Skip to main content

Full text of "History of the town of Warren, N.H., from its early settlement to the year 1854: including a sketch of the Pomigewasset Indians"

See other formats


1^1 was 









3 1833 01115 3704 

M. L. 














Sketch of the Indians, 9 

Exploration of the country,25 

Townships laid out, 27 

Charter, 28 

Names of Grantees, 33 

First Meeting of Proprie- 
tors, 34 

Early Settlers, 38 

Saw-Mill, 42 

New Charter, 43 

Grist-Mill, 48 

Revolutionary War, 48 

Incorporation, 52 

First Representative, 56 

School-House, 65 

Settling of the lines by the 

Legislature, 67 

Methodists, 77 

Free Will Baptists, 85 

Spotted Fever, 88 

House of Worship,.... 91 


Copper Mine, 98 

Surplus Revenue, 103 

IJniversalists, 104 

B., C. & M. Railroad, 106 

Description of Scenery,... 116 

Town Officers, &c.,.. 139 

Census, 143 

Taxes, 143 

Name and situation of the 

Town, 144 

Memory of First Settlers,. 145 

Graveyards, 158 

Animals, &c., 156 

Productions, 158 

Postmasters, 162 

Casualties, 163 

Traders, 165 

Physicians, 166 

College Graduates, 168 

Schools, 169 

Circulating Library, 170 



Ever interesting must be the history of our country. There is a 
charm resting upon the deeds of those hardy sons who first subdued the 
forest ; and their adventures, which involved such fearful daring and 
enduring fortitude amid every hardship, should be remembered. The 
red man, also, who here had his hunting grounds, where now are beauti- 
ful fields and pastures, and w^ built his wigwam by the side of every 
stream and pond which contained the speckled trout and golden salmon, 
should not be forgotten. 

That hardy generation of white men, who first settled this section of 
New-Hampshire, has passed away. Their children are fast following ; 
and to prevent the forgetfulness into which their deeds are rapidly pass- 
ing, and to give a plain and correct account of the prominent events 
which have occurred in the history of Warren, is the object of this 
work. Of course, we have not related all the incidents that have tran- 
spired, for many of them are irrecoverably lost ; but in procuring the 
many facts no pains has been spared, and circumstances relative to the 
Indians and first settlers, which at first it was considered impossible to 
obtain, have by diligent search and comparing notes been brought to light. 

The writer is deeply indebted to many persons for books and infor- 
mation, among whom stand conspicuous James Clement, Samuel Mer- 
rill, Nathaniel Merrill, 2d, Kussell Iv. Clement, Dr. Jesse Little, Joseph 
Clement, David Smith, Joseph Bixby, A. W. Eastman, James Dow, 
Jonathan M. Eaton, Thomas Pillsbury, Amos F. Clough, Col. Isaac 
Merrill, Mrs. Betsy Patch, Mrs. Tamar Clement, Mrs. Eliza Pillsbury, 


Mrs. Susan C. Little, Mrs. Samuel Knight, Miss Ilannali B. Knight, 
and many others. To all his most sincere thanks are paid. 

The following authorities have aided materially, and he has taken 
much fi-om many of them : Belknap's History of New-Hampshire, 
Whiton's History of New-Hampshire, Power's History of Coos, Jack- 
son's Keports, Town Records, Proprietors' Eccords, authentic Tradi- 
tion, &c. 

In writing this History, the writer lays claim to no literary merit, hut 
was influenced to commence tlie work to preserve to future generations 
that which bid fair to become buried in oblivion ; and he is sure that 
events, however common -place they may seem, will possess a certain 
degree of interest to all, and especially to every native-born citizen of 

In writing a work of this character, tliere will be data Avhich will as- 
sist the future labors of the writer of the State or National History — 
for no National History can be coi-rect without the History of the seve- 
ral States, and no State History accurate without a knowledge of the 
Histories of the many towns of which it is composed. 

It is believed that the work, as far as it is possible in a first edition, is 
correct, and it is hoped that individuals will continue to collect incidents 
in relation to the first settlers, and other useful information, and at some 
future day a second edition be published. 




Had an individual, previous to 1760, stood 
u23on that ridge of land upon one side of which 
flows that wild and rapid stream known as Baker 
river," and upon the other the more sluggish wa- 
ters of Black brook, all around him, from moun- 
tain to mountain, from hill to hill, across that 
whole valley, would have been one unbroken 
forest, in which roamed free the stately moose 
and nimble deer, and was heard the cry of the 
gaunt wolf — the sullen growl of the bear — the 
low and heavy sound of the partridge, drum- 
ing, or the whirr of its heavy flight, as it flew to 
some distant tree-top, scared by the cunning fox, 
and the squirrel chattering in the branches over- 
head, as it stored away nuts for winter. The bea- 
vers dammed the running stream, and in their 
ponds were reflected the huge pines, towering 
maples, and wide spread elms ; while in the shade 
with the owners swam undistubed the duck on 


those lone, silent waters. The bald peaks of Moose- 
hillock mountain looked down upon the hills and 
valleys around, and saw only one vast solitude, 
for centuries unbroken save by the stately tread 
of the Indian, as he moved about his encampment. 
Yes, here in these solitary wilds " lived and lov- 
ed another race of beings." Here, in these val- 
leys and upon these hills, were the hunting 
grounds of a once powerful tribe. Here they 
dwelt, and the uncultivated red man stood forth 
the lord of inanimate and irrational life. In 
the brooks and ponds they caught the speckled 
trout, and in our own river captured the golden 
salmon. Upon its shores the moose, the deer, the 
partridge, the rabbit were hunted ; and the bear, 
the wolf, the fox, the martin, the beaver, and the 
wild loupcerviere, with the rest were captured. 
The smoke of the fires by the wigwams curled 
up in beautiful wreaths among the foliage of the 
trees. The graceful wave of the rich growing 
maize, in their wild and uncleared fields, lent 
beauty to solitude. The wild, joyous feast, with 
its songs of festivity and mirth — the low, beau- 
tiful Indian songs of sorrow and affection, breathed 
in sweet unison with the voices of nature, the 
wild war-whoop — all tliese were here ; all that 
was sacred ; all that was dear ; all that the un- 
sophisticated Indian loved was here scattered in 
rich profusion. But they are gone — they have 


faded, like the mist of a sunlight morning, and 
now scarcely a vestige is to be fomid. 

" Alas for them — their day is o'er, 
Their fires are out from hill and shore ; 
'No more for them the wild deer hounds, 
The plow is on their hunting grounds ; 
The pale man's ax rings through the woods — 
The pale man's sail skims o'er their floods. 

Cold with the beast he slew he sleeps ; 
O'er him no filial spirit weeps ; 
No crowds throng round, no anthem notes ascend, 
To bless his coming and embalm his end ; 
Even that he lived is for his conqueror's tongue. 
By foes alone his death-song must be sung."* 

When the Europeans landed upon the shores 
of America, they found the country filled with 
numerous tribes of Indians. These roamed free, 
the lords of the soil which they owned in com- 
mon, and enjoyed their many pastimes, disturbed 
only by the few feuds that rose between them. 
Their wars were short and sanguine, and when 
one party was conquered, they were governed 
by the will of the conquerors. 

The Indians who inhabited New-Hampshire 
consisted principally of the Squamscot, Newich- 
anock, Penacook, Ossipee, Pequawket, Pemige- 
wasset, Coos, and several other tribes on the 
Connecticut river. 

The Squamscots and Newichanocks dwelt on 
the river Pascataqua and its tributaries; the 

* Charles Sprague. 



Penacooks on the Merrimack, having their head 
quarters at Amoskeag and Concord ; the Ossipees, 
around Ossipee pond ; the Pequawkets, on the 
Saco river ; the Pemigewassets, on the Pemige- 
wasset river, and around Winnipisseogee and 
Squam lakes ; the Coos, on the Connecticut and 
its tributaries, in the north part of the State. — 
These Indians did not differ in language, man- 
ners, or government, from many of the other 
Indians of the United States. They occupied 
no particular spot for a residence any great length 
of time, removing often to different portions of 
their hunting grounds, as the game became thin- 
ned around them. Their wigwams were made 
by planting a strong pole in the ground, and 
also many others in a circle around it. These 
were bent to the 6entre pole, fastened, and then 
covered with bark and mats, so as to render them 
dry and comfortable. Their beds were skins of 
animals and mats made of reeds. In appearance 
they were tall, strait, powerfully made, capable 
of enduring much fatigue and privation. They 
had black eyes, coarse black hair, high cheek 
bones, and teeth whiter than ivory. In dress 
there was but little difference between them. 
In summer they wore a short frock about their 
waist, and in winter enveloped themselves in the 
skins of beasts. Their moccasins were made of 
deer skins, and in winter they wore snow shoes, 


and with them could overtake the swiftest ani- 
mals. They were exceedingly fond of ornaments, 
and the sachems, on days of show and festivity, 
wore mantles of deer skins, embroidered with 
white beads or copper. For a sign of royalty 
the skin of a wild cat or a chain of fish bones 
was worn. The men at times were indolent, and 
their principal employments were hunting, fish- 
ing, fashioning their rude implements, building 
their canoes, and war. The women dressed the 
food, took charge of the domestic concerns, tilled 
the wild fields, and performed almost all the 
drudgery connected with their household affairs. 

In the use of the bow they manifested great 
skill, and even their children^ for whom they had 
a great fondness, were adepts in the arts. Their 
respect for the aged was also great. In fighting 
they divided themselves into small parties of four 
or five, and by attacking all quarters at once 
rendered themselves very formidable, by creating 
universal alarm. 

For utensils, they had hatchets of stone, a 
few shells and sharp stones, which they used for 
knives ; stone mortars and basins, made of free 
stone. Their food was of the coarsest and sim- 
plest kind; feasting at times when they had 
plenty, and fasting when provision was scarce. 
Flesh and fish they roasted on a stick, or broiled 
on the fire. In some instances they boiled their 



corn and meat by putting hot stones into water. 
Corn they parched, especially in the winter, and 
upon this they lived in the absence of other food. 

They were a religious people, and believed in 
the existence of two Gods ; the one good, who 
was the superior, and whom they styled the 
Great Spirit, and the other the evil. Both these 
they worshipped, and besides them many other 
deities, such as fire, water, thunder, — anything 
which they conceived superior to themselves, and 
capable of doing them injury. Of the creation 
and deluge they had distinct traditions. The In- 
dians of New-Hampsliire ascribed the summits of 
high mountains to be the residence of the Great 
Spirit, and consequently never ascended to the 
tops, thinking he would be angry, although they 
roved with impunity over their sides. 

At the time of the first discovery of New- 
Hampshire these several tribes, although governed 
each of them by a distinct sachem, yet they all 
owned subjection to a sovereign prince called 
Bashaba, whose residence was at Penobscot, Me. 
But shortly afterwards it was found that the Tar- 
ateens, who lived farther eastward, had invaded 
his country, surprised and slain him, and all his 
people in his neighborhood, and carried off his 
women, leaving no traces of his authority. Upon 
which the subordinate sachems, having no head 
to unite them, and each one striving for pre- 


eminence, made war among themselves, by which 
means many of their people and much of their 
provision were destroyed. 

In this struggle the Squamscots, Newichsan- 
ocks, and Pemigewassets, were conquered by the 
Penacooks, and acknowledged subjection to Pas- 
saconaway, their chief He excelled the other 
sachems in sagacity, duplicity and moderation, 
but his principal quahfication was his skill in 
some of the operations of nature, which gave 
him the reputation of a sorcerer, and extended 
his name and influence among all the neighbor- 
ing tribes. They believed that it was in his 
power to make water burn, trees dance, and 
metamorphose himself into q^ame ; that in win- 
ter he could raise a green leaf from the ashes of 
a dry one, and a living serpent from the skin of 
one that was dead. 

This sachem lived till the year 1760. Before 
his death, on one of the great festivals of the 
tribe, he in his farewell address told them to take 
heed how they quarreled with their English 
neighbors, for they might do them some damage, 
yet it would prove the means of their own de- 
struction. He told them that he had been a bit- 
ter enemy to the English, and by his acts of 
sorcery had tried his utmost to hinder their set- 
tlement and increase, but could by no means 
succeed. This caution, perhaps often repeated, 


had such an effect that in the breakmg out of 
the war, fifteen years after, Wonolanset, his son 
and successor, withdrew himself and his people 
into some remote place, that he might not be 
drawn into the quarrel. 

After the death of Passaconaway, the Pemige- 
wassets, whose sachem was Pehaungun, ceased 
to acknowledge subjection to the Penacooks ; 
and, having increased much in numbers, were 
now quite a powerful tribe. Their principal resi- 
dence was at the confluence of the Pemigewasset 
and Baker rivers, but different families of the 
tribe were scattered throughout their hunting 
grounds. For about fifty years they flourished, 
and were at peac^Avith the English and neigh- 
boring Indians. At the expiration of this time, 
or in the year 1703, Queen Anne's war broke out, 
when they joined with the other tribes in the 
contest. This war was continued till 1712, and 
■during the time the frontier of Maine, New- 
Hampshire and Massachusetts, was continually 
assailed by parties of Indians that came from all 
the tribes in these States, and the Arosagunta- 
cook* tribe, in Canada. Two years after the 
commencement of the war the Penacooks, Newich- 
sanocks, Squamscots, with several small tribes 
upon the coast of Maine, having lost a number 
of their warriors in their many skirmishes with 

* Commonlv called the St. Francis tribe. 


the English, were persuaded by the Governor of 
Canada to unite with the Arosaguntacooks. By 
this pohcy they became more firmly allied to the 
interests of the French, and were themselves 
better enabled to carry on the war. 

The Pemigewassets were now the frontier In- 
dians in New-Hampshire, and entered with much 
more spirit into the contest. One of the causes 
of their greater zeal was that they had seen 
their neighbors dispossessed of their hunting 
grounds, and they feared that some day they 
should share the same fate ; and so, while JMassa- 
chusetts and New-Hampshire were fighting with 
the eastern Indians, they continually hovered 
like a dark cloud with their small parties upon 
the almost defenceless frontiers, and by their bold 
depredations kept the inhabitants in an almost 
continual state of alarm. So greatly were the 
settlers annoyed that they raised a large com- 
pany and marched up the Merrimack to attack 
them. The fourth day from home, they discov- 
ered an Indian settlement a short distance from 
the river ; and after carefully reconoitering, and 
finding that the number of the Indians was less 
than their own, they advanced to the attack. 
The Indians did not discover the English until 
they were close upon them, when they were ac- 
cidently observed by a young warrior, who cried 
out, " Owanux, Owanux, Englishmen ! English- 


men !" This frightened the other Indians, who, 
rising up quickly, the English fired upon them 
and killed eight on the spot. The others imme- 
diately fled ; and the company, with considerable 
booty and the scalps of the Indians, returned 
home without the loss of a man. 

But the Pemigewassets immediately retaliated 
for this loss, and killed several persons at Dover 
and Kingston, besides taking a number of pris- 
oners, who were carried to Canada and sold to 
the French. Shortly after this a treaty was con- 
cluded between the French and English, and 
these border wars, which had been principally 
excited by the French, ceased. 

In 1722, New-Hampshire and Massachusetts 
became involved in a war with the eastern In- 
dians, and the Pemigewassets, contrary to their 
wishes, by some means were obliged to take a 
part. Shortly after its commencement two 
hundred and fifty men were sent to the shores 
of lake Winnipiseogee, to build a fort and cut 
out a road from that place to Dover ; but the 
expense so fiir exceeded the benefit which could 
be expected from a fort at such a distance in the 
wilderness, the design w^as laid aside, and the old 
method of defence by scouts and garrisons was 

Two years afterwards, the Pemigewassets, 
commanded bv Walternumus, their sachem, with 

baker's fight. 19 

the eastern and the Arosaguntacook Indians, who 
had kept up the war, made descents upon Dover, 
Durham, Kingston and Chester, and killed and 
captured a large number of settlers. In the fall 
of the year, Capt. John Lovewell, of Barnstable, 
with a company of thirty men, penetrated the 
country north of Lake Winnipissiogee. They 
discovered an Indian wigwam, in which was a 
man and boy. They killed and scalped the man, 
and brought the boy alive to Boston, where they 
received the reward promised by law, and a 
handsome gratuity besides. 

By this success his company was augmented 
to seventy. They marched again, and visiting 
the place where they had killed the Indian found 
the body as they had left it two months before. 
From this place they pursued an easterly course, 
and before returning home surprised and killed 
a party of ten Indians, who had encamped be- 
side a small frozen pond in the town of Wake- 
field. The ensuing season the Indians renewed 
the war with vigor, and the frontier settlers be- 
gan to act on the aggressive as well as defensive. 
Capt. Lovewell marched into the country of the 
Pequawkets, and with them fought one of the 
most fierce battles ever recorded in the annals 
of Indian warfare. 

Massachusetts also equipped a company of 
men, under the command of Capt. Baker, of 


Northampton, Mass., to march against the Pemi- 
gewassets. He left that place with thirty-four 
men, and proceeded up the Connecticut river as 
far as Haverhill, N. H. Here he crossed the 
height of land that divides the Connecticut from 
the waters of Baker river, and followed down 
this latter stream to its confluence with the Pe- 
migewasset. At this place he for the first time 
discovered traces of Indians, and sent forth 
scouts to reconnoitre. These cautiously advanc- 
ed to the river side, and opposite saw the pleas- 
ant village of the Pemigewassets. The wigwams 
were grouped in circles, and near by was grow- 
ing finely the fresh young Indian corn. The 
leaves of the trees, which were just beautifully 
expanding, gave out a pleasant fragrance on the 
air. The squaws were attending to their house- 
hold duties, while the children were sporting 
gleefully along the bank of the river. A greater 
portion of the warriors had gone out in pursuit 
of game, and those who were there little dreamed 
that the pale face was near, to hurl the leaden 
missile on its deadly errand. The scouts gazed 
upon this scene for a few moments, and then re- 
turned and reported their discovery. 

Baker, after a short consultation, now moved 
forward with his men with all possible circum- 
spection. No sound, not even the breaking of a 
twig or the crack of a gun-lock, warned the 

baker's fight. 21 

Pemigewassets of their impending fate. He 
chose his position, and at a given signal the com- 
pany opened a tremendous fire upon the Indians, 
which carried destruction through their camp, 
and was as sudden to them as a clap of thunder. 
Some shouted that the English were upon them, 
and that dreaded name echoed from mouth to 
mouth, filling all with dismay. Many of the 
children of the forest bit the dust in death, but 
those who survived ran to call in their hunters. 

Baker and his men immediately crossed the 
river in pursuit, but all who were able had gone. 
He fired their wigwams, and as the flames stream- 
ed upward, and the smoke rolled aloft on the air, 
a shout from the Indians echoed from hill to hill, 
and reverberated down that valley, informing 
Capt. Baker that the Indian warriors were col- 
lecting to give him battle. 

While the wigwams were being fired, part of 
the company were searching about for booty. 
They found a rich store of furs, deposited in 
holes dug in the bank, in the manner bank swal- 
lows dig to make their nests. Having obtained 
these, Capt. Baker ordered a retreat, knowing 
that the Indians would soon return, and he feared 
in too great numbers to be resisted by his single 
company. As they moved swiftly down the 
river, the sound of the wild war-whoop greeted 
their ears, which served to accellerate their speed. 


Often it was repeated, and each time grew nearer. 
When they had reached a poplar plain, in what 
is -now the town of Bridgewater, a shrill, mad- 
dened yell, and a volley of musketry in their 
rear, told Baker tliat the Indians were upon him, 
and he must immediately prepare for action. 
This they did by retreating to a more dense wood. 
The Indians, commanded by Walternumus, im- 
mediately pursued, and swarming on all sides 
poured vollies of musketry into the woods which 
concealed their enemies. On the other hand, 
the little party, concealing themselves behind 
rocks and trees, plied their muskets with heroic 
valor and much effect. Balls rattled in showers 
around, scattering twigs and branches of the 
trees in every direction. While the battle was 
going on, Walternumus accidently encountered 
Capt. Baker. They saw each other at the same 
time, and fired almost simultaneously. The ball 
of the sachem grazed the eyebroAv of Baker, 
while his ball passed through the Indian's breast, 
who, uttering a loud whoop, leaped high in air 
and fell a corpse. 

The Indians now, having lost their commander 
and a considerable number of men, retreated. 
Oapt. Baker immediately collected his men and 
again ordered a retreat, for he believed that the 
Indians, though repulsed, would soon, rally to 
tlie attack, and their nimibers constantly swell bv 

baker's fight. 28 

those who would jom them. On he went, allow- 
ing his men no refreshment after the battle. 
For many miles they travelled without food, 
until hunger oppressing them they declared that 
they might as well die by the red man's bullets, 
as by famine. Capt. Baker, now finding it use- 
less to try to proceed fa'rther, acquiesced for 
them to stop and satisfy their craving appetites. 
While building their fires to cook their food, a 
friendly Indian, who had acted as guide, proposed 
a stratagem by which the Indians would be de- 
ceived when they came up, in i»egard to their 
numbers. He told them each to build as many 
fires as they possibly could in a given time, and 
in roasting their meat to use several forks about 
the same piece ; then, after they were done, to 
leave an equal number around each fire. This 
they did, and after enjoying their hasty meal, 
again moved swiftly on. 

The Indian warriors, coming up shortly after, 
found the fires still burning ; they counted the 
number of forks, and b^ng alarmed at the sup- 
posed number of the English, they whooped a 
retreat, and Baker and his men were no more 
annoyed by them on their return. On the re- 
treat of the Indians, they visited their battle 
field and gazed with sorrow on the once prouci 
forms of their brothers. After burying them, 
they wended their way to their once to them 




beautiful village. The survivors through fear 
had not collected, and, as the warriors approach- 
ed, their hearts were filled with emotions far dif- 
ferent from those which but a few hours before 
possessed them. All was ruin — 

" No wigwam smoke is curling there, 
The very earth is scorched and bare ; 
And they pause and listen to catch a sound, 
Of breathing life, but there comes not one, 
Save the fox's bark and the rabbit's bound, 
And here and there on the black'ning ground, 
White bones are glistening in the sun." 

Here, too, tlie last sad offices were performed 
to departed nature. When done, they erected 
a few temporary wigwams, and gradually the 
fugitives who fled from the village when attacked, 
were collected. A few days later, the remainder 
of the tribe joined them, and after a long coun- 
cil it was decided to unite with the Arosagunta- 
cooks, as many other eastern tribes were doing. 
It was hard to leave their pleasant hunting 
grounds, but stern necessity compelled them, and 
in a few days those dear and sacred places were 
solitary and deserted. A few of the tribe re- 
mained about the shores and islands of Lake 
Winnipissiogee, and there dwelt a passive people 
until the settling of the towns around it. Thus 
^he country which was once possessed by a brave 
people, became a solitude, and for many years 
after was seldom visited, except by a few white 


hunters and straggling parties of Indians, on 
their way to the English settlements upon the 



But little thought was given to the settling of 
the northern section of New-Hampshire until 
1752. At this time the most northern settle- 
ment on the Merrimack river was Bakerstown, 
(now Salisbury and Franklin,) and upon the 
Connecticut there was none above Charlestown. 
During the season it was proposed to establish a 
fort and garrison at Haverhill and Newbury, and 
a party was sent up to view the country. But 
the Arosaguntacooks, hearing of the design, re- 
monstrated, and threatened war if the settlement 
was commenced. This threatening being com- 
municated to the governor of New-Hampshire, 
threw such discouragement on the project that 
it was laid aside. 

Early in the spring of this year, David Stin- 
son, John Stark, (afterwards Gen. John Stark,) 
Wilham Stark, and Amos Eastman, were hunting 
near a small pond, in the northeast corner of Rum- 


ney. Here tliey were surprised by a party of 
ten Indians, under the command of Francis Tit-_ 
agaw. John Stark and Amos Eastman were 
immediately taken prisoners and bound. Wil- 
liam Stark was upon the opposite side of the 
pond, and John Stark shouted to him to make 
his escape, which he did. Stinson, at the time 
of the seizure of young Stark and Eastman, 
leaped into a canoe, and pulled for the opposite 
shore. The Indians called for him to come back, 
but he heeded them not. This exasperated 
them, and they fired ujDon him. The balls rat- 
tled around him ; but, not taking effect, he still 
pulled resolutely on, when one, taking more sure 
aim than the rest, sent the fatal bullet on its 
mission. A shriek, a maddened leap upwards, 
and he that was David Stinson fell into the 
pond a corpse, and those clear crystal waters 
were stained with his blood. From this circum- 
stance it received the name of Stinson pond. 
John Stark received a severe beating for calling 
to his brother, after which he and Eastman were 
carried to the head quarters of the Arosagunta- 
cooks. Here they endured many cruelties, but 
were redeemed before autumn by Capt. Stevens, 
and on their return gave an account of the great 
goodness of the lands lying upon the upper 
waters of the Connecticut and Merrimack rivers. 
In the summer of 1754, by order of govern- 


ment, several companies were sent up to explore 
this section, and prepare for its speedy settle- 
ment. But the Indians again remonstrated, and 
the French War breaking out shortly afterwards, 
all efforts to discover new territory ceased ; for 
in those times each indi^ddual had as much as 
he could conveniently do to retain what he then 
had. In a few years this war was brought to a 
successful termination — the Indians were sub- 
dued and conquered, and the frontier settlers no 
longer feared the dreaded tomahawk and scalp- 
ing knife. 

