(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the town of Warsaw, New York, from its first settlement to the present time;"

Book-JL 



HISTORY 



Tovx of Warsaw, 



N E AV Y O Ii Jv , 



FROM ITS FIRST SETTLEMENT TO THE PRESENT TIME: 



with Nt Ml i: ' - 



FAJVXILY SKETCHES 



BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 



B V 

A N D R E \Y W! Y O I J N G , 

w 
Author of ■■ Science of Government," "American Statesman," " Citizen's Manual, 
"National Economy,'" dSc.. •( 



EMBELLISHED WITH PORTRAITS, AND VIEWS OP 
RESIDENCES AND CHURCHES. 



BUFFALO : 
Pkess of the Sage, Sons & Co. Litii.. Printing and Mam fact «: Co. 



1869. 




« </////n*r Vr.\Jrff"</- 



/ 



6 



INTRODUCTION. 



Oxe year ago I came to Warsaw to visit old friends before 
my departure for my new home in the West. While here, I 
was solicited to write a history of this town. Having formed 
plans and purposes which I was desirous to pursue, I hesitated 
to make an engagement. 

It was suggested that there was no citizen of the town in a 
situation favorable to his engaging in such an undertaking; 
and, further, that a personal knowledge of the principal events 
to be recorded, and a personal acquaintance with the inhabi- 
tants during a period of more than fifty years, including an 
almost continuous residence in the town for forty years, com- 
mencing about twelve years after its first settlement, would 
afford material advantages in writing its history. A number 
of the older and more prominent citizens met for consultation, 
and decided in favor of the proposition. Considering the pro- 
ject a patriotic and a commendable one, and being myself 
desirous to see a written history of the town, I consented to 
engage in the undertaking, and proceeded immediately to the 
task. 

It may be asked, " Why fill so large a volume with the his- 
tory of a single town ? Why devote so much space to stories 
which have become familiar from their frequent recital by our 
parents and grand-parents ? " These questions admit of ready 
answers. 



IV INTRODUCTION. 

There is scarcely a town settled for fifty years that can not 
furnish the material for such a volume. Man}- remember with 
what interest they listened to the tales of pioneer life from the 
lips of their ancestors. Before the present generation shall 
have passed awa}-, not an individual will be left to relate the 
experiences of the early settlers which have so deeply inter- 
ested us. This interest will not abate with the lapse of time. 
The written narrative of the incidents of "life in the woods," 
will be no less grateful to those who come after us, than was 
the oral relation to ourselves. 

Hence, to commemorate the events and occurrences of the 
j)ast — to transmit to our descendants a faithful and true histoiy 
of our own times — is a duty. And many who shall receive such 
history will esteem it as the most valuable portion of their in- 
heritance. AVithout it, little will be known except what shall 
have come down to them by tradition, always imperfect and 
unreliable. Nor should we overlook the consideration, that 
works of this kind will prove a source of valuable information 
to future historians. 

Some of the events noticed ma}' be deemed unimportant. 
As isolated facts, perhaps, they possess no great importance. 
A man's character is formed, in great part, by a combination 
of numerous traits scarcely noticeable, separate and alone. So 
the aggregate of the many minor incidents constitutes a material 
part of the most valuable histories. Yet nothing has been ad- 
mitted into this work that was not designed to contribute to 
its interest or value. 

I respectfully invite the attention of the reader to some of 
the chief characteristics of this work. 

This is not simply a history of the town of Warsaw. A large 
portion of its matter is of general interest. It traces the title 
of the Holland Land Compairy back to the crown of Great 
Britain, through the conflicting claims of States and grants of 



INiKODLCTION. V 

British kings. The early settlement of this town, the priva- 
tions and hardships of its first settlers, its progress in wealth 
and in social and intellectual improvement, and the general 
character of its inhabitants, find a counterpart in nearly every 
town on the Holland Purchase; and its history will be read 
with scarcely less satisfaction in other towns than in our own. 

Ecclesiastical History is a conspicuous feature of the work, 
and can not fail to interest a large portion of its readers. It 
comprises historical sketches of all the churches and organized 
religious societies in this town, including the dates of their 
respective organizations, the names of their ministers and 
church officers, the building of their houses of worship, and 
other matters of interest. 

The War History also occupies a prominent place in the 
work. It records the acts and proceedings of the citizens in 
aiding the war for the Union, the names of all who enlisted in 
the service from this town, the dates and terms of their enlist- 
ment, and the wounds and other disabilities, death, imprison- 
ment, or discharge of each. jNTo part of the work, it is 
believed, will be read with greater or more general satisfaction. 

Family Sketches and Biographical Notes fill a large space in 
the volume — larger than was originally intended. The limit 
prescribed to these sketches was from time to time extended, 
until the number of families noted — including the original fam- 
ilies and their branches — is about fifteen hundred, and the 
number of names about four thousand. Yet there are many 
others whose sketches would have been cheerfully inserted had 
the necessary facts been communicated. 

Among the prominent characteristics of this history is the 
religious feature. It has been my purpose to present to our 
descendants a correct view of the moral and religious character 
of their ancestors. Many will regard the ' ' savor of a good 
name " transmitted by parents, as the most valuable portion of 



VI INTRODUCTION. 

their patrimony. Considering a public profession of religion 
as an honorable act, and, when adorned by a corresponding 
deportment, as the best expression of moral excellence, 
I have, in the sketches of this class of our people, gener- 
ally noted the fact of such profession and the name of the 
church with which each is or has been connected. 

The interest in this enterprise manifested by the citizens of 
this town, and by many in other towns of this county, gives 
promise of a favorable reception of the work. Many have long 
been anxiously awaiting its appearance. Dependent upon a 
hundred persons for information, much time was spent in col- 
lecting material. The statements of different persons did not 
in all cases agree ; and much inquiry often became necessary to 
ascertain the facts. Of the adult settlers of the first three 3'ears, 
only three remain in town. From them much valuable infor- 
mation has been obtained. Among those who - came a few years 
later, are many to whom my acknowledgments are due for the 
numerous important facts which they have communicated, and 
for the interest taken in this enterprise. 

Special mention should be made of the assistance of Hon. 
Augustus Frank. His interest in the work from the begin- 
ning has been unabated; and he has aided essentially in gath- 
ering material. His knowledge of the business interests of the 
town enabled him to furnish many facts relating to this branch 
of our history; and many of the most interesting subjects have 
been introduced at his suggestion. And the whole expense in- 
curred in the preparation and publication of this work, has 
been assumed by himself and his fellow-citizen, Joshua H. 
Darling, Fsq.* 

There are many other citizens who deserve favorable notice. 
Regarding the enterprise as creditable to the town, and appre- 

* Since the foregoing " Introduction "' was written. Mr. Darling died at bis residence, 
in Warsaw. March 21, 1809. 



INTRODUCTION. VII 

dating the patriotism and liberality of the gentlemen who were 
carrying it forward, the} T have not been content with the pur- 
chase of single copies for their respective family libraries, but 
have subscribed for a number of copies each. Many, not 
among the more wealthy class of our citizens, have given their 
names for three to five, others for ten or more, for distribution 
among their children and other friends. 

The work is unusually well supplied with Tables of Eefer- 
ence, the want of which, in many books, is a serious defect. 
Besides a copious Table of Contents in the usual place, and a 
General Index in the latter part of the volume, there is an 
Index of Najies, with references to the pages on which each 
name occurs. This enables airy person whose name is in this 
Index to see readily with what subjects in the body of the work 
his name is connected. 

Not the least important characteristic of the work is the 
style in which it appears. Its mechanical execution — printing, 
binding, the portraits, (except the few on steel,) the views of 
churches and residences, and the Warsaw Falls, have all been 
done by the Lithographing, Printing and Manufacturing Com- 
pany of Messrs. Sage, Sons & Co., of Buffalo, and compares 
favorably with similar work done in eastern cities. 

Great pains have been taken to present this History to the 
public without errors. Perfect accuracy, however, in works of 
this kind, has perhaps never been attained ; writers being ne- 
cessarily dependent for information upon others whose memo- 
ries are not in all cases correct. It is not strange, therefore, 
that, among the thousands of names and dates in this work, 
there should be some errors. 

There may be persons who, on looking for sketches of their 
families, will be disappointed. After a large number had been 
written, the material of which had been procured only at the 
expense of much time and labor, notice was given in the vil- 



Till INTRODUCTION. 

lage papers, that sketches would be prepared by the writer for 
persons desiring them, if furnished with the necessary informa- 
tion. No applications have been rejected. 

Xotice was also given, that the Portraits of all who would 
furnish them at their own expense, would be inserted. A 
greater number than was expected have accepted the proposi- 
tion, and thus contributed to the embellishment of the work, 
and to the gratification of their friends and descendants. 

From the peculiar nature of this History, its preparation has 
required an amount of labor, and been attended with difficulties 
not anticipated at the commencement. It is hoped that it may 
meet the reasonable expectations of its patrons. 

A. \Y. Y. 

AVars aw, March, 1809. 



CONTENTS. 



CIVIL HISTORY. 



HOLLAND PURCHASE. 

Preliminary History, 17. British grants to the Plymouth Company, 17. 
Massachusetts and New York cede their western lands to the United States, 
17, 18. Conflicting claims of these States, IS. Phelps and Gorham's Pur- 
chase, 18. Sale to Robert Morris, 19. Morris's sale to Holland Land Com- 
pany, 19, 20. Indian Reservations, 20, Holland Company's survey by Jo- 
seph Ellicott, and the Transit instrument, 20-22. Erection and division of 
Genesee county, 22, 23. 

TOPOGRAPHY OF WARSAW. 

Situation, location and bounds of the town, 23, 24. Its roads, soil, surface, 
productions, streams, <fec, 24, 25. 

SETTLEMENT OF WARSAW. 

Elizur Webster explores the township, 25. His purchase and settlement, 26, 
27. Original land sales, 27-36. Progress of settlement; first burial, 36, 37. 
Amos Keeney's experience, 37-40. Five immigrants carried into the town 
by other four, 38. Seth Gates and Truman Lewis, 40, 41. Description of 
log-houses, with stick chimneys; pole bed-steads, &c, 41-43. The first saw- 
mill and grist-mill, and store, 43-45. Want of a physician ; labors of Mrs. 
Palmer, and advent of Dr. Sheldon, 45-46. Town of Warsaw formed, 46. 
Household labor; cooking, 46-48. Making cloth in families — spinning, dye- 
ing, &c, 48. Itinerant tailoresses, 49. Shoemaking in families, 49-50. 
Wild animals and bounties, 50, 51. Wolf and bear stories, 52,53. Artemas 
Shattuck, who cut off his foot to save his life, 53-55. Enjoyment of the 
early settlers, 56, 57. 

POLICY OF THE LAND COMPANY. 

Settlers charged with "Increase;" cattle received on contracts, 58. Partial 
reduction of debts, 59. Opinions respecting the Company's policy, 69. 
Causes of the adversity of the settlers, or the settlers vindicated, 59, 60. 
Partial relief, within doors, 00, 61. Ashes, as a source of money, 61. 

ix 



CONTENTS. 



THE VILLAGE. 



Its condition in 1816, 62. Cumings' purchase — streets and lots laid out, 62, 63_ 
Growth of the village, 63-65. Isaiah Kenyon, 66, 67. The McKay purchase, 
and its results, 67, 68. Improvements since 1841, 68. Great Fire of 1867, and 
its effects, 69. Frank &, Farman's purchase, and improvements, 67, 70. 

POST-OFFICES. 

First Post-Office in Warsaw, 70. Where and how mailing had been done; post- 
age then, and now, 70, 71. Levi Street, the mail-carrier; first newspapers, 
71. List of Postmasters, 72. 

AGRICULTURE. 

Early tillage and farming implements; Wood's cast iron plow, 73. Mode of 
harvesting, 73, 74. Stock raising, 74, 75. Fruit culture, 75, 76. 

TRADE— MERCHANTS. 

The early stores; purchasing goods, 77. System of trade, 78. Warsaw as a 
center of trade, 78. Maple sugar, 78. Ashes, a chief article of trade, 79. 
Cattle and pork, and their prices, 79. Dry Goods merchants, from 1813 to 
1869, 80-S4. Hardware merchants, 84. Druggists, 85, 86. Booksellers, 86. 
Grocers, 86. 

MANUFACTURES. 

Saw-mills and Grist-mills, 87, 89. Woolen manufactures; Seymour Ensign, 
first carder and cloth-dresser, 89, 90. Hough & Norton, and Norton & 
Hough; Conable & Moss and their successors, 90. Gardner, Utter & Co., 
91. Carriage manufacture, 91, 92. Tanneries, 92, 93. Map-roller factory, 
93, 94. Foundries, cast iron, &c, 94, 95. Planing-mills, 95, 96. Patter- 
son Manufacturing Company, 96, 97. Cabinet-making, 97. Carpet fac- 
tory, 98. 

ROADS AND BRIDGES. 
Manner of laying out Roads, 98. Old Buffalo Road, 98. State Road from 
Canandaigua, 99. Gulf Road, 99, 100. Bridges, 101. 

RAILROADS. 
Warsaw and Le Roy Railroad, 102-104. Attica and Hornellsville Railroad, 
104-106. Purchase of the N. Y. Central to Buffalo, 106. 

CEMETERIES. 

Old Ground, how selected; first burials, 106, 107. New Cemetery; Associa- 
tion incorporated, 107. Dedicated, 108. 

WARSAW LIBRARY. 

Library incorporated, and names of the corporators, 108. Names of Trustees; 
Dissolution of the Assoc'ation. 10). 



CONTENTS. XI 

EDUCATION— SCHOOLS. 
First School in Warsaw, 110. Description of early School-houses, 110. Course 
of Study, 111. Manner of conducting Schools, 111, 112. Select Schools, 
112, 113. Union School instituted, 113. Union Free School established, 114. 
Names of Principals and Assistants, 115, 116. Sketches of School Districts, 
116-122. 

PHYSICIANS. 
Names of Practicing Physicians in "Warsaw, and their respective Terms of 
Practice, 123, 124. 

LAWYERS. 

Names of Attorneys, and the times of commencing and discontinuing Prac- 
tice in this town, 125, 126. 

BANKS. 

Wyoming County Bank, 127. Wyoming County National Bank of Warsaw, 
128. 

NEWSPAPERS. 

First Paper, Genesee Register, by L. <fc W. Walker, 12H. Warsaw Sentinel, 
by A. W. Young, 128, 129. American Citizen, by the Antislavery Society, 
129. Western New Yorker, by Barlow & Woodward, and their successors, 
129, 130. Wyoming Republican, 130. Wyoming County Mirror, 130. Wyo- 
ming Democrat, and the Masonic Tidings, 130. 

WYOMING COUNTY. 
Formation of the County, 131. Commissioners to fix the site for the County 
Buildings, 131. Building Commissioners, 132. First Courts, where held, 
132. First Election of County Officers, 132. Reasons for the Division of 
Genesee, 132. Annexation of towns from Allegany County, 133. 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

Organization of the Society; Election of Officers. 133, 134. First Fair; Pur- 
chase of Fair Grounds, 134. 

OLD FOLKS' FESTIVALS. 

Meeting at Dr. Frank's in 1850, 136, 137. Meeting in 1860, 137. Remarks of 
Dea. Samuel Salisbury, 138 ; of William Webster, Elam Perkins, Julius Whit- 
lock, 139; of Chester Hurd, Henry Hovey, Hiram Porter, 140; of William 
Smallwood, Job Sherman, Newbury Bronson, 141; of E. B. Miller, Frank 
Miller, S. M. Gates, 142; of J. A. McElwain, Eli Merrill, 143; of G. W. 
Morris, Peter Young, Rev. Mr. Buck, 144. 

PUBLIC MEETINGS 

OX EXTRAORDINARY OCCASIONS. 

Death of President Zachary Taylor, 146. Death of President Abraham Lin- 
coln in 1865, 147-149. 



XI 1 CONTENTS. 

TEMPERANCE. 
First Temperance Society in Warsaw, 150. Kittridge's Address and Lyman 
Beecher's Sermons, 150. Adoption of Tee-total Pledge, 150. Drinking 
Customs, 151. Early Friends of Temperance, 151, 152, Washingtonians, 
152. License Question, 153. Decline of Temperance, 153. Prohibitory 
Laws, 154. Order of Good Templars, 154, 155. 

ANT1SLAYERY. 

Antislavery Societies formed, 156. Proslavery Mobs; Antislavery Meeting at 
Utica broken up, 156. Antislavery Meeting at Batavia, 157-160. Meeting 
of Batavians, 157. Antislavery Meeting entered by citizens, 158. Report 
of Antislavery Committee, 159. Meeting adjourned to Warsaw, 160. Pro- 
ceedings of Warsaw Meeting, 161. Nomination of James G. Birney in 1839, 
for President, and its effects, 162. Buffalo Free-soil Convention in 1848. 
Nomination of Van Buren and Adams, 163. 



ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

Organization of the first Church in Warsaw, (then Congregational,) 165. 
Early Preachers, 165. Installation and resignation of Rev. Silas Hubbard, 
166. First House of Worship, 167. Action on Sabbath Schools, 167. Ac- 
tion on Slavery, 169. Death of Rev. Daniel Waterbury, 170. Division of 
the Churcb, 170. Semi-Centenary Meeting, 171. New Church Edifice; 
Laying of the Corner Stone, 172, 173. Dedication, 174, 175, 

First legally organized Religious Society. — Formation of Union Soci- 
ety, 176-178. Objects of Association, 178. Action on building a Meeting- 
house, 179. House built, 179, 180. House bought by the Presbyterians, 
and finished, 180. First Church Bell, 181-183. A Bugle used for a Bell 
181. Bell purchased; Copy of Subscription, 182, 183. 

METHODIST CHURCH. 
Early History of the Church, 184. Society legally organized, 185. Houses of 
Worship, 186. Action of Quarterly Conference on the Traffic and Use of 
Ardent Spirits. 186. Action on Secret Societies, 187, 188. Action on Mis- 
sions, 187. Names of Presiding Elders and Preachers, 189, 190. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 
Early History of the Church; names of its first Members, 191. Name of the 
Church changed, 191, 192. Dismission of Members in 1827 to Gainesville 
Church, 192. First house of worship built. 192. Masonic Troubles, and 
their settlement, 193. Union with the Genesee Association, 193. Society 
legally organized, 193. Change of Site, and the Building of a new House, 
194. Names of Church Officers, 195. 



CONTENTS. Xlll 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Organization of the Church, 196. Constitution and Rules, 196. Building of 
a Church Edifice, and Dedication, 197, 193. House enlarged, 198. Action 
on Secret Societies, 198. Building of anew Meeting-house; laying of the 
Corner Stone, and Dedication, 198, 199. Pastors and Officers of the Church, 
199, 200. Quarter Centennial Anniversary, 200-202. 

EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Antecedent History of the Church, 203, 204. Legal Organization of the So- 
ciety, 204. Erection and Dedication of a House of Worship; bequest of a 
Parsonage by Mrs. "Watson, 205. Names of Rectors, 205. 

FREE WILL BAPTIST CHURCH. 

Preliminary History, 206. Organization of the Church; building of a Meet- 
ing-house, 207. Names of Ministers, 207. Action on Slavery and Intem- 
perance, 208. Contributions for Benevolent Purposes, 208. 

German Protestant and Catholic Churches, 208. 

GOSPEL LAND. 

History of Land Grants by the Holland Land Company to Religious Societies, 
209, 210. 



WAR HISTORY. 

WAR OF 1812. 

Declaration of War against Great Britain, 211. Names of Citizens of War- 
saw who served therein, 211. 

WAR OF THE REBELLION. 

Bombardment and Fall of Fort Sumter, 212. Proclamation of President Lin- 
coln, and Call for 75,000 Volunteers, 212. Meeting in Warsaw, and the 
Raising of Money, 212, 213. Sums subscribed by Citizens, 213. First Com- 
pany of Volunteers; their Departure, 213, 214. Another Call; Companies 
of Captains Stimson and Bentley, 215. Call of 1S62; Companies of Cap- 
tains Knapp, Jenks, and Harrington, 215, 216. A Touching Scene, (case 
of Charley Bills,) 216, 217. Return and Reception of Company K, 217, 
218. Call of 1863, 218. Sanitary Fair and Aid Societies, 218, 219. Three 
more Calls for Men, 219. Bounties and Taxes, 219, 220. Close of the War, 
220, 221. List of Volunteers from Warsaw, with Dates and Terms of Enlist- 
ment, Casualties, Discharges, &c, 222-231. 



xiv CONTENTS. 

FAMILY AND BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES, 

Alphabetically Arranged, - - - - 232-361 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 

The Starved Ship, 362. Scotch-Irish Family captured by Pirates, 363. '-Under- 
ground" Escape of a Slave Mother and her Child, 364, 365. Crystal Brook 
and its Cascades, 365-367. '"Indian Allan," 367. Sketch of Indian His- 
tory, 36S, 369. Old Modes of Travel, 369, 370. Wyoming County Insur- 
ance Company, 370, 371. Late Fire, 371. Warsaw Gas Works, 372. Ad- 
ditional Family Sketches, 372-377. 



OFFICIAL REGISTER. 

County Officers. — Sheriff*, Clerks, Surrogates, Judges, and District 
Attorneys, ------- 37^-380 

Members of Assembly, and Senators, 380 

Members of the Legislature, 380 

Members of Congress, - 381 

Members of Constitutional Conventions, - 381 

Town Officers, 382-387 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY, 387 

CENSUS STATISTICS, 390 

INDEX, 39i 

INDEX OF NAMES, 395 

CORRECTIONS AND OMISSIONS, 400 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



CIVIL HISTORY 



HOLLAND PURCHASE. 

PRELIMINARY HISTORY. 

Tme tract of country called New England, granted in 1020 
by James L, King of England, to the Plymouth Company, 
extended from the Atlantic to the Pacific ocean. This grant 
was substantially confirmed by William and Mary, in 1091, 
by a second charter specifying the territory granted as lying 
between 12 deg. 5 min. and 11 deg. 15 min. north latitude. 

Previously, however, to the latter grant, Charles I. (1003) 
granted to the Duke of York and Albany the province of 
New York extending to the Canada line. Its eastern bound- 
ary was a line twenty miles east of the Hudson river ; its ex- 
tent westward was not definitely stated. Under these con- 
flicting grants a dispute subsequently arose between Massa- 
chusetts and New York, as to the extent of their respective 
territorial rights and jurisdiction. This controversy was not 
settled until several years after the Revolution. 

To those who are not familiar with our political history, it 
may be necessary to state, that, byway of aiding the General 
Government in paying the public debt incurred during the 
war, the states ceded to the United States their western lands. 
The states of New York and Massachusetts, the latter in 
1785, the former a little earlier, ceded their right to all the 

2 (17) 



18 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

lands west of a line running south from the westerly bend of 
Lake Ontario. This left nearly 20,000 square miles of terri- 
tory still in dispute. In 1786, the controversy was submitted 
to a convention of commissioners. In accordance with their 
decision, Massachusetts ceded to New York all claim to the 
government, sovereignty, and jurisdiction of all the territory 
west of the present line of the state of New York,, and New 
York ceded to Massachusetts the preemption right or fee of 
the land, subject to the title of the natives, of all that part of 
the state of New York lying west of a line beginning at a 
point on the north line of Pennsylvania, 82 miles west of the 
north-east corner of said state ; and running thence due north 
through Seneca Lake to Lake Ontario, excepting a mile's 
breadth along the east bank of the Niagara river. The land, 
the preemption right of which "was thus ceded, amounted 
to about (6,000,000) six million acres, for which the sum 
of (8l,000,00(») one million dollars was to be paid in three 
annual installments. 

In April, 1788, Massachusetts sold the preemption right to 
these lands to Oliver Phelps and Nathaniel Gorham of that 
state, as representatives of an association of persons. In July, 
1788, Gorham and Phelps purchased the Indian title to about 
2,600,000 acres of the eastern part of their purchase from 
Massachusetts. The western boundary of these lands was a 
line running from the north line of Pennsylvania north to the 
junction of the Oanascraga creek and the Genesee river ; 
thence northwardly along the said river to a point two miles 
north of Canawaugus village ; thence northwardly twelve 
miles distant from the river to Lake Ontario. This tract, the 
Indian title to which had been extinguished by Phelps and. 
Gorham, was, in November, 1788, convey od and quit-claimed 
to them, and is that which has been designated as the "Phelps 
and Gorham Purchase." The survey of the tract into town- 
ships and lots was immediately commenced; aad within the 
space of two years about fifty townships had been disposed of, 
principally by whole townships or large portions of townships, 



the company's title. 19 

to individuals and companies. In November, 1790, the pro- 
prietors, reserving to themselves two townships only, sold the 
remainder of their tract, embracing about a million and a 
quarter acres, to Robert Morris, of Philadelphia, who soon 
sold the same to Sir William Pultney, an Englishman. 

THE COMPANY'S TITLE. 

< 
A minute history of the acquirement of title by the Hol- 
land Company to the lands known as the ''Holland Pur- 
chase," can not be given in this work. A few of the princi- 
pal facts must suffice : 

Phelps and Gorhani, having paid about one-third of the 
purchase money of the entire tract purchased of Massachu- 
setts, were unable to make further payments. They had 
stipulated to pay in a kind of scrip, or " consolidated stock," 
issued by that state. This scrip they could buy at 70 or 80 
per cent, below par. "When they had paid about one-third of 
the purchase money, this stock had risen to par, at which they 
were unable to fulfill their engagements. An arrangement 
between the parties was negotiated by which Phelps and Gor- 
ham relinquished their remaining lands to Massachusetts, and 
Massachusetts relinquished to Phelps and Gorhani their bonds 
for the payment of the purchase money. 

In March, 1701, Massachusetts agreed to sell to Samuel 
Ogden, agent for Robert Morris, all the lands ceded to that 
state by Xew York, except that part which had been con- 
veyed by Massachusetts to Phelps and Gorham. In May, 
1791, these lands were conveyed by Robert Morris, in five 
deeds, in strips or parcels extending across the breadth of the 
state from Pennsylvania line north. The first deed included 
all the territory east of the east line of the Holland Purchase. 
This tract, retained by Morris in his sale to the Holland Com- 
pany, took the name of the " Morris Reserve." The second 
deed covered a breadth of sixteen miles ; the third and fourth 
deeds each a tract of the same breadth; and the fifth all the 
lands in the state west of the land conveyed by the fourth 
deed. 



20 HISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

The reason for conveying the land by three separate deeds 
is, that there were three separate branches of the Holland 
Company. But to simplify the transaction of business with 
the settlers, they appointed one general agent for the whole. 
Says Turner, in his History of the Holland Purchase: 

•• Although these deeds of conveyance were given to three 
distinct companies of proprietors, their interests were closely 
blended. Several of the same persons having large interests 
in the three different estates, they appointed one general agent 
for the whole, who managed the concerns of the tract gener- 
ally, as though it all belonged to the same proprietors, making 
no distinction which operated the least on the settlers and pur- 
chasers, but simply keeping the accounts of each separate 
when practicable, and apportioning, pro rata, all expenses 
when blended in the same transaction for the benefit of the 
whole. The general agent likewise appointed one local agent 
for the three companies." In executing contracts and con- 
veyances, however, the agents used the names of the respect- 
ive proprietors of each tract. 

As the Hollanders, being aliens, could not buy and hold 
real estate in their own names, the lands were conveyed for 
their benefit to trustees. They were, however, afterwards con- 
veyed, by sanction of the legislature, to the proprietors in their 
own names. 

At the time of the sale by Morris to the Holland Company 
and to purchasers of his other tracts, the Indian title to these 
lands had not yet been extinguished; which, however, he was 
bound by his contract to do as soon as possible. In 1797, at a 
council of the Scnecas, held near Geneseo, the Indian title to 
these lands was extinguished, except the Gardeau, Caneadea, 
Allegany, Cattaraugus, Buffalo, Tonawanda, and several other 
and smaller reservations. Few of these remain. 

the company's survey. 

Joseph Ellicott had been engaged by the general agent of 
the Holland Company to attend this council as one of the 



the company's survey. 21 

agents of the Company, and chosen as principal surveyor of 
the Company's lands ; a business upon which he promptly 
entered, with his brother, Benjamin Ellicott, as assistant-sur- 
veyor, and the requisite number of hands. The first thing 
necessary was to establish correctly the east line of the Pur- 
chase, starting from the Pennsylvania line. The way in which 
this was done is thus described by Mr. Turner: 

"To run a true meridian by the surveyor's compass, Mr. 
Ellicott knew to be impracticable; he therefore determined 
to run this line by an instrument having for its basis the pro- 
perties of the ' Transit instrument,' made use of to observe 
the transits of the heavenly bodies, improved for this purpose 
by. a newly invented manner of accurately arriving at the 
same. An instrument possessing these qualities was manu- 
factured by his brother Benjamin Ellicott, as no instrument 
possessing all the qualities desired was then to be found in 
the United States." 

But in order to the successful use of the instrument, it be- 
came necessary to cut a vista through the woods on the high- 
lands and on the level ground sufficiently wide to admit a 
clear and uninterrupted view. The vista so cut was three or 
four rods wide. Thus with this instrument, by astronomical 
observations, was a true meridian line established, from which 
this line has derived its familiar name of "Transit." 

Most of the Purchase has been divided into townships six 
miles square, in tiers or ranges, numbered from east to west. 
The townships in the several ranges are numbered from south 
to north. The townships were subdivided into lots or sections 
three- fourths of a mile square, making eight tiers of eight 
lots each, the lots being numbered from south to north, com- 
mencing with the east tier. The lots, by an accurate meas- 
urement, would contain 360 acres each. But the number of 
acres in the different lots varies considerably, a very few in 
this town containing more, but most of them less, than 360 
acres. 

The Holland Purchase, at the time it passed into the hands 



22 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

of its foreign proprietors, and for several years afterwards, 
was in the county of Ontario, which embraced all the terri- 
tory in the state of New York west of the line running north 
and smith through Seneca lake. 

ERECTION AND DIVISION OF GENESEE COUNTY. 

Genesee county was formed from Ontario, March 30, 1802- 
It comprised all that part of the state lying west of Genesee 
river and a line extending due south from the point of the 
junction of that river and the Canascraga creek, to the south 
line of the state. Allegany county was taken from Genesee 
in 1800; Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, and Niagara in 1808; 
parts of Livingston and Monroe in 1821; Orleans in 1821:; 
and Wyoming in 1811. 

The town of Batavia was formed March 30, 1802, the date 
of the erection of the county ot Genesee, and comprised the 
whole of the Holland Purchase. 

April 11, 1801, was formed from Batavia the town of 
Chautauqua, embracing all the territory now constituting the 
county of Chautauqua. At the same time were taken from 
Batavia the towns of Willink and Erie, the latter, now called 
Newstead, comprising, it is believed, but a single township; 
the two comprising all the territory now lying within the 
counties of Niagara and Erie. 

March 19, 1808, Warsaw was formed from Batavia. It 
comprised the present towns of Middlebury, Warsaw, and 
Gainesville. At the same time Sheldon Mas formed from 
Batavia, and embraced all the other townships of the Holland 
Purchase within the county of Wyoming at the time of its 
formation. [The towns of Eagle, Pike, and Genesee Falls, 
from Allegany, were annexed to Wyoming in 1810.] In 
1811, Attica was formed from Sheldon, and embraced the 
present towns of Attica, Orangeville, and Wethersiield. 
Orangeville was formed in 1816 from Attica, and Wethers- 
field from Orangeville, April 12, 1823. Bennington was 
formed from Sheldon, March 0, 1818, and China, March 6, 



TOPOGRAPHY OF WARSAW. 23 

1818. On April 20, 1832, Java was formed from China, and 
and in 1866, the name of China was changed to Arcade. 

June 8, 1812, Ridgewav, comprising all the Holland Com- 
pany's lands, within the present county of Orleans, was 
formed from Batavia; also Pembroke, Alexander, Bethany, 
and Bergen, which are still a part of Genesee county; and 
March 14, 1820, Elba, and March 24, 1820, Stafford, in part. 
The last town mentioned was formed from Batavia and 
Le Roy. 

Genesee county, at the time of its formation, contained four 
towns, namely: Northampton, Southampton, Leicester, and 
Batavia. The first three embraced all the territory within 
the county lying east of the Purchase — Northampton the 
north part, Southampton the south part, Leicester the territory 
lying between them, and Batavia the whole Holland Pur- 
chase. The first Board of Supervisors of Genesee county was 
composed of Simon King, representing Northampton; Chris- 
topher Laybourn, Southampton; John II. Jones, Leicester; 
and Peter Yandeventer, the town of Batavia. 



TOPOGRAPHY OF WARSAW. 

The town of Warsaw, in the comity of Wyoming, is situa- 
ted in latitude 42 deg. and about 45 min. north, and in longi- 
tude 1 deg. and about 20 min. west of Washington. Its 
center is about six miles north-east from the geographical 
center of the county, of which it is the county town. It is a 
part of the tract known as the Holland Purchase. It is six 
miles square, and is designated in the Holland Company's 
survey, as Township Number Nine, Range First of towm- 
ships. It is bounded on the north by Middlebury, west by 
Orangeville, south by Gainesville, and east by Perry. Its 
altitude is above tide water about fifteen hundred feet. 

This town is about two hundred and fifty miles west of Al- 
bany, four hundred north-westerly from the city of New 



24 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

York, forty-five south-easterly from Buffalo, and forty-two 
south-westerly from Kochester. All these places are accessi- 
ble by railroad. The Erie Railway passes through the townj 
north and south, and crosses the Genesee river over the famed 
Portage Bridge near the south-eastern corner of the county. 
The two principally traveled roads run north and south and 
east and west through the village, which is in the center of 
the town. The latter of these roads is the old stage road to 
Buffalo. 

The soil of this town is strong and productive. In its origi- 
nal state it was heavily covered with various kinds of hard 
wood, mostly beech and maple, intermixed, in some parts, 
with elm, bass-wood, and in a few places with oak, ash, and 
hemlock. All the land, except what has been reserved for 
" wood lots," has been cleared and improved, and compares 
favorably with that of adjoining towns in quality. 

The town is centrally divided, north and south, by a valley 
through which passes the O-at-ka creek, a stream sufficient 
to propel mills and machinery. Owing to its extensive 
water-shed on each side, it often assumes great proportions. 
The valley varies from half a mile to a mile in width. 

The surface of the town presents gentle slopes from its east 
and west lines until they approach the valley, when the de- 
clivities increase in steepness, descending from three hundred 
to five hundred feet in a distance of one mile. 

The soil is well adapted to tilling and pasturage. The bot- 
tom lands especially are fertile, producing luxuriant crops of 
grass and grain. There is little waste land in the town. 
The hill sides along the valley, though in some places steep, 
are tillable. Wheat, corn, and the coarser grains of fair yield 
are produced in all parts of the town. The plum, cherry, 
pear, and quince thrive well; and apples are produced in 
abundance, large quantities being shipped, nearly every year, 
to distant markets. Most of the orchards are grafted with 
choice varieties of fruit. 

The whole town is well watered with springs and rivulets 



:' 



10 gm 




C^tsiyt^) /y^6a/LC^> 



Sketch., p Ml. 



SETTLEMENT OF WAKSAW. 25 

tending to the valley through numerous ravines, and emptying 
into the O-at-ka. The largest stream entering the valley 
within the town, heads in Orangeville; its two principal 
branches uniting a short distance cast of the west line of 
Warsaw. A- few rods below the place where it is crossed by 
the Erie Railway, it passes over a precipice ninety feet in 
height through a wild, rocky gorge, and enters the O-at-ka in 
the south part of the village. These falls and the surrounding 
scenery have been highly admired by visitors from distant 
parts of the country, and have been pronounced by many to 
be superior, in point of beauty and interest, to many of the 
more widely celebrated natural curiosities. When the ravine 
below shall have been cleared, and a convenient foot road or 
walk constructed, as is contemplated, this can hardly fail to 
attract the attention of travelers, and to become the frequent 
and favorite resort of our own citizens. 



SETTLEMENT OF WARSAW. 

The present town of Warsaw is distinguished in the survey 
of the Holland Purchase, as Township No. 9, Range First. 
The settlement of this town was commenced by Elizur Web- 
ster, of Hampton, Washington Co., N. Y., in 1803. Having 
duly traversed the township with a view to the selection of a 
situation, he decided to settle within its limits. The internal 
survey and division into lots had not yet been made. He 
wished to find the center of the township; and having made 
a measuring line of elm or bass-wood bark, he started from 
the south lino of No. 10, at the point equidistant from the 
south-east and south-west corners, and run by a compass due 
south three miles, and, it is said, with such accuracy as to vary 
but a very few rods from the center afterwards determined 
by actual survey. He then proceeded to the Land- Office at 
Batavia to negotiate a purchase. But Mr. Ellicott, the agent, 
refused to order a survey to be made for his accommodation, 



26 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

saying, that applications were constantly being made for nn- 
surveyed lands, when there was a plenty of good lands 
already surveyed. 

Among the early settlers there were very few who were 
able to pay down any portion of the purchase money. Mr. 
Ellicott, having .learned that the applicant whose importuni- 
ties he had for one or two days resisted, could command 
about a thousand dollars in money, of which one-half or more 
he was ready to pay on the execution of the contract, very 
readily consented, and forthwith ordered the desired survey. 

Mr. Webster's purchase included nine or ten lots, contain. 
ing more than 3,000 acres, lying mostly along and in the 
valley of O-at-ka creek. The contract price was $1.50 per 
acre. Mr. Ellicott, not having been well informed concerning 
the lands in this township, was deeply chagrinned on learning 
that he had unwittingly disposed of a great portion of the 
best land in the township at the lowest price. Most of Mr. 
Webster's purchase was made on credit; or, as was sometimes 
done, the land was " booked " to him for a trifling sum, not 
exceeding a dollar a lot, for a specific term — six months, more 
or less — during which time he might sell to other parties at 
an advanced price. He sold most of these lands to settlers at 
a small advance of fifty cents per acre; they usually assuming 
his contract at the land-office by taking an article as origina 
purchasers, and paying him his additional charge. His 
contract boars date June 20, 1803. 

Mr. Webster immediately entered upon his purchased pos- 
session. He made a small opening in the forest, and built a 
log-house a few rods back of the present site of the Baptist 
church. Being the only settler, he must, it is presumed, have 
gone a considerable distance for help to raise his cabin. The 
nearest settlement was in No. 10, at the place now known as 
"Wright's Corners," in Middlebury. The writer has been 
told by an old settler, that the house was raised by the help 
of the " choppers " then at work in opening the " Old Buffalo 
Road," which passes through the town east and west, a mile 



FIEST SALES OF LANDS. 27 

and a half north of the village. The house was one of the 
rudest of its kind. As usual, the fire-place was without 
jambs, and the aperture for the passage of the smoke was of 
sufficient capacity to give the house a tolerable lighting from 
above. The roof was of elm bark; and the floor of split 
bass-wood plank, hewn on one side. There was neither board 
nor nail in the whole structure. 

Mr. "Webster returned to Hampton, and in October removed 
to "Warsaw with his family and effects, having a wife and five 
children to share with him the privations and hardships 
incident to pioneer life, as well as their anticipated rewards. 
He came in with two teams, one of them a team of horses 
driven by himself; the other, two yoke of oxen driven altern- 
ately by Shubael Morris and Amos Keeney, who came to 
seek new homes on the Purchase. They were either accom- 
panied or immediately followed by Lyman Morris, also from 
Hampton. They came by the way of Le Roy and the new 
settlement already mentioned, now known as "Wright's Cor- 
ners, in Middlebury. This settlement had been commenced 
the year previous by Jabish "Warren, who had opened a way 
from Le Roy sufficient to admit the passage of a team. Be- 
sides Mr. "Warren, there were then in that settlement, (1803,) 
Joseph Selleck, Frederick Gilbert, Israel M. Dewey, Reuben 
Chamberlain, and Amzi "Wright. 

FIRST SALES OF LANDS. 

The following is a statement of the names of the original or 
first purchasers and occupants of the lands in this town, the 
dates of their contracts, the numbers of the lots and parts of 
lots purchased by each, and to whom sold, &c. By purchase 
and sale of lands from and to each other by the early settlers' 
it is not to be understood that the lands were conveyed by deed 
and mortgage. Few, indeed, had paid for their lands. Most 
of them held land only under articles of agreement from the 
Land Company, and could not convey them by deed. The 
seller, for a consideration paid him for his improvements or 



28 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

his "chance," so called, assigned his article to the purchaser, 
who, by this act, became entitled to all the rights, and liable 
for the fulfillment of all the obligations, of the original con- 
tractor or purchaser. In the statement which follows, the date 
of the contract is in many cases a considerable time either 
before or after the settler entered upon his land. "When the 
intervening period between such entry and the elate of the 
contract is known, the fact is stated. 

1803, June 20, Elizur "Webster, lot 25; 336 acres. Sold to 
John, Jeremiah, and Solomon Truesdell. 

1S03, June 20, E. Webster, lot 27; 343 acres. Sold to Solo- 
mon Morris, Jr., south third, 114 acres; John Morris, 
middle third, 115 acres; Silas C. Fargo, north third, 
111 acres. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, lot 32; 335 acres. Sold to 
Simeon, Gurdon, and Josiah Ilovey, Jim. Articles 
dated June 20, 1S03. Settled on the land in the spring 
of 1804. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, lot 35; 349 acres. Sold to Jonas 
Cutting, south part, 175 acres; Wm. Knapp, north part, 
174 acres. Articles dated !S T ov. 21, 1806. 

1803, Juno 20, E. Webster, south part lot 36; 160 acres. 
Sold in parts to Joseph Palmer, 101 acres; to John 
Munger, 50. Articles dated July 22, 1806. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, north part lot 36; 163 acres. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, south part lot 3S; 200 acres. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, south part lot 43; 182 J acres. 
Sold to Joseph Palmer; article dated June 21, 1S13. 
New article Feb. 23, 1827, to Jonathan F. Ilibbard, 
Nathan Scovel, John B. Royce, and deed to Wm. 
Shipman. 

1803, June 20, E. Webster, north part lot 43. 

1801, June 20, E. Webster, lot 37 and part of lot 3S; 490 
acres. 

1803, June 20, Jabish Warren, lot 26; 347 acres. Sold north 
third to Solomon Morris. Article dated June 20,1807. 



FIRST SALES OF LANDS. 29 

1803, June 20, Jabish Warren, north part lot 28; 214 acres. 
Sold to Nehemiah Fargo. 

1803, June 20, Jabish Warren, south part lot 28; 107 acres. 
Sold to Joseph Palmer. 

1803, July 19, Daniel Curtis, lot 39; 366^ acres. July 19, 
1813, new articles; west part, 200 acres, to Josiah 
Jewett; south-east part, 80 acres, to Nehemiah Fargo; 
north-east part, 864 acres, to Nehemiah Fargo. 

1803, August 24, Elijah Cutting, lot 29; 339 acres. Settled on 
it near the site of the Brick Hotel. Sold in parts to 
Micah Marchant, Elkanah Day, and Nehemiah Fargo. 
Deeds from the Company, to Unicy Marchant, north- 
west part, 98 acres; to Daniel Bumsey, 21 acres; to 
Samuel McWhorter, 73 acres; to Elam Perkins, 83 
acres; to Anson A. Perkins, 17 acres. 

1803, October 29, Josiah Ilovey, Jun., part lot 24; 190 h 
acres. 

1804, January 10, Sterling Stearns, south part lot 2; 160 acres. 
Mr. Stearns was one of the first settlers at Wright's 
Corners. 

1804, April 24, Josiah Boardman, north part lot 1; 126 acres. 

Article renewed April 25, 1814. 
1804, July 31, Josiah Hovey, Sen., south part lot 31; 107 

acres. 
1804, July 31, Josiah Jewett, north part lot 31 ; 230 acres. 

Mr. Jewett resided on his farm until his death. 

1804, November 29, Linus Warner, lot 9; 3461 acres. He 
did not settle upon his lot until 1806. A new article 
was taken Nov. 30, 1814. Sold in 1S20 to Samuel 
Warner, 115 £ acres. 

1805, Jan. 25, Nehemiah Fargo, west part lot 30; 100 acres. 
1805, July 15, Parley Chapman and Alden Keith, east half 

lot 6; 177 acres. New article July 15, 1815, to Jabez 
Chapman. 
1805, September 5, Lot Marchant, north part lot 21; 200 
acres. He settled on his land in the spring of 1806. 



SO HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

It was paid for and deeded Sept. 1806. 

1805, October 2, Giles Parker, west third lot 22; 123 acre3. 

He settled on it the next spring-. 

1806, Feb. 8, Elizur Webster, lot 53; 337. Sold in 1 SOT to 
Hezekiah Wakefield. East part of the lot bought by 
Zera Tanner in 1800. 

1806, Feb. 8, Elizur Webster, west part lot 18; 120 acres. 
1806, April 1, Eliznr Webster, lot 10; 311 acres. Bought 

by Beardsley and Rice. 
1S06, April 1, Gideon T. Jenkins, lots 5 and 13; 728 acres. 

New article in 1810, to Ira Jenkins, Gideon Coon, 

Daniel II. Throop, Henry L. Brown, Thomas Scott, 

John Davis. 
1S0C>, April 15, Isaiah Jaycox, south part lot 1; 125 h acres. 

Bought by Comfort Hayes, 1810. 
1806, April 15, Gideon Thayer, middle third lot 1; 120 acres. 

New article April 10, 1810, to John Wilcox. 
1800, June 2, Daniel Ferguson, lot 52; 357 acres. Sold to 

Abraham Reed, who sold the east half to Isaac Phelps. 
1806, June 2, Philip Salisbury, for himself and brother 

Samuel, lot 50; 355 acres. New article June 3, IS 16, 

to Russel Noble; a part of it was bought in 1823, by 

Luther Foster, and forms part of the farm now owned 

by his son, Luther Foster. 
1S06, June 12, Ephraim Gates, lot 11; 312 acres. Parts 

sold to Asahel Barnard, Samuel Baker, "Win. Small- 

wood, John J. Baker, Wm. Fluker. 
1S0G, June 11, Daniel Knapp, north part lot 31; 120 acres. 
1800, June 10, Elkanah Day, lot 01; 333 acres. Part sold 

to Luther Parker. June 20, 181G, new article to 

Thomas Chase, -west part; to J. Boomer, middle part; 

to Ezra Walker, cast' part. 
L806, July 21, Aaron Bailey, lot 51; 310 acres. Sold in parts: 

East part, 100 acres, in June, 1816, to Jonathan Young, 

a part of which, with the homestead, is now owned by 

Milton D. Hatch. 



FIRST SALES OF LA>~DS. 31 

1806, July 3, Micah Marcliarit, middle part lot 45; 100 acres. 
He probably never resided on this land. He bought 
about the same time the north part of lot 20, taken up 
Elijah Cutting, on which he settled in 1806, at the foot 
of East Hill, east of the residence of L. W. Thayer. 

1806, July 3, Elizur Webster, east part lot 45; 159 acres. 

1806, July 3, Peter W. Harris, west part lot 60; 200 acres. 
Sold to Aaron Bailey, and by him, in June 1816, to 
Jonathan Young. 

1806, July 3, Curtis Edgerton, east part lot 60 ; 144 acres. 
New article, 104 acres to himself; 40 acres to Robert 
Burdick, which was afterwards sold to David Martin. 

J 806, July 21, Nathan Pierce, west part lot 46 ; 200 acres. 
lie resided on this lot until his death, in 1859. 

1806, July 21, Nathan Pierce, lot 62 ; 319 acres. Sold in 
parts, which have been owned by Roderick Chapin and 
his sons John, Roderick, Harvey, Ebcnezer and Willard. 
George Snyder bought of Roderick Jan., in 1834, the 
south-east part, 70 acres. 

1806, July 21, Aaron Bailey, west part lot 55 ; 255 acres. 
Sold to Wm. C. Hatch; now owned in part by his son, 
Wm. T. Hatch. 

1806, Aug. 22, Stephen James, parts of lots 46, 47, 55 ; 292 
acres. He settled on lot 46 ; sold the west part of 47 
and east part of 55 to Wm. C. Hatch, the latter becom- 
ing the homestead, on which his son Walter M. Hatch 
now resides. 

1806, Sept. 23, John Utter, Jim., part of lot 2 ; 100 acres. 
Sold to James Beardsley, Sept, 24, 1816. 

1S06, Nov. 1, Shubael Morris, south third lot 34; 112 acres. 
Sold Nov. 2, 1816, to Wm. Webster. 

1806, Nov. 1, Gideon R. Truesdell, north part lot 33 ; 166 
acres. Sold to Simeon R, Glazier. 

1806, Dec. 31, Nehemiah Fargo, west third lot 19; 120 acres. 

1807, Jan. 3, George Densmore, south part lot -83; 164 acres. 
Sold about 10 years ago, and removed to Sharon, Wis. 



32 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

1807, May 20, Silas Wethy, south-east part lot 30; 116 acre?. 

A part sold to Anson A. Perkins. (?) 
1807, May 21, Lot Marehant, south part lot 21 ; 187 acres. 

Sold to Daniel II. Throop 56 acres. 
1807, May 21, Eliphalet Parker, east part lot 22 ; 246 acres. 

New article, May, 1817, to Samuel Hale, 50 acres ; to 

Cynthia Parker, 50 acres; to Lyman Parker, 146 acres. 
1807, June 12, Solomon Morris, Jim., middle part lot 34; 119 

acres. 
1807, June 6, Chester Eichards, east part lot 17; 256 acres. 

New article to Lemuel Williams, and by him sold to 

Wm. Patterson. 
1807, June 27, Solomon Morris, Sen., north third lot 26; 116 

acres, of Jabish Warren. 
1807, July 24, David Keeler, lot 44; 371 acres. Sold Sept, 

14, 1807, to Abraham Reed and Absalom Green. New 

article, July 25, 1817, t<» Russel Noble. 
1807, Aug. 24, Daniel Wing, lot 56 ; 353 acres. Solcl north 

300 acres to Loami Hall. 
1897, Oct, 12, Ebenezer Munger, west part lot 42; 100 acres. 

New article, Oct. 13, 1817, to John Parrey. 
1807, Oct. 12, Ebenezer Munger, part lot 42; 228 acres. 

New article, Oct, 13, 1817, to Ilezekiah Scovel, 144 

acres. 

1807, Oct, 12, Simeon Gibson, lot 41 and part of 42 ; 40S 
acres. New article, Oct. 13, 1817, to Elijah Hurd, 
Shubael Morris, Ilervey Gibson, Ilezekiah Scovel. 

1808, Jan. 17, Elkanah Day, lot 51 ; 333 acres. New article, 
to Warham Walker, David Martin, and Samuel Salis- 
bury. 

180S, April 13, Nathan Pierce, part lot 46 ; 50 acres. New 
article, April 14, 1818, to John C. Curtis. 

1808, June 1, Flavel Kingsley, lot 58; 367 acres. New article, 
June 2, 1818, to Chauncey L. Sheldon. 

180S, June 1, Seth Carpenter, south half of east two-thirds 
lot — ; 132 acres. New article, June 2, 1818, to Sam- 
uel Barnard and Lcverett Hitchcock. 



FIRST SALES OF LANDS. 33 

1S08, Aug. 13, Suel Ilovey, north two-thirds lot 8; 244 acres. 

New article, Aug. 15, 1818, to Alvin Ilovey and 

Eliphalet Ilovey. 
1808, Sept, 26, Ziba Ilovey, east part 10 ; 120 acres. New 

article, in parts to Suel Ilovey and Josiah Hovey, Jan., 

Sept. 28, ISIS. 
1808, Oct. 1, Linus G hidings, north half lot 14; 166 acres. 

New article, to Anson A. Perkins, Oct. 2, 18 IS. 

1508, Oct. 1, Thomas Sherman, north halt lot 14 ; 166 acres. 
Oct. 2, 1818, new article to Lester Giddings. 

180S, Oct, 5, Hiram Hoyt, west third lot 49; 113 acres. Oct. 

6, ISIS, new article, in parts, to Ichabod T. Murray and 

Joel Wethy. 
1808, Oct. 5, Hervey Gibson, middle third lot 49; 113 acres. 

Oct 6, 1818, new article, in parts, to David Hawley and 

Horace C. Sharp. 
1808, Oct. 5, Hervey Gibson, east third lot 49; 113 acres. 

Oct. 6, 1818, new article, in parts, to David Hawley 

and Samuel Bedow. 
180S, Oct, 5, Wm. S. Stone, lot 57; 375 h acres. Oct. 6,1818, 

new article, to Isaac Stone, Loren Seeley, Benj. Seeley, 

Jun., Abijah Stearns. 

1808, Oct. 7, Daniel Fuller, Jun., east two-thirds lot 18 ; 258 
acres. New articles to Elijah King, Lemuel Williams, 
Leverett Hitchcock. 

1809, April 22, Noah Willis, lot 7; 364 acres. Article re- 
newed 1819, to Barnabas Bic e and Nathan Snow. 

1809, May 11, Jonathan Miller, lot 15; 345 acres. New ar- 
ticle, May 12, 1819, to Henry Ilibbard, David Hovey, 
Ebenezer Smith, Alvin Ilovey. 

1509, Oct. 23, James Hitchcock, south part lot 20; 125 acres. 
New article, Oct. 24, 1817, to Ebenezer Hitchcock; 
from him to Elijah Chamberlain, 182S. 

1S09, Oct. 23, Chester Richards, north part lot 20; 248 acres. 
New article, Oct. 24, 1817, to Jacob Glazier, Anson 
Richards, Chester Richards. 

3 



34 HISTORY OF WASSAW. 

1809, Nov. 14, Thos. Morris, lot 50; 347 acres. New article, 
Nov. 15, 1819, to Eleazer Taylor, David Seymour, Jim. 

1810, April 7, Stephen James, east half lot 64; 149 acres. 
1810, March 22, Abraham ^Y. Brown, north part lot 4; 112 

acres. March 23, 1820, new article to John Sharp. 
1810, March 22, Stephen G. Brown, middle lot 4; 112 acres. 
March 23, 1820, new articles to Ezekiel Hamlin, Lot 
Marchant. 

1810, Dec. 14, Silas C. Fargo, east part lot 19 ; 132 acres. 
Dec. 15, 1820, article renewed to Charles B. Bichards. 

1811, Jan. 25, Levi Pace, east part lot 2; 100 acres. Aug. 

28, 1823, new articles to Shubael Goodspeed, Eldridge 
Beardsley. 

1811, Jan. 28, Nehemiah Fargo, part lot 30; 00 acres. Jan. 

29, 1S29, new article to John II. Reddish. 

1811, March 12, Joseph Logan, north-west part lot 48; 120 

acres. March 13, 1819, new articles to self and to 

Hampton Crandall. 
1811, March 12, Samuel Spalding, south-west part lot 48; 120 

acres. March 13, 1819, new article to Nathan Pierce. 
1811, April 29, (?) 1819, new articles to Ira Craw and John 

Co«»k. 
1811, Sept. 9, Thomas Stutson, east third lot 3; 125 acres. 

Sept. 10, 1819, new article to John Sharp. 

1811, Sept. 9, John Bisby, middle third lot 3; 125 acres. 
Sept. 10, 1819, new article to Peter Sharp, Alexander 
Stone. 

1812, March 20, Ziba Ilovey, part lot 24; 50 acres. Sold to 
Josiah Ilovey. 

1812, March 20, Ziba Ilovey, part lot 24; 50 acres. Sold to 

Lyman Morris. 
1812, July 11, David Griffis, west part lot 6; 75 acres. 
1812, July 11, David Griffis, part lot 6; 102 acres. July 11, 

1822, new article to Cyrus Bice. 
1812, Nov. 10, John B, Knapp, part lot 23; 100 acres. Sold, 

L828, to Julius Whitlock, 50 acres. 



FIRST SALES OF LANDS. 35 

1812, Nov. 10, Wm. Knapp, north part lot 23; 100 acres. 
July 2, 1823, new article to Ilarlev and Daniel 
Knapp. 

1813, April 13, Samuel Whitlock, south-west part lot 23; 100 
acres. 

1813, June 21, 'Joseph Palmer, south part lot 43; 182 h acres. 

1813, July 19, Josiah Jewett, west part lot 39; 200 acres. 
July 20, 1819, new articles to Amasa Mynard and Jo- 
seph Case. 

1813, July 19, Nekemiah Fargo, south-east part lot 39; 80 
acres. 

1813, July 19, Nehemiah Fargo, north east part lot 39; SO* 
acres. 

1814, -Jan. 10, Levi Stearns, south part lot 2; 160 acres. 
Sold to Elijah and Andrew Blackman. 

1S14, Feh. 17, Josiah Boardman, east part lot 40; 100 acres. 
Feb. 18, 1822, new article to Isaac Boardman. Part 
sold to Noah Fisk. 

1814, June 22, Aaron Bailey, middle lot 03; 100 acres. 

1815, June 15, John II. Reddish, north east part lot 30; 54 
acres. Sold to John Wilder in 1829; to Harry Keeney 
in 1834. 

1815, Jxme 19, Simeon McWethy, south part lot 4; 144 acres. 

Part sold to Oliver Goodspeecl in 1828. 
1815, July 15, Jabez Chapman, east part lot 6; 177 acres. 
1815, Sept. 7, Elisha Gay, north west part lot 40; 120 acres. 

Parts sold to John Tripp, Shepard Eastland, Thomas 

Howes. 
1815, Oct. 18, Isaac Luce, west part lot 63; 111 J acres. Sold 

to Chester Perkins. 
1815, Oct. 21, Ziba Hovey, south part lot 8; 121 acres. Part 

sold to Prentice Holmes; next to Hewitt Kinney. 

As has already been stated, the dates of the contracts, or 

articles, do not in all cases show the times at which settlers 

became residents of the town. For example: Josiah Hovey, 

Jan., is charged on the Land Company's book with Lot 23, 



3G HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

under date of Juno 20, 1803, being the date of the original 
purchase by Judge Webster, though Hovey did not buy until 
several months later; and as the land was bought in his name 
for himself and his brothers, Simeon and Gurdon, the names 
of these two do not appear on the book as purchasers of any 
part of the Lot, or as early settlers. Jonas Cutting is said to 
have come as early as 1804, though his article was dated 
Nov. 21, 1806, he having previously contracted with Judge 
Webster for the land. A number made purchases in 1803, 
and a few — as did one or two of the Hoveys — built their cab- 
ins in the fall; but it does not appear that any families but 
those of Judge Webster and Shubael Morris, became actual 
residents that year. 

PROGRESS OF SETTLEilENT FIRST BURIAL. 

In 1S0-4, a considerable number of families and several un- 
married men, came in as settlers. The three Hoveys, just 
mentioned, came early in the spring, and were followed, a few 
months later, by their father, with five younger sons, most of 
them, however, under age; Elijah Cutting, who had bought the 
year previous; Josiah Jewett, JSTchemiah Fargo, Josiah Board- 
man, Jonas Cutting, William Knapp, Amos Keeney, Lyman 
Morris, Sterling Stearns, and perhaps others. Sterling Stearns 
Avas one of the first settlers at Wright's Corners, but removed 
from there early in the spring of 1804. On his way from 
Middlebury with his family, he stopped over night at Mr. 
Webster's, where one of his children, an infant son of about 
two years, died of croup. The body was buried by Amos 
Keeney, Elijah Cutting, and Wm. Webster, the latter being a 
youth of seventeen living with his brother. They cut away a 
few trees on the hill, half a mile south, and dug a grave; and 
as it was a time of high water in the creek, they had to cross 
it, single file, on a largo log, a little north of the hill, one of 
them carrying under his arm the coffin made of part of a 
wagon box, there being no other boards in the place. This 
was the first body buried in the old grave-yard. There was 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 37 

no one to perform any religious service on the occasion. Mr. 
Stearns was a soldier of the Revolution; volunteered in the 
war of 1812, and was killed in the battle of Queenston. The 
second death in town was that of a son of Nehemiah Fargo, 
five years old, drowned in the O-at-ka, in the fall of 1804. 

In 1805, the number of settlers received but a small in- 
crease. Our list of new purchasers contains the names of but 
three, of whom at least two did not bring in their families 
until the next year, namely, Giles Parker, and Lot Marchant. 
Iiezekiah Wakefield is said by some to have come in as early 
as 1S05; but we have no certain evidence of his being here 
previous to the purchase of Lot 53, in 1807, though he proba- 
bly came earlier. 

In 1806, there was a large increase of population, the num- 
ber having probably more than doubled that year, if the 
number of new families was equal to the number of land 
purchases, as it probably was. For, though not all who 
bought came in the same year, several are known to have 
come whose purchases are not dated until a year or two later. 

EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS AMOS KEENEV, AND OTHERS. 

For several years, settlers had to procure their grain and 
other provisions at a great distance. The nearest accessible 
grist-mill was at Le Roy, to and from which, by way of 
"Wright's Corners, over a half-opened road, with an ox-team, 
was a two or three days' journey. Grists were also sometimes 
taken to Conesus, six miles east of Geneseo. Most of the set- 
tlers were poor, and had spent all their means in getting here, 
a distance of more than three hundred miles. The experi- 
ence of Amos Keeney, though a little extraordinary, conveys 
a tolerably correct idea of the early struggles in the wilder- 
ness. 

Mr. Iveeney, as has already been stated, accompanied 
Judge Webster to Warsaw in October, 1S03, driving one of 
his teams. He bargained with Mr. Webster for fifty acres of 
land, now a part of the farm of Samuel Fisher, 2d, which was 



3S niSTORY OF WARSAW. 

to be paid for by clearing ten acres for Webster. The condi- 
tion of his domestic affairs prevented his staying to build a 
house; and he traveled back to Hampton on foot, with Lyman 
Morris, who also had contracted for a farm. He returned in 
March; built his log cabin; chopped, towards paying for his 
land, two acres on the north side of what is now Buffalo street, 
between Main street and the creek; and stalled again for 
Hampton, carrying his provisions in a knapsack. Crossing 
Genesee river, he came near losing his life. Having but ten 
shillings, and over three hundred miles to travel, he could not 
afford to pay the ferriage fee of a shilling, and ventured to 
ford the stream, feeling his way with a long stick. Being a 
man of small stature, and stumbling over the stones, he found 
it difficult to maintain his balance amidst the deep and pow- 
erful current. Getting his knapsack replenished by a brother 
in Oneida Co., he was enabled to reach Hampton, having the 
last day morning paid out his last six- pence for lodging. 

In October, he and Lyman Morris came in with their fam- 
ilies, Mr. Keeney having a wife and three children, and Mr. 
Morris a wife and two children. They had but one wagon, 
which carried all the household goods of both families, with 
the women and children. The wagon and the team of two 
yoke of oxen belonged to Morris, who had also three cows, 
and Keeney one. When within about ten miles of Warsaw, 
the king-bolt of the wagon broke; and they had to camp in 
the woods over night. The next morning, a second trial of a 
wooden bolt having failed, the company started for their des- 
tination on foot, leaving the wagon with the goods standing in 
the woods. Mr. Morris drove his oxen and carried Jonathan, 
then about two years old. Stephen Perkins drove the cows 
and carried George, then nearly five years old. Mr. Keeney 
put on his overcoat, and, by turning up the bottom, formed a 
kind of knapsack, in which he carried his two eldest children, 
Betsey and Harry, and his wife carried the baby, about six 
months old. Mrs. Morris, though she had no child to carry, 
did not go empty-handed. This is probably the only instance 









Sketch.,p.286. L/ 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 39 

known of ten emigrants entering a place, five of them being 
carried by four of the other five ! Morris having got through 
first and made their situation known, Mr. Webster went to 
meet the others, and met them a mile and a half north of the 
village, at the foot of the hill, on the "Old Buffalo Road," 
then just opened from Leicester. lie there relieved Mrs. 
Keeney of her burden, and escorted the new-comers to his 
hospitable cabin home. 

