Falls December 14, 1763, having been first 
received upon his dismission and recommendation from the 
second Church of Christ in Amcsbury, and then elected to mem- 
bership in Hampton Falls church. Rev. Mr. Coffin of Kingston 
made the first prayer; the Rev. Mr. Googin of Xorthhill preached 
from 11 Corinthians 1:6; the Rev. Mr. Lowell of Newbury in- 
troduced the charge. When the Rev. Paine Wingate, Sr., of 
Amesbury, father of the candidate, gave it. Rev. Mr. Cotton of 
Hampton gave the right hand of fellowship; Rev. Mr. Fogg of 
Kensington concluded with prayer. His active ministry con- 
tinued about eight years. His pastoral connection with the 
church and parish continued more than twelve j^ears. During 
this time, 184 were baptized; 45 couples were married, belonging 
to Hampton Falls; 274 other marriages were consummated, of 
parties living elsewhere. Many coming from ^Massachusetts were 
married by virtue of a license from the Governor rather than to 
be published in the old form at home. Mr. Wingate's ministry 
was greatly disturbed by the unhapp}' contentions which existed 
in the parish and which continued for a long time after his re- 
moval. 

Mr. Wingate was born May 14, 1739, and graduated from 
Harvard College in 1759. He married Eunice, daughter of Dea. 
Timothy Pickering of Salem, IMass., and a sister of Hon. Timothy 
Pickering, the well-known, distinguished statesman and member 
of Washington's cabinet. 

Upon his removal from Hampton Falls ]\Ir. Wingate settled 
upon a farm in Stratham where he continued to make his home 
during the remainder of his life. He and his wife transferred 
their church membership to the church in Stratham. After leav- 
ing Hampton Falls he did not preach a great deal. He supplied, 
for a time, the North Church in Portsmouth, but soon after ceased 
to preach at all, and turned his attention to political and judicial 
matters where he became distinguished. In religious sentiment 
he was a Trinitarian and was in accord with Henry Watts and 



THE MEETING HOUSE 37 

Doddridge. After he became a layman he was forward to render 
his pecuniary support and example to maintain the ordinances of 
religion which, as a minister, he had labored to preserve and 
promote. 

In 1787 he was chosen a representative to the first Congress. 
In 1789 he was chosen a United States senator, with John Lang- 
don to the first Congress. Mr. Wingate drew the short term and 
retired from the Senate in 1793. He was chosen that year to the 
House of Representatives for one term, which terminated his 
congressional career. When a candidate for office he received a 
full vote in Hampton Falls although he was opposed as a minister. 
In 1798 he was appointed a justice of the Superior Court of New 
Hampshire which office he continued to hold until 1809 when he 
retired by limitation, having become seventy years of age. He 
outlived all the members of the college at the time he was there. 
At one time he was one of 1,006 living graduates of Harvard 
College. At a later period he was supposed to be the only sur- 
vivor of the 1,006. Hon. Timothy Farrah of New Ipswich was 
the only member of the court with whom he was associated who 
survived at the time of Mr. Wingate's death. He outlived all 
who were members of either house of Congress at the time he was 
a member. He died, March 7, 1839, having attained the great 
age of ninety-nine years. His wife, with whom he had lived more 
than seventy years, survived him and died in 1843 in the one 
hundred and first year of her age. Mr. and Mrs. Wingate were 
buried in the cemetery at Stratham. 

Rev. Paine Wingate, Sr., father of Rev. Paine Wingate, Jr., was 
born in Hampton, N. H., in 1703, and graduated from Harvard 
in 1723. He was settled as pastor at West Amesbury in 1726, and 
died, February 17, 1786, at the age of eighty-three. He was 
buried at West Amesbury. 

Extract from Mr. Wingate's letter of resignation: 

" By reason of the difficulties which have for several years past 
divided the church and parish and discovering no prospect of 
peace and usefullness in my ministry in this place, I have nothing 
more to add save my most sincere wishes for the peace and wel- 
fare of this church and people, and that God in his merceful Provi- 
dence will prepare and dispose you for the speedy resettlement 
of the gospel among you, and above all that he would enable each 
of us to regard our character and profession as Christians that we 
may be admitted to join the church triumphant in the kingdom 
of his glory." 



38 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

The church voted his dismission from the pastoral relation, and 
also voted him and his wife letters of recommendation to the 
church in Stratham. 

On July 14, 1773, it was voted to raise "forty pounds in lawful 
money, to be expended in hiring some proper gospel preacher in 
this place, preaching to be in the Congregational order." This 
money was to be expended by the selectmen. 

On November 14, 1773, it was voted to raise fifteen pounds for 
preaching and a committee was chosen to try and compromise the 
difficulties between the two ends of the parish, also to apply to 
the association for advice as to some suitable candidate for settle- 
ment. There is no record of the committee of compromise. A 
later attempt in 1775 appears to have met with some success, as a 
minister was hired to preach alternately in each meeting house. 
In 1776 the income of the parsonage was devoted to the use of the 
schools. It was voted that the Thanksgiving sermon be preached 
in the new meeting house. In 1777 the income of the parsonage 
was divided between the two ends of the parish. At a meeting 
held December 29 it was voted to exempt those persons from 
ministerial rates who had supported preaching at the old meeting 
house and had been constant attendants of the same, also to ex- 
tend a call to Mr. Ebenezer Dutch upon the same terms under 
which Mr. Wingate was settled, viz., fifty-five pounds lawful 
money and the use of the parsonage. He was to receive good 
Indian corn at four shillings per bushel and other things equal 
thereto. The call was not accepted by Mr. Dutch. 

On April 27, 1778, it was voted that the lower part of the parish 
should have the use of the lower parsonage and flats (salt marsh) 
and buildings, and the upper part of the parish should have the 
use of the upper parsonage. The same year an effort was made 
to unite with Seabrook in hiring a preacher. There is no report 
of the success of this movement. The votes for raising money 
for the past few j^ears appear to favor holding meetings in the new 
meeting house, opposition to which appeared to be gradually 
yielding. 

In 1777 Col. Jonathan Moulton of Hampton proposed, upon 
certain conditions, to give the parish a tract of land in ]\Ioulton- 
boro Gore, or addition for the support of the gospel forever. A 
committee was appointed to look at the land, which they did and 
reported favorably, and were then sent to Colonel Moulton for 



THE MEETING HOUSE 39 

some modification in the terms, and to report at an adjourned 
meeting. There is nothing further upon the record in relation 
to the matter. Moultonboro Gore is now the town of Tuftonboro. 

In 1781 an attempt was made to get the town of Seabrook, to- 
gether with the lower part of Hampton Falls adjacent, incorpo- 
rated into a new town to be known as New Hampton Falls. The 
parish of Hampton Falls voted to oppose this movement. In 
1783 the attempt to get the town of New Hampton Falls was re- 
newed. The town chose a committee to oppose it before the 
assembly and were successful in defeating the project. Who 
were the instigators of this movement does not appear and proba- 
bly will never be known as the record contains no information 
in relation to the matter. The church troubles probably had 
something to do with it. 

At the annual meeting, March 9, 1779, it was voted to appro- 
priate the income of the parsonage to the support of the gospel 
the year ensuing. Those who opposed this vote received their 
proportion of the income according to their estates. On May 13, 
same year, it was voted to hire Mr. Zaccheus Colby to preach two 
months in the new meeting house. Mr. Colby was probably an 
acceptable preacher, as June 14 it was voted to give Mr. Zaccheus 
Colby a call to settle in the gospel ministry. It was voted to give 
him the use of the parsonage free of tax and sixty pounds in lawful 
money as a salary. It was also voted that Mr. Colby should 
preach in Seabrook a part of the time in proportion to the sum 
they paid for his support. Mr. Colby declined the call. He was 
born in Newton, N. H., and was settled in Pembroke in 1786, in 
Chester in 1803; he died August 10, 1822, aged seventy-three 
years. 

The old meeting house having become much dilapidated, and 
the people having become more reconciled to the situation, a 
meeting was called January 3, 1780, but, owing to a violent 
storm, it was not held until the 12th, when it was voted to sell 
the old meeting house at auction and appropriate the proceeds to 
the support of the poor. There seems to be no record as to 
how much was realized from the sale. The parsonage was dis- 
posed of in the same manner as in the year previous. On May 2, 
it was voted to hire Mr. Thurston to preach two Sabbaths. 

On December 11, 1780, it was voted not to hire anyone on pro- 
bation but to extend a call to Rev. Samuel Langdon to settle at a 



40 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

salary of fifty pounds lawful money, or forty-two pounds, and 
eight ("ords of good merchantable wood. This probably meant 
hard wood. Indian corn was to be received at three and six pence 
per bushel; pork at four pence per pound; beef at two and a half 
pence. The buildings and outside fences were to be kept in re- 
pair as usual, the land to be free from taxes. Mr. Langdon ac- 
cepted the call, taking forty-two pounds and the eight cords of 
wood. 

The following is Dr. Langdon's letter of acceptance: 

"I have seriously attended to the foregoing call to devote my 
labors in the ministry of the gospel to the service of this parish and 
notwdthstanding some discouragements which have appeared in 
my way and the earnest applications made to me by some other 
parishes, w^here there was a prospect of a peaceable and comfort- 
able settlement, I cannot but apprehend it to be my duty to com- 
ply wdth the call of this parish considering the unhappy divided 
state they have been in for so many years past, and hoping I am 
not mistaken in judging it a call from God by the intimation of 
his Providence. I do hereby declare my acceptance of their call, 
and relying upon the gracious assistance of our Lord Jesus Christ, 
I shall make it my constant care and labor to fulfill the duties of 
the gospel ministry in this place to the utmost of my ability so 
long as God shall continue me among this people. 

"Samuel Langdon, D.D. 

"Hampton Falls, Jan. 7th, 178L" 

Up to this time (1780) the town has been spoken of as the parish 
of Hampton Falls and not the town of Hampton Falls. 

In 1787 Dr. Langdon asked for more salary but no vote appears 
to have been taken in the matter. The same year he was chosen 
a delegate to attend the convention at Exeter to adopt the Con- 
stitution of the United States. In 1789, voted ten pounds in- 
crease to Dr. Langdon's salary. 

In 1795 a committee was appointed to judge of Dr. Langdon's 
salary as agreed to at the time of his settlement. In 1781 he 
commenced his labors as pastor of the church in Hampton Falls, 
where he spent the residue of his days in peaceful usefulness, a 
blessing to the people of his charge and happy in enjoyment of 
their affection and respect. In his religious sentiments he claimed 
to be a Calvinist and a trinitarian. While living here he had the 
misfortune to break a leg, and later in life, when he had become 
too infirm to ascend to the high pulpit, he conducted the church 
service while standing in the deacons' pew. He was venerated 



THE MEETING HOUSE 41 

and esteemed by the people of his charge, and retained their con- 
j&dence until the close of his life. Tradition says his sermons 
were quite lengthy, the sun being well down in winter before the 
afternoon meeting closed. His sermons were written but de- 
livered from memorj^ without notes. He would occasionally ex- 
amine his manuscript with a reading glass. His time in the minis- 
try here was peaceful. The animosities which caused so much 
trouble during the ministry of his predecessors had in a measure 
subsided, but were never wholly overcome. 

The first mention upon the record of a committee to inspect 
schools was in 1794 when Dr. Langdon was chosen as such com- 
mittee. 

When it had been decided to occupy and fortify Bunker Hill in 
Charlestown in 1775, three Massachusetts regiments and two 
hundred men as a fatigue party were detailed for the purpose. 
They were drawn up on Cambridge common where they listened 
to a fervent prayer offered by Dr. Langdon, at that time presi- 
dent of Harvard College, who blessed them and bade them god- 
speed in their efforts to achieve American independence. 

He does not appear to have been very methodical, or to have 
given much attention to details, as the records were much neg- 
lected during his ministry, and imperfectly kept. His successor. 
Rev. Jacob Abbot, collected the names of sixty-seven persons who 
had been baptized by him, but were not recorded. Five others 
were recorded in their proper place. During his ministry forty 
were admitted to the church or owned the covenant, eleven were 
admitted to full communion. Dr. Langdon gave his library to 
the church for the use of its ministers in Hampton Falls. Soon 
after his death Jeremiah Lane, Esq., was appointed clerk and 
these books were placed in his keeping. May 20, 1826, Levi 
Lane, Esq., was chosen clerk and was requested to take charge of 
the books given by Dr. Langdon. These books became somewhat 
scattered. What could be found are now in the town library. 
Some of them are in Latin, and at the present time would not be 
considered of very great value except for their antiquity, as great 
progress has been made along these lines since Dr. Langdon's 
time. There are some sixty or seventy volumes in the library. 

Dr. Langdon did some literary work and his publications were 
numerous. A Thanksgiving sermon, preached at his parish in 
Portsmouth in 1759, on the anniversary of the birthday of King 



42 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

George, the 2d, was entitled, "Joy and gratitude to God for the 
long life of a good king." Also a sermon on the "Conquest of 
Quebec" from the 21st Psalm is said to have been one of the best 
occasional discourses extant. While living in Hampton Falls he 
compiled and published a book of which the following is the title 
page: "Observations on the revelation of Jesus Christ to St. 
John which comprehended the most approved sentiments of the 
celebrated Mr. Mede, Mr. Lowman, Bishop Newton, and other 
noted writers on this book, and which cast much additional light 
on the most obscure prophecies, especially those which point out 
the times of the rise and fall of Anti-Christ." 

This book was in two parts, containing, part first, general obser- 
vations on prophesy, the form order and style of the revelations, 
the monitory vision. Part second, the prophetic visions which 
are distinguished into five prophecies, each of which is subdivided 
into several scenes. By Samuel Langdon, D. D., minister of the 
church in Hampton Falls, in the state of New Hampshire. The 
views expressed in this book appear to have been those generally 
entertained by the Congregational denomination of that period, 
and were presented in an able and interesting manner. This 
book was bound in leather and contained three hundred and 
thirty-seven pages. A copy of this book was presented to the 
Hampton Falls Public Library by Mrs. J. Emmons Brown in 1897. 

Rev. Samuel Langdon was born in Boston in 1722, of respect- 
able but not opulent parents. He early showed marks of genius 
which he improved by diligent application to study while a pupil 
in the North Grammar School. Here he laid the foundation of 
his future learning. His amiable disposition procured him many 
friends who assisted him in procuring an education at Harvard 
College where he was graduated in 1740. He went to Ports- 
mouth soon after and had charge of the grammar school. His 
government and discipline in school were severe. But as the 
children improved under his instruction he very generally met the 
approval of their parents. In 1745 he was appointed chaplain of 
Col. Meserves regiment and was present at the capture of Louis- 
burg. After his return he was invited to preach as assistant to 
Mr. Fitch, whom he succeeded in the ministry in 1747. Dele- 
gates were sent to his ordination from the Hampton Falls church. 
He continued at Portsmouth until 1774, when he was chosen by 
the corporation of Harvard College as president of that institu- 



THE MEETING HOUSE 43 

tion. After due consideration he accepted the appointment. 
His parish was strongly attached to him and consented to the 
separation very reluctantly. The connection between them was 
dissolved on the 9th of October, 1774. 

Dr. Langdon's situation at Cambridge soon became unpleasant. 
Some of the most respectable officers of that institution conceived 
a strong prejudice against him and he was not treated with that 
respect which his character deserved. He resigned his office in 
1780 and the following January was installed over the church at 
Hampton Falls where he spent the residue of his days in peace and 
■usefulness, a blessing to the poeple of his charge and happy in the 
enjoyment of their affection and respect. During the period of 
the Revolutionary War and the unhappy divisions in the church 
vital religion had suffered a great relapse in the parish. During 
Dr. Langdon's ministry a great improvement was made in relig- 
ious interest and the tone of the community was elevated. 

Dr. Langdon protracted a map of New Hampshire, in company 
with Colonel Blanchard, which was published in 1761 and in- 
scribed to the Hon. Charles Townsend, secretary of war. In re- 
turn for this compliment, the secretary obtained for Mr. Langdon 
a degree of Doctor of Divinity from the University of Aberdeen, 
Scotland. On the formation of the Academy of Arts in Massa- 
chusetts, he became a member. He professed to be a trinitaran 
and a Calvinist. In politics he was zealously attached to the 
cause of his country. He was the first minister to occupy the 
parsonage house which had been purchased near the new meeting 
house, which had been bought from Jonathan Perkins. When 
the old meeting house was abandoned the lower parsonage was 
«old. The house and buildings were sold to Nathaniel Healey. 
The five acres opposite the Weare homestead appear to have 
been sold to Meshech Weare and became a part of his homestead. 
There is no record of what disposition was made of the flats (thatch 
ground). The house, which Dr. Langdon occupied, continued 
during most of its existence to be occupied by clergymen of dif- 
ferent denominations. Rev. Mr. Bridge was living there at the 
time it was destroyed by fire in 1858, when the church records 
were burned. 

Dr. Langdon was said to have advised the parish to employ 
Rev. Jacob Abbot to be his successor, who appears to have 
preached here occasionally before Dr. Langdon's death. 



44 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Dr. Langdon died November 27, 1797, at the age of seventy- 
five years. He was buried in the cemetery on the cross road. 
This yard was laid out in 1781 as a parish cemetery for the new 
meeting house. His grave is marked by an ordinary black tomb- 
stone, not in keeping with what should mark the final resting 
place of one who had been a president of Harvard University. 
Efforts have been made at different times to induce the manage- 
ment of the college to erect a more suitable monument to his 
memory. The stone at the head of his grave bears the following 
inscription: "Here lies the remains of Rev. Samuel Langdon, 
D. D., Late pastor of Hampton Falls, President of Cambridge 
University. His extensive knowledge, hospitality, Catholicism, 
patriotism and piety obtained and preserved the esteem, respect, 
admiration and love of the people of his charge, and of his numer- 
ous aquaintances in this and the neighboring states, through a 
life of great usefulness to mankind which ended Nov. 29, 1797, 
JE 75 years." 

January 17, 1798, two months after Dr. Langdon's death, was 
observed as a day of fasting and prayer. Rev. Messrs. Rowland, 
Shaw, Thurston and Miltimore came there to conduct the service. 

In 1791 it was put to vote to see if the town would pay the build- 
ing committee who built the new meeting house any compensa- 
tion for this service. This was voted in the negative. Pcav 
privileges were sold in the new meeting house until the demand 
exceeded the supply. It was difficult to get the town to vote any 
repairs upon the meeting house. It was shingled in part in 1829. 
Wood from the parsonage was sold to defray the expense. 

In April, 1798, a call was extended to Mr. Jacob Abbot to settle 
in the gospel ministry, with the use of the parsonage and two 
hundred dollars salary. This offer was declined. 

In May the parish voted to give Mr. Abbot three hundred silver 
dollars, the use of the parsonage, and to keep the buildings and 
outside fences in repair, and to cut and haul ten cords of Avood to 
the door. This offer was accepted by Mr. Abbot in a long letter 
dated June 2, 1798. This is the first instance where the federal 
currency is mentioned in payment of demands against the parish. 

Mr. Abbot accepted in the following letter to the church and 
congregation of Hampton Falls: 

"Gentlemen: I have calmly and seriously considered the invi- 
tation you have extended me to settle among you in the work of 



THE MEETING HOUSE 45 

the miiiistry and the proposals you have made for my support and 
encouragement. Feehng a confidence that your engagements 
will punctually be fulfilled, and that while I labor among you in 
spiritual things you will fully impart to me so much of your carnal 
things as is necessary that I may give myself unto the work 
wherunto you have called me relying on your candor and that 
grace which is promised to and sufficient for all Christs faithful 
ministers — I do now accept your proposals and am ready and 
willing to take the pastoral charge of the flock of Christ, and de- 
vote myself to the ministry among you. The distance from my 
friends is such that to visit them may oblige me to leave you desti- 
tute. Circumstances also may occur as to make it my duty to 
preach to a vacant parish. You will not think it unreasonable if I 
want the customary vacation of two Sabbaths annually for this 
purpose. You are sensible gentlemen from the short time I have 
been in the study of divinity that my knowledge of it must be 
small. To be obliged to preach two discourses weekly and attend 
other parochial duties must continue it so, and preclude in a great 
measure future improvement as well as present. A compliance 
with the direction of the apostle to give attendance to reading, 
you will therefore freely grant me the indulgence of availing my- 
self, of the assistance of others in frequent exchanges. Your past 
kindness and candor toward me while they excite the liveliest 
gratitude, encourage me to hope for their continuance in future. 
The confidence you have so unitedly placed in me by inviting me 
to an ofl^ice in the discharging the duties of which your dearest 
interests are concerned, shall call forth every exertion on my part, 
that your expectations may not be disappointed. You are sensi- 
ble the work of a minister is arduous, and difficult. Let me then 
entreat your fervant and continued prayers that I may be en- 
abled to be faithful to God to you and my own soul. That the 
God of peace may be with you and continue and strengthen your 
union and growth in grace so to demean myself, and preach the 
gospel, and you to hear and live, that when time with us shall be 
no more we may reap the reward of the faithful service is the 
fervant prayer of your sincere friend and humble servant. 

"Jacob Abbot. 
"Hampton Falls June 2d 1798." 

Mr. Abbot appears to have been preaching some time as a sup- 
ply before receiving a call. He was ordained pastor of the Church 
of Christ in Hampton Falls, having been received upon his dis- 
mission from the church in Wilton. The ordination took place 
August 15, 1798. Rev. W. F. Rowland of Exeter made the first 
prayer; Rev. Mr. Fisk of Wilton, with whom Mr. Abbot appears 
to have studied theology, preached the sermon which is given in 
full in the history of Hampton Falls; Rev. Mr. Miltimore of 



46 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Stratham made the consecrating prayer; Rev. Mr, Haven of 
Portsmouth gave the charge; Rev. Mr. Appleton of Hampton 
gave the right hand of fellowship; Rev. Mr. Abbott of Haverhill 
made the concluding prayer. There is a very full account of Mr. 
Abbot's ordination given in the history of Hampton Falls. 

Mr. Abbot began his ministry under very favoral)le auspices. 
But the harmony of the parish was soon disturbed by the Baptist 
movement of which one Elias Smith was a prominent leader. 
Unsoundness of doctrine was urged against Mr. Abbot as an ex- 
cuse and a pretext for leaving his meeting, Mr, Abbot being classed 
with those called Arminians. One person asked for dismission in 
1803, Six years later twenty persons had formed themselves 
into a Baptist society and were excused from their ministerial 
rates, and the support of the parish ministry. 

The withdrawal of so many from paying their ministerial rates, 
because they were Baptists and from other causes, soon had an 
injurious effect on the parish church, making it difficult to raise 
and pay Mr, Abbot's salary. He appreciated the situation. At 
a number of different times he proposed resigning his pastorate, 
but was in each case persuaded not to do so. On June 29, 1809, 
Mr, Abbot proposed leaving the place and resigning his pastorate, 
proposals having been made to him by the trustees of Dummer 
Academy, Newbury, Mass., to become preceptor of that institu- 
tion. He considered that it would be burdensome to the parish 
to continue his salary in consequence of so many having with- 
drawn from the active support of the church to become Baptists 
and from other causes, who refused to contribute to his support. 
He consulted the church and in consequence an ecclesiastical coun- 
cil was convened to consider the matter. The council was com- 
posed of the following pastors and churches: Dr. Buckminster 
of Portsmouth, Porter of Rye, Holt of Epping, Rowland of Exeter, 
Shaw of Kensington, French of North Hampton, and Webster of 
Hampton. The council met July 2G and at an adjourned meet- 
ing August 8 reported and advised Mr, Abbot to remain. The 
difficulties of raising his salary continued during the remainder 
of his ministry. Mr. Abbot's connection with the town ceased 
by his own request. He asked a dismission from the pastoral 
office in the church October 16, 1827, which the church voted on 
the 18th of November. This action was approved by a council 
called for the purpose, of which Rev. Huntington Porter of Rye 



THE MEETING HOUSE 47 

was moderator, and Rev. Ephrium Abbott of Greenland was 
scribe. Mr. Abbot's ministry continued about twenty-nine years, 
during which time 148 persons were baptized; 124 marriages were 
solemnized; from 1800 to 1811, 12 persons made a profession of 
religion upon the half way covenant, but did not become com- 
municants. 

From the facts which have been gathered it is believed that the 
ordinances of the church were much less strictly observed during 
the ministry of Mr. Abbot than in the earlier history of the church, 
under his predecessors. During the latter part of Mr. Abbot's 
ministry he had become a Unitarian which after a time led to a 
separation from those who adhered to the old doctrines. In 1822 
his salary was a little over three hundred dollars per year. Mr. 
Abbot was chairman of the school committee from 1801 till 1807, 
which appears to have been all the secular office he held during 
his residence here. 

Mr. Abbot, during his pastorate, occupied the parsonage house 
which had been occupied by Dr. Langdon, his predecessor. He 
and his family were much liked for their social qualities and their 
removal from the town was much regretted. He founded the 
Social Library which was kept at his house, which was the first 
library ever in the town and which continued in existence for more 
than fifty years. He was much interested in agriculture, and 
cultivated the parsonage lands successfully, his methods being 
much in advance of the times. He introduced some new kinds 
of fruit and was the first to practice grafting apple and other fruit 
trees in the town. 

While living here he often had in his family young men under 
his teaching who were fitting for Harvard College, or those who 
had been conditioned, or suspended for a time. In this way he 
was enabled to add to his income, as his salary was not sufficient 
to support his large family. Among those under his tuition was 
Prof. John White Webster who was hung in Boston in 1850 for the 
murder of Dr. Parkman. Webster had a bad reputation while 
he was a member of Mr. Abbot's family. 

Rev. Jacob Abbot was born in Wilton, N. H., January 7, 1768. 
He graduated from Harvard in 1792; was ordained at. Hampton 
Falls August 15, 1798; married Martha, daughter of Rev. Eben- 
ezer and Martha Thayer of Hampton in 1802. He met his death 
November 2, 1834, by drowning. Mrs. Abbot survived her hus- 



48 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

band and died in 1843. Kev. Jacob Al)b()t was a lineal descend- 
ant of George Abbot who settled in Andovcr, Mass., about 1643. 
He spelled his name with one t, two t's continued until the fourth 
generation, when some dropped the final t; Rev. Jacob Abbot 
spelled ])y the latter method, with one t. 

In his latter days Mr, Abbot became a Unitarian. Some of 
his sermons were solemn, pungent and evangelical. His talents 
were respectable. As a man he was esteemed and beloved. 

After his dismission from Hampton Falls he removed to Wind- 
ham where he purchased a valuable farm and spent the remainder 
of his days. There appears to have been a Unitarian society in 
Windham at that time to which ]\Ir. Abbot had been preaching 
for some little time, and at the time of his death he had engaged 
to supply preaching for the ensuing year. 

Mr. Abbot was the last of the parish ministers settled bj' the 
town. The town ministry continued for more than one hundred 
years. The town was very fortunate in the choice of its ministers. 
All of them were graduates of Harvard College, and were men of 
more than average ability, and were well abreast of the times in 
which they lived, and were competent to lead the people forward, 
and were a living example of the advantage of an educated minis- 
try. All of them, with the exception of Dr. Langdon, appear 
never to have been settled in any other pastorate. The remains 
of four of them repose in our cemeteries. The first three had no 
children. Of Dr. Langdon's family we have no knowledge. Mr. 
Wingate had five children and his descendants are now numerous. 
Mr. Abbot had a large famil3\ 

The circumstances of Mr. Abbot's death are given in a note 
to his funeral sermon which was published, and which was as 
follows : 

"Rev. Jacob Abbot, Captain Dinsmore, two sons of the former, 
and two sons-in-law of the latter, were returning in the afternoon 
from pul)lic worship across a pond between the meeting house and 
their dwellings, W'hen, having nearly reached the shore, the boat 
admitted water to such a degree as to be nearly filled. In the 
alarm of the moment the boys sprang from the boat and by this 
action the boat was upset. The boys could swim and reached the 
shore in safety. The men could not swim. Mr. Abbot and Cap- 
tain Dinsmore were drowned. It was with the utmost difficulty 
that Mr. Ebenezer Abbot, one of the sons, escaped. IVIr. Abbot 
was thus suddenly calld to exchange worlds, November 2, 1834, at 
the age of sixty-six." 



THE MEETING HOUSE 49 

He was buried the Wednesday following. Rev. Nathaniel 
Gage of Haverhill, Mass., Unitarian, preached from the words: 
"There is but a step between me and death. " Mr. Abbot was a 
member of the Unitarian church in Windham. 

On May 14, 1802, it was resolved, where persons have con- 
ducted or shall conduct themselves unbecoming their Christian 
professions and solemn covenant engagements, that "it is the 
duty of the members of the church that we will individually as 
opportunity offers endeavor by private exhortation, persuasion, 
reproof in the spirit of meekness and charity to convince and re- 
form them and not suffer sin upon our brethren." This appears 
to apply to those who had left the church and became Baptists. 

On December 15, 1803, Mr. William Brown requested to be 
dismissed from the church (probably to join the Baptists). The 
church voted not to dismiss him. On December 18, a committee 
was appointed to converse with him for his neglect of the Lord's 
table, and to inquire respecting his intention of being rebap- 
tized, and to warn him against it. Mr. Brown said he did not 
consider that Mr. Abbot preached the gospel, and objected to 
several things which the pastor had said in public. This appears 
to have been the beginning of the Baptist movement in the town. 

In 1804 others were found in the Baptist error; in 1805 the 
difficulties with the Baptists increased; in 1808 twenty-one 
persons, calling themselves the Baptist Society, petitioned for 
a parish meeting to be exempted from paying tax to support the 
town minister. The selectmen refused to call the meeting, and 
a meeting was called by Thomas Leavitt, Esq., when the request 
of the Baptists wfls voted in the negative. After this a suit 
was commenced by the Baptists to become exempt; and appears 
to have been decided in their favor for in 1809 the Baptists were 
exempted from paying for the support of the town ministry. 

In 1818 the legislature passed what was known as the Tolera- 
tion Act, which exempted all property from ministerial rates 
assessed by the town. This made the churches dependent upon 
voluntary centributions for support. No one was compelled to 
pay for the support of any church unless he chose to do so. This 
same thing had been accomplished in Massachusetts by an act 
in 1795. All of these things worked against the parish church 
and hastened the end. 

June 16, 1812, letters missive were received by the church to 

5 



50 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

attend the ordination of Rev. Joseph W. Dow at Tyringham, 
Mass. Owing to the distance it was voted not to comply, but 
it was voted to dismiss Mr. Dow from this church and recom- 
mend him to the church in Tyringham. Mr. Dow was the son 
of Maj. Joseph Dow and a grandson of Governor Weare. He 
graduated from Harvard in 1805, and died in 1833. Tyringham 
is situated in Berkshire County, Mass., and adjoins Stockbridge. 
In the election of 1911 but thirty-five votes were cast in the town. 

After Mr. Abbot's dismission Rev. James Thurston of New- 
market supplied for a season. Rev. W. F. Rowland of Exeter 
preached in 1829. One season Rev. Messrs. Thurston, Tenney, 
Plumb, Griswold and Harris supplied at times. Messrs. Rand 
and Trere, Baptists, occupied the pulpit for some time. Rev. 
Moses Dow was ordained at Beverly, Mass., in 1801, and settled 
at York, Maine. He came here in 1830 and preached three 
years. He was a man of deep toned piety; his earnest and 
serious exhibition of the great doctrine of the cross did much to 
revive and promote the cause of godliness during his brief stay 
in the town. He removed to Plaistow where he died. Moses 
B. Dow, at one time commissioner of Rockingham County, was 
his grandson. 

From the time of Mr. Abbot's dismissal until 1835, ten were 
baptized and twenty-five were admitted to the church. After 
Mr. Dow went away Mr. Wood, a Unitarian, supplied the pulpit 
which caused much dissatisfaction among those who called 
themselves the orthodox portion of the church. In June, 1833, 
Rev. Henry Jewett was invited to preach and remain through 
the season. His preaching was of the most radical orthodox 
kind, which gave offence to the Unitarians who were in the 
majority and had possession of the meeting house, and a separa- 
tion resulted, the orthodox portion going with Mr. Jewett to the 
Exeter road schoolhouse, where he preached to them for a time. 
Mr. Jewett and his followers claimed that the majority favored 
the half way covenant and made this a pretext for going away. 
By the secession of the Baptists and orthodox the Unitarians were 
left in possession of the meeting house, which, with the records 
and all other things belonging, came to them by lineal descent. 
After this Unitarian ministers were emploj^ed to preach. 

During the entire time the parish church was in existence 
invitations were often received to attend with delegates to assist 



THE MEETING HOUSE 51 

in ordinations, councils, etc. Delegates were usually sent unless 
the distance was considered too great. The attendance as dele- 
gates on these occasions appears to have been thought a pleasant 
duty. 

The half way covenant was in use and allowed during the 
entire time the parish church existed in this town. The half 
way covenant appears to have been allowed by most of the New 
England churches during the eighteenth century, but was grad- 
ually repudiated by most of them. 

The following is an account of the adoption of the half way 
covenant in Portsmouth: At a church meeting legally convened 
it was voted that persons having a competent knowledge and 
making a serious profession of the Christian religion, and being 
of a conversation void of scandal, upon the owning of the coven- 
ant, and subjecting themselves to the government of Christ to 
this church shall be admitted to baptism and have the like 
privilege for their children. It would seem that to be well in- 
formed of Christian truth and to seriously profess to obey its 
requirements, to be of a walk and conversation free from all 
reproach, to confess the creed, and to be entirely subject to the 
head of the church, would be sufficient to admit one to the 
questionable salvation by the form of baptism, but such was the 
severity of the Geneva School that all this was only half way. 
A man might be of an upright walk beyond question, a glory of 
example of goodness to all the world, and yet, being without 
formal test of election, redemption, and faith, all his goodness 
was unavailing and even might make against him. 

Nevertheless this half way covenant was for a time quite 
popular in New England and was in use in the new parish in 
Portsmouth until it was discontinued by Dr. Putnam. As might 
be supposed among strict followers of the Geneva School it could 
onlj^ work mischief and deadness to the spiritual life, for it is a 
tacit admission of the failure of that system through its extreme 
rigidity, and whatever religious truth one holds he must hold 
to wholly, and not partially, to make it effective. It might 
be likened in some degree to the old Biblical distinction of the 
proselytes of the gate in contrast with the proselytes of righteous- 
ness, the former being in the eyes of strict Jews only half way 
converts not required to observe the whole law, but only to 
abstain from certain heathen customs, and practices. 



52 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

When the half way covenant was in use and people wished to 
avail themselves of it to have their children baptized they sub- 
scribed to the following: "You promise to walk in all the com- 
mandments and ordinances of the Lord, blameless so far as God 
shall afford you light and direction." 

Rev. Jonathan Edwards, an eminent divine, pastor of the 
church in Northampton, Mass., pu])lished an essay entitled, 
"An humble inquiry into the rules of the word of God, concerning 
the qualifications requisite to a complete standing and full com- 
munion in the visible Christian church." This had much 
influence in causing the half way covenant to 1)0 annulled. 

Rev. Edward Robie of Greenland, in the sermon preached on 
the sixtieth anniversary of his settlement, says the strictness 
requisite to admission to the church after this had nearly as bad 
an influence on the future of the churches as the laxity prevalent 
under the half way covenant. There were many more admissions 
to the church under the half way covenant than there had been 
since its discontinuance. 

We have collected the following statistics: Baptisms by Mr. 
Cotton, 467, 72 of whom were from the Shoals. Owned the 
covenant or renewed the covenant, 34. Baptized by Mr. 
Whipple, 1,136. Owned or renewed the covenant, 179. Ad- 
mitted to full communion by Mr. Cotton, 97; by jMr. Whipple, 
236. Dismissed by Mr. Whipple, 91. Marriages by Mr. 
Cotton, 99; by Mr. Whipple, 389. Baptized by IMr. Bayley, 
from October 30, 1757, to August 8, 1762, 122; 22 were baptized 
between the last date and December, 1763. This was after Mr. 
Bayley's death. Deaths and burials, from 1712-1755, 605. 
Baptisms in 1764, 26; 1765, 24; 1766, 22; 1767, 22; 1768, 23; 
1769, 26; 1770, 14; 1771, 11; 1772, 6; 1773, 11; 1776, 3. Total, 
184. Rev. Mr. Abbot collected 67 names who were baptized 
during Dr. Langdon's ministr3\ 1797, 3; 1798, 2. Baptized by 
Mr. Abbot during his whole ministry, 148; 1827, 1; 1828, 1; 
1829, 2; 1830, 2; 1831, 2; 1834, 1; 1835, 1; 1840, 2. Total, 12. 
Mr. Wingate solemnized 45 marriages of persons in Hampton 
Falls, and 274 others living in other places, between Deceml^er 
27, 1763, and March 2, 1776. Mr. Abbot married 124 couples 
during his ministry, 1798-1827. Rev. Moses Dow solemnized 
15 marriages before 1833. Admitted to the church in 1830, 5; 
in 1831, 1; 1832, 9; 1839, 10. Total, 25. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 53 

Previous to 1835, as near as it can be ascertained, 734 persons 
had been admitted to church connection and 2,163 persons had 
been baptized since the parish church was organized in 1712. 

Peace and harmony had blessed the church and people a 
larger portion of the time. The unhappy dissensions which 
prevailed during Rev. Mr. Wingate's ministry and Mr. Abbot's 
do essentially detract from the character of the people who, under 
the instruction and labors of an exemplary succession of ministers, 
have manifested a constant and unwavering attachment to the 
institutions of the gospel for more than a century. 

From the first organization of the Congregational church 
there were continual additions to it, except for the few years of 
strife which arose from changing the location of the meeting house. 
There was a great complaint that the churches throughout the 
state suffered greatly from the deleterious effect upon the morals 
of the people and the habits of life caused by the War of the 
Revolution. This cause probably had its effect upon the church 
in Hampton Falls. 

The people of this town have generally sustained the character 
of a peace loving, order-seeking, meeting-going community under 
the continued labors of a succession of an able and industrious 
ministry. Habits of industry and enterprise have prevailed 
which contributed to the general prosperity of the inhabitants. 
Their present attachment to some form of religious worship 
shows that the fruit of the labors and example of the fathers has 
not been wholly lost upon the chidren. This was true of the town 
when this was written, in 1840. These conditions have changed 
since that time. Church attendance is not as general as it was in 
the early part of the nineteenth century. 

We can have little conception of the discomfort and hardship of 
the church attendants before any means were adopted for warm- 
ing the meeting houses. To go into an ice cold meeting house and 
sit for hours with no means of warmth after a long cold ride in 
winter is more than the people of the present time would be willing 
to do. The only fire in the meeting houses was carried in by 
women in foot-stoves in which there was a pan of live coals. 
Objection was made to the use of these stoves on account of fire. 
These stoves were used to warm the feet, and little children got 
down upon their knees to warm their hands and get the little heat 
possible from them. Soap and other stones were heated and 



54 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

wrapped in cloths, and bottles of warm water were used to warm 
the feet. Sometimes the family dog would lay upon his master's 
feet and impart heat from his body. By law all dogs were for- 
bidden to enter the meeting house under a penalty of a fine which 
made this method of obtaining warmth unlawful. 

Toward the end of the service, when the hearers were anxiously 
awaitingtohearthe" finally" considerable noise and disorder would 
be heard, stamping of feet, threshing of arms, turning up great 
coat collars, etc., to prevent freezing; while the minister with 
heavy cloak or overcoat on, his ears covered, and with mittens 
upon his hands, exhorted them to be patient, as he would soon 
close, and then calmly proceed to seventh and eighthly. 

Many suffered from insufficient clothing. In this respect the 
women were not as well protected as the men. Only their heads 
and hands were made comfortable by pumpkin hoods and woolen 
mittens. It was the rule that infants should be baptized the 
next Sabbath after birth, regardless of the weather. This ex- 
posure often resulted in d^eath. In the early days consumption 
was the most common and fatal disease, claiming more victims 
than all others. One great cause of this disease was sitting for 
hours in cold, damp and unventilated meeting houses. Rev. Mr. 
Bayley was a victim of this disease. The Sacrament of the 
Lord's Supper was often observed when the bread was frozen 
hard and would rattle in the plate when passed. It was the cus- 
tom to omit the Lord's Supper during the winter months because 
of the cold. 

In some places there was a rough building near the meeting 
house, called a noonday or Sabbath day house, in which there was 
a large fireplace with a good fire made from burning logs. Here 
those who came from a distance could warm themselves and re- 
plenish their foot stoves before going into the meeting house, and 
warm up before riding home. At noon the dinner of bread and 
cheese, doughnuts, pork and beans, etc., were warmed up. Flip 
and other stimulating drinks were often prepared. In the ab- 
sence of the noon house some hospitable farmer would allow the 
use of his house. In some cases the taverns were used for the 
same purpose. Notwithstanding the lengthy service in the 
meeting house Bible reading and other religious services were 
carried on during the noon hour. Although only religious sub- 
jects were supposed to be talked of on Sunday, yet many a good 



THE MEETING HOUSE 55 

trade was got under way which reqmred Httle effort to consummate 
later in the week. The women smoked their pipes, did not gossip, 
but heard the news. As a rule a much louder tone of voice was 
used in speaking on religious topics than in the discussions of 
secular matters. Sabbath schools were called in the noon houses 
at 6.30 a, m., and religious service continued throughout the 
entire day, in some cases. 

The noon house seems to have been much in use in Connecticut, 
but not much in evidence in Massachusetts or New Hampshire. 
We have seen no evidence that a noon house or any substitute 
therefor was ever in use in Hampton. Noon houses came to an 
end when stoves or other heating methods came into use. 

Like all other things in the line of progress and improvement, 
there was a strong opposition to placing stoves in the meeting 
houses. It was claimed that the stoves were productive of head- 
ache, fainting fits, etc., and that the heat would cause the women's 
high back combs to become warped. Ludicrous mistakes are 
reported of fainting and sickness, caused by the heat from the 
stoves, but the women quickly recovered when it was found that 
there was no fire in stoves. 

There was no means of heating the meeting houses in Hampton 
Falls until after 1830. The Christian meeting house, now the 
town library building, was the first meeting house ever warmed 
by artificial heat. This house was built in 1835. All the meeting 
houses in the town were built about this time and all provided 
with some means of heating. 

Before there was a church organized in this town our people 
attended meeting at the old town. One of the deacons lived 
upon and had charge of the people living south of the Tayler 
River. Christopher Hussey, Nathaniel Weare and Samuel Shaw 
had held the office. Deacon Shaw resigned to become deacon 
in the new church and Nathaniel Weare was appointed to be his 
associate. On February 20, 1720, Nathaniel Batchelder and 
Benjamin Sanborn were appointed deacons to assist Deacon 
Weare. Deacon Shaw was at that time deceased. From that 
time to the present, a period of more than one hundred and 
eighty years, Nathaniel Batchelder and his descendants have held 
the office of deacon continuously in the Congregational church, 
six generations, in one family. In 1738 Jonathan Fifield and 
Josiah Batchelder were chosen deacons; later Abner Sanborn and 



56 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Joseph Worth held the office. David Batchelder and James 
Prescott were deacons. In 1808 Caleb Tilton was chosen deacon; 
he declined and Jeremiah Blake was elected. Others may have 
filled the office but we do not find any recorded later, the record 
not being as full in the later years. 

In 1832, when it had been found that owing to the differences 
which made it imi)ossible for the people of the towns to agree in 
church matters owing to difference of opinion, it was voted to sell 
the parsonage property belonging to the town. The Iniildings 
and field were sold to Wells Healey who repaired and put the build- 
ings into good order. The house was occupied a greater part of 
the time by the Unitarian ministers, Rev. Messrs. Farley, Shaw, 
Caldwell, and A. M. Bridge who was living in the house at the 
time it was destroyed by fire in 1858. The pasture was sold 
to Moses Batchelder. 

The parsonage property sold for $2,914.45. The proceeds were 
divided among the different religious societies. Congregational, 
Universalist and two Baptist. It was divided according to the 
value of the polls and estates of the different societies. Those 
not members of either of the societies could designate to which 
their portion should be applied. Forty-seven designated the 
Congregational church, which received $1,151.91. Later, when 
the church was divided, $450 of this amount was paid to the Line 
church. Thirty-four favored the Christian Baptist people who 
received $770.22. Eleven preferred the Calvin Baptist, $351.77. 
Twenty-seven, who favored the Universalist, received $637.45. 

Soon after the Unitarian meeting house was built there was a 
demand that the old meeting house should be remodelled into a 
town house or be demolished. At the annual meeting in 1840, a 
committee was appointed to determine the ownership of the old 
meeting house. In 1842, at the annual meeting, an article was 
in the warrant to see if the town would vote to convert the old 
meeting house into a smaller one to be called the town house, 
or to sell the meeting house and devote the proceeds to building a 
town house on the common near ])y. Both articles were voted in 
the negative. It was voted at this meeting to sell the town's 
right in the old meeting house, and appoint a disinterested com- 
mittee of two persons to appraise the pews and settle with the 
pew holders, which was done, and the house was soon torn down 
and the material sold at auction. Eighty-eight dollars and 



THE MEETING HOUSE 57 

fifty cents was realized from the sale. It has been a matter of 
great regret to many persons that the house had not been pre- 
served and kept as a memorial of the past. 

At the annual meeting in 1845, it was voted to sell Wells W. 
Healey the old meeting house lot for $50. This was the last and 
closing event of the town church organized more than one hundred 
and thirty years before. 

The first Congregational church of Hampton Falls was organ- 
ized April 30, 1827, with twenty-seven members, and is the proper 
name of what has been known as the Unitarian Society, which, by 
the withdrawal of the Baptists and others, became by inheritance 
the custodians of the records, communion service, and all personal 
property of the town church. The three communion cups 
presented the church by Rev. Theophilus Gotten in 1726 are still 
in its possession and keeping, and should be preserved. 

After the separation of the orthodox members from the town 
church they held meetings in a number of places, but mostly in 
the old meeting house in Seabrook, where Rev. Jonathan Ward 
preached for them for a time. In 1834 efforts were made to unite 
Hampton Falls, Kensington and Seabrook into one evangelical 
Congregational church. A number of meetings were held for the 
purpose, the result of which was the formation of the First 
Evangelical Congregational Church of Hampton Falls and 
Seabrook. The word evangelical was probably used to distin- 
guish this church from the Congregational Church organized in 
1827, and also to show that they had not departed from the faith 
of their fathers, and continued steadfast. A little later a new 
meeting house was built near the line between the two towns, and 
Rev. David Sunderland preached part of the time in the old meet- 
ing house and a part in the new house. 

The first Sabbath in February, 1837, Rev. Sereno Abbott 
preached. He was a native of Andover, Mass. He graduated 
from Amherst College in 1833 and from the Andover Theological 
Seminary in 1836. After he had preached several months, he 
received a call to settle over the society as its pastor. The call 
was dated June 27, 1837, and was issued by Jacob Noyes, clerk of 
the society. 

Mr. Abbott accepted the call July 1, and was ordained on the 
12th, when twenty-two persons dismissed from Hampton Falls, 
and Mrs. Mehitable Eaton, a member of the Seabrook church 



58 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

under Mr. Hull's ministry, were organized into a church called 
the First Evangelical Congregational Church of Seabrook and 
Hampton Falls. The Rev. Jonathan French, Mr. Abbott's 
father-in-law, and for more than fiftj^ years pastor of the North 
Hampton church, was moderator. The sermon was preached by 
Rev. Samuel M. Worcester of Salem, Mass. Stephen Green was 
elected deacon. 

Mr. Abbott was a man of historic taste. He informed himself 
in matters of local interest. He copied from the church and 
town records. But for his labors in this direction much we know 
of the past history of the town must always have remained un- 
known, and what was supposed to have been lost past recovery, 
when our church record was Ijurned, has been recovered, and we 
by its aid are enabled to produce a full and accurate account of 
what has happened since the early settlement of the town, in 
church matters. Mr. Abbott possessed a sound, sensible and 
well-educated mind. His delivery was not sprightly, but his 
discourses were sensible and practical. He succeeded by his ef- 
forts in placing his society on a much better financial basis. His 
church records kept by him are a model of excellence and a valu- 
able addition to the local history of the vicinity. He continued 
to preach until 1854, a period of about seventeen years. During 
the last years of his pastorate unhappy differences arose between 
him and some leading members of his church. An injunction 
was had from the court to prevent his occupjdng the pulpit. He 
held services after that in his own house which he had built a few 
rods west of the meeting house, where he died March 28, 1855. 
He was a man of deep-toned piety. 

The trouble which occurred between Mr. Abbott and members 
of his church was most unfortunate to both pastor and people, no 
doubt shortening the life of the former, and it was of lasting injury 
to the church which never fully recovered from its effects. 

Mr. Abbott had a number of children. One daughter is Mrs. 
Francis E. Clark (wife of Rev-. Francis E. Clark), of Christian En- 
deavor fame. On the death of her husband, Mrs. Abbott re- 
moved to Andover where she spent the remainder of her life. 

In November, 1855, Rev. Henry Lounsljury was invited to 
preach and was ordained February 13, 1855. Rev. Dr. Dumick 
preached. He had participated in Mr. Abbott's ordination nine- 
teen years before. Mr. Lounsbury, September IG, 1857, re- 



THE MEETING HOUSE 59 

signed his pastorate. After Mr. Lounsbury's dismissal, preach- 
ing was by supplies until in the early sixties when it was voted to 
close the church. 

In 1866 the church was opened again. Rev. A. B. Peabody 
preached for a year or more, when the church was repaired and 
modernized. Rev. George H. Pautt preached for a time. He 
was succeeded by Rev. Frank Haley who remained for a year or 
two. Rev. Joseph Boardman supplied for a couple of years or so. 
The meeting house was moved back in 1902, making a much more 
attractive situation than before. A line of horse sheds were 
erected which made a great improvement in the surroundings. 
After Mr. Boardman left, Rev. Joseph Kimball acted as pastor for 
ten years and the church enjoyed a peaceful and prosperous 
season, and it was with the regret not only of the church but of the 
whole community that Mr. Kimball closed his labors. Since Mr. 
Kimball left the attendance has decreased, and there is not a 
large congregation worshiping there at the present time. The 
society purchased the house formerly occupied by the late Dr. 
Sewell Brown for a parsonage, which is still used by the society 
for that purpose. Since Mr. Kimball left Rev. Mr. Savage has 
preached up to the present, 1917. 

Those who separated themselves from the town churches about 
the beginning of the nineteenth century called themselves Bap- 
tists, but they differed in many respects from those known, by 
that name at the present time. The parish churches and minis- 
ters were spoken of as the Standing Order, a term which was in 
very general use at that time and for many years after. Those 
who left the parish church in Hampton Falls and formed the new 
society called themselves Christian Baptists, and later were 
known as Christians. 

This denomination originated about 1800 in three places, dis- 
tant from, and entirely unknown to each other; in North 
Carolina in 1793, in Vermont in 1800, in Kentucky at about the 
same time. The movement started in the three places named 
entirely unknown to each other, and advocating nearly identical 
doctrine. The cause of these movements was dissatisfaction 
with the methods and practices of the Presbyterian and other 
churches from which they had come. The new movement was 
intended to be more liberal and progressive in its teachings than 



60 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

the old churches from which it had come. So racHcal was this 
difference that it was denounced by the old cliurches as not 
evangcHcal. The three movements originating in as many dif- 
ferent places at about the same time, and advocating nearly 
similar principles, were in 1804 consolidated into one denomina- 
tion to be known as Christians. 

The creed of this new sect was the Bible which was to be their 
only authentic rule of faith and practice. They extended their 
fellowship to all Christians irrespective of creed or party. They 
also believed and practiced baptism by immersion. Their min- 
isters were called Elders. They did not Ijelicve in an educated 
minister, believing that those who were called to preach would 
receive divine inspiration which would direct them what to say 
and that there was little need of study. This, with great personal 
enthusiasm, was expected to accomplish all that was necessary 
and take the place of education and training, which the churches 
of the Standing Order had found essential to success. They did 
not believe in written sermons, but demanded extempore speak- 
ing as being much more direct and effective. The most popular 
preacher with the many was a rapid talker, with a loud voice, and 
who gesticulated in a violent manner, and brought his fists with 
great force upon the desk. This Avas the criterion of a smart 
preacher. A minister who lacked these qualities was distasteful. 
The more tempestuous his manner the better. This method was 
found to work satisfactorily in times of revival and excitement, 
but the good effects did not continue in times of quiet and when 
away from their associates. As one expressed it, those who were 
so zealous in times of awakening were often all out in haying time. 

On December 15, 1803, Mr. William Brown requested to be 
dismissed from the church (probably he had become a Baptist). 
The church voted not to dismiss him. On December 18, a com- 
mittee was appointed to converse with him for his neglect of the 
Lord's table, and to enquire respecting his intention of being re- 
baptized and to warn him against it. Mr. Brown said he did not 
consider that the pastor preached the gospel, and he objected to 
several things which the pastor had delivered in public. Mr. 
BroAvn had objected to Mr. Abbot at the time of his settlement, 
considering him an "Arminian" and unsound in the faith, and 
not a proper person to be the pastor of the church, and had with- 
drawn from attendance of jVIr. Abbot's meetings and attended 



THE MEETING HOUSE 61 

meeting at Hampton Congregational Church, until he became 
converted to the Baptist belief. 

The term Arminian was frequently applied to Mr. Abbot dur- 
ing his ministry, and it may be well to define the term. It takes 
name from Arminius, a Dutch divine, who lived in the latter part 
of the sixteenth century, and was conditional election and repro- 
bation, in opposition to absolute predestination, universal re- 
demption, or that the atonement was made by Christ for all man- 
kind, though none but believers can be partakers of the benefit; 
that man in order to exercise true faith must be regenerated and 
renewed by the operation of the Holy Spirit, which is the gift of 
God; that man may resist divine grace; that man may relapse 
from a state of grace. 

The Baptist movement appears to have started here about 
1802, at the time of the controversy with Mr. Brown, and to have 
grown with some rapidity during the next few years, for in 1804 it 
was recorded that others were found in the Baptist error. In 
1805 the difficulty with the Baptists increased. Elder Abner 
Jones of Lyndon, Vt., was active and a leader in this movement. 
In 1808 twenty-one persons, calling themselves the Baptist 
Society, petitioned for a parish meeting to be exempted from pay- 
ing tax to support the town ministry. The selectmen, who were 
opposed, refused to call this meeting. A meeting was called by 
Thomas Leavitt, a justice of the peace. At this meeting the re- 
quest of the Baptist was voted in the negative. 

In 1808 Elder Ebenezer Leavitt was ordained to preach in this 
denomination, but not over any particular church. As the meet- 
ing house was too small to accommodate those who came, he was 
ordained out of doors on a hill in Jacob Brown's pasture. The 
hill has since been known as Ordination Hill. 

Elder Elias Smith of Portsmouth was very prominent in or- 
ganizing and promoting the Christian Baptist movement in this 
town. In 1808 Elder Smith began the pubHcation of the Herald 
of Gospel Liberty at Portsmouth. This was said to have been 
the first religious newspaper ever published in the country. It is 
still published, in Dayton, Ohio, and is the official organ of the 
Christian denomination. 

At first the society was small and held its meetings at private 
houses. As the numbers increased larger accommodations were 
needed. In 1805 a meeting house was built between what is now 



62 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

the town house and the Creighton house. The expense of building 
this house was borne principally by William Brown of this town, 
Theodore Coffin of Hampton, and John Lamprey of Kensington. 
A number of others contributed small sums. In 1806, Mr. Brown 
and Mr. Coffin bought a tankard and two communion cups, 
sharing the expense equally. There was nothing compulsory 
in the amount that anyone should pay for the support of preach- 
ing. "Each one paid what seemed right in his own eyes." 

We have seen by the record that it was seldom that more than 
one dollar was paid per Sabbath for preaching. Those attend- 
ing meeting here found it much cheaper than to pay rates for the 
support of the parish church. This may have been an inducement 
for some to attend meeting here. Elder Jabez True preached a 
majority of the time this meeting house was in existence, and ap- 
pears never to have received over one dollar per Sabbath. He 
did not look at his congregation while speaking, but looked stead- 
ily out of a side window while delivering his discourse. One of 
his expressions, which used to be quoted, was that "Hard and 
honest and hardly honest were sometimes hard to distinguish 
from each other." Sometimes some of the more prominent 
brethren agreed to furnish one or two Sabbaths each year at their 
own expense, the remainder of the year was paid for by the con- 
tributions which had been paid in and it was seldom more than 
one dollar was paid per day. A large number from Hampton, 
Kensington and Seabrook came to meeting here and were baptized. 

Those whose conduct was not becoming their profession, the 
church withdrew from, and it Avas voted at one time that any of 
the families whose members did not attend meeting for a year, if 
in health, should be disowned. 

Mr. William Brown was the society's most active promoter and 
supporter until the new meeting house was built in 1834 when he 
withdrew and became affiliated with the Calvin Baptist church 
at the hill where he continued to worship for the remainder of his 
life. Mr. Brown acted as a lay preacher during his connection 
with the Christian church, often going to other towns to speak. 
He was very familiar with the scripture and in making quotations 
would give the chapter and verse where it could be foUnd. He 
was very zealous in his religious work and probably had more in- 
fluence in religious matters in the early part of the nineteenth 
century than any man in this section of the state. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 63 

When he left the parish and became a Baptist convert, he was 
so earnest to be baptized by immersion that it was done in Janu- 
ary when it was necessary to cut through thick ice to perform the 
ceremony. He continued steadfast in his rehgious convictions 
until his death in 1856. When from any cause he felt drowsy or 
sleepy in meeting time he would rise and remain standing until 
the inclination to sleep had passed. 

A new meeting house was built by the society in 1835, and dedi- 
cated soon after. Elder Mark Fernald, one of the most able and 
respected preachers, delivered the dedication sermon. Before 
the new meeting house was built no minister was ever ordained 
over this church. Elder Leavitt had been ordained in this town 
in 1808 to preach in the denomination but not over any particular 
church. After the new meeting house was built Elder Daniel P. 
Pike, a native of Hampton Falls, was ordained over this society 
and preached for a short time. He afterward settled in New- 
buryport, Mass., where he built up a large society and was promi- 
nent in the temperance cause. 

Elder Thomas F. Barry was ordained March 20, 1839, and re- 
mained a little more than a year. On April 14, 1841, Elder George 
Moore Paine was ordained and preached about three years. He 
preached again in 1862 and 1863 for a year or two, and at various 
other times for short intervals. He came frequently to attend 
funerals of members of the church and others until his death in 
1882. He was held in fond remembrance by the society as a re- 
spected and beloved pastor and enjoyed the respect and confi- 
dence of the entire community. Elder Jeremiah W. Marsh was 
ordained April 28, 1853, and preached for a year or two. Elder 
Charles P. Smith was ordained December 1, 1858. February 8, 
1876, Elder Joseph H. Graves was elected pastor and continued 
for two or three years. In 1886 Elder A. H. Martin supplied for 
a time. During his ministry the meeting house was repaired 
and remodeled inside, after the modern methods. Quite a por- 
tion of the time of its existence the preaching was by supplies, 
and not by regular settled ministers, among whom were Elders 
Warren Lincoln, George Pierce, James Pierce, Moses Polly, Tib- 
bitts, Hinckly, Asa Merrill and Julius C. Blodgett. 
■ After 1860 this society, which was once quite strong in num- 
bers, began to dwindle. Loss by death and other causes reduced 
its numbers until it finally ceased to hold meetings. This society 



04 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

in 1832 represented about onc-fouitli of the taxable property of 
the town. In the division of the parsonage money they received 
about that proportion of the money received from the sale. 

The town meetings were held in this meeting house from 1844 
until 1877, a period of thirty-three years. The old meeting house 
built in 1805 was removed to Kennybrook where it was used for a 
blacksn^ith shop. At some time the following constitution or 
covenant was adopted: 

"We the undersigned agree to unite ourselves together as a 
church of God and take the scriptures as our rule of faith and 
practice. — We agree to watch over each others spiritual good, to 
admonish each other in love, and use all possible exertion for 
building up each other in our most holy faith. A clerk shall be 
chosen by the church whose duty it shall be to keep a faithful 
record of all important transactions, to register the names of 
members received, removed by death, withdrawn from, dismissed, 
and rejected. Deeming it the duty of churches to assemble in 
conference, we agree to meet on the first Saturday of each month 
or present a reasonable excuse, and this shall be called a church 
conference, in which all the members shall give a relation of a 
state of their minds. We deem it our duty and will use all proper 
means to have the Lords Supper administered once each month. 
We agree to choose a committee of five persons annuall}^, whose 
duty it shall be to oversee the spiritual affairs of the church. 
New members shall be received after giving a reason of hope by a 
vote of the church at any regular church meeting. Elders bap- 
tizing without knowledge of the church shall be deemed or con- 
sidered subjects of admonition." 

At the last religious service held in this house just previous to 
its being remodeled and converted into a library building, Rev. 
Horace E. Hovey of Newburyport, Presbyterian, Hev. David 
Frazer of Kensington and Rev. Mr. Evans, both Congregational 
ministers, officiated. The writer was surprised that no minister 
of the Christian denomination had been invited to the farewell 
service in a house and before the remnant of a society which had 
so long been steadfast and loyal to the faith of their fathers. Rev. 
Dr. Hovey, after reading the constitution, pronounced it all that 
was necessary for salvation, and embodying all the vital essentials 
of, or required to lead a religious life. One hundred years before 
the Congregationalist and Presbj'terian clergy had denounced 
the Baptist movement as belonging to Anti-Christ, and its fol- 
lowers doomed to destruction. The lapse of time in this case ap- 
pears to have worked wonders. 



THE MEETING HOUSE 65 

One serious mistake made by the Christian denomination was 
in not having an educated ministry. While some of its unedu- 
cated ministers were men of brains but having had only a Umited 
education did make tolerably successful preachers, there were 
others, ignorant but well meaning men, who felt called upon to 
preach, whose labor tended to injure and not increase the pros- 
perity of the denomination. The demand for ministers who 
could interest and lead the people up higher was not answered 
here. And not meeting this demand many of the Christian socie- 
ties in the eastern part of the country ceased to exist. 

The services of the Christian Baptist churches were conducted 
with a great deal of liberty and freedom. The minister's remarks 
were frequently interrupted by enthusiastic hearers shouting 
"Amen'' and "Glory to God." This was prompted sometimes 
by something the speaker had said, and at other times by the en- 
thusiasm of the hearer, and would come in at an inappropriate 
time, some of the shouters not having intelligence enough to 
know where such things should come in. A loud voiced preacher 
with several zealous persons continually shouting affirmation to 
what was said, had the appearance of enthusiasm and earnest- 
ness, and, during such performances, great progress was supposed 
to be made on the heavenly journey. In times of quiet those 
who had been the most zealous often backslid. Some of the 
preachers and talkers in the denomination apparently never heard 
the saying that no souls were converted after the first hour's 
preaching. It was the exception when the services were not too 
lengthy. After the preacher had wearied his hearers and had at 
last concluded his talk, he would announce that there was liberty 
for remarks, when some long-winded individual would talk for an 
indefinite length of time to the disgust of those who were com- 
pelled to listen. There were men who would walk a long distance 
on the Sabbath if they could get an opportunity to practice ex- 
tempore oratory upon those present who would be compelled to 
listen. 

After a clock was placed in the meeting house, this practice of 
long service was remedied to some extent. Many who were noted 
for prolixity had not the cheek to keep talking when the audience 
paid more attention to the clock than to his preaching, and he 
would bring the service to a close to the great relief and satisfac- 
tion of his hearers. As people became more intelligent and did 



66 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

their own thinking this kind of service became unpopular and is 
now almost unknown in this part of the country. The noisy 
talk of ignorant persons has small influence and attracts little 
attention. 

In 1901, the society having become small and holding meetings 
only at intervals, John T. Brown of Newburyport, Mass., bought 
the house and had it remodeled, and presented it to the town for a 
library building, the society reserving a right to hold meetings in 
the house on the Sabbath if they desired to do so. A few meet- 
ings have been held, but probably no more will be held as the 
society has been dissolved and its effects divided among its 
members. 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH. 

In 1828 eight persons, all named Dodge, were dismissed from 
the Baptist Church in Exeter, which had been organized in 1800, 
to organize and constitute what has since been known as the 
Baptist Church, but at that time known as the Baptist Society of 
Seabrook and Hampton Falls. They were generally known and 
spoken of as Calvin Baptists to distinguish them from the other 
so-called Baptists in the vicinity. 

On the evening of October 28, 1828, they were organized into a 
church at the house of Richard Dodge. On December 2, the 
same year, the church was recognized in proper form and the 
Rev. Timothy P. Ropes was installed as its pastor. The Baptist 
Church in Portsmouth was organized in 1826, two years before the 
organization in this town. 

The new society held its meetings in the old meeting house in 
Seabrook which was built by the Presbyterians in 1764. This 
continued to be their place of worship until 1834 when they 
transferred their meetings to the Rockingham Academy hall, and 
remained here until the new meeting house was dedicated in 
September, 1836. From that time until the present the pulpit 
has been occupied by many different ministers as pastor or supplies. 

On the occasion of occupying the new meeting house Rev. 
Baron Stowe of Portsmouth preached and presented the church 
with a Bible which was in constant use until destroyed in 
the academy fire in 1875. Mary and Nancy Dodge presented 
them with a communion service which is still in use. The 
dimensions of the house were forty and one-half feet by sixty-five 
feet. The cost of the house was $2,117.58. The building com- 
mittee were William Brown, Richard Dodge, Joseph H. Weare, 
Aaron M. Gove and George H. Dodge. 

In 1859 the meeting house underwent extensive repairs. 
The roof was slated, the tower replaced by a spire, the high 
gallery was taken down, the pulpit lowered, the walls frescoed, 
the pews upholstered, at an expense of $2,000; about the whole of 
this amount was contributed by Hon. George H. Dodge. In 
1892 the house was moved back and raised up and a vestry built 



68 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

under it. Horse sheds were erected for the comfort of the horses. 
Mrs. John W. Dodge presented this church with a bell in memory 
of her late husband. In 1894 John T. Brown, Esq., of New- 
buryport presented the town a clock which was placed upon the 
church tower. In 1836 the church was reported as a strictly tem- 
perance church. 

In the earlier history of the church the ministers often had 
charge of the academy as principals, and many of them found the 
double duty too much for their health and strength, which ac- 
counts for the frequent changes at that time. We should have 
been pleased to have been able to present sketches of some of 
these men, but with the exception of Rev. Zebulon Jones we are 
unable to do so. He became pastor of the church in 1843, and 
continued until June 1851, which was the longest pastorate this 
church ever enjoyed. He was principal of the academy during 
all the time of his residence, and attended to many other. addi- 
tional duties during his residence here. Twenty-six were admit- 
ted to the church during his ministry. 

Rev. Zebulon Jones was the son of Deacon Amzi Jones of 
Cornwall, Vt., where he was born September 5, 1812. He 
labored on his father's farm until he was eighteen years of age. 
He fitted for college at Newton Academy, Shoreham, Vt., and 
graduated from Middlebury College in 1836. Immediately 
after graduation he became principal of Hancock (N. H.) 
Academy, and at the same time pastor of the Baptist Church in 
the same town, having been ordained to the work of the gospel 
ministry. He remained here until 1839 when he became pastor of 
the Baptist Church in Peterboro. In 1843 he removed to Hamp- 
ton Falls as pastor of the Baptist church and principal of Rock- 
ingham Academy, in which relation he continued until 1851. 
While living in Hampton Falls he was county school commis- 
sioner for Rockingham County, and a member of the State Board 
of Education, and was chairman of that body. His interest in 
educational work in the state at large was great, and fruitful of 
much good. After leaving Hampton Falls he was for a time 
pastor of the churches at Monkton and Cornwall, Vt. After this 
he was for a time engaged in secular business, and for a year or 
two colporteur of the American Baptist Publication Society. 
About 1868 he resumed his work in the ministry as pastor of the 
Baptist Church in East Hubbardton, Vt., and continued in that 



THE BAPTIST CHURCH 69 

relation until his death, March 2, 1883. Mr. Jones was a ripe 
scholar, a thorough and successful teacher, a strong and vigorous 
writer, and an acceptable preacher. 

In 1845, while principal of Rockingham Academy, Mr. Jones 
issued a small treatise upon arithmetic, containing forty-six pages, 
which was printed by Francis Grant of Exeter. This work em- 
bodied certain ideas in handling and manipulating figures which 
had commended themselves to him in his experience as a teacher. 
This book treated of simple values, their notation, addition, sub- 
traction, multiplication and division, and the same of compound 
numbers, fractions vulgar and decimal, money tables, propor- 
tional values, loss and gain. All of these were treated by methods 
of his own, which he claimed, as an expert in such matters, to be 
more simple and easy to understand than the methods and rules 
laid down in the text-books then in use. Jones' Arithmetic was 
never introduced to any great extent into the schools, but was 
used for a time in this town. There are copies of this book still 
in existence. During Mr. Jones' residence here he was usually a 
member of the school committee, and the thoroughness of his 
examinations were much dreaded by both teacher and scholars. 
In the autumn of 1851, the year he left Hampton Falls, he was 
located at Exeter, where he had a boarding school, and adver- 
tised to fit young men for college, business, or for teachers. How 
long he remained there or with what success we have no knowl- 
edge. So far as we can learn he never revisited this town after 
removing his family. 

Rev. Mr. Ropes resigned his pastorate in 1830. From then un- 
til 1835 preaching was by supplies, among them Rev. J. W. 
Poland. Rev. Samuel Cook was pastor for three years from 
1835. Mr. Cook was afterward chaplain of the New Hampshire 
. State Prison at Concord for a number of years. Rev. Otis Wing 
succeeded Mr. Cook for two years. A good number were added 
to the church during that period. There were baptisms on eight 
successive Sabbaths. Mr. Wing's last settlement was at Newton, 
N. H., where he died in 1897, at the age of ninety-nine years. At 
the time of his death he was the oldest known Baptist minister. 
Mr. Wing represented the town in the legislature during his 
residence here. Rev. Messrs. Stearns and Briggs were each at 
times principal of the academy and supplied the pulpit before 
Mr. Jones came. Mr. Jones was succeeded by Rev. John E. 



70 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Wood for two years. Several were added during his ininistrv. 
Rev. Samuel E. Brown took charge of the church for two years, 
ending September 1856. Rev. E. B. Law remained one year. 
Eighteen were added during his stay, making a membership of 
ninety-eight, a larger number then had ever been reached before. 
In 1859 twenty-three were dismissed to form the Baptist Church 
at Seabrook. Rev. Alfred Colburn was pastor until May 1863. 
Frank K. Stratton supplied until March, 1864, Rev. William H. 
Walker from 1864 until 1867, and John M. Driver for one year, 
until 1868. The church was closed until 1870. What services 
there were were carried on by students and others as supplies. 
Rev. Mr, Beaman was settled over the Hampton Falls and Sea- 
brook church for four years, until 1876. The joint pastorate was 
continued by Mr. Burgess and Rev. Charles R. Bailey until 1889. 
Rev. W. W. Wakeman was settled over the joint societies until 
1897. Rev. Mr. Snell was settled in 1897. Mr. Bartlett and 
Mr. Parker have occupied the pulpit until the present time. 
The joint pastorate with Seabrook has been discontinued. 

This church took a decided stand upon the temperance question 
before the Washingtonian movement in 1840. It is the only 
church in the town at the present time which maintains religious 
service and it is active and vigorous in its church work. The 
last surviving original member, Mrs. Miriam Dodge, died in 
Dover in 1879. Among those w'ho did much to lay the founda- 
tion for the future prosperity of this church were William Brown, 
George H. and Richard Dodge. 

In 1832 the Baptist Society appears to have represented about 
one-ninth of the taxable property of the town, as that was about 
the proportion they received from the sale of the parsonage prop- 
perty. They received $351.77. 

Sometime about 1900 this church ceased to practice close 
communion. 



THE FIRST CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETY. 

The first Congregational Society was organized April 30, 1827, 
about five months after the dismission of Rev. Jacob Abbot, and 
consisted of twenty-nine persons. Of this number Dea. True M. 
Prescott, who died 1899, aged ninety-five years, was the last sur- 
vivor. When a few years later the orthodox portion of the society 
withdrew, in 1834, this societj'' was left in possession of meeting 
house, records and all other property belonging to the church, 
which had come down from the original church formed in 1712. 
Among other things which came to them were the three commun- 
ion cups presented the church by Rev. Mr. Cotton in 1726, which 
was the year he died. These cups are still in existence and in 
possession of the church. There is no reason for organizing the 
first Congregational church given upon the record, nor have we 
any knowledge from any other source as to the motive which 
led to the movement at that time. 

It was probable that it was apparent that a separation must 
soon take place between the orthodox and the more liberal portion 
of the church, and that an organization would prove beneficial to 
those who formed it. Mr. Abbot, during the later years of his 
pastorate, had become a Unitarian and the majority of the church 
had been led to embrace that belief and were in sympathy with 
him. After Mr. Abbot's connection with the church ceased. 
Unitarian ministers occupied the pulpit until 1834 when the 
orthodox portion withdrew, leaving the more liberal, which were 
the majority, in possession of all the church property. Before 
the division of the society it represented about one-third of the 
taxable property of the town as they received more than one-third 
of the proceeds from the sale of the parsonage property, $1,151.91. 
Some time after $450 of this was paid the Line church as the por- 
tion belonging to those who had gone away. After the Unitarians 
came into the possession of the society a new meeting house was 
built which was dedicated January 1, 1839. 

Rev. Stephen Farley preached for a time for the society and 
probably before the new meeting house was built. He was gener- 
ally known and spoken of as " Priest Farley. " During his stay he 



72 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

taught the Cock Hill school. As a teacher he lacked in discipline 
and had little control over the scholars. His daughter, Harriet 
Farley, did some literarj^ work as a writer. At one time she was 
one of the editors of the Lowell Offering, a magazine which was 
published by the mill girls in Lowell and made up by contribu- 
tions from them. It was a work which possessed considerable 
literary merit. 

On April 2, 1839, Rev. Linus H. Shaw received a call to become 
pastor over this church which had now assumed the title of the 
First Congregational Church of Hampton Falls. Mr. Shaw en- 
tered Brown University, but left at the close of the second year; 
he studied theology at the Cambridge Divinity School where he 
graduated in 1833. He was ordained at Athol, Mass., November 
12, 1834; dismissed at his own request in August, 1836. He was 
settled over the first parish church in Townsend, Mass., in Decem- 
ber of the same year. He was installed at Hampton Falls, May 
8, 1839, and resigned his pastorate about a year later. ]\Ir. Shaw 
was much liked as a preacher and the societj^ was united in his 
support . 

In 1841 an arrangement was made with the Unitarian Society 
of Kensington whereby one pastor was to be settled over the two 
societies. Meetings were to be held in each place upon alternate 
Sabbaths. Rev. Jacob Caldwell was ordained at Kensington 
December 22, 1841, to be pastor over the societies of Kensington 
and Hampton Falls. Rev. Andrew P. Peabody of Portsmouth 
preached the ordination sermon. Rev. Jacob Caldwell was born 
in Lunenburg, Mass., in 1808. He was the son of Jacob and 
Sarah Caldwell, and a grandson of Jacob of Ipswich. He gradu- 
ated at Harvard in 1828 and from the Cambridge Divinity School 
a few years later. Previous to his coming here Air. Caldwell had 
preached in Calais and Standish, Me. 

Mr. Caldwell's preaching was earnest and practical and of a 
nature which led to advanced thought in his hearers. During 
the agitation which attended Theodore Parker's first preaching, 
Mr. Caldwell in the spirit of Christian toleration said he would 
welcome Mr. Parker to his pulpit, beheving that the truth was 
always safe. Gradually the church grew into the more liberal 
faith. Mr. Caldwell was the prime mover in the organization of 
the ladies' library which was kept at his house. He lived in the 
parsonage house which had previously been occupied by Dr. 



THE FIRST CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETY 73 

Langdon and Mr. Abbot. Mr. Caldwell was a man large in 
stature. He was lame from having club feet; he walked with a 
cane; his wife had died before coming here. His home was pre- 
sided over by his sister, Miss Fanny Caldwell, who was a lady of 
culture and much respected and beloved by the people of the 
town. He had one son who was Prof. George C. Caldwell of Cor- 
nell University, Ithaca, N. Y. He was one of the most accom- 
plished chemists in the country. He was educated in the Ger- 
man universities. Mr. Caldwell was dismissed in 1848. We do 
not know of his later settlements. He died in his native town of 
Lunenburg in 1888 at the age'of eighty-three years. 

After Mr. Caldwell was dismissed the arrangement which had 
been made with Kensington was continued in 1848. Rev. In- 
crease Sumner Lincoln was installed over the two societies. Rev. 
Thomas T. Stone of Salem, Mass., preached the installation ser- 
mon. The service took place in the meeting house at Hampton 
Falls. Mr. Lincoln was a native of Warren, Mass. He was a 
graduate from Yale College. He resigned his pastorate in 1851 
and afterward preached in Rowe and Warwick, Mass., and later 
at Wilton, N. H., where he died about 1895 at an advanced age. 
While living in Massachusetts he was at one time a member of the 
legislature. While preaching here he resided in Kensington, 

After the resignation of Mr. Lincoln, he was succeeded by Rev. 
A. M. Bridge. He was a native of Lancaster, Mass., and studied 
theology at the Cambridge Divinitj^ School. He was a man of the 
finest culture and of the largest and most liberal Christian char- 
acter. His love, care and kindness extended to and embraced 
every person in the community. He had no narrow sectarianism 
in his makeup, but was willing to welcome truth from any source. 
As a citizen he was public-spirited and in favor of all progress and 
improvements. But for his misfortune to have had an impedi- 
ment in his speech, he could have commanded a large salary, and 
a settlement over some of the largest churches in the denomina- 
tion. His health became impared, and a portion of the society 
became dissatisfied and he was dismissed in the spring of 1865, 
after a pastorate of fourteen years. During the summer follow- 
ing he preached as a supply at Marshfield, Mass., where he died 
in December, 1865. Grief, caused by being compelled to leave 
the church where he had been so long, was said to have shortened 
his days. He was burdened by an invalid wife. When he w^as 



74 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

first settled, he preached for a year or two at Kensington, when 
the arrangement which had existed for some time was terminated. 
He hved in the parsonage at the time it was burnecl in 1858. After 
the fire he Hved in what has since been known as the Wellswood 
at the hill; his family was living there at the time of his death. 

After Mr. Bridge came the Rev. Everett F, Finley for two sea- 
sons. Meetings now were only held in the summer months. Mr. 
Finley was of the radical wing of the denomination and was not 
satisfactory to the more conservative members. 

In 1866 an arrangement was made with the Unitarian Society 
of Exeter to have their minister go' to Hampton Falls in the after- 
noon of each Sabbath and hold service. This arrangement con- 
tinued for more than twenty years. A number of different min- 
isters who were settled there came here to preach, including Revs. 
John C. Learned, Crowningshield, McDanicl and Nickerson. 
Later a similar arrangement was made with the Unitarian minister 
at Newburyport, to come here in the afternoon. The society 
having become much reduced, the services were confined to a few 
Sabbaths in summer for a time, and now have been entirely 
abandoned. 

The cause of the going out of the Unitarian Society, and the 
Christian Society as well was because the old members died or 
moved away, and the younger people did not fill the places made 
vacant by those who had fallen out. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY. 

The Universalists were first recognized as a religious denomi- 
nation in 1805. 

We do not know at just what time the UniversaHst Society was 
organized in Hampton Falls and probably but few persons now 
living ever knew that such a society was in existence in the town. 
But such was the fact. The society was probably formed about 
the time Rev. Jacob Abbot closed his pastorate in 1827. Elder 
Elias Smith, who was very active in organizing and promoting 
the so-called Baptist movement from those who had left the par- 
ish church early in the nineteenth century, appeared here again 
and got busy in organizing a Universalist Society in this town, 
and was in a large degree responsible for the existence of the soci- 
ety here. There is no record of the society known to be in exist- 
ence at the present time to my knowledge. If any records were 
ever kept they have been lost or destroyed. We do know that in 
1832, when the parsonage money was divided, the Universalists 
received a little more than one-fifth of the amount, $637.45, and 
it was receipted for by Joseph Sanborn, treasurer. Unlike the 
other societies receiving the money from that source, who applied 
it for building or some other purpose in connection with the 
church, the Universalists divided the money coming to them to 
each individual who used it as they pleased. This action re- 
ceived unfavorable comment from the other societies who did not 
approve of such action. We do not know where the Univer- 
salists held their meetings but probably in the old meeting house. 
Mr. Edward D. Pike informed the writer that they never held 
many meetings, perhaps one occasionally but no continuous 
meetings appear to have been held. This society had disappeared 
before my remembrance. I knew the majority of those who re- 
ceived parsonage money. After my time nearly all of them were 
not church attendants. The only name that appears in the 
management was Joseph Sanborn, treasurer. 

The sound of the church going bell has probably Ijeen heard as 
little in this town as in any of its size in the state. In 1739 a 
meeting was called to act upon the following article: "To see if 



76 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

the people belonging to this parish will raise money to buy a bell 
for the use of the parish. " In the report of this meeting no men- 
tion is made of the matter, and probably no action was taken. 
The bell upon the academy was probably the first ever hung in 
the town. This was a small bell and cost SI 00. Three-fourths 
of this amount was raised by citizens; the remaining fourth was 
paid by the trustees of Rockingham Academy. This bell was in 
use by the Baptist Society to call its congregation for religious 
service. This bell was destroyed when the academy was burned 
in 1875. 

In 1892 Mrs. John W. Dodge presented the Baptist Society 
with a bell in remembrance of her late husband. This bell 
was placed in the tower of the meeting house. In addition to 
the use for which it was designed, the town clock now strikes 
upon it. 

The second advent doctrine never had many followers in this 
town. A few became interested in the preaching of William 
Miller in 1843. The end of the world not coming at the time 
specified, they did not long continue in that belief. The majority 
of them were from the Christian Baptist Church and for a short 
time the minister, Mr. George Pierce, embraced the belief. The 
minister and most of the others soon returned to their former 
affiliations. Throughout the country, the ministers and churches 
of this denomination were more seriously affected than were other 
churches. In many cases the churches became and remained 
Advent churches and are such at the present time. 

So far as we are able to learn but few from this town ever en- 
tered upon the work of the gospel ministry. In 1812 Rev. Joseph 
W. Dow was ordained over the church in Tyringham, Mass. He 
was a son of Maj. Joseph Dow of this town, and a grandson of 
Meschech Weare. He graduated from Harvard College in 1805. 
He was dismissed from the Hampton Falls church at that time. 
The church had been invited to be present by delegates but, on 
account of the distance, declined the invitation. Mr, Dow prob- 
ably continued at Tyringham the remainder of his life as he died 
there in 1833. So far as we can learn Mr. Dow was the only 
native of the town who ever became a Congregational minister. 

Elder John Tilton was born in 1808 and was the son of John 
Tilton who lived near where Charles W. Lane now lives; he be- 
came a preacher in the Christian denomination. He was located 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 77 

in a number of different places. He was not a man eminent for 
natural ability, but had a great desire and thirst for knowledge, 
and kept up a studious habit through life. When more than sixty 
years old he went to Hanover with his son, who was a student at 
Dartmouth College, and completed the college course of study, 
but was not enrolled among the students. He became highly 
educated. 

Elder Daniel P. Pike was a son of Sewell Pike of this town; his 
mother's name was Prescott. She came from Kensington. Elder 
Pike was ordained over the Christian Church in Hampton Falls 
probably early in 1837. The date of his ordination does not ap- 
pear upon the church records. He baptized a number of persons 
in 1837 and 1838. He continued to preach here for a couple of 
years or so, when he removed to Newbury port where he or- 
ganized the Christian Church and society, which became numeri- 
cally large, but was not financially strong. His labors were 
largely among the poorer class of people. He was said to have 
baptized as many as one hundred in a single day by immersion. 
He was an ardent and fearless temperance worker, entering into 
this work with great zeal; his interest in this continued through 
life. His society, which was composed largely of poor people, 
became deeply in debt and was compelled to sell its meeting house. 
After this he continued to preach in a hall which had been hired 
for the purpose, and later gave up regular preaching, and became 
a missionary preacher, supplying any of the pulpits in this city 
when occasion called. He became interested in politics and was 
at one time a member of the governor's council. At a later period 
he was collector of the port of Newburyport. He died a few 
years since and was buried from the Unitarian Church, all the 
clergymen in the city taking part in the service, and testifying 
to his great worth and useful life. 

John M. Marsters graduated from Harvard in 1850 and prob- 
ably studied theology at the Divinity School at Cambridge. He 
was settled over the Unitarian Church in Woburn, Mass., in 1853, 
where he remained for a time. He preached in other places. 
Later he retired and lived in Cambridge where he died. 

Rev. William A. Cram studied theology at Cambridge and 
preached for a time in Westford, Mass., and in Augusta, Me., and 
as a supply in other places; later he had no regular charge, sup- 
plying occasionally, and was frequently called on to attend 



78 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

funerals and sometimes marriage ceremonies. He was a Uni- 
tarian. He died in 1909. 

Rev. Alvin J. Prescott graduated from the Meadville (Pa.) 
Theological School and has been settled over the Unitarian 
societies at Littleton and Salem, Mass., Kennebunk and Sanford, 
Me., Rockland and Gloucester, Mass. He went to Gloucester 
in 1911. 

In the division of the money received from the sale of the par- 
sonage property in 1832, the Christian Baptist Society re- 
ceived $770. This was invested and the interest used from time 
to time for the support of preaching after the sale of the meeting 
house and the society had dissolved. This fund amounted on 
November 9, 1909, to §1,367.85. At a meeting of the members 
of the society, it was decided to divide this amount yro rata 
among the members. Each received $124.35. There were 
eleven who received this amount, viz., John J. Brown, James D. 
Brown, Edward J. Brown, James Howard Brown, Warren Brown, 
George C. Brown, George Moulton, Charles A. Hardj^, Daniel E. 
Pevear, Warren B. Pevear, George C. Goodwin. A singular 
thing is that the ancestors of all but one had contributed to the 
fund more than eighty years before, George C. Goodwin being the 
only one who was not a descendent from the original contributors. 

Nearly all the time since the organization of the church in 1712, 
there have been deacons by the name of Batchelder — six genera- 
tions of the same family: Nathaniel died in 1745; Josiah died 
in 1759; David died in 1811; Reuben died in 1868; Emery died 
in 1898; Warren H. is now living. 

We have previously spoken of the great influence of Mr. William 
Brown in religious matters. As an illustration, in 1843, the 
Second Advent doctrine had been preached by William Miller 
and others, and so certain were they that a day in August had 
been set for the final consummation and end of all earthly things 
that, with this in view, many of his followers had ascension robes 
made and proceeded to dispose of their property in a prodigal and 
wasteful manner. In this they had a plenty of help from a class 
who are always ready to live and enjoy at the expense of others. 
This had a depressing effect upon the less informed and weak 
minded in the community. Green Hoag, who lived in the south 
part of the town, was much troubled and alarmed. He concluded 
to consult Uncle Bill}^ as he was called. Meeting him on the 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 79 

road he said: "They say that the world is coming to an end next 
week." Uncle Billy answered saying: "I don't know anything 
about it." This set Mr. Hoag's mind at ease, and his trouble 
ended, for if the world was coming to an end at any time they 
would have let Mr. Brown know. 

Records for the Year 1712, Beginning January 2, of 
Persons Admitted to Full Communion in the Church 
BY Rev. Mr. Cotton. 

Mar. 2 — Elizabeth Sanborn, wife of Enoch S. 
Apr. 13 — Sarah Basford, who was yen baptized wife of Jacob. 
Benjamin Sanborn. 
David Tilton and Deborah, his wife. Dismissed to 

Ipswich. Gone to Andover. 
John Cram, Jr., his wife, Sarah. Dismissed to 
Wilmington. 
20 — James Prescott, Sr. Dismissed to Kingston. 
May 25 — Mary Norton, wife of Bonus Norton. 
June 1 — Mehitable Chfford, ye wife of Zach Clifford. 
July 20 — Dorothy Stanion, wife of Jacob S. 
Aug. 24 — Jacob Stanion, himself and yen baptized. 
John Sanborn, Jr., Kingston. 

Mehitable, wife of John S. Dismissed to Kingston. 
Nov. 2 — Shuah Douglas, widow. 

Ellen West, the wife of Edw. West. 
Dec. 9— Abigail West, ye daughter of Lieut. J. Swett, was 
then baptized. Gone to York. 

Second Year. 1713. 

Feb. 22 — Mary Clifford, ye wife of Israel C, and then baptized. 

Apr. 12 — Jonathan Batchelder and Sarah, his wife. 

Enoch Sanborn. 

Charles Stewart. 

Mary Tilton, ye wife of Jethro T. 

Into ye church, Elizabeth Allyn, kinswoman. 
19 — Israel Blake. 
May 31 — Ehzabeth Hilhard, ye wife of Benj., Jr. 

Hannah Swain, ye wife of Caleb S. 
July 19 — Nathaniel Prescott and Ann, his wife. 
26 — Ann Sleeper, wife of John S. Kingston. 
Aug. 30 — Mary Sanborn, daughter of Benjamin S., who was 

yen baptized. 
Sept. 6— Mr. Daniel Tilton. 

Third Year. 17 U. 

Mar. 7 — Nathaniel Batchelder. Died. 
Elizabeth, his wife. 



80 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Apr. 18 — Mr. Bonus Norton. 

Leah Blake, wife of Israel. 
Abigail Cram, daughter of John Cram. 
Margaret Sanborn, daughter of Captain Sanborn. 
Dismissed to Kingston September 12, 1725, with 
five others. 
July 18 — -Mary Heath, wife of Xehemiah H. 
Sept. 5 — William Sanborn and Elizabeth, his wife. 
24 — Augustine Cram, daughter of John Cram. 

Fourth Year. 1715. 

Apr. 24 — Elizabeth Wilson, widow. Gone to Andover. 

May 29 — Benjamin Cram, who was yen baptized. 

Sarah Sanborn, wife of Nathaniel. 

Hannah Cass, wife of John. Rejected May 10, 1726, 
for joining the Quakers. 
July 17 — John Batchelder, who was yen baptized. 

Nathaniel Healey, who was yen baptized. 

Hannah, his wife, who was yen baptized. 
Dec. 4 — Esther Loverin, wife of Ebenezer (written Loveral). 

Fifth Year. 1716. 

Jan. 22 — Hannah Hoit, wife of Eph. 

Sixth Year. 1717. 

Mar. 24 — Mary Shaw, wife of Deacon Shaw. 
July 14 — Hannah Hartshorn, wife of Timoth}^ then baptized. 
Sarah Sanborn, wife of Reuben, also baptized. 

Seventh Year. 1718. 

Apr. 13 — Abigail Sleeper, single woman. 
May 23 — Elizabeth Leavitt, wife of Thomas L. 
Nov. 20 — Rachael Sanborn, wife of Abner S. 

Mary Stanion, widow of Jno. Stanion. 

Eighth Year. 1719. 

Apr. 19 — Bethial Perkins, wife of Caleb. 

June 7 — Lydia Perkins, wife of Benjamin. 

Mehitable Roe, wife of Robert Roe, Jr. 

Elizabeth Low, wife of Joseph Low. Gone to 
Waltham. 
Aug. 30 — Sarah Wate, wife of Thomas W. Gone to Amesbury. 

Ninth Year. 1720. 

July 10— Josiah Batchelder, who was also then baptized. 

Sept. 4 — Ebenezer Sleeper. Dismissed to Kingston. 

Oct. 23 — Jonathan Sanborn, Kingston. Dismissed to Kingston. 

Nov. 6 — Ehzabeth Blake, daughter of Philmon. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 81 

Tenth Year. 1721. 

June 4 — John Prescott. 
July 9 — James Sanborn and wife. 
Aug. 29 — Elizabeth Sanborn. 
Nov. 26 — Apphia Sanborn, wife of Peter. 
Abraham Moulton. 

Eleventh Year. 1722. 

Apr. 15 — John Sanborn, Sr. 

July 15 — Thomas Atkinson. 

Mary, his wife. Dismissed to Newbury new church, 

Mary Philbrick, wife of Zach. 

Tueljth Year. 1723. 

Mar. 10 — ^Rachel Ward, wife of Thomas, Jr. 

Thirteenth Year. 1724- 
Mar. 1 — Joseph Batchelder. 

Apr. 19 — Mr. Leo Cotton and Hannah, his wife (schoolmaster) 
of ye parish, recommended to Rowley, or elsewhere 
where God pleases. 
Sarah Lowell, wife of Jos. L. 

Jemima Bradley, Salisbury. Recommended to Wood- 
stock. 
May 10 — Meribah Batchelder, single woman. 
July 12 — Susanna Healey, wife of Nathaniel. 

Dorothy Batchelder, Jethro's widow. 
Nov. 29 — Benjamin Veasy, Stratham, young man. Lives here. 

Fourteenth Year. 1725. 

July 4 — Hannah Tilton, wife of John T. 

Sept. 3 — Jethro Tilton. 

Hezakiah Blake and Joanna, his wife. 

Huldah Green, wife of Isaac G. 

Sarah Weare, wife of Peter Weare. Dismissed to 
North Yarmouth. 

Lydia Boulter, single woman. 

Fifteenth Year. 1726. 

Mar. 6 — Ebenezer Brown and Margaret, his wife. 

Josiah Brown and Elizabeth, his wife. 
June 5 — Mehitable Bedee, wife of Ely Bedee. 

A List of Persons Admitted to Full Communion in the 
Church of Hampton Falls by Rev. Joseph Whipple. 

1727, Apr. 23 — John Bolter, single man. 