During the war numerous bodies of troops 
had passed and repassed these vallies, and ad- 
mired the beauty and fertility of them, and now 
that peace was restored, eagerly sought them for 
the purpose of settlement and speculation. Gov. 
Wentworth and his council immediately caused 
a survey of the country on the Connecticut 
river to be made, and six ranges of townships to 
be laid out ; three on each side of the river. 
Applications for grants were made in rapid suc- 
cession, and the governor reaped a rich harvest 
by the fees which were paid him. Besides the 
fees and presents for these grants, which Avere 
imdefined, a reservation Avas made for the gov- 
ernor of five hundred acres in each township, and 
of lots for pubUc purposes. These reservations 
were clear of all fees and charges. * 


On the petition of John Page and' sixty-five 
others, the following charter of a tract of land 
lying in the second range of townships on the 
east side of Connecticut river, and upon the 
head waters of Baker river, was given them, 
viz : 


George the Third, ly the Grace of God, of Great 
Britain, France and Ireland, King, Defender of 
the Faith, &c. 

To all persons to whom these Presents shall 
come, greeting. — Know ye, that we, of our special 
grace, certain knowledge, and mere motion, for 
the due encouragement of settling a new plant- 
ation within our said province, by and with the 
advice of our trusty and well beloved Benning 
Wentworth, Esq., our governor and commander- 
in-chief of our said province of New-Hampshire in 
New-England, and of our council of the said prov- 
ince, have, upon the conditions and reservations 
hereinafter made, given and granted, and by these 
presents for us, our heirs and successors, do give 
and grant in equal shares unto our loving subjects, 
inhabitants of our said province of New-Hamp- 
shire, and our other governments, and to their heirs 
and assigns forever, whose names are entered 
on this grant, to be divided to and amongst them 


into seventy-two equal shares : all that tract or 
parcel of land, situate, lying and being within 
our said province of New-Hampshire, containing 
by admeasurement twenty-two thousand acres, 
which tract is to contain almost six miles square 
and no more ; out of which an allowance is to 
be made for highways and unimproved lands, by 
rocks, ponds, mountains and rivers, one thousand 
and forty acres free ; according to a plan and 
survey thereof, made by our said governor's 
order, and returned into the secretary's office, 
and hereunto annexed, butted and bounded as 
follows, viz. : Beginning at the north-westerly 
corner of Rumney, thence running north twenty- 
four degrees east, five miles and three quarters 
of a mile ; thence turning off and running north 
fifty-eight degrees west, six miles and one half 
mile, to the south-easterly corner of Haverhill ; 
thence south twenty degrees west five miles 
and three quarters of a mile, then turning off 
again, and runs south fifty-nine degrees east six 
miles, to the corner of Rumney begun at ; and 
that the same be and hereby is incorporated into 
a township by the name of Warren ; and the in- 
habitants that do or shall hereafter inhabit the 
said township, are hereby declared to be enfran- 
chised with, and entitled to, all and every privi- 
lege and immunities that other towns within 
our province by law exercise and enjoy ; and, 


further, that the said town, as soon as there shall 
be fifty families resident and settled thereon, 
shall have the liberty of holding two fairs, one 
of which shall be holden on the 
and the other on the annually ; 

which fairs are not to be continued longer than 
the respective following the said 

; and that as soon as the said town 
shall consist of fifty families, a market may be 
opened and kept one or more days in each week, 
as may be thought most advantageous to the 
inhabitants ; also, that the first meeting for the 
choice of town officers, agreeable to the laws of 
our said province, shall be held on the second 
Wednesday of February next, which said meet- 
ing shall be notified by John Page, Esq., who is 
hereby also appointed the moderator of the said 
first meeting, which he is to notify and govern, 
agreeable to the laws and customs of our said 
province ; and that the annual meeting forever 
hereafter, for the choice of such officers for the 
said town, shall be on the first Wednesday of 
March, annually : to have and to hold the said 
tract of land, as above expressed, together with 
all privileges and appurtenances, to them and 
their respective heirs and assigns forever, upon 
the following conditions, viz. : 

1st. That every grantee, his heirs or assigns, 
shall plant and cultivate five acres of land within 


the term of five years, for every fifty acres con- 
tained in his or their share or proportion of land in 
said township, and continue to improve and settle 
the same by additional cultivation, on penalty 
of the forfeiture of his grant or share in the said 
township, and of its reverting to us, our heirs 
and successors, to be by us or them re-granted 
to such of our subjects as shall effectually settle 
and cultivate the same. 

2d. That all white or other pine trees within 
the said township, fit for masting our royal navy, 
be carefully preserved for that use ; and none 
be cut or felled without our special licence for 
so doing, first had and obtained ; upon the pen- 
alty of the forfeiture of the right of such 
grantee, his heirs and assigns, to us, our heirs 
and successors, as well as being subject to the 
penalty of any act or acts of Parliament that 
now are or hereafter shall be enacted. 

3d. That before any division of the land be 
made to and among the grantees, a tract of land 
as near the centre of the said township as the 
land will admit of, shall be reserved and marked 
out for town lots, one of which shall be alloted 
to each grantee, of the contents of one acre. 

4th. Yielding and paying therefor, to us, our 
heirs and successors, for the space of ten years, 
to be computed from the date hereof, the rent 
of one ear of Indian corn only, on the twenty- 


fifth day of December annually, if lawfully de- 
manded ; the first payment to be made on the 
twenty-fifth day of December, 1763. 

5th. Every proprietor, settler or inhabitant, 
shall yield and pay unto us, our heirs and suc- 
cessors, yearly, and for every jeai forever, from 
and after the expiration of ten years after the 
abovesaid twenty-fifth day of December, namely, 
on the twenty-fifth day of December, which will 
be in. the year of our Lord 1773, one shilling, 
proclamation money, for every hundred acres he 
so owns, settles or possesses, and so in proportion 
for a greater or less tract of the said land, which 
money shall be paid by the respective persons 
abovesaid, their heirs or assigns, in our council 
chamber, in Portsmouth, or to such officer or 
officers as shall be appointed to receive the same, 
and this to be in lieu of all other rents and ser- 
vices whatever. 

In testimony whereof we have caused the 
seal of our said province to be hereunto affixed. 
Witness, Benning Wentworth, Esq., our governor 
and commander-in-chief of our said province, the 
14th day of July, in the year of our Lord Christ, 
one thousand seven hundred and sixty-three, 
and in the third year of our reign. 


By His Excellency's command, witli advice of Council. 
T. ATKINSON, jun., Secretary. 




Province of New-Hampshire, January 28tli, 1764. 
ed in the book of charters, No. 3, page 78, 79. 

T. ATKINSON, Jun., Secretary. 


John Page, Esq., 
Jona. Greely, Esq., 
James Graves, 
Joseph Blanchard, Esq.; 
Capt. John Hazen, 
Ephraim Brown, 
Joseph Whitcher, 
Reuben French, 
Samuel Osgood, 
Thomas True, 
David Clough, 
Daniel Page, 
Joseph Page, 
Belcher Dole, 
Reuben True, 
Stephen Webster, 
John Darling, 
Capt. John Parker, 
Jona. Greely, 
Enoch Chase, 
Lemuel Stevens, 
Abel Davis, 
Capt. George Marsh, 

Ebenezer Morrill, 
Trueworthy Ladd, 
William Whitcher, 
,Ebenezer Collins, 
Ebenezer Page, 
Samuel Page, 
Moses Page, 
John Page, jun., 
Ephraim Page, 
Enoch Page, 
Benj. French, jun., 
Aaron Clough, jun., 
Silas Newel, 
David Morrill, 
Nathaniel Currier, 
Benj. Clough, 
Henry Morrill, 
Jacob Hook, Esq., 
Josiah Bartlett, 
Peter Coffin, jun., 
William Parker, jr. Esq, 
Ebenezer Stevens, Esq., 
Dier Hook, 

Philip Tilton, 

Nathaniel Fifield, 

Andrew Greely, 

Jacob Currier, 

Samuel Dudley, 

Joseph Tilton, 

Francis Batchelder, 

Joseph Greely, 

John Batchelder, 

Jacob Gale, 

Abraham Morrill, 

Jeremy Webster, 

The Hon. Theodore At- 
kinson, jun., 

Nathaniel Barrel, 

Samuel Graves, 

John Marsh, 

Moses Greely, of Salis- 

Andrew Wiggin, Esq., 

James Nevins, Esq., 

Capt. Thomas Pierce. 

His Excellency Benning "Wentworth, a tract of 
land, to contain five hundred acres, as marked 
B. W. on the plan, which is to be accounted two 
of the within shares. One whole share for the 
incorporated society for the propagation of the 
gospel in foreign parts. One share for a glebe 
for the church of England, as by law established. 
One share for the first settled minister, and one 


share for the benefit of a school in said town 

Province of New-Hampshire, Jan. 28th, 1764. 

Recorded in the book of charters, No. 3, page 
80. T. ATKINSON, Jun., Secretary. 

At the first meeting of the proprietors, holden 
at the inn of Col. Jonathan Greely, in Kingston, 
N. H., agreeable to a provision of the charter for 
the same, Jeremy Webster was chosen clerk; 
Jeremy Webster, Col. Jonathan Greely and 
Lieut. James Graves were chosen Selectmen. 
After transacting some other business of minor 
importance, the meeting was adjourned without 
taking any measures for the settlement of the 
town. But another meeting was immediately 
called, and was holden at the same place, on the 
seventh of March, 1764, and a committee cho- 
sen, consisting of John Page, Esq., Lieut. James 
Graves, Col. Jonathan Greely, Capt. John Hazen, 
and Capt. Stephen Webster, to run the line 
round about the township. 

A part of this committee came to Warren in 
the year 1764 or 1765, and fulfilled the duty for 
which they were chosen. At that time they 
came into a dense wilderness. There was no 
road, and above Plymouth not even as much as 
a spotted line of trees for them to follow. They 
carried their provision upon their backs, in knap- 
sacks, and when night came on kindled a fire 


and laid down beside it to sleep, with nothing for 
a covering but the blue firmament, out of which 
shone the rays of the twinkling stars and the 
pale light of the moon. If it happened to rain, 
each peeled the bark from some large spruce or 
hemlock, and enveloping themselves with it, laid 
down upon some dry knoll, where, the water 
would more easily run off. -| -^ "^^JiQO/'/C 

They found the north-west corner 6^ Rumney, 
and commenced and marked the trees in course 
about the whole town. While doing this, and 
when they were on the south line, they took oc- 
casion to ]3ass up the river and view the land, 
after which they finished the line, and returned 
to their homes in Kingston. For their services, 
Jeremy Webster, Col. Jonathan Greely and John 
Page, received, by a vote of the proprietors, at a 
meeting held in October, 1765, at the inn of Col. 
Jonathan Greely, the sum of sixty-four dollars. 
At the same meeting, Col. Ebenezer Stevens, Col. 
Jonathan Greely, Jacob Hook, Esq., Samuel Page, 
Joshua Page, jun., John Page, Esq., and Capt. 
Ephraim Brown, were chosen a committee to see 
to clearing a public road through the town. This 
committee proceeded to the business for which 
they were chosen, but did not finish it ; conse- 
quently the proprietors, at an after meeting, 
chose another committee to finish the clearing of 
the road. Before this committee had commenced 


their operations, which was in the spring of 1767, 
the first settler of Warren took up his residence 
in town. 

Mr. Joseph Patch, from HoUis, N. H., a young 
man of strong constitution, and almost passion- 
ately fond of the solitary wilds of the wilderness, 
had several times traversed this section of the 
country in hunting excursions. In this vicinity 
to a greater extent than in many others, moose, 
deer, and other game abounded in the recesses 
of the heavy forest growth, while the rapid, 
gliding mountain streams were filled with the 
speckled trout and golden salmon. This, and 
the fineness of the land, induced him to lo- 
cate his residence in the valley of Baker river, 
near the foot of Carr and Moosehillock moun- 
tains. He chose the land now owned by Mr. 
William Clough, and built his cabin near Mr. 
Clough's house, upon the opposite side of. the 
road, near the bank of Hurricane brook. The 
place where he dug his cellar, the old pine stump 
on which he built his stone oven, and the first 
apple tree which he planted, are still to be seen. 

If we will go back eighty-seven years, if we 
wish we shall see him an inhabitant of one of 
those rude cabins that were then thinly scat- 
tered through the wilderness. We observe him 
felling the forest, or tilling the soil which had 
never been touched by white hands before. 

MR. MILLS. 37 

There will be found around his cabin unbroken 
silence, save when the stroke of the axe awakens 
the echo, or the howl of the wolf disturbs the 
dull ear of midnight. Weeks come and go, and 
no one is here for a companion, save when a few 
solitary individuals, passing by on their journey 
to other settlements, or the committee for clear- 
ing the road, are in town. Winter comes, but 
still we find him alone, with nothing to break 
the dull, monotonous solitude, but the excitement 
of the chase, when he hunts the heavy moose 
and nimble deer. But spring comes at last, 
bringing i^ beautiful flowers and fresh green 
leaves, and also cheering neighbors. 

The proprietors this spring voted to give to 
each individual who should settle in town prior 
to October 1st, 1768, fifty acres of land and six 
pounds in money, or one hundred acres of land 
without the money. The proprietors also chose 
another committee to finish clearing the road. 
This committee was also to lay out twenty-five 
lots of land, in such places as they thought proper, 
and that each family who should settle agreeable 
to the said proposition should have one of the 
lots ; that the first settler take the first choice, 
and so each in their order. 

These ofiers had the desired effect to induce 
individuals to settle the town. Before this, the 
proprietors had offered little or no inducement 


for settlement ; and, consequently, as other pro- 
prietors had been much more liberal to first set- 
tlers, this town was not in so forward a state of 
settlement as others around, and the reason of 
the proprietors offering the above bounties was 
that they were in danger of forfeiting their char- 
ter by not fulfilling the requirements of the same. 

The first settlers in the spring of 1768 were 
Mr. Mills and his family, from Portsmouth, N. H. 
They traveled on horseback, as did all the first 
settlers, and in this way transported their house- 
hold effects, of which it may be imagined there 
was no inconsiderable variety and quantity. In- 
deed, the state of the roads would admit of no 
other mode of conveyance, for they were noth- 
ing more than marked ways, with the fallen 
trunks of trees chopped off and rolled from the 

Mr. Mills, having the first choice of the lots of 
land laid out by the committee, chose the second 
one north of the lot where Mr. Patch located 
himself, and which is now owned by Mr. Augustus 
K. Eaton. He built his cabin a few rods north 
of the dwelling where Mr. Eaton now resides. 
It was a frail habitation, but it served for a shel- 
ter during the summer. Upon one side he built 
a stone fire-place, and a chimney of small sticks 
and mud. As he could bring no very heavy 
articles of household furniture, he was under the 


necessity of constructing a few. He made a 
table by splitting a large ash tree into several 
thin pieces, smoothing them with an axe, and 
then pinned them, side by side, to two other 
pieces, which ran in an opposite direction in the 
form of cleats. This he fastened to one side of 
the cabin, supporting it with small posts driven 
into the gromid. But he had a more novel mode 
of making chairs, and it was generally practiced 
by the first settlers. The top of a spruce or fir 
tree was procured, upon which several limbs 
were growing ; this was split through the middle, 
the" limbs cut ofi" the proper length, and after 
smoothing to suit the fancy, the chair was com- 
pleted. These were durable chairs, and the in- 
stances were rare in which it became necessary 
to send them to the cabinet-maker for repairs, 
especially to have their legs glued in. Bedsteads 
were made by boring two holes into the walls of 
the cabin, about four feet apart. In these were 
driven two sapling poles, the other ends of which 
were supported by posts. For cords, elm bark 
was used. All the other household utensils which 
they needed were made in the same rough man- 

After finishing his rough cabin, he immediately 
commenced to clear the land around. Upon the 
brook now known as Patch brook, which runs 
through the place, was a meadow of considerable 


size, formed by the beavers flowing it for a pond. 
Here a large quantity of grass grew wild, and 
he improved his opportmiity of harvesting it for 
use the ensuing winter. Several other individ- 
uals came into town and settled during the season. 

Mr. John Aiken settled upon the place now 
occupied by George Bixby ; he built his cabin 
east from the railroad depots. Mr. Aiken lived 
upon the place until 1776, when it was proved 
that he had not a good title to his land, and be- 
ing dispossessed of it, he moved to Wentworth. 

Joshua Copp, Esq., from Hampstead, commenc- 
ed on the M. P. Merrill place, and built his cabin 
on the old Coos road. This was the road laid out 
by the committee chosen by the proprietors in 
1767. From the south line of the town it kept 
upon the west bank of Baker river till it arrived 
at the mouth of Black brook. Crossing this 
stream it followed along upon its east bank, keep- 
ing upon the ridge of land to the spot where 
the depot is now located. At this place it passed 
down the steep bank, traversed the land now 
occupied as the bed of a pond, and when it 
arrived where the bridge now spans the water, 
south of Mr. Stephen Lund's, it again crossed 
the stream and kept upon the west bank until it 
arrived nearly opposite where Esq. Weeks now 
resides. Here it crossed Bowl's brook, a branch 
of Black brook, and proceeded some distance to 


the eastward of the old Coos turnpike, before 
wmding up the hill long known as the Height of 

At the time of Mr. Copp's settlement the in- 
terval, upon which are now located those three 
beautiful farms, owned respectively by James M. 
Williams, E. R. Weeks, Esq., and Col. Charles 
Lane, was one large meadow, formed by the 
beavers. Here, in some places, where it had not 
grown up to alders, the grass grew spontaneously 
and in great abundance, and Mr. Copp cut and 
stacked a large quantity, and with his neighbors 
drew it away upon hand-sleds the ensuing win- 

Mr. Ephraim True settled upon the place 
where Mr. Ira Libbey now lives, and erected his 
cabin a short distance from Mr. Aiken's. 

The first settlers suffered much for the want 
of roads, bridges and mills. They had to go to 
Haverhill and Plymouth for their provision, and 
not unfrequently would travel to Haverhill and 
bring home upon their backs a bushel to a bushel 
and a half of meal, for the road at that time was 
almost impassable for a horse. The ensuing 
spring two settlers moved into town. 

John Whitcher settled on the place where 
John Whitcher now lives. He was born in Salis- 
bury, June 19, 1749, and married Sarah Marston. 

John Morrill commenced on the place now 


owned by Mr. Otinatus Simpson, of Wentworth. 
In a few years he sold his place to Mr. Joseph 
Kimball, and commenced upon another in a dif- 
ferent portion of the town. 

For the erection of a saw-mill to supply the 
inhabitants with boards, the proprietors the pres- 
ent year paid Mr. Joshua Copp a bounty of thirty 
pounds. The mill was built upon the stream 
known as Black brook, and was situated about 
one third of a mile below Esq. Copp's house, on 
the road that leads from Mr. Ezra W. Keyes' to 
Mr. Stephen Lund's, and was the only saw-mill 
in town for many years. 

Here the first settlers hauled their timber, 
which was very plenty, and considered by them 
of very little value, and soon, instead of their 
rude log cabins, which were almost akin to the 
wild Indians' wigwams, they had comfortable 
dwelling houses for those times. Of these we 
have a few remaining amongst us, silent moni- 
tors of the past. One of these stands just at 
the foot of that steep hill known as the Blue 
Ridge, and is probably the oldest framed dwell- 
ing house in town. This was the dwelling built 
and occupied by Mr. Joshua Copp, and formerly 
stood a quarter of a mile west of its present 
location, near the spot where he first erected his 
humble cabin. The first and the oldest framed 
building in town stands near the house occupied 


by Mr. Joseph Homan, and is used by him as a 
barn. It was erected by Mr. Joseph Patch, upon 
the place now occupied by Jonathan M. Eaton, 
and near the place where he first settled. 

This year the proprietors petitioned Gov. 
Wentworth for a new charter, as, according to 
the conditions of the one they now had, they had 
incurred the penalty of a forfeiture. 

In 1770 Gov. Wentworth, after being well paid 
by the proprietors, granted them another ; they, 
the proprietors, having set forth that in the sur- 
veying and plotting the said township a mistake 
was made which deprived them of a considerable 
part of the land granted, by its interfering with 
other grants ; and they also representing the dif- 
ficulties they had encountered in cutting the 
roads for the transportation of provisions and 
other necessaries for its settlement and cultiva- 
tion. The new charter contained the same con- 
ditions, reservations and duties as expressed in 
the original charter, and the penalty of forfeiture 
which the grantees had incurred, was suspended, 
and they had four more years from the date of 
the second charter to fulfil their contracts in rela- 
tion to the -settlement of the town. 

After receiving the new charter, the proprie- 
tors, at their subsequent meetings, evinced a 
much more liberal spirit toward new settlers; 
indeed, it was for their interest thus to do, that 


they might not incur the penalty of another 
forfeiture. Therefore, until the breaking out of 
the Revolutionary War the settlements were 
more rapid than for several years after. 

During the four succeeding years quite a 
number of young men came and made begin- 
nings, without forming any permanent settle- 
ment. These were sent by the proprietors, that 
they might fulfil their obligations in relation to 
the charter. 

In the year 1772 Col. Obadiah Clement came 
from Sandown to Warren, and settled on the 
farm of James M. WilUams. Col. Clement was 
born in Kingston, N. H., Feb. 19, 1743, and mar- 
ried Sarah Batchelder, who was born at Hamp- 
ton, June 30, 1747. He built his house some 
distance to the eastward of Mr. Williams' build- 
ings ; and as there was considerable meadow on 
his place, which he had bought of Col. Jonathan 
Greely previous to his coming to Warren, he had 
no difficulty in procuring hay enough to keep 
his considerable stock of cattle which he drove 
up. A few years after Col. Clement's settlement, 
as he was ploughing a piece of land a short dis- 
tance from his house, which he had before no- 
ticed gave every indication of having many 
years previous been burnt over, he turned up 
several relicts of Indians. A greater portion of 
the farms which lie in this valley it is believed 


once composed the bed of a natural pond, and 
here on its shores it is supposed the Indians had 
an encampment. Through this valley also laid 
one of the great routes of the Indians from the 
Connecticut to Baker river valley.* 

During the year 1773 Jonathan Clement, a 
brother to Obadiah Clement, moved upon the 
place where Enoch R. Weeks now resides. He 
had the previous year accompanied his brother 
to Warren, and made commencements upon the 
place. Reuben Clement, another brother, also 
came to Warren this year, and for some time re- 
sided with his brothers. 

Simeon Smith settled on the place now owned 
by Rawson Clifford, of Wentworth. Warren, his 
son, it is claimed was the first white child born 
in Warren, and was named for the town ; but it 
is said on good authority that a daughter of 
Joshua Copp was the first. If this is the case, 
he was the first male, and perhaps the first child, 
as it is said there were but a few days between 
their births. 

* There are also many other indications which prove that the Indians 
once resided in Warren. On the farm first settled by Mr. Samuel 
Knight were plowed up quite a number of arrow heads, stone gouges, 
&c. Arrow heads have also been found by Mr. Moses Kimball, and by 
Mr. James Dow. Mr. Nathaniel Merrill, 2d, recently found in his 
field a portion of a curious stone bowl, which gives every indication of 
having been of Indian manufacture. What there is left of it shows that 
when entii'e it must have been at least eight inches in length, five inches 
in breadth, and four inches in depth. Upon each end are small ridges, 
evidently designed to assist in holding it more firmly in the hand. 


Ephraim Lund came about this time and made 
a settlement near Tarlton pond. 

Shortly afterward, a little south of Mr. Lund, 
Thomas Clark and Isaiah Batchelder began settle- 
ments. These last named individuals received 
their land from Philip White, one of the propri- 

Chase Whitcher, from Salisbury, commenced 
in the north part of the town, on the place now 
occupied by James Harriman, and for many 
years was the only family in this part of War- 
ren. In the year 1779 he was married to Han- 
nah Merrill. His nearest neighbor was Mr. Obar 
diah Eastman, who about this time settled in 
the south part of Benton. Shortly after Mr. 
Eastman's settlement he ascended to the top of 
Owl-head Mountain, being the first white man 
who ever stood upon its summit. This moun- 
tain has always been celebrated for the great 
quantities of blueberries which annually grow 
upon it, and as it was the season for them to be 
ripe, Mr. Eastman beheld an abundance of deli- 
cious fruit around him. Not willing to return 
home without taking a quantity of it with him, 
he began to think of what kind of a basket he 
should have to carry it in. His first thought 
was to construct a birchen bucket, but, upon 
putting his hand in his pocket for his knife, he 
found that he had not taken that useful article 


with him. Here was a dilemma ; but necessity 
was the mother of an invention in this case as 
well as in many others. After thinking for a 
few moments, he deliberately took of his leather 
breeches which he had on, and tying up the 
extremities, went to work, and in a short time 
filled them with berries. Then carefully placing 
them upon his shoulders, he descended the moun- 
tain, passing through^the thick woods which 
covers its sides, and at last, after receiving not a 
few scratches, arrived at home. 

