(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the town of Surry, Cheshire County, New Hampshire : from date of severance from Gilsum and Westmoreland, 1769-1922, with a genealogical register and map of the town"

I 




Tlew 
library 



r 



MRS DON A EAVES 
p BOX 122 
jAFFREY N H 03452 



f i 



HISTORY 

OF THE TOWN OF 

SURRY 

CHESHIRE COUNTY, NEW HAMPSHIRE 

From date of severance from 
GILSUM and WESTMORELAND 

1769 — 192.2L 
with a 

GENEALOGICAL REGISTER 
AND MAP OF THE TOWN 

by 
FRANK BURNSIDE KINGSBURY 

Member of New Hampshire and Vermont Historical Societies; Son of American 

Revolution; Author of descendants of the daughters of Nathaniel 

Kingsbury, 1904; Marshall Family Record, 1912.. 



Published by the town of 

SURRY, NEW HAMPSHIRE 

19x5 



THE CONCORD PRESS 

CONCORD, N. H. 

1925 



copyright by 

Town of Surry, New Hampshire. 

By 

HOLLIS W. HARVEY 

CLARENCE H. FRENCH 

GEORGE H. JOSLIN 

MRS. ELLEN H. HARVEY 

J. V. STILLINGS 

MRS. GRACE E. STILLINGS 

Town History Committee. 




Frank B. Kingsbury 



CONTENTS 

CHAPTER I. 

PAGES 

GENERAL HISTORY 5-14 

Name and incorpoi-ation — Situation and Boundary — Surface 
and Geology, Mineralogy — Ashuelot River — Brooks and 
Spring — Hills and Landmarks — Wild Animals — Birds and 
Fish. 

CHAPTER n. 

INDIAN HISTORY 15-18 

CHAPTER III. 

EARLY HISTORY AND CHARTER 19-29 

CHAPTER IV. 

EARLY HISTORY (continued) 30-40 

Proprietors' Records — Boundary Lines — Lots an rl Ranges — 
The New Hampshire Grants. 

CHAPTER V. 

ROADS, HIGHWAYS AND BRIDGES 41-60 

CHAPTER VI. 

CENSUS AND VOTERS' LIST 61-85 

Population census — Revolutionary War census — First United 
States Census, 1790— Inhabitants' census, 1806 — Voters in 
Surry, 1825 — Census of 1840— Industry Census, 1850 — Voters 
in Surry, 1922. 

CHAPTER VII. 

MILITARY HISTORY 86-114 

Surry during the Revolutionai'y War — Militia — New Hamp- 
shire State Militia — Surry Militia Company in 1808. 

CHAPTER VIII. 

MILITARY HISTORY (continued) 115-133 

War of 1812— War of the Rebellion— World War— Liberty 
Loans — Elliott Community Hospital. 

CHAPTER IX. 

CIVIL LISTS 134-169 

Town Officers — County Officers — State Officers — Town Topics 
— The Village Water System — Surry Fire Company — Law- 
suits — Miscellaneous Items. 



CHAPTER X. 

ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY 170-208 

Old Congregational Church— The Church Bell— Early Church 
Records — Rev. Perley Howes' Ministry— The Minister's Tax 
— Orthodox Congregational Church — The Crane Meeting- 
house — The Baptist Society — Universalist Society — Spiri- 
tualists — Salary Tax for 1803. 

CHAPTER XI. 

EDUCATIONAL HISTORY 209-242 

Schools — Common School Association — Surry Literary Club 
— Surry Social Library — The Reed Free Library — Music — 
Old Home Week Association — Masonic Order — Surry Grange 
— Reform Club — Professions. 

CHAPTER xn. 
INDUSTRIES 243-254 

CHAPTER XIII. 

CASUALTIES 255-261 

Fires — Crimes — Tornado. 

CHAPTER XIV. 

REMINISCENCES 262-274 

CHAPTER XV. 

FAMILY HISTORIES 275-337 

Cellai'-holes — House-sites — Dwellings — Mills — Shops — Places 
of Historical Interest. 

CHAPTER XVI. 

CEMETERIES 338-406 

The Village Burying Yard — Unmarked and Unknown Graves 
— The South Cemetery — The Southwest Burying Yard — Pond 
Road Cemetery. 



PART TWO. 
GENEALOGICAL REGISTER 407-973 

GENERAL INDEX 974- 

INDEX OF PERSONS 
INDEX OF PLACES 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS 



Baxter-Shaw Homestead 

Carpenter Homestead 

Harvey Homes 

Hayward Homestead 

Holbrook Tavern . 

Joslin Homestead 

Lily Pond . 

Perkins Coat of Arms 

Perkins Homestead 

Porter Residence . 

Nathan D. Reed Farm 

Scriptures Mill 

South Schoolhouse, No. 10 

Willard Streeter Residence 

Surry Mountain . 

Surry Village, Looking North 

Toll Gate Site 

Village Hotel 



PAGE 

310 
323 

298 
277 
313 
325 
265 
794 
306 
297 
315 
308 
280 
305 
264 
291 
303 
292 



LIST OF PLATES 



Lyna and Joseph Allen . 

George W. Britton 

John Langdon Britton 

Isaac Brown 

William and Abigail Carpenter 

Dr. Jasper H. Carpenter . 

Mason A. Carpenter 

Benjamin Currier Crosby 

Henry T. Ellis 

Eliphaz Field 

Francis F. Field . 

Nancy (Robbins) Grimes 

Eliza Harvey 

Gecrge K. Harvey 

Jonathan Harvey, Jr. 

Peter Hayward 

Peter B. Hayward 

Benjamin Hills 

Elijah Holbrook . 

George W. Holbrook 

Edward H. Joslin . 

George Joslin 

Cyrus Kingsbury . 

Edward A. Kingsbury 

Frank B. Kingsbury 

Josiah Kingsbury 

William Henry Porter 

David Reed . , 

Samuel Robinson . 

Dr. Samuel Thompson 

Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Vincillette 

Hollis Wilcox 

Thankful Robbins Wilcox 

William Wallace Wilcox . 



PACJE 
422 
482 
479 
493 
508 
514 
515 
557 
596 
605 
609 
838 
664 
665 
663 
677 
678 
684 
691 
692 
725 
726 
746 
744 
Frontispiece 
742 
810 
824 
842 
903 
912 
947 
948 
950 



PREFACE 

While all details are not necessary, a general review of conditions that led 
to writing this history may be of interest. 

In every town there is always one person at least who is imbued with love 
for his native town. Even as a school boy Francis F. Field was interested 
in the early history of Surry, and from old people collected reminiscences 
which he jotted down on odd scraps of paper. Because of his effort to estab- 
lish the last resting- place of early inhabitants many unmarked graves that 
never could have otherwise been known can now be placed on record. He 
wanted a town history written, and endeavored to turn public opinion along 
that line. In 1881 there was an article in the warrant to see if the town 
would "prepare and publish the early history of the town." For four suc- 
ceeding years the same article appeared in the annual town warrant, but at 
no time was any favorable action taken. During an interview in the winter 
1903-04 the writer urged Mr. Field to write and publish a history; for a de- 
cade more it was hoped and desired that he would undertake the task, but 
lack of interest in earlier days, his increasing years and other reasons de- 
terred him, and realizing that he could not do the work, with due consideration 
he generously, and much to my surprise, turned over to me on August 20, 
1915 all his papers and notes pertaining to the town under condition that, 
"in case anything is put into print proper mention be made of said Field's ma- 
terial." Five days later, and before I had time to examine the material, it was 
announced at Surry Old Home Day, and without my consent, that I would 
"prepare a town history for publication." At Old Home Day the next year 
a few subscriptions were secured to assist on the history. 

At the town meeting, March, 1917, two hundred dollars was voted to help 
the work along and a town History Committee was appointed. At the an- 
nual town meeting, March, 1919, it was voted: 

'■That the town appropriate the sum of $700.00, one-third thereof to be 
raised by taxation the present year and one-third the following year and 
the balance in the third year and the Committee on town history already 
appointed is hereby authorized and empowered to make such contract and 
arrangement with Frank B. Kingsbury for the finishing of said history 
up to the printing as in the judgment of said Committee shall be for the 
interest of the town, paying therefore cut of the above mentioned sum 
and the selectmen are hereby authorized to enlarge said committee by the 
appointment under their hands of additional numbers whenever they may 
deem it expedient." 

The tinie required for the author to complete the manuscript has taken many 
months more than was anticipated, he regrets the delay, numerous causes, 
for part of which he is not responsible, have retarded progress. 

Hollis W. Harvey, Clarence H. French, George H. Joslin, Mrs. Ellen H. 



Harvey, J. V. Stillings and Mrs. Grace E. Stillings comprise the Town His- 
tory Committee and they have carefully read the manuscript, and in their hands 
rest all further details; the writer is responsible only for the preparation of 
the manuscript which he has endeavored, without any claim to literary tal- 
ent, to have as complete and free from error as possible. 

Many people have generously aided in securing material for the Geneal- 
ogical Register which would otherwise have been inaccurate and unsatisfac- 
tci-y. Acknowledgment for the assistance rendered by the History Commit- 
tee is hereby given, and especially to Mrs. Ella E. (Patten) Abbott of West- 
moreland and Keene; Mrs. Bei'tha (Perkins) Britton, New Haven, Conn.; 
Mrs. Jennie Ball Foster, Los Angeles, Calif.; Charles M. Scovell, Haverhill, 
Mass.; Carlos E. Barron, Westminster, Mass.; Sewall F. Rugg, Chesterfield; 
Charles C. Buffum of Keene, Register of Deeds; to my wife who has compiled 
the gravestone records and has done much research work, and also to Samuel 
Wadsworth of Keene for his excellent work on the map of the town. 

It has been the constant aim of the writer to narrate facts and piesent a 
reliable history. May it in some degree serve its purpose to perpetuate the 
deeds of our fore-fathers, to keep from oblivion the memory of the old home- 
stead. That it prove both satisfying and pleasing to the sons and daughters 
of Surry, is the desire of the author. 
Surry, N. H., 1923. 

FRANK B. KINGSBURY. 



INTRODUCTION 

Aside from some historical data gathered by the late Francis F. Field no at- 
tempt had been made by any one, to the writer's knowledge, to arrange and 
put in legible form the events pertaining to this town, and the compiler of 
this History little realized in the beginning the labor, time and research nec- 
essary, for to attempt writing a comprehensive and reliable history of a town 
more than one hundred and sixty years after its first settlement is a difficult 
and laborious undertaking, comprehended only by those who have accom- 
plished such a task. 

Chiefly among the sources of information have been the old Proprietors, 
town and church records; Cheshire County Register of Deeds; file of New 
Hampshire Sentinel; Rev. Perley Howe's private records; Mr. F. F. Field's 
data; local town histories and numerous traditions. 

The reader naturally desires to learn of early conditions; charter and in- 
corporation, when and from where came the first settlers and sites of their 
log cabins. Would that we might portray a clear and true picture of early 
Surry; the land, the pioneers and their rude cabins — we fail! It is now im- 
possible! 

In 1730 this part of New England was a vast wilderness through which 
prowled the lynx and wild-cat, the howl of the wolf echoed over the hills, the 
bear came forth from his cavern den in search of food, while the deer leaped 
from danger to safety. Song of birds filled the air, flocks of pigeons dwelt in 
the trees, whistle of hawk and hoot of owl were daily heard, wild turkeys 
roamed the woods, and the beaver labored to build his hut. Giant elm, sturdy 
oak, great maple and monarch pine, which had never felt the woodman's axe, 
covered the land. Towering over and above all was majestic mountain, 
granite bear-den, pinnacle and conical, bald hill, with other highlands to the 
north and west. 

Up the river in search of fish and game came the red-men marking their 
own path. When weary of travel they camped on the brow of the hill at 
Whoppanock. Then came the white-men, who, taking the natural course, fol- 
lowed the old Indian trail. In 1732 the first settlement was made in Winches- 
ter, the next year at Swanzey, Keene in 1734; in the Connecticut river valley 
Westmoreland followed in 1741, and after eight years more Walpole in 1749. 
After the termination of the French and Indian war in 1760 new settlers 
began arriving to take up the land; within two years they had entered the 
territory of Gilsum and Alstead. The fertile Ashuelot valley, then a part of 
Westmoreland and Gilsum, was entered. Within a few years citizens banded 
together, a new town was carved out, and on Max'ch 9, 1769, incorporated as 
Surry. 

On June 8, 1753, Peter Hayward, then of Woodstock, Conn., bought five 
tracts of land in Keene. Subsequently he purchased additional land, all of 



which lay in Keene adjoining Surry line. In 1762, he was living in that part 
of Westmoreland, now Surry, but documentary evidence, thus fai', has not 
been found to substantiate the tradition that he was the first settler on Surry 
soil; it is with keen regret that the compiler of this work, after much time and 
research, feels obliged to make the above statement. There still remain 
Colonial records which when examined may reveal the true conditions, for it 
is probable that the doughty, honest, intrepid, old Peter was "the pioneer 
settler." Tradition says he built his first log cabin east of the highway about 
20 rods north of the present Samuel L. Newton dwelling, which is known to 
have been erected by Peter about 1764. 

William Hayward, Jr., Peter's brother, came about 1762 and settled where 
Frank E. Ellis now resides. John Johnson, whose wife was a sister of the 
Hayward brothers, came from Woodstock, Conn., prior to 1762, and probably 
settled on the late Edmund Woodward fai'm. In the spring of 1764 Mr. John- 
son sold his farm to Jonathan Parkhurst and removed to Winchester. 

Jan. 26, 1762, William Barron bought an 104 acre tract of land of John 
Johnson and doubtless settled near where now stands the J. N. Keller cottage, 
formerly the Jonathan R. Field place. Benjamin Whitney was another early 
settler, and Charles Rice appears to have settled during the summer of 1760 
near where Merrill D. Carpenter now lives, while Woolston Brockway came 
to the George A. Hall place about 1761. 

Owing to the destruction of both the Proprietors' records and the Lot and 
Range table of Westmoreland we are especially handicapped in locating where 
the pioneers settled in the south part of Surry. In the north part, we are 
more fortunate, as there still exists a copy of the old Lot and Range maps of 
Gilsum. 

The genealogical register has required months of work, travel, and an ex- 
tensive correspondence; conflicting names and dates have frequently appeared 
but it has been the constant aim of the author to have as few errors as pos- 
sible. The map and chapter on present and former residences will be appre- 
ciated by many and we trust add to the value of this history. 

The author desires to thank all who have assisted in this work and es- 
pecially the Town History Committee, Hollis W. Harvey, Clarence H. French, 
George Henry Joslin, Mrs. James E. Harvey, J. V. Stillings and Mrs. 
J. V. Stillings. 

FRANK B. KINGSBURY. 



History of Surry 

CHAPTER I. 

NAME AND INCORPORATION— NATURAL HISTORY— WILD ANIMALS, 

BIRDS, ETC. 

NAME AND INCORPORATION 

Surry, Cheshire County, New Hampshire, was incorporated on Thursday, 
March 9, 1769, deriving its name from Surrey, a county in the southern part 
of England, from which, it is understood, the ancestors of many of the early 
settlers of Surry emigrated during the first half of the seventeenth century. 
March 19, 1771, the county was incorporated and named Cheshire, deriving 
its name from a county in the western part of England, celebrated for the 
manufacture of cheese. The county was divided near its middle July 5, 1827, 
the northern portion being given the name of Sullivan. 

New Hampshire, one of the thirteen original states, received its name about 
1630, from the county of Hampshire in England, the home of its first grantees. 

SITUATION AND BOUNDARY 

The town of Surry is situated in latitude 43° 1' N., and longitude 72° 
20' W. It is bounded on the north by Walpole and Alstead, east by Gilsum, 
south by Keene, and west by Westmoreland and Walpole. It is 6.7 miles from 
Keene, and 52 miles southwest from Concord. 

In general, it is oblong in form, approximately thi'ee and one-fourth miles 
wide from east to west, and five and one-half miles long from north to south. 
It contains about 12,212 acres, and is one of the smaller towns in the county, 
and lies a little northwest of its center. 

SURFACE AND GEOLOGY 

The surface of this township is exceedingly picturesque and pleasing, hav- 
ing within its narrow limits valley, upland and rugged mountain scenery. 
Through nearly the length of the town, from north to south, extends the 
arable valley of the Ashuelot; the river, entering from Gilsum near Surry's 
northeast corner, flows northwesterly to Shaw's Corner, where it turns abrupt- 
ly to the south. In this valley are located many excellent farms, providing 
the principal wealth of the township. 

On the west the valley gradually rises to the highlands that, form the di- 
vision of the waters of the Ashuelot from those of the Connecticut River, and 
the boundary line between Surry and Westmoreland and Walpole. On the 



6 History of Surry 

east its rise is abrupt and rugged, terminating at the summit of Surry Moun- 
tain, the barrier which contributed to the formation of the town of Surry. 

SURRY MOUNTAIN 

The eai-ly deeds speak of this mountain as a "great mountain." It extends 
about four miles in a north and south direction, and from its top is obtained 
a splendid view of the village, valley, and the hills to the west, and the Green 
Mountains in Vermont. Nearly every occupied house within the township 
can be seen from one or more points on the mountain. It is notable not only 
for the rugged scenery it presents, but as a geological study and for the valu- 
able minerals it is supposed to contain. 

Tradition has it that the Indians knew and utilized lead deposits here more 
than a century and a half ago, and that a party of Spaniards once came here 
and carried away with them gold ore. The Indians are said to. have obtained 
bullets by simply cutting off pieces of lead from a ledge, the locality of which 
they alone knew. 

It is told of Capt. David Fuller that, while crossing the mountain to his 
work in Gilsum, he found lead which he cut off with his axe and used for bul- 
lets, but that he could never find the spot a second time. 

Less than a hundred years ago, after long continued fires in the woods on 
the west side of the mountain, places were seen where streams of molten lead 
had run down the rocks. 

GEOLOGY AND MINERALOGY 

A detailed knowledge of the geological formation and mineral resources 
of this town is not deemed of utmost importance in a work of this nature, yet 
some brief mention of conditions will be of interest, and should be recorded. 
Of Surry it is said: 

It forms a part of the great mineral belt, extending from New Bruns- 
wick through Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont, a part of western 
Massachusetts and eastern New York, sinking at the Hudson to appear 
again in southern Pennsylvania and western Maryland, Virginia and 
North Carolina. In Surry there have been left almost in juxtaposition, 
deposits of gold, copper and galena. The gold is associated with perites 
of iron, occasionally appearing as free gold, the silver in the form of 
black sulphurets and argentiferous galena flecked in spots with gray 
copper — or hidrate of silver — and the copper as live carbonates, sulphur- 
ets, and native, many specimens of the copper being very beautiful oc- 
curing as leaves, fern shaped, and minute wires interwoven with crys- 
talline quartz. 

Prof. C. H. Hitchcock in his works on the geology and glacial drift in this 
part of New Hampshire gives the following information concerning Surry 
and vicinity: 

We find Surry Mountain composed of rock that is more like mica 
schist than gneiss; though it sometimes has the character of a mica- 
ceous gneiss, and sometimes, though rarely, contains fibrolite. On the 
west side of the mountain, east of the village of Surry, about three- 



History of Surry 7 

fourths of the way up, there is a vein, sometimes two or three feet wide, 
that carries galena, zinc-blende and pyrrhotite. It appears also near 
the north end of the mountain, at nearly the same level. The southern 
extremity of Surry Mountain is the limit of this band of the fibrolite 
rock southward. The rock of Bald hill — which seems to be an exten- 
sion of Surry Mountain northward, although cut off from it by the deep 
valley of the Ashuelot River, — resembles very closely the White Moun- 
tain gneiss, and probably belongs to the same group of rocks as Surry 
Mountain. The quartzites, quartz schists and quartz conglomerates of 
Gilsum, Surry and Keene are among the most interesting of any we 
have examined, but they require more careful study than we have been 
able to give them to understand fully their relations to the other rocks. 
Then there is the quartz of Mine Ledge, that extends south into West- 
moreland and Keene. 

In the southwest part of the town, a few rods easterly of the Britton place, 
there is a limited outcrop of quartzite, which is very near the quartz, and 
there are two beds of quartzites in Keene and Surry which have been dis- 
covered "separated by a wide band of gneiss from the central group." The 
same kind of rock appears in Newport and Grafton, forty to sixty miles 
farther north. 

Surry Mountain has always been thought to be rich in ore, but mining 
operations have met with but indifferent success. 

There is abundant evidence of the "Glacial Period" within the borders of 
this town, not only on the sui'face of ledges, but from the large number of 
boulders found scattered about in numerous places. Geologists tell us that 
this section was covered during this period with a vast field of ice, that the 
sheet even passed over the summit of Mt. Washington, 6,200 feet above the 
sea level. Hence, during the "great ice age," the territory now embraced in 
the town of Surry was completely covered. It is known that the ice moved 
southeasterly from the St. Lawrence valley. The true course of the "drift" 
over Bald hill has been discovered from "scratchings" found on the rocks, 
and is "South 23° East." 

Further evidence of the glacier has been found on the surface of a large 
ledge, a few rods easterly of the old road that crosses the northwest corner 
of the town. Here the action of the ice mass with its huge fragments of de- 
tached rocks has ground and polished the outcropping ledge until its surface, 
after being exposed ages upon ages, still retains its finish and glistens in the 
sunlight. 

Many rocks in the form of boulders were deposited within the limits of this 
town during the glacial period; they vary in size from a few hundred pounds 
to many tons each. 

BUTLER'S ROCK 

This boulder is said to have come from Ascutney Mountain in Vermont, and 
is at the north end of the. town, about one-fourth mile north of Shaw's corner. 
The approximate dimensions are twenty feet in length, width and height; it 
probably runs six or eight feet below the surface. 

There was a house before 1835 on the west side of the road, opposite this 



8 History of Surry 

boulder, occupied by Mr. Butler, and for many years this rock was known as 
"Butler's Rock," although since about 1876 as "Ascutney Boulder." 

*BRITTON BOULDER 

In a pasture in the southwest part of the town, some forty rods east of the 
dwelling- house of Walter H. Britton, can be seen a boulder worthy of special 
mention. It is composed largely of white quartz, wholly unlike other rocks 
found in town. Like most boulders, its general form is spherical; it is about 
twelve feet in diameter and rests on the surface of the ledge much like a huge 
apple on a small platter; about it are several fragments of rock, once evident- 
ly a part of it. 

From the top of this boulder a splendid view is obtained in all directions: 
the Richmond hills in the south, grand Mt. Monadnock and the city of Keene 
in the southeast, Nelson hills and Surry Mountain easterly, and Alstead hills 
at the north; and then, turning to the northwest, west and southwest one can 
trace the Green Mountain range in Vermont from near the middle of the state 
until it is lost in northwestern Massachusetts. In the west, and overtopping 
the whole, is seen Stratton Mountain, from which echoed the boom of the 
cannon at Bennington on Aug. 16, 1777, 

BOULDER ON JOHN COLE PLACE 

In the wood lot, on the farm now owned by Frank E. B. Mason, about fifty 
rods southwest of the old John Cole place, is a red colored boulder of consid- 
erable size, the nature of which differs from other rocks in town. It rests 
almost wholly above the surface of the soil, is twenty feet in length, twenty 
in thickness, and fully twenty in height. Several fragments, broken from 
it, lie close at hand. 

A later period than than of the "glacial period" is thus described by the 
late Rev. Josiah L. Seward : 

"If a birds-eye view of the vicinity of Keene in what geologists would 
call a recent geological age, could be reproduced for us, it would disclose 
a vast lake covering the beautiful valley of what is now Keene. It ex- 
tended on the north to the hills of Surry, with a bay reaching to the 
high lands of Alstead. Surry Mountain was a beautiful promontory 
jutting into this lake from the northeast, which a bay reaching up what 
is now the Beaver brook valley separated fi'om Beech hill. The western 
shore was on what we call the West Mountain and the hills of West- 
moreland and Surry. The outlet was by way of what we call the valley 
of the Ashuelot, into the valley of the Connecticut. The lake must have 
been a most beautiful sheet of water, about fifteen miles in length and 
from three to five miles in width. Evidences of its existence have been 
repeatedly discovered and described. Gradually the soft earth at the 
outlet was worn away and, little by little, the lake disappeared, until 
only traces of it were left." 



'U. S. Signal Station established on this boulder about 1S80. 



History of Surry 9 

* ASHUELOT RIVER 

The earliest inhabitants of the valley which succeeded the lake described 
above were the Ashuelot (?) Indians, who, it is said, gave their name to the 
river which flows through this town in a southerly course. 

Ashuelot river is by far the most important stream, and the only river in 
town. In its course of about fifty miles it has a fall of nearly 1200 feet, and 
is regarded as one of the most important rivers of its size in the state as re- 
gards power for manufacturing purposes. Its head waters are in several 
small ponds in the town of Washington; flowing in a southwesterly direction 
to the Connecticut river, it passes through Marlow, Gilsum, Surry, Keene, 
Swanzey, Winchester and Hinsdale. In Surry it varies in width, but gen- 
erally is from three to four rods wide. For the first mile after entering town, 
.owing to its descent, the current is somewhat rapid, the river bed rough and 
rocky, but below Scripture's milldam the fall is slight, and the stream flows 
gently onward into Keene. Hence, but few opportunities are aff'orded from 
which to develop water power; two only have thus far been utilized. 

LILY POND 

Upon the summit of Surry Mountain, near its center, is a notch in which 
lies Lily pond, a body of water covering a few acres, and, from its altitude, it 
is looked upon as a natural curiosity. It has its outlet in a sparkling brook 
which rushes down the mountain side to unite with the Ashuelot. This pond, 
.seven hundred and fifty feet above the meadows, and in the hollow of the 
mountain, is probably eighty feet deep in some places. It is not an uninter- 
esting spot, although still and lonely, yet it is neglected even by the birds, who 
do not for some reason care for the sameness of its shores, which are for the 
most part swampy and thick with underbrush. Fallen trees, doubled by their 
own reflection in the water, point their long tapering trunks far out over the 
pond, and the ground, covered with bright green moss, trembles as one passes 
along. Following the pond's outlet on the west side down the mountain side 
are many beautiful cascades leaping over the lichen-covered rocks. 

BROOKS AND SPRING 

Lily pond brook, mentioned above, comes down the west side of Surry Moun- 
tain, and is an outlet of Lily pond, from which its name is derived. 

Benton brook, so named as early as 1799 and later called "Cannon" brook, 
has its source in the south part of Alstead, and enters Surry at the northeast 
corner, then flowing south enters the Ashuelot not far from the Gilsum line. 

Thompson brook was known by that name as early as 1805, taking the name 
from Dr. Samuel Thompson, who, at that time, lived near its banks. The 



*This name appears in the early records, as follows : — ^Ashawhelock, Ashawelloc, 
Asheurlit, Ashewelot, Ashewillot, Ashuellot, Ashuellott, Ashtierlot, Ashulott, Ashurlott, 
Ashuwelot, Ashwilit, etc. The name Ashuelot "was originally written Nashua lot; the 
Indian word nashue signifies in the midst, and was applied by them to a point or angular 
piece of land lying hetween two branches of a stream or other water; ut means at. The 
application of the word is here plain. The natives called the triangular peninsular formed 
by the bend of the Connecticut and touched on the east by the smaller stream, nashue ut, 
and the settlers, without inquiring into the specific meaning of the word, made it the 
name of smaller stream. By omitting the initial n and with the introduction of 1 before 
the termination, it makes a most musical appelation. The regret is that our fathers 
did r.ot retain more of those apt and significant Indian names." Temple and Sheldon, 
from Keene Hi.story, page 15. 



10 History of Surry 

brook rises in Alstead and flowing southward into Surry enters the Ashuelot 
river near Shaw's corner. 

Mack brook, another small stream from Alstead, enters Thompson brook a 
few rods north of the old Holbrook tavern. 

Scovell brook rises in the edge of Walpole, flows in an easterly course in 
Surry and empties into the Ashuelot a mile south of the Alstead line. Henry 
Scovell settled near its banks as early as the spring of 1784. 

Harvey brook rises in the southeast corner of Walpole, flows easterly 
through Surry and enters the Ashuelot above "Whoppanock" hill, receiving 
its name from Capt. Thomas Harvey, who settled in that part of the town 
about 1766. 

Fuller brook, a small stream rising northwest of the village, flows in a 
southeasterly direction and crosses the farm where Joshua Fuller settled 
several years before the Revolution, and enters Harvey brook east of the 
highway. 

Beaver brook, so named as early as 1790, is a small stream that flows 
through the marshy meadow land southeast of the village. Here was once 
the home of beavers. 

Smith brook crosses the highway at the foot of Sand hill, east of the old 
home farm of Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr., — M. D. Carpenter place, 1922 — flows 
s. e., and empties into the Ashuelot. 

John S. Britton brook in the south part of the town, has its source near 
Mine ledge and empties into the millpond at the south part of the town. It 
was named from John S. Britton, who lived near this stream, on the old 
Gilbert road. This was known as "Hayward's brook" in 1805. 

Black brook has its source in the southwest part of Surry, and enters the 
west part of Keene south of the old John Cole place. 

Cole brook rises in the south part of the town, flows southerly near where 
John Cole lived, and joins Black brook on the edge of Keene. 

Of the springs in town but one is worthy of special mention, the one which 
supplies the village with a good quality and quantity of pure spring water. 
This spring is located west of the late Lewis F. Blake place, and natural 
gravitation carries its waters to different parts of the village. In place of 
the "old. oaken bucket" many of the people now living in town have spring 
water piped to their buildings. 

HILLS AND LAND-MARKS 

Wilbur hill is in the south part of the town; named for Amasa Wilbur, and 
is situated largely on his farm. 

Arrow hill is in the southwest corner of the town. Some 60 years ago an 
Indian bow and arrow wei-e cut in the ledge on the hill by William Mason. 

Mine hill, or Ridge hill, is also in the southwestern part of the town. Here 
the Spaniards began excavation work before the Revolution. 

Hedgehog hill, above and separated from the last named hill by the "gulch" 
through which the Pollard road was built, was the home of the bear, and also 
the porcupine. 

Gilbert hill was named for Ebenezer Gilbert who early lived in town on the 
Gilbei't road — now Cottage street. 



History of Surry 11 

McCurdy hill is a short distance north of where Samuel McCurdy settled 
before the Revolution. This hill is conical in form, about 150 feet high, and 
is composed largely of rock with several small boulders on top. 

Kingsbury hill is on the main road between Surry and Keene, and was 
named from William Kingsbury who lived near the foot of the hill. Dinah's 
rock is by the roadside about half way up this hill. 

Sand hill, also called Carter's hill. The first name has ever been appropri- 
ate owing to the large amount of sand over which teams must pass. The 
Carter family at one time lived at the foot of the hill, and their name was 
given to it for several years. Smith brook crosses the road near the foot of 
the hill. 

Bear-Den hill is a conical shaped rocky hill about three quarters of a mile 
southwesterly from the village. It is perhaps 300 feet high, and near its sum- 
mit is a natural cave in which it is said bears took refuge in early times. 
Several boulders have found lodgement on this elevation. Tradition says it 
was named about 1850. 

Meetinghouse hill is the highway just north of the old meeting-house. 

Fuller hill was where Joshua Fuller settled north of the village, now the 
Hollis W. Harvey homestead. 

Harvey hill, on the Harvey road, was where Capt. Thomas Harvey settled 
in 1766. E. H. Joslin now owns the Harvey lands. 

Carpenter hill, on the Carpenter road which went nearly to the Walpole 
town line, was where Jedidiah Carpenter settled about 1778. 

Marvin hill in the northwest corner of the town was where John Marvin 
settled. 

Bald hill from its altitude and form may be classed next in importance to 
Surry Mountain. It is an immense granite cone about 500 feet in height; on 
its top was once a boulder a few feet in diameter. 

Wilcox hill on which Asa Wilcox was an early settler is in the north part 
of the town. 

TREES 

The town was originally heavily wooded; some of the principal forest trees 
are the oak, sugar or rock maple, white maple, beech, birch, bass wood, ash, 
elm, cherry, spruce hemlock, and pine. For more than seventy-five years wood 
and timber from Surry Mountain and wood lots hav6 been hauled into Keene; 
this has contributed largely to the wealth of the town. Fruit trees were form- 
erly more abundant than in recent years; the higher land in the west part is 
considered especially adapted to fruit culture. Of the smaller fruits the 
blackberry, raspberry, blueberry and strawberry are' usually plentiful in 
their season. 

A TREE CURIOSITY 

West of the Town hall, beyond the bridge which crosses the brook a few 
rods from the steep bank and a rod or more south of the Harvey (or Joslin) 
road, is a group of fine oak trees, each over one foot in diameter, and all ap- 
parently coming from one root. These trees spread so as to form a cup 
shaped hollow in which there is water through nearly all the summer months. 



12 History of Surry 

When full the surface of the water is two feet across and about the same 
distance from the ground, and the pool is eighteen inches in depth. 

WILD ANIMALS 

The early settlers found wild animals in plenty. Especially numerous and 
of great annoyance were the black bears. Wolves were often seen in early 
days, also lynx and wild cat, deer and moose, raccoon and foxes, as well as 
muskrat. Beavers, mink and otter were occasionally found, 

Surry, like other towns in this vicinity, had its "experiences" with Bruin, 
and several "bear stories" have come down to us. Frequently feeling the 
pangs of hunger or the desire for a meal of fresh pork, bears would enter a 
farm yard and attack the pig-sty, and attempt to carry off its occupant. In 
three instances, at least. Bruin was unsuccessful, and in two instances it was 
the bear that paid the "extreme penalty." 

HENRY SCOVEL AND THE BEAR 

About 1790 when Henry Scovel was living on the Streeter road, a bear came 
and took his pig and started for the hill northeast of the house. Mr. Scovell, 
hearing the "squeals," ran and rescued his pig, but was obliged to climb a 
tree for his own safety. Here he remained for several hours, closely guarded 
by Bruin, till, by his whistling, he finally succeeded in calling Ezra Carpen- 
ter's dogs who kept the bear on the defence, while he clambered down from 
the tree, secured his gun and dispatched the brute. 

MOSES D. FIELD, HUNTER OF BEARS 

Moses D. Field was quite a hunter and killed several bears. A very large 
fat bear was discovered one day, and he and others followed its tracks on the 
mountain and in the meadow. Several shots were fired, none of which ap- 
peared to take effect, but finally in trying to climb the steep bank east of Mr. 
Field's house (about 40 rods north of the old toll-gate) the beast fell, Mrs. 
Field coming with more bullets she had run, another charge finished the 
killing, and the bear was rolled down the hill to the meadow. 

OTHER BEAR STORIES 

It is said that bears in early times lived on Hedgehog hill southeast of the 
Everett E. Wilbur place; that a bear came there and got a pig from the pen. 
Bruin was making all haste to get away, walking on his haunches, with the 
"squealer" clasped to his breast, when discovered. 

When Benjamin Merrifield was living in the southwest part of the town — 
where Mrs. George L. Britton now lives — Mrs. Merrifield, an elderly woman, 
went to the barn one day, and finding a bear there, killed it with a fire shovel. 

Eight bears were killed by Jesse Dart and Capt. David Fuller one fall. 
John Merriman, who settled in the edge of Walpole before the Revolution, 
owned a 50 acre lot in Surry on which is a natural den or cave; he is said to 
have killed several bears in this vicinity. 

Probably the last bear seen in town was the one owned by James Davis 



History of Surry 13 

when he was living at the present C. H. Hodgkins' place. For a while he had 
a cub chained to a tree near the road; sometime in 1844 he swapped for a 
colt with a Mr. Sparhawk, whose father soon after was seriously injured by 
the bear springing at him. The timely arrival of Mr. S. with a sled stake 
and a "finish" of the cub was a finish of this incident. 

MRS. HILLS' TALES OF WOLVES 

Some of the most authentic tales of conditions as they existed in town be- 
fore 1800 have come from the lips of Mrs. Lucy (Thompson) Hills, who was 
born about 1766, and was a daughter of John Thompson who lived on the farm 
of the late Charles W. Reed. The dwelling house at that time was standing 
in the field some rods east of the present barns on this farm, and was just 
over the line in the town of Alstead. 

In her old age she took much delight in relating some of the incidents of 
her childhood to the younger generation, and the younger generation have 
passed those same stories down to us. 

It was never safe at that time for one to travel at night without taking a 
fire brand along to keep off" the bears and wolves; both were plentiful and 
numerous, and a source of much annoyance and danger. The adjacent hills 
provided a safe retreat for all wild animals. One day a cow came running 
and bellowing to the Thompson house with a bear clinging to her back; the 
women came out and drove the brute off. 

When a child, Mrs, Hills went one day to a neighbors (where Leon A. 
Hodgkins now lives), and, upon returning home at dusk, heard steps in the 
path; on looking back, she discovered a wolf close at her heels. She began at 
once jumping up and down, flapping her skirt and screaming at the top of her 
voice; all this caused the creature to withdraw a little, and she repeated it 
every few rods until reaching home with the wolf at her heels, she buTst open 
the door and fell in a faint across its sill. 

On another occasion she and her sister were berrying on the hill northeast 
of the house when she saw fresh bear tracks. Her desire for the berries being 
greater than her fear of a bear, she continued filling her pail, and, after re- 
turning home without meeting his bearship, she told her sister what she had 
seen, and the sister was greatly frightened. 

FRESH BEEF OR WOLVES! 

This incident also had its happening in the north part of town toward the 
close of the eighteenth century. A man and two boys were returning home 
with a load of hay on which they had a quarter of beef. A pack of wolves, 
scenting the meat, gave chase; to keep them at bay it was found necessary to 
cut off and throw small pieces of the meat to the wolves. This was kept up 
till they reached home in safety, but with the loss of a good portion of the 
beef. 

LYNX AND WILD-CAT 

About 1851 William Kingsbury, the famous "fox hunter," shot a large 
Canadian lynx on Surry Mountain, and received a state bounty. 

A girl living, in the days of "long ago," in the north part, (now the Hodg- 



14 History of Surry 

kins place) on going out of doors for chips, discovered a young lynx near the 
buildings. 

While Benjamin Carpenter, Sr., was living on the late S. H. Clement farm, 
his daughter shot a wild-cat from off the ridge of the barn. 

BIRDS 

The migration of flocks of wild geese, going north in spring and south in 
the fall, is occasionally seen at the present time, but their number has dimin- 
ished yearly. It is not known that they made this town their home during 
the summer. 

The wild turkey was a valuable bird, and once lived in this vicinity. They 
were usually found where they could feed upon nuts, the south side of a hill 
being their haunt in winter. They have been extinct for fully seventy-five 
years. 

Wild pigeons were once numerous. In the spring they came north in great 
flocks, and during the summer were found in dense forests more generally 
than elsewhere. Late in summer they would again congregate, and return 
south. As late as 1840 great flocks would be heard in flight several seconds 
before they could be seen. Now, so far as known, not one remains in the 
United States. Early settlers of this town killed great numbers of them for 
food; during the fall of 1816 — the cold year — they were of special value owing 
to the almost total failure of crops. 

Partridges have been hunted for years, and, although never very plentiful, 
their numbers do not seem to decrease. 

Other birds once found here were the eagle, hawk, cat owl, lark, blackbird, 
wren, robin, cat-bird, martin, bobolink, king bird, song sparrow, swallow, 
whip-poor-will, and several others. 

FISH, 

Nearly all our streams formerly abounded with the fish common to the 
waters of this vicinity, but, owing to dry seasons and other reasons, few of 
the finny tribe now remain. The varieties found were the brook trout, pick- 
erel, perch, shiner, sucker, minnow and cat-fish or horned pout. The common 
eel was once quite plentiful in the river. 



CHAPTER II 
INDIAN HISTORY 

The Indian history of this town is 'exceedingly meager. What we here give 
is largely from the pen of early writers in this vicinity; a few trustworthy 
traditions that have been handed down, though possibly not wholly accurate, 
are in general, fairly reliable. 

The name of the tribe of Indians formerly inhabiting the Ashuelot valley 
was Squawkheag — some times called "Ashuelot Indians." The territory oc- 
cupied by the tribe extended northward to the headwaters of the Ashuelot 
river, easterly to Mt. Monadnock, south to Miller's river, and several miles 
west of the Connecticut river. This region was abandoned by the Indians 
some years before the landing of the Pilgrims and it is not definitely known 
whei-e they went when they left here, but they probably joined with those 
higher up on the Connecticut river, or went to the St. Francis' tribe in Can- 
ada. It is not known that there is any deed in existence by which the Indians 
conveyed away this land, neither is it known that they ever complained of 
losing their possessions. 

At the great bend of the Connecticut river in the town of Hinsdale, near the 
mouth of the Ashuelot was the "spearing place," an Indian village of the 
Squawkheag tribe, from which place they ascended the Ashuelot river to its 
source. 

In Swanzey there is conclusive evidence "that there was once a large settle- 
ment of Indians at the Sand bank, on the southeast side of Ashuelot river 
near Sawyer's Crossing. * * * * Traces of an irregular fortification inclos- 
ing several acres of ground," existing in 1890 — Swanzey, N. H., History. 
July 22, 1882, while Henry M. Darling was grading about his new set of 
buildings (588 Court street in Keene), in removing a small knoll a few rods 
west of the present barn, three Indian skeletons were unearthed, buried in a 
sitting position, facing toward Grand Mt. Monadnock. This was three miles 
south of Surry town line and 60 or 70 rods east of Ashuelot river. 

An Indian arrowhead was found in the pasture northwest of W. F. Gates 
house (in Keene) about 1900 — a few other Indian relics have in earlier tinies 
been found in towns farther up the Ashuelot valley. » 

The only Indian camping place in Surry of which we have any record was 
at the extreme east point of the "plain," about 70 rods easterly of the village 
cemetery, commanding a good view of the valley north and south. Since the 
early history of this town this spot has been known as "Whoppanock," and is 
mentioned in deeds as early as 1781. 

There can -be no doubt that they (the Indians) were well acquainted 
with all these hills and streams, hunting bears and wolves and deer 
from Surry Mountain to Bear-Den (in Gilsum), and fishing up and 
down the Ashuelot river. A few arrow-heads and other relics have 
been occasionally found, • — From Gilsum History, 1881. 



16 History of Surry 

It is quite probable, that at a date prior to the settlement of this 
town, these wandering sons of the forest made excursions over these 
hills and followed up the streams, fishing from ponds and hunting in 
the woods; but there is no evidence that they ever lived here for any 
great length of time. Indian relics, such as arrow-heads, have been 
found. — From Washington History, 1886. 

WHOPPANOCK 

"Far among the mountains spreading wide 
By woodland and riverside, 
The Indian village stood; 
All was silent as a dream 

Save the rushing of the stream 
And the blue jay in the wood." 

— Longfellow. 

Early in the morning of April 23, 1746, a party of Indians — supposed to be 
about 100 — appeared at the settlement of ''Upper Ashuelot" (now Keene) ; 
Mrs. McKinney and John Bullard were killed near the fort; Nathan Blake 
taken prisoner to Canada. The Indians surrounded the fort and the battle 
raged until noon, nine of their number being killed. *Mr. Blake after being 
pinioned was conducted by an Indian into the woods, and after travelling up 
the valley about three miles, they came to a stony brook, the Indian stooping 
to drink. As Blake's hands were not confined, he thought he could easily 
take up a stone and beat out his brains. "He silently prayed for direction; 
his next thought was, that he should always regret that he had killed an 
Indian in that situation so he refrained. No particulars of his journey to 
Canada have been obtained, except that he passed by Charlestown; at Mon- 
treal he with another prisoner of the name of Warren, was compelled to run 
the gauntlet." Mr. Blake was conducted through Surry, then over the hills 
in what is now Alstead to old No. 4, from thence along the usual route taken 
by the Indians, both befoi'e and after this period, which was to cross the 
Connecticut river near the mouth of Black river, ascending that stream to its 
headwaters; crossing over what is now Mount Holly, taking up the head- 
waters of a branch of Otter Creek that descended to Lake Champlain; thence 
by water to Montreal — about 235 miles from Keene. 

Early in the spring of 1755 the Indians again began their ravages in this 
valley, "So free from these raids had the country been for several years that 
people had pushed out into the wilderness and taken up lands beyond the 
protection of the forts. These advanced settlers, some of them miles away 
from any fort or neighbors, wtei'e now in great peril." Several families in 
this vicinity among them Mr. Peter Hayward an early settler of what is now 
Surry, and Ebenezer Day his neighbor, hastened to the fort in Keene. 

On the 30th of June following, an attack was again made on the fort at 



*Takeii from Keene History — 1904. The small stony brook where the Indian took 
a drink was on the farm of Harry F. Knight's about 40 rods east of his buildings where 
a spring of good water comes out of the bank and flows down to the river. This farm 
is on the east side of Surry west road, about 125 rods north of Four Corners in Keene, 
formerly owned by Henry Ellis, Samuel P. and Calvin H. Ellis. 



Indian History 17 

Keene; the savages were beaten off, but in their retreat they killed many 
cattle, burned several buildings and captured Benjamin Twitchell. 

In the meadows, west and noi'th of Deacon Wilder's (later the Sun Tavern), 
the Indians killed several oxen, a horse and colt — the latter was cut up and 
the best pieces of meat carried off. Mr. Twitchell was conducted up the river 
and probably spent his first night in captivity lashed to four stakes driven in 
the ground on the meadow in the south part of Surry, on the farm formerly 
owned by Edmund Woodward. In due course of time Mr. Twitchell was ran- 
somed, later being put on board a vessel for Boston. He was taken sick, set 
on shore and died in a few days. 

"Peter Hayward was well known to the Indians as a dangerous foe. 
In later times of quiet, a friendly Indian said that he lay at one time 
concealed in the bushes where he saw Mr, Hayward and his dog pass by 
on a log. He aimed his gun first at one and then at the other, but dared 
not fire, knowing that if he killed either the other would certainly kill 
him. It is remembered, that, after the Revolutionary war, an Indian 
was lurking around for some time, and made inquiries for Col. Smith, 
and it was understood at the time that Col. Smith killed him, as his 
only means of saving his own life." — Gilsum History. 

This Col. Smith was none other than Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr., who lived 
for many years on the farm where George Crehore settled in 1827, now (No. 
24) owned by Merrill D. Carpenter. More than sixty years ago Mr. Crehore 
related an incident, which doubtless refers to the above Indian, approximately 
as follows : 

Soon after the Revolutionary war an Indian was discovered concealed 
under the bridge at the foot of the hill south of where Edward H. Jos- 
lin now (1920) lives. It was understood he came from a tribe in New 
York state to avenge some deed that has not come down to us. One 
evening soon after an Indian — supposed to be the same man — appeared 
at Col. Smith's and opening the barn door fired a shot at the owner, but 
missed his mark. Knowing his life was in danger the colonel immedi- 
ately set a watch and shot the red-skin, and buried his body near the 
bank of Smith brook, a few rods north of the present buildings, (No. 24 
map). 

Mr. Crehore in tearing his barn down to rebuild in 1854 (?) discovered a 
lead bullet imbedded in one of the rafters in the old barn. It was generally 
thought at the time, to have been a ball shot by the Indian. 

Another tradition states that not many years after Capt. Thomas Harvey 
settled on his farm (No. 177 map), his daughters in going to the barn early 
one morning discovered three or four Indians just leaving, having spent the 
night in the hay-loft. They were, however, peaceable and caused no trouble. 

* In October 1854, Amherst Hayward of Gilsum collected and placed in a 
small book some data concerning his grandfather, Peter Hayward of Surry, 
a portion of which reads as follows: 



*This "small book" is now the property of Mrs. Caroline E. (Hayward) Smith, th& 
wife of John A. Smith of Gilsum and a grand-daughter of Amherst Hayward, and came into 
the hands of the compiler of this work after the mss. had been written. 



18 History of Surry 

"Peter Hayward (my grandfather) was the first man that began a 
settlement in that town (Surry). This was soon after the close of the 
Fi-ench and Indian War and before the Indians had done coming from 
Canada to plunder, kill and burn the defenceless settlers of New Eng- 
land in consequence of this, the families of Keene and vicinity had re- 
peatedly to fly to the fort in that town for protection from these cruel 
savages. Thus we find this family though five miles off were hurried 
there in the year 1755 by an alarm of Indians in the neighborhood who 
passed through Keene and killed one woman near the gate of fort. 
Peter Hayward was with a company of men hunting them as they passed 
into Swanzey, but the Indians escaped by them in the woods and took 
one man prisoner in Keene and carried him to Canada." 

A more full account of Peter Hayward and Ebenezer Day's (his neighbor) 
escape to the fort is given in the History of Keene. 



CHAPTER III 
EARLY HISTORY AND CHARTER 

The town of Surry was chartered in 1769, and comprised territory severed 
from the towns of Gilsum and Westmoreland. 

Surry received about one-third of her territory from that part of the latter 
town formerly known as "Westmoreland Leg," about two-thirds from Gilsum; 
taking- that part of the town west from the top of the mountain. 

In order to more fully appreciate the conditions which led up to the forma- 
tion of this town, we must go back and review briefly a somewhat earlier his- 
tory of this region. The following facts afford an explanation, without which, 
much that is of interest in the granting, settlement and early history of Surry 
will fail to be understood. 

In 1614 the famous Capt. John Smith — an Englishman and founder of Vir- 
ginia — appeared off the coast of New Hampshire, but it was not until 1623 
that the first settlement was made by Edward Holton and his brother William 
at Cocheco, now Dover, and about the same time David Thompson settled in 
the vicinity of Portsmouth. The territory on which these early settlers lo- 
cated came under the authority granted to the company of Laconia by the 
Council of Plymouth in England. About 1622 Sir Ferdinando Gorges and 
Capt. John Mason were high in office in this council, and procured a grant to 
"all lands situated between the rivers Merrimack and Sagadahock." Some 
years later this land was divided, and Gorges had the region east of the Pis- 
cataqua river, while that west of said river, extending back some sixty miles, 
went to Mason; the former received the name of Maine, and the latter was 
called New Hampshire, after the County of Hampshire in England, where 
Mason formerly resided. 

Capt. Mason's land extended southward to the Msasachusetts Bay grant, 
or to a point three English miles north of the river called Monomack, or 
Merrimack, or "to the northward of any and every part thereof." He claimed 
as far west as near the middle of Cheshire county, — from east to west. An 
early grant describes the north boundary line of Massachusetts as beginning 
near the mouth of the Merrimack river then running west parallel with the 
river to the South sea, or Pacific ocean. 

The Merrimack river at that time had been explored only a few miles in- 
land, and its true course was unknown. The English authorities supposed the 
general course to be easterly from source to its mouth. Had they known of 
the angle in the river a few miles west of the present city of Lowell, Mass., 
where its course turns suddenly almost due north, it would have saved much 
discord and bitter strife in later years. Moreover, this "angle" in the river 
probably affects, indirectly, the granting and formation of every town in 
Cheshire county, as will subsequently appear. 

From 1628 until as late as 1691 grants of land were being made in New 
England which clashed with former grants and not infrequently covered por- 
tions of the same territory. Evidently the king and his advisers cared very 



20 History of Surry 

little about the true facts, nor did they make any effort, at least in some in- 
stances, to rectify previous errors. 

The boundary line between New Hampshire and Massachusetts was for a 
long term of years disputed, and in fact not until about 1740 was it finally 
settled, and then in favor of the former state. § 

"The New Hampshire grantees, following the language of their grant, 
claimed that the 'Southern Boundary of Said Province should begin at 
the end three miles North from the Middle of the Channel of Merrimack 
River where it turns into the Atlantic Ocean, and from thence should 
run on a Straight Line West up into the Main Land until it meets with 
His Majesty's other government.' That line starting at a point on the 
shore three miles north of the mouth of the Merrimack, would cross 
that river a little south of Reed's Ferry, pass north of Mount Monad- 
nock, south of Keene, and strike the Connecticut river in the northern 
part of Chesterfield." * 

It would appear from the description given in the above grant that New 
Hampshire's claim for her southern boundary line, was just and equitable, yet 
to this, her sister state to the south would not acquiesce. 

An early grant described the north boundary line of Massachusetts as 
"beginning at the Sea three English miles north from the black Rocks 
So called at the Mouth of the River Merrimack as it emptied it Self into 
the Sea Sixty years ago thence running Parralel with the River as far 
Northward as the Crotch or parting of the River, thence due North as 
far as a certain tree Commonly known for more than Seventy Years 
past by name of INDICOT'S TREE Standing three English miles 
Northward of said Crotch or parting of Merrimack River, and from 
thence due West to the South Sea!" * 

Upon the aforesaid description, the boundary line between New Hampshire 
and Massachusetts was finally established, substantially as at present. "Upon 
that description the Massachusetts grantee claimed that the line beginning 
three miles north of the mouth of the river was intended to run along that 
side of the river, at the same distance from it, to the source of the main 
stream; which gave them a strip three miles wide on the east side, as well as 
one on the north side of the river." * 

In 1652 the General Court of Massachusetts appointed a commission 
to survey the boundary line between the two provinces. That commis- 
sion, consisting of Capt. Simon Willard of Concord, Mass., and Capt. 
Edward Johnson, with guides and assistants, accompanied by a com- 
mittee of the general court and escorted by a squad of soldiers, sur- 
veyed as far north as the "Weares," near the outlet of Lake Wini- 
pisiogee. They there marked, at the head of a small island in the chan- 
nel, what they claimed to be the northeast corner of Massachusetts, by 
chiseling on the face of a rock — still to be seen — the initials of the 



§In settling the diKpute New Hami)shire was given a tract of land fifty miles in length 
by fourteen in breadth more than she had claimed. 
*History of Keene. 



Early History and Charter 21 

names of the commissioners and the full name of "John Endicott Gov." 
t A line running "due west" from that point strikes the Connecticut 
river near the south line of Lebanon, N. H.* 

The grantees and provincial authorities of Massachusetts clung tenaciously 
to this version of the grant, while the New Hampshire authorities persistently- 
held fast to the wording in their grant, and the controversy between the two 
provinces continued year after year for a long period while the English au- 
thorities refrained from acting. The inconsistency of the king in making 
certain grants of land was certainly unfortunate. In this instance he granted 
about 2000 square miles of land in southern N. H. to Capt. John Mason, and a 
later grant gave Massachusetts her authority to also hold the same territory. 

The feeling on the part of New Hampshire, at length became so in- 
tense for ascertaining definitely her territorial jurisdiction, that it was 
determined in 1733, to present a petition to his majesty, George II, 
praying for the appointment of commissioners, whose duty it should be 
to ascertain the respective boundaries of the two provinces. Accord- 
ingly on February 9, 1736 His Majesty and Council, directed that com- 
missioners should be appointed to mark out the dividing line between 
the Provinces of the Massachusetts Bay, and New Hampshire, giving 
Liberty to either Party therein who thought themselves aggrieved to 
appeal therefrom to his Majestie in Council. 

J In establishing the boundary line it was the opinion "That the 
Northern Boundries of the Massachusetts Bay are and be a similar 
curve line pursuing the Course of Merrimac River at three Miles Dis- 
tance from the North side thereof, beginning at the Atlantic Ocean, 
and ending at a Point due North of a Place, in the plan returned by said 
commissioners, called Pautucket Falls, and a straight Line Drawn from 
thence due West crossing the said River till it meets with His Majesty's 
other Government." This report was probably submitted in 1738; both 
Provinces appealed to His Majesty in Council. 

The final decree of his Majesty fixing the boundary line, bears date 
March 5th, 1740.** 

During the time the petition of New Hampshire for the appointment of a 
commission was pending in England, the General Court of Massachusetts, in 
1735-36, granted over thirty townships between the Merrimac and Connecti- 
cut rivers, which, afterward fell within the Province of New Hampshire. The 
haste which the General Court of Massachusetts made, in granting in one day 
about thirty townships, in this section, leaves no doubt of her purpose to hold 
this land in that way, as a large majority of the grantees were from Massa- 



tThe location of this chiseled rock — now called "ENDICOTT ROCK" — was unknown 
for about 200 years. Twenty-five or thirty years ago the State of New Hampshire 
built a substantial granite covering to protect this historic rock, — near the Weirs. 

*History of Keene. 

:j:A point three miles "due North" of a place "called Pautucket Falls" in the 
Merrimack River, from where "a straight Line Drawn from thence due West" was at a 
point where a "Pine Tree", called, "INDICOT'S TREE" was standing "for more than 
Seventy Years past' ' in the south-east corner of the present town of Pelham, N. H. and 
also in the north line of Dracut, Mass. 

**Abridged from History of Charlestown. 



22 



History of Surry 



chusetts. Each town had the contents of six miles square. Under a penalty 
of forfeiture of their right, each settler was required to: 

Build a Dwelling House of Eighteen feet Square and Seven feet Stud 
at the Least on their Respective Home Lots and Fence in and Break 
up for Plowing, or clear and Stock with English Grass Five acres of 
Land within Three years next after their admittance and cause their 
Respective Lots to be inhabited, and that the Grantees do within the 
Space of three years from the time of their being Admitted Build and 
finish a Convenient meeting House for the Public Worship of God, and 
settle a Learned Orthodox Minister. Furthermore, each grantee shall 
"give Security tr the Value of Forty Pounds to Perform the Condi- 
tions," etc.** 

A list of towns in this vicinity are given in the following table, present 
name, date of incorporation, first called name, later name, etc.: 

Burnet, Dec. 28, 1752. 

Newton, or New Town, Dec. 28, 1752. 

Number 4, Dec. 31, 1736. 

Number 1, Nov. 30, 1736. 

Boyle, Dec. 30, 1752, also called "Gillsom." 

Upper Ashuelot, Feb. 21 (?) 1734. 

Taken from Charlestown and Walpole. 

Addison, Jan. 1, 1753. 

Taken from Keene, Marlboro and Packers- 
field.* 

Monadnock No. 7, and later Limerick. 

Taken from Keene, Gilsum, Stoddard and 
Packersfield. 

Taken from Gilsum and Westmoreland. 

Lower Ashuelot, 1734. 

Number 3, also Great Falls and Bellows- 
town. 

Number 2, 1738 (?), also called Great 
Meadows. 



Acworth 


Sept. 


19, 


1766 


Alstead 


Aug. 


6, 


1763 


Charlestown 


July 


2, 


1753 


Chesterfield 


Feb. 


11, 


1752 


Gilsum 


July 


13, 


1763 


Keene 


Apr. 


11, 


1753 


Langdon 


Jan. 


11, 


1787 


Marlow 


Oct. 


7, 


1761 


Roxbury 


Dec. 


9, 


1812 


Stoddard 


Nov. 


4, 


1774 


Sullivan 


Sept. 


27, 


1787 


Surry 


Mar. 


9, 


1769 


Swanzey 


July 


2, 


1753 


Walpole 


Feb. 


13, 


1752 


Westmoreland 


Feb. 


12, 


1752 



Nov. 30, 1736 the General Court of Massachusetts accepted plots of four 
townships laid out upon the east side of Connecticut river, which a little later 
were numbered to correspond to the several forts. Chesterfield was called No. 
1, Westmoreland No. 2, Walpole No. 3 and Charlestown No. 4. 

The following were appointed to call the first meetings of the proprietors of 
the above four townships, viz: Samuel Chamberlain of Westford for No. 1, 
Nathaniel Harris for No. 2, John Flint for No. 3, and Thomas Wells for No. 
4. A map of this region made prior to 1760 shows these four towns in form 
diff'ering somewhat from the so-called "Blanchard and Langdon map" of 1761. 



'*Abridged from History of Charlestown. 

^The name of Packersfield was changed to NELSON, Oct. 1, 1814. 



Early History and Charter 23 

In the spring of 1741, embarked in four large canoes, the first settlers of 
No. 2 (now Westmoreland), came slowly up the Connecticut river from North- 
field, Mass. They were, Daniel How, Jethro Wheeler, Philip Alexander and 
Thomas Cressen, all of whom settled in the Connecticut valley, or in that 
vicinity. The old Indian trail ran up the river to No. 4 at this time, but to 
the east, it still was an almost unbroken wilderness to the Merrimack river 
valley. 

The boundary line between Massachusetts Bay and the Province of New 
Hampshire having been established in 1741, township No. 2 ^Vith others, fell 
under the jurisdiction of the latter territory. Number 2, or Great Meadows 
as it was the'n called, was intact as originally surveyed. The first settlers 
who, on account of the Indian trouble had left the town in 1744-5 were now 
(1750) returning and they, like others, found it necessary to secure a new 
charter from the New Hampshire government for their township. 

It may be noted, in not a single instance was the original name of a town- 
ship in this vicinity retained in granting the new charters. Many of the 
towns were named in honor of English friends of the Provincial Governor, 
Benning Wentworth, Esq., of Portsmouth, N. H. In the case of Number 2, the 
charter was granted Feb. 12, 1752, being incorporated under the name of 
Westmoreland, in honor of Lord Westmoreland, an intimate friend of Gov. 
Wentworth. The petition for this new charter, signed by Daniel How, Thomas 
Chamberlain and forty others, is dated, "January 30th, 1750." J 

Owing to the unsettled condition of the times, the depredations of the In- 
dians, and other causes, the grantees were unable to fulfill the conditions of 
the charter, and it was extended to June 11, 1760. In the meantime the town 
was re-surveyed and a plan made which was completed March 18, 1752 — five 
weeks after the town was incorporated. This survey was made by Caleb 
Willard under the supervision of Josiah Bellows of Walpole and'Josiah Wil- 
lard of Winchester — all kindred (so said) of Col. Benjamin Bellows, usually 
called, the founder of Walpole. 

This new "Bellows-Willard" survey discloses a plan of Westmoreland nearly 
identical to that of the present, except the "Leg" which was taken off in the 
chartering of Surry — 1769 — and instead of following, it was doubtless a wide 
departure from the original survey of Number 2, which her citizens had ex- 
pected. The new survey was not only of great moment to Westmoreland, but 
also a contributive factor in the granting and formation of the town of Surry, 

April 29, 1752, the following petition was forwarded to the Governor, by 
the inhabitants of Westmoreland, but without avail: 

* May it please your Excellency with the Honourable Counsil to Con- 
desend to hear the humble Petition of the Propriators and Inhabitents, 
of the Town of Westmoreland. 

The Province of the Massachusetts Enjoying the land on this part of 
this River (Connecticut) which they then Claim'd as their property, con- 



tNone of the grantees under charter No. 2, were in any way ever connected with 
the territory which later became Surry. In fact, the east line of No. 2 was probably 
no farther east at that time, than Mine Hill. 

*From Westmoreland, in D. Hamilton Hurd's history of Cheshire and Sullivan Counties 

— 1886. 



24 History of Surry 

sonant with which supposed Title wee petetioned for this Township, and 
being granted, wee immediately proceeded to a Settlement about Four- 
teen years since, when by the Running the Line of the Provinces wee 
fell within the Limitts of your Excellencys Government, and by Renewed 
Petition made to Your Excellency for a Renewed grant of the Land, wee 
have been favour'd with the same, but as wee Suspect not according to 
the Intention of Your Excellency and Honourable Counsil, for Major 
Willard and Mr. Bellows hath not Conform'd to our Original Grant from 
the Massachusetts nor according to our Intention, which was to abide by 
our Original Lines, which are at present destroy'd, for the upper line 
is removed nearly Two milles lower down the River from whence our 
grant first took place, in which lay our Meadows or entervails, with our 
second divisions and all our Improvements on them whith the best part 
of our land and extending our line two milles lower down Includeing 
barren and Rockey Hills, no ways commoding the town, and then stretch- 
ing the Line upon the north side of the Upper ashawhelcok, (now 
Keene) which leaves us the barren mountains betwixt us, which Lyeth 
so far distant from the Body of the Town, that will never Commode the 
same, and these our Grievances wee fear will disable this town, either 
for the maintaining the Gospel, or sufficient Inhabitants to withstand 
the Indians, now wee prayeth for the Restoration and Confirmation of 
our Original Lines. 

We would advertise your Excellency and the Honble Counsil that 
when Mr. Bellows went with a Petetion for Nobr 3 Called walpole, he 
enter'd a number of names leaving out the names of the Old propriaty 
of that Town, and particularly them that had Cleard part of their 
land, and built also, Off'ering them but Eaqual Encouragement with 
others never labouring there, and depriving them of their labour with- 
out satisfaction for the Same, and he went in with his Petition which 
being granted him, he is suppos'd to have purchas'd of them whose 
names were inserted for a Small Consideration, and now will give but 
the small Encouragement of fifty Acres of Upland to each Settler, 
without any Entervail, and this Prejudices people against settleing 
there, having before interrupted the former propriarty in their Settleing 
and now discouraging them after great expence, which wee fear will be 
Very detrimental to the Sittleing of his and our Town — 

Neither petetion we for the additional grant of any other land par- 
ticularly the farm formerly granted to Lieutenant Govr Taylor but only 
for the bair Lines which wee Enjoyd until the late Lines were Ran by 
the fore mention Gentlemen — 

"We would further Certifie Your Excelency and the Honble Counsil 
that we ware the first petetioners for land on this River, and have suf- 
fer'd the greatest Losses from the enemy by fire and Sword, and have 
hitherto stood the Heat and burthen of the day, and at last to be un- 
done without the knowledge of Your Excellency together with the honble 
Counsil, who if truly knowing and fully understanding the same, wee 
hope from your now Goodness and Clemency will redress these our pres- 
ent difficulties which wee groan under and which is submitted By Your 



Early History and Charter 25 

Excellencys humble Petetioners, who as in duty bound will ever Con- 
tinue to pray for you. — 

"In the name and by the] DANIEL HOW, 
Consent of the Inhabitants i 
& proprietors on the Spot, | JETHRO WHEELER. 

"Benjamin Aldridg-e Joshua Chamberlin 

Amos Davis Jedediah Chamberlin 

Thomas Chamberlin Caleb How 

Daniel How Junr Samuel How 

John Warner Edward How 

Jethro Wheeler Junr Abner How 

Herrodiam Wheeler Simeon Alexander 

Isaac Chamberlain Phillip Alexander 

P. S. Mr. Bellows hath Layd out his Town about Nine Milles long 
on the River but four milles wide at the Lower end, and but three milles 
wide at the upper end — 

And the four milles wide, & Two Milles in length is run down in to 
our town that is the Occasion of our Grief — 

"Westmoreland, April the 29th, 1752." 

The injustice which led to this petition was clearly set forth and their 
prayer should have been granted, yet their appeal was in vain, owing doubt- 
less to the friendship between Col. Bellows and Gov. Wentworth. The pro- 
prietors, grieved over the new boundary lines, cared little for that part of 
Westmoreland, called the "Leg," which a few years later was severed in the 
granting of Surry. In fact, so far as known, no objection whatever was made 
when the latter town was incorporated. They, however, had all the meadow 
land measured during the summer of 1752 at which time they, "computed one 
acre on the 'Great River' (Connecticut), to be equal to two on the Ashuelot 
river," with the "barren land and mountains betwixt." 

In taking up that part of Surry which was severed from the town of Gilsum 
we must first revert to the formation of the township originally called Boyle. 

A petition was drawn up by William Lawrence, Thomas Read, and fifty-six 
others at Groton, Mass., on March 16, 1752, and presented to Gov. Benning 
Wentworth and his Council, praying for a charter of a tract of land yet un- 
granted "which Lyes Northerly of the Upper Ashuelot (Keene) and West- 
moreland and Easterly from Walepool Adjoyning to those towns, and extend 
Eastward to make the Contints of Six miles Square." The Council unani- 
mously advised the governor to make the grant, and Boyle was the name 
given. The town, however, was not settled under this charter, and no record 
has been found of any meeting of the grantees having been held and none of 
them settled in this vicinity, so far as can be ascertained, and with the single 
exception of Theodore Atkinson, the colony secretary, they all disappear from 
the records of the town with this document. The depredations of the Indians 
was the principal reason for the failure of the proprietors to fulfill the con- 
ditions of the charter, and finally it was forfeited. 



26 History of Surry 

In 1760, Josiah Kilburn a wealthy manufacturer of Glastonbury, (yonn., 
hearing the township of Boyle was for sale, sent up men to look over the 
ground. When they got here, they were taken in hand by agents of Col. Ben- 
jamin Bellows, who first bewildered them by wandering in the woods, and then 
kept them traveling for a day or two in Surry meadows. Finally being con- 
vinced they had been taken "over a large tract of country, they returned and 
reported that it was a very level town, without a stone large enough to throw 
at a bird." 

Encouraged by this report, Mr. Kilburn joined with Samuel Gilbert and 
others in the purchase of 18,000 acres. May 1, 1761, from Benjamin Bellows of 
Walpole. Mr. Bellows on March 24, 1761, had purchased of Rebecca Blanch- 
ard, widow of Joseph Blanchard of Dunstable, Mass., twenty-six original 
rights in Boyle for £67, 10s sterling money, and on March 28, four days later, 
he purchased twenty-seven rights of Theodore Atkinson for which he paid 
£60, 15s. Some portion of this 18,000 acres of land was situated in that part 
of Boyle which later became Surry, but to what extent has not been ascer- 
tained. The town of Boyle was rechartered July 13, 1763 and was named 
Gilsum. 

The decade from 1760 to 1770 saw a large number emigrate hither from 
Massachusetts and Connecticut. Those zealous hardy pioneers found their 
land not all level, but much was too rocky, hilly and mountainous for tillage, 
and covered with a dense forest of massive trees. 

With a mountain on the east and high hills to the north and west, we can 
readily see how both in Gilsum and Westmoreland they felt their isolation; 
they were shut in from without and shut out from within, and scarcely a year 
passed after Gilsum received her charter that some mention was not made in 
town meeting about setting off that part of the town west of the mountain. 
The settlers of Westmoreland Leg were similarly isolated from the activities 
of their township, and on March 12, 1766 Westmoreland "Voted to set off the 
people to Gilsum that Belong to the North East corner of this Town from 
Walpole Corner to Keen Line." This seems to have hastened the movement 
on the part of Gilsum people, as among the papers sent to the provincial as- 
sembly with the petition for the new town are the following: 

* Province of New Hampshire. 

At a Meeting of the Inhabitants of the Town of Gilsum meet at the 
House of Mr. Jonathan Smiths in sd Town on Tuesday ye 26 of August 
1766 being meet and duly formed Mr. Joseph Spensor Being chose Mod- 
erator to Govern Sd Meetting Sd Inhabitants Voted to seet off the west 

End of Sd Towne as farr East as the Mountain Range 

a True Coppey of the Vote as it was then past 

Test pr. me 
Gilsum Septm ye 1st 1766. Obadiah Willcox, 

Town Clack 
The following is the petition for the new town: 

* To His Excellency John Wentworth Esq. Captain General, Governour 



''Taken from History of Gilsum. 



Early History and Charter 27 

&c in and over his Majestys Province of New Hampshire- The 

Honble His Majesty's Council and House of Representatives for said 
Province — ■ 

The Petition of the Subscribers, Inhabitants of the Westerly Part of 
the Township of Gilsum and the Northeasterly Part of the Township of 
Westmoreland in said Province Humby Sheweth : 

That said Westerly part of Gilsum being seperated from the Easterly 
Part of the Same Township by a long and impassable Mountain almost 
thro the Township of said Gilsum Dividing the Same so as to leave 
about one third part of the Lands of the Township of said Gilsum on 
the Westerly side of said Mountain, and no convenient Communication 
can be had with the Easterly Part of said Township, so very necessary 
for the well Regulating and management of Town affairs; and the 
Westerly part of said Gilsum being too Small in Contents of Land for a 
Seperate and Distinct Town, Parish or Precinct, And whereas the 
Northeasterly part of said Westmoreland being that part of said Town 
Called Westmoreland Leg Lying at a Great Distance from and very 
difficult Passage to the main Body of ye Town and Inhabitants of said 
Westmoreland and also paying Large Taxes for the Support of the Min- 
istry & other Town Charges, without being able to Receive any Benefit 
or advantage therefrom And being adjoining to and conveniently Situate 
to be joined and incorporated with said Westerly part of Gilsum there- 
with to make one Seperate and Distinct Town &c. 

Now your Petitioners humbly pray your Excellency and Honour that 
Said Westerly part of Gilsum and Northeasterly part of Westmoreland: 
(viz beginning at the Southeast corner of Walpole thence running 
Southerly on a Straight Line to the North West corner of Keene thence 
running Easterly on the Line of said Keene to the Southeast corner of 
Westmoreland Leg so called and continuing the same Line Eighty Rods 
East of Sd (last mention'd) corner thence running North two Hundred 
and Sixty Rods, thence East Eighty Rods, thence on a North Line to 
the North Line of said Township of Gilsum thence West on the Line of 
Said Gilsum to the Northwest Corner of the Same thence South on the 
Line between said Gilsum & Walpole to the first mentioned Bounds 
that part of said Westmoreland & Gilsum included in the aforemen- 
tioned Lines, may be taken off from ye aforesaid Towns of Westmore- 
land & Gilsum, and be Erected made and Incorporated into one Sep- 
erate & Destinct Town, Corporation & Body Politick with all the Pow- 
ers, Priviledges and immunities that any town hath or by Law ought to 
have in said Province or otherways as to your Excellency & Honours 
seam fit and as in Duty bound shall Ever pray 

Dated Gilsum July 4th A. D. 1768. 

Obadiah Willcox Eliphalet Darte Beniaman Wheetney 

Samuel Hall John Marvin Benjamin Whitney 

Job Gleason Abel Allen William Barns — Barron 

Joseph Spencer Joshua Fuller Charles Rice 

Moses D. Field Joseph Mack Nathaniel Darte 



28 History of Surry 

Thomas Smith Jonathan Pareish Jonathan Smith 

Ichabod Smith Peter Hayward Jonathan Smith, Jr. 

Woolston Brockway 

Of these petitioners the following were of Westmoreland Leg, the others 
were of Gilsum: Samuel Hall, Peter Hayward, Benjamin Whitney, William 
Barron, Charles Rice, Nathaniel Darte. 

Thomas Harvey and some others were at that time living in town, but for 
some reason did not sign the petition. 

This petition was granted, and March 9, 1769 the following charter was 
issued: 

THE CHARTER OF SURRY 

* "Anno Regni Regis Georgii Tei'tii Magnee Britannia Francia & Hibernia 
nono 

"An act for erecting part of the Township of Gilsum and part of the 
L. S. Township of Westmoreland in to a New Township by the name of 
Surry. 

Whereas the westerly part of the Township of Gilsome is Separated 
from the easterly part of said Township by a long impasable mountain 
almost threw the Township dividing the same so as leaves about one 
third part of the land thereof on the westerly side of said mountain and 
no convenient communication can be had — and whereas the North east- 
erly part of Westmoreland being that part of said Township called 
Westmoreland leg Lying at a Grate Distance from the mane part of the 
Settlements and the passage from one part to the other Being Very 
Difficult and Being Very convenient to be Joyned to and incorporated 
With Said Westerly part of Gilsum would be Sufficient for one Town 
Distinct from the Towns: from whence they niay be So Severed all 
which having been Represented by a Petetion of the aforesaid part of 
Gilsum and the tracts being conceeded to by the Votes of the inhabitants 
of Boath Said Townships and a Plan being agreed on for the Bounds of 
the New proposed Township and it also Appearing to be of Publick 
Servis Tending to advance the Settlements in those parts . . . There- 
fore 

Be it inacted by the Govr. Council & Assembly that there be and here- 
by is a New Township Erected Containing the parts of the Townships 
aforesaid and Bounded as follows (Viz) : Beginning at the Southeast 
Corner of Walpole and Running West ten D'g North on Walpole Line 
twenty eight Chanes and fifty Links to a piller of Stones on Walpole 
Line, thence South ten D'grees West two miles and forty seven Chanes 
to a Piller of Stones on the Line of Keene, thence East five D'r South 
(North ?) on Said Line of Keene three miles and Eighteen Chanes to 
a hemlock tree & a heap of Stones, thence North four miles and Sixty 
four Chanes to a Piller of Stones to the Line between Gilsum and Al- 



*Taken from the Surry town Records. 



Early History and Charter 29 

stead, then Runs West five Degrs North on Alstead Line two miles & 
twenty three Chanes to a piller of Stons on the Line of Walpole, thence 
South two miles and Seventy Chanes on Said Walpole Line to the place 

where it Begins 

and the inhabitants of Said Tracts of Land and their Successors are 
hereby incorporated into a town by the Name of SURRY to have Suc- 
cession forever and enfranchised with all the Privileges, Rights and 
communities which other Town in this Province by Law hold and in joy 

to hold the Said inhabitants and their Successors forever 

and Peter Hayward is hereby authorised to Call a meeting of Said in- 
habitants to chuse all Necessary and Customary town officers, Giving 

fourteen Days Notis of the time, place and Define of Such Meeting 

and Every other Meeting which Shall be Annually held for that Pur- 
pose Shall be on the Last Tuesday of March. 

Province of New Hampshire 

in the House of Representatives March ye 2d 1769 
The foregoing Bill having been three times Read 
Voted that it pass to be inacted 

P. Oilman Speaker 

In Council March 9th 1769 

This Bill was Read a third time and Passed to be inacted 

T. Atkinson Jnr Secretary 
Assented to by J. Wintworth 

A Coppy Examined T Atkinson Jnr Secretary." 

The boundary lines of the town of Surry, as granted, were as described in 
the charter and not according to the petition; thereafter Gilsum included only 
what lies east of the division between the first and second ranges of hundred- 
acre lots. Owing to the variation of the magnetic needle or other cause, the 
boundary lines of Surry have since been slightly altered, at least, in some 
places. We regret to find such a wide variation in the length of the lines be- 
tween this and adjoining towns, in the several surveys. 

The following item found in the Provincial Records at Concord, N. H., gives 
the date, place and proprietor of the first tavern in that part of Westmore- 
land, now Surry: 

Westmoreland, January 28, 1765. 

We the subscribers do in behalf of the town of Westmoreland in the 
Province of New Hampshire and on the Request of many others who travel 
this way do recommend and Appoint Peter Hayward to be Tavern Keeper in 
sd town. 

Samuel Minot '^ Selectmen 

i °^ 

Edward How I Westmoreland. 



CHAPTER IV 

PROPRIETORS' RECORDS, BOUNDARY LINES, LOTS AND 

RANGES, THE NEW HAMPSHIRE GRANTS 

The original Proprietors' record book of Gilsum and Surry in the hands of 
the town clerk of Surry, is in a badly worn and dilapidated condition. A plan 
of the town of Boyle is shown in this book, similar to the plan of Gilsum as 
shown on page 21 in the history of Gilsum. The following records have been 
taken from that book: 

August 14, 1761, Benjamin Bellows of Walpole issued a warrant for 
the first proprietors meeting, thus : 

"PROVINCE of NEW -HAMPSHIRE. 

To Mr Clement Sumner, one of the Proprietors of the Township of 
BOYLE in said Province; GREETING 

WHEREAS Application hath been made to me the Subscriber, one of 
his Majesty's Justices of the Peace for the Province aforesaid by the 
Owners of more than a Sixteenth Part of the common and undivided 
Lands in the Township of BOYLE, in said Province, for the calling a 
Meeting of the Proprietors aforesaid; and that the same maybe held at 
the House of Mr. Peter Haywood (Hay ward), of Westmoreland, on the 
Sixteenth of October next, at Ton of the Clock in the forenoon; and that 
the following Articles might be inserted in the Warning, as 

1st To chuse a Moderator. 

2d To chuse a Proprietors Clerk. 

3d To chuse a Collector to collect & gather in the Rates & Taxes; 

and to chuse a Proprietors Treasurer. 

4th To see if the Proprietors * * * the Lotts as they are laid out. 

5th To see if the Proprietors * * * ee to raise any Sum or Sums 

of Money, to be lodged in the hands of the Treasurer, to pay 

Town Charges, or any other public matter that shall be agreed 

on. 

6th To chuse a Committee * * * to transact any Affairs that shall 

be needed. 
7th To chuse Assessors, and to act any Matter or Thing to bring 
forward settlement (?) of said Town. 
Do in Consequence of such Application made to me, 
Notify and Warn the Proprietors aforesaid, to meet at the House and 
Place above mentioned; then and there, when met, and duly formed, to 
act on the several Articles above mentioned, as the Occasion and Busi- 
ness of the Meeting call for; and see that you the aforesaid Clement 
Sunner have this my Warrant or Notification in the New Hampshire 
News Papers, three Weeks successively, before the Day of holding said 



Proprietor's Records 31 

meeting, being the most likely Place to give the Proprietors Notice 
thereof, and that you make Return of your Doings herein on the Day 
aforesaid. 

Given under my Hand and Seal this 14th Day of August, A. D. One 
Thousand Seven Hundred sixty one, and in the first year of his Majes- 
ty's Reign. 

Copia Vera, Clement Sumner. BENJAMN BELLOWS, 

Justice of Peace." 

No record of this meeting can be found. 

The second meeting of the Proprietors was held in Hebron, Conn. 

At a Town meeting of Boyle holden in Hebron on March the 9th 1762; 
the following Persons were chosen, or voted for the present Year into 

the public Offices of the said Town of Boyle. Josiah Killburn, 

Moderator of Proprietor's Meeting. 
Clement Sumner (of Kane — Keene) Town Clerk. 

John Sterling Josiah Killburn Joseph Spencer, select Men. Josiah Kill- 
burn Thomas Sumner Abner Mack, Assessors. 
Joseph Mack, Collector. Abner Mack, Treasurer. 

Test Joshua Dart Clk of sd Meeting 

Copia Vera Pr Clement Sumner Proprietor's Clerk &c. 

The third Proprietors meeting was held at Peter Hay ward's house. 

The Proceedings & Votes of a legal Meeting of the Proprietors of the 
Town of Boyle, held at the House of Mr Peter Hayward in Westmore- 
land; September 16th 1762. 

lest Voted, Mr Thomas Pitkins Moderator to govern said Meeting. — 

2d Voted; Clement Sumner Proprietor's Clerk. 

3d Voted; Joseph Mack, Collector. 

4th Voted; Abner Mack, Treasurer. 

5th Voted; Not to draw as the Lotts are already laid out. 

6th Voted; To Size the Land of the Town of Boyle, in Order for a 
Draught. — 

7th Voted; Joseph Mack, Seth Haze and Abner Mack for a Com- 
mittee to size said Land, and make a Report thereof to the 
Meeting. 

8th. Voted; To Raise the Sum of one Pound three Shillings Lawful 
Money, on each Right to be paid to the Proprietor's Treasurer, 
to defray the Charges of the Township of Boyle, that have 
arisen or shall hereafter arise. 

9th Voted; Clement Sumner Joseph Mack and Seth Haize a Com- 
mittee to transact any affair that shall be needed. 
•10th Voted; To adjourn the meeting till Wednesday the 23d instant. 
And the said Meeting is accordingly adjourned and ap- 
pointed to sit at the House of Mr Ephraim Dormant at the 
town of Kane (Keene) on the sd Day 
sign'd by Order. 

P. Clement Sumner Pro: Clerk. 



32 History of Surry 

The fourth Proprietors meeting was held in Keene as noted. 

At a Meeting of the Proprietors of the Town of Boyle, met, and as- 
sembled, according to Adjournment: Septemr 23d 1762 at the House 
of Mr Ephraim Dormant in the Town of Keen; the following Votes 
were pased. 

1st Voted; To draw the Lotts of the Town of Boyle as they are now 

laid out and sized. 
2d Voted; Joseph Spensor, Joseph Mack and Seth Haize to be the 
select Men of the said Town of Boyle. 
And further Voted; 

That the above Joseph Spensor, Joseph Mack and Seth Haize 
should be Assessors of the Township : and, that for the future 
upon an Application made by Seven or more of the Proprie- 
tors, to their Clerk for the calling a Proprietor's Meeting, he, 
the said Clerk, shall set a Notification fourteen Days before 
the Meeting, setting fourth the articles to be transacted in the 
sd Meeting; which shall be Deem'd legal Warning, till the 
Proprietors shall repeal this vote. 

The above are a true Entry of the Votes 
passed at the meeting within described. 
Test Thos Pitkins moderator. 

Sign'd by Order, 

P Clement Sumner Pro: Clerk. 

So far as known no other Proprietors meetings were held under the charter 
of Boyle. The town was rechartered July 13, 1763, and by taking the first 
syllable in the surname of two of the leading proprietors, Gilbert and Sumner, 
we have a new and unique name for the new town, viz., GIL-SUM. 

The fifth Proprietors meeting was held, at Hebron, Conn., thus: 

At a legal meeting of The Proprietors of the Town of Boyle (but now 
Gilsum) in the Province of New Hampshire. Holden at the House of 
Capt. Ichabod Phelps in Hebron, in the County of Hartford and Colony 
of Connecticut, on Tusday the 16 August 1763. 
Being met and duly formed. 

1. Chose Thos Pitkin, Jr., moderator of Sd meeting. 

2. Chose Clement Sumner Proprietors Clerk. 

3. Chose Thos Sumner, Clark for Sd meeting to transmit the votes to 

Sd Clement Sumner. 

4. Chose Samuel Gilbert, Esq. Dr. Wm Sumner & Thos Pitkin Jr. 

Cessors, for Sd Propriety. 

5. Chose Samuel Gilbert Treasurer. 

6. Chose Thos Sumner, & Joshua Dart Collectors. 

7. Voted to raise a Rate of one pound thirteen Shillings & Sixpense 

lawful money of the Bay on each Right to defray the Charges of 
Sd Township that have already arisen and Shall arise. 

8. Voted that Sd money Shall be paid to the proprietors Treasurer in 

the Space of Six weeks from the Dates hereof. 



Proprietor's Records 33 

9. Chose Samuel Gilbert Thomas Pitkin Joshua Dart a Committee to 
ajust the accounts of Sd propriety. 

10. Voted to draw the money out of the treasury by themselves or 

their order to Defray Sd Charges. 

11. Voted to adjurn Sd meeting "to the House of mr Benjn Buel in- 

holder in Sd Hebron &c — till the 30 day of August Instent 
1763 at one of the Clock in the afternoon. 

The sixth Proprietors meeting was held, Aug. 30, 1763: 

* At the adjourned meeting held at the inn of mr Benj. Buel at He- 
bron, Conn., Thomas Pitkin was elected moderator «fe Clement Sumner 
Prop. Clerk. The subject of dividing the land was the principal topic. 
Joseph Mack, Clement Sumner and Ichabod Fisher, were chosen a com- 
mittee to rectify a mistake in the "Ranging Table," as it appears "Some 
Rights have drawn more & Some less than their real proportion." Each 
share was to consist of 250 acres, and Jonathan Smith, Samuel Gilbert, 
Thomas Sumner, Thomas Pitkin and Benjamin Sumner were a com- 
mittee '-'to lay out the Common & undivided land." Thomas Pitkins 
and Jonathan Smith were chosen "to Settle affairs with major Bellows." 
From the records and deeds it becomes vei-y evident that land spec- 
ulation was extensively carried on. Many prominent names, were of 
men who had no intention of settling on their lands, but bought only to 
sell again. Some, like Benjamin Bellows, owned whole townships. The 
Gilberts and Sumners were not bona fide settlers, but simply land spec- 
ulators. Capt. Gilbert, one for whom the town was named, probably 
never came here at all; yet for a year or two, took the management of 
affairs, almost entirely into his own hands, and that the actual settlers 
were far from satisfied is plain from their records. 

At this meeting it was also. 

Voted, that the Proprietors' Clerk Shall have power to Call Proprie- 
tors meetings upon the applycation of three or more of the Proprietors, 
by Setting up Notifications, one at Woolston Brockways at Gilsum and 
the other at Capt. Wymans in Keene 14 days before Sd meeting. Set- 
ting forth in Sd warrant the time, place & Business of Sd meeting. 

The sei^enth Proprietors meeting was held at the house of Jonathan Smith 
in Gilsum (now, 1922, where Samuel Ball lives in Surry village) : thus: 

Mar. 13, 1764. At a Legal meeting of the Proprietors of the Town of 
Gilsum, in the Province of New Hampshire, holden at the dwelling house 
of mr Jonathan Smith in Gilsum afore Sd, the following business was 
transacted : 

1 Art: Chose mr Woolston Brockway moderator to Govern Sd meet- 

ing. 

2 Art: Chose mr Obadiah Willcox Proprietors Clark. 

3 Art: Chose Jonathan Smith, Woolston Brockway & Joseph Mack to 



*Taken from Proprietors records, and also from History of Gilsum. 



34 History of Surry 

be a Committee to lay out and Clear necessary Rodes or high- 
ways in Sd Gilsum. 
Voted to dismiss 4 Art; viz. "to make a rate or assessment to defray 
the Charges of Sd highway, and to purchase a proprietors 
Book." 
Voted to dismiss 5 Art; viz. "to Chuse a Collector or Collectors." 
Voted to dismiss 6 Art; viz. "to Chuse a Treasurer." 
Voted to dismiss 7 Art; viz. "to See if the Proprietors will alow any 
thing for the work alraedy done towards Clearing necessary 
Rodes in Sd Town." 
Voted to dismiss the meeting. 

Test Clement Sumner Proprietors 

Clark. 

The eighth Proprietors meeting was held at Jonathan Smith's house: 
July 16, 1764, 

1 Art; Chose Jonathan Smith Moderator. 

2 Art; To chuse a Committee to Treet and Setel with Capt. Samuel 

Gilbert of hebron aboute a Sum of money that was paid to 
the Rev. Clement Sumner of Keen (Keene) which sd pro- 
prietors think hath no Just Right to and that sd Committee 
agree and Setel with Sd Gilbert about a man or men whose 
name or names ware Sent to be put into the Charter whose 
name or names is suposed that he the Sd Gilbert Struck out 
and put others in and that Sd Committee agree and Setel with 
Sd Gilbert about the overplus Rights that fell in what was 
Calld Masons patton ("the patent line") which Sd proprietors 
think they have a Just Right to have and further that Sd 
Committee Setel with the old Committee whitch Bought the 
Town of Gilsum about the Six overplush Rights which the 
Sd proprietors think they have a Right to have and make 
their Return of the Same. 
Thomas Pitkins, Jr. Peter Olcott and Jonathan Smith were chosen 
said committee. Obadiah Willcox Prs Clk. 

The ninth Proprietors meeting was held at Jonathan Smith's house: 

Oct. 31, 1764, Josiah Kilburn, Moderator; Joseph Spensor, Obadiah 
Willcox and Job Gleason Assessors; "chose Josiah Killburn, Joshua ful- 
ler and Eliphalet Dart a committee to Receive and adjust accompts with 
those that Do the worke on the Highways in Sd Town." The building 
of roads in town was taken up for the first time this year; some 
work, however, must have been done on the roads during 1763, as 
noted in Art. 7, at the March meeting, of this year. 

The tenth Proprietors meeting according to the old book did not take place 
until Aug. 26, 1766, which seems hardly probable, as the ninth meeting was 



Proprietor's Records 35 

held nearly two years earlier. The records of the Proprietors meetings doubt- 
less were kept on sheets of paper up to this time — according to the vote taken 
on Mar. 13, 1764, — hence, it is possible the record of the meeting held during 
1765 was lost or destroyed. At this meeting; 

1st Chose, Ebenezer Killburn Moderator. 

2d Chose, Ebenezer Dewey, Abel Allen, Joseph Spensor a Committee 
to Lay out and Clear Highways in Sd Town. 

3d Chose Ebenezer Dewey, Obadiah Willcox, Meedad Thomson a com- 
mittee to Treat with the Town of Keen about a Highway Lead- 
ing from the Town of Gilsum to Keen Meeting house. 

The last Art. in the Warrant was to see, "if Sd Proprietors will be att 
the Charge of Beating a Highway through to Keen Meeting House 
whare Mr Killburn and Mr Hayward have marked it." No action taken 
on this Art. 

The eleventh Proprietors meeting was held at the house of Josiah Kill- 
burn's in Sd Gilsum, Nov. 3, 1767, at which time Woolston Brockway was 
chosen Moderator: Voted to establish the lines on the west side of the Moun- 
tain where they now are, etc. Obadiah Willcox, Prop. Clerk. 

The twelfth Proprietors meeting at Jonathan Smith's house: 

Sept. 21, 1768. Chose, John Marvin Moderator; Chose, Obadiah Will- 
cox, Jonathan Smith and John Marvin a committee to settle with Sam- 
uel Gilbert; Chose, Obadiah Willcox and Joshua Dart to go and take ad- 
vise of Lawyer Ollcot (of Charlestown) in the matter and make their 
return. This was in connection with the disagreement between the pro- 
prietors and Capt. Gilbert, previous mentioned. They evidentally felt 
much aggrieved, thinking Capt. Gilbert had taken the lion's share for 
. himself and his son-in-law. Rev. Clement Sumner of Keene, — from Gil- 
sum History. 
Prior to 1769, at which time Surry was incorporated, it appears that all 
town business was transacted by the proprietors, without separate organiza- 
tion. 

The thirteenth meeting was held at the house of Jonathan Smith: 

"Munday the ninth Day of January 1769," 

1st Chose Ebenezer Dewey Moderator. 2nd Chose Obadiah Willcox, 
Woolston Brockway, Joshua Dart, John Marvin and Nathaniel Dart a 
committee to Rectify the Proprietors Book. 3d Voted not to Exsept of 
the Return of the Settlement with Capt. Samuel Gilbert. 4th Voted not 
to Chuse a Committee to Settel with Capt. Gilbert. 5th Voted to pur- 
chase paper for a proprietors Book. 

Obadiah Willcox Proprietors Clark. 

The fourteenth Proprietors meeting was held at the house of Joshua Dart 
"in Surry" on Monday, Jan. 15, 1770: 

1st Chose John Marvin Moderator. 

2d Voted to "Exsept of the plan of Boyl now Gilsum in maner and 



36 History of Surry 

form as Surveyed and Returned By Caleb Willard, Surveyor of 
Lands with an alowence of fore (4) acres to Each Hundred acres 
for Highways." 
3d Voted that each proprietor shall hold 250 acres of land. 

Chose Obadiah Willcox, Jo^shua Dart and Ebenezer Killburn to 
lay out to each share two Hundred and fifty acres. 
Chose John Marvin to ascest the Clark in .Recording. 
7th "Chose Thomas Harvey, Jonathan Smith, sr and Joshua Dart a 
Committee to treet with westmore Land and walpole to measher 
thir town Lines to See if they hant Got more than their Comple- 
ment of Land." 

Obadiah Willcox Proprietors 
Clark 
Began the Ranging Table after this. 

The fifteenth meeting held at Jonathan Smith house, May 6, 1771, "at teen 
of the Clock in the morning." 

1st Chose Joshua Dart Moderator. 

2nd Voted not to act — "to Chuse a proprietors Clark if need Be. 
3d "Voted to Exsept of the report of the Committee," composed of 
John Marvin Abel Allen and Ebenezer Dewey chosen to call 
those persons that have received any money or other Speashe 
Belonging to the proprietors of Gilsum to an account for the 
same. It was also, 
"Voted to measher the Town of Gilsum Exclusive of what masons 
patton and Westmoreland takes off," and chose Jonathan Smith, 
Ebenezer Killburn and Stephen Griswold a committee to meas- 
ure said town and voted to employ Jeremiah Stiles as surveyor, 
etc. It was also voted. 
That half the proprietors meetings shall be held in Gilsum and 
half in Surry, and that the warning shall be set up at Ebenezer 
Dewey's and the usual place in Surry. 
Chose Thomas Harvey and Ebenezer Killburn, Collectors. 

Obadiah Willcox Propr Clerk. 

The sixteenth proprietors meeting was held at the house of Josiah Kill- 
burn in Gilsum, on Nov. 5, 1771 — no very important business was transacted. 

BOUNDARY LINES 

' The boundai-y lines between Surry and adjoining towns have been peram- 
bulated once in every seven years, for just how long has not been ascei'tained. 
The following were taken early in the last century and are typical of those 
taken in other years. 

Surry and Westmoreland 

Agreeable to the laws of New Hampshire the subscribers have per- 
ambulated the line between Sui'iy and Westmoreland as follows, viz. — 



Boundary Lines 37 

Beginning at a beech tree in Keene line which is the southwest corner 
of Surry, thence north nine degrees & thirty minutes east two miles and 
an half & forty-eight rods to a stake & stones standing in Walpole line, 
which is the northeast corner of Westmoreland, and have set up a stake 
& stones every eighty rods which are numbered according to their dis- 
tance. 

N. B. The first stake is forty-eight rods from Surry Corner. 
Surveyed, 
Nov. 1, 1800 Jonas Robbins, Surveyor. 

Asa Hancock, Selectman of Surry. 
William Britton, Selectman of Westmoreland. 

Surry and Keene 

Beginning at a beech tree which is the southeast (west) corner of 
Surry and standing in the north line of Keene and runs from said cor- 
ner of Surry East eight degrees 30 minutes North to a hemlock tree 
which is the south east corner of Surry in the said line of Keene and 
have marked a number of trees on said line and put the letters "T. L," 
on a number of said trees, also erected stakes and put stones round them 
at the end of every quarter of a mile and put the letters "T, L." on the 
stakes. 

Surveyed, 
Nov. 1, 1800. Joel Kingsbury, Surveyor. 

Abel Blake & Ebenezer Robbins, Selectmen of Keene. 
Asa Hancock & Sarel Hayward, Selectmen of Surry. 

SURRY AND GiLSUM 

This day the towns of Gilsum and Surry met at the Northwest corner 
of Gilsum and the Northeast corner of Surry and perambulated the line 
between said towns to the Southwest corner of Gilsum and the South- 
east corner of Surry, and renewed said lines. 
Surveyed, 
Nov. 20, 1800. 

Surry and Walpole 

Course from Walpole Southeast corner, near Mr. J. Cheever Fowlers 
in Surry, N. 42 ininutes, E. 1024 rods to the Northwest corner of Surry, 
which course leaves the said original corner of Surry 12 rods 3 links to 
the east. From said corner to the original northeast corner of Walpole, 
course N. 42 minutes, E. 2120 rods, making in the whole 3144 rods or 9 
miles 264 rods, stakes and stones placed every 80 rods on the Surry line. 
Surveyed in Esq. John Hubbard, Surveyor. 

Nov. & Dec. 1800. 

Surry and Alstead 

Began at the Northwest corner of Surry, which is the Southwest cor- 
ner of the town of Alstead standing m the East line of Walpole: run- 
ning East 290 rods to the County road leading to Walpole Bridge one 



38 History of Surry 

mile and 82 rods from said corner to the County Road leading, from 
Surry to Alstead meeting house, one mile and 116 rods to the Thompson 
brook (so called) said brook bears south 20 degrees west, 2 miles and 
170 rods the whole length of the North line of Surry, to the northwest 
corner of Gilsum. 
Surveyed, 
Apr. 30, 1805. 
A map of the town of Surry 1805 discovered in the office of Secretary of 
State at Concord, 1922. From this map we give the following facts: 
North — Surry and Alstead line ran east 810 rods. 
East — Surry and Gilsum line ran south 1° east 1520 rods. 
South — Surry and Keene line ran west 8° south 1154 I'ods. 
West — *Surry and Westmoreland line ran north 10° east 840 rods. 
North — Surry and Walpole line ran east 10° south 120 rods. 
West — Surry and Walpole line ran north 1020 rods, to starting point. 
"A Plan of the Town of Surry, N. H. Taken by actual survey 
1805 and protracted by the scale of 200 rods to the inch. 

Samuel Hills | Selectmen of Surry." 

Asahel Harvey J 

THE NEW HAMPSHIRE GRANTS ' 

It is not our purpose to give a detailed account of the New Hampshire 
Grants, or the Vermont Controversy, as it was called, but as Surry, with other 
towns on the east side of the Connecticut river, was for a short time under 
the authority of Vermont some mention should be made of the affair. 

At the time the south boundary line of New Hampshire was established, in 
1740, it was supposed that that line extended the same distance west as the 
north line of Massachusetts, and New Hampshire claimed what is now Ver- 
mont. In 1749 Gov. Benning Wentworth of New Hampshire granted the 
first of 138 towns which he granted in Vermont and named it Bennington, 
after himself. For more than a score of years prior to the Revolutionary 
war New York also claimed the territory which is now the state of Vermont. 
This dispute finally led up to the Westminster massacre which took place 
March 13, 1775, when William French was killed, his being claimed to have 
been the first blood shed in the war of the Revolution. 

** During that War the "civil affairs in New Hampshire were in a 
confused state; the courts were suspended and there was no adminis- 
tration of justice. The inhabitants of some of the towns on the east 
side of the Connecticut, at that time considered quite remote from the 
center of political power in New Hampshire, became dissatisfied and 
proposed to join the new state (of New Connecticut, alias Vermont), 
the central power of which would be in the Connecticut valley. It was 



*Note: "The distance of the line on Westmoreland Map adjoining Surry is marked 
848 Rods and on this 840 Rods they ought to be alike; there were two surveys but 
the latter disagreed with the former eight rods." 

**Prom History of Keene. 



New Hampshire Grants 39 

claimed by many that the west line of New Hampshire was that of the 
original grant to Capt. John Mason in 1629" and long known as the 
"Masonian line" or the "Patent line." 

When the legislature of the new state — which had adopted the name 
of Vermont, but had not been admitted to the Union — met for the first 
time at Windsor, Vt., on the 12th of March, 1778, sixteen towns on the 
east side of the river asked to be admitted to that state, and they were 
received. Public opinion in Cheshire county was divided and a conven- 
tion of delegates from several of the towns met at Surry in January, to 
discuss the situation. 

At a town meeting in Surry Nov. 14, 1780, Woolston Brockway and Joshua 
Darte were chosen delegates to go to a County Convention to be held at Wal- 
pole on Nov. 15th inst to join with other delegates who represent the New 
Hampshire Grants. (This corrects Keene History, page 260, which states 
"Capt. Lemuel Holmes of Surry" was their delegate. Capt. Holmes was still 
living in Walpole at that time.) 

Another town meeting was held Jan. 10, 1781 at which time Woolston 
Brockway was chosen a delegate to attend a convention at Charlestown, on 
the 16th of that month. The town also voted at this meeting "that we will be 
United with the Grants on the West Side of the River," and on Feb. 5th it 
was voted to accept the report of convention. 

The annual March meeting took place on the 27th of the month and this 
was the last call under the authority of New Hampshire until the annual 
meeting of March 26, 1782. The regular town officers were elected as usual 
in 1781; the town then voted to accept the articles of Union between the state 
of Vermont and the Grants on the east side of the river; also voted to send 
Woolston Brockway as Representative to the Assembly to be held at Wind- 
sor, Vt., on April 4, 1781. There were at least four men in town who went 
on record at this meeting as being opposed to the vote and who stated, we con- 
sider it, "a breach of peace of the United States, do hereby protest against the 
vote of the Town." Signed by, 

"Jonathan Smith, Ichabod Smith, William Russell and Asa Wilcox." 

At the aforesaid 'meeting it was "voted to postpone said meeting until May 
7, 1781" but from the town records the adjourned meeting never took place. 
The State of Vermont called the next meeting in Surry, thus : 

"State of Vermont, 

Washington, s. s. Surry April 26, 1781. 

"To the Constables or Select men of Surry: Whereas the General 
Assembly of the State of Vermont at their Sessions at Windsor April 
1781, Resolved that the Constables or Select men of the Several Tovims 
of the County of Washington Shall warne the Inhabitants in there Re- 
spective (?) Towns to meet at the usual places of holding Town meet- 
ings in there Respective Towns on wedensday the Second Day of May 
next in order to Qualify them to vote in Said meeting." 

The meeting took place accordingly and John Marvin was chosen modera- 
tor; Lemuel Holmes, selectman; Abel Allen, constable; Hiram Chapin, Eli- 



40 



History of Surry 



phalet Dart and Obadiah Black (Blake), listers. The oath of Fidelity and 
the Freemans oath was administered to several of said inhabitants. 

A convention was held in Cornish in April 1781 and when the returns from 
the towns on the east side of the river had been examined it was found the 
following towns had accepted the terms of union with Vermont : 

Acworth, Gilsum, Lincoln, 

Alstead, Grafton, Lyman, 

Bath Grantham, Lyme, 

Cardigan, Gunthwait, Marlow, 

Charlestown, Hanover, Newport, 

Chesterfield, Haverhill, Piermont, 

Claremont, Hinsdale, Plainfield, 

Cornish, Lancaster, Richmond, 

Croydon, Landaff, Saville, 

Dorchester, Lebanon, Surry, 

Dresden, Lempster, Westmoreland, 
Morristown (now Franconia.) Walpole, 

No returns were received from any towns on the east side of the river, re- 
fusing to accept the union. Thirty-six Vermont towns favored and seven dis- 
approved of the union. 

The next town meeting took place June 11th when the town voted to pro- 
cure five men to fill our "cota for the Defence of the Northern frounteers" 
and each to receive "one pound pr month. Equal to Silver to be paid By the 
Town." 

The next and last call of a town meeting under the authority of the state 
of Vermont took place July 23, 1781 when it was voted to hire three men to 
guard the Frontier and to serve until Dec. 15th next. Also voted, "not raise 
any money this year to repair the meeting house." 

Feb. 19, 1778: Voted to recall all instructions given to Absalom Kingsbury 
(of Alstead) and that he forthwith desist acting with the Assembly in the 
State of New Hampshire, until further orders. 



CHAPTER V 
ROADS, HIGHWAYS AND BRIDGES 

One of the first, most essential and expensive departments in the history 
of nearly every township in New Hampshire has been that of roads and 
bridges, or the highway department. Moreover, it has been a case of build- 
ing or repairing roads in summer and breaking or rolling roads in winter. 

During the entire existence of this town — and even before — the building 
and repairing of roads and bridges has annually received due consideration. 
Fortunately in this respect, Surry has a much less mileage of roads than 
most towns, and comparatively few bridges to maintain — all small, however, 
except one which spans the Ashuelot river. 

The first settlers who came hither found this region a vast wilderness; a 
dense forest of mammoth trees covered their land; their first habitation was 
a rude hut or log cabin reached by a "bee line" on foot, next came a blazed 
trail, or bridle path, then came the road, the highway, the turnpike and fin- 
ally state highway. Doubtless the first roads were in many cases nearly 
identical with an earlier bridle path, some of which were "laid out" while 
others were "surveyed." 

The earliest mention of "roads" is found in 1764 in the old Proprietors 
Records of Gilsum and Surry, now in the hands of the Town Clerk of Surry. 

Feb. 27, 1764, Clement Sumner, Proprietors Clerk (of Keene) issued a call 
for a Meeting to "be holden at the house of mr. Jonathan Smith" who then 
lived in that part of Gilsum, now Surry village. The 7th Art reads: 

"to See if the Proprietors will alow any thing for the work already been 
done towards Clearing necessary Roades in Sd Town?" 

"Voted to dismiss the 7th article," they therefore received no recompense 
for their services. 

From this it would appear that roads were laid out as early as the fall of 
1763, and there is reason to think at least some of them were in Surry valley. 
Another Proprietors meeting was held at the above dwelling house on March 
13th following at which time Art. 3 : 

"Chose Jonathan Smith Woolston Brockway & Joseph Mack to 
be a committee to lay out and Clear necessary Rodes or highways 
in Sd Gilsum." Clement Sumner Proprietors Clerk." 

The above committee made the following report: 
"Gilsum April 16th and I7th 1764. 

Then Laid out by the Proprietors Committee a Seartain Highway 
Begining at the head or Ende of a Highway that Leads from Keen a 
cross the Northeast Corner of Westmoreland To the Defident (Dividing) 
Line Between the town of Sd Westmoreland and the Town of Sd Gilsum 
Leading aCross the west End of Sd Gilsum to the Town of Allstead 



42 History of Surry 

Sd Highway is Laid out six Rods wide and whean it Begins as afore- 
said To Run Boring on the Brinke of the hill three Rods of Sd High- 
way to be fearly above the Decent of the hill till It falls onto the De- 
fident Line Between Lots which Line runs North and South Being the 
Line of the sixth Range * * * from whare it falls into Sd Line Run- 
ing North * * * the moyety to be on the one Side and the other moyety 
* * * the wedith on the other Side Sd Defident Line till It comes onto 
the Northwest Corner of the Lott No: 7 thence Turning a Littel west 
of the North a Crost the Lott No: 8 as the trees are marked and the 
Breadth of Sd Highway is to go on that Side Sd marked trees on whitch 
they are marked "with six Knotches on Sd trees are also to Shew that 
Sd Highway is six Rods wide thence Runing Northerly by trees 
Marked as aforesaid to the North Line of Sd Gilsum to Be and Remain 
a Publick and open Highway for the futer or untill the Select men of 
Sd town in thair aniell Successirous or Proprietors Comittee for that 
purpose Shall for Suffecent Reasons make any alterations. 

Woolston Brockway 1 

Proprietors 
Joseph Mack y ^ 

Comittee. 
Jonathan Smith J 

Test pr me Obadiah Willcox, 

Porprietors Clark." 

Here we have a lay-out, by marked trees, of the first road up the Ashuelot 
valley to Alstead town line — nearly five years before the incorporation of 
Surry. From Keene line it ran across the east end of Westmoreland Leg to 
the old line of Gilsum, then crossing the west end of the latter town to Al- 
stead. The portion thru Westmoreland was probably laid-out as early as 
1763 by a committee from that town. 

The next meeting of the Proprietors was held July 16th — the 5th Art: 

"To see if Sd proprietors will alow aney thing for what has al Ready 
Been Done towards Laying out Highways and Clearing Same in Sd 
Town and make a Return of the Same," it was; 
"Voted to Dismis the fifth Article." 

The Dort Road 

On June 1, 1765 the Proprietors laid out a road on the meadow which be- 
gan "at contry rode between Mr. (Joshua) Fuller's and Mr. (Job) Gleson's." 
This ran part of the way on the River bank, but probably this road was not 
built as there was one laid out the next year running in nearly the same 
place, thus: November 10, 1766; Highway laid out beginning at highway 
that leads thru the west part of Gilsum, at North side of Joshua Fuller's 
land, and running East on said Fuller's land to Obadiah Willcox's land; run- 
ning North on said Willcox's to Eliphalet Dort's land; running North on 
said Dort's land to Ichabod Smith's land; running North on said Smith's land 
to River bank; turning North-West on Samuel Hall's land, formerly Joseph 
Spencer's, to Moses Dickinson Field's; turning West and running by said 
Field's land to first mentioned highway. This road was to be two rods wide, 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 43 

and is the "Dort road," so-called, but there is reason to think it ran farther 
to the east, and north to near the river bank when built — than at present — 
see map. 

June 9, 1808 laid out a road east of Levi Fuller's Beginning just North of 
where John Hill lives, then ran East, then North and then West to new^ 
Cheshire Turnpike road. Where this road ran North & South it was laid 
out between the 6th. & 7th. Range and all of said road was on the 7th Range. 

At a Proprietors meeting held at the house of Jonathan Smith, Aug. 26, 
1766 an article in the Warrant to see : 

"If Sd Proprietors will be att the Charge of Beeting a Highway through 
to Keen Meeting House whare Mr Killburn and Mr Hayward have 
marked it." 

Whether any portion of this road was in the present town of Surry is un- 
known. 

The first mention of roads after the incorporation of Surry came up in 
town meeting, May 1, 1769 when it was voted to "Raise taxes in the Same 
method as they Do in ConnetecuF' and also voted "to work at Highways By 
the polls the year Ensuing." On June 14, 1770, it was: 

Voted that the Selectmen should lay out and exchange or alter High- 
ways and make report to the Town or by or sell as occasion shall Serve, 
etc. Similar action was taken at next Annual meeting. 

The Pent Road 

On Sept. 5, 1770 the selectmen laid out a "Pent road" which ran easterly 
across the meadow to the foot of the mountain where John Still lived. 

This road was 1% rods wide and entered the present highway in a straight 
line "within two rods north of said Brockway's house" where Geo. A. Hall 
now lives. In 1782 it was voted to let Woolston Brockway have the liberty 
to "Pen the Highway easterly to the meddow." May 28, 1785 that part of 
the pent road leading across Woolston Brockway's land easterly of his house 
was changed and in "lew thereof laid it out on the South side of John Brock- 
way's land," 1^/^ rods wide. In 1796 Cushman Smith gave land from off his 
farm, and between him and John Brockway to make still further change in 
the west end of this pent road. 

Owing to this being a "pent road" it received more attention in town meet- 
ing during the first 30 years of its history than any other one road. 

Year after year the distribution of the "herbage" and to see if it shall re- 
main "pent" came up in town meeting. 

This road as finally laid out entered the present highway by crossing the 
farm of the late William Carpenter's home place (No. 38), and just above 
the fence south of his buildings. In 1798 there were three or four "gates" on 
this road. 

March 31, 1771, Voted to raise 36 pounds lawful money to repair highways 
in town, and allow "three Shiling the Day" in the spring and summer and 



44 History of Surry 

"two Shiling and six pence the Day in the fawl months" for work. Also that 
"two yok of oxen Should be equal to a man" and a cart and plow should "be 
one Shiling ye Day." 

Oct. 1784. The town voted to accept a road laid out from John Reddings 
to Ford Bates. The location of this road is not positively known. 

The Carpenter Road 

In Sept. 1770 it was voted to accept the Highway laid out to Mr. Wades 
land. The records are obscure regarding this road and Mr. Wade. 

As far as known Duren Wade who lived on "Carpenter hill" was the only 
man of that name in town and as there was a road laid out to Duren's house 
in Oct. 1771 it is presumed the first one was not. The latter road was two 
rods wide and ran westerly from the "Great road" through land of Moses D. 
Field and "south of Thomas Smith's land," — or the Perkins place. The 
Kampe family now own that part of the Moses D. Field farm. Later this 
was known as the "Carpenter road." 

It was also voted at the Sept. 1770 meeting to "except" alterations in "the 
middle highway * '* above Dug hill so that it should be two rods fairly above 
the fall of the bank and continues but four rods wide," etc., till it got twenty 
rods up against Mr. Brockway's land and then to widen out to its full breadth 
(six rods). 

The Great Road 

In 1772 the town deemed it expedient that a careful and accurate survey 
should be made of the road which ran through the entire length of the town. 
A committee was chosen for that purpose and Jeremiah Stiles, an able sur- 
veyor of Keene, was employed. Prior to 1806 this was the Main or "Great 
road," as it was called, and was used by the old stage coach until about 1850. 

In order to modernize this survey the following explanation is made: 

Peter Hayward lived on the Samuel L. Newton place. 

William Hayward lived on the Frank E. Ellis place. 

Samuel Macordis (McCurdy) — Late Edmond Woodward place. 

William Barron lived on Jasper N. Keller summer place. 

Benj. Whitney's shop was at foot "Kingsbury hill." 

Charles Rice was probably the M. D. Carpenter place. 

Joshua Darts was the Oscar B. Deane place. 

Westmoreland line, the wall north of O. B. Deane's home place. 

The six rod road started just north of Francis F. Field's dwelling house. 

Mack's old hovel, near James E. Harvey's dwelling house. 

Joshua Fuller lived on Hollis W. Harvey place. 

Skinner lived possibly on the George Malcolm place. 

Ebenezer Daniels probably lived at or near where James V. Stillings 

lives. 
Moses D. Field lived where Allen L. Green now ownes. 
Thomas Smith lived on the Perkins place. 
Chapin's mill property, is now that of H. N. Scripture. 
Joseph Mack's field was near the Holbrook tavern. 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 45 

The end of six rod road was just above the bridge where the road turned 

N. W. and ran up the hill past Hodskins place to Alstead town line. 
Jonathan Smith lived on the Samuel Ball place. 

This survey in full was as follows: 

Survey of the Road Thru Surry in 1772 

"Whereas we the subscribers being appointed a committee to Survey 
the Highway through the town of Surry, accordingly on the 29th of 
Septemper A. D. 1772, we began at the town line South of Peter Hay- 
wards and laid the road 4 rods wide 2 miles and 130 rods, which comes 
to the Southwest corner of the homestead of Mr. Jonathan Smiths in 
sd Surry, from thence we laid the road six rods wide three miles and 
22 rods to the crotch of the road that leads to Alstead, from thence 
we took the west road and laid it 4 rods wide to the town line, meaning 
the line between Surry and Alstead, it being 102 rods, etc. Said road 
is bounded as follows, viz. 

"Beginning at a stake and stones set up for the west side of the high- 
way in the town line, meaning the line between the town of Surry and 
the town of Keene, from said stake, ran N. 4° W. 27 rods to a stake 
standing partly between Peter Hay ward's house and barn; then W. 31" 
N. 11 rods to a stake; then N. 13° E. 12 rods; then N. 24° E. 16 rods; 
then N. 3° W. 20 rods; then N. 7" E. 14 rods to a stake standing 3 rods 
north of the bridge that goes over the River and this road is laid out 4 
rods wide on the north side of the bridge, and there is about 7 rods 
south of the bridge encluded, or laid out for a ford way or watering 
place so that this road is laid eleven rods wide up & down the river, or 
where it crosses the river; then from the last mentioned stake, ran N. 
36° W. 26 rods to a stake and stones then W. 18° N. 42 rods to a stake 
or stump; then N. 15° W. 10 rods to a stake; then W. 17° N. 22 rods 
to a great stone by William Haywards; then N. 3° W. 26 rods to a stone 
by MaCordis (M'Curdy's); then N. 11° W. 15 rods to a great rock; 
then N. 20° E. 20 rods to a heap of stones; then N. 37° E. 12 rods to a 
corner; then N. 47° E. 12 rods to a corner; then N. 53° E. 12 rods; then 
N. 21° E. 11 rods; then N. 7° W. 20 rods; then N. 16° W. 20 rods to a 
heap of stones; then N. 20° W. 30 rods to a stake by Barrons; then N. 
34° W. 28 rods to a great rock; then N. 40° W. 31 rods to a stake; then 
N. 45° W. 22 rods to a corner; then N. 22° W. 12 rods to a stake by 
Whitney's shop; then N. 8° W. 38 rods; then N. 13° E. 14 rods to a 
stake near Charles Rice's; then N. 33° W. 30 rods to a corner; then N. 
38° W. 22 rods to a corner; then N. 14° W. 8 rods; then N. 7° E. 36 
rods to a hemloc; then N. 26° E. 12 rods; then N. 16° 30' W. 22 rods 
to a hemloc; then N. 2° E. 22 rods to Joshua Darts; then N. 22° E. 8 
rods; then N. 43° E. 8 rods to Westmoreland line. 

Then N. 16° E. 8 rods; then N. 12 rods; then N. 1° W. 52 rods to 
w'here the road begins to be six rods wide; then West one rod to a stake; 
then N. 1° W. 103 rods to a stake; then N. 20° W. 45 rods to an old log; 
then N. 26° W. 17 rods to a dry hemloc; then N. 15° W. 19 rods to a 
hemloc with stones about it; then N. 4° W. 17 rods to a stake by Mack's 



46 History of Surry 

old hovel; then N. 10° W. 50 rods to a stake by Joshua Fuller's house; 
then N. 11° W. 68 rods to a hemloc; then N. 34° W. 45 rods to a heap 
of stones; then N. 32° W. 19 rods to a hemloc tree by Skinners; then 
N. 4° 30' W. 36 rods to a maple stump with stones on it; then N. 4° E. 
24 rods to a hemloc stump; then N. 19° E. 16 rods to a hemloc tree 
against Mr. Daniels; then N. 1° 30' W. 68 rods to a heap of stones; 
then N. 36° W. 26 rods to a corner; then N. 1° 30' E. 13 rods to a 
pine stump with stones on it; then N. 48° W. 19 rods to a heap of stones 
by Moses D. Field's house; then N. 15° W. 20 rods to a stump with 
stones on it; then N. 20° E. 25 rods to a maple tree; then N. 6° E. 28 
rods to a maple tree; then N. 50° E. 46 rods to a stump & stones on it 
by Thomas Smith's; then N. 10° W. 19 rods to a beech; then N. 1° W. 18 
rods to a great hemlock tree; then N. 4° W. 6 rods to a maple; then N. 
8° W. 20 rods to a stone by Chapins; then N. 22° E. 14 rods to a maple; 
then N. 30° E. 9 rods; then N. 31° E. 18 rods to a maple; then N. 29° 
E. 16 rods; then N. 25° E. 12 rods to a beech tree; then N. 9° E. 10 rods 
to a maple; then N. 2° E. 13 rods to a heap of stones; then N. 6° E. 6 
rods to a hemloc; then N. 22 rods to a maple tree; then N. 12° W. 12 
rods to a beech; then N. 22° W. 11 rods to a maple; then N. 4° E. 8 rods 
to a maple; then N. 5° E. 11 rods to a maple; then N. 2° E. 8 rods to a 
maple; then N. 2° W. 10 rods to a beech tree; then N. 19° W. 13 rods 
to a maple; then N. 17° W. 18 rods to a great hemloc by Joseph Mack's 
field; then N. 11° W. 11 rods to a maple tree whei'e the six rod road 
ends; then N. 39° W. 7 rods to a maple tree; then W. 34° N. 15 rods 
to a beech tree; then W. 31° N. 10 rods to a beech tree; then W. 19° N. 
13 rods to a birch; then N. 38° W. 8 rods to a maple tree; then N. 34° 
W. 13 rods to a hemloc; then N. 51° W. 8 rods to a beech; then W. 20° 
N. 14 rods to a great birch; then W. 24° N. 12 rods to a beech tree; 
then N. 38° W. 9 rods to a heap of stones in the town line, meaning the 
line between Surry and Alstead, &c. 

"N, B. It may be "Surveyed by Jeremiah Stiles, * 

observed that 

all the bounds Obadiah Willcox 1 

are on the West Peter Hayward I. Committee." 

side of the road, &c. Thomas Harvey 

The Gilsum Road 

Just when the road was first built up the river to Gilsum is unknown, but 
some time prior to 1773, for in December of that year it was: 

Voted to alter the road from Chapin's mills to Gilsum and except it by 
the River. 
In 1783 the "Gilsum road" was laid-out again: "Beginning at Gilsum Line 
at the River and runs as the River runs until it comes to about seven rods 



NOTE: The town records and a sheet of paper giving the atiove survey do not agree in 
two or three jdaces ; the sheet is copied. 

*In checking over this survey we find it was five miles, 152 rods from Keene line to the 
"crotch of the road". The south end was two miles, 130 rods; we make it 2 miles 123 rods. 
The north end was 3 miles, 22 rods; while we make it 3 miles 29 rods. The total, however, 
is the same. 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 47 

west of the falle at the upper end of Chapin's mill-pond," — said highway to 
be six rods wide at the beginning and taper off to four rods. 
After a few years the above road was surveyed, as here given : 

Plan of a Highway surveyed Feb. 2, 1789 from Gilsum Line to the High- 
way that leads thro the town of Surry, one & % miles long; 

Beginning at the line between Surry and Gilsum on a flat rock, then 
N. 12° 30' W. 17 rods to a hemlock tree; then N. 23° W. 9 rods & V2 
to a hemlock tree; then N. 55° (or 35°) W. 11 rods; then W. 33° N. 3 
rods; then W. 10° N. 19 rods & V2; then W. 1° S. 9 & V2 rods; then 
W. 8° S. 3 & 1/2 ? rods; then W. 28° S. 9 & V2 rods; then S. 43° W. 12 
rods; then W. 36° S. 19 rods; then W. 24° S. 28 rods; then W. 11° S. 28 
rods; then W. 20° S. 10 rods; then W. 10° S. 13 rods; then W. 12° N. 22 
rods; then W. 17° N. 49 ? rods; then W. 3° N. 36 rods; then W. 15° S. 19 
rods; then W. 15° S. 10 rods; then W. 8° S. 27 rods; then W. 11° N. 4 
& 1/2 rods; then N. 41° W. 8 rods; then N. 27° W. 10 rods; then N. 16° 
W. 18 rods; then N. 27° W. 44 rods; then W. 30° N. 8 rods; then W. 3° 
S. 12 rods; then W. 20° N. 21 & h^ rods to the Highway that leads 
throu the town of Surry. Said road is 3 rods wide,; the survey is taken 
on the North side of Sd road. 

Sylvaneus Hayward, Surveyor. 

Nov. 9, 1869 Voted to layout and change the Gilsum road owing to the re- 
cent freshet. 

The Crane Road 

This road was surveyed and accepted by the town in 1789, and ran from 
the Gilsum road up the hill to Abiah Crane's buildings, — the Jackson Reed 
farm. This road was laid out two rods wide. 

The Thompson Road 

On Sept. 7, 1799 this road was surveyed from Samuel Hills to Alstead line 
and joined a road "lain out by the Selectmen of Alstead." It began, 

"On the east side of the old road at a birch tree on the bank of the 
brook, and ran North 17° E. 40 rods to a maple marked; thence N. 21° 
E. 8 rods to a butternut tree marked; thence N. 7° E. 20 rods to Al- 
stead line in Samuel Thompson's land" to the line of the road in Al- 
stead. 

Mr. Hodgkins now lives on the Samuel Hills place and the late Charles W. 
Reed lived on the old farm of Dr. Samuel Thompson. Prior to 1799 the road 
up this valley terminated at the Thompson buildings which at that time stood 
in the field some ten rods east of the present barns on this farm. 

Tradition says a "bridle path" ran northeasterly, and not far from the 
"falls on Alstead hills," united with the highway which ran on the highland 
easterly of this valley to Alstead Center. 

The Ware Road 
In 1789 a road was surveyed from the Gilsum road to Comfort Ware's 



48 History of Surry 

dwelling house — now known as the John Dustin place. His house- was only a 
few rods from Gilsum line; the road came down the hill and intersected the 
river road at mouth of Cannon brook, and was two rods wide. 

The Kingsbury Road 

This joined the Ware road, ran northward past James Kingsbury's house 
near the extreme north-east corner of the town, and then in a northwesterly 
course to Deacon David Reed's house in edge of Alstead. This road was laid 
out about 1792. 

The Reed Road 

Prior to 1790 this was the main and direct highway from Surry to Alstead 
Center. From what can be gleaned from the records and tradition, it ap- 
pears that it was laid out as early as 1778; it began on the -north side of the 
Gilsum road at the corner of the Crane (Jackson Reed) road and ran north- 
erly up thru the pasture, west of the Asa Wilcox, Sr. house site, then norther- 
ly past John Redding's place (Nathan D. Reed), and to Deacon David Reed's 
house in edge of Alstead. In 1783 the south end was changed, beginning near 
"Butlers Rock" ran east over Thompson's brook then north-easterly up the 
hill where it intersected the earlier road, on the side hill east of the ftolbrook 
tavern. This road was two rods wide. 

Feb. 20, 1789 another survey was made with probably some slight altera- 
tions, at which time it began at "a stake and stones a little North of where 
Mr. John Hitchcock formerly had a tann house." Mar. 8, 1898 the town 
voted to discontinue the Reed road, subject to gate and bars. 

The Wilcox Road, Also Part of Reed Road 

The survey of this road was made at the same time as the South end of the 
Reed road — in 1778, and is so interwoven with the lay-out of the latter road, 
that a description of both are given: Beginning at Thompson's brook, east- 
erly thru Chapin's land (on or near Gilsum road) by marked trees to Abiah 
Crane's land, then crossing Crane's and land of Josiah Cheney's in a north- 
easterly course by marked trees to Asa Willcox's land, turning east by marked 
trees in the line between Sd Willcox and sd Crane's land until it comes to 
Abijah Bentons corner. 

Said highway is laid out three rods wide, and on said Willcox's land. 

The Smith Road 

June 20, 1799 a pent road was laid out from Josiah Hendee's dwelling (the 
plastered) house on Gilsum road east, then north up Benton (later called the 
Cannon) brook, then crossing land of Jesse Jaquith to Stephen Smith's, where 
Abijah Benton formerly lived. 

The Streeter Road 

When this road was originally laid out is uncertain, though probably about 
1780. In 1794 a survey was made from "the County road near Thomas 
Smith's barn" to the Walpole line at which time it was made two rods wide. 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 49 

This remained an open and public highway until the great freshet of 1869, 
when owing to the expense of repairing the same, it was discontinued by a 
vote at a town meeting March 8, 1870. 

The Delevan Road 

The town accepted this road March 1786; it ran from near the Henry 
Scovell place on Streeter road north-west to the old Marvin road, and was 
not in use many years. In 1798 the town paid Henry Scovell 20 shillings for 
land damage, on account of this road. 

The Marvin Road 

Remains of this road can still be seen in the pasture north of the Streeter 
road. It was the old road from Walpole to Alstead through Surry and was 
opened probably as early as 1780. 

The Proctor Road 

This road crosses the northwest corner of the town from Walpole to Al- 
stead; when first opened is unknown, but in 1836 a survey was made. 
March 11, 1862, Voted to discontinue the "Proctor road." 

The Carpenter Road 

June 9, 1794 this road was surveyed, though a road covering at least a por- 
tion of this highway was traveled as early as 1771. A short branch termin- 
ated at the Aaron Carpenter place. There was a bridle path, or cart road 
which ran from this road to the Merriam farm in Walpole— see map. 

The west end of this road from Syl Smith's to Z. Streeters was laid out in 
1805 and was "to be a Pent road for the present." 

In 1868 Voted "to pass over" an Art. to Discontinue the Carpenter road. 
March 8, 1887; Voted to discontinue this road. 

The Perkins Road 

William Perkins settled here 1794 and a road was probably laid out to his 
buildings within a few years. The one from the Proctor road was surveyed 
in 1836. There was a bridle path or cart road which the family used to some 
extent prior to 1850 which started in the door-yard at the Holbrook tavern 
and ran up the hill through the fields. 

Jan. 30, 1747, Voted to discontinue the road from Walpole to Wm. Perkins 
lane, so-called. 

March 11, 1862, Voted to discontinue the Perkins road. 

The Obadiah Willcox, Jr. Road 

Ran from near the sugar-house on the "Holly Farm" up west through the 
pasture and wood lot to where Obadiah Jr. formerly lived. No record of a 
lay-out, or discontinuance of this road has been found; the supposition is that 
it never was other than a private way to the buildings on the two farms. 

The Joslin Road 
This was known as the "Harvey road" until 1815, after Capt. Thomas Har- 



50 History of Surry 

vey the first settler in that part of the town. The date when it was first laid 
out is unknown, but it was probably before 1770. In 1777, 3,000 soldiers 
marched over this road on their way to the battle of Bennington. 

Moses Hale surveyed it from the village to Walpole line. It varied in 
width, from two to four rods wide at that time. It was voted, 1793, "to reduce 
the Highway so far as it goes through Dellances land west of the meeting 
house towards Capt. T. Harvey's and make the road two rods wide, and to 
receive of said Dellance in lieu thereof a piece in addition to the burying 
yard by said meeting house. The following is Hale's Survey: 

Surry, June 3, 1793. Survey from Surry Village to Walpole town line; 

Beginning at the Southeast corner of '-'Adonijah Marvin's dwelling 
house; then ran W. 6° N. 30 rods — 8 links; then W. 13° N. 9 rods to an 
elm tree; W. 1° N. 22 rods; W. 46° S. 9. & 1/2 rods; W. 27° N. 60 rods. 

This part of the road is to be two rods wide. Then the road is to be 
two & 1/2 rods wide. Then W. 41° N. 20 rods; N. 39" W. 10 rods; W. 
41° N. 8 rods; W. 27° N. 8 & 1/2 rods; W. 22° N. 28 rods; W. 
35° N. 7 rods; W. 8° N. 12 rods; N. 34° W. 10 rods; W. 34° N. 6 rods; 
W. 21 ?° S. 11 rods to Mr. Allen's line, then the Highway is to be four 
rods wide to the Walpole line. 

Then S. 4° W. 20 rods; S. 11° W. 6 rods; S. 40° W. 10 rods; W. 21° 
S. 64 rods; S. 46° W. 12 rods; S. 37° W. 12 rods; W. 20° S. 12 rods; W. 
9° S. 26 rods to Capt. Harvey's house. Then, W. 5° S. 42 rods; W. 10° 
N. 20 rods; N. 29° W. 20 rods; N. 36° W. 41 rods; N. 31° W. 50 rods to 
Walpole line to a stake and stones by John Merriam's land on the North 
side of the Road. 

The above survey is on the North side of the Road, and we propose it 
two rods wide to the Bound mentioned in the survey, then two and half 
rods wide to the West line of Delevan Dellance's land, except in the fol- 
lowing, viz. — the South line to run West 6° north 61 rods from the first 
station that there may be room to cross the Brook, then 3 rods wide ten 
rods up the hill, and from Delance's West line to Walpole line to be 4 
rods wide. 

The Fox-Lot Roap 

Nearly mid-way between the Joslin and Carpenter roads is a 50 acre tract 
of pasture land once owned by Oliver Fox of Fitchburg, Mass. A bridle path, 
or cross-road was built between the two above roads prior to 1840 which not 
only crossed the Fox lot, but was used by the inhabitants to some extent for 
many years. This was never a "laid out road." 

The Russell Road 

This road runs from near Edward H. Joslin's to Alonzo F. Wilbur's. It 
was laid out on May 12, 1779, beginning at the Main road that leads by Capt. 
Harvey's and two rods west of his barn, then running south by the east side 
of said Harvey's house, then on the east side of a wall to the southeast corner 
of his plow field, then near the same course, east of "a great white rock near 



^Adoni.iah Marvin's linuse stood on or near where Eihvard M. Britten livesi. 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 51 

the brook" theii to a hemlock tree across the brook, this road to be two rods 
wide. Then turning southwesterly it runs to Ruf us Smith's land, this por- 
tion to be three rods wide. Then running west on said Smith's land about 
46 rods to the North-east corner of William Russell's land, then running same 
course on Russell's land about 14 rods beyond the southeast cox'ner of Walpole, 
where it comes "to a peak at Sd corner." This portion to be two rods wide. 
Said highway to be and I'emain a "Pent-^way" for the term of three years. 

The Asahel Harvey Road 

On June 20, 1799 a public road was laid out from land of John Brockway's 
(near No. 183) to Asahel Harvey's. In 1811 the town voted to grant a bridge 
over Asahel Harvey's mill-pond. Oct. 1, 1811 the town paid Jonathan Harvey 
$30.00 for building said bridge. June 3, 1817, voted to discontinue the road. 
March 1826 Ichabod Ballou and others petitioned the town that this be made a 
public highway — not granted. It was in use, however, especially in winter, 
until after 1850. The bridge where it crossed the brook was high in the air. 