Mr. Keeney 1 s hardships had just begun. He owed some 
ten dollars or more for the transportation of his goods. His 
stock of provisions had been reduced on his arrival to a few 
pounds of flour and a part of a salt fish. His house was one 
of the rudest of its kind. It had no chimney other than a 
wide opening. The fire-place had not even a stone back -wall, 
the fire being kept at a safe distance from the wooden wall. 
Their first night's sleep in their new house was disturbed by 
the howling of wolves, with which the wilderness abounded. 

Scanty as was Mrs. Keeney's wardrobe, a flannel skirt was 
sold to Sterling Stearns for some wheat or flour, and a chintz 
dress to Josiah Hovey, Sen., for the w T ear of his eldest daugh- 
ter, for twelve bushels of corn to be delivered at Geneseo, 
where Mr. Hovey had raised it the preceding summer. He 
hired an ox-team to go after his corn. The first settlers had 
their " milling " chiefly done in Le Roy. But, being, when at 
Geneseo, within six miles of Bosley's mill on the Conesus 
outlet, he took his grist to that mill. He had now a tolerable 
supply of breadstuff; but where could he store it? and how 
preserve so great a bulk of corn meal from spoiling? He cut 
from a hollow bass-wood tree several pieces about three feet 
long, shaved off the bark, and smoothed them inside. He 
put the meal into these vessels in layers of about two inches 
deep, separated by layers of clean flat stones. In this way it 
w T as preserved, and, with the flour previously bought, lasted 
nearly a year. One of these vessels is still in use for other 
purposes, and will probably be transmitted to the " third and 
fourth generations" as a memorial of pioneer life on the Hol- 
land Purchase. 



40 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Their meat during tlie first winter was chiefly venison, fur- 
nished by Judge Webster, who was skillful in the use of the 
rifle. He killed the deer, and half dressed them, which was 
done by loosening the skin from the fore part of the animal, 
and taking out the entrails. The carcass was then cut in two, 
crosswise, and the parts were fastened to a sapling bent down, 
or to a limb of a tree, which, springing back, would raise 
them beyond the reach of wolves. Mr. Keeney, guided by 
the track in the snow, would find and bring in the meat, tak- 
ing the two fore-quarters for his share. For a part of one or 
two seasons, Judge Webster supplied some of the settlers 
with pigeons caught in a net, they returning him the feathers. 

At a pioneer meeting in this village a few years since, Hon. 
Seth M. Gates presented the following: 

"My father moved from Litchfield, Herkimer County, to 
Sheldon, in 1806. He was twenty -six days on the road, and 
hard driving at that, Poswell Turner, father of the writer 
of the History of the Holland Purchase, started with a load 
ot provisions from Genesee river to go to his residence in 
Sheldon, a distance of thirty miles, and actually went back 
to stay the first and second nights, and was five days get- 
ting home. Jabish Warren, of Aurora village, hired sev- 
eral hands t<> clear his land in that village, so long the 
residence of President Fillmore, and used to come fourteen 
miles to Roswell Turner's, in Sheldon, to get his bread baked." 

Truman Lewis, in the spring of 180", came from Vernon, 
Oneida county, to Orangeville. He passed through Warsaw 
in the evening; and in the middle of the highway, now Main 
street, he stopped and counted the children through the 
cracks of a house which stood on the east side of the street. 
Before his marriage, he had a younger brother, Jason Lewis, 
now of Hinsdale, living with him. It was a year of great 
dearth. There was no grain to be had; and although they 
had meat and milk and vegetables, they soon felt the neces- 
sity of having bread. Truman started on horseback to see if 
he could buy some wheat or corn. He continued his journey 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 41 

and inquiries until, somewhere on the Genesee river near 
Mount Morris, lie found a man who had a very little wheat. 
He asked the man if he would sell a bushel for $5. The 
reply was, that he would not sell it for a bushel of dollars. 
He continued his travels until he found a squaw in Caneadea, 
Allegany county, who had a little corn. He succeeded in 
buying a little, and brought it home on his horse. He had at 
this time wheat on the ground ; and as soon as it began to 
turn on the knolls, he reaped a few bundles, dried them 
around the fire in his log-house, threshed them, and, putting 
the wheat into a pillow-case, sent Jason with it on foot five 
miles to Vary's mill, at Varysburg, to get it ground. There 
had been no wheat in the mill for weeks ; and, to use the 
words of Jason, he was obliged " to watch the old man at the 
hopper, the old woman at the bolt, and the pet lamb at both." 
He got home with his flour about nine o'clock in the evening, 
and had "one good square meal of short cake and butter " 
before sleeping. 

UNCOMFORTABLE DWELLINGS. 

Among the unavoidable inconveniences of the first settlers, 
though perhaps not the greatest one, was the want of com- 
fortable dwellings, especially before there were saw-mills, as, 
for the want of boards, blankets were used by many to close 
the openings left for doors; and the chamber floors, as well as 
roofs, were bark. A more minute description of these dwell- 
ings may be acceptable to many readers of the present gen- 
eration, born and reared in the " ceiled houses " of their 
fathers. A worthy citizen, responding to a request to com- 
municate such information concerning his part of the town as 
he should deem suitable for our history, gave, with sundry 
other things, a description of the style of house architecture 
in the days of the pioneers, and as adopted by his father in 
1806, which shows no material improvement during the two 
intervening years since the erection of the bark-covered struc- 
tures of Judo-e Webster and his earlier neighbors. The sub- 



42 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

stance of his description, with such additional facts as our 
knowledge of log-house architecture enables us to supply, is 
as follows : 

A cabin was erected by notching the logs together at the 
ends, placing one above another to the height of about a story 
and a half. The roof of this little palace of the woods was 
made by framing together round poles for rafters, across 
which were placed other poles to support the covering made 
of elm bark taken from large trees when they peeled readily. 
The strips were about four or five feet long by two or three 
feet wide, and fastened on the roof in tiers, each tier lapping 
on the preceding one. The floors were made of bass-wood 
plank split out with beetle and wedge. These planks were 
dressed as well as time and circumstances permitted. The 
fire-place was made by cutting out several logs from one side 
of the building, making an opening seven or eight feet square, 
which was tilled with common field stone laid in mortar made 
of common earth. The chimney was commenced at the 
chamber floor, very wide, to correspond with the broad fire- 
place under it. It was built of thin strips of timber resem- 
bling our common strip lath, laid up in the form of a cob- 
house, gradually narrowed in its progress upward, until 
reduced to dimensions little larger than those of an ordinary 
brick chimney of fifty years ago. The inside of it was plas- 
tered with mortar made of clay and chopped straw, the latter 
being used for the same purpose as hair in common mortar. 
The strips were obtained by riving them out of free rifted 
timber. This " stick chimney," as we used to call it, was far 
from being fire-proof, and was a source of much anxiety, as 
the soot would often ignite, and sometimes communicate fire 
to the wood, and much alarm the family. A speedy applica- 
tion of water, thrown up plentifully inside, would soon allay 
all fears. The cracks between the logs were filled up with 
timber, and plastered over with the same material as that 
used in making the chimney. 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 43 

Bedsteads were sometimes made from saplings cut into 
pieces of the right length. The rails at two corners were fas- 
tened to the wall, by fitting them into holes made into the log 
wall with a large auger. At the other two corners, the rails 
were fastened in the same way into short posts. Or, by hav- 
ing three corners fastened to the walls, the bedstead required 
but a single post. It now wanted only a cord, which was 
sometimes made of elm or bass-w r ood bark. 

Living in houses like those we have described, must have 
been attended with serious discomforts. In many families 
were six, eight, or ten children, who, with their parents, were 
crowded into a single room. In one corner was the father 
and mother's bed, and under it the trundle-bed for the smaller 
children. The larger children lodged in the chamber, which 
they entered by a ladder in another corner. And they often 
made tracks to and from their beds in snow driven through 
the crevices by the wind. These houses furnished anything 
but comfortable quarters to their occupants, especially in win- 
ter. Nor did their roofs, made of bark or shakes, protect 
them from the rains in the summer. How visitors who came 
to spend the night were disposed of, the reader may not 
readily conceive. Some, as their families increased, added to 
their houses another room of the same size, and built of the 
same material as the former. After there were mills to fur- 
nish the timber, a small framed building was sometimes 
attached to the log structure, designed to form a part of the 
new framed house in prospect. 

FIRST MILLS STORE PHYSICIAN DIVISION OF THE TOWN. 

One great w T ant of the settlers was in part supplied by 
Judge Webster's saw-mill, which, according to Turner's 
History, and French's Gazetteer, w r as built in 1804. This is 
probably a mistake. Mrs. Hovey, who came into town with 
her late husband, Simeon Hovey, in the spring of 1S04, and 
is still living, says that Mr. Hovey, in part payment for the 
land bought of Judge "Webster, built the mill, and made some 



44 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

of the gearing in the winter season in his (Mr. Hovey's) log- 
honse, and in their only room, which, though used already as 
a kitchen, dining-room, sitting-room, parlor, and bed-room, 
became also a carpenter's shop. The mill, therefore, could 
not have been running until 1 805, though it may have been 
commenced the year before. The mill was on O-at-ka creek, 
near where that stream is crossed by the first road north of 
South Warsaw running east by Amos Keeney's, and near 
the spot where Leonard Martin's saw-mill now stands. 

Another, and perhaps a still greater want was supplied by 
the first grist-mill, which stood near the saw-mill, and which 
is said to have been built by Joseph Morley or Mauley, in 
1S06, and bought by Solomon Morris, Sen. Amos Keener 
thinks Mauley, for the want of means, was unable to finish it, 
and though he sold it to Morris in 1S06, Morris did not get 
it running until the next year. Probably the idea was not 
then entertained, that within the limits of the village, a water 
power would be found sufficient to propel two large grist- 
mills, as is now done. But for many years after this mill 
was built, and even until long after the village mill had been 
built by Simeon Cumings, getting "milling" done was no 
small item of labor. Roads were uneven, rooty, and miry; 
and the sloughs were bridged with logs laid side by side 
across the way. Hence the vulgar name of "cross way " given 
to a bridge of this kind — a name, however, not sanctioned by 
Webster, who gives us causeway or causey, instead. While 
the bad roads lasted, grists were carried in the summer 
season, in great part, on horseback. 

Great inconvenience was suffered also from the want of a 
store. The Gazetteer says the first store was kept by Absalom 
Green and Daniel Shaw, in 1809. A settler of 1801 says 
these men brought with them some articles of goods, but no 
general assortment; and it is believed that they made no 
subsequent purchases. The first store, properly so called, was 
kept by Almon Stevens, agent for John Dixson, a merchant 
in Richmond, Ontario Co. Mr. Stevens came in 1813, and 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 45 

for a time occupied the bar-room of the tavern built by Judge 
Webster, who had discontinued his tavern after another had 
been built capable of accommodating the public. Goods 
were very dear, not only then, but for many years later, espe- 
cially the heavy groceries, iron, nails, salt, &c. Goods were 
hauled from Albany in wagons; and it took three or four 
weeks to make a trip. 

The settlers also fur years felt seriously the want of a phy- 
sician, and were obliged sometimes to send for one to Attica, 
and even to Geneseo. Airs. Joseph Palmer was for several 
years accoucheuse for the town. In the course of her practice, 
a rather singular case occurred. She was called to the house 
of Sterling Stearns, who has been mentioned as having settled 
in the extreme south-east part of the town. The visit was to 
be made in the night; and it was necessary to be accompa- 
nied by two of the neighboring women. They traveled the 
whole distance (about lour miles) on foot, most of the way by 
an obscure path through the woods, piloted by Mr. Stearns 
with a torch. After a stay of two days, finding the visit pre- 
mature, they prepared to return. Mr. Stearns proposed to 
take them home on his ox-sled, then the principal vehicle, in 
summer as well as winter. But, fearing to leave his wife 
alone in the woods, and wishing to avoid subjecting the 
women to another journey, he concluded that she should 
accompany them, and remain at the center, until circum- 
stances should favor her return. A churn, with cream just 
put in to be churned, was taken on board, it being thought 
inexpedient to wait for the ^performance of the operation. 
Tins labor, however, was saved; for, by the jostling of the 
sled over the rough road, the churn was suddenly thrown 
overboard, and emptied of its contents ! The passengers, 
however, reached their destination in safety. Mrs. Stearns 
remained about three weeks; Mrs. Palmer having herself, 
in the meantime, given birth to a child, and recovered in 
season to render her professional services to her friend. The 
difficulty in obtaining medical assistance was chiefly re- 



4(5 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

moved by the advent of Dr. Chauncey L. Sheldon, in 1808. 
The transaction of public business was also attended with 
great inconvenience. Both county and town business was 
done at Batavia, at least thirty miles from the south border 
of the town, which then included Gainesville. Traveling 
was difficult, and had to be done on horseback or on foot; 
and few had horses. As the town-meetings were held in 
Batavia, many failed to participate in the election of town- 
officers. But attendance at courts was unavoidable; and to 
the poorer class of men, burdensome. Amos Keeney and 
Peter W. Harris were the first jurors called to Batavia from 
Warsaw. They were gone five days, nearly two of which 
must have been spent in going and returning. They tried 
three causes, got seventy-five cents fees, and paid two dollars 
each for board. As regards town business, material relief 
was found in due time by a division of the town of Batavia. 
In 1808, the town of Warsaw was formed. It comprised No. 
10, (now Middlebury,) No. 9, ( Warsaw,) and No. 8, ( Gaines- 
ville.) The first town-meeting was held in the spring of that 
year. The early records of the town for many years being 
lost, a full list of the officers can not be given. It is known, 
however, that the first Supervisor wasElizur Webster; Samuel 
McWhorter, the first Town Clerk; the first Assessors, Eichard 
Bristol, of No. 8, Gideon T. Jenkins, No. 9, and Ebenezer 
Wilson, Jr., No. 10; the first Overseers of Poor, Jothain 
Curtis, No. 10, and Solomon Morris, Sen., No. 9. Of these 
seven men, after a period of sixty years, one — Mr. Bristol, of 
Gainesville, at the age of eighty-seven years — is still living. 

HOUSEHOLD LABOR. — COOKING. 

The manner of cooking in those days would alike surprise 
and amuse persons who have grown up since cooking stoves 
came into use. Kettles were hung over the fire. A strong 
pole or stick, called lug-pole, was raised above the fire, the 
ends being fastended to the sides of the chimney, inside, so 
high as not to be likely to ignite from heat or sparks. The 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 47 

kettles were suspended on trammels, which were pieces of iron 
rods with hooks at the ends. The uppermost one extended 
from the pole nearly down to the fire, and one or more short 
ones were added to bring the kettles to their proper height 
above the fire. For the want of iron, wooden hooks were 
sometimes used. Being directly above the the kettles, and in 
a perpendicular position, they seldom took fire. 

The long handled frying pan was for a time in use. It 
was held over the fire by hand ; or, to save time, the handle 
was sometimes laid on the back of a chair, the pan resting on 
the fire, while the cook was " setting the table." The pan was 
also used for baking short cakes. It was placed in nearly 
a perpendicular position before the fire, with coals under or 
behind it to bake the under side. A more convenient article 
was the cast iron, short handled spider, which w r as set on coals 
on the hearth. Its legs were of such length and so adjusted, 
that, when used for baking cakes or biscuit, being turned up 
towards the fire to the proper slope, handle upwards, it would 
keep its position. But a still better article for bread baking, 
which came into general use, was the cast iron, flat bottomed 
bake-pan, or bake-kettle, with legs and a closely fitted cover. 
Standing upon coals on the hearth, with coals on the cover, 
bread and biscuit were nicely baked. Bread for large families 
was usually baked in outdoor ovens built of brick or fire- 
proof stone. Turkeys and spare ribs were roasted before the 
fire, suspended by a string or small cord; a dish or pan being 
placed underneath to catch the drippings. 

Some of the inconveniences of cooking in open fire-places, 
will be readily imagined. "Women's hair was singed, their 
hands were blistered, and their dresses scorched. The hoop 
skirts of the present time would have been an intolerable in- 
cumbrance. It would have been necessary to doff them, at 
least in cooking time. But framed houses, with jamb fire- 
places, measurably relieved our mothers and grand-mothers. 
In one of the jambs was hung an iron crane, which could be 
drawn forward from over the fire when kettles were to be 



48 HISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

put on or taken off. And connected with the fire-place was a 
brick oven. But the invention of cook-stoves commenced a 
new era in the mode of cooking; and none, the most averse to 
innovation, have indicated a desire to return to the " old way," 
which will hereafter be known only in history. 

MANUFACTURING. 

Long after the country had passed its pioneer state, the 
farmer's house continued to be a linen and woolen factory. 
Where there was more spinning to be done than the wife 
could do in addition to her house-work, and in which the 
daughters were too young to help, spinsters were employed to 
come into families to spin flax and tow in the winter and 
early spring, and wool in the summer. The regular price 
paid these itinerant spinsters was a shilling a day; a run and 
a half of warp, or two runs of filling, being counted a day's 
work. This would not go far towards clothing the farmers' 
daughters in 1868. !Not every house had a loom, however. 
But there were always some who did weaving for those 
who could not do it for themselves. 

Much dyeing, too, was done in the family. "Dye-woods 
and dye-stuffs " formed an important part of a country mer- 
chant's stock. Barrels of chipped Nicaragua, logwood and 
other woods, and kegs of madder, alum, copperas, vitriol, in- 
digo, etc., constituted a large part of the teamsters' loading 
from the canal. Many, scarcely past middle age, remember 
well the old dye-tub standing in the chimney-corner, covered 
with a board, and used also as a seat for children when chairs 
were wanted for visitors, or when new supplies of furniture 
failed to keep pace with the increase of the family. Mr. 
Goodrich, (Peter Parley,) in describing early life in his native 
town, in Connecticut, speaks of this " institution of the dye- 
tub " as having, "when the night had waned, and the family 
had retired, frequently become the anxious seat of the lover, 
wiio was permitted to carry on his courtship, the object of his 
addresses sitting demurely in the opposite corner." We have 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 40 

no authority for saying that it was ever used in this town on 
such occasions. This household dyeing; did not embrace the 
flannel which was designed for fulled cloth. 

Nearly all the cloth worn was "home made." Rarely, 
indeed, did a farmer or his son wear a coat made of any 
other. If, occasionally, a young man appeared in a dress 
of "boughten" cloth, he was an object of envy to his rustic 
associates; or he was suspected of having got it for a "stand 
up suit." Few except merchants, lawyers, doctors, and some 
village mechanics, were seen in cloth that had not passed the 
hands of the town cloth- dresser. Consequently, merchants 
kept very small stocks of broad-cloth. Those of the finer 
qualities were often bought in small pieces, containing a cer- 
tain number of patterns — one, two, or three — to avoid losses 
on remnants. 

There were also itinerant tailoresses who came into families 
to make up the men's and boys' winter clothing. The cutting 
was mostly done by the village tailor, if there was a village 
near. "Bad fits," which were not uncommon, were of course 
charged to the cutter. Hence the practice of tailors, when 
inserting in their bills or advertisements the announcement, 
" Cutting done on short notice, and warranted to fit," to ap- 
pend the very prudent proviso, "if properly made up." 
These seamstresses charged two' shillings a day for their work. 
This was thought by some employers rather exorbitant, as the 
common price of help at housework was but six shillings a 
week — "York currency," the reader will of course under- 
stand. Although the word pounds, in expressing money 
values, had given place to dollars, fractional parts of a dollar 
were yet expressed by shillings and pence. Many merchants 
and their clerks still keep up the practice, as if they had but 
half learned the decimal system of reckoning. 

Boots and shoes also were made in many families. Farm- 
ers got the hides of their slaughtered cattle tanned "on shares;" 
or, if their share were judged insufficient to shoe a whole 
family, the dressing was otherwise paid for. Then there was 



50 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

in the neighborhood a circulating shoemaker, who made his 
annual autumnal circuit with his "kit." The children had a 
happy time during his sojourn, which lasted one, two, or more 
weeks, according to the number of feet to be shod. The boys 
who had doffed their old shoes when the winter snows had 
scarcely disappeared, to enjoy the luxury ot going barefoot, 
were now no less joyful in the anticipation of new ones to pro- 
tect their feet from the frosts, or perchance the early snows 
which had kept them for "thirty days " in close confinement. 
Such was the demand for the labor of the men of this trade 
at this season of the year, that their own families were often 
sadly neglected ; thus verifying one part of the old adage, 
"Shoemakers' wives and blacksmiths' horses go barefoot. 1 ' 

A revolution in household labor has been effected since the 
days of our mothers and grandmothers. The substitution of 
cotton for flax, and of the various kinds of labor-saving 
machinery for hand cards and spinning-wheels and looms, 
has vastly lightened the labor of women. One of the results 
of these improvements is the opportunity they afford for 
mental and intellectual culture. That the mass of American 
women duly improve these opportunities for increasing their 
usefulness, will hardly be affirmed. 

WILD ANIMALS. 

The early settlers of Warsaw were much annoyed by bears 
and wolves. Animals being permitted to run at large to feed 
in the woods, many, especially swine, were destroyed by 
bears. And great care Mas necessary to protect sheep from 
the ravages of wolves. Although we have no accounts of 
persons having become victims to beasts of prey, alarms were 
frequent, and life was sometimes endangered. And for years 
the sleep of the inhabitants was disturbed by the bowlings of 
wolves. To rid the country of these pests, bounties were 
early offered for their destruction. 

The first Board of Supervisors elected in Genesee county 
met at Batavia in October, 1S03. Among their recorded 
proceedings is the following : 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 51 

"The Board, after considering the necessity and utility of 
destroying wolves, passed a vote to allow a bounty of five 
dollars a piece for the scalp and ears of each wolf taken and 
killed in the county aforesaid since its organization." 

At an adjourned meeting in November, specified sums 
were ordered to be raised in the several towns for wolves 
taken and killed therein, as follows : Northampton, $100 ; 
Southampton, $300 for wolves killed and other contingent 
charges ; Leicester, $600 for wolves and other contingent 
charges ; Batavia, $700 for the same. The number of wolves 
on which bounties were paid that year was fifty -six ; and the 
bounties, at $5 a head, amounted to $280. 

In 1801, the Board " Resolved, That certificates given to 
Indians for wolf scalps, shall be certified in the presence of a 
white person of suitable age, who shall also attest the same." 
The same number of scalps was again paid for the next year. 

A uniform price of $5 a head appears to have been paid 
clown to 1813; and the average number killed yearly to that 
time was about 45. In 1811, $10 a head was paid for 36 
wolves, and $5 a head for 3 whelps. Notwithstanding a vote 
had been taken to reduce the bounty to $5, there was paid 
for 7 wolves the enormous price of $15 a head ; for 20, $5 a 
head; for 13, $10 a head ; and for 10 whelps, $20 a head! 
In 1S16, 69 wolves were paid for, most of them at $40 each, 
and 31 whelps, $15 each. In 1817, 26 whelps, at $15, and 
but 13 wolves, at $10 each. In 1818, 9 wolves at $40, and 17 
whelps at $15 each. In 1819, 7 wolves at $40, and 28 whelps 
at $15 each. In 1820, 8 wolves at $40, and 33 whelps at $15 
each. In 1821, 6 wolves at $10 each, and 1 whelp, $2. No 
bounties appear to have been paid after that year. It has 
been said that wolves were taken in Pennsylvania, and 
brought into this county and killed ; their scalps carried to 
Batavia, and the bounty drawn. This may have heen a rea- 
son for discontinuing the bounties. The whole number ot 
wolves and whelps paid for, was 793, and of panthers, 8. 
The amount paid for them was $6,782. 



52 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Many years later, these animals had not wholly disap- 
peared. Occasional wolf-hunts occurred as late as about the 
year 1830, in some of the adjacent towns. About that time, 
men of this town were called out to one near Hall's Corners 
in Orangeville, about three miles west of Warsaw village. 

We subjoin a wolf story not entirely devoid of interest. 
At an early day. Deacon Plunger had several sheep killed, 
either by wolves, or by a certain suspicious dog in the neigh- 
borhood. The next evening two large traps were set a short 
distance from his 1 tarn-yard, and the carcass of one of the 
dead slice}) laid near them. Late in the night the place was 
visited, and the dog was found fast in one of the traps ; and 
the person who went to see, thought the other trap was still 
there. The dog was suffered to remain in " durance vile " 
until daylight, when the other trap, with a heavy clog at- 
tached, was found missing. Its track was followed across the 
field, where the thief, a large wolf, was arrested by a brush 
fence, in which, in endeavoring to cross it, he had become 
entangled. Of course both dog and wolf were promptly dis- 
patched. "Wolf's scalps bringing at that time $10 a piece, the 
loss of sheep was more than compensated. A singular cir- 
cumstance connected with this affair is vouched for. On 
going out to look at the traps, a sheej) was seen standing in 
or near the barn-yard on a large stump, upon which, in its 
fright, it is supposed to have leaped for safety. 

In 1808, Benjamin Parker, residing on East Hill, came 
near losing his life by bears. Between the Transit and Perry 
Center, there was an almost continuous forest. Returning 
from Elisha Smith's, near Sucker Brook, in Perry, he met, on 
the long causeway, (still remembered by some old inhabi- 
tants,) seven bears, three old ones and four young ones. He 
took up a large club, his only weapon of defense, and struck 
one of them with such force as to break the club. Having no 
other hope of saving his life, he retreated, and climbed a 
small tree standing near the road. He hallooed for some time 
for help; and although more than a mile distant, he was heard 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 53 

by Smith, who, with his gun, axe, and dog, came to his relief, 
the bears standing around the tree. The dog chased the four 
cubs and two of the old bears up a tree, or trees. It being 
nearly dark, fires were kindled at the foot of the trees, and 
kept up during the night, to prevent the escape of the bears. 
In the morning, the two old bears were shot, and the four 
young ones were taken alive. How they were finally disposed 
of, we are not informed. It does not appear from the records 
of Genesee county that bounties were offered for bear scalps. 
Such bounties as were some years paid on wolves, would have 
been ample compensation to the party defending, for the fears 
and perils of this bear-tight. 

KKMARKABLE IXCIDEXT. 

A most extraordinary event occurred in Middlebury, in 
1817, within a i'ew miles of this town. We have read ac- 
counts of it in different papers and books; and although 
differing slightly, they agree in eveiy important particular. 
"We copy from a work entitled, " Memorials of the Descend- 
ants of William Shattuck," etc., loaned to us for this purpose 
by Mr. Edward C. Shattuck, of this village, a relative of the 
person referred to in the following: 

Artemas Shattuck was cutting forest trees, and one fell 
upon a high stump and became entangled with other trees. 
In endeavoring to cut, disengage, and bring it to the ground, 
it suddenly fell; and the trunk upon which he stood split, and 
his foot was caught in the cleft. As it fell over the stump, he 
was raised several feet from the ground, and suspended with 
his head downwards, and in such a position that he could not 
touch the ground, nor get upon the top of the trunk of the 
tree for support. His axe in the meantime had fallen, and 
was not within his reach; he was thus without means to extri- 
cate himself. In this condition he cried for help, but cried in 
vain, until his voice failed him, and he could cry no longer. 
He soon began to suffer extreme pain, not only in his toot, 
which remained clenched in the cleft of the tree, but also 



54 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

from headache and general exhaustion, caused by his unnatu- 
ral position and the great exertion he had put forth to make 
himself heard and to obtain relief. He was in the woods, 
three-fourths of a mile from any human being, and the 
weather was extremely cold. What was he to do ? Unless 
he could be immediately extricated, death seemed inevitable. 
There appeared no alternative. Summoning all his fortitude, 
he resolved upon an act which, if he should succeed in per- 
forming, there would be a teeble hope, and but a feeble one, 
of saving his life. He might perish if he did it; he must, if 
lie did it not. He took from his pocket an old Barlow knife, 
and first cut oft the leg of his boot and stocking, and with a 
piece of quality which he had in his vest pocket, he bound up 
his ankle as tightly as possible, to stop the current of blood. 
Then, with his knife, he unjointed his ankle, and left his foot, 
cut and separated from his leg, in the cleft ot the tree! By 
the trunk of the tree he reached the ground, and crawled to 
his dinner-basket, and bound up the stump with a napkin. 
He cut a stick, and hobbled or crawled upon his hands and 
knees through the snow towards home. When he had ar- 
rived within a few rods of his house he was discovered by 
his family; and, exhausted and tainting, was brought to his 
room and resuscitated. A surgeon was obtained from Bata- 
via, a distance of fifteen or eighteen miles, by whom his limb 
was again amputated; and in due time he recovered. Three 
of his brothers, Josiah, Gilbert, and Giles, were with him 
during his illness. lie afterwards turned his attention to 
study; emigrated to Xorth Carolina in 1819; joined the Bap- 
tist church in 1820, and commenced preaching in 1821. 

To the foregoing we find appended in the margin of the 
book, the following note: 

Some account of this event, unassociated with any name, 
was published in the "Presbyterian," a newspaper of Phila- 
delphia, in the winter of 1850-51, under the title of "A 
curious fact." The fact was stated to be, that when Mr. 
Shattuck "became conscious, lie said: 'Go immediately to 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 55 

the woods and cut out my foot, for it is suffering most excru- 
ciating pain.' They did so, and brought the foot to the house. 
He then said it was cold, and wished it put into warm water. 
This request was also granted. It was not, however, done in 
the room in which he lay; yet as soon as his foot touched the 
water, he exclaimed: 'It burns me; the water is too hot.' 
And upon examination it was found to be so. The water 
was made cooler, and he was satisfied." We have great 
doubts (the writer adds,) as to the authenticity of this state- 
ment, or of the correctness of its philosophy. We have read 
considerably in medical literature, and have conversed with 
many scientific surgeons on the subject; and have yet to 
learn a well- authenticated case in which an application to 
an amputated limb has sensibly affected the living individual 
from whom it was taken. 

Since the above was written, wo have received ample 
confirmation of this statement. Being informed that Mrs. 
Perthena Shattuck, wife of the late Josiah Shattuck, brother 
of Artemas, was residing in Wethersfield with her son-in-law, 
Y. D. Eastman, Esq., we addressed her, through him, inquir- 
ing into the truth of this incredible statement. The answer 
places it beyond doubt. Mrs. Shattuck, residing near the 
home of Artemas, saw T him the next morning. She heard 
him, and others who were present when the foot was sent for 
and brought in, often speak of the pain from the coldness ot 
the foot, and from the heat of the water. The next day, Dr. 
John Cotes, of Batavia, w r as called, and amputated the leg. 
Dr. Seaver, still residing in Middlebury, was present at the 
operation, and heard these statements from those who w T ere 
eye and ear witnesses to the facts. Hence, though " philoso- 
phy " and "medical science" may fail to confirm them, they 
are as well authenticated as the casualty itself. 

There have been held in this town several meetings of old 
settlers, the proceedings of which are elsewhere recorded. 
At these meetings were related a number of interesting inci- 
dents of pioneer life, to which the reader is referred. [See 
" Old Folks' Gatherings."] 



00 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ENJOYMENTS OF THE EARLY SETTLERS. 

Narratives of the incidents and adventures of pioneer life 
generally present only the dark side of the picture. To those 
who subdued the wilderness, their toils and privations were 
not a series of unmitigated sufferings. They had their joys 
as well as their sorrows. The addition of each new acre to 
their "dealings," brought with it fresh enjoyment, and cheered 
them on in the pursuit of their ultimate object, an indepen- 
dent and a happy home. They were happy also in their fra- 
ternal feelings; or, as one of them once expressed it, "the 
feeling of brotherhood — the disposition to help one another;" 
or, in the language of another, "Society was rude and unculti- 
vated; yet the people were very friendly to each other; quite 
as much so as relatives are at the present clay." We can 
hardly endure the thought of exchanging the vast variety of 
our splendid and comfortable vehicles for the rude ones of our 
fathers, which served the various purposes of visiting, and of 
going to mill and to "meeting" — (churches they had not;) yet 
who doubts that William Bristol and family, of No. 8, had 
"a good time" when they made a visit to Judge Webster's, a 
distance of seven miles, on an ox-sled drawn by oxen? Our 
mothers were satisfied when clad in homespun of their own 
make; and we well remember the "glad surprise" when 
fathers, on their return from market, presented their faithful 
help-mates a six yards calico dress pattern for Sunday wear. 
And we presume the wearer was in quite as devotional a 
frame of mind, and enjoyed Sabbath exercises quite as well, 
as she who now flaunts her gorgeously trimmed silk of fifteen 
yards, with the addition of a few more for the indispensable 
trail. 

The people were happy in their families. The boys, having 
labored hard during the day, sought rest at an early hour. 
Parents had the satisfaction of seeing their sons acquiring 
habits of industry and frugality — a sure prognostic of success 



EXPERIENCE OF SETTLERS. 57 

in life. The "higher civilization" had not yet introduced 
those popular institutions now to be seen 

'* Iu every country village, where 

Ten chimney smokes perfume the air ; ' — 

the saloon and billiard room, in which so many youth now 
receive their principal training. Fewer parents spent sleep- 
less nights in anxious thought about their " prodigal sons," or 
had their slumbers suddenly broken by the noisy entrance of 
these sons on returning from their midnight revels. They saw 
no clouds rising to dim the prospect of a happy future to their 
children. Never were wives and mothers more cheerful than 
when, like the virtuous woman described by Solomon, they 
" they laid their hands to the spindle, and their hands held 
the distaff;" or when, with their knitting work or sewing, and 
baby too, they went — unbidden, as the custom was — to spend 
an afternoon with their " neighbor women," by whom they were 
received with a hearty, unceremonious welcome. The " latch- 
string was out" at all times; and even the formality of knock- 
ing was, by the more intimate neighbors, dispensed with. 

Nor did they lack topics of conversation at these visits. 
Prominent among them were their domestic labors — their 
manifold industrial enterprises — and the anticijjated rewards 
of their present toils and privations. Their talk, some may 
suppose, evinced no high degree of intellectual culture; yet, 
as an indication of intellectuality, surely it will not suffer in 
comparison with the gossip which engrosses the time of many 
of our modern educated ladies at their social satherinsrs. 



58 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



POLICY OF THE LAND COMPANY. 

The Books of the Company in the Land-Office show 
remarkably slow progress of settlers in paying for their lands. 
Prom entries in these books we infer that a large proportion 
of them forfeited their claims. It appears that, at the expira- 
tion of ten years from the date of their contracts, those who 
had paid little or nothing were charged with "Increase," to 
an amount almost equal to, and in some instances greater 
than the original price of the land. And this increase is 
almost uniformly charged the next day after the ten years had 
expired. 

For example: G. T. J. was charged April 1, 1806, "To two 
Lots, T2S Acres, $1,456," being two dollars per acre, only ten 
dollars having been paid down. At the end of ten years, he 
was charged, "To Increase, $1,648," making the sum of 
$3,104, when the land was bought in parts by six different 
purchasers, who took new articles. E. P. was charged May 
21, 1S0T, "To part of Lot — , 246 Acres, $615," on which was 
paid soon after, thirty-five dollars. May 22, 1817, " Increase" 
was added, $612; and articles were given to three new pur- 
chasers, charged with $1,257. 

It is presumed that the lands reverted to the Company by 
forfeiture, and that new articles wore given to the former pur- 
chaser or any other applicant. The uniformity of the dates 
of the new articles, just ten years after the elates of the old 
ones, may be accounted for by the supposition, that the new 
articles, at whatever time they were issued after the increase 
had been charged, were dated the clay next after the date of 
that charge. 

Some assistance was rendered the settlers in making pay- 
ments, by the offer of the Company to receive cattle on their 
contracts. Agents were sent once a year to certain towns in 
each county for that purpose. We find the first credit for 
cattle in the year 1822 or 1823. This policy was continued a 




^{J/?7t ^?? &u~n ^\e^n>r^f 



Sketch., p 191 



POLICY OF THE LAND COMPANY. 59 

number of years. "We see also some credits for grain. An 
additional stimulus was given by a notice to those most in 
arrears, or who had paid little or nothing, that a large deduc- 
tion, in case of speedy payment, would be made, from the 
sums due. This gave much dissatisfaction to those who had 
been prompt in their payments, who regarded it as a premium 
to their slack neighbors for their want of punctuality. 

Many have questioned the wisdom of the policy adopted 
by the Holland Company for the disposal and settlement of 
their lands. Probably with a view to inviting immigration, 
articles were given to settlers on the most easy terms — to 
many of them, on payment of a sum scarcely sufficient to 
pay for drawing the contract, which, in many cases, was but 
one dollar. Many, doubtless, were attracted to the Purchase 
by this easy mode of obtaining possession of land. The early 
settlers were generally poor, and could scarcely have pur- 
chased on less accommodating terms. Yet of these, not a 
few, after a short residence and sundry discouragements, sold 
out their " improvements," and sought new homes in more 
favorable locations. 

The opinion has often been expressed, that the plan of 
selling lands at a low price for cash, after the manner of the 
General Government, would have been better both for the 
Company and the settlers, as it would have brought in not 
only a more industrious and enterprising, but a better class of 
inhabitants. That some persons of the lower class, and shift- 
less, were brought hither by the easy terms proposed by the 
Company, is probably true. But we believe those of the early 
inhabitants still living will agree in saying, that the early 
settlers of this town were generally honest, frugal, and indus- 
trious. 

A recurrence to facts in their history, will reveal the true 
cause of the slow progress of the settlers in discharging their 
obligations to the Company. Most of them were compara- 
tively young men from the East, and poor. Wages had been 
low; and they had laid up little more than enough to buy a 



60 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

team and pay the expense of their removal. They had 
heavily timbered lands to clear, and for a time had no sons 
able to help, nor the means of hiring labor. And for the little 
surplus grain which after a few years they produced, there 
was no market beyond the demands of new-comers. "War 
came; and many were obliged to leave their farms and join 
the army. Peace returned; labor was again thrown upon the 
land; and in a year or two there was a large surplus which 
scarcely paid for the labor of raising it. The price of wheat 
in Rochester, then the nearest and best cash market, was 2s. 
6d. to 3s. per bushel, which would not pay the cost of trans- 
portation in that time of bad roads; of course, very little was 
sold there. Occasionally a load was taken to Albany by 
teamsters going after goods for the merchants. At home, a 
bushel was given in exchange for a pound of tobacco, or a 
yard of brown cotton cloth. 

In providing means for prosecuting the war, double duties 
were laid upon goods imported, which duties were to continue 
during the war, and for a year after its close. These duties 
checked importations and encouraged home manufactures. 
Many manufacturing establishments sprang into being. The 
period of high duties expired in 1816. Commercial inter- 
course with Great Britain, which had been suspended during 
the war, was resumed, and the country was again flooded 
with British goods. Our manufactures were prostrated. The 
country was drained of its money to pay for foreign goods; 
specie payments "were suspended; and bank-bills depreciated 
to seventy or eighty per cent, below par, and in some states 
to almost nothing. No wonder that the books of the Land 
Company show so few and so small credits to settlers. ]STor 
is it strange that so many children went barefoot long after 
the first snows had fallen. 

Partial relief, however, was found within doors. Our 
mothers and their eldest daughters plied the spindle and the 
shuttle with the characteristic assiduity of those days, in pro- 
viding clothing for the families; thus restricting in a good 



POLICY OF THE LAND COMPANY. 61 

measure the running accounts at the stores, and in many 
cases producing a considerable surplus to be exchanged at 
the stores for cotton cloth, both plain and printed. Many a 
farmer's wife have we seen bringing under her arm to the 
store in this town, a huge roll of linen or flannel, and carrying 
away its equivalent in a score of articles to supply the wants 
of her family. 

But for some purposes money must be had. Taxes could 
not be paid in kind ; and to raise " tax money " farmers were 
obliged to sell grain and other products of their farms for 
prices which would now scarcely pay for their transportation 
to the place of delivery. Some relief was afforded by the 
products of the forest timber. The ashes from the burned 
heaps were saved and sold at the ashery, which was an 
indispensable appendage to a country store, or to at least one 
store in a place. They were drawn several miles over rough 
roads, and sold for six or eight cents per bushel, and measured 
in a bushel and a half basket at that; and then they could 
not always be sold for money. Or, to cheapen transportation, 
the}^ were, by a process unknown to some of our younger 
readers, converted into "black salts," which would generally 
command money at any pearl-ashery, where they were man- 
ufactured into pearl ashes. Many, to get money to pay taxes 
and other cash debts, cut and burned timber for this special 
purpose, while their granaries were well stored with grain, 
which could not be sold for cash. A hotel-keeper and stage 
proprietor in this village, after having bought a supply of oats 
for the year, at twelve and a half cents per bushel, had them 
urged upon him for ten cents, at which price he ventured to 
buy more; but he lost rather than gained by the operation. 

Thus the struggle continued until the completion of the Erie 
Canal in 1S25, which, by opening to our people an accessible 
market, brought them speedy and permanent relief. They at 
once entered upon a course of unwonted prosperity, and soon 
attained a comfortable independence. 



02 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



THE VILLAGE 



Before the year 1S16, the settlement at the center of the 
town had scarcely begun to assume the appearance of a vil- 
lage. The only framed houses recollected at present, were 
the following: 1. The tavern house built by Judge Webster, 
of which the present dwelling of Nehemiah Park was a part, 
the other and main part having been moved toward the north- 
east, on the south corner of Buffalo and Main streets. 2. A 
school-house where the Baptist Church now stands. 3. A 
small house near it, the residence of Samuel McWhorter. 
4. The residence of Capt. Fargo, on the site of the present 
dwelling of his son, Allen Fargo. 5. The dwelling-house of 
Almon Stevens on the ground now covered by the Congrega- 
tional Church. 6. The dwelling of Dr. Sheldon, a few rods 
north of Mr. Stevens's. 7. A small house which stood a few 
feet north of where Dr. Bartlett's " Gothic " now stands. 
8. The tavern house of Eussel Noble, since removed to make 
place for the brick hotel built by J. A. McElwain, and occu- 
pied by the late George W. Morris, Esq., on Main street, in 
the north part of the village. There was also the small build- 
ing used as a store by Almon Stevens, which stood on the 
north side of the old Presbyterian church, occupied more 
recently and for many years as a dwelling; and the old red 
building occupied as a store by C. L. Sheldon & Co., and 
afterwards as a dwelling, until removed to make room for 
the Episcopal church. Calvin Eumsey had established the 
tanning and shoe-making business on the west side of the 
creek on Buffalo street, on the lot now owned and occupied 
by Frank Miller and his son, Edwin A. Miller, and lived in a 
part of the shoe-shop. 

In 1810, the aspect of the embryo village began to change. 
Simeon Cumings, of Batavia, had, the year previous, bought 
of Judge Webster 10 acres of land, for the sum of $8,500. 
One object of the purchase was the erection of a grist-mill, 



THE VILLAGE. 63 

and perhaps other machinery. The employment of the labor 
required in the construction of the mill-race and the mill, and 
in making the various contemplated improvements, gave ac- 
tivity to the place. Before the close of the year 1816, the 
grist-mill was in operation; and a year or two later, an oil- 
mill was built a short distance south, near where the race 
crosses Water street. 

Mr. Cumings laid out the streets now called Water street 
and Court street; and the land adjoining them and Main and 
Buffalo streets, was laid out into village lots. At this time, 
not a dwelling, it is believed, had ever been erected on it. 
The principal portion of this tract Avas in a square body 
bounded by about eighty rods on Main, and nearly an equal 
distance on Buffalo street, excepting about two acres in the 
south-west corner of the square previously sold to Calvin 
Rumsey, and adding the corner south of Buffalo street, in- 
cluding the tavern stand. 

The first lots sold by him were mostly on Buffalo street. 
Among the first buildings erected was the house in which 
Timothy II. Buxton now resides. Its first occupant was 
Edward Putnam. It was soon after occupied by Rev. 
Korris Bull. The "old cider-mill" building was removed a 
few rods, and wheeled to its present site west of and near the 
mill-race, where, for a time, in a half finished state, it served 
a greater number of families and tradesmen than any other 
building; having been used as a store, cabin et-shop, shoe- 
shop, etc., and sheltered the families of lawyers, doctors, 
mechanics and others. About the same time, 1817, John 
Iiobson, the first hatter in Warsaw, built the house which 
constitutes a part of the present residence of H. A. Dudley; 
Henry Stevens, on the south side of the street, the present 
residence of Mrs. Lawrence; and Benjamin L. Watkins, a 
house and blacksmith's shop on the corner of Buffalo and 
Water streets, west side of Water street. 

Among the first buildings erected on Main street, (in 1817, 
or late in 1816,) was a dwelling, built by Nelson A. Phelps, 



64 IIISTOKY OF WAESAW. 

and now the cabinet-shop of E. C. Shattuck, and about 
the same time two or more dwellings on and near the corner 
where the Methodist church now stands. Dr. Frank, who 
came to Warsaw m 1817, built, either that year or the next, 
a dwelling on Main street, near the place where the store of 
A. & G. W. Frank now stands. The " Masonic Hall," which 
had stood for years in an unfinished state, on the south side 
of Buffalo street, and never occupied, was bought by Aaron 
Rumsey, moved across the way on the corner of Buffalo and 
Water streets, and fitted it up for a dwelling, in which he 
lived until he removed to Westficld, in 1827. This house has 
since served the families of Silas Kidder, John Crocker, Dea- 
con Munger, Dr. Belden, and several others, and undergone 
frequent repairs. It was some years ago removed west on the 
opposite corner of Buffalo and Water streets, and is now 
owned by John A. McElwain, and occupied by Mrs. Lemon 
as a boarding-house. Calvin Rumsey built the house now 
owned and occupied by Frank Miller. Samuel McWhorter 
vacated the small house near the school-house, having built 
on his farm the house next north of the present residence ot 
Samuel Fisher, 2d, and now owned by John Ransom, editor 
of the "Wyoming Democrat." 

Elisha Barmele, merchant, whose first sign called customers 
to the "old cider mill," in 1817, built, soon after, the "yellow 
store," elsewhere described, and a two-story dwelling near it; 
the house being at present the north part of the hotel recently 
owned by the late ]N~. J. Perry, and for many years previous 
by the late Dr. Augustus Frank. Dr. Sheldon built, near his 
store, (south side,) his new two-story dwelling, occupied by 
him until his death, and thereafter by his family for many 
years. It was afterward occupied as a parsonage, the 
property of the Presbyterian church, and then passed into 
the hands of Dr. J. G. Meachem, and after a few years, 
removed by him to the north part of the village. It is the 
house in which Dr. M. Baker now resides, by whom it has 
been changed into a beautiful residence. 



THE VILLAGE. 65 

In 1820, H. & E. C Ivimberly, merchants, who had for 
two years occupied the old Stevens store, built the " corner 
store " on the ground now covered by the brick building of 
J. H. Darling, occupied as a Drug store by Matthews & 
Brown, the present as well as the former bank building 
having been crowded into the former narrow unoccupied 
space between the bound of the street and the corner store. 
The store of Sheldon & Frank, now the property of Dr. 
Bartlett, was built, it is believed, as early as 1818 or 1819; 
and in the spring of 1S22, Dr. Frank, having withdrawn from 
the firm of Sheldon & Frank, commenced business in his 
new store on the west side of the street, where the brick 
building of the Franks now stands. 

Dr. Daniel Rumsey, who had resided in this town in 1817 
and ISIS, and who, after several years' residence in Alexan- 
der, had returned to Warsaw, built a large two-story dwelling 
on the west side of Main street, about midway between the 
corners. After his removal to Silver Creek, this house was 
occupied by his son-in-law, George D. Farnham, and was 
afterwards bought by Dr. Frank, and rented for a number of 
years. A part of it was for a time occupied for the instruc- 
tion of a school of young ladies, by Miss Anna P. Sill, the 
founder and present principal of the noted and popular Young 
Ladies' Seminary in Rockford, 111. Tins building was several 
years since converted into shops or stores to supply the busi- 
ness wants of the place. About the time Dr. Rumsey built 
his house, James Crocker built one near it, which he sold to 
F. C. McKay, and which was occupied successively by him- 
self and Isaac C. Bronson, before it came into the possession 
of its present occupant, Albert Purdy. Whether this dwell- 
ing is destined to a similar change, time must determine. It 
lias for several years borne a powerful pressure on its south 
side, and it may soon be compelled to yield. About the time 
these buildings were erected, perhaps a little earlier, Dr. 
Cyrus Rumsey built the house now the residence of John A. 

McElwain, on Genesee street, and John Crocker the house 

5 



66 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

next west of it, the present residence of Wm. Bingham, and 
the first east of the Hotel. 

It lias been suggested by several of our citizens that our 
village history would be incomplete without due notice of a 
certain prominent old inhabitant, well known through a wide 
region of surrounding country. There are many yet living 
who remember well their old unfortunate fellow-citizen, who 
had in early life lost the free use of both his lower limbs, and 
whose locomotion was rendered possible only by the aid of 
wooden substitutes. lie was one of Warsaw's earliest me- 
chanics, and for a time carried on business in a small plank 
building, said to have been built by Col. Day, the first black- 
smith in town, and used by him as a shop, or as some say, a 
dwelling. It stood on or near the spot on which Dr. Bartlett's 
brick building stands, on the corner of Main and Genesee 
streets. Its exterior fitly represented the mechanical skill of 
its occupant, whose vocation was thus legibly expressed on a 
sign board: "I. Ivenyon, Tailor." Though a single as well as 
a singular man, the income from his trade afforded him a 
scanty support; and he united with tailoring the sale of "cake 
and beer," the latter being, if our memory be not at fault, in 
the full sense of the term, 7iome made, and having at least 
this preference over the modern articles of that name, that its 
effects were less injurious. Of course the public were duly 
notified of this extension of business, by an additional sign 
on his shop's front. Other articles were by degrees added to 
his stock, until his " assortment " assumed the title of " Gro- ' 
eery." But adversity came, and taught him impressively, 
that " disappointment is the lot of all men." He was "burned 
out clean!" and, for a time at least, his "occupation was 
gone." 

But our neighbor was not disheartened Jjy this reverse of 
fortune. A new building in due time sprang up, Phenix 
like, on the west side of the street. This was by no means a 
rude structure. It had one adornment which is believed to 
have been entirely original. A large picture of a pillar sur- 



THE VILLAGE. 67 

mounted by an eagle, was painted on its front, intended, it is 
presumed, to represent the patriotism of its proprietor. In 
front of the building was erected a high post, on which was 
fastened a sign reading as follows; (for the old gentleman, be 
it known, laid some claim to poetic talent:) 

'< Come view my post, and drink a toast. 
For I've been tried by fire; 
Yet I will still make up your bill 
As low as you require." 

It is related of one of our respectable citizens, (though evi- 
dently wanting in respect to hoary hairs,) that he was wont, 
on passing, to read in a loud tone this inscription, and to 
subjoin the mock reference, "Isaiah xvi, 19," (Mr. K.'s name 
being Isaiah,) well knowing that he would thus bring to the 
door the irascible occupant to give boisterous vent to his 
indignation. In his new shop "Tailoring" was never done, 
his last chosen business alone giving him a livelihood, such as 
it was. His grocery, however, became at length the haunt of 
the idle, the intemperate, and the vicious; and such was its 
influence, that a fate like that which had befallen the old 
shop, would have been regarded as a public blessing. 

One of his singularities was the tenacity with which he 
clung to the hope, almost to the last, of finding a wife; hence 
nothing would he so bitterly resent, as being called an old 
man. Having at length become disqualified for business bv 
his infirmities and age, and being destitute of other means of 
support, he was compelled to spend the last years of his life 
where the wants of the unfortunate and needy of every 
county are gratuitously supplied. 

Although the village continued gradually to improve, there 
was no marked change in its appearance from this time until 
after the purchase of the "Webster estate by F. C. D. McKay, 
Esq., in 183(3. Judge "Webster had been indisposed to sell 
land in small parcels; and owning the land on both sides of 
Buffalo street west of the bridge, no houses could be built 
there. There were but two houses west of the bridge on that 



68 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

street, one them his own, near the hill, now the residence of 
II. B. Jenks; the other built by Cabin Bumsey, the present 
residence of Frank Miller. Perhaps, also, the two small, 
diminutive houses lately standing near the bridge. Mr. 
McKay laid out Liberty street, and sold within the first year 
a considerable number of lots on Buffalo and Liberty streets; 
and several dwellings were put up, among which was one 
intended by Mr. McKay for himself, but never finished by 
him. It came a year or two afterwards into the hands of 
Joshua LI. Darling, who completed it, and who, by several 
alterations and improvements, has transformed it into a 
beautiful and tasty mansion. Most of the lots, however, 
w T ere sold to laboring men of limited means; and the new 
buildings were generally small and cheaply constructed. !Nbr 
did the population or the business for several years greatly 
increase. 

In 1S41 , the new county of "Wyoming was formed, com- 
prising the southern half of Genesee, and the county seat 
located at Warsaw. This gave to business and to im- 
provements an impulse such as they had never before re- 
ceived. The population has since been trebled, and business 
has increased in nearly the same proportion. Large and 
valuable stocks of goods have brought purchasers from all 
parts of the county; and manufactures of various kinds have 
been established. Many marked improvements have also 
been made during this period. The streets were at times 
almost impassable with teams; and the side-walks were in no 
better condition for footmen, except here and there a few 
rods covered with gravel or tan-bark. The village was incor- 
porated in 1843; and by the exercise of its corporate powers, 
this and other difficulties have been remedied. Much has 
been done to improve the streets, and two bridges have been 
built across the O-at-ka, which are likely to stand during 
the life time of at least two generations. The streets have 
been greatly beautified with shade trees. By turning the 
course of the west branch, so as to unite with the O-at-ka 



THE VILLAGE. 69 

creek some distance below the south bridge, the road is no 
longer liable to damage from the former stream: and several 
village lots of little value have been changed into eligible 
locations. 

Prior to 1841, there was but one brick building in the vil- 
lage, (that of Mr. Darling,) except a small one on Water 
street, still standing there. The county jail, a wooden struc- 
ture, was built in 1841. The Court House and County Clerk's 
Office, substantial brick buildings, were erected in 1812, and 
greatly improved the appearance of w fhe village. Many ele- 
gant brick dwellings— the first of which were those of Dr. 
Merrick Baker (now S. Whitchers) and Linns W. Thayer, 
Esq., — and a much greater number of first class framed 
houses, have since been built; and many old ones have been 
moderenized and beautified. At no time, for a similar period, 
has there been so marked an improvement as within the last 
six or eight years, on Buffalo and Main streets. Main street 
presents two fine specimens of church architecture, erected 
within the last three years, by the Presbyterian and Congre- 
gational societies. And that memorable event in February, 
1867, "the great fire," which was at the time deemed a seri- 
ous calamity, has contributed, more than any other cause, to 
the permanent improvement of the village. Probably not 
more than two or three persons have reason to regret the 
occurrence. A brick block of three stores with some nine or 
ten dilapidated, rickety buildings were destroyed, and the 
vacant space has already been filled by a row of beautiful 
and substantial structures, which are surpassed in few country 
villages in this section of the state. 

In 1868, George W. Frank and Elbert E. Farman pur- 
chased of John A. McElvain several acres of land, lying 
north of Genesee street, and east of the lots on the east side 
of Main street, which they laid out into building lots. They 
have opened from Main street to their grounds, two new 
streets: Elm street running to the north corner of their land; 
and one south of it, which is a continuation of Court street. 



TO HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Several acres have been set apart and inclosed for a Park. 
Three fine brick dwelling houses have been erected by G. W. 
Frank, H. A. Dudley, and Eev. J. E. Nassau. That of Mr. 
Frank is completed. Another has been commenced by Mr. 
Farman, and will be completed the present year. This'will 
soon be one of the most attractive parts of the village. 



POST OFFICES. 

The first Post-Office in Warsaw was established in 1811. 
Prior to this time, letters were received and mailed at Bata- 
via. County, town, and land-office business being done there, 
the inhabitants had frequent opportunities of sending to the 
post-office at that place. But the early settlers received many 
letters from eastern friends by the hands of " new comers," 
and of those who came seeking homes. And as those who 
purchased returned to bring in their families, the people 
probably received and sent most of their letters outside of 
the mails. The rates of postage were high; and few letters 
would have been written even if there had been a post-office 
in the town. Postage on letters Mas, tor a distance not ex- 
ceeding 30 miles, 6 cents; over 30 and not exceeding SO miles, 
10 cents; over 80 and not exceeding 150 miles, 12h cents; 
over 150 and not exceeding 400 miles, 18? cents; over 100 
miles, 25 cents. The early settlers being generally poor, they 
were compelled to restrict their correspondence to cases of 
necessity. Coming from the extreme eastern part of this 
state and from the eastern states, most of their letters were 
subject to the highest rates. How many letters would our 
farmers now write if they had to pay the price of a bushel of 
wheat or four bushels of oats for a letter? Yet there was a 
time, many years after there was a post-office here, when the 
quantity mentioned of each of these commodities would have 
commanded no more cash than the highest rates of postage. 



POST-OFFICES. 



71 



And how would men have regarded the prediction that, 
within the life-time of some then living, a letter would be 
carried from the Atlantic to the Pacific for three cents f 

At an early day — probably soon after the establishment 01 
the post-office here — a post route was established from Geneseo 
through this place to Lake Erie, which made a direct and con- 
tinuous route from Canandaigua to that lake, at a point eight 
miles from Buffalo. Levi Street, of Sheldon, carried the mail 
many years, and, as is believed, was the first contractor and 
carrier; but what year he commenced his ride, (on horseback, 
of course,) we are not informed. The papers chiefly taken 
were the "Ontario Repository" and "Ontario Messenger," 
both published in Canandaigua, and, at a later date, the 
"Moscow Advertiser," and were carried by Mr. Street. Of the 
number he distributed, we may form a tolerable estimate from 
the fact, that they were carried in a saddle-bag, as lately as 
1S16, at those seasons of the year when the roads were too 
muddy or too rough for him to go with his vehicle, labeled, 
" Moscow Stage." Mr. Street was at length superseded by 
other mail contractors, who at least furnished the traveling 
public better accommodations. He removed to Cincinnati, O., 
where he died of that dreadful disease, hydrophobia, caused 
by the bite of a horse. 

The " Genesee Intelligencer," the first paper in this state 
west of the Genesee River, was published in Batavia in 1807, 
by Elias Williams, who commenced it in the spring, and dis- 
continued it in October. The " Cornucopia " was commenced 
the next spring, (1808,) by Benjamin Blodgett and Samuel 
Peck, and continued by them until 1811, when David C. 
Miller took the place of Mr. Peck; and the paper assumed 
the name ot " Republican Advocate." The post-office being 
established here about the same time, this paper began to take 
the place of the Canandaigua papers. In 1819, the "Spirit 
of the Times " was commenced at Batavia. After this, few 
Ontario papers appeared in this town. 



72 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

The following are the names of Postmasters in Warsaw, 
with the dates of their appointment : 

Chauncey L. Sheldon, April 12, 1811. 
Chauncey L. Sheldon, January 24, 1826. 
Elias K. Bascom, March 3, 1828. 
Isaac C. Bronson, August 20, 1841. 
William K. Crooks, March 10, 1843. 
Edwin L. Fuller, July 15, 1845. 
Charles W. Bailey, May 3, 1849. 
Jacob W. Knapp, February 28, 1853. 
Seth M. Gates, May 28, 1861. 
Seth M. Gates, June 3, 1S65. 

The amount received for postage on letters and papers dur- 
ing the first year at this post-office was about fifty dollars. 

By an act of Congress, postmasters whose compensation 
from commissions on the money received at their respective 
offices exceeds $1,000, are appointed by the President, with 
the concurrence of the Senate. 

A post-office was established at South Warsaw, February, 
1850, and continued several years, Alonzo Choate, postmaster. 
Also in the south-east part of the town a post-otlice named 
East Warsaw was established after the preceding — Evans, 
postmaster. It was continued but a few years. 



AGKICULTUKE. 73 



AGRICULTURE 



Agkiculture is a term hardly applicable to the farming of 
those days. Agricultural papers, if there had been any, 
would have been of little use to those just beginning in the 
woods. The " virgin soil " was prepared for seed when cleared 
of its forest burden — the better, however, if it had had a 
" good burn," which the proprietor was always anxious to se- 
cure. The principal instrument of tillage was the triangular 
harrow, usually called drag, sometimes made of a crotched 
tree. The timber was worked clown to the proper size, and 
teeth were inserted of nearly double the thickness of those 
now used, so as to stand the severe test to which they were to 
be put. The drag bounded along over roots and stones, and 
among the stumps, generally drawn by oxen often driven by 
boys — a kind of driving which would not be relished by the 
youthful drivers of " fast horses " in these later days. And 
when the roots had become sufficiently brittle to admit of the 
use of the plow, an instrument was used, which it would 
puzzle the young men of the present day to give a name. 
The idea of a cast iron plow had not then entered the brain 
of the inventor. This plow was invented by Jethro Wood, 
of Scipio, Cayuga Co., 1ST. Y., about fifty years ago; though it 
is a much less number of years since it came into general use. 
The improvements since made in the plow and the harrow; 
the invention of cultivators, drills for sowing and planting, 
and other labor-saving implements, have changed the aspect 
of farming, and increased incalculably the power of produc- 
tion. 

In harvesting, the change is most striking. Before the de- 
cay and removal of stumps permitted the use of the grain 
cradle, the cutting of grain was mostly done w T ith the sickle, 
now a rare instrument, not at all used for its original purpose. 
It was then a staple article of merchandise. In the old Day- 
Books and Journals of the early merchants, if they coidd be 



74 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

found, might be seen the charge, " To 1 Sickle," under the 
names of scores of customers, followed, in the cases of many, 
by that other charge, " To 1 Gal. "Whisky," an article then 
deemed by some as necessary in the harvesting operation as 
the instrument itself. The cradle, which superseded the 
sickle, is now fast giving way — in many parts of the country 
has wholly done so already — to the reaper, an instrument 
then not more likely to be invented than the photographic 
art, or the means of hourly intercourse with people on the 
other side of the Atlantic. Single fields of wheat of one 
hundred to five hundred acres each, are not rare in some of 
the "Western States. Let a man imagine an attempt to cut 
these immense fields of grain by handfuls with the sickle, 
and he can not fail to appreciate the invention of the reaper. 
Grain was threshed with the flail, ten to twenty bushels 
a day, and cleaned with a fan — an instrument which most 
of our readers have never seen, and which we will not under- 
take to describe. It was superseded by the fanning-mill, 
which, though not a new invention, was not easily obtained 
by the first settlers. A single machine now receives the 
sheaves and delivers the cleaned grain at the rate of one 
hundred to two hundred bushels a day. And a reaper is in 
use at the West, which carries two binders, and drops along 
its track the cut grain in sheaves, bound. 

In hay harvesting, also, improvements would seem to have 
reached perfection, when a lad of sufficient age to drive a 
team, mows from fifty to one hundred acres of meadow in 
an ordinary haying season, and the hay is all raked during 
the same time by a single hand. 

STOCK RAISING. 

Early attention was given to the raising; of stock. In a 
large portion of the Holland Purchase, it has become the 
principal branch of agriculture. The first settlers moved on 
w r ith ox-teams, and each brought a cow, few more than one. 
For several years, their little " clearings " were insufficient to 



AGRICULTURE. 75 

furnish keeping for the smallest herds. Before they had 
pastures and meadows, cattle run in the woods during sum- 
mer, feeding on hei'bage and browse. Leeks, with which the 
woods abounded, and which appeared almost as soon as the 
snow was off, were a tolerable substitute for hay and early 
pasture. In the winter, the lack of hay was chiefly supplied 
with straw and corn-stalks from the first grain crops, and 
browse. Much of the chopping was done in winter; and 
cattle were driven to the woods to feed on the tops of the 
fallen trees. In process of time, settlers were enabled, from 
the increase of their stock, to supply " new comers," who 
saved the expense of driving cows by buying here. And 
stock raising in time became to many the most profitable 
branch of farming. "When there was no longer a home 
demand for the surplus grain, nor any other accessible market, 
cattle, thongh very cheap, were sold to drovers and driven to 
eastern cities, when grain would not bear transportation to 
the nearest market. 