William Heath lived in this town about this 
time, but had no particular place of residence. 

Mr. Stevens Merrill and his son Jonathan, with 
their families, moved into town in 1775. They 
were from Plaistow, and lived for a short time 
with Mr. Joseph Patch, who, two years before, 
had married a daughter of Mr. Merrill. Shortly 
afterwards they moved upon the place where 
Mr. Samuel Bixby now lives. 

Joshua Merrill was born in Newbury, Mass., 
and came to Warren in 1775. He settled on the 
place now occupied by Mr. Stephen Lund, where 
he lived till about the year 1810, when, with his 
only son, Joshua Merrill, jun., he moved to the 
west. But he soon returned, and having lost 
his wife, lived with one of his daughters in Bos- 
ton, where he died in 1839 or 1840, aged one 
hundred years. 


Capt. William Butler, from Brentwood, came 
into town in 1775, and took up his residence 
with Mr. Mills. Shortly after, Mr. Mills was ac- 
cidentally killed while felling trees, and Capt. 
Butler having married one of his daughters, 
bought out the heirs and continued to live on 
the place. A short time afterward he commenc- 
ed to build a grist-mill upon Baker river, almost 
directly in front of his house, and a little below 
the spot where the large railroad bridge now 
spans its waters. For so doing he afterwards re- 
ceived quite a bounty from the proprietors. 
Here the first settlers brought their grains, first 
products of a virgin soil, and listened, as they 
waited for their grists, to the music of the water 
wheels, combined with the buzz of rude mill- 
stones. Around was the old forest wood, scarce 
undisturbed, and in its depths the gay birds ca- 
roled forth their beautiful songs ; or in winter, 
when heavy snows were upon the ground, the 
shrill wind piped its music through the now leaf- 
less branches. But years rolled on and the old 
mill fell to decay, and now scarce a vestige of it 
is to be seen. The school boy who goes to swim 
in what was once the pond, wonders for what 
purpose those old timbers which he sees in the 
water were there placed. 

About this time commenced the American 
Revolution. The policy of Great Britain tow- 


ards this country for many years previous was 
in every way tyrannical and oppressive, and well 
calculated to call into action the efforts of every 
friend of liberty ; and a people in whose very 
natures were born the principles of freedom 
were not long in rising to repel these oppressive 
acts of injustice. 

" True hearted volunteers rallied to the calls 
of the brave and wise men of our country, im- 
bued with a spirit worthy of the little band 
which defended the pass of Thermopylae. They 
fought and conquered, and their declining years 
were cheered with the knowledge that the coun- 
try, for which they had struggled so long and 
fearfully, was prosperous and happy, and that 
their deeds were gratefully remembered." 

The citizens of Warren were not behind those 
of other towns in points of patriotism, consid- 
ering their numbers and ability. Many individ- 
uals bravely left their homes and rallied around 
the American standard, determining to fight for 
their country's cause rather than bow to despotic 
oppression. The town, though then unorganiz- 
ed, raised men and paid them for serving in sev- 
eral campaigns. 

When Burgoyne, with his army invaded Ver- 
mont and New York, that General purposely 
sent out several companies of soldiers, with 
papers upon them, purporting that three detach- 


ments of soldiers and tories were to be sent to 
the Connecticut river valley : one to Newbury, 
one to Royalton, and one to Cliarlestown, N. H. 
One of these parties was captured by a company 
of Americans and brought to Cliarlestown, and 
the papers found upon them. The news spread 
through the country with great rapidity, and filled 
the people with consternation. They immedi- 
ately left their homes with such light articles 
as they could carry, and driving their cattle be- 
fore them fled into the back towns. Many who 
lived at Haverhill and Newbury came to Warren, 
and for the short time they were here, were gen- 
erously provided for by the inhabitants. At that 
time Col. Obadiah Clement kept a tavern, and 
as it was a convenient place of accommodation, 
many went to his house. In the hurry and ex- 
citement of those times we cannot reasonably 
expect that they were burdened with funds, and 
consequently many were unable to pay Col. 
Clement. But he sustained them gratuitously, 
remarking, " I had much rather give my prop- 
erty to my fellow countrymen, than be forced 
to pay any part of it to king George or his 
imps." But the sending of these companies to 
the Connecticut valley was only a stratagem 
of Burgoyne, to divert the Americans from his 
army, but it returned upon his own head with a 
vengeance; for the people were aroused by it. 


and they flocked to the standard of General 
Stark in scores, wisely concluding that it was 
best to attack him at his head quarters, rather 
than he should send his soldiers abroad to devas- 
tate the surrounding country. 

Immediately after the return of their Haver- 
hill and Newbury friends to their homes, Joshua 
Copp, Esq., Reuben Clement and Joseph Whitch- 
er, left Warren and joined the forces of Gen. 
Stark, and fought under him at the battle of 
Bennington, where this brave* New-Hampshire 
son, though acting independently of Congress, 
rendered such efficient service to his country, 
and, as said by eminent historians, " turned the 
fortune of war." 




In the year 1779 the General Court of New- 
Hampshire passed an act, that whereas the towns 
of Warren, Wentworth, Bath and Canaan, owing 
to their unsettled state, had not paid their due 
proportion of State and Continental taxes, the 
State Treasurer issue his warrant against them, 
and collect their due proportion of taxes for the 
years 1777, 1778 and 1779 5 and it was further 
enacted, that as the towns of Warren and Wentr 
worth had not their necessary officers, Samuel 
Emerson, of Plymouth, N. H., be authorized to 
call meetings in the towns of Warren and Went- 

Pursuant to the conditions of this act, the in- 
habitants of the town of Warren were notified 
to meet at the house of Obadiah Clement, on 
Thursday, the twenty-eighth day of July, 1779. 
At this, the first meeting of the inhabitants of 
Warren under the new State organization, Joshua 
Copp, Esq., was chosen moderator, Obadiah Clem- 
ent town-clerk, and then adjourned to meet 
the twelfth day of August at the same place. 

At the adjourned meeting, Obadiah Clement, 
Joshua Copp, Esq., and Israel Stevens were 


chosen selectmen for the present year. Simeon 
Smith, constable, William Butler, Reuben Clem- 
ent and Thomas Clark, surveyors of highways. 

At a meeting, warned by the selectmen and 
holden on the twenty-eighth day of August, chose 
Gardner Dustin moderator, and then voted to 
raise one hundred and fifty pounds, to lay out 
on highways, and one hundred pounds to defray 
town charges the present year. 

In the month of February, 1780, Obadiah 
Clement received a commission, appointing him 
captain of the ninth company of the twelfth 
regiment of militia, at that time commanded by 
Col. Israel Morey. By it he was required to 
hold himself in readiness to answer to all calls 
of the Committee of Safety, or any superior 
officer, according to military usage and discipline. 

This commission was given by an order of the 
Council, then in session at Exeter, and signed by 
the Hon. Meshech Weare, the first President or 
Governor of New-Hampshire. For an individ- 
ual to hold a captain's commission in those times 
was a high honor, and there was no greater day 
with the first settlers than that when they met 
to perform military duty. For uniforms, good 
woolen frocks and strong tow trowsers were more 
numerous than any others. For arms to use on 
such occasions they had blunderbusses, which 
looked as though they had done service in the 


days of old Noll ; ancient and marvelously 
wrought fowling pieces, and muskets taken from 
the French. The sound of the drum and the 
shrill notes of the fife would take away the 
stooping position caused by hard labor, and a 
martial, dignified air was the result of that 
music, as its strains echoed over the forest from 
hill to hill. The first training took place on the 
farm of Joshua Copp, Esq. This farm had been 
cultivated nearly as long as any in town, and 
consequently, in respect to stumps and logs as 
obstructions, would be more free than those 
cleared at a subsequent date. 

This year it was voted to raise one hundred 
and fifty pounds to defray town charges, and 
seven hundred and fifty pounds to be laid out on 
highways at nine pounds per day. This was con- 
tinental currency, and for many causes had de- 
preciated to its present value. Some of the 
causes were that the British government used 
every exertion to get public opinion to run in a 
channel against it, and it was also extensively 
counterfeited. Thus were the finances of our 
government in a measure almost ruined. 

On the 10th of July, 1780, a meeting of the 
inhabitants was called. When assembled they 
"voted to raise soldiers to serve in the war at 
the present time." 

Joshua Copp, Esq., and Obadiah Clement were 


chosen a comniittee to procure the same for the 
town, and also " Voted, to exempt those who had 
done turns in the war until others had done turns 
equalhng them." Thus did the hardy and patri- 
otic inhabitants of Warren, like the rest of their 
countrymen, although poor and still in their in- 
fancy, raise soldiers and pay them for serving in 
the war which they deemed just and right to be 
carried on. It* was also voted at the same meet- 
ing to pay the soldiers who served in the militia 
belonging to the town, the same amount when 
they were called up, that the soldiers hired by 
the town receive. 

The number of legal voters in town this year 
was twenty-five.* 

Early the ensuing year the selectmen were 
empowered to hire one more man to serve in 
the continental army during the war, or for 
three years. The individual that the selectmen 
hired at this time was Charles Bowls, a young 
minister of the Baptist persuasion, who had re- 

* Na)nes of the Legal Voters of WaiTenfor the year 1780. 

William Butler, Daniel Clark, Joshua Merrill, 

Isaiah Batchelder, Ephraim Lund, Simeon Smith, 

Thomas Clark, Joseph Lund, Ephraim True, 

Joshua Copp, John Mon-ill, Moses True, 

Obadiah Clement, Stevens Merrill, Chase Whitcher, 

Jonathan Clement, Jonathan Merrill, Reuben Whitcher, 

Reuben Clement, John Marston, John Whitcher. 

Gardner Dustin, Nathaniel Niles, 

Joseph Kimball, Joseph Patch, 


cently moved into town and commenced upon 
the place now owned by Mr. Chase Marston; 
and after the war was over he came back and 
resided there many years. Mr. Bowls, though a 
minister of the gospel, and an advocate of peace, 
was a high whig, and ardently espoused the 
cause of freedom, and used his influence to in- 
crease the band of patriots; and when there 
were none at home who could conveniently 
leave their families, he, being then a young, un- 
married man, shouldered a musket and joined 
those who were enduring every privation and 
toil for their country's cause. 

About this time a convention was held at 
Charlestown, N. H., and Obadiah Clement was 
chosen to attend it. The town also chose ;Joshua 
Copp, Esq., William Butler, John Whitcher, 
Thomas Clark and Josiah Batchelder a commit- 
tee to give him instruction in relation to the 
course which he should pursue at the conven- 

* At the regular meeting for the choice of town 
officers the present year, a committee was chosen, 
consisting of Joshua Copp, Esq., and Col. Obadi- 
ah Clement, to provide a stock of provision for 
the town, to be dealt out in case of alarm ; the 

* The new settlers in the year 1781 were 
Peter Stevens, Joseph French, William Whiteman, 

Jonathan Foster, William Tarlton, Charles Bowls, 

Henry Sunbury, Amos Heath, John Hinkson. 


stock of provision to consist of two hundred 
pounds of flour and two hundred pounds of beef. 
The reason for this was, not but what every man 
had provision enough, but they had apprehen- 
sions that their friends in the towns north might 
be obhged to pay them a visit. 

Vermont, at the time of the Revolution, al- 
though she acted a conspicuous part, and her 
sons by their heroic deeds and whole-souled pat- 
riotism gained their distinctive appellation. The 
Green Mountain Boys ; a title which their descend- 
ants are proud to bear to this day, was not ac- 
knowle.dged as an independent State by Congress ; 
and although she asked admittance. Congress did 
not dare to grant it, for the States of New-Hamp- 
shire, New York and Massachusetts, each had 
conflicting claims to the territory ; and it was be- 
lieved by Congress that it would not be policy 
to decide in favor of either. The British gov- 
ernment were well aware of this fact, and of the 
excited state of feeling in Vermont in regard 
to it, and they entertained strong hopes that they 
should detach her from the common cause and 
bring her to espouse the interests of the mother 
country. For this purpose they employed indi- 
viduals to travel in every town, to influence 
public opinion in their favor. To do this they 
promised the most liberal rewards to all who 

would favor them, and threatening with ven- 


geance all who should favor the interests of the 
country. Many would listen to these proposals, 
but Vermont had her true men in every settle- 
ment, and these were particular objects of hatred 
to those tories whom the British government 
generally employed for this work. To secure 
these, burn their dwellings and carry their pris- 
oners to Canada, that they might be rid of their 
influence, was the object of many expeditions 
of the tories into the grants. 

The towns of Haverhill and Newbury suf- 
fered much by these expeditions, but Newbury 
to a far greater extent than Haverhill. There 
were many individuals in these towns whom the 
tories were desirous of taking, and the people 
were every day in danger of an attack. This 
being known by the citizens of Warren, that they 
might not be without the necessary means for 
rendering assistance provided it was wanted, pro- 
cured the above stores. 

In the year 1783, Obadiah Clement was chosen 
to represent, in the General Court to be holden 
at Exeter in 1784, the towns of "Warren, Went- 
worth and Coventry, (now Benton.) This was 
the first representative who went from Warren, 
but the town had been represented before, but as 
it was classed with other towns the representation 
was previously from them. Mr. Clement, of 
whom we have several times before spoken, was 


a young man of much ability, but never had the 
advantages of a Hberal education, having attend- 
ed school but two days in his life -, notwithstand- 
ing, he was a well informed man for those times, 
and could write a very legible hand, and was ca- 
pable of doing any town business. Thus we find 
him during; the first org-anization of the town 
taking the le^d in its affairs. 

* The town previous to this time had done 
nothing for the support of public schools, but 
there had been many private ones patronized by 
individuals, and they in this way had done as 
milch for educating their children as other towns 
around them. But this year they commenced 
those public schools of which we have enjoyed 
so many privileges, and to which New England 
people principally owe their standing in the 
world. There was no school house in Warren at 
this time ; and the first public school was taught 
in a barn owned by Mr. Stevens Merrill, by Miss 
Abigail Arling. For her services she received 
the sum of three pounds. Here, for three months 
during the summer, the young lads and lasses 
studied their Psalter and Primer, (the only books 
used at that time,) in a building without windows. 
When it was a sunny day the light of a beauti- 
ful gold color streamed through the many crev- 

* The new settlers in the year 1782 loere 
Jonathan Harbord, Moses Noyes, Henry Shaw, 

Nicholas Whiteman, Gordon Hutchins, Barnabas Holmes. 


ices, reflecting in its rays the myriads of particles 
ever floating in the air. If it was cloudy, the 
big barn doors were thrown wide open, that they 
might better see to learn the lessons assigned 
them. For seats they had rough boards, placed 
upon blocks, and their tables were of the same 
materials. In the roof the merry swallows, as 
they built their nests and fed their young, twit- 
tered with a joyous happiness. The followmg 
winter there was a private school kept in Mr. 
Merrill's house. 

Up to this time all records belonging to the 
town had been^kept upon slips of paper, and the 
town now having purchased the necessary books, 
paid Mr. Obadiah Clement the sum of eighteen 
shillings for transferring the records to them. 

Among the many persons who had recently 
moved into town was Mr. Samuel Knight. He 
commenced this season upon the place where he 
resided until his death, in 1846. Mr. Knight, al- 
though not a very large man, possessed great 
muscular jDOwer, and was well calculated to con- 
vert the wild forest into fruitful fields. He being 
unmarried, for a greater part of the time during 
this season boarded with Mr. Stevens MerriU, but 
sometimes would, when he had provision enough, 
remain in his camp over night. One unusually 
hot day in the month of June, when he had been 
hard at work felling trees, he concluded so to do; 



and altliough if it should happen to storm it 
might not afford a very good shelter from the 
rain, still it was such a beautiful day he thought 
it would be amply sufficient for the night. He 
ate his supper, and then sat down to enjoy the 
beautiful scene. The moon was just rising, and 
showed its bright round upper edge, as it stole 
slowly up between Cushman and Carr mountains. 
The twinkling stars came out one by one, and 
made the blue azure vault overhead glow as if 
set with innumerable diamonds. The frogs croak- 
ed with a joyous tone, for they were filled with 
gladness by the genial warmth the summer sun 
imparted. The night-hawk screamed sharply as 
it flew circling round overhead, or uttered its 
heavy pouze as it dove swiftly doAvn. The whip- 
powil sang its happy chant in the alders by the 
purling brook, accompanied by the voices of its 
happy mates. But as he sat meditating on this 
beautiful solitary scene, he was suddenly startled 
by the sharp flash of lightning, followed by the 
low rumbling of distant thunder. A few mo- 
ments more and the before beautiful sky was 
completely enveloped Avith the dark clouds which 
the freshening breeze now rolled up. Soon the 
big drops began to patter down in quick succes- 
sion, accompanied by the crashing of the bellow- 
ing thunder, which rolled along the hill tops and 
echoed through the many defiles which were 


now lighted up by the ahnost continued blaze of 
sharp flashing lightning. The rain poured down 
in torrents, and Knight's clothes were soon thor- 
oughly saturated by the falling water. Cold and 
wet he made up his mind to go home. The 
clouds had not cleared away, and he had proceed- 
ed but a short distance before he found that he 
had undertaken a task not to be easily accom- 
plished. When he arrived at Berry brook he 
found it very much swollen by the rain. He 
waded through and followed on until he came to 
the foot of the hill near where Albert Bixby now 
lives. Here he lost his path, and while searching 
about for it was startled by a low, deep growl, 
and looking up he saw what appeared to be two 
balls of fire directly before him ; and the break- 
ing of the many dry twigs told Knight that some 
large animal was approaching. He shouted, but 
that only accelerated the speed of the bear, for 
such it proved to be, which in a few moments was 
upon him : and rearing upon its hind feet grasp- 
ed Knight with its fore paws. It was a desper- 
ate time for him, but his right arm was free, and 
quick as thought he pulled a knife from his 
pocket, and, opening it with his teeth, thrust it 
with desperate force into the side of the bear. 
Luckily it pierced its heart, and instantly relax- 
ing its hold, reeled around upon the groufid in 
mad frenzy for a few moments, striking with fury 


every thing that came in its way, and then ex- 
pired. Knight was terribly lacerated by the 
claws of the bear, and sitting down by his now 
dead enemy, concluded to remain during the 
night. But the clouds clearing away shortly af- 
terward, and the moon shining out brightly, he 
changed his determination, and resolved to go 
home ; and soon finding the path had no further 
difficulty in so doing. 

The next morning, on returning with some of 
his neighbors to the place of encounter, they 
found a bear of the largest class, who gave evi- 
dent, tokens that she was engaged in rearing her 
young. This circumstance probably induced her 
to make an attack upon him whom she consid- 
ered her natural enemy, which is a thing this 
species of animals in any other circumstances 
seldom do. 

In March, 1784, he married Miss Mary Mer- 
rill, and moved into his cabin the day following 
the one he built it. It was so illy finished that 
he could lie in his bed and count the stars 
through the crevices in the roof. But in a few 
years Mr. Knight had a more comfortable dwell- 

This season he had a piece of corn a short dis- 
tance from his house, and the bears came into it 
so often that he was in danger of losing the 
whole. One day, a Mr. Homan, who had recently 


come into town, and afterward settled near by, 
came to see him; and when it was near evening 
Mr. Knight mentioned the circumstance, and 
Homan agreed to accompany him to take re- 
venge upon the bruin gentry. They then loaded 
their guns, and immediately proceeded to the 
corn field. Here they ensconced themselves be- 
hind an old root, turned up by the wind, and 
patiently waited until near ten o'clock without 
discovering any appearances of bears. Homan 
now begged Knight to return to the house; but 
almost instantly after they heard the bushes 
crack upon the opposite side of the field, and 
soon Homan and Knight, as they looked cau- 
tiously from their hiding-place, discovered the 
dark forms of two or three large bears approach- 
ing. Presently they stopped near by, and in the 
way they took the ears from the parent stock, 
reminding Knight and Homan of a good husk- 
ing frolic. Knight now fired and succeeded in 
wounding one of them, and the others imme- 
diately fled. The wounded bear was fast follow- 
ing his companions, when Knight ran in front to 
stop him. The animal, now mad with pain, 
made directly at his opposer, who was obliged 
to use the breech of his gun to defend himself 
Homan during this time had stood looking on, and 
Knight now called lustily to him to shoot the 
bear. He advanced a few steps, but did not fire. 


" Fire, you fool I " shouted Knight. Homan cock- 
ed his gun, and as Knight's words rang in his 
ears, turned his head in an opposite dhection, 
and " let off." The contents took effect in the 
ground but a few feet from where he stood. 
Knight now used his gun barrel, which was bro- 
ken from the stock, with redoubled zeal about 
the bear, who, becoming weak from the loss of 
blood, fell under a few well directed blows, and 
Knight succeeded in dispatching him. When he 
had recovered his breath, he asked Homan why 
he fired so awkwardly. "Why, why," said 
Homan, " I ain't used to these running fires." 

During the present season the inhabitants 
formed themselves into a union, for the purpose 
of better enabling them to build a school house. 
This they did without raising a direct tax, but 
by choosing a committee, who called upon them 
as fast as labor or lumber was wanted ; and thus 
each worked in turn until it was finished. This 
school house stood a short distance above the 
present site of the railroad depots, nearly oppo- 
site the saw mill now owned by Mr. Alba C. 
Weeks, and for many years bore the name of 
" The Union School House." At the time of its 
erection there was no clearing save for the road, 
and no building nearer than Mr. Stephen Mer- 
rill's. All around was the silent old forest. In 
front murmured on the dark waters of Black 


brook; while behind, the never silent Baker 
river rushed furionsly onward over its rocky bed, 
at times a furious torrent, and then again but 
little water in its channel. The sun, morning 
and evening, cast long shadows of huge pines 
and other forest trees before the school house 
door, while through the thick branches the blue 
tops of the distant mountains were seen. The 
building was built in the style common to those 
times; a huge fire-place occupying one end, and 
long rough benches and desks for the scholars. 
Instead of plastered walls, the room was ceiled 
with beautiful white pine boards, which would 
be considered almost treasures at the present 
time. As soon as finished, Mr. Nathaniel Knight 
was engaged to keep a school in it. Here, during 
the winter, three families in the immediate neigh- 
borhood sent twenty-five scholars. 

In the granting of the townships upon the 
east side of Connecticut river by Gov." "Went- 
worth, little regard was had to make the lines of 
townships to coincide ; consequently, when the 
towns came to be settled, and the lines run 
again, quite a controversy arose as to where the 
lines were. Each town's charter bounded them 
to run so far, and in the running of the lines it 
proved that each town was claiming a J)art of 
the towns adjoining. 

To settle these difficulties, the proprietors of 


many of the towns met at Plymouth ; but after 
a long and stormy meeting they were unable to 
effect it, but shortly after they nearly all united 
in petitioning the Legislature to effect it for them. 
This body immediately chose a committee to run 
the lines and report thereon. The committee 
chosen shortly proceeded to the work, and after- 
wards their report was accepted, and conse- 
quently the bounds of the towns established in 
their present position. By the running of the new 
lines the town of Warren lost a considerable por- 
tion of its territory, upon its southern and west- 
em borders. Isaiah Batchelder and Thomas Clark 
were taken into Piermont. Simeon Smith, Peter 
Stevens, Joseph Kimball, and Lemuel Keazer 
into Wentworth. But the town of Warren, al- 
though it thus lost considerable of its territory,, 
still contained more than was granted by its 

The road running upon the west side of the 
river in Wentworth to Warren did not cross the 
river as it now does, but kept upon the west side 
until it arrived near the present location of the 
mills owned by Mr. P. Baldwin, where it crossed 
Black brook and then kept on in its present 
course. The people who lived on the east side 
had always been obliged when they wished to go 
to the centre of the town to ford the river. To 
do this at times was a great inconvenience, and 


the proprietors, being petitioned by the inhabit- 
ants, granted them quite a sum to aid in the 
construction of a bridge to be located where the 
present one, spanning Baker river just below the 
village, now stands. But the sum which the pro- 
prietors had thus liberally bestowed was not suf- 
ficient to complete it, and the citizens the present 
year voted to finish it at the town's expense. 
Accordingly it was set up at auction shortly after 
their meeting, by the selectmen, and the one 
agreeing to do it for the smallest sum to have the 
job. Col. Obadiah Clement bidding six pounds, 
it was struck off to him. This was the first 
bridge ever built in Warren over Baker river, 
and as soon as done there were two roads lead- 
ing from the town on its southern border. The 
one on the east side of the river, passing over 
Red Oak hill, is not much travelled at the present 
time, except by the inhabitants near whose- dwell- 
ings it runs. 