The Main Road Resurveyed, March 26, 1803 

We "then continued the old road to the north gate post at Isaac Monroe's 
barnyard (now O. B. Deane's — No. 33) and ran north twelve degs east forty 
rods to John Brockways welcrotch, the line there to be the west line of the 
road." The "welcrotch" mentioned, without doubt refers to a well sweep, or 
Old Oaken Bucket, at the well which is nearly opposite George A. Hall's 
dwelling house, No. 34. The well is 35 feet deep and still in use. 

No complete history of all old roads and highway's in the west part of 
Surry, adjacent to Westmoreland can now be given, without much time and 
research. Often the records are obscure, then again the land in places has 
since been cultivated, thereby obliterating all trace of former location. 

According to the records there have been three "trunk lines" — at least a 
portion of the way — which crossed this part of the town from Keene to Wal- 
pole, viz. the "Old County road," the "New County road," and the "Pollard 
road." The two latter, at least, have been a portion of the "3rd New Hamp- 
shire Turnpike" road. 

The Old County Road 

As early as "June ye 24, 1780" this road is mentioned — "that leads from 
Keene to Walpole." From the latter town it crossed the highland through the 
very northeast corner of Westmoreland, then entered Surry, near where 
Philip Thomas, Jr. lived in 1858, continuing southeast past the old Town 
Farm and several rods east of the southwest cemetery to the foot of the first 
hill where it bore off, a little to the west of and parallel to the present road; 
here the old road can still be followed through the pasture; then crossing the 
field a few rods west of Walter H. Britton's barns, it entered the pi-esent 
highway 20 or 25 rods south of said Britton's buildings, then ran in the 
present road until at the dwelling house of the late George Lewis Britton, 
where it bore to the west crossing his barn-yard, then on south through the 
field and down the hill through the wood-lot parallel to and quite near the 
present highway which it entered a little above the corner at the John Cole 



52 History of Surry 

place, continuing south past Cole's into Keene where it entered the present 
road at the old "Goodnow tavern," where the widow of Emerson A. Winches- 
ter now lives (1919). 

That portion from John Cole's to Keene line was discontinued about 1825. 
March 12, 1875, voted to discontinue that part of the Old County road from 
Westmoreland line, past the Philip Thomas, Jr. place (No. 192) to near the 
stone bridge on the Westmoreland road. 

In 1780 a road was laid out in the southwest part of the town, beginning At 
a red oak tree by the road that leads from Keene to Walpole, then running 
as the trees are marked to Roger Conant's house. Said road is laid out on the 
north side of the marked trees. 

May 27, 1783, Voted to accept three roads laid out in the west part of 
Surry; No. 1, Beginning at Westmoreland line by Asa Hancock's land, then 
runs Northeasterly until it comes unto the corner of Abraham Smith's land, 
then Northerly unto the Highway that leads from Keene to Walpole. 

No. 2, Beginning at Roger Conant's land, then runs Westerly unto West- 
moreland line. 

No. 3, Also a road from the Main road by Phillip Britton's land south unto 
William Britton's land. 

No. 1, was probably the present Westmoreland road, southwest from near 
the old Town Farm. 

No. 2, There is some reason to believe this was the road from No. 211 to No. 
112, in edge of Westmoreland. 

No. 3 was the road west from the late George L. Britton's buildings to the 
Foster place and on into Westmoreland. In March 1856, Voted to discontinue 
that part of the highway leading from Hiram (Geo. L.) Britton's to the 
Frank Foster place. 

June ye 1780, Laid out a road beginning at the end of a road near Dr. Noah 
Fuller's dwelling house in Westmoreland, then running southeasterly to the 
road leading from Keene to Walpole near Jesse Dasson's house, then northerly 
on land of Oliver Wright, Col. Bellows, Mr. Russell and Ezra Davis to the 
road that leads to Capt. Thomas Harvey's. The exact location of this road 
is not now known, though it probably began at the end of what is now known 
as "The London road" in Westmoreland and ran in the same general course 
as now, to where Alonzo F. Wilbur now lives. 

The New County Road 

This road was laid out in 1795 by the county committee. At a special town 
meeting held Dec. 15, of that year it was voted to oppose a part of the new 
road where it took "good land" of Stephen Bowker, Moses Brown, Mr. Das- 
sance, Allen and Wright, although there was no opposition to the taking of 
the land of Benjamin Merrifield. A portion of the old road as "it is now 
traveled" was favored. 

March 19, 1798 Voted to "View the new County road," also to exchange the 
old road which runs through the land of Moses Brown for the new County 
road. This road was built in 1797 & '98, and entered Surry direct from Wal- 
pole, "then passed where Tyler Bissell (No. 190) was living 1858, on in a 
southerly course a few rods east of the old town farm, and entered the Old 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 53 

County road at the foot of hill south of the cemetery. For nearly 25 years 
this highway served the public and after the incorporation of the Third New 
Hampshire Turnpike in 1799, it became an important stage route between 
Boston and Montreal via. New Ipswich, Jaffrey, Marlboro and Keene to Wal- 
pole, Bellows Falls, Rutland and Burlington. This road was discontinued as 
a "turnpike" in 1822, and became a town road. 

Nov. 3, 1868 it was Voted to discontinue that part of this highway from 
Walpole line, past the old Tyler Bissell place to near the town farm. 

March 15, 1819 Voted to oppose the new contemplated road in west part of 
the town from Keene to Walpole. 

The Pollard Road 

Nov. 4, 1823. Voted to open and make the New County road, or the Pol- 
lard road, so-called. An old paper describes this route as : 

"Beginning at a popular tree standing on the south side of the Third 
N. H. Turnpike road about 20 rods southeasterly of Col. Caleb Bellows 
dwelling house in said Walpole and thence keeping southerly of said 
Turnpike road to near the east line of Capt. Jonas Fay's land and thence 
near the Whipple brook, so-called, to the said Turnpike road near the 
dwelling house of Edward P. Rollins, thence southerly to near the 
dwelling house of Joseph Mason, Jr., or in such other route or tract as 
may be most advisable from said Fay's land to near said Mason's dwel- 
ling house, thence easterly across said Turnpike road to Walpole line 
near the dwelling house of Jonas Pollard in Surry, thence southerly 
through a part of said Surry, through the notch, so-called to Keene line 
in such route or track as may be deemed the most convenient, thence 
through a part of said Keene, either to intersect the old Turnpike, at or 
near Goodnow's tavern (widow Winchester's) or to the south and east 
of said tavern, as may be thought most useful for the public." 

The above road was built and those living in Surry who received a land 
damage thereby were: 



Jonas Pollard 


$ 15.00 


Philip Thomas 


3.00 


David Allen 


.25 


Levi Hancock 


.10 


Benj. Carpenter, Jr. 


30.00 


Benj. Carpenter 


20.00 


Royal Watkins 


60.00 



Dated at Charlestown, N. H. 

Nov. 10, 1824. 
From the Office of 
George Olcott to 
Total S128.35 Francis Holbrook, of Surry. 

Jonas Pollard took the job of building a large part of this road, in Surry, 
from which it became generally known as the "Pollard road," and though 
somewhat hilly, is the most direct route from Keene to Walpole village. He 
soon after opened a tavern at his dwelling house, sometimes called "The Half- 
way-house," (the present Alonzo F. Wilbur place). This road cost more than 
$500. 

In 1810 a short road 19 V^ rods long was laid out southwest from the "stone 



54 History of Surry 

bridge" to join the Old County road with the road to Levi Hancock's house, 
adjacent to the first school-house in the S. W. district. 

The Summit Road 

In 1833. Voted to raise $400.00 to build a new road laid out by a commit- 
tee from the Court, to run from Keene to Westmoreland and which crossed 
to southeast corner of Surry. Since the railroad was built, this has been 
known as the "Summit road." From 1834 until 1844, Elijah Mason assumed 
all care of this road for the sum of |10.00 per year and while the town derived 
absolutely no benefit whatever it continued to keep the same in repair until 
Nov. 5, 1878 when it was voted to petition the superior court for the county 
to assume all care and responsibility of this road. 

March 25 1799. Voted to continue the old road from J. Cheever Fowler's to 
Widow Mary Dassance and to pay damages. The exact location of this road 
is unknown, as is also the following which was laid out in 1784 by William 
Barron and Nathan Hayward, which ran between Benjamin Carpenter's and 
Capt. Sanger's and began at a beech tree north of the highway leading from 
Keene to Walpole, thence northerly to corner of said Carpenter's and William 
Russell, J!r. land to Capt. Sanger's land. Road to be two rods wide. 

The old County road in the southwest part of the town from near the old 
town farm to the foot of the hill near the John Cole place was changed in 
1826 to its present location, as here given: 

"Began at a stake and stones in Levi Hancock's pasture on the road 
leading from Jonas Pollard's to David Allen's, running S. 54° W. 26 
rods; then S. 41° 34 rods; then S. 6° E. 102 rods; on the old Turn- 

pike, on the old road S. 8° W. 36 rods; then S. 8° E. 15 rods; then S. 
26° E. 76 rods to the old Turnpike; then S. 20° E. 56 rods; then S. 10° 
E. 80 rods to the old Turnpike; than S. 27° E. 80 rods; then S. 14° E. 
76 rods to the foot of Mine Hill. 
Surry May 18, 1826. Laid out three rods wide." 

The Pond Road 

The eai'ly records speak of this as "The Gilbert road," after Ebenezer Gil- 
bert who settled near this road in 1786 and near where Luman Pond settled 
before 1850. It was known as "The Pond road" from about that time until a 
few years ago, then it came to be known as "Cottage street." 

It is hardly pi'obable the original road ran in the same place as now and in 
fact one change is known to have been made about 1835 (?) 150 rods or so 
from the end in Surry valley where the road was moved a few rods farther 
to the west to get a better grade. 

The earliest record found giving some evidence of this road is: 

Mar. 26, 1787; Voted, that a petition offered by Silvanus Hayward to 
have the privilege of shutting up a road at the Towns pleasure, which 
runs Eighty rods from the Main road west thru Sd Hayward's land. 

At a Town Meeting held March 13, 1788; 

Voted to accept a Highway from William Russell, Jr. to Silvanus Hay- 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 55 

ward's as in the survey. Also Voted, to re-consider the vote taken last 
year Granting Silvanus Hayward the privelege of a road west from the 
main road by said Hayward's dwelling house. 

The following- is a lay-out of a highway made Dec. 27, 1787 which began 
near Frederick R. Crane's buildings : 

Beginning at the corner between Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. and Wil- 
liam Russell, Jr. then running North two rods wide, one half on Sd 
Carpenters land and one half on Sd Russells land to a poplar tree 
marked on the north side; thence Easterly on Sd Carpenters land to 
Ebenezer Gilberts land; then Easterly by marked trees to Col. Hunts 
land; then thru the same to Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr. land; thence to 
Silvanus Haywards, in a North-easterly course to a highway formerly 
laid out. 

On Dec. 25, 1807 this road was again laid out and ran from the John Cole 
place on the old County road by old Mr. Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. (now the 
Mrs. S. H. Clement's) place to Daniel Hayward's on the Great road. This 
road was three rods wide and two miles and 62 rods long. 

After the Pollard road was built it was voted March 8, 1825 "to pass over" 
an article in the warrant to throw up the old road from Benjamin Carpenter, 
Jr. to the Royal Watkins road, near the old Cole place. The exact time this 
road was discontinued has not been ascertained. It entered the present high- 
way west of F. R. Crane's dwelling house and crossed the door-yard east of 
the Mrs. S. H. Clement's house. 

The Wilbur Road 

On Oct. 3, 1807 this road was surveyed from the north side of the school 
house on the Great road near Maj. Nathan Hayward's (now Frank E. Ellis) 
by Hercules Hayward's (the old Barney Wilbur) place, to the old County 
road at the John Cole place. To be three rods wide, and was one mile and 
237 rods long. No earlier layout has been found of this road, yet there is rea- 
son to assume it was traveled to some extent prior to 1800; neither can we 
ascertain the date at which the east end of this road was discontinued. The 
west end from the Wilbur house to the highway was in use until after 1860. 

The Stimpson Bridle Path 
This ran from near the John Cole place southwesterly to the bridge over 
the railroad at the Summit. An old Bridle path, or cart road, called the 
Stimpson road. It was never a laid out road, although used as a cross-road 
as early as 1825. 

The Cheshire Turnpike 

On June 8, 1804 a petition by Simeon Olcott Esq. of Charlestown and others 
for a turnpike road from the mouth of the Black river in Springfield, Vt., 
through Charlestown, Langdon, Drewsville, Alstead, Surry to Keene was 
"committed" in the New Hampshire Legislature. — K. S. 

The Cheshire Turnpike was incorporated, Dec. 13, 1804, it ran up Surry 
valley. On or about Aug. 1, 1841 the gates on the Cheshire turnpike were 
thrown open and it became a "free road." The toviTi borrowed $600.00 of 
Capt. Francis Holbrook to pay off the proprietors for Surry's interest. — K. S. 



56 



History of Surry 



The Surry West Road 

'* In 1770 a highway was laid out from the Four Corners in Keene to Surry 
town line, and probably soon after was continued to near the dwelling house 
of the late Edmond Woodward on the Great road. Leaving the present high- 
way where W. F. Gate's dwelling house now stands in Keene, it bore north- 
westerly and after passing three dwellings came out at the old Daniel Darling 
(the late G. D. Gillis') buildings. Passing northerly on the west side of this 
house, it entered the pasture, then northeast by another house site and a 
large rock where the South Toll Gate formerly hung; continuing into Surry; 
thence noi'th, then more westerly around west of the mill pond to the Wilbur 
road; thence east on this road to the Great Road, — a few rods north of 
F. E. Ellis' barn. 

The town changed the above road in 1789; running north on the west line 
of Peter Hayward's farm, then northeast "by the Widow (Sarah) Hayward 
& Sarel Hayward saw mill," crossing their mill-dam thence northerly, pass- 
ing on the east side of their house to the present highway. 

Surry, February 2, 1789. Silv. Hayward, Surveyor. 

June 19, 1804 this road was re-laid by the selectmen from the mill-dam to 
the Great road, thus : 

Beginning at the south-west corner of Nathan Hayward's Milldam, then 
ran N. 1" E. 50 rods to the south-west corner of Nathan Hayward's 
House, then N. 19" E. 15 rods to the Great Road. This road was two 
rods wide except at the buildings where it is only 1% rods. 

On May 8, 1801 & Nov. 5, 1805 the town of Keene laid out the present high- 
way from W. F. Gates house northward thru "Nigger Hollow" to Surry town 
line, and this was instrumental in a petition for a "bridle road," thus: 

Surry, Sept. 9, 1806. For the accommodation of the inhabitants in this 
vicinity the following request was made, "that the Town would grant 
them a Bridle road from Major Nathan Haywards Mill-dam to meet 
the road which the Selectmen of Keene laid out last Autumn near 
Nathan Carpenter's," etc. Signed by; 



Dr. Philip Monroe 
Thomas Redding 
Amasa Carpenter 
Hercules Hayward 
Benj. Carpenter 
Oliver Wright 
John Norris 
Samuel Sawyer 
Moses Haselton 
Aaron Estabrook 
Jonathan Smith 

Nov. 15, 1807. Voted to lay 
three rods wide, and the same 



Nathan Hayward 
Eliphalet Dort 
John Cole 
Levi Hancock 
Eli Dort 
Elizar Wright 
Abner Skinner 
Phinehas Wheelock, Jr. 
Samuel Allen 
Abijah Finney 
Daniel Hayward 

out the road in the South part of the town 
to be finished and opened by Nov. 1, 1808. 



Jonathan Skinner 
John McCurdy 
John Thayer 
Charles Hayward 
Erastus Benton 
Abijah Benton 
Gaylord Wilcox 
James McCurdy 
Elijah Norris 
Benjamin Smith 
Aaron Hayward 



*Aiiiiual Report of City of Keene for 1913. 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 57 

As there is no reference to this being made a "Bridle road" after the above 
"petition," it doubtless when finished became an open and public highway, 
remaining as such to the present day. 

The Austin Road 

This began near the south abutment of the "Great Bridge" and runs up the 
west side and to the top of south part of Surry Mountain, where the McCurdy 
family owned land which was later owned by Thomas Austin and where he 
lived many years. 

The first mention of this road — July 31, 1781. Voted, to not except a high- 
way through Samuel M'Curdy's land up the west side of the mountain. 

Mar. 25, 1783. "Voted to excuse Mr. Samuel M'Curdy and his sons 
from their highway tax for 1782 and 1783 on account of their making 
the road up the Mountain to Gilsum" line. 

At the request of James M'Curdy this road was laid out by the town Sept. 
29, 1789 and accepted soon after. It is described as beginning "at a Black 
Burch staddle on or near Gilsum line on the Mountain" then runs southwest- 
erly by James' house down the Mountain to Peter Hayward's line, then "to 
a white tree on the Great Road at the Bridge"; the said road is two rods wide 
and the trees are "marked with two notches." 

This road was not discontinued until March 8, 1898, subject to gate and 
bars, although for many years previous it had been little used. 

The M'Curdy Road 

This is the extreme north end of Surry East road. It ran northward across 
the meadow above the Great Bridge. The selectmen laid this road out in 
1783 two rods wide and it was always "to be a pent or bridle road." and not 
to be passable except by gates and bars. This road ran across James M'Curdy's 
land to the "southeastwardly corner of William Hayward's land." It has 
been an open and public highway for possibly 100 years. 

The Great Road 

This road was re-sui'veyed and several slight changes made July 3, 1794. 

March 30, 1784. Voted to clear the Main road, also to dispose of a strip of 
land lying in the highway, beginning at Mr. Brockways corner by Darts shop 
and making his fence straight with Mr. Brockway's fence at the corner, and 
to take no more of the Road there, and then to narrow off until it comes to a 
point at Mr (Jonathan ?) Smith's fence by his house, also; 

Voted to leave the matter with the Selectmen to see how much land shall be 
taken from Mr. Smith, supposing they will take some land lying against the 
East end of the meeting-house. 

Pond Road 

Apr. ye 21, 1788, A plan of a highway laid out in Surry; Beginning at a 
stake and stones on the West line of the highway that leads through the 
Town a little North of Sylvaneus Hay wards house, then runs W. 7° S. 14 
rods; then W. 43° S. 10 rods; then 3° S. 9 rods; then W. 10° W. W. 42 rods 



58 History of Surry 

where it meets a Highway laid out to Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. Said road to 
be two rods wide. 

The Great Road 

The following is a survey of the present road from the Dry-Bridge (near 
Goosberry Rock), south to near F. E. Ellis' buildings; — the old road ran west 
of present house on the Woodward farm and intersected the present road at 
Goosberry rock. When first opened this road crossed a small dry gulch near 
the noi'th end over which a bridge of wood was built, and which was known 
as the "Dry bridge." It is frequently called by that name to this day, yet on 
March 12, 1812 Edmond Wetherbee bid off the job of building a road of stone 
and gravel at the Dry bridge by Goosberry rock for |23.00; the culvert to be 
built of stone, and the road-way to be as wide "as the plank now on this 
bridge." The survey: 

Surry April 17, 1804. 

This day laid out a Highway at the south Butment of the new Bridge 
on the Road lately laid out by the Slectmen and the Towns Committee, 
Ran South 2° west 34 rods to a stake; Then south 8° west 12 rods to a 
stake; Then south 10° west 14 rods to a stake; Then east 31° south 24 
rods into the old road at the bottom of the burying yard Hill. Said 
road to be four rods wide and the above described line to be the center, 

Asahel Harvey, Nathan Estabrook, Selectmen. Eli Dort, T. Clei'k. 

Sept. 9, 1806; Voted: Not take any shares in the Cheshire Turnpike coi'- 
poration as a town. 

March 3, 1803. "Voted to have a Turnpike road through this Town." 

March 26, 1803. Voted to straighten the road through town; At the south 
part of town, through land of John M'Curdy, Samuel M'Curdy and Daniel 
Day, thence north to Goosberry rock; Also a change from Isaac Monroe's 
barnyard "North 40 rods to John Brockways well." 

March 10, 1908, the town voted to raise $86.00 and gain "State Aid." This 
was soon followed by building the state road through the valley from the 
Keene town line. A state highway patrolman has been engaged on this and 
the Gilsum road for the past ten or more years. 

The Great Road or Surry East Road in Keene 

March 5, 1754. A road two rods wide was laid out "Up the river" which 
began at Ash Swamp road (now West street in Keene) and extended to land 
of Ebenezer Day's, who lived where Nils Johnson now (1922) lives, it being 
the first farm south of No. 251 — see map. — Keene Records. 

March 4, 1760. A road was laid out and accepted by the town of Keene 
which began at the south side of Ebenezer Day's land, then extended under 
the Mountain, through Peter Rice's land to the town line of Westmoreland, 
now Surry. 

In 1784 the town of Keene laid out a road two i-ods wide which began at 
the road near Asahel Blake's and ran from thence on or near land of Nathan 
Blake, John Day, Hannaniah Hall and William Hayward's land to the town 



Roads, Highways and Bridges 59 

line. — Keene Records. Possibly this was the road which ran just west of the 
Darling house No. 247. 

There are also numerous trails and wood roads in various parts of the 
town of which no mention is made. 

1858 an attempt was made to build a road around the hill from William 
Kingsbury's cider mill (No. 20) to near the clay-pit but nothing was done. 



BRIDGES 
The Great Bridge 

The Great bridge over the river near No. 1, is the most noted of any in 
town. The date when the first was erected here has not been ascertained, but 
in 1771 it was voted to build a new bridge near "the old one," hence, the old 
one probably was built as early as 1762. Bridges have been built over the 
river at two points within the memory of those now living. The "lower" site 
was in use around 1850 and is more direct, but slightly longer than the 
"upper" location which is about 60 feet across. 

On Oct. 2, 1783 the town bought land -of the Hayward's for the new bridge, 
and later that year voted to accept the new bridge over Ashuelot river. 

June 3, 1793. Voted to raise 40 pounds before October 1st next, to build 
a bridge. We cannot explain this vote unless we suppose the Great bridge 
had been carried away by ice or high water, as the structure was only ten 
years old. 

From 1805 until 1840 the Cheshire Turnpike corporation had charge of this 
bridge. Feb. 1824, a great freshet carried off this bridge as noted in — K. S. 

Tradition says there was a "truss bridge" at the present spot till 1848. 
Then a new one was built at the lower site having supports in the middle of 
the river. In ten years this became decayed and in 1859 a new one of the 
"Wilder pattern" was built on the upper site. The present one was built 
about 1890. 

Dec. 13, 1773. Voted to get 1000 feet of plank for bridges for next year. 

In 1779 a bridge was built near the "White rock" over Harvey's brook, 
south of Edward H. Joslin's. 

Butler's Rock Bridge 

The first bridge was built here about 1789, and in 1810 it was voted to 
accept a new bridge built by Asa Wilcox on the road leading to John Red- 
ding's house. No. 139. 

The Capt. Holbrook Bridge 

1801. Voted to finish the bridge between Asa Wolcox place and Samuel 
Hills. 

The Joslin Road Bridge 

March 1798. Voted to accept the new bridge on "Harvey road," built by 
Samuel Allen. Probably until this time teams forded the brook. 



60 History of Surr^ 

AsAHEL Harvey Bridge 

March 12, 1811. Voted to grant a bridge over Asahel Harvey's mill pond. 
This vi^as at No. 174. A bridge vv^as maintained here until about 1850. 

The Stone Bridge 

The old records speak of the bridge near No. 201, as the "stone bridge." 
This, however, is little more than a culvert. 

The Dry Bridge 

March 26, 1803. The town voted to straighten the road in the south part 
of town — near No. 15. In 1804 the new "Dry bridge" is mentioned in the 
records as being near "Goosberry rock." 

March 10, 1812. Edmund Wetherbee took the job of building "a stone and 
gravel bridge" near Goosberry rock for $23.00; the same to be built as wide 
as the plank are now on said bridge. 

The Rogers Bridge 

William Hayward had a saw mill here in 1784 and some years later it ap- 
pears the road was laid out over his mill dam, but no record to this effect has 
been discovered. There has been a bridge here for over 130 years. 

March 9, 1915. Voted to raise |500.00 to build a concrete bridge by the 
Rogers mill-pond — No. 5, map. 



CHAPTER VI. 

POPULATION CENSUS AND LIST OF VOTERS 

The first census of which we have any knowledge was taken in 1767 — two 
years before the birth of Surry. It is interesting to note the population taken 
at that time of adjoining towns. Alstead, 130; Gilsum, 128; Keene, 430; 
Walpole, 308 and Westmoreland, 391. The latter town and Gilsum lost por- 
tions of their people when Surry was incorporated in 1769. 



following 


table 


shows the 


populations 


of Surry: 




1773 ■. 




. . 208 




1850 . . . 


. . 556 


1775 . 




. . 215 




1860 . . . 


. . 389 


1790 . 




. . 448 




1870 . . . 


. . 318 


1800 . 




. . 569 




1880 . . . 


. . 315 


1806 . 




. . 558 




1890 . . . 


. . 270 


1810 . 




. . 564 




1900 . . . 


. . 250 


1820 . 




. . 520 




1910 . . . 


. . 213 


1830 . 




. . 539 




1920 . . . 


. . 200 


1840 . 




. . 481 









Census of Surry 1773: 

Married men, 16 to 60 30 

Unmarried men, 16 to 60 22 

Boys, under 16 years 52 

Men 60 years and over 2 

Married females 32 

Unmarried females 70 



Total 208 



Widows . . 

Slaves, Male . 

Female 



Revolutionary war census of Surry taken Sept. 30, 1775 : 

Males under 16 years of age 59 

Males from 16 years of age to 50 37 

Males over 50 years of age 8 

Persons serving in the army 7 

All females in town 104 



Total 215 



62 History of Surry 

FIRST UNITED STATES CENSUS, 1790 
Heads of Families — Surry 

Free White 
Head of Family Males-16 or over- Males Females 

Including Under 16 Including Head 

Head of Family 



Allen, Abel 


2 


1 


3 


Allen, Abel Jr. 


1 


1 


2 


Allen, Phinehas 


1 




3 


Barron, William 


1 




3 


Barron, William Jr. 


1 


1 


2 


Baxter, Simon 


3 


2 


5 


Benton, Abijah 


1 


1 


4 


Bliss, Abner 


1 


1 


5 


Britton, Phillip 


1 


3 


2 


Brockway, Esther 


1 


1 


1 


Brockway, John 


1 


2 


3 


Brown, Moses 


1 


1 


4 


Carpenter, Benjamin 


2 


1 


2 


Carpenter, Benjamin Jr. 


2 


2 


1 


Carpenter, Charles 


1 


2 


1 


Carpenter, Jedediah 


3 




5 


Carpenter, Jedediah Jr. 


1 


1 


2 


Carpenter, Jonathan 


1 




2 


Crane, Abiah 


2 


2 


4 


Crandel, Edward 


1 


2 


5 


Darling, David 


1 


1 


3 


Dart, Eli 


1 


1 


1 


Dart, Eliphalet 


1 


2 


4 


Dart, Nathaniel 


1 


1 


4 


Dasance, Jesse 


1 




1 


Delance, Delevan 


2 


2 


3 


Everett, Thomas 


1 


3 


4 


Field, Moses D. 


1 


5 


5 


Fowler, Cheever 


1 


4 


3 


Fuller, Levi 


2 


1 


5 


Gilbert, Ebenezer 


1 


2 


3 


Hancock, Asa 


2 


5 


4 


Hancock, Levi 


2 




3 


Harvey, Thomas 


4 


2 


1 


Haywood, Nathan 


. 1 


1 


6 


Haywood, Peter 


3 


1 


4 


Haywood, Sarah 


2 


2 


2 


Hills, Samuel 


3 




3 


Holmes, Asa 


1 




1 


Holmes, Lemuel 


3 


1 


4 


Humphrey, James 


1 


4 


5 


Isham, Benjamin 


1 


3 


2 



Population Census 



63 



Head of Family- 



Free White 
Males-16 or over- 



Males 



Including Under 
Head of Family 



McCurdy, James 2 

McCurdy, John 2 

McCurdy, Samuel 1 

McCurdy, Samuel Jr. 2 

Merrifield, Benjamin 1 

Marvin, John 2 

Marvin, John Jr. 2 

Munroe,. Phillip 3 

Phillips, Reuben 1 

Prentice, Reuben 1 

Reding, John 1 

Reed, David 1 

Rice, Phinehas 1 

Riggs, Samuel 1 

Robertson, Jonathan 3 

Russell, William 1 

Scovel, Henry 1 

Skinner, Abner 2 

Smith, Abraham 1 

Smith, Abraham Jr. 1 

Smith, Daniel 1 

Smith, Ichabod 1 

Smith, Jonathan 2 

Smith, Samuel 3 

Smith, Stephen 2 

Smith, Thomas* 2 

Smith, Thomas, Jr. 1 

Streater, Zebulon 1 

Washburn, Caleb 1 

Washburn, Simeon 1 
Wetherbee, Tabitha 

Wilbore, Phillip 1 

Willcox, Asa 1 

Willcox, Obadiah 3 

Willcox, Obadiah Jr. 1 

Wright, Eleazer 1 

Wright, Oliver 1 

Total males, 16 years or over 

Total males under 16 years 

Total females 



Females 
Including Head 



2 
5 
1 
3 
1 
1 
2 
5 
3 
4 
2 
1 
3 
3 
4 
1 
3 
2 
1 
1 
2 
2 
2 
5 
2 
2 
2 
5 
3 
1 
2 
2 
1 
5 
2 
2 
2 

117 

111 

220 



Total population 448 

All free white people — no slaves or colored people. 



64 



History of Surry 



A CENSUS OF THE INHABITANTS IN THE TOWN OF SURRY, IN 

THE COUNTY OF CHESHIRE, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 

Taken in the Summer of 1806 

By 

Rev. Parley Howe 



Husband 

ALLEN, Abel 
Died Aug. 18, 1808 



ALLEN, Abel Jr. 

Abel 
Daniel 
Joseph 
Calvin 

ALLEN, Samuel 

Calvin 
Otis 

William Brockway 

ALLEN, Phineas 

Phineas 
Georee 



ALLEN, David 



Age Wife 

73 Elizabeth (Chapin) 

Died Nov. 13, 1820 



Children 



Love 



Age 

71 

40 



49 Susannah (Wilbur) 


48 


CpiLDREN 




16 Susannah 


19 


10 Mary 


15 


8 Elizabeth 


13 


5 




37 Mary (Holmes) 


S8 


Children 




3 




2 




Residents 




16 (Possibly Woolston 


Brockway) 


48 Rachel (Puffer?) 


45 


Children 




10 Asenath 


18 


4 Rachel 


16 


Eunice 


14 


Sally (Sarah) 


12 


Lova 


8 


Roxa 


6 


Residents 




Jemima Barron 


76 


Died July 25, 1810 





31 Achsah (Dart) 

Children 
1 Achsah 



24 



David 

Died Aug, 10, 1808. 

Amos, b. Apr. 1807 (after this Census was taken) d. July 8, 1808. 

NOTE: This census coverf? several months and is not absolutely correct in all details, 
as births and deaths are inchided. 



Population Census 



65 



Husband 


Age Wife 


Age 


BUNDY, Isaac 


32 Anna (d. June 1807) 
Children 


32 




Abigail 


6 




Residents 




Samuel Baxter 


31 




Hiram Holmes 


10 




BENTON, Abijah 


54 Rebecca (Field) 
Children 


54 


Abijah, Jr. 


8 Rebecca 


29 




Ruhamah 


25 


BENTON, Erastus 


31 Permela (Hathorn) 
Children 


29 


Erastus Jr. 


8 




Ervin 


5 




Almon 


1/2 




BUNDY, Elias 


52 Susan (who d. 1806) 
Children 


45 


Elias 


10 Annis 


19 




Lydia 


14 




Matilda 


8 


BAXTER, Simon 


59 Margaret (Noney) 
Children 


55 


Benjamin 


20 




George 


18 




Hollis 


16 Nancy 
Residents 


12 




Zeuba Howe 


21 


COLE, John 


38 Polly (Bemis) 


43 


Died Oct. 4, 1807. 


Children 




Zaccheus 


15 Betsey 


14 


John 


8 Polly 


6 


Asa 


2 




CARPENTER, Charles 


45 Sarah (Thompson) 
Children 


4a 


Royal 


16 Sarah 


11 


Joel 


14 Rebekah 


7 


Warren 


2 Lovisa 


5 



66 



History of Surry 



Husband 
COOK, Charles 

Charles 
Barton 

CLARK, Samuel 



Age 



Wife 



39 Mary 

Children 
15 Nancy 

7 Lucinda 



26 



Betsey (Fisk) 



CARPENTER, Benjamin, Sr. 76 Joanna (Hayward) 

Children 

Mary 



CARPENTER, Amasa 

Luther 

Willard 

Lyman 

CARPENTER, Jedidiah 

CARPENTER, Benjamin, Jr. 

Alfred 

Benjamin 

Seth 



39 Molly (Rice) 

Children 
14 Polly 

12 
10 



73 



Mary (Peck) 



45 Ruth (Hayward) 

Children 
20 Sally 

18 Sybil 

4 



Ichabod 
Joshua 

CARPENTER, Ezra 

Luman 
Willard 



CRANE, Experience 
Died Mar. 27, 1814 
Children 
22 Sina 

7 



32 Betty (Chapin) 

Children 
6 Ruth 

2 Hannah 

Betsey 
Residents 

Joanna Chapin 



CARPENTER, Aaron 

George 
Jedidiah 



39 Mary (Thompson) 

Children 
6 Polly 

4 Candace 



Age 
35 

10 
4 

16 

77 
50 

36 
6 



67 

43 

15 
10 



52 



15 



29 

5 

4 
1 

20 

37 

7 
2 



Population Census 



67 



Husband 



David Reed, Jr. 
Aaron Reed 



DART, Eliphalet 



DART, Eli 

Eliphalet 
John 
Elihu 
Obed 



FINNEY, Abijah 
FOWLER, J. Cheever 

James 
Joshua 

FULLER, Joshua 
FIELD, (Moses who d. 

Amos 

Died Feb. 6, 1807 



GE Wife 


Age 


DART, Sarah (Thayer) 


57 


Died Jan. 18, 1819 




Residents 




22 Abigail Wheelock 


39 


15 Sally Holmes 


16 


Nancy Harvey 


14 


65 Anna (Field) 


62 


Children 




Anna 


37 


Died Sept. 18, 1812. 




41 Joanna (Newton) 


45 


Children 




16 Joanna 


10 


14 Thankful 


8 


12 Azuba 


6 


2 Mima 


4 



DAWES, Jeptha 


68 Mary 
Children 


70 


Seth 


45 




Died June 3, 1807 






DAVIS, Levi 


35 Hannah (Follett) 
Children 


61 


Asa 


12 Lurena 


6 


Levi 


8 




Jesse 


5 




Samuel 


2 





? Esther (Holmes) 


24 


49 Lydia (Stearns) 

Children 
16 Betsey 

7 Naomi 
Lydia 


48 

12 
10 

7 


79 Joanna (Taylor) 


72 



1805.) FIELD, Molly (Hayward) 41 

Children 

10 Patience i3 

Esther 8 

Rizpah 4 



68 



History of Surry 



Husband 
FULLER, Lev 

Silas 



FIELD, Moses D. 

Eliphas 
Cyrus 

HAYWARD, Calvin 

Peter 
Calvin 

HAYWARD, Daniel 
Charles 



Alexander Grout 

HANCOCK, Levi 
Jeremiah Chickrew 

HARVEY, Thomas 
Daniel Abbott 



HOLMES, Lemuel 



GE Wife 


Age 


44 Mary (Benton) 


43 


Children 




11 Nancy 


8 


Alvira 


1 


Residents 




Hannah Brockway 


18 


63 Patience (Smith) 


58 


Children 




22 Eunice 


14 



17 



39 Lucinda 34 

Children 
12 Avis 14 

5 

56 Ellen 60 

Children 
21 Sophia (married to Mr. Hamil- 

ton) 18 

Patty 16 

Residents 
11 



45 Lyna (Harvey) 

Residents 

18 Sally Estabrook 

Sally Chickrew 
Nabby Chickrew 



66 Grace (Willey) 

Residents 

7 Lucy Abbott 

Betsey Abbott 
Lucy Abbott 
Lyna Abbott 



67 Abigail 

Children 

Elizabeth 



40 

27 

16 

9 

63 

38 

11 

9 

6 

64 
26 



Husband 
HARDY, Daniel 

David W. 
Daniel S. 
Luman P. 



HARTWELL, William 

John 
Robert 



Population Census 

Age Wife 

56 Elizabeth 

Children 
19 Persis 

11 Lydia 

6 Elizabeth 



53 Polly (Daws) 

Children 
11 Lucy 

9 Mille (or Milla) 



69 

Age 
46 

17 

13 

8 



36 

13 

7 



HILLS, Samuel 


40 Lucy (Thomson) 
Children 


40 


Benjamin 


13 Lucy 


18 


Samuel 


9 




Hock 


7 




Isaac Cobb 


2 weeks 

Residents 




John Brown 


21 




Abel Puffer 


36 




HARVEY, Asahel 


42 Eunice (Chamberlain) 
Children 


36 


Asahel 


7 Eunice 


14 




Nancy 


13 




Fanny 


11 




Clorinda 


4 


HASELTON, Moses 


29 Allice (Kendrick) 
Children 


24 


Albanus 


1 
Residents 






Anna Kendrick 


58 




Mercy Kendrick 


5 



HAYWARD, Hercules 

Cyrus 
George 



32 Rhoda (Flint) 38 

Children 

4 Lorinda 9 

2 Sally 7 

Caroline born Mar. 1807. 



70 



History of Surry 



Husband 
HAYWARD, Nathan 

Nathan 



Age 



Wife 



52 Sarah (Smith) 

Children 
11 Experience 

Seneh 
Sally 



Age 
50 

24 
19 
17 



HASKINS, Dr. Calvin 


29 Rhoda (Field) 
Children 


19 


Cyrus 


4 mos. Patty B. 


2 


HILL, John 


67 Lydia (Fuller) 
Children 


56 




Betsey 


20 


HAYWARD, Aaron 


26 Hannah (Fuller) 
Children 


20 


Lyman 


2 




HARVEY, Cyrus 


25 Hannah (White Dana) 
Children 


21 


Cyrus H. 


4 Grace 


2 




Phebe Dana b. Mar. 6, 1807 


HARVEY, Jonathan 


32 Roxalana (Baxter) 
Children 


29 


Jonathan 


7 Roxalana 


9 


Simon B. 


2 

Residents 




Joel Crandel 


16 





*HOWE, Rev. Perley 



43 Zeruiah 

Children 

Phebe 
Eliza 



INGALS, Joseph 31 

Adopted Child 



Lucy 

Nelly Wetherbee 



LOCKE, Jonathan S. 
Ralph E. Smith 



23 Nancy (Bates) 

Residents 
16 



36 

7 
6 

33 
1 

22 



♦NOTE — Rev. Mr. Howe's family has been added to the list by the writer. 



Husband 

ISHAM, Benjamin d. 1802 

Timothy 
Joshua 

Sylvester Smith 

MACK, Reuel 

Samuel 
Joseph 
Luther 
Calvin 



McCURDY, John 

John 
Samuel 
Thomas 
Richard 

McCURDY, Samuel 
Alvin Carpenter 

McCURDY, James 

John 
Thomas 



MONRO, Philip 

Hollis 
Calvin 
Abijah 
Isaac 

William Munro 



Population Census 


Age 


Wife 




ISHAM, Martha 


Children 


21 


Patty 


19 


Prudence 


Residents 


26 




40 


Lydia (Ordway) 


Childre 


N 


13 


Elizabeth 


11 




7 




4 




Residents 




Elizabeth Rasor 


56 


Sarah (Watts) 


Children 


10 


Polly 


8 


Sally 


5 


Elizabeth 


6 mos. 


Nancy 



85 Elizabeth (Mooty) 

Residents 
16 Rachel Carpenter 



54 Margarett 

Children 
23 Polly (Mary) 

17 Peggy 

Betsey 
Jenny 



50 Betsey (Briggs) 

Children 
16 Rhoda 

12 Lucy 

10 Betsey (the poet) 

8 Theda 

Residents 
12 Clarissa Peterson 



71 

Age 

44 

17 
9 



35 
9 



40 

18 

16 

13 

3 

82 
55 

51 

20 
15 
13 
10 

39 

18 

15 

6 

1 



72 



History of Surry 



Husband Age 


Wife 


Age 


MONRO, Isaac 39 


Mary (Sweetser) 


35 


Children 




Isaac Newcomb, b. Jan. 18, 1794; 


Eunice 


17 


d. May 18, 1795 


Fanny 


15 


Isaac Newton 7 


Polly 


10 




Betsey Sweetser 


5 




Roxy 


2 



MONRO, Abel 


31 


Bethana (Barron) 




Children 


William 


9 


Rebecca 


James 


7 




Abel 


5 




John 


3 




MARVIN, John 


42 


Caroline (Beckwit 




Children 


Seth 


20 


Esther 


Lelon 


17 


Polly 


James 


15 




Shepherd 


13 




Nehemiah 


11 




Richard 


9 




John 


8 




Ransom 


4 




MERIFIELD, Benjamin 


64 


Hannah 




Residents 


Benjamin Britton 


22 


Eunice Wildbore 


NORRIS, Elijah 


35 


Anna (Kendrick) 




Children 


Philo 


2 


Polly 
Sophronia 


NORRIS, John 


34 


Joanna (Skinner) 




C 


hildren 


John 


7 




Harry 


5 




Luman 


2 





33 



42 

18 
6 



65 
10 

33 



36 



Population Census 



73 



Husband 
PERKINS, William 

William 

John 

David 

Asa 

Francis 

POND, Philester 

READ, David 

Obediah 
Nathan Daggett 

REDDING, John 

John 

Daniel 

James 

Joshua 

Jonathan 



REDDING, Thomas 
Lyman 



RITTER, William 



ROBINSON, Jonathan 

Samuel 
Jonathan 



GE Wife 




Age 


39 Betsey 


(Proctor) 


34 


Children 






17 Betsey 




15 


13 Rachel 




8 


10 Sally 




4 


6 Martha 




8 mos. 


2 







25 



(Lived alone) 



50 Abigail (Daggett) 

Children 
17 Abigail 

5 Sally (Sarah) 

Pollv 



51 Mehitabel (Webster) 

Children 
20 
18 
14 
12 
1 
Residents 

Lucy Redding 



55 Pamela (Rice) 

Children 
12 Polly 

Pamela 
Lovisa 
Residents 

Dinah Armstrong 



59 Ruth 

Residents 

Joanna Wildbore 



53 Betsey (Chadwick) 

Children 
20 Dolly 

8 Suky 

Sally 
Betsey 



46 

12 
9 

7 

46 



28 

32 

10 
5 
1 

67 

58 
12 

50 

23 
18 
16 
13 



74 
Husband 



History of Surry 



Age 



Wife 



Daniel Robinson 
Stephen Hendee 

SMITH, Benjamin 
Peter 

SKINNER, Abner 

Richard 

Richard Merriam 

SKINNER, Jonathan S. 

SMITH, Cushman 

Trumbull 
Alden 



Children (Cont) 

Claris; 
Lovisa 
Lucia 
Residents 

22 

20 



58 Hannah 

Children 
15 



67 Susanna (Smith) 

Children 
26 

Residents 
12 



28 



Jerusha (Knight) 



36 Azubah 

Children 

7 Sophronia 

2 Azubah 



SMITH, Ichabod 



SMITH, Jonathan 

Amherst Hayward 
Sylvester Bliss 



64 Lydia (Wilcox) 

Residents 

Sarah Dolph 



62 Huldah (Hayward) 

Residents 
18 Emelia Hayward 

14 



Age 

10 
6 
3 



69 



68 



24 

36 

11 
9 



SMITH, Daniel 


39 


Sybil (Hayward) 


34 




C; 


hildren 




Daniel 


16 


Charlotte 


18 


James 


12 


Thankful 


10 


Thomas Jefferson 


11 mos. 


Nabby Ann 


6 






Sarepta 


3 




Residents 








Elisheba Smith 


67 






Amoranceana Jones 


23 



61 
12 

58 

14 



Population Census 



75 



Husband 
SAWYER, Samuel 

Samuel Jr. 
James 



John B. Carlton 



Age 



Wife 



39 Sarah (Wheelock ?) 

Children 

7 Sally 

3 Hannahappuck (Happy) 

Residents 
20 



Mr, Sawyer has had 6 children; the following died as follows: 
Betsey, b. May 16, 1801; d. Apr. 14, 1806. 
Maria, b. Dec. 31, 1805; d. Jan. 11, 1806. 



STONE, David 

George 
Asahel 
Philander 



THAYER, John 



27 Asenath (Willey) 

Children 
3 Laura 

1 Abigail 

2 mos. 



24 



Age 
31 

12 
10 



25 

6 
5 



25 



Polly 

Died Nov. 8, 1807 
Children 

Hepzibah 1 

The same day that Mrs. Thayer died, also died their infant child, born after 
this Census was taken. 

Residents ^ 

Aaron Esterbrook Rachel Hayward 

Benjamin Slyfield 



12 



THOMPSON, Samuel 

Joel 

Cyrus 

Samuel 

John 

Jesse 



37 



Susannah (Allen) 



Children 
11 Hannah 

9 Susannah 

7 
4 
2 



34 

15 
13 



THOMPSON, William 

Luman 
Otis 
Oilman 
Asahel 



30 



Betsey 



Children 
8 Betsey 

6 
4 



30 



76 



History of Surry 



Husband 


Age Wife 


Age 


STREETER, Jesse 


32 Polly (Stocker) 
Children 


^33 




Abigail 


7 




Nancy 


3 




Irena 


1 




Residents 




Emery Bragg 


2 Sally Stocker 


13 


STILES, John 


55 Keziah 
Residents 


57 


Josiah Stiles 


13 Lora Wells 


13 


Ruggles S. Wadkins 


8 




STREETER, Zebulon 


67 Tabitha (Harvey) 

Children 


69 


Elijah 


31 Tabitha 


26 


SMITH, Abraham 


87 Ruth 


85 



THOMAS, Dudley 



WILCOX, Gaylord 



Dauphin 

WILCOX, Asa 

Aaron 
John Talcott 

William Porter 
WILCOX, Asa Jr. 



37 Sally (Staples) 

Residents 

Mary Thomas 



37 

62 

37 Orinda (Carpenter) 29 

Children 

Mary Lovisa, b. Sept. 2, 1805 

d. Oct. 7, 1806 
Residents 
11 Susannah Smith 15 



50 Dinah (Loveland) 


47 


Children 




22 Dinah 


12 


19 




Residents 




10 




25 Nelly (Wetherbee) 


25 


Residents 




Mary Thompson 


20 



Population Census 



77 



Husband 
WHEELOCK, Phineas 

John W. 

WRIGHT, Elizer 

Jesse D. 

Lelon 

Moses 

WRIGHT, Oliver 

WTiliam 
John 



WETHERBEE, Abijah 

Edmund 
A bi j ah 
Joshua 
Thomas T. 
William 
Francis 
Paul 
Luther 



VvILCOX, Obediah 



Age Wife 

24 Peggy (Hennessy ?) 



Children 



l^^ 



56 Catherine (Dassance) 

Children 
20 Sally 

17 Catherine 



46 Mehitable (Trowbridge) 

Children 



21 


Mehitable 


19 


Lucinda 


17 




9 




7 




5 




3 




mo. 





Age 
22 



52 Elenor 


(Dassance) 


42 


Children 






14 Nella 




17 


11 Betsey 




6 


9 Fanna 




1 



54 

23 
14 

42 

12 
15 



82 



Sarah (Talcott) 



72 



Total 558 



78 



History of Surry 
Voters in Surry 1825 



The following is a list 


1825 — from an old check 


*Allen, 


Daniel 


Allen, 


David 


*Allen, 


Calvin 


*Abbott, 


Daniel 


*Adams, 


John M. 


Austin, 


Robert 


♦Austin, 


Thomas 


*Allen, 


Phinehas 


Alien, 


George 


Adams, 


Thomas 


*Baxter, 


George 


*Baxter, 


William 


*Ballou, 


Ichabod 


Benton, 


, Abijah 


*Benton, 


, Adoniram 


*Bemis, 


Cyrus 


*Brown, 


Hiram 


Brown, 


Oliver 


*Brooks, 


Levi 


Britton 


, Benjamin 


*Britton, 


, John S. 


* Britton 


, James 



*Carpenter, Charles 
*Carpenter, Benjamin 
♦Carpenter, Benj. Jr. 
♦Carpenter, Ezra 

Carpenter, Luman 
♦Carpenter, Seth 

Carpenter, Warren 
♦Chase, Bradford 
♦Crane, Ichabod 
♦Crane, Joshua 

♦Daggett, Otis 
♦Davis, Jonathan B. 
*Dort, Eli 
♦Dort, Elihu 
*Dort, Eliphalet 
Dwinell, Lruther 

Surry, Mar. 8, 1825, 



of voters in Surry at the Annual March meeting in 
list: Those who voted are marked * 
♦Field, Cyrus *Norris, Elijah 

Field, Eliphaz 

Perkins, William 
♦Pollard, Jonas 

Reed, Obadiah 
Ritter, William 
♦Robbins, Jeremiah 
♦Robinson, Jonathan 
♦Robinson, Jona,, Jr. 
♦Robinson, Samuel 
♦Ross, Emerson 

♦ Shaw, David 
♦Smith, Sylvester 
♦Smith, Willard 
♦Stone, David 
♦Streeter, Jesse 

♦Thomas, Philip 

♦Watkins, Royal 
Ward, Nahum 
Whitcomb, David 
♦Whitcomh, Enoch 
♦Whitcomb, Silas 
Wilbur, Amasa 
Wilbur, Alvah 
Wilder, Isaiah 
♦WiTley, Joseph 
♦Webster, Benjamin E. 
Withington. Stephen 

♦Willard, Joshua 
♦Willcox, Asa 
♦WiTlcox, Asa, Jr. 

Wright, Elizur 
♦Wright, Moses 

Wright, Oliver 
♦Wright, William 



'■'Hatch, James 

Hancock, Levi 

Hancock, Silas 

Haile, John 
*Hall, Seth 

Harvey, Jonathan 
♦Harvey, Jona. Jr. 
♦Harvey, Asahel 
♦Haws, Daniel 
♦ Hayward, Nathan 

Hayward, Peter 

Hixon, Elkana 
♦Hill, Moses 
♦Hills, Samuel 
♦Hills, Samuel, Jr. 
♦Holbrook, Francis 

Howe, Perley 
♦Humphrey, Thomas 

♦Isham, Timothy 

♦Jenning, William 
♦Johnson, Augustus 
♦Johnson, Charles 
Joslin, John 
♦Joslin, Luke 
♦Joslin, Peter 

♦Kingsbury, James 
♦Knight, Benjamin 
♦Knight, Joseph 

Livermore, John 
Loveland, Aaron, Jr. 

May, John 

♦Monroe, Philip 



Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Samuel Robinson 



Select 7nen of Surry. 



Population Census . 79 

CENSUS OF SURRY IN 1840 

The following summary is taken from The New Hampshire Sentinel: 
Number of horses and mules, 103. Neat stock, 565. Sheep, 1684. Swine, 
122. Bushels oats, 4,472. Wheat, 541. Barley, 240. Rye, 590. Buck-wheat, 
six. Corn, 2,346. Potatoes, 15,840. Pounds wool, 3,774. Tons hay, 1,295. 
Pounds maple sugar, 5,399. Valuation of dairy produce, $3,799.00. Grist- 
mills, one. Saw mills, one. Retail stores, one. — 1840. 

The U. S. census of Sui-ry for 1850, taken by Isaac Sturtevant of Keene, 
August 8, 9, 10, of that year, was a most complete census, and the following 
is the order in which a condensed report appears: Name (head of family), 
age; acres in farm and valuation; names of wife, children, and other mem- 
bers of the household, with age of each; birthplace is New Hampshire unless 
otherwise stated; agricultural pursuits predominate; other occupations are 
noted: 

ABBOTT, DANIEL, 52, 250, $3,000; Mrs. Daniel, 53; Thomas 19^ Henry 17; 
Joseph 14; Mary Ann 9; Lucy Abbott 53.; Louisa Leonard 19. 

ADAMS, Mrs. ELECTA (Morton-Purcell) , 42, — , — ; Julia A. 15; Mary 12; 
Ella Frances 2. 

ALLEN, DAVID Jr., 31, 120 $1,500; Mrs. David 34; David, Sr. 74; Mrs. 
David Sr. 68; children of David Sr., Azubah 38; Elvira 35; Eliza 33; 
George W. Nash 14. 

ALLEN, JOSEPH, 73, b. Mass., — , $400; Mrs. Joseph 69, b. Mass.; Rev. 
Samuel H. Partridge 23, clergyman; Charlotte A. Gould 9. 

ALLEN, JOSEPH, 2nd, 52, 120, $1700; Mrs. Joseph 50; William H. H. 20; 
Francis A. 15; Lucy A. 11; George W. 8; John H. 6; Andrew Jackson 
23; Susannah Britton 63. 

ALLEN, MRS. RACHEL, 89, 53, $1200; Rachel 60; Roxana 49; Cyrus Bemis 
26. 

AUSTIN, THOMAS, 55, 95, $1200; Mrs. Thomas 50; Wesley 22; Kendall 13; 
Charles 11. 

BALLOU, ICHABOD, 61, a carpenter, — , $500; Mrs. Ichabod 60; Nancy 27; 
Harvey 24; Clarinda 20. 

BENTON, ABIJAH, 52^ 50, $700; Mrs. Abijah 47; Jane 16; George 15; Mar- 
tha 11; Josephine 8; Phebe Crandall 70. 

BENTON, FRANKLIN, 33, a blacksmith, — , — ; Mrs. Franklin 38, Franklin 
G. 9; Martha E. 6; Augusta 3 mos.; Elizabeth Benton 76. 

BISSELL, TYLER, 50, b. Conn., 70, $800; Mrs. Tyler 50, b. Vt.; Maria 19, b. 
Vt; Mary 17, b. Vt.; Ellen 15, b. Vt.; Albert 10; Edward 8; Henry 6. 

BLAKE, GEORGE, 59, 425, $5000; Mrs: George 48; Francis 28; Mrs. Fran- 
cis 24; William Hubbard 29, emp. in factory; Mrs. William Hubbard 
25; Mary (?) Aldrich 50; John Keyes 10; Michael Costello 20, b. Ire- 
land. 

BLAKE, HENRY, 31, 50, $1200; Mrs. Henry 29; George H. 7; Aaron H. 4; 
Albert 11 mos; C. Augustus Blake 29; Dinah Wilcox 92, b. Conn. 

BLAKE, JOSHUA D., 34, 100, $1400; Mrs. Joshua D. 29; Oscar B. 10; Ira 
E. 7; Abby J. 5; Mary L. 2. 



NOTE : A few additions and t-orrections have been made to the original paper. 



80 History of Surry 

BRITT, WILLARD 43, — , $300; Mrs. Willard 39; Frances J. 11; Lucius B. 

9; Caroline F. 7; Charles W. 5; Herbert S. 3; Miss Pamelia (C ?) 

Britt 31, sister of Willard. 
BRITTON, BENJAMIN M. 39, — , — ; Mrs. Benjamin M. 29; Mrs. Melia 

Fisher, 58, b. Mass.; Harriet C. Fisher 18, b. N. Y. 
BRITTON, BRADLEY, 41, 170, $2800; Mrs. Bradley 30; Marshall B. 14; 

George W. 13; Charles E. 5; Elbridge W. 1; Harmon Britton 25, a half 

brother to Bradley; Mrs. Rhoda Pond 6*5, mother of Mrs. Britton. 
BRITTON, CHARLES, 27, — , — ; Mrs. Charles 27, b. Vt.; Sabra M. Tufts 

10, b. Vt.; Celuda J. 9, b. Vt.; Sidney D. 4, Vt., children of Mrs B. 
BRITTON, HENRY (called, Harry), 47, — , $100; Mrs. Henry 54; Henry A. 

18; Mrs. Ruhamah Davis 69. 
BRITTON, HIRAM 36, 130, $1500; Mrs. Hiram 30; George L. 14; Mrs. Re- 
lief Britton 65; Miss Relief Britton 30, mother and sister of Hiram. 
BRITTON, JAMES G. 30, — , — ; Mrs. James G. 30; Mrs. Mercy Brown 65 

George Brown 40, lived in same dwelling as James G. Britton. 
BROOKS, LEVI, 60, b. Mass., a carpenter, — , $600; Mrs. Levi 47, b. Mass. 

Elizabeth M. 17; Eli Brooks 22. 
BURGESS, WILLIAM J. 24, b. Me., — , — ; Mrs. William J. 24, b. Ireland 

John W. 5 mos. 
CARPENTER, ARIEL (sometimes called Royal), 60, — , — ; Mrs. Ariel 52 

Irene 25, b. Vt.; John 13; Haskell 8. 
CARPENTER, BENJAMIN Jr. 62, 100, $2000; Mrs. Benjamin 55; Benjamin 

W. 18; Mrs. Sally Wilbur 57; Lewis C. Shelley 21. 
CARPENTER, LEWIS, 40, — , $1000; Mrs. Lewis 35;.Alden 15; Wallace 11; 

Ella 3; Bellows Emerson 21. 
CARPENTER, WARREN 46, 200, $1700; Mrs. Warren 34; Albert B. 12; 

Charles Milan 8; Sarah E. 2 mos; Miss Lovisa 48, a sister of Warren. 
CARPENTER, WILLARD, 46, — , — ; Mrs. Willard; Curtis 19; James 16; 

Ira 12; George H. 10; Bennett 8; Louisa E. 6; Dennis 1; Amos Streeter 

45. 
CARPENTER, WILLIAM, 36, 225, $4000; Mrs. William 29; Luman M. 11; 

Josephine A. 9; Ellen M. 8; Jasper H. 6; Mason A. 4; Frank DeW. 2; 

Eugene R. 9 mos.; Ezra Carpenter 76, the father of William. 
CASWELL, ALFRED, 45, b. R. I., saw mill, 1500; Mrs. Alfred 39, b. R. I.; 

M. Jane 15, b. Mass.; Nathan 10, b. Mass.; David Edward, 6, b. Mass.; 

Almira P. 3; Daniel Carpenter 41, grist mill, $1500. 
COTTON, LEWIS L. 26, 14, $700— a carpenter; Mrs. Lewis L. 20; Myron 

Lewis 8 mos.; Eliza Britton 13. 
GRAIN, EBENEZER Jr. 32, — , — ; Mrs. Ebenezer Jr. 30; Julia 7; Hannah 

5; Albert 3; Louisa 1. 
GRAIN, GILBERT 36, 80, $1800; Mrs. Gilbert 34; Jane 8; Charles 6; Fred- 
erick R. 4; Frank P. 3; Ebenezer Grain Sr. 69, 
GRAIN, LEANDER 40, 83, $1500; Mrs. Leander 38; Harriet 15; Eleanor 

13; Martha 11; Sarah 9; Helen 7. 
CRANE, ICHABOD 66, — , $400; no further record. 
CREHORE, GEORGE, 37, 257 $3500; Mrs. George 45; Harriet 19; George 

17; Roxana 16; Lewis 15; Asahel 13; Mary J. 11; Charles 9. 



Population Census 81 

CROSBY, BENJAMIN C. 25, — , §300; Mrs. Benjamin C. 27; Emily 2. 

GUSHING, DAVID, 43, 25, $500; Mrs. David 43; Lucy M. 14. 

GUSHING, JOHN A. 41, b. Mass., — , — ; Mrs. John A. 39; Sarah J. 16; Pam- 

elia A. 14; Ellen E. 12; Susan E. 9; Frances L. 6; John W. 1; Mary 

Wilbur 25 
DORT, ELIPHALET, 61, 100, $2000; Mrs. Eliphalet 55; Obed G. 22; Mary 

E. 17; William Dort 26; Mrs. William 23, son of Eliphalet. 
DURRELL, LEVI, 39, 190, $2800; Mrs. Levi 39; Martha J. 12; Caroline 9; 

Lucy A. 6; Lucius H. Jones 10. 
DUSTIN, JOHN, 59, 170, $1000; Mrs. John 55; John Rogers 9. 
ELLIS, HENRY T. 40, 350, $4000; Mrs. Henry T. 30; Charlotte 15; Julia 

3; Sarah 1; Francis Wright 18; George Purcell 11. 
FIELD, ELIPHAZ, 65, 3000, $3000; Mrs. Eliphaz 65; Lucia 27; Patrick 

Murphy 65, b. Ii'eland. 
FIELD, JONATHAN R. 36, — , — ; Mrs. Jonathan R. 34; George W. 7; 

Francis F. 5; Mary Purcell 14; Seth Morton 72, b. Mass. 
FOSTER, B. FRANKLIN, 35, 105, $1200; Mrs. B. Franklin 35, b. Vt.; Amos 

16; Eunice 15; Adin 13; Esther 11; Addison 9; Alson 7; Hannah 5; 

Anson 3. 
FOSTER, JOHN, 40, 100, S1600; Mrs. John 27; Lucy A. Cannon 8; George 

F. Cannon 6; Charles H. Cannon 4. 

FOSTER, JOHN 2d, 37, b. Mass., 4, $600; Mrs. John 31; Sarah B. 7; George 

H. 5. 
HALL, HENRY B., 45, — , — ; Mrs. Henry B. 47. 
HARTWELL, ELIJAH HOLBROOK, 46, 120, $2000; Mrs. E. Holbrook 42; 

Francis J. Hartwell 15, nephew; Miss Harriet Markham 19. 
HARVEY, MRS. ELIZABETH, 65. 
HARVEY, JONATHAN, 78, 300, $1700; Mrs. Nancy B. Whitman 34, dau. 

of Mr. H; George Whitman 8. 
HARVEY, JONATHAN Jr., 51, 350, $4500; Mrs. Jonathan Jr. 48; Soph- 

ronia A. 29; George K. 21; Persis E. 17; Sarah H. 14; Charles Davis 

19. 
HAYWARD, PETER, 56, 220, $4000; Mrs. Peter, 53; Martha 21; Sarah 17; 

Henry 15; George 13; Margaret Baxter 18; Luther Dwinell 47. 
HILLS, BENJAMIN, 56, 300, $4000; Mrs. Benjamin 49; Julia A. 13; Susan 

E. 9; widow Lucy Hills 84, b. Mass.; Levi S. Leonard 27; Mary A. 

Mullory 22, b. Ireland. 
HODGKINS, JOHN N. 45, — , — ; Mrs. John N. 40; George 12; John 10; 

Orrin (?) 5. i 

HOLBROOK, ELIJAH, 41, 250, $3500; inn-holder; Mrs. Elijah 38; Louisa 

17; Francis 10; Mary 7; George 5; Frederick 3; Charles 10 mos.; Han- 
nah Murphy 20, b. Ireland; Addison Smith 32, b. Vt. 
HOLBROOK, FRANCIS, 66, 187, $4000; inn-keeper; Mrs. Francis 51; George 

W. 31; Mrs. George W. 29; Mary Harvey 40; Lucinda Holden 18, b. 

Vt. ; Lorenzo D. Holden 22; Daniel Emerson 45. 
HORTON, BENJAMIN FRANKLIN, 38, b. Vt., — , — ; Mrs. Benj. F. 40; 

George 11; Mary 9; Sovina Relief 7; Stephen Withington 76, father of 

Mrs. Horton. 



82 History of Surry 

HURD, HARVEY, 33, 16, |500; Mrs. Harvey 33, b. Mass.; George H. 7; 

Sarah 5; Lucia 3. 
ISHAM, TIMOTHY, 56, — , — ; Mrs. Timothy 50; Elmina 13; Martha Ellen 

11; Charles H. 7. 
JOHNSON, AUGUSTUS, 70, 50, $1400; Mrs. Augustus 67; George 20; Lewis 

27; Henry 20? 
JOHNSON, GEORGE, 43, 170, §2500; Mrs. George 44; Mary A. 17, b. Mass.; 

George B. 14; Henry E. 11; Theodocia E. 9; Olinda M. 5; the last four 

all b. in Vt. 
JOSLIN, GEORGE, 46, 185, $3000; Mrs. George 30; Lucy 20; Juliaette 18; 

Sarah 15; George Henry 13; Charles 11; Hei'bert 8; William 1. 
JOSLIN, JOHN, 50, 276, |3500; Mrs. John 38; Ellen 16; John 14; Mary 12; 

Edward H. 8; Georgiana 3. 
KINGSBURY, JOSIAH, 42, 190, $3000; Mrs. Josiah 40, b. Mass.; Edward 

A. 11; George B. 10; Edward R. Carter 37, b. Mass.; William Baker 

35, b. Mass. 
KINGSBURY, WILLIAM, 45, 15, $400; Mrs. William 40; David Stone, father 

of Mrs. K. 
MASON, ELIJAH, 58, b. Mass.; 200, $2500; Mrs. Elijah 49; Elijah B. 24; 

Christopher A. 20; Columbus A. 20; William P. 18; Allen P. 15; also, 

George Mason 26; John Mason 24; Samuel Mason 16; Fanny Mason 

14; Henry Mason 13, children of the brother of Elijah, whose widow 

he married. 
PERKINS, WILLIAM, 60, 140, $1500; Mrs. William 52; Sarah 26; George 

20; James 17; Rosetta 14; Charles H. 11; Mrs. Elizabeth Perkins 78, 

b. Mass. 
POND, LUMAN, 49, 35, $500; Mrs. Luman 40; Aaron 16; Elizabeth 14; 

Martha 12; Sarah 10; Aurilla 2. 
RANDALL, CALVIN, 45, 140, $2000; Mrs. Calvin 35; Lovisa 9; George H. 4; 

Joshua Davis 82; Mrs. Joshua Davis 81, parents of Mrs. R.; John Cole 

51; George (or N.) W. Manley 15. 
REED, NATHAN D., 47, 60, $1500; Mrs. Nathan D. 41; George Milton 15; 

Charles Warren 10; Martha A. 8; Sarah R. 3. 
ROBINSON, JONATHAN JR., 52, 475, $4000; Mrs. Jonathan Jr. 48; Charles 

D. 26; Helen E. 25; Louisa M. 23; Adaline A. 21; Henry J. 19; John 

C. 18; William S. 16; Daniel W. 14; Samuel F. 12; S. Martha 11; 

George H. 9; Frederick E. 5; Miss Phebe Simmons 49 b. Vt. colored; 

David Nash 27. 
RUGG, SEWALL, 38, b. Mass., 75, $800; Mrs. Sewall 36; Sewall F. 12; 

Charles 6; Mary S. 7 mos.; Mary Adams 5; also living in same house, 

but a separate family, Philemon Wright 70, b. Mass.; Mrs. Philemon 

68 b. Mass.; Mary Wright 35 b. Mass., dau. of Philemon; James Wright 

30, b. Mass. 
SHAW, HORACE B., 37, 256, $2500; Mrs. Horace B. 21; David Shaw 77, the 

father of Horace B.; Henry Purcell 18; Fred A. Newcomb 7 b. Mass.; 
Mary Byrnes 14 b. Mass. 
SHELLEY, ELISHA, 28, 71, $1000; Mrs. Elisha 30; Geo. Fuller 11; Charles 
Lincoln 8. 



Population Census 83 

SMITH, SYLVESTER, 70, b. Mass.?, 65, $1200; Mrs. Sylvester 45. 

STEVENS, ALMOND, 45, a trader, — , $500; Mrs. Almond 45, b. Mass.; 
George A. 15; Holland Stevens 35, bro. of Almond. 

STONE, PHILANDER, 44, 65, $700; Mrs. Philander 38; Abby A. 15; Mary 
S. 13; Rufus 11; Sarah E. 9; George W. 4; Charles G. 2; Cornelius 
Coburn 58, a shoemaker. 

STREETER, WILLARD, 33, 114, $1400; Mrs. Willard 38; Hermon O. 7; Miss 
Nancy Carpenter, 33, sister of Mrs. Willard. 

TYLER, DEAN, 60, — , — ; Mrs. Dean 49; John S. 16; Julia 14. 

THOMAS, PHILIP, 71, 30, $600; Louisa Walton 40, house-keeper. 

THOMAS, PHILIP Jr., 43, 25, $300; Mrs. Philip 42. 

WHEELOCK, Mrs. Ann 67, — , — . 

WHJTCOMB, DAVID, 68, b. Mass., 75, $1000; Mrs. David 60, b. Mass.; Al- 
fred 41; Mrs. Sarah Whitcomb 89, b. Mass. 

WHITNEY, SAMUEL, 30, b. Mass., a tanner, 65, $1000; Mrs. Samuel 22, b. 
Vt.; Charles E. 3 mos. 

WILBUR, BARNEY, 34, 85, $1000; Mrs. Barney 33; Nelly C. 10; William B. 
7; Hannah R. 5; Harriet I. 4; Esther M. 1. 

WILBUR, CHANDLER, 39, — , — ; Mrs. Chandler 37, b. Vt.; Henry L. 14; 
Caroline 12; Nancy 12; Mandana 8; Chandler 6; George 3. 

WILCOX, ASA Jr., 69, a wheelwright; Mrs. Asa Jr., 55; John A. 25, a tan- 
ner. 

WILCOX, GEORGE, 41, a wheelwright, — , $1000; Mrs. George 32; Henry 
18; C. Wharton 16; Nancy A. 7; Mary E. 9 mos. 

WILCOX, HOLLIS, 40, 100, $1400; Mrs. Hollis 36; Sarah L. 16; George H. 
13; W. Wallace 11; E. Jane 4 mos.; Mrs. Orinda Nourse 72, mother of 
Hollis. 

WOODWARD, EDMOND, 45, 150, $2500; Mrs. Edmond 42; Louisa 19; Brad- 
ley 16; Sarah 14; Lewis 11; John 9; Linda Pond 45. 

WRIGHT, WILLIAM, 58, 70, $1000; Sally 65; Catherine 56, sisters of 
"Billy." 

NOTE — The above census, as a rule, is given just as taken by the Ass't 
Marshal wthout being verfiied; several errors have been discovered, and most 
probable there are others. 

THE INDUSTRY OF SURRY, CENSUS OF 1850 

DANIEL CARPENTER; grist mill; water power; 12000 bush, grain; two 
men emp.; valuation of property $1500. 

ALFRED CASWELL; saw mill; 100,000 ft. logs annually; water power; 
two men emp.; valuation of property $1500. 

"CASWELL & CARPENTER"; bobbins; (the above men formed this com- 
pany) ; water power; 60 cords birch; two men emp.; valuation of prop- 
erty $200. 

FRANCIS BENTON; blacksmith; iron and steel worker; two men; hand 
power; valuation of property $500. 

SAMUEL WHITNEY, tanner; 1000 hides annually; horse power; two men 
emp.; valuation of property 



84 



History of Surry 



ASA WILCOX, wheelwright; §125.00 oak and ash timber annually used; hand 

power; l^/^ men emp.; valuation of property §500. 
GEORGE WILCOX, wheelwright; oak, ash and other timber annually used, 

|200; hand power; two men employed; valuation of property 



Live stock in Surry June 1, 1850; Horses 105; Work oxen 98; Milch cows 
189; Sheep 2373; Swine 125. 

For the year ending June 1, 1850; lbs. butter 15500; lbs. cheese 8340; lbs. 
maple sugar 13855; lbs. honey and beeswax 610. Lbs. wool for the year 6091. 

Town paupers, two; four schools in town; 166 pupils. 



Anderson, Anders 

Ball, Samuel 
Ball, Ernest W. 
Britton, Carl E. 
Britton, Charles H. 
Britton, Edward M. 
Britton, Emma J. 
Britton, Erving W. 
Britton, George E. 
Britton, Prank C. (ab.) 
Br;tton, Bertha M. 
Britton. Mary E. 
Britton, Sabrina W. 
Britton, Waldo L. 
Britton, Wallace R. 
Britton, Walter H, 

Carpenter, Earl R. 
Carpenter, Ernest W. 
Carpenter, Prank D. W. 
Carpenter, Marion G. 
Carpenter, Mason A. 
Carpenter, Lucy M. 
Cole, Augustus M. 
Conley, George B. 
Conley, John W., 
Grain, Frederick R. 
Grain, Gertrude J. 
Grain, Gladys M. 
Grain, Grace M. 
Grain, Herbert R. 
Grain, Maude G. 
Grain, Melissa C. 



Voters in Surry 1922 

Grain, Robert M. 
Curtis, Leon I. 
Davis, Elmer W. S. 
Davis, Loren A. 
Davis, William O. 

Ellis, Emma A. 
Ellis, Frank E. 
Emmons, Hattie R. 

Field, Francis P. 
Field, Theodore, G. 
French, Clarence H. 
French, Frank E. 
French, Margaret M. 

Green, Allen L. 
Guillow, Edward J. 

Hall, George A. 
Harvey, Ellen H. 
Harvey, Elizabeth E. 
Harvey, Hollis W. 
Harvey, James E. 
Harvey, Minnie 
Hodgkins, Elizabeth C. 
Hoclgkins, Leon A. 

Joslin, Edward H. 
Joslln, George H. 

Keller. Jasper N. 
Keller, Betty C. 
Kingsbury, Frank B. 
Kingsbury, Mabel H. 



Lewis, Melville C. 

Macumber, Charles 
Malcomb, George 
Mason, Frank E. B. 
Martin, Frederick W. 
Morine, William S. 

Nesmith, Frank E. 
Newton, Elsworth S. • 
Newton, Harold A. 
Newton, Samuel L. 

Perkins, Adalaide A. 
Perkins, Clarence E. 
Pomeroy, Prank E. 
Porter, Henry P. 
Porter, Kate H. 
Porter, Myron H. 

Ray, George W. (ab.) 
Reed, Mary L. 
Royce, Elisha 
Richardson, Fred E. 

Scripture, Ellen H. 
Scripture, Harrison N. 
Scripture, Harrie E. 
Smith, Frank L. 
Stillings. Grace E. 
Stillings, James V. 

Townsend, Lester E. 

Wilbur, Alonzo P. 



Population Census 



85 



Wilbur, Clifford A. 
Wilbur, Everett E. 
Wilbur, Florence B. 



Wilbur, Ina M. 
Wilbur, Willard E. 
Wheeler, Clifford 0. 

Harrie E. Scripture, 
George Malcolm, 
Leon A. Hodgkins, 



Wheeler, Perley W. 
Wilcox, Helen J. 



Supervisors of the 
Checklist. 

Sept. 4, 1922. 



SURRY VILLAGE 

Before 1850 Surry village contained three or four taverns, three stores, six 
blacksmith shops, three shoe shops and one hat shop, post-office, school, church, 
cemetery and 25 dwelling houses. (The shops were not all running at the 
same time). 



WILCOXVILLE 

This was the business end of the town between 1800 and 1850. There were 
three blacksmith shops, two wheelwright shops, tannery, two cider mills, store, 
three taverns, the first post-office in town, school-house, fulling, saw and grist 
mill , four of which were water-power mills. 



CHAPTER VII 

SURRY DURING THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR— STATE MILITIA 

The grievances which led to the Revolutionary war are well known and need 
not be reviewed in connection with the part which Surry took in that conflict. 
Paul Revere made his memorable ride from Boston to Concord on the night 
of April 18th, 1775. 

"A hurry of hoofs in a village street, 

A shape in the moonlight, a bulk in the dark, 

And beneath, from the pebbles, in passing, a spark 
Struck out by a steed flying fearless and fleet." 

The battles of Lexington and Concord took place the 19th, the first blood 
shed in the war of the Revolution. The alarm was spread by express messen- 
gers in all directions, bells were rung and neighbor sent word to neighbor. 
So swift were those messengers that they reached New Ipswich, 60 miles 
away, in the afternoon of the same day. There was no road, it is said, this 
side of that town except a bridle path through the woods marked by trees, yet 
Keene was reached during the afternoon of the 20th, and Surry, 96 miles from 
Boston, before night fall. 

During the winter of 1774-5 the people of Surry and other towns were in a 
state of unrest; the dark war clouds appeared to rise higher and higher as 
spring came on; hostilities appeared inevitable. Yet, during this suspense 
and anxiety, the inhabitants stood firm and loyal with the colonies. 

The news of Concord fight reached this town by a man riding a fleet horse, 
bearing a red flag and crying the alarm as he went. *William Barron, Sr., 
living in the south part of Surry, had nearly finished his day's work of build- 
ing a wall on the west side of the road opposite his dwelling house when the 
messenger passed. Mr. Barron immediately unyoked his oxen and early the 
next morning joined the Keene company which marched for the field of action. 

It is impossible to give a complete and satisfactory list and history of all 
the Revolutionary soldiers who served from Surry, or those who resided in 
town prior to and after the war. 

Aug. 25, 1775, the Provincial Congress "recomended to the Select 
Men of the several Towns, ... to take an exact Number of the 
Inhabitants of their respective Districts, including every soul in the 
Same," also to "return the Number of the Fire Arms in their respective 
Districts fit for use, and the Number wanting to compleet one for every 
person capable of using them, . . . adding there to the Quantity of 
Powder in each place." 



*William Barron Sr. lived where J. N. Keller now lives. This and other items have 
been given by a descendant, C. E. Barron of Westminster, Mass. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 87 

In compliance with this request Surry returned the following: 

New Hampshire, Cheshire County, Surry, Sept. ye 13, a. d. 1775 in 
obedience to the Honorable Provincial Congress we have taken an exact 
account of the inhabitants of said Surry and other things Recommended 
by said Congress; 

Males under 16 59 

Males from 16 years old to 50 37 

All males above 50 years old 8 

Persons gone in the army 7 

All females 104 



Total 215 

Guns 23 

Powder 5 Wt, 

Guns wanted 22 

On March 14th 1776 the General Congress passed a resolution: 
"That it be recommended to the several Assemblies, Conventions and 
Councils, or Committees of Safety of the United Colonies, immediately 
to cause all persons to be disarmed, within their respective Colonies, who 
are notoriously disaffected to the cause of AMERICA." 

The above resolutions were received in New Hampshire, and on April 12th 
the following "Declaration" or "Association Test" was transmitted to the 
selectmen of the towns throughout the whole colony of New Hampshire by 
the "Committee of Safety" of which Meshech Weare was chairman: 

The Declaration. 
WE, THE SUBSCRIBERS, DO HEREBY SOLEMNLY ENGAGE 
AND PROMISE, THAT WE WILL, TO THE UTMOST OF OUR 
POWER, AT THE RISQUE OF OUR LIVES AND FORTUNES, 
WITH ARMS, OPPOSE THE HOSTILE PROCEEDINGS OF THE 
BRITISH FLEETS AND ARMIES AGAINST THE UNITED 
AMERICAN COLONIES. 

Every man above twenty-one years of age in Surry and Gilsum signed this 
DECLARATION, and all but four Tories in Alstead, viz.: Simon Baxter, Sr., 
Samuel Chandler, John Thomson and Samuel Miller. The Baxter and Thom- 
son families were later connected with Surry history. 

Names of those in Surry who signed the Association Test: 

Woolston Brockway Moses Ware 

Joshua Darte, Sr, John Marvin 

Samuel Smith Delevarn Debelance (Delance) 

Nathan Hayward Abel Allen 

Jonathan Carpenter Eliphalet Darte 

Jonathan Smith, Sr. Ebenezer Daniels 

Abia Crane Moses Dickinson Field 

Jonathan Smith, Jr. Obadiah Wilcox, Jr. 



88 History of Surry 

Samuel McCurdy Thomas Redding 

John McCurdy Tristey (Trusty) Chapins 

William Hayward Job Gleason, Sr, 

Joseph Whitney Job Gleason, Jr. 

Joshua Darte, Jr. Abner Skinner 

Nathaniel Darte Aaron Chapin 

Thomas Smith Hiram Chapin 

Peter Hayward Cornelius Smith 

Ichabod Smith Thomas Harvey 

Obadiah Wilcox, Sr. Joshua Fuller, Jr. 

Joshua Fuller, Sr. Nathan Carpenter 

Thomas Darte Benjamin Carpenter, Sr. 

William Barron Charles Rice Total 42 

Province of 



Cheshire S. S., Surry, May 31st A. D. 1776. 
New Hampshire J 

In compliance with the within Requiest we have offered the same to 
Every person Required and no one has Refused to sign it. 

Obadiah Wilcox ^ 

Thomas Harvey [. SelecUnen. 

Thomas Darte I 

It is local history that thirteen influential men in Keene at that time were 
"Tories," and strongly opposed to any resistance to England's rule, and these 
men had great influence in that, and surrounding towns. According to the 
returns, 8,199 persons in the colony of New Hampshire signed this "Test," 
while only 773 persons refused to sign. 

The following was taken from Surry town records : 
Jan. 31, 1777. "Voted to Raise the Sum of teen pounds to purchase a Town 

Stock of Powder." 
Feb. 10. Voted that "the committee of Safety Stand till our next March 

meeting." Also voted that no person or persons complained of "as 

Being Enemical to the Cuntry" shall be convicted until a hearing can 

be held. 
March 19. Voted to raise 154 pounds to hire five men to go into the Con- 

cinental Army for three years. Also that each man shall be allowed 

ten pounds for a years service in the war, and so in porportion for a 

shorter or longer period. 
March 25. The following were chosen a "Committee of Safety": — Joshua 

Darte, Woolston Brockway, Thomas Darte, Moses Dickinson Field and 

Jonathan Smith, Jr. 
March 31. Voted that the town pay 24 pounds bounty in addition to that 

paid by the State for each man who has or may enlist in the service 

for three years; also chose, Woolston Brockway, Jonathan Smith, Sr., 

Peter Hayward, Thomas Darte and Joshua Fuller, Sr. to assist the 

Oflficers in raising men to go into the service. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 89 

June 16. Voted to choose five men according to law to state things as they 
are, — viz., Woolston Brockway, Peter Hayward, Joshua Fuller, Sr., 
Abel Allen and William Barron; also voted that Samuel Fuller shall 
be allowed as the rest wei'e if he serves a man out of Siirry. 

March 31, 1778. Voted that the Selectmen be the Committee of Safety for 
the year insuing. 

July 5, 1779. Voted that John McCurdy go and hire two men for the Con- 
tinental Service. 

June 26, 1780. Voted "fhat Each man that has Don a turn in the Service be 
alowed at the Rate of teen pounds a year, Equal to wheat at five Shil- 
lings pr Bushell or other Grain of its equal," 

July 10. Voted not to allow men who have served in the war before coming 
to town any pay. 

Aug. 31. Voted to allow the militia as well as the Continental soldiers for 
services at Bennington, for the present year A d 1780: 

*Moses D. Field £2-05-0 Benjamin Carpenter, Sr. £2-10-0 

Eliphalet Darte 2-05-0 Thomas Smith 2-10-0 

John McCurdy 2-05-0 Samuel Smith 2-10-0 

William Hayward 2-05-0 Asa Wilcox, Sr. 2-10-0 

Jonathan Smith, Jr. 2-05-0 Justus Darte 2-10-0 

Feb. 5, 1781. Chose Capt. Thomas Harvey, Jonathan Smith, Jr., and Ensign 
Hiram Chapin to be a committee to hire three men to serve three years 
or during the war, in the Continental army. 

June 11. Voted to give the five men we have to furnish as our cota for the 
defence of the Northern frontier one pound pr month, equal to silver, 
to be paid by the town, and Capt. Thomas Harvey, Dea. Lemuel 
Holmes and Jonathan Smith, Jr. were chosen a committee to procure 
the five men; also voted to give Stephen Carpenter his rate of £14-05-0 
§and to give or discharge Job Gleason for 100 pounds. 

July 23. Voted to hire three men to go to guard the Frontier and serve until 
Dec. 15th next. 

May 29, 1782. Voted to raise three soldiers for the Continental army, and to 
give theiii: 

For one years service, 20 one year old heifers. 
For two years service, 20 two year old heifers. 
For three years service, 20 three year old heifers. 
Also chose Capt. Jonathan Smith, Lieut. John McCurdy and Lieut. 
Moses Dickinson Field as a committee to hire Sd soldiers. 

July 4. Voted that Ichabod Smith have £30 for the higher of Darius Smeed, 
and to be excused from paying anything towards hiring soldiers for 
this year. 
** The two following undated accounts have been found among the loose pa- 
pers in the town and as they appear of interest, a copy follows : 



*This list of men who served at Bennington is not found in N. H. State Papers. 
§This sum was doubtless for service in the war. 
''*Miss Minnie Harvey of Surry has in her hands the above papers. 



90 



History of Surry 



a Return of Bounties paid to Soldiers at the Cambridge Alarm 

in the Year 1775 for Seven men £ 70 

for the year Service in 1775 

for the year Service in 1776 

for the year 1777 for three men to serve three years 172 
and two men to Bennington 

The above was paid in Lawful Silver money 
For the year 1778 — paid in paper money .... 
for the year 1779 — paid in paper money .... 

for the year 1780 — paid in paper 

for the year 1781, for four men, paid in hard money 

6 men going to Royalston (Vt.) 124 

The State of New Hampshire Dr 

to sundries 



70 








76 








6 


12 


. 


172 





. 


41 


10 





252 





: 


40 





: 


720 





: 


276 


14 


: 


124 


02 


: 



to John McCurdy Seven pounds paid to ... in 1776. 

to Simon Baxter £60 paid to Walton in 1777. 

to John McCurdy £1-10 paid to dellance 1777. 

to Joshua Fuller acct £6-00 Losses at Bennington. 

to John McCurdy £12-00 S. Fuller 1777. 

to Eliphalet Darte £1-10 paid to S. Hayward 1777. 

to John Marvin £1-00 J. Carpenter 1782. 

to Eliphalet Darte £4-0-0 Asa Willcox 1777. 

to Nathan Carpenter £6-0-0 Nathan Hayward 1777. 

to Jona Smith £2-14-4 Jona Carpenter 1777. 

Abijah Benton's accompt against the State for loses Sustained in the 
Retreat from Quebec to Crown point is £5-10-0 

To Jonathan Smith £2. 

Attested by Capt. Harvey. 

To the amt of . . Rob (Role) in favor of the town of Surry com- 
manded Capt. Page— Or To Capt. Smith 1800 dollars in 1780— 

paid Samuel Willard. 

to the amt of . . Role on Royalston (Vt.) expedition in 1780, for 

sixteen men and horses and their expense £5-02-6. 

Probably seven Surry men served at the Cambridge Alarm, some of whom 
were in the battle of Bunker Hill. They were in Capt. Jeremiah Stiles' com- 
pany of Keene and in Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's regiment, Aug. 1st. 1775. 
The names of six of those men are given in Keene History, viz: — Elijah 
Benton, Thomas Dart and his brother Roger Dart, Joshua Fuller, Nathan 
Hayward and Charles Rice who was wounded in that battle. Jonathan Smith, 
Jr. who enl. May 12, 1775; dis. Oct. 16, 1775, in Capt. Nathan Folsom's com- 
pany. Col. Joseph Blanchard's regiment was probably the other Surry man. 

In September, 1776, the New Hampshire Assembly passed the "Military 
act" which provided for the organization of all male persons, (with certain 
exceptions), into "Training Bands" and an "Alarm List." The former com- 
prised able bodied male persons from 16 to 50 years of age, and the latter all 
males from 16 to 65 years of age, not included in the Training Band. When- 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 91 

ever there was occasion, an alarm was given by firing three guns in succes- 
sion; by beating drums, or by beacons. 

As soon as the weather conditions were favorable in the spring of 1777 the 
British army made preparation to march south toward Ticonderoga. About 
the first of May express riders came into New Hampshire giving information 
of this movement; the state Committee of Safety immediately sent orders to 
the colonels of the militia in Cheshire county to raise as many men from the 
"Militia as possible and march them to Ticonderoga" which was in great dan- 
ger. Capt. Davis Howlett of Keene, with Elisha Mack of Gilsum as first lieu- 
tenant, was in command of the first company in Col. Samuel Ashley's regi- 
ment. The fifty men which formed this company were called together, en- 
listed and marched May 7th. This proved to be a false alarm and the soldiers 
returned home in about 40 days without an opportunity to engage in battle 
with the enemy. 

The following Surry men were in this company, possibly there were others: 
Jonathan Carpenter, Joshua Darte, Josiah Darte, Obadiah Wilcox, Jr., and 
Jesse Darte went as fifer. 

The troops who returned from Ticonderoga had scarcely been discharged, 
when express riders again came with tidings of the actual approach of Bur- 
goyne's army. The New Hampshire militia and all available men were has- 
tily called out to again march to reinforce the Continental army at Ticon- 
deroga. * 

Elisha Mack of Gilsum was appointed captain of a company that was 
raised out of Col. Samuel Ashley's regiment, with Ebenezer Kilburn as first 
lieutenant. This company was composed almost wholly of men from Surry 
and Gilsum, and marched June 28, 1777. 

** They marched to Black River (in Vt.), 50 miles when they were met by 
an express rider with the information that this alarm also was false and the 
company returned home and were discharged July 3d after a march of 100 
miles. The next day an express rider came with orders to march "with all 
speed for Ticonderoga." Capt. Mack immediately started with some new men 
and many of those who had been discharged the previous day. This time they 
went as far as §Col. James Mead's on Otter creek when they met the Contin- 
ental army on the retreat, it having evacuated Ticonderoga, whereupon Capt. 
Mack and his company returned, arriving home July 10th, after a march of 
150 miles. 

The following "pay roll" of Capt. Mack's company is taken from New 
Hampshire State Papers, with additional "remarks" by the writer: 
(Capt. Elisha Mack's Co.) 
Pay roll of Capt. Elisha Mack's Company raised out of Col. (Samuel) 
Ashley's regiment of militia June 1777 for reinforcing the Contin- 
ental army at Ticonderoga; marched to Black river 50 miles where we 
were ordered to return home where we arrived July 3rd. On the 4th we 
were ordered again for Ticonderoga and marched as far as Col. Mead's 
at Otter creek at which place we met part of the army on their retreat, 
on which we returned home where we arrived the 10th. 



*Ticoncleroga is usually written, "Ti", or "Old Ti". 

**They marched via. Oharlestown and the famous "Crown Point" route. This trip 
probably terminated within the present township of Cavendish. 

§Col.' James Mead resided near Center Rutland, Vt., and on Otter creek. 



92 History of Surry 













































C 












































>» 

•,-i 














"^ 

c 












































Ph 














3 




















1-1 


1—1 
<1 


05 
CO 

c- 

1-1 

-u 

p 
o 


c 

> 

m 


o 

C 
►-3 




05 
o 

=♦-1 

o 










C5 

CO 
1—1 

i-T 


c 
c 

o 

.S 


5 


o 

1-H 

=3 

o 


T-H 

1-H 

o 


iH 

-l-a 
O 
O 


1-1 
oo" 


1-H 

in 

u 

a 


»-3 

o 
u 


-^ 
in 

i-H 

o 

CO 

a) 


00 

a 
m 


o 
CO 

1-H 

oo" 

<M 

o 
O 


in 

i-H 

co" 
o 

Q 


-a 

-(J 

3 


m 

1-H 


in in 

1-1 1-1 
CO in 

iH iH 
CO o 

§15 






C 


c 


c 




c 




,-- 








C 


fi 




C 


C 


c 


C 


c 




C 


c 


C 


fi 


C 


fl 


C C 






?-* 






ih 


?-< 




c 


tj; 






cc 


?H 


;h 


m 










;h 


r-« 










^ 


U 


?H S-4 






o 


o 


o 


0) 


o 




o 








q; 


o 


o 


q; 


o 


O 


o 


O 


o 


^ 


o 


c 


o 


c 


o 


o 


o o 






m 


pq 


m 


« 


PQ 




M 


Q 






« 


pq 


m 


p:5 


m 


pq 


pq 


pq 


pq 


PQ 


pq 


pq 


pq 


pq 


PQ 


pq pq 


OT 


ij 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


O 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o o 


H 


w 


lO 


o 


lO 


lO 


LO 


lo 


lO 


lO 


o 


lO 


in 


lO 


IC 


in 


o 


\a 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


lO 


lO 


in 


in 


in 


in in 


iJ 


> 


c^ 


1— 1 


(M 


OJ 


CM 


(M 


c^ 


(M 


1—1 


(M 


(M 


<M 


(M 


(M 


1—1 


(M 


1-H 


tH 


1— H 


1-H 


1-H 


(M 


c^ 


(M 


(M 


(M 


<M (N 


i 


< 

OS 
























































Q 


H 


o 


CO 


o 


o 


o 


O 


o 


O 


CO 


O 


O 


o 


o 


O 


CO 


O 


CO 


^ 


:; 


:; 


J 


o 


:; 


;; 


J 


J 


- J. 






tH 




^H 


I-l 


T— 1 


T-^ 


1-H 


T-l 




i-H 


1—1 


1-H 


1-H 


1-1 




1-H 












iH 












w 


c- 
























































o 


t- 


>> 






















































w 


c- 


f— t 
























































tH 


s 


j;; 


^ 


^ 


^ 


^ 


J; 


^ 


^ 


^ 


j^ 


•^ 


•^ 


•* 


^ 


-^ 


J; 


•^ 


•^ 


•* 


»• 


•* 


^ 


J; 


•^ 


•^ 


•^ *« 


P 




•-S 






















































OS 




00 


:; 


- 


:: 


= 


- 


- 


:: 


:: 


:: 


= 


S 


:; 


- 


- 


:; 


= 


- 


- 


:: 


I 


:; 


:: 


:: 


:; 


:: 


:; 5 


;z; 


tH 


C 






















































w 




►-3 






C 






















O) 


























< 




a 
O 


-1-5 

'►3 


s 

13 




-1-3 

u 
m 


:; 


- 


" 


o 
O 


:; 


= 


:: 


S 
g 


u 


> 
"u 


:; 


= 


E 


:; 


= 


= 


= 


" 


" 


- 


- 


:; R 



i-s 



r>^ 



Q 
< 

"^ < 
O W 



9 ^S"^ hn'-'OoiPH.!-: H i-i^Jrr''^OPHrjO^<r^HH ^ 

HW4_Hc/2^wQO^=jOW«^^HH;,H;H5HwHpqpq:2;^i=jW<J 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 93 



,i4 

d S f^' S S3 S S 2 ^ d . . S fn' 



C o ^S C -^^ "^ ^ 






oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 
lo Lo lo Lo lo LoioooooooooLreiomiooLoiominicioioioioio 

C<lCv)C<10QC<lC<IOj7Hl—li-HT-lTHT-HrH.—IC^C<lC<IC<l:—li— It-It— Ii—Ii-Hi—ItHi—Ii—IiH 



- :; ci o 



^ ^ ^ ^ o -^ -^ 2 ^. < ^ -^ E'^ ^>hP^^^:c^- = 



94 History of Surry 

The total 58 men received for services, £217 : 03 : 03. 

The ninth company, under Col. Moses Nichols of Amherst marched from 
New Hampshire July 22, 1777 and joined the Continental army at Saratoga. 
This company was in the battle of Bennington, Aug. 16th, and three of its 
members were killed, one of whom was Joshua Fuller, Jr. of Surry. Surry 
men in that company were: 

Moses D. Field, 2nd Lieut. Job Gleason, Private. 

Samuel Fuller, Sergt. Samuel Hall, Private. 

Asa Wilcox, Sr., Corpl. John Redding, Private. 

Nathan Hayward, Corpl. Jonathan Smith, Jr., Private. 

Joshua Fuller, Jr., Private. 
This company was discharged Sept. 22, and was paid for two months 
and two days' services. It is said that during the battle of Bennington Sam- 
uel Fuller got out of powder and was in search of more, when he discovered 
his father's powder horn and found it to be on the lifeless body of his brother 
Joshua, Jr. So far as known, he was the only Surry man to fall in battle 
during the Revolutionary war. He was 22 years of age. 

It is a well authenticated tradition that the boom of the cannon at the bat- 
tle of Bennington was distinctly heard by men in Surry who were at work 
reaping rye on the "Hartwell lot," so called, only a few rods from the south- 
east corner of Walpole. 

Tradition says that 3000 Revolutionary soldiers marched from Surry val- 
ley up the Joslin road on their way to the battle and when they came to the 
John Merriam farm in the edge of Walpole they drank his well dry.* 

The following alphabetical list has been compiled of soldiers who lived in 
Surry, prior to, during, or after the Revolutionary war, together with a few 
men living elsewhere, but whose services were credited to this town. The 
facts are given as complete as possible, yet no pretense is made that this is 
the entire list, or that errors do not appear: 

ADAMS. Thomas was b. about 1750; d. 1826 in Surry; must'd in Sept. 21, 
1776 in Capt. Abijah Smith's Co. was taken out of Col. Enoch Hale's Reg. and 
put into Col. Nahum Baldwin's Reg. He was at the battle of White Plains 
Oct. 28, 1776 and was dismissed early in Dec. on that year; also enl. as a 
private Dec. 5, 1776 in Capt. Francis Town's Co. Col. David Oilman's Reg. 
and served 3 mos. and 8 days. Enl. for 3 years, or during the war in Capt. 
Daniel Livermore's Co. Col. Alexander Scammon's Reg., Apr. 9, 1777, and 
deserted Apr. 10, 1777. Possibly he was the "Sargt." of Charlestown, N. H. 
who was in the service in Massachusetts. 

-|- ADAMS. Peter a negro, was credited to Surry, though it is not known 
he ever lived in town. He was 5 feet 10 inches tall; enl. June 11, 1778 in Col. 
Benj. Bellows' Reg. and went to R. I. and returned in one month; enl. again 
July 17, 1778 in Capt. Peter Drown's Co. Col. Stephen Peabody's Reg. and 
dis. Dec. 30, 1778. He and John Still (q v) served in same Co. at R. I. 

-I- ALLEN. Abel, Jr. b. 1756; d. 1839; enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 
1777; a private in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. which marched for "Ti." (q v). 



*George Akirich speaks of this incident on page 331 in his history of Walpole. 
NOTE: The plus sign (-|-) indicates the soldier served from Surry.. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 95 

It is claimed he went to the battle of Bennington with his ox team and car- 
ried provisions for the soldiers. He was on the pension roll in 1829 and 
received a pension for services as a private in a N. H. Reg. during the Rev. 
war. 

ALLEN. Phinehas, b. 1758; d. 1815 in Surry; served as a private in a 
Conn. Co. 

-|- BARRON. William, Sr., (this name is frequently written, "Barnes"); 
he came to Surry several years before the War; d. 1797. No record of the 
service of William Barron, Sr. has been found among the State Papers, yet 
it is a well established family tradition that he not only was in the service but 
his patriotism was above most others of the time; that upon hearing the news 
of the battle at Concord he immediately prepared for the conflict and marched 
with the Keene company "on that Friday morning, the 21st of April, 1775" 
under the command of Capt. Isaac W^man. Gen. Griffin in his History of 
Keene (page 174) states there were four men in that company "still to be 
accounted for." Charles Rice who was living a third of a mile beyond Mr, 
Barron's house is known to have been in the company, and there seems no 
reasonable doubt but one of those four unknown men of whom Gen. Griffin 
mentions was William Barron, Sr. of Surry. He was, however, a private in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's company which marched for old "Ti," in 1777; enl. June 
28, dnd dis. July 10th. 

-|- BARRON. William, Jr., b. 1765 in Surry; d. 1851 in Leominster, 
Mass. His service has not been discovered in the rolls. There is, however, 
no doubt but that he served in the Rev. war. He was on the pension roll in 
1833, and again in 1840 at which time he was living in Gilsum. It is said he 
enl'd. for 6 months when but 16 years of age, in Capt. Peter Page's Co., Col. 
Walbridge's Reg. 

BAXTER. Simon, Jr., b. 1753; d. 1817; enl. from Alstead in Capt. Samuel 
Wetherbee's Co. Col. Isaac Wyman's Reg. to join the Northern army in Can- 
ada. Mustered in July 16, 1776; dis. Aug. 20, 1776. He was allowed £2:05:0 
for going to Cambridge, prior to 1782. He rem. to Surry a few years after 
the close of the war, where he spent the remainder of his life. Probably for 
service in the militia he was known as "Capt. Baxter." 

-I- BENTON. Abijah; b. 1752; d. 1823, Surry. He was a drummer in 
the service in Oct. 1775; also in Capt. Jason Wait's Co., Timothy Bedel's Reg. 
in Feb. 1776, which Reg. contained 8 companies and was ordered to join the 
Northern army for Canada. His Co. was mustered in Jan. 1776 and he was 
made drummer. In Feb. he rec'd. £4:19:0 for services. His name appears 
on the pension roll in 1818 as a private who served in a N. H. Reg. in the 
Contl. army. A grand-daughter, Louisa (Benton) Norton, says he served 
seven years and was at the battle of Bennington, and was drum major at 
Yorktown and Williamsburg when Lord Cornwall surrendered to Gen. Wash- 
ington. John Langdon Britton, a grandson, was drum major on the same 
battlefield, Williamsburg, during the Civil war. It is possible he is the man 
mentioned on the pension roll in 1818 as res. in Strafford Co. 

John Langdon Britton, a grand-son of Benton, was drum major at Wil- 
liamsburg during the Civil war. 



96 History of Surry 

BENTON. Adoniram; b. 1763; d. 1842 in Surry; enl. in a Conn. Co. and 
res. 1818 in Cheshire Co. and rec'd a pension for services, as a private. 

-|- BENTON. Elijah, b. 1760; d. 1841.=^= Enl. July 14, 1775 as pri. in 
Capt. Jeremiah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. On the same day 
he enl., four other Surry men also entered the service — Nathan Hayward, 
Thomas Dart, Roger Dart and Joshua Fuller.* It is said he served four years 
in the Rev. war. 

BLAKE. Obadiah, Jr., b. 1753; was of Keene, but came to Surry as early 
as 1781 at which time he was chosen one of the "Listers." He was Corpl. in 
Capt. Davis Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched from 
N. H. May 7, 1777; dis. June 17, 1777 and served 1 mo. 11 days. 

BLISS. Abner, b. 1752 in Tolland, Conn.; lived in Gilsum, Surry and d. 
in Alstead 1812; was a physician. He enl. as a private June 28, 1777; dis. 
July 10, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. which marched to the relief of Ti. 

- - BONNE Y. Jacob, was of Charlestown, N. H. but enl. from Surry Apr. 
19, 1777, age 38, in Capt. Isaac Farwell's Co.; CoL Joseph Cilley's Reg. and 
John Stark's Brigade. His enl. also given as May 20, 1777. He was dis. 
July 17, 1778 and died the same month. His name is also found in the 1st 
N. H. Regt. with that of Joshua Church, Anthony Oilman and Samuel Lus- 
:omb of Surry. 

BROCKWAY. William; this man is doubtless William Wolston Brock- 
way, son of Wolston Brockway of Surry, and the same man who signed the 
Association Test in Westmoreland 1776, and from which town he entered the 
war. Enl. Oct. 21, 1776; dis. Nov. 16, 1776 in Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. 

BUNDY. Elias, b. 1754; d. . He enl. from Walpole June 28, 1777; dis. 

July 9, 1777; was in Co., which his bro. Isaac was Sergt. ; Col. Benjamin Bel- 
lows Regt. which marched to the relief of Ti. He res. in Walpole till 1790 or 
later and in 1806 was living in Surry. 

-j- CAREY. Arthur, of Keene served from Surry; enl. Dec. 5, 1776; 
served three mos. and 8 days in Capt. Francis Town's Co., David Oilman's 
Reg. Was at the battle of Trenton Dec. 26, and at Princeton Jan. 3, 1777. 
Enl. again June 15, 1778 in Capt. Simon Marston's Co. Col. Stephen Pea- 
body's Reg., but was reported, "sick and did not join." Later he joined an- 
other Co. in the same Reg., July 7, 1778 and went to Providence for the de- 
fence of Rhode Island, and was under the command of Gen. Sullivan; dis. 
Dec. 30, 1778. He re-enl. July 1779 in Col. Mooney's Reg. for the defen. of 
R. I.; credited to Surry; though probably never lived in town. 

-j- CARPENTER. Benjamin, Sr., b. 1729; d. Landgrove, Vt., June 1820. 
He lived in Surry many years and enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which went to the relief 
of old Ti. Served from Surry. 

-!- CARPENTER. Benjamin, Jr., b. 1760; d. 1838 in Surry. His service 
was from Surry and same as that of his father, q v. He enl. again 1780; age 
20; was mustered in by Maj. William Scott; dis. Dec. 17, 1780; served 5 mo. 
29 d. 



*It is iiii|i()ssil)Ie for the writer to state if Elijah Benton, Thomas Dart and Joshua 
Fuller, were the senior or junior, as both father and son of the same name were living 
in town at tht- time, and were of war age. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 97 

CARPENTEH. David, b. 1759; d. 1845 in Keene; when about 16 he vol. 
and joined the Cont. army and was at the surrender of Burgoyne and several 
battles, and one of the guards at the execution of Major Andre. He lived at 
Landgrove, Vt. for 18 years; res. in Surry 1823 and rem. to Keene where he 
died. (See Carpenter Memorial and History of Keene.) 

-j- CARPENTER. Jonathan; he d. in Surry June 14, 1832; possibly he 
was the Jonathan b. in Ashford, Conn. Apr. 11, 1752 — Carpenter Mem. q v. 
He enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777, was in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co.; Col. 
Samuel Ashley's Reg. which went to relief of old Ti. He was also a private 
from May 7, 1777 until June 23, 1777 in Capt. Davis Howlet's Co., which 
marched from Keene on May 7th, in which Co. was Obadiah Wilcox, Josiah 
Dart and Nathan Hayward, also of Surry. He re-enl. July 26, 1782 as Sergt.; 
dis. Oct. 15, 1782, in a Co. in command of Capt. Jonathan Smith, Jr. of Surry. 

CARPENTER. Nathan, b. about 1750; res. Surry 1776 till 1789 when he 
rem. to Keene and probably then to Jay, N. Y. Enl. July 3, 1780 from Wal- 
pole; dis. Dec. 4, 1780; in the Continental army. He was on the pay roll of 
Capt. William Humphrey's Co. in Northern army — no date given. 

-|- ? CARPENTER. Stephen, son of Benjamin Sr. lived in Westmoreland 
and Surry. June 11, 1781 the town voted to "give Stephen Carpenter his 
rate of £14:05:0." For what this payment was made is not known, but there 
is reason to suspect that it was for some service in the Revolutionary war. 

CONANT. Roger, was of Surry and also of Westmoreland in which town 
he was living 1776 and signed the Association Test. He is probably the Roger 
Conant, b. June 22, 1748 in Bridgewater, Mass. and d. in Westmoreland in 
1821 — Conant Genealogy, q v. Enl. from Westmoreland, May 7, 1777 in Capt. 
Waitstill Scott's Co.; Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which was sent to Ti., and 
was appointed corporal in that Co. This proved to be a false alarm, and the 
Co. soon returned home and were dis. June 21, 1777. 

-|- CHAPIN. Hiram, b. 1747; d. 1783 in Surry. Enl. Oct. 21, 1776; dis. 
Nov. 16, 1776; was an ensign in Capt. Reuben Alexander's Co., Col. Samuel 
Ashley's Reg.; which marched to reinforce the Contl. army at Ti. 

-|- CHAPIN. Justus, b. 1753; d. 1825. Enl. Sept. 22, 1776; dis. early in 
Dec. of that year; was in Capt. John Houghton's Co., Col. Nahum Baldwin's 
Reg.; was in the battle of White Plains, Oct. 28, 1776. 

-|- CHURCH. Joshua, he was of Surry and enl. March 18, 1777; 1st. N. 
H. Reg.; age 33; was in Capt. Jonas Wait's Co., Col. Timothy Bedell's Reg.; 
also in Capt. Nathan Hutchins' Co., Col. Joseph Cilley's Reg. and was at Ti. 
His name also appears as enl. from Chester, N. Y., June 21, 1777. Date of his 
dis. Apr. 30, 1780. 

-|- CRANE (CRAIN). Abiah, b. 1751; d. 1805 in Surry; was in Capt. 
John Houghton's Co., Col. Baldwin's Reg., Sept. 22, 1776; also Corpl. May 7^ 
1777; dis. June 16, 1777 in Capt. Davis Howlet's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg., which marched to reinf. the Contl. army at Ti. He is also called "Capt."' 
in this Co. His name is written, "Abia," "Abiel" and "Abiah." 

-I- DART (DARTE). Eliphalet, b. 1741; d. 1821 in Surry. His name 
appears in a list with others to whom the town voted Aug. 31, 1780 to pay 
£2:05:0 "for services at Bennington." No other record of his service in the 



98 History of Surry 

Rev. war has been found, and from the foregoing there is no reason to doubt 
that he was in the war at Bennington for a short time from Surry. 

-|- ? DART (DARTE). Jesse, b. 1758; d. 1829 in Gilsum. Although it 
is not positively known, yet there is reason to think Jesse lived in Surry prior 
to his settling in Gilsum in 1780. He enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777; 
in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which was sent for 
the relief of old Ti., but saw no actual service, except 150 miles of travel. He 
also was a fifer in Capt. Davis Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. and 
served from May 7, 1777, and for about 40 days, thereafter; dis. June 16. 

-1- DART (DARTE). Joshua, Sr., b. 1727; d. possibly in Weathersfield, 
Vt. where he was living in 1790. He enl. May 7, 1777; dis. in June after a 
service of about 40 days; in Capt. Davis Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg. 

-|- DART (DARTE). Josiah, b. 1759; d. possibly in Weathersfield, Vt., 
where he was living in 1790. He enl. May 7, 1777 in Capt. Davis Howlett's 
Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg.; served about 40 days. Re-enl. July 4, 1777; 
dis. July 10, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. 

-j- DART (DARTE). Justus, b. 1757; went, possibly to Weathersfield. 
He was a fifer, enl. July 14, 1776 in Capt. Samuel Wetherbee's Co., Col. Isaac 
Wyman's Reg.; was at Haverhill on the Conn, river (in N. H.) ; was also at 
Mount Independence Nov. 5, 1776 in the same Co.; enl. again June 28, 1777; 
dis. July 3, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. raised out of Col. Samuel Ash- 
ley's Reg. to reinforce the Contl army at old Ti. By a vote of the town, Aug. 
31, 1780, he was paid £2:10:0, for services at Bennington. 

-|- DART (DARTE). Nathaniel, b. 1738; when and where he d. has not 
been ascertained, but his family are buried in Surry. Enl. Oct. 21, 1776; dis. 
Nov. 16, 1776; in Reuben Alexander's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched to re-inf. the Contl army at Ti. 

-|- DART. Roger, b. 1756; rem. about 1785 to Gilsum where he was in 
1790. He enl. with his bro. Thomas Jr., July 14, 1775; in Capt. Jeremiah 
Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. and served in Mass.; re-enl. Oct. 
6, 1775 in the same Co. and Reg. He enl. again as drummer June 28, 1777; 
dis. July 10, 1777 in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched to the relief of Ti. His name is also in the Mass. rolls. 

-|- DART. Thomas, Sr. b. 1724; d. 1792 prob. in Gilsum. Enl. June 28, 
1777; dis. July 3, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. 
which was sent to Ti. He served on the "Committee of Safety" in Surry in 
1777. 

-|- DART. Thomas, Jr. b. 1754; rem. to Gilsum about 1786; thence to 
New Keene, N. Y., where he may have died. Enl. with his bro. Roger July 
14, 1775; in Jeremiah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. He is said 
to have been in the battle of Bunker Hill. Re-enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 
3, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched 
to Ti. The name of Thomas Dart of Surry appears as a private in the Mass. 
rolls and is probably this man. 

-I- DART. Thomas, 3rd., from whence he came and whither he went has 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 99 

not been learned. He enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in Capt. Elisha 
Mack's Co., raised out of Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. and served in same Co. 
with Thomas Sr. and Thomas Jr. Served, probably from Surry. 

DASSANCE. Martin, was a bro. of Jesse; both were in Keene in 1779, 
and in 1784 both were of Surry. Martin lived here till 1788, and may have 
rem. to Shrewsbury, Vt., where a "Martin Deasanee" is found in 1790. Mar- 
tin enl. in Capt. Davis- Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched May 7, 1777 for the relief of Ti.; dis. June 24, 1777; serv. 1 mo., 18 
days. 

DASSANCE, Jesse, b. 1747; d. 1796 in Surry. He enl. from Keene Apr. 
21, 1775 in Capt. Jeremiah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. and 
was one of 30 men in that Co. who marched "on that Friday morning," only 
two days after the opening of the war. He enl. again in Capt. Davis How- 
lett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched from Keene May 7, 1777 
for the relief of Ti. He rem. to Surry after the war and was taxed there in 
1788. 

-1- DELLANCE (DELELANCE). Delevan (Delavarne), b. Champlain, 
N. Y. prob.; d. in Essex, N. Y. Enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777; was 
sergt. in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched 
for the relief of old Ti.; res. in Surry 1771-1795, or later. 

-j- DODGE. Thomas; he lived in Acworth after the war and rem. thence 
to Dorset, Vt. ; served from Surry, but so far as known never lived in the 
town. Entered the service in Apr. 1777 and enl. May 14, 1777, at 15 years 
of age for three years; in Capt. Isaac Farwell's Co., Col. John Stark's Brig- 
ade and was with the Reg. at Valley Forge. He was a fifer. Oct. 24, 1783, 
Thomas Dodge of Charlestown applied to the state for the town of Surry to 
refund him certain "Bounty Money" for three years' service — 1777 to 1780. 

DURANT. Joshua — of Huguenot descent — lived in Surry for a short time, 
after the war. Enl. Apr. 21, 1775 at the Lexington alarm in Capt. Joseph 
Whitcomb's Co. of Swanzey, for eight months; re-enl. and served for one year; 
enl. again -from Keene July 22, 1777 in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., and was in 
the battle of Bennington; joined Capt. Nehemiah Houghton's Co., Col. Nichols 
Reg, June 29, 1780 as ensign. Served at West Point under Gen. Arnold; was 
dis, Oct. 21, 1780; was afterwards captain of the militia. 

-I- FIELD. Moses D., b. 1742; d. 1828 in Surry. He was on the "Com- 
mittee of Safety" in Surry in 1777; enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 9, 1777 in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. for the alarm at Ti. ; 
enl. again July 22, 1777 in the Ninth Co., as 2nd Lieut, under Col. Moses 
Nichols of Amherst and which joined the Contl. army at Saratoga. This Co. 
was in the battle of Bennington, Aug. 16, 1777; dis. Sept. 27, 1777. During 
this service he was in Gen. John Stark's Brigade. Aug. 31, 1780 the town 
voted to pay Moses D. Field £2:05:0, "for services at Bennington." His name 
is in a list of officers in Col. Moses Nichols Reg. Gen. John Stark's Brigade as 
a lieutenant — July 18, 1777 to Sept. 27, 1777. 

FIELD. Thomas, served from Keene; later lived in Surry, then ret. to 
Keene again. It is probable he is the "Thomas Field formerly of Keene" who 
d. at Whitesboro, N. Y., Feb. 7, 1836; aged 86 years. He was in Capt. Isaac 



100 History of Surry 

Davis' Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched from Keene in Oct. 

1776 to reinforce Gen. Gates, and ret. home early in Nov. 

-|- FITZGERALD, Michael, enl. from Nottingham; mustered in for three 
years, or during the w^ar, Apr. 3, 1777 in Col. John Maclary's Reg.; re-enl. 
July 6, 1779 for one year from Pelham. He enl. again March 8, 1780 in 2nd 
N. H. Reg. for "during the war" and was credited to Thomas Smith of Surry. 
He deserted the same year. Never lived in town. 

- - FOSTER. Joseph, of Surry, enl. July 10, 1780; dis. Dec. 17, 1780; 
service, 6 mos.; he was with Benjamin Carpenter, Sr. q v. Was drafted in 
July 1782 for six months' service. It is possible he may be the Joseph Fos- 
ter, a Rev. soldier, mentioned in "History of Marlboro" and "History of Sul- 
livan," N. H. 

§ FOWLER. Joshua Cheever, b. 1757; d. 1813 in Springfield, Vt.; enl. 
from Lunenburg, Mass., and came to Surry about 1780 or '81, and where he 
lived for 25 years, or so thereafter. He enl. Apr. 25, 1775 as a private in 
Capt. John Fuller's Co., Col. Asa Whitcomb's Reg.; was on the roll Aug. 1775; 
also for Co. receipts for wages, Aug. and Sept. 1775, dated at Prospect Hill. 
He also was a private in Capt. Joseph Bellows' Co., served nine days under 
Major Bridge with the Northern army, which company marched Aug. 22, 

1777 on the alarm at Bennington at the urgent request of Gen. John Stark 
and Col. Warner; re-enl. in Capt. Nathaniel Carter's Co., Col. Job Cushing's 
Worcester Co. Reg., enl. Sept. 17, 1777; dis. Oct. 23, 1777; served one mo. 15 
days at the Northward, including time to walk home. Roll dated at Leomin- 
ster, Mass. It is said he was around Boston, when the Contl. army was under 
the command of Gen. Washington, and at Saratoga when Gen. Burgoyne 
surrendered, 1777. 

FULLER. David, b. 1760; d. possibly in Keene, N. Y. where he was liv- 
ing in 1841 (Gilsum History states he d. in Jay, N. Y.) David Fuller enl. 
from Hanover, N. H. July 8, 1780; dis. Oct. following — thus far, we have been 
unable to verify and connect this Hanover David Fuller, positively, with our 
David Fuller of Surry, who was at the time 20 years of age. A more dili- 
gent search may reveal the identity of the Hanover soldier, who served in 
Capt. Nehemiah Houghton's Co., Col. Nichols' Reg. and was at West Point 
Aug. 4, 1780. Our David Fuller lived in Surry; rem. to Gilsum where he was 
captain of the militia, and from there to New York state. 

-|- FULLER. Joshua, Sr., b. 1727; d. 1816 in Surry. In 1777 by a vote 
of the town, he with others was chosen a committee, "according to law, to 
state things as they were." Enl. as a private, June 28, 1777; dis. July 3, 
1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., raised out of Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. 
Four of his sons were in the service. 

-|- FULLER. Joshua, Jr., b. 1755; killed in battle of Bennington, Aug. 
16, 1777. He enl. as a private, July 14, 1775 in Capt. Jereiniah Stile's Co. 
Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg., and served in Mass.; re-enl. Oct. 21, 1776; 
dis. Nov. 16, 1776 and was in Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. He enl. again in 
July 1777 in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. which marched to join the Continental 

§Mr. Fowler was called, .Joshua, .Toshua Cheever, J. Cheever, and Cheever. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 101 

army at Saratoga, and whose company was in the battle of Bennington, where 
Joshua was killed. His name also appears as a private in Mass. roll. 

* FULLER. Levi, b. 1762; d. 1822 in Surry. He enl. 1777 from Walpole 
in Capt. John Gregg's Co., Col. Alexander Scammel's Reg. in the Contl. army. 
He served as a private, though possibly as a lieutenant. 

-|- FULLER. Samuel, b. 1752; d. probably in Vt. ; said to have been liv- 
ing in Reading, that state, in 1800. He enl. in Capt. William Humphrey's Co. 
Joshua Wingate'^ Reg., which marched from Cheshire Co. Oct. 1776 to Ti. 
Also said to have been a private in Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. the same year. 
Captain Humphrey was a Winchester man and, although Samuel Fuller was 
a Surry soldier, yet there is reason to think he served as a man from the 
latter town. § Later he was a sergt. in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Moses 
Nichols' Reg. which marched to Saratoga, and was in the battle of Benning- 
ton, Aug. 16, 1777. He also enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in Capt. 
Elisha Mack's Co., which marched to the relief of Ti. 

- - OILMAN. Anthony, was of Charlestown, but credited to Surry. Noth- 
ing is known of his life, except what is here given. He enl. at 29 years of 
age, June 2, 1777 in Capt. Nathaniel Hutchins' Co., Col. Joseph Cilley's Reg.; 
went to Ti. and remained until the approach of Gen. Burgoyne in July 1777; 
was also in Capt. Livermore's Co. in the 1st N. H. Reg. and was taken pris- 
oner. Return, dated Feb. 15, 1781. 

GLEASON. Job, b. 1754; he may have removed to Thomlinson (now Graf- 
ton), Vt., where a man of the same name was living 1790. Enl. July 22, 1777 
in 9th Co. under Capt. Elisha Mack and Col. Moses Nichols which marched 
that day and joined the Contl. army at Saratoga, and was in the battle of 
Bennington, Aug. 16th, and was dis. Sept. 23, 1777. He re-enl. Oct. 21, 1777 
as a private in Capt. Reuben Alexander's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg., 
which marched from Cheshire Co. at the request of Gen. Gates to reinf. the 
Contl. army at Ti. Several other Surry men were in this company. The town 
voted June 11, 1781 to give or dischai'ge Job Gleason for £100. 

HALL. Samuel, b. 1732; d. 1790 in Keene. Lived in Surry 1768-69; was 
one who signed the petition for the incorporation of Surry. He enl. May 15, 
1775 from Rockingham, Vt., in Capt. Jeremiah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley 
Sargent's Reg. and was at the battle of Bunker Hill. He was in the service 
again in 1776 and '77, from Keene. — Keene History. 

HANCOCK. Levi, b. 1761; d. 1836 in Surry. He enl. as a private in a 
Mass. Reg. in Rev. war and received a pension in 1833 for his services. He 
settled in Surry as early as 1790. 

-|- HARVEY. Thomas, b. 1740; d. 1826 in Surry. "He served three years 
in the old French war" — K. S., — before he came to New Hampshire. Enl. as 
a private in 3rd Co. 2nd Conn. Reg. Apr. 1, 1758; dis. Nov. 18, 1758; re-enl. 
Apr. 2, 1759 as a private in Spencer's Co. of the 2nd Conn. Reg.; and mus- 
tered out Nov. 30, 1759. Again enl. Apr. 4, 1760 in 2nd Conn. Reg., with his 
brother John Harvey; dis. Nov. 22, 1760. 



*Levi Fuller was a Surry boy, but served from Walpole. 

§Thi.s belief is tonfirmed in the early part of this chapter, when the town voted — - 

June 16, 1777 — to allow Samuel Fuller the same as others if he serve as a man out of 
Surry. Ze})ulon Streeter was in the same Co. 



102 History of Surry 

Thomas Harvey sett, in Surry 1766. He volunteered and was appointed 
captain of a Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched to the relief of 
Ti.; enl. June 29, 1777; dis. July 11, 1777, being on the staff of Col. Samuel 
Ashley. A prominent and patriotic man of Surry for many years. 

-I- HAYWARD. Nathan, b. 1754; d. 1818. Enl. July 14, 1775 with other 
Surry men in Capt. Jeremiah Stile's Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. 
which marched to the alarm at Cambridge, Mass. His name is given in the 
Mass. roll as a private from Surry. Enl. again Oct. 28, 1776 in Capt. John 
Houghton's Co., Col. Nahum Baldwin's Reg. and was at White Plains. Re- 
enl. May 7, 1777; dis. June 16, 1777 in Capt. Davis Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel 
Ashley's Reg. which marched to reinf the Contl army at Ti. Enl. again June 
28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg. which went to the relief of Ti. On July 22, following he again entered 
the service as corpl. in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Moses Nichol's Reg. 
which marched and joined the Contl army at Saratoga. He was in the battle 
of Bennington, Aug. 16, and was dis. Sept. 23, 1777. He afterwards was ap- 
pointed major in the state militia; a loyal patriot who saw more service than 
any other man in town. 

GILBERT. Ebenezer, b. 1760; d. in Walpole 1829, from which town he 
probably served in the war. He lived in Surry from 1783 until 1796-97. 
Served as a corporal July 14, 1780 until Oct. 21, 1780 in Capt. Nehemiah 
Houghton's Co., Col. Moses Nichols' Reg. raised for West Point; served 3 mo. 
9 days; travel to Springfield 84 miles and 220 miles home. Joshua Durant, 
David Fuller and others were in this Co. 

-|- HAYWARD.* Peter, b. 1725; d. 1791 in Surry. Peter Hawood (Hay- 
ward) was in Capt. Josiah Willard, Jr.'s Co. at Ashuelott (now Keene) in 
the old French and Indian war — Keene History, pages 80-81, and Massachu- 
setts archives. Enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in Capt. Elisha Mack's 
Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. By a vote 
of the town, in 1777 he with others was chosen on a committee to assist in 
raising men to go into the service, etc. It is said that Peter Hayward was at 
Bunker Hill, wearing a leather apron and taking his dog with him. See Gil- 
sum Historji, p. 39. 

-I- HAYWARD.* Silvanus, b. 1757; d. 1817 in Gilsum. Enl. June 28, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg. which went to the relief of Ti. 

-|- HAYWARD. William, b. 1737; d. 1785. He enl. in a Co., under the 
command of Lieut. Col. Josiah Willard, in Col. Joseph Blanchard's Reg., 
raised for an expedition against Crown Point, N. Y., in 1776. Aug. 31, 1780 
by a vote of the town he received £2:05:0 "for services at Bennington." 

-I- HAYWARD, William, b. 1759; d. 1812-13. When between 15 and 16 
(with his parents' consent) enl. in Rev. war as a fifer; was taken prisoner at 
Ft. Washington with 2700 others, and with many others was placed on a Brit- 
ish prison ship where he suffered greatly for want of food, and from cruel 
treatment but just lived to reach home. He became so exasperated against 
the British that he enlisted from Fryeburg, Me. in the 1812 war (al- 



''This name is frequently written Howard in the records. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 103 

though past the draft age) and went with the army to the Canada frontier; 
thence aboard Chancy's fleet on Lake Ontario; was taken sick with bilious 
diarrhoea, set on shore at Sacketts Harbor, and after travelling a few miles in 
N. Y. state was seized with "typhus fever" and soon died. He wrote a letter 
to his friends in Surry and thus it was ascertained where he died. 

— Taken from the Amherst Hayward Family Record, written in Oct. 1854. 

-|- HEATON. Jonathan, b. 1750; was of a Keene family; in 1776 he was 
of the Keene Co.; also given as of Surry. If he lived in Surry at all it was 
only for a short period. He served with Joshua Dart, q v.; July 14, 1776, was 
in Capt. Samuel Wetherbee's Co., Col. Isaac Wyman's Regt. and was in the 
Northern army at Haverhill, N. H. — up the Conn, river. 

HOLMES. Lemuel, b. 1739; served in the Rev. war from Walpole and 
came to Surry as early as 1781; rem. from town about 1810 and said to have 
d. in Vt. While a res. here he was one of the most prominent men, not only 
in town but in this part of the state. He enl. from Walpole Apr. 21, 1775 as 
a lieut. in Capt. Jeremiah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. which 
marched on that day from Keene. Was a lieut. in a Co. of Rangers, served 
from Jan. 1, 1776 until the 1st of Sept. 1776 when he was appointed capt. by 
Gen. Washington, but before receiving his commission he was taken prisoner, 
Nov. 16, 1776 at Fort Washington and carried to N. Y. where he remained in 
captivity until Sept. 20, 1778. Capt. Holmes first service was for 3 mos.; 
was in Capt. Thos. Knowlton's Co. of Rangers, and after Capts. K. and Brown 
were killed he was appointed capt. by Gen. W. and served on the Harlem lines 
till taken prisoner, Nov. 16; he also enl. from West Point, Sept. 1781 in Col. 
Samuel Canfield's Reg. 

For his loss at Ft. Washington, Capt. Holmes was paid £20:8:0. — State 
Papers. 

ISHAM. Benjamin, b. 1758; d. 1802 in Surry. He enl. from Alstead June 
27, 1780; dis. Dec. 17, 1780. He was on the pay roll in 1780 for service in 
the Contl army at Worcester. Travel 93 miles, and an allowance of £335:0:0 
for blanket, etc. 

JOSLIN. Peter, b. 1759; d. 1837 in Surry. He served in the Rev. war in 
Mass., and at the time of his death was on the pension roll. He came to town 
from Walpole about 1810 and settled on the Capt. Harvey farm. 

KILBURN. Joel, b. in Hebron, Conn.; d. in Royalton, Vt. He res. in Gil- 
sum, but rem. before the Rev. war to Royalton, Vt. where his family were 
while he was in the service; he returned to N. H. and lived in Surry for sev- 
eral years then ret. to Royalton again in 1793. — From Gilsum History. 

He was taxed in Surry in 1788, and possibly is the Joel Kilburn who was 
living in Jerico, Vt. in 1790. He enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's Co. which marched to the relief of Ti. 

-|- KING. John, enl. July 15, 1775 in Capt. Richard Shortbridge's Co. 
and Enoch Poors Reg.; dis. Aug. 1, 1775; 5 ft. 7 in. high; blue eyes and light 
hair. He re-enl. and was absent from his Reg. Jan. 1, 1776 on account of 
sickness; re-enl. July 15, 1777 under Maj. Timothy Ellis, Col. Moses Nichol's 
Reg. ,and was at the battle of Bennington Aug. 16, 1777. He enl. again July 



104 History of Surry 

15, 177'J, for one year, but afterwards changed it to, "for during the war.'' 
During a portion of this service he was "of Surry." 

KNIGHT. Elijah, b. 1756 ;d. in Keene 1842, at which time he was on the 
pension roll for services as a private in the Vermont militia during the Rev. 
war. He came to Surry in 1819 from Rockingham (Bellows Falls), Vt.; "was 
prominent in all military affairs in the Connecticut valley"; lieut. and capt. 
of the Rockingham Co. in the state militia, and lieut. -col. of the Reg.; was in 
command of the state troops in the expedition to Guilford, 1784; first lawyer 
in R. and judge of probate in 1815, etc. Kept tavern in Surry and was first 
postmaster in this town. 

-|- LISCOMB. Samuel. Was of Charlestown, but served from Surry; 
enl. 1777 in Benjamin Bellows' Reg. and Jan. 10, 1778 was "on command in 
Armory" at Albany, N. Y. at which time he was 27 years of age; 5 ft. 7 in. 
high; dark complexion, hair and eyes; also said to have been in Col. Joseph 
Cilley's Reg. at the time; was in the army as late as Feb. 6, 1781, though go- 
ing then from Charlestown. June 13, 1794 he petitioned with others for state 
land. His name is also spelled LUSCOMB. 

MACK. Joseph, Jr. Enl. Aug. 31, 1779 from Alstead for one year, to fill 
up the Contl. army. No further record of Joseph Jr. has been found; Joseph 
Sr. lived in Surry and rem. to Alstead; hence the son must have lived in 
Surry when a young lad. Joseph Mack, either father or son, was over 21 
yeai's of age in 1776 and signed the Test with Nathan Mack and other Al- 
stead men. 

MACK. Nathan. Another son of Joseph, Sr. was of Alstead; enl. June 
28, 1777; dis. July 2, 1777, in Capt. Amos Shepard's Co., Col. Benjamin Bel- 
lows' Reg. which marched to Fort Ti. during those strenuous days of '77. He 
doubtless also lived in Surry with his parents, before the war. 

MARVIN. Giles, b. 1751; d. in Alstead 1801. He came to town with 
his parents prior to the Rev. war, and rem. to Alstead where he lived; he enl. 
as a private May 7, 1777; dis. June 21, 1777; in Capt. Christopher Wibber's 
Co., Col. Benjamin Bellows' Reg. He served from Alstead. 

-|- McCURDY. John, b. 1750; d. 1839 in Concord, Vt. Aug. 31, 1780 by 
a vote of the town he was paid £2:05:0 for services at Bennington. He was 
a Surry tavern-keeper for many years, and his service must have been from 
here. 

-|- McCURDY. Samuel. It is unknown to the compiler whether this was 
the father or son of this name. Both were in Surry and of suitable age to 
enter during the excitement of the alarm at Ti. There is not the least doubt 
but he served from Surry. Enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 3, 1777; was in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched to rein- 
force the Contl. army at Ti. 

NOURSE. Daniel, b. 1760; d. 1845 in Acworth; enl. from Westboro, Mass. 
as a private in Capt. Seth Morse's Co. of militia, Col. Ward's Reg. which 
marched on the alarm of April 19, 1775; served 14 days. He settled in Ac- 
worth 1785; was in Surry for a few years circa 1830; married and ret. td 
Acworth. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 105 

PAGE. Lemuel, b. 1757; d. 1822 in Surry, to which place he moved in 
1817. He "enlisted into the army six times, which made nearly a continuous 
service during the Revolution." — History of Rindge. He was a fifer, in the 
service and became a major musician, and usually was called Maj. Lem. Page. 
He was fifer in Capt. Nathan Hale's Co. which marched to Cambridge at the 
time of the Lexington fight Apr. 19, 1775. Re-enl. and was in Capt. Philip 
Thomas' Co., Col. James Reed's Reg. Aug. 1, 1775. In a list of articles lost 
at the battle of Bunker Hill, Lem Page lost "one shagge great coat." He was 
fifer in Capt. Salmon Stone's Co., Col. Enoch Hale's Reg. which marched from 
N. H. June 29, 1777 to Ti. Re-enl. again in Capt. Daniel Rand's Co., Col. 
Daniel Moore's Reg. and was dis. at Saratoga Oct. 18, 1777, etc. 

— Rindge History. 

PERRY. Silas, b. 1763; d. in Keene 1852. He was a private in the Contl. 
army in Mass. during the Rev.- war. About 1810 he rem. from Westminster, 
Mass. to N. H. and probably settled in the south part of Surry, only a short 
distance from Keene line; after a few years he rem. over the line into Keene. 
He was on the N. H. pension roll 1832-'40. *In his old age he entertained a 
younger generation by relating his experiences in the war; frequently an al- 
lowance of horse meat was their portion, and in order to get the boys into 
good fighting trim before entering a battle, the soldiers were given a quan- 
tit of rum and gun-powder. This may have contributed to his physical con- 
dition, for he lived to be more than 89 years of age. 