The first crops of grain were abundant in all the Holland 
Purchase. But when the land came to be plowed, the pro- 
ducts began to decrease; and in large portions of it, the 
raising of breadstuffs proved a failure. This was the case in 
the western towns of this county. Farmers continued to plow, 
and kept comparatively poor. They turned to grazing; and 
from the products of the dairy and the sheep-fold, they paid 
for their tarms, and became rich. The introduction of im- 
proved breeds of cattle and shee}), and improvements in the 
making of butter and cheese, have contributed greatly to this 
result. Cheese factories have been built in most of the towns 
in this county. Twenty-four were in operation the last year. 
Of the products of these factories we have not the means of 
forming even a tolerable estimate. 

FRUIT CULTURE. 

Fruit culture, too, has proved a material source of profit. 
Almost the first acre of the early settler's " clearing," was 



76 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

made the beginning of a large apple orchard. The crop in 
time became abundant, and for the surplus there was no 
market; and many farmers cut down a large portion of their 
trees. They soon learned their mistake. Instead of continu- 
ing to contract, they are now rapidly extending the area of 
their orchards to meet the constantly increasing demand for 
this staple fruit. Many a farmer in Western New York 
receives a greater profit from his orchard, than from the rest 
of a large and fertile farm. So great a portion of the "West — 
all that lies in the more northern latitudes — must ever 
remain dependent upon other parts ot the Union, that there 
need be no fear of an unsalable surplus. And we may add 
the fact — perhaps not generally known — that the apples from 
Western New York are preferred to those from other sections 
of the Union. 

In view of the various modern improvements, by which 
the labor of farming has been so much lightened, and so well 
rewarded, it is not strange that the business has been increas- 
ing in the popular favor. It is becoming as attractive as it 
is honorable. 



MERCHANTS. 77 



TRADE-MERCHANTS. 

Although the first dwellings and school-houses were bnilt 
of logs, we believe there was never in this town a log store. 
There have been many on the Holland Purchase, however; 
and we have seen several within the present limits of this 
county. Asheries were established in new settlements, and 
their proprietors kept small lots of the more common articles 
of merchandise in a part of their log dwellings, or erected a 
building of the same material for a store. And we have seen 
in some of them good assortments, comprising nearly the 
usual variety found in stores generally. 

The early stores bore a striking contrast to those of the 
present time. A hardware store, a drug store, a book store, 
or grocery store, as such, was not, until a late period, known 
in country villages. A store comprising a single class of 
goods could not, among a sparse and poor population, be 
sustained. Hence merchants kept, and would enumerate in 
their show-bills and advertisements, "Dry Goods, Groceries, 
Crockery and Glass-ware, Hardware, Iron — Bar, Band, Hoop, 
and Sheet Iron — Nails, School Books and Stationery, Dye- 
woods and Dye-stuffs," and sometimes adding, " Drugs and 
Medicines," and not excepting "Brandy, Bum, Gin, and 
Whisky;" and this list would be supplemented with a string 
of et ceteras,or, " every other article usually found in country 
stores." 

It will be readily imagined to have been no inconsiderable 
item in a merchant's business to make his semi-annual pur- 
chases. Preparations for his periodical visits to Albany and 
New York were commenced weeks beforehand. The time of 
absence would vary from tw r o to four weeks, according to the 
state of the roads; and leaving for New York was attended 
with about as much circumstance and ceremony, as is now 
observed on leaving for a tour to Europe. 



78 HISTORY OF WAESAW. 

Few goods were sold for cash. Almost all trade was on 
the credit and barter system; as well that of the merchant as 
that among the people in general. Notes were made payable 
in grain, lumber, cattle, and other commodities, and some- 
times contained the stipulation, " at cash price;" for almost 
every country product, as well as merchants' goods, had two 
prices, a cash and a barter or credit price; though it was by 
no means an easy matter to ascertain the cash price, which, 
after all, depended materially upon the mutual agreement of 
the parties. Merchants often suffered much loss by this 
system of business. Notwithstanding the high per centage 
charged as profits on their goods, losses by bad debts, (many 
customers being very poor,) and losses on grain and other 
commodities, which it was difficult, sometimes impossible, to 
turn into cash, rendered the mercantile business a precarious 
and hazardous one. 

Warsaw was for many years the center of trade for an 
extensive region. At Attica, and Batavia, and Le Roy, were 
the nearest stores in those directions. Perry was the only 
adjoining town in which there was a store. The northern 
towns of Allegany county, and the town of Castile in our own 
county, (then Genesee,) found here a market for large quan- 
tities of pine lumber, with which those towns then abounded. 
It was here exchanged for goods and grain. Much of the 
grain taken by the merchants for goods was thus disposed of. 

To the south-west, trade extended far into Allegany and 
Cattaraugus counties. Maple sugar, long an important arti- 
cle of trade, came in large quantities from that quarter. But 
from its superabundance, and the inhabitants generally sup- 
plying themselves, the price was at times as low as four or 
five cents a pound. Brown sugars of the kinds now used, 
were seldom found in the early country stores. Almost the 
only sugar brought from New York, was the white, refined 
sugar, put up in hard, tall, solid loaves of a conical form, and 
hence called lump or loaf sugar, and was wrapped in strong 
and coarse paper. This refined sugar was sold chiefly for 






MERCHANTS. 70 

sweetening medicines and the liquors of tavern-keepers, who 
bought it in large quantities. 

Ashes were a more important article of trade. In every 
place of considerable business, there was at least one mer- 
chant who had an ashery and bought the ashes made in the 
neighborhood, the lye of which was boiled into pot-ash. Raw 
ashes, of which large quantities were made in the fields from 
the timber burned in clearing land, not admitting of trans- 
portation a great distance, it was necessary to concentrate 
their virtue into smaller bulk. The lye was boiled down to 
the consistence of thick mortar, called "black salts," which 
were brought to this village a distance of twenty or thirty 
miles from the south-west. Hence the necessity also of a 
pearl-ashery for converting the salts into pearl ashes. This 
was done by baking, or rather "burn/mg them in a large oven 
brought almost to a red heat. The value of this trade will 
readily appear from the fact, that pot and pearl ashes, con- 
taining great value in small weight and bulk, might be trans- 
ported a great distance. Hence they were taken by teams to 
G-eneseo and Rochester, where they always commanded cash; 
and sometimes, before the construction of the Erie canal, to 
Albany, by teams, which were loaded back with merchants' 
goods. Pot and pearl ashes being so readily turned into cash, 
the manufacturers would often pay for salts and raw ashes in 
part, sometimes wholly, in cash. 

To facilitate the collection of debts, merchants sometimes 
received cattle on accounts from their customers, and drove 
them to eastern markets, or sold them to drovers from the 
east. Cattle were cheap in those days. A pair of good 
working oxen could be bought for fifty or sixty dollars; steers 
three years old, for fifteen dollars a head; steers two years 
old, for about ten dollars. Pork also was taken on account, 
at prices which contrast strikingly with those paid within the 
last few years. Well tatted pork, dressed, has been bought 
here for two dollars and a half per hundred. 



SO HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

STORES. 

Almon Stevens came in with a store of goods as agent for 
John Dixson, in Jan., 1S13. The bar-room of Judge "Web- 
ster's tavern, (no longer kept by him as such,) was used for a 
store, until a store was built, which was the small building 
removed a few years since to clear the ground for the new 
Presbyterian church, and which now stands on Liberty street, 
opposite the Fair grounds. After about two years, Almon 
Stevens and his brother Henry bought the stock in trade, 
and continued the business about two years, and discontinued 
it in 1817, or 1818. 

In 1815, Simeon Cummings, who that year made his land 
purchase of Judge Webster, in connection with Dr. Sheldon, 
and a Mr. Brigham, established a store, under the firm of C. 
L. Sheldon & Co. It was kept in the small red building, 
afterwards iised many years as a dwelling, and finally re- 
moved to make room for the Episcopal church. The store 
was discontinued in 1816. 

In the winter of 1816-17, Erastus Beach, of Mt. Morris, 
opened a store on the west side of Main street, nearly oppo- 
site the present site of the brick hotel. It was continued less 
than a year. 

In 1817, Elisha Parmele opened a store in the building, 
elsewhere noticed as " the cider-mill," a few rods west of the 
mill-race on Buffalo street, and occupied it until he had built 
a new store near the north tavern, afterwards removed to the 
corner opposite to and south of the Brick Hotel, and known 
as the "old yellow store." He stopped trade in the winter or 
spring of 1824. 

In or about the year 1818, Drs. Sheldon & Frank com- 
menced trade on a small scale, or added some family 
necessaries to their Drugs and Medicines in a small building, 
twelve by sixteen feet, standing east side of Main street, 
facing Buffalo street, and used also for a Post-Office. It may 
still be seen on Water street, where it forms a wing to a 



! 



MERCHANTS. 81 

dwelling-house. The compound word, " Post- Office," thinly 
covered with white paint, may still be read on the frieze. A 
larger store was soon built, occupied by that firm for a few 
years, and afterwards by Dr. Sheldon, and Sheldon & Bas- 
com. Since the addition of a lower story, and a change in 
the appearance in its front, by its present proprietor, it has 
been designated as "Dr. Bartlett's Gothic. 15 

In 1818, Homer and Ebenezer C. Ivimberly opened a store 
in the building formerly occupied by Almon Stevens, near 
the Presbyterian church. In 1820, they occupied their new 
store on the north corner of Main and Buffalo streets, now 
called the "Bank corner," the Bank having since been 
pressed in between the street and the spot previously occu- 
pied by the corner building. In 1822 the firm was dissolved, 
and the business was continued by Ebenezer C. Ivimberly 
until 1828. 

In the spring of 1822, Dr. Frank, having dissolved with 
Dr. Sheldon, and built a new store on the west side of Main 
street, near the ground now occupied by A. & G. "W. Frank, 
commenced business in his own name alone, and continued 
the business for nearly thirty years from that time, and, until 
within a few years of his death, in the same building. 

In 1824 or 1825, Elias E. Bascom, a clerk of Dr. Sheldon, 
became a partner in the concern, and so continued, it is 
believed, until the death of Dr. Sheldon, in March, 1828. 
Mr. Bascom continued business until 1832 or 1833, alone, 
except a very short period of partnership under the firm of 
Bascom & Whitcomb. 

About the year 1825, John McWhorter and John M. 
Cumings commenced trade in the " yellow store," and con- 
tinued business a year or two. 

In Sept., 1828, A. ~W. Young removed his goods from 
Wethersfield, and commenced business in the corner store 
building, bought of E. C. Ivimberly. In Sept., 1S30, he took 
in Joshua II. Darling as a partner; and business was con- 
tinued under the firm of A. W. Young & Co., until the next 

6 



82 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

year, when Mr. Young withdrew from the firm; and in the 
spring of 1832, Mr. Darling sold to Young & Webster, who 
were succeeded the same year by Mr. Darling, who bought, 
with the store and goods, the dwelling-house and lot now 
owned by Timothy II. Buxton. 

In 1831, Isaac C. Bronson joined Dr. Frank in trade. In 
183G, he left the concern, and commenced business in the 
'•yellow store," and in 1837, he took into partnership his 
brother-in-law, Chauncey C. Gates, who, in 1843, sold out his 
interest to Andrew G. Hammond. 

In 1833 or 1834, Andrew G. Hammond came to Warsaw 
as agent for John Dixson, of Richmond, and after about a 
year, removed to Ohio, with the goods. After closing busi- 
ness there, and being employed as Cashier in Kalamazoo, 
Mich., and in Florida, he returned to Warsaw, and became 
a partner of Isaac C. Bronson, as above stated, in the 
year 1S13. 

About the year 1S37, Alanson Holly and James M. Darling 
bought Dr. Frank's goods, and traded one year. After this, 
Mr. Holly bought Joshua II. Darling's stock of goods at the 
corner store, and traded alone a year. 

About the year 18-12, Morrison & Faulkner opened a store 
in Warsaw. Within a year or two after, Faulkner retired 
from the firm, and Morrison continued business a year or 
more, sold out his goods, and returned to Xew York. He is 
now one of the firm of Lathrop, Ludington & Co., wholesale 
Dry Goods dealers in that city. 

In 1S13, Boswell Gould, who had traded fifteen years in 
South Warsaw, removed to the village, and continued the 
business until 1851, when he sold his stock of goods to Web- 
ster & Andrews. 

In May, 1S45, the Comstocks of Lc Boy, and Elijah W. 
Andrews, of Warsaw, under the firm of A. O. Comstoek A: 
Co., established a store in Warsaw. In 1848, Abel Webster 
became a partner, and the firm was changed to Comstoek, 
Andrews & Co. In 1850, Webster retired. Comstoek & 






MERCHANTS. 83 

Andrews, in 1851, sold out to Watson, Murray & Co. In 
1853, E. D. Day retired from this firm; and in 1853, Watson 
6c Murray sold to E. W. Andrews, who, in 1856, sold to S. A. 
Murray, who, in 1857, sold to Albert Purely, who continued 
business until February, 1867, when his store was destroyed 
by fire. 

In 1851, after Comstock & Andrews had sold to Watson, 
Murray & Co., Webster & Andrews bought out Roswell 
Gould. In 1853, Abel Webster bought the interest of his 
partner, and continued business until his death, in 1859. 

In 1815, Alonzo Choate bought of Roswell Gould his store 
and goods at South Warsaw, and continued business until 
1851, when he sold half his interest to Gurdon G. Clark, who 
conducted the business; and Mr. Choate established a store 
in the village, in the south end of the Gould Block, now 
owned and occupied by Thomas S. Glover, and continued 
business one year. The store at South Warsaw was discon- 
tinued soon after. 

In 1817, Augustus Frank, Jun., commenced trade, which 
he continued alone many years, when he admitted his brother 
George W. The business, under the firm of A. & G. W. 
Frank, still continues. 

J. M. Darling and Allen Y. Breck, (Darling & Breck,) 
commenced trade at the old "corner store," (year not recol- 
lected,) and continued, it is believed, several years. Mr. 
Breck subsequently, in different stores, alone, and with Seth 
M. Gates, and later as one of the firm of Breck, Gates & 
Hurds, (Chester Hurd and Son,) carried on the business for 
several years. 

In ISIS, Benjamin F. Fargo and his brother, Francis F., 
sons of David Fargo, commenced the mercantile business in 
this village. About a year after, John M., son of Allen 
Fargo, became a partner; and the firm w r as changed to B. F. 
Fargo & Co. In 1851, F. F. and John having retired, David 
and Allen came into the concern, the name of the firm re- 
maining unchanged. In 1857, the firm was dissolved, and 



S4 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

the dry goods business discontinued. B. F. Fargo afterward 
commenced the grocery and provision trade, in which lie 
continues. 

In 1S62, George L. Foote, B. O. Holdcn, and Thomas S. 
(i lover, of Batavia, established a store in this village, under 
the firm of CI. L. Foote & Co. In 1861, Mr. Glover bought 
the stock of the firm, and still continues the business. 

HARDWARE STOKES. 

As has been already stated, Hardware was for many years 
a part of the stock of country merchants generally. In Octo- 
ber, 1830, John Windsor, from Pike, commenced in this vil- 
lage the manufacture of Tin and Sheet Iron ware. In 1S42, 
Joshua II. and J. Madison Darling bought the stock of Mr. 
Windsor, and added a general assortment of Hardware. 
They continued business about a year. 

In July, 1843, Seth M. Gates and Henry Garretsee (Gates 
& Garretsee) bought the goods of J. H. & J. M. Darling, and 
commenced the Stove, Tin, and Hardware business, and con- 
tinued it until the year 1852, when Mr. Gates left the concern, 
and his place was taken by his brother Chauncey G, (firm C. 
C. Gates & Co.) Business was conducted by them four years, 
when Miles II. Morris became a partner, and the firm (II. 
Garretsee & Co.) continued until 1S58, when Mr. Gates left 
the firm. Garretsee & Morris continued the business until 
1863, when the firm was dissolved. The business has since 
been conducted by H. Garretsee, who continues also the cast- 
ing of stoves and other articles. The sales of stoves by this 
establishment, commencing with Gates 6c Garretsee, have 
been exceeded by few if any west of Genesee river, outside 
of the cities. Thousands have been carried by teams into 
other counties, especially into the counties of Allegany and 
Cattaraugus. 

About the time Gates & Garretsee began business, perhaps 
a little later, Perry & Israel Hodge commenced the same 
business. Perrv soon after sold his interest to Xoblc Morris, 



MERCHANTS. 85 

(firm Hodge & Morris.) Otis S. Buxton bought Hodge's in- 
terest; and Morris & Buxton subsequently sold one- third of 
their interest to C. & T. Buxton. Morris afterwards sold his 
interest to the Buxtons, who next sold to Morris & Lewis, 
(Simeon D.,) who still continue the business. 

Annul II. Carpenter has, at different times, carried on the 
Tin and Sheet Iron and Stove business, alone and with partners. 

DRUG STORES. 

Dr. Chauncey L. Sheldon, the first physician in this town, 
was probably the first dealer in Drugs and Medicines. Being 
Postmaster, he kept them in his Post-Otfice, a small building, 
twelve by sixteen feet, standing on the east side of Main 
street, nearly opposite the Bank corner. The building, after 
two removals, may be seen on Water street, where it forms 
the wing of a small dwelling, and may be known now, and 
probably for the period of at least another generation, by the 
compound word, " Post- Office," painted on the frieze, in 
si i a< led letters, partially obliterated by a coat of white paint. 
In 1817, Dr. Sheldon was joined in professional business by 
Dr. Augustus Frank, and the building continued to be used 
for the same purpose a year or two, when they went into the 
regular mercantile business in their new store, Drugs and 
Medicines forming a part of their stock. After their dissolu- 
tion, Dr. Frank also connected with his store this branch of 
trade; and the more common drugs and patent medicines 
were kept by merchants generally. 

The first drug store in the place, separate from general 
merchandise, was established about the year 1847 or 1818, 
by Edwin H. Lansing, of Nunda. With this business, how- 
ever, he connected the sale of Books and Stationery, of which 
he kept a more extensive assortment than other merchants. 
Mr. Lansing, alone and in partnership with Charles J. Judd, 
and perhaps others, continued in business until 1855, when 
he sold out his interest and removed to Rockford, 111. Mr. 
Judd has also been connected with James C. Ferris and 
Simeon D. Lewis in this business. 



86 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Artemas Blake, either alone or in partnership, was in the 
Drug and Grocery business many years, until he was burned 
out in the fire of February, 1867. 

A Drug and Grocery store was kept a few years by George 
Duryee and his brothers-in-law, Josiah. S. and John B. 
Matthews. In the fall of 1861, Alanson Holly bought the 
stock; continued the business three years, and sold his 
goods to Blake & Homer, who were in the same business. 
Theirs was then the only Drug store in the town. 

April 1, 1867, James O. McClure commenced the Drug 
business, which he still continues. 

In 1868, Chauncey C. Buxton and Frank Lewis (Buxton & 
Lewis) established a new Drug store, connecting with it also 
the Grocery business. 

BOOKSTORES. 

School-books and the more common articles of stationery 
were, until a quite late period, sold by merchants in general. 
And for many years after the book-trade had been concen- 
trated in the hands of those called "book-sellers," it was 
found necessary to connect with it some one or more other 
branches of trade. The earliest book-sellers, it is believed, 
were Charles J. Judd and Edwin L. Fuller. In 1851, Mr. 
Fuller sold his stock of books and other goods to Xehemiah 
Park. 

The book business, soon after, went chiefly into the hands 
of Lewis E. Walker, who confines himself to the several de- 
partments of this trade. 

GROCER T I :s. 

The trade in Groceries has been abandoned by our Dry 
Goods merchants, and is chiefly confined to the Grocery and 
Provision dealers proper, and to the Druggists, who usually 
keep groceries. Of Grocers, there have been many who have 
done extensive business; but it would be impossible to obtain 
a full list of them. Nor would its insertion be compatible 
with the limits prescribed to this work. 



MANUFACTURES. 87 

MANUFACTURES. 

SAW-MILLS AND GRIST-MILLS. 

The first saw-mill in this town is said to Lave been Imilt 
by Judge Webster in 1804. But, as has been shown, it could 
not have been in operation before the next year. [ See p. 43.] 
It was on O-at-ka creek, about a mile and a half south of 
the village, near where the road up the East Hill crosses the 
stream, and near the sites of the old Morris grist-mill and of 
the saw-mill now owned by Leonard Martin. A mill was 
built at an early day on the w T est branch of the O-at-ka, at or 
near the place now known as Frankville, and where Dr. 
Frank and Samuel Mc Whortcr erected another in 1825. In 
the year 1813, another was built by Samuel Hough on the 
same stream about a mile east of the line of Orangeville, and 
afterwards owned or run by William S. Stone. There have 
been mills running on this site for many years, by different 
persons. It was for a long time known as " Whiting's saw- 
mill." Another was built on the same stream above the 
Whiting mill, three- fourths of a mile east of Orangeville, by 
Amos Picket. On this site, mills have since been owned or 
rebuilt by several different persons. 

In 1S27, a saw T -mill w T as built by Jonathan and Andrew 
W. Young, on the farm of the former, a short distance above 
the Pieket mill before mentioned. This mill was never 
rebuilt. Another was built on a small stream in the south- 
west part of the town, and owned by different persons, among 
whom was Nathaniel Moss. 

The only saw-mills now running in this town, are the mill 
of Leonard Martin before mentioned; the mill connected with 
the Map Poller factory at Martinville, a mile and a half south 
of the village; and the mill of the Patterson Manufacturing 
Company in the village. 

The first grist-mill in town was the Morris mill already 
mentioned, left unfinished by Joseph Mauley, a little below 



88 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

South Warsaw. This mill is said to have been built in 1806; 
but it is not certain that it was in running order until the next 
year. 

The third grist-mill in this town was built in the village 
by Simeon Cumings, of Batavia, in 1816, on the land bought 
of Judge Webster. Mr. Cumings having failed to pay the 
purchase money, the property was sold in 181S, at Sheriff's 
sale, to Trumbull Cary, of Batavia, who continued sole owner 
of the mill until March, 1822, when he sold one-half of his 
interest in it to John Wilder, who then became a resident of 
the village. In 1837, he sold his interest to Ichabod and 
Martin Hodge, whose interest afterwards fell into the hands 
of Mr. Cary, who was then again sole proprietor. In April, 
1842, he sold one-half to Isaac C. Bronson, and the 1st of 
May the other half to Leonard Wilkin. January 13, 18-19, 
Wilkin sold out to Stephens Whitcher, and in September, 
1850, Bronson and Whitcher both sold to George Reed. 
April 1, 1852, Heed sold one-half to Edwin II. Lansing, and 
November 1, 1852, the other half to Charles J. Judd. In 
March, 1855, Lansing sold his half to James C. Ferris, and 
in March, 1856, Judd sold his half to Ferris. July IS, 1859, 
Ferris sold his whole interest to James and John W. Sprague. 
In 1854, John W. Sprague became, and is still, the sole pro- 
prietor. It is now more than fifty years since this mill was 
built. Of course little, if any, of the original structure 
remains except the frame, which has been considerably en- 
larged since the building was first erected. 

In 1811 or 1815, a grist-mill was built by Cyrus Webster 
at the head of the "Gulf 1 ' on West Hill, propelled by the 
small stream which there enters the ravine, and by an "over- 
shot" wheel. It was a small mill; but it was a considerable 
convenience to the people living west of the village, until the 
mill in the village was built; after which it was run but a 
short time before it was destroyed by fire. 

In 1826, Abial Lathrop built a grist-mill near South War- 
saw. He afterwards sold the mill to Willard Stearns and 






MANUFACTURES. 89 

John F. Clark. Stearns sold to Roswell Gould, and Gould 
to John Truesdell. Truesdell and Clark rebuilt in 1833, and 
run it eighteen or twenty years. Truesdell bought out Clark, 
and after managing it a short time, he sold back to Clark a 
half interest; and it was run by them a few years. Truesdell 
then sold his half to Deacon Eliphalet Owen, of Middlebury. 
Owen sold to Enoch Ilovey; Hovey to Webster and Andrews; 
they to Alonzo Choate; and Choate to Leonard Wilkin. Next 
Clark sold his half interest to Joshua II. Darling, and 
Darling to Wilkin, who was then sole owner. Wilkin after- 
wards sold out his whole interest to Robert R. Munger and 
his son Samuel. This son is now sole proprietor. 

A few years after the erection of the saw-mill of McWhorter 
and Frank, Dr. Frank built just below it a grist-mill, which 
was run a few years, and converted into a wool-carding and 
a turning machine, which were not long in operation. 

The woolen manufactory erected by Gardner, Utter & 
Co., elsewhere noticed, came into the hands of Robert R. 
Munger, and was by him converted into a grist-mill, which 
has since been owned successively by Oliver C. Chapman, 
Brown (George) & Milliman, Taylor & Milliman, Taylor & 
Durfee, and C. K. & A. Brown, its present owners. 

There are at present three grist-mills in this town — the 
two in the village, and the one in the south part of the town. 

WOOLEN MANUFACTURE. 

For a long time previous to the first settlement of this town, 
and for many years afterwards, most of the woolen goods 
worn in the families of farmers, were of household manufac- 
ture. Many now living remember when carding machines first 
relieved their mothers from the tedious process of carding the 
wool by hand. This labor saving machine, however, had be- 
come common when this town was settled ; and some of the 
earliest settlers were obliged to send wool a great distance to 
be carded. As soon as the flocks in this and the adjacent 
towns were sufficient to warrant the enterprise, a wool-card- 



90 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ing and cloth dressing establishment was put up in this 
town. It was built by Seymour Ensign, in the south part of 
the town, on the small stream which crosses the road near 
Rufus Morris's in South Warsaw, on the west side of the road. 
Another was afterwards built by Simeon P. Glazier, in the 
same neighborhood, on O-at-ka creek, which was destroyed 
by fire, and rebuilt. It was owned at different times by 
several persons. 

In 181 G, a carding and cloth-dressing establishment was 
built in the village near the grist-mill, by Samuel Hough and 
Elijah Norton. After two years, Orson Hough acquired the 
interest of his father. Norton & Hough carried on the busi- 
ness two or three years, and built in the south part of the 
village, on or near the present site of Garretsee's foundry. 
After about two years, Hough became the sole owner, and 
continued so until about the year 1S38, when he sold to 
William K. Crooks, with whose term of proprietorship the 
business ended; and the establishment was converted first 
into a tannery, by Daniel Young, and next into a furnace and 
machine shop. It has for many years been, and is still, 
owned and kept in operation, by Mr. Henry Garretsee, who 
has also connected with it a carding machine. 

In 1825, Conable & Moss enlarged their business in South 
Warsaw, by the establishment of a proper Woolen Factory, 
which, after three years, they sold to David Seymour. At 
the end of one year, Conable became joint proprietor with 
Seymour, and soon after, sole owner, and continued so three 
years. He then sold half of his interest to Joseph Pike. 
After two years, William Webster bought Conable's remain- 
ing interest, and at the end of one year sold to Edward 
Naramore. The partnership of Pike & JSTaramore continued 
nine or ten years, when they sold to Chester Hurd ifc Son, 
who retained and used the carding machines for custom work, 
and attached to the building a machine shop. They run them 
about two years, when they were destroyed by fire. 






MANUFACTURES. 91 

In 1841, a woolen factory was established by ■ Gardner, 

Isaac Utter, Isaac C. Branson, and John Windsor, under the 
firm of Gardner, Utter & Co. It was run by them a number 
of years, when Gardner and Windsor left the concern, and 
Erastus D. Day became a partner with Bronson & Utter. 
Utter, Day & Co., carried on the business for a few years, 
when the mercantile firm of Comstock, Andrews & Co., be- 
came partners; and the firm was changed to E. D. Day & Co., 
and so remained until the business was discontinued, and the 
building sold to Robert R. Hunger, who turned it into a 
grist-mill, elsewhere noticed. An extensive manufacturing 
business was done at this establishment during the earlier 
years of its existence. Its fabrics were sold throughout West- 
ern Xew York. 

CARRIAGE MANUFACTURE. 

For a number of years prior to 1824, the business of wagon 
repairing and the making of lumber sleighs, was clone by 
Ephiiam Beebe. In 18^4, the carriage and sleigh -making 
business was established by Horace Hollister, which, for many 
years, kept up with the increasing demand for work of this 
kind. His shop was on Water street, a few rods north of the 
residence of Hon. Seth M. Gates, which also was built by Mr. 
Hollister. 

In September, 1830, Mr. Hollister sold out his establish- 
ment to the Buxton brothers, William, Chauncey, and Timo- 
thy. At the end of the first year, William withdrew from 
the firm, and the business was continued by C. & T. Buxton 
for nearly thirty years. After having done business here a 
few years, they removed their shop to its present location, 
near the Baptist church, on Main street. They have from 
time t<> time made additions to their buildings to meet the in- 
creased demand for their work. They began with a capital 
of a few hundred dollars, and had to buy almost wholly on 
credit. Their work soon acquired a high reputation for 
strength and durability, and their business continued to in- 



92 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

crease, until large quantities of their manufacture went out of 
this state into Pennsylvania, Illinois, and California. Nearly 
$15,000 worth was sold in Illinois in a single year. Their 
aggregate annual sales for several years ranged from $20,000 
to nearly $30,000. While others of their trade have had to 
succumb to " hard times, 1 ' their business, though for several 
years materially depressed, has always been remunerative. 

Having successfully prosecuted their business until October, 
1866, (thirty years,) Chauncey sold his interest to Ferris W. 
Norton and Charles E. William?; and the firm was changed 
to T. H. Buxton & Co. An additional partner, Mr. Crippen, 
has since been admitted, without a change of firm. 

An establishment of this kind for plain work was conducted 
for several years on a limited scale in South Warsaw, by < 
Jeremiah Ensign. 

Another similar manufactory has lately been commenced 
in this village by Jacob W. Ivnapp, Eli Dibble, and James 
M. Eullington, on Genesee street. 

TANNERIES. 

When and by whom the first Tannery was built, we can 
not state with certainty. Deacon John Hunger came to War- 
saw in 1806, and bought a farm half a mile south of the 
village. He was by trade a tanner and currier, and carried 
on that business for many years with his farming. If, as is 
probable, he built his tannery soon after his coming in, his 
was, it is presumed, the first in town. It was carried on by 
him about twenty years. 

In 1814, Calvin Eumscy established a tannery in this vil- 
lage, on Buffalo street, west side of the creek. He was joined 
in 1817 by his brother Aaron, who, after a partnership of ten 
years in tanning and shoemaking, sold his interest to his 
brother Calvin in 1827, and removed to Westficld. Several » 
years after, Calvin sold to Miller & Preston, who con- 
ducted the business for several years. In or about the year 
1836, Preston sold out his interest to Miller, and moved to 



MANUFACTURES. 93 

Illinois; and a few years after, Miller discontinued the busi- 
ness. For a number of years, the establishment was owned 
and conducted by different persons, when it was finally dis- 
continued. 

Abraham "W. Brown built a small tannery in the east part 
of the town, and continued the business some fifteen or twenty 
years. Another was built by Solomon Trucsdell in the south 
part of the town, in the valley, near Gainesville. It was car- 
ried on, first by himself for a number of years, afterwards by 
Peter R. Warren. 

John Trucsdell and John B. Clark established a tannery in 
south "Warsaw, about the year 1830 — perhaps a little later — 
which was continued many years. 

Henry B. Jenks and H. A. Metcalf built a tannery in the 
west part of the village; and, after running it a short time, 
sold it, January 1, 1804, to "Wolcott J. Humphrey. In 1865, 
Samuel B. Humphrey became a partner, and Lester H. 
Humphrey in 1867. In the spring of 186S, this establish- 
ment, which did an extensive business, was destroyed by 
fire, together with a large amount of stock, finished and un- 
finished. It was immediately rebuilt by S. B. Humphrey, 
who continues the business. 

MAP-ROLLER FACTORY. 

In 1851, Leonard L. Martin bought a water privilege a 
mile and a half south ot the village. The next year he built 
a saw-mill, and in 1853, in connection with his brother, Mavor 
Martin, started the business of manufacturing map-rollers. 
Although the property and business have since been in the 
hands of different firms, it has most of the time been under 
the superintendence of one or the other of the two brothers. 
The present proprietors are Mavor Martin, "Washington Martin, 
and Henry Sheldon, associated under the firm of Martin & Co. 

This business was first suggested by Mr. Horace Thayer, 
then connected with an extensive map publishing house in 
New York, and rendered material assistance in starting it. 



94 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Not only did this factory supply the house for whose conve- 
nience and benefit it was chiefly designed, but its business 
has been greatly extended, until it probably equals any other 
establishment of the kind in this country. It gives employ- 
ment to from ten to fifteen hands. It turns off work steadily 
to an average value, monthly, of about $1,000; but it has, at 
times, much exceeded that amount. It consumes annually 
about 150,000 feet of lumber, sawed by the mill connected 
with it, and turns out about 125,000 rollers. 

[Since the above was written, Washington Martin, of the 
above firm has died.] 

FOUNDRIES. 

The first Furnace or Iron Foundry was established on the 
north side of Buffalo street, between the corner of "Water 
street and the bridge, by Dr. Augustus Frank and Benjamin 
L. Wafkins, about the year 1S21. It was afterwards carried 
on by Frank & Gregg, who manufactured stoves, plows, ma- 
chinery, etc., until 1838, when it was continued by Dr. Frank 
and Nathan Raymond, (firm, N. Raymond & Co.,) and con- 
ducted by them three years; and then by Dr. Frank alone 
for several years. The business was then removed to a new 
brick building erected on Main street, nearly opposite the 
Brick Hotel, and continued for some time. In 1818, it was 
leased to Comstock, Andrews & Co. for three years. They 
continued the business two years and eight months, and sold 
out to Gates & Garetsee, who, after four months, removed 
their business to the present stand of Henry Garretsee in the 
south part of the village. 

The business of Comstock, Andrews & Co., was about 
$20,000 a year in this line. The number of cook stoves made 
yearly was about one thousand seven hundred, besides many 
box-stoves. The manufacturing of various agricultural imple- 
ments, and a general machinery business, were connected 
with the establishment. The stoves produced by this firm 
were chiefly made for Gates cv: Garretsee, hardware mer- 
chants in this village. 



MANUFACTURES. 95 

Since the business passed into the hands of Gates & Gar- 
retsee, it has been carried on extensively by them and the 
successive firms of C. C. Gates & Co., Garretsee & Morris, 
and II. Garetsee, by whom it is still conducted, turning out 
work to the amount of from 815,000 to $20,000 annually. 

About the year 1837, Hodge & Wilder erected works on 
the race directly north of Sprague's grist-mill, for the manu- 
facture of scales, box stoves, and machinery. The business 
was discontinued about the year 1846, and the buildings were 
removed. 

In 1860, William Robinson, Jim., erected a brick Furnace 
on Genesee street, and carried on the business about one year; 
next, Abraham B. Lawrence, about the same length of time; 
and after his enlistment in the army in August, 1862, Ira 
Ilurd, also about a year, when it was discontinued. The 
building is now used by Knapp, Fullington & Co. as a wagon 
and carriage shop. 

TLANING MILLS. 

The first settlers, as has been stated, were unable to obtain 
lumber for building. Their log houses were covered with 
bark, and their floors were made of split basswood plank, 
hewed on one side. Saw-mills were soon built, but they 
furnished the settlers with coarse lumber only. The pine 
lumber used was brought chiefly from Allegany county. And 
we take occasion here to state, that the pine lumber trade 
came in time to constitute a considerable portion of the busi- 
ness of this village. The people in the pine region were de- 
pendent upon the more agricultural and earlier settled towns 
formany of the necessaries of life; and vast quantities of their 
great staple, pine lumber, was brought in by teams, and ex- 
changed for store goods, grain, and other commodities. 

Until within a late period, lumber for the siding of houses, 
for doors, floors, window sash, blinds, &c, was dressed by 
hand. A great change has taken place. The lumber is now 
chiefly brought to this place by railroad; and the dressing is 
done by machinery. 



96 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

In 1835, Chester Ilurd and his son, C. Paddock Ilurd, 
erected, a short distance in the rear of the Bnxtons' Carriage 
Manufactory, a building for a Steam Planing Mill. They 
put in machinery for planing lumber, and for manufacturing 
all kinds of wood work required for building. They soon 
formed a co-partnership with S. M. Gates and Allen Y. Breck, 
(Gates & Breck,) merchants; and under the firm of Breck, 
Gates & Ilurd the business was enlarged by the addition of a 
saw mill and other machinery. 

In April, 1859, Mr. Breck and Chester Ilurd sold their 
interest to Mr. Gates and C. P. Ilurd. On the night of the 
11th of October, the entire establishment, including a large 
lot of lumber, w T as destroyed by fire. The loss — nearly ten 
thousand dollars — w r as so severe, that they hesitated about 
rebuilding. But the citizens, regarding such an establishment 
of great utility to the town and surrounding country, raised 
about two thousand dollars to aid in rebuilding. A new 
building of brick was immediately erected; the business was 
soon resumed, and w r as successfully prosecuted for several 
years. The property was leased to Horace Thayer, who added 
to the saw-mill and machinery other branches of manufactur- 
ing. He had carried on the business but a short time when 
the property was again destroyed by fire, just six years, to a 
day, after the first fire. The loss to the owners was about 
four thousand dollars, and considerable to Mr. Thayer. The 
lot and the property saved were disposed of, and the business 
closed. 



PATTEESOX MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

In the spring of 1866, T. J. Patterson, J. E. Ketchum, S. 
Mentor Howard, Augustus Frank, Geo. W. Prank, Chauncey 
C. Buxton, Timothy II. Buxton, Wm. Bristol, B. B. Conable, 
Samuel Fisher, 2d, and Boswell Gould, formed a partnership 
under the name and firm of the "Patterson Manufacturing 
Company," with a capital sufficient to carry on the planing 
and various other branches of the lumber business on an 









MERCHANTS. 07 

extensive scale. This establishment is on the west side of the 
creek, on Munger street. In addition to the various kinds of 
machinery which it embraces, is an excellent saw-mill, all of 
which are operated by steam. Its capacity tor business has 
been increased, until it is exceeded by few similar establish- 
ments in Western Kew York. The title of the firm remains 
unchanged, though some of the original partners have dis- 
posed of their interest to others. 

To the manufacture ot building materials and the exten- 
sive sale of lumber, has been added the manufacture of staves 
and heading, and of barrels. This branch of the business is 
conducted by Royal T. Howard, under the firm of It. T. 
Howard & Co. 

A material part of the buildings of this Company, is the old 
Presbyterian church edifice, which was bought for this pur- 
pose, and remeved to its present situation on the west side of 
the creek. 

CABINET MAKERS. 

The first Cabinet shop of any considerable consequence 
was established in 1817, by Gerard Fitch and Howard Bos- 
worth, (Fitch ct Bosworth,)in the "old cider-mill," on Buffalo 
street. After a short time, Mr. Fitch left the business, and it 
was carried on for a number of years by Mr. Bosworth alone, 
who removed to Le Boy. 

George D. Farnham (year not remembered) commenced 
business in the building now occupied by Edward C. Shattuck 
in the same business. Mr. Farnham carried on the business 
for many years, a small part of the time in company with 
his brother, Horatio X. Both removed to Silver Creek, where 
the latter was engaged many years in the mercantile busi- 
ness; the former in the hardware trade. 

Of the many others who have carried on the cabinet busi- 
ness, we can do little more than simply give the names of 
some of them. ~\Ve mention the following: Alanson Bartlett, 

Pendleton, Moses Osgood, Stedman, J. Spencer 

Bartlett, and Edward C. Shattuck. 7 



98 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



CARPET FACTORY. 



In 18-il, or the year following, Joseph J. Davidson, of Alle- 
gany county, removed to this village and erected a building 
near the south bridge, for the manufacture of carpets. His 
manufactures, in resj^ect to quality and the beauty of patterns 
and designs, compared favorably with those manufactured 
elsewhere. But the large establishments at the East furnish- 
ing the article at lower prices, the business was after a few 
years abandoned. Mr. Davidson removed to Wisconsin, and 
after a residence in that state of some eight or ten years, he 
removed to the territory of Montana, where he now resides. 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 

It seems to have been the rule, on the Holland Purchase, 
to have the roads running parallel north and south, and east 
and west, crossing each other at right angles, and to have at 
least two sides of every whole lot bounded by a highway. 
And to preserve straight bounds to the farms, the roads were 
kept on lines, except where hills or swamps would render 
them impassable. Also important roads have been run 
obliquely to shorten distances. 

The old road from Leicester, the first which was traveled 
from that place, (the " Old Buffalo Road," before mentioned,) 
entered the valley a mile and a half north of the center, and 
continued west along the line of lots to the valley of the 
Tonawanda, near Varysburgh. The east hill being at that 
place of easier ascentand descent, was probably one of the 
reasons for entering and leaving the valley at that distance 
from the principal settlement in the town, now the village. 
The west part of Leicester (now the town of Perry,) having 
become settled, a more direct road from Leicester was 
opened; which came into the valley three- fourths of a mile 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 99 

north of the center, and was thereafter the one principally 
traveled until after the laving out of the 

STATE ROAD FROM CANANDAIGUA. 

In 1815, was passed an act amendatory of a previous act, 
authorizing a survey of the State Road from Canandaigua to 
Lake Erie, striking the lake eight miles above Buffalo. The 
road was surveyed in 1816, by Lemuel Foster. A map of 
this road through the town of Warsaw, with a copy ot the 
" field notes " of the Surveyor, certified by him to be correct, 
is still in the Town Clerk's office; to which is appended the 
following: 

"The preceding having been by us examined and com- 
pared with the original minutes, we do establish the same as 
a state road one chain and fifty links wide within the town of 
"Warsaw. 

" Lemuel Foster, 
" Salmon King, 
" James Cronk, 

'• Commissioners." 
This is the road now traveled from the Transit line throusrli 
the village of Warsaw to the west line of the town, except 
that part of it called the " Gulf Road." What is now Gene- 
see street was not opened until this road was constructed up 
the east hill. A few years later, Livingston street was 
opened, and, partly with a view to diminish the ascending 
grade, a new road was made from the head of this street to 

the state road, entering it a little above the head of Genesee 
street. 

THE GULF ROAD. 

The road by which the west hill was at first ascended, left 
the fiats at the lower end of the ravine, near Judge Webster's, 
now the residence of Henry B. Jenks, turning to the left, 
ascending circuitously, and striking the line of the present 
road near the head of the ravine. This was for more than 
thirty years the only way of exit from the village west. The 



100 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ascent with heavy loads was difficult, requiring often an extra 
team. This difficulty was at length obviated by the con- 
struction of the present road through the ravine, or gulf. 

A contract dated June 7, 1834, was entered into between 
John Truesdell, Xoah Fisk, and Isaac N. Phelps, Commis- 
sioners of Highways of the town of "Warsaw, on the part of 
the town, and Samuel McWhorter, Esq., a resident of this 
town, for the construction of the said road. The road w r as to 
be completed by the 1st of January, 1835, for which Mr. 
McWhorter was to receive the sum of $1,000. The surface 
of the road was to average twenty feet in width, and to be in 
no place less than sixteen feet. In constructing the wall to 
protect the road against injury from the stream, all the stone 
found in the ground that should be broken were to be used, 
together with such as could be easily obtained from the 
stream. If the stone thus obtained should be insufficient, the 
deficiency might be supplied with timber or other material. 
The road was warranted for the term of ten years. 

McWhorter was to receive in payment all the collectable 
subscriptions obtained for constructing the road; $100 in Feb- 
ruary, 1S35; $250 in February, 1836; and the remainder in 
February, 1837. If any money should be appropriated by 
the Board of Supervisors for constructing or repairing roads 
and bridges in this town, before the full payment of $1,000, 
the sum appropriated was to be immediately paid to Mr. 
McWhorter, without affecting the stipulated payments as to 
time. He was also to receive, in addition to the $1,000, such 
portion of highway labor, as the overseers of any road district 
should see fit to bestow upon the road. The last payment 
($142.88,) was made June 21, 1837. 

Scarcely any single improvement in this town has been of 
greater public benefit, than the construction of this road. 
Especially will it be so regarded, when we take into consider- 
ation the large amount of travel to and from the Railroad in 
the transportation of freight and passengers. 



ROADS AND BRIDGES. 101 



BRIDGES. 



The principal bridges in this town are those across O-at-ka 
Creek, of which there are six; two in the south part of the 
town, one just above and the other below South Warsaw; two 
in the village; and two north of it. All of them have at 
times required considerable sums to repair injuries from 
freshets. The most important of these bridges are the two in 
the village. They were formerly built of wood, and the 
damage they sometimes received was such as to make cross- 
ing dangerous, and at times even impossible. A recurrence 
of such an event is not likely to be witnessed within the life 
time of the youngest inhabitant. A few years since, a stone 
bridge was built, under the supervision of Frank Miller, 
across the creek in the south part of the village. It consists 
of a single arch or culvert, the foundations of which are well 
secured. Much of the difficulty in maintaining a bridge at 
that place, and preserving the road on the south side, was 
caused by the washing of the stream which empties into 
O-at-ka creek at that point. This difficulty has been ob- 
viated by changing the channel of the former, so as to form 
a junction with the principal stream, a few rods below the 
bridge. 

In 1867, at an expense of five or six thousand dollars, a 
new stone bridge, similar to the above, was built across the 
O-at-ka, on Buffalo street, under the superintendence of the 
Commissioners, Frank Miller and Samuel Miller, 2d, who 
were appointed by the Board of Supervisors. 



102 HISTORY OF WARSAW, 



RAILROADS. 

Until the year 1852, "Warsaw was without Railway accom- 
modations. The Tonawanda Railroad, from Rochester to 
Attica, was the first one built in this section of the state; and 
not long after its completion, the Attica and Buffalo road was 
constructed. For a time, the citizens of "Warsaw made Ba- 
tavia the point of taking the railroad east and west. Attica 
being a nearer point, a daily line of stages to that place was 
soon after established; and passengers and freight by rail- 
road destined to or going from "Warsaw, were received and 
delivered at Attica, until the completion of the Attica and 
Hornellsville road in 1852. 

WARSAW AND LEROY RAILROAD. 

Before the completion of the roads first mentioned, a rail- 
way was projected, making Warsaw the terminus. Had this 
road been constructed, it would probably have increased the 
population of the village to several thousand, and long before 
this time been extended south — intersecting other roads — to 
the coal-mines of Pennsylvania, and thence to Pittsburgh. A 
brief history of this project may be interesting to many readers. 

By an act of the Legislature, passed May 5, 1831, incorpo- 
rating the ""Warsaw and LeRoy Railroad Company," to con- 
struct a road from "Warsaw along the valley of the O-at-ka, 
to LeRoy. The following is a copy of a notice posted along 
the route: 

" Notice is hereby given that Books will be open to receive 
subscriptions to the Capital Stock of the "Warsaw and LeRoy 
Railroad Company, at the Inn kept by Wm. Bingham in the 
village of "Warsaw, on Monday, the 30th day of March next, 
at 12 o'clock at noon, and at Butler's Mansion House, in the 
village of Wyoming, on the 31st day of March next, at 12 
o'clock at noon, and at the Inn kept by T. Dwight, in the vil- 



RAILROADS. 103 

lage of LeRoy, on the 1st day of April next, at 12 o'clock at 
noon. 

H. J. Redfied, John B. Skinner, John Wilder, 
Jacob LeRoy, Samuel McWhorter, Wm. Patterson, 
Seth M. Gates, Augustus Frank, J. A. McElwain, 

Commissioners." 

More than the $100,000 of the stock required by the char- 
ter was subscribed. April 22d, the Commissioners distributed 
the stock, more than half of it being taken and held at War- 
saw; and ten per cent, was paid in on subscribing. 

A meeting of the stockholders was held at Pavilion, June 
4, 1831, for the election of Directors, and the following were 
chosen: 

John A. McElwain, Jacob LeRoy, 

John Wilder, Miles P. Lampson, 

Orson Hough, Stephen O. Almy, 

Augustus Frank, Seth M. Gates, 

Isaac C. Bronson, Of LeRoy. 

Of Warsaw. 

At a meeting of the Directors on the same day, the follow- 
ing officers were chosen: 

President — Jacob LeRoy. 

Secretary — Seth M. Gates. 

Treasurer — John A. McElwain. 

Commissioners — Miles P. Lampson, John A. McElwain. 

Finance Com. — Joshua Lathrop, Joshua II. Darling. 

Jarvis Ward, Civil Engineer, was employed to make a 
survey and an estimate of the expense of the road, from the 
foot of Fort Hill, in LeRoy, (2£ miles north of the village,) to 
Warsaw, accompanied by John A. McElwain and Miles P. 
Lampson, Commissioners. He made such survey and esti- 
mates; and on the 12th of Xov., 1S35, he made his Report to 
the Directors. By that Report, now on file in the Clerk's 
office of Wyoming county, the route is declared practicable, 



104 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

and the average expense per mile of building it was reported 
at $3,334.24; and the entire cost of the road, not including 
the title to land over which it should pass, nor fencing, 
$72,270.14. Elisha Johnson, Civil Engineer, was subsequently 
employed to make surveys and report on the practicability of 
the route from LeRoy to Tonawanda Railroad in Bergen. 
Although no written report from him is on file, the recollec- 
tion of the commissioners and directors is, that he regarded 
the difficulties and cost of making that part of the road as, 1 
much greater than the Company had supposed. This, in con- 
nection with the fact, that the Directors found it impossible to 
proceed as rapidly with the construction of the road as the 
charter required, and their failing to induce the Legislature 
to grant them an extension of time, led to the abandonment 
of the project. And on the 29th day of July, 1836, a resolu- 
tion was passed by the Board of Directors, authorizing the 
President and Secretary to pay back to the stockholders 
$19.83 on each share owned by them, they having paid $20 
on each share; and the money was accordingly repaid to them, 
and the enterprise abandoned. 

ATTICA AND HORNELLSVILLE RAILROAD. 

The Railway which passes through Warsaw and constitutes 
a part of the main line of the Erie Railway from New York 
to Buffalo, was originally called the "Attica and Ilornellsville 
Railroad." The New York and Erie Railroad was intended 
to run only from New York to Dunkirk ; but the city of Buf- 
falo, with its extensive and increasing commerce and manu- 
factures, was not to be lost sight of, and parties at an early 
day looked for a connection of Buffalo with New York by the 
Erie road. In 1850, the project was brought forward and 
pushed with vigor. The New York Central road was then in 
use between Albany and Buffalo by the way of Attica. The 
construction of a new road from Attica to Ilornellsville, a dis- 
tance of sixty miles, would make the desired connection, and 
furnish "Warsaw railroad facilities which would probably never 






RAILROADS. 105 

be otherwise acquired. A public meeting was called in Au- 
gust of that year. Urgent appeals to our citizens were made, 
asking for pecuniary aid. The " Mirror " newspaper persis- 
tently urged forward the enterprise, in articles like the fol- 
lowing : 

" Warsaw, wake up ! If Warsaw will take $50,000 of the 
stock of the Attica and Hornellsville Railroad, it will secure 
the completion of the work. Can we not do it? We can if 
we will. The farmers of this town are abundantly able to 
take that amount. Farmers, your lands will be increased in 
value from five to ten dollars an acre, and you will always 
have a home cash market for your produce. You can afford 
to subscribe liberally. Rouse then to action! for your inter- 
ests are at stake." 

The " New Yorker " also urged subscriptions, and their 
interest became general. The amount of stock required was 
subscribed by persons along the route and at Buffalo; and in 
September an organization was effected. In October, a con- 
tract was made with Lauman, Rockafellow and Moore, for 
constructing the road, they furnishing all the materials except 
the iron — the road to be completed by the first of May, 1852. 
The work was immediately commenced, and rapidly pushed 
to completion. 

The question is often asked : " Why did not the road pass 
through the village?" In getting out of the valley south, 
there would be an ascent of about three hundred feet, which 
would render a heavy freight business impossible. In reply 
to the fault-finding of many because the road was kept out of 
the valley, a village paper remarked: " We know it would be 
more convenient were the ground level from here to the road; 
but all the blessings and conveniences are not centered upon 
any one location. If we lived in a level country, w T e could 
not live in this pleasant valley; and it we prefer such a valley 
for our residence, with its beautiful srreen hills forever looking 
down and smiling upon us, we must climb the hills to get to 
the railroad — that's all." 



106 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Before the road was completed, the New York Central 
company sold their road bed from Attica to Buffalo to the 
Attica and Hornellsville company, thus giving to the latter a 
continuous line from Hornellsville to Buffalo. On Monday, 
July 26, 1852, the first train ot cars arrived at the Warsaw 
station. A large crowd of citizens had assembled, awaiting 
its arrival, and at its appearance sent up cheer after cheer. 
Although the road has been unprofitable to the stockholders, 
the town has been greatly benefited. A market has been 
brought near our farmers, and the value of real estate has 
been greatly enhanced. Our citizens contributed much by 
their earnest effort, as well as by their subscriptions, towards 
the accomplishment of this important work. Isaac C. Bron- 
son, John A. McElwain, and Augustus Frank, have been at 
different times Directors, and later Mr. Frank Vice-President. 
The road has since passed into the hands of the Erie Railway 
Company, and is an important part of the great line of travel 
from New York to the "West. 






CEMETERIES. 

The selection of the old ground as a burial place for the 
dead in this town, was accidental, and not the result of pre- 
vious consultation or formal action on the part of the citizens. 
In the spring of 1804, as has been elsewhere stated, when 
there were but two or three families at the center, and about 
as many in remote parts of the town, Sterling Stearns remov- 
ing from Wright's Corners to the south-east corner of this 
town, stopped over night at Mr. Webster's, where an infant 
son of Mr. Stearns, two years old, was taken sick and died. 
Amos Keeney, William Webster, and Elijah Cutting, cut 
away a few trees, dug a grave, and buried the child. An 
infant son of Nehemiah Fargo, of about five years of age, 
drowned in the O-at-ka creek the ensuing fall, was next 



CEMETERIES. 107 

buried in that ground. The third burial was that of Dwight 
Noble, the first adult person who died in this town in January, 
1807. In clue time, definite bounds were fixed, and the lot 
inclosed. 

This being the principal burial place in the town, it became 
necessary, in process of time, to enlarge the yard; and a tier 
of lots was added on the south side. It soon became apparent, 
that in a few years a further enlargement would be necessary; 
and as sufficient adjoining territory could not be obtained, 
ground must be sought elsewhere. For several years the 
subject was discussed and plans proposed; but no definitive 
action was taken. In March, 1850, the following notice 
appeared in the village papers: 

" Public Notice. — The citizens of the town of Warsaw are 
requested to meet at the Court House on Saturday, the 30th 
instant, at one o'clock, P. M., to take into consideration the 
subject of enlarging the present burying ground, or purchasing 
land tor a new one. All persons interested in the subject, 
and especially those who desire to purchase lots, are urgently 
requested to attend the meeting. 

" Warsaw, March 23, 1S50. 

Many Citizens." 

At a meeting held at the Court House on the day appointed, 
Newbury Bronson, Chairman, and Alanson Holly, Secretary, 
the Warsaw Cemetery Association was formed, under the act 
of 1847, " authorizing the incorporating of Rural Cemetery 
Associations." Nine Trustees w r ere elected, viz.: Elijah Norton, 
Edwin B. Miller, George W. Morris, Abel Webster, Alanson 
Holly, John A. McElwain, Joshua H. Darling, Timothy II. 
Buxton, and Allen Fargo. The first Monday in April was 
fixed for holding annual meetings; and a resolution w T as 
adopted, instructing the Trustees to " purchase the lot, ( being 
about five acres,) of R. It. Munger, on the west side of the 
road, opposite the old burying-ground." 

The ground above designated was accordingly purchased. 
It was laid out into sections forty feet square, each of which 



108 HISTOEY OF WARSAW. 

was divided into eight lots, ten by twenty feet each. Carriage 
roads also are laid out, so as to admit the passing of carriage 
processions near every lot. 

The dedication of the Cemetery, with appropriate religious 
ceremonies, took place on the 7th of September, on the grounds 
of the Cemetery. The services were participated in by the 
several clergymen present; the Address was delivered by 
Judge W. Riley Smith. Four original Hymns, written, 
respectively, by A. W. Wood, L. M. Wiles, A. Holly, and D. 
D. Snyder, were sung on the occasion. 



WARSAW LIBRARY. 

In pursuance of an act passed April 1, 1796, a meeting was 
held at the house of Oliver Lee on the 2d Tuesday of January, 
1823, for the purpose of forming and erecting a public 
Library, and Elizur Webster was chosen Chairman of the 
meeting. It being required that more than twenty persons 
should signify their consent and desire, and should subscribe 
a sum of more than one hundred dollars for the object, the 
following are the names of the subscribers: 

James Crocker, Chauncey L. Sheldon, Theophilus Capen, 
Benjamin L. Watkins, John Crocker, Howard Bos worth, 
Daniel Rockwell, Henry Woodward, John A. McElwain, 
Jonas Cutting, Aaron Rumsey, Lyman Morris, Josiah Ilovey, 
Eli Dibble, Jr., Wm. G. Whitney, Hiram Giddings, Allen 
Fargo, Silas Kidder, Oliver Lee, Elisha W. Scovel, Solomon 
Morris, Jr., John Feagles, Augustus Frank, Cyrus Rice, 
Elijah Norton, E. C. Kimberly, John Wilder, Francis Newton, 
Samuel McWhorter, Mayhew Safford, ISTehemiah Park, Jr., 
Elizur Webster, Samuel Barnard, John Truesdell, Francis 
Yates, Mathew Hoffman, Augustine U. Baldwin, Edward 
Putnam, John R. Knapp. 

Tli ere were elected twelve Trustees to serve for one year, as 
follows: 









dt^c/c-. 



T 



WARSAW LIBRARY. 109 

Chauncey L. Sheldon, Solomon Morris, Jr., William Pat- 
terson, Benjamin L. Watkins, James Crocker, Samuel Mc- 
Whorter, Lyman Morris, Elizur "Webster, Tkeophilus Capen, 
Josiali Hovey, Aaron Rumsey, Jonas Cutting. 

The acts and proceedings of the meeting were duly certified 
by the Chairman, and sworn to before Samuel McWhorter, 
Esq., the next day, January 15, 1825, and were recorded in 
the County Clerk's office, the oth day of February, 1S23. 

A respectable library of valuable standard books was 
purchased, and was kept up for several years, when for reasons 
to us unknown, the organization was abandoned, and the 
books distributed among the shareholders. Some of them are 
still to be seen in the private libraries of their descendants. 



110 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



EDUCATION-SCHOOLS. 

The first school in town was taught by Samuel Mc\\ horter; 
in what year we are unable to ascertain — probably in the 
winter of 1807-8, though it may have been a year earlier or 
later. It was kept in the log shanty built by Amos Keeney 
in the spring of 1801 for a dwelling, elsewhere described. It 
was vacated by him in 1S06, and had become the property 
of John McWhorter, father of Samuel, and stood near the 
present residence of Samuel Fisher in the south part of the 
village. Those who have read the description of this house 
on a preceding page, need not be told that, with all the u fit- 
ting up " which it may have undergone, it must have been 
poorly adapted to its new use; though it was probably little 
inferior to many of the houses built by the first settlers for 
this special purpose. 

Inheriting the spirit of their Pilgrim ancestors, they desired 
to plant among them the school-house and the church at the 
earliest practicable period. They did not defer so important 
an object as the education of their children until they could 
build more comely and convenient houses; they were for a , 
time content with such as corresponded to their rude dwellings. 

The first school-houses were also built of logs, and with fire- 
places and chimneys like those of the log dwelling-houses. 
They were sometimes roofed or shingled with shakes, a ma- 
terial resembling staves for flour barrels. The writing-desks 
were made by boring large holes in the sides of the house, 
slanting downwards from the wall, and driving into them 
large pins, upon which the boards were fastened ; so that the 
pupils, when writing, faced the wall. Seats were made of 
slabs, flat side up, resting on four legs. 

Many of our citizens remember those houses in which they 
received their limited school education — the ill-chinked walls; 
the large open fire-place filled with a huge pile of logs in the 



EDUCATION SCHOOLS. Ill 

vain attempt to make a comfortable place of study. They 
remember that most common of all questions coming from 
the remote parts of the house: " Master, may I go to the fire?" 
and how often the " Master," annoyed by the continued reit- 
eration of this question, would respond the emphatic "No !" 
Nor have they forgotten their peculiar feelings when, their 
whole bodies trembling with cold, they were compelled to 
keep their seats until relieved by the arrival of twelve or four 
o'clock, with the thrice welcome word, "Dismissed." 

Not only were school-houses uncomfortable; the course of 
instruction and the qualifications of teachers were very de- 
fective. The entire course, in most of the schools, embraced 
only spelling, reading, writing, and common arithmetic. In 
this last branch, Daboll's Arithmetic was used; and the 
mathematical ambition of many pupils was satisfied when 
they could " cypher " to the end of the " Single Rule of Three," 
which in that popular work came before Fractions. Few 
teachers having a knowledge of grammar, this was not in- 
sisted on by the inspectors. Geography, now one of the 
studies in every primary school, could hardly be found in a 
country school. An atlas, indispensable to the successful 
study of this branch, the writer never saw in a school until 
after he had been for several years a teacher. 

The manner of teaching and conducting a school is also 
worthy of note. Writing, in many schools, was not done at 
any fixed hour, nor by all at the same time. None but goose- 
quill pens were used. A metal pen would have been a great 
curiosity. AVe well remember our surprise some forty or fifty 
years ago, on being told that the president of a certain bank 
signed its bills with a steel 'pen. To make and mend the pens 
and " set copies " for ten, twenty, or thirty pupils, took no 
small portion of a teacher's time, and was often done during 
reading and other exercises, in which the worst mistakes es- 
caped the observation of the teacher. To avoid this, some 
teachers did this work before or after school hours. The 
introduction of the metallic pen and the printed copy-book, 



112 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

is justly regarded as an invaluable improvement, saving much 
time and labor, and furnishing the pupils with good and uni- 
form copies. 

Nor had the black-board been invented; or if it had, it was 
not known in the rural districts. Nor were scholars in arith- 
metic taught in classes. They got the attention and assistance 
of the teacher as they could. Voices were heard from differ- 
ent parts of the room, " Master, I can't do this sum;" or, 
" Master, please show me how to do this sum." These, with 
questions asking liberty to "go out," to "go and drink," etc., 
which, on the "floor" of some schools, were always "in order," 
the teacher going from one part of the room to another to 
" help "the scholars, or to do their work for them; and schol- 
ars running to the teacher to ask him how to pronounce the 
hard words in the spelling and reading lessons : — all these, 
and other things that might be mentioned, kept the school- 
room in a constant bustle. There were, however, some good 
teachers then; and there are many now who answer too nearly 
the foregoing description: yet a comparison of the schools of 
fifty years ago with those of the present time, shows on the 
whole a vast improvement. 

The first school of a higher grade than the district school, 
and in which classical studies were taught, was commenced 
about the year 1S25, by Rev. Anson Tuthill, Avho had for sev- 
eral years been a teacher in Middlebury Academy, and was 
continued about two years. 

In 1S29 or 1S30, a select school was commenced by Rev. 
Julius Steele, minister of the Presbyterian church, and dis- 
continued on his removal in the spring of 1831. 

In 1835, Rev. Stephen Porter, of Geneva, established a 
school of the grade of an academy, and continued it about 
two years. 

Select high schools were thereafter taught, successively, by 
Mr. Paddock, Charles J. Judd, Josiah Ilurty, and others. 

A number of select schools for young ladies and misses 
have been taught in this town. The first was about the year 









EDUCATION— SCHOOLS. 113 

1822, by Maria Clark, of Le Roy. Soon after, one by Lu- 
cinda Gregg, of Londonderry, X. II., afterwards the wife oi 
Hon. William Patterson. 

In 1844, a school for young ladies was established, and for 
two or three years continued, by Anna P. Sill, since the suc- 
cessful founder of the popular and famed Female Seminary 
at Rockier d, 111. 

In 1847 or 1848, was established a Parochial School by the 
Presbyterian church, which was continued twelve or more 
years under different teachers. 