1785. During this year the second saw-mill 
ever constructed in Warren was built by Mr. 
Stevens Merrill. It was located on the present 
site of the Baldwin mills. At this place -the 
water fell nearly perpendicular over a ledge the 
distance of eight feet, and by constructing a 
short dam, six feet more of fall was secured ; 
thus afibrding an excellent water privilege. The 
proprietors paid him for erecting this mill the 
sum of twelve pounds. 


Among the votes passed this year was one that 
constable Butler pay in the new Emission Money 
belonging to the town to the selectmen. This 
money was an emission of paper bills funded on 
real estate, and loaned on interest. The people 
felt themselves distressed by the burdensome 
taxes, and this appeared the most easy remedy. 
But this money shortly decreased much in value, 
and finally the act authorizing the issue of it was 

In the year 1786 the selectmen failed to post 
up the necessary legal warning to call a town 
meeting for the choice of officers and transaction 
of other business for the year ; consequently, 
there was none holden, and the town was with- 
out its customary officers. 

On the petition of several individuals, the 
Legislature which convened in June following 
appointed and authorized Capt. Absalom Peters 
to call a meeting of the inhabitants, for the pur- 
pose of choosing a town clerk, selectmen, and 
other necessary officers, according to law ; and 
that Capt. Peters attend and open the meeting, 
and preside as moderator through the whole elec- 

By a resolve passed by the Legislature, Sep- 
tember 24, the selectmen of Warren were em- 
powered to take an inventory of all the polls and 
estates in town, and collect the inliabitants' taxes 
the same as if done in April, as the law directs. 


In the year 1787 there were two school dis- 
tricts in town. The first embraced all the south 
part of the town as far north as Mr. Joshua 
Copp's landj now Col. Charles Lane's. The second 
commenced at Esq. Copp's, and occupied the re- 
mainder of the town. The Upper School House, 
so called for many years, was built about this 
time. It was located near the residence of Enoch 
R Weeks, Esq., and was quite a large and com- 
modious building, in which the inhabitants for 
many years after held their town meetings. 

Col. Obadiah Clement at this time had an ac- 
count against the town of nine pounds, eleven 
shillings and three pence. This account was for 
recording upon the town books a journey to Ex- 
eter to get the town incorporated, drafting jury- 
men, &c. The town thought the account was 
unjust, and had voted at their previous meetings 
not to accept it. Col. Clement, believing that it 
was just, had held in his possession all the town 
books and papers, thinking to hold them until he 
received his pay. July 27, the town chose Jona- 
than Merrill, Joshua Merrill and Lieut. Ephraim 
True a committee to demand them, make a setr 
tlement with Col. Clement, and report at the 
next meeting. On the sixth of August another 
meeting was held and the committee's report was 
accepted. The town at this meeting voted to 
pay a part of Col. Clement's account, but he 


would not receive any part without the whole, 
and strongly demanded it ; but the town, still not 
willing to pay, chose Stevens Merrill and Lieut. 
Ephraim True a committee to farther treat with 
him, or to follow suit or suits at law, if he com- 
mence one or more against the town, to final 
end and execution. But Col. Clement did not 
choose to go to law, but still continued to pre- 
sent the matter to the citizens of the town, until 
they were brought to see the justness of his claim, 
and at a subsequent meeting they voted to pay 
him his whole demand. The town would never 
have refused to pay the demand, had not a few 
individuals, who were enemies to him, by their 
plausible stories made the citizens believe that 
his account was illegal ; but finally justice, as it 
always should, and harmony, again prevailed 
among the early settlers. 

At the regular meeting in 1788* the town 
voted to raise nine pounds to defray town 
charges, to be paid in wheat at five, rye at four 
and corn at three shillings per bushel. This 
was a very common pay for taxes, or for any 

^ Names of the individuals who had come into town from 1782 up to 
this time. 

Samuel Knight, Enoch Homans, Caleb Homan, 

Stephen Lund, Nathaniel Knight, Elisha Swett, 

Stephen Richardson, Levi Lufkin, Nathaniel Clough. 

Aaron Welch, John Stone, 


other commodity they wished to buy. Money 
at this time was very scarce. 

This year the town was obliged for the first 
time to make provision for a town pauper, al- 
though in a short time they found means to rid 
thetaLselves of the person. On account of this, 
several poor persons, who were likely to gain a 
residence in town, were warned out, according 
to a law for that purpose. 

In 1789* the road leading from the Society 
School-House, on the old Coos road, to Benton, 
was laid out. For several years after, Mr, Aaron 
Welch, who lived where Robert E. Merrill now 
does, was permitted by a vote of the town to 
have two gates upon it between his house and 
the Society School-House. There was also built, 
below where Mr. Jonathan M. Eaton now lives, 
a long bridge, running from the first bridge that 
now spans the little rill below his house, to the 
south end of the one over Patch brook. About 
this period several freshets occurred, causing 
Baker river to overflow its banks, and a large 
part of the water, uniting with the water of 
Patch brook, would naturally flow under this 
bridge. From this circumstance the people 

* Names of those who moved into town in 1789. 
John Abbot, Abel Merrill, Joncathan Hidden, 

Jonathan Fellows, John Badger, Amos Little, 

Ebenezer Hidden, Samuel Fellows, Richard Pillsbury, 

Silas Lund, 


thought it would require a bridge to span the 
whole distance from bank to bank. For this 
purpose the town raised twenty pounds to defray 
the expense, and chose Joseph Patch, Stephen 
Richardson, Stevens Merrill and Joshua Copp, to 
superintend the work ; but the sum raised did 
not near finish the bridge, and a great deal more 
money was expended before it was completed. 
This bridge did not remain many years, for the 
people discovered that they might as well travel 
for three fourths of the distance upon the 
ground as upon its planks. 

1791. This year chose Joseph Patch and Jon- 
athan Clement deer-keepers. 

During the year Dr. Joseph Peters settled in 
town, and resided with Mr. Stevens Merrill. He 
was the first physician who ever lived in War- 
ren, and was a well educated man, and having 
good success in his practice, gave general satis- 

A committee was chosen at the town meeting 
to lay out several roads, viz. : one leading from 
C. William Whiteman's, who lived on the top of 
the height of land, round Tarlton pond upon the 

New settlers in V 


Amos Clark, 

John Gardner, 

C. William Whiteman, 

Daniel Pike, 

James Little, 

In 1791. 

Thomas Pillshury. 

Dr. Joseph Peters, 

David Badger, 

Enoch Page, 

Joseph Knight. 


east side, and one leading from Mr. Joshua Mer- 
rill's, who lived where Mr. Stephen Lund now 
does, by Mr. Abel Merrill's, who lived on the 
place now owned by Nathaniel Merrill, jun., to 
Wentworth line. The roads up to this time were 
very poor, and the town was obliged to carry on 
a suit at law, which was commenced by some 
persons who had received injuries while travel- 
ling upon them, owing to the bad condition they 
were in. 

='= May 7, 1792. The people of Warren voted 
unanimously against all the amendments of the 
constitution, except the two last articles; for 
these there was an unanimous vote also. 

In the year 1794, chose Joshua Copp, Reuben 
Batchelder, Joseph Patch, Thomas Boynton and 
John Whitcher, a committee to report where it 
would be convenient to set a meeting-house, 
and what measures were best to be taken to erect 
the same. At the next regular meeting this 
committee' reported, but, through some unex- 
plained reason, took no action upon the matter, 
and the subject was dropped. 

^New settlers in 1792. 
Josiah Magoon, Uriah Cross. 

In 1793. 

Abram Alexander, John Chase, 

David S. Craig, Daniel Welch. 

In 1794. 

Stephen Badger. 

In 1795. 

Stephen Flanders, Barnabas Niles. 


* In the spring of 1796, Reuben Batchelder 
and Stephen Flanders, jun., followed up Baker 
river to East Warren, and commenced settle- 
ments. Mr. Batchelder began on the place now 
occupied by Seth J. Brown, and Mr. Flanders 
just above him, on the place occupied by La- 
fayette W. Parker. The town at its regular 
meeting voted to lay them out a road, which 
was done that season ; but for many years it 
was nothing more than a brushed out path. Mr. 
Batchelder- lived on the place he this year com- 
menced upon for a number of years, when he 
sold -out and began on the place now occupied 
by Mr. John Libbey. Here, in raising his house, 
he was accidentally killed. 

In March, 1798, the town voted to accept a 
piece of land from Joshua Copp, Esq., situated 
on the easterly side of Mr. Copp's land, and on 
the north side of the highway leading to Haver- 
hill, for the purpose of erecting a meeting-house 
thereon, which was to be of the same size as the 
one at Rumney, and for a burying ground and 

* New settlers in 1796. 
Thomas Boynton, James Harran, Joseph Jones, 

Nathan Barker, Dr. Levi Root, OIney Hawkins. 

William Kelley, John Weeks, 

In 1797. 
Benjamin Kelley, Joseph Orn, Jesse Niles. 

In 1798. 
Dr. Ezi-a Bartlett, James Dow, 

Asa Low, Abial Smith. 


training field. Chose Joshua Copp, Esq., Joseph 
Patch, Stephen Richardson, Obadiah Clement, 
and Levi Lufkin, a committee to provide timber 
for the meeting-house, to be drawn the ensuing 
winter. Each individual was to pay for the 
house according to his proportion of taxes, and 
all should hold themselves in readiness to work 
on the building, after three days' notice given 
them by the committee. At a meeting of the 
town, held the ensuing summer, after considera- 
ble discussion, in which the subject of their 
ability to build was thoroughly canvassed, they 
voted to dispense with the idea of building a 
meeting-house for the present. 




In July, 1799, Metlioclism was first introduced 
into Warren, by the Rev. Elijah R. Sabin. Rev. 
My. Sabin was a missionary in the cause, and 
travelled from town to town on horseback, 
preaching in the houses and barns of the people, 
wherever he could get a congregation to hear 
him. At the time of his first preaching in War- 
ren h'e had but little success ; but before leaving 
succeeded in forming a class, consisting of three 
members, viz.: Chase Whitcher, Dolly Whitcher, 
(afterwards the widow Atwell,) and Sarah Bar- 
ker; but many in hearing him preach were con- 
victed of the truth of his doctrine, and before 
the next conference they numbered about thirty 
members. During the summer season, for many 
years afterward, they held their meetings in a 
barn belonging to Mr. Aaron Welch, and during 
the winter in his house or the houses of the 
neighbors in the immediate vicinity. There was 
also quite a class formed upon the height of 
land, among the inhabitants living in the imme- 
diate vicinity of Taiiton pond. For many 
years Warren was a part of Landaff circuit. 

In the spring of this year Mr. James Williams 


settled on the north side of Baker river, in East 
Warren, nearly opposite Mr. Reuben Batchelder 
and Mr. Stephen Flanders, jun., and upon the 
place now owned by Jesse Eastman, and shortly 
after erected for himself a fine, large, framed 
house. The town, during the summer, laid out 
a road from the foot of the hill ujd to his house, 
and soon after his brother, Mr. Moses Williams, 
came and settled on the place now owned by 
Mr. Calvin Cummings. Mr. Caleb Homan set- 
tled on the place now occupied by Mr. Samuel 
Osborn, and not long after, Mr. Samuel Merrill 
settled upon the place where he now resides. 
These individuals were far from any settlement, 
and were almost jDioneers in a wilderness ; but 
in a few years they had fine farms, and even- 
tually were all men of considerable property. 

March 20, 1800. Brought in forty votes 
against a revision of the constitution, and one in 
favor of it. 

1801. The town voted this year not to build 
a meeting-house. 

In the year 1802 the doctrine of the Free- 
will Baptists was first preached in Warren by 
the Rev. Joseph Boody, but no society was 
formed. His meetings were held at the house of 

The new settlers in 1799 were 
Benjamin Brown, James AVilliams, Benjamin Gale. 

In 1800. 
Daniel Davis, Luke Libbej, Jacob Low, 

Samuel Jackson, Job Eaton, Abel Willard. 


Mr. Stevens Merrill. Mr. Merrill was highly 
pleased with Mr. Boody and his doctrine, and as 
he was an aged man, and thinking he might die 
when Mr. Boody was far away, he resolved to 
have his funeral sermon preached before Mr. 
Boody's departure. Accordingly, he signified his 
intention to the reverend gentleman, who com- 
plying, a day was appointed, and the sermon 
preached from II. Timothy, 4th chapter, 6th, 7th, 
and 8th verses: "For I am now ready to be of- 
fered, and the time of my departure is at hand. 
I have fought a good fight, I have finished my 
course, I have kept the faith : henceforth there 
is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which 
the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at 
that day; and not me only, but unto all them 
that love his appearing." From this text it is 
said the Rev. Mr. Boody preached a very excel- 
lent discourse, and Mr. Merrill and his friends 
were well pleased. Mr. Merrill died two years 
after, in 1804, aged 72 years. 

In the spring of 1803 were killed the last 
moose ever known in this section. Joseph Patch 
and Stephen Flanders, jun., had followed up Ba- 
ker river nearly to its source on a hunting excur- 
sion. The day was nearly spent, and they were 
thinking of building a camp in which to pass the 
night, when Patch, who was yet a keen hunter, 
discovered signs of moose, and that they were 


in their immediate vicinity. It was now nearly 
clarkj and they knew it would be impossible to 
capture them that night. As they were so near 
the moose they did not dare build a large camp 
or light a fire, for they knew that it would 
frighten them away : so, breaking a few fir 
boughs, they formed themselves a bed upon the 
snow, and wrapping their blankets around them, 
laid down to spend the night. There were no 
clouds in the heavens, and the stars twinkled 
brightly above them, as seen through the clear, 
frosty^ air ; but the men were used to such scenes, 
and had often encountered them before ; and so 
the night to them was far from being cheerless, 
and the morning dawned nearly as quick as if 
they were in their own snug homes. As soon as 
it was light they arose, and making a hasty meal 
from some almost frozen provisions, took the trail 
of the moose and proceeded cautiously forward. 
After travelling a short distance, and then turn- 
ing abruptly round a little spur of the hill, they 
discovered lying in a large yard, beside a little 
mountain stream, three fine large animals. Patch 
and Flanders now carefully examined their guns, 
and making sure that all was right, they each 
aimed at a different moose and fired. This 
brought all three of the fine large creatures to 
their feet; but two of them, after staggering 
about for a few moments, fell de^ad, while the 


third started off at a smart trot down the 
stream ; without waiting a moment, they sent 
their dogs after him, and, loading their guns, 
immediately pursued, and in less than half an 
hour came up and killed the third. They then 
went to work, dressed and quartered the moose, 
and then hung them up in trees, and started for 
the settlement, where, procuring help and sleds, 
they returned and brought home their fine 
morning's work. Thus perished the last of that 
race of animals in this section, so many of 
which at one time roamed in the valleys around 
Moosehillock mountain. 

At the regular meeting, in 1804, the town 
voted to choose a committee of three persons, to 
provide an accurate plan of the town of "Warren. 
Chose Joseph Patch, Nathaniel Clough and Sam- 
uel Knight, for the committee. These individ- 
uals had a difficult task before them ; but by 
procuring copies of all the surveys previously 
made, they at last produced the fine plan which 
now stands as a front-piece in the old book con- 
taining the records of the first proprietors of 
Warren, and which plan has been so much used 
by the citizens of the town. The plan is now 
nearly worn out, and the town will in a short 
time be greatly in need of a new one ; and it is 
to be hoped that they will follow the excellent 
example set them by many other towns in the 


State, which is that of having a plan accurately 

The town appointed the selectmen a commit- 
tee to unite with the selectmen of Ellsworth to 
look out a convenient location for a road from 
Ellsworth (once called Trecothick,) to Warren, 
and report thereon. This committee proceeded 
to the work for which they were chosen, and 
examined the section of the country between 
the two towns ; but as no record was made of 
any report, or any action of the town taken 
upon it afterwards, it is probable the committee 
thought the route highly impracticable. 

A small burying cloth was bought by the 
town, of Col. Obadiah Clement and Jonathan 
Clement, and Aaron Welch's house chosen as a 
place of deposit. 

The sum of one hundred and thirty dollars 
was paid Mr. Enoch Davis, who lived where Mr. 
Addison Gerald now resides, for the future main- 
tenance of a pauper, — the second one that had 
become chargeable to the town. 

At a town meeting held during the year it 
was voted that the device for the weights and 
measures belonging to the town should be 


This device was presented by Dr. Ezra Bartlett. 
In 1806 the town empowered the selectmen 


to sell the ministerial lands to Mr. Caleb Homan 
or Stephen Flanders, jun., or to any other per- 
son, if they considered the sale of the lands an 
advantage to the town. Chose Col. Obadiah 
Clement, Capt. William Butler, Mr. Jonathan 
Fellows, Capt. Joseph Patch, Lieut. Stephen 
Flanders, jun., and Mr. Aaron Welch, a commit- 
tee to choose another committee of three un- 
prejudiced persons, living out of town, for the 
purpose of establishing a suitable place in War- 
ren for erecting a house of public worship. At 
a meeting held Dec. 17, voted not to build a 
meeting-house, but the town declared by a unan- 
imous vote that they were willing one should be 
built by subscription. 

March 10, 1807, brought in sixty-three votes 
against revising the Constitution. 

The old Coos Turnpike Company having re- 
ceived a charter from the Legislature on Dec. 
29, 1803, this year commenced to build their 
road. It was twelve miles in length, and com- 
menced near the spot where the Society school- 
house was built, and running over the height 
of land, terminated at Haverhill Corner. The 
road was not fully completed until several years 
after, and cost fifteen thousand and seventy- 
four dollars. It was contracted for by different 
individuals, who took short sections. The first 
section extended from the location of the Soci- 


ety school-house, above the Blue Ridge, and was 
built by Mr. Joseph Merrill. The cutting through 
this large ridge of land required a great amount 
of labor and much time, and before it was fin- 
ished the people thought it was a Hue job for 
Mr. Merrill, hence the name Blue Ridge. When 
the turnpike was finished, the inhabitants who 
lived upon it were permitted to pass over it free 
from cost, and consequently several roads which 
had been previously built, not being now re- 
quired, were discontinued. 

1808. Voted to build a pound, thirty feet 
square within the walls, and eight feet high. It 
was to be constructed of good pine logs, and to 
have a stout, substantial door, hung with iron 
hinges, and to be fastened with a staple, hasp, 
and padlock. For some reason, never explained, 
this contemplated pound was not built. 

Liberty was given to Mr. Moses H. Clement 
to construct a canal under the road near Joseph 
Merrill's saw mill, to carry the water from Baker 
river to Black brook, provided he indemnify the 
town for all damages done the road. This canal, 
although not completed until three years after, 
was a great work for an individual in those times, 
and shows Mr. Clement to be a person of much 
enterprise. The underground passage was built 
of pine logs, and although placed there forty- 
four years ago, are still in almost as good condi- 


tion as when cut. When the raUroad was built 
the engineer caused the earth to be removed 
from the lower ends of them, thinking that they 
should be obliged to supply their place with a 
stone culvert ; but upon an examination he 
thought they would answer for many years to 
come, and noAV daily pass over them the heavy 
laden cars, with the heavier engine, with as much 
safety as though they had the solid earth be- 
neath them. 

In March, 1809, chose the selectmen a com- 
mittee to provide powder and ball for the use of 
the militia of the town, as provided for by an 
act of the Legislature in June last. 

From the year 1802 up to 1810 there had 
been several ministers of the Free Will Baptist 
denomination, successors of Joseph Boody, who 
had preached occasionally in town, viz. : Joseph 
Boody, jun., Louis Harriman, Thomas Perkins, J. 
Marks, and Wallace. These were succeed- 
ed by Elder James Spencer, under whose influ- 
ence the first Free Will Baptist Society was com- 
menced. The members consisted of Samuel 
Merrill and wife, James Dow and wife, Caleb 
Homan and wife, Aaron Welch and wife. True 
Stevens and wife, Mrs. Betsey Ramsey and Mrs. 
James Williams. Elder Spencer labored with 
the society for many years after. 

In the year 1811 chose Jonathan Merrill as 


an agent to carry on the suits pending against 
the town in relation to bad roads. Voted to 
divide the town into districts for the working 
out of the highway tax. 

About the year 1812 commenced the sec- 
cond war between the United States and Eng- 
land, and for three years there was much 
fighting done without any signal advantage to 
either country, when, by the consent of both 
parties, the war was closed and an amicable 
treaty formed between the two governments. 
New-Hampshire raised a large militia force to 
guard her frontier, by drafting men from her 
towns. Abel Merrill was appointed by the State 
to draft men from Warren, and the following 
individuals served at times during the war, viz. : 
George Libbey, Nathaniel Libbey, Nathaniel 
Richardson, Jesse Eastman, Tristram Pillsbury, 
John Abbot, John Copp, Daniel Pillsbury, David 
Patch and Maj. Daniel Patch. These men all 
returned to Warren at the close of the war, or 
the end of the time for which they enlisted, 
except John Abbot, who died while in the army. 

1813. This year about the greatest freshet 
ever known in this section of the country oc- 
curred. Many of the bridges across the streams 
were carried away, and the roads much damaged. 

In 1814 the people of Warren gave fifty-five 


votes against revising the Constitution and none 
in favor. 

During this year the first stage line from Con- 
cord via Plymouth, up the valley of Baker river 
to Haverhill, was established. There had been 
another line from Concord to Haverhill via Leb- 
anon, commenced a short time previous, but this 
latter was a much longer route, and as the citi- 
zens of the former section wished for the facili- 
ties that would be afforded by a line of stages, 
several individuals, headed by Robert Morse, of 
Rumney, succeeded in establishing one. The 
stock of the company was raised principally 
among the farmers along the line. The time it 
commenced running was a great day to the peo- 
ple who lived in the section through which it 
passed. The coaches, although far different from 
those used at the present time, were a grgtat 
novelty to those who saw them, and had large 
wooden axles, — iron ones being unknown at that 
time, — and the driver held a high station in the 
estimation of the public. Col. Silas May was 
the first driver upon this route, and instead of 
the long tin horn which drivers at that time 
usually had, to warn the people of their ap- 
proach, he played in an excellent manner upon 
a fine bugle. He was an exceeding good 
reinsman, and not unfrequently drove six horses 
with one hand, while with the other he held his 


bugle and played those beatiful tunes, the glad- 
dening echoes of which floated over forest and 
dell, and lost themselves upon the far off tops of 
the distant hills and mountains. The first time 
he drove through, he arrived at Haverhill three 
hours before the other stage. When within half 
a mile of that place, by some accident a linch- 
pin was lost from the end of one of the axles, 
but as the wheel did not come off, owing to his 
skill in driving, he succeeded in reaching Haver- 
hill Corner without replacing it. 

In the year 1814 gave fifty votes against re- 
vising the Constitution, and none in favor. 

In 1815, and for two years previous, a furious 
epidemic raged throughout New - Hampshire, 
known by the name of the spotted fever. It 
was a disease new to the physicians, and break- 
ing out suddenly in many places, baffled for a 
time their skill. Individuals, strong and healthy, 
and in the prime of life, even though guarding 
by every possible means against infection, would 
be suddenly stricken down, and in a few hours 
the once proud form was a loathsome corpse. 
Old and young were alike a prey to it. The 
people were alarmed; town-meetings were called 
in many towns, and the selectmen instructed to 
procure aid of the best physicians possible. 

The malady first broke out in Warren upon 
Beach hill. One of the younger members of 


Mr. George Bixby's family was suddenly taken 
alarmingly ill. A physician was sent for; he 
came, and not discovering the nature of the dis- 
ease, gave, as he thought, a simple remedy, and 
took his departure. In a few hours the young 
man was dead. The corpse was laid out, and 
two young men, sons of Amos Little, came to 
watch by it through the succeeding night. The 
next day one of them, James Little, was taken 
sick, and in a few hours was dead. The disease 
spread rapidly, and soon all was consternation. 
There was no physician in town, and the inhab- 
itants were obhged to send to Piermont for one. 
Dr. Wellman, of that place, came, and a short 
time after, while visiting a man sick with the 
disorder, was himself taken sick, and in a short 
time died. 

One third of the inhabitants living on Beach 
Hill were cut off by it, and the whole town for 
a time bid fair to be depopulated ; but as the 
fall advanced, and cold weather came on, the 
disease gradually disappeared, and since but very 
few cases have been known. 