Abbial Philbrook, wife of Thomas. 
Phoebe Prescott, wife of Elisha Prescott. 



82 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Rebecca Prescott, single woman. 

Meribah Tilton, single woman. 
June 4 — Sarah Weare, single woman, daughter of Ed. 

Susanna Sanborn, single woman, daughter of Dea. S. 

Sarah Blake, single woman, daughter of Philemon. 

Hannah Prescott, wife of Jeremiah Prescott. Dismissed 
to Kingston. 
July 23 — Abraham Sanborn, married man. 

Deborah Sanborn, wife of Abram. 

Huldah Nason, wife of Jonathan. 

Dorothy Sanl)orn, wife of Edward. 

Johanna Morgan, single woman. 

Jonathan Cram, single man. 

Abigail Sanborn, wife of Jabez. 

Abiel Colby, wife of Enoch. Dismissed to Chester. 
Oct. 22 — Mary Batchelder, wife of Joseph. 
Dec. 17 — Robert Roe, married man. 

Samuel French, married man. 

Richard Sanborn and Elizabeth, his wife. 

Daniel Weare. 

Joseph Sanborn and Susanna, his wife. 

Samuel Shaw. 

Jonathan Fifield and Hannah, his wife. 

Wadleigh Cram and Ruth, his wife. 

Sarah French, wife of John. 

Mary Fogg, wife of Benoni. Dismissed to North 
Yarmouth. 

Sarah Cluff, widow. 

Hannah Swett, single woman. 

Mary Prescott, daughter of Jonathan. 

Joanna Blake, wife of Timothy. Dismissed to North 
Yarmouth. 

Ann Blake, wife of Samuel Blake, Jr. 

Ann Tilton, wife of Sherburn. 
1728, Jan. 7 — Luther Morgan and Abigail, his wife. Dismissed 
to Harvard. 
Jan. 28 — Caleb Moody and Elizabeth, his wife. 
Feb. 18 — Jacob Garland. 
Mar. 3 — Margaret Lock, wife of Samuel. 

Ann Chfford, daughter of Jonathan. 

Sarah Bradbury. 

Elizabeth Heath. 
Apr. 14 — Ehzabeth Whipple, "my wife." 
June 2 — Mary Longfellow, wife of Nathan. 

Sarah Smith, single woman. Dismissed to Salisbury. 
July 18 — Benjamin Batchelder, single man. 

Dorothy Young, wife of Richard. 
July 21 — Nathan Longfellow, married man. 

Samuel Tflton, single man. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 83 

Sept. 1 — Jacob Green. 

Mary Cram, wife of Thomas. 
Oct. 6 — Mary Knowlton, wife of Ebenezer K. 

Elizabeth Cram, single woman. 
Dec. 1 — Deborah Veasy, wife of Benjamin. 

Lydia Prescott, single woman. 

Abigail Blake. Dismissed to Kingston. 

Deborah Blake. Dismissed to Salisbury, second chm'ch. 

1729, May 2— Thomas Cram. 

Mary Shaw, wife of Benjamin. 

Mary Brown, wife of Jacob. 
June 1 — John Weare and Deborah, his wife. 
Aug. 31 — Margaret Tilton, wife of Jonathan. 

1730, Feb. — William Daniels and his wife. Dismissed from 

Salisbury to Biddeford. 
Jermima Blake, wife of Joshua. 
Sept. 6 — Mehitable Prescott, wife of Benjamin. 
Dec. 13 — Aleck Ward, married man. 

1731, Jan. 24 — Mary Blake, single woman. 
Mar. 21 — Ebenezer Brown. 

Apr. — Francis Batchelder, single woman. 

May 16 — Enoch Clark. Dismissed to Greenland. 

Eliphaz Sanborn, young man. 
June 20 — Martha Pervear, wife of Philip. 
July 4 — Moses Blake, Jr., married man. 

Mary Fifield, young woman. 
Aug. 8 — Susanna Batchelder, single woman. 

1732, Mar. 5 — Joseph Draper and Phoebe, his wife. 
Apr. 2 — Jabez Smith, single man. 

May 14 — Sarah Gove, wife of Jeremiah. 

June 4 — Elizabeth Gove, wife of Eben. Dismissed from 

Bradford. 
July 16 — Natt. Dearborn and Mary, his wife. 
Dec. 2 — Rebecca Garland, single woman. 

1733, Apr. 14 — Martha Swain, wife of John. 
1735, Feb. 2 — Ebenezer Shaw, single man. 

Abigail Tilton, wife of Samuel. 

Elizabeth Batchelder, wife of Jonathan, Jr. 

Ebenezer Shaw, single man. 
Mar. 16 — Benjamin Prescott, Jr. 
Apr. 13 — Mary Emmons, old widow. 
Oct. 5 — Rachel Shaw, wife of Gideon. 
Oct. 26 — Mary Cram, widow of Samuel. 
Nov. 2 — Huldah Chapman, wife of John. 
Nov. 23 — Caleb Sanborn, single man. 

Mary Gove, wife of Edward. 
Dec. 7 — Timothy Shepherd, married man. 

Jonathan Blake. 



84 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Theophiliis Batcheldcr, single man. 
John "\\'orth. 

]\Iary Shepherd, wife of Timothy. 
Mary Longfellow, wife of Jonathan. 

1736, Jan. 25 — Jonathan Swett. 

Sarah Gove, wife of Enoch. 

Eunice Brown, daughter of John Brown, Sr.,pew holder. 

Abigail Brown, daughter of John Brown, Sr., pew holder. 
Feb. 1 — Dorothy Prescott, widow of James. 

Elizabeth Nason, wife of Richard. 
Feb 22 — ]\Iaria Blake, single woman. 
Feb. 29— Mehitable Philbrick, wife of Abner. 
Mar. 3 — Joseph Worth. Dismissed from Boston. 
Mar. 7 — Meshech Weare, young man. 

Simon Batchelder and Sarah, his wife. 
Mar. 31 — Jeremiah Blake, married man. 
Apr. 7 — Priscilla James, widow. 

Ruth Roby. 

Mary Bean. 
June 4 — Paul Sanborn, young man. 
June 6 — Joseph Tilton and Elizabeth, his wife. 

Ann Swain, single woman. 
July 18 — Abigail Sanborn, wife of Dea. S. Dismissed from 
Hampton church. 

Elizabeth Rowe, wife of ]\Ioscs. 
Aug. 22 — EhzalDeth Green, wife of John. 

Margaret Ward, wife of Shadrach. 

Ruth Row, wife of Joseph. 
Oct. 17 — Anna Moody, wife of Benjamin. 

Elizabeth Cram, young woman. 

1737, Jan. 4 — Job Haskell. Dismissed from Gloucester church. 
Jan. 12 — Leah Roe, young widow. 

Apr. 3 — Joseph Chase Hilliard, voung man. 

1740, May 25— Timothy Hilliard. 

July 13 — Samuel Prescott and his wife, Mary. 
July 27 — Mary Blake, wife of Ebenezer. 
Nov. 30 — ^Deborah Felch, single woman. 
Joanna Tilton, single woman. 

1741, Apr. 12 — ]Mehitablc Tilton, single woman. 
Oct. 11 — John Batchelder and his wife, Esther. 
Nov. 8 — Abigail Prescott, wife of Joseph. 
Nov. 15 — Sarah Lane, daughter of Samuel. 
Dec. 6 — Obidiah Worth and Elinor, his wife. 

Ebenezer Sanborn, Jr., young man. 

1742, Feb. 7 — Edmund Brown, young man. 

Martha Cass, daughter of Joseph. 
Mary Moulton, daughter of James. 
Feb. 28 — Phoebe Cass, wife of Joseph. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 85 

Abigail Stanion, wife of John. 

Elizabeth Swain, young woman, daughter of Caleb. 

Sarah Swain, daughter of Caleb. 
Mar. 7 — John Prescott. Dismissed to Kensington. 

Abigail Prescott, wife of John. 

Jonathan Tilton. 

Benjamin Sanborn. 

Lydia Fogg, wife of Simon. 

Anna Shaw, wife of Ebenezer. 

Abigail Cass, young woman, daughter of Joseph. 
Apr. 4 — Jeremiah Pearson. 

Abigail Goss, single woman. 
Apr. 18 — Katherine Sanborn, wife of Nathan. 

Mary Pearson, wife of Jeremiah. 

Anna Butler, single woman. 
May 16 — Abigail Roby, wife of Henry, 
May 30 — JudahPhilbrick, wife of John 
June 3 — Benjamin Butler and Abigail, his wife. 

Jacob Brown and Jemina, his wife. 
June 6 — John Sanborn, young man, son of John. 
June 24 — Mehitable Sanborn, wife of Caleb. 

Peggy Dirnan Fifields, negro woman. 
July 11 — Mary Brown, daughter of John Brown, Sr. 

Sarah Purrington, daughter of Josh P. Quaker. 
Sept. 5 — John Philbrick, married man. 

Jonathan Knowlton, young man. 

Abigail Longfellow, young woman. 

Sarah Stewart, daughter of Charles. 
Oct. 17 — Elizabeth Sanborn, wife of Moses. Dismissed 
from third church in Newbury. 

1743, Jan. 16 — Daniel Sanborn, young man, son of Abner. 
Feb. 20 — Rachel Swain, daughter of Caleb. 

Mar. 8 — Sarah Batcelder, daughter of Jonathan. 
June 5 — John Tilton and Sarah, his wife. 
Dec. 4 — Hannah Bean, widow. 
Nathan Sanborn. 

1744, Jan. 15 — Elizabeth Crosby, young woman. 
Mar. 11 — Jane Moulton, young woman. 
July 15 — Moses Weymouth, young man. 
Dec. 2 — Hannah Crosby, wife of Anthony. 

1745, Jan. 13 — Elizabeth Green, wife of Benjamin. Quaker. 
Mar. 31 — Lydia Hoit, daughter of Ephraim. 

Oct. 13 — Nathan Tilton and Hannah, his wife. 
Ebenezer Sanborn. 

1746, July 20 — Mary Brown, wife of Jonathan. Dismissed from 

Exeter. 

1747, Apr. 12 — Judith Quimby, widow of Reuben. 
Sept. 6 — Benjamin Hilliard and Dorothy, his wife. 



86 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1748, Oct. 16— Caleb Shaw. 

1749, Jan. 1 — ^Mary Brown, wife of Edmund. 

Jonathan Prescott, old man, aged 74. 
Mar. 19 — Mary Hilliard, wife of Jonathan. 

1750, Jan. 3 — Dorothy Swett, widow of David. 
Dec. 2 — Benjamin Tilton and Mary, his wife. 

1751 — Sarah Healey, wife of Stephen. 

Feb. 17 — Peter Cram and Sarah, his wife. 
Mar. 3 — Mary Williams, widow. 

Abigail Prescott, widow. 

Lucy Sanborn, wife of John. 

1752, Apr. 12 — William Prescott and Susanna, his wife. 
June 7 — John Webster and Sarah, his wife, old persons. 

1753, Nov. 25 — Samuel Prescott, 3d, and his wife, Ruth. 

Dec. 2 — Rachel Chase, wife of John, renewed the covenant 
and had children baptized. 

1754, Mar. 31 — Martha Cram, wife of Benjamin. 
Apr. 21 — Abraham Brown, old man. 

July 14 — W^illiam Swain and Judith, his Avife. 

Mere}'- Haskell, wife of Jol). 
Sept. 1 — Jeremiah Blake and Abigail, his wife. , 

Nathan Brown and Anna, his wife. 

An Account of Persons Dismissed from the Church in 
Hampton Falls October 4, 1737, to Incorporate the 
Church at Kensington. 

John Prescott. James Blake. 

Rob Roe. Margaret Brown. 

John Batchelder. Abigail Batchelder. 

Abraham Sanborn. Sarah Dow. 

John Weare. Deborah Sanborn. 

Richard Sanborn. Joanna Smith. 

James Sanborn. Elizabeth Sanborn. 

Abraham Sanborn, Jr. -*Ruth Cram. 

Hezekiah Blake. Ann Blake. 

Eben Brown. Ann Tilton. 

— *Wadleigh Cram. Ehzabeth Dow. 

Abel W^ard. Lydia Smith. 

Moses Blake. Deborah Weare. 

Ed. Lock. Phoebe Draper. 

W. Dearborn. Elizabeth Gove. 

Simon Batchelder. Maiy Dearborn. 

Joseph Draper. Mary Shaw. 

Benjamin Prescott. Huldah Chapman. 

Joseph Tilton. Sarah Batchelder. 

__ Jedediah Blake. Priscilla James. 

Nathan Clough. Elizabeth Tilton. 

Nathaniel Prescott. Elizabeth Row. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 87 

Abigail Prescott. Margaret Weare. 

Sarah Clifford. Ruth Row. 

Bethiel Palmer, Leah Row. 

EHzabeth Sanborn. Mehitable Blake. 

Apphia Roe. Dorothy Moulton. 

Rachel T . Ann Prescott. 

Hannah Tilton. 57 persons: 22 male, 35 female. 

Others Dismissed. 

1734, June 10 — Sarah Lane, now wife of Joseph Sanborn, to the 
church of -Christ in Epping. 

1739, Dec. — Francis Batchelder and Mary, his wife, to Kingston. 
Mar. 5 — Paul Sanborn and Mary, his wife, to Kingston. 

Ann Swain, now the wife of Joseph Wadleigh, to Exeter. 
June 4 — Moses Blake and Abigail, his wife, to Kensington. 

Elizabeth Batchelder, wife of Jonathan, to Newmarket. 
Apr. 16 — Elhs West, to Rumford. 
July 15 — Eliphaz Sanborn, to Chester. 
Oct. 28 — Abigail Stone, to York. 

1740, Feb. 23— Mary Shepherd, ahas Hobbs, to North Hill. 

1742, Mar. 3 — Jonathan Blake, to Kingston. 

1743, Feb. 9 — Joseph Chase HiUiard, to Kensington. 
May 15 — Mercy Longfellow to Nottingham. 

June 15 — Anna Butler, now the wife of Nathaniel Batchelder, 
to the first church in Hampton, after her confession 
of her sin in breaking the seventh commandment, and 
her restoration to church charity and privileges. 

Sept. 7 — Nathan Sanborn and Katherine, his wife, to Epping. 

Oct. 22 — Jabez Smith, to Exeter. 

1744, Mar. 11 — Elizabeth Swain, to Chester. 
May 6 — Deborah Felch, to Ipswich. 

May 27 — Ebenezer Brown, to church in Salisbury. 

1745, Apr. 14 — Abigail Longfellow, now the wife of Benjamin 

Brown, to Kensington. 
1747, Apr. 12 — Abigail Goss, wife of J. Brown, to Rye. 

July 24 — Joanna Tilton, wife of Batchelder, to East 

Kingston. 

1749, July 23 — Sarah Swain, now wife of Daniel Chase, to Exeter. 
Dec— Sarah Smith, wife of Mr. Morrill to South Hampton. 

1750, June 13 — EHzabeth Crosby, wife of Mr. Gould, to Epping. 
1757, Jan. 13. — Benjamin Veasy and Deborah, his wife, to 

Brentwood. 
Mar. 10 — ^Mary Brown, now wife of Mr. Moulton, to Hamp- 
ton. 



OO HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

A Record of Persons Baptized by Mr. Cotton, beginning 
January 2, 1712. 

1712, Feb. 3 — Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon Weare. 
Feb. 24 — Rebecca, daughter of James Prcscott. 
Mar. 9 — Experience, son of Jacob CUfford. 

May 4 — Nathan and EHzabeth, son and daughter of David 

Tilton. 
Mary, daughter of Mary Cram, Jr. 
Jonathan and Humphrey, sons of John Cram, Jr. 
June 1 — Wilham F., son of Zach CHfford. 
June 15 — EHzabeth, Lucy and Anne, daughters of Bonus 

Norton. 
Aug. 3 — Hannah, daughter of Benjamin Shaw. 
Aug. 10 — Phoebe, the daughter of John Cram, Jr. 
Aug. 17 — Benjamin and James, the sons of John Prescott. 
Aug. 31 — Tristram, son of John Sanborn, Jr., Kingston. 
Elizabeth, Mehitable and John, children of Jacob 

Stanion. 
Sept. 8 — Mary, the daughter of Jacob Stanion. 

Mary, the daughter of Moses Blake. 
Nov. 9 — Elizabeth, daughter of Edward West. 

1713, Jan. 4 — Jonathan, son of Lieut. Joseph Swett. 

Feb. 3 — Jemima, daughter of John Hubbard, Kingston. 
Mar. 1 — Eliphaz, son of Nathaniel Sanborn. 
Mar. 15— Mary, daughter of Joseph Swett, Jr. 

Samuel, son of Zach Clifford. 
Mar. 18 — Benjamin, son of Jacob Clifford, at his own house, 
"ye child being likely to dye"; Nathaniel Weare, 
Esqr., John Clifford and D. Shaw, witnesses. 
Apr. 12 — Deborah, daughter of David Tilton. 

Ann, Love and John, children of Israel Clifford, Jr. 
May 10 — Jonathan and Abigail, children of Jonathan 

Batchelder. 
June 14 — Abigail, daughter of John Sanborn, Jr., of Kingston. 
Theodore, Dorothy, Abial, Jemima, Judah, Susanna and 
Enoch, children of Benjamin Sanborn and Coldy; 
he took for his own and engaged for Jonathan, Annie, 
Benjamin, Hannah, children of Benjamin Hilliard; 
another child, (iriffin Benjamin, the woman looked 
upon as her own, licing his child not hers. 
Abigail, daughter of John Prescott. 
Annie, daughter of Caleb Swain. 

Syppio, "my own Indian servant w'='' we engaged to 
bring up in the fear of God." 
June 21 — Meshech, son of Deacon W^eare (First president 

of New Hampshire). 
July 12 — Susanna, daughter of Benjamin Batchelder. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 89 

July 26 — Sam]Liel, son of John Sleeper, Kingston. 

Daniel, son of John Brown. 
Aug. 30 — Mary, daughter of John Cram, Sr. 

Mary Wadley, " which ye s'd Cram engaged for. " 
Sept. 6 — Timothy, son of Benjamin Hilliard. 
Deborah, daughter of John Morgan. 
Mary Magoon, sent to Jno. French, "w'=^ Mrs. French 
offered up and engaged for." 
Nov. 1 — Joseph, son of John Cram, Jr. 
Nov. 15 — Ebenezer, son of Caleb Shaw. 
Nov. 27 — Dorothy, daughter of Jethro Tilton. 
Dec. 6 — Elisha, son of Philemon Blake. 
1714 — William, son of Edward West. 

Apr. 18 — Jethro, Nathan, Phineas and Ebenezer, children 
of Nathaniel Batchelder. 
Deborah, Jedediah, Joseph and Leah, children of Israel 
Blake. 
June 6 — Hezekiah, son of Caleb Swain. 
June 20 — Anne, daughter of Benjamin Cram. 
Aug. 1 — Peter, son of Israel Clifford. 
Aug. 15 — Benjamin, son of William Brown. 
Sept. 5 — David, son of Charles Stewart. 

Jedediah, son of Jno. Sleeper, Kingston. 
Sept. 24 — Jonathan, son of Jacob Green, Jr. 
Nov. 21 — Esther, daughter of Benjamin Shaw. 
Dec. 5 — Ezekiel, Daniel, William, Hannah, children of 
William Sanborn. 
1715, Jan. 9 — Nathaniel, son of Nathaniel Sanborn. 
Mar. 6 — Judah, daughter of Enoch Sanborn. 
Apr. 20 — Patience, Elizabeth, Mercy, Mary, children of 
Nehemiah Heath. The Sabbath after his wife died. 
May 1 — Paul, son of Jno. Sanborn, Kingston. Baptized 

by Brother Cushing. 
May 8 — Joseph, son of Jacob Stanion. 

Susanna, daughter of Joseph Swett, Jr. 
May 15 — Jacob, son of Jacob Clifford. Born the day after 
his father was buried, and baptized, the Sabbath 
following. 
Jonathan, son of Moses Blake. 
Joshua, son of William Sanborn. 
May 22 — Martha and Elizabeth, children of Widow Wilson. 
June 5 — Abigail, daughter of John Brown. 
July 10 — Hannah, daughter of David Tilton. 
July 20 — Mehitable and Nathan, children of John Cass. 
Aug. 21 — Theophilus, son of Benjamin Batchelder. 
Sept. 9 — John, son of Moses Sleeper, Kingston. 
Oct. 8 — Mary, daughter of John Batchelder. 
Nov. 6 — Rachel, daughter of Benjamin Hilliard. 



90 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1716, Jan. 1 — Sarah, daughter of Benjamin Cram. 

Jacob, son of Zach CHfford. 
Jan. 25 — Nathaniel, son of Edward West, "Baptized in his 
own house to dye"; Mr. Peter Veasy and Captain 
Green, Witnesses. 
Feb. 12 — Mary, daughter of Caleb Shaw; born after he was 
drowned and offered up by his brother and widow. 
Mary, daughter of John Batchelder. 
Feb. 12 — John, son of Ebenezer Loverel. 
Apr. 22 — Elizabeth, daughter of Israel Clifford, Jr. 
June 3 — Abigail, daughter of Deacon Weare. 
Israel, son of Israel Blake. 
Hannah, daughter of Caleb Swain. 
June 8 — Bradbury, son of Jacob Green, Jr. 

John, son of John Sleeper, Kingston. 
July 1 — Mary, daughter of William Brown. 

Mary, daughter of Andrew Macy of the Isles of Shoals. 
Baptized at the Shoals. 
Dec. 16 — Ephraim, Benjamin and Hannah, children of 
Eph. Hoit. 
Phoebe, daughter of William Healey. 

1717, Jan. 13 — Ruth and Benjamin, children of Benjamin Shaw. 
Feb. 3 — Moses, son of Captain Swett. 

Samuel, son of Samuel Clifford. 
Feb. 10 — Abigail, daughter of Phil Blake. 
Mar, 24 — Edward, son of Edward AVest. 
Mar. 31 — Moses, son of Enoch Sanborn. 
Apr. 14 — Benjamin, son of Benjamin Cram. 
May 5 — John, son of Jethro Tilton. 

John, son of John Cass. 

John, son of Moses Sleeper, Kingston. 
May 19 — Elizabeth, daughter of J no. Batchelder. 
July 2 — Jedediah, son of Nathaniel Sanborn. 

Jacob, son of Jacob Garland, Jr. 
July 7 — Margaret, daughter of David Tilton. 
July 8 — Mehitable, daughter of Charles Stewart. 

Nathan, son of Jacob Green, Jr. 

Dennet, son of Charles Stewart. 
Nov. 3 — Mary and Huldah, children of Eph. Hoyt. 
Nov. 10 — Jonathan, son of Nathan Longfellow. 

Anna, daughter of Reuben Sanborn. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Swett, Jr. 
Dec. 1 — Jacob, son of Jacob Stanion. 
Dec. 8 — Daniel, John, Mary and Pain, children of Rob Roe. 

Ethiel, son of Zach Clifford. 

1718, Feb. 9— Esther, daughter of Ebcn Loverel. 
Feb. 15 — Mary, daughter of Deacon Shaw. 

Feb. 23 — Mary and Mehitable, daughters of John Swain. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 91 

Elias, son of Caleb Swain. 
Mar. 2 — Elizabeth, daughter of Benjamin Hilliard. 

John, son of Jonathan Batchelder. 
Mar. 6 — Maria, daughter of Moses Blake. 
May 4 — Nehemiah, son to William Brown. 
May 11 — Esther, daughter of Benjamin Shaw. 
May 25 — Caleb and Elizabeth, children of Abner Sanborn. 
June 1 — Elizabeth, daughter of William Sanborn, just after 
his awful death. 

Mercy, daughter of Thomas Leavett. 

Joseph, son of Andrew Mace. 

John, son of John M- 



At the 
Shoals. 



Nicholas, son of John Henderson. 

Martha, daughter of John D . 

John, William, Peter, James, Samuel, 

Elizabeth, children of Robinson of the 
Shoals. 

Aug. 24 — Johanna, daughter of William Healey. 
Sept. 9 — Hannah, daughter of Nathaniel Healey. 

Daniel and Timothy, sons of Capt. Joseph Tilton. 
Nov. 9 — ^Abigail, daughter of John Batchelder. 

1719, May 3— Mary, daughter of Jethro Tilton. 

Mary, daughter of Reuben Sanborn. 
May 17 — Jonathan, son of Charles Stewart. 
May 31 — Mary, daughter of John Cass. 
June 7 — Mary, daughter of William Russell. 

John, son of Thomas Leavitt. 
June 14 — Nathaniel, son of Edward West. 
June 21 — Daniel, son of Captain Swett. 

Joseph, Lydia and Daniel, children of Benjamin Perkins. 
July 19 — John, son of Enoch Sanborn. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Rob Row, Jr. 
Aug. 2 — Anna, daughter of Jacob Moulton. 
Aug. 6 — -Margaret and Jacob, children of Joseph Low. 
Aug. 9 — ^Annie, daughter of Nathaniel Longfellow. 
Aug. 16 — Samuel, son of Deacon Shaw. 

Nathaniel, son of Nathaniel Batchelder, Jr. 
Aug. 23 — Rachel, daughter of David Tilton. 

Sarah and Mary, children of my kinsman, William 
Norton. 
Aug. 30 — Rachel, daughter of Abner Sanborn. 
Sept. 6 — Katherine Sarah and Samuel, children of Thomas 
Wate. 

1720, Jan. 3 — John, son of John Batchelder. 

Mary, daughter of William Healey. 
Feb. 7 — Ebenezer, son of Eben Loverell. 
Mary, daughter of Abraham Brown. 
John, son of John Swayne. 



92 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Feb. 14 — Jeremiah, son of Thomas Ward, Jr. 
Feb. 24' — Daniel, son of Nathaniel Sanborn. 

Elizabeth, daughter of (,'alelj Swayne. 
Mar. 20 — Theophilus, son of Abraham Sanborn. 
Mar. 27— Mchitablc, daughter of Israel lilake. 
May 8 — Margaret, daughter of Capt. Joseph Tilton. 
June 5 — Isaac, son of Jacob Green. 

David, son of Jonathan Batchelder. 

Moses, son of Moses Sleeper, Kingston. 

Hannah, daughter of Jacob Garland, Jr. 

Nathan and Stephen, children of Thomas Cram, Jr. 
June 17 — Mary and Lydia, children of John Brown. 
June 18 — David, son of Zach Clifford. 
Aug. 28 — Hannah, daughter of F. Walter 
Mathews. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel Grindel. 

William, son of James Allard. From 

Mary, daughter of John Layha. > the 

Elizabeth, daughter of John Henderson. Shoals. 

Michael, son of Charles Rindel. 

Israel, son of Israel Tom Beckman. 

Mary, daughter of James Mutchmore. 
Sept. 11 — Joseph Chase, son of Lieut. Benjamin Hilliard. 

Joseph, son of John Cass. 

Mary, daughter of Ichabod Roby. 
Dec. 4 — Timothy, son of Jonathan Sanborn, of Kingston. 
Dec. 18 — Mehitable, daughter of Deacon Weare. 
1721, Jan. 8 — Amos, son of Thomas Leavitt. 

Jan. 22 — Elizabeth, daughter of William Norton. 

Feb. 5 — Thomas, son of Samuel Blake, Jr. 

Feb. 26 — Samuel, son of Nathaniel Batchelder, Jr. 

Feb. 30 — Samuel, son of William Healey. 

May 14 — Elizabeth, daughter of William Brown. 

Daniel, son of Abner Sanborn. 
June 4 — Sarah, daughter of Samuel Clifford. 

Sarah, daughter of Reuben Sanborn. 
June 18 — Nathaniel, Abraham and Jedediah, children of 
John Prescott. 

Sarah, daughter of Benjamin Shaw. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Enoch Sanborn. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Low. 

Benjamin, son of Benjamin Moulton. 
July 12 — Susanna, daughter of Charles Stewart, "baptized 
in her own house; witnesses, Enoch Sanborn and ye 
Father; the child like to dye." 
July 16 — Anna, daughter of Jethro Tilton. 
July 23 — Nathan, son of Jacob Moulton. 
Aug. 6 — Elizabeth, daughter of Jeremiah Prescott. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY . 93 

Aug. 27 — Abigail, daughter of John Batchelder. 

Henry, son of James Sanborn. 
Sept. 3 — Mary, daughter of Benjamin Perkins. 

Lydia, a child of Jacob Basford and wife, "took as their 
own and engaged for it; her former name was Clough." 
Sept. 10 — Joseph, son of Abraham Sanborn. 
Sept. 20 — Timothy and Mary, children of Timothy Blake, 
who were baptized by virtue of his wife's "owning the 
Gov*, att York and y" at Kittery had her child bap- 
tized Christopher." 
Oct. 8 — Anna, daughter of John Morgan. 
Nov. 26 — Lydia and Esther, children of Peter Sanborn. 
Dec. 3 — Sarah, daughter of John Sanborn, Kingston. 

Josiah, son of John Prescott. 

Sarah, daughter of Caleb Swain. 
Dec. 31 — Daniel, son of Thomas Ward, Jr. 
1722, Jan. 22— Huldah, daughter of David Tilton. 
Mar. 6 — Abigail, daughter of Rob Roe, Jr. . 

Stephen, son of John Swayne. 
Apr. 1 — Theophilus, son of Samuel Blake, Jr. 
Apr. 15 — Noah, son of Edw. West. 

Jonathan, son of Abraham Brown. 

Mary, daughter of Abraham Moulton. 
May 13 — Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Cram, Jr. 
June 3 — Daniel, son of Moses Sleeper, Kingston. 
June 10 — Simon, son of Jacob Garland. 
July 1 — Joseph, son of Andrew Mace. 

Richard, son of Lym Currier. 

Henry, son of Richard Muchmore. 

Michael, son of Charles Randell. 

Sarah, daughter of Jeff Currier. I At 

Samuel and Catherine, children of I Shoals. 

Samuel Yeaton. 

Ruth, daughter of James Allard. 

Richard, son of Rob Kirwick (?) 

Mary, daughter of Jno. Vil . 

July 29 — Jacob, son of Nathan Longfellow. 
Aug. 12 — Lydia, daughter of William Brown. 
Aug. 19 — Apphia, daughter of Peter Sanborn. 
Sept. 2 — Joanna, daughter of Capt. J. Tilton. 

David and Jonathan, sons of Eph. Hoit. 
Sept. 16 — Ephraim, son of Jacob Green, baptized by Brother 

Gushing. 
Sept. 23 — Nathan and John, sons of Eph. Hoit. 
Oct. 14 — Joshua, son of Nathaniel Batchelder, Jr. 
Oct. 21 — Hannah, daughter of Zach Philbrick. 

Susanna, daughter of Charles Stewart. 
Nov. 1 — Sarah, daughter of Ichabod Roby. 



94 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Jonathan, son of John Cass. 
Anna, daughter of Thomas Atkinson. 
Samuel, son of Isaac Fellows. 
Dec. 30 — Elizaljeth, daughter of Israel Blake. 
Hannah, daughter of Benjamin Cram, Jr. 
Jethro, son of Jonathan Batchelder. 

1723, Jan. 13 — Rachel and Anne, twin children of Jacob Stanion. 
Jan. 20 — Nathaniel and Elizabeth, twin children of Nath- 
aniel Healey. 

Sarah, daughter of William Healey. 

Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Sanborn, Jr., Kingston. 
Feb. 17 — John, son of Abner Sanborn. 
Mar. 10 — Jethro, son of Simon Moulton. 
Mar. 17 — William, son of William Norton. 
Apr. 18 — Mehitable, daughter of Zach Clifford. 
May 19 — Daniel, son of Jethro Tilton. 

Abigail, daughter of Israel Clifford, Jr. 
July 28 — Susanna, daughter of Deacon Weare. 
-^Aug. 1 — Jonathan, son of Thomas Leavitt. 
Sept. 8 — Winthrop, son of Timothy Blake. 

Abraham, son of Abraham Sanborn. 
Oct. 20 — Abigail, daughter of Benjamin Moulton, baptized 

by Brother Cushing. 
Oct. 27 — Reuben, son of Reuben Sanborn. 
Nov. 3 — Rachel, daughter of Thomas Ward of Portsmouth, 
alias Rachael. 

Ebenezer, son of Benjamin Sanborn. 
Dec. 15 — Huldah, daughter of Abraham Moulton. 

1724, Feb. 23 — Deborah, daughter of John Batchelder. 

Rachel, daughter of Samuel Clifford. 
Mar. 1 — Rachel, daughter of David Tilton. 

Anne, daughter of Samuel Blake. 
Mar. 8 — Jonathan, son of Ensign Perkins. 
Mar. 15 — Hannah, daughter of Eben Loverell, aUas the 
widow posthumous. 

Joseph, son of Joseph Batchelder, alias his widow 
posthumous. 
Mar. 29 — Thomas, son of Nathaniel Batchelder. 
Apr. 5 — Hannah, daughter of Abraham Brown. 
Apr. 15 — Thomas, son of Lea Cotton. 
May 24 — Jeremiah and David, children of Joseph Lowell. 

William, son of Jeremiah Prescott. 
June 14 — Daniel, son of Edw. West. 

Sarah, daughter of Samuel Lane. 
June 21 — Sarah, Mary and Abigail, children of Benoni Fogg. 
June 28 — Enoch, son of Enoch Sanborn. 
July 12 — Jonathan, Moses and Rebecca, children of Richard 
Sanborn. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 



95 



Shoals 
Children. 



Shoals 
Children. 



Daniel and Mary, children of Richard Sanborn. 

Sarah, daughter of Peter Weare (the deacon's son). 

Jonathan, son of John Weare. 
July 19 — Abraham and Jethro, children of Widow Dorothy 

Batchelder, whose husband was Jethro. 
Aug. 9 — Mercy, daughter of Edw. Tuck, bap- 
tized by Mr. Cushing when he was at the 
Shoals. 

Robert, son of Rob Downs. 

Sarah, daughter of William Downs. 

Anne, daughter of Charles Randall. 

Ruth, daughter of Jeffry Currier. 

David, son of Jno. Ellinwood. 

Mary, daughter of John Bickford. 

John, son of Tho. Thorn. 

May, daughter of William Perkins. 
Aug. 16 — Thomas, son of Tho. Waldron. 

Mary, daughter of Jno. Robinson. 

Sarah, daughter of Benjamin Yeaton. 

Elizabeth, Robert, ^Joshua, Tabatha, 
Deborah and Sarah, children of Joseph 
Dammerell. 

4 — William, son of John Swayne. 

11 — Sewell, son of Nathan Longfellow. 

18 — Benjamin, son of Joseph Batchelder. 
Oct. 25 — Mary, daughter of Jno. Sargent. 
Nov. 1 — John, son of Philip Pervear. 

Nov. 8 — Peter, son of Peter Sanborn, alias his widow pos- 
thumous. 

Judith, daughter of Abner Sanborn. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Eben Sleeper. 
Nov. 15 — John, son of Isaac Fellows. 

Nov. 22 — Hannah and Esther, children of Benjamin Green, 
a Quaker. 

Jeremiah, Samuel and John, children of Samuel Prescott. 

Lucy, daughter of William Norton. 
Dec. 20 — Mary, daughter of Zach Philbrick. 
1725, Feb. 28 — Benjamin, son of Benjamin Cram, Jr. 
Mar. 14 — Apphia, daughter of Jonathan Cass. 
Mar. 28 — Daniel, son of Thomas Cram. 

Lucy, daughter of James Sanborn. 
June 20 — Sarah, daughter of Jacob Garland. 
June 27 — Dorothy, daughter of WiUiam Healey. 
July 4 — Benjamin, son of Jethro Tilton. 

Margaret, daughter of Jno. Tilton. 

Rachel, daughter of Caleb Swayne. 
July 11 — Sarah, daughter of Jacob Stanion. 
July 18 — Benjamin, son of Israel Blake. 



Oct. 
Oct. 
Oct. 



96 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Aug. 1— Nathan, son of Rob Roe, Jr. 
Aug. 8 — Lucy, daughter of EUsha Prescott. 
Aug. 22 — Stephen, son of Martha Brown, widow of Stephen 
Brown. 
Hannah, daughter of Lyman Moulton. 
Sept. 5 — Nathaniel, son of Daniel Wearc. 
Sept. 19 — Mary, daughter of Reuben Sanborn. 
Oct. 3 — Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Batchelder. 

Libbee, son of Abraham Marston. 
Nov. 14 — Mary, daughter of Isaac Green. 
Nov. 28 — Abigail, daughter of Richard Sanborn. 
Dec. 5 — Hannah, daughter of John Batchelder. 
1726, Feb. 6 — Josiah, son of Josiah Batchelder. 
Feb. 13 — John, son of Abram Sanborn. 
Feb. 20 — Anna, daughter of Ichabod Rol)y. 
Mar. 5 — Joseph, son of Samuel Prescott. 

Josiah, son of Hezekiah Blake. 
Mar. 13 — Thomas, son of Ebenezer Brown. 

Zipporah, daughter of Joseph Brown. 
Mar. 20 — James, son of Joseph Lowell. 
Caleb, son of Caleb Swain. 
Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Lane. 
Apr. 10 — Samuel, son of Samuel Blake, Jr. 
Apr. 17 — David, son of David Tilton. 
May 10 — Elizabeth, daughter of Jeffry Currier. 
Elizabeth, daughter of Morrill Shannon. 
Moses, son of Joshua Weymouth. 
John, son of John Ashley. 
Richard, son of Andrew ^Nlace. 
Nathaniel, son of Robert Downs. 
William and Mary, children of William 

Downs. I Shoals 

Mary, daughter of Joseph Mace. f Children. 

. Abigail, daughter of John Bickford. 
Nathaniel, son of John Hiddon. 
Elizabeth, daughter of Nathaniel Adams. 
William, son of William Perkins. 
Sarah, daughter of James Allard. 
Mary and Katherine, children of George 
Mesphia. 
May 29 — Philbrook, son of Edward Palmer. 
June 5 — IMary, daughter of John Tilton. 
June 12 — Elizabeth, daughter of James Sanborn. 
June 19 — Lydia, daughter of Nathan Clough. 
Joseph, son of Joseph Sanborn. 
Hezekiah, son of Ely Beede. 



universalist society 97 

Children and Other Persons Baptized by Joseph Whipple 
OF Hampton Falls. 

1727, Jan. 15 — Robert, son of Robert Row, Sr. 

Abraham, son of Abraham Sanborn. 

Richard, son of Joseph Batchelder. 

Ebenezer, son of Ebenezer Brown. 

Jonathan, son of Benjamin Veasy. 

Joseph, son of Phihp Pearson. 
Jan. 29 — Deborah, daughter of Isaac Fellows. 

Joanna, daughter of Ely Beede. 
Mar. 5 — Sarah, daughter of Abraham Moulton. 
Mar. 12 — Abraham, son of Abraham Brown. 

Ann, daughter of William Norton. 
Mar. 19 — Elisha, son of Josiah Batchelder. 

Mary, daughter of Jonathan Chase. 
Apr. 2 — Mary, daughter of Jacob Green. 

Paul, son of William Healey. 
May 7 — Sarah, daughter of Enoch Sanborn. 

Mary, daughter of Thomas Cram. 

Caleb, son of Josiah Brown. 

Grace, wife of Nathaniel Boulter, 

John and Elizabeth, children of Nathaniel Boulter. 
May 28 — Benjamin, son of Samuel Clifford. 

Mary, daughter of Jeremy Prescott. 
June 4 — Sarah, daughter of Israel Clifford. 

Abigail, daughter of Isaac Green. 
June 18 — Lydia, daughter of Jethro Tilton. 

Caleb, son of Caleb Swain. 

Benaiah, son of Benoni Fogg. 

John, son of John Cass. 
July 2 — Jonathan, son of John Swain. 
July 23 — Huldah, wife of Jonathan Nason. 

Mary, wife of John Stanion. 

Abigail Knowlton, single woman. 

Daniel, son of Sherburn Tilton. 
Aug. 6 — Paul, son of John Morgan. 

Anna, daughter of Thomas Leavitt. 
Sept. 10 — Sarah, daughter of Enoch Colby. 
Sept. 28 — Mary, Phoebe and Ann, children of Jonathan 
Nason. 

Huldah, Meribah, Dorothy and Mary, children of 
Widow Dorothy Sanborn. 

John and Elizabeth, children of John Hall. 
Oct. 1 — Shuah Nason, daughter of Jonathan Nason. 
Oct. 15 — Sarah, daughter of Charles Stewart. 
Oct. 29 — Huldah, daughter of Jonathan Batchelder. 

Joanna and Miriam, daughters of Timothy Blake. 



98 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Nov. Sr-Samuel, son of Samuel Shaw. 
Nov. 19 — John, son of Nathaniel Lock. 

Martha Chiff ; T. Cram's wife engaged for her. 
Nov. 26— Robert Roe, Sr. 

Jacob Dearbon, son of Thomas. 

Sarah Roe, single woman. 

Mary Dear])on, daughter of Thomas. 

Elizabeth and Ann, children of Thomas Dearbon. 

Tabitha, daughter of Thomas Dearbon. 

Elisha, son of E. Prescott. 
Dec. 10 — Jeremiah Brown, adult. 

Dorothy, wife of Richard Young. 

Mary Swain, adult. 

Moses, Jeremiah, Benjamin, James, Ruth and Eliza- 
beth, children of Robert Roe. 

Ephraim, Josiah, Martin, Mary, Abial, Sarah and Phebe, 
children of Jabez Sanborn. 
Dec. 17 — Joseph Roe, son of Robert. 

Richard Nason, son of Jonathan. 

Margaret Ward, wife of Shadrach. 

Mary and Thomas, children of Shadrach Ward. 
Dec. 24 — William Swain, young man. 

Stephen Healey, son of Nathaniel Healey. 

Sarah Philbrick, daughter of Zachary. 
1728, Jan. 7— John Philbrook. 

Ruth Batchelder, daughter of John. 

Lydia, Hall, daughter of John. 
Jan. 14 — Daniel, son of Moses Blake. 
Feb. 18 — Benjamin, son of Joseph Wadley. 

Abigail, daughter of Jonathan Brown. 
Feb. 25 — Elizabeth, Samuel Lane's daughter. 
Mar. 31 — Daniel, son of Abraham Sanborn. 
Apr. 7 — Mary, daughter of Caleb Moody. 

Rachel, daughter of Hezekiah Blake. 
-^iApr. 18 — Wadley, son of Wadley Cram. • 

Elizabeth Whipple. 
Apr. 21 — Daniel Sanborn, married man. 

Edward, son of David Sanborn. 

Moses, son of Charles Stewart. 

Abigail and John, children of John French. 

William Brown, son of Nathan Cluff. 

Susanna, daughter of Joseph Sanborn. 
May 5 — Margaret Brown, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Jacob Brown. 
May 12 — Martha, Mary, Mehitable and Nathan, children 
of Jacob Brown. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Simon Moulton. 

Daniel, son of Elisha Prescott. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 99 

May 19 — Mary, daughter of Samuel Blake, Jr. 

Benjamin, son of Robert Quimby. 
May 26 — Sarah, daughter of Josiah Batchelder. 
June 2 — Jethro, son of Abner Sanborn. 

June 9 — Abigail and Delilah, daughters of Luther Morgan. 
July 14— Bethuel, daughter of Edw. Tuck. 
July 28 — Daniel, son of Daniel Weare. 

William, son of Samuel Prescott. 
Aug. 4 — Hannah and Elizabeth, children of Abel Ward. 
Aug. 18 — Abigail, daughter of Jonathan Chase. 

Abigail, daughter of Ensign Benjamin Perkins. 
Sept. 22 — Ebenezer, son of Rob Quimby. 
Oct. 20 — Peter, son of Thomas Cram. 
Oct. 27 — Ichabod, son of Ichabod Robie. 

Nathaniel Lock, married man. 

Elizabeth, daughter of Nathaniel Lock. 
Nov. 3 — Eliza Perry, single woman. 
Nov. 10 — Abigail, daughter of Reuben Sanborn, 

Abigail, daughter of John Tilton. 
Dec. 1 — Enoch, son of Enoch Coleby. 
Dec. 29 — Nathaniel Pervear, son of Philip. 
1729, Jan. 14 — Mary, daughter of James Fogg. 

Feb. 21 — Jane, daughter of Abraham Moulton. 
Mar. 2 — William, son of William Healey. 

Rachel, daughter of Luther Morgan. 
Mar. 9 — Samuel, son of Ebenezer Prescott. 

Mary, daughter of Benjamin Hilliard. 
Mar. 16 — Ann, daughter of Sherburn Tilton. 
Mar. 23 — Samuel, son of Abel Ward. 

Henry, son of Benjamin Veasy. 
Apr. 6 — Enos, son of Benoni Fogg. 

Michael, son of Isaac Fellows. 
Apr. 13 — Mary, daughter "of Joseph Batchelder. 

Joseph, son of Joseph Worth. 

Abigail, daughter of Eben Gove. 
May 11 — Winthrop, son of Rob Roe, Sr. • 

Benjamin, son of Benjamin Shaw. 
May 17 — Moses, son of Jonathan Cass. 

Stephen, son of Elisha Prescott. 

Ehzabeth Varrell. " My wife and I engaged for her. " 

Isaac, son of Isaac Green's widow. 
June 8 — Nathan, son of Nathan Longfellow. 

Josiah, son of Josiah Brown. 

Jeremiah, son of David Sanborn. 
June 22 — Elizabeth, daughter of Jethro Tilton. 

Abraham and Mary, children of Israel Clifford. 

Clement, son of Jeremiah Brown. 

Martha, daughter of Nathaniel Boulter. 

Edward, son of Reuben Smith. 



SSSB'^iB 



100 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

July 28^-Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Brown. 
Aug. 17 — Elizabeth, daughter of Timothy Blake. 
Aug. 28 — Jacob Swain, son of John. 

Daniel Beedc, son of Ely. 
Aug. 31 — Abigail Tilton, daughter of David, deceased. 

Nathan Batchelder, son of John. 

Daniel Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
Sept. 28 — Rebecca Morgan, daughter of John. 

Jemima Green, daughter of Jacob. 

Abigail Daniel, daughter of William. 
Oct. 5 — John, son of Thomas Dearborn. 
Oct. 19 — Sarah, daughter of Benjamin ]\Ioody. 
Nov. 2 — Sarah Ward, daughter of Shadrach. 
Nov. 9 — Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Abraham. 
Dec. 7 — Josiah Shaw, son of Samuel. 
1730, Jan. 25 — Henry Blake, son of Joshua. 
Feb. 7 — Mary Silly, daughter of John. 
Mar. 1 — Jeremiah San])orn, son of Richard. 

Deborah Sanborn, daughter of Abner. 

Rhoda Palmer, daughter of Edward. 

Benjamin Sanborn, son of Joseph. 
Mar. 8 — Joseph Philbrick, son of Zach. 
Mar. 29 — Huldah Weare, daughter of John. 

Thomas Leavitt, son of Thomas. 
^^__^Apr. 12 — James Cram, son of Wadley. 

Martha Brown, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Mehitable Hilliard, daughter of Benjamin. 

Abigail Lock, daughter of Edward. 
Apr. 19 — Maiy Shaw, daughter of Benjamin. 

Mary Brown, daughter of Ebenezer, Sr. 
May 10 — Sanuiel Ward, son of Al^el. 

MsiTj, daughter of Joseph Lowell. 
May 28 — Abraham French, son of John. 
May 31 — Abraham Sanborn, son of Jabez. 

Mary Tuck, daughter of John. 

Lydia Moulton, daughter of Simon. 
June 7 — Nathan Cluff, son of Nathan. 

Lucy Prescott, daughter of Benjamin, Jr. 
June 18 — Jonathan, Elizabeth and Sarah, children of — 

Knowlton. 
June 21 — Thomas Blake, son of Moses, Jr. 
July 5, Mary Kelley, daughter of Daniel. 

John Batchelder, son of Benjamin. 

Elizabeth Selby, daughter of John. 
July 12 — Theophilus San])orn, son of Abraham. 

Abigail Lane, daughter of Samuel. 

John Glidden Libby, son of John. 

Hannah ClilYord, daughter of Samuel. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 101 

July 26 — Miriam Brown, daughter of Jonathan. 
Aug. 2 — Jonathan Palmer, married man. 

Abigail and Stephen, children of Jonathan Brown. 
Aug. 23 — Hannah Tilton, daughter of John. 
Aug. 30 — Henry Blake, son of Samuel, Jr. 
Sept. 6 — Simon Page, son of Samuel. 
Sept. 20 — James Wadley, son of Joseph. 

Nathan Brown, son of Joseph, Sr. 

Philemon Prescott, son of Benjamin, Sr. 
Oct. 11 — Stephen Brown, son of Widow Ann. 

Moses Underhill, son of Sampson. 
Oct. 18 — Nathaniel Dow, son of Jonathan. 
Nov. 1 — Nathaniel Batchelder, son of Josiah. 

Samuel Lampry, son of Henry. 
Nov. 8 — Huldah Batchelder, daughter of Jonathan. 

Patience Chase, daughter of Jonathan. 
Nov. 22 — John Cram, son of Jonathan. 
Dec. 6 — Rebecca Green, daughter of Jacob. 

Stephen Hobbs, son of Stephen. 

Abigail Prescott, daughter of Benjamin, Sr. 

Jemima Bean, daughter of Jeremiah. 
Dec. 13 — John, Mary, Nathan, Huldah, and Reuben, chil- 
dren of John Chfford. 
Dec. 20 — Abigail Cram, single woman. 
1731, Jan. 3 — Sarah and Jedediah Stanion, children of John 
Stanion. 
Jan. 17 — Lydia Fogg, wife of Simon. 

Hannah Gove, single woman. 

Phebe Prescott, daughter of Elisha. 

Levi Moulton, son of Abraham. 

John Quimby, son of Robert. 
Jan. 21 — Ruth Moody, daughter of Benjamin. 

John Pervear, son of Philip. 
Jan. 31 — Abraham Tappan, son of John. 
Feb. 14 — Joseph True, son of Obediah. 
Mar. 21 — Sarah Fogg, daughter of James. 

Sarah Blake, daughter of Philemon, Sr. 
Apr. 4 — Green Longfellow, son of Widow Longfellow. 
Apr. 11 — Esther Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Margaret Ward, daughter of Shadrach. 
Apr. 18 — Daniel Sanborn, son of David. 
May 9 — Susanna Healey, daughter of Nathaniel Healey. 
May 16 — Peter, Roe, son of Robert Roe, Sr. 

Daniel Batchelder, son of John. 

Timothy Worth, son of Joseph. 
May 30 — Thomas Cram, son of Thomas. 

Abigail Sanborn, daughter of Reuben. 

Prescott, daughter of Ebenezer. 



102 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

June 18 — Joseph Taylor Wcare, son of Daniel. 
Jeremiah Blake, son of Joshua. 
Enoch Gove, son of Ebenezer. 
June 20 — Abigail Fellows, daughter of Isaac. 

Sarah Stanion, daughter of John. 
June 29 — Abraham Healey, son of William. 
Oct. 10 — Joseph Brown, son of Thomas. 

Hannah Palmer, daughter of Jonathan. 
Oct. 24 — Samuel Blake, son of Timothy. 
Joseph Cass, son of Jonathan. 
Sarah Daniels, daughter of William. 
Oct. 31 — Ephraim Philbrick, son of Zachary. 

Pierson Brown, son of John. 
Dec. 12 — Peter Sanborn, son of Abner. 
Jacob Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
1732, Jan. 2 — Abner Hall, son of John. 

Comfort French, daughter of John. 
IVIary Brown, daughter of Ebenezer. 
Stephen Page, son of Samuel. 
Feb. 13 — John Chase, son of Elisha. 

Josiah Roe, son of Joseph. 
Feb. 20 — Hilliard Shaw, son of Samuel. 
Mar. 5 — Elizabeth Tuck, daughter of Edward. 

Sherburn Tilton, son of Sherborn. 
Mar. 12 — Jonathan Ward, son of Abel. 
Mar. 26 — Abraham Sanborn, son of Joseph. 
Apr. 16 — Richard Sanborn, son of Richard. 
Abraham Moulton, son of Abraham. 
John Tilton, son of John. 
Benjamin Dow, son of Ezekiel. 
Stephen Cluff, son of Nathan. 
Mary Fogg, daughter of Benoni. 
Elizabeth Ward, daughter of Shadrach. 
Apr. 30 — John Prescott, son of Benjamin, Jr. 

Jemima Weare, daughter of John. 
May 14- — Joseph, Janet, Abigail, children of Jeremy Gove. 
Abigail Lampry, daughter of Henry. 
Abigail Smith, daughter of Reuben. 
May 28 — Meribah Tilton, daughter of Samuel. 
June 4 — Sarah Draper, daughter of Joseph. 
Joseph Sanborn, son of James. 
Eleazer Gove, son of Enoch. 
June 18 — Benjamin Hilliard, son of Benjamin. 
"''" July 2 — Elizabeth James, daughter of Israel. 
Dorothy Prescott, daughter of James. 
Aug. 6 — Reuben Batchcldcr, son of Josiah. 
Sept. 3 — John Brown, son of Abraham. 
Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Josiah. 
Ruth Blake, daughter of Moses Blake, Jr. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 103 

Sept. 24 — Mary Derbon, daughter of Nathaniel. 
Oct. 15 — Hannah Brown, daughter of Jacob. 

Daniel Pervear, son of Philip. 
Oct. 22 — Sarah Brown, daughter of Jonathan. 

Mary James, daughter of Edmund. 
Oct. 29 — Benjamin Batchelder, son of Joseph. 
Nov. 5 — Obediah True, son of Obediah. 
Nov. 12 — Hannah Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Samuel Lane, son of Samuel. 
Nov. 26 — John Wadley, son of Joseph. 
Dec. 3 — Joseph and Benjamin Lovett, twins of Thomas. 

■ ^ec. 17 — Nehemiah Cram, son of Wadley. 

Dec. 31 — Sarah Batchelder, daughter of John. 

Joseph Sanborn, son of Abraham. 
1733, Jan. 7 — Mary Prescott, daughter of Ehsha. 
Jan. 21 — Benjamin Moody, son of Benjamin. 
Jan. 28 — Elizabeth Gove, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Anna Batchelder, daughter of Francis. 
Feb. 4 — Joseph Clifford, son of Samuel. 
Feb. 18 — James Fogg, son of James. 

Mary Cram, daughter of Jonathan. 
Mar. 4 — Benjamin Green, son of Jacob. 
Mar. 18 — Mary Dow, daughter of Jonathan. 
Apr. 29 — Phebe Sanborn, daughter of Reuben. 
May 6 — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of David. 
May 20 — Nathan Swain, son of John. 

Huldah Nason, daughter of Richard. 

Fortunatus, "my negro boy." 
May 27 — Huldah Dow, daughter of Samuel. 

Hannah James, daughter of Israel. 
June 1 — Mehitable Roe, daughter of Robert, Sr. 

Timothy Sanborn, son of Abraham. 

Mary Philbrick, daughter of Abner. 
June 24 — Joseph Chase, son of Jonathan. 

Henry Blake, son of Joshua. 

Anna Quimby, daughter of Robert. 

Martha Blake, daughter of Philemon. 
July 29 — Abigail Hobs, daughter of Stephen. 

Stephen Longfellow, son of Jonathan. 
Aug. 5 — Moses Lock, son of Edward. 
Sept. 2 — Mary Daniel, single woman. 

Mary Gove, single woman. 

Hannah Shaw, daughter of Benjamin. 
Sept. 16 — Asahel Green, son of Dr. Abraham Green. 
Sept. 30 — Samuel Sevie, single man. 
Oct. 21 — Elizabeth Page, daughter of Samuel. 

John Shepherd, son of Timothy. 
Dec. 23 — Nathan Brown, son of Ebenezer. 



104 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1734, Jan. 20— Elizabeth Ward, dauRhtcr of Abel. 

James Prescott, son of Ebenezer. 

John Roe, son of Joseph. 

William Batchelder, son of Jonathan. 
Jan. 27 — Meribah Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Jupiter, Mr. Fifield's negro man. 

June, Mr. J. Brown's negro man. 
Feb. 10 — Nathan Weare, son of the Widow Weare. Deacon, 

Richard Gove, son of Enoch. 
Mar. 3 — Elizabeth Moulton, daughter of Abraham. 

Hannah Tuck, daughter of Edward. 

Juclah (lOve, daughter of Jeremiah. 

Hannah Blake, daughter of Hezekiah. 

Elizabeth Tilton, daughter of John. 

Susanna James, daughter of Edward. 
Mar. 17— Ruth Blake, daughter of Timothy. 
Mar. 31 — Jethro Batchelder, son of John. 

John Sanborn, son of Joseph. 

Nathan Tilton, son of Nathan. 
Apr. 14 — Elizabeth Lovett, daughter of Thomas. 

Sarah French, daughter of John. 

Elizabeth Chase, daughter of Elisha. 
Apr. 21 — Charles and Katherine Roe, children of Daniel. 
May 12 — Esther Dow, daughter of Ezekiel. 

Dorothy Blake, daughter of Samuel, Jr. 

Josiah Brown, son of Josiah. 
May 19 — Andrew Ward, son of Shadrach. 

Elizabeth Fellows, daughter of Israel. 
May 26 — Rebecca Prescott, daughter of Benjamin, Sr. 
May 31 — John Fogg, son of James. Private baptism. 
June 2 — Hannah Sanborn, daughter of Jabez. 

Nehemiah Clough, son of Nathan. 

Jonathan Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
July 10 — Samuel Derbon, son of Nathaniel. 
Jul}- 21 — Sherbon Tilton, son of Lieut. Sherbon. 
July 28^ — Jonathan Stanion, son of John, 2d. 
July 29 — Anna Palmer, daughter of Jonathan. 
Sept. 1 — Samuel Tilton, son of Samuel. 
Sept. 22 — Andrew Haskel, son of Abraham. 

Samuel Philbrick, son of Abner. 
Oct. 6 — Benjamin Brown, son of Thomas. 
Oct. 13 — Sarah Prescott, daughter of Benjamin, Sr. 
Oct. 20 — Jane, negro of Philemon Blake, Sr. 
Nov. 17 — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Richard. 
Nov. 24 — Mary Lane, daughter of Samuel. 
Dec. 1 — Elisha Prescott, son of Elisha. 

Elizabeth Pervear, daughter of Philip. 

Hannah Draper, daughter of Joseph. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 105 

Dec. 15 — Elizabeth Shaw, daughter of Joseph. 
Dec. 22 — John Tappan, son of John. 

Mary Wadleigh, daughter of Joseph. 
1735, Jan. 19 — Abigail Moody, daughter of Benjamin. 

Jan. 26— Sarah or Mary Prescott, daughter of James, 3d. 

Melcher Ward, son of Abel. 
Mar. 16 — John Lamprey, son of Henry. 
Mar. 30 — Deborah Nason, daughter of Richard. 
Apr. 6^onathan Moulton, son of Abraham. 

Richard Brown, son of Ebenezer. 
/-\Ruth Cram, daughter of Wadley. 

Ruth James, daughter of Edmund. 

John Sanborn, son of David. 

Rachel Cass, daughter of Jonathan. 

Johanna Blake, daughter of Hezekiah. 

John, Benjamin, Daniel, Simon, Josiah and Mary 
Batchelder, children of Simon. 
Apr. 20— Mehitable Blake, daughter of Moses, Jr. 
May 4— Elizabeth Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Susanna Pike, daughter of Joseph. 
May 11— Mehitable Hilliard, daughter of Benjamin. 

Simon Stevens, son of Otho. 
June 1— Anna Page, daughter of Samuel. 
June 8— Mary Healey, daughter of Capt. Nathaniel. 

Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of James. 
June 15 — Phebe Gove, daughter of Ebenezer. 
June 22 — Enoch Batchelder, son of Francis. 

Mehitable Gove, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Mary Longfellow, daughter of Jonathan. 
June 27 — Mary Sanborn, daughter of Abner. 

Ruth Smith, daughter of Reuben. 
Aug. 17 — Elisha Brown, son of Jeremiah, Jr. 

Ebenezer Loveren, son of John. 

Aug. 31 Chase, daughter of Jonathan. 

Sept. 7— Abigail Blake, daughter of Philemon, Jr. 
Sept. 21— Deborah Weare, daughter of John. 
Oct. 5 — Daniel Robie, son of Henry. 

Hannah Towle, daughter of Benjamin. 

Rachel Shaw, daughter of Gideon. 
Oct. 12— Mehitable Dow, daughter of Jonathan. 
Oct. 19 — Nehemiah and Sarah West, children of Edward. 

Mehitable Fellows, daughter of Isaac. 
Oct. 26— Benjamin Batchelder, son of John. 

Benjamin Cram, son of Widow Mary. 
Nov. 9— Judith Prescott, wife of Jonathan. 

Judith, Jonathan, Jesse, Marion, Abigail, Elizabeth 
and Nathan, children of Jonathan Prescott, Sr. 

Caleb Roe, son of Robert Roe, Sr. 



106 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Simon Batchckler, son of Simon. 

Hannah Fogg, daughter of James. 
Nov. 16 — Benjamin James, son of Israel. 

Benjamin Sanborn, son of Benjamin. 

Mary, Winthrop and Hannah, children of Edward Gove. 
Dec. 1 — James Prescott, son of James, deceased. 
Dec. 14 — Nathan Ward, son of Abel. 

Joseph Tilton, son of John. 

James Page, son of John. 
Dec. 28 — Abraham Sanborn, son of Abraham. 

Isaac Green, son of Jacob. 

Susanna Pervear, daughter of Philip. 
1736, Jan. 4 — Timothy Blake Lock, son of Edward. 

Hannah Shepherd, daughter of Timothy. 

Abigail Swain, daughter of John. 

William Batchelder, son of Jonathan, Jr. 
Jan. 18 — Elizabeth Smith, daughter of Edward. 
Jan. 25 — Jane Knowlton, wife of Ebenezer. 

Rachel Dow, wife of Winthrop. 

Hannah Hutchins, daughter of Timothy. 

Hannah Sanborn, daughter of Nathan. 
Feb. 1 — Phebe Sanborn, daughter of Reuben. 
Feb. 8 — Ann Roby, wife of John. 

Mary Williams, daughter of Walter. 

Elizabeth Shaw, daughter of Gideon. 
Feb. 13 — Mary Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 
Feb. 22 — David Batchelder, son of Josiah. 

Ruth Roe, daughter of Joseph. 
Mar. 7 — Josiah Prescott, son of Ebenezer. 
Mar. 15 — Benjamin Tilton, son of Nathan. 
Apr. 11 — Sarah Sanborn, daughter of Jabez. 
Apr. 18 — Winthrop Clough, son of Nathan. 

Ebenezer Blake, son of Jedediah. 
Apr. 25 — Michael Philbrick, son of Zachariah. 

Susanna Tilton, daughter of Joseph, Jr. 
May 2 — Benjamin Brown, son of Josiah. 
May 22 — Asahel Quimby, son of Robert. 
May 30 — Sarah Gove, daughter of Jeremiah. 

Mary Sanborn, daughter of Joseph. 
June 4 — Elizabeth Blake, wife of Samuel, Sr. 

Naomi and Johanna Blake, 3'oung women. 
June 6 — Martha, Jonathan, Nancy, Abigail, Joseph, chil- 
dren of Samuel French. 

Abigail and Joseph, children of Joseph Prescott. 
June 13 — Benjamin Stickney, son of Moses. 

Al)igail Sanborn, daughter of Jacob. 
June 19 — Hannah Walton, daughter of James. 
July 12 — Lydia French, daughter of Samuel. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 107 

William Chase, son of Elisha. 

Henry Derborn, son of Nathaniel. 
July 25 — Sarah Loveren, daughter of John. 
July 28 — Asa Cram, son of Thomas. 
Aug. 1 — Rebecca Prescott, daughter of Benjamin, Sr. 
Sept. 5 — John Tuck, son of Edward. 

Mary Ward, daughter of Shadrach. 

Nathaniel Weare, son of Ebenezer. 
Sept. 19 — Josiah Prescott, son of James. 

Michal, son of Samuel Shaw. 
Sept. 26 — Sarah Swett, daughter of Benjamin, Jr. 
Oct. 8 — James Prescott, son of Elisha. 

Jeremiah Palmer, son of Jonathan. 
Nov. 7 — Abigail Lane, daughter of Samuel. 

John Blake, son of Joshua. 
Dec. 26 — Rachel French, daughter of John. 

Elizabeth Green, daughter of John. 
1737, Jan. 1 — Annah Moody, daughter of John. 
Jan. 23 — Mary Robie, daughter of John. 
Feb. 6 — David Sanborn, son of David. 

Rachel Page, daughter of John. 
Feb. 13 — Sarah Pike, wife of Joseph. 

Mary Pike, daughter of Joseph. 
Feb. 20 — Jonathan Cram, son of Jonathan. 

Elizabeth Tilton, daughter of Sherbon. 
Mar. 6 — Jacob Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
Mar. 20 — Ann Williams, daughter of Walter. 

Margaret Brown, daughter of Ebenezer. 
Mar. 25 — Mary Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 
Apr. 24 — Ann and Elizabeth Haskell, twins of Abraham. 
May 8 — Richard Sanborn, son of Richard. 

Hannah Dow, daughter of Philip. 
May 22 — Jacob, Sarah, Elizabeth and Jeremiah Brown, 

children of Jeremiah. 
June 12 — -Jonathan Brown, son of Jonathan. 

John Roe, son of John Roe, deceased. 

Morgan, son of Luther. 

July 3 — Samuel Blake, son of Jeremiah. 

Sarah Gove, daughter of Enoch. 

Hannah Morgan, daughter of Timothy. 

Aaron Blake, son of Ebenezer. 

Ichabod Roby, son of Henry. 

Nathan Dow, son of Ezekiel. 
July 17 — Sarah Chase, daughter of Jonathan. 

Mary Page, daughter of Samuel. 
July 24 — Jemima Green, daughter of Jacob. 
July 31 — ^Samuel Ward, son of Abel. 
Aug. 7 — Lydia Dow, daughter of Ezekiel. 



108 HISTORY or HAMPTON FALLS 

Aug. 14 — Timothy Blake, son of Moses. 
Sept. 1-^Michal Fellows, son of Isaac. 

Walter Swain, son of William. 

Abigail Blake, daughter of Elisha. 
Oct. 9 — Pierson Brown, son of John. 

Thomas Brown, son of Thomas. 
Oct. 16 — Lydia Philljrick, daughter of Abner, 
Oct. 23 — Benjamin Prescott, son of Benjamin. 

William Fifield, son of Samuel. 
Oct. 30 — Hannah James, daughter of Benjamin. 
Nov. 6 — Jacob Longfellow, son of Jonathan. 
Nov. 20 — Mchitable Tucker, daughter of Ebenezcr. 
Nov. 29 — Rachel Shaw, daughter of Samuel. 
Dec. 4 — Benjamin Billiard, son of Benjamin. 

Jonathan Prescott, son of Joseph. 

1738, Jan. 8 — Coffin Sanborn, son of Abner. 
Jan. 15 — Tristram Sanborn, son of Nathan. 
Jan. 22 — Jedediah Brown, son of Jeremiah. 
Jan. 29 — Jacol) Garland, son of Joseph. 

Feb. 26 — Molly Sanborn, daughter of Benjamin. 

Apr. 6 — Elisha Quimby, son of Robert. 

May 14 — Phebe Cass, wife of Joseph. 

May 21 — Mehitable Blake, daughter of Jonathan. 

May 28 — Ebenezer and Judith Fogg, children of Simon. 

June 4 — Elisha Prescott, son of Elisha. 

June 18 — Moses Swett, son of Benjamin, Jr. 

July 16 — Samuel Healey, son of Capt. Nathaniel. 

July 30 — Samuel Dow, son of Gideon. 

Nov. 5 — Hannah French, daughter of John. 

Dec. 10 — John Sanborn, son of Joseph. 

1739, Jan. 21 — Abial Morgan, daughter of Timothy. 
Feb. 18 — David Tilton, son of Nathan. 

Joseph Garland, son of Joseph. 
Apr. 8 — Abigail Green, daughter of John. 
May 6 — Hannah Gove, daughter of Enoch. 

Nathan Fogg, son of Simon. 
May 20 — Jeremiah Gove, son of Jeremiah. 
May 27 — Abigail Prescott, daughter of Ebenezer. 
June 6 — Meribah Tilton, daughter of Samuel. 

Thomas Haskel, son of Job. 
June 17 — Mary Cram, daughter of Jonathan. 
July 15 — Patience Chase, (laughter of Jonathan. 
July 29 — Jemima Blake, daughter of Joshua. 

Jonathan Tilton, son of Jonathan. 

Jonathan Nason, son of Richard. 

Joseph Tucker, son of Ebenezer. 
Aug. 5 — James, Col. Weare's negro man. 
Aug. 12 — Jedediah Cram, son of Thomas. 

Edward Green, son of Bradbury. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 109 

Aug. 19 — Joseph Swett, son of Jonathan. 
Sept. 1 — Nathan Swain, son of John. 

Susanna Robie, daughter of Henry. 
Oct. 7 — Hannah Philbrick, daughter of Abner. 

Lydia Batchelder, daughter of Theophilus. 
Oct. 28 — Daniel Dow, son of Gideon. 
Nov. 11 — Elizabeth Williams, daughter of Walter. 

Joanna Car, daughter of Saunders Car. 
Nov. 25 — Esther Greene, daughter of Dorothy. 

Sarah Longfellow, daughter of Jonathan. 
Dec. 10 — Isaac Brown, son of Jacob. 

1740, Feb. 11 — Samuel Shaw, son of Samuel. 
Feb. 28 — John Pervear, son of Philip. 
Mar. 2 — Joseph Batchelder, son of Joseph. 
Mar. 9 — Anna Shaw, wife of Ebenezer. 

Josiah Shaw, son of Ebenezer. 
Mar. 17 — Mary Blake, daughter of Israel, Sr. 
Mar. 30 — Hannah Hilliard, daughter of Jonathan. 
May 25 — Zebulun Hilliard, son of Timothy. 
June 1 — Lydia Swett, daughter of Benjamin. 

Huldah Green, daughter of Bradbury. 
June 8 — Sarah Prescott, daughter of Benjamin. 
June 22 — Jacob Quinby, son of Robert. 
June 29 — Daniel Prescott, son of Joseph. 

Nathaniel Garland, son of Joseph. 
Aug. 10 — Ruth Hall, wife of James. 
Nov. 2 — -Mathew Mackusick, son of John. 

1741, Jan. 14 — Theophilus Batchelder, son of Theophilus. 
Jan. 18 — Abial Shaw, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Jan. 25 — Rachel Fifield, daughter of Samuel. 

Jonathan Brown, son of Jeremiah. 
Feb. 22 — Stephen Prescott, son of Elisha. 
Mar. 8 — Susanna Sanborn, daughter of Caleb. 
Mar. 22 — ^Mary Green, daughter of John. 
Apr. 4 — Mehitable Brown, daughter of Thomas. 
Apr. 19 — Samuel Lane, son of Samuel. 

Enoch Gove, son of Enoch. 
Apr. 20 — Elizabeth Shaw, daughter of Samuel. 

Mehitable Blake, daughter of Israel, Jr. 
May 24 — Timothy Brown, son of John. 

Rachel, daughter of Fifield 's negro man, Jupiter. 
May 31 — Nathan Gove, son of Jeremiah. 

Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Ebenezer. 

Sarah Tilton, daughter of Samuel. 
June 2 — Walter Robie, son of John. 
Sept. 13 — Jonathan Chase, son of Jonathan. 
Sept. 27 — Samuel Weare, son of Meshech. 

Abigail Pearson, daughter of Jeremiah. 



110 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Oct. 11 — Johanna Batcheldor, daughter of John. 
Oct. 22— Martha Cass, single woman. 

Mary Prescott, daughter of Ebenezer. 
Nov. 8 — John Robie, son of Henry. 
Dec. 20 — Betty Car, daughter of Sanders Car. 
Dec. 27 — Josiah Swett, son of Jonathan. 
1742, Jan. 3 — Abigail French, daughter of John. 

John Boid, son of Thomas. 
Jan. 10 — Abigail Moulton, wife of Richard. 

Phineas Tilton, son of Nathan. 

Timothy Worth, son of Obcdiah. 

Jack, negro servant of Capt. J. Tilton. 
Jan. 17 — Sarah Sanborn, wife of Ephraim. 

Jonathan, Abigail and Elizabeth, adult children of 
Thomas Crosby. 

David, Abigail and Lydia Page, children of John. 

Elizabeth Longfellow, daughter of Jonathan. 
Feb. 7 — Anna Stewart, wife of Jonathan. 

Mary, daughter of Jonathan Stewart. 
Feb. 14 — Caleb Tilton, son of Jonathan. 

Caesar, negro servant of J. Batchelder. 
Feb. 21 — Stephen Blake, young man, son of Samuel. 
Feb. 26 — Elizabeth Green, wife of Jonathan. 

Benjamin, son of Jonathan Green. 

Nathaniel Haskel, son of Job. 
Mar. 7 — Ebenezer and Judith Gove, children of Edward. 
Mar. 14 — Ebenezer Tucker, son of Ebenezer. 

Elizabeth Blake, young woman, daughter of Samuel. 
Mar. 29 — John Flood and Mary, his wife. 

Joanna Edmonds, single woman. 
Apr. 4 — James Moulton, son of Richard. 
Apr. 18 — Sarah Garland, daughter of Joseph. 
May 16 — Abigail Brown, daughter of Jacob. 

Rachel Williams, daughter of Walter. 
May 22 — Dudley Sanborn, son of Benjamin. 
June 6 — Mary Green, daughter of Bradbury. 
June 11 — Ehzabeth Healey, daughter of Nathaniel. 
June 27 — Jacob Satterly, son of Susanna. 
July 4 — Edward Bussell, son of Nathaniel. 
Aug. 1 — Mary Dow, daughter of Gideon of Salisbury, 

Quaker. 
Aug. 22 — Daniel Pervear, son of Philip. 

Simeon Hilliard, son of Timothy. 

Theophilus Batchelder, son of Theophilus. 
Nov. 12 — Zilpah, daughter of Dea. Fificld's negro woman. 
Dec. 26 — Reuben Prescott, son of Elisha. 

Samuel, son of Daniel Perkins. 

David Batchelder, son of John. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 111 

1743, Jan. 9 — William Tobey, son of Isaac. 

Ann Sanborn, daughter of Ebenezer. 
Feb. 3 — Elizabeth Prescott, daughter of Benjamin. 
Feb. 27 — Lydia Prescott, daughter of Joseph. 

Nathan Gove, son of Enoch. 
Mar. 6 — John Green, son of John. 
May 8 — Sarah Quimby, daughter of Robert. 

Joanna Shaw, daughter of Ebenezer. 
June 5 — Rachel Frize, daughter of Jacob. 

Anna Tilton, daughter of John. 
June 19 — Abigail and Lydia, children of Edward Gove. 
July 3 — Sarah Shaw, daughter of Samuel. 

Mary Cram, daughter of Benjamin. 

Sarah Cooper, daughter of John. 
July 24 — Hannah, Mary and Ann Lilly, children of Thomas 
Lilly. 

John Roby, son of Henry. 
Aug. 7 — Sarah Moulton, wife of Benjamin, Jr. 

Benjamin and John, sons of Benjamin Moulton, Jr. 
Aug. 14 — Elizabeth HilUard, daughter of Jonathan. 
Sept. 18 — Judah Sanborn, son of Caleb. 
Oct. 2 — Sarah Miller, daughter of Robert. 
Oct. 16 — Mary Weare, daughter of Meshech. 
Nov. 6 — Reuben Tilton, son of Samuel. 
Nov. 13 — Jonathan and Molly, children of Mehitable 
Stanion. 

1744, Jan. 8 — ^Enoch Boid, son of Thomas. 

Jan. 15 — Lydia Hoit, young woman, daughter of Ephraim. 
Feb. 5 — Prudence Webster, daughter of Andrew. 
Feb. 12 — Mehitable Swett, daughter of Jonathan. 
Feb. 26 — Susanna Perkins, daughter of Daniel. 

David Stewart, son of Jonathan. 
Mar. 11 — Moses Davis, son of Huldah. 
Apr. 1 — Richard Nason, son of Richard. 

Elijah Green, son of Bradbury, 
"^pr. 8 — Dorothy Sanborn, daughter of Moses. 
Apr. 15 — Chase Hilliard, son of Timothy. 
May 5 — Hannah and Mehitable Chfford, twins of John 

Clifford. 
May 20 — Nehemiah Chase, son of Jonathan. 
May 27 — Mary Tilton, daughter of John. 
June 24 — Lydia Flood, daughter of John, Jr. 
July 15 — Timothy Batchelder, son of Theophilus. 
July 22 — Ann Miller, daughter of Robert. 
July 29 — Lydia Worth, daughter of Obediah. 
Aug. 25 — Abram Philbrick, son of Abner. 
Sept. 2 — Hannah Tucker, daughter of Ebenezer. 
Sept. 23 — Tobias Lakeman, son of Tobias. 



112 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Oct. 7 — Mary Tobej', daughter of Isaiah. 
Oct. 21- — Amos Lcavitt, son of Amos. 
Oct. 28 — John Batchelder, son of John. 
Nov. 4— Joseph Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
Nov. 11 — Nathaniel Tilton, son of Nathan. 

Phebe Prescott, daughter of Elisha. 
Dec. 9 — Israel ClifTord, son of Peter. 
Dec. 16— Ephraim Green, son of Jonathan. 

1745, Jan. 15 — Jonney Williams, son of Walter. 

Joseph Cram, son of Benjamin. 
Feb, 10 — Jonathan Cooper, son of John. 
Mar. 9 — Nancy Hilliard, daughter of Jonathan. 
Mar. 23 — Phebe Healey, daughter of Nathaniel. 
June 30 — Ann Shaw, daughter of Samuel. 

Jeremiah Marston Sanborn, son of Ephraim Sanborn. 
Aug. 25 — Gideon Dow, son of Lydia, wife of Gideon. 

Abraham Swain, son of Elias. 
Sept. 29 — Lydia Fogg, daughter of Simon. 
Oct. 13 — Andrew Webster, son of Andrew. 

Nathan Green, son of Jonathan or Nathan. 

May Green, daughter of Nathan. 
Oct. 27 — Ebenezer Sanborn, son of Ebenezer. 
Nov. 3 — Joanna Buswell, daughter of Natt. 

Susanna Sanborn, daughter of Reuben, Sr. 
Nov. 10 — Samuel Hoby, son of Henry. 
Nov. 17 — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Caleb. 
Nov. 24 — Stephen Lang, son of William. 

Ebenezer Cram, son of Jonathan. 

Sargent Shaw, son of Ebenezer. 

1746, Jan. 12 — Lydia Green, daughter of John. 
Feb. 9 — Sarah Swett, daughter of Jonathan. 
Feb. 16 — Anna Tilton, daughter of John. 

Mar. 9 — Susanna Batchelder, daughter of Theophilus. 
Mar. 23 — Mary Perkins, daughter of Daniel. 

Elizabeth Flood, daughter of John, Jr. 
Apr. 6 — Abigail Tilton, daughter of Samuel. 

Henr^^ Sanborn, son of Moses. 
Apr. 13 — Michal Brown, son of Jonathan. 
Apr. 20 — Nathaniel Green, son of Bradbury. 
May 4 — Elizabeth Nason, daughter of Richard. 

Daniel Bold, son of Thomas. 
June 15 — Dorothy Miller, daughter of Robert. 

June 22 — John Los , son of John. 

July 6 — Jane Clifford, daughter of Peter. 
July 13 — Redmond Moulton, son of Richard. 
Aug. 17 — Page Tobey, child of Isaacs. 
Sept. 7 — Mary Batchelder, daughter of John. 
Sept. 28 — Benjamin Batchelder, son of Joseph. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 113 

May Prescott, daughter of Samuel, Jr. 
Oct. 5 — Jonathan Roberts, son of Thomas. 

Mercy Taylor, single woman. 
Oct. 26 — Hannah Hoit, single woman. 
Dec. 6 — Elizabeth Lakeman, daughter of Tobias. 

Jemima Green, daughter of Nathan. 
Dec. 28 — Mary Worth, daughter of John. 

1747, Jan. 25 — Nathan Pierson, son of Nathan. 
Feb. 1 — Ebenezer Sanborn, son of Reuben, Sr. 

Eaton Green, son of Jonathan. 

Hannah Russel, daughter of Abigail, wife of Jo, Quaker. 
Mar. 14 — Arthur and Nancy Bennett, children of Caleb. 

Hannah Cram, daughter of Nathan. 
Mar. 22 — Mary Stewart, daughter of Jonathan Stewart. 
Mar. 29 — John Brown, son of Thomas. 
Apr. 5 — Jemima Moulton, daughter of Benjamin, Jr. 

Michael and Rachel Sargent, children of Edward. 
Apr. 12 — Edmond Brown, son of Edmond. 
Apr. 26 — Daniel Prescott, son of Elisha. 

Josiah Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
June 28 — Sarah Sanborn, daughter of Abner, Jr. 
July 5 — Nathaniel Chase, son of Jonathan. 
July 12 — Jemima Quimby, daughter of Widow Quimby. 
Aug. 3 — Rachel Flood, daughter of John. 

Sarah Sargent, daughter of Edward. 
Sept. 6 — Mary Hilliard, daughter of Benjamin. 

Mary Sanborn, daughter of Ephraim (Epping). 
Sept. 20 — Molly Blake, daughter of Stephen. 
Oct. 18 — Elizabeth Shaw, daughter of Eben. 

Benjamin Cram, son of Jonathan. 

Molly, daughter of Mary Swain. 
Nov. 1 — Nathan Weare, son of Meshech. 
Nov. 15 — Mary Williams, widow, aged 71. 
Dec. 13 — Abigail Batchelder, daughter of Theophilus. 

David Sanborn, son of Daniel. 
Dec. 27 — Sarah Tilton, daughter of John. 

John Sanborn, son of Ebenezer. 

1748, Mar. 13 — Josiah Lang, son of William. 

Mar. 20 — Elizabeth Boyd, daughter of Thomas. 

Apr. 3 — Sarah Worth, daughter of John. 

May 1 — Joseph Green, son of Bradbury. 

May 8 — Abigail Perkins, daughter of Daniel. 

June 26 — Elizabeth Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Theophilus Sanborn, son of Benjamin. 
July 3 — Stephen Tilton, son of Nathan. 

Josiah Moulton, son of Richard. 

Anna Roby, daughter of Henry. 
July 10 — Mathew Batchelder, son of John. 



114 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

July 17 — Nathaniel Bussel, son of Natt. 

Mary Philbrick, daughter of Abner's wife. 
July 24 — Benjamin Green, son of John. 
Sept. 11 — Jonathan Swett, son of Jonathan. 
Sept. 25 — Rachel Sanborn, daughter of Caleb. 
Oct. 16 — Hannah Shaw, daughter of Caleb. 
Oct. 23 — Ebenezer Webster, son of Andrew. 
Nov. G — Lydia and Elizabeth, twins of Samuel. 

Lucy Bennett, daughter of Caleb. 
Nov. 13 — Daniel Sanborn, son of Enoch. 
Nov. 20 — Meribah Prescott, daughter of Eben. 
Dec. — Deborah Nason, daughter of Richard. 
Dec. 25 — Asa Green, son of Nathan. 

Nathan Cram, son of Nathan. 

1749, Jan. 29 — James Sanborn, son of Moses. 

Mar. 3 — Mehitable Prescott, daughter of Benjamin. 
Mar. 5 — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Reuben, Jr. 
Mar. 19 — Ebenezer Shaw, son of Ebenezer. 

Lydia Sanborn, daughter of John. 
Mar. 26 — Stephen Sanborn, son of Daniel. 
Apr. 2 — Jonathan Hilliard, son of Jonathan. 
Apr. 16 — Margaret Lakeman, daughter of Tobias. 
May 7 — Mary Fellows, daughter of John. 
June 11 — Elizabeth Weare, daughter of Meshech. 
June 18 — Dinah and Judah Snclling, servants of Jonathan 

Tilton. 
June 25 — Rhoda Sanborn, daughter of Abner, Jr. 
July 16 — Elinor Worth, daughter of Obediah. 
Aug. 6 — Joel Cram, son of Jonathan. 
Aug. 20 — Jeremiah Dow, son of Gideon's wdfe. 
Sept. 8 — Hannah Sargent (or Seargent), daughter of Edward. 

John Blake, son of Stephen. 
Nov. 19 — Nathaniel Healey, son of Nathaniel, Jr. 

Apphia Sanborn, daughter of Enoch, Jr. 
Dec. 10 — Susanna Sleeper, daughter of John. 
Dec. 31 — Abigail Roby, daughter of Henry. 

Samuel Brooks Tol3ey, son of Israel. 

David Boyd, son of Thomas. 

1750, Jan. 21 — Josiah Batchelder, son of John. 
Mar. 4 — John Hilliard, son of Benjamin. 

Mark Sanborn, son of Ebenezer. 
Mar. 18 — John Worth, son of John. 
Apr. 1 — Anna Stewart, daughter of Jonathan. 
Apr. 15 — Ebenezer Sanborn, son of Reuben, Jr. 
Apr. 22 — Thomas Moulton, son of Benjamin, Jr. 

Olin Bennett, daughter of Caleb. 
Apr. 24 — Judith, daughter of Jonathan Tilton's Indian 
woman. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 115 

June 3 — Anna Swett and Dorothy, children of Widow Swett. 

Elizabeth Green, daughter of Jonathan. 
June 10 — John Lang, son of William. 
July 1 — Ebenezer Prescott, son of Elisha. 

Jonathan Cram, son of Bradbury. 
July 8 — Hezekiah Batchelder, son of Theophilus. 
Sept. 23 — Susanna Roberts, daughter of Thomas. 
Sept. 30 — Maria Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 
Oct. 1 — OUve Clifford, daughter of Abraham. 
Nov. 4 — Abigail Weare, daughter of Meshech, Esq. 
Dec. 2 — Mary Tilton, wife of Benjamin. 

Michael Tilton, son of Benjamin. 

Mary Healey, daughter of Stephen. 

1751, Jan. 20 — Peter Tilton, son of Jonathan. 
Feb. 17 — Daniel Webster, son of Andrew. 

Oilman Cram, son of Peter. 
Feb. 24 — Ezekiel Cram, son of Nathan. 
Mar. 3 — Nathan Sanborn, son of Nathan. 
Mar. 10— Abigail Lakeman, daughter of Tobias. 
Mar. 24 — Edmund Brown, son of Edmund. 

Ann Wasson, daughter of Richard. 
Mar. 31 — ^Hannah Blake, daughter of Stephen. 
Apr. 28 — Ebenezer Tilton, son of Nathan. 

Jeremiah Brown, son of Daniel. 
June 9 — Ebenezer Shaw, son of Ebenezer. 

Jane Sanborn, daughter of Daniel. 

Achiel Green, son of Nathan. 
June 23 — Josiah Shaw, son of Caleb. 
July 7 — Hannah Cooper, daughter of John. 

Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Daniel. 
July 14 — Peter Sanborn, son of John. 
July 21 — Dolly Tilton, daughter of John. 
Aug. 11 — Lowell Sanborn, son of Abner, Jr. 
Aug. 25 — Jacob Cram, son of Benjamin. 
Sept. 1 — Molly Sanborn, daughter of Caleb. 
Sept. 21 — Mehitable Philbrick, daughter of Abner. 
Nov. 20 — Daniel Perkins, son of Daniel. 
Dec. 8 — Gideon Marshal, son of Francis. 

Elizabeth Cram, daughter of John. 

1752, Jan. 20 — Sarah Dearborn, daughter of Levi. 
Feb. 9 — John Tilton, son of Benjamin. 

Mar. 8 — Mary Sanborn, daughter of Enoch, Jr. 
Apr. 5 — Elizabeth Moulton, daughter of Benjamin. 

Elizabeth Prescott, daughter of William. 
May 3 — Mary Hoit, young woman. 
May 17 — Miriam Batchelder, daughter of Theophilus. 
May 31 — Elizabeth Cram, daughter of Peter. 
June 17 — Ebenezer Tilton, son of Samuel. 



116 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Lydia Dow, daughter of Gideon, Quaker. 
June 21^ — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Reuljen, Jr. 
July 5 — Molly Bennett, daughter of Calel). 
July 19 — Abigail Adams, daughter of Archelaus. 
July 26 — Anna Healey, daughter of Nathaniel, Jr. 

Mary Sargent, daughter of Edward. 
Aug. 9 — Hannah and Mar^' Thresher, children of Henry, 

Quaker. 
Aug. 23 — Richard Weare, son of Meshech, Esq. 
Sept. 17 — Elizabeth Sanborn, daughter of Joseph, Jr. 

Mary Hilliard, daughter of Jonathan. 
Dec. 24 — Henry Roby, son of Henry. 

1753, Feb. 23 — Lucy Lakeman, daughter of Tobias. 
Mar. 25 — Jeremiah Sanborn, son of David. 

Apr. 8 — Dorothy Hilliard, daughter of Benjamin. 

Dolly Green, daughter of Bradbury. 

Lucretia Tilton, daughter of John. 
Apr. 15 — David Swett, son of John. 
June 3 — Sarah Blake, daughter of Stephen. 
Aug. 19 — Susanna Sanborn, daughter of John. 
Aug. 20 — Elisha Prescott, son of William. 
Sept. 2 — Joseph Green, son of John. 

Robert Marshall, son of Francis. 
Sept. 9 — Mary Cram, daughter of Nathan. 
Sept. 29 — Phebe Sanborn, daughter of Abner, Jr. 
Oct. 5 — Simeon Shaw, son of Caleb. Private. 
Oct. 7 — Dorothy and Theophilus Swain, children of John. 
Oct. 21 — Miriam Batchelder, daughter of Joseph. 

Shuah Nason, daughter of Richard. 
Nov. 18 — Sarah Blake, single woman. 

Huldah Blake, single woman. 

Thomas Blake, son of Huldah. 
Nov. 25 — Sarah Prescott, daughter of Samuel, 3d. 
Dec. 2 — Nathan Brown, son of Nathan. 

Charles Chase, son of John, Jr. 
Dec. 9 — Thomas Shaw, son of Ebenczer. 

1754, Jan. 27 — Molly Tilton, daughter of Benjamin. 
Mar. 7 — Jacob Thresher, son of Henry, Quaker. 

Abigail Sargent, daughter of Edward. 
Mar. 9 — Hannah Weare, daughter of Meshech. 

Sarah Sanljorn, daughter of Reuben, Jr. 

Samuel and Hannah Davis, twins, children of Hannah. 
Mar. 20 — Benjamin Batchelder, son of Widow Mariah. 
June 23 — John Stanyan Cram, son of Peter. 
June 30 — Thomas Moulton, son of Benjamin. 
July 14 — Jemima Green, daughter of Nathan. 

Jacob and Elizabeth Swain, children of William. 

True Perkins, son of Jonathan. 



UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 117 

Nathaniel Weare Cram, son of Daniel. 
Miriam Hoit, daughter of John. 
Ann Longfellow, daughter of Green. 
Sept. 1 — Jemima Blake, daughter of Jeremiah. 
Oct. 13 — Lowell Lang, son of William. 
Oct. 20 — Hilliard Shaw, son of Caleb. 
Oct. 27 — Daniel Tilton, son of Samuel. 
Nov. 17 — Christopher, Sarah and Betty Blake, children of 

Jeremiah, Jr. 
Nov. 18 — Jonathan Batchelder, son of John. Private. 
Dec. 8 — Daniel Cram, son of Daniel. 
Dec. 15 — Reuben Swain, son of William. 
Dec. 22 — Molly Sanborn, daughter of Daniel. 
1752, May 3 — Mary Hoit owned the covenant and was baptized. 
Aug. 9 — Mary Thresher, wife of Henry Thresher, Quaker, 
renewed the covenant and had her children baptized. 
1753 — John Swain, Jr., and Judith, his wife, renewed their cov- 
enant, and had their children baptized. 
Nov. 18 — Susan Blake owned the covenant, and was bap- 
tized. Also Huldah Blake, having made an acknowl- 
edgement of her breach of the seventh commandment, 
was baptized after her owning the covenant, and had her 
child baptized. 
Dec. 22 — Nathan Brown and Ann, his wife, and Rachel 
Chase, wife of John, renewed the covenant and had their 
children baptized. 
1754 — Will Swain and wife, with Daniel Cram and wife, ac- 
knowledged the breach of the seventh commandment 
and had their children baptized. 

Jonathan Perkins and wife, with Abigail Longfellow, 
renewed the covenant and had their children baptized. 

Jeremiah Blake and Abigail, his wife, made an ac- 
knowledgement of the breach of the seventh command- 
ment and Sept. 1st were admitted to full communion 
and had their child baptized. 
Nov. 24 — Tabitha Blake, wife of Timothy, acknowledged 
her breach of the seventh commandment, renewed her 
covenant and had her children baptized. 
By a rule of the church, if a child was born within less than 
seven months after marriage, it was considered a breach of the 
seventh commandment. 

Those who owned the covenant were new members; those 
renewing the covenant had owned it at some previous time. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS. 

The first parish meeting was held October 6, 1718. 

1640 — Thomas Philbrick settled in that part of Hampton now 
Seabrook in 1640. He had three sons, John, James 
and Thomas. 

1654 — Anthonj' Stanion was a deputy to the General Court in 
1654. He lived at Hampton Falls and kept an ordinary 
or tavern at or near where Charles N. Dodge now lives. 
Persons by the name of Stanion were rated here until 
after 1772. 

1697 — The minister at Hampton w'as forbidden bj- Governor 
Usher to observe a Thanksgiving daj' which had been 
appointed by President Hinks. 

1703 — The Widow Mussy, a noted speaker among the Quakers, 
was killed by the Indians in that part of Hampton 
which is now Seabrook, The Quakers lived in that part 
of the town. 