-i- REDDING. John, b. 1754; d. 1814 in Surry. Enl. June 28, 1777; dis. 
July 10, 1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched to the relief of Ti. Re-enl. in 9th Co. in Col. Moses Nichols' Reg. 
which joined the Northern Contl. army at Saratoga July 22, 1777 and this 
Reg. was in the battle of Bennington. He is very probably identical with 
the "John Reden," who was in Capt. Davis Hewlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ash- 
ley's Reg. which marched from N. H, May 7, 1777, which marched to Ti., and 
was dis. June 23, 1777, serving 1 mo., 17 days. 

REED. David, b. 1756; d. in Alstead 1819. The farm where he lived &r 
many years was just over the line in the edge of Alstead;- whether he actual- 
ly ever lived in Surry has not been ascertained, yet his name is in Surry 1790 
census; he owned land in this town; attended worship here and in the census 
of Surry in 1806 he and his family are again given as res. of Surry. He was 
of Rehoboth, Mass. and his service in the war was from that state. Possibly 
he was the David Reed who was a private in Capt. John Homer's Co., Col. 
Jonathan Reed's 1st Reg. of Guards; served from Apr. 1, 1778 until July 3, 
1778, at Cambridge, Mass. 

-|- RICE. Charles, b. unk. ; come to that part of Westmoreland, now 
Surry, as early as the spring of 1760 where he lived until 1777, or later. Mr. 
Rice and his neighbor, William Barron, Sr. enl. Apr. 21, 1775 in Capt. Jere- 
miah Stiles' Co., Col. Paul Dudley Sargent's Reg. Rice remained with the 
Reg. and was in the battle of Bunker Hill, where he received a severe wound 
in his breast, from which he suffered for many years. During the alarm 
from Ticonderoga he enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777, in Capt. Elisha 



''Related l)y William B. Reed of Keene when more than 90 years of age. 



106 History of Surry 

Mack's Co. He lived in Sullivan some years. He rec'd. a pension in 1795; 
an invalid; was a private in Gen. Stark's Reg. 

RITTER (or RUTTER). William, b. 1747; d. in Surry 1827; a Revolu- 
tionary soldier and a veteran in the war of 1756 — K. S. He came to Surry as 
early as 1803, probably from Lunenburg, Mass. Enl. Apr. 25, 1775 as a pri- 
vate from Lunenburg for eight months in Capt. John Fuller's Co., Col. Asa 
Whitcomb's Reg. which was merged into the Contl. army commanded by Gen. 
Washington around Boston; re-enl. for nine months in Capt. Joseph Bellows' 
Co., under the command of Maj. Ebenezer Bridge which marched from Lun- 
enburg Aug. 22, 1777 on the alarm of Bennington. He possibly saw other 
service. 

ROBINSON. Jonathan, b. 1753; d. in Surry 1838. A native of Andover, 
Mass. from which state he served; removing to Surry as early as 1790, where 
he was an honored and respected business man and citizen until his death. 
He was a private in Capt. Benjamin Farnum's Co. — which presumably was at 
the battle of Bunker Hill. He also was in Capt. Charles Furbush's Co. and 
Nov. 21, 1775, received a coat, with others, from the government. 

RUSSELL. William, b. 1751; came to Surry from Rindge about 1779 and 
rem. to Westmoreland as early as 1784 and where he was living in 1790. He 
enl. from Rindge July 1776 in Capt. Joseph Parker's Co., Col. Isaac Wyman's 
Reg. which "remained in the vicinity of Ticonderoga about five months, and 
suffered much from sickness." 

-|- SKINNER. Abner, b. 1739, came to Surry before the Rev. war and 
served from this town; in 1810 he was living at Hartland, Vt. Enl. June 28, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777, was appointed 2nd lieut. in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., 
Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. 

-[- SMEED. Darius. Little is known of this soldier. He probably never 
lived in this town, but served as a substitute. He was recruited in July 1782 
for a period of three years, and was mustered in by Benj. Ellis. 

-j- SMITH. Ichabod, b. 1742; d. in Surry 1807; enl. from here June 28, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777; in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. 

SMITH. Jonathan, Sr., b. 1715; d. in Surry 1786; a very early settler; he 
and three of his sons signed the petition July 4, 1768 fpr the incorporation of 
Surry, where he lived until death. Although more than 61 years of age, 
his zeal and patriotism overcame his age during the urgent call for men to 
reinforce the Contl. army at Ticonderoga and he enl. as a private June 28, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 
Reg. His four sons, Jonathan, Jr., Ichabod, Thomas and Samuel were in the 
service from Surry, also four of his sons-in-law, Abner Skinner, Moses D. 
Field, Abia Crane and Nathan Hayward. 

-I- SMITH. Jonathan, Jr., b. 1744; d. in Rockingham, Vt. 1822. A prom- 
inent man in town for many years; entered the state militia and finally was 
appointed major in the 21st Reg. N. H. militia, then in 1788, lieut. -col. of the 
same regiment. Enl. May 12, 1775; dis. Oct. 16, 1777, in Capt. Nathan Fol- 
som's 9th Co., Col. Joseph Blancherd's Reg. He enl. again as private June 
28, 1777; dis. July 3, 1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 107 

Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. Re-enl. in 9th Co., under Col. Moses 
Nichols' which marched and joined the Northern army July 22, 1777 and was 
in the battle of Bennington, Aug. 16, 1777. He received by a vote of the town 
£2:05:0 for services at Bennington. He again entered the service during the 
summer of 1782 and was appointed capt. of a Co. under Col. Ellis, to rein- 
force the troops already on the upper Connecticut for the protection of the 
northwestern frontier. 

-|- SMITH. Samuel. Came to town with his parents; was a lieut. in 
1783 and appointed capt. in the state militia in 1785; he was the home boy 
and succeeded his father as tavern-keeper in Surry. He and his son, Samuel, 
Jr., may have rem. to Brownington, Vt. soon after 1800. Enl. June 28, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777; sergt. in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel 
Ashley's Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. Aug. 31, 1780 the town 
voted to pay Samuel Smith, with others, for services at Bennington — hence, 
he must have been in that battle. It is said he was with Capt. Lemuel Holmes 
and both were taken prisoners at Fort Washington, Nov. 16, 1776. 

-I- SMITH. Thomas, b. 1740; d. in Surry 1802. Enl. June 28, 1777; dis. 
July 3, 1777, in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched to the relief of Ti. The town also paid him as it did his two 
brothers, Jonathan, Jr., and Capt. Samuel, for services at Bennington. At a 
council at Exeter May 17, 1791 he was appointed Postrider on the first route 
out of Keene in place of Ozias Silsby, who declined said office. 

SPENCER. Joseph. Was of Bolton, Conn., where he was m. in 1753; set- 
tled here as early as 1768 and signed the petition for the new town of Surry. 
Enl. from Charlestown (probably early in 1776) in Capt. Thomas Knowlton's 
Co. of Rangers and taken prisoner (possibly at same time Capt. Lemuel 
Holmes was taken — Nov. 16, 1776) at Fort Washington, and died a prisoner 
of war, Nov. 2, 1777. * 

SPENCER. Joseph, Jr., b. 1756, came to town with his parents and rem. 
with them to Charlestown. Enl. from that town May 7, 1777; dis. June 18, 
1777 in Col. Benjamin Bellows' Reg. Re-enl. June 28, 1777; dis. July 9, 1777, 
in Capt. Abel Walker's Co. Also said to have been in Capt. Uriah Wilcox's 
Co. 

STILL. John. Came to Surry as early as 1769, but I'em. to Walpole. Enl. 
May 7, 1777; dis. June 13, 1777, in Capt. Christopher Webber's Co., Col. Ben- 
jamin Bellows' Reg. which marched to reinforce the Northern Contl. army at 
Ti. Re-enl. June 11, 1778; dis. at Rhode Island Jan. 5, 1779, in Capt. Simon 
Marston's Co., Col. Stephen Peabody's Reg. His height, 5 ft. 6 in., and com- 
plexion red. He was a recruit from Walpole Feb. 19, 1781. 

STREETER. Zebulon, b. 1739; d. in Surry 1808. From Warwick, Mass. 
he rem. to Winchester, N. H. about 1770, thence to Surry in 1777. Enl. in 
Capt. William Humphrey's Co. as a private during the summer of 1776 which 
was ordered to reinforce the Northern Contl. army wherever it may be found. 

WETHERBEE. Abijah, b. 1761; d. in Sullivan 1840. He was of Lunen- 
burg, Mass.; lived in several towns in Cheshire Co. after the Rev. war; came 



*Just who Joseph and Joseph Spencer, Jr. were in Charlestown in 1790 has not been 
ascertained. 



108 History of Surry 

to Surry as early as 1803 and rem. 12 or 15 years later. It is said he served 
for more than three years in the Rev, war from Mass., and was at Valley 
Forge from Dec. 1777 until May 1778. He was on the N. H. pension roll in 
1819. 

WHEELOCK. Phinehas, b. 1731; d. 1807, buried in Surry. He was paid 
for his loss in going to the alarm of Royalton, Vt., £1:4:0 — State Papers. 
From what town he served is unknown. 

WHITCOMB. Enoch, b. 1760; d. in Surry 1841. He settled in Surry 1819 
rem. from Rindge. He was of Bolton, Mass., from which state he served in 
the war. Enl. 1776 and served five months; was drafted in 1778. Was on 
the pension roll in 1840; res. Surry. 

WHITNEY. Benjamin. Was in what is now Surry as early as July 1768 
when he signed the petition for the new town. He may be the same as men- 
tioned in Keene, as coming from Marlboro, Mass. He rem. prior to 1776 and 
settled in Westminster, Vt., where he probably was living in 1790. Enl. May 
1, 1775; dis. Aug. 1, 1775, in Capt. William Walker's Co., Col. James Reed's 
Reg. Gilsiim History states he was at the battle of Bunker Hill. 

-|- WHITNEY. Joseph. Doubtless kindred of Benjamin q. v. came to 
town 1771 and after living here possibly 10 years rem. to Westmoreland. 
Enl. from here June 28, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777, was appointed corpi. in 
Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which went to the relief 
of Ti. He rec'd. a pension 1818 for services as a private in Massachusetts. 

WILBORE. Philip. Was in Surry 1788-90. He came from and returned 
to Westmoreland. He enl. as a private June 29, 1777; dis. July 11, 1777 in 
John Cole's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which marched to the relief of Ti. 
Elisha and Nathaniel Wilbur were also in the same Co. from Westmoreland. 

-I- * WILCOX. Obadiah, Jr. Enl. May 7, 1777; dis. June 16, 1777, was 
appointed sergt. in Capt. Davis Howlett's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. 
which marched for Ti. § Obadiah Wilcox enl. July 4, 1777; dis. July 10, 1777 
as a private in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel Ashley's Reg. which 
marched to reinforce the Contl. army at Ti. 

-|- WILCOX, Asa, b. 1756; d. 1840 in Surry. He came to town with his 
parents at an early date; was on the pension roll 1832-1840. Enl. July 4, 
1777; dis. July 10, 1777, a private in Capt. Elisha Mack's Co., Col. Samuel 
Ashley's Reg. which went to the alarm at Ti. • Re-enl. as a corpl. in 9th Co., 
Col. Moses Nichols' Reg. which marched from N. H. and joined the Contl. 
army at Saratoga July 22, 1777, which was in the battle of Bennington. He 



*It must b(> remembered there were four meu named ''Obadiah Wilcox'' living iu Surry 
and Gilsum during the Rev. war. Obadiah Sr. of Gilsum, b. about 1719; d. 1780 and 
his son Obadiah. b. about 1743; d. 1776. Owing to the date of death, the sou could not have 
been, in the war in 1777, and his father, a man of about 60 years of age, then living in 
a more remote part of Gilsum, is hardly thought to have entered the service. It is reasonable 
to suppose that this "sergeant" was Obadiah, Jr. of Surry, yet there appears no way in 
which to iirove this. 

§This Obadiah was doubtless of Surry, but whether the father, or the son has not been 
established. This call for soldiers came only a few days following a previous call, during 
the alarm and exciting days for men to reinforce the fort at Ticonderoga ; not only the young 
men, but men of mature years immediately left their farms and within a few hours were 
on the march for that imi)ortant station. Our Obadiah Sr. was b. 172-1; d. 1810 and 
his son was b. 17.51 ; d. 1797 — under the conditions, this man may have been either the 
father or son, of Surry. 

The senior Obadiah of Surry was a cousin of the senior, of Gilsum. 



Surry During The Revolutionary War 109 

received by a vote of the town, Aug, 31, 1780 £2:10:0 for services at Ben- 
nington. He was on the pension roll in 1831, as a corpL, but his age is er- 
roneously given as 78 years. 

WILCOX. John. Enl. Sept. 23, 1777; dis. Oct. 24, 1777; marched from 
Cornish, N. H., and joined the Contl. army under Gen. Gates near Saratoga. 
While it is possible, yet it is not known this man had any connection whatever 
with the Surry family of this name. There was, however, a John Wilcox, 
son of Obadiah Sr., of Surry, b. 1753 who d. here in 1798, of whom but little 
is known. Possibly as a young man he worked in Cornish and enlisted from 
that town. 

WILLARD. Joshua, b. about 1760; d. in Gilsum (?) 1836. Little is known 
of this man, he was "a revolutionary pensioner, also from Surry." — Gilsum 
History. Possibly he is the Joshua Willard who rem. 1778 from Grafton, 
Mass. and settled in Fitzwilliam. He came to Surry as early as 1820. 

-|- WILLARD. Samuel. Appears to have been of Winchester but to 
have served from Surry. Under account of sundries from Surry against the 
state of New Hampshire, as noted in the early portion of this chapter, there 
is one for 1800 dollars, paid to Samuel Willard. Another evidence of his hav- 
ing served from Surry is found on a sheet of paper found in the town pa- 
pers, thus: "Wenchester July ye 5th 1780 Reed of Samuel Smith of Surry 
nineteen Hundred & fifty Dollars which I Reed for three mounth Services 

I Say Reed By me Samuel Willard." 

WILLEY. Barnabas. Was in Conn. 1747; settled here as early as 1767 
and about five years later removed to Walpole where he enl. with other Wal- 
pole men, July 3, 1777; dis. July 9, 1777 in Col. Benjamin Bellows' Reg. which 
marched to the alarm of Ti. He was also a private at Ti., Oct. 1776. 

WRIGHT. Moses, b. 1763; d. in Surry 1815. Probably the same of Wal- 
pole who enl. May 7, 1777; dis. June 13, 1777 in Capt. Christopher Wibber's 
Co., Col. Benjamin Bellows' Reg. 

During the year of 1777 the soldiers from this part of Cheshire county, with 
those from towns to the south and southeast, marched and remarched through 
Keene and Charlestown (No. 4), then over the famous Crown Point road, 
which ran up the Black river (Vt.) valley; over the Green mountain ridge 
thi'ough what is now the town of Mt. Holly, then following down the east 
branch of the Otter Creek, through Clarendon, Rutland, Proctor and Brandon 
to Lake Champlain. * 

The small Continental army that had been stationed near Lake Champlain 
abandoned their stores and fortresses early in July 1777 and retreated to 
Fort Edwards, by way of Hubbardton and Castleton, Vt. At Hubbardton the 
New Hampshire boys were overtaken by the enemy in large numbers and 
lost heavily in killed, wounded and prisoners. § 

Soon after several Surry men entered the 9th company in Col. Moses Nich- 
ols' regiment which joined the Continental army at Saratoga, N. Y., July 



*The Crown Point road was cut through the Vermont wilderness about 1758 by Gen. 
Jeffery Amherst and several hundred New Hampshire soldiers during the French and 
Indian war. 

§Gen. Griffin gives a vivid account of this campaign in the History of Keene. 



110 History of Surry 

22nd, and these men with others from Surry were in the battle of Benning- 
ton. It is claimed that Nichols' regiment took a prominent part in that bat- 
tle, and Ensign Moses D. Field, a Surry soldier, shot Col. Baum. 

The following was written by Phinehas Field of East Charlmont, Mass., to 
a local paper in September 1877: 

Mr. Editor: — In returning from Bennington celebration, I came by 
way of Surry, N. H., and there called on Jonathan R. Field, a grandson 
of Ensign Moses D. PMeld, who testified to the accuracy of those state- 
ments made by me as published in your paper of the 20th inst., and he 
related to me some additional incidents connected with that memorable 
battle in which Ensign Field was an actor. The 15th was a rainy day, 
and as he and Capt. Mack of Gilsum, N. H., were on a reconnaissance 
they came to a puddle in the road, where they parted to the right and 
left to avoid it, and just before they closed again, a bullet struck the 
water in the middle of the road. As they were passing on Ensign Field 
discovered an Indian crawling on the ground in the woods and not far 
from them, and appraised Capt. Mack and they both watched the In- 
dian until they saw him raise his head when both fired and the Indian 
fell. The day after the battle Ensign Field found where the Indian 
was buried, it was near the place where he was killed, and he dug down 
to the body hoping to find his musket but there was nothing buried with 
him. It was ascertained that he was a Sacham, and was shot through 
the breast. 

While the British were retreating Ensign Field followed on their 
flank in the woods, and seeing a soldier stoop to pick up something he 
had dropped, fired at him, and the soldier pitched forward and fell to 
the ground. This particular act was always spoken of as a cause of 
regret, and Jonathan R. Field said, "My grandfather never related the 
incidents of that battle without shedding tears." Ensign Field brought 
home an ornament of solid silver about the weight of a dollar; it was 
the representation of the Savior on the cross, and about three inches in 
length. This ornament and his grandfather's powder horn, marked 
with his initials, were stolen from Jonathan R. Field a few years since. 

Local tradition states that at the battle of Bennington, "Ensign Field had 
thirteen bullets, that he shot them all, and each one told." It is also stated 
the Americans broke ranks and each man took the best position he could 
during that battle. 

The late George K. Harvey remembered hearing Asa Wilcox, Sr., telling 
about the battle of Bennington : 

"The Americans were behind a stone wall beyond which was an open field 
and woods. The Hessians in the field finally broke. Gen. Stark jumped on 
the stone wall and shouted: 'For God's sake boys, come on'; you could have 
heard him a mile." 

Mr. Wilcox would cry like a child when telling about that battle. 



Militia 111 

The following items have been found among the town papers : 

"Rec d of the Town of Suri-y, — 

Three Cattle Containing Twelve hundred and twenty lb by the hand 
of Ebenr Swan it Being in part pay for your Quota of Beef for ye year 
1780 John Millen D. C. 

Reed of the Select men of Surry for the use of the Contenant one 
Thousand three hundi-ed and Eighty weight of Beef, I Say Reed by me 

John Millen D. C. 
Keen November ye 9, 1780 

Surry December 8th 1780 

Then Reed of the Select men of Surry Two Beef Cattle Laid at 
three Hundred & an half Each Reed pr me for the use of the State 

John Millen D. C. 

Surry June 1781 Then Reed of the Select men of Surry five pounds 
of the new Emesion money in part for my Servis in the army in year 
1780 I Say Reed by me Benj. Carpenter" 

State of New Hampshire. 



MILITIA 

Of the militia companies in Surry but little can be gleaned, as neither town 
records nor state papers throw much light on the subject. Just when the 
first company was formed in town, or who were the local officers and men in 
that company has not been learned. Doubtless a company was organized 
between 1770 and 1775. Surry, like other towns in this vicinity, was a part 
of the 6th regiment, under Col. Josiah Willard of Winchester, Lt.-Col. Ben- 
jamin Bellows of Walpole and Majors Josiah Willard, Jr., of Keene, and 
Breed Batcheller of Packersfield (Nelson). The militia company was kept 
up in town until about 1850. 

After the war of the Revolution, this State like others kept up a mili- 
tary system requiring all able-bodied men to appear "armed and equip- 
ped," twice a year in their own towns, and once in regimental Muster, 
wherever summoned in the bounds of the Regiment. These gatherings 
were known as "May Training," "Fall Training," and "Muster." They 
were always occasions of great hilarity and more or less drunkenness. 
As late as 1830, "every man drew a gill of rum for the occasion." And 
still later, every new officer chosen was expected to, "treat the com- 
pany," and was insulted as "hoggish" if he declined to do so. It was 
largely those "training-day" disorders that stimulated the early tem- 
perance movement. — Abridge from Gilsum History. 

THE NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE MILITIA 

The following field officers were recommended in 1784 for appointment in 
the newly formed regiment taken from the 6th N. H. Militia; which was 
made the 21st Regiment. The men were recommended by the selectmen of 



112 History of Surry 

Hinsdale, Chesterfield, Westmoreland and Surry and were confirmed by the 
state legislature: viz. 

f Col. Samuel King of Chesterfield. 
Lt.-Col. George Aldrich of Westmoreland. 

1784, Dec. 14 j 1st Maj. Joseph Burt of Westmoreland. 

I 2nd Maj. Jonathan Smith, Jr. of Surry. 

f Col. George Aldrich of Westmoreland. 
I Lt.-Col. Joseph Burt of Westmoreland. 

1785, Oct. 22 ] 1st Maj. Jonathan Smith, Jr. of Surry. 

I 2nd Maj. Ebenezer Britton of Westmoreland. 

No appointments appear to have been made in 1786. The old officers prob- 
ably were retained in their respective positions in the 21st regiment. Joseph 
Burt resigned as lieutenant colonel Jan. 15, 1787. 

( Col. George Aldrich of Westmoreland. 
Lt.-Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr. of Surry. 
1787 and 1788. : 1st Maj. Ebenezer Britton of Westmoreland. 
i;^ 2nd Maj. Benjamin Haskell of Chesterfield. 

— From State Papers. 

We find no complete list of officers in this regiment after 1788. March 27, 
1793, Samuel Smith, Esq. of Surry was appointed major of 20th Reg. Cyrus 
Field of Surry was. adjutant of the 20th Reg. N. H. Militia, 1824-25. 

From the town records the following Surry men appear to have been hon- 
ored with a "title," doubtless in most cases from service in the state militia: 

Capt. Thomas Harvey, 1778, probably for his service in Rev. war; Ensign 
Hiram Chapin, 1781; Capt. Lemuel Holmes, 1782; Capt. Jonathan Smith, Jr., 
1782; Lieut. Moses D. Field, 1782; Lieut. Samuel Smith, 1783; Ensign Asa 
Wilcox; Capt. Samuel Smith, 1785; Lieut. Simon Baxter, 1787; Ensign Jona- 
than Reade, 1787; Lieut. Nathan Hayward, 1788; Maj. Benjamin Kimball, 
1788; Capt. Jonathan Robinson, 1793; Lieut. John McCurdy, 1783; Capt. 
Simon Baxter, 1801; Capt. Nathan Estabrook, 1801; Capt. Calvin Hayward, 
1802; Capt. Asa Wilcox, Jr., 1808; Capt. Charles Bond, 1809; Capt. Elijah 
Fuller, 1820. 

Others who appear to have been captains of the Surry company were: 

Francis Holbbrook, Eliphalet Dort, Warren Carpenter, Henry (Harry) 
Britton, Charles A. Britton, Franklin B. Benton, Asa Wilcox, Horace B. Shaw, 
Lewis L. Cotton and Joshua D. Blake. 

The only list of men, thus far discovered, belonging to Surry militia com- 
pany has been found on a single sheet of paper among the old town records, 
a copy of which follows : 



Militia 



113 



SURRY MILITIA COMPANY IN 1808 

"Surry October 12, 1808 

To the Select men of Surry this may Certify that the following Sol- 
diers did militia duty in fourth Company and twentyeth Regiment the 
11th of this instant Viz. 



*John Norris 
Aaron Hay ward 
Edward Wetherbee 
Jonathan Locke 
Erastus Benton 
Cyrus Field 
Horace Baxter 
James Britton 
Maynard Kidder 
Asa Wilcox, Jr. 
David Kent 
Ralph Smith 
Warren Hardy 
Ira White 
Ichabod Crane 
Obadiah Reed 
Aaron Reed 
James Redding 



Samuel Mack 
John T. Wilcox 
Eliphaz Field 
Gaylord Wilcox 
Daniel Stratton 
Artemas ( ? ) Parmeter 
Daniel Smith, Jr. 
Alvin Carpenter 
Francis Hetton 
David Reed, Jr. 
Sylvester Bliss 
Hollis Munroe 
John B. Carlton 
John G. McCurdy 
John Thayer 
Abel Munroe 
Obadiah Redding 
Luther Carpenter 



Benjamin Britton 
John S. Britton 
Jesse Wright 
Abel Allen, Jr. 
William Wright 
Philip Thomas 
Otis Hancock 
David Stone 
Joel Crandall 
Ezra Carpenter 
Ariel Carpenter 
Joel Carpenter 
Timothy Isham 
William Perkins, Jr. 
Sylvester Smith 

51. 



Samuel Smith, Capt. 



Thomas McCurdy 
Benjamin Carpenter 3d 
George Baxter 
Nathaniel Wilbur 



Martin Doyle 
Amherst Hayward 
Eliphalet Dort 



Officers (?) 



Soldiers Named that Did military Duty Oct. 11, 1808." 

Notice: The soldiers of the 4th company, 20th regiment (Surry) 
are requested to meet at Capt. Robinsons tavern on Friday April 2, 
1841, at 7 P. M. to choose officers of said company, 

Joshua D. Blake, Capt. — Keene Sentinel. 

The following taken from Keene Sentinel, Oct. 11, 1849, will in a measure 
explain the conditions which led to the repealing of our state militia law in 
1850. 

Musters: — The 20th, Regt. muster was held at Surry, Thursday Oct. 
4th. It rained most of the day; the troops were hastily reviewed by 
Gen. Dickinson and inspected by Maj. Dudley. The latter addressed 
the remains of the old 20th, in defence of the present militia system. 
"There was quite a falling off in number of soldiers." 

For the first time Surry Infantry, under Capt. Charles A. Britton 
came out in uniform. The gamblers of Boston were on hand in large 
numbers; some quarrelling and fighting took place the night before. 



*NOTE: The names in the above are spelled as we think they should be, not as they 
appear in the original record. 



114 History of Surry 

between the blacklegs and soldiers, in which two of the latter were 
somewhat hurt. From old people it said a soldier named Balch from 
Keene received a blow in the face from a bell by a gambler which pealed 
the skin off and fell over 'his nose. So angry were the soldiers over 
this incident, the gamblers were so severely handled they were com- 
pelled to leave town. As an example, one incident is here given. 

Levi Britton of Westmoreland, while passing near the barn-yard of 
the village hotel met one of the black-legs, whom he picked up by the 
"seat of his pants and nap of the neck and pitched him head first into 
several inches of water and filth to the joy and amusement of the sol- 
diers," 

The morale of the old time Muster had for years been on the decline 
in all parts of the state; this was the last muster held in Surry. 

One or two musters were held on the plane northeast of the Bradley Britton 
buildings, and others on the plane east of the old hotel in the village. 

An article by W. S. Briggs of Keene to the Sentinel 1882 gives some inter- 
esting facts regarding the New Hampshire militia in 1834. The following is 
an extract of his article : 

On training days, all males from 18 to 45 were required to train. 
Each man was required to be equipped according to law for militia 
duty and inspection. Training day was the 1st Tuesday in May that 
year — 1834. The equipment was: Gun, ramrod, bayonet, belt and cart- 
ridge box (for 24 cartridges), priming-wire and brush, two spare flints, 
knapsack and canteen. The penalty for being without the above equip- 
ment was as follows: Gun .80c; ramrod .20c; bayonet, scabbard and 
belt .25c; flints .02c; priming-wire and brush .10c; cai'tridge box .25c; 
knapsack .20c; canteen .10c; gun not cleaned .50c: If loaded with ball 
12.00; If absent $2.00. 



CHAPTER VIII 

WAR OF 1812— WAR OF THE REBELLION— WORLD WAR— LIBERTY 

LOANS 

WAR OF 1812 

After the treaty of peace had been signed between the United States and 
Great Britain in 1783, animosity still prevailed between the two nations, and 
each complained that the other had violated the terms of the treaty. The 
British naval officers were especially zealous in their outrageous and insulting 
conduct toward American seamen, capturing and confiscating our merchant 
vessels, all of which created antagonism in the minds of the American peo- 
ple. The Jay treaty, which was ratified during the closing years of the 
eighteenth century temporarily quieted conditions. 

England, however, continued her aggression without apology or redress 
until the American government, becoming convinced of her hostile intentions, 
finally made preparations for conflict. An extra session of congress was 
called in November 1811 by President Madison, who recommended our prep- 
aration for war. 

"At length, in the early part of 1812, insults having been added to in- 
juries, by the assumed mistress of the ocean, the American Congress, 
convinced that there was no hope of a change of policy on the part of 
that haughty power, and that a resort to arms was the only alternative 
for maintaining our rights, sustaining the national honor, and protect- 
ing our citizens, on the 18th day of June 1812, passed an Act declaring 
war against Great Britain." — N. H. State Papers. 

The few Surry men who entered this conflict, so far as known, saw no ac- 
tive service except guard duty for a few months, mostly around Portsmouth, 

N. H. 

The names of the following men connected with this town have been com- 
piled, and there may have been others of whom we have no record: 

? ABBOTT. Daniel. Enl. May 25, 1814 and served until July 2, 1814, in 
the roll of Capt. Andrew Pierce's Co. "He went to aid in suppressing the 
outbreak near Lake Champlain in 1812, and was never heard from again," is 
the statement received by the compiler. From what town he entered the ser- 
vice has not been ascertained, but his family were living in 1806 with Capt. 
Thomas Harvey, as per census. 

-I- BAXTER. George of Surry. Enl. Sept. 25, 1814 for 60 days; was ap- 
pointed corpl. in Capt. James M. Warner's Co. * Son of Capt. Simon Baxter, 
Jr. 



*t'apt. Warner was of Acworth. Most of the Surry men were in his Co. 
-|The plus mark indicates the men enlisted from Surry. 



116 History of Surry 

-j- BECKWITH. Aseph of Surry. Enl. Sept. 25, 1814 for 60 days; dis. 
Nov. 17, 1814, in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lieut. Col. John Steele's Reg. 

-|- CARPENTER. Willard, b. 1794; son of Amasa of Surry; enl. Sept. 
25, 1814 for 60 days in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. Col. John Steele's 
Reg. 

DART. David, b. 1793; d. 1841; enl. from Gilsum Sept. 25, 1814 for 60 
days in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. Col. John Steele's Reg. His father 
and grandfather lived in Surry. 

-!- FULLER. Silas, b. 1795; enl. from Surry Sept. 25, 1814 for 60 days 
in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. Col. John Steele's Reg. 

HALL. Jonathan Jr., b. 1782; d. 1852; enl. from Westmoreland, Sept. 25, 
1814 for 60 days; dis. Oct. 12 1814, in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. CoL 
John Steele's Reg. He res. in Surry for a few years. 

MARVIN. John Jr., of Surry and Alstead. Enl. from A. Sept. 25, 1814 
for 60 days in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. Col. John Steele's Reg. 

SCOVELL. Frederick, b. 1786; rem. from Surry to Walpole from which 
town he enl. Sept. 26, 1814 for 60 days in Capt. Josiah Bellows' Co., as. a pri- 
vate. 

-j- SMITH. Sylvester. Lived in Surry from the time he was a young lad. 
Enl. as a sergt. Sept. 20, 1814 for three months and was on the roll of Capt. 
Oliver Warren's Co. Betsey, his widow, was on the pension roll at the time 
of her death. He d. in Surry Aug. 18, 1863, aged 84 years. 

-I- WETHERBEE. Edmund, b. 1785; of Surry and enl. Sept. 25, 1814 
for 60 days; dis. Nov. 7, 1814 in Capt. James M. Warner's Co., Lt. Col. John 
Steele's Reg. 

WRIGHT. Philemon, b. 1782; d. 1864 in Keene. He lived in Surry for a 
few years about the middle of the last century. He was in the battle of Tip- 
pecanoe. In relating his experience in that battle to a gentleman now living, 
he said after the battle was over: Gen. Harrison (?) standing by inquired if 
he was wounded. "No, sir," was Mr. Wright's reply. "Well, what is the 
blood I see?" An examination proved a ball had entered and lodged in his 
thigh where it remained for many years. He was on pension roll 1840. He 
was Sergt. in Burton's 4th Inf. in Regular army. 



WAR OF THE REBELLION 

The War of the Rebellion, or Civil war, opened with an assault upon Fort 
Sumter on the 12th of April 1861, and came to a close on the 9th of April 
1865, after more than a million citizens had been engaged in the struggle, in- 
volving an expenditure of an enormous sum of money and causing misery, 
suffering and death to hundreds of thousands of the bravest young men of 
the land. 

It was a struggle between the Northern and Southern states in our Union; 



War of the Rebellion 1 1 7 

a conflict between freedom and slavery; between right and wrong; a grave 
and vital question which could not escape settlement sooner or later, for the 
United States could not remain divided into free and slave states. The laws 
of our country had been conceived in a spirit of liberty and justice, intending 
that all men should have equal rights in civil life, regardless of nationality, 
race or creed. 

The law requiring military duty in New Hampshire was repealed in 1850, 
therefore when the outbreak came, this state had no military organization to 
put into the field, except a few companies from the larger towns. 

The South, however, for several years prior to 1861, had been quietly but 
rapidly making all preparations for the coming conflict. In the early months 
of that year, one after another of the Southern states passed the "ordinance 
of secession" and a Southern Confederacy was formed. Finally the smould- 
ering fire burst into flames at Fort Sumter on April 12th. 

During the early years of the war the feeling was bitter between the Noi'th 
and South and the press and many New Hampshire citizens were divided in 
their opinions. Probably a fourth of the voters in Surry at that time were 
more or less in sympathy with the South. One prominent man in the north 
part of the town was reported to have said: 

"If the boys come back at all, he hoped they would come in boxes." 

The town had no flag during the early part of the war to show her loyalty 
for the common cause. Finally two young ladies with a subscription paper 
went about town and not long after a large handsome flag was displayed over 
the village street. 

The following has been taken from the Town Records : 

1861, Sept. 21, "To see if the town will vote to raise money to aid in 
Supporting the families of Volunteers in the town of Surry that 
have, or may hereafter enlist in the Service of the United 
States." Voted : to raise $200.00 to aid in supporting the fam- 
ilies of volunteers. 

• 1862, Aug. 9. The town voted to pay a bounty of 8125.00 to men who 
shall Volunteer in the United States Service. 

1863, Jan. 3. Voted to raise $750.00 to pay for men to fill the quota of 
the town. Also, voted to pay a bounty of $125.00 to each man 
who may be drafted. 

1863, Aug. 22. Voted to pay $300.00 to every man who is drafted into 

the service, or who may serve from this town. 

1864, Aug. 31. Voted to pay $600.00 to Volunteers from this town, for 

one years service; to pay $800.00 for two years service, and to 
pay $1000.00 for three years service in the war. Also, voted to 
pay men who are not citizens of this town, $100.00 for one year; 
$200.00 for two years, and $300.00 for three years service in the 
war. 



118 History of Surry 

An old letter found among the town records reads as follows: 

Camp Nelson, Ky. Dec. 23rd, 1863. 
To the Selectmen of Surry, 
Gentlemen : 

I understand that your town has not as yet been able to fill her 
quota under the last call for three hundred thousand more. There are 
some in the Company who would like to re-enlist and be credited to the 
town that is paying the highest bounty. I understand that they can be 
credited to any town that has not filled her "quota." Now if you will 
please send documents so that these men will be sure of the bounty, I 
think I can procure some six men that would like to be credited to your 
town. 

Please answer immediately. Direct to Capt. J. N. Jones, Co. F. 6th, 
N. H. Vols., Camp Nelson, Ky. 

I am, yours truly, 
* J. N. Jones, 

Capt. Co. F. 6th, N. H. Vols. 

The following is a list of men who served from Surry, or were resident of 
the town, either before or after the Civil war. Those who served from, or 
were credited to this town are marked thus (-|-) : 

ABBOTT, Joseph B.; b. in Surry; during the war was in the sanitary com- 
mission for four years; lived in Richmond, N. H.; later in Keene and was 
county commissioner of Cheshire county for several years. 

* ALLEN, Francis A. Co. E. 4th Reg. N. H. Vols.; b. Peterborough, N. H.; 
age 26; res. Manchester; enl. Aug. 27, '61; must, in Sept. 18, 1861, as priv.; 
re-enl. Feb. 15, '64; must, in Feb. 28, '64; wound. May 22, '64, near Bermuda 
Hundred, Va.; disch. disab. Oct. 24, '64, Philadelphia, Pa. Died Aug. 20, 
1889, Portsmouth, N. H. Son of Joseph Allen and lived in Surry when a 
young man. 

-I- ALLEN, George W. Co, I. 9th, Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. N. H,; age 22; 
res. Surry; credited to Surry; enl. Dec. 15, 1863; must, in Dec. 15, '63, as 
priv.; wd. June 7, '64, Cold Harbor, Va.; tr. to Co. I. 6 N. H. V., June 1, '65; 
must, out July 17, '65. P. 0. ad., Claremont, N. H. He was a younger 
brother of Francis, above, and lived in Surry when a young lad; in 1884-5 he 
was employed by the old Cheshire Railroad Co. and res. in North Walpole 
near the top of "Tucker hill." 



*Capt. Josiah N. Jones, res. at Portsmouth, N. H. in recent years, and now, (1919) in 
Lawrence, Mass. He is President of 6th Reg. N. H. Vet. Association. 

*The major part of the Civil war history is from the "Revised Register of the Soldiers and 
Sailors of New Hampshire in the WAR OF THE REBELLION, 1861 — 1866. Puhlished 
and prepared by authority of the legislature, by Augustus D. Ayling, adjutant general. 1895." 

Abbreviations used : — App. — ^Appointed ; Art. — Artillery ; Asst. — Assistant ; Capt. — Cap- 
tain ; Cav. — Cavalry; Co. — Company; Col. — Colonel; Corpl. — Corporal; Dis. — Disease; Disab. 
— Disability; Disch. — Discharged; Enl. — Enlisted; Gen.^ — General; Tnf. — Infantry; Ijt. — 
Lieutenant;" Maj. — Major; Mis. — Missing; P. O. ad. — Post-office address, last known; Priv. 
— Private; Pro.' — Promoted; Re-enl. — Re-enlisted; Reg. — Regiment; Res. — Residence; Sergt. 
— Sergeant; Tm. ex. — Term expired; Tr.— Transferred ; U. S. A. — United States army; 
Unas'd. — Unassigned; V. — Volunteer; V. R. C. — Veteran Reserve Corps; Wd — "Wounded; 
Wds. — Wounds. 



War of the Rebellion 119 

-|- ALLEN, John Henry. Co. H. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Heavy Art.; b. in 
Surry; age 20; credit. Surry; enl. Sept. 2, '64, for 1 yr.; must, in Sept. 2, '64, 
as priv.; must, out June 15, '65. He was brother of the two above named 
soldiers, and the youngest in the family. He became a M. E. clergyman after 
the war, and had charges in Mass., R. I. and Conn. He died at East Hart- 
ford, Conn., May 20, 1910. 

AUSTIN, Charles F. Co. G. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Surry; age 21; 
res. Keene; enl. Apr. 21, '61; must, in May 2, '61, as a priv.; must, out Aug. 
9, '61. Also, Co. A. 2nd Reg.; enl. Sept. 12, '61; must, in Sept. 17, 61, as 
priv.; mis. May 9, '64, Swift Creek, Va.; gained from mis. May il, '64; wd. 
June 9, '64, Cold Harbor, Va.; disch. Sept. 14, '64, Concord, tm. ex. He was 
son of Thomas who lived on top South end of mountain. 

AUSTIN, Kendall. Co. A 5th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; drafted; b. Surry; age 
26; res. Alstead; credited to Alstead; draf. Sept. 30, '63; must, in do.; priv.; 
mis. Aug. 25, '64, Ream's Station, Va.; ret'd.; must, out June 28, '65. He 
was an older brother of Charles F., above; lived many years in East Alstead; 
died there 1919. 

BEMIS, Charles R. Co. B. 5th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; substitute; b. N. H.; 
cred. to Temple; age 30; enl. Sept. 5, '64; disch. dis. July 15, '65. Probably 
the man of that name who lived in Surry about 1885; single. 

BENTON, Franklin Gardner. Co. A. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; 
age 21; res. Keene, cred. to Keene; enl. Aug. 29, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as 
priv.; disch. disab. Dec. 12, '64, Washington, D. C. Died dis. June 23, '81, 
Keene. A son of Franklin B. Benton of Surry. 

BIGELOW, Hiram Philemon; enl. Co. K. 8th Reg. Vt. Inf., as a priv.; 
cred. to Moretown, Vt.; disch. at Burlington, Vt. June 28, 1865. The officer in 
making out his discharge papers wrote his name incorrectly, as given above. 
His name, however, until several years after the war was "Horace" P. Bige- 
low. He res. in Surry a year or two about 1872; rem. thence to Acworth and 
now* in Keene or Swanzey. He was b. at Gilmanton Iron Works, N. H., May 
24, 1849. 

-I- BISSELL, Albert E. Co. I^ 9th, Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Pelham, N. 
H.; age 21; cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 12, '62; must, in Aug. 15, '62, as Priv.; 
app. Corp.; wd. July 23, '64, Petersburg, Va. Died of wds. Oct. 9, '64, Wash- 
ington, D. C. Bur'd in Surry. Son of Tyler. 

BLACK, Summer W.— Co. He was b. in Chesterfield, N. H., abt. 1819 and 
d. at Harpers Ferry, Va. during the early part of the war. As his war 
record is not found in N. H., possibly he served from Mass. His wid. lived 
in Marlboro, N. H. and drew a pension within recent years. 

-|- BLAKE, Aaron Herbert. Co. I. 9th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 
18; res. Surry and cred. to Surry; enl. Dec. 15, '63; must, in Dec. 15, '63, as 
priv.; tr. to Co. I. 6th N. H. V., June 1, '65; disch. July 8, '65, Annapolis, Md. 
Son of Henry B. Died in Keene 1911. 

-I- BLAKE, Ira E. Co. B. 14th, N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Surry; age 19; res. 
Walpole, cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 9, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as priv.; 
must, out July 8, '65. Died in Surry 1877. Son of Joshua D. 



120 History of Surr\ 

BLAKE, John A. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Keene; age 20; res. 
Gilsum; enl. Apr. 25, '61, for three mos.; not must, in; paid by state; re-enl. 
May 22, '61, for 3 yrs.; must, in May 31, '61, as priv. ; capt'd. June 30, '62, 
White Oak Swamp, Va.; exch.; wd. sev. July 2, '63, Gettysburg, Pa.; disch. 
disab. June 7, '64, David's Isl., N. Y. H. He lived in Surry after the war; 
rem. to Keene where he died, 1904. 

BRITTON, Bradford. Co. E. 6th N. H. V. Inf.; b. Chesterfield; age 45; 
res. and enl. from Chesterfield; enl. Nov. 19, '61, as a muse, (drummer); 
disch. disab. June 16, '62, at New Berne, N. C. In order to enter the ser- 
vice he erroneously gave his age as 45, when in reality it should have been 
54 years. He was the oldest man in his company. He lived in Surry several 
years prior to the war. Died in Hinsdale, Feb. 2, 1887. 

-I- BRITTON, Charles E. Co. I. 9th N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Walpole; age 19; 
res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Dec. 15, '63; must, in Dec. 15, '63, as priv. Died 
Alexandria, Va., July 30, '64; bur. in Surry. Son of Bradley. 

-|- BRITTON, Frederick Frost. Co. F. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Rox- 
bury, Mass.; res. Keene and cred. to Surry; age 21; enl. Sept. 1, 1862; must, 
in Sept. 23, as priv.; wound. Sept. 19, '64, Opequan, Va.; dis. July 6, '65; res. 
Surry, Wisconsin; Springfield, Mass., where he died unm. Son of John Lang- 
don, below. 

-I- BRITTON, John Langdon. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Chester- 
field; age 42; res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 18, '61; must, in Aug. 18, '61, 
as muse; app. principal muse, Oct. 10, '61; disch. disab. June 13, '62, Wil- 
liamsburg, Va. Also, Co. F. 13th Reg. V. R. C; cred. to Surry; enl. Dec. 15, 
'63; must, in Dec. 15, '63, as priv.; disch. disab. May 27, '65, at Concord. Also, 
Cheshire Light Guard in State Service; res. Surry; enl. on or before Apr. 26, 
'61, at Keene, as muse. He res. in Surry many years; was a brother of Brad- 
ford and father of Frederick. He was 56 years of age at time of his enl. He 
died in Keene 1898; bur. in Surry. 

BRITTON, Levi. Co. A. 18th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Westmoreland; age 
44; cred. to Alstead; enl. Sept. 3, '64, for 1 yr. ; must, in Sept. 13, '64, as priv.; 
must, out May 6, '65. He lived in Surry for a few years prior to the war; 
rem. to Alstead. 

BROWN, Boardwin. Co. F. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Stowe, Mass.; age 
44; res. and cred. to Keene; enl. Sept. 1, '62; must, in Sept. 23, '62, as priv.; 
disch. disab. Jan. 30, '64, Washington, D. C. Lived in Surry for several years 
prior to the war, then in Keene, where he died, 1867, aged 60 years. 

BURGESS, William. Co. C. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; substitute; b. Rox- 
bury, Mass.; res. Surry; cred. to New Durham, N. H.; enl. Aug. 13, '63; 
must, in Aug. 14, '63, as priv.; must, out July 8, '65. He was an old sailor, 
lived in Surry and rem. to Walpole. Name also, "William J. Burgess." 

CALDWELL, Charles W. Co. E. 5th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Alstead; 
age 19; res. and cred. to Alstead; enl. Sept. 18, '61; must, in Oct 19, '61, as 
priv.; disch. disab. May 15, '62, He res. in Surry after the war for several 
years. 

CALDWELL, Daniel F. Co. G. 1st Reg. V. Inf.; b. Nashua; age 24; res. 
Alstead; enl. Apr. 24, '61; must, in May 2, '61, as priv.; must, out Aug. 9, '61. 



War of the Rebellion 121 

Also Co. B. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; res. Walpole; cred. to Alstead; enl. Aug, 
25, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as priv. ; must out July 8, '65. He was a son 
of Joseph Caldwell of Alstead, and brother of Charles W. and Joseph W., q v. 
He res. at the Toll-gate place in Surry after his marriage to the widow of 
Hiram Britton. 

CALDWELL, Joseph W. Co. B. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Londonderry, 
N. H.; age 23; res. Walpole; cred. to Alstead; enl. Aug. 25, '62; must, in Sept. 
22, '62, as priv.; disch, disab. Apr. 4, '64, Philadelphia, Pa. He res. Gilsum, 
Surry and now in Keene (1919). 

-i- CARPENTER, Haskell. Unas'd. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Cav.; b. Surry 
age 22; cred. to Surry; enl. Mar. 28, '65, for 1 yr.; must, in Mar. 28, '65, as 
priv.; dis. May 6, '65, Gallop's Isl., Boston Har., Mass. He res. in Surry and 
Swanzey. Died Feb. 26, 1894 in Chesterfield, N. H. 

CLEMENT, Benjamin F. Co. E. 6th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Knox, Me.; 
age 42; res. Keene; rem. to Swanzey; enl. Nov. 9, '61; must, in Nov. 28, '61, 
as priv.; disch. disab. Feb. 6, '63, Alexander, Va. Also, Co. I. 13th Reg. V. 
R. C; res. Keene; cred. to Seekonk, Mass.; enl. Sept. 2, '64; must, in Sept. 2, 
'64; as priv.; disch. disab. Dec. 20, '64, Gallop's Isl., Boston Har., Mass, He 
rem. to Surry soon after the war and lived some years later ret. to Maine and 
died in Halldale, that state, Aug. 2, 1885, age 66 years. He was more than six 
feet — ^the tallest man in his Co. (in the 6th Reg). 

CONVERSE, Stillman A. Co. H. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Hvy. Artly.; b. and 
cred. to Gilsum; age 21; enl. Sept. 2, '64, for 1 yr.; must, in Sept. 2, '64, as 
Priv.; must, out June 15, '65. Died July 14, 1883, Hartford, Conn. He lived 
in Surry before the war. 

CRAFTS, Francis T. Co. K. 3rd Mass. Vol. Inf.; b. Boston, Mass. and res. 
S. 1917-1921 (during summers); res. (1923) 28 Blue Hill Ave., Mattapan, 
Mass. He enl. for nine mos, 1862; mustered out in June 1863; served in 
North Carolina; was in Kinston, Whitehall and Goldsborough battles and 
minor skirmishes, 

DARLING, Lewis Dwight. Co. I. 9th Reg. Vol.; served three years; enl. 
Aug. 18, 1862, see family record. He d. Keene Jan. 9, 1922. 

-|- DAVIS, Bethuel J. Co. A. 14th Reg, N, H, V, Inf.; b. Gilsum; age 27; 
res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 13, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as corpl.; 
must, out July 8, '65. After war, res. Surry, Keene, Bellows Falls ,Vt. ; died 
Grand Rapids, Mich., Jan. 21, 1893. 

DORT, Obed G. Co. E, 6th Reg, N, H, V, Inf.; b, Surry; age 33; res. and 
cred, to Keene; app, capt. Nov, 30, '61; must, in to date Nov. 28, '61; app. 
maj. Apr. 22, '62; resigned Sept. 24, '62. Res. before, during and after the 
war in Keene where he died 1908. 

EMERSON, Bellows. Co. B. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. res. and cred. to 
Walpole; age 32; enl. Sept 13, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as priv.; disch. disab. 
Feb. 5, '63, Poolesville, Md. Supposed identical with Bellows Emerson in 
Cheshire Light Guard; res. Walpole; enl. Apr. 25, '61, at Keene as priv.; dis. 
by request of governor. May 31, '61. He lived in Surry before the war; rem. 
to Ashburnham, Mass., where he died quite suddenly, before 1876. 



122 History of Surry 

EMERSON, Quincy A. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. and res. at Wal- 
pole; age 19; enl. Apr. 25, '61, for 3 mos.; not must, in; paid by state; re-enl. 
May 22, '61, for 3 yrs.; must, in May 31, '61, as priv.; re-enl. and must, in 
Jan. 1, '64; app. corpl. July 1, '64; sergt. Feb. 1, '65; must, out Dec. 19, '65. 
He worked in Surry when a young man and in Keene. He was living in Ash- 
burnham, Mass., at the time his brother Bellows died. 

FAY, Asa Ball. Co. C. 34th Reg. Mass. V. Inf.; b. Northborough, Mass., 
1838; d. there 1919; lived in Surry several yrs. He served as 1st lieut.; enl. 
Aug. 1862; dis. at exp. of service, June 16, 1865. 

-I- GAGE, William. Co. F. 6th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Montreal, Can.; 
age 28; res. Keene; enl. Nov. 30, '61; must, in Dec. 3, '61 as priv.; app. corpl.; 
re-enl. and must, in Jan. 4, '64; cred. to Surry; must, out July 17, '65. He 
res. in Surry before the war, and after at Springfield, Vt., where he died May 
18, 1917. He saw much service and was in many battles with his Reg. 

GAY, John P. Co. H. 5th Reg. Mass. Inf.; b. in Acworth; age 23; enl. at 
West Cambridge, Mass., Sept. 10, '62, as priv. for 9 mos.; dis. at Windham, 
Mass., July 2, '63. He res. after war in Surry, and now (1923) in Keene. 

HALL, James G. Co. D. 13th Reg. N. Y. Vol. Inf.; b. Surry; age 28; en- 
rolled Apr. 23, '61 at Saratoga Springs, N. Y. for two years; disch. at Albany, 
N. Y. June 18, '63; light; blue eyes; 5 ft. 10 in. He res. in Saratoga Springs 
and in Westmoreland where he died Jan. 24, 1906. 

HARMON, Thomas L. Born in Boston; enl. 36th N. Y. Inf. Apr. 20, '61; 
re-enl. Oct. 25, '62, in 13th Mass. Battery; app. sergt.; 2nd lieut. May 25, '63, ' 
in 55th Mass. Reg.; promoted to 1st lieut. then capt. He resigned June 3, 
'65, on acct. of disab. Capt. Harmon came to Surry 1884 and was propr. of 
village hotel. 

HARTWELL, William H. Co. I. 9th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Langdon; age 
18; cred. to Keene; enl. Aug. 8, '62; must, in Aug. 15, '62, as priv. app. corpl. 
Dec. 10, '62; sergt. May 1, '63; captd. Sept. 30, '64, Poplar Springs Church, 
Va.; released Feb. 28, '65; disch. June 12, '65, Baltimore, Md. When a young 
lad he res. in Surry with his uncle; after the war, at Kirkwood, 111., and 1919 
at Santa Barbara, Cal. 

HOLBROOK, George Wood. Born in Surry, 1819; d. in Keene, 1877. He 
res. in Surry and was in the service of the government during the Civil war; 
was appointed Deputy United States marshal during that period. 

HOLBROOK, Samuel Francis. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Surry; 
age 21; res. and enl. Keene; enl. Apr. 25, '61, for 3 mos.; not must, in; paid by 
state; re-enl. May 22, '61, for 3 yrs.; must, in May 31, '61, as priv.; app. 
corpl. Jan. 1, '63; wd. July 2, '63, Gettysburg, Pa.; app. sergt. July 2, '63; 
re-enl. and must, in Jan. 1, '64, as priv.; cred. to Walpole; app. 1st lieut. 
June 24, '64; capt. Co. G. Apr. 1, '65; must, out Dec. 19, '65. Res. in Keene 
and died there in 1894. 

-|- HORTON, George G. Co. E. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 
21; enL Aug. 26, '61; must, in Sept. 17, '61, as priv.; deserted June 20, '62, at 
Seven Pines, Va. He was discovered and returned to Surry after the war, 



War of the Rebellion 123 

with a bewildered and unstable mind, with apparently little knowledge of his 
previous whereabouts. Those who knew him before and after the war, did 
not as a rule, consider him responsible for the crime of deserting the service. 
He lived and died in Surry, 1902. 

HOWARD, Horace W. Co. H. 8th Reg. Vt. Vol. Inf.; b. Gilsum, Mar. 22, 
1840; while at work at Townshend, Vt. enl. from that town Jan. 8, 1862 for 
three years; must, in at Brattleboro; re-enl. at New Iberia, La., Jan. 5 (or 
March 5), 1864; a priv.; promoted to corpl. July 1, 1864; dis. at Burlington, 
Vt., July 10, 1865. Res. in Surry, 1875-76, and again, 1922, also at Alstead 
and Gilsum. Mr. Howard states: "We re-enlisted on the field of battle with- 
in a short distance from the enemy, in the same company and regiment; at 
New Iberia, La." 

HOWARD, John Jackson. Co. I. 9th Reg. N. H .V. Inf.; b. in Surry, Mar. 
8, 1834; d. small-pox, Washington, D. C, Feb. 20, 1864; res. in Gilsum and 
Sullivan. He was a cousin to Horace W. Howard. 

ISHAM, Charles H. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 18; res. 
and cred. Walpole; enl. May 1, '61, 3 mos.; not must, in; paid by state; re- 
enl. May 22, '61, for 3 yrs.; must, in May 31, '61, as priv.; wd. June 25, '62, 
Oak Grove, Va.; disch. disab. Feb. 20, '63, N. Y. City. He res. Baldwinsville, 
Mass.; went to National Soldiers' Home, Hampton, Va., where he died, 1916. 

-I- JOSLIN, Herbert H. Co. H. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Hvy. Artly.; b. Surry; 
age 22; cred. to Surry; enl. Sept. 3, '64, for 1 yr.; must, in Sept. 3, '64, as 
priv.; must, out, Concord, N. H., June 15, '65. He rem. after the war to 
Farmington, Penn. 

-|- JOSLIN, John K. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Surry; age 25; 
res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Apr. 25, '61, for 3 mos.; not must, in; paid by 
state; re-enl. May 22, '61, for 3 yrs.; must in May 31, '61, as priv.; app. corpl. 
Sept. 1, '61; must out June 21, '64. He rem. west after the war and res. in 
Mo. and Kansas; died in the Soldiers' Home in Kansas, 1914? He was a 
cousin of Herbert H. Joslin, see above. His name is erroneously spelled "Jos- 
lyn" in the N. H. Register. 

-|- KENNEY, Chancey. Co. A. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Bethlehem, N. 
H.; age 29; res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 13, '62; must in Sept. 22, '62, 
as priv. ; must, out July 8, '65. He res. in Surry before and after the war, and 
later rem. to Springfield, Vt. 

-|- KENNEY, William Riley. Unas'd. in 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. 
Richmond, N. H.; age 18; res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Apr. 4, '65, for 1 yr.; 
must, in Apr. 4, '65, as priv.; dis. May 6, '65, Gallop's Isl., Boston Har. 
Mass. He saw no actual service. Res. after the war in Surry where he died, 
1898. He and Chancey, above, were brothers. 

KENYON, David Y. Co. B, 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Middlebury, Vt.; 
age 26; res. Walpole; cred. Alstead; enl. Aug. 27, '62; must, in Sept. 24, '62, 
as priv.; wd. Sept. 19, '64, Opequan, Va.; must, out July 8, '65. After war he 
res. Keene and Surry where he died from accident, 1906. 

-I- KINGSBURY, Edward A. Co. E. 6th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. and cred. 
to Surry; age 22; enl. Nov. 5, '61; must, in Nov. 28, '61, as priv.; disch. disab. 



124 History OF Surry 

Jan. 29, '63, Alexandria, Va. Also enl. from Surry; Co. H., N. H. V., hvy. 
artly., Sept. 2, '64, for 1 yr. ; must, in Sept. 2, '64, as corpl.; must, out June 
15, '65, at Concord, N. H. Res. after war in Georgetown, Mich., Acworth, and 
(1919), Keene. 

KINGSBURY, W. Henry. Co. C. 14th Reg. N. H. Inf.; b. Keene; age 37; 
enl. Feb. 16, 1865 for 1 yr. ; must, out July 8, 1865; res. in Surry, Keene and 
Westmoreland where he d. 1895. 

MONROE, Dr. Nahum P. A native of Surry and who settled in Bangor, 
Me., is said to have served in the Civil war. 

MOODY, James S. A native of Landaff, N. H., served in the old Sixth 
Mass. Vols., also in Co. C. 50th Mass. Vols.; d. Sept. 5, 1892, at National Sol- 
diers' Home at Togus, Me. He lived in Surry, 1843-44. 

-- PEABODY, Chauncy M. Unas'd. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Cavl.; b. Bran- 
don, N. Y. ; age 19; cred. to Surry; enl. Feb. 28, '65, for 1 yr. ; must, in Feb. 
28, '65, as priv.; d. dis. Apr. 2, '65, Pleasant Valley, Md. Nothing further is 
known of this soldier who served from this town. 

PIKE, Henry A. Co. E. 13th Reg. Vt. V. Inf.; enl. as priv. for nine mos.; 
was in battle of Gettysburg, and dis. at close of the war. He rem. from 
Stowe, Vt. to Surry 1891, and where he lived until death, 1912. His death 
removed from the town the last resident Civil war veteran. 

POND, Aaron B. Co. K. 1st Mass. Hvy. Artlry. A son of Luman Pond 
and res. in Surry in early life. He res. in Mass. for a time and some years 
prior to 1895 res. in Keene. 

RAHN, William. Co. G. 6th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. New York; age "44"; 
res. and cred. Keene; enl. Dec. 5, '61; must, in Dec. 5, '61, as priv.; disch. Apr. 
23, '63, New Berne, N. C. Also, Co. B. 13th Reg. V. R. C; b. New York; age 
"44"; cred. to Keene; enl. Dec. 23, '63; must, in Dec. 23, '63, as priv.; dis. Nov. 
15, '65, Boston, Mass. He rem. to Surry about 1854 and a yr. later sett, in 
Keene where he died 1873. 

ROBBINS, Isaiah Jr. Co. F. 5th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; drafted; b. Surry; 
age 23; res. and cred. to Keene; entd. service Oct. 9, '63; must, in Oct. 9, '63, 
as priv.; wd. June 3, '64, Cold Harbor, Va.; disch. disab. May 28, '65, Man- 
chester, N. H. Also 1 Unattchd. Co. Mass. Cav. (became Read's Co. 3, Mass. 
Cav.) ; b. Surry; age 22; res. Keene; enl. Sept. 27, '61, for 3 yrs.; must, in 
Sept. 27, '61, as corpl. disch. disab. July 15, '62, New Orleans, La. He sett, in 
Nashua, N. H., where he died 1908. 

RUGG, Charles E. Co. I. 9th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 18; cred. 
to Keene; enl. Aug. 8, '62; must, in Aug. 16, '62, as priv.; app. sergt.; Q. 
M. sergt. Feb. 13, '64; must, out June 10, '65. Died in Keene Oct. 31, '66. 

RUGG, Sewall F. Co. E. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. in Keene; age 26; res. 
and cred. to Keene; enl. Feb. 17, '65, for 1 yr. ; must, in Feb. 17, '65, as priv.; 
must, out July 8, '65. He res. in Surry when a young man and brother of 
Charles E., above. He now res. (1919) in Chesterfield. He served as clerk 
to the regimental quartermaster, Fred C. Webster. Died Nov. 9, 1922, at 
Chesterfield, N. H. 



War of the Rebellion 125 

-|- SMITH, James H. Co. E. 6th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Orange, Mass.; 
age 20; res. and cred. to Keene; enl. Nov. 9, '61; must, in Nov. 28, '61, as 
priv.; wd. Aug. 29, '62, Bull Run, Va.; disch. disab. Dec. 28, '63. He re-enl. Co. 
24th Reg. V. R. C; cred. to Surry; age 23; enl. Sept. 2, '64; must, in Sept. 
2, '64, as priv.; disch. Nov. 14, '65, Washington, D. C. Res. after war in 
Keene and died 1914 in Swanzey. 

-I- SPAULDING, Henry D. Co. A. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Sullivan; 
age 23; res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 13, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as 
priv. Died dis. July 11, '64, Natchez, Miss. He res. in Surry a few yrs. prior 
to his enl. 

STONE, Rufus H. Born in Surry; enl. in 21st Reg. Mass. V. Inf. He 
came home to Surry, was taken sick with small-pox and died Feb. 24, 1864; 
age 26 yrs. 

TOWNSEND, Charles P. Of Alstead; was capt. of 77th Artillery Battery, 
Ohio, Vol. He was living at, and enlisted from, Richfield, 0. 

WHITMAN, George H. Co. A. 2nd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Richmond; age 
19; enl. Apr. 25, '61, for 3 mos. ; not must, in; paid by state; re-enl. May 22, 
'61, for 3 yrs.; must, in May 31, '61, as priv.; captd. July 21, '61, Bull Run, 
Va.; disch. disab. Oct. 18, '62. Also, Co. C. 2nd R. I. Cav.; res. Richmond; age 
20; enl. Dec. 11, '62, for three yrs.; must, in Dec. 12, '62, as priv.; tr. to 1st 
La. Cav. Aug. 24, '63; to Co. K. 3rd R. I. Cav. Jan. 14, '64; app. corpl.; app. 
sergt.; disch. disab. July 5, '65. He res. in Surry before and after the war and 
died there 1867 from dis. contracted in the war. 

WILBUR, Chandler A. Co. C. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; res. and 
cred. to Walpole; enl. Aug. 18, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as priv.; trn. to 
Co. F. Nov. 1, '62; disch. disab. May 23, '63, Philadelphia, Pa. He re-enl. Co. A. 
1st Reg. N. H. V. Cav.; cred. to Walpole; enl. Mar. 15, '64; must, in Mar. 15, 
'64, as priv.; must, out July 15, '65. Res. Orford, N. H.; rem. to Troy, N. H., 
where he died. 

WILBUR, George F. Co. B. 1st Reg. N. H. V. Cav.; b. 1848; age 18; res. 
and cred. Jaffrey; enl. Mar. 29, '64; must, in Mar. 29, '64; as priv.; captd. 
Dec. 21, '64, Lacey's Springs, Va.; paroled Feb. 17, '65; must, out July 15, '65. 
Died in Walpole, Apr. 22, '73. He lived in Surry during early life with his 
parents, and brothers. Chandler A. and Henry L., who served in the war. 

WILBUR, Henry L. Co. F. 14th Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 26; res. 
and cred. to Winchester, N. H.; enl. Aug. 14, '62; must, in Sept. 23, '62, as 
priv.; disch. disab. Aug. 25, '63, Concord, N. H. After the war he res. in 
Swanzey, Surry for many years, then in edge of Keene where he died very 
suddenly, 1902. The officer who made out his discharge paper at the close of 
his service in the war wrote his name "Wilber," a form which Mr. Wilber 
afterward used. 

WILDER, Daniel. Co. B. 9th Reg. Vt. V. Inf.; b. E. Wallingford, Vt.; age 
19; enl. June 16, '62; disch. June 22, '65, Burlington, Vt. He rem. from Wal- 
lingsford to Surry, 1881, and to Keene 1900, where he now (1920) resides. 

WOODWARD, John A. Co. G. 14th N. H. V. Inf.; b. Surry; age 21; res. 



126 History of Surry 

Surry; cred. to Keene; enl. Aug. 27, '62; must, in Sept. 24, '62, as corpl. Died 
of disease Aug. 18, *64, New York City. 

-|- WRIGHT, William H. Co. I. 3rd Reg. N. H. V. Inf.; b. Norwich 
Mass.; age 25; res. and cred. to Surry; enl. Aug. 21, '61; must, in Aug. 24, 
'61, as priv. ; re-enl. and must, in Jan. 1, '64, from Keene; app. corpl. June 26, 
'64; sergt. Mar. 21, '65; must, out July 20, '65. He came to Surry before the 
war and continued to res. here until 1904 when he met instant death by a 
falling tree. 

WYMAN, Samuel E. Co. B. 14th N. H. V. Inf.; res. Walpole; age 31; enl. 
July 28, '62; must, in Sept. 22, '62, as priv.; dis. at Concord, Oct. 15, 1862. In 
the N. H. Register he is given as credited to Walpole, but from a paper found 
among other town papers, his receipt shows he received on Sept. 26, 1862, 
$125.00 from the selectmen of Surry for services as a volunteer for a term 
of three years. He probably was unfit for service as he was discharged in 
Oct. as stated. 

The following residents of Surry were on the U. S. pension roll in 1883 : 

I. John A. Blake received |18.00 per month. 

11. Fred'k F. Britton received $14.00 per month. 

III. Henry L. Wilber received $14.00 per month. 

IV. William H. Wright received $8.00 per month. 

V. Mrs. Betsey Smith received $8.00 per month. (1812 war). 

The following interesting account abridged of John Langdon Britton (in- 
cluding his picture) appeared in the Boston Globe, Mar. 27, 1894: 

DANCED HIGHLAND FLING 

At 89. 

John Langdon Britton of Springfield, at 56 went to War as a Drummer, 
and still drums for the Veterans of the G. A. R. 

A remarkable case of longevity is that of John Langdon Britton of 
this city, who dances the Highland Fling at 89, and plays the reveille 
on the drum. He was born in Chesterfield, N. H., April 25, 1805; was 
son of a cobbler and farmer, who named him for John Langdon, an 
early governor of New Hampshire. 

His early school days were spent in Surry; he finished his education 
under the rule of Prof. Edward P. Harris in Chesterfield, academy, 
whom he remembered as an argus-eyed pedagogue. In those days boys 
were obliged to milk the cows, feed the pigs and carry in enough wood 
to keep the fires roaring, all of which was a small part of the things 
that went under the common category of doing "chores for one's board." 

He picked up his goods and chatties and went to Boston when a 
young man, where he worked in an iron industry. Later he followed 
the same calling in some of the suburb towns of the city — in all for a 
period of nearly 25 years. 

While living in Boston he saw Lafayette lay the corner stone of 
Bunker Hill monument, and later, when the women raised money to 



War of the Rebellion 127 

build the monument higher, ,he heard the oration of Daniel Webster. 
In 1861, he says : 

"I enlisted in Co. A. 2nd Regiment New Hampshire Vol. Infantry, 
and went to war as a drummer, participating in the battle of Wil- 
liamsburg. Late in Dec. 1861, while camping with Gen, Hooker's brig- 
ade at Hilltop on the Potomac river, my tent was blown over in the 
night, which left me exposed to the weather. With me were two drum- 
mers and a fifer who were N. H. boys. The wetting which I received 
made me lame, so that I now have to carry a cane. Henry White and 
Henry Holton, my companions in the tent, came down with the malarial 
fever as a result of the exposure, and the former died within three 
weeks. 

"In 1862 I was honorably discharged on account of lameness, and re- 
enlisted, 1863 in Co. F. 13th Reg. Veteran Reserve Corps, which was 
stationed at Concord, N. H. After Lee surrendered I was honorably 
discharged for disability, and have since received a pension of $16.00 
per month. I was promoted to drum major of Hooker's brigade, which 
was composed of the 1st and 11th Massachusetts regiments; the 2nd N. 
H. regiment, and the 26th Pennsylvania. 

"The morning after the battle of Williamsburg, I was detailed with 
others to pick up the dead and bear them to their resting places. 

"I saw there three dead rebels in the entrenchment that Washington 
dug when he seized Yorktown. At that time the entrenchment was very 
pronounced showing plainly Washington's manner of throwing up de- 
fences. 

"Abijah Benton (of Surry), my grandfather, was drum major under 
Washington at Yorktown ^nd Williamsburg. He taught me to play 
the drum when I was 10 years old. Years ago I taught the Harvard 
college students to dance as well as teaching dancing classes in Boston, 
Roxbury, Brighton and Clinton. Then I went to California and taught 
dancing, but after a time returned to Surry, where I conducted a farm 
until two years ago, when I came to Springfield, where I have since 
lived at 163 Florence St., with my son, Frederick H. Britton, who also 
went to the war. 

"Most everybody in Boston and vicinity in those days knew John 
Britton, where I beat the drum for 25 years in independent companies. 
For some time I belonged to the Ancient and Honorable artillery com- 
pany and several times played the drum for that organization. 

"I was taught to dance the Highland fling, the sailors' hornpipe asd 
the minuet on a theatre stage in Boston by Walburn, who was after- 
wards manager of the Drury Lane theatre, London. He was given a 
benefit, at which I made my first appearance as a public dancer." 

By a special act of congress in Dec. 1896, Maj. Britton was granted a pen- 
sion of $30.00 per month. During the national encampment of the G. A. R. 
in Boston in 1896, he marched in the parade over the entire length of the 
route. He died in Keene, May 3, 1898, and was buried in Surry. 

The following was written by a Surry soldier, some years since, of his per- 



128 History of Surry 

sonal experience in the defence of the city of Washington, dui'ing the last 
year of the war: 

"When I enlisted in 1864, we all expected to be ordered to the front 
at Petersburg, but on arriving at Washington, our regiment — the 1st 
N. H. Heavy Artillery — was ordered to report at Fort Slocum, one of 
the forts in the defences of Washington, taking the place in part of an 
older artillery regiment which was sent to join the Army of the Poto- 
mac, and here we remained in the different fortifications until the close 
of the war. Our duties consisted in guarding the forts about the city 
and drilling, both in infantry and artillery; this was much less stren- 
uous than active service near the enemy. It became evident in the win- 
ter of '64-'65, that the war was nearing the end, which came early in 
April. It was a glad day for the Northern army, and I think for the 
Southern as well for we could now return to our homes and friends. 

"Immediately following Lee's surrender, the orders came to each of 
the forts surrounding the city of Washington — some thirty in number — 
to celebrate the event by firing a salute of 34 guns. One for each of 
the states of the re-united Union. The first fort to take hand in this 
glorious celebration was one several miles below the city, on the Mary- 
land side of the Potomac; then the next took up the salute, and so on, 
until it came our turn, and then it jumped the Potomac river and con- 
tinued down the other side past Alexandria, and finally died at the last 
fort below that city. 

"On the evening of April 14th occurred the saddest event and the 
greatest tragedy of the whole war — the assassination of our president, 
whom the boys in Blue had come to love as a father. How well I recall 
the intense excitement; the indignation and deep sorrow which per- 
vaded the army and nation. Each fort about the city was notified soon 
after the event and at eleven p. m., the men were ordered to leave the 
barracks and enter the forts and remain until morning. 

"The first thought of the authorities was that a large number of con- 
spirators might have entered Washington secretly with designs upon 
the lives of all our officials. The next morning came orders to place 
guards at short intervals on the rifle pits leading from fort to fort with 
instructions to allow no one to pass out on any pretext whatever; which 
orders remained in force for about three days. 

"On the day of the president's funeral, I obtained leave of absence 
for a short time and was one of the procession which passed in at the 
eastern front of the capitol, past the casket, and out at the western. It 
was a solemn and impressive scene. 

"The war now over, steps were taken for the disbanding of the troops. 
The Army of the Potomac began assembling in the vicinity of Wash- 
ington soon bein'g followed by that of Gen. Sherman. It has long been 
the custom of nations to celebrate the return of its victorious armies in 
some impressive manner, and so it was determined at this time that 
each army should pass in general review on Pennsylvania avenue from 
the capitol to past the reviewing stand in front of the White House. 

"On May the 20th the Army of the Potomac occupied the day, and 



World War 129 

made a splendid appearance; on the day following the army of Gen. 
Sherman. The latter it was my pleasure to witness. Well do I remem- 
ber standing on the steps of the Treasury building and seeing Gen. 
Sherman, accompanied by his staff, all finely mounted, advance up the 
avenue at the head of his army. It was an inspiring sight, never to be 
forgotten by me. I soon changed my position for one opposite the 
reviewing stand which was in front of the White House. As each 
brigade approached led by its band, the band would file out one side and 
play martial music while its brigade passed. One Wisconsin regiment 
carried the noted war eagle, "Old Abe," who had participated in many 
battles, and now reposes in stuffed form in the state capitol of Wiscon- 
sin. 

"On the reviewing stand were many of the leading men of the na- 
tion: Generals Grant, Sherman, Hooker, Hancock, Jefferson C. Davis 
and others; also President Johnson, Secretary Seward, Stanton, Wells 
and many other members of the president's cabinet, and members of 
the diplomatic corps representing their countries in Washington. This 
review was a fitting termination of the war, and has its place in our 
country's great historical events. 

"In September 1915, half a century later, Civil war veterans from 
all parts of our country once again, and for the last time, passed in 
review over that same avenue. One of the men who enlisted from 
Surry participated in this last review, and he is the author of the rem- 
iniscences above." — E. A. K., Keene. 

WORLD WAR 

The causes which forced the United States to enter this war in 1917 are 
too well known for a review here. It came after years of preparation on the 
part of Kaiser William II, the barbaric war lord of Germany and his Pots- 
dam associates; after they had plundered, raped and slaughtered Belgium 
and part of France; after they had deliberately crucified Great Britain; after 
they had through their spy and pro-German system conceived a plan for the 
invasion of the United States; after they had defied and insulted our nation, 
and murdered its citizens, only to be finally crushed by the bravery and valor 
of the boys in khaki. 

The following is a list of men connected with this town who served in the 
World war, although some enlisted from and were credited to other places : 

BRITTON, Frank Clark. Son of Edward M.; b. in Surry Aug. 9, 1898; 
enl. May 9, 1917 from Surry as a private in the Field Artillery at Ft. Ethan 
Allen, Vt. ; trans, to Ft. Sam Houston, Tex., where he arr. May 19, and \Hhere 
he was in training until sent to Camp Merritt, N. J.; embarked Apr. 22, 1918 
on the transport Huron, at which time he was a member of the Headquarters,, 
3rd Artillery Brigade, 3rd Division of Regulars. 

This boat was disabled and returned to port in two or three days; Apr. 29, 
he re-embarked on the transport Kroonland and landed at St. Nazaire, 
France May 13; were sent to Guer, Fr. and immediately went into training; 
July 1, was trans, to the 76th Field Artillery and sent to the front. Entered 



130 History of Surry 

action at Chezy July 6th; on Aug. 2, was relieved and sent to Grandecourt — 
a rest camp — for two weeks. 

He entered the St. Mihiel sector about Sept. 2, where he remained in action 
until the 27th, then transferred to the Argonne Forest, and where he re- 
mained in action until the armistice was signed, Nov. 11, 1918. On Nov. 12, 
the artillery was sent forward to Mayen, Germany and here he remained un- 
til Jan. 8, when on account of disability he was sent to the hospital. 

May 27, he embarked on the transport Susquehanna at Bordeaux, France, 
and arrived at Newport News, Va., June 9, and was discharged at Camp 
Devens, Mass., June 21, 1919. He was engaged in the Second Battle of 
Mai-ne; St. Mihiel and Argonne Forest. Res. Surry. 

GRAIN, Robert Mason. Son of Herbert R. Grain; b. in Surry July 24, 
1893; enl. from Springfield, Mass., July 25, 1918 in Go. H. 74th Reg. 12th Di- 
vision; an instructor in wrestling; was stationed at Gamp Devens, Mass., 
during his brief service; was dis. Feb. 24, 1919, and returned to Surry, where 
he has lived practically all his life. 

DURANT, Lewis Agustard. Son of Joseph Durant, b. in Troy, N. H., Feb. 
1, 1886. He was in the service; went overseas, was cook in the Headquar- 
ters camp while in France. He res. in Surry a few years. Res. 1919 in Gil- 
sum where he is employed in a steam saw mill. (The writer has failed in his 
attempt to get a more complete record of this man's service). 

DURANT, William Napoleon. Son of Joseph Durant; b. in Harrisville, 
Feb. 12, 1895. He was drafted in W. W. and ent. U. S. service at Keene, June 
28, 1918; sent to Camp Devens, Mass.; thence to Gamp Upton, N. Y., Dec. 
1918 where was in training until he returned to Camp Devens where he was 
dis. May 28, 1919. He saw no actual service. Res. 1920 in Keene, and in this 
town prior to the war. Is a brother of Lewis A., above. 

JACKSON, Lewis Edward, Son of Edward E. Jackson; b. in Grafton, Vt., 
Aug. 24, 1890. He was registered while living at Okanogan, Wash. He re- 
turned East in 1917 and early in 1918 came to Surry where he res. until 
drafted, Aug. 29, 1918, from Okanogan; entered the service at Bellows Falls 
and went to Camp Devens, where he was placed in the Depot Brigade; in Oc- 
tober was trans, to the Veterinary Corps, Camp Hill, Newport News, Va. On 
Nov. 1, 1918 went on a transport to St. Nazaire, France with a ship load of 
671 horses, 300 men and 25 Veterinai-y men. He returned to America soon 
after and arrived at Newport News, Va., Dec. 23, 1918; was dis. from the 
service Jan. 9, 1919. Has since res. at Keene and Springfield, Vt. 

KELLER, Ralph Henshaw. Son of Jasper N. Keller; b. at Ogden, Utah, 
June 18, 1879; he ent. the W. W. as a Vol.; was commissioned 1st Lieut. Sig- 
\nal Reserve Corps, June 22, 1917; ent. active service July 20, at Camp Vail, 
Little Silver, N. J.; Oct. 5, trans, to Gamp. Devens, Mass., and took com- 
mand Go. E. 401 Telegraph Battalion; Oct. 14, ordered to Hoboken, N. J.; 
embarked 17th, on the transport Pastores and arrived at St. Nazaire, Fr. Nov. 
1, then immediately sent to Paris. Here Capt. Keller was placed on the staff 
of the chief signal officer. He was engineer and supervised the building of 



World War 131 

long distance telegraph and telephone lines from the base ports to Tours, 
Chaumont and Paris. 

July 24, 1918, he was ordered to report to the chief signal officer, 1st Amer- 
ican army in the Chateau Thierry sector; Jan. 15, was trans, to Marseilles, 
Fr. as chief signal officer of Base Section No. 6. He embarked at Brest on the 
transport Leviathan, May 22, 1919, and arrived at Hoboken, N. J.; was mus- 
tered out of service May 25, as major of Signal Corps U. S. Army. He was 
engaged during the St. Mihiel and Argonne Forest operations. 

The following is from Col. Hitt's recommendation of Capt. Keller for pro- 
motion : 

1. During the St. Mihiel operation this officer was in charge of the 
operations division of the office of the chief signal officer, 1st Army, and 
was responsible for the excellent and rapid construction of the wire 
lines necessary to carry out this operation. He showed tact and execu- 
tive ability in the manner in which he handled the two Telegraph Battal- 
ions and one Field Signal Battalion under his direction and a knowl- 
edge of practical telephone engineering that moi'e than qualifies him to 
hold the next higher grade. 

2. During the Argonne-Meuse operations this officer's knowledge and 
practical ability were of the greatest service in the rearrangement of 
the wire lines of the 2nd French Army and the efficient operation of the 
telephone and telegraph plant at Army Headquarters. 

Maj. Keller has been a res. of Surry since 1916, where he spends several 
weeks during each year. 

PERKINS, Clarence Edgar. Son of Charles Wallace Perkins; b. in Surry, 
July 31, 1895; enl. from Surry June 15, 1918 and entered the Dartmouth 
college detachment where he was assigned to the Motor Transport Corps; was 
trans, to Camp Joseph E. Johnston at Jacksonville, Fla., where he arrived 
Aug. 22; then sent to Camp Merritt (near Hoboken), N. J., where he arrived 
Sept. 12; on 23rd embarked on the transport. Great Northern, and arrived 
at Brest, France, Sept. 30, at which time he was a private in the M. T. C. He 
entered active service Oct. 8, transporting by motor truck, hospital and quar- 
termaster's supplies, usually in charge of a five-ton Packard truck. Frequent- 
ly he was in constant service from 15 to 22 hours daily, in and near Longers, 
Fr., and where he remained until about Nov. 3, when taken ill, and sent to 
the hospital, thence to the Casualty camp at Toul, then trans, to the 159th 
Infantry, 40th Division. He embarked Mar. 23, at Bordeaux, France, on the 
transport Edgar F. Leukenbach and arrived at Hoboken Apr. 6, and was dis- 
charged at Camp Devens, Mass., Apr. 17, 1919 as a private; Casual M. T. 
C, 517, Co. A. 159th Infantry, 40th Division. Returned to Surry. 

STILLINGS, Lee Chamberlain. Son of Samuel V. Stillings; b. in Keene, 
Oct. 7, 1869; came to Surry when a child and resided here until a young man. 
He was graduated in 1893 from the University of Vermont with the degree 
of M. D. For several years he was in practice in Philadelphia and in the 
merchant marine service, acting in foreign countries. On the outbreak of 
the World war he volunteered Apr. 15, 1917; being credited to Alstead, the 
home of his wife; he was appointed captain of the Medical Corps May 27, 



132 History of Surry 

1917; assigned to active service June 24; was at Plattsburg, N. Y., and other 
camps, his last assignment being at Camp Pike, Arkansas, where he was chief 
of service at the base hospital. Capt. Stillings was discharged from the ser- 
vice in August 1919, and on Oct. 9th, following he was commissioned major. 
He is now (1920) stationed at Parkview, Penn., in the U. S. Public Health 
Service, as surgeon in charge of the Government hospital. 

The following is from Col. L. A. Fuller's recommendations of Capt. L. C. 
Stillings for promotion: 

Capt. Lee C. Stillings, M. C. 
He was assigned to active service June 24, 1917, his original assign- 
ment being at Plattsburg Barracks, N. Y. In civil life Capt. Stillings 
was an expert in internal medicine and Neuro-psychiatry. 

He has been prominently identified in three public institutions, for the 
cure of nervous and mental diseases. These are : Pennsylvania State 
hospital, Danville, Penn., Northern Michigan asylum, Travis City, 
Mich., and Channing hospital, Boston, Mass. Since entering the ser- 
vice Capt. Stillings has received an intensive course in mental and ner- 
vous diseases at the Neurological institute, New York City. Capt. Stil- 
lings joined for duty at the base hospital. Camp Pike, Ark., June 6, 
1918. Upon arriving at that station he was assigned as chief of neuro- 
psychiatric service, and president of the S. C. D. board, as well as be- 
ing camp examiner in nervous and mental diseases. He has continued 
in this assignment and has given complete satisfaction. In the hand- 
ling of the mental and nervous examinations of prisoners, Capt. Still- 
ings has performed with rare judgment and executive ability, co-oper- 
ating well with all officers concerned, both in the hospital and camp. 

By L. A. Fuller, colonel. Medical Corps, and commanding officer of 
the base hospital. Camp Pike, June 9, 1919; to The Surgeon General, 
U. S. Army, Washington, D. C. 
STILLINGS, James Vinton. A brother of preceding, served as chainnan of 
the Liberty Loan drive in Surry, during the World war. 

PORTER, Miss Kate H. She was in charge of the Red Cross work in town 
during and after the war. 

LIBERTY LOANS 

Surry's loyalty during the World war in loans has been furnished by James 
V. Stillings, Chairman Liberty Loan committee : 

First Loan, $350.00 subscribed. No quota asked. 

Second " 1700.00 

Third " 13,450.00 Quota, $4000.00. No. subscribers, 49. 

Fourth " 10,300.00 " 8100.00. " " 37. 

Fifth " 10,550.00 " " " 28. 

ELLIOT COMMUNITY HOSPITAL. 

During the fall of 1921 a drive was made in Cheshire county for the new 
Elliot Community hospital at Keene. James V. Stillings was appointed cap- 
tain of Surry team. The result of the campaign follows: 

Surry's quota, $1500.00; amount subscribed, $1516.00; No. subscribers, 44. 



CHAPTER IX. 

TOWN, COUNTY AND STATE OFFICERS, TOWN TOPICS, MISCEL- 
LANEOUS ITEMS. 



TOWN OFFICERS FROM 1769 TO 1922 





* Moderator. 


Town Clerk 


1769. 


Peter Hay ward 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1770. 


John Marvin 


Joshua Darte 


1771. 


Obadiah Wilcox 


Joshua Darte 


1772. 


Obadiah Wilcox 


Joshua Darte 


1773. 


John Marvin 


Joshua Darte 


1774. 


John Marvin 


Joshua Darte 


1775. 


John Marvin 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1776. 


Thomas Darte 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1777. 


Thomas Darte 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1778. 


John Marvin 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1779. 


John Marvin 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1780. 


John Marvin 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1781. 


John Marvin 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1782. 


John Marvin. 


Lemuel Holmes 


1783. 


Thomas Harvey 


Lemuel Holmes 


1784. 


Obadiah Wilcox 


Lemuel Holmes 


1785. 


Thomas Harvey 


Lemuel Holmes 


1786. 


John Marvin 


Lemuel Holmes 


1787. 


Thomas Harvey 


. Lemuel Holmes 


1788. 


Obadiah Wilcox 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1789. 


Zebulon Streeter 


Obadiah Wilcox 


1790. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Jonathan Carpenter 


1791. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Jonathan Carpenter 


1792. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Jonathan Carpenter 


1793. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Jonathan Carpenter 


1794. 


John McCurdy 


Jonathan Carpenter 


1795. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Eli Dart 


1796. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Eli Dart 


1797. 


John McCurdy 


Eli Dart 


1798. 


John McCurdy 


Eli Dart 


1799. 


John McCurdy 


Eli Dart 


1800. 


Asa Hancock 


Eli Dart 


1801. 


Lemuel Holmes 


Eli Dart 


1802. 


Nathan Estabrook 


Eli Dart 


1803. 


Nathan Estabrook 


Eli Dart 


1804. 


Nathan Estabrook 


Eli Dart 



Treasurer. 
Obadiah Wilcox 
The Selectmen 
The Selectmen 
Not given 
Joshua Darte 
Not given 
Not given 
Not given 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Lemuel Holmes 
Lemuel Holmes 
Lemuel Holmes 
Lemuel Holmes 
Lemuel Holmes 
Lemuel Holmes 
Obadiah WMlcox 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Jonathan Robinson 
Jonathan Robinson 
Jonathan Robinson 
Jonathan Robinson 
Jonathan Robinsoii 
Samuel Allen 
Samuel Allen 
Samuel Allen 
Samuel Allen 
Samuel Allen 
Samuel Allen 



*The moderator elected at the annual March meeting is here given. 



134 



History of Surry 



Moderator 

1805. Asahel Harvey 

1806. Ashahel Harvey 

1807. Asahel Harvey 

1808. Asahel Harvey 

1809. Samuel Hills 

1810. Asahel Harvey 

1811. Asahel Harvey 

1812. Samuel Hills 

1813. Samuel Hills 

1814. Samuel Hills 

1815. Samuel Hills 

1816. David Shaw 

1817. David Shaw 

1818. David Shaw 

1819. Elijah Fuller 

1820. Elijah Fuller 

1821. Samuel Hills 

1822. Francis Holbrook 

1823. Francis Holbrook 

1824. Francis Holbrook 

1825. Francis Holbrook 

1826. Francis Holbrook 

1827. Francis Holbrook 

1828. Jonathan E. Davis 

1829. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1830. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1831. Sylvester Smith * 

1832. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1833. Francis Holbrook 

1834. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1835. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1836. Francis Holbrook 

1837. Benjamin Hills 

1838. Benjamin Hills 

1839. Benjamin Hills 

1840. Benjamin Hills 

1841. Benjamin Hills 

1842. Francis Holbrook 

1843. James Davis 

1844. Henry Britton 

1845. Addison Smith 

1846. Benjamin Hills 

1847. Francis Holbrook 

1848. Benjamin Hills 

1849. Benjamin Hills 

1850. George W. Holbrook 



Town Clerk. 


Treasurer 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Eli Dart 


Samuel Allen 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Allen 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Allen 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Allen 


Asahel 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe] 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Elijah Fuller 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Hills 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahel 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe: 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Asahel Harvey 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Robinson 


Asahe 


Harvey 


Samuel Robinson 


Asahel 


Harvey 


Benjamin Hills 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Chaiies Johnson 


Jonath 


an Robinson, 


Jr. Benjamin Hills 


Jonath 


an Robinson, 


Jr. Benjamin Hills 


Jonath 


an Robinson, 


Jr. Francis Holbrook 


Horace 


; B. Shaw 


Francis Holbrook 


Horace 


; B. Shaw 


Jonathan Robinson, Jr 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Hollis Wilcox 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Elijah Holbrook 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Elijah Holbrook 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Hollis Wilcox 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Henry T. Ellis 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Elijah H. Hartwell 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Arvin Britton 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Jonathan Harvey, Jr. 


Elipha 


let Dort 


Henry T. Ellis 



*Sylvester Smitli who was elected declined to serve and Jonathan Robinson, Jr., was 
elected in his place. 



Town Officers 



135 





Moderator 


Town Clerk 


Treasurer 


1851. 


Geoi-ge W. Holbrook 


Eliphalet Dort 


Almond Stevens 


1852. 


Joseph Allen, 2d 


Eliphalet Dort 


Jonathan Harvey, Jr. 


1853. 


Elijah Holbrook 


Eliphalet Dort 


Almond Stevens 


1854. 


Elijah Holbrook 


Eliphalet Dort 


Almond Stevens 


1855. 


Nathan D. Reed 


George K. Harvey 


Joshua D. Blake 


1856. 


George W. Holbrook 


Eliphalet Dort 


Almond Stevens 


1857. 


George W. Holbrook 


William H. Porter 


George K. Harvey 


1858. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George K. Harvey 


1859. 


George W. Holbrook 


William H. Porter 


Willard Streeter 


1860. 


Isaac Brown 


Hollis Wilcox 


Willard Streeter 


1861. 


Isaac Brown 


Hollis Wilcox 


Hollis Wilcox 


1862. 


George W. Holbrook 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1863. 


Isaac Brown 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1864. 


George W. Holbrook 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1865. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1866. 


George W. Holbrook 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1867. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1868. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1869, 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George Wilcox 


1870. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George K. Harvey 


1871. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


Hollis Wilcox 


1872. 


Isaac Brown 


William H. Porter 


Willard Streeter 


1873. 


Isaac Brown 


Hollis Wilcox 


Hermon 0. Streeter 


1874. 


Isaac Brown 


William H. Porter 


Hermon 0. Streeter 


1875. 


Isaac Brown 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1876. 


Isaac Brown 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1877. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1878. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1879. 


Asa B. Fay 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1880. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1881. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1882. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


William H. Porter 


1883. 


George K. Harvey 


William H. Porter 


George K. Harvey 


1884. 


John H. Rogers 


Wesley F. Wilbur 


Mason A. Carpenter 


1885. 


George K. Harvey 


Wesley F. Wilbur 


Mason A. Carpenter 


1886. 


George • K. Harvey 


Wesley F. Wilbur 


George B. Britton 


1887. 


George K. Harvey 


^William H, Porter 


George B. Britton 


1888. 


George K. Harvey 


Wesley F. Wilbur 


George B. Britton 


1889. 


George K. Harvey 


fLaForest J. Carpenter 


William H. Porter 


1890. 


George K. Harvey 


Wesley F. Wilbur 


William H. Porter 


1891. 


John H. Rogers 


§W^esley F. Wilbur 


Frank E. Nesmith 


1892. 


John H. Rogers 


Cyrus Kingsbury 


George K. Harvey 


1893. 


George K. Harvey 


Cyrus Kingsbury 


George K. Harvey 


1894. 


George K. Harvey 


Cyrus Kingsbury 


George K. Harvey 



*Mr. Porter declinetl and Wesley F. Wilbur was then elected Town Clerk. 

tMr. Carpenter resigned and Cyrus Kingsbury apiminted Mar. 2;i, 1H89. 

§Mr. Wilbur removed from town and Cyrus Kingsbury appointed Sept. 3, 1891. 



136 



History of Surry 





Moderator 


Town 


Clerk 


1895. 


George K. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kin 


igsbury 


1896. 


George K. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1897. 


George K. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1898. 


Mason A. 


Carpenter 


Cyrus 


Kir 


[gsbury 


1899. 


Mason A. 


Carpenter 


Cyrus 


Kir 


Igsbury 


1900. 


Mason A. 


Carpenter 


Cyrus 


Kir 


Igsbury 


1901. 


MasQn A. 


Carpenter 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1902. 


Mason A. 


Carpenter 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


190S. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kir 


Igsbury 


1904. 


Mollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kir 


Igsbury 


1905. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1906. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1907. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1908. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Cyrus 


Kingsbury 


1909. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


fCyrus 


Kingsbury 


1910. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1911. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1912. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1913. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1914. 


Hollis W. 


Karvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1915. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1916. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1917. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1918. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1919. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1920. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1921. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 


1922. 


Hollis W. 


Harvey 


Myron 


H. 


Porter 



Treasurer 
George K. Harvey 
George K. Harvey 
George K. Harvey 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Luman M. Carpenter 

* Luman M. Carpenter 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
Frank E. Nesmith 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
George B. Britton 
Frank E. Nesmith 
Frank E. Nesmith 
Frank E. Nesmith 
Frank E. Nesmith 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Sidney J. Wilder 

§ Sidney J. Wilder 
Hollis W. Harvey 
Hollis W. Harvey 
James E. Harvey 



SELECTMEN 



1769. Obadiah Wilcox 
John Marvin 
Peter Hayw^ard 

1770. John Marvin 
Joshua Dart 
Peter Hayw^ard 

1771. John Marvin 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Thomas Harvey 

1772. Obadiah Wilcox 
Peter Hayw^ard 
Thomas Harvey 



1773. Joshua Darte 
Obadiah Wilcox 
John Marvin 

1774. John Marvin 
Joshua Dart 
Eliphalet Dart 

1775. Obadiah Wilcox 
John Marvin 
Eliphalet Dart 

1776. Obadiah Wilcox 
Thomas Harvey 
Thomas Dart 



*Mr. Carpenter deceased, George B. Britton appointed July 27, ]901. 
tMr. Kingsbiiry resigned, Myron H. Porter appointed Oct. 4, 1909. 
§Mr. Wilder declined and TTollis W. Harvey was elected. 



Town Officers 



137 



1777. Joshua Dart 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Thomas Dart 

1778. John Marvin 
Thomas Harvey 
Hiram Chapin 

1779. Obadiah Wilcox 
Thomas Harvey 
Hiram Chapin 

1780. John Marvin 
Joshua Dart 
Moses D. Field 

1781. William Russell 
Thomas Harvey 
Peter Hayward 

1782. Lemuel Holmes 
John Marvin 
Moses D. Field 

1783. Thomas Harvey 
William Barron 
Joshua Fuller 

1784. William Barron 
Jonathan Reed 
Nathan Hayward 

1785. Thomas Harvey 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Jonathan Reed 

1786. Thomas Harvey 
William Barron 
Moses D. Field 

1787. Thomas Harvey 
William Barron 
Asa Hancock 

1788. Obadiah Wilcox 
Nathan Hayward 
Asa Hancock 
Philip Monroe 
Jonathan Carpenter 

1789. Jonathan Carpenter 
Nathan Hayward 
Zebulon Streeter 

1790. Lemuel Holmes 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Nathan Hayward 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 

1791. Jonathan Carpenter 
Levi Fuller 
John McCurdy 

1792. Jonathan Carpenter 
Levi Fuller 
John McCurdy 

1793. Thomas Harvey 
Samuel Hills 
Asa Wilcox 

1794. Lemuel Holmes 
Jonathan Carpenter 
Samuel Hills 

1795. Jonathan Carpenter 
Sainuel Hills 
Nathan Hayward 

1796. Samuel Hills 
Nathan Hayward 
Asa Hancock 



1797. Samuel Hills 
Nathan Hayward 
Asahel Harvey 

1798. Samuel Hills 
Nathan Hayward 
Asahel Harvey 

1799. Samuel Hills 
Nathan Hayward 
Calvin Hayward 

1800. Samuel Hills 
Asa Hancock 
Sarel Hayward 

1801. Jonathan Robinson 
Sarel Hayward 
Samuel Hills 

1802. Samuel Hills 
Nathan Estabrook 
Calvin Hayward 

1803. Samuel Hills 
Asahel Harvey 
Nathan Estabrook 

1804. Nathan Estabrook 
Asahel Harvey 
Simon Baxter 

1805. Samuel Hills 
Asahel Harvey 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 



138 



History of Surry 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 



1806. Samuel Hills 
Asahel Harvey 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 

1807. Samuel Hills 
Asahel Harvey 
Eli Dort 

1808. Samuel Hills 
Asahel Harvey 
Eli Dort 

1809. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
Levi Hancock 

1810. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
Levi Hancock 

1811. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
John Thayer 

1812. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
Levi Hancock 

1813. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
Levi Hancock 

1814. Samuel Hills 
Eli Dort 
Jonas Pollard 

1815. Samuel Hills 
Jonas Pollard 
David Shaw 

1816. Jonas Pollard 
David Shaw 
Francis Holbrook 

1817. Jonas Pollard 
David Shaw 
Francis Holbrook 

1818. Jonas Pollard 
David Shaw 
Isaac Field 

1819. Eli Dort 
Royal Watkins 
Josiah Knight 



1820. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
IcHabod Crane 

1821. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Jonas Pollard 

1822. FrAncis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Jonas Pollard 

1823. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Samuel Robinson 

1824. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Samuel Robinson 

1825. Francis Holbrook 
Samuel Robinson 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 

1826. Francis Holbrook 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 
Peter Hayward 

1827. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 

1828. Francis Holbrook 
Jonathan E. Davis 
Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1829. Francis Holbrook 
Samuel Robinson 
Peter Hayward 

1830. Francis Holbrook 
Samuel Robinson 
Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 

1831. Francis Holbrook 
Samuel Robinson 
William Perkins 

1832. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Peter Hayward 

1833. Samuel Robinson 
Peter Hayward 
Benjamin Hills 



Town Officers 



139 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 



1834. Samuel Robinson 
Benjamin Hills 
Peter Hayward 

1835. Samuel Robinson 
Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 
Mollis Wilcox 

1836. Francis Holbrook 
Hollis Wilcox 
Warren Carpenter 

1837. Samuel Robinson 
George Crehore 
Jonathan Harvey, Jr. 

1838. Samuel Robinson 
Daniel Abbott 
Eliphaz Field 

1839. Samuel Robinson 
Benjamin Hills 
Peter Hayward 

1840. Benjamin Hills 
Jonathan Robinson 
Daniel Abbott 

1841. Jonathan Robinson 
Benjamin Hills 
Peter Hayward 

1842. Francis Holbrook 
Sylvester Smith 
Peter Hayward 

1843. Hollis Wilcox 
Eliphaz Field 
Henry T. Ellis 

1844. Hollis Wilcox 
Henry T. Ellis 
Peter Hayward 

1845. Henry T. Ellis 
Elijah Holbrook 
Nathan D. Reed 

1846. Elijah Holbrook 
Nathan D. Reed 
William Carpenter 

1847. Nathan D. Reed 
William Carpenter 
Henry T. Ellis 



1848. Nathan D. Reed 
George Wilcox 
Almond Stevens 

1849. Peter Hayward 
Bradley Britton 
Henry T. Ellis 

1850. Elijah Holbrook 
Hollis Wilcox 
Eliphalet Dort 

1851. Elijah Holbrook 
Hollis Wilcox 
William Carpenter 

1852. Jonathan Robinson 
Daniel Abbott 
Edmund Woodward 

1853. Elijah Holbrook 
William Carpenter 
Isaac Brown 

1854. Elijah Holbrook 
Henry T. Ellis 
Hiram Britton 

1855. Hollis Wilcox 
Nathan D. Reed 
I. Sumner Wilder 

1856. Nathan D. Reed 
Hollis Wilcox 
Willard Streeter 

1857. Edmund Woodward 
I. Sumner Wilder 
Josiah Kingsbury 

1858. Edmund Woodward 
I. Sumner Wilder 
Daniel Abbott 

1859. Henry T. Ellis 
George W. Holbrook 
Calvin Randall 

1860. Nathan D. Reed 
George W. Holbrook 
Calvin Randall 

1861. Nathan D. Reed 
George W. Holbrook 
Calvin Randall 



140 



History of Surry 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 



1862. 



1863. 



1864. 



1865. 



1866. 



1867. 



George W. Holbrook 
George K. Harvey 
Bradley Britton 

HoUis Wilcox 
George K. Harvey 
Calvin Randall 

George W. Holbrook 
George K. Harvey 
Bradley Britton 

George W. Holbrook 
George K. Harvey 
Henry T. Ellis 

I. Sumner Wilder 
George C. Hubbard 
Joshua D. Blake 



George K. Harvey 
George C. Hubbard 
George Wilcox 

1868. George Wilcox 
George K. Harvey 
Amos H. Carter 

1869. George K. Harvey 
Joshua D. Blake 
Henry T. Ellis 

1870. Henry T. Ellis 
William H. Porter 
Francis F. Field 

1871. Henry T. Ellis 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Harrison N. Scripture 

1872. Hollis Wilcox 
Luman M. Carpenter 
William L. Kingsbury 

1873. Hollis Wilcox 
Luman M. Carpenter 
William L. Kingsbury 

1874. Hollis Wilcox 
Luman M. Carpenter 
George K. Harvey 

1875. Luman M. Carpenter 
Henry T. Ellis 
Isaac Brown 



1876. George K. Harvey 
Joshua D. Blake 
Frederick R. Grain 

1877. George K. Harvey 
Joshua D. Blake 
Francis F. Field 

1878. George K. Harvey 
Francis F. Field 
Mason A. Carpenter 

1879. Harrison N. Scripture 
Mason A. Carpenter 
John H. Rogers 

1880. John H. Rogers 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Stephen H. Clement 

1881. Luman M. Carpenter 
John H. Rogers 
Stephen H. Clement 

1882. Mason A. Carpenter 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Frank E. Ellis 

1883. Myron H. Porter 
Charles H. Blake 
William H. Porter 

1884. Luman M. Carpenter 
John H. Rogers 
James D. Carter 

1885. Harrison N. Scripture 
Stephen H. Clement 
Frank DeW. Carpenter 

1886. Luman M. Carpenter 
George K, Harvey 
George M. Hodgkins 

1887. George K. Harvey 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Frank E. Ellis 

1888. George K. Harvey 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Frank E. Nesmith 

1889. George K. Harvey 
Frank E. Nesmith 
Luman M. Carpenter 



Town Officers 



141 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 



1890. Luman M. Carpenter 
George K. Harvey 
Daniel Wilder 

1891. Luman M. Carpenter 
Daniel Wilder 
Stephen H. Clement 

1892. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Otis W. Kingsbury 

1893. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Otis W. Kingsbury 

1894. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Myron H. Porter 

1895. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Myron H. Porter 

1896. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Fred'k R. Crain 

1897. Frank E. Nesmith 
Fred'k R. Crain 
Harrison N. Scripture 

1898. Frank E. Nesmith 
Fred'k R. Crain 
Harrison N. Scripture 

1899. Frank E. Nesmith 
Fred'k R. Crain 
Harrison N. Scripture 

1900. Frank E. Nesmith 
Harrison N. Scripture 
Stephen H. Clement 

1901. Mason A. Carpenter 
Stephen H. Clement 
Frank E. Nesmith 

1902. Mason A. Carpenter 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Myron H. Porter 

1903. Harrison N. Scripture 
Fred'k R. Crain 
Stephen H. Clement 



1904. Harrison N. Scripture 
Fred'k R. Crain 
Stephen H. Clement 

1905. Harrison N. Scripture 
Stephen H. Clement 
Hollis W. Harvey 

1906. Harrison N. Scripture 
Stephen H. Clement 
Hollis W. Harvey 

1907. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Hollis W. Harvey 

1908. Frank E. Nesmith 
Stephen H. Clement 
Hollis W. Harvey 

1909. Harrison N. Scripture 
Hollis W. Harvey 
Leon A. Hodgkins 

1910. Frank E. Nesmith 
Hollis W. Harvey 

Leon H. Hodgkins 

1911. Frank E. Nesmith 
Hollis W. Harvey 
Leon. A. Hodgkins 

1912. Hollis W. Harvey 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Leon A. Hodgkins 

1913. Hollis W. Harvey 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Leon A. Hodgkins 

1914. Hollis W. Harvey 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Weston E. Wilbur 

1915. Hollis W. Harvey 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Clarence H. French 

1916. Hollis W. Harvey 
Clarence H. French 
James V. Stillings 

1917. Hollis W. Harvey 
Clarence H. French 
James V. Stillings 



142 



History of Surry 



SELECTMEN— Continued. 



1918. Hollis W. Harvey 
Clarence H. French 
James V. Stillings 

1919. Hiram F. Newell 
Mason A. Carpenter 
George Malcolm 

1920. Samuel Ball 
Merrill D. Carpenter 
George B. Conley 



1921. Samuel Ball, fS yrs. 
George B. Conley, 2 yrs. 
Frank B. Kingsbury, 1 yr. 

1922. Hollis W. Harvey, 3 yrs. 
Samuel Ball, 2 yrs. 
George B. Conley 1 yr. 



REPRESENTATIVES. 

The first evidence of Surry being represented in the legislature was at the 
"Fourth Provincial Congress" which met at Exeter, May 17, 1775, when Tim- 
ithy Ellis of Keene was a delegate from "Keen & Surry," according to Gil- 
sum History. From that time, until 1827, Surry was classed with other 
towns in sending a representative to the general court. Surry sent her own 
representative nearly every year from 1827 until 1878 when the amended con- 
stitution went into effect and representatives were elected bienially in No- 
vember, in the even years, beginning with 1878. 

The following men have sei'ved as representative; 



1775. 
1776. 
1777. 
1778. 
1779. 
1780. 
1781. 
1782. 
1783. 
1784. 
1785, 
1788. 
1789, 
1793. 
1794. 
1795, 
1796, 
1799. 
1802, 
1805, 



Timothy Ellis of Keen, for Keene and Surry. 



Nathaniel S. Prentice of Alstead 

Obadiah Wilcox of Surry 

Absalom Kingsbury of Alstead 

Jonathan Royce of Marlow 

Jonathan Smith, Sr., of Surry 

Woolston Brockway of Surry at Vt. 

Absalom Kingsbury of Alstead 

Lemuel Holmes of Surry 

Nathaniel S. Prentice of Alstead 

'86, '87.' Lemuel Holmes of Surry 

Jonathan Reed of Surry 

'90, '91, '92. Lemuel Holmes of Surry* 

Roswell Hubbard of Sullivan 

John McCurdy of Surry 

'97, '01, '03. David Blish of Gilsum 

'98, '00. Jonathan Robinson of Surry 

Zadock Hurd of Gilsum 

'04. Jonathan Robinson of Surry 

'07, '11. Samuel Whitney of Gilsum 



for Alstead, Surry and Marlow. 



Surry, and Gilsum. 

Gilsum and Sullivan. 



tin roniiiliaiue with an att of the lii'Kislaturc, passed Feb. 1921. one selectman will 
be elected annually to serve for three years. March, 1921, Samuel Ball was elected 
for three years: (Jeoree B. Conlev, 1\vo and Frank H. Kingrsburv for one year. 

*Ijemuel Holmes was a member of the Oouncil in 1792, '93. 



Town Officers 



143 



1806 
1809 
1810 
1813 
1817 
1818 
1819 
1820 
1825 
1826 
1827 
1829 
1831 
1833 
1834 
1837 
1841 
1843 
1844 
1846 
1848 
1850 
1882 
1884 
1886 
1888 
1890 
1892 
1894 
1896 
1898 
1904 
1906 



'08. Asa Wilcox, Sr. of Surry 

Robert Lane Hurd of Gilsum 

'12, '14, '16. Samuel Hills of Surry 

'15. David Blish of Gilsum 

Jonathan Pease of Gilsum 

Elijah Fuller of Surry 

'21, '23. John Hammond of Gilsum 

'22, '24. Sylvester Smith of Surry 

Luther Whitney of Gilsum 

Francis Holbrook of Surry 
'28, 36. Francis Holbrook. 1853, '54, '63. George W. Holbrook. 

'30. Samuel Robinson. 1855, '56. Henry T. Ellis. 

'32. Benjamin Hills. 1857, '58. Joseph Allen, 2d. 

'39, '42, '52, '60, '61, '62, none sent. 1859. George Wilcox. 



'35, '40. Peter Hayward. 
'38. Jonathan Robinson, Jr 

Daniel Abbott. 

George Crehore. 
'45, '59. George Wilcox. 
'47, '75. Hollis Wilcox. 
'49. Elijah Holbrook. 
'51. Nathan D. Reed. 



1864, '65. George W. Holbrook. 
1866, '67, '79. George K. Harvey. 
1868, '69. William H. Porter. 

1870. Jonathan R. Field. 

1871, '72. Geo. Milton Reed. 
1873, '74. Isaac Brown. 
1876, '77. Asa B. Fay.* 
1878. Francis F. Field. 

Harrison N. Scripture of Surry, also elected for Sullivan and Roxbury, 

Daniel Willard Rugg of Sullivan, also for Surry and Roxbury. 

David B. Nims of Roxbury, also for Surry and Sullivan. 

Mason A. Carpenter of Surry, also for Sullivan and Roxbury. 

Frederick R. Grain of Surry. 1908. Stephen H. Clement of Surry. 

None elected. 1910, 1912, none elected. 

Frank E. Nesmith. 1914. Frederick R. Grain of Surry. 

Mason A. Carpenter of Surry. 1916. None elected. 

1900, 1902 none elected. 1918. Frank E. Nesmith. 

Edward J. Guillow of Surry. 1920. None elected. 

None elected. 1922. Samuel Ball to serve, 1923-24. 

CONSTABLES 



In early days the office of town Constable was one of great importance and 
one man at least was chosen at each annual meeting. Their duties were 
similar to the present deputy sheriff. They represented the majesty of the 
law, and were charged with serving of summons. Frequently the constable 
was chosen the tax collector. The following men have served as constable in 
Surry. 

1769. Nathaniel Dart 1774. 

1770. Abel Allen 

1771. William Hayward 

1772. William Barron 1777. 

1773. Peter Hayward 1778. 



Thomas Harvey 

1775. Thomas Darte 

1776. Jonathan Smith 
Joshua Fuller 
Moses D. Field 



*In accordance with the Constitutional Convention amendment of 1.S76 the sessions of the 
Legislature were made 1 ianiuial from that time. 



144 



History of Surry 



CONSTABLES— Continued. 



1779. Eliphalet Darte 

1780. Not given 

1781. Zebulon Streeter 

1782. Zebulon Streeter * 

1783. Samuel Smith 

1784. Jeremiah Chapin ** 

1785. John McCurdy 

1786. Nathan Hayward 

1787. Levi Fuller 

1788. Delevan Delance 
Asa Hancock 

1789. Delevan Delance 
Asa Hancock 

1790. James McCurdy 

1791. John Brockway 

1792. Philip Monroe 

1793. Moses Field 

1794. Daniel Smith *** 

1795. Stephen Smith 

1796. Stephen Smith 

1797. Cushman Smith 

1798. Calvin Hayward 

1799. Philip Monroe 

1800. Philip Monroe 

1801. Philip Monroe 

1802. Philip Monroe 

1803. Philip Monroe 

1804. Levi Fuller 

1805. Simon Baxter 

1806. Jonathan Harvey 

1807. Jonathan Harvey 

1808. Jonathan Harvey 

1809. Isaac Bundy 

1810. Isaac Bundy 

1811. Jeremiah Robbins 

1812. Jeremiah Robbins 

1813. Jeremiah Robbins 

1814. Jeremiah Robbins § 

1815. William Baxter §§ 

1816. William Baxter 



1817. William Baxter 

1818. James Ingals f. 

1819. Cyrus Field 

1820. James Redding 

1821. William Baxter 

1822. Jonas Pollard 

1823. Jonas Pollard 

1824. Cyrus Field 

1825. William Baxter 

1826. William Baxter 

1827. Jonathan Robinson Jr. 

1828. Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

1829. Benjamin Hills 

1830. Benjamin Hills 

1831. Benjamin Hills 

1832. Ichabod Ballou 

1833. Benjamin Hills 

1834. Benjamin Hills 

1835. Daniel Allen 

1836. Ichabod Ballou 

1837. Benjamin Hills 

1838. Benjamin Hills 

1839. Joshua D. Blake 

1840. Benjamin Hills 

1841. Benjamin Hills 

1842. Eliphalet Dort 

1843. Henry Britton 

1844. Henry Britton 

1845. Henry Britton 

1846. Benjamin Hills 

1847. Elijah Holbrook 

1848. Henry Britton 

1849. Benjamin Hills 

1850. George W. Holbrcok 

1851. George W. Holbrook 

1852. Bradley Britton 

1853. Philander Stone 

1854. None given 

1855. Andrew J. Allen 

1856. Andrew J. Allen 



*In 1782, Mr. Streeter was dismissed and Abner Skinner and Ichabod Smith chosen. 

**1784, Chapin rem. from town and Abiah Crane appointed. 

***1704 Elijah Norri.s was appointed in place of Mr. Smith. 

§1814 .Jeremiah Robbins was paid $7. .50 for services in 1815. William Baxter gave $5.60 
for the itrivilege of being appointed constable, and tax collector. For several years 
thereafter, the oflice of constable was soURht after by the voters, and as late as 1819, 
Cyrus Field paid .50c to the town for the privilege. 

tMr. Ingals was elected in 18 18, but did not iinalify, and William Baxter was elected 
in his stead. 



Town Officers 



145 



CONSTABLES— Continued. 



1857. 


William Kingsbuiy 


1897. 


1858. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1898. 


1859. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1899. 


1860. 


-'63, none given 


. 1900. 


1864. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1901. 


1865. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1904. 


1866. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1905. 


1867 


-'73, none given 


1906. 


1874. 


Alonzo F. Wilbur 


1907. 




Charles G. Crain 


1908. 


1875. 


None given? 


1809. 


1876. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1910. 


1877. 


Samuel H. Poole 


1911. 


1878. 


-'91, none given 


1912, 


1892. 


Ernest W. Carpenter 


1914. 


1893. 


Ernest W. Carpenter 


1915. 


1894. 


-'95. Charles A. Blake *§ 


1918. 


1895. 


Frank DeW. Carpenter 


1919. 




Ernest W. Carpenter 


1920. 


1896. 


Ernest W. Carpenter 


1921. 



Ernest W. Carpenter 
Ernest W. Carpenter 
None given 
Charles L. Kimmins 
-'03, none given 
Mason A. Carpenter * 
Mason A. Carpenter 
Mason A. Carpenter 
Sidney J. Wilder 
Orman L. Blake 
Melville C. Lewis 
Henry A. Pike 
Herbert R. Crain 
'13 none given 
Weston E. Wilbur 
Clifton G. Chambers 

Melville C. Lewis 
Melville C. Lewis 
Frank C. Britton 



SUPERVISORS 

Nov. 5, 1878, the first supervisors of the check list were elected, who served 
two years. The following have served in that office: 

Asa B. Fay, Joshua D. Blake, Cyrus Kingsbury, Charles Wharton Wilcox, 
Harrison N. Scripture, John A. Blake, Charles A. Blake, George L. Britton, 
Myron H. Porter, LaForest J. Carpenter, G. Milton Reed, John H. Rogers, 
George B. Britton, Charles F. Britton, Daniel Wilder, Arthur M, Carpenter, 
Charles H. Britton, Archie G. Wilder, Hollis W. Harvey, Henry A. Pike, 
Alonzo F. Wilbur, John W. Conley, William T. Olds, Edward M. Britton, 
Hiram F. Newell, Samuel L. Newton, Henry P. Porter, George B. Conley, 
Lewis C. Buntlin, Frank E. Ellis, George H. Joslin, Leon A. Hodgkins, George 
Malcolm, Harrie E. Scripture. 

BOARD OF HEALTH 

This board, consisting of three members, appears to have been established 
in 1900. Each member serves for a period of three years, one being elected 
each year. The following have served on the board : 

Mason A. Carpnter, Warren E. Pierce, Harrison N. Scripture, Frank E. 
Nesmith, Frank E. Ellis, Sidney J. Wilder, Hollis W. Harvey, Hiram F. 
Newell, Henry A. Pike, Stephen H. Clement, Edward M. Britton, Melville C. 
Lewis, Leon A. Hodgkins. Since about 1910 the health officer has received 
his appointment from the state board of health. 



'■■§From 1894 to 1905, men served to some extent as constable and police officer. 



10 



146 



History of Surry 



CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTIONS 



The Fifth Provincial Congress met at Exeter, N. H., Dec. 21, 1775, and 
since that date they have been termed "Constitutional Convention," all of 
which have convened at Concord. 

Nathaniel Sartile Prentice of Alstead was a delegate from Alstead, Surry 
and Marlow in 1775. Surry sent no delegate in 1778 and 1781. Lemuel 
Holmes of Surry was a delegate from Surry, Gilsum and Sullivan, 1791. 
George K, Harvey of Surry was a delegate in 1889 from Surry, Sullivan and 
Roxbury. 

The following table gives the Number, Date and Delegate from Surry: 



Fifth Provincial Congress Dec. 21, 1775 



2nd, Consti'al Convention June 10, 1778 

3rd, 

4th, 

5th, 

6th, 

7th, 

8th, 



9th, 
10th, 



June 


1, 


1781 


Sept. 


7, 


1791 


Nov. 


6, 


1850 


Dec. 


6, 


1876 


Jan. 


2, 


1889 


Dec. 


2, 


1902 


June 


5, 


1912 


June 


5, 


1918 



Nathaniel S. Prentice, of Al- 
stead. 

Surry sent no delegate. 

Surry sent no delegate. 

Lemuel Holmes, of Surry. 

Francis Holbrook, of Surry. 

George K. Harvey, " " 

George K, Harvey, " " 

Stephen H. Clement, of 
Surry. 

* Hiram F. Newell, of Surry. 

Mason A. Carpentei', of 
Surry. 



The tenth constitutional convention, was adjourned in 1918 on account of 
the World war, but was recalled, Jan. 13, 1920. Recalled again Feb. 1923. 

SEXTONS 

Men were first chosen to fill the office of Sexton at the annual Town Meet- 
ing Mar. 4, 1788, although not always annually chosen thereafter, the men 
then in office appear to have "held over" from one year to another. 

Prior to 1800 no more than two men were chosen annually to fill this office, 
but later and for some years four were annually chosen — one for each ceme- 
tery in town. The village sexton also had the care of the old meeting house 
for many years. In 1796 Delevan Delance, Jr. was chosen to sweep and care 
for the Meeting House for which he received a salary of |2.00 for the year. 
In 1800 the salary was $2.50; in 1807, |4.00, and in 1813 $4.50 per annum. 

After the church bell had been presented to the town, in addition to car- 
ing for the meeting house, the village sexton for many years rang the bell 
each week day at noon and nine o'clock in the evening. 

For nearly 50 years Benjamin C. Crosby filled the office of village sexton 
and rang the church bell twice each day a good portion of that time. 



*Hiram F. Newell, of Surry has been a delegate at three conventions from three seperate 
towns — from Alstead in 1889; from Keene, 1902; and from Surry in 1912 — -an honor no 
other man in this state thus far has attained. 



Town Officers 147 

The following- is a list of the village sextons as far as ascertained: 
Phinehas Allen— 1788, '97, '98, 1800, '01, '02, '03 to '15, '17, '18, '22, to '26. 
John Marvin, Jr.— 1788, '90, '92. 

Delevan Delance— 1793. Delevan Balance, Jr., 1794, '95, '96. 
Samuel Allen— 1799. 
Aaron Hayw^ard — 1816. 
Augustus Johnson — 1819. 
Abijah Benton— 1820, '21, '30. 
James Britton — 1827. 

George Allen— 1828, '29, '30, '31, '32, '33, '34, '35, '36, '37, '38. 
Otis Daggett— 1839. 
Holland Stevens— 1840. 

Ichabod Ballou— 1841, '42, '43, '44, '45, '46, '47, '48. 

Benjamin C. Crosby — 1849, '50, '52 and until nearly the time of his death 
in 1898. 

William Carpenter — 1851. 

Edward M. Britton has been sexton during recent years. 

An incomplete list of sextons at the South cemetery: 

Samuel M'Curdy— 1790, '92, '93, 1802. 

Samuel M'Curdy, Jr.— 1794, '95, '96, '97, '98, '99, 1800. 

Elias Hayward— 1801. 

Capt. Calvin Hayward— 1803, '04, '05, '06 and to 1813. 

Nathan Hayward— 1814, '16, '17, '19, '20, '26, '27, '28, '29, '30. 

Nathan Hayward, Jr. — 1818. 

Lemuel Page— 1821, '22. 

Eliphaz Field— 1823, '24, '25, '31, and to 1843. 

Edmond Woodward— 1844, '45, '46, '47, '48, '57, '61. 

Jonathan R. Field— 1849, '50, '51, '52, '53, '54, '55, '56. 

David Shaw— 1815. 

Sextons were not chosen for this part of the town after about 1861. 

The Sextons for the South-West cemetery as far as known were: 

Levi Hancock— 1800, '10, '11, '12, '13, '14. 

David Allen— 1815, '16, '17. 

Benjamin Britton — 1818, '19. 

William Wright— 1820, '21, '22, '23, '24, '25, '26, '27, '28, '29. 

Daniel Allen— 1831, '32, '39. 

Moses Wright— 1833, '34, '35, '36, '37. 

Hiram Britton— 1838, '40, '41, '42, '43, '44, '45, '46, '54, '55. 

David Allen, Jr.— 1847, '48, '50, '51, '52, '53. 

Philip Thomas, Jr.— 1849. 

Calvin Wright— 1856. 

Chauncy N. Kenney— 1861, '62. 

No sextons appear to have been chosen for this cemetery after 1862. 

The sextons chosen for the small cemetery on Pond road — sometimes called 
the "Carpenter Grave-yard," as far as known, were: 

Benjamin Carpenter, Jr.— 1836, '37, '38, '43, '61. 



148 



History of Surry 



Seth Carpenter— 1839, '40, '42. 

John S. Britton— 1841. 

Benjamin Carpenter— 1844, '45, '46, '47, '48, '49, '50, '51. 

Elisha Shelly— 1852, '53, '54. 

Benjamin W. Carpenter— 1855, '56, '62. 

Probably no one chosen after 1862. 

Until about 1819 Phinehas Allen was usually chosen "to sweep and care for 
the meeting house," after which Widow Rachel Allen assumed the responsi- 
bility for a few years for which she received $4.50 per year. In 1832 Amos 
Streeter was the caretaker and John Wheelock in 1833 for which he received 
^1.45 for his services. 

POSTMASTERS AND OFFICES IN TOWN 

Not having access to the government records our list of postmasters is 
subject to errors, yet we feel it is fairly complete. The offices are even more 
uncomplete. The following records are from Keene Sentinel, New Hamp- 
shire Register and tradition. 

About March 1, 1821, Judge Elijah Knight was appointed the first post- 
master and his dwelling house. No. 135, served as a post-office. Prior to 
that time letters were sent to the Keene post-office, and if not called for, 
wei"e advertised in the Sentinel. 



Postmaster. 


Post-office. 




Date. 


Judge Elijah Knight, 


No. 135. 


Mar. 


1821 


to 


about 1832. 


Capt. Thomas Humphrey, 


" 68. 




1832 


then Mrs. H. un 










til 


1838. 


Capt. Eliphalet Dort, 


" 98? 




1838 


to 


1839. 


Charles Johnson, 


" 68? 




1840 




1842. 


John Johnson, 


" 68? 




1843 




1846. 


Arvin Britton, 


" 47. 




1847 




1850. 


Jonathan Harvey, Jr., 


" 73. 




1851 




1853. 


Capt. Almond Stevens, 


" 47. 




1854 




1858. 


Warren Carpenter, 


" 55.' 




1859 




1862. 


Dr. William H. Porter, 


" 70. 




1863 




1868. 


Marshall B. Britton, 


" 47. 




1869 




1872. 


Edwin A. Kenyon, 


" 47 & 58. 




1872 




1873. 


Marshall B. Britton, 


" 58. 




1873 




1874. 


Edwin A. Kenyon, 


" 58. 




1875 




1877. 


Dr. William H. Porter, 


" 70. 




1878 




1883. 


Wesley F. Wilbur, 


" 46. 


Feb. 14, 


1883 




1884. 


Dr. William H. Porter, 


" 70. 




1885 




1886. 


Wesley F. Wilbur, 


" 46. 




1887 




1892. 


Luman M. Carpenter, 


" 46. 




1893 




1901. 


Mary Ethel Britton, 


" 43. 




1901 


" 





Jan. 16, 1832, Henry Estey appears to have taken the oath, as postmaster 
of Surry. This was the day Capt. Humphrey died. Jonathan Robinson, Jr., 
is said to have served as postmaster for a few months. — Family trad. 



Town Topics 



149 



JUSTICE OF THE PEACE 

No complete list of those holding this office is at hand, nor is the time of 
service in most cases known. Several held the office for many years, and in 
only a general way should the date be considered. 



Obadiah Wilcox, before 1780. 

Lemuel Holmes, before 1785. 

John McCurdy, 1793. 

Jonathan Robinson, Sr. 1801. 

Asa Wilcox, app'd Dec. 1808. 

Samuel Hills, app'd Jan. 1811. 
David Shaw, app'd Sept. 1815. 
Francis Holbrook, 1827. 

Sylvester Smith, 1828. 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr., 1833. 

Benjamin Carpenter, Jr., 1833. 
Samuel Robinson, 1833. 

Mason A. Carpenter, 1895. 



Samuel (Seward, Jr. 
Elijah Knight, before 
Eliphalet Dort, 
Nathan D. Reed, 
George W. Holbrook, 
Joseph Allen, 
George K. Harvey, 
William H. Porter, 
Horace Wilcox, 
George C. Hubbard, 
John H. Rogers, 
i^ermon O. Streeter, 
Hiram F. Newell, 







Four men in town held the office in 1834-35, and five in 1857-58. 
Shaw was Deputy Sheriff, 1816-21 and George W. Holbrook, in 1866. 



1824. 
1830. 
1837. 
1849. 
1857. 
1857. 
1857. 
1858. 
1861. 
1865. 
1886. 
1886. 
1920. 

David 



TOWN TOPICS 



A BELATED TOWN MEETING 



During the early history of Surry the annual town meeting took place on 
the last Tuesday in March. This was inconvenient, owing to its lateness in 
the spring, for the town officers to transact the town business. Finally, on 
March 4, 1784, it was voted to petition the General Court for a right to hold 
"our annual town meeting earlier in the month of March." An act passed in 
General Assembly, April 13, 1784, states: "The Annual Town Meeting in 
Surry in the future shall be held on the first Monday in March." 

This act changing the meeting from a Tuesday to a Monday was the cause 
of confusion in the annual March meeting in 1788, which was called in the 
warrant, to be held on "Tuesday March 4th 1788" instead of Monday March 
3rd, thus making the meeting one day late. 

Capt. Thomas Harvey and William Barron were selectmen and posted the 
warrant. Lemuel Holmes was town clerk and Levi Fuller, constable that 
year, yet none of these men discovered the error in the date until too late. 

The town held the meeting according to the warrant and transacted the 
usual amount of business. They also voted to send a petition to the state 
legislature imploring the court to pass an act making the transactions of this 
meeting legal. 



150 History of Surry 

At the June session the state passed the following act: 

"STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE. 

In the year of our Lord, One Thousand, Seven Hundred and 
Eighty-Eight. 

"An Act to make valid the proceedings of a Town Meeting 
L. S. holden in Surry in the County of Cheshire on Tuesday the 
fourth day of March last, which by law should have been 
holden on Monday the third day of March aforesaid. 

"Whereas a petition has been presented to this Court showing that 
the annual town meeting in the Town of Surry aforesaid, was by mis- 
take notified and holden in said town on Tuesday the fourth day of 
March last, which by law should have been holden on Monday the third 
of March aforesaid, and the prayer thereof was, that the same might be 
made valid — which prayer appearing reasonable, — 

Therefore be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representa- 
tive in General Court convened, that the said meeting and all and every 
of the votes and transactions of the same be and hereby are established 
and rendered valid, to all intents and purposes as tho the said meeting 
had been held on Monday the day appointed by law for holding the 
same. 

June 12, 1788. In the House of Representative. 

Thos. Bartlett, Speaker. 
In the Senate the 13th of June 1788. 

John Langdon, President." 

The town records do not state all that was said and done during the annual 
town meeting in 1788. There is, however, reason to suspect the voters were 
inclined to retaliate in consequence of the "late town meeting" as they elected 
a new set of town officers that year — two constables and five selectmen — the 
first and only time in the whole history of the town when so many selectmen 
were elected. 

WARNING OUT OF TOWN 

It was a common custom in the early days in many towns "to warn out of 
town" any people who moved in and owned no real estate, for fear they might 
later become a "town charge." In many instances those people soon after left 
town, but some remained and became useful and respected citizens in their 
adopted town. Moreover, no one need feel embarrassed if they should find 
some remote ancestor who received a "warning." If many more had only 
received warnings, this history would have been far more complete. The fol- 
lowing is from the town records : 

Warrant to warn people out of town: 

Cheshire s. s. To Daniel Smith 

State of New Hampshire Constable of the Town 

Oct. 18, 1794. of Surry in sd County. 



Town Topics 151 

Whereas Jeptha Daws & Marah his wife, and Seth Daws; William 
Hartwell & Polly his wife, and Lucy Hartwell; Samuel Shipman & 
Unice (Eunice) his wife, and Chloe Shipman & Ebenezer Shipman their 
children; Timothy Pierce and his wife, Hannah Pierce, William Pierce 
& Phebe Pierce their children; Lucy Marvin, Isabel Marvin and Tilly 
Marvin; Charles Rice & Miriam Rice his wife, Susanna Rice and 
Charles Rice, Jr. their children; Jeremiah Ingraham & Zilpha Igra- 
ham his wife, and Mary Corless have come into the town of Surry to 
reside and their circumstances are such that some or all of them may 
become Chargeable to said town of Surry hereafter and we the Select- 
men after mutual consideration . Look upon it for the safety of said 
town to Warn all the above named persons to depart the same imme- 
diately to the towns from whence they came. There are therefore in 
the name of the State of New Hampshire to require you the said Con- 
stable of Surry immediately to warn each one of them to depart the said 
town of Surry to the towns from whence they come from. 

Hereof fail not and make returns of this warrant with your doings 
thereon to Thomas Sparhawk, Esq. Clerk for said County, as you will 
answer your neglect at your peril. 

Given under our hand and seal this 18th day of October A. D. 1794. 

Lemuel Holmes "i 

Jono Carpenter j^ Selectmen of Surry. 

Samuel Hills ! 

At least one of the above men continued to reside in town, Jeremiah Ingra- 
ham, who appears to have been a doctor and on May 1, 1797, he presented a 
bill of expense to the town "for doctoring Nancy Robb." 

Samuel Smith, Constable of Surry on March 16, 1784 "warned" the follow- 
ing persons to immediately depart out of the town: 

Amaziah Spencer & Eleanor his wife, and Daniel Spencer their son; 
Calvin Bates and Mehitable Hilyard. Also, James Reed, Mary Reed 
and Thomas Townsend, all transient persons now in town — Dec. 3, 1784. 

HOW A BOY WAS BOUND OUT IN 1789. 

This Indenture Made this Second Day of March and In the thirteenth 
year of the Independence of America, Anno domini one Thousand Seven 
Hundred and Eighty Nine. 