The town of Warren paid out for physcians' 
fees nearly tAvo hundred dollars ; besides this, 
numerous individuals paid large sums. Many 
years elapsed before the town recovered from 
the loss it received from the death of its inhab- 
itants from this dread malady, and the numerous 


tomb-stones in the grave-yards, bearing the date 
of 1815, testify to its fearful ravages. 

" The year 1816, though the last of ten years 
of uncommon seasons and dearths, yet it is to 
be distinguished from any preceding year. The 
whole face of nature appeared shrouded in 
gloom. The lamps of Heaven kept their orbits, 
but their light was cheerless. The bosom of the 
earth in a midsummer's day was covered with a 
wintry mantle, and man, and beast, and bird, 
sickened at the prospect. For several days the 
people had good sleighing, and it seemed as if 
the order of the seasons was being reversed. 
Autumn returns, alas ! not to fill the arm with 
the generous sheaf, but the eye with the tear of 
disappointment. On the sixth of June, the day 
of General Election, the snow fell several inches 
deep, followed by a cold and frosty night, and 
on the two following days snow fell and frost 
continued. Also, July ninth, a deep and deadly 
frost, which killed or palsied most vegetables. 
The little corn which had the appearance of 
maturity, was destitute of its natural taste or 
substance ; and yet the providence of God was 
bountiful in supplying the article of bread from 
the crops of rye, which were uncommonly good. 

1817. After the first of June a very great 
change was observable in the atmosphere and the 
vegetable world. The winds were generally 


from the southwest for more than half a year. 
The air became warm and natural ; vegetation 
unusually rapid, and autumn poured forth her 
blessings in rich abundance." 

In November of this year Mr. Frederick 
Clark, a native of Piermont, was ordained an 
itinerant preacher of the Free Will Baptist 
denomination. Previous to his ordination Mr. 
Clark gave the selectmen a written agreement, 
signed by himself, by which he gave up all the 
right which would accrue to him, by his ordina- 
tion, to the ministerial lands in town. 

At the regular meeting of the town in the 
year' 1818 the inhabitants voted to build a meet- 
ing-house, the size to be forty feet by fifty feet, 
within joint. Chose Jonathan Merrill, Nathaniel 
Clough, Abel Merrill and James Williams a com- 
mittee to superintend its building, and for that 
purpose was appropriated all the money due the 
town on the leases, including the present year, 
and also the avails of the wild land belonging to 
the town. 

To the building of the house the committee 
proceeded with a right good earnest. The frame, 
that good old oaken one, which is yet as good as 
new, was hauled from many a dark recess of the 
old woods by the laboring oxen — the inhabitants 
ready to assist, giving many a long day's work ; 
and by the first of July it was ready for erec- 


tion, and the fourth — the glorious old Fourth — 
was decided to be the time when the raising 
should take place. The morning of that expect- 
ed day at last dawned, but ere the golden beams 
of the sun had lighted up the bald top of 
Moosehillock or the green wooded summit of 
Mount Carr, the workmen were on their way. 
Few indeed were the sleepy persons found that 
morning, for a raising was a raising in those days ; 
but the raising of a meeting-house was a sight 
seldom witnessed but once in a lifetime. 

From every quarter they came; the good 
man and his buxom dame, and their rosy daugh- 
ters, who had spent a long hour more at the 
toilet that morning than usual. All were there, 
and by the presence of those fair faces many a 
young man was stimulated to perform herculean 
feats of lifting, and mounting giddy heights, 
every way worthy his ancestors. All around 
near the destined spot lay strewn the heavy tim- 
bers. The old men, with shining broad axe, were 
shaping pins, or smoothing the end of many a 
tenon, while the master builder, with rule under 
his arm, and feeling the great responsibility rest- 
ing upon him, was moving hither and thither ; 
now giving directions to one party and then to 
another, who were tugging, lifting, and straining 
themselves into very red faces, as they carry the 
heavy timbers over the numerous blocks and 

raisiiIg of the church. 93 

chips. The building committee were there also, 
giving instructions to each other, the master 
builder, and every one else. And now one huge 
broadside is ready. Those stalwart forms range 
themselves side by side ; the master builder gives 
the word, and, creaking and groaning, that old 
oaken broadside goes slowly up : a pause — the 
stout following poles hold, and now long pike 
poles are applied^ guided firmly by strong arms, 
and again that broadside goes up, as a hush 
comes over the anxious crowd, eagerly watching, 
but who soon breathe more freely as the huge 
timbers erect settle firmly into their resting 
places ; and now, with no laggard hands, the re- 
maining broadside and the cross timbers are put 
in their places ; and long ere the rays of the 
setting'sun had departed, the roof, with its crown- 
ing steeple, towering above, were in their proper 
positions. Here succeeding generations must la- 
ment the loss of that speech, every way worthy 
of the occasion, which was delivered from the 
ridge pole to all who were refreshing themselves 
upon the ample bounties provided by the com- 
mittee. The gentle breezes of that summer day 
wafted it afar over the green foliage of the 
wood to the distant hill sides, where it was re- 
corded in their beautiful shaded dells, but no 
man can read their phonography. 

After the raising, the finishing of the house 


progressed steadily, and early in the fall, though 
it was not in its present finished state, it was 
dedicated. E,ev. Edward Evans, a minister of 
the Congregationalist order, preached the dedi- 
catory sermon. The house on the occasion was 
filled to overflowing ; many having come from 
other towns, and all were pleased with the dis- 
course. Mr. Evans was hired the ensuing year 
to preach in it one half of the Sundays, and the 
town voted in 1819 to appropriate the interest 
of the minister lands toward paying him. 

1819. Sept. 21, at a town meeting held for the 
purpose, the following report of the building 
committee was read and accepted, viz. : 

1st. The meeting-house finished except the 

2nd. All the pews disposed of and are the 
property of the purchasers when paid for, other- 
wise the property of the committee. The pur- 
chasers and owners of pews to have the liberty 
to pass and repass the doors an^d aisles to and 
from said pews, whenever the doors are opened 
for public worship or town meetings. 

3rd. The other part of the house to be for 
the use of the town, upon the following condi- 
tions, viz. : that the town pay over to the com- 
mittee all the money and land that they agreed 
to give to encourage a committee to undertake 
to build said meeting-house, which was three 
hundred dollars, or thereabouts. 


4th. The committee respectfully request the 
town to unite with them and adopt the best 
measures or means to finish the painting of the 
house and erect door steps. 

Jonathan Merrill,"] 
Nathaniel Clough, ! ^ ., , 
Abel Merrill, '[Committee. 

James Williams, J 
N. B. There are demands in the hands of the 
committee arising from the sale of two pews, 
viz. : number forty-one and forty-two, to the 
amount of fifty dollars or more, besides what we 
have laid out in painting said meeting-house. 

1820. Amos Burton this year erected the large 
bfuilding now occupied by Damon Y. Eastman as 
a wheelwright shop, and commenced to tra,de on 
a much larger scale than any individual ever be- 
fore had done in town. About this time "War- 
ren was created a post town, and Mr. Burton was 
appointed postmaster, being the first ever in 

1821. Gave eighty-six votes against revising 
the Constitution, and none in favor. 

During the year 1825 a survey was made 
through this section of the country for a canal. 
It was to commence at Dover ; thence by the 
way of lake Winnepiseogee to the Pemigewas- 
set river ; then up Baker river to Warren, and 
from there down the Oliverian to the Counecti- 


cut at Haverhill. The town of Warren present- 
ed numerous obstructions to building the canal, 
but the persevering engineer, Mr. McDuffee, at 
last overcame all these, and reported the route 
a very practicable one. The chief difficulty met 
ivith was the insufficient quantity of water to be 
had upon the Summit. To obviate this, Mr. Mc- 
Duffee intended to take the water from Tarlton 
pond and convey it round the hill in a winding 
manner to the place where it was required. This 
would involve a considerable outlay, but would 
afford an adequate supply of water in the dry- 
est season, and consequently was the only one 
practicable. This proposed canal was never built, 
for the reason that a sufficient amount of stock 
could not be disposed of; consequently the com- 
pany, though chartered and well organized, for 
the want of funds failed in carrying out their 
plans. There was also another company charter- 
ed, to construct a canal to extend up the Merri- 
mack and Pemigewasset rivers, to intersect with 
the first mentioned one at Holderness. 

In 1826 the town raised fifty-seven dollars sixty- 
three cents, in lieu of the avails of the wild land 
voted to the committee appointed to build a 
meeting-house in 1818. 

.In the year 1833 the people residing in the 
south portion of the town of Coventry (now 
Benton) made application to the town of War- 


ren to be annexed to the same, but a majority 
of the inhabitants of Warren voted not to ac- 
quiesce in having a part of Benton annexed to 
Warren. At the same meeting the inhabitants 
ga^vie seventy-nine votes against and none in 
favor of making a revision of the Constitution. 



During the year 1834 Mr. True Merrill dis- 
covered upon his farm, not far from his residence, 
a large vein of ore, which upon a subsequent 
examination proved to be copper, intermixed 
with several other kinds of ores. Such was the 
extent of this mine, and the abundance of ore 
it promised to yield, that shortly after a com- 
pany was formed, consisting of Mr. H. Bradford 
and others, and the mine opened ; but as the 
company who commenced had but a small cap- 
ital, and a large outlay being required before 
any considerable remuneration could be realized, 
the company discontinued its labors upon the 
work. The mine has at different times since 
been wrought, but only to a small extent. 

At the present time " the known and meas- 
ured width of the tremolite bed, containing the 
copper ore, is forty-eight feet, but the nearest 
wall rock on the west is ninety-four feet from 
the east wall of the bed on the western side. 
A covering of soil prevents our ascertaining 
whether the bed extends to the mica slate. 

" Across the top of the opening of the mine 
the width is thirty-eight feet, and the depth of 


the excavation is six feet five inches through the 
soil, and a little less than thirty in the tremolite 
rock. In the eastern wall rock there are veins 
of the pure yellow copper pyrites, with veins of 
quartz. A bed of copper pyrites also occurs 
along the line of junction of the tremolite rock 
with the mica slate. Several veins of copper 
ore, with large bunches of iron pyrites, and re- 
splendent black blende, are found in the midst 
of the tremolite, and occasionally some large 
crystals of rutil, or red oxide of titanium, accom- 
pany the iron pyrites. 

" Most of the tremolite is mixed with copper 
pyrites, and may be completely separated from 
it by stamping and washing. The rock contains 
from six to twelve per cent, of metal ; while the 
pure ore yields thirty-two per cent, by assay in 
the crucible, and contains thirty-four per cent., 
as proved by analysis. 

"It is easy to drain the mine to the depth of 
one hundred and fourteen feet, without any ma- 
chinery for pumping, since there is a rapid 
descent from the hill-side to the brook along a 
ravine, which affords drainage in that direction. 
The brook will furnish a valuable water power 
for stamping and washing the ore. The mine 
is now not properly opened, and in future ope- 
rations it must be covered and protected from 


snow and rain, so that the work may proceed in 
the winter. 

"There is a small vein of copper pyrites, distant 
forty rods S., 20° W. from this mine, on the land 
of Mr. Joseph Copps. The vein is in quartz, 
which is twenty inches wide, while the copper 
ore is but one or two inches thick. It is not of 
sufficient magnitude to be considered valuable. 
Two miles and a half N. E. from this mine, cop- 
per pyrites, in small veins, have been found on 
the land of Mr. Stevens, but are not rich. One 
hundred yards north of the tremolite bed, an 
extensive vein of black blende, mixed with cop- 
per pyrites and galena, has been opened, and the 
mine promises to be valuable. The principal 
vein is six feet wide. I have analyzed and 
assayed average lots of this ore, and have dis- 
tilled from it from twenty to thirty per cent, of 
metallic zinc by the usual process. 

" I regard this mine as valuable, and have no 
doubt that it will ultimately be wrought for zinc. 
Either copper or zinc may be manufactured, or 
they may be combined in the form of brass. 
These ores also contain a considerable amount of 
silver. Near the copper mines a vein of largely 
crystalized epidote occurs, and had been mista- 
ken for a zinc ore. On blasting this vein, im- 
mense crystals, of a beautiful green color, were 
observed, some of which are eight inches in 


diameter. They are contained in quartz, and 
are very abundant. The smaller crystals are 
very perfect, and present several modifications 
in their crystalline form, that will prove interest- 
ing to mineralogists. Hemitropic crystals, with 
salient angles at one end and re-entering angles 
at the other, are most abundant. 

" The large crystals are apt to be shattered to 
pieces by blasting with gunpowder ; hence only 
a small charge should be used to crack the rock, 
which may then be forced apart by the crow- 
bar and broken up by a heavy sledge hammer, 
so as not to communicate the vibrations too pow- 
erfully to the crystals." 

This year the road running through the val- 
ley of Berry brook, and commonly called the 
Berry Brook Road, was commenced, but it was 
several years before it was finished. The road 
running over the Height of Land, owing to the 
steep hills, was a difficult one, for the numerous 
teams to draw their heavy loads upon ; and as 
this was the direct route from northern New- 
Hampshire and Vermont to Boston, it became 
a matter of interest to all persons engaged in 
the mercantile business in those sections, to find 
some easier road. Accordingly, individuals were 
employed to look out a different route, and as 
the valley of Berry brook afforded the most con- 
venient locality, the subject was agitated consid- 
erably to have a road constructed through it. 


Many of the inhabitants of Warren were 
strongly opposed to building this road, for the 
reason that it would subject them to much cost, 
and that as it ran through an uninhabited sec- 
tion, it would cost a large sum each year to keep 
it in repair ; but the town, at a legal meeting 
held on the 22d of July, 1834, chose Nathan- 
iel Clough, Solomon Cotton and Samuel Bixby 
a committee to examine and explore all routes 
thought proper for a highway through the town. 
But the town was tardy in its movements, and 
some individuals, wishing to have the work pro- 
ceed faster, carried the subject into the court of 
common pleas. The court, after a hearing 
upon the matter, decided that it was just that a 
road should be built through the Berry Valley, 
and appointed a committee to lay out the road. 
This was done, and the town, having been ob- 
liged to pay a large fine on account of the bad- 
ness of their roads, and seeing that they could 
not avoid building it, called a meeting on the 
8th of December, and voted that the road 
should be built. They also chose Solomon Cot- 
ton, Samuel L. Merrill and Joseph Bixby a com- 
mittee to carry the work through, and author- 
ized them to raise the sum of five hundred dol- 
lars to commence with. But this sum only made 
a beginning to the work ; for before it was fin- 
ished some three thousand dollars was expend- 


ed, and it was not until the 22d of December, 
1836, that persons were permitted to pass over 
it. At that time the selectmen were authorized 
to post up a notice at each end of the road that 
people could travel over it at their own risk. 

The town voted that the selectmen should ob- 
ject to Mr. Horace Webber being ordained in 
town, unless he would sign an acquittal to the 
ministerial rights which he might obtain by 
being ordained. This Mr. Webber did, and was 
ordained a minister of the Free Will Baptist 

Gave at the regular town meeting nineteen 
votes in favor of revising the Constitution and 
fifty-five against it. 

In the year 1837 the town received nearly 
eighteen hundred dollars as her share of the sur- 
plus revenue. This money had been accruing 
for many years in the United States Bank, and 
after that institution was dissolved, government, 
after paying her debts, passed a resolve that the 
surplus should be divided among the different 
States, and then distributed to the towns of which 
they were composed. By a vote passed at the 
regular meeting the selectmen were empowered 
to go to Concord and receive the money. It 
was also voted the selectmen put the money out 
at usury, not letting any one individual have 
more than two hundred dollars. 


In 1838 the town voted that the selectmen 
call in enough of the surplus revenue to pay up 
for the building of the Berry Brook Boad ; also 
chose Solomon Cotton an agent to take charge 
of the money, and then voted that the select- 
men hire it of Mr. Cotton, and pay their debts 
with the same. 

About the year 1830, and perhaps at an earlier 
date, different clergymen of the Universalist de- 
nomination preached occasionally to the be- 
lievers in a world's salvation from sin and suffer- 
ing ; but the first society was organized in the 
year 1838 under the ministry of the Be v. John 
E. Palmer. The society have had preaching 
since but a part of the time during each year. 
In 1851 Mr. Nathaniel Clough at his death be- 
queathed to them a small fund, the interest of 
which is to be annually appropriated for the 
support of Universalist preaching. The names 
of the ministers who have labored with the so- 
ciety will be found in the statistical part of the 

March 10, 1840, the town gave four votes in 
favor of, and ninety against dividing the county 
of Grafton. 

1841. This year the town became involved in 
a perplexing lawsuit with the town of Went- 
worth. A certain Mrs. Sarah Weeks, wife of 
Benjamin Weeks, had become chargeable to 


Wentworth for support, and the town thinking 
that it was the duty of Warren to support her, 
asked the town so to do ; but Warren consider- 
ing the request unjust, refused, and Wentworth 
sued for the money they had paid for the sup- 
port of Mrs. Weeks. The town of Warren 
defended the case and was beaten ; but not will- 
ing thus to give it up, at a town meeting called 
expressly for the purpose, Nov. 22, 1843, they 
passed the following vote : That the agents cho- 
sen to carry on the case between Warren and 
Wentworth have it tried where they think prop- 
er : That the agents ascertain whether the re- 
view destroys the decision of the former trial : 
if it does destroy it, then the agents are to settle 
with Wentworth, by that town paying the legal 
cost the town of Warren would recover by law, 
and they also support Sarah Weeks; if they 
will not settle upon these conditions, then the 
agents are to proceed with the case. But the 
town of Wentworth did not wish to risk another 
trial, and so, before the sitting of the next term 
of the court, the agents of that town came and 
wished to settle the case with those of Warren, 
which was effected by agreeing to the above 

March 8, 1842. Three voters were for, and 
seventy-four against a revision of the Constitu- 



In 1844 gave fifty-five votes in favor of and 
eighty-six against the abolition of capital pun- 

At the June session of the Legislature, in 
1845, that body passed an act incorporating the 
Boston, Concord and Montreal raihoad company ; 
the road to run from Concord, N. H., via Lake 
Winnipisseogee and the Pemigewasset and Baker 
rivers to the Connecticut, and from thence to 
Littleton, N. H. The company immediately or- 
ganized, and the people along the route freely 
paid their money for a survey, which was made 
this season by Mr. Crocker, throughout the whole 
length of the line, and a considerable amount of 
stock being subscribed for, the grading of the 
road was commenced upon its lower sections, 
and the road gradually completed eighteen miles, 
from Concord to Sanbornton Bridge. 

During this season a destructive fire occurred 
upon the old homestead of Amos Little. All 
the male members of the family had gone away, 
while Mrs. Little, who was unwell, had retired 
to her chamber. There was a barrel standing 
in the shed adjoining the house, in which some 
meat had been placed to smoke, and as the 
family had smoked their meat here the preced- 
ing spring, and no accident having occurred, it 
was considered safe. 

From this the fire took. It was a beautiful 


summer clay ; there was no wind stirring, and all 
around was still. All at once an individual 
standing near the meeting-house happening to 
direct his attention in the direction of the house, 
saw curling slowly up in the clear air, a thin 
hazy column of blue smoke. One moment more 
and the cry of fire rung out in clear, start- 
ling tones from his stentorian lungs, that roused 
every neighbor around. The inmates of the 
school-house near by were dismissed, and the 
young urchins dispatched in all directions to 
give the alarm. When the first individual ar- 
rived at the house, had he had but another per- 
son to assist him, the flames might have been 
stayed, but it was otherwise, and before another 
had arrived the flames had gained much head- 
way, and were breaking out upon the roof of 
the shed. Mrs. Little, hearing the noise, now 
came out to see what was the matter, and seeing 
the flames, almost swooned with fright, but 
quickly recovering, with the rest of the individ- 
uals commenced carrying the furniture from the 
house. In an almost incredible short space of 
time almost every individual in the village had 
arrived. Some tried to tear down the shed con- 
necting the house with the three large barns, 
but before it was half demolished, the flames 
and blinding smoke drove them from the under- 
taking. The whole attention of every individ- 


ual was now directed towards saving what they 
could from the burning buildings. Such was 
the haste and excitement of many persons that 
windows were taken from their casings in the 
second story, and thro^vn to the ground, where 
they were picked up and borne away by others; 
looking-glasses and other furniture easily demol- 
ished, shared the same fate. The flames were 
now advancing rapidly, and it was evident that 
the building must soon be abandoned ; but one 
man, Mr. Miranda Whitcher, wishing to save 
some article of furniture which was in a room 
on the east side of the house, went thither. He 
had scarcely entered it before the flames sprung 
up behind, and firing an unplastered wall, made 
a retreat almost impossible. 4- dense volume of 
smoke now filled the room-t, choking and blinding 
liim ; but Mr. Whitcher, being a resolute man, 
resolved to inake an eflbrt to save his life. With 
one bound he shot through the flame, and tread- 
ing quickly along the tottering floor, which now 
creaked beneath his step, made for a distant 
window. Here the people below saw him and 
loudly shouted to him to jump out upon the 
ground; but he seemed possessed of a strange 
fatality, and not noticing them, gazed wildly 
around. The flames were creeping rapidly along 
the floor behind, and, scorching the poor man, 


he grasped the window sill and slowly let him- 
self down, but did not relinquish his hold. The 
fire at that instant bursting from the window 
below, circled up and around him. Individuals 
loudly entreated him to let go, but he heeded 
them not, until at last, exhausted, his hands 
slowly relaxed and he fell. It was now almost 
impossible to approach near enough to remove 
the poor man ; but two individuals resolutely 
advanced almost into the scorching flames, and 
succeeded in reaching him, whither he was re- 
moved to a little field situated on the north side 
of the road. The large buildings were now com- 
pletely enveloped in flames, crowned by an im- 
mense column of black smoke, which rolled 
itself aloft in the still air. Nearly all of the 
many individuals who were there had gathered 
around the almost dying man, whose groans, 
mingling with the crackling of the flames and 
the roar of the burning building, made a scene 
truly awful. In a few moments more, after one 
convulsive quiver, it fell, and the fine old house 
was a mass of burning ruins. Mr. Whitcher was 
then conveyed to his home, and in a few hours 

1847. This year the Methodist Episcopal So- 
ciety, under the pastoral charge of Rev. Sulli- 
van HoLMAN, built them a convenient little 
chapel in which to hold their meetings^ and short- 


ly after, during the time Rev. L. L. Eastman was 
their pastor, they purchased the beautiful toned 
bell that now hangs in its steeple. How many 
beautiful reflections are woke up in the mind, as 
listening, on some clear summer's day, its solemn 
peals float out on the air, echoing in many a 
shady dell and around the hill tops, at last die 
away in the distance. There is a charm in mu- 
sic that will soothe the wildest passion, and wake 
up to action man's better nature. 

At the Conference held at Claremont in June, 
1843, the Methodist Episcopal Society became 
a station, having been for a number of years pre- 
vious joined with Wentworth and Orford in a 

In 1848 several new routes were surveyed 
through Warren for the raih-oad, by Mr. Thomas 

At the regular town meeting this year it was 
" Voted, that it is not expedient to act on the 
subject of spirituous liquors in the town of War- 

At a meeting held November 7, the represent- 
ative of Warren to the legislature was instruct- 
ed to procure a copy of the charter of Peeling, 
now Woodstock. For a few years past this lat- 
ter town had been laying claim to a considera- 
ble part of East Warren. By its charter, Wood- 
stock was granted as nearly a square township. 


which at the present time it is not ; and Wood- 
stock, believing that Warren encroached on her 
territory, made the claim. But in the trial that 
was had on the case it was proved that the leg- 
islatm^e in 1784 had established, by an act for 
the purpose, the boundary lines of Warren and 
the towns around it, and the case was decided 
in favor of Warren. 

In the year 1849, early in the summer, the 
house of Mr. Vowel Leathers was burned, to- 
gether with his wife. It was on the Sabbath, 
and Mr. Leathers was absent, as was also his son. 
This fire created a great excitement in the pub- 
lic mind, and as Mrs. Leathers was blind, and 
could not help herself in any manner, there was 
a great deal of conjecture as to the cause of the 
fire. As yet, that cause has not been satisfacto- 
rily explained, and probably will forever remain 
a mystery. 

1850. March 9, upon the question of the ex- 
pediency of altering the Constitution, there 
were eighty-seven votes in favor and forty-six 

October 8. Chose Enoch R. Weeks a delegate 
to attend the State Convention, to be holden at 
Concord the sixth day of November, for the 
purpose of revising the Constitution. 

During the summer the present year, the Bos- 
ton, Concord and Montreal Railroad caused a 


new survey of the route from Warren to Woods- 
ville to be made -, and as the road was nearly 
finished from Plymouth to the south line of War- 
ren, a contract was made with Mr. Warren H. 
Smith, an enterprising gentleman residing at 
Sanbornton Bridge, to complete it to Warren 
village. The work was commenced the ensuing 
fall, in October, and before the first of April fol- 
lowing, the grading and bridges were nearly 
completed. As soon as the ground was suffi- 
ciently settled, Mr. Smith commenced to lay the 
track, and on the twenty-fifth of May it was 
completed to Warren Village, the first steam 
engine running into Warren the day before. 