1718 — At a legal meeting of the new parish in Hampton Falls 
the 8th of December, 1718, it was voted: "3dly, it is 
agreed upon that we will give Rev. Mr. Cotton twenty 
pounds yearly for three years ensuing as a free gift." 
Voted. A few persons dissented from this vote. 

"Voted, 4thly, it is ordered and agreed upon that 
Capt. Cass, James Prescott and Jethro Tilton, be a 
committee to let out the building and repairing of the 
parsonage fence for six or ten years, provided they do 
not exceed three pounds per year." 
Mar. 10 — In the doings of the parish at the general parish 
meeting it was voted: "lOthly, it is ordered that the 
selectmen shall have power to employ men to repair the 
parsonage fence for the year ensuing and to raise money 
to pa}^ them." 

From the same record it appeared that the parish 
appointed a committee to employ a schoolmaster. 

1719, July 10 — At a legal meeting held by the free holders of the 
new parish in Hampton: "Voted, that the twenty 



EXTBACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 119 

pounds which was added to Mr. Cotton's salary be 
paid by way of an equal assessment upon each man's 
estate." 

1720, Oct. 5 — " Voted that the place for setting the schoolhouse 

shall be upon Mr. Stanion's hill." There was some 
dissent from this vote. This location was upon the 
town common. 

1721, Mar. 14 — A new place was selected for the schoolhouse. 

The record reads: ''It is ordered that ye schoolhouse 
shall be built and set on the hill near the place where 
^ the old fort was, commonly called Prescott's fort." 
This latter location was near the house of the late 
Wells W. Healey. 

At the same meeting the following votes were passed : 
"It is agreed upon that we will give Mr. Cotton twenty 
pounds in addition to his sixty pounds salary yearly ye 
time of his work in ye ministry among us"; that it 
"be raised by way of rate, with ye forepart of his salary" ; 
that "Deacon Shaw and James Prescott be a committee 
to discourse Mr. Cotton concerning his preaching our 
lectures to us during his life time and to take his answer 
and bring it to us at the meeting." 

1722/3, Mar. 1 — ^Philemon Blake and Robert Roe, Srs., were 
chosen overseers of the parsonage fence, "to see it 
repaired and bring in ye account to ye selectmen of ye 
charge of ye same, for ye year ensuing." 

Also that "Deacon Shaw is to make use of ye boards 
that is about ye burying place to build a fence and 
gate along ye front of ye burying place with ye same." 

1723/4 — " Voted that there shall be an order passed upon, causing 
the chairs to be removed out of ye meeting house; that 
James Prescott is appointed to take care that the alleys 
in ye meeting house be cleared of chairs and kept clear 
and if any person refuseth to have his chair removed out 
of ye meeting house they shall pay a fine of five shillings. 
James Prescott is appointed to prosecute said act and 
to have one half for his pains and ye other half to ye 
benefit of ye parish." 

Also "that any man that suffers his dog to come into 
ye meeting house on ye Lord's day shall pay a fine of 
five shillings." 



120 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1725/6 — "Voted that it is our desire to be set off from the old 
parish at town to the ministry and all other taxes." 

1726, Aug. 22 — Votes were passed to settle up Mr. Cotton's 
accounts by paying all arrears to his executor; to give 
Mrs. Cotton the use of the parsonage during the summer; 
to request Mrs. Cotton to entertain the ministers who 
should be employed to preach; to defray the expense of 
Mr. Cotton's funeral. 
Aug. 31 — At a legal meeting of the first parish (in the old 
town Hampton) Capt. Joshua Wingate and Capt. John 
Smith were chosen agents to remonstrate against the 
prayer of the petition of the Falls parish to be incor- 
porated as a town before the General Asseml)ly. But 
this was afterward done by the assembly and it con- 
tributed to the quiet and peace which had been so long 
disturbed by the local jealousies. 

On the 19th of the month the Rev. Theophilus 
Cotton died. 
Sept. 3 — A committee was appointed to procure a candidate 
for settlement in the ministry who were directed to 
employ a Mr. March; whether Mr. March ever came 
is not mentioned. At the same meeting it was "voted 
that the hind seat in the woman's gallery may be built 
up by ye young women as a pew for theii* use with this 
provision that they maintain the glass against said sett 
and bring in their names to the selectmen within a 
month's time." 
Oct. 4 — A committee was authorized to employ Mr. Whipple 
to preach as a candidate. Mr. Whipple appears to 
have been employed immediatel}'. This we infer from 
the subsequent proceedings of the parish. 
Nov. 1 — " Voted that Mr. Whipple be called to be our min- 
ister to preach the gospel to us. Voted that we will 
give the Reverend Mr. Whipple one hundred and forty 
pounds annually in case he settle with us in the work of 
the ministry. He finding himself fire wood and every- 
thing else." 

This offer does not appear to have been accepted for 
we find it "voted, November 30, that we will give the 
Reverend Joseph Whipple one hundred and twenty 



EXTRACTS BROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 121 

pounds in money annually and ye use of the parsonage. 
Only reserving to our own use the pine timber and the 
hemlock timber for fencing with that provision that 
the above said Mr. Whipple settle with us in the work 
of the ministry." These appear to have been the 
terms upon which Mr. Whipple was settled. 

At the same meeting a vote was passed to purchase 
Mrs. Cotton's land and buildings for the use of the parish 
forever. 

1728, Mar. 28 — A committee was appointed to ascertain and 

renew the bounds of the parsonage lands. At the same 
meeting permission was given by vote to certain indi- 
viduals to build a schoolhouse near the meeting house. 
There is no record to show that a schoolhouse was built 
at that time. 

1729, Aug. 16 — The selectmen of the two parishes met and 

described the divisional lines. 

1729/30 — Votes were passed authorizing Philip Pervear to ex- 
change a piece of land, near or adjoining the little 
parsonage, for a piece of land before Mr. Whipple's 
door, and annex said piece of land to the parsonage. 
This exchange was made. 

Also "voted to appoint persons to take care of the 
parsonage and to repair the fences." A committee 
was appointed to view the meeting house and to see 
what seats were proper to be made and to take mea- 
sures to have the work done. 

1730/1 — "Voted that the selectmen give notice to those persons 
that have pews in ye meeting house to mend the glass 
against their pews according to agreement, within a 
week after the date hereof. Otherwise they will be 
disposed of to other uses." 

1731, Nov. 17^ — ^It was voted to repair the parsonage fence. 
The people were taxed to do this and were permitted to 
work out their taxes according to the rule for working 
out highway taxes. 

Also "voted that those that have glass against their 
pews in our meeting house if they wont repair it then the 
selectmen shall board and clapboard it up tite." 

Also "voted that there be a window or windows made 
in the meeting house by the pulpit. " 



122 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

From the above votes and the frequent minutes upon 
the town records of expense of repairing the windows 
in the meeting house, it would appear that breaking 
glass was an amusement much indulged in by the boys 
and other mischievous persons in those early days. 

1731/2, Mar. 21— "Voted that we will add to ye Reverend 
Mr. Whipple's salary twenty pounds for the ensuing 
year. " 

In consequence of disputes and difficulties it was 
found necessary to run the lines and renew the bounds 
of the parsonage. This was done by the selectmen and 
the owners of the land on the third day of May, 1732. 

1732/3 — It was "voted to continue the addition of twenty 
pounds to Mr. Whipple's salary j^earlj' for this year 
also." The addition was first made the year previous; 
the occasion of the increase was the depreciation of the 
currency. 
June 18 — Among other doings at a parish meeting six persons 
were chosen to take care of the youths on the Lord's day. 

1734, Oct. 7 — Votes were passed authorizing the payment of the 
twenty pounds additional to the salary of IMr. Whipple, 
and to assume the expense of paying a minister to preach 
four months during the winter in the west part of the 
town (Kensington) if the people in that neighborhood 
hired one. 
Nov. 11 — A committee was appointed "to take care of the 
parsonage lots; to consult with the committee of the 
old parish which had been appointed to dispose of the 
parsonage lots, and to ascertain if the new parish might 
have a share in them; to search the records of the old 
parish and to see from whence said lott derived and to 
report to the parish." This was the beginning of a 
long and unsuccessful attempt on the part of the Falls 
people to acquire a part of the parsonage lands belong- 
ing to the town of Hampton. 

1734 — A meeting was called to be held on the 31st of March to 
pass a vote considering the low value of the present 
ciu-rency, "that Mr. AVhipplc may have twenty pounds 
or what may be thought proper given him toward his 
maintenance for the year ensuing and to hire a minister 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 123 

to preach to the inhabitants of the upper or western 
part of the parish four months in the year ensuing." 

At the same meeting it was "voted that the select- 
men shall raise money to pay Mr. Gihnan for preaching 
four months in the west part of this parish and to Mr. 
Whipple five pounds." 

1735 — An article was put in the warrant for a parish meeting 
notified to be held the 28th day of April, 1735, "to see 
if the free holders of said parish would be pleased to set 
off the upper or westerly part of their parish from paying 
any charge to the minister in the easterly or south part 
of said parish." This was probably that they might 
employ a minister. What action was taken the record 
does not show. 

1735/6— At a meeting called on the 24th of March, 1735/6, it 
was moved to excuse the west part of the parish from 
their ministerial tax and to agree upon a divisional line. 
But whether any action was had upon this subject does 
not appear. 

1738 — ^Among the records of the next year we find the following 
receipt: "In consideration of the sum of one hundred 
and fifty pounds in bills of credit to me in hand paid by 
the constable and selectmen for the year 1739. As also 
for other reasons I say: Received the full of all demands 
upon the parish as due for salary until the first day of 
December, one thousand seven hundred and thirty-nine. 
Received by me, Joseph Whipple, Hampton Falls, 
Feb. 29, 1739/40. " 

1738/9 — "Whereas the value of provisions is greatly risen and 
the wood on the parsonage is almost gone and now to go 
and consider whether we can help Mr. Whipple or no." 
Mar. 13 — ^" Voted to give Mr. Whipple thirty pounds upon 
the consideration that when this money is paid Mr. 
Whipple will give a receipt in full for the time past, ever 
since he has been our minister. " 
Oct. 22 — The name of Meshech Weare appears as modera- 
tor of a parish meeting. After this we often find his 
name among the parish officers. The same year meas- 
ures were taken to fence the parsonage lands with stone 
wall. 



124 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1739/40 — In a warrant for a meeting to be held March 11, 1739/ 
40, was an article "to consider whether to make any 
allowance in consideration to ye Hev*^ Mr. Whipple in 
wood, provisions or any other way, that may be judged 
proper to make his salary as gootl as at ye time of his 
settling with us." It was voted to give Mr. Whipple 
thirty pounds that year in money or passable bills of 
credit. 

1740 — In the autumn of 1740 votes were passed to go on with 
the work of making stone walls at the upper and lower 
parsonages. 

In a warrant for a meeting March 10, 1740, w^e find 
this: "Whereas there has for some years past been some 
allowance to Rev. Mr. Whipple in consideration of the 
badness of our money, to consider whether they will do 
the same the ensuing year, or whether there cannot some 
way be found out to adjust that matter so as to make a 
final settlement of it and put an end to all controversy 
about it." 

At the same meeting: "voted to give Mr. Whipple 
thirty pounds in money or passable bills of credit. " 

At this meeting notice was had of the poor of the town 
and it was voted "that the selectmen provide a home for 
the poor if need be." Similar votes were passed at 
different times but no action appears to have ever been 
taken in the matter. 

1740/1, Mar. 23 — "Voted to pay the parish taxes the insuing 
year in Province and ministerial rates excepted, in 
manufactory bills so called." Apr. 21, 1741, it was 
voted to revoke this vote. 

1742, Apr. — "Voted to give Mr. Whipple thirty pounds the 
present year." An adjourned parish meeting this 
year is called the church meeting in Hampton Falls 
parish. 

1742/3 — It was voted to give a bounty of five pounds a head for 
kiUing wolves. 

1743 — In September 1743, forty pounds were voted Mr. Whipple 
in consideration of his giving a receipt in full. This, 
with his one hundred twenty pounds regular salary, 
was all to be paid in passable bills of credit equal in 
value to new tenor. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 125 

1743/4, Mar. 13 — Forty pounds old tenor were added to Mr. 
Whipple's salary for this year. A committee was 
appointed to examine the claims of the parish to the 
parsonage lands and make report. These lands were 
probably situated in Old Hampton. In November of 
the same year it was "voted to apply to Kensington and 
North Hill to see if they will join us concerning the 
parsonage rights or shares. " 

1745 — In the. month of June a meeting was held at Hampton at 
which the people of Hampton Falls claimed the right 
of voting. They were refused and in consequence a 
parish meeting was warned and held September 30, 
1745, at which a committee was appointed "to main- 
tain actions at the expense of the parish against those 
who refused them the privilege of voting; to answer and 
defend against any accusation, complaint, actions of 
trespass against the freeholders and inhabitants of this 
parish, or any of them for appearing at said commoners' 
meeting at Hampton on the 20th of June last or any of 
their actions, or behavior thereat." 

1746/7, Mar. — At the annual meeting this year, nothing was done 
to increase Mr. Whipple's salary. In September he 
called for more, considering himself entitled by his 
contract with the parish for enough to make his salary 
as much as it was when he was settled, viz., one hundred 
and twenty pounds lawful money. Consequently a 
meeting was called and it was "voted that Mr. Whipple's 
salary be yearly during his ministry in this parish equal 
to what it was at the time of his settling with us, the 
parsonage and all things considered." After this a 
committee was chosen yearly to adjust Mr. Whipple's 
salary. 

1749/50 — The old parsonage house was consumed by fire Feb- 
ruary 18, 1749/50. A parish meeting was called Febru- 
ary 26, at which the parish "voted that the house of 
Benjamin Swett, inn holder, where Mr. Morton lately 
lived, be hired by the parish for our minister for the 
time being." It was also "voted to build a new house 
on same ground where the old one stood." The new 
house was to be two stories high, forty feet by thirty. 



126 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

One stack of chimneys, boards and timber were to be 
taken from the parsonage land as far as possible. A 
committee was appointed to carry these plans into 
effect. 

1750 — In 1750 is the first mention of a place called "Byfield" in 
the records. For several years the people in the remote 
parts of the town were allowed to take their share of 
the school money and lay it out themselves. This year 
the people in Byfield claimed the same privilege. There 
appears to have been a grammar school kept in the 
town, as there was an article inserted in the warrant 
for a meeting April 1, 1751, "to see if the parish will 
dismiss the grammar school for the year ensuing, and 
to choose two capable men to keep the schools." The 
record does not show that this was done. 

At the annual meeting, March 12, 1750, the committee 
chosen to build the parsonage house presented their 
accounts which were settled by the parish and a receipt 
was given by which it appears that the accounts 
amounted to eighteen hundred and seven pounds six- 
teen shillings old tenor. 

1750/1 — In the notice of a meeting to be held March 1, 1750/1, 
was an article "to see, firstly, what may be proper to 
be done with these men that refuse to pay their rates, 
viz., Edward Palmer and Henry Lamprey." What 
was done with these men the record does not show, or 
on what grounds they refused payment of their rates. 

1752 — A proposition was made in 1752 to sell a piece of land in 
Kensington near Obadiah Johnson's. How the parish 
acquired the land, or how it was disposed of, does not 
appear upon the record. It was also voted to make 
some walls about the upper or lower parsonage land. 

The same year it was "voted to have a reading and 
writing school for six months beside the grammar 
school." The same vote was renewed and the same 
arrangement continued for several years succeeding. 

1753 — "Voted to build a pound thirty-five feet square, of hard 
pine lumber, near where the old pound stood." 

In England, from the fourteenth century until the 
change of style in 1752, the legal and ecclesiastic year 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 127 

began March 25, although not uncommon to reckon it 
from January 1. After the change of style was adopted 
events which had occurred before March 25, in January, 
February and March would, according to the new 
arrangement, be reckoned in the next subsequent year. 
Events which occurred before 1752, between January 1 
and March 25, were often chronicled by using both 
years. Example: 1743/4, this method of notation is 
often seen upon old papers and records dated previous 
to 1752, after which time it disappeared. It occurs 
many times in this book and in the town history. 

1755 — Samuel Lane was chosen to serve as constable in the place 
of Jonathan Tilton who had gone to Crown Point. 

Daniel Sanborn was paid three pounds fifteen shillings 
for making a parish chest to put ammunition in. The 
same year the parish bought a barrel and a half of 
powder costing fifty-five pounds, three hundred weight 
of bullets and lead which cost twenty-nine pounds 
twelve shilHngs six pence, four hundred and fifty flints. 
Paid for a lock for said chest, seventeen shillings six 
pence. These amounts were probably in old tenor, and 
did not represent more than a tenth part of the value 
in coin. 

1756 — Nehemiah Brown and Ann, his wife, made a claim in her 
right to one hundred acres of land originally granted to 
Thomas Ward, Jacob Stanion and Jonathan Gove, but 
the parish refused to take any action on the matter. 
At the request of Hampton an article was inserted in a 
warrant for another parish meeting "to see if the parish 
would aid in the defence of this suit." What action 
was taken in the matter the records do not show. 
Probably none. 

The parish voted that the grammar school should be 
kept at the meeting house hill through the year, and 
permission was given to those who lived more than a 
mile and a half distant to take their part of the money 
and use it among themselves. 

One pound four shillings was paid for four pairs of 
gloves for the bearers at the funeral of Widow Hannah 
Cooper who had for several years been a town charge. 



128 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1757 — During Mr. Whipple's ministry the records show that 
many persons owned the covenant for the purpose of 
being baptized with their children. This was probably 
what was known as the half way covenant, which, it is 
understood, was in use and allowed in our town church 
in the early days, and later was the cause of much 
trouble in many places. It was claimed that unworthy 
persons were admitted to membership. The churches 
which allowed the half way covenant were more liberal 
in their belief. The use of the half way covenant was 
made a pretext for the division of the church in this 
town in 1834. 

There are frequent references to cases of discipline. 
Confessions were often made by those who had fallen 
into sin, in consequence of which, after having been 
admonished, they were restored to church membership. 
This was under Mr. Whipple's ministry and shows a 
commendable attention to the welfare of his church. 

During Mr. Whipple's ministry there were frequent 
calls for delegates to attend ordinations, councils, and 
other church gatherings in the neighl)oring towns. 
These invitations seem to have been accepted and were 
seasons of enjoyment, and were about the only outings 
the people of those times had. 

During Mr. Whipple's ministry, on October 4, 1737, 
fifty-seven persons (twenty-two males and thirty-five 
females) were dismissed to incorporate a church at 
Kensington. Thirty-foiu' other persons were dismissed 
and recommended to different churches in other places 
at different times. 
May 3 — Mr. Josiah Bayley was chosen by every vote to 
settle as pastor, and a committee was chosen to make 
out a call in the name of the parish. As an inducement 
to Mr. Bayley to settle with them- they voted him a 
salary of fifty pounds sterling and the use of the par- 
sonage during his ministry. IMr. Bajdey accepted in a 
letter wliich appears elsewhere and which is the only 
known written production by him which is now in 
existence. 

Mr. Bayley was unmarried. He was thoroughly 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 129 

evangelical and devotedly pious. During his short 
ministry interest in religious matters seems to have 
revived. He endeared himself much to his people and 
died, after an illness of seven or eight months, greatly 
lamented. 

1760 — An attempt was again made to recover a part of the par- 
sonage lands in Hampton for the use of the parish in 
Hampton Falls in the year 1760. To accomplish this 
object a committee was appointed, at a meeting held 
on the 8th of September, who were directed to search 
the records of Hampton and report. This was done 
but the parish voted against standing a suit of law. 
Thus ended a controversy of some years' standing, in 
which it would appear that the Falls people were in 
the wrong. 

1762 — It was "voted this year to tax for the support of the 
gospel all persons living to the eastward of the dividing 
line between Hampton Falls and Kensington." 

1765 — Considerable dissatisfaction had developed. Mr. Henry 
Robie refused to pay his ministerial tax, and a suit was 
commenced by the parish to recover it. This was fol- 
lowed by several other suits of similar character apd 
the trouble increased until a new parish was formed. 
The territorial limits were probably embraced within 
the present town of Seabrook. 
Sept. 2 — "Voted that the people called Presbyterians be set 
off as a distinct parish." At the same meeting: "Voted 
not io make any division of the parsonage lands or 
ministerial lands of the parish." 

Notwithstanding this vote, the parish afterward 
opposed the attempts which were made by the Presby- 
terians to "make a regular division of the parish, and 
when the latter sent up a petition to the General Court 
for that purpose, a committee was appointed by the 
parish to oppose it. 

The first committee was chosen December 30, 1765. 
A second committee for the same purpose was appointed 
November 23, 1767. 

1767 — The General Assembly passed an act to divide the parish 
according to the request of the Presbyterians and 

10 



130 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

appointed a committee to represent the interests of the 
parish before the court committee. 
1768, July 25 — A committee was chosen to confer with the com- 
mittee of the Presbyterian Society in Seabrook for the 
purpose of finally settling all difficulties respecting 
ministerial taxes in arrears, and all other pecuniary 
matters in relation to the subject. This is the first 
time Seabrook is mentioned upon the record. 

Soon after this the subject of a new meeting house in 
the parish was agitated. 
Dec. 19 — After hearing the report of the committee which 
had been appointed to centre and locate, it was voted 
to build the new meeting house on the vacant land near 
Mr. Jeremiah Lane's. This house was fifty-five feet by 
forty feet, and was built upon the spot of ground men- 
tioned, which was about two miles from the place where 
the first meeting house w^as built, and was upon the 
Exeter road. 
1768 — Paine Wingate was minister in Hampton Falls, Samuel 
Perley in Seabrook, Jeremiah Fogg in Kensington, 
Nathaniel Noyes in South Hampton. 

The following are inscriptions on gravestones in 
Stratham Cemetery: 

Hon. Eunice 

Paine Wingate Relict of 

Died Mar. 7th 1838 Hon. Paine Wingate 

Ae 99 years Died Jan. 7th 1843 

Aged 100 years 
1769 — At a meeting held February 7, 1769, a motion was made 
to reconsider the votes passed at former meetings but 
the moderator, Capt. Jonathan Tilton, refused to put 
the motion. The report of the committee for selhng 
the pews being read, the moderator was requested to 
put the vote whether the report should be accepted. 
This he refused to do and dissolved the meeting. 

It has been said that the committee who located had 
centred the territory instead of the inhabitants, and had 
the new meeting house been built near where the town 
house now stands there would prol)abl3^ have been no 
trouble as was occasioned by the location which was 
selected. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 131 

The building committee were Jonathan Cram, Elisha 
Prescott, Samuel Prescott and William Prescott. Before 
commencing the pews were sold at public auction, and 
the proceeds wliich could be paid in building materials 
used to construct the house. Twenty pews sold for 
three hundred and fifty-one pounds two shillings, 
proclamation money which, with the sale of the remain- 
ing pews, was enough to build and finish the new meet- 
ing house. 
Oct. 16 — •" Voted to abate all those persons rates that belong 
to Seabrook that are in arrear in the ministerial rates." 

1770 — In a protest signed by fifty-eight persons declaring that 
they would not pay any minister tax, dated April 30, 
1770, it is stated that they were obliged to hire preach- 
ing at the new meeting house at their own cost. 

At this meeting it was ''voted that Mr. Wingate 
shall go to the new meeting house and preach and 
dedicate said house to the public worship of God as 
soon as conveniently may be." Elisha Prescott, Mr. 
Nathan Tilton and Capt. Jonathan Tilton, the modera- 
tor of the meeting, were chosen a committee to present 
the above vote to Mr. Wingate. After the passage of 
this vote Mr. Wingate still refused to dedicate or preach 
in the new meeting house. 

1771^ Sept. 30 — "Voted to dismiss Mr. Wingate and a committee 
was appointed to agree upon the terms of dismission. 
Mr. Wingate's letter of resignation was dated Decem- 
ber 4, 1771, to take effect March 1, 1776. On his dis- 
mission the parish, by agreement, gave Mr. Wingate 
fifty pounds sterling and the use of the parsonage four 
years. In consequence of this the parish voted the 
money by tax the current year to meet the bills occa- 
sioned by this. 

The votes passed from time to time show that the 
outside of the house was finished; that privileges for 
pews were sold. The inside of the house was finished 
by degrees. In later years the appearance of the house 
would indicate that the galleries were never entirely 
finished. It was dedicated to the parish by the building 
committee in 1771, some time in May. 



132 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1772, June 22 — "Voted to raise twenty pounds lawful money 

for the support of preaching this year." 

1773, June 22 — "Voted to raise forty pounds lawful money for 

preaching of the Congregational order." 
Mar. — An article was inserted in the warrant for a town 
meeting in March, 1773, "to see if the parish would 
raise money to settle the demands of Rev. Mr. Win- 
gate." The record says no vote was passed upon it. 

1774, June 27 — "Voted to raise money to pay for preaching six 

Sabbaths." 

This 3^ear Meshech Weare was appointed a delegate 
to go to Exeter and attend a convention called to ap- 
point delegates to attend the Continental Congress, 
expected to assemble in Philadelphia, and money was 
voted to pay the expense. 
Nov. 29 — "Voted to raise fifteen pounds lawful money for 
preaching." A committee was appointed to go and 
treat with the lower end of the parish concerning the 
difficulties that subsist in the parish. Another commit- 
tee was appointed to appl}^ to the association for advice 
concerning a minister. 

1775, Jan. 9 — Five delegates were appointed to attend the con- 

vention at Exeter to choose a delegate to Congress. 

Apr. 20 — "Voted to raise thirty pounds lawful money for 
the support of the soldiers in the army; to pay seven 
pounds three shillings pence, the expense of 

the soldiers while absent; to allow the soldiers three 
shillings each for their services, but for how long a time 
is not specified. 

May 3 — "Voted to raise ten pounds lawful mone}^ to provide 
ammunition." Delegates were again appointed to 
attend a convention to be held at Exeter Maj' 17. 

June 17 — A meeting was held June 7 to see, among other 
things, if the parish wo\dd vote to have ])reaching 
alternately in the two meeting houses, half the time in 
the old and half the time in the new. * 

The following record appears in a warrant for a meet- 
ing of the towns of Hampton Falls and Seabrook: 
"N. B. — The Congress for the Colony have resolved 
that no person be allowed a seat in Congress who shall 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 133 

by himself or any other person for him for said choice 
treat with Hqiior any elector with the apparent view of 
gaining their votes or afterwards on this account. 
Dated at Hampton Falls July 27, 1775." 
Dec. 19 — At a meeting notified and held December 19 it 
was "voted that Col. Meshech Weare be chosen to 
represent this parish in General Congress for one year 
to be held at Exeter and he is impowered to pursue such 
measures as he shall think proper for the public good." 

1776, Mar. 12 — "Voted that the income of the parsonage be 

appropriated to the use of the schools." On the same 
day Mr. Wingate resigned his office as pastor and his 
claims upon the parish, but he asked for a little exten- 
sion of time to remove his effects. 

May 6 — "Voted to have preaching two months, half the 
time in each meeting house." 

July 1 — Hampton Falls and Seabrook passed a vote refusing 
to send a representative to Congress. 

From a record of a meeting held July 16: "It appears 
that fourteen soldiers were enlisted for the Canada 
service, and a special bounty was voted thus beside 
the Colonial bounty. " 

July 29 — "Voted to hire preaching for ten sabbaths, six in 
the new and four in the old meeting house. " 

Oct. 29 — "Voted to have preaching three sabbaths and on 
Thanksgiving day." 

1777, Mar. 11 — At a meeting held March 11, it was "voted to 

divide the income of the parsonage proportionably 
between the two parts of the parish to be used according 
to their pleasure." 

A meeting was notified to be held March 3, 1777, to 
see, among other things, "if the parish will hire preach- 
ing the coming year. " What action was taken does not 
appear upon the record. 

A bounty was voted this year to encourage soldiers to 
enlist for three years or during the war. 
July 27 — "Voted to employ a candidate for settlement; to 
appoint a day of fasting and prayer in reference to the 
object; to invite the neighboring ministers to assist in 
the fast; to appropriate the income of the parsonage to 
the support of preaching. " 



134 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Dec. 29— "Voted to exempt those persons from paying 
ministerial taxes who have supported preaching at the 
old meeting house; to give Mr. P^benezer Dutch a call 
to settle in the ministry; to give him the use of the 
parsonage, the parish repairing the buildings and out- 
side fences with the sum of fifty-five ixninds lawful 
money valued in species; good Indian corn at four shil- 
lings per bushel and other things equivalent thereto." 
Mr. Dutch declined the call. 

In a Avarrant for a town meeting for choosing a repre- 
sentative, both in Hampton Falls and Seabrook, the 
temperance resolves previously cjuoted appears. Henry 
Robie was chosen representative. 
1778, Jan. 19 — "Voted to supply the families of non-commis- 
sioned officers and private soldiers, and to procure two 
soldiers more to fill their quota in the army. " 

Apr. 27 — Meshech Weare was chosen a delegate to attend 
the state convention, to be held in Concord the following 
January, to form a state constitution. "Voted to use 
the parsonage for the support of preaching, the new 
meeting house to have the upper parsonage, the old 
one to have the lower one and the flats." 

Oct. 19. — A warrant was issued for a meeting to see if the 
parish would vote to hire preaching in the new meeting 
house, or unite with Seabrook to hire preaching. At 
this meeting it was voted to hire preaching in the new 
meeting house for two months, and the meeting was 
adjourned from time to time until the 14th of December 
when a final adjournment was had. 

Dec. 7 — The two towns, Hampton Falls and Seabrook, 
refused by vote to send a representative to the General 
Assembly for the next year. 
1779 — Soldiers Avere hired this year at the expense of the parish 
for the Continental ser\ice. 

Aug. 23 — A plan of government for the state was proposed 
but the parish refused by vote to act in reference to it, 
and also refused to send a representative delegate to a 
convention to be held at Concord to regulate the cur- 
rency. On December 6, hoAvever, Samuel Weare Avas 
chosen representative to represent the towns of Seabrook 
and Hampton Falls. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 135 

1780, Nov. 27 — "Voted not to send a representative." 

Dec. 11 — By vote of the parish a call was extended to Dr. 
Samuel Langdon to settle in the work of the ministry, 
having the use of the parsonage and fifty pounds in 
money for his salary. 

In a letter dated January 7, 1781, Dr. Langdon ac- 
cepted the call which the parish had extended to him. 

1780 — A requisition was made by the Council and House of 
Representatives of New Hampshire for beef to support 
the continental army; 1,400,000 pounds were called for 
from New Hampshire. Each town was to furnish its 
proportion according to population and valuation. 
One third was to be furnished by the last day of March, 
1781; one fourth by July 15; one fourth left September 
1; the remainder, December 1, The beef was to be 
good and well salted. Each barrel was to contain 
two hundred and forty pounds net. Good pork could 
be received at the rate of eleven pounds pork to fifteen 
pounds of beef. Each town was notified as to the 
amount it was to furnish. The penalty for not com- 
plying with this requisition was a- fine of double the 
value of the amount of beef called for to be for the use 
of the state to be added to the next continental tax. 
The amount called for from Hampton Falls was 8,479 
pounds. This amount was furnished and we are able 
to give the items. 

In the invoice book for 1781 we find the following 
entries in relation to the supply of beef: 

Paid David Nason, one yoke of oxen £2,250 

Nehemiah Cram, for yoke of oxen, 1,150 lbs., 

a5... 1,725 

Capt. Moulton, yoke of oxen on the hoof 2,100 

Samuel Melcher, yoke of oxen, weight, 1,300 

lbs 1,950 

John Brown, yoke of oxen, 900 lbs 1,350 

David Batchelder, 100 lbs. beef 150 

Isaac Green, yoke of oxen, 1,150 lbs 1,725 

Total £11,250 



136 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

These amounts were paid in a badly depreciated 
currency. It is impossible to know Avhat it would 
amount to in sterling mono}'. 

In December, 1881, a meeting was held to act upon 
a platform of state government, submitted to the people 
by General Court. A committee was appointed to 
examine the platform and at an adjourned meeting it 
was voted to accept the platform with amendments 
proposed by the committee. 

This year is the first time dollars are mentioned in 
speaking of the currency upon the records. 

A new burying ground for the use of the parish was 
purchased of Jeremiah Lane. This ground laid south 
of the meeting house, on the cross road, and is the old 
yard on the east side of the road where Dr. Langdon is 
buried. 
1780, Nov. 17 — ^The members who had withdrawn from the 
ordinances of the church under Mr. Wingate's ministry, 
to become Presbyterians, returned, made confession 
and were restored to their former church relations. 

1782, Dec. 9 — Samuel Weare was chosen representative. The 

platform of government was again reviewed and ac- 
cepted. 

1783, May 20 — The attempt to get the town of New Hampton 

Falls incorporated was renewed, but was successfully 
opposed by the parish before the General Assembly. 
Who were the members or what was the object of 
this movement for a new town does not appear on the 
record. 
July 17 — A committee was chosen to take measures to 
dispose of a part of the parsonage lands and to purchase 
a place near the meeting house. A house and a few 
acres of land were bought of Jonathan Perkins near the 
meeting house, the place now occupied by the house 
of the late Lewis T. Sanborn, and was the house burned 
in 1858, with the church records. It was occupied at 
the time of the fire by Rev. A. M. Bridge, pastor of the 
LTnitarian Church. The land extended down the 
Hampton road. At the time of the sale of the parson- 
age property in 1832, this parsonage and land was 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 137 

bought by Wells Healey and afterward was rented to 
the Unitarian ministers. 
July 31 — "Voted to agree to an alteration in the eighth 
article of the constitution of the United States, and to 
instruct the representative accordingly." Abner San- 
born was chosen representative. 

1784, Mar. — First voting for president (governor) and senators 
in New Hampshire. Meshech Weare had thirty-nine 
votes for president. 

1785 — Another committee was appointed to sell a part of the old, 
and'buy a new parsonage. Pew privileges were granted 
in the galleries of the meeting house. The old parson- 
age house and the adjoining land was sold to Nathaniel 
Healey, the shipbuilder. The five acres from the 
Weare house were sold to the Weares, but we have no 
date when these sales were made. We have never 
seen any account as to the disposal of the thatch ground. 

1786 — Hon. Meshech Weare died from the infirmaties of age 
January 12, 1786. He had long been prominent in 
state and parish matters. 

1787, Jan. 22 — Dr. Langdon was chosen a delegate to attend a 
convention, at Exeter, to adopt a constitution for the 
United States. This year the parish voted for officers 
of the Federal Government. Washington received 
thirty-five votes for president. While forty votes were 
cast for congressman. 

In 1787 Dr. Langdon asked for an increase of salary 
but no vote was taken upon the subject. 

1789, Mar. 10 — "Voted ten pounds additional to Dr. Langdon's 
salary. Granted certain privileges to Nath^ Hubbard 
Dodge for building a mill on the Falls river. " This vote 
was amended the next year. 

A chest was provided in which to keep the papers and 
old records of the town. It is probably the one which 
has since been in use, and is now kept in the loft in the 
town hall. 

1791 — It was put to vote to see if the town would pay the building 
committee, who built the new meeting house, any com- 
pensation. This was voted in the negative. 

1791 — The canal between the Hampton river and the Merri- 



138 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

mack river was completed by Nathaniel Healey in 
1791. This canal was found useful in time of the 
embargo, but is now grown up and is impassable. 

1792 — Nathaniel Dodge was approbated by the selectmen to sell 
spirituous liquors. At the national election this year 
eighteen votes were cast for Washington for president. 

1792 — This year a committee was appointed to assist in renewing 
the Une between Hampton Falls and Kensington. This 
Une was run September 10, 1794. 

1794, Dec. 10 — "Voted to sell the lower parsonage near Esq. 
Weare's and make compensation for its use to Dr. 
Langdon. " Four persons were approbated to sell 
spirituous liquors. 

1795 — A committee was appointed to judge Dr. Langdon's 
salary, according to the terms of agreement at the time 
of his settlement. 

1796 — "Voted to repair Taylor river bridge on the Exeter road." 
Twenty-eight votes were cast for president of the United 
States. 

1798, Nov. 29 — Rev. Dr. Langdon died and the parish was left 
again without a pastor. After his death the town hired 
preaching. 

Mr. Jacob Abbot preached as a candidate. ]\Iore 
pew privileges were granted upon the lower floor. It 
was again voted to sell some of the parsonage land. 

1798 — Mr. Abbot was ordained August 15. 

Mar. — Four pew privileges were granted upon the lower 
floor. More were called for than could be granted. A 
committee was appointed to clear the parade ground 
where the old meeting house formerly stood. The 
selectmen were subsequently ordered to see the common 
cleared. 

1798, Jan. 17 — Observed a day of fasting and prayer in conse- 
quence of the death of Dr. Langdon. Messrs Row- 
land, Shaw, Thurston and IMiltimore were sent to con- 
duct the religious service. 

1798, Feb. 3 — Letters missive from South Church in Portsmouth 
to assist in the ordination of Mr. Timothy Alden, Jr. 
Voted to comply. 

1799 — Letters were received from Seabrook, February 3, 1799, 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 



139 



to attend the ordination of Mr. Elias Hull. At this 
time the church in Seabrook had ceased to be Presby- 
terian and was Congregational. We give the names of 
the members of this church at that time, some of whom 
lived in Hampton Falls: 



Mrs. Jewell. 
Mrs. A. Smith. 
Mrs. David Dow. 
Mrs. N. Felch. 
Mrs. Dudley Dodge. 
Mrs. Isaac Brown. 
Mrs. Betsey Brown. 
Mrs. Abigail Brown. 
Miss Nancy Brown. 
Mrs. D. Chase. 
Mrs. James Janvrin. 
Mrs. Lydia Brown. 
Mrs. Simon Knowles. 
Mrs. Hull. 
Mrs. Betsey Weare. 
Miss Mary Eaton. 
Miss Eunice Wells. 
Miss Eunice Dodge. 
Miss Sally Smith, her 
mother, Mrs. Dodge. 



Mr. Hull. 

Deacon Tucker. 

Thomas True. 

Benjamin Eaton. 

Thomas Silly. 

Miss Betsy George. 

Miss Nancy Fifield. 

Miss Hannah Chase. 

Miss Susan Greeley. 

Miss Sarah Dow. 

Daniel Merrill. 

Isaac Brown. 

Jacob Brown.* 

Isaac Brown.* 

John Marston Brown.* 

Jacob Silly of H. Falls. 

Dea. Weare. 

Dea. Merrill. 

John Eaton. 

Joseph Felch. 

*Sons of Isaac. 



Dudley Dodge. 

Mrs. A. Smith, Mrs. N. Felch and Miss Nancy Brown 
were admitted to membership in the Line Church in 
1834. 

1800, Nov. 23 — Letters missive from First Church in Amesbury 
to ordain Mr. Stephen Hull. Voted to comply. 
Dec. 4 — Letters missive from the church in Scarborough, 
Me., to ordain Mr. Nathan Tilton and also "their opin- 
ion whether Mr. Chadwick is dismissed from his pas- 
torate office over y* church. " Voted to comply. 

1801 — "Voted to make some repairs on the parsonage house." 
After Dr. Langdon's death Jeremiah Lane was appointed 
clerk and the books were placed in his hands. 

1802 — "Voted that the selectmen notify the selectmen of Exeter 
to run the Unes between the towns." 



140 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1805 — The first Christian Baptist Meeting house was built in 
1805. 

1806 — The schoolhouse was built on Drinkwater road in 1805, 
and one on the Exeter road in 180G. 

1808 — After this a suit was commenced by the Baptists to become 
exempt from paying toward the support of the town 
ministry, and it appears to have been decided in their 
favor for, in 1809, the Baptists were exempted from 
paying toward the town ministry. 

Caleb Tilton was chosen deacon. He declined and 
Jeremiah Lane was chosen. 

1809, Feb. 25 — Letters missive to settle Mr. Jeremiah Crosby 
in Lyndeborough. 

1811 — This town joined Seabrook and Hampton in gravelling 
the great road to Portsmouth. This was the turnpike. 
This town and Seabrook were to keep in repair the 
south side of Taylor River, which, if they did, the 
inhabitants could pass over the turnpike free of toll. 

1812 — James Prescott, Jr., was chosen deacon. He accepted. 
Levi Lane was chosen assistant. 

1813 — Letters missive to ordain Mr. Ephraim Abbot at Green- 
land. Voted to comply. 

1815, Oct. 5 — Letters missive to dismiss John S. Popham from 
the first church in Newbury. 
Oct. 30 — Letters missive to attend a council at Chester. 
Cause not known. Voted to comply. 

1815, Oct. 31 — "Voted to repair the meeting house in the plas- 

tering and windows and to procure clapboards for the 
ends and front side, and shingles for the back side. " 

The town line was perambulated between Hampton 
Falls, Exeter and Kensington, which was the line on the 
west side of the town. 
1816 — Letters missive to ordain Mr. Leonard Withington at First 
Church at Newbury, Mass. 

1816, Oct. 10 — John W. Gookin was licensed by the selectmen 

to sell rum and other spirituous liquors. 

1817, June 10 — Letters missive to ordain Mr. Fedaral Burt in 

Durham on the 18th inst. 

To install Rev. Isaac Hurd at Exeter, September 11. 
To ordain Mr, Stephen Bailey at Raymond, October 1. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 141 

1818, Mar. 10 — Two hundred dollars was voted to be raised to 
build a new schoolhouse on the Exeter road. This was 
the brick schoolhouse removed in 1842. 

1819^ — The Cock hill schoolhouse was repaired. 

1822— The entire town line was perambulated/'152-46 + 166-93 
= isis- " Whatever that means is not apparent. 

Mr. Abbot's salary was at this time a little over $300 
per year. 

1824, Apr. 1 — Letters missive to dismiss Mr. Holt from Epping 
on the 2d inst. 
Apr. 18 — To ordain Mr. Jacob Cummings at Stratham, 28th 
inst. 

1825 — Obstructions were removed from the landing to the Falls 
river mouth, and a wharf was built at Fresh Island. 
There had been a landing place here for a long time. In 
1797 it is spoken of as the old landing place. 

1826 — Mr. Levi Lane was chosen clerk and was requested to take 
charge of the books given by Rev. Dr. Landgon to the 
church for the use of the ministers in Hampton Falls; 
also to entertain the ministers who come to supply. 

The town churches and ministers were called and 
spoken of as those of the "Standing Order" to dis- 
tinguish them from those other sects which had come 
into existence in the later times. This term was in 
common use among the older people, since my remem- 
brance, in speaking of the parish churches and ministers. 
Rev. Mr. Abbot married 124 couples during his 
ministry, 1798-1827; 148 were baptized; 12 made a pro- 
fession of religion on the half way covenant, but did 
not commune. 

After removing from Hampton Falls, Mr. Abbot 
settled upon a farm in Windham and preached to the 
Unitarian Society in that town. He was drowned while 
returning from meeting November 24, 1834. 

1826 — The town purchased that part of the turnpike which was 
in Hampton Falls for $800. 

For several years after Mr. Abbot's dismissal the 
parsonage was rented and the income divided to the 
several rehgious societies, according to taxation. 

1829 — The north side of the meeting house roof was shingled and 



142 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

wood was taken from the parsonage to defray the ex- 
pense. The town lines were perambulated this year. 

1831 — In June, Rev. Henry Jewett, radical Orthodox, was em- 
ployed. His preaching was not liked by the liberal 
parties of the society. 

1832 — "Voted to sell the parsonage and invest the proceeds in 
bank stock. " 

1834 — "Voted leave to the proprietors of Rockingham Academy 
to locate upon the public square near the schoolhouse. 
Mr. Abbot found the first mention of a house within 
the limits of the present town of Hampton Falls was in 
1654. On the 9th of June, 1654, there was a storm of 
thunder and hail, which hail fell on the bounds of 
Hampton, between the town and the mill. 

1834 — The liberal element, which was the majority, declared for 
Unitarianism and employed Rev. Mr. Whitman and 
afterward Mr. Lothrop. 

The remainder of the society withdrew and, with ]Mr. 
Jewett, held meetings in the Exeter road schoolhouse. 
Mr. Jewett was said to have been very radical in his 
preaching and this did much to hasten the division of the 
societ}'. 

1835 — Those who called themselves orthodox attended meeting 
at Seabrook in the old meeting house where the Rev. 
David Sunderland was preaching as a supply. 

1835 — The meeting house built in 1835 was the first meeting 
house in this town which had any means of being heated. 
All the meeting houses previously in use in the town had 
no means of being warmed in cold weather. 

1836, July — The orthodox people dedicated their new meeting 
house and assumed the name of the First Evangelical 
Congregational Society of Seabrook and Hampton 
Falls, which name they have continued until the present 
time, but are usually spoken of as the Line Church. 

1836 — The new (Baptist) meeting house was opened for service 
and probably dedicated in 1836. The building com- 
mittee were William Brown, Richard and George H. 
Dodge, Aaron M. Gove and Joseph H. Weare. 

Mr. Ropes continued his pastorate from September, 
1828, until 1830. He was a strong temperance advo- 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 143 

cate. In 1836 this church was reported a strictly 
temperance church. 

1837, June — This church was organized and Rev. Sereno T. 
Abbot was ordained as pastor. He was generally spoken 
of as Priest Abbott. 

1840 — An article was inserted in the warrant for the annual 
meeting "to see if the town would alter and convert the 
old meeting house into a town house, or pull it down and 
build a new one." The house was demolished in 1842 
and the lot sold in 1845 to Wells W. Healey. 

1894 — Mrs. Mary D. Aiken purchased the residence of the late 
Joshua Janvrin and presented it to the Baptist Society 
for a parsonage. 

1901 — The society having become much reduced in numbers so 
that there had been no service in the meeting house for 
a number of years, John T. Brown of Newburyport, 
Mass., purchased the meeting house and converted it 
into a library building and presented it to the town of 
Hampton Falls. The farewell religious service was 
held May 26, 1901, when the house was filled to its 
utmost capacity. The service was conducted by Con- 
gregational and Presbyterian ministers. No minister 
of the Christian denomination was present. In its 
remodelled condition it was dedicated and turned over 
to the town on August 28, 1901. 

During a great part of the society's existence of nearly 
a century the preaching was a majority of the time by 
supplies and but a small portion of the time by regular 
ordained pastors. 

1901 — In the autumn of 1901, Rev. Joseph Kimball closed his 
pastorate over the Line Church which had extended 
over a period of nearly eighteen years. His ministry 
had been beneficial both to the church and the com- 
munity. 

1916 — It is a singular coincidence that at the present time, after 
the marked division in rehgious sentiment of the town, 
with meeting houses located in different sections, we 
have returned to one meeting with the meeting house 
located within a few rods of where the first meeting 
house was built more than two hundred years ago, with 



144 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

this difference — there are more non-chiirch attendants 
than in the early daj's. 

EXTRACTS FROM INVOICE BOOK. 

The following are extracts from the Invoice Book 
after 1773 which could not be found at the time the 
history of Hampton Falls was written. 

1779, Apr. 7 — "Gave the Constable a warrant to warn Dolly 
Sanborn to depart out of the parish. " 
Apr. 8 — At a vendue April 8, and continued by adjourn- 
ment, the poor were set up to be kept for one year, viz., 
the Widow Blake was struck off to Benjamin Nudd for 
ninety-eight dollars, and to be kept one year from the 
10th day of April, 1779. April 10, Abigail Crosby was 
struck off to Deacon Sanborn for one hundred and fifty 
dollars; agreed with Noyes Pervear to care for Abigail 
Crosby for one year from the 22d of April, 1779, for 
two hundred and forty dollars. Martha French was 
struck off to Benjamin Leavitt for three months for 
one hundred and seventy-six dollars; also to Lieut. 
Zebulon Hilliard for three months for one hundred and 
seventy-six dollars; ditto to Samuel Lane for three 
months for two hundred and forty-nine dollars; to 
Samuel Weare for three months for two hundred and 
sixty-five dollars. The first three months began the 
30th day of April, and to be kept as usual. 

1779, May 7 — "Gave the constable a warrant to warn Hannah 
Hartshorn out of the parish with her son, Jonathan 
Hartshorn; also Jonathan Hardy to depart forthwith 
out of said parish." 

Agreed with ]\Ialachi Shaw to take care of Hoag's 
wife and two children for seven months from the 23d 
day of August, for Hoag's house, which is on said Shaw's 
land. Agreed with Ensign Rowe to take Hoag's oldest 
child for twenty-five dollars per month, to begin Sep- 
tember 14, 1779. Agreed with Bache's wife to take 
the youngest child for thirty dollars per month, to 
begin August 14. Afterwards Lowell Lang agreed to 
take that child of Hoag's from Ensign Rowe for nothing, 
if the parish would furnish her clothing. He took her 
November 11, 1779. 



EXTRACTS FROM THE CHURCH AND TOWN RECORDS 145 

Nov. 22 — "Gave the constable a warrant to warn John 
Allen and Margaret Fifield, with Abigail, daughter of 
said Margaret, to depart forthwith out of said parish." 
1783, Mar. 24— "Gave Mr. Benjamin Pike a deed of a piece of 
land formerly belonging to Samuel Fifield and Ruth, his 
wife, which persons were supported by the town, and 
for the consideration of thirty shillings." The house 
and a small garden were reserved during his or her 
life. 
1768 — By vote of the parish an act incorporating Seabrook as a 
parish, as passed by the two houses of the Assembly, 
was approved June 3, 1768, in the eighth year of King 
George the Third. 
1783 — The selectmen, who were Caleb Tilton, James Prescott 
and Benjamin Pike, "have with considerable charge and 
trouble in the course of the last year, enlisted five con- 
tinental soldiers in the manner hereafter following, 
namely : 

"April 2, 1782: Enlisted Peter WilUams for three 
years. Paid down 25£ cash. Gave a note for 25£ 
to be paid in three years. 

"May 31: Enlisted John Kenny for three years. 
Paid down 6£-12 s. cash. Gave a note for 55£-10 s. 
to be paid April 1, 1783." 

John Kenny came to this town about 1760. He was 
warned out. He was a blacksmith and had a shop on 
Mr. Towles' field near the brook which bears his name. 
We never knew where he came from or his subsequent 
life after going into the army. 

"July 8, 1782: Enlisted Samuel Randall for three 
years. Paid down cash 25 £. Gave a note for 5 £ to 
be paid March 20, 1783. 

"July 16, 1782 : Enlisted Nathl. Smart during the war. 
Paid down 16 £-10 s. Gave a note for 60 £ to be paid 
in three years. 

"Oct. 4, 1782 : Enlisted David Scott during the war. 
Paid down cash 15 £. Gave one note payable Jan. 1, 
1784, for 15 £. One note to be paid Oct. 1785 for 
22 £-10 s. And one other note for 22 £-10 s to be 
paid Oct. 4, 1786." 



146 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

The names of Samuel Randall, Nathaniel Smart and 
John Kenny do not appear in the hst pubUshed in the 
history of Hampton Falls but should be added thereto. 
1782 — The whole cost of the continental soldiers including the 
hire, cost of mustering, time and expense: "Hiring 
interest of money to hire them will amount to 348 £- 
5 s-3 d." This would appear to be the amount paid 
in the year 1782. The above is about all we have ever 
been able to find in relation to the details of the Revolu- 
tionary War. It is much to be regretted that more 
cannot be known of what was done in those times and 
the amount which the war cost this town. 



EXTRACTS FROM WEARE PAPERS. 

The following extracts are from the Weare papers purchased 
by the library trustees for the town hbrary in 1909: 

1743, Nov. 21 — Benjamin Hilliard granted to Meshech Weare, 
Dea. Josiah Batchelder and Timothy Hilliard the 
privilege of erecting a sawmill on Grapevine run for the 
term of twenty years, at a point below where a sawmill 
was formerly built. This was near the location of the 
Batchelder sawmill which was removed a little before 
1900. Tradition says that there was a woolen mill 
located here in the early days. 

1746, Jan. 12 — Jacob Stanion leased to Meshech Weare, Caleb 
Sanborn and Daniel Sanborn a parcel of land near what 
is called Stanian's Landing on the Falls River for the 
purpose of building a vessel of forty-five tons. Vessels 
had been built there before. Stanion's Landing is now 
known as the town landing. 
Jan. 12 — Jacob Stanion for the sum of seven pounds old 
tenor, granted to Meshech Weare, Richard Nason, 
Daniel Swett and Benjamin Swett, Innholder, and 
Walter Williams, mariner, the privilege of building a 
vessel of seventy tons burden, at Fresh Island, with 
the right to pass to and fro on his land and to lay lumber. 



A LIST OF PERSONS TAXED IN HAMPTON FALLS IN 

1776. 



Thomas Arnold. 

John Brown. 

Mary Brown. 

Joshua Blake. 

Ens. Jeremiah Blake. 

Henry Blake. 

Ens. Richard Brown. 

Abraham Brown. 

Daniel Brown. 

Nathan Brown. 

Nathan Brown, Jr. 

David Batchelder. 

Col. Jonathan Burnham. 

Ralph Butler. 

William Blaisdell. 

Philip Burns. 

John Clifford. 

Nehemiah Cram. 

Capt. Jonathan Cram. 

Dr. Joshua Chase. 

Stephen Cram. 

Daniel Davidson. 

Nathaniel Hubbard Dodge. 

Seth Fogg. 

William Davidson, Jr. 

Elisha Eaton. 

John Flood. 

Robert Fowler. 

Lt. George Fifield. 

Jonathan Fifield, Esq. 

John Gove. 

Nathan Gove. 

Wid. Elizabeth Green. ; 

Eaton Green. 

Isaac Green. 

Benjamin Hilliard. 

Capt. Nathaniel Healey. 

Wid. Sarah Healey. 

Lt. Zebulon Hilliard. 

Hussey Hoag. 

John Kenny. 



Gamaliel Knowles. 
Amos Leavitt. 
Wid. Elizabeth Leavitt. 
Samuel Lane. 
Jeremiah Lane. 
Lovell Lang. 
Isaiah Lane. 
John Lang. 
Samuel Melcher. 
Samuel Melcher, Jr. 
Capt. Benjamin Moulton. 
Thomas Moulton. 
Richard Moulton. 
Redman Moulton. 
Francis Marshall. 
Gideon Marshall. 
Robert Miller. 
Richard Mace. 
Jonathan Miller. 
Adonajah Morrill. 
Richard Nason, Esq. 
David Nason. 
Daniel Norton. 
Nehemiah Ordway. 
William Page. 
Elisha Prescott. 
Lt. James Prescott. 
Maj. William Prescott. 
Jonathan Perkins. 
James Prescott. 
Josiah Pervear. 
David Perkins. 
Joseph PerVear. 
Ens. Pain Rowe. 
Henry Robie, Jr. 
Moses Robinson. 
John Rawlings. 
Wid. Anna Swain. 
John Swain. 
Stephen Swain. 
William Swain. 



PERSONS TAXED IN HAMPTON FALLS IN 1 776 



149 



Benjamin Sanborn. 
Jedediah Sleeper. 
Jedediah Sleeper, Jr. 
Jonathan Stewart. 
Capt. Chinney Smith. 
Malachi Shaw. 
Aaron Smith. 
Hilliard Shaw. 
Capt. Caleb Sanborn. 
Abner Sanborn. 
Abner Sanborn, Jr. 
Benjamin Tilton. 
Michael Tilton. 
Lt. Caleb Tilton. 
Samuel Tilton. 
Daniel Tilton. 



Nathan Tilton. 
Nathan Tilton, Jr. 
Stephen Tilton. 
Wid. Sarah Tilton. 
Capt. Jonathan Tilton. 
Peter Tilton. 
Samuel Weare, Esq. 
Melcher Ward. 
Aaron Wells. 
Joseph Wells. 
Dea. Joseph Worth. 
Obadiah Worth. 
Meshech Weare, Esq. 
Nathaniel Watson. 
Capt. Walter Williams. 
Joshua Viekey. 



Esq. Toppan. 
Col. Jonathan Moulton. 
Jonathan Elkins. 
Jonathan Shaw. 
Micajah Morrill. 
John Taylor. 



Non-Resident. 

Hampton. 

Joshua James. 
John Fogg. 
Thomas Nudd. 
Josiah Dearborn. 
Philip Smith Marston. 
Samuel Towle. 



John Wingate. 



William Sanborn. 
Thomas Folsom. 
John Folsom. 
Wid. Dorothy Smith. 
Capt. Josiah Robinson. 



Capt. Joseph Hoyt. 
Lt. Joseph Fifield. 



"Lt. John Taylor. 

North Hampton. 

Daniel Sanborn, Esq. 
John Taylor, Jr. 

Exeter. 

Daniel Jones. 
Lt. Josiah Folsom. 
John Leavitt. 
Dole Parsons. 
Benjamin Cram. 

Stratham. 

Wid. Dorothy Wiggins. 
Nathaniel Wiggins. 
Ebenezer Barker. 



Phineas Batchelder. 



Kingston. 

Edward Sleeper. 
Edward Fifield. 



150 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



John Tuck. 



Nottingham. 
Maj. Joseph Cilley. 

South Hampton. 
Dea. Benjamin Brown. 

Hau'ke. 
Timothy Worth. 

Brentwood. 

Samuel Tuck. 



Jonathan Perkins. 
Samuel Dearborn. 
Jeremiah Dearborn. 
Capt. Samuel Page estate, 
Samuel Clifford. 
Dea. Jonathan Dow. 
Joseph Wadleigh. 
Theophilus Page. 
Israel James. 
John Batchelder. 
Jeremiah Batchelder. 
Stephen Brown. 
Nathaniel Healey, Esq. 
Philbrick Palmer. 
Robert Pike. 
Peter Hodgdon. 
Ezekiel Worthen, Esq. 
Nathaniel Weare. 
Josiah Brown. 
Jeremiah Fellows. 
John Melcher. 
Capt. Winthrop Rowe. 
Benjamin Melcher. 
Dr. Rowe. 
Jonathan Rowe. 

Lt. 



Benjamin Leavitt. 
Abraham Dow. 
Abraham Dow, Jr. 
Richard Tobey. 



Kensington. 

Philemon Blake. 

Samuel Lampree. 

Henry Lampree. 

Joseph Brown. 

Josiah Batchelder. 

Richard Sanborn. 

Josiah Dow. 

Ebenezer Brown. 

Lt. Sherborn Tilton. 

Lt. Jessee Tuck. 

Benjamin James. 

Joseph Tilton, Esq. 

Elisha Blake. 

Moses Shaw. 

Caleb Shaw. 

Capt. Nathaniel Gove. 

John Green. 

Joseph Dow. 

Benjamin Brown. 

John Blake. 

John Page. 

Moses Sanborn. 

David Green. 

John Weare's widow. 

Josiah Blake. 
Joseph Clifford. 

Seabrook. 

Job Haskell. 
Henry Robie. 
Ebenezer Fogg. 
Nehemiah Chase. 



PERSONS TAXED IN HAMPTON FALLS IN 1 7/6 151 

Benjamin Leavitt, Henry Robie, Job Haskell and Richard Toby 
lived in Hampton Falls but had polled into Seabrook in 1768. 
Toby was son-in-law of Job Haskell. 

Dea. Joseph Worth was rated for the last time in 1776. 

Jonathan Fifield, Esq., was rated for the last time in 1777. 

Joshua Vickery was rated from 1778 to 1792, inclusive. 

In the first volume of the history of Hampton Falls we give 
the petition of the selectmen of Hampton Falls to Jonathan 
Belcher, Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Province of 
New Hampshire, for permission to hold a fair in this town in 
1732, with the answer of Governor Belcher giving the permission. 
We now present an advertisement from a Boston paper dated 
April 17, 1732, announcing the time and place of holding the 
first horse show ever held in America. It was to be similar in 
character to the sale fairs held at that time in England. There 
is now no known record of these fairs which continued to be held 
annually for a number of years. 



^Ije Weehl|> a^eljeatfal. 



fl^OflDap, April .7. f 7 ij 2. 



^^ Hi fbUhinih Buy u/ January , [;'; l^Lll'r'i'::^ ' ^^ ^ .' '^^ - ^ ^'' ^ 

Portfino 
, V '^^'^ '-^ r(2 5/1;^ Nbr/^^ 0/ /? Horfe Fa if nvhkh is tg be 
^^ ^ at iT//'.^ohn Brown's Innbolder at Hampton-F^s^ 
about feven Miki to the EafhvarJ of Newbury Fefrjr. 
uf^^ the 10th and 2 ifl Days of April Infiafjt ; at 'xbicbr^ 
'Tt me 'tis esfeS^^^d that there moili be brought ihither j'onlc 
Hundreds 0/^ Horfes^ to te Sold or otber-vcife traded for. 



x\\c Author. Advertifements are taken in 



UNIQUE AD FOR FIRST HORSE SHOW HELD IN 



Almost exactly 174 years ago today, 
hon Boston's annual horse show opens, 
le first horse show on record in America 
3ok place within a few miles of Boston. 
)r. Samuel A. Green, librarian of the Mass- 
chusetts Historical Society, recently 
)und in the April 17, 1732, issue of The 
k''eekly Rehearsal the unique advertise- 
lent of what he believes is the premier 
orse show, and has told The Boston 
jurnal of his interesting find. 



The advertisement conveys the informa- 
tion that on April 20 and 21, just 174 
years ago, "John Brown of Hampton 
Falls (near Newburyport) will hold on 
his estate a 'Horse Fair,' at which time 
'tis expected that there will be brought 
thither some hundreds of horses." 

This paper was one of the earliest pub- 
lished in Massachusetts, being printed 
weekly by John Draper, and was started 
in September, 1731. It is interesting to 



AMERICA, 
note that the "lead story" of the is* 
which the advertisement appears is 
speech of the English King to Parliai 
delivered over a year previously, but 
it appeared in The Weekly Rehearsal r 
considered a great piece of news, if i 
"scoop." 

No further record of this first horse 
in Mas.sachu.setts appears in the Kehe 
and historians seem to be rather hai 
the question, but it is probable that it 
place according to schedule. 



FIRE RECORD. 

In April, 1833, the house of Nathan Robie on the Robie farm, 
near the brook, was burned. The family were making soap which 
at that time was an annual event in almost every house. While 
boiling the soap the fire caught upon the roof and the house was 
entirely consumed. Henry Robie, son of Nathan, said he thought 
the house had done well to stand seventy years and not burn 
before. To Esq. Levi Lane, who had done efficient service in 
saving the other buildings: "Squire Lane, I hope your house will 
get on fire sometime and I will come up and help you." 

In 1840, the carpenter shop of Charles C. Gove was destroyed 
by fire. The fire was caused by a kettle of varnish, which was 
boihng on a stove, taking fire. The shop was rebuilt. In 1896 
while occupied by Aleck Cochran it was burned again and was 
supposed to have been the work of an incendiary. 

In 1845 the barn of Joshua Janvrin was burned. This was 
upon what is known now as the Baptist parsonage. Cause of 
the fire unknown. 

In 1847, the cotton-batting mill, owned and occupied by Hon. 
George H. Dodge, was burned, and was soon after rebuilt. 

In February, 1855, the Exeter road schoolhouse was burned, 
with the Washington Hall. Cause unknown. 

In June, 1858, what was known as the parsonage house, 
owned by the heirs of Wells Healey, and situated on the spot now 
occupied by the home of the late Lewis T. Sanborn, was destroyed 
by fire, with the church records and other valuable historic 
papers. At this time the house was occupied by Rev. A. M. 
Bridge, pastor of the Unitarian Church. This house had been 
occupied by Rev. Dr. Samuel Langdon and Rev. Jacob Abbot, 
who was pastor of the town church. Since then it had generally 
been occupied by ministers who were preaching in the town. 
Cause of fire supposed to have been defective chimney. 

In 1866, the store and barn occupied by Cyrus Brown were 
burned. For some years before 1853 the post-office had been 
kept here. Lovell Brown, Jr., had been postmaster. He also 
did shoe repairing and some work on watches, in the second story 
of the store. Cause of fire unknown. 



154 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

A barn in the field of John Allen Brown was burned about this 
time, having been struck by lightning. It was a very old build- 
ing and was said to have been built by Jacob Brown who died in 
1762. 

In July, 1867, the house of Lowell F. Merrill, near the town 
house, was burned. Supposed to have caught from a defective 
chimney. 

In 1874, at the lower end of the Brinuiiei' road, below the rail- 
road, Charles F. Chase, former station agent, had built and was 
occupying a stand of buildings. He was very unfortunate. In 
1874, all his buildings were burned. The fire was supposed to 
have been set by tramps lodging in the barn. Some time after 
his house was burned, and later his barn. Both the latter fires 
were caused by sparks, from passing locomotives, setting the 
grass on fire which ran up to the buildings. 

In 1874, a barn on the north side of Greathill, on what was 
the homestead of the late Burnham Pervear, was burned. 
In 1897, the house and barn were burned. At this time the 
premises were owned by John Hardy. Cause of these fires un- 
known. 

April 30, 1875, the Rockingham Academy was burned, un- 
doubtedly the work of an incendiary, as there had previously 
been considerable controversy as to ownership and to the future 
disposition of the house. 

The freight house of the Boston & Maine Railroad, at the time 
the Eastern Railroad was burned, set on fire by sparks from a 
passing locomotive. This building had been used for several 
years after the opening of the railroad as a passenger station. 
Entirely destroyed. 

In June, 1876, what had been formerly known as Coffin's 
gristmill, situated upon the opposite bank of the river from the 
old sawmill, was burned. The sawmill on the Falls side narrowly 
escaped destruction. The mill, which was burned, had had wood 
working machinery installed. The fire caught from the engine. 
It was owned at the time by Arthur T. Wilbur who came from 
New Bedford, Mass. 

In November, 1879, the barn on the Governor Wearc place 
was destroyed by fire. At that time it was owned by the heirs of 
Zebulon Dow. Undoubtedly this was an incendiary fire. 

In 1885, a small building belonging to the mill house, near 
Dodge's mill, was burned. Cause unknown. 



FIRE RECORD 155 

On June 17, 1885, the house and barn of the late Thomas 
Brown, occupied by his grandson, Clarence T, Brown, were 
burned. Cause, defective chimney. This was the house where 
Mr. and Mrs. Brown were murdered by Pike in 1868. 

On the eve of June 7, 1897, the house of Fred P. Sanborn, 
with its contents, was destroyed by fire. Supposed to have been 
the work of an incendiary. This was the homestead of Uncle 
Billy Brown who died in 1856. 

On July 31, 1898, the buildings occupied by David C. Hawes on 
the old Melcher place were burned, having been struck by light- 
ning during a heavy shower. Rebuilt soon after. 

In 1900, a set of buildings owned by La Roy Eaton, just east 
of the south road schoolhouse were burned. They were unoc- 
cupied at the time. Incendiary fire. 

In 1901, a house, opposite George Goodwin's on the road 
over Greathill, owned by Edwin Pervear, was burned. This fire 
was supposed to have been incendiary. The house was unoc- 
cupied at the time. 

The house on the corner of the South and Mill roads, occupied 
by Sylvanus B. Pervear, was burned. The fire caught from a 
spark on the roof. This was the homestead of Ezekiel Gove and 
his father-in-law, Jeremiah Gove, whose wife kept a store here 
about 1800. This house was soon rebuilt. 

On May 4, 1904, a small stand of buildings on the Depot road 
owned by Aleck Cochran were burned; they were unoccupied at 
the time. Cause unknown. 

On May 5, 1904, a new stand of buildings, owned by Joseph 
Bentley, on the Tilton farm near Monthill, were entirely con- 
sumed by fire. Probably an accidental fire. This was the home- 
stead of Capt. Jonathan Tilton and his son, Caleb, who were prom- 
inent in town affairs in the latter part of the eighteenth century. 

On April 3, 1909, the cottage house and work shop on the 
estate of the late Charles T. Brown were burned. Cause, 
burning grass on the lawn and the fire escaped and got beyond 
control, thus setting the buildings on fire. 

On December 25, 1909, a store on the heater owned by Edwin 
Janvrin and occupied by William H. McDevitt was burned. 
It was snowing hard at the time or a serious conflagration might 
have resulted. Supposed cause carelessness of burglars. This 
store was sometimes spoken of as the "Red Lion." 



156 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

On July 3, 1910, a small barn owned by William Irvin^^, with 
its contents, were destroyed by lightning?. 

On Aii{i;ust 27, 1910, the buildings on the Pike place, near the 
town hall, were consumed by fire. This was the residence of the 
late Nathan and Edward D. Pike, and where Richard and Alfred 
Marsh, the blacksmiths, lived. Cause of fire unknown. 

In March, 1914, the buildings near the Line meeting house, 
owned and occupied by Clarence Brown, were entirely consumed 
by fire. Undoubtedly the work of an incendiary. 

In August, 1916, the house and barn on the Depot road, oc- 
cupied by the Hadley family, were burned. The family had a 
narrow escape with their lives as it occurred in the night. In- 
cendiary fire. 

In July, 1916, a valuable stand of buildings just over the line 
in Hampton, in the Guinea neighborhood, was entirely destroyed 
by fire. Cause of fire unknown. The premises were unoccupied 
at the time and were owned by the family of J. Freeman Williams 



DROWNINGS. 

In the early part of the last century, David Tilton was drowned, 
while lying on the marsh near the clam flats, by the tide coming 
over him. In 1860, his son, David, was drowned near Hunts 
Island in Seabrook. Both were natives of this town. 

On August 20, 1819, Joseph Ward of Hampton was drowned in 
the Hampton River. He was taking a gondola from Hampton 
landing to his marsh toward Hampton Falls landing. The empty 
boat and his hat drifting led to the discovery. It was supposed 
that he was pulled off the boat by the pole with which he was 
pushing becoming stuck in the mud. 

About 1826, Benjamin Moulton, son of Thomas and Eliza- 
beth (Brown) Moulton, while bathing in the Hampton River, and 
getting beyond his depth, was drowned near the saltmarsh where 
he was at work. 

About this time Samuel Drake Lane of Hampton was drowned 
in a deep hole, not far from Davidson's Point above the turn- 
pike. An oak tree on the Hampton side of the river is near the 
place. 

In August, 1849, John Cram and Peter Tilton were drowned 
in Swain's Creek. They came from Deerfield, but were living 
on a farm at Kensington. They were working on the marsh. 
The Tilton boy was bathing and got beyond his depth. Cram 
went to his rescue and both were drowned. 

In August, 1855, Jeremiah James and Jacob Rowe were 
drowned near the mouth of Falls River by the overturning of 
the boat. Jonathan Robinson, who was in the boat, escaped and 
was resuscitated with much difficulty. Rowe's body was found 
some days after a mile or more distant. 

In 1879, Oliver Wright of Seabrook who, with John T. Batch- 
elder and others were surrounded by the tide in the evening, 
in attempting to reach the highland, walked into the river and was 
drowned. A year or two later his brother, John Wright, fell 
from a gondola by the breaking of an oar. This occurred in the 
Seabrook River. A brother of these men had been drowned in 
the Merrimack River a few years before. 



158 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

In February, 1908, Orin D. Green, while crossing the river 
with a load of hay, broke through the ice. He and his two horses 
were drowned. 

In April, 1912, Ellen Cram was drowned in the deep hole below 
the bridge on the Exeter road. 



MAIL SERVICE 

Under this order the mail was carried on the regular cars which 
continued until the regular postal car was put on under order 
issued February 7, 1909: 



In replying, refer to initials \ 
J. I. P. / 



Form No. 2151a. 



^osit 0iiict department. 

Office of the Second Assistant Postmaster General, 

RAILWAY adjustment DIVISION. 

Washington, D. C, Aug. 28, 1899. 
Sir: 

You are informed that an order has this day been issued establishing closed 
pouch mail service on route No. 302004, from Hampton R. R. Sta. (n. o.) 
to Smithtown, operated by the Exeter Hampton and Amesbury St. Railway 
Co., taking effect from Sept. 11, 1899. 

Compensation to be at the rate of $272.49 per annum, being 3 cents per mile 
for 9,070.74 miles of service, as follows: 



From- 



To- 



Length 

of 
Trip, 

Miles. 



Single Trips 
per Day. 






03 . 
CO 



'o 



Hampton R. R. Sta 

(n. o.) 

Hampton Falls 

Hampton Falls 

Seabrook 

Seabrook 

Smithtown 



Hampton Falls. 
Hampton R. R. Sta. 
Seabrook. 
Hampton Falls. 
Smithtown. 
Seabrook. 



(n. o. 



2.44 
2.44 
1.25 
1.25 
1.72 
1.72 



The frequency of service as above authorized must not be changed without 
specific authority from this office. 

Very respectfully, 

G. F. Stone, 
Acting Second Assistant Postmaster General. 
Mr. Warren Brown, 
Prest. Exeter Hampton and 
Amesbury St. Ry. Co., 
Hampton Falls, N. H. 



160 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



In replying, refer to initials 
J. I. P. 1 



Electric Car Service. 
P'ORM No. 2150a. 



$0£(t ({Office department. 



Office of the Second Assistant Postma-ster General. 

RAILWAY ADJU.ST.MENT DIVISION. 

Wa-shington, D. C, Feb. 7, 1900. 
Sir: 

You are informed that an order has this day been issued re-stating mail 
service on route No. 302004, from Hampton R. R. Sta. (n. o.) to Smithtown, 
N. H., operated by the Exeter, Hampton & Amesbury Street Railway Co., 
taking effect from March 1, 1900. Mails to be carried in postal apartment 
cars 8 feet .... inches long, inside measurement. The cars to be fitted up, 
heated, and lighted as required by the Department. 

Compensation to be at the rate of SI, 608.20 per annum, being 5 cents per 
mile for 32,164.00 miles of service, as follows: 



From — 



To— 



Length 

of 
Trip, 
Miles. 



Single Trips 
per Day. 









CO 




^ 




cc 






>> 


>i 


T3^ 


S3 CI 


73 






73. ^^ 








o 

> 


CK 


o 

X 


I> 







Boston & Maine R. R. 
Sta. at Exeter, N. H. 
Exeter, N. H 

Exeter 

Hampton 

Hampton 

Boston & Maine R. R. . 
Boston & Maine R. R. . 

Hampton Falls 

Hampton Falls 

Seabrook 

Seabrook 

Smithtown 

Smithtown 

Amesbury 



Exeter.. N. H. 

B. & M. R. R. Sta. 

ter. 
Hampton. 
Exeter. 

Boston & Maine R. 
Hampton. 
Hampton Falls. 
Boston & Maine R. 
Seabrook. 
Hampton Falls. 
Smithtown. 
Seabrook. 
Amesbury. 
Smithtown. 





.62 


3 .... 


at Exe- 








.62 


3 .... 




6.64 


3 .... 




6.64 


3 


R. 


.03 


3 .... 




.03 


3 .... 




2.43 


3 .... 


R. 


2.43 


3 .... 




1.25 


3 .... 




1.25 


3 




1.72 


3 .... 




1.72 


3 .... 




4.51 


3 .... 




4.51 


3 .... 



The frequency of service as above authorized must not be changed without 
specific authority from this office. 

Very respectfully, 

G. F. Stone, 
AcVg Second Assistant Postmaster General. 
Mr. Warren Brown, Pres., 

Exeter, Hampton, & Amesbury St. Ry. Co., 
Hampton Falls, N. H. 



RURAL FREE DELJVERY. 

Free rural mail delivery which had become common and in 
general use in many parts of the country, had been talked of and 
wanted by many in this town for a number of years but no 
systematic efforts had been made to bring it about. Early in 
1904 efforts were made at Exeter to have our mails delivered 
from the Exeter post office, which, if it had been done, would 
have in all probability sooner or later resulted in the discontin- 
uance of the Hampton Falls post office. To the Exeter scheme 
the people of this town were opposed, as they were afraid the name 
of the town would gradually disappear from public mention and 
notice. 

In November, 1904, the matter took definite shape. Mr. 
Frank S. Green circulated a petition to have the mail distributed 
by carrier over the town from the Hampton Falls post office. 
This petition was very generally signed by the people of the 
town. As a result a little later, Mr. T. Clark Campbell, a 
government inspector, was sent to look over the ground and 
make a report. Upon examination he was very favorably im- 
pressed, saying that the roads and buildings were the best and 
the door yards were kept the neatest of any route he had ever 
examined. On his recommendation a route was established, to 
go into effect February 15, 1905, to take in most of the town with 
the addition of the Wadleigh neighborhood in Kensington, John 
Mace's house on the turnpike in Hampton, with a few houses at 
Fogg's Corner in Seabrook. The distance was called twenty- 
four miles, which is somewhat in excess of the actual distance; 
compensation, $720.00 per year, which has since been considerably 
increased. 

There was considerable competition for the position of rural 
carrier. Four candidates appeared for examination before Mr. 
Ford who conducted the examination at the Exeter post office. 
They were Howard T. Moulton, Charles I. Akerman, William 
Davidson and Arthur W. Chase. The contract was awarded to 
Charles I. Akerman who scored 99.70 of 100 points, which was 
perfection. On February 15, 1904, he entered upon his duties 
and has continued until the present time, 1916. 

12 



1G2 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

The metallic boxes, such as would be approved by the Govern- 
ment, were obtained from Michigan at an expense to the patrons 
of from SI to $2 each, according to size. 

The route was laid out by Mr. Campbell from the map of the 
town as shown by the county map, without anj' consultation with 
the people of the town or patrons of the office. Some improve- 
ment could have been made in the layout. 

There has been a large increase in the amount of mail since the 
rural delivery was established. Nearly every family now has 
one or more daily papers, and the increase in the intelligence of 
the community is very apparent. In former times we had three 
mails each way out and in, which was dehvered by a carrier from 
the steam road. After the electric railway, we had a mail car for 
a number of years, running from Exeter to Amesbury, which gave 
us six mails each way daily. The car did some express business. 
The mail car was not found to pay and was discontinued. Since 
then the mail has been delivered from the passenger cars three 
times daily out and in, coming from the Hampton office. 

In the autumn of 1904, arrangements were made to introduce 
the Independent Telephone fine, known as the Shaw Line, to 
connect from Exeter to Hampton Falls railroad station, coming 
down the Exeter road, past Warren Brown's house to the hill. 
Warren Brown, George C. Healey, Edwin Janvrin and Mrs. Mary 
D. Aiken acted as promoters, furnishing the money. The Une 
was not completed until the summer of 1905. This line made 
connection with the New England line possible, at the central 
office at Exeter, and at Dodge's store in this town. 

In March, 1906, the People's Telephone Company was organ- 
ized and took over the Shaw Line, which had been in operation 
for a year, for the purpose of connecting the line with other inde- 
pendent lines and to form a long distance line. The People's 
Line was a great convenience for local purposes, but not practical 
for other communications. After a few years, which were run 
at a loss, it was sold out to the New England Telephone Company. 
Our central is Hampton. The service is quite satisfactory. 
There are about fifty subscribers in Hampton Falls. 



TOWN LIBRARY BUILDING. 

In the spring of 1901 John T. Brown of Newburyport, Mass., 
purchased the Christian Baptist meeting house with the intention 
of fitting it up as a hbrary building and presenting it to the town 
in memory of his ancestors who were residents of the town. 

Upon examination the house was found in good condition, 
it having been well and substantially built and so well cared for 
as to show little sign of decay after sixty-five years of service. 
The roof was slated; a portico placed over the door; the under- 
pinning reset and pointed; the windows were reglazed with plate 
glass, and inside blinds were fitted; one door in front instead of 
two, with colored glass placed each side of the door. The outside 
of the house was painted white. Over the portico, where there 
once had been a semicircular window, a marble slab of the same 
size and shape was inserted, with the inscription, "Hampton 
Falls Free Library, 1901," in raised letters. The inside of the 
house was thoroughly renovated. The walls were replastered 
and frescoed, and presented a beautiful appearance. There are 
two rooms, one each side of the entrance — one for the use of the 
librarian, the other for the library committee. The floor was 
relaid in birch. The room presents a pleasing appearance, and to 
the wonder of everyone that so handsome and commodious a 
room could have been made in the building. Commodious cases 
were provided for the books by the donor of the building. Taken 
as a whole the house outside and in is a credit to the town, being 
in good taste in every respect and contains ample room for growth 
of the library for many years to come. The people of the town 
should ever feel grateful to the giver. The building was dedicated. 
August 25 and we here present the account of the dedication as 
published at the time. 

The conditions are that the building cannot be removed from 
its present site, must be kept insured, and in case of destruction 
by fire must be rebuilt upon the same site unless otherwise 
ordered by a vote of three fourths of the legal voters of the town. 

The books of the town library were removed to the new library 
building December 12, 1901. At that time there were 1,070 in 



164 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

number; now, 1916, there are about 2,000 volumes; 103 volumes 
were purchased by $100 left for the purpose by the late George 
W. Lcavitt. 

]Mr. John T. Brow^n's Gift to Hampton Falls. 

Under bright skies and with very interesting exercises Hamp- 
ton Falls' new library ])uilding, the munificent gift to the town 
of its previous benefactor, Mr. John T. Brown of Newburyport, 
was impressively dedicated last Friday afternoon. The dedi- 
catory exercises, over which Rev. Charles L. White gracefully 
presided, were held in the beautiful building, beginning at 1 
p. m. The platform was decorated with plants and flowers, and 
the large company included many distinguished visitors. 

After the singing of "Home, Sweet Home," Rev. Joseph Kim- 
ball, pastor of the Line Church, made the invocation, and selec- 
tions from the Scriptures were read ])y Rev. Hart well J. Bartlett, 
pastor of the Baptist Church. The attendance of Rev. David 
Frazer of Rowley, Mass., who had been assigned the latter part, 
was impossible. 

Then came the presentation by the donor of the deed of the 
building to the town and of its keys to the library trustees, with 
response by James H. Brown, chairman of the selectmen, and by 
Rev. Charles L. White, chairman of the trustees. The donor said 
in part: 

"During the past few years I have passed this structure many times and I 
noted that the doors were closed, that the period of usefuhiess was ajiparently 
at an end. There came to me the thought of making the old chapel a benefit 
to the community once more. The idea of a library took a firm hold in my 
mind. A sale was quickly effected. Then I had plans drawn bj- an architect 
and the result of all — you see around you now. I trust that the building will 
serve an admirable purjjose. You who succeed to the ownership will, I am 
sure, carry out faithfully the trust that you have accepted. See that its 
influence shall be widespread into your daily lives, into j'our homes. I myself 
am Hearing the end of the day and, in conunitting to you the character of tliis 
building, I beg you to receive it with its sacred obligations. " 

The chairman of selectmen expressed his pleasure and in behalf 
of the entire town rendered sincere thanks for the munificent 
gift. In his response Mr. White said: 

"The library is a sacred element bestowed today upon the community and 
the family. It is a by-product of Christianity. It means much to us, and 
we shall hope and trust and trj' that it be of lasting service to our i)eople. We 
shall often stand in need of your advice and judgment, Mr. Brown, on many 
matters. We pray, sir, that your interest shall ever be in no wise diminished 
with the flight of time. I gaze around the beautiful interior and I am com- 
pelled to admire the exqviisite taste which the donor has shown in his improve- 
ments on the old chapel. The library's beauty cannot fail to exert an influence 
with all who look at it. Then there will be within these walls holy associations, 
because of the building's past history. Sir, the expense which you have in- 
curred with so much generosity, we feel deeply, deeply grateful for! And as 
I hold these keys in my hand today I feel the potent influence of such a library 
in our town as this will be — this beneficence of our friend, John Thomas Brown." 



TOWN LIBRARY BUILDING 165 

Rev. William A. Cram of Hampton Falls was then introduced, 
and made a capital address. He was very happy in his apprecia- 
tion of the gift and in his apostrophe to the donor's portrait, 
which hung above the platform. "Behold the kindly face," he 
said, "it is looking down upon us, lovingly and with a voice of 
beneficence. To our children later, that picture will mean even 
more, I have no doubt." 

After a selection of music, the chairman read the following 
poem, composed for the occasion by Mrs. Harriet Prescott 
Spofford of Newburyport: 

What, friends, in happy company, 

Within these walls about you brought 

With wealth of lofty learning fraught, 
Shall answer here your eager quest 

In genial mood and golden thought! 

Here are the dead alive again, 

And still their fancies thrill and burn. 

The while the yellowing pages turn, 
Death holds not Shakespeare in the dust 

Nor all of Homer in an urn. 

But search the leaf, and secret things 

Of life and death are here set free. 

Each book a messenger shall be 
From the great deeps, as in the shell 

One hears the murmur of the sea. 

Here, as you read, there comes once more 

The Greek cry at the Euxine's gleam. 

And young the ancient heroes seem; 
Here Plato takes your hands in his 

Down the dusk groves of Academe. 

Here shall Catullus laugh, and here 

Ca?sar his battles fight again, 

And Plutarch's starry-pointed pen 
With fortunate familiar phrase 

Bring down the demigods to men. 

Here shall we meet sad Dante's shade 

Moving with slow majestic tread; 

And, with green laurels for his head, 
Shall see flower-laden throngs, too late, 

Crown hapless Tasso lying dead. 

Here the bold Northman tells anew 

His saga that once fired men's souls. 

Here hke a flute Dan Chaucer trolls, 
And here the great Elizabeth 

Leads in her crew of mighty souls. 

Here History's tablets open lie 

Here Nature spells her wonders o'er. 

Surrendering sweet and hidden lore. 
Here with her magic Romance gives 

Another sky, another shore. 



166 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Here Music whispers to herself, 

Drooping a hushed anrl folded wing, 

The songs that all the minstrels sing, 
With honeyed breath and interval 

Till sweetness makes the silence ring. 

Here troop the dreams, the darling dreams, 
That men have dreamed since time begun, 
That, fine as heaven-swung cobwebs spun. 

Wave their fair films across the light. 
And build their rainbows in the sun. 

And here as long as pulses stir 
At noble deeds and kindly looks, 
While bends the blue, while run the brooks, 

The heart shall bless the hand that gave 
This freedom of the world of books. 

The principal address of the afternoon was then given by Hon. 
Henry K. Braley, a justice of the superior court of Massachusetts 
and a speaker of eloquence and charm. He said in part: 

"Tliis library building is given b\' one who has not forgotten his ancestral 
home; who returns in his later days, bringing his sheaves with him. Here 
he has built for you a foundation to a noble influence in your Uves. It is for 
you now to use the foundation. The character of the books taken from this 
building will show exactly what use you will make of the donor's generosity, 
and of aiding in the spread of the influence of the library. This institution 
supplements the work of the church and of the home, and of the schoolhouse. 
That a well equipped library aids and enforces Christian ethics is a fact gen- 
erally admitted." 

Pertinent addresses were also made by Rev. D. H. Evans of 
North Hampton, and Rev. E. J. Prescott of Salem, Mass. 

On motion of the chairman, a unanimous vote was passed 
expressive of thanks to Mrs. Spofford for her exquisite poem and 
of regret at her absence. Mr. John T. Brown was requested to 
convey to her the feelings of the people of Hampton Falls. 

The exercises closed with the singing of "Auld Lang Syne"; 
the reading of letters from Hon. William G. Todd of Atkinson, 
President Eliot of Harvard, Mrs. Spofford and others, and with 
the benediction by Rev. ]\Ir. Bartlett. 

After the dedication the large company crossed the street to 
the town hall to partake of an excellent turkey dinner, at which 
two hundred and sixty-eight sat down at the first table, fifty 
children meanwhile being served in the upper hall. Socially as 
otherwise it was a delightful feast. Afterwards an interesting 
letter from F. B. Sanborn, Esq., a son of Hampton Falls, was 
read from which we quote : 

"When Kev. Dr. Langdon left the presidency of Harvard to become parish 
minister of our town, he brought witli him a considerable librarj- of English, 
Latin and Greek books, and many pamphlets of the Revolutionary period. 
These were lent to his parishioners and neighbors from 17S0 to 1797, and others 
given by him at his death to the parish church were, a part of them, kept in 
the old meeting house. These, I sujjpose, were the first pubUc library in the 
tow^n. I think Parson Abbot, who succeeded Dr. Langdon in 1788, added a 



TOWN LIBRARY BUILDING 167 

few volumes. Many have disappeared in the century since intervened; but 
those which remain will be kept in a special case in the new library. Rev. 
Jacob Abbot belonged to a family of scholars. His brother, Rev. Dr. Abiel 
Abbot of Peterborough, N. H., was one of the founders of the first free library 
in America — maintained by taxation — that now existing at Peterborough. 
Parson Abbot of Hampton Falls, early in the nineteenth century founded a 
'Social Library' in his parish which continued in use for nearly half a century. 

"The number of volumes in Parson Abbot's Social Library was about three 
hundred when it was distributed among the shareholders in 1849, and it would 
be well if such volumes as survive were given to the town library as curiosities 
for readers of this century. Meantime Parson Caldwell and his sister, Miss 
Fanny, had sown the seeds of a new and much larger Ubrary. In April, 1844, 
there was organized the 'Ladies Benevolent Society of the First Congrega- 
tional Church.' It was a 'sewing circle,' devoting the products of its labors 
and fees to good works. When tw o years old it was voted that a part of the 
income should be used to purchase books. It has now about a thousand well 
chosen volumes, but, being the property of a corporation, it can only pass to the 
town by vote of the members. Ultimately, and upon due conditions, it will 
probably make a considerable part of the Free Town Library. " 

In the evening a dance was- given by the young people in the 
town hall, two guests of Newell W. Healey furnishing the music. 

The Building. 

As our readers well know, the commodious building was orig- 
inally the First Christian Baptist meeting house, which Mr. 
Brown purchased last spring for presentation to the town. In 
due time at a special meeting the town signified its grateful 
appreciation of the prospective gift, and at the donor's expense 
the building has been admirably equipped for its new uses. 

The roof has been slated and a stately porch has been added 
at the front. Painted in cream white, with blinds of dark green, 
the exterior has a most attractive look. New crystal glass has 
been put in the old sashes and the small windows about the door 
are of leaded stained glass. Set into the wall above the entrance 
is a white marble tablet inscribed 

Hampton Falls 

1901 
Free Library 

The interior leaves nothing to be desired. The vestibule opens 
at either side into rooms of seven by thirteen feet, respectively 
for the librarian and the trustees, and into the library proper, an 
apartment thirty-seven feet square and very high studded. It 
is floored in birch and sheathed in whitewood. The walls and 
ceiling have been beautifully decorated by W. A. Morton of 
Haverhill, in rococo style in ecru, Nile green and old rose. The 
ceiling is effectively panelled, and in the frieze and scroll designs 
really artistic work has been done. 

At the rear of the room is a platform with pulpit desk, it being 
intended to hold occasional religious services in the building. 
Upon the platform are the three pulpit chairs of the old church 
and upon the desk its Bible. In a rear corner stands Pew 32, 



168 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

which will be preserved. Suitable provision will be made for the 
display of the old communion set. Affixed to the wall at either 
side of the desk are white marble tablets, thus inscribed in gilded 
letters : 

Donor of the building and land, 

John T. Brown, 

of Newburvport, Mass., 

August, 1901. 

Trustees. 
William A. Cram. 
George C. Healey. 
James H. Brown. 
Charles L. White. 
Henry E. Tilton. 
Edith S. Brown. 
Emma A. Batchelder. 
Lucie S. Weare. 
Ellen F. Lord.. 
Eliza B. Sanborn. 



To the memory of those who 
erected this building 
A. D., 183.5. 
Jacob Brown. 
William Brown. 
Zephaniah Brown. 
Thomas Brown. 
Nathan W. Brown. 
Joseph C. Brown. 
John B. Brown. 
Josiah BrowTi. 
Samuel Brown. 
Huldy Chase. 
David Chase. 
Nathan Moulton. 
Thomas Moulton. 
Caleb Towle. 
Daniel Pevear. 
Charles Hardy. 
George Hardy. 
Lucy Robey. 
John Gove. 
Richard Morrill. 
Molly Blake. 

Above the platform hangs a portrait of John T. Brown, pre- 
sented by himself at urgent request. It is a masterpiece of 
photography, nearly life size, half length, a perfect likeness and 
richly framed. Mr. Brown has also given from his collection 
two rare and finely colored pictures, "Washington's Entry into 
New York to be Inaugurated President" and "Washington 
Crossing the Alleghanies. " They hang in the centre of the side 
walls. 

Mr. Brown will present the book cases, which are being made 
under his supervision in Newburyport. They will soon be re- 



TOWN LIBKARY BUILDING 169 

ceived and the library will probably be opened on Saturday, the 
14th. 

The librarian, Sadie E. Janvrin, reports that volumes now 
number 960, and as intimated in Mr. Sanborn's letter many 
accessions may be expected in the near future. 

The Ladies' Library, of which mention has been made, was 
incorporated by act of the legislature in 1887. But few of the 
earlier and interested members were living in 1901. A meeting 
Was held on September 18, when it was voted to remove the 
books to the town library building, and allow the people of the 
town to use them upon the same conditions as the books of 
the town hbrary are used. There were over 1,000 books in the 
Ladies' Library. Mr. Brown offered to provide cases for the 
books which were taken to the library building soon after. The 
ownership of the Ladies' Library is to remain with the original 
proprietors and can be removed if the conditions are not satis- 
factory to them. 

What books remain of those given by Rev. Dr. Langdon are 
now in a case by themselves, and number about one hundred. 
Some undoubtedly have been lost. They were probably valuable 
and standard works at the time they were given, but not of as 
much interest at the present time. The majority of them are in 
Latin. They are a curiosity and should be carefully preserved 
as a memorial of the giver. 

For more than twenty years Mrs. Sadie E. Janvrin has been 
the faithful and efficient librarian. 