Of primary select schools, there have been many. The 
names of teachers remembered are, Catharine AY. Blanchard, 
who taught what was then called an "infant school," an insti- 
tution then (about the year 1832,) quite popular. Miss 
Blanchard is now the wife of Hon. John Fisher, of Batavia. 
About the same time, Emeline Monroe, now the wife of Eli 
Hood, of Wethersfield, came as a teacher, and taught in this 
village both select and district schools, for seven years. 

[JNION SCHOOL. 

The old district school-house in this place being no longer 
of sufficient capacity to accommodate all the children of the 
district, a larger house was built on Genesee street, nearly 
opposite the residence of J. A. McElwain. In the second 
story select schools were sometimes kept; and before the 
county buildings were completed, it was used for holding 
county courts. After it was no longer used as a school-house, 
it was sold to Isaac C. Bronson, and removed to the west side 
of Main street, and fitted up for stores. It was burned at the 
time of the great conflagration in February, 18G7. 

The increase of population for a few years after the estab- 
lishment of the county seat in this village, seemed to require 
a public school of a higher grade, and a house of larger 
dimensions. It was proposed to consolidate the districts in 
and near the village, and to form a graded school, more com- 
monly called " union school." As this plan involved a heavy 



11 J: HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

expenditure for a suitable building, the proposition was for a 
time successfully resisted. An affirmative rote, however, was 
at length obtained, and a large and commodious stone build- 
ins; was erected. 

UNION FREE SCHOOL. 

The Union School was a district school, and subject to the 
same laws and regulations as district schools in general. It 
had not been long in operation under its new name before 
the plan was conceived of ingrafting upon it an academical 
department, which, by compliance with the law regulating 
seminaries, should become entitled to share with them in the 
distribution of the Literature Fund. A petition signed by 
citizens of the district, accompanied by a bill drafted here, 
designed to carry into effect the object of the petitioners, was 
presented to the legislature. This bill, with some amend- 
ments, one of which made it of general application throughout 
the state, became a law. 

In pursuance of the provisions of the law, the Trustees, on 
the written request of citizens of the district, gave notice 
calling a " meeting of the inhabitants of District No. 10 of 
the town of "Warsaw, entitled to vote thereat, at the school- 
house, on the 13th instant, ( Sept. 1853,) at 7 o'clock, P. MJ 
for the purpose of determining by a vote of such district, 
whether a Union Free School shall be established therein, in 
conformity with the provisions of the act passed June 18, 
1853. The act provides for the organization of an academical 
department, and the tpiestion whether such department is to 
be established, will be determined by the said meeting." 
The notice was signed by J. A. Darling, J. A. McElwain, and 
A. Holly, Trustees. 

A meeting, pursuant to the above notice, was held, of which 
Isaac C. Bronson w T as Chairman, and B. F. Fargo Secretary, 
and at which it was resolved, that a Union Free School, on 
the plan proposed, should be established; and John A. Mc- 
Elwain, Joshua II. Darling, Alanson Holly, Sanford L. 






EDUCATION SCHOOLS. 115 

Boughton, Charles W. Belden, and Lloyd A. Hayward, were 
elected Trustees, who are called "Board of Education." 
Copies of the proceedings, duly certified by the Chairman and 
Secretary, were deposited in the offices of the town and 
county clerks, respectively, and a copy transmitted to the 
State Superintendent, 

In October, 1853, the Board employed Prof. Richard K. 
Sanford, as Principal of the Union Free School, and his wife 
as an assistant teacher. Horace Briggs, who was principal 
of the Union School at the time of the change, was also 
continued as assistant teacher; but in consequence of ill 
health, resigned in February following. In the spring of 1851, 
Prof. Norman F. Wright, who had been for nine years prin- 
cipal of Genesee and Wyoming Seminary, at Alexander, was 
employed as Principal, and Prof. Simeon D. Lewis, a teacher 
in that institution, was engaged as an assistant. Prof. Wright 
was also intrusted with the general care and management of 
the primary schools connected with the Academy. 

In August, 1857, Prof. Norman F. Wright was again 
employed as Principal; Kate Leland, a graduate of Thetford 
Academy, Vt., teacher of French, English, drawing and 
painting; and William P. Boughton, educated in Warsaw 
Academy, teacher of German, and the higher English 
branches. 

In the spring of 1S60, Prof. Joseph Gile, a graduate of 
Dartmouth College, N. EL, became Principal; and Mary M. 
Gile, educated at Franklin Academy, N. II., and Holton 
High School, Mass., assistant, Mr. Gile taught till November, 
1861. 

In the fall of 1861, Prof. O. H. Stevens was employed as 
Principal, and Mary M. Gile was continued as assistant. Mr. 
S. taught two terms, ending with the academic year in -July, 
1S62. 

In August, 1862, Winslow Scofield, a graduate of Hamilton 
College, commenced as Principal, and Miss Gile continued as 
assistant. Mr. Scofield taught one vear. 



116 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Iii August, 1SG3, Prof. Charles II. Dann, a graduate of 
Williams College, took charge of the school as Principal, and 
has been continued as such to the present time. Miss Gile 
also holds the place she took in 1860. 

SCHOOL DISTRICTS. 

As a part of the school history of the town of "Warsaw, we 
give a list of the existing districts, with such facts relating to 
them as have come to our knowledge; the names of some of 
the early inhabitants, and of those residing therein who are 
voters at district meetings, or liable to taxation for school 
purposes. As, from time to time, the number of districts 
in the town has been increased or diminished, and their 
bounds have been altered, the number by which each district 
is at present designated, is not in every case that by which it] 
has at all times been distinguished. 

District !No. 1. 

The first school within the limits of this district was taught 
in 1S11 or 1812, in a log school-house built in the style of 
those times. The present district was formed in 1S23. It is I 
a joint district, a portion of it lying in Gainesville. The first 
school-house was a framed building, on Lot 9, in this town; 
and in less than a year after it was finished, it was fired by 
an incendiary, and destroyed. The next year another was 
built on the same site. In 1859, the site was removed one- 
fourth of a mile south, into Gainesville, and some of the 
families were annexed to District Xo. 2, adjoining it on the 
north. The school-house being now in Gainesville, it is 
designated as Kb. 11, in that town. The names of the 
inhabitants of this town belonging to the district are the 
following: 

Andrew Beardsley, George Brown, John Cummings, 

George Dixon, James Fluker, William Fluker, 

Mrs. Sarah Fowler, Job M. Relyea, Linus Warner, 

Willard T. Warner. 



education schools. 117 

District No. 2. 

This district is in the south-east part of the town, and is 
sometimes designated as the " Fhvker District." Its school- 
house is in the vicinity of the Free "Will Baptist Church. 
[The names of its inhabitants, if they have been received, 
have been mislaid, and they can not be obtained in time for 
insertion.] 

District No. 3. 

In 1811, a log house was built at the forks of the road 
about a mile and a half east of the village. Some of the in- 
habitants then residing within the bounds of the present 
district, were Lot IMarchant, Dea. Eliphalet Parker, and his 
sons, Giles, Eliphalet, Ira, Benjamin, John G., and Lyman, 
Gideon T. Jenkins, and others. The house was burned about 
ten years after it was built, and the present one erected near 
the place of the old one. 

The following are the names of the present inhabitants of 

the district: 

Charles Agar, A. J. Armstrong, M. R. Atkins, 

David Botsford, Samuel Biigham, Michael Burke, 

Otis F. Carpenter, Charles Chase, Allen D. Fargo, 

Jeremiah Gardner, Luther H. Hill, Sylvanus Howes, 

Edward McDonald, Hugh McDonald, Amos Otis, 2d, 

Orrin Otis, Leverett Parker, Sydney Parker, 

Valentine Parker, William Parker, Aurora S. Perkins, 

Michael Smallwood, Nelson Slocum, Mrs, Watrous, 

Loman Whitlock, Nathan S. Woodward, Samuel Woodward. 

Districts Nos. 8, 9, 10 and. 11 were consolidated in the 

formation of the Union School. The village district, into 

which either parts or the whole of the other three were 

merged, was No. 10. 

District No. 5. 

This district, called, sometimes the "Arnold District," 
though fourth in the eastern tier of districts, was, we believe, 
at the last general numbering of districts, called No. 5, by 



118 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



which number it is probably still designated, though ~No. 4 
has been discontinued. The names of the inhabitants at 
present composing this district, are the following: 

Comfort Adams, 
Osmyn S. Arnold, 
Calvin Bryant, 
Hezckiah Fargo, 

Flower, 

James W. Kinney, 
Thomas Scott, 
John Walker, 



Amnii Andrews, 
Welcome Arnold, 
Mrs. Bryant. 
Samuel Fisher, 
John Hill, 
George Parker, 

Shepard, 

Wilkie, 

George Wiggins. 

District No. T. 



Andrews, 

Stephen B. Barden, 
Edward Evans, 
Samuel Mills Fisher, 
J. Kane, 
Simeon Rice, 
Jacob Smith, 
Amnii Wiggins, 



The first school within the bounds of this district, (South 
Warsaw,) was kept in a log-house, on the east side of the 
road, nearly opposite the residence of Rufus Morris, in or 
about the year 1808. Two or three years after, a framed 
house was built further south, nearly opposite the site of the 
present tavern. This house was burned about a month after 
the school in it had commenced. Another was built on the 
opposite (west) side of the road. A few years after, this 
house also was burned, and the present house was erected. 
Among the male inhabitants who resided in this district when 
the first school was kept, were Amos Keeney, William Web- 
ster, Moses Stearns, Silas Wethy, Daniel Knapp, SolomoD 
Morris, Sen., of whom only the two first named are living. 
The inhabitants constituting the district at present (1SGS,) are 
the following:: 



DeWitt Akin, 
Elias Baker, 

Elon W. Chase, 
Emerson Conable, 
Francis Graves, 
Eleazar Keeney, 
Hezekiah Lincoln, 
Luther S. Morris, 
Samuel J. Munger, 
Orson Standish, 



■Jeremy Allen. 
John Bennett. 
Elijah Chamberlain, 
Franklin Day, 
Edward Hayward, 
John II. Keeney, 
Leonard L. Martin. 
Rufus Morris, 
Clarinda Park, 
Augustus F. Stearns, 



Wm. W. Allen, 
Sylvanus Brady, 
John F. Clark, 
John Everingham, 
Amos Keeney, 
Hairy Keeney, — 
Luther Morris, 
Ambrose Mosher, 
Philander Rogers, 
Eugene B. Stearns, 



EDUCATION— SCHOOLS. 



119 



George Stearns, 
Daniel H. Stark, 
Edwin Truesdell, 
Mills Webster, 



Willard Stearns, 
Henry Sheldon, 
Elon G. Truesdell, 
William Webster, 

District No. 12. 



Joseph Stewart, 
Helon S. Taber, 
Philander Truesdell, 
Almon Wilcox. 



The first school within the bounds of the present district 
was kept, it is said, in the winter of 1807-8, in a vacated log- 
house, on the east or Le Roy Road, about half a mile below 
the present school-house. After a few years, the school was 
kept near the line of the town of Middlebury. In 1S17, the 
present house was built at the junction of the roads from 
Wyoming and Le Roy, on land leased by Josiah Jewett to the 
district, gratuitously, so long as the house shall be occupied as 
as a school-house. 

Among the first settlers of this district were Josiah Jewett, 
Simeon Hovey, Josiah Hovey, Gurdon Ilovey, Samuel Whit- 
lock, Julius Whitlock. 

The inhabitants of the district in 1868, are the following: 



Charles Brown, 
Addison Brainerd, 
Anson H. Owen, 
Albert Warren, 



Jay J. Baker, 
Henry Finch. 
Amos Otis, 
Russel Warren, 
Samuel Whitlock. 

District No. 13. 



John Brown, 
S. Alden McCulloch. 
Elisha AV. Scovel. 
Harry Whitlock, 



This district was formed and the school-house built in 1834. 
Its inhabitants were Levi Crandall, Palmer Fargo, Noah Fisk, 
George Howes, David Ingersoll, Samuel Ingersoll, Amasa 
Mynard, Charles Steele, George Steele, Nathan Warren, 
Richard Warren, Nicholas Reddish, and perhaps others. 

The house remained until 1868, when a new one was built 
a little south of the old site. 

The following are names of the inhabitants in 1868: 



J. Bowen. 
James Cheon, 
Palmer Fargo, 
John Rough, 
Alonzo Pierce, 
Augustns Watrous, 



Duane Chase, 
Schuyler Clarke, 
Palmer Fargo, Jun., 
Alva Parker, 
Henry Ryan, 
Leonard Watrous. 



John S. Chase, 
Henry Cornell, 
0. Emery, 
Daniel Peck, 
George Storts, 



120 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



District No. 14. 

This district is in the south-west part of the town, and em- 
braces a few families residing in Gainesville. The year in 
which it was formed, we are unable to state. Its inhabitants 
chiefly live on the road which divides the two towns, Gaines- 
ville and Warsaw. 

The names of the inhabitants residing in Warsaw are as 
follows: 



James Foot, 
Apollos Keeuey, 
Joseph Pike, 
Johii Relyea, 



John Hawley, 
Samuel Munger, 
William Pike, 
Edwin Tanner, 

District No. 15. 



Alfred W. Hoyt, 
Henry W. Norton, 
Hiram Relyea, 
Joseph Taylor. 



This was among the earlier districts laid out in this town, 
and was for a long time, and is still, designated as the " Sharp 

District," one of the early settlers, Sharp, and his son, 

Horace C, having resided near the corners where the school- 
house stands. As in most of the other districts, its first school- 
house was built of logs. 

The names of the inhabitants in 1868 are the following: 



Marcus Buck, 
Nicholas Cleveland, 
William Cleveland, 
Harry Hatch, 
Jason Munger, 
George Relyea, 
Edwin Stearns, 
Patrick Talty, 
John Truesdell, 



Cyrus Capen, 



Matilda Cleveland. 



Nicholas Cleveland, Jr., Uriah Cleveland. 



Christopher Hale, 
Alonzo Hatch, 
Mrs. Parnel Munger, 
Eliphalet 0. Scovel, 
Chauncey L. Stevens, 
George Truesdell, 
Hiram F. Walker, 
Samuel Wolcott. 

District jS"o. 16. 



Philander Hale, 
Henry Munger, 
Porter P. Munger, 

Nathan S. Scovel, 
Nye Stevens, 
Hiram Truesdell, 
Jacob Whiteman, 



The school-house in this district is nearly three miles south- 
west from the village. The first school was taught by Amy 
Martin, now Mrs. Clark, in the summer of 1816, in a log 
house previously occupied by Samuel Salisbury as a dwelling, 
about forty rods east of the present house. A year or two 



EDUCATION SCHOOLS. 121 

after, a log school-house was built on or near the site of the 
present house, and was used until 1823 or 1824, when a 
framed house was built. This was burned a few years after, 
and the present one erected in its place. 

Among the inhabitants residing in the neighborhood at and 
about the time of the organization of the district, were Samuel 
Salisbury, Warham Walker, "William Shipman, Aaron C. 
Lyon, David Martin, Newton Hawes, Polly Day, widow of 
Col. Elkanah Day, and Elisha Barnes. Among the early 
teachers were Elisha W. Scovel, and Hiram Day. 

Names of the inhabitants of the district in 1S6S: 

Edmund Buck, John Lary, Henry Buck, 

Rollin Buck, Ormus Marshall. Willard Buck, 

David C. Martin, Benj. B. Conable, Jordan Mead, 

Lorenzo Cook, John P. Mead, Broughton W. Crane, 

George Pierce, Byron Crane, Jay Scribner, 

Luther Foster, Andrew J. Seeley, Sydney Foster, 

Hiram Stearns, Jerome Hoisington, John Truesdell, Jr. 

DlSTEICT ]STo. 17. 

The first school-house within the present bounds of this 
district was a log house; in what year built, we have not ascer- 
tained — probably about the year 1807. It stood at the four 
corners three-fourths of a mile east of the west line of the 
town, on the south-west corner, two and one-fourth miles west 
of the village. Among the early inhabitants were Peter "W. 
Harris, Curtis Edgerton, Luther Parker, Dea. Ezra Walker, 
Dea. Abraham Eeed, Hezekiah Wakefield, Isaac Phelps, Zera 
Tanner, Philip Salisbury, Aaron Bailey, Thomas C. Chase, 
Elder Jabez Boomer, and Jonathan Young. 

The first framed school-house stood about mid-way between 
the site of the old one and that of the present house. 

The names of the present inhabitants of the district, are as 
follows: 

Herbert Andrews, Benjamin Bishop, James N. Barnett, 

Henry Crist, Robert Barnett, Samuel Bassett, 

George Crist, Abraham Dick, Dorson Bentley, 

Samuel S. Eldridge, Christopher Fisher, Hiram Melvin, 



122 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



John Fisher, 
Silas Norton, 
Webster Norton, 
Philip Gath, 
Philip Smith, 
Henry S. Hatch, 
Ira Wilcox, 



Milo Monroe, 
Patrick Fitz Gibbons. 
Jacob Gath, 
Archibald Prentice, 
Erastua Gill, 
Beman Wilcox, 
John W. Hawley, 

District ISTo. 18. 



Nicholas Fisher, 
Bradley S. Gallett, 
Myron Palmer, 
Tillotson Gay, 
Stephen Vincent, 
Sarah Hagan, 
Albert Jones. 



This district is in the north-western part of the town, the 
school-house and most of its inhabitants being on the " Old 
Buffalo Koad." Among the early settlers within the present 
bounds of the district, were Isaac Luce, "William Shipman, 
Nathan Pierce, Eoderick Chapin, William C. Hatch, and 
David Yonncr. The following are the names of its inhabi- 
tants in 1868 : 



John Bannan, 
Moses Perkins, 
Orlando Gay, 
Allen Pierce, 
Seth Ransom Hatch, 
David Sammis, 
William T. Hatch. 



Adam Klair, William Bannan, 

Betsey Gay, Samuel W. Perkins, 

Samuel W. Perkins, Jun., Lyman Hatch, 
Milton D. Hatch, Peter Sailor, 

Collis Sammis, Walter M. Hatch, 

Walter Hatch, Thomas Tanner, 



PHYSICIANS. 123 



PHYSICIANS. 

The dates at which all the physicians named in the follow- 
ing list commenced and discontinued practice in this town, it 
is impossible to obtain. In cases in which the year is given 
Without qualification or remark, it may be relied on as correct, 
or very nearly so. There are probably some, however, whose 
names we have not been able to ascertain. 
1808, Chaimcey L. Sheldon; continued in practice until his 

last illness. He died in 1828. 
181 7, Augustus Frank; practiced regularly a few years; after 
which only occasionally, being engaged extensively in 
other business. 
1817, Daniel Eumsey; a"bout two years; removed to Alexan- 
der; returned about the year 1823; practiced several 
years; removed to Silver Creek, and engaged in trade. 
1822, Cyrus Eumsey, brother of Daniel; about six years; re- 
moved to Medina, Orleans Co.; thence to Ohio, and 
died. 
1827, Peter Caner; practiced until his final sickness; died in 

1851. 
■ , Thomas P. Baldwin came soon after Dr. Caner; prac- 
ticed about two years; removed to Ogden; after which 
he practiced two short periods; left finally, and died. 
1829, Seth S. Ransom; practiced about eight years; removed 

in 1837 to Burlington, Iowa. 
1831, Ethan E. Bartlett; practiced three years, and removed 
to Georgia; returned to Orangeville in 1836; came to 
Warsaw again in 1848; practiced regularly a number 
of years, and more or less since. 
1834, Jonathan Hurlburt, about two years. 
1842, Lindorf Potter, about two years. 
1842, 1ST. D. Stebbins; one year or more, and removed to 

Detroit, where he remains. 
1849, or 1850, Dr. House; practiced a year or more. 



121 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

1850, John G. Meachem; practiced until 1862, and removed 

to Racine, Wis. 
1850, or near that year, Charles W. Belden, having previously 

practiced in town, returned from Sheldon after several 

years' absence, and, in 1855, removed to Dubuque, la., 

where he resides. 

1850, Charles A. Date; practiced until 1SG7— seventeen years, 
excepting one or two temporary periods of absence. 

1S52, or '53, Dr. Blanchard; about six months. 

1853, Dr. Day; a few months. 

1854, Dr. Gardner; practiced about two years. 

1851, Dr. Wells, with C. A. Dake a tew months, and removed 
to Mt. Morris. 

1851, Dr. West, in C. A. Dake's office; practiced one year. 

1S59, C. M. Dake came into the practice of his brother, and 
remained in town about six years. 

1862, Milan Baker succeeded John G. Meachem, and con- 
tinues in practice. 

1S62, E. W. Jenks was here one year. 

1866, J. C. Pitts, and continues in practice. 

1867, Dr. Phelan; continued one year. 

1568, Dr. Miller & Son discontinued practice here this year, 
after a stay of several years. 

1868, Dr. Maynard commenced this year, and continues prac- 
tice here. 

1569, Dr. Tibbets, after a practice here of several years, con- 
tinues. 








Sketch, p. 2L9 



LAWYERS. 125 



LAWYERS. 

The following list is believed to contain the names of all 
the Attorneys who have ever practiced in this town. There 
may be one or two unimportant exceptions. 

1817, Robert Moore came to Warsaw, and is believed to have 
been the first Lawyer in this town. He remained a 
short time and removed to Perry, where he resided 
until his death, a few years since. 

1817, Mayhew Safford also came in this year from Vermont, 
and resided here until he died, in Jan., 1831. He 
ceased practicing many years before his death. 

1817, or 1818, "Warren Loonhs, a brother-in-law of Mayhew 
Safford, came and joined him in practice. After a 
few years, Loomis returned to Vermont, where he died. 

1818, or 1819, Theophilus Capen commenced the practice of 
law, and continued a year or two. 

1821, or 1822, James Crocker commenced practice, and con- 
tinued until 1833, when he removed to Buffalo, where 
he practiced until he died, in 1861. 

1833, Ferdinand C. D. Mc Kay took the place of Mr. 
Crocker, and continued until 18G2, when he removed 
to Des Moines, Iowa, where he died, in 1866. 

1831, or 1835, Thomas J. Sutherland came to this town; 
practiced a few months. He was afterwards a General 
in the Canadian Patriot war. 

1841, James R. Doolittle and Linus TV". Thayer commenced 
a partnership of four years. In 1851, Mr. Doolittle 
removed to Racine, Wis. Mr. Thayer is still in prac- 
tice here. 

1847, AV. Riley Smith, from Attica, commenced practice 
here, being County Judge at the same time. After the 
expiration of his official term, he removed to Milwau- 
kee, where he died. 



126 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

1847, Wm. S. Crozier commenced practice, and continued a 
short time. 

1818, Leonard \V. Smith commenced practice, and continued 
until 1868. From 1860, to Jan., 1867, he was a part- 
ner of L. W. Thayer. 

1850, Charles "W. Bailey commenced practice. lie remains 
in town. 

1850, Harlow L. Comstock commenced practice here, and 
continued until 1868. The first year he was a partner 
of James R. Doolittle. He removed in 1868 to Can- 
andaigua. 

1853, Charles Henshaw commenced practice as a partner of 
L. AV. Thayer, and continued until Oct., IS 55, when he 
removed to Batavia, and became associated with 
Judge Taggart. He is now County Judge of Genesee 
county. 

1853, Alonzo W. "Wood commenced as partner of Judge II. 
L. Comstock, and continued as such a few years, and 
removed to Iowa. 

1858, Henry C. Page commenced a partnership with L. "W. 
Thayer, and, after a year or two, retired. 

1857, Byron Healy, commenced as a partner of Judge Com- 
stock, and continued as such until January, 1866. He 
was elected County Judge in jNov., 1867, which office 
lie now holds. 

1S58, Elbert E. Farman commenced practice, and continues 
to the present time. The first two years he was a part- 
ner of F. C. D. McKay, and from 1S61 to 1S65, of B. 
N. Pierce. After an absence of two years in Europe, 
he resumed practice, and was appointed District Attor- 
ney in the place of Byron Healy, elected Judge. He 
was elected to the same office in 186S. 

1860, Myron E. Bartlett commenced practice, and continues. 

1863, I. Sam Johnson, commenced with M. E. Bartlett. 
Removed to Arcade. 

1865, Beriah X. Pierce, with M. E. Bartlett till 1868. Re- 
moved out of town. 



BANKS. 127 



BANKS. 

For many years after the first settlement of the town, there 
was little occasion to do business with banks. When such 
business became necessary, it was done chiefly at Canandai- 
: gna, nearly fifty miles distant from Warsaw. The merchants 
purchased goods at Albany and New York twice a year. 
They bought on credit, and sold on credit, few of them being 
able to buy for cash. Their practice was to pay, as nearly as 
possible, when going to make their purchases, for the goods 
last bought. Hence a general collection from their customers 
became necessary every spring and fall. These collections 
commenced several weeks before "going to New York." 
Failing, as they often did, to raise the necessary funds, they 
were obliged to apply for bank loans, which application, how- 
ever, was many times unsuccessful. 

The establishment of banks at Geneseo and Batavia was a 
great convenience to our business men, especially the Bank of 
Genesee at Batavia, with which most of the business was 
done. Stages running directly through to that place daily or 
tri-weekly, the driver was the agent through whom the busi- 
ness was generally transacted. The increase of our population 
and consecpuently of business, suggested the establishment of 
a bank in this place; and about the year 1838, a bank, to be 
called the " Bank of Warsaw," was partly organized, but 
never went into operation. 

WYOMING COUNTY BANK. 

In December, 1851, Joshua II. Darling, of this village, es- 
tablished, under the general banking law of this state, an 
individual bank, .called " Wyoming County Bank," with a 
capital of $50,000. This bank supplied a want long felt in 
this community, and was managed in a maimer satisfactory 
to the merchants and business men generally. Mr. Darling 
was its President during the entire period of its existence, 



12S HISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

which terminated in 18G5. Its Cashiers during this period 
were E. Maynard, Charles Mosher, II. A. Metcalf, J. Harri- 
son Darling, and Henry B. Jenks. The building used for a 
Banking House was built of wood on the ground now occu- 
pied by the new bank. It was burned at the time of the 
great tire in 1867. 

In 1865, the present National Banking system was estab- 
lished by act of Congress, which virtually abolished the state 
banks, and compelled those who desired to continue the 
banking business to organize new banks in conformity to the 
provisions of the national banking law. Accordingly, the 

WYOMING COUNTY NATIONAL BANK OF WARSAW 

was organized in 1865, with a capital of $100,000. Joshua 
H. Darling, Augustus Frank, Henry B. Jenks, Lloyd A. 
Hayward, and Artemas Blake, have been its Directors from 
the time of its organization; and during the same time Joshua 
II. Darling has been President, and Henry B. Jenks Cashier. 
The new Bank building on the site of the old one, is one ot 
the best of its kind. 



NEWSPAPERS. 

The first newspaper within the territory comprised in the 
county of Wyoming, was established in Warsaw in 1S28, by 
Levi and Warham Walker. It was for three months neutral 
in politics. The Anti-Masonic excitement having become 
intensified by the facts elicited on the trials of Masons con- 
cerned in the abduction of Willian Morgan, the publishers 
turned the influence of their paper against Masonry. This 
caused the withdrawal of patronage to such extent as to com- 
pel them, a few weeks after, to relinquish the publication of 
the paper. 

In May, 1830, Andrew W. Young commenced the War- 
saw Sentinel. The masses of the settlers being still deeply 



K EWSPARERS. 120 

in debt for their lands, and comparatively poor, extra 
efforts were necessary to give it circulation. Carriers were 
employed on several different routes, one of which extended 
west to Aurora. The experiment proved that the establish- 
ment of a paper in this place was premature; and the Senti- 
nel was discontinued at the close of 1S31, and on the first of 
January, 1S32, merged in the Republican Advocate, of 
Batavia. 

In the spring of 1836, the American Citizen was established 
here under the auspices of the Genesee County Antislavery 
Society, as the organ of that Society, and as an advocate of the 
general abolition of slavery. A. W. Young was chosen as its 
editor, and conducted it during the first three months. 
Jonathan A. Hadley was employed as publisher, and con- 
tinued as such to the end of the first year. It was then 
removed to Perry, chiefly for the convenience of its editor, 
the late Josiah Andrews, who, though he resided in Perry, 
had been its principal editor during the last nine months of 
its publication in Warsaw. Its publishers in Perry were for 
a time Mitchell & Warren. Mr. Mitchell continued its 
publisher until January, 1811, when it was removed to Roch- 
ester. 

The Western "New Yorker was removed to Warsaw from 
Perry, in 1811. It had been commenced by John II. Bailey 
in January of that year, hi the ensuing summer it passed 
into the hands of Barlow & Woodward. The county oi 
Wyoming having just been formed, and the county seat lo- 
cated at Warsaw, this was deemed the more suitable place 
for a county paper; and it was accordingly removed by its 
publishers, Barlow & Woodward. After its removal to War- 
saw, it was published by Barlow & Woodward, Barlow cfc 
Blanchard, and S. S. Blanchard, and after his death by H. A. 
Dudley. During the lingering illness of Mr. Blanchard, and 
for some time after it came into the hands of Mr. Dudley, 
(from January 1, 1819, to September, 1850,) the paper was 
edited by Charles W. Bailey, Esq. Mr. Dudley published it 



130 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

from September, 1850, to April, 1S58, when it passed to 
Elijah W. Andrews. After this it was published successively 
by Andrews & Harrington, Harrington & Farman, Morse & 
Merrill, and then by "William IT. Merrill, until its union with 
the "Wyoming County Mirror in October, 18G1, under the 
present firm of Dudley & Merrill. 

The Wyoming Republican was commenced in "Warsaw in 
1S11, by Edwin L. Fuller, and continued until March, 1817. 

In March, 1S18, Alanson Holly commenced the "Wyoming 
County Mirror, as proprietor, publisher, and editor, and con- 
tinued its publication until the summer or fall of 1819, when 
Harwood A. Dudley, his foreman in the printing from its com- 
mencement, became a partner in the concern. The partner- 
ship of Holly & Dudley continued until Septembr, 1850, 
when, after the death of Mr. Blanchard, Mr. Dudley pur- 
chased the Western Xew Yorker, and Mr. Holly became 
again sole proprietor of the Mirror. In May, 1855, Mr. Holly 
sold out to E. L. Babbitt and E. S. Lewis. In March, 1S57, 
Mr. Babbitt retired, and Mr. Lewis became sole proprietor. 
In March, 1855, W. IT. Merrill became a partner with Lewis. 
January 1, 1859, H. A. Dudley again purchased the Mirror, 
and published it until October, 1S64, when it w T as united with 
the "Western Xew Yorker, then published by W. II. Merrill. 
The ~New Yorker continues to be published by Dudley & 
Merrill. 

The Wyoming Democrat was established in Warsaw, by ] 
John Hansom, its present publisher, in March, 18G3. 

Masonic Tidings was commenced, also by John Ransom, 
in October, 1865. It is published semi-monthly, on the 1st 
and 15th days of each month. 



WYOMING COUNTY. 131 



WYOMING- COUNTY. 

The question of dividing the county of Genesee, and the 
formation of a new county of which Warsaw should be the 
county seat, was agitated at an early day. Application was 
made to the legislature for this object before the formation of 
Orleans from Genesee. The first application contemplated 
the taking of a i'ew towns from Allegany county, in order to 
give the county sufficient population. 

Prior to 18-10, the project had slumbered for many years. 
The legislature of that year authorized the raising of money 
to build a new court-house and jail in the comity of Genesee. 
Commissioners were appointed to fix the site; and Batavia 
was again selected. 

A mass meeting of citizens of the southern towns was held 
in Orangeville to express their disapproval of the act of the 
Commissioners. Resolutions were passed in favor of remov- 
ing the county seat to a more central part of the county, < >r 
of dividing the county. 

In accordance with this proposition, a bill was introduced 
in the legislature of 1841, for the division ot Genesee county, 
with a provision requiring that the question of the removal 
of the county seat be submitted to the vote of the people of 
the county; and if the question should be decided affirma- 
tivelv, the division was not to be made. Fearing the result 
of the submission, the member representing the interests of 
the Batavians, preferring a division to a change of location of 
the county buildings, moved to strike out the provision for 
submission. The motion prevailed; the bill passed the house 
with few dissenting votes, and in this shape became a law. 

The law named as Commissioners to fix the site for the 
county buildings, Peter B. Peed, of Onondaga, John Thomp- 
son, of Steuben, and Davis Hurd, of Niagara. The Commis- 
sioners visited every town in the county, and after due 



HISTOKY OF WARSAW. 



deliberation, the village of Warsaw was agreed on as the 
place for the county buildings. 

The building commissioners appointed by the Board of 
Supervisors, were John A. McElwain, of Warsaw, Paul Rich- 
ards, of Orangeville, and Jonathan Perry, of Middlebury. 
The ground, except the small lot on which the jail was built, 
was a donation from lion. Trumbull Gary, of Batavia. The 
jail was built in 1841; the court-house in 1842 — all, including 
the clerk's office, for the sum of 810,000. The contract for 
the erection of the court-house and clerk's office, was let to 
Josiah Hovey. They were built under the superintendence 
of his son-in-law, P. Pixley. 

The special election for choosing county officers was held in 
June, 1841. The first county court was held at East Orange- 
ville. Courts were thereafter held, until the court-house was 
completed, in the second story of the school-house, on the south 
side of Genesee street, nearly opposite the residence of J. A. 
McElwain, afterwards bought by Isaac C. Bronson, and 
removed to Main street, and fitted up for stores or shops, 
where it was destroyed by the fire of 1867. 

The propriety of a division of the County of Genesee, 
could scarcely be seriously questioned. Xor could a county 
well be in a better condition for a division. Its breadth, 
cast and west, was about twenty six miles; its length, not 
including China, thirty-six miles, forming almost a perfect 
oblong; which, centrally divided east and west, would make 
the two counties almost exactly the same in shape and size, 
exclusive of China in the western tier of towns, which 
extended its whole breadth of six miles further south than 
the south towns of the other three tiers or ranges. The 
present length of Genesee is about twenty -six miles, east and 
west, and its breadth eighteen miles; and so nearly central 
are the county buildings, that the geographical center of the 
county would probably be found, by exact measurement, to 
be within the limits of the village of Batavia. 





Sketch, p 260. 



a^ 



AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 



133 



By the division, the town of Covington was divided; the 
southern portion retaining its former name. The northern 
part, which fell to Genesee, was named Pavilion ; but being 
of diminutive size, a portion of Le Roy was annexed. The 
two counties were also nearly equal in population. 

In 184(3, the towns of Eagle, Pike, and the part of Portage 
lying west of Genesee river, and now called Genesee Falls, 
were taken from Allegany county and annexed to Wyoming, 
which now contains sixteen towns, in four ranges or tiers of 
four towns each. The town of Genesee Falls containing less 
than half of the town of Portage before its division, a tier of 
lots from Pike was added to its territory. 



AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

The Wyoming County Agricultural Society was formed 
soon after the organization of the county. Although a county 
institution, its relation to this towm in particular seems to de- 
mand notice in a " History of "Warsaw." The society was 
organized in this town ; and in it the annual Fairs have been 
held, with a single exception, for a quarter of a century. 

In October, 1813, pursuant to previous notice, a meeting of 
the Farmers and Mechanics of the county was held at the 
Court House for the purpose of forming a County Agricultural 
Society. Calvin P. Bailey, of Perry, was chosen Chairman, 
and James L. Sanford, of Castile, Secretary. A committee 
of six was appointed to report a constitution; and a commit- 
tee of one from each town to report officers of the society. 
The following officers were elected: 

President — James C. Ferris, of Middlebury. 
Vice President — Dr. Augustus Frank, for Warsaw, and 
one for every other town. 

Secretary — Linus W. Thayer, of Warsaw. 
Treasurer — Jonx A. McElwain, of Warsaw. 



134 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

There was also chosen one Manager for each town — New- 
bury Bronson, for Warsaw; and a Town Committee of three 
for each town — Isaac C. Bronson, George W. Morriss, and 
Elijah Norton, for Warsaw. 

The first Fair was held at Warsaw, September 30th and 
October 1st, 1844. A large number of persons became mem- 
bers during the year, some for life, and others yearly members. 
The display of stock and other farm products, and of mechan- 
ical and household productions generally, at each successive 
Fair, was highly creditable to the county. 

It was believed by many, that the objects of the Society 
would be best promoted by fixing a permanent place for the 
holding of the annual Fairs, and by procuring suitable grounds 
for the purpose; and at a meeting of the Society held in the 
Court House, September 27, 1855, to "propose a plan for pur- 
chasing and fitting up grounds for the Society," the President, 
Hugh T. Brooks, of Covington, appointed a committee of 
eight to " make inquiry as to the cost of leasing or purchasing 
grounds, and to report at the next meeting in February." 
The committee consisted of John A. McElwain, Frank Miller, 
James C. Ferris, Uriah Johnson, Samuel Fisher, 2d, Newbury 
Bronson, William Bristol, Jr., and E. C. Skiff. 

At a meeting of the Executive Committee at the Court 
House, February 20, 1856, the committee appointed at the 
previous meeting having in charge the selection of the Fair 
Ground, reported in favor of purchasing a lot in the south 
part of the village of Warsaw of David McWethy. To en- 
able the Society to purchase and hold real estate, it was 
necessary that the Society should be reorganized; and a com- 
mittee, consisting of O. Y. Whitcomb, Edwin L. Babbitt, and 
Truman Lewis, was appointed to draft a certificate to com- 
plete the new organization. A report was made and adopted, 
and the certificate was signed by thirty gentlemen present 
from all parts of the county. 



AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 



135 



The Society at this meeting elected, as officers for the en- 
suing year, the following : 

President — Hugh T. Brooks, of Covington. 

Recording Seeretary — EL A. Dudley. 

Corresponding Secretary — John L. Clark. 

Treasurer — John A. McElavain. 

Nine Directors of the Society were also chosen. 

On motion of O. V. Whitcomb, of Pike, seconded by 
Alfred S. Patterson, of Perry, it was 

"Resolved, That Warsaw be designated as the place for 
permanently holding the Fairs of this Society." 

At a meeting held March 26, 1856, to take final action in 
relation to purchasing grounds, a proposition from Samuel 
Fisher, 2d, to sell ten or fifteen acres of land lying near the 
corner of Brooklyn and Liberty streets, in the village of War- 
saw, was submitted for consideration. After due deliberation 
the proposition was accepted. The land was purchased, and 
the President, Secretary, and Treasurer, were authorized to 
sign the necessary papers in behalf of the Society. 



13G HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



OLD FOLKS' FESTIVALS. 

MEETING AT DR. FRANKS. 

The first of these Pioneer festivals was held in February, 
1850, at the house of Augustus Frank, who had previously 
issued invitations to all persons, male and female, residing 
within the limits of the corporation, and not under fifty years 
of age. The number of guests who attended this entertain- 
ment was fifty -five, of whom twenty-four were males, and 
thirty- four were females. After some hours of refreshing 
and exhilarating social intercourse, upon invitation they paid 
their compliments to the Doctor at his well provisioned table. 
The Rev. A. T. Young invoked the Divine blessing, and the 
company satisfied themselves with the rich provisions before 
them. 

After the repast, the company, (remaing at the table,) were 
addressed, successively, by the worthy host, the Rev. Mr. 
Young, and Messrs. Jonas Cutting, Silas C. Fargo, Lyman 
Morris, Julius Whitlock, Dea. John Munger, and Samuel 
\Yhitlock. Some interesting facts and reminiscences were 
given concerning the early settlement and growth of the 
town. Mr. Morris came to this town in 1803; Cutting, Fargo, 
and others, the year following. There was then but one acre 
of ground cleared within the limits of the township. The 
route from here to Geneseo, for w T agons, was by the way of 
Le Roy, and was accounted a three days' journey. Mr. Fargo, 
with his father, was the first to pass on the old Buffalo road, 
(now so called,) with a wagon. A number of others enter- 
tained the company with similar remarks on pioneer life. 

Dismissed from the table, the company amused themselves 
and each other as they listed, until the strains of some "good 
old fashioned music " arrested the attention of all ; and all 
who could ever sing, joined their voices as if by a common 
impulse. The harmony of feeling was not less conspicuous 



old folks' festivals. 137 

than tlio harmony of voices. In this state of feeling, after an 
appropriate prayer by Kev. JVIr. Young, the company 
separated. The oldest male gnest was Mr. Archibald David- 
son, a native of Scotland, who entertained the company with 
a characteristic song. The oldest female was 82 years. The 
average age of the company was about 64 years; not one of 
them was a native of Warsaw. 

A gnest writing to the Mirror, said : "Expressions of grati- 
tude to the kind host were numerous, frequent, heart-felt, and 
well deserved ; of which his excellent lady, who was so 
unassumingly conspicuous in her efforts (efforts which never 
fail ) to make her guests happy, received her full share. The 
Doctor expressed to the company his sense of the honor they 
. had conferred on him in accepting his invitation; and thus it 
appeared that all were highly satisfied with the entertainment. 
The occasion was a serious 'caution' to all abortive attempts 
to ape the fashionable follies of the day — they can never 
afford such pure and elevating enjoyment." 

The thought would naturally be suggested to those present, 
that, among so large a number of persons so far advanced in 
age, deaths would soon occur. It is worthy of notice, that 
the first death was that of a member of the Doctor's house- 
hold, Mrs. G. P. Barnett, a sister of Mrs. Frank, who died in 
November of the same year. The second was that of Dr. 
Frank himself, one of the youngest present. He died in 
I January, 1851, aged 59 years. 

MEETING IN 1860. 

This festive gathering took place in the yards of Messrs. 

Frank and Edwin B. Miller, in pursuance of the invitations 

■ publicly issued. At 2 o'clock the meeting was called to order 

i by George W. Morris, Esq., and was organized by the choice 

j of officers as follows: 

President — Hon. John A. McElwain. 
Vice -Presidents — Amos Keeney, Nicholas Cleveland, Joel 
Pratt, Valentine Parker, Elam Perkins, William Webster, 



138 HISTORY OF WAESAW. 

"Willard T. Warner, Cyrus Tanner, Samuel Salisbury, James 
Richards, Lorin Seeley, Daniel H. Throop, John F. Clark, 
George Snyder, Chester Hurd, William Robinson, Willard 
Stearns, William Small wood, Elisha W. Scovel, Nye Stevens, 
Henry Woodward, Julius Whitlock, William Walker, John 
Munger, Peter Patterson, Amos Chapman, Elijah Norton, 
George W. Morris, Isaac Matthews, Rufus Morris, William T. 
Hatch, Palmer Fargo, William Fluker, Cyrus Capen, Brough- 
ton W. Crane, Samuel Bedow, Welcom Arnold, Elisha Barnes, 
Ira Wilcox, Robert Barnett, Frank Miller, Joshua II. Darling, 
William Bingham, Robert R. Munger. 

Secretaries — Edwin B. Miller, Seth M. Gates. 

Prayer was offered by Rev. J. E. Nassau. 

The meeting was then entertained for a short time with 
vocal music by the united choirs of the several churches in 
the village, accompanied by the voices of the multitude, and 
alternated with instrumental music by the O-at-ka Band of 
Warsaw. 

S. M. Gates was then called upon by the President, and 
addressed the meeting, and related some interesting incidents 
of early life on the Purchase. 

The President announced a recess of one hour for partaking 
the refreshments prepared by the ladies. 

After recess, the President again called the assemblage to 
order around the platform. 

Deacon Samuel Salisbury (aged 73) was called upon, and 
addressed the meeting. lie said he was one of the pioneers 
in the settlement of this town. He thought he had cleared 
more land with his own hands than any other man now living 
in town. He was once passing through some woods with two 
men, being a little in advance of them, when they alarmed 
him by the cry of "Bear! Bear!" Fie soon discovered the 
bear in a tree, making its way down. Having a brush-hook 
in his hand, he ran towards the tree, intending to be ready 
for the bear when it reached the ground. But the bear, per- 
ceiving his object, let go its hold, and fell to the ground. They 





-&1 



a 

Sketck.p. 552. 



old settlers' festivals. 130 

then had a race, (Mr. S., brush-hook in hand, being the pur- 
suer^) which terminated in the escape of the bear, and also ot 
the speaker. Mr. S. related other amusing incidents of pion- 
eer life, and some of hardship and peril, and closed with 
acknowledgments of the protecting care of Divine Provi- 
dence. 

William Webster (aged 73) next addressed the meeting. 
He said he came to Warsaw in 1803, with his brother Elizur 
Webster. In that year he and his brother cut a road into 
this town. In 1808, he entered upon the farm he now occu- 
pies, and has made it what it is. He was not the oldest man, 
but he believed he was the oldest settler of the town now 
living. Pie had never been troubled, as some young men of 
the present day seem to be, to find enough to do. He had 
worn himself out, and would soon be gone. 

Mr. Elam Perkins (aged 77) said he wanted to bring for- 
ward a different subject, although he had been interested in 
what had been said. His subject was religion, personal 
religion. He related his conversion in 1797, and his Christian 
experience; and closed with an exhortation to all to come to 
Jesus. 

Mr. Julius Whitlock was called for. He came to Warsaw 
in 1810, and took up his farm. War came on soon after. 
Buffalo was burnt, and the alarm spread. Word came here 
that the Indians were coming down upon us. He was then a 
young man, but had some people living in the house with 
him who were much frightened. At one time he drove his 
cattle into a swamp where he thought the Indians could not 
find them; moved his pork barrel into the woods; and all 
hands left the house, he carrying a child, and remained in 
the woods all night. After that he belonged to a company 
of Cavalry which was sent to Canada. The company fell 
into an ambush and were fired upon by the Indians. His 
horse was wounded, and the company fled, leaving him behind. 
William Bristol came back and rescued him. Mr. Bristol 
was a friend indeed. 



140 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Mr. Chester Hurd (aged 68) said lie came into this town 
in 1811. lie had not been accustomed to hunting nor farm- 
ing; he had followed the carpenter and joiner business — had 
built eight churches; and thought if building churches 
tended to make people better, he had done some good in 
Warsaw. lie had built many good houses, but had himself 
always lived in poor ones. He well remembered the Indian 
alarms. News came at one time that the Indians would be 
here next day. Some of the women armed themselves with 
bush scythes, pitchforks, &c. He was framing a building 
when Judge Webster came along and advised him to take 
the timbers and build a fort, saying the Indians were coming, 
and we should want it. He left his work, went through the 
woods home, and found folks abandoning their houses and 
taking shelter in the woods. 

Mr. Henry Ilovey, the oldest male inhabitant born in the 
town, was called out. He said he had never made a public 
speech, but was pleased to address the meeting, and gave a 
few statistics. His father came to this town in 1804, and in 
1805 took in a boarder. I appear before you as that boarder. 
When about fifteen years old, he took a load of wheat to 
Hoehester, and sold it for three shillings and six pence per 
bushel. He stopped at a hotel where he paid as much for a 
meal of victuals. He lodged with other teamsters who Mere 
there selling wheat. One of them said, if he had to give a 
bushel of wheat for his supper, he would try to get his money's 
worth. That night he did not rest well; he was out of bed 
on the floor, when some one inquired, "What's the matter?" 
lie replied, " My bushel of wheat lies heavy on my stomach." 

Mr. Hiram Porter ( aged 63) said he was not an old settler, 
but his recollection extended back about fifty years. lie 
contrasted the past with the present, and said the rising gen- 
eration should understand it. He alluded to the table spread 
before them in contrast with the coarse and scanty fare 
of former times. lie pointed to the comfortable and elegant 
carriages standing without, and said he remembered when a 



OLD folks' festivals. 141 

certain young man was thought to be rather aristocratic 
because he had got a lumber one-horse wagon, painted all 
over, and inside with shining red lead, and had got a seat 
in it with a high back. lie had occasion also to remember 
the Indian alarm, for a ball which he was attending was 
broken up by it. 

Mr. Wm. Smallwood said he had been in town thirty-six 
years. lie could not testify to the Indian alarms, &c, but 
could testify to very great improvements since he first came 
here. There had been great moral improvement, especially 
in the matter of temperance. lie used to draw wood down 
the hill, and often met ten or a dozen jugs going up hill; but 
now he saw no jugs. lie was much gratified with what he 
had seen and heard this day. 

The united choirs then sang 

" When shall we meet again '.'" 

Mr. Job Sherman, of Middlebury, said this was the first 
time he was ever called upon to speak in public. He came 
into this country at the close of the war. The country pros- 
perous — wheat $2 per bushel, pork $30 per barrel. But after- 
Wards ho drew wheat to Eochester, and sold it for two 
shillings and six pence per bushel, and took trade at that. 
In order to get money, he had to haul his wheat to Albany 
all the way by team, and sell it there for nine shillings per 
bushel. He thought the present generation knew little of the 
hardships of those days, or of the feeling of brotherhood — 
the disposition to help one another — which then prevailed, 
lie drew a contrast in these respects rather favorable to the 
generation which is passing away. 

Mr. Newbury Bronson, after some interesting remarks, 
spoke of the peculiarities and the cheering and healthful ten- 
dencies of this social gathering, and tendered his thanks to 
Messrs. F. & E. B. Miller for planning the design, and for 
so generously opening and preparing their beautiful yards for 
the entertainment. 



142 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

At the conclusion of this address, on motion of Hon. S. M. 
Gates, it was unanimously 

" Resolved, That the virtual resolution of thanks to the 
Messrs. Miller, contained in the closing part of Mr. Bronson's 
speech, be adopted as the sentiment of this meeting." 

Mr. E. B. Miller responded. He desired to return his 
thanks for so much of the compliment in this resolution as 
might be justly due to himself. To a great number of others, 
and especially the ladies, without whose aid in planning, ar- 
ranging and executing, nothing of this kind could be so sue- 
cessfully carried out, the larger portion of this compliment 
was due. And as to the idea of an entertainment of this 
kind, he desired again to render honor to whom honor is due. 
The first and only one of this nature was given by Dr. 
Augustus Frank, (now deceased,) at his house in 1850; and 
closed his remarks by reading an account of that gathering as 
published in the Mirror at the time. 

Mr. Frank Miller followed. He fully indorsed the senti- 
ments uttered by his brother, awarding to the committee and 
to the ladies and gentlemen who had contributed so much to 
this entertainment, the full measure of the compliment to 
which they were so justly entitled. Although he had never 
offered a toast in his life, he would, if this were a fitting occa- 
sion, be strongly tempted to toast the ladies. [Voices, "A 
toast — a toast — let us have a toast."] "Well, then, he would 
offer — 

" The Ladies of Warsaw — Ever ready, with warm hearts 
and liberal hands, to contribute to the comfort of others — not 
by words only, but by deeds." 

On the utterance of this toast, the President called for 
three cheers for Frank Miller; and the call was heartily res- 
ponded to. 

Hon. S. M. Gates then presented, in a short and appropriate 
speech, some resolutions with reference to the forming of a 
County Historical Society. The President remarked that the 
Committee to be appointed under these resolutions would be 
duly announced in the newspapers. 



old folks' festivals. 143 

General McElwain responded to a call for a speech from 
the President. He said he was not one of the earliest settlers 
of Warsaw. He came from Massachusetts, when a youth; 
he was without protection or restraint, and was exjDosed to bad 
influences; but he early formed three resolutions which had 
never been broken, and probably never would be. They 
were, 1st, that he would never use tobacco; 2d, that he would 
not keep rowdy company; 3d, that he would not play cards 
for mone} 7 . He contrasted the manners and social amuse- 
ments of fifty years ago with those of the present day by 
several amusing illustrations. One of them was the following: 

On a Fourth of July, some of the young men of Warsaw 
attended a celebration at Gainesville, there being none at 
home. Horse teams being rather scarce, they engaged a team 
of two yoke of oxen and an ox-cart. They decorated the cart 
with evergreens, and covered it with a roof of boughs. At 
Gainesville the driver stopped in front of the taVern, backed 
up to the door, and, loosening the fore end of the cart bodv, 
"dumped " the jolly load into the tavern. They had a first 
rate " backwoods " celebration ; and some of the party returned 
the same night. 

After the singing of a Hymn by the united choirs, Mr. Eli 
Merrill was called for. He said he came to this county 
thirty -five years ago, and engaged in teaching school. He 
was glad to see some of his scholars here to-day. He had 
listened attentively to the stories of the hardships and perils 
of the early settlers; but a fact mentioned by one of the 
speakers had particularly aroused his sympathies. It had 
been said that some of the early settlers were obliged to send 
several miles to Sheldon to get their bread baked. The thought 
which awakened his tender sympathies was, that he could not 
have been there to furnish them with stoves, (Mr. M's present 
business being that of a stove peddler.) Concerning the Indian 
alarms he had but one incident to relate : Thirty -five years 
ago he attended an exhibition at Middlebury Academy. A 



14:4: IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

student gave a poetical description of the effects of the fright, 
one verse of which he remembered, and would repeat: 

u And, by the help of Providence divine, 
Soon they reached the Warsaw line; 
And, to assure themselves they were not dead, 
Clapp'd up their hand and i'elt their head. - ' 

The exercises were then formally closed, and the whole 
company rose and united their voices in singing to the tune 
of Old Hundred, the Doxology, 

"Praise God from whom all blessings flow." 
The benediction was pronounced by the Rev. Mr. Buck. 



After the formal closing of the meeting, a large portion of 
the company remained upon the ground more than an hour, 
and listened to speeches from George \V. Morris, Esq., Mr. 
Peter Young, and Rev. Mr. Buck. 

Mr. Morris said experience was our best school-master, as 
many here could testily, and had testified. This occasion was 
to him one of great rejoicing — he liked the peculiar features 
of it. He came here in 1804 — had watched the progress of 
things from that time to this, and could testily to the great 
contrast. He said we ought to be grateful to Divine Provi- 
dence for our present privileges, and see to it that we rightly 
improve them. 

Mr. Young said he was not used to speech making — related 
some instances of hardship endured by the early settlers, 
and gave some interesting items of the religious history of the 
town. 

Rev. Mr. Buck made a humorous speech. Although he 
was not yet fifty years old, he was here by special invitation. 
He did not know but he would have a right here indepen- 
dently of the invitation, by virtue of the probability that some 
of these old settlers were ferried across Genesee river on their 
way hither by his father ; and he would take occasion to say, 
that if any of them had forgotten to pay the ferriage, he had 




ct. 



Sketck.c J J P. 



-0y/7^Kl^cfA^-c^c- &-&/ 



old folks' festivals. 145 

the books, and would be ready to settle with them at any 
time. He entertained the company in a similar strain, at 
considerable length, pronouncing the highest encomiums upon 
Warsaw and its inhabitants with only one drawback, which 
was the scarcity of marriages and marriage fees. 

Thus were finally closed the exercises of the day — a day 
long to be remembered by all who were present. The com- 
pany of invited guests indicated their high gratification with 
the entertainment; and the entertainers doubtless felt them- 
selves fully compensated in the satisfaction which attends 

every successful endeavor to promote the happiness of others. 

10 



140 HISTORY OF WARSAW, 



PUBLIC MEETINGS, 

OX EXTRAORDINARY OCCASIONS. 

Several events of unusual interest have called forth public 
expressions of the feelings and sentiments of our citizens. 
Prominent among the occasions of these popular demonstra- 
tions, were the deaths of Presidents Taylor and Lincoln. 

DEATH OF PRESIDENT TAYLOR. 

Zachary Taylor, President of the United States, died July 
9, 1850, a year and four months after his inauguration. 
What added interest to this sad event, was the fact, that it 
was the second death of a President at an early period in his 
administration, and but nine years after the death of Presi- 
dent Harrison, which occurred April 4, 1841, just one month 
after he was inaugurated. At an early day after the news 
was received, a large number of the people of Warsaw, 
without distinction of party, assembled at the Court House, 
to render due honors to the deceased Chief Magistrate of 
the nation. 

At about one o'clock, a procession was formed on Main 
street, under the direction of the Marshal, Linus W. Thayer, 
Esq., and marched to the Court House to the sound of martial 
music; minute guns firing and bells tolling during the time. 
After some appropriate remarks by the Chairman, Isaac C. 
Bronson, and prayer by Be v. K. D. Nettleton, an Address 
was delivered by James B. Doolittle, Esq., then a resident of 
Warsaw, at present United States Senator from Wisconsin. 
Did our limits permit, we should give some extracts of this 
interesting address. A Doxology by the Choir, and the ben- 
ediction by Bev. James P. Fisher, closed the services at the 
Court House. The procession then formed again and re- 
turned, minute guns firing and bells tolling as before. 



PUBLIC MEETINGS. 147 



DEATH OF ABRAHAM LINCOLN". 



Aii event more appalling, or of more pervading interest, is 
not recorded in our country's history, than the assassination of 
President Lincoln. A sketch of the action of our citizens in 
relation to this extraordinary occurrence, seems to deserve a 
place in the history of our town, and will be read with inte- 
rest by our descendants. Our sketch is drawn chiefly from 
the proceedings published in the newspapers. 

The crime was perpetrated on the evem'ng of Friday, the 
14th of April, 1864; and the news readied Warsaw the next 
morning. In the language of the Western New Yorker, of 
Thursday following: " The terrible tidings, which turned the 
nation's joy into mourning, fell like a pall upon our quiet 
village. To carry heavy, anxious hearts into the dull routine 
of daily business, seemed impossible." 

Moved by a common impulse, a large number of citizens 
assembled, organized, and appointed a committee, consisting 
of II. L. Comstock, Eev. J. E. Bills, Leonard W. Smith, 
Gideon H. Jenkins, Wm. D. Miner, and Wm. II. Merrill, to 
report a plan for the proper observance of this saddest day of 
all the year. The committee reported the following resolu- 
tion, which was unanimously adopted : 

" Resolved. That in view of the terrible and heart-rending 
calamity which has befallen us as a nation, in the assassina- 
tion of President Lincoln — a calamity so stupendous, so 
sudden, and so overwhelming, that no words can express its 
extent, or give utterance to the profound grief it occasions; 
we recommend to the citizens of Warsaw r the immediate 
closing of all business places, and the suspension of all ordi- 
nary occupations; that the bells of the town be tolled, and 
that the citizens assemble at the Methodist church, at two 
o'clock P. M., to mingle their expressions of grief at the 
irreparable loss which the nation has sustained in this 
hour of the final triumph of our arms on the battle-field." 



14S HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

By ten o'clock the stores and business places were closed. 
The muffled bells were tolled ; stores and dwellings were 
draped in mourning; the old Flag hung at halt-mast; and 
dwellings displayed flags fringed with black. At two o'clock, 
in pursuance of the recommendation of the morning meeting, 
the citizens assembled at the Methodist church, which was 
soon filled. It was heavily draped with black. Rev. J. E. 
Bills stated the object of the meeting; and on his motion, 
Hon. Augustus Frank was called to the Chair; and on motion 
of Alanson Holly, ¥m. II. Merrill was chosen secretary. 

Mr. Frank, on taking the chair, spoke of the personal char- 
acter of the deceased President — of his sublime faith, stead- 
fast purpose, pure integrity, and the universal gloom occasioned 
by his sudden death. Speaking with the warmth of a personal 
friend and acquaintance, and as one who had enjoyed unusual 
facilities for knowing the great work performed by the Presi- 
dent, as well as his spotless character as a man and a states- 
man, Mr. Frank's remarks were full of sad interest. After 
an impressive prayer by Rev. Mr. Williams, and the reading 
of scripture appropriate to the occasion, the large choir, under 
the direction of Mr. Snyder, sang a hymn. 

Rev. Mr. Nassau then briefly" addressed the meeting. He 

spoke of the solemnity of this "place of weeping," and of the 

occasion as one where words can not do the office of grief. 

He presented what he thought were the lessons taught hy the 

sad and shocking event — the frailty of human life — the im- 

pressiveness of this new lesson tha.t "God only is great," and 

that no arm of flesh could save us — and of this dispensation 

as a test given us as a people by God, not necessarily" as a 

judgment on us or on Abraham Lincoln. "Man is immortal 

till his work is done; " and President Lincoln's work was 

done. The veil would yet be lifted: 

'• God is Lis own interpreter. 
And he will make it plain.'' 

Rev. Mr. Williams spoke feelingly" of the personal charac- 
ter and traits of the lamented Chief Magistrate, and closed 



PUBLIC MEETINGS. 149 

by exhorting Lis hearers that this was not a time to despair, 
but to trust in the God above and over all, who has thus far 
guided and guarded us. Rev. Mr. Horwood, L. W. Thayer, 
and II. L. Comstock, also addressed the meeting. 

On motion of Mr. Thayer, the chairman appointed a com- 
mittee of thirteen to make arrangements for the funeral 
services. The committee consisted of L. W. Thayer, H. L. 
Comstock, J. II. Darling, J. A. McElwain, J. E. Bills, J. 
Watts, II. A. Dudley, C. W. Bailey, L. A. Hayward, 
A. Holly, B. Healy, M. II. Morris, J. Ransom. 

The Western New Yorker remarked, in reference to the 
occasion, that " the solemn and universal observance of the 
day was grateful to every loyal heart, and reflected honor 
upon the good taste and sense of propriety of our citizens. It 
was a day never to be forgotten by those who particijiated in 
its observance." 

The committee of thirteen reported that the public demon- 
stration should take place at the Methodist church at noon of 
the following Wednesday, that being the day and hour fixed 
for the obsequies at Washington; and that Be v. Joseph E. 
Nassau, pastor of the Presbyterian church, should deliver the 
funeral discourse. On that day the places of business were 
closed and hung with mourning. The church, also thus 
draped, was crowded with citizens of Warsaw and the sur- 
rounding towns. The discourse was able, appropriate, and 
eloquent. 



150 HISTOKY OF WARSAW, 



TEMPERANCE. 

The date of the first Temperance Society in this town, we 
are unable to ascertain. According to our best recollection, 
the Genesee County Temperance Society was formed in 1826 
or 1827; and the society in this town was probably formed as 
early. 

Where, or by whom, the temperance reform was originated, 
we do not remember, if we ever knew. The first temperance 
document we can call to mind, was an address by a Mr. 
Kittridge, of Xew Hampshire, which gave to the cause a 
powerful impulse; and the name of the pamphlet, "Ivit- 
tridge's Address," soon became, throughout the country, as 
familiar as any household word. This was soon followed by 
Beecher's "Six Sermons on Intemperance, 1 ' which also ren- 
dered the cause essential service. A portion of the newspaper 
press soon came to its support. Meetings were held in all 
parts of the country; the Pledge of abstinence was circulated 
in every town, and signed by large numbers of persons of 
both sexes; among them many intemperate persons. And, 
although a large portion of the latter relapsed, many were 
effectually reclaimed. 

But as yet spirituous liquors only Avere proscribed. Com- 
plete success, it was believed, required a pledge to abstain 
from all intoxicating drinks; and the societies soon adopted 
the total abstinence principle. In 1836, the Genesee County 
Temperance Society held a meeting in Warsaw, when, after 
a discussion of two days, this principle was adopted with but 
two dissenting votes; and these were given by men who, 
though " tee-totalers " in principle and practice, opposed the 
change simply from the apprehension that it would alienate 
many friends of the cause, and retard its progress. These 
fears, entertained here and elsewhere, were soon found to 
have been ill-founded. 



TEMPERANCE. 151 

The light elicited by discussion wrought a great change in 
the minds and practice of men. This is not surprising. The 
marvel is, that the opinions and habits so long prevalent 
should ever have received the sanction of wise and good men. 
The whisky jug was thought an indispensable help in the 
harvest field. A man meeting a friend at or near a tavern, 
invited him to the bar to "take a drink." A man was 
deemed wanting in hospitality if he did not "treat" his 
visitors. The traveler who stopped at the tavern to warm, 
thought it " mean " to leave without patronizing the bar to 
the amount of a sixpence or a shilling. The idea had not yet 
been conceived that both parties would have been more bene- 
fited had the money been paid for the fire, and the liquor left 
in the decanter. Liquor bought by large measure was kept 
in many families for daily use. Seated at the breakfast table, 
or just before sitting, the glass was passed around to " give an 
appetite." Bittered with some herb or drug, it was used as a 
sovereign remedy for most of the ailments " flesh is heir to," 
and often in advance as a preventive. It was taken because 
the weather was hot, and because it was cold. Liquors being 
kept in most country stores, some merchants were wont to 
" treat " their customers, especially when they made liberal 
bills, and sometimes beforehand, to sharpen their appetite for 
trading. Happily, most of these customs soon became obso- 
lete, especially among the better class of society, and, it is 
hoped, will never be revived. 