Between Zebulon Streeter and Jonathan Carpenter Selectmen of 
Surry in the County of Cheshire and State of New Hampshire on the 
one part and Nathan Hayward of Surry in the County and State Afore- 
said of the other part; witnesseth that the Selectmen by the Licence of 
two of the Justices of this State of New Hampshire and County of 
Cheshire whose names are hereunto Written According to the Laws of 
this State in that Case made and provided have put placed, and Bound 
and by these presents do place and Bind John Parmiter a poore Boy 
of Sd Surry whoo is both Father and mother less So that it was neces- 
sary and our Oaths Oblige us to take notise of the Complaint of the 
Said Boy to us the Selectmen of Surry and wee the Selectmen by these 



152 History of Surry 

do bind him as aforesaid to be an Apprentice with him, the Said Nathan 
Hayward, and as such to serve him the said Nathan Hayward and his 
wife Sarah Hayward untill the said John Permitter Shall Come to the 
age of twenty one years which will be in the year of our Lord, one thou- 
sand Seven Hundred and Ninety four which time the Apprentisship; 
his said master and mistress shall faithfully and diligently serve their 
Lawfull Commands all times according to his utmost ability carefully 
and diligently obey; he shall not Commit fornification nor contract 
matrimony or at any time absent himself from his Said masters ser- 
vice without his consent and Shall not waste or Imbzzle his masters 
goods nor wittingly nor willingly do anything whereby his master may 
be damaged but in all things behave himself as a good and faithfull ap- 
prentice ought to do during the aforesaid term; and the aforesaid Na- 
than Hayward on his part for himself his Heirs Executors and Admin- 
istrators doth hereby promise and covenant to and with the said Select- 
men and every of them theirs and Every of theirs Executors and Ad- 
ministrators and theirs and of every of their Successors for the time be- 
ing that the said Nathan Hayward shall find for and allow unto the 
said apprentice sufficient met drink apparel washing Lodging and and 
Other things necessary and meet for an apprentice durin the afore 
term and Shall also teach and Learn to Read and write well and also 
Teach and Learn or Cause to be taught and Lernt: If he be capable 
of Learning the five Common fundimental Rules of arithmetick (viz) 
Numeration, Addition and Subtraction, Multiplacation and Divition; 
and at the expiration of the term of said apprenticeship Will give to 
the said Apprentice Two good suite of Aparel One suitable for working 
days and one suitable for Sabath days and other Publick Days and 
Shall also pay and deliver unto the said Apprentice Six pounds LaAvfull 
moneys worth of neat Cattle at the apprisal of Indifferent men. 

In witness whereof wee the Said parties have here unto Set our 
hands and Seals the day and year above Written — 

Signed Sealed and Delivered 

In presents of 

Zebulon Streeter, Lemuel Holmes, 

Jonathan Carpenter John Brockway 

Nathan Hayward. 

Lemuel Holmes, Justice peace. 

Thos Baker, Justice peace. 

It is interesting to note that this boy ran away from his master in less 
than three months after this long and binding contract had been signed — viz. 
on May 25, 1789. 

LEONARD RUSSELL BOUND OUT 

This Indenture Made this Thirty first day of January in the year of 
our Lord one thoufand Seven Hundred and ninety eight, between Leon- 
ard Rufsell (son of Wm. Russell), of Fryeburg in the county of York 
and commonwealth of Mafsachufetts (now Maine) Gentleman on the 



Town Topics 153 

one Part, And Robert Lane Hurd of Gilfum in the county of Chefhire 
and State of New Hampshire gentleman on the other part. Wetnefseth, 
that the Said Leonard Rufseli by and with the confent of the said Wil- 
liam Rufsell his said Father hath let and committed himself an appren- 
tife unto the said Robert Lane Hurd to learn his trade and Myftery of 
a Cordwainer and Bootmaker, to serve from Day of the date hereof for 
and during the Term of six years the date aforesaid Next ensuing and 
to be compleat and ended. During all which Term the said apprentice, 
his said Master shall faithfully serve, his Secrets keep; his lawful! com- 
mands gladly everywhere obey, at Cards, dice or any other unlawful 
game he shall not play, he shall not abfent himself from his said Maf- 
ters Service by day or by night without his leave, he shall not haunt Ale 
houfes or taverns, he shall not commit Fornication or contract Matri- 
mony during said Term but in all things behave himself as a good and 
faithfull apprentice. 

And the said Robert Lane Hurd Doth hereby covenant and agree to 
Learn the said Apprentice the Art trade and Myftery of a Cordwainer 
and Bootmaker by the best means he may or Can if the said Apprentice 
be able to learn, and to learn him to read write and Cypher sufficiently 
for Such an apprentice and to find him with good Boarding, bedding, 
Cloathing and wafhing during said Term, and Doctring and Nurfing in 
cafe of sicknefs, and at the end of said Term to give unto the said ap- 
prentice two good New suits of Cloathing one for every day, and the 
other Suitable for Holy day and two Shirts Suitable for every day and 
one good fine shirt suitable for Publick days with Stockings and Shoes 
suitable for such an apprentice. And to give him a pair of oxen not 
to exceed eight years old well Built and proportioned to meafure in the 
ufual place of girt six feet. Int witnefs whereof the parties have here- 
unto interchangeably set their hands and Seals the day and year above 
mentioned. 

Signed, Sealed and delivered Robert Lane Hurd, 

in the presence of us, 
Rhoda Hayward, 
Seneh Hayward. 

(Robert L. Hurd lived many years in Gilsum and finally moved to the West 
where he died). 

THE BETSEY PULSIFER CASE 
In all the annals of the poor and needy of this town probably no case is 
more woi'thy of sympathy than that of Mrs. Gerish Pulsifer and her six chil- 
dren who came into Surry in June 1813. She later was taken ill with the 
spotted fever and was obliged to apply to the Selectmen for assistance, and 
they in tui*h applied to the town of Acwoi'th, where she formerly lived, for 
her support and maintenance, as the following will appear: 

"Surry, Dec. 22d 1813 

To the Selectmen of the town of Acworth 
GentleiTien — 
"We hei-eby inform you that the family of Garish Pulsifer whom we 



154 History of Surry 

are informed have a legal settlement in said Acworth are maintained 
at the expense of this town; that his wife is sick and under the care of 
A Physician and like to be very expensive and that they are under ex- 
tremely indigent circumstances. We therefore hope you will immedi- 
ately acquaint us with your pleasure in this matter and very much 
oblige, 

Gentlemen your hum. Servants 

Samuel Hills 



Eli Dort I. Selectmen of Surry." 

Levi Hancock J 

"Acworth, N. H., December 30th 1813, 

To the Selectmen of the town of Surry, N. H. 

Gentlemen ; 

"Agreeable to your request by a Letter dated December 22nd 1813 Re- 
specting Garish Pulifers family, we would inform you that the said 
Pulsifer never gained a legal Settlement in this town. We are with 
esteem, 

Gentlemen, your Humble Servants, 

Levi Hayward "1 Selectmen of 
Gawin Gilmore J Acworth." 

Mrs. Pulsifer appeared before Samuel Hills, justice of the peace of Surry, 
early in March 1814, and under oath made the following statement which 
has been found among the town paers : 

"Affidavit of Betty Pulsifer: 

"I Betty Pulsifer of lawful age testify and say that on the last friday 
in February (28,) in the year 1794 Simon Ingals, my father-in-law who 
married my Mother, with his family & myself & others moved into Ac- 
worth from Andover in Massachusetts — I being sixteen years old the 
28 day of said Feb. — I further testify that within a few days after our 
arrival at said Acworth I went to live with Col. John Dunkin (Duncan) 
of said Acworth and never lived with my said father in law afterward. 
I further say that I lived in said Acworth from the said friday in 1794 
untill the 28th day of Feb. 1797 when I was lawfully Married to Garish 
Pulsifer — I being nineteen years of age that day — who came to said Ac- 
worth in the month of June in the year 1796, that we lived in said Ac- 
worth untill June 1799 when we moved into Alstead where we lived un- 
till August 1802 when we removed into Langdon where we lived untill 
March 1803, from where we then returned to said Acworth where we 
lived from the afore said March 1803 untill September 1807 in which 
Month we moved from the Afore said Acworth in New Hampshire into 
the State of Vermont and there lived untill I with my children — six in 
number — my husband being in the army — came into Surry in the 
month of June, 1813 — where I maintained myself & Children untill I 
was taken sick at the hous of Widow Lydia Macks in the Month of Dec. 



Town Topics 155 

last — I then being very sick and having no means of support whatever, 
either for my self or children, applied and obtained assistance of the 
town of Surry, both for myself and children, one of whom being also 
very sick (and died) with a fever — I further testify that during all the 
term in which I lived in Acworth aforesaid I was not warned out — 

BETTY PULSIFER." 

"Cheshire Ss f March 7th 1814 These the within named Betty Pul- 

j sifer made Solemn Oath that the foregoing affa- 
davit by her subscribed is just and true — 

before me Samuel Hills Justice peace." 

The following notice was received from the Clerk of the Court of Common 
Pleas at Keene: 

"Cheshire Ss Circuit Court 
of Common Pleas 

"Thereby certify that Betsey Fish was warned out of the town of 
Acworth, as appears by a warrant on file, dated, January 26, 1795 — 
Served March 2d 1795, and Received at the Clerks Office March 11th 
1795— 

S. Hale, Clerk." 

Not long after the selectmen of Surry had obtained the foregoing testi- 
mony, they sent the following notice to Acworth: 

"Surry, N. H. April 23d 1814 
To the Selectmen of the Town of Acworth, 

Gentlemen — 

We hereby inform you that we have ascertained that Betsy Fish, 
now Betsy Pulsifer came to live in said Acworth in the Month of Feb- 
ruary 1794 and by a certificate of the Clerk of the Circuit Court of 
Common Pleas, we find that she was warned of said Acworth by a war- 
rant on file dated January 26th 1795; Served March 2d 1795 and reed at 
said Clerks office March 11, 1795 — Therefore Gentlemen you undoubt- 
edly are sencable, that as the warrant was not served and returned 
within a year according to law, is of no consequence and that said Betsy 
now has a legal settlement in Acworth to which you will please attend 
and much oblige, 

Gent' your Humble Servants — 

Samuel Hills "i 

Eli Dort j. Selectmen of Surry." 

Jonas Pollard J 

In 1815 Mrs. Betsey Ingals the mother of Betsey Pulsifer made the fol- 
lowing statement to which she and a witness placed their signatures : 

"I Betsey Ingals of lawful age testify and say that Simeon Ingals my 
Husband, myself, my daughter Betsey Fish, now Betsey Pulsifer and 
others of my Family moved into Acworth in the State of Newhamp- 



156 History of Surry 

shire about the 20th of February 1794, that we moved into a House near 
Mr. Mitchell's mills where we lived about a month, we then moved into 
Mr. Perkin's House about a mile and a half distant on the next morn- 
ing after John Mitchel's fix'st child was born — 
Alstead, February 10, 1815, 

Rhoda Ingals. Her 

Betsey X Ingals 
Mark." 

As will be seen the town was at some considerable expense, for those times, 
on account of this family. Dr. Thomas D. Brooks' account for attending Mrs. 
Pulsifer and family from Dec. 16, 1813 until Jan. 13, 1814 and "For keeping 
the little girl one week," amounting to $33.59. 

Jeremiah Robbins' account for providing for the support of Mrs. Betsey 
Pulsifer and four of her children, from Dec. 18, 1813, until March 12, 1814, 
was $93.72 which bill also included; Brandy, one bushel of rye, two quarts 
ginn, one gallon cider brandy, two quarts W. I. Rum, furniture clothing, etc. 

Mr. Robbins' account to the town of Surry for the support of Mrs. Betsey 
Pulsifer, Lucinda Pulsifer, John Pulsifer and Jonathan Pulsifer, and for 
clothing, etc., between April 1, 1814 and Feb. 14, 1815 amounted to |77.83 — 
making a total expenditure to the town of at least, |205.14. 

From the following, it appears the town of Surry and the town of Acworth 
were later involved in a lawsuit over the expense of Mrs. Pulsifer and family: 

"State of New Hamp- To Betsey Pulsifer, David Fish, 

shire — Cheshire S s Betsey Ingals — Greeting: — 

"You are hereby required in the name of the State aforesaid to ap- 
pear at the Circuit Court of Common pleas to be holden in Keene in 
said County on the third Tuesday of March next to testify what you 
know relative to a case then and there to be heard and tried betwixt the 

town of Surry as plaintiff and the town of Acworth as defendant 

"Hereof fail not as you will answer your default under the pains and 

penaltis of the law in that behalf made and provid' 

Dated at Surry the fifteenth day of February Ad 1815 

Saml Hills Justice peace." 

THE SLAVERY QUESTION 

Surry, Dec. 6, 1819. 
"To the Selectmen o'f the Town of Surry: 

Gentlemen: — We, the undersign inhabitants of the tewn of Surry, 
request that a meeting be called to transact the following business : 

1st. To choose a Moderator to govern said meeting. 

2nd. To see if the town will choose delegates to meet delegates from other 
towns in the County of Cheshire at the Court House in Keene on 
Tuesday, the 21st instant, for the purpose of expi'essing the sense 
of the County with respect to the toleration of slavery in the con- 



Town Topics 157 

templated state of Missouri, or in any other state hereafter to be 
admitted into the Union. 

Samuel Allen Peter Joslin 

Pei-ley Howe Cyrus Field 

Samuel Robinson Obadiah Redding 

Jonathan Robinson Levi Fuller 

Elijah Fuller Theadore Monroe." 

Dec. 15th, 1819, the meeting opened according to the Warrant: 

1st. Chose Rev. Perley Howe Moderator. 

Ind. Voted to send delegates to Keene. 

3rd Chose Rev. Perley Howe, Jonathan Robinson Esq., and Dr. Philip 
Monroe as delegates to meet other delegates of the County at Keene 
on Tuesday the 21st instant." 

An Inventory of Scales, Beams, Weights and Measures, 
The property of the town of Surry in 1822. 



One Scale beam 


Dry Measure. 




' Fifty-six pound weight 


One Half bushel 




' Twenty eight " " 


" Peck 




' Fourteen 


" Half Peck 




" Seven - " 


" Two Quart 




' Small scale beam 


" One Quart 




' Four pound weight 


Liquor Measure. 




' Two 






' One 


One Gallon measure, copper 




' Half 


" Two Quart, pewter 




' Quarter " 


" One 




' Two Oz. 


" One Pint " 




' One " 


" Half " 


" Half " 


" Gill 




One hopper and two seals. 





Received the above articles of the town of Surry, 

Mar. 13, 1822, Eliphalet Dort. 

Bounties paid by the State during 1832-33. 

1832, Sept. 22, To Benjamin M. Britton for one red fox .25 
" Nov. 5, " John S. Britton " " " " .25 
" Dec. 17, " Danien Allen " three " " .75 

1833, Jan. 28, " Daniel R. Emerson " one " " .25 
" Feb. 22, " Jonathan Robbins " " " " .25 



$1.75 



About 1852 William Kingsbui'y was paid for killing 

one Canadian Lynx (amount unknown) 

(The animal was killed on top of Surry mountain) 



158 History of Surry 

THE TEMPERANCE QUESTION 

The following paper has been found; sent out in 1837 to New Hampshire 
towns, requesting a reply to each question : 

"To the President of the Temperance Society of Surry in the County 
of Cheshire, N. H. 

"Sir: — At a convention of the Temperance Societies, in the towns of 
Wakefield, Effingham, Tamworth, and Ossipee, holden at Osssipee, on 
the 24th of October 1837, the following qquestions were prepared; and 
you are desired to insert correct answers to the same, and the name of 
your town in the first question, — obtain if convenient, signatures of a 
majority of your selectment thereto, and forward the same to James 
Wilson, Jr. Esq. of Keene, Titus Brown, Esq. of Francistown, or John 
Scammon, Esq. of Stratham, as soon as convenient, and free the ex- 
pense to them. 
Alvah H. Sawyer, Secretary. Josiah H. Hobbs, Chairman. 

1 What sum was expended in the town of SURRY for the support of 

paupers, during the year 1837? Answer — $140.00. 

2 What proportion of that amount resulted directly, or indirectly, 

from intemperance? Answer — Not any. 

3 What were the number of paupers in said town, at the time said 

accounts were made up? Answer — Three persons. 

4 How many of that number were rendered paupers, either directly 

or indirectly, by intemperance? Answer — Not any. 

5 What number of gallons of ardent spirits, were sold in your town, 

during the year ending Oct. 1st, 1837? Answer — Not known. 

6 What, at that time, were the number of stores and taverns? An- 

swer — Five taverns, and no store. 

7 What, at that time, were the number of stores and taverns, at which 

ardent spirits were sold? Answer — All five. 

8 What number of deaths have occurred in said town, from intem- 

perance, during two years, prior to Oct. 1, 1837? Answer — Not 
any. 

9 Is the cause of temperance, advancing, stationary, or retrograde, in 

said town? Answer — Advancing. 

THE VILLAGE WATER SYSTEM 

October 13, 1823, David Carpenter who owned and lived on the late Lewis 
F. Blake farm (No. 35 map) sold a spring right on his farm about 120 rods 
westerly of his buildings — for §20.00. Only four men formerly were inter- 
ested in the company. Enoch Whitcomb, who lived on the present Edward 
H. Wright farm, purchased 1/4 right. Otis Daggett, who lived where George 
B. Britton now lives, purchased 1/4 right. John May lived in the present 
parsonage had 1/6 right and Samuel Robinson who lived at the village hotel 



Town Topics 159 

had 1/3 right. This spring now supplies water at the following places — see 
map— Nos. 38, 39, 40, 41, 43, 44, 45, 46, 48, 49, 52, 54 and 59;— 13 families. 

THE OLD BEAVER DAM 

In the cove on the meadow east of the highway near the top of "Sand hill," 
and south of Surry picnic grove, there was formerly an old beaver dam. 
George Crehore, while ditching this land about 1855, found buried in the 
muck old logs as sound as when placed there by the beavers many years 
earlier and still retaining their teeth marks. Beaver brook runs through this 
meadow. 

MARKING OF STOCK 

It was a common custom around 1800, for each man to mark his sheep and 
cattle, and have the town clerk make record of the same on the town books. 
The following have been taken : 

July 13, 1795, Abner Hayward had for his mark, a hole in the right ear 
and a square crop off the same. Jonathan Robinson had a half crop on 
the under side of the right ear. Charles Carpenter had a hole in both 
ears. 

Feb. 22, 1796, Daniel Streeter had for his mark, a hole in both ears 
and a slit in the end of the right ear. Apr. 18, 1796 John McCurdy had 
for his sheep, half crop on the under side of the right ear and bob 
tail and for horned cattle, a half crop on the under side of the right ear. 

Feb. 23, 1797, Sarel Hayward had for horned cattle, "W H" on the 
horn, and for sheep a square crop off the left ear. 

May 31, 1798, Josiah Hendee had a half -penny on the under side of each 
ear and a slot on the upper side of the right ear. Moses Haselton had 
a square crop off the right ear and a slit in the end of the same. 

June 8, 1798, Abner Skinner had a half crop on the under side of the 
left ear. June 11, 1799, Niram (Adoniram) Benton had a square crop 
off the right ear and a swallow tail on the end of the left ear. 

May 5, 1804, Joseph Ingals had for cattle and sheep, a square cropp off 
the right ear and a slit in the left ear. 

Oct. 19, 1810, Jeremiah Robbins had for cattle and sheep, a square crop 
off the right ear and a slit in the left ear. 

Apr. 15, 1817, William Baxter had for sheep and lambs, the letter B 
inserted on their foreheads with a branding iron. 

SURRY FIRE COMPANY 

A Fire company was organized in Surry in July 1911, at which time a 
small chemical fire engine was purchased. The following officers were elected: 
Chief, Mason A. Carpenter; captain, Hollis W. Harvey; lieutenants, Leon A. 
Hodgskins George N. Conley, Frank E. Ellis, Stephen H. Clement; assist- 



160 History of Surry 

ants, Sidney J. Wilder, Edward M. Britton, Herbert R. Grain, Archie G. 
Wilder, Henry P. Porter and George B. Conley; sec. and treas., Frank E. 
Ellis. 

LAWSUITS 

The town has been defendant in several lawsuits: In 1789 with J. Cheever 
Fowler over his paying tax for support of the minister. In 1811, with the 
town of Westmoreland over the support of Widow Sarah Wilbur. Darius 
Porter of Alstead claimed damage, 1883, for running off the highway near 
Scripture's mill. Another was the Kellogg case in 1921. 



* MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 

1764, Feb. 27: At a proprietors' meeting held at Jonathan Smith's house: 
Voted to dismiss the Art., "to See if the Proprietors will alow any thing 
for work already done towards Clearing necessary Rodes in Sd Town" 
of Gilsum. — P. R. 

1764, Oct. 16: "Voted that one warning Set up at the house of Mr. Jonathan 
Smiths in Sd Town Shall Be Sufficient warning for the fueter." This 
was at No. 61. —P. R. 

1769, Mar. 9: By an Act of the State Legislature the town of SURRY was 
incorporated. — State Papers. 

1769, May 1 : The town of Surry voted to build a Pound in the most conven- 
ient place; accordingly it was "agreed to Buld one at the Botum of the 
Hill North of Mr. Jonathan Smiths." However, it was never built and 
the matter came up in numerous subsequent town meetings for over 50 
years, but so far as known, no POUND was ever actually built. 

1771, May 6: Voted that half of the Proprietors' meetings shall be held in 
Surry and half held in Gilsum. 

1774, Mar. 29: Voted to shut up swine by the 5th Day of April next. 

1775, Mar. 28: Again voted to build a pound. 

1778, July 14: The following business was transacted in town meeting: 

1. Voted to choose a: moderator. 

2. Voted to hire a candidate to preach. 

3. Voted to re-consider the last vote. 

4. Voted to adjourn until Sept. 10th next. 
Sept. 10: Met according to adjournment. 

1. Chose a moderator. 

2. Voted to dissolve said meeting. 

1780: The usual way of "Calling a Town Meeting." The Town Clerk noti- 
fied the Constable in the following manner: 



*Froni K. S. — N. H. Sentinel, or Keene Sentinel; P. R. — Proprietors Records; T. R. — 
Town Records; Tra. — Tradition. 



Miscellaneous Items 161 

"In the name of the Government and People of this State you are Re- 
quired to Notify and Warn all the inhabitants of the Town of Surry 
Qualified by Law to Vote in Town meetings to assemble and meet at 
the meeting- house in Sd Surry on" etc. This was followed by date of 
the meeting the articles in the warrant, then closed in this form: 

"Hereof fail not as you will answer your Default at your Perril and 
make Due Return of your Doings to the Selectmen of Sd Surry." 

1780, July 10: Voted not to allow men who have served in the war before 
coming to this town any pay. — T. R. 

1781 : The town voted to accept of the articles of union between the State of 
Vermont and the grants (towns so voting) on the east side of the 
Connecticut river. Four Surry men went on record as protesting 
against the action of the town in this matter. 

1784, or earlier : Lemuel Holmes was appointed Justice of Peace in Surry. 
In 1834, Capt. F. Holbrook, Benjamin Carpenter, Samuel and Jona- 
than Robinson, Jr., held the office. 

1786, Mar. 6: Voted "that Swine Run at Large Weel Yoaked and Ringed, ac- 

cording to law." 

1787, Mar. 5 : Town meeting opened in the meeting-house, then voted to ad- 

journ to the house of Capt. Samuel Smith for one hour. After further 
town business it was voted to adjourn to the meeting-house where more 
business was transacted, then voted to adjourn again to the house of 
Capt. Smith's again. The town Records do not state the cause of the 
numerous "adjournments" in a single day. We believe, however, it was 
on account of the cold and unheated condition of the meeting-house, 
though possibly some desired a mug of flip from Capt. Smith's bar who 
was an innkeeper at No. 61 at that time. . — T, R. 

1788, Jan.: Voted to petition the town of Alstead to annex a portion of their 

town to Surry. Alstead declined. — T. R. 

1789, Mar. 2: Voted that Woolston Brockway, Capt. Thomas Harvey and 
Nathaniel Dart be a committee to examine into the circumstances of 
Dinah Armstrong being brought into Surry. This is the earliest record 
we find of Old Dinah who remained in town until her death, 1812, and 
was supported much of the time by the town. — T. R. 

1789, May 25: John Parmenter, an indented servant boy, age 16 years, ran 

away from Nathan Hayward. 

1790, May 8: John Crane was Post Rider from Keene, through Surry, Al- 

stead and other towns further north. 

1792, Oct. : Voted not to have the Small Pox carried on in this town by enoc- 
ulation. — T. R. 

1794 : Voted to purchase three books for records of the town of Surry. Chose 
Jonathan Carpenter, Lemuel Holmes and Obadiah Willcox a commit- 
tee to examine the old records and transcribe them if needed. — T. R. 

1795, Jan. 1: An act took effect, having passed in congress Feb. 20, 1794, 
abolishing the currency of pounds, shillings and pence and from that 



11 



162 History of Surry 

date accounts were kept in dollars, dimes and cents, yet the older gen- 
eration clung- to the old custom for many years. 

1796, Oct. 20: This certifies that the Selectmen of Surry Gave Ichabod Smith 

of Surry the Liberty of Chusing a Master over himself to take care 
of his affairs and the man or men that he should appoint should be the 
man, and that should end the controversy. And Immediately he chose 
himself and Called Evidence of it. — T. R. 

1797, Nov. : Voted not to allow the account of Dr. Hosmer for doctoring 
Nancy Baley, not the account of Dr. Jeremiah Ingraham for doctoring 
Miss Nancy Robb. — T. R. 

1798, Apr. 9 : Voted to pay a bounty of 20c on old crow and 06c on crow 
black-birds. — T. R. 

1798: About this time Alanson Carpenter and two other young "sports" in 
town took the old "Whipping Post" and dropped it into the well by the 
Great Road, near No. 34. It stood at the end of the Lane east of No. 
35. The boys soon after suddenly left town for a vacation. — Tra. 

1799, Mar. 23: WANTED immediately, a Post-Rider to circulate this paper 

in the towns of Surry, Alstead, Marlow, Washington Stoddard, Sul- 
livan, Packersfield, Hancock, Dublin, etc, — K. S. Vol. 1; No. 1. 
1799, Mar. 30: The oldest man cannot recollect such a winter. Snow since 

the middle of last November and the Mail sleigh from Boston to Wal- 
pole has passed through this town 18 weeks successively. — K. S. 

1799, July 4 : Rev. Perley Howe delivered an oration in Surry. — K. S. 

1799, Sept. 5 : Moses & Zenas Field dissolved partnership this day. 

1799, Oct. 26: Eldad Skinner & Sylvester Skinner dissolved partnership. 

1800, Mar. : The following men were elected to various offices : 
Chose: Zebulon Streeter, Sealer of Leather. 

Gaylord Wilcox, Samuel Allen and Levi Fuller Fence Viewers. 

Lieut. Asa Wilcox and Samuel Allen, Corders of Wood. 

John Stiles, Surveyor of Lumber. 

Moses Field and James McCurdy, Tything men. 

Capt. Nathan Hayward, Pound Keeper & his barn & yard, a 
pound. 
" Daniel Smith, Sylvester Skinner, James Britton and Paul Clark 

Hog Reave. (There seems to have been a custom to choose at 
least one of the men to fill this office, from those who had 
recently moved into town, or a young stripling of 21). 
" School Committee: Asa Holmes in North District; Philip Mon- 

roe, Middle; William Barron, South, and Levi Hancock, South- 
west. 

1801, Mar. 26: "Voted to set up two poor gii'ls at the lowest bidder which 

are thrown on the Town of Surry." The meeting adjourned to the 
house of Jonathan Robinson (the village hotel) where a girl of seven 
(Sally DeWolf^ or Dwoolf) was sold to Hercules Hayward for $16.00 
to keep until she was 18 years of age. A girl of five (Polly DeWolf) 



Miscellaneous Items 163 

was sold to Josiah Hendee for $28.50 to keep until she was 18 years 
of age. Evidently Mr. Hayward found too much "Wolf-ship" in his 
young boarder as 29 weeks later he requested the town to relieve him 
of further obligations and the town returned him $8.00. 

1801, Oct. 24: Mrs. Monroe died in Surry, aged 76 years. She left 11 chil- 
dren, 56 grand-children and six great-grand-children. 

1801, Dec. 11: Voted that the house of Benjamin Carpenter, Jr., be provided 

a place to have the Small-pox, with the privilege of him and his wife 
being inoculated. Also voted that Mr. Fuller's family can have the 
Small-pox at home. 

1802, Jan. 2: "About 30 persons are under the operation of Small Pox in 

Surry; we understand the disease is light." — K. S. 

1802, Mar. 1 : Voted to sell Phebe Crandall — a town pauper — to the lowest 

bidder and William Perkins bid her off to keep in sickness and in health 
for one year for §19.00. Her sister Polly was also sold under same 
conditions before this date and until her death. 

1803, Jan. 25: A boy named John Brockway ran away from Levi Fuller, his 

guardian; a reward of "one cent" is offered for his return. — K. S. 

1803, The town voted to purchase a set of "Weights and Measures." 
1803, Apr. 9: Richard Razor a boy 17; "stout build"; ran away from John 
McCurdy. For his return a reward of $4.00 is offered. — K. S. 

1803, Dec. 17 : Dearborn Emerson ran Mail stage from Boston, via. Groton, 

Keene to Walpole twice each week; fare from Keene to Boston, $4.50. 

1804, For work on the highway the town had a bill for "One Gallon of Rum." 

1806, Apr. : Cushman Smith was arrested for passing counterfeit money, and 

was released on bail; absconded and a reward of $50.00 was offered 
for his apprehension. 

1807, May 23 : "Rapid Travelling" — The stage now leaves Boston three times 

a week at 4 A. M., and arrives at Keene at 8 P. M. the same day — 83 
miles — ; the next day it reaches Hanover, N. H. — K. S. 

1809, Mar. 14: The following from the town records: 

1. Chose Samuel Hills, moderator. 

2. " Eli Dart, town clerk. 

3. Voted to adjourn for half an hour then to meet at this place — met 

accordingly. 

4. Voted to adjourn to the house of John Norris — met accordingly. 

5. Voted to adjourn to the meeting house — met accordingly. The 

election of further town officers then took place. Later the same 
day, again voted to adjourn for one hour, then to meet at this 
place — met accordingly. 

6. Voted that the town purchase a supply of Powder, Lead and Flints. 

1809: When the first settlers came here, and even until after this date, the 
only "good farming land" in town was on the hills and no one consid- 
ered the sandy plain or wet marshy meadows of any great value. A 
man could have purchased all the latter land he wished for $1.25 per 



164 History of Surry 

acre. This explains why so many "hill farms" now abandoned are 
found in town. — Tra. 

1810, Sept. 3: The town paid John Chandler, or Asa Wilcox, S28.00 for build- 

ing the bridge by Jonathan Lock's mill on the Redding road, near the 
"Butler Rock." 

"This certifies that Delevan Delance Jr. of Surry and Anna Blish of 
Gilsum have bin Published as the law directs — and their intention of 
Marriage has ben Publickly forbidden by Eunice Wilcox of Surry." 

Eli Darte T. Clerk 

(Note — No date is found on this notice, but Eli Dart was town clerk 
between 1795 and 1811). 

1811, Mar. 12: The annual town meeting for the first time opened "with 
prayer" by Rev. Perley Howe. 

1811, Aug.: The town was involved in a law-suit with Westmoreland over 
the support of Widow Sarah Wilbur, a town charge. 

1812, June 3 : Voted to allow Major Nathan Hayward S12.55 for the care of 

Dinah Armstrong in her last sickness. 

1812, June 3 : Voted to allow a bill of $1.75 to John Thayer for making a 
coffin for Dinah Armstrong. 

1814, Mar.: Jeremiah Robbins was appointed overseer and his dwelling a 
"Work-house and House of Correction" to be under the care of the 
selectmen. Jonas Pollard was appointed from 1815 to 1825. 

1814, Oct. 1 : A letter was in Keene P. O. for "Asa Wilcox, Wheal-write of 
Surry." — K. S. 

1815: Voted to sell the maintainance of Phebe Crandall to the lowest bidder. 
§8.75 being the lowest bid, Jonathan Harvey engaged to maintain her 
as usual for the ensuing year. 

1816, Mar. 16: "E. Fuller & Co. dissolved"— Elijah Fuller, William Baxter 
and John T. Wilcox. Fuller and Baxter will continue the business. 

1816, Apr. 26: Thomas Wilson and Jonathan Webster dissolved partnership. 

— K. S. 

1816, May 25: "Foster & Williams" of Surry give notice that they have sold 

their stock and trade to Josiah Knight. 

1816 June 5: Voted to allow Abraham Thompson, a negro, $16.00 for main- 
taining "a black woman." 

1817, Mar.: Voted to allow a bill of |25 for deporting the Russell Hurd 
family to Connecticut. 

1817, Oct. 5: A very heavy earthquake shock in Cheshire Co. 

1818, Mar.: Voted to pay |20.00 to assist the Cheshire Agricultural Society. 

1818 (abt. Apr. 25) : Died in Alstead, Isaac Temple, aged 80. He "formerly 
was crier of the Court in this County." 

1819, Nov. 1: Theodore Monroe gives notice to the "sportsmen" that he has 

50 turkeys to be shot at. 



JNllSCELLANEOUS ItEMS 165 

1820, June 3 : The toll-gates on the 3d N. H. Turnpike have been thrown open 
to the public. 

1822, Apr. 9: Two locations on which to build a town pound were proposed, 
one to be built of stone opposite Jonathan Hai'vey's tavern (No. 83) 
for $18.50 and the other to be of wood 22 x 32 x 7 feet for 815 to be 
located east of the Meetinghouse where the old schoolhouse stood. 
Neither pound was ever built. 

1824, Feb. 12: Thaw and rain caused a great freshet on Ashuelot river and 
a bridge on the Surry Turnpike was washed away. 

1825-1831 : Rev. Perley Howe was President of Cheshire County Bibk So- 
ciety. 

1825 : The navigation of Ashuelot river up as far as Keene was under con- 
sideration. 

1825 : Gilsum voted to build a tomb so that bodies could be kept one year 
after death and not be stolen by medical students. 

1826, Dec. 22: It is expected that the Ashuelot river will become navigable 

as far as Keene within a few years. — K. S. 

1827, Mar. 13: Voted that Augustus Johnson's house be a Work house and 

House of Correction,^ and Mr. Johnson the keeper. 

1827, Mar. : At the annual town meeting Surry voted in favor of dividing 
Cheshire county. Sullivan county was soon after formed. 

1827, May 24: Hon. Samuel Hills a very highly respected citizen of Surry 

died quite suddenly at his home "a victim to the Thompsonian system 
of practice." Age 61. — K. S. 

1828: "Sunday travelling for other than religious purposes" was being agi- 
tated through the press. 

1828, Oct. : Postmaster General asks bids to carry the Mail from Keene, 
thi'ough Surry, Drewsville and Langdon to Charlestown once a week — 
23 miles; to leave Keene each Wednesday at 4 A. M., and Charlestown 
on the return trip at 1 P. M. the same day. — K. S. 

1830, Jan. 19: The Derry Hill schoolhouse in Walpole district No. 7 was 
burned, and all contents destroyed. A defective chimney was the cause. 

1831, Feb. 28: Benjamin Hills of Surry gives notice that Ambrose H. Sloan, 

Jr., an indented apprentice boy has run away. 

1831, Mar. 8 : Voted to let out the maintainance of the poor to the lowest 
bidder; "Phebe Crandall being set up at vendue was struck off to John 
W. Reed at $19.00." The maintainance of Love Allen was struck off to 
John S. Britton at 0.00 (nothing)' he being the lowest bidder." 

1832 : At a mass meeting of Cheshire county towns held in Keene to make ar- 
rangements for celebrating Washington's birthday Sylvester Smith and 
Samuel Robinson were chosen a committee from Surry. 

1833, Nov. 13: "A very peculiar and wonderful atmospherical phenomenon 
took place from midnight until dawn, of falling meteors. It was ob- 
served in the New England states and as far south as Philadelphia. It 



166 History of Surry 

resembled sparks from a blacksmith's anvil, only much larger. The 
lights all appeared to proceed directly from the zenith and shot out in 
all directions; extending as far as the eye could reach and leaving a 
tail behind them similar to that of a meteor. The tail of many of 
them, after their force was expended remained stationary a consider- 
able length of time. — K. S. 

1834, Apr. 7 : Voted that no horses, neat stock, sheep or swine shall run at 
large on any highway or common in town from April 1st until Nov. 
1st under a fine of 50c for each creature. 

1834: The last time the town "voted to sell the keeping of the poor to the 
lowest bidder." From that time the poor were left in care of the se- 
lectmen who found a suitable home for each, or placed them on the 
Town Farm. Miss Phebe Crandall was a "town charge" for nearly 
fifty years. 

1836, Apr. 20: James Hatch, blacksmith, ads. his property for sale at public 

auction and will sell his property in Surry including one organ, one 
clock, one 2nd hand chaise, etc. 

1837, Aug. 10 : The new Wilson Mowing Machine has recently been tested on 

Long- Island and it will cut five acres of grass in a day. 

1839, Jan. 26: A very hard storm occurred in this* part of New England, and 
many bridges swept away. 

1838, Mar. 13: Voted to purchase the William Wright farm for a Town 
Farm. 1842 Daniel Abbott was chosen agent of the Farm. 

1839, Oct. 30 : "A Vermont farmer in descending the hill near Holbrbook's 

in Surry had the miisfortune to have his leg broken by being thrown 
from his wagon. Some of the harness gave away and the wagon with 
a load of butter upset." — K. S. 

1840 : Samuel Grant was living on the "Seven Barns" farm in the southeast 
corner of Walpole and raised 3200 bushels of the "long-john" potatoes. 
Bradley Britton and another man was working for Mr. Grant, and had 
for a day's stint the digging and putting in the cellar 150 bushels of 
potatoes. 

1840: The U. S. Census was taken by Bethuel Farley of Marlow for the towns 
of Gilsum, Surry, Walpole, Alstead, Marlow, Sullivan and Stoddard. 

— K. S. 

1840 : The key-stone arch bridge over the Ashuelot river in the north part of 
Keene — on West Surry road — erected. 

1840, July 8: Hon. Daniel Webster after delivering an address in Stratton, 

Vt., during the great political campaign came to Bellows Falls where 
he delivered an address from the upper balcony of the Mansion House. 
"He spoke in his eloquent and impressive manner for about an hour 
and a half." The day following — Thursday July 9, — he came to Keene 
via. Walpole and the west part of Surry. When the barouche reached 
the highland between Ashuelot and the Connecticut valley he asked the 
driver to stop that he might get out and view the Green Mts. of Ver- 



Miscellaneous Items 167 

mont and the hills in N. H. That afternoon Mr. Webster delivered an- 
other stirring address in Keene. 

1840, Oct. 10 : Gen. James Wilson of Keene delivered an address at the old 

meetinghouse in Surry. 

1841, Mar. 9 : The town, for the first time, votes a sum for ringing the 
church bell; |10 was raised for that purpose and to keep the meeting 
house clean. For many years thereafter there was ringing of the bell 
each week day at noon and 9 o'clock P. M., also when church services 
were held. 

1841: The Postmaster General advertises for bids to carry the U. S. mail 
from July 1, 1841 until June 30, 1843. Route No. 224, from Keene to 
Surry, Drewsville, Bellows Falls, Charleslown, Springfield, N. Spring- 
field, Perkinsville, Greenbush, Felchville Reading, S. Woodstock to 
Woodstock, Vt. — 58 miles. There shall be three round trips each week 
with a four-horse coach; to leave Keene 6 A. M. Tuesday, Thursday 
and Saturday and arrive at Woodstock at 6 P. M. the same day. 

1842: The first lucifer matches were introduced in town. They were soon 
followed by the introduction of the steel writing pen. 

1842, Feb. 1: About this day, Samuel Hammond died at Wardsboro, Vt.; age 

94 years. He was the last man of the famous Tea Party of Boston, 
1773. 

1843, July 4 : Keene Light Infantry marched to Surry where Rev. Abraham 

Jackson of Walpole delivered an address. — K. S. 

1844, Jan. 5: A District Temperance Meeting was held in Surry at 10 A. 

M. Per order : Rev. Elihu Smith, Jonathan Robinson, Jr. Committee. 

1845 or about that time, the construction of the Cheshire railroad was under 
consideration. It was built between Ashburnham, Mass., and Bellows 
Falls, Vt., via. Winchendon, Fitzwilliam, Troy, Keene and Walpole. 
Engineers had surveyed as far as Keene, then they proceeded up Surry 
valley between the river and the base of the mountain, then along on 
the side of the hill east of No. 135 and over the Alstead Hills to Drews- 
ville and the Falls. On account of the grade they abandoned this route. 
Next they turned their attention to that of Westmoreland, but the en- 
gineer met the grade again between the Ashuelot and the Connecticut 
valleys. Finally an engineer was recommended who could "survey a 
route to the moon" if they could keep him sober. He soon had a route 
laid out where the railroad was built. 

1845, July 1 : A new postal law took effect when newspapers could be sent 

free to all towns within 30 miles of Keene. 

1845, Sept. 17: "It is expected that a tunnel will be found expedient (in 
building the new railroad) across the 'narrow' which makes the sum- 
mit (through the corner of Surry), between Keene and Walpole. — K. S. 

1846, Sept. : William J, Griswold, an Englishman of Surry, was fined $200.00 

and six months in jail for "beating Elijah Holbrook and holding him 
in duress until he signed a note of 8500.00." — K. S. 



168 History of Surry 

1848, About this time, Mrs. Levi Brooks introduced the first tomatoes into 
Surry. They from one to l}-i inch in diameter, of red variety and 
not especially desirable as an article of food. — Tra. 

1848, Apr. 6: The railroad at the "summit" will probably be finished by next 
Sept. — K. S. 

1848, Tuesday, May 16: The first train from Boston, via. Fitchburg and 
Troy, arrived in Keene. Mayor Quincy of Boston, Mayor Warren of 
Charlestown, Hon. Alvah Crocker of Fitchburg and many others ar- 
rived that morning. 

1848, Aug. : A serious fight among the Irish who were working at the "sum- 

mit" took place; several were injured; foi'ty of the men were arrested 
and lodged in Keene jail. The state militia was called out to quell the 
riot. — K. S. 

1849, Jan. 4 : Trains began running on the Cheshire railroad from Keene to 

Bellows Falls, Vt. — K. S. 

1850 : It was an old tradition that the lightning never struck in Surry val- 
ley. However, from the numerous visits of the "firey fluid" since that 
time we "question" tradition. — Tra. 

1855, June 22: The "Ketchum" mowing machine, manufactured in Worcester, 
Mass., was being introduced into Cheshire Co. George Crehore pur- 
chased about that time the first machine in town. 

1855 : About this time a very old and large hemlock was cut on the meadow 
south-east of the village, and not far from the barn now standing. It 
was over four feet in diameter, the top was a dead stub 125 feet above 
the ground and probably 15 feet short of its original height. — Tra. 

1857, Oct. 25: William Slade, a Revolutionary soldier, died in Alstead, aged 
100 years, eleven months. Stephen Slade, also a soldier, died a few 
months later in same town, aged 97 years. 

1860, Mar. 13 : George W. Holbrook in making up the warrant for the annual 
town meeting, by an error, called the meeting at "9 P. M." instead of 
at "9 A. M." Several of the voters assembled according to the calling, 
then voted to adjourn until the day following. This was wittily called, 
"The mid-night Town Meeting." 

1861, During this fall patriotic meetings were held in the town hall and 
soon after some of the young men enlisted in the Civil war. 

1861, Mar, 13: Voted to leave the renting of the Town Farm to the select- 

men. Joshua D. Blake paid $70.00 for its use in 1866. Lewis Newton 
166.50 in 1867, and in 1868 the town received $80.75 rent, for all except 
the house and garden which was reserved for "Billy Wright." 

1862, Aug. 27 : Hailstorm in Surry. Two inches of ice fall. In Sept. of that 

year Charles W. Reed shot a wild duck, and two pigeons. 

1864: Dogs were taxed in town. 21 taxed that year; 23 in 1865; 19 in 1866; 
15 in 1867, and 19, 1868-69. They are still taxed (1922). 



Miscellaneous Items 169 

1869, Nov. 9: Voted to raise $1200.00 to repair roads and bridges, caused by 
the freshet. 

1875, Prior to this time, the celebrated "Jim Fiske" passed through Surry 
once at least, with his famous four-in-hand team, and John L. Sullivan, 
the pugilist, visited Surry hotel during the height of his career and 
"drank to the health of the town." This was about 1883-4. — Tra. 

1878, Supei'visors of the check-list were elected to serve two years each. 

1881, July 28: The Granite State Gold and Silver Mining Co. sunk a shaft 
to the depth of 65 feet. A small quantity of ore has been smelted 
which contained lead, copper, silver and gold which yielded $33.00 per 
ton. Feb. 8, 1882 the shaft was down 80 feet. — K. S. 

1881, Mar. 8: Art., td see what action the town will take, "To prepare and 
publish the early history of the town." No action was taken. Again, 
Mar. 1882 '83 and 1884, similar articles were in the annual town war- 
rant, but nothing was accomplished. — T. R. 

1884, Mar. 11: Voted to purchase a road scraper. — T. R. 

1893, Nov. 18: Lewis F. Blake while digging for a water' pipe at No. 35, 
found an old Spanish coin, dated 1781. And some years later an orig- 
inal "George Washington button" was found in the village. 

1900, Mar. 9 : Sidney J. Wilder hauled a red-oak log from his farm into 
Keene which was 4 feet, 4 inches in dia. and eleven feet long; from the 
rings it appeared to be 120 years old. 

1921, Sept. 1: While Frank E. Ellis, son and family were on an auto trip 
to Montreal, Lake Champlain and Lake George, he took a 25 mile sea- 
plane trip over the latter Lake. So far as known he was the first 
native and lifelong citizen to enjoy an air voyage. 



CHAPTER X. 

ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY 

OLD CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH 

Early Church I^istory — The First Ordained Minister — The First Meeting 
House — Church Records — Rev. Perley Howe's Ministry. 

The first thought of the pioneer, after providing a shelter for his family, 
was to provide a church and school. Scarcely seven months after Surry be- 
came a town, at a meeting held Oct. 4, 1769, it was voted 

"to build a house to hold all public meetings in, and also to keep school 
in; to build it 22 ft. long, 18 ft. wide, and to place it on the east side of 
the road opposite the burying yard bars." 

This building probably stood 2 or 3 or 4 rods north of where Mrs. Hattie 
R. Emmons' house now stands (1919). 

In 1770, Dec. 13, a town meeting was held at the house of Joshua Darte, 
and, among other things it was voted 

"to build a MEETING HOUSE 45 ft. in length, 35 in breadth with 20 
ft. posts; to raise the house, cover it and lay the under floors; and glaze 
— as much as half a box of glass would do; to pay one half in good specie 
at money price, and labor when called for by the committee. Voted to 
set the house by the upper burying place as near the bars as the land 
will permit; to raise 120 pounds to defray charges of building, and 
Thomas Harvey, Peter Hayward and Jonathan Smith should be the 
committee to build said house." 

Mar. 26, 1771, it was voted "to make some additions to the meeting 
house now in building, viz. that it be built with 22 ft. posts, be 36 ft. 
wide if the timbers will admit, and that it be built 46 1^ ft. in length; 
that the windows be so big as 24 squares of 7 x 9 glass will make them; 
that the committee shall board the house with boards edge to edge with 
square edged boards, and clapboard the house, and board and shingle 
the roof." 

The first mention of a minister appears in the Warrant for above 
Town meeting of Mar. 26, 1771 "to see if the town will agree to make 
any provision for the support of the ministers that come to preach 
amongst us this current year." 

By midsummer of the next year the building had progressed so far that a 
town meeting was held in it (probably the first gathering of any kind), and, 
at this time — July 13, 1772 — it was voted to dismiss the meeting house com- 
mittee, to accept the new meeting house, and to raise 30 pounds more to fin- 
ish it "lawful money to be paid Dec. 25, 1773 in money or the following specie, 
rye, wheat, flax, oats, pork, beef or Indian corn — all to be good and market- 
able and to be paid at the market price on or before Dec. 25, 1773." 



Ecclesiastical History 171 

The next March it was voted ''to draw the pews and seats as the plan re- 
ceived and finish them within three years or forfeit them to the town, and that 
he who will not draw now according to his rate shall forfeit to the next high- 
est rate." 

The church building although far from being complete was now ready for 
use, and June 7, 1773 it was voted "to raise ten pounds la\\-ful money to hire 
preaching on probation." 

Oct. 4, 1733 voted "not to hire the Rev. Mr. Treadway on the terms the 
committee related, and that the money already voted to hire preach- 
ing on probation should be laid out to pay for the entertaining of min- 
isters but not on probation." 

Dec. 13, 1773 voted "to lengthen out the payment of 21 pounds of the 
meeting house rate one year." 

Mar. 29, 1774 voted "not to raise any money for the meeting house this 
year." 

Sept. 1774 voted "to send for the Rev. Mr. George Gilmore to preach this 
year." 

Oct. 20, 1774 voted "that the Quoristers have the liberty to sing such 
tunes on the Sabath as they shall think proper." 

Jan. 19, 1775 voted "to settle the Rev. Mr. Gilmore amongst us, to give 
him 50 pounds settlement, also to give him for salary 30 pounds a 
year till it comes to 50 pounds a year; salary to be paid one quarter 
in money yearly and % as follows; Indian corn at 2 shillings & six 
pence the bushel, wheat at 4 shillings and six pence, rye 3 shillings 
and four pence the bushel, flax at half a pence the pound, beef at 2 
pence the pound, pork at 3 pence half penny a pound. Thomas Darte 
Obadiah Wilcox and Joshua voted a committee to treat with the Rev. 
Mr. Gilmore." 

At a March meeting in 1775 it was voted "not to do anything to the 
meeting house this summer," but it was later voted in same meeting 
"to cover the meeting house this summer, and raise 30 pounds to do 
it." But this vote was revoked at a special meeting in May, and 
nothing was done on the building that year. 

July 15 1776 voted "to raise 5 pounds to hire preaching with this sum- 
mer." 

Dec. 29, 1777 voted "not to raise any money for preaching this winter." 

July 19, 1778 voted "to hire a candidate to preach with us on proba- 
tion" also voted "to reconsider above vote." 

May 8, 1779 voted "to hire the Rev. David Goodall to preach with us on 
probation; to give him for the time he should be on probation at the 
rate of 60 pounds a year, he boarding himself, to be paid as follows; 
wheat at 6 shillings a bu., rye at 4 shillings, Indian corn 3 shillings, 
pork 4 pence V2 pence a pound, beef at 3 pence, flax 8 pence, wool at 
2 shillings a pound, oats 2 shillings a bu., peas 6 shillings a bu., beans 
at 6 shillings a bu." 



172 History of Surry 

Apr. 17, 1780 there was an article in the town warrant "to see if the 
town will agree to move the meeting house to sum Convenient place 
that will accomodate the whole" and a time "when they will move said 
house." No action was taken in regard to this. 

July 10, 1780 voted at a special town meeting "to hire Rev. David Darl- 
ing to preach with us on probation." 

Nov. 14 1780 voted "to give the Rev. David Darling a call to settle with 
us in the work of the gospel ministry at a salary of 100 pounds a 
year; to be paid partly in the usual produce; to give him 50 pounds 
the first year and rise 40 shillings a year until it comes to 60 pounds a 
year to be paid in above mentioned produce or money equivelant; that 
the ordination of Mr. Darling be on Thursday, the 18th day of Jan. 
next." 

THE FIRST ORDAINED MINISTER 

The following is a portion of Rev. David Darling's letter of acceptance to 
the church in Surry. The first part of the letter with date is missing, but it , 
was written probably sometime in Nov. 1780. 

"I have taken it into consideration and Viewing it as the Hand of 
Providence in my coming amongst you and of his Divine Goodness in 
uniting your hearts together in Love for the Blessed Gospel. 

I think myself obliged and bound by duty to accept of your Generous 
Invitation on the proposals you made in your request; although I think 
myself insufficient alone to perform such a great and Labourous work 
which is incumbent on a Minister of Christ, yet I hope and trust that 
you will act like Rational Creatures and not Expect any more from me 
than from one Imperfect man. So I hope that I shall be inabled by the 
Divine assistance and your prayers for me to answer your Expecta- 
tions in some measure : I hope that I shall be inabled to Devote the 
whole of my time to God and to your Service; that I shall spend these 
Few Days which I have to Live in this world in studying those things 
which will be agreeable to God's will . . and to your edification. 

I hope that I shall be made a happy instrument to the people in Do- 
ing much Good; that I shall be Directed by God into such measures of 
Grace that I can bring to you such things from His holy word which 
which will be attended with His blessing to build us up together in 
Love and harmony. 

I do promise and covenant my self to this Church and People to be 
your minister of the Gospel of Christ and shall by the assistance of God 
endeavor to Discharge Every Duty incombant upon me as a Minister 
of the Gospel as far as God shall give me grace and understanding. 

Thus I answer your request and subscribe my self. 

Your humble Servant and watchman, 

David Darling" 

Jan. 18, 1781 Rev. David Darling was installed. 



Ecclesiastical History 173 

Apr. 8, 1782 voted "Rev. David Darling 52 pounds as salary the pres- 
ent year." The next year his salary was voted with 8 for and 5 
against it. 

Nov. 26, 1783 voted "to accept of the allegations the church had drawn 
up against Mr. Darling and to choose a committee of the town to join 
with the church committee in offering the allegations to Mr. Darling; 
voted to send Capt. Lemuel Holmes to Wrentham to take depositions 
of Mr. Sylvanus Hayward and wife concerning Mr. Darling's marry- 
ing them." 

The details of the Charges which caused the discharge of the first ordained 
minister are not fully known. The church records say they were not worthy 
of being preserved on record for the instruction and edification of future 
generations. 

Some action of the Rev. David Darling in regard to the marriage of Syl- 
vanus Hayward and Olive Metcalf on April 11, 1783 caused trouble. 

At a town meeting held Jan. 1, 1784, it was voted to meet on Sundays for 
public worship; that the town pay Mr. Darling his due up to date; also voted 
that the town treat Mr. Darling with tenderness and avoid everything that 
might distress him in his worldly circumstances. 

His labors as pastor probably ceased on that date. 

A graduate of Yale in 1779, this was his first charge. He was but a youth, 
and the position of pastor to this people was difficult. There is no reason 
to believe that it was anything more than an error of good judgment or the 
over zealousness of youth that brought about his leaving the church in Surry 
and the minis'rry. 

He moved a few years later to Keene and settled on a farm where he built 
a house and reared a large family; this house is still standing and was re- 
cently owned and occupied by the late George D. Gillis who married a grand- 
daughter of Mr. Darling. Mr. Darling also owned land in Surry; he and his 
family frequently came to this village and both he and his first wife and 
several of their children are buried in the South cemetery. 

Mar. 22, 1785 voted "not to raise any money for preaching." 

May 28, 1785 voted "to raise 10 pounds to be paid next fall to hire 
preaching this summer." 

May 20, 1788 voted "to raise money to clapboard the meeting house (the 
work to be done in 18 months), put in doors and glass (one box) and 
lay the floor." This vote would indicate that the building was not 
clapboarded in 1771, and that it stood 17 years simply boarded. 

Oct. 22, 1788 a committee of three were chosen and empowered to see 
what had become of the 30 pounds that was raised to be laid out on 
the meeting house in the year 1772, and to adjust and collect "all that 
may be found in the hands of the former committee or any other 
persons in either Notes, Nailes, Boards, Claboards, Glass, etc. found 
due to the town." 

Dec. 22, 1788 voted "not to adhere to the vote last passed for repairing 
the meeting house." 



174 History of Surry 

Mar. 1789 voted "to raise 10 pounds to hire preaching the present year; 

also to raise 60 pounds to repair the meeting house and a committee 

was chosen to 'see that the work was done.' " 
Sept. 2 1789 voted "to sell the pew ground in lower and upper part of 

the house to help finish the house." 
Oct. 22 1789 voted "that Lemuel Holmes be Vandew master to sell the 

pews on the lower floor beginning with No. 1 and so on, except Pew 

No. 10 oil the left hand of the pulpit, which shall be for the minister." 

Dec. 21, 1789 voted "to raise 3 pounds to defray the charges of a lawsuit 
between Joshua Cheever Fowler and the town of Surry as the town 
is sued by way of meeting house & minister taxes." 

Oct. 24, 1791 voted "to accept the porches as they now stand at the 
meeting house; to finish the porches, and save the pews which are 
unsold for public pews," 

Mar. 5, 1792 voted "to raise 20 pounds to have preaching the present 
year." 

May 23, 1792 voted "to raise 18 pounds to finish the porches, and have 
the work finished by Nov. next." 

Sept. 14, 1792 voted "to raise 13 pounds 6 shillings 8 pence to hire Mr. 
Solomon Adams on probation." 

Oct. 26, 1792 voted "to give Mr. Solomon Adams a call to preach the 
gospel with us; to -give him 100 pounds settlement and 70 pounds sal- 
ary." Changed the vote to read "to pay the settlement in produce 
and instead of 70 pounds salary 50 dollars in cash and 65 pounds in 
produce." 

May 10, 1793 voted "to choose one man to take care of the meeting 
house and sweep the same the present year." Phinehas Allen was 
chosen, but no record shows that he received any pay. Voted "to 
give the pew south of Ichabod Smith's pew to Jonathan Robinson, said 
pew is the second from the east door on the south, and is given in 
lieu of a pew in the gallery which was spoiled by making the porch 
doors." 

Apr. 5^ 1794 voted "to accept the Communion Table." 

Sept. 18, 1793 voted "to hire Mr. Phinehas Taft to preach with us for 

three months." He remained till 1795, and in that year Rev. Perley 

Howe was called and ordained. 

THE MEETING HOUSE 

Nov. 19, 1789 voted "to sell the finishing of the MEETING HOUSE 
to the lowest bidder." James McCurdy bid off the work for 165 pounds, 
and a committee of three were chosen to take bonds of Mr. McCurdy, 
also to instruct him how the house should be finished and inspect the 
work. The committee thru Lemuel Holmes gave these instructions; 

"That the whole of Said House be finished in the same form and as 
Near Like Keen Meetinghouse as the Bigness of Said house will admit 



Ecclesiastical History 175 

of, Except the pulpit which is to be Close work in the Room of Ban- 
nisters, also that the outside of Said Meetinghouse is to be Glaised and 
painted like Keen meetinghouse also the pulpit Window and the Cannopy 
over the pulpit are to be finished Exactly like Keen, the inside of Said 
house to be plastered and whitewashed Like Keen meetinghouse, also the 
underpinning is to be well Repaired and pointed with Lime, also the 
pews in Said house are all to be painted and numbered like Keen meet- 
inghouse." 

The Keene meetinghouse referred to was 76 ft. in length, 50 ft. in breadth 
with a belfry and steeple at the west end and a porch at the east end, each 
with entrance doors. The main entrance was at the middle of the south side, 
the "broad aisle" leading thence to the pulpit opposite. 

* "The pulpit, built in the form of a huge wine glass, was accessible by 
circular stairs on either side. Over the pulpit was the large, dome 
shaped sounding board to aid the minister's voice. A broad gallery ex- 
tended across the south side and both ends, reached by stairs in the 
porch and belfry. On the floor of the house and around the galleries 
next to the walls were the pews, about seven ft. square, seating eight 
persons, the partitions topped with a spindle balustrade one foot high. 
It was the custom to stand during prayers, and the seats, placed along 
the sides of the pews and divided into short sections, were hung on 
hinges to turn up for that purpose; and at the close of the prayer, each 
worshipper would drop a seat with a clatter like a volley of musketry. 
Beneath the front of the pulpit were the 'deacons seats' and in front of 
these a hanging table for communion service, to be let down when not 
in use." 

This description of Keene meetinghouse applies fairly well to the one built 
in this town; there were porches at both east and west end. In 1836 a belfry 
and steeple were built on the east end. There was a gallery on three sides; 
the singers sat in the front seats in the gallery. The pulpit on the north 
side was about 7 ft. above the floor and was entered on the west side by wind- 
ing stairs of 10 or 12 steps. The wood sounding board, bell shaped, was 4 or 
5 ft. in diameter. The chandelier was of wood, cone shaped, 6 ft. in diameter 
and about the same in height with a series of steps on which were small 
wooden candle sticks to hold the candles ; it was suspended by a rope, and was 
lowered to light and refill. 

No provision was made for warming the house — such a thing was unheard 
of in those days. 



■Keeue History P. 279. 



176 



History of Surry 



LOWER FLOOR PLAN & PEW OWNERS 



There 


were 36 box pews on 


the first floor, a 


them or 


Sept. 2, 1789, is as follows: 

PAID £ S. 




1 


Stephen Tyler 


8-15 


19 


2 


Nathaniel Darte 


8 


20 


3 


David Darling 


4-15 


21 


4 


Ichabod Smith 


8 


22 


5 


Capt. Samuel Smith 


7-15 


23 


6 


Eliphalet Dart 


7 


24 


7 


Moses D. Field 


5-15 


25 


8 


Abner Skinner Jr. 


8-05 


26 


9 


John McCurdy 


7-10 


27 


10 


Ministers Pew 




28 


11 


James McCurdy 


13-15 


29 


12 


Moses D. Field 


8 


30 


13 


Selva Hayward 


3-10 


31 


14 


Eliphalet Dort 


5-05 


32 


15 


Nathaniel Dart 


3-05 


33 


16 


Samuel McCurdy Jr. 


4-05 


34 


17 


Jonathan Smith 


2-15 


35 


18 


Thomas Smith Jr. 


6 





floor, and the list of those who bought 



Peter Hayward 
Nathan Hayward 
Jacob Smith 
Delevan Delance 
Asa Wilcox 
Levi Fuller 
James McCurdy 
Delevan Delance 
John McCurdy 
Stephen Tyler 
Jonathan Smith 
Nathan Hayward 
Obadiah Wilcox 
Samuel McCurdy Jr. 
Caleb Washburn 
Benj. Carpenter Jr. 
John Redding 



PAID £ S. 

7 

3-15 

3 

4-15 

3-10 

9 

4 
10-10 

5-05 
12 
10 

5-15 

4-05 

3-05 

3 

3-05 

4-05 




Number 7 was later sold to Phinehas Allen; No. 17 sold to Simon Baxter; 
No. 18 one half to Stephen Smith, and Jacob Smith sold his half to Asa 
Holmes; No. 21 to Isaac Tyler; No. 23 in 1794 to Samuel Allen; No. 32 in 



Ecclesiastical History 



177 



1793 to John Brockway; Caleb Washburn sold his half of Nos. 16-32-33 in 
lower floor and a half of No. 6 in the gallery to John Willey; Dee. 13, 1803, 
Nathaniel Dart conveyed to John Willey, a son-in-law, two pews on the lower 
floor, retaining- the use as long as he lived. July 14, 1820 John Willey sold 
the two pews to Theodore Monroe and his wife; one pew was the 2nd on the 
right hand side of the front door. Aug. 31, 1818, James McCurdy sold pew 
No. 11, being in the wall pews, the first pew west of the pulpit, to Willard 
Smith for $15.00. In 1837 Ezra Carpenter sold 1/3 of pew No. 28 to his son 
William. 



GALLERY PLAN & PEW OWNERS 
There were 18 pews besides the singers' seats when the following list was 
made Sept. 2, 1789. 

PAID 

1 Lemuel Field 

2 Lemuel Holmes, Esq. 

3 Abijah Benton 

4 Thomas Smith 

5 Col. Jonathan Smith 

6 Samuel McCurdy, Jr. 

7 Calvin Hayward 

8 Eliphalet Dart 

9 Thomas Smith 

No. 2 was sold by Lemuel Holmes in 1811 to Samuel Hills; No. 3 by Abijah 
Benton in 1795 to Samuel Allen; No. 11 by William Barron, Jr., to John Wil- 
ley. Mar. 13, 1811, Hercules Howard of Hinsdale sold "the first pew north 
of the east porch door in the gallery. No. 16, to Nathan Hayward. 



£ S. 






PAID £ S. 


1-05 


10 


Obadiah Wilcox 


4-10 


1-10 


11 


William Barron, Jr. 


4 


1-15 


12 


Peter Hayward, Jr. 


3 


2 


13 


Samuel Smith 


2-15 


1-05 


14 


Simon Baxter 


3 


1-10 


15 


Jonathan Robinson 


3-10 


2 


16 


Thomas Smith, Jr. 


3-05 


2 


17 


Levi Fuller 


3 


3 


18 


Nathan Hayward 


2-15 



Sept. 18, 1793 it was voted to allow Maj. S. Smith his account for painting' 
the porches to the meetinghouse; in 1800 voted to reshingle and repair the 
building, and, in March 1808, to finish the west porch. In 1827 an effort was 
made to move the meetinghouse farther to the west, and again in 1835, "about 
the length thereof to the West and to the South not extending the width of 
the same." The building still stands where it was originally built, and, from 



12 



178 History of Surry 

measurements taken in 1919, the exterior dimensions of the main structure are 
fouund to be 47 ft. by 36 ft. 6 in. The old east and west porches were each 
6 feet additional in length. 

July 16, 1835 it was voted to build a belfry,* and this was done the next 
summer, by extending the east porch a few feet above the ridge. 

This was to accommodate a gift to the town of 

THE CHURCH BELL 

This bell is 22 inches high and 30 inches in diameter at the bottom, and 
bears this inscription : 

"A natal gift to the town of Surry by John Thomson of Albany, N. Y., July 
4, 1836." On the opposite side is the name of the maker, "L. Aspinwall, Al- 
bany. 1836." 

The following letter from Mr. Thomson is of interest: 

To Messrs : 

Francis Holbrook, Benjamin Hills and Eliphaz Field, of Surry. 

Albany, N. Y., Feb. 15, 1836. 
Gentlemen : 

Your favor of the 11th is before me and I have this day taken the 
preliminary steps to fulfil on my part the promise which I made to the 
much respected citizens of my native town (Surry). 

I have called upon a Bell Founder and engaged that a Bell shall be 
cast and be at the command of the inhabitants of Surry by the 1st of 
June next. If it be the pleasure of you gentlemen of the committee, I 
should be pleased if you would send your means of conveyance and have 
the bell there and placed in the belfry and be ready for use on the day 
of our next national jubilee, the 4th, of July, 1836, for the first time. 

It is doubtless unnecessary for me to say to you the belfry should be 
made strong and well braced as the bell will rack the frame, or at any 
rate will give it a thorough trial. 

Please write me about two weeks before you send for the bell, in order 
that I may have everything ready. 

The person whom you send should be a man of gi'eat care. 
I remain, gentlemen. Very respectfully, 

Yours, etc. 
To Messrs : 

Francis Holbrook John Thomson. 

Benja. Hills & 
Eliphaz Field 
The "man of great cai^e" is unknown, but it is said that the bell came into 
the village from the north, drawn by a gray horse. Possibly it was sent by 
boat up the Connecticut river to Walpole or Bellows Falls, and then drawn to 
this town. The belfry was not completed by July 4th, but this did not pre- 
vent the celebration of its arrival, which was thus chronicled in the Keene 
Sentinel of July 28, 1836. 



Ecclesiastical History 179 

SURRY BELL DEDICATED 
July 4th, 1836 

The dawn of day was greeted with the ringing of a beautiful Bell, presented 
to the town — as a "Natal gift" — by Dr. John Thompson of Albany, N. Y. 
The tone of which is considered excellent, surpassing many of much larger 
size; its weight being 685 pounds. 

Nothwithstanding the unfavorableness of the weather, a very large and 
respectable procession was formed at Capt. Samuel Robinson's (at the village 
hotel), and, escorted by a band of martial music, marched to the meeting- 
house. After some elegant performances by the choir, and a very appro ori- 
ate prayer by Rev. Perley Howe, the Declaration of Independence wa., read 
by Capt. Francis Holbrook, and the audience listened with fixed attention and 
delight to an interesting and able oration by Jonathan Robinson Jr. Esq. 
After which the procession moved back to Capt. Samuel Robinson's hall, 
which was handsomely decorated with evergreen, where they partook of a 
variegated and sumptous collation, prepared wholly by the ladies of Surry. 
This is as it should be. Before leaving the table, a number of volunteer- 
toasts were given. The following are a few of them: 

By David Shaw, Esq.:— THE NATAL GIFT— May it ever chime three 
distinct sounds, viz. : — 1st. In commemoration of the day we cele- 
brate. 2nd. Expressive of our gratitude to its donor, Dr. John 
Thompson. 3rd. To proclaim his generosity and humanity in his lib- 
erality, with his own funds. 

By Jonathan Robinson, Esq. (a Revolutionary soldier). May the spirit 
of generosity manifested by Dr. John Thompson of Albany pei'vade 
every heart, and stimulate each individual to like acts of philan- 
thropy. 

By Eliphaz Field:— OUR NATAL FRIEND, DR. JOHN THOMPSON, 
May his gift of a Bell sound his praise for generations to come, as it 
does on this, our National festival, the 4th of July. 

By Jonathan Robinson Jr. Esq.: — Dr. John Thomson, the giver of the 
Bell, and the inhabitants of Surry, the receivers; — May the giver be 
as closely united in the affections of the receivers, as the Yoke is to 
the Bell. 

By Ichabod Ballou: — Dr. John Thomson of Albany, N. Y., the giver 
of the Bell : — May honor and gratitude be to his name. 

By Capt. Francis Holbrook: — 

"The Orator of the day. 
And the giver of the bell; 
The people have met to celebrate, 
And I think they've done it well." 
Extracts from the oration delivered by Jonathan Robinson, Junr. Esq. are 
as follows : 

"The generation active in the first settlement, and intimately ac- 
quainted with the early history of this town, has passed away; and, as 



180 History of Surry 

history has furnished nothing in relation to the early settlement of this 
town, which would be anyway interesting — no battles have been fought 
here — no one either killed or wounded — I, therefore, hasten from the 
early history of this town to its present happy situation. 

"It is a fact — it is a pleasing fact — that the condition of this people 
is fast improving. In every part of the town we now hear the pleasant 
hum of industry, and it is true, that the people, generally, are more in- 
dustrious — ^tending more punctually to their own occupations, and med- 
dling less with the business of others. Our temperate habits are fast 
improving — and, finally, we are progressing in every way that is good 
i and virtuous. These fellow-townsmen, are pleasing reflections, and let 
pur motto be "Onward!" 

"My fellow citizens, I feel it an honor, I feel proud in declaring to 
you this day, that Surry is my native place; and from the sweet and 
melodious sounds of the bell that we have this day received from the 
generous Doctor John Thompson of Albany, we rejoice that he is not 
ashamed to own and declare to the world, by a voice that cannot be 
mistaken, that this is the town of his nativity! And we feel proud that 
this town has now the honor of sending out one son, who has been so 
prosperous in accumulating wealth, as to enable him to present us with 
this precious gift; and we do now, my fellow-citizens, with hearts filled 
with gratitude, present him our most cordial and unfeigned thanks for 
this most costly present. And may he ever be kept in grateful i-emem- 
berance by this people; and may the hills that surround the bell, echo 
and re-echo the beautiful sounds of it, until it reaches the ears of every 
inhabitant. 

"May it tingle such sweet sounds in the ears, that they cannot resist, 
and may it draw them, like a still small voice, to attend public worship 
on each and every Sabbath. And may it be our living sentiment, In- 
dependence now and Independence forever." 

Before the new year of 1837 the belfry was completed and the bell placed 
in position, and, at last, after all the years of building and repairing, addi- 
tions, etc., the meetinghouse was entirely finished, but discord had been seeth- 
ing among the worshippers for some years, and the church bell tolled out the 
old conditions to ring in the news ! Only a few years after the gift of the 
bell, denominational disputes caused a second meetinghouse to be built, and 
in later years the old became the present town hall. 

EARLY CHURCH RECORDS 

The earliest manuscript record of the church in town has probably been 
destroyed, but a later record, much worn and torn in places, gives all the 
needed facts. It begins thus : 

Surry, Dec. 18, 1793. 
At a meeting of the Church in Surry the subscribers being appointed a 
committee by vote of the Church to make inquiry with regard to the 
time when the church was first incorporated in Surry, the persons who 
subscribed the covenant, and collect all other matters, as far as may be. 



Ecclesiastical History 181 

which ought to be matters of record, and make report to the church as 
soon as may be conveniently, do now report as follows, viz : — That it 
appears from an ancient manuscript supposed to be in the handwriting 
of Joshua Darte formerly of Surry; that there was a church first gath- 
ered in Surry on the 12th day of June Anno Domini 1769, and a cov- 
enant subscribed by the following persons, viz; — 

Males Females 

Jonathan Smith Deborah Dart 

Joshua Dart Experience Smith 

Peter Hayward Esther Hayward 

Joseph Spencer Anna Dart 

Eliphalet Dart Lucy Spencer 

Thomas Smith Deborah Dart 2nd. 

Moses D. Field & Lydia Smith 
Samuel Hall 

and the following persons have since been admitted as members of said 
church. 

1771. Feb. 22, Thomas Dart & his wife, they being recommended from 

some other church. 
1771. June 23, Ichabod Smith, Patience Field, Samuel White, Phebe 

Dart, (torn) Smith, Deborah Dart Jr., Elisheba Smith. 
1771. July 25, William Barron & Tabitha, his wife. 

1771. Sept. 21, Thomas Harvey. 

1772. June 21, Nathaniel Dart. 

1772. Aug. 20, Abner Skinner & his wife. 
1776. Nov. 3, Rebekkah Benton. 

1780. Sept. 3, William Russell and his wife. 

From other papers it appears that the following persons have been 
admitted into this church, viz; — 

1781. Jan. 18, Mr. David Darling, by virtue of a dismission from the 
church in Wrentham; at the same time the solemn care of this church 
was solemnly committed to him. The following churches were present 
on the occasion, viz; Northfield, Walpole, Charlestown, Fitzwilliam, 
Swanzey and Royalston. 

It furthermore appears that the following were admitted into this 
church, but there is no date by which the time of their admission can be 
obtained, Obadiah Wilcox William Hayward. 

1781. Mar. 18, Nathan Hayward & his wife, Eunice Weare. 
1781. Apr. 16, Thomas Dart Jr. & his wife, Sylvanus Hayward. 
1781. June 17, Moses Weare. 

1781. June 24, Roger Dart & his wife. 

1781. July 8, Lemuel Holmes & his wife from the church in Walpole. 

1781. Aug. 12, Rebekkah Ware. 

1781. Aug. 26, Mrs. Esther Darling; wife of Rufus Smith. 

1783. May 11, Wife of Samuel Packard. 

1783. July 6, Wife of Edward Crandell. 



182 History of Surry 

It furthermore appears from the above mentioned papers that there was 
a number of Chui'ch meetings held for the settlement of difficulties, both be- 
fore Mr. Darling's settlement, and during his administrations, and sundry 
votes passed, but nothing so material as to be worthy of being preserved on 
record for the instruction and edification of future generations, until the 
30th day of December Anno Domini 1783, when the following churches con- 
vened in council and dissolved the relation between the Rev. David Darling 
and this church & people (viz; — ) Walpole, Charlestown, Winchendon, Fitz- 
william, Swanzey and Keene, represented by their pastors and delegates, and 
the church in Alstead by their delegates; of which council the Rev. Mr. 01- 
cott was moderator and the Rev. Mr. Fessenden was scribe. At which time 
the Rev. Edward Goddard was by vote of the church chosen their moderator. 

From which era nothing vei"y material appears to have been transacted 
(except that Mr. Darling upon making proper satisfaction was restored to 
the charity and communion of the church), until the 20th of January 1788, 
when the church covenant being mislaid and not to be found the church sol- 
emnly renev/ed and published the following covenant: 

We, whose names are hereunto subscribed, having heretofore 
been incorporated in a church state according to the order of the 
Gospel, but having by some means lost the covenant by us sub- 
scribed; do now in a public and solemn manner renew and ratify 
the following Covenant with God and each other. 

1. We publickly and solemnly declare our serious belief of the Chris- 
tian Religion, as contained in the sacred Scriptures; which scriptures 
we take to be our only rule of faith & practice & heartily resolve to con- 
form ourselves thereunto so long as we live in this world. 

2. We give up ourselves to the LORD JEHOVAH, who is the Father 
• and the Son and the Holy Ghost, and avouch Him this day to be our 

God and Father, our Saviour and leader, and receive him as our por- 
tion forever. 

3. We give up ourselves to the blessed Jesus who is the Lord Jehovah, 
adhere to him as the Head of his people in the covenant of Grace, and 
rely on Him as our Prophet, Priest and King, to bring us unto eternal 
blessedness. 

4. We acknowledge our everlasting and indispensible obligations to 
glorify God in all the duties of a godly, sober and religious life. 

We solemnly promise that we will particularly uphold the worship of 
God in public, and not forsake the assembling of ourselves together as 
the manner of some has been; that we will attend on the ordinances of 
Baptism, bring our children thereunto, waiting for Christ's blessing 
upon them, and will endeavor to bring them up in the nurture and ad- 
monition of the Lord. 

We also engage to attend constantly on the ordinance of the Lord's 
Supper, eat and drink discerning the Lord's body. 



Ecclesiastical History 183 

We likewise promise to attend carefully on public prayers, preaching 
of the Word and on every part of Divine service, and that we will per- 
severe therein. 

We also engage to watch over one another as the Gospel directs, and 
in our places to assist in upholding that discipline which Christ has set 
us in His Church, and to submit ourselves thereunto together with our 
children. 

We seriously promise I'eligiously to observe the Lord's Day to keep 
it holy. 

We, likewise, promise to maintain the worship of God in our families, 
to make our houses places of prayer, and we will endeavor to walk sob- 
erly, righteously and godly among ourselves, set good example before 
others, in a word, we will make it our care to live according to that 
Rule Christ has set us, to do to others as we would they should deal with 
us. 

For the fulfillment of this covenant and the performances of the sol- 
emn engagements we humbly depend on the aid of that "Grace which is 
held forth in the Gospel, and freely offered to all who cordially em- 
brace it by thankfully laying hold on God's covenant and choosing those 
things which please Him. 

At the same time, engaging to hold Communion with all our regular 
sister churches, to ask for their help whenever we stand in need of it, 
and lend them ours when properly desired. 

We also invite our christian neighbors and friends to join with us in 
this profession of faith, and these covenant engagements, that so this 
church may become beautiful, as Tirzah, comely as Jerusalem, and ter- 
rible as an army with banners. 

We pray that grace, mercy and peace may be multiplied to all the 
churches of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all the kingdoms of this earth 
may become His kingdom, and the whole earth be filled with His glory. 
Amen. 

Patience Field Obadiah Willcox 

Abigail Holmes Lemuel Holmes 

Lydia Smith William Barron 

Sarah Bates Eliphalet Dart 

Olive Hayward Ichabod Smith 

Moses D. Field 
Surry, Jan. 17, 1788. Samuel Smith 

Nathan Hayward 

Timothy Dart 
The above covenant was sub- Sylvanus Hayward 

scribed and publicly consented Abner Skinner 

to in presence of us, Nathaniel Dart 

Edward Goddard Joseph Holmes. 

Aaron Hall 



184 History of Surry 

1792. Oct. 15, Church meeting held and a committee appointed to confer 
with Mr. Solomon Adams on the subject of his settlement with us. 

1793. Dec. 18, William Barron requests dismission to church in Keene. 
Voted to refer the matter to the church in Keene. Committee appointed to 
make inquiry with regard to the time when the church was first incorporated, 
subscribers, etc. Committee appointed to treat with Bro. Thomas Harvey. 

1794. Jan. 15, Committee report concerning Thomas Harvey. It was further 
more voted "that notwithstanding this church are well satisfied with the per- 
formances of Mr. Taft hitherto, yet that it is our desire to have further op- 
portunity for acquaintance with him and his abilities before we proceed to 
give him a call, and that to this end the town be decided to make further pro- 
vision for his continuing with us as a candidate on probation, beyond the term 
already agreed upon. 

1795. Aug. 9, Eunice Ellis, formerly Weare, dismissed and recommended 
to Gilsum. 

1795. Jan. 19, This vote proposed and seconded; Whereas this church has 
for a long time been destitute of a pastor and the regular and stated admin- 
istration of the Word and ordinances of God's house — and having had Mr. 
Perley Howe of Marlborough in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, for a 
considerable time preaching with us on probation, and being fully satisfied 
with his moral and Christian character, as also with his ministerial gifts and 
accomplishments- — do now earnestly request him to settle with us in the work 
of the gospel ministry, and take upon him the charge and oversight of this 
flock and congregation in the Lord. 

Which vote being put, passed vinanimously in the affirmative, and a com- 
mittee appointed to lay the vote before the town, and also Rev. Howe. 

1795. Apr. 23, Voted that the first Wednesday in July next be the day for 
the ordination of Mr. Howe if it be agreeable to the town of Surry. 

Voted that letter missives be sent to twelve sister churches desiring their 
presence and assistance by their pastors and delegates on said day to join in 
such acts of communion as are necessary for the solemn separation of Mr. 
Perley Howe to the work of the gospel ministry and his investure in the office 
of a GOSPEL BISHOP in this town. 

Churches invited: East Sudbury, Walpole, Northborough, Swanzey, Sud- 
bury, Keene, Bolton, Marlborough (Mass.), Gilsum, Westmoreland, South- 
borough, Alstead. 

A committee was appointed to join with the town in sending letters to above 
churches. Voted to request Mr. Howe to assist in preparing said letters. 

1795. Sept. 15, The following churches by their pastors and delegates be- 
ing convened at the house of Mr. Nathaniel Dart in Surry in consequence of 
letter missives from the church in Surry on the evening of the 15th of Sept. 
A. D. 1795— viz:— churches in East Sudbury, Walpole, Northborough, Swan- 
zey, Marlborough, (Mass.), Gilsum, Westmoreland, Alstead, Southborough, 
Keene, agreed to form into an ecclesiastical council and chose the Rev. Mr. 
Fessenden Moderator and the Rev. Mr. Goddard Scribe. 

1795. Sept. 16. The council met and proceeded to look into Mr. Perley 



Ecclesiastical History 185 

Howe's call from the church and town of Surry to settle with them in the 
work of the Gospel ministry, and his answer to their invitation. Also into 
Mr. Howe's moral and christian character and standing in the Catholic 
Church; also into his aims and views in undertaking the ministerial work 
and office; also his abilities to discharge the same, and his faith in the most 
important doctrines of Christianity. 

The question being put whether the Council were satisfied and the way 
was clear for proceeding to the solemn ordination of Mr. Perley Howe to the 
pastoral office in Surry, it passed in the affirmative, with few only on the con- 
trary part. The Council then proceeded to assign the parts to be performed 
in the public services, and voted — 

Introductory prayer Rev. Mr. Pratt 

Ordaining prayer Rev. Mr. Bridge 

Charge Rev. Mr. Fessenden 

Right hand of Fellowship Rev. Mr. Whitney 

The Council then proceeded to the church in Surry, and Perley Howe, A. 
M., being first received as a member of the church in Surry, by virtue of a 
dismission and recommendation from the church in Marlborough, Mass., was 
solemnly separated and ordained Pastor of the church in Surry. 

Edward Goddard, Moderator 

Attest of said church and scribe of Council. 
And this book is according to orders delivered up by the former Moderator to 
the pastor of the church in Surry. 
Sept. 16, 1795. 

1795 REV. PERLEY HOWE'S MINISTRY 1837 

Rev. Perley Howe came to town in the summer of 1794; at a town meeting 
held Oct. 18th "to see if the town will agree to hire him to preach with us any 
longer" it was voted to hire him for three months. 

Jan. 21, 1795 voted "to give Mr. Perley Howe a call to settle with us, to 
give him a yearly salary of 70 pounds, and the improvement of a par- 
sonage to be purchased within two years at about 150 pounds." 
Mar. 30, 1795 voted "to reconsider the Parsonage for Mr. Howe." 
Apr. 23, 1795 voted "to ordain Mr. Perley Howe the 3rd Wed. in Sept. 
16th." 

From the 

church records kept by Rev. Howe. 

1795. Oct. 15, A committee appointed to revise records and make abridged 
extract from the present Covenant of the church. 

1795. Oct. 29, The committee chosen to revise records reported the follow- 
ing draught, viz; — 

That you may enjoy the privileges of the gospel, you now profess a sincere 
belief that Jesus is the Son of God; that He came into the world to offer him- 
self a sacrifice for the sins of mankind; that bj'^ His life. His death, and by 
His resurrection He hath opened to your enjojanent a lively hope of immor- 



186 History of Surry 

tality, and that through His righteousness only you can and may have ac- 
cess to the joy and to the happiness of the heavenly state. In connection with 
this faith, you also believe in the existence, in the government and in the 
providence of one self dependent God, who is the Father of our Lord Jesus 
Christ. 

You also believe in the agency of the Divine Spirit; that it is his office to en- 
lighten your minds; to assist and guide you to glory. 

You likewise believe that the Scriptures are the Word of God; that they con- 
tain the words of eternal life, and reveal the only sure standard of faith and 
practice. 

Impressed with these ideas, you now solemnly promise, in the presence of 
God and this church (To the discipline of which you now submit yourself) that 
you will endeavor to conform your heart to the temper of the Gospel, and to 
observe each precept, each institution which Christ hath enjoined on the pro- 
fessors of His religion. 

The above abridged extract of the covenant being read in the presence of 
the Church, and the vote being called whether it should be accepted, it passed 
unanimously in the affirmative, and is, therefore, to be the rule of admission 
into the church. 

Voted that candidates for admission into the church shall stand propounded 
the term of three weeks. 

Voted that this church hold fellowship with all denominations of professed 
christians. 

Voted that the expenses of the Communion Table be defrayed by a tax on 
the members of the church. 

1796. Mar. -14, Voted that this church shall hold five communions in a year, 
in the following order, viz : — on the Sabbath next succeeding the annual Fast, 
on the first Sabbath in June, on the second Sabbath in July, on the first Sab- 
bath in Sept., and on the second Sabbath in Oct. 

1796. Mar. 24, Voted to raise five dollars to procure sacramental bread and 
wine for the present year; to pay four shillings for bread and wine used the 
past year; to procure a basin to be used in baptism. 

1796. Apr. 7, The following question was proposed, viz: — "Shall particu- 
lar confessions of any crime be required of a person previous to membership 
with this church?" Passed in the negative. 

1798. Apr. 12, Deacon Obediah Wilcox resigned because of age and Moses 
Dickinson Field chosen in his stead to be a deacon, also Treasurer. John 
Brockway admitted to the church. 

1802. Apr. 15, Eli Dort chosen deacon in place of Moses D. Field resigned. 
Voted to relinquish the tax of Arethusa Smith and Polly Crandell. 

1802. Sept. 5, Moses D. Field asks dismission to the church in Keene. Ac- 
tion was postponed. 

1802. Oct. 6, 1803. Jan. 10, 1803. Jan. 24, Discussion of Moses D. Field's 
dismission. Refused to grant it. 

1803. Apr. 11, The church and Moses D. Field come to a satisfactory 
agreement, and he is reinstated as a member of the church. 



Ecclesiastical History 187 

1804. Feb. 5, Josiah Hendee brings accusation of assault and battery upon 
the person of Ichabod Smith; disavows the act, and asks the church to deal 
with the matter. 

1804. Mar. 20 & May 22, Matter between Josiah Hendee and Ichabod 
Smith discussed and settled satisfactorilly. 

1805. Mar. 3, Invitation accept'ed to send pastor and delegate to the ordin- 
ation of Pliny Dickinson at Walpole. 

1805. Oct. 27, Pastor and three delegates chosen to attend the ordination 
of Rev. Abner Kneeland in Langdon. 

1806. July 8, Capt. Thomas Harvey reinstated in the church. 

1806. Oct. 12, voted to have six communions a season in the future. 

1807. June 4, Eli Darte and Ichabod Smith before the meeting. Ichabod 
Smith suspended from the church. 

1808. Oct. 16, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the ordination of Rev. 
Sylvester Bucklin in Marlborough, Massachusetts. 

1808. Nov. 23, Committee chosen to treat with John Norris and wife re- 
specting their repeated abscences from the church services. 

1808. Dec. 7, 21, 28, Matters in regard to Moses D. Field. 

1809. Mar. 17, John Norris and Joanna, his wife, suspended from the 
church. 

1810. Aug. 12, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the Installation ser- 
vices of Rev. Clark Brown in Swanzey. 

1810. Oct. 7, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the Ordination services of 
Mr. Shipley Wells as an Evangelist at Hartland, Vt. 

1810. Dec. 30, Dea. Lemuel Holmes & Abigail, his wife, given letter of dis- 
mission to any church they may have opportunity to enjoy the ordinances of 
the gospel. 

1812. Feb. 16, Josiah Hendee dismissed to the church in Hampton. 

1814. Oct. 6, Voted that members of other churches residing with us shall 
be called upon to furnish certificate of their Christian standing in the course 
of one year from the commencement of their residence with us or otherwise 
to sign our church covenant, and, that if neither of these steps are taken, said 
persons shall be debarred from Communion after the expiration of the year. 

1814. Nov. 27, Abigail, wife of Edmund Wetherbee, propounded for ad- 
mission to the church. 

1815. Feb. 2, Moses Hill admitted to the church from Gardner, Mass. 
David Reed chosen deacon. 

1815. Apr. 13, Lucy, wife of Moses Hill, admitted to the church from Peru, 
Vt. 

1815. Aug. 6, Delegate chosen to assist in dismission of Rev. Clark Brown 
from the church in Swanzey. 

1818. July 1, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the Ordination of Rev. 
Zedekiah S. Barstow over the church in Keene. 

1818. Dec. 20, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the Installation ser- 
vices of Rev. Broughton White in Washington. 

Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the Ordination of Rev. Joshua Chand- 
ler in Swanzey. 

1819. Nov. 14, Ichabod Crane and wife pi-opounded for admission to the 
church. 



188 History of Surpy 

1820. Oct. 8, Voted that in the future Communions should be in regular 
border the first Sabbath in every other month, beginning with the first Sab- 
bath in January. 

1820. Dec. 31, 1821. Jan. 4, 1821. May 4, Sept. 16, 21, 1822. Aug. 30, 
Abijah Benton suspended from the church, and restored to membership. 

1821. Sept. 16, Calvin Allen Sr. propounded for admission to the church. 
1823. Apr. 6, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the installation exer- 
cises of Rev. J. Walker in Chesterfield. 

1825. Dec. 25, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the ordination services 
of Rev. Thomas Sullivan in Keene. 

1826. May 5, Ichabod Ballou chosen deacon in place of Dea. Field. 

1831. Sept. 4, Hannah Holbrook and Mary Harvey request dismission to 
the church in Alstead. Request to be further considered. 

1833. Apr. 11, Ichabod Ballou dismissed from office of Deacon, and sus- 
pended from the church for six months. 

1836. Oct. 9, Pastor and delegate chosen to attend the ordination services 
of Rev. Abiel Abbott Livermore in Keene. 

This closes the church records kept by Rev. Perley Howe. 

ADMISSIONS INTO THE CHURCH BETWEEN 1796 AND 1837. 
PERLEY HOWE, PASTOR. 

1796. Jan. 24, Eli Dart, Joanna, his wife, and Anna Dai-t. Apr. 7, Zeruiah 

Howe, wife of Rev. Perley Howe, from Marlborough, Mass. July 10, 
Ruth, wife of Benj. Cai'penter; Joanna, wife of Ebenezer Gilbert. 

1797. Aug. 31, Josiah Hendee from Walpole. Sept. 18, Daniel Smith and 
Nabby, his wife. 

1798. Apr. 12, John Brockway. July 5, Polly, wife of Eldad Skinner, from 

Bolton, Conn. 

1799. Mar. 3, John Norris and Joanna, his wife. Oct. 13, Arethusa, wife of 

Thomas Smith, Jr. 

1802. July 1, Joanna, wife of Joshua Fuller. 

1803. Apr. 10, Ebenezer Bill and wife. Aug. 14, Hannah, wife of Benjamin 

Smith. 

1804. Aug. 31, Moses Field and Polly, his wife. Sept. 2, Widow Sarah Dart, 
Abigail Wheelock. 

1808. July 10, Abijah Benton; Sybil wife of Daniel Smith. 

1810. June 3, Silas Perry and wife from Westminster, Mass. 

1811. Jan. 20, Widow Susannah Bond. 

1812. June 4, Roxana Harvey, wife of Jonathan; Sally Martin. 

1814. Apr. 14, Joseph Holmes from Brimfield, Mass. May 22, Salmon Bellows 

from Walpole. June 5, John McCurdy; Rachel, wife Phinehas Allen; 
Anna, wife of Elijah Norris; Martha, wife of Jonas Pollard; Nancy, 
wife of Samuel Robinson; Eunice Allen; Betsy Robinson. July 10, 
David Reed; Hannah Hawes. Sept. 4, Susanna, wife of Allen Butler. 
Dec. 4, Sarah, wife of Peter Joslin. 

1815. Jan. 1, Abigail, wife of Edmund Wetherbee. Feb. 2, Moses Hill from 

Gardner, Mass. Feb. 12, Isaac Field and his wife. Apr. 13, Lucy, wife 
of Moses Hill from Peru, Vt. 



Ecclesiastical History 189 

1816. July 11, Polly, wife of Jesse Streetei- from Westmoreland. Dec. 1, 
Asahel Farnsworth from Keene. 

1817. Sept. 4, Mrs. Lucinda Wilcox from Marlboro. 
1819. Nov. 24, Ichabod Crane and Fanny, his wife. 

1821. Mar. 11, Philip Monroe and Betsey his wife. Sept. 2, Moses Emery. 
Nov. 2, Calvin Allen. 

1822. Mar. 3, Mrs. Elizabeth Harvey, wife of Asahel, from Keene. 

1824. Nov. 7, Phoebe Howe. 

1825. July 3, John Haile and Eunice from Putney, Vt. Nov. 6, Ichabod Bal- 

lon from Westmoreland. 

1826. Jan. 1, Mrs. Persis Harvey, wife of Jonathan, Jr. Mar. 5, Mrs, Pru- 

dence Hayward, wife of Nathan. Mar. 19, Sarah March. July 2, Mrs. 
Mary May. 

1830. Jan. 3, Elijah Norris; Mrs. Hannah Holbrook. Sept. 2, Mary Harvey; 

Elizabeth Stevens Joslin. 

1831. July 3, Betsey Wheelock. Sept. 4, Mary, wife of Jonathan Robinson, 

Esq.; Abigail, wife of Silas Whitcomb; Elmina, wife of Cyrus Bemis; 
Eliphalet Dart and wife. 
1836. July 3, Samuel B. Fisher. 

DISMISSIONS FROM THE CHURCH 

1786. July 9, Thomas Dart to church in Gilsum. 

1795. Aug. 9, Eunice Ellis, formerly Weai'e, to Gilsum. 

1797. Nov, 9, William Russell to Fryburg, Me. 

26, Phebe Still, formerly Wade, to Kingston, 
14, Joanna, wife of Ebenezer Gilbert, to Walpole, 
30, Lemuel Holmes «fe wife to whatever church they may associate. 
16, Josiah Hendee to Hampton. 
13, Salmon Bellows to Langdon. 
. 11, Susanna Bond to Baptist Church in Brookline, Mass. 
, 1, Lucy Abbott to Keene. 
19, John McCurdy, now living in Concord, Vt., a letter to any 
church he may choose. Feb. 2, Hannah Hawes to the church in Sher- 
burne, Mass. 

BAPTISMS IN THE OLD CHURCH IN SURRY 

1769. Apr. 12, Chloe Spencer dau of Joseph, July 12, Gaylord Wilcox son 
of Obadiah, Esq. Elias Hayward, son of Peter. Sept, 28, Lucinda 
Dart, dau of Joshua & Deborah. 

1771. July 23, Bethuel Barron, son of William. Salla Raves. Aug. 20, Sybil 
Hayward, dau of Peter. Sept. 22, Asahel, Lucy, Luna and Thomas, 
children of Thomas & Grace Harvey. 

1772. Mar. 22, Pamelia Dart, dau of Joshua, Cynthia Dart, dau of Eliphalet 
and Lucinda Field, dau of Moses D. June 21, Eunice Dart, dau of 
Nathaniel. Aug. 30, Thankful Smith, dau of Thomas, Oct, 28, Sam- 
uel Smith, son of Samuel. Nov. 15, Jonathan Harvey, son of Thomas, 

1773. Apr. 11, Bethia Barron, dau of William, Anna Still, dau of John and 
Deborah Dart, dau of Nathaniel, 



1800, 


Jan, 


1805. 


Apr. 


1810. 


Dec. 


1812. 


Feb. 


1820. 


Feb. 


1829. 


Aug, 


1833. 


Nov. 


1823, 


Jan. 



190 History of Surry 

1774. Mar. 30, Sarah Field, dauof Moses D. and Patience. Oct, 3, Daniel 
Dart, son of Joshua & Deborah; Jonathan Smith, son of Samuel & 
Deborah. 

1775. Jan. 22, Charles Rice and his sons, Reuben and Timothy. 

1776. Nov. 3, Lydia Wilcox, dau of Obadiah; Ichabod Smith, son of Thomas; 
Erastus Benton, son of Abijah; Zenas Field, son of Moses D.; Justus 
Smith, son of Samuel. 

1777. Jan., Jonathan Smith Skinner, son of Abner; Jerusha Field, dau of 
Moses D.; Orena Dart, dau of Timothy, she is also called Irena. "Dec. 
25, Cyrus Hayward, son of William & Sarah; Obed Dart, son of Eli- 
phalet & Anna; Roxalana Smith, dau of Thomas & Elizabeth and Re- 
becca Benton dau of Abijah & Rebecca. 

1780. Apr. 23, Mary Russell, dau of William. Sept. 7, Alpheus Smith, son 
of Samuel. 

1781. Jan. 7, Silas Harvey, son of Thomas. Mar. 18, Eunice Field, dau of 
Moses D., and Huldah Hayward, dau of Nathan. Apr. 15, Sarah 
Dort, dau of Thomas, Jr. May 3, Ruhannah Benton, dau of Abijah. 
May 13, Isaac Field, son of Moses D. Aug. 12, Elijah, Moses, Betsey 

• and Rebecca Ware, children of Moses; Betsey Dart, dau of Roger. Dec. 
16, Achsah Dart, dau of Eliphalet. 

1782. Feb. 10, Jerusha Dart, dau of Thomas, Jr. May 26, Esther Holmes, 
dau of Lemuel, Lucinda Dart, dau of Roger. July 7, Deborah Smith, 
dau of Samuel. Aug. 18, Sarah Bates, dau of Ford. Sept. 15, Experi- 
ence Hayward, dau of Nathan. Feb. 3, Leonard Russell, son of Wil- 
liam. Nov. 10, John Darling, son of Rev. David. 

1779. Oct. 24, Richard Skinner, son of Abner & Susanna, and Rhoda Benton, 
dau of Abijah & Rebecca. 

1783. July 6, Jabez Crandell, son of Edward. Sept. 7, Hannah, James, 
Nathaniel, Malta and Daniel Packard (or Peekard), children of Sam- 
uel. 

1784. July 26, Esther Darling, dau of David & Esther. Oct. 3, Joanna Dart, 
dau of Roger & Elizabeth. 

1786. July 5, Samuel Bicknel Holmes, son of Lemuel & Abigail; Isaac Smith, 
son of Samuel & Deborah. 

1787. July 25, Rhoda Field, dau of Moses D. & Patience; Sena Hayward, dau 
of Nathan & Sarah; Horace Hayward, son of Sylvanus & Olive and 
Elizabeth Bates, dau of Ford & Sarah. 

1788. Rhoda Dart, dau of Timothy & Margaret. 

1789. Sept. 13, Fanny Darling, dau of David & Esther. 

At a meeting of the church Jan. 15, 1794 it was voted to put on the records 
the following names although it does not appear when and by whom they 
were baptised: 

Eliphaz and Cyrus Field, sons of Moses D.; Asahel Dart, son of Eli- 
phalet; Joanna Skinner, dau of Abner; Mary, Lovisa, Eunice, Prudence 
and Lucina Wilcox, daughters of Obadiah. 

1795. Aug. 9, Nathan Hayward, son of Lieut. Nathan. 
Baptisims performed by Rev, Perley Howe: 

1796. Jan. 24, Eliphalet, John and Elihu Dart, sons of Eli & Joanna. May 
22, Ralston and Hannah Ballock, children of William & Jenny; Luther 
and Cynthe Monroe, children of Jonas & Cynthia. July 10, Lucinda, 



Ecclesiastical History 191 

Sarah, Arad, Ira, Asa and Joanna Gilbert, children of Ebenezer & 
Joanna; Alfred, Benjamin and Sally Carpenter, children of Benjamin 
& Ruth. Aug. 28, Joanna Dort, dau of Eli & Joanna; Sybil Hayward. 
Oct. 9, Betsey and Jinney Gilmore McCurdy, dau's of James & Mar- 
garet. 

1797. Aug. 31, Amasa Hendee, son of Josiah. Oct. 27, David Ballock, son of 
William & Jenny. 

1798. May 6, Cyrus Gilbert, son of Ebenezer & Joanna. July 1, Thankful 
Dort, dau of Eli & Joanna. Aug. 26, Lynde McCurdy, son of James & 
Margaret. Sept. 2, Abijah Benton, son of Abijah & Rebecca; Phebe 
Howe, dau of Rev. Perley & Zeruiah. Sept. 18, Nabby Smith, dau of 
Daniel & Nabby. Also, Charlotte, Daniel, James and Thankful Smith, 
children of Daniel & Nabby. 

Note. When Nabby, the infant child of Mr. Smith was baptised, the 
other children were at Marlow, but being sent for they arrived in 
the evening and were then baptised for the comfort of the dying 
mother. 

1799. Mar. 3, John Norris, son of John & Joanna. Sept. 15, Asahel Skinner, 
son of Eldad & Polly. Oct. 13, Willard, Arathusa, Rhoda Roxalana and 
Prudence Smith, children of Thomas, Jr. & Arathusa. 

1800. July 13, Huldah Gilbert, dau of Ebenezer & Joanna. Sept. 21, Azubah 
Dort, dau of Eli & Joanna. 

1801. Mar. 8, Eliza Howe, dau of Rev. Perley & Zeruiah. June 7, Harry 
Norris, son of John & Joanna. June 14, Nabby Ann Smith, dau of 
Daniel & Sybil. 

1802. May 16, Benjamin Skinner, son of Eldad & Polly. Nov. 7, Mina (or 
Mima) Dort, dau of Eli & Joanna. 

1803. May 22, Seth Carpenter, son of Benjamin & Ruth. June 19, Tirzah 
Skinner, dau of Eldad & Polly. July 3, Charlotte Gilbert, dau of Eben- 
ezer & Joanna. Aug. 14, Sarepta Smith, dau of Daniel & Sybil. 

1804. May 13, Obed Dort, son of Eli & Joanna. Aug. 31, Patience, Amos, 
Esther, Rispah and Jerusha Field, children of Moses & Polly. Sept. 
2, Nancy Wheelock, dau of Abigail. Dec. 2, Lyman Norris, son of 
John & Joawna. 

1807. June 7, Jo*^ aa Norris, dau of John & Joanna. 

1808. June 5, Jonathan Howard Smith, son of Daniel & Sybil. 

1810. Jan. 28, Alvira Fuller, dau of Capt. David & Orinda. Mar. 25, William 
Bond, son or Capt. Charles; Elias Smith, son of Daniel. July 1, Sarah, 
Milton and Louisa Perry, children of Silas & Catherine. 

1814. June 5, Abigail Ann Robinson, dau of Samuel & Nancy. June 26, 
Polly, Sophronia, Philo and Davenport Norris, children of Elijah & 
Anna. Aug. 4, Arvilla Maria Harvey, dau of Jonathan, Sr. & Rox- 
ana. Sept. 1, Sally, Lova, Roxa, George and Lucius Allen, children of 
Phinehas & Rachel. Dec. 4, Luke, George and Caroline Joslin, chil- 
dren of Peter & Sarah; Elizabeth Maria Robinson, dau of Samuel & 
Naficy. 

1815. Jan. 30, Sally, Elizabeth, John Jr., Samuel, Thomas, Nancy, Richard 
and Lynde McCurdy, children of John; Edmund, Moses Wright, Abi- 
gail and Ambrose Wetherbee, children of Edmund & Abigail. Feb. 12, 



192 History of Surry 

Lucina Maria and Prescott Perley Field, children of Isaac & Dorothy. 

1816. Apr. 7, Henry Willard Smith, son of Willard & Betsey. June 2, Nancy 
Harvey, dau of Jonathan, Sr. & Roxana. July 11, George Phinehas 
Wetherbee, son of Edmund & Abigail. 

1817. Sept. 4, Stephen Smith, son of widow Sybil. 

1818. Emily Edna Robinson, dau of Samuel & Nancy; Mary Elizabeth Smith, 
dau of Willard & Betsey. Oct. 11, Betsey Maria Chapin, dau of David 
& Betsey. 

1819. July 18, Louisa Jane Field, dau of Isaac & Dolly (Dorothy). 

1820. Sept. 3, Susan Jennett Robinson, dau of Samuel & Nancy. 

1821. July 1, Fanny Hall Harvey, dau of Asahel & Elizabeth. Sept. 2, Wil- 
liam Winchester and Moses Webster Emery, children of Moses & Cjm« 
thia. 

1823. July 6, Nancy Robinson, dau of Samuel & Nancy; Fanny Watts Crane, 
dau of Joshua & Rebecca. 

1826. Jan. 1, Sophronia Almeda Harvey, dau of Jonathan, Jr. & Persis. 
May 7, Nathan Gardner Hayward, son of Nathan & Prudence. July 
30, Jane, John Thomas and Samuel Hunt May, children of widow Mary. 
Aug. 20, Eunice, Nancy and Harvey Ballou, children of Dea. Ichabod 
& Eunice. 

1827. Oct. 7, Lucia Maria Hayward, dau of Nathan & Prudence. 

1828. Sept. 7, Samuel Hills Robinson, son of Samuel & Nancy; Sarah and 
Mary Hills, daughters of Benjamin & Bordicea. 

1829. July 5, George Kimball Harvey, son of Jonathan, Jr., & Eliza. Sept. 
13, Sarah Barnes and Eliza Howe Petts, children of Dr. John & Phebe. 

1830. Sept. 5, Francis Baxter Harvey, son of widow Mary. 

1831. July 3, James Howe Harvey, son of Jonathan, Jr. & Eliza. Sept. 4, 
Sarah Whitcomb, dau of Silas & Abigail; Cyrus Henry and Elmina 
Jane Bemis, children of Cyrus & Elmina; William and Obed Oilman 
Dort, children of Eliphalet & Lois. 

1832. Sept. 16, Lydia Eliza Daggett, dau of Otis. 

1833. July 7, Mary Elizabeth Dort, dau of Eliphalet & Lois; Persis Eliza 
Harvey, dau of Jonathan, Jr. & Eliza. 

1835. July 2, Mary Isadore Robinson, dau of Capt. Samuel & Nancy. 

1836. May 1, Martha Jane Daggett, dau of Otis; Sarah Barnes Harvey, dau 
of Jonathan, Jr. & Eliza. 

THE MINISTER'S TAX 

The men who emigrated to this country to escape religious persecution in- 
corporated their own religious views into their laws; when the laws of New 
Hampshire were enacted, no one objected to the plan of supporting the gos- 
pel by tax; the services of the Christian religion were expected to be main- 
tained and supported in the same manner as civil offices. But the descend- 
ants of those emigrants became dissatisfied with the law, and there was dis- 
cord, trouble and turmoil in nearly all the New England towns for years. 
We early find it in this town: 

Jan. 21, 1773 voted "to abate all the rates that have been made or 
voted on Job Gleson or ever Shall be and that wee will never rate Sd 



Ecclesiastical History 193 

Gleson for the futer towarde building or repairin or Sweeping Sd 
meeting house or Seetling or hiring or maintaining of ministers So long 
as he continues to be of the baptist perswation and that wee will refund 
back to the Sd Gleson the Sum of £1-18-8 - - - - to be improved 
toward supporting a School in Sd town." 

This was the first of many "protests" that were made by various people in 
town, who were not of the same "persuasion" as the minister. 

Aug. 27, 1804 it was voted to re-pay the following who had been taxed for 
the support of Mr. Howe: Abel Allen, Abel Allen Jr., Benjamin Merrifield, 
J. Cheever Fowler, John Marvin, Asa Hancock, Levi Hancock, Oliver Wright 
and Elizer Wright, all of whom stated they were of the Baptist faith. Also 
those of the Episcopalion faith : Capt. Simon Baxter, Capt. Thomas Harvey, 
John Stiles. These were also excused: benjamin Carpenter, Amasa Carpen- 
ter and Asa Hancock Jr. 

"Protests" similar to the one below are frequently found among the Surry 
town records : 

"To the Selectmen of the Town of Surry. 
This certifies that I belong to the free Religious Society in Walpole. I 
therefore Protest against paying taxes to Perley Howe or any other 
minister in Surry. I therefore forbid the said Selectmen or any other 
person making any Salary or Ministerial taxes against Me or my prop-, 
erty forever from this time henceforth. 
Surry, March 14th, 1820. Sylvester Smith." 

July 16, 1800 Rev. Perley Howe received of the town $466.66, it being his 
salary for the years 1797 & 1798. The next day he received his salary for 
1799 — $233.33. His annual salary, though seldom paid when due, remained 
at this sum till 1815 or later. 

The year 1803 contained as long a list of salary tax payers as any year 
and is given on page 207. 

At the June session of the New Hampshire legislature in 1819 the church 
and state were by law separated, thus making it illegal to raise money by 
taxation in New Hampshire to support preaching. 

Capt. Elijah Fuller represented Surry and Gilsum at the session when this 
bill was passed. It is said that "just before the vote was taken Elijah's old 
minister, Rev. Perley Howe, called on him and with tears in his eyes, be- 
sought him not to vote to starve the ministers. He replied that the ministers 
must look to voluntary contribution for support." 

It took some years for the people to realize that the support of religion 
should and ought to be separate from state authority, and left to the volun- 
tary contribution of the people. To the minister in Surry, who had been in 
charge of this church and people for over two decades it seemed a sad calam- 
ity. But he bowed to the inevitable, and Apr. 17, 1820, at his own request he 
was "dismissed from his ministerial services in this town," and it was voted 
to settle and pay him in full to date. He was therefore released from all 
further obligations to the town, and dependent on the church for his salary. 



13 



194 History of Surry 

REV. PERLEY HOWE 

He was a native of Marlboro, Mass., and at the time' of his death was in 
his 79th year. He graduated from Dartmouth college in 1790, and was soon 
led to the studies of the sacred profession; he commenced his ministerial du- 
ties in Surry in 1794. His letter of acceptance to his "call" to this place shows 
that he was a man of scholarly attainments as well as an earnest christian 
preacher. 

To the Church & Society in Surry; — 

Beloved: Having received an Invitation to Settle with you in the 
work of the gospel ministry I have given your requests that attention 
which the importance of its object demands ----- To perform 
this work acceptably requires the greatest fortitude & prudence, the 
greatest faithfulness, and the most active and persevering diligence 
_ _ _ . . When I thus consider, it eventually appears to be my 
part to engage with you in the work of the gospel ministery - - - - 
that friendship & harmony may bless our connection. At the same 
time I earnestly entreat you to remember that the ministry of the word 
is committed unto earthern vessels ----- that the ambassa- 
dors of Christ in common with other men are subject to imperfection 
- - - - - Should I therefore ever inadvertently depart from the 
truth in sentiments or practice it will be your part not speedily to con- 
demn, but to be ready to extend to me the restoring hand of Christ. 

Parley Howe. 

P. S. As my friends live at a distance, and as I shall wish yearly to 
visit them, I must therefore take the liberty to reserve three Sabbaths 
in a year to my self. P. Howe. 

That Rev. Perley Howe was the unanimous choice of the people is seen by 
the following certificate: 

These may certify that at a meeting of the Legal voters of the town of 
Surry legally warned and duly holden January 21st, 1795 for the purpose of 
settling Mr. Perley Howe as their minister there were forty two who voted to 
give Mr. Howe Seventy pounds annually so long as he shall continue to be 
their minister as recorded on the Town Book. 

Another certificate under the same date states that forty-nine voters were 
the most that ever assembled in Town meeting, and those were ones who 
voted for the Governor at the annual town meeting in 1795. 

Jan. 28, 1795, "Voted that the yearly salary to Said Mr. Perley How Be 
Seventy pounds yearly if he should be settled as a gospel Minister in Said 
Surry as long as he continues to be their Minister, thirty five pounds to be 
paid in Cash yearly & thirty five pounds to be paid in Wheat, Rye, Indian 
corn, pork, beef, butter or flax at cash price yearly as long as he is minister 
for the town of Surry, and the improvement of a personage worth one Hun- 
dred and fifty pounds. Said personage to be procured within two years from 
the time of Settlement, and till such time as said personage is procured, said 
town to allow & pay said Mr. Perley How the Interest of said sum yearly till 



Ecclesiastical History 



195 



said personage is procured — and in case said personage should Cost more 
than one Hundred & Fifty pounds or Less than one Hundred and fifty pounds, 
to adjust the matter with said How as the case may be, and sd personage to 
be and Remain the property of the purchasers and their Heirs and assigns 
for ever and each person shall Be Considered as a purchaser who shall pay 
their Respective proportion of said personage according to their Respective 
pole or Ratable Estate. 

The yearly sallary to be Equal to two Hundred and thirty-three Dollars & 
thirty-three cents & one third of a cent, and the worth of the personage to 
five Hundred Dollars." 

Church records and all books kept by Rev. Howe show that he was a schol- 
arly and cultivated man. He served on the school committee; was the orig- 
inator of the first Library Society in town, and was interested and took an 
intelligent interest in all town matters. 

It could hardly be expected that so long a pastorate could be wholly har- 
monious and without discord. There were Methodists as well as Baptists and 
other denominations represented in the congregation to which the same min- 
ister was expected to preach. There were controversies and heated discus- 
sions; as a minister Rev. Perley Howe was frequently the object of attack. 
As a man and citizen he had the respect and confidence of everyone in town. 

At his funeral, Rev. Abiel A. Livermore of Keene, who conducted the ser- 
vice, chose his text from Num. xxiii-10 "Let me die the death of the right- 
eous, and let my last end be like his!" See family Record. 







Sacred 








to the memory of 








REV. 


PERLEY HOWE 






Who died Oct. 


20, 1840 in the 79th 


year 


of 


his age 


& 46th 


of his ministry. 






Blessed 


are the dead which die in the Lord. 



ORTHODOX CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH 

Six months after Rev. Perley Howe was dismissed a new organization was 
formed. We have this record : 

"Agreeable to letters missive from Mr. Albert Brown in behalf of 
others in Surry, an Ecclesiastical Council was convened at the house of 
Capt. Samuel Robinson in Surry, May 6, 1837 at 9 o'clock A. M. to take 
into consideration the circumstances of the church in Surry and the 
members of other churches who reside in that town, that wish to enter 
into a church state in Surry, either to reoi'ganize the church or to or- 
ganize a new one as may be deemed expedient. 

There were present the following ministers and delegates. Rev. Allen 
Pratt of Westmoreland, Rev. Z. S. Barstow & Dea. J. W. Briggs of 



196 



History of Surry 



Keene, Rev. Moses Gerould & Bro. Stephen Holbrook of East Alstead, 
Rev. Darwin Adams & Dea. James Newell of Alstead. 

and the church and the members of other churches present 

renewed covenant as proposed (except that the Rev. Mr. Howe did not 
join in it) and they were pronounced a Church. 

MEMBERS admitted May 6, 1837. (From the old church in Surry 
except as otherwise stated) 



Allen. Eunice 

Allen. Hannah from Gilsum 

Allen. Rachel 

Bemis. Elmina 

Blake. Miss Sally from Keene 

Brown. Albert from Rindge 

Crane. Mrs. Fannie 

Crane. Ichabod 

Darling. Daniel from Keene 

Darling. Mrs. Theodosia 

from Keene. 
Dort. Dea. Eli 
Dort. Eliphalet 
Dort. Mrs. Lois (Bemis) 



Dort. Sarah 
Fisher. Samuel B. 
Harvey. Eliza from Cambridgeport 
Harvey. Elizabeth 
Harvey. Mary from Alstead 
Hills. Mrs. Dicea 

Holbrook. Mrs. Abigail by profes- 
sion 
Holbrook. Hannah from Alstead. 
Joslin. Elizabeth S. 
Joslin. Mrs. Sarah 
Norris. Elijah 
Robinson. Mary 
Robinson. Nancy 
Whitcomb. Abigail 



MEMBERS 1837-1875 



Abbott. Lucy Sept. 2, 1860 

Allen. George July, 1837 

(Dismissed to Keene July 6, 1845) 
Allen. Mrs. Nancy R. May 2, 1841 

(Dismissed to Keene July 6, 1845) 
Allen. Rachel Jan. 14, 1839 

(Died Nov. 26, 1852— aged 92) 
Allen. Roseanna Jan. 9, 1848 

(Dismissed April 24, 1852 to church in Keene) 
Allen. Roxanna Mar. 11, 1838 



From church in Keene 
By profession 

By profession 

By profession 

From church in Keene 



From church 

Mass. 
By profession 



in Lowell, 



Ballou. Ichabod May 7, 1843 

Feb. 12, 1847 — because of misconduct in meetings, use of intoxicants etc. 
— dropped from fellowship.) 
Blake. Mrs. Abigail C. Mar. 12, 1840 



Brown. Abigail W. 



Sept. 9, 1838 



Brown. Widow Mercy Jan. 9, 1848 
Carter. Sally Sept. 22, 1850 

(Soon removed to the West.) 
Davids. Eleanor M. From church in Keene May 

(Mrs, Church. Dismissed to Hinsdale Apr. 5, 1846.) 



From church in Winchen- 
don, Mass. 

From church in East Al- 
stead 

By profession 

By profession 



1840 



Ecclesiastical History 197 

Dort. Obed Jan. 1838 By profession 

Fisher. Milla Jan. 11, 1839 From church in Keene 

Griffin. Asa May, 1840 From church in Walpole. 

(Dismissed to church in Keene Oct. 27, 1844.) 
Hill. Harriet B. Nov., 1837 By profession 

Hurd. Lydia July 2, 1843 From church in Spring- 

field, Vt. 

(Dismissed to Chester, Vt. Mar. 1853.) 
Jones. Betsey Jan. 2, 1859 By profession 

Joslin. Ellen M. Jan. 14, 1839 

Robinson. Emily E. Nov., 1837 

Robinson. Nancy L. May 2, 1841 
Shelly. Rowena July, 1837 " " 

(Dismissed to Keene June 7, 1846.) 
Stone. Rebecca F. July, 1837 

Whitcomb. Rebecca Mar. 11, 1838 

Woodward. Edmund Nov., 1837 " " 

Woodward. Mary Nov., 1837 

Wyman. Clarinda Nov. 8, 1846 From church in Dublin. 

From the organization of the new church, May 6, 1837 until January 10, 
1839 Eliphalet Dort was clerk nominally, but he lapsed from the Orthodox 
faith — joined the Unitarian church then being formed in town — and when 
his records of the Orthodox church were sought "only the blank book could 
be found, and the records are therefore incomplete." 

In Sept. 1837 the town voted to appropriate the meetinghouse one third of 
the time to the Methodists, and one third to the Universalists, thus leaving 
but one Sabbath in three when the Orthodox society could use it. This decree 
caused dissatisfaction among the members of the newly organized Congrega- 
tional society, and so steps were taken for the buil'ding of a new church after 
several unsuccessful efforts to regain the use of the meetinghouse. 

In Sept. 1838 pastors of all the surrounding towns met in Surry to dis- 
cuss the situation, and decided to aid the church in building if it should be 
necessary. 

THE "CRANE MEETINGHOUSE" 

In 1838 Otis Daggett conveyed to Ichabod Crane a plot of land 142 feet 
south of the school house lot and 70 feet deep from the wall. On this site 
was built the new meetinghouse, Mr. Crane, not only contributing liberally in 
labor, but also, in large measure, financing the erection of the building. The 
dedication took place Oct. 9, 1839. 

The author of this history has been disappointed in not being able to learn 
something further as to the raising of this church and the exercises attend- 
ant upon its dedication. ' 

From a slip of paper, undated, it would appear that a subscription paper 
was circulated to purchase the horse-sheds from Ichabod Crane : 



198 History of Surry 

A true copy of a subscription paper to buy the new meetinghouse, 
thirteen sheds, all the land together with all the property thereto be- 
longing except two slips and one shed. 

We, the subscribers severally agree to pay the amount, etc. 



Francis Holbrook 


50.00 


and to have the slip he occupies. 




Josiah Kingsbury 


10.00 


Elijah Holbrook 


10.00 


Edmund Woodward 


10.00 


George Blake 


10.00 



§90.00 

It appears Dea. Crane finally conveyed the property to the Home 
Missionary Society; 

Surry, Dec. 5, 1859. This is to certify that I have sold the new meet- 
ing house, land and sheds to the Home Missionary Society. 

(Signed) Ichabod Crane, Clerk. 

This church building has been changed but very little since it was built 
with the exception of lowering the pulpit two or three feet. Necessary re- 
pairs have been made from time to time. 

The church used to be nearly full on pleasant Sundays in 1855. Both the 
Congregationalists and Methodists held services here. 

In connection with the Congregational services, the singers were Capt. 
Eliphalet Dort, Edmund Woodward, Mrs. John Joslin and Mrs. William 
Carpenter. Capt. Dort had a small melodeon which he took to church each 
Sunday in a trunk, and his daughter Mary (Dort) Ware played it for many 
years. 



MEN WHO PREACHED 

March 23, 1840. Voted to call Reverend Ezra Adams as pastor and teacher; 
to offer $300. as his salary provided the N. H. Missionary Society aid to the 
amount of flOO, Apr. 29 this call was accepted, and the ordination took 
place. Nov. 4, 1841 accepted the resignation of pastor; he was still to work 
as much as possible. 

From Nov. 1841 till April 1842 Rev. Joel Wright acted as pastor. 

From July 1, 1842 until May 1845 Rev. Elihu Smith, who came here from 
Chesterfield, was pastor. Mar. 9, 1843 voted that Rev. Elihu Smith be re- 
quested to act as pastor in all respects the same as he would were he placed 
over this church in the usual way. 

Rev. Elihu Smith closed his pastorate in May 1845, and, on the first of 
June, Rev. John P. Perry began his labors. He was a young man, single and 
partially blind. While here he lived in the house next north of the house that 
in recent years has been used as the parsonage. 

He remained one month over two years, and was succeeded by two ministers 
of the Methodist faith. Rev. Charles Greenwood who remained until June 1848, 



Ecclesiastical History 199 

and was followed by Rev. Loi'enzo Draper who remained until the middle of 
May 1850. 

Several supplied the church during the next few months; Rev. Samuel 
Parti'idge for three months; Rev. Henry Kendall for two months; Rev. Jack- 
son Howard for three months; Rev. Wilson A. Farnsworth for one month. 
For one year Rev. Ira Carter and Rev. Abram Tileston, both of Walpole, 
moved into town and alternated in preaching. In May 1853 Rev. Tileston 
moved into town and continued as pastor of the church until Jan. 20, 1855, 
although he changed his residence to Keene in Nov. 1854. While in Surry he 
lived in an old house on the meadow near the angle in the road, north of where 
Victor Lamminen lives (1920). 

It is not known who supplied the church for the next few months, but in 
May Rev. John Clough, a Methodist minister, moved into town and began 
preaching, and remained until June 1856. 

For the next two years there is no record of a settled pastor, but several 
men preached for short periods; Rev. Newell Culver was here in both 1856 
and 1857; for a while Rev. Abram Tileston returned and preached every other 
Sabbath, and Rev. Ezra Adams, then of Gilsum, returned to his old flock every 
other Sunday at 5 P. M. during the summer. 

From August to November 1858 Rev. Daniel Adams, who was a missionary 
from Bangor, Me., preached, and then until 1862 thei-e were different minis- 
tei's every little while. Rev. Andrew Fosdick preached for three months after 
Aug. 1859, and was followed by other ministers until Apr. 15, 1860, when 
Rev. Lyman Colver, an old gentleman from Pottersville, began supplying the 
pulpit. He remained three months, and was succeeded by Rev. Edward 
Abbott who preached one year and left in Apr. 1861. 

Rev. Kilburn, an old man, from Keene, preached in the spring of 1862; he 
was a Methodist minister. Rev. Leonard Tracy and Rev. Joseph Fawcett, 
both Methodists, also preached during 1862. 

May 15, 1864 Rev. Shattuck, a young man, began preaching, and remained 
pastor until May, 1866. Rev. A. M. Griswold of Washington succeeded him. 
Apr. 21, 1867 Rev. Joseph Fawcett commenced preaching to both Methodists 
and Orthodox "for one year." He remained nearly three, preaching his fare- 
well sermon on March 25, 1871. Then Rev. Nims, a young man from Sulli- 
van, supplied the pulpit for about three months and was followed by Rev. 
John Henry Allen, a son of Rev. Joseph Allen of Surry. 

Rev. Love joy of Keene preached for five months, and was followed by Rev. 
Parker also of Keene. Rev. Charles Houghton of Marlborough preached for 
six months during the winter of 1874. Rev. David B. Murray also supplied 
the pulpit in 1874. 

Between 1875 and 1890 there are no records in existence, and the church 
was closed part of the time. 

CHURCH RECORDS 1840-1852 

1841. Dismissed Deacon Brown & wife to church in Dedham, Me. 

Mar. 2, 1844. Voted letter of recommendation to Mrs. Nancy & Miss Nancy 
Robinson. 

Mar. 2, 1844. Voted that whereas common fame says that Samuel B. 
Fisher, a member of this church, has been guilty of breaking open a house 



200 History of Surry 

and taking and converting the property not his own to his own use, and has 
fled to parts unknown — etc. — dropped from fellowship. 

June 3, 1844. Daniel Darling resigned as Deacon in May. In June it was 
unanimously voted to suspend him from membership. In Aug. it was dis- 
covered that Daniel and his wife Theodosia had come into the church in an 
irregular manner — his discipline was given up to Keene church to which he 
belonged. 

Jan. 9, 1848. Fanny Harvey, that was, now Fanny Britton, united with the 
church 1852. Letter of dismission to Mrs. Fisher to Keene. 

Biographical notes regarding a few of the pastors here between 1840 and 
1920. 

Rev. EZRA ADAMS graduated from Amherst College in 1835, and at East 
Windsor Theological Seminary in 1838. He was ordained in Surry Apr. 29, 
1840, and this was his first settled pastorate. Gilsum Town History has a 
more extended account of him, and also his picture. 

Rev. ELIHU SMITH, b. in Granby, Mass., Mar. 21, 1777, was a graduate 
of Dartmouth College. He was installed in Chesterfield, May 23, 1832, and 
dismissed Dec. 2, 1834. He held pastorates also in Vermont, and was neai'ly 
70 years old when he came to Surry in 1843. 

Rev. WILLIAM S. ANDERSON was b. in Belfast, Ireland in 1870. While 
pastor of the church hei-e he commenced studies at Mount Hermon School. 

* "Rev. W. S. Anderson, lately pastor of the Congregational church 
in Surry, and well known in this city, has returned from a trip to Ire- 
land, and will be in Keene and vicinity for a few days. He was mar- 
ried while abroad to Miss Minnie Wearing, daughter of John Wearing, 
Esq., of Derriaughy, Ireland, near Lispurn. Mr. & Mrs. Anderson had 
an exciting homeward trip, being aboard the steamer City of Rome 
which came near floundering at sea by coming into collision with an ice 
berg." 

Rev. WILLIAM F. WHITCOMB was b. in Claremont, Oct. 16, 1873; grad- 
uated from Dartmouth College 1897, and from Hartford, Conn. Theological 
seminary. He came to Surry in 1900 and remained six years. 

Rev. Morton W. Hale, b. Aug. 9, 1876, in Winchendon, Mass.; graduated 
from Hitchcock Free High School in Brimfield, Mass., June 1894; from Lay 
college, Bible Training School, Revere, Mass., 1898; later took a special 
course at Boston University School of Theology. He has held the following 
pastorates: The Christian Church, Lincoln, Vt., 1898-1901; the Cong. Church, 
Sudbury, Vt., Oct. 1901-July 1904; ordained Oct. 6, 1903; the Cong. Church, 
Dover, Mass., 1904-1905; the Cong Church, Surry, N. H., May 1, 1906-May 1, 
1909; the Cong. Church, Bridgewater, Vt., May 1909-Sept. 1910; the Cong. 
Church, Coventry, Vt., Oct. 1910-Feb. 1915; the Cong. Church, Cabot, Vt., 
Mar. 1, 1915—. 

Rev. Henry S. Kimball held the longest pastorate in Surrj% of any pastor 
in recent years. He was born in Candia, and for a time, in his younger days, 
was a clerk in a Manchester dry goods store, but later studied for the minis- 
try and was ordained. He was pastor in Troy 11 years, and then came here 
in 1909. At the annual meeting of the church in 1915 he was voted a paid 
vacation of three weeks. He lived but six weeks after, and died at the Bos- 



*Keene Sentinel, Oct. 4, l^di). 



Ecclesiastical History 201 

ton State hospital Jan. 26, 1916. He was a strong temperance man, and had 
won his way into the hearts of his people here. His genial manners, native 
wit and wholesome fun made him a real and valued contributor in the church 
social gatherings and other occasions of a public nature. 

In the pulpit he had a style peculiarly his own. His illustrations were 
clear and to the point, his language lucid and simple. 

His last sermon was preached Dec. 19, 1915, and while it had been known 
that he had been in failing health for some time it was not realized that the 
end was so near. So far as known he was the only pastor among the many 
pastors connected with the Surry church to die while in service. 

Frederick C. Hunt came to Surry in May 1916, and severed his connection 
with the church Sept. 20, 1918 to enter the Bangor Theological seminary. 

He was born May 13, 1875 in London, Eng., and is a brother of the late 
Rev. Arthur C. Hunt, who was pastor of the church in Gilsum at the time 
Frederick C. was preaching here. 

Rev. James F. Scott supplied here during much of 1918-21. He res. at Til- 
ton, N. H., at that time and was with the N. H. Congl. Conference. 

Rev. Eric W. Bascom, a student from Langdon, supplied this and East Al- 
stead churches during the summer of 1921. 

Rev. Arthur A. Muir of Keene preached from Apr. 1, 1922 until Apr, 1923. 

During Rev. Mr. Whitcomb's pastorate the interior of the church building 
was renovated, walls newly papered, new carpet, new heating apparatus, and 
the whole interior painted. Enough money was raised by subscription to pay 
for all this, and there was $27 besides. 

Rev. William F. Whitcomb remained pastor until 1906, and on April 24th 
of that year it was voted to call Rev. Morton W. Hale, who stayed till May 
1909. 

July 1, 1909, Rev. Henry S. Kimball of Troy became pastor, and remained 
in charge until his death in Feb. 1916. 

Frederick C. Hunt from Raleigh, N. C, began his duties May 21, 1916, re- 
maining three years. April 1, 1922 Rev. Arthur A. Muir of Keene has sup- 
plied the pulpit. 

A Sunday School was organized in May, 1890. 

THE ABIGAIL CARPENTER MEMORIAL FUND 

Mrs. Marietta (Carpenter) Wright, whose birthplace was Surry, and whose 
summer home was here till the time of her death in 1919, left to the town the 
sum of five thousand dollars, the income of which is to be used for the sup- 
port of preaching. This bequest was a memorial to her mother," Abigail 
(White) Carpenter. 

THE LADIES' AID 
There has been a Ladies' Aid Society connected with the church for many 
years and it has contributed money each year for church expenses. At pres- 
ent there are about twenty members. Officers 1923 : Mrs. I. Alice Crain, 
Acting Pres. Miss Grace M. Crain, Secy.-Treas. 

Y. P. S. C. E. 
A Young People Society was organized as early as July 1901 which did 
good work until disbanded about Jan. 1, 1918. 



202 History of Surry 

THE BAPTIST SOCIETY 

The following is a petition for the incorporation of a Baptist society in 
Westmoreland, addressed to the General Court, June 4, 1800. 

"Humbly Shew Your Petitioners, Inhabitants of the Towns of Westmore- 
land, Walpole, Surry and Keene, Proffessors of Religion by the Denomination 
of Baptists — That for many years past they have assembled togather for 
public worship as a Baptist Society: and for the more orderly and regular 
management of the same — pray that they, with such others as may hereafter 
be admitted as members, may be incorporated into a religious society to be 
called and known by the name of the FIRST BAPTIST SOCIETY IN WEST- 
MORELAND with sufficient power and authority to support and settle a 
minister — to build and repair meeting houses and to raise and collect taxes 
for those purposes — to warn and hold meetings and to choose all proper offi- 
cers for transacting and managing the concerns of the said Society and to 
make Laws for regulating the same, provided the same are not contrary to 
the Constitution and Laws of the State — and for liberty to bring in a Bill 
accordingly — Or, that the Honorable Court would make such Order on the 
premises as to them shall seem meet — and as in duty bound pray 

Caleb Aldrich Jr. * Dudley Thomas 
Wm. Brettun Daniel Wilber 

Sammuel Robbins * Paul Clark 
John Brown Ephraim Brown 

* Asa Hancock Joseph Whitney 
Noah Fuller Jr. * Stephen Bowker 
Eben'r Wright John White 

* Chever Fowler * Levi Hancock 
John Chamberlain Jr. John Chamberlain 

* Benja Leonard Jonathan Wilber 
Levi Ware * Oliver Wright 
Oliver Smith Jabez Stratton 

* Nehemiah Brown * Philip Britton 
Cyrus Staples * Benjamin Merryfield 

* Joshua Fuller * Benjamin Carpenter 
John Snow Elijah A. Hall 
Amos Brown Zephaniah Leach Jr. 
Samuel Woodward William Aldrich 
Jona. Winchester Rufus Smith 

Seth Bretun Joshua Hall" 

John Paul 

December 10, 1800 this society was incorporated by legislative enactment 
under the name of the First Baptist Society in Westmoreland. 

The following shows the viewpoint of some of Surry citizens in regard to 
the petition: 



Those marked with a * were Surry citizens, at or about that time. 



Ecclesiastical History 203 

REMONSTRANCE AGAINST THE INCORPORATION OF A BAPTIST 

SOCIETY 

"We a Committee being appointed by the Inhabitants of the town of 
Surry at a legal meeting Oct. 11, 1800, to remonstrate against the 
prayer of the Petition of a Number of the Inhabitants living in the 
south west part of said Surry that they with others may be incorpor- 
ated into a Religious Society to be called and known by the name of 
the First Baptist Society in Westmoreland, beg leaf to state 

First, That the town of Surry is but a very small Incorporation and 
have not one Inhabitant to spare without injuring said Town, there be- 
ing not more than 80 Freeholders therein 

Secondly, Those petitioning Inhabitants are not more than three and 
a half and some not more than two Miles from the Meetinghouse in said 
Surry. 