By the first order from the Navy Department for guns to be 
placed about the Weare monument on the common we were to 
receive them from the Navy Yard at Portsmouth, but, owing to 
the difficulty and danger of getting them over the bridge, objec- 
tion was made by the Government, and the order was changed 
and we received four guns from the Charlestown Navy Yard. 
The Boston and Maine Railroad transported them free to Hamp- 
ton Falls. The original order of the Government making the 
change is here appended: 

Washington, D. C., August 14, 1897. 
Sir:— 

Referring to your letter of July 21, 1897, enclosing letter from 
Mr. Warren Brown in regard to obtaining guns from the Boston 
Navy Yard instead of from the Portsmouth Navy Yard: 

1. The Bureau has cancelled the order on the Portsmouth 



170 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Navy Yard for the three (3) 100-pdr. guns, and has substituted 
the following: 

From the Boston Navy Yard. 
Four (4) 32-pdr. guns, of 4500 lbs. each, with mounts, and 
Two hundred and twenty (220) Xl-inch projectiles. 

2. These will be issued to the order of the Selectmen of Hamp- 
ton Falls, N. H., and must be removed without expense to the 
Government. 

Respectfully, 

Sam'l K. Behrend, 
Actg. Chief of Bureau of Ordn. 
Hon. W. E. Chandler, 

U. S. Senate, Washington, D. C. 



FROM TOWN RECORDS. 

The records of the town show that generally there have been 
some persons who by want of capacity, misfortune or by their 
own actions, have been reduced to poverty and have become 
dependent upon the town for support. This was a condition 
much more common in the earlier history of the town than at 
present. Such people were looked upon with disfavor and, being 
paupers, no matter how their conditions had been brought about, 
they were not supposed to have any rights that anyone was 
bound to respect. The burden for the support of such persons 
was made as little as possible. It was the custom in early times 
to dispose of town charges at auction to the lowest bidder at the 
annual town meeting. There was no guarantee that any extra 
oare or attention would be given to the persons thus disposed of. 
This practice, once common, seems to have been discontinued 
here before 1800. It was practiced in many towns until a com- 
paratively recent period. Many persons who were dependent 
upon the town for a part or the whole of their support at that 
time would, at the present time, be able to gain their own liveli- 
hood, as there are now so many more means of employment and 
ways of earning money. This is especially true of in-door help 
which is now scarce and hard to obtain. Many of the women 
who appear upon the record as receiving help from the town 
could now obtain employment at good wages and be independent 
of charity. 

There were some who had a little property but from want of 
judgment and calculation were in danger of loosing it, and thus 
they would be in danger of becoming town charges. Such people 
were often placed under guardianship or the selectmen took 
charge of their affairs and used the proceeds and income for their 
support, and in this way prevented them from becoming an 
expense to the town. 

About 1750 Abigail and Rebecca Worthen, who were considered 
non compos mentis, had a little property which was appraised 
and taken in charge by the selectmen and used for their support; 
items appear upon the record book for a number of years after, 



172 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

but no evidence that they were any expense to the town. Had 
this precaution not been taken their Uttle property would prob- 
ably have been wasted and they would have been dependent upon 
the town for support. We have no knowledge of where they 
lived or anything in relation to them except what appears upon 
the record. 

In 1756 we find a charge of one pound four shillings for four 
pairs of gloves furnished the bearers at the funeral of Widow 
Hannah Cooper. It was a custom in those times for the family 
bereaved to present each of the bearers with a pair of gloves. 
We have no means of knowing why this respect was shown Mrs. 
Cooper as she had been supported by the town for several years. 
Either her connections or character were such as to command the 
respect of the community, or this would not have been done. 
There is no means of knowing who she was or why she was so 
unfortunate as to have had assistance from the town. The name 
of Cooper does not appear upon our record among the inhabi- 
tants of the town. 

Abigail Crosby is another name which appears for many years 
before 1790. Items for her support and clothing appear fre- 
quently upon the record. On April 17, 1771, she was sold for 
one year to Nathan Rowe for ten shillings lawful money. Ben- 
jamin Leavitt afterward took her at the same price. She appears 
to have lived in Mr. Leavitt's family for a considerable time. 
There is no knowledge of her except what is upon the record. 
John Treadwell was sold at the same time to Pain Rowe, three 
pounds seven shillings lawful money. 

Great care was exercised by the selectmen of the town to pre- 
vent undesirable persons from gaining a residence, who might 
later become an expense to the town. Newcomers, who had no 
visible means of support or who had large families, were often 
warned to leave the town. If this was done within a few days 
after their arrival, the towns were not liable for their support in 
case they came to want. So jealous were the authorities in this 
respect that often persons of property were warned out, as it 
was thought better to be on the safe side. Any person who had 
been rated for six years and had paid their taxes for the six 
successive years gained a residence. In taxing doubtful persons 
it was the custom to omit them for a year, so six years in suc- 
cession would not appear and thus prevent the gaining of a 



FROM TOWN RECORDS 173 

residence. This usually excited the ire of the person omitted, 
as they were aware of why it was done. By taxing William 
Blaisdell one year too many the town became liable for the sup- 
port of his family. The town was taxed for the support of some 
members of his family for more than sixty years, until the last 
one died in 1853. This family cost the town thousands of dollars. 

The Long Bridge at Rivermouth. 

The bridge at the mouth of the Hampton River was begun in 
1901. The most of the oak piling and heavy timber was taken 
from the cars at the Boston and Maine railroad station at Hamp- 
ton Falls, and rolled upon the town landing where it was worked 
and fitted, and then taken down the river in rafts. The hard 
pine lumber was taken from Portsmouth in rafts towed by a 
steam tug. In a heavy sea three of the rafts went to pieces, the 
lumber coming ashore as far east as Portland, Me. Much of it 
was a total loss to the contractors. The experiment of building 
the bridge was watched with considerable interest. Many pre- 
dicted that it would be a failure. When the bridge had been 
completed it was dedicated May 14, 1902, and formally opened 
to the public. Gov. Chester B. Jordan acted as motorman of the 
first car that ever ran upon the bridge. The opening exercises 
were conducted about midway of the bridge. Warren Brown of 
Hampton Falls presided. Addresses were made by Governor 
Jordan, Hon. Henry M. Putney, chairman of the railroad com- 
missioners. Col. John C. Linehan, insurance commissioner. Presi- 
dent Murkland of the State College, N. J. Batchelder, master of 
the State Grange, and Hon. John McLane of Milford. The 
music was by the Exeter band. The exercises at the bridge were 
at 2.30 p. m., previous to which a collation had been served to 
the invited guests at Hotel Whittier. It is claimed tHat a part 
of the bridge near the center is in Hampton Falls, as the town 
of Hampton Falls extends to the bound rock which is below the 
bridge. It is claimed by some that the dedicatory exercises 
occurred in Hampton Falls. 

Formerly the Hampton River and its branches were well 
stocked with clams, but during the latter part of the nineteenth 
century, from some cause, they had become nearly extinct. 
When the bridge was built there was some speculation as to what 
might be the effect upon the clam flats. From some cause in 



174 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1907 clams were as abundant as ever were known. It was thought 
that the mud washed upon the flats had been the cause of kilHng 
them and that the bridge had altered the current and caused the 
clams to be abundant again. The quality of the Hampton River 
clams is the very ])est as there is no sewage to injure them. It 
is said that there is a larger area of clam flats in Hampton Falls 
than in any other town in the state. 

In November, 1901, for the first time within the knowledge of 
any one living, herring in vast numbers have come into the 
Hampton River, and have been taken in great quantities with 
seines. As many as five hundred barrels have been taken in a 
single night. This was done by parties from Newburyport. To 
facilitate this work a small steam launch was used which was 
the first one ever on the river. 

In 1866 bluefish were taken from the river in great numbers. 
With this exception bluefish have never been known to be in the 
river to any great extent. 

In the fall of 1865 immense quantities of pollock were taken 
off the coast of Hampton, Seabrook and Salisbury. Nothing like 
it had ever been known before. 

In the autumn of 1861, which was the first year of the war, 
the old academy hall was used as a drill hall. Guns were furnished 
by the state. Gen. Charles A. Nason, who had been prominent 
in military affairs in the state, acted as drill master. Quite a 
large number engaged in the drill. The tactics used in war were 
so different from those in the old militia that this exercise was 
of little practical value. No one, so far as known, who went 
through military evolution there, ever saw any service in the 
War of the Rebellion. 

During the winter of 1858 and 1859, a course of lectures was 
delivered at the Baptist Church. The more noted lecturers were 
Edward Everett Hale, Thomas Starr King, Rev. Rolin H. Neal 
and Henry Gyles of New York, and other distinguished men 
whose names have now gone from my memory. The following 
winter lectures were delivered in the academy hall. Among the 
lecturers was Rev. J. C. Fletcher who spoke on Brazil a number 
of times. Rev. A. M. Bridge and Hon. George H. Dodge were 
active in getting the speakers, and in making the affair success- 
ful. The lectures were well patronized and much enjoyed. 

On IMarch 21, 1904, at 1.05 a. m., occurred one of the most 



FROM TOWN RECORDS 175 

severe shocks of earthquakes ever known in New England. It 
extended over all New England and was heavy in Maine. At 
Augusta chimneys were thrown down. It was felt with much 
force in this town but no damage was done. 

In June, 1904, the New Hampshire Traction Company put in a 
second line of feed wires extending across this town, going over 
the land of Warren Brown, Henry H. Knight, H. E. Tilton, 
Samuel R. Dalton, Wilham H. Thompson and Mrs. T. G. 
Moulton. The price paid per pole was, on an average, a little 
more than $10 each. The Rockingham Board of Commis- 
sioners made the award. This line extends from Hampton 
power house to the car barn in Plaistow. 

On July 3, 1908, in a heavy thunder shower, the Baptist meet- 
ing house was struck by hghtning. The steeple was injured so 
much that it had to be practically rebuilt, at a cost of $350. 
The clock was not stopped but the hands refused to move. 
It was repaired and put in order by the insurance company. 

In the same shower the east schoolhouse was also struck and 
badly shattered. The teacher, Miss Pratt, had the precaution to 
gather the children into the centre of the room and no one was 
injured. Had the teacher remained at her desk she would, in all 
probabihty, have been killed. The house was repaired at an 
expense of $158.65. 

On July 13, 1905, Nathaniel Batchelder's barn was struck by 
lightning and three hogs were killed. Not much damage was 
done to the building. 

On July 10, John M. True's barn in Kensington was struck 
by hghtning and burned; two cows were also burned. In the 
same shower Abel Page's barn was struck and burned, and 
Walter Hilhard's barn was also struck and a horse was killed. 
These were all in Kensington. In June, 1906, the barn of Josiah 
D. Prescott was struck by lightning and burned. 

Jeremiah Brown, commonly known as "Neighbor" Brown, 
was born in Londonderry and came to this town, about 1820, to 

work in the stable at the hill. He married first Ball of 

Epsom and had sons, Jonathan and Theodore, and perhaps others. 
He married, second, Sally, daughter of Walter Williams. They 
had children, Eunice, Theodate, Andrew J., and George. He 
afterward lived in what was the Burnham tavern house. He 
moved to Exeter and lived five years upon the Cram farm, going 



176 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

from there to Epsom in 1849 where he died soon after. Andrew 
J. was a currier by trade and lived in Exeter. He drove a hack 
for Major Blake for twenty-five years. He died in Tamworth 
in 1910, at an age of more than eighty years. 

Charles P. Akerman died on September 17, 1908, aged about 
sixty-five years. He was a son of Meshech S. Akerman and was 
born in this town on the farm now owned by George J. Curtis. 
The family moved to Hampton in 1847. He had been station 
agent for the Boston and Maine Railroad in Hampton Falls since 
January 1, 1877, until his death. He was representative from 
Hampton Falls in 1901, and was one of the selectmen at the 
time of his death. He was a prominent Odd Fellow and had 
taken the higher degrees, and had acted as a deputy to visit 
neighboring lodges. He had one daughter, Annie. He spent 
nearly all his life in the employ of the Eastern, and Boston and 
Maine railroads. After the death of Mr. Akerman, Charles B. 
Brown was appointed railroad station agent, and continued 
until March 1, 1917. 

Abraham Green, who was mentioned about 1740, was a 
physician and settled in Stratham. Jeremiah Pearson, who lived 
about the same time, was a tailor. He figured in the attempt to 
settle Robiestown (Weare) about 1750. 

Job Haskel was born at Gloucester, Mass., on April 17, 1716 
and came to Hampton Falls in May, 1738. He married Mercy, 
daughter of Thomas Leavitt, January 20, 1737/8. His son, Job, 
Jr., was a soldier in the Revolutionary War from this town. He 
was rated here for the last time in 1780. He died at New 
Gloucester, Me., 1806, aged ninety years. We are unable to tell 
where he lived in this town, but he owned real estate here. 
He appears to have lived in Chichester and Pittsfield after leaving 
here. Richard Tobie, mentioned on our record, married a 
daughter of Job Haskell. 

For the first time since 1667, the name of Tilton disappears 
from our record in 1906, Henry E. Tilton having disposed of his 
farm and removed from the town. People of the name were 
quite numerous in the town; twelve persons of the name were 
rated in 1776. There were blacksmiths in the town by the name 
of Tilton from 1667 until 1821. 

Joseph Thresher and his son, Henry, were tanners. They 
lived on Thresher's Lane where Mr. Milton now lives. Henry 



FROM TOWN RECORDS 177 

Thresher married a daughter of Jacob Brown and removed to 
Chester soon after 1750. 

In October, 1906, the gypsy moth commission made some 
examination in this town and found a few nests. They wished to 
co-operate with the selectmen of the towns about here for a 
thorough examination and for the destruction of all nests which 
might be found. This was the first appearance of the gypsy 
moth in this town. In 1907 the report says that they have spread 
to some extent the past years. 

In 1904, the brown tail moth, a pest recently imported from 
France, and which has been in Essex County and around New- 
buryport for a number of years, made its appearance in this 
town. It has gone across this state into Maine. The bright 
electric lights of the street cars were an attraction and favored 
their spread. They have caused a great deal of damage to fruit 
and shade trees. They have and still continue to cause the 
farmers a great deal of labor and expense to keep them in check. 

On September 22, 1902, during the night, a violent hail storm 
passed over Bridehill and Pagetown in North Hampton. In the 
morning hail to a depth of a number of inches was found. It was 
gathered in the afternoon by a number of families to make ice 
cream. Considerable damage was done the growing crops. It 
did not do much damage in this town. 

In October, 1905, Warren Brown had electric lights put into 
his barn and stable, and a few in his house, and had an electric 
motor installed, with which to saw wood, press hay, etc. Fred 
P. Sanborn put in light and power at about the same time. 
These were the first electric lights in the town. 

James Howard Brown was representative from this town in 
1903. He was library messenger during the legislative sessions of 
1905 and 1907. 

At the presidential election in 1908, Warren Brown was chosen 
one of the presidential electors, receiving 53,144 votes. 

At the same election John N. Sanborn of this town was elected 
senator from the twenty-first district. 

Fred P. Sanborn was elected representative from this town, after 
the most spirited contests, both in caucus and at the polls, 
that we have ever had in my remembrance. 

In an old deed, dated 1690, the Moulton elm is spoken of as the 
old elm. 

13 



178 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

In the autiniin of 1904 the selectmen put up new guide posts 
and signs all over the town where needed — twenty cedar posts 
and all new boards — which was a long needed improvement and 
added much to the good appearance of the town. In 1915 the 
town put up signs, where the roads from outside enter the 
town, bearing this inscription, "This is Hampton Falls." It is 
a great convenience for the information of strangers. 

In 1904 the Ananias Club purchased a building to be used for 
club purposes and moved it from N. M. Batchelder's and located 
it near the house of the late Lewis S. Sanborn, on the Hampton 
road. 

The name of Swain appears very early upon the town records. 
Several families of the name were living here Jiefore 1800 when 
the name disappears. After 1900 the name again appears. 
Nahum Swain, married a daughter of George S. Merrill. On the 
death of Mr. Merrill, Swain succeeded to his homestead. In 1908 
Roscoe F. Swain of South Hampton married Mildred, daughter of 
Warren Brown, and has since made his residence here. Both are 
descendants of the early residents of the town by that name. 

A1)el Ward, son of Thomas of Hampton, was born January 1, 
1694. He married Mary Melcher, daughter of Samuel Melcher, 
Octo])er 23, 1724. He settled in Hampton Falls upon the lot 
now occupied by the house of the late Nathan ^Vloulton. All the 
land on the north side of the road around the Moulton house was 
taken from the IMelcher farm. Abel Ward had nine children, 
one of whom was Melcher who was a Revolutionary soldier from 
this town, and lived near the Exeter road schoolhouse. 

Thankful Hamilton, whose tombstone is in the Well's lot in the 
old cemetery, died in 1835, aged eighty-five years. She was a 
domestic in the famih^ of Moses Wells and had ))cen considered 
one of the family. 

Charles L. Hardy, adopted son of Charles Hardy (adopted 
some time in the 40's), went to England and enlisted in the 
army and served until the com]iletion of the Crimean War. 
When he came home he was denied the right of voting l)y the 
selectmen, in 1868, because he had taken an oath to support the 
English government. In after years he was allowed to vote. 
He died in 1880. His son, Charles William Hard}', graduated 
from Harvard College in 1895, and is a director of physical 
education of the Y. M. C. A. 



FROM TOWN RECORDS 179 

Ralph Adams Cram, a native of this town and a son of Rev. 
Wilham A. Cram, is an architect in Boston. In 1903 he was 
selected by the United States Government to remodel the entire 
plant of the military academy at West Point. 

There has been a question as to the origin of the name 
"Murray's Row." No person of the name ever lived in the 
town. We find that Lieut. Joseph Akerman, an original char- 
acter, was the first to apply the name to that locality. It seemed 
to be a name which happened to strike him. At that time there 
were but two houses on the row, his and the Marshall house. 

When the meeting house was built at the Line, it could have 
been located on any suitable lot between the Falls River and 
Seabrook line, but no lot could be obtained. When a lot was 
selected Isaiah Page, who lived where Clarence Brown's buildings 
were burned, was much opposed, as the meeting house when 
built cut off the view and sunshine from his house, and he 
exclaimed, "Great is Diana of the Ephesians." The name 
Diana has been applied to this house and it is often spoken of by 
that name. 

The name of Butler appears upon the record as early as 1726, 
but disappears during the time of the "Revolutionary War. It 
appears again soon after 1850. Robert Butler is a descendant 
of the early family of that name. The Butlers were royalists 
and that was why they left the town in 1776. 

When the meeting house was built in 1768, the location 
was so far west of the old meeting house that it was called the 
Ohio meeting house. Some of our people had emigrated about 
that time to Ohio which was at that time, the far west. 

Horace A. Godfrey who lived at the hill was a railway postal 
clerk for many years, beginning in 1876 and continuing until his 
death in 1905. He was much interested in the town, common and 
it was through his efforts that the chestnut and other trees were 
set out. He looked after and cared for them as long as he 
lived. They are a monument to his memory which bids fair 
to continue a long time. His run in the mail car was from Boston 
to Bangor. 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN'S JOURNAL. 

1899. 

The following records of the weather, crops and current events 
are from a journal kept by Warren Brown, beginning January 1, 
1899: 

Jan. 1st: A light snow recently fallen is drifted and requires 
that the roads be broken. 10th: Zero weather, loth: Snow has 
nearly all disappeared. Good wheeling. The remainder of the 
month cold, with little snow. 

Feb. 1st: Cold. 8th: A heavy snow which turned into a 
blizzard and blocked the roads badly. There were no trains 
running on the steam railroads for a day or two. It cost this 
town $300 to render the roads passable. 19th: Snow going 
away rapidly and had nearly all gone by the end of the month. 

Mar. 1st: Baldwin apples sold for $3.50 per barrel; No. 2 at 
$2.25. Considerable snow fell which soon went away. 7th: 
A hard storm of snow. ' 12th: Very muddy. 19th: Ice storm 
which . adhered to the trees. It made good sleighing, Init was 
slippery and dangerous. The remainder of the month was 
snowy and disagreeable. 

Apr. 1st: A storm of rain. Very muddy and bad travelling. 
It continued muddy until the middle of the month. 21st: Very 
cold for the time of year. 29th: Warm day, 80° in the shade. 

]\Iay 1st: The hottest May day on record. 3d: A heavy 
white frost in the morning. Tent caterpillars are very numerous 
and require a great deal of attention. 13th: The top of the 
ground is getting dry. 13th: The first street car passed through 
Hampton Falls. 26th: Very dry, roads dusty, and a complaint 
that planted seeds do not come up well. Grass looks slim. 

Juno: The first of the month very hot and "<dry. 20th: A 
thunder shower accompanied with hail. 28th: Rained all 
day; considerable water fell. There was some good hay weather 
the last of the month. 

July: Intensely hot; a good rain fell which was much needed. 
A good hay season; much less hay cut than last year but is of 
much better quality. 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 181 

Aug. : The weather generally pleasant and favora])le for farm 
work, and dry enough to facilitate work on low lands. 

Sept.: Was a pleasant month. 

Oct. 1st: Very cold for the time of year. Ice formed one fourth 
of an inch in thickness. Snow flakes in the air. Signs of a 
storm which did not come. The first part of the month was 
pleasant. 22d: The ground has been frozen quite hard the past 
two mornings. The leaves have nearly all fallen from the trees. 
The month ended pleasant. 

Nov. 1st: Dull and wet all day. 11th: It has been pleasant 
so far this month. Began to rain and some snow fell today, 
12th: Snowing and the ground is white. The rest of the month 
pleasant, with little rain. Apprehension of a water famine for 
the winter. The first day of November was a very dark day. 

Dec: Very pleasant until the middle of the month. The 
ground is frozen hard. The month as a whole has been pleasant; 
4° above was the lowest temperature recorded. 

The year 1899, as a whole, has been a pleasant one, more 
pleasant weather than usual. Good crops with the exception of 
apples which are scarce. A great deal of extra work has been 
done on the farms in town this year. Wages of farm help are 
about $20 per month with board. Day labor for many years 
has been SI. 50 per day without board. Indian meal has retailed 
during the year for less than $1 per bag, somewhere about 90 
cents per bag. Hexall flour, $5.25 per barrel. 

1900. 

Jan. 1st: About a foot of light snow fell which became drifted 
and required two days' breaking to open the roads to travel. 
4th: Zero in the morning; continued cold for a number of days, 
with good sleighing until about the 20th. 19th: Said to have 
been the warmest day in January for twenty-seven years. 15th: 
Ice cutting, eleven inches in thickness and of fine quality. 27th: 
Considerable rain fell which was soon frozen, making it very 
slippery and dangerous. Miss Jessie B. Dodge fell from the roof 
of a piazza and sustained fatal injuries. Disagreeable weather 
continued until the end of the month. 

Feb. : Came in with zero weather and it remained cold a number 
of days. 12th-13th: Very rainy which did much damage by 
washing and flooding. It took a number of days' labor to repair 



182 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

the roads in. the town. 18th: A severe snow storm which left 
the roads badly drifted and the snow unevenly distributed. The 
roads required a great deal of attention before being made 
passable. It was cold and disagreeable the remainder of the 
month. 

Mar. 1st: Heavy rain which caused a freshet. Highest tide 
for twenty-seven years, with one exception. The water came 
up over the Boston and Maine Railroad track. 10th: The snow 
nearly all gone; warmer for a number of days. Last of the 
month disagreeable. No. 1 apples sell for S4 per barrel at retail. 

Apr. 1st: Pleasant, which continued through the month. 

May 3d: A heavj^ rainfall. 5th: Cold for time of year, which 
lasted for a number of days. Ice formed one fourth of an inch 
thick and the ground frozen. 12th: Peach trees in bloom. Trees 
are backward. 15th: Hot, 99° in the shade reported from 
Boston. 19th: A. good rain. Middle of the month cold. 28th: 
Eclipse, of the sun, invisible by reason of clouds. A dark, cold 
disagreeable day followed by a hard frost at night. 30th: Apple 
trees in full bloom. 

June: The first part of the month dry and cool. 11th: Dry 
and very dusty; the hay crop unpromising. Last of the month 
very dry. 27th: Very hot, 104° in the shade. It remained hot 
the remainder of the month. 

July 1st : The wind blew too strong to handle hay for a number 
of days. Very dustj^ and good hay weather. 7tli: A heavy 
shower accompanied by hail and wind, which did much damage 
to buildings, trees and fences. Hugh McAllister's house was 
struck by lightning. The remainder of the month pleasant. 
A good rain on the 25th The smallest crop of hay for many 
years. Salt grass more in demand than for' a long time. More 
of the marsh cut than usual, with a very favorable time to secure 
the hay. 

Aug. 5th: Hot, with a great deal of smoke in the air. Com- 
plaint of dry wells. 16th: More rain fell today than has fallen 
during the past three months. 26th: Intensely hot. 

Sept. 16th: A strong, southwest wind which did a great amount 
of damage. Thousands of bushels of apples were blown from the 
trees. Trees were badly broken, hay stacks tlamaged, etc. 
Many are now suffering for want of water. 16th: Two and one- 
half inches of water fell. The month was generally pleasant. 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 183 

Oct.: The first of the month was wet and misty. 14th: A 
severe rain storm, which cleared away warm and pleasant. 
17th: Cold, with frost and a number of cool days following. 
22d-26th: Very hot for the time of year. There is a very large 
crop of apples, many of which have been sold at a very low price. 
Those who held them realized much better prices later in the 
season. 

Nov.: First week pleasant. 8th: A very high tide; it being 
still little damage was done. 7th-8th: Heavy thunder showers; 
cleared away warmer. 17th: Snow, with the ground frozen. 
18th: The roads are very soft. 20th: Roads are drying. 25th- 
26th: Southeast rain storm. A great deal of rain fell which 
went into the ground. 

Dec. 1st: Cold, with some snow on the ground. 4th: A fish- 
ing vessel came ashore at Hampton; crew lost. People are 
moving the hay from the marshes upon wheels; conditions are 
very favorable, and most of the hay was removed during the 
month. 17th: The past week has been very pleasant. English 
hay has been sold for $20 per ton at the barn which is the highest 
price for many years. Zero a number of mornings last of the 
month. 

1901. 

Jan. 1st: Cold, the ground frozen hard; the roads smooth. 
Zero a number of mornings. 12th: Snow upon the ground; the 
first sleighing of the season, which is the very best. 14th: Ice 
cutting, ten inches in thickness, of the best quality. Rain coming 
interfered with the work. Snow going away. 20th: Ten degrees 
below. 25th: Very slippery around the buildings, but not snow 
enough for sleighing. Continued cold for the remainder of the 
month. 

Feb. 1st: Very cold. 7th: Drifting snow which caused a great 
deal of inconvenience to street cars, and required the roads to 
be broken. From the 10th to the 20th there was very severe 
weather, followed by bad travelling, alternating between snow 
drifts and bare ground. Cold continued until the end of the 
month. It has been a poor time to remove hay from the 
marshes. 

Mar. 1st: Warmer. The roads are getting muddy. 11th: 
Rainy all day; more rain has fallen than for some months pre- 
vious. The rain did a great deal of damage by washing, etc. 



184 HISTORY OF IIAMTTOX FALLS 

lOth: The snow nearly all ^one. The roads were muddy until 
the end of the niontli. The wind has been from the west nearly 
all Avinter, which is an unusual and notable occurrence. 

Apr. .3d: A heavy rain. A milk war going on in Boston l)e- 
tween the farmers and contractors which does not affect our 
farmers directly as our milk goes to Lynn, and is not subject to 
the surplus clause so called. 6th-7th: Very rainy. A great 
amount of water in sight. 12th: The first fair day this month; 
pleasant for two or three days. 26th: The roads are cjuite dry 
and considerable plowing has been done. 22d: Rainy; the 
wind has been from the northeast nearly all the time this month. 
Only 50-2 hours sunshine during the entire month. 

May 3d : The wind northwest for the first time in a number of 
weeks. The grass looks remarkable well. Less planting done 
than usual at this date. 19th: Very rainy, five or six inches of 
rain fell. 20th: The ground is very full of water and the work 
of planting much delayed. We have had but little sunshine 
during the month. 

June 1st: It is too wet to do much work on the land. Planters 
seed reported in many cases to be rotting badly, and all slow of 
germination. 2d: Apple trees are in full bloom. The Baldwins 
as a rule have not bloomed at all. Very few tent caterpillars. 
5th: A hot day. 9th: Fair and quite cool. 14th: No rain has 
fallen for a week and the top of the ground is getting dry and 
the roads dusty. 22d : A heavy thunder storm at night. Haying 
began the last week in the month. The yield is considerably 
more than last year. Very hot, 105° in the shade. Some 
deaths reported from the effects of the heat; continued hot until 
July 4th; on the 3d it was 108° in the shade. 

July 4th-5th: Quite cool. Potato bugs numerous. 10th: 
Dull for a day or two. Much hay colored and injured. 14tii: 
Cooler and quite comforta]:)le; wind northeast most of the time. 
The remainder of the month was not favorable for hay making, 
which work was much delayed on this account. Haying not 
finished before August 1st. 

Aug. 7th: A much needed rain came. The top of the ground 
had become very drj'. The potato cro]:) pi'omises to be short, 
and potatoes are selling for SI. 75 per bushel. 17th: Quite dry; 
there has not been much precipitation for some time. The 
August season has not been favorable for securing salt hay, and 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 185 

much hay was put up in bad shape. The last of the month was 
fair and hot. 

Sept.: Hot until the 9th when a light frost came. The re- 
mainder of the month quite cool. The marsh season in Septem- 
ber was much better than the August season. 

Oct.: The entire month was fair and pleasant. The leaves 
have fallen from the trees. Apples are a small crop and of poor 
quality. 

Nov. : Fair until the 11th when a light snow came; the ground 
was frozen. The snow went away by the heat of the sun, a very 
unusual thing at this time of year. The same thing happened 
with a snow which came on the 20th-23d. The ground freezes 
a little every night. 24th: A severe northeastern rain storm. 
The tide rose to an unusual height. 28th: Ground frozen hard; 
10° above. Ice formed three inches thick. Many people have 
dry wells and are short of water. 

Dec. 1st: Pleasant. Nearly a foot of snow came on the 4th, 
which blocked the roads. The snow continued until the 14th 
when it nearly all went away with rain. The frost came out of 
the ground. 15th: Very rainy, which did a great deal of damage 
but replenished the wells and springs. 20th: Cold with high 
wind. Roads smooth and frozen hard. 26th: Four inches of 
snow came, which made fine sleighing; it was spoiled by a rain on 
the 28th. 29th: Rainy and a very dark day. The weather has 
been changeable all the month. 31st: A sudden change in tem- 
perature; a fall of more than 30° in a few hours, accompanied by 
a strong northwestern wind. A serious conflagration narrowly 
averted by the timely discovery of an incipient blaze, by those 
upon a passing street-car. It was at the house of Horace A. 
Godfrey. 

1902 

Jan.: Came in cold, with no snow upon the ground. 6th: Ice 
being cut, ten inches thick. 7th: Very snowy. 10th: Sold 
Baldwin apples in Newburyport, No 1, $4.50 per barrel. No. 2, 
$2.25. 12th: About a foot of snow which laid level, followed by 
a week of pleasant weather, which made good sleighing until the 
22d when a rain came and carried off nearly all the snow. The 
ground was bare until the end of the month. 

Feb. 1st: Snowing all day. 2d: Rain carried off all the snow. 
It has been very cold with high winds, and the roads are frozen 



186 HISTORY OF HAMTTON FALLS 

hard and smooth. 17th: A severe snowstorm wliidi blocked the 
roads and caused serious delay to steam and electric cars. 
There has been little thawing weather since Dec. 1st. 2oth: It 
began to rain in the night. From the great amoimt of water 
falling and the depth of snow upon the ground the roads were 
impassable in many places.- 27th: Warmer, the snow going 
away. Roads are very muddy. 

Mar. 5th: Ten inches of snow fell which made good sleighing. 
9th: Rain, which carried away most of the snow. 14th: Roads 
are very muddy, but are beginning to dry. 16th: Rainy all day. 
18th: E. B. Towle is plowing, the frost being out of his garden 
land. Work is being done on the land in many places. 23d: 
Warm and spring like. Frogs heard for the first time this spring. 
The grass begins to look green. The remainder of the month 
pleasant, and favorable for doing farm work. 

Apr.: First week very pleasant. 8th: Began to rain in the 
evening; five or six inches of water fell during the night. Pleas- 
ant until the 26th, when a rain storm came, with thunder and 
lightning. Hail stones fell more than an inch in diameter. 

May 3d: Rainy. Grass looks uncommonly well. Signs of a 
big bloom on all kinds of fruit trees. 10th: A cold wave came; 
ice formed three inches in thickness and the ground was frozen 
hard. Peach trees were in full V)loom but from some cause were 
not injured, as we had one of the largest crops of peaches ever 
known. The two succeeding days were cold, with strong north- 
western winds. The cold weather continued for a number of 
days. The Hampton River bridge at Rivermouth was formally 
opened with appropriate ceremonies on the 14th. It was a cold 
disagreeable day. A]iple trees in full l)loom on th(> 18th. Cold 
weather continued until the end of the month. 

June' 1st: Hot weather for a few days with light falls of ruin. 
The top of the ground is getting dry and the grass is beginning to 
suffer from want of moisture. 16th: Heavy thunder showers 
in Manchester and Portsmouth, but little rain fell here. It is 
so dry that rainfalls do little good, as the winds soon drj' it out. 
21st: A good rain which cleared away cool, and it was cool the 
remainder of the month. Some good hay weather the last week 
in June. The corn is very small, fulh' two weeks late. 

July: Weather changeable. 2d: Very rainy. Some good hay 
weather the first week. Quite cool, too cold for corn. There 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 187 

were but two or three clays during the month when the glass 
reached 90°. 15th: Frank Greene's house was struck by light- 
ning but not set on fire. A boat overturned at the Shoals 
and fourteen persons were drowned. Some good hay weather 
during the week ending the 20th. 29th: It has rained nearly 
all the past week. Haying has been at a standstill. The sun 
has not been visible for more than three hours the past week. 
Corn still two weeks behind. 

Aug.: The weather still unfavorable for hay making and many 
have not yet finished haying. Much hay has been discolored and 
damaged, and first class hay is the exception. Corn is still 
backward and will require a great deal of warm weather to ma- 
ture much of a crop. Potatoes never looked better; the eating 
quality was never better. The leaves on some apple orchards 
have turned yellow and are falling. With all the precipitation we 
have had, little water has fallen; the surface is dry and the roads 
dusty. 11th: A heavy rain which did much damage in some 
parts of the state. Still cool for the time of year. 17th: Fair 
with the wind from the west. The prevailing wind has been 
from the east for the past three months. 23d: A heavy thunder 
shower, with hail which lay on the Bride Hill road to a depth 
of five inches; hail stones were gathered the next day at 5 p. m. 
to freeze ice cream. 24th: Cool and cloudy, followed by a week 
of good weather. 

Sept.: The fii'st week the weather was fine but cool. Second 
week, dull and wet, but little water fell. Poor weather to cure 
second crop and salt grass. Less salt grass cut than usual from 
want of help. Some wells are failing. 27th: A good rain; more 
water fell than for a long time. The rain continued on the 28th. 
Fall apples are plenty but of rather poor quality. Coal is scarce 
owing to a long continued strike at the mines. The local markets 
are bare as no coal has been mined for four months. Anthracite 
coal is selling for $20 per ton. 

Oct. 4th: Republican caucus; James H. Brown nominated for 
representative and Benjamin F. Weare for delegate to the con- 
stitutional convention. Fair weather. Picking winter apples 
which are of poor quality, spotted and not well colored ; small in 
size. These defects are attributed to the wet, cloudy weather 
during the growing season. Warm, pleasant weather until the 
19th. This was followed by high winds and two hard frosts. 



188 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Tho coal strike is icportcd to have hocn settled and work is 
about to he resumed at the mines. 2Gth: More rain fell today 
than has fallen for a number of months. Fair and cool. 

Nov. 1st: First snow of the season but not a great deal. Drop 
apples are selling for thirty cents per barrel delivered at the car. 
4th: Biennial election in the state; light vote cast, 76 for Repub- 
lican governor to 9 for all others. The caucus nominees for 
representative and delegate elected. 13th: Snowy, disagreeable 
weather, followed by a few daj's of Indian summer weather. 
Cooler until the 26th when it snowed all day which was followed 
by disagreeable weather. 

Dec. 2d: A very dark night, followed by a dark and stormy 
day. 3d : Snowing all day, followed by unpleasant weather. 7th : 
Snowing; glass 10° above for the week following. Xo pleasant 
weather. Glass goes to 10° below and lower in some parts of the 
state. A foot of badly drifted snow requires that the roads be 
broken. The scarcity of fuel is seriously felt by many, soft coal 
and hardwood being used. Wood is selling from SIO to 812 per 
cord. 14th: Warmer, followed by rain. The sleighing is now 
spoiled. Ice is said to be six inches thick. Snow enough for 
sleighing came on Christmas day. Cold, unpleasant weather the 
rest of the week. The going is very good upon the main roads, 
but poor on the cross roads, from uneven distribution of snow. 
There have been no deaths in this town this year until December 
20th, when a child, one day old, died. About the same time 
Chevj^ P. Chase died. This is the lowest mortality ever recorded 
in the town in any year. This has been a remarkable year; 
cooler than usual. It is said that there has been frosts in some 
places in the state every month. A great deal of cool, cloudy 
weather, so that crops did not mature. Corn in most cases was 
a light crop. Apples of poor quality, starting high in price and 
later selling at a lower price with but little demand. Much 
hay injured by damp and wet weather. No. 1 hay scarce and in 
good demand. N'olcanic disturbance and eruption-; in central 
America and in the West Indian Islands have caused serious loss 
of life and destruction of property. 

1903. 

Jan. : There was snow enough for sleighing during the first part 
of the month, ])ut from the effects of warm weather it soon dis- 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 189 

appeared. The moderate weather is favorable to those who are 
short of fuel. Anthracite eoal sells in Portsmouth at $12 per 
ton, and only in limited quantit'es at that. Soft coal, which 
many are using, sells at $10. Later in the month anthracite coal 
sold in Newburyport at $15 per ton, and wood sold as high in pro- 
portion. Cold. Warm on the 8th, which lasted a number of 
days when it was very hard to keep the houses warm enough to be 
comfortable. 13th: Mrs. Dr. Curtis was buried. She was a 
daughter of George Janvrin. 17th: Good sleighing on a small 
depth of snow. Wood is getting scarce, as a great deal is being 
sent to market. 18th: Cold wave. The glass went down 54° 
in forty hours. 21st: Rainy all day. The glass went up as 
suddenly as it had gone down. 22d: Icy and slippery. Many 
accidents have happened on the road from this cause. 24th: 
Zero at sunrise. People are cutting ice which is eighteen inches 
thick. 29th: Very dark day, icy and slippery about the building. 
Last day of the month dull and wet. 

Feb. 1st: Warm and pleasant for the first few days. 4th: 
Very rainy all day. It has rained every Wednesday so far 
since the year came in. Icy. 11th: Rainy. Snow nearly all 
gone. 16th: Snow and high winds; badly drifted snow has de- 
layed the trains. 18th: Twenty degrees below zero in the 
morning. This has been the longest cold spell of the winter. 
28th: Warm, wet and rainy. Snow going fast. 

Mar. 1st: Miss Sarah E. Sanborn was buried. 8th: We 
have had four days of rain. The snow is all gone. 18th: 
Pleasant, glass at -|- 60°. Heard frogs for the first time. Fair 
and pleasant. Frost nearly all 5ut; the roads are so dry that 
traveUing is very good, being little mud. 24th: The glass 
went up to 74° in the shade. Vegetation very forward. Grass 
as green as in ordinary years a month later. 22d: Wild geese 
have been seen going north for a number of days. 29th: An 
inch of snow fell which soon disappeared. The month of March 
has been one of the pleasantest ever known. It had more 
pleasant weather than any month this year. 

Apr. 15th-16th: Considerable rain fell in the early part of 
the month. Severe northeast rain storm; a great deal of water 
fell. 17th: Cold, raw day. Andrew J. Chase died. The re- 
mainder of the month quite cool. Grass continues very forward. 
Sheep and young cattle turned to pasture last of the month. 
Frost last days of the month. 



190 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

May 1st: Hujj;h McAllister died suddenly. He was a native 
of the north- of Ireland and had l)een a resident of the town for 
forty 3'ears. There has not been any rain for two weeks; the 
roads and plowed lands are dry and dusty. 5th: Joseph Bent- 
ley's buildings were consumed by fire, supposed to have been the 
result of an accident. Government quarantine prevents cattle 
beinfi br()Ujj;ht from Massachusetts for pasturaj^e or the moving 
of cattle for any purpose, over the state Hue. Uitli: Cool; 
land too dry to plow to advantage. (Jrass looks well but nuich 
in need of rain. 12th: The town voted 63 to 2 against license 
to sell intoxicating liquors. 17th: Warm, with wintl from the 
west for the first time in two weeks. Five acres of saltmarsh. 
owned by the late Nathan Moulton, sold at auction for .S3. 50 per 
acre; a few years ago this marsh was sold for S60 per acre. 
Only .15 of an inch of rain has fallen so fai' this month. Farm 
hands arc scarce with wages at S25 per month and board The 
apple trees are not Ijlooming as much as usual. Heavy frosts 
on morning of the 24th, 25th and 2()th, which did a great deal of 
damage. 

June 6th: The drought continues with increased severity, 
and planted seeds are failing to germinate. The prospect for 
the hay crop is poor. The atmosphere is heavily laden with 
smoke from forest fires in Maine and elsewhere. The sun having 
been obscured by smoke has prevented more serious injury from 
the drought. Fine ashes have been falling which came from 
the forest fires. Stove cotll on the cars is .S6.25 per long ton in 
Portsmouth. 19th: Charles Thomas Brown died. He had 
been town treasurer for tweftty-five years. 9th-10th: Rain 
came, which had a very beneficial effect on all kinds of vegeta- 
tion. Harry B. Brown died from a surgical operation in Boston. 
21st: A heavy rain all day. 26th: First fair day for three weeks. 
The low lands are inundated. Many have not done any plant- 
ing. The previous dry weather, and the heavy lains have had 
a disastrous effect ujoon all planted crops The hay crop now 
promises well. 27th: The warmest da}' of the season. 

July 6th-18th: Good hay weather. 19th: One of the most 
severe northeast rain storms ever known in July; it did a great 
deal of damage to the crops. 27th: Wind from the west; 
wind too strong to handle hay. Tli(> remaindcM- of the month 
poor hay weather. 29th: Exi)l()si()n of a dynamite factory in 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 191 

Lowell, Mass., which was attended with serious damage to prop- 
erty and loss of life. The shock was distinctly felt here, and 
with much force at the Isles of the Shoals. 

Aug. 1st: Miss Almira Towle died suddenly. Miss Eliza- 
beth Green and Mrs. Warren B. Pervear died about the same 
time. The past few days have been good hay weather. Many 
did not finish haying until the middle of August. 17th: Good 
weather for the past week; more like summer than anything 
we have had. Second crop of grass making a great growth. 
The last of the month the glass was 55° in the morning for a 
number of days. Cold and raw, more like November than 
August. 

Sept.: Month was on the whole a pleasant one. 14th: Hot, 
92° in the shade. A heavy thunder shower. Mrs. John W. 
Dodge died early in the month. 16th: Rain and high wind at 
night, which did a great deal of damage. Dean R. Tilton, a 
life long resident of the towai, fell from a chamber window at the 
residence of his daughter in Chelsea, Mass., and was found dead 
in the morning. A great deal of second crop grass is being cut, 
and with the first crop will make the hay crop above the average. 

Oct.: Month was for the most part pleasant. 'Favorable 
time for doing out-door work. Heavy dew in the morning. 
Apples are a light crop, but the yield is more than was expected; 
they are not of the best quality, selling from $1 to $1.50 per 
barrel. Corn planted at the usual time failed to germinate be- 
cause of dry weather. Afterward it 'was so cold and wet that 
the seed rotted in the ground. Many fields were not planted 
until late in June. While now and then there was a field which 
made a fair yield, the majority had only a small crop of im- 
mature corn, probably the poorest corn crop since 1816. Po- 
tatoes not a full crop, but are of good quality and selling at 
seventy-five cents per bushel. Hoed crops are very near a fail- 
ure this year. Garden vegetables are scarce in the farmers' 
cellars. Some of the last days of the month were cold and raw. 
On some days there were light falls of snow. The leaves are 
all off the trees. 

Nov.: The first until the middle of the month was generally 
pleasant, with now and then a light fall of snow; weather favor- 
able for out-door work. Complaint that the water is very low 
in the wells and springs. Mrs. Hugh McAllister was found dead 



192 HISTORY OK HAMPTON I'ALLS 

in her house, from heart failure. Tlie ground closed up the 18th 
and is frozen a foot in deptii. Koads are smooth and hard. 
Tm'keys are scarce and sell fioni twenty-eif2;lit to thirty cents 
per pound and in some cases hi^hei' pi'ices are i-ejxjrted. 

Dec. 2d: It l)eo:;an to snow and continued the next day; about 
six inches fell but was too light to make good fj;oinjj;. It has been 
very cold for the past two weeks. 13th: A heavy rain carried 
away the snow. Ground frozen from one to two feet in depth. 
21st: Zero weather, Avith high Avinds from the west. 29th: 
Below zero in the morning. A little snow, which makes very 
good going on the roads. Ice cut nearly a foot in thickness. 
The year ended cold. .'31st: A Theatre fire in Chicago caused the 
death of 587 persons. Thus ends a year which has not been a 
pleasant or prosperous one to the people of the communit3\ 

1904. 

Jan.: The first ten days were very cold, ranging from zero to 
15° below. Water pipes were badly frozen. ]\Irs. Forest F. 
Brown died on the 8th. Snow on the 9th, after which it was a 
a little warmer for a few days. Rain on the 14th, which froze 
and made it very slippery. It was one of the coldest January's on 
record. At the end of the month tliere was more snow upon the 
ground than at any one time in many years. There were few 
days in the month favorable for out-door work. The salt 
marshes were frozen in better shape than for a long time. The 
removal of the hay was easily and safely accomplished. 

Feb.: The first half was very cold with little let up, and no 
perceptible thawing. About a foot of snow fell on the loth, 
followed by high winds which drifted the snow and blocked the 
roads to a greater extent than had been known before. It took 
a number of days' labor to open the roads to travel, the drifts 
being six or more feet in depth, and the weather very cold. 
19th: More moderate for a few days; a little rain which settled 
the snow\ John Batchelder died, aged eighty-four. 25th: 
Roads again blockaded with snow. No mail for a number of 
days. The toAvn put to grc^at expense to oi)(mi tli(> roads. The 
remainder of the month rough, cold weather witii high winds. 
Emmons B. Towle died. 

Mar. 1st: Ten degrees below, followed l)y warmer weather, 
the snow thawing and going away rapidly with much water in 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 193 

sight. Variable weather until the 26th when most of the snow 
had disappeared. Most of the water from the melting snow has 
gone into the ground. A severe shock of earthquake was felt; 
no damage done here. 24th: The milk teams went on wheels 
for the first time this spring. The roads were pretty well settled 
at the end of the month, and little snow was visible. 

Apr.: During the first half of the month the weather was 
variable with a few warm, pleasant days. 16th: Three or four 
inches of snow fell, which did not all disappear for a number of 
days. 26th-27th: About four inches of rain fell. But little 
farm work was done in April. Mrs. James Creighton and Mrs. 
Margaret Mcllveen, sisters, died. They came to this town from 
Scotland forty years ago. 

May: Pleasant weather until the 8th when some rain fell. 
14th: Alec. Cochran's buildings on the depot road burned. 
18th: Very rainy. It has been so wet that little farm work has 
been done. 25th: The apple trees are in full bloom. Weeds 
and witch grass have got the start of the hoed crops. The 
last days of the month very pleasant. 

June 1st : A cold disagreeable day. Some snow was seen to fall. 
Cold wet and rainy until the 10th, when there was quite a frost. 
The season very backward; planted seed in many cases have 
rotted in the ground. Planting of corn continued all through 
the month. The week ending the 19th was pleasant and favor- 
able for work, the top of the ground having become dry and 
dusty. Dr. William W. Curtis, a native of Vermont, died, aged 
eighty-nine. He had been a resident of this town for more than 
forty years. 25th: Heavy thunder shower. C. Barton's 
buildings in North Hampton burned by lightning. Grass is 
looking fine and gives promise of a heavy hay crop. For the 
first time for forty years we do not see any signs of canker worms. 
The brown tail month, a new pest, imported from France, is 
making its appearance. It has been over the line in Essex 
County for a number of years. 26th: Lewis T. Sanborn died, 
aged sixty-nine years and eight months. 

July 11th: Little haying has been done as the weather has 
been unfavorable. There has been but little precipitation, but 
it has been cloudy and damp with the wind from the east. A 
good crop grown. The work of haying more backward than 
usual. The week ending the 18th was good hay weather and a 

14 



194 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

great deal of hay was secured in good condition. The remainder 
of the month was cool and cloudy with an east wind. On account 
of poor weather there is considerable haying to be done in August. 

Aug. 1st: Weather still unfavorable. 20th: More rain fell 
than has fallen for a number of weeks It has been a cold sum- 
mer. Corn is having a hard time to make growth. Latter part 
of the month pleasant. 

Sept.: The first half was pleasant, but cooler than usual. 
19th: About four inches of rain fell, which did a great amount 
of damage by washing. This was followed by a heavy frost 
which killed the corn and other tender vegetation, and destroyed 
the grapes and peaches. 

Oct. 1st: Verj^ cold for time of year, with high winds. Snow 
fell on the 12th, an inch being reported in some parts of the state. 
The glass showed a temperature of 38° for a number of days in 
succession, going as low as 14°. But little rain fell during the 
month. Down to 18° on the 29th, with a heavy frost. A large 
crop of apples with little demand. Flour barrel selling at forty 
cents. Most of the apples were sold in bulk at forty cents per 
barrel, emptied into the car. 

Nov.: First week pleasant. At the biennial election David 
F. Batchelder was elected representative. Only one vote cast 
for license to sell intoxicating liquors. The ground was frozen 
every night during the month. A cold northeast storm on the 
20th. Some snow fell. Twenty-eight inches of snow reported 
from Littleton, N. H. Glass went to 10°. Joseph Brown^ a 
native of Scotland, but for forty years a resident of this town, 
died, aged eighty-two. The body of Mrs. Abigail, widow of 
Samuel Batchelder who died in 1858, was brought here for burial. 
John E. Sanborn, a native of Exeter, a machinist by trade, 
died this month. He married a daughter of John Marshall and 
had lived in this town for several j'ears. A successful effort was 
made to extend the independent telephone line from Exeter to 
Hampton Falls railroad station. It is in operation from N. W. 
Healey's to the depot. The weather all througli December has 
been unusually cold with no thawing during the month. The 
ground has been bare, the roads smooth and frozen hard. It 
was a good time to do out-door work. The water is very low in 
the ground and many are put to serious inconvenience to get 
water for stock and domestic purposes. The weather has gen- 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 195 

erally been fair, with less dark, cloudy days than usual at this 
time of year. 25th: Zero in the morning. One inch of rain 
fell on the 29th, which was soon frozen, making it very slippery. 
The coldest December on record. At its close we had had sixty 
days of close winter weather. 

Review of a Peculiar "Year. 
" 'W. B.,' Hampton Falls, in Countnj Gentleman, January 9: 
The season of 1904 was peculiar. A short, cold summer followed 
a winter of great severity, with winter conditions beginning again 
November 1, and continuing until the end of the year. Autumn 
was generally fair, but much colder than usual, with little precipi- 
tation. The year was the coldest for twenty years with one 
exception, 1888. Last snow in spring fell April 20; first in fall, 
October 12. Latest frost was June 10; earliest in the fall, Septem- 
ber 22. With so short a season corn, except under the most 
favorable condition, failed to make an average yield. It was a 
very poor hay season, with haying prolonged later than usual. 
Lowest temperature of the year, January 26, 22 below; highest, 
June 26, 95, making range of 117 degrees. December was the 
coldest month of the name for twenty years, mean temperature 
being 22, against an average of 27; precipitation for the month, 
2.31 inches, against an average of 3.70. Total precipitation for 
the year, 37.62 inches, against an average of 42.74. An inch of 
rain fell December 27, with more rain a day or two later followed 
by a little thawing; becoming cold, the water was soon frozen and 
little perceptible effect was to be seen on the streams. A cold 
northeast snowstorm commenced January 2, and continued 
thirty hours, which makes the first sleighing." 

1905. 

Jan. 1st: The first thawy day since November 1st. Ten inches 
of snow came on the 5th, followed by rain which carried most of 
the snow away. The storm was attended l^y a high tide which 
did a great amount of damage along the coast, followed by cold 
weather and icy roads. Very good sleighing, with little snow. 
Thus far no let up in the cold weather. The hay nearly all re- 
moved from the marshes. Ice being cut eighteen inches thick. 
25th: Severe northeast snowstorm which blocked the roads. 
Continued cold remainder of the month. 

Feb.: During first half of month there were no signs of 
warmer weather. Mrs. Joseph Brown, who came to this country 
with her husband in 1856, died. She was a native of Scotland. 
15th: The free rural mail delivery was installed with Charles 



196 HISTORY OK HAMPTON FALLS 

I. Akerman g,s carrier. Great complaint of scarcity of water. 
21st: It thawed enough so that water stood in the road for the 
first time since Nov. 1st. 

Mar.: The first week the snow yielded slowl\- to the action of 
the sun. Some water moving in the streams but the wells are 
very low. Sleighing continued all winter until the lOth when 
wheels began to be used. Active measures are being taken to 
destroy the nests of the brown tail moths which are numerous, 
the town appropriating money for the purpose of destroj'ing 
them along highways and waste places. Icy and dangerous 
until the 20th when eight inches of snow fell, which made good 
going for a day or two. The remainder of the month pleasant. 
The snow disappeared by action of the sun, the water resulting 
going into the groimd which was nearly settled at the end of the 
month. Less mud than usual in the roads which are now quite 
dry. There is no improvement in the water supply in the wells. 

Apr. 1st: Cool, with a disagreeable wind. Two inches of rain 
on the 4th, which did not make any show as it soon disappeared 
into the ground. It was cool and dry all the month. Signs of 
rain do not materialize. Forest fires are numerous and doing a 
great deal of damage. Grass starts slowly. Edward D. Pike died. 

May 1st: Spring work more backward than usual. A little 
rain fell on the 8th. Vegetation coming forward slowly. 6th: 
Ninety degrees in the shade. Frank Merrill, son of George F. 
Merrill, died. Mowed lawn first time on the 11th. Apple trees 
in full bloom. 26th: Farm laborers scarce and hard to olitain. 
Very dry last of the month. Less than an inch of rain has fallen 
during the month. 

June: The first of the month cool and dry. 17th: Ninety-one 
degrees in the shade. This was followed by a sudden fall of 
40° in a few hours. Some snow was seen to fall. 19th-22d: 
Dull and wet, which did a great deal of good, causing vegetation 
to come forward rapidly. Remainder of the month fair and 
warm. Good hay weather. Favorable conditions have had a 
beneficial effect upon the crop, which at one time it was feared 
would be a failure. 

July: The first week was good hay weather. Mrs. Jonathan 
Robinson died, aged ninety years. She was the mother of Mrs. 
John J. and Mrs. .James D. l^rown. She formerly lived in Exeter. 
10th: A heavy thunder shower, which did nmch damage in 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 197 

Kensington. John M. True's barn and the barn of Abel Page 
were struck and burned; another barn was struck; in each in- 
stance some hve stock was killed. Tornado on the 13th, which 
did some damage. Natt M. Batchelder's barn was struck and 
two pigs killed, not much damage to the building. The weather 
during the entire month was fair. The best hay season for years, 
with about two thirds of an average crop. Rev. Daniel B. 
Phillips, a retired Congregational clergyman, died. He had lived 
in the town for the past fourteen years. Hugh Brown, a Scotch- 
man, died. He lived below the railroad on the Brimmer road. 
Mrs. Ellen F. Brown, who conducted a sanitarium, at the Presi- 
dent Weare home, died. The month closed dry, with rain much 
needed. 

Aug. : Not a great deal of rain fell during the month. The 
rain which did fall caused some second crop grass which at one 
time seemed impossible. Heavy shower on the 11th when the 
Blatchford house was struck by lightning. The golden rod is in 
bloom and other signs of autumn are visible. Mrs. George D. 
Dodge died. Mrs. John C. Akerman died about the same time. 
The brown tail moths are more plenty than last year, and are 
doing much damage. Not a great amount of salt grass cut, con- 
sidered to be about two thirds of an average crop. 30th: The 
heaviest shock of earthquake for the past one hundred years; 
buildings were shaken and people alarmed; no damage here. 
The centre of the disturbance seemed to be near Portsmouth 

Sept.: A number of heavy rains during the first half of the 
month flooded low lands and caused the fields and pastures to 
become very green. Peaches are plentiful and are a drug in the 
market. One dollar per barrel was offered for apples upon the 
trees. Bart ett pears sold for $5 per barrel in Boston. Potatoes 
are nearly a failure, early ones from the effect of drought, late 
planted from rot. First frost on the 14th. Nearly fifteen inches 
of rain has fallen since Aug. 1st. 

Oct. : The weather for the month has for the most part been 
fair and pleasant, very favorable for doing all kinds of out-door 
work. With the scarcity of help this has been a great favor. 
Coldest morning the 26th when it was 22°. Snow fell n the 
upper part of the state. Gypsy moths found for the first time 
in this town. About one third of a crop of apples. Warren 
Brown installed electric lights and power, the first in the town. 



198 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Horace A. Godfrey died suddenly. He had been in the railway 
postal service for nearly thirty years. Daniel Appleton of 
Gloucester, a retired architect, aged eighty years, died siuldenly 
while on a visit to Miss Sarah A. Gove, falling tlead soon after 
entering the house. 

Nov.: The fields are very green for the time of year. More 
days of sunshine and less dark days than usual at this season; 
many mornings of white frost which were not followed by rain. 
Ground frozen nearly every morning during the month. Glass 
at 6° on the 14th. Changeable last of the month. 29th: Re- 
ported to have been the warmest day for the season on record, 
60° in the shade, followed by a fall in temperature of 40° in a few 
hours. Apples have been sold at S2.50 per barrel, ones and twos 
packed together. Thanksgiving, 30th. Turkeys sold at retail 
for thirty cents per pound. 

Dec. 2d: A snow flurry. 3d: Rainy, followed by fair and cool 
weather. Good weather to prepare for winter. Ground frozen 
but little 10th: About eight inches of snow fell, which was 
more than came farther from the coast, followed by a co d wave; 
10° belovy. Considerable hay moved from the marshes, and a 
great deal of business done for a few days. A heavy rain the 
21st, which carried away most of the snow when it Ijecame 
warmer, and the roads muddy. But little frost in the ground. 
P owing done in the last week in the month. At the same time 
ice was eight inches thick in the ponds. November and Decem- 
ber reported to have been the pleasantest months of the name 
on record This has been an unusually pleasant year from start 
to finish. 

190G. 

Jan.: The weather during the month warmer than usual witii 
little snow. 12th: Ice cut a foot in thickness, and of good (lual- 
ity. The roads smooth and frozen hard. This was followed by 
warm weather; the frost came out of the ground and the roads 
very muddy. The ice disappeared in some ponds and reduced 
from twelve to five inches in one week in others. Robins were 
seen. Insects and snakes made their appearance. Some plow- 
ing was done. On one day the glass registered 70° in the shade 
and for an entire week ranged from 50° to G0°. Little cold 
weather thus far. The remains of Joseph Bentle}', a former 
resident, were brought here for ])in'ial. 



EXTEACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 199 

Feb. 2d: Cold wave came on. 3d: Five degrees below on this 
morning; 20° below in the northern part of the state; 30° below 
on the 4th, with a strong southwest wind. Zero weather for a 
number of mornings after. The ice did not increase much in 
thickness; six inches of snow came on the 8th. "John Doe," a 
desperate character who shot and killed an Italian at Rocking- 
ham Junction, was captured after a hard chase near the Guenea 
schoolhouse. A moderate amount of snow the first half of the 
month made good getting about. During the remainder of the 
month the snow went away; the roads were soft and muddy, and 
it was hard to do business. The town thus far has been at no 
expense for snow bills. Cold wave last of the month. Some 
ice of good quality was stored during the month. Wild geese 
were seen going north. In some places maple sap was gathered. 

Mar. : Not very cold first days in March, thawing by day and 
freezing at night. A severe blizzard on the 9th did much damage 
to poles and wires, but not much snow fell. 13th: Annual town 
meeting; Jos. B. Cram, Arthur W. Chase and Levi N. Sanborn 
were elected selectmen; $100 was appropriated to fight gypsy 
and brown tail moth. 14th: Ten inches of snow came, attended 
by the coldest weather of the winter. 18th: About a foot of 
snow came, making nearly two feet on the ground at this time. 
Considerable damage was done by the recent storms, and by far 
the most disagreeable weather conditions of the winter. The 
snow nearly all went away before the end of the month, leaving 
the roads in a bad condition. 

Apr.: The weather was very disagreeable in the early part of 
the month. The roads were in a condition to render doing busi- 
ness to great disadvantage. It is estimated that there have 
been more muddy roads the past winter than during a number 
of previous years combined. People are busy removing brown 
tail moth nests. The last of the month the grass was very 
green and fine for the time of year. The grass has come through 
the winter in good condition. 

May: Not much rain during the first half of the month. The 
brown tail moths threaten a great deal of damage. An expert 
who made an examination found four nests of the gypsy moths 
in the town. 13th: Ground soft and wet. Grass very forward. 
Frost did some damage on the 20th. 24th: Apple trees in full 
bloom. A small amount of precipitation during the month but 



200 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

enough to keep vegetation in j^ood corulition. We have had httle 
wai'in weathdr as yet. Some tlmnder showers last of the month, 
which (hd no damage. 

June: Four and one-half inches of rain fell during the first 
week, which was much needed. The brown tails are doing a 
great deal of damage in some places. Good growing weather 
but plowed lands and crops are too wet to be worked. There 
was a great deal of rain during the remainder of the month; 
eleven inches fell in eighteen days. The ground is full of water 
and grass has made a great growth. 

July: First week good hay weather. Second week cool and 
wet, wind rom the east but not much precipitation. The fields 
are very soft and wet, making it difficult to use labor saving 
machinery. 15th: Not much haying done. Hoed crops are 
small and need attention. Seed potatoes have rotted and the 
stand is very uneven. The grass is green, with the wind east. 
Hay making is attended with much difficulty. 21st: Thunder 
showers. Green head flies very numerous and more troublesome 
than for years. 29th: Cloudy, very poor hay weather. A great 
deal of haying yet to be done. The ong continued wet weather 
has caused al vegetation to be very vigorous. 

Aug.: The month began with unsettled weather conditions, 
with frequent sea-turns. Much hay injured. Ground still soft 
and wet. 19th: Hot fair weather with a west wind for the 
first time this summer. The best hay weather of the season. 
26th: Intensely hot; business was suspended in some places. 
Many prostrations reported. The crop of brown tails more 
numerous than expected. 

Sept.: Fair and cool first of month. Ground getting dr}-; rain 
much needed; second crop not as good as usual from this cause. 
Too dry to jilow and rcseed grass lands. A white frost on the 
5th which did little damage. Roads dusty. 23d: Intensely 
hot; light rains, with misty and foggy mornings in succession. 
Many are complaining of want of water, as little rain has fallen 
for a number of weeks. 

Oct. : About one half of an average crop of apples of the best 
quality is being picked. George C\ Healey has sold his farm to 
New York parties. Heavy rain on the 10th, followed by two 
white frosts, when water was frozen. 11th: Arthur W. Brown 
and Fi'ances M. Wadleigh were married. The month cool, fair 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 201 

and pleasant. Moth inspectors found two hundred gypsy moth 
nests in this town. Less fall feed than for many years. Apples 
generally sold when picked; firsts and seconds packed together at 
$1.75 per barrel; barrels cost from thirty-five to forty cents each. 
Many people experienced much inconvenience all the season 
from want of help which is scarce. 

Nov.: Came in pleasant. State election on the 6th. The 
lightest vote in my remembrance: sixty-one votes cast for 
governor; Benjamin W. Elkins elected representative. 15th: 
Cold; the ground slightly frozen; one and one-half inches of rain 
fell. Rest of the month cool; a little rain and some snow which 
soon disappeared. There was less precipitation than usual dur- 
ing the month, but much dark and cloudy weather (.luring the 
entire month. Mrs. Josiah Batchelder, a daughter of the late 
Joshua Janvrin, died. During her married life she lived in 
Exeter. A child of William H. Thompson died. These, with 
Mrs. Albert S. Smith, were the only deaths in town this year. 

Dec: First week cold and disagreeable. Some snow. Zero 
on the mornings of the 7th, 8th and 9th, with cold wind from the 
west. Remainder of the month changeable, with much cold, 
unpleasant weather. Many dark cloudy days. A little snow 
last of the month made good sleighing. Roads icy. Some ice 
of good quality cut last of the month. Complaint of scarcity of 
water; many put to serious inconvenience on that account. 
From the opening of the season until its close the weather has 
been unusually pleasant. Less precipitation than usual and 
little uncomfortable, hot weather. Corn crop above the average. 
Potatoes nearly a failure, but sell at a low price because of heavy 
yields in other sections. 

The Governor Weare house has been repaired, mproved in 
appearance and thoroughly renovated this year and, if no acci- 
dent befalls it, seems good for another hundred years. It was 
built in 1737 by Dea. Samuel Shaw whose daughter married 
Meshech Weare. 

Arthur W. Brown has built a stone cottage opposite his father's 
residence, taking the stones from the roadside and division walls. 

Clarence T. Brown, a grandson, conveyed the homestead of 
the late Thomas Brown to Grant B. Sanborn. The buildings 
were burned in 1885. 

In 1905, two ladies named Keep and Lane bought the Pike 



202 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALI.S 

place near the Exetci- line. After making some improvements and 
finding the' venture unprofitable, two or three years later sold it 
to Joseph Fortier of Exeter who sold it later to W. H. Temple. 

H. Lanty built a small house on the north side of Greathill, 
on the site of a house that was burned, which was owned by 
John Hardy. 

Edwin Janvrin moved the house built by A. Wright from its 
location on the Clreathill road to the Gove Corner where it will 
be occupied by S. B. Pervear. 

On Feb. 15th, 1903, L. M. Jackson and son had purchased and 
took possession of the business of Charles N. Dodge. In Decem- 
ber, 1904, Mr. Dodge bought the business from Mr. Jackson and 
continued to do business until the fall of 1914, when he sold to 
George F. Merrill. 

1907. 

Jan.: Month came in with a thaw and heavy rain which 
put an end to sleighing and ice cutting. It had been very slippery 
and dangerous. Moderate, until the 10th, when snow enough 
came to make good going. Cold wave the 15th to 17th; 12° here; 
60° at Colel)rook. Rain the 19th, followed by intense cold; 18° 
here, 44° at Dover. Many apple trees and young orchards killed 
in Strafford County by the intense cold. Xo wind at the time 
or the most disastrous results would have resulted. This was the 
coldest weather ever known here. 25th: A foot of snow fell 
which lay level. Cold and fair. 

Feb. 1st: A foot of snow fell Avhich was badly drifted, causing 
much inconvenience to steam and electric cars and recjuiring 
the roads to l)e broken. Thus far the weather has been very 
severe since the year came in. There have been no days when 
it thawed and very few when it was clear, ^^ery cold all the 
month, zero on nearly every morning. The snow so (hy as to 
make runners go hard. It was the coldest Fe])niary on record. 
The car barn near the power house burned. 

Mar. 1st: Warmer for a day or two, then colder with the snow 
blowing. The week following warmer, with water running caused 
by the melting snow. r2th: Annual town meeting; John Elmer 
Sanborn, Levi N. Sanborn and Charles J. Merrill, selectmen; 
Mr. Merrill afterward resigned and Bertram T. Janvrin was 
appointed; Arthur W. Brown, town treasurer. Voted not to 
apply for state aid on the highway this year, our past experience 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 203 

not having been satisfactory. 18th: Snow going rapidly from the 
effect of the sun. 28th : A number of inches of snow came. 3 1 st : 
Snow nearly all gone and the water resulting has gone mostly into 
the ground. People are busy removing brown tail nests. 

Apr. 1st: About three inches of snow came during the day 
which soon disappeared. Roads beginning to dry. Nearly a foot 
of snow fell during the following week, weather cold and dis- 
agreeable, unfit for out-door work. Great number of robins and 
other birds stalled here by the severe weather, on their way north; 
they moved on when the weather became pleasant, the like of 
which was never seen here before. Cold remainder of the 
month. Snow visible on the north side of the woods until the 
28th. Less farm work done in April than usual. Mrs. Phoebe 
Merrill, widow of George S. Merrill, died suddenly. Moses H. 
Rolf of Newburyport died. He was a grain dealer and was 
well known in this town. 21st: Milk standing in cans was 
frozen. Mary A. P. Sanborn, a native of this town, died at 
Hampton and was buried here. She was a daughter of Nathan 
Brown. Rain much needed, not much having fallen for a num- 
ber of months. The month ended cold. 

May 4th: Rain fell. Cold northwest wind. Less farm work 
than usual done at this date. Trees are very backward. A 
great deal of cloudy weather. Snow was seen to fall on the 11th. 
A very heavy fall of snow in New York and Ohio. Henry H. 
Knight died after a long illness. 12th: Fair, with cold wind. 
Ground frozen this morning. Continued cold with east wind. 
Grass looking uncommonly well and quite forward. 19th: Still 
cold, no warm days yet. Rain much needed. Help scarce and 
hard to get. High wages demanded. Mrs. Cyrus Brown died. 
She was a native of Providence, R. L Apple trees in full bloom 
on the 28th. The month ended cool with little rain. 

June 8th: Farm work backward; no warm weather to speak 
of yet. Snow seems to fall in some parts of the state during 
the month. Planting being done middle of the month. Seed 
planted early failed to germinate from the effect of drought and 
cold. The prospect for the hay crop considered poor, until the 
20th. It was not comfortable to sit in the house evenings with- 
out a fire. 16th: The wind is west for the first time for weeks. 
The prevailing winds have been from the east for a long time. 
First hot weather for the season the 18th which continued for a 



204 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

number of days. 29th: Heavy rain whicli rontinned with 
unsettled conditions. Cloudy with southwest winds. 

July: Warm until the oth and very good hay weather. Not 
much haying heing done as the grass is very green and growing 
fast, giving promise of a fair crop. Miich work is being done 
by those who have hoed crops. 5th: Heavy rain followed by 
continuous thunder which lasted all night. The house of Mrs. 
M. Abbie Sanborn was struck by ligiiting; little damage was done. 
Some locust trees near the house of Jos. B. Cram were also struck; 
Jos. Webster's barn at East Kingston was struck by lightning 
and burned. The next two weeks was fairly good hay weather. 
Grass continues to grow. Timothy not in bloom the 20th. 
18th: One of the hottest days known, many prostrated by the 
heat. 26th: A heavy thunder shower which damaged a great 
deal of hay. Fresh west wind with some good hay weather last 
of the month. A blight has fallen upon some of the pine trees, 
causing the needles to turn brown and die, which many fear is a 
serious matter. 

Aug. 11th: Very warm and dry. Gardens, lawns and hoed 
crops suffering from heat and drought. 19th: Fair and cool with 
west wind; light rains which laid the dust and revived vegetation, 
but did not wet down to any extent. Some localities complain of 
lack of water for domestic use. 

Sept. 2(1 : Began to rain and continued foi' three days; more rain 
fell than for some months pr(^vious, followed by fair and warm 
weather. All kinds of vegetation making a vigorous growth, 
loth: A frost Init it did no serious damage. 29th: A northeast 
rain storm of considerable severity. More than six inches of rain 
has fallen this month, which is above the September average. 
But little rain has fallen during the past eighteen months and 
the water is very low in the ground. September, for the most 
part, pleasant and favoral)le for business. George C. Healey is 
putting on an addition to liis house. Samuel Lewis Pervear, a 
native of the town, and a Union veteran, died at T^ynn, !Mass., 
and was brought here for burial. 

Oct. 3d: Fair and pleasant. I''i(-l(ls look uncommonly green 
for the time of year. A good crop of potatoes. 13th: A hard 
and sudden rain storm was accomj^anied by a blizzard which 
uprooted apple trees and did nnich other damage. A great many 
apples were blown off: this was followed by some very pleasant 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 205 

days. 20th: Cold, with light flurries of snow for a day or two. 
Apple picking nearly completed. In some sections of the state 
many apples have gone to waste for want of help to gather them. 
28th: Cold rain storm. F. P. Chesterman and Miss Mary N. 
Healey were married this month. William H. Brown is building 
a house on the Uncle Billy Brown lot, in place of the one destroyed 
by fire in 1897, owned and occupied at that time by Fred P. 
Sanborn. 

Nov.: The weather this month was colder than usual. 3d: 
Heavy rain; more than twelve inches of rain has fallen since 
Sept. 1st. Mrs. Mary A. James, daughter of the late Joseph 
Brown, died suddenly at Hampton. Her only child, Albert 
James, died within a month. Charles Johnson, an aged and 
much respected citizen, died this month. He came here from 
Haverhill, Mass., some years ago. 

Dec. 1st: Snow falling all day. Cold, chilly weather. Some 
snow on the ground. 10th: Snow went away. Pleasant, some 
plowing done. 14th: Severe snowstorm which made good 
sleighing which lasted for a week. The weather was pleasant. 
29th: The snow has gone and the roads are muddy. 30th: 
Heavy rain which settled the going and made better travelling. 
December was warmer than normal and on the whole a pleasant 
month. An open season for killing deer of two weeks commenced 
Dec. 1st. Many deer were killed. The opei'ation of the deer 
law is not very satisfactory to the general public. The season 
of 1907 opened late. Many things did not get a start early 
enough to mature. Grapes failed to ripen. There were no 
peaches, but few pears. A small crop of berries. In most cases 
a light crop of corn. An average crop of hay. Less than one 
half a crop of apples. The season might be called a cold one 
all through. Farm help has been scarce and. almost impossible 
to obtain. Late in the season a financial panic did much to 
injure the sale of farm products, while most things the farmer 
has to buy did not decrease much in price. Grain high; Indian 
meal sold for $32 per ton, and mill feeds in about the same pro- 
portion. The contractors pay more for milk than ever before, 
thirty-three cents per can at the door. The price of milk is so 
high in the market that the sale to consumers has much decreased. 
The earning capacity of the laboring people does not afford money 
enough under the advanced price to admit of buying as much as 
usual. 



206 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

1908. 

Jan.: The weather, until the oth, very pleasant. The ground 
bare. The roads smooth. The weather moderate during nearly 
all tlie month with considerable rain and muddy roads. Cold 
wave the 30th. Sanuiel P. Sargent, who hved just over the line 
in Hampton near the sawmill, died, aged over eight}' years. He 
was a native of Salem, N. H. In early Ufe he was engaged in the 
whale fishery. He was a veteran of tlie Civil War, having served 
four years in the Sixth New Hampshire Regiment. People are 
busy removing brown tail moth nests which are to be removed 
before Jan. 20th liy order of the state entomologist, as additional 
expense will be made. Forest F. Brown has completed a cottage 
house for the use of his hired man. Not much ice cut. Not 
much salt hay has been removed from the marshes. 30th: Three 
degrees l^clow zero, coldest weather of the month. 

Feb. 1st: A severe southeast snowstorm which tinned to rain. 
This was accompanied by a high tide Avhich did a great deal of 
damage. Twelve inches of snow came on the 5th, which made 
good going. The week ending the 9th cold, 7° below. The first 
week in February is usually the coldest of the Avinter, and this 
year has been no exception. Ice cut twelve inches in thickness. 
There were a number of mornings when the glass was at zero. 
The ground on y slightly frozen middle of the month. The grip 
has been very prevalent this winter. William Brown, a native 
of Scotland, died. He had been a resident since 1870. Mrs. 
James H. Sanborn died. Stanton L. Brown's brooder house 
burned; a serious conflagration narrowl}^ averted. Oren D. 
Green, with his two horses, drowned while removing hay over 
the river, from the inside of the canal. Snow enough last of the 
month to make good going. 

Mar. 1st : Changeable, with a little rain and some snow. There 
has not been more than twelve inches of snow at any one time 
this winter. 8th: A great deal of business has been done on a 
small depth of snow. The snow all gone on the 8th. Roads 
muddy. 10th: Annual town meeting; Levi N. Sanborn, John 
Elmer Sanborn and Charles P. Akerman, selectmen; Frank H. 
Lord, town clerk; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer. A balloon, which 
started from Pittsfield, Mass., was caught in a walnut tree on 
land of William H. Brown. It had a narrow escape from being 
carried out to sea, with its two occupants, as the wind was very 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 



207 



CLOSE TO WATER. 

Baloonist Stevens Landed at 
Hampton Falls Yesterday. 

Escape From Being Carried Out to the Ocean 
a Thrilling One* 



Aeronaut Ijoo Stevens lind a tlirill- 
InfC cscjpo from boins: caiTicd out to 
s«t at lIaiii[itoii Falls, N. II., yester- 
day. One miiHitc's delay in landing 
and ho and \\illiam F. W'liitehouse, 
who accompanied him on tlio trip 
from I'itt.slicld, would have been 
swept out into tlio Atlantic ocean. It 
was tlio fastest flight ever made from 
Filtsfield, Uampton Falls being reach- 
ed in tlirec hours. 

The balloon landed on the top of a 
90-foot walnut tree, and'_b,y means of a 
tackle and with the assistance of .a 
score of farmers, the two- aeronauts 
.and th&ijalloon were lowered safely to 
the ground. The tree was in a small 
for^^t about a mile from the shore. 
Had the balloon gone over the fores:, 
Mr. Stevejis told a reporter it would 
have been doubtful, if a descent could 
have been effected before reaching 
the water. 

"It was the narrowest escape I have 
encountered in my many ascents," de- 
clared Mr. Stevens. "If we had been 
Ewetp out to sea at the rate we were 
going — something like 45 .miles an 
hour — well, I rather think it would 
have been our last trip here. ~ 
.■ "When we. left Haverhill I thought 
we had, the cup as good as won. W'.; 
were headed toward Boston, and, ev- I 
erything was . going -nicely.^ when we, I 
were caught in a wind blowing out i 
to sea. I am satisfied that March j 
winds cannot be depended upon. i 

- "I have not given up trying for the | 
cup, ho'i^ever, and you might add i 
that I am going to win it before I get : 
through. My- next trial will probably 
■be in May,i\vhcn you get better winds 



and can pick your currents. The 
'winds in that month blow mostly 
I from inland." 

"We left Pittsfield at 1.07 O'clock, 
'reaching Shelburne Falls at 12.10, and 
I crossed the Connecticut river,' 40 miles 
I from, Pittsfield at 12.15. Passing over 
South Royalston at 12.42, we crosst^d 
■the iMerrimac river at Nashua,, N. H.. 
; at 1.20. The balloon soared over Haver- 
hill at 1.45 and we reached Hampton 
Falls at 2 o'clock. 

"We figured we were travelling 30 
miles an hour. It turned out that we 
went at an average; speed of 46 miles 
an hour, and at times when we struck 
strong gales we went along at "from 
55 to 70 miles. 

"By air line it is only a distance 
of 135 miles, but we estimate that wa 
traveled 175 miles, because we were 
carried out of our course many times. 

"Only once or twice during the en- 
tire trip did ,we need our overcoats. 
The coldest current of air encoun- 
tered Was ar" South Royalston. 

"At times we reached a height o^ 
3000 feet. Within' 2000 feet of . the 
earth it was very misty, but we could 
identify the . cities- and towns we 
passed over. After leaving Haverhill 
we kept the balloon at a height of 
from 1000 to, 3000 feet. While negor 
tiating a landing at Hampton Falls 
we kept as close at 1000 feet to the 
earth. 

"As soon as slie landed In the -wal- 
nut tree, I pulled the whip cord and, 
the balloon landed like a dead wolf 
in the peak of the tree 90 feet from 
the ground. A score of farmers rushed 
to our assistance and were _a great 
help in aidinsj us to alight., We started 
out the trip with 300 pounds of ba!.- 
last and- landed with only three 
pounds." 



208 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

strong from the west. Charles Boj'd of Seabrook was killed 
by a train just a little north of Hampton Falls railroad station. 
He was either walking or lying upon the track. The remainder 
of the month was warm for time of year. Roads muddy. The 
ground not much frozen. People are busy getting off moth nests. 
Frogs heard first time. 20th: A great many birds have come. 
31st: Cold, roads frozen and very rough. 

Apr.: First week pleasant, followed by cold disagreealjle 
weather. 12th: Roads drying. A serious conflagration at 
Chelsea, Mass.; a large area Ijurned over. Cold west winds, 
ground frozen mornings. 17th: Water faucets frozen in the 
Imildings. Frost not all out. Roads being repaired. Cold for 
time of year. The buildings of George A. Evans in Kensington 
were burned. This was the homestead of the late Oilman and 
John P. Lamprey. Joshua A. Lane of Hampton died. He had 
been engaged in trade for more than fifty years and had a great 
deal of patronage from this town. Considerable rain last of the 
month. Grass looking unusually well. 

May: Cold for time of year. Considerable rain fell first part 
of the month which inundated the low lands and did much to 
delay spring work, as most lands are too wet to be worked. 
17th: Peach trees in bloom. Cold. Grass growing fast. 24th: 
Apple trees in full bloom. 31st: Heavy rain. Several inches of 
water fell. 

June 2d: Frost, followed by warmer weather. The top of the 
ground getting dry and the woods dusty. 11th: Roscoe F. 
•Swain of South Hampton and Mildred L. Brown married. The 
apple blooms seem to have blighted to quite an extent. C^uite 
a percentage of the brown tails seem to have died from a fungus 
disease. Getting dry. Grass light on dry fields. Gypsj'' moths 
are found in many places in the towns. 28th: Cool and cloudy. 
Eclipse of the sun. Up to date we have had less warm weather 
than usual. 

July 2d: Heavy thunder shower. The Baptist meeting house 
was struck by lightning and seriously damaged; also the hill 
schoolhouse, which was badly damaged; although the school was 
in session no one was injured. The house of John ]\Iace at the 
turnpike, and the barn, were burned, being struck by lightning. 
This house was the old Toll house. A barn was burned in Hamp- 
ton, and much damage done in other places. After this it was 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 209 

hot and dry with good hay weather. Corn beginning to roll. 
Crops need rain. 12th: 102° in the shade. Fair remainder of 
the month. 25th: A rain which did much to revive vegetation. 
31st: Hot, 102° in the shade. Hay nearly all cut; the best hay 
season for years. 

Aug. : Considerable rain fell during the first week, which bene- 
fited all kinds of vegetation. Much damage from lightning and 
floods reported from various places. Roads are badly washed. 
Early potatoes are nearly a failure. 16th: The average yearly 
amount of rain has fallen to this date. Second crop of grass 
looking well. Rev. William A. Cram, a native of the town, died. 
He was a retired Unitarian minister. Mrs. Batchelder, widow of 
John Batchelder, died, aged eighty-five. She was a daughter of 
Dea. Stephen Green. The country never looked more beautiful 
than at the present time. Fair and cool remainder of the month, 
favorable for all kinds of out-door work. Light frosts on morn- 
ings of 28th and 29th, which did little damage. 

Sept. 2d: Charles N. Dodge and Annie F. Healey were mar- 
ried. 7th: Some rain. The atmosphere is laden with smoke 
from forest fires, which continued for a number of weeks and was 
very disagreeable. Second crop grass being cut and yields more 
than was expected, being very thick at the bottom. Frost morn- 
ing of 16th. Remainder of month warm and summerlike with 
a smoky atmosphere. Charles P. Akerman died. He had been 
railroad station agent for thirty-two years. He was an Odd 
Fellow of high degree, was representative in 1901, and selectman 
at the time of his death. 26th: Exciting representative caucus; 
Fred P. Sanborn nominated, receiving fifty-five votes to forty-two 
for George F. Merrill . 

Oct.: Weather conditions were very near to those of summer. 
Nothing of the kind ever known before. Smoky atmosphere 
during entire month, with little rain. Apples were about one- 
third of an average crop, but yielded better than was expected. 
They were fair and well colored. Sold at the time of picking at 
SI. 75 per barrel, firsts and seconds. 23d: 80° in the shade. New 
Boar's Head House at Hampton Beach burned. 28th: A 
serious conflagration at Sahsbury Beach; about eighty buildings 
burned. Two inches of rain last of month. Mrs. Ezra C. Fogg 
died. 

Nov.: First week cold. Presidential election. Republican 



210 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

vote, 123; . Democratic, 17; Prohibition, 2. Fred P. Sanborn 
elected representative, having 79 votes to Gl for John 10. Brown 
who ran on nomination papers. John N. Sanborn was elected 
senator from the Twenty-first District. Warren Brown was 
elected one of the presidential electors. Mrs. Wells W. Healey 
died. A little snow was seen to fall on the 15th. It is very 
dry; wells and spring are very low. Only a fractional part of an 
inch of rain fell during the month. 27th: Thanksgiving day, 
and was a very pleasant day. 

Dec. 1st: Sixty-seven degrees in the shade; this was the 
warmest day of the date on record. 3d: 10° above, cold and 
disagreeable for a number of days. David C. Hawes died. 
He was a native of New Bedford, Mass.; went to California in 
1849, where he remained for a number of years; came to Hamp- 
ton Falls in 1864, and settled on the Melcher place. His wife 
was a granddaughter of Joseph Melcher. He was engaged in the 
manufacture of fertilizers. Some snow which made good going. 
7th: A hard southeast rain storm with a high tide. Snow on 
the 18th made good going. Remainder of the month not very 
cold. Thus ends a year with more pleasant enjoj^able weather 
than we usually have. Not as much rain as usual. The 
streams, wells and springs are very low; many are put to in 
convenience for water for domestic and other purposes. 

1909. 

Jan.: The year opened with moderate weather, followed by a 
heavy rain which carried away nearly all the snow. Cold wave, 
7th-8th. 12th: Rainy all day. Six inches of snow on 17th. 
Colder. Zero on the 18th. Snow trodden and good going on 
the road. Ice of good quality being cut, ten inches thick. Rain 
on the 23d. Thunder and lightning on the 28th. Cold, with 
good sledding remainder of the month. 

Feb. : Up to the 5th cold; 8° below followed by warmer weather 
which carried away the snow and spoiled the going. 21st: 
Ground bare. Some spring birds have come. 

Mar. 5th-6th: Cold. Some ice of poor quality being cut. 
It has been a poor ice season. More hay than usual on the 
marshes which have not been well frozen. 9th: Anmial town 
meeting; Jt^n Elmer Sanborn, Elroy G. Shaw and Harrj' P. 
Brown, selectmen; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer; Jos. H. Weare, 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 211 

collector; Frank H. Lord, town clerk; Charles W. Birtwell, 
member of school board. Pleasant, and not very cold during 
the month. The roads were dry and appeared to be settled 
middle of the month. Heavy rain on the 25th, which did much 
damage at the beaches and made the roads muddy as the frost 
was not all out. There has been but little frost in the ground 
during the winter. Grass beginning to show green. Have not 
heard the frogs yet. People are busy getting off the nests of the 
brown tail moths which are more numerous than ever before. 

Apr. 2d : Frogs heard for the first time. So dry that grass fires 
have done a great deal of damage. A cottage house and work- 
shop on the estate of the late Charles T. Brown caught fire from 
grass burning on the lawn and were entirely consumed. 11th: 
Grass fires doing a great deal of damage and are a constant 
menace. Cold for the time of year, with just rain enough to 
keep the grass growing. 18th: John W. Elkins died. Men are 
employed removing moth nests from trees and bushes in the 
highways in accordance with the state law. Cold for the season. 
Glass at zero in Coos County, with three feet of snow in the woods 
last of April. 

May 1st: Rain, followed by warmer weather. Mrs. Charles 
F. Chase died, aged eighty-seven.' She was a daughter of the 
late Josiah Smith. Exciting school meeting held on the eve of the 
7th. Dull and misty, good grass weather. Very cold for the 
time of year. Frequent rains with little precipitation. Grass 
never looked better at this time of year. Samuel R. Dalton 
committed suicide by shooting. He was a native of North 
Hampton and had lived in this town for about ten years. 
Freight house on the Boston and Maine railroad set on fire by 
a passing locomotive and came near being destroyed. No warm 
weather this month. Cold east winds prevailed nearly all the 
time. 30th: Apple trees in bloom, not more than one-fourth of 
an average bloom. A. K. Chase of Nashua died suddenly while 
packing clams at the railroad station. He had been engaged in 
building a house boat which was nearly completed at the time of 
his death. James Truesdale died about this time, aged more 
than eighty years. He came to this town from Scotland in 
1855, and had lived in this town nearly all the time since, and 
was employed as a laborer. He had a house on the depot road, 
the one destroyed by fire in June, 1916. 



212 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

June: Up to the 14th very cold; not more than one or two 
warm days this spring. It was dry all through the month. All 
kinds of crops have suffered from drought. Planted seed in many 
cases has failed to germinate. The weather last of the month 
intensely hot, 100° in the shade on a number of days. Mrs. 
Howard T. ]\Ioulton died. John F. Gynan and Fannie Ward 
Sanborn were married. The barn is being moved from the 
Towle place to Railroad Avenue, by Mr. Edgerly. 

July 1st: The drought continues; not more than an inch of 
rain fell during the month. 15th: Heavy showers went north 
and south of us. A hail storm which did much damage at Ports- 
mouth. On the 8th, it was too windy to handle hay. The best 
hay season for years. The crop much reduced from the effect 
of drj' weather. Pastures are dried up and cows are ])eing fed 
at the barn. 

Aug. : Cool and comfortable first week of the month, remainder 
hot and dry. What little rain fell helped vegetables tem- 
porarily, but had no visible effect upon streams or wells. Roads 
too dry and dusty to ride with pleasure. No dew has fallen 
during the summer. All kinds of vegetation badly dried up. 

Sept. : Cool the first week, with frost in some places which did 
little damage. Enough rain fell during the month to cause the 
fields to look green. 20th: A frost which killed the corn. 
Land too dry and hard to plow for reseeding. 

Oct.: Cool weather first week. The fields and pastures are 
quite green. Hot weather with heavy dust. Some report a 
large yield of potatoes of good quality. But little second crop 
grass. The smallest crop of apples for years and of poor quality. 
28th: High winds, with ground frozen. The month has been 
favorable for doing all kinds of farm work. 

Nov.: Cool all the first week. About one-half inch of rain 
has fallen each week for a number of weeks past, but has no 
effect upon springs and wells. Many are put to great incon- 
venience to get water. Snow and rain fell to the amount of two 
and three-fourths inches of water, which did much damage 
under leaky roofs. The month as a whole has been warmer 
than usual and favorable for doing outdoor farm work. 

Dec. 1st: Some snow to be seen; a little rain. Cold, 10° above 
on the 11th. Fair with a cloudless sky until the 25th. The 
ground frozen hard and the roads smooth. A severe northeast 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN 's JOURNAL 213 

snowstorm came on Christmas night ; a foot of badly drifted snow 
came which took a great amount of labor to open the roads. High- 
est tide since 1851. Water came over the Boston and Maine 
Railroad tracks. A great deal of damage reported to the beaches 
along the coast. Hay stacks were floated. A store on the heater, 
owned by Edwin Janvrin, was bm-ned on the night of the 25th. 
But for the falling snow a serious conflagration might have re- 
sulted. The water situation is still a serious one. The water is 
very low in the ground, with no signs of any improvement. 
From the opening to the close of the season the weather has been 
very pleasant. Fair weather nearly all the time, which was at- 
tended by a severe drought which cut the hay crop down on 
an average of fully one-third. It had the effect to reduce the 
yield of all other crops. Prices of living have advanced during 
the year. 

1910. 

Jan. 1st: Considerable snow on the ground, but not well trod- 
den; followed by some warm days which made good going. 
Drifting snow on the 14th. 16th: Rain and warm weather have 
carried away most of the snow and spoiled the going. The roads 
in places very icy. Annie Leavitt Sanborn, daughter of Dr. 
Charles H. Sanborn, died of pneumonia. Enoch P. Young of 
Hampton, a blacksmith who did a great deal of work for the 
people of this town, died this month. 20th: Warm for time of 
year, with frequent rains and light snows; has made the going 
on the road poor, snow drifts and mud alternating. Icy around 
the buildings. 

Feb. 5th: Rain and some snow. Eighteen inches of snow at 
Exeter and the roads blocked. 7th: Very cold for a few days 
with a severe northeast snowstorm which made the roads im- 
passable, after which it was warmer. During the remainder of the 
month variable temperature, going as low as 9° below. It was 
good going on the road. A thaw began on the 26th and contin- 
ued until the going was spoiled, the water resulting going into 
the ground. Roads muddy. 

Mar. 5th: George Austin Weare of Seabrook was buried. 
Thunder shower on the 4th. Roads drying. Annual town 
meeting on the 8th; Elroy G. Shaw, Herbert Page and William 
H. Thompson, selectmen; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer; Frank H. 
Lord, town clerk; $600 was raised to defray town charges; one- 



214 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

fourth of one per cent of valuation for highways; 892.5 for schools; 
$10 for Memorial day; S50 for town librar}'. Joseph W. Moulton, 
the oldest man in town, died, aged eighty-five years. Weather 
moderate rest of the month. Signs indicate a drj^ spring. Grass 
fires are numerous and a serious menace. Hood and Sons' ice 
houses at Derry and North Hampton burned. 25th: Warm for 
time of year, l^oads settled. Grass shows green. Frost not 
all out. 26th: Warm day, 75° in the shade. 