On the evening of the 25th there was quite a 
celebration of the event by the people of War- 
ren, and Mr. Smith gave a bountiful and excel- 
lent supper at L. C. Whitcher's hall. The follow- 
ing Tuesday the Company held its annual meet- 
ing at Wentworth, and on the first Monday in 
June the cars began to run regularly from War- 

At the meeting of the Company at Wentworth 
it was voted to prefer six hundred thousand dol- 
lars of stock, with which to construct the road 
from Warren to Woodsville; and early in the 
fall the grading was contracted for by Mr. War- 
ren TI. Smith and rapidly commenced. The cut- 
ting through the ledge upon Warren Summit in- 


volved a large amount of labor, and occupied a 
hundred and fifty men, seventeen horses, with a 
number of yokes of cattle, a year and a half. 
The expense amounted to above one hundred thou- 
sand dollars. The cut is nearly three fourths of a 
mile in length, and in some places from fifty to 
sixty feet in depth. Near the north end a little 
rill of pure, clear water comes dashing down over 
the huge rocks, and at the bottom divides itself 
into two streams ; the waters of the one run- 
ning north emptying themselves into the Con- 
necticut, eventually find their way into the 
ocean through Long Island Sound, while those 
running south unite with Merrimack river, which 
discharges itself into the ocean nearly two hun- 
dred miles from the mouth of the Connecticut. 

The cars commenced running over this last 
section in the fall of 1852 as far as East Haver- 
hill, and early the ensuing spring the road was 
finished to Woodsville, where it connects with 
the Passumpsic Railroad and the White Moun- 
tains Railroad. 

1851. The town voted, by quite a large ma- 
jority, in fiivor of the Homestead Exemption 

In 1852, voted, by a large majority, that it is 
expedient to alter the Constitution. 

Previous to 1853 those large tracts of timber 

upon our hills and mountains have almost re- 


mained untouched, for the reason of the incon- 
venience of getting the timber to market, and 
the consequent unprofitableness of the business ; 
but now, through the medium which the rail- 
road affords, a rapid and convenient communi- 
cation is opened with the large towns upon the 
sea-shore, and thereby the business of lumbering 
is much more profitable; consequently several 
individuals are now extensively engaged in the 
work, and large quantities are sent to market. 

Wood has also become an object of imjDor- 
tance, and the once heavy forests are fast dis- 
appearing. Upon the side of Carr mountain a 
large company are now chopping, under the su- 
perintendence of Col. Charles Lane. This indi- 
vidual, more easily to facilitate the transporta- 
tion of the wood from the mountain side, has con- 
structed a sluice nearly two and one fourth miles 
in length, extending to the valley near the rail- 
road. The sluice is twenty inches in width 
and sixteen inches in height. In it he has 
turned the waters of Patch brook, a wild moun- 
tain stream, and placing the wood in this, it rap- 
idly descends, in its serpentine course, now cross- 
ing some deep gully, then spanning the torrent, 
and then creeping rapidly along on the side of 
some steep bank, it at last reaches the valley, 
having descended in its course over a thousand 


Mr. Lane also constructed a large canal, of 
about one half a mile in length, through which 
he has turned the water of Baker river into a 
large mill pond situated on Black brook. The 
cost of the work was about two thousand dol- 
lars. It was finished late in the fall, and the 
water first let in on the 28th of November. 

During the winter of 1854 the buildings of 
Mr. Amos Clement, together with nearly all their 
contents, including thirty-three valuable sheep, 
which they could not drive from the fire, a hog 
and a yearling steer, were destroyed. 

March 14, at the annual meeting of the legal 
voters of the town of Warren it was voted to ap- 
propriate fifty dollars to repair the meeting-house 
built in 1818, and also passed a resolve that the 
selectmen of Warren shall prosecute, at the ex- 
pense of the town, all violations of the License 
Law, which shall come to their knowledge. This 
vote shows the admirable ground upon which a 
majority of the people of Warren at the present 
time stand, in relation to temperance. May they 
lone: maintain it. 



There is beauty in all of nature's productions 
— yet in some far more than in others. New- 
Hampshire scenery will equal that of any other 
country. Her tall mountains are grand and sub- 
lime ; her beautiful lakes, constrasting with a 
milder beauty; while the gliding on of her 
noble rivers, or furious rushing of her moun- 
tain torrents, show a stern majesty combined 
with impetuous fury. The town of Warren has 
her liberal share of New-Hampshire wildness and 
beauty. The roaring torrent, the more smoothly 
gliding stream, the beautiful pond, the lofty 
mountain, towering far above the lower ranges 
of hills, and the craggy steeps, all lend their aid 
to deck her in nature's charms. 

Among the most imposing and grand of the 
scenes around us is Moosehillock mountain. This 
high elevation, as viewed from the south part of 
the town, presents two distinct peaks, each hav- 
ing a bold, sharp outline. An ascent to its sum- 
mit, although toilsome, when once gained, well 
repays, in the magnificent prospect it affords, for 
all the labor incurred. Standing upon its high- 
est peak, and looking down thousands of feet be- 


low in the deep and dark ravine where the rays 
of the sun scarce ever come, one sees the water 
trickling over the moss-covered rocks and form- 
ing the furions mountain torrent; further off 
the other neighboring mountains seem low down 
beneath, while in their valleys are the pleasant 
farms of the sturdy yeomanry of New-Hamp- 
shire. Looking south over the " Smile of the 
Great Spirit," above all, in the farthest off 
blue hazy distance, is seen the sky, settling down 
with azure tints into the almost boundless ocean. 
In the north a series of hills, divided by the wa- 
ters of the €onnecticut, stretch far away to the 
high table lands of Canada, To the east are the 
lofty granite White Mountains, terminating in 
Maine, with Mt. Pleasant on the south and Mt. 
Abrams and Bigelow on the north ; and to the 
west lay the rolling ranges of the Green Moun- 
tains ; while over them tower Camel's Rump in 
Vermont, and Mt. Marcy, of the Catskill Range, 
in New- York. The vegetation around upon the 
top of the mountain is similar to that of other 
high mountains of New-Hampshire. Blueberries, 
mountain cranberries, and harebells abound 
amid the crannies of the rocks, but no forest 
trees grow near the summit. 

Moosehillock receives its name from the circum- 
stance of there once being many moose found 
around it, and tradition says the Indians called 


it by a similar name though of a different meaning, 
it being Moosilauk ; Moosi in their language 
meaning bald, lauk place ; hald place, a name 
very appropriate, considering its bald summit. 
Of the many stories related concerning this 
mountain the following is the richest one : 

Long before the country was settled, and on 
the retreat of Major Rogers, after destroying the 
village of the Arosaguntacooks, the company, 
being short of provision, separated into small 
bands, that they might better supply themselves 
with food by hunting. One of these parties fol- 
lowed up the wild Amonoosuc, and in wandering 
about upon its upper waters were lost, and in 
time two of them climbed to the top of the 
mountain. Here they saw spread out before 
them the country, which was covered by a dense 
forest, and they traced the course of the rivers 
that ran south. They then descended upon the 
southern slope, and when they arrived at the 
forest stopped to quench their thirst at a little 
mountain rill. One of them drank and proceed- 
ed slowly on, but the other, as he kneeled to sip 
the sparkling water, saw shining in the sand at 
the bottom what appeared to be bright grains of 
gold. Picking up a handful of these, he tied 
them in a corner of his handkerchief, and after 
heaping a small monument of stones on the 
bank, departed. The particles which he collect- 


ed he carried to Boston, and on showing them to 
a jeweler was informed that they were gold, and 
received for them fifty dollars. The man now 
made preparation to return to his golden foun- 
tain, but being taken sick, shortly after died, and 
the golden stream has not since been discovered. 
Following round upon the east line of the 
town, and noticing the principal objects which 
serve to form Warren's varied scenery. First, 
to the south of Moosehillock, upon the left rises 
the Walternumus, so called from an Indian 
chief. It is a green, wooded mountain, with three 
summits, which are in Woodstock. At its foot 
runs Baker river, which rises on the north side 
of Moosehillock, from a large spring situated in 
an immense circular basin, formed by two spurs 
pf that mountain. Thence, for several miles in 
the dark ravines about these mountains, when 
the snows are melting or heavy rains have fallen, 
it rushes onward a furious torrent, until it reach- 
es a more level country, where it looses its wild, 
turbulent spirit ; and, flowing on in fertile mead- 
ows, receiving in its course the water of many 
other streams, it at last unites with the Pemige- 
wasset in Plymouth. This stream receives its 
name from Capt. Baker, who defeated the In- 
dians at their encampment near its mouth, in 
1725. There is a tradition in vogue that the 


Indians called the river Pehaungun, and the 
Pemigewassets once had a chief of that name. 

We do not wish to be finding fault with the 
names by which many of our mountains, ponds 
and rivers are known ; but who would not rather 
they would all be called by those harmonious, 
beautiful, rich, swelling names* bestowed by the 
red men of the forest, who once battled and 
hunted around them ; for every lake, river and 
forest in our country was designated by them 
with a name appropriate to its situation and 
character. The Indian language was a beautiful 
nomenclature ; but it seems that our forefathers, 
with driving them from the soil, were anxious to 
obliterate almost every trace of their existence, 
and now only few of their names remain with us. 

Next to the Walternumus is Kineo mountain, 
standing in the north-east corner of the town — 
deriving its name from another Indian chief. 
This mountain is also densely wooded. East 
Branch takes its rise upon its western slope, and 
falls into Baker river near the place where it also 
receives Merrill brook, from the side of Moose- 
hillock ; while, in the valley separating from 
Cushman mountain, is Kineo brook — a small 
stream, w^hose fountain is but a few rods distant 
from that of another stream, which runs east 
through Woodstock, and unites with the Pemi- 
gewasset. This mountain is 2700 feet high, 


while its neighbor, Ciishman mountain, is 3000 
feet. The highest point of Cushman mountain 
is in Warren, although a greater portion of it is 
in Woodstock and Ellsworth — the latter towns 
forming their corner on its northern side. 

The mountain receives its name from a hunter 
of olden time, who, late one autumn, was trap- 
ping sable upon it. One day, after being busily 
engaged in his labor, he entered his camp, and 
night had scarcely begun to come over him, 
when the melancholy howl of the wolves struck 
on his ear, the mournful echoes of which were 
repeated through every part of the forest. Eve- 
ry moment they seemed to approach nearer, and 
soon his camp is surrounded by a pack of the 
hungry creatures. Snatching his gun, he scram- 
bled up a small sapling near by, just in time to 
save himself from their jaws. Being disappoint- 
ed of their prey, they howled and leaped about 
in mad fury. Cushman now thought he would 
treat them vv^ith a little cold lead, and aiming at 
the leader of the pack, fired. The wolf gave a 
mad howl, and, leaping several feet in the air, 
fell to the ground, and was torn in pieces by his 
hungry companions. Loading his gun, he fired 
at another, who shared the same fate. Again 
he fired and killed the third, when the wolves, 
seeing their numbers decreasing, and having 
satisfied their appetites upon one of their own 


species, fled, and Cushman was no more annoyed 
by them that night. 

The last of this range is Mount Carr, which is 
located partly in each of the towns of Vv^arren, 
Ellsworth, Rumney and Wentworth, and is 3381 
feet in height. 

" It is composed," says Dr. Jackson, " of gran- 
ite, overlaying mica slate ; and from the vertical 
dip of this rock at its base, it would seem highly 
probable that the granite had been erupted 
through it, forming a cap on its summit." The 
mountain is wooded to the top ; but owing to 
the great elevation, the trees are stunted and 
gnarled in appearance, and consist principally of 
low firs and mountain birch. From this circum- 
stance it is seldom ascended, as it would be al- 
most impossible to obtain a good prospect of the 
surrounding scenery. 

When the country was first settled, and its 
geography but little known, a certain Mr. Carr, 
wishing to proceed from Ellsworth to Warren, 
attempted to cross the mountain. At the time 
he left Ellsworth the sky was free from clouds, 
and every appearamce gave sign of pleasant 
weather. But he had proceeded but a short dis- 
tance in the woods before there arose a terrific 
shower, common to mountainous regions, and 
after raining a short time, instead of clearing 
away, a thick fog set in, and a long rain ensuing. 



it did not lift itself from the mountain for three 
days. At the commencement of the shower Mr. 
Carr crept mider the trunk of a large tree which 
had fallen across a knoll ; and as it did not cease 
raining, but continued to fall more violently, he 
concluded that he should be obliged to remain 
in his present situation during the night. The 
log over his head was an immense hemlock, and 
peeling some of the loose bark from the trunk, 
he sat it with sticks of rotton wood against the 
sides of the tree, more effectually to shield him 
from the falling water. He had no means of 
lighting a fire ; and as he had gained a consider- 
able elevation, as night came on he began to feel 
the effects of the cool air. He had taken provi- 
sion enough for his dinner, but nothing more ; 
and as he sat, hungry and shivering, the scene 
to him was a solitary one. The rain, as it fell 
upon the large green leaves, or sifted through 
the evergreen boughs of the hemlock and spruce, 
kept up a confused, pattering, sifting noise ; and 
as it grew dark, he laid down and tried to sleep, 
listening to its doleful music. But this was al- 
most impossible, for as a drowse would steal upon 
him, some great owl overhead would scream out 
suddenly; and then, as its rough music died 
away, the other inhabitants of the forest took up 
the strain ; and he heard the hoarse howl of the 
wolf, and the long-drawn halloo of the bear, 


echoing from every part of the forest. Thus the 
night passed away — its long hours seeming like 
weeks, until at last the dark, misty light of morn- 
ing began to dawn around, and reveal the huge, 
gnarled trunks of the trees through the thick 
fog. Numb with cold, he arose and resolved to 
make an effort to find his way out of the woods. 
He started on as he thought up the mountain, 
and traveled until he imagined he had reached 
the top. He then descended until he arrived at 
the foot, and began to have hoj)e that he should 
find the settlement ; but he was doomed to dis- 
appointment, for he had traveled but a short 
distance before he began to ascend again. He 
then tried to retrace his steps, but it was of no 
avail, and after wandering about for a long time 
he found himself standing upon the shore of a 
small pond. It still rained, and the descending 
drops, as they struck upon the smooth surface of 
the little mountain lake, made strange music 
for the ear of Carr. He now made up his mind, 
as it was near night, to rempJn here until the 
following day. He built himself a slight camp 
by the side of a rock, and sitting down passed a 
much more dreary night than the first. Cold 
and shivering, as he lay by the side of that sheet 
of water he heard the hoarse croaking of the 
frogs, mingling with the voices of his serenaders 
of the previous night ; but exhausted nature 

MR. carr's adventure. 125 

would at times overcome these difficulties, and 
sleep for a few moments steal upon him ; but 
even then his anxieties would not leave him, and 
he would awake unrefreshed to a true sense of 
his situation. The night, though a long one to 
him, at last passed away. It had ceased raining, 
and although foggy, he was able to distinguish 
the position of the sun when it rose, and by it to 
learn his points of compass. Two nights had 
passed and he had not tasted food, and hunger 
was now oj^pressing him severely. To satisfy it 
he proceeded to a small stream near by, that ran 
from. the pond, in hope that he might catch some 
fish ; but after a few ineffectual attempts he gave 
up the design, and proceeded back to the pond. 
As he stood looking at the water, he saw swim- 
ming about and hopping along the shore numer- 
ous frogs — his last night's serenaders."i^'^A hungry 
man will do almost any thing to satisfy his crav- 
ing appetite, and Carr, after catching and killing 
a number of frogs, cut them up with his knife, 
and made quite a meal upon the raw flesh. — 
Feeling now much refreshed, he resolved once 
more to make an attempt to find the settle- 
ment. Taking a westerly course, he at last again 
found himself upon the top of the mountain. 
The clouds hung thick around, making it impos- 
sible to distinguish any object a few feet distant; 
and once more Carr found himself in a critical 


position. But proceeding cautiously he at last 
began to descend, as he believed upon the oppo- 
site side. For a number of hours he slowly de- 
scended the mountain, crossing in his course sev- 
eral furious torrents, until at last, reaching the 
level country, after traveling for some time, final- 
ly began to think that he should be obliged to 
spend another night in the woods ; but as he 
commenced to look around for a convenient 
camping place, the sharp ringing of some settler's 
axe greeted his ear. Instantly relinquishing his 
design of camping, he proceeded towards what 
was to him the joyful sound, and soon emerged 
into a recent clearing. In the centre stood a 
snug cabin, and he quickly found himself within 
its hospitable walls. Here he was generously 
provided for, and after somewhat recovering from 
his fatigue, related his adventure in the woods. 
Gradually the story circulated through the neigh- 
boring settlements, and the people gave his name 
to the mountain upon which his adventure hap- 

Upon the east side of this mountain, situated 
in what might be called an immense horse-shoe 
basin, are three small, beautiful sheets of water, 
called Glen ponds, two of which are in Warren, 
and the remaining one in Ellsworth. There is 
no settler within several miles of these little 
lakes, and the persons who visit them — as many 


do to obtain from their waters the beautiful trout 
with which they abound — see the same appear- 
ances that have characterized this vicinity for 
ages anterior to the settlement of the country 
by the white man. No house or field is visible, 
nor no clearings upon the distant hill-side are 
seen. The steep mountain sides show nothing 
but the dark foliage of the spruce and fir, with 
here and there a scraggy stump peering above 
it. The little rill that unites the waters of the 
two ponds murmurs on in solitude at noonday. 
The low blueberry bush and the brakes grow 
thick upon its banks, and here the owl finds his 
day retreat, and at night, attracted by the bright 
camp-fires of fishermen by the shore, sallies forth 
to startle them with his loud To ivlioo ! To ivhoo I 
and make their repose any thing but agreeable. 
Well may they be called by the name they bear, 
for here is always the shaded glen. On its 
northern slope rises Carr brook, and not far from 
the head waters of this stream, from several 
springs situated near the summit, and more than 
three thousand feet above the ocean. Patch 
brook, receiving its name from the circumstance 
that Mr. Joseph Patch first erected his cabin 
upon its south bank, near its confluence with 
Hurricane brook. From its fountain it flows 
along for a mile or two through dark ravines, 
shaded still darker by the heavy growth of spruce 


and hemlock, among which until very recently 
the axe of civilized man never made an opening, 
— -just before leaving the forest it rushes madly 
down several steep precipices, forming a number 
of beautiful cascades. This cataract in the spring 
of the year, when the snow is melting, or a large 
freshet has occurred, to fill the stream with 
water, is a most magnificent water-fall, and tum- 
bles, by a series of successive leaps, over the 
rocks the distance of one hundred feet. At the 
foot, the water, all white with foam, rushes madly 
around the circling eddies, as if frightened by 
the wild leaps it had taken. The old forest, 
composed of gigantic hemlocks and spruces, in- 
termingled with birch and maple, shuts out all 
but a few straggling rays of the sun, giving a 
twilight mildness to the scene. 

From this place it flows on, a sluggish stream, 
receiving in its course the waters of many a 
sandy-rimmed spring, and at last unites with Ba- 
ker river near the south line of the town. 

A little east of Patch brook, and situated be- 
tween this stream and Hurricane brook, which 
receives its name from the circumstance of a ter- 
rific whirlwind once occurring along the ravines 
through which it flows, and in which it forms 
several beautiful water-falls, is Peaked Hill. — 
This is a beautiful conical eminence, and its sides 
are covered with a fine growing wood, while its 


summit is in summer a green pasture, and in 
winter presents a white snow cap to the forest 
below. A view from the top is picturesque and 
beautiful. Around are all the various features 
of nature's beauty and grandeur: the forest- 
crowned height, the abrupt declivity, the shel- 
tered valley, the deep glen, the grassy glade, the 
silent grove. Here are the lofty maples, the 
beach that wreaths its old fantastic roots so high, 
the rustling pine, the waving birch, and the ever- 
green, with its perennial shoots. Here, too, is the 
thick shrubbery, and the wild flower creeping up 
the nioss-covered rocks. All around there rests 
a beautiful calm, disturbed only by the breeze 
that murmurs through the waving top of the 
forest, or the notes of the warbler pouring forth 
its joyful song. To the east we behold, towering 
heavenward thousands of feet above, the blue, 
forest-clad Mt. Carr, while on either hand are 
distant hills and lofty mountains. Turning and 
looking down a thousand feet below is seen wind- 
ing slowly at times, anli then coursing madly 
along over its seemingly white, rocky bed, the 
sparkling waters of the Baker. Winding slowly 
along to unite with it are seen Patch brook and 
Hurricane brook, while farther off Black brook, 
its ponds adding lustre to the scene, and Cold 
brook, a tiny stream, running with a purling, 

joyous noise from its sandy rimmed spring, which 



gushes up so gaily from its pebbly white bottom. 
Along upon the sides of the old road, north and 
south, are seen the prosperous farm houses of the 
thrifty husbandmen ; the fine blue smoke, curl- 
ing up gracefully from the weather-beaten chim- 
neys ; while upon a slightly elevated spur of land 
stands the pleasant little village, with its white 
cottages and sombre-hued station houses, and 
heavy iron track, leading to and from ; over which 
the huge iron horse so proudly courses. The 
beautiful and white painted churches upon 
the green, while upon its borders, casting a beau- 
tiful shade, are the vigorous growing maples. 
The busy workshops, the mills, with their musical 
water wheels ; the opening vistas, are all before 
us, and we breathe amid the fresh and varied 
labors of men. 

Leaving Peaked hill, which receives its name 
(although it deserves a better one) from its con- 
ical form, we pass through the valley of Baker 
river across the railroad, and that wild stream, 
and find ourselves upon the western hill-side 
from the village. Here the ground is rocky, and 
broad strips of stone peer out on the surface. 
Upon the top of a high, jutting rock, we find cut 
four concave holes, representing the four points 
of compass. How long these have been formed 
no one at the present time happens to know, and 
some date their formation back to the time of 


the red sons of the forest, and say they were 
made by the Indians. Be this as it may, they 
perhaps will always remain a mystery. From 
this point the land rises gradually to the top of 
Sentinel mountain, so called from its isolated 
position. This mountain, which is twenty-five 
hundred feet in height, is covered with a fertile 
soil, and is wooded upon its summit, while upon 
its sides are located many fine farms. Near the 
top rise two small streams. One of them, which 
runs south into Wentworth, is called Leathers' 
brook, from a man by that name who lived near 
it, and it is said he descended from a Gipsy tribe. 
The other is a branch of. Bowls' brook, which 
runs into Black brook, and is so called from 
Charles Bowls, who lived by it. 

This range of mountains was termed by Dr. 
Dwight the Lyme range, and, as said by him, af- 
forded some of the most beautiful scenery to be 
found in this section of New Hampshire. Upon 
its northern slope is Tarlton pond, which lies 
partly in Piermont and partly in Warren, al- 
though much the larger portion of it is in the 
former town. This sheet of water is two miles 
in length and nearly one in bredth, and receives 
its name from a family by the name of Tarlton, 
who, in the early settling of the town, cleared a 
farm upon its shore. It discharges its waters 
through the town of Piermont into the Connect- 


icut river. A boat ride upon it in a summer 
day presents a very picturesque view. To the 
east is seen the towering summit of Moosehil- 
lock and the other dark and sombre hued moun- 
tains that cluster around it, while in the west 
Cross' hill, and further off in the distance the 
green, variegated sides of the far off mountains 
of Vermont are visible. 

To the south of this pond are two others in 
Piermont, and between these and the first named 
runs the old Turnj^ike. Upon this road, near 
the height of land, a Mr. Samuel Flanders was 
once traveling; and as he was passing a piece of 
woods had his attention attracted by the cack- 
ling of a goose, and looking up saw an enormous 
wild cat, who had caught it and was now strip- 
ping off the feathers, preparatory to making his 
supper. The cat was too fond of poultry to have 
a prudent regard for his own safety, and Mr. 
Flanders not having a thought of the danger 
he would be in, with a large goad stick in 
his hand attacked the cat, and with a well directed 
blow stretched it upon the ground and succeeded 
in dispatching it. 