Thirdly, In their petition they have stil'd themselves professors of 
Religion by the Denomination of Baptists, and to say the Truth, we are 
obliged to say, that not one of those petitioners belonging to Surry ever 
made any Profession of Religion of any Denomination that we know 
of, especially Baptists — and we declare that whenever any or all of 
them shall have made a Publick Profession of Religion of any Denomina- 
tion what ever contrary to our Denomination we will agreeably to the 
Constitution freely relinquish all Rights of Taxing such Professors to 
the Support of our minister. 

Fourthly, We doubt in our minds whether the motive of their thus 
petitioning is not more to answer sinister Views, such as forming a 
Center to advance private property and continue small Disputes than 
to promote Harmony and good Order. 



1 



Lemuel Holmes 

John Stiles 

Jonat Robinson f Committee. 

Nathan Howard 

Consent of Sundry Persons to Foregoing. 

We whose names are hereunto subscribed. Inhabitants of the town 
of Surry, hereby give our Consent to the Remonstrance of a Committee 
appointed by said Town against the Petition of a Number of the Inhabi- 
tants thereof, with others praying to be incorporated into a Baptist So- 
ciety as in our minds we doubt the Sincerity of some of those Petitioners 
belonging to said Surry and that they do not duly consider the Conse- 
quence of an Incorporation. 

Lemuel- Holmes Daniel Smith 

Nathan Howard (Hayward) Asa Holmes 

Abia Crane Calvin Hayward 

Philip Monro Jno McCurdy 

Jonathan Smith Levi Fuller 

Ichabod Smith Cushman Smith 

Sylvester Skinner Asahel Harvey 



204 History of Surry 

Abner Skinner John Stiles 

Eldad Skinner Thos. Harvey 

Jonathan Skinner Cyrus Harvey 

Obadiah Wilcox Eli Dort 

Moses Field Jonat Robinson 
Asa Wilcox 

In 1789 this was presented to the Town Meeting: 

To the Inhabitants of Surry who are of the Meetinghouse Society in 
Town meeting assembled Sept. 17, 1789 — 
Gentlemen ; 

Whereas you have taxed certain of the Baptist Society in this town 
towards finishing the meetinghouse and the support of your worship 
who do not attend your meetings and are not of your persuasion but 
assemble together by ourselves on Lord's Days "for the public worship 
of God and are engaged to support the same; for which reason we view 
your demand unreasonable and unconstitutional as the Civil law is ex- 
press that no person shall be compelled to pay towards the support of 
a worship with which he does not join. We therefore suppose it as un- 
reasonable for you to call on us to support your worship as it would be 
for us to call on you to pay towards the support of ours. 

For which reasons we expect you will abate your demands against us, 
so we remain your friends as in duty bound will ever pray. 
Surry, Sept. 17, 1789. 

John Marvin, Moderator ^ of the 

. ^ Baptist 
John Brockway, Clerk ^ Society. 

A scrap of paper (no date) states that taxes were remitted for these 
persons who were Baptists, 
Abel Allen Abel Allen Jr. Benjamin Merrifield 

John Marvin Asa Hancock Cheever Fowler 

Levi Hancock Oliver Wright Elizer Wright 

Those families who were of the Baptist persuasion must have attended 
church in Westmoreland or neighboring towns, if at all, as there is no 
record of any Baptist minister ever settling in town, nor was the meeting- 
house ever used by that denomination, so far as can be discovered. 

The Methodist Ministers, 

The Methodists worshipped with the Orthodox society, and the Orthodox, 
in turn, quite often called a Methtodist minister to its pulpit. Between 1847 
and 1856 the ministers at the Crane church were nearly all of the Methodist 
denomination. There has been no Methodist organization in town. 

THE UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 

The date when the Universalists, or Universal Church, as it formerly was 
called, began holding services in town has not been discovered. Zebulon 
Streeter doubtless was one, if not the first, to conduct services in dwelling 



Ecclesiastical History 205 

houses prior to 1790. He was a shoemaker, commonly called "a cordwainer"; 
became a lay preacher and appears to have held services in Surry and ad- 
joining towns as well as in parts of Vermont. He became well and favorably 
known in these parts as "Elder Streeter" and finally as "Rev. Zebulon 
Streeter" yet no discovered record shows he was ever ordained. About 1783 
John Thomson who lived at No. 136 "left the baptist persuasion and joined 
the universal salvation" and Elder Streeter, "teacher" held meeting in his 
house. Jedediah Carpenter, Jr. was of this faith, and doubtless others be- 
fore 1800. 

The meetings have been held in private houses, the old meetinghouse and 
in Carpenter's Hall (the village hotel, No. 55), although, but few, if any 
services have been held for over 40 years. 

Mar. 13, 1818 the Universalist Society of Surry was formed. The follow- 
ing record is from the town books : 

"COVENANT OF THE UNIVERSAL CHURCH, OR SOCIETY 
IN SURRY, ACCEPTED, MARCH 13, 1818. 

We whose names are under written, being properly notified, met at 

•the house of Capt. Samuel Allen in Surry for the purpose of forming a 

Religious Society in the belief of the Doctrin of Universal Salvation of 

all men from sin by Jesus Christ the Mediator and under a deep sense 

of the Universal Love of God to all men through a Redeemer — 

Proceeded as follows : — 

1st Chose Mr. Augustus Johnson, Moderator. 

2d Chose Samuel Allen, Clerk. 

3d Agreed to form ourselves into a Religious Society in the belief of 
the Doctrin of the Restorationers. 

4th Agreed to assemble ourselves togather for the public worship of 
God. 

5th To observe the orders and ordinances of the Gospel as light shall 
make them manifest. 

6th Agreed that if any of our Society walk disorderly we will deal with 
them according to the sentiments of Scripture. 

7th Agreed that if any one of our Society should be oppressed or ob- 
liged to defend him self by Law on account of Religious Senti- 
ments, we will each one assist him according to our best abilities. 

8th Agreed to receive any person or persons into our Society who shall 
sustain a fair character. 

Voted To accept of this Covenant for this Society. 

Voted To have a Subscription paper to subscribe to hire preaching. 

Voted To have Mr. (Augustus) Johnson have a subscription paper 
and lay out said money. 

Voted To have Lieut. Asa Willcox, Jr. as a Committee to treat with 
the other Committees, or join with them in hiring preaching. 



206 History of Surry 

Voted To have our proceedings recorded on the Town Book. 
A true Copy Signed as follows, 

Attest — James Allen William Baxter 

Asahel Harvey, T, Clerk. Samuel Allen James Ingals 

Surry May 27, 1818. Joshua Redding Stephen Richardson 

Augustus Johnson Daniel Day." 
Abijah Wetherbee 

UNIVERSALIST SOCIETY 

The following is a partial list of those who have ministered in town. If 
there were ever any members of the church, no records have been found. 

1841, Jan. Mr. Randolph commenced preaching half of the time in 

town. 
" Nov. Mr. Luther J. Fletcher moved into town and preached 

occasionally. 
" Dec. 6, Mr. L. J. Fletcher commenced teaching the district 

school. 

1842, Jan. Mr. Randolph returned and began preaching a fourth 

of the time. 
" Feb. Mr. Fletcher began preaching half of the time for one 

year. 
" Mar. 2, Mr. Fletcher opened a singing school in the village 

schoolhouse. 
" Sept. 5, Mr. Fletcher began a Select School consisting of about 

forty scholars which continued eleven weeks. 
Dec. 25, Mr. Randolph and Fletcher officiated at the Christmas 

exercises. 

1843, Jan. Mr. Fletcher opened a singing school in village school- 

house in which some Orthodox united. 
" Mar. Mr. Fletcher closed a ten week district school. 

" " The Cheshire County Quarterly Conference met in 

Surry at which time Mr. Fletcher was ordained as 

pastor of the Universalist Society. 
" " Rev. Mr. Fletcher began preaching 3/4 of the time for 

one year. 
" Sept. Rev. Luther J. Fletcher moved his family to Swanzey 

Center where he became the first principal of Mt. 

Caesar Seminary. 
1846, Apr. Mr. Joseph Hemphill of Acworth commenced preaching 

in the old meetinghouse 1/4 of the time for a year. 

Subsequently he was ordained and preached in Uni- 
versalist churches at Ludlow, Saxtons River, Vt.; 

Swanzey, and Orange, Mass. 
1848, Aug. Mr. Scott began preaching in the old meetinghouse 1/4 

of the time for nine months. 
1852, May Mr. Britton began preaching 1/4 of time for four 

months. 
1860, Apr. Mr. Jackson began preaching 1/4 of time for one year. 



Ecclesiastical History 



207 



1861, Spring, Mr. Jackson commenced preaching half of time for six 
months. 

1866, June 24, Mr. Paine of Westmoreland — preached semi-weekly for 

an indefinite time. 
" Sept. 2, Mr. Fisher preached for Mr. Paine. 
" Sept. 16, Mr. Osgood preached. Sept. 30, Mr. Perkins preached. 

1867, Feb. Mr. Paine preached in the Town Hall — Old meeting 

house. 

" June 23, Mr. Lewis preached. Aug. 4, Mr. Davis preached. 

" Aug. 18, Mr. Hayward preached. Aug. 25, Mr. Hayward preach- 
ed. 
Sept. 1, Mr. S; S. Fletcher preached. Sept. 15, Mr. S. S. Fletcher 
preached. 

1868, Aug. 2, Mr. Davis preached. Aug. 16, Mr. Hamilton in Town Hall. 

SPIRITUALISTS 

So far as known this sect has never been active in town and not over half 
a dozen have adhered to the faith. July 11^ 1858, Mr. or Mrs. Hervey Bur- 
dett, a medium, of Marlow, spoke in Carpenter's hall. Holland Stevens is 
said to have been a believer in "departed spirits." No other religious body 
or sect has held services in town so far as can be discovered. 



Until 1819 Religion was supported by law, and this is the 



SALARY Tax for 1803. 



Allen. Abel 


12.54 


Crane. Abia 


$.76 


" Samuel 


3.09 


" Joshua 


3.78 


" Phineas 


2.17 


Capen. Abijah 


2.35 


Abel Jr. 


1.72 


Crandel. Samuel 


.50 


David 


2.52 


Dart. Eliphalet 


2.15 


" Samuel Admr. 


.61 


" Eli 


1.90 


" Noah 


.50 


" Nathaniel 


1.02 


Baxter. Simon 


7.71 


Dwinnel. Berthol 


1.15 


Britton. Luther 


.58 


Estabrook. Nathan 


3.02 


Bridges. Peter 


.25 


Field. Moses D. 


1.24 


Benton. Abijah 


.50 


Moses 


4.37 


Britton. James 


.74 


" Isaac 


.62 


Carpenter. Amasa 


2.49 


Fowler. Cheever 


5.74 


" Benja. 


2.20 


Fuller. Levi 


4.03 


Ezra 


1.95 


GrifRn. Asa 


.99 


" Benja. Jr. 


2.81 


Hartwell. William 


.33 


" Aaron 


2.74 


Hills. Samuel 


2.50 


" Jedediah 


1.43 


Holmes. Lemuel 


1.02 


Charles 


2.24 


Asa 


4.08 


" Jonathan 


.62 


Hendee. Josiah 


3.33 


Clark. Paul 


1.46 


Hazelton. Moses 


1.98 


Coolidge. William 


1.14 


Haskin. Calvin 


2.94 



208 



History of Surry 



Hayward. Daniel 


$1.92 


Rice. Samuel 


$.74 


Calvin 


5.57 


Smith. Ichabod 


.74 


" Alexander 


.80 


" Cushman 


3.87 


Nathan 


4.96 


" Jonathan 


2.47 


" Hercules 


2.68 


Daniel 


2.08 


Harvey. Thomas 


5.68 


" Benjamin 


1.53 


" Asahel 


1.81 


Skinner. Abner 


6.25 


" Jonathan 


3.00 


" Jonathan 


.50 


" Cyrus 


1.02 


Eldad 


1.80 


Hancock. Asa 


3.12 


" Sylvester 


1.94 


" Asa Jr. 


.74 


Streeter. Daniel 


1.56 


" Levi 


5.00 


" - Jesse 


2.61 


Houghton. Abijah 


1.49 


Stone. Calvin 


.50 


■ Ingraham. Jeremiah 


.86 


Sawyer. Samuel 


2.43 


Ingals. Joseph 


1.04 


Stiles. John 


3.31 


Isham. Daniel 


1.24 


Wilcox, Asa 


5.02 


" Widow- 


2.16 


" Asa Jr. 


.56 


Joy. Micha 


3.80 


" Gaylord 


2.82 


Mack. Reuel 


2.84 


Obadiah 


1.56 


Marvin. John 


2.35 


Wetherbee. Abijah 


1.73 


Monroe. Abel 


.50 


Wright. Elizer 


1.61 


" Isaac 


4.65 


" Moses 


1.60 


Philip 


4.07 


" Oliver 


1.32 


Merrifield. Benjamin 


2.01 


Wheeler. Abraham 


1.60 


McCurdy, James 


4.63 


Ritter. William 


1.25 


John 


4.61 


Hayward. Aaron 


.74 


Samuel 


1.96 








Samuel Jr. 


.74 


Sum Total 


$235.68 


Merriam. Richard 


.74 






Norris. John 


1.18 


Salary Tax for 1803 




Elijah 


.56 






Perkins. William 


2.60 






Redding. John 


2.43 


Surry, August 2d. 




Robinson. Jonathan 


6.67 


Samuel Hills j 




Reed. David 


1.86 


Nathan Estabrook f 


Selectmen. 



CHAPTER XI 

EDUCATIONAL, SOCIAL HISTORY, PROFESSIONAL, SCHOOLS, 

FRATERNITY. 

So far as known, not until after the incorporation of the town in 1769, was 
there any provision made for the education of the young who resided in this 
valley. The early settlers who came here were people of intelligence from 
Massachusetts and Connecticut, who personally attended to the education of 
their children, until the public schools were established. The town, however, 
at an early date recognized the necessity of the public school for the education 
of the children, for at a special town meeting held Oct. 4, 1769 — in less than 
seven months after receiving the charter — the following business was trans- 
acted : 

"2nd Voted; To Buld a House Sufficient to hold all public meetings in, 

and for a Scoole House. 
3rd Voted; To Buld Sd House on the East Side of the highway against 

the Buring yard Bars. 
4th Chose John Marvin, Joshua Dai't and Peter Hayward a Committe 

to take the Care of the Building Sd House and provide 

metreals for the Same. 
5th Voted; five pence upon the pound to Defray the Charges of Sd 

House. 
6th Voted; to Buld Sd House 22 feet Long and 18 feet wide. 

Obadiah Willcox. Town Clark." 

It is supposed the first school house within the present town limits, was 
built in 1770; the location as given, would place the new building three or 
four rods north of Mrs. H. R. Emmons' dwelling house. The subsequent 
records are somewhat obscure and it is not absolutely known that the above 
votes were at that time fulfilled, from the following that took place at a 
special town meeting, Dec. 13, 1770; thus: 

"1st Voted; to releas the vote formerly granted to buld a house to meet in. 
2nd Voted; to buld a meeting House 45 feet in Length and 35 feet in breadth 
and 20 feet posts." 

It is quite possible the vote "to releas the vote formerly granted" did not 
apply to the "Scoole House," but to the house in which to "hold all public 
meetings," in which case we may assume the new school house was already 
built. The 2nd Art. in this meeting was the first action taken by the town 
regarding the building of the present Town Hall. 

During 1771 and '72 no action was taken in town meeting for the support 
of a school; if there was one it must have been in the village and probably- 
supported by private subscription. 

The new meeting house (present Town Hall) had been erected, boarded, 
shingled and the floors laid at this time; the expenses had been met accord- 



14 



210 History of Surry 

ing to previous votes, by taxation. There were three or four of the Baptist 
faith in town at that time who demurred at paying the "church taxe." 

So intense was the feeling that a special town meeting was held at the 
new meeting house, Jan. 21, 1773 when it was voted "that wee will refund 
back" to Job Gleason the sum of £1-18-8 which he had already paid. 

It was further voted this sum, "to be improoved toward Supporting a School 
in Sd Town this year." 

From what appear in the Town Records; Job Gleason "of the Baptist per- 
swation," an early settler of Surry not only rebelled against paying his por- 
tion to build a meeting house; a house "to' hold all public meetings," includ- 
ing those of the Town, but proposed that this sum of £1-18-8 be used 
towards supporting a school in the town. So far as the Records appear, to 
him belongs the honor of appropriating the first sum of money in town for 
the support of schools. 

No further action regarding schools appears to have taken place until the 
Annual town meeting. Mar. 25, 1777, when it was: 

"Voted to Divide the town into three Districts for Scholing; the Lore 
Destrict to com up as far as Jonathan Smith, Jr. (the present M. D. 
Carpenter place) ; the midel to Extend as far North as Joshua Fuller's 
(present H. W. Harvey) Place," and the third probably extended 
northward to Alstead line. It was also voted, "Each District to Rase 
there own money for Scholing." 

During this period the country was engaged in the conflict for freedom; 
money was scarce and somewhat inflated; the matter of appropriating money 
came up in several town meetings yet nothing was raised until the Annual 
town meeting, Mar. 30, 1779 when it was : 

Voted to raise "100 pounds for schooling for the year insuing" and chose 
Jonathan Smith, Jr. to collect for the South District; Nathaniel Darte 
for the Middle and Zebulon Streeter for the North District. 

The year following, 300 pounds was raised for schooling. This seems an 
exhorbitant sum for the town to raise for this purpose, but it must be remem- 
bered this was "Continental money" which had now so depreciated that it 
took thirty dollars of it to buy one dollar's worth of commodities, and its 
value was still waning. The following were chosen to collect the school tax 
for the year ensuing: South District — Joseph Whitney. Middle — Abel 
Allen. North — Moses Dickinson Field. South-west — Roger Conant. This 
is the first instance on record of a school in the south-west part of the town; 
doubtless those living just over the line in Westmoreland and Walpole seeing 
the advantage this school afforded desired to send their children here also, as 
a special town meeting was held April 17, 1780, a committee chosen, and 
voted to "except the Committee's report to join with those from Westmore- 
land and Walpole who wished to join." 

The years from 1780 to 1784 were in all probability the most difficult in 
the whole history of this town, and the schools received little or no attention. 
The crops had not been abundant, and provisions were scarce in New Hamp- 
shire; the war had been raging for several years; men were still being called 
to serve in the Continental army and were being paid in one, two and three 
year old heifers; financially, the country was nearly bankrupt; the Vermont 



Educational History 211 

controversy; the settling and dismissing of their first minister; a project to 
move the meeting-house to a place "that will accomodate the whole," and the 
building of roads and a bridge, all tended to create a period of "hard times." 

Being confronted with all this, we can readily understand why at the an- 
nual town meeting, March, 1784, it was voted: "not to raise any money for 
schooling for the present." However, the next year it was voted to raise £15 
for schooling. It was also voted to divide the town into two school districts. 
The inhabitants were to use a portion of the school-money for "Schooling in 
their own Huses" — this is the first time the dwelling-house-school has ap- 
peared in the town records. 

The North School District held a meeting April 11, 1785, at the house of 
Thomas Smith's (the present Perkins place) when it was voted to build a new 
school-house, "on the Great Road and near the road that runs West to Mr. 
Jedediah Carpenter's," the said school house is to be 16 feet x 20 feet and to 
be raised "by the first Day of July next." Lieut. Moses D. Field, Obadiah 
Wilcox and Zebulon Streeter were the building committee. 

It is supposed this building was built according to the vote, and therefore 
was the second school-house in town. 

During the next few years three or four schools were supported, collectors 
were usually chosen and money appropriated. 

April 8, 1790, it was voted to divide the town into four School Districts and 
a committee of five was chosen for that purpose, viz. Thomas Smith, Joshua 
Cheever Fowler, Zebulon Streeter, Benjamin Carpenter and Samuel Smith. 
At an adjourned meeting April 22nd, it was voted to accept the report of the 
school committee. The Districts were divided as follows : North District 
shall extend to Walpole line on the West; Alstead line on the North; Gilsum 
line East, and as far South as to include the inhabitants North of the 8th. Mile 
Stone. 

Middle District shall extend North to the above Mile Stone; East to Gil- 
sum line; South to include the farm that Dr. Philip Monro purchased of Rev. 
David Darling; West to Ridge Hill, so called, then north on said line to the 
South line of Thomas Harvey's line then East on said line to the North Dis- 
trict. 

South District shall extend North to the Middle District; East to Gilsum 
town line; South to Keene line; West to Ridge Hill. 

South-West District shall extend South to Keene line; West to Westmore- 
land and Walpole town lines; North to include Thomas Harvey's; East to 
Ridge Hill. Divisions made, "Apr. 13, 1790." 

At the same town meeting it was voted to choose three committee men from 
each District, as follows: 

North: Lieut. Simon Baxter, Moses D. Field and Lemuel Holmes, Esq. 

Middle: Capt. Samuel Smith, Lieut. Nathan Hayward and Jonathan Rob- 
inson. 

South: Benjamin Carpenter, Lieut. John M'Curdy and William Barron. 

South-West: Joshua Cheever Fowler, Asa Hancock and Thomas Harvey. 

At the Annual Town Meeting, Mar. 5, 1792 it was voted: that each school 
district shall build a school-house, and each shall be at the cost of their own 
buildings. Voted: that a committee of three in each district shall build the 
school-house and lay out money for the same, thus: 

North District, Lemuel Holmes, Lieut. Moses D. Field and Samuel Hills. 



212 History of Surry 

Middle District, Capt. Samuel Smith, Jonathan Robinson and Lieut. Nathan 
Hayward. 

The Records do not reveal the "building Committee" in the other districts 
in town. There is no doubt, a school house was standing in each district in 
1792, or '93, at the latest.'^ At a special town meeting May 23, 1792 it was 
voted: to raise 33 pounds, ten shillings to pay for building the new school 
house in Middle District, and voted: to raise 24 pounds, 17 shillings to build 
the new school house in South District. 

The approximate location of the four buildings are known and numbei'ed 
upon the town map. All were provided with a large fire-place to heat the 
building in cold weather. 

They were known as, * The North; Middle; South and South-west Dis- 
tricts until 1822 when it was voted to re-divide the districts as well as change 
the same to No. 1, No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4 in the same order as given above. 
With the four schools established the inhabitants were not wholly satisfied 
with conditions; those living in the extreme east part of Westmoreland — in 
1795 — "were far better accomodated by sending to the adjoining Surry school- 
ward." In 1797 Capt. Thomas Harvey, and in 1800 John Stiles were placed in 
the Middle district, having previously been connected with the South-west, 
and in 1801 Dr. Philip Monroe was set back from the South, to the Middle; 
a petition that year by Capt. Harvey and others to be set off to Walpole school 
was not granted. 

Oct. 11, 1800, it was voted to build and repair the several school-houses in 
town. 

In 1804 J. Cheever Fowler and Benjamin Smith who had been in the West 
were returned to the South-west district, and in 1820 Royal Watkins, Stephen 
Stimson and Benjamin Carpenter were set off from the South, to the South- 
west district. 

Several of the inhabitants joined a school district in Walpole in 1801 which 
was continued several years and was known as "The North-west" district, 
and in 1803 a new district was formed in the neighborhood near Capt. Thomas 
Harvey's which was maintained a few years, and was known as the "West 
district." 

After the year 1809 a School Inspecting Committee was chosen annually to 
visit and inspect the several schools in town. The first to serve on this com- 
mittee in Surry wei-e, Rev. Perley Howe, Jonathan Robinson, Esq., and Samuel 
Hills. It was voted in town meeting in 1814, that the School Committee shall 
not hire teachers to keep school Saturday afternoons, and in 1822, that no 
teachers shall be employed in town unless approved by the Inspecting Com- 
mittee. 

As late as 1850 or '60 there were but two school terms each year; the sum- 
mer school for small scholars and the winter in which both old and young at- 
tended. All the schools kept school every-other-Saturday during the term, 
with but very few "holidays," and "teachers-visiting-day" had never been 
heard of or considered. 

The school tax for 1793 was £27-s9-dll; in 1795 was $100.46; 1800, $129.86; 
1805, 1160.25; 1815, $184.22; 1825, $228.41; 1835, $190.23; 1850, $222.19; 



*While they were standing, in 1793 it is known not all were entirely finished until a 
few years later. 

tAt present the schools are known as, North End; Village and West Hill. 



Educational History 213 

1865, ?314.00, divided as follows: Dist. No. 1, §89.09; Dist. No. 2, $129.16; 
Dist. No. 3, $62.39; Dist. No. 4, $33.36; Tax for 1875, $483.00. 

The subject of re-dividing the several school districts came up in town 
meeting in 1831 when a committee was chosen but no very radical departure 
from earlier divisions was made. In 1851 there was a plan on foot to divide 
district No. 1 and No. 2 into three districts but nothing was done. 

As previously stated, a School Inspecting Committee of three, or more, 
were chosen annually to "Visit and Inspect" the several schools in town. The 
following served on this committee between 1810 and 1830: Rev. Perley 
Howe, Major Nathan Hayward, Capt. Charles Bond, Samuel Hills, Esq., 
Capt. Simon Baxter, Col. William Bond, Asahel Harvey, David Shaw, Esq., 
Elijah Fuller, Sylvester Smith, Ichabod Crane, Eli Dort, Dr. John Wakefield, 
Jonas Pollard, Jonathan E. Davis and Royal Watkins. 

The Inspecting Committee were required to make an Annual Report to the 
town, but only two of those Reports have been found, which covered the years 
1819-20 & '21. For the year 1819 the report was as follows: ^ 

To the Inhabitants of Surry, 

In compliance with your request at our last annual meeting your In- 
specting Committee beg leave to make the following 

REPORT 

of the schools in the several Districts in this town, to wit: 

Reading and Spelling as often as time and opportunity permit, ap- 
pear to be the invariable practice of each Scholar through each of the 
several schools. 

The School in the Middle District under the tuition of Mr. Jonathan 
Robinson, Jr. consists of about 40 Scholars from 5 to 19 years of age, 
of whom, 

12 are studying Arithmetic, principally beginners. 
3 " " Geography, pretty well versed. 

3 " " Grammar, new beginners. 

22 " " Penmanship, two new beginners. 

Alphabet, none. 

The School in the North District under the tuition of Mr. Hezekiah 
Newcomb consists of about 50 scholars from 5 to 20 years of age, of 
whom, 

8 are studying Arithmetic. 

3 " " Geography. 
7 " " Grammar. 

30 " " Penmanship. 

Alphabet, none. 

The School in the South District under the tuition of Miss Mary 
Darling, (alias Lathrop) consists of about 30 Scholars from 6 to 17 
years of age, of whom, 

10 are studying Arithmetic, principally beginners. 

4 " " Geography, doing well. 



214 History of Surry 

5 " " Gi'ammar, new beginners. 

12 " " Penmanship. 

4 " " Alphabet. 

The School in the South-West District under the tuition of Mr. Royal 
Watkins consists of about 25 scholars from 5 to 19 years of age, of 
whom, 

2 are studying Arithmetic, pretty forward. 

2 " " Grammar, considerable forward. 

11 " " Penmanship. 
2 " " Alphabet. 

The orders, regulations and improvements which appeared in each of 
said schools discovered not only the assiduity of the Scholars, but like- 
wise the abilities and dispositions of the several teachers to discharge 
and perform the duties incumbent on them as instructors; and meets the 

approbation, and merits the applause of 
or 

Perley Howe "j 

David Shaw I Inspecting Committee. 

Sylvester Smith 

P. S. Your Committee put questions to several of the Scholars in 
each School, and so far as they have received answers they are satis- 
factory and pleasing. 

March 1820. 

The following report of the Inspecting Committee chosen March 1820, was 
given March 1821: 

The Committee for Inspection of the Schools in Surry ask leave to 
report: They have attended to their duty and have inspected the sev- 
eral schools twice the winter past; once in the month of January, the 
last visit near the close of the schools; considering it the duty of the 
Inspectors to give Instruction to the teachers and encouragement to the 
scholars. We find the schools all under good regulations, ambitious to 
excel in the various branches commonly taught in English schools with 
good instructors who have appeared to use their best exertions for the 
promotion and instruction of the youth committed to their care; good 
understanding and harmony have appeared to exist between the in- 
structor and their scholars and the people in general. We herewith sub- 
mit to you the following schedule; 

The North school, under the instruction of J. Eawson, consists of 
nearly 70 scholars. 

4 Grammarians, quite forward; 2 have made considerable profi- 
ciency. 

12 in Arithmetic, and occasionally 20, several are considerable for- 
ward. 

5 in Geography who are very forward. 

40 in Writing, some of those considered writers, are occasionally at- 
tending to English Grammar, Arithmetic, Geography, etc. 



Educational History 215 

Between 20 and 30 small scholars, some in reading and the spelling 
book, some small taught in words of a few letters. 

The Middle school, Jonathan Robinson, Jr. Instructor consists of 
nearly 60 scholars. 

11 in Grammar, 6 of them very good Grammarians; the others have 
made some proficiency. 

14 in Arithmetic, 6 of whom have been through Adams Arithmetic 
and have a good knowledge of the Theory and Practice, the others 
principally beginners. 

13 in Geography, 7 of whom can answer correctly most of the ques- 
tions in Geography; the others have made some proficiency. 

37 in Writing, a number of which attend occasionally to other studies. 

About 12 or fifteen in Reading in the Spelling book; some in spelling, 
but two in the Alphabet. 

The South school, Calvin Hayward, Instructor, consisting of about 40 
scholars ; 

6 in Grammar, some very forward. 

6 in Geography, part of which are very good Geographers. 
10 in Arithmetic, one of which has been through Adams Arithme- 
tic, the others principally beginners. 
20 in Writing, some of which attend occasionally to other studies. 
About 10 or 12 in the small classes; some reading in the Testament, 
and reading in the Spelling book, some in Spelling, and most of the 
small classes can recite most of the pieces commonly taught small schol- 
ars with accuracy. 

The South-West school, Royal Watkins, Instructor, consisting of 
about 35 scholars. 

3 in Grammar, two of which are very good Grammarians. 

4 in Arithmetic, two of which have gone through Adams Arithme- 
tic; Pikes Abridgement and are good Grammarians and Geograph- 
ers; two new beginners. 

3 in Geography, two of which are the above mentioned. 
17 in Writing, some occasionally attend to other studies. 
10 in small classes and the Alphabet most of which recite the pieces 
commonly taught small scholars. 

All of which is respectfully submitted by your Inspecting Committee. 
Sylvester Smith j 

Eli Dort I Inspecting Committee. 

Ichabod Crane 

Surry, March 1, 1821. 

It is interesting to note in these Reports, there were about 145 pupils in 
town 1819-20, and 205 in the year following. 

For some years around 1850-60, a County Superintending School, or com- 
missioner was employed to visit and inspect the schools throughout Cheshire 
County. Mr. Bennett of Winchester filled this position for several years be- 



216 History of Surry 

ing succeeded by Col. Herbert B. Titus of Chesterfield, who later became an 
officer in the Civil war. Dr. S. H. McCallester of Marlboro, N. H., was at 
one time commissioner. 

In 1833 the town voted to raise S20.00 in addition to the requirement by- 
law, for schooling in town that year. 

The following is a partial list of those who served as Supt. of schools in 
Surry 1859-1884: 

Isaac Brown, George W. Britton, George K. Harvey, Dr. William H. Por- 
ter. Francis F. Field, Susan F. Ellis, Mrs. Maggie G. (Fawcett) Field, and 
Mrs. Sabrina W. (Perry) Britton. 

The North, or School District No. 1. 

The first school house in this district was probably built during the sum- 
mer of 1785 at the corner of the Carpenter and Great Road, 16 x 20 feet in 
size. No record has been found to indicate whether it was in the north or 
south corner of the roads mentioned, but on the map we have shown its site 
as being on the north side, No. 105. 

At a town meeting held Aug. 25, 1806, it was voted not to purchase the 
"old school house in the North District" nor hii*e the same for the use of the 
town's poor. This is the only instance found in the town records respecting 
this school house, and doubtless refers to the one built in 1785, which prob- 
ably had been unused for several years prior to 1806. 

The second school house to be erected in this district was about 1792. which 
was in use until 1854, when sold to Mrs. J. G. Britton who had it moved to 
the village and is now the front portion of Mason A. Carpenter's house. This 
building when erected was 20 x 28 feet and stood on the exact site where Mr. 
Shaw later built his sugar house, on the west side of the road near Shaws 
Corner, and in 1840 this building was painted red, and had a "four-way" pitch 
roof. 

The tax assessed to build this school house has been found on an old paper 
and is as follows : 

A true copy of the North District School-house Tax bill delivered to Thomas 
Smith, collector of taxes, for the year 1793. 



Baxter, Simon 
Baxter, William 
Carpenter, Jedediah 
Carpenter, Jedediah Jr. 
Carpenter, Charles 
Carpenter, Aaron 
Crane, Abiah 
Field, Moses D. 
Field, Moses 
Holmes, Lemuel 
Holmes, Asa 
Holmes, Timothy 







Samuel Hills ^ 
Asa Wilcox (^ 


Selectmen, 




£1; 


;18: 


2 


Holmes, Calvin 


7: 


7 




11: 


2 


Holmes, Lemuel Jr. 


5: 


5 


1: 


: 1: 


1 


Hayward, Abner 


4: 


2 




5: 





Hills, Samuel 


14: 


4 




8: 


10 


Isham, Benjamin 


8: 


7 




5: 


5 


Isham, Ebenezer 


4: 


2 




18: 


1 


Marvin, John 


12: 


4 


1; 


: 5: 


4 


Pai'ker, Samuel 


5: 


10 




4: 


2 


Porter, Benjamin 


4: 


2 




4: 


2 


Messer, Timothy 


13: 


2 


1; 


: 0: 


5 


Redding, John 


9: 


10 




5: 


5 


Reed, David 


6: 


5 



Educational History 217 



Smith, 


Thomas 


11: 


5 


Streeter, Daniel 


8: 


8 


Smith, 


Thomas, Jr. 


8: 


2 


Willcox, Asa 


10: 


10 


Smith, 


Ichabod 


1: 3: 





Willcox, Obadiah 


13: 


3 


Smith, 


Stephen 


12: 


5 


Willcox, Obadiah Jr. 


5: 


3 


Smith, 


Daniel 


0: 8: 


6 


Willcox, Gaylord 


5: 


5 


Scovel, 


Henry 


9: 


4 


Willcox, John 


3: 


5 


Stene, 


Job 


4 


2 








Streete 


ir, Zebulon 


19: 


4 


Sum total 


20: 5: 


4 



The third and present school house erected in this district in 1854 was only 
two or three rods north of the second building. The following is a paper 
found among the town records: 

"To the Selectmen of the town of Surry, 

Whereas the school house lot in school district No. 1 in said town is 
so located as to be inconvenient and unjust to the subscribers, legal 
voters in said district who are aggrieved thereby, we therefore request 
you to appoint a committee to examine and report upon the same, and 
to cause a new and more equitable location and record thereof to be 
made according to law." 

Surry, June 1st 1854. 

r Warren Carpenter 

I James Britton 

I John A. Britton 

(Signed) ' Hiram Britton 

I David Shaw 

Horace B. Shaw 
Samuel Long 
Hollis Wilcox. 

Teachers would be rare indeed today who could be induced to take one of 
those old-time-schools. The winter terms were always taught by men teachers 
until about 1845. A blacksmith's apprentice while attending this school about 
that time resorted to strategy to escape the severity of a flogging. His leather 
apron under his outer clothing was however discovered by the master, who 
increased the measure of punishment because of the ruse. 

No complete list of those who have taught in this district is at hand. Al- 
fred Munn of Gilsum taught here in 1792, for which he received six pounds; 
Hezekiah Newcomb in 1819-20; J. Rawson 1820-21. Lewis B. Monroe, who 
later wrote the "Monroe Reader," taught here about 1840. He later founded 
the Monroe School of Elocution in Boston — now Emerson college. 

In 1849, 56 scholars attended this school; 35 in 1857, and from 11 to 17 in 
recent years. 

THE MIDDLE OR SCHOOL DISTRICT No. 2. 

The first school house built not only in this district, but in the town was 
erected on the east side of the road opposite the village cemetery, and was 
built probably during the summer of 1770. This building was in use until 
1792 or '93, and what finally became of it has not been ascertained. March 5, 



218 History of Surry 

1792 it was voted that "each school district shall build a school-house." Un- 
der this vote the second school house to be erected in this district was prob- 
ably built during that summer; in fact at a special town meeting held on the 
23d of May it was voted "to accept the doings of the School committee of 
their doings in the Middle School District, in regard to building a school 
house" and to "raise 33 pounds, ten shillings to pay for said school-house." 
This committee had at this time selected the location for the new building 
and the size, equipment, etc. It is understood the house now standing, where 
the late Benjamin C. Crosby lived in his old age, is the second school house 
erected in this, district. It is 22 x 32 feet in size. 

An article in town meeting March 22, 1804, "to see if the town will move 
the school house east of the meeting house farther south, onto town land," no 
action was taken, hence, it is probable the old school building was still stand- 
ing at that time. 

On Dec. 21, 1829 a meeting was called "to see if the district will raise 
money to build a school house or repair the old one." From the records, it ap- 
pears there was some discord in building and locating the new school house, 
but it was finally decided to build on a plot of land taken from the farm of 
Otis Daggett. May 5, 1830 Mr. Daggett sold a lot 40 feet square for Num- 
ber 2 school house; "the southeast corner of this lot is 30 feet north of an elm 
tree which stands about 15 rods south of the old meeting house." The present 
village house was built during the summer of 1830, and in September follow- 
ing a school meeting was held "at the new school house" at which time it was 
voted to "raise money to pay for the new school house now built." 

It appears an illegal transaction took place in some of the several school 
meetings held in connection with the building of this new school house and a 
meeting was held March 19, 1831, making the same "legal." At this meeting 
it was voted, "to fence the school house yard" and "to accept of the former 
sale or disposal of the old school house belonging to said District." At a 
meeting Sept. 14, following, there was a bill of expense of §180.86 "for build- 
ing and finishing the new school house" — also voted $8.00 to purchase a pair 
of andirons, a fire shovel and tongs. Some time prior to 1850 a stove was in- 
stalled to heat the building in place of the old "fire-place." 

The door to this building was on the south side near the southwest corner 
where the entry and woodshed were located. North of this room was the 
cloak-room entered from the school room, which included the remainder. The 
teacher's desk was on a platform at the east end of the room in front of which 
was the broad center aisle. The desks would accommodate two, and some- 
times three, small pupils, all facing the center aisle; the lads on one side and 
the lasses, opposite. A board attached to the noi'th and south walls of the 
room served as a back seat for the "big scholars." 

So numerous were the pupils, in less than 20 years it was a serious prob- 
lem whether to repair the old or build a new school house. Finally at a meet- 
ing April 18, 1857, it was voted to move the building to the west about 26 
feet and to build an addition of 12 feet on the east end to be the same width 
as the present school house, and fit up the out-side and in-side; also voted to 
raise $200 for the same, and $25 to purchase more land to the west. The day 
the old building was moved, the men of the district turned out and held a 
"moving bee." The work which had taken 10 years of consideration was ac- 
complished in a few hours. 



Educational History 



219 



At this time the door, entry and wood-shed were placed at the east end of 
the building; new one-pupil-seats replaced the old, all facing the east; later, 
and for the past 40 years, the pupils sit facing north. In 1856 an overheated 
stove started a fire, with slight damage. 

David Shaw and Daniel Leonard taught the village school prior to 1800 
and Jonathan Robinson, Jr.; Dr. John Petts, S. Harrison Porter and his 
brother, George P. Porter, and many others taught here before 1860. Men 
were usually employed to teach the winter terms before and for some years 
after the latter date, and it was common practice for the teacher to "board 
around," as late as 1845. In 1847 it was voted "to sell the boarding of the 
summer school teacher to the lowest bidder." We have no record at hand 
of the price, the teacher, or "quality" of board that summer. 

In 1850 about 60 scholars attended this school and a few years later over 70 
pupils were enrolled one winter term. During recent years from 16 to 23 
have attended this school. 

Of the women teachers in this school from 60 to 70 years ago, none were 
more successful or taught more terms than Miss Persis E. Harvey. 

The following is copy of a small leaflet which she presented to each scholar 
at the close of school. Names in parentheses indicate married surname: 



—MEMORIAL- 
CATALOGUE 
PUPILS IN DIST. NO. 2, 
in Surry, 

For the Term commencing May 5th, 
and closing July 12th, 1856. 

PERSIS E. HARVEY, 
Teacher. 



Ella F. Adams 
Abbie H. Adams (Shumway) 
Hattie L. Adams (Martin) 
Emma J. Adams (Humphrey) 
Louise J. Benton (Norton) 
Mary L. Blake 

Hattie M. Britton (Carpenter) 
Mary E. Britton 

Josephine A. Carpenter (Joslin) 
Ellen M. Carpenter (Kingsbury) 
Hattie R. Carpenter (Emmons) 
Sarah J. Carpenter (Comstock) 
Emma A. Crosby (Deane) 
Fannie E. Crosby (Mansfield) 
Frances L. Gushing (Darling) 
Carrie A. Durell (Howe) 
Lucy A. Durell (Perkins) 
Relief S. Horton (Mason) 



Georgiana F. Joslin (Cummings) 

Kate I. Joslin (Field) 

Sarah J. Mansfield 

Emma L. Poole (Carpenter) 

Mary E. Poole (Carpenter) 

Sarah C. Pond (Raymond) 

Aurilla F. Pond 

Mary L. Rugg (Patten) 

Sarah E. Stone (Longley) 

Celuda J. Tufts (Wilcox) 

John Henry Allen 

Ira E. Blake 

Charles W. Britt 

Charles E. Britton 

Elbridge W. Britton 

George B. Britton 

Jasper H. Carpenter 

Mason A. Carpenter 



220 History of Surry 

Frank DeW. Carpenter George W. Stone 

Eugene R. Carpenter Charles G. Stone 

John Walter Gushing Sidney D. Tufts 

Willie T. Joslin Chandler A. Wilbur 

George F. Mansfield George F. Wilbur 

Stephen F. Mansfield Charles K. Wilbur. 
Eddie I. Randall 

THE SOUTH OR SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 3. 

As early as 1777, at which time the division was made, a school apparently 
had been established in this district. As no vote for building a house prior to 
1792 appears upon the records, it is possible that Samuel McCurdy's tavern 
served as a school house. 

March 5, 1792, Voted that each school district shall build a school house. 

And on, 
May 23, 1792, Voted to accept the doings of the South School district 

committee of their doings to build a school house in that district, also, 

Voted to raise 24 pounds, 17 shillings for Sd house, to be raised in 

that district. 

The first building in this district was erected in 1792 or '93. The following 
tax bill was the final payment on this school house : 

"A true coppy of the South Destrict School Hous arrearage tax bill. 
Samuel Hills, Asa Willcox, Selectmen, Feb. 6th, 1794. 
A list of those taxed: — William Barron, William Barron Jr., John 
McCurdy, James McCurdy, Samuel McCurdy, Samuel McCurdy Jr., Ben- 
jamin Carpenter, Amasa Carpenter, Benjamin Carpenter Jr., Edward 
Crandell, Calvin Hayward, Elias Hayward, Hannah Hayward, Sarah 
Hayward, Sarrel Hayward, Sylvanus Hayward, Robert Phinley, Zach- 
arius Watkins and — Sanburn. Total tax, £1:13:7." 

This building, was destroyed by fire within a few years and in its place a 
new one was erected. 

In 1798 it was voted to accept the chimney in the South School House as 
now built. From this we suspect the chimney in the first house was defective 
and caused the fire which destroyed the first building. 

March 17, 1800. "Voted to accept the South School house now built" and 
to raise $124.64 to defray expense of the same. In all probability this was 
for the second building erected in this district which stood near a large rock 
on the west side of the present highway, three or four rods north of Frank E. 
Ellis' barn. *In it was an old time fire-place, of sufficient size as to accomo- 
date a log three feet in length, and this house was in use for about 40 years. 

The following is from a slip of paper found in the town records: 

"Surry December 1, 1802. 
To Samuel Allen Treasur for the Town of Surry, you are direct'd to 
pay to Capt. Calvin Hayward (School house Tax Collector for the year 



*The late William H. Woodward of Keene attended this school when a mere lad, and 
he has supplied many details given in this history. 



Educational History 221 

that the Schoolhouse in the South Destrict was lost by fire) — Eight Dol- 
lars & fifty Cents it being Money that the Town Voted to Joseph Holms 
and others. 

Saml Hills i Selectmen 

18-50 Nathan Estabrook \ of Surry." 

No other reference to this fire has been discovered and this record is ob- 
scure as to the year the house was destroyed, but it probably occurred in 1797 
or '98. 

March 19, 1835, a school meeting was held in the old house, to see if the 
district would vote to raise money to build a new school house, or repair the 
old. It was voted to build a new school house, and a committee was chosen 
for that purpose. 

Edmond Woodward gave a plot from off his farm for the new house, "so 
long as it should be used for school purposes." The size of this building was 
21 X 26 feet, and was in use until about 1889. At the March 1915 town meet- 
ing it was sold at auction to Frank E. Ellis for §40 who moved it the May 
following, and it is now his carriage house. 

The following item has been found among the town papers : 

"Surry February 24, 1798, 
Rec'd of Samuel McCurdy, Jr. twenty-one dollars & seventeen cents in 
full for keeping a school in Surry South District ten weeks and three 
days. I say rec'd by me, (Signed) Daniel Leonard, School Master." 

Calvin Hayward, Dr. Henry Robinson, Aaron H. Livermore, Calvin May, 
Amasa May, Daniel Buss, Haskell Austin and George Barnett and others 
taught here between 1800 and 1860, also a long list of female teachers. 

THE SOUTH-WEST OR SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 4. 

This is now known as the "West Hill School" and the present school house 
is the fourth located in this district. As early as 1780 Roger Conant was 
chosen collector of the school tax in this district. Soon after certain inhabi- 
tants in the edge of Westmoreland and Walpole petitioned the town to be al- 
lowed to attend this school. Levi Hancock was collector of the school tax in 
1800 the amount raised by Surry being $14.83 for that year. Doubtless taxes 
from adjoining towns considerably increased the amount of school money. 

The first school house is supposed to have been erected in 1792 or '93, prior 
to that time probably they used a dwelling house. This building stood on the 
north side of the present road leading to Westmoreland being at that time 
near the junction of roads leading to Surry, Keene and Walpole, via., the 
"old stage road." Here the building stood for more than 25 years. On Dec. 
1, 1821 a bill was presented for $25.61 to be paid by "the inhabitants of the 
South West School District, for the purpose of moving and repairing the 
School House in said District" which "sum must be paid before the first of 
March next." The second site was in the field northerly of Walter H. Brit- 
ton's barn and only a few rods below the pasture wall near where the old 
county road ran at that time. 



222 History of Surry 

This school house was accidentally destroyed by fire at which time it ap- 
pears to have been practically useless; 

"An old school house on Surry hill was destroyed by fire last Wednes- 
day (Dec. 9, 1835). The books burnt were worth §30.00 it is said, and 
of more value than the house. If so it is time it was burnt or pulled 
down." — Keene Sentinel. 

March 26, 1836, Philip Thomas sold a lot 28 x 36 feet in the southwest cor- 
ner of his pasture for the new and third school house which was built that 
summer. This was on the east side of the present road just above the fence, 
60 rods, or so, north of Walter H. Britton's house. 

In order to better accommodate the scholars in this district this school house 
was taken down in 1883 and rebuilt on a lot of land Elijah B. Mason leased 
Sept. 14th, of that year to school district No. 4, and where the building now 
stands. 

The following is a list of men in this district who paid tax for moving and 
repairing the school house, 1821: David Allen §2.54; Daniel Allen §1.78; 
Joseph Allen $1.22; Daniel Abbott .77; Benjamin Britton $2.55; Benjamin 
Carpenter $2.18; Levi Hancock $5.01; William Ritter .70; Stephen Stimson 
.50; Royal Watkins $2.51; Warren Wilbur $1.72; Elizur Wright .50; Moses 
Wright $2.24; Oliver Wright .89; Oliver Wright .89. Total $25.61. 

Royal Watkins, Joseph B. Abbott, John K. Joslin, Ellery Merriam and 
many others taught in this district 60 or more years ago. 

About 25 scholars attended this school in 1850 and seven in 1919. 



THE WEST SCHOOL DISTRICT 

This district was maintained only from 1803 until 1811. A small school 
house was built in 1803 or '04 which stood on the north side of the "Joslin 
road" a short distance beyond the corner, west of Edward H. Joslin's dwell- 
ing house. The following petition presented at town meeting March 7, 1803, 
was granted: 

"We, the Subscribers, request leave to show that with regard to 
Schooling we are so situated that the advantages of schooling our Chil- 
dren are not equal to the Money we expend for that purpose and that 
by being formed into a District by ourselves we shall be more suitably 
accomodated — . We therefore request that we may be set off from the 
Districts to which we at present belong and formed into a school Dis- 
trict with sufficient power and authority to build and repair a house for 
the purpose of schooling if after mature deliberation you shall see fit. 
Surry, March 1, 1803. 

Thomas Harvey, John Stiles, J. Cheever Fowler, Jonathan 
Harvey, Asahel Harvey, Cyrus Harvey." 

Jonathan Harvey collected $10.75, school tax in 1800; a similar amount was 
collected other years. In 1804, by request, J. Cheever Fowler and Benjamin 
Smith were set off into the South West District. 

March 12, 1811, another petition to the town became necessary: 



Educational History 223 

"That said West District is so small and the money so trifling that 
they cannot support a school but a very short time in a year, but if 
they should be annexed to the Middle District it would very well con- 
venience them. 
Levi Fuller Jonathan Carpenter Jonathan Harvey 

Peter Joslin Jonathan Robinson David Stone 

Asahel Harvey Jonas Pollard Thomas Harvey 

Samuel Robinson John Whitcomb Samuel Allen." 

This petition was granted, although several who signed the same were then 
living in the Middle District. What became of the school house, the number 
of scholars, and names of the teachers, has not been ascertained. 



THE NORTHWEST SCHOOL DISTRICT 

During its existence this school district was unlike others in town in that it 
possessed no building, the scholars attending a school in the town of Walpole. 
No action was taken in town meeting March, 1799, upon an article to set off 
a certain number of inhabitants in the Northwest part of Surry to join with 
Walpole. The following petition, however, was by a vote of the town, granted 
on March 2, 1801: 

"The Petition of the Subscribers to the Legal Voters of the Town of 
Surry Humbly Shewith That as they Annually Pay their Proportion of 
School Taxes in said Town of Surry and that they are so situated that 
they are not conveaned by the school in their District, therefore they 
Pray that Said Town will set them off or grant them the privilege to 
pay their proportion of School Money to a Distinct in Walpole where 
their children may be Greatly Benefited thereby, as in Duty bond will 
ever pray, Surry, February 28, 1801." 

"N. B. The addition Daniel Marsh Zebulon Streeter 

will be very ac- John Barnett John Marvin 

ceptable to our George Barnett William Hartwell 

School District Mathew Dickey Jesse Streeter 

in Walpole. George Cochran Benjamin Isham 

John Marsh Daniel Streeter 

William Perkins." 

Daniel Streeter collected a tax of $8.65 for the year 1802; John Marvin in 
1803 collected a similar amount. Conditions appear to have been harmonious 
in that part of the town for nearly a score of years while the youth were be- 
ing thoroughly instructed in "the three Rs" at No. 7 school in Walpole, fitting 
them to become respected and useful citizens. 

For some unknown cause which the records do not reveal, it was voted in 
town meeting in March 1819, to concentrate the Northwest and the North 
school district into one school. 

We have no knowledge of the number of pupils in that part of Surry dur- 
ing that period, nor the name of any of their Walpole teachers. 



224 History of Surry 

SURRY SELECT SCHOOL 

September 5, 1842, Rev. Luther J. Fletcher opened a school with about 40 
pupils. 

In 1857 or '58, S. Harrison Porter kept a select school in the village school 
house with about 30 scholars, and George W. Britton in 1859: 

Surry July 18, 1859, 
Surry Select School will begin Aug. 31, (Wednesday) and continue 
for eleven weeks under the charge of George W. Britton, Principal; Miss 
Persis E. Harvey, Assistant and W. H. Starkweather as teacher of 
Penmanship. Tuition and board, $3.00 to $4.00 per week. 

— From Keene Sentinel. 

This school was maintained for about three winter terms, then ceased. 

SURRY COMMON SCHOOL ASSOCIATION 

This association was organized and the first officers chosen, Jan. 6, 1858. 

Preamble 

Believing that a Common School Association in the town will be conducive 
of interest to Scholars, Teachers, Parents and the friends of Education, and 
will have a tendency to promote a union of feeling and harmony of effect in 
the common cause; Therefore we resolve to form ourselves into such an asso- 
ciation and be governed by the following constitution and by laws. 

Constitution 

Art. i. This assocciation shall be known as the Surry Common School As- 
sociation. 

Art. ii. It shall be under the direction of a President, two Vice Presidents, a 
Secretary and five directors. 

Art. iii. This association shall choose its officers annually on the evening of 
the second Wednesday in December. 

Art. iv. This association shall meet once in two weeks during the months of 
Jan. Feb., and Dec. 

Art. V. Any person will be considered a member of this associaton who will 
take part in its exercises. 

Art. vi. This Constitution and By Laws may be remended at any regular 
meeting of the Association. 

By-Laws 

Sec. i. It shall be the duty of the President to preside over the meeting and 

preserve order. 
Sec. ii. It shall be the duty of the Vice President to perform the duty of the 

President in his absence. 
Sec. iii. It shall be the duty of the Secretary to keep a record of the meeting 

and report when required. 
Sec. iv. It shall be the duty of the Directors to determine what exercises may 

come before the Association, and to attend to the general business 

of the same. 



Social History 225 

Sec. V. It shall be the duty of every member to assist in the exercises and 
give their influence to sustain order, and make the meeting in- 
structive and interesting. 
John K. Joslin was chosen first president, and George H. Joslin the first 
secretary. No other officers, or records of this association have been dis- 
covered. It is probable it had but short existence. 



THE SURRY LITERARY CLUB 

This club was organized and the first meeting held Dec. 28, 1853. For 
several years it was in a flourishing and prosperous condition. Lyceums took 
place in the village school house and in the old meeting house during the 
winter months, and many of the debates were spirited and animated. The 
club held meetings until about 1856, and later the Surry Common School 
Association was organized. 

The Surry Literary Club Preamble: 

Whereas we the undersigned consider the practice of writing and speaking 
conducive to the improvement of the young, we do hereby form ourselves into 
a society for the purpose, and adopt the following constitution and by-laws 
for the government of the same. 

Constitution 

Art. i. This society shall be known as the Surry Literary Club. 

Art. ii. The officers of this Club shall consist of a President, vice-President, 
Secretary and five Directors. 

Art. iii. It shall be the duty of the President to preside at all meetings of 
the Club & of the vice President to preside in his absence. 

Art. iv. It shall be the duty of the Secretary to keep a faithful record of the 
doings of the Club, report the same, post notices, etc. 

Art. V. It shall be the duty of the Directors to manage the general affairs 
of the Club. 

Art. vi. Any person may become a member of the Club by signing the con- 
stitution. 

Art. vii. This constitution may be altered or amended at any regular meet- 
ing of the Club. 

By-Laws 

Art. i. The meetings of this Club shall be held on Wednesday evening of 
each week at the center school house. 

Art. ii. The exercises of this Club shall consist of debates, essays, declama- 
tions, etc. 

Art. iii. The officers of this Club shall hold their offices for two weeks. 

Art. iv. The board of directors shall consist of two members of the Club 
who shall act in connection with the President, vice President and 
Secretary. 

Art. V. The by-laws of this Club may be altered as may from time to time 
be necessary. 



15 



226 



History of Surry 



The first officers were: Pres., George K. Harvey; vice pres., George A. Ste- 
vens; sec, Sewall F. Rugg. These, with Charles Davis and John C. Brown, 
formed the board of directors. 

The following were the charter members, or became members soon after 
the club was organized: 



George K. Harvey 
George A. Stevens 
Francis A. Allen 
John C. Brown 
Charles Davis 
George W. Benton 
Sewall F. Rugg 
George E. Holbrook 
Rufus H. Stone 
Luman M. Carpenter 
Marshal B. Britton 
George H. Joslin 

The club prospered and the debates were filled with zeal and much local 
talent was exerted. New members were added so that one year later the fol- 
lowing had joined: 



John K. Joslin 
John L. Foss 
Charles A. Whitney 
Joseph B. Abbott 
Artemas A. Adams 
Thomas S. Rice 
Rufus Mason 
Dr. John Petts 
J. C. Carpenter 
J. Carpenter 
John Adams 



Charlotte B. Ellis 
Sarah B. Harvey 
Sarah J. Woodward 
Rosanna A. Crehore 
Mary S. Stone 
Lucy M. Gushing 
Persis E. Harvey 
Mary A. Joslin 
Sarah R. Joslin 
Mary E. Dort 
Lucv A. Allen. 



William Carpenter 
Elliot C. Scovel 
Henry J, Day 
Asahel H. Crehore 
Edward A. Kingsbury 
Lewis S. Woodward 
James S. Carpenter 
Andrew J. Allen 
G. Milton Reed 
John A. Wilcox 



Wm. Wallace Wilcox 
C. Wharton Wilcox 
Henry H. Wilcox 
Geo. H. McCoy 
Luther A. Wilkins 
Davis Carpenter 



Pamelia A. Gushing 
Julia A. Tyler 
Caroline A. Durrell 
Celuda J. Tufts 
Sabra M. Tufts 
Ellen E. Gushing 
Susan A. Gushing 
Louisa M. Holbrook 
Mary J. Holbrook 
Sarah E. Stone 



The meetings of the club were always well attended and from a few of the 
subjects under debate it would appear the members wex'e well advanced for 
the times; — Resolved, that the world grows better; that the Maine Liquor 
law is unconstitutional; that the tide of foreign emigration ought to be 
checked; that the learned professions offer to the young inducements equal 
to other employments. 

George K. Harvey and J. C. Brown in the affirmative and Artemas A. 
Adams and Charles Whitney in the negative discussed and debated the sub- 
ject; resolved that the females should be entitled to the same political and 
educational privileges as the male. The record tells us that interesting re- 
marks were made on both sides of this question by volunteers, and it was de- 
cided by the house 11 in the negative and 10 in the affirmative. The board 
of decision, however, decided in favor of the affirmative. 

"Resolved: That wealth exerts a greater influence over mankind than 
talent," was debated and decided in the affirmative by the full board of de- 
cision one evening. 

George Henry Joslin and A. J. Allen in the affirmative and John K. Joslin 
and Marshall Britton in the negative debated the question: "Has intemper- 



Social History 227 

ance caused more misery than war?" The club voted "no" on this question, 
but the board of decision voted in the affirmative. 

Declamations, music, and a paper edited by the female members of the 
club were a part of the order of exercises. The following is a sample of the 
club meetings: 

"Surry Literary Club for mental improvement met at the appointed 
time (6-30 P. M.) March 8th, 1854. Called to order by the President 
A. A. Adams, heard the proceedings of the last meeting read by the 
Secretary, H. Hayward. 

Order of Exercises 

1. Salutory by Ellery Merriam. 

2. Song by Messrs. Rugg, Stevens & Britton. "I'll hang my harp on a 

willow tree." 

3. Declamation by George H. Joslin. Subject, "The Devils Bridge." 

4. Debate on the Resolution — That African slavery has reached the Zenith 

of its glory in the United States." 

Disputants — 
Aff. E. A. Darby. Neg. G. K. Harvey. 

5. Decision of the question in the negative. 

6. Reading of the Diadem by the editors, Misses E. E. Joslin & P. E. Har- 

vey. 

7. Declamation by E. Merriam. 

8. Poetical essay by E. A. Darby. 

9. Colloquy by 9 young ladies. 

10. A play from the Lady of the Lake. In 7 acts. 

11. Song, "My Highland Home," by Messrs. Rugg, Stevens and Britton. 

12. Reading of the Diadem by the editors. 

13. Declamation by J. K. Joslin. 

14. Comedy by J. K. Joslin and H. H. Hayward. 

15. Recitation by George K. Harvey. Subject, "The Maniac." 

16. Song, "The Dismal Swamp," by Messrs. Rugg, Stevens and Britton. 

17. Valedictory by A. A. Adams. 

Nov. 1, 1854, the constitution was changed, a treasurer was added to the list 
of officers, and the number of directors changed to three. The by-laws were 
also revised; treasurer and directors were chosen annually, other officers 
every two weeks. The place of meeting was the new meeting-house, and a 
new article was added which read: 

"Art. 7. The Club shall close its meetings at 9% o'clock; the apportionment 
of time to be left to the directors. Provided that the Club may vote 
to extend the time an hour if in their opinion it would be condusive 
to the interest of the meeting." 

The last meeting of the club was held in 1855 probably. A few years 
later the Common School association was organized on a similar plan as the 
Literary club. 



228 History of Surry 

SURRY SOCIAL LIBRARY 

This library was incorporated in 1802 by an act of the New Hampshire 
legislature and continued to exist for a period of about 45 years. As will 
here-in-after be seen, the proprietors had authority to elect new officers, im- 
pose fines and penalties upon its members and in fact transact all business as 
occasion required. 

State of New Hampshire, 

In the year of our Lord, one thousand, eight hundred and two. An 
Act for incorporating certain persons by the name of the Proprietors 
of the Social Library in Surry. 

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representative in Gen- 
eral Court convened, that Perley Howe, Nathan Estabrook, Lemuel 
Holmes and Jonathan Robinson and their associates, Proprietors of said 
Library and all such as may hereafter become Proprietors of the same, 
be, and they hereby are incorporated into a Body Politick by the name 
of Proprietors of the Social Library in Surry with continuation and 
succession forever; and in short they may sue and be sued in all actions 
pers X X X X X X X ,and they are hereby vested with all the 
powers and privileges incident to corporations of that nature, and may 
injoin penalties of disfranchisement or fines not exceeding four dollars 
for each offence to be recovered by said society in an action of debt for 
their use in any Court proper to try the same and may make purchase, 
receive subscription & donations or grants of personal estates not ex- 
ceeding one thousand dollars for the purposes and use of their associa- 
tion. 

And be it further enacted, that the said Society be and they hereby 
are authorized to assemble at Surry aforesaid on the first Monday in 
April annually to choose all such officers as may be necessary for the 
orderly conducting the affairs of said Corporation who shall continue 
in office until others are chosen in their room, and that said Corporation 
may assemble as often as may be found necessary for filling up any 
vacancies which may happen in said office and for transacting all other 
business excepting the raising of money which shall always be done at 
the annual meeting and at no other time, at which time they shall vote 
all necessary sums for defraying the annual expense of preserving said 
Library, and for enlarging the same, and said Corporation shall have 
power to make such rules and bye-laws for the government of said so- 
ciety as may from time to time be found necessary, providing the same 
be not repugnant to the Constitution and laws of this State. 

And be it further enacted that Lemuel Holmes Esquire is hereby au- 
thorized and impowered to call the first meeting of said Proprietors at 
such time and place as he may appoint by posting up a notification 
(illegible; but possibly, thus — of such meeting) in said Surry at least 
fifteen days prior to — x x illegible x x — the Porprietors at said 
meeting shall have — x x x x — choose officers and make bye-laws — 
XXX X — Act at their annual meeting. 



Social History 



229 



State of New Hampshire 

In the House of Representative June 9, 1802 

The foregoing Bill having had three several readings passed to be 
enacted. Sent up for concurrence. John Prentice Speaker. 

In Senate June 10th, 1802. 

This Bill having been read a third time was enacted. 

Amos Shepard President. J. T. Oilman Govnr. 

Approved June 10th, 1802. A true copy examined. P. J. Pearson Secy. 
The list of officers and minutes of meetings of the Social Library prior to 
1815 have not been discovered. In 1818 there were 31 members or proprietors, 
as follows : 



1. 


Rev. Perley Howe 


17. 


2. 


Nathan Estabrook 


18. 


3. 


Jonathan Robinson 


19. 


4. 


Jesse Streeter 


20. 


5. 


Alfred Carpenter 


21, 


6. 


John McCurdy 


22. 


7. 


Peter Joslin Jr. 


23. 


8. 


Dr. Philip Monroe 


24. 


9. 


Samuel Hills 


25. 


10. 


Capt. Samuel Allen 


26. 


11. 


Obadiah Reed 


27. 


12. 


Ezra Carpenter 


28. 


13. 


Moses^ Field's heirs 


29. 


14. 


Levi Hancock 


30. 


15. 


Gaylord Wilcox's heirs 


31. 


16. 


Eliphalet Dort 





Levi Fuller 

Josiah Knight 

Peter Joslin 

James McCurdy 

Samuel Robinson 

Asahel Harvey 

Maj. Nathan Hayward 

Alexander Ralston's heirs 

Eliphaz Field 

Phinehas Allen's heirs 

Eli Dort 

Samuel Allen 

Benjamin Gould 

William Holbrook 

Moses Hill 



May 7, 1815 it was voted to choose a committee of four to revise the con- 
stitution and make such alterations and amendments in the by-laws as may 
be for the benefit of the corporation. The committee chosen for that purpose 
were: Samuel Hills, Esq., Asahel Harvey, Rev. Perley Howe and Dr. Philip 
Monroe. 



February 23, 1818 the purchasing committee reported the following books 
bought and deposited in the library: 



Bonaparte's Campaign in Russia. 
Russell's History of the American 

War. 
Complaint of Peace. 
Management of the Tongue. 
Letters — Elder Brother to Younger, 



Winchester's Dialogues. 
History of the Shaking Quakers. 
Wars of the Jews. 
Locke on Christianity. 



Asahel Harvey, Purchasing Committee. 

Ten years later Surry Social Library was in a flourishing condition and 
probably reached the apex of its existence within a few years. 



230 



History of Surry 



The following Memorandum of Shares were sold at auction, by Jonathan 
Robinson, Jr., Apr. 7, 1828 for the payment of taxes of said shares: 



Name of Purchasers. 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Dr. Philip Monroe 

Benjamin Hills 

Capt. E. Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Capt. E. Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 

Obed Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Ichabod Crane 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 

Capt. E. Dort 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Obed Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Same 

Capt. E. Dort 

Ichabod Crane 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Same 

Benjamin Hills 

Jonathan Robinson, Esq. 

Obed Dort 

Samuel Robinson 

Joseph Whitcomb 

Benjamin Hills 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Joseph Whitcomb 

Obed Dort 

Capt. E. Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Obed Dort 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

Rev. Perley Howe 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 

Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 

During the existence of this corporation the library doubtless was kept in 
dwelling houses among its members — the last place being in Eliphaz Field's 



Name of Proprietors. 


No. 


Benjamin Proctor 


7 


Dr. Philip Monroe 


8 


Samuel Hills (deceased) 


9 


Esq. David Shaw 


10 


Obadiah Reed 


11 


Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 


13 


Levi Hancock 


14 


Gaylord Wilcox, heirs 


15 


Luke Joslin 


19 


Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 


20 


Maj. Nathan Howard — Hayward 


23 


Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 


24 


Eliphaz Field 


25 


Phinehas Allen, heirs 


26 


Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 


28 


Elihu Dort 


29 


William Holbrook, heirs 


30 


Samuel Robinson 


31 


Obed Dort 


32 


Jonathan Robinson, Sr. 


33 


Otis Daggett 


34 


Jonas Pollard 


35 


Francis Holbrook 


37 


Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 


38 


Elihu Dort 


39 


Samuel Hills 


40 


James Hatch 


41 


Benjamin E. Webster 


43 


Warren Carpenter « 44 


Silas Perry 


45 


Louisa Perry 


46 


Thomas Humphrey 


47 


Peter Hayward 


49 


Henry Britton 


50 


Henry Britton 


53 


Daniel Marsh 


54 


Jonathan Robinson, Jr. 


55 


Isaiah Wilder 


56 


John May, heirs 


57 


Samuel Robinson 


60 


Dr. Jonathan E. Davis 


61 


Polly Withington 


62 



Social History 231 

house, now the home place, of Frank E. Ellis. The old book case for so many 
years connected with this library is now in the hands of Mrs. Helen (Ellis) 
Harris, of Keene. 

THE REED FREE LIBRARY 

Through the generosity of two sons of Surry — Charles Daggett Reed and 
Gideon F. T. Reed — this town and her citizens have received during the past 
40 years a direct benefit, not only financially but mentally, as well. 

At a legal town meeting duly notified and held at Surry on the 1 7th of July 
1880: 

Art. 1, Chose George K. Harvey moderator. 

Art. 2, "To see what action the town will take in relation to the furnishing 
of a suitable place for the keeping of the Library donated to the town 
by the children of the late David Reed, Jr., and to pass any vote re- 
lating thereto, and appropriate or raise money to carry out said vote," 
it was, 

Voted: to choose a Committee of three — Dr. William H. Porter, 
George K. Harvey and Charles Wharton Wilcox — to make inquiries 
in relation to what can be done in the matter of a building for the 
Library and report at an adjourned meeting. 

Voted to adjourn to August 7th, next at four o'clock in the after- 
noon. 

Met according to adjournment August 7th, 1880: On Motion, 

Voted, that the Town accept the proposition of George W. Britton 
to terminate his lease of the town building (Town Hall), and proceed 
to a final settlement according to the terms of the lease. 

Voted, that the town finish off the west half of the lower Story of 
the Town Hall Building, suitable for a Library room, and present it 
to the Trustees of the Reed Free Library, for the use of the Library. 

Voted, to choose a Committee of three by nomination to finish off 
the room for the Library; Chose John H. Rogers, Charles W. Wilcox 
and George K. Harvey for said Committee. 

Voted to appropriate Two hundred and fifty dollars (§250.00) now 
in the Treasui-y to fit up the room for the Library. 
August 7th 1880. "The following Resolution was passed unanimously by a 
rising vote : 

"Whereas the children of the late David Reed have very generously 
remembered their native Town, by paying the town debt of forty five 
hundred dollars ($4500.00), and giving a further sum of five thousand 
dollars ($5000.00) to establish a free Library, therefore, 

"Resolved — That the Citizens of Surry in town Meeting assembled 
accept the Magnificent gift and with hearty thanks ans Greatful bene- 
dictions for the donars, enter this resolution in the records of the 
Town — 

"On motion voted to adjourn without day — . 
A true record Attest. • W. H. Porter Town Clerk." 



232 History of Surry 

At a Town Meeting Nov. 2, 1880: On motion, 

Voted to request the Trustees of the Library to keep the Library 
open for the accomodation of the public one day in each week, also 
voted to pay the Librarian fifty dollars a year, to be paid quarterly. 

This document which has hung on the wall of the Reed Free Library for 
over 20 years is supposed to be a copy of the original articles drawn by the 
donors of the Library: 

The children of the late David Reed, Jr., of Surry, N. H. propose to 
donate to the town; First, $4500.00 to pay off the amount of the tovni 
debt in full as now estimated up to July 1, 1880, and also a further sum 
of $5000.00 for the purpose of establishing a Free Library for their na- 
tive town, on the following conditions, viz. : 

1st. It shall be free to all the citizens of the town, and open one day in 
every week for the accomodation of the people, loan of books, etc. 

2nd. In the selection of Books, they shall consist mainly of Standard 
Works on Agriculture, Mechanics, History, Biography and the useful 
Sciences, and such generally as are best adapted for the instruction 
and entertainment of the people old and young. 

3rd. The doners shall nominate and appoint not less than five persons 
of the town to organize, make by-laws, rules and penalties for the 
safe keeping and management of the Library, and all vacancies there- 
after from any cause shall be filled by the remaining members, who 
may be male, female or both, that may be considered most competent 
and willing to serve gratuitously; they may however, employ a com- 
petent person as librarian at the expense of the town or by voluntary 
subscription as they may deem best, and consider most desirable at 
a proper compensation. 

4th. (Nothing appears on the paper under this article). 

5th. There shall be no distinction or preference for or against any sect, 
or party, either in religion or politics; all persons of good repute and 
habits to share equally in the benefits and use of the library. 

6th. The committee or trustees named shall have the privilege and are 
authorized to expend a sum not exceeding $500.00 of the fund to fit 
up and furnish with proper shelving, cases and other necessary fur- 
niture in the town hall or any other place they may select for the 
safe use and convenience of the library, and comfortable accomoda- 
tions for the visitors and ofiicers. 

7th. The doners now nominate and appoint as a committee or trustees 
to carry out the foregoing; 



Social History 233 

George K. Harvey, William H. Porter, M. D., C. Wharton Wilcox, 
Persis E. Harvey and Nancy A. Reed, who shall elect when organized 
one of their number chairman, and a secretary and treasurer, who 
shall keep a correct account of all outlays and record of their official 
acts. 

"The Reed Free Library" was opened Jan. 1, 1881, with 757 volumes. Mary 

E. Wilcox, librarian, which office she held until her death in 1899. Francis 

F. Field was her successor. In 1909 he was succeeded by Minnie Harvey, who 
still holds the office (1923). The Library numbers at this time 4364 volumes. 
In 1923 Lois Anderson was chosen assistant-librarian. 

During the fall of 1921 under the direction of Miss Grace Kingsland of the 
State Library Commission, a more systematic and up-to-date arrangement of 
the books in the library was made. A card catalogue was installed, juvenile 
books assigned to one corner of the library, reference books made more read- 
ily accessible, current fiction, magazines, works of science given a prominent 
place on the delivery table, and other changes were made. 

None of the Trustees appointed by the donors are now living. The present 
board consists of Hollis W. Harvey, chairman; Myron H. Porter, treasurer; 
Grace E. Stillings, secretary; Mary C. Wilcox, Helen J. Reed. 



MUSIC 



So far as ascertained. Rev. Luther J. Fletcher taught the first singing- 
school in town. This was held in the village school-house and began March 2, 
1842. He was succeeded a few years later by Nathan D. Reed. Mr. Reed, who 
possessed considerable natural musical ability, also played the violin and bass 
viol. . He had some 40 pupils in his school and on Sundays they all came out 
to assist in the music in the old meeting house. An old resident stated, "and 
never has Surry heard such swell music." 

Sewall Rugg opened a school about 1849 in the northwest room in his house, 
No. 30. Later he taught in the hall in the ell of Frank E. Nesmith's house, 
No. 68. 

A Mr. Gilpatrick taught singing school in the village school house 1852-3, 
and he was succeeded by a Mr. Partridge from East Alstead or Marlow. Mr. 
Olson L. Mason of Keene taught one term in village school house, about 1900, 
and there probably were others. 



STEVENS BAND 

This band was composed of Almond, George and Holland Stevens, Nathan 
D. Reed, John A. Gushing, Hiram Britton and Henry H. Wilcox, although, 



234 History of Surry 

not all were members of the band at same time. For several seasons this 
band went about playing at balls, not only in Surry and adjoining towns, but 
Windsor and Windham counties in Vermont. 



DANCING SCHOOL 

Abijah Benton taught dancing school in town prior to 1835, being suc- 
ceeded by John Langdon Britton before 1845, who by his long experience in 
and near Boston, was an able instructor. Tradition says none knew the step 
better than "Lang Britton." Almond Stevens opened a school in the village 
hotel "ball room" in 1855 or '56 with 30 or 40 scholars. George A. Stevens 
had a class of 25 to 30 pupils during the winter, 1873-'74, and George Long of 
Alstead kept a school of about the same number of pupils during 1894-5. 



THE SURRY OLD HOME WEEK ASSOCIATION 

Inspired by one of the noblest sentiments that can stir the human heart 
Gov. Frank W, Rollins established the Old Home Week in New Hampshire in 
1899. That year Surry became interested in the movement and formed an as- 
sociation, June 29th, and the following officers were chosen: President, 
Charles H. Blake; first vice president, Henry A. Pike; second vice president, 
Frederick R. Grain; secretary and treasurer, Frank E. Nesmith; executive 
committee, James D. Carter, Harrison N. Scripture, and Myron H. Porter. 

The day was first observed in Surry, Wednesday Aug. 30, 1899 at "Carter's 
grove," now the "Wright grove." With the exception of 1918 the day has 
been observed each year since that date. In 1919 special exercises were held 
to celebrate the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the incorporation of 
the town. The following is abridged from an old invitation : 

"The citizens of Surry having formed a local Old Home Week Asso- 
ciation, send greetings. All people now living in town, or former resi- 
dents thereof, are members of this Association without further action. 
This association cordially invites you to return and celebrate the occa- 
sion at James D. Carter's Grove on Friday Aug. 17, 1900. If stormy, 
at the Town Hall." 

Mrs. Marietta C. Wright purchased the Grove about 1906 and upon her 
death bequeathed it to the town of Svirry. 

The following table gives date of celebration and officers : 



Social History 



235 



H H 



tf 



3 
C/2 fe" 



I I I 

www 



fa fe 



PI c 



m eq 



<V 0) 

> > 



CD (U a> 0) 



s ^ -3 ^ ^ W W o o 



U; 0) CD . +J _|j 

^ fa fa W w w 
fa fa' fa' 



fa fa* fa' fa g 



Ph (!< fa Plh 
•^ '° . . . . 

"S "S K W W W 



fl >» >> 



' w (1) (D Qj O! 

i^ ft ^ ^ k.>] N 4J 4J .4_i ^J 

;i303cS(j;rt~cSc3c3Cj 

^-■>faWWMMW 



c: c c fl 









^ S ^ ^ 



03 c3 

s s 
> > 



> S 



W w H H 
w w 



3 s 

CO w 

fa' fa' 



>j >. 



m 



s 
• CO CQ 

^ § fa' fa" 



fa fa 



faOnOHfafafafaPHfafafafafafafafafa Pnfafafa 

>>>>>'>>>■>>>>'>>'>>> >' > >' > 



Qi d ci Qi d 

^ ^ Xi .T! X! 

.§ .§ .§ M .§ 

A i^ hH K£j h£; ^ ^ ^ 

r3 '73 Q) 

wcowwcopqpq'c 



W W W Hi ffi '3 1; ^ 
rtp^fi^li^p^wwO' 



> > > > > 



>J >> >J >> 

0)0)0)0) 

> > > > 

f^ f^ !^ U 

d d d cs 

Uh ffi w w 

^' ^ ^ ^ 

K W ffi hd 



fafafafafapHfafafafafafafafafafafafafa 



fL, Oh 0^ fa 



O) O) 01 S 

^ o o :^ 

pq fa fa ^ 

ti^' W W H^ 

d S* § w 



tH O) 

O) > 



-C ,£! 



.s .s .s 

m m rn 

O O O 

i-T) ►-? i-s 

td ffi tn 



Q III fa fa fa 



+J f-C f— j 



c4 cS c3 

w w w 



c3 c3 



<^<i,<<(,<t,<<< 



O O 



0> Oi O) 

O O O 



O) 



O O C3 o O 



oj cS cS 

tx| W W 
<i <i < 
odd 



o t- o o 

CO iH (N CM iH 



iH C5 «D 



&fl bi) &« &J0 
3 3 S 3 



&J0 &J0 &C &B 
p C3 3 3 



<i<:<i;<i<i<i<j<: 



<l << 



<I1 <J 



&c be 
<1 < 



<1 



'■^ be 
03 <| 



^ ^ ha 

f3 P rs 
<1 <1 <1 



I'd S 
^ fa H 



■^ 73 T3 "^ T3 X3 "^ 
0^ a) Q; d) OJ O Q) 



^^^^^^^gp^^^^^^^^>^^^ 



-a T3 'O 'O 
010)010) 



C5 


O 


1— 1 


fN 


CO 


Tt< 


lO 


<^ 


t^ 


00 


rft 


o~ 


iH 


(M 


oT 


'^'" 


\£ 


CO 


t- 


1—1 


cT 


o 


1—1 


(m" 


Ol 


o 


O 


O 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


o 


(-^ 


1—1 


1—1 


1—1 


1—1 


1— 1 


1-H 


1—1 


1—1 




1—1 








00 


05 


03 


05 


o 


C5 


Ci 


05 


C5 


05 


05 


Ci 


05 


Ci 


C5 


Oi 


C5 


CJ 


C3 




Oi 


CI 


Oi 




i-H 


rH 


tH 


i-H 


iH 


1— 1 


1— 1 


iH 


1-1 


1— 1 


I-H 


1— ( 


1—1 


iH 


1—1 


1—1 


iH 


1—1 


1—1 













iH(MCO-<*lOCDt-OOOiOi-l(MCO'^mcDt~OOCi 



236 



History of Surry 



The celebration has been held at the Carter-Wright grove each year when 
pleasant, except in 1919, when exercises were held at the hall in the forenoon 
and afternoon at the grove. 

THE WRIGHT GROVE 

For many years this pine grove was on a portion of the Crehore farm. No. 
24. Amos H., James D. and Selwin I. Carter owned the property. The latter 
sold to Herbert R. Grain May 9, 1904. Mrs. Marietta C. Wright learning it 
was to be cut over purchased the property and upon her death bequeathed it 
to the town of Surry. The Surry Old Home Week Association have held their 
annual celebration in this grove. 

A boulder was placed here upon which a bronze tablet with the following 
inscriptions was unveiled : 



'I GIVE, DEVISE AND BEQUEATH TO THE 

TOWN OF SURRY, THE 'OLD HOME WEEK 

PINE GROVE,' TO HAVE AND TO HOLD 

THE SAME IN FEE SIMPLE FOREVER." 

MARIETTA C. WRIGHT 



THIS TABLET IS ERECTED BY 

THE PEOPLE OF SURRY 

IN APPRECIATION OF THIS GIFT. 

DEDICATED AUG. 23, 1922. 



FRATERNITIES 



MASONIC ORDER 

The first fraternity to meet and hold meetings within our borders, as is the 
case in many other towns, was that of the Masonic Lodge. Although there 
were several members living in town during the first half of the last century, 
we have no complete list and but little can now be gathered from the Lodges 
in Keene and Alstead, concerning the order here. 

In the old hall on the second floor in Capt. Simon Baxter's tavern — the late 
Shaw house at "Shaw's Corner" — the Masonic body held their meetings in 
Surry. The compasses used in building the Surry Lodge are now in the pos- 
session of J. V. Stillings. St. Paul's Lodge was instituted at Alstead Centre 
June 11, 1818 and about 1840 moved to what was long known as Paper Mill 
Village, in the north part of that town — now, Alstead village. 



Fraternities 237 

In 18G2 a fire destroyed their Hall and practically all their records. It is 
known, however, that in the early years of that lodge meetings were held for 
the benefit of their out of town members in "halls" fitted up for the occasion 
in each locality. Quite probably the Surry Lodge was connected with St. 
Paul's Lodge of Alstead. 

The following is a partial list of men who have been members of that 
fraternity, who have lived in Surry at some time or have in some way been 
connected with the town : 

Rev. Clement Sumner, pastor of the Congregational church in Keene. 

Capt. Simon Baxter, Jr. of Alstead and Suri'y. 

Alexander Ralston, who had interests in Keene, Surry and Claremont. 

Peleg Sprague, of Keene, owned property in Surry; possibly lived here. 

Samuel McCurdy, who lived in south part of Surry for many years. 

James Kingsbury — probably the man of that name living in Surry in 1796. 

Rev. Perley Howe, pastor of Surry church over forty years. 

Capt. Thomas Humphrey, a sea-captain and inn-keeper in Surry. 

Silas Perry, Sr., of Keene; owned property and possibly once lived in Surry, 

Asa Wilcox, Jr., a life long resident of Surry. 

Henry H. Wilcox, a Surry man; lived and died in Keene. 

Augustus Johnson, a resident of the town for many years. 

Jasper N. Keller 

Albert E. Vincellette 

L. C. Stillings 

J. V. Stillings 

Samuel Ball 

Francis Bain 

Henry L. Phillips 

Chas. N. Phillips 

La Forest Carpenter 

Chas. N. Carpenter 

Fred A. Carpenter 

SURRY GRANGE 

No social or fraternal organization in town in the last fifty years has been 
more prosperous, or done more to promote industry, good-will and harmony 
among its citizens, than Surry Grange. 

The following is a brief history of that Order; including the Charter Mem- 
bers and first officers taken from their records : 

Surry, N. H.. Nov. 11, 1890, 

At a meeting called at the Town Hall for the purpose of Organizing 
a Grange, a petition was presented with fifty-two Charter Names as 
follows : 

1 Dr. William H. Porter 6 Frederick R. Grain 

2 Mrs. William H. Porter 7 Mrs. Melissa C. Grain 

3 Miss Kate H. Porter 8 Miss Bessie Grain 

4 Frank E. Nesmith 9 Frank P. Grain 

5 Mrs, Mary L. Nesmith 10 Miss Jane H. Grain 



238 



History of Surry 



11 Harrison N. Scripture 32 

12 Miss Ada B. Scripture 33 

13 Myron H. Porter 34 

14 Mrs. Ada I. Porter 35 

15 Francis F. Field 36 

16 Mrs. Mary E. Field 37 

17 Charles C. Olmsted 38 

18 Mrs. Catherine L. Olmsted 39 

19 Miss Adelaide A. Olmsted 40 

20 Ephraim B. Newton 41 

21 Mrs. Harriet P. Newton 42 

22 Mr. Lewis Newton 43 

23 Herbert R. Grain 44 

24 Mrs. Gertrude J. Grain 45 

25 Mrs. Mary E. Carpenter 46 

26 Miss Arabella E. Stearns 47 

27 Mrs. Sarah W. Harvey 48 

28 Hollis W. Harvey 49 

29 John A. Weber 50 

30 Michael Gorman 51 

31 Mrs. Alice H. Gorman 52 



Charles H. Blake 
Cyrus Kingsbury 
Mrs. Lydia J. Kingsbury 
George B. Britton 
Fred E. Carpenter 
Otis W. Kingsbury 
Mrs. Sarah R. Kingsbury 
Miss Mabel E. May 
Stephen Slade 
Mrs. Ellen M. Slade 
Miss Maud L. Carpenter 
John W. Conley, Jr. 
Mrs. Ellen F. Conley 
Miss Lizzie E. Britton 
Ezekiel 0. Whitcomb 
Theodore G. Field 
Mrs. Minnie E. Wilber 
Mrs. Anna Morrison 
Miss Anna E. Howes 
Charles W. Bridge 
Mrs. Maria L. Bridge 



The meeting was called to order by Brother George K. Harvey of Cheshire 
(Keene) Grange, who introduced State Deputy E. C. Hutchinson of Milford, 
N. H. After a few remarks by the Deputy and a song by the choir, then 
proceeded to organize a Grange. Brother George K. Harvey was appointed 
Treasurer and Brother William S. Mansfield as Secretary pro tem. The 
Grange being organized in due form; then proceeded to election of Officers. 
The following Officers were declared elected by Ballot: 

SURRY GRANGE 

Master, Dr. William H. Porter 

Overseer, Frank E. Nesmith 

Lecturer, Mrs. Mary E, Field 

Steward, Harrison N. Scripture 

Ass't Steward, Myron H. Porter 

Chaplain, George B. Britton 

Treasurer, Cyrus Kingsbury 

Secretary, John A. Weber 

Gate Keeper, Otis W. Kingsbury 

Ceres, Mrs. Catherine L. Olmsted 

Pomona, Miss Belle E. Stearns 

Flora, Mrs. Melissa C. Grain 

Lady Ass't Steward, Miss Ada B. Scripture 



SURRY REFORM CLUB 

The Surry Reform Club was formed about 1874 in the interest of the Tem- 
perance cause, and existed for about three years, during which time it was 



Professions 239 

quite a successful and prosperous organization; holding several dramatic en- 
tertainments each year. 

The records of this Club have not been discovered, but Mason A. Carpenter 
was the first President. The following are known to have been members: 

Lewis F. Blake George K. Harvey- 
George M. Blake Persis E. Harvey 
Mrs. Lucy A. Britton James E. Harvey 
Mary E. Britton Edward H. Joslin 
Frank H. Britton Samuel L. Newton 
Flora E. Britton Frank A. Poole 
Mary L. Brown W. H. Porter, M. D. 
Mrs. Lucy M. Carpenter Mrs. Clementine R. Porter 
Mrs. Mary E. Carpenter Myron H. Porter 
Mason A. Carpenter Nellie H. Porter 
Flora A. Carpenter Kate H. Porter 
Merrill D. Carpenter Hattie A. Streeter 
LaForest J. Carpenter Mrs. M. Alice Thompson 
Nettie M. Carpenter Bertha A. Wilbur 
George D. Holland Alice L. Wilcox 



PROFESSIONS 

The medical profession was represented in town for over one hundred years 
— from about 1784 until the death of Dr. William H. Porter, in 1894. The two 
outstanding doctors were Dr. Philip, Monroe and Dr. Porter who spent most 
of their active lives in town. 

Dr. Philip Monroe the first of the profession so far as known to settle in 
town, came about 1784, He lived first above the village but moved to No. 23 
before 1790 and where he remained until his death in 1832. There is a tradi- 
tion that he believed in witchcraft. 

Dr. Abner Bliss of Gilsum came into town as early as 1790 and after liv- 
ing here a few years, removed to Alstead. The Gilsum History states he was 
the first physician of that town, and "had an extensive and successful prac- 
tice." He died in Alstead in 1812. 

Dr. Reuben Phillips was living in town prior to 1790 and remained until 
about 1796. 

Dr. Isaac Monroe a brother of Dr. Philip Monroe was in town in 1792, re- 
moved to Westmoreland but returned in 1801 and remained until 1811-12. It 
is interesting to note there were four doctors in Surry in 1792. 

Dr. Jeremiah Ingraham appeared in town as early as 1794 at which time 
he and his wife were "warned out" but remained for some years. It is be- 
lieved his practice was slight and of no very great importance. 

Dr. Lewis Johnson was in practice in town, 1808 and '09, after which he 
lived in Westmoreland and died there in 1817. He was the father of Dr. 
Joshua Jewett Johnson of Keene. 



240 History of Surry 

Dr. Samuel Thomson, "founder of the Thomsonian System of medicine" was 
born in edge of Alstead but lived and practiced his profession in Surry and 
adjoining towns before and after 1800. During the first half of the last cen- 
tury his system had numerous followers among them one or more of his sons. 

Dr. Calvin Haskins was in town, 1804 but remained only a few years. 

Dr. James H. Bradford came in 1820 and removed about 1822. 

Dr. John Wakefield moved into town as early as 1822 and remained until 
after 1824. 

Dr. Jonathan E. Davis of Gilsum was in town from 1826 until 1828, 

Dr. William H. Porter a student at the Worcester and Harvard Medical 
Colleges settled in town, Apr. 12, 1854, where he had a successful practice 
until nearly the time of his death. He was prominent in town affairs and 
postmaster for many years. 

Old Dr. George W. Hammond of Gilsum; Dr. Noah Fuller of Westmoreland 
and Drs. Amos Twitchell, Gardner C. Hill of Keene, and others have prac- 
ticed in town. 



Poems 241 

* LEGEND OF THE REVOLUTION 

When the colonies sti'ove for national birth, 

There were traitors in camp and around the hearth, 

As there always has been in all the earth — 
Bill Baxter was the man. 

On the bend of the winding Ashuelot,** 

An Englishman built on the land he bought, . 
But his love for King George he never forgot — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

Round Bald Hill rises just east of the place ;§ 

South, the White Rock looks like a shaven face — 
There the Tory lived, to the town's disgrace — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

The hillsides slope down almost to the dam. 

The beautiful pond spreads out like a fan, 
And here the vile Tory his treason began — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

The smoke cleared away from Bennington's ground, ^ 

And many a Hessian was left to sleep sound; 
The roll was then called, and one was not found — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

The victors came back to Surry's bright vale. 

And told their story, and shouted "All hail"; 
The Tory looked down — turned suddenly pale — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

They marched him down to the gauntlet road,t 

Two beautiful elms as sentinels stood. 
And guarded the place as sentinels should — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

Each soldier was armed with a birchen stick, 

And he laid it on both heavy and quick, 
And followed it up with a terrible kick — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

Good Captain Harvey commanded so well, 

That some of the men made double strokes tell; 
Says the captain to Ase, "You laid it on well" — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 

Let the Tories forever be treated just so. 

When we are attacked by a foreign foe — 
But fight not each other as savages do — 

Bill Baxter was the man. 



*The author of this poem has not been discovered; the description is complete. 
**This River is pronounced; Ash-welot. 

§The location of his house \vas at or near No. 116 — see mnp. 

tTradition says the "gauntlet road" was from the "Whipping Post" to No. 35, where 
two ancient elms are still standing. 



16 



242 History of Surry 

SURRY MINE, NUMBER ONE. 

Have you heard the news so fine? 

This much exciting story! 
They have found a priceless mine 

In little "One-horse Suri-y." 

The Mountain old, brimful of Gold, 

Stands silent in its grandeur; 
There'll be a din when they begin 

To show its hidden splendor. 

Tradition says, in olden times 

Some Spaniards came to Surry; 
They found a famous silver mine, 

But left it in a hurry. 

For Civil war raged far and near, 

Their brilliant plans o'er throwing, 
They covered up their treasure here 

And left, but ne'er returning. 

If in the spring the "boss" M. M.* 

Comes with his working army; 
Perhaps we'll see heathen Chinee 

And men from every Country. 

With greatest speed they'll build a bridge 

Across the roaring river; 
A level road will next be made 

Unto the great Bonanza. 

We will ride with coach and span, 

Up to the very summit. 
And there the face of nature scan, 

Rare beauties stamped upon it. 

Instead of this small one horse town. 

We'll have a two horse City; 
When this proves true as I have shown, 

I'll write another ditty. 
I Surry, November, 1879. 



*"M. M." was for Mahlon Millesou. superintendent of The Granite State Gold and 
Silver Mining Co., which was then being formed. 



CHAPTER XII. 
INDUSTRIES. 

No complete Jiistory of all the industries, large and small, is obtainable. 
Merchants, blacksmiths, tavern and hotel keepers, have predominated while 
there have been saw, grist, cider, fulling and malt mills; carriage and wheel- 
wright shops; tannery, hat shop, brick yard, charcoal pits and potash makers. 
There were two cabinet makers, several boot & shoe makers and silversmiths; 
a carding mill ran a short time; for years all the coffins used here were made 
in town. Between 1845 and 1865 the braiding of hats for out-of-town parties 
occupied the idle moments of both old and young, then came the seating of 
chairs for manufacturers in Keene. During more recent years several "por- 
table saw-mills" have been located in various parts of the town cutting off 
woodlots. 

Several parties have built wood slides on the west side of the mountain 
and about 1873 Asa Fay built one, which ran down the hill east of No. 135. 

During each fall for over 50 years droves of cattle from Vermont and 
northern New Hampshire passed through town. 

MILLS, SHOPS, ETC. 

Aaron Chapin and sons built the saw and grist mill at No. 112 about 1771, 
doubtless the first in town. After the death of Aaron, Capt. Simon Baxter 
purchased the property, then several parties held interests for from two to 
10 years each. Harrison N. Scripture purchased the property in 1865 and 
he or his son now own the site. First they were called "Chapins mills," then 
for many years, "The Baxter mills" and now "Scripture's mill." 

William Hayward built a saw mill at No. 5 before 1785. Many have 
owned this property and several mills have stood on the same site. The last 
one was torn down in 1920. During the last generation it has been called the 
"Rogers Mill." 

Asahel Harvey had a saw mill at No. 174 as early as 1799 which stood 
until nearly 1850. After his death John Stevens ran the mill a year or two. 
The two latter mills, and the former (until 1880) all had the old up-and- 
down log saw, from which boards and timber were cut out to erect buildings 
in town. 

George and C. Wharton Wilcox had bench saws in their carriage shop at 
No. 120. 

Capt. Asa Wilcox had bench saws in his carriage shop at No. 127. 

About 1850 bench saws and several lathes were being used in the old bark 
mill where bobbins were being turned out for factories. 

The first grist mill, as stated, was built by Aaron Chapin at No. 112 about 
1771. Mr. Scripture ran a grist mill in connection with his saw mill until 
about 1910. 



244 History of Surry 

Asahel Harvey had a grist mill at No. 175 which was in use until about 
1842. But little remains now to even mark its site. 

Henry A. WeatherheacI put in a small portable grist mill at No. 5 which he 
ran between 1900 and 1908. 

CIDER MILLS. 

Seventy or 100 years ago cider mills were quite numerous in town. Thomas 
Austin had one at No, 2; Eliphaz Field one at No. 8; Henry T. Ellis near 
No. 16; William Kingsbury at No. 20; Hollis Wilcox, at No. 92; Daniel 
Hodgkins at No. 133 after 1860; Benjamin Hills at No. 134; David Reed at 
No. 140; Ichabod Crane at No. 150; Jesse Streeter at 160; Ezra Carpenter at 
No. 169; Peter Joslin, No. 177; Royal Watkiris, No. 219; Esq. Benjamin Car- 
penter, No. 222, and probably there were others of which we have no record. 
Frank E. Ellis built one at No. 6 in 1882 which is standing but not in use. 

Ensign Asa Wilcox built a malt mill at No. 127 in 1799, but it was in use 
but a short time, if at all. 

Capt. Asa Wilcox made cider brandy at No. 96 for a short time early in 
the last century. 

The "fulling mill" built before 1800 at No. 120 was in use some 30 years, 
after which Capt. Asa Wilcox made it into a carriage shop, q. v. 

CARDING MILLS 

Between 1810 and '20 Capt. S. Baxter, Abijah Wetherbee, Jonathan Harvey, 
and John Stevens all paid tax on Carding Machinery. 

John Hitchcock had a tan-vat near No. 118, in 1781-2, we therefore suppose 
he also had a tannery. Samuel Hills started in the tanning and currying 
business at No. 130 about 1800 and the business was in operation for some 
45 years, under various proprietors. 

Henry Kellogg, an ironsmith, built a shop at No. 148, about 1830, in which 
he carried on business a few years. He had a trip-hammer operated by 
water power. 

Tradition says during the early history of the town a brick yard was in 
operation at No. 3. 

BLACKSMITHS. 

Blacksmith shops have been quite numerous. Joseph Whitney, a blacksmith, 
was living near No. 22 about 1767, and is supposed to have built a shop nearby, 
which Benjamin Whitney was running in 1772. In 1794, Lieut. John 
McCurdy opened a shop at No. 12. John Norris had a shop near No. 66 
in 1804, In 1825 there was a shop near the Great road east of No. 35, which 
was in use some years. Elijah Norris had a shop at No, 29, which stood until 
about 1842. About 1849, Elijah Holbrook built a shop at No. 56, in which 
business was conducted by various parties for nearly 50 years, Elijah 
Norris also had a shop at No. 74 in 1821. Samuel H. Poole built a shop at 
No. 84 in 1870, which he ran a few years. Tradition says there was a black- 



Industries 245 

smith shop on the east side of the road above No. 107 before 1840, but nothing 
positive is known. Francis B. Benton had a shop at 109 for a few years prior 
to 1849. Another tradition states there was a blacksmith shop near No. 117, 
many years ago. 

Joseph Knight is supposed to have built a shop at No. 123, about 1825 and 
later Elijah Holbrook, it is said, owned the shop. A brick shop stood at No. 
128 from 1810? until after 1860, and it was the most important shop during 
that period in that part of the town. In 1818 there was a shop on the Dr. 
Thomson place. No. 135, but it remained in use only a few years. 

David Bragg, a blacksmith, is supposed to have lived at No. 158 in 1805, but 
whether he had a shop, is not known. Tradition says there was a shop at 
No 42 before 1840 and Otis Daggett had his shop at No. 43 in 1840, and 
earlier. In more modern times, Fred B. Marshall had a shop at No. 6, also 
at 15. 

Ensign Asa Wilcox had a carriage shop at No. 127 soon after 1800 which 
was in operation about 50 years. 

Capt. Asa and Capt. George Wilcox had a carriage and wheelwright shop 
in the old "Fulling mill" for many years, then C. Wharton Wilcox, a son of 
Capt. George, continued business until about 1895. 

Capt. Eliphalet Dort had a shop at the toll gate place and later on the 
meadow north of his house — No. 86. He was considered a good workman, 
possessing considerable natural mechanical ability. 

Levi Brooks had a shop at No. 95 in which he carried on the wheelwright 
business from 1835? until after 1850. 

John Thayer did cabinet work to some extent while living at No. 16, from 
1810 till 1813. Jonah Carter also was a cabinet maker. 

About 1880 Eugene Gates made trays for M. A. Carpenter in a shop at No. 
45. 

BOOTS AND SHOES. 

The boot and shoe makers were engaged in business from 1800 until around 
1850. There was a shop at No. 35 about 1820 which is still in use on the 
place. There is some reason to believe the building when in use stood by the 
highway near the blacksmith shop, previously mentioned on this farm. 

The old records speak of a shoe-shop at or near No. 48, between 1814 
and '40. Doubtless this is where Theodorus Monroe and Asa Hutchings 
began business, May 12, 1814. — K. S. Adonijah Marvin lived at No. 62 and 
had a shop in 1792. Harry D. Randall carried on shoemaking in his house at 
No. 70 about 1851. Elkanah Hixon was living in the northwest part of the 
town in 1825 and travelled from house to house making up the annual stock 
of footwear for old and young. William Kingsbury had a shop at No. 26 a 
few years around 1850. 

HATS. 

Daniel Ellis, a hatter, had a shop at or near No. 66 between 1816 and 1830. 
He sold the property, including a "hat shop" in 1836. 



246 History of Surry 

CHARCOAL. 

In order to reap some benefit from the wood and timber that originally 
covered the land the farmers converted large quantities into charcoal which 
was drawn in large racks to Keene and Bellows Falls, Vt., where it found a 
ready market among the blacksmiths. It not only required some skill but 
constant watching to get a "good burn," A pit was dug in the ground in 
which from 10 to 30 or more cords of four-foot wood was placed in nearly 
a vertical position after which the pile was covered over with sods and earth 
except one or two small vents where the fire was started and which served as 
drafts. From one to two weeks was required to burn a pit, and in case the 
fire broke out it was immediately checked by fresh dirt, or ashes. Several 
had coalpits near the foot of the Mountain, and in other parts of the town, 
between 1830 and 1860. 

POTASH. 

Potash was made in town 100 years ago but to what extent has not been 
learned. The Robinsons made it on the plain east of the hotel (No. 55). It 
was also made at No. 77, probably by the Fuller family. 

TAVERNS AND HOTELS. 

The exact date when the first public house was opened in town has not 
been ascertained; however, there is little doubt but it was at Peter Hay- 
ward's who lived at No. 1. Jonathan Smith was called "an innholder" as 
early as 1773. 

He was succeeded by his son, Capt. Samuel Smith, prior to 1788. Lieut. 
John McCurdy opened a tavern in his house (No. 12) at the south part of 
the town not far from 1790. 

Between 1800 and 1848 the taverns did a thriving business in this town 
but upon completing of the Cheshire railroad from Keene to Bellows Falls 
and beyond, the old stage coach was doomed. There was some rivalry in 
those days between landlords to procure business ; some held out special 
social qualities, others excellent board, while there were the temperance and 
non-temperance houses. It is related that Thomas Redding on one occasion, 
in order to compete with a temperance neighbor, placed up the following 
sign: 

Why will you pass by — both hungry and dry, 
Good brandy and gin — please Sir, Walk in; 
Good oats and bedding — Your humble servant, 

Thomas Redding. 

The following is a list of the taverns, hotels and stores in town who were 
licensed to "mix and sell" prior to 1906. 

Jan. 28, 1765, Peter Hayward was appointed tavern keeper at No. 1. 
Sept. 2, 1768, Wolston Brockway was appointed tavern keeper at No. 34. 
Jan. 13, 1773, Jonathan Smith, Sr. ; the Samuel Ball place in village. 
Oct. 10, 1786, Capt. Samuel Smith succeeded his father at above place. 



Industries 247 

Feb. 27, 1793, Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr.; where M. D. Carpenter now lives. 

Mar. 4, 1793, Jonathan Robinson, Sr. ; in the village; destroyed by fire, 1907. 

Mar. 4, 1793, John McCurdy; where Henry L. Phillips and son now live, 
1920. 

Mar. 4, 1793, Benjamin Carpenter; probably the present Stephen H. 
Clement place. 

Feb. 4, 1796, Capt. Simon Baxter; at the Shaw place; destroyed by fire, 
1902. 

May 6, 1796, James Kingsbury; the Capt. Francis Holbrook tavern; No. 126. 

Dec. 7, 1796, Ensign Asa Wilcox, Sr.; also at the above Holbrook place. 

Sept. 3, 1799, Dr. Philip Monroe; the Bachelder — Keller place; burned 1915. 

Jan. 18, 1800, Abel Monroe; at the widow Brockway's; the George A. 
Hall place. 

Jan. 25, 1802, Cushman Smith; where George B. Britton now lives, 1920. 

Jan. 11, 1804, Capt. Calvin Hayward; the Samuel L. Newton place. 

Nov. 23, 1804, Asa Wilcox, Jr.; doubtless at Capt. Holbrook's; No. 126. 

May 26, 1808, David Reed, Jr.; at widow Sarah Dart's. 

Sept. 8, 1808, John Norris; probably where Edward M. Britton now lives. 

Nov. 4, 1808, Capt. Charles Bond; the present Oscar B. Deane place. 

Jan. 19, 1809, Elijah Wheelock, near the turnpike; the exact place, unknown. 

Dec. 14, 1809, Isaac Field at Moses D. Field — Jno. Robinson old homestead. 

Jan. 26, 1810, John Chandler; at Asa Wilcox, Jr.; Captain Holbrook; 
No. 126. 

Apr. 24, 1810, John Thayer; probably at the J. N. Kellar summer home. 

Mar 12, 1811, Isaac & Eliphaz Field; the Willard Streeter; Green place. 

Mar. 21, 1811, Capt. Francis Holbrook; Asa Wilcox tavern; No. 126. 

June 5, 1811, Lt. Levi Fuller; the present Hollis W. Harvey place. 

Dec. 9, 1811, Abel Monroe at the Col. Bond house. 

Dec. 18, 1811, Aaron Loveland at the Toll Gate in Surry. 

Mar. 10, 1812 Widow Lucinda Hayward; the old Peter Hayward; Samuel 
L. Newton. 

May 29, 1813, Aaron Loveland at the Ralston farm. 

Mar. 10, 1814, Elijah Fuller at his store, north of H. W. Harvey's house. 

Mar, 12, 1816, Josiah Knight. He perhaps kept store in village for "Hough 
& Redding." 

Mar. 12, 1816, Stephen Richardson. 

Dec. 23, 1817, Jonathan Harvey, Sr,; where George Malcolm now (1920) 
lives. 

Sept, 26, 1818, Samuel Allen, "i 

Sept. 28, 1818, Obadiah Redding. j These men held licenses for a few days 

Sept. 28, 1818, Augustus Johnson. - only; probably during a "muster" or 

Dec. 26, 1818, Jehial Day. I a "turkey shoot," held in town. 

Mar. 6, 1819, Benjamin Hills. j 



248 History of Surry 

Mar. 10, 1819, Samuel Robinson, who succeeded his father in the village 
hotel. 

Apr. 17, 1819, Peter Hayward, at the old Peter Hayward; Samuel L. 
Newton. 

Sept. 29, 1820, Judge Elijah Knight; Charles W. Reed; now John W. 
Lynch place. 

Nov. 13, 1820, Theodore Monroe; for a few days only. 

Apr. 12, 1821, Nathan Hayward; at Eliphaz Field's house for 4 days. 

Mar. 13, 1821, Dan Hough & James Redding, at their village store for 
one year. 

1822, John May; the present Congregational parsonage in the village. 

1823, Col. Seth Hall; probably in southwest part. 

Mar. 8, 1825, Jeremiah Robbins; the Harvey — George Malcolm place. 
Mar. 8, 1825, Jonas Pollard; where Alonzo F. Wilbur now lives. 
Feb. 9, 1826, Capt. Thomas Humphrey, where Frank E. Nesmith now 
lives. 

May 26, 1827, Joseph Shelley; the Jonas Pollard; Alonzo F. Wilbur place. 
Apr. 3, 1828, David Cushing; the Jonas Pollard; Alonzo F. Wilbur place. 

Mar. 10, 1829, Samuel G. Bowker; the Jonas Pollard; Alonzo F. Wilbur 
place. 

1830, Isaiah Robbins; probably at his father's old stand; Malcolm's. 

1836, Capt. Thomas Humphrey's widow, Sally, continued the business. 

1836, Calvin Graves appears to have kept tavern at A. F. Wilbur's place. 

1841, John Johnson; the Frank E. Nesmith place, supposedly. 

1841, Gilbert Grain; at the Alonzo F. Wilbur place. 

1845, Elijah Holbrook; the Robinson hotel in village. 

1845, J. & R. Shelley at their store in village; the Stevens store. 

1846, Almond Stevens, succeeded the Shelleys in the village store. 

1847, Stevens & Britton; at the village store. 

Licenses were granted until about 1848, afterward nothing appears on 
the town records, although, taverns or hotels continued in town for half 
a century thereafter. 

In 1841 there were four hotels in town, one in the village; one at F. E. 
Nesmith's place; one kept by Holbrook in the north part of the town and 
one" where Alonzo F. Wilbur and Son live. In 1850 two only kept open house; 
one in the village and one at Holbrook's stand. The latter was kept by 
George W. Holbrook until about 1860, when it ceased to be a public house. 

The village hotel continued under various proprietors until nearly the 
time it was destroyed by fire, in 1907. Among those who were proprietors 
after Elijah Holbrook removed to Keene and became proprietor of the Che- 
shire House, are the following: Warren Carpenter, from about 1852, until 
1880?; James D. Cheever; George D, Ordway; Capt. Thomas L. Harmon; 



Industries 249 

Ephraim B. Newton; Winfield E. Wilbur and Charles F, Britton — who ran 
the stage between Marlow and Keene for several years — owned the property 
when the hotel, sheds and barns were all destroyed by fire. 

Hans Raabe moved into town in 1909 and soon after opened "The Triple 
Elm" house in the village, which ran about five years. — No. 54. 

MERCHANTS. 

So far as discovered the first merchant in town was Lieut John McCurdy 
the inn-keeper, at No. 12. His adv. May 3, 1790*, "For sale at his store in 
Surry, A few English and West India goods, suitable for the season, consist- 
ing of Broad cloth, chintses, calicoes, shawles, silk hankerchiefs, Irish linen, 
camblets, sewing silk, cordurays, lastings, leather stamped waistcoat pat- 
terns. Also West India and New England rum, by the barrel or smaller 
quantities; good Malaga wine by the kegg or gallon. Bohea tea, raisins, loaf 
and brown sugar, choculate, pepper, nutmeg, etc. Bar iron, English and Ger- 
man steel, scythes, powder, shot, felt hats. In exchange he will take, Rye, 
Oats, Indian corn, flax, pot and pearl ash, etc." In Mar 1794 he built and 
— equipped a blacksmith shop on his premises, — His adv. 

Jonathan Robinson opened a store at his tavern (No. 55) about 1799. In 
1803, Cushman Smith opened a store in a small building which he built on the 
east side of his dwelling at the present post-office. No. 43. Josiah Knight kept 
a store at No. 47 as early as 1816-17, and for about 50 years afterwards 
business was conducted in that building. S. Harrison Porter opened a store 
at No. 64 which ran a few years. Elijah Fuller and William Baxter opened 
a store at No. 78 about 1814. In 1810 there was a store at No. 126. It stood 
a few feet north of the tavern, later owned by Capt. Francis Holbrook, and 
probably existed only a few years. John Cole had a store in his house at 
No. 214, in 1805. It was on the Boston, Keene, Walpole, Rutland turnpike 
road, and it is said he did a good business. 

After the old meeting house was made into a Town Hall the old store at 
No. 47 was closed up and a new one was opened on the first floor in the 
Town Hall which was in operation most of the time from 1872 until 1918. 
The following have been in business at this place: George W. Britton and 
Edwin A. Kenyon moved here from No. 47 in 1872 (flrm of "Britton & 
Kenyon") ; Frank Curtis as agent for Mr. Robb (of Stoddard?); Wesley F. 
Wilbur; "Grain & Carpenter" — Frederick R, and Frank P. Grain and Frank 
D. W. Carpenter—; Frank P. Grain, 1888; Ernest W. Carpenter, 1890-91; 
Merrill D. Carpenter, 1895; George N. Conley; Herbert R. Grain; William 
L. Olds; Cyrus Kingsbury, 1901; Lewis C. Buntlin; Charles E. George and 
Arthur E. Salley, 1913 until the spring of 1918, he being the last to carry on 
business here. For many years the town rented the Town Hall store for 
§1.00 per annum. Samuel E. Howard opened a store at No. 54 in 1920, and 
was succeeded by Thomas J. Kelly. 

SILVERSMITH 

Samuel Sawyer came to No. 102 in 1794 and soon after opened a shop at No. 
107 where he wafe engaged till his death in the plating business. He was 



''Taken from THE NEW HAMPSHIRE RECORDER of Keene, N. H. May 3, 1790. 



250 History of Surry 

succeeded in business by John T. Wilcox and John Blish, as "Wilcox & Blish," 
who dissolved partnership, Dec. 6, 1814, at which time Mr. Wilcox gave notice 
he would continue the business in "Plated ware, Brass and Tin harness trim- 
mings," etc. 

CHAIR MAKING 

Alanson Bingham came to town May 1866 and remained a year or two, 
being engaged in making chairs. He employed a few men and his shop was 
in the town hall. 

BRAIDING HATS. 

This was a business which many women, girls and boys were engaged in 
from about 1850 until after 1860 and while the remuneration was small, yet 
it served as "pin-money" and many a lass was able to obtain a new "calico 
gown" and buy a new blue "frock." The palm-leaf was brought into town and 
sold at the houses, then the finished hats were inspected, collected, paid for 
and a new lot of stock supplied. After a year's experience a "good spry girl" 
could finish 10 or 12 hats in a day for which she received "six cents each." 
Men from both Westmoreland and Winchester did business in Surry. 

CHAIR SEATING 

This business was carried on along the same lines as the hat braiding, but 
at a later period, and for men engaged in the chair business in Keene. This 
was at its height between 1870 and 1885, and to some extent is still con- 
tinued in town. 

PORTRAITS. 

Mr. A. P. Hendricks with his traveling saloon came into town about 1856 
and placed his car by the roadside below No. 44. Here he remained a few 
weeks and took daguerreotypes of many of the citizens of that day. The next 
to appear was the camera about 1890, then came the kodak. Francis F. Field 
has a small collection of views taken before 1900 and about that time James 
E. Harvey, then a photographer at Concord, N. H., took views of nearly all 
the dwelling houses in Surry valley. 

DROVES. 

Some mention of the droves which formerly passed through town should 
be given for the benefit of the next generation. Prior to 1840, cattle, sheep, 
hogs and turkeys were driven through here on their way to Boston, and 
occasionally a string of horses, but all except cattle and horses ceased before 
1850. Several drovers were engaged in the cattle business between 1865 and 
1895 when the custom practically ran out. 

George Pierce (said to have been a nephew of Pres. F. Pierce) of Royals- 
ton, Mass., and Edward Eldridge (or Aldrich) of Warren, Vt., as, "Pierce 
& Eldridge," were in the business 25 or 30 years, but at that period the drove 
went only as far as Mr. Pierce's home town. During September and October 
of each year they bought from 400 to 700 head of cattle in Duxbury, More- 



Industries 251 

town, Fayston, Warren, Northfield and Waitsfield, Vt. Natt Joslin's farm in 
the village of the latter town was the rendezvous. The drove started, via: 
Warren, Granville, Hancock, Rochester, Stockbridge, Barnard, Woodstock, 
West Windsor and Weathersfield in Vermont, then, crossing over the Cheshire 
bridge into Charlestown, N. H., they passed through Langdon, Drewsville, 
Surry, Keene, Swanzey and Richmond. 

The trip required about two weeks, and they were selling cattle on the road 
after the first few days. Arriving at Charlestown and towns below they 
stopped over one or two days in each place where they did a brisk business. 

The following list of stopping places has been obtained: At Dea. Christy's 
in So. Woodstock; Mr. Douglass at W. Windsor; Bidwell's tavern in Lang- 
don; Jonathan R. Field's (at No. 16) in Surry, and William C. Belding's in 
Swanzey Center. Mr. Pierce is said to have been a wizard at cattle flesh. 
He could tell without hesitation, the price paid, age, and of whom he bought 
each creature. 

MINING OPERATIONS 

During the whole history of this town it has been thought — by some — ^that 
there was valuable ore of some kind in Surry, and from time to time en- 
deavors have been made to bring it forth. It is a well established tradition 
that a few Spaniards were excavating on "Mine hill" at the outbreak of the 
Revolutionary war, and that they left these parts in a hurry, expecting to 
return as soon as peace was declared. And even before the settlement by the 
white men, the Indians obtained lead for bullets on Surry Mountain. 

THE RUSSELL MINE. 

1785, William Russell and others purchased several tracts of land in that 
part of Surry, formerly Westmoreland, and soon after began operations near 
No. 213 — map. There were 72 equal rights, or shares owned by the following: 



William Russell 


12 


John Briant 




William Russell, Jr. 


11 


Nathan Hall 




Thomas Harvey 


4 


Joseph Wilder 




Samuel Stickney 


5 


Moses Stickney, Jr. 




Josiah Goldsmith 


3 


Levi Haskell 




Thomas Field 


3 


Josiah Willard 




Joseph Blake 


3 


Benjamin Bullard 




Jedediah Sanger 


6 


Flint Davis 




Benjamin Carpenter, Jr. 


1 


Nathaniel Hardy 




Samuel Ober 


2 


Joseph Heald 


3 


Asahel Blake 


2 


(Unknown) 


6 


Peter Hay ward 


1 






William Hayward 


1 


Total 


72 



Feb. 1, 1786, Jedediah Sanger, Joseph Blake, William Russell, committee in 
behalf of said mine petitioned to the legislature to carry on business and 
state, "That they have discovered a place in Surry where they are persuaded 
is a valuable silver mine," they further set forth that they wish to experiment 
on the ores, but have not the means and desire the legislature authorize them 
to raise the money by public lottery, to the amount of two thousand dollars. 



252 History of Surry 

for that purpose. The company probably built a dwelling and other buildings 
at No. 213, and for a few years worked their "valuable silver mine," now 
marked by an excavation of a few feet in the solid ledge. 

THE SCOVELL MINE. 

Amos S. Scovell, q. v., opened up a small mine on the west side of the 
mountain in 1851 where he labored for several months. It is understood he 
was in search of silver; his mine was east of the village on land then owned 
by William Carpenter and possibly one-quarter way from base. 

THE LITTLEFIELD MINE 

Rufus Littlefield of Charlestown, Mass., in company with George D. Rice, 
did a little at mining in 1865. They worked on land owned by Warren Car- 
penter, about opposite the village. 

THE GRANITE STATE GOLD AND SILVER MINING COMPANY 

Surry, Cheshire County, N. H. 

Organized in 1879 

The oflficers were : 
Directors William C. Tallman, Boston, Mass., President. 

H. L. White, Boston, Mass., Treasurer. 
Charles H. Drew, Boston, Mass., Attorney 
Randall G. Morse, Boston, Mass. 
John P. Hilton, Boston, Mass. 
William E. Cai-leton, Boston, Mass. 
George A. Bruce," Somerville, Mass. 
George K. Harvey, Surry, N. H. 
M. Milleson, State of Nevada, Supt. and Mining Eng. 
James Anderson, Secretary. 
A. I. Benyon, Pacific National Bank, Banker. 

The company was taxed in Surry as follows: 



1881 


for 40 acres; 


valuation 


$200.00 


Tax 


$ .75 


1882 


<( (( <( 


it 


800.00 


(( 


2.25 


1883 


U << (< 


n 


400.00 


(( 


1.25 


1884 


(< << << 


(< 


400.00 


(( 


(non-resident) 



Nothing further appears on the town records until Feb. 12, 1887, when the 
"M. Millison Mining Rights" were sold at public auction at the store of 
"Grain & Carpenter" in the village for the taxes assessed for the year, 1886. 
We understand those who invested in this company received nothing in 
return. 

Except, possibly the Russell mine. This was by far the most extensive 
mining operation in this town. Organized, 1879, Mahlon Milleson was the 
prime mover, and became superintendent of the company. 

Evidently from a communication to Keene Sentinel, May 31, 1880, he had 
implicit confidence in the undertaking, "based upon sixteen years' experience 



Industries 253 

on the Pacific coast ... I have demonstrated to my entire satisfaction 
that the Harvey tract is a vast mineral-bearing territory, and that a system 
of deep mining, run, if possible, from the river level, will open up as valuable 
a piece of property as any in the United States." 

Operations began early in 1880 not far from the top of the mountain on 
land of George K. Harvey. Here they sunk a shaft in the solid rock about 
75 feet, and built a boarding house, 18ft. x 40it., two stories high, but during 
that summer they began operation on the Giisum side of the mountain, on 
land purchased of Daniel W. Bill. At this "point they sunk a shaft about 125 
feet, erected an engine house, blacksmith shop, boarding house, a crusher 
building, etc. Ten or 12 men were engaged here for two or three years; 
most of the buildings went to decay while there still remain two well-holes 
open to entrap some innocent man or beast. 

THE DAWSON MINE. 

Around 1863-65 a Mr. Dawson did some mining on land of Warren and 
William Carpenter's where he took out copper ore. He gave employment to 
a few men for several months. His mine was half way up west side. 

THE ALLEN MINE. 

Since 1915 Leon Allen has been working near the foot of the mountain on 
land he purchased south of Lily pond brook. He has taken out mica, etc. 

SURRY— KEENE CANAL PRO.JECT. 

In order to ascertain the feasibility of conveying the waters of the Ashuelot 
river in a canal from the upper part of Surry to Keene village, Thomas M. 
Edwards, James Wilson, Jr., Abijah Wilder, Jr., and Josiah Colony, four 
energetic and influential citizens of Keene, employed Arthur W. Hoyt, a 
civil engineer of Deerfield, Mass., to make an accurate survey of the route; 
examine the soil through which the canal would pass; brooks and highways 
to be crossed, etc. 

*His report of March 1, 1833, accompanied by a map of the entire route, 
indicated power was available, but for some reason the project was not 
carried forward. An extract of that report follows : 

The survey for the proposed canal was made in October 1832, and 
was seven miles and 31 chains long; 33 feet wide at the top and 21 
feet four inches at the bottom; 14 inches drop per mile was allowed in 
the whole length of the canal; two reservoirs were to be built north of 
Central square in Keene, and an opportunity for four mill privileges 
were available, and at an estimated cost of $23,180.46 not including the 
land damages. 

Two starting points on the east side of the river were under con- 
sideration. The first was at "a large primitive rock projecting from 
the base of Surry mountain into the bed of the river, about 30 rods 



*The venerable Elisha F. Lane of Keene who married Harriette P. Wilder, daughter of 
Abijah Wilder, Jr., now has in his possession Mr. Hoyt's report and map. 



254 History of Surry 

above George Blake's house" (probably the old Tileston place) where 
there was an angle in the river. The second and better starting point 
was above the first mentioned, and within about 130 rods of "Baxter's 
mills" (now the Scripture mill), where a low dam could be constructed 
across the river, here the water entered the canal then flowing south- 
ward; passing east of Samuel L. Newton's house; taking the water from 
Sturtevant brook as a feeder; crossing the highway 10 or 12 rods north 
of the Albert E. Pond buildings; crossing Goose Pond brook between 
Enos Holbrook's grist and oil mills (now where Charles S. Payne 
lives) ; passing easterly of the North Cemetery, Joseph Chase and 
Clarence N. Holman buildings, the water entered the Upper Reservoir, 
through which the Fisher (or Kate Tyler) brook now flows. The water 
here was 83 feet above Faulkner & Colony's mill pond on West street. 
With a fall of 31 feet available for power, the water entered the Lower 
reservoir, or "Mill Pond" as it was called, which covered land south of 
the present Fuller School house, and was then conveyed through a canal 
to near the school house on School street where a fall of 35 feet more 
was available for manufacturing purposes. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

CASUALTIES, FIRES, CRIME, ETC. 

Aug. 24, 1804 the town voted to allow Mr. Dean's account of $25.00 for 
damage in his breaking through a bridge in town. 

Oct. 29, 1828, Fred W. Scovell and his sisters went from their home (No. 
163) to No. 165 in the ox-cart. In descending the hill the cattle began running 
and when they turned into the yard at the Isham place the near cart-wheel 
passed over the wall at "death rock" which turned the body over, pitching the 
girls out. Sarah escaped unhurt, but Mary's head was crushed, causing in- 
stant death. 

Mar. 2, 1831, the town paid Jonathan Twining $4.50 for his horse falling 
through a bridge. 

About 1846, William Cross was at work as a farm hand for George Joslin; 
as he was about to unhitch a pair of oxen from a harrow the cattle ran and 
Mr. Cross was dragged and received a serious scalp wound. A speedy ride 
to Keene brought old Dr. Amos Twitchell to the spot, who removed a portion 
of the scalp, after which the patient recovered and subsequently went to Bos- 
ton and for some years was engaged in a drug store. From this accident he 
finally became a subject to epilepsy from which he died before middle-life. 

William H. Willard, a young man, while chopping wood for Jonathan R. 
Field, received an injury from which he died, about Dec. 15, 1835. 

Stephen Foster, 3rd, of Gilsum, was instantly killed on the night of Nov. 
5, 1844, while on the road from Surry to his home. It was a dark i*ainy 
night, his carriage was upset and he was pitched out, but whether in Surry, 
is unknown. 

Mar. 9, 1874, Jerry Rogers, a Frenchman, while chopping wood, was 
crushed under a tree and instantly killed. A tree which he previously had 
cut was lodged and while cutting another tree the strong wind dislodged the 
first unexpectedly. He was an agi'eeable and respected young man. 

Sunday, July 1, 1877, the "Great Gale" or whirlwind started in west of 
the south mill-pond and swept easterly over Surry mountain, across Gilsum, 
Sullivan and into Nelson, doing considerable damage in all but this town. See 
History of Sullivan, p. 381. 

Oct. 10, 1850, an unknown man was drowned in Baxter's mill-pond. He 
was seen the previous night wandering about and appeared deranged or 
intoxicated. 

June 13, 1854, Dean Tyler died fi'om the effects of a fall a few days pre- 
vious while getting over a fence on the meadow east of Geo. A. Hall's. 

May 24, 1855, Willard Mansfield committed suicide by hanging himself in 
his barn at No. 83. 

Aug. 5, 1857, Benjamin F. Horton was drowned in a spring near his house 
at No. 171; "partially deranged." 



256 History of Surry 

Dec. 5, 1904, William H. Wright was killed while falling a tree. 

June 16, 1888, while Lewis F. Blake, Frank P. Grain, Frank E. Nesmith and 
others were shingling the Church the staging gave away and all fell to the 
ground, each receiving injuries. 

Feb. 19, 1814, Joseph Maynard died from a blow from a falling tree; aged 
31. 

Apr. 8, 1825, Charles H. Reed a son of Mrs. Asa Wilcox, Jr. died from swal- 
lowing a bean; aged three years. 

July 11, 1830, Little Eliza Hatch, a daughter of James Hatch was drowned 
in the mill pond near her father's house — No. 124. Aged five years. 

July 17, 1862, a child of Mr. Shompany died in edge of Alstead (above No. 
137) from accidental poisoning; aged two years. Buried in Surry. 

Oct. 18, 1872, Chandler Wilbur was buried in Surry. He committed suicide 
while living at No. 181 in edge of Walpole. 

Mar. 7, 1849, a son of William L. Kingsbury met death by placing his 
mouth on the nose of a tea-kettle and was scalded; aged about two years. 
This occurred while he was living at No. 187 in edge of Walpole. 

The Stage-Coach Accident 

Monday, Oct. 16, 1848, while one of the Charlestown-Keene stages were de- 
scending the "Alstead hills" from Drewsville to Surry the coach was upset by 
the pole breaking. The six horses ran clearing themselves from the wreck but 
a stone wall saved the coach from rolling down the steep hill, which probably 
would have killed some of those aboard. Of the 19 passengers, one lady was 
quite badly injured being cut on her face and head by glass. This occurred 
half or 3/4 of a mile north of No. 137. The late C. Wharton Wilcox in relat- 
ing the incident stated "it was an elegant coach all painted in gold and 
paneled with glass." 

Another man in descending the same hills about that time met with an acci- 
dent when his harness broke pitching his load of tub butter over the bank, 
some of which rolled down into the gulch. 

One day about 1838 as Edmund Woodward was driving a colt to the village 
he stopped at No. 30. Mr. Cooper came out placing his hand on the horse 
which took fright, and jumped over the bank east of the road. The team and 
driver all rolled over to the foot of the hill, when the colt ran up to Otis Dag- 
getts blacksmith shop in the village. Mr. W. received slight bruises, but the 
wagon was a wreck. 

During the great freshet of Oct. 1869 Thomson's brook overflowed its banks 
above Shaw's Corner and ran down the highway for about 800 feet, and 
ruined the road, after which it was built farther to the east. 

Mar. 7, 1831 a child of Leonard A. Bowker died by falling into a kettle of 
hot water; aged about three years. 

Millie, a daughter of Henry T. Ellis nearly lost her life in the South mill 
pond when about two years of age. 



Casualties, Fires, Crimes, Etc. 257 

"Eighteen Frozen to Death" 

The year of 1816 is considered in history as the coldest summer experienced 
in New England, and is frequently mentioned as above noted. There was a 
frost every month in tlie year and but few crops were raised. 

High Wind 

Aug. 9, 1813. About noon a thunder cloud and hailstorm passed over parts 
of Walpole, Surry, Gilsum, Sullivan and other places, doing much damage. 
The hailstones were of various sizes, from that of a bullet to that of a hen's 
egg; a large part of them were of the latter size and rebounded four or five 
feet from the ground. In Surry there was but little rain, but the ground was 
literally covered with hailstones. Great damage was done to many houses and 
but few panes of glass left entire on the exposed sides. Eighty panes were 
broken in one house in town and about 90 in the meeting house (now, our 
Town Hall). The crops in some places were nearly all destroyed. 

The Tornado 

Between three and four o'clock Sunday afternoon, Aug. 4, 1822 occurred the 
most powerful and destructive wind storm ever known in town. "Two threat- 
ening clouds, from different points of the compass, appeared to meet over the 
highland in the east part of Walpole. Soon after, a tornado commenced, the 
cloud taking a north-easterly course, through the north part of Surry, simi- 
lar, though not so extensive nor so destructive in its effects, as that which 
occurred at Warwick, Mass., last season. Some orchards and barns were in- 
jured near the old turnpike gate, where its ravages commenced. Mr. George 
Cochran on the hill (in Walpole) had two barns completely demolished and 
his house sjomewhat injured. Next, a barn on the estate of the late John Mar- 
vin (in Surry), was also demolished. Its effects were next felt at Mr. Francis 
Holbrook's, inn-keeper, in Surry who had two barns thrown down, and a large 
shed, under which at the time wei'e some loaded teams. At the tan-yard of 
Samuel Hills, Esq., two sheds were demolished and the roof entirely taken off 
from a large granary. Some other buildings, including the old dwelling-house, 
were injured by sticks of timber and limbs of trees, which were carried in the 
air. The roof of a 40 foot building adjoining Mr. Hills house (?), some 80 
rods north east was blown off. Mr. Hills had 160 panes of glass broken by 
the flying boards, shingles, &c. Farther east, a barn was blown down on the 
farm occupied by Mr. David Reed; the dwelling-house was also injured, and 
the orchard half destroyed. In its course, for nearly half a mile in width, the 
orchards and forest trees show its destructive effects. Mr. Holbrook had an 
ox killed, but no person was injured, so far as our information extends." — 
From Keene Sentinel, Aug. 10, 1822. The following appeared, Aug. 31st: 

"The late tornado, or whirlwind, commenced as we before stated, in the 
hollow, near the old turnpike gate in Walpole. The clouds, a few minutes 
before, presented a singular appearance, which gave warning of something 
uncommon to be apprehended. They suddenly shot by each other, in various 
directions, and sometimes almost perpendicularly upwards. In a few moments 



NOTE — The torna«lo at Warwick, Northfield and Orange, Mass., occurred Sept. 9, 1821. 



17 



258 History of Surry 

the effects were seen in a pasture belonging to Mr. Adams Whipple. The 
shade trees were twisted entirely off, and the stone wall, in several places, 
laid level with the ground. The tops of chimneys were here taken off; a barn 
belonging to Richard Clark, and a barn belonging to Mr. William Robinson, 
were instantly swept away. It next encountered a woodlot of 27 or 28 acres, 
and our informant thinks that not more than five acres remain. Almost every 
tree was torn up and level with the earth. — Next a wood-house and barn, be- 
longing to Mr. Nathan Nye blown down, and his orchard nearly destroyed, — 
A wood lot of 20 acres, belonging to Mr. Cochran, (who also lost two barns 
and his oi-chard destroyed) almost ruined. The cornfields look as if a heavy 
log of wood had been rolled over them." Tradition says the wind caught up 
an ox-cart in Capt. Holbrook's yard carried it over the road, brook and drove 
the neap into the bank with such force that it required a pair of oxen to ex- 
tract it. 

FIRES 

The fiery elements have done quite serious damage for the size of the town 
and been detriment to its prosperity in many cases. The following is a com- 
plete list so far as discovered : 

1798-99, Asa Wilcox, Sr. lost a building in which ham and bacon was being 
smoked. Several of his neighbors suffered the loss of their "ham & eggs" by 
this fire. The building stood near No. 127, in Wilcoxville. 

Friday, June 21, 1805, a fire destroyed the house of John Brockway in 
Surry during this night, "with the principal part of its contents" — taken from 
K. S. This was No. 34 where George A. Hall now lives. Nov. 6, 1806 the 
farm was adv. for sale — 80 rods south of the meeting house; a good barn and 
"a new house partly finished." 