Apr. 4th: About an inch of rain. Grass very green. Hay 
scarce. 10th: Fair and cool. Not much over an inch of rain has 
fallen since Mar. 1st. This is true over a large extent of country. 
19th: Three-eighths of an inch of rain has fallen, followed by 
misty weather which has caused the grass to grow vigorously. 
Remainder of the month damp and misty. Frost on the morning 
of the 29th. The wind has been from the west nearly all the 
time this spring. Robert Brown, a native of Scotland, died. He 
had been a resident of the town since 1872. His age was 
sixty -seven years. 

May: It was cold and dry up to the 15th, with some frost. 
Some dull weather with little precipitation. Grass on new fields 
looking well; old fields light. 20th: Apple trees are in full 
bloom. An extended milk strike going on; 30,000 cans of milk 
said to be withheld from the Boston market because the contrac- 
tors refuse to advance the price paid the producers. The most 
of our farmers have joined in the strike. Some warm daj's. 
Rain much needed. Feed in pastures not very good. 

June 1st: Frost, which killed corn and potatoes on low land, 
followed by two and one-half inches of rain. Hay high with 
slow sales. Complaint that seed does not germinate and of the 
ravages of cut worms. 12th: Dull, with little sign of clearing. 
Considerable rain has fallen. Thunder shower on the ISth. 
Fine growing weather. \'egetation making a rapid growth. 
Last of the month hot and dry. 

July 17th: Since the month came in it has l)een hot and dry 
and the best of hay weather, which has been well inproved. 
More than an average yield of hay. The hoed crops have 
suffered from drought. Mrs. lOdwin Janvrin died on the 8th. 
After years of intense suffering Samuel Weslej' Dearborn of 
Hampton died. He built the town hall in this town in 1877, 
and many other buildings. Dog day weather after the 20th, 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn'S' JOURNAL 215 

which interfered with haying. Most people had finished Vjefore 
this. More than an average crop of hay reported. Thunder 
showers did much damage in some places. It killed a heifer out 
in the clear ground in the pasture. Annual farmers' meeting at 
Hampton Beach on the 27th, which was largely attended. A 
barn owned by William Irving was struck by lightning and 
burned. It has been fair and pleasant nearly all the time this 
month. It has been a good time to do all kinds of out-door work. 
It is very dry; more rain has fallen in some other sections. The 
Peoples Telephone Company has been purchased by the New 
England Telegraph and Telephone Company. The buildings on 
the Edward D. Pike place were destroyed by fire; cause of fire 
unknown. A child of Nathaniel M. Batchelder died on the 28th. 

Sept.: Warm and pleasant. 5th-6th: Dull and wet. A seri- 
ous forest fire just over the line in Kensington. 6th: First 
primary election in the state; Bertram T. Janvrin nominated for 
representative. Rest of week fair and warm. William Mc- 
Devitt, a native of Nova Scotia, died. He had been a resident 
of the town since 1868. Fair and warm last of the month, with 
no frost to do any damage. 

Oct. 1st: There was a thunder shower which did much damage 
in some places in the state. 2d: High winds which blew off a 
great many apples. There is a partial crop of apples which are 
of good quality. Sold for $2.50 per barrel, buyer doing the 
packing. Lewis F. Prescott, the oldest man in town, died, aged 
eighty-two years and seven months. The last of the month 
pleasant, with no damage from frost. Great scarcity of water. 
A good time to do extra work. 

Nov. 8th: Election; Repubhcan vote, 80; all others, 15; 
B. T. Janvrin, representative. 20th: It has been pleasant for 
the time of j^ear. Coldest night of the season, 18° above. 
Thanksgiving the 24th. Turkeys sold for thirty-five cents per 
pound. Cool remainder of the month. A little snow; ground 
not frozen much. 

Dec: Until the 16th cold. Zero on a number of mornings. 
Not snow enough through the month for sleighing. Great com- 
plaint of want of water. Nelson Copeland, a resident of the 
town, died in Georgia. Helen M. Sanborn died on the 3d, aged 
eighty years and five months. The season from start to finish 
has been a pleasant one. Much less rain than usual. Many have 



216 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

suffered for want of water for domestic use, which condition 
continued until the end of the year. 

1911. 

Jan. lst-8th: Variable weather from zero to 60° above. Not 
snow enough to use runners. Water very low in the ground. 
Many wells dry. Not very cold from 8th to 16th. Frozen rain 
makes going dangerous. Newell W. Healey died 13th: Very 
cold for three days. 22d: Warmer; snow came but soon disap- 
peared. Ice being cut of good quality. 

Feb. : First week cold. Snow and rain which made good going. 
Complaint of scarcity of water. Changeable weather. A little 
snow made good going until the end of the month. A great deal 
of ice has been cut. 

Mar. 1st: Snow gone. Cold, fair weather. Ground frozen 
deep. Surface of the roads soft. 14th: Annual town meeting; 
William H. Thompson, J. Herbert Page and Bertram T. Janvrin, 
selectmen; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer; Frank H. Lord, town 
clerk; Jos. H. Weare, collector. 10th: Roads soft and badly 
washed. Cold, disagreeable weather. Some rain which did not 
help the wells. Mrs. Benjamin F. Weare died. 26th: The wind 
has dried the roads and it is very good going. Cold for the 
season. Ground said to be frozen to a depth of four feet. 
Thunder shower on night of the 30th. Mrs. ]\Iary Josephine 
Graves died. 

Apr. 3d: Six inches of snow. 9th: Northeast snowstorm. 
Snow soon went away, followed by pleasant weather. Grass 
beginning to look green. Roads drj^ in most places. Frost not 
all out. Remainder of the month cold for the season. No rain 
of any amount fell during the month. Many wells dry and many 
suffer from want of water. 

]\Iay: Henry C. Tuck of Kensington committed suicide by 
drowning. Vegetation backward. Land too dry to plow. 
Grass and forest fires are doing much damage. The week follow- 
ing the 7th hot; 90° in the shade on some days. No rain. The 
atmosphere heavily laden with smoke from forest and other 
fires. Showers on the morning of the 18th. IMore rain fell to 
the south of us than fell here. Apple trees in full bloom on the 
20th. Caterpillars plenty and doing a great deal of damage to all 
kinds of vegetation. Cold and very dry rest of the month. 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 217 

June 1st: Still dry. Insects doing a great deal of damage, 
worms have injured planted crops, so that replanting has in 
some cases been necessary more than once. All signs point to a 
light hay crop. One-half inch of rain fell on the 6th, which is 
more than has fallen for several weeks. 11th: Cold north- 
east winds. Signs of a dry storm. A little more than an 
inch of water has fallen this week, which has done much to revive 
vegetation. 18th: The dry weather continues with no signs of 
any change. Vegetation of all kinds suffers badly from want of 
moisture. It continued dry till the end of the month. Hay crop 
lightest for years. 

July 1st: Intensely hot, 100° in the shade. A cyclone passed 
over here, which did much damage; the high tension wires 
across the road were broken down and the telephones put out of 
commission; the barns on the W. W. Healey and Godfrey places 
were partially unroofed; shade and fruit trees damaged; not 
much rain here; heavy showers each side of us. Many buildings 
destroyed by lightning in the state. Rev. Hartwell J. Bartlett, a 
former pastor of the Baptist church in this town, was killed by an 
automobile at Scituate, Mass. 7th: The past week has been the 
hottest ever known here, 101° in the shade. Many prostrations 
and deaths reported. Crop suffering badly from drought. 
9th: Good hay weather; grass cut and put in the same day. The 
bed of the Taylor river dry in many places. 16th: Many done 
haying; from 50 to 75 per cent of a normal crop. 28th: Three and 
a half inches of rain fell which is more than we had for a number 
of months; it caused grass in the fields to become green. The rain 
and sea-turns at night have caused all kinds of vegetation to 
improve. The remainder of the month fair with occasional rains 
which have done much good. 

Sept. 1st: Work was begun on the Lafayette road from the post 
office to Seabrook line by the state and town when $4,400 was 
expended. Frost on the 14th, which did much damage in some 
places. John A. Dow, a native of Seabrook, but for many years 
a resident of this town, died. The remainder of the month 
pleasant, with occasional light rains. 

Oct. 1st: Apples are being gathered which are of the best 
quality but only a partial crop. The marsh seasons have been 
very poor this year and the salt hay was of poor quality. The 
later rains have caused considerable second crop grass to grow 



218 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

which is being cut, and which will do much to help out the light 
hay crop. 22d: Dull and wet all the w^eek with only an inch of 
rain. The sun shone only one day during the week. Hard frost 
on the 27th. 

Nov. 1st: Work on state road finished for this year. Cold 
wave the 2d. 17° above. People generally more backward than 
usual with their work. Cold the 16th. Warmest November on 
record. Thanksgiving the 28th; turkeys, twenty-eight cents per 
pound. 

Dec: W^armer than usual. Plowing being done until the 
20th. Not snow enough for sleighing at any time during the 
month. It has been very pleasant from the opening to the close 
of the season at the end of the year. 

1912. 

Jan.: The year opened warm with no snow upon the ground. 
5th: A cold wave which continued until the 20th; about six 
inches of snow fell during that time. The glass went to 16° below 
with a much lower temperature in other parts of the state; 35° 
below at Concord. Ice of the best quality has been cut. Rain. 
19th: Going icy and dangerous. Coal scarce, owing to frozen 
harbor it is said. Cold wave the 25th, which lasted the remainder 
of the month. Mr. Leander Harris died the first of the month. 

Feb. lst-18th: Fair and cold. Good going on the roads all 
the month. Mrs. John A. Dow died. She was a daughter of 
Charles F. Chase. Thunder shower on the 23d. 

Mar.: Snow did not thaw on the roofs of the y3uildings until 
the 8th when a heavy rain came, which carried away the 
snow and caused the roads to be muddy which continued until 
the end of the month. 12th: Annual town meeting; George C. 
Healey, George J. Curtis and William H. Thompson, selectmen. 
Heavy rains at night, continued all the next day. School meeting 
on eve of the 15th; Henry Prescott elected on school board. 
Remainder of month changeable, rain, snow and mud. Moses E. 
Batchclder, a former resident and native of this town, but for 
forty-seven years a resident of Warrensburg, 111., died, aged 
eighty-nine years. He had been verj'' prosperous in the West. 

Apr. 1st: Some snow which soon went awaj'. Miss Mary 
Ann Smith died, aged eightj^-two. She was a daughter of the 
late Josiah Smith. She had lived in Seabrook for a number of 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 219 

years where she died. James D. Brown died, aged seventy-six 
years and eleven months. The selectmen are taking the inventory 
under the new law whereby our valuation has been increased 
about $200,000. Two inches of snow on the 10th. Roads are 
very muddy. Grass begins to look green. Remainder of the 
month cold, with a great deal of wind. Hay and potatoes scarce 
and selling at high prices. Potatoes selling quick at $2 per 
bushel. Miss Ellen T. Cram committed suicide by drowning in 
the deep hole below the bridge on the Exeter road. Spring 
work and planting backward. The land in many cases is too wet 
to work. 18th : Warmest day of the season, followed by a thunder 
shower. Apple trees in full bloom. 24th: Last of the month 
good growing weather. 

June: Considerable planting done this month. Corn was plant- 
ed as late as the 10th. The hay has nearly all been fed and the 
barns are empty. 8th: Quite a heavy frost which did consider- 
able damage, followed by a number of mornings near freezing. 
Insects are plenty and are doing a great amount of damage to fruit 
trees. 20th: Getting dry. Roads very dusty. Gardens and 
hoed crops suffering from drought. Only .27 of an inch of rain 
has fallen this month. No signs of rain and little hot weather 
up to the close of the month. 

July: No rain first week. Best of hay weather which was 
well improved. Intense heat from the 7th to the 12th when we 
had a heavy thunder shower which did much damage. A cow 
was killed in Mr. Ladd's pasture. 21st: More rain fell than 
had fallen for a long time. It was a good hay season. Haying 
nearly all done l^efore the 20th. Birds of all kinds are very 
scarce. Quite a number of buildings have been protected from 
lightning by placing rods. 

Aug. 1st: Good growing weather. Corn very backward. 
Leander Harris, a Union veteran, and for many years a resident 
of this town, died, aged seventy-nine. 

Sept. : Generally fair and cool. Not much rain. Some quite 
warm days. 22d: Frost which did little damage. It has been 
a good time to get second crop. There is a large crop of potatoes. 
Not a great many apples in this vicinity, but a good crop through- 
out the country. Last of October pleasant with little rain. 
Mrs. Warren B. Pervear died, aged seventy-five years. 

Nov.: Was an unusually pleasant month, with little rain. A 



220 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

good time to do all kinds of out-door work. Last of the month 
cold, with ground frozen. Presidential election the 5th; a very 
light vote, Republican 58; Democrat 28; Prohil)ition 3; Joseph 
H. Weare, representative. 28th: Thanksgiving. 

Dec. 1st: The pleasantest days of the season. Wells and 
springs very low. There has not been a soaking rain this year. 
The weather was fair and cool during the month. 12th: 5" 
above in the morning. But little rain during the month. About 
two inches of solid snow came on the 26th, which made good going 
for a couple of days but soon disappeared. Pleasant till close of 
the month. 

1913. 

Jan. : This month was a remarkable one; the ground was frozen 
but little. Farmers were seen plowing as late as the 20th. Not 
more than three inches of snow fell during the month. It was a 
good time to do out-door work. There was some complaint of 
lack of water for domestic purposes, as wells and springs are very 
low. In other sections of the state there has been an abundance 
of rain. Corn meal has been selling at $1.25 per cwt. Hay at 
the barn, .SI 8 per ton. The wind has been from the southwest 
nearly all the month and quite cold. Coal has been very scarce. 
The local dealers did not advance the price on this account. 
The aljsencc of cold weather has been favorable to those who have 
been short of fuel. Ice has not made of sufficient thickness for 
cutting which causes some anxiety. The marsh has not been 
frozen enough to get off hay. 

Feb. : There was not snow enough to speak of during the 
month. There were not more than four days' sleighing. The 
temperature was at zero on a number of mornings. Ice cut varied 
from six to fourteen inches in thickness, not very good quality. 

Mar. : There was little snow during this month. The coldest 
days of the winter were in ]\Iarch. Considerable rain fell. There 
was little frost in the ground. The roads were mudd}" but were 
settled better than usual at the end of the month. The pre- 
vailing wind all winter has been from the southwest. At the 
annual town meeting George C. Healey, George J. Curtis and 
Charles F. Coombs were elected selectmen; Arthur W. Brown, 
treasurer; F. H. Lord, town clerk. There were no snow bills 
paid by the town this year. A thing unknown before. 

Apr. : The weather was not as pleasant as it had been in March. 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 221 

The roads were dry and settled early in the month. Considerable 
rain fell during the first half of the month. Grass in fields and 
pastures more forward than usual. Not a great amount of farm 
work done during the month. From present appearance insect 
pests are to be numerous and destructive. 

May: The weather was much cooler than usual at this time of 
year. There were no warm days. Much rain fell up to the 
20th, and the ground was full of water. No rain fell in the last 
part of the month. The apple trees did not bloom to any great 
extent, in this part of the state. The bloom was injured later by 
frost. Tent caterpillars and other insects doing a great deal of 
damage. Farm work late, much planting to be done last of the 
month. 20th: Grass much better than usual in the pastures. 
A great deal of stock offered for pasture. 

June : There were a number of frosts during the month, which 
did damage. The month cooler than usual. Only a fraction of 
an inch of water fell. It was so dry that planted seed failed to 
germinate; in many cases did not come up at all. What crops 
did grow were very backward. At the end of the month the 
apple bloom blighted badly. 

July: Opened dry, no rain of any account fell during the month. 
Crops badly dried up and in most instances will be a failure. Hay 
crop not up to last year, best of hay weather to secure it. No 
second crop in sight. Cattle are being fed at the barn. Clarence 
Eugene Janvrin died. He was a son of James D. He had been 
engaged in the retail meat business for many years. Ellen 
Crosby, daughter of Charles H., died from tuberculosis. 

Aug.: No rain of any amount fell in August. Crops of all 
kinds nearly or quite ruined. Good time to get salt hay. No 
water running in Taylor River, the channel being dry for rods in 
many places. There is no record or tradition that this ever 
occurred before. 

Sept.: Opened fair and dry. loth: A frost which made ice. 
Some rain followed which made fields and pastures green. There 
was a good crop of peaches. 

Oct.: There was a great deal of cloudy and misty weather in 
October which made the fields and pastures very green. On the 
20th there was better feed in the pastures than any time during 
the season. A severe snow squall on the 14th. Not many apples, 
less than for many years. Potato crop variable. Some had a 



222 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

good crop but with others it was near a failure. Corn immature 
and spoiled in the crib. Ensilage corn killed by frost and was of 
poor quality. Heavy rain the 20th. 

Nov.: The weather this month was generally favorable. 
Quite an amount of rain fell during the month. Some second 
crop cut. Mrs. Emmons Brown died, aged eighty. She was a 
daughter of Aaron Coffin of Hampton and had been a widow for 
twenty years. Edwin Janvrin died the 22d, aged seventy-seven 
years. He had been extensively and successfully engaged in 
the lumber business for many years. N. W. Healey's farm has 
been sold and is to be converted into an orchard farm. 

Dec: On the whole this was a pleasant month; the ground was 
bare most of the time, favorable for out-door work. Snow 
enough for sleighing on the 27th. 

1914. 

Jan.: There was but little snow during the early part of the 
month. Not very cold. It was a good time to do out-door work- 
Cold w^ave came on the 11th, which lasted a number of days, 
during which time 20° below was registered. It continued cold 
for a number of days. The intense cold penetrated the buildings 
and did a great deal of damage. Ice of the best quality was 
harvested. Mary Ann Sanborn died, aged ninety-three years. 
She was a daughter of Joseph Sanborn who died in 1836. 

Feb.: Opened with moderate weather but soon became cold; 
as low as 23° below was registered. It was zero on a majority of 
the mornings during the month. A blocking snow came on the 
16th, which filled the roads and made breaking necessary. Miss 
Luceba H. Brown died, aged seventy-nine. She was a daughter 
of Samuel and Elizabeth (Lane) Brown. Mrs. John S. Cram died, 
aged eighty-three years. She was a daughter of Ira Blake of 
Kensington. She had lived in the town more than sixty years. 
She survived her husband more than twenty years. 

Mar.: A very severe northeast rain storm came on the 1st 
day of the month and continued all day. There was a great 
deal of stormy, unpleasant weather during the month, with con- 
siderable rain, thirteen days of falling Aveather. At the annual 
election, James H, Brown, William E. Janvrin and Charles F. 
Coombs were made selectmen; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer; 
Frank H. Lord, town clerk; John E. Brown, collector. Mary 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 223 

Emeline Brown, daughter of Sewell Brown, died, aged seventy- 
eight. The entire stand of buildings owned and occupied by 
Clarence Brown, near the Line meeting house, were destroyed 
by fire which was, undoubtedly, of incendiary origin. The pre- 
vailing wind has been from the southwest. 

Apr. : The month was cold and stormy, snow falling frequently 
until the middle of the month. Roads very muddy. Little 
farm work done during the month. The ground very full of 
water. 

May 1st: Ice formed as thick as window glass. Frozen sleet 
on the 13th. Considerable rain fell during the month. Grass 
starting well. Apple trees in bloom on the 24th. Not a full 
bloom. Work on the land not as forward as usual. The ground 
full of water. 

June: The first of the month quite an amount of rain fell. 
The latter part of the month dry, and from this cause planted 
seed is slow in coming up. The month cooler than the average 
June. Christopher G. Toppan of Hampton died. He owned 
quite an amount of real estate in this town. Some haying done 
in June. 

July 1st: Some snow was seen to fall at Exeter. Good hay 
weather first part of the month, catching weather last of the 
month. Not much hay damaged. Crop about the same as last 
year. Drought becoming severe. Not as much hot weather as 
usual. From this cause corn and hoed crops are backward in 
coming along. Green head flies not mucli^in evidence. 

Aug.: Some rain fell in August, which revived vegetation to 
some extent. The foliage on all kinds of tree is dense and vig- 
orous and of a deep green color. Not much evidence of insect 
depredations. Corn still backward. Not ' much second crop 
grass. Benjamin W. Elkins died. He had been a selectman, 
and representative, 1906. 

Sept.: The first part of month very hot and dry. Only a 
fraction of an inch of rain fell during the month. Hot wave the 
20th, which lasted a number of days. Charles N. Dodge sold 
out his store to George F. Merrill. The month was notable for 
cloudless days. 

Oct.: The month was generally pleasant with little precipita- 
tion. Corn backward and is in some cases near a failure owing 
to unfavorable weather conditions. A good crop of potatoes. 



224 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Apples a fair but not a general crop, of excellent quality. Sold 
at a low price. Cold wave middle of the month. Thunder 
shower on the eve of the 10th. Snow on the 20th. Soon went 
away. Some rain fell during the month, but not enough to affect 
the water supply. Many put to serious inconvenience for water 
for domestic use. Biennial election on the 3d. Governor vote, 
Democrat 9; Repubhcan 75. The first election of United States 
Senator by the people. Gallinger, 69; Stevens, 7; 65 votes for 
Sulloway for member of Congress. John F. Gynan, rei)resenta- 
tive. 

Dec: A cold month. Ice storm on the 3d, which made it 
slippery and dangerous for a number of days. Six inches of snow 
came on the 21st, which made good going for the remainder of the 
year. 23d: 23° below. Drought continues without abatement; 
ground frozen hard with no sign of any let up. The war in 
Europe has disturbed business conditions in this country, from 
which cause many are out of employment. Daniel Emmons 
Pervear died. He was a Union veteran and was elected repre- 
sentative in 1893. Harriet Ann Maria Prescott, daughter of 
the late True M. Prescott, died, aged seventy-nine. Extensive 
alterations and improvements have been going on on the Newell 
Healey place, by Mr. Farmer., 

1915. 

Jan. : Rather cold month. Glass going as low as 20° below on 
some mornings. There was some falling weather; both rain and 
snow, but with little precipitation. Less than six inches of 
snow made the best of going but was of short duration. Great 
complaint of want of water; wells and other supplies have failed. 
Ice of the best quality cut, twelve inches thick. Owing to the 
war in Europe many necessaries of life have advanced in price. 
Mrs. George C. Healey died. She was the daughter of Capt. 
John W. and Harriet D. Dodge. She was a woman universally 
respected and beloved. 

Feb.: Cold and variable weather prevailed. Not much pre- 
cipitation. The water shortage has been relieved in a measure. 
Second cutting of ice, fully as good as the first, has been har- 
vested. Many ice ponds are not available because of no depth of 
water underneath. Not much sleighing during the month. 
Charles W. Lane, a native of Hampton, but for forty or more 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 225 

years a resident of this town, died, aged eighty-four. Owing to 
unfavorable business conditions there are a great many people 
out of employment. 

Mar.: This was a remarkable month. The weather was fair 
with a cloudless sky. Only a small fraction of an inch of precipi- 
tations during the entire month. Cold west winds nearly all the 
time. The glass as low as 8° Iselow on a number of mornings. 
The roads during the entire spring were dry and free from mud, 
the ground having frozen up dry. This was a condition never 
known before. The water very low in the ground. Springs 
and streams in many instances without water. Many wells are 
dry, with no snow to melt. The severe drought which prevails 
shows no immediate sign of abatement. It has been so dry that 
grass and other fires have done a great deal of damage and are a 
constant menace. Annual town meeting; James H. Brown, 
Charles F. Coombs and William E. Janvrin, selectmen; Frank H. 
Lord, clerk; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer. Mrs. William E. 
Walton died early in the month. Eliza Drew, daughter of the 
late Timothy P. and Lois (Prescott) Drew, died, aged sixty-eight. 
Mrs. Thomas G. Moulton, a native of Paris, Me., died, aged 
seventy-three. Alvah D. Prescott died, aged eighty-four. Wil- 
liam H. Temple, who came here a year or two since from Massa- 
chusetts, died suddenly. He owned and occupied the Pike 
place near the Exeter line. 

Apr. : The weather a part of the month was warm for the time 
of year. No rain fell until the 30th when nearly an inch came. 
No mud in the roads, owing to the severe drought of previous 
years. The grass shows better than could have been expected 
after so many dry years. 

May: A cool month. One or two rains during the month. 
The ground is very dry. Severe drought, wells and springs 
failing. Apple trees in full bloom. 20th : Avery full bloom in this 
section. Ice one-quarter of an inch thick on the 26th. A num- 
ber of frosty mornings. Potatoes are a drug upon the market, 
selling at a low price if at all. Business of all kinds poor and 
uncertain because of the European war. Mrs. Joseph W. Moul- 
ton died, aged upward of eighty years. She was a native of 
Brentwood. Her maiden name was Smith. More work has 
been done on the roads than usual. 

June: Dry and cold, with a number of frosts in the early part. 

16 



226 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

The outlook for the hay crop poor. No rain until the last 
day of the month. At the close of the month the crops had 
made small growth. Insects had not made as much show as 
usual. 

July 1st: A heavy rain, nearly four inches of water fell. A 
similar downfall on the 8th, with frequent I'ains later. From 
ten to twelve inches of rain fell during the month, which made 
the low lands very soft. Many planted fields were flooded. 
Hoed crops small and backward. Corn not spindled Aug. 1st. 
Owing to poor weather little haying was done during the month. 
The rains have caused the grass to grow so that there will be an 
average crop of hay. Potato fields never looked better. The 
wet weather has been unfavorable to insects. No damage visible 
from these depredations as yet. There was little hot weather 
during the month. 

Aug. 5th: Four inches of rain has fallen during the past twenty- 
four hours. A great deal of haying yet to be done. Some fields 
are too soft and wet to use teams on. Wet weather all through 
the month. Haying not all done at the end. Corn came along 
slowly with not much prospect of making a crop. 

Sept. : Haying finished early in the month. Fine weather with 
little rain all the month. 

Oct.: Rain first three days of the month. The remainder 
warm and pleasant. More second crop grass cut than ever 
before. The warm, damp weather caused the potatoes to rot 
badly. Apples about one-third of a crop, with slow sale. Some 
corn fields good, others nearly a failure. Ensilage corn light. 

Nov. : Some cold weather, but on the whole it was a pleasant 
month. It has been a good time to prepare for winter. First 
snow 24th. Thanksgiving, 25th; turkeys sold for thirty cents. 

Dec: Not a pleasant month. A great deal of cloudy and 
stormy weather. Not much snow. Two or three days sleighing. 
Quite an amount of rain which froze and made it slippery and 
dangerous. On the whole the year has not been a pleasant one. 
June, July and August were cool with a great deal of unpleasant 
and rainy weather. It is a common remark, "It does not seem 
as if we have had any summer." The end of the year saw no 
shortage of water, as had been the case in a number of years just 
past. The European war has caused a big advance in the price 
of living. Mr. Farmer has done a great deal of extension work 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 227 

on the Newell Healey place by way of additions and improve- 
ment. A new house has been built on the Thomas Brown place, 
on the site of the one burned in 1885. 

1916. 

Jan.: The weather was variable. The storms cleared away 
warm. Not many zero mornings. There was little sledding. 
Quite an amount of rain fell which made the roads icy and dan- 
gerous. Ice of good quality was cut about the 20th. The frost 
came out of the ground and the roads were soft the last of the 
month. Potatoes have advanced in price owing to scarcity, 
selling at $1.50 per bushel. There has been a great deal of sick- 
ness. Grip and pneumonia have prevailed to an alarming extent. 

Feb.: The ground not frozen; roads very muddy. Weather 
changeable all through the month. A foot of snow on the 14th, 
which made good going for ten days. Zero on a number of 
mornings, after which the filling of ice houses was completed. 
Miss Clarissa Weare died first of the month, aged eighty-two 
years. She was daughter of John Weare. Elizabeth Batchelder 
died last of the month, aged eighty-eight years. She was the 
daughter of Moses and Abigail (Drake) Batchelder. These 
two ladies joined the Line Church on the same day in 1851, and 
were members for sixty-five years. 

Mar.: A rough and stormy month. Snow fell on fourteen 
days; thirty-four inches of snow during the month. Roads badly 
drifted and great expense to the town to make them passable. 
A greater body of snow on the ground than at any one time for 
many years. Zero on many mornings. Coldest weather of the 
winter was in March. Last two or three days of the month snow 
went away rapidly under the influence of the sun. James H. 
Brown, Charles F. Coombs, and William A. Janvrin, selectmen; 
Frank H. Lord, clerk; Arthur W. Brown, treasurer. Mrs. Lydia 
B. Towle, widow of Emmons B. Towle, died, aged eighty years. 
She was a daughter of Micajah Green of Seabrook and had lived 
in the town more than fifty years. 

Apr.: An unpleasant month, few fair days. The roads were 
soft all through the month. The travelling the worst ever 
known. Six inches of snow fell on the 9th; three inches on the 
15th. Snow on the 28th. Ninety inches of snow are recorded to 
have fallen since November last. John C. Sanborn died, aged 



228 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

eighty years. He was a son of John P. and Sally (Cram) San- 
born. Not a warm day during the month. A great deal of rain. 

May: A great deal of rain. The land in most eases too wet 
to work. This, with the scarcity of help, has resulted in little 
being done on the land. But little planting will be done this year 
from these causes. 

June: Not a pleasant month. A great many days on which 
rain fell. The great amount of water which has fallen has, in 
many cases, made the land too wet to do planting. Planting 
going on all through the month. Seed rotting in the ground. 
Not a warm day this spring. The gypsy moths are doing a great 
deal of damage. The foliage on all kinds of trees is very dense. 
The hay crop promises to be very large; the season has been 
very favorable for grass growing, and not for other farm crops. 
25th: Mrs. Mary Dodge Aiken died. She was a daughter of 
Capt. John W. Dodge. She was a public spirited and benevo- 
lent woman whose loss is seriously felt. 

July: The weather was very wet; a great amount of rain fell. 
Very few fair days. The largest crop of hay ever known. Not 
much haying done during the month. A great deal of hay was 
spoiled; in some cases this was burned or in other ways disposed 
of, not put in the barns. Cultivated crops have been very back- 
ward. A great deal of hajdng to be done at the end of the month. 
Mrs. John F. Jones died, aged ninety years. She was born in 
Durham and was a daughter of Charles Johnson. 

Aug. : The unfavorable weather continued in August, haj'ing 
going on all the month. On fields where the grass had been cut 
a great deal of second crop has grown » Feed in pastures has 
been good. Not much salt marsh will be out. The barns are 
filled with hay to their utmost capacity. The summer months 
have been cooler than usual. The country never looked more 
beautiful as all vegetation has been vigorous. John Allen Brown 
died, aged eighty-four. 

Sept.: On the whole this was a pleasant month. Some rain 
fell early in the month, remainder of the month fair. There was 
considerable haying to be done and weather was more favorable 
than in July and August. More second crop grass was cut 
than ever known before. 

Oct.: This was a pleasant month; fair weather nearly all the 
time, with not more than one inch of precipitation. The weather 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWN's JOURNAL 229 

very favorable for all out-of-door farm work. A small crop of 
potatoes, with much complaint of rot, and selling at a high price. 
Not a full crop of apples, with little demand. Prices of all 
necessities of living have advanced very much in price, corn selling 
for more than $1 per bushel; flour, $12 per barrel; beans, $6 and 
upward per bushel. A coal famine is threatened, said to be from 
scarcity. Mrs. Angeline Pervear, widow of Samuel Pervear, 
died, aged ninety-three years. She had lived at the coimty farm 
at Brentwood for a number of years. It is getting dry; springs, 
streams and wells are low. 

Nov.: Colder than the normal, with the ground frozen on 
some mornings. A little snow fell once or twice. Not much 
rain fell during the month. Wells and springs very low. Plowing 
was done all through the month, it being a good time to do all 
kinds of out-door farm work. There was more demand for 
apples than earlier in the season, selling for $2.25 to $2.50 per 
barrel; potatoes selling for $2 per bushel. Thanksgiving the 
30th. An attempt was made to boost the price of turkeys to 
fifty cents per pound. This was met by a boycott from con- 
sumers, who refused to pay an exorbitant price; as a result the 
demand fell off to such an extent that dealers sustained a heavy 
loss. Coal and flour are selling at lower prices than last month. 
The shortage which was predicted was found to be a manu- 
factured one for extorting money from the public. Eggs have 
been selling from sixty to seventy cents per dozen. There is a 
great scarcity of farm help. At the presidential election on the 
7th, Hughes had 89 votes and Wilson 12; William E. Walton 
was elected representative. 

Dec: Not a pleasant month. A great deal of cold, unpleasant 
weather. A drifting snow came on the 17th, which blocked the 
roads, a thing never before known so early in the winter. There 
was little good sleighing during the month. On the whole the 
year has not been a pleasant one. Owing to various causes the 
necessaries of life have greatly advanced in price ; in some cases 
so much that their use is prohibited to many people. Mrs. 
Bertram T. Janvrin died. She was a daughter of Charles T. 
Brown. 

1917. 

Jan.: A cold unpleasant month. There was snow enough for 
sleighing most of the time. Not much thawing. The necessaries 



230 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

of living have advanced in price. Mrs. Sarah G. Brown, wife of 
Warren Brown, died. There has been an unusual amount of 
sickness. 

Feb.: A severe snowstorm the first week, which blocked the 
roads; the town was at great expense to render the highways 
passable. Potatoes are sold as high as $8 per two-bushel sack; 
beans, $8 per bushel of sixty-two pounds. These are prices higher 
than were ever known before. The congestion on the railroad? 
makes it difficult to get grain for cows and horses. James 
Wilson, a native of Scotland, a resident of this town for forty 
years, died. Warren B. Pervear died, aged eighty-four. Mrs. 
Chevy P. Chase died, aged eighty-five. Ice was cut twenty-four 
inches in thickness. 

Mar.: Not a pleasant month. Cold, cloudy and stormy, not 
a spring-like day during the month. Last of the month roads 
soft and muddy. The frogs were not heard during the month. 
At one time snow enough came to require the roads to be broken. 
At the annual town meeting Lawrence E. Wadleigh, Millard 
E. Dalton and Edwin L. Janvrin were elected selectmen; William 
H. McDevitt, treasurer; Frank H. Lord, clerk. Voted to accept 
state aid upon the highways and also to make a survey of the 
clam flats, with a view to leasing; $800 was voted to assist in 
the publication of the second volume of the town history. 

Apr.: Not pleasant, not a warm spring-like day during the 

- month. A great deal of dull and cloudy weather. Snow fell 

late in the month. The roads a long time in getting settled. 

But little work was done upon the land. A large amount of hay 

in the barns, with little demand or sale. 

May: An unpleasant month, cold, damp and wet; a great deal 
of cloudy weather; 4.45 inches of rain fell during the month. 
Many wet days with little precipitation. Wind most of the time 
from the east. Thick clothing as much needed as at any time 
in the winter. Not more than two or three spring-like days dur- 
ing the months. Apple trees which are usually in full bloom 
on the 20th, this year the leaf buds had not swelled, at that date, 
enough to be perceptible. Shade and other trees not fully 
leaved out at the end of the month. Potatoes for planting 
$4 per bushel of sixty pounds; beans, SIO per bushel; corn and 
meal, $3.40 per hundred weight; flour, $16 per barrel. Sugar 
advanced to ten cents per pound, many dealers finding it diffi- 



EXTRACTS FROM WARREN BROWn's JOURNAL 231 

cult to get a supply for their customers, owing to congested 
conditions on the railroads. The delivery of goods is very un- 
certain, which occasions a great deal of inconvenience in getting 
goods ordered. Many are preparing to plant a larger area than 
usual. The season thus far has not been favorable for this kind 
of work and the outlook is not favorable for a prosperous year. 
It is said that May has been the coldest month of the name for 
fifty years. Miss Mary Susan Blake died, aged eighty-two. She 
was daughter of Ira Blake of Kensington. She had been a 
resident of this town for many years. 

June: Not as warm as in other years; a great deal of cloudy, 
damp weather. Three inches of rain fell on the 17th. Much 
land too wet to work. Seed in some cases has rotted and re- 
planting has been made necessary. Apple trees not in full 
bloom until the 10th. The cold wet spring has been unfavorable 
to insect life and we see no signs of these depredations. The 
foliage of the trees never looked more dense and vigorous. 
Planting has been going on during the entire month. There is 
a promise of a big hay crop. Many have a great deal of old 
hay and will be short of storage. There was no hay weather 
in June. Help scarce and hard to obtain ; $2 and more per day 
of nine hours, without board, has been the price for the year 
past. Charles B. Brown, who has been Boston and Maine Rail- 
road station agent since the death of Mr. Akerman in 1908, has 
been transferred to Atlantic Station. A. G. Copp succeeds Mr. 
Brown at Hampton Falls. By order of the Government all 
males between the age of twenty-one and thirty inclusive were 
ordered to be registered preparatory to a draft; thirty-one were 
registered in Hampton Falls. Everett B. Janvrin has enlisted 
in the navy as an electrical engineer. Arthur D. Batchelder and 
Peter Y. Doyle have enlisted in the naval service. The green 
head marsh fly had not made its appearance July 1st. 

The first of July the weather was dull and cloudy, with little 
precipitation. The last of the month was dry and gardens and 
hoed crops suffered for want of rain. Intense heat last days of 
the month. On August 2, 105° in the shade. No hay weather 
until the middle of the month. One of the largest hay crops ever 
known. There was a great deal of old hay, with neither demand 
or sale. Reported in some cases to have sold as low as $5 per ton 
at the barn. We have heard of fields of grass offered as a gift to 



232 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

anyone who would cut, and not eagerly sought at that. Corn 
and meal have been sold as high as $4.50 per hundred weight at 
retail. Other mill feeds sell in the same proportion. 

At the annual meeting in March it was voted to make a survey 
of the clam flats, with the idea of leasing. This was done and the 
lease was sold at auction to Joseph Pelon of Hampton for $55. 
Under this lease the townspeople can dig for their own consump- 
tion and for bait, but not for sale or outside shipment. 

James A. Cilley of Seabrook, aged seventeen, was drowned 
while bathing in what is known as "Jack's Hole," in the Falls 
River. On August 2 we were visited by thunder showers in 
which a great deal of damage was done by lightning at about 1 
o'clock, p. m. The barn of Mr. Yeaton in the Guinea district in 
Hampton, filled with hay, was struck, and entirely consumed, 
together with the dwelling house. It was with great difficulty 
that barn No. 2, on the opposite side of the road, was saved. A 
little after 6 o'clock barn No. 2 was struck and was entirely de- 
stroyed. Both were large barns filled with hay. They were 
probably a hundred years old. 



CONDITIONS IN THE TOWN IN THE DECADE FROM 

1840 TO 1850. 

All the meeting houses were occupied. The families who did 
not go to meeting, or some of its members, were few as church 
attendance was more general than at the present time. It was 
not considered reputable to neglect church attendance on the 
Sabbath, and the different meeting houses were pretty well 
filled. They all had settled ministers. The Line Church had been 
organized under the name of the "First Evangelical Congrega- 
tional Church of Seabrook and Hampton Falls." The word 
Evangelical was put in to distinguish it from the First Congre- 
gational Church organized \n 1826, which afterward became 
Unitarian, and to let people know that they were the real thing. 
The Line church was strictly Puritanic in its belief. If the 
shorter catechism erred it was too lenient in the treatment of the 
wicked. The wicked seem to have consisted not only of evil 
doers but those who attended the more liberal church, or held a 
less rigid belief. It believed in the straight and narrow way, the 
way very narrow. 

The residence of those who attended the Line meeting were 
scattei'ed over a large area: Joshua Pike near the Exeter line; 
Col. Jonathan Cram up over the river; Smith Prescott near 
Kensington line; Deacon Green and Levi Sanborn four miles 
away; Col. Jacob Noyes of Seab ook near the state line; Daniel 
Merrill of Salisbury; Stephen Brown from Kensington. Old 
time religious beliefs must have been very strong to attract fami- 
lies from such a distance. Mr. Pike afterward withdrew to 
Exeter; Smith Prescott to the Christian Baptist; Colonel Noyes 
died. A prayer meeting was usually held at Deacon Green's on 
Saturday evening. Sally Healy and Polly Dow, who lived near 
Deacon Green, were firm supporters of the Line church. Miss 
Healy often went down on Saturday and remained with Mr. 
Abbott's family over the Sabbath. Mr. Abbott built a house in 
1848, on Thresher Lane, in Hampton Falls, the house now occu- 
pied by Mr. Milton. He lived here until his death in 1855. 

The Calvin Baptist Church at the hill had a good attendance, 



234 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

but not as scattered as the Line ehureh. A number of families 
came from 'Seabrook: Stephen Johnson, Micajah Green and 
Joseph H. Weare, with their families; later they withdrew to 
organize the Baptist Church in Seabrook. The conoregation 
was called to worship by the academy bell. Uncle Billy Brown, 
Richard and George H. Dodge were the main pillars. A firm 
belief in foreordination and close communion were expected and 
required before one could become a member in good standing of 
this church. The Rev. Zebulon Jones was pastor of the church 
from 1843 until 1851, the longest pastorate in the history of the 
society. He was a handsome man, with a sharp black eye. He 
wore a dress suit of black broadcloth which he kept scrupulously 
neat and clean. He was a man of great executive ability. He 
was principal of Rockingham Academy during his entire pastor- 
ate, school commissioner for Rockingham County, and chair- 
man of New Hampshire Educational Commission. He acted 
as superintendent of school of this town nearly all the time 
he lived here. At one time he lived in the tavern house and 
boarded the out-of-town students. He was handicapped by an 
invalid wife. In his farewell sermon he spoke plainly, and not 
altogether complimentary, to the society. He died at East Hub- 
bardton, Vt., in 1883, aged seventy-one j^ears. 

Elder George Moore Paine was ordained over the Christian 
Baptist Church in 1841 and continued for three years or more, 
and was the only settled minister over this society during this 
decade. He was much liked and respected by the people of the 
town. He preached here at other times until his death in 1882. 
The remainder of the time preaching was by supplies, and often 
not by men who were calculated to build up the society, not being 
sufficiently educated to attract young people to the fold. Preach- 
ers of this kind did much to cause the decline and end of this 
society. A Sabbath school was carried on during the noon hour. 
The exercises consisted in committing and repeating scripture 
from the New Testament. Rufus Johnson was said to have 
repeated the entire book of Matthew at one lesson. The majority 
never got through Matthew's Epistle. There was a Sabbath 
school library of biographical works, mostly l)iographios of good 
little boys who had not vitality enough to grow up but died 
young. 

The Rev. Jacob Caldwell was ordained in 1841 over the 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 235 

churches of Hampton Falls and Kensington. Meetings were 
held on alternate Sabbaths in each place for a number of years. 
He lived in the parsonage house in Hampton Falls. His wife 
was dead. His sister, Miss Fannie Caldwell, kept his house. 
She was much liked and was the leader in social affairs in the 
society. He was lame, having club feet, but was a man of some 
means and kept a horse and carriage. He had one son, George 
C. Caldwell, who became one of the foremost chemists in the 
country. Levi Lane, Esq., was clerk of the society for many 
years and did all in his power to advance the interests of the 
society. 

The Unitarians did not make so much effort to be saved, in a 
crude condition, as did the other denominations, but tried to 
develop and improve themselves so as to be worth saving in the 
final round up, and to have a place in the celestial structure. 

There were three schools in the town, the Hill, Cock Hill and 
the Exeter road. Jacob T. Brown, Charles H. Sanborn, Thomas 
L. Sanborn, Rhoda Batchelder, Harriet Cram, Catherine A. 
Cram, Mary T. Prescott and Sarah E. Sanborn, all natives and 
residents o^ the town, taught during this decade. Others who 
taught were Jonathan Severance and John J. Marshall of Kings- 
ton. The latter was very much liked by the scholars. He was 
afterward a professor in Tufts College. Morril M. Coffin of 
Hampton taught a number of terms. 

The writer went to school to all of these teachers. The three 
R's were taught. Spell ng matches were frequent; bad spelling 
was cons'dered a disgrace. Colburn's Mental Arithmetic was 
used in all the schools. Many business men have told me that 
the discipline from this arithmetic had been of great value to them 
in after life, and that any one who could perform all the exam- 
ples in Colburn's did not need any more mathematical knowl- 
edge for a successful business career. From some cause this book 
was taken out of our schools, a thing which is condemned by 
all the older citizens. Adams' Arithmetic gave way to Green- 
leaf's National. The boys and girls, when they left school, could 
generally do all the examples in Greenleaf's. Worcester's series 
of readers were introduced, taking the place of the Young Reader, 
Introduction and National Readers previously in use. Worces- 
ter's were used a few years, when Town's Readers took their 
place and were a great improvement over any we had had before. 



236 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Peter Parley's Geography for beginners; Smith's Geography gave 
place to Mitchell's Gcographj^ and Atlas. Outline maps were 
provided, and the drawing of maps was done to some extent. 

Steel pens came into use about this time. Before this quill 
pens had been in use. The teacher was expected to make and 
mend the pens. Many flocks of geese were kept and the feathers 
from their wings were used. Dutch quills, which had been treated 
with oil, were bought and were considered superior to the others. 
In some cases the teachers set the copies in the writing book; 
later books with copper plate copies were used. On the cover of 
some of these books was a picture of the State House at Concord. 
It would be interesting to know if this picture created a desire 
for a seat in that building in after life, a not uncommon ambition 
which could not always be gratified. There was at that time no 
schoolhouse on the South road, nor any road. The children came 
across fields and pastures, and were often wet to the knees. 

During the time ]\Iorrill Coffin kept the Exeter road school, 
from 1848 to 1854, a number of exhibitions were held at the end 
of the winter term. We present on pages 237 and 238 the order 
of exercise of one held on February 24, 1851. There are now 
(1917) four persons living who took part in that exhibition. 

It was against a great deal of opposition that a road was built 
from the schoolhouse to Nason's. Later a schoolhouse was 
built on the South road. Now, on a good road, children have 
to be carried who do not have so far to go, as the South road 
scholars had to come across lots. Cord wood was delivered to 
the schoolhouses; the larger boys cut and fitted it; the smaller 
ones carried it ^n and piled it. The older boys took turns in 
building the fire. The larger girls swept the room. The school- 
houses were not located in sheltered places, but in cold and wind- 
swept localities, especially the Exeter road schoolhouse. The 
Cock Hill schoolhouse was used long after it was a disgrace to 
the town, before the new house was built. "Baseball" was 
played at Cock Hill, and "Old Cat" at the Exeter road. In 
each case ball grounds were only obtained by trespass on private 
property. There was one prudential committee for each school, 
who hired and paid the teachers. The superintending com- 
mittees, usually of three, qualified the teachers, visited the schools, 
and wrote the report. They never received more than $3 each 
for their services. 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 237 



DEDim m IXIBKBItSIg^ 



At tm» 



i:XHIBITIOI¥ 



**' THJt 



6(? 



MONDAY EVE., Feb; 24, 1851> 



M. M. COFFIN, Instructor. 



SMITH, HALL & CLARKE, Printers, 
Exeter, N. U. 



238 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



<>ltI)ER Ol' KXEKtl»E«. 



iNmoincTonv, 

jynthftjnf. 
j Mr. Quidaio, 
"""• 1 Jll-.. Quiddlf. 
n. Tlio VouiiR Oi-tttur, 

Dialof/v. 
•cm. ^ t,j,.j11(^_ 
n. Thn'ii'g fivinily, 

Dinlogw. 



I'ill. 
Squa'.li. 



(Denf.) 






Jtal 



Pcdanlry. 
Onittvn. 



TnlllcTilln 
P<wiiis io'ty 



FcDsionci'. 
Oration. 



roinnoi;, 
:o Bozflrri?, 
Dialogue. 

il)it-it, 
Sc^^pniiipcilalia, 
Trill, 
Drone, 

Works of God, 
Dialogue. 
I Kcd SLidcap, 

I Amanda, 
Aunt Mnrv, 
.Mrs. Trim"min«, 
, " Kackcll, 

FlambMui, 
Bonion, 

I" .\nl\ck, 
Lucv Do Vcrc, 
Bctfy, 
Shoemaker, 

DichffW. 

( rapt. Dowuius, 
( Kathnn, 
Fisherman, 
Mr Wiit«, 
\rr?. .Smith. 
.Miss Willowboush, 
" Bis. 
" Vinegar, 
. Botty, 

Ode on Kloqiience, 
Dialogue. 
I Lord Terey and his toiBran' 
f Jonatbab, 



Otontic. C. M>M>» 

Ik.v N. m,**!. 
RAiun C. nnow*. 
J.rtsiH AS'.»Kni"f. 

Sam'i. rnVJK^TT. 
.Uinx C. Sasboh?*. 
Fhask p. CBVlfc 



Sarah C. WAnney. 

CAKoi.ixr. O. I'oweii. 

Maiiy E. Biiown. 

Ax» Jt. OOKKIK. 

Susan A. Khowji. 
Sarah I. Sanbobi. 

SABMSA A. RilFH»» 
iJtIAIIIjOTTE K. BkoWS. 

S. C. Unowji. 
S. rKrjitvrr. 



I.r.wis T. Sanboiix. 
Hknrv H. Ksiojit. 

.T. K>»Moss Bl:ow?e. 
O. 0. Powf 1 1. 
S. A. CojEi-«. 
S. C. Biiow.N-. 
S. I. Sanbokn, 
JH.X A. W. Bbow.n. 
A. M. Ck>mK. 
C. ■¥.. Br.o\r»i. 
U K. Br.nwN. 
S. A. Br.oi\>-. 
h. T. Samjors. 



nriRACr. .\. (JODPPF.T. 

W. BrowN. 

r. 0. powFi.i- 

S. I. Saxror.'". 

S. M'avrfk. 

«. C. Rbow:<. 

S. A. Bhow.v. 

J. C. Saxbork. 



'(.'*»•* biiv irfy ro'ej. Ac . 

I Jim. Woatlicrliux, 

Sii'..inii:t, 
■ C. Rich, I 1 hebul Kux, 

tillnj'<» ^hcil J I.iu-v Heart, I T I Marv Spuri», 
I Mariii Kos,. | .§ | .l.we .Smith, 

Sarah Small, = Vannv .MilU, 
( AUby Mi.\. I ■ I .M.irtlhi W.-ll* 

l.i.lc to Art, 



Hoctor iiiul 



1 fjuutrir 
JBIuck-iniih. 

Vmlioii. 



( Ufw-tor Smart. 
{ I'utieiit, 
t Waiter, 

Cavibkiiicii, 

Dial.iifii,. 

I Uhcksmith. 

( .Mrthodist MiiiiMor. 

•l;;iioranro in r.nr cnuiiirv i< s erttiti*. 
J>ialur/ii>-. 

t E«ii. 'Mcainvcll. 

"■ (Kllcry, 
\ A Kiinner, 
I Neighbor .Sprout, 
[ '• 'Bclltlowor, 

.\V\v Kngland is deaJ. 

Dialoyiii . 



Jh+ooI y.x 
•Bunativn. 



■I 



Ma»l*r Brown 

unO hi> Pupil.. 



rM,.i|., 



I.'. E. llMlWIl. 

^. I. samk/ili. 



I. N. IW.AKK 
J. C. llU.iWX. 

I. C Sa>uokn. 



Ja<XiU .\. fl'AM. 



.Mrx A. (JODKRK*. 

(iKo. W. SlIAMT- 

I. K. Bl.AKK. 

I.. T. Saxkok.m. 

.1. i:. Bitow.-<. 

G. W. Shaw. 



}. Z. Biiwa. 
I S. f. Brow.n, 
I A. A. W. llHow.-.. 
I S. A. Hko«-.v, 
j J. C. Sanuok.'*. 
J. .\. IJoniitK*. 
(^ W. Shaw. 
' t;. C. HWOWN 

I y. I', ckah. 



VAi.KDicinRV Ai)D):v;.ss bt 

W. BROWN. 



MISIC A.SD SINia.Nr. BV 
B. THOMPSON'S JuvmUti (:imu.> 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 1 85O 239 

If any wished to go farther than the town school, the Rocking- 
ham Academy offered them a good opportunity. Mr. Jones 
was capable of teaching the higher branches and the languages. 

The wages paid the teachers were low; $375 was raised for the 
support of schools, with perhaps the addition of the literary 
fund of $50 or so. We had about thirty weeks of school. The 
summer term commenced about the 20th of May and closed 
sometime in August ; the winter term, early in November and con- 
tinued until February 1. The larger boys were usually taken 
out in haying time and did not come in the winter until the 
ground closed up for the winter. By the law at the present time 
children of school age could not be kept out in this manner. 
Help at that time was plenty and could be had at a low price. 
It is strange that this practice prevailed to the extent it did. 
Some of the older citizens believe that the schools were as good 
in those days a§ they are today; that the education they got at 
that time enabled them to commence life successfully. They 
could reckon the price of a load of produce, know what consti- 
tuted a cord of wood or a ton of hay — what we have seen some of 
our high school graduates unable to do. They also believe that 
every town is capable of managing its own affairs without so 
much outside interference in school, highway and other matters. 
Up to the present time we have not seen much benefit from com- 
missioners and others we have been taxed to support. At that 
time there were no out-houses of any kind about the schoolhouses, 
and no play ground except at the hiil. The North school has 
recently formed an association (known as the Neighborhood 
Club) for the improvement of the grounds and to promote a 
closer socia condition among those whose chiidren attend school 
there. 

In looking up the past history of the school they find some 
things in which they take a commendable pride. Since 1855 
Frank B. Sanborn, Joseph L. Sanborn and Jacob A. Cram have 
graduated from Harvard College. George C. Caldwell studied 
in Germany, and become one of the foremost chemists in the 
country. Rev. Wilham A. Cram, a Unitarian clergyman; Ralph 
Adams Cram, an architect of sufficient ability to get the contract 
to remodel the Military Academy at West -Point; Alice Brown, 
the noted authoress; Elvin J. Prescott, liberal clergyman; Emma 
and Nellie Pearson, who entered the Salem Normal School with 



240 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

no Other schooling except what was obtained here. Others who 
attended school here have become respectable and valuable 
nienilx'rs of the conmiunity. All this was accomplished while 
the schools were managed by the town, without any help from 
the high salaried state officers. The town, since its earliest 
settlement, has done well by its schools. 

People lived as much as possible upon things produced upon 
the farm. Money was not very plentiful and strict economy 
was the rule. There was but one butcher cart -running in the 
town. Nahum Osgood of Amesbury came but not regularly. 
Those who are accustomed to the heavy Western beef of today 
would not care much for the meat he carried. It was a common 
saying that the hind end of a butcher cart was an expensive place. 
Nearly all farmers killed a beef creature every winter; what was 
to be eaten fresh was frozen and was, used as needed; the re- 
mainder was salted to be eaten in summer. The hide was often 
sent away to be tanned and later made into boots and shoes for 
the family. At that time beef and pork barrels were in nearly 
every cellar in the town. Now there are few When a calf, 
lamb or pig was killed it was a common practice to lend a quarter, 
or a sparerib to a neighbor, to be repaid when he killed. Where 
a number of neighbors joined a constant supply of fresh meat was 
had at no great expense and of the' best quality. Nearly every 
family made butter and cheese. At that time cheese was used 
much more as an article of food than at present. Mrs. Levi 
Sanborn had the name o" making the best cheese in the com- 
munity, and there were others not far behind in producing cheese 
of an excellent quality. Those who can recollect the homemade 
cheese of that time consider it superior to anything that can be 
bought at the present time. It was a custom to use a great deal 
of rye and Indian meal in cooking so to save flour which had to be 
bought. When butter, cheese, eggs or any other farm product 
was sold it was not often for cash. It was taken to Newburyport 
or some other out-of-town store and exchanged for groceries or 
other needed articles, the storekeeper setting the price of the 
things brought in and of his own goods as well, thus having it all 
his own way. When eggs sold for twenty cents per dozen it was 
thought a very high price. They were often sold for twelve 
cents for months with no rise in price. Butter rarely sold for 
more than twenty cents i)er pound. At that time it was sold 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO I85O 241 

from the town at a low price; now it is bought by nearly eveiy 
family at a high price. Ice, now considered indispensable, was 
at that time not used. There was not an icehouse or icechest in 
the town. Many ate brown bread and milk for supper during 
the summer and autumn, with the addition of baked sweet 
apples and berries in their season. Many old people had done 
this since their childhood and seemed to enjoy perfect health. 
Could milk have been as dangerous as our modern high-priced 
professors tell us it is today? If it had been these old people 
would never have lived to grow up. Before the milk business 
came it was the custom to dry up the cows in the early winter. 
Some families were without milk for two or three months. Where 
this was the case kind neighbors who had milk would often send 
in a pail of milk to those who had none. Genesee flour, which 
came in barrels with flat hoops, and Ohio flour, in half round 
hoops, were the flours used. From lack of communication flour 
did not come much from west of Ohio. A boiled dinner, consist- 
ing of salt beef and pork with vegetables, and sometimes a 
pudding, were boiled together in a large pot. The older members 
of the family were fond of this kind of dinner, while the younger 
members were not. This was generally spoken of as "biled pot." 
Hasty pudding, made of corn meal was not an uncommon dish, 
with soups and bean porridge; all of these were palatable and 
nutiitious, and were used to keep the cost of living as low as 
possible. The potatoes grown at that time were not nearly as 
good eating as those of the present time. They were often roasted 
in the hot ashes, covered with live coals and with a little salt 
were very palatable. Toasted cheese was another common and 
much-valued food. Sugar cost more than at present; the brown 
Havana was mostly used on the table and for other purposes. 
White sugar was bought in the loaf and reduced with a hammer 
and large knife to a condition for use. It sold for ten cents or 
more per pound; later the white sugar came crushed. It was 
used on the table when there was company. It was considered 
a luxury and was sweeter than the sugars of today. 

Sons of Temperance. 

The Hampton Falls division, Sons of Temperance, was started 
on May 10, 1848. The names of forty-six men are on the books 
of that order and are here given: 

17 



242 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

May 10, 1848, G. H. Dodge, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, N. P. Cram, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, C. H. Sanborn, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, E. Valentine, Hampton Falls, merchant. 
May 10, 1848, Charles F. Chase, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, Samuel Palmer, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, Charles T. Brown, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, John Robinson, Hampton Falls, teacher. 
May 10, 1848, Jeremiah Godfrey, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 10, 1848, John S. Cram, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
June 1, 1848, True M. Prescott, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
Charles N. Healey, farmer. 

June 1, 1848, John Batcheldcr, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
June 1, 1848, Rufus C. Sanborn, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
June 16, 1848, Dean R. Tilton, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
June 1, 1848, Levi E. Lane, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
June 1, 1848, Alfred Marsh, Hampton Falls, blacksmith. 
Andrew McKenny, laborer. 

May 10, 1848, Zebulon Jones, Hampton Falls, clergyman. 
July 15, 1848, George A. Chase, Kensington, blacksmith. 
July 15, 1848, Samuel Lamprey, Kensington, farmer. 
September 21, 1848, Thomas L. Sanborn, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
September 21, 1848, James D. Dodge, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
September 21, 1848, Charles Hardy, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
September 21, 1848, Joseph T. Sanborn, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
December 14, 1848, Lemuel B. Willey, Hampton P'alls, mechanic. 
February 8, 1849, Oliver A. Lane, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
February 8, 1849, Lowell F. Merrill, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
February 22, 1849, John M. Marsters, Hampton Falls, student. 
February 22, 1849, Winthrop Y. Dow, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
February 22, 1849, John C. Akerman, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
March 8, 1849, Jacob Johnson, Jr., Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
March 22, 1849, Emery Batchelder, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
March 22, 1849, Charles E. Akerman, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
April 19, 1849, Otis W. Tilton, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
Joseph Cram, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
Robert McNiel, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
November 14, 1849, George Adams, Hampton Falls, laborer. 
November 14, 1849, Mark E. Pevear, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
February 7, 1850, William Bremner, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
February 21, 1850, John A. Merrill, Hampton Falls, shoemaker. 
April 11, 1850, William T. Merrill, Hampton Falls, physician. 
March 20, 1851, Ezekiel W. Twombly, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
March 20, 1851, Burnham Pevear, Hampton Falls, farmer. 
May 15, 1851, James Fogg, Hampton Falls, mechanic. 
December 15, 1851, Allen G. Holway, Hampton Falls, farmer. 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 1 85O 243 

The Rockingham division held their meetings in a room over 
the store at the hill. 

The Washingtonian (total abstinence) Temperance movement, 
which went over the country soon after 1840, was not without its 
influence in this town. Many signed the pledge and became total 
abstainers and active in carrying on the work. Moses Batchelder 
cut down his" orchard, tore down his cider house and sold the 
cidermill for what it was worth for fire wood. Others active in 
the movement were not as radical as Mr. Batchelder. On July 
4, 1844, a largely attended temperance meeting was held at Boars 
Head. Noted speakers were present and made addresses. The 
ladies of Portsmouth offered a banner for the town having the 
largest number present; it was won by Hampton Falls. Our 
people formed a procession at the yellow (haunted) house at 
Hampton and walked to the beach three miles away. This was 
a hard march for the little children who were in the procession. 
To this the writer can testify as he was less than eight years old 
and walked with another little boy who was six. George H. 
Dodge and Rev. Sereno T. Abbott appear to have been the 
prime means in getting up an interest in this celebration among 
the people of this town. A notable sight to the juveniles was a 
cake of ice on the head of a barrel of small beer which was being 
sold. To have seen ice on the 4th of July seemed to have been 
quite an event. There was no icehouse in Hampton Falls until 
some years later. The Rockingham division of Sons of Temper- 
ance was formed a little later, and continued for a time. We are 
able to give the names of the members which are here appended : 



The Eastern Railroad was opened for travel in 1840. There 
was considerable controversy between the town and the railroad 
in relation to the damage to the town landing, which was settled 
by arbitration. Like other new things it was some time before 
it was used to any great extent. There were not a great many 
passengers, and little freight was offered. One freight train of a 
few cars did all the business between Boston and Portsmouth. 
A small building with a big piazza was used for a station house. 
A target was in use for those who wished to stop the train. As 
no one lived near, this building was much abused: the windows 
were broken and it was found impossible to keep any glass in the 
windows which were reglazed a number of times. The town 



244 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

offered a reward for the conviction of the perpetrators Ijut no 
arrests were ever made. In 1849 the present station was built at 
an expense to the road of S700. Samuel P'ogg was the builder. 
Mr. Charles F. Chase was appointed station agent and continued 
until 1875. After this the patrons of the road had a comfortable 
waiting room. Then the building which had been used as a 
station was moved and used as a freight house, and continued 
until it was burned in 1875. Before this there had been no place 
to store freight; any which arrived had to be unloaded upon the 
ground and left until removed. If heavy articles were to be 
oaded it had to be done while the train waited. There was no 
side track where cars could be left to be loaded and unloaded. 
After the new depot was built business, both passenger and 
freight, gradually increased. Apples, potatoes and other farm 
produce were sent off, and heavy articles were received. It was 
some time before it was realized that heavy articles could be 
moved cheaper and easier than by teams on the highway. 

In 1842 the last town meeting was held in the old meeting house. 
It was torn down that year. Thayer S. Sanborn was elected 
representative; Emery Batchelder, True ]\I. Prescott and Samuel 
]\Ielcher, selectmen. The town meeting had been held here for 
seventy years. In 1843 the town meeting was held in an out- 
building owned b}^ Wells Healey near his house. No representa- 
tive was elected; the political parties at that time were very 
nearly equal in numbers. In 1844 the town meeting was held in 
the Christian Chapel where it continued to be held until the town 
hall was built in 1877. Rev. Otis Wing was elected representa- 
tive in 1844, the last representative elected by the Democratic 
party in the town. At the annual meeting in March all matters 
in relation to the raising of money were careful!}' examined and 
discussed, before they were passed. Many appropriations asked 
for were denied. At that time all appropriations except the state 
and county tax were decided by the voters assembled. There 
was no paternal government at Concord to say how much should 
be raised for the support of schools, or the maintenance of the 
highways. Each town managed its own affairs in its own chosen 
way; self government was the rule. There are many who think 
it was better than what we have today — where the voter has 
little to say as to how things are to be managed. In 1842 the town 
accounts were printed for the first time on a single sheet of four 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO I85O 245 

pages. In 1845 on the score of economy it was voted not to 
print, but have them read in the town meeting. The cost of 
printing had been about $9. They have been printed every year 
since. Hon. George H. Dodge, who wore a shiny silk hat, in 
other ways was by far the best dressed man in the meeting. He 
was a fluent talker and had a great deal of influence when any 
measure came up which he wished to defeat. He took the floor 
and said the matter was new to him and he wanted more time to 
deliberate and examine into its merits than we had at that time. 
Others about him, looking at some of the larger tax payers, felt 
the same way. He would move that the whole matter be "laid 
over till the next annual meeting," which motion prevailed and 
nothing more would be heard of it. This worked well for a time 
but the voters got wise and the time came when it did not work 
any more. Thomas Leavitt, Esq., John W. Dodge, N. P. Cram 
and Wells Healey were good talkers and often took part in the 
meetings. 

Holidays were not as numerous as at the present time, being 
mostly confined to the 4th of July and the great training in 
September. Fast and Thanksgiving days usually had a religious 
service in the forenoon in each of the churches, and were not 
made as much of as holidays as they did later. The 4th of 
July was observed by picnics and other amusements. 

The Third Regiment of Militia was composed of the men liable 
to military service in the towns of Hampton, Hampton Falls, 
North and South Hampton, Seabrook and Kensington. The gen- 
eral muster was usually held at Hampton Falls, on the Brimner 
field, or the Toppan pasture opposite Arthur Chase's, because it 
was more central and convenient for the regiment to meet there. 
Beside the drill of the men which was interesting, there were shows 
which had a small admission fee. Auctioneers sold a variety of 
articles of little value; among the articles sold were razors for 
twelve and one-half cents, which often would answer a good 
purpose; four gimlets for ten cents. The witty sayings and 
stories told by these venders did much to amuse the crowd. 
Intoxicating liquors were sold if not on the training field in some 
nearby place. Serious disturbance often occurred late in the day 
which the military companies were called to quell. Gamblers 
were in evidence. In 1827 the selectmen granted three licenses 
to sell liquors on the training field. The prevailing drunkenness, 



246 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

gambling, fighting, profanity and rowdyism created a strong 
I)ul)lic sentiment against the musters. In 18-46 the representa- 
tive from Hampton Falls was instructed by vote of the town to 
vote and do all in his power to abolish military muster which 
was done in 1851 to the general satisfaction of the comnmnitj'. 

In the early days a great deal of stone wall was built with the 
rocks which had been removed to clear the land and fit it for 
cultivation. Those who did not build some stone wall to replace 
wooden fences each year were looked upon with disfavor, as much 
as they would have l)ecn had they pu])licly denied their belief in 
foreordination, or some other prevailing church tenet. There 
were men who made it their business to l)nil(j new walls and 
relay and repair old ones. They were strong athletic men with 
horny hands and parched throats which called often for irriga- 
tion; old cider, and a good deal of it, was used for this purpose 
with great satisfaction. In the absenceof cider New England rum, 
which could then he bought for forty cents per gallon at retail, was 
acceptable. A jug containing one of the above-mentioned was 
generally found in close proximity to the work. In many cases 
stone walls needed to be rebuilt as often as once in twenty-five 
or thirty years, and the wall builders had constant employment. 

Stone walls were valued as much at this time as at any time 
before and the work was as vigorously pushed as at any time in 
the past. The records show many votes to have walls built 
around the parsonage lands, which go to show the popularity of 
stone walls in those early days. But a change of sentiment came 
about. Walls were not found a sure barrier for stocks which 
were inclined to roam. They took up a great deal of land; often 
the hedgerows took up a rod of land in ])readth. It encouraged 
vermin which here found a shelter. At the present time people 
are as desirous to get rid of the walls as their forefathers were to 
build them. The removal of the old walls adds a great deal to 
the good appearance of the town. 

On some farms there was a great deal of board fence, which 
required a great deal of attention annually. It was not very 
strong; the stakes were held together by withes. An alder swamp 
was considered a "free to all," common property; the cutting and 
removal of withes were done with impunity, even in presence of 
the owner. Today the winding of withes is a lost art. This kind 
of fence was expensive to maintain, and with the i)resent price of 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 247 

lumber would be a serious tax on the owner. Later the fence 
was made by driving stakes to which the boards were nailed; 
this made a much more substantial fence. The pole fence was a 
stronger one than that made with boards and was much in use 
about pastures ; a low wall with two poles was considered a cheap 
and effective barrier to retain cattle and sheep. 

Many of the farmers in this town kept sheep which were 
washed and sheared in June. The wool in some cases was sold 
for cash; in others it was manufactured into cloth and used for 
clothing the family. The writer has seen his mother card the 
wool into rolls with the hand cards, spin the rolls into yarn upon 
the spinning wheel, and then weave the yarn into cloth with the 
hand loom. After the cloth had been woven it was sent away to 
be fulled and colored. There was a mill at that time which did 
that work in this town, near where the Dodge gristmill now stands. 
When it came home it was ready to be made into clothing. Many 
times the writer has taken a piece of c oth tied in a handkerchief 
to Deacon Green to be cut for a jacket or trousers. His price for 
cutting was eight cents for each garment, usually paid with eight 
old fa,shioned coppers. The same mother then made the gar- 
ment. I have seen her spin flax taken from the distaff on the 
linen wheel into thread which was used for sewing where strong 
work was required, or it was woven into cloth used for strainers 
and other household purposes. Mrs. Sarah Perkins of Seabrook 
did a great deal of work, making clothes, in many families in this 
town. She was an expert with the needle. She could measure 
and cut, fit and make the garments. She worked for sixty cents 
per day with board and worked evenings at that. If a specially 
nice garment was wanted the cloth was often taken to a merchant 
tailor who had a reputation for nice work in town to be cut; it 
was then made up by Mrs. Perkins or some one else. 

Top boots made of leather were universally worn. This would 
now be found impossible from scarcity of leather. The increase of 
the population in this country from twenty to one hundred mil- 
lions has made changes which is was impossible to prevent, some 
of which are much to be regretted. Cowhide boots soaked and 
admitted water nearly as readily as brown paper, and were 
greased with resin added to fill the pores so, in a measure, to keep 
the feet dry. It is a wonder that there was not more sickness 
from wet and cold feet. Rubber boots came some vears later. 



248 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

The community is much better clothed and makes a much bet- 
ter appearance now than in those days. Ready made clothing 
was not much known and clothing stores were few and far be- 
tween. Elderly men had a garb peculiar to old age; this, with 
several days' growth of gray beard and with long hair, gave these 
men an aged appearance. Some men did not have their hair cut 
but once a year, usually in June about the time the sheep were 
sheared. With the greater care now given to the personal ap- 
pearance, the same styles of clothing worn by young and old, the 
approach of old age is much less apparent. At about this time 
the wearing of beards came into fashion; cither full beard or 
partial beard was the rule; the clean shaven man was the excep- 
tion. Felt hats came in the late 40's and w^ere a great improve- 
ment over the old silk and tarpaulin hats and sealskin caps pre- 
viously worn. 

People were much more social than at the present time. After- 
noon and evening tea parties, family, neighborhood and social 
parties were numerous. Neighbors came in and spent the even- 
ing with each other and were treated with apples, nuts and cider. 
The local news was discussed and an enjoyable evening was 
passed. This was before nearly every family had a daily paper, 
or magazines, to occupy their evenings and cause them to be- 
come less social. When a death occurred the neighbors were kind 
and sympathetic in offering and rendering all the assistance in 
their power to the bereaved family. Funerals were much more 
generally attended than at the present time. In sickness 
watchers volunteered their services and served without pay. 

There were not many newspapers taken and those were weekly. 
It is doubtful if any daily paper w^as taken in the town. The 
Exeter News Letter had quite a circulation in the town before 
papers were carried free in the county where published by the 
government. The papers were sent to some family in the neigh- 
borhood where they were distributed. It was published on 
Monday afternoon. Some one usually made it their business to 
get the papers so they could be delivered promptly. The News 
Letter claimed to be neutral in politics but leaned strongly toward 
the Whig party. The News Letter of that time bore little 
resemblance to the newsy, up-to-date paper of the present time. 
On the first page one column was devoted to poetry, one to 
serious reading, a story, the remaining space to instructive but 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 249 

not newsy reading. Inside were some editorial articles, a brief 
summary of the doings of Congress and the Legislature if these 
bodies were in session; foreign news was headed so many days 
"later from Europe"; all information from foreign countries 
came by steamer, and was not known here until some days after 
the happenings; a column of items, usually interesting reading, 
marriages and deaths; some, but not a great deal of local news, 
probate and other advertisements. There was a Democratic 
paper published at Portsmouth, which some members of the 
party received. Each religious denomination had its news- 
paper organ: the Congregationalists had the Puritan Recorder; 
the Baptists had the Watchman; the Christian Baptists the 
Christiaii Herald, published at Porstmouth; it claimed to be the 
first religious newspaper ever published in this country. It is 
still published, under the name of the Herald of Gospel Liberty, 
in Ohio. There were but few magazines published in the country 
at that time. 

There were sewing circles in each of the three religious societies, 
Baptist, Christian and Unitarian. 

The sewing circle in the Unitarian Society met once in two 
weeks in the afternoon at the house of some member but held 
no meetings in the winter months. The work done was the 
binding of shoes, which was at that time carried on somewhat 
extensively in the town. The money thus earned was used to 
buy books for the Ladies' Library which had been estal^lished a 
short time before. The books purchased were standard works of 
history, biography and travel, with the better class of fiction, 
all of which were of great value to the readers and did much to 
educate its patrons. At the time this library was removed to 
the town library building it numbered about 1,000 volumes. At 
that time nearly all the original proprietors were deceased. By 
the rules of this society the repast was to be simple. Only one 
kind of cake with bread and tea were served. The meetings were 
characterized by intellectual culture. Gossip and scandal were 
prohibited. This sewing circle continued about forty years. 

The circle in the Christian Society continued but a few years. 
The proceeds were used to Iniy books for a small library which 
was kept in the meeting house. What became of the books in 
this library we are unable to say. 

The Baptist Circle continued longer. At one time it devoted 



250 HISTORY O?^ HAMPTOX FALLS 

its earnings, one-third to foreign missions, one-third to home- 
missions, one-third to home interests. It had an existence of a 
number of years. The sewing circles did much to keep up a good 
social condition in the town. 

Some of our farmers raised cattle, getting the steers handy and 
using them as oxen until they came to maturity when they were 
sold for beef. This was quite a source of revenue; ruat a great 
many heifers were raised as cows were not nmch in demand as 
no milk was sold at that time. Thomas Leavitt, Esq., Aaron 
Sanborn and some others had grade Durham cattle which were 
very thrifty. Mr. Sanborn raised the largest yoke of oxen ever 
seen in the town. He was an expert in training steers. About 
October 1 droves of cattle were driven through the town nearly 
every week until Thanksgiving. Our farmers who did not raise 
cattle bought oxen and steers and fed them through the winter, 
on hay and corn raised upon the farm, selling them in the spring 
often at quite an advance, thus marketing their produce at home, 
and having some good manure to put on the land. Levi Sanborn, 
who was a good judge of cattle, did a great deal in this line, 
buying a great amount of grain in addition to what he raised. 
The cattle, when fattened, were sold to butchers in NcAvburyport 
and elsewhere. Later a great many cattle were taken by the 
Philbricks, of Hampton, to Cambridge and Brighton. The 
cattle business produced quite a revenue to the town. Cattle 
which came from Maine and the East were not as well liked as 
those from New Hampshire and the North; the former were not 
considered as well bred, nor as thrifty as the latter. Many of 
the droves stopped over night at Newell Brown's at Seabrook, 
where there was quite a cattle market. Mr. Woodbury, who 
drove a great many cattle, was afterward Judge of Probate in 
Oxford County, Maine. 

About this time barn cellars l)egan to be considered for the 
saving and better protection of manure, and a number were 
built. The conservation of the liquid manure, with proper 
absorbents, was soon apparent in better crops. The storing of 
manure under the barn is now condemned by the sanitary author- 
ities, but other methods have l)een devised to accomplish the 
same purpose. The saving of all fertilizing matter now receives 
much more attention than formerly. Hardlj' any one now thinks 
of building a barn without a basement which is found valuable 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 1850 251 

for storage purposes, and it is found to be economical to cover 
as much space as possible with the least roofing. 

In 1849 a man by the name of McCloud bought milk in Hamp- 
ton Falls and took it to Boston on the passenger train which left 
here at 7.30 a. m., which was the beginning of the milk business 
which has continued ever since. It is said to have been the first 
instance of milk being sent from New Hampshire to the Boston 
market. He paid ten cents per gallon for milk beer measure. 
There were seven and eight quart cans in use; the seven quart 
can had the same capacity as the eight and one-half quart cans 
now in use. It took a great deal of milk to fill an eight quart can. 
Our farmers were selling milk at a loss as they have often done 
since. Mr. McCloud used to ride back in the baggage car with 
the cans and was said to collect the drainage of all the cans, 
making a few full cans which he returned to the senders as sour 
milk. Ill feehng between the producers and the contractors 
began early and has continued. Mr. Chase, depot master, 
collected the milk. Before the milk business came, cows were 
not fed on English hay. Meadow and salt hay constituted the 
fodder given them. No one thought at that time of feeding 
grain of any kind to the cows. They received the least attention 
of any of the farm animals. 

The potato disease came in 1845 and was the cause of the 
famine in Ireland. At that time the Chenango was the best 
eating and most popular variety grown. It required good care 
and careful cultivation, better tlian other kinds grown at that 
time. From long cultivation it had lost much of its vigor, and 
soon succumbed to the disease, and ceased to be grown. The 
long red potatoes, which yielded a larger crop than any other, 
were seriously attacked by the disease, as were some other kinds 
then grown, all of which soon, from this cause disappeared. I 
have seen the long, red potato sold in the spring for twelve and 
one-half cents per bushel. The pinkeye and round white were 
more hardy and on dry land made very good crops. They were 
often sold from the field early in the fall to go to the West Indies 
for seed; when they sold for forty cents per bushel from 
the field; at that price they were considered a profitable crop to 
raise. The eating quality of those potatoes would, at the present 
time, be considered poor. There has been a great improvement 
in the eating quality of potatoes since that time. It requires 



252 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

much more care and attention to grow the improved kinds than 
it did in those times, in addition to fighting the enemies we now 
have, which make potatoes an uncertain crop. 

A great many turkeys were raised and sometimes in large 
flocks. They did much to rid the fields of grasshoppers and 
other injurious insects, and when fattened and sold in the fall 
produced considerable revenue. They were killed at Thanks- 
giving and Christmas, and marketed. Some took them to Xew- 
buryport and sold them from the wagon. Market Square at 
such times would be crowded with loads of poultry, where the 
buyers could make their own selections. Others sold to Major 
Godfrey and Captain Moulton who took them to Salem. For 
many years rom some cause, it has been found impossible to 
raise turkeys and our farmers are deprived of one once profitaljle 
source of income. 

Capt. Caleb Towle made custom boots and shoes in a little 
shop near his house He had patronage enough to keep him 
employed through the year. Later Chase Akerman made custom 
shoes on a pattern more modern than Captain Towle's Terrell 
Brown did a great deal of cobbling in his shop in the upper part 
of the town. Some of our people had their boots made by John 
T. Blake and Charles Hilliard of Kensington, both of whom put 
out good work. Boot and shoe stores were not very common at 
that time. A great many sale shoes were made in the town, the 
work coming from Lynn and Haverhill; .Sl.oO per day was con- 
sidered good pay for this work. A great many shoes were bound 
by the women and girls who earned considerable money in that 
way. This was before shoes were made in large factories by 
machineiy. Pegged boots and shoes w'ere in almost universal 
use at that time, but now appear to be unknown They were 
not as easy to the feet as sewed work. 

The highways were cared for under the distr'ct system. There 
were twelve districts. Eight cents per hour was allowed' for a 
man and the same for a yoke of oxen, which was 'ater increased 
to ten cents per hour for each. It is doubtful if a single pair of 
horses were used in the town at that time. The roads were 
narrow; many of them had ridges the entire length, with no 
attempt to keep the roadsides clean; cobble stones were plenty 
with no systematic effort to remove them. Four districts made 
the town common a gravel pit; each seemed to vie with the other 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM I84O TO 185O 253 

to see which could get away with the most gravel. Hundreds of 
loads of stone were left upon the surface and the appearance of 
the common was disgraceful in the extreme. The acad&my yard 
did something to check the removal of gravel The Weare monu- 
ment cleaned up the lower end, the remainder of the common was 
cleaned up after the academy was burned, and now presents a 
credible appearance. It was seldom that more than ,|300 was 
appropriated annually for the repair of roads and bridges. 

There was considerable doing about roads during this period. 
The widening of old roads and the building of hew ones was con- 
stantly going on. The road across Great Hill was laid out and 
built. A road here had been agitated and asked for for many 
years. The road from Cock Hill schoolhouse to Nason's was 
built. It had been laid out a number of years before but from 
some informality was not built. The Curtis road was petitioned 
for, but the selectmen refused to lay it out; in this the selectmen 
were supported by a vote of the town. The road commissioners 
were then called and laid it out. As predicted by the opponents 
it has been the worst piece of road in the town to keep in order. 
A road had been asked for here in 1797 and was referred to an 
out-of-town commission who decided against it. One of the 
most prominent petitioners, at that time, offered, in case it was 
built, to contribute a barrel of rum to encourage the workmen 
who should be employed in its construction. 

There were five sawmills in the town, Batchelder's, Dodge's, 
the old mill, Prescott's and Weare's, all fitted with the up-and- 
down saw. Under favorable conditions these mills would not 
average to cut more than two thousand feet each in a day. One 
portable mill, such as is in use today, would cut out more per 
day than the whole of these combined. Most of the lumber used 
in this immediate community came from these mills. Not as 
much lumber was called for as at the present time. Moses 
Batchelder got out a great deal of lumber — when we consider the 
size of Grapevine run, he had a second dam and used nearly all 
the water. He had some mechanical skill and was able to keep 
his mill in good order without much outside assistance. Mr. 
Batchelder got out a great deal of boat stuff for the boat builders 
in Seabrook; at that time a great many l^oats were built in Sea- 
brook. The Batchelder mill was removed a Httle before 1900. 

Mr. Prescott's mill was the last one to be built. The land 



254 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

was very flat, above the mill and he had trouble with the land- 
owners on account of flowage. After his death in 1853 the land- 
owners bought the mill and had it removed. This mill was in 
existence about ten years, wor a little more. 

The old mill was on Taylor Hiver. A sawmill had been in 
existence on or near this location since the early settlement of 
the country. At this time it was owned and operated by part- 
ners. It was thoroughly overhauled in 1849 and put in up-to- 
date condition. It did as good business as could have been 
expected when operated by so many parties. There is a sawmill 
on this site at the present time. 

Dodge's mill was situated on the Falls River, near the falls, 
from which the town takes its name. In the early days it did a 
great deal of business. A great deal of boat stuff was got out 
here for the Seabrook boat builders and those at Salisbury Point 
and Ring's Island on the Merrimack River. The Dodge mill 
was removed many years ago. 

Weare's mill dates from the early settlement of the town. It 
is situated on the Falls River a couple of miles or so above 
Dodge's mill. Considerable business was done here. It is still 
in existence and is the only mill, anywhere in this vicinity, which 
still uses the up-and-down saw. At the present time it is much 
cheaper to put the portable mill on the lot than to be at the 
expense of drawing the lumber to the old time sawmills. This is 
the reason why the old sawmills have in most cases gone out of 
use. 

Nearly every winter Thomas Brown got out one or more house 
or barn frames, framing them so as to be erected when removed 
to their permanent location. Among them was the Ocean House 
at Hampton Beach which was burned many years ago. 

Samuel Batchelder handled and delivered a great deal of heavy 
oak and pine timber to the ship builders in Newburj'port. He 
bought a great many masts and bowsprits from Joseph Moulton. 
Some of the masts were one hundred feet in length. 

There were three gristmills in the town. Dodge's, Weare's and 
Colonel Lane's windmill, all of which did a great deal of business. 
Many thought that the meal Uncle John Weare made was better 
than any one else's. 

Aaron Coffin's mill on the Hampton side of the Taylor River 
received a large patronage from this town. He put in a cob 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 255 

cracker which did a large business as it saved the labor of shelling 
the corn. Cob meal was not valued as feed for milch cows as 
it is at the present time. Cows at that time were not much of a 
factor in our farming. For a time a great deal of corn was taken 
to the gristmill at Exeter, until it was found by weighing that the 
grist shrunk much more than one-sixteenth which was the legal 
toll. 

Colonel Lane's windmill did some business. It was said that 
his gears were a little too heavy to operate to the best advantage 
by wind power. The roguish boys from the school would often 
go up and, by taking hold of the arms, stop the mill. As soon 
as this was accomplished, the boys took a sudden leave as an 
infuriated little man was sure to make his appearance around the 
corner. Colonel Lane ground plaster of paris which, at that time, 
was being used, by our farmers, in growing potatoes. At that 
time meal was not sold at the stores. When corn was bought it 
had to be taken to the mill to be ground, which made a great deal 
of business for the gristmills, which ceased when meal could be 
bought. 

A house or barn raising was quite an event. A large number of 
men were gathered who proceeded to erect the frame. There 
were a few who were expert and handy in making things come 
together, and who prided themselves on their ability to walk 
about on the timbers without fear when the work was finished. 
A good supper of baked beans, brown bread and other substantial 
food was provided in abundance, to which the company did full 
justice. Raisings were enjoyable occasions, but now have 
become obsolete. It is to be doubted if a company of men, cap- 
able of doing this work, could now be assembled. 

In the olden times it was sometimes a custom to name the 
building when the frame was erected. Some man would go up 
and stand on his head or hang by his heels from the ridge pole 
and drink from a bottle and announce the name, or a sentiment. 
We give an example : 

Some oak and some pine, 

Some coarse and some fine, 

Some old and some new. 

Hand on the bottle and that will do. 
Cyrus Brown made bricks on his land near the depot. The 
clay was said to have been of a superior quality for brick making 



256 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

and bricks of the best kiiul were turned out. Several attempts 
have since been made to revive the business, but have not been 
successful. There was a complaint by the workmen that green 
head flies and minges were very annoying in their season. 

The electric telegraph came into successful operation about 
this time. A line was installed along the line of the Eastern 
Railroad. The singing of the wires in the wind was supposed 
to be caused Iw the news passing over them. 

A store was kept in the building now occupied )jy Mr. Merrill, 
but it has been considerably enlarged since that time. Elijah 
Valentine who came from Massachusetts was here for a time. 
He sold out to William H. Hills and John X. Sleeper who came 
from Plaistow. They came here as students at the academy. 
Mr. Hills was appointed postmaster. This firm continued for a 
couple of years or so and were succeeded by Joseph T. Sanborn 
who remained for a number of years, until 1854. In those days 
the store did not do a great deal of business. Those who kept 
horses traded out of town at Newburj^port and elsewhere. Later 
a great deal of trade went to the Lane store at Hampton, which 
was the first in this vicinity to keep a general store with a great 
variety of goods. When ]\Ir. Hills resigned at the post office, 
Jacob T. Brown was appointed and he removed the office to the 
residence of Thomas Brown, nearly two miles from its former 
location, toward Exeter. It was kept here a few months, but 
was not found as convenient for its patrons as the former loca- 
.tion. Although this was near the territorial centre of the town, 
it was not the business centre. Lowell Brown, Jr., was appointed 
postmaster and removed the office to the store of his brother, 
Cyrus Brown, in a building near the brick house which was after- 
ward burned. The office continued here for a number of years 
until 1853. Cyrus Brown kept some groceries and other goods. 
The store business at that time was mostly confined to patrons 
who could not go elsewhere and was necessarih" small. Since 
then the country stores have kept a large assortment of goods 
and get nearly all the trade of the toAvns in which they are lo- 
cated. At that time our stores did not sell grain, which, after 
the milk business came, became an important factor in the store 
business. 

The grafting of apple and other fruit trees was said to have 
been introduced into the town by Rev. Jacob Abbot; he also 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO I85O 257 

brought in some new varieties of apples. The grafting of apple 
trees became general after the temperance movement, soon after 
1840. Before that time the orchards were mostly of natural 
fruit; some of which were very good eating varieties. The 
Baldwin was grown but little, with some Greenings and Russets. 
Gangs of men were employed, from some time in March till the 
first of June, in .setting grafts. Robert F. Williams of Hampton 
did a great deal of this kind of work, often taking an orchard 
for one-half the crop for a period of years. Morrill Cofhn was 
skillful in this work and did a great deal of grafting in this town. 
Some thought that two or more kinds of apples growing upon 
the same tree was a great curiosity, but this was not a thing to 
be commended. 

Tallow candles and sperm oil lamps were the methods of illu- 
mination. These with the aid of the open fire illuminated the 
room in the evening. The candles were made from the tallow 
obtained from the animals killed upon the farm. The housewife 
made the candles by dipping the wicks in hot tallow and 
allowing them to cool; then the process was repeated until the 
candles were of the desired size. Some candles were made in 
moulds after the wicks had been put in and adjusted. Candles 
made a dim light, and required constant snuffing; the smoke from 
them was disagreeable. Oil lamps were disagreeable. Late in 
the decade burning fluid came. It was clean, made a bright 
light, and was much liked. It was dangerous from explosion in 
careless hands. 

The open fire was the only cheerful thing about the evening 
illumination. To watch the fire was always interesting. There 
was usually a fore stick and backlog, as the foundation of the 
fire. The fireplace was usually built into the chimney. Some 
had the Franklin stoves invented by Benjamin Franklin, which 
were ornamental to the room. The Franklin stove is now much 
sought for as a curiosity, and commands a big price when found. 
The open fire was one of the best means of ventilation ever de- 
vised. It was efficient. It was said of its heating that it roasted 
on one side and froze on the other. The houses heated by the 
open fire were, undoubtedly, more healthy than the close, un- 
ventilated houses of the later days. A great deal of the cooking 
was done before the open fire, baking in the tin baker, roasting 
in the tin kitchen, frying in the Dutch oven. Cooking stoves 

18 



258 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

had not come into general use and were not perfected to the 
efficient work of cooking as those of the present time. 

AVhen a farmer needed help, there were enough farmers' sons 
who could be hired at reasonable wages. Not more than SIO 
or S12 per month, with board was paid. Work usually began 
at sunrise and often continued until dark. In 1850 good men 
could be hired for $14, with board. Old men often worked 
through the winter months for their board. 

The first Irishmen in the town came in 1844 when Michael 
Brown and his brother, John, worked for Wells Healey. If 
in-door help was wanted there were farmers' daughters, capable 
and efficient, who could be had for 75 cents to $1 per week, and 
in some cases marrying the son and later being mistress of the 
house. Sarah INIarston, who lived in the family of Uncle Billy 
Brown for many years, built the house, now occupied by William 
Irving, in 1838, at an expense of S250. She earned the money by 
working at $26 per year and board. This house was built upon 
a different location from that which it now occupies. 

Soap making was an annual occurence in many families. The 
ashes were carefully saved in a dry place and were placed in the 
mash tub which had been prepared to receive them. If there 
was any doubt as to the strength of the ashes some lime was 
added by way of re-inforcement. Apple tree ashes were con- 
sidered to be the best as they were supposed to contain a great 
deal of potash. Beech and pine were the poorest. When the 
mash had been set up and properly prepared, boiling water was 
poured on the top and allowed to leach slowly through the mass. 
When the resulting lye would bear up an egg it was pronounced 
all right. The grease, which had accumulated during the A'ear, 
was placed in a kettle and the lye added; when boiled together 
soap was the result. If from any cause the soap failed to come 
it was called bad luck. Others made soft soap by using potash 
which took longer but was not so laborious a process. Soft 
soap, once common in nearly every family, is now an almost 
unknown quantity. The housewife usually took charge of the 
soap making, often doing all the work which was a serious addi- 
tion to her arduous duties. 

Corn huskings were quite often held in the fall. The barn 
floor would be piled with the corn as it came from the field. 
A goodly company would assemble and proceed to strip off the 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 259 

husks. When this had been done a good supper of baked beans, 
brown bread and pumpkin pie, with coffee and other good things, 
was provided, to which all proceeded to do full justice. Some 
had a remarkable capacity for getting outside of a great deal of 
food, and prided themselves on the amount which they could 
eat. There were always enough who were willing to husk all 
the evening if they could enjoy the good supper which they knew 
would be forthcoming. Huskings were enjoyable social occa- 
sions. 

Some people pastured their cattle and horses in the road, 
which caused a great deal of trouble to travellers, and the keeping 
of the gates and bars closed to prevent trespass. Votes were 
passed at various times to abate this nuisance, and restrain 
animals from running at large upon the highways, but they 
were not very effective. At the present time this has been 
remedied by the removal of roadside fences, which has also 
removed a serious cause of trouble. Geese were kept and 
allowed to run at large. The ganders were a great terror to 
little children on the way to and from school. 

After the Eastern Railroad was completed, wood was used for 
fuel by the locomotives. Wood and water were taken at Hamp- 
ton. This made a good market for pine wood and a great deal 
was delivered there. Some of the old people became alarmed and 
were afraid the wood would all be cut off. Some even deprived 
themselves of enough fuel to make themselves comfortable. 
It is now apparent that their fears were groundless. $3 per cord 
was paid for pine wood. 

Many of the plows used in the town were made by John 
French of Kensington. These plows did good work on ordinary 
land, but were not found strong enough when it came to reclaim- 
ing low lands. Other plows were introduced adapted to this 
kind of work. Oxen were used. It was no uncommon sight to 
see two men, one driving four oxen and another holding the 
plow, with not more than an acre plowed in a day. The square- 
spiked tooth harrow was the one in general use ; it would smooth 
the land but did not loosen and pulverize the soil as the disk and 
other harrows of the present time. Harrowing was considered 
a good place to train and subdue steers. 