North-east from Tarlton pond, and situated in 
the north part of the town, near Benton line, is 
Webster Slide. In viewing it from day to day 
one beholds its same sharp outlines and precipi- 
tous faqe, which its hard rocks have sustained 


since its upheaval. A view from its summit is 
very picturesque. On the south lies at its base 
a little lake, surrounded with green woods, receiv- 
ing the many purling rills which gush from its 
side and trickle over its moss-covered rocks. — 
Beyond, the towering summits of the eastern 
mountains are seen, with the valley of Baker 
river intervening, and in the west several sheets 
of water, while farther off in the distance several 
conical peaks of granite mountains are in full 

In the early settlement of the town an inci- 
dent occurred upon this mountain, from which 
originated the name it now bears. A certain 
Mr. Webster in the fall of the year was out hunt- 
ing for moose. He started one in Piermont, and 
followed him by Tarlton pond into Warren. — 
Here he took an easterly course, evidently de- 
signing to cross over the lower ranges of moun- 
tains, and make for Moosehillock. When he 
reached the summit of what is now called Web- 
ster Slide, the dogs came up with him and pressed 
upon him so hard, that he took a southerly course 
upon the top of the mountain, and arrived upon 
the edge of the precipice without noticing the 
critical position in which he was placed. The 
dogs were close upon him, and as he turned they 
attacked him, and in the encounter a quantity 
of loose stones and earth, upon which they stood, 


chanced to give way, and the moose and one of 
the dogs were precipitated down the steep side. 
As Mr. Webster was following on, he met the re- 
maining dog returning, and with it proceeded to 
the place where they encountered the moose. 
Webster cautiously approached the edge of the 
precipice, and looking down saw the track of the 
slide. He then descended upon one of the sides 
which was not so steep, and following round 
near the base, he at last found near the foot of 
the mountain the dead bodies of the moose and 

To one travelling from place to place, every 
change in position presents a new scene, and 
there is consequently ever passing before the 
eye a beautiful picture, beholding which gives 
delight to every lover of nature's scenes. So in 
passing from Webster Slide to the shore of Mead- 
er pond, one finds himself by the side of a sheet 
of water, surrounded by thick woods, scarce yet 
disturbed by civilization. Looking across the 
surface of this little lake, he sees before him 
the sharp, precipitous face of the mountain rising 
up almost perpendicular out of the water. Upon 
the high top among the huge rocks are growing 
a few solitary clumps of stunted firs and spruces ; 
while in the numerous crannies thrive the hare- 
bell and blueberry bush. On either side, except 
a little pasture near the foot of the mountain, 


is the dark, old evergreeen forest, with its huge 
hemlocks and spruces mingling their branches 
with other kinds of wood. Paddling out upon its 
surface one sees rising into view the tops of the 
distant hills and mountains, but in no direction 
is human habitation visible. 

This is the largest sheet of water wholly with- 
in the town, and receives its name from Paul 
Header, who settled near it. It contains about 
fifty acres, and it is said when first discovered its 
waters were destitute of fish ; they not being able 
to pass up Oak Falls. But this is believed by 
maUy to be a mistake, for in the short space of 
two years after a Mr. Heath and Mr. Johnson 
had put some very small ones into it, several 
were captured, each of which weighed from five 
to eight pounds. 

From Meader pond runs Black brook. This 
stream for a short distance meanders through the 
heavy growth of wood ; then, flowing on in the 
open field until it arrives at the top of a high, 
precipitous bank, about three-fourths of a mile 
from the pond. Here, in falling down, it forms 
a beautiful cascade, known by the name of Oak 
Falls. Standing at its top, and looking down, 
one sees the white foaming waters beneath, shad- 
ed upon either side by the thick growth of wood. 
At the foot, two hundred feet below, stands an 
old mill fast falling to decay, and a little farther 



off is the deep railroad cut, upon the Summit. 
Looking up, the towering peak of Moosehillock 
mountain is seen, while on the right Mount Carr, 
with its sides covered to the top with green 
woods, looms up against the sky. On the left, 
Black mountain in Benton, and Owl Head, with 
its steep granite face, fills up the picture. 

Here once occurred a tragical scene. A Mr. 
Meader with several others were rolling logs 
down the steep bank near the falls. They had 
rolled down several during the day, and had 
nearly finished their work, when one of the men 
with the team hauled a very large one to the 
edge of the precipice ; some of them immediate- 
ly took hold to roll it off, and among them Mr. 
Meader. Something obstructing it, he let go, 
and, taking up a lever, with a hook attached, 
fastened it to the log. They then all lifting suc- 
ceeded in starting it, and then stepped back out 
of the way, except Mr. Meader, who, in attempt- 
ing to disengage his lever, stumbled, and having 
a firm hold of it, was thrown over in front of the 
log. His companions heard one unearthly 
scream, and, looking over, saw the huge stick 
thundering far down the precipice after its pred- 
ecessors, while Mr. Meader laid but a short dis- 
tance below, a mangled corpse. 

From the cascade the water, after flowing a 
mile and a half, supplying in its course a motive 


power for machinery upon its banks, assumes a 
sluggish, black appearance in the meadows, which 
formerly must have been the bed of a large pond 
containing a number of hundred acres, but which 
now comprises several beautiful farms. At the 
place where must have been the mouth of this 
now runaway pond, was built the first saw-mill 
ever erected in Warren. Half a mile below this 
it receives, in a large mill pond which it forms, 
a part of the water of Baker river, through a 
canal and an underground passage. Half 
a mile from this place, after turning numerous 
water wheels, it unites with Baker river a short 
distance below the village. From the blackness 
which has always characterized the waters of this 
stream, it has borne the name of Black brook 
since the settlement of the town. 

Upon the right hand of Black brook, as one fol- 
lows along by its running waters, or rides after the 
swift steam horse from the Summit, is a large swell 
of land, upon which are located many excellent 
farms, which the owners are every year improv- 
ing and making more beautiful. Upon the east- 
ern side of this ridge runs Berry brook, which 
rises upon the north-west side of Moosehillock, 
and flows on the same level with the Oliverian, 
within one half a mile of that stream. They 
then take opposite directions — the Oliverian flow- 
ing west, and emptying into the Connecticut, and 


the Berry brook south, through a large hollow, 
shaded by a high jutting spur of Moosehillock ; 
at one time meandering along in its solitude and 
then swiftly rushing over some rapid fall, for 
two or three miles, when it reaches the open 
country and unites with Baker river near the 
centre of the town. 

Before the settlement of the country this 
stream abounded with ponds formed by the 
beavers' dams, and the remains of many of them 
are still to be seen. Here, generation after gen- 
eration sported in its waters or fashioned their 
neatly finished mud domicils. It was a secluded 
place, and their habitations were in but little 
danger of being disturbed. But as the lower 
section of the country grew more populous, this 
vicinity was considered a rich hunting ground, 
and numerous were the hardy individuals who 
traversed it. A short time before its settlement 
a young man by the name of Berry came to this 
section on such an excursion, and captured many 
beavers upon this stream. From this circum- 
stance it received its name. 

There is also much other fine scenery, and 
beautiful rides in every direction. Hundreds of 
smaller eminences overlook the landscapes and 
views that would adorn the canvas of the paint- 
er, and here the seeker of pleasure and rural life 
finds all that can attract and charm the mind. 




Since the organization of the town by the 
State, it has had its board of officers regularly 
chosen with but very few exceptions. In the 
commencement, when the town contained but 
a few inhabitants, it classed with several 
other towns for representation; consequently 
there would sometimes many years intervene 
between the representation of the people of 
Warren by one of its own citizens. From 1800 
to 1828, as the representatives were not chosen 
at the annual town meetings, the town clerks 
were negligent about recording the names of 
those who represented the town ; consequently 
some of them may possibly be omitted. 

Selectmen from 1779 to 1854. 


Ephraim True, 

Joseph Patch. 

Obadiah Clement, 

Simeon Smith, 


Joshua Copp, 

Joshua Merrill. 

Joshua Copp, 

Israel Stevens. 


Stephen Richardson, 


William Butler. 

Joshua Copp, 

Joshua Merrill, 


Thomas Clark, 

William Butler. 

William Butler, 

John Whitcher. 


Joshua Copp, 


Obadiah Clement, 

Stephen Richardson. 

Obadiah Clement, 

Stevens Merrill, 


William Butler, 

Samuel Knight. 

Joshua Copp, 

Isaiah Batchelder. 


Ephraim True, 


Obadiah Clement, 

Nathaniel Knight. 

Joshua Copp, 

Stevens Merrill, 



Nathaniel Knight, 
Samuel Knight, 
Moses Copp. 

Nathaniel Knight, 
Jonathan Merrill, 
Stephen Richardson, 
Abel Merrill. 

Joshua Copp, 
William Butler, 
Stephen Richardson. 

Ephraim True, 
Joseph French, 
Samuel Knight. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Joseph French, 
Jonathan Clement. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Thomas Boynton, 
Aaron Welch. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Thomas Boynton, 
Joseph French. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Elisha Swett. 

William Butler, 
Jonathan Merrill, 
Joseph French. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Elisha Swett, 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Ezra Bartlett, 
William Butler. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Ezra Bartlett, 
Abel Merrill. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Elisha Swett. 

Ezra Bartlett, 
Abel Merrill, 
Elisha Swett. 

Abel Merrill, 
William Butler, 
Daniel Patch. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Daniel Patch, 
Jonathan Fellows. 

Abel Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, 
Elisha Swett. 

Joseph Patch, jr., 
Aaron Welch, 
Ebenezer Barker. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, jr., 
Jonathan Fellows. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Amos Tarlton. 

Abel Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, jr., 
Amos Tarlton. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Benjamin Merrill, 
Joseph Merrill. 

Joseph Patch, 
Thomas Whipple, 
Stephen Flanders. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, jr. 

Jonathan Merrill, 

Abel Merrill, 
Moses H. Clement. 

Jonathan Merrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
James Williams. 

Joseph Patch, jr., 
Moses H. Clement, 
Stephen Flanders. 

Joseph Patch, jr., 
Nathaniel Clough, 
Jacob Patch. 

Nathaniel Clough, 
Jacob Patch, 
Amos Tarlton. 

Jacob Patch, 
Amos Tarlton, 
George Libbey. 

Abel Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, 

Jacob Patch, 
Moses H. Clement, 
William Clough. 

Moses H. Clement, 
Jacob Patch, 
William Clough. 

Jacob Patch, 
William Clougli, 
Enoch R. Weeks. 

Moses H. Clement, 
Enoch R. Weeks, 
Stevens Merrill. 

Moses H. Clement, 
Enoch R. Weeks, 
Samuel Merrill. 

William Clough, 
Samuel Merrill, 
George Libbey. 



Jacob Patch, 
Benjamin Little,1 
Samuel Merrill. 

Jacob Patch, 
Benjamin Little, 
Anson Morrill. 

Enoch R. Weeks, 
Moses H. Clement, 
Samuel L. Merrill. 

Moses H. Clement, 
Samuel L. Merrill, 
Samuel Merrill. 

Jacob Patch, 
Isaac Merrill, 2d, 
Solomon Cotton. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
Solomon Cotton, 
George Libbey. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
George Libbey, 
Enoch R. Weeks. 

William Clough, 
William Pomeroy, 

Jonathan Little. 

William Pomeroy, 
Jonathan Little, 
Joseph Bixby. 

Jonathan Little, 
Joseph Bixby, 
Stevens M. Dow. 

Enoch R. Weeks, 
Solomon Cotton, 
Nathaniel Merrill, 2d. 

Enoch R. Weeks, 
William Pomeroy, 
Russell F. ClitTord. 

Isaac Merrill, 
Russell P. Clifford, 
Stevens M. Dow. 

Isaac Merrill, 
Russell F. Clifford, 
James S. Merrill. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
James S. Merrill, 
James Clement. 

Jesse Little, 

Solomon Cotton, 
Ira M. Weeks. 

Jesse Little, 
Ira M. Weeks, 
David Smith. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
David Smith, 
Thomas P. Huckins. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
Thomas P. Huckins, 
Alba C. Weeks. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
Alba C. Weeks, 
Michael P. Merrill. 

Samuel L. Merrill, 
Michael P. Merrill, 
Joseph Clement. 

David Smith, 
Joseph Clement, 
Jonathan Little. 

William Pomeroy, 
Ezra W. Cleasby, 
James Clement. 

Town Clerks. 


Obadiah Clement, 
Joshua Copp, 
Joshua Merrill, 
Nathaniel Knight, 
Joshua Copp, 
Jonathan Merrill, 
Ezra Bartlett, 
Abel Merrill, 
Jonathan Morrill, 
Abel Merrill, 
Jonathan Merrill, 
Benjamin Morrill, 

6 years. 
1 year 

1 year. 

2 years. 
2 years. 

10 years.^ 
2 years 
1 year. 

1 year. 

2 years. 
2 years. 
2 years. 



Thomas Whipple, 
Jonathan Merrill, 
Joseph Patch, jr., 
Robert Burns, 
Joseph Patch, jr., 
Moses H. Clement, 
Enoch R. Weeks, 
Anson Merrill, 
Jesse Little, 
Russell K. Clement, 
Isaac Merrill, 
Russell K. Clement, 

2 years. 
1 year. 
1 year. 

1 year. 

2 years. 
7 years. 

1 year. 
4 years. 

7 years. 
6 years. 

2 years. 

8 years. 





Obadiah Clement, 

2 years. 


Moses H. Clement, 

1 year. 


William Tarlton, 

1 year. 


Enoch R. Weeks, 

2 years. 


Jonathan Merrill, 

3 years. 


Jacob Patch, 

1 year. 


William Butler, 

2 years. 


Moses H. Clement, 

1 year. 


William Tarlton, 

1 year. 


Jacob Patch, 

1 year. 


Abel Merrill, 

1 year. 


Moses H. Clement, 

1 year. 


Ezra Bartlett, 

2 years. 


Moses H. Clement, 

1 year. 


Abel Merrill, 

2 years. 


Enoch R. Weeks, 

1 year. 


Daniel Davis, 

1 year. 


Jesse Little, 

2 years. 


Abel Merrill, 

2 years. 


William Clough, 

2 years 


Daniel Davis, 

1 year. 


Russell K. Clement, 

2 years. 


Joseph Patch, jr., 

2 years. 


Jonathan Little, 

2 years. 


Daniel Davis, 

1 year. 


Russell K. Clement, 

1 year. 


Joseph Patch, jr.. 

4 years. 


L. C. Whitcher, 

2 years. 


Amos Tarlton, 

2 years. 


William Pomeroy, 

2 years. 


Abel Merrill, 

2 years. 


Isaac Merrill, 

1 year. 


Jacob Patch, 

1 year. 


Russell K. Clement. 


Joshua Copp, 1779, 82, 98, 99; Thomas Clark, 1780, 1 ; William Butler, 1783, 4, 
7, 8, 91, 4, 1801 ; Stevens Merrill, 1785, 9, 90 ; Absalom Peters, 1786 ; EphraimTrue, 
1792; Thomas Boynton, 1793, 5; Abel Merrill, 1796, 1802, 3,5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 
17, 18, 19, 20, 25 ; Aaron Welch, 1797 ; Ezra Bartlett, 1800, 8, 11 ; Obadiah Clement, 
1804 ; Jonathan Merrill, 1806, 9 ; Daniel Patch, 1816,21,2,3,4; George Libbey, 
1826,36,7,8,9,40,2; Jacob Patch, 1827, 8 9, 30, 1, 2, 3, 4 ; Anson Merrill, 1835 ; 
Isaac Merrill, 1841, 3, 8, 52, 3 ; William Pomeroy, 1844, 5, 7 ; Francis A. Cushman, 
1846 ; Michael P. Merrill, 1849, 50, 1, 4. 

School Committees. 

David C.French, 
Horatio W. Heath, 
Robert E. Merrill 

Jacob Patch, 
Anson Merrill, 
Jonathan Little. 

saac Merrill, 2d, 
Job E. Merrill, 
Russell F. Clifford. 

Jonathan Little, 
John L. Merrill, 

Nathaniel Merrill, 2d. 

Job E. Merrill, 
Stevens M. Dow, 
Russell K. Clement. 

Job E. Merrill, 
Stevens M. Dow, 
Anson Merrill. 

Jesse Little, 
Moses Merrill, 
Russell K. Clement. 

Michael P. Merrill, 

David Smith, 
James M. Williams. 

David Smith, 
Michael P. Merrill, 
James M. Williams. 

Michael P. Merrill, 
Dudley B. Cotton, 
Ira M. Weeks. 

David Smith, 
Dudley B. Cotton, 
Ira M. Weeks. 



Dudley B. Cotton, 
Ira Merrill, 
James M. Williams. 

William Merrill, 
Alba C. Weeks, 

Joseph B. Cotton. 

William Merrill, 
Joseph B. Cotton, 
James M. Williams. 

Michael P. Merrill. 

James M. Williams, 
Ira Merrill. 

Ira Merrill. 

Population at different periods. 

1780 about 125 
1790 206 
1800 336 



1840 938 
1850 900 
1854 1256 

Amount of money raised each year to pay toimi charges. 

1779 £100 







1780 150 






1781 500 







1782 4>i* 






1783 6 







1784 5 














1786 5 














1788 3 







1789 6 







1790 9 







1791 6 












1793 \% 







1791 C 







1795 3 













1797 $l;^.^3 







* Silver money. 


CHAPTER yill. 


"Warren derives its beautiful name from Admi- 
ral Warren, of Louisburg notoriety. This com- 
mander rendered efficient service in wresting that 
almost impregnable fortress from the French. 
The troops sent against it were principally New 
Hampshire and Massachusetts men, and the pro- 
prietors, wishing to honor him, mentioned his 
name as the one by which they wished the town- 
ship called. The town bears also the same name 
as Gen. Warren, one of those revolutionary he- 
roes who fell as a martyr to the cause of freedom 
at the battle of Bunker Hill, and whose deeds 
are remembered by every true-hearted American 
with pride. 

Warren is situated in Longitude 5 ° East from 
Washington ; Latitude 43 ° 50 : It is' bounded 
on the north by Benton and Woodstock, east by 
Woodstock and Ellsworth, south by Wentworth, 
and west by Piermont. It is seventy miles from 
Concord, on the route of the Boston, Concord & 
Montreal Railroad, twelve from Haverhill, and 
ninety-eight from Portsmouth. 

The town is rough and uneven, except on the 
river, but the soil is generally of a fertile char- 


acter, and by fair cultivation yields respectable 
crops ; although the first settlers realized better 
ones than are obtained at the present time. The 
soil was then new and had not been exhausted 
by a jperhaps sometimes injudicious method of 
farming. But the individual who now walks over 
the pleasant fields, and little dreams of the hard 
toil that has been spent to make them what they 
are, if he will but consider a moment, he will 
perceive that he is more blessed by what he 
receives from the earth than was the early pioneer. 
The early settler was a stranger to many of 
the conveniences and comforts of life. He had not 
the implements for cultivating his land which 
are now possessed, and it was a long distance 
to populous settlements. Instead of houses of 
worship and other instruction, mills, stores and 
shops, around them was the wild wilderness ; and 
it was not unfrequent to see the harmless moose 
approach the humble cottage, and the inoffensive 
deer was seen feeding on their little improve- 
ments. The beaver, the otter and the muskrat 
sported up and down the rivers and the brooks 
almost unmolested, while the midnight howling 
of the bear and wolf announced to them their 
intended depredations on their flocks, herds and 
fields. Although wood and timber was plenty, 
so much of it was more of an evil than a blessing. 
Their household and farming utensils were rude, 


and for the fine plows, harrows, hoes, shovels, 
carpets, sofas and pianos, they had the wooden 
plow, the wooden-toothed harrow, the crotchet 
stick for a fork, and home-made spinning wheels 
and looms. For the want of carriages they trav- 
elled in summer on horse back, and in winter rode 
upon sleds to meeting or in visiting their neigh- 
bors. They were a hardy race, and many of 
them excellent horsemen. When they went to 
meeting in summer, the good man mounted his 
horse, and rode with his wife behind him, with 
perhaps a child in her arms, while he carried one 
before him on a pillow. But the good woman 
did not always ride behind, for when she wished 
to visit her friends she generally mounted and 
rode off alone upon a spirited horse, without 
guide or protector. 

When East Warren was first settled, and the 
road nothing more than a path with the trees 
and underbrush cleared from it, Mrs. Samuel 
Knight and Mrs. Caleb Iloman, accompanied by 
several other women and a young man by the 
name of Webster, who was from Landaff, went 
to Mr. Stephen Flanders' to pay the family a 
visit. On their return home, when they arrived 
near the Williams bridge, Mrs. Knight and Mrs. 
Homan challenged young Webster, who was 
mounted on a very fleet horse, to a race. He at 
first did not like to consent, but they urged him 


SO strongly that at last he acquiesced ; -and whip- 
ping up, they went over that rough road for the 
distance of a mile and a half at almost lightning 
speed, when Webster, who had the smartest horse, 
proved the winner, much to the chagrin of Mrs. 
Knight and Mrs. Homan. Mr. Webster, now an 
old man, remarked in telling the story that he 
had rode over that piece of road many times 
since, but never a quarter so fast as then. 

These were a specimen of the women of that 
day ; hardy and strong ; firm and daring. They 
could attend to their household affairs, or, when 
necessity called, could chop wood, drive oxen, 
plow, sow and harvest crops, as well as the men. 
Their clothing was simply tow and linen in sum- 
mer, and woolen frocking for the men and woolen 
dresses for the women, in winter. 

The men had for amusements, raisings, train- 
ings, wrestling, lifting and chopping bees, while 
the women had quilting parties and carding bees. 
Tea and coffee were then almost unknown; still 
their visitors were treated in the most hospitable 
manner, and for supper were served with various 
kinds of broth ; corn, bean and barley broth being 
the most common. As a substitute for these, 
hasty-pudding was not uncommon, and this dish 
constituted the almost standing supper in most 
families ; food not so delicious as perhaps is eaten 
at the present time, but far more healthy. The 


men in winter wore shoes with woolen leggings 
tied at the top, to exclude, the snow. They were 
more conveniently made, and much cheaper than 
boots. In summer both men and women went 
barefoot a greater portion of the time. Great 
coats and surtouts were seldom seen. 

Every town has had its witch or wizard, and 
Warren among them. It is told that in olden 
time, when there were but a few clearings in 
town, a young man went to see his lady love. — 
While there, the happy moments flew swift, and 
time had crept far into the small hours before he 
thought of taking his leave. On his way home 
he had to cross a stream on the trunk of a fallen 
tree, and when he arrived at this point, as he was 
stepping upon the log which was shaded by the 
foliage of the huge trees around, and through 
which a few straggling rays of the moon-beams 
struggled, he saw standing on the other end a 
white, airy figure, which looked to him anything 
but earthly. He gazed upon it for a few mo- 
ments, and then stepped from the log. As he 
did so the figure followed his example, and he 
saw it standing on the water. He now thought 
he would venture across, but the moment he was 
on the log, that light form was there also. Now 
filled with terror, he gazed upon it a few mo- 
ments longer, and beholding as he thought its 
ghastly visage, he turned about and swiftly made 


his way back to the house where he had so agree- 
ably spent the evening, and waited till daylight 
before returning home. 

A certain individual had at one time dealings 
with another person, who was reputed to be a 
wizard. In the transaction the first named gen- 
tleman is said to have incurred the latter's dis- 
pleasure, and he swore revenge. A few days 
after, a son of the first named man, who was deaf 
and dumb, commenced to act strangely. He 
would be found running upon the ridge poles of 
barns and upon the tops of fences, which he was 
never known to do before ; at times he would 
seem to experience the most excrutiating torture 
and would writhe for hours in agony. When 
asked who tormented him, he would go with an 
individual and point out the house in which he 
said his tormenter lived, but never in any in- 
stance could he be persuaded to enter it. 

Thus it continued until at last some of the 
gentleman's neighbors induced him — although 
he was incredulous as to believing in witches — to 
try some experiments upon the boy, thinking to 
make his tormentors cease from troubling him. 
Accordingly some of the boy's blood was pro- 
cured, corked up in a bottle and placed under the 
hearth of the fire-place. Immediately after the 
reputed wizard was taken suddenly with a violent 
bleeding at the nose, and for a long time it could 


not be stopped. It finally was, and upon looking 
at the bottle the cork was found to be out, and 
the blood had run therefrom. The boy began 
to cut the same antics as before, and his tortures 
were nearly doubled. Again some of his blood 
was procured and carefully corked in the bottle. 
Soon the wizard began to bleed at the nose, and 
continued so to do, until at last, by a powerful 
eifort and a great deal of cursing, it stopped. — 
Soon after, the boy began to behave a great deal 
worse than before, and would at times act in a 
manner truly terrible. This could not be borne 
long, as they had found a short remedy ; and 
again procuring a larger quantity of blood, placed 
it in the bottle, and as a caution against its be- 
coming uncorked, a small sharp sword was placed 
in the cork. 

It was evening when this was done, and shortly 
after the boy went to bed. In the morning when 
he awoke he seemed to be in great glee, and 
immediately informed the family by signs that 
his tormentor was dead, which proved to be the 
case. Upon examining the bottle it was found 
that the sword had penetrated through the cork 
to the blood. From that time tradition says the 
boy was no more troubled. 