One Sunday about 1845 a barn was burned at the "Cones" (No. 27) by a 
small boy playing with matches. 

. All the barns on the George Joslin place (No. 172) were destroyed by a 
fire in Oct. 1869. He not only lost his buildings but about 100 tons of hay and 
grain. The fire was supposed to have been set by a neighbor, who soon 
after notified Mr. Joslin that his "barns were all a fire." Apr. 13, 1903, the 
old house and barns on this place were also destroyed by a chimney fire. 

Oct. 22, 1870, George H. Rand's house and barn at No. 173 were wiped out 
by a fire, said to have started when his horse fell over his lantern. 

During the summer of 1870, John Johnson's house at No. 80 was destroyed 
by a fire supposed to have started by placing hot ashes in a barrel in the shed. 

Aug. 9, 1872, Lightning struck the barn of Amos H. Carter (at No. 24) and 
it was destroyed. The present large barn was built on the same site. 

Dec. 28, 1887, Jackson Reed lost his house by a chimney fire, and on the 
same spot the present one was built the next year. Mrs. Reed was the only 
one at home and she ran to Shaw's corner to summon help. 

May 31, 1878, George B. Britton's house was destroyed by a chimney fire. 
He built on the same site the present dwelling at No. 30. 

June 6, 1888, Stephen H. Clement lost all his buildings by a fire from light- 
ning. He built the same year the present buildings on the same spot. 



Casualties, Fires, Crimes, Etc. 259 

Aug, 21, 1900, Sidney J. Wilder while living at No, 102 lost all the buildings 
on this farm by fire which started in the night from an arch in the shed. 

Nov. 9, 1902, The large house and barn at "Shaw's Corner" were all de- 
stroyed by a fire which started from a chimney. 

Apr. 15, 1905, a grass fire destroyed the barns at the Jonathan R. Field 
place (No. 16) now owned by the Keller family. 

In 1906-7 the barn on the Capt. Holbrook farm (No. 126) owned by Chas. 
H. Hodgkins was destroyed by the Blake-Fitzgerald boy. 

Feb. 4, 1907 the same lad applied a match to F, F. Field's barn. No. 39 
during the early evening, but help arrived and the fire was put out. Having 
failed in this attempt, he set the Warren Carpenter barn (No. 54) on fire 
during the same evening which was destroyed along with all the buildings on 
the village hotel property — No. 55. 

On or about Mar. 16, 1888 a barn on No. 54, owned by the Carpenters was 
destroyed, and on the site the present one was soon after built. 

Everett E. Wilbur lost a barn at No. 184, Aug. 1910 (?). The fire was 
caused by his grandson playing with matches. 

Dec. 23, 1909, Edward J. Guillow lost his buildings through a defective 
chimney and but little of the contents was saved. He built the present house 
the next year on same spot — No. 188. 

Apr. 14, 1915, Leon A. Hodgkins' buildings were all destroyed at No. 125 
from a fire which started from an unknown cause in the barn during the 
evening. 

Sunday afternoon, June 6, 1915 the most spectacular and disastrous fire to 
visit this town took place when all the buildings at No. 23 were destroyed. 
Jasper N. Keller owned the property. There was a two story house, the old 
Dr. Peter Monroe house (used as a stoi'e house), a creamery, a large horse 
barn north of the dwelling house, and three large barns. The main barn was 
a model of its kind, having basement floor for cattle, above this, the floor on 
which the hay was driven in over a raised platform, then came the loft or 
"high beams." There was a chimney for heating the "root cellar" in the 
basement, and above all was a well placed cupola surmounted by a weather- 
cock. They were the largest and most expensive set of buildings in town, 
painted and in prime condition at the time of the fire. The cause was attri- 
buted to farm-help smoking in the horse-barn where the fire started, 

A fire destroyed one or two buildings of the Granite State Gold and Silver 
Mining Co. about 1882. They were near the shaft on the Gilsum side. 

Sunday, Apr. 1, 1923, a chimney fire, starting about noon, destroyed the 
house and barns on the Edmund Woodward place. No, 11, owned by William 
S, Morine. The stock, most of farming tools and a portion of household 
goods were saved. Insurance, $2000. 

Several other fires have been discovered in season without doing great dam- 
age: 

About 1848 a chimney fire started a blaze on the roof of the Capt. Thomas 
Humphrey tavern (No. 68) but by timely aid the house was saved. 



260 History of Surry 

About July 1, 1880, Ephraim B. Newton while living in the old Peter Hay- 
ward house discovered a fire, but it was put out without doing much damage. 

During the time Royal Watkins was living at the Frank E. B. Mason place 
the lightning struck just north of his barn (now standing) and killed several 
sheep and started a fire in the barn, but held from a stage-coach which had 
hauled up nearby came and the fire was put out without serious damage. 

Forest Fires 

In former times several forest fires have raged on Surry Mountain destroy- 
ing much valuable wood and timber. 

The last fire was started July 4, 1911 by a flash of lightning during a slight 
shower. It burned over from 200 to 300 acres and was under a constant 
watch for some two weeks. It was near the top of the Mountain, northeast of 
the village. 



CRIME 



This town has been unusually free from crime having but few cases to 
come before a Court, and so far as knoivn, only one capital crime and that 
committed by a transient foreigner. A partial list follows. 

William Griswold was arrested and served time in Keene jail about 1845 
for obtaining money from Elijah Holbrook under constraint. 

1906-7, Charles C. (Blake) Fitzgerald when about 16 years of age fired a 
building in edge of Alstead, then the Capt. Holbrook barns and lastly the vil- 
lage hotel barns and Francis F. Field's barn. A detective was employed, he 
was arrested and finally confessed after which he was sent to Concord but 
was released after a few months. There is a feeling, at least on the part of 
some, that the lad was forced by another party to commit the acts. 

Sept. 30, 1921, Warren P. Fisk, a wood-chopper boarding at F. E. Pomroy's 
at No. 227, assaulted William LeFluer an innocent young man working in 
the neighborhood. He was struck three blows on the head with a hammer by 
Fisk who left the state; subsequently was arrested in Vermont and is now 
serving a sentence in the prison at Concord. 

At the time of building the railroad 1846-47, a large gang of Irishmen were 
employed in cutting through the "summit" and numerous assaults as well as 
crime were committed among the men, but we have no details, nor do we know 
that they took place within our township. The state militia was finally called 
out and for one winter were stationed in barracks near the east end of the 
"cut." Several deaths and two or three murders took place — most of the 
burials were in the cemetery near the Town Farm, in Surry. 

The Samuel Meservey Case 

Probably nothing in the whole history of the town has created more gossip, 
suspicion and excitement than the McCurdy-Meservey controversy which was 
at its height in 1803-04, and is mentioned to this day by old residents. It was 
the means not only of driving McCurdy out of business, but out of town. 



Casualties, Fires, Crimes, Etc. 261 

Lieut. John McCurdy, a farmer, merchant and inn-keeper was living at No. 
12 and doing a prosperous business; the stage coach — passenger and freight — 
passed and put up at his tavern daily. During the fall of 1802 a Mr. Samuel 
Meservey, a seaman, reputed to have had considerable money came along and 
began work shaving shingles for Mr. McCurdy with whom he worked until 
the night of Dec. 24, 1802 when he suddenly disappeared, and soon after Mc- 
Curdy was accused of murdering him for his money. Tradition says he was 
buried in the cellar, in the South mill-pond, and even in the Lily pond on top 
of Surry Mountain. Two articles in his defense appeared in Keene Sentinel 
during 1803, from which Mr. McCurdy proves Meservey was seen after the 
above date in Lempster, N. H., and also in Concord, Mass. From what can 
now be learned, "suspicion" ran high and many believed a crime had been 
committed, yet no one was ever arrested, and we are inclined to give the 
accused the "benefit of the doubt." 



CHAPTER XIV 
REMINISCENCES OF SURRY AND KEENE 

The following letter written by Freeman Carpenter Watkins; born in 
Surry Mar. 29, 1811 who removed to Michigan with his father's family in 
April, 1835, was printed in Keene Sentinel in 1874, and covered a period of 
about forty years prior to that time: 

"Dear Sentinel: — Born and reared within sound of your church going 
bells, and having been a constant reader of the Sentinel for fifty years, 
my heart still turns with an irresistable impulse to that natal spot 
where it was ushered into existence. Forty years ago Surry was noted 
for its many hostelries. On the highland in the West part of the town 
was the Pollard Tavern (where Alonzo F. Wilbur now — 1920 — lives), 
famous for its New England rum and gin, where the Walpole Artillery 
and Rangers took the parting glass as they left the Walpole hills for 
their muster grounds in the beautiful valley of the Ashuelot. 

On the river road, first was the Inn of Peter Hayward, a lineal de- 
scendant of the first settler. Next, near the Center, was the house of 
Capt. Jonathan Robinson, Postmaster, a representative of one of the old 
reliable families. 

Next came the hotel of Capt. Thomas Humphrey, a burly salt-water 
sailor. At the North, almost within rifle shot of the Alstead line, Capt. 
Francis Holbrook entertained man and beast. He was a man of fine 
address and reputed to be the wealthiest man in the township. 

Isaiah Robbins was landlord of the old Harvey House. Robbins was 
a hearty fellow; drove a six-horse team between Boston and Bellows 
Falls; set a good table and was fortunate in having a wife of some ac- 
quirements. Here on Saturdays a set of roistering fellows were wont 
to congregate. John Tufts, George Baxter, Mason Watkins, Belding 
Dart and other kindred spirits, met to drink flip and toddy, and amuse 
themselves in pulling sticks, fisticuffs and other muscular exercises. 
Here also was the head-quarters of Abijah Benton, who taught dancing 
and etiquette to the rising generation. Where is the native of Surry 
who does not remember "Bige Benton's" dancing school? 

In stepping Durang's Hornpipe and beating the kettle drum, Benton 
was without a rival; in drinking and swearing, (sad to relate) he had 
no superior. 

At this period, Esq. David Shaw and Royal Watkins were the two lit- 
erary men of the township. Belonging to different political parties, 
they were the only ones that could draft a set of pertinent resolutions, 
and discharge the duties of secretary of a caucus or convention with 
propriety. They were both veteran school-masters. 

Reared in adjoining towns they sought and found their wives in the 
old pioneer families of Surry. Esq. Shaw gave to his country a large 
family of stalwart sons, and lovely daughters. He deceased a few years 
since at the advanced age of 84 years. The soil of New Hampshire 
rests lightly on his bosom. 



Reminiscences 263 

The other, with his family, sought their fortunes in the West. He 
is still living in Jackson Co., Michigan in his 86th year, with faculties 
unimpaired; he can solve a problem in mathematics or dance the High- 
land reel with the same ease and grace as he did 50 years ago. 

Rev. Perley Howe was the settled and resident minister; he was a 
graduate of Dartmouth college — a man of spotless life and liberal views; 
charitable to all, he won and retained the love and respect of his fellow 
townsmen. 

Norvell, Mich. 

January 1874. F. C. W." 

Inspired by the preceding letter, the following appeared in the Sentinel of 
March 5th, 1874, and was written by Mrs. Betsey (Monroe) Cadis of Charles- 
town, Mass. She was born in Surry July 21, 1800: 

REMINISCENCES OF SURRY AND KEENE. 

New Hampshire Sentinel, Keene, N. H., March 5, 1874. 

"Mr. Editor: — Some kind friend sent us a recent number of the 
SENTINEL containing a letter written by a former resident of Surry,* 
in which he gives interesting reminiscences of events that occurred in 
Surry and Keene forty years ago. Being a native of Surry myself, and 
a resident of the place at that and an earlier period, my recollection ex- 
tends back more than sixty-five years; and those jottings or records by 
your correspondent served to open the store-house of my memory, from 
which issued many old, familiar faces and forgotten incidents of the 
past. From the mass of material thus presented it will be my endeavor 
to select such as will be of some interest to the general reader as well as 
to those of Surry, and her sons, daughters and descendants everywhere. 

The Public Conveyance 

"From Boston to Surry, some fifty years ago and earlier, was by 
stage-coach — entering Keene at the southern extremity and passing 
through the entire length (nearly a mile) of the splendid avenue, or 
Main street. Keene being the birth-place of my beloved mother, filial 
love and respect suggests at least a passing notice of her kindred there, 
though distant. Deacon Fisher of "Ash Swamp," so-called, Mr. Colony 
(Josiah, I think) the clothier, and the Messrs. Briggs, cabinet makers, 
were all first cousins of my mother. Descendants are probably still liv- 
ing there. Among the prominent merchant firms of that period with 
whom we traded were the Messrs. Hall Brothers, Appleton & Elliot, and 
Samuel Gerould on the West side of the street, and Messrs. Lamson and 
Perry on the East side. There were others not so well remembered. 
Good "Uncle Bijah" (Abijah) Kingsbury, shoe dealer, was too well 
known to be forgotten — many pleasant incidents concerning him are re- 
membered. Miss Fisk, the beloved and highly respected principal of 
the Young Ladies' Seminary is particularly remembered; also Doctors 
Twitchell and Douseman. There wei'e many other gentlemen, as well as 



''See the preceding letter hy F. C. W. 



264 



History of Surry 



ladies, favorably known and pleasantly remembered as friends of our 
family, then residents of Keene. But we must hasten on to our destina- 
tion — Surry. Before introducing any of its inhabitants, let us take 

A Topographical View of the Town Itself. 

"Probably there are few towns in or out of New England, of similar 
dimensions, (five miles in length, and less in breadth), that surpass or 
even rival Surry in romantic location and picturesque scenery of hill 
and vale — comparing favorably with the wildest scenery of the Old 
World. 

Bounded 

"The entire length on the East by "Surry Mountain," on the North by 
the famed "Alstead Hills," on the West by a range and pile of hills, 




Surry Mountain 



South by the thrifty and beautiful town of Keene, the peculiar form of 
the arable portion suggests that of a "trough with one end knocked 
cut," as a wag facetiously remarked. 

The River 

"At the base of the mountain, and running the whole length of it and 
through Keene, is the well-known, picturesque, serpentine little river, 
Ashuelot — lively here, placid there, and beautiful everywhere in sum- 
mer; but in Spring-time, when the sun gives the mountain a sweat, the 
melting snow sometimes suddenly causes a freshet. The river then be- 
came grand in its proportions and erratic in its movements, undermin- 
ing trees, flooding the lowlands and strewing them with blocks of ice, 
drift-wood, gravel and sand, to the dismay and discomfiture of the 
farmers and to the injury of acres of grass land. 



Reminiscences 



265 



An Incident 

"Of one of these Spring floods (over sixty years since) was so deeply 
impressed on my mind that it comes to me at this time with wonderful 
vividness. A party of lads and lasses, invited to a "sugaring-off" in 
the maple grove, had assembled at the timber-bridge crossing; a portion 
of the party had passed over in safety; five others, more timid, (three 
lads and two girls), and linked together in single file, had stepped upon 
the end plank, when a small dog, running to meet them, was sportively 
seized by the fore-man and thrown into the river. The action caused a 
movement of the plank, and all were dropped into the river. Four read- 
ily escaped, more wet than hurt, while the fifth (the dog-seizer) was 
carried down stream by the swift current, and being no swimmer, would 
have drowned had he not caught hold of a friendly shrub that hung over 
and into the water, to which he clung until rescued. 

The Mountain Lily. Pond 

"As described by an explorer, 'was the result of remarkable freaks 
of nature,' and is singularly beautiful, in its surroundings and its lo- 
cation. During portions of the year it furnishes water for a series of 
zig-zag cascades, reaching from the top of the mountain to the river at 




Lily Pond 



its base. The growth of trees around (and seemingly nourished by it) 
was very dense. Several years ago a whirlwind drove through and up- 
rooted a large number of them, thus adding another interesting and in- 
structive feature to the place. A person standing by the church or the 
old Robinson (now Warren Carpenter's) tavern and looking due East 
at the summit of the lofty mountain, would never suppose the topmost 



266 History of Surry 

01' highest trees* surrounded an acre, more or less, of deep water. Yet, 
such a pond is there, and the urchins of the town believed it fathomless. 
Many a weird story have the juveniles heard of day and night adven- 
tures on and about this strange, hermit-like pond. Some have heard of 
the 

Mine On the Mountain Side 

"Between the pond and the river, which is hardly worth mentioning. 
It has the merit of not having cost much. A fall to the bottom of it 
would be no serious matter,§ for it is almost as shallow as some of the 
mines on paper, where the stock-holders (not the mines) have been 
blasted. 

The Mountain Fires 

Always exciting, have sometimes been awfully grand; especially so 
at one time when hundreds of acres were burning over on the loftiest 
Eastern range. At night the burning of the tall pines and hemlocks, 
scattered among other trees along the sides or upon the summit, in bold 
relief against the sky, resembled church spires burning and falling — 
some of them shooting down the granite ledges and making an impres- 
sion of sublimity never to be forgotten by those who saw it. Less than 
two miles North of the pond, on the same mountain range, stands 

"Bald Mountain" 

"A high, precipitous, rocky formation, situated hack of the "Baxter 
homestead," (more recently Esq. Shaw's) on the Gilsum road. Though 
seemingly perpendicular as seen from the "turnpike," yet on the East- 
ern side it is comparatively of easy ascent. With the exception of a 
few stinted shrubs, the summit was (over sixty years ago) almost des- 
titute of soil and vegetation. Here this "Sentinel Rock" (like its pro- 
totype of that name in California) has stood for ages, watching as it 
were, the mutual approaching of the Eastern mountain and Western 
hills, till at the Northern lines, or a short distance beyond, (if I mistake 
not) they meet and lovingly greet each other. Doubtless there are 
other lesser freaks of nature observable on the Western hills, of which 
I am not so well informed, so we will hasten Southerly to within a half 
mile of the town line, and rest awhile on 

"Dinah's Rock" 

So called because here our only Indian representative (Dinah Arm- 
strong) was wont to sit and rest in her rambles, from her lone home 
in the South-western part, to the middle of the town, making friendly 
calls on each family, receiving a kindly welcome, a substantial meal, 
and a cup of tea, and telling the fortunes (in her comical way) of many 
a merry, light-hearted lad and lass. This large, flat rock stands close to 
the road-side, and was a favorite resort of the youth of the vicinity, 
where they chatted and sung to their hearts' content. Many a weary 
pedestrian has accepted its friendly and tempting offer of rest in the 



*NOTE — The Lily pond is in the "sag" on the mountain. 

§This was hefore the days of the Granite State Gold & Silver Mining Co. 



Reminiscences 267 

past, and for ages to come will the weai-y traveller avail himself of the 
proffered rest on "Dinah's Rock." A short distance further South is 
pointed out the route of a veritable 

Black Bear 

While on his way from the river, through fields, over fences and 
across the road at the fork, and on, to the Western hills. His passage 
through our section (the old Dr. Monroe's) was unhonored and unim- 
peded. Being, probably, the last visit of a free native bruin to the 
town, I thought the occurence should not be overlooked, as it was not 
forgotten. A few rods farther, to the right from the "fork," in the 
grove on the hill-side, is a large 

Heavy Rock 

So nicely poised on a much smaller rock, that it has the appearance 
of being just on the point of falling; and many times stalwart men and 
boys have assembled there on Fourths of July to have a jolification in 
throwing that venerable fixture from its elevation down the hill by 
their united strength — but in vain; and for aught I know it still remains 
where nature placed it. Before paying our respects to the native-born 

Inhabitants, 

It may be well to state that some fifty years ago (perhaps later) 
there was not a "foreigner" in the town, and but one colored person, 
(the Indian woman, Dinah,) but some ten or fifteen years before, there 
were three families by the name of McCurdy. The parents and their 
two sons were native of (the North of) Ireland. One son, certainly, 
married an American girl, and had several children. This son lived on 
the Page (now Edmund Woodward — 1874) farm, and "kept tavern." 
The aged parents occupied a small house near by. Little was known of 
their antecedents, but it was known that the father was a very passion- 
ate man from the fact that once, in a rage, he knocked down his hired 
man, (Job Stone,) and seeing him apparently lifeless he anxiously in- 
quired, "Job, are ye dead? Speak if you be!" while his affrighted wife 
said, "Ye will have to flee the counthry again." The other son lived 
near Dinah's Rock, on the Willard Smith farm. All left Surry over 
fifty years ago. Of other inhabitants — on the extreme Northern limits 
of the town resided Esq. Hills, one of nature's noblemen. He had two 
worthy sons, and one daughter. One noticeable feature of the location 
was, that his fine house was in Surry and his barn (just beyond) was 
in Alstead. Of the medical fraternity. Dr. Philip Monroe was the pio- 
neer resident physician. Two of the sons, the oldest and youngest, 
were eminent physicians and surgeons in Maine. The originator and 
practitioner of the "Botanic system" of healing. Dr. Samuel Thompson, 
was a resident of Surry many years, but subsequently located at Bos- 
ton, where he had an extensive and successful practice until his death. 
He had three or four sons; all migrated West and became eminent bot- 
anic physicians in their respective localities. Dr. John Thompson, the 
youngest, settled in Albany, N. Y., and for a time edited and published 



268 History of Surry 

the BOTANIC WATCHMAN. Becoming opulent, he presented his na- 
tive town, Surry, with a bell for the church. The acceptance and raising 
of the bell was the occasion of a large gathering and public demonstra- 
tion of joy by the inhabitants. An oration was delivered by Jonathan 
Robinson, Jr., Esq., (now — 1874 — a resident of Keene), and a report of 
the memorable event was duly published in the SENTINEL of that 
period. Surry can lay claim to another Editor, in the person of Mr. 
Asahel Harvey, Jr., the only son of our worthy town clerk. He served 
his apprenticeship in the Sentinel office, Keene, and afterward located 
and published a weekly paper in Canandaigua, N. Y. 

Surry contained many lovers of music, and some excellent singers. 
Among the former were our venerable pastor (Rev. Perley Howe) and 
David Shaw, Esq. Neither made any pretension to musical talent, but 
encouraged it in others. Esq. Shaw's lovely daughters were indeed 
sweet singers. A pleasant event comes to my mind: On the writer's 
sixteenth birth-day, on a Sunday in July, a stranger musical minister 
and several gentlemen singers from Keene, among whom was the late 
Mr. J. Lamson, happened to be at the church and took part in the sing- 
ing. On leaving the church, Mr. L. remarked to those around him, "If 
you want to hear better music than that, you must go out of this world 
for it." He, and many other participants in the exercises of that day 
have "passed on" to find the better music. 

"This opening of "memory's store-house" and giving reins to imagin- 
ation on a mental trip to Surry has caused me to so mingle with the 
pleasant past that for the time being I had forgotten that I had passed 
the allotted time of "three score years and ten." 

Yours respectfully, B. C. 

Charlestown, Mass., Feb. 1874." 



NOTE — The author of this history has made three or four slight additions to the original 
paper which are given in parentheses. 

Mrs. Cadis concludes her reminiscences with the following: 

POEM 
"THE LEAVE-TAKING." 

"These pleasant tales, of hills and glens, 

Described in such a hurry, 
I dedicate to former friends. 

Inhabitants of Surry. 

And trust no one will feel aggrieved, 

Or deem me false or slurry, 
If they'er included and preceived 

In this pen-sketch of Surry. 

When memory brings dear forms to view, 
My eyes are rather blurry; 



Reminiscences 269 

Of many friends, but very few 
Are dwelling, now in Surry. 

I've learned to see things "for the best," 

And not to fret or worry. 
Although this form, when laid to rest, 

Will be elsewhere than Surry. 

Now, "fare-thee-well," natal town — 

Thine errors let us bury. 
And trust thy future, (of renown,) 

Will be for good, to Surry. 

Charlestown, Mass., February 1874. B. C." 



The following is a partial copy of an article written by Francis F. Field 
and published in the New Hampshire Sentinel, May 8, 1897: 

AN OLD BURIAL YARD 

In going from Keene to Surry, when beyond the stone bridge looking 
north over the graceful elms which line the Ashuelot, can be seen, 
several miles away, a broad pasture sloping toward us, its highest point 
a broken ledge, which stands in peaceful contrast between the earth and 
sky. In summer this slope lies warm in the sunlight and in winter its 
snows glow with a purer light than that of the lower hills. It is the 
south end of Surry mountain and is called the pinnacle. 

A near view would show that here the mountain leaves its regular 
curve and pushes the ledge boldly out toward Surry valley, its bare 
breast exposed to all the moods of the western sky. This ledge is a hun- 
dred feet or more in height, the upper part conglomerate, the sides 
coarse quartz and mica, blackened in places with scale moss, the crypto- 
gamia on rocks of the higher hills. It is the watch-tower of the Ashue- 
lot valley. From its top can be traced the winding ways of the river 
from the upper end of Surry through Keene into Swanzey. Nearly 
every, if not every house in the first mentioned town can be seen. In 
the southeast is Monadnock, the line of its western decline pointing 
toward Keene; to the right of the city the Ash Swamp meadows, the 
rails of the Fitchburg railroad * track drawn through them like a 
silver wix'e; still farther on and up amidst the haze, Saddleback (or 
Stratton mountain in Vermont), one of the highest of the Green moun- 
tains; in the west and north of the hills of Walpole and Alstead, with 
their many miles of forest and clearing. 

From this ledge the mountain slopes gently toward the east, a mile or 
less, meeting a smaller hill, and with a similar decline on the south 
runs into the low lands in Keene. It is mostly an open field, a deep glen 
cutting in north and south through the middle. Through this glen, dark 
with pines which grow upon its sides, runs the Sturtevant brook, mak- 



*Originally this was the Cheshire railroad, then Fitchburg and now the Fitchburg 
division of the Boston & Maine railroad system. 



270 History of Surry 

ing just before entering the meadows far below a beautiful cascade 
named by a local poet Glen Ellen. Over the glen east of the pinnacle 
is an old graveyard. The last burial of which any stone makes record 
is in the year 1799. 

The yard is in a most picturesque slope in the open field which is used 
for a pasture. All traces of any fence which there may have been is 
gone. There are but eight headstones, some natural slabs and others 
black slate with winged heads in the arch which have inscriptions, and 
of these but two are standing. The others are lying upon the ground, 
some of them broken into several pieces. The oldest death recorded here 
is 64 years. The yard is in Gilsum not many rods from the Keene line. 
Mrs. Ebenezer Kilburn was the first person who died in that town; she 
was but twenty years old (died June ye 25th 1765), a fair, delicate girl, 
who came from one of the wealthy families of Connecticut. An epitaph 
on one of the two stones still standing dwelt in our minds as we walked 
home in the cool winter twilight : "Let me not forgotten lie." It seemed 
like the last appeal to care for this place before it sinks forever into 
the deep of night. Our fore-father's perhaps belong to us all. We are 
proud to call all like them our ancestors, and anything which we can do 
to preserve the record of their bold and daring lives, and make lasting 
the place where they lie, will ennoble us, and we shall be entitld in fu- 
ture years to the respect from the life which is to be. We owe to such 
as they the blessings comforts and privileges which we so much enjoy 
now. "A great nation pays reverence to its ancestors" and a small sum 
would reset those stones and build a permanent wall around this yard. 

A tender romance hangs around this spot, of a young bride coming 
hei"e to break the stillness of the forest with her voice. The birds were 
singing then their love songs to her responsive heart. She saw the for- 
est turn from green to gold and purple, arid then the long winter wil- 
derness of glittering trees. When the birds came again and sang their 
songs she gave her life to her child, and one June day, when all the air 
was sweet with the scent of wild flowers, and the bell notes of the moun- 
tain brook, floated away in the space of heaven, they made her grave 
near the rock where the wild columbine grows, and it was the first 
among all these hills ever gilded by morning sunrise. 

Those who hold the records of the ecclesiastical history in the town, 
who still read from the same book, the leaves worn thin by hands which 
held it, tenderly, yet with a more unyielding clasp than now, is it any- 
thing to them that the stones which marked the resting place of their 
first disciple of Christ lies broken on the ground, the dull face in its 
rounded arch looking stupidly up to the white clouds in the sky. 

Turning to Keene, that fair city, "The Gem" not only of "the Ashue- 
lot" but of the state as she reclines so gracefully on her crystal meadows, 
tossing back with some degree of luxury and pride the sunbeams from 
her western windows, would she be indifferent of those who helped to lay 
her foundation? Graceful in her to throw around this spot a wall of 
protection and again erect those monuments with a new consecration; 
not with sobs, as then, from lips grown pale with long suffering; not 
with tears, as then, from hearts already faint with anguish; but to per- 
petuate nobleness, patriotism and valor; and in gratitude that, because 



Reminiscences 271 

of those who lie there — their once strong arms folded over their breasts 
— thousands have since lifted their hearts with joy in happy homes 
beside their willowy stream. 



REMINISCENCES AND ANECDOTES 

Formerly there was a sizable boulder on top of Bald hill. In 1843 some of 
the young men thought it a good way to celebrate the 4th of July by rolling it 
down the hill. Jonathan Harvey, Sr. who lived near the foot fearing it might 
hit his buildings in its flight, remonstrated, but his pleadings were of no 
avail. So he hired a man to go up and drill and split the stone hoping thus to 
deter the boys from their purpose. But the boys plans wei'e made and they 
went up with levers and by strenuous labor they succeeded; the rock rolled 
down into a gutter where it still remains while the twenty or more partici- 
pants were jubilant. 

About 1855 while the County Supt. of schools was visiting school in a 
neighboring town during the devotional exercises, a lad came to the passage, 
"Is there no balm in Gilead? is there no physician there?" He read it thus: 
"Is there no barn in Gilsum? is there no physic there?" 

One day as the Parson was passing a house a demented woman excitedly 
cried out, "Mr. Howe — Mr. Howe you must look out, I saw a black-eyed-hawk 
after your Phebe bird the other day." The good parson chuckled over the 
joke. Not long after the marriage of Phebe Howe and Dr. John Petts took 
place. 

One town meeting day Augustus Johnson got up and said "I saw a man 
this morning who said if I would vote his ticket, he would take me to the 
meeting give me a good dinner and take me home again at night. I told that 
man I COULD WALK, and the first two letters in that man's name is 
GEORGE W. HOLBROOK." 

The teacher at the south end school sent a small boy out one day to get a 
stick for a whipping. He soon returned with a dry mullen stock while the 
teacher having a fine sense of humor sent him to his seat unpunished. 

A man from Walpole taught the village school during the winter of 1856 
and during one noon hour the big boys filled the stove full of wood then opened 
the draft. The heat set the woodwork afire and was not put out until an 
abundance of water had been thrown over head which drenched the room 
while the scholars were excused for the balance of that day. On another oc- 
casion the boys took levers and jacked the south side of the school-house up 
nearly two feet where it remained until the next day. 

Some of the rough element got a young man from the north-west part of 
the town out one night on some pretext, held him in captivity an hour or so 
then set him at liberty. As the lad approached his home he bawled out, "Get 
up father!; rout out Hannah!; tar'n-feather'd all over by the Proctor boys; 
h — Is to pay." 

The old militia company held an annual muster in Surry until about 1848. 
The organization had got into a demoralized condition in this part of the 



272 History of Surry 

state before it finally ceased; gambling, vice and rowdyism prevailed. Many 
a respected citizen had "a spree" on muster-day. Old Gus at- 

tended and got dead drunk one time, so four men got a lumber wagon and 
carted him home. As they dumped him on his kitchen floor he revived and 
called out, "Sal, Sal, have you got some rum to treat the bearers?" On an- 
other occasion an industrious citizen who never let a nickel slip through his 
fingers returned from a muster in a dazed condition. His wife met him at the 
door and exclaimed, "Why, Ed. what does this mean?" "Oh don't mind, it 
didn't cost a cent," was his reply. 

The following item appeared in Keene Sentinel July 1895. "Excavations 
have recently been made on Mine, or Surry hill near the George L. Britton 
place to see what could be found of certain tools which tradition says were left 
there by the Spaniards who were digging for gold or silver" prior to the 
Revolutionary war. Several tools were "found"? — an axe, gun, trap, sledge 
hammer, drills, etc. all in a rusty condition, and all of which had been placed 
there only a few days previous by some of the boys as a joke on William P. 
Mason. 

While Holland Stevens was running the mill at south part of the town 
some of the school boys stumped him to a race on the mill pond. Holland took 
out his skates and with considerable difficulty finally reached the upper end 
of the pond. When all was ready the boys started, Holland followed on for a 
few rods, then went by the lads like a shot, whirling, he skated backward 
reaching the goal in the lead amid the chagrin of the boys. 

About 1810 two Surry men were expecting an "heir," their neighbor, Ben- 
jamin Merrifield promised a lamb to the first arrival. The first received the 
honor of being named "Benjamin Merrifield Britton" while the latter was 
christened just, "Benjamin Britton." When Benjamin Merrifield Britton was 
four years he went and claimed his prize and from that time until he was 
over 70 years of age he was never without one or more sheep. A most re- 
markable coincident the men died the same day — Oct. 29, 1891. 

An article in the Town Warrant one year was to see "what action the town 
will take regarding the ice trouble on Gilsum road." A young man near the 
village placed the letter "L" before the word "ice" without being apprehended. 

Rev. Perley Howe when examining school one day asked a boy if he could 
tell him how far he had got in his reading. "Yes sir, to a page beyond God." 
"Ah, my boy, there is where a great many of us have got." 

One fall old uncle David and his son Henry attended a muster and like 
many others got too much toddy. On arriving home at dusk David fell from 
the wagon, injuring his head. Henry ran for the camphor and sopped on a 
lot to revive his father, all the time asking if he was much hurt? They dis- 
covered upon entering the house that the bottle contained blue ink. This 
was too good, and one of the girls told it to a friend and soon after old Dr. 
Hammond of Gilsum is said to have written a poem which was printed in a 
local paper, much to the disgust of uncle David. 

THE WHIPPING POST 

In ye olden times Surry, like most other towns, had her whipping post. We 
are told that it stood near the road, No. 35. One dark night three of the 



Reminiscences 273 

young men of the town took the Post and dropped it into a deep well that was 
near. It was some time before its hiding place was discovered, meanwhile 
the culprits had repented their rash act, and fearing that they might be found 
out and have to pay the penalty at the recovered Post, left town for a few 
months, till Surry skies were once more sei'ene. 

TURTLE AND VEAL 

Samuel Poole did not like and would not eat turtle, and so Bill Kingsbury 
having caught a good fat one, invited Poole down to help him out on a job. 
The "job" took the forenoon and included the dinner. Mr. Turtle was cooked 
in the best of order, and Poole took hold of it and wanted several orders filled. 
This was too good to keep, and Brad Britton, an old hector, took much de- 
light in the village store telling how Poole, with turtle claws hanging out of 
the corners of his mouth, kept calling for more "veal." 

A SPLASH IN A PUDDLE 

A citizen fi'om the north end of the town came one evening to the village 
tavern on horseback, and after passing some time at the "bar" was ready to 
return. Some of the big boys being ready to assist him, got his horse and 
saddle ready, while he was taking one more swig. The saddle was placed in 
position, but not buckled on; from the back part a rope some 15 feet long was 
attached to the shed. The rider was helped on gently, the horse was given a 
switch, and — all were "off" — the rider landing with a splash in a large mud 
puddle, which sobered him up and he was able to ride home without further 
"assistance." 

THE BIBLE DISPUTE 

Holland Stevens once when talking with Jonathan R. Field said the Bible 
was a contradictoiy book; there is a passage which reads, "If sinners entice 
thee, consent thou." A strong dispute resulted in the Bible being brought 
forth, from which Holland read the verse and closed the book with a bang. 
It was demanded that he shoiv the passage and while Holland was looking 
for it, said in an injured tone that he was not used to having his veracity 
questions. "There it is, now Jock don't read too far." But Jonathan calmly 
and vigorously read the passage through, "If sinners entice thee, consent thou 
not." (Prov. 1:10). Holland still triumphant persisted he had read "too 
far." In religious belief he was a Spiritualist, and is said, took delight ridi- 
culing certain passages in the Bible. 

WALKED WHILE ASLEEP 

One evening when Benjamin M. Britton was about 12 years of age his 
father left him to watch his coal-pit for a short time; soon after he fell asleep 
and walked to the house of Seth Carpenter (at No. 225). Walked into the 
kitchen and took a chair and began answering questions in a bewildered man- 
ner. Finally he was given an apple and when he took the first bite he awoke 
and much to his surprise found he had traveled nearly half a mile. 



18 



274 History of Surry 

TOLL-GATE 

The old toll gate at No. 98-99 until after 1840 extended over the highway 
in which a gate was raised and lowered at will. One day a loaded team en- 
tered and while paying the toll two girls entered and inquired the price for 
"two men and a horse," upon being informed one with a twinkle in her eye 
said, "well we are two gals and an old mare" — "go-on-dolly!" 



CHAPTER XV. 

CELLAR-HOLES, HOUSE-SITES, DWELLINGS, MILLS, SHOPS AND 
PLACES OF HISTORICAL INTEREST 

The first abode of most of the early settlers of this town was the typical 
log cabin; when this gave place to a more comfortable dwelling it frequently 
happened that the first site was obliterated and cannot now be located. That 
part of Surry which was taken from Gilsum was "lotted" and "ranged"; a 
copy of the survey is existent and the land records in Cheshire county Regis- 
ter of Deeds office in Keene have made possible fairly accurate statement in 
regard cellar-holes, building-sites and occupants. 

With the Westmoreland Leg, part of Surry we are less fortunate. The 
early Proprietors records containing the lots and ranges are not known to 
exist and the Range Table is said to have been destroyed. This has meant 
many months' work at the Register of Deeds office to even attempt to learn 
the early settlers, and as it was here that Peter and William Hayward, John 
Johnson, Charles Rice, Joseph Whitney, William Barron and possibly others 
of our first settlers lived it is with keen disappointment that we are unable to 
discover more documentary evidence in regard to this part of the town. 

This chapter takes up present and former residences, house sites, mills, 
shops and historical data. So far as known every dwelling and house site, 
except wood choppers' camps, has been mentioned. 

The numbers refer to the map which accompanies this volume, an enlarge- 
ment from Smith & Morley's map of Cheshire County, 1858, with many addi- 
tions. This has been made especially for this work and while not accurate in 
every detail, we believe it sufficient for all practical purposes. The map alone 
representing much labor and research, is by Mr. Samuel Wadsworth and the 
author; though not absolutely necessary we believe it merits approval and will 
add greatly to the value of the history. 

ABBREVIATIONS 

L.=lot. Sull His. = Sullivan History. 

R.=range. n f r.=no further record. 

S.=Surry, q v.=which see. 

£=English pound. 1842/3=about that time. 

R. of D.=Register of Deeds. 1842-48=from 1842 until 1848. 

G. H,=Gilsum History. ?=exact date unknown. 



RESIDENCES 

Peter Hayward settled on this farm between 1753 and 1762; he built his 
cabin (near No. 1^/^ on map) in which he lived until about 1764 when 
he erected about 20 rods nearer Keene line the substantial dwelling now 
standing at No. 1, and occupied by Samuel L. Newton. The house is 
about 40 feet square, has a massive chimney and contains seven fire- 



276 



History of Surry 




Residences 277 

places. Mr. Hay ward opened a tavern here in 1765. Sept. 11, 1780 he 
sold his 364 acre farm and buildings to his "living son" Nathan Hay- 
ward who deeded the property back within a few years, then Peter con- 
veyed the place to his sons, Elias and Calvin. Nov. 3, 1798 Calvin bought 
out his brother's interest and opened a tavern here, 1804. After Cal- 
vin's d. his son Peter took over the property and lived here until about 
1854, when he and Roxana, his wife, sold to Ephraim F. Towns of Keene. 
Jonathan R. Field was here from Apr. 1, 1855 until 1858 at which time 
the property contained 225 acres and sold for $3500.00. William T. 
Pierce came 1858 and his heirs sold 1863 to Lewis Newton. The latter 
sold to his son, Ephraim B. Newton, Oct. 18, 1872 and Jan. 1, 1900 the 
present owner, Samuel L. Newton, bought the farm. There was a toll- 
gate near here about 1800 and a cider mill years ago. 

John Levitt sold L. 2; R. 1 No. 43 under the mountain to Woolston Brock- 
way, Brockway to Nat'l Peck, 1768. Peck to Sam'l McCurdy 1772, who 
sold to James McCurdy 1787, who settled here, about 1788. He built a 
log dwelling where a cider mill later was erected (see C. M. map). In 
1806 William Thompson lived here, "and the house had the name of be- 
ing haunted. It was, however, discovered to be only through the tricks of 
some of his roguish boys." — G. H. In 1814, Robert and Thomas Austin 
purchased the property and lived in the log house while erecting a large 
substantial dwelling a few rods to the south in 1816. This house which 
stood until 1876 (?) was one story, stood facing the west and contained 
a huge stone chimney, with fireplace. Mr. Austin by opening doors 
could drive his oxen and sled of wood into the kitchen, roll a log into 
the fireplace and go out at the other end. About 1830 he reduced and 
made the chimney "up-to-date" so as to take a log only four foot long, 
but as time went on, 1840 (?), he removed and rebuilt a modern chim- 
ney and put in a cook stove. The change to modernism was not wholly 
satisfactory; Mr. Austin often said, "I am tired and sick of cutting up 
trundle bed wood" and Mrs. Austin, so familiar with the old crane hook 
and skillet said the "stove could not and would not work." There is 
little doubt but their discomforts were shared by most others at one 
time or other. The Austins built a cider mill in the bank which was in 
use till 1845 (?), the site of which can still be seen, and a few feet 
east of the house was the old well, still seen, where dangled for many 
years the "old oaken bucket." The "boys bed-room" was built in the 
space taken by the old big chimney. The brothers both lived here sev- 
eral years, when Robert removed to Walpole and finally to Gilsum. 
Thomas remained till 1853 when he went to No. 146, thence to Keene 
where he died. Jonathan Mansfield here, 1853-Apr. 1854. Elias H. 
Heath, a wood chopper, about one year, and possibly some other chop- 
pers for short periods, when the buildings went to decay and the house 
was torn down and removed by J. D. and H. H. Carter about 1876. 

Tradition says there was an old brick yard here, now marked by a sag 
in the ground, filled by brushwood. When and by whom brick were 
made is unknown, nor have we knowledge of brick being made in any 
other place in town, unless possibly at the old "clay-pit" in the bank 
east of No. 14; see map. With the number of brick used in chimneys 



278 History of Surry 

prior to 1825, it certainly would appear that brick-yards were in this 
vicinity and did a flourishing business. 

4. Holland Stevens removed the top story of his mill (No. 5) and built a 

small one-story dwelling here about 18G2. Since that time extensive 
repairs have been made. Many have owned and occupied this place, 
some of whom were: Charles A. Britton, 1862; John Lang. Britton, 
1863; Raymond Brockway, 1867-72; Walter R, Scripture, 1872-74. John 
H. Rogers bought property Dec. 13, 1874 and owned or lived here some 
17 years. He built the top story. Freeman R. Huntley, Lewis Newton, 
Noah Allen (1884 and others here. Ernest W. Carpenter, 1890 (?); 
William H. Wright, 1895; Henry A. Weatherhead, Clarence E. Knapp, 
Weston E. Wilbur, 1911-'18; John P. Sweeney till Apr. 1921; a Mr. 
Dodge and Ernest W. Carpenter again Apr. 1922. For about 60 years 
this place was connected with the mill property. Augustus M. Cole 
lived here after the fire at No. 11, until Sept. 1, 1923. 

5. South saw-mill. William Hayward is believed to have built the first mill 

on this spot, which was standing at the time of his death, 1785, when it 
fell to his widow, Sarah and son, Sarel. In 1801, Sarel sold to Maj. 
Nathan Hayward who took his son Nathan, Jr., into partnership in 1817. 
Apr. 6, 1821, Eliphaz Field bought property and sold to Holland Stevens, 
Dec. 3, 1845, "land and an old saw mill" for $125.00. People now living 
remember the mill at that time; one story high, old and in a dilapidated 
condition, though probably the second, if not the third mill on that site. 
Holland soon built a new mill, two story high, on the top floor was a 
small tenement where he lived and kept "bachelor's hall." He was a 
natural born mechanic and each winter his mill-yard was well stocked 
with logs which kept the old "up-and-down-saw" busy during the spring 
months. A wooden water wheel of the "under-shot" type furnished 
power for both the log saw, bench-saws, etc. Holland leased the prop- 
erty to the Day Brothers, Samuel and Danforth, about 1855, one lived 
in the mill and the other at No. 7. A Mr. Butterfield, also rented the 
property about that time, and perhaps there were others. The Days 
did a good business, carriage building and wood-work; one contract 
was building an omnibus for a liveryman in Keene. This took place on 
the top story in the front end of the mill and in order to remove the 
body when finished, they took out one side of the mill. Holland sold Oct. 
9, 1867, to Raymond Brockway who sold to Walter R. Scripture, Mar. 
7, 1872. Dec. 13, 1874, John H. Rogers bought property and kept it till 
he sold to Ernest W. Carpenter, Mar. 10, 1891. Ernest soon tore the 
mill down which Holland erected 1846, and on its site built a new one 
which stood till Dec. 1920 when this was taken down and the lumber 
removed to Keene. Frank D. W. Carpenter took a half interest in this 
mill, 1896, and in 1900 they sold to Henry A. Weatherhead who put in 
an iron water wheel, a portable grist mill, and did a small business 
sawing and grinding, until he sold out, 1909, after which the mill stood 
idle. In 1909, Willard E. Wilbur purchased mill property and pond 
and annexed same to his summer home, No. 7. 

6. In 1882, Frank E. Ellis built the cider mill which is still standing. The 

mill was in operation each year until 1918; a horse was used on a tread 
mill to furnish power for grinding the apples. 



Residences 279 

7. The first building erected here was by Jonathan R. Field, about 1840; it 

was a small one story house painted I'ed, and since 1860 extensive re- 
pairs and additions have been made by the various owners. Mr, Field 
lived here and assisted his father in his old age who lived at No. 8. 
Henry T. Ellis came here 1854 (?) and later built the 2d story. Dan- 
forth Day lived here a short time; others were: Hiram P. Bigelow, 
Mason A. Carpenter, Frank E. Ellis several years and made repairs; 
Willard Shaw, M. D. Carpenter, Francis F. Field, Lewis Dwight Darl- 
ing, David Y. Kenion, who met death by an accident in the yard; 
Charles S. Payne who sold to Willard E. Wilbur, the present owner, 
Nov. 8, 1909, since occupied as a summer home. 

8. William Hayward settled here prior to 1763; Feb. 14, 1764, he exchanged 

some of his land with Peter Hayward. He died, 1785, in the 49th year 
of his age at which time he left 320 acres of land; a dwelling house, 
barn, saw mill, new cider mill and an orchard. Value £713-12s. The 
estate was divided between his heirs; his widow, Sarah and son Sarel 
appear to have received the two mills, a portion of the farm and the 
house was divided with other children. The present house he erected 
prior to 1785, but just when no one probably will ever know. William 
was living here when the Great road was surveyed, 1772, but possibly in 
an earlier dwelling; doubtless Mr, Ellis' house was built between 1770 
and 1780. Major Nathan Hayward bought the property Dec. 15, 1801; 
in 1816 he sold an interest to his son, Nathan, Jr. Apr. 6, 1821, Eliphaz 
Field bought the property and moved here from No. 102 and after his 
death, his son-in-law, Henry T. Ellis owned the farm and after his 
death in 1895 it fell to his son, Frank E. Ellis, the present owner. When 
built, the front of the house was on the north side, facing the Great 
road and the old "front door" still remains. The new road was built 
between Mr. Ellis' house and barn and Nigger hollow, 1806, Henry T. 
Ellis built the present ell, 1879 (?), in the top story is a hall formerly 
used for dances. Two or three rods south of the ell where two maple 
trees now stand was where the "new cider mill" stood, until about 1840. 

9. Between F. E. Ellis' barn and the Wilbur Road is a large rock, near which 

stood a school house between 1798 and 1834/35. From some of the 
early records, it appears a school house stood on or near this spot which 
was destroyed by fire in 1797/98. The late William H. Woodward at- 
tended school here about 1834. 

10. A new school house, 21 x 26 ft. was erected here, 1835, Edmund Wood- 

ward gave the land so long as used for school purposes. This building 
was in use until about 1890, after which it was unoccupied. March, 
1915, the town sold the old building at public auction and Frank E. 
Ellis bid it off for $40.00, soon after moving it near his barn for a car- 
riage house where it now stands. 

11. Edmund Woodward built this house, 1849, using material from his old 

house. No. 12. Christopher Fuller of Westmoreland was boss-carpen- 
ter; the barns are understood to have been built by the McCurdy's. 
Mr. Woodward lived here till his death, 1892, caused by a fall. Since 
that time this farm has been in a whirlwind of ownership. Merrill D. 



280 



History of Surry 



12. 



& Bertha A. Carpenter, 18!)8; Albert E. Flagg lived here; Rodney E. 
Fisher; Hermon Anderson, 1904; Charles P. Jefts; John A. Wheeler, 
1915; Amos F. Brown, 1917-18; Henry L. Phillips, 1918-20; John But- 
ler, 1921; William S. Morine April 1921-1922. Augustus M. Cole and 
wife also lived with Mr. Morine. The buildings were destroyed by fire 
Apr. 1, 1923. 

John Johnson settled here about 1762; erected a cabin, then Jonathan 
Parkhurst -bought this property of Johnson, Apr. 24, 1764, and probably 
built the house later known as the McCurdy tavern. Parkhurst sold 
104 acres, 1768, to Nathaniel Peck. Peck sold to Samuel McCurdy of 
Lyme, Conn., May 2, 1772. In 1786, he sold to his son John McCurdy 
who opened a tavern. In 1788. a Proprietors meeting was held at the 




South School House. No. 10. 



13. 



house of Lieut. John McCurdy, innkeeper. Lieut. John was an ener- 
getic man, in 1790 he opened a store here — the first in town, so far as 
known; in 1794 he added a blacksmith shop, and for a few years did a 
thriving business. In 1812, John sold to Richard McCurdy, and he sold 
to Lemuel Page in 1817 and after his death, Jeremiah Robbins and 
Isaiah Robbins owned the property till Mar. 1828, when William Lam- 
son, Jr. of Keene got hold of the farm, and he sold the same year to 
Edmund Woodward who moved here Apr. 1, 1829. Mr. W. spent over 
63 years on this farm, living in this house and his new one, No. 11. The 
site of this house is about three rods west of the present dwelling, the 
old highway passing between them. Tradition says it was the first 
two story dwelling erected in town; two stories on the east side and only 
one on the rear; in 1835, it was an old weatherbeaten building formerly 
painted red. Where the present house and shed now stand, formerly 
stood a building 200 feet long, open at both ends and used as a drive- 
way during stage coach days. This was removed, 1835. 

Samuel McCurdy and his wife lived here in their old age — both died, 
1808. There was only a few acres of land, and possibly never long sep- 



Residences 281 

arated from the home place — No. 11. The house was torn down by Mr. 
Woodward about 1873. Some of the numerous tenants here, were: 
George Baxter, 1835 (?); Harvey Kurd; Philemon Wright; Raymond 
Brockway in 1868 (?); Barney Wilbur, 1866; a Mr. Robbins; Mrs. 
Helen (Purcell) Adams and others. This was probably where Edmund 
Wetherbee was living, 1812. The house was one-story and stood on the 
knoll, 6 or 8 rods west of present road, but east of the old "Great road." 

14. Mar. 6, 1901, Fred B. Marshall bought of M. D. Carpenter a few acres 

of land and began erecting a house and blacksmith shop here, but re- 
moved before either were finished. 1903, George E. Crosby bought 
property and finished the buildings; sold 1922, to John Hensler. Hiram 
F. Newell rented, 1920, and Dr. William H. Sumner of Keene in 1921. 

15. Blacksmith shop built 1902 by Marshall has been moved; is now the barn 

on this place. Near this place was the old "Dry bridge" on the highway, 
built first of plank, but filled in by Edmund Wetherbee in 1812. 

16. John Johnson was "of Westmoreland" and on Jan. 26, 1762, he sold this 

land, 104 acres, to William Barron and Barron (erroneously called 
"Barnes") settled here soon after. The old house stood in the yard, 
some 4 rods south of the present dwelling, was in use until 1848, when 
H. T. Ellis built the one now standing. Across the road west of this 
house Mr. Barron was at work building a wall Apr. 1775, when the mes- 
senger from Keene notified him of the Concord fight. William and Wil- 
liam, Jr., owned the place (except in 1791, when Levi Blodgett had a 
half interest), until Dec. 24, 1799, when Nathan Estabrook purchased 
the same. 1805 Nathan sold to John Thayer, a "housewright" who kept 
tavern here, 1810, and he sold 1813 to Esq. David Shaw of Alstead. 
Apr. 30, 1822, David sold to Hon. James Wilson of Keene 100 acres at 
$2000.00. Gen. Wilson rented the farm and sold to Henry T. Ellis, 1841. 
He lived here till 1854 then removed to No. 7. Jonathan R. Field came 
soon after and lived here until death, 1882, then Francis F. Field a few 
years, then Frank E. Nesmith. Hon. A. T. Batchelder of Keene bought 
property about 1895/'00, raised the house up making it two story. This 
place was added to No. 23 which he had owned over 20 years. After 
his death, Jasper N. Keller bought property Jan. 1, 1904 and that fam- 
ily have occupied it each season to the present (1922). The oi i house 
was used as a carriage house for a number of years. Across the road 
west of the present dwelling can still be seen the site of Mr. Ellis' cider 
mill. This mill was known as the "Grater type," a horse being used on 
a sweep, and when in operation it was necessary to keep the horse on the 
trot. The mill was in use till about 1875 and went to decay and disap- 
peared. A grass fire burned the barns on this place, Apr. 15, 1905. 

17. This has been known as the "Willard Smith place" since 1830. The old 
two story house stood side to the road, was town down 1842/43, and re- 
built at No. 39, by Rev. Elihu Smith. Who first settled here and when, 
has not been determined to our satisfaction yet a special search has been 
made in the R. of D. We believe this farm has been joined to No. 16, 
separated and rejoined by Gen. Wilson prior to 1830. The line of own- 
ership runs possibly as follows: 



282 History of Surry 

William Barron or his son William, Jr., sold to Maj. Nathan Hayward. 
The major sold to Caleb Washburn June 9, 1788. Mar. 1790, James Mc- 
Curdy bought property, moving here from No. 2. James sold 1812 to 
Richard McCurdy of Lyme, Conn., who probably never came here to 
live. Jan. 22, 1818, Willard Smith bought farm, "where James Mc- 
Curdy now lives." 1823, Smith mortgaged the farm to Hon. James 
(afterwards General) Wilson, and after Smith died, 1825, Wilson took 
over the property which was joined to No. 16, as stated above. An adv. 
in Keene Sentinel Mar. 16, 1826, states it contained 105 acres, good 
buildings, a fine orchard, a bridge over Ashuelot river and was situated 
1% mile south of Surry meeting-house. Thomas Stacy lived here, 1833- 
35. 

18. Since the death of Dinah Armstrong in 1812, this rock, near the highway 

has been known as DINAH'S ROCK. 

19. On a small level plot of land some six rods west of the present highway 

was a cellar hole before 1850 but the land has been tilled for years and 
the site long since obliterated. Probably no one has lived here for over 
100 years. The building stood near the first road up Surry valley, 
though that at its best was only a well trod bridle path as wagons did 
not arrive in town to any extent until after 1790. Thomas Darte pos- 
sibly lived here, as he sold this land, or a tract very near to Rev. David 
Darling, Jan. 30, 1781. 

20. William Kingsbury built a cider mill on this spot about 1858 which was 

in use around 30 years; removed 1890 (?). "Kingsbury hill" was named 
for him — the old fox hunter, 

21. William Kingsbury bought 60 acres of land of his brother Josiah, 1854 

(?) (all that part of his home farm lying west of the highway) and 
soon erected the buildings here, with later additions. He and his wife 
both died here, then Cyrus Kingsbury their adopted son took over the 
property. 1900, Cyrus sold to Hon. A. T. Batchelder, since which time 
to the present it has been the property in joint with No. 16, 17, 18, 19, 
20, 22 and 23. Edmunds, Murray, Green and probably others have lived 
here. 

22. Tradition says a dwelling stood here; was torn down and the timber used 

to build the 2nd story at No. 23 when Dr. Monroe began keeping tavern 
in 1799. It stood midway between No. 21 and a trout pond made within 
20 years — see map. Benjamin Whitney lived at or near this spot and 
had a blacksmith shop, in 1770, and Joseph Whitney was in town at a 
still earlier date. As this land was a part of Dr. Monroe's homestead 
for many years, probably some of the Monroe family lived here prior to 
1800. 

23. Rev. David Darling, 1781, was the first, so far as discovered, to settle 

here. Feb. 16, 1790, he sold this place to Dr. Philip Monroe who moved 
here from No. 72 (?). Mr. Darling removed to No. 247 in edge of 
Keene. The old house was a large one story affair and the doctor added 
a 2nd story in 1799 and soon opened a tavern. Two families fi'equently 
occupied the house at a time until 1874 when it was moved easterly 6 or 



Residences 283 

8 rods where it served as a shop and store house till it went up in smoke, 
1915. The doctor lived here until death, then his son Nahum P. Monroe 
owned the place for several years, leasing it to Capt. Luther Holbrook, 
1837, Jonathan Robinson, Jr. and perhaps others. Nov. 9, 1837, Josiah 
Kingsbury bought the property and lived here till he sold to Luther K. 
Wright in 1866. 1869, Wright sold to Mrs. Betsey C. and Elbridge W. 
Britton, who in turn sold 1874 to Dr. Ira W. Russell of Keene who pur- 
chased for his son Frank A. Russell. Dr. R. after moving the old house 
built a new two story one on the old site and built a large new barn, 
containing two floors above basement. 1883 (?) Alfred T. Batchelder 
of Keene bought this farm and employed a foreman and hired help, ex- 
pending a small fortune erecting new buildings, stables for trotting 
stock, a race track on the plane north of No. 25 and at the time of his 
death this was by far the most expensive set of buildings in town. After 
his death, Jasper N. Keller bought the whole property — ^four old farms 
— all in one large estate, which now, Dec. 1922, is owned by the Keller 
heirs. 

On Sunday afternoon, June 6, 1915, a fire started in the horse-barn, 
which stood north of the house, destroyed all the buildings on this prop- 
erty; no permanent structure has replaced them. A partial list of those 
who occupied the old and new houses is: Edward R. Carter of West- 
minster, Mass., 1840 (?); Silas Whitcomb, 1846; William Rahn, 1854 
(?); George H. Joslin, 1874; Mason A. Carpenter, 1885; and in more 
recent years, Mr. Lawrence, Bert Bryer, John Britton, Wellington Cur- 
tis and Thomas Edmunds. William Martin ran the farm several years 
for Mr. Batchelder. 

24. John Fowle of Marblehead, Mass., owned this land and sold to Josiah 
Willard. Apr. 22, 1760, Willard sold to Charles Rice— 104 acres. Rice 
settled on the farm, but whether there were any one earlier than he, is 
unknown. In 1770 Rice sold to Jonathan Smith, Sr. In 1773 Smith sold 
to his son Jonathan, Jr., who opened a tavern here as early as 1793. 
May 9, 1809, Col. Jonathan Smith, Jr. sold to William Bond who con- 
tinued business. 1814 Bond sold to William Baxter, 180 acres. 1817 
James Ingalls of Watertown, N. Y., bought property. He sold to Isaiah 
Wilder 1821; Wilder to George Crehore Nov. 24, 1826, who lived here 
over 37 years. Mr. Crehore was a great worker, an industrious and 
much respected citizen. He built the present house, 1846; a large barn 
in 1856 which was destroyed by lightning, Aug. 9, 1872; ditched the 
Beaver swamp south of the Wright Grove and made other improvements. 
Amos H. Carter bought farm 1864; and sold half interest to his son 
James D. in 1888. After the death of James in 1900 it fell to his son 
Selwin I. who kept it about 4 years and sold to Herbert R. Crane. Crane 
sold to Hiram F. Newell Sept. 18, 1906 who lived here till about 1920 
when he sold to Earl R. and Merrill D. Carpenter, both of whom have oc- 
cupied it and a place in Keene to date — Dec. 1922. The old house stood 
directly in front of the present one and quite near the highway — a low 
one story affair, without paint, end to the east. Mr. Crehore moved it 
in back of his new house (1847) for a shop and where it stood until 
torn down by H. R. Crane, 1904/5. Amos H. Carter and sons built the 
present upper barn after the fire, in 1872. Tradition says Col. Jonathan 



284 History of Surry 

Smith shot a treacherous Indian near his buildings soon after the Rev. 
war and buried him near Smith's brook above the barn. 

25. A cellar hole marks the site of this house; by whom and when occupied 

is not positively known. Tradition says a negro family once lived here. 
It is in the field and not far from the brink of the sand bank which is 
constantly washing away. Evidently this was a part of the farm No. 
24 and occupied by a transient class. 

26. Nothing now marks the site of this house, torn down by George Crehore 

about 1858. It was an old wood-color, small, low one story building, 
standing side toward the road, containing a great chimney made of ir- 
regular brick laid in a clay mortar. This is probably the six acres of 
land Charles Rice sold to Jonathan Smith, Sr. in 1770. Smith sold the 
same year to his son Jonathan, Jr., who is supposed to have built on 
this spot. David Shaw, Esq. owned the place and sold to Otis Daggett, 
the village blacksmith, in 1825 at which time a blacksmith shop stood on 
the place. Asa Britton was living on the place about that time. Sept. 
12,1828, Asahel and Philander Stone bought as a home for their aged 
parents and here they both passed away. After William Kingsbury 
married Huldah Stone they came here to live and he worked at his 
trade as a shoemaker. After death of Mr. S. they removed to No. 21. 
Mrs. Helen (Purcell) Adams was the last to occupy the house in 
1853/54. In 1853 Mr. Crehore bought the place and it has since been a 
part of that farm. Warren W. Stone set out the large tamarack tree 
still standing near the highway. 

27. This place containing but a few acres was severed from No. 24 prior to 

1795. The house now standing at No. 28 stood on this spot — down the 
hill nearer the water — until about 1849 when it was moved by Willard 
Britt. Jonathan Carpenter sold in 1795 to Daniel Hayward a black- 
smith. Moses Hill lived here, 1822. Charles Daniels, 1830-32; Abel 
Wilder of Keene owned property 1835; Mrs. Norton and Charles Sly- 
field here about 1836; Elijah Norris, blacksmith, 1841-43; Augustus 
Kingsbury, 1844; Mrs. Seth (Carpenter) Griswold and her husband, 
1846; Willard Britt, 1848. The barn which stood near this house was 
set fire and burned to the ground one Sunday about 1844, by Willard 
Kingsbury when about 5 years of age. Chandler Wilbur here 1848? 

28. As previously stated, Willard Britt moved this house from No. 27. Those 

here since 1850: John A. Cushing; Davis Carpenter; William Gage; 
Benjamin V. Smith; Miss Catharine B. Upham of Boston, as a summer 
home. She named it "The Cones." Edward H. Wright and his wife sold 
in Aug. 1912 to Prof. Francis L. Bain of Cambridge, Mass., as his 
summer home. 

29. Nothing now marks the site of a blacksmith shop which stood near the 

north-east corner of this house lot until about 1843. Probably run by 
Daniel Hayward, 1796 (?) and Elijah Norris about 1841. 

30. The early history of this place is obscure; we give a possible line of 

ownership. Col. Josiah Willard to Peter Hayward. Peter Hayward to 
Sylvester Hayward Sept. 16, 1779. Sylvester to Jonathan Carpenter 



Residences 285 

1789. Samuel Hunt to Amasa Carpenter, 1804. In 1805, Amasa to 
Thomas A. Hill, and he to Clement Hill, a cooper, 1814; 16 acres. Hill 
sold back to Thomas A. Hill of Bangor, Me., May 23, 1816. The Hill's 
appear to have owned the property till 1838 — Clement, Thomas A. and 
Moses. In 1844, True Webster probably lived here. June 6, 1844 Sewall 
Rugg bought of the Hill heirs. Mr. Rugg to Rev. Joseph Allen 1859. 
Haskell Carpenter, Ephraim Wyman, Ariel Carpenter, Philemon 
Wright, Chauncey Kenney, John A. Cushing, William Riley Kenney, 
Rev. Ezra Adams, Joseph Wright and others lived here between 1838 
and 1876, with two families in the house a portion of time. George B. 
Britton bought and settled here about 1877 and removed to No. 43, Oct. 
1892. A defective chimney caused a fire which destroyed the old house 
May 31, 1878, and Mr. Britton rebuilt on the same site the present 
buildings. Arthur Birch bought 1895. John W. Conley bought and 
still owns the property; was occupied by his son, George B., until the 
latter moved to No. 93, Apr. 1920; Ernest W. Carpenter moved here 
Apr. 6, 1923, from No. 4. 

31. About 1895 William O. Davis bought a small lot and erected the house 

still standing — Dec. 1922. Davis lived here several months then Her- 
bert S. Britt; no one since. W. F. Gates bought and sold to John W. 
Conley in 1899 who has used it as a shop. 

32. This was the old village store No. 47. Mason A. Carpenter bought and 

moved the building to this spot, June 1905, placing it on (three acres) 
land he bought of Henry A. Pike that spring. Pike bought the land of 
H. Moses Blake, Dec. 28, 1895. Carpenter exchanged wifh Carl H. 
Adams and he sold to Selwin I. Carter and here his family now resides. 
George N. Conley here several years; James C. Duffy, William H. Rol- 
lins, Clifton Chambers, a Mr. Hurd and possibly others between 1906 
and 1919. 

33. June 19, 1781, Joshua Dart of Weathersfield, Vt., sold to John White of 

Keene "a mansion house and barn" with 20 acres of land, "and is ye 
Place where I used to Dwell." By "a mansion house" we would under- 
stand it was a frame building instead of being built of logs. There is 
no doubt but the dwelling mentioned in that deep is the same house now 
occupied by Oscar B. Deane, although some improvements have been 
made within recent years. It formerly had the Big Chimney; is low, 
one story, and before 1850 was an old weatherbeaten building. One 
room has never been repaired, the door swings on the old wooden hinges, 
the wood latch and latch-string ai'e still in place and the floor boards 
are fastened down by wood pins. We believe this is one of the oldest 
houses in town. It stands end to the highway and is about 28 x 31 feet 
on the ground. John White sold to Frederick Reed, 1783. Reed sold 
next year to his father. Gen. James Reed. July 7, 1786 Gen. Reed to 
William Abbott, Jr. Abbott probably sold to Ebenezer Cummings, and 
he sold to Maj. Nathan Hayward Dec. 11, 1787. Maj. H — lived here till 
1801. For several years Mr. H, was elected "pound keeper" and his 
"cow yard" served as a pound. Dr. Isaac Monroe bought and sold to 
Col. Charles Bond, 1808, a part of farm "where I now live," The Col. 



286 History of Surry 

opened a tavern that year supposedly in this house. During the next 30 
years, several owned or were interested in this farm, viz.: George W. 
Stearns of Brookline, Mass.; Joseph Bellows, of Walpole; John Bel- 
lows of Boston; William Cochran of Boston; Oren Shelley was living 
here, 1838; Charles Emerson, 1839. Soon after, Jonathan and Samuel 
Robinson held a claim several years. Apr. 8, 1859 Samuel sold to Mr. 
and Mrs. Abijah Benton who had then been living on the place several 
years. Rebecca Benton sold to Charles Augustus Blake Apr. 16, 1861; 
50 acres. After his death the farm fell to his son, Henry Moses Blake. 
The latter sold to Arthur Birch, 1899, and he sold Sept. 4, 1904 to Mr. 
and Mrs, Oscar B. Deane, — to date. The following places have been 
severed from this farm since 1870: Nos. 31, 32, 234 and 235, also a 
woodlot at west side. Formerly this farm was bounded on the north by 
the old Westmoreland Leg and Gilsum town line, and from the road this 
line ran West 10° North, 137 rods. From 1801 to '03, Abraham Wheeler 
lived here. 

34. Woolston Brockway, one of the Proprietors, owned this place, Aug. 4, 

1761. He died 1789 then his son John moved here from No. 38. John 
died 1799, his widow lived on the place until about 1805. Abel Monroe 
carried on the farm; in 1800 he took out a license and kept tavern. A 
fire destroyed the house, June 21, 1805, and possibly the barn as an 
advertisement under date of Nov. 6, 1806, states there was a good barn 
and a house partly finished. The' Brockway family scattered about 
1806. Samuel Robinson bought the place and sold to Ichabod Ballou, 
July 10, 1826. Ballou built on 16 feet on the south end of the house, 
and 1836 sold to Jonah Carter who died 1849, when his son-in-law, 
Joshua D. Blake received the place. Then his son Charles H. was here 
till his death, 1903. Charles G. Grain, 2nd, lived here a few months. 
George A. Hall bought the property and moved here Feb. 1906 — to date. 
Two families have lived here at times, some of whom were : Chandler 
Wilbur, James O. Hudson 1854 (?), Hiram Hudson 1853/8, William 
Gage, Hiram Britton, 1856, etc. The well into which the old Whipping 
Post was cast at an early date mentioned in a survey of the highway, 
1803, is about 35 feet deep and across the road nearly opposite No. 34. 

35. Tradition says, when the first house was built at the end of "Gauntlet 

road" or "Love lane" it stood by the bridle road up Surry valley. 
Nathaniel Dart lived here 1777; Mar. 21, 1780 he sold to Frederick 
Reed "one home Lott of Fifty acres" bounded east by highway, north by 
John Marvin, west "on the common Land," south by Joshua Dart. 
Nathaniel regained the property and sold to John Willey, his son-in-law, 
1798. July 14, 1820, Willey sold to Theodore Monroe "all except the 
blacksmith shop and shoe shop standing thereon." Monroe sold to 
David Carpenter, 1822, all except the shops. Aug. 16, 1823 David sold 
to Thomas Adams of Keene this farm of 77 acres, but "reserving, how- 
ever to myself and my heirs the exclusive right in and to a certain 
spring of water situated near the west end of said premises." Oct. 
13, that year, David sold this spring right to four men living in the 
village as noted elsewhere in this work. Adams lived here until death, 
then his widow sold to Elijah Norris, "an Iron Smith," 1828. From 



Residences 287 

1829 to 1831, Emerson Ross, Boardwin Brown and Thomas S. Hurlbert 
had an interest here. Mar. 18, 1833, Norris sold to Asahel and Phil- 
ander Stone. The latter lived and died here, 1865. 1866, Joshua D. 
Blake bought property and sold to his son Lewis F. Blake, 1879. After 
death of Lewis it fell to his son Orman L. Blake. 1914, W. R. Porter 
of Cheshire Natl. Bank of Keene held claim on farm. Soon after the 
wood and timber were cut off and the farm divided between Carl H. 
Adams and Clark A. Knapp both of Keene. Frank B. Kingsbury bought 
property and removed here, May 1920. The old house was torn down 
while J. D. Blake owned property and the present dwelling erected on 
the old site, during the winter, 1877-78. A partial list of those living 
here between 1820 and 1920: Asa Britton; Rev. Joseph Allen; Hiram 
(Horace) P. Bigelow, 1872 (?); Henry L. Wilbur, 1873 (?); John A. 
Cushing; Mason A. Carpenter, 1878; George B. Britton, 1878, while 
building his new house at No. 30; Ira J. Robbins, 1877 (?); Enos 
Sweeney, 1915; William H. Rollins, 1919. 

So far as known, no one ever suffered at the old "Whipping Post" 
which about stood at the time of the Revolution at the east end of "The 
gauntlet road," or la7ie. In the south-east corner of the field, just north 
of the Post formerly stood a blacksmith shop and shoe shop. Old Mr. 
James Britton was a shoemaker here and set out about 100 years ago 
the two elm trees now standing. The smith shop is mentioned in sev- 
eral deeds; the last time, Dec. 23, 1830. 

36. Lewis F. Blake built a small blacksmith shop on the ledge, 1882 (?) 

which stood about 25 years. 

37. An old cellar hole marks where John Still lived in 1770, over the Ashue- 

lot river. John Marvin lived there at a later period. The early records 
speak of the "Pent road" leading to John Still's. A search for this site 
has been made without success, although it was seen in 1887. 

38. Woolston Brockway sold Apr. 12, 1783, to his "loving son John" this part 

of his home farm, at which time there was "a mansion house standing 
thereon." This house torn down by William Carpenter, 1865, was built 
of plank, one story high; weatherbeaten ; side to the road and the floor 
boards were fastened down by half inch wood pins. Two families fre- 
quently lived at the same time in this house. John sold Apr. 17, 1788 to 
Benjamin Kimball. 1789, Kimball to Peleg Sprague of Keene. Sprague 
to Samuel Smith and Jonathan Robinson. 1792 Cushman Smith held 
ownership, then Eldad & Sylvester Skinner, John Emerson and Calvin 
Hayward prior to 1809. That year Joab Daggett bought and sold to 
Otis Daggett Apr. 11, 1810. 1820 Otis sold to Enoch Whitcomb who lived 
here till 1838 when he sold to Amos Adams. Feb. 22, 1842, Amos sold 
half interest to his son Benjamin W. Adams. Jan. 15, 1848 the Adams 
family sold to Elijah Holbrook who soon after conveyed the same to 
Caleb Wright. Apr. 2, 1850, Caleb sold to William Carpenter. John 
W. Conley owned this place, 1891-1899, otherwise it has been owned 
(the buildings and a few acres of the original farm) since 1850 to the 
present, by Carpenter, his daughter Marietta and Edward H. Wright. 
William C — built present house 1865 on the site of the old dwelling. 



288 History of Surry 

The following lived here prior to 1870: Bellows Emerson; Luther 
Smith, 1853; Mrs, Electa Morton Adams; Charles A. Britton; Samuel 
White till his death. William Carpenter moved here from No. 41 in 
1871. 

39. Nov. 18, 1842, Rev. Elihu Smith bought of Philander Stone for SlOO one 

acre of land with a building thereon. From the purchase price the 
"building" must have been a shed or barn, as Mr. Smith bought the old 
Willard Smith house (No. 17) tore it down, using the material to build 
this house, 1842/3. It was considered "the parsonage" for several 
years. Rev. Lorenzo Draper here, 1850; Ichabod Grain, 1853 till his 
death, 1866, then his widow who later married Emery Bragg. Joseph 
H. Stickney, 1880/81; Mrs. Ann G. Fawcett; John Anderson, 1890 (?), 
Edwin K. and Helen M. Seabury of Walpole received the property by the 
Bragg will and sold same Jan. 2, 1893. Melville C. Lewis lived here 
1915. Francis F. Field and son Theodore lived here until the death of 
the former in 1923. 

40. Aug. 6, 1900, George B. Britton sold 'to Mrs. Marietta C. (Daniels) 

Wright this lot from his farm, fehe erected the house and the barn a 
year or two later; the garage built, 1922. For a few years it was used 
as a parsonage and occupied by Rev. W. F. Whitcomb, and Rev. M. W. 
Hale. Mrs. Flora A. Garvin, owned and occupied it summers between 
1911 and 1916, when Mrs. Wright repurchased the place, and her hus- 
band is the present owner. Rev. H. S. Kimball, Ernest W. Carpenter, 
P. L. Pressey and Geo. L. Perham have also lived here in recent years. 

41. May 26, 1838, Amos Adams purchased this land of Samuel Robinson and 

soon after built the house now standing. In 1842 Amos sold one undi- 
vided half interest to his son Benjamin W. Adams, after which they 
owned this place and No. 38, Jan. 15, 1848, Elijah Holbrook bought this 
farm and on 14, Apr. 1849 sold to William Carpenter — about 60 acres. 
Carpenter lived here, Feb. 1850 until 1871. Mar. 1872 he sold to F. D. 
W. Carpenter who lived here till Mar. 1875, then sold to Elbridge W. 
Britton. Jan. 3, 1881, L. M. Carpenter bought and sold to William Mar- 
tin Dec. 20, 1895, whose family have since resided here. George N. 
Conley, Arthur M. Carpenter, Geo. E. Crosby have lived on the farm. 

42. Tradition says a blacksmith shop stood here prior to 1840 and for over 

half a century only the plowshare has revealed its site. Who owned 
and operated this shop is unknown, unless, possibly Otis Daggett, 

43. Jonathan Mack of Lyme, Conn,, drew three 50 acres lot in that part of 

Gilsum now S,, viz.: L. 1, R. 4; L. 1, R. 5; L. 1, R. 6. He sold to his 
son Josiah and the latter sold to John Marvin, Sr., Oct. 30, 1766, who 
appears to have moved into town from Lyme, and the next year erected 
the first buildings on this land, probably near the site of the present 
Post Oflfice. In the spring of 1786 Marvin transferred to his son John 
Marvin, Jr., who swapped farms with Delevan Delance in the north west 
part of the town. These lots were three deep — from east to west — and 
the width of one lot from north to south. The south line is the fence a 
few feet north of Francis F. Field's house (No. 39). The late George 



Residences 289 

B. Britton told the writer the original north line ran through the build- 
ings where Ichabod Ballou- formerly lived, No. 66. Now having estab- 
lished the size of this land we find the cemetery and all buildings on the 
west side of the "village street" between No. 39 and 66 stand on land 
first owned by Jonathan Mack. 

Mar. 21, 1797, Delance sold to Thomas Smith, whose son Cushman 
bought in 1799, built a store and kept tavern in 1802. The ell of the 
present house occupies the site of the old house which was removed and 
stood in the door yard for several years while John A. Gushing and 
others lived in it, finally George B. Britton tore it down 1908. Tradi- 
tion says when Otis Daggett built the front portion of the present 
house, 1840 (?) he moved the store off its site making it into the ell. 
Gushman Smith became involved in financial matters in 1806/7 and left 
town, after which Galvin Hayward and others held interests in the 
property. From Apr. 24, 1809, until Feb. 20, 1847, the Daggett family 
— Joab, Ira, Marcus and Otis^ — all appear to have held an interest in the 
place, and possibly Enoch Whitcomb for a short time. Otis Daggett 
was a blacksmith and his shop stood near his house till removed, about 
1846. Benjamin M. Britton bought of the Daggett heirs in 1847 and 
after his death, 1891, his son George B. and family, have lived here. 
Since 1901 the Post Office has been in this house. 

44. Nov. 17, 1851, Benj. M. Britton sold an acre of land to Holland Stevens 

who erected the house now standing. He sold to Esq. Sylvester Smith 
who lived here till his death in 1863. The following have owned the 
property or lived here: S. Harrison and George P. Porter before 1860; 
Gharles A. Britton; Rev. Joseph Allen; George H. Rand after his fire 
at No. 173; Alonzo F. Wilbur; George H. Joslin; Mason A. Carpenter; 
Merrill E. Flagg, 1874 (?) ; John A. Blake; Joseph W. Caldwell; Edwin 
A. Kenion at the time he was merchant; Gilbert Crane; Frank P. Crane; 

C. H. George; Harry Maxwell; William Ingerson, 1916 (?); also Wil- 
liam H. Wright; Arthur E. Salley; Dean Tyler at time of his death, 
1854; Hiram F. Newell till his death, 1922, and probably others. Her- 
bert R. Crane, the present owner, has lived here twice. 

45. Aug. 16, 1854, William Carpenter sold to Mi's. Nancy M. Britton (wife 

of James) a lot 4 x 10 rods deep from off the north-west corner of his 
home place. She bought the old school house No. 113, had it moved and 
made into a dwelling house. It is now the west end of the present build- 
ings. After the death of Mr. Britton she married Holland Stevens; both 
lived and died here; since then Mason A. Carpenter has had an interest 
in the original and additional property. The size of the old school 
house building was 20 x 28 feet. 

46. Jonathan and Samuel Robinson owned this land prior to 1816. Josiah 

Knight bought a small plot of land and probably built the house about 
that time and the store (No. 47) soon after. June 19, 1818, Josiah sold 
to Dr. Jonathan Knight of Westmoreland, but appears to have con- 
tinued living on the property, until it was sold June 15, 1819, to 
Ephraim Searls of Boston, and he sold to George Whiting of the same 
city. May 1, 1822, John May a merchant of Boston bought this and 



19 



290 History of Surry 

the store property, but he, too, apparently was unsuccessful, for on 
June 29, 1825, the property was attached in favor of Joseph Stuart of 
Boston. In November of the same year May gave satisfaction by giv- 
ing Stuart a deed of a plot of land 4 x 10 rods just south of his house 
which he (May) "had developed as a garden." After the death of John 
May, 1826, his widow sold to Mrs. Sarah F. Wheelock of Keene at which 
time there was on this land a dwelling house, store, shoeshop, shed and 
barn. July 7, 1837 Capt. Almond Stevens bought this place of the 
• Wheelock heirs. Capt. Stevens lived here and ran store, and died 1865. 
The following have owned or lived at this place : Marshall B. Britton, 
1867; George A. Stevens; Joseph W. Caldwell; David S. Aldrich; John 
A. Blake; Jerry Rogers, 1874 (?); Henry L. Wilbur; Merrill D. Car- 
penter; Wesley F. Wilbur; Luman M. Carpenter, Arthur M. Carpenter, 
George N. Conley; Ernest W. Carpenter, twice; C. D. Fitzgerald, etc. 
Frank P. Crane bought the property and sold it Jan. 1913 to the Church 
Society for a parsonage. Since then it has been occupied by Rev. Henry 
S. Kimball, Rev. Fred'k C. Hunt and E. W. Carpenter. For several 
years the post office was in this building. 

47. Site of the village store, which as previously stated, was moved to No. 

32 in 1905. It is supposed to have been built by Josiah Knight, about 
1816/17. He was in business here, then "Hough & Redding" in 1819; 
John May, 1822-25; Arvin Britton; Capt. Almond Stevens between 1837 
and 1856, he was postmaster in 1854; S. Harrison and his brother 
George P. Porter; Marshall B. Britton, 1872; "Shelley & Streeter" and 
possibly others. Mrs. James Cheever bought the property and made it 
into a dwelling, living here several years. Others living here between 
1882 and 1905: Wesley F. Wilbur; Herbert N. Gunn; Ezekiel 0. Whit- 
comb; Mrs. Emma F. Weeks; George N. Conley; Arthur M. and Ernest 
W. Carpenter. 

48. Sept. 2, 1812, Jonathan Robinson sold his property to his son Samuel; the. 

farm extended from No. 38 to 60 on east side of the village street. Jan. 
5, 1821, Samuel Robinson sold a lot 12^/^ rods on the street to George 
Whitney, a Boston merchant, for $500.00. No buildings are mentioned, 
yet from the price, there must have been more than just land. How 
Whitney disposed of the property is unknown as the records are obscure. 
We believe, however, that the land where No. 46 and 47 are were a part 
of this property. July 7, 1837, Sarah F., Andrew C, and Emily Wheel- 
ock, heirs of Lynds Wheelock sold to Capt. Almond Stevens. In a mort- 
. gage deed^ to Dea. Grain, 1837, there was a house, barn, store and other 
buildings. Sept. 21, 1843, Capt. Stevens sold this part of his property 
to Holland Stevens; Oct. 4th of the same year, Holland bought more 
land of Elijah Holbrook, all of which he sold Feb. 21, 1844, to Joseph 
Allen who moved here from No. 106. After his death his widow and 
Horace Gould, Sr., and heirs. Cyrus Kingsbury bought place and his 
widow sold to Otis W. Kingsbury about 1916. Mr. K. died and the place 
was sold at auction Apr. 21, 1919 to Mrs. Erich H. Raabe of Bridgeport, 
Conn., formerly of No. 54, who has since made numerous repairs, and 
resides there part of time. 



Residences 291 

49. This house was moved by Herbert R. Crane from No. 104, and has been 

remodeled ?? Luman M. Carpenter; Francis F, Field; Fred 

S. Blake; Clifton Chambers; George N. Conley; Lewis C. Buntlin and 
perhaps others lived here prior to 1911, when Buntlin sold to Mrs. John 
Anderson. She and her son Anders now own the place. 

50. July 5, 1839, Otis Daggett sold a lot for $110.00 to Dea. Ichabod Crane 

which extended south from the village school house lot 142 feet and ran 
"70 feet west from the wall." On this lot was erected the "Crain 




Surry Village, Looking North. 

Church," so called, which was dedicated Wednesday, Oct. 9, 1839. Ser- 
vices appear to have been held nearly all the time until 1875, then for 
15 years, only cocasionally. The church was revived under the pastor- 
ate of Rev. W. E. Renshaw in 1890 and since, preaching has been 
pretty constant. See Ecclesiastical chapter. 

May 5, 1830, Otis Daggett sold to school district No. 2 (the village) a lot 
40 X 40 feet where the present school house was soon after erected. Ac- 
cording to the records, the south-east corner of said lot was "30 feet 
north of an elm tree," which is still standing. See Educational chap- 
ter. 

Fred' B. Marshall moved the old blacksmith shop and built a small house 
1895, using material from an unfinished blacksmith shop he built at No. 
60. He lived here a short time, then George N. Conley, and Charles 
F. Britton. Mrs. Edward H. "Wright bought the place about 1908 and 
since Nov. 1911 it has been occupied by George H. Joslin. 

Apr. 19, 1851, Elijah Holbrook sold a lot four rods square to Mrs. Nancy 
(Cram) Benton who had a small cottage erected in which she lived 
several years then sold to Warren Carpenter who added it to his home 
farm. The building stood till about 1889 when it was moved to the back 



292 



History of Surry 



part of Carpentei*'s land and finally went to decay. The following lived 
here: Charles A. Britton, 1856 (?); Alanson D. Comstock; J. Langdon 
Britton; George Wilcox; James Cass; Chas. Milan Carpenter; Char- 
lotte Cram; Rev. Pettigrew; Frank A. Poole; Nicholas Vincellette; 
David Y. Kenyon; Lewis Castor, etc. It usually has been known as 
"The Benton house"; nothing now marks its site, but a small elm tree. 

54. Warren Carpenter built this house in 1874, placing it on land belonging 

to his hotel property, No. 55. Mar. 16 (?), 1888, a barn standing near 
this house was burned, and at the time the hotel buildings were de- 
stroyed, 1907, this house was saved only by heroic effort on the part of 
the village citizens. Warren and C. Milan Carpenter; Daniel B. C. Hill; 
Lewis Castor; Charles W. Carpenter; Mrs. H. R. Emmons and Mrs. 
F. A. Garvin, who sold 1910 to Erich H. Raabe who built an addition 
on the north side and opened the "Triple Elms" house. Nov. 1, 1918, 
Thomas J. Kelley bought place. Samuel E. Howard opened a store Oct. 
1920, being succeeded by Mr. Kelly. 

55. Jonathan Robinson, the Revolutionary soldier settled here prior to 1790 

and soon after opened a tavern. He enlarged his buildings from time to 
time; opened a store in 1799 and subsequently, in company with his 




The Village Hotel. 

sons, Jonathan Jr. and Samuel, became extensive dealers in real estate 
in this town. 

In 1819 (?) he sold to his son Samuel who continued business as 
farmer and tavernkeeper, until Nov. 22, 1842, when he sold 250 acres 
land and buildings for $2200.00 to Elijah Holbrook his son-in-law. This 
land was bounded on "Whoponock Hill." Mr. Holbrook built a large ell 
and ball room, 1850 (?) and sold out the business to Warren Carpenter 



Residences 293 

Dec. 10, 1855. Mr. Carpenter moved here from No. 166 and carried on 
business for about 20 years and sold Jan. 15, 1874 to James D. Cheever. 
The ownership and proprietorship were varied and quite numerous from 
1880 until Feb. 4, 1907, when a young man applied a match to the build- 
ings, and the barns, sheds and hotel were swept clean from this spot. 

Mrs. H. R. Emmons now owns the old site. 

The following have owned or kept the old hotel : Capt. Almond Ste- 
vens, 1854/55; Oilman D. Ordway, 1888; Capt. Thomas L. Harmon, 
1884 (?); Ephraim B. Newton; Daniel B. C. Hill; Mr. Blackmer; Win- 
field E. Wilbur; A. J. Belden and Charles F. Britton owTied property 
at time of fire. 

56. Elijah Holbrook while running his hotel bought a small lot where No. 52 

now stands and built a blacksmith shop, 1848/9. It stood in line of and 
south of the horse sheds until Fred B. Marshall moved it westerly sev- 
eral feet where it has since been occupied as a barn for No. 52. Frank- 
lin B. Benton gave up business at his shop, No. 109 to take charge of 
this shop for Holbrook in 1850. Jan. 1, 1857 Samuel H. Poole bought the 
shop and ran it several years. A complete list of those who have labored 
here is not at hand; we mention the following: Fred B. Marshall about 
1882 and again 1895 (?); Merrill D. Carpenter; Frank E. Alexander of 
Gilsum; John Albert Blake and others. 

57. Nov. 12, 1831, Otis Daggett sold a lot 18^/2 x 90 feet between the south- 

west corner of the meeting house and the school house lot to the follow- 
ing ten men for the sum of $10.00: Peter Hayward, Eliphaz Field, Eli- 
phalet Dort, Jonathan Robinson, George Crehore, Hollis Wilcox, Horace 
B. Shaw, Jonathan Harvey, Jr., George Wilcox and Nathan D. Reed. 
Mr. Daggett stipulated in the sale that they should be used for "Horse 
sheds and for no other purpose." 

58. The old meeting house, now, Town Hall, is the most interesting building 

now standing in town. Erected in 1771, though not fully completed un- 
til 1792; a house of worship where our ancestors assembled on the Sab- 
bath until nearly the middle of the last century, and where they have 
annually gathered in town meeting since July 13, 1772. In 1858 the 
building was remodeled for a Town Hall; a floor on the second story 
replaced the old gallery which extended around three sides of the room; 
the box pews were removed, and the steeple was enlarged. A select school 
was kept in 2nd story a term or two. In 1866 the lower floor was used 
for a time by Alanson Bingham & Son for the manufacture of chairs. 
It was then rented by Geo. W. Britton and Edwin A. Kenyon for a 
"General Store," under the firm name of "Britton & Kenyon." In 1880 
a partition was put in and the west half finished for "The Reed Free 
Library," which was opened Jan. 1, 1881. 

59. Mrs. Hattie R. Emmons erected in 1914 a house which she has since oc- 

cupied a portion of each year. So far as known this is the only building 
on this site. 

60. The first public building in Surry was erected on or near this spot. At 

"a Speshell Town meeting" held at the house of Jonathan Smith's "on 



294 History of Surry 

wensday the forth Day of October at one of the Clock in the after- 
noon," 1769, Voted: "to Buld a House Sufficient to hold all public meet- 
ings in and for a Schoole House." The size of said house, 22 feet long 
and 18 feet wide. Also "Voted to Buld Sd House on the East Side of the 
Highway against the Buring Yard Bars." The town clerk in recording 
the minutes of this meeting has left us very important information: 
the date, location, size and use of this building. The house was standing 
here Mar. 13, 1804, when a committee consisting of Maj. Nathan Hay- 
ward, Judge Lemuel Holmes and Lieut. Levi Fuller was chosen to in- 
spect a piece of land east of the meeting house where the school-house 
now stands. At an adjourned town meeting it was voted, not to move 
the school house from where it now stands. Tradition says the build- 
ing was moved about 1835 to No. 67. About 1884 Fred B. Marshall 
built a blacksmith shop on the same spot, taking Frank D, W. Carpen- 
ter, on whose land the new shop was erected, into partnership. The 
shop was never fully completed and after a number of years was moved 
and is now No. 52. 

61. Thomas Pitkin, Jr., drew 50 acres; L. 1, R. 7 and in 1763 sold to Jona- 

than Smith who settled here before 1764. His first dwelling doubtless 
was a log cabin; within a few years he built a commodious house. Sev- 
eral are living who remember this squatty appearing one story dwelling 
standing side to the road in what is now the garden of No. 63, with its 
front door extending from the ground to the eave. Mr. Smith was called 
an "innholder" as early as 1773 and possessed those social qualities 
which made his home a nucleus for many Proprietor meetings, as well 
as Town meetings after 1769. It was a common thing after the meet- 
ing house was built — cold and unheated — to adjourn to the warm hos- 
pitable home of Jonathan Smith to transact the town's business. His 
land was on the opposite side of the village street from John Marvin's 
and originally extended between No, 38 and 67. Apr. 3, 1781, Jonathan 
sold his farm to his son, Capt. Samuel Smith, bounded partly "on 
Whoppanock Hill." Stephen Chase of Keene bought this farm for his 
son Ziba, prior to 1830, known as the Skmner farm. Ziba farmed a 
little and leased to Horace Baxter, also to Elijah Turner and Seth Mor- 
ton. He sold about 1840. Levi Durrell bought in 1845 (?), lived here 
until he built and moved into his new house. No. 63, in 1857, and this 
house was torn down. 

62. Oct. 25, 1792, John Marvin, Jr., sold this part of his home place, No. 43, 

to Adonijah Marvin and the latter sold. Mar. 13, 1793, to Samuel Allen, 
all but one and V2 acres "where my house now stands." Adonijah was 
a shoemaker and the lot he bought of John, Jr., was 60 rods deep; 20 
rods long on the west end, and about the same on the "Great road," 
containing about 20 acres. On July 4th, the same year he sold the bal- 
ance of this property to Allen. In 1803 Daniel Allen owned some of the 
property at least and sold to John Norris a blacksmith, also a black- 
smith shop standing about 40 rods north of the meeting house. Phinehas 
Allen was living here prior to 1835 and the next year Ichabod Ballou is 
believed to have settled here and soon after built on the 2nd story, after 
which two families frequently occupied this house at the same time. A 



Residences 295 

partial list of those who have owned or lived here since 1850, follows: 
Charles A. Britton, 1852; Samuel H. Poole, 1854 and several years later; 
Franklin B. Benton; Rev. Joseph Allen; Charles O. Cummings; Ben- 
jamin C. Crosby; David Y. Kenyon; John C. Foss; Marshall M. Britton, 
Mrs. M. B. Britton and son Edward M. Britton. 

63. As noted under No. 61, Levi Durrell built this house, 1857. He sold to 

Isaac Brown who lived here 1864-1877, then sold to Frank D. W. Car- 
penter; William H, Wright, Sidney J. Wilder have lived here. William 
L. Olds came Nov. 4, 1904 and remained several years. Samuel Ball 
the present owner moved here from Montreal Feb. 1912. Several rods 
easterly of the present buildings are remains of "the charcoal pit," and 
Capt. Samul Allen is said to have made "Pot Ash" on this farm, 1794/5. 

64. Apr. 6, 1863, S. Harrison Porter bought a small plot of land and from 

the timber in the old house of Asahel Harvey, No. 173, built a store on 
this spot. Oct. 12 of the same year he sold to Luman M. Carpenter who 
continued business as general merchant until May 2, 1864 when he sold 
to Rachel and Roxy Allen who moved from No. 70 and made the store 
into a dwelling house. George W. Britton and E. A. Kenyon bought and 
sold to Willard Shaw, Mar. 3, 1874. Frank D. W. Carpenter bought of 
Shaw, 1876, and sold next year to William H. Wright, and he to Henry 
A. Pike; at his death it fell to Mrs. Myron H. Porter. Charles Griggs 
bought and moved here July 1922. Henry L. Wilber, Charles H. George, 
Henry P. Porter, among others, have lived in this house. 

65. Dea. Ichabod Ballou probably bought this land of Samuel Robinson, sold 

to Phinehas Wheelock Mar. 28, 1838. Phinehas was a shoem.aker, and 
sold Mar. 6, 1841, to Jonathan Robinson & Jonathan Harvey, Jr., neither 
of whom ever lived here. They sold, Apr. 6, 1863 to S. Hartison Porter 
who lived here while running his store, No. 64. He sold this and the 
store to L. M. Carpenter, 1863. May 2, 1864, Carpenter sold to Wil- 
liam Gage, and he to Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Scovell, Sept. 6, 1867. 
Mrs. Betsey (Carpenter) Smith bought Nov. 8, 1870, and Nov. 28, 1882 
she deeded place to Mason A. Carpenter, who sold to William H. Wright 
on Mar. 21, 1884 and he soon after removed the old house. 

Rev. Ezra Adams lived here, 1840; Franklin B. Benton, 1853; Dr. 
William Porter for several years after he came to town, then moved to 
No. 70; David Y. Kenyon, 1860 (?); Eugene Gates, 1880 (?).; Nothing 
now marks the site of this house, but it stood end to the road, east of 
the barn now standing, and was one story. 

66. From the knowledge at hand we believe the following record is fairly 

accurate. Mar. 29, 1803, Daniel Allen sold a lot about 40 rods north of 
the meeting house to John Norris on which a blacksmith shop was 
standing. From a later deed this lot was three rods on the highway 
and 6 rods deep. Capt. Simon Baxter obtained the land and building 
and sold to Rev. Perley Howe, Mar. 9, 1808. Priest Howe, as he was 
called, possibly built a dwelling house and sold to Daniel Ellis a 
"hatter." Sept. 9, 1816, Ellis sold the property, including "a hat shop" 
which he bought of Rev. Perley Howe, to Elijah Fuller a "trader." 
Dec. 2, 1836, Abijah Monroe sold to Jonathan Robinson, Jr. He re-sold 



296 History of Surry 

the same month to Dea. Ichabod Ballou, 18 square rods land and build- 
ings for $115.00. Ballou sold to widow Sarah Humphrey, July 2, 1840. 
Jonas Pollard was here 1845/6, and Benjamin C. Crosby between 1848 
and 1871. The house was torn down 1874 (?) and nothing now marks 
its site. 

67. This building, 22 x 32 feet was the old school house in the village accord- 

ing to those now living — see No. 60. Apr. 21, 1835, Ziba Chase sold an 
acre of land (10 x 16 rods) to Phinehas Wheelock who probably moved 
the school house here about that time. Phinehas gave S50.00 for the 
land and Sept. 14, in the same year sold to Samuel Robinson land and 
buildings for $165.00. In 1840, George Brown bought the place and in 
1869 the family sold to Mrs. Dolly Converse for §400.00. She sold to 
Benjamin C. Crosby, Nov. 2, 1871, and the property has since been in 
their hands, including some additional land. No one has lived there 
permanently for 20 years. Two families have occupied at same time. 

68. Josiah Kilburn drew this lot and sold to Abel Allen about 1762 who soon 

moved to town and lived on this farm until his death, 1808. Samuel 
Allen owned the farm prior to 1818. Capt. Thomas Humphrey bought 
about 1822, and in 1827 opened a tavern. After his death in 1832 his 
widow remained, running the tavern as late as 1836, and removed per- 
haps to No. 66 about 1840. John Johnson was here, 1841-42 and was 
postmaster; George Johnson, 1845-51; Rev. Joseph Allen; Bradley Brit- 
ton who divided the farm, taking the north part for himself — see No. 
71. Daniel Abbot came about 1859, being followed by Frank E. Nesmith 
who lived here most of time until Oct. 1922, when he removed to West- 
moreland Depot. Hermon 0. Streeter lived her 1868; Herbert R, Crane 
and Robert M. Crane, 1920-22, and probably others. 

Across the yard south of the house formerly stood a long driveway 
used when the tavern was in operation. This building was standing 
until after 1850. The present ell formerly ran north and south, cor- 
nering on the south-east corner of the house. On the top floor is the old 
ball-room, in which dances and singing schools were held many years 
ago. Before the Congregational church was built, services were held in 
this hall during 1837/8, and in 1848 (?) a brisk fire was burning on the 
roof of the house when men went into the garret with water, axes and 
bars, chopped and pried off" the roof boards thus saving the building. 

69. The site of a house near foot of Surry mountain. The spot has not been 

found by the writer, but said to have been 20 rods south of Lily pond 
brook and near the base of the mountain. Probably it is on L. 1, R. 8, 
drawn by Samuel Banning and sold to John Banning, 1768, then to 
Thomas Harvey. 

69%. In 1921 Stuart W. Green, a printer in Keene, erected a log house on 
this spot in which the family have lived to some extent during summer. 
It is well built and represents skill and labor. 

70. This probably was the south part of L. 2; R. 6, drawn by Noah Beebe 

and sold to Samuel Gilbert, Jr. (?), then to Levi Fuller. David Allen 
and Phinehas Allen lived here prior to 1850, then Mrs. Rachel Allen 



Residences 



297 



and her two dau. Rachel and Roxy. Harry D. Randall bought the place 
and in 1852 (?) made general repairs. The present ell was the old 
house and stood side to the road. Mr. R. turned it quarter way round, 
and purchased the old Dea. David Reed house at No. 140, tore it down 
and rebuilt it as the front portion of the house now standing at this 
place. He was a shoemaker and had his shop in his house. Rev. Joseph 




Residence uk Dr. W. H. Porter. No. 70. 

Allen was here short time, also Joseph Wright. In 1865 Dr. William 
H. Porter bought and settled here and it has since been owned by Dr. 
and Mrs. Porter and now by Kate H. Porter. 
The Post Office was in this house several years. 

71. Bradley Britton built and occupied this house in the summer of 1859 on 

the north end of farm No. 68. The timber came from the old Mansfield 
house which stood about a mile north of No. 140 in Alstead. Since the 
death of Mr. and Mrs. Britton, his son-in-law, Frank D. W. Carpenter 
has occupied the farm. 

71^. From the survey of the highway in 1772, 201 rods northward from the 
fence by No. 39 was "Mack's old hovel." The exact location is unknown, 
but probably stood near this number on map. 

72. Dr. Philip Monroe is believed to have lived here when he first came to 

town as early as 1783/4 and removed to No. 23, 1790. Abner Skinner 
sold to Rev. Perley Howe Oct. 13, 1797, 30 acres both sides of the high- 
way. Rev. Mr. Howe lived here until he built at No. 73, 1812. Apr, 10, 
1835, he sold to Jonathan Harvey, Jr., his son-in-law, stipulating, that 
himself and wife should be provided for through life. The house stood 
near an elm tree south-east of No. 73 and was removed prior to 1835, 
and now, nothing marks its site. With the meager salary which Mr. 
Howe received from the town, which was seldom paid when due, it was 
necessary for him to till his farm in order to suppoi't his family. 

73. Rev. Perley Howe built this house, 1812 and lived here until death, 1840. 

Jonathan Harvey, Jr., lived here after about 1835 until his death, 1862, 



-98 History of Surry 

then it fell to Persis Harvey and has since been owned by members of 
that family. James E. Harvey moved here Apr. 1919. Among those 
who have rented and lived here during the last 50 years are the follow- 
ing: George W. Britton, 1873; William H. Wright; George W. Field, 
1880; Henry L. Wilbur for about 20 years; Jedd R. Wilder; George N. 
Conley; Rev. Henry S. Kimball; Arthur E. Salley. About 1873, the 
lightning struck the buildings and killed several small pigs. 




No. 73 AND No. 76. 

74. A few rods south of No. 75 and quite near the highway Elijah Norris had 

a blacksmith shop, 1821. He sold that year to Francis Hathorn. Noth- 
ing now marks its site; by whom and when bviilt is unknown. 

75. On the spot whei-e Hollis W. Harvey now has an ice house stood a small 

one story dwelling until torn down by George K. Harvey after 1862. 
It stood side to the highway; old and weatherbeaten. A few acres of 
land where it stood was severed from No. 76 and reunited as will be 
noted. There is little doubt that this is where Job Gleason was living, 
when the road was laid out June 1, 1765. Tradition says Justus Chapin 
was living here when his dau. Betty was born, 1777. In 1808 John Hill 
occupied the place; Elijah Norris, 1821, when he ran the shop No. 74, 
then Francis Hathorn. Asa Wilcox the Rev. soldier came 1836 and died, 
1840; Benjamin C. Crosby, 1849; Mrs. Ruhannah (Benton) Davis; 
Catherine (Kate) Tyler bought 1840 and sold to Jonathan Harvey, Apr. 
17, 1862. Chandler Wilbur, Sr., 1856-57 and John A. Gushing. Dean 
Tyler also lived here several years about 1845/50 (?) A sumptuous 
dinner was served at a marriage in this house, Aug. 16, 1857. The good 
parson remained to the feast, and commended the mistress on the lainb 



Residences 299 

and her cookery. This pleased one of the younger boys who stuttered, 
"It was nothing but a wo-o-o-odchuck." The barn connected with this 
place formerly stood across the Dort road several rods north of the 
house. 

76. Samuel Gilbert drew this lot — R. 6; L. 3 — with other land. Joshua Ful- 

ler settled here about 1764 and sold to his son Levi, May 12, 1783. Aug. 
3, 1821, Levi Fuller sold (mortgage) to Dan Hough of Keene. June 13, 
1823, Augustus Johnson bought — 190 acres. Mar. 25, 1834, John Wait 
advertised this farm for sale. Seth Morton, Samuel Hartwell of Lang- 
don and his son E. Holbrook Hartwell bought. The latter sold to Jona- 
than Harvey, Jr., Mar. 25, 1852 and soon after Jonathan Sr., and his 
dau., Mrs. Nancy B. Whitman, moved hither. Hon. George K. Harvey 
took over the property about time of his marriage and his widow and 
children still reside there. The old Fuller house was a large two story 
dwelling; had a dance hall. In 1811 Levi Fuller took out a tavern li- 
cense and for some years this was a public house. George K. Harvey 
tore the old house down and built present one, 1863. At the raising the 
townsmen all took part, and, Mr. Harvey who was a strong temperance 
man, furnished a generous supply of lemonade. The next morning the 
village doctor was in the store and told the merchant he and one other 
man drank more of Harvey's lemonade than any other two men — "I 
drank one glass and Jim Stuart drank 13." Mr. G. K. Harvey built 
present barn, 1874. 

Lewis L. Cotton lived here a short time. 

77. A building stood here many years ago in which potash was made; 1878 

(?), George K. Harvey put in a water wheel on Fuller brook where he 
cut up his fire wood for several years, and also had his sugar house 
here. The building went to decay and fell during a high wind, 1914. 

78. In the house lot and north of No. 76 can still be seen a few foundation 

stones near the corner of the wall which marks the site of Elijah Fuller's 
store, opened as early as 1814. He and William Baxter were "traders" 
here in 1820, at which time Fuller appears to have suddenly left town. 

79. The site of a house which stood near the foot of the mountain in early 

times. Who built and occupied this spot has not been discovered, but 
the site can still be found by a few acquainted with the land. It ap- 
pears to have been a part of the farm Joshua Fuller sold his son, Levi, 
May 12, 1783. A few old apple trees mark the tillage. 

80. This is the north 40 acres of Joshua Fuller's home place, which he sold 

to Levi May 12, 1783. Lewis Carpenter is said to have lived here. 
Augustus Johnson bought and sold to John Wait, 1829, and apparently 
he bought back the property Dec. 25, 1843, then sold to his son Charles 
Aug, 15, 1854. John Johnson bought farm Apr. 16, 1870 and soon after 
hot ashes placed in a barrel caused a fire which destroyed the old house. 
John built the present one that year on the old site. Myron H. Porter 
the present owner bought of the Johnson heirs, and Clarence H. French, 
his son-in-law, has also lived there since, 1913. 



300 History of Surry 

81. The first house here was moved intact from No. 87, about 1858 by Andrew 

J. Allen; 62 pair of oxen, all belonging in town, were used at its mov- 
ing. Allen moved to Keene in 1861, Alanson D. Comstock buying the 
property. Bradley Britton lived here Apr.-Nov. 1859 while building his 
new house at No. 71. John H. Rogers came in the spring of 1862; his 
(1) wife died, 1863; during a high wind one night about that time the 
roof on one side of the house was taken off, exposing the chambers where 
his children were sleeping, but no one was injured. Geoi-ge W. Britton 
here; John Johnson, 1870, after his fire at No. 80; George Wright, 1871. 
Dr. W. H. Porter bought property 1876 in connection with his farm at 
No. 70, and it has since been owned by Myron H. Porter. The old house 
was occupied by Joseph Palmer, Lewis Buchard, and possibly other wood 
choppers prior to 1890; went to decay, and torn down by Mr. Porter, 
1893 (?), one of the barns has remained. Henry P. Porter received the 
land and on the old house-site erected a new dwelling into which he 
moved from No. 64 Oct. 1921. 

82. The site of this house marked by a depression in the ground can still be 

seen in the field on top of the knoll, and not far from a spring of water. 
The house has been gone over 80 years and we know but little regarding 
its history. One member of the Skinner family lived on or near this 
place, 1772. Oren Shelley was living here about 1835. Tradition says 
the material in this house was used in erecting some of the buildings at 
No. 96. 

83. We believe this was R. 6, L. 4, drawn by Jonathan Smith, Jr., and sold 

to Abner Skinner, Sept. 3, 1770, who was living here, 1772. A complete 
list of those owning this property and living here is not at hand. Jona- 
than Harvey, Sr., moved from No. 172 and opened a tavern, 1817; Levi 
Willard, 1823 (?); Isaiah Robbins and John Allen ran the stand, 1830 
to '35 (?) ; Sylvester Pond here about that time; Bradley Britton prior 
to 1850; Marshall B. Britton who swapped farms with Samuel H. 
Poole (No. 62); Willard Mansfield prior to his death, 1854; James 
Stuart, 1863; George C. Hubbard, 1868; Frank D. Griswold owned it 
a while; Henry L. Wilber; Mason A. Carpenter at time Mr. Poole lived 
here, 1876; Francis A. Bolster several years prior to his death, also 
Charles L. Kimmens his son-in-law; Earl Goff; Charles S. Payne; 
Archie G. Wilder; Otis W. and Fred E. Kingsbury; Melvin B. Guillow 
two (?) years, and died 1916; George Malcolm came Sept. 1916. 
Luther Guillow said to have also lived on this farm a short time. 

84. Samuel H. Pool, 1870, built a blacksmith shop which stood until after 

his death, then moved to No. 45 and made into a shop where trays were 
made, and in 1918 was again moved and is now a bai-n at No. 33. 

85. Eliphalet Dart was living on or near this spot in 1766, then his son Eli 

the town clerk many years, then Capt. Eliphalet Dort came from No. 
98, was here till his death in 1869. William L. and Otis W. Kingsbury 
from 1872/3 till Otis moved to No. 83. One winter there was an ice jam 
in the river and the overflow surrounded the buildings for two days; the 
cattle in the barn stood in over a foot of water one night while Mr. 
Kingsbury was a prisoner in his house bewailing the loss of his pork 



Residences 301 

and potatoes. Augustus Kingsbury was here about 1843; W. Henry 
Kingsbury a year, 1867; and Sidney J. Wilder soon after 1902 (?). 
Several lived on the place between 1904 and 1910, Clifton Chambers, 
Mrs. Melvina Durant, Will Davis and Will Rollins. Victor Lamminen 
bought and settled here Dec. 1910. The old Dort house which stood till 
torn down, 1915, was 32 x 45 feet square one story, with attic chambers; 
a great chimney, the size in the cellar was 14 x 16 feet; had old Dutch 
oven; two fire-places, up and down stairs. 

Mr. Lamminen built on the old site his present dwelling, summer 
1915. 

86. Capt. Eliphalet Dort had his wheelright shop on this spot, 1850. He not 

only made carriages, sleighs and general woodwork, but made most of 
the coffins used in town for many years, for which he received from 
$1.50 to $5.00 each. The site of this shop is obliterated. 

87. Nothing now marks the site of this house which was moved to No. 81, 

about 1858. It stood in the field as indicated on the map. According to 
the records, Ichabod Smith, 1766, was probably living here; in Jan. 1799 
Moses Haselton bought and he sold to Jeremiah Robbins, 1808. 1831, 
it was called the Oliver Fox place, and in 1832, George (Jacket) Blake 
was here. Otis Phillips, 1845-6, then Chandler Wilbur. In 1857, Rev. 
Abram Tileston came here; was a farmer during the week and a preach- 
er on the Sabbath. 

88. This house said to have been erected for a tavern not far from 1800, at 

which time the highway ran near the west end of the house, but it was 
never opened to the public. The early history is not fully established; 
however, we give a possible key to the situation. Joseph Spencer drew 
L. 5; R. 6, and sold 40 acres to Ebenezer Daniels Mar. 6, 1770 with build- 
ings, and the south 10 acres of said lot to Jonathan Smith, Jr. Smith 
sold same year to Abner Skinner who probably built here, and making 
additions to his 10 acre farm. A widow Smith lived here, 1822; George 
Blake and his son, Francis W., between 1840 and 1850; Rev. Joseph 
Allen; John A. Gushing; John Kingsbury who sold Feb. 1885. W. Wal- 
lace Wilcox owned the place and had general repairs made, 1888, then 
George H. Wilcox bought property. Since 1907, James V. Stillings has 
lived here. William Hubbard and wife lived here, 1850, at same time 
as George Blake; Charles L. Smith, Dec. 1884 to Dec. 1887; Francis F. 
Field and others. 

89. Nothing above ground has marked the site of this dwelling for over 60 

years, except a clump of shrubbery, but when the land is tilled the old 
site can still be found. We believe this was on the 40 acres which 
Joseph Spencer sold to Ebenezer Daniels, Mar. 6, 1770, as noted under 
No. 88. Buildings were on this land when Daniels bought. He sold Aug. 
5, 1785 to Abner Skinner, 40 acres. Sept. 14, 1797, Skinner to John 
Wilcox and he sold to Gaylord Wilcox Jan. 15, 1798. Between 1825 and 
1830 Cyrus Bemis, who married Elmina Wilcox, lived here. 

90. A cellar hole in the open pasture plainly marks the site of this house. 

Samuel Gilbert, Esq., drew L. 5; R. 5, and sold to Clement Sumner. 



302 History of Surry 

June 12, 1773, Obadiah Wilcox bought and is supposed to have built on 
this site as on Mar. 3, 1784, he sold to John Wilcox the south half with 
half of the buildings. Jan. 3, 1788, Obadiah sold the north half and the 
place "whei'e I now live" to John, who sold to Gaylord Wilcox, Jan. 15, 
1798 — only three days before his death. This "Obadiah" perhaps refers 
to Obadiah Jr. The land has been a part of the Wilcox homestead for 
many years. Thomas Field a blacksmith of Keene and Rev. soldier 
came into town about 1793 and is said to have lived here a year or two. 

91. This cellar hole is near two large sugar maple trees, in the open pasture 

and is possibly the "north half" of the lot which Obadiah Wilcox re- 
tained, Mar. 3, 1784, as noted under No. 90, We suspect he built and 
this was the place "where I now live" when he sold this land to John 
Wilcox, Jan. 3, 1788. This also is a part of the Wilcox homestead. 

92. Hollis Wilcox built a cider mill here about 1830 which stood 25 or 30 

years. It stood in the bank near the highway, where the new entrance 
to this set of buildings was built, 1919. 

93. Obadiah Wilcox settled here about 1764, according to Gilsum History, 

page 176, and tradition. Evidently the property fell to Gaylord Wilcox 
who built the present two-story house, 1815, and after his death his son 
Hollis took over the farm, then George H. Wilcox held an interest. Oct. 
19, 1886, W. Wallace Wilcox of Chicago bought the old homestead and 
soon after made extensive repairs on house, and rebuilt present barns. 
Mrs. Wilcox continues to own property; leasing the same. Charles C. 
Olmstead 1887 until about about 1900; Sidney J. Wilder, 1900-1920, 
when George B. Conley came. The old highway up the valley ran 
northward on the east side of this house. After the present highway 
was built a short road descended to the house then ascended a steep 
pitch to the highway. Remains can still be seen of the old road-bed. 

Tradition says a man rolled a hogshead of molasses up the north hill 
on a wager many years ago. By removing all the small stones from the 
path he "boosted the cask forward a few inches" then blocked up with 
cobble stones until he finally won the goal. 

94. Early in 1880 a boarding house 18 x 40 feet, two story high was erected 

by the Granite State Gold and Silver Mining Co., on the west side and 
fairly near the top of Surry mountain, only a few rods west of the 
shaft the company sank that spring. This building was in use only a 
few months when work was begun on the "Gilsum side" of the mountain 
and buildings were erected there. A Mrs. Lowell ran this house. The 
building was in plain sight of Surry village; torn down about 1892. 
100 (?) rods south-east of this place and on top of the mountain a log 
cabin was built, 1894, where choppers lived a year or two — see map. 
The Mining Co. buildings on the Gilsum side of the mountain were built, 
1880 and later, and stood some 20 years, most of them went to decay. 
There were two boarding houses, a smelter, blacksmith shop, etc. 

95. Levi Brooks had a wheelright shop in his yard where he worked many 

years prior to his death, 1853. Nothing now marks its site. 



Residences 



303 



96. After the death of Gaylord Wilcox this part of his estate was sold at 

auction to Asa Wilcox, Jr., who erected a distillery for making cider 
brandy. The malt-house stood near a spring a few rods northwesterly 
of the present buildings, until after 1828 and is understood to have been 
moved and is now the barn on the place. 1820, Asa sold to Jonathan 
Robinson, Jr., 5 acres; Mar. 26, 1828, Levi Brooks bought property. 
Many have owned or lived here in the last 70 years. Lorenzo Haskins, 
1879; John H. Knight; Merrill D. Carpenter, 1883; Isaiah Brooks sold, 
1887, to Susan K. Perkins. Cornelia F. Forbes held an interest. Bertha 
P. Paul bought and sold to Otis W. Kingsbury who moved here from 
No. 83. He sold to Fred A. Nason who came here 1917; after his death 
his widow sold to Clifford L. Sturtevant of Keene, and he sold Sept. 
1922, to Horace W. Howard who moved in from Gilsum. Fred B. 
Marshall also lived here at one time. 

97. A 20 X 20 foot wheelwright shop was bought of Asa Wilcox, Jr., in 1823 

by Capt. Eliphalet Dort, who retained the shop when in 1830 he sold 
adjacent property connected with the toll-gate. This shop stood as 
shown on map; east side of highway and quite near the gate. 

98. In 1805 the Cheshire Turnpike from Keene to Charlestown was con- 

structed and not long after the company bought a plot of land 8 x 10 
rods from off the Wilcox farm and this dwelling with the toll-gate was 
erected; exact date unknown.- In 1830 there was a dwelling house on 
the west side of the highway, connecting a shoemaking shop on the east 



'"{. ■' ■ 
















* ," ■ -. ■*.■■■■ 


1 












0^ 


i^ ' ■"■» 


jKt^fSI^B 


\^ 




m 



Site of The Toll Gate. 

side by an open driveway in which the gate was hung, and near the 
shop was a store. In 1839 we find the following buildings clustered 
around this gate: In the west side of the road, a dwelling house where 
the toll gatherer lived, cheese house, barn, woodshed and pigpen; on east 
side, a shoeshop, store and wheelwright shop. About 1842 the taking 



304 History of Surry 

of toll was discontinued and Jason Wetherbee of Charlestown sold his 
interest in this property to Solomon Caswell, Oct. 18, 1842. The build- 
ings on east side and the gate house were removed about that time, 
while the house and barn remained. Miss Forbes sold the house to C. 
D. Fitzgerald who tore it down Sept. 1898, and the barn was also re- 
moved about that time and now only a sag in the ground marks the old 
cellar hole. Aaron Loveland was gate keeper, 1811-13 and was licensed 
"to sell and mix." Eliphalet Dort sold the property to Elihu Dort Apr. 
6, 1827. 1829, Capt. Elihu sold to Henry Britton. Capt. Charles John- 
son here 1833-39; Solomon Caswell, 1839-42; Aaron Denio, 1842-44; 
Lewis Carpenter, 1844-53; Asa B. Clark, 1853-54; Hiram Britton 2d, 
1854 till his death then his widow and Daniel F. Caldwell several years, 
they being the last occupants. Mrs. Ruhannah (Benton) Davis was 
living here at her death, 1864; Ernest W. Carpenter, Rev. Joseph Faw- 
cett and others lived here. Susan K. Perkins or Cornelia F. Forbes 
bought and joined this property to No. 96. 

99. Site of the store east of the shoe shop connected to the toll gate. Was 

moved off this land before 1845; material said to have been used in 
building the house at No. 111. 

100. 1856 (?), Curtis C. Carpenter bought an acre of land and moved this 
house to this spot from No. 101. May 12, 1871, he sold the property to 
I. Sumner Wilder and he sold to Willard Streeter. 1873 Willard con- 
veyed same to his son, Herman, who made additions to farm and build- 
ings and lived there until his death. His widow, Hattie, sold the prop- 
erty to James M. Erwin, Sept. 1921, who still owns same, and has Frank 
French there as manager. 

101. Mar. 27, 1832, Jonathan Robinson, Jr., bought the old James Kingsbury 
house at No. 141, tore it down and rebuilt on this site, a house where 
his aged father lived and died, 1838, a Rev. soldier, and a much re- 
spected citizen. John A. Cushing and probably others, then Curtis C. 
Carpenter who moved the house to No. 100, as noted. 

102. Josiah Kilburn drew L. 6; R. 5, and sold to Ebenezer Kilburn, and he 
sold Aug. 2, 1765, to Moses D. Field who settled here and this was in 
the Field family until, Jonathan Robinson, Sr. and Jr., bought Dec. 28, 
1824. Isaac Field had a tavern in the old house, 1809, Eliphaz Field 
lived here until he moved to No. 8, 1821, then Cyrus Field had interest. 
Robinson sold to Willard Streeter, Mar. 1853, who moved from No. 159 
and here he spent his remaining days, then his widow till her death 
1888. Daniel Wilder bought and his son, Sidney J., was here until a 
fire destroyed all this set of buildings, Aug. 21, 1900, caused by fire in 
an arch in the shed. A second fire destroyed a small barn on the place, 
about 1904. Antonio LaBounty bought and built present house. June, 
1910, Allen L. Green bought and settled here. Fred A. Wright lived 
here, 1888, Bethuel J. Davis, 1865 (?), and in the new house, Clifton 
Chambers, John H. Ocain, James M. Erwin, summer, 1922. Eliphaz 
Field & Isaac Field kept tavern, 1811. There was a large driveway 
which stood in the door yard, and the bar room was in the south east 
corner of the old house. 



Residences 305 

103. June 12, 1812, Isaac and Eliphaz Field sold to Asa Wilcox, Jr., two 
acres off their farm for $100.00; bounded, east of Cheshire Turnpike 
road, and north on the Carpenter road. Mr. Wilcox erected the house 
and sold property to John T. Wilcox and Cyrus Field, Sept. 1813, for 
$200.00. Asa Wilcox took property back and sold again same day to 
Willard Smith for $500.00. After death of Willard the property was 
sold, Mar. 16, 1826, at auction to Dr. Jonathan E. Davis. 1828, Dr. Davis 
sold to Jonathan Robinson, Jr. Feb. 1829, Willard Carpenter bought 
for S250.00 and sold 1838 to Henry (Harry) Britton who moved here 
from No. 140. 1862, I. Sumner Wilder bought, then Daniel Wilder had 




Residence of Willard Streeter. No. 102. 

property and lived here most of time till he removed to Keene, 1900. 
Henry E, Lake of Keene bought and sold to Frederick Kamp who still 
holds claim on the farm. Leon M. Osborne was here, 1896-98; Henry 
Blake, John Richardson, the Lavinder (?) bros.; Evart E. Peterson, 
Frank E. Pomroy, etc. 

104. Sumner Wilder built this house about 1865, and John A. Blake lived 
here a while. John P. Gay, 1870; George Wright, 1876; James Selkirk; 
Walter R. Scripture; John Sewall; a widow Smith; Wesley Blake; Dan- 
iel Bunker; Calvin D. Fitzgerald; Fred Roundy; Daniel Wilder when 
he first came to town; Dana D. Wilder, etc. Herbert R. Crane bought 
and had the house moved to No. 49 whei-e enlarged it now stands. 

105. Apr. 11, 1785, it was voted to build a school house "on the Great Road 
and near the road that runs West to Jedediah Carpenter's"; said house 
to be raised "by the first Day of July next." This was the first school 
building north of the village, and doubtless stood at the spot as shown 
on map. After being given up for school purposes the town considered 
taking it for "a poor house." 

106. John Mack drew L. 7; R. 5, and sold to Samuel Gilbert, 1763. He sold 
to Jonathan Smith, then Thomas Smith was here, 1771. Samuel Sawyer 
a goldsmith of Alstead came 1794 and remained until his death, 1812. 
He had his plating shop at No, 107. About that time plates for making 



20 



306 



History of Surry 




Perkins Homestead. No. 106. 



Residences 307 

counterfeit money were discovered under the bridge near his house, 
but we understand no one was arrested. Thomas Wheelock of Win- 
chester had a claim on place, 1823, and he sold, Apr. 1, 1824, to John 
Haile, the father of Hon. William Haile, governor of New Hampshire, 
1857-58. Mr. Haile sold Jan. 23, 1828, to Joseph Allen who lived here 
till 1839 when he sold to Enoch Whitcomb and moved to No. 48. Enoch 
lived here till his death, 1841, then his son David had the place until 
1854. Esq. Sylvester Smith came here from No, 164 about 1855. 
William Perkins moved here from No. 155, 1858, and the place has since 
been owned by the Perkins family — Charles H., C. Wallace and now his 
widow. William Perkins made numerous repairs on the house and built 
the barn by the road, 1859, of material from the buildings on his hill 
place. 

Two families have at the same time frequently lived in this house: 
Those here, John T. Wilcox, 1815; Sumner W. Black, 1856; Artemas A. 
Adams, 1853; Noah Allen, 1883; and Henry L. Wilbur was here and 
carried on the farm two years. 

July 7, 1794, Moses Hale surveyed the Streeter road, "from Mr. 
Thomas Smiths to Walpole line .... began at a Stake & Stones on 
the County Road Near Sd Smiths Barn" and ran westward. 

107. But little now marks the site of a house which stood until 1855. 
Samuel Sawyer had his plating shop here, later it was made into a 
dwelling and Mrs. Phinehas Wheelock lived in it; Mrs. Sarah (Reed) 
Wright, the grandmother of the late Dr. George W. Gay; also Mrs. 
Ruhannah (Rheuhannah) Benton Davis in her old age. The building 
finally was moved and made into a sugar house by William Perkins. 

108. Dr. James H. Bradford was living at this place, 1821; in 1824 it was 
called the widow Ralston place. Adoniram Benton here at one time. 
1847, Daniel H. Chase of Cornish, N. H. held an interest. Franklin B. 
Benton the blacksmith was here 1849, and Lewis L. Cotton bought that 
year and soon after made extensive repairs on the house. The old house 
stood side to the road and across the driveway 25 feet south of where it 
now stands. Mr. Cotton turned it V^ around wifh end to road as it now 
stands. He sold Oct. 12, 1851, to Charles D. Reed of Philadelphia who 
bought it for a home for his aged parents upon their return from the 
state of Illinois. After their death Newton Reed had the place during 
his life and now (1923) it is owned by his widow. 

109. Nothing now marks the site of Franklin B. Benton's blacksmith shop 
which stood between the traveled highway and the wall a few rods north 
of the driveway to No. 108. What became of it is unknown. There was 
a blacksmith shop standing on the east side of the highway, several rods 
farther to the south in 1794, at No. 1081/2. 

110. John Starling appears drew this land and sold 1771 to Aaron Chapin 
who built here soon after. June 24, 1776, he sold to Hiram Chapin who 
died, 1783, then the family sold a part interest in this and the mill to 
Capt. Simon Baxter, 1786. 1832, John Stevens was living here; Almond 
Stevens; Joshua D. Blake; Asa Griffin, 1838 (?); Franklin B. Benton, 
1844 (?); Willard Carpenter, 1857; one of the Caswell family, a Mr. 



308 



History of Surry 



Whitcomb and others, prior to 1860 when the house was torn down. The 
old road originally ran past this house. This house was built after 
the style of the old one at No. 12 and similar to the well known Pres. 
Adams' houses in Quincy, Mass.; two story on east front, with a long 
roof and one story on west side, surmounted by a short big chimney. 

By the highway near this place, John P. Gay started to erect a house, 
1871, and while excavating struck a ledge and gave up the project. 

111. This house now in a dilapidated condition was built from material from 
No. S9, about 1843, at the time Caswell & Carpenter owned the mill, 
No. 112. Alfred Caswell built and moved here from No. 110, with him 
lived Charles Carpenter and family. This dwelling has been bought and 
sold with the mill, and is known as "the mill house." Some of those liv- 
ing here and working in the mill were : Davis Carpenter when first 
married; Willard Carpenter, 1855 (?); George H. Carpenter; Harrison 
N. Scripture, 1865-1876; Horace W. Howard, 1876; Walter R. Scrip- 
ture; Oscar Blake; Newell; Perry; Charles Hill, 

etc. Since 1900 (?) the house has been unoccupied. 

112. The North Saw Mill was built on land Aaron Chapin bought of John 
Starling in 1771. He built that year a saw and grist mill on this spot; 
the first erected on Ashuelot river above Keene. In 1776 he sold to his 
son, Hiram Chapin, and they were known in early times as "Chapin's 
mills." After the death of Hiram in 1783, the family sold part interest 




Scripture's Mill. No. 112. 



to Capt. Simon Baxter in 1786, and Sept. 18, 1789, Capt. Baxter bought 
balance of property; in due course of time they were known all about 
these parts as "Baxter's mills." 1800-02, Samuel Jewett was in com- 
pany with Capt. Baxter; John Stevens, 1813-15. Also Samuel Parker 



Residences 309 

and Aaron Davis was interested, 1795-98. 1827, William Baxter sold to 
Joseph Whitcomb, Jr., of Grafton, Vt. Sept. 13, 1828, John Stevens 
bought the mills, and from then till 1866 the following owned or ran the 
mills: Francis Holbrook; Joshua D. Blake, 1838 (?); George W. Hol- 
brook; Clement S. Dickey of Walpole; Willard Carpenter, 1852; George 
H. Carpenter; Justus Fisher of Nelson; Caswell & Carpenter, 1843-48 
(?); Osborne & Hale of Keene; Oscar B. Blake, etc. 1865, Harrison 
N. Scripture in company with Oscar B. Blake bought and ran the mills, 
then Mr. Scripture and John P. Gay, 1868-72, and finally Mr. S. alone 
about 30 years. The first mill, or mills here stood until 1803/4, as we 
find no property was taxed in 1804; the second mill stood until a great 
freshet Jan. 1841, when most of it was carried away. The late Wharton 
Wilcox told the writer that when a small lad all the neighbors went to 
the old mill, Willard Carpenter having entered was called out, and when 
"all was ready a man stepped forward and with one blow from an axe, 
down came the old mill all in a heap." On its site a new one was built 
which Mr. Scripture tore down, 1880; soon after he built the 4th mill 
here, which stood until 1919, when it crushed in from a heavy fall of 
snow, a part of the foundation having previously been swept away by 
ice. This being by far the best mill privilege in town, business was 
prosperous and in a flourishing condition most of the time between 1841 
and 1900. Caswell & Carpenter made rakes, bobbing, etc., beside the 
sawing and grinding. Osborne & Hale got out chair stock for their 
shops in Keene; clothespin machinery was installed and many thousand 
were made and shipped; Mr. Scripture did sawing and grinding, got out 
shingle, bucket staves and rough lumber, employment was given to 
several hands, and often the road side would be lined with stacked lum- 
ber for many rods south of the mill. Until 1880 all the logs were sawed 
by an up-and-down saw. In a deed, 1863, the mill was equipped with 
3 bench saws, one three ft. chairback saw, one guzzer saw, three turning 
lathes and a machine for splitting bobbins, aside from other mill ma- 
chinery. 

112%. Francis T. Crafts built a cabin here 1916, in which he lived during 
summers for a few years; building still standing, 1923. 

113. Site of the school house built 1792 (?) and removed in 1854 to No. 45. 
It stood side to the road, had a four-way pitch roof and ridge, with a 
door at the north-east corner. Horace B. Shaw on the same site built 
a sugar house which stood until 1920 (?). 

114. When the present school house was erected, 1854, Mr. Shaw was willing 
to give land if built near No. 117, but when the district insisted on 
placing it here he charged them for the land. 

115. In 1876, Harrison N. Scripture built this set of buildings, now owned by 
his son, Harrie E. 

116. We believe Thomas Sumner drew this 50 acre lot (R. 6; L. 9) and sold 
to Samuel Gilbert, July 14, 1768, and he sold to Joel White, 1771. Elijah 
Benton bought, 1772, and sold half of lot to Abijah Benton, 1774. Eli- 
jah sold balance of lot "where I now live" to Dr. Gideon Tiffany of 



310 



History of Surry 



Keene, Mar. 3, 1774, then Alexander Ralston bought and sold to John 
Hitchcock, 1780; in 1783 John sold to Jesse Wilcox. The above records 
we believe must apply to at least a portion on this farm. 

1783 (?) Simon Baxter came from East Alstead and settled here. 
After his death, Esq. David Shaw, his son-in-law, had the place and 
this became known as "Shaw's Corner." After death of Esq. Shaw his 
son, Horace B., had the old homestead, then his dau, Emogene Shaw, 
who was here until Nov. 9, 1902, when a fire destroyed house, shed and 
barn. Capt. Simon Baxter opened a tavern hei-e, 1796, and in the 2nd 
story was a room where the Masonic body held meetings for several 




Baxter-Shaw Homestead. No. 116. 

years. Judge Elijah Knight is said to have kept hotel here a short 
time, after removing from No. 135. David D. Roundy also lived here. 
116 1/^. This is a summer camp used by David D. Roundy and others, 1900- 
1915 (?). 

117. Near this spot a cellar hole was to be seen 50 years ago but it has 
now entirely disappeared; who lived here has thus far not been fully 
established, however, a Mr. Cheney was living not far from this spot 
in 1772 and John Hitchcock in 1783, as noted under No. 116. Near here 
brick can still be seen, said to have been in a blacksmith shop long since 
disappeared. 

118. This was the old Butler place, nothing now marks its site. About 1800, 
Joseph or Rufus Butler was probably here, both being in town that year 
A Mr. Kelley was living here prior to 1835. The large boulder nearly 
opposite the Butler house was known as "Butler's rock" from 1810 till 
after 1860 when geologists informed us that it came here during the 
glacial period from Ascutney mountain in Vermont", so it was renamed 
"Ascutney Boulder." 