Most of the blacksmith work was done at Marsh's shop near 
Kenny Brook. This shop was formerly the Christian Baptist 



260 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

meeting house, built in 1805, and had been removed to this loca- 
tion. Richard Marsh worked here until 1840 when he rejnoved 
to Amesbury. He was succeeded by his brotiier, Alfred, who 
continued until 1855. Alfred Marsh was a giant, weighing more 
than 400 pounds. Both Marshes were expert horse shoers. 
Lame horses were not seen or heard of much after then. They 
shod a great many horses from out of town. Before coming 
here they had l)een located at Newburyport where they shod 
the horses for the Eastern Stage (^omi)any who claimed that they 
were the best shoers they ever employed. They shod a great 
many oxen which was quite a business of that time, when mo.st 
of the work was done b}" oxen. They did not claim to be job 
workmen and did not do much of that kind of work. Most of 
that kind of work was taken to Mr. Young at Ham])ton, who was 
an expert in that line of work. There was not as much jol) work 
at that time as there has been in recent years. Aaron Gove had 
a shop on what is now Mr. Godfrey's lawn; he had ceased to do 
much work and died in 1850. Early in the 40's Gharles Chase 
had a shop on the Newburyport road ; he Avas an ingenious work- 
man. Later he removed to Lawrence. 

Charles C. Gove and Samuel Fogg were the carpenters who did 
much of that kind of work in the town. Dea. Jeremiah Hobbs 
of Hampton was a wheelwright, and built many of the cartwheels 
used in the town. His sons, Morris and Obed, hewed and framed 
a great deal of heavy timber for the people of the town. Joshua 
Pike was a good workman; he built a great many buildings in 
Exeter. He built the house occupied Ijy the late Nathan Moul- 
ton in 1816. After one hundred years the house is as plumb, 
square and level in every particular as it was when completed. 
This is a monument to his skill as a builder. 

There were but few who had a variety of fruit. Many did 
not have pears. Jacob Brown, William Brown, Thomas Brown 
and Wells Healey, antl perhaps a few others, had a variety con- 
sisting of apples, pears, peaches, plums, cherries and grapes. 
Peaches were a good money crop. Esquire Leavitt had a great 
variety of eating apples through the year. It is doubtful if any 
of those kinds are in existence today. He kept bees and was 
very successful in their management. Wild strawl)erries were 
plentiful in the mowing fields and had a better flavor than the 
cultivated berries of the present time. The cultivation of straw- 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 261 

berries was unknown at that time. The steaHng of fruit was at 
that time much more common than now. 

Private burying places for the dead upon the farm was a com- 
mon practice in some cases. Later this practice was found ob- 
jectionable and in every case the bodies have been removed to 
the cemeteries. 

Moses Brown, Andrew J. Chase and Woodbury Marsten 
went to California in 1849. 

Stephen Dodge was the only man from this town who was a 
soldier in the Mexican War. 

Thayer Sanborn bought and shipped a great many apples and 
potatoes to the Boston market after the railroad was built. 
Our people liked to sell to him because they felt sure of getting 
their pay. 

Lawyer Brown and Richard Dodge were interested in vessels 
engaged in the Labrador fisheries. There were some men in this 
town who went fishing every summer. Capt. John W. Dodge 
went to Labrador a number of seasons, taking passengers and 
engaging in trading and fishing. 

Having a somewhat vivid recollection of the hay season of 
1850, it might be interesting to consider some of the conditions 
which existed at that time. There was none of the labor saving 
machinery such as is in use at the present time, except the horse 
rake and that had not come into general use. There were still 
many who continued to use the hand rake, claiming that more 
hay was obtained; that it was better for the stubble; that it was 
easier to handle and cock up, and could be packed closer in the 
barn, where barn room was scarce. This was thought an advan- 
tage. The mowing machine, hay tedder, hay loader, horse fork 
and hay slings were unknown. No one made the hay crop a 
speciality. Low lands had not been reclaimed and drained. A 
great deal of land had never been plowed, and produced natural 
grasses, not more than three-fourths of a ton to the acre. Many 
fields, which are now smooth and free from obstruction, were at 
that time encumbered with trees, rocks, stone heaps, bushes 
and wet spots, which made it much more laborious and difficult 
to gather the small crop which grew. 

Lands were generally planted to hoed crops for two or three 
years and all the manure from the farm used for the crops. 
Commercial manures were at that time unknown. The land was 



262 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

sown to some crop of grain, with the grass seed. The strength 
of the manure having nearly all been taken up ])y the crops raised 
the grass crop did not receive much benefit from the manure, 
the soil only being benefited by the stirring and aeration. Lands 
thus treated produced a ton of hay to the acre for two or three 
years after seeding; two tons to the acre was rarely heard of. 
Second crop grass was not much known ; what little did grow was 
highly prized as a feed for calves and lambs. It was thought an 
injury to the land to cut the second crop, but it might be fed off 
without injury. This was a distinction hard to understand. 

The scythes in use were longer and not as well finished as those 
of the present time and were more liable to bend. Some of the 
old mowers demanded a scythe with a four-foot cut. Scythes 
of that length are now unknown. Phillips. Alesser and T'olliy of 
New London, N. H., and Dunn and Tajior of the North Wayne 
Scythe Company of North Wayne, Me., made most of the scythes 
in use at that time. Some considered it more aristocratic to use 
the former because Mr. Colby had been governor of the state. 
There was a complaint that the scythes were not warranted as 
they had been in a former time. Before these scythe companies 
came into existence the scythes were made by some blacksmith. 
Those made by a man named Joy were often spoken of as the 
best ever in use here. It was thought that scythes made with 
the hand hammer had a better cutting temper than those made 
when the trip hammer was used. The patent snathes, similar to 
those now in use, were introduced a little before 1850. The 
scythe was fastened with a heel-ring and wedge. Those which 
fastened with screw and wrench came a few years later. 

The light steel-tined forks were introduced soon after 1840. 
The forks used before were made by the common blacksmith; 
the tines were large and made of iron, were easily bent and often 
loose in the handle and much harder to use than the steel forks. 
A man could do much more work with the latter. Steel-tined 
forks cost much more than at the present time. 

The wooden tooth revolving horse rake was introduced about 
1830 but was not in universal use in 1850. It did good work, 
raked clean, left the hay free from dust and dirt and in good con- 
dition to cock up. It required a boy to ride the horse and a man 
to hold the rake. Some drove the horse with long reins and held 
the rake; this was a laborious task. There has not been a very 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO I85O 263 

great improvement in the quality of the work clone by the rakes 
but the modern rakes are easier to use. A rake with steel wire 
teeth was used for a year or two but it gathered so much dirt and 
rubbish it was soon discarded. In 1849 came the Delano In- 
dependent wooden tooth horse rake, mounted upon wheels, 
whose principal advantage was that the operator could ride. 
It was hard on both the man and horse. It did not leave the 
hay in as good shape as the revolver. It continued in use to 
some extent until the introduction of the wheel rakes, with wire 
teeth, which first came into use in the time of the Civil War. 
Up to this time some had continued to rake by hand. The 
drag, or loafer rake similar to those in use at the present time, 
came about this time. It was used mostly for raking after the 
load and was a great labor saver. A heavy drag rake had been 
in use before but was not used to any great extent. 

The usual time for beginning haying was the Monday after 
the 4th of July. When the 4th came on Tuesday it made a late 
beginning. About the first of July men came around for a job 
in haying. They usually had a snathe and two scythes, their 
other belongings tied up in a handkerchief. Wages demanded 
were from $1 to 1.25 per day with board. A few who were e xpert 
received $1.50 which was the top price. These men claimed to be 
able to do wonders in the hayfield. After a trial the actual re- 
sults often fell short of being realized. These men could get 
outside of a great amount of hard cider which at that time found 
a place in a majority of the farmers' cellars. 

It was the custom to begin mowing by sunrise, or before, as 
the grass cut easier when wet with dew, and to continue to mow 
until 9 or 10 o'clock when the dew was off. Then they spread 
the swathes and opened the hay which was cocked up the day 
before. If there were old men or boys who did not mow to do 
this work the mowing continued later. The hay cocks were 
opened and turned before dinner. The hay thus treated was 
generally fit to go in early in the afternoon. At that time the 
hay was mostly got in with oxen and two-wheel carts fitted with 
ladders, or on two-wheel racks. When the hay was in, the grass 
mowed in the morning was raked and cocked. This latter work 
was done much more carefully than we see it done at the 
present time. 

The work of the day was not generally completed before sun- 



264 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

set, and often continued until dark and sometimes later; eight or 
ten hour days at that time were unknown. Some had their 
supper at 5 and finished the day's work after, claiming that the 
rest and refreshment made the work easier. It was easier for 
the women folks as they finished their work earlier. Others 
finished the day's work before supper. Each practice had its 
advocates, and each tried to maintain its practice was the best. 
It is o})vious that at the present time this question would create 
no interest, or find any place among the haymakers, as many 
end the day at 5 in any case. The work of haying continued 
much later than now, often through August or into the first of 
September. Dog days were usually poor hay weather; in 1850 
hay stood in cock for three weeks and was not opened and was 
spoiled. 

Some advanced thinkers predicted that the time would come 
when grass would be cut by machines worked by horses. In the 
first volume of the New England Farmer published in 1822, 
we find an account of a man who was working on a model of a 
mowing machine which consisted of a steel circular disk, five 
feet across, with a sharp edge, suspended under a pair of wheels 
and made to revolve by a series of gears. This machine probably 
never accomplished what the inventor expected of it. In the 
same volume we find an account of a horse rake with which the 
inventor claimed he could do as much work as six men with hand 
rakes. He said that there was some prejudice against its use. 
From the description it would appear that this rake later devel- 
oped into the revolving horse rake in general use in the 40 's. 
The first mowing machine used in the town was in 1854. It 
would cut grass under some conditions, but was not sufficiently 
perfected to be of much practical value. 

Salt Marsh. 

Dr. Belknap, in his history of New Hampshire, says that the 
salt marsh offered great inducements to the first settlers of Hamp- 
ton, because of the ease with which they could get hay to feed 
their cattle. From that time the marshes were popular and nmch 
valued because they needed neither fence or manure. The crop 
could be removed annually for years with no fear of exhausting 
their productive capacity, and the taxes were insignificant in 
amount. When the grass was ready to cut it was the custom to 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 265 

get on the ground by sunrise or as soon as it was light enough to 
see to work, as the grass cut much easier when wet with dew. 
The average man could cut about an acre in a day. Some expert 
mowers could cut two or more acres. 

The grass when cut was allowed to lie for two or three days, 
according to the weather, before it was raked and put in cock, 
and allowed to remain a day or two. The cocks were then taken 
on poles by two men and carried to the stack bottom and put in 
stacks. When the stacks were properly built the hay would 
come out in good order in the winter when the marsh was frozen 
enough to use teams to remove it. There was not much variation 
in the manner in which the salt hay was managed from the 
beginning for two centuries and a half, or until the mowing 
machines came to be used on the upland. Soon after this, 
hand mowing became nearly a lost art. The mowing machine 
has been used to some extent on the marshes, but its use has not 
in all cases been safe or satisfactory. In the 40's a great many 
more men could be seen at work on the marshes than at a later 
period. At that time the old men said a great many more men 
could be seen in their boyhood. The cause of this was that the 
marsh had come into the possession of many less owners. 

The farmers in Hampton Falls owned a great deal of marsh. 
The Batchelders, Browns, Sanborns with Wells Healey and a few 
others were large marsh owners. In its natural state the marsh 
was wet with many sloughs and ponds. When the water was 
removed by drainage better kinds of grass were induced to grow. 
Cultivation of the marsh made as much improvement in its 
appearance as better care did the upland. 

William A. Hopkins, an Englishman, dug hundreds of miles of 
ditches. The ditches were eight inches wide at the top and from 
two and one-half to three feet in depth. When thorough work 
was done the ditches were put in about two rods apart. The 
sods were removed. In two or three years the ditch closed up 
at the top, leaving a passage for the water underneath. Drainage 
caused the better class and quality of grass to grow than had 
grown before. Many valued their marsh more highly than they 
did the uplands. When any marsh was for sale, if well located, 
there was considerable competition among would-be buyers. 
Good marsh land sold for from $40 to S50 per acre and some- 
times for more, with a good demand. Now there is neither 



266 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

deniancl or sale. Five acres of marsh owned by tlie late C'apt. 
Nathan Moulton were sold soon after the Civil War closed at 
$60 per acre and were considered a good bargain at that. It was 
sold a few years ago at auction for $3.50 per acre. Marsh above 
the railroad which in former times sold for .S2o and S30 per acre 
has since been sold as low as sixty cents per acre. The marsh in 
those days was all cut. If from any cause a piece of marsh was 
left uncut, it made a great deal of talk, and the owner was con- 
sidered to be on the downward road. 

On the thatch ground and marshes too low to make hay, the 
grass was taken off in boats and made on the upland. There 
were four gondolas at Hampton Falls landing and many more at 
Seabrook and Hampton. Now there is scarcely a boat at either 
of those places. There were spreading places near all the land- 
ings wdiere the hay could be spread and made. Salt hay did not 
make as well on the upland as on the marsh because it drew 
moisture from the ground. The charge for the use of the spread- 
ing ground was $1 for each boat load. After the season com- 
menced the boats were in demand until the end of autumn and 
when wanted they had to be engaged beforehand. The charge 
for the use of the boat was fifty cents per trip. 

In the early days of the town the parsonage had twelve acres 
of thatch ground. We have never seen any account of how 
much was received from the sale of the grass or how the land 
was finally disposed of as there is no mention of it upon the 
church or town record. Thatch is now considered of little feed- 
ing value. Black grass, fox grass and the branch grass which 
came in after drainage were considered the most valuable varie- 
ties, and on an average produced al)out a ton to the acre, in some 
cases more. Black grass needed to be cut at the same time as the 
English grasses and needed as much care to get it in the best 
manner; when this could l)e done it was a valuable feed for all 
kinds of farm stock. When cut at this time the green head marsh 
flies were the most numerous and troublesome. 

It might not ])e out of place to give the names of different 
localities on the marsh which were about as well known as the 
residence of the prominent citizens of the town. When we 
speak of islands we mean spots surrounded by water but not 
covered by high tides and on which fresh water vegetation grows. 
Pine Island was situated above the turnpike and was in Hampton. 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO I85O 267 

The Breeches was a tract of marsh above the turnpike and on the 
north side of the river. It takes its name because it is shaped 
Hke a pair of pantaloons. The river formerly run around it. 
At some time a ditch was dug to keep the cattle off the marsh; 
this ditch soon became the channel of the river, being nearly a 
mile shorter than the old course. This tract is in Hampton 
Falls. Robie's Island is near the upland and the Toppan pasture. 
Birch Island is near the bridge where the Boston and Maine 
Railroad crosses the river; both are in Hampton. Fresh Island 
is where the railroad station now is. Bremner's Island is on the 
south side of the Falls River southeast from the depot. This 
island is sometimes called Mike Island from Michael Brown who 
lived here in the time of the Revolutionary War. Healey Island 
is below Mike Island; here a great many horses were picketed 
when the men were at work on the marsh. A great deal of 
indignation was expressed when the wood was cut off and the 
horses left without shade. About half a mile southeast of 
Healey Island was the great stake on the marsh of Lawyer 
Brown; it was not of such great size as its name would indicate, 
but was useful in the darkness of the early morning for the 
owners to locate their marsh by taking their bearings there. Dr. 
Rowe's Point was where the Hampton River was the farthest 
north. When the wind was strong from the northwest boats 
loaded with hay found it difficult to get up past Rowe's Point. 
Hoyt's and Swain's creeks are two large creeks which empty 
into the Hampton River from the Falls side. Two men were 
drowned in 1849 in Swain's Creek, Fifield's rocks are on the 
river between these two creeks. Steep banks are on Seabrook 
River which is the town bound. Great Neck is an island of 
about eighty acres on the Hampton side of the river surrounded 
by Hampton and Brown rivers, and Great Neck Creek. Lea- 
vitt's Island is where the willows are. A large tract of marsh 
was made an island by Nudd's Canal. 

By legislative act in 1823, Mr. Nudd was allowed to construct 
a canal from the Hampton landing to Brown's River, which 
shortened the distance his vessels had to go to the sea by about 
two miles. He was to furnish the marsh owners a ferry, which 
was a boat with a rope at each end fastened to a stake on each 
side of the canal. This was continued as long as any one cut 
marsh on the inside, but from this cause appears to be now 



268 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

abandoned. He put on a bridge in winter to facilitate the 
moving off of the hay. After a time he ceased to do this, although 
both bridge and ferry were retiuired by the act of incorporation. 
In Dow's History of Hampton we find that the cost of digging the 
canal was a hogshead of rum. Grin D. Green and his two horses 
were drowned while crossing the river to remove hay from inside 
the canal. In 1855 two men who were going to work on the 
marsh inside the canal, were drowned near the Falls river mouth. 

The salt works were near the Hampton landing and were 
vats made of timber in which the salt water was evaporated. 
The making of salt was said to have been profitable as long as 
the embargo lasted. They were owned by David Nudd who 
afterward removed the timber and used it in the construction 
of the Granite House at Boars Head. 

The Spring marsh was situated between Perkins' tide mill and 
the causeway. The dam at the mill kept the marsh saturated 
with water. The town of Hampton purchased and removed the 
mill for the benefit of the marsh owners. 

The time for cutting, called the marsh season, was after the 
change of the moon and before the full, and after the full and 
before the new moon. If the perigee occurred between these 
phases of the moon one tide kept up and it was not a suitable time 
to make hay. Some made it a rule to cut just after the 3 
o'clock tide which was usually the highest. As soon as the new 
almanacs came in January some men laid out the marsh seasons 
for the year. Thomas Brown was considered an oracle in this 
matter. The green head fly made its appearance the last of 
June and continued until some time in August. They were noted 
for close application to business and a quick reminder of their 
presence. Some years it was nearly impossible to work during 
their reign. The same species of fly is found on the wild prairie 
of the West. The marsh season was a social occasion where 
people met and talked over the news. Old men, past labor, 
regretted that they could not go on the marsh. 

The marsh was owned in tracts of from tw-o to five or more 
acres; each tract was generally called by the name of the former 
owner. The bounds were marked by stakes and ditches. The 
mains left in mowing were plainly visible, and the bound lines 
were respected. Sometimes a storm, with a liigh tide, came 
after the grass was cut and it would be carried away. This 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 269 

occurred in 1858, and to some extent in other years. Sometimes 
in the fall or winter high tides would remove the stacks. A 
great deal of damage of this kind was done in the winter of 1838 
and 1839, in November, 1861, and again in November, 1871, when 
a great many stacks were moved and deposited along the rail- 
road embankment. Much ill feeling was shown in the division 
of the drift hay. Some farmers living a few miles back in Kings- 
ton, Danville and Freemont owned marsh. They used to come 
down and camp, bringing their provisions, supplemented by 
clams which were dug and cooked. The meti who came with 
them did not cost a great deal as it was considered an enjoyable 
outing. In this way the hay was secured at no great expense. 
It was thought a bad thing to sell hay from the farm but if a 
quantity of salt hay could be fed, hay could be sold with no fear 
of injury. The salt hay did not receive as much care and atten- 
tion as the hay on the upland. When well cared for it was much 
more valuable for feeding. Chemists have claimed that salt 
hay was nearly as valuable feed as English hay; few have found 
this to be correct in actual practice. In the fall when the grass 
had all been cut and the creeks, ditches and sloughs neatly 
trimmed out and filled with water at high tide, with the hundreds 
of hay stacks, it made a very pretty picture. 

As soon as the marsh was sufficiently frozen and there was snow 
enough for sledding on the road, people got busy in removing the 
hay; this was easy when sleds could be used. Some made the 
stacks upon sleds which could be moved without loading. If 
the wind did not blow too much it was considered better to 
handle the hay as the dust was removed and the hay was im- 
proved by being handled. If the hay had to be moved on wheels 
it was a more difficult task. Charles E. Akerman, who worked 
at shoemaking when he could see, told the writer that he had 
counted as many as two hundred loads of hay in a single day 
moving over the hill. These loads were mostly drawn by oxen, 
using hardly any teams of horses. There was always a good 
snow path on the road as long as the hay was being moved. 

The question may be asked why the marsh has lost its popu- 
larity, and ceased to be utilized as formerly. When the mowing 
machines came into general use, hand mowing with scythes went 
out. Young men did not come to be expert in this work as their 
fathers had, as no hand mowing was done on the upland. It was 



270 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

much harder to mow on the marsh. At that time ahnost the 
only source of manure came from the keeping of cattle, and salt 
hay could be used to increase the number kept. Commercial 
manures, whereby good crops could be raised, were unknown. 
By their use good crops could be raised on the fields cheaper 
than to cut salt hay. The silo, with the growing of millet and 
Hungarian, became popular as the work could be done at home. 
The younger generation did not take kindly to the long days of 
their fathers. The women folk did not like to get up in the 
middle of the night to get breakfast and put up dinners, and then 
spend a long and lonesome day with the care of things at home. 
While the hay is just as valuable for feeding piu'poses as formerly, 
the help costs much more and is inefficient in that kind of work. 
Under these conditions the hay costs more than it is considered 
to be worth. The feeds substituted bring better results at less 
costs. 

In the 3'ears after 1850 the grasshopjjers were very plenty on 
the high marshes, eating a good share of the grass above the rail- 
road. In August, 1856, there came a hard storm with a high 
tide which carried the grasshoppers to the edge of the high land 
and deposited them in a windrow a foot in depth. There has 
not been any serious trouble from them since. 

When we look at the large area of salt marsh and reflect that 
for two hundred and fifty years the entire tract was cut with 
the hand scythe, and gathered with the hand rake, carried on 
hay poles to the high ground to the stack bottom or onto a boat, 
with no labor-saving tools or implements, we find it represents an 
amount of phj^sical exertion the present generation would be 
unwilling to exercise. We have been particular to describe and 
give the details relating to the marshes in the early days because 
they are past and gone, never to return, and that the methods 
and customs may be preserved for those who are to come after. 
The time will probably come when the salt marshes will be 
again utilized for some purpose and become valuable, but not 
in the same manner as in former times. 

Quite a number of our peojile used to go to the fish houses at 
Hampton, in the morning, to be there when the boats came in 
from fishing to get fresh fish which were supposed to be better 
than those carried by peddlers. The price at that time was 
three quarters of a cent per pound when taken from the boat. 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 271 

When the peddlers raised the price to two cents per pound it 
was thought to be exorbitant. Haddock were sold for three or 
four cents each, such as now sell for twenty-five and thirty cents. 
Clams were peddled at twelve and one half cents per peck. 
Some neighborhoods formed a club, the members taking turns 
in going for fish as often as once a week, or as occasion required. 

The grain raised was mostly barley and oats, with some rye. 
It was sometimes separated from the straw by cattle and horses 
walking over it on the barn floor. Some was threshed with 
flails. The stroke of the flails, when two men were threshing, 
falling with the regularity of machinery, could often be heard 
during the entire day. Ten bushels to a man was considered a 
good day's work in threshing. 

There were a great many more birds than at the present time. 
The ground sparrows were numerous; their nests were found in 
large numbers in the grass. The black and yellow bobolinks, 
whose arrival announced that it was time to plant jcorn, are now 
rarely seen. The kingbird, disliked by beekeepers, are not now 
in evidence. The woodwall and bluejay have disappeared. 
The night-hawk, which made its nest upon rocks in the plowed 
land, has not been seen for years. The wild pigeon, often seen 
at that time, is now said to have become extinct. Peeps and 
yellow legs were common on the salt marsh. All these birds 
mentioned and many others were^at that time very plentiful. 
Old people said, that in their young days, there were a great 
many more birds than there were at that time. Bird life has 
been ruthlessly destroyed by hunters and boys, and, as a result, 
insects have multiplied and are very destructive to the farmer's 
crops and all other vegetation. 

The Rockingham Academy was in active operation during 
the entire decade. Rev. Zebulon Jones became principal in 
1843 and continued until 1857. Before this Messrs. Biggs and 
Stearns had been principals, each of whom had preached as 
supplies s^ the Baptist Church. There were four terms of 
eleven weeks each; tuition, $3.50 for common and $4 for the 
higher English branches and the languages. Board for the 
out-of-town students could be obtained in families for $1.50 per 
week. The average attendance was from forty to. fifty. There 
were quite a number of students from Seabrook. When the 
Seabrook girls came up to evening entertainments, some of the 



272 HISTORY OP^ HAMPTON FALLS 

boy students often escorted them home. The return trip was 
not always as pleasant. Sometimes the irate natives save them 
heroic treatment for having invaded their territory. 

The academy building was situated in a cold and wind-swept 
location. The underpinning was not pointed and the wind had 
free course underneath, making it difficult to make the school- 
room comfortable in cold weather. The surroundings were not 
attractive, as the building was situated in the centre of a gravel 
pit where hundreds of boulders of all sizes were scattered over 
the surface. The doors at each end of the building were much 
exposed to wind and storm, and were unpleasant to approach 
except in pleasant weather. There was a small library kept in 
the acadenw, with some electrical and philosophical apparatus 
which was up to date at that time'. The academy was of great 
value to the young people of the town, as they could go farther 
than the common school at small expense. Mr. Jones could 
mpart instrwction in a pleasant and impressive manner with 
good effect. The out-of-town attendance was always quite 
large. 

There were old men clothed in rags and tatters, who wandered 
about and were called stragglers. They called at people's 
houses and demanded food. They were men of great appetite, 
eating many times a day and were very fond of cider for which 
they usually asked. They were dirty and repulsive in appear- 
ance and much feared and dreaded by the women folks, as they 
were often impudent when the men folks were not around. The 
time when the men folks had to ])e away all day on the marsh 
was much dreaded, the women being left alone. The doors were 
kept fastened to prevent the straggler's entrance, if any came 
around. These men were usually harmless, being mildly insane, 
or demented. It was the custom of some towns to turn their 
paupers loose in the summer months to shift for themselves and 
thus save expense. The nuisance of old stragglers was long 
since abated as such people are now confined in the» charitable 
institutions, and are now no longer a menace to the community. 
There were some women of this class: Hannah Chesley from 
somewhere up country, and Lucy Perose, colored, were annual 
visitors to this town. The Perose woman was found dead in the 
road in Kensington and was buried at the expense of the town. 

In retail transactions of small amount the English currency 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 273 

was generally used and spoken of, instead of the federal cur- 
rency of dollars and cents. Fourpence-half penny was 6| cents; 
ninepence was 12^ cents. Some people saved four of the former 
and two of the latter and passed them for a quarter of a dollar, 
which was considered quite a stroke of finance. A shilling was 
16| cents; two shillings, 33| cents; two and threepence, 37| 
cents; two and sixpence, 42 cents; three and ninepence, 62^ 
cents; five shillings, 83^ cents; seven and sixpeftce, $1.25; nine 
shillings, $1.50; ten and sixpence, $1.75; fifteen shillings, 
$2.50. After the Civil War the use of the English currency 
ceased and dollars and cents became the medium in trade. 

Dr. Edward Dearborn and Dr. Terrell Brown, both of Seabrook, 
did most of the work in their line in this town, and were called 
very good physicians. Dr. Dearborn practiced medicine for 
more than fifty years. He died in 1851. By his will the Dear- 
born Academy was endowed.' He left $4,000 to the Line Church. 
Dr. Brown committed suicide in 1849. At that time there were 
few dentists and the country doctors usually extracted teeth. 
For this purpose they used an instrument resembling a cant-hook 
which produced anything but a pleasant sensation on those who 
had to have teeth extracted. 

The duties of the housewife were laborious. She was expected 
to do many things not required of women at the present time. 
Many did spinning and weaving. Not a great many cows were 
kept, at that time, as the milk business came later. In many 
cases the women did the milking, and then made the butter and 
cheese. The labor-saving devices, in general use in nearly every 
domestic department at the present time, were then unknown. 
The water supply was generally from the well, often at some 
distance from the house to which the water was carried in pails, 
with much exposure to wind and storm. It was raised from the 
well by pump, windlass, or the well sweep. Those who had 
water at the sink were very few. The premises where water 
could be had without going out of doors were rare. The women 
often had the entire care of the hogs and poultry, and from the 
proceeds of the latter often supplied the groceries used in the 
family, which were received in exchange at the store. She made 
the soft soap, dipped the candles, made cider apple sauce, and 
dried apples. Much of the cooking was done by the open fire, 
or in the brick oven. Cook stoves had not been developed enough 

19 



274 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

to come into ^(Micral use. Often there was a lack of dry wood 
■with which to kindle and keep a fire w'ith ease. The family 
sewing and many other duties kept our mothers busy and little 
time was afforded for recreation and pleasure. In one important 
respect they had an advantage over the housewives of the present 
time: efficient and experienced in-door help could he obtained at 
a low price. This did nmch to render the housework much 
easier than it is today. 

The brick oven was foinid in nearly every farm house and occu- 
pied an important place in the domestic economy. Beans, brown 
bread, pies and other things baked in the brick oven were, and are 
still supposed to be by those who can recollect, better than cooked 
in the modern range. The drop cakes baked on the oven bot- 
tom were thought to be good enough to set before a king. To heat 
the oven dry wood and enough of it was reriuired. A\'hen the 
black was burned ofi the bricks and the top of the oven looked 
bright and clean, the fire could be removed and the oven was then 
ready to receive the things to be cooked, and a number of dif- 
ferent things could ])e cooked at the same time. In some fami- 
lies the brick oven was heated every day; when this was done it 
implied prosperity and forehandedness which commanded 
respect. The oven was sometimes used to smoke hams and 
bacon in. This was a practice said to injure and soften the 
mortar and thus to damage the oven; it was a practice not to be 
encouraged. At the present time there are but few brick ovens 
remaining and those are in the older houses; they have gone out 
of use and there are few now living who could successfully ma- 
nipulate a brick oven. The tin baker was used to cook biscuit, 
gingerbread and other things before the open fire. It was made 
of tin, open in front to the fire, and constructed in such form 
that the bright surface of the tin reflected the heat with great 
power upon the things in the baking pan to be cooked. In 
those days the baker was in general use, and only yielded when 
cook stoves and ranges became perfected. The tin kitchen, 
made of tin and constructed on the same principal as the baker, 
was used to roast meat and poultry which was done to perfec- 
tion. The baker and tin kitchen ceased to be used a long time 
ago. Those who ever saw either in use are now very few. 
Indian bannock was made of meal mixed with water and spread 
upon a sheet of tin and baked before the fire; this, made into 



CONDITIONS IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 275 

toast and with melted butter, was much prized and would be as 
popular today if it could be reproduced of the same quality. 
Let no one suppose that the people of that day did not know 
what good living was, although afforded at much less cost than 
at present. 

It was the custom of many families to gather herbs in the sum- 
mer time, such as catnip, pennyroyal, thoroughwort, elder blows, 
sarsaparilla and some others, tying them into bundles and hang- 
ing them to the roof timbers in the garret to dry. An old-fash- 
ioned attic had a pleasant aromatic odor which lasted long 
after the herbs had been removed. A tea made from these herbs 
was used in case of sickness in the family. For juvenile com- 
plaints they often proved very efficacious. In the hands of some 
old women, medicines were concocted and used with good results, 
and were found fully as good remedies as the drugs used later, with 
no fear of the dangerous effects which were sometimes produced 
by later medicines. They were inexpensive and safe. This is 
another practice which has gone out of use in the later years. 

At that time the housefly was supposed to have been created 
for a wise purpose and really a blessing as they were useful in 
disposing of dead animals and other foul matter which, by its 
decay, polluted the atmosphere and generated disease. When 
there was no means of disposing of sewage and refuse about the 
buildings, flies were generated in great numbers and were very 
troublesome in and about the house, their presence being in every 
respect disagreeable. Doors and windows were not at that 
time screened, nor was there anything to prevent their free 
entrance into the house. Various methods were used to destroy 
them. One was to hang up two shingles fastened together at 
the butts which caused them to open, the insides being smeared 
with molasses which attracted the flies; by pressing the shingles 
together great numbers were destroyed. Now the fly is regarded 
in an altogether different light. Their presence is regarded as 
dangerous; they are active in carrying the germs of disease and 
every effort should be made to destroy them. Houses are care- 
fully screened to prevent their entrance. The housewife is 
nervous if she knows that a single fly has gained an entrance. 
Their breeding places are eliminated and destroyed, and this has 
done much to reduce their numbers, and removes a fruitful 
source of disease. 



276 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Many cattle were driven up country to be pastured every 
spring. It was thought to be a desirable asset to have a pasture 
in some back town where cattle could be taken for the season, 
from May 20 to October 20. Maj. Jonathan Nason took a drove 
of nearly one hundred head each year to CJilmanton, to the Wilson 
farm which is the farm now owned by Mr. Wilson's grandson 
and used as an experimental farm by Prof. Jeremiah W. San- 
born. It was a long and hard drive for cattle which had been 
fed din-ing the winter on salt and meadow hay, and often spring 
poor, some of them would fall by the way and have to be con- 
veyed. The journey to and from often did much to neutralize 
the gain made during the summer. For many years later the 
business of driving was continued by Gen. Charles A. Nason 
and Charles Hard}'. It is only a few years since the business was 
discontinued. Cattle were pastured in Nottingham and Pitts- 
field, and, in one instance, were driven to Wilmot, a two days' 
drive each way. At the present time cattle find pasture nearer 
home. It would be a serious loss in time to take cattle up 
country and back every year. 

Taxes were low but there was fully as much fault finding and 
growling as at the present time when taxes have l^een increased 
many times over. It is true we get much more for our tax money, 
but the benefits have not increased in the same ratio as has the 
increased amount of taxation. 

Mark Roberts of Stratham drove a tin peddler's cart over the 
town during the entire decade, and was the only one doing that 
kind of business. He sold tin ware and other things usually 
carried by that class of peddlers. He took rags in exchange for 
his goods. When in this town he made his headquarters at 
Captain Towle's. A man named Stevens drove a baker's cart 
from Newbrn-yport to Exeter, over the main road, and had a 
good patronage. 



SHORT NOTES OF THE PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN THE 
TOWN BETWEEN 1840 AND 1850. 

Joshua Pike, who Hved near the Exeter line, was a joiner, as 
carpenters were called in those days. He framed and put to- 
gether Colonel Lane's windmill, a tall, eight-sided building which 
required a great deal of skill. He was a good workman. He 
went to Portsmouth in 1814 with the military company which was 
ordered there for defence when it was thought that the British 
might attempt to land. 

Joseph Melcher and his son, Samuel, occupied the Melcher 
farm. Joseph Melcher was the fourth generation to occupy the 
farm after the family took it up from the wilderness. He was 
called Judge Melcher from his knowledge of cattle. They did 
some business in handling and dealing in cattle. The droves 
from the north often remained here over night. Judge Melcher, 
with Fred Brown, followed fishing in the Taylor River through 
life, Joseph Melcher was selectman in 1817; Samuel, in 1842. 

Nathan Moulton was a farmer. He built a vessel at Exeter in 
1816, and took cargoes of potatoes to Philadelphia and hops to 
Canada. He bought poultry and took it to market in Massa- 
chusetts; from this cause he was often spoken of as "Turkey 
Moulton." He had been a captain in that branch of the militia 
called the '' troop. " He was a selectman in 1828. Governor Bell, 
in his history of Exeter, says a great many vessels were built at 
Exeter from or a little before the War of the Revolution until 
1812. They were small vessels adapted to the coast wise trade 
and were from fifty to one hundred tons burden. The last one 
built there was a schooner of from one to two hundred tons and 
was built through the enterprise of Nathan Moulton of Hampton 
Falls. 

Fred, Levi and Sewell Brown were grandchildren of Abraham 
Brown and Judith Runnels. Judith was an Indian woman. 
These men all had a strong resemblance to the aborigines. Noah 
Brown, son of Judith, was vicious, having the bad qualities of 
both races; he was supported by the town during his last days. 
Levi Brown was father of Alice Brown, the authoress. Sewell 



278 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

BroAvn was a cobbler and shoemaker; he Avent to Portsmouth in 
1814. 

Joliii Brown and John Brown, Jr. John died in 1845, aged 
ninety-five years. John, Jr., was a farmer and shoemaker. He 
had a large family, ten children ; his four sons lived in Exeter and 
were influential citizens. They were carpenters and l)uilders. 
John, Jr., was selectman in 1823. 

Thomas and Joseph Moulton. Thomas died soon after 1840 
at an advanced ago. Joseph was one of the principal supporters 
of the Baptist church in Exeter where he went to meeting. He 
had a valuable lot to pine timber. Many of the masts and bow- 
sprits used by the shipbuilders in Newburyport were taken from 
this lot. Some of the masts were a hundred feet long. Joseph 
Moulton appears never to have held office of any kind. 

Nathaniel Dcarl)orn, a native of Raymond, lived in the neigh- 
borhood; he was a farmer and married a daughter of John Brown, 
Jr. 

Nehemiah Porter Cram, farmer, was at one time county treas- 
urer and was prominent in the management of the Rockingham 
Farmers' Mutual Insurance Company. He was representative 
in 1837. 

Rufus C. San])orn was a good farmer; he had fine cattle and 
succeeded in raising good crops. He usually succeeded in what 
he undertook in the line of farming, but perhaps not always at a 
profit. He had quite a reputation as a hunter; was selectman 
in 1844. 

Peter and Dean R. Tilton, farmers. Peter died soon after 1840. 
He was selectman in 1839. Peter G., son of Peter, was a shoe- 
maker, and was an expert with a gun. 

Caleb Knight and his sons, Stephen and Levi, were farmers. 
Caleb was clerk of the company which went to Portsmouth in 
1814. He died early in the decade. 

At that time the four farmers, Cram, Sanborn, Tilton and 
Knight, made butter which was taken to Newburyport every 
' week, each going to market in turn. This butter must have been 
considered good as it was sold to Mr. Blumpey who catered to the 
best trade in the citj'. At that time there were about seventy 
persons living in the over-river district, with about twenty of 
them school children. The number of houses was about the same 
as at the present time. 



PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN TOWN FROM 1 84O TO 185O 279 

Joseph Cram was a carpenter, farmer and shoemaker. He 
made most of the ox yokes used in the town at that time, which 
was a great many. He was a strong advocate of a world peace 
and a firm behever in spirituahsm. He was selectman in 1837. 
Mr. Cram was a man of kind feeling and ever ready to lend a 
helping hand. He was father of Rev. William Cram. 

Capt. Eben Tilton, an old man past labor, lived with his two 
daughters near by. 

Weare D, Tilton, a good and industrious farmer, raised good 
crops. He often helped his neighbors kill animals which were 
butchered on the farm and rendered assistance in other ways 
when needed. He was selectman in 1840. 

Sally Healey and Polly Dow, maiden ladies. Miss Dow was 
a daughter of Maj. Joseph Dow and a granddaughter of Meshech 
Weare. 

Dea. Stephen and Silas Green were diligent and industrious 
farmers who seemed to enjoy work, as they took little recreation. 
Deacon Green was a tailor by trade and did some work at that 
time. 

Maj. Jeremiah Godfrey was one of the best farmers in the town. 
He kept Devon cattle in which he took great pride. He raised 
good crops, including some vegetables and was the first to use 
Peruvian Guano, and introduced the use of superphosphate. He 
bought poultry at Thanksgiving and Christmas, which he took to 
Salem, Mass. He was selectman in 1830, and representative in 
1848. He went with the company to Portsmouth in 1814. 

Nancy Sanborn, maiden lady, occupied a house and lived alone. 
She was daughter of John Sanborn who died many years before. 

Zephaniah and Samuel Brown were well to do farmers who took 
life easier than many others in the town. From the present stand- 
point they were wise in avoiding some of the heavy work, such as 
some of our farmers were doing at that time. 

Josiah Brown was a farmer who kept things neat and trim. 
He kept a good team, and he and Mrs. Brown drove about a great 
deal. They were well dressed and, with the handsome lap robe 
knit by Mrs. Brown, they made a stylish appearance. He was 
representative in 1833, and went to Portsmouth in 1814, 

There were between forty and fifty persons living in this neigh- 
borhood. Six houses have been removed and never rebuilt. 
There were ten children who attended school. 



280 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Mrs. Sarah Perkins and daughter, Nancy. Mrs. Perkins had 
two sons, Joseph and Lewis, who hved in Exeter, and a son, 
Enoch, who Hved in Boston. Nancy was hbrarian of the Ladies' 
Library for many years. 

Jeremiah Brown, commonly known as "Neighbor Brown," 
Hved in the Burnham house and had a large family. He was a 
native of Londonderry and came here many years before to work 
in the stable of the Eastern Stage Company; he removed from 
town in 1848. 

Benjamin and Aaron Sanborn. Benjamin died in 1846, aged 
eighty-five. Aaron was a successful fruit raiser. He raised and 
kept fine cattle; was an expert in training steers; had raised the 
largest pair of cattle ever seen in the town. He had considerable 
mechanical ingenuity and seldom called in anyone to assist in re- 
pairs. He made his children's shoes which had the merit of being 
shaped somewhat Hke the foot, being wider at the toe. He went 
to Portsmouth in 1814. 

Rev. Jacob Caldwell, with his sister and son, occupied the par- 
sonage. They removed from the town in 1848. 

Wells W. Healey built a house on the site of the meeting house 
which was torn down in 1842. 

Captain Healey was the largest and most progressive farmer 
in the town, and kept well up with the times. He introduced 
new implements as soon as they were perfected enough to be of 
practical use. By good management he accumulated a large 
property. He was selectman in 1822, and was captain in the 
militia. 

Thomas Brown was a farmer and fruit raiser. He made a 
great deal of cider vinegar; he was never known to be in a hurry, 
but wanted to know the "why and because" of things as he went 
along; was selectman in 1832. 

At this time there were about forty people living in this neigh- 
borhood, with ten school children. 

Luke Averill lived in a house on parsonage hill, near Grapevine 
run. He moved to Brentwood soon after 1840. 

Dearborn Lane, a tailor by trade, lived on a small farm, but 
had ceased to do much at his trade. He went to Portsmouth 
with the company in 1814. 

Mrs. Cram and son, Benjamin F., a farmer, lived near the 
Christian chapel. He later moved to Kingston. Mrs. Cram 



PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 281 

was a cousin of Grace Fletcher, first wife of Hon. Daniel Webster. 
Mr. Webster used to call here when in this part of the state. 

Nathan Pike, with his sons, James and Edward, who were shoe- 
makers. Nathan was often called to treat sick animals. When 
he was a tithingman at the httle meeting house the boys stood 
much in awe of him as he gave them heroic treatment when he got 
hold of them. Richard Marsh married Mr. Pike's daughter; he 
was a blacksmith and worked in the shop near Kenny brook. He 
moved to Amesbury in 1846. He was succeeded by his brother, 
Alfred, until 1855, when he went to Minnesota. He was a giant, 
weighing more than four hundred pounds. 

Capt. Caleb Towle was a shoemaker; this gave him constant 
employment. Two of his sons, Oliver and Elbridge, were con- 
ductors, for many years, on the Eastern and Boston and Maine 
railroad. 

Jacob and John B. Brown were farmers and money lenders. 
John B. was guardian of Benjamin Cram and had command of an 
estate of many thousands, which was let on note and mortgage. 
Money was often let on short time to farmers in this and adjoining 
towns to buy cattle and other needed things. This was a great 
accommodation to the community. John B. had been a captain 
in the militia. 

Moses Batchelder lived on the ancestral Batchelder farm, the 
best farm in the town. He had a sawmill and made the small 
amount of water running in Grapevine run do a great deal of work. 
He firmly believed that the orthodox plan of salvation was the only 
one which would safely land one on the other shore. He was rep- 
resentative in 1834. His son, Samuel, handled a great deal of 
heavy timber for the shipbuilders in Newburyport. He was a 
red-hot abolitionist. Another son, Aaron, died in 1848, from in- 
juries received in the sawmill. 

William and Nathan Brown, by industry and good manage- 
ment, accumulated a good estate. William, as a lay preacher, 
had great influence in religious matters. They often had wealthy 
people from Cuba, who boarded with them in summer. William 
was representative in 1820, Nathan went to Portsmouth in 
1814. 

Sarah Marston, a single woman, occupied a small house which 
she had built from the accumulation of her earnings. She was a 
native of North Hampton. 



282 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Emery Batchelder, a fanner, was a man liked liy everyone. 
He had been an officer in the mihtia. He was selectman in 1S42. 

Reu])en and John Batchelder, farmers, were firm in the suj^port 
of the Line C.'hurch. Reuben was selectman in 1812; John was 
selectman in 1846. 

The Weare farm was owned and occupied by John Porter and 
Zel)ulun Dow, a native of Seabrook. Mr. Porter married 
Hannah, a daughter of Meshech Weare. She died in 1849, aged 
ninety-four years. John Porter went to Portsmouth in 1814. 
Mr. Dow was a farmer who took his recreation in doing a great 
deal of hard work. 

All the persons we have mentioned lived on the roads between 
the Weare farm and Exeter line. 

Chase Akerman l)uilt his house and buildings a little east of 
the Baptist meeting house, late in the decade, where he and his 
brother, Charles, prospered as shoemakers. Charles E. later 
studied medicine and became successful as a practitioner. 

Robert Marshall lived in the last house on the turnpike toward 
Hampton. He was a Revolutionary soldier from this town. 
Gideon Marshall, brother of Robert, was also a soldier in the 
Revolution. His widow, Mrs. Abigail ^Marshall, died in 1849, 
aged one hundred years. Her maiden name was Randall. She 
was a native of Rye. John Marshall, son of Robert, was a farmer 
and was selectman in 1829. 

Lieut. Joseph Akerman lived in the only other house on " Mur- 
ray's Row." He was selectman in 1817. He went to Ports- 
mouth in 1814. In 1850 William A. Hopkins and John L. Perkins 
each built a house on the row. 

Rev. Otis Wing, pastor of the Baptist church, and Woodbury 
and John Masters, sons of Mrs. Wing l)y a former marriage. 
Woodbury went round the Horn to California in 1849. Later 
he and his mother moved to Chester. John Masters graduated 
from Harvard College and later became a L'nitarian clerg>'man. 

Thayer Sanborn, a farmer, was a strong suj)i)orter of the Line 
Church. He was an influential citizen. He shipped farm prod- 
uce to the Boston market. Selectman in 1826; representative 
in 1842. 

Mrs. Hannah Wells was owner of the former Wells Tavern 
houses and stables. She could manage successfully without out- 
side help. 



PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN TOWN FROM 1 84O TO 185O 283 

The house near the bridge, over Falls River, was usually occu- 
pied by tenants. Capt. Nathaniel Perkins lived here early in the 
decade; he was selectman in 1808. Later a family by the name 
of Fairbanks, who were shoemakers, lived here. 

Charles Chase and son, Charles, were blacksmiths. Charles, 
Jr., was said to have been an ingenious worker in iron and steel. 
He removed early in the decade to Lawrence, Mass. 

Lawyer Brown, farmer, was interested in the fishing business 
at Labrador and elsewhere. His son, Moses, went to California 
in 1849. 

Stacy Nucld, a native of Hampton, was selectman in 1843. He 
built the Ocean House at Hampton beach, which he managed until 
the time of his death. 

Isaiah Page was a Quaker and farmer. He was greatly in- 
censed when the Line meeting house was built. It deprived him 
of sunshine on winter afternoons. 

Rev. Sereno T. Abbott built a house on Threshers Lane in 1848, 
where he continued to live until his death in 1855. 

James Bremner, a Scotchman, who had been engaged in the 
construction of the Eastern railroad, owned and occupied the 
Worth farm. He made extensive alterations and improvements. 
Later he moved to Iowa. 

Charles Gove was a carpenter and did a great deal of work in 
this town. He was selectman in 1849. 

Benjamin Brown, commonly called "Barber Brown," occupied 
the brick house. He^died soon after 1840. His sons were Lowell 
and Cyrus. Lowell was a recluse, a shoemaker, and did some 
work on watches. He was postmaster for a number of years. 
Cyrus kept a store and was at one time engaged in making bricks. 

Samuel Brown, a relative of the above, came from Seabrook 
and lived in a small building on the premises. He was an old 
man and a laborer. He was nicknamed and generally called " Old 
Balsam." He suffered a great deal of annoyance from roguish 
boys. 

Stephen Dodge and his two sons, James and Stephen, lived on 
the corner. The father died soon after 1840. James was a 
farmer; Stephen was a soldier in the Mexican War. 

Aaron Gove was a blacksmith and had a shop on what is now 
the Godfrey lawn. He did not do a great deal of work at this 
time. He was selectman in 1828, and went to Portsmouth 1814. 



284 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Caleb TiLton had charge of the horses of the stage company as 
long as stages were run. There was a line of sheds for storage, 
extending nearly all the way from his house to Aaron Gove's shop. 
He was the last to keep a tavern in the town. There was a sign 
post with a sign which swung to and fro in the wind, with a 
creaking sound, standing before his house after 1840. 

Warren Dockham built a house but did not live long in the 
town. He moved to North Berwick, Me. 

Hon. George H. Dodge was a man who believed that good 
calculation would accomplish as much as hard work. He put 
this idea into practice and w^as reasonaljly successful in his under- 
takings. He operated a cotton batting mill, and was interested 
in railroads; was active in the management of the Baptist church 
and Rockingham Academy. He was representative in 1839; 
state senator, 1846. 

Simon Winslow came here from Newmarket. He was a good 
citizen and was representative in 1850. 

Rev. James W. Poland built the house where Mrs. IMerrill now 
lives. He preached as a supply at the Baptist church. He was 
a correspondent to the agricultural paper. He moved to Goffs- 
town early in the decade. 

Richard Dodge owned and operated the saw and gristmills at 
the Falls, and was engaged in trading and fishing at Labrador. 
He was selectman in 1826. He went to Portsmouth in 1814. 

Capt. John W. Dodge, son of the above, a graduate of Brown 
University, was engaged in trading and fishing at Labrador. He 
often carried passengers. He was selectman in 1848; representa- 
tive in 1846. 

The heater between the two roads was occupied by David and 
Joshua Janvrin, brothers, who w^ere farmers. David was select- 
man in 1840; he went to Portsmouth in 1814. Joshua was select- 
man in 1844; he went to Portsmouth in 1814. His barn was 
burned in 1845. 

Charles Johnson came from Durham and lived in the mill house. 
He operated a clothing or fulling mill connected with the Dodge 
mills. 

Samuel Fogg and Richard Fogg were brothers ; the former was 
a carpenter, the latter a shoemaker. Both were good and in- 
genious workmen. 

John G. Chase came from LjTin, ^Slass. He was a shoemaker 



PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN TOWN FROM I84O TO 185O 285 

and a noted pugilist. He got busy with the latter when occasion 
offered. 

The last of the Fifield family moved away during the decade 
and the farm was sold to Samuel Batchelder. It had been owned 
and occupied by the Fifield family since the early settlement of 
the town. 

Andrew J. Chase, shoemaker, went to California in 1849. 

John Smith and Edward Bennett lived near where the Falls 
River crosses the South road. Both disappeared soon after 1840. 
The bridge is called Bennett's bridge. Bennett went to Ports- 
mouth in 1814. 

Green Hoag and his sister, Ellis, lived in a small house at the 
foot of the hill. The boys annoyed them by rolling stones off the 
hill, which would come into contact with the house. Green Hoag 
went to Portsmouth in 1814. 

Bradbury, Charles, Green and Reuben Hardy were brothers 
and each had a little farm on which he lived. They were in- 
dustrious citizens. Green Hardy went to Portsmouth in 1814. 

Josiah Smith, a native of Seabrook, had a small farm. His 
house was well protected from the northwest wind. 

Charles F. Chase was a farmer. He was the first depot master 
and was appointed in 1849, continuing until 1875. 

John Chase had a good farm. He paid |100 for a horse, which 
was thought at that time a very high price, and it excited some 
comment. He was selectman in 1844. 

Joseph and Samuel Pervear, brothers, occupied small farms. 
Joseph had a little bull which he worked in harness and which, he 
said, could haul a ton of light stuff anywhere. 

Maj. Jonathan Nason was selectman in 1823. He went to 
Portsmouth in 1814. He died, as did his son, George, soon after 
1840. Charles A., son of Jonathan, was much interested in mili- 
tary matters and was at one time next in military rank to the 
governor. He and his brother, George, were musicians. Charles 
was selectman in 1850. 

Richard Morrill and son, Jonathan, were farmers. Jonathan 
invented a machine for ditching the salt marsh, which was later 
improved and perfected and was used extensively in Massachu- 
setts and New Jersey. They later moved back to Salisbury, 
their native place. 

Levi Jenness had located on the north side of Great Hill. He 



286 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

was a native of Rye. Mrs. Jenness often boarded and took care 
of the town' poor. 

John Gove Hved near Mr. Jenness. He was a shoemaker and 
horse trader, and had some reputation as a horse doctor. 

Ezekiel Gove, laborer, was reported to have done wonderful 
stunts and to have seen remarkable sights. He had cut nine 
cords of wood one day in June and would have cut ten but for a 
severe snowstorm in the afternoon. He had seen a log pump 
taken out of a well and the stone work damaged by a wind. 

Daniel Pervear, fish peddlar and stone workman, moved to 
Vineland, N. J., late in life. 

John Weare, owner of the mills of that name, was an expert in 
making good Indian meal. This is the only sawmill in the vicin- 
ity which still retains the up and down saw. He was representa- 
tive in 1837. 

A famih^ named Gove lived near John Weare's. 

Aaron Merrill, a careful and economical farmer, was selectman 
in 1824. In a house near lived his two sisters, Sally and Betty 
Merrill, maiden ladies. Moses Wells, a currier by trade, married 
a sister of Mr. Merrill, and lived near. 

Nathan and Henry Robie. Nathan died soon after 1840. Two 
unmarried sisters, who were very old, died about the same time. 
Henry was a farmer and went to Portsmouth in 1814. 

William Towle occupied the Brown farm, but moved to South 
Hampton. Soon after he was an officer in the militia. 

Levi Lane had been active in town matters. He was select- 
man in 1818; representative in 1826. For many years he had 
administered the oath of ofhce to the town officei's when elected, 
and the town presented him a cane in recognition of his service for 
so doing. He was the most active member of the Unitarian 
church, doing all in his power to forward its interests. Col. 
Jeremiah Lane, son of Levi, seemed to have a mania for handling 
rocks and building heavy stone walls. He built a windmill for 
grinding corn. He later moved to Candia. He was selectman 
in 1828. 

Levi Sanborn was a farmer, cattle dealer and feeder. He was 
a man of positive convictions and when he made a statement it 
was in language not to be misunderstood. He went to Ports- 
mouth in 1814. 

Squire Leavitt was one of the pioneers of the Democratic party 



PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN TOWN FROM 184O TO 185O 287 

and was influential in its early management. He was a great 
reader. In 1825 he was representative. 

Aaron Prescott, a man who hustled, built a sawmill near his 
house. He was, at one time, colonel of the Third Regiment, and 
was selectman in 1849. He would probably have lived longer 
had he been less energetic. 

James and True Prescott were farmers. James went to Ports- 
mouth in 1814. True was selectman in 1830. 

Timothy Drew had lately moved into the town from Hampton. 

Simeon and Smith Prescott were farmers. Simeon died in 
1845. Smith was selectman in 1845. 

Abner and Prescott Sanborn were good farmers. Abner was 
selectman in 1822; Prescott, in 1846. Their two farms suffered 
a great deal of inconvenience from drifted snows in winter and 
muddy roads in spring. 

The Blake farm was managed at first by Meshech Akerman 
and, later, by Enoch Blake. A road past this farm was opened 
in 1847. 

We have now given some account of the people who lived in 
nearly every house in the town. If some of the houses seem to 
the reader to have been omitted, remember that many houses 
now occupied were not in existence at that time. 



APPLECREST FARM. 

In 1913 Mr. Walter B. Farmer of Brooklinc, Mass., purchased 
the farm occupied by the late Newell W. Healey with the inten- 
tion of converting it into an orchard farm on an extensive scale, 
giving it the name of " Applecrest. " This farm Avas well adapted 
for the purpose, having a suitable elevation and a good soil for 
what he proposed to do. 

In 1915 the farm of George C. Healey was acquired, containing 
eighty acres. This, with the former purchase, comprised nearly 
all the land owned and cultivated by the late Capt. Wells Healey 
who was the most successful farmer of his time in this vicinity. 
Captain Healey died in 1857. After his death the farm was 
divided between his two sons, Wells W. and Newell W. Healey, 
who conducted their farms more intelligently than the average 
farmers of the town. On this account there was less to be done 
by way of preparation than would have been necessary on the 
average farm. 

In 1915 twenty-one acres, a portion of the farm of the late 
Thomas Brown, was bought, together with a farm of thirty-nine 
acres owned by his son, Charles T. Brown. A new house has 
been built on the site of the Brown house burned in 1885. The 
same year the McAllister place of eleven acres was acquired. In 
1917 four and one half acres, owned by Samuel Cockburn, were 
added. These several purchases gave Applecrest Farm control 
of the land on both sides of the main road for a mile, going east 
from the Sanborn corner toward Hampton Falls village. 

The house and six acres of land, bought of George C. Healey, 
has been sold to George W. Crampton, for a summer residence. 

The former owners of these farms, like others of their genera- 
tion, believed it to be their religious duty to l)uild all the stone 
walls possible and many small lots were enclosed by walls built 
to get rid of the rocks removed from the fields. One and one 
fourth miles of these division walls have been removed, which 
adds much to the beauty of the landscape. The walls along the 
highway have been relaid in a neat and workmanlike manner. 
Many forest and old apple trees, with Ixjulders which disfigured 



APPLECREST FARM 289 

the fields, have been removed. To accomplish this eighteen tons 
of dynamite have been used. These several removals have given 
the premises a most pleasing appearance which is appreciated by 
the traveller who passes on the highway. Some of the land was 
too wet to be used for the purpose intended, without drainage. 
Sixty acres have been systematically and thoroughly under- 
drained with tiles, with the addition of three miles of stone drains. 

All the houses purchased have been put in first-class condition 
by way of repairs and modern improvements — steam heat, water 
supply and electric lights. 

In 1913, 1,913 apple trees were set out in the autumn of that 
year. The trees were selected with care. The holes were dyna- 
mited to loosen the soil and give the roots a better chance to pene- 
trate the soil. Great care was given to every detail in setting 
the trees. The surface between the trees has been kept fine and 
mellow by repeated harrowing ; the harrow was drawn by a large 
tractor. No manure has been applied but green crops have been 
covered in to supply humus. Under this treatment the trees 
have made a most prodigious growth, far exceeding the general 
expectations. 

It was claimed, when the trees were set, that they would fruit 
in five years ; this idea was scouted by many as a thing impossible, 
yet in 1916 some of the trees had a very full bloom and a few 
apples were allowed to mature. Since the first setting the num- 
ber of trees have increased to the number of 15,450 with 3,000 
trees to be set in the spring of 1917. Fall setting has been the 
rule. The season of 1916 closed too soon to finish the setting. 
The varieties planted are Baldwin, Mcintosh Red, Wealthy, 
Northern Spy, Spitzenburg and Winter Banana. 

In addition to orcharding, Applecrest Farm has one of the 
largest poultry plants in New England. Two large houses, one 
375 feet in length and another 250 feet, which are supplied with 
water, steam heat and electric lights and power. These houses 
have a storage capacity which will hold four or five car loads of 
grain, with a mill to grind the grain as needed. In addition to 
these houses are 100 or so colony houses situated on different parts 
of the farm. At this time, 1917, there are 3,400 laying hens; an in- 
cubator capacity for 6,000 eggs, and a brooder for 5,000 chicks; 
12,000 chicks are expected to be raised this year. Caponizing has 
been done to a considerable extent, with success. There is a good 

20 



290 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

demand for capons at a high price. Eggs are sent to market 
daily by express, and parcel post. 

Most of the land comprising Applecrest Farm was taken up 
from the wilderness by James Prescott who was the ancestor of 
all of that name in this part of the state. He lived in a garrison 
house called Prescott's fort. On the record, James Prescott 
moved to Kingston in 1725 and helped to organize the church in 
that town. The Prescotts continued to occupj^ the farm until a 
little before the Kevolutionary War when the north side of the 
road was sold to Aaron Wells who came from Ipswich and kept a 
public house for a time. He died in 1819, leaving his farm to his 
grandson, Wells Healey. The land on the south side of the road 
was occupied by the Prescotts until about 1820 when it was sold 
to Thomas Brown. 



LAFAYETTE ROAD. 

Soon after 1820 a new road was opened from the high bridge 
over the Boston and Maine railroad, below Hampton toward 
Portsmouth. In August, 1824, General Lafayette, at that time 
on a visit to this country, passed over this road and it was called 
the Lafayette road, and the name for many years was confined to 
this piece of road. After the electric railway was opened, the 
name began to be applied to the road as far as the state line at 
Salisbury, and later the road through Salisbury has been 
designated by the same name which would seem to be a proper 
name for the entire length of road from Portsmouth to Newbury- 
port. In the early days that portion of the road in Hampton 
Falls was called the country road, and was the route taken by the 
Eastern Stage Company for their coaches from Portsmouth to 
Boston, and a large business passed over this road before the 
Eastern railroad was opened. 

About 1910 the Eastern New Hampshire Boulevard was laid 
over this road from the Massachusetts state line to Portsmouth. 
With the coming of the automobile this has come to be a favorite 
route from New York to the mountains; as a result an immense 
traffic passes over this road; as many as 1,000 cars have been 
counted passing a given point in a single day. This has caused a 
heavy outlay in construction and upkeep. Trucks carrying a 
number of tons cause great injury when the road is soft. As 
much as $10,000 has been expended on the mile and a half of road 
in this town. A part of this money is furnished by the state and 
the remainder by the town. As but a small proportion of our 
people ever do any business on this road they feel it is unjust to 
be heavily taxed to construct and keep in repair a road for out-of- 
state people and be compelled to do business over a poor road in 
their own neighborhood, and with a prospect of a heavy outlay 
annually for repairs. The Government this year (1917) promises 
to put in a mile of permanent road in this town if we appropriate 
$1,500 for the purpose. This appropriation was voted. 



ESQUIRE PHILBRICK'S THEORY. 

John Philbrick of Seabrook, who was born early in the nine- 
teenth century and lived to be more than ninety years of age, was 
a man who gave considerable attention to matters which required 
original research. Among other things that interested him was 
the origin and formation of the salt marsh, and it may be of 
interest to the reader to know his ideas. He claimed that, at a 
remote geological period, what is now known as salt marsh was a 
fresh bog, elevated above tidewater and abounding in vegetation 
and that there was no passage to the sea where the Hampton 
River now empties; that the drainage from the high land found 
its outlet at the Merrimack River, along the course where the canal 
was constructed in 1791. This condition, which had existed for 
ages, was changed by a change of level, prol)ably a subsidence of 
the land and a passage through the sea wall allowed the salt water 
to come in and that there was a gradual change which resulted in 
what we know today as the salt marsh. To support his theory 
he called attention to the great amount of vegetable matter found 
in the soil. The stumps of trees which appear to be in their origi- 
nal location, but could never have groAvn had the soil been salt. 
The late Edward Shaw of Hampton once told the writer that 
there was a tradition in his family, which was among the earliest 
settlers of Hampton, that all of what is now salt marsh above the 
turnpike was at that time an alder swamp. This is evidence which 
would seem to support Esquire Philbrick's conclusions, and that 
the change from fresh to salt was at a comparatively late period. 

Rufus C. Sanborn had a theory that all the fiat land between 
the Exeter road and the Bridehill road in Hampton, some hundreds 
of acres in area and known as timberswamp, was once covered with 
water to the depth of a number of feet, and he had traced the out- 
let through the cove to the Exeter River. This may have been 
the outlet to a certain extent, but there is evidence to show that 
there was an outlet on the east toward Hampton, in times when 
there was a freshet. A water course can be traced easily from the 
deep gullies by the side of the Old Mill road and the Meadow road 
on land owned by Warren Brown, coming from this pond. 



ESQUIRE PHILBRICK's THEORY 293 

It must have taken ages for the water to have worn out such 
large and deep gulKes. How the water could have forced a pas- 
sage through the high land above the sawmill, where the river 
now has its course, is a question not easily answered. Now all 
the drainage from the source of the Taylor River in Kensington 
and timber swamp finds its way to the sea by way of Taylor and 
Hampton rivers, together with the salt marsh drainage, and con- 
stitutes a continuous stream where the Taylor River ends and the 
Hampton River begins, we have never heard stated. The Taylor 
River takes its name from Anthony Taylor who was an early 
settler in Hampton. 

Probably the first tile draining ever done in the town was by 
John B. Brown, father of the writer, who in 1852 drained the 
house cellar with horseshoe tiles obtained in Albany, N. Y. 
These were open at the bottom and were laid upon bricks. A 
few years later Judge Henry F. French of Exeter visited England 
and familiarized himself with the subject of drainage. Upon his 
return he published a book, "French on Farm Drainage," and 
proceeded to tile drain his farm at Exeter. Through his influence 
Jos. D. Wadleigh began the manufacture of tiles at Exeter and 
did, for a number of years, quite an extensive business. By being 
able to furnish them at a reasonable price a good demand was 
created. The farmers in Hampton Falls soon availed themselves 
of the opportunity and a great deal of land was much improved by 
tile draining. Probably more tiles have been laid in this town 
than in any other of its size in the state. It was a fortunate cir- 
cumstance that, when our farmers were ready to begin operations, 
a number of men who had been engaged in laying tiles in the old 
country and understood the business came here and settled, 
which was of great assistance to our people. Among those who 
may be mentioned are Hans Hamilton, Dennis Riordan, James 
Truesdale, Hugh McAllister and John Howard. 



TOWN OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES SINCE 

1900. 

Warren Brown has acted as moderator, with the exception of 
one 5'ear, since 1896. 

Frank H. Lord has acted continuously as town clerk since 1896. 

Charles N. Dodge was town treasurer until 1907. Arthur W. 
Brown was treasurer ten years, until 1917, when William H. 
McDevitt was elected. 

Representatives. 

Charles P. Akerman, 1901-02 

James H. Brown, 1903-04 

David F. Batchelder, 1905-06 

Benjamin W. Elkins, 1907-08 

Fred P. Sanborn, 1909-10 

Bertram S. Janvrin, 1911-12 

Joseph H. Weare, 1913-14 

John F. Gynan, 1915-16 

Wilham H. Walton, 1917-18 

Selectmen. 

1900 George F. ]\Ierrill, James H. Brown , William H. Thompson. 

1901 James H. Brown, William H. Thompson, Albert W. Elkins. 

1902 James H. Brown, Albert W. Elkins, Arthur W. Brown. 

1903 Arthur W. Brown, Albert W. Elkins, Jos. B. Cram. 
•1904 Arthur W. Brown, Jos. B. Cram, Arthur W. Chase. 

1905 Arthur W. Brown, Jos. B. Cram, Arthur W. Chase. 

1906 Jos. B. Cram, Arthur W. Chase, Levi N. Sanborn. 

1907 Levi N. Sanborn, Bertram T. Janvrin, J. Elmer Sanborn. 

1908 Levi N. Sanborn, John Elmer Sanborn, Charles P. Aker- 

man. 

1909 John Elmer Sanborn, Harry P. Brown, Elroy G. Shaw. 

1910 Elroy G. Shaw, William H. Thompson, J. Herbert Page. 

1911 William H. Thompson, J. Herbert Page, B. T. Janvrin. 

1912 William H. Thompson, George C. Healey, George J. 

Curtis. 

1913 George C. Healey, George J. Curtis, Charles F. Coombs. 



TOWN OFFICERS AND REPRESENTATIVES SINCE I9OO 295 

1914 James H. Brown, William E. Janvrin, Charles F. Coombs. 

1915 James H. Brown, William E. Janvrin, Charles F. Coombs. 

1916 James H. Brown, William E. Janvrin, Charles F. Coombs. 

1917 Lawrence E. Wadleigh, Millard L. Dalton, Edwin L. 

Janvrin. 



PHYSICIANS NATIVE OF THIS TOWN. 

William T. Merrill, Charles H. Sanborn, Charles E. Akerman, 
Arthur M. Dodge. 



LAWYERS. 
Jacob A. Cram, OUver A. and William H, Dodge. 



REV. SERENO T. ABBOTT. 

Rev. Sereno T. Abbott was born in Andover, Mass. He fitted 
for college at Phillips Academy in his native town; graduated 
from Amherst College in 1833, and from Andover Theological 
Seminary in 1836. Previous to this the parish Church at Hamp- 
ton Falls had become hopelessly divided. The majority had be- 
come converted to the more liberal belief and later became Uni- 
tarian. The minority held to the old belief, had withdrawn and 
built a meeting house at the line and organized a church under the 
name of the First Evangelical Congregational Church of Hampton 
Falls and Seabrook. The word evangelical was used for two 
reasons: the majority had previously organized under the name 
of the First Congregational Church; the other reason was to show 
that they adhered to the old doctrine known as New England 
Congregationalism. 

Mr. Abbott preached for the first time as a candidate, February 
1, 1837, and continued to preach until June 1 when he received 
and accepted a call to become pastor of the church. Rev. 
Jonathan French, Mr. Abbott's father-in-law, was moderator of 
the council. The ordination sermon was preached by Rev. 
Samuel Worcester of Salem, Mass. Those who organized this 
church seem to have been more rigid in their belief than the 
neighboring Congregational churches. Their controversy with 
the liberal element of the old church naturally tended in that 
direction. Mr. Abbott adhered to the old doctrine and was an 
acceptable preacher. 

He married Sarah, daughter of Rev. Jonathan French, who was 
pastor of the North Hampton church for more than fifty years. 
This proved a happy marriage in every respect. His relation 
with Mr. French was of advantage in his ministerial work. 

Mr. Abbott was clerk of the society; his record is a model of 
excellence and contains much which is of historic interest at the 
present time. They have been published more than once and are 
admired by all who take an interest in local history. Mr. Abbott 
seems to have had a great interest in our local history and in all 
things which were beneficial to the community. He copied our 



298 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

parish church records and was the means of saving what was 
supposed to have been hopelessly lost, after the destruction of 
the original record by fire in 1858. Soon after his settlement, the 
Washingtonian total abstinence temperance movement swept 
over the country. He affiliated with this and took a decided 
stand and did all in his power to advance the temperance cause. 

It was a custom at that time for the Sabbath school children in 
this and neighboring towns to unite in holding a picnic on the 4th 
of July. These assemblies were often addressed by some noted 
temperance advocate. In 1844 a banner was offered as a prize by 
the ladies of Portsmouth to the town having the largest represen- 
tation. This banner was won by Hampton Falls. Mr. Abbott 
was very active in getting up this celebration which was held at 
Hampton Beach. 

In 1848 Mr. Abbott, with the aid of some of his parishioners, 
built a house a few rods west of the meeting house, on what had 
been known as Threshers Lane in Hampton Falls. This house 
was dedicated with appropriate ceremony November 20, 1848. 
He continued to live here until his death in 1855. He labored 
ceaselessly for the upbuilding of his society. What funds the 
society possesses were obtained through his efforts. He was 
interested in the schools and often served as superintending 
school committee. 

A community is fortunate in having a minister who interests 
himself in the local affairs and who favors every good work which 
will be of benefit; and the good effects willbe apparent for long 
years after. This town has been fortunate in having had a num- 
ber of ministers who did this. Mr. Abbott was one of this class. 
This town cannot be too grateful for the service he has rendered 
us in saving oiu* parish church record. Mr. Aljbott had a daugh- 
ter, born in Hampton Falls, who is the wife of Rev. Francis E. 
Clarke, the originator of the Christian Endeavor. It is to be 
regretted that his last years were embittered by a serious contro- 
versy with some members of his church, causing him a great deal 
of unhappiness, and resulting in a great injury to the church and 
to the conmumity as well. Some of the older citizens speak 
kindly of the pastoral visits of Mr. and Mrs. Abbott, which were 
not confined to his parishioners but extended to others who were 
in affliction. 



CHARLES TREADWELL. 

On January 1, 1723, Charles Tread well, a native of Ipswich, 
Mass., but more recently residing in Wells, Me., married Sarah 
Swett, widow of Joseph Swett, and continued to live in Hampton 
Falls for a number of years. In 1727 he was rated for 2 horses, 2 
polls, 23 acres of land, 2 oxen, 5 cows, 1 horse, 2 hogs. Mrs. 
Treadwell's will was proved in 1745. She disposed of consider- 
able property. Her husband appears to have been living in 1747, 
as he was rated for a small amount that year. At that time he 
was an old man, having been born in 1660. 

He had a brother, John Treadwell, who lived in Hampton; he 
was a cordwainer and appears to have disposed of real estate at 
various times. 

Charles Treadwell was a schoolmaster. He signed the petition 
to be annexed to Massachusetts in 1739. Sarah Treadwell con- 
veyed real estate to her sons, Benjamin and David Swett, at vari- 
ous times. The last conveyance was in 1743, which was the last 
date when she was known to be living. 

It is recorded that these conveyances were with the consent of 
her husband, Charles Treadwell. The will of Sarah Treadwell of 
Hampton Falls, dated December 12, 1743, mentions "my late 
husband Joseph Swett," late of Hampton Falls, deceased, "my 
present husband Charles Treadwell"; sons, Benjamin and 
Jonathan Swett; daughter, Lydia Lee, and daughter, Hannah 
Swett; son, David Swett, executor. This will was probated 
October 30, 1745. 

Charles Treadwell occupied the premises owned by Edwin 
Janvrin, and the Baptist parsonage which was the twenty-three 
acres which he was rated for in 1727. Edwin Janvrin was a lineal 
descendant of Capt. Benjamin Swett who was the original pro- 
prietor of the premises. 

At a meeting of the selectmen of Hampton Falls, April 15, 1771, 
John Treadwell was sold at auction, as a town pauper, to the 
lowest bidder for three pounds seven shillings, to be supported 
and cared for as in years past. Pain Rowe was the purchaser. 
Whether he was a son or brother of Charles Treadwell we have no 



300 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

means of knowing. We have never seen the name of John Tread- 
well on any list of tax payers. 

Dr. Abraham Green married Sarah Treadwell in 1737, and 
settled in Stratham. John and Sarah may have been children 
of Charles Treadwell by a former marriage. 

Some of the above statements were given me by Mr. W. A. 
Robbins of New York City, who is working up the Treadwell 
genealogy. 



AN ANCIENT SADDLE. 

Mrs. G. A. Moore of Kittery gave to the Essex Institute at 
Salem a saddle used by Mrs. John Brown on her wedding journey 
from Danville to Seabrook on October 5, 1769. The saddle is in 
splendid condition, the seat pads being adorned with designs made 
with needle and thread. 

Mrs. Brown, whose maiden name was Sarah Lowell, was born 
in Danville, and the marriage ceremony was performed by Rev. 
Samuel Perley, a native of (Linebrook) Ipswich who served as a 
pastor of the Presbyterian Church in Seabrook for many years. 
She was a descendant of the Lowells of Newbury, and of George 
Cheever, one of the first settlers of Portland. 

The donor of the saddle is a great-granddaughter of Mrs. 
Brown. 

This was the wife of John Brown of Seabrook who died, about 
1840, at the age of ninety-five years. She was the mother of 
Newell Brown of Seabrook and Lowell (Lawyer) Brown of Hamp- 
ton Falls. A daughter married Benjamin Brown of Hampton 
Falls and was the mother of Lowell Brown, Jr., and Cyrus Brown. 
John Brown and Sarah Lowell were married October 5, 1769. 



JOSEPH MAYO. 

Concord, N. H., Jan. 2G, 1906. — Joseph Mayo, warden of the 
state prison from 1865 to 1870, died at his home in East Ware on 
Thursday, aged eighty-four years. He leaves one son, Herbert 
Mayo of Jamaica Plain, Mass.; one daughter, Mrs. Maria A. 
Tilden, eight grandchildren and several great-grandchildren. 

During his administration as warden occurred the execution of 
Josiah L. Pike, murderer, on Noveml^er 9, 1869, and the sensa- 
tional escape from prison of Maximilian Shinljurn on December 
3, 1866. 

The Hon. Henry Robinson, former postmaster of Concord, has 
thus described the hanging of Pike: 

"Pike's last days were redolent of roses, and he was ushered out 
of life with a surge of sentimental gush that scandalized the state 
and aroused the stinging sarcasm of Mark Twain on our effemi- 
nacy. Women were allowed to make a fool of Pike. They 
prayed and sung with him, and patted his cheeks and entwined 
his hair with their soft fingers, and fed him on confections, jellies 
and other dainties too delicate for home consumption, until Pike, 
although he was the fiendish butcher of jMr. and Airs. Thomas 
Brown of Hampton Falls, a defenceless old man and woman, 
imagined himself a saintly hero, whose death at the end of the 
hangman's rope was to be little less than a martyrdom. He 
seemed to be the especial pride and delight of some ministers' 
wives and daughters, and yet, nevertheless, one fine day he had 
to turn his l)ack on their profusion of pinks and lilies and hya- 
cinths, had to leave his cell with its wealth of bric-a-brac and orna- 
mentation, the copious contributions of mistaken devotion, had 
to say good-by to his charming and tearful visitors, and face alone 
the dreadful fact of death, forced to jump this bar and shoal of 
time into eternity, as a penalty, with his hands stained with the 
life blood of innocent fellow-creatures." — Boston Herald. 



REV. LYSANDER DICKERMAN. 

Rev. Lysander Dickerman, who died suddenly in a car on the 
elevated road in Boston Saturday evening, June 8, 1901, was born 
June 8, 1825, in that part of the town of Bridgewater, Mass., 
which is now the city of Brockton. He received his education in 
the schools of his native town and Phillips Andover Academy, 
where he fitted for college. He graduated from Brown Univer- 
sity in the class of 1851. He was an assistant teacher for a short 
time at Pierce Academy, Middleboro, Mass. 

He came to Hampton Falls in February, 1852, and took charge 
of the Rockingham Academy as principal, where he remained 
for six terms. During his short stay in Middleboro he became 
so popular wit'i the students that eighteen of them came with 
him to Hampton Falls and added not a little to the high char- 
acter of the school. 

As a teacher Mr. Dickerman was very popular and much beloved 
by his pupils. His methods were characterized by thorough- 
ness, and rendered in a way calculated to be of great practical 
value in gaining sound principles of knowledge, not easily at that 
time to be acquired elsewhere. The writer has heard many of 
those who attended his school say that his teaching has had a 
great influence upon their after life. Under his charge the school 
numbered from sixty to seventy pupils. His removal from the 
town was much regretted. 

He graduated from Andover Theological Seminary in 1857. 
He was settled as pastor over the church in Weymouth, Mass., 
and later in Rindge and Walpole, this state. He then spent three 
years in Egypt and at the German universities of Halle and Berlin. 
In 1873 he was pastor of a church in Quincy, 111., and later until 
the autumn of 1880 in San Francisco. 

Since then he has lectured on Egyptian archaeology in various 
universities and was widely known in the lecture field in New 
England and other parts of the country. He was a profound 
scholar and regarded as an authority in matters of antiquity. He 
contributed many articles as a result of his research to different 
literary publications. During the past twenty-five years Mr. 



304 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Dickerman had no settled pastorate. He spent much of his time 
in travel, supplying at times pulpits in Boston, New York and 
elsewhere. He resided for a number of years in New York city, 
but for the past few months had lived in Newton, Mass. 

His funeral occurred at the chapel of ]Mt. Auburn cemetery on 
Wednesday. He is survived by a widow. He received the 
honorary degree of doctor of divinity from Brown University in 
1893. 



FRANKLIN BENJAMIN SANBORN. 

By Victor Channing Sanborn of Kenilworth, III. 

Among the natives of Hampton Falls who have performed 
notable service in the larger world outside its limits — and there 
have been several — perhaps none is so well remembered as "Frank 
Sanborn," for so he was widely known. 

Born December 15, 1831, on the same farm which his ancestors 
took up in the seventeenth century, in the farmhouse which his 
forefather, Lieut. Joseph Sanborn, built in 1743, and descended 
from most of the original settlers of Hampton, Franklin Benjamin 
Sanborn inherited all those sturdy traditions which he has so well 
described in his chapter on "The New Hampshire Way of Life" 
in the Sanborn Genealogy. 

Among the ancestors from whom he derived distinctive traits, 
my father always gave first place (as did his distant cousin, Daniel 
Webster) to Stephen Bachiler, founder of Hampton, that Ox- 
ford scholar of Queen Elizabeth's time, the disestablished vicar 
of Wherwell in Old Hampshire. The scanty records of Bachiler's 
life bear testimony alike to his cultivation and to his constant re- 
volt against the abuses of authority. Another ancestor was the 
able but unruly Capt. Edward Gove, who in 1685 was sentenced 
to the Tower for leading an uprising against the royalist governor, 
Cranfield. 

With these traditions of independence my father inherited also 
a turn for scholarship. Early in his boyhood he made up his 
mind to attain a higher education than was then expected among 
the boys he knew. It was this urgent desire for a larger cultiva- 
tion which gave to some of the men of his epoch a determination 
to succeed, sometimes lacking in these later days — when educa- 
tion is more easy to obtain and thus less highly prized. 

An important factor in these youthful aims was his early ac- 
quaintance with and love for Ariana Walker, daughter of James 
Walker of Peterborough, grandniece of Judge Jeremiah Smith of 
Exeter, and a cousin of James Walker, president of Harvard Uni- 
versity. Through her influence my father decided, at nineteen, 
to study for a year at Phillips Exeter Academy, and then to enroll 

21 



306 HISTORY or HAMPTON FALLS 

himself at Harvard. Fortunate, indeed, was the young lover to 
find thus the stimulus which turned him more firmly than l)efore 
towards scholarship. 

Entering Harvard as a sophomore in 1852, my father quickly 
took distinguished rank in the class of 1855. He was chosen 
secretary and poet of the Hasty Pudding Club. Graduating 
seventh in his class, he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, but de- 
clined the election, as did the first scholar, Francis Barlow. 

In August, 1854, he married Ariana Walker at Peterborough. 
The marriage was peculiarly affecting, taking place as it did when 
her death from a lingering illness was seen to be near. The 
memoiy of this youthful love and marriage remained fi-agrant 
with my father all his life. It was truly a union of heart and 
spirit, untouched by the trivialities of ever}^ day, for the young 
wife died within a week after they were man-ied. 

Early in his college years my father had made the acquaintance 
of New England's most eminent thinker, Ralph Waldo Emerson, 
who suggested that he should come to Concord and establish a 
private school there. In March, 1854, the school was opened, 
and became one of the most popular private schools in Massa- 
chusetts, numbering among its pupils the children of Emerson, 
Hawthorne, Henry James the elder, Judge Hoar, John ]M. Forbes 
and many others. 

In 1856, Massachusetts men became active in the movement to 
make Kansas a free state. This enlisted my father's ardent 
sympathy, and he became secretary of the Concord Town Com- 
mittee, then of the County Committee, and later of the State 
Kansas Committee. During the summer vacation of 1856 he 
made a tour of inspection through the states of Indiana, Illinois 
and Iowa and the Territory of Nel^iaska. Early in 1857 John 
Brown, the liberator, came to his office in Boston, and thus began 
a friendship which lasted only two years, ])ut which my father 
esteemed as one of the most valued friendships of his life. He 
was cognizant of Brown's proposed raid on Harper's Ferry, and 
in 1860 was arrested for complicity therein, after having ignored 
a summons to testify before the Senate Committee. His own 
account of these matters appears in his "Recollections." 

In the stirring days preceding the Civil War, Boston had its 
scenes of mob violence, when Wendell Phillips and his associates 
suffered attack for their defense of the negro. In December^ 



FRANKLIN BENJAMIN SANBORN 307 

1860, the colored men of Boston arranged a meeting at the Tre- 
mont Temple to honor the memory of Brown, and asked my father 
to preside. The incapable chief of police allowed a mob to break 
up the meeting. Among the leaders of the mob were some of 
Boston's younger merchants, who saw in these anti-slavery pro- 
ceedings only a disturbance of the profitable commerce with the 
South. In all these stormy scenes my father played his part 
bravely and well, adhering to his course as an anti-slavery leader, 
though younger than most of his colleagues. In commemoration 
of those times a group of friends in 1915 presented him with a gold- 
headed cane, the shaft of which was made from the railing of the 
old Boston Court House. The speech of presentation was by the 
secretary of the Wendell Phillips Memorial Association. 

The outbreak of our Civil War caused the closing of the school 
in Concord. My father in 1862 became the editor of the Boston 
C ommoniDealth , but remained in that position only seven months, 
when his friend, the Massachusetts War Governor, John A. 
Andrew, appointed him in 1863 secretary of the State Board of 
Charities. This was the first board of its kind in the United 
States, and its cares withdrew my father from active participation 
in the war. With Dr. Samuel G. Howe he organized the public 
charities, framed laws, and set an example for other states to 
follow. 

These ten years, from 1855 to 1865, brought him into close 
relations with the brilliant circle of Concord authors, Emerson, 
Thoreau, Hawthorne, Alcott and Channing, who have enshrined 
that little town in the history of American literature. They took 
long walks together, and sometimes more extended excursions; 
and the intimacy thus engendered has made my father their ideal 
biographer. 

In August, 1862, my father married his cousin, Louisa A. 
Leavitt, daughter of Joseph Melcher Leavitt (a merchant of 
Boston, but a native of Hampton Falls), and granddaughter of 
Squire Thomas Leavitt of Hampton Falls. 

In 1871 his friend, Samuel Bowles, owner and editor of the 
Springfield Republican, appointed him one of the resident editors 
of that thriving newspaper to which he had contributed for several 
years. This appointment took him to Springfield for two years; 
but in 1874 his friend. Governor Talbot, appointed him chairman 
of the State Board of Charities, and he returned to Concord, which. 
was his home ever after. 



308 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

During all these years my father took a prominent part in 
charitable and penal reform. In 1867 he obtained the charter for 
the Clarke Institute for the deaf, at Northampton, and continued 
a trustee thereof until his death. In the same year he helped to 
organize the Massachusetts Infant Asylum, which was the first 
institution in this country to prevent the extreme mortality among 
motherless children. He was one of the organizers of the Ameri- 
can Social Science Association in 1865, of the National Prison 
Association in 1870, and of the National Conference of Charities 
and Corrections in 1874. As chairman of the Massachusetts 
State Board of Charities he conducted a legislative inquiry into 
the mismanagement of the almshouse at Tewksbury; and later 
tha'^ which investigated the lunatic asylum at Danvers. Both 
resulted in economies for the state, and a better system of caring 
for the insane and pauper classes. In 1879 he was appointed 
general inspector of charities for Massachusetts, and this office 
he held until 1888. 

With Mr. Alcott and Dr. Harris he organized, in 1879, the 
Summer School of Philosophy at Concord. Its sessions con- 
tinued for five years, were widely attended by students from all 
parts of the country, and contributed greatly to American philo- 
sophic thought. 

In 1880 my father built his picturesque brick house on Elm 
Street in Concord. In his study, overlooking the river, among 
his beloved books, he wrote his weekly letters to the Republican; 
and here he prepared the manuscripts for his printed works. 
Here in 1908 and 1909 he wrote his two-volume "Recollections 
of Seventy Years," for which he was preparing a third volume — 
never finished. On his place of two acres, leisure hours were 
spent in gardening and orcharding, to which he was devoted. 

His library was very large, numbering more than ten thousand 
volumes. It represented his own accumulations of sixty j'ears, 
besides those of his friend, William Ellery Channing. It was 
rich in New England literature, but was a rather heterogeneous 
collection, containing inter alia thousands of the works of classical 
authors in the original Greek and Latin. For a litterateur it was 
an excellent working library; and I think that my father, whose 
memory was prodigious, knew where each book was on the 
shelves. This was the more remarkable because the books 
{which were cased in every room in the house) had not been cata- 



FRANKLIN BENJAMIN SANBORN 309 

logued for thirty years, nor were they arranged with exact system. 
There were, besides the books, all the manuscripts of Theodore 
Parker, of Channing and of my father. And there were besides 
thousands of letters — for my father never destroyed a letter he 
received and had stored them away in boxes. 

In 1885 his friend, Andrew D. White, appointed him lecturer 
on Applied Social Science at Cornell University. This connection 
existed for four years, during which time he delivered many lec- 
tures, illustrated by visits to the New York reformatory and 
remedial institutions. 

In 1890, and again in 1893, my father made extended visits to 
Europe. He spent many months in Greece, and examined hos- 
pitals for the insane in a dozen different countries. 

Since 1893 he devoted himself entirely to literary and philan- 
thropic work. In these later years he was often in demand for 
lectures, and delivered addresses in many parts of the country. 
Brown University appointed him one of its examiners, and for 
several years he attended the meetings with regularity and with 
distinction. 

His literary activities were tremendous. Often, after a long 
day spent in his official duties, he would write until past mid- 
night. To catalogue his printed works would require several 
pages. He has published definitive biographies of Thoreau, 
John Brown, Alcott, Dr. Howe, Channing and Pliny Earle; and 
lesser volumes on Emerson, Hawthorne and others. He pub- 
lished in 1904 an excellent "History of New Hampshire." He 
edited the poems of Alcott and of Channing, and two volumes of 
lectures delivered at the School of Philosophy. For more than 
forty years he was the Boston correspondent of the Springfield 
Republican, and furnished each week two letters on current events 
and literary matters. 

Time touched him with a gentle hand, and though at last it bent 
his tall, spare form, it seemed not to diminish his physical force, 
nor his keen, eager mentality. He was a frequent visitor at the 
Boston State House, at the Public Library and at the Harvard 
College Library. He went often to the rooms of the Massachu- 
setts Historical Society, of which he was a member, and to whose 
proceedings he was often a contributor. And it was always a de- 
light to him to show to visitors from far or near the shrine of Old 
Concord, — every foot of which he knew, and every field and nook 
and hill of which he loved. 



310 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

Unflinching in his exposure of abuse and wrong, he made both 
friends and enemies easily; but he usually kept the first, while 
those of the latter who had real insight grew to honor him. 

In October, 1916, at the invitation of Mrs. Daniel Lothrop, the 
Hillside Chapel in Concord, where the School of Philosophy had 
held its meetings, was opened for a final session in mj' father's 
honor. Besides letters and telegrams fiom distant associates, 
tributes were spoken by many of his friends and neighbors. One 
of his granddaughters wrote: "I couldn't help thinking how 
dignified and -worthy he was of such an honor; and I am a proud 
granddaughter." 

During the last two winters, finding the Concord climate too 
severe, my father and mother spent the inclement season with mv 
brother, Francis, at West field in New Jersey. Returning from a 
visit to New York on January 18, he was knocked down by a care- 
lessly driven baggage truck. His hip was broken, and though it 
seemed to mend he never recovered from the shock, and died at 
Westfield on February 24, 1917. 

His funeral was held at the old Unitarian Church in Concord, 
where he had for years shared the Emerson pew. In spite of a 
typical New England day in late February — cold, icy and with a 
driving rain — the church was filled with friends from Concord and 
Boston. Two organizations of the colored race sent delegations. 
The flags in Concord were at half-mast; and the Massachusetts 
House of Representatives, in his honor, ordered its State House 
flag to hang at half-mast for three days. On March 20 a 
memorial service for him was held at the Congregational Church 
in Concord. 

He rests in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery there, near to the graves 
of his friends, Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne, Alcott and Chan- 
ning; and beside that of his son, Thomas Parker Sanborn (H. U. 
1886), a youth of much promise, who died in 1889 under circum- 
stances of great sadness. 

His final "Life of Thoreau" has just been published — a volume 
of 540 pages, containing some of his best writing. It is worth 
noting that on ni}- father's death-bed he corrected the final proofs 
on this work, which is perhaps his most fitting monument. 

The following memorial sonnet (from the Republican) was 
written b}^ a neighbor of mine, and a young friend of my father: 



FRANKLIN BENJAMIN SANBORN 311 

In Memoriam — F. B. Sanborn. 

No more beside the peaceful Assabet, 
Nor in Old Concord's elm-arcaded street 
That tall, familiar figure shall we greet. 
Somewhere with old companions gladly met 
He takes up broken threads of speech— and yet 
Those keen, kind eyes, with vision now complete 
Gaze hitherward with yearning for the sweet 
Old faces that he never can forget. 

Swung in sad pride above the golden rim 
Of the great dome upon the Hill, appears 
The flag he loved floating half-mast for him; 
But finer tribute is the fall of tears 
In black men's eyes and prisoners' grown dim 
At loss of their defender through the years. 

Anne Higginson Spicer. 

Kenilworth, 111., March 13, 1917. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 315 



Hon. Warren Brown 

Only son of John Berry and Sarah M. (Leavitt) Brown. He 
was born August 11, 1836, and was educated in the town school, 
Rockingham and Philhps-Andover academies. He is town 
historian, and a farmer. Has taken a Jife-long interest in agri- 
cultural matters; eleven years president of the New Hampshire 
State Agricultural Society; twenty-five years treasurer of the 
New England Agricultural Society; twenty-four years trustee of 
the New Hampshire College of Agriculture and the Mechanic 
Arts; four years president of the board; state senator, 1872-73; 
member of the Governor's Council, 1879-81; delegate to the Re- 
publican National Convention at Chicago, 1884; representative, 
1887; presidential elector in 1908; active promoter of the electric 
railways in southeastern New Hampshire. He is a Knight 
Templar, Shriner and 32d degree Mason. 

{See portrait on next page.) 




Hon. Warren Brown. 
{See sketch on preceding page.) 




Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown, 
1841-1917. 

{See sketch on next page.) 



318 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown 

Wife of Hon. Warren Brown. She was a native of Dover^ 
N. H., and daughter of Dafiiel L. and Sophia (Osgood) Norris. 
She was educated in the pubHc schools of Lowell, Mass.; was a 
member of the high school class of 1860; Governor Greenhalge 
was a member of this class. She was married, January 1, 1867, 
and lived in Hampton Falls during the remainder of her life. 
Her golden wedding was celebrated, January 1, 1917; she died 
January 24. She was a person of great executive ability and 
force of character. 