An old gentleman once wishing to go upon a 
journey several miles from home, mounted his 
horse and started. He had hardly got a dozen 


rods from his door, when the animal suddenly 
stopped and refused to go farther. The rider sat 
in the saddle in a strange fit of abstraction, as if 
gazing upon the revels of fiends incarnate, in 
some far off world. The horse seemed to behold 
the same scene also ; and great drops of sweat 
trickled from every part of its body. All at 
once the rider roused himself, and strove by every 
means in his power to make the horse proceed, 
but in vain ; and at last, weary in the attempt, 
he turned the animal into the pasture and relin- 
quished the journey, much to the surprise of 
several persons who had witnessed the scene. 

Of course the reader must judge how much of 
these stories of supernatural events are true, and 
make every allowance for the prejudices of those 
times. For ages the behef in ghosts and goblins 
had prevailed ; indeed, the individuals who did 
not believe in them were considered almost her- 
etics. For many hundred years England had an 
established code of laws against witchcraft, and 
it was considered a capital offence. The learned 
Baxter, who lived in the seventeenth century, 
considered all persons as obdurate Sadducees who 
did not believe in it, and Sir Matthew Hale, one 
of the brightest ornaments to the English Bar, 
tried and convicted several persons for the crime 
of witchcraft. 

But the hallucinations of other generations are 


passing away, and few are the persons at the 
present time who indulge in the belief of goblins 
and ghosts. " True it is, the mediums, and other 
modern notions, bring to mind the diablerie of 
old Salem, when our fathers were sorely tried ; 
but they don't go for much except as a means of 
speculation in money matters." 

The dwellers in a new settlement, far away 
from the older towns, Avere just the ones to in- 
dulge in the belief of the supernatural. Around 
them were thousands of old solitudes ; and as 
the deepening shades of night cast her sombre 
mantle over the forest, it required no active 
imagination to picture the forms of huge giants, 
stalking away among the trees -, to see numerous 
Jack-o'lanterns gliding noiselessly along to guide 
the lone traveller onward, until he was lost in the 
dark, intricate windings of some dismal old 
swamp ; to hear the infernal music of the old 
crones, as they charged in huge battalions through 
the tops of the lofty trees, mounted upon their 
never-tiring steads, a broom-stick. But they are 
all gone. No more do we see the individuals 
who indulge in such fancies ; and although there 
were, and they still live in history, we have little 
right to laugh at them. If our ancestors did in- 
dulge in them, still they had exalted notions of 
piety, and thousands of good deeds, which latter 
it would be well if we would imitate. 


In those primitive times, when fences were 
rare and sheep were nimble, it was found neces- 
sary to record the marks by which one's sheep 
might be known and recognized. Accordingly 
we are certified that Obadiah Clement's sheep 
are marked by one half crop on the upper side 
of the right ear, and one half crop on the under 
side of the left ear ; Joshua Merrill's, a crop from 
off each ear; Stevens Merrill's, a fork, like a 
swallow's tail, on the end of the left ear ; Joseph 
Merrill's, a crop off the left ear ; Jonathan Mer- 
rill's, a crop off the left ear and a slit on the 
under side of the same ; Caleb Homan's, a fork 
like "a swallow's tail, on the end of the left ear 
and a crop from off the right one ; Amos Little's, 
a slit on the end of the right ear ; Joshua Copp's, 
a fork like a swallow's tail, on the right ear, and 
a crop on the left. 

The first grave-yard was located a short dis- 
tance below the village, on land now owned by 
the railroad company, and formerly owned by 
J. M. Eaton. It was situated on the right hand 
of the road, as one travels south, at the top of a 
little hill formed by what might have been the 
bank of the river. In this yard about twenty 
were buried, among the first of whom was Mr. 
Mills, one of the first settlers. When excavations 
were made for the railroad the remains of several 

bodies were exhumed, but the overseer of the 



work dug the graves deeper, and in them again 
deposited the remains. Here rest many of the 
settlers, with no monuments to mark their graves. 
A life interspersed with joys and sorrows was 

" Oft did the harvest to their sickle yield ; 

Their furrows oft the stubborn glebe has broke ; i 

How jocund did they drive their teams afield, 

How bowed the woods beneath their sturdy stroke. 

But now each in his nan'ow cell forever laid, 
The rude forefathers of the hamlet sleep. 

The breezy call of incense-breathing morn, 
The swallow, twittering from her straw-built shed ; 
The cock's shrill clarion or the echoing horn. 
No more shall rouse them from their lowly bed. 

For them no more the blazing hearth shall burn, 
• Or busy house-wife ply her weary care ; 
No children run to lisp their sire's return. 
Or climb his knee, the envied kiss to share." 

There were also two other burying grounds, 
which have become almost unknown. One of 
these was located near the present site of the 
railroad depots ; and the other on the farm of 
Col. Charles Lane, or on the piece of land which 
the town voted to accept of Joshua Copp, Esq., 
for the purpose of erecting a meeting-house, and 
occupying as a burying-yard and training-field. 

There are now five burying-yards in to^vn; 
one on the bank of Patch brook; one at East 
Warren; one at Warren Summit; one on the 
height of land, and one on the little hill-side 


near Robert E. Merrill's, one half mile from the 
meeting-house. The latter is a beautiful place. 
There the departed rest. Side by side sleep kin- 
dred and friends, who were beautiful in life and 
in death were not divided. Just above them the 
winds murmur through the lofty pines, while a 
little distance off from the back of the yard, is 
heard the plaintive music of a tiny purling brook. 
The earliest tomb-stone reads thus : 

" Hie jacet Josiah Bartlett, son of Ezra and 
Hannah Bartlett, who died Sept. 26, 1802, aged 
11 months. 

" Sleep on, sweet babe, nor fear to rise 
When Gabriel's trump shall rend the skies." 

Among the most beautiful of the tomb-stones 
is that of Mrs. Hannah Dow, wife of James Dow : 

" Here lies a friend we loved so dear, 
The loss to us it seems severe : 
But God has ordered all things well : 
She now has gone with Christ to dwell." 

The following beautiful epitaph, so well ex- 
pressed, is on the tomb-stone over the remains 
of a young child of Josiah and Sarah Swain : 

" This pretty rose, descendant from above- 
Awhile on earth did bloom in sweetest love : 
Till some fair angel saw the heavenly prize, 
And gently bore it to its native skies." 

For the past few years, places of the dead 
have greatly improved their appearance, and 


are becoining as they should be. They are the 
vestibule of a beautiful land, and art and affec- 
tion should do their utmost to adorn them. 

The animals, birds, jfishes, insects, reptiles, 
trees, shrubs and plants, found in Warren, are 
the same as those in other parts of northern 
New-Hampshire and Maine, with but few varia- 
tions. Those animals marked thusf in the follow- 
ing catalogue were found by the first settlers ; 
and although still living in the dense foressts 
which cover the greater portion of Northern 
New-England, have disappearedfrom this section. 

The different kinds of animals are the bear, wol- 
verine,f beaverf , muskrat, catamountf, wild cat, 
black cat, or the Indian woolaneag, moose,-}- deer, 
caribou,f fox, wolf, hare, squirrel, rabbit, mole, 
mouse, rat, porcupine, skunk, ermine, usually 
called sable, mink, otter,f weasel and woodchuck. 

Of the different kinds of birds are the eagle, 
two varieties ; hawk, four ; crow, owl, duck, teal, 
gull, crane, loon, sheldrake, Avater-hen, partridge, 
wood-pecker, king-bird, crow, black-bird, cuckoo, 
plover, turtle-dove, whippowil, humming-bird, 
curlew, robin, sky-lark, thrush, thrasher or 
mocking-bird, bobolink, yellow-bird, blue-bird, 
wren, red-winged black-bird, king-fisher, wood- 
cock, quail, hedge-bird, cross-bill, cat-bird, gol- 
den-robin or gold-finch, spring-bird, hang-bird, 
snow-bird, wild pidgeon, house swallow, barn 


swallow, ground swallow, black martin, blue-jay, 

Birds are divided into six orders, namely : ra- 
veners, perchers, climbers, scratchers, waders and 
swimmers. The Raveners are those which are 
remarkable for their plundering habits, and are 
also the most perfect in their forms. They have 
a strong beak, short and strong legs, and toes 
armed with crooked claws, as the eagle, owl, 
hawk, &c. 

The Perchers form the second order, and they 
have three toes before and one behind, as the 
king-fisher, robin, and bobolink. Among the 
birds of this order are those which most delight 
us with their varied music. Many of them were 
almost unknown before the setthng of the white 
man, and seem to have increased and multiplied 
with him ; journeying wherever he subdued the 
forest, and enlivening the groves about his cot- 
tage with their matin and evening songs of 
matchless melody. 

The Climbers form the third order. They 
have two toes before and two behind on each 
foot. The cuckoo, wood-pecker, &c., belong to 
this order. 

The Scratchers form the fourth order, and are 
so called from an action common to many of 
them. This order includes the partridge, pigeon, 
&c. ; game sought after by the sportsman, and 


birds which dehght us by the beauty and ele- 
gance of their forms and the rich variety and 
splendor of their colors. 

The Waders form the fifth order, and are so 
called because of their long legs, which enable 
them to traverse marshes and ditches in search 
of fish, snakes and worms. The crane, snipe 
and water-hen belong to this order. 

The Swimmers form the sixth order. These 
are web-footed, which enables them to swim rap- 
idly through the water. The duck, loon, &c., 
belong to this class. 

All the fishes that formerly inhabitated our 
waters are still found, except the salmon. They 
are the trout, pickerel, sucker, eel, red perch, 
shiner and minnow. 

The amphibious animals are the turtle, toad, 
frog, lizard and swift. 

There are but few serpents. These are the 
striped snake, green snake, water adder, and one 
other species of a smaller size. Black and rattle- 
snakes are not found. 

Among the insects most common are the bee- 
tle, grasshopper, cricket, butterfly, fire-fly, black 
fly, moth, flea, ant,musquito, spider, hornet, Avasp, 
humble-bee,honey-bee, various kinds of bugs, and 
several species of worms. 

The indigenous trees and shrubs are the 
white, black, ground, mountain and red ash; 


balm of Gilead, bass wood, beach, birch, butter- 
nut or bihiut, blackberry, blueberry, bayberry, 
cedar, black and red choke cherry, wild cherry, 
wild currant, dogwood, elm, elder, fir, gooseberry, 
grape vine, hazel, hemlock, ground do., hornbeam, 
larch ; sugar, white and red maple ; moosewood, 
juniper, red oak, pojDlar, plum, white and Norway 
pine, sumac, thorn-apple, wild-pear, spruce, wil- 
low, wickapee or leather wood, sheep laurel, rasp- 
berry, thimbleberry, wild rose, &c. 

The principal medicinal plants and herbs are 
the fir, balsam, yarrow, sweet-flag, may-weed, sar- 
saparilla, spikenard, everlasting, burdock, worm- 
wood, wild turnip, coltsfoot, milk-weed, white 
root, celandine, snake head, winter-green, horse- 
radish, sweet fern, gold-thread, apple of Peru, 
thoroughwort, queen of the meadow, wild hoar- 
hound, avensroot, penny-royal, liverwort, hop, 
round wood, elecampane, blueflag, dandelion, cat- 
nip, wood sorrel, garget, broad leaved dock, el- 
der, golden rod, tansy, snake root, ginsing, mai- 
den hair, hard-hack, adder-tongue, sweet cicely, 
and many others. 

The horticultural products are the apple, cher- 
ries of several kinds, Canada plum, wheat plum, 
pear and grape. 

The most important culinary plants, roots and 
herbs, are the anise, artichoke, bean, beet, cara- 
way, currant, carrot, hop, mustard, onion, pea, 


pepper pumpkin, sage, squash, cabbage, turnip, 
cranberry, parsnip, &c. The common plants 
found in this latitude abound. Besides these 
are a number of floral plants. 

In the early settling of the town many indi- 
viduals planted large orchards, and from the pro- 
ducts of these a considerable amount of cider 
was manufactured and drank. But the drinking 
of cider as a beverage is going into disuse, and 
the value of fruit as a luxury is better appreci- 
ated. Many of the old orchards have been ren- 
ovated by grafting, and nurseries are annually 
planted. The first apple tree was planted by 
Joseph Patch, and is still standing, though near- 
ly dead, on land owned by Jonathan Clough, and 
not far from the Clough school-house. The 
plum and cherry are abundant. There are but 
few pears, and peaches do not thrive. 

For many years, but a common breed of stock 
was raised, yet of these there were many fine 
animals reared. In later times, through the per- 
severance of Dr. David C. French, there are 
now some very fine specimens of short horned 
Durhams. There are also fine specimens of 
horses, various breeds of sheep, and a considera- 
ble amount of wool is sold annually. Several 
thousand dollars worth of fat cattle are now 
yearly sent to market. Pork was formerly rais- 
ed in considerable quantities for market, but 


since the decline of prices, and prevalence of the 
potato disease, the quantity does not greatly ex- 
ceed the home consumption. Poultry raising 
is on the increase, and large quantities of the 
common kinds and eggs find a ready sale. 

The business of cheese-making is not now so 
much attended to as formerly ; but still rather a 
larger quantity than is needed for home con- 
sumption is made. But the manufacture of but- 
ter is on the increase ; most of it is of an excel- 
lent quality, and many hundreds of firkins find 
a quick demand abroad. 

The making of maple sugar is also an impor- 
tant item to the farmers of Warren. In the 
year 1850 there were twenty tons made, and a 
large amount of cakes and maple honey is sold 
iiT the larger towns of this State and Massachu- 
setts ; but for all this, many hundred weight of 
southern manufacture is sold in town each year. 

Formerly a sui'frL'ient supply of corn, rye and 
oats was raised to meet the consumption of the 
inhabitants, but since the commencement of the 
railroad, owing to the large number (Jf hands 
employed upon it during its building, and the 
large number engaged in the lumbering business, 
which, since the running of the cars has become 
profitable, a considerable amount of oats and corn 
is brought into town each year, to meet the in- 
creased demand. 


Very little barley is now grown ; beans are 
raised in considerable quantities, but peas are 
not an object of much attention, beyond the pro- 
duction of early ones, to be used when green. 
There is a considerable crop of wheat grown 
each year, but it does not thrive so well as for- 
merly, and there is not enough raised to meet 
the home demand ; consequently many hundred 
barrels of flour are annually brought into town 
and sold. Potatoes are very extensively culti- 
vated, and although there is not so large a, yield 
as in former years, still many thousand bushels are 
annually sent to market, or manufactured into 
starch. For several years the ravages of the rot 
bid fair to exterminate the culture of them, but 
for one or two years they have been much less 
affected by it. Many carrots are also raised, and 
the farmers are beginning to appreciate' their 
value as food for cattle, horses and swine. 

There are eleven mills driv GjI by water for the 
manufacture of various articles from wood. Of 
these, four have been built during the past six 
years. One by Sylvester Merrill, one by Isaac 
Sawtell, and two by Levi F. Jewell ; two grain 
mills, one tanning and currying establishment, 
two carriage manufactories, one starch factory, 
eight blacksmith shops, and three stores. 

The first post-ofiice was established about the 
year 1818, and was kept for several years by 


Amos Burton. He was succeeded by Anson 
Merrill ; Dr. Jesse Little, who held the office of 
post-master nine years ; Dr. David C. French five 
years ; L. C. Whitcher three years ; Asa Thurs- 
ton three years ; G. W. Prescott, one year, and 
C. C. Durant. 

The first death by casualty in town was that 
of Mr. Mills, who was killed by the fall of a 
tree ; the second that of his son, who was killed 
in the same manner. Amos Eaton, killed by 
the fall of a tree about the year 1780. Richard 
Pillsbury, killed at the raising of a barn in 1800 ; 
Reuben Batchelder, jr., killed at a raising in 
1802 ; a child of Joshua Copp drowned in a wash 
tub ; Caleb Merrill, deaf and dumb, killed by 
the fall of a tree, June 8, 1808 ; Joseph Patch, 
the first settler of Warren, killed by a fall about 
the"y$ar 1832. For several years previous he had 
been a'crFi|)ple, brought about by the excessive 
fatigues he had cv^^^dergone in his hunting excur- 
sions. A child of William Kelley, jr., drowned 
in Kelley pond ; Mr. Paul Meader, killed in 
1834 by a log rolling over hini;- Ward C. Batch- 
elder, killed in 1836 by the fall of a limb from a 
tree which he was chopping. A Mr. Merrill, 
from Groton, was killed about 1840 by a pitch- 
fork falling upon him ; Miranda Whitcher was 
burned to death in 1845 ; Abigail Weed, wife of 
Wilson Weed, was killed in 1846 by falling upon 


a pitchfork ; Calvin Cummings, killed in 1848 by 
falling from a frame ; Mrs. Leathers, wife of 
Vowell Leathers, burned to death in 1849 ; Da- 
vid Antrine was drowned in Header pond the 
same year ; an adopted son of Calvin May was 
accidentally killed by the tine of a manure fork 
in 1850 ; an Irishman killed in 1852 while at 
work upon the railroad, by a tree falling upon 
him ; a Mr. Anderson was burned to death while 
tending a coal-pit in 1852. 

The first individual who traded in Foreign and 
West India goods was Samuel Fellows. He oc- 
cupied a store near Joshua Merrill's, where Ste- 
phen Lund now lives ; and after trading a short 
time was taken crazy. He would sometimes 
leave home and wander to the neighboring 
towns ; and when his friends went for him it' 
would be extremely difficult to influence him to 
return. At one time he went to Haverhill, and 
a young man was sent after hJin. He found him 
at the tavern, and to make good friends, asked 
him whether he would have flip or brandy to 
drink before going home. Fellows looked up 
sharply and said he guessed he would have the 
brandy while the flip was making. To him suc- 
ceeded, first, Charles Bowls ; then George W. 
Copp ; next, Abel MerriU, who traded in 1804. 
Others who have successively done business are 
Benjamin Merrill, from 1805 to 1811 or 12. He 


built the house now occupied by Stephen Mars- 
ton, and occupied it both as store and dweUing- 
house. Lemuel Keezer succeeded him, and 
traded until 1815 ; then Michael Preston, 
about three years, followed by Amos Burton, 
who erected the building now occupied by Da- 
mon Y. Eastman as a wheel-wright shop. Others 
who have traded in that building are respective- 
ly Samuel L. Merrill. William Merrill, Anson 
Merrill, Wm. Wells, John T. Sanborn, Asa Thurs- 
ton, Quincy Cole and Francis A. Cushman, 
George W. Prescott and Wm. A. Merrill. Stevens 
Merrill and Tristram Cross traded for a consid- 
erable length of time in a store now standing 
near the dwelling recently owned by Gen. M. P. 
Merrill. About the year 1846 F. A. & M. E. 
Cushman erected the building now occupied by 
A. W. Eastman as a wheel-wright shop, and trad- 
ed for a few years. James Clement built the store 
now occupied by the Durants, and in company 
with Joseph Clement traded for a considerable 
length of time. Those who have traded there 
since are E. C. Durant, C. C. & H. H. Durant, J. 
& C. C. Durant. George W. Prescott erected 
the store he now occupies, in company with J. 
M. Williams, about the year 1847, and has since 
traded in it. Ezra Libby commenced to trade 
at Warren Summit in company with Jonathan 
Stickney in the year 1853, and has since done 
considerable business. 


The first physician who practiced in town was 
Dr. Joseph Peters. He came in 1791, and lived 
in town about two years. 

Dr. Levi Root commenced practice in 1795, 
and practiced three years. 

Dr. Ezra Bartlett, when a young man, came 
to Warren in 1798, and commenced practice. 
He built the large two-story house on the place 
now owned by Russell K. Clement, on Beach hill. 
Dr. Bartlett was a man of fine abilities, and held 
many responsible offices. In the year 1804 he 
was elected to represent the towns of Warren 
and Benton in the Legislature. In 1809 he was 
appointed a Justice in the Court of Common Pleas 
for the county of Grafton. In 1812 he moved 
to Haverhill, and a few years after was elected a 
Senator to the State Senate for a number of 
years, after which for one or two years he was 

Dr. Thomas Whipple practiced in town from 
1812 to 1814, when he moved to Wentworth. 
Several years after, he was a number of times 
elected a Representative to Congress ; a position 
which he filled to the satisfaction of his con- 

Dr. Robert Burns practiced from 1816 to 
1818, when he moved to Hebron, and from 
thence to Plymouth, where he now resides. 

Dr. John Broadhead practiced in town from 
1818 one vear. 



Dr. Laban Ladd, a native of Haverhill, came 
to Warren about 1820, and practiced two years. 
He then moved to Haverhill, where he shortly 
after died. 

Dr. David C. French, a son of Joseph French, 
one of the early settlers of Warren, commenced 
practice about the year 1821, which he con- 
tinued to the satisfaction of his numerous friends 
until the year 1853, when, wishing to retire 
from business, he sold out his practice. 

Dr. Jesse Little, also a native of Warren, and 
son of Amos Little, who came to Warren in 
1789, graduated at the medical college at Han- 
over, in the year 1828, and has practiced in 
town since 1830. 

Dr. James Emery practiced in Warren a short 
time in 1845. 

Dr. A. Busell has practiced from 1852 to the 
present time. 

Dr. Alphonso G. French, son of Dr. David C. 
French, graduated at the medical school at Han- 
over in 1853, and is now practicing in town. 

Dr. William Merrill, son of Abel Merrill, grad- 
uated at the medical school at Hanover, and 
after practicing at Lisbon for a short time, died. 

Dr. Hobert C. Merrill, son of Samuel Merrill, 
graduated at the medical school at Hanover, and 
for a number of years practiced at Meredith. 
From this place he removed to Pembroke, where 
he holds a worthy rank in his profession. 


The following persons, natives of the town, 
have attended college. Joseph Merrill, jun., son 
of Joseph Merrill, graduated at Dartmouth Col- 
lege, and is now a minister of the Congregation- 
al denomination, and preaches at Dracut, Mass. 
Lemuel Merrill, another son of Joseph Merrill, 
graduated at Dartmouth College, and is now an 
attorney, practicing in one of the Southern 

John Merrill, son of Abel Merrill, entered 
Dartmouth College in 1806. He died while a 
member of the sophomore class, aged 23 years. 
The following lines are to be found upon his 
tomb-stone : 

" Behold the blooming youth is gone, 
The much loved object's fled ; 
Entered his long eternal home, 
And numbered with the dead. 

But he shall live, and rise again, 
Enrobed in bright array ; 
Shall take his part in heavenly strains 
In everlasting day." 

Many of the first settlers of Warren were of 
the Calvin Baptist order, and they early turned 
their attention toward the formation of a 
church and the employment of a minister. But 
as their number was few, they united with their 
brethren at Wentworth, and for many years Dea- 
con Aaron Currier labored with them. 

The next society formed was the Methodist. 


Their first minister was the Rev. Elijah R Sabin. 

Those who have succeeded him are, Skeels, 

Winch, Jacob Sanborn, John Lord, Wil- 
liam Plumbly, Davis, Sleeper, Newell 

Culver, Charles Baker, Nathan Howe, Damon 
Young, Caleb Dustin, J. H. Hardy, N. W, Aspin- 

wall, C. R. Harding, J. W. Morey, Peck, S. 

A. Gushing, Enos Wells, Reuben Dearborn, Mo- 
ses Merrill, J. W. Johnson, Salmon Gleason, Ben- 
jamin R. Hoyt, Kimball Hadley, Lorenzo D. 

Blodget, Barker, James Martin, J. A. Sweai> 

land, Kellog, Sullivan Holman, J. A. Scar- 

ritt, L. L. Eastman, Rufus Tilton, James Adams. 

The names of the Free Will Baptist ministers 
are as follows : Joseph Boody, sen., Joseph Boo- 
dy, jun., Lewis Harriman, Thomas Perkins, J. 

Marks, Wallace, James Spencer, Joseph 

Quimby, Messer, Aaron Buzwell, S. Doane, 

Leavitt, G. W. Cogsv/ell, J. Moulton, 

Sargeant, Horace Webber, J. D. Cross. 

The names of the Universalist Ministers and 
the dates of their preaching are as follows : Rev. 
John E. Palmer, from 1838 to 1841 ; Samuel A. 
Johnson, from 1841 to 1845 ; Alson Scott, 1845 
to 1849; Macey B. Newall, 1849 to 1851; 
Charles C. Clark, 1852 to 1853 ; S. W. Squire, 
1853 to 185 . 

The town is divided into eleven school dis- 
tricts, in the most of which a school is supported 


nearly half of the year, and in some, inore than 
that length of time. About 325 children and 
youth annually attend for a longer or shorter 
period. The school-houses, although most of 
them passable, are not what they should be. 
Education is the grand secret of the prosperity 
of this nation, and if we would go on thinking 
we must cherish and enhance the value of our 

There was a circulating library, which con- 
tained a number of hundred volumes, commenc- 
ed about the year 1808, and was incorporated 
by an act of the . Legislature. The books were 
most of them printed in the ancient style, and 
being but little read, were distributed among the 
owners a few years ago. Another library was 
commenced by the Warren L. B. Association in 
1851, and contains many volumes of an inter- 
esting and useful character.