Residences 311 

119. George Wilcox bought a small lot and 1831 built this house in which he 
and his wives spent their remaining days. Capt. Asa Wilcox, Jr., also 
died here, 1869. After the death of Mrs. Christianna R. Wilcox, Fran- 
cis Field lived here, then Charles Pierce, 1909; Casper Smith, 1914; 
June, 1914, Lewis C. Buntlin bought and remained till Oct. 1, 1918. 
Melville C. Lewis here 1922. A few rods north of this house formerly 
stood a building for "dressing cloth" at the time the Fulling mill was in 
operation, while to the west is a hill some 50 feet in height of peculiar 
formation, known as "hog-back-hill." 

120. Aug. 3, 1790, Capt. Simon Baxter sold land with water flowage to Calvin 
Holmes of Chesterfield, a clothier who soon erected a "fulling milF' on 
this spot. The mill was in operation for over 35 years, and an excellent 
quality of cashmere was made under the proprietorship of several men. 
1798 Holmes sold to Jonathan Ingalls for $560.67, who also bought land 
on west side of road where the building for dressing cloth was carried 
on, and later, spinning was done. He sold in 1801 to Joseph Ingalls and 
the latter sold May 29, 1807, to Jonathan Locke a house, barn, clothing 
works and 2y2 acres land. Locke sold to Thomas Willson, 1813, and two 
years later he conveyed half the business to Jonathan Webster. Ralph 
E. Smith, Benjamin E. Webster, Capt. Simon Baxter, Josiah Knight, 
Asa Wentworth, James H. Bingham all held an interest in this prop- 
erty until 1829, when Asa Wilcox, Jr., bought it and turned it into a 
carriage shop. His son George took over the business, 1831, and finally 
C. Wharton Wilcox continued the same until 1890. George gave em- 
ployment for two or three men much of the time, building express 
wagons, gigs, sleds and general wheelwright work. In his mill he had 
a wood undershot water-wheel which furnished sufficient power for 
several machines. While building his house. No. 119, he lived in the 
top story of his mill. The shop was sold and torn down, Sept. 1919. 

121. A dwelling house stood above and not far from the fulling mill from 
1795 (?) until 1863 when Mr. Shaw tore it down and rebuilt at No. 113 
for a sugar house; nothing now marks its site. In several of the early 
deeds the fulling mill and this house were bought and sold as one prop- 
erty. The following have lived here: Calvin Holmes, 1795; Jonathan 
and Joseph Ingalls; Locke; Willson; Webster; R. E. Smith; Capt. Asa 
Wilcox, Jr., and Josiah Knight. Willard Streeter, 1841; Timothy Isham, 
1848; Davis Carpenter bought May 6, 1856, and sold to Calvin Randall, 
Apr. 26, 1862. Jerry Britt and Mrs. Sally (Reed) Gay for short periods. 

122. Tradition says this house stood very near the highway and was re- 
moved, 1850 (?). From what can be discovered we believe the follow- 
ing record is reliable: Eliphalet Young drew L. 10; R. 6, and sold to 
Jonathan Reed who settled here. May 20, 1784, Reed sold a part of the 
lot to Thomas Darte, Jr., and Darte sold to Joseph Lee prior to 1787. In 
a town meeting. Mar. 5, 1787, voted; to let the house Thomas Darte, Jr. 
sold to Joseph Lee remain where it now stands so long as it shall re- 
main a dv/elling house. Mr. Lee removed from town before 1790, and 
James Humphi-ey came, then Calvin Holmes; Asa Wilcox, Sr., sold to 
Asa Griffin Feb. 29, 1796, then Erastus Benton came, he being followed 



312 History of Surry 

by David Kent, 1807; John T. Wilcox, 1810; Theodorus Monroe; Calvin 
Brown and Reuben Brown. Bradford Britton, 1848 (?); Mrs. Ann 
Wheelock; William Burgess, etc. 

123. 1825, Benjamin E. Webster sold a small plot of land to Josiah Knight, 
blacksmith who erected a shop here which was in use a few years by 
himself, then by Capt, Francis Holbrook who ran it in connection with 
his tavern. It stood in the bank quite near the wheeltrack and nothing 
marks its former site. In 1797-98, Erastus Benton had a blacksmith 
shop in this vicinity — possibly on this spot. 

124. Asa Wilcox, Sr., owned this land before 1800, he built the first house 
here; 1809 Asa Griffin was here; James Hatch, 1810 until 1836 when 
George Blake bought. 1843, he sold to Henry B. Blake, who built the 
west front portion of this house a few years later. Francis F. Field 
owned the place, 1887 (?), Charles Wharton Wilcox bought in 1900 and 
since his death, Mrs. Wilcox has retained the property. The following 
have owned or lived on this place: Marvin Bigelow a blacksmith, 1840 

(?); Clark; J. Langdon Britton; George W. Holbrook; Henry 

D. Spaulding prior to his leaving for the Civil war; Mrs. Bethuel J. 
Davis and Mrs. Kenney, all during the war; George H. Wilcox; Horace 
W. Howard, 1876; Mrs. Frank 0. Pierce and Frank P. Webster, 1876- 
88; Daniel Bunker; Nicholas Vincellette; then C. W. Wilcox. Apr. 1922, 
Ernest W. Ball moved here from No. 151. 

125. Capt. Francis Holbrook said to have built this house, 1830. Capt. Asa 
Wilcox lived here many years prior to 1864, then John A. Wilcox. 
Daniel Hodgkins bought and lived here while building his new dwelling 
at No. 132. Charles A. Britton lived here or at No. 124 in 1873; Joseph 
Blanchard, 1885 (?); Nicholas Vincellette; John W. Conley, 1891; Her- 
bert M. Webster, 1892-95. In 1905-6 it was owned by Rodney Fisher 
who sold to Charles H. Hodgkins, Leon A. Hodgkins being the last oc- 
cupant. Apr. 14, 1915, fire started in the barn which destroyed all the 
buildings. 

126. Of all the places in the north part of Surry none has been more noted 
or celebrated than "Holbrook's tavern," being on one of the Boston-Bur- 
lington turnpikes it was a well known inn between 1800 and 1845. After 
the building of the Cheshire and Rutland railroads business decreased 
from year to year until 1860. This house probably stands on the south 
part of L. 10; R. 6, drawn by Eliphalet Young. Asa Wilcox, Sr., settled 
here 1790, according to tradition; leasing the house to James Kingsbui-y 
who opened a tavern, May 6, 1796, but gave up the business in Decem- 
ber following, after which Mr. Wilcox continued the business, being 
succeeded by his son Asa, Jr., until 1810, when John Chandler of Alstead 
come for a year. Mar. 21, 1811, Capt. Francis Holbrook took out his 
first license, and for a period of over 52 years he and his son, George 
W. Holbrook were in business at this stand. The ell part of this house 
which was torn down, 1922, was the original dwelling. Capt. Holbrook 
built on the two story portion some years after he came here; enlarged 
the barns, built a large driveway near the road; erected a slaughter 
house where hogs, sheep and cattle were butchered weekly, and with rare 



Residences 



313 



business ability and social qualities carried on a successful business. 
He hired help inside and out during- the busy season and often his stables 
held 30 or 40 horses on a single night. A yoke of oxen was kept to as- 
sist heavy teams up the "Alstead hills"; one pair being so well trained 
they would return home without a driver. 

Jan. 5, 1864, G. W. Holbrook sold to Calvin Randall who soon divided 
the farm, then Joseph Allen came; James S. Carpenter, 1867; George 
Milton Reed bought 1871 and after his death James V. _Stillings was on 
the place a few years about 1907. 1910, Melville C. Lewis bought and 




Holbrook Tavern. No. 126. 

sold 1922 to Charles R. Kenney. Joseph W. Caldwell, Fred E. Rich- 
ardson, Perley W. Wheeler, Charles H. Collins have lived there within 
recent years. In 1810 there was a store on this property a little north 
of this tavern, also the blacksmith shop No. 123. 



127. In 1798, Asa Wilcox, Sr., had a small building in which hams were 
smoked for himself and neighbors; on one occasion when well filled it 
took fire roasting the meat. Mr. Wilcox soon after erected on its site 
a malt mill. His advertisement in Keene Sentinel, Dec. 28, 1799, states 
he has erected a large building at a very considerable expense for the 
purpose of making and grinding malt and will be out of danger of that 
fiery element which destroyed so much property the last year .... also 
has accomodation for smoking meat. He built a dam across Thomson 
brook and designed a water wheel, but the project was a failure, he then 
turned the building into a carriage shop which was conducted with suc- 
cess. His son, Capt. Asa, held an interest and in 1810 sold to John T. 
Wilcox, "shop partly finished" and half acre of land. Theodorus Mon- 
roe bought 1811, and sold to Calvin Bi'own, 1814; later James Hatch 



314 History of Surry 

bought property. Apr. 20, 1836, Hatch advertised this and other prop- 
erty in Surry for sale: Two barns, 1 brick blacksmith shop, (No. 128), 
1 wheelwright shop, 25 x 40 feet two story high with machinery on a 
good water privilege, household goods, one acre of land, etc. The build- 
ing was sold to Daniel Hodgkins, 1860, and rebuilt for a barn at No. 
132. Remains of the old mill dam, long since washed away, can still be 
seen on the east bank of the brook. 

128. Site of a brick blacksmith shop; built about 1810; torn down, 1863/4; 
it stood on the bank of Asa Wilcox's mill-pond and quite near the pres- 
ent bridge over Mack brook. James Hatch labored here most, if not all, 
the time between 1810 and 1836. He purchased of Asa Wilcox the right 
to take water from his mill-pond to run a trip hammer; in 1824 he pur- 
chased a further right to use water to run machinery and a bellows in 
his shop. Apr. 30, 1836, Hatch sold to Ruggles Watkins of Walpole. 
Marvin Bigelow came 1840 (?), then a Mr. Clark. In 1852/3, William 
J. Burgess, then Henry B. Blake purchased the shop. About 1860, Henry 
D. Spaulding came and labored here until he enlisted in the Civil war. 

129. Samuel Hills about 1800 erected this building in which to dress leather 
and was succeeded by his son, Samuel R. Hills, who ran the business a 
few years. Jacob Fishei* ran the business, 1834; Albert Brown, 1837; 
James Davis; Luke Faii'banks, 1842; Joseph H. and Samuel Whitney 
being the last men in the tanning and currying business; 1856 they sold 
that with other property to Daniel Hodgkins. The building has since 
been used as a shop and tenement. Bethuel J. Davis resided here 1861; 
Reuben Brown; Daniel Bunker; Nicholas Vincellette and Herbert M. 
Webster, 1891. 

130. Marks the site of a building, in which Esq. Hills ground tan bark for 
the tannery, using a horse on a sweep for power. Finally he erected a 
bark mill at No. 133 and used water power. This building was torn 
down 1850. There was also another small building near this spot, in 
which several tan-vats were located, which has been gone for over 60 
years. 

131. The late C. Wharton Wilcox, authority on this part of the town, re- 
membered that in boyhood old people said a small dwelling house stood 
here, though nothing remained in his day to mark its site. Said to have 
been located two or three rods east of the brook and quite near Wilcox 
mill pond. 

132. Jonathan Mack drew L. 10; R. 5, and sold to John Thomson. Dec. 1, 
1787, Thomson sold about 12 acres in the north-east part of said lot for 
"Love and good will" which I bear to Samuel Hills, tanner of Alstead. 
Mr. Hills settled here 1788 and went into the tanning and currying 
business with buildings at Nos. 129, 130 and 133. Esq. Hills was living 
hei'e, 1822, when two sheds in his tan-yard were razed by a toi'nado. His 
son Samuel R. Hills took over and ran the business a few years, then 
became dissatisfied with his "high taxes" sold and removed to Brook- 
line, Mass. Benjamin Hills with Capt. Holbrook had interest in place 
and sold Oct. 17, 1834 to Jacob Fisher, then Albert Brown, James Davis, 



Residences 



315 



Luke Fairbanks owned property. Samuel Whitney bought, 1845, and 
ran the tannery most of time until he sold to Daniel Hodgkins, 1856, 
and after the death of Mr. Hodgkins his sons Charles H., and George 
M., had the farm, and now, Leon A. Hodgkins. Rev. Luther J. Fletcher 
lived here, 1840/1; the old house was torn down and on its site the 
present one was built, 1880 (?). A chimney fire nearly destroyed the 
present dwelling, 1907 (?), when discovered the upper part was full of 
smoke and a hot fire burning. 

133. Esq. Samuel Hills built a mill here for grinding bark for his tannery, 
using water from Thomson's brook for power. Several lathes were ii»- 
stalled and the building was used for turning bobbins for a few years 

• after 1856. Subsequently the Hodgkins family had a shop and cider mill 
here, using water power and finally a gasoline engine when making 
cider. The latter business ceased, during the World war; the building 
became useless and was torn down. Mar. 1921. 

134. Between the wall and roadway can still be seen a cellar hole marking 
the location of a cider mill which was standing prior to 1840. 

135. The first house on this spot was moved here from No. 136, about 1804 

and tradition says it is the low one story portion of the present dwel- 




Nathan D. Reed Farm. No. 135. 

ling; built by John Thomson, 1777, and moved to this place by Dr. 
Samuel Thomson. Dr. Thomson lived here until the spring 1806, when 
he leased the farm and went to N. Y. City to live. Apr. 13, 1819, Judge 
Elijah Knight bought this farm, house, barn and blacksmith shop; he 
built on the two story portion of the present house and opened a tavern 
in 1820, and in the spring of 1821 the first post-office in Surry was in 
this house; the Judge being postmaster. Samuel Hills' son bought the 



316 History of Surry 

farm and sold to Benjamin Hills, and he was here some years, except, 
1845-46 (?) when George Joslin took the farm. Isaac Brown settled 
here 1851, owning property several years. One year he rented to Cal- 
vin Wright; George Bundy also lived here with Mr. Brown. Rev. 
Joseph Allen bought; then Alanson D. Comstock took over the property 
and he sold to Nathan D. Reed who settled hei'e Apr. 1, 1864; after his 
death his son, Charles W. Reed, had farm. His widow sold to John W. 
Lynch who settled here Apr. 20, 1919. He sold to Frank L. Smith, the 
present owner, 1920. 

136. Oct. 23, 1765, Moses Chase of Cornish, N. H., sold a tract of wildland 
to John Thomson of Grafton, Mass., who came to this wilderness in the 
summer of 1767; began a clearing and built a barn that season near this 
spot; moving his family hither early in 1768. The snow being very 
deep his wife had to travel over a mile on snowshoes guided by marked 
trees to get to their habitation. Dr. Samuel Thomson has portrayed in 
his book a vivid account of condition at that time. John Thomson be- 
ing very poor bought the farm on credit, built a barn into which his 
wife and baby Lucy moved, 1767. Here in a cove surrounded by hills, 
at the end of a blazed trail, one mile from neighbors to the south and 
three miles to the north, they settled; a house was built and the roof 
being partly finished they moved in in July, 1777, "which was more com- 
fortable than the barn." Tradition says this house stood in the field ten 
rods east of the present barn and not far from a spring of water; here 
it remained at the end of the road until 1799 when a highway was laid 
out from No. 132 to 137 and northward in Alstead when Dr. Samuel 
Thomson moved the house to No. 135. Feb. 9, 1790, John sold a half 
interest in the farm to his son, Samuel, and moved to Jericho, Vt.; in 
1794 Samuel bought balance of farm, which lay in both S. and Alstead. 

Samuel, the eldest son of John Thomson was born here Feb. 9, 1769, 
and became the founder of the Thomsonian system of medicine. 

137. Another house in edge of Alstead stood here till within about 15 years; 
doubtless, the "vacant house" into which Dr. Abner Bliss moved, 1796. 
Abel Puffer, a man having an unbalanced mind was here around 100 
years ago, then Mrs. Lucy (Thomson) Hills was here in her old age, an 
energetic capable woman who spent nearly all her life in this vicinity. 
Various wood-choppers in more recent years occupied the old house. 

138. A cellar hole marks the site of the old "Mack house" which stood until 
about 1858. It was 30 x 30 feet on the ground, one story high and built 
of plank. The barns fell during a wind storm, 1855. Asa Wilcox was 
living here, 1781; Reuel Mack bought, 1797, and died, 1812; his widow 
sold next year to Capt. Simon Baxter. Oct. 16, 1820, Mrs. Margaret 
Baxter sold to George Baxter, who in 1826 sold to Jonathan Robinson, 
Jr. Among those who rented or lived on the farm were: John Hatton; 
Joseph Ingalls; Dauphin F. Delance, 1837 (?), a pauper who decamped, 
and Moses Moody, 1844, probably the last occupant. During the tor- 
nado, 1822, these buildings suffered somewhat. 

139. Eliphalet Young drew L. 10; R. 7, and sold to Stephen Taylor, Dec. 23, 
1770. 1773 Taylor to Giles Crandall and he to Samuel Crandall the 



Residences 317 

same month. Samuel sold to Joseph Mack one part and to Thomas 
Redding the balance then Mack sold his part to Redding, this appears 
to have been two 50 acre lots — the one mentioned above and Lot 10; 
Range 8. Mar. 23, 1778, Thomas Redding sold the south half — 50 acres 
— to Asa Wilcox, q v. No. 138, and the north half to John Redding Jan. 
24, 1778. This v^^as known as the "Redding farm" 100 years ago. 1820 
John's estate sold to James Redding. Apr. 8, 1828, Jonathan Robinson, 
Jr., bought and sold to Nathan D. Reed Jan. 16, 1837. The latter lived 
here until he moved to No. 135, after which the house stood unoccupied; 
torn down by the Reed family. Who first came here to live is uncertain 
but probably one of the Reddings. The house was a large two story 
square I'oof building, and while Mr. Reed lived here it was a home where 
the latch string was always out; with his natural musical ability and 
the social qualities of the family, this was a nucleus for neighborhood 
dances during the winter months; from 50 to 75 would come in from 
all the old farms and dance till two, three or four in the morning. 
Harry (Henry) Britton lived at this place, 1837 (?) and Luther Dwin- 
ell held an interest in farm 1843. During the tornado the barns and 
much timber were destroyed; new barns were built which stood until 
about 1885 when they fell in a high wind. 

140. This was the Dea. David Reed "old red house," in the edge of Alstead. 
The house, 23 x 33 ft. on the ground, was exceptionally well built of 
old growth timber. It stood some years unoccupied when Harry D. 
Randall bought it for $75.00, tore it down and rebuilt at No. 70, about 
1852. The chimney was taken off the house and most of the orchard 
uprooted during the tornado 1822. Dea. Reed lived in S. until after 
1806, then here until his death, 1819, when his son, David Jr., took the 
property. The farm was advertised for sale Apr. 5, 1820; house, barn, 
cider-mill, orchard and 80 acres land. Jonathan R. Field finally bought 
the barns after 1856, took them down and rebuilt in his meadow in the 
south end of the town. 

141. This house stood not far from the north-east corner of the town, on 
L. 15; R. 1, "under the mountain" or "East of mountain" as given in 
the range table. It was a 100 acre lot drawn by Eliphalet Young. This 
probably is where Dea. David Reed lived prior to his moving to No. 140; 
David Jr., was living here 1817; and James Kingsbury, 1825-29, then his 
son, Lauren of Needham, Mass., owned the farm and sold Mar. 27, 1832, 
to Jonathan Robinson, Jr., who tore the house down and rebuilt at No. 
101. Obadiah Reed is said to have built the house; a building about 30 
feet square, the site and old farm is now a big woodlot. 

142. Erastus Benton bought this lot of Thomas Sumner and 1774 sold to 
Abijah Benton who built on this spot. Jesse Jaquith lived here or at 
No. 143, 1797-03; Stephen Smith soon after. The early records speak 
of "Benton brook" but after 1850 it was changed to "Cannon brook." 

143. The site of this house was quite near the Surry-Gilsum town line; the 
farm lay in both towns. Comfort Ware was living here, 1789; removed 
to Gilsum; perhaps Jesse Jacquith before and after, 1800. William Bax- 
ter held mortgage on farm when John Dustin came hei'e, 1827. Johnny 



318 History of Surry 

Dustin lived here several years then moved to Gilsum after which the 
house was unoccupied. Thei-e remained for many years an excellent 
fruit orchard. Caswell & Carpenter bought and cut off timber 1844/48 

144. This is in edge of Gilsum. Thomas Dart of S. built a house and settled 
here 1781. His son, Thomas, Jr., lived with him many years and re- 
moved to New Keene, N. Y., 1812, then William Baxter bought the place 
and let it to James Kingsbury who resided here until 1818; his son, 
William, lived in the house till 1837. Its site has been obliterated by 
tilling the land. 

145. This place is also in edge of Gilsum. William Baxter owned the place 
and sold to William Kingsbury (son of James), 1818 (?), in whose fam- 
ily William was reared. In 1837 William built the brick house now 
standing, making the brick from a nearby clay-pit. His son Otis H., and 
dau Mary J. Kingsbury, spent most of their days here. The property 
is now owned by Samuel H. Chickering of Keene. 

146. Josiah Hendee built the "Plastered House" on this spot 1797; in 1804 
Josiah Hendee, Jr., bought and in 1806 sold to Capt. Simon Baxter. 
1843 John Cannon was here; Ariel Carpenter; Joseph Knight; John 
Foster (?), 1850; Salmon Britton, 1851; Jonathan Mansfield, 1852; 
Thomas Austin, 1853, who moved here from No. 2. The house went to 
decay about 40 years ago. 

147. Judge Lemuel Holmes settled here 1781; a Rev. soldier. He held many 
offices in town and state. William Baxter said to have lived here; Jona- 
than Harvey, Sr., before 1831, then his son Jonathan, Jr., several years; 
Charles Johnson and possibly Calvin Randall. According to the "Bill 
Baxter" legend, William Baxter, a Tory is believed to have lived here, or 
at No. 117, during the Rev. war. The house was two story high and its 
site is marked by a cellar hole quite near the highway which formerly 
ran nearer the river bank. 

148. 1827, Henry Kellogg, an "iron-smith" bought of William Baxter land 
on and near the Ashuelot and "during that summer built a dam across 
the river, remains of which can still be seen on the further bank, as 
well as drill-holes in the ledge. He built a shop about 1830, and utilized 
water power to run a trip-hammer. In 1832 he was taxed on land, a 
cow and horse; in 1834-35, on land, stock and two buildings, one being 
a barn and the other his shop in which he probably lived. The build- 
ings had disappeared prior to 1840 and the dam had washed away be- 
fore 1845. 

149. This place is probably on L. 9; R. 7, drawn by Thomas Sumner and sold 
July 14, 1768, to Samuel Gilbert. Joseph West bought and sold Feb. 4, 
1773, to Joshua and Abiah Crane, Jr. The latter lived here, then his 
son, Dea. Ichabod Crane until he removed to No. 39 in 1853/5. Stephen 
Smith lived here, and died, 1846; Freeman and Horace Wilbur; Calvin 
Randall and Joshua Davis, his father-in-law. Between 1864-68, George 
C. Hubbard was here, then moved to No. 83. Jackson Reed bought and 



Residences 319 

settled here over 50 years ago, and after living here some 40 years re- 
moved to Keene. The farm is now (1923) owned by his dau. Helen J. 
Reed. The old barns on the farm formerly stood several rods farther 
east and near a small stream of water. The old house here was de- 
stroyed by a chimney fire, Dec. 28, 1887, and Mr. Reed built present one 
on the old site the following year. A few years earlier he built present 
barn. 

150. A few rods south of No. 149, is where the Crane family had a cider 
mill which stood until about 1850; its site has disappeared. 

150%. Jonathan Mack drew L. 10; R. 5. Jan. 14, 1785, Abigail Rice appears 
to have bought the north part of said lot. Phinehas Rice was living in 
this immediate vicinity, 1790. The exact location of this place has not 
been discovered by the writer, we have however, placed it above the 
highway as shown on map, as a possible location. 

151. Herbert M. Webster built this house during 1895 on a portion of his 
father's farm, using material from an old school house which stood near 
the S. Angier house in the south-west part of Alstead. He lived at No. 
129, then, 125 and here some 15 or 20 years after which he settled in 
Keene. Ernest W. Ball lived here three or more years prior to Apr. 
1922, when Leon A. Hodgkins bought this and No. 152 and added prop- 
erty to his home farm, No. 132. Buildings standing, unoccupied. 

152. This is probably where Samuel Sawyer, the goldsmith, lived and sold to 
Edward Ordway, Mar. 14, 1798; the farm lays in both S. and Alstead. 
A Mr. Proctor owned property, 1855 (?) ; Ezra Webster lived here many 
years prior to his death — 1917. Charles H. Collins rented place, 1920/1. 
Leon A, Hodgkins bought tillage and buildings as noted under No. 151. 
At the corner of the road half a mile above this place is "Pulpit rock" 
where a marriage took place 40 or 50 (?) years ago. 

153. This place was in the south-west corner of Alstead and near S. line. 
Feb. 6, 1775, Joseph Hale of Atkinson, sold this land to Nathaniel Watts 
of Atkinson and in 1782 he sold to Timothy Watts of Marlow, who 
doubtless lived here. He sold to William Baxter and June 11, 1795, 
Baxter sold the farm "I formerly lived on" to Benjamin Proctor of 
Ipswich, Mass. The farm was owned by the Proctor family over 60 
years, Ebenezer Proctor being here as late as 1857, and the buildings 
were standing as late as 1882. The farm is now pasture and woodland. 

154. An old cellar hole marks where Benjamin Porter probably lived about 
1800; Dec. 29, 1802, he bought B% acres of land west of the Proctor 
road of John Marvin but whether he owned the land on which this 
house stood is unknown. 

155. William Perkins of Ipswich, Mass., came to S. 1794 and bought a size- 
able farm in this corner of the town. After his death his son William, 
Jr., took over the property and lived here until he moved to No. 106, 
1858 (?). In 1850 this farm had two dwellings, barns and out build- 
ings and in 10 or 15 years all had been taken down, removed, and now 
we find old apple trees, numerous stone walls and a herd of stock graz- 
ing in the field during summer. 



320 HisToi^Y OF Surry 

156. William Perkins, Jr., built this house 1835 (?) in which his aged mother 
and sister Sarah lived until 1854. A cellar hole still remains. 

157 (?). This house stood on the highland with an excellent view southward 
with Monadnock Mt. in the distance. Tradition says this is the John 
Marvin place, but this is improbable in the writer's mind as this appears 
in L. 9; R. 1, while Marvin settled on L. 9; R. 2, a diligent search how- 
ever, has failed to discover any other cellar hole on Marvin hill except 
those shown on map. The R. of D. records state Benjamin Mann (or 
Maan) drew L. 9; R. 2, sold to Samuel Gilbert, and he in 1763 sold to 
Clement Sumner; Sumner to Thomas Redding, 1773; Mar. 7, 1778, Red- 
ding to Delevan Balance who exchanged farms with John Marvin, Mar. 
10, 1791. Mar. 13, 1815, Lelon Marvin heir of John sold 33 acres of 
farm to Benjamin Proctor. The barns on the John Marvin place were 
destroyed by the whirlwind, 1822. 

157. James Spencer drew L. 9; R. 1, and sold to Peter Olcott. Olcott sold 
1772, to Benoni Olcott and he in 1790 to Thomas Wheelock. 

Nov. 24, 1792, William Hartwell bought and sold 1801 to Robert Daws 
of Harvard, Mass., who sold 1813 to Jeremiah Dyer. 1816, Dyer sold 
part to Elijah Fuller and in 1825 the balance to Elkanah Hixon, 25 
acres called "The mine lot." June 5, 1826, Hixon sold 26 acres to Esq. 
Sylvester Smith. 

158. James Spencer drew L. 8; R. 1, sold to Jonathan Smith and, 1770, he to 
Cornelius Smith. May 24, 1777, Zebulon Streeter bought and settled 
on this spot, according to family tradition. He sold Jan. 29, 1787, to his 
son Daniel, who sold 1804 to Esq. Sylvester Smith. Perhaps this was 
where David Bragg, a blacksmith, was living about 1805. Dea. John 

■ Mason Adams was living in Rev. Zebulon Streeter's house, 1824, and 
possibly, Luke Houghton, Samuel B. Bliss, etc. A cellar hole remains. 

159. Benjamin Mann drew L. 8; R. 2, and sold to Samuel Gilbert; he to 
Clement Sumner, 1763; May 4, 1773, Sumner to Thamos Redding and 
Redding sold Aug. 18, 1777, to Zebulon Streeter a "cordwainer," and 
lay preacher of the Universalist faith after he settled in S. His son 
Jesse Streeter is suposed to have erected first buildings on this spot and 
he was succeeded, Dec. 14, 1837, by his son Willard Streeter who re- 
mained until he moved to No. 102, 1853. Then Samuel Long bought 
farm July 12, 1853, and after his death his widow married Levi Brit- 
ton and remained on the place till 1860, then William Gage was here a 
few months. Silas Angier of Alstead bought and tore the old house 
down about 1861. Jonas Gassett bought the land about 1870 and built 
a house on the old site in which he lived for several years and chopped 
wood, after which the buildings were torn down and removed. 

160. Nothing now marks the site of the cider mill which was run by Jesse 
and Willard Streeter; standing south of and quite near the highway 
till removed, 1855 (?). 

161. David Taylor drew L. 8; R. 3. Aug. 11, 1786, he sold to Henry Scovel 
(but "Covel" in deed), who soon came and settled on this spot. When 
he bought this 50 acre lot he was living in Conn, and it was represented 



Residences 321 

to him as a "fine level piece of land." Imagine his surprise and dis- 
may upon arriving in town and view^ing his "farm" — so hilly, rough 
and rocky he was troubled to find a spot on which to build. His cabin in 
which his family lived for ten years had no cellar. Charles M. Scovell, 
a great grandson of Henry, and the writer visited this spot 1919, and 
placed a stake and heap of stones to mai'k the site of this dwelling. 
Nearby were old apple trees and remains of the potato and root pit. 

161 1/^. Fredk R. Crane and Frank D. W. Carpenter built a choppers' camp 
here about 1895, now in a dilapidated condition. Ray Huntley, Mr. 
Long of Keene and William O. Davis have lived here. 

162. The old Daniel Marsh farm in edge of Walpole on which he "pitched 
his future home" in 1781. His children remained here until 1860; one 
of whom Catharine, married George Joslin of S. 

163. Apr. 29, 1795, Henry Scovell bought of Benjamin Bellows this land in 
edge of Walpole and moved here from No. 161. Soon after he erected a 
set of buildings; subsequently he sold to his son Frederick that part of 
the farm on west side of the road, and erected a second dwelling near 
his own in which Frederick lived after his marriage. Henry and Wil- 
liam Howard Scovell also lived on the farm. About 1869 George H. 
Rand bought old house and rebuilt it at No. 173 in which he lived until 
it vanished in smoke. No buildings here for many years. 

164. Esq. Sylvester Smith lived here many years prior to 1855 (?) when he 
removed to No. 106. This was a good comfortable one-story farm house 
in 1850. Henry L. Wilbur once lived here, and others on the site, in a 
small building built 1890, for choppers, etc. The old buildings have all 
been gone for many years. Some 10 rods north of the old house is a fine 
spring of water nearly hidden in the tall grass and bushes. 

165. David Taylor drew L. 7; R. 2, and Jan. 17, 1782, sold to Benjamin 
Isham who built and settled here. After his death Timothy Isham 
bought property and the Isham family lived here until 1845 when Tim- 
othy moved to No. 121; thence to Drewsville. The Isham family dug a 
cellar and partly finished a second house near the first dwelling; both 
cellar holes are still easily found in the open pasture. At the end of 
the lane as you leave the old road to these houses Mary L. Scovell met 
death, 1828, when a cart in which she was riding ran over the wall on 
"death rock" and tipped bottom side up. Frederick Scovell owned old 
farm several years while he was living at No. 163. 

166. Apr. 13, 1783, Charles Carpenter bought of his father, Jedediah a part 
of his homestead farm and built the first buildings on this spot. He 
died 1845 and his son, Warren, took over the property and lived here 
till he moved to No. 55 in 1855. The buildings stood for several years, 

167. Dec. 20, 1793, Aaron Carpenter, another son of Jedediah, bought this 
tract of land and soon after built on this spot a house for himself in 
which he lived 10 or 12 years then sold to his brother Charles and re- 
moved to Vermont. Charles moved the buildings to No. 166 and joined 
the land to his farm. Perhaps the best woodlot of young spruce in town 
is on this farm. 



21 



322 History of Surry 

168. Duren Wade drew three 50 acre lots; L. 6; R. 1, 2, 3 and sold part of 
the land to Dr, Gideon Tiffany of Keene and remainder to Thomas 
Wade. Feb. 14, 1778, Jedediah Carpenter of Keene bought the above 
three lots and also L. 5; R. 1, making 200 acres. The west part he sold 
to his two sons, Charles and Aaron, while he retained the east part. 
Duren Wade settled on the place about 1770 but whether on this spot 
is unknown. Mr. Carpenter is known to have settled here soon after he 
made his purchase. In 1796 he sold his homeplace to his son Ezra who 

■ lived here most of his life. He sold the farm Mar. 29, 1837, to his son 
William who continued living here until Feb. 1, 1850, when he bought 
and settled at No. 41. 1852/3 Chandler Wilbur lived here he being the 
last; the old house, one story facing the east, was torn down 1864. 

169. Site of Cider mill which was torn down about 1860 by Mollis Wilcox. 
Ezra and William used a horse on a sweep when grinding apples. 

170. A slaughter barn; moved here from No. 73, 1885 (?) by F. D. W. Car- 
penter; now in poor condition; not in use. South of highway not far 
from this barn Herbert N. Gunn had a steam-saw mill, 1892 (?). 

171. Josiah Fuller of Westmoreland bought a few acres here about 1790 and 
sold Mar. 5, 1792, to Delevan Delance who sold to Jonathan Robinson 
in 1798. 1815 Samuel Hawes, a shoemaker, bought for $10.00 and prob- 
ably built on this place as he sold Sept. 9th of the same year to Jere- 
miah Robbins for $75.00. 1822 Robbins sold to Polly Prentiss With- 
ington, "a spinster." In 1837 she conveyed an interest in property to 
Azubah A. Withington. Dec. 10, 1864, Azubah A. (Withington) John- 
son of Hinsdale sold her right to Mary E. Horton, wife of William H. 
Wright. The latter while living here met death while chopping wood 
near the "40 ft. falls." Fred H. Wilkins of Keene now owns property 
and lives hei*e summers. 

Others living here: Stephen Withington, 1848; Benj. Frank, and 
George G. Horton; Mrs. Charlotte R. Cram; Loring Fay; J. Langdon 
Britton; Bellows Emerson, 1864 (?); Charles Hill, etc. B. F. Horton 
met death by falling into the spring of water across the road south of 
this house. 

172. Nathaniel Dart drew L. 2; R. 3, and was living in town prior to 1768; 
Feb. 20, 1777, he sold the farm "on which I now live" to Thomas Harvey, 
who annexed this to his home farm. Capt. Thomas Harvey sold this 
portion to his son Jonathan who settled here in 1797. Jonathan moved 
to No. 83, and sold to Eli Dort who sold to Daniel Abbott in 1822. 1827, 
George Joslin bought the property and lived hei-e until his barns were 
burned, 1869 (?) when he left town. 1870, George H. Rand held a 
claim on farm and sold to Marshall B. Britton who became bankrupt, 
after which the farm was split, Henry T. Ellis, George K. Harvey and 

j Calvin Randall had portions. 1871, Rev. Joseph Allen and Sumner Wil- 

■ , der held interest. John A. Blake bought farm and sold, 1888, to Fred 

R. Crane and F. D. W. Carpenter; they sold to Antoine LaBounty in 
1889, and not long after the house took fire and was destroyed. La- 
Bounty built on the old site the present cottage which has since been 
improved. Herbert R. Crane bought, 1904, and sold same year to 



Residences 



323 




o 



324 History of Surry 

Charles C. Buffum Register of Deeds, Keene, who lived here summers, 
and who sold, 1920, to the present owner, Fred A. Carpenter of Keene; 
— a summer home. 

173. Samuel Phelps drew L. 1 ; R. 3, and sold May 25, 1776, to Capt. Thomas 
Harvey; May 9, 1792, he sold to "Asahel Harvey my eldest son" 90 
acres; the above lot and part of L. 1; R. 2. Asahel built about that 
time on this spot and lived here until his death 1835. George Joslin 
bought the farm and S. Harrison Porter tore the house down and re- 
built for a store at No. 64 in 1863. The old house had a large fii'eplace 
where Mrs. Harvey did all her cooking. George H. Rand bought land 
and by using the material from No. 163 built a house and barn in 1869, 
a fire Oct. 22, 1870 burned the buildings; it has never been rebuilt. 
John A. Gushing lived here a while; Bellows Emerson and Seth Car- 
penter's widow and children after Griswold left town. 

174. As early as 1799 Asahel Harvey had a saw mill on this spot, although 
but little now remains to mark its site, nor the sizable mill-pond just 
above which formerly existed. John Stevens ran the mill a few years 
about 1845 (?). The mill disappeared before 1852. 

175. A few rods down-stream from the saw mill Asahel Harvey had a grist 
mill which was standing until 1840. Although this was not a large mill 
yet Mr. Harvey was able to do his own and neighbors' grinding, now 
in 1923 it requires a trip to Cole's mill in South Keene to get a sack of 
corn converted into meal. 

176. Samuel Phelps drew L. 1; R. 1, 2 and 3; May 25, 1766, he sold the three 
lots (150 acres) to Thomas Harvey, the captain. Thomas came to town 
that year and erected a cabin in which he lived until he built the pres- 
ent dwelling. One tradition states his cabin stood a few rods westerly 
of No. 177, while from another source it is understood it stood across the 
highway a few rods south of the present house. As there was no floor 
or cellar to his cabin it is doubtful if the exact spot can be located — we 
give the latter one on the map. 

177. Capt. Thomas Harvey built this dwelling — said to have been the second 
two-story house erected in town — with an idea of opening a tavern, but 
it was never opened to the public. But two family names — Harvey and 
Joslin — have owned this property since it was settled over 155 years 
ago, a singular fact. Capt. Harvey sold place 1810 to Peter Joslin; he 
was succeeded by his son, John, then the farm fell to Mary and Edward 
H, Joslin who still reside here. The west barn over 140 years old is 
where three or four Indians spent a night about 1780. One of the Har- 
vey girls while gathering hen-eggs under the barn grasped a rattle- 
snake coiled in a nest. 

The cider mill of Capt. Harvey and Peter Joslin stood a few feet 
north of the present house where 250 bbls. are said to have been made 
annually. The mill has been gone over 70 years. During the small-pox 
epidemic, 1801-02 some of the Harvey family had the disease and for 
a few weeks this was used for a "pest-house." David Luis, a boy of 20, 
died Jan. 29, 1802, and was buried near the barn where a slate stone 
marks his grave. 



Residences 



325 



178. Joseph Burt drew L. 2; R. 1 and L. 2; R. 2, and sold both lots to 
Thomas Sumner May 6, 1767, Sumner sold to Joseph Willey. July 4, 
1768, Joseph to Barnabas Willey who settled on the latter lot. Nothing 
marks the site of his cabin but tradition says it stood near the corner 
of the field, 50 or 60 rods north-east of No. 177. He removed to Wal- 
pole and May 22, 1775, sold land and buildings to Capt. Harvey who 
joined it to his estate. 

179. The "West school house" stood here between 1803 and 1811/12;- nothing 
marks the spot. 




The Joslin Homestead. No. 177. 



1791/2. In the field 50 rods north of the present Merriam house (No. 180M;) 
can still be seen the cellar hole where John Merriam built his first house 
in 1772 (?). The farm has continued to remain in the Merriam family 
until the present, 150 years. The farm when John came was a wilder- 
ness except a plot on the knoll east of the present buildings which had 
been cleared by the Indians. 

180. Daniel Merriam, Sr., moved the above house to this spot where he lived 
many years. It stood 30 (?) feet west of present dwelling. 

1801/2. Daniel Merriam, Jr., built present house in 1837; it is still occupied 
a portion of each year by his son, Elmore E. Merriam. There was a 
cider mill a few rods west of this place 75 years ago, also a saw mill 
about that time on the brook above the road, some 50 or 60 rods west- 
erly of this set of buildings. The old mill with its up and down saw 
has long since disappeared; the old road and ledge at the dam only 
remain. 



326 History of Surry 

181. This house was built and occupied some years by members of the 
Merriam family, then rented. Chandler Wilbur lived here and com- 
mited suicide, Oct. 1872. 

182. This is on L. 1; R. 1, and a part of Capt. Harvey's home farm which 
he sold May 18, 1781, to his son Thomas, Jr., who probably built on this 
spot. Nov. 19, 1795, Thomas, Jr., sold to William Ballock — 80 acre farm. 
In three years Ballock sold to Alexander Ralston of Keene who sold in 
1799 to John Stiles. John lived here several years; in 1805 he adver- 
tised this place to rent or for sale — a good house, a 50 foot barn, two 
acre hop-yard and 80 acre farm. David Stone accepted the terms and 
settled here soon after, and remained until 1828 when he removed to 
No. 26. William Thompson — "Billy," lived here with his father about 
1832, and 18*36/38 John Joslin bought the tillage adding it to his farm 
(No. 177). The buildings were moved by Mr. Joslin to his home place. 
Since Mr. Stone lived here this field has been known as "The Whackle 
lot," from a nickname given to Mr. Stone. The land has been tilled 
and nothing above ground now marks the site of this house. The bal- 
ance of this "80 acre farm" is now largely taken up by "The Hartwell 
lot," and is pasture and woodland. 

183. Aug. 10, 1820, Asahel Harvey sold 11 acres off his home farm to his 
dau. Eunice, wife of Ichabod Ballou, a carpenter of Westmoreland, who 
soon after built the first dwelling on this spot. Within a few years 
Jonas Pollard and Samuel Hartwell of Langdon appear to have taken 
the property by mortgage. In 1854 David Gushing bought place and 
lived here until nearly time of his death — 1872. John A. Gushing lived 
here about 1846 (?) at the time his twin children were born and died — 
both being buried on the farm. Ebenezer Grain, Jr.; Haskell Garpen- 
ter; Horace Gould, Jr.; Wm. Riley Kenney and others were here, 1881 
Everett E. Wilbur bought old buildings and removed them to his home 
place. While David Gushing was here, with hook and line, he could get 
a good meal of trout in half an hour from Harvey's brook. During the 
great freshet of Oct. 4, 1869, the water was so high on the brook that 
a small river ran through this house; a sizable log went directly through 
the kitchen. This was the last of the older houses in this part of town 
which was formerly Gilsum. 

184. This house appears to stand on the east half of a 100 acres formerly 
L. 5; R. 1; 2nd division, in Westmoreland Leg which Benjamin Bel- 
lows sold Jan. 6, 1779, to Rufus Smith. Nov. 9, 1782, Smith sold the 
50 acres to John Gooper who settled here, and Apr. 10, 1786, he sold to 
John White of Rockingham, Vt. White sold the next year to John 
Brockway, q v. Philip Thomas, Sr., settled here prior to 1844; Daniel 
W. Aldrich; Leander Grane; Ebenezer Grane, Jr., 1858; Luman M. 
Carpenter, 1862-1876. During Nov. of the latter year, Everett E. 
Wilbur bought and settled here and has remained until the present 
(1923). The house has been enlarged within recent years and one or 
more of Mr. Wilbur's sons have kept house here. Many years ago a 
bear came from Hedgehog hill and took a pig from the yard which was 
finally rescued. 



Residences 327 

185. Winfield E, Wilbur built a small house 1915, in which he lived a few 
months placing it on the "Hartwell lot" which his father owns. The 
building is still standing, 1922. Aug. 16, 1777, men reaping rye on this 
lot distinctly heard the boom of the cannon at the battle of Bennington. 

186. This house is probably on the west half of the 100 acre lot Benjamin 
Bellows sold Feb. 5, 1779, to William Russell, viz.: L. 5; R. 1; 2nd Div. 
May 6, 1784, Russell sold to J. Cheever Fowler who lived here over 20 
years and in 1806 sold to Stephen Bemis who sold Apr. 11, 1811 to Jonas 
Pollard who opened a tavern in his house, 1823, and for years did a 
thriving business. It was on the turnpike from Keene to Walpole and 
was known as "The half-way-house." One fall a turkey shoot was held 
at the tavern. Mar. 19, 1829, Pollard sold to Samuel G. Bowker and he 
to Leander Crane, 1836. In 1840 Gilbert Crane bought property and 
1876 sold to Frederick R. Crane and he sold the same to Alonzo F. Wil- 
bur whose son, Clifford A., now has the old farm including much addi- 
tional property. Davis Gushing, Jr., and Joseph Shelley lived here and 
ran freight stage teams to Boston before 1840. The tavern business 
practically ceased prior to 1870. Clinton Tenney lived here 1896-7, and 
others. 

187. Major Samuel Grant married Phebe S. Bellows a dau of Gen. Benjamin 
Bellows of Walpole and as her share of his large estate received a large 
tract of land in the south-east corner of Walpole; the major became 
owner and manager. Aldrich's History of Walpole states Maj. Grant 
was "very exacting, carrying his points of nicety to the extreme" and 
had a large substantial dwelling house for his foreman and seven large 
barns near at hand. He engaged in sheep husbandry, keeping as many 
as 1000 at a time on this farm and employed considerable help; also 
raising as many as 1000 bushels of potatoes a year. During a high wind 
about 1855 the barns were blown down; the house was removed and no 
buildings have since been erected. Bradley Britton ran the farm prior 
to 1844; William Kingsbury, 1847; Charles Abbott; John B. Beckwith 
about 1854 and others. 

1S1V2. The buildings on the Maj. Grant farm formerly stood on the old 
turnpike road, but after the Pollard road was opened in 1823 they were 
moved to No. 187. 

188. Ebenezer Crane, Jr., lived here after living at No. 184; Frederick R. 
Crane before he moved to No. 239, then Freeman Wilbur, and his son- 
in-law, Edward J. Guillow who settled here Sept. 3, 1877, and still re- 
sides on farm. Mr. Wilbur made improvements on buildings and Mr. 
Guillow further additions until Dec. 23, 1909, when a fire starting 
around the chimney destroyed the buildings. Mr. Guillow; his sons-in- 
law, Lorin A. Davis and Leon I. Curtis, who were all living in the house 
at the time, lost nearly all their belongings within 30 minutes. On the 
same spot Mr. Guillow erected the present buildings. 

189. Leon I. Curtis built this house soon after the fire at No. 188, he has 
since lived here. 



328 History of Surry 

190. From the records at our command, Benjamin Bellows appears to have 
sold oO acres where this house was built to Moses Brown, Jr. (Feb. 
1795), who settled here. Jan. 17, 1800, he sold this with two other lots 
to J. Cheever Fowler, after which we know but little until Freeman Wil- 
bur came in 1842, Charles Abbott; Tyler Bissell, 1855/6; Leander 
and Ebenezer Crane, Jr., and probably some member of the Hancock 
family were here. It is said to have been a small one story red house, 
and stood on line of the second stage road from Keene to Walpole. 
George L. Britton bought the old house and tore it down about 1871. 
The old records speak of this as the J. Cheever Fowler's "Brown farm," 
so-called. 

190Vi2. This cellar hole was discovered in 1921; its history thus far has not 
been fully established; no one living in that vicinity had noticed it; it 
is seven rods north of the line fence near the corner of C. A. Wilbur's 
pasture. It appears to have been a dwelling about 16 x 16 feet. The 
following R. of D. records probably apply to this place: Aug. 24, 1775, 
Josiah Willard sold L. 5; R. 2, 2nd Div. in the "Leg" to Oliver Wright. 
Sept. 7, 1781, Wright sold 10 acres in the north-west corner of said lot 
(and bounded on the highway), to Jesse Dassance who perhaps built 
the house on this spot. Ziba Dassance bought and his widow sold in 
1799 to Paul Clark; in 1802 Clark sold to Daniel Allen. No buildings 
here for over 100 years. 

191. The following probably applies to this place — R. of D.: NCv. 6, 1761, 
William Howe sold L. 4; R. 2; 2nd Div. to Daniel Howe. Oct. 27, 1774 
Daniel to Abraham Smith and May 6, 1777, he sold the east half (50 
acres) to Jesse Dassance; Sept. 23, 1784, Jesse sold to his brother Mar- 
tin land and a dwelling house "which I built and stands on Martin's 
land." Then Mary and Ziba Dassance appear to have owned the place. 
Nov. 26, 1799, Paul Clark bought and Sept. 21, 1802, sold to David 
Allen, who settled here and built a new house in 1810. After living in 
it some 40 years he tore it down and on the same site erected a new 
one which stood until about 1876 when Peter Mason tore it down and 
rebuilt at No. 240. Daniel Allen also lived here, and Chauncey N. 
Kenney in 1855/6. No buildings on the place for over 45 years. 

192. This is probably the "west half" of L. 4; R. 2; 2nd Div. which William 
Howe sold to Daniel Howe, Nov. 6, 1761. Oct. 27, 1774 Abraham Smith 
bought, and May 6, 1777, sold the "East half" to Jesse Dassance. To 
whom Smith sold his remaining land has not been found; he doubtless 
settled here. This is where William Ritter probably was living, 1822, 
and perhaps Elizur Wright, 1828. Philip Thomas, 3rd, was living here 
for some years prior to 1862 when he removed to Walpole, then Nelson 
T. Cummings came and remained until 1869, after which Stephen H. 
Clement bought old buildings and tore them down. This house was on 
line of the first highway between Keene and Walpole in this part of 
Surry; an old cellar hole marks the house site. 

193. This place is just over the town line in Westmoreland; probably L. 3; 
R. 2; 2nd Div. the 100 acres Cornelius White of Brookfield, Mass., sold 
to his son, Moses White, Jan. 10, 1771, which lot he drew in Moses 



Residences 329 

Hasting's right. Sept. 24, 1776, Moses White sold to Daniel Ritter of 
Walpole. Otis Hancock was living here in his old age; 1860-1870 (?) 
somewhat broken in mind and body. George L. Britton bought and 
tore the old house down, about 1872, a substantial dwelling, and Stephen 
H. Clement removed the barns in 1878 (?). 

194. Ebenezer Britton the father of the late Curtis G. Britton of Keene is 
said to have lived here about 1840. A cellar hole remains. 

195. Elhanan Winchester once lived here, and about 1856, Edward R. Win- 
chester. 

196. In 1856 this was called the Leonard place, n f r. 

197. Dr. Noah Fuller of Wrentham, Mass., bought 100 acres here, Apr. 26, 
1779. This was L. 3; R. 3; 2nd Div. which he bought of Jether Bailey. 
June 28, 1788, Dr. Noah sold the west part of said lot, 50 acres and also 
the "west half of dwelling house in which I now live" to Noah Fuller, 
Jr. For many years Dr. Fuller lived here — a cellar hole marks the site. 

198. Andrew Balch once lived here, and J. Comstock in 1856 — cellar hole. 

199. This is L. 4; R. 3; 2nd Div. and the land Daniel Howe sold to Nathaniel 
Snow of Raynham, Mass., May 21, 1773; in 1778 Snow sold to Simeon 
Smith and Dec. 11, 1778 he sold to Asa Hancock of Wrentham, Mass., 
who settled here. Otis Hancock probably also once lived here; Levi 
Hancock, 1810-22; Daniel Abbott, 1850 (?); Charles H. Barnes, 1861. 
Unoccupied many years. 

200. Perhaps one of the Hancock's lived here early; Daniel W. Aldrich here 
about 1845; Henry B. Hall, 1844-50; Charles B. Hall, 1855. 

201. The first school house in this district is said to have stood on or in this 
vicinity prior to 1800. Tradition says one of the Abbott family taught 
school here when there were over 50 scholars who came from S., West- 
moreland and Walpole. The building was moved to No. 205 prior to 
1832. 

202. George F. Kenney bought a plot of land and put up a small camp here, 
1915, in which he lived a year or two then removed to Keene; the build- 
ing has since been removed. 

203. In 1910 Charles R. Kenney bought seven acres in this field and built a 
house in which he lived for several years; is now, 1922, living at No. 
126. Frank E. Pomeroy lived here, 1921. 

204. The old Town Farm. Oliver Wright was living here as early as 1812 
and is supposed to have remained until his death — 1834. Then his chil- 
dren most of the time until their deaths. They were William (called, 
"Billy the fiddler") ; Sally and Catherine. The town bought the farm 
Oct. 16, 1837, and assisted in supporting the three above mentioned 
people for many years, during a portion of that time the town annually 
sold the use of the farm to the highest bidder. In 1846, voted, to build 
a new dwelling on the same spot and George Wilcox took the job. Wil- 



330 History of Surry 

liam Carpenter bought the house and tore it down May, 1871, using 
some of the material for his new house at No. 38, and later Frederick 
R, Crane bought the old farm. The site of this house is well marked by 
a cellar hole. 

205. The site of the second school house (which was moved here from No. 
201) was on west side of the old highway, a few rods south of the pas- 
ture fence, in what is now Walter H. Britton's mowing. It took fire and 
was burned to the ground on Wednesday evening Dec. 9, 1835. There 
was a high north wind at the time and sparks nearly set fire to the 
barns at No. 207. 

206. A new school house was built, 1836, and placed in the very south-west 
corner of the pasture above No. 207; nothing now marks its site. It 
stood here until moved to No. 221 in 1883. 

207. The early history of this place is unknown Daniel Allen moved from 
here to Allen Court in Keene, 1843 (?) ; Benjamin M. Britton came and 
in 1847 moved to No. 43. Rev. Joseph Allen owned farm; Calvin 
Wright, 1857, and Charles Wright soon after. George L. Britton bought 
property and for about 25 years his father lived here; in 1870 George 
L. tore old house down and built present one on same spot. F. D. W. 
Carpenter held mortgage and sold to Walter H. Britton who now re- 
sides on place. He has within recent years built a small blacksmith 
shop where he does his own and neighbors' smith work. Clarence E. 
Jennison lived here a year or two after his marriage. The "Britton 
boulder" is near this place. 

208. Benjamin Merrifield came here prior to 1790 and probably remained 
till death, then Benjamin Britton bought the place and in 1831 built 
present house on site of the older dwelling. Hiram Britton was here, 
then his son George L. Britton most of his life — his widow and sons are 
still here. Old Mrs. Merrifield killed a bear in the barnyard in early 
times with a fire shovel which the Britton's still retain. Major J. Brit- 
ton lived here in 1861. One .third of a mile south of this place can still 
be seen remains of the "Valuable silver mine" which William Russell 
and others discovered and worked in 1785/6. 

209. This is probably L. 5; R. 4; 2nd Div. which Josiah Willard sold to 
Prentice Willard, Apr. 3, 1779. William Britton bought and in 1789 
sold to Eliezur Wright who lived here; in 1820 he sold to Moses Wright. 
1838 Daniel Abbott bought property and sold to B. Frank Foster in 
1840 who joined it to his home farm. Nothing but a cellar hole has 
marked this home site for over 80 years. 

210. Philip Wilbur lived here 1783, then probably some of the Britton and 
Wright families and probably joined to No. 209 over 100 years ago. 
Moses Wright here, 1820, and in 1838 the farm was sold by the sheriff 
to Daniel Abbott. Benj. Frank Foster bought in 1840 and lived here 
until 1854 or later. He was Supt. of schools in town for a few years. 
He was the last to live on the property. George S. Ellis of Keene bought 
property and sold buildings to Hiram Britton who moved them to No. 
208 about 1855. Dean S. Russell of Keene now owns the land. 



Residences 331 

211. Tradition says there was a house which stood near this spot at an early 
date; a diligent search has failed to locate the cellar hole. Roger Conant 
is believed to have lived at or near this spot about 1780, 

212. This place is in edge of Westmoreland and was discovered while fol- 
lowing the old road past No. 219. There was a sizable cellar and stone 
chimney. Probably L. 3; R. 4; 2nd Div. drawn by Jonathan Cole and 
sold Apr. 20, 1769, to Josiah Willard. 

213. The foundation stone marks the site of a house which once stood on the 
side hill at this spot. From its location and nearness to the old "Rus- 
sell mine" therq is reason to believe it was built as a camp or boarding 
house when the mine was being worked 1785/6. Tradition says William 
Ritter spent his last days hei-e; an old toper and Rev. soldier — died, 1827. 

214. June 3, 1779, Ebenezer Fitch of Rindge bought a tract of land of Pren- 
tice Willard. 1789 he sold to Philip Wilbur, 3rd, who sold the same 
year 21% acres to widow Tabitha Witherell. Sept. 5, 1791, she sold 22 
acres to Zacheus Watkins, who doubtless built here. He sold to Joseph 
Brown and he in turn to William Cooledge in 1800. Two years later he 
sold to Calvin Bragg. May 10, 1803, John Cole bought the place and 
opened a store at which time considerable teaming went that way, it 
being on the Great road. After his death, Ralph Parker of Glover, Vt., 
and John G. Bond of Keene held interests. May 23, 1809, Stephen 
Stimson bought and sold, 1814, to Solomon Stimson. "Stimson trail" 
was named for him. Mar. 9, 1826, Elijah Mason of Walpole bought 
the property and the place has since been owned by that family. Mr. 
Mason lived here until he removed to No. 217 in 1835. The barn is 
standing but the house has been gone many years. 

215. The site of this house is marked by a well built cellar wall, and is only 
a few rods above Keene town line. Silas Perry of Keene is supposed to 
have lived here about 1811; in 1813 he was "of Surry" and bought more 
land of Amasa Carpenter. In 1833 he sold to Joseph Perry of Wash- 
ington, D. C. "All the land I own in Surry and Keene." He was the 
Rev. soldier of Keene. 

216. The old Henry Goodnow tavern in Keene is now owned and occupied by 
Mrs. Jennie L. Winchester and her dau. Edith M. Benjamin Archer 
an officer in Capt. Jeremiah Stile's Co., at Bunker Hill, once lived here. 

217. The first house on this place stood a few feet east of the present dwel- 
ling, June 16, 1784, Col, Samuel Hunt of Charlestown, sold to Benjamin 
Carpenter. Nov. 18, 1799, Benjamin sold 30 acres to his son, Amasa 
Carpenter, "The south part of the farm I now live on," that is the land 
south of the road which runs through said farm. Amasa doubtless 
built on this spot about that time. Jan. 20, 1816, Amasa sold to David 
Carpenter of Keene — 160 acres. Dec. 1, 1817, David sold to Royal 
Watkins who lived here and built the present house, 1832/33. 

218. This is the house Watkins built, 1832/33. He sold the place Mar. 14, 
1835, to Elijah Mason and removed to Michigan. Mr. Mason lived here 
through life then his son, Elijah B. Mason, took over the property and 



332 History of Surry 

at his death Frank E. B., and Elva E. Mason received the homestead 
and now reside here. 

219. Site of the old cider mill run by the Mason family; has been gone for 
some years. A horse on a sweep was used when making cider. 

220. Mar. 14, 1775, Josiah Willard sold L. 8; R. 4; 2nd Div. to William Hay- 
ward which L. is believed to have been a part of the land on which this 
house was built. Hercules Hayward lived here and sold Nov. 1809, to 
Moses Wright, it being "the farm I now live on"; bounded — south partly 
on Keene-S. line; east by Nathan Hayward; north by Hayward; west 
by Amasa Carpenter — 140 acres. 1810, Moses conveyed to Amasa Wil- 
bur and in 1830 his "estate," to Barney Wilbur. Between 1852 and 
1863 several held interests at which time Elijah B. Mason bought the 
property and added farm to his home place. The old house was torn 
down 1865/6 and rebuilt in Keene and the barns stood until about 1898 
then torn down by Mr. Mason. 

221. The present west hill school house was moved here Sept. 1883, from No. 
206 and placed on land given to the district for that purpose by E. B. 
Mason. 

222. Tradition says Benjamin Carpenter had a cider mill here 100 years ago; 
it has been gone over 60 years. 

223. This is the old Benjamin Carpenter place — so called, the records, how- 
ever, are obscure; in the mind of the writer it is doubtful if this is the 
spot where the first Benjamin settled prior to 1776. In 1793 Benjamin 
opened a tavern in his house which he ran for nine years. So far as 
discovered this place was not at that time on a highway much traveled, 
and he certainly would not have continued taking out new licenses year 
after year unless he did business; we cannot solve the problem. He and 
his son, Benjamin Jr., certainly lived in this vicinity before and after 
1800 and owned considerable real estate. Benjamin 3rd known as "Esq. 
Carpenter" died here 1862. Benjamin W. Carpenter sold the place 
Sept. 14, 1865, to Benjamin F. Clement, and at his death his son, 
Stephen H. Clement had property and died here; place is now owned by 
Mrs. S. H. Clement, leasing the same to Loren A. Davis. Many years 
ago one of the Carpenter girls shot a wild-cat from off the old barn. 
Lightning struck the barns June 6, 1888, and all the buildings were 
destroyed; Mr. Clement rebuilt on same spot, that fall. 

224. This is part of the Benjamin Carpenter homestead, see No. 225. Lean- 
der Crane moved the buildings from No. 225 to this spot about 1848, and 
built the upright part of present dwelling. He sold to Elisha Shelley, 
then Lewis Shelley, Sally Wilbur and Benjarnin W. Carpenter had a 
part or whole of the farm. Nov. 4, 1863, Peter Mason bought and Jan. 
4, 1875 sold to Frederick R. Crane who still resides here — over 48 years. 
The ell of the present house is the old Carpenter dwelling. 

225. This probably is the place Benjamin Carpenter sold Apr. 22, 1790, to 
his son, Benjamin, Jr., who in turn sold Mar. 13, 1830, to Seth Car- 
penter "land and buildings." After death of Seth, his estate sold Mar. 



Residences 333 

30, 1844, to Nathan Wood of Keene— 150 acres. Then Cassius C, Whit- 
ney of Troy, Vt. ; Peter Hayward of S. held an interest. The latter 
sold Apr. 9, 1845, to Leander Crane who moved the buildings to No. 
224. The road probably sometime ran beyond this spot but where it 
came out is unknown. 

226. Frederick R. Crane built a small house here for his hired man in 1893 
and Fred S. Blake lived here two years; Geo. Ed. Crosby a year, then 
Archie G. Wilder bought property and made additions to farm and 
buildings. He lived here most of the time until moving to Keene, 1918. 
Charles G. Crane 2nd, Ray P. Huntley here 1920/21; and Alfred B. 
Coolidge came from No. 235 in May, 1922. The material in building 
this house came from the old Keyes house on West street in Keene where 
the present Y. M. C. A. building was erected. 

227. Archie G. Wilder moved this building from No. 227 !j about 1905 for 
his hired man. Fred E. Richardson lived here 4 or 5 years, and Frank 
E. Pomeroy in 1921-22, then Perley W. Wheeler, fall of 1922. 

2271/2. About 1900 William O. Davis built here a house 14 x 16 feet in which 
he and Charles R. Kenney and Fred E. Richardson lived a few years 
when Wilder bought and moved across the road to No. 227. 

228. Timothy Harrington of Lancaster, Mass., sold L. 7; R, 2; 2nd Div. May 
3, 1779, to Thomas Harrington, Jr., and Sept. 28, 1786, he sold to Eben- 
ezer Gilbert who came and built on this spot. "Gilbert road" was named 
after him; he sold Mar. 24, 1797, to Joshua Flint, and Flint to David 
Allen — house and barn. Feb. 6, 1810, Allen sold to John S. Britton who 
lived on the place until 1831 when he sold to his son, Benjamin M. Brit- 
ton. The latter built a new house at No. 229 into which he moved 1834 
(?) ; some years later he moved to No. 207 and thence to No. 43. The 
old house, marked by a cellar hole, stood until about 1852. 

229. Benjamin M. Britton built 1834 (?) and lived here several years. In 
1847 he sold to Luman Pond who lived here 25 or 30 years. After he 
came here Gilbert road was called the "Pond road." William Riley 
Kenney came here from No. 235, and after his death his widow sold 
property to Archie G. Wilder who added the farm to his home place — 
No. 226. Chandler Wilbur lived here about 1845; was a cobbler, basket 
maker, etc. Mrs. Kenney was here until 1914; then Wilder sold the 
house and it was removed Nov. 1919. The barn still standing 1923. 

230. July 1918, Alfred P. Sinclair bought a plot of land and moved small 
building here from No. 232 in which he and family lived a year or two, 
and chopped wood, after which he and his house moved to Gilsum. A 
cellar remains. 

2301/^. Clifton Chambers built a small cabin here about 1898 in which he 
lived a year or more — nothing now marks the site. 

231. Charles R. Kenney came here from No. 227^2 and built a building in 
which he lived about two years, around 1900 — a cellar hole remains. 



334 History of Surry 

231%. Clifton Chambers built the building now (1922) standing about 1908 
but never came here to live. Mrs. M. C. Lewis now owns property. 
Frank E. Pomeroy came here from No. 227 in 1922. 

232. Mrs. Melvina Durant lived here 1918; married Alfred P. Sinclair who 
moved house to No. 230. A cellar hole remains. 

233. Nicholas Vincellette built a small hut here when he first came to town, 
1869, and chopped wood. George W. Marston, Charles R. Kenney; 
George F. Kenney have lived here. William 0. Davis bought, 1892, and 
has lived here much of the time until the present. He has made addi- 
tions to the buildings. A few rods west of his house he has built a 
small cottage whei'e members of his family are now living. 

234. 1896 H. Moses Blake sold a plot of land to Fred Chamberlain who built 
a small house and lived here a few years. Simon Wheeler lived here 
1909; later Charles W. Richardson, then William H. Rollins, 1916 (?) 
Edmond M. Demerse and Mrs. Grace E. Partridge lived here 1919. 
Harry W. Greenleaf bought property, 1920, and took building away. 

235. May 16, 1870, Charles Augustus Blake sold a lot 8 x 20 rods to Nich- 
olas Vincellette for $20.00 on which he built a cottage. Mar. 4, 1872, 
he sold to George W. Allen who sold in 1873 to John H. Hare. The next 
year Hare sold to Chauncey N. Kenney for $150.00. 1876 he sold to 
Rev. Joseph Allen, and Dec. 1, 1879, W. H. H. Allen, exr. sold prop- 
erty to W. Riley Kenney for $65.00. 1885 Henry Bowbrick bought and 
sold, 1889, to Frank and Alfred Steele. John Anderson bought Nov. 8, 
1899, lived here until death when his family removed to No. 49, and 
Lewis C. Buntlin bought. Harry W. Greenleaf of Keene bought prop- 
erty, 1920, and has repaired and enlarged buildings, living here sum- 
mers, or renting. He also has added more land. Alfred B. Coolidge 
was here 1921/22, and then William H. Kellogg, a teamster of Keene, 
rented house. 

236. One of the last to be occupied of the original log houses in Surry stood 
on this spot. The building stood until 1835 but for many years had 
been in a dilapidated condition. As this was part of William Hay- 
ward's home farm, it is possible it was where Daniel Hayward settled 
before 1790. It however is better known as the place where Dinah Arm- 
strong lived about 1800, — of "Dinah's Rock" fame. She was helped 
by the town for many years and did not live here after 1805. The spot 
is well marked by a cellar hole and stonework. 

237. Frank E. Ellis built here in 1899 a cheap building for choppers which 
was occupied 12 or 15 years, still standing. William O. Davis lived in 
it also several Frenchmen. 

238. Azel Wilder of Keene owned a woodlot and built a choppers' camp near 
this spot 1852/53 in which Clark Puffer, Elias H. Heath and others 
lived about two years, and chopped over the "Wilder lot." Later Wil- 
liam Carpenter and Benjamin M. Britton owned the property and they 
sowed it to rye, scratching in the seed with rakes, and reaped the grain 
with a sickle — the land is again woodland. 



Residences 335 

238%. In 1881, for the workmen who were cutting off a woodlot west of the 
mill pond three or four shacks were put up, remains of which can still 
be seen. 

239. Warren Newell built this house, 1842, from material largely from a 
building he tore down on Surry east road. His child died that year and 
was buried in the lot 4 or 5 rods south of the house but later was re- 
buried elsewhei-e. Samuel B.' Fisher, his brother-in-law, came about 
1845 and set out some mulberry trees and attempted to go into the silk 
business but failed. David Wood was here 1848; David Whitcomb, 1855; 
Frederick R. Crane, 1874; David A. Kenyon; Allen L. Green, 1910; 
Barnard C. Carey, 1922, and many others. 

240. Peter Mason is said to have built this house about 1875 from material 
out of the Allen house at No. 191. Barney Wilbur lived here; Horace 
(Hiram) P. Bigelow; Merrill D. Carpenter, 1889; Mr. Stebbins; Henry 
A. Weatherhead, 1910; Andrew J. Gibson since 1910. A complete list of 
those living here is not at hand. 

241. Philister Pond (sometimes written "Filester") said to have lived in an 
old house which stood here about 1818 at which time his son, Henry, 
was born. The old cellar hole can still be found but is nearly obliter- 
ated. Peter Rice, the Rev. soldier, lived at or near this place in 1775. 

242. Old Dolby the negro for whom "Nigger Hollow" is named lived here 
about 1834/35. Samuel B. Fisher, 1837-42; Warren Newell while build- 
ing at No. 239. Edward White spent many years here and died, 1893, 
Apr. 6, 1894, the estate was sold at auction and since that time many 
have lived here; Mr. Rumrill; Royce, Murry; Lake, etc. Charles S. 
Stowell, 1921. 

243. A blacksmith shop stood here for a few years around 1840; nothing now 
marks its site, although it could be located within recent years when 
tilling the land. 

244. About 1900 Albert E. Flagg bought a farm and soon after erected the 
buildings on this spot. He was here several years, then lived at the old 
Gunn farm in edge of Gilsum after which he closed out and removed to 
Winthrop, Wash. George E. Eraser here, 1909-1915, since then Ed- 
ward G. Haynes has lived here. 

245. George Allen moved here from S. prior to 1850 and at his death his 
dau. Jane E. Allen, had the property. She married Martin V. B. Hall 
and after the death of Mrs. Hall their dau. Ada E. Hall had property 
about 1900. She married Fred H. Booth and they sold property and 
removed to Walpole where she died. George D. Gillis and Wilder F. 
Gates bought property in 1914, and it has been divided and sold. Leon 
H. Fellows bought and settled here 1921. 

The house formerly was one story and is very old; by whom and 
when built, unknown. Numei'ous families have lived here for short 
periods within recent years. Fred H. Booth, soon after marriage; Paul 
W. Sigston, etc. 



336 History of Surry 

246. Daniel Darling, or his father, Rev. David, built a saw mill here before 
1825 which was in use until 1835. With the small supply of water the 
mill usually could run but little except in the spring. A wood undershot 
water wheel three feet long by three feet in diameter was used, on the 
end of the shaft a crank was connected direct to the up-and-down saw 
which sawed out boards and timber. Boards from this mill went into 
several dwellings in the city of Keene, one of which was the house 
where the late Gen. S. G. Griffin lived on West street, the spot where 
the new Post Office building has been erected. 

247. Rev. David Darling moved here from No. 23 in 1790 and spent his re- 
maining days. In 1807 he built the two story house now standing using 
for an ell the old house from No. 248. He was succeeded by his son, 
Daniel, who spent nearly all his life on this farm and died 1890, then 
his son-in-law, George D. Gillis, had property and after his death, 1920, 
Ray C. Ellis bought and settled here. 

Rev. David built a barn Apr. 9, 1795, which Mr. Gillis tore down and 
on its site built present one in 1904. On Mar. 30, 1828, the day Daniel 
Darling's dau. Esther M., was born, he set out near his house an elm 
tree which now girts over 14 feet, four feet above the ground, and is 
estimated to contain 10 cord of 4 ft. wood. A few rods east of the old 
barn Daniel had a cider mill which was in use many years; he like 
others, used a horse on a sweep when grinding cider-apples. Mr. Gillis 
came here Nov. 1883; was a farmer, blacksmith and wheelwright. His 
shop stands several rods south of house. 

248. A house stood here in 1800; probably occupied by the toll-gate keeper, 
at the time the highway here was a toll-road. The house was moved to 
No. 247. The gate was hung to a boulder 14 x 11 x six feet high which 
lay quite close to the wheel track and in the top can still be seen a drill- 
hole on which swung the gate. William Hayward 2nd, and Silvanus, 
sons of Peter, doubtless owned this land and also No. 239, 40, 42, and 
247 prior to 1790. 

249. This was known as the "Hale place," remains of the old cellar hole can 
still be seen in the field in which a clump of butternut trees are growing. 
May 11, 1790, John and Martha ( — ) Hale sold this place — 68 acres — 
to David Darling who removed the buildings and joined the tillage to 
his home place. 

250. In what is now a large tract of woodland and on line of the old high- 
way can still be seen the site of the "Grave's place." This place was 
also joined to the Darling farm many years ago. This doubtless is the 
place Hananiah Hall sold to John Stiles, Mar. 9, 1790; and he to David 
Darling Mar. 15, 1791 — house, barn and 20 acres. 

251. Henry Hurd, formerly of S. lived here about 1845/50; then Calvin 
Randall of S. came, and he was succeeded by his son, George H. Randall, 
who remained until death, 1911. Since then, Mr. Leonard and others 
have occupied the place. 

252. Henry Hurd or his father built and occupied a house which stood here 
a few years around 1850. While the other Mr. Hurd lived at No. 251. 



Residences 337 

253. On top of Surry mountain and not far from Keene-S. town line is an 
old cellar hole, but by whom and when occupied has not been ascertained. 

254. This is where Ebenezer Day settled before 1754; a road was laid out 
to his land, "Mar. 5, 1754," and the next year he and wife with chil- 
dren escaped to the fort in Keene during an Indian raid. During the 
middle of the last century Sumner Carpenter lived here and for a time 
kept tavern. The large brick house was gutted by a fire, 1921, and has 
since been rebuilt largely in the old walls by Nils Johnson who has 
owned the farm for over 20 years. 



22 



CHAPTER XVII 

CEMETERY AND GRAVESTONE RECORDS 
THE VILLAGE BURYING YARD 

The first to be buried in this yard is supposed to have been "The aged John 
Brook (or Brock) Departed this life Nov. 24 — 1764." He is believed to have 
been the father of Mrs. Mary Brockway the first wife of Wolston Brockway; 
she died Sept. 5, 1767. The oldest headstone is that of Timothy Rice who died 
2, June 1767. 

A record of the original plot with the several additions, follows : 

"Minutes of the Burying Lott in Surry as Released to the Town by 
Mr. John Marvin, 

"Beginning at a stake and stones the Corner of the highway that 
Leads to Capt. Harveys and runs South 3° East on the Main Street 
10 rods to a stake & stones thence West 3° South 5 rods thence North 
3° West to the highway thence by said highway East 5 rods to the first 
bound." 

First addition came (date unknown) when the yard was made six rods from 
east to west, and 13 rods from north to south. 

Second addition was made Dec. 10, 1831, when Otis Daggett sold to the town 
a plot 4 X 13 rods to the west of the old yard, also a strip just north of 
the meeting house 10 rods long by 16 feet wide for a driveway. This 
made the yard 10 rods east and west, by 13 rods and 16 feet north from 
the building. Price $16.00. 

Third addition was made about 1840 when the yard was extended to the 
west a few feet beyond the obelisk granite column marking "A mother's 
grave." 

Fourth addition was made Aug. 21, 1865, when an extension to the west 
bank was made. 

Fifth addition was made Apr. 14, 1903, when the town bought more land of 
Herbert R. Crane for $250.00 and extended the west end of the old yard 
to the south. 

At a town meeting June 24, 1794, no action was taken regarding fencing 
the village burying yard, but on Aug. 24th of the same year — "Voted to fence 
the Burying Yards." 

June 3, 1812, it was recommended to repair the boards and posts at the vil- 
lage cemetery, and Mar. 1814, it was voted to build a stone wall around this 
yard, 3 feet wide at the bottom by 4 ft. 6 inches high and one foot thick at the 
top the same to be finished by June 1, 1815 — said wall to be on the north 
and east sides. For many years prior to about 1883 the wall on the east line 
of this yard ran north from the Northeast corner of the Town Hall and the 
driveway was near the corner of the building. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 339 

Dec. 31, 1824, the town paid Ichabod Ballou $22.00 for building a new 
hearse house. This building stood a few feet west of the present Town Hall. 
The present building has stood where it now stands, in the north-west corner 
of the cemetery, since about 1850; was formerly on private land. 

Jan. 16, 1834, the town paid Capt. Eliphalet Dort $25.00 for making and 
finishing a hearse. Tradition says it had four wheels; wooden axles, was 
without springs, and painted black, having high posts at corners and open 
rear and sides. In 1868 it was voted to exchange the old hearse for a new 
one at not over $100.00. The latter is still used as occasion requires. Mar. 
8, 1859, voted to remove the tomb opposite of Samuel H. Poole's house. The 
Robinson tablet and boulder is said to mark the location of this old tomb. 

THE VILLAGE CEMETERY 

This yard is just north of the old meeting-house which was built in 1771, 
and bordered on land owned by John Marvin. Sometime before 1791 these 
minutes of the burying lot as released by him to the town occur, "beginning at 
a stake and stones on the corner of the highway that leads to Capt. Harveys, 
and runs south 3° East on the main street 10 rods to a stake and stones thence 
West 3° South 5 rods thence North 3° West to the highway thence by said 
highway East 5 rods to the first bound." 

Feb. 13, 1798, Delevan Delance for the sum of $4.00 conveyed all his right, 
interest, etc., in the burying ground to the town. 

Until within recent years the yard contained about three acres more land 
being added as need arose. Every lot in the older part has now been taken; 
the newer part has been carefully surveyed, and lots well staked out. 

The yard is well shaded by elm, pine, balsam and other trees, and the 
view from it is pleasing in all directions except the southerly, which is ob- 
structed by the back sides of the village houses. To the west the woods and 
pastures of the high sloping uplands lead in a graceful curve around to the 
Alstead hills in the north, meeting there the upper end of Surry mountain, 
which with its ledges and dark pines, stands firmly outlined against the east- 
ern sky. 

The uplands with their five terrace bowls lie in the northeast, and a large 
picturesque hemlock stands today on the height of the steep bank where it 
pitches down to the meadows. 

Glimpses of the Ashuelot river can be seen near the base of Surry mountain 
until the river is lost to sight, cut off by the pines of the Wappanock hill in 
the east. 

This cemetery is well kept, and whatever graves are not cared for by rela- 
tives or friends are looked after by the town to a certain extent. 

W. C. Prime, L. L. D., author of "Along New England Roads," and a 
writer who travelled extensively in foreign lands as well as in our own New 
England states, and especially in that region lying near the White and Green 
mountains, has this to say of the village cemetery in Surry, "The graveyard, 
although apparently not in use, was evidently well cared for. It was neat and 

in good order. I have rarely found a graveyard which was better 

worth visiting." 

The oldest stone, or that which makes record of the earliest burial is that of 
TIMOTHY RICE, who died the second day of June 1767. 



340 History of Surry 

The earliest death on record and in all probability the earliest death in 
Surry, which was at that time a part of Gilsum, according to Rev. Silvanus 
Hayward in the History of Gilsum was that of "the age<l John Brook," father 
to Mrs. Mary Brockway, Wolston Brockway's first wife. He died Nov. 24, 
1764, and probably is buried near the Brockways. 

RECORDS 
Note. Author's additions in parenthesis. 

219—220. 

ABBOTT, Lucy (Harvey), w. of Daniel; Feb. 8, 1849; 82 yrs. 

(Daniel Abbott "went to aid in suppressing the outbreak near 
Lake Champlain in 1812, and was never heard from again.") 

ABBOTT, Lucy, dau. of Daniel & Lucy; Jan. 2, 1870; 73 yrs. 
(Died in Winchester) 

526—529. 
ABBOTT, Daniel, June 18, 1869; 70 yrs., 6 mos. 

(Born in Surry) 
ABBOTT, Polly (Brown), w. of Daniel; Oct. 3, 1887; 89 yrs., 7 mos., 16 days. 

(Born in Westmoreland) 
ABBOTT, Mary Ann, Feb. 12, 1913; 71 yrs., 7 mos., 3 days. 

(Died in Keene, unm. grave) 
ABBOTT, Thomas H., Jan. 15, 1886; 55 yrs., 3 mos. 

255—256. 
ADAMS, Thomas, Mar. 6, 1826; 75 yrs. (Rev. war) 
ADAMS, Sarah, w. of Thomas; June 7, 1830; 75 yrs. 

469—470. 
ADAMS, John M., Nov. 8, 1857; 55 yrs., 8 mos. 

(Died in Walpole. Dea. John Mason Adams) 
ADAMS, Nellie, (dau. of John & Julia (Grain), granddaughter ofabove, died 

in 1861. 7 mos.) "Nellie" on gravestone. 

87—88. 
ADAMS, Harriet, dau. of John M. & Ruth (Carpenter), Feb. 28, 1835; 3 yrs. 
ADAMS, Charles, son of John M. & Ruth (Carpenter), June 2, 1835; 7 yrs., 

10 mos. 

(Mrs. Ruth (Carpenter) Adams died Apr. 19, 1882, in Zear- 

ing, Iowa) 

310—313. 
ADAMS, Amos. No stone. Marker 30. (Died Dec. 9, 1848). 
ADAMS, Polly, w. of Amos; June 18, 1841; 53 yrs. 
(Widow of Josiah Rugg) 

Dust to its narrow house beneath 
Soul to its place on high 
They that have seen thy look in death 
No more may fear to die. 
ADAMS, Oilman. No stone. Marker 29. 

(Son of Amos & Polly. Died Mar. 1, 1847; 24 yrs.) 
ADAMS, Mary A., w. of Benjamin W.; Feb. 7, 1847; 27 yrs. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records v341 

243—254. 
ALLEN, Abel. The gravestone (slate) reads: 

In memory of Mr. 
ABEL ALLEN who died 
August 18th 1808 aged 
74 years. One of the first 
settlers of this place. 
On time 
'tis a lamp that wafts its fiers 
'tis a smoke that quick expires 
'tis a bubble, 'tis a sigh 
Be prepared, O man to die. 
(Abel Allen came from Windsor, Conn.) 
ALLEN, Elizabeth (Chapin), widow of Abel; Nov. 13, 1820; 84 yrs. 

("Died suddenly in her bed while the family were asleep.") 
There is no gravestone, but she was probably buried south of 
her husband — 243. 
ALLEN, Phinehas, Mar. 7, 1815; 56 yrs. 
ALLEN, Rachel (Platts), w. of Phinehas; Nov. 24, 1852; 91 yrs. 

(The David ALLEN lot contains a tall white marble monu- 
ment with the following: 

David Allen died Dec. 29, 1855, age 80 yrs. (East side) 
Acynthia died Jan. 22, 1827, 17 yrs., 3 mos., 7 ds. (south) 
Alvira died July 6, 1896, 79 yrs. ( side ) 

Achsah D., wife of David Allen, died Sept. 1, 1854, age 72 

yrs., 9 mos., 21 ds. (West side) 
David died Aug. 10, 1808, age 3 yrs., 10 mos., 17 ds. 

(North side) 
Amos died July 8, 1808, age 1 yr., 2 mos., & 27 ds. Sons 
of D. & A. D. Allen. (North side) 
ALLEN, Zopher, son of Capt. Samuel & Polly; Jan. 18, 1810; 11/2 hrs. 

579—582. 
ALLEN, Joseph, 1798-1877. (Died June 28, 1877). 
ALLEN, Lyna, 1800-1882. (Died Mar. 16, 1882). 
ALLEN, Louisa J., 1822-1861. 

ALLEN, Andrew J., 1827-1862. (Died Oct. 14, 1862; killed on the R. R.). 
ALLEN, John H., 1843-1910. Preacher, Soldier, Scholar. (Died May 20, 

1910, in E. Hartford, Conn., a Methodist clergyman). Gray 

marble monument. 

545—546. 
ALLEN, Roxana, Aug. 2, 1890. (South grave). 
ALLEN, Rachel, Sept. 26, 1872. (North Grave). Marker 55. 
Daughters of Phinehas & Rachel. 

591—592. 
ALLEN, Joseph, July 10, 1852; 75 yrs. 
ALLEN, Hannah (Gould), Feb. 11, 1876; 95 yrs. 

"Asleep in Jesus." 



342 History of Surry 

703—704. 
ANDERSON, John, July 24, 1839— July 17, 1907. "At rest." (Born in 

Sweden). 
ANDERSON, Cleveland. Marker 68. (Died Nov. 23, 1897; 11 yrs., 10 mos., 

16 days. He was found dead in the evening in the hollow east 

of his home). 

New part of Yard. 
ANDERSON, Herman, June 3, 1868— Oct. 15, 1909. 
ANDERSON, Helen E., dau. of Herman; June 23, 1907— Jan. 15, 1908. 

(Died 1909, S. V. R.) 

433—435. 
BALLOU, Nancy, dau. of Ichabod & Eunice; 1886. Marker 43. 
BALLOU, Fanny, dau. of Ichabod & Eunice; July 16, 1849; 21 yrs. 

"Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God." 
BALLOU, Eunice (Harvey), wife of Ichabod. Marker 42. Died in Keene. 

(Twin sons of Mrs. Ballou died Apr. 4, 1825. A few hours 
old.) 

165. 
BARNES, Phebe, Aug. 31, 1801; 23 yrs. 

In bloom of youth behold I die 
Dear friends prepare for death is nigh. 
This grave's my home, here I must rest 
Till Christ shall call me from the dust. 
(From Marlboro, Mass.; sister of Rev. Parley Howe's wife.) 

131—135. 
BAXTER, George. (A marble stone with only this name.) 
BAXTER, William. (A marble stone with only this name.) 
BAXTER, Margaret (Noney), wife of Simon; Sept. 16, 1825; 75 yrs. 
BAXTER, Simon, Apr. 17, 1817; 64th yr. 

Lo' here lies mouldering in the dust 

A partner's joy, his children's trust 

A social friend a brother kind 

Is to his narrow grave confined. 

108. 
BAXTER, Thankful (Smith), first wife of William; 27th yr.; Sept. 29, 1779. 

1—5, 9—12. 
BENTON, Adoniram, Aug. 29, 1842; 80 yrs. 
BENTON, Ruth, first wife of Adoniram, is buried 3 ft. south of his grave. 

(The second wife is No. 1, 6 ft. south of his grave; has rough 
stones but no inscription.) 

ABIJAH BENTON 

1752—1823 

A Soldier of the Revolution 

REBECCA FIELD 

wife of 

ABIJAH BENTON 

1752—1816 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 343 

(Adoniram & Abijah Benton were sons of Elijah of Tolland, 

Conn.) 
BENTON, Rebecca, dau. of Abijah & Rebecca (Field); Aug. 2, 1817; 40 yrs. 

(Grave unmarked; probably is No. 9.) 
BENTON, Elijah, son of Abijah & Rebecca (Field); Aug. 5, 1798; stillborn. 

(Grave unmarked; probably is No. 10.) 
BENTON, Erastus, son of Abijah & Rebecca (Field) ; Place and date of death 

unknown. 

(Perhaps buried at No. 11.) 
BENTON, Augusta M., dau of Franklin & Mary; Mar. 23, 1840; 15 mos. 

(Granddaughter of Adoniram. No gravestone, but known to 

be buried at No. 12.) 

518—520. 
BENTON, Franklin B., son of Adoniram. Marker 51. 
BENTON, Mary J. (Gardner), wife of Franklin; Jan. 20, 1879; 67 yrs., 7 

mos. (Died in Keene. Marker 52.) 
BENTON, F. G., Co. A. 14th N. H. Inf. 

(Son of Franklin B. & Mary. Not known when he died.) 

206—210. 

1799 ABIJAH BENTON 1881 

1803 REBECCA WHITCOMB, his wife 1871 

Their children 

1830 CATHERINE 1833 

1825 ADALINE MARIA 1842 

1836 GEORGE WASHINGTON 1856 

Quincy granite monument. 
(Abijah was son of Abijah & Rebecca (Field).) 

477. 
BERRY, Thomas L., May 20, 1890; 31 yrs., 8 mos. 

381—383. 
BISSELL, Tyler, Apr. 1, 1866; 66 yrs., 6 mos. 

Rest dearest of fathers your trials 

are o'er 

The burdens of life will oppress you 

no more. 

You have loved us sincerely and 

day after day 

We'll remember your kindness as 

life wears away 

Your sun has set sweetly in yonder 

bright west. 

Your work it is finished 

In peace father rest. 

(Died in Swanzey.) 



344 History of Surry 

BISSELL, Melinda W., wife of Tyler; Mar. 12, 1885; 85 yrs. 
Thou art gone; no more shall we 
Meet thee while the path of life 
we tread 

Thou hast left us dearest mother 
Thou art numbered with the dead. 

BISSELL, Albert E., of the 9th Reg. N. H. Vols.; Oct. 9, 1864, at Washington, 

D. C.,; aged 24 yrs., 5 mos. 

Dear loved one thou art gone 
from us. 

Thy troubles now are o'er. 
The war of cannon, sound of drum 
Shall ne'er disturb you more. 

348—351. 
BLAKE, George, May. 19, 1866; 78 yrs. 

(Son of Royal; born in Keene.) 
BLAKE, Sally (Robinson), wife of George; July 6, 1842; 58 yrs. 
BLAKE, Lucius L., Aug. 5, 1841; 17 yrs. 

(Died in Fitchburg.) 
BLAKE, Ira, Mar. 4, 1844; 31 yrs. 

420—425. 
BLAKE, Joshua D., Dec. 15, 1882; 67 yrs., 8 mos. 

(Son of George & Sally.) 
BLAKE, Abby (Carter), wife of Joshua D.; Jan. 15, 1850; 34 yrs. 
BLAKE, Mary (Wilbur), wife of Joshua D.; Mar. 31, 1888; 62 yrs., 10 mos., 

28 days. 
BLAKE, Olive M., dau. of Joshua D. & Mary; Oct. 27, 1863; 7 yrs., 1 mo., 12 

days. 
BLAKE, Hattie L., dau. of Joshua D. Mary; Sept. 23, 1868; 1 yr., 2 mos., 17 

days. 

575. 
BLAKE, Ira E., Sept. 28, 1877; 34 yrs. 7 mos.; Co. B. 14th N. H. Inf. 

(Son of Joshua D. & Abby.) 

New Part of Yard. 
BLAKE, Charles H., 1852—1903, (June 28.) 

(Son of Joshua D. & Mary.) 
BLAKE, Lewis F., 1854—1913, (Mar. 19.) 

(Son of Joshua D. & Mary.) 
BLAKE, Jennie (Merriam), wife of Lewis F.; 1850—1906, (Jan. 26.) 

(Died at Asylum, Concord, N. H.) 

275—380. 
BLAKE, Charles Augustus, July 3, 1889; 69 yrs., 5 mos., 27 days. 
BLAKE, Charlotte (Wright), wife of Charles A.; Jan. 10, 1892; 66 yrs., 9 

mos., 23 days. 
BLAKE, Child of Charles & Charlotte is buried south of Charles. 

(No gravestones for above. Marker 32.) Died Apr. 21, 1862; 

S. V. R. 
BLAKE, Henry B., June 29, 1860; 42 yrs. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 345 

BLAKE, Lois D. (Wilcox), wife of Henry B.; Jan. 9, 1859; 39 yrs. 
BLAKE, George H., son of Henry B. & Lois D.; Mar. 15, 1861; 16 yrs. 

(Catherine (Norris) Blake, 2nd wife of Henry B., died in 

Surry June 1, 1861. Buried in Vermont.) 

(Charles Augustus and Henry B. were sons of George & Sally.) 

695—701. 
BLAKE, Mertie Anna (Moulthroup), wife of Henry M.; July 7, 1915; 45 

yrs., 5 mos., 15 days. (Born in Whitefield, N. H.) 
BLAKE, Lizzie, May 30, 1895; 16 days. 
BLAKE, Daughter, April 7, 1899; 14 days. Marker 60. 
BLAKE, Ralph Everett, May 17, 1903; 2 mos., 6 days. 
BLAKE, Susan M., Mar. 16, 1901; 4 mos. 
BLAKE, George E., Jan. 27, 1908; 2 mos. 
BLAKE, Florence, July 5, 1914; "9 or 10 yrs." 

(Children of Henry Moses & Mertie Blake.) 

17. 
BLAKE, Rebecca (Robbins), wife of Joseph; Dec. 21, 1825; 27 yrs. 
(Joseph was son of Isaac.) 

507—508. 
BLAKE, Estella M.„ dau. of John A. & Abbie J.; Jan. 6, 1872; 4 mos. 

(John A. was grandson of Joseph & Rebecca (Robbins) Blake.) 
BLAKE, Two children of Fred (son of John A.) Marker 53. 

692—694. 
BOLSTER, Francis A., Oct. 13, 1898; 78 yrs., 1 mo., 3 days. 

(Son of James; born in Sullivan.) 
BOLSTER, Hannah R. (Smith), wife of Francis A.; Jan. 22, 1822; Nov. 2, 

1867. (Born and died in Alstead.) 
BOLSTER, Ada Haseltine, wife of Francis A.; Sept. 12, 1893; 53 yrs., 7 mos., 

6 days. 

Dearest loved one we have 

laid thee 

In the peaceful grave's embrace 

But thy memory will be cherished 

Till we see thy heavenly face. 

(Born in Barnet, Vt.) 

New part of Yard. 
BOLSTER, Franklin, Dec. 18, 1853; Feb. 28, 1917. 

The dear birds will come in the beautiful spring 
And the soft rains will fall o'er the moor 
And the green grass will grow o'er my pillow of rest 
So near to the old cottage door. 

(Son of Francis A. & Hannah R.) 

162—164. 
BOND, Widow Lucy, died in Gilsum Jan. 10, 1815, in the 81st year of her age. 
She was Relict of Col. Wm. Bond of Watertown, Mass., who 
died in the service of U. S. Aug. 30, 1776. 



346 History of Surry 

BOND, Col. William, Mar. 29, 1819; 54 yrs. 

A soul prepared needs no delays 

The summons comes, the saint obeys. 

(Son of Col. Wm. & Lucy. Died in Gilsum. 
BOND, Charles, Nov. 19, 1810; 41 yrs. 

(Son of Col. Wm. & Lucy.) 

385—388. 
BRITT, Betsey (Robinson), widow of Seth; Mar. 30, 1858; 74 yrs., 2 mos., 

11 days. 
BRITT, Caroline, dau. of Seth & Elizabeth. 

(Seth Britt came from E. Alstead. There is an unmarked 

grave between Betsey and Caroline, which may be that of 

Seth.) 

404—407. 
BRITT, Willard, son of Seth & Elizabeth. Marker 41. 
BRITT, Mary P. (Blake), wife of Willard; Oct. 5, 1850; 39 yrs. 
BRITT, Lucius, Oct. 9, 1875. From Montague, Mass. Marker 39. 
BRITT, Daughter of Willard, July 10, 1837; 2 yrs., 6 mos. Marker 40. 

290. 
BRITT, Electa (Morton) (Purcell) (Adams), wife of Willard; Jan. 14, 1808; 
Dec. 5, 1871. (Married 1st Purcell; 2nd Adams; 3rd Willard 
Britt. Is buried near her parents, Mortons. Died in Keene.) 

472—473. 
BRITTON, Salmon, Apr. 8, 1852; 72 yrs. Marker 63. North grave. 

(Son of David & Lydia (Finney). 
BRITTON, Abigail (Wood), wife of Salmon; Mar. 23, 1854. South grave. 

338—345. 
BRITTON, Bradley, Aug. 17, 1864; 55 yrs., 11 mos. 

(Son of Salmon & Abigail.) 
BRITTON, Theodosia (Pond), wife of Bradley; Aug. 4, 1848; 32 yrs. 
BRITTON, Betsey C. (Ware) (Smith), wife of Bradley; Nov. 3, 1917; 98 

yrs., 1 mo., 15 days. 
BRITTON, Charles E., son of B. «& T.; July 30, 1864; 19 yrs., 11 mos. 

(A member of Co. I. 9th N. H. Vols.) 
BRITTON, Jennie E., Jan. 31, 1854; 1 yr., 3 mos. 
BRITTON, Eddie L., June 6, 1867; 3 yrs., 6 mos. 
BRITTON, Frank H., Aug. 11, 1877; 22 yrs. 
BRITTON, Lincoln H., Aug. 24, 1864; 3 yrs., 5 mos. 

603—605. 
BRITTON, Sarah (Harvey), wife of George W.; Aug. 24, 1881; 46 yrs. 

(George W. died in Newport, N. H.; was son of Bradley & 
Theodosia.) 
BRITTON, Gertrude E., Nov. 14, 1875; 5 yrs., 4 mos. 

BRITTON, Sydney Mayo, twin child of G. W. & S. H.; Dec. 8, 1875; 7 yrs., 
■ 6 mos. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 347 

New part of Yard. 
BRITTON, Lucy (Allen), 1839—1909. (Jan. 8.) 

(Widow of Marshall B., who died in Chicago; he was son of 
Bradley) . 

211—214. 
BRITTON, James, Apr. 5, 1856; 76 yrs. Marker 9. 

(Son of James.) 
BRITTON, Rhoda (Benton), wife of James; Apr. 22, 1865. Marker 10. 
BRITTON, Henry, son of James & Rhoda; 1803—1860. 
BRITTON, Clarissa (Robinson), wife of Henry; 1796—1863. 

538—541. 

BRITTON, J. L., Co. A. 2nd N. H. Reg. 

(Son of James & Rhoda; died May 3, 1898; 93 yrs., 9 days.) 
BRITTON, Warren, son of John L. & Sabra M. Marker 23. 
BRITTON, Fred F. Co. F. 14th N. H. Inf. 
BRITTON, Ida Mary, Aug. 5, 1863; 2 yrs., 6 mos. "Our Ida" 

Oh how we loved her here on earth 
While she to us was given 
But Jesus loved our darling too 
And called her home to heaven. 

57. 
BRITTON, Hiram 2nd, Jan. 31, 1865; 51 yrs. 
(Son of James & Rhoda.) 

456. 
BRITTON, James G., Sept. 3, 1857; 40 yrs. 

Farewell within the narrow tomb 
Thy form will ever rest 
We mourn for thee but not in gloom 
For well we know thou art blest. 

(Son of James & Rhoda.) 

563—564. 

BRITTON, Charles A., June 19, 1902; 78 yrs., 9 mos., 16 days. (Has only 
foot-stone with C. A. B. on it. Son of James & Rhoda.) 

BRITTON, Mary Ann (Benton) (Tufts), wife of Charles A.; Apr. 22, 1823; 
July 30, 1873. 

395—401, 362. 
BRITTON, John S., Oct. 13, 1847; 60 yrs. 

(Born in Westmoreland of William & Marcey.) 
BRITTON, Susannah (Allen), wife of John S., Nov. 5, 1863; 76 yrs. 

(Died in Keene). 
BRITTON, Benjamin M., Oct. 29, 1891; 80 yrs., 9 mos., 7 days. 

(Son of John S. & Susannah.) 



348 History of Surry 

BRITTON, Mary (Thomas), wife of Benjamin M., Oct. 11, 1847; 31 yrs. 

Friends nor physician could not save 
My mortal body from the grave. 
Nor can the grave confine me here 
When Christ my Savior shall appear. 

BRITTON, Elizabeth J. (Wright), wife of Benjamin M., July 6, 1860; 39 

yrs., 4 mos., 14 days. 
BRITTON, Narcissa H. (Hastings), wife of Benjamin M.; Oct. 2, 1883; 62 

yrs., 3 mos., 24 days. 

Free from pain and sorrow 

Not dead but gone before 

She is waiting with the Heavenly 

Father 

To greet us on the other shore. 

BRITTON, Mary E., dau. of Benjamin M. & Elizabeth J.; Mar. 28, 1882; 29 

yrs., 10 mos., 28 days. 
BRITTON, Cora N., dau. of Benjamin M. & Narcissa H.; Aug. 12, 1892; 28 

yrs., 4 mos. 

192. 
BRITTON, Fanny (Harvey), wife of Hiram; July 14, 1907; 86 yrs., 2 mos., 
14 days. 
(Hiram was son of Benjamin & Relief (Durant). 

34—37. 
BROCKWAY, Mary (Brooks), widow of John; Sept. 5, 1767. 

(There is no stone, but she is known to have been buried in 

this cemetery, and is probably beside her husband.) 
BROCKWAY, Woolston, Oct. 3, 1789, in 78th yr. 

He left a widow & 87 children, grand & great grandchildren. 

(Son of John & Mary. Came from Lyme, Conn.) 
BROCKWAY, Esther, widow of Wolston; Dec, 1797, in 75th yr. 
BROCKWAY, John, Oct. 19, 1799; 39 yrs. 

He lived a friend to all mankind 
And died in hopeful peace of mind. 

(Son of Woolston & Esther.) 
BROCKWAY, Wolston, Nov. 9, 1810; 20 yrs., 6 mos. 

Stop my friends and think on me V 

I once was in the world like thee 
Now I lie mouldering in the dust 
Hoping to rise amongst the just. 

(Died in Keene. Son of William Wolston & Abiah (Wilbur) ). 
There are several unmarked graves between John and Wol- 
ston Brockway, probably members of the Brockway families, 
and one is 

BROOK, John, Nov. 24, 1764. (Possibly froiTi Lyme, Conn. He was the 
father of Mrs. Mary Brockway, Woolston Brockway's first 
wife. His is "the earliest death on record, and in all proba- 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 349 

bility the earliest death in Surry, which at that time was a 
part of Gilsum, the aged John Brook.") 

436—438. 

BROOKS, Levi, Sept. 18, 1853; 71 yrs. 

BROOKS, Betsey (Robbins) , wife of Levi; Nov. 1, 1876; 73 yrs., 8 mos., 26 
days. 

For me to live is Christ 
and to die is gain. 

BROOKS, Lizzie M., dau. of Levi & Betsey; July 21, 1860; 26 yrs. 

Dearest Lizzie thou hast left us 
Here thy loss we deeply feel 
But 'tis God who hath bereft us 
He can all our sorrows heal. 

51—55. 
BROWN, Hiram, June 7, 1844; 64 yrs. 

(Son of Moses & Hannah.) 
BROWN, Mercy ( wife of Hiram; May 23, 1874; 92 yrs., 9 mos. 

(Died in Bellows Falls, Vermont.) 
BROWN, George, Sept. 3, 1887; 70 yrs. 

■^ (Son of Hiram & Mercy.) 

BROWN, Roxanna ( ), wife of George. 

BROWN, William, Mar. 16, 1813; 21 yrs. 

(Son of Hiram & Mercy.) 

257. 

BROWN, Susannah ( ), wife of William; Mar. 18, 1813; 47 yrs. 

Mortals how few among your race 
Have given this thought its weight 
And on this fleeting moment 
Hangs your everlasting state. 

(William was son of , and may be buried beside his 

wife.) 

515. 

BROWN, Charlie H., son of Isaac & Frances L.; Apr. 1, 1869; 12 yrs., 1 mo., 
7 days. 

414.. 
BURGESS, William J., son of Wm. J. & C; Aug. 25, 1851; 20 mos., 4 days. 

38. 
BYRNE, Mary J., Sept. 1, 1863; 26 yrs., 8 mos. 

569—570. 

CALDWELL, D. F., Dec. 27, 1911; 75 yrs., 2 mos; Co. B. 14th N. H. Inf. 

(Born in Nashua; son of Joseph.) 
CALDWELL, Caroline P. (Wilbur), wife of Daniel F.; Feb. 4, 1838; Feb. 

8, 1896. 



350 History of Surry 

357—361. 

CANNON, John, Dec. 26, 1863. Marker 38. 

CANNON, Margrate, wife of John; Apr. 12, 1847; 59 yrs. 

CANNON, John, Nov. 27, 1847; 33 yrs. 

(Died in Charlestown.) 
CANNON, George W., July 17, 1852; 29 yrs. 

(Died in Walpole.) • 

CANNON, Abigail M., Jan. 8, 1852; 20 yrs. 

(Died in Marlow.) 

119—120, 116. 

CARPENTER, Charles, Mar. 2, 1845; 84 yrs. 

CARPENTER, Rebekah (Isham), wife of Charles; Nov. 14, 1782; 24th yr. 

CARPENTER, Sarah (Thompson), wife of Charles; Nov. 15, 1849; 87 yrs. 
(Charles was son of Jedediah who came to Surry in 1777, and 
settled on a large tract of land with a wilderness all about him 
and whose descendants are numerous.) 

7—8. 

CARPENTER, Ezra, Dec. 3, 1854; 80 yrs. 
(Son of Jedediah & Mary.) 
CARPENTER, Betty (Chapin), wife of Ezra; Sept. 14, 1819; 42 yrs. 

712. 

CARPENTER, Lewis. Died in Marlow, son of Lewis, grandson of Charles 
& Rebecca. Unmarked grave. See Cemetery index. 

487—488. 

CARPENTER, Haskell, (son of Ariel); Sept. 2, 1842— Feb. 26, 1894. 
CARPENTER, Harriet L Wilbur, wife of Haskell; Aug. 10, 1846. 

336. 
CARPENTER, Sybil (Hayward) (Smith), wife of Ezra; Jan. 4, 1849; 77 yrs. 

481—482. 

CARPENTER, Ariel Feb. 16, 1870; 80 yrs. 

(Son of Charles & Rebecca. Lived in Alstead.) 
CARPENTER, Abigail (Streeter), wife of Ariel; Nov. 1, 1871; 71 yrs. 
CARPENTER, John, Dec. 1, 1838— Feb. 18, 1904. 

(Son of Ariel.) 

408—411. 
CARPENTER, Lovisa, Jan. 20, 1873; 70 yrs. 

(Daughter of Charles & Sarah.) 
CARPENTER, Warren, Oct. 21, 1805; July 4, 1896. 

CARPENTER, Diantha B., wife of Warren; Mar. 19, 18-16; Mar. 20, 1906. 
CARPENTER, George L., son of Warren & Diantha; Jan. 18, 1857; 1 yr., 

5 mos. 

554—555. 
CARPENTER, Charles M., Jan. 9, 1842; June 21, 1886. 
CARPENTER, Son of Charles M., Mar. 19, 1878. "Our Baby." 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 351 

296—301. 
CARPENTER, Willard, Jan. 27, 1875; 71 yrs., 2 mos., 27 days. 

(Son of Ezra.) 
CARPENTER, Sarepta (Smith), wife of Willard; Oct. 3, 1863; 60 yrs. 4 mos. 
CARPENTER, Sarephina, Sept. 17, 1832; 8 yrs., 11 mos. 
CARPENTER, Ira, Apr. 26, 1862; 23 yrs., 10 mos., 12 days. Died in Grafton, 

Vt. M. 16. 
CARPENTER, Bennett C, Mar. 29, 1868; 26 yrs., 3 mos. Died in Gilsum. 
CARPENTER, Dennis, Dec. 12, 1869; 23 yrs., 9 mos. 

559. 
CARPENTER, Sarah J. (Gushing), wife of Curtis C.; Mar. 21, 1871; 37 yrs. 
(Curtis Carpenter died May 24, 1917, in West Plains, Mo.) 

681—683. 
CARPENTER, James S., 1890. Marker 59. 
CARPENTER, Susan A. (Gushing), wife of James S.; Feb. 8, 1911; 69 yrs., 

9 mos., 25 days. (Died in Keene.) 
CARPENTER, Child of James S. & Susan A. 

439—441. 
WILLIAM CARPENTER 

1814—1890 

ABIGAIL WHITE 

His wife 

1820—1887 

FREDDIE ARTHUR 
1862—1863 

(Quincy granite monument with granite curbing. "CARPEN- 
TER" on base of both monument and curbing. William was 
son of Ezra & Betty.) 

558. 
CARPENTER, Luman M., 1839— July 24, 1901. 

644—645. 
CARPENTER, Mary E. (Poole), wife of Mason A.; Sept. 9, 1847; Jan. 18, 
1917. (Died in Springfield, Mass. Quincy granite monument.) 

568. 
CARPENTER, Dau. of Frank DeWitt & Harriet (Britton) ; Apr. 11, 1897; 
1 day. 

530—532. 
CARPENTER, Lizzie N. (Craig), wife of Eugene R.; June 9, 1852; Oct. 31, 

1908. (Died in Westmoreland.) 
CARPENTER, Agnes, dau. of Eugene R. & Lizzie; Sept. 2, 1877; 6 mos., 20 
days. "Agnes." (Died in Gilsum.) 

HALL-CARPENTER granite monument. 

303—304. 
CARPENTER, James H., June 14, 1865; 2 yrs., 9 mos. sons of Davis & 

CARPENTER, John A., Sept. 15, 1867; 2 yrs., 4 mos. Livonia (Ware) 



352 History of Surry 

CARPENTER, Mary E., dau. of Davis & Livonia; Apr. 12, 1858; 1 yr., 3 
mos. (Davis was son of Willard & Sarepta.) 

New part of Yard. 
352—353. 
CARTER, Jonah, Aug. 5, 1849; 70 yrs. 

(Came from Weathersfield, Vermont.) 
CARTER, Olive Jane, dau. of Jonah & Sally; Jan. 17, 1843; 17 yrs., 3 mos., 
23 days. 

687—690. 
CARTER, Amos H., Apr. 12, 1888; 76 yrs., 4 mos., 21 days. 

(Born in Weathersfield of Jonah & Sally.) 
CARTER, Adaline (Divoll) ; Feb. 7, 1895; 85 yrs., 2 mos., 16 days. 
CARTER, James D., Dec. 28, 1900; 61 yrs., 5 mos., 2 days. 

(Son of Amos H. & Adaline.) 
CARTER, Eady J. Ingalls, wife of James D.; Nov. 28, 1888; 46 yrs., 2 mos., 

13 days. 

589. 
CASS, Charlotte A. (Gould), wife of James M.; May 8, 1867; 26 yrs. 

Over the river she's 
waiting for me. 

24. 
CHAPIN, Hiram, Mar. 15, 1783; 35 yrs. 

(From Somers, Conn., son of Aaron & Sybel (Markham) ). 
30. 
JOANNA FULLER 

wife of 
JUSTUS CHAPIN 
Born June 9, 1757 

Bolton, Conn. 

Died Jan. 15, 1779 

Surry, N. H. 

Daughter of 

JOSHUA FULLER 

A lineal descendant of 

EDWARD FULLER 

of the MAYFLOWER. 

(Justus Chapin is buried in Gilsum; was son of Aaron & 

Sybel.) 

597—598. 
CHEEVER, James D., Aug. 10, 1879; 53 yrs., 5 mos., 7 days. 
CHEEVER, Jerusha (Randall), wife of James D.; Mar. 29, 1888; 54 yrs., 11 

mos., 24 days. 

(CHEEVER on base of white marble monument.) 

188—189. 
COLE, John, Oct. 4, 1807; 39 yrs. 

(Born in Rowley, Mass., son of John & Mehitable.) 
COLE, Mary (Bemis), wife of John; Dec. 30, 1825; 63 yrs. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 353 

621—623. 
COOK, Edward Lewis, July 19, 1848; Apr. 6, 1911. 

(Son of Lewis & Abbie (Winchester) ; born in Springfield, 

Vt.) 
COOK, Celia E., May 17, 1874; Dec. 24, 1877. 
COOK, Henry Lewis, Sept. 20, 1881; Nov. 18, 1905. 

(Children of Edward Lewis & Sarah A. (Ellis) Cook.) 

216. 
COTTON, C. Maria (Britton), wife of Lewis; Aug. 20, 1858; 28 yrs., 9 mos. 

141—145. 
In memory of Mr. EXPERIENCE SMITH 

ABIA CRAIN who died Feb. 6, wife of ABIA 

A. D. 1805 aged 53 yrs. March 27, 1814. 

Adieu to all things here 60 yrs. 

below Beneath this silent turf a 

Vain would I leave thy mother kind 

fleeting joys Fraught with a noble and 

Adieu to sin, fear, pain judicious mind 

and woe To all her friends she 

And welcome bright eternal happiness conferred 

joys. Oh may she now be happy 

with her Lord. 
(Abia, son of Abia & Mary (Tyler) Crane of Alstead, was an 
early settler in Surry. Served in the Rev.) 
CRAIN, Ichabod, Oct. 14, 1866; 82 yrs., 10 mos. 

(Son of Abia & Experience.) 
CRAIN, Fanny (Watts), wife of Ichabod; Mar. 22, 1842; 53 yrs. 

When languor and disease invade 
This trembling house of clay 
Tis well to look beyond our cage 
And long to fly away. 

666—668. 
CRAIN, Gilbert, July 18, 1882; 68 yrs., 11 mos. 

(Son of Ebenezer & Hannah (Rice) ). 
CRAIN, Harriett N. (Thomas), wife of Gilbert; Jan. 15, 1885; 64 yrs., 3 mos. 
CRAIN, Jane Harriet, dau. of Gilbert & Harriet; May 8, 1902; 58 yrs., 6 mos., 

11 days. 

373—374. 
CRAIN, Eben D., Mar. 26, 1864; 10 yrs., 7 mos. 
CRAIN, Georgie, Sept. 9, 1862; 1 yr., 6 mos. 

(Children of Gilbert & Harriet N.) 

709. 
CRAIN, Guy Herbert, son of Herbert R. & Gertrude J. (Carpenter) ; Jan. 6, 
1899; 1 yr., 3 mos. Marker 69. 
New part of Yard. 
CRAIN, A granite marker with M. D. C. designates the resting place of a 
son of Charles G. and Bessie (Knight), d. in Surry Apr. 6, 
1905. 



23 



354 History of Surry 

392—393. 
CREHORE, Mary Jane, Nov. 15, 1859; 20 yrs. 
CREHORE, Clarinda, Aug. 31, 1847; 19 yrs. 

(Daughters of George & Clarinda (Harvey) ). 

394. 
CREHORE, Clarinda K., dau. of George B. & Kezia (Walker) ; Sept. 16, 1858; 
4 mos. (George B. was son of George & Clarinda.) 

542—544. 

MOTHER 
FATHER 
SAMUEL 

CROSBY. (The above three stones mark the graves of BENJAMIN C. 
CROSBY, his wife and grandson (Samuel Waycott). Ben- 
jamin C. Crosby was born in Langdon of George &. Charlotte 
Vilas Crosby, Nov. 18, 1823; died in Keene Jan. 27, 1898. 
He was Sexton of the church in Surry over fifty years, and 
through him we have been able to locate and identify many of 
the unmarked graves in this cemetery. His wife, Eunice, dau. 
of Ichabod Ballou, died in Springfield, Mass., Mar. 18, 1903. 
The date of the death of Samuel Waycott is not known, prob- 
ably about 1916.) 

502. 
CUMMINGS, Hannah Loretta (Ball), wife of Nelson T.; May 25, 1869; 35 
yrs., 9 mos. 

616—617. 
CUMMINGS, Georgianna F. (Joslin), wife of Charles 0.; June 2, 1902; 55 

yrs., 4 mos., 20 days. (Charles 0. was son of Nelson T. & 

Hannah.) 
CUMMINGS, Albert W., son of Charles O. & Georgiana; Feb. 15, 1910; 38 

yrs., 10 mos., 27 days. (Died in Keene.) 

523—525. 
CURTIS, Margery J. (McLeod), wife of John H.; Nov. 29, 1909; 29 yrs., 4 

mos., 16 days. (Buried in unmarked grave just west of her 

son, John W.) 
CURTIS, John W., Sept. 11, 1901; May 27, 1902. 
CURTIS, Ethel M., Jan. 6, 1903; Aug. 17, 1903. 
CURTIS, Harry J., June 11, 1904; Dec. 25, 1904. 

(Children of John H. & Margery Curtis.) 

556—557. 
CUSHING, David, Mar. 19, 1872; 64 yrs. 

(Son of David & Mary.) 
CUSHING, Rhoda (Grain), wife of David; June 30, 1879; 71 yrs., 10 mos. 

650—653. 
CUSHING, John A. 

(Son of David & Mary.) , 



Cemetery and Gra\^stone Records 355 

GUSHING, Susan M. (Wilbur), wife of John. 
GUSHING, Walter, son of John & Susan M. 
GUSHING, child of Walter & Etta (Pratt). 

(No stones for above graves. Marker 58 is in the lot.) 

127—128, 117. 
DAGGETT, Otis, Jan. 23, 1847; 61 yrs. 

DAGGETT, Content, wife of Otis; Nov. 9, 1826; 40 yrs., 2 mos. 
DAGGETT, Amelia Sophia, dau, of Otis & Lydia; July 29, 1831; 2 yrs. 
(Lydia Sargeant of Rindge was 2nd wife of Otis.) 

41—45. 
In memory of In memory of 

Mr. NATHANIEL DART MRS DEBORAH wife 

who died of Mr. Nathaniel 

in the 66 year of DARTE who died 

his age March 22, 1773 

Dear friends don't mourn in the 28 year 

for me nor weep of her age 

I am not dead but here Friends retired prepared 

do sleep be 

And here I must and shall When God shall call to 

remain follow me. 

Till Christ shall raise me 
up again. 

(Nathaniel Dart, son of Daniel of Bolton, Conn. & Gilsum, 
was an early settler in Surry.) 
DART, Sarah (Thayer), widow of Nathaniel; Jan. 18, 1819; 69 yrs. 
And be her memory ever blest 
A christian meek and kind 
In all her conduct wise and 
just 
And of a virtuous mind. 

DARTE, Eunice, daughter of Mr. Nathaniel Darte & Mrs. Deborah his wife 
who paid her last debt to nature Oct. 29, 1791, in her 20th year. 

Stop gentle youth and 

shed a tear 

For my true friend lies 

buried here 

She once was innocently 

gay 

But now a lifeless lump 

of clay 

Then pity my sad overthrow 

Nor set your heart on 

things below. 

66—69. 
DART, Eliphalet, Nov. 9, 1821; 80 yrs., 8 mos., 17 days. 

(Son of Daniel. One of the first settlers in Surry.) 
DART, Ann (Field), wife of Eliphalet; July 4, 1818; 74th yr. 



356 History of Surry 

DART, Eli, July 4, 1838; 73 yrs. 

(Son of Eliphalet & Ann. Was Deacon. "The second white 
child born in Gilsum.") 

DART, Joanna (Newton), wife of Dea. Eli; Dec. 3, 1824; 64th yr. 

(Dea. Eli married 2nd Mrs. Bethiah Partridge, who died June 
10, 1833, in Keene, "occasioned by a fall down stairs." Per- 
haps No. 91.) 

DORT, Sarah (Plymton), 3rd wife of Dea. Eli; May 14, 1850; 74 yrs. 
(Gravestone broken in two. Has Mai-ker 14.) 

. 47. 
DORT, Anna, dau. of Eliphalet & Ann; Sept. 18, 1812; 43 yrs. 

(47 to 48 are doubtless graves of Eliphalet's children who died 
young.) 

222—225. 
DORT, Capt. Eliphalet, Jan. 18, 1869; 79 yrs. 

(Son of Dea. Eli & Joanna.) 
DORT, Lois (Bemis), wife of Capt. Eliphalet; June 15, 1864; 72 yrs. 
DORT, Cyrus E., son of Capt. Eliphalet & Lois; Feb. 2, 1830; 9 yrs. 

48—50. 
DORT, Azubah, dau. of Eli & Joanna; Sept. 24, 1812; 12 yrs. 
DORT, Joanna, dau. of Eli & Joanna; Nov. 5, 1814; 18 yrs., 3 mos., 1 day. 
DORT, Elihu, son of Eli & Joanna; Dec. 13, 1829; 36 yrs. 

(Probably 72 & 73 are graves of some members of Dea. Eli's 

family.) 

215. 
DAVIS, Ruhannah (Benton), wife of Aaron; Apr. 13, 1864; 83 yrs. 
(No gravestone. Marker 6.) 

461—462. 
DAVIS, Joshua, June 5, 1861; 90 yrs. 

(Born in Mason, N. H., of Joshua and Dorothy.) 
DAVIS, Azubah (Mansfield), wife of Joshua; Dec. 9, 1859; 86 yrs. 

New part of Yard. 
DAVIS, Lyle E., son of Loren A. & Cora M. (Guillow) ; Apr. 9, 1908; 5 yrs., 
16 days. 

A precious one from us has gone 
A voice we love is stilled 
A place is vacant in our home 
Which never can be filled. 

431—432. 
DEANE, Minnie, dau. of Oscar & Emma (Crosby). Marker 44. 
DEANE, Velma, dau. of Oscar & Emma (Crosby) ; Oct. 30, 1918; N. Y. City. 

549—550. 
DEBELL, Lewis. 
DEBELL, Olive (Vincellette) , wife of Lewis. Marker 54. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 357 

22—23. 
DELELANCE, Marvin, son of Delevan and Hephzibah (Marvin) ; May 25, 

1785; 5th yr. 
DELELANCE, Phebe, dau. of Delevan & Hephzibah; May 16, 1785; 9th yr. 
(Delevan Delelance was an early settler in Surry; perhaps he 
and his wife died in Essex, N. Y.) 

625—636. 
ELLIS, Henry T., Apr. 12, 1808; June 1, 1895. 

ELLIS, Almira Blake, wife of Henry; Aug. 22, 1808; July 29, 1844. 
ELLIS, Sarah J. Field, wife of Henry; Feb. 16, 1820; Apr. 27, 1891. 
ELLIS, Julia E., Aug. 20, 1847; May 25, 1873. 
ELLIS, Millie L., May 12, 1860; Sept. 29, 1862. 
ELLIS, Fanny E., Mar. 16, 1862; Sept. 18, 1862. 
ELLIS, Lizzie M., May 8, 1864; Aug. 14, 1864. 
ELLIS, Henry C, Dec. 30, 1850; Feb. 2, 1878. 
ELLIS, Willie E., Oct. 27, 1854; Apr. 27, 1855. 
ELLIS, Lucia A., Nov. 26, 1856; Jan. 28, 1878. 

Children of Henry T. & Sarah J. 
ELLIS, Henry E., Aug. 31, 1837; Aug. 19, 1842. 
ELLIS, Julia A., Sept. 21, 1839; Aug. 12, 1842. 

Children of Henry T. & Almira B. 
(The above all on one white marble monument with four 
granite posts to encompass the lot.) 

449—452. 

EMERSON, Charles, Oct. 16, 1839; 40 yrs. 

EMERSON, Belinda (Stone), wife of Charles; Oct. 10, 1869; 57 yrs., 11 mos. 

EMERSON, Martha M., dau of Charles & Belinda; Aug. 15, 1839; 1 yr., 8 

mos. 
EMERSON, Charles H., son of Charles & Belinda; July 30, 1841; 1 yr., 5 mos. 
(Two above on one stone.) 



217—218. 

EMERSON, Daniel. Marker 13. North grave 
EMERSON, Wells, Apr. 15, 1856. Marker 13. 



217—218. 

ive. 

South grave. 



169—172. 

MOSES D. FIELD PATIENCE 

Died his wife died 

Sept. 8, 1828 July 2, 1833 
Age 85. Age 84 

(Moses D. Field was born in Northfield, Mass., of Ensign 
Moses & Ann (Dickinson). He was an early settler in Surry; 
was in the Rev. and shot Col. Baum at the battle of Benning- 
ton.) 

FIELD, Moses, Jan. 31, 1805; 35 yrs. 

(Son of Moses D. & Patience (Smith) ). 



358 History of Surry 

FIELD, Molly (Hayward), wife of Moses; Aug. 24, 1808; 45th yr. 
Death is a debt to Nature due 
Which I have paid and so must you. 

157—160. 

FIELD, Haskins, Feb. 22, 1801; 14 days. 

FIELD, Jerusha, Sept. 26, 1805; 4 mos. 

FIELD, Amos, Feb. 7, 1807; 10 yrs., 11 mos., 2 days. 

Sleep on dear child 
Thou art my son 
And God your fathers 
Will be done. 

Children of Moses & Polly. (A small unmarked grave between 
Amos and Haskins may be a child of Moses & Patience.) 

229—233. 

FIELD, Eliphaz, Jan. 18, 1872; 88 yrs. (Son of Moses D. & Patience.) 
FIELD, Susannah (Robinson), wife of Eliphaz; Aug. 17, 1853; 65 yrs. 
FIELD, Eliza C, Jan. 15, 1835; 20 yrs. 
FIELD, George, Feb. 4, 1827; 9 mos. 
FIELD, Lewis, Jan. 22, 1829; 2 mos. 

Children of Eliphaz & Sussanna. 
(The above five names are on one white marble monument.) 

234—236. 

FIELD, Jonathan R., Dec. 20, 1882; 70 yrs. 

(Son of Eliphaz & Susanna.) 
FIELD, Julia F. (Morton), wife of Jonathan R.; Jan. 17, 1879; 63 yrs. 
FIELD, Charlie E. M., son of Jonathan R. & Julia F.; Jan. 30, 1858; 4 yrs., 

3 mos. "Our Charlie." 

624. 

FIELD, Lucia M., June 15, 1823; Nov. 18, 1900. 

(Dau. of Eliphaz & Susanna. Died in Brattleboro, Vt.) 

646—647. 

FIELD, George W., Apr. 25, 1903; 60 yrs. No headstone 1923. 

(Son of Jonathan R. & Julia F. Died in Keene.) 
FIELD, Kate I. Joslin, wife of George W.; July 29, 1851; Aug. 23, 1882. 

(Died in Maryland.) 

273—274. 

FIELD, Margaret Grayson Fawcett, wife of Francis F. Field; 1845—1883. 
FIELD, Mary Ella Wilcox, wife of Francis F. Field; 1849—1899, (July 8.) 
(Francis F. Field is son of Jonathan R. & Julia F.) 

133. 

FIELD, Nancy (Baxter), wife of Cyrus; Mar. 15, 1820; 25 yrs., 10 mos., 14 
days. (Cyrus was son of Moses D. & Patience. Married 2nd 
Polly Joslin, and lived and died in Smithboro, N. Y.) 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 359 

33. 
JOSHUA FULLER JOANNA TAYLOR 

died March 19, 1816 wife of 

aged 88 years 5 JOSHUA FULLER 

months 17 days. Died July 25, 1823 

Truth and virtue was 89 yrs. 

his guide 

By it he lived in peace 
he died. 

(Joshua Fuller was born in Bolton, Conn, of Samuel & Ruth. 
He was one of the early settlers in Surry. There is no stone 
to mark the grave of his wife, but she was doubtless buried 
near his grave.) 

31. 
FULLER, Levi, son of Mr. Levi & Mary Fuller. He died June 8, 1785, aged 
one year & 7 months. 

Let all prepared be 

From death no age is free. 

FULLER, Levi, son of Joshua & Joanna; Mar. 12, 1822; 60 yrs. 

FULLER, Mary (Benton), wife of Levi. Jan. 20, 1825; 62 yrs. 

(There are no stones for two above, but "We think Levi Ful- 
ler & his wife were buried just south of Levi who died June 8, 
1785; between it and footstone of Joshua Fuller." Wm. E. 
Fuller, Asst. Attorney General of U. S. It is probable that 
the unmarked graves to the end of the row are Fuller burials.") 

29. 
FULLER, Sophronia Maria, dau. of Capt. Elijah & Matilda (Newcombe) ; 
Sept. 3, 1818; 2 yrs., 6 mos., 6 days. 

So fades the lovely blooming flower 
Frail smiling solace of an hour. 
(Capt. Elijah was son of Levi & Mary (Benton). He was 
grandfather of Wm. E. Fuller mentioned above.) 

367—368. 
GAGE, Ernest E., 1859—1861. 
GAGE, Charles E., Dec. 25, 1867; 1 day. 

Children of William & Nancie (Wilbur). 

684. 
GARVIN, Flora A. (Carpenter), wife of Charles 0.; 1855—1916. 

(A granite monument; Garvin on one side, Wright on the 
other.) 

586—590. 
GOULD, Horace, Feb. 13, 1890; 86 yrs., 3 mos. 

At Rest. 
GOULD, Harriet E. (Gould), wife of Horace; May 15, 1874; 60 yrs., 1 day. 
GOULD, Julia A., dau. of Horace & Harriet; Sept. 25, 1838; Apr. 22, 1903. 
GOULD, Mary E., dau. of Horace & Harriet; Sept. 7, 1865; 20 yrs., 11 mos. 



360 History of Surry 

534. 
GOULD, Maria C, 2nd wife of Horace; former wife of Chandler Wilbur; 
Mar. 14, 1903; 90 yrs., 7 days. (Maria C. (Dean) is buried 
beside her 1st husband.) 

483—484. 
GREGORY, Dr. Samuel 0., Dec. 23, 1883; 69 yrs., 11 mos. 

(Son of Samuel & Lydia (Lathrop) ). 
GREGORY, Irene (Carpenter), wife of Dr. Samuel; Jan. 11, 1910; 86 yrs., 2 
mos. (Died in Winchester, N. H.) 
In New part of Yard. 
GUILLOW, Melvin B., Oct. 8, 1847; June 27, 1916. 

"Gone but not forgotten." 
(Born in Gilsum of Josiah & Maria P. (Whitney) ). 

467—468. 
HAMILTON, James J., Apr. 13, 1874; 57 yrs. (Died in Keene.) 
HAMILTON, Nancy E. (Carpenter), wife of James J.; Apr. 25, 1890. 
(Died in E. Alstead.) 

190—201. 

Here lies the body of 

CAPT. THOMAS HARVEY 

Born in Lyme, Conn., 1740. 

Settled in Surry 1766; died Mar. 20, 1826. 

He was in the Revolutionary Army, 

an officer on the staff of Col. Samuel Ashley. 

Also here lies the body of 

GRACE WILLEY 

His wife 

Born 1743; died Mar. 8, 1812. 

(Thomas Harvey was son of John & Elizabeth. An early 
settler in Surry.) 

HARVEY, Asahel, Dec. 5, 1835; 72 yrs. 

(Son of Thomas & Grace. Town Clerk for 25 years in suc- 
cession.) 

HARVEY, Eunice (Chamberlain), wife of Asahel; Oct. 30, 1818; 49th yr. 

HARVEY, Elizabeth (Connie) (Hall), wife of Asahel; Nov. 26, 1859; 75 >rs. 

HARVEY, Jonathan, Nov. 27, 1856; 84 yrs. 
(Son of Thomas & Grace.) 

HARVEY, Roxana (Baxter), wife of Jonathan; Jan. 11, 1848; 70 yrs. 

HARVEY, Simon B., son of Jonathan & Roxana; Feb. 10, 1830; 27th yr. 

HARVEY, Mary Holbrook, wife of Simon Baxter; Dec. 29, 1806; Sept. 15, 
1887. 

HARVEY, Francis B., son of Simon B. & Mary; Apr. 15, 1832; 2 yrs., 2 mos. 

HARVEY, Fanny, dau. of Asahel & Eunice; Jan. 31, 1812; 16 yrs., 8 mos. 

(Unmarked grave between her mother and Mary Holbrook 
Harvey.) 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 361 

70—75. 
HARVEY, Jonathan, son of Jonathan & Roxana; Aug. 25, 1862; 63 yrs, 
HARVEY, Persis (Joslin), wife of Jonathan; Sept. 23, 1798; Jan. 17, 1826. 
HARVEY, Eliza (Howe) (Redding), wife of Jonathan; Jan. 20, 1879; 77 

yrs., 10 mos., 20 days. 
HARVEY, Sophronia A., dau. of Jonathan & Persis; Sept. 20, 1855; 34 yrs. 
HARVEY, James H., son of Jonathan & Eliza; Mar. 12, 1836; 5 yrs. 
HARVEY, Sidney B., son of Jonathan & Eliza; Aug. 18, 1841; 2 yrs., 8 mos. 

606—608. 
HARVEY, George K., Feb. 18, 1829; Feb. 19, 1898. 

(Son of Jonathan & Eliza.) 
HARVEY, Eliza, dau. of George K. & Sarah L. (Wilcox); Aug. 31, 1870; 

Jan. 28, 1884. a 

HARVEY, Persis E., dau. of Jonathan & Eliza; Apr. 12, 1833; June*6, 1901. 

(The above are all on one Quincy granite monument with 

HARVEY on the base.) 

93—96. 
HATCH, M. Eliza, wife of James; Oct. 18, 1819; 22 yrs. 

(Came from Alstead.) 
HATCH, Eliza, dau. of James & Eliza; July 11, 1830; 5 yrs., 3 mos. 

(Drowned in a mill pond near C. W. Wilcox's house.) 
HATCH, Samuel K., son of James & Hannah; Feb. 21, 1824; 8 mos. 
HATCH, (a small unmarked grave between Samuel & Eliza probably child 

of James & Hanna.) 

291—293. 
HILL, Moses, May 19, 1836; 83rd yr. 

He walked with God the christian's path 
Could set his seal that God was true 
Finished his course and kept the faith 
And died with glory full in view. 

HILL, Lucy (Adams), wife of Moses; Dec. 18, 1836; 81st yr. 

(Cousin of John Quincy Adams, U. S. President.) 

Forbear my friends to weep 

Since Death has lost its sting 

Those christians that in Jesus sleep 

Our God will with him bring. 

HILL, Clement, son of Moses & Lucy; Jan. 10, 1862; 72 yrs. 

121—126. 
HILLS, Dr. Benjamin, Oct. 8, 1844; 83 yrs. 

(Born in Westboro, Mass., of Benjamin & Molly.) 
HILLS, Samuel, May 24, 1827; 61 yrs. 

(Born Westboro, Mass., of Benjamin & Elizabeth (Stevens). 

An early settler in Surry. Called "Esquire.") 
HILLS, Lucy (Thompson), wife of Samuel; Aug. 22, 1850; 84 yrs. 
HILLS, Polly, dau. of Samuel & Lucy; Mar. 4, 1803; 12 yrs. 
HILLS, Salmon, son of Samuel & Lucy; June 8, 1796; one hour. 
HILLS, Isaac Cobb, son of Samuel & Lucy; Dec. 29, 1806; 3 wks., 4 days. 



362 History of Surry 

183—187. 
HILLS, Benjamin, Oct. 29, 1850; 57 yrs. 