{See portrait on preceding page.) 




Charles P. Akerman. 
1842-1908. 

Son of Mechech S. and Mary A. (Dow) Akerman. He was 
born in Hampton Falls, on the farm now owned by George J. 
Cm'tis. The family moved to Hampton in 1847. Charles P. 
became station agent for the B. & M. R. R. in Hampton Falls in 
1877, and continued until his death. He was a prominent Odd 
Fellow and had taken the higher degrees, and acted as a deputy 
to visit neighboring lodges. He had one daughter, Annie. He 
was representative in 1901 and 1902, and was selectman at the 
time of his death. He spent nearly all his life in the employ 
of the Eastern and B. & M. railroads. 



320 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Mary Dodge Aiken, with Her Niece and Namesake, Mary 

Dodge White. 

Mary Dodge Aiken, the oldest child of Jolm William and Harriett Perkins 
(Dunklee) Dodge, was born in Hamjiton Falls, October 24, 1841, and in this 
town most of her girlhood days were spent. She was married to ^^'alter 
Aiken on January 1, 1867, and resided in Franklin Flails, N. H., imtil the death 
of her Husband in 1893. She then removed to Concord, but after her mother's 
death, in 1903, she returned to the old Dodge homestead in Hampton Falls, 
to spend the remainder of her life in the town she loved so well. She died 
June 25, 1916. 

Mrs. Aiken had no children, but her house was a home where hospitable 
doors were ever open to a large circle of relatives and friends. She had 
travelled in many lands, and from all over the world she had brought inter- 
esting and valuable reminders of the countries she visited, till her home be- 
came a treasure-house of uni(}ue value. A woman of unusual energj' and 
strength of character, no stranger came within her gates without feeling 
the rare charm of her personality, and her gracious hospitality, and the briefest 
sketch of her life would be incomplete without a reference to her keen interest 
in the welfare of others. Many struggling students remember her timely aid 
with gratitude, and her deeply religious nature found expression in benefactions 
to the needy in all lands, benefactions as unostentatious as they were generous. 
She has left a fragrant memory of loving deeds behind her. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



321 




Moses Emery Batchelder. 
1822-1911. 

Son of Moses and Abigail (Drake) Batchelder, He was edu- 
cated in the town schools and resided in the town until 1864 
when he removed to Central Illinois where he purchased a large 
tract of land which had never been broken. By industry, good 
management and the rise in value of land he became wealthy. 
With others from the East he organized a Congregational church, 
which are common in New England, but few in the West. This 
church has been prosperous. In his adopted home he was loved 
and respected. The obituary, in a local paper, speaks of him 
as the "Grand old man." 



22 



322 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Samuel Batchelder. 

1839-1806. 

Son of Simeon and Adeline (Farnhani) Batchelder. He was 
born at Marblehead, Mass. After the death of his father he 
came, at an early age, to live in Hampton Falls, and was edu- 
cated in the town school. He and fifteen others were drafted on 
August 10, 1863. He was the only one of the number who 
served in the army, becoming a member of Company D, Fifth 
New Hampshire Reghnent. He was wounded in the battle of 
Cold Harbor, June 8, 1864, and was honorably discharged on 
June 28, 1865. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



323 




Arthur Warren Brown. 

Son of Hon, Warren and Sarah G. (Norris) Brown. He was 
born in July, 1873, and was educated in the town school and 
Gushing Academy, Ashburnham, Mass.; he graduated in the 
class of 1890. His occupation is plumbing and heating. He was 
selectman, 1902-05; town'treasurer, ten years from 1907; member 
of the Masonic fraternity. 



324 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



^K^ 


■ 


^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^L— **'' ^^^^^1 


^H 




1 




1 




•r^' > !■■« 




JM 



Charles Rufus Brown. 

The second son of Rev. Samuel Emmons and Elvira Latham (Small) Brown. 
He was born in East Kingston, N. H., Februarj- 22, 1849. He studied at 
Phillips Exeter Academj', 1865, and graduated at Annapolis, United States 
Naval Academy, in 1869; resigned from the navj- in 1875 to study for the 
Baptist ministry. He was graduated from Harvard in 1877; graduated from 
Union Theological Seminary in 1879; also at Newton Theological Institution 
the same year. He studied at the University of Berlin, 1879-80; at Leipzig, 
1880-81, and 1895-90. (Ph. D. Colby University, 1887; D. D. Colgate Uni- 
versity', 1892.) He married, November 27, 1884, Clarissa Locke Dodge, 
daughter of John William and Harriet Perkins (Dunklee) Dodge, of Hampton 
Falls. He was ordained Baptist minister at Franklin, N. H., December 30, 
1881; he was pastor at Franklin Falls, 1881-S3; professor of Old Testament 
Interpretation at Newton Theological Institution for over thirty years, 1883- 
1914, besides being acting pastor for one year to the First Baptist Church ol" 
Salem, and one year at the Main Street Baptist Church in Worcester. He 
was a member of various Biblical ami archaeological societies; was resident 
director of the American School for Oriental Research in Jerusalem, 1910-11 ; 
author of An Aramaic Method, and Life of the Prophet Jeremiah, also contrib- 
utor to various reviews. He died, February 1. 1914, and is buried in Hamp- 
ton Falls. 

Through all this life of scholarly activit}-. Dr. Brown was more or less iden- 
tified with Hampton Falls, from the time when he, the son of Parson Bro\^Ti, 
lived here as a boy, till in 1911 he settled here as his summer home. His sim- 
plicity and modesty, his wisdom and kindliness endeared him to all the town. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



325 




George Cyrus Brown. 

Son of Samuel and Sarah (Lane) Brown. He was born, 
August 13, 1837, and was educated in the town school and 
Hampton and Pittsfield academies. He is a farmer; was select- 
man in 1877-78. He is the fourth generation to occupy the 
ancestral Brown farm; he has a son and a daughter. 



326 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Harry Benson Brown. 

1870-1903. 

Son of Hon. Warren and Sarah G. (Norris) Brown. He was 
educated in the common school and Putnam Free School of 
Newburyport, Mass. He was a contractor, and delivered the 
heavy materials (rails, etc.), for nearly all the electric railways in 
southeastern New Hampshire. He built the road across to 
Seabrook Beach; graded the railroad crossing at Hampton 
depot; and moved the heavy machinery to the power house in 
Portsmouth. He was a man of great executive ability. He 
died in Boston, June, 1903, from the effect of a surgical operation. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



327 




Morrill Marston Coffin. 
1824-1861. 

Son of Aaron and Sabrina (Marston) Coffin of Hampton. He was edu- 
cated in the common school and Hampton Academy. He taught school al- 
most continuously from 1847 to 1854 in Hampton Falls. He was liked by 
the scholars and was acceptable to the parents. Although the wages of 
teachers were low at that time, he came voluntarily and held evening schools 
for writing, spelling matches and exercises in geography which added a great 
deal to the popularity of the school. In governing the school he did not find 
it necessary to use the "oil of birch" which was applied vigorously by many 
teachers in those days. Much of the popularity of the Exeter road school 
was due to his labors. He was a member of the choir of the Unitarian Church 
in Hampton Falls. He was an expert in grafting fruit trees and did a great 
deal of work in that line. Later he assisted in the preparation and distribution 
of the Rockingham County Map, published by Smith & Coffin. He died, in 
February, 1861, of malignant diphtheria. His funeral, from the Baptist 
Church in Hampton, was largely attended, the house being filled to its utmost 
capacity. Public funerals of victims of diphtheria would not be allowed at 
the present time. 



328 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Joseph Blake Cram. 

Son of John S. and Lucy Ellen (Blake) Cram. He was born; 
in 1870 and was educated in the common school. He was select- 
man in 1903 to 1906. He is a successful and up-to-date farmer. 
His skill as a farmer was acquired without outside assistance^ 
but by observation and experience. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 329 



William Everett Cram. 

Son of Rev. William A. and Sarah (Blake) Cram. He was 
born in Hampton Falls on June 27, 1871, and was educated in 
the town school and by home study. He is a farmer, naturalist 
and author. He has contributed to the Popular Science Monthly, 
The New England Magazine, The Ladies^ Home Journal and other 
publications. He is a writer and illustrator of ornithological 
works at Hampton Falls, the author of Little Beasts of Field 
and Wood, and More Little Beasts, published by Small, May- 
nard & Co., Boston, Mass. He is co-author of American Animals, 
published by Doubleday, Page & Co., New York, and which was 
written in collaboration with Wilmer Stone of Philadelphia, Pa. 



330 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




George Janvrin Curtls. 

Son of Dr. W. W. and Dorothy A. (Janvrin) Curtis. He was 
born 1858, and was educated in the town school. He is a farmer; 
was selectman in 1887-89 and 1912-13; was representative in 
1895-96. He is a member of Rockingham Lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



331 




Dr. William Waldo Curtis. 

The second son of Simeon and Sarah Allen Curtis. He was born in North- 
field, Vt. After attending the schools of his native village he studied with Dr. 
William Burnham, a noted physician and surgeon, later entering Worcester 
Medical College where he received his degree and was graduated with honors. 
He practiced his profession successfully in Lowell, Mass., and in Exeter, N. H. 

Dr. Curtis was twice married. His first wife was Dr. Lavinia Ford of 
Worcester, Mass. Some years after her death he married Dorothy A., eldest 
daughter of George Janvrin, by whom he had two children, George J., a for- 
mer representative of Hampton Falls, and Sarah D., wife of N. Dearborn 
Marston of Everett, Mass. 

Dr. Curtis moved to Hampton Falls in 1861 and made farming his main 
pursuit, gradually withdrawing from professional practice. He held various 
oflBces in town and was highly esteemed. He died June 14, 1904, in his 
ninetieth year. 



332 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Charles Nealey Dodge. 

Son of James D. and Harriet (Hadley) Dodge. He was born 
in 1862, and was educated in the town school. He kept a general 
country store from 1884 until 1914. He was postmaster for 
thirty years; town treasurer for five years until 1907. He mar- 
ried Annie F. Healey in 1908. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



333 




Horace A. Godfrey. ' 

1841-1905. 

Son of Maj. Jeremiah and Sally (Perkins) Godfrey. He was 
educated in the town school and Hampton Academy. In early 
life he engaged in the express business. In 1876 he entered the 
railway postal service and continued with little interruption 
until his death, running much of the time from Boston to Bangor, 
Me. In politics he was an ardent Republican. He took an 
active interest in the affairs of the town and in the schools, la 
all public matters he was progressi;^e and public spirited. 



334 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




John H. Gove. 
1813-1887. 

John Harrison Gove was a lineal descendant of the eighth 
generation from Edward Gove of pie-rev ohitionary fame; born 
in Weare, N. H., May 29, 1813, the fourth and youngest child 
of John and Hannah (Chase) Gove. About 1822 they removed 
to Lincoln, Vt., where he purchased a farm and sawmill; two mills 
were carried away by spring floods, and ten years later the family 
removed to Lynn, Mass. John H. was educated at Friends' 
School, now Moses Brown School, Providence, R. L, and after- 
wards taught as assistant in the school of which Moses Cartland, 
a noted educator of that day, was principal. Constructive work, 
and out-door life had greater attractions for him, and mechanical 
skill made him a successful builder, especially of railroad bridges,, 
before the days of structural iron work. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 335 

In 1856 he settled at Hampton Falls and engaged in farming: 
gardening, fruit and flowers being his recreation; he was inter- 
ested and successful in the propagation of new and superior 
varieties of fruit, especially grapes. In politics he was always 
a Republican and held various town offices. 

Mr. Gove was twice married, first to Martha J. Kenyon of 
North Providence, R. I., a granddaughter of John Wilbur, 
leader of the "Wilburite branch" of the Society of Friends; 
second, to Sarah Philips Wells, daughter of Moses and Hannah 
(Dow) Wells, and had one daughter, Sarah Abbie, who resides 
in the ancestral home, built by her great-grandfather, Joseph 
Wells, in 1786. It was here the poet Whittier passed the summer 
of 1892, and where he died, September 7, the families having 
been intimate from his boyhood. Mr. and Mrs. Gove were 
birthright, members and highly esteemed in the Society of 
Friends. The high moral principles that distinguish the Friends 
made him one of the best citizens in the community. He died, 
December 1, 1887, aged seventy-four years and seven months, 
four years after the death of his wife. 

His distinguished ancestor, Edward Gove, who was born in 
England in 1630, came to New England in 1640 with his father, 
mother and brother John; his father's name was also John. 
They settled in Charlestown and Cambridge, Mass. He mar- 
ried, about 1660, Hannah Titcomb and had thirteen children. 

Edward came to what is now Seabrook, N. H. (then Hampton) 
about 1665. He was a member of the first New Hampshire 
Assembly after New Hampshire was made a Royal Province in 
1679, and remained in office until after Governor Cranfield dis- 
solved the Assembly in January, 1683. Then Edward Gove, 
with several from Hampton and Exeter who joined him, tried 
to arouse the people to active opposition to the tyrannical royal 
governor, and for this they were arrested for treason. Edward, 
as leader, was adjudged guilty, and was the first to suffer punish- 
ment in New Hampshire for adhesion to the principles of liberty. 
The horrible sentence of the law was passed upon him — that he 
be hanged, drawn and quartered, etc. The sentence was not 
executed, but he was sent to England and imprisoned in the 
" Tower of London " three years; he was pardoned by King James 
II and released from prison in April, 1686. 

Mr. Frank B. Sanborn, a native of Hampton Falls, wrote: 



336 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

''All New England followed his example when they drove Andros 
off in 1689." Early history has not generally done him justice 
for the records then kept of his doings were mostly statements 
of his enemies, the royal party. "Had he lived just before the 
Revolutionarj' War, he would probably have been hailed as a 
hero and a martyr to the cause of liberty. . . . After the 
overthrow of Sir Edmund Andros as governor. New Hampshire 
was without a government; then Edward Gove was appointed a 
commissioner with five other Hampton men to meet with other 
towns, January 20, 1690, and resolve upon some method of gov- 
ernment." 

Edward Gove died July 29, 1691, his health having been 
greatly impaired by the confinement in the Tower. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



337 




Frank S. Green. 

Son of Silas and Nancy (Batchelder) Green. He was born 
June 8, 1852, and was educated in the town school and Dearborn 
Academy. He was selectman in 1879-80, 1893-94; representa- 
tive in 1891-92. He is an Odd Fellow and Granger. 



23 



338 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Charles A. Hardy. 

Son of Reuben and Lavina (Ramsel) Hardy. He was born 
April 28, 1839, and was educated in the town school He is a 
farmer. He is the last male representative of one of the town's 
early settlers, John Hardy, who was rated here in 1726. He was 
a large landholder, owned what is now known as Great Hill^ 
called at that time Hardy's Hill. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



339 




Jerome A. Hardy. 

Son of Charles A. and Abbie A. (Fogg) Hardy. He was born 
June 28, 1876 and was educated in the town school and the 
Putnam Free School of Newburyport, Mass. He entered the 
employ of the Towle Manufacturing Company of Newburyport 
in 1893. He was steadily promoted and was elected treasurer 
of the company in 1917. He is an Odd Fellow and a member of 
St. John's Masonic Lodge, Newburyport. 



340 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




George Clifford Healey. 

Son of Wells W. and Sarah Elizabeth (Dodge) Healey. He 
was born in 1853 and was educated in the town school and Phillips 
Academy, Andover, Mass. He was town clerk in 1881-84; 
selectman in 1885-86, 1912-13; representative in 1889-90; 
member of the Constitutional Convention in 1910. The Healey 
family were among the earliest settlers of the town. George 
C. is the only representative of the name in the town at the 
present time. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



341 




Bertram Thompson Janvrin. 

Son of Edwin and Annie (Thompson) Janvrin. He was born 
in 1869 and was educated in the town school, Putnam Free 
School of Newburyport, Mass., and business college. He was 
selectman in 1895-96, 1907-11; representative in 1911-12. He 
was engaged in the lumber business with his father, which he 
still continues. He has taken some of the higher Masonic degrees. 



342 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Edwin Janvrin. 
1836-1913. 

Son of David and Mary (Towle) Janvrin. He was educated in 
the town school and Rockingham Academy. He was selectman 
in 1869-70-76; representative, 1883-84. He was a member of 
the Masonic Fraternity. All his life he had been engaged in the 
lumber business and made it a success. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



343 




John F. Jones. 



Son of Moses and 



(Falls) Jones. He was born in 

Seabrook and attended the town school. He was a blacksmith 
and had a shop near Morton Hill. He was a good horseshoer 
and a neat job workman. He was town clerk in 1857; repre- 
sentative in 1876-77; selectman in 1879-80. He was a charter 
member of Rockingham Lodge of Odd Fellows, organized in 1848. 
He died in 1889. 



344 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Henry Harrison Knight. 
1841-1907. 

Mr. Knight was Ijorn in Hampton Falls July 20, 1841, — the son of Stephen 
T. and Abigail (Dow) Knight — and spent his entire life on the Knight home- 
stead. His prominence in the town and his interest in it are shown by his 
service in the town affairs. As moderator, representative, selectman a num- 
ber of times and chairman of the board five times, and other less important 
offices he served his town faithfully — in every office keenly following the inter- 
ests of the town. 

On May 19, 1870, he became a member of the Star in the East Lodge, A. F. 
& A. M., and later joined the St. Alban Chapter, R. A. M., at Exeter, in which 
organizations he was held in highest regard. Mr. Knight was a farmer and 
for many years, until falling health compelled his retirement, a director of 
the Rockingham Farmers' Alutual Fire Insurance Company. He was an 
attendant of the Unitarian Church, a man of fine ciualities and sterling worth, 
with the truest devotion to his family. 

On December 10, 1879, he married Ruth Green of Kensington and they had 
three children, Grace G., Agnes R. and Mildred F. Knight. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



345 




Levi Edwin Lane. 
1819-1900. 

Son of Esq. Levi and Anna (Batchelder) Lane. He was edu- 
cated in the town school and Rockingham Academy. He was a 
farmer; selectman in 1860-61 and 79-80; representative in 1866- 
67. In poHtics he was a RepubUcan. He attended the Unit- 
arian Church. 



346 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




George F. Merrill. 

Son of Enoch and Mary E. (Jones) Merrill. He was born at 
Newburyport, Mass., August 1, 1857, and was educated in the 
public schools of his native city. He came to Hampton Falls in 
1885, and bought and lived on the Fifield farm. He was five 
years manager of the Swift plant in Newburyport. He bought 
the store business of Charles N. Dodge at the hill, and was ap- 
pointed postmaster in 1915. He has been prominent and held 
high offices in the Grange. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



347 




Gen. Charles A. Nason. 

1822-1900. 

Son of Maj. Jonathan and Mary (Gordon) Nason. He was 
educated in the common school. He was a farmer; selectman 
in 1850-51; representative in 1860-61; was prominent in military 
matters. At one time he was next in military rank to the gov- 
ernor of the state. The Nason family was one of the oldest in 
the town. Jonathan Nason was rated in 1709. With the death 
of Charles A. the name which has appeared on the record con- 
tinuously since that time became extinct. 



348 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Edwin Prescott. 

Son of Aaron and Lucy Maria Prescott. He was born Feb- 
ruary 16, 1841, in Hampton Falls, at the Prescott homestead, 
now owned by Grant B. Sanborn. He is a direct descendant,^ 
through father and mother, of the original James Prescott 
who came from England in 1665, and settled on the farm after- 
ward owned by the late Wells Healey, Esq., and later by Mr. 
Walter B. Farmer. 

Until the death of his father in 1853, he attended school reg- 
ularly. The rest of his education he obtained in the winter terms 
of the country school, and afterward by evening work at Comer's 
College, and from wide reading, supplemented by a good memory 
and a keen interest particularly in things scientific. For about 
ten years he engaged, principally as foreman or as superintendent^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 349 

in various lines of mechanical and constructive work, in the oil 
regions of Pennsylvania, in New York City and Boston, and 
later at Hampton Falls in shoe manufacturing, and in the lumber 
Tjusiness in partnership with the late James D. Brown. 

In 1873 he married Ellen F. Thompson of Epping, daughter of 
Levi Thompson and Climena Rundlett. In 1880 he moved to 
Massachusetts to conduct his business in Boston and make his 
Tiome in Arlington. 

Already he had become interested in inventions, and for his 
•door-hangers had formed a company, which sold over five hundred 
thousand of them before the business was given over to a western 
firm. He has taken out about a hundred patents, including 
■door-hangers, wagon-jacks, cattle-stanchions, the "Loop-the- 
Loop" and blind operators. In Arlington he served on the school 
board for five years, and was chairman of the committee that 
€quipped the high school for manual training. 

He has three children — Arthur Thompson, an engineer of 
New York City; Charles Edwin, superintendent of Meadow 
Farm, Hartsdale, N. Y., and Lucy Maria, a first assistant in one 
of the high schools of New York City. Mr. Prescott is a member 
■of Boston Commandery of Knights Templar, a Republican and 
a Unitarian. 



350 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Warren James Prescott. 

Son of True M. and Sarah (Pike) Prescott. He was born 
April 4, 1842, and was educated in the common schools and 
Rockingham Academy. He is a farmer, auctioneer and an 
undertaker. He was representative in 1897-98. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



351 




Nathan Henry Robie. 
1835-1898. 

Son of Henry and Sarah (Towle) Robie. He was educated in 
the town school and Hampton Academy. He was a farmer, 
auctioneer, trial justice, having settled many estates; he was an 
Odd Fellow, and Democrat. Being in the minority party he 
never held office in the town, yet he had considerable influence in 
town matters. 



352 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




A snapshot of Frank B. Sanborn standing in the door of the 
old house where he was born. Taken on his last visit to this 
town, September, 1916. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



353 




George Berry Sanborn. " 
1833-1893. 

Son of Levi and Mary (Berry) Sanborn. He was educated in 
the town school, Rockingham and Pittsfield academies. In early 
life he was a shoemaker; later, a prosperous farmer. He took a 
great interest in political matters as a Republican. He was 
selectman in 1859-60, 83-84; representative in 1874-75. 



24 



354 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




John Chandler Sanborn. 
J 1834-1916. 

Son of John P. and Sally (Cram) Sanborn. He was educated 
in the common schools and Hampton Academy. He was an 
up-to-date farmer; selectman in 1862-63, and 1881; representa- 
tive in 1879-80. He had three sons and five daughters. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



355 




Hon. John Newell Sanborn. 

Son of Levi and Mary (Berry) Sanborn. He was born in 1843, 
and was educated in the common school. He is a farmer and 
cattle dealer; selectman in 1872-73; representative in 1885-86; 
elected to the senate from the twenty-first district in 1908. In 
the legislature session of 1909 the direct primary law was passed. 
Mr. Sanborn was opposed to this bill and on a roll call in the 
senate he voted alone in the negative (twenty-three in favor, 
one against). He has been commended by public sentiment all 
over the state for voting his honest convictions instead of being 
carried away by popular clamor which enacted a law not liked 
by the majority of the voters of the state, irrespective of party. 



356 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



■ 






■ 


^^^^1 


) 




^H 


^^^^Hr 




rn^^^^H 


1 


1 


sps^-. 


;^ 


1 


■ 


••;-?^^>' ■ ■ 


- >>>fc'i;p?!£;:a?r''-. 





RoscoE Franklin Swain. 

Son of Frank B, and Belle (Fitts) Swain. He was born in 1881, 
in South Hampton, and was educated in the town school, San- 
born Seminary and New Hampshire State College. He came to 
Hampton Falls in 1908. He is a dairyman. He married Mildred, 
daughter of Hon. Warren Brown. The Swain family were 
among the earliest settlers of the town. William Swain was 
drowned in the wreck of Rivermouth in 1657. The name dis- 
appears about 1800. One hundred years later it reappears on 
the record, some of the descendants having returned. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



357 




Enoch J. Tilton. 
1833-1884. 

Son of Caleb and Lucy (Sanborn) Tilton, He was educated 
in the town school and Rockingham Academy, and was engaged 
in trade at the store at the hill for a number of years after 1860. 
Leaving here he was in trade for a time in Marshalltown, Iowa. 
Later he was in trade in Newburyport under the firm name of 
Tilton & Gerrish until a short time before his death. He was 
town clerk in 1866-71; postmaster under Lincoln and Grant. 
He was a Royal Arch Mason, and a man respected in the com- 
munity as an honest and upright citizen. 



358 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Emmons Brown Towle. 
1835-1905. 

Son of Capt. Caleb and Sarah (Swain) Towle. He was edu- 
cated in the common school and Rockingham Academy. He 
was a successful market gardener, a Granger, and an Odd Fellow; 
selectman in 1867-8; member of the Constitutional Convention 
in 1889. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



359 




Charles F. Wadleigh. 
1856-1896. 

Son of Capt. William H. and Hetty A. (Marshall) Wadleigh. 
He was born in Kensington. He married Annie, daughter of Levi 
E. Lane, and came to Hampton Falls and carried on the Lane 
farm with great success. He had one son and three daughters. 
He died suddenly in October, 1896. 



360 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Benjamin Franklin Weare. 

Son of John and Lydia (Buzzell) Weare. He was bora May 
29, 1833, and was educated in the town school. He is a 
farmer, a Congregationalist, a RepubUcan; selectman in 1865-66; 
member of the Constitutional Convention in 1903; proprietor of 
the Weare mills. 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 



361 




Dr. Francis Edward Clark. 

Born in Aylmer, Quebec, September 12, 1851; clergyman. 
While pastor of a Congregational Church at Portland, Me., he 
organized the first Young Peoples Society of Christian Endeavor, 
February 2, 1881, which organization has since become world 
wide. As he married a lady who was a native of Hampton Falls, 
we are much pleased to present his portrait and Mrs. Clark's in 
our collection. 



362 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




Harriet Elizabeth (Abbott) Clark. 
Many are those who were native of the town who have gone 
out into the world and made a record of which we are proud, and 
by no means the least of them is Harriet Elizabeth Abbott, 
daughter of Rev. Sereno T. and Sarah (French) Abbott, born 
December 10, 1850. After the death of Mr. Abbott, in 1855, 
the family removed to Andover, Mass., where Miss Abbott re- 
ceived her education and later became the wife of Rev. Francis 
E. Clark who originated the Society of Christian Endeavor. Mrs. 
Clark is credited with having originated the idea and the success 
of the movement was largely due to her. We are able to present 
the following from the Golden Ride. 

(From The Golden Rule, March 30, 1893,) 
Mrs. Francis E. Clark. 
Mrs. Clark, in the days when she was Harriet Abbott, was 
a school teacher at Andover, Mass. She is from a generation 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 363 

of preachers. Her father was a New Hampshire pastor, who died 
when she was quite young. Her grandfather and great-grand- 
father were clergymen, also. 

As a school teacher Miss Abbott showed the same ardent love 
for children that still possesses her. It is a delight to watch her 
with them. Her rich fund of humor, imagination, and sympathy 
draws them to her in crowds. A friend says of her: " Wherever she 
went, children came to the surface as if by magic. It was wonder- 
ful how many she could find, and how easily she made them do 
her bidding, and moulded them according to her will. No sooner 
had she gathered them about her than she organized them for 
singing or some kind of work." This is especially noticeable in 
her travels. Chinese urchins, toddling Japs, shy-faced Hindoo 
maidens make friends instinctively with the bright-faced foreign 
lady, and chatter away to her as if to a friend long known. 

Dr. Clark himself has said that his wife "rocked the cradle 
in which the Christian Endeavor Society was born." Four years 
before that eventful second of February, 1881, Mrs. Clark or- 
ganized the "Mizpah Circle." This may well be called the first 
Junior Society, though not yet of "Christian Endeavor," — with 
the capital letters, at any rate. This was a missionary society, for 
the children. Christian Endeavor began in a revival; it began 
also with missions. It has remained true to both beginnings. 

This Mizpah Circle of Mrs. Clark's was faithful to its church. 
To quote from Dr. Clark's successor at Portland: "The stained- 
glass window in the front of Williston Church is a memorial to the 
devotion of this little band. Under the wise leadership of Mrs. 
Clark they also raised money for the 'Book of Psalms,' which, for 
more than a decade has been used in the responsive service of the 
church. To the delight and surprise of the congregation, these 
responsive readings were found one Sabbath morning in the pews, 
ready, as a symbol of youthful love and ardor, to contribute new 
life to the worship." 

Those who have heard Mrs. Clark know her to be a pleasing and 
effective speaker. As Dr. Clark makes his journeys to foreign 
lands and around the world, Mrs. Clark is of the greatest assistance 
to him in furthering the main object of his journeys. She makes 
frequent addresses, especially before gatherings of pastors' wives 
and missionaries, to whom she explains, with fulness and en- 
thusiasm, the joy and profit of Christian Endeavor work, and the 
blessing it has been to so many young people the world around. 



364 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 




George Moulton. 

Son of Capt. Nathan and Sarah (Brown) Moulton. He was 
bom August 26, 1842, and was educated in the common school 
and Hampton Academy. In early life he was a farmer on the 
ancestral farm; later he engaged for a time in mechanical work 
at Exeter. He resided for a time in Illinois, and went to New- 
bern, N. C, in 1884, and has since made his home there. He 
married, in 1885, Mary D., daughter of Hon. William and Mary 
(Byard) Clarke of Newbern, and has three children. For four- 
teen years he was a commercial traveler, and is now engaged in 
the photographic business at Newbern, 



INVOICE OF TOWN. 

The valuation, resident and non-resident, of the town of 
Hampton Falls, N. H., assessed April 1, 1916, was published by 
vote of the town and is as follows: 



RESIDENT INVOICE. 



Aiken, Mary D. 

6a field 

1 la pasture 

2a marsh 

1.3a Winslow land 

1 horse 

stock in public funds 

stock in banks and other 
corporations 

Akerman, Charles I., poll. 

buildings 

4a homestead 

1 horse 

2 cows 

vehicle 

Atterderfer, Gerald, poll. 

AviNs, Charles, poll. 

Applecrest Farm. 

42a N. W. Healey home- 
stead 

N. W. Healey buildings. . . 
N. W. Healey cottage .... 
64a N. W. Healey pasture. 

11a Tilton field 

28a G. B. Sanborn field . . . 
30a G. C. Healey homestead 

G. C. Healey cottage 

42a G. C. Healey pasture. . 

12a marsh 

55a Batchelder pasture . . . 

elevator and mill 

poultry houses 

1 horse 



$240 

170 

24 

450 

50 

6,240 

2,300 



800 
200 
100 
80 
250 



1,470 

5,000 

200 

960 

385 

1,120 

1,100 

200 

500 

60 

85 

3,500 

2,500 

150 



2 mules $400 

2 cows 90 

2265 fowls 1,750 

vehicles 800 

Batchelder, Arthur D., poll. 

B.\tchelder, D.wid F., poll. 

175a homestead 600 

buildings 2,700 

375 

24 

150 

300 

750 

280 

50 

50 

125 



25a pasture 

3a marsh 

10a Merrill pasture 

wood 

4 horses 

7 cows 

1 neat stock 

vehicle 

mill 



Batchelder, John .\., \m\1. 
1 cow 



0.30 



Batchelder, Nathaniel M., poll. 

30a homestead 900 

buildings 1,800 

30a field and pasture 450 

wood 200 

7 horses 1,200 

6 cows 260 

1 neat stock 40 

vehicle 400 

mill 700 



Batchelder, Sarah N. 
(soldier's widow) 
5a homestead and buildings 



475 



366 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Batchelder, Warren H., poll. 

24a homestead $760 

buildings 1,800 

73a pasture and wood ... 1,100 

12a marsh 96 

8a Godfrey lot 200 

3 horses 300 

8 cows 300 

1 neat stock 35 

1 mill 125 

Batchelder, Paul E., poll. 

20a field and pasture 340 

1 horse 100 

2 mules 400 

2 cows 80 

Birtwell, Charle.s W., poll. 

6a Akerman land 140 

buildings 60 

1 horse 50 

vehicle 250 

Birtwell, Mrs. Charles W. 

7a homestead 315 

buildings 2,000 

29a pasture and wood .... 700 

12a field 375 

lO^a marsh 52 

Blatchford, R.\lph H., poll. 

S^a homestead 110 

buildings 800 

1 horse 125 

Blake, Mary S. 

stock in public funds 2,000 

money on hand 30 

Brown, .\ndrew C, poll. 

3a field 150 

buildings 400 

8a pasture 100 

2a marsh 16 

1 cow 35 

Brown, Arthur W., im)!). 

buildings 2,000 



2a orchard and field SlOO 

3a marsh 24 

stock in trade 275 

Brown, Charles B., poll. 
12 ^a Chase land and build- 
ings 950 

8a land and buildings .... 280 

13a marsh 104 

2 horses 100 

5 cows 180 

vehicle 25 

mill 125 

Bkown, Heirs of Charles T. 

10a homestead 300 

buildings 1,800 

57a pasture 980 

3a marsh 24 

4a marsh 32 

Brown, Eugene M., poll. 

Brown, Forest F., poll. 

6 horses 1,000 

17 cows 680 

5 neat stock 175 

vehicles 400 

mone}' on hand 50 

Brown, Edw\\rd S., poll. 

Brown, George C. 

38a homestead 1,330 

buildings 2,500 

88a pasture 1,100 

wood 3,000 

monej' on hand 30 

Brown, George T., poll. 

52a homestead 165 

buildings 450 

4^a pasture and wood .... 200 

Brow-n, Harry P., poll. 
2a homestead and build- 
ings 1,500 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



367 



Brown, James H., poll. 

1 horse $175 

6 cows 240 

vehicle 75 

Brown, John, poll. 

4a homestead 100 

buildings 450 

1 horse 75 

2 cows 70 

Brown, John A. 

20a homestead 750 

buildings 1,800 

30a pasture and wood .... 650 

14a Great Hill pasture . . . 140 

19a marsh 152 

1 neat stock 25 

Brown, John J. 

22a pasture 390 

1 horse 150 

1 cow 40 

vehicle 50 

Brown, John J. and James H. 

12a homestead 415 

buildings 2,500 

82a pasture 1,100 

12a Pike field 480 

15a meadow 330 

lOja marsh 82 

wood 1,000 

Brown, J. Edward, poll. 

homestead and buildings. . 1,600 

7a meadow and wood .... 530 

2 horses 125 

7 cows 250 

1 neat stock 30 

Brown, Mrs. J. Edward. 

2a marsh 16 

stock in pubhc funds 500 

Brown, Robert, 2nd, poll. 

10a homestead 300 

buildings 500 

l^a Janvrin land 25 



3a flats $8 

2a marsh 16 

10a Collins land 250 

1 horse 40 

2 cows 75 

Brown, Heirs op Robert. 

lOia Dow land 200 

la land and buildings .... 640 

15a marsh 12 

Brown, Stanton L., poll. 

la homestead and buildings 840 

20a field and pasturg 540 

10a stump land 75 

1 horse 75 

5 cows 200 

Brown, Warren. 

52a homestead 2,290 

buildings 6,000 

cottage 120 

60a pasture 900 

40a field and woodland . . . 865 

108a timber swamp pasture 1,800 

25a Batchelder land 450 

17^a marsh 140 

wood 3,000 

4 horses 550 

14 cows 530 

22 sheep 100 

6 hogs 60 

vehicles 600 

Brown, William H., poll. 

9a homestead and buildings 1,500 

1 horse 40 

1 cow 35 

1 neat stock 25 

Butler, Robert (soldier). 

homestead and buildings . . 400 

Cannon, John, poll. 

2a homestead 80 

buildings 800 

1 horse 150 

2 cows 80 

money on hand 10 



368 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Chase, Arthur W., poll. 
1 horse 

1 cow 



40 



Chase, Mrs. Arthur W. 

10a Sanborn homestead . . 350 

buildings, Hanliorn farm . . 1,400 

24a Marshall homestead . . 840 

Marshall buildings 1,100 

5a woodland 50 

3|a Johnson pasture. . . 55 

6a farm land 30 

7a marsh 56 

wood 1,400 

Chase, Daniel A., poll. 

Chase, Heirs of Daniel P. 

4a field and orchard 140 

Chase, Heirs of Chew. 

2a homestead 65 

buildings 1,000 

42a pasture 630 

4a field and orchard 140 

wood 2,500 

Chase, Ira M., poll. 

2 cows . .' 70 

Chase, Samuel B., poll. 

buildings . 500 

20a field 530 

40a pasture 600 

18a marsh 108 

3 horses 450 

9 cows 315 

1 launch 200 



Clark, Lewis B., poll, 
ja homestead and buildings 

CocKBURN, Samuel, poll. 

3a homestead 

buildings 

4a field and bam 



000 



120 
900 
200 



Combs, Charles F., p<^)il. 

25a homestead $S75 

buildings 1,000 

25a pasture . . 375 

1 horse 1 50 

3 cows 120 

1 neat stock . 35 

Combs, Walter W .. [)()ll. 

poultry hou.ses 150 

125 fowls 95 

money on hand 260 

Cram, Joseph B., poll. 

10a homestead 350 

buildings 1,200 

13a pasture 210 

5a marsh 40 

10a Bentley field 350 

31a Bentley pasture 472 

1 horse 50 

10 cows 400 

stock in public funds . S85 

money on hand 200 

Cram, William E., poll. 

18a homestead 630 

buildings 1,800 

37a pasture 550 

14a woodland 400 

6a marsh 48 

1 horse 125 

3 cows 120 

12 sheep 54 

stock in public funds 1,600 

money on hand 14 

Cram, Mrs. William E. 

5a woodland and pasture 125 

stock in public funds 420 

money on hand 10 

Cram, Sarah E. 

stock in pubUc funds 4,850 

money on hand 1 



Combs, Ray W., poll. 



Creighton, Forest, poll. 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



369 



Creighton, Frank W., poll. 

4ja homestead $190 

buildings 400 

7a marsh 56 

1 cow 35 

Creighton, James, poll. 

vehicle 200 

Crosby, Charles H., poll. 

40a homestead 1,400 

buildings 1,000 

|a land and cottage 300 

36a pasture 540 

2a marsh 16 

8a marsh 64 

3 horses 550 

7 cows 280 

3 neat stock 90 

8 sheep 36 

vehicle 250 

1 mill 120 

Crosby, Perley H., poU. 

Collins, David B., poll. 

money on hand 6 

Collins, Jennie A. 

10a homestead 350 

buildings 1,250 

Chase, John N. 

4a marsh 32 

Harrison land 50 

Currier, Herbert C, poll. 

^a homestead and buildings 550 

1 horse 125 

Curtis, George J., poll. 

43a homestead 1,200 

buildings 1,200 

14a Rand pasture 210 

4a meadow 120 

68a pasture 1,020 

6a Rand field 210 

5a marsh 40 

2 horses 400 

2 oxen 200 

25 



10 cows 

vehicle 50 

money on hand 50 

Dalton, Millard E., poll. 

25a homestead 800 

buildings 700 

100a pasture 1,300 

. 3 horses 450 

14 cows 560 

2 neat stock 80 

Dodge, Charles N., poll. 

5a homestead 200 

buildings 2^500 

32a pasture 480 

12a Smith field 420 

9a S. A. Gove field 450 

8a marsh 64 

wood 100 

6a farm land 30 

1 horse 150 

vehicle 400 

stock in public funds 4,000 

Dodge, Mrs. Charles N. 

stock in public funds 7,000 

Dodge, Wallace D. C, poll. 

220 fowls 165 

stock in trade 150 

Diamond, James, poll. 

Drysdale, Joseph. 

Ifa homestead 70 

buildings 300 

3a Green field 105 

1 horse 25 

Elkins, Harold, poll. 

Edgerly, Carleton J., poll. 

22a Towle field 880 

Green house 200 

2a marsh 16 

2 horses 400 

9 cows 340 

3 neat stock 80 

vehicles 300 



370 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Edgerly, INIrs. Carleton J. 

la homestead and buildings $2,500 

14a farm land 70 

11a marsh 55 

Elkins, Albert W., i)o11. 

10a homestead 350 

buildings 1,500 

1 horse 125 

4 cows 140 

3 neat stock 75 

Elkins, Estate of Benjamin W. 

10a homestead 350 

buildings 2,500 

56a jmsture 840 

85a marsh 68 

wood 150 

3 horses 300 

9 cows 360 

1 neat stock 25 

vehicle 300 

money on hand 3 

Farmer, Nellie M. 

vehicles 3,000 

stock in public funds 7,500 

money on hand 2,300 

Farmer, Walter B., poll. 

2 horses 200 

3 vehicles 6,000 

money on hand 4,820 

Felch, William I., poll. 

Fogg, Frank H., poll. 

Fogg, George A. 

4a homestead 125 

buildings 1,500 

4^a Merrill field 140 

6a marsh 48 

1 horse 200 

5 cows 200 

3 neat stock 85 

80 fowls 23 

Fogg, Ezra C. 

buildings 400 

9a tillage 315 



9a pasture S135 

1 horse 40 

3 cows 100 

Godfrey, Ralph H., poll. 

2a tillage 100 

bam 50 

1 cow 35 

GiLMORE, Wallace, poll. 

Goodwin, Albert A., poll. 

Goodwin, George E., poll. 

4a homestead 140 

buildings 500 

17a pasture 255 

1 horse 35 

70 fowls 52 

Gove, Sarah A. 

4a homestead 200 

buildings 3,000 

la Silsbee homestead 3,000 

90a pasture 1,350 

7a Dodge lot 245 

wood 350 

money on hand 357 

Grant, Charles, poll. 

money on hand 10 

Greene, F. S. and C. W., polls. 

8a homestead 280 

buildings 800 

32ia pasture and wood . . . 525 

10a Godfrey field and barn 650 

2^a marsh 20 

2 horses 350 

vehicle 50 

wood 75 

Greene, M.\ry J. 

8a homestead 280 

buildings 800 

325 a pasture and wood . . . 525 

2 cows 70 

Gy-nan, John F., poll, 

vehicle 200 

Hadley, James, poll. 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



371 



Hadlet, Sarah L. 

4a Truesdale land $150 

Truesdale buildings 300 

Hamilton, John H., poll. 

2a homestead 100 

buildings 1,450 

20a tillage and pasture . . . 400 

2a woodland 50 

2 cows 75 

Hardy, Estate of Charles. 

la homestead and buildings 100 

Hardy, Charles A. 

4a homestead 140 

buildings 500 

18a pasture 270 

3a meadow 90 

5a woodland 150 

1 horse 60 

money on hand 25 

Harrison, Charles, poll. 

homestead and buildings. . 1,200 

stock in trade 150 

Hartford, Alfred H., poll. 

2a field 70 

1 horse 25 

1 cow 40 

Hawes, Estate of David C. 

40a homestead 1,400 

buildings 2,500 

120a pasture 1,800 

4 horses 600 

5 cows 200 

183 fowls 137 

vehicles 100 

money on hand 30 

Hawes, Henry W., poll. 

Hawes, Samuel, poll. 

money on hand 10 

Healey, Ellen F. 

14a pasture 210 



19^a marsh $156 

stock in pubhc funds 9,500 

money on hand 6,700 

Howard, George M., poll. 

Humes, Wendell, poll. 

Healey, George C, poll. 

9a homestead 315 

buildings 2,250 

club house 100 

vehicle 250 

money on hand 280 

Irving, David K., poU. 

Irving, John M., poll. 

Irving, Samuel P., poll. 



Irving, William, poll. 
3a homestead and buildings 



300 



Janvrin, Estate of Clarence E. 

money on hand 718 

stock in trade 200 

Janvrin, Bertram T., poll. 
10|a homestead and build- 
ings 4,500 

Ija homestead and build- 
ings 1,500 

5fa Chase land 150 

23a pasture and field 620 

25a marsh 20 

wood 300 

5 horses . 875 

1 cow 40 

vehicles 1,800 

money on hand 160 

stock in trade 2,500 

Janvrin, Estate of Edwin. 

stock in public funds 3,000 

money on hand 300 



372 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Janvrin, ED^^^^■ L., poll. 

lOJa farm land $55 

5a heater piece 50 

wood 400 

|a Fogg land and buildings 1,000 

3 horses 450 

vehicles 700 

Janvrin, James D. L., poll. 

1 horse 75 

vehicles 500 

Janvrin, James H., poll. 

Janvrin, Fred, poll. 

7a homstead 125 

buildings 1,800 

1 horse 25 

Janvrin, George A., poll. 

6a homestead 210 

buUdings 1,000 

23a home pasture 230 

35a pasture 480 

2a orchard 70 

7a marsh 56 

fa Merrill orchard 25 

wood 100 

1 horse 75 

1 cow 40 

vehicles 400 

money on hand 280 

JAN^'RIN, Estate of James D. 

^a homestead and buildings 1,200 

18a pasture and field 510 

20a Great hill pasture .... 300 

5a Dodge lot 100 

2§a marsh 20 

Janvrin, Louisa. 

wood and lumber 2,000 

Janvrin, Susan and Caroline D. 

wood and lumber 2,000 

money on hand 50 

Janvrin, William A., poll. 

15a homestead 300 



buildings $1,500 

wood 200 

2 cows 75 

100 fowls 75 

Johnson, Charles L., poll. 

12a homestead 420 

buildings 1,300 

12a Gove land 150 

2a marsh 16 

JoHN.sox, Henry F., poll. 

20a homestead 700 

buildings 2,000 

31a pasture 310 

6a Bro^Ti place 210 

wood 1,800 

2 horses 125 

4 cows 160 

3 neat stock 130 

Jones, Arthur, poll. 

Knowles, William, i^oil. 

vehicle 100 

Knight, Estate of Henry H. 

30a homestead 1,050 

buildings 1,800 

83a pasture 1,265 

5a marsh 40 

4a unimproved land 40 

wood 650 

1 horse 75 

10 cows 400 

1 neat stock 35 

money on hand 3 

Ladd, Alphonso B., poll. 

20a homestead 600 

buildings 1,000 

30a pasture 450 

wood 100 

2 horses 225 

4 cows 140 

1 neat stock 35 

L.vdd, Perley E., poll. 

monev on hand 39 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



373 



Ladd, Walter A., poll. 

money on hand $10 

Lane, Bert, poll. 

Lane, Estate of Charles W. 

ia homestead and buildings 500 

Lantz, Archibald, poll. 

Lantz, Henry J. 

3a homestead 105 

buildings 500 

Lord, Frank H., poll. 

5a tillage 175 

buildings 100 

133 fowls . 100 

vehicle 250 

money on hand 48 

Lord, Mrs. Frank H. 

Ha homestead 75 

I buildings 1,000 

29a pasture and wood .... 700 

l^a farm land 8 

money on hand 10 

Lecque, Joseph, poll. 

Major, Thomas, poll. 

McDevitt, William H., poll. 

7|a homestead 263 

buildings 1,200 

la Sanborn land 40 

house 2,000 

1 cow 40 

Merrill, George F., poll. 

40a homestead 1,400 

buildings 1,800 

39a pasture 585 

4a marsh 32 

l^a Fogg land and buildings 200 

3 horses 450 

4 cows 160 

1 neat stock 25 

vehicle 150 

money on hand 195 

stock in trade 4,000 



Merrill, Daniel S., poU. 
IJa homestead and build- 



ings . 
1 cow . 



$600 
40 



Merrill, Estate of Lowell F. 

^a homestead and buildings 1,000 

Michels, Alice G. 

7a homestead 245 

buildings 700 

3a field 105 

13a pasture 200 

.stock in public funds 1,820 

money on hand 45 

Michels, Clarence E., poll. 

money on hand " 217 

Moulton, George. 

20a homestead 600 

buildings 800 

21a pasture 210 

14a field and pasture 240 

Moulton, Howard T., poll. 

16a homestead 560 

buildings 1,800 

2a field 70 

5a Sewell Brown place .... 250 

7a meadow 175 

38 Godfrey pasture 570 

2 horses 200 

5 cows 200 

1 neat stock 30 

Moulton, Estate of Emily S. 

29ia homestead 1,023 

buildings 2,800 

20a Pike land 300 

35a Cove pasture 350 

22a Cram pasture 285 

wood 200 

2 horses 250 

15 cows 600 

3 neat stock 75 

vehicles 50 

stock in public funds 1,500 

money on hand 300 



374 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



IMOULTON, JeNNETTE. 

vehicles . . ". S450 

stock in public funds 1,600 

Nason, Estate of Charles A. 

41a homestead 1,325 

buildings 1,200 

117a pasture 1,755 

16a Sanborn pasture 240 

Page, J. Herbert, poll. 

6a land and barn 400 

1 cow 35 

Perkins, Stephen D., poll. 

5a homestead and buildings 525 

4a Hardy field 140 

4a Hardy meadow 140 

27a Tucker pasture 300 

1 horse 75 

Pevear, Bertram L., poll. 

3a homestead and buildings 500 

Pevear, Estate of Daniel E. 

^a homestead and buildings 450 

Pevear, Daniel Elwin, poll. 

1 horse 150 

1 cow 30 

Pevear, F. R. and Georgie, poll. 

19a homestead 665 

buildings 900 

2a Young field 70 

22a Eaton pasture 330 

6a meadow ISO 

2a Wright land 75 

3 horses 350 

9 cows 315 

Prescott, Henry M., poll. 



1 horse S60 

2 cows 80 

Prescott, Estate of A. D. and 
Mrs. a. D. 

40a homestead 1,200 

buildings 1,800 

66a pasture 990 

10a marsh 80 

1 hprse 50 

4 cows 140 

25 fowls IS 

Prescott, Elvin J., poll. 

17a homestead 560 

buildings 1.200 

vehicles 1 50 

money on hand 30 

Prescott, Warren J. 

4a homestead 140 

buildings 1,200 

25a pasture 375 

15a pasture 225 

1 horse 150 

2 cows 70 

Pressey, William A., poll. 

vehicles 700 

RoBiE, Frank J., poll. 

1 horse 100 

3 cows 110 

RoBiE, Estate of Nathan H. 

9a homestead 315 

buildings 800 

Oa pasture and wood 150 

4a marsh 32 

Robinson, Lewis C. 

2a Copeland place 1,480 



Pevear, Warren B. 

14a homestead 490 

buildings 900 

15a pasture 225 



RowE, Stephen W., poll. 

Sanborn, Eliza B. 

5a stumn land 50 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



375 



Sanborn, Fred B., poll. 

20a homestead $700 

buildings 1,800 

33a pasture 495 

8|a marsh 68 

7a marsh 35 

la unimproved land 13 

3 horses 250 

2 cows 70 

1 neat stock 40 

vehicle 50 

money on hand 80 

stock in trade 300 

aqueducts, mills, etc 500 

Sanborn, Grant B., poll. 

16a Huff homestead 480 

Huff buildings 300 

13a Huff pasture 195 

13a Rowe field 390 

2a orchard 60 

37a Brown pasture 370 

wood 300 

1 horse 200 

16 cows 550 

Sanborn, John Elmer, poU. 

16a homestead 600 

buildings 2,500 

5a CHfford field 140 

56a pasture 940 

wood 150 

3 horses 450 

1 1 cows 440 

3 neat stock 100 

vehicle 50 

Sanborn, John C. 

40a homestead 1,200 

buildings 2,000 

67a pasture 670 

36a Leavitt pasture 540 

9a Sanborn pasture 135 

2a meadow 45 

19a marsh 152 

wood 100 

2 horses 100 

2 oxen 200 



9 cows $360 

1 neat stock 40 

vehicle 50 

Sanborn, Estate of Joseph T. 

33a homestead 1,162 

buildings 2,500 

70a pasture and wood .... 1,500 

Sanborn, John N. 

40a homestead 1,400 

buildings 1,800 

67a pasture 1,005 

4a meadow 100 

23a marsh 184 

4a farm land 40 

wood 1,250 

1 horse 75 

2 oxen 175 

I cow 35 

vehicle 50 

Sanborn Lester B., poll. 

Sanborn, Levi N., poll. 

II cows 385 

3 neat stock 90 

Sanborn, Mary Abbie. 

40a homestead 1,200 

buildings 400 

25a pasture 250 

|a land and buildings .... 1,500 

12a marsh 96 

wood 350 

money on hand 25 

Scoones, Victoria B. 

7a homestead 210 

buildings 200 

Scoones, William C, poll. 

3 cows 100 

Seward, Samuel, poll. 

Simpson, David A., poll. 



376 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Smith, Albert S. 

60a homestead Sl,200 

buildings 1,500 

2 horses 200 

1 cow 35 

25 fowls 18 

Smith, Arthur C, poll. 

1 horse 150 

Smith, George C, poll. 

39a homestead 1,365 

buildings 1,300 

64a pasture 960 

3^a marsh 28 

wood 800 

2 horses 175 

9 cows 300 

1 neat stock 35 

money on hand 105 

Stand LEY, George B., poll. 

6a homestead 210 

buildings 900 

20a pasture 300 

5a Davidson's neck 40 

wood 250 

Ste\t;n.s, Johx P., poll. 

Ola homestead 1,800 

buildings 4,200 

4a Dow homestead 140 

Dow buildings 1,500 

2 horses 375 

2 cows 80 

2 neat stock 70 

vehicles 2,225 

stock in public funds 11,800 

money oh hand 1,083 

SUMMERFIELD, \YlLLIAM, poll. 

vehicle 500 

Swain, Nahum A., poll. 

3a field 105 

1 horse 25 

1 cow 40 

money on hand 20 



Swain, Mrs. Nahum A. 
5a homestead and buildings 

Swain, Roscoe F., poll. 

1 horse 

12 cows 

1 neat .stock 

25 fowls 

vehicle 

money on hand 

Tarleton, George M., poll. 

Tarleton, John W., poll. 
2a homestead and buildings 



S800 



125 
450 
40 
18 
300 
600 



300 



Temple, Mrs. W. H. (guardian). 

2|a J. W. Moulton place . 1,880 

Temple, Estate of W. H. 

6a homestead 210 

buildings 2,200 

13a pasture 195 

2 horses 250 

6 cows 225 

95 fowls 85 

vehicle 50 

money on hand 10 

Thomp.son, William H., poll. 

12a homestead 420 

buildings 1,800 

68a pasture 1,020 

8a meadow 280 

5 horses 750 

14 cows 560 

1 neat stock 40 

25 fowls 18 

vehicle 50 

mill 120 

Thompson, Mr. and Mrs. William S. 

ISa homestead 630 

buildings 1,800 

38a River pasture 570 

28a Cove pasture 140 

wood 1,000 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



377 



Thurlow, James H., poll. 
|a homestead and buildings 

1 cow 35 

TowLE, Estate of Lydia B. 

5a homestead 200 

buildings 1,000 

19a pasture 285 

la stump land 10 

2a marsh 16 

Wadleigh, Annie L. 

36a homestead 1,260 

buildings 2,500 

96a pasture 1,440 

33a marsh 264 

wood 1,000 

vehicle 50 

money on hand 25 

Wadleigh, Lawrence E., poll. 

2 horses 400 

10 cows 350 

1 neat stock 30 

Walton, William E. 

3a homestead 105 

buildings 400 

10a pasture 150 

wood 100 

Weare, Benjamin F. 

7^a homestead 263 

buildings 1,500 

2a marsh 16 

|a stump land 5 

1 horse 150 

5 cows 200 

aqueducts, mills, etc 250 



Weare, Joseph H., poll. 

10a homestead $350 

buildings 500 

4a marsh 32 

1 horse 75 

3 cows 120 

stock in trade 400 

Weare, Percy S., poll. 

25a marsh 20 

3a stump land 45 

1 horse 125 

vehicle 400 

1 miU lOa 

Webster, Albert J., poll. 

1 horse 150 

1 cow 40 

Wilson, James. 

3a field 90 

1 horse 50 

money on hand 1,100 

Whittier, David A., poll. 

6a homestead 210 

buildings 1,000' 

6a pasture 90 

3a Page land 90 

4|a marsh 36 

la BrowTi place 40 

1 horse 65 

Wright, George, poll. 

Young, Fred, poU. 



Young, Estate of Henry. 
la homestead and buildings 

Young, Simon, poll. 



125 



NON-RESIDENT INVOICE. 



Albany, N. 

Cochrane, Alex. 
3fa homestead 

Merrill, Charles J. 
10a field and pasture 
buildings 





Amesbury, Mass. 






Brown, Herbert J. 




n25 


3a marsh 


$24 




3a marsh 


24 


165 


Brown, Clarence F. 




600 


4ia marsh 


36 



378 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Little, J. P. 

4a marsh . $32 

Pevear, Edwin. 

5a building lot 25 

Rollins, Estate of Gilbert. 

2a marsh 16 

Watkins, James. 

wood and lumber 150 

Boston, Mass. 
Dodge, Arthur M. 

5a homestead 175 

buildings 2,500 

5a Robertson lot 175 

S^a pasture 53 

7a farm land 35 

aqueducts, mills, etc 500 

Brooklyn, N. Y. 
Wakeman, Mary. 

2a house lot 200 

Concord, Mass. 
Sanborn, Frank B. 
4a Melcher land 40 

East Kingston. 

French & Tilton. 

3a marsh 24 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh 16 

3a marsh 24 

Greeley, J. B. 

3a marsh 24 

IJa marsh 12 

Sanborn, Fannie S. 

3^a marsh 28 

Tilton, F. B. 

4a marsh 32 

Exeter. 
Brown, Frank J. 

la unimproved 13 

O'Callahan, John. 

4a unimproved 50 

2a unimproved 25 

Dow, Benjamin W. 

4a marsh 32 



French, Jon.\than, Estate of. 

(D. Baker, agt.) 

2a marsh S16 

HiGGiNS, Frank C. 

4a pasture and wood 100 

Moore, A. E. (admr.) 

4a pasture and wood 100 

MoxjLTON, Justin E. 

fa field 25 

15a Kent field 525 

4a pasture 60 

Smith, Leonard F. 

18a woodland 200 

Tilton, Newell S. 

13a pasture and wood .... 200 
Exeter & Hampton Electric Co. 

transmission line 1,100 

Fremont. 
French, Sarah E. 

4a marsh 32 

Hampton. 

Brown, Edward J. 
22a pasture 300 

Brown, Frank B. 

stock in trade 100 

aqueducts, mills, etc 1,400 

Brown, Leavitt . 

4a marsh 32 

Coffin, Aiken S., E.state of. 

20a pasture 300 

3a marsh 24 

wood 150 

Mace, J. J. 

4a marsh 32 

Pike, Cl.\ra. 

6a pasture 90 

5a marsh 40 

ToppAN, Christopher S. 

50a pasture .... * 750 

wood 800 

Williams, J. Freeman. 

6a marsh 48 



Haverhill, Mass. 
S.vnborn, Josephine L. 
5a woodland and pasture . 



125 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



379 



ICensington. 

Blodgett, E. Jtjdson. 

2^a marsh $20 

Brewer, Edward. 

7a marsh 56 

Brown, David. 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh 16 

30a pasture 450 

Brown, James W. W. 

2a marsh 16 

Brown, Stephen. 

40a pasture 795 

38a pasture and wood .... 600 

20a field 600 

30a pasture 595 

3a marsh 24 

4a marsh 32 

4a marsh 32 

Card, Charles. 

2a marsh 16 

Dow, Hattie. 

14a pasture ' 210 

Eaton, John, Estate of. 

l|a marsh 12 

Evans, Moses. 

14a Healey pasture 210 

Fish, Ralph B. 

25a marsh 20 

5a marsh 40 

Ifa marsh 14 

5a marsh 40 

la Brown lot 30 

Gove, George M. 

5a marsh 40 

4§a marsh 36 

HiLLIARD, AbRAM, EsTATE OF. 

2a marsh 16 

HiLLIARD, A. Maria., Estate of. 

6a stump land 100 

HiLLIARD, Frank. 

l^a marsh 12 

Jones, Percy. 

5a marsh 40 

2a marsh 16 

Kimball, Stephen. 

Ifa marsh 14 



Field, James L. 

18a pasture and wood .... $324 

Lamprey, Warren P. 

70a pasture 1,050 

8a marsh 64 

Dearborn, Daniel, Estate of. 
2|a marsh 20 

Jones, Clara P. 

31a field and pasture 465 

26a field and pasture 740 

4a marsh 32 

2|a marsh 20 

4a marsh 32 

Lovering, Frank, Estate of. 
2^a marsh 20 

Malloy, Dennis J. 

25a pasture 250 

wood 300 

Moulton, Isabel. 

6^a marsh 52 

4a marsh 32 

Palmer, D. Ellery. 

2a marsh 16 

Phillips, George. 

3a marsh 24 

Poor, Frank. 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh .- 16 

Prescott, George A. 

5a marsh 40 

Robie, Charles N. 

15a field 525 

4|a marsh 36 

3a marsh 24 

2^a marsh 20 

RowE, Amelia. 

4a marsh 32 

3a marsh 24 

RowE, B. F., Estate of. 

15a pasture 165 

Sawyer, Maria S. 

la marsh 8 

Stevens, Elbridge G. 

30a field 1,050 

12a pasture and wood .... 180 

2a marsh 16 

2a marsh 16 



380 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



Rock, Joseph. 




10a pasture and wood .... 


§210 


Hall, James M. 




3a marsh 


24 


3a marsh 


24 


True, John M. 




44a pasture and wood .... 


525 


Tuck, Henry C, Estate of. 




3a marsh 


24 


Wadleigh, Arthur G. 




10a improved land 


350 


24a unimproved land 


360 


25a marsh 


20 


5a marsh 


40 


York, John W. 




7a marsh 


56 


O^a marsh 


76 


3a marsh 


24 


3a marsh 


24 


2|a marsh 


20 


Kingston. 




Nason, a. W. 




4a marsh 


32 



L.\wrence, Mass. 
Andrews, Miriam C. 

Ja homestead and building 



2.000 



Lynn, Mass. 

Cochrane, William K. 

8a homestead 300 

buildings 900 

Gove, Ira S. 

6a homestead and buildings 710 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh 16 

Methuen, Mass. 
Brown, Isaac. 

wood and lumber 4,000 

Xewburyport, Mass. 
Eaton, Elroy. 

la building lot 20 

Knight, Hale. 

3^a marsh 28 



Philbrkk, George A. 

26a .stump land •'5260 

44a pasture and wood .... 836 

25a pasture 375 

Ha marsh 12 

Perkins, Edward, Lumber 

Co 150 

Pike, George I. 

3a house lot 200 

Silloway, Charles. 

3a Green pasture 45 

TiLTON, Enoch J., Estate of. 

22a pasture 220 

wood 2,500 

Weare, John E. 

24a homestead 600 

buikUngs 700 

41a pasture and wood .... 800 

18a field 300 

50a pasture and wood .... 60O 

5a stump land 5 

aqueducts, etc 50 

Xew'ton Center, Mass. 
Crampton, George W. 

6a Healey land 300 

Healey buildings 3,000 

New York City, N. Y. 
Jones, Elmer A. 

5a homestead and buildings 1,000 

Portsmouth. 
Rockingh.\m Light ant) Power Co. 
electric transmission line . . 4,500 

Providence, R. I. 
Godfrey, H. A., Heirs of. 

5a homestead 25 

buUdings 2,200 

stable lot 20O 

7a marsh 56- 

Seabrook. 
Beckman, p. F. 

la marsh 8 

Beckman, Her\'ey. 

la marsh 8- 



INVOICE OF TOWN 



381 



Beckman, Lemuel S. 

8a flats $50 

BoYD^ George H. 

la marsh 8 

Brown, John L. 

8a pasture 120 

10a tillage 300 

la marsh 8 

7a marsh 56 

■Chase, Jeremiah F. 

24a pasture 360 

Evans, Charles A., Estate of. 
2|a marsh 20 

Eaton, Constance E. 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh 10 

Fogg, Augustus. 

2a woodland 20 

wood 100 

2|a marsh 20 

Fogg, John D. 

8a marsh 64 

Gove, Alvin, Heirs. 

6a marsh 48 

Green, Frank H. 

12a pasture 180 

Keene, Mary D. 

la marsh 8 

Locke, Frank E. 

2ja marsh 18 

4a marsh 32 

Locke, Lucinda. 

2|a marsh 18 

Locke, John W., Estate of. 

8a marsh 64 

2a marsh 16 

3a marsh 24 



Locke, Sarah E. 

l^a marsh $12 

McAllister, John D. 

4a homestead 140 

buildings 800 

4a pasture 60 

§a tillage 18 

Perkins, Samuel, Estate of. 

2a marsh 16 

Small, Moses B., Estate of. 

2a rnarsh 16 

Smith, Adin. 

2a marsh 16 

Tucker, J. M. S., Estate of. 

4a marsh 32 

2a marsh 10 

Turner, Lewis. 

ka, building lot 25 

Walton, Samuel, Jr. 

2a marsh 10 

We ARE, Alice M. 

6a marsh 48 

WooDBURN, Joseph S. 

6a marsh 48 

SOMERVILLE, MaSS. 

Green, Henry W. 

1 |a homestead 75 

I building 1,000 

6a pasture and wood 120 

Ija farm land 8 

Wakefield, Mass. 
Dow, Herbert L. 

lia marsh 12 



INDEX OF NAMES 



ABBOTT 

Abiel, Rev. 167 

Ebenezer 48 

Ephraim, Rev. 47, 140 

George 48 

Harriett Elizabeth 367 

Jacob, Rev. 41, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 

48, 52, 71, 75, 138, 141, 153, 233, 

256 
Parson 166, 167 
"Priest" 143 
Sarah French 362 
Serene T., Rev. 10, 57, 153, 243, 283, 

297, 298, 362 
AIKEN 

Mary Dodge 143, 228, 320 
Walter 320 
AKERMAN 
Annie 176 
Charles 282 
Charles E. 269, 296 
Charles I. 161, 195 
Charles P. 176, 206, 294, 319 
Chase 282 
John C, Mrs. 197 
Joseph, Lieut. 179, 282 
Meshech 176, 287 
ALDEN 

Timothy, Jr. 138 
ALLEN 
John 145 
AMBROSE 
Alice 22 
ANDREW 
John A. 307 
ANDROS 

Edmond, Sir, Gov. 336 
APPLETON 
Daniel 198 
Rev. 46 
ATKINSON 



William C, Hon. 
AVERILL 
Luke 280 



166 



B 

BACHILER (See Batchelder) 
Stephen 5, 305 
BAILEY (See Bayley) 
Stephen 140 
BAREFOOT 
Walter 22 
BARNARD 

Thomas, Rev. 24, 25, 27 
BARTLETT 

Hartwell J., Rev. 164, 217 
BARTON 
C. 193 
BASFORD 
Jacob 11 

BATCHELDER (See Bachiler) 
Aaron 281 

Abigail Drake 194, 227, 321 
Adeline Farnham 322 
Arthur D. 231 
Benjamin 11 

David 56, 78, 135, 194, 294 
David F. 194 
Deacon 20 
Elizabeth 227 
Emery 78, 244, 282 
John 157, 209, 282 
John T. 157 
Josiah 19, 20, 55, 78, 147 
Josiah, Mrs. 201 

Moses 218, 227, 243, 253, 281, 321 
Moses Drake 227 
Moses Emery 218, 321 
Nathaniel 4, 14, 55, 78, 173, 175, 215 
Nathaniel J. 173 
Nathaniel N. 197, 215 
Reuben 78, 282 
Rhoda 235 



38-t 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



BATCHELDER (coiU.) 

Samuel 194, 281, 285, 322 

Simeon 322 

Stephen 3-4, 5, 305 

Susanna 12 

Warren H. 17, 78 

BAYLEY (See Bailey) 

Edmund Dea 27 

John 26 

Josiah 24, 25, 54, 128 

BELKNAP 

Doctor 264 

BELL 

Governor 277 

BENNETT 

Edward 285 

BENTLEY 

Joseph 155, 198 

BIRTWELL 

Charles W. 12, 211 

BLAKE 

Abigail 12 

Enoch 287 

Ira 222, 230 

Jasper 4 

Jeremiah 56 

John T. 252 

Major 176 

Mary Susan 231 

Naomi 12 

Philemon 11, 119 

Sarah 12 

Timothy 11 

Widow 144 

BLANCHARD 

Colonel 43 

BLUMPEY 

Mr. 278 

BO.\RDMAN 

Joseph, Rev. 59 

BOWLES 

Samuel 307 

BOW^L\N 

James 283 

BOYD 

Charles 208 

BRALEY 

Henry K., Hon. 166 



BRIDGE 

A. M., Rev. 43, 56, 73, 136, 153. 174 

BRIGGS 

Principal 271 

BPvOWN 

Aliraliain 277 

AUce 239, 277 

Andrew J. 175 

Ann 127 

Arthur W. 200, 201, 202, 206, 210, 

213, 216, 220, 222, 225, 227, 294, 323 
Barber 283 
Benjamin 283, 301 
Billy, Uncle 155, 205, 234, 258 
Charles B. 176, 231 
Charles Rufus 324 
Charles T. 155,211,229,288 
Clarence T. 155, 156, 179, 201, 223 
Cyrus 153, 255, 256, 283, 301 
Cyrus, Mrs. 203 
Edward J. 78 
EUzabeth Lane 222 
Ellen J., Mrs. 197 
Ehdra Latham Small 324 
Emmons 222 
Emmons, Rev. 324 
Eunice 175 
Forest F. 206 
Fred 277 
George 175 
George C. 78, 325 
George D., Mrs. 197 
George H. 70 
Harry Benson 326 
Harry P. 294 
Hugh 197 

Jacob 154, 176, 260, 281 
Jacob T. 235, 256 
James D. 78, 196, 219, 349 
James D., Mrs. 196 
J. Emmons, Mrs. 42 
James Howard 78, 164, 177, 222, 

225, 227, 294, 295 
Jeremiah 175, 280 
John 135, 258, 278, 301, 306 
John, Jr. 278 
John A. 154, 222, 228 
John B. 281, 293 



INDEX OF NAMES 



385 



BROWN (cont.) 

John J. 78 

John J., Mrs. 196, 301 

John T. 143, 163, 164, 168 

Johnathan 175 

Josiah 279 

Joseph 194, 205 

Joseph, Mrs. 195 

Lawyer 261, 267, 283 

Levi 277 

Lowell 283, 301 

Lowell, Jr. 153, 256, 301 

Lucila H., Mrs. 222 

Mary E. Melun 223 

Michael 258 

Mildred 178, 208, 356 

Moses 261, 283 

Nathan 203, 281 

Nehemiah 127 

Neighbor 280 

Newell 250, 301 

Noah 277 

Old Balsam 283 

Robert 214 

Ruth 12 

Samuel 222, 279, 283, 325 

Sarah Gertrude Norris 230, 318, 

323, 326 
Sarah Lane 325 
Sarah Lowell 301 
Sewell 223, 252, 273, 277 
Stanton L. 206 
Stephen 233 
Theodate 175 
Theodore 175 
Thomas 155, 201, 227, 254, 256, 

260, 268, 280, 288, 290 
Warren 4, 78, 159, 173, 177, 178, 

180, 197, 210, 230, 292, 294, 315, 

323, 326, 356 
WiUiam 4, 11, 49, 60, 67, 70, 78, 

142, 205, 206, 260, 281 
William H. 206 
Zephaniah 279 
BUCKMINSTER 
Rev., Dr. 46 
BURNHAM 
William, Dr. 331 
26 



BURT 
Fedaral 140 
BUTLER 

Robert 179 



CALDWELL 

Fanny, Miss 73, 167, 235 

George C. 73, 235, 239 

Jacob, Rev. 56, 72, 167, 234, 280 

CAMPBELL 

T. Clark 161, 162 

CARTLAND 

Moses 334 

CHADWICK 

Rev. 139 

CHANDLER 

WiUiam E. 170 

CHANNING 

WiUiam EUery 308 

CHASE 

A. K. 211 

Andrew J. 261,285 

Arthur W. 161, 199, 245, 251, 294 

Charles F. 154, 218, 244, 260, 283, 

285 
Charles F., Mrs. 211 
Chevy P., Mrs. 230 
Hannah 334 
John 285 
John G. 284 
CHEEVEY 
George 301 
CHESLEY 
Hannah 272 
CHESTERMAN 
F. P. 205 
CILLEY 
James A. 232 
CLARKE 

Francis Edward 298, 361 
Francis Edward, Mrs. 58, 362 
Harriet EUzabeth Abbott 362 
Mary Byard 364 
Mary D. 364 
William 364 
CLIFFORD 
Deborah 11, 14 



386 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



CLIFFORD (cont.) 




Joseph B. 199, 204, 279, 294, 328 


Elizabeth 11- 




Lucy Ellen Blake 328 


Israel 1 1 




Mary and Mary W. 12 


John 11 




Nehemiah Porter 135, 245, 278 


COCHRAN 




Ralph Adams 179, 239 


Aleck 153, 155 




Sarah 12 


COCKBURN 




Sarah Blake 392 


Samuel 288 




Thomas 11 


COFFIN 




William A., Rev. 77, 165, 179, 209, 


Aaron 222, 254, 327 




239, 279, 329 


Morrill Marston 235, 236, 257, 


327 


\Ailliam A., :Mrs. 280 


Peter, Rev. 25, 36 




William Everett 329 


Sabrina Marston 327 




CRAMPTON 


COLBY 




George W. 288 


Governor 262 




CRANFIELD 


Zaccheus 39 




Governor 5 


COLEMAN 




CREIGHTON 


Anna 22 




James, Mrs. 193 


COOMBS 




CROSBY 


Charles F. 220, 222, 225, 227, 


294, 


Abigail 144 


295 




Charles H. 221 


COOPER 




Ellen 221 


Hannah 127 




Jeremiah 140 


COPELAND 




Thomas 9 


Nelson 215 




CROWINGSHIELD 


COPP 




Rev. 74 


A. G. 231 




CUMMINGS 


COTTON 




Jacob 141 


John, Rev. 5, 6, 9 




CURTIS 


Mary (Gedney) 10, 12 




Dorothy A. Janvrin 330, 331 


Seaborn, Rev. 4, 5, 9 




George J. 176, 218, 220, 294, 330, 331 


Theophilus, Rev. 9, 10, 11, 12, 


, 14, 


Sarah Allen 331 


15, 16, 36, 71, 118, 119, 120 




Sarah D. 331 


Ward, Rev. 9 




Simeon 331 


COWELL 




William Waldo, M. D. 193, 330, 331 


John, Rev. 26 




GUSHING 


CRAM 




Rev. 11, 12, 18 


Benjamin F. 280 






Catherine A. 235 




D 


Elizabeth 12 




DALTON 


Ellen T. 158, 219 




Millard L. 230 


Harriett 235 




Millard L. 295 


Jacob A. 296 




Samuel R. 211 


Jacob N. 239 




Timothy, Rev. 2, 3 


John 11, 157 




DAVIDSON 


John S. 328 




William 161 


John S., Mrs. 222 




DEARBORN 


Jonathan 33, 131, 233 




Edward, Dr. 273 



INDEX* OF NAMES 



387 



DEARBORN (cont.) 

Nathaniel 278 

Samuel Wesley 214 

DICKERMAN 

Lysander, Rev. 303 

DINSMORE 

Captain 48 

DOCKMAN 

Warren 284 

DODGE 

Arthur M. 296 

Charles N. 118, 202, 209, 223, 294, 

332 
Clarissa Locke 324 
George H. 67, 142, 153, 174, 234, 

243, 245, 284 
Harriet D. 224 
Harriet Hadley 332 
Harriet Perkins 324 
James 283 
James D. 332 
John Wilham 224, 228, 245, 261, 

284, 320, 324 
Nathaniel 138 
Oliver A. 296 

Richard 67, 70, 142, 261, 284 
Sarah Elizabeth 340 
Stephen 261, 283 
William H. 296 
DOW 

Hannah 335 
John A. 217 
John A., Mrs. 218 
Joseph, Major 50, 76, 279 
Joseph W., Rev. 50, 76 
Moses, Rev. 50 
Moses B. 50 
Polly 233, 279 
Zebulon 154, 282 
DOYLE 
Peter Y. 231 
DREW 
Eliza 225 
Lois Prescott 225 
Timothy 287 
Timothy P. 225 
DUNKLEE 
Harriett Perkins 320 



DUTCH 

Ebenezer, Rev. 38, 134 

E 
EATON 
LaRoy 155 
Mehitable, Mrs. 57 
Oliver 21 
EDWARDS 
Jonathan, Rev. 52 
ELKINS 
Albert W. 294 
Benjamin 201, 223, 294 
John W. 211 
ELLIOTT 
Charles W. 16Q 
EMERSON 
Ralph Waldo 306 
EjNIERY 
Noah 34 
EVANS 

D. H., Rev. 166 
George A. 208 



FAIRBANKS 

M. 283 

FARLEY 

Harriet 72 

Stephen, Rev. 56, 71 

FARMER 

Walter B. 226,288,348 

FARRAR 

Timothy Hoyt 37 

FIFIELD 

Abigail 145 

Deacon 20 

Jonathan 19, 55 

Margaret 145 

Mary 12 

Ruth 145 

Samuel 145 

FINLEY 

Everett F., Rev. 74 

FISK 

Rev. 45 

FITCH 

Rev. 42 



388 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



209 
19, 26, 36, 130 



331 



164 



293 



46, 58, 297 



FLETCHER 

G. 281 

FOGG 

Abbie A. 339 

Ezra C., Mrs. 

Jeremiah, Rev. 

Richard 284 

Samuel 244, 260, 284 

FORBES 

John M. 306 

FORD 

Lavinia, Dr. 

FORTIER 

Joseph 202 

FOX 

George 21 

FRAZER 

Daniel, Rev. 

FRENCH 

Henry F., Judge 

John 259 

Jonathan, Rev. 

Martha 144 

Sarah 297 

G 
GAGE 

Nathaniel, Rev. 49 
GALLINGER 
Jacob F. 224 
GEDNEY 

Mary 10 

GILMAN 

Rev. 123 

GODFREY 

Horaoe 179, 198, 333 

Jeremiah, Major 252, 279, 333 

Sally Perkins 333 

GOOGIN 

Nathaniel, Rev. 11, 12, 16, IS, 26, 36 

GOODWIN 

George C. 78, 155 

JohnW. 140 

GOVE 

Aaron 67, 142, 260, 283 

Charles C. 153, 260, 283 

Edward 305, 334, 335, 336 

Ezekiel 155, 286 

Hannah 12 



Hannah Chase 330 

Hannah Titcomb 335 

Jeremiah 155 

John 7, 286, 334, 335 

Jonathan 127 

Martha J. Kenyon 335 

Sarah Abbie 12, 198, 335 

Sarah Philips (WeUs) 335 

GRAVES 

Mary Josephine 216 

GREEN 

Abraham 176, 300 

Frank S. 161, 337 

Isaac 11, 135 

Jacob 11 

Mary 12 

Micajah 227, 234 

Nancy Batchelder 337 

Orin b. 158, 206, 268 

Ruth 343 

Sarah 12 

Silas 279, 337 

Stephen 58, 209, 233, 279 

GRISWOLD 

Rev. 50 

GUYNAN 

JohnF. 212,294 

H 

HADLEY' 

Famil}' 156 

HALEY 

Frank, Rev. 59 

HAMILTON 

Han? 293 

Thankful 178 

HARDY 

Abbie A. (Fogg) 339 

Bradbury 285 

Charles 276,285 

Charles A. 78, 338, 339 

Charles N. 178 

Charles WilUam 178 

Green 285 

Jerome A. 339 

John 154, 202, 338 

Jonathan 144 

Lavina Ramsel 338 



INDEX OF NAMES 



389 



HARDY (cont.) 

Reuben 285, 338 

HARRIS 

Leander 218, 219 

Rev. 50 

HARTSHORN 

Hannah 144 

Jonathan 144 

HAWES 

David C. 155, 210 

HASKELL 

Job 28, 176 

Job, Jr. 176 

Mercy Leavitt 176 

HAVEN 

Rev. 46 

HAWTHORNE 306 

HEALEY 

Annie F. 209, 332 

George C. 200, 204, 218, 220, 288, 

294, 340 
George C, Mrs. 224 
Mary W. 205 
Nathaniel 34, 43, 137, 138 
Newell W. 8, 167, 216, 227, 288 
Sally 233,279 
Sarah EHzabeth Dodge 340 
Wells 56, 137, 153, 244, 245, 258, 

260, 290, 348 
Wells W. 57, 1 19, 143, 217, 280, 288, 

340 
Wells W., Mrs. 210 
HILLL\RD 
Benjamin 147 
Charles 252 
Manuel 4 
Timothy 147 
Walter 175 
Zebulon, Lieut. 144 
HILLS - 
William H. 256 
HINCKS 
President 118 
HOAG 
ElUs 285 
Green 78, 285 
HOAR 
Judge 306 



HOBBS 

Jeremiah 260 

Morris 260 

Obed 260 

HOLT 

Rev. 141 

HOPKINS 

William A. 265, 282 

HOWARD 

John 293 

HOWE 

Samuel G., Dr. 307 

HUBBARD 

Nathaniel 137 

HULL 

Elias, Rev. 31 

Stephen 139 

KURD 

Isaac 140 

HUSSEY 

Christopher 2, 55 



IRVING 

Wilham 156,215,258 



JACKSON 

L. M. 202 

JAMES 

Albert 205 

Henry 306 

Jeremiah 157 

Mary A. 205 

JANVRIN 

Annie Thompson 341 

Bertram T. 202, 215, 229, 294, 341 

Bertram T., Mrs. 229 

Clarence Eugene 221 

David 284, 342 

Dorothy A. 331 

Edwin 155, 202, 213, 222, 299, 341, 

342 
Edwin, Mrs. 214 
Edwin L. 230, 295 
Everett B. 231 
George 331 
James D. 221 



390 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



JANVRIN (cont.) 

Joshua 143, 153, 201, 284 

Mary Towle 342 

Sadie E. 169 

^Yilliam A. 227 

William E. 222, 225, 295 

JENNESS 

Levi 285 

JEWETT 

Henry, Rev. 50, 142 

JOHNSON 

Charles 205, 228, 284 

Obadiah 126 

Rufus 234 

Stephen 234 

JONES 

Abner 61 

John F. 343 

John F., Mrs. 228 

Moses 343 

Zebulon, Rev. 234, 271 

JORDAN 

Chester B. 173 

JOY 

Mr. 262 

K 
KENNEY 

John 145, 146 

KENYON 

^Martha J. 335 

KIMBALL 

Joseph, Rev. 57, 143, 164 

KNIGHT 

AbigaQ Dow 343 

Agnes R. 343 

Caleb 278 

Grace G. 343 

Henry Harrison 203, 343 

Levi 278 

Mildred F. 343 

Stephen 278 

Stephen T. 343 

KNOWLTON 

Ebenezer 28 

L 
LAFAYETTE 
■General 291 



LAMPREY 
Henry 126 
John P. 208 
LANE 

Annie 359 

Charles W. 76, 224 

Dearljorn 280 

Jeremiah 33, 41, 130, 136, 130. 140, 

255, 277, 286 
Joshua A. 208 

Levi 41, 140, 153, 235, 286, 345 
Levi Edwnn 345, 359 
Samuel 127, 144 
Samuel Drake 157 
LANG 
Lowell 144 
LANGDON 
Samuel, Rev. 20, 37, 39, 44, 48, 

135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 140, 153. 

169 
LANTZ 
H. 202 
LAWRENCE 
Michael 28 
LEARNED 
John C, Rev. 74 
LEAVITT 
Benjamin 144 
Esquire 260, 286 
Joseph Melcher 307 
Louisa A. 307 
Thomas 49, 176, 245, 250 
LEE 

Lydia 299 
LINEHAN 
John C, Col. 173 
LORD 
Frank H. 206, 211, 213, 216. 220, 

222, 225, 227, 230, 294 
LOTHROP 
Daniel, Mrs. 310 
Rev. 142 
LOWELL 
John, Rev. 24, 36 
Sarah 301 

M 
MACE 
John 161, 208 



INDEX OF NAMES 



391 



MARCH 

Rev. 17, 120 

MARSH 

Alfred 156, 260, 281 

Richard 156, 260, 281 

MARSHALL 

Abigail, Mrs. 282 

Gideon 282 

John 194, 282 

John J. 235 " 

Robert 282 

MARSTERS 

John M. 77, 282 

Woodbury 261, 282 

MARSTON 

Dearborn 331 

Sarah 258, 281 

Sarah Curtis 331 

MATHER 

Cotton, Rev. 10 

MAYO 

Herbert 302 

Joseph 302 

McAllister 

Hugh 293 • 

McLOUD 
Mr. 251 
McDANIEL 
Rev. 74 
McDEVITT 

William H. 155, 215, 230, 294 
McIVEEN 
Margaret 193 
McLANE 
John, Hon. 173 
MELCHER 
Joseph 210, 277 
Mary 178 

Samuel 135, 178, 244, 277 
MERRILL 
Aaron 268 
Betty 286 
Charles J. 202 
Daniel 233 
Enoch 346 
Frank 196 

George F. 196, 202, 209, 223, 294, 
346 



George S. 178, 203, 256 

Lowell F. 154 

Mary E. Jones 346 

Phoebe 203 

SaUy 286 

T. Ellis 28 

William T. 296 

MILTMORE 

Rev. 44, 45, 138 

MILTON 

Mr. 233 

MORGAN 

Deborah 12 

John 11 

MOORE 

G. A., Mrs. 301 

MORRILL 

Jonathan 285 

Richard 285 

MORTON 

Mr. 23, 125 

MOULTON 

Benjamin 157 

Captain 135, 252 

EUzabeth Brown 157 

George 78, 364 

Howard T. 161,212 

Howard T., Mrs. 212 

Jonathan, Col. 38 

Joseph 278 

Joseph W. 214 

Joseph W., Mrs. 225 

Nathan 178, 260, 266, 277 

Samuel 277 

Thomas 157, 278 

Thomas G., Mrs. 225 

MURKLAND 

President 173 

MUSSY 

Widow 118 

N 
NASON 

Charles A., Gen. 174, 276, 285, 346 
David 135 
George 285 

Jonathan, Maj. 276, 285, 347 
Mary Gordon 347 
Richard 147 



392 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



NEWMARCH 

Madam 16 

NICKERSON 

Rev. 74 

NOYES 

Jacob 57, 233 

Nathaniel 130 

NUDD 

Benjamin 144, 267 

David 268 

Stacy 283 

O 
ODLIN 

Rev. 10, 12, 18 
OSGOOD 
Xahum 240 

P 
PAGE 

Abel 175, 197 
Isaiah 179, 283 
Herbert 213 
Herbert J. 216, 2.94 
PAINE 

George Moore 234 
PALMER 
Edward 126 
PARKER 
Theodore 309 
PARKMAN 
Dr. 47 
PARSONS 
Rev. 18 
PRATT 

George H., Rev. 59 
PEABODY 
Andrew P., Rev. 72 
PEARSON 
Emma 239 
Nellie 239 
PELON 
Joseph 232 
PERKINS 
Enoch 280 
Harriet 320 
John L. 282 
Jonathan 136 
Jonathan L. 43 
Joseph 280 



Lewis 280 

Nancy 280 

Nathaniel 283 

Sarah 247, 280 

PERLEY 

Samuel Rev. 30, 130, 301 

PEROSE 

Lucy 272 

PERVEAR 

Angelina 229 

Burnham 154 

Daniel 78, 224, 286 

Edwin 155 

Jeremiah 176 

Joseph 285 

Philip 121 

Noyes 144 

Samuel 229, 285 

Samuel L. 264 

Sylvanus B. 155, 202 

Warren B. 78, 230 

Warren B... Mrs., 219 

PHILBRICK 

Esquire 292 

George A. 20 

James 118 

John 118 

Mary 12 

Thomas 118 

PHILLIPS 

Daniel B. 197 

WendeU 306 

PICKERING 

Eunice 36 

Timothy 36 

PIKE 

Benjamin 145 

Daniel P. 77 

Edward D. 75, 156, 196, 215, 281 

James 281 

Joshua 233, 260, 277, 302 

Nathan 156, 281 

PLERAN 

John 228 

PLUMB 

Rev. 50 

POLAND 

James W., Rev. 284 



INDEX OF NAMES 



39a 



POPHAM 

John S. 140 
PORTER 

Huntington, Rev. 46 
John 282 
PRATT 
Miss 175 
PRESCOTT 
Aaron 287, 348 
Abigail 12 
Alvah D. 225 
Alvin J. 78 
Arthur T. 349 
Charles Edwin 349 
Edwin 348 
EUsha 131 
Elizabeth 12 
Ellen F. Thompson 349 
Elvin J. 166, 239 
Harriett Ann Maria 224 
Henry 218 
> James 8, 11, 14, 56, 118, 119, 140, 
145, 287, 290, 348 
Josiah D. 175 
Lewis F. 215 
Lucy Maria 348, 349 
Mariah 12 
Mary T. 235 
Samuel 131 
Sarah Pike 350 
Simeon 287 
Smith 233, 287 
True 287 

True M. 71, 224, 244, 350 
Warren James 350 
William 33, 131 
PUTNAM 
Dr. 50 
PUTNEY 
Henry M. 173 



R 



RAND 
Rev. 50 
RANDALL 
Samuel 146 
RIORDAN 
Dennis 293 



ROBBINS 

W. A. 300 

ROBERTS 

Mark 276 

ROBIE 

Edward, Rev. 52 

Henry 28, 129, 134, 153, 286, 351 

Ichabod, Col. 17 

Nathan 153, 286 

Nathan Henry 351 

Sarah Towle 351 

ROBINSON 

Henry 302 

Jonathan, Mrs. 196 

ROE 

Robert 119 

ROGERS 

Rev. 12 

ROLF 

Moses H. 203 

ROPES 

Rev. 142 

ROWE 

Dr. 267 

Ensign 144 

Jacob 157 

Pain 299 

ROWLAND 

W. F., Rev. 44, 45, 46, 50, 138 

RUNDLETT 

Climena 349 

RUNNELLS 

Judith 277 

S 
SANBORN 
Aaron 250, 280 
Abner 33, 55, 137, 287 
Annie Leavitt 213 
Benjamin 14, 55, 280 
Caleb 20, 147 

Charles H., M. D. 213, 235, 296 
Daniel 127-147 
Deacon 144 
Dolly 144 
Fannie Ward 212 
Francis 310 

Frank Benjamin 1, 166, 239, 305, 
306,311,335 



394 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



SAXBORX (cont.) 

Fred P. 4, 155, 177, 205, 209, 210, 294 

George Berrj' 353 

Grant B. 201, 348 

Helen M. 215 

James H., Mrs. 206 

Jeremiah W. 276 

John 279 

John Chandler 227, 354 

John Elmer 194, 202, 206, 210, 294 

John Newell 177, 210, 355 

John P. 354 

Jonathan 14 

Joseph 75, 222, 305 

Joseph L. 239 

Joseph T. 256 

Levi 233, 250, 286, 294, 353 

Levi N. 199, 202, 206, 233 

Le\d, Mrs. 240 

Lewis T. 136, 153, 193 

M. Abbie 204 

Margaret 14 

Mary Ann 222 

Mary A. P. 203 

J\Iary Berry 355 

Meliitable 14 

Nancy 279 
Nathaniel 11 
Prescott 287 
Rufus C. 278, 292 
Sally Cram 228, 354 
Sarah E. 235 
Thayer 261, 282 
Thayer S. 244 
Thomas L. 235 
SARGENT 
Samuel P. 206 
SCOONES 
William 21 
SCOTT 
David 145 
SEVERANCE 
Jonathan 235 
SHAW 

Deacon 13, 119 
Deborah 12 
Edward 292 
Elizabeth 12, 23 



Elroy G. 210, 213, 294 

Esther 12 

Linus H.,.Rev. 44, 46, 56, 72 

Malachi 144 

Samuel 11, 12, 20, 55, 138, 201 

SLEEPER 

John N. 256 

Margaret Sanborn 14 

SMART 

Nathaniel 145, 146 

SMITH 

Albert S., Mrs. 201 

Ehas 46, 75 

Jeremiah 305 

John 120, 285 

Josiah 211, 218, 285 

Mary Ann 218 

SPICER 

Anne Higginson 311 

SPOFFORD 

Harriet Prescott 165 

STANION 

Anthony 118 

Jacob 127, 147 

STEARNS 

Principal 271 

STEVENS 

Leo 207 

Raymond N. 207, 224 

STONE 

Thomas T., Rev. 73 

STOW^E 

Harriet Beecher 2 

SULLO^^•AY 

Cyrus N. 224 

SUNDERLAND 

David, Rev. 57, 142 

SWALN 

Belle Fitts 356 

Frank B. 356 

Mildred Brown 178 

Nahum 178 

Roscoe F. 178, 208, 356 

William 356 

SWETT 

Benjamin 23, 125, 147, 298 

Daniel 147 

David 299 



INDEX OF NAMES 



395 



SWETT (cont.) 
Hannah 297 
Jonathan 28 
Joseph 299 
Sarah 12, 299 



T 



TAYLOR 

Anthony 293 

TEMPLE 

WiUiam H. 202, 225 

TENNEY 

Rev. 50 

THAYER 

Martha 47 

THOMPKINS 

Mary 22 

THOMPSON 

Levi 349 

WilHam H. 201, 213, 216, 218, 294 

THRESHER 

Henry 176 

J.s?ph 176 

THURSTON 

James 50 

Mr. 138 

Rev. 39, 44, 50 

TILDEN 

Maria A. 302 

TILTON 

Alex 12 

Caleb 56, 140, 145, 155, 284, 357 

David 157 

Dean R. 278 

Eben 279 

Enoch J. 357 

Henry E. 176 

Jethro 118 

John 33, 76 

Jonathan 34, 127, 130, 155 

Joseph 1 1 

Lucy Sanborn 357 

Margaret 12 

Mariah 12 

Mehitable 12 

Nathan 131, 139 

Peter 157, 278 

Peter G. 278 

Weare D. 279 



TITCOMB 

Hannah 335 

TOBIE 

Richard 176 

TOPPAN 

Christopher G. 223 

TOWLE 

Caleb 252, 276, 281, 358 

Elbridge 281 

Emmons Brown 227, 358 

LydiaB. 227 

Mr. 145 

Oliver 281 

Sarah Swain 35S 

Wniiam 286 

TOWNSEND 

Charles 43 

TREADWELL 

Charles 299, 300 

John 299, 300 

Sarah 299, 300 

TRERE 

Rev. 50 

TRUE 

John M. 175, 197 

TRUESDALE 

James 211, 293 

TUCK 

Henry C. 216 



U 



USHER 
Governor 118 

VALENTINE 
Elijah 256 



W 



WADLEIGH 
Charles F. 359 
Frances M. 200 
Hetty A. Marshall 359 
Joseph D. 293 
LawTence E. 230-295 
WiUiam H., Capt. 359 
WAINWRIGHT 
Mehitable 23 
WALKER 
Ariana 305, 306 



396 



HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 



WALKER (conl.) 