With the progress of the temperance cause, the manu- 
facture of domestic distilled spirits declined. There was in 
nearly every town a distillery, in some towns two or more. 
In a few years, most of them were stopped. 

Although active and efficient friends of the cause arose at 
once in every town, in no part of the county of Genesee was 
its early progress more rapid than in the southern towns; and 
in none of them was there a greater number of effective 
laborers than in the towns of Warsaw, Perry, and Arcade. 
Prominent among the pioneers in this enterprise in Perry, 



152 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

were Samuel F. Phenix, Henry Phenix, Willard J. Chapin, 
and Josiah Andrews. In Arcade were Huntington Lyman, 
It. W. Lyman, Charles O. Shepard, and others. In Warsaw, 
among those who united with the Society within the first year 
or two, were Dr. Daniel Rumsey, Dea. John Munger, Peter 
Young, Frank Miller, Dr. Augustus Frank, William Patter- 
son, Andrew W. Young, James and John Crocker, and others; 
and within the next few years, Joshua II. Darling, Isaac 
Preston, Dea. William Buxton, George W. Morris, F. C. D. 
McKay, Charles J. Judd, and Alanson Holly. Most of those 
of the latter class were not residents of the town until some 
years after the Society was formed. 

THE WASHINGTONIAX MOVEMENT. 

In 1810 commenced what has often been spoken of as the 
great "temperance revival." A number of abandoned 
men in the city of Baltimore, who were wont to spend their 
evenings at the taverns and other haunts of vice and drunk- 
enness, resolved to reform, and at once became " tee-totalers." 
]STot content with their own reformation, they started on a 
mission to reform others. They traversed a large portion of 
the country, lecturing generally to large gatherings. Drunk- 
ards in large numbers, and from great distances attended, and 
many of them signed the pledge. The most prominent of 
this band of reformers was John Hawkins, who, though unlet- 
tered, was one of the most effective temperance lecturers in 
the country. Although there was nothing in their principles 
and efforts to distinguish them from other temperance men — 
it being their object to induce persons of all classes to sign 
and keep the pledge — yet these men and their converts were 
generally designated " Washingtonians." As the result of 
their efforts, reformed drunkards became missionaries, and 
constituted for a time, the principal lecturing force of the 
country. Many drunkards were reclaimed, and many mod- 
erate drinkers became thorough temperance men. 

Perhaps we shall be justified in mentioning an evil, inci- 
dent to this movement, for which, however, the movement 



TEMPERANCE. 153 

itself is not responsible. The public, to a great extent, came 
to regard these men as the great champions of the cause and 
indispensable to its success, while the ablest and most efficient 
pioneers in it were esteemed as of little account. Often was 
the pulpit surrendered, on the Sabbath, to men whose vulgar, 
laughter-provoking stories were wholly unbecoming the place 
and the occasion. It was by no means strange that many 
who, under such influences, signed the pledge, soon relapsed 
into their old habits. Yet great good was accomplished. 
Probably at about the close of these " special efforts " and for 
a few years thereafter, less ardent spirits were drank in pro- 
portion to our population than there have been at any time 
since distilleries were established. 

LICENSE QUESTION. 

As incidental to the temperance reform, came the question 
of "license, or no license." Licenses to sell liquors at retail 
were then granted in each town by the Board of Excise, con- 
sisting of the Supervisor and the four Justices of the Peace. 
For fifteen or twenty years, men were elected to these offices 
in this town, a majority of whom were opposed to granting 
licenses. So also in many other towns. Although more or 
less liquors were sold in this town in violation of law,, the 
quantity drank was greatly diminished. For months at a time, 
a drunken man was not seen in the streets of this village. As 
one of the happy effects of the temperance effort, a number 
of respectable citizens who, as yet, became only occasionally 
intoxicated, were saved by taking the pledge; made a pro- 
fession of religion, and ever after led an exemplary life. 

But a reverse ensued. The friends of temperance, not sat- 
isfied with the progress they were making by means of "moral 
suasion," henceforth abated their efforts in this direction, and 
sought the desired consummation in a more summary man- 
ner, by the aid of the strong arm of the law. Their mistake 
consisted, not in seeking the aid of legislation, but in the 
relaxation of effort in the use of former tried and effective 



151 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

instrumentalities, the diligent appliance of which was neces- 
sary to prepare public sentiment to sustain and enforce a 
restrictive law if one should be enacted. 

A stringent prohibitory law was passed in the state of 
Maine. Authenticated official statements soon showed a 
reduction, in some districts, of more than three-fourths of the 
expenses of pauperism and crime. With some modifications, 
the law remains unrepealed. A similar law was, in 1855, 
passed in this state; and its practical working gave promise 
of equally favorable results. But the public were soon 
apprised that its constitutionality would be contested; and 
dealers were encouraged to resume the traffic, A case was 
carried to the Court of Appeals, and a majority pronounced 
the act unconstitutional. Many eminent jurists, however, 
concurred in the opinion of the minority. Since that decision, 
the question of legislative restriction has not been agitated in 
this state. 

In 1857, a new excise law was passed. It abolishes the 
town boards of excise, and vests the power to grant licenses 
for the whole county in a board of three Commissioners 
appointed by the County Judge. Its restraining effect, if it 
has any, is not apparent. Licenses are now granted in every 
town. Under the former law, they were in many towns 
refused. 

It is the general opinion that intemperance has for many 
years been increasing; and many believe that it was never 
more prevalent. The latter opinion is probably erroneous; 
the former is believed to be correct. And it is equally true 
that due efforts are not making to check the growing evil. 
The only active temperance organization in this town is the 
" O-at-ka Lodge, No. 168, Independent Order of Good Tem- 
plars, organized December 23d, 1866, with twenty-seven 
charter members. The number, of initiations to October 31st, 
1868, was, Males, 135; of Females, 133.— Total, 26S. Its 
officers are as follows: 



TEMPERANCE. 155 

Worthy Chief Templars — ¥m. D. Miner, Charles "W. 
Bailey, James M. Fulliugton, Eev. E. E. Williams, ¥m. II. 
McElwain, Asa P. Lord. 

'Worthy Vice Templars — Mrs. Catharine Shattuck, Mrs. 
Emma C. Homer, Mrs. Esther S. Tattle, Miss Mary McCagg, 
Miss Helen S. Gardner, Miss Alice E. Fisk, Miss Carrie M. 
Hollister, Miss Eva M. Fargo. 

Worthy Secretaries — Charles ~W. Bailey, James M. Falling- 
ton, M. R. Quackenbush. 

Lodge Deputies — Seth M. Gates, William D. Miner. 

This association is pursuing its object with commendable 
diligence, and is believed to be doing a good work. But it 
can not do all that needs to be clone. Another organization 
is necessary to reach some which the former can not. There 
are those who would prefer open associations, though both 
have one and the same object — to persuade and encourage 
the people to avoid the use of alcoholic poison as a beverage. 
Few of the pioneers of 1830 survive. There are among us, 
however, the sons of a number of them, who could, perhaps, 
in no better way honor the names of their worthy fathers, 
than by renewed effort to complete their unfinished work. 



156 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



ANTISLAVERY. 

In few parts of the country did the antislavery sentiment 
earlier or more strongly prevail than in this town, and a few 
others in the then southern part of Genesee county. How- 
ever widely men may still differ in their views in regard to 
the merits of the Antislavery Societies, it will he generally 
admitted, that the people of Warsaw have taken so prominent 
a part in the great antislavery effort, that our history w T ould 
he materially defective if it did not contain a record of events! 
which have associated so intimately the name of Warsaw with 
the cause of abolition. 

The American Antislavery Society was formed in 1S33. 
The Warsaw Antislavery Society was formed the same year 
or the next. The great object of the abolitionists was, by the 
discussion of the subject, and the exhibition of the evils of 
slavery, to produce a public sentiment at the North which 
should induce its abolition by the states in which it existed, 
they only having the power; and by Congress in the District 
of Columbia, where Congress only possessed the power to 
abolish it. Town and county societies were soon formed in 
many parts of this state and other northern states. This 
movement alarmed the southern people; the excitement soon 
became general. A vehement opposition was raised in the 
North, and public meetings were broken up. The first annual 
meeting of the State Society was held in Utica, in 1835. By 
a mob, instigated by leading citizens, and embracing some of 
them, the meeting was dispersed; and the delegates were 
compelled to flee to a neighboring county to transact their 
business. To that meeting the town of Warsaw sent five 
delegates, viz: Dr. Augustus Frank, F. C. D. McKay, Samuel 
Fisher, 2d, William Buxton, and Rev. Abraham Ennis. 

The first annual meeting of the Genesee County Anti- 
slavery Society, held at Batavia, March 16, 1836, was routed 
in a similar manner. The antislavery sentiment prevailed 



ANTISLAVERY. 157 

most in the southern towns, especially Warsaw, Perry, and 
Arcade, and in Le Roy, in the north part. With a view to 
the diffusion of the principles of the Society, Batavia was 
selected as the place of meeting. Aware that there was 
among the Batavians a strong prejudice against the aboli- 
tionists, it was deemed prudent to obtain from some of their 
leading citizens an expression of opinion in relation to the 
holding of the meeting in that place. In answer to the appli- 
cation, the following statement, dated March 5, 1S3G, was 
received, signed by seven gentlemen, six Lawyers, and one 
Merchant: 

"Although we doubt the policy, in general, of the advo- 
cates of immediate abolition, and many of the measures for 
effecting the objects which they profess to have in view; yet 
we are utterly opposed to any measures, the tendency of 
Avhich would interfere with the individual rights of any citi- 
zen, or which should abridge the expression of opinion in an 
orderly or quiet manner." Seven other gentlemen, among 
the most eminent citizens, verbally expressed their concur- 
rence in the above sentiment. Of these, two were Justices of 
the Peace, who said they should, as a matter of course, use 
their official authority, if it should become necessary, to pre- 
vent a disturbance. Under such encouragement, a mcetino- 
was appointed to be held at the Court House in Batavia, on 
the 16th of March. 

On the 12th, a notice was posted throughout the village, of 
which the following is a copy: 

" Citizens of Batavia, Attend ! The citizens of Batavia, 
without distinction of party, are desired to meet at the Court 
House this afternoon, at 2 o'clock, precisely, to take into 
consideration what measures it is necessary to adopt with 
reference to the proposed meeting of abolitionists, to be held 
in this village on Wednesday next. Let all opj)osed to fanat- 
icism, and who value the existence and perpetuity of the 
Union, attend. 

" March 12, 1S36. " Anti-F inaticism.' ' 



158 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

The principal resolutions adopted at the meeting, were the 
following: 

" That, whatever may be the object of the meeting of the 
said society, we are utterly opposed to its being held in this 
village; and that, in the opinion of this meeting, none but 
those who are reckless of the public weal, regardless of the 
common bond of union by which the states are cemented, and 
are anxious more for broil, anarchy and insurrection than for 
union and national quiet, would, at such a time as this, pro- 
pose so dangerous a topic for discussion as that which involves 
the constitutional rights of the slaveholding states. 

" That, as citizens of Batavia, independent of the abstract 
question of slavery, and the avowed objects of the Antislavery 
Society, most sincerely deprecating any disturbance of the 
peace and tranquillity of our village, we can not suppress the 
apprehensions we entertain of the consequences that may 
result from the holding of the contemplated meeting of the 
Antislavery Society in this village. 

" That a committee to consist of fifty persons be appointed 
to wait upon the Abolition Society, if it should meet in pur- 
suance of the notices given, and make known to it the pro- 
ceedings of this meeting, and request that no proceedings be 
had by this Society." 

The Antislavery Society met, pursuant to notice, at the 
Court House. Before the meeting was duly organized, its 
proceedings were interrupted by the entrance of the Commit- 
tee of Fifty, in behalf of the citizens of Batavia. The chair- 
man read the proceedings of the village meeting held on the 
12th, and followed the reading by a short speech, in which he 
stated that the citizens had no confidence in the good inten- 
tions of the abolitionists, and that, therefore, they (the citizens) 
could not be held responsible for any flagrant acts which 
might be committed. The committee then gave notice that 
they would retire to a place named, and await a reply from 
the meeting. The greater portion of the committee, however, 
remained, together with some fifty men and boys who had 
come in with them. 



ANT ISL AVER Y. 159 

The meeting appointed a Committee of Five to prepare a 
reply: Henry Brewster and Seth M. Gates, of Le Roy, Gen. 
John D. Landon, of Castile, Wm. Patterson, of Warsaw, and 
Huntington Lyman. This committee in their reply disclaimed 
a want of respect for the citizens of Batavia, the meeting 
having not been appointed without previous consultation with 
respectable citizens, and referred to the statement signed by 
the seven, which had been voluntarily drawn up by the chair- 
man of the Committee of Fifty himself, and to the verbal 
statements of others. The committee also asserted " the 
unqualified right peaceably to assemble and deliberate upon 
such matters as we may deem important to the interests of 
our common country; and we can not, consistently with our 
self-respect and the sacred rights of citizenship, acknowledge 
the right of any persons, or body of men, to molest us when 
assembled, or require us to cease our deliberations." They 
said, further, that it was evident from the resolutions of the 
Committee of Fifty, that the citizens passing them did not 
understand the real sentiments of the abolitionists. The so- 
ciety disclaimed any intention of interfering with the consti- 
tutional rights of ain r portion of the people of this Union, or 
of exciting the slaves to acts of violence, and stated that the 
publications of the American Antislavery Society had no such 
tendency. In reply to the insinuation that their motives were 
not what they professed, they referred the committee to their 
conduct as citizens where they reside, which was one of the 
safest tests of motives and intentions. On the whole, there- 
fore, they did not feel it their duty to yield to the request of 
the citizens of Batavia, and suggested that the citizens could 
avoid all possible injury, if they refrained from attending the 
meeting; and that, "inasmuch as the committee declared that 
they would deeply regret any acts of violence and discord, 
whether they will not, as good citizens, feel bound to exert 
themselves, in good faith, to prevent the acts of disorder which 
they profess to deprecate, and thus give a practical demon- 
stration that they are governed by good motives, whether w r e 



100 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

are or not. Should fifty as respestable citizens as those who 
have waited on us thus act, the result can be easily antici- 
pated." 

This report was communicated by a Special Committee to 
the chairman of the Committee of Fifty, and the meeting pro- 
ceeded to complete their organization preparatory to the 
transaction of business, but were interrupted by stamping and 
loud vociferation, and various other noisy demonstrations of 
the intruders, not only without the least attempt by any of the 
members of the committee who remained, to suppress the 
riot, but rather with the approval of some of them manifested 
by gestures and other signs. After several unsuccessful at- 
tempts, by expostulation and remonstrance, to abate the 
disturbance, the meeting was adjourned to Warsaw one week 
from that day. 

The history ol events like this, which were not of rare oc- 
currence in those days, will be read with surprise by our 
descendants. That men, not merely those of the " baser sort," 
but of moral worth and high standing, should countenance 
such flagrant infractions of the right of free speech, in a coun- 
try professedly regarding this very right as among the most 
valuable guaranties of its constitution, will appear incredible. 
The advocates of the most absurd and demoralizing senti- 
ments, not excepting promiscuous cohabitation or " free love," 
open infidelity, and withal slavery, whose natural concomi- 
tants were oppression, the violation of marital rights, and the 
severance of the domestic relations by the sale of parties at 
public auction, were everywhere allowed free speech, while 
those who felt it their duty to oppose a system attended with 
such a train of evils, and to defend that fundamental princi- 
ple of our government — the inalienable right of all men to 
"life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" — were in many 
places not permitted to give a public expression of their sen- 
timents. The freedom of the press — a right held so dear by 
the American people, that they demanded for it an express 
guaranty by an amendment of the constitution, — was strik- 



ANTISLAVERY. 



161 



ingly illustrated, in several instances, by the destruction 
of presses established for the express purpose of advocating 
the principles of freedom. In short, free speech was tolerated 
on every subject except that of liberty itself! 

In New York, Philadelphia, Boston, Albany, and other 
places, meetings were held in whose proceedings their most 
distinguished citizens participated, at which the severest cen- 
sure upon abolitionists were passed. At the Albany meeting 
Governor Marcy presided ; in the meeting in Boston, Edward 
Everett took a prominent part. 

These facts are here alluded to, not to revive latent animos- 
ities, for none are supposed to exist; nor to reproach any for 
acts which they have themselves since most deeply regretted; 
but because they are facts which our descendants have a right 
to know, and which a faithful historian would not suppress. 
They have a moral, too. Errors often have the sanction of 
great names. Their opinions, though often valuable, and 
always entitled to respectful and candid consideration, are 
not to be taken on trust. It behooves every man to investi- 
gate, and to think for himself, availing himself of such helps 
as are likely to conduct him to correct conclusions. 

Pursuant to adjournment, the Genesee County Antislavery 
Society met at Warsaw, March 23, 1836. A series of resolu- 
tions and an address were adopted, together with a "Declar- 
ation of Sentiment," expressing, in brief form, the principles 
of the abolitionists, for the information of any who might 
never have seen a statement of them. Measures were also 
taken for establishing a free press; and one thousand dollars 
was pledged for its support the first year. Such paper was 
accordingly established. [See Newspapers.] 

There was as yet no political antislavery party. The aboli- 
tionists continued to vote for the candidates of their respective 
parties. They petitioned Congress to abolish slavery in the 
the District of Columbia, and their petitions were disrespect- 
fully treated. Many of them then began to vote for candi- 
dates for Congress who were in favor of that measure, 

11 



1<)2 HISTORY OF WARS AAV. 

irrespective of party. As late as 1837, the American Anti- 
Slavery Society declared it inexpedient to form an antislavery 
party. The subject of a political organization, however, 
began soon after to be agitated. Although local organizations 
of the kind may have been earlier formed, a national anti- 
slavery party did not exist before 1839. A meeting of the 
Western New York Antislavery Society was held at Warsaw, 
in the Presbyterian church, Nov. 13, 1839. The extreme 
badness of the roads prevented a general attendance. There 
were present about fifty persons, as members, nearly all of 
them from the southern towns of the county, then Genesee. A 
proposition was made to nominate candidates for President 
and Vice-President. It was opposed by a large portion of 
the members; but its advocates, among whom were Myron 
Holley and William L. Chaplin, able and eloquent men, who 
had come for this special purpose, succeeded, after a two days' 
discussion, in carrying the measure by a small majority. 
James G. Birney, formerly a slaveholder in Alabama, who 
had emancipated his slaves and removed to the North, was 
nominated for President, and Francis J. Lemoyne, of Penn- 
sylvania, for Vice-President. 

The result of this measure was to divide the abolitionists. A 
large majority in this state and other states, refused to join 
the new party, and continued their connection with the old 
parties; voting generally, however, for candidates for Con- 
gress who were in favor of a respectful reception of anti- 
slavery petitions, and for abolishing slavery in the District of 
Columbia, and opposed to its extension into free territory, by 
which party soever they had been nominated. 

The antislavery societies were now composed almost entirely 
of persons who belonged to the new political organization, 
and were therefore weak in respect to numbers. Nor did the 
new party ever acquire great numerical strength. In 1844, 
when Mr. Birney was again a candidate, but a little more « 
than 15,000 votes were given in this state for the antislavery 
electoral ticket. That party, however, was composed chiefly 



AN TISL AVERY. 163 

of respectable and worthy citizens, and may, by its intrinsic 
moral power, have had a greater effect upon the politics of 
the country than has generally been supposed. 

In 1S-1S, the Antislavery party was merged in the Free Soil 
party. Texas had been admitted to the Union as a slave 
state; and a large territory had been acquired from Mexico, 
which also was intended to be converted into slave states, 
with the view, as was supposed, to the ultimate predominance 
of slavery in the national government. On the 9th of August, 
1848, a National Mass Convention of the friends of free terri- 
tory was held at Buffalo. Resolutions against the extension 
of slavery were adopted ; and candidates for President and 
Yice-President were nominated. The abolitionists had al- 
ready nominated John P. Hale, of ISTew Hampshire, for 
President; but he and his friends expressed a willingness to 
submit to the action of the Convention, which made choice of 
Martin Yan Buren for President, and Charles Francis Adams 
for Yice-President. At a state convention in September fol- 
lowing, the new party, called the "Democratic Free Soil 
Party," nominated for Governor, John A. Dix, of Albany, 
and for Lieutenant-Governor, Seth M. Gates, of Warsaw. 
Before the next Presidential election, (1852,) nearly all the 
"Whigs and Democrats who had joined this party returned to 
their former parties; and thereafter only a few thousand votes 
were cast for antislavery candidates, until after the formation 
of the Republican party in 1855. 



101 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The ecclesiastical or religious history of the town demands 
a place in this work. The salutary influence of the Christian 
religion upon the character and welfare of a community, is 
universally admitted. Its happy effects wherever it is duly 
exemplified, may be seen in all the relations of life. To 
transmit a record of the virtues of the fathers, is due to their 
descendants, many of whom will cherish their memories with 
the highest satisfaction, and regard their good names as the 
richest portion of their inheritance. 

The early settlers were generally respectable men and good 
citizens; but there were among them, for several years, few 
professors of religion. Funerals were attended without any 
religious service. The first two were those of children, at one 
of which, and it is believed at both, no such service was per- 
formed. The third death of which we have knowledge, was 
that of Dwight Noble, the first adult person who died in 
town, in January, 1807. His death was deeply deplored, and 
it is presumed that his funeral was attended by most of the 
men in town; yet there was not so much as the offering of a 
prayer on the occasion, though there may have been among 
the then latest settlers one or more, Mho, had they been 
present, would have performed that service. In the year 
180T, Dea. Eliphalet Parker, of Granville, X. Y., settled on 
East Hill; and about the same time Pea. Abraham Peed, 
and Dea. Ezra "Walker, both also of Granville, settled on the 
"West Hill. Whether they brought with them their religious 
titles, we cannot say; but they were the first, or among the 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 



165 



first, who conducted religious services in those early days; 
and, as will be seen, all of them became members of the first 
organized church in the town, the Presbyterian. 

This Church, when organized, was in form Congregational. 
But to avoid indistinctness and confusion, we shall designate 
it throughout by its present title, by which it has been distin- 
guished almost from the time of its organization, and long 
before the change of its form of government. It was organ- 
ized July 11, 1808. Rev. John Lindsey, a missionary in 
these parts, officiated on the occasion, and preached a sermon. 
The church consisted of ten members, and was styled the- 
" First Congregational Church oi Warsaw." The names of 
the members were, Edward Goodspeed, Eliphalet Parker, 
Luther Parker, Ezra Walker, Abraham Reed, Israel Branch, 
Polly Day, Prudence A. Walker, Martha Parker, and Rhoda 
Parker. 

Eliphalet Parker and Israel Branch were chosen Deacons. 
Abraham Reed was chosen Moderator, and Ezra Walker 
Church Clerk. A Confession of Faith and Covenant were 
adopted. The singing was usually led by Dea. Walker or 
Dea. Parker. 

The church was for several years partially supplied by 
missionaries and occasional ministers, as Messrs. Lindsley, 
Phelps, Parmelee, Spencer, and Oliver Ayer. In connection 
with the labors of Mr. Ayer, in 1808 or 1809, occurred, as 
we are informed, the first religious awakening in town. 
Passing through Western !New York as a missionary under 
the direction of the Connecticut Missionary Society, Mr. Ayer 
preached here one Sabbath. His custom was to spend only 
one Sabbath and pass on. But observing here, as he thought, 
unusual attention and seriousness, he tarried and spent a 
second Sabbath, and wrote home for leave to labor longer, 
if the preached word should produce, as it already seemed to 
do, a marked effect. Leave was granted; and he remained 
three or four months. The awakening became general, and 
many heads of families were hopefully converted. Among 



106 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

the number were, Dea. John Munger and wife, John 
McWhorter, Sen., and wife, Elkanah Day and wife, and his 
son, Artemas Day, Hezekiah Wakefield and wife, Zera 
Tanner and wife, Doctor Chauncey L. Sheldon, Giles Parker 
and wife, and many others whose names are less familiar to 
our citizens generally. Elkanah Day was son-in-law to Mr. 
McWhorter; so that here was brought into the church at one 
time, Artemas Day, the son, Elkanah Day and wife, the 
jmrents, and Esq. John McWhorter and wife, the grand- 
parents. 

In 1813, Rev. Silas Hubbard was chosen and installed the 
first pastor, at or about which time the church, it has been 
said, adopted the Presbyterian form of government. This is 
probably simply an inference from a minute on the records, 
under date of Sept. 9, 1813, of the appointment of Dea. Ezra 
Walker " to attend the Presbytery, and to form a relation 
with that body." Although the church was from that time 
regularly represented in Presbytery, the records show the 
absence still of a church session, and a continuance of the 
Congregational mode of disciplining offending members. 
The change was made on the recommendation of Rev. Julius 
Steele, whose ministry of nearly two and a half years, closed 
early in the spring of 1831. This fact is distinctly remem- 
bered, and the more so from the additional fact that the vote 
was unanimous. But as the records for about six years, 
including the period of Mr. Steele's ministry, are lost, no 
record of the vote is to be found. 

In 1811, Rev. Mr. Hubbard, on account of failing health, 
resigned the pastorate. In 181G, he was succeeded by Rev. 
Hippocrates Rowe, who supplied the churches of Warsaw 
and Orangeville on alternate Sabbaths. His pastorate con- 
tinued about two years, when it was terminated by his death. 
Hitherto religious services had been held in the school -house, 
which was one of ordinary size, and stood where the Baptist 
church now stands. 




.'■■■. 



OLD PRESBYTEBIAN CHURCH. (Built in 18 



7) 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 107 

Although the need of a more suitable and commodious 
house of worship had been felt, no active effort toward the 
specific object had as yet been made. The incorporation 01 
an Academy had been authorized by the legislature, and sub- 
scriptions toward the erection of the building had been taken; 
lumber had been purchased; and the architect, James "Web- 
ster, had been engaged; when, because the people of Middle- 
bury also had procured a charter for an Academy, and both, 
it was presumed, could not prosper, or lor other reasons not 
generally known, it was. determined to change the contem- 
plated Academy into a house of worship. The subscribers 
being principally Presbyterians and Baptists, they soon pro- 
cured the whole interest in the concern; and in the spring 
and summer of 1817, the building was erected and inclosed. 
This is said by some to be the first church edifice built in this 
state west of Genesee river. For several years it was used 
more or less in the summer season; and in 1821, the Presby- 
terians, having bought out the Baptists, finished it. 

May 30, ISIS, at a meeting of the church, the subject o± 
Sabbath schools was considered. It was resolved, "That it is 
the duty of the church to begin a Sabbath school for the 
religious instruction of children as soon as practicable, and 
that the Rev. Ebenezer Everett, John Munger, and Daniel 
Rumsey, be appointed a committee to draft a constitution and 
present it to the church at their next meeting." 

Pursuant to adjournment, the church met June 0, 1818, and 
resolved, "That we will comply with the request of the Gen- 
ral Assembly of the Presbyterian Church, to have stated 
meetings to instruct the baptized children, and that Tuesday 
next be appointed for that purpose.' 1 The constitution of the 
Sabbath school was presented, read, and accepted. After 
which it was resolved, " That Sabbath schools begin in three 
school districts next Sabbath." This movement was one ol 
the earliest made toward the establishment of Sabbath schools 
in this part of the state. 



108 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

After the death of Mr. Howe, the church had little more 
than occasional preaching by Rev. Messrs. Parmelee (proba- 
bly the father of Rev. Abial Parmelee,) Elihu Mason, and 
others, and a few months' supply by Rev. Ebenezer Everett, 
until the summer of 1818. In July or August of that year, 
Rev. ISTorris Bull, then in the employ of the ISTew York Young 
Men's Missionary Society, became the stated supply of the 
church for neai'ly a year. He then returned to the East, un- 
decided as to his accepting the invitation of the church to 
become their pastor. At some time between the fall of 1819 
and the spring of 1820, Mr. Bull resumed his labors in this 
place; and in the spring of 1821, he accepted a call from the 
church at Geneseo. After this the people enjoyed for a time 
only occasional preaching by neighboring ministers, as Rev. 
Calvin Colton, of Le Roy, Rev. E. Chapin, of Batavia, Rev. 
Samuel T. Mills, of Moscow, and Rev. Amos Brown, of Perry 
Center, and perhaps others. 

In the summer of 1822, Rev. Abial Parmelee became 
stated supply, and continued his ministry about four years. 
By whom the church was supplied for the next two years is 
not recollected; and as this is a part of the period of which 
the records are lost, the fact can not be ascertained. From 
December, 1828, to April, 1831, the church enjoyed the min- 
istry of Rev. Julius Steele. In the autumn of 1831, James 
and John Crocker, Roderick Chapin, and Samuel AVhitlock, 
were chosen ruling elders. Soon after the departure of Mr. 
Steele, Rev. Isaac Oakes supplied the church about a year. 
"Father Oakes," though in consequence of infirmities and 
age he retired from the ministry many years ago, still lives in 
Xunda, and is supposed to be the only living minister in the 
line from the organization of the church to the close of his 
ministry here, with the exception, perhaps, of Rev. Ebenezer 
Everett, who was not long since living in Ontario county. 

Rev. Ezra Scovel was installed pastor in February, 1833; 
Rev. Samuel II. Gridley, of Perry Center, acting as Moder- 
ator. The elders then acting, and whose names were 






y^i\^ 



^^ 




PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 169 

appended to the call, were John Frayer, Gideon Johnson, 
Peter Young, John Munger, Samuel Whitlock, William Bux- 
ton, James Crocker, and John Crocker, of whom only Mr. 
Young, Mr. Johnson, and Mr. Whitlock, are living. Of the 
Trustees, the only one now living or acting with the church, is 
Frank Miller. Mr. Scovel's pastorate closed in the spring of 
1835. During the year following, the church was supplied 
by Rev. Ward Childs; and during a part of the next year by 
Rev. Stephen Porter, from Geneva, who had established a 
select school in the village. 

December 28, 1831, the session took action upon the subject 
of Slavery, and adopted the following preamble and resolu- 
tions : 

" The session of the Presbyterian Church of Warsaw, view- 
ing with unfeigned regret, as repugnant to the principles of 
the Gospel and humanity, the practice which prevails in many 
parts of the Presbyterian Church of the United States, of 
trafficking in human flesh, and holding in bondage their fel- 
low-men, do adopt the following resolutions : 

" Resolved, That we commend in our southern brethren all 
the laudable efforts which they are making to enlighten the 
colored race and meliorate their condition. 

" Resolved, That we hail with delight the doings of the 
Synod of Kentucky in the measures which they have taken 
to recommend the entire abolition of slavery within the period 
of the present generation. 

" Resolved, That we respectfully request the Presbytery of 
Genesee, of which we are members, to act on a resolution 
approving the doings of the Synod of Kentucky on the sub- 
ject of slavery as it exists in the Presbyterian Church. 

" Resolved, That we respectfully suggest to the Presbytery 
the propriety of adopting a resolution to lay this subject be- 
fore the Synod of Genesee at their next annual session." 

During the year 1837, and a part of the year 1838, the 
church was supplied for short periods by Rev. Messrs. O. S. 
Powell, H. A. Sackett, Win. Bridgman, and perhaps others. 



170 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

In October, 1833, a call was given to Rev. Daniel Water- 
bury, of Franklin, Delaware county, and by him accepted. 
After Laving preached two or three Sabbaths, and a Thanks- 
giving sermon, he was taken ill, and died in about three 
weeks. In the ensuing winter his remains were disinterred, 
at the request of his relatives, and delivered to a messenger 
sent by them, and conveyed to Franklin. The society had 
paid the expenses of Mr. Waterbury's removal to this place, 
($150;) and at a meeting after his death, a quarter's salary 
was unanimously voted to his family. 

In June, 1830, lie v. Ralph S. Crampton was installed pastor. 
In the winter following, the church was divided, nearly one- 
half of its number leaving, and forming the present Con- 
gregational church. Rev. Richard Kay, who was then 
preaching at Holly, became stated supply of the Presbyterian 
church in Warsaw, and Mr. Crampton took his place at 
Ilolle}^. In the autumn of 1810, Edwin B. Miller, and in 
1845, Luther Foster and Samuel Fisher 1st, were added to 
the session, several of its members having united with the 
Congregational church. Mr. Kay, after a service of five 
years, closed his labors in the spring of 1S15, and was suc- 
ceeded the same year by Rev. A. C. McClelland, who supplied 
the church for a portion of a year, who is at present Pastor of 
the Fourth Presbyterian church, Pittsburg, Penn., and was 
followed by Rev. Hugh Mair, D. D., who preached one year. 
He has since died. 

In the summer of 1817, Rev. Abraham T. Young ac- 
cepted an invitation, and supplied the church three years, 
in which time a parochial school was established, which was 
continued for twelve or fourteen years. After Mr. Young's 
departure, Rev. John K. Cornyn supplied the church one 
year. He has since died. In 1852, Rev. Edward Wall 
preached a few weeks, and was followed by Rev. Stuart 
Mitchell, who was ordained and installed Oct, 22, 1852. He 
closed his pastorate in the spring of 1855, after a service of 
nearly three years. In September of the same year, a unani- 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 171 

mous call was given to Rev. Joseph E. Nassau, the present 
pastor, who was ordained and installed, October 241b, 
1855. In 1856, Harlow L. Comstock was added to the session. 
In 1863, Timothy H. Buxton and Samuel Fisher 2d, were 
added ; and Edward A. Miller the following April. 

SEMI-CENTENARY OF THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

A festive gathering of the Sabbath School, Parochial 
School, and congregation of the Presbyterian church, took 
place in the yards of Frank and Edwin B. Miller, on Friday, 
July 23, 1858, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the 
organization of the church. Invitations having been extended 
to other churches in the village, a large number of persons 
attended. 

Rev. Joseph E. Nassau, pastor of the church was chosen 
President, who, on taking the chair, said: "We are assem- 
bled, old and young, on an interesting occasion. We come 
to render our acknowledgments to God for his goodness to 
the 'Old Church' of Warsaw during the last half century. 
We have not met to indulge in self-glorification; but we 
assemble to engage in profitable, rational festivities, and to 
lay our united votive offerings upon the altar of the God of 
our, fathers." 

The organization of the meeting was then completed by 
choosing; the following officers: 

Vice-Presidents — John Munger, William Webster, Cyrus 
Tanner, Peter Patterson, Peter Young, David Young, 
Timothy Stedman, Elijah Chamberlain, Amos Keeney, 
Julius Whitlock, and James Webster, ( architect of the old. 
church edifice.) 

Secretaries — E. B. Miller, II. A. Dudley, and Augustus 
Frank. 

The Hymn, " Glorious things of thee are spoken," was sung 
by the assemblage; passages from the 46th and 48th Psalms 
were read by the pastor; prayer was offered by Rev. Lemuel 
Leonard, Principal of Geneseo Academy; and a Sabbath 



172 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

school hymn, "Happy Day," was sung by the children of the 
two schools gathered on the platform. 

An historical sketch of the church was then read by the 
president, embracing an account of its organization and many 
incidents in its history and progress; and the hymn, "I love 
thy kingdom, Lord," was sung in full chorus. The meeting 
was then addressed, successively by Amos Keeney, of the 
Baptist church, Dea. John Munger, Rev. L. Leonard, Rev. 
Mr. Applegate, of the Episcopal church, Rev. Mr. Cormac, 
of the Baptist church, Rev. Mr. Willing, of the Methodist 
church, and Frank Miller. The speeches w T ere interspersed 
with singing, and with instrumental music. 

A recess of one hour was then taken, and the assembly 

repaired to another part of the grounds for refreshments. 

After which, the company again assembled around the stand, 

and listened to speeches from Rev. "W. D. Mclvinley, of Tus- 

carora, Hon. H. L. Comstock, Dea. Peter Young, of the 

Congregational church, and E. B. Miller. The exercises were 

then formally closed by singing in full chorus, and apparently 

with full hearts, the well known hymn, 

" Bles-t be the tie that binds 
Our hearts in Christian love;" 

and the benediction was pronounced by Rev. ~W. D. 
Mclvinley. 

After the formal closing of the exercises, a large portion of 
the assemblage continued together for an hour or two, and 
were addressed, by gentlemen present, and interesting state- 
ments were made by several speakers, especially by some of 
the aged, who were among the first settlers of the town. The 
grounds were handsomely fitted up; the long tables we're 
richly supplied; and the proceedings and exercises were pro- 
nounced by those in attendance both pleasant and profitable. 

THE NEW CHURCH EDIFICE. 

The building of a new house of worship had been in con- 
templation several years before it was commenced; and Dea. 






V 






'' .: . ritr ■-; i r«Mi > - 



-«*>■ * ■ « » , * 




2 







Sketch, p. 5IU. 



SX- 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 173 

John Munger had assured to the Society four thousand dollars 
toward the object. The work was commenced in the spring 
of 1861. Contracts had been made with Ambrose J. Arm- 
strong, of this town, as master-mason, and with James E. 
Ketch mn, of Phelps, as foreman of the wood work. The 
corner stone was laid with appropriate ceremonies, July 14, 
1861, in the presence of a large assemblage. 

The officers of the meeting were the following: 

President — Hon. Peter Patterson. 

Vice-Presidents— "William. "Webster, Welcom Arnold, 
Frank Miller, Julius Wiiitlock, Luther Foster, Wales 
Cheney, David Young. 

Secretaries — Edwin B. Miller, IIarwood A. Dudley. 

After singing, Rev. Mr. Cunningham, of Gainesville, read 
the 122d Psalm; and Rev. C. W. Nassau, D. D., of Law- 
renceville, N. J., father of the pastor of the church, offered 
prayer. The pastor, Rev. Joseph E. Nassau, then addressed 
the assemblage; and, after giving a brief historical sketch of 
the church, deposited in the cavity cut in the corner stone a 
galvanized iron box, 12x8x3 inches, containing the following 
articles: 

1. A copy of the Holy Bible. 

2. The Confession of Faith, the Catechisms, and the Form 
of Government and Discipline of the Presbyterian Church, all 
bound in one volume. 

3. Copies of the latest numbers of the Presbyterian, New- 
York Observer, Home and Foreign Record, Foreign Mission- 
ary, Sabbath School Visitor, Minutes of the General Assembly 
of 1863, and the local papers, viz., The "Western New Yorker 
and the Wyoming Democrat. 

1. Two Photographs of the old church edifice, kindly fur- 
nished by each of the Picture Galleries of the village. 

5. A Photograph of the present session of the church, taken 
and furnished by Coddington & Davidson. 

6. Other Photographs of individuals. 



174 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

7. List of the present members and officers of the Presby- 
terian Church of Warsaw at the present date, July 14, 1864. 

8. List of the Members and Officers of the Presbyterian 
Sabbath School at this date. 

9. Xames of the Building Committee, Committee on 
Funds, Architect, Chief Mason, and Foreman of Joiner 
Work. 

10. Samples of the Coin and Currency of the United 
States. 

11. An unsigned copy of the Warsaw War Bonds, just 
issued from the press. 

12. Karnes of Subscribers, thus far, to the jSTcw Church 
Edifice. 

In the course of his address, the speaker remarked: "This 
service must not be understood as as a trifling superstition — 
not as a senseless ceremony or a vain show, but as an act of 
solemn consecration and devout homage offered to the Lord 
God of the Bible, the God and Father of our Lord Jesus 
Christ." 

At this period lie deposited the box in the place prepared 
to receive it, and the stone was laid in its place. 

He then proceeded to conclude his address; which was fol- 
lowed by remarks from Be v. Joseph R. Page, of Perry; Rev. 
Stuart Mitchell, a former pastor of the church; Rev. Charles 
Ray, of Wyoming; Rev. John Jones, Principal of Geneseo 
Academy; Prof. PL D. Gregory, of Philadelphia; Mr. Edwin 
B. Miller, of Brooklyn, formerly of Warsaw; and Rev. Dr. 
JSTassau, of 1ST. J. 

DEDICATION OF THE NEW CIIURCII. 

The church was dedicated the 21st of September, 1865. 
Rev. Charles Ray, of Wyoming, Rev. Joseph R. Page, of 
Perry, Rev. George P. Folsom, of Geneseo, Rev. Mr. Steele, 
of Castile, and Rev. E. W. Kellogg, took part in the exercises. 
The sermon was preached by Rev. P. D. Gurley, D. D., of 
Washington City, from Gal. vi, 14: "God forbid that I should 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 175 

glory save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ." The 
sermon was listened to with close attention by the crowd of 
people present, and was regarded as beautiful in construction, 
elegant in diction, and highly practical. Another hymn was 
sung, which was followed by the dedicatory services and 
prayer by Rev. Joseph E. Nassau, pastor of the church. At 
the close of the services, the audience separated to meet at 
two and a half P. M., in a church reunion. 

At two and a half o'clock, the congregation reassembled; 
and Hon. Augustus Frank was chosen Chairman. After 
prayer and singing, Rev. Mr. Kassau gave an Address con- 
taining a history of the church since its formation. Other 
addresses, interspersed with singing, were made by Rev. Mr. 
Page, Rev. Mr. Ray, Hon. John Fisher, of Batavia, Rev. Mr. 
Lord, of Perry Center, Judge Skinner, of Buffalo, formerly 
of Wyoming, Rev. Mr. Jones, of Geneseo Academy, Elder 
E. B. Miller, of Brooklyn, L. A. Hay ward, Es<p, Rev. Dr. 
Gurley, Elder Samuel Fisher, 2d, and others. 

Dea. Luther Foster offered a resolution of thanks to Au- 
gustus Frank, Samuel Fisher, 2d, and Timothy H. Buxton, 
for the faithful manner in which they had discharged their 
duties as a building committee, which was carried unani- 
mously. Mr. Frank, in behalf of the committee, responded, 
and added some interesting statements as to the cost of the 
building, and announced that it was not only completed, but 
clear from debt. The whole cost of the structure and its 
furniture, was about $18,000. After singing by the choir, and 
the benediction by Rev. Mr. Jones, the audience dispersed. 

In the evening, an impromptu prayer-meeting was held in 
the church, a large number of persons attending; thus appro- 
priately closing the services of the day amidst the hallowed 
associations of the mercy-seat. 

A few months after the dedication, an organ was placed in 
the church at an expense of two thousand dollars, making 
the entire cost of the sanctuary and furniture, twenty thou- 
sand dollars. 



176 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

The style of architecture of the new church edifice is chaste 
and beautiful. The building is eighty-five feet long by forty- 
five wide. The tower and spire over the main entrance make 
a shaft of one hundred and fifty feet. The spire is covered 
with slate, and its proportions arc perfect. The choir gallery 
is slightly raised above the floor level, and the pulpit at the 
other end is in a recess lighted from the sky. The windows 
are of stained glass. The audience room, which is seventy- 
two by forty-two feet, and twenty-six feet high, is neatly 
frescoed. The pulpit and pews are of black walnut, and the 
wainscoting of chestnut. 

FIRST RELIGIOUS SOCIETY. 

The first religious meetings were 1 ' 1 ' > private houses. 
Afterwards the school-house was r< iiy nsed for public 
worship on the Sabbath. A church was organized in July, 
1S0S; but there was no legally incorporated society until 1S12. 
The records of the society from its organization having been 
preserved, and this being the oldest religious society in town, 
we copy largely from its recorded proceedings. 

The record commences with the Certificate of Incorpora- 
tion of 

warsaw union society. 

" Genesee County, ss. 

" In pursuance of an Act of the Legislature of the State of 
New York, entitled, 'An Act to provide for the Incorporation 
of Religious Societies,' passed the 27th of March, 1801 — 

" We, the subscribers, certify that at least fifteen days be- 
fore the fourteenth day of January last, at a meeting of a 
religious congregation at the school -house near Elizur "Web- 
ster's, in the town of Warsaw, Genesee county, being the 
house in which public worship is statedly held by said con- 
gregation, public notice was given by the officiating minister, 
that on the said fourteenth day of January, a meeting would 
be held at said school-house for the purpose of forming a re- 
ligious society and choosing trustees for the same, according 



■*&&>- 




PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH 



PKESBYTEEIAN CIIUECII. 177 

to the above named act, which notice was afterwards publicly 
given by a member of said congregation two Sundays imme- 
diately preceding said fourteenth day of January, at the place 
aforesaid. 

" We further certify, that at a meeting of the male persons 
of said congregation, of the full age of twenty-one years, con- 
vened in pursuance of said notice, at the time and place 
aforesaid, Ezra Walker and Chauncey L. Sheldon, members' 
of said society, were nominated and chosen by a majority oi 
the members present, to preside at said election, (there being 
no Elders or Church Wardens attending said meeting;) like- 
wise, that by a plurality of voices, it was determined that the 
society should be known and distinguished by the name, style 
and title of ' The Trustees and Associates of the Union So- 
ciety.' 

" Given under our hands and seals this 17th day of Jan- 
uary, A. D., 1S12. 

" In the presence of "i (signed) Chauxcey L. Sheldox, L. ?. 

Ebexezeu Mix. J (signed) Ezra Walker, L. S." 

The following is from the recorded proceedings of the meet- 
in 2; referred to in the foreo-ohio - certificate: 

"At a meeting of the inhabitants of the town of Warsaw, 
No. 9, 1st Range, for the purpose of forming a religious so- 
ciety, previous notice being given according to law: 

" 1st, Chose Ezra Walker, Moderator of said meeting. 

"2d, Chose Chauncey L. Sheldon, Society Clerk. 

" 3d, Yoted that Union shall be the name of the Society. 

"4th, Chose Isaac Phelps, Abraham Reed, John Munger, 
William Bristol, Zera Tanner, and Slmbael Goodspeed, trus- 
tees of said society. 

"Voted that this society be adjourned sine die. 

"Waesaw, January 11th, 1S12. 

" Chauncey L. Sheldon, 

" Society Clerk.'' 
12 



ITS HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

The following is a copy of the official record of the forma- 
tion of the society: 

" Whereas, In pursuance of an act of the Legislature of the 
State of New York, entitled, ' An Act for the Incorporation 
of Religious Societies,' passed March 27, 1801, a number of 
persons have associated themselves together and formed a 
society under the name, style, and title of 'The Chairman, 
Trustees and Associates of the Union Society,' the objects of 
which are: 

" 1. To promote and extend the knowledge of the Chris- 
tian religion as taught by our blessed Lord and Savior, Jesus 
Christ, and the principles of religion as found in the Holy 
Scriptures. 

" 2. To promote and encourage Divine worship and the re- 
ligious observance of the Sabbath, and to discountenance all 
acts of immorality. 

" 3. To promote harmony, good understanding, and social 
intercourse with all men, more especially with the members 
of this and other religious societies. 

" 1. To promote charity and relief to the poor and dis- 
tressed in a Christianlike manner, and to see that charity is 
not bestowed on unworthy and undeserving objects. 

" It is to be observed, that the government and regulations 
of the society will, agreeably to the statute, be vested in trus- 
tees to be chosen by the members of the society, who will have 
the superintendence of making such rules and regulations as 
shall be meet and proper for the government of the same, 
and for superintending and managing all real and personal 
estate which shall belong to the association, and such other 
business as the society from time to time shall direct to be 
done. 

"Warsaw, January 11, 1S12." 

Abraham Reed, Ezra Walker, Isaac Phelps, Eliphalet 
Parker, Eliphalet Parker, Jun., Chaunc'ey L. Sheldon, Enoch 
Merriman, John Munger, Giles Parker, Joseph Palmer, Hez- 



PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 179 

ekiali Wakefield, William Stone, Samuel McWhorter, Zera 
Tanner, Chester Richards, Newton Hawes, William Webster, 
William Bristol, ( £To. 8,) Warham Walker, Micah Marchant, 
Slmbael Goodspeed, Ebenezer Hitchcock, Leverett Hitchcock, 
Jonathan Wright, Jan., Philip Salisbury, Luther Parker, 
Ebenezer Smith, Jun., Caleb Woodworth, John Eddy, Arte- 
mas Day, Nehemiah Paine, John Frayer, Henry Woodward, 
Silas Walker, Roderick Chapin, Edward Putnam, Almon 
Stevens, Elisha Parmelee, Daniel Rumsey, Mayhew Safford, 
Warren Loom is, Augustus Frank, Isaac Preston. 

The foregoing names appear on the record as having been 
promiscuously signed to the foregoing proceedings at the date 
of the meeting. The last eleven named persons are known 
to have come into the town since the society was formed, and 
consequently they must have signed afterwards. The other 
thirty-two are presumed to have signed their names on or 
near the day of the meeting. The association, though called 
"Union Society," is generally known to signify the Presbyte- 
rian church and cono-reo;ation. 

The next meeting of the Society was held on Tuesday, Feb. 
9, 1813, at the house of John McWhorter, wdiich stood near 
the present residence of Samuel Fisher, 2d. 

In the proceedings we find the following : " Voted that the 
Trustees procure a sufficient piece of land for the purpose of 
setting a house for public worship, and the expenses to be 
paid by subscription." This w r as the first record of an attempt 
to build a church edifice. 

Feb. 8th, 1811. Warsaw Union Society met at the Center 
School House. At that meeting it was "Yoted, that the 
Trustees of this Society be vested with power to fix a site for 
a meeting-house, and that it shall be their further duty to call 
a special society meeting for making a purchase of the said 
site of land." 

At the annual meetings in 1815 and 1816, the Trustees 
were vested with the same authority. The records show no 
farther action on the subject. A house was built, however, at 
the time and in the manner already stated. [Page 167.] 



180 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

The paper containing the subscriptions for building the 
church, which can not now be found, was signed by a consid- 
erable number of the people of the town. Many being unable 
to pay in money, subscriptions were made payable in grain, 
lumber, labor, &c. Yet it was with great effort that enough 
was obtained to raise and inclose the building. 

At the annual meeting in February, 1819, it was resolved, 
as the sense of the meeting, that it was expedient to dispose 
of the meeting-house to " one or the other society being prin- 
cipal owners," and the Trustees were instructed to cany the 
measure into effect. And on the 9th of March, a meeting of 
the " proprietors of Warsaw Meeting- House " was held, at 
which it was voted " that the house be sold," and that Simeon 
Cumings be the auctioneer. Mr. Cumings declining, Oliver 
Lee was appointed ; and the sale was ordered to take place in 
the evening. The house was struck off to the Presbyterian 
Society at seventy-six cents on the dollar of its nominal value 
or cost. The Baptist Society being the only other " principal 
owner," a number of the members of that Society, at the same 
time and place, executed to the Trustees of the Union Society 
an assignment of their individual rights, and a bond of indem- 
nity against all claims of any member of the Baptist Society 
to any interest in the house. 

October 24th, 1820, a special meeting was held at which it 
was " voted that the Society proceed to complete the meeting 
house;" and "that any sums signed and paid towards the 
completion of said house, to bo paid in grain or any other 
article, may be paid at an average price equivalent to Avhcat 
at seventy-five cents per bushel." 

February 13th, 1821, at the annual meeting, "the Trustees 
of the Society having made a report of their proceedings, in 
making a contract with Nathan B. Lee for completing the 
meeting-house, the present season," the report was approved. 

The building was used, as completed by Mr. Lee, except 
the lowering of the pulpit at different times, until 1811, when 
the old square pews with their straight backs gave way to 



PRESBYTEEIAH CHURCH. 181 

modern improvements, and the inside was painted, never hav- 
ing had a coat of paint before. Thus improved, it remained 
unaltered until it was removed from the spot where it had 
stood for nearly fifty years, to give place to the present edifice. 
A picture of the " Old Church " is inserted in its proper place. 

FIRST CHURCH BELL. 

Previous to 1825, there was no church bell in Warsaw. At 
the meeting of Union Society that year, it was voted to " cir- 
culate a subscription for the purpose of raising funds to pur- 
chase a bell for the meeting-house." 

The movement for procuring a bell may have been promp- 
ted, in part, by a rather amusing incident. The year of its 
occurrence we can not determine. Deacon Munger, then 
carrying on the tanning business half a mile south of the 
village, had in his service a nephew, John F. Clark. lie was 
a harmless, " clever " young man, and remarkably facetious 
withal, bearing the familiar soubriquet of " funny fellow." 
He had a bugle, which was his favorite companion, and with 
which he gave many an evening's entertainment to the in- 
habitants for several miles along the valley. The only meeting 
house in town was that of the Presbyterians; but it had no 
bell. It was suggested that the want of one might be supplied 
by John's bugle; and it was done. He would take his stand 
at the brink of the hill near the old burying-ground, and give 
for the " first bell " one or two of the old tunes sung in those 
days, Mear, Coronation, Sherburne, Exhortation, etc. The 
call to worship, or " second bell," was given from the steeple, 
within the railing of the belfry. Such was his love of playing, 
that his services might probably have been had gratis; but he 
had been encouraged to expect some compensation. He played 
a long time; but no pay came. He was at length advised by 
a friend to play from the steeple a piece of secular music, 
either as a mild expression of resentment, or as a means of 
bringing the Trustees to a sense of justice. Accordingly, John, 
the next Sabbath, struck up the tune of a popular song. The 



182 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Deacon happened to be within hailing distance, and, by signs 
and words, ordered the music stopped. John complied, came 
down, and took his seat, as usual, with the choir in the gallery. 
After their arrival home, the subject was introduced by the 
Deacon, who wished to know the reason for playing so im- 
proper a tune. John promptly answered, but was told that 
his services were no longer wanted. 

The following is a copy of the original subscription: 
" We, the subscribers, being anxious that a good church bell 
should be procured for the Meeting-House in Union Society, 
in the village of Warsaw, and in consideration that the Trus- 
tees of said Society have agreed that such sums as shall be 
paid towards procuring a Bell for said Meeting-House, shall 
be appropriated and applied in payment for a slip or seat in 
said Meeting-House, in the same manner as if the same money 
had been expended in building said house, do therefore prom- 
ise to pay John Manger, Chauncey L. Sheldon, Augustus 
Frank, Gideon Johnson, William Webster, and Peter Young, 
Trustees of said Society and their successors in office, the 
sums of money annexed to our names respectively for the pur- 
pose of procuring a Bell for said Meeting-House. 
" Dated December 25, 1824." 



Augustus Frank, . 


$25 


Gideon Johnson, . 


i>9 

V- 


A. Stevens, . . 


$10 


C. & A. Rumsey, . 


25 


John Truesdell, . . 


5 


A. C. Lyon, . . 


5 


John Mtinger, . . 


10 


Orson Hough, . . 


5 


Jonas Cutting, . 


5 


Daniel Rumsey, . . 


20 


C. Z. C Leonard, . 


2 


Hiram L. Norton, 


2 


SeOi G. Bodritch, . 


5 


Cyrus Tanner, . . 


1 


Luther Foster, . 


5 


Peter Young, . . 


10 


John Frayer, . . 


5 


Leonard Rich, . 


2 


Andrew W. Young, 


5 


Francis Newton, 


2 


James Crocker, . 


5 


Matthew Hoffman, . 


10 


Hezekiah Wakefield, 


3 


Timothy Whiting, 


1 


Lyman Morris, . . 


5 


B. Shaw 


2 


Levi Walker, 


. 1 


Isaiah Kenyon, . . 


3 


Silas Kidder, . . 


5 


Zera Tanner, 


2 


Ephriam Beebe, 


3 


C. L. Sheldon, . . 


25 


Welcom Arnold, 


1 


Lot Marchant, . . 


10 


Elijah Norton, . . 


10 


S. McWborter, . 


10 


Elizur Webster, . . 


30 


Cyrus Rumsey, . . 


15 


E. C. Kimberly, 


5 


Wm. Patterson, . . 


10 


B. Shaw, .... 


5 


Paul Richards, . 


2 


John Wilder, . . 


10 


Wm. Walker, . . 


5 


Frank Miller, . 


1 


Linus Warner, . 


2 


Nehemiah Fargo, . 


5 


David Martin, . 


2 


Ira Wilcox, . . . 


1 


J. A. McElwain, . 


5 


Josiah Marchant, 


2 



James Gregg, . 


. 2 


Hiram Giddiugs, 


. 50c 


Cyrus Rice, . . 


. 5 


Win. Fluker, 


. 50c 


B. L. Watkins, . 


2 


Owen Marchant, 


. 50c 


J. L. Palmer, 


. 1 







PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 183 

John Crocker, . . 5 
A.M. &W.D.Barnett. 12 
R. A. Kidder, . . 2 
Nathaniel Moss, . . 3 

The amount subscribed being insufficient, Dr. Frank pur- 
chased the bell on his own responsibility, a few individuals 
having promised to assist in making up any deficiency there 
might be. 

Of the sixty-four persons whose names are embraced in 
this list of contributors, eighteen only are believed to be liv- 
ing. The number may be still less, as some of these eighteen 
long ago removed to western states, and have not been lately 
heard from. Of those who in 1825 resided within the pres- 
ent limits of the village, only four remain in it, viz.: E. Norton, 
J. A. McElwain, Win. Walker, Frank Miller. 

For a long time this was the only bell in the village, and 
rendered partial service to other congregations. Each of the 
five churches here has now a good bell of its own. 

The old bell, after about thirty-five years' service, failed. 
A new one of nearly double its weight was put in its place, 
and is now suspended in the belfry of the new church edifice. 



184 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 



METHODIST CHURCH. 

Of the organization of this church and society, no record 
is to be found. Nor is there, probably, one of its early mem- 
bers living to give any information respecting it, except Mrs. 
llovey, (now eighty-three years of age,) widow of the late 
Simeon Hovey. Her recollections, and a brief sketch commu- 
nicated by the late Josiah Hovey, son of Josiah Hovey, Sen., 
to the Hon. Seth M. Gates, at the time of the formation of a 
county Historical Society, are the only sources from which we 
have been able to get any knowledge of the early history of 
this church.' And of its later history, there has been found a 
record of only ten or twelve years, from and after the year 
1833. The list of circuit preachers was obtained from the 
records of the Genesee Conference. 

Mrs. Hovey says, that in 1808 or 1809, Key. Mr. Ness, 
(probably Tan Nest,) an itinerant missionary, formed a class 
in the south part of the town, among the members of which 
were Solomon Morris, Sen., and John Morris and their wives, 
and others. About a year afterwards, John Kimberlin, from 
Baltimore Conference, formed a class in the north part of the 
town, of which Mrs. Josiah Hovey, Sen., Simeon Hovey and 
Josiah Hovey, Jun., and their wives, and several others, were 
members. A year or two afterwards, Anson A. Perkins and 
his wife, and after another year or two, Elam Perkins and his 
wife, Lyman Parker and others united. She thinks the first 
regular preachers on this circuit were Loring Grant and Mar- 
mad like Pierce, each preaching once in four weeks, thus giving 
the people a preacher once in two weeks. The extent of the 
circuit was such as required about a month's time to compass 
it. Elder Grant's circuit was about three hundred miles 
round, extending from some place in Pennsylvania into Can- 
ada. Mrs. Grant, also on horseback, sometimes accompanied 
him as co-laborer. Her horse was a gift from her tather. 








(S bCsr&Csp^f. 



METHODIST CHURCH. 185 

The sketch by Josiah Hovey gives some additional facts, 
but does not conflict with the statements of Mrs. Hovey. He 
says: "The first Methodist preachers in Warsaw were Cyrus 
Story, Joseph Gatchell, and James Mitchell, as early as 1805 
or 1806, and before a church was organized. In 1809, Wm. 
Brown and John Kimberlin organized a Methodist society; 
and I believe my brother Simeon was the first class-leader 
appointed under that organization. Shortly after, myself and 
Shubael Morris were appointed class-leaders, and held our 
meetings at my house in the north part, and at the house of 
Solomon Morris, Sen., in the south part of the town." 

Mr. Hovey mentions the following as among the early mem- 
bers of the church: Josiah Hovey, Jim., Simeon Hovey, John 
Morris, Shubael Morris, Elam Perkins, Anson A. Perkins, 
Solomon Morris, Sen., Carl W. Flower, Simeon Gibson, and 
the wives of all of them ; the w T ife of Josiah Hovey, Sen., 
Moses Perkins, Joseph Miller, Lyman Parker, and the wives 
of Kehemiah Park, Simeon P. Glazier, and Daniel Ivnapp. 
He presumed there were others, whose names he did not 
recollect. As the Perkinses did not come into the town until 
some years after the year in which the church or society is 
said to have been organized, they, though "early members," 
could not have been among the earliest. 

The Methodist Society was not legally organized until about 
the year 1820, at the time of the proclamation of Paul Busti, 
general agent of the Holland Land Company, announcing 
that in every township, six miles square, with a legally organ- 
ized church and society, such society should be entitled to one 
hundred acres of land. "The First Methodist Episcopal So- 
ciety of "Warsaw " was accordingly organized in compliance 
with the requirements of the act of the legislature; and the 
papers were recorded in the office of the County Clerk. 
Union Society, formed by the Presbyterian church and con- 
gregation, had been organized in 1812; and the land was 
divided equally between the two societies. 



186 mSTORY OF WARSAW. 

The first Trustees of the Methodist Society were, Simeon 
Ilovey, Chester Hiird, John Morris, Anson A. Perkins, 
Nathan B. Miller, Lyman Parker, Josiah Hovey, Roderick 
Chapin, Jim., Eleazar Smith. 

The first Methodist house of worship was built in 1824:, at 
the corners three-fourths of a mille north of the center of the 
village, on the south corner. Chester Hurd was the architect. 
In 1835, it was removed to the place where the present house 
stands. And in 1853, to make room for a new and larger 
one, it was sold to Rev. J. W. Hines, and by him removed to 
the south side of Buffalo street, near the bridge, to be fitted 
up for dwellings. It was sold by him to George TV. Morris, 
by whose heirs it is still owned. The new church, which was 
completed in 1854, was, in 1868, thoroughly repainted out- 
side, and tastily frescoed and otherwise improved inside, at an 
expense of about $1,300. It is now probably the largest 
and best framed church edifice in the county. 

"We present here the views of the churches in this District 
concerning certain subjects which have at times been intro- 
duced in the Quarterly Conference: 

At a Quarterly Meeting Conference for the Warsaw and 
Wyoming District, held at Wyoming, December 17, 1836, the 
following resolutions were adopted: 

" Whereas, Alcohol is a poison, and is always injurious to 
persons in health; and whereas, it is the fruitful source of 
crime, disease, and death; therefore, 

"Resolved, J. That, in the judgment of this Conference, to 
manufacture, vend, or use the article, except for mechanical 
or medicinal purposes, is immoral. 

" 2. That, since such is the nature of the traffic in and use 
of ardent spirits, and since its direful effects are so numerous 
and so great, extending to life, death, and eternity, we, the 
members of this Conference, feel ourselves called upon by the 
high impositions of patriotism, humanity, and religion, to give 
our precept and example against its manufacture and use as 
a beverage; and we feel ourselves further called upon to use 



METHODIST CHURCH. 



187 



all lawful means to bring its manufacture and sale into dis- 
grace and disuse. 

" 3. That a copy of the above resolutions be sent by 
Eev. M. Seager to the editor of the Christian Advocate for 
insertion. 

" Levi Mason, 

" Secretary." 

At a Quarterly Meeting Conference held at Warsaw, July 
12th, 1845, the following resolutions were adopted: 

" 1. Resolved, By the members of the Quarterly Conference 
of Warsaw Station, that the connection of church members 
and ministers with secret societies or associations, is incompati- 
ble with their Christian and ministerial relations and duties. 

" 2. Resolved, That we seriously regret that any of our trav- 
eling preachers have become members of the society of Odd 
Fellows. 

" 3. Resolved, That we respectfully request the presiding 
elder of this District to present a copy of the above resolu- 
tions to the ensuing Genesee Annual Conference. 