(Son of Samuel & Lucy.) 
HILLS, Dicea (Wood), wife of Benjamin; Sept. 14, 1839; 46 yrs. 

(The two above on one stone.) 
HILLS, Sarah, dau. of Benjamin & Dicea; May 17, 1832; 6 yrs. 
HILLS, John, son of Benjamin & Dicea; Aug. 18, 1833; 2 yrs., 6 mos. 
HILLS, George, son of Benjamin & Dicea; June 16, 1834; 3 weeks. 

(The Benjamin Hills lot has white marble monument in yard 

of granite curbing.) 

637—639. 
HODGKINS, Daniel, May 26, 1890; 75 yrs., 6 mos., 22 days. 

(Born in Alstead of Daniel.) 
HODGKINS, Rhoda C. (Britton), wife of Daniel; July 31, 1882; 66 yrs., 1 mo. 
HODGKINS, Hiram L., son of Daniel & Rhoda; Feb. 13, 1880; 34 yrs., 10 

mos. 

371—372. 
HOLBROOK, Hon. Francis, Feb. 28, 1855; 71 yrs. 

(Born in Alstead of Elijah & Abigail (Wilson) ). 
HOLBROOK, Hannah (Wood), wife fo Francis; July 27, 1845; 61 yrs. 

389—391. 
HOLBROOK, Atwood D., 1831—1900. 

HOLBROOK, Harriet (Crehore), wife of Atwood D.; 1831— Jan. 4, 1910. 
HOLBROOK, Hattie L., dau. of Atwood D. & Harriet; 1857—1860. 

56. 
HOLMES, Samuel, son of Esq. Lemuel & Abigail; Aug. 22, 1801; 15 yrs. 
(Lemuel Holmes "was a prominent man in his day.") 

42. 
HOLMES, Avis (Dart), wife of Asa; June 1, 1791; 22nd yr. 

503—505. 
HORTON, Benjamin F., Aug. 5, 1857; 47 yrs. 
HORTON, Mary P. (Withington), wife of Benjamin F.; Nov. 28, 1864; 64 

yrs. 
HORTON, George Gardner, son of Benjamin F. & Mary; Jan. 27, 1902; 64 

yrs., 8 mos., 11 days. 

A soldier in the Civil War 2nd Reg. N. H. Vols. 

479—480. 
HOUGHTON, Luke N., Apr. 1, 1881; 76 yrs., 2 mos., 14 days. 

(Son of Jonathan & Nabby (Wyman) ). 
HOUGHTON, Nancy (Streeter), wife of Luke N.; Nov. 17, 1874; 71 yrs., 11 

mos., 14 days. 

329. 
HOUGHTON, Betsey (Streeter), wife of Luke N.; June 27, 1837; 27 yrs. 

294—295. 
HOUGHTON, Charles, son of Luke N. & Betsey; June 22, 1897. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 363 

HOUGHTON, James A., son of Luke N. & Betsey; Mar. 21, 1834; 1 yr., 2 
mos., 26 days. 

166—167. 
Sacred ZERUIAH BARNES 

to the memory of wife of 

REV. PERLEY HOWE Rev. PERLEY HOWE 

who died Oct. 20, 1840 Died 

in the 79th year of his Jan. 28, 1849 

age & 46th of his ministry. Aged 70. 

Blessed are the dead which die Precious in the sight of the 

in the Lord. Lord is the death of his saints. 
(Perley Howe was born in Marlboro, Mass.) 

289. 
HUMPHREY, Louisa Adelaide, dau. of Thomas & Mary J.; Sept. 28, 1848; 
9 mos. (Died in Boston, Mass.) 

181. 
HURD, Mary Jane, dau. of Harvey & Lydia; Mar. 26, 1842; 17 mos., 16 days. 

320. 
INGALLS, Rodenthia P., wife of Joseph; Apr. 13, 1864; 73 yrs. 

115. 

In memory of Mr. 
BENJAMIN ISHAM who died 
Aug. 20th 1802 in the 45th 
year of his age 
Pray don't lament when death is sent 
Nor fill a watery eye 
It was decreed to Adam's seed 
All that are box'n must die. 
(Benjamin Isham was born in Conn, of Timothy & Rebecca 
(Fuller). He was one of the earliest settlers in Surry.) 

478. 
JEFTS, Orrin L., Oct. 9, 1875; 22 yrs., 9 mos., 4 days. 

(Son of Benjamin & Mary L. (Howard). Died in Gilsum.) 

463—466. 
JOHNSON, Augustus, Nov. 25, 1868; 88 yrs. 

(Born in Alstead.) 
JOHNSON, Jerusha (Randall), wife of Augustus; Oct. 26, 1853; 70 yrs. 
JOHNSON, Elvira F., dau. of Augustus & Jerusha; Mar. 15, 1849; 25 yrs. 
JOHNSON, Ellen F., dau. of John & Sarah (Humphrey); Aug. 2, 1845; 

11 mos. 

499—501. 
JOHNSON, Charles, Aug. 28, 1894; 92 yrs., 4 mos. 

(Son of Augustus & Jerusha.) 
JOHNSON, Sophronia (Norris), wife of Charles; Sept. 19, 1888; 86 yrs. 

(Died in Keene.) 
JOHNSON, Inf. child of Charles & Sophronia; 7 weeks; unmarked grave. 



364 History of Surrv 

640. 

JOHNSON, John, May 5, 1817; Feb. 9, 1886. 
(Son of Augustus & Jerusha.) 

91—92. 

JOSLIN, Peter, Dec. 12, 1837; 78 yrs., 2 mos. 

(Born in Shrewsbury, Mass., of Peter & Elizabeth (Greenleaf) 

Rev. War.) 
JOSLIN, Sarah (Kidder), wife of Peter; Feb. 17, 1848; 83 yrs. 

mourn not thus sweet love 
Thy mother is not dead 
There is a home above 
Where her pure spirit's fled. 

609—620. 

JOSLIN, John, May 26, 1875; 75 yrs. 

(Son of Peter & Sarah.) 
JOSLIN, Ellen M. (Hall), wife of John; Mar. 14, 1883; 70 yrs., 11 mos., 22 

days. 
JOSLIN, George Francis, son of John & Ellen M.; Feb. 17, 1846; 2 yrs., 3 

mos. 

It is well with the child. 
JOSLIN, George, Sept. 28, 1877; 73 yrs., 2 mos. 

(Son of Peter & Sarah. Died in Walpole.) 
JOSLIN, Elizabeth S. (Hills), wife of George; Oct. 18, 1844; 36 yrs. 
JOSLIN, Catherine (Marsh), wife of George; Feb. 9, 1887; 69 yrs., 5 mos. 
JOSLIN, William T., son of George & Catherine; Dec. 22, 1863; 14 yrs., 4 

mos. 
JOSLIN, George S., Feb. 11, 1834; 2 yrs., 10 mos. 

JOSLIN, Sarah H., Feb. 28, 1834; 4 yrs., 4 mos. Children of George & 
JOSLIN, Luke H., Sept. 19, 1842; 1 yr., 2 mos. Elizabeth S. Joslin 

(The foregoing commencing with George are on one white 

marble monument.) 

521—522. 

JOSLIN, Edith L., dau. of George H. & Josephine A. (Carpenter); May 16, 
1897. (Born Sept. 23, 1867, Worcester, Mass. Died in Quincy, 
Mass.) 

JOSLIN, George H. Monument. 

412. 

KENDALL, Sails, Sept. 9, 1886; 80 yrs., 2 mos. 
At Rest. 

26. 
KENNEY, Charles S., son of Chauncey N. & Betsey D. (Ball) ; Oct. 29, 1863; 
19 yrs. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 365 

674. 

KENNEY, W. R., Dec. 1, 1898; 50 yrs., 4 mos., 17 days; 14th N. H. Inf. 
(Son of Chauncey N. & Betsey D.) 

562. 

KIDDER, Jefferson, July 14, 1806; Nov. 29, 1886. 
(Born in Temple, N. H.) 

237—238. 

KINGSBURY, Augustus, Sept. 2, 1844; 30 yrs. 

(Born in Needham, Mass., of Cyrus & Sukey.) 
KINGSBURY, Eunice (Stone), wife of Augustus; July 8, 1870; 54 yrs., 7 

mos. (Died in Fitchburg, Mass. Two above on one stone.) 

658—659. 

KINGSBURY, Cyrus, 1842—1909. (Nov. 30.) 

(Son of Augustus & Eunice. Died in Concord, N. H.) 
KINGSBURY, Lydia J. Ellis, wife of Cyrus; 1842—1917, (Aug. 9.) 

Gone Home. 

594—596. 

KINGSBURY, William L., Mar. 26, 1820; Jan. 18, 1890. 

(Born in Gilsum of Wm. & Temperance (Leonard) ). 
KINGSBURY, Anna (Webster), wife of William L.; May 30, 1820; Oct. 28, 

1894. (Born in Gilsum. The two above on one stone.) 
KINGSBURY, Nellie R. (Cheever), v/lfe of Otis W.; Oct. 2, 1888; 32 yrs., 4 

mos., 15 days. 

(Otis W. is son of William & Anna.) 

656.-657. 

KINGSBURY, William, Sept. 15, 1880; 76 yrs., 3 mos. 

(Son of Abijah & Abigail (Wilder) ). 
KINGSBURY, Huldah (Stone), wife of William; Aug. 19, 1885; 75 yrs., 7 



354—356. 

KINGSBURY, Josiah, Nov. 6, 1807; Nov. 10, 1893. 

(Son of Abijah & Abigail (Wilder). Died in Keene.) 
KINGSBURY, Sarah (Baker), wife of Josiah; Apr. 25, 1843; 28 yrs. 

Be still my friends dry up your tears 

I must lie here till Christ appears. 
KINGSBURY, Cynthia (Baker), wife of Josiah; Feb. 5, 1854; 44 yrs. 

512—514. 
KINGSBURY, Eddie M., son of Edward A. & Ellen M.; Mar. 14, 1865; Mar. 
22, 1879. 

For of such is the Kingdom 
of Heaven. 



366 History of Surry 

KINGSBURY, May Daniels, dau. of Edward A. & Ellen M.; Aug. 7, 1871; 
Dec. 28, 1874. 

The bud that blossoms in Heaven. 

EDWARD A. KINGSBURY 

A soldier of the Civil War 

Feb. 14, 1839— 

ELLEN M. CARPENTER 

His wife 

Apr. 23, 1842— 

(Edward A. is son of Josiah & Sarah (Baker). Granite 

monument.) 

New part of Yard. 
KINGSBURY, Millicent Ellen, dau. of Frank B. & Mabel H. (Kingsbury); 
July 20, 1914; Oct. 29, 1914. 

A bud that blossoms in Heaven. 

New part of Yard. 
LARSON, Henry A., May 30, 1875; Apr. 25, 1907. 

40. 
MACK, Ruel, Mar. 11, 1812; 47th yr. 

Mourn not for me nor 
thus reflect 

But all your sighs and 
tears suppress 

Since God has promised 
to protect 

The widow and the fatherless. 

(Born in Alstead of Joseph & Lois.) 

474—476. 
MANSFIELD, Willard, May 24, 1855; 38 yrs. 

(Son of Elijah & Sally (Dort) ). 
MANSFIELD, Jane, wife of Willard; Dec. 3, 1865; 45 yrs., 9 mos. 
MANSFIELD, George F., son of Willard & Jane; Mar. 6, 1864; 19 yrs. 

28. 
In memory of MR. JOHN MARVIN who was born Jan. 30, 
1727 and died Dec. 24th 1792 aged 65 years. 

Friends retire prepared be 

When God calls you to follow me. 

(From Lyme, Conn. Son of John & Mehitable (Champion). 
An early settler in Surry.) 

27—28. 
MARVIN, John, Nov. 15, 1807; 44th yr. 

Death thoU hast conquered me 
I by thy darts am slain 
But Christ has conquered thee 
And I shall rise again. 
(Son of John & Sarah (Brooker) ). 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 367 

MARVIN, Caroline (Beckwith), wife of John; Apr. 27, 1852; 91 yrs. 

660—665. 
MASON, Elijah, Oct. 23, 1791; Dec. 25, 1880. 

MASON, Mary (Allen), wife of Elijah; June 4, 1791; June 28, 1843. 
MASON, Elijah B., Sept. 25, 1826; Feb. 28, 1908. 

MASON, Relief S. (Horton), wife of Elijah B.; Sept. 19, 1842; June 6, 1914. 
MASON, Mary I., Aug. 3, 1873; Jan. 17, 1913. 
MASON, William P., Apr. 14, 1832; Nov. 19, 1912. 

(The above all on one granite monument.) 

86. 
MERRIAM, William, son of John & Hannah; Nov. 25, 1777; 5 yrs., 6 mos., 
15 days. 

(John Merriam came from Littleton, Mass., and settled in 
Walpole close to Surry line. He died in 1825 and Hannah in 
1824. Buried in tomb under the hill in northeast part of yai'd, 
and later removed to Keene cemetery.) 

151—156. 
MR. Mrs. 

PHILIP MONROE ABIGAIL MONROE 

died widow of 

Dec. 14, 179U Mr. (Early settlers 

Aged 75 PHILIP MONROE in Surry.) 

died 
The father of Oct. 8, 1801 

DR. PHILIP MONROE Aged 70 

MONROE, (Two stones T. M. and D. M. and two unmarked small graves are 
undoubtedly of the Monroe family.) 

226—228. 
MONROE, Dr. Philip, Sept. 10, 1832; 79 yrs. 

MONROE, Betsey (Briggs), 2nd wife of Dr. Philip; June 30, 1830; 64 yrs. 
MONROE, Isaac, son of Dr. Philip & Betsey; May 2, 1798; Jan. 20, 1871. 

113—114. 
MONROE, Rhoda (Smith), wife of Dr. Philip; Mar. 9, 1785; 21st yr. 

Beneath this stone and gloomy shade 
A wise and virtuous one is laid 
She lived beloved, lamented died 
.So may her rest in Christ abide. 
MONROE, Sophronia, dau. of Dr. Philip; Mar. 5, 1785; 8 hours. 

129—130. 
MONROE, Abijah, Jan. 26, 1854; 58 yrs. 

(Son of Dr. Philip & Betsey.) 
MONROE, Prudence (Shaw), wife of Abijah; Jan. 18, 1867; 69 yrs. 

(Two above on one stone. Both died in Charlestown, Mass.) 

284—288. 
MORTON, Seth, Apr. 1, 1778; June 18, 1864. Marker 18. 

(Son of Seth & Mary of Hatfield, Mass. An early settler in 
Surry.) 



368 History of Surry 

MORTON, Naomi (Smith), wife of Seth; Aug. 8, 1786; Sept. 25, 1843. 

Marker 19. 
MORTON, Seth, son of Seth & Naomi; June 15, 1846; 22 yrs. Marker 21. 
MORTON, George, son of Seth & Naomi; Feb. 13, 1841; 23 yrs. Marker 20. 
MORTON, William W., son of Seth and Naomi; May 17, 1838; 9 yrs., 7 mos. 

680. 
NESMITH, Fred Grain, son of Frank E. & Mary (Grain); Feb. 29, 1886. 

239—240. 
NORRIS, Elijah. Marker 12. 
NORRIS, Ann (Kendrick), wife of Elijah; May 28, 1827; 55th yr. 

711. 
OLMSTED, Charles Gurtis, 1830—1900 (Sept. 6). 

(Born in Whitestown, Vt., of Oliver & Elizabeth (Glives) ). 

369. 
ORDWAY, Abigail, Mar. 16, 1831; 64 yrs. 

("At Gapt. Samuel Robinson's where she lived, widow Abigail 
Ordway." Howe.) 

19. 
PALMER, Two children of Joseph. Marker 2. 

117. 
PARKER, Fanny (Carpenter), wife of Lyman; June 20, 1844; 29 yrs. 

266—272. 
PERKINS, William, Jan. 17, 1815; 47 yrs., 11 mos. 

(Born in Ipswich, Mass., of Capt. Francis & Martha (Low) ). 
PERKINS, Elizabeth (Proctor), wife of William; Feb. 15, 1854; 82 yrs. 
PERKINS, William Jr., June 7, 1876; 87 yrs., 2 mos., 3 days. 
PERKINS, Prudence (Porter), wife of William Jr.; Feb. 12, 1885; 86 yrs., 11 

mos., 6 days. (Died in Washington, D. G.) 
PERKINS, John, son of Wm. Jr. & Prudence; Mar. 12, 1824; 3 yrs., 6 mos. 
PERKINS, John H., son of Wm. Jr. & Prudence; July 30, 1828; 1 yr., 9 mos. 
PERKINS, Eliza Ann, dau. of Wm. Jr. & Prudence; Feb. 17, 1833; 6 mos. 

491—494. 
PERKINS, Charles H., July 26, 1877; 38 yrs., 7 mos., 9 days. 

(Son of Wm. Jr. & Prudence.) 
PERKINS, Lucy A. (Durrell), wife of Charles H.; Nov. 12, 1903; 59 yrs., 

9 mos., 12 days. 
PERKINS, E. Estella, dau. of Charles H. & Lucy A.; Aug. 4, 1866; 10 mos., 

9 days. 
PERKINS, Clifford H., son of Charles H. & Lucy A.; Apr. 2, 1878; 7 mos., 

4 days. 

97—98. 
PHILLIPS, Freelove (Paine); July 22, 1853; 48 yrs. 

(Died in Worcester, Mass., wife of Otis J.) 
WILLARD, Mrs. Marker 4. (Dau. of Mrs. Phillips. From Worcester, Mass.) 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 369 

New part of Yard. 

PIKE, Henry A., Mar. 7, 1843; July 16, 1912. 

(Born in Morristown, Vt., of Samuel & Betsey (Newman) ). 

PIKE, Lizzie L. (Stockwell), wife of Henry A.; Oct. 4, 1846— May 3, 1905. 
(Mrs. M, H. Porter states the date on grave-stone is not cor- 
rect, it should be Nov. 4, 1845. Two above on granite monu- 
ment.) 

241. 
POLLARD, Martha, wife of Jonas; Nov. 15, 1826; 48 yrs. 

346—347. 
POND, Luman. Marker 22. 

(Sbn of Philester & Rhoda (Hayward) ). 
POND, Mary (Wilder), wife of Luman; Nov. 20, 1857; 44 yrs,, 8 mos. 

168. 
PETTS, Eliza H., dau. of Dr. John & Phebe (Howe); Dec. 11, 1846; 17 yrs. 
Only the earthly form lies here 
Her lovely spirit lives. 

572—574. 
POOLE, Samuel, Feb. 16, 1878; 61 yrs., 7 mos. 

(Son of Jonathan & Rebecca.) 
POOLE, Susan J. (Heath), wife of Samuel; Nov. 13, 1890; 73 yrs., 9 mos. 

We shall miss them sadly miss 

them 

But we know there gone before 

To that world where care and 

sorrow 

Will be felt and feared no 

more. 
(Born in Orange, Mass. White marble monument with 
"Poole" on base.) 

62. 
PORTER, Cyrus, son of Benjamin & Lydia (Wilcox); May 18, 1806; 5 yrs., 
4 mos. 

453—455. 
WILLIAM H. PORTER Charles H. 

1830—1894 son of 

CLEMENTINE R. BALCH Wm. H. & C. R. Porter 

His wife Died Jan. 29, 1861 

1830—1916 (June 9) aged 3 yrs. 

(Doctor Porter was the "beloved physician" of Surry for forty 
years, town clerk for twenty four years, and held other town 
offices. The Porter monument is of westerly granite with 
"PORTER" on the base.) 

458—460. 
RANDALL, Calvin, Aug. 8, 1881; 69 yrs., 7 mos. 

(Born in Littleton, Mass., of Ivory & Sally (Kilburn) ). 



24 



370 History of Surry 

RANDALL, Sarah (Davis), wife of Calvin; Nov. 1, 1883; 68 yrs., 7 mos. 
RANDALL, Lovisa R., dau. of Calvin & Sarah; Jan. 20, 1865; 22 yrs. 

Holy thou wert and good and true 
No change can cloud our thoughts 
of thee 

Guide us like thee to live and die 
And reach our father's house on high. 

669—671. 
RANDALL, George H., May 27, 1846; Mar. 30, 1911. 

(Son of Calvin & Sarah. Died in Swanzey.) 
RANDALL, Emily J. (Wilcox), wife of George H.; Apr. 1, 1850; Nov. 5, 

1882. 
RANDALL, Maria J. (Britton), wife of George H.; Jan. 5, 1860; Jan. 3, 1916. 

(Died in Gilsum. The Randall monument is of white marble, 

with "RANDALL" on the base.) 

180. 
REDDING, John, Apr. 7, 1814; 60th yr. 

The widow mourns the loss of 
a husband near 
The children of a parent dear 
But still one comfort does remain 
The hope that our loss is his 
infinite gain. 
(Son or brother of Joseph of Middleboro, or Millbury, Mass. 
An early settler in Surry.) 

173—179. 
REED, Dea. David, June 29, 1819; 63 yrs. Died in Alstead. 

(Born in Rehoboth, Mass., of Nathan. An early settler in 

Surry.) 
REED, Lewis, Jan. 6, 1823; 36th yr. 

Man dieth and wasteth away; yea man 
giveth up the ghost and where is he. 

(Son of Dea. David & Abigail (Daggett). Died in Keene.) 
REED, Nancy Harvey, wife of Lewis F., afterward wife of Asa Wilcox Jr.; 

May 30, 1871; 78 yrs. See Wilcox, No. 451. 
REED, Charles H., son of Lewis F. & Nancy; Apr. 8, 1825; 3 yrs. 
REED, David, June 1, 1855; 70 yrs. 

(Son of Dea. David & Abigail.) 
REED, Lucinda (Knight), wife of David; Sept. 11, 1811; Mar. 11, 1889. 

(Born in Weathersfield, Vt.) 
REED, Missouri, dau. of David & Lucinda; Nov. 14, 1840; Oct. 2, 1859. 

583—584. 
REED, Nathan D., son of Dea. David & Abigail; Aug. 5, 1892; 91 yrs., 10 mos. 

Marker 33. 
REED, Charlotte (Dwinnell), wife of Nathan D.; Oct. 1, 1890; 82 yrs., 6 mos. 

(Unmarked grave, south of Marker 33.) 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 371 

707—708. 
REED, George M., Nov. 1, 1834; Sept. 21, 1896. 

REED, Eliza A. (Kingsbury), wife of George M.; Aug. 1, 1832; Aug. 18, 
1906. (The two above on one stone.) 

705. 
REED, Jackson. Marker 66 in lot. No graves. 

89. 

Here Lis the 
Body of TI- 
MOTHY RICE 
who died in the 
Yere 1767 on 
the 2 day of 
June 

(One of the first settlers in Surry. This is the most ancient 
looking headstone in the yard; a rough granite stone, and the 
lettering done probably by some local workman. Three feet 
north of this stone, measuring from its center, is a long grave 
marked with a rough granite stone, but no inscription. Two 
feet south of Timothy Rice is a short grave marked by a small 
stone. Perhaps Rice graves. Timothy Rice was probably 
father of Chai'les Rice, the Revolutionary soldier who lived 
some years in Surry, and died in Keene in 1821.) 

442. 
RICH, Mrs. Sophia (Bowen) (Baxter), wife of Rev. Ezekiel; Jan. 4, 1856. 
(Died in Keene, a suicide.) 

"A MOTHER'S GRAVE" 

(This is a tall granite monument eight or more feet high. She 
was the mother of Romeo Bowen (a sailor) by her first hus- 
band; married 2nd George Baxter, and 3rd Rev. Ezekiel Rich.) 

655. 
RICHARDSON, Hattie M. (Kenney), wife of Charles; Sept. 6, 1892; 22 yrs., 
2 mos., 20 days. 

14—18. 

JEREMIAH ROBBINS 

died 

Aug. 18, 1863 

Aged 86 

REBECCA REBECCA 

wife of wife of 

JOSEPH BLAKE JEREMIAH 

died Dec. 21 ROBBINS died 

1825 April 4, 1826 

aged 27 aged 49 

(The two above on one stone.) 



372 History of Surry 

ROBBINS, Marian, dau. of Jeremiah & Rebecca; Sept. 30, 1821; 2 yrs., 6 mos. 

384. 

"In memory of JONATHAN ROBINSON 

Born in Andover, Mass. 

June 25, 1753. 

Died in Surry, N. H. 

Mar. 17, 1838. 

A Soldier of the Revolution." 

(The above is from a bronze tablet set in a large boulder at 
the entrance to the tomb. It was placed there by James & 
Walter Page, and Mrs. Adeline Smith. His first wife is also 
buried in the tomb. "No others were left there." Jonathan 
Robinson was an early settler in Surry.) 
ROBINSON, Elizabeth (Chadwick), wife of Jonathan; Oct. 23, 1818; 62 yrs. 
(Born in Boxford, Mass.) 

370. 
ROBINSON, Samuel H., son of Samuel & Nancy (Harvey) ; Aug. 10, 1829; 
14 mos. 

495—498. 
ROGERS, John H., Jan. 18, 1914; 88 yrs., 6 mos., 6 days. 

(Son of James & Mary (Jenkins) ; born in Goshen, N. H.; died 

in Westmoreland.) 
ROGERS, Emily, wife of John H.; Mar. 9, 1863; 35 yrs. 
ROGERS, Elizabeth S. (Johnson), wife of John H.; Apr. 25, 1868; 34 yrs. 

(Died in Muskegon, Mich.) 
ROGERS, Mary (Allen), wife of John H.; Dec. 2, 1882; 57 yrs., 4 mos., 22 

days. 

309. 

RUGG, Henry Hartwell, son of Sewall & Sophia (Wright); Aug. 15, 1848; 
1 yr., 6 mos. 

448. 
SANGER, Mary L. (Woodward), wife of George; Dec. 9, 1908; 76 yrs., 10 
mos., 9 days. 

63—65. 
SAWYER, Samuel, Mar. 17, 1812; 45th yr. 

(Born in Atkinson of Jonathan.) 
SAWYER, Betsey, dau. of Samuel & Sarah; Apr. 14, 1806; 4 yrs., 11 mos., 
1 day. 

I was your little blooming rose 
A transitory flower 
I am not yours but only lent 
For an hour. 

SAWYER, Maria, dau. of Samuel & Sarah; Jan. 11, 1806; 11 days 
Sleep on sweet babe and take your rest 
For Jesus Christ such children blest. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 373 

78. 

SCHOVEL, Lydia (Wilcox), wife of Henry; Dec. 24, 1869; 94 yrs., 1 mo., 2 
days. (Henry Scovel came from Bolton, Conn. An early 
settler in Surry.) 

427—428. 

SCOVELL, Frederick, Aug. 15, 1870; 83 yrs., 9 mos., 22 days. 

SCOVELL, Sarah (Hayward), wife of Frederick; July 26, 1870; 80 yrs., 7 

mos., 20 days. 

(The two above on one stone. Frederick was son of Henry.) 

25. 
SCOVELL, Mary L., dau. of Frederick & Sarah; Oct. 29, 1828; 10th yr. 

426. 

SCRIBNER, Martha M. (Scovell), wife of John; Nov. 18, 1850; 30th yr. 

585. 
SCRIPTURE, Charlotte A. (Fisher), wife of Harrison N.; May 31, 1890; 45 
yrs., 10 mos., 1 day. 

577—578. 

SCRIPTURE, Walter R., Sept. 2, 1846; Nov. 19, 1899. 

(Son of Charles & Abigail (Priest) ). 
SCRIPTURE, Addie J., dau. of Walter R. & Alice J. (Cram) ; Nov. 30, 1874; 

Aug. 20, 1875. 

136—139. 
SHAW, Esq. David, Mar. 7, 1857; 84 yrs. 

SHAW, Prudence (Baxter), wife of David; Jan. 21, 1845; 65 yrs. 
SHAW, Zilpha, Nov. 6, 1889; 84 yrs., 2 mos., 4 days. Died in Charlestovra, 

Mass. 
SHAW, Adeline. 

672—673. 
SHAW, Horace B., Feb. 22, 1899; 87 yrs., 7 mos., 1 day. 
SHAW, Mariah (Tuttle), wife of Horace B.; Aug. 5, 1891; 62 yrs. 

509—510. 
SHAW, Willard S., Feb. 26, 1895; 82 yrs. 
SHAW, Maria E. Prouty, wife of Willard; Jan. 7, 1870; 62 yrs. 

(Two above on one stone. Horace and Willard were sons of 

David.) 

447. 
SHELDON, Sarah J. (Woodward), wife of Albert W.; Mar. 10, 1865; 28 
yrs., 10 mos., 17 days. 

76. 
SMITH, Clarissa Preston, wife of Rev. Elihu; Nov. 2, 1773; June 9, 1844. 



374 History of Surry 

146—150. 

In memory of Mr. 

JONATHAN SMITH who 

died Oct. 9th 1786 

In the 71st year 

of his age. 

Consider this as you pass by 
You in the grave must surely lie 
I'm fixed here and must remain 
Till Christ shall call for me again. 

(One of the first settlers in Surry. From Bolton, Conn.) 
SMITH, Experience, wife of Jonathan; Apr. 12, 1790; 71st yr. 

Reader 
Although I sleep in dust awhile 
Beneath this Barron clod 
Ere long I hope to rise and shine 
To see my Savior God. 

SMITH, Thomas, Dec. 6, 1802; 62 yrs. Died with the small-pox. 

(Thomas & Ichabod, were sons of Jonathan & Experience.) 
SMITH, Ichabod, Sept. 20, 1807; 65 yrs., 17 days. 

Look here my friends as you pass by 
As you are now so once was I 
As I am now so you must be 
Prepare for Death to follow me. 

SMITH, Lydia (Wilcox), wife of Ichabod; Apr. 12, 1830; 85 yrs. 

109—112. 

SMITH, Isaac, son of Jonathan & Experience; Dec. 21, 1780; 21st yr. 
SMITH, Ichabod, son of Thomas & Elisheby; Sept. 19, 1777; 2 yrs., 7 mos., 

7 days. 
SMITH, Roxalana, dau. of Thomas & Elisheby; Feb. 1, 1794; 17th yr. 

My child has left a world of sin 
Twas Christ who took away the sting 
Twas Christ who gave her vital breath 
We hope He called her to His rest. 

SMITH, John, son of Capt. Samuel & Deborah; Mar. 18, 1790; 2 mos., 2 days. 

302. 
SMITH, Stephen (son of Daniel & Sibyl (Hayward) ); Apr. 28, 1848; 35 
yrs. 

Unto you therefore which believe 
he is precious. 

326—328. 
SMITH, Esq. Sylvester, Aug. 18, 1863; 84 yrs. Marker 26. 
SMITH, Rebecca, wife of Sylvester; Jan. 3, 1844; 64 yrs. 
SMITH, Betsey (Carpenter), wife of Sylvester; May 22, 1885; 79 yrs., 10 
mos., 8 days. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 375 

315—318. 

STEVENS, John, June 7, 1845; 67 yrs. (Born in Mason, N. H.) 
STEVENS, Lydia (Brown), wife of John; June 14, 1843; 63 yrs., 6 mos. 
STEVENS.Louisa, dau. of John & Lydia; June 30, 1832; 21 yrs., 10 mos. 
STEVENS, Holland, son of John & Lydia; Mar. 29, 1895; 81 yrs., 10 mos., 19 
days. Marker 28. 

566. 

STEVENS, Nancy Maria (Benton) (Britton), wife of Holland; May 25, 1878. 
(Buried 2 ft. north of a monument marked "Nancy, wife of 
Erastus Benton." No stone.) 

415—418. 
STEVENS, Capt. Almond D. (son of John & Lydia) ; Nov. 18, 1865; 61 yrs. 
STEVENS, Sarah Louisa, dau. of Almond & Elizabeth (Bodge) ; June 27, 
1848; 16 yrs. 

Farewell ye friends whose tender care 
Has long engaged my love 
Your fond embrace I now exchange 
For better friends above. 
STEVENS, George A., only son of A. & E. Jan. 7, 1877; 40 yrs. (Died in 
Gilsum.) 

We shall meet him over the river. 
"Husband." 

314. 
STICKNEY, Son of Joseph & Addie (Butler); July 17, 1880. Stillborn. 
Marker 31. 

275—283. 

STONE, David, Aug. 25, 1853; 74 yrs. 

STONE, Asenath (Willey), wife of David; Dec. 28, 1837; 57 yrs. 

Farewell dear friend 

Since God has called thee home 

We hope to meet thee 

In the world to come. 

STONE, George, son of David & Asenath; Oct. 23, 1830; 28 yrs. 
Farewell my father and my mother dear 
My brothers and my sisters all 
Prepare to meet your God in fear 
For shortly he will for you call. 
STONE, Asenath, dau. of David & Asenath; Aug. 20, 1839; 31 yrs. 
STONE, Henry F., son of David & Asenath; June 26, 1848; 28 yrs. (Died 

in Keene.) 
STONE, Luther, son of David & Asenath; July 1, 1900; 77 yrs., 9 mos. 

(Died in Keene.) 
STONE, Philander, son of David & Asenath; May 4, 1865; 59 yrs. 
(Died in Keene.) 

Now with the loved ones gone before. 



376 History of Surry 

STONE, Rebecca, wife of Philander; Mar. 12, 1864; 52 yrs. 

She hath done what she could. 
STONE, Rufus H., son of Philander & Rebecca; Feb. 24, 1864; 26 yrs. • 
21st Reg. Mass. Vols. 

654. 
STONE, Permilia (Gushing), wife of George A. Marker 58. 

259—265. 

Sacred to the memory 
of the REV. ZEBULON 
STREETER who died Oct. 
14 A. D. 1808 in the 70 year 
of his age. 
No more on earth I meet with you again 
Adieu all sorrow, trouble, care and pain 
My spirits gone from earth to heaven above 
I drink full drafts of universal love. 

(Born in Douglass, Mass. One of the first settlers in Surry.) 
STREETER, Tabitha (Harvey), wife of Rev. Zebulon; Jan. 25, 1813; 76th 

yr- 

I wandered here on earth 
Till God was pleased to give me birth 
And my Saviour took me in 
Now I am gone with him to dwell 
For God is love. 

STREETER, Jesse, May 6, 1835; 62nd yr. 

STREETER, Polly, (Stocker), wife of Jesse; Nov. 10, 1849; 77 yrs. 

STREETER, Elijah, Dec. 1, 1806; 32nd yr. 

(Jesse and Elijah were sons of Rev. Zebulon & Tabitha.) 
STREETER, Amos, son of Jesse & Polly; May 7, 1869. Marker 11. 

221. 
STREETER, Fanny, dau. of Jesse & Polly; Feb. 14, 1802; 1 yr., 2 mos., 21 
days. 

547—548. 
STREETER, Willard, Apr. 4, 1817; Apr. 26, 1878. 

STREETER, Mary (Carpenter), wife of Willard; Jan. 24, 1812; Oct. 8, 1888. 
(Two above on one stone. Willard was son of Jesse & Polly.) 

560—561. 
STREETER, Hermon, son of Willard; Apr. 13, 1918. 
STREETER, "Infant children" of Hermon 0. & Hattie E. (Kidder). 

363—366. 
THOMAS, Philip, Oct. 6, 1855; 76 yrs. 

(Son of Philip & Mary (LeFavor) ; born in Topsfield, Mass.) 
THOMAS, Ruth (Fiske), wife of Philip; Sept. 29, 1847; 63 yrs. 

Here lies one mouldering to dust 

A partner's joy, the children's trust. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 377 

THOMAS, Betsey (Ray) (Burroughs), wife of Philip; Oct. 23, 1862; 63 yrs. 
THOMAS, Louisa (Thomas), wife of Luke; Apr. 27, 1857; 47 yrs. 

402—403. 
THOMAS, Philip, May 4, 1886; 80 yrs. 

(Born in Westmoreland of Philip & Ruth). 
THOMAS, Susanna A. (Britton), wife of Philip; Dec. 1, 1864; 56 yrs. 

443. 
THOMPSON, William, Apr. 16, 1864; 85 yrs. Marker 47. 

702. 
TOWNSEND, Sabra D. (Barnard), Sept. 29, 1900; 51 yrs., 2 mos., 29 days. 

319. 
TYLER, Dean, son of Stephen & Patty (Baxter) ; June 13, 1854; 63 yrs. 

551—553. 
VINCELLETTE, Olive (Patenaude), wife of Nicholas; Aug. 18, 1904; 72 

yrs., 3 mos., 9 days. 
VINCELLETTE, Infant child of Nicholas & Olive; July 9, 1874. 

(The two above ai'e in lot with Marker 54. No gravestones.) 

225. 
WARE, Mary E. (Dort), wife of Erastus A.; Apr. 28, 1859; 26 yrs. 

471. 
WARE, Rev. J. Q. A., Aug. 29, 1865; 42 yrs., 8 mos. 

(Son of Capt. Benjamin. Died while on a visit to his sister, 
Mrs. Bradley Britton. Came from Whiting, Vt.) 

New part of Yard. 
WEATHERHEAD, Vera E., dau. of Henry A. & Oriette E. (Kingston); 
May 26, 1902; Mar. 12, 1904. 
(White marble monument WEATHERHEAD on base.) 

576. 
WEBSTER, Victoria A. (Wilson), wife of Ezra; Jan. 28, 1889; 49 yrs., 6 
mos., 19 days. 

At Rest. 

New part of Yard. 
WEBSTER, Elizabeth F., dau. of Herbert & Sarah (Conley) ; 1897—1910, 
(June 22.) 

143. 
WETHERBEE, Theodosia (Crane), wife of Edmund; July 7, 1806; 21st yr. 

Why do I mourn beneath the cross 
Why do I thus repine 
If God be pleased to take away 
A lovely friend of mine. 

511. 
WHEELER, Alice M., Aug. 19, 1858; Mar. 3, 1908. 



378 History of Surry 

46. 
WHEELOCK, Ann, widow of ; Aug. 7, 1856; 76 yrs. Marker 3. 

60—61. 
WHEELOCK, Phinehas, (son of ) ; June 26, 1807; 76th yr. 

(Died in Alstead.) 

Dear friends don't mourn 

For me nor weep I am not dead 

But here do sleep & here forever must remain 

Till Christ shall raise me up again. 

Depart my friends dry up your tears 

I must lie here till Christ appears. 

WHEELOCK, William D., son of Phineas & Prudence (Dodge) ; Aug. 8, 1791; 
19th yr. 

He Cometh forth like a flower, and is cut down; 
he fleeth also as a shadow and continueth not. 
Job 14th 2nd. 

203—205. 
WHITCOMB, Enoch, Jan. 27, 1841; 81 yrs. 

(Born in Lancaster, Mass., of David. First of the name to 

settle in Surry.) 
WHITCOMB, Sarah (Tucker), wife of Enoch; Mar. 30, 1853; 92 yrs. 
WHITCOMB, Levi, son of Enoch & Sarah; Mar. 25, 1784; May 14, 1824. 

(Born in Berlin, Mass.) 

330—335. 
WHITCOMB, David, Dec. 6, 1871; 88 yrs., 2 mos. Died in Keene. 
WHITCOMB, Rebecca (Chase), wife of David; Aug. 6, 1852; 62 yrs., 5 mos. 
WHITCOMB, Ruth H., dau. of David and Rebecca; June 10, 1825; 1 yr., 4 

mos. 

(Two above on one stone; stone is broken.) 
WHITCOMB, Alfred, son of David & Rebecca; Apr. 6, 1879; 69 yrs. Marker 

25. 
WHITCOMB, Silas, Aug. 4, 1876; 79 yrs., 5 mos. 
WHITCOMB, Abigail (Stone), wife of Silas; July 25, 1861; 60 yrs. 
Their labors on earth are finished. 

(Two above on one stone. Abigail died in Keene. David and 
Silas were sons of Enoch & Sarah.) 

516—517. 
WHITE, Samuel, Dec. 28, 1791; June 24, 1870. 

(Son of William Jr. & Ruth.) 
WHITE, Abigail (Marshall), wife of Samuel; June 12, 1798; Nov. 4, 1871. 

(Two above on one stone.) 

599—602. 
WHITE, Edward, Dec. 14, 1893; 77 yrs., 7 mos. 

(Born in Waltham, Mass., of Elisha & Esther. Died in Keene.) 
WHITE, Anna D. (Allen), wife of Edward; Feb. 23, 1879; 67 yrs., 10 mos., 

21 days. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 379 

WHITE, Nancy Ann, dau. of E. & A. D.; Sept. 20, 1846; 9 mos. 
WHITE, Abbie, wife of Edward; May 17, 1888; 78 yrs. 

202. 
WHITMAN, Nancy B. (Harvey), wife of Winthrop; Jan. 17, 1859; 43 yrs. 

39. 
WHITMAN, Sergt. George H., Aug. 8, 1867; 25 yrs. 
Co. K. 3rd Reg. R. I. Cav. 

264. 
WHITNEY, Mary J. (Carpenter), wife of Samuel; June 20, 1856; 28 yrs. 

533—537. 
WILBUR, Chandler, Oct. 25, 1872; 59 yrs. 

Gone Home. 

WILBUR, Martha Ann, dau. of Chandler and Maria; March 16, 1849; 5 yrs. 

WILBUR, Two brothers, Charles K.; Aug. 30, 1870; 19 yrs., 9 mos., 20 days. 

WILBUR, George F., Apr. 22, 1873; 24 yrs., 6 mos., 25 days. A member of 
Co. B. 1st N. H. Cavalry. He was a prisoner at Richmond, 
Va., 8 mos. Sons of Chandler & Maria C. Wilbur. 

Many hopes lie buried here. 

(The two above on one stone.) 

710. 
WILBUR, Henry L., Sept. 16, 1902; 65 yrs., 11 mos., 25 days. 
. Col. F. 14th Reg. N. H. Vols. 
(Son of Chandler & Maria. Died in Keene.) 

489—490. 

WILBER, Barney, Oct. 5, 1815; Dec. 17, 1873. 

WILBER, Hannah (Gushing), wife of Barney; Feb. 13, 1817; Apr. 3, 1868. 
(The two above on one stone. Chandler & Barney were sons 
of Amasa & Nelly; Chandler died in Walpole, "Hung himself," 
and Barney died in Keene.) 

677—678. 
WILBUR, Freeman, Mar. 22, 1887; 73 yrs., 8 mos. 

Dearest friend thou hast left us here to mourn. 
But we hope to meet thee in the world to come. 

WILBUR, Nancy (Hall), wife of Freeman; Dec. 7, 1892; 67 yrs. 

A precious one from us is gone 
A voice we loved is still 
A place is vacant in our home 
Which never can be filled. 

413. 
WILBUR, Melissa C, dau. of Freeman & Nancy; Apr. 22, 1842; 6 yrs., 
2 mos., 4 days. 

Dear one O; how we loved thee. 



380 History of Surry 

WILBUR, Blanche E., dau. of A. F. & A. E.; Feb. 5, 1893; 10 yrs. 

Dear one at rest. 
(Granddaughter of Freeman; dau. of Alonzo F.) 

679. 
WILBUR, Child of Wesley F.; stillborn. Marker 73. 

99—107. 

In memory of 
In memory of MRS. SARAH WILLCOX 

OBADIAH WILLCOX ESQ. wife of 

who died OBADIAH WILLCOX ESQ. 

Feb. 20, 1810 who died 

Aged 85 yrs. Sept. 21, 1809 

7 mos. Aged 75 yrs 

6 mos. 

(He was 1st Clerk of the Proprietors. Came from Conn.) 
WILCOX, Asa, Sept. 24, 1840; 84 yrs. 
WILCOX, Dina (Loveland), wife of Asa; July 30, 1850; 91 yrs. 

(Born and died in Hebron, Conn.) 
WILCOX, Lucinda (Phillips), wife of Capt. Asa Jr.; Mar. 27, 1822. 
WILCOX, Aaron, son of Capt. Asa Jr. & Lucinda; Jan. 2, 1827. (9 years the 

day he died.) 
WILCOX, Mary Lovisa, dau. of Capt. Asa Jr. & Lucinda; Jan. 9, 1827; 6 yrs. 

(Asa was son of Obadiah; Capt. Asa Jr.^ was son of Asa.) 

79—85. 
WILLCOX, Obadiah Jr., Nov. 21, 1797; 47 yrs. 

Behold and see as you pass by 
As you are now so once was I 
As I am now so you must be' 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

WILLCOX, Prudence, June 22, 1796; 18 yrs. 

Our life is ever on the wing 
And death is ever night 
The moment we begin to live 
We all begin to die. 

WILCOX, Lucina, May 7, 1800; 20 yrs. 

Death is a debt by nature due 
I've paid my shot and so must you. 

WILLCOX, Eunice, Oct. 19, 1803; 30 yrs. 

For sudden death prepared be 
Resign your breath and follow me. 

WILLCOX, John, Jan. 18, 1798; 45 yrs. 

Behold this place and shed a tear 
Think on the dust that slumbers here 
Free from trouble and from pain 
And so through ages will remain. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 381 

WILLCOX, Marylovisa, July 20, 1798; 31 yrs. 

Depart my friends wipe off your tears 
Here I must lie till Christ appears, 

(The foregoing all children of Obadiah & Sarah.) 

58—59. 

WILCOX, Gaylord, Dec. 19, 1815; 46 yrs., 9 mos. He was the 'fourth son of 
Oba'h Willcox Esq. & Mrs. Sarah his wife, 

WILLCOX, Orinda (Carpenter), widow of Gaylord; Feb. 6, 1851; 74 yrs, 

(She married Daniel Nourse after Gaylord Wilcox' death, but 
is buried with gravestone inscription as above,) 

305—308. 

WILCOX, Hollis, May 4, 1887; 76 yrs., 9 mos., 9 days. 

WILCOX, Thankful (Robbins), wife of Hollis; Jan. 22, 1885; 70 yrs., 8 mos., 
27 days. 

WILCOX, Alonzo C, son of Hollis & Thankful; Oct. 22, 1844; 2 yrs., 2 mos. 

WILCOX, Alma J., dau. of Geo. H. & Celuda J.; Aug. 7, 1863; 16 mos. 

(The four above are on a Scotch granite monument on a small 
white marble stone. The last is repeated with the following 
on front of stone "Our little Alma. She is not dead but asleep 
in the bosom of Jesus.") 

641—643. 

WILCOX, George Horace, 1836—1909 (Jan. 26.) 

WILCOX, Celuda Jane (Tufts), wife of George H.; 1841—1904 (Dec. 31, 
1904.) 

WILCOX, William Wallace, 1839—1892. (Died in Chicago.) 

(The three above on a Westerly granite monument with WIL- 
COX on base. George H. & William W. were sons of Hollis 
& Thankful.) 

140. 
WILCOX, Dina, dau. of Asa & Dina; Oct. 4, 1823; 27 yrs. 

418—419, 
WILCOX, Asa Jr. (son of Asa & Dina) ; Nov, 1, 1869; 88 yrs. 
WILCOX, Mary, dau. of Capt, Asa Jr, & Nancy; July 1, 1838; 10 yrs. 

(Nancy (Harvey) (Reed) (Wilcox), widow of Capt. Asa Jr., 

is buried in the Reed lot. No. 173—179.) 

77. 
WILCOX, Nelly (Wetherbee), wife (1st) of Capt. Asa Jr.; Sept, 22, 1812; 
30 yrs, 

648—649, 
WILCOX, George, Oct, 28, 1881; 74 yrs,, 9 mos. 

(Son of Asa Jr. & Nelly.) 
WILCOX, Christianna R. (Ingalls), wife of George; 1817—1906 (Dec. 1.) 

321—325. 
WILCOX, Nancy Palmyra, wife of George; Jan. 18, 1838; 25 yrs. 
WILCOX, Henry H., son of George & Nancy P.; Apr. 5, 1865; 33 yrs. 



382 History of Surry 

WILCOX, Louis L., son of George & Nancy P.; Aug. 3, 1837; 8 mos. 
WILCOX, Aurelia M. (Reed), wife of George; Dec. 25, 1854; 36 yrs. 
WILCOX, George L., son of George & Aurelia M.; Oct. 26, 1844; 3 yrs., 7 mos. 

675—676. 
WILDER, Sumner, Nov. 5, 1888; 85 yrs., 11 mos., 22 days. 

(Born in Jaffrey, N. H., son of John & Hattie (Person) ). 
WILDER, Marysylvia T. (Carter), wife of Sumner; Nov. 29, 1882; 73 yrs. 

706. 
WILDER, Emma E. (Grover), wife of Daniel; May 1, 1896; 43 yrs., 3 mos., 
8 days. (Born in E. Wallingford, Vt.) 

713. 
WILDER, Stella M. (Saxton), wife of Dana D.; Feb. 16, 1902; 26 yrs., 5 
mos., 4 days. (Born in Rockingham, Vt.) 
13. 

WILSON, Nancy Lucinda, dau. of Thomas & Alice; Mar. 27, 1816; 12 wks., 
5 days. 

Rest here sweet babe beneath the ground 
Till Christ shall break the gloom profound. 

444—448. 
WOODWARD, Edmund, July 12, 1892; 87 yrs., 8 days. 
Dearest loved one we have laid thee 
In the peaceful grave's embrace 
But thy memory will be cherished 
Till we see thy heavenly face. 

(Son of Solomon & Susanna.) 
WOODWARD, Mary (Pond), wife of Edmund; Dec. 10, 1897; 90 yrs,, 10 mos. 
A precious one from us is gone 
A voice we loved is still 
A place is vacant in our home 
Which never can be filled. 

WOODWARD, John A., Aug. 17, 1864; 23 yrs., 7 mos., 24 days. 

14th Reg. N. H. Vols. 
(Died in N. Y. Son of Edmund & Mary.) 
Far from the scenes of war and strife 
His happy soul has fled 
Upon the bosom of his God 
He now reclines his head. 

20—21 
WRIGHT, George A., son of Calvin & Diantha (Lebourveau) ; Mar. 25, 

1848; 3 yrs., 7 mos. 
WRIGHT, Harriet E., dau. of Calvin & Diantha; Mar. 11, 1848; 5 mos. 

714. 
WRIGHT, William H., Dec. 5, 1904; 68 yrs., 6 mos., 18 days. 

506. 
WRIGHT, William, son of Oliver. Marker 62. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 



383 



386. 

YOUNG, Louisa (Britt), wife of William; Oct. 15, 1848. 

(Unmarked grave. William Young died in Stockton, Cal., Oct., 
1849.) 



KEY TO GRAVES IN VILLAGE CEMETERY 
*=the beginning of each row; from south to north. 



1 — Betsey, wife of Adoniram 
Benton. Unmarked; is 6 ft. 
So. of Adoniram. 
2 — Ruth, wife of Adoniram Ben- 
ton. Marked with rough 
stones. 
3 — Adoniram Benton. 
4 — Rebecca F, Benton. 
5 — Abijah Benton. 
6 — Unmarked. Man drowned in 

the mill pond 1850. 
7 — Betsey Carpenter. 
8 — Ezra Carpenter. 
9, 10, 11 — "Two graves north of 
Abijah & Rebecca Benton 
perhaps and probably are Re- 
becca Benton, sister to Abi- 
jah, and perhaps Erastus, 
although Erastus' wife is 
buried in westerly part of 
yard. 1st is 9 ft., 2nd is 13 
ft. Abijah had a son who 
died in infancy, and is prob- 
ably buried 11 ft. north." 
12 — Augusta M. Benton. 
13 — Nancy L. Wilson. 
14 — Lydia Robbins. 
15 — Jeremiah Robbins. 
16 — Rebecca Robbins. 
17 — Rebecca Blake. 
18 — Marian Robbins. 
*19 — Marker 2. Joseph Palmer's 
two children. 7 ft. so. of 20. 
20— Harriet E. Wright. 
21 — George Wright. Unmarked 
graves to end of row. 
*22— Phebe Delelance. 
23 — Marvin Delelance. 
24 — Hiram Chapin. 



25 — Mary Scovell. Unmarked 
graves to end of row. 
*26 — Charles S. Kenney. 

27 — Caroline Marvin. 

28 — John Marvin. 

29 — Sophronia Fuller. 

30 — Joanna Fuller Chapin. 

31— Levi Fuller. "We think Levi 
Fuller & his wife (parents of 
31) were buried just south of 
Levi who died June 8, 1785; 
between it and footstone of 
Joshua Fuller." 
— Wm. E. Fuller, Asst. At- 
torney General of U. S. 

32 — John Marvin. 

33 — Joshua Fuller. 

34 — Wolston Brockway. 

35 — Esther Brockway. 

36 — John Brockway. 

37 — Wolston Brockway. 

38— Mary J. Byrne. 
*39— George H. Whitman. 

40— Ruel Mack. 

41 — Eunice Dart. 

42 — Avis Dart Holmes. 

43— Deborah Dart. 

44 — Nathaniel Dart. 

45 — Sarah Dart. 

46— Marker 3. Mrs. Ann Wheel- 
ock. Between Sarah Dart & 
Anna Dort. 

47 — Miss Anna Dort. 

48 — Azubah Dort. 

Between 47 & 48 are sev- 
eral graves "undoubtedly of 
the Dort family." B. Crosby. 

49 — Joanna Dort. 

50— Elihu Dort. 



384 



History of Surry 



*51 — Mei"cy Brown. 

52 — Hiram Brown. 

53 — William Brown. 

54 — George Brown. 

55 — Roxanna Brown. 

56 — Samuel Holmes. 
*57— Hiram Britton, 2nd. 

58 — Orinda Wilcox. 

59— Gaylord Wilcox. 

60 — Phineas Wheelock. 

6i_William D. Wheelock. 

62 — Cyrus Porter. 

63 — Maria Sawyer. 

64 — Betty Sawyer. 

65— Samuel Sawyer. 

66 — Joanna, w. of Dea. Eli Dart. 

67 — Mrs. Ann Dart. 

68— Eliphalet Dart. 

69— Dea. Eli Dart. 
*70 — Eliza H. Harvey. 

71 — Jonathan Harvey. 

72 — Sophronia Harvey. 

73 — Persis Harvey. 

74 — James H. Harvey. 

75 — Sidney B. Harvey. 

76— Mrs. Elihu Smith. 

77 — Nelly, w. of Asa Wilcox, Jr. 

78 — Lydia Wilcox Schovel. 

79 — Mary Lovisa Wilcox. 

80— John Wilcox. 

81— Obadiah Wilcox. 

82 — Prudence Wilcox. 

83 — Stones. No ins. Short grave. 

84 — Lucina Wilcox. 

85 — Eunice Wilcox. 

86 — William Merriam. 

87 — Harriet Adams. 

88 — Charles Adams. 

89— Timothy Rice. 
*90— Amelia S. Daggett. 

91 — Sarah Joslin. 

92— Peter Joslin. 

93— Eliza Hatch. 

94 — Samuel Hatch. 

95 — Unmarked, small grave. 

96— Eliza Hatch. 

97 — Marker 4. Mrs. Willard. 2 
ft. south of 97. 

98— Freelove Phillips. 

99 — Lucinda Phillips Wilcox. 



100— Mary L. Wilcox. 

101 — Aaron Wilcox. 

102 — Unmarked. 

103 — Footstone, no inscription. 

104— Obadiah Wilcox. 

105— Sarah Wilcox. 

106 — Asa Wilcox. 

107 — Dina Wilcox. 

108— Thankful Baxter. 

109— John Smith. 

110 — Roxalana Smith. 

Ill — Isaac Smith. 

112— Ichabod Smith. 

113 — Sophronia Monroe. 

114 — Rhoda Monroe. 

115- — Benjamin Isham. 

116 — Rebecca Isham, w. of Charles 
Carpenter. 

117 — Fanny Parker. 

118 — Stones. No inscription. Long 
grave. 

119 — Sarah, w. of Charles Car- 
penter. 

120 — Charles Carpenter. 

121 — Dr. Benjamin Hills. 

122— Lucy Hills. 

123— Samuel Hills. 

124— Polly Hills. 

125— Salmon Hills. 

126— Isaac Cobb Hills. 
'127— Otis Daggett. 

128— Content Daggett. 

129 — Abijah Monroe. 

130 — Prudence Monroe. 

131 — George Baxter. 

132— William Baxter. 

133— Mrs. Nancy Baxter Field. 

134 — Margaret Baxter. 

135— Simon Baxter. 

136— Prudence Shaw. 

137 — David Shaw. 

138— Adeline Shaw. 

139— Zilpha Shaw. 

140— Dina Wilcox. 

141 — Experience Grain. 

142 — Abia Grain. 

143 — Theodosia Grain Wetherbee. 

144- — Fanny Grain. 

145 — Ichabod Grain. 

146— Lydia Smith. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 



385 



147— Ichabod Smith. 

148 — Thomas Smith. 

149 — Experience Smith. 

150 — Jonathan Smith. 

151 — Abigail Monroe. 

152— Philip, father of Dr. Philip 

Monroe. 
153— T. M. 
154— E. M. 

155 — Unmarked small grdve. 
156 — Unmarked small grave. 
157 — Amos Field. 
158 — Unmarked small grave. 
159— Haskins Field, 
160— Jerusha Field. 
161 — Charles Russell. 

* 162— Charles Bond. 
163 — Lucy Bond. 
164— Col. William Bond. 
165 — Phebe Barnes. 

166 — Zeruiach Barnes Howe. 

167 — Rev. Perley Howe. 

168— Eliza Howe Petts. 

169— Moses Field. 

170— Molly Field. 

171— Moses D. Field. 

172— Patience Field. 

173 — Missouri Reed. 

174— David Reed. 

175— Lucinda Reed. 

176— Lewis Reed. 

177— Charles H. Reed. 

178— Nancy H. Reed. 

179— Dea. David Reed. 

180— John Redding. 

181— Mary J. Hurd. 

182 — Slab head and foot stones. 
No inscription. Is just south 
of curbing around lot 183. 
Still further south are 4 
graves unmarked and un- 
known. 

183— Benjamin Hills. 

184— Dicea Hills. 

185— Sarah Hills. 

186— John Hills. 

187— George Hills. 

* 188— John Cole. 
189— Mary Cole. 

190 — Thomas Harvey. 



191- 
192- 
193- 
194- 
195- 
196- 
197- 
198- 
199- 
200- 
201- 
202- 
203- 
204- 
205- 
206- 
207- 
208- 
209- 
210- 
211- 

212- 
213- 

214- 
215- 

216- 
^217- 
218- 



219- 
220- 
221- 
222- 
223- 
224- 
225- 
226- 
227- 

228- 
229- 
230- 
231- 
232- 
233- 
234- 
235- 



— Grace Willey Harvey. 
—Fanny Harvey Britton. 
—Elizabeth Harvey. 
— Asahel Harvey. 
—Mrs. Eunice Harvey. 
—Unmarked long grave. 
—Mary Holbrook Harvey. 
—Simon B. Harvey. 
—Francis B. Harvey. 
— Roxana Harvey. 
—Jonathan Harvey. 
—Nancy B. Harvey Whitman. 
—Levi Whitcomb. 
—Enoch Whitcomb. 
—Sarah Whitcomb. 
—Catherine Benton. 
— Adaline Benton. 
—George W. Benton. 
—Rebecca Benton. 
— Abijah Benton. 
—Marker 10. Rhoda Benton 

Britton. 
—Marker 9. James Britton. 
—Henry Britton. 
—Clarissa Britton. 
-Marker 6.9 ft. south of 216. 

Mrs. Ruhamah Benton Davis. 
-C. Maria (Britton) Cotton. 
-Wells Emerson. 
-Daniel Emerson. Marker 13 

designates graves, and is 8 

ft. south of 219. 
-Lucy Abbott. 
-Lucy Abbott. 
-Fanny Streeter. 
-Capt. Eliphalet Dort. 
-Cyrus Dort. 
-Lois Dort. 
-Mary E. Dort Ware. 
-Isaac Munroe. 
-Betsey, 2nd wife of Dr. Philip 

Munroe. 
-Dr. Philip Munroe. 
-Eliphaz Field. 
-Susanna Field. 
-Eliza C. Field. 
-George Field. 
-Lewis Field. 
-"Our Charlie" Field. 
-Julia F. Field. 



25 



386 



History of Surry 



236 — Jonathan R. Field. 280- 

*237 — Augustus Kingsbury. 281- 

238 — Eunice Kingsbury. 282- 

239— Marker 12. Elijah Norris, 283- 

240— Ann Norris. 284- 

241— Martha Pollard. 285- 
242— Marker 14. Sarah, relict of 286- 

Eli Dort. Stone broken. Is 287- 

91/2 ft. south of 244. 

243 — Unmarked long grave. 288- 

244— Rachel Allen. 289- 

245— Phinehas Allen. 290- 
246— Abel Allen. 

247— David Allen. 291- 

248— Acynthia Allen. 292- 

249— Achsah D. Allen. 293- 

250— David Allen. 294- 
251 — Amos Allen. 
252— Alvira Allen. Buried 3 ft. 295- 

south of 255. 296- 

253— Zopher Allen. 297- 
254 — Child's grave just west of 298- 

253. 

255— Widow Sarah Adams. 299- 

256— Thomas Adams. 300- 

257— Mrs. Susannah Brown. 301- 

258— Unmarked grave. 302- 

259— Polly Streeter. 303- 

260— Jesse Streeter. 304- 

261— Tabitha Streeter. 305- 

262— Rev. Zebulon Streeter. 306- 

263— Elijah Streeter. 307- 
264— Mary J. (Carpenter) Whit- 308- 

ney. *309- 

265 — Marker 11. Amos Streeter. 310- 

266— Elizabeth Perkins. 311- 

267— William Perkins. 312- 

268— John Perkins. 313- 

269— John H. Perkins. 314- 
270 — Eliza Ann Perkins. 

271— William Perkins. 315- 

272— Prudence Perkins. 316- 
273 — Margaret Grayson Fawcett 317- 

Field. 318- 

274— Mary Ella Wilcox Field. 319- 
"275 — Luther Stone. 

276— Henry Stone. 320- 

277— Asenath Stone. 321- 

278— George Stone. 322- 

279— Asenath Stone. 323- 



-David Stone. 
-Rufus Stone. 
-Rebecca Stone. 
-Philander Stone. 
-William W. Morton 
-Marker 21. 

20. 

19. 



Seth Morton Jr. 
George Morton. 
Mrs. Seth Mor- 



-Marker 

-Marker 
ton. 

-Marker 18. Seth Morton. 

-Louisa A. Humphrey. 

-Marker 17. Electa (Morton) 
(Purcell) (Adams) Britt. 

-Clement Hill. 

-Lucy Hill. 

-Moses Hill. 

-Unmarked. Charles Hough- 
ton. 

-James Houghton. 

-Marker 16. Ira Carpenter. 

-Bennett C. Carpenter. 

-Marker 15. Dennis Carpen- 
ter. 

-Sarepta Carpenter. 

-Willard Carpenter. 

-Sarephina Carpenter. 

-Stephen Smith. 

-James H. Carpenter. 

-Mary E. Carpenter. 

-Hollis Wilcox. 

-Thankful Wilcox. 

-Alonzo C. Wilcox. 

-Alma J. Wilcox. 

-Henry H. Rugg. 

-Mary A. Adams. 

-Polly Adams. 

-Marker 30. Amos Adams. 

-Marker 29. Gilman Adams. 

-Marker 31. Child of Joseph 
& Addie (Butler) Stickney. 

-Marker 28. Holland Stevens. 

-Louisa Stevens. 

-Lydia Stevens. 

-John Stevens. 

-Marker 27. 4 ft. north of 
318. Dean Tyler. 

-Rodenthia P. Ingalls. 

-George L. Wilcox. 

-Aurelia Wilcox. 

-Louis L. Wilcox. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 



387 



324- 


— Nancy P. Wilcox. 




368- 


-Charles Gage. 


325- 


—Henry H. Wilcox. 




369- 


—Abigail Ordway. 


326- 


—Betsey Smith. 




370- 


—Samuel Robinson. 


327- 


—Rebecca Smith. 




371- 


—Francis Holbrook. 


328- 


—Marker 26. Sylvester 


Smith 


372- 


—Hannah Holbrook. 




Esq. 




373- 


-Eben D. Grain. 


329- 


—Betsey Houghton. 




374- 


— Georgie Grain. 


330- 


-Marker 25. Alfred 


Whit- 


375- 


-Child of Charles A. Blake. 




comb. 




376- 


-Charles A. Blake Marker 32. 


331- 


—Rebecca Whitcomb. 




377- 


-Charlotte Blake. 


332- 


-Ruth H. Whitcomb. 




378- 


-Henry B. Blake. 


333- 


—David Whitcomb. 




379- 


-Lois D. Blake. 


334- 


-Silas Whitcomb. 




380- 


-George H. Blake. 


335- 


-Abigail Whitcomb. 




381- 


-Melissa W. Bissell. 


336- 


-Marker 24. Sybil 


(Hay- 


382- 


-Tyler Bissell. 




ward) (Smith) Carpenter, 


383- 


-Albert Bissell. 




wife of Ezra. 6 ft. north of 


384- 


-Under the hill at north end of 




335. 






cemetery is tomb where Jona- 


337- 


—Stone. No inscription, 
south of 338. 


, 8 ft. 




than Robinson and his first 
wife were buried. 


338- 


-Frank H. Britton. 




385- 


-Caroline Britt. 


339- 


-Eddie L. Britton. 




386- 


-Louisa Britt Young. Un- 


340- 


-Jennie E. Britton. 






marked. 


341- 


-Lincoln H. Britton. 




387- 


—Unmarked grave. 


342- 


-Charles E. Britton. 




388- 


-Betsey Britt. 


343- 


-Theodosia Britton. 




389- 


-Atwood Holbrook. 


344- 


-Bradley Britton. 




390- 


-Harriet C. Holbrook. 


345- 


-Betsey Britton. 




391- 


-Hattie L. Holbrook. 


346- 


-Mary Pond. 




392- 


-Mary J. Crehore. 


347- 


-Marker 22 Luman Pond 


393- 


-Clarinda Crehore. 


^348- 


-George H. Blake 




394- 


-Clarinda K. Crehore. 


349- 


-Sally Blake 




395- 


-Cora N. Britton. 


350- 


-Lucius Blake 




396- 


-Benjamin M. Britton. 


351- 


-Ira Blake 




397- 


-Narcissa H. Britton. 


352- 


-Olive Carter. 




398- 


-Mary E. Britton. 


353- 


-Jonah Carter. 




399- 


-Elizabeth J. Britton. 


354- 


-Josiah Kingsbury. 




400- 


-John S. Britton. 


355- 


-Cynthia B. Kingsbury. 




401- 


-Susanna Britton. 


356- 


-Sarah B. Kingsbury. 




402- 


-Susannah A. Thomas. 


357- 


-John Cannon. 




403- 


-Philip Thomas. 


358- 


-Abigail M. Cannon. 




404- 


-Lucius Britt. Marker 39. 


359- 


-Margrate Cannon 




405- 


-Mary P. Britt. 


360- 


-Marker 38 John Cannon Sr. 


406- 


^Willard Britt. Marker 41. 


361- 


-George W. Cannon. 




407- 


-Dau. of Willard Britt. Mar- 


362- 


-Mary Thomas Britton. 






ker 40. 


363- 


-Philip Thomas. 




408- 


-George L. Carpenter. 


364- 


-Ruth Thomas. 




409- 


-Warren Carpenter. 


365- 


-Louisa Thomas. 




410- 


-Diantha Carpenter. 


366- 


-Betsey Thomas. 




411- 


-Lovisa Carpenter. 


367- 


-Ernest E. Gage. 




412- 


-Silas Kendall. 



388 



History of Surry 



413 — Melissa C. Wilbur. 
^414— William J. Burgess. 

415 — George A. Stevens. 

416 — Sarah S. Stevens. 

417 — Capt. Almond Stevens. 

418 — Mary Wilcox. 

419 — Asa Wilcox, Jr. 

420— Mary Blake. 

421 — Joshua D. Blake. 

422— Abby C. Blake. 

423— Mary L. Blake. 

424— Olive M. Blake. 

425 — Hattie L. Blake. 

426 — Martha M. Scovell Scribner. 

427 — Frederick Scovell. 

428— Sarah Scovell 

429 — Marker 46. 

430— Marker 45. 

431 — Velma Dean. Unmarked. 

432 — Minnie Dean. Marker 44. 

433— Nancy Ballou. Marker 43. 

434 — Fanny Ballou. 

436 — Betsey Brooks. 

436— Betsey Brooks. 

437— Levi Brooks. 

438— Lizzie M. Brooks. 

439 — William Carpenter. 

440 — Abigail White Carpenter. 

441 — Freddie Arthur Carpenter. 
*442— "A Mother's Grave." 

443 — William Thompson. Marker 
47. 

444 — Edmund Woodvv^ard. 

445 — Mary P. Woodward. 

446 — John A. Woodv^^ard. 

447 — Sarah J. Woodward Sheldon. 

448 — Mary L. Woodward Sanger. 

449 — Martha M. Emerson. 

450 — Charles H. Emerson. 

451 — Charles Emerson. 

452 — Belinda S. Emerson. 

453— William H. Porter. 

454 — Clementine R. Balch Porter. 

455 — Charles H. Porter. 

456 — James G. Britton. 

457 — Unmarked grave. 

458— Sarah D. Randall. 

459 — Calvin Randall. 

460 — Lovisa Randall. 

461 — Joshua Davis. 



462- 
463- 
464- 
465- 
466- 
467- 
468- 
469- 
470- 
471- 
472- 
473- 



474- 
475- 
476- 

i=477_ 

478- 
479- 
480- 
481- 
482- 
483- 
484- 
485- 
486- 
487- 
488- 
489- 
490- 
491- 
492- 
493- 
494- 
495- 
496- 
497- 
498- 
499- 
500- 
501- 
502- 
503- 
504- 
505- 
506- 



*507— 



Azubah Davis. 

Augustus Johnson. 

Jerusha Johnson. 

Elvira F. Johnson. 

Ellen F. Johnson. 

■Nancy E. Hamilton. 

James J. Hamilton. 

John M. Adams. 

"Nellie". 

Rev. J. Q. A. Ware. 

■Salmon Britton. 

■Mrs. Salmon Britton. Marker 

63 for above is 5 ft. north of 

471. 

■Willard Mansfield. 

■Jane Mansfield. 

-George Mansfield. 

-Thomas Berry. 

•Orrin L. Jefts. 

-Luke N. Houghton. 

■Nancy Houghton. 

■Ariel Carpenter. 

-Abigail Carpenter. 

-Irene Carpenter Gregory. 

-Dr. Samuel O. Gregory. 

-Nellie Carpenter. 

Lydia Carpenter. 

■Harriet I. Wilbur Carpenter. 

-Haskell Carpenter. 

-Barney Wilber. 

-Hannah Gushing Wilber. 

-Clifford H. Perkins. 

-Lucy A. Perkins. 

-Charles H. Perkins. 

-Estella Perkins. 

■John H. Rogers 

•Mary A. Rogers. 

■Emily Rogers. 

Elizabeth S Rogers. 

-Sophronia Johnson. 

Charles Johnson. 

Unmarked small grave, 

■Hannah L. Cummings. 

-Benjamin F. Horton. 

-Mary P. Horton. 

■George G. Horton. 

-William Wright. Marker 62 

is 6 ft. north of 505. 

Marker 53. Two children of 

Fred Blake. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 



389 



508— Stella Blake. 558- 

509_Willard Shaw. 559- 

510— Maria E. Shaw. 560- 

511 — Alice M. Wheeler. 561- 

512 — Edward A. Kingsbury monu- 562- 

ment. 563- 

513 — Eddie M. Kingsbury. 564- 

514 — May Daniels Kingsbury, 565- 

515— Charlie H. Brown. 566- 
516— Samuel White. 

517— Abigail White. 567- 

518— Mary J. Benton. Marker 52. 568- 
519 — Franklin Benton. Marker j L. 

520— F. G. Benton. 569- 

521— E. Luella Joslin. 570- 

522 — George H. Joslin monument. 571- 

523— H. J. Curtis. 572- 

524— Ethel Curtis. 573- 

525— John W. Curtis. 574- 

*526— Daniel Abbott. 575- 

527— Polly Abbott. 576- 

528 — Unmarked grave. 577- 

529— Thomas Abbott. F78- 

530 — Agnes Carpenter. 579- 

531 — Lizzie N. Craig Carpenter. 580- 

632 — Carpenter — Hall monument. 581- 

533— Chandler Wilbur. 582- 

534— Maria Gould. 583- 

535— Charles K. Wilbur. 584- 

536— George F. Wilbur. 585- 

537— Martha Ann Wilbur. 586- 

538— J. L. Britton. 587- 

539— Warren Britton. Marker 23. 588- 

540— Fred E. Britton. 589- 

541— Our Ida. 590- 

542— Mother. 591- 

643— Father (Crosby). 592- 

644— Samuel. 593- 

645 — Roxana Allen. Marker 55. 594- 

546— Rachel Allen. Marker 55. 595- 

547— Willard Streeter. 596- 

548 — Mary Carpenter Streeter. 597- 

649— Lewis Debell. 598- 

550— Olive Debell. 599- 

551— Mary Vincellette. 600- 

552— Child of Nicholas Vincellette. 601- 

553— Mrs. Nicholas Vincellette. 602- 

*554— Charles M. Carpenter. 603- 

665— Our Baby. 604- 

556— David Gushing. 605- 

557— Rhoda Gushing. 606- 



-Luman Carpenter. 

-Sarah J. Gushing Carpenter. 

-Infant Children. 

-Hermon Streeter. 

-Jefferson Kidder. 

-C. A. B.— Charles A. Britton. 

-M. A. B. — Mary A. Britton. 

-Nancy C. Benton. 

-Unmarked. Nancy M. (Ben- 
ton) (Britton) Stevens. 

-Unmarked grave. 

-Child of Frank and Hattie 
Carpenter. Marker 67. 

-Caroline P. W. Caldwell. 

-Daniel F. Caldwell. 

-Unmarked grave. 

-Father. 

-Mother. 

-Poole monument. 

-Ira E. Blake. 

-Victoria Webster. 

-Walter R. Scripture. 

-Addie Scripture. 

-Joseph Allen. 

-Lyna Allen. 

-Louise Allen. 

-Andrew Allen. 

-Unmarked. Charlotte Reed. 

-Marker 33. Nathan D. Reed. 

-Mrs. Harrison Scripture. 

-Horace Gould. 

-Harriet Gould. 

-Julia A. Gould. 

-Charlotte Gould Cass. 

-Mary E. Gould. 

-Joseph Allen. 

-Hannah Allen. 

-Unmarked grave. 

-William L. Kingsbury. 

-Anna L. Kingsbury. 

-Nellie (Cheever) Kingsbury. 

-James Cheever. 

-Jerusha. Cheever. 

-Anna D. White. 

-N. D. White. 

-Abbie White. 

-Edward White. 

-Sarah H. Britton. 

-Gertrude Britton. 

-Sydney Mayo Britton. 

-George K. Harvey. 



390 



History of Surry 



607- 
608- 
^609- 
610- 
611- 
612- 
613- 
614- 
515- 
616- 
617- 
618- 
619- 
620- 
621- 
622- 
623- 
624- 
625- 
626- 
627- 
628- 
629- 
630- 
631- 
632- 
633- 
634- 
635- 
636- 
637- 
638- 
639- 
640- 
641- 
642- 
643- 
644- 
645- 
646- 
647- 
648- 
649- 
650- 
651- 
652- 
653- 
654- 



655- 



-Eliza Harvey. 

-Persis E. Harvey. 

-George Joslin. 

-Elizabeth S. Joslin. 

-Catherine M. Joslin. 

-William T. Joslin. 

-George S. Joslin. 

-John Joslin. 

-Ellen M. Joslin. 

-Georgianna Joslin Cummings. 

-Unmarked grave. 

-George F. Joslin. 

-Sarah H. Joslin. 

-Luke H. Joslin. 

-Edward L. Cook. 

-Celia E. Cook. 

-Heni'y L. Cook. 

-Lucia M. Field. 

-Henry T. Ellis. 

-Alniira B. Ellis. 

-Sarah J. Field Ellis. 

-Julia E. Ellis, 

-Millie L. Ellis. 

-Fannie E. Ellis. 

-Lizzie M. Ellis. 

-Henry C. Ellis. 

-Willie E. Ellis. 

-Lucia A. Ellis. 

-Henry E. Ellis. 

-Julia A. Ellis. 

-Hiram Hodgkins. 

-Rhoda C. Hodgkins. 

-Daniel Hodgkins. 

-John Johnson. 

-George H. Wilcox. 

-Celuda J. Wilcox. 

-William Wallace Wilcox. 

-Mary Carpenter. 

-Mason Carpenter monument. 

-Kate Joslin Field. 

-George W. Field. 

-George Wilcox. 

-Christianna Wilcox. 

-Ch. of Walter Gushing. 

-Walter Gushing. Marker 58. 

-John Gushing. 

-Susan Wilbur Gushing. 

-Permilia Gushing Stone. Un- 
marked grave is 15 ft. w. of 
637. 

-Mrs. Charles Richardson. 



*656 — William Kingsbury. 

657 — Huldah Kingsbury. 

658 — Cyrus Kingsbury. 

659 — Lydia Ellis Kingsbury. 

660— Elijah Mason. 

661 — Mary Allen Mason. 

662— Elijah B. Mason. 

663— Relief S. Mason. 

664— Mary L Mason. 

665— William P. Mason. 

666 — Gilbert Grain. 

667 — Harriet Grain. 

668 — Jane H. Grain. 

669— George H. Randall. 

670— Emily J. Randall. 

671— Maria J. Randall. 

672— Mariah T. Shaw. 

673 — Horace Shaw. 

674— W. R. Kenney. 
*675— Sumner Wilder. 

676 — Marysylvia Wilder. 

677— Nancy Wilber. 

678 — Freeman Wilber. 

679— Child of Wesley Wilbur. 

680— Fred Grain Nesmith. Un- 
marked. 

681 — James S. Carpenter. Marker 
59. 

682 — Susan Gushing Carpenter. 

683— Child of James S. & Susan. 

684 — Flora Carpenter Garvin. 

685 — Wright Monument. 

686 — Lot. No graves. 
*687— Eady. ] 

688 — James D. ' Carter monument 

689— Mother. \ 

690— Father. J 

691 — Lot. No graves. 

692— Ada H. Bolster. 

693— Francis Bolster. 

694^-Hannah R. Bolster. 

695— Mertie A. Blake. 

696— Lizzie Blake. 

697 — Daughter Blake Marker 

698— Ralph E. Blake. 60 on 

699— Susan M. Blake. this lot. 

700— George E. Blake. 

701 — Florence Blake. 

702 — U n m a r k e d. Mrs. Sabra 
Townsend is 26 ft. northwest 
of 673. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 391 

703— John Anderson. 710— Henry L. Wilbur. 

704 — Cleveland Anderson. Marker 711 — Olmstead monument. 

68, 712 — Lewis Carpenter is buried 23 

705 — J a c k s o n Reed's lot. No ft. from middle of 669 menu- 
graves, ment on a line to 711. 
*706— Emma E. Wilder. *713— Stella M. Wilder. 

707— George M. Reed. 714— William H. Wright. 

708— Eliza A. Reed. 

709— Child of Herbert R. Grain. 
Marker 69. 

UNMARKED AND UNKNOWN GRAVES 

4 graves between 13 & 14. 

3 " north of 18. 

2 " between 36 & 37. 
1 " 5 ft. north of 39. 

3 " between 39 & 40. 

1 " south of 40; stone but no ins. 

1 " 3 ft. north of 47; stone. 

1 " 16 ft. north of 47, a child's grave; has stones, but no in, 
3 " between the two last unmarked. 

2 " between 49 & 50. 

1 " 3 ft. south of 67; stone. 

1 " between 82 & 84; stones. 
6 " between 86 & 87. 

2 " north of 88. 

2 " between 101 & 104. 

3 " between 107 & 108. 

3 " between 108 & 109. 
2 " north of 115. 

1 " north of 116; stones. 

6 " between 114 & 120. 

1 " north of 120. 

1 " south of 162. 

6 " between 164 & 165. 

1 " 2 ft. south of 180. 

2 " between 180 & 181. 

1 " south of 183; stones. 

4 " still further south of 183. 
1 " between 195 & 197. 

3 " 10 ft. south of 221 ; children's. 
3 " between 241 & 242. 

1 " 4 ft. south of 244. 

1 " 4 ft. north of 302; short. 

3 " farther north; long. 

2 " south of 380. 

1 " 13 ft. south of 380. 

2 " between 425 & 426. 

4 " south of 370. 

1 " between 372 & 373. 

2 " north of 413; long & short. 



392 History of Surry 

Of the Unknown in this Yard a man by name of Marsh, grandfather of 
Charles Britton the Hotel Keeper & Stage driver, was buried somewhere in 
the easterly part of the yard. 

Note: These unknown graves are in the oldest part of the yard, and the 
graves having stones are rough hornblende stones from the field with no at- 
tempt at lettering of any kind. 



THE SOUTH CEMETERY 

This cemetery has been in use since 1767, the earliest headstone found is 
that of D. I. H. who died November 2, 1767, age 81, the next D. W. H., q. v. 
Wm. Hayward cemetery record. Aug. 7, 1768, Jonathan Parkhurst sold land 
to Nathaniel Peck, "there being an allowance of a 4 rod highway through said 
land & also a reserve of half an acre where the burying place now is." (From 
R. of D. office). This "reserve of half an acre" has remained, apparently 
without change to this day. 

On Nov. 4, 1797, the town paid William Barron $11.75 for fencing the South 
burying yard. This doubtless was a board fence as the subject of fencing 
the burying yards came up again in 1812. June 3rd of that year it was voted 
to fence the South Yard with a stone wall the same to be finished by June 1, 
1813. Edmund Wetherbee bid off the job at |1.50 per rod. The wall to be 
2% feet thick at the bottom; four feet high and one foot thick at the top; 
also to provide and hang a good gate. The "gate" has long since gone to 
decay, and apparently but little labor or expense has been done on this yard, 
since 1813, except to rebuild the wall around the southwest corner at the foot 
of the bank, and planting the pines near that place within recent years. 

This cemetery is about one half mile from Keene line; 30 or 40 rods east of 
the main road and a dozen or so beyond where the old school-house stood. It 
is in the shape of a triangle; the wall on the north running nearly east and 
west. About the middle of this wall east and west is a tall elm tree, and 
near the entrance on the west is an old apple tree. 

The southeast wall is on the edge of the terrace, and the steep slope which 
leads down to the meadows is covered with tall oaks, elms, cherry and poplar 
trees. 

This cemetery is in plain sight of Peter Hayward's old place, the first house 
built in town, three fourths of a mile away over the river on the opposite 
terrace. 

West of the cemetery are farmhouses, and there was a schoolhouse till 
1915. The old Wilbur road, now abandoned, led west from the school house. 
South, looking down the valley, are the meadows in Keene, the Ashuelot river, 
and the blue Richmond hills; at the right of them is West Mt. in Keene. The 
yard on the west has a hedge of nice pine set out by Charles W. Darling. No 
attempt at an orderly arrangement of graves was made, and there are more 
than fifty unknown nad unmarked graves. Following is an alphabetical ar- 
rangement of the known and marked graves: 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 



393 



RECORDS 
ARMSTRONG, Dinah, Apr. 4, 1812; 73 yrs. Marker 64. 

(An Indian woman who lived on the Wilbur road three fourths 
of a mile westerly of the cemetery. Her grave is near the 
bank in the south corner of the yard.) 

CARPENTER, Avis (Hayward), wife of Alanson; Nov. 12, 1815; 23 yrs. 

Erected by John M. Darling 



REV. DAVID DARLING 

died 

March 15, 1835 

aged 82 years 

(The first minister 
in Surry. Born in 
Wrentham, Mass.) 



Children of 

Rev. David & Molly. 



devoted husband 



to the memory of 
MRS. ESTHER his mother 
wife of MR. DAVID DARLING 
who died Feb. 16, 1793 

in the 33rd year of her age. 
Death is a debt to nature due 
Which I have paid and so must you 
And since you see this thing must be 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

DARLING, Mrs. Molly (Woods), wife of Rev. David; Mar. 24, I8l8; 52 yrs. 

DARLING, Esther, dau. of Rev. David & Esther; Apr. 27, 1785; 1 yr., 4 days. 

(There is no stone, but an unmarked grave in the DARLING 

lot is hers.) 

DARLING, William, Nov. 11, 1812; 9 yrs 

DARLING, Harriet, Nov. 9, 1811; 1 yr. 

DARLING, Daniel, Oct. 29, 1890; 83 yrs. 
An earnest christian; a 
and an indulgent father. 
(Son of Rev. David & Molly. Was Deacon.) 

DARLING, Betsey (Whittemore) , wife of Daniel; Sept. 15, 1835; 
DARLING, Theodocia (Stone), wife of Daniel; Mar. 25, 1889; 
mos., 12 days. 

A loving wife and affectionate mother 
DARLING, David B., Nov. 21, 1855; 26 yrs. 
DARLING, Thomas W., Oct. 29, 1834; 4 weeks. 
DARLING, William H. (Died in infancy.) 
DARLING, Sarah A., Aug. 27, 1853; 6 yrs., 6 mos. 

Of such is the kingdom of heaven. 
DARLING, John G., June 29, 1864; 24 yrs., 4 mos. 

Formerly of the 2nd Regt. N. H. Vols. 
DARLING, Charles D., son of John G. & Frances L. (Gushing) ; Apr. 6, 1864; 

3 mos. Our Charlie. 
DARLING, Charles W., Jan. 26, 1842; Jan. 3, 1913. 
DARLING, Jennie S. (Abbott), wife of Charles W.; Nov. 21, 1861. 

(John G. & Charles W. were sons of Daniel & Theodocia.) 
FISHER, Charles Frederick, Sept. 4, 1837; 3 yrs., 10 mos. 
And Jesus took little children 
In his arms and blessed them. 
(Son of Samuel B. & Melia (Metcalf) ). 
FLETCHER, John D., son of Richard & Esther (Darling); Aug. 20, 1852; 1 
yr., 9 mos. 



29 yrs. 
75 yrs. 



Childi-en of Daniel 

& Betsey. 
Children of Daniel 
& Theodocia. 



394 History of Surry 

HAYWARD, William and Joanna. 

1768 1767 

AUGUST NOVEMBER 

D. W. H. A. 71. D. I. H. A. 81. 

(These two stones are natural hornblende stones such as could 
be found in the fields. They stand less than a foot above the 
ground, have the most ancient look of any stones in the yard, 
and record the earliest deaths : William Hayward died Aug. 
10, 1768, age 71 years. Joanna Hayward, his wife, died Nov. 
2, 1767, age 81 years. 

HAYWARD, Peter and Esther. 

In memory of Mr 
PETTER HAYWARD and Mrs. 
ESTHER his 2nd wife 
He died Augst And she died 

18th A. D. 1791 May 28th 1782 

in the 66 year in the 48th year 

of his age of her age 

Although we sleep in dust awhile 
Beneath this Barron clod 
Ere long we hope to rise and shine 
To see our Saviour God. 
(THE FIRST SETTLER IN SURRY. The footstone shows 
that the south grave is Peter and the north one Esther. He 
built the first house, a log house, 20 rods or so north of where 
the Hayward house now stands, and the cellar hole is still 
discernible.) 

HAYWARD, Maj. Nathan (son of Peter & Ruth (Rutter) ) ; Aug. 3, 1818; 
64th yr. 

A husband kind a parent dear 
A neighbor true and kind 
In friendship faithful and sincere 
And of a generous mind 
In silence lies. 

HAYWARD, Sarah (Smith), wife of Nathan; July 26, 1826; 70 yrs. 

HAYWARD, Nathan, Aug. 19, 1832; 37 yrs. 

As runs the glass 
So life doth pass 

May all be wise 

Their time to prize. 
(Died in Chester, Vermont. Son of Nathan & Sarah.) 
HAYWARD, Calvin (son of Peter & Esther) ; Aug. 14, 1811; 45 yrs. 
HAYWARD, Lucinda (Field), wife of Calvin; Jan. 16, 1849; 77 yrs. 
HAYWARD, Luman, son of Calvin & Lucinda; Feb. 21, 1797; 4 mos., 16 days. 
HAYWARD, William (son of William & Joanna); Feb. 24, 1785; 49th yr. 

Behold and see as you pass by 

As you are now so once was I 

As I am now so you must be 

Prepare for death and follow me. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 395 

HAYWARD, Sarah, wife of William; Feb. 21, 1796; 59th yr. 

HAYWARD, George, son of Hercules & Rhoda (Flint); July 21, 1801; 4 
mos., 15 days. 

HAYWARD, John, son of Hercules & Rhoda; Jan. 11, 1810; 4 mos., 8 days. 

HAYWARD, George, son of Peter & Roxana (Harvey); Dec. 19, 1822; 11 
mos., 25 days. 

In memory of MR. SAMUEL 
McCURDY who departed this 
life Jany 5th 1808 in the 86th 
year of his age. He was born 
in the north of Ireland, County 
of Entrim and parish of Abobell 

All people that do life on earth 
Unto the grave must come 
And when the solemn trumpets sound 
Must rise and hear their doom 
Therefore while life does last 
Make peace with Christ your king 
And when to judgment you are called 
You'll rise with joy and sing. 

(An early settler in Surry.) 
McCURDY, Elizabeth, wife of Samuel; Dec. 22, 1808; 85th yr. 
Yet mortals know that you must die 
And hasten to eternity 
Therefore in life still serve the Lord 
Be guided by his holy word 
When death does come you need not fear 
If Christ your friend and helper's near 
Trust in him and you will find 
That it is a great comfort to the mind. 

McCURDY, Peggy, dau. of James & Peggy; Jan. 2, 1786; 8 mos., 21 days. 
McCURDY, Peggy, dau. of James & Margaret (Peggy); Nov. 16, 1808; 18th 

yr. 

When blooming youth is snatched away 

By death's resistless hand 

Our hearts the mournful tribute pay 

Which pity does command 

I said sometimes with tears 

Ah me ! I'm loth to die 

Lord silence thou those fears 

My life's with thee on high. 

McCURDY, Lynde, son of James & Margaret; Sept. 21, 1798; 11 mos. 

My peaceful grave shall keep 
My bones till that blest day 
When I shall wake from sleep 
And leave my mortal clay. 



396 History of Surry 

MARK, James, son of John & Anna (McCurdy) ; Feb. 14, 1785; 89th yr. 
The grave our last retreat 
Both old and young at last must meet. 

PAGE, Maj. Leme, Sept. 30, 1822; 65 yrs., 17 days. 

Dead saints shall from their graves arise 
And spring to life beyond the skies. 

(Came from Rindge, N. H. A Revolutionary soldier.) 

PAGE, Mary (Paige) (Robinson), wife of Leme; Nov. 26, 1853; 87 yrs. 

(She married Jonathan Robinson after the death of Leme 
Page, but was buried beside her first husband.) 

PAGE, Mary Ann, (dau. of Leme & Mary) ; 10 yrs., 10 mos., 2 days. 
So fades the lovely blooming flower 
Frail smiling solace of an hour. 

WILLIAMS, John, Jan. 25, 1824. Marker 65. 

(A negro who used to work for and lived and died at Eliphaz 
Field's. "Black John" was a player on banjo and bones, and a 
singer of negro melodies. He could tell within a few minutes 
of accuracy the time in the night by the stars. About 1870 
his grave, which was near the bank in the southerly part of 
the yard, caved away. The skull and some of the other bones 
rolled down the bank into the highway. They were replaced 
near the wall easterly and further back on north. He died of 
some disease of the brain, and as was customary in those 
days the doctors had sawed the skull in two. It was said to 
have been a quarter of an inch in thickness. 

WRIGHT, Moses, Oct. 26, 1815; 52 yrs. 

The following are known to have been buried in this yard, but the location 
of the graves is unknown: 

AUSTIN, Lewis, son of Thomas & Lucy (Kendrick) ; Jan. 11, 1829; 1 yr. 1 
mo. 

AUSTIN, Hollis, son of Thomas & Lucy; Mar. 1835; 2 mos. 

AUSTIN, Haskel, son of Robert & Rebecca (Farmer) ; Aug. 16, 1813; 16 mos. 

AUSTIN, Manthano, son of Robert & Rebecca; Sept. 10, 1821; 2 yrs. 

AUSTIN, Elvira, dau. of Robert & Rebecca; May 5, 1822; 1 yr., 2 mos. 

The UNKNOWN graves are 

1 grave 6 ft. south of Peter Hayward. 

1 " 11 feet south of Peter Hayward. 

2 " still further south. 

1 " 7 ft. north of (long) William Hayward grave. 

1 " 5 ft. north of Maj. Nathan Hayward (short). 

5 " south of Calvin Hayward. 

1 " east of Nathan Hayward marked with rough granite stone. 

1 " 2 ft. north of Avis Carpenter 2/3 length of adult. 

1 " 5 ft. south of Avis Carpenter. 

2 " 20 ft. south of Avis Carpenter. 

3 " 20 ft. south of George, son of Hercules Hayward. Children's graves. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 397 

1 " 7 ft. north of Marker 64 marked by rough slab. 

7 " north of above. 

1 " 4 ft. south of Moses Wright (long). 

1 " 4 ft. north of footstone of Moses Wright marked with rough slab. 

2 " north of above. 

1 " 8 ft. south of Theodocia, wife of Daniel Darling. 

4 " in a space of 3 rods south of Mrs. Elizabeth McCurdy. 

2 " 5 ft. south of Peggy McCurdy. 

3 " 2 rods further south of Peggy McCurdy. 
3 " west of Samuel McCurdy. 

1 " 2 ft. north of Harriet Darling marked with rough granite stone. 

1 " 3 ft. north similarly marked. 

1 " 18 ft. north of footstone of Rev. David Darling (long). 



THE SOUTHWEST BURYING YARD 

Levi Hancock gave this land for a burying place about 1800. At a town 
meeting June 3, 1812, a committee was appointed to see about fencing the three 
burying yards. They reported : 

"First, we think proper to fence the southwest burying ground with stone. 
Second, the South burying ground, likewise. 

Third, the one by the meeting house we think proper to repair it by new 
posts and nailing on the boards for the present year. 

Nathan Hayward 
Eli Dort 
Levi Hancock 

Committee." 

The following paper was also presented at the same time: 

"I the undersigner agree to give securyty of the above described piece 
of land any time when called for on condition that the Town fence it." 

Levi Hancock." 

In another place it is described as belonging to Levi Hancock and was "on 
the old road south of oliver Wright's barn" and was bounded; "beginning at 
the southwest corner of the wall now built, running westerly seven rods as the 
wall is now built to a bar post with stones about it; thence north to a stake 
and stones five rods; thence east five rods to the wall on the road; thence 
southerly as the wall now runs six rods and a half to the first mentioned 
bound." 

Levi Hancock bid off the job of fencing the yard at .75c per rod, the same 
to be finished by Oct. 1, 1812. Owing to the condition of the ground the wall 
around this yard is now in need of repair. 

This yard is in the southwest part of the town, near Keene and Westmore- 
land lines. From it can be seen Monadnock over Beech Hill, and in the east 
the long line of blue hills in Nelson. One house can be seen perhaps one half 
mile away^ and a set of buildings near the foot of Monadnock. The lot is 
about ten rods square, enclosed on all sides by a stone wall, and a gate is at 
the entrance near the road. 



398 History of Surry 

On the outside of the wall and running all around the yard except the north 
side, is a row of fine trees, birch, maple, ash, oak, black cherry, and three 
beautiful white ash. 

Two larch, a pine and some small willows are inside. In summer the ground 
is pink with cinnamon roses, and there are also many old fashioned red roses 
and some heath. The red and white clover grows luxuriantly. 

Nearly all the stones in this yard are of white marble; the first burials of 
which any stones make record are those of Dr. Noah Fuller and wife in 1809. 

The southeast part of the yard for about four rods square is full of graves, 
thirty or more, with no stones; these are Irishmen who died or were killed 
while the railroad was being built to Summit. There were so many quarrels 
and fights that the Militia were stationed here some months. 

About a dozen graves in this yard are unknown and unmarked; some un- 
marked graves have been identified by Benjamin Crosby, and most of the 
graves have stones. 

RECORDS 

ABBOTT, John, son of Daniel & Polly (Brown); Nov. 28, 1840; 16 yrs., 11 
mos. 

ABBOTT, Milton, son of Daniel & Polly (Brown); Aug. 1, 1841; 3 yrs., 2 

mos., 15 days. 
ALLEN, Abel, Feb. 5, 1839; 83 yrs. (Son of Abel & Elizabeth.) 

ALLEN, Susannah, consort of Abel; Sept. 18, 1811; 55 yrs. 

Note — Near these are three graves marked with hornblende 
slabs — no inscription. Also two graves with no stones. 

ALLEN, Daniel, son of Daniel & Deidamia (Wilbur); Dec. 12, 1841; 19 yrs., 
11 mos., 10 days. 

ALLEN, Emily, dau. of Daniel & Deidamia; July 24, 1831; 5 yrs., 9 mos., 19 
days. 

BRITTON, John, May 30, 1836; 87 yrs. 

(Born in Easton, Mass., of Pendleton & Hannah.) 

BRITTON, Jerusha (Thompson), wife of John; Dec. 12, 1841; 81 yrs. 

BRITTON, Jerusha, Sept. 9, 1858; 66 yrs. 

BRITTON, Luther, Oct. 27, 1842; 60 yrs. 

(Died in Westmoreland. Two above children of John & Jeru- 
sha.) 

BRITTON, Ruth (Winchester), wife of Luther; June 4, 1862; 76 yrs. 

BRITTON, Chester J., (son of Ebenezer) ; Apr. 29, 1859; 25 yrs. 

BRITTON, Benjamin, (son of John & Jerusha) ; July 11, 1825; 41 yrs. 

BRITTON, Relief (Durant), wife of Benjamin; April 11, 1872; 86 yrs., 8 
mos. 

BRITTON, Joshua D., son of Benjamin & Relief; July 5, 1831; 24 yrs. 

BRITTON, Louisa, dau. of Benjamin & Relief; July 19, 1833; 25th yr. 

BRITTON, Relief, dau. of Benjamin & Relief; 1820—1904. 

At Rest. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 399 

BRITTON, Benjamin, son of Benjamin & Relief; Oct. 29, 1891; 80 yrs., 5 mos. 

BRITTON, Hiram, son of Benjamin & Relief; Apr. 9, 1893; 79 yrs., 9 mos., 
9 days. 

BRITTON, Fanny H., (Reed), wife of Hiram; July 1, 1847; 32 yrs. 
(1st wife; she is buried under the larch trees.) 

BRITTON. Lucy, wife of Ebenezer; Oct. 18, 1829; 29 yrs. 
(Ebenezer was son of John & Jerusha.) 

BRITTON, Arvin, son of Ebenezer & Lucy; Feb. 14, 1852; 27 yrs. 

BRITTON, An infant dau. of Ebenezer & Betsey. 

GRAIN, Ebenezer, June 23, 1863; 83 yrs. 

GRAIN, Hannah (Rice), wife of Ebenezer; Mar. 24, 1844; 65 yrs. 

FULLER, Doct. Noah; Apr. 30, 1809; 70 yrs. 

(He was one of the early settlers in Westmoreland, close to the 

Surry line.) 

FULLER, Esther (Ware), wife of Dr. Noah; Mar. 2, 1809; 69 yrs. 

Note. Just south of this stone are two unmarked graves. 

FULLER, Simeon. 

FULLER, John. 

(Probably children of Joseph & Annie (Knight) ; died at 12 
yrs. Slate slabs, and names evidently cut with a knife.) 

HANCOCK, Levi, Aug. 26, 1836; 76th yr. 

(Born in Wrentham, Mass., of Benjamin & Patience (Clark). 

HANCOCK, Lyna (Harvey), wife of Levi; Aug. 11, 1834; 69th yr. 
HANCOCK, Otis, June 14, 1792; Sept. 24, 1864. 

HANCOCK, Joanna Wilbur, wife of Otis; June 25, 1794; July 2, 1873. 
HANCOCK, Otis Jr., son of Otis & Joanna; Dec. 22, 1837; 20th yr. 
This blooming youth had promised 

much delight 
But oh! he withered like the 

shades of night 
Sleep dearest friend in thy 

peaceful tomb 
We hope to meet thee in the 
world to come. 
HANCOCK, Joanna Jane, dau. of Otis & Joanna; Sept. 11, 1827; 2 yrs. 
JONATHAN HALL PHEBE HALL 

died died 

Dec. 11, 1852 Aug. 6, 1853 

Aged 70 yrs Aged 66 yrs. 

For all flesh is as Then are they 

grass and all the glory glad because 

of man as a flower of they be quiet 

grass. The grass so he bringeth them 

withereth and the unto their desired 

flowers thereof haven, 

fadeth away. 



400 History of Surry 

HALL, Henry Britton, Mar. 21, 1807; July 7, 1895. 

HALL, Polly Blasdel, wife of Henry B.; Nov. 9, 1797; Jan. 31, 1855. 

HALL, Hannah M. 

HALL, Joshua. 

HALL, Mary. 

HALL, George. 

(Hornblende field stones. Children of Henry B. & Polly.) 

HALL, James G., Jan. 24, 1906; 73 yrs. Civil war. 

(Is buried near his father, Henry B. No stone.) 

MASON, Mary (Allen), wife of Elijah; June 28, 1843; 52 yrs. 

Dearest companion 
thou hast left us. 

(Stone broken; rest of epitaph gone.) 

MERRIFIELD, Benjamin, Jan. 10, 1825; 81 yrs. 

MERRIFIELD, Hannah, wife of Benjamin; Jan. 15, 1824; 76 yrs. 

THOMAS, Mrs. Mary, wife of Capt. Philip; Oct. 19, 1833; 89 yrs. 
Blessed are they which die in the Lord. 

THOMAS, Nancy T., dau. of Philip & Ruth; Jan. 14, 1855; 11 yrs. 

Come all young people you may see 
This is a call from God to thee 
No age from Death's arrest is free 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

Note. An unmarked grave just south of above. 

WARE, Robert, Jan. 30, 1800; 63rd yr. 

Behold and see as you pass by 
As you are now so once was I 
As I am now so you must be 
Prepare for death and follow me. 

WARE, Hannah, wife of Robert; Jan. 4, 1827; 76 yrs. 

WILBUR, Elisha, Oct. 8, 1835; 77 yrs. 

WILBUR, Jerusha, wife of Elisha; July 21, 1838; 81 yrs. 

WILBER, Linthy, dau. of Elisha & Jerusha; Aug. 9, 1845; 60 yrs. 

WILBUR, Amasa, (son of Elisha & Jerusha) ; Oct. 28, 1825; 43 yrs. 

WINCHESTER, Esther (Wilbur), wife of Moses; Mar. 22, 1828; 25 yrs. 

WINCHESTER, Levi, Sept. 2, 1845; 21 yrs. 
There is rest in Heaven. 

WRIGHT, Elizur, Aug. 27, 1840; 86 yrs. 

WRIGHT, Eleanor (Dassance), wife of Elizur; June 6, 1820; 55 yrs. 
WRIGHT, Betsey, (dau. of Elizur & Eleanor) ; Oct. 28, 1826; 26 yrs. 
WRIGHT, Moses, (son of Elizur & Eleanor); Nov. 24, 1886; 89 yrs., 5 mos., 

10 days. 
WRIGHT, Rebecca ( ), wife of Moses; July 24 1838; 34 yrs. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 401 

WRIGHT, Fidelia Willson, wife of Moses; Sept. 21, 1894; 90 yrs. 

(Is buried just south of Rebecca. No stone.) 
WRIGHT, Sally. In a direct line east of Eleanor & Betsey are buried 

WRIGHT, Catherine. these two daughters of Oliver Wright. 

Note. There are three or four unmarked graves north of 
Elizur Wright. In the northwest corner of the yard 
two Kenney children are said to have been buried. 

POND ROAD CEMETERY 

This is a small cemetery, perhaps 4 by 5 rods inside. It is pleasantly situ- 
ated, and is north of the forks of the road where F. R. Grain lives. In the 
yard are six large pines, three ash and two red oak trees. 

The long blue of Surry mountain can be seen over the forest, and south of 
the pinnacle are the hills of Sullivan. In the north is the round top wooded 
hill near Becket, and on the west are the lower edge of Mine Ledge and the 
steep pastures below it. Farm houses are on the south. So far as is knowa 
but six graves are in this yard. 

RECORDS 

CARPENTER, Benjamin, Feb. 18, 1862; 73 yrs., 9 mos., 1 day. 

(Born in Ashford, Conn., of Benjamin & Ruth (Hayward) ). 

CARPENTER, Rowena (Wilber), wife of Benjamin; Mar. 12, 1872; 80 yrs, 
7 mos.^ 4 days. 

CARPENTER, Benjamin W., (son of Benjamin & Rowena); Nov. 17, 1871; 
39 yrs. 

CARPENTER, Seth, (son of Benjamin & Ruth) ; June 3, 1843. 

CARPENTER, Rebecca (Thomas), wife of Seth. 

(The two above have no stones, and are buried about six feet 
northwest of Benjamin W. The north grave is Seth, and the 
south of his wife.) 

WILBER, Sally, Apr. 26, 1862; 73 yrs., 2 mos., 23 days. 
(Sister of Rowena (Wilber) Carpenter.) 
There is a grave about 15 rods west of John Conley's barn, just south of 
the Pond Road. It is on the edge of the steep bank which slopes down to the 
brook. The stone is quite a large one, and bears this inscription: In memory 
of JOSHUA DARTE, son to Mr. JOSHUA & DEBORAH DARTE. He died 
of the small-pox Oct. 22nd, 1776, in the 22nd year of his age. 

Friends retire prepared be 

When God calls you to follow me 

For death a debt to nature due 

Which I have paid and so must you. 
A few rods north of E. H. Joslin's in the northwest corner of the field east 
of the barn and lane is a slate stone now lying flat. It has the inscription: 
In memory of DAVID LUIS, son of Mr. James & Mrs. Grace LUIS who died 
29 Jan. 1802, aged 20 years, 3 months and 15 days. 



26 



402 History of Surry 

Youth young men all attend the call 
For death prepared be 
For you may die as well as I 
From death no age is free. 

(David Luis was from Walpole; was working for Thomas 
Harvey when he had the small-pox, from which he partially 
recovered; took a long horseback ride; had a relapse, and died.) 

ADDITIONS TO CEMETERY CHAPTER 

GUILLOW, Edward J., son of Josiah; Oct. 16, 1853— Feb. 6, 1923. 

CARTER, Selwyn I., son of James D.; Oct. 20, 1879— Aug. 6, 1919. 

PERKINS, Charles Wallace, son of Charles H.; 1863— Sept. 20, 1907. 

KINGSBURY, Otis W., son of William L.; Feb. 14, 1847— Sept. 23, 1919. 

KINGSBURY, Sarah R. (Reed), wife of Otis W.; died Dec. 24, 1918; 72 

yrs., 3 mos. 
OLMSTED, Catherine (Darby), widow of Charles C; 1829— Apr. 6, 1919. 
BERRY, Fanny R. (Houghton), widow of Thomas L.; Sept. 28, 1840 — Mar. 

2, 1920. 
POMEROY, Mary E. (Stone), wife of Frank E.; Aug. 19, 1922; age 28 yrs., 

11 mos., 10 days. 
CROSBY, Benjamin J., son of Benjamin C; Nov. 6, 1854— Sept. 28, 1912, 

Concord. 
DEANE, Emily A. (Crosby), wife of Oscar B.; May 21, 1848. 
CARPENTER, Charles Milan, son of Warren; 1842 — 1886. 
CARPENTER— HILL, Emma (Poole), "widow of C. Milan Carpenter and 

D. B. C. Hill; 1844 — 1919. (Name, "Hill," not on gravestone.) 

WEBSTER, Ezra, son of Mark; June 10, 1835— May 17, 1917, in Alstead. 

WEBSTER, Victoria A., wife of Ezra; July 9, 1839— Jan. 28, 1889, in Al- 
stead. 

BRITTON, Sabra M. (Tufts), widow of J. Langdon; Jan. 30, 1908; Keene; 
AE 67 yrs., 8 mos. 

WARREN, Martha A. (Britton), widow of ; died in Westmoreland 

Dec. 14, 1915; age 56 yrs., 10 mos., 16 days. 

CHAMBERLAIN, George Fred; died in Alstead June 7, 1917. 

CHAMBERLAIN, George Riley, son of George F.; died Gilsum Mar. 13, 
1923; age 21 yrs., 2 mos., 8 days. 

VINCELLETTE, Nicholas; died in Winchester, N. H., Oct. 28, 1909; AE 78 
yrs., 8 mos., 28 days. 

FAWCETT, Ann G., widow of Rev. Joseph; died Feb. 12, 1910; AE 90 yrs., 
5 mos. (Her husband returned to England where he died.) 

ABBOTT, Sarah M. (Lovell), wife of ; died in Keene May 11, 

1910; AE 88 yrs., 3 mos. 

ALLEN, John Henry, son of Rev. Joseph; died in E. Hartford, Conn., May 
20, 1910; age 66 yrs., 5 mos., 14 days. 



Cemetery and Gravestone Records 403 

RICHARDSON, Hattie M. (Kenney), wife of Charles; June 17, 1870— Sept. 
6, 1892. 

KENNEY, Elizabeth M. (Howard), wife of William Riley; Feb. 14, 1843— 
May 12, 1919. 

GARVIN, Charles O., May 2, 1849— Jan. 15, 1920. 

WRIGHT, Marietta C. (Carpenter), wife of Edward H. Wright; Apr. 27, 
1853— Sept. 28, 1919. 

REED, Charles W., son of Nathan D.; died Sept. 19, 1916; age 76 yrs., 3 
mos., 6 days. 

REED, Jackson, son of David Jr.; Mar. 1845 — Oct. 22, 1920, in Keene. 

REED, Nancy A. (Wilcox), wife of Jackson; June 18, 1843— Oct. 18, 1920, 
Keene. 

REED, Newton, son of David, Jr.,; Sept. 1849— Aug. 31, 1920. 

WILBUR, Abbie E. (Wilkins), wife of Henry L.; Apr. 8, 1920; AE 75 yrs., 
10 mos. 

WILBUR, Alonzo F., son of Freeman. 

WILBUR, Annie E. (Smith), wife of Alonzo F.; Oct. 8, 1848— Oct. 23, 1922. 
"Gone but not forgotten." 

WRIGHT, William H., Sgt. Co. I, 3rd Regt. N. H. Vol.; June 17, 1836— Dec. 
5, 1904. 

WRIGHT, Mary E. (Horton), wife of William H.; Oct. 9, 1839— Jan. 18, 
1921. 

WRIGHT, Luna B., their dau.; Aug. 28, 1876— Apr. 10, 1919. 

BRITTON, George B., son of Benjamin M.; Oct. 7, 1850— Apr. 13, 1921. 

WILCOX, Charles Wharton, son of George; Aug. 2, 1834— Aug. 8, 1919. 

ROGERS, John H., Jan. 18, 1914; AE 88 yrs., 6 mos., 6 days. 

STREETER, Hermon O., son of Willard; May 15, 1843— Apr. 13, 1918. 

STREETER, Hattie E. (Kidder), wife of Hermon 0.; May 21, 1843— Jan. 2, 
1922. 

NESMITH, Frank E. 

NESMITH, Mary L. (Grain), wife of Frank E.; Aug. 26, 1851— Feb. 1923. 

NESMITH, Fred, infant son of above; 1883—1884. 

HODGKINS, Christine B., dau. of Leon A. & Elizabeth C; Oct. 21, 1909— 
Nov. 2, 1909. 

HODGKINS, stillborn, dau. of Leon A. & Elizabeth C; Apr. 5, 1918. 

WEBSTER, Herbert M., son of Ezra. 

WEBSTER, Sarah J. (Conley), wife of Herbert M.; Sept. 26, 1867— Jan. 9, 

1919. 
GRAIN, Ruth Annette, dau. of Charles G. & Florence; died July 16, 1910; 

age 1 mo., 2 days. 
ABBOTT, Charles; died in Concord Aug. 26, 1911; age 84 yrs., 7 mos., 20 

days. (Son of Daniel.) 



404 History of Surry 

ABBOTT, Mary Ann, dau. of Daniel; died in Keene Feb. 12, 1913; age 71 
yrs.^ 7 mos., 3 days. 

IHANAMAK, Tilda, sister of Mrs. Lamminen; born in Finland; died in 
Surry; unm.; June 4, 1912; age 27 yrs., 4 mos., 6 days. 

HARVEY, George Kimball, son of Jame E.; died in Concord July 19, 1912; 
age 13 yrs., 4 mos., 17 days. 

HALL, Lizzie W. (Cunningham), wife of ; died Mar. 26, 1918; age 

84 yrs., 11 mos., 25 days. 

CADY, Rosamond (Newton), wife of ; died in Keene Dec. 18, 1918; 

age 28 yrs., 1 mo., 27 days. 
SEAVER, Margaret M., dau. of Lyford & Nellie; died Sept. 30, 1921; infant. 
BORTHWICK, Winona H.; died in Worcester, Mass., Mar. 14, 1923; age 39 

yrs., 6 mos., 4 days. 

(Dau. of Thomas L. & Fanny R. (Houghton) Berry.) 

The JOHN COLE tablet erected 1920, contains the following record: 

In Memory of 

JOHN COLE 

Born Rowley, Mass. 1768 

Died Surry, N. H. Oct. 4, 1807 

POLLY BEMIS COLE 

Born Westminster, Mass. 1763 

Died Gilsum, N. H. Dec. 30, 1825 

THEIR CHILDREN 

MEHITABLE COLE 

Born Westminster, Mass. 1789 

Died Gardner, Mass. 1794 

ZACHEUS COLE 
Born Dumerston, Vt. Mar. 27, 1791 
Died Westminster, Vt. Oct. 12, 1882 

BETSY COLE 

Born Orange, Mass., Sept. 10, 1792 

Died Gilsum, N. H. Aug. 9, 1819 

JOHN COLE 

Born Gardner, Mass. Sept. 13, 1797 

Died Westminster, Vt. Sept. 29, 1890 

POLLY COLE 

Born Gardner, Mass. Aug. 28, 1800 

Died Gilsum, N, H. Nov. 26, 1826 

ASA COLE, born in Surry, N. H., Oct. 20, 1804; died in Keene, N. H., Dec. 
22, 1900. 



HISTORY OF SURRY 



PART TWO 



GENEALOGICAL REGISTER 



PART SECOND 
GENEALOGICAL REGISTER OF SURRY FAMILIES 

The following register is of those families who resided in town for any 
length of time; doubtless others were here prior to 1790 and even after that 
date whose records are not given. 

Much time and labor in research work have been spent, thousands of letters 
written and hundreds of visits made to procure records. In some instances 
several attempts to obtain desired information have been rewarded with only 
partial success and it is a regret that many lacking items could not be secured. 
Frequently duplicate records have presented a most confusing situation; 
oftentimes town, gravestone and family records disagree; avoidance of errors 
has been impossible but special pains have been taken to make this part of the 
work as accurate as possible. 





Abbreviations 




b. 


==born, or birth. unm. 


= unmarried. 


bapt. 


= baptized. res. 


= resided or residence, 


d. 


= died. rem. 


= removed. 


bur. 


= buried or burial. n. f. r. 


= no further record. 


eh. 


= child or children. q. v. 


= which see. 


inf. 


= infant or infancy. no. 


= number. 


dau. 


= daughter. R. of D. 


= Register of Deeds. 


s. 


= son. S. 


= Surry. 


w. 


= wife. G. H. 


= Gilsum History. 


h. 


= husband. Sull. H. 


= Sullivan History. 


wid. 


= widow. K. S. 


= Keene Sentinel. 


m. 


= married. 




Vhen no 


state is given it is understood to be New 


Hampshire. 




ABBOTT 





1, *Several immigrants bearing this name settled in New England during 
the first half of the seventeenth century. One of these was GEORGE' ABBOT, 
who took up his abode in Andover, Massachusetts in 1643. His descendants, 
numerous and widely scattered, usually wrote the name with one "t" until the 
year 1840, but since that time the common manner has been, Abbott. Accord- 
ing to tradition, George' was b. in England about 1615; came to America from 
Yorkshire about 1640, and was among the first settlers of Andover and where 
he d. Dec. 24, 1681, "O. S.", age 66 yrs. He. m. in Andover, 1647, Hannah 
Chandler, b. England about 1629; d. in Andover June 11, 1711, age 82; dau. of 
William and Annis ( ) Chandler. She m. (2) Rev. Francis Dane, min- 



*The first live generations of the foregoing family is taken from pages 1, 83, 104, 105 
and 107, Abbot Genealogy, by Rev. A. Abbot and Re'v. E. Abbot, 1847. 



408 History of Surry 

ister of Andover, Mass. George' and Hannah, "with Christian fortitude and 
submission they endured their trials, privations and dangers, of which they 
had a large share." Their house was a garrison, and used as such many years 
after his death. They had 13 children and over 70 gr. -children. Our Surry 
family descends as follows : 

2. THOMAS- ABBOT (George') b. Andover, Mass., May 6, 1666; d. Apr. 
28, 1728; m. Dec. 7, 1697, Hannah Gray, b. 1674; d. 1763. They res. in An- 
dover. 

3. GEORGE=' ABBOT (Thomas'', George') b. Andover, Nov. 7, 1706; d. 
Oct. 6, 1785; m. Feb. 1, 1737 Sarah' Abbot (Stephen^ John% George') b. Oct. 8, 
1711; d. June 14, 1769. He settled in Concord, N. H., as early as 1732; was 
enterprising, industrious, benevolent and charitable, deacon of the First Con- 
gregational Church 41 years; and a strict observer of the Sabbath. In 1746 
their house was garrisoned for defence against the Indians. 

4. DANIEL' ABBOT (George', Thomas", George') b. Concord Aug. 7, 
1738; d. June 11, 1804. He was taken when a boy by the Indians, but by physi- 
cal energy made a miraculous escape upon a pair of skates on Lake Cham- 
plaine, going southward, and returning to Concord by way of Albany, N. Y. 
He became a sucessful farmer on land near the south end of Long Pond in the 
above town. He m. (1) 1761, Rachel' Abbot b. Concord Apr. 7, 1743; d. June 
13, 1788, dau. of Capt. Nathaniel' and Penelope (Bullard) Abbot (Nathaniel', 
George' ) . 

5. DANIEL'' ABBOTT (Daniel', George", Thomas", George') b. Concord 
May 7, 1770; tradition says "he went to aid in suppressing the outbreak near 
Lake Champlain in 1812 and was never heard from again." The N. H. State 
Papers, however, say Daniel Abbott was a private in Capt. Andrew Pierce's 
Co. from May until July 1814. He was a tailor and farmer^ and came to S. as 
early as 1795. He m. Jan. 29, 1795, Lucy Harvey, dau. of Capt. Thomas Har- 
vey, q. V. Mrs. Abbott and the ch. were living with Capt. Harvey in 1806. 
Ch. b. in S.: 

i. Betsey" May 16, 1795; d. Moira, N. Y., Apr. 6, 1864; m. George Leon- 
ard, q, V. 

ii, Lucy Jan. 10, 1797; d. unm. Winchester, Jan. 2, 1870; bur. S. 
iii. Daniel Dec. 13, 1798; d. S. June 18, 1869. (6) 
iv. Lyna May 10, 1800; d. S. Mar. 16, 1882; m. Rev. Joseph Allen, q. v. 

6. DANIEL" ABBOTT (DanieP, Daniel', George'', Thomas% George') lived 
at No. 172 when a young man; in 1827 in Keene, in 1834 at No. 199, Keene. 
In 1857 at No. 68 where he d. He was selectman 1838, '40, '52 and '58, and 
represented the town in the General Court, 1841. He was a successful farmer. 
Mar. 23, 1823, m. Polly Brown b. in Westmoreland Feb. 17, 1798; dau. of 
Nehemiah Brown, q. v. Ch. b. : 

i. John' Dec. 28, 1823; d. S. Nov. 28, 1840, unm. 
ii. Mary Ann (erroneously called "Lucy") Aug. 25, 1825; d. Keene Sept. 

20, 1831. 
iii. Charles Jan. 6, 1827; d. in Concord Aug. 26, 1911; res. in Keene many 

years. (7) 
iv. George Dec. 1, 1828; d. at Joliet, 111., July 19, 1916. (8) 
V. Thomas Harvey Oct. 15, 1830; d. unm. Jan. 15, 1886; taxed in S. 1853, 

'54. He went to Texas when a young man, but returned and d. in S. 



Genealogical Register 409 

vi. Henry Oct. 5, 1832; d. in Winchester Feb. 12, 1898. (9) 
vii. Joseph Brown S. Aug. 11, 1835; d. Keene Jan. 16, 1892. (10) 
viii. Milton June 1838; d. S. Aug. 1, 1841. 
ix. Mary Ann July 9, 1841; d. Keene Feb. 12, 1913, unm. 

7. CHARLES" ABBOTT (Daniel", DanieP, Daniel', George", Thomas- 
George'), a farmer for many years on the Wyman (or Abbott) Road in the 
north part of Keene, late in life he moved to the cottage at the junction of 
Surry east and Surry west road. He m. Sarah Miranda' Lovell, b. Putney, 
Vt., Feb. 16, 1820; d. Keene May 11, 1910, dau. of Ebenezer" (Ebenezer', Eben- 
ezer', Michael'', Nathaniel", Alexander'; see history of Rockingham, Vt., page 
710) and Miranda (Lovell) Lovell. No issue. 

8. GEORGE' ABBOTT (Daniel", DanieP, DanieP, George', Thomas', 
George')* went to the middle west when twenty-three years of age; first mak- 
ing his way to Missouri, where he was engaged in getting out timber for the 
Missouri, Pacific R. R. and for one year he was foreman of a gang of work- 
men; then he became overseer on the plantation belonging to General Bolton, 
in which connection he supervised the labors of a crew of "regulars," after 
which he returned to N. H. and was married. With his bride he soon went to 
Winnebago Co., HI., where he was for a year on a large farm. In 1857 he 
settled at Joliet that state where for 18 years he conducted a restaurant in the 
Rock Island depot, for the next ten years he was engaged in the same business 
at corner of Chicago and Jeff"erson streets in that city, a portion of the time in 
the Abbot building which he erected. Finally he purchased ten acres of land 
on Oneida street in the western part of the town, where he did gardening on 
a small scale during his retired days. He always led a very busy, useful and 
active life and whatever success he achieved was due entirely to his own 
labors and perseverance. In all business dealings he was faithful and hon- 
orable, and in the evening of his life received respect and veneration. He was 
a member of lodge No. 4, A. F. and A. M. at Joliet; politically he was a strong 
republican. He m. (1) Jan. 28, 1856 Eunice A. Foster, who d. Joliet, 1861^ 
dau, of B. Franklin Foster, q. v. He m. (2) Mrs. Abbie Ann Cutting, form- 
erly from Maine, who d. at Joliet 1895. 

Ch. b. (2) wife at Joliet, HI.: 

i. John M.'' Oct. 30, 1865; res. (1921) Joliet; retired. (11) 
ii. Lawrence D. Mar. 5, 1868; res. (1921) Joliet. (12) 
iii. George Jan. 12, 1874; res. Joliet. (13) 

iv. Lulu May Apr. 30, 1876; m. May 14, 1902, J. E, Wroughton of Joliet. 
V. Lydia B. June 19, 1878; m. June 14, 1899, Frank Shaw of Joliet. 
vi. A child, b. and d. infancy; date unknown. 

9. HENRY" ABBOTT (DanieP, DanieP, DanieP, George', Thomas' George") 
was b. in K.; taxed in S. 1860; elected cashier of the Winchester National Bank 
in 1864, a postion he held for over 33 years; was also trustee of the Security 
Savings Bank, and town treasurer 1884. At the dedication of the Harvey 
Memorial at S. 1894, Hon. Henry Abbott delivered the address. He m. Jan. 
26, 1855, Hattie Maria Grain of Westport, b. May 14, 1835; d. Aug. 12, 1888, 
dau. of Leander Grain, q. v. 

Ch. b.: 



'The sketch of George Ablott is largely from History of Will Co., III. 



410 History of Surry 

i. Flora M.^ Rockford, III., May 1856; d. Aug. 1856. 

ii. Oscar, Keene, 1857; d. same yr. 

iii. Lelia Eudora, Keene, Feb. 16, 1858; m. Dec. 14, 1880, Arthur J. Bar- 
ber; res. 1922, Oshkosh, Wis.; Fire Insurance agent. Ch. b. Osh- 
kosh. Wis.: i. Kate Luella, Feb. 22, 1885; m. Sept. 1, 1909, Arthur 
H. Thorn, ii. Abbott Arthur, Sept. 20, 1889. iii. Sarah Harriett, 
Jan. 10, 1893. iv. A dau. 1895; d. y. v. Deane, June 16, 1898. 

iv. An infant son b. and d. Winchester, 1866. 

V. Kate May, Winchester, Apr. 4, 1868; m. June 13, 1888, Ned C. Ward- 
well; res. (1922) West Hartford, Conn. 

10. JOSEPH BROWN' ABBOTT (DanieF, DanieP, DanieP, George*, 
Thomas", George^), taxed in S. 1858; taught school at No. 201 in early man- 
hood; res. in Keene and Richmond; during the Civil War he was in the sani- 
tary commission four years; res. in Richmond 1866-78; served four years as 
selectman, and later one of Cheshire County Commissioners. He m. Rich- 
mond, Sept. 1, 1859, Lydia C. Martin; b. Richmond June 8, 1838; d. Jan. 2, 
1893, dau. of Leason and Lydia (Harris) Martin. Ch. b. 

i. Florence Sanetaria'', S. July 18, 1865; m. June 8, 1887, Edwin Elwell 
Davis, a dentist at Quincy, Mass., son of Rev. Edwin Davis. Ch. b. 
Quincy, Mass. : i. Marguerite Feb. 10, 1889. ii. Abbott Lawrence July 
31, 1891; d. Dec. 7, 1898. Mrs. Davis has assisted the writer in com- 
piling the Abbott family, 
ii. Leon Martin, Richmond, Aug. 28, 1867; a lawyer in Boston, Mass. (14) 

11. JOHN M.^ ABBOTT (George', DanieP, DanieP, DanieP, George', 
Thomas-, George^) ; keeper at the Illinois State Penitentiary at Joliet; m. 
Nov. 20, 1895. 

12. LAWRENCE D.* ABBOTT (George", DanieP, DanieP, DanieP, George', 
Thomas", George'), an engineer on the Chicago & Alton R. R.; m. Oct. 16, 
1895. 

13. GEORGE' ABBOTT (George', DanieP, DanieP, DanieP, George*, 
Thomas-, George') res. on his father's old home place; farming. He m. Apr. 
2, 1902. 

14. LEON MARTIN' ABBOTT (Joseph B.^ DanieP, DanieP, DanieP, 
George'', Thomas", George') attended the public schools at Keene; a student at 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard College, a course at Har- 
vard Law School, and in 1891 was admitted to the bar in Massachusetts. He is 
now associated with former Gov. John L. Bates of Mass. in the law fii'm of 
Bates, Nay, Abbott & Dane with office at 73 Tremont street, Boston ; is a mem- 
ber of the American, Massachusetts and Boston Bar associations; in religion a 
member of Christian Science church. Mr. Abbott was made a master Mason 
in Columbian lodge A. F. and A. M., Boston, June 7, 1894 and in that body 
has held many important positions. He is past master, trustee and a life 
member of Columbian lodge; an honorary member of 21 Massachusetts blue 
lodges; a member of the board of directors of the Grand lodge of Mass.; past 
commander-in-chief of Mass., council of Deliberation; a life member and 
trustee of Boston Commandery, K. T.; and honorary member of a number of 
Scottish Rite bodies, in both Mass. and N. Y. states. On Sept. 18, 1906, Mr. 
Abbott received his honorary 33d degi'ee; three years later was elected active 



Genealogical Register * 411 

meu.Lcr and deputy for Mass.; in 1911 he was elected lieut. commander of the 
supreme council. On Sept. 21, 1921, Mr. Abbott was elected sovereign grand 
commander of the supreme council, 33d degree, Ancient and Accepted Scot- 
tish Rite Masons, northern jurisdiction of the United States, which places him 
in the ranks of the 26 other supreme council commanders in the entire world. 
This position he will hold for three years, and he is one of the youngest men 
in the world holding that office. He m. Apr. 19, 1894, Florence May Tallman, 
dau. of William C. Tallman of Boston. 

15. REV. EDWARD F.' ABBOTT was pastor of S. Congregational Church 
1861 and '62; was taxed 1861. He probably was the Rev. Edward Farrington 
Abbott b. Andover, Mass., Dec. 24, 1816; d. there June 17, 1888; ordained Aug. 
19, 1846; pastor at Wardsboro, Vt. 1875-8, and at Sudbury, Vt., 1878-80. 

ADAMS 

1. JOHN ADAMS, b. Credition, England, 1685, came to America about 1700; 
settled in that part of Wrentham, Mass., now known as South Franklin, He 
m, Sept. 24, 1713, Sarah Fairbanks. Their son, John' Adams, Jr., b. June 18, 
1715; d. May 30, 1793; m. Rachel Adams. They had son, *John% b. 1748; d. 
Aug. 1836; m. (1) Naomi Pratt; m. (2) Eunice Moulton; m. (3) Elizabeth 
Stearns, who d. in Walpole about 1850. He settled in Walpole, where he was 
a butcher for many years. (The above is from Adams Genealogy by Gardner 
Adams 1874; W. E. Stearns Genealogy 1901.) 

2. JOHN MASON' ADAMS (John=, John=, John^) b. Mar. 5, 1799; d. Wal- 
pole, Nov. 8, 1857; bur. in S. In 1822 he was taxed in Gilsum; m. Oct. 27, 
1824, Ruth Carpenter, dau. of Ezra, q. v., and settled at No. 158 in S, and in 
one or two years moved to Walpole, A farmer, deacon in the church in Chris- 
tion Hollow in Walpole, 1st Sergt. 6th Co., 20th Regt., N. H. militia in 1827; 
after d. of Jesse Streeter, 1835, he was appointed guardian of his son Willard 
Streter, q. v. Ruth, the widow, res. in Walpole with her ch. until Apr. 1864, 
when she and the younger ones moved to the middle west, following some of 
the older ones. She d. Apr. 19, 1882, in Zearing, Iowa, and is buried near 
Illinois Grove, that state. Ch. i. b. in S., others in Walpole: 

i. A chiW of J. Mason Adams d. May 31, 1825; aged one or two days. 

ii. George May 7, 1826; d. Aug. 27, 1826. 

iii. Charles July 13, 1827; d. June 4, 1835. 

iv. Artemus Mar. 31, 1830; d. Belle Plaine, Wis., Mar. 17, 1874. (3) 

V. Harriet Feb. 28, 1832; d. Feb. 28, 1835. 

vi. John May 25, 1834; res, 1912, Minneapolis, Kan, (4) 
vii. Mary Louisa June 11, 1836; d. Rockford, 111., Nov. 15, 1868. She 
taught school in S. Walpole and Alstead, in which town she met her 
future husband, Edward W, Minard, son of William and Ann 
(Glover) Minard. (He had a sister, Annette Minard, who m. Samuel 
Putnam Jr., of Charlestown.) She m. Mr. Minard Jan, 29, 1861, 
and they soon settled in Owen township, four miles north of Rock- 
ford, 111,, where he and his w, both d. He was a farmer; m, after d. 
of Mary, his 2nd w. He had one club-foot, 

Ch. b.: i. Edward Lester Nov. 1861, ii, Ellis May 1863, iii. 
Burnside Mar, 1865, iv, Mary F. Mar. 1867; d, Oct, 18, 1908, 



'This name is "James Mason Adams" in G. H. ; other authorities, "John Adams." 



412 History of Surry 

viii. Francis Sophia May 26, 1839; d. Baxter, Iowa, July 8, 1918. She had 
some ability as a medium when a young lady, being able when blind- 
folded to do slate writing and the like. In Aug. 1858 she m. Daniel 
S. Grant b. Stephentown, N. Y., 1840; d. Baxter, Mar. 1914. After 
their m. they res. Halifax and Readsboro, Vt., from where they 
moved West with her mother and family. They lived in Wisconsin 
until 1875, when they moved to Eden, Marshall Co., Iowa, and to 
Baxter in 1909. Ch. b.: i. Frederic D. May 2, 1859; d. May 1, 1891. 
ii. William E. July 14, 1861. iii. Unysus S. Feb. 16, 1864. iv. Wal- 
ter M. Oct. 16, 1865. v. Charles W. May 20, 1867. vi. Lester A. 
Feb. 8, 1869. vii. Merrill J. Sept. 2, 1870. viii. Theron S. Aug. 3, 
1873. ix. George H. Apr. 28, 1876. x. Gertrude Frances Dec. 12, 
1879; she m. a Mr. Herzog, res. Marshalltown, la., or Melbourne, 
la., 1918. 

ix. Julia Apr. 12, 1840; d. Apr. 6, 1844. 
x. Martha Oct. 3, 1842; d. Apr. 4, 1844. 
xi. William Carpenter Oct. 17, 1846; res. (1915) Glade, Kansas. (5) 

3. ARTEMAS'' ADAMS (Dea. J. Mason\ John^ John=, John^) taught school 
in S. when a young man, and later in Illinois. He m. Mar. 24, 1852, Sarah B. 
Britton. They res. in Honey Creek, 111., where his uncle, John Carpenter 
(q. v.), also res., but returned East in 1853 and was living at No. 106; the 
following year he was Supt. of schools in S. being employed in mill at No. 
112. Subsequently he and his brother John ran a saw and grist mill at Cut- 
tingsville, Vt., after which he returned west. In the fall of 1861 he enlisted 
as a private in Co. K. 11th Regt., Wis. Vols. He rose to the rank of 1st lieut. 
and was staff officer for two years. He was with Gen. U. S. Grant through the 
siege of Vicksburg. After serving nearly four years with impaired health he 
resigned and wa