James 305 

\YALTON 

William E. 229 

William E., Mrs. 225 

William H. 294 

W^ARD 

Abel 178 

Jonathan 57, 157 

Thomas 127, 178 

WEXRE 

Benjamin Franklin 360 

Benjamin Franklin, Mrs. 216 

Clarissa 227 

Colonel 14 

George Austin 213 

Hannah 282 

John 227, 254, 286, 360 

Joseph H. 67, 142, 210, 216, 220, 

234, 294 
Lydia Buzzell 360 
Mary 12 
Meshech 20, 23, 33, 34, 43, 50, 76, 

123, 132, 133, 134, 137, 147, 201, 

279, 282 
Nathaniel 7, 11, 12, 55 
Peter 11 

Samuel 134, 136, 144 
WEBSTER 
Daniel 281, 305 
John White 47 
Joseph 204 
Rev. 46 
\\'ELLS 
Aaron 290 
Hannah 282, 335 
Joseph 335 
Moses 178, 286, 335 
Sarah Phillips 335 
WHEELWRIGHT 
John, Rev. 4 
WHIPPLE 
Ehzabeth 24 
Joseph, Rev. 18, 23, 24, 25, 97, 120, 

121, 123, 124, 125, 128 



WHITE 

Andrew D. 309 

Charles L. 164 

WHITMAN 

Rev. 142 

WIGGLESWORTH 

Rev. 18 

WILBUR 

-Vrthur T. 154 

John 335 

WILLIAMS 

J. Freeman 156 

Peter 145 

Robert F. 257 

Sally 175 

Simon 31 

Walter 147, 175 

WILSON 

James 230 

WING 

Otis 244, 282 

"V^^NGATE 

Joshua, Capt. 120 

Paine, Rev. 28,^33, 34, 36, 48. 52^. 

130, 131, 132, 133, 136 
WINSLOW 
Simon 284 
WITHINGTON 
Leonard 140 
WOOD 
Rev. 50 
WORCESTER 
Samuel, Rev.'^ 297 
WORTH 
Joseph 1^, 56 
WRIGHT 
A. 202 
John 157 
Oliver 157 



YEATON 

Mr. 232 

YOUNG 

Enoch P. 213, 260 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 

PAGE 

Abbott, Rev. Abiel, one of founders of first free library in America. ... 167 

Rev. Jacob, accepts call 44 

account of drowning 48 

becomes a Unitarian 47 

chairman, school committee, 1801 47 

church record 47 

1826 141 

dismissed, 1827 46 

drowned, 1834 14 

founds social library 47 

introduces grafting fruit trees 47, 256 

letter of acceptance 44 

marriage of 47 

ordained 45 

removes to Windham 48 

succeeds Rev. Mr. Langdon 41 

settles in Windham 141 

tutors for Harvard College 47 

Rev. Sereno T., arranges Fourth of July celebration 298 

builds house 298 

compiles records 58 

church record 297 

daughter marries Francis E. Clark 298 

dies, 1855 298 

saves church record 298 

sketch of 297 

supt. of schools 298 

Academy bell 234 

hall, lectures in . 174 

used for drilling, 1861 174 

Rockingham 271 

Acceptance, letter of Rev. Josiah Bailey 25 

Jacob Abbott 44 

Account of building Long Bridge at Ri vermouth, Hampton 173 

dedication exercises of new library 164 

drowning of Rev. Jacob Abbott 48 

Address of Rev. WilUam A. Cram at Ubrary dedication 165 

Hon. Henry K. Braley at library dedication 166 

Rev. D. H. Evans at library dedication 166 

Rev. E. J. Prescott at library dedication 166 

Rev. Chas. L. White at library dedication 164 

Addresses at dedication of Long Bridge at Hampton by N. J. Batchel- 
der, Governor Jordan, Col. John C. Linehan, President Murk- 
land, Henry M. Putney 1"3 



398 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Adoption of half way eonvenant 51 

Additional salarj' voted Rev. Joseph Whipple 18 

Advent excitement in 1843 78 

Advertisement for first horse show held in America 152 

Aeronaut Leo Stevens lands at Hampton 207 

Agents chosen to oppose petition to incorporate Falls parish 120 

Aiken, Mary Dodge, biographical sketch 320 

dies 228 

Akerman, Chase and Charles, shoemakers 282 

Charles E., physician 282-29& 

Charles I., appointed rural mail carrier 161 

l)eginning rural free mail delivery 19& 

biographical sketch 175, 319 

Charles P., dies 209 

illustration 319 

representative 294 

selectman 206-294 

John C, Mrs., dies 197 

Joseph, Lieut., first names Murray's Row '. . 179 

selectman, 1817 282 

Alternate preaching voted, 1776 133 

American Baptist Publication Society 68 

An ancient saddle 301 

Andros, Governor, overthrown 336 

Ananias club purchases building, 1915 178 

Applecrest farm ^ 288, 289 

Apple grafting 47 

Apple growing 257 

Apple shipper, Thayer Sanborn 261 

Appleton, Daniel, dies 198- 

Apple trees first grafted by Rev. Jacob Abbott 47 

Architect Cram, U. S. Militarj* Academy 239 

Arminians belief 61 

Arrangement with L^nitarian Society, 1866 74 

Atkinson, Hon. W. C. T., address of 16& 

Attempt to incorporate town of New Hampton Falls 39 

defeated 13& 

settle Robiestown (Weare), 1750 176 

Attendants at Line Church 233 

Authoress, Alice Brown 277 

Bachiler, Stephen, founder of Hampton 305 

Bailey, Rev. Charles R 70 

Bailey, Rev. Josiah, accepts call 25 

chosen as pastor, 1757 128 

dies 129 

ordained pastor, Hampton Falls church 25 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS " 399 

PAGE 

Bailey, Rev. Josiah, ordained to succeed Rev. Joseph Whipple 24 

see Bay ley. 

Baker route Stevens 276 

Balloon from Pittsfield lands at William H. Brown's pasture 206 

newspaper account of landing 207 

Baptisms by Rev. Joseph Whipple 97-117 

Baptismal covenant 15 

Baptist Church, the 67 

Bartlett, Rev. Mr., pastor 70 

Beaman, Rev. Mr., settled 70 

bell presented by Mrs. John W. Dodge 68 

Briggs, Rev. Mr., preaches 69 

Brown, John T., presents clock 68 

Brown, Rev. S. E., pastor 70 

building committee " 67, 142 

Burgess, Rev. Mr 70 

Calvin 62 

clock presented 68 

ceases to practice close communion 70 

closed, 1868-1870 70 

Colburn, Rev. Alfred, pastor 70 

communion service presented by Mary Nancy Dodge . 67 

Cook, Rev. Samuel, preaches 69 

cost 67 

death of last original member in 1879 70 

dedicates new meeting house, 1836 67 

difficulties 49 

Driven, Rev. John M., pastor 70 

exempted from ministry tax, 1809 140 

formed in Seabrook in 1859 70 

horse sheds erected 68 

Jones, Rev. Zebulon, pastor, 1843-1851 68 

joint pastorate 70 

Law, Rev. E. B., preaches 70 

lecture course given in 174 

list of pastors, 1856-1917 70 

preachers and suppUes, 1830-1835 175, 208 

moved and raised in 1892 67 

movement first begun in town 49 

in 1802 61 

organized, 1764 30 

1826 67 

parsonage occupied by Charles Treadwell 299 

Parker, Rev. Mr., pastor, 1917 70 

pastors 271 

pastor. Rev. Otis Wing 282 

petition for tax exemption 61 



400 HISTORY OF HAMPTOX FALLS 

PAGE 

Baptist Church, Poland, Rev. J. W., preaches 69 

repaired, 1859 67 

societj' presented with bell by Mrs. J. \V. Dodge 76 

Pubhcation Soeietj- 68 

represented in 1832 by one-ninth taxable property. ... 70 

reported as strictly temperate in 1836 68 

Ropes, Rev. Timothy, installed pastor 67 

sketch of 69 

sewing circle 249 

Society holds meetings in old Presbyterian meeting 

house 67 

meet in Rockingham hall 67 

of Seal)rook and Hampton Falls 67 

Snell, Rev. Mr., pastor, 1897 249 

Stearns, Rev. Mr., preaches 69 

Stowe, Rev. Baron, presents Bible to 67 

Stratton, Rev. Frank K., pastor, 1864 70 

supply pastor. Rev. James W. Poland 284 

temperance question in 1840 70 

Watchman 249 

Wakeman, Rev. W. W., pastor, 1897 70 

Walker, Rev. William H., pastor, 1864-67 70 

withdrawals from 46 

win suit for e.xemption 49 

Wing, Otis, preaches 69 

Wood, Rev. John E 69 

Barley raised 271 

Barn of John Allen Brown burned, 1866 154 

Nathaniel Batchelder struck by lightning 175, 197 

Joseph Bentley burned, 190 

Zebulon Dow burned, 1879 154 

Godfrey place unroofed 217 

W. W. Ilealey place unroofed 217 

Walter Hilliard struck by Ughtning 175 

WilUam Irving struck by Ughtning 215 

burns, 1910 156 

Joshua Janvrin burns, 1845 284 

Abel Page struck by lightning 175 

and house of Pervear homestead burn, 1874 and 1897 154 

Josiah Prescott struck by lightning in 1906 175 

John M. True and Abel Page struck by lightning 175, 197 

Governor Weare place burned, 1879 154 

Barry, Elder Thomas F., ordained in 1839 63 

Bartlett, Rev. Hartwell J., dies 217 

Baseball at school 236 

Batchelder, Mrs. Abigail, dies 194 

Aaron, dies 281 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 401 

PAGE 

Batchelder, Arthur D., enlists in navy 231 

David F., elected representative 194 

1905-6 294 

Elizabeth, dies 227 

Emery, selectman 244 

selectman, 1842 282 

John, dies 192 

selectman, 1846 282 

Mrs., dies 209 

John T., drowns, 1879 157 

Josiah, chosen deacon 19 

Mrs., dies 201 

Moses, cuts down orchard in temperance movement 243 

representative, 1824 281 

biographical sketch 321 

Nathaniel, barn struck by lightning 1 75 

N. J., address at dedication of Long Bridge at Hampton .... 173 

Reuben, selectmen, 1912 282 

Samuel, abolitionist 281 

buys Fifield farm 285 

biographical sketch 322 

sawmill location, 1743 147 

Beef raising 250 

Bee keeping 260 

Bentley, Joseph, buildings burn 190 

dies 198 

Biographical Sketches , 313-364 

Of Mary Dodge Aiken 320 

Charles P. Akerman 319 

Moses Emery Batchelder 213 

Samuel Batchelder 322 

Arthur Warren Brown 323 

Charles Rufus Brown 324 

George Cyrus Brown 325 

Harry Benson Brown 326 

Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown 318 

Hon. Warren Brown 315 

Harriet Elizabeth Abbott Clark 362 

Dr. Francis Edward Clark 361-362 

Morrill Marston Coffin 327 

Joseph Blake Cram 328 

William Everett Cram 329 

George Janvrin Curtis 330 

Dr. William Waldo Curtis 331 

Charles Nealey Dodge 332 

Horace A. Godfrey 333 

John Harrison Gove 334 

27 



402 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Biographical Sketches (continued) 

Of Frank S. Green 337 

Charles A. Hardy 338 

Jerome A. JIardy 339 

George Clifford Healcy 340 

Bertram Thompson Janvrin 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight ^ 344 

Levi Edwin Lane 345 

George F. Merrill 346 

George Moulton 364 

Charles A. Nason 347 

Edwin Prescott 348 

^^'arren James Prescott 350 

Nathan Henry Robie 351 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

John Newell Sanborn 355 

Roscoe Franklin Swain 356 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

Emmons Brown Towle 358 

Charles F. Wadleigh 359 

Benjamin Franklin Weare 360 

Birch Island 267 

Birds, Varieties of 271 

Birth of Franklin Benjamin Sanborn 305 

Birtwell, Charles W., member school board 211 

Black grass 26ft 

Blacksmiths, 1840-1856 260 

Charles Chase & Son 28a 

expert job 260 

Richard and Alfred Marsh 260 

(Tiltons), 1667-1821 176 

work 259 

Blake, Mary Susan, dies 231 

Blake farm 287 

Blatchford house struck by lightning 197 

Blodgett, Rev. Julius C, preaches 63 

Bluefish caught in PLimpton River in 1866 174 

Boar's Head temperance meeting, 1844 243 

Boots, top, cowhide and rubber 247 

Boston Commonwealth edited by F. B. Sanborn in 1862 307 

Boulevard, Eastern, opened over Long Bridge 291 

Bounty voted to soldiers, 1777 133 

Boyd, Charles, killed by train 208 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 403 

PAGE 

Braley, Henry K., makes address at library dedication. , 166 

Bremers Islands 267 

Brickmaking 255 

Brick ovens 274 

Brick schoolhouse removed in 1842 141 

Bridge, Rev. A. M., becomes pastor 73 

death of 73 

secures lecturers 174 

Bridge, building of Long Bridge affects clam flats 173 

at Hampton 173 

dedication of Long Bridge at Hampton 173 

Brimmer, James, removes to Iowa 283 

Brown, Alice, authoress 239 

Arthur W., builds house 201 

marries Frances M. Wadleigh 200 

selectman 294 

sketch of . ; 323 

town treasurer. .202, 206, 210, 213, 216, 220, 222, 225, 227 

Billy Uncle, homestead burns 155 

Charles Rufus, biographical sketch 324 

Clarence, buildings burn 179 

Cyrus, brickmaker and storekeeper 255-283 

Mrs., dies 203 

Ellen F., Mrs., dies 197 

Emmons, Mrs., dies 222 

farm 286 

Forest F., completes cottage 206 

Mrs., dies 192 

George Cyrus, biographical sketch 325 

George D., Mrs., dies 197 

Harry Benson, biographical sketch 326 

dies 190 

illustration 326 

Harry P., selectman 210-294 

house burned, 1885 ; 288 

Hugh, dies 197 

Jacob and John B., money lenders 281 

Jacob T., appointed postmaster 256 

James D., dies 219 

James H., accepts library for trustees 164 

representative and library trustee 177-294 

selectman 222, 225, 227, 294, 295 

Jeremiah, sketch of 175 

John, carpenter and builder 278 

friendship for F. B. Sanborn 306 

saddle used on wedding journey in 1769 301 

Jr., selectman 278 



404 HISTORY OF HAMPTOX FALLS 

PAGE 

Brown, John Allen, dies 228 

John B., captain of militia 281 

first tile drain in town, 1852 293 

John E., collector 222 

John T., l)ought meeting house G6 

gift of library to Hampton Falls 1(34 

portrait of 168 

presents book cases to library 168 

l)uys Christian Baptist meeting house for library 163 

Joseph, dies 194 

Josiah, representative, 1833 279 

Joseph, Mrs., dies 195 

Lowell, shoe and watchmaker, postmaster 283 

appointed postmaster 256 

Luceba H., Miss, dies 222 

Mary Emeline, dies 223 

Michael, first Irishman in Hampton Falls 258 

Moses, goes to California in 1849 283 

*' Neighbor," sketch of 175 

Nehemiah, claims land of Thomas Ward and others 127 

Newell, cattle market 250 

Pike, murder. 1868 155 

Robert, dies 214 

Samuel, "Old Balsam" 283 

Sarah G., Mrs., dies 230 

Gertrude (Xorris), biographical sketch 318 

illustration 317 

Sewell, cobbler 252, 278 

Dr., dies : 273 

physician 273 

Browntail moths, damage by, 1904, 1905 197 

Brown, Thomas, fruit rai.ser, vinegar maker 280 

homestead burned 155 

homestead sold 201 

oracle in laying out marsh season 268 

Warren, chosen presidential elector 177, 210 

daughter marries Roscoe F. Swain 178 

installs electric lights and motor, 1905 177 

journal extracts, 1899-1916 180 

notified of establishment mail service 159 

president, Exeter, Hampton & Amesbury St. Ry. Co. 159, 160 

presides at dedication of Long Bridge 173 

illustration 316 

serves as moderator since 1896 294 

biographical sketch of 315 

William, affiliates with Calvin Baptist Church 62 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 405 

PAGE 

Brown, William, contributes to new meeting house 62 

dies 63-206 

requests dismissal 49-60 

lay preacher 281 

representative, 1820 281 

William H., builds house 205 

Building committee denied compensation 44-137 

of new meeting house 131 

of roads 253 

ships 277 

stone walls 246 

Buildings of C. Barton struck by lightning 193 

Joseph Bentley burn 155-190 

Clarence Brown burn 156, 179, 223 

Charles T. Brown estate burn 211 

Charles F. Chase burn 154 

Aleck Cockran burn 155 

LeRoy Eaton burn 155 

George E. Evans burn 208 

David C. Hawes burn 155 

John Mace burn 208 

Richard and Alfred Marsh burn 156 

Edward D. Pike place burn 215 

J. Freeman Williams burn 156 

Building of Long Bridge affects clam flats 173 

at Hampton 173 

Burnham tavern house 175 

Burial of Jacob Abbott 49 

Rev. Joseph Whipple 25 

Business of Charles M . Dodge sold 202 

Butler family name, 1726-1750 179 

Butter making 278 

Caldwell, George C, chemist 235, 237 

Rev. Jacob, ordained, 1841 72, 234 

ordination sermon 72 

removes from town, 1848 280 

California emigrants, 1849 261 

Andrew J. Chase, 1849 285 

Moses Brown, 1849 283 

Call extended to Rev. Jacob Abbott 44 

Josiah Bayley 25 

Zaccheus Colby 39 

Ebenezer Dutch 38 

not accepted by Ebenezer Dutch 38 

extended to Rev. Samuel Langdon 39 

Paine Wingate, Jr 28 



406 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Calvin Baptist Church 67-233 

Campbell, T. Clark, lays out R. F. D. route 162 

Canal, between Hampton River and Merrimack River, 1791 137 

Canal, Nuclei's 267 

Care exercised by selectmen avoiding town charges 172 

of roads and bridges and highway's 252, 253 

Carpenters, Charles C. Gove and Samuel Fogg 260 

Carpenter and builder, John Brown 278 

Catch of herring in Hampton River, 1901 174 

Cattle dealers and judges, Joseph and Samuel Melcher 277 

John Xewell Sanborn 355 

Levi Sanborn 286 

Cattle drover, Charles Hardy 276 

Gen. Charles A. Xason 276 

Maj. Jonathan Xason 276 

drovers 276 

market at X'ewell Brown's 250 

pasturing 276 

raising 250 

Celebration, Fourth of July, arranged by Rev. Sereno T. Abbott 298 

Cemeteries, private 261 

Chairman, selectmen, accepts library gift 164 

Chandler, W. E., U. S. Senator, secures guns from navy department for 

common 170 

Charges of the town, method of handling 171 

Chase, A. K., dies 211 

Andrew J., California emigrant 285 

dies 189 

Arthur W., selectman 199, 294 

Charles F., appointed station agent 244 

first depot master, 1849-1875 285 

Mrs., dies 211 

Chevy P., dies 186 

Mrs., dies 230 

John, selectman 285 

John G., pugilist 285 

& Son, blacksmiths 283 

Chemist, George C. Caldwell 235, 239 

Chesterman, F. P., marries Mary Healey 205 

Chest provided to keep papers and old records of the town, 1789 137 

Children and other persons baptised by Joseph Whipple, 1727-1754. . .97-117 

Christian Baptists 59-234 

Baptist Church sewing circle 249 

services 65 

meeting house built, 1805 140 

sold to John T. Brown for library pur- 
poses 163^ 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 407 

PAGE 

Christian Baptist meeting house used for blacksmith shop 259 

Society receives parsonage money in 1832 78 

chapel used for town meeting, 1844-1877 244 

denomination originated in 1793 and 1800 59 

builds meeting house in 1805 61 

Endeavor Society, founder, Dr. Francis Edwin Clark 361 

Herald 249 

Society ceases to hold meetings, 1860 63 

Church constitution adopted 64 

formed at Kingston 14 

founded at Hampton, 1638 1 

history of Hampton Falls 1 

journal previous to 1752 10 

members dismissed to form church at Kingston 14 

opened, 1866 59 

organized at Hampton Falls, 1711 10 

records 79-1 17 

record of Rev. Jacob Abbott 47 

Rev. Sereno T. Abbott 297 

Rev. J. Bayley 26 

Rev. Elias Hull 31 

Rev. Joseph Whipple 23 

burned, 1858 10, 43, 136, 153 

pass to Unitarians 50 

saved from fire by Rev. Sereno T. Abbott 298 

statistics 52 

supplied in 1829 50 

by James Thurston 50 

and town records, extracts 118 

1640-1782 118 

Coal famine threatened 229 

Cob cracking mill 254 

Cock hill schoolhouse repaired, 1819 141 

Coffin, Morrill Marston, biographical sketch 327 

illustration 327 

Coffin's gristmill burns, 1876 ' 154 

Coffin, Theodore, contributes to new meeting house 62 

Colby, Zaccheus, declines call 39 

dies 39 

settles in Pembroke 39 

Collector, Joseph Weare 216 

John E. Brown 222 

Commercial fertilizer 270 

Commissioner Gove 336 

Committee appointed to clear parade ground and common, 1798 138 

judge Rev. Langdon's salary 138 

chosen to centre the parish 33 



408 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Committee chcisen to settle with Rev. W'ingate 35 

appointed to compromise the difficulties of the two parishes . 38 
determine the ownership of the old meeting 

house 56 

dispose of parsonage land, 1783 136 

examine parish lands, 1743 125 

examine platform, state government, 1780 .... 136 

inspect schools 41 

renew parsonage bounds, 1728 121 

on salary, Rev. Langdon 40 

to sell the old and buy a new parsonage, 1785 . . . 137 

pews 33 

secure Rev. Whipple as preacher 120 

take care of parsonage lots 122 

reports favorably to acceptance of offer of Col. J. Moulton. . 38 

Communion cups presented 15 

by Rev. Theophilus Cotton, 1726 57 

j and tankard given by William Brown and Theodore 

Coffin 62 

"Company of the Plough" 2 

Conditions in the town, 1840-1850 233 

Conference day 15 

committee appointed to settle diflferences with Presbyterian 

Society, 1768 130 

Congregationalists build new meeting house 29 

Constables warrants 144-145 

Constitutional Convention, 1778 134 

Continental soldiers enlist, 1783 145 

Controversy over parsonage lands, 1760 129 

Convention to choose a delegate to Congress, 1775 132 

Cooking and cook stoves 273 

fuel conditions, 1840-1850 274 

methods 258 

Coombs, Charles F., selectman 222, 225, 227, 294, 295 

Copeland, Nelson, dies 215 

Copp, A. G., appointed station agent 231 

Corn huskings 258 

Cost of hiring continental soldiers 146 

Cotton batting mill 284 

burned 153 

Cotton, Rev. Theophilus, death of 120 

list of members received by 79-81 

salary increased 118 

County treasurer, Xehemiah Porter Cram 278 

Covenant of the church of Hampton Falls 11 

signers of the Hampton Falls Church 11 

owning and discipline during Rev. Mr. Whipple's ministry. . . 128 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 409 

PAGE 

Cilley, James A., drowns .■ 232 

Clams, become extinct in Hampton River 173 

flats leased 232 

Clark, Dr. Francis Edwin, biographical sketch 361 

founder of Christian Endeavor 361 

illustration '. . . . 361 

Mrs. Francis Edwin, biographical sketch 362 

illustration 362 

Harriet Elizabeth Abbott, biographical sketch 362 

illustration 362 

Clock placed in meeting house 65 

Clothing ready made ' 248 

styles, 1840-1850 248 

Club, Ananias, purchases building 178 

Cram, Ellen, drowns, 1912 158 

Ellen T., dies 219 

farm 175 

Jacob A., graduates from Harvard College 239 

lawyer 296 

Joseph, carpenter, farmer, shoemaker and maker of ox yokes. . . . 279 

Joseph Blake, biographical sketch 328 

illustration 328 

house struck by lightning 204 

selectman 199, 295, 328 

John, drowns 157 

John L., Mrs., dies 222 

Nehemiah Porter, county treasurer and representative 278 

Ralph Adams, architect 179, 239 

Rev. William A., address at library dedication 165 

dies 209 

preaches in Westford, Mass., and Augusta, Me. 77 

Unitarian clergyman 239 

William Everett, biographical sketch 329 

author and naturalist 329 

Crampton, George W., buys land 288 

Creighton, Mrs. James, dies 193 

Crimean War, Charles L. Hardy, enlists 178 

Crosby, Ellen, dies 221 

Jeremiah, settles in Lyndeborough 140 

Cultivation of salt marsh 265 

Curtis, George Janvrin, biographical sketch 330 

illustration 330 

selectman 218, 294 

Dr. William Waldo, biographical sketch 331 

illustration 331 

dies 193 

Mrs. Dr. William Waldo, dies 189 



410 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Currency, English 273 

Dalton, Willard, selectman 230-295 

Samuel, dies 211 

Damage by browntail moths 197 

forest fires 196 

grasshoppers 270 

hail storm, 1902 177 

lightning and tornado 197 

to salt marshes 269 

Day of fasting and prayer, 1798 44-138 

Deacon Green 247 

Samuel Shaw builds Governor Wears house 201 

Deaconing the Psalms 20 

Deacons of the church 55-56 

Deacons of the town 55 

six generations in one family 55-78 

by the name of Batchelder 78 

Dearborn Academy, endowed 273 

Dearborn, Edward, physician 273 

endows Dearborn Academy 273 

leaves legacy to Line Church 273 

Samuel Wesley, dies 212 

Death of Rev. Jacob Abbott 47-48 

Josiah Bayley 26 

Theophilus Cotton 15 

Moses Dow 50 

Samuel Perley 30 

Joseph Whipple 24 

Otis Wing 69 

Decade conditions in 1840-1850 233 

Declaration for Unitarianism, 1834 142 

Dedication of library, account of 164 

Long Bridge at Hami)ton 173 

Deed and keys of library presented 164 

Deed, 1690 mentions Moulton elm (old elm) 177 

Delegates to Continental Congress, 1774 132 

Democratic newspaper 244 

Depot master Chase 251 

first, Charles F. Chase, 1849 285 

Description of ancient saddle presented to Essex Institute 301 

Applecrest farm 288 

library l)uilding 167 

Rockingham Academj' 272 

Diana of the Ephesians 176 

Diary kept by Rev. Joseph Whipple 23 

Dickerman, Rev. Lysander, principal Rockingham Academy, 1852 .... 303 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 411 

PAGE 

Dickerman, Rev. Lysonder, biographical sketch of 303 

preaches 58 

Dinsmore, Captain, drowns 48 

Discomforts of church-going in early days 53 

Dismissals from the church 87-96 

of Rev. Joseph Dow to Tjringham, Mass 50 

of fifty-seven from Hampton Falls Church to form New 

Kensington Church 19 

Dissatisfaction over location of new meeting house, 1769 130 

with Rev. Mr. Wingate 28 

Dissension in Rev. Jacob Abbott's ministry 46 

Dissent of Meshech Weare and twenty-two others 33 

Dissenters vote to call Rev. Micah Lawrence 28 

District over river 278 

Ditch digging machine invented by Johnathan Morrill 285 

Division of the church 13 

parsonage money 38 

lines established 121 

Dodge, Arthur M., M. D 296 

Charles Nealey, biographical sketch 332 

illustration 332 

marries Annie F. Healey 332 

postmaster, town treasurer 332 

sells store to George F. Merrill 223 

George H., repairs church in 1859 67 

representative 284 

secures lecturers 174 

state senator 284 

gristmill 247 

Jessie B., fatally injured, 1900 181 

John W., Capt., graduate. Brown University, selectman and 

representative 284 

Mrs. J. W., dies 191 

presents bell to Baptist Society, 1892 76 

mills 284 

burned, 1885 154 

Miriam, Mrs., dies in Dover, 1879 70 

Nathaniel, approbated to sell liquor, 1792 138 

Oliver A., lawyer 296 

Richard, saw and gristmill proprietor, trader, fisher, and select- 
man 284 

Stephen, only soldier from Hampton Falls in Mexican War. . .261-283 

William H., lawyer 296 

Dow's History of Hampton 268 

Dow, John A., dies 217 

Mrs., dies 208 

Joseph W., ordained pastor at Tyringham, Mass 76 



412 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Dover Church 2 

Doyle, Peter Y 231 

Draft, 1917, thirty-one register for 231 

Drainage, farm, Vjook by Judge Henry F. French 293 

of John B. Brown, Ijy Judge Henry F. French 293 

Drain tile, first in town 293 

Drew, Eliza, dies 225 

Drill hall used in 1861 174 

master. Gen. Charles A. Nason, 1861 174 

Drownings 157 

Drowning of James A. Cilley 232 

Ellen Cram 158 

John Cram 157 

Captain Dinsmore 48 

Samuel Drake Lane 157 

Orin D. Green 158-206 

horses 268 

Jeremiah James 157 

Benjamin Moulton 157 

Jacob Rowe 157 

William Swain, 1657 356 

Peter Tilton 157 

John Wright 157 

Joseph Ward 157 

Oliver Wright 157 

Droves of cattle 276 

Durham cattle 250 

Dutch, Rev. Ebenezer, called to pastorate and declines, 1777 134 

Duties of housewives 273 

Earthquakers in 1904 and 1905 175-197 

Eastern New Hampshire boulevard laid out 291 

raiboad 291 

installs telegraph 256 

opened for travel, 1840 243 

old pas.senger station burns, 1875 154 

uses wood for fuel 259 

Stage Company 260, 280 

sheds 284 

uses Lafayette road 291 

Ecclesiastical council called June 29, 1809 46 

Edwards, Rev. Johnathan, essay of 52 

Efforts to unite various denominations, 1834 57 

with Seabrook church to .secure pastor 38 

Electric hghts first installed in town, 1905 177 

and motor installed, by Warren Brown, 1905 177, 197 

railway line opened on Lafayette road 291 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 413 

PAGE 

Elkins, Albert W., selectman 294 

Benjamin W., dies 223 

representative 201, 294 

John W., dies 211 

English currency 273 

English grasses 266 

Essay of Rev. Johnathan Edwards 52 

Essex Institute presented with ancient saddle of 1769 301 

Establishment of independent telephone line in 1904 162 

Evans, Rev. Mr., officiates at last religious service in meeting house 64 

Events in town, 1899-1916 180 

Excerpts from ordination sermon of Rev. Thomas Barnard to Rev. 

Joseph Bayley 27 

Execution of Joseph L. Pike in 1869 302 

Exercises at dedication of new library 164 

Exeter, Hampton & Amesbury St. Ry. Co 159-160 

Exeter News Letter 248 

Exeter road schoolhouse burned, 1855 153 

Exhibitions of school work 236 

Experimental fame of Prof. Jeremiah W. Sanborn 276 

Expert cheese maker, Mrs. Levi Sanborn 240 

graft setters for fruit trees 257 

job blacksmith 260 

Explanation of legal and ecclesiastical years 126 

Extracts from Warren Brown's journal, 1899-1916 180 

church and town records 118 

invoice book, 1779 144 

1781 .^.... 135 

ministers' synodical council at Salem 31 

Weare newspapers, 1743-1746 147 

Extension work Newell Healey place 227 

Fair, first, petition for, in 1732 151 

Farewell religious service in meeting house, 1901 143 

Farm drainage, book by Judge Henry F. French '. 293 

help and wages 258 

of N. W. Healey sold 222 

Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company 278 

Farming methods, 1851 261 

Farmers who ow^ned large salt marsh 265 

Farmer, Walter B., buys land for Applecrest farm 288 

Federal money, first mention of 44 

Feed wire extended in town, 1904 175 

Felt hats appear in the late 40's 248 

Fences and the lost art of winding withes 246 

Fernald, Elder Mark, delivers dedication sermon 63 

Ferry, Nudd's 267 



414 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Fifield family moves away 285 

farm 346 

sold to Samuel Batchelder 285 

Johnathan, chosen deacon 19 

rocks 267 

Final session of school of Philosophy 310 

Finley, Rev. Everett F., becomes pastor succeeding Rev. A. M. Bridge. . 74 

Fireplaces and fuel 257 

Fire record 153 

First appearance of gypsy moth 177 

bell given to town 3 

hung in town, Rockingham Academy 76 

Congregational Church of Hampton F'alls organized, 1827 57 

Society organized, 1826, 1827 71, 233 

depot master, Charles F. Chase, 1845 285 

electric lights in town, 1905 177 

and power installed by Warren Brown, 1905 197 

evangelical society of Seabrook and Hampton Falls formed 32 

Congregational Church of Hampton Falls 57 

Seabrook and Hampton 

FaUs 58,233 

dedicates new meeting house . . 142 

free library in America 167 

heated meeting house built in 1835 142 

Irishman comes to town, 1844 258 

mention of Byfield, 1750 126 

Federal money 44 

^ dollars as currency, records of, 1780 136 

a house in Hampton Falls, 1654 142 

minister at Hampton 2 

parish meeting in 1718 118 

printing of town acts, 1842 244 

public library in Hampton Falls 166 

religious newspaper published in this country 61 

stages run to Portsmouth and Boston 8 

street car runs in Hampton Falls, 1899 180 

voting for governor and senator in New Hampshire, 1784 137 

Fish houses in Hampton 270 

peddler, Daniel Pervear 286 

Fishing in Hampton River 174 

industries 261 

in Taylor River 277 

vessels of Lawyer Brown and Richard Dodge 261 

Fogg's Corner, land granted to Quakers 21 

Fogg, Ezra C, Mrs., dies 209 

Fogg, Samuel, builds railroad station 244 

Forest fires frequent, 1905 196 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 415 

PAGE 

Formation of salt marsh, theory of Esq. Philbrick 292 

Foreign missions 250 

Fort Prescott 290 

Fortier, Joseph, buys Pike place 202 

Founder of Hampton, Stephen Bachiler 305 

Four-foot scythes used in haying 262 

Four persons approbated to sell liquor, 1794 138 

Fourth of July celebration, 1844 298 

Fourteen soldiers enlist for Canada service, 1776 133 

Frame makers, Morris Hobbs, Obed Hobbs, Joshua Pike 260 

Frazer, Rev. David, officiates at last religious service in meeting house ... 64 

Freight house of B. & M. R. R. burns, 1875 154 

French, Judge Henry F., publishes book on farm drainage 293 

"French on Farm Drainage" 293 

French, John, plowmaker 259 

Friends, Society of 335 

Friendship of Frank B. Sanborn and John Brown 306 

Fresh Island 267 

From town records 171 

Fruit growing and grafting 257 

growers and growing 260 

Fuel and cooking conditions, 1840, 1850 274 

and fireplaces 257 

for Eastern railroad 259 

Funeral sermon of Rev. Jacob Abbott 49 

Frank B. Sanborn 310 

Rev. Joseph Whipple 24 

Gallinger, Jacob F., vote for U. S. senator 224 

Gathering of herbs 275 

Gage, Rev. Nathaniel, preaches funeral sermon of Rev. Jacob Abbott ... 49 

Garrison house, Prescott fort 290 

Geese and ganders kept 259 

Genealogy of Jeremiah "Neighbor" Brown 175 

Sanborn 305 

Geneva School 51 

General Assembly passes vote to divide parish, 1767 129 

muster 245 

Gift of John T. Brown to Hampton Falls 164 

Gilman homestead burns 208 

Godfrey, Horace A., biographical sketch 333 

illustration 333 

interest in town, common 176 

dies 198 

railway postal clerk 179 

Maj. Jeremiah, Devon cattle raiser, selectman and representa- 
tive 279 



416 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Golden Rule, article from, on Mrs. Francis E. Clark 362 

Gondolas used for harvesting salt marsh hay 266 

Gove, Aaron, selectman, blacksmith 283 

Charles, selectman, 1849, carpenter 283 

Charles C, carpenter shop burns, 1840 and 1896 153 

Edward, appointed commissioner, 1690 336 

dies, 1691 336 

homestead burned, 1901 155 

John Harrison, biographical sketch 334 

dies, 1887 335 

illustration 334 

marriage to Martha J. Kenyon 335 

marriage to Sarah Phillips Wells 335 

Graduates of Harvard College 239 

Grafting of apple and fruit trees introduced by Rev. Jacob Abbott 256 

Grain raising 271 

Grammar school kept in Byfield, 1750 126 

Grant, Francis, prints treatise for Zebulon Jones on arithmetic 69 

Grass, black, salt marsh, thatch and English 266 

Grasshoppers, damage by, in 1850 270 

Graves, Elder Joseph H., ordained 63 

Mary Josephine, Mrs., dies 216 

Great Neck Creek 267 

Islands 267 

Green, Abraham, physician 176 

Dr., marries Sarah Treadwell 300 

Elizabeth, dies 191 

Frank S., biographical sketch 337 

circulates petition for R. F. D., 1904 161 

house struck by lightning 187 

illustration 337 

selectman and representative 337 

Green head fly 268 

Green, Orin D., drowns, 1908 " 158, 206 

horses drown 268 

Gri.stmills 254 

Gristmill (Coffin's) of Arthur T. AVilbur burns, 1876 154 

Guideposts, new erected, by selectmen, 1904 178 

Guynan, John F., representative 224, 294 

Guns from navy department for common secured by William E. 

Chandler 170* 

Gypsy moth commission discovers nests of moth in town, 1906 177 

Hadley family house burns, 1916 156 

Hail storm damage in 1902 ' 177 

Harris, Leander, dies 218-219 

Halfway covenant 13-51 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 417 

PAGE 

Ham smoking process 274 

Hamilton, Thankful, dies 178 

Hampton Falls Church formed 1711 10 

division Sons of Temperance organized, 1848 241 

pu])lic librar}'^ 42 

free library presented by John T. Brown, 1901 163 

people claim right to vote, 1745 125 

and Seabrook refuse to send representative to Congress, 

1776 133 

delegate to General Assem- 
bly, 1778 134 

fish houses 270 

history by Dow 268 

landing, salt works 268 

river, bluefish caught in 174 

catch of herring, 1901 174 

fishing in 174 

mouth bridge formally opened, 1902 186 

Hardy, Charles A., biographical sketch 338 

cattle drover 276 

illustration 338 

Charles L., denied right to vote, 1868 178 

serves in Crimean War 178 

Charles William, graduate. Harvard College, 1895 178 

Hardy's Hill 338 

Hardy, Jerome A., biographical sketch 339 

illustration 339 

Harvard University, President, James Walker 305 

Rev. Samuel Langdon 42-43 

Haskell, Job, sketch of 176 

Hay and farming methods, 1850 261 

from salt marsh 264-265 

Haymakers wages 263 

Hayrakes, wooden and steel teeth 263 

Hay season of 1S50 261 

Hawes, David C, dies 210 

Healey, George Clifford, biographical sketch of 340 

illustration 340 

member, Constitutional Convention, repre- 
sentative, selectman, town clerk 218, 294, 340 

sells farm 200 

Mrs., dies ^. 224 

Mary H., marries F. P. Chesterman 205 

Nathaniel, completes canal between Hampton and Merrimack 

Rivers 138 

Newell W., farm sold 222 

dies 216 

28 



418 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Healey, Wells W. (Capt.), builds house on meeting house hill 280 

building used for town meeting, 1843 244 

selectman, captain of militia, 1822 280 

Capt., dies, 1857 288 

Mrs., dies 210 

Herald of Gospel Liberty 249 

published at Portsmouth in 1808 61 

Herb gathering 275 

Herbs for medicinal purposes 275 

Herring catch in 1901 174 

Highway care 252 

Hilliard, Benjamin, leases land for ship building, 1743 147 

Walter, barn struck by lightning 175 

Hills, William H., appointed postmaster 256 

Hinckley, Reverend, preaches 63 

History of >^ew Hampshire by Dr. Belknap 264 

F. B. Sanborn 309 

Hoag, Green, consults William Brown on religious matters 78 

Hobbs, Jeremiah, wheelwright 260 

Morris, frame maker 260 

Obed, frame maker 260 

Holt, Reverend, dismissed from Epping, 1824 141 

Hood & Sons' ice house burns 214 

Hopkins, William M., digs salt marsh ditches 265 

Horse rakes introduced in 1830 262 

show, first in America, advertisement for 152 

shoers, Richard and Alfred Marsh 260 

and cattle pastured in road 259 

House and barn frames built by Thomas Brown 253 

raising 255 

House fly believed to be a blessing, 1840-1850 275 

of Edwin Pervear burns, 1901 155 

Sylvannus B. Pervear burns, 1901 155 

Fred P. Sanborn l)urns, 1897 155 

Lowell F. Merrill burns, 1867 154 

and barn of Clarence T. Brown burns, 1855 156 

John Hardy burns, 1897 154 

workshop of Charles T. Brown Est., burn, 1907 155 

Housewives duties 273 

Hovey, Rev. Horace E., officiates at last religious service in meeting 

house 67 

Hoyt's Creek 267 

Husking of corn 258 

Illuminating methods 257 

Illustrations, Mary Dodge Aiken 320 

Charles P. Akerman 319 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 419 

PAGE 

Illustrations, Moses Emery Batchelder 321 

Samuel Batchelder 322 

Arthur W. Brown 322 

Charles Rufus Brown 324 

Geroge Cyrus Brown .' 325 

Harry Benson Brown 326 

Sarah Gertrude (Norris) Brown 317 

Hon. Warren Brown 316 

Dr. Francis Edwin Clark 361 

Mrs. Francis Edwin Clark 362 

Harriett Elizabeth Abbott Clark 362 

Morrill Marston Coffin 327 

Joseph Blake Cram 328 

George Janvrin Curtis 330 

Dr. William Waldo Curtis 331 

Charles Nealey Dodge 332 

Horace A. Godfrey 333 

John Harrison Gove 334 

Frank S. Green 337 

Charles A. Hardy 338 

Jerome A. Hardy 339 

George Clifford Healey 340 

Bertram Thompson Janvrin 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 

Levi Edwin Lane 345 

George F. Merrill 346 

George Moulton 364 

Gen. Charles A. Nason 347 

Edwin Prescott 348 

Warren James Prescott 350 

Nathan Henry Robie 351 

Franklin Benjamin Sanborn, frontispiece and — 352 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

John Newell Sanborn 355 

Roscoe Franklin Swain 356 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

Emmons Brown Towle 358 

Mary Dodge White 321 

Charles F. Wadleigh . ? 359 

Benjamin Franklin Weare 360 

Income of parish divided 38 

parsonage devoted to schools 38 

Incorporation of the town of Seabrook 30 

Independent telephone line established, 1904 162 



420 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Independent telephone line to Exeter opened 194 

Indian meal maker, expert John Weare 286 

Influence of ^\'ilIiam Brown in religious matters 78 

Injunction from court prevents Rev. .Sereno Abbott from occupying 

pulpit 58 

Inscription on Doctor Langdon's tombstone 44 

library 167 

tablets 168 

tombstone of Rev. Josiah Bayley 26 

monument to Rev. Theophilus Cotton 16 

tombstone of Rev. Josei)h Whipple 75 

Installation of Isaac Hurd, 1817 140 

Inventor Edwin Prescott 349 

Invoice ojf town 365 

Irishmen, first come to town 258 

Islands, location of 267 

names of 267 

Isles of Shoals 15' 

Jackson & Son, L. M., buy business of Charles X. Dodge 202 

sell business to George F. Merrill 202 

James, Albert, dies 205 

Mary A., Mrs., dies 205 

Jeremiah, drowns, 1855 157 

JanvTin, Bertram Thompson, biographical sketch 341 

elected representative 215, 294-341 

illustration 341 

selectman 216, 294-341 

Mrs., dies 229 

Clarence Eugene, dies 221 

David, selectman, 1840 284 

Edwin, biographical sketch 342 

dies 222 

illustration 342 

selectman and representative 342 

Mrs., dies 214 

Edwin L., selectman 230-295 

Everett B., enlists in navy 231 

Joshua, barn burned, 1845 153, 284 

selectman 284 

William A., selectman 227 

William E., selectman 222-225-295 

Jewett, Rev. Henry, employed as minister, 1831 142 

preaches 50 

Johnson, Charles, dies 205 

operates clothing and fulling mill 284 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 421 

PAGE 

Joint arrangement between Congregational Society and Unitarian 

Society in 1841 72 

Jones, John F., biographical sketch 343 

dies, 1889 343 

illustration 343 

representative, selectman, town clerk 343 

Mrs., dies 228 

Rev. Zebulon, dies, 1883 234 

issues treatise on arithmetic, 1845 69 

pastor. Baptist Church, 1843-51 234 

principal, Rockingham Academy, 1843-57 271 

superintendent of schools and chairman. New 

Hampshire education commission 234 

Jordan, Gov. Chester B., address at dedication of Long Bridge at 

Hampton 173 

runs first car over Long Bridge 173 

Journal extracts from Warren Brown's journal, 1899-1916 180 

Joy, Scythe maker 262 

Kansas committee 306 

Keeping of geese and ganders 259 

Kensington parish formed 19 

Keys and deed of library presented 164 

Kimball, Rev. Joseph, chosen pastorate over Line Church 143 

Knight, Henry Harrison, biographical sketch 344 

dies 203 

illustration 344 

moderator, representative, selectman 344 

Labrador fisheries 261 

fishermen. Lawyer Brown, Richard Dodge, Capt. John W. 

Dodge 261 

fishing, business of Lawyer Brown 283 

Ladies Benevolent Society of First Congregational Church organized, 

1844 167 

library 249 

incorporated, 1887 169 

Miss Xancy Perkins, librarian 280 

removed to New Library, 1901 169 

Lafayette road becomes Eastern New Hampshire boulevard, 1910 291 

Lamprey, John, contributes to new meeting house 62 

homestead burns 208 

Land leased in 1746 for shipbuilding purposes 147 

of Samuel and Ruth Fifield sold to Benjamin Pike, 1783 145 

Landing place and wharf improved, 1825 141 

Lane, Charles W., Mrs., dies 224 

Lane farm 359 



422 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Lane, Jeremiah, appointed church clerk 41-139 

Colonel, builder, selectman 286 

Jeremiah, chosen deacon, ISUS 140 

Joshua A., dies 208 

Levi Edward, biographical sketch 345 

chosen church clerk 41, 141, 235 

illustration 345 

selectman and representative 286, 345 

Samuel Drake, drowns, 1826 157 

store 256 

Langdon, John, chosen U. S. senator 37 

Rev., accepts call ' 40 

appointed chaplain of Colonel INIeserve's regiment 42 

Dr. Samuel, books in .separate case in library 169 

cho.sen delegate to convention to adopt 

constitution for U. S., 1787 40-137 

chosen president of Harvard College 42 

church record 41 

born, 1722 42 

dies 44,138 

dismissed 42 

gives library 41 

installed pastor Hampton Falls Church, 

1781 43 

letter of acceptance 40 

library 166 

member of Academy of Arts 43 

pastor at Hampton Falls Church 20 

preaches on Cambridge Common, 1775 ... 14 

publishes book 42 

publishes map of Xew Hampshire, 1761 ... 43 

receives degree of D. D 43 

resigns as president of Harvard College ... 43 

salary increased, 1789 137 

Thanksgiving sermon, 1759 41 

Lantz, H., builds house 202 

Large poultry plant at Applecrest farm 289 

Largest cattle in town raised by Aaron Sanborn 280 

Last religious service held in old meeting hou.se 64 

tavern keeper in town 284 

town meeting held in old meeting house 244 

Lawrence, Rev. Micah, called 28 

dismissed 28 

ordained 28 

Lawyer, Jacob A. Cram 296 

Oliver A. Dodge 296 

Lawyers of the town , 296 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 423 

PAGE 

Leases of clam flats 232 

Leavitt, Elder Ebenezer, ordained out of doors 61 

keeps bees 260 

see Squire. 

George W., legacy used to buy new books for library, 1901 .... 164 

Leavitt's Island 267 

Leavitt, Squire, representative, 1825 287 

pioneer democrat 286 

Thomas 307 

calls town meeting 61 

Lecture course in Baptist Church, 1858-57 174 

Lecture Day 14 

Lectures in Academy hall 174 

Lecturers in course in Baptist Church, 1858 174 

secured by Rev. A. M. Bridge 174 

Hon. George H. Dodge 174 

Legacy to Line Church from Dr. Edward Dearborn 273 

Letter of acceptance of Rev. Jacob Abbott 44 

from Pres. Charles W. Eliot at library dedication 166 

Frank B. Sanborn at library dedication 166 

Mrs. Harriett Prescott Spofford at library dedication 166 

William C. Todd at library dedication 166 

Library accepted for trustees by James H. Brown 164 

building presented to town of Hampton Falls by John T. Bi-own, 

1901 143-163 

bookcases presented by John T. Brown 168 

dance at dedication of 167 

dedication address by Hon. Henry K. Braley 166 

Rev. D. H. Evans 166 

Rev. E. J. Prescott 166 

Charles T. White 166 

description of building 167 

poem by Mrs. Harriett Prescott Spofford 165 

letters from Pres. Charles W. Eliot 166 

Mrs. Harriett Prescott Spofford 166 

William C. Todd 166 

Library, donor John T. Brown 168 

first free, in America 167 

founded by Rev. Jacob Abbott ....'. 47 

first in Hampton Falls 166 

guns from navy yard donated, by government 169 

inscription on 167 

librarian, Sadie E. Janvrin 169 

ladies', incorporated, 1887 169 

Miss Nancy Perkins, librarian 280 

Rev. Dr. Langdon, books 169 

messenger, James Howard Brown, 1905-7 177 



424 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Library pictures presented by John T. Brown 168 

names on tablet 168 

tablet inscription 168 

tablets on wall 168 

of Frank B. Sanborn 308 

License to sell liquor granted to John W. Gookin 140 

Lincoln, Rev. Increase, installed as pastor 73 

\A'arren Elder, preaches 63 

Line Church 13 

formed, 1836 142 

legacy from Dr. Edward Dearborn 273 

organized 233 

meeting house 178-283 

renewed between Hampton Falls and Kensington 138 

Linehan, Col. John C, address at dedication of Long Bridge at Hamp- 
ton 173 

Lightning strikes C. Barton's building 19S 

Baptist Church, 1908 175 

damage 175 

l)uildings of Joseph B. Cram 204 

house of Mrs. A. AI. Sanborn 204 

strikes Frank Green's house 187 

Hugh McAllister's house, 1900 182 

destroys barn of Mr. Yeaton 232 

List of eminent scholars, graduates of town schools 239 

illustrations, see table of contents. 

incorporators of the church at Kensington, 1837 86 

members of the church in 1798 139 

Hampton Falls division of Sons of Temperance 242 

persons admitted to full communion in the church of Hampton 

Falls by Rev. Joseph Whipple 81-86 

persons dismissed from the church 86-87-96 

taxed in 1776 148-151 

preachers and supplies 63 

names of pioneers in tile draining 293 

representatives since 1900 294 

school teachers 235 

town officers since 1900 294 

Literary activities of Frank B. Sanborn 309 

Living and market conditions, 1840-1850 240 

Location of Line Church, Diana of the Ephesians 178 

Ohio meeting house 179 

meeting house, 1768 178 

salt marsh land 266 

town landing, early 147 

woolen mill prior to 1743 147 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 425 

PAGE 

Long Bridge at Hampton 173^ 

dedicated, 1902 173 

exercises of dedication 173. 

Lord, Frank H., town clerk . . . .206, 211, 212, 216, 220, 222, 225, 227, 230, 294 

Lonsbury, Rev. Henry, ordained, 1855 5& 

resigns 58 

Lumber dealings 253 

Mail service 159 

Hampton to Smithtown 159-160- 

rural free delivery installed in February, 19C5 195 

Making of butter 278- 

soap 258 

Manufacture of drainage tile 293 

Map of Xew Hampshire, Langdon's, published, 1761 43 

Mariner, Walter Williams 147 

Marriage of Rev. Jacob Abbott 47 

Sereno T. Abbott to Sarah French 297 

F. P. Chesterman to Mary N. Healey 205 

Charles N. Dodge to Annie F. Healey 209, 332 

John H. Gove to Martha J. Kenyon 335 

Dr. Abraham Green and Sarah Treadwell 300 

John F. Guynan and Fannie Ward Sanborn 212 

Henry Harrison Knight and Ruth Green 344 

Rev. John Lowell and Mrs. Joseph Whipple 24 

Sarah Lowell and John Brown 301 

Sarah Philips Wells to John H. Gove 335 

John Porter and Hannah Weare 282 

Frank B. Sanborn and Louisa A. Leavitt 307 

Frank B. Sanborn and Ariana Walker 306- 

Roscoe F. Swain and Mildred L. Brown 208, 356 

Charles Treadwell and Sarah Sweet 299 

Charles F. Wadleigh and Annie Lane 359 

Gov. Meshech Weare 23 

Marsh, Alfred, giant blacksmith 281 

Marsh, Elder Jeremiah W., ordained, 1853 • 63. 

Richard, blacksmith 281 

and Alfred, expert horse shoers and blacksmiths 260 

Marsh's blacksmith shop 259 

Marshall, Mrs. Abigail, dies, 1849, aged 100 282 

Gideon, revolutionary soldier 282 

John, selectman, 1829 282 

Robert, revolutionary soldier 282 

Marsters, John M., graduates from Harvard in 1850 77, 282 

settled over Unitarian Church in Woburn, Mass.^ . 77 

Marston, Sarah, builds house 258 

Martin, Elder A. H., supplies pulpit 63 



426 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Mayo, Joseph, warden, state prison, 1865-1870, sketch of 302 

McAllister, Hugh, dies 190 

house struck by lightning, 1900 182 

Mrs., dies 191 

McDcvitt, WiUiam H., dies 215 

town treasurer 230-294 

McLane, Hon. Jolin, address at dedication of Long Bridge at Hamp- 
ton 173 

Meal, cob 255 

Medicinal herbs 275 

Meeting house built 33 

dedicated 33 

demolished, 1842 143 

first heated 55 

Green 1 

in Hampton P'alls in 1067 7 

land sold to Meshech Weare 43 

located 33 

location at Line 179 

lot sold to Wells W. Healey, 1845 143 

old, torn down, 1842 244 

pews sold 33 

purchased by John T. Brown, 1901 143 

repaired, 1 737 9 

removed to Kennybrook 64 

repaired 141 

shingled, 1829 44 

voted to be sold, 1780 9 

to see about alternate preaching, 1775 132 

Melcher farm 277 

Joseph, cattle judge and selectman 277 

Mary, marries Abel Ward, 1724 178 

place buildings burn, 1898 155 

revolutionarj- soldier 178 

Samuel, selectman 244, 277 

Members dismissed to Kensington Church, 1757 128 

Hampton Falls division. Sons of Temperance 242 

Memorial poem on Frank B. Sanborn by Annie Higginson Spencer. ... 311 

Men prominent in town affairs. 1840-1850 245 

Merrill, Aaron, selectman, 1824 286 

Rev. Asa, preaches 63 

Frank, died 196 

George F., biographical sketch 346 

buys store of Charles N. Dodge 223 

business of L. M. Jackson & Son 202 

illustration 346 

postmaster 346 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 427 

PAGE 

Merrill, George F., selectman 294 

Phoebe, Mrs., dies 203 

William T., M. D 296 

Methods of cooking 258 

farming and haying, 1850 260 

illuminating 257 

Mexican War soldier, Stephen Dodge '. 261, 283 

Mike Island 267 

Military muster abolished, 1851 246 

Militia, Third Regiment 247 

Capt. Wells Healey 280 

Milk trade to Boston begun in 1849 251 

Miller, William, preaches Advent doctrine in 1843 78 

Mill privileges voted to Nathaniel Hubbard Dodge, 1789 137 

Minister at Hampton forbidden by governor to observe Thanksgiving 

Day, 1677 118 

Moderator since 1896, Warren Brown 295 

Money lenders, Jacob and John B. Brown 281 

Money voted to build new schoolhouse on the Exeter road, 1818 141 

Monument to Rev. Theophilus Cotton 16 

Morrill Johnathan, invents ditch digging machine 285 

Moulton, Benjamin, drowns, 1826 157 

George, biographical sketch 364 

illustration 364 

Mrs. Howard T., dies 212 

Joseph W., dies 214 

Mrs., dies 225 

Nathan, selectman 277 

old elm, mention in deed, 1690 177 

"Turkey" 277 

Moth, browntail 177, 197 

gypsy 177 

Movement to establish Presbyterian Church in 1760 29 

for temperance and Washingtonian reform 243 

Mowing machines make salt marsh obsolete 269 

Murder by Pike in 1868 155 

Murkland, President, address at Long Bridge at Hampton 173 

Murray's Row, origin of , 179-282 

Mussy, widow, Quaker, killed by Indians, 1703 118 

Muster, general 245 

Names of blacksmiths 260 

church members in Hampton Falls 139 

men enlisted for continental soldiers, 1783 145 

men supplying church 50 

men omitted from first list of soldiers published in history of 

Hampton Falls, 1899 145 



428 HISTORY OF HAMPTOxV FALLS 

I'AGE 

Names of selectmen, 1783 145 

on tablets in library 168 

Nason, Gen. Charles A., biographical sketch 347 

cattle drover 276 

illustration : 347 

representative 347 

selectman 285, 347 

Maj. Jonathan, cattle drover 276 

selectman, 1823 285 

Nason's schoolhouse 236 

Navy department donates guns for common 169 

letter ordering gims from navy yard 169 

New Baptist meeting house dedicated, 1836 142 

Boar's Head house burns 209 

burying ground purchased of Jeremiah Lane 136 

England Farmer published, 1822 264 

Telejihone Company buys People's Telephone Company. 215 

Hampshire Traction Company extend feed wires in town 175 

house built on Thomas Brown place 227 

meeting house built and dedicated, 1835 63 

dedicated, 1771 131 

party 34 

parish formed 28 

Newspapers 1840-1850 248 

Noon houses 54 

Nudd's Canal 267 

Nudd, David, salt works 268 

Nudd's Ferry 267 

Nudd, Stacy, manager, Ocean House 283 

selectman, 1843 283 

Oats raised 271 

Obituary, Charles P. Akcrman 175 

Ocean House 254 

Stacy Nudd, manager 283 

Odd Fellows Rockingham Lodge 343 

Ohio meeting house 179 

Old elm, Moulton elm 177 

meeting house lot sold to Wells W. Healey 57 

remodeled into library building 66 

sold to Nathaniel Healey 39-43 

torn down, 1842 244 

parsonage house destroyed by fire, 1749 125 

sold to Nathaniel Healey, 1785 137 

toll house burns 208 

Only soldier from Hampton Falls in Mexican War, Stephen Dodge .... 261 

Opening exercises at Long Bridge 173 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 429 

PAGE 

Opposition to location of meeting house at Line .• 179 

military muster owing to drunkenness 246 

school at Nuclei's .- 236 

-Ordination of Ephriam Abbott in 1813 140 

Rev. Jacob Abbott 45 

Sereno T. Abbott 59, 297 

Timothy Alden, Jr., 1798 138 

Josiah Bayley 24-25 

Stephen Bailey, 1817 140 

Fedaral Burt, 1817 14 

Jacob CaldweU 234 

Theophilus Cotton 10 

Jacob Cummings, 1824 141 

Joseph W. Dow, Tyringham, Mass 50 

Moses Dow 50 

Ordination hill 61 

of Rev. Elias Hull, 1798 31-139 

Stephen Hull, 1800 139 

Samuel Langdon as pastor at Portsmouth 20 

Elder George Moore Paine 234 

Nathan Tilton in 1800 139 

Rev. Joseph Whipple 18 

Mr. Wingate, 1763 29-36 

Leonard Withington, 1816 140 

Order of exercises, exhibition at union school, 1851 237-238 

from navy department for guns for common 169 

Origin and formation of salt marsh theory of Esquire Philbrook 292 

of milk trade in Boston, 1849 251 

Murray's Row 179 

Orthodox members attend meeting at Seabrook, 1835 142 

dedicate new meeting house, 1836 142 

Ovens, brick 274 

Over river district 278 

Overseers of the poor chosen, 1722 119 

Overthrow of governor. Sir Edmund Andros, 1689 336 

Oxen, largest yoke ever seen 250 

Page's Abel, barn struck by lightning, 1905 175-197 

Page, J. Herbert, selectman 216-294 

Isiah, Quaker 283 

Paine, Elder, George Moore, ordained, 1841 63 

pastor over Christian Baptist church 234 

Parish builds ammunition chest and buys powder, 1755 127 

meeting held, 1770 34 

votes for officers of the Federal Government, 1787 137 

Parson Abbot's library 166 

Parsonage allowance of thatch ground 266 



430 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Parsonage and church records burned, 1858 43, 56, 73, 153 

Bounds renewed, 1731 122 

bucned, 1858 43, 56, 73, 153 

committee report, 1750 126 

income appropriated to use of schools, 1776 133 

divided, 1777 133 

land laid out 17 

land grant, 1716 17 

presented to Baptist Society by Mrs. Mary Dodge Aiken in 

1894 143 

property sold in 1832 to Wells Healey 136 

purchased of Jonathan Perkins, 1783 136 

sold 39 

of Rev. Joseph Whipple burned in 1749 23 

Pastor and teacher relations 3 

Pasture of horses and cattle in road 259 

Pasture sold to Moses Batchelder 56 

Pasturing of cattle 276 

Peabody, Rev. A. B., repairs church 59 

Pearson, Jeremiah, tailor 176 

Pegged boots 252 

Pelon, Joseph, leases clam flats 232 

Pens, steel and quill 236 

People's Telephone Company absorbs Shaw Line 162 

organized, 1906 162 

sold out to New England Telephone and 

Telegraph Company 162, 215 

Perkins, Miss Nancy, librarian, ladies' library 280 

Capt. Nathaniel, selectman, 1808 283 

Sarah, Mrs., expert seamstress 247 

Perley, Rev. Samuel, becomes member of Salem Presbytery 31 

chosen pastor Presbyterian Church, 1765 30 

church record 31 

death 30 

officiates at wedding ceremony of John Brown and 

Sarah Lowell ' 301 

pastor at Groton and Moult onboro 30 

Permission voted to build schoolhouse, 1728 121 

Pervear, Mrs. Angeline, dies 229 

Daniel Emmons 224 

fish j^eddler 286 

Samuel Lewis, dies 204 

Warren B., dies 230 

Mrs., dies 191-219 

Petition for a new parish 16 

fair in 1732 151 

of inhabitants of the south part of Hampton 7 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 431 

PAGE 

Petition for Presbyterian Society 28- 

Pews sold to pay for meeting house, 1769 131 

Philbrick, Esquire, theory on salt marsh 292 

Phillips, Rev. Daniel B., dies 197 

Philosophy, School of, organized by Frank B. Sanborn in 1879 308 

Physicians 273, 296 

Charles E. Akerman 296 

Arthur M. Dodge 296 

Abraham Green 176 

William T. Merrill 296 

native of the town 296 

Charles H. Sanborn 296 

Pictures presented to library by John T. Brown 168 

Pierce, Elder George, preaches 63 

Rev. George, embraces Advent religion 76 

James, preaches 63 

Pike-Brown, murder, 1868 155 

Pike, Elder Daniel P., ordained 63 

member, governor's council 77 

collector, port of Newburyport 77 

ordained as pastor of Christian Church, 1837 ... 77 

Edward D., dies : 196 

Josiah, executed, 1869 302 

Joshua, frame maker 260 

Nathan, shoemaker, tithing man 281 

place buildings burn, 1910 156 

sold 202 

Pine Island 266 

wood sells for %3 a cord : 259 

Pioneers in tile draining, list of names ? 293 

Pioneer democrat. Squire Leavitt 286 

Plan for state government rejected, 1779 134 

Platform of state government accepted, 1782 136 

Plows made by John French of Kensington 259 

Poem read at library dedication, written by Mrs. Harriet Prescott Spof- 

ford 165 

Poland, Rev. Joseph W., pastor supply Baptist Church 284 

Polling off, of Presbyterians 30 

Pollock caught off coast in 1865 174 

Polly, Moses, preaches 63 

Popham, John S., dismissed from Newbury Church, 1815 140 

Portrait of John T. Brown presented to Library 168 

Postal cars put in service on street railway 159-160 

Postmaster Jacob T. Brown 256 

Lowell Brown, Jr 256 

Charles Nealey Dodge 332 

William H. Hills 25& 



432 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Postmaster George F. Merrill 346 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

Post Office department establishes mail service, 1899 159 

removed to residence, Thomas Brown 256 

Posts, new guide erected bj' selectmen, 1904 178 

Potato disease in 1845 . 251 

varieties 251 

Potatoes sell at record prices 230 

Poultry plant at A])plecrest farm 289 

Pratt, Miss, school teacher saves children from lightning, 1908 175 

Presbyterians, apply for new parish 29 

build meeting house, 1763 29-30 

established as separate parish 30 

cease as church in 1775 31 

obtain old meeting house 29 

outvote Congregationalists 29 

petition to Cieneral Assembly for new parish 30 

synodical council at Salem 31 

unite with Congregationalists, 1808 29 

Prescott, Aaron, col., Third Regiment, also selectmen, 1849 287 

Alvah D., dies 225 

Rev. Alvin J., graduates from Meadville, Pa., Theological 

School 78 

settled over Unitarian societies 78 

Edwin, biographical sketch 348 

illustration 348 

inventor 349 

Ehnin J., liberal clergj'man 239 

Fort ' 290 

Harriett Ann Maria, dies 224 

Henry, member school board 218 

Lewis F., dies 215 

James, appointed to clear allej-s in meeting house, 1723-4 .... 119 

chosen Deacon, 1812 140 

Josiah D., barn struck by lightning, 1906 175 

Smith, selectman, 1845 287 

True, selectman 244, 287 

Warren James, biographical sketch 350 

illustration 350 

representative 350 

President of Harvard University, James Walker : . 305 

Samuel Langdon 42 

Presidential election 229 

elector, Warren Brown 177, 210 

Presentation of deed and keys of library 164 

Rev. Mr. Langdon's books to library 42 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 433 

PAGE 

Prevalence of consumption 54 

Prices in 1840-1850 240 

t-' of salt marsh land 265 

"Priest" Abbott, ordained, 1837 143 

Principal Briggs of Rockingham Academy 271 

Lysander Dickerman of Rockingham Academy 303 

Rev. Zebulon Jones of Rockingham Academy 234 

Printing town accounts first time, 1842 244 

Private burying places 261 

Privilege for erection sawmill, 1743 147 

Process of ham smoking 274 

Program of exercises at dedication of Long Bridge at Hampton 173 

exercises at library dedication 164 

ordination of Rev. Mr. Wingate 36 

school exhibition February 24, 1851 236, 237, 238 

Prominent men in town affairs 245 

product of town schools 239 

Protest against minister tax, 1770 131 

Pugilist, John G. Chase 285 

Putnam, Dr., discontinues halfway covenant 51 

Putney, Henry M., address at dedication of Long Bridge at Hampton. . 173 

Puritan Record, Congregational publication 249 

Quakers appear in Dover 22 

apprehended by cart law 22 

conveyed out of the province 22 

granted twelve acres of land 20 

Isiah Page 283 

meeting house built at Seabrook 21 

originated by George Fox, 1644 21 

parsonage land 17 

persecuted at Dover 23 

reach New England 21 

sent out of country 21 

Society at Weare 21 

Seabrook 23 

trouble with 14 

Quill pens made 236 

Railroad, Eastern, opened, 1840 243 

station built, 1849 244 

by Samuel Fogg 244 

Railway postal clerk, Horace A. Godfrey 176 

Raisings (buildings) 255 

Record of baptisms, 1727-1734, by Rev. Joseph Whipple 97-117 

Records of the church 79-117 

fires 153 

29 



434 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Records of first jjoi^ular vote for U. S. senator 224 

for the j'cars 1712-1726 of i)ersons admitted to full communion 

in the church by Rev. Theophilus Cotton 79-81 

of principal events in town, 1S99-191() 180 

the town 171 

weather, 1899-1916 180 

Recollections of seventy years, by Frank B. Sanborn 308 

Red Lion store burns, 1909 155 

Religious newspapers 249 

sentiment united in one meeting house, 1916 143 

Remarks of John T. Brown presenting library 164 

Remonstrance to Presbj-terian petition for new parish 30 

Request of Baptists denied 49 

Requisition made for beef for continental army 135 

Repairs made to Governor Weare's house 201 

Report of T. Clark Campbell, government inspector on rural free delivery 

route 161 

Representative, Charles P. Akerman 294 

Moses Batchelder 194, 281 

David F. Batchelder 294 

James H. Brown 294 

Josiah Brown 279 

William Brown 281 

Nehemiah Porter Cram 278 

George H. Dodge 284 

John W. Dodge 284 

Benjamin W. Elkins 201-294 

Maj. Jeremiah Godfrey 279 

Frank S. Green 337 

John F. Guynan 224, 294 

George Clifford Healey 340 

Bertram T. Janvrin 215, 294, 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 

Levi Lane 286, 345 

Squire Leavitt 287 

Gen. Charles A. Nason 347 

Warren James Prescott 350 

Fred P. Sanborn 177, 210, 294 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

John Newell Sanborn 355 

List of, since 1900 294 

Thayer S. Sanborn 244, 282 

William H. Thompson 294 

William E. Walton 299 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 435 

PAGE 

Representative, John Weare 286 

Joseph Weare 220 294 

Otis Wing 244 

Simon Winslow 284 

Reproduction of newspaper account of balloon landing 207 

Return of members who withdrew from Rev. Mr. Wingate's pastorate. 31, 136 

Review of peculiar year I95 

Revolutionary soldiers, Roliert and Gideon Marshall 282 

Rivermouth, wreck of, 1657 356 

Road building 253 

signs erected by selectmen in 1915 178 

Roads and bridges 253 

Robbins, W. A., compiles Treadwell genealogy 300 

Roberts, Mark, tin peddler 276 

Robie, Henry, chosen representative, 1777 I34 

Robie's Island 267 

Robie, Nathan Henry, biographical sketch 35I 

illustration 35I 

house burned, 1833 I53 

Robiestown (Weare) attempt to settle, 1750 176 

Robinson, Jonathan, drowns, 1855 I57 

Mrs., dies 196 

Rockingham Academy 239 271 

burned, 1875 76-154 

description of building 272 

principal 234, 303 

tuition 271 

division, Sons of Temperance 243 

Lodge of Odd Fellows 343 

Rolf, Moses H., dies 203 

Ropes, Rev. Mr., pastor, Baptist Church, 1828-1830 142 

Rowe, Jacob, drowns, 1855 I57 

Pain, buys John Treadwell at auction 299 

Rowe's Point 267 

Rules of the church pertaining to marriage 117 

owning the covenant 117 

Rural free delivery of mail 161 

Charles I. Akerman appointed carrier 161 

compensation established 161 

candidates for cai'rier 161 

installed February, 1905 195 

route laid out 162 

boxes obtained 162 

Sabbath schools called 55 

Saddle used in 1769, on wedding journey of Mrs. John Brown 301 

Salary of Rev. Josiah Bayley fixed 26 



436 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Salarj' of Rev. Joseph \Miii)ple fixed 18 

Salem Normal School students 239 

Salt marsh 264 

cultivation 265 

hay harvested by gondolas 266 

lands, prices of 265 

owners 265 

Esquire Philbrick theory of origin and fortnation 292 

time of cutting 268 

works at Hampton landing 268 

Sanborn, Aaron, fruit raiser and cattle dealer 280 

Abbie M., Mrs., house struck by lightning 204 

Abner, chosen representative, 1783 137 

selectman, 1822 287 

Annie Leavitt, dies 213 

Charles H., M. D 296 

Frank B., appointed examiner of Brown University 309 

in 1874 as chairman of Mass. State Board 

of Charities 307 

lecturer of Social Science at Cornell Uni- 
versity 307-309 

resident editor of the Springfield Repub- 
lican, 1871 307 

buried in Sleepy Hollow Cemetery 310 

dies, 1917 310 

editor, Boston Commonwealth, 1862 307 

establishes private school in Concord, Mass., 1854. . 306 

final session of School of Philosophy 310 

friendship for John Brown 306 

graduates from Harvard University 239 

illustration Frontispiece and 352 

letter from, read at library dedication 166 

library of 308 

literary activities 309 

marries Ariana Walker 306 

Louisa A. Leavitt 307 

memorial poem by Anne Higginson Spicer 311 

organizes School of Philosophy 308 

presented with gold headed cane, 1915 307 

publishes History of New Hampshire in 1904 309 

Life of Thoreau 310 

secretary of Kansas committee, 1856 306 

writes Recollections of Seventj' Years 308 

Fred B., chosen representative 177, 210, 294 

installs electric lights 177 

Genealogy 305 

George B., biographical sketch 353 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 437 

PAGE 

Sanborn, George B., illustration 353 

representative and selectman 353 

Grant B., buys Thomas Brown homestead 201 

Helen M., dies 215 

Mrs. James H., dies 206 

Prof. Jeremiah W., experimental farm 276 

John Chandler, biographical sketch 354 

dies 227 

illustration 354 

representative and selectman 354 

John E., dies 194 

selectman 206, 210, 294 

John Newell, biographical sketch 355 

cattle dealer, representative, selectman, senator 177 

210, 35 5 

illustration />; ■ ... ■ ri>.^-.»<-r: 3S5~ 

Joseph, treasurer, receipts for parsonage money, 1832 75 

Joseph L., graduate. Harvard College 239 

Levi, cattle dealer « 206 

selectman 199-206-294 

Lewis T., dies 193 

Mary Ann, dies 203-222 

Prescott, selectman 287 

Rufus C, selectman 278 

Sarah E., Miss, dies 189 

Thayer, apple shipper 261 

representative 244 

selectman 282 

Victor Channing, writes sketch of Frank B. Sanborn 305 

Sargent, Samuel P., dies 206 

Sawmill, location of Batchelder's, 1743 147 

Sawmills 253 

Savage, Rev. Mr., pastor 59 

Schools 235 

baseball 236 

board member, Charles W. Birtwell " 211 

Henry Prescott 218 

books used in town 235 

exhibitions and programs 236 

School of Philosophy, final session 310 

organized 308 

Schoolhouses built in 1806 140 

located on Stanton's hill, 1720 140 

. at Nason's 236 

struck by lightning in 1908 175 

Schoolmaster, Charles Treadwell 299 

School superintendent, Rev. Sereno T. Abbott 298 



438 HISTORY OF IIAMPTOX FALLS 

PAGE 

School superintendence 236 

teachers wages 239 

list of 235 

Scythe makers, 1850 262 

Scythes and mowing machines 262 

Seabrook, incorporated as parish, 1768 145 

as town 30 

Presbyterian meeting house built, 1763 30 

Seamstress, expert Mrs. Sarah Perkins 247 

Secretary of Kansas committee 306 

Selectmen, care of town charges - 172 

chairman, accepts library gift 164 

chosen 202 

elected 199 

erect new guide posts, 1904 and 1915 178 

instructed to provide home for the po(}r 124 

Charles P. Akerman 294 

Joseph Akerman 282 

Emery Batchelder 244, 282 

John Batchelder 282 

Reuben Batchelder 282 

Arthur ^^'. Brown 295 

Harry P. Brown 210 

James H. Brown 222, 227, 255, 294, 295 

Arthur W. Chase 199, 294 

John Chase 285 

Charles F. Coombs 220, 222, 225, 227 

Joseph Blake Cram 199, 294, 328 

George J. Curtis . .218, 220, 294 

Millard L. Dalton 230, 295 

John W. Dodge 284 

Richard Dodge 284 

Albert W. Elkins 294 

Aaron Gove 283 

Charles Gove 283 

Maj. Jeremiah Godfrey 279 

Frank S. Green 337 

George C. Healey 218, 220, 290 

Wells Healey 280 

Bertram L. Janvrin 202, 216, 294, 341 

David Jan\Tin 284 

Edwin L. Janvrin 230, 295 

Joshua Jan\Tin 284 

William A. Janvrin 227 

William E. Janvrin 222, 225, 295 

John F. Jones 343 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 439 

PAGE 

Selectmen, Jeremiah Lane 286 

Levi Lane 286, 345 

Squire Leavitt 287 

John Marshall 282 

Joseph Melcher 277 

Samuel Melcher 244-277 

Aaron Merrill 286 

Charles J. Merrill 202 

George F. Merrill 294 

Nathan Moulton 277 

Charles A. Nason 285, 347 

Jonathan Nason 285 

Stacy Nuclei 283 

Herbert Page 213 

J. Herbert Page 216, 294 

Capt. Nathaniel Perkins 283 

Smith Prescott 287 

True Prescott 244, 287 

Abner Sanborn 287 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

John Elmer Sanborn 202,-2e6, 210, 294 

John Newell Sanborn ,lv^ . . . 355 

Levi N. Sanborn 199,, lo2, 206, 294 

Prescott Sanborn 287 

Rufus C. Sanborn 278 

Thayer Sanborn 282 

Elroy G. Shaw 210, 213, 294 

William H. Thompson 216, 218, 294 

Emmons Brown Towle 358 

Peter Tilton 278 

Weare D. Tilton 279 

LawTence E. Wadleigh 230-295 

Benjamin Franklin Weare '. 360 

refuse to call town meeting 49 

Senator, John N. Sanborn chosen, 1908 177 

John P. Sanborn 210, 355 

U. S., Jacob H. Gallinger chosen Ijy first popular vote. ,, 224 

Rev. John Langdon chosen 37 

Rev. Mr. Wingate chosen 37 

Separatists called Baptists 59 

Settlement recorded with Rev. Joseph Whipple 123 

with Edmund Bayley 27 

Sewing circles in Baptist Christian and Unitarian Churches 249 

Shaw, Elroy G., selectman 210, 213, 294 

Rev. Linus receives call to become pastor, First Congregational 

Church of Hampton Falls 72 

telephone line absorbed by People's line, 1906 162 



440 HISTORY OF HAMPTOX FALLS 

PAGE 

Sheep indiistrj- and shearing 246 

Shipbuilding 277 

privilege at Stanion's landing in 1746 147 

granted at Fresh Island, 1740 147 

Shoemaker, Sewell Brown 278 

Short notes of people living in town, 1840-1850 277 

Signs, road erected by selectmen in 1915 178 

Silos 270 

Six persons chosen to take care of youths on Lord's day, 1832 122 

generations of Batchelder family 78 

deacons 55 

Sketch of Sereno T. Abbott 297 

Sketches, biographical 313-364 

Mary Dodge Aiken 320 

Charles P. Akerman 319 

Moses Emery Batchelder 321 

Samuel Batchelder 321 

Arthur Warren Brown 323 

Charles Rufus Brown 324 

George Cjtus Brown 325 

Harrj^ Benson Brown 326 

Jeremiah Brown 175 

Sarah Gertrude Bro^\-n 318 

Warren Brown 315 

Francis Edward Clark 361 

Mrs. Francis Edward Clark 362 

Harriett EHzabeth Abbott Clark 362 

Morrill Marston Coffin 327 

Joseph Blake Cram 328 

William Everett Cram 329 

George Jan\Tin Curtis 330 

Dr. WiUiam Waldo Curtis 331 

Rev. Lysander Dickerman 303 

Charles Nealey Dodge 332 

Horace A. Godfrej' 333 

John Harrison Gove 334 

Frank S. Green 337 

Charles A. Hardy 338 

Jerome A. Hardy 339 

George Clifford Healey 340 

Job Haskell 176 

Bertram Thompson Janvrin 341 

Edwin Janvrin 342 

John F. Jones 343 

Rev. Zebulon Jones 68 

Henry Harrison Knight 344 

Levi Edwin Lane v, 345 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 441 

PAGE 

Sketches, Joseph Mayo 302 

George F. Merrill 346 

George Moultori 364 

Gen. Charles A. Nason 347 

Edwin Prescott 348 

Warren James Prescott 350 

Nathan Henry Robie 351 

Frank B. Sanborn 305 

George Berry Sanborn 353 

John Chandler Sanborn 354 

John Newell Sanborn 355 

Roscoe Franklin Swain 356 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 , 

Emmons Brown Towle 35& 

Charles Treadwell 299 

Charles F. Wadleigh 359 

Benjamin Franklin Weare 360 

Smith, Mrs. Albert S., dies 201 

Elder Charles P., ordained 63 

Elder Elias, pubhshes Herald of Gospel Liberty 61 

organizes Christian Baptist movement 61 

Universalist Society 75 

Mary Ann, dies 21& 

Soap making 25& 

Social activities, 1840-1850 248 

Society of Friends 335 

pm-chases parsonage of Dr. Sewell Brown 59 

Soldiers hired at expense of the parish, 1779 134 

Sons of Temperance, Hampton Falls division, organized, 1848 240 

Mst of members 242 

Rockingham division 243^ 

Spicer, Anne Higginson, writes memorial poem for Frank B. Sanborn . . 311 

Spimiing wool and flax 247 

Spring marsh 268 

Standing order 59, 60, 141 

Stanion, Jacob, leases land for shipbuilding, 1746 147 

Stanion's landing, 1746 147 

Station agent, Charles P. Akerman 176 

Charles B. Brown 176 

State senator, George H. Dodge 284 

Stevens, baker's route 276 

Leo, balloon lands at William H. Brown's, 206 

Raymond, vote for U. S. senator 224 

Steel pens first used 236 

Stone, Rev. Thomas T., preaches installation sermon of Rev. Increase 

Sumner Lincoln 73- 

Stone wall building 246 



442 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Store and barn of Cyrus Brown l)urned, 1S66 153 

Edwin Janvrin l)urned, 1909 155, 213 

of William McDev-itt burns, 1909 155 

Storm, hail, in 1902 177 

Stragglers in community 272 

Strawberry growing 260 

Street car first run in Hampton Falls, 1899 180 

Successor called to Re\^ Josiah Bayley 28 

Theophilus Cotton 17 

ordained to Rev. Joseph Whipple 24 

Suit begun by Baptists for exemption form ministry tax, 1808 140 

Suits over ministerial taxes, 1765 129 

Superintendence of schools 236 

Superintendent of schools. Rev. Sereno T. Abbott 298 

Zebulon Jones 234 

Supply voted to Rev. Josiah Bayley 26 

Sutherland, Rev. David, preaches as supply to Orthodox members, 1835 142 

Swain's Creek 267 

Swain, family name appears in town records 178 

■Sw^ain, family records 178 

Roscoe Franklin, biographical sketcli 356 

illustration 356 

marries daughter of Warren Brown 178 

William, drowned in wreck of Rivermouth, 1657 356 

'Tablets on library wall 168 

Tanners, Jacob and Henry Thresher 176 

Tavern House, Burnham 175 

Tavern, Wells .' 282 

Tax, list of persons in 1776 148 

Taxes, low in 1840-1850 276 

Taylor River fisliing 277 

origin of name 293 

Telegraph installed on Eastern Railroad 256 

Telephone, independent line from Exeter operated 194 

line, independent, estabhshed, 1904 162 

People's sold to New England Telephone and Telegraph 

Company 162, 215 

People's Company organized, 1906 162 

Temperance meeting at Boar's Head, July 4, 1844 243 

movement, orchard destroyed by Moses Batchelder 243 

resolve in town meeting warrant, 1777 134 

Sons of, Hamilton division 241 

Rockingham division 243 

movement, Washingtonian 243 

Temple, W. H., buys Pike place 202 

dies 225 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 443 

PAGE 

Thatch ground alloted to parsonage 266 

Thayer, Martha, married to Rev. Jacob Abbott 47 

The Breeches 267 

Long Bridge at Hampton 173 

New Hampshire Way of Life from Sanborn Genealogy 305 

Weekly Rehear&al advertisement, 1732 152 

Theory of Esquire Philbrick on salt marsh land 292 

Thresher, Henry, marries daughter of Jacob Brown 176 

Henry and Jacob, tanners 176 

Thresher's Lane 176 

Thompson, William H., selectman 216, 218, 294 

Tibbetts, Rev. Mr., preaches 63 

Tile drainage, book by Judge Henry F. French 293 

draining, first in town 293 

manufacture, by Joseph D. Wadleigh 293 

Tilton's, blacksmiths, 1667-1821 176 

Tilton, Caleb, last tavern keeper in town 284 

employee Eastern Stage Company 284 

David, drowned 157 

Dean R., dies 191 

Enoch J., biograi:)hical sketch 357 

illustration 357 

town clerk and postmaster 357 

Henry E., sells farm, removes from town 176 

homestead buildings burn, 1904 155 

Elder John, becomes preacher in Christian Denomination 76 

Rev. John, completes course in Dartmouth College at age of 

sixty years 77 

name continuous in town, 1667-1906 176 

disappears, 1906 176 

Peter, drowns, 1849 157 

selectman 278 

Weare D., selectman, 1840 279 

Tin peddler, Mark Roberts 276 

Tobie, Richard, marries daughter of Job Haskell 176 

Toleration Act passed 49 

Toppan pastm-e 266 

Toppan, Christopher G., dies 223 

Tornado damage, July, 1905 197 

Towle, Almira, Miss, dies 191 

Capt. Caleb, custom boot and shoemaker 252, 281 

Emmons Brown, biographical sketch of 358 

dies 192 

illustration 358 

member Constitutional Convention 358 

selectman 358 

Lydia B., dies . 227 



444 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Town accounts firat printed, 1842 244 

charges, methods of handling 171 

clerk, George Clifford Ilealey 340 

John F. Jones 343 

Frank H. Lord 211, 213, 216, 220, 222, 225, 227, 230, 294 

Enoch J. Tilton 357 

common, interest in, by Horace A. Godfrey 179 

invoice 365 

library building dedicated 143, 166 

books moved to new building 163 

meeting, 1844, held in Christian chapel 244 

1844-1877, held in meeting house 64 

held in old meeting house 244 

1843, held in Wells Healey Building 244 

to vote on bell in 1739 75 

officers since 1900, list of 294 

purchases turnpike road, 1826 141 

records, extracts from 118 

records 171 

of Swain family 178 

treasurer, -\rthur W. Brown 206, 213, 216, 220, 222, 225, 227, 294 

Charles N. Dodge 294, 232 

WUliam H. :\IcDevitt 230, 294 

Tract of land offered to parish by Col. Jonathan Moulton 38 

Transfer, Charles B. Brown, station agent to Atlantic station 231 

Treadwell, Charles, biographical sketch 299 

genealogy, compiled by Wilham A. Robbins 300 

John, sold at auction to Pain Rowe 299 

Sarah, marries Dr. Abraham Green 300 

True, Elder Jabez, preaches 62 

Truesdale, James, dies 211 

True, John M., barn struck by lightning 197 

Tuck, Henry C, dies " 216 

Tuition fees at Rockingham Academy 271 

Turkey raising 252 

Turnpike road established to Seabrook and Hampton, 1811 140 

Union school program, 1851 237-238 

Unitarian Church 235 

SewTng Circle 249 

Unitarians employ Rev. Mr. Lothrop and Rev. Mr. Whitman 142 

left in possession of church 50 

Unitarian ministers occupy i)arsonage, 1832 56 

Unitarians separate from church 50 

Unitarian Society 57 

Universalist Society recognized in 1805 75 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 445 

PAGE 

Varieties of birds 271 

Vendue, arranging for care of the poor, 1779 144 

Vote for U. S. senator 224 

to abate rates to people in Seabrook, 1769 131 

agree to alteration in eighth article of Constitution of United 

States, 1783 137 

aid soldiers families 134 

appoint a P"'ast Day, 1777 133 

presidential election 229 

Voted a bounty for kilHng wolves, 1742 124 

to build new barn for Hampton Falls Church 19 

meeting house at Seabrook, 1768 32-33 

1768 130 

parsonage, 1745 125 

a pound, 1753 126 

stone walls around parsonage 124 

call Dr. Samuel Langdon to settle as ministei*, 1780 135 

Votes cast for president, 1796 138 

Voted to excuse the West Parish from ministerial tax, 1735 123 

grant land for new parish 17 

have a reading and wTiting school, 1752 126 

hire Gospel preacher, 1773 38, 138 

refuse to pay taxes, 1750 126 

make walls on parsonage land, 1752 126 

mend glass in meeting house, 1730 121 

not to make division of parsonage land 129 

print town accounts, 1845 245 

send representative, 1780 135 

to buy adcUtional parsonage land, 1729 121 

permission to Rockingham Academy to locate on Public Square, 

1834 142 

to raise money to buy ammunition, 1775 132 

pay for preaching, 1772-75 132 

Rev. Mr. Oilman, 1734 123 

support soldiers in army in 1775 132 

repair meeting house, 1815 140 

parsonage, 1801 139 

fence, 1739 121 

Vote to repair Taylor River bridge, 1796 138 

relating to expense of maintaining Lord's Table 13 

liquor in elections, 1775 133 

to keep grammar school open through the year, 1756 127 

be set off from old parish, 1725-6 120 

sell lower parsonage, 1794 138 

parsonage land, 1832 142 

property, 1832 56 

town right in old meeting house, 1842 56 



446 HISTORY OF HAMPTON FALLS 

PAGE 

Vote to set Presbyterians olT as a distinct parish, 17Go 129 

settle Rev. Mr. Cotton's accounts, 1726 120 

tax all persons for the support of the Gospel, 1762 129 

Wadleigh, Charles F., biographical sketch 359 

illustration 359 

Frances IM., marries Arthur W. Brown 200 

Lawrence E., selectman 230, 295 

Joseph D., manufacturer of drain tile 293 

^^'ages of farm help 258 

haymakers 263 

Walker, Ariana, marries Frank B. Sanborn 306 

James, president Harvard University 305 

Walton, William E., representative 229, 294 

Ward, Abel, marries Mary, daughter of Samuel Melcher 178 

Joseph, drowns 157 

family record 178 

Warden of state prison, Joseph Mayo 302 

Warrant to constables to whip Quakers 22 

Water supply 273 

Washington receives eighteen votes for president 138 

Washingtonian temperance reform movement 243 

total al>stiiience movement 298 

Weare, Benjamin Franklin, biograjihical sketch 360 

illustration 360 

member Constitutional Convention 360 

selectman 360 

Mrs., dies 216 

Miss Clarissa, dies 227 

farm 282 

George Austin, dies 213 

Governor, house repaired 201 

built in 1737 by Deacon Samuel Shaw 201 

John, expert Indian meal maker and representative 286 

Joseph II., collector 210, 216 

rei)resentative 220, 294 

Meshech, moderator. Parish meeting, 1738 123 

delegate to state convention, 1778 134 

chosen to General Congress, 1775 133 

dies, 1786 137 

has thirty-nine votes for president, governor 137 

Mills, Benjamin F. Weare, proprietor 360 

monument 8, 253 

(Robiestown) attempts to settle, 1750 176 

Samuel, representative 134, 136 

Weather record, 1889-1916 180 

Wells, Mrs. Hannah, owner Wells Tavern 282 



INDEX OF SUBJECTS 447 

PAGEi 

Wells, Tavern 282 

West Point, Ralph Adams Cram, architect 179 

Wheel hay rakes first used about 1860 263 

Wheelwright deed 5 

Jeremiah Hobbs 260 

Whig Party 248 

Whipple, Rev. Joseph, additional salary voted 18 

burial of 25 

chosen as successor to Rev. Theojjhilus Cotton. 18 

list of members received by 81-86 

salary fixed . 120, 122, 124, 12.5 

White, Rev. Charles T., address at the dedication of lilirary 164 

presides at the dedication of library 164 

Wilson, farm 276 

James, dies 230 

Winding withes 246 

Windmill of Colonel Lane's 277 

Wing, Rev. Otis, pastor Baptist Church 282 

representative 244 

Wingate, Rev. Paine, accepts also declines call 28 

appointed justice of Superior Court, 1798 37 

appointed minister, 1768 130 

buried at West Amesbury 37 

Rev. Paine, Sr., born 1703, died, 1786 37 

buried in Stratham 37 

called to succeed Rev. Josiah Bayley 28 

chosen U. S. Senator .^ 37 

representative to Congress 37 

church record 36 

death 37 

declines call 28 

dismissed from parish 35, 171 

instructed to dedicate new meeting house and 

preach 34 

marriage of 36 

letter of resignation 37 

program at ordination 36 

refuses to dedicate and preach in new meeting 

house 33-34 

resigns 35 

Rev. Paine, Sr., settled as pastor at West Amesbury 37 

settles at Stratham 36 

voted letter and dismissed to church at Strat- 
ham 38 

Winslow, Simon, representative 284 

Withdrawal of some members from Unitarians, 1834 142 

Withe fences 246 



448 HISTORY OF HAMPTON" FALLS 

PAGE 

^^'omen signers of covenant at Hampton Falls Church 12 

Worcester, Rev. Samuel M., preaches first sermon at First Evangelical 

Congregational Church of Seabrook and Hampton Falls 58 

Wood, nine cords cut in one day by Eziekel Gove 285 

Rev. Mr., supplies pulpit 50 

Worth farm 283 

Josei)h, chosen deacon 19 

Wreck of Rivermouth, 1657 4, 356 

Wright, Oliver, drowns 157 

John, drowns 157 

Young, Enoch P., dies 213 



^/^. 



^^i I 5 .JoQ