" It. Jackson, 

u Secretary. 1 ' 

At the same place, October, 1845, the Conference adopted 
the following resolutions on the subject of Missions: 

"Resolved, That there be a committee of five. on missions, 
and that A. H. Tilton, Hiron J. Eeddish, George Snyder, 
James Gilmore, and Lyman Parker, be said committee. 

" Resolved, That we deem it our duty to engage, at the 
earliest convenience, in the work of forming a Missionary 
Society, and carrying out the design of the Discipline on the 
subject of Missions." 

At the Quarterly Meeting Conference of Warsaw charge 
and station, July 22, 1848, the subject of Odd Fellowship was 
again acted upon, and resolutions were adopted, of which the 
material part is as follows: 



188 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

"Whereas, we believe that secret societies are contrary to 
the gospel, the practice, and the teaching of our Savior, that 
they have a tendency, or may be used, to subvert govern- 
ment, and that it betrays a want of Christian fidelity and of 
a firm reliance upon the promises of God in the members of 
the church who unite themselves to such societies ; and 
whereas, many of our brethren in the ministry belonging to 
the Genesee Conference have united with the Society of Odd 
Fellows, and have not heeded the resolution of Conference 
advising them to withdraw and not become members of said 
society, and our presiding elder, by his own confession, retains 
his membership in that society, thereby giving his influence 
to the societies of Odd Fellows; and although he stated that 
he did not meet with them, and did not know anything about 
their proceedings, but belonged to them only to secure a fund 
that might be available in time of want; yet, believing that 
the reason here urged is insufficient when it comes in contact 
with the gospel ministry; therefore, 

Resolved, That we request our presiding elder to withdraw 
from the society of Odd Fellows. 

Upon what other subjects than those mentioned the Quar- 
terly Conference has taken action, we have no means of 
knowing, for the reason already stated, the absence of later 
records of the society. 

After a long and unceasing effort to procure a list of 
preachers and presiding elders in the District and Circuit to 
which this church has belonged, and after this sketch 
had been written, we have obtained such list, furnished by 
Rev. Carlos Gould, of Parma Centre, and Rev. S. Hunt, now 
preacher at Batavia. Mr. Gould is son-in-law of the late 
Simeon Hovey, of this town. His letter supplies some omis- 
sions in the account of the early history of the society, given 
from recollection by Mrs. Simeon Hovey and Josiah Hovey, 
and corrects some slight errors. He w T rites as follows: 

" I have the bound ' Minutes ' of all the Conferences from 
the first, (held in 1773, 10 preachers, and 1160 members in 






METHODIST CIIUKCII. 180 

all,) till 1857; so that I can give you all the information that 
can he gathered from the Minutes; but as there was no Gene- 
see Conference till 1810, or no "Warsaw Circuit or Station till 
1827, I have, with the help of my wife, (who remembers all 
the Warsaw preachers since 1810,) gleaned the names of all 
the presiding elders and preachers as correctly as possible. 

"The first and only appointment in this state west of the 
Genesee river, was, in 1807, in Philadelphia Conference, 
Genesee District, J. Jewell Presiding Elder; Holland Pur- 
chase Circuit, P. Yan ISTest and A. Jenks, Missionaries. 
Doubtless these were the first regular Conference preachers 
in Warsaw. 

" I now give you a list of all the Districts, which are fre- 
quently changed; all the Circuits, which are more frequently 
changed; all the Presiding Elders and Pastors, till 1850." 

*/ The names in the following list are the names of Preachers in Warsaw 
in the Circuits mentioned. Presiding Elders of the Districts are distinguished 
by the initials, P. E. 

1808. Warsaw was in Susquehanna District, of which James Herron was 
Presiding Elder. In Holland Purchase Circuit, George Lane was Mis- 
sionary; in Caledonia Circuit, Thomas Elliott. Missionary. Although 
there was in 1812 a change of District, Mr. Draper was retained as 
Presiding Elder until 1815. 

1809. Holland Purchase and Caledonia Circuit, James Mitchell and Joseph 
Gatchell, Pastors. These are believed to have been the first regular 
preachers in this Circuit. 

1810. Genesee Conference was formed this year. Holland Purchase Cir- 
cuit; only appointment west of Genesee river, John Kimberlin, 
William Brown, Preachers. 

1811. Loring Grant, Elijah Metcalf. 

1812. Genesee District, Caledonia Circuit, Renaldo Everts. 

1813. Elijah King, Ebenezer Doolittle. 
1811. William Brown, Elijah Warren. 

1815. James II. Harris. 

1816. Jonathan Huestis, P. E. Caledonia Circuit, Robert Menshall, Thomas 
McGee. 

1S17. Eden Circuit, James Hall. 

1818. Clarence Circuit, Aurora Seager, Jetar Foster. 

1819. Gideon Draper, P. E. Ava Williams. 

1820. Batavia Circuit, James Hall, Zachariah Paddock. 

1821. James Gilmore, Jasper Bennett. 



100 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

1S22. Goodwin Stoddard, P. E. John Arnold, Asa Orcutt. 

1823. Asa Orcutt, John Beggarly. 

1824. Andrew Prindle, J. B. Roach. 

1825. Buffalo District, Loring Grant, P. E. Benajah /Williams, Andrew 
Prindle. 

1826. Benajah Williams, Asa Abell, Jonathan Huestis. 

1827. Warsaw Circuit, (formed this year,) Morgan Sherman, Robert Parker. 

1828. Warsaw and Batavia Circuit, Glezen Fillmore, Micah Seager, Chester 
N. Adgate. [G. Fillmore, it is believed, was stationed at Batavia, 
and did not preach at Warsaw.] 

1829. Asa Abell, P. E. Warsaw Circuit, John Cosart, Joseph Atwood. 

1830. Hiram May, Joseph Atwood. 

1831. Mifflin Havker, George Wilkinson. 

1832. Genesee District, again, Mifflin Harker, Sheldon Doolittle. 

1833. Sheldon Doolittle, Merritt Preston. 

1834. 1835. Reeder Smith. 

183G. Warsaw and Wyoming Circuit, Micah Seager, P. E. Richard Wright, 
E. O. Hall. 

1837. Warsaw Circuit, Richard Wright. 

1838. John B. Alverson, P. E. James Hall. 

1839. Hiram May. 

1840. Nelson Hoag. 

1841. Salmon Judd. 

1842. John Copeland, P. E. Salmon Judd. 

1843. Israel Chamberlayne, P. E. Chauncey S. Baker. 

1844. Joseph Pearsall. 

1845. John B. Jenkins. 

1846. Buffalo District, Samuel C. Church, P. E. John B. Jenkins. 

1847. Charles D. Burlingham. 

1848. John B. Alverson, P. E. David Nichols. 

1849. 1850. Thomas Carleton, P. E. King David Nettleton. 

1851. Philo E. Brown, P. E. J. W. Hines. 

1852. Wyoming District, P. E. Brown, P. E. J. W. Hines. 

1853. Zenas Hurd. 

1854. Richard L. Wait, P. E. B. F. McNeil. 

1855. Griffin Smith. 

1856. 1857. William C. Willing. 

1858. Sumner C. Smith. 

1859, I860. Allen P. Ripley, P. E. E. M. Buck. 

1861. Schuyler Parker. 

1862. E. E. Chambers, P. E. Schuyler Parker. 

1863. 1864. J. H. Bayliss. 

1865. G. DeLaMatyr, P. E. Rollin C. Welch. 

1866. H. H. Lyman. 
1S67. M. II. Rice. 

1868. O. S. Chamberlayne. 



BAPTIST CIIUKCII. 191 



BAPTIST CHURCH. 

The people of this religious organization, like the Congre- 
gationalists, have had the misfortune to lose the greater 
portion of their records. The portion lost covers nearly the 
entire period of the church's existence. Consequently our 
history of it must necessarily be brief and imperfect. The 
facts given are chiefly gathered from a "History of the First 
Baptist Church of Warsaw," by its late pastor, Rev. Abner 
Morrill, presented at the annual session of the Genesee Baptist 
Association, held at Wyoming in June, 1867. 

The members of this church, at the time of its formation, 
resided chiefly in the south and south-eastern part of the 
town. Yery naturally, therefore, that place was for several 
years the center of the society and the place for holding its 
meetings for worship, which were held much of the time in 
John Truesdell's barn. The first convert in town among the 
Baptists, Mr. Amos Keeney says, was Hannah Stearns, a 
daughter of Sterling Stearns, and afterwards the wife of Jacob 
Hurd, brother Chester Hurd. 

The first preacher mentioned in the sketch before us, is 
Elder Irish, a missionary, who visited these people in 1810, 
and on the 25th of November, organized a church of fourteen 
members. A list of the names of the first members, obtained 
from another source, makes the number eighteen, as follows: 
Joseph Porter and wife, Josiah Boardman and wife and 
daughter, ISToah Wiseman, John Truesdell, Levi Stearns, 
Hannah Stearns, John Brown, Wm. Brown, Miriam Brown, 
Levi Bice, Hannah Rice, Jeremiah Truesdell, Elijah Ham- 
mond, Bhoda Heed, Joanna Beardsley. A Baptist church 
having been formed in Middlebury, then a part of Warsaw, 
this church was called the " Second Baptist Church of War- 
saw." After the town of Middlebury had been formed into 
a separate town, this church was called the " First Baptist 



192 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Church of Warsaw." The first Deacon of the church was 
Joseph Porter, chosen in April, 1811. 

The church soon received large accessions to its member- 
ship; and in the autumn of 1S11, Elder Jeremiah Irons was 
engaged to preach one-quarter of the time for one year. 
After him, Elder David Hurlburt served the church one year, 
and was succeeded by Elder Jabez Boomer, who was the first 
settled pastor of the church. lie was ordained August 19th, 
1816, and labored acceptably for several years. The next 
year ( 1817,) a house of worship was erected in the village, 
principally by the joint efforts of the Baptists and Presbyte- 
rians. It was only inclosed, however, and could be occupied 
only in the summer season. In March, 1S19, the Baptists 
sold out their interest to the Presbyterians, by whom it was 
finished in the spring of 1821. 

In ISIS, the Bcv. William Pattison became pastor of the 
church, and served several years. During his pastorate, the 
number of members, which had been greatly reduced was 
largely increased. Among the members added w T as Robert 
E. Pattison, son of the minister, who has since become highly 
distinguished as a scholar and a preacher. After Elder Pat- 
tison had closed his labors, Rev. Leonard Anson supplied the 
church a short time, and was followed by Eev. Anson Tuthill, 
who labored with the church a number of years. 

In 1S27, Eev. David Bernard became pastor, and con- 
tinued three years. A large number of members were 
dismissed this year to form the church in Gainesville. We 
give from Elder Morrill's sketch, the following extract, ver- 
batim: 

" During the pastorate of Elder Bernard, the church dedi- 
cated its first house of worship, which they occupied twenty 
years. Previous to this, the church had worshiped in barns 
and in school-houses. Here were achieved some of the most 
glorious victories of Divine grace recorded in its history; and 
the memories of these humble sanctuaries of the Lord are 
cherished by many hallowed associations. 




M . <rf£ 



JjOsCxo/ &o 



&/cefO\ 



Sketch.. p.25> 



p. co o. /t 






BAPTIST CHURCH. 193 

" During his pastorate, too, the church was greatly agitated 
by the Masonic troubles, with which many of the churches in 
this region were disturbed. The difficulty, however, was 
finally Settled by the adoption of the article on Free-Masonry 
inserted in the Minutes of the Genesee Association for 1828. 

"In 1828, the church having withdrawn from the Holland 
Purchase Association, united with the Genesee. 

On the 9th of June, 1S28, members of the Baptist church 
and congregation met for the purpose of effecting a legal 
organization. They accordingly organized under the name of 
"The Baptist Church and Society of Warsaw." Rev. David 
Bernard and Deacon Samuel Salisbury were chosen as pre- 
siding and returning officers of said meeting. The Trustees 
elected were David Fargo, Samuel Salisbury, and Seth 
Higgins. The proceedings were duly recorded in the County 
Clerk's office, July 7, 1828. 

" In 1830, Rev. Peter Freeman became pastor of the 
church, and sustained this .relation three years. His was a 
useful and successful pastorate. The Lord greatly blessed 
his labors." To this we add: 

He was not only "useful and successful " as a pastor; but 
he was diligent in every good work. His coadjutors in the 
cause of temperance especially, can not hare forgotten his self- 
den} 7 ing efforts during the very inclement winter of 1S31-2, 
when, in pairs they visited the school districts in this town 
and the towns adjacent, to advocate the cause and present 
the pledge. He was preeminently a Christian and philan- 
thropist, never " weary in well doing." He ceased from his 
earthly labors a few years since, and has entered into the 
"saints' everlastino- rest." 

From 1833 to 183T, Rev. Abraham Ennis served the church 
faithfully and successfully. He was succeeded by Rev. G. 
V. Walling, who served one year. In 1838, Rev. Joseph 
Elliott became pastor and served two years. He was suc- 
ceeded by Rev. B. Wilcox. 

13 



lUdt HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

From 1841 to 1S45, Rev. II. K. Stimson was pastor. It was 
during this time that Hon. James R. Doolittle became a mem- 
ber of this church. 

The church, as the Methodists had done, had found their 
mistake in building their house of worship too remote from 
the center of the population, it being half a mile south of the 
village, near the old cemetery. This, together with the fact 
that they needed a more commodious house, induced them to ' 
sell the old one, which had been occupied about twenty years, 
and build a new one in the village, being the one now occu- 
pied. The former was taken down and removed to the village 
in pieces, which were worked into a dwelling which stands 
near the Methodist church. 

In 1S15, Rev. J. L. Richmond became pastor, and served 
three years. In 1818, Rev. A. C. Barrell commenced his 
labors as pastor, and remained two years. He was followed 
by the Rev. H. Leavenworth, who served one year. The next 
two years the church had no pastor, but was supplied a part 
of the time by Mr. "W". C. Hubbard, a candidate for the 
ministry. In 1853, Rev. Philander Shedd became pastor, 
and labored two years. He was succeeded by Rev. II. Smith, 
whose pastorate continued two years. 

During the years 1857 and 1858, Rev. William Cormac 
was pastor. In 1S59 the church had no pastor. During this 
year, the church was again agitated on the subject of secret 
societies; but the difficulty was amicably adjusted by repeal- 
ing the resolution relating to secret societies passed in 1S2S, 
and adopting another more conciliating in its expressions. 
Rev. II. K. Stimson served the church a second time in 1S60, 
and soon after, as Captain of a company of Cavalry, joined 
the army of the Union in the late civil war. 

During the next four years, Rev. J. B. Pitman and Rev. J. 
Hough served as pastors. After these Rev. "W. I. Crane sup- 
plied the church one year. In December, 1865, Rev. Abner 
Morrill became pastor, and remained until November, 1S67. 



BAPTIST CHURCH. 195 

Those who have held the office of Deacon in this church, 
are as follows: Joseph Porter, Elijah Hammond, William 
Wiseman, Jonathan F. Ilibbard, Samuel Salisbury, Abial 
Lathrop, David Fargo, Broughton W. Crane, John Starks, 
Samuel L. Iveeney, Simeon Holton. Mr. Crane and Mr. 
Holton still hold the office. 

The following are the names of those who have served as 
Clerks: Elijah Hammond, Noah Wiseman, Hezekiah Scovel, 
Edwin L. Fuller, Ransom B. Crippen, Samuel L. Kinney, Jere- 
miah Watts, Wilber G. Bentley, Simeon Holton, Albert W. 
Palmer, the present Clerk. 



196 



HISTORY OF WARSAW, 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

This church was organized February 16, 1S10. Those who 
were instrumental in its organization had, with one or two 
exceptions, been connected with the Presbyterian church in 
this place, and requested letters for the purpose of consti- 
tuting a new church. The request was presented in a written 
statement of their views and motives; in which they said: 
" We believe that by withdrawing from our present connec- 
tion, and uniting under a system consonant with our views of 
duty, we shall be able to do far more to promote the interests 
of religion than now; and not only so, but our brethren and 
sisters who differ from us, will be free to pursue those plans 
of usefulness, without let or hindrance from us, which their 
own views of duty may dictate/' This statement and request 
was dated Jan. 27, 1840, and signed by thirty-nine individu- 
als, of whom thirty-four met on Sabbath, February 16th, 
when the church was duly constituted by Rev. Samuel Gris- 
wold. Soon after, twenty-two others w T ere added; so that, 
at the end of the year, the church consisted of fifty-six 
members. 

In the " Constitution and Rules " of this church, are the 
following: 

"No person shall be admitted to membership in this 
church, who does not wholly refrain from the use of all 
intoxicating drinks as a beverage, or who in any way gives 
countenance or support to the manufacture or traffic in such 
drinks for that purpose. 

"No person shall be admitted to this church, who is a 
slaveholder, or holds security in slaves as property, or traffics 
in the persons of men." 

The views of the church on the subject of slavery, are more 
fully stated in a "Declaration of Sentiments," adopted March 
6, 1811, as follows: 






CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 197 

" 1. We believe slavery to be a most flagrant sin against 
God, and that, like every other sin, it should be immediately 
forsaken. 

" 2. As the slaveholder's right originates in usurpation, and 
is continued only by force, so he can not sell or delegate to 
another any authority over the slave; and every person who, 
under pretence of purchase, hire, or appointment, shall exer- 
cise the authority of a master over a slave, does thereby 
become a partaker in the slaveholder's sin. 

" 3. We believe that, should we invite slaveholders to preach 
to us, or commune with us, or in any way recognize them as 
Christians, while they refuse to confess and forsake their sin 
of slaveholding, we should, in so doing, make ourselves parta- 
kers in their iniquity. 

" 4. "We believe that those who justify or apologize for 
slavery, whether as a settled system, or for a limited time, to 
terminate by a system of gradual abolition, do thereby com- 
fort and defend a system most abominable to God and holy 
men. 

" 5. We believe it is inconsistent with a good conscience 
and the word of God, which says, He ' hateth robbery for 
sacrifice,' to mingle our religious contributions with those 
societies that send their agents among slaveholders, to solicit 
contributions, or who knowingly receive into their treasury 
such contributions." 

The first house of worship occupied by this church was a 
small building known as the "Baptist Vestry Room," stand- 
ing over the mill-race on the south side of Buffalo street, on 
the lot now owned and occupied by Nehemiah Park, and 
which had also been occupied as a school-house. They 
immediately purchased the lot on which their brick church 
now stands, and commenced the building of a meeting-house. 
In the fall of 1840, they were able to hold meetings in the 
lecture room attached to the church edifice. The building 
was completed early the next year. Its dimensions were 36 
by 45 feet; the cost of house and lot a little less than $3,000. 



198 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

On the 13th of January, 1S41, it was dedicated to the wor- 
ship of Almighty God. Rev. Mr. Ward, of Bergen, Genesee 
county, preached the dedication sermon. Five years there- 
after it was enlarged by the removal of the east end, and the 
insertion of sixteen new slips.- Some years later, it was again 
similarly enlarged by putting in twenty-eight new slips, 
doubling the original number of sittings. 

In 1852, an organ was put in the house. In 1S55, its inte- 
rior was remodeled by transferring the pulpit from the west 
to the east end of the building, reversing the slips, and 
making other important alterations. 

On the 3d of March, 1855, the propriety of members of the 
church belonging to Secret Societies, was brought up for 
consideration in a church meeting. The subject, after con- 
siderable discussion, was referred to a committee, consisting 
of Seth M. Gates, Charles J. Judd, Amos M. Barnett, N. T. 
Yeomans, and Joshua II. Darling. The committee, May 5, 
1855, reported a series of resolutions, declaring it improper 
for members of Christian churches to belong to secret oath 
bound societies, to continue in fellowship with their members, 
and attend their meetings. The resolutions, after full discus- 
sion, were unanimously adopted by the church, and placed on 
file with the church clerk, Mr. Gates. In 1860, his office was 
forcibly entered in the night, and these resolutions, with the 
church record, stolen therefrom. 

At the annual meeting of the Society, Feb. 16, 1866, the 
Trustees reported that they were unable to furnish seats for 
all who desired them; and a special meeting was called, to be 
held on the 26th of the same month, to consider the propriety 
of building a new meeting-house; at which meeting it was 
resolved to build; and a building committee was appointed, 
consisting of the following named persons: Artemas Blake, 
Joshua II. Darling, Lloyd A. Hay ward, "Wolcott J. Humphrey, 
"William D. Miner, Simeon D. Lewis, Lewis E. "Walker, and 
Elisha S. Hillman. The old church was sold to Dr. Ethan E. 
Bartlett, the Society reserving the privilege of occupying it 




CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 



CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 199 

until the new church should be completed. The old bell and 
organ were sold to other parties. 

The corner stone of the new church edifice was laid, with 
appropriate services, by Rev. Edwin E. Williams, the pastor, 
on the 6th of July, 1866; sermon by Rev. Mr. Bennett, of 
Lockport. A brief history of the church and its labors in 
building and enlarging its house of worship, with a descrip- 
tion of the new house to be built, was read by Seth M. Gates, 
Esq., the Church Clerk. The following articles, in a sealed 
tin box, were deposited in the corner stone: 

A list of the names ot the Pastor and officers of the 
church. 

Names of the Building Committee. 

Name of the Architect. 

Names of the Master Mason and the Builder. 

The Roll of the Sunday School. 

A copy of the subscription for building the church. 

A sketch of the History of the church. 

A copy of the Report of the church's celebration of its 
quarter-centennial anniversary, February 16, 1865. 

The architect who finished the plan of the building was Mr. 
A. J. "Warner, of Rochester. The style of architecture is 
mainly Norman. It has two towers of unequal height in 
front; the highest of which, to its extreme point, is 64s feet. 
The dimensions of the main building are 91 by 58 feet. The 
audience room is 77 by 55, exclusive of the orchestra, and 
contains 128 slips, seating 660 persons; the walls and towers 
are of brick. The mason work was done by Ambrose J. 
Armstrong, of Warsaw; the wood work by V. Hodge & Son, 
of Buffalo. A new organ, at a cost of about $2,000, was given 
by Joshua H. Darling, Esq. The house was completed with- 
out a serious accident. It was dedicated, free from debt, by 
the pastor, Mr. Williams, August 7, 1867; sermon by Rev. Dr. 
Yermilye, of Hartford, Conn. 

The first pastor of this church was Rev. Huntington Lyman. 
He was succeeded by Rev. Lyman P. Judson, who was fol- 



200 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

lowed by Rev. Reuben H. ConMin, since deceased. Next, 
Rev. P. H. Myers, whose health soon failed, and he was called 
to his rest. He was followed by Rev. Corban Kidder. Rev. 
1ST. T. Yeomans ministered to the church at various times as 
stated supply. The Rev. Zachary Eddy, now of Brook- 
lyn, ]S"..Y., was pastor for several years; next, Rev. John 
Vincent; and since 1S57, the present pastor, Rev. Edwin E. 
Williams. 

Those who have been Deacons in the church are, Ezra 
"Walker, Peter Young, Hanover Bradley, Charles J. Judd, 
Lloyd A. Ilayward, Stephen Ilurd, Edward C. Shattuck, John 
Matthews, and Elisha S. Hillman. 

F. C. D. McKay, Charles J. Judd, and Seth M. Gates, have 
been Church Clerks. 

The first superintendent of the Sabbath -school was F. C. D. 
McKay, who held the position for three or four years. Charles 
J. Judd w T as superintendent one year, and Lloyd A. Hay ward 
one year. Seth M. Gates was superintendent fourteen years, 
and resigned January, 1S61. He was succeeded by Simeon 
D. Lewis, the present superintendent. 

There have been in all, five hundred and twenty members 
of this church. About half of that number having died or 
been regularly dismissed to the fellowship of other churches, 
the present number is two hundred and fifty. 

THE QUARTER CENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY 

of the organization was celebrated on the 16th of February, 
1865. The Committee of Arrangements consisted of Rev. 
Edwin E. Williams, and thirteen others. A Committee of 
Invitation was also appointed, consisting of Joshua H. Dar- 
ling, Seth M. Gates, Peter Young, and Lloyd A. Ilayward. 
A letter of invitation was sent to all former pastors and mem- 
bers of the church; to all absent members; to pastors of Con- 
gregational churches in the county; to the pastors of all the 
churches in the village, and others. 

At half past ten o'clock on the day appointed, a large 
audience assembled at the church. The exercises were com- 






CONGREGATIONAL CHTJKCH. 201 

menced by singing the Doxology, " Praise God from whom 
all blessings flow," by the choir and congregation; followed 
by an invocation by the pastor, closing with the Lord's Prayer, 
in which the congregation audibly joined. The choir sang 
the anthem, " When the Lord shall bnild np Zion." Pev. 
Mr. Nassau, of the Presbyterian church in this village, read 
the Scriptures; and Rev. 1ST. T. Yeomans, of Fowlerville, 
formerly a member of this church and its stated supply, of- 
fered prayer; and Rev. Mr. Blake, of the Methodist Episcopal 
church in Gainesville, read the first Hymn, 

Rev. Mr. Williams, the pastor of the church, then pro- 
ceeded to deliver the discourse prepared for the occasion; the 
text of which was, Deut. i, 31: "Thou hast seen how the 
Lord thy God bare thee, as a man doth bear his son, in all 
the way that ye went, until ye came into this place." 

After the sermon, the pastor announced Seth M. Gates, 

Esq., as Chairman of the meeting, and called for the reading 

of a letter from Rev. R. H. Conklin, a former pastor of the 

church, who was sick, and apparently near his end, in the 

city of Detroit. As the letter closed with a request for the 

prayers of the church, Rev. Mr. Kidder being called on by 

the Chairman, led the congregation in prayer for Mr. Conklin. 

After sinsnnor, the mornino; exercises closed by the Benedic- 
ts ?~> o J 

tion by Rev. Mr. Blake. 

At two o'clock p. m., the meeting was again organized, and 
Messrs. E. E. Farman and Wm. II. Merrill were appointed 
Secretaries. 

The Chairman briefly addressed the meeting, reviewing 
the progress of the world during the past twenty-five years, 
in the arts and sciences, in civil liberty, the spread of the 
gospel, and particularly in the deliverance of the oppressed, 
the overthrow of slavery, and the practical recognition of 
human rights, closing with a fraternal welcome, in behalf of 
the church, to all former members and pastors who had re- 
turned to mingle in these scenes of reunion and these 
commemorative exercises. 



202 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Brief addresses were then made by Rev. Mr. Kidder, and 
by Rev. George W. "Walker, formerly a member of this 
church, now a minister of a church in Ohio; and prayer was 
offered by Rev. Mr. Crane, of the Baptist church in this 
village. Addresses were then made by Francis F. Fargo, 
formerly a member and a chorister of this church, and for 
many years past a resident of San Francisco, Cal.; by Rev. 
Mr. Yeomans, Rev. Mr. Cunningham, pastor of the Congre- 
gational church of Gainesville; Rev. Mr. Nassau, of the 
Presbyterian church, of this village; Hugh T. Brooks, Esq., of 
Pearl Creek, and by Professor N. F. Wright, of Batavia, for- 
merly a member of this church and of the choir, and a 
teacher in the Sabbath school. 

Letters in reply to invitations to be present, were read, from 
Rev. James A. McKay, of Michigan, and Dr. N. D. Stebbins, 
of Detroit, former members; and the closing address was by 
Rev. Mr. Lord, of Perry Center. All then united in singing 
the hymn, 

'• Lo what a glorious sight appears," &c. 

In the evening, the commemoration was concluded by a 
social reunion at the house of the pastor, on which occasion 
letters responsive to invitations were read from Mr. Arden 
"Woodruff, Rev. Huntington Lyman, and many others, for- 
mer members of the church. 



EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 



203 



EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Of the religions societies and church organizations in War- 
saw, the one latest formed, except the Free Will Baptist in the 
south-east part of the town, is the Episcopal. The " Parish of 
Trinity Church," was organized May 12, 1852. The germ of 
this organization, however, was planted at a much earlier date; 
and its friends had been for many years favored, for short 
}3eriods, with the services of ministers of their own order. 
From a " History of the Church of Warsaw, compiled from 
Official Documents, 1854, by the Rev. Robert Ilorwood," the 
following sketch has been prepared: 

The Rev. Richard Salmon, missionary at Geneseo, in his 
report to the New York Convention of 1826, wrote that he 
was engaged for the ensuing year conditionally to preach at 
Wethersfield and Warsaw alternately, for one-half the time. 
To the Convention of 1828, he reports, that he had moved to 
Warsaw, the center of the station; that he had here given 
nineteen Sundays and thirty -two lectures; that the service 
was performed with great zeal and propriety; and that sev- 
eral additions had been made to the communicants. In Sep- 
tember, 1828, Bishop Hobart confirmed six persons. 

In 1829, Rev. Mr. Salmon, who appears to have moved to 
Medina, reports to the Convention, that the congregation at 
Warsaw, and also those at Wethersfield and Sheldon, not" 
withstanding their destitute circumstances during the past 
year, are evidently flourishing; and the labors of a mission- 
ary would unquestionably be greatly blessed. He wrote also 
that the Sabbath-school at Warsaw, formed during his location 
there, of about twenty-five scholars, had been increased to an 
average attendance of between eighty and ninety. 

Rev. Mr. Salmon, again missionary at Warsaw, reports to 
the Convention of 1831, that during the thirteen months past, 
lie had officiated half the time at Warsaw, quarter at Sheldon, 



204 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



and quarter at Wethersfield ; and occasionally on Sunday 
evenings and on week days at Wyoming. And Bishop Onder- 
donk, in Aug., 1832, baptized one adult, and confirmed eleven. 

Rev. Alexander Fraser, missionary at Warsaw, reports to 
the Convention of 1834: "When I came to Warsaw, I found 
it to be the day of small and feeble things indeed. * * ^ 
I have labored the greater part of the time at Warsaw. The 
congregations are good, and the prospects of the church are 
more pleasing than at any former period." To the Conven- 
tion of 1835, Rev. Isaac Garvin reports that he had labored 
at Warsaw half the time, and divided the rest between 
Wethersfield and Aurora. 

The Rev. Henry Tullidge, missionary at Wethersfield, re- 
ports to the Convention of 1839: "I have occasionally 
preached a third service at Warsaw. I have preached at 
Warsaw several times in the Methodist and Presbyterian 
houses to very respectable congregations. * * * I am 
not without hope that the church may again be revived there. 
There are still remaining some who love the church, and 
would do all in their power ibr its support. In 1843, Bishop 
De Lancy preached one Sabbath in the Baptist house of wor- 
ship, and baptized one child. 

We come now to the organization of the Society under its 
present title. 

On the 12th of May, 1S52, in pursuance of a notice pre- 
viously given on two successive Sabbaths, the following named 
persons incorporated themselves under the act of the legisla- 
ture, as a religious society, to be known in law by the name 
and title of "The Rector, Wardens, and Vestrymen of Trinity 
Church in the Town of Warsaw in the County of Wyoming." 
John A. McElwain, John G. Meachem, jSToble Morris, Ran- 
som S. Watson, Xehemiah Park, Jun., Richard M. Tanks, 
Alonzo W. Wood, Charles W. Bailey. 

The Rev. A. D. Benedict, Rector of the church and con- 
gregation, was called to the Chair; and Charles W. Bailey 
was appointed Secretary. 



EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 205 

The meeting then proceeded to elect two Church Wardens 
and eight Vestrymen. John A. McElwain and John G. 
Meachem were elected Church Wardens; and A] ouzo W. 
Wood, Nehemiah Park, Jim., Linus W. Thayer, Noble Morris, 
Ransom S. Watson, Charles W. Bailey, Richard M. Tanks, 
and Abel Webster, were elected Church Vestrymen. 

A certificate of incorporation having been prepared, it was 
signed by the officers of the meeting, and caused to be re- 
corded. 

In June, 1853, at a meeting of the Vestry, it was voted that 
a lot be purchased for a house of worship; and a building 
committee was appointed, consisting of John G. Meachem, 
K Park, and A. W. Wood. And on the 25th of May, 1854, 
the building was in due form consecrated "to the worship and 
service of Almighty God, the Father, the Son, and the Holy 
Ghost, by the name of Trinity Church." 

In March, 1861, by the will of the late Mrs. Laura S. Wat- 
son, the church came into possession of a house and lot, to be 
held as a parsonage, " so long as the church shall remain an 
organized body, and shall have a regularly established rector 
or clergyman therein." 

Since the date of the present organization, Rev. A. D. Bene- 
dict had the pastoral charge of the church, from May 12, 
1852, until April, 1855. 

Rev. Wm. White Montgomery became rector June 8, 1S56, 
and resigned April 3, 1858. 

Rev. Thomas Applegate became rector June 1, 1858, and 
resigned June 1, 1859. 

Rev. Wm. O. Gorham became rector December 25, 1S59, 
and resigned July, 1862. 

Rev. Noble Palmer became rector November, 1S62, and 
resigned October, 1863. 

Rev. Robert Horwood w r as called October 10, 1863, to sup- 
ply the parish for one year. In October, 1861, the call w T as 
renewed for another year. lie resigned, June, 1865. 

Rev. John V. Stryker became rector March 1, 1866, and 
continues in charge. 



206 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



FREE WILL BAPTIST CHURCH. 



There is probably no part of this town where the salutary 
influence of religious institutions has been more signally illus- 
trated, than within the bounds of this society. To this fact, 
many of the older inhabitants will bear witness. To form a 
just idea of the change, one must have a knowledge of the 
character of the neighborhood at an earlier period. A candid 
and worthy citizen, who has resided there from childhood, a 
period of more than fifty years, has furnished us a brief his- 
tory of that part of the town, including an account of the 
formation of the church. We copy from his letter the fol- 
lowing : 

"The morals of this settlement were rather lax; little 
regard was paid to the demands of religion at that early day. 
The Sabbaths were spent in various ways. Some worked, 
some fished or hunted; others visited or strolled about the 
woods or fields. Yet the people were generally upright and 
honest in their dealings with each other. Almost all the 
settlers were fond of whisky, which was considered at that 
time a necessary article by all classes of people; and I have 
thought the Scripture declaration, ' I will visit the iniquities 
of the lathers upon the children to the third and fourth gen- 
erations,' has been strikingly fulfilled among us." We add 
here a fact from personal knowledge. In a school district 
near the corner of the town, a Sabbath school was established 
in the summer of 1832, and manned by teachers from the 
village. After a few weeks' peaceable occupation of the 
school-house, a few rowdy young men, encouraged by their 
seniors, disturbed the exercises of the school for several Sab- 
baths, and succeeded in breaking it up. 

Our friend continues: " There has, however, been a great 
improvement since then. The first settlers in this part of the 
town are all gone. Some have moved away, but most of 



fkee will baptist church. 207 

them lie in the grave-yard on lot No. 2. Of the names of the 
early inhabitants, but one remains — that of two Warner 
brothers. 

" Religion has shed its saving influence upon this neighbor- 
hood. The little Free- Will Baptist church, organized in 1833, 
has proved a savor of life unto life to many. The number of 
members at its organization was four. During the year 183-1, 
there was a revival, and some thirty were added. Elder H. 
Jenkins was the officiating minister at that time, and may 
well be called its father. Emery D. Albro and Alden Keith 
were chosen deacons. 

" October 13, 1831, the sum of $157 were obtained on sub- 
scription to build a meeting-house. The timber was got out, 
and the frame put up, by volunteer labor, superintended by 
Dea. Albro and other leading spirits of the church. The 
house was then let to John Blighton to finish, which w T as done 
in 1835, and was dedicated to the Lord the same season. 
Elder H. 1ST. Plumb preached on the occasion. Dea. Albro 
was truly a 'nursing father' to the church. Elder Jared 
Miner and William Moses preached to the church until 1S36, 
when Elder Reed became its pastor. Elder Hiram Whitcher 
succeeded him in 1S37, and held the pastorate two years. 
He was succeeded by Elder H. X. Plumb, who preached one 
year, and was succeeded by Silas IT. Davis. Elder William 
Moses became pastor in 1813, and served as such two years, 
and was succeeded by Elder A. Hopkins, who preached two 
years, and was followed by II. M. Abbey, who preached one 
year, half the time. In 1S19, Elder Luke Hitchcock accejited 
a call from the church, and was its pastor two years. After 
him, Elder II. II. Strickland was pastor one year, and then 
Elder S. R. Evans the next two years. In the fall of 1857, he 
w T as succeeded by Elder Levi Kellogg, who labored two years, 
and then Elder II. X. Plumb one year, who was succeeded 
April 1, 1861, by Elder W. W. Holt, who was pastor two 
years, and then Elder Rollins one year. Elder J. C. Steele 
became pastor in 1S65, and remained two years. 



208 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



"The amount of salary paid lias ranged from $100 to $500 
a year. 

"This church has ever been against Slavery; and has upon 
its records some very strong resolutions against it. It has been 
equally decided in favor of Temperance. It has contributed 
considerable for benevolent purposes. A few years ago, several 
of its members gave as high as $100 each to help endow a 
college at Hillsdale, Mich., and in 1867, it raised $330 to aid 
in establishing a Normal School at Harper's Ferry, to educate 
teachers to instruct the people without regard to color, in the 
Southern States." 



Besides the churches whose histories we have sketched, 
there is a church organization composed chiefly or wholly of 
Germans, residing in the west part of this town, and in 
Orangeville. It is of recent date, and in character Protestant; 
but its distinctive name we have not learned. Their house of 
worship is in this town, about three-fourths of a mile east of 
Orangeville. 

There was also formed in this village, a few years since, a 
Catholic Church, whose house of worship is in the north part 
of the village. 






'/&PUyisi (o^^ 7 



Sketch, p 2U2. 



GOSPEL LAND. 209 



GOSPEL LAND. 

In the year 1S20, it was announced by the Agent of the 
Holland Land Company, that one hundred acres of land in 
every town would be given to religious societies. The man- 
ner in which this grant of land was obtained is related by 
Mr. Turner in his History of the Holland Purchase. 

In the fall of 1820, Paul Busti, the General Agent of the 
Company at Philadelphia, while on a visit at Batavia, was 
importuned by a Presbyterian minister from a neighboring 
town, for a donation of land to every society of that persua- 
sion then formed on the Holland Purchase. Mr. Busti was 
for a long time indisposed to grant the request. But the 
Rev. gentleman having urged his suit until the Agent's 
patience was exhausted, the latter firmly replied : " Yes, Mr. 
P., I will give a tract of one hundred acres to a religious 
society in every town on the Purchase; and this is finis" 
But he was unwilling to give preference to any particular 
denomination. "But," said he, "to save contention, I will 
give it to the first religious society in every town." Mr. P., it 
is said, lost no time in communicating the information to the 
Presbyterians in the several towns in his vicinity. Mr. Turner 
proceeds, as follows: 

" The land-office was soon flooded with jjetitions for land 
from societies organized according to law and empowered to 
hold real estate, and from those that were not, one of which 
was presented to Mr. Busti before he left, directed to ' Gen. 
Poll Busti,' on which he insisted, that it could not be from a 
religious society, for all religious societies read their Bibles, 
and know that P o double /, does not spell Paul. Amidst 
this chaos of applications, it was thought unadvisable to be 
precipitant in granting these donations, the whole responsi- 
bility now resting on Mr. Ellicott to comply with the vague 
promise of Mr. Busti. Therefore conveyances of the ' gospel 

14 



210 HISTORY OF WAESAW. 

land ' were not executed for some space of time, notwith- 
standing the clamor of petitioners for 'deeds of our land;' 
during which time the matter was taken into consideration 
and systematized, so far as such an operation could be. Pains 
were taken to ascertain the merits of each application; and 
finally a tract or tracts of land, not exceeding one hundred 
acres in all, were granted, free of expense, to one or more 
religious societies regularly organized according to law in 
each town on the Purchase, where the company had land 
undisposed of, which embraced every town then organized on 
the Purchase, exceyjt Bethany, Genesee county, and Sheldon, 
"Wyoming county; the donees being in all cases allowed to 
select out of the unsold farming land in each town. In some 
towns it was all given to one society; in others, to two or 
three societies, separately; and in a few towns to four societies 
of different sects, twenty-five acres to each." And it is said 
the proceedings were so judiciously managed by Mr. Ellicott, 
that partiality was in no case charged against the agent or 
his assistants. 

The Union Society, (Presbyterian,) had, at the time of 
the Agent's proclamation, been the only legally organized 
society in the town for eight years, and was, it would 
seem, entitled to the land. We have noticed the incorpora- 
tion of the Methodist Church and Society, [p. 18,5.] An old 
member of that society says, that when the Agent's procla- 
mation appeared, the Methodists hastened to effect their 
organization and to get their papers on record, to secure the 
land. "Whether the Presbyterians had previously applied for 
the title, we are not informed; nor do we know how the 
Agent came to divide the land between the two societies. 
Having never heard of any dissatisfaction on the part of either 
society, it is presumed that the division was satisfactory to 
both societies. 



WAR HISTORY. 



211 



WAR HISTORY. 

WAR OF 1812. 

The first war for which troops were raised in Warsaw, was 
the war of 1812, declared by the United States against Great 
Britain. The difficulty, if not impossibility, of obtaining a 
complete list of all who enlisted in that war from this town, 
forbids our going beyond the recollection of some of our old 
settlers, still living. Dea. Samuel Salisbury, who was in the 
war, and a non-commissioned officer of a company of Light 
Infantry, which was called out, and who, after the war, be- 
came its Captain, recalls the names of nearly two-thirds of 
the Company. A few of them — four or five, perhaps — were 
from that part of the town which is now Gainesville, and one or 
two from Middlebury. A few also have been named who 
were of the ununiformed Militia and Cavalry; the latter 
being commanded by Isaac "Wilson, of Middlebury, after- 
wards Judge "Wilson. 

LIGHT INFANTRY. 

Russel Noble, Captain, — -Levi Rice, 

Absalom Green, Lieutenant, John R. Knapp, 

John Seymour, Ensign, Elijah Hammond, 

Chester Warriner. Sergeant, Samuel Spalding. 

John G. Parker, Sergeant, Seymour Ensign, 

George Densmore, Sergeant, Absalom Carpenter, 

Alexander Stone, Fifer, Edmund Curtis, 

Chester Hurd, Drummer, Almerin Curtis, 

Wm. L. Blanchard, Drummer, Timothy Miller, 

Samuel Salisbury, Thomas Stetson, 

Wm. S. Stone, Daniel W. Bannister, 

Alanson Cutting, Ezra B. Warriner, 

Nathan Snow, John Bisby, 

Giles Parker, Isaac Boardman, 

Philip Salisbury, Levi Stearns, 

Robert Burdick, Anson Richards, 

Leverett Hitchcock, Lewis Richards, 

Levi Walker, Green, 

Jeremiah Truesdell, Solomon Truesdell, 

Timothy Truesdell. Colegrove. 



212 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



MILITIA AND CAVALRY. 



Chauncey L. Sheldon, Surgeon, Simeon Hovey, Teamster, 

Daniel Knapp, Adjutant. Suel Hovey, 

Almon Stevens, Serg. Major. Simeon R. Glazier, Cavalry, 

AVru. Knapp, Jun., Quar. Master, William Bristol, Cavalry, 

Josiah Hovey. Captain, Gurdon Hovey, Cavalry, 

Samuel McWhorter, Julius Whitlock, Cavalry. 
Warren Webster, 



AVAR OF THE REBELLION. 

No history of Warsaw would be complete without a record 
of the part borne by her citizens in sustaining the Government 
in its efforts to preserve the Union by suppressing the Great 
Rebellion. Pains have been taken to present, as nearly as 
possible, the names of all who volunteered from this town, 
together with the dates of their enlistment, time of service, 
death or discharge, and other facts relating thereto; also a 
statement of the part taken by our citizens in furnishing vol- 
unteers, and an account of the moneys raised by tax in 
payment of bounties. 

The first rebel gun fired at Fort Sumter, on the morning of 
April 12, 18C1, summoned the startled nation to arms. Three 
days thereafter, President Lincoln issued his Proclamation, in 
which he called for T5,000 volunteers. A public meeting was 
immediately called by the prominent citizens of Warsaw, to 
be held at the Court-IIouse. The following was the call, 
signed by large numbers of men of all parties: 

" Patriots, Pally ! Our Country is in danger. War is 
upon us. Let Wyoming County do her duty. The time has 
come when all persons, without respect to former political 
opinions, should unite in a common effort to maintain our 
national honor and integrity. There will be a meeting at the 
Court-IIouse in Warsaw, on Tuesday evening, the 23d inst., 
at 7 P. M., to take into consideration such measures as the 



WAK HISTORY. 



213 



exigencies of the times and a due regard for the preservation 
of our dearest and cherished institutions demand." 

Such was the patriotic zeal of the young men of the village 
that, without waiting for the action of the meeting, ten of 
them Avent to Buffalo and enlisted in a Regiment there form- 
ing. On the evening of the day named for the meeting, the 
Court House being too small to contain the crowd there 
assembled, the meeting was adjourned to the Court-House 
yard. Thirty responded to the call for volunteers, and en- 
rolled their names for service. A Committee was appointed 
to solicit subscriptions for the support of the families of vol- 
unteers. At the close of the meeting the Committee reported 
the following contributions: 



Augustus Frank, 


. $250 


C. & T. Buxton, . 


$200 


C. W. Bailey, . 


$ 50 


H. L. Cornstock, 


. 100 


B. F. Fargo, . . 


10 


E. E. Farman, . 


50 


George W. Frank, 


50 


Manlius Gay, . 


20 


R. A. Crippen, . 


20 


A. B. Lawrence, 


50 


J. H. Barling, . 


500 


S. C. Allis, . . 


100 


George Buryee, 


. 50 


Amos Otis, . . 


100 


B. B. Conable, . 


100 


F. & E. B. Miller, 


100 


Alonzo Cleveland, 


25 


Artemas Blake, . 


150 


James A. Webster 


10 


B. F. Homer, . . 


20 


Henry Garretsee, 


100 


C. C. Gales, . 


2.3 


Miles H. Morris, 


. 25 


Hiram Stearns, , 


10 


Edmund Buck, . 


10 


O. A. Shaw, 


10 


Godfrey Gates, . 


10 


A. Y. Breck, 


. 25 


Benj. Bisby, 


. 10 


.). Walts, . . . 


25 


Wm. Bingham, . 


. 50 


L. W. Smith, . 


25 


S. Holton. . . 


10 


E. Cook, . . . 


25 


B. Healy, . . 


25 


E. C. Shattuck, . 


20 


Uriah Johnson, 


50 


J. A. McElwain, 


100 


Morris & Lewis, 


100 


L. W. Thayer, . 


. 100 


R. H. Miller, . 


50 


M. L. Rice, . . 


15 


R. E. Munger, . 


. 50 


N. Park, . . 


25 


N. J. Perry, . . 


52 


Wm. Woodward, 


. 10 


James Wilkin, 


25 


S. A. Murray, . 


25 


Geo. W. Parker. 


. 10 


C. L. Seaver, . 


10 


H. C. Edgerly, . 


10 


Philander Truesdc 


11, 10 


E. K. Smith, . 


10 


W. T. Warner, . 


10 


Geo. Brown. 


. 10 


S. Benedict, 


15 







When Harwood A. Dudley, publisher of the Wyoming 
County Mirror, was asked to subscribe, lie arose and said he 
intended to subscribe another paper, which he held in his 
hand. He read an enlistment paper which he immediately 
signed, he being the first man to enlist, Gideon H. Jenkins 
followed, and then others, to the number of thirty, in all, as 
before stated. There was some difficulty in getting orders for 



214 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

marching. After several days' delay, Mr. Dudley, who had 
been elected Lieutenant, went to Albany, and obtained orders 
from the Adjutant-General. He telegraphed Mr. Jenkins, 
who had been chosen Captain, and who hurried off his men 
in the short time elsewhere stated. 

FIRST COMPANY FROM WARSAW. 

In less than a week, a full company was raised and organ- 
ized, with Gideon H. Jenkins as Captain, and Harwood A. 
Dudley as Lieutenant. Warsaw furnished forty-eight men, 
and the adjoining towns twenty-nine. The preparations for 
" marching to the wars," were at once commenced with all 
the earnestness and enthusiasm that characterized the citizens 
throughout the country. The ladies of the village met in 
large numbers to prepare clothing for the volunteers. The 
company remained anxiously awaiting marching orders for 
some days, and the following incident from the Mirror, of 
May 22d, illustrates the spirit in which orders were finally 
received : 

" Quick Time. — The marching orders for the Warsaw Com- 
pany reached here by Express about 4 P. M., on Monday. 
At 5 o'clock Capt. Jenkins had all his men mustered in line, 
ready for service. 

" Capt. Jenkins — ' Boys,' how long time do you want to get 
your baggage ready for a start?' A voice — 'Ten minutes!' 
Another voice said, 'Two minutes !' Capt. Jenkins — 'I will 
give you fifteen minutes, and at the end of that time I want 
every man in his place !' 

"The company then broke line, some to refresh themselves 
with the good things that our kind hearted and thoughtful 
citizens passed to them in baskets through the crowd; some 
to gather their baggage, and some to say 'good bye.' Within 
twenty minutes they were on their march to the railroad, pre- 
ceded by the village Band, and attended by a large crowd of 
our citizens. 

"At the station there was a large assemblage gathered to 
see the volunteers off. Here a beautiful and substantial copy 



WAR HISTORY. 215 

of the New Testament was presented to each one, and appro- 
priate remarks were made by Rev. Mr. Nassau, Rev. Mr. 
Stimson, and Rev. Mr. Williams, of this village." 

The company went to New York, and were attached to the 
17th Regiment, and did valiant service on many hard -fought 
fields. The names are omitted here, as they are given in full 
elsewhere. 

MORE MEN CALLED OUT. 

During the summer, enlistments were made from "Warsaw 
for different regiments, but no active measures were taken to 
raise another company until September of the same year. 
More men had been called for by the President, and again 
they came from all sections, Warsaw being up with the fore- 
most. Rev. TI. K. Stimson, and Lieut. Asa B. Merrill 
recruited a full company of Cavalry, with their headquarters 
here. Warsaw furnished twenty men, and the company was 
attached to the famous 9th Cavalry, and re-enlisted as "Vete- 
rans" at the end of its three years, participating in half-a- 
hundred battles. Capt. W. G. Bentley, and Lieut. W. L. 
Ivnapp, also recruited a company of Cavalry for the same 
Regiment, Warsaw furnishing its full proportion. Lieutenant 
Merrill was soon promoted to a Captaincy, and lost his life 
in the service. (See Sketch.) Capt. Bentley served with dis- 
tinction through the war, losing a leg in battle, and being 
promoted to a Colonelcy for his gallantry. 

THE CVLL OF 1802. 

In the summer of 1862, another call for troops was made, 
and Warsaw, with the other towns of the county, was at once 
aroused. Warsaw's quota was ninety- three men. A town 
bounty of $60, in addition to national, state, and county 
bounties, was pledged by subscriptions. In August, Capt. J. 
W. Ivnapp commenced recruiting a company for the 130th 
Regiment, afterwards the historic ,(, lst Dragoons," and made 
rapid progress, securing thirty in one day. His ranks were 
soon filled, and contained six officers and thirty privates from 



216 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Warsaw. Capt. Knapp served faithfully to the end of the 
war; was promoted to be Major, and afterward, deservedly, 
breveted Colonel. Captains II. B. Jenks and Augustus Har- 
rington, also speedily recruited companies for the 136th Regi- 
ment. The former contained seven officers and thirty men 
from Warsaw, and the latter three officers and seven men. 
In furtherance of these efforts, large and spirited meetings 
were hold at different times, and the town's quota was 
speedily filled. The women were equally active with the men, 
especially in aiding the soldiers already in the field, as will 
be seen by the following extract from the Mirror of Sept. 1862: 
'The ladies and children of our town have been quite indus- 
trious the past week, in preparing and sending off hospital 
stores. Six large boxes have gone, filled with comforts for the 
sick and wounded." 

A TOUCHING SCENE. 

Several of those who went from Warsaw, had lost their 
lives; and their bodies had been sent home for burial. One 
of the most touching incidents of the war is related, by a 
fellow-soldier, of Charles E. Bills, a member of Capt. Jen- 
kins' Company. Although it has been widely published, we 
give it a place in our record. It was written for the press by 
a gentleman to whom it was related by the soldier above 
alluded to, after his return: 

"I was in the hospital as nurse for a long time.'' said the soldier, "and 
assisted in taking off limbs and dressing all sorts of wounds; but the hardest 
thing I ever did was to take my thumb off a man's leg." 

••Ah!" said I, •• how was that?" Then he told me. 

"It was a young man who had a severe wound in the thigh. The ball 
passed completely through, and amputation was necessary. The limb was cut 
off close up to the body, the arteries taken up. and. he seemed to be doing 
well. Subsequently one of the small arteries sloughed off. An incision was 
made and it was again taken up. ' It is well it was not the main artery,' said 
the surgeon as he performed the operation; 'he might have bled to death 
before it could be taken up.* But Charley got on finely, and was a favorite 
with us all. 

'•I was passing through the ward one night, about midnight, when suddenly 
as I was passing Charley's led he spoke to me: 'II , my leg is bleeding 



WAR HISTORY. 217 

again.' I threw back the bed clothes, and the blood spirted in the air. The 
main artery had sloughed off. 

" Fortunately I knew just what to do, and in an instant I had pressed my 
thumb on the place and stopped the bleeding. It was so close to the body that 
there was barely room for my thumb, but I succeeded in keeping it there, and 
arousing one of the convalescents, sent him for the surgeon, who came in on 

the run. ' I am so thankful, H ,' said he as he saw me, 'that you were 

up and knew what to do, for he must have bled to death before I could have 
got here.' 

•* But on examination of the case he looked exceedingly serious, and sent out 
for other surgeons. All came who were within reach, and a consultation was 
held over the poor fellow. One conclusion was reached by all. There was no 
place to work save the spot where my thumb was placed ; they could not work 
under my thumb, and if I moved it he would bleed to death before the artery 
could be taken up. There was no way to save his life! 

''Poor Charley! He was very calm when they told him, and requested 
that his brother, who was in the same hospital, might be called up. He came 
and sat down by the bed-side, and for three hours I stood, and by the pressure 
of my thumb kept up the life of Charley, while the brothers held their last 
conversation on earth. It was a strange place for me to be in, to feel that I 
held the life of a fellow mortal in my hands, as it were, and stranger yet, to 
feel that an act of mine must cause that life to depart. Loving the poor fel- 
low as I did, it was a hard thought; but there was no alternative. 

"The last words were spoken. Charley had arranged all his business 
affairs, and sent tender messages to absent ones, who little dreamed how near 
their loved one stood to the grave. The tears tilled my eyes more than once 
as I listened to those parting words. All were sad, and he turned to me. 

'Now H , I guess you had better take off your thumb.' '0, Charley! how 

can I?' said I. ' But it must be, you know,' he replied cheerfully. 'I thank 
you very much for your kindness, and now, good b3'e.' 

" He turned away his head, I raised my thumb, once more the life current 
gushed forth, and in three minutes poor Charlie was dead." 

RETURN OF VOLUNTEERS. 

The men of Company K. Laving enlisted for two years, 
their time expired in April, 1863. In anticipation of their 
return, the citizens of Warsaw met at the Court- House to 
make arrangements for a proper reception of the company. 
A committee of reception, a committee to provide entertain- 
ment, a marshal and an assistant, a speaker to pronounce the 
welcome, and a chaplain, were appointed. Delay in obtain- 
ing their discharge papers and other causes, prevented their 
return until the 10th of June. The committee of reception 



21S HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

met them at Portage. On their arrival at the Warsaw 
station, they were greeted by the multitude there assembled, 
with great enthusiasm. The soldiers soon formed in line, and 
a procession and escort were formed, and led by the "Warsaw 
Band through the Gulf and Buffalo and Main streets, to the 
Court-Honse, where a still larger number awaited their arrival. 
They were appropriately addressed by the speaker, who was 
responded to by Capt. A. M. Whaley, who had succeeded 
Capt. Jenkins in command, the latter having previously 
returned with seriously impaired health. After the exercises 
were closed, the soldiers and their friends repaired to the 
table bountifully supplied by the committee of entertainment. 

The company had at different times on its rolls about one 
hundred names. Only thirty or thirty-five of its members 
were left. Fifteen had died on the field or in hospitals; and 
many had been discharged. 

In the summer of 1863, seventy -five more men were recniired 
from Warsaw under the call for 300,000. By the law of 
Congress they were permitted to secure exemption by the 
payment of 8300 commutation, or by furnishing a substitute. 
Volunteering and substitution reduced the number to ten at 
the time the draft was enforced, and this number was made 
up, so that there are no records of any drafted men going to 
the war from this town. 

SANITARY FAIR. 

In February, 1864, the citizens held a Festival for the- 
Sanitary Commission. The large show-rooms of the Messrs. 
Buxton's Wagon Manufactory were cleared out, decorated 
and fitted up for the occasion. On the lower floor refresh- 
ments were served, and in the second story an exhibition of 
tableaux and a concert by home musical talent were given. 
The amount realized for aiding the noble work of the Com- 
mission, was Seven Hundred and Fifty Dollars. 

Our citizens, during the entire period of the war, con- 
tributed greatly, in various ways, to the comfort of the soldiers 



WAR. HISTORY. 219 

in the field and in the hospitals. Boxes filled with provisions 
and clothing, snch as the government was not required to 
furnish, were frequently sent. The ladies especially were 
active in the good work. They held frequent meetings, and 
by their "Aid Societies " did much to mitigate the sufferino-s 
of the brave defenders of the Union, and to cheer them on in 
the sanguinary conflict. 

In the winter of lS63-'6-± President Lincoln issued calls for 
500,000 men, ordering a draft if the required number should 
not be furnished. The draft was postponed, and at a special 
town meeting held June 21, 1801, it was voted to pay a town 
bounty of from $300 to $500, at the discretion of the Super- 
visor to all volunteers enlisting during the remainder of 
the year. Only six votes were cast against the proposition. 
Recruiting was kept up steadily for the old regiments in the 
field, and before the day of the draft, Warsaw's quota was 
filled. 

On the 18th day of July, 1864, President Lincoln issued 
his call for 500,000 more volunteers, and ordered a draft to 
be made on the 5th day of September, for the deficiencies. 
The commutation clause had been repealed. Warsaw's 
quota was seventy-one. Twenty-five citizens, some of them 
exempt under the law, at once put in personal substitutes — • 
paying from 8600 to $1000 each. Before the day set for the 
draft, the town's quota was again full. 

One more call was issued by the President for 300,000 
men for one year. But to this number Warsaw was not 
required to contribute. An unusually large proportion of her 
men had enlisted for three years; and the average term of 
their enlistments so far exceeded that of the enlistments in 
other sections, as to exempt her from further requisitions. 

At the commencement of the war, enlistments were made 
without the offer of bounties. As the rebellion became more 
formidable and the calls for men frequent, it became neces- 
sary not only to pay bounties in order to raise men, but to 
increase their amount at each successive call. From fifty to 



2-20 



HISTORY OF WARSAW, 



four hundred dollars per man was paid by our citizens, in 
addition to the sums paid by the county, the state, and the 
general government. Yet every call of the government was 
answered; and the largest sums that had to be raised were 
obtained, and in most cases cheerfully paid, whether by vol- 
untary contribution or otherwise. 

The following sums were levied upon the taxable property 
of the town: 

1864, March— Special County Bounty Tax $ 9.331 

1864, Nov.— Annual " ' ; «' 7,540 

" " Town War Bonds " 8,125 

1865, May — Special County Bounty •• 17,155 

" Nov.— Annual «' " " 3,300 

1866, May— Special " " •' 15,359 

$60,810 
In addition to the above amount raised by taxation, the 
town paid 810,956 as town bounties, which was refunded by 
the state. Considerable sums were also paid by voluntary 
subscriptions for bounties, and for the support of volunteers' 
families. By thus " paying as they went," the authorities 
brought the town free from debt shortly after the war closed. 
The same was true of the county — something that scarcely 
any other town or county in the state could boast of. 

CLOSE OF THE WAR. 

On Monday morning, April 10, 1S05, the news of the sur- 
render of the rebel army under Lee to the Union forces under 
Gen. Grant, reached Warsaw. The "Western New Yorker of 
Thursday, thus described the celebration of the event by the 
citizens: 

" The celebration over the news of Lee's surrender was an 
occasion never to be forgotten by those of our citizens who 
joined in it, or who witnessed its varied proceedings. The 
news was received at an early hour Monday morning, and 
soon every bell was ringing, the cannons roaring, two large 
flags were hung across the street, and smaller ones from nearly 
every building, as the joyous news passed rapidly around. 



WAR HISTORY. 221 

Main street soon grew , crowded and noisy, men and boys 
rushed up and down cheering and shouting. A procession 
was formed — impromptu, like everything else — and marched 
up and down the principal streets — bringing everybody to 
the open doors to wave flags and join in the general jubilee. 
Halting in front of Bingham's Hotel, brief and appropriate 
speeches of congratulation were made, interspersed with the 
readiest and heartiest cheers. Proceedings of this character 
proceeded uninterruptedly until noon. But the evening's 
jubilee eclipsed anything ever witnessed in our town. In 
accordance with a printed notice circulated in the afternoon, 
an immense meeting assembled at the Court-House at 7 
o'clock, and was addressed in an appropriate and stirring 
manner by Judge Comstock, Hon. Augustus Frank, L. ~W. 
Thayer, Esq., Hon. Byron Healy, Bev. Joseph E. jSTassau, F. 
F. Fargo, Esq., L. W. Smith, Esq., and Bev. J. C. Bills. 

"Patriotic airs were sung, and after an hour and a half 
the crowd adjourned to mingle with the larger gathering in 
the streets. A huge bonfire blazed on the corner of Main 
and Buffalo streets. In addition, there was a splendid gen- 
eral illumination. The Main street fronts were decked out in 
red, white and blue, and radiant with candles and lamps. 
Most of the dwellings were illuminated— many with brilliant 
effect. Rockets were streaming skyward, and the celebration 
of the great national victory was participated in by all." 

Although the war was considered closed at or soon after 
Lee's surrender, several months elapsed before the soldiers 
were all regularly mustered out of service. Many did not 
return to their homes until July. 

The following list contains the names of all who, at the 
time of their enlistment, were residents of "Warsaw, though 
they enlisted elsewhere. Those from other towns, who en- 
listed here, are not included. Although great pains have 
been taken to make the list full and correct, a few names may 
have been omitted; and it may be found to contain some 
slight inaccuracies : 



900, 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Charles Agar, Private, 17th Reg., .Company K, Vol. Enlisted May 21, 
1861; 2 years. Discharged in July, 1861, on account of sickness. 

Jesse Albro, Private, 1st Reg. N. Y. Dragoons, Aug. 15, 1862; 3 years. 
Taken prisoner May 11, 1863; 7 months in prison; served 2 years and 10 
months. 

George Armstrong, Private, 17th Reg't N. Y. Infantry, Co. K; enlisted 
May 20, 1861; 2 years; served 2 years; died from disease acquired in the 
army. 

John Aikin, Private, 8th Reg't, N. Y. Artillery; enlisted Jan. 4, 1864; 3 
years; served 16 months. 

Algeroy Aikin, Private, 104th Reg't X. Y. Volunteers; enlisted Feb. 7, 
1862; 3 years; served 14 months. 

James Allen, Private, 9th Reg't N. Y. Cavalry; enlisted Oct., 1861; 3 years; 
died at Washington, of wounds, Aug., 1S63. Buried at Warsaw. 

Frank S. Austin, Corporal, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861; 2 years. 

John J. Baker, Jr., Private, 106th Reg't N. Y. Infantry; enlisted Aug. 16, 
1862; 3 years. Discharged after 7 months for disability. 

Henry Baker, Private, 136th Reg't N. Y. Infantry; enlisted Aug. 26, 1862; 
3 years. Discharged June 13, 1865. In a number of battles. 

Riley R. Baker, Private, 17th Reg't Co. K; enlisted May 21, 1861; re-en- 
listed Oct. 10, 1861, in the same company, and served 3 years. Discharged 
Oct. 18, 1864. 

Robert Barnett, Jr., Private, 1st Reg't N. Y. Dragoons, Co. D; enlisted 
Aug. 11, 1862; 3 years. Lost a leg at the battle of Strasburg, Oct. 14, 1864. 
Discharged Aug., 1865. 

George Baker, Private, 17th Reg't N. Y. Infantry, Co. K; enlisted May, 
1861 ; 2 years. 

James Baker, Private, 136th Reg't X. Y. Infantry, Co. D; enlisted May 12, 
1862; 3 years. Promoted to Corporal, then to Sergeant, then to 1st Sergeant. 
Discharged with the Regiment. 

John Bannan, 1st Sergeant, 136th Reg't X. Y. Infantry; enlisted Aug. 7, 
1863; 3 years; served 2 years and 9 months. Was twice wounded, once se- 
verely. 

Cosam Tallyrand Bartlett, Xavy, Aug. 1862; promoted to ordinary seaman; 
discharged Sept., 1863. 

Myron E. Bartlett, 1st Lieutenant, 136th X. Y. Infantry, Co. D; enlisted 
Sept. 2, 1862; 3 years. Discharged from hospital Dec. 26, 1862. 

Wallace Alexander Bartlett, Sharpshooters, Xov., 1862; 3 years; wounded 
in the Seven ©ays' Battles in the Wilderness; sent to the hospital at Freder- 
icksburg; taken prisoner at Weldon Railroad; sent to Salisbury and other 
prisons; paroled and exchanged. Re-enlisted as Lieutenant in United States 
service, Co. R, May 1865, and served in Texas. 

George M. Bassett, enlisted for 2 years in Co. C, 21st Reg't X. Y. Volun- 
teers, May 7, 1861; was wounded in the battle of Antictam, Sept. 17, 1862; 
discharged May 18. 1863. 



WAK HISTORY. 



223 



William R. Benchley, 17th Infantry, May 1861; 2 years. Died at Savage 
Station. 

Jared M. Bills, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862; 3 years. Promoted to 2d 
Lieutenant, then to 1st Lieutenant. Resigned January 1861:, on account of 
disability. 

C. W. Bisby, 1st Sergeant, 7th N. G., Co. H. June, 1863, 1 month. 

Galusha W. Blowers, 9th Cavalry, Co. A, Sept., 1861, 3 years. Served 10 
months. Died Aug 7, 1862, of disease acquired in the army. 

Edwin H. Beardsley, 2d Sergeant, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861; 2 
years. Promoted to Quarter-Master Sergeant, Sergeant Major, 2d Lieutenant, 
1st Lieutenant. Commander Ambulance of Corps the last year. 

William W. Bartlett, Private, 136th Reg't N. Y. Infantry, Aug. 11, 1862; 3 
years; served 2 years; discharged for disability, Sept. 12, 1864. 

Charles S. Bassett, Private, 136th Reg't N. Y. Infantry, Co. E, Sept., 1S62; 
3 years. Discharged Jan. 1863 for disability; re-enlisted in 1st Reg't Veteran 
Cavalry, Sept. 15, 1863, 3 years; was at the battle of Newmarket; discharged 
July 20, 1865. 

Willard W. Beardsley, Private, 13th Reg't U. S. Infantry, Oct. 11, 1861; 
3 years; served 31 months. 

Edward R. Benedict, Private, 9th N. Y. Cavalry, Co. A, Sept. 20, 1861; 3 
years; discharged April, 1862. 

Charles C. Bishop, Corporal, 8th N. Y. Artillery, Jan., 1864; 3 years; died 
at Washington from wounds in battle. 

James D. Bishop, Corporal, 1st N. Y. Dragoons, Aug., 1862; 3 years; 
wounded June, 1863; promoted to Sergeant July, 1861; discharged June 30, 
1865. In service 2 years and 10 months. 

Norton C. Bradish, Private, 1st N. Y. Dragoons, Aug. 11, 1S62; 3 years; 
discharged for disability at Suffolk, Va., Dec, 1863. Served 1 year. 5 months. 
Health impaired. 

Michael Burke, 2d, Private, 8th N. Y. Artillery, Co. M, Jan. 5, 1864; 3 
years. Transferred to 10th N. Y. Veterans; served 1 year and 8 months. 

Edward W. Burns, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862; 3 years. Served 2 
years and 9 months. Discharged June 13, 1865. 

James Campbell, Private, N. Y. Colored, Dec, 1863; 3 years. 

Martin Carpenter, Private, 136th N. Y. Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862; 
Discharged June, 1865. 

Daniel S. Carroll, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1S62; 3 years. Promoted 
to 3d Sergeant, then to 2d. Served 2 years and 10 months. Discharged June, 
1865. 

Robert J. Cochran, Private, 9th Cavalry, Dec, 1863; 3 years. Discharged, 
and re-enlisted in the same regiment. Discharged, May, 1865. 

John Crist, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862; 3 years. Promoted 
to Corporal. Discharged, June, 1863. 

Alexander R. Chichester, Private, 9th Cavalry, Co. H, Oct., 1861. Dis- 
charged, April, 1S62. 



224 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Lewis E. Clement, Private, 8th Artillery, Co. M. Jan., 18G4, 3 years. Dis- 
charged, July, 1865. 

Charles Coffee, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E. Sept., 1862. Discharged, 
May, 18G3. 

Patrick Henry Cofield, Private. 9th Cavalry, Co. A, Sept., 1861; 3 years. 
Discharged, Dec, 18G4. 

Abner Cole, Corporal, 9th Cavalry, Sept., 1864; 1 year. Served 8 months. 

Francis T. Colt, Private, 9th Cavalry, Feb., 1864. Served through the war. 

Homer G. Curtis, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861; 2 years. 
Wounded at Cold Harbor, June 3, 18G3. Served 2 years: re-enlisted in 8th 
N. Y. Artillery, Dec, 1863; promoted to Sergeant, and to 2d Lieutenant. 
Discharged, June 12, 1865. 

Spencer Cronkhite, Private, 9th Cavalry, Co. A, Sept., 1861, 3 years— pro- 
moted to Sergeant, and to 1st Sergeant; wounded at Beverly Ford, Jan.. 1863; 
discharged Oct. 27, 1864. 

Charles B. Darling, Sergeant 1st Dragoons, Co. D, Aug. 1862, 3 years- 
promoted to Quarter-master Sergeant; was in 31 battles; died of disease in 
camp near Winchester, Ya., Dec. 14, 1864. 

James M. Davidson, Musician, 14th Heavy Artillery, Jan. 1S64, 3 years- 
served 1 year and 4 months. 

Benj. F. Draper, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 18G3; served 1 year and 9 
months; enlisted in 1st Veteran Cavalry, Oct., 1863; 2 years. 

Myron Draper, Private 136th Infantry, Aug., 1862; discharged June 

30, 1865. 

Paul P. Draper, Sergeant 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; discharged 
June or July, 1865. 

Charles Dresher, Private 136th Infantry, Aug., 1862, 3 years; wounded at 
Averysboro, N. C, March, 1865; discharged from hospital at Rochester, June 
29, 18G5. 

Harwood A. Dudley, 1st Lieutenant 17th Infantry, May, 1861; resigned 
Dec, 1861; honorably discharged. 

William Everiugham, Private 17th Infantry, Co. E. Aug., 1862, 3 years; 
promoted to Corporal, then to Sergeant; was in 23 battles; discharged June, 
is (-.:>. 

Carlos Evans, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years. Died at Suffolk, Ya., 
Nov., 1862. 

Eugene Edson, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1862, 2 years. Discharged, date 
not known. 

Edwin P. Fanning, Private 21st Buffalo Infantry, April, 1861; discharged 
after 7 months' service; re-enlisted Aug.. 1862, in 1st Dragoons, Co. D; dis- 
charged July. 1865. 

Wm. H. H. Fargo, Private 9th Cavalry, Co. II, Feb., 1864. 3 years; pro- 
moted to Sergeant; taken prisoner near Woodstock; discharged Sept., 1865. 

Leonard Filkins, Private 199th Pennsylvania Volunteers, Sept., 1864, 3 
years; re-enlisted. 

Dennis Finnegan, Private 24th Battery, March 30, 1SG4; 3 years. 



WAR HISTORY. 225 

Henry H. Firman, Private, 1st Veteran Cavalry, Co. D, Aug., 1SG3; re- 
enlisted Oct., 1863; discharged Aug. 1, 1865. 

Horace Firman, Private, 21st Veteran Cavalry, Aug., 1861, 3 years; served 
3 years; re-enlisted April 12, 1864. 

Christopher Fisher, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862; slightly 
wounded at Resaca, and taken prisoner March, 1864; discharged June, 1865. 

Wm. H.Fisk. Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 2 
years; wounded severely. 

Samuel Mills Fisher, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; transferred 
to V. R. Corps Feb., 1865; served 2 years and 10 months. 

Milton E. Foskett, Private, 130th Infantry, Co. E, Sept., 1862, 3 years; 
wounded at Gettysburg July 2. 1863; discharged June 13, 1865. 

Frederick Franklin, Private, 100th Infantry, Jan., 1865, 1 year; served as a 
substitute 5 months. 

Charles Gath, Private, 136th Infantry, Aug., 1862, Co. E, 3 years; killed at 
Resaca, May IS, 1864; buried at Kingston, June 24, 1864. 

Henry M. Gay, Private, 1st Dragoons, Co. D, August, 1862, 3 years; killed 
at Trevallion Station, June 12, 1864. 

Manlius Gay, Private, 136th Infantry, Aug., 1862, 2 years; died in Canada, 
Dec, 1864; buried in Middlebury. 

John Geyer, Private, 136th Infantry, Aug., 1862, 3 years; promoted to Cor- 
poral Oct. 1, 1864, at Atlanta; discharged June 13, 1865. 

George Gibson, Private, 8th Artillery, Co. B, Dec. 1.863, 3 years; wounded 
in the hip at Petersburg; discharged April, 1865; health impaired. 

Sullivan Gibson, Private, 104th Wadsworth Guards, Co. D, Oct., 1861,3 
years; discharged after 8 months' service; re-enlisted in 1st Dragoons. 

Andrew J. Gliss, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug. 1862, 3 years; served IS 
months; discharged from hospital, date unknown. 

Joseph Gliss, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, June, 1S62; killed in 2d Bull 
Run battle. 

Alexander Granger, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; was in all 
the battles of the regiment; discharged June 30, 1S65. 

Reuben Gray, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862, 3 years; dis- 
charged March, 1863. 

Thomas B. Guard, Sergeant, 9th Cavalry, Oct., 1861, 3 years; served 1 year. 

Wm. T. Graves, Private, 1st Dragoons, Co. D, Aug., 1862, 3 years; dis- 
charged Jan. 27, 1864, on account of disability. 

John Hannegan, Private, 9th Cavalry, Feb., 1864, 3 years; served 1 year 
and 6 months. 

James Hannegan, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862, 3 years; pro- 
moted to Corporal, then to Sergeant; killed in battle of Gettysburg, July, 
1S63, and buried there. 

Robert Harty, Corporal, 26th Battery, Oct., 1862, 3 year^- served 2 years. 

Daniel Hermann, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Sept., 1862, 3 years; 
served 2 years and 4 months. 

15 



226 HISTORY OF WARS AAV. 

John Hermann, Private, 1st Dragoons. Co. D, Aug., 1862, 3 years; slightly 
■wounded; discharged July 17, 1865. 

Henry Hibbard, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; promoted to Sergeant; 
date of discharge unknown. 

Homer 0. Holly, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862. 3 years; promoted to 
Com. Sergeant; served nearly 3 years; discharged July, 1865. 

Augustus Harrington, Captain, 13Gth Infantry, August, 1862; 3 years. 
Resigned. 

Marquis F. Holton, Private 1st Dragoons, Co. D., August, 1S62; 3 years. 
Discharged June 30, 1SC5. 

Henry H. Holton, Private, 13th Heavy Artillery, Sept., 1864; 1 year. Dis- 
charged June, 1865. 

Alfred W. Hoyt, Sergeant, 8th Heavy Artillery, Co. M., Dec. 29, 1863; 3 
years. In battles of Spotsylvania. North Ann, Cold Harbor, <fcc. Discharged 
from hospital June 13th, 1865; health impaired. 

Edwin T. M. Hurlburt, Corporal, Rock. Battallion, Aug. 1861; 3 years. 
Hospital Steward and Ass't Surgeon. Discharged April, 1865. 

Milton W. Hurlburt, Musician, 8th Heavy Artillery, Co. M., Jan. 1, 1864; 
3 years. Discharged June, 1863. 

William Hutton, Private, 5th Cavalry. Co. F., Sept. 1861; 3 years. Dis- 
charged Nov. 20, 1861. 

ii, Edward Harty, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Served about 6 
months; discharged for disability. 

Willard L. Hitchcock, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. 

Gideon H. Jenkins, Captain, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May 1861; 2 years. 
Served 7 months; health impaired, and honorably discharged. 

Adelbert H. Jenkins. 3d Sergeant, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861 ; 2 years. 
Discharged June, 1863. 

Charles V. Jenkins, 1st Sergeant 17th Infantry, Co. K.. May. 1861; 2 years. 
Discharged Nov. 1861, for disability. 

Henry B. Jenks, Captain, 136th Infantry, Co. E., Sept. 18G2; 3 years. Re- 
signed March 13, 1863, and honorably discharged. 

Prank II. Johnson, Private, 17th Infantry, May 1861; 2 years. Served 2 
years. 

Jason M. Johnson, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May 1861; 2 years. Discharged 
at Fort Ellsworth ; sick with fever; since dead. 

Willard Joslyn, 136th Infantry, Co. E., Aug., 1862; 3 years. Served 10 
months. 

Abraham Ennis Keeney, Corporal, Sth Heavy Artillery, Dec. 1863; 3 years. 
Died in Warsaw while on a furlough, Nov. 8, 1864, of sickness acquired in the 
army. 

Jeremiah Keeney, Private, 75th Infantry, May, 1862; 3 years. Served 2 
years, 6 months. 

J. L. Kendrick, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K.. July 1861; 2 years. Served 
15 months, hospital clerk. 

Jerome Kimball, 1st Dragoons, March 1864; 3 years. 



WAS HISTORY. 227 

Jacob W. Knapp, Captain, 1st Dragoons, Aug. 1862; 3 years. Served 2 
years, 9 months. Promoted to Major, and since, by brevet, to Colonel. He 
was in the battles of Deserted Farm, Todd's Tavern, Shepardstown, Tra- 
vellion Station, Hanover Junction, Smithfield, Cedar Creek, Winchester, 
Somerset, Five Forks, Dinwiddie, Appomattox, and others. Captain 
Knapp' s Company belonged to the I30tk Regiment of Infantry when enlisted 
in Aug., 1862; was changed to Cavalry, Aug., 1863; and to 1st N. Y. Dra- 
goons, Nov., 18C3. In this record they are designated only as the 1st Dra- 
goons. 

Augustus F. Knapp, Private, 1st Dragoons, Feb., 1864; 3 years. Promoted 
to Corporal; discharged Juno 30, 1865. 

Lucien P. Knapp, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861; 2 years. 
Served out the term; re-enlisted Aug. 1864, 1 year, and served 9 months. 

Thomas E. Knapp, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861; 2 years. 
Served 7 months. 

Frank Lamphere, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861; 2 years. 
Served G months. 

Reuben B. Lane, 136th Infantry, Co. E., Sept., 1862; 3 years. Discharged 
April, 1863; cause, loss of wife. 

Edwin M. Lemon, Private, 9th Cavalry, Oct. 1S61; 3 years. Discharged 
April 10, 1862. 

Ira Lounsbury, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May 1861; 2 years. Served 
out the term, and died since. 

Austin "W. Lathrop, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E., Aug. 1862; 3 years. 
Discharged June 13, 1865. 

Abraham B. Lawrence, Quarter Master, Aug. 28, 1862; 3 years. Twice 
promoted in Quarter-Masters department; present rank Lt. Colonel. 

Asa Luther, Private, 5th Cavalry, Co, F., Sept. 1861; 3 years. Promoted 
to Sergeant; taken prisoner and confined at Andersonville 9 months; dis- 
charged Feb., 1865. 

Ellis Luther,* 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861; 2 years. Discharged in 
about 1 year. 

Henry Lamphere, (not on book.) 

Mills "W. Marchant, Private, 1st Dragoons, May, 1862; 3 years. Promoted to 
Corporal; wounded at Five Forks April 1, 1865; discharged June 19, 1865. 

John Mack, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., July 1861; 2 years. Served out 
term, and discharged. 

Wm.] D. Martin, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1862; 2 years. Served out 
the term; re-enlisted in 8th Artillery, December 25, 1863, 3 years, and dis- 
charged July 11, 1865. 

George F. Martin, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1S61 ; 2 years. 
Killed at 2d Bull Run battle, Aug. 30, 1862. 

Hector C. Martin, 24th Bat., Oct. 1861; 3 years. Died at Anderson- 
ville, Aug. 7, 1864, and buried there. 

Adelbert Mosher, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K., May, 1861; 2 years. 
Health impaired, and discharged. 



22S HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

John P. Murray, Private, 136th Infantry. Co. E., Sept., 18G2; 3 years. Dis. 
charged Dec., 1S62, for disability. Enlisted Aug. 1863, in 1st Veteran Cav- 
alry; discharged June 14, 1865. 

Samuel K. Munger, Private, 9th Cavalry, Co. H., Oct., 1861; 3 years. Dis- 
chagred after 3 months for disability. 

Porter B. Munger, Private, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1882; 3 years. Mustered 
out May 22, 1865, at Washington, in compliance with a telegram from the 
War Department, dated May 5, 1865. 

Silas C. Maynard, Private, 9th Cavalry, Jan. 30, 1861; 3 years. 

Wm. G. Meacham, Ass' t Surgeon, 162d Infantry, Aug., 1864; 3 years. 
Served 7 months. 

Asa B. Merrill, 9th Cavalry, Oct., 1861; 3 years. Promoted to Captain, 
May, 1862; was at the seige of Yorktown; and died of typhoid fever at the 
Patent Office Hospital, June 23, 1861; buried at Warsaw. 

Jesse J. Mattocks, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Served about 
6 months. Discharged for disability. 

Oscar Nicholson, Corporal, 17 th Infantry, Co. K.May, 1861; 2 years. Pro- 
moted to Hospital Steward, December 6, 1861. Discharged June 6, 1863. 

Edward O'Maley, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1863, 3 years. Pro- 
moted to Corporal; discharged June 13, 1865. 

William Parker, Private, 17lli Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Dis- 
charged, June 22, 1863. 

Timothy Peasley, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years. Died of disease at 
Suffolk. Date unknown. 

Augustus C. Parker, Private, 9th Cavalry, Co. A, Sept., 1861, 3 years. Dis- 
charged April 8, 1862. 

Jobn Parkins, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862. 3 years. Died of wounds received 
in battle at Winchester. 

Cyrus 0. Peck. Sergeant, 9th Cavalry, Oct., 1S61, 3 years. Served 1 year 
and 7 months. Health impaired; since died. 

Daniel W. Peck, Private, 2d Mounted Rifles. Served about 1 year and 6 
months. 

Elisha S. Peck, Private, 9th Cavalry, Oct., 1861. Died in hospital of 
wounds received in battle. 

Charles A. Partridge, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1863, 2 years. 

William Poland, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Re- 
mained in service 2 years; in Hospital 10 months. 

Marvin Preston, Private, 2d Mounted Rifles, Jan., 1863. 

John F. Putney, 136th Infantry, 1862, 3 years; discharged after peace. 

Lucien H. Post, Corporal, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Pro- 
moted to 1st Sergeant. After being wounded at Bull Run, promoted to 2d 
Lieutenant. 

David P. Rood, 63d N. Y. Volunteers, Co. F, Feb. 29, 1864, 3 years. Pro- 
moted to Sergeant, then to 2d Lieutenant. Wounded at the battle of Cold 
Harbor; discharged Sept. 14, 1864. 



WAR HISTORY. 



229 



Charles E. Relyea, Private, 179th Infantry, April, 18G3; 3 years. 

George M. Relyea, Private, 179th Infantry, April, 1864,3 years; discharged 
Sept., 1865. 

Edwin Relyea, Private, May, 18(54; died at Andersonville, Oct. 31, 18£4. 

John T. Renyck, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; wounded at 2d 
Bull Run battle; did not serve afterwards. 

Jerry Robetoy, 1st Dragoons, March, 1864, 3 years; discharged July 17, 
1865. 

Hopkins Salisbury, Private, 1st Dragoons. Co. D, Aug., 1862, 3 years. 
Wounded at the battle of Deserted House, Jan. 31, 1863, and discharged. 

Augustus Sattyr, Private. 17th infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 
2 years, and discharged. Re-enlisted in 147th Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, 
and discharged July 15, 1865. In Sherman's campaign. 

Alburtis Samruis, Private, 8th Artillery, Jan., 1864, 3 years; died at David's 
Island, of sickness in the army. 

Thomas J. Scribner, Private, 8th Artillery, Dec, 1863, 3 years. Served 8 
months. 

Jacob Sherwin, Private, 9th Cavalry, Wagoner, Sept., 1861,2 years; served 
6 months. 

Andrew J. Simons, Private, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862, 3 years; 
s erved 7 months. 

Warren A. Simons, Private, 9th Cavalry, Co. II, Oct., 1861, 3 years; served 
6 months. 

James H. Smith, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 1 month* 
and enlisted in 1st Veteran Cavalry, Oct., 1863, 3 years. 

John J. Smith, 136th Infantry, Sept., 1864, 1 year; served 9 months. 

William D. Smith, 136th Infantry, Sept., 1864, 1 year; served 9 months. 

Anson J. Smith, Sergeant, 1st Dragoons, Co. D, Aug., 1862, 3 years; served 
2 years and 10 mouths. 

Henry Snyder, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May 16, 1861, 2 years; served 
2 years; was wounded in 2d Bull Run battle. 

WilberH. Snyder, Private, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; died 
in Hospital at Alexandria, Va., of disease acquired in the army. 

George D. Slocum, Surgeon, U. S. Navy, Nov., 1861; resigned and dis- 
charged about Feb., 1866. 

Arthur L. Spoor, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; went into Hospital. 

Augustus F. Steele, 1st Dragoons, Co. D, Aug., 1862; discharged June 30, 
1865. 

Byron L. Stearns, 9th Cavalry. Co. G, Oct., 1861, 3 years; served 1 year 
and 6 months; discharged for disability. 

Augustus Stearns, 136th Infantry, Co. II. Aug., 28, 1862, 3 years; dis- 
charged after 4 months; wounded in wrist while on picket guard at Fairfax. 

William W. Stearns, 17th Infantry, Co. K. May, 1861, 2 years; discharged 
April 9, 1863, for disability; enlisted Dec. 29, 1863, in Sth Heavy Artillery; 
promoted to 2d Lieutenant; discharged Jan. 21, 1865, by reason of wounds at 
Cold Harbor, 



230 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Charles Stevens, 136ch Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862, 3 years; promoted to 
Sergeant, Sept., 1862; discharged at Atlanta, Oct., 1864, for disability. 

Hosea Stewart, 5th Cavalry, Co. F, Sept., 1861, 3 years; discharged Nov. 
20, 1864 ; slightly wounded. 

James A. Stow, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug. 22, 1862, 3 years; wounded at 
Gettysburg, July 3, 1863; discharged May, 1865. 

Alfred Standish, Corporal, 9th Cavalry, Sept. 30, 1861, 3 years; died in 
Warsaw, Aug. 28, 1864, of sickness acquired in the army. 

Hiram K. Stimson, Captain 9th Cavalry, Co. A, Sept., 1861, 3 years; raised 
a company, served a year or two, and resigned. 

Wm. Thompson, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; transferred to 2d U. S. 
Artillery, Sept. 20, 1862; served 2 years and 9 months. 

John Streamer, 2d Mounted Rifles, Jan., 1864, 3 years; served 1 year and 
6 months. 

John J. Streamer, 2d Mounted Rifles, Jan., 1864, 3 years. 

John Tuite, 136th Infantry, Co. E, Aug., 1862, 3 years; wounded at Re- 
saca, May 15, 1864; served 2 years and 10 months; discharged from hospital, 
Sept. 4, 1865. 

America X. Truair, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 6 
months; re-enlisted Dec. 29, 1863; served 1 year. Lost an arm at the battle 
of Cold Harbor, July 3, 1864; discharged Dec. 6, 1^64. 

James M. Tyler, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. Promoted to 
1st Sergeant; served full time. 

John West, 9th Cavalry, Co. H, Feb., 1864, 3 years; discharged Sept., 1865. 

Wm. II. Walker, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; promoted to 
Sergeant and Sergeant-Major; served out term. 

Morris Warren, 1st Sergeant, 2d Mounted Rifles, May, 1861, 2 years; re- 
enlisted Dec, 1863; served 1 year and 6 months; slightly wounded. 

Alfred Watrous, Sergeant, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 
out term; re-enlisted Sept., 1863, 3 years, and served 1 year and 9 months. 

Arthur II. Watts, 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; transferred to non- 
commissioned Regimental Staff, Sept., 1862; appointed 2d Lieutenant of 
Co. F, Jan. 1, 1864; promoted to Reg. Quarter-Master, Aug. 20, 1864; dis- 
charged June 30, 1865. 

Charles B. Wbitcher, 9th Cavalry, Sept., 1864, 3 years; died at Hampton 
Hospital, Nov. 1S64, of sickness acquired in the army. Buried in Warsaw. 

Charles E. Whittam, Sergeant, 8th Artillery, Dec. 1863, 3 years. Not 
heard from after going into battle at Cold Harbor, June, 1864. 

Zelotes C. Wiggins, 136th Infantry, Sept. 1, 1862, 3 years; died July 4, 
1864, of wounds received in battle at Gettysburg, and buried there. 

Leonard Wilkin, 1st Lieutenant 1st Dragoons, Aug., 1862, 3 years; served 
13 months; resigned, and honorably discharged. 

Libbeus Wright, 31st N. Y. Volunteers, Dec, 1S63, 3 years; served 13 
months; lost an arm. 



WAE IIISTOKY. 



231 



Mortimer Wright, 31st X. Y. Volunteers, Dec, 1864, 3 years; served 13 
months; lost an arm near Petersburg. 

Alfred Wright, 31st Colored Infantry, Co. A, Dec. 25, 1863, 3 years; died 
of wounds received in battle near Petersburg, about a year after enlisting. 

Oliver Wright, 31st Colored Infantry, Co. A, Dec. 25, 1863, 3 years; died 
of sickness near Petersburg, about a year after enlisting. 

Charles T. Watkins, Corporal 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years. 
Promoted to Sergeant; served 2 years, and was discharged. 

Wm. B. Young, 17th Infantry, Co. K, May, 1861, 2 years; served 13 months; 
health impaired, and discharged. 



In the list of Volunteers of Wyoming county who were mustered into the 
service in 1862. and received the county bounty of $50, are the names of 82, of 
whom 5 are designated as residents of other towns; and 12 as residents of 
Warsaw, of whose enlistment or service there is no other record. 

Besides the 194 men included in this list, there were employed outside 
of the limits of the town, by citizens of the town, more than 200 men to fill 
cpiotas from time to time. 



232 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



FAMILY SKETCHES 



BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 



WELCOM ARNOLD was born in Granville, Feb. 23, 
1705, and lived most of the time in Poultney, Vt., until 1815, 
when he removed to Middlebury. In January, 1817, he 
married Manila Stearns, of Sudbury, Yt. They removed in 
1833 to the north-east part of this town, where they now 
reside. They united with the Presbyterian church in Wyo- 
ming, of which he was an elder before his removal to this 
town. Thev had three children: Osmyn S., Anna M., and 
Alfred P., (inf.) 

Osmyn S., born in 1817, married Martha M. Paskow, of 
Cayuga Co., in 1850, who died in 1856. The} T had two daugh- 
ters, Emma C, and Mary M. 

Anna M., unmarried; resides with her parents. 

HORACE P. AKIX was born in Dutchess county, Oct. 28, 
1791. He married Maria Wisemore, and removed to this 
town in 1S35, and died in 1868. They had ten children: 

Morgan married Caroline Burrell, and resides in Perry. 
They have four children. 

DeWitt married Polly Bush, of Gainesville, by whom he 
had three children: Adolphus, Irvin, and Maria. His wife 
died in 1S62. He married for his second wife, Almedia La- 
throp, by whom he has two children, Frederick and Florence. 
He has been frequently elected to the office of Assessor. 

John A. married Mary Jane Conable, who died, leaving 
two children : Julia, who married Augustus Steele, and "Wal- 
lace. Mr. Akin married for his second wife, Lucy Ann 
Stearns. Served in the war. 

Lewis married Betsey Pice, who died; and Mr. Akin mar- 
ried Hannah Wood, who also died; he married his third 
wife in Michigan. 

James, Miltox, A:sibrose, Charles, Melissa, and Hiram 
are married; Albert is unmarried. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. I06 

CHAELES W. BAILEY was born in Perry, March 9th, 
1820, and married, June 30, 1S49, Jane M. Stevens, of War- 
saw, who was born at Albion, Orleans county. He is a grad- 
uate of Meadville College, Pa. He pursued the study of 
Law, and was admitted to practice in 1S50. He was elected 
a Justice of the Peace in this town in 1860, and Clerk of the 
County in 1861, after having been for several years Deputy 
Clerk, which office he still holds; thus having served as Clerk 
and Deputy ten or eleven years. He also held the office of 
Postmaster in this town during the administration of Presi- 
dents Taylor and Fillmore. 

EDMUND BAINBRIDGE was born in Lawrence, K J. 
Dec. 31, 1799. He married Dorcas Wiggins, of Oneida Co. 
!N". Y. They removed to Warsaw in 1834, and settled in the 
north-east part of the town. They now reside in the village. 
They are members of the Presbyterian church. They have 
had twelve children, as follows : 

William W., who married Eliza Crocker, and has several 
children. They reside in Ohio. 

Alpha A., who married Nancy Morland, and resides in 
Missouri. 

Minerva F., who married Dwight Pnrdy, of Warsaw. 
They have two sons and one daughter. 

Freelove Jennett, who died March, 1867, aged 12. 

Milton G. married Martha Hughes, and resides in Colum- 
bia City, Ind. 

Mary married Robert Pease, and has two daughters. 

Ellen A. married Wallace Randall, and resides in Iowa. 

Juliet married Fayette Holton, and died in 1S65, two 
months after marriage. 

James P. resides in Rochester. 

Jennett, Francis, Eunice, and Nancy E., died young. 

ELISIIA BARNES was born in Bennington, Yt., and 
married in 1783, Anna Martin, of Granville. They removed 
from Granville to this town, and settled in the south-west part 
of the town about 1S20. Mr. Barnes died March 10, 1864. 
They were members of the Baptist church. They had six 
children : 

Elisha, who married Electa Furman, of Warsaw. 

Chauncey married Jane Alderman, and died in Eagle. 

Anna, unmarried, lives in Middleburv. 

Gamaliel married Maria Freeman, daughter of Rev. Peter 
Freeman, formerly pastor of the Baptist church in this town. 
They have a daughter, and live in Illinois. 

Samuel died at the age of 4 years. 



231 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Solon W., married Susan E. "Warren, of Orangeville, and 
has four children: Theodore R., Cora E., Arietta, and Arthur. 
They reside in Middlebury. 

DAVID BARNETT was born in Londonderry, N. II., in 
1769. He was several years a merchant in Vermont. He 

married Grisey Patterson, of Londonderry, a sister of Mrs. 
Frank and "William and Peter Patterson. They removed to 
"Warsaw about the year 1S30, and resided on East Hill until 
his death, Sept. 28, 183S. His occupation was that of a 
farmer. Mrs. Barnett died Nov. 13, 1850, in her 75th year. 
She was a person of vigorous mind, retentive memory, warm 
attachments, and decided Christian principle. She had no 
children. Mr. Barnett had by a former wife two daughters, 
now residing in Vermont. 

JONATHAN BARNETT was born in Londonderry, N. 
II., Sept. 13, 1767, where he was married, to Ruth Merrill. 
He was a descendant of one of the Scotch Irish immigrants 
from Londonderry, Ireland, who settled in the former town 
about the year 1720. He removed to this town in 1821, 
having been preceded by two of his sons, Amos M. and 
William D. He died Aug. 27, 1812. Mrs. Barnett died 
March 29, 1S55. They had nine children, all born in Lon- 
donderry. 

John was born July 6, 1795; died Oct. 20, 1S05. 

Amos M. was born March 5, 1797. He married Laura 
Dunham, of Orangeville, by whom he had six children, of 
whom two only passed infancy: 1. Mary. 2. Martha, who 
married Augustus Harrington, a practicing lawyer. They 
reside in this village. Mr. Barnett was a member of the 
Congregational church, as is also Mrs. Barnett. He died 
Jan. 20, 1856. 

Robert was born Nov. 8, 1798, and married for his first 
wife, before his removal to Warsaw, Sally Nevins, by whom 
he had a son, James N., who married Sarah Painter, and has 
two children, Sarah Elizabeth, and Edwin P. Mr. Barnett 
married for his second wife, Hetty S. Foster, by whom he had 
a son, Robert, who served in the late war, and lost a leg in 
battle. [See War History.] 

William D., born Sept. 8, 1800, married Elizabeth Young, 
of this town, in 1830. They resided in Clarkson until 1837, 
when they removed to Gainesville; and in 1819 to Attica, 
where he died, Aug. 2, 1865, and where Mrs. Barnett still 
resides. They had no children. He was a ruling elder in 
the Presbyterian church in Attica. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 235 

James was born March 25, 1S02. lie removed from "War- 
saw to Ohio. He had three children, of whom one died in 
the war. 

Oilman was born Feb. 11, 1801. He married Mary Ann 
Davis, who died without children. He married for his 
second wife, Laura Stewart, by whom he had two sons: 
1. Benjamin Franklin, who married Sylvia Doty, of Attica, 
where they reside. They have a son. 2. Augustus, who 
married Laura J. Bassett. Lie is a merchant in Albion. 
Oilman Barnett and his wife now reside in this village. 

Jonathan was born Aug. 1, 1807. Lie removed to Will 
Co., 111., where he was married. He died June 13, 1860. 

David was born March 9, 1810. He also removed to Illi- 
nois, and died at Wilmington, Sept. 4, 1838. He was at the 
time of his death an elder in the church of which he was a 
member. He was unmarried. 

Maria was born Oct, 18, 1813; died Jan. 0, 1859. 

ALAXSO^" BARTLETT was born in Bath, X. II., Dec. 
31, 1802. He came to Warsaw about the year 1820, with 
his father, who settled in the north-west part of the town. 
He removed to the village, and carried on the Cabinet 
Making business about forty years. He married Maria 
Turner, who died July 26, 1857. He died Feb. 23, 1867. 
Both were members of the Methodist church. They had 
ten children: 

Ann Eliza, who died at the age of 37. 

Mary E., who married O. C. Gero, and lives in ]S"ew 
Jersey. 

Martha M., married James Dayton; removed to Michi- 
gan, and died. 

James Spencer, born Feb. 9, 1833; married Aug. 23, 1859, 
Mary P. Hitchcock, of Arcade. They had three children, 
Charles A., Frank Lewis, and Clayton S., died in infancy. 

Sarah Maria, married Henry Everson; they reside in 
Chicago. 

Phideli.v IT., died in infancy. 

Delia D., married Horace Kimball, of Colden; died in 
1861, leaving a daughter. 

Wallace A., born ~Kov. 5, 1811; served 1 years in the 
war, was in Salisbury prison 7 months; now resides in Wash- 
ington, D. C. 

Clara C, born Aug. 7, 1852. 

Mr. Bartlett married Henrietta Roberts, Jan. 23, 1858. 



230 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ETHAN E. BARTLETT was horn in Bath, K H., Dec. 
17, 1804:, and came to Warsaw in December, 1821. He 
graduated at the Western College of Physicians and Surgeons 
in the State of Xew York, and commenced practice in the 
village of Warsaw in the Summer of 1831. In the Fall of 
1S31, lie removed with his family to the State of Georgia. 
In 1S36, he "sought again the land of the free," (as he ex- 
presses it,) and settled in Orangeville, and practiced in that 
and the adjoining towns until 1848, when he again located in 
Warsaw, where he has continued the practice of his profes- 
sion, more or less, though for the. last several years his 
attention has been bestowed chiefly on other business. 

Dr. Bartlett married Elvira A. Tanner. They had five 
children: Nancy Ellen, who died Jan., 1869, Mary Tabitha, 
Sarah A. Aphia, Thomas Rush, who died April 23, 1867, 
aged 26, and George. Mary T. married Mr. Smith, and 
resides in this town. 

Mrs. Bartlett died in Orangeville, Dec. 11, 1816, aged 33 
years. 

Dr. Bartlett married for his second wife, Phebe Foster. 
They had eight children. Only Celinda E., Lowell D. K., 
and Julius F. H., are living. 

WILLIAM K. BAKTLETT was born in Bath, Grafton 
Co., 1ST. II., June 12, 1706. He married Elmina McLaugh- 
len, and removed from Chelsea, Vt., to Attica, and settled the 
next year in Orangeville. In 1817 or 1818, they removed to 
the north-west part of this town, where both died: Mrs. Bart- 
lett, July lit, 1857; Mr. Bartlett, June 9, 1867. They had 
eleven children, of whom three died in infancy. 

Columbia C. married Hiram Mclvin, of Attica. They re- 
side in this town. They had four children: two, Emmet and 
Ida, are living. 

Emmet L. resides in Chihuahua, Mexico. 

Aurora Adelaide married Homer Melvin, of Attica. Their 
children are Seth H, Elmina, Aravesta, Flora, Charles. 

Myron E., born May 7, 1831; married Cordelia McFar- 
land, of Ohio. Children: Eugene M., Jennie E., Edith E., 
and an infant daughter, living. Mr. Bartlett has for several 
years been, and is now, a practicing attorney in this village. 

Iork resides in Liverpool, England. 

Cosam T. was born April 3, 1837, and married Hettie, 
daughter of Dr. Smith, of Attica. He is a practicing lawyer 
in Attica. 

William M. and Stephen B. live in Warsaw, unmarried. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 237 

ELIAS R. BASCOM was born in Newport, K II. He 
came from Benson, Yt, to Warsaw, in the autumn of 1821, 
and engaged in teaching vocal music. In the spring follow- 
ing, he engaged as a clerk in the store of Dr. Sheldon. In 
1824, he married Lucy Hinman, at Castleton, Yt. About the 
same time he became a partner of Dr. Sheldon in trade. The. 
partnership continued until it was dissolved by the death of 
Dr. Sheldon in March, 1828. Mr. Bascom continued the 
business until 1832 or 1833. He succeeded Dr. Sheldon as 
Postmaster, which office he held until 1841. He also held 
the office of Justice of the Peace for a term of four years, 
and other town offices. Mr. and Mrs. Bascom were members 
of the Presbyterian church. In 184S, he removed with his 
family to Lansing, Mich., where, a few years after, he died. 
Mrs. B. resides with a daughter in Iowa. They had eight 
children, as follows: 

James A., who married in Michigan, and resides there. 

Elizabeth, who married Horace Roberts, of Detroit, who 
was a Colonel in the late war, and was killed in battle. 

Lucy Jane married Mr. Lauman, of Burlington, Iowa, and 
resides in that city. 

Rollin was married, and died two or three years since, 
leaving a wife and one child. 

Anson learned the printer's trade, and went to the West. 

Louisa is supposed to reside in Burlington, Iowa. 

Lemuel Haynes and Hoeace died young in Lansing. 

WILLIAM BIXGHAM was born in Lempster, K II., 
Aug. 7, 1799. He married Elizabeth Roe, and after her 
death, Betsey Knapp, who was born Dec. 8, 1808. He re- 
moved to this town in 1830, where he has since resided, with 
the exception of two intervals, the first from 1S3S to 1839; 
the second from 1845 to 1850. He retired, Jan. 1, 1865, from 
what had been the principal business of his life, Hotel-keep- 
ing, in which he had served the public for thirty-six years in 
succession. He was widely known and liberally patronized, 
having acquired the reputation of keeping a first class house. 
Mr. Bingham had. by his first wife two children: Mortimer, 
who died in infancy, and 

Matilda M., who married Daniel A. Knapp, and died 
Sept. 2, 1S64, leaving three children, Charles M., William B., 
and James B. 

His children by his second wife are 

William M., living in Warsaw, unmarried. 

Lucien W., who married Lucy A. Bangs, of Georgetown, 
D. C, who died Aug. 15, 1867. 



23S HISTOJRY OF WARSAW. 

IlrLDAii married James O. McClure, and lias two children, 
Ida and Frederick W. Mr. McClure commenced the Drug 
business in this village, April 1, 1867, in which he still con- 
tinues. 

Maryette A. is unmarried. 

BENJAMIN" BISHOP was born in Lancaster, X. H., 
Nov. 25, 1806. He came to Warsaw, West Hill, in 1824J 
He taught school winters for a few years, and worked at farm- 
ing summers, which last business he has continued to the 
present time. He married Lydia B. Wakefield, by whom he 
had eleven children: Laura, Lucy E., John W., infants, John F., 
James D., Etta, Antoinette, died at 3, Flora A., Charles C, 
Addis E., Minnie. 

James D. and Charles C. served in the late war. 

SAXFORD L. BOUGHTOX was bom August 27, 1810, 
and married Maria A. Roberts. He came to this village in 
the year 1810. He was highly esteemed for his social and 
moral qualities. He ever manifested a deep interest in our 
public schools; and had been at the time of his death, a 
member of the Board of Education in this village, from the 
time of the incorporation of the Union School in 1853. He 
died Sept. 26, 1859. He had three children : William P., 
Ardelissa C, and Henry C. 

William P. was born May S, 1840. He completed his 
school course in the Academy in this village, and was em- 
ployed as one of its instructors. His duties as teacher were 
faithfully and ably discharged until compelled, by failing 
health, to relinquish his chosen pursuit. He died July 5, 1851', 
soon after he had completed his nineteenth vear. 

Ardelissa C, born Jan. 19, 1811; died Sept. 28, 1862. 

Henry C, served an apprenticeship at printing in the office 
of II. A. Dudley, and resides in Missouri. 

WILLIAM BRISTOL was born in Canaan, Columbia Co., 
X. Y., Aug. 19. 1775. He came to Gainesville, (then Batavia) 
in 1S05, and assisted Wm. Peacock, a surveyor for the Hol- 
land Company, in surveying that township. He also cut 
open the north and south center road through the town. He 
settled at '•'The Creek," where he resided the remainder of 
his life. He was appointed in 1S09, and again in 1811, by 
the Council of Appointment, a Justice of the Peace, for the 
town of Warsaw, before the formation of Gainesville. He 
served in the war of 1812, and was Lieutenant in Capt. Isaac 
Wilson's company of Cavalry. He was elected the first 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 239 

Supervisor of Gainesville, in 1814, to which office he was 
elected at different times for live years; and was a member of 
the Assembly in 1823. He married Martha Stevens, of Wor- 
cester, Mass. Mr. Bristol died Jan. 4, 1859. Mrs. Bristol 
died Oct. 17, 1865. They had six children : 

Francis S., who married Merab Stone, and died in War- 
saw, July 5, 1845. They had three children, Martha M., 
Sarah C, and Martin. 

Benjamin F., born June 17, 1811, married Margaret A. 
Davis. They have six children : Joel W., James, Theodore, 
Corydon, Martin F., and Benjamin F., all living in Gaines- 
ville. Mr. Bristol has been Supervisor of Gainesville two 
years; Justice of the Peace twenty years, and elected for 
three terms (nine years) County Superintendent of the Poor. 

Mary S. married John M. Lawrence. Their children 
were, Wm. B., who died in the war in 18(33, and George D. 

Lamira married George Harrington, and died Sept. 14, 
1849. Their children are Augustus, a lawyer in Warsaw; 
George S., who resides in Lockport; Charles H., in Arizona 
Territory; and Francis S. B., in Nevada Territory. 

William. [See Sketch.] 

Laura married Corydon Doolittle, and died April 19, 1853. 

WILLIAM BRISTOL, son of Wm. Bristol, previously 
mentioned, was born in Gainesville, March 7, 1821, and 
resided on the homestead of his father until the year 1868, his 
principal business having been that of a farmer. He has 
been live years Supervisor of Gainesville; several years a 
Justice of the Peace, Postmaster, and Deputy Sheriff; and in 
1S67 and 1S68 represented this county in the Assembly. He 
removed in 1867 to this village, where he is engaged as a 
dealer in produce, of the firm of Hibbard & Bristol. He 
married, Jan. 12, 1843, Adelia M. Lockwood, and had three 
children, Laura L., Belle, and Caroline L. Mrs. Bristol hav- 
ing died, he married, Jan. 8, 1857, Martha J. Jewett, by 
whom he has a son, William. 

ISAAC C. BEOXSOIST was born Sept. 6, 1803, in Onon- 
daga Co., whither his father removed from Connecticut in 
1800, and thence to Ontario county in 1804. In 1823, he 
removed with his lather to Sheldon, where the latter died the 
same year. He commenced the mercantile business in Shel- 
don, 1S25, which, with the exception of two brief intervals, he 
has carried on, in partnership or alone, to the present time; 
having been interested in establishments in Sheldon, Weth- 
ersfield, Warsaw, and other places. In 1832 he removed 



240 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

from Sheldon to Warsaw, and associated himself with 
Dr. Augustus Frank in trade. [See Merchants.] After 
his removal to Warsaw, he became interested also in the 
Leather and Shoe trade, which he carried on about ten years. 
He was one ot the company who, in 1840, established the 
Woolen Factory in the south part of the village. [See Manu- 
factures.] He was for several years Postmaster in this town. 
He was for many years joint owner of the grist-mill in the 
village. He took an active part in securing the construction 
of the Attica and Ilornellsville railroad, and was a Director 
and one of the Executive Committee of the Company. In. 
1854 he removed to Rockford, 111., where he has since been 
in the Dry Goods and Hardware trade, and is still interested 
in the latter, besides being engaged extensively in the cattle 
trade and farming. He married, Oct. 24, 1826, Calista Gates,, 
daughter of Dea. Seth Gates, of Sheldon. They had eight 
children, as follows, besides Delia C, Maria E., and Charlotte 
E., who died in infancy. 

Seymour Gates, born Oct. 1, 1S2T, married MaryE. Gates, 
and is a Hardware merchant in Rockford, 111. He had five' 
children: Mary C, Charlotte E., d. inf., Frances E., Helen M., 
Willard S. 

Augustine Y., born Jan. G, 1S30, married Helen E. Aus-. 
tin. Children: Ada and Inez, twins, d. inf., and Henry A. 

Arthur M., born Dec. 9, 1831, died May 2, 1801. 

Henry C, born Feb. 20, 1830, died Dec. 14, 1850. 

Calista J., born Dec. 2, 1836, married George M. Smith, 
of Pike. Children: Frederic A., Mary C, Fannie G., Mabelle 
B., and Allen A. 

Theodore W., born Feb. 27, 183S. 

Mary Jexxette, born Feb. 2, 1844, married George W. 
Pratt, and has a son, Richard Bronson. 

Emma Elizabeth, born Oct. 10, 1840, married Arthur D. 
Parker. 

NEWBURY BROXSON removed to this town from 
Winchester, Conn., in 183S, and settled on West Hill, on the 
farm known as the Lyon farm. In 1855 he sold his farm, 
and removed to the village, where he resided until the time 
of his death. He was a member of the Congregational 
church, an exemplary Christian, and diligent in efforts for 
the abolition of slavery and the promotion of temperance 
and other objects of benevolence. He died June 6, 1861. 
He was born in Winchester, Conn., April 13, 1804, and mar- 
ried Lucy Tillotson, May 9, 1831. They had two children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AXD NOTES. 241 

Lucy Maria, who married Harlow Belden. They reside 
in Waterloo, Iowa, and Lave a daughter, Anna Florine. 
Tillotson Newbury, who lives in Warsaw. 

EDMUND BUCK was born in Arlington, Vt., Feb. 7, 
1S04. He married Nov. 15, 182S, Ane Noble, who was born 
June, 1806. They resided in Vermont until 1831, when they 
removed to Warsaw. Mr. Buck purchased a farm in the 
south-west part of the town, on which he still resides. He 
has been frequently elected to responsible offices in the town. 
They had five children: 

Mary, who married John Kane, of Eagle. They reside in 
this town, and have had four children: Charles, Ane, Cynthia, 
and John, infant. 

Ransom, who married Chloe Foster, of Wethersfield, who 
died, having had one child, (inf.) He married for his second 
wife, Helen Shipman, by whom he has a daughter, Virginia. 

Marcus married Eliza Maranville, and has a son, Elmer 
Ellsworth. 

Rollin married Pamelia Maranville. 

Carrie is unmarried. 

N ORRIS BULL, D. D., an early minister of the Presby- 
terian church in this town, was born in Harwinton, Conn., 
Oct. 21, 1790. He was a graduate of Yale College in 1813, 
and graduated at Princeton Theological Seminary in 1818. 
He came in the summer of that year to Warsaw, under the 
patronage of the New York Young Men's Missionary Society. 
Early in 1821, he was called by the Presbyterian church ot 
Geneseo, of which he continued pastor eleven years. In 
1S32 he became pastor of the church at Wyoming, and 
during the greater part of his pastorate there, he was also 
Principal of the Academy. In 1836, he was invited to 
Clarkson, where also he had charge of a church and an 
Academy. At the end of six years he chose to retire from 
the school; and in 1846, he resigned his pastoral charge. In 
the autumn of the same year, he accepted an invitation from 
the church at Lewiston, where he died, Dec. 7, 1847. In 
1845, he received the degree of Doctor of Divinity from 
Union College. It is believed by those best acquainted with 
him, that few abler men have ever lived in Western New 
York. His mind, richly endowed by nature, was improved 
by thorough cultivation and rigid discipline. His extraordi- 
nary ability as a debater, though seldom displayed except in 
ecclesiastical bodies, is universally acknowledged by all who 
have heard him. 

1G 



242 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

He married, June 9, 1810, Mary Ann Henry, of Sauga- 
tuck, Conn. They had four children. 

WILLIAM BUXTOX was born in Belchertown, Mass., 
Nov., 1783. In 1804, he was married to Lydia Smith, who 
was born Oct. 18, ITS". In 1811, he removed with his family 
from Belchertown to O ran Seville, then Attica. About the 
year 1821, he removed to Warsaw, (West Hill,) thence to 
Wethersfield. After about two years' residence there, he 
came to the village of Warsaw, in 1831 or 1S32, where he 
resided until his death. He had tor several years previously 
to his last removal to Warsaw, made a public profession 
his faith in Christ; and soon after his return to this town he 
united with the Presbyterian church. He was soon chosen as 
a Billing Elder, which office he held during the rest of his 
life. Dea. Buxton was ever faithful in the discharge of reli- 
gious duties. He possessed an equable temper and a contented 
mind. Though industrious and frugal, his acquisitions were 
small; scarcely less, however, than his desires. And though 
he had no worldly possessions to bequeath, he has transmitted 
to his children what they regard as of incomparably greater 
value, a good name. Dea. Buxton also held for several years 
the office of Justice of the Peace in this town. He died Jan. 
28, 1851. Mrs. Buxton died Aug., 1865. They had nine 
children, of whom two died young. 

Harriet, who married David Bun-. They removed, several 
years after, to Conneautville, Pa., where Mr. Burr died in 
1853. Their children were, 1. James, who married Julia 
Ann Andrews, in Warsaw, where he died in 1854. 2. Alan- 
son, who married Betsey Chadwiek, and has three children. 
3. Mabel, who married Mr. Peabody, and resides in Con- 
neautville, Pa. They have a daughter. 4. William, who 
died in 1855, aged about 21. 5. Achsah, who married Mr. 
Dibble, and has two (laughters and a son. 

Pamelia married William Eddy, of Orangeville, where 
they have ever since resided. Their children are, 1. Lydia, 
who married Mr. Lockwood. Children, Hattie and Flora. 
2. Hortensia, who married Charles Griffin. 3. Chauncey B., 
who married Miss Lockwood, and had two children; one died 
in infancy. 

William S. married for his first wife, Elizabeth Smith, by 
whom he had a son, Henry, who married Sarah Gardner, of 
Wethersfield, and has two children. He married a second 
wife, by whom he has three sons. Mr. Buxton is a Methodist 
preacher, and resides in Michigan. 








in 



o 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 243 

Chauncey C. was born in Orangeville, April 3, 1S13. He 
married Elizabeth Adams, and had seven children: 1. Helen, 
who became the second wife of Hon. Harlow L. Comstock, 
and died, leaving a daughter, Helen E. 2. Hattie, who died 
at 13. 3. "William, now Druggist in Warsaw. 4. John A. 
5, 6, 7, Marian, Charles, and Julia, all of whom died infants. 
Mr. Buxton was long associated with his brother, Timothy, in 
the carriage making business, and has held the office of Super- 
visor and other responsible town offices. He is now engaged 
in the Drug business, of the firm of Buxton & Lewis. Him- 
self and wife are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Timothy H. [See T. H. Buxton.] 

Otis S. married Charlotte T. Sheldon, daughter of the late 
Dr. Chauncey L. Sheldon. Children: 1. Florence, who mar- 
ried Eugene Andrews, of Perry, and has a son, Clinton. 
2. Gertrude, died an infant. 3. Charlotte. 4. Herbert, died 
in infancy. 5 ^Carrie. . 6. Clarence. 7. Lilian. Mr. Buxton 
is Door-keeper of the House of Representatives, in AVashing- 
ton. 

Franklin married Martha Clark, of Batavia. He died in 
1857, leaving a daughter, Hattie, who died in her 8th year. 
Mrs. Buxton resides in Batavia. 

TIMOTHY II. BUXTOX, son of Dea. ¥m. Buxton, was 
born in Orangeville, July 9, 1815. His advantages for edu- 
cation were limited; but his native energy and business talent 
enabled him to overcome more than ordinary obstacles, and, 
in connection with an elder brother, to establish, and for many 
years to carry on, an extensive and successful business. [See 
p. 91.] He has also attained an honorable and influential 
position in society. He has several times been elected Super- 
visor of the town. He was for many years a Director of the 
Wyoming County Insurance Company. In 1849 he was 
elected Sheriff of Wyoming county, and discharged the 
duties of the office with the greatest promptness and fidelity. 
For his efficiency as a peace officer, he was often called " a 
terror to evil doers." Himself and his wife are members of 
the Presbyterian church, of which he is also an Elder, and 
has been for nearly thirty .years continuously, and is still, one 
of the Trustees of that Society. Ho has also actively coope- 
rated in efforts for the suppression of intemperance, the 
maintenance of good order, and the promotion of the interests 
of morality and religion. He married Juliann Clark, of Ba- 
tavia. Their children were as follows: 

Mary C, who married Hon. Byron Healy, County Judge. 

Lucy M., Frances Julia, Joseph, Edward T., and Homer 



24:4: HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

S. and Harlow W., twins; the latter of whom died in infancy; 
the former at the age of 8 years. 

Dr. PETER CANER was born in Herkimer Co., Dec. 
15, 1800. He graduated at the Fairfield Medical College in 
1825, and practiced two years in partnership with Dr. Delos 
White, of Cherry Yalley, with whom he had studied medi- 
cine. In 1827, lie came to Warsaw, and soon acquired mi 
extensive practice, which he retained until disabled by sick- 
ness a short time before his death. lie died April 2, 1854. 
He married Harriet Holt, o± Cherry Yalley, by whom he had 
eight children, as follows: 

Edward II., a physician, married Elizabeth C. Gregory, and 
and had three children. He died near New York, May 20, 
1855. 

Mary E. died March 10, 1851, aged 21. 

II. Nelson, married in Rockford, 111., and is a physician in 
Freeport, 111. lie has two children. 

George W. died aged 20; John A., 1857, aged 21. 

Robert Johnson is in the U. S. naval service, in the North 
Pacific Squadron. 

Lucien W., died in infancy. Henry C, died Jan. 31, 1862, 
aged 17. 

CYRUS CAPEN was born in Windsor, Yt, April 19, 
1708; married Delilah, daughter of Hezekiah Scovel, for- 
merly of Warsaw. He still resides in this town. He had 
five children: 1. Matilda M., who married Alonzo Cleveland, 
and had three children, Charles II., died an infant; Cyrus N., 
and Samuel A. 2. Luman II., who married Theresa J. 
Lowry, and died at Shortsville, Ontario Co. 3. Am} 7 R., died 
at 11. 4. Samuel S., married Ida L. Fearing, at Santa Anna, 
111., and has one child. 

ERASMUS D. CARPENTER was born in Eridgewater, 
Oneida Co., N. Y., July 13, 1807. From Le Roy, where he 
had resided for a time, he removed to this village in 1831, 
and commenced the Grocery and Provision business, which 
he has continued, with the exception of one brief interval, 
until the present time. He married Lucy M. Knapp, of this 
town, who died Dec. 5, 1834. He married for his second wife 
Eliza A. L. Fargo, who died Feb. 0, 1854, and by whom he 
had four children: 

Francis M., who married Dexter C. Webb, and has three 
children. 

Lucy Ann E., married James E. Davis, and resides at Rich- 
mond Hill, Canada. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



245 



Henry II., married Love Luce, and resides in Lindon, 
Michigan. 

Sarah J., married Charles E. Cornwell, and resides in Iowa. 
They have one child. 

Mr. Carpenter married for his third wife, Mrs. Kate Moslier, 
of Warsaw. 

AMMI II. CARPENTER was born in Oneida Co., Feb. 
15, 1813. He married Eliza Yan Densen. They removed to 
Warsaw from Kalamazoo, Mich., in 1839. He was by trade 
a tin-smith; and during a large portion of the time of his 
residence in this village, he was engaged in the Stove and Tin 
business. He now resides in Aurora, Erie Co. 

He had nine children: Myron B., Helen M., Mary, George, 
Buena Y., Herri ck II., Gertrude, Julia, and Carrie, who died 
March, I860, at the age of 8 years. 

OTIS F. CARPENTER was born in Westmoreland, 
Oneida Co., 1ST. Y., Jan. 16, 1810. He was married to 
Margaret Yan Allen. He came to Warsaw in 1831, and 
in connection with his brother, Erasmus D., commenced the 
Grocery and Provision business, in which he continued ten or 
twelve years. He subsequently engaged in, and still contin- 
ues, the farming business, on East Hill, about two miles from 
the village. He has five children: 

Walter S., unmarried. 

Franklin, who married Abigail Nichols, of Perry. 

Ella, who married Frank Adams, merchant in Tioga, Pa., 
and has a son, Walter. 

Albert, who lives in Geneseo; and Eddy. 

ELIJAH CHAMBERLAIN was born April 13, 1783, 
and married Ruth Googins. They removed from Ludlow, Yt., 
to Warsaw, in 1S2S, and settled on the East Hill, where they 
lived until the time of their death. Mrs. Chamberlain died 
October 20, 1849. Mr. Chamberlain died June 23, 1860. 
They were connected with the Presbyterian church. They 
had nine children, as follows: 

Betsey, who married Asa Bryant, and had six children. 
The family removed many years ago to Wisconsin. 

Sarah married Thomas 'Bliton. They removed some years 
since to Machias, Cattaraugus county. They had nine chil- 
dren. 

Polly died in her 18th year. 

Olive married Thomas Kelly, and removed to Michigan. 
They had six children. 



216 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Ruth married Sheldon Bryant; lives in Great Valley, and 
Las four children. 

Elijah, Jim., born April 11, 1S20, married Betsey Trues- 
dell. Their children are, 1. Adelia Y.; 2. Alia A., who 
married James H. Wing, and resides in Warsaw; 3. JohnT.; 
4. Cora Isabel. , 

Nancy M. married Elon W. Chase. They live in "Warsaw, 
and had four children: Edgar Adelbert, who married Lucy 
McWethy, and three who died young. 

William J. married Jennet Lake, of Perry, and resides 
there. They had four children. 

Gardner H. married Jane Lake of Perry, and died March 
18, 1857, aged 29 years. They had two children. Gardner IL. 
died March 18, 1857, aged 29. 

RODERICK CHAPIN was born in Wilbraham, Mass., 
in 1766. He married Hephzibah Smith. They removed from 
Hampton to this town in 1815, and settled on West Hill, on 
the farm since owned by David Sammis. Having previously 
made a profession of their faith, they united with the Presby- 
terian church in this place; and for several years Mr. Chapin 
w T as one of its ruling elders. He died in Busti, Chautauqua 
county, August, 1842. His wife died in this town in March, 
1810. They had ten children : 

Roderick, who married Sarah Clough. He was for many 
years a Methodist preacher, and was subsequently at different 
times connected with Cumberland Presbyterians and Wes- 
leyan Methodists. He died in Chautauqua Co., in 1857; his 
wife, in Jan., 1856. They had seven children. 

John married, first, Betsey Waters, by whom he had a son, 
who is dead. He married, second, Lucy Wheelock, by whom 
he had eight children. He was a member of the Baptist 
church in Warsaw. He has removed West. 

Harvey married Martha Smith, who died. He married, 
second, Jane Hare, who died, leaving three children. Mr. 
Chapin was a Presbyterian minister; had preached at Alden 
and other places in Western New York. He perished in the 
flames of his dwelling-house in Tipton, Missouri, July 28th,. 
1866. 

Ebenezer married, in Carroll, Chautauqua county, Maria 
D. W. Cadv, by whom he had seven children. They are by 
profession Presbyterian. 

Willard married Mrs. Adaline Brooks in Ohio. He died 
in Olivet, Mich. He had two children. 

Parmelia married Bela Bartlett, and died at Belmont, Al- 
legany Co. They had seven children. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 247 

Mary IT. married Isaac Hemmingway, and resides in 
Jamestown, N. Y. They had nine children. 

Oliver iST. married Sarah Hobart, by whom he had nine 
children. Mr. Chapin is a minister ol the gospel, and has 
long been, and is now, pastor of the Presbyterian church in 
Spartansbnrg, Pa. 

Rebecca married John Lyon, of Busti. They had two 
children. 

STEPHEN CHASE was born in Poplin, K H., Jan. 7, 
1702, and married Lois Ely. They removed to Warsaw 
about the year 1814, and settled in the north-west corner of 
the town, where they resided until they died. Their children 
were: 

Abial, who married John Bean, and removed to Warsaw. 
They had seven children. 

Thomas, born July 3, 1782, married Rhoda Smith, and re- 
moved to Warsaw. They had five children: 1. Xancy. 
2. Sally, who married Elias Judd, of Middlebury. 3 John, 
who resides on the Reddish farm two miles north of the vil- 
lage, and who married Bathsheba Marsh. Lie married, sec- 
ond, Mrs. Elvina Marsh, and had by her two children, Duane 
and George, who is dead. lie married, third, Mrs. Alvina 
Smead, of Bethany. 4. David, who married Elizabeth Sam- 
mis, and had two children, both dead. He married, second, 
Matilda Taylor, who also is dead. 5. Jefferson, who married 
Sophia Porter, of Middlebury, since removed to Iowa. They 
have two children. 

David married and died in Xew T Hampshire. 

Sarah married John Smith and removed to Warsaw. 

Hannah married Benj. Bodge, and died in Batavia. They 
had four children. 

Stephen, born July 6, 1796, married Betsey Hogle. Their 
daughter, Anna, married Enos Ingersoll, and died in Michi- 
gan. They had two children. 

Elizabeth married Almerin Curtis. They had fourteen or 
more children. Both parents and all but two or three of the 
children are dead. 

JOHX F. CLARK was born in Pawlet, Vt, April 5, 
1799. He came to Warsaw in 1811, and married Lydia 
Hatch, who died Dec. 22, 1825. He married for his second 
wife, Paulina Truesdell, by whom he had six children: Eber, 
Carlos, Sybil, Ozias, Horace, who died in his 8th year, and 
Walter. 

Eber married Eleanor A. Bates, Jan. 1, 1857. 



21S 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Sybil married Ferris W. Norton. She died, leaving a 
daughter, Cora. 

Ozias married Fidelia Richards, May 14, 1856. 

Mr. Clark married for his third wife, Rachel Richards, hy 
whom he had a daughter, Alta E., who married Eugene 
Stearns. 

ALONZO CHOATE was born in Middlebury, June 1, 
1814. In 1836, he engaged as a clerk for his uncle, Roswell 
Gould, then a merchant at South Warsaw. After a clerkship 
of three years, he was a partner in the business two years. 
In 1815, Mr. Choate bought of Mr. Gould the store and 
goods at South Warsaw, and continued in trade there until 
1851, when he removed to the village and traded one year. 
He. was elected a Justice of the Peace in 1816, for the term 
ot four years, and reelected in 1850; and in 1851, Supervisor. 
On the establishment of the Post-Ofrice at South Warsaw, 
Feb., 1850, he was appointed Postmaster, which office he held 
several years. 

Mr. Choate married Lucinda Truesdell, who died Aug. 11, 
1812, aged 21. They had two children: Annua, who died at 
12; and" Eliza Jane, who married George M. Bassett, a printer 
in this village, and has a sou, Hubert Alonzo. 

Mr. Choate married for his second wife, Lucretia C, 
daughter of Silas C. Fargo. They reside in Warsaw. 

NICHOLAS CLEVELAND was born in Fairhaven, Vt, 
June 26,1793. He married Sarah Morris, of Hampton. He 
removed to Warsaw in 1825, and settled in the south-west 
part of the town, where he died in Jan., 1869. He served in 
the war of 1812. Both himself and wife in youth made a 
profession of their faith in the Savior, and united with the 
Methodist church. He has for many years been a local 
preacher. Mrs. Cleveland died many years ago. They had 
nine children: 

William, who married Amanda Henris. They had a 
daughter, Sarah, who married Dr. Waldron, who died in this 
town in 1866. 

Josiaii married Mary Rogers. Both have died. 

Alonzo married Sally Truesdell, who died. He married, 
second, Matilda C. Capen, by whom he had three children: 
Charles H., d. inf., Cyrus N., and Samuel A. 

Betsey married Chauncey L. Stevens. They had two 
children: Ann Janette, who died at about 11, and George 
Henry. 





? 




r/A/ 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 24:9 

Uriah married Hannah Loretta Munger, by whom he had 
three children, only one of whom, Charlotte, is living. Mrs. 
Cleveland died in 1863. Mr. Cleveland married, second, 
Arsino Jenison, of Gainesville. 

Chester H. married, in Ohio, Miss Niles. They reside in 
Middlebury, and have one child, John. 

Laura L. married Nelson Baker, of this town. They re- 
side in Wethersfield, and have three children, Alida, Emma ; 
and Carrie. 

John M. married Orissa Shipman, and died. 

HAKLOW L. COMSTOCK was born in Groton, Tomp- 
kins Co., N. Y., Dec. 22, 1822. He removed to Warsaw in 
1S50; formed a partnership in the practice of law with James 
E. Doolittle, now Senator in Congress from Wisconsin. The 
partnership continued one year. He continued the practice 
of his profession here until 1868. He was elected District 
Attorney for Wyoming County in November, 1850, and re- 
elected 'in November, 1863. In November, 1855, he was 
elected Comity Judge for the constitutional term of four 
years; was re-elected in 1859, and again in 1S63, having held 
the office during a period of twelve years. He was a Lawyer 
of decided ability, and had a successful practice. He also 
acquired a high reputation as a Judge. He and his wife 
were members of the Presbyterian church, of which he was 
an elder. In the spring of 1868 he removed to Canandaigua, 
where he continues in the practice of his profession. He 
married for his first wife, Jane O. Ives, by whom he had 
three children : Martha Jane, Catharine, and Anna Laura. 
He married in Warsaw, for his second wife, Helen Buxton, 
daughter of Chaimcey C. Buxton. She died, leaving a daugh- 
ter, Helen Elizabeth. He married for his third wife, Cor- 
delia Shepard. 

BENJAMIN B. CONABLE, son of Eufus Conable, was 
born in Gainesville, April 21, 1821. He remained at home, 
Avorking on his father's farm, and enjoying only ordinary 
educational advantages afforded by the district school, until 
he was fifteen years of age. He then engaged with his uncle, 
Samuel Conable, of South Warsaw, at the Woolen Manufac- 
turing business, in which he continued four years. He was 
next employed by Wm. Iv. Crooks, in his Carding and Cloth 
Dressing establishment in this village; and after one year's 
service, he became a partner, and continued as such for one 
year. In the spring of 1813, he bought a farm in Gainesville, 
and pursued the farming business with good success for about 



250 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



twelve years, Laving also, for several seasons, bought and sold 
considerable quantities of wool. In 1855, he purchased the 
farm of Newbury Bronson, formerly known as the Lyon 
farm, two miles south-west of the village, on which he still 
resides. However others of his vocation may complain, he 
has made farming profitable, having acquired more than a 
comfortable independence. On the breaking out of the rebel- 
lion, he was among the first to engage in measures to aid in 
its suppression. Although unable, from physical disability, 
to take the field himself, he gave liberally to the volunteers 
and their families. He came forward promptly at every call, 
and at a later day, when the authorities had to raise large 
sums ot money, he allowed his name to be used for that pur- 
pose. He was married, Feb. 1, 1843, to Salvira Morris, 
daughter of the late Solomon Morris, Jim. They have a 
daughter, Helen S., who married Hiram D. Truesdell, son of 
John Truesdell, (not the late John Truesdell, of South War- 
saw.) They have two children, Barber C. and Hiram Walter, 
and reside near the residence of Mr. Conable, on the farm 
formerly owned by the late Nathan Scovel. 

^ESEK COOK was born in Middlebury, Vt, Sept. 26, 
1797, and removed when young to Wallingford, where he 
married Lucinda White, born in 1801. He removed to War- 
saw about thirteen years ago. He had six children: 

_ Cordelia married Gilbert Clark, and resides in Gaines- 
ville. Their children are, Edwin, Oscar, James, and Lucinda. 

Sophia married Jerome Hoisington. Their children are, 
Burdette, died at 18, and Mary. 

Melinda married James R. Smith, and has a son, Frank. 

Laura Ann married Eli Peck. Children: 1. Helen, 2. Alvin, 
who married Amanda Shipman, and has two children. 

Arabel married James Fullington, who is a partner in the 
firm of Knapp, Fullington & Co., Carriage Makers and Black- 
smiths in this village. He has a son, Henry. 

Lorenzo married Lucy Jane White, and lives in Warsaw. 

Mrs. Cook died July 15, 1851, and Mr. Cook marrried Ce- 
lestia Macklem, and resides in this village. 

BROUGHTON W. CRANE was born in Richmond, 
Cheshire Co., N. II., Dec. 16, 1797. He removed from Ham- 
ilton, N. Y., to Warsaw, in 1833, in the south-west part of the 
town, on the farm formerly owned by Newton Hawes. He 
married Asenath Martin, of Richfield, N. Y. Early in life 
he united with the Baptist church in Hamilton, and has held 
the office of Deacon in the church in Warsaw; of which his 
wife also is a member. They have two children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 251 

Byron, who married Marjie Foster, of Wethersfield, and 
resides in this town. They had five children : Broughton 
Wm, died at 10; Ida, (inf.,) Frank F., Asenath Ann, and 
Charles Byron. 

Mary Ann married Ormus Marshall, of Wethersfield, 
who purchased a farm on West Hill, where he now resides. 

RANSOM B. CRIPPEN was born at Fort Ann, K Y., 
Dec. 28, 1804, and married in 1S29, Harriet Demell. He 
resided successively at Batavia, Wyoming, and Wethersfield. 
In ]NTov. 1848, he was elected Clerk of this county for the 
term of three years. After a residence here of about twelve 
years, he engaged in August, 1861, as a Clerk in the Depart- 
ment of the Interior, at Washington, where he died, Feb. 26, 
1868. He was for many years an esteemed member of the 
Baptist church. Mrs. Crippen and the younger children still 
reside in Washington. They had four children: Hansom A., 
Arthur Willis. Mary Elizabeth, and Ellery Hicks, of whom 
only the eldest is married. 

RANSOM A. CRIPPEN son of Ransom B. Crippen, was 
born Dec. 18, 1830, in Middlebury, and married, Sept. 10, 
1851, Ruth D. Hicks, of Perry, who was born Jan. 27, 1829, 
in Palmyra, Wayne county. He was several years engaged 
as clerk and as proprietor in the mercantile business in this 
village; and in 1864, was elected Clerk of the County, which 
office he held for the constitutional term of three years. He 
is at present (1869) a Fire Insurance Agent and a Real Estate 
Broker. He has three children: Arthur W., Mary E., and 
Ellery H. 

JAMES CROCKER was born in Vermont. He was 
admitted to the practice of Law before his removal to War- 
saw. He came to this town about the year 1820. After a 
residence here of a few years, he married Emma Lane, of 
Pawlet, Yt. They had a number of children, all of whom, 
except one, died in infancy. In 1833 or 1834, they removed 
to Buffalo, where he lost, by death, first his daughter, Mary 
Electa, aged 8 years, and Sept. 11th, 1849, his wife. Mr. 
Crocker, although never highly distinguished in his profession, 
was one of the safest of Counselors, and was universally 
regarded as an "honest lawyer." He was for many years in 
Warsaw, and afterwards in Buffalo, an exemplary member 
and Elder in the Presbyterian church. He died in Buffalo, 
Feb. 4, 1861. His body, as had been those of his wife and 
children, was buried in Warsaw. 



252 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



JOIIX CROCKER was born in Vermont, May 31, 1797, 
came to Warsaw in or about tbe year, 1818, and established 
himself in business as a Hatter. He here married, Ardelizza 
Dryer. Soon after he came to Warsaw, he made a profession 
of his faith in the Savior, and manifested, during the remain- 
der of his life, the genuineness of that faith, by a life of active 
piety. He was an efficient supporter of the instutions of the 
church, and a member of the various benevolent and reform- 
atory associations. He was in 1S31 chosen a ruling elder in 
the Presbyterian church, which office he exercised until his 
removal from "Warsaw. He relinquished the business of his 
trade, and removed to Arcade, where he died June 31, 1844. 
His widow, an exemplary Christian lady, is still living. They 
had four children: 

William, who spent a few years in the South, in teaching. 
After his return and a short residence in Warsaw, he went to 
Buffalo, where he married Eleanor, daughter of Aaron Rum- 
sey. She died, leaving two children, William and jSTellie. 
He married a second wife, who also is dead. He married a 
third wife, who died in 1868. He still resides in Buffalo. 

James married Charlotte Parmele, daughter of the late Rev. 
Abial Parmele. His health failing, he visited the south in 
the vain hope of its recovery. He died soon after his return. 
Mrs. Crocker resides in Westfield. 

Harriet married Dr. James L. Enos, of Cedar Rapids, 
Iowa. They had two daughters, Lucy Amelia and Lucy 
Fisher, both dead. 

John Jermaix resides at Council Bluffs, Iowa. 

^JOXAS CUTTING was born in Shaftsbury, Vt., Aug. 19, 
1782. He came to Warsaw in the year 1804, and married 
Li ivina Fargo, who was born April 23, 1791. They were mar- 
ried in Warsaw, and settled on his farm a mile and a fourth 
south of the village, where Helon S. Taber now resides. They 
had six children. 

David Parker, who married Sarah A. Smith, and removed 
to Erie county, Pa., where he was killed by the fall of a tree. 
He had four children. 

Ciiauxcey Z., married Sally, daughter of Simeon Gibson. 
They had five children: Romanzo B., Mary L., who died at 
18; Ellen M., Chauncey G., who died in the hospital at Yicks- 
burg, Nov. 1864; and Sarah. Mrs. Cutting died, and Mr. 
Cutting married a second wife, by whom he had a daughter, 
Carrie. He died Sept. 1, 1867. 

Mary L., married James R. Doolittle. [See J. R. Doo- 
little.] 




/ 






FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 253 

Jerome B., married Louisa Moss, and resides in "Wisconsin. 
Children: Nathaniel M., died at 5; Jonas, and Jared. 

Marquis F., married Delia Doolittle, and resides in Racine, 
"Wis. Children: Corydon D., Delia, Myraette, died at 8; and 
Sarah. 

Jonas Cutting died in 1S60 at Racine, "Wis., where Mrs. 
Cutting still resides. 

JOSHUA H. DARLING is a native of Henniker, KB., 
and a son of the late Judge Joshua Darling of that place. At 
the age of 16, he engaged as a clerk, and soon after as a part- 
ner, with a brother-in-law, in the mercantile business. In 
1830, he left New Hampshire for the "West; and calling on a 
friend, the Hon. G. "W. Patterson, then residing in Leicester, 
with whom he visited "Warsaw, he made a temporary engage- 
ment as a clerk for Dr. Augustus Frank. In the tali of that 
year, he became a partner with A. AV. Young — then in the 
mercantile business — under the firm of A. AV. Young & Co. 
After the dissolution of this firm in 1831 or 1S32, he contin- 
ued the business, single, with the exception of one or two brief 
periods, for about twenty years. He maintained the reputa- 
tion of an " honest dealer; " and his success is to be attributed 
mainly to his close attention to business and prudent manage- 
ment. The necessity of a Bank in AVarsaw having long been 
felt by the citizens of this county, Mr. Darling established, as 
an individual banker, the "Wyoming County Bank, under the 
general banking-law of this state, and managed its operations, 
with great financial skill, during its existence as a state insti- 
tution. [See Banks.] He is universally esteemed as a citizen. 
He has been associated with the earliest friends of the tem- 
perance and antislavery causes, and has steadily co-operated 
in efforts for the promotion of good morals, and the interests 
of education and religion, and the general improvement of 
society. He united with the Presbyterian church in this 
place, and was one of the number from that church who, in 
1810, formed the Congregational church and society. To the 
objects and enterprises of this organization he has, from his 
ample means, been a large contributor. 

Joshua H. Darling was born Sept. 5, 1S0S; and was mar- 
ried, Feb. 23, 1832, to Lucretia Frank, daughter of John 
Frank, of Granville, by -whom he had seven children: Mary E., 
"William Henry, John Harrison, Julia L., James B., Emily M., 
Frances I. 

Mary E. married Henry B. Jenks, late Cashier of "Wyo- 
ming County National Bank. They have three children: 
Edward, Laura, Harrison. 



254 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

William Henry died at Amherst College, Dec. 5, 1853, 
aged 18 years. 

J. Harrison was for several years Cashier of the "Wyoming 
County Bank, and died Jan. 24, 1864, in his 27th year. 

Julia L. married Dr. Edward W. ,Jenks, and died April, 
1866. Dr. Jenks is a Professor in the Detroit Medical Col- 
lege, Mich. 

James B. died in infancy. 

Emily M. married Gerard Bills, who served in the late war, 
and is now a practicing attorney in Indianapolis, Ind. 

Frances I. married John W. Curtis, a graduate of Roches- 
ter University, and resides at Grand Haven, Mich. 

Mrs. Lucretia Darling died Dec, IT, 1844. Mr. Darling 
married for his second wife, Laura E. Mosher, a daughter of 
Rev. Mr. Mosher, of Ontario Co., June 19, 1845, by whom 
lie had seven children: Margaret A., who married James W. 
Chapman, and resides in Warsaw; Laura E., Edward M., 
Grace, Kate, Alice, Frederick W. 

Mrs. Laura E. Darling died Jan. 1, 1862. Mr. Darling 
married for his third wife, Clara- B. Beebe, of Litchfield, Conn., 
Aug. 4, 1862. 

ALBERT G. DAYIDSO^ was born in Springfield, 
Bucks Co., Pa., Dec. 2, 1803, and was married to Cynthia 
Clark. They removed from Friendship, Allegany Co., to 
this town, in March, 1841. Mr. D. is of Scotch parent- 
age, and a member of the Presbyterian church, as is also 
his wife. They had six children: Susan, died in infancy; 
Mary Jane, Emma Louisa, died at 3; James M., Emma Isa- 
bella, died at 3; and Franklin Clark. 

Mary Jane married Wm. W. Patterson, and has a daugh- 
ter, Jennie M. 

James M. served in the late war. He was Sergeant, Co. I., 
14th Regiment, 1ST. Y. Heavy Artillery; enrolled at Rochester, 
Dec. 16, 1863; discharged May 12, 1865, by special order, 
!No. 210 of War Department. He was all through Grant's 
campaign in Virginia, from the battle of the Wilderness until 
after Lee's surrender. His Regiment belonged to Burnside's 
Corps. 

DxVVIDSOX, JAMES J., was born in Quakcrtown, Hun- 
terdon Co., X. J., Xov. 29, 1807, and married Lucy M. Can- 
stock. They removed to Warsaw from Friendship, in 1841. 
They belong to the Presbyterian church. They had eight 
children: Calvin G, William M., Laura A., Rowena, Thomas 
C, Eliza Jane, Charles C, and James Clarence. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 255 

C vlvin C. married Mary Hurd of Cairo, 111., and lias a 
daughter, Alice L. lie is a wholesale grocer in that city. 

William M. married Ann Ilelby, of Cairo, and has a son, 
William II. They reside in Cairo. 

The others reside in Warsaw with their parents. 

ELKA1STAH DAY was born in Attleborough, Mass., 
Feb. 3, 1761; and married Polly McWhorter, in Granville, 
March IT, 1788. He removed from Granville with his family 
to this town in 1806, and settled near where the Brick Hotel 
now stands. He was by trade a blacksmith, and was the first 
in town. He subsequently bought a farm on West Hill, to 
which his family removed after his death. He was a worthy 
man and a highly respected citizen. In 1810 he was ap- 
pointed a justice of the peace, and an assistant justice of the 
county court, which offices he held for several years. He 
joined the Presbyterian (then Congregational ) church soon 
after its organization; his wife was one of the ten of which it 
was formed, in 1808. He had attained the rank of Colonel, 
though he was not in the war of 1812. He died Jan. 23, 
1813, of the epidemic, elsewhere noticed. Mrs. Day died in 
1819. They had twelve children: 

Chloe married Newton Hawes, who settled on the farm on 
which Dea. Crane now resides. Mrs. Hawes died March 26, 
1S21, aged 35 years. Mr. Hawes removed with his family to 
Ohio. His children were, Isaac, Polly, John, Horace, Elka- 
nah, Lydia, and Enoch. Horace studied law with the 
well-known Alvan Stewart, of Utica; was District Attorney 
of Erie Co., Pa., and under President Polk, Consul at the 
Sandwich Islands. He afterwards settled at San Francisco, 
Cal., and lias acquired a very large fortune. He visited 
Warsaw a few years since, and procured the erection of a fine 
monument to his grand parents and their children — the 
family of Col. Day. 

Lydia married Wm. Webster, and died without children. 

Bethiaii, born Feb. 20, 1793, married David Fargo. [See 
D. Fargo.] 

Artemas, born Dec. 5, 1791; died Oct. 12, 1823, un- 
married. 

David removed to Olean, where he married twice, and 
had several children. He held there the offices of justice of 
the peace, associate judge of the county court, and postmaster. 
He died there a few years since. 

Hiram, born Jan. 7, 1799; died in 1820. 

Elipiial, born Sept, 28, 1801, died in 1824. 

Isabel, born Aug. 8, 1803; died in 1821. 

John, born March 25, 1806; died in 1827. 



256 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Elkaxaii went to Olean, married, resided at and near that 
place for many years, and Lad several children. He now 
resides in Minnesota. 

Polly married John A. McElwain. [See John A. McEl- 
wain.] 

JAMES K. DOOLITTLE was born in Hampton, Wash- 
ington Co., X. Y., Jan. 3, 1S15, and removed with his father 
to Orangeville (now Wethersfield,) in 1810. He is a graduate 
of Hobart College, Geneva, and studied law with Hon. Addi- 
son Gardiner, of Rochester, Judge and Lieutenant-Governor. 
In 1841, after the formation of the county of Wyoming, and 
the. location of the county seat at Warsaw, Mr. Doolittle 
having formed a partnership with Linns W. Thayer, Esq., in 
the practice of Law, they settled in Warsaw. In 1815, the 
partnership was dissolved. In 1317, Mr. Doolittle was 
elected District Attorney for the term of three years. In 
1850, he formed a partnership with Harlow L. Comstock, 
Esq., and in 1851, he removed to Racine, Wis. He was soon 
elected a Judge of the Supreme Court of the state; and be- 
fore the expiration of his term, lie resigned his office, and 
resumed his practice at the bar. lie was subsequently 
elected by the Legislature senator in Congress, and took his 
seat in March, 1S57; and was reelected for a second term, 
which will expire in March, 1860. Mr. Doolittle, during his 
residence in Warsaw, united with the Baptist church in this 
place, and has since that time continued his connection with 
a church of that order. 

Mr. Doolittle married Mary L. Cutting, of Warsaw. They 
had six children: Henry J., who died in the late war; Anson 
O., who married Bessie Jones, and resides in Kew York city; 
James R., Silas W., Mary M., and Sarah L. 

IIARWOOD A. DUDLEY was born at Union Tillage, 
Washington Co., !N". Y r ., April 5, 1825, and removed with his 
father to Perry in 1831. In 1848, he came to Warsaw, and 
engaged as foreman in the printing office of the Wyoming 
County Mirror, of which he subsequently became a joint 
proprietor. He afterwards sold his interest in the Mirror, 
and bought the Western ISTew Yorker establishment; and a 
few years after became sole proprietor of the Mirror, which, 
in IS 64 was merged in the New Yorker, then published by 
Wm. II. Merrill, and from that time to the present by Dudley 
& Merrill. He has held the several offices of Loan Commis- 
sioner, Clerk of the Board of Supervisors, and Secretary of 
the Wyoming Agricultural Society, many years. In Kovem- 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



•>:, 



ber, 1SGS, lie was elected County Treasurer. lie is a member 
of the Presbyterian church, and a friend and supporter of 
the various benevolent and Christian enterprises of the day. 
He was a member of the first Company raised in Warsaw to 
suppress the rebellion. He was elected Lieutenant. [See 
War History.] He was after his return from the army 
Deputy Provost Marshal for this District. 

He married Sarah Jane Hogarth, of Geneva. They have 
had six children: Edward II. , who was born June 8, 1851, 
and died April 8, 1860; William P., Jennie, Mary, Martha, 
Anna, and Elizabeth, of whom Jennie and Anna died in 
infancy. 

NEHEMIAII PAEGO was born in Bozra, Conn., Jan. 10, 
17(51. He was married, June, 1783, to Mary Chapman, born 
Dec. 25, 1764. They resided there about ten years; then, 
successively, at Colchester and Hebron, in Connecticut; San- 
disfield and Great Barrington, Mass., and at Green River and 
Geneseo, N. Y.; and came to Warsaw in 1804, and settled on 
the place where his son, Allen, resides, and where he contin- 
ued to reside until his death, Oct. 13, 1828. His wife died 
Dec. 12, 1839. He was a member of the Baptist church. 
They had eight children: Silas C, David, Lovina, Martha, 
Palmer, Alpheus, (drowned in 1801, aged 4 or 5 years,) Allen, 
Polly, who die 1 at 3. Lovina married Jonas Cutting; Maria 
married John II. Reddish. [See Sketch.] 

SILAS C. FARGO was born in Montville, New London 
Co., Conn., June 15, 1784. lie married in Warsaw, March 2, 
1806, Catharine Whiting, born Peb. 4, 1786. This was the 
first couple married in this town; and the marriage was sol- 
emnized by Elizur Webster, Esq., the first settler and the first 
justice of the peace in this township, then a part of the town 
of Batavia. Mr. Fargo came in with his father in 1804, and 
continued to reside here until 1867, when he removed to Fond 
du Lac, Wis., where Mrs. Fargo died, Dec. 5, the same year. 
They were for many years connected with the Methodist 
church in Warsaw. They had ten children: 

Irene A. was born Dec. 5, 1S06; died April 3, 1831. 

William 1ST. married Sarah A. Rich, and removed many 
years ago to Fond du Lac, Wis., and has six children. 

Alpheus W. married Rebecca Freer, and has removed to 
Chatfield, Minn. lie had two children. 

Angeline H. married Smith Bebens. They live in Illinois, 
near the city of Beloit, Wis., and had eight children. 

Caroline F. married John Morgan, who is dead. She lives 
in Mt. Morris, and has two children. 17 ■ 



25S HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Lucretia C. is second wife of Alonzo Choate. [See A. 
Choate.] 

Eliza Ann L. married Erasmus D. Carpenter. [See 
Sketch.] 

Allen D., born Jan. 24, 1S19, married Isabel Perkins, and 
has two daughters, Helen and Julia. 

Silas T., born May 5, 1821, married Bhoda Cochran. 
After her death he married Charlotte Ilinman. They have 
a son, Charles. 

DAVID FAEGO was born in Montville, Conn., Oct. 31, 
1786. He came to Warsaw with his father in 3 804, and was 
one of the first settlers of the town. For many years he re- 
sided on his farm, about one and a half miles north of the 
village. He was a Deacon of the Baptist church, lie after- 
wards united with the Congregational church. The last years 
of his life were spent in the village, having retired from busi- 
ness, lie married in Warsaw, Sept. 0, 1810, Bethiah Day, 
who was born Feb., 1703, and who died May 11, 1814. They 
had two children: David W., born Aug., 7, 1811, died Feb. 
10, 1814, and Polly. 

Polly married Chauncey Kimball, in this town. They 
have since resided in Springville and Boston, Erie county, and 
now reside in Baraboo, Wis. They had eight children, of 
whom seven are living. Mr. Fargo married for his second 
wife, Phebe Mason, Oct. 9, 1S64, by whom he had ten chil- 
dren; two died infants. 

David Mason, who married Sarah Ann Wilson, and now 
resides in Saginaw, Mich. The} 7 had eight children. 

Benjamin Franklin, who married Maria Bloomfield, in 
Springfield. They have three children: Helen, Charles, and 
May. He was for many years a merchant in Warsaw, and is 
now engaged in the produce and grocery business. 

Darius C. married Harriet Perkins, and resides in Califor- 
nia. They had two children; one, Le Roy, is living. 

Myron E. married Mary Smith, daughter of Henry W. 
Smith, of Middlebury, and has a son, Henry. He is a farmer 
in that town. 

Francis F. married Mariett Perry, daughter of Jonathan 
Perry, of Middlebury. They removed to California, where 
Mr. Fargo was lor some years editor of a newspaper, and was 
a member of the legislature. He has returned to this state. 
He has two children living: Eva and Gertrude. 

Adaline S. married Norman J. Perry, of Middlebury, 
many years the keeper of the North Hotel in this village. 
He died in 1807. Their children were Ada Blanch, who died 
at G years, and Sebert Courtney. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 259 

Harrison and Harriet, twins. Harrison married, first, 
Maria Briggs ; second, Laura Whalon. He lias one child. 
Harriet married Charles L. Seaver. [See Sketch.] 

David. Fargo died May 16, 1855. Mrs. Fargo, his wife, 
died Jan. 21^ 1850. 

PALMER FARGO was born in Sandisfield, Mass., Sept. 
21, 1796, and came to this town with his father in 1801. He 
married Caroline W. Scovel. In 1818 he settled on the farm 
on which he now resides, in the north part of the town. They 
had twelve children; two d. inf. 

Mary A. married Burton French and lives in Bennington. 
Their children are, 1. Palmer O., who married Nancy Melvin, 
and now resides in Chicago. 2. Ira, who married Huldah 
Clapp, of Bennington, and has a son. 3. Sylvia, who mar- 
ried Mr. Wade, and resides in Burton, Mich. 1. Franklin B. 
5. 6. Romanzo and Romine, twins. 

Adoniram J. married Eliza Waterman, and resides in 
Gainesville. They had four children: 1. 2. Orinda and Cla- 
rinda, twins. Orinda died at 9. Clarinda married Dorson 
Bently. They reside in Warsaw, and have a son. 3. Anson, 
died at 3. 4. Judson. 

Hezekiah S. married Henrietta Hill. They reside in Perry. 

Nehemiah married Jane Green, of Michigan. He died at 
the age of 26. She married James Adams, of Marion, and 
died in Michigan. 

Lovina C. married Robert Snow, now a practicing lawyer 
in Belfast, Allegany county. They had four children: De 
Lamont, who died young; Helen, Laura, and Scott F. 

Clarinda D. died at the age of 11 years. 

Florilla O. married x\lbert Green. They live in Howell, 
Mich., and have had eight children. 

Wealthy L. married Wm. J. Parsons, a lawyer at St. 
Cloud, Minn., and have had five children; three are living. 

Palmer C. occupies the homestead with his father, in the 
north part of the town. He married Sarah, daughter of Wm. 
Coburn. They had two children: Luella, d. inf., and Ada C. 

Romanzo II. died in Warsaw, at the age of 19. 

Mrs. Caroline W. Fargo died Nov. 26, 1819. Mr. Fargo 
married for his second wife, Mrs. Lurana Barber, of Gaines- 
ville, who died Aug. 18, 1861. For his third wife he married 
Lorenda Cady, of East Otto, K Y. 

ALLEN FARGO was born in Barrington, Mass., April 1, 
1802, came to Warsaw with his father, in 1801, and married 
Polly Marchant, Oct, 30, 1822. Their children were, 1. John 
M., who married Betsey Throop, and removed to Iowa. They 



260 HISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

have one son. 2. Marvin X., who married Hannah Dewins. 
They have three children. 3. Lucia Amelia, who married 
Chester A. Cole, and has four children: Mary, John, Charles, 
Emma. 1. Wheeler II. who married, first, Miss Sombeer, 
and had a son who died at the age of 5 or 6. He married, 
second, Phila Wilkin, by whom he had two children: an 
infant and Florence. lie died April 27, 1803. 5. Walter 
Bailey, who married Sarah Covell, and lias three children: 
Adelhert, William, and a daughter. 6. Mary Jane, d. inf. 
7. Polly, who died in her 11th year. 

ELBERT E. FARMAN was born in New Haven, Oswego 
county, April 23, 1831, and removed to Gainesville in ISIS. 
He graduated at Amherst College in 1S55, having "worked" 
his way through his educational course. He came to War- 
saw the same year, and commenced the study of law with F. 
C. D. McKay, Esq., and has from that time to the present 
resided in this village, continuing in the practice of his pro- 
fession. In 1S59 and I860, he was joint proprietor and editor 
of the Western New Yorker. From 1S65 to 1807, he was in 
Europe; a large proportion of the time being spent in the 
Universities of Ileidelbnrg and Berlin in the study of the 
law and the language of the country. His letters from Europe 
written for the New Yorker, were read with interest. After 
his return, he was appointed by Gov. Fenton, District Attor- 
ney in the place of Byron Healy elected County -fudge; and 
was elected in November, 1868, to the same office which lie 
now holds. On becoming a resident of this town, he trans- 
ferred his relation to the church in Amherst to the Congrega- 
tional church of Warsaw, with which himself and wife are 
still connected. He married Lois Parker, of Gainesville, 
Dec. 21, 1855, who was born in June, 1832. 

JAMES C. FERRIS was born in Rensselaer county, March 
4, 1791, and was married in Albany, March 5, 1818, to Alida 
Wynkoop. He removed thence to Wyoming in 1821, and 
established himself in the mercantile business. His was, it is 
believed, the second store kept in that place, and the first 
which comprised a stock adequate to the wants of the people 
of that village and vicinity. After a large and prosperous 
trade there for nearly 31 years, he removed to Warsaw, in 
1855, and became proprietor of the grist-mill in the village. 
He was for some time a partner in the Drug business in War- 
saw; also in the Dry Goods business. In 1866, he sold his 
property in this village, and removed to Minneapolis, Minn.; 
thence to Buffalo, in 1S67, and in 1868 he returned to this 




GL->l^l^l 



<5C^<~ 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND YOTES. 261 

place, having purchased a residence on Buffalo street. He 
held for several years the office of Supervisor of the town of 
Middlebury; and in 1843, was appointed an associate Judge 
of the County Court. He Lad ten children: 

James W. married Emily Stoddard, and resides in Wyom- 
ing. He has seven children. 

Andrew J. died at Wyoming, at the age of 25. 

Charles Edward married Matilda Jane McNulty, of 
Elmira, and resides in Attica. He has one child living, 
Tillie. 

Eobert D. married Justine B. Kathbone, of LeRoy, and is 
in the hardware business in New York. He has two children: 
Lucy, and Kate R. 

Elizabeth married Charles M. Tyrrell, of Wyoming. They 
removed to Minneapolis, Minn., where she died. They had 
three children; one, Frank, is living. 

Martin V. B., unmarried, lives at Spencerport, Monroe 
county. 

Mary married John I. Black. They live in Minneapolis, 
and have had four children: Jessie Isabel, John Ferris, 
Thomas, died at 3, and James Charles. 

Isabel, unmarried, resides in Warsaw. 

Alida married John R. Blodgett, and lives in Buffalo. 

Dea. JOHN FISHER removed to Warsaw from Lon- 
donderry, 1ST. H., in the year 1834. He was a descendant of 
one of the earl} 7 settlers of that town, emigrants from London- 
derry, Ireland, about the year 1720, and of the class of people 
usually distinguished as the "Scotch," or "Protestant Irish." 
He was born in Londonderry, Jan. 9, 1700, and married, Oct. 
24, 1708, Betsey Dean, who was born June 24, 1776. Dea. 
Fisher settled on the farm- previously owned by Samuel Mc- 
Whorter, in the south part of the village, and at present by 
Samuel Fisher, '2d. He died Oct. 13, 1838. Mrs. Fisher 
died Nov. 20, 1858. They had nine children, all born in Lon- 
donderry, as follows: 

Lucy C, and Betsey, who are unmarried. 

Nathaniel Dean, born March 15, 1804, married Alnhra 
Gage, of Londonderry. He removed to Warsaw, and was for 
several years engaged in the 1 >oot and shoe trade. He removed 
to Gault, Canada, and established a foundry for the manufac- 
ture of stoves and other castings. He subsequently removed 
to Hamilton, and for several years carried on the wholesale 
leather trade. In 1866, he returned with a competence, and 
purchased a residence on Buffalo street, where he now resides. 
He has two children: Armina E., and William P., a graduate 



262 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

of Amherst College, and now studying for the ministry in 
Union Theological Seminary in New York. 

John. [See Sketch.] 

Samuel was born May 18, 1808, and removed to this town 
in 1828. He married, June 10, 1834, Armina Dryer, who 
died Aug. 27, 1835. He married for his second wife, March 
8, 1838, Lucy S. Woodward, by whom he had three children: 
1. James Ellis, resides in Hannibal, Missouri. 2. Phineas D. 
3. John C. Mrs. Fisher died Sept. 17, 1853. Mr. Fisher 
was married March 20, 1855, to Mrs. Lucy M. Phillips, of 
Baton Rouge, La., whose first husband was Phineas D. Fisher. 
She was for many years Principal of a Young Ladies' Semi- 
nary in that city. Mr. Fisher has been a Justice of the Peace 
in this town eight years, and held other town offices. He has 
been for many years a member of the Presbyterian church, 
and is one of its ruling elders. 

Phineas D. was born Dec. 6, 1810. He went from "War- 
saw to Baton Rouge, where he married, Dec. 25, 1838, Lucy 
M. Woodruff! He died there in 1813, leaving two sons, John 
P. and George A., both of whom died in this town. 

James P., born Jan. 1, 1813, was a graduate of Union Col- 
lege and of Andover Theological Seminary, and was licensed 
as a minister by the Presbytery of Philadelphia, in 1840 or 
1841. He married, May il, 1841, Anna Van Santvoord, of 
Schenectady. He labored as pastor or stated supply at Johns- 
town, Westfield, and other places. After the termination of 
his pastorate in Westfield, and before the close of the war, he 
went to Virginia in the employ of the Christian Commission. 
In the second year of his service there, he was compelled by 
his exhaustive labors to retire from the field, and return to the 
North for recuperation. Stopping at Little Britain, Orange 
Co., 1ST. Y., with a relative, he w T as prostrated by sickness, con- 
tracted, probably, at the South, from which he did not recover. 
He died Aug. 30, 1865. His son, and only child, Samuel Y. S. r 
has lately graduated at Oberlin College, O. 

Caleb E. was born May 13, 1S15; is a graduate of Oberlin 
College, and is also a minister of the gospel. lie has minis- 
tered to Congregational churches in Arcade and West Bloom- 
field in this state, and in Andover and Lawrence, Mass. He 
is now in the place last mentioned. He married, Aug. 29, 
1844, Mary Ilosford. They have had four children: John M., 
Mary Elizabeth, Catharine Almira, and Alice G., who died 
young. 

Mary A. was born May 14, 1817; married John S. Peck,, 
of West Bloomfield, whence they removed a few years since 
to Oberlin, O., where they now reside. Their children are 
Emily, Mary Anna, John F., and Edward AY. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 263 

Having enjoyed the advantages of religions training, and 
been instructed in the faith of their ancestors, the children of 
Deacon Fisher all became members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

JOHN FISHER, son of Dea. John Fisher, was born March 
13, 1806, and removed to Warsaw in 1827. After a few years' 
residence in this town and elsewhere, he engaged in the mer- 
cantile business at LaGrange, in this county, then Genesee, in 
which business he continued about two years. In 1835, he 
removed to Hamilton, Canada, and established himself in the 
Cast Iron Foundry business, which he carried on very exten- 
sively and successfully for many years. He was for some 
time Mayor of that city. In 1855, he returned to this state, 
with an ample fortune, and settled in the village of Batavia, 
where he now resides. While he is actively employed in 
works of usefulness and Christian benevolence, he is no less 
distinguished for the liberality of his pecuniary contributions. 
He is an exemplary member of the Presbyterian church, and 
one of its ruling elders. He was one of the Committee ap- 
pointed by the legislature to superintend the building of the 
State Asylum for the Blind, recently erected at Batavia. And 
at the last election, (1868,) he was chosen a Representative in 
the Forty-first Congress. He married, Sept. 18, 1833, Cath- 
arine W. Blanchard, a daughter of Rev. Abijah Blanchard, 
well known to many of the early settlers of Western New 
York. He had eight children: 1. John B., who died in 
Canada, at the age of 21; 2. William P., who married after 
the return of the family to this state, and soon after his mar- 
riage removed to Hamilton, Canada, and died there. Of 
the other six, five died in infancy. A son, Henry, only sur- 
vives. 

SAMUEL FISHER, son of Ebenezer Fisher, was born in 
Londonderry, N. H, Dec. 1, 1801. He married, April 15, 
1831, Caroline Pillsbury, and removed to this town in Nov., 
1831, and for several years carried on the manufacture of 
Fanning Mills. He then purchased the farm in the north- 
east part of the town on which he now resides. Mr. Fisher 
and wife belong to the Presbyterian church, of which he is 
also an elder. They have five children: Caroline, Samuel M., 
Mary W., Helen A., and Frank M. 

Caroline married Stephen B. Barden, and has one child 
living. They reside in Batavia. 

Samuel M. resides with his father on the homestead. He 
served in the late war. [See War History.] 



264 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Helen A. married Willard Barden, and resides in Brook- 
lyn. They have two children, Fanny, and an infant, living. 

WILLIAM FLUKER and Elizabeth Wood, Ins wife, were 
born in Ireland. They emigrated to this country in 1820, and 
removed to Warsaw in 1824, and settled in the south-east part 
of -the town, where Mr. Fluker died Aug. 28, 1866. They 
had eight children: 

Jane married Nicholas Beach, and removed to Indiana. 
Tliev had ten children, of whom ten are living. He died in 
1865. 

Sarah married Matthew Warner, of Castile. They have 
a daughter, Esther, who married Mr. Beach, a merchant in 
that town. 

James married Sarah Jane King. They had six children: 
James Willis, Elizabeth, Walter, and three died infants. 

William married Ellen Glazier. Their children are: Alice, 
who married John Gregg, and lives in Castile; William, Frank, 
Jennie. 

Samuel married Margaret Parker, of Lima, and has a 
daughter, Margaret. They reside in Lima. 

Maria married Linus Warner, and lias three children: 
Marion, who married Sarah Nash; Romaine, and Willard. 

Elizabeth married Thomas Sourby, and has two children, 
George and Clark. 

George married Miss Madison, and has two children. 
Madison and Mary. 

LUTHER FOSTER was born in Southampton, Long 
Island, Sept. 1, 1770; and was married to Ruth Hedges, in 
1791. They lived successively in Montague, N. J., in Owego, 
and Danhy, N. Y. He came with his family to Warsaw in 
1823, and settled on a part of Lot 59, in the west part of the 
town, where his son Luther now resides. Lie died Nov. 16, 
1846. Mrs. Foster died March 7, 1860. They were, as were 
most of their children, members of the Presbyterian church. 
They had ten children, as follows, besides three, d. inf. 

Silas II. married Fanny Smith before their removal to 
Warsaw. Their children were, 1. Harriet, who married Dr. 
Rowley Morris, and removed to Wisconsin. She died with- 
out children. 2. Esther, who married Lucien Putnam, of this 
this town. She died in Freeport, Illinois. [See Family of 
Edward Putnam.] 3. Celinda, who died at the age of 26, 
unmarried. 4. Alfred J., is married, and resides in Cherry 
Valley, 111. 5. Mary, who graduated at Mt. Holyoke Semi- 
nary, Mass., and has been for many years a teacher in Ohio. 




Q, 



■ ■' '-;'" '///,/ ^V/// / ' 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 265 

6. Laura, who married Wm. B. Manley, of Hebron, 111. 7. 
Elizabeth. 8. Helen, who married George G. Wheeler, of 
Flora, 111. 9. Susan, who married Mavnard M. Howe, of 
Cherry Valley, 111. 

Mr. Foster died in Warsaw, Dec. 1, 1840, aged 53. Mrs. 
Foster resides in Cherry Valley, 111. 

Josiah H. married, first, Hannah Maria Barbara; for his 
second wife, Sarah Skeer. 

Elizabeth Mary married Ira Gilmore, and removed to 
Wethersfield in 1826, or 1827. They had four children. 

Hetty, second wife of Robert Barnett. [See Barnett 
Family.] 

Jabez died in Boch ester, many years ago, of cholera. 

Julius graduated at Hamilton College in 1833, and Prince- 
ton Theological Seminary in 1836 or 1837. In Nov., 1837, he 
became pastor of the Presbyterian church, Towanda, Pa., 
which office he held until his death, Jan. 16, 1865. He mar- 
ried Priscilla Brunette, Oct. 19, 1840. 

Luther married Lamira Maria Lyon, by whom he had two 
children, Casson A., and Roxie. Mrs. Foster having died, 
Mr. F. married Calista Smith, by whom he had nine children: 
Lamira Maria, who died July 27, 1851, in her 18th year; 
Samuel, Josiah H, Sydney, Charles H., Eliza Jane, Mary D., 
Fanny Parthenia, and Hetty Sophronia. Mr. Foster and his 
wife are members of the Presbyterian church, of which he is 
also an elder. 

Solon resides in Salt Lake City, Utah Territory; is married, 
and has several children. 

Ruth married Zera Tanner, who died Nov. 27, 1836. They 
had a son, Zera. [See Sketch.] Mrs. Tanner married for her 
second husband, Deacon John Munger; and for her third, 
Oliver Cleveland, with whom she now resides, in this village. 

Phebe married Dr. Ethan E. Bartlett. [See Sketch of Dr. 
Bartlett] 

Dr. AUGUSTUS FRANK was born in Canaan, Conn., 
Jan. 12, 1792. He was eight years of age when his father 
died. In early life the family emigrated to Granville, in this 
state, where he completed his education. lie studied medi- 
cine at Dorset, Vt., and after the completion of his course, he 
removed to Victor, Ontario county, where he practiced in his 
profession three years. In 1817, he came to this village, and 
formed a partnership with Dr. Sheldon in professional prac- 
tice, and soon after in the mercantile business. The latter 
being to him the more congenial, its chief supervision was 
consigned to him. In 1822, the partnership having been dis- 



266 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



solved, he commenced business in his new store on the west 
side of Main street, on or near the site of the new brick store 
of his sons, Augustus and George W. Frank. He continued 
in the mercantile business, either single or in partnership, 
until the time of his death, not only in this town but in other 
towns. He was also, during the greater part of this time, 
engaged in other branches of business. He was interested in 
building, alone and in partnership, saw-mills, grist-mills, fac- 
tories, and furnaces, and was concerned in several other 
manufacturing or mechanical establishments. He bought 
village lots and erected buildings on them for sale or to rent. 
In this variety of business he gave employment to a large 
number of mechanics and laborers. Probably so large an 
amount of village property has passed through the hands of 
no other citizen; nor has any other rented to occupants so 
many stores, shops, and dwellings. He took an active part 
in measures designed to promote the prosperity of the town, 
and the moral and intellectual improvement of its citizens. 
He possessed a vigorous mind, and was firm alike in his prin- 
ciples and his purposes. He pursued an object with unwearied 
assiduity until it was attained, or its attainment was found 
impracticable. His efforts in the cause of temperance were 
unremitted to the last, and contributed largely to its advance- 
ment. He was also among the first to enlist in the antislavery 
cause, and aided in the formation of the society in this town. 
He was one of the five delegates (elsewhere mentioned,) from 
this town to the first annual meeting of the Xew York State 
Antislavery Society, held at Utica in the fall of 1835. Al- 
though not indifferent to the good opinion of others, his 
conduct was uninfluenced by a desire for popular applause. 
In public as well as in private discussion, he spoke his senti- 
ments frankly and fearlessly: and although they often 
conflicted with those of the majority, he ever retained the 
respect of those with whom he differed. 

In 1842, he was appointed an Associate Judge of Wyom- 
ing county, which office he held until the office was abolished 
by the constitution of 1846. He was a member of the Pres- 
byterian church, which shared in large measure his fostering 
care. But his charities were not circumscribed by its interests. 
He contributed liberally, by personal effort and pecuniary 
means, to the support of religious and benevolent institutions 
in general. We may add, he was happy in his domestic rela- 
tions. His first wife, though possessing a feeble constitution, 
was a lady of deep-toned piety. To the excellence of his 
second, many in this community will bear testimony. His 
family furnishes a striking instance of parental faithfulness 




iJAecc/i p. 268. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AKD NOTES. 267 

and care, requited by filial obedience and esteem. In few 
families has the observance of the duties enjoined in the fifth 
commandment been more happily exemplified. 

"We subjoin the following extract from a letter written soon 
after his death, by an intimate acquaintance of him and his 
family, to us well known: 

"It was not until 1827 that he became the subject of renew- 
ing grace, so as to be satisfied that he had passed from death 
unto life. Then did he see in the light of their preciousness 
and divine consistency, the truth of those doctrines in which 
he had been early instructed; and the services of religion 
became so agreeable and increasingly important in his esteem, 
that he turned to them with unwonted satisfaction, walking in 
the commandments and ordinances of the Lord. The genu- 
ineness of the work in him became apparent, not only in his 
life and the public profession of his faith, but also in the in- 
struction of his household. The morning and evening knew 
their appointed services almost as uniformly as 'the sun 
knoweth his going down.' The Bible and Shorter Catechism 
were familiar to all the members; the first book in their 
acquaintance and not the last in their esteem. * * * * 
The idea of frcmkness was so associated with his person, 
that every one felt that he was rightly named. If it made 
him some enemies, it gained him many friends. His funeral 
was attended by a large concourse of people." 

Dr. Augustus Frank was married to Jerusha H. Baldwin, 
at Dorset, Vt, Sept. 12, 1816. She died March 15, 1825. 
They had three children : Henriett, and two who died in 
infancy. 

Henriett was born Sept. 12, 1817; married Edward A. 
McKay, a lawyer in Naples, Ontario county, and since 186-1 
connected with the National Bank Department in "Washing- 
ton. They have three children : Jennie Frank, Alida, and 
Augustus Frank. Jennie F. and Alida are married. 

Dr. Frank married Jane Patterson, of Londonderry, N. IT., 
at the residence of her brother, William Patterson, in "War- 
saw, Aug. 25, 1825. She was born in Londonderry, Aug. 30, 
1705. They had seven children: 

Augustus. [See Sketch.] 

Elizabeth W. married Rev. Joseph E. Nassau. [See 
Sketch.] 

George Washington. [See Sketch.] 

Jennie P. was born March 1, 1833, and married Edward 
K. Greene, a wholesale merchant in Montreal, Canada. They 
have three children: Eleanor O., Jennie F. and Edward K. 



26S 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Mary A. was born Sept. 9, 1835, and married Philo D. 
Brown, a banker in Montreal, Canada. They have three 
children: Augustus Frank, Frederic, and Evelyn H. 

Dr. Frank died Jan. 20, 1851, aged 59 years. Mrs. Jane 
Frank died Feb. 19, 1867, aged 71 years. 

JANE FRANK, the youngest daughter of Dea. Thomas 
Patterson, of Londonderry, N. H., was born Aug. 30, 1795. 
She was in early life surrounded by those influences which 
tend to ennoble and refine, and by which she was prepared 
for the sphere she was afterwards called to fill. It was her 
good fortune to have a mother who not only instructed her 
daughters well in house-keeping, but taught them that life 
had higher and nobler ends. To her they were largely in- 
debted for those qualities which fitted them so well to render 
their own homes happy, and to make themselves a blessing 
to the world. Mrs. Frank, though not one of those usually 
termed " the old settlers," was an early inhabitant of War- 
saw. During a sojourn with her brother William in this 
town, in 1825, she was married to Dr. Augustus Frank. From 
that time until her death, she resided in this village. Here 
the greater part of her life was spent; and it is believed that 
among the great number who, during this long period, made 
her acquaintance, there are none who do not delight to cher- 
ish her memory. Possessing a highly social nature and a mild 
and cheerful temper, her presence was welcome in every social 
gathering. No trait in her character was more conspicuous 
than her large-hearted benevolence. Her generous deeds are 
yet fresh in the recollections of those who witnessed them, and 
of those upon whom her gifts were bestowed by her own hands. 
Put the most numerous recipients of her charities knew not 
by whom they were bestowed. Many a young heart in the 
*' Home of the Friendless " has been gladdened by the labor 
of her hands and by her liberal purse. Many a missionary 
in the " Far West " will never know to whose sympathizing 
heart and assiduous efforts he was indebted for all his winter 
comforts. Nor did she wait tor appeals for aid from the suf- 
fering in person. She sought out the worthy objects of her 
charity. It was to her a pleasure to '''•visit the widow and 
the fatherless in their affliction," as well as to administer to 
their necessities. More than once has she had the pleasure of 
rejoicing the hearts of young men, by the " material aid " she 
rendered them in their preparatory course for the ministry. 
She had learned by experience what too few ever learn, that 
" it is more blessed to give than to receive." But she had 
been too well instructed in the truths of revelation to consider 








<C4^>^ >VV/// Xv 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 209 

true religion as consisting wholly in generous deeds. She had 
been taught that it comprised a Knowledge of the Divine char- 
acter and a living faith in an atoning Savior, from which faith 
all truly good works proceed. She rejoiced at the prosperity 
of the Church universal, and felt a special interest in that 
branch with which she was connected, and contributed liber- 
ally to its support. She was happy in her family relations, 
and had the satisfaction, before her departure, of having seen 
all her children making a public profession of their faith. 
She terminated her earthly labors on the 19th of February, 
1867. 

AUGUSTUS FRANK, son of Dr. Augustus Frank, was 
born in Warsaw, July IT, 1820. At an early age he entered 
his father's store, and soon took an active part in the manage- 
ment of the mercantile and the various other branches of his 
father's extensive business. In 1817, having attained his ma- 
jority, he commenced the mercantile business for himself. 
Aided by his energy, persevering industry, and native cour- 
tesy, he prosecuted his business with unusual success; acquir- 
ing in a few years a large and prosperous trade. While his 
business was pursued with assiduity, he took a deep interest and 
an active part in matters of public concern, and gave a ready 
support to measures designed to promote the general good. 
His practical knowledge of business brought him early into 
favorable notice. He was chosen to aid in the organization 
and management of several chartered business associations, 
one of which was the " Buffalo and New York City Railroad 
Company," of which he was a Director and Vice-President. 
In 1856, he was chosen a Delegate to the first National Con- 
vention of the Republican party, held in Philadelphia. In 
1858, he was elected to Congress from the District then com- 
prising the counties of Allegany, Wyoming, and Genesee — 
the first political office he ever held. Having, however, for 
many years directed his attention to questions of state and 
national policy, he was not unprepared for the responsible 
trust assigned him; and he soon attained an influential posi- 
tion in the House. In 1860, he was returned to the 37th 
Congress by a 'majority of nearly eight thousand. In 1802, 
he was elected to the 3Sth Congress, the District being then 
composed of the counties of Wyoming, Genesee, and Niagara. 
He closed his third term in March, 1805. His Congressional 
career was an honorable one. Though he never made him- 
self prominent as a speaker, his readiness of utterance and 
the candor of his statements, secured a degree of attention 
which many of the leaders in debate failed to receive. 



270 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



His propositions commended themselves to the judgment 
of the House, and were generally adopted. He was in 
Congress previous to and during the whole period of 
the civil war, taking an active part on all financial ques- 
tions, and giving a hearty and unwavering support to every 
measure tor suppressing the rebellion, lie participated in all 
the legislation relating to the abolition of slavery in the Dis- 
trict of Columbia and the Slave States, faithfully representing 
the strong antislavery sentiment ot his district. On no ques- 
tion did he render more important service than that of the 
constitutional amendment forever prohibiting slavery in the 
United States. The efficiency of his efforts on that occasion 
were conceded by the press throughout the country. In 1867, 
he was elected on the State ticket as one of the thirty-two 
delegates at large to the convention for revising the Constitu- 
tion of the State of New York. At home he has co-operated 
with his fellow-citizens in measures for promoting public im- 
provements and the moral and intellectual elevation of 
society. Himself and wife are member of the Presbyterian 
church; and while he contributes largely, by personal effort 
and pecuniary means, to its various objects, he renders a like 
support to educational, benevolent, and reformatory institu- 
tions generally. He married Agnes, daughter of Win. TV. 
McNair, of Groveland, Livingston Co., New York. 

GEORGE TV. FRANK, son of Dr. Augustus Frank, was 
born Nov. 20, 1830, and has always been a resident of this 
town. He was engaged in his father's store and in other 
business until the death of his father in 1851. He soon after 
engaged with his brother, and in 1851 became a partner in 
the Dry Goods trade, the firm taking the name of A. & G. TV. 
Frank, under which the business is still continued on an en- 
tensive scale. He is also a partner in the Patterson Manu- 
facturing Co., of this village. He is an energetic business 
man, and is active in promoting the interests of the village. 
His influence is also exerted in advancing the moral enter- 
prises of the day. He and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian church. lie married Phebe T., daughter of 
William TV. McNair, of Groveland. They have had four 
children: Sarah, died an infant, Augustus, Jennie, and 
George W. 

BRADLEY S. GALLETT was born in Saratoga Co., 
Sept. 8, 1S15. He married Emma Peck, in 1837, and re- 
moved to Warsaw the same year. He is a farmer, and 
resides west of the village, near the Railroad Station. He 
has three children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 271 

Anna, who married Franklin Willard, and resides in Iowa. 
Bradley 1ST., and Wallace O. 

HENRY GARRETSEE was born in Niskayuna, Sche- 
nectady Co., ~N. Y., June 1, ISIS. After a brief residence in 
several towns in Western New York, he removed to Le Roy 
at the age of 14 years. In 1S43, he came to Warsaw, and 
formed a partnership with Seth M. Gates in the Hardware 
business, in which he has continued, in company and single, 
until the present time. His business has been during this 
time conducted on an extensive scale, embracing, in addition 
to the ordinary Hardware business, the casting of stoves and 
other wares. [See Hardware Merchants.] He married in 
this town, Sept., 1847, Elizabeth Orr, by whom he had four 
children: Henry, Elizabeth, John, and Walter, all living. 

Dea. SETH GATES became a resident of Warsaw in the 
Spring of 1834. He was born in Preston, Conn., March 7, 
1775, and married Abigail Merrill, Jan. 1, 1800. In March, 
1S06, he removed to Sheldon, in this county, his being the 
third house built in that town. In 180S, he made open pro- 
fession of religion; was active in organizing the Baptist 
church in Sheldon, and was soon elected one of its Deacons. 
He was always active in sustaining the Gospel, schools, and 
all benevolent and charitable enterprises. Dea. Gates com- 
manded a company of Light Infantry on the frontiers in the 
war ot 1812, until the battle of Queenston had so thinned its 
ranks, that it was annexed to another company. He died 
Nov. 9, 1847. Mrs. Gates survived him about 4 years. They 
left 4 children, Seth M., Chauncey C, Calista, and Delia. 

Seth M. [See sketch of Seth M. Gates.] 

Chauncey C. was born June 16, 1810, in Sheldon, and 
removed to Warsaw, in 1836, where he was a clerk, and then 
a partner of Isaac C. Bronson, in the Dry Goods trade. In 
1843, he sold out his interest to A. G. Hammond. From that 
time to this, he has been, either as a partner or as a clerk, en- 
gaged in the Hardware and Stove business, carried on under 
the firms of Gates & Garretsee, and C. C. Gates & Co., and 
others. He married Mary Elizabeth Butler, a niece of Joshua 
H. Darling. Their children are, William Walter, Willarcl, 
Harriet, and Julia. 

Calista married Isaac C. Bronson. [See sketch.] 

Delia married Rev. A. II. Stowell, and has four children, 
Harriet, Eliza, Henry, and Emma. 



272 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



^ SETH M. GATES was born in Winfield, Herkimer Co., BT. 
Y., Oct. 16, 1800. He came to Sheldon in 1806; worked on 
a farm until 1S20; was then three years in Middlebury Acad- 
emy, teaching school winters, his first trial at teaching being 
in South Warsaw, in 1821. He commenced the study of Law 
with Hon. Heman J. Redfield, of LeRoy, in 1823, and was 
admitted to practice in 1S2T, and formed a partnership with 
Hon. A. P. Hascall, in the practice of law, which was con- 
tinued eleven years. During his clerkship he was Inspector 
of Common Schools, and Deputy Sheriff. In 1830, he was 
Supervisor of LeRoy, and in 1832, Member of Assembly 
from the county of Genesee, elected by the Anti-Masonic 
party. By the efforts of Mr. Gates and his colleagues, the 
act authorizing the construction of the Tonawanda Railroad, 
from Rochester to Attica, was passed at that session, this 
being the first railroad in Western New York. In 1S38, he 
purchased the Le Roy Gazette, and for nine months was its 
editor. In Nov. 1838, he was elected to Congress as an Anti- 
shivery Whig, and re-elected in 1810, serving four years. 
His letter to Gerrit Smith, written just before taking his scat 
in Congress in 1839, defending the Antislavery Whigs in ad- 
hering to their party against the attacks of Mr. Smith, found 
great favor with the party, and was published by Whig Jour- 
nals throughout the North. During his four years service in 
Congress, he co-operated actively with Messrs. Adams, Gid- 
dings, and Slade in the memorable struggle for the riirht of 
petition and freedom of speech, and did much to arouse 
public attention to the plans and efforts of the South to extend 
and strengthen slavery. By transmitting the Address of the 
World's Convention held in London in 1810, under his frank, 
to the Governors of the Southern States, he so exasperated the 
slaveholders that no less than five of the Governors mentioned 
the fact in their next messages; and a rich planter in Savan- 
nah offered a reward of 8500 for the delivery of the offend- 
ing Member of Congress, dead or alive, in that city. At the 
close of the 27th Congress, at the request of Mr. Adams, he 
drew up a Protest against the annexation of Texas, proving 
that it was a project of the slaveholders to extend the area of 
slavery. The paper was signed by many of the members of 
Congress. At the close of his service in Congress, in 1813, 
having formed a law partnership with F. C. D. McKay, he 
removed to Warsaw, where has since resided. Having 
become interested in the Hardware trade with Mr. Garretsee, 
he gave up his practice. He afterwards engaged in the Dry 
Goods and Lumber trade, continuing it until the loss of his 
planing mill the second time by fire, in 1S65. In May, 1S61, 




^/&^ w^£Sc/ &£i<r. 



Taken 1843. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 273 

he was appointed Postmaster by Mr. Lincoln ; and in May, 

1866, was reappointed by Mr. Johnson. In 1848, he was the 
Free Soil candidate for Lieutenant-Governor on the ticket with 
Gen. John A. Dix for Governor. For about forty years he 
has been a temperance man, and has been active, with his 
voice and his pen, in opposing the traffic in all that can in- 
toxicate, as well as its use as a beverage. In 1831, he joined 
the Presbyterian church in Le Poy. In Warsaw he united 
with the Congregational church, and was for thirteen years in 
succession the Superintendent of its Sunday School, and has 
been for many years its church clerk. Mr. Gates was married 
to Eliza Keyes, of Le Poy, in 1827, by whom he had seven 
children: 

Henry K., who was born Sept. 16, 1S2S, married Miss 
Johnson, of Fredonia, and is a broker in New York. 

Mary E., who married Seymour G. Bronson, of Warsaw, 
now a Hardware merchant in Pockford, 111. 

Frances A., who resides with her sister in Pockford. 

Harriet C, born June 3, 1831, died Nov. 1, 1850. 

John A., born Aug. 9, 1836, is unmarried. 

Seth M. and Eliza K., (twins,) both died in infancy. 

Mr. Gates married, in Sept., 1811, for his second wife, Fanny 
Jennett Parsons, of Lisle, Broome Co., 1ST. Y. By her he had 
five children: 

Sarah 1ST., who died in May, 1865, at the age of 22, when 
ready to graduate at Ingham University. 

Eliza Jennett was born in Warsaw, Nov. 1, 1S15. 

Merrill E., born April 6, ISIS, is now in College. 

Erastus Parsons was born April 16, 1850. 

Lewis Eddy was born March 23, 1860. 

Mr. Gates' second wife died June 8, 1866; and July 11, 

1867, he married Mrs. A. C. Bishop, widow of the late Hon. 
William S. Bishop, of Rochester, and daughter of the late 
Col. Nathaniel Rochester. 

SIMEON GIBSON was born in Poultney, Vt, May 18, 
1779. He married for his first wife, Sally Morris, of Hamp- 
ton. They had two children: 

William, who married Clarinda Park. Their children 
were: 1. Nelson, who died at 19. 2. Lora, who died at IS. 
3. Sarah, who married George Robinson, of Michigan. 4. Ara- 
bella, who died at 8. 5. Clara P. 6. Marcus E. William 
Gibson died Oct. 21, 1860. 

Sally married Chauncey Z. Cutting. [See Jonas Cut- 
ting.] 

18 



271 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Simeon Gibson married for his second wife, Miriam Mun- 
ger, by whom he had six children: 

John S., who married Caroline Awmuck. They removed 
to Batavia, 111. They had four children: Porter, Charles, Ar- 
thur, Ellen. Mr. Gibson died a few years since. 

Daniel II. married Laura Morris. They had nine chil- 
dren: Sullivan W., George G, Clayton K., died an infant; 
Wilber II., John F., Adelia E., Lora, and Cora, d. inf. 

Marcus married Catharine Bntterfield, and had three chil- 
dren: Helen, Elbridge, and Frederick. Mr. Gibson was killed 
accidentally by a gun in his own hands. 

Simeon K. is married, and resides in Southern Illinois. 

Stillman S. married Mary Hopson, and lives in Center- 
ville. 

Jasper B. is married, and resides in Illinois. 

Simeon Gibson married a third wife, Elizabeth Worden, by 
whom he had two children: Christopher C. and Miriam A., 
both dead. Mr. Gibson died [Nov. 29, 1849. 

NILES GIDDINGS was born in Hartland, Conn., in 
1760. He married Naomi Hale in 1788. They removed to 
Warsaw in 1810, and settled on East Hill, where they died; 
Mrs. Giddings in 1S23; Mr. Giddings in 1812. They had 
ten children: 

Linus, who married Electa Parsons, and lives in Ve- 
nango, Pa. 

Lester married Speeda Miller, and removed to Michigan. 

Lypia married David Myers, and resides at Cherry Crock. 
Children: Adaline, Naomi, Rachel, Lydia, David, Oliver, 
and John. 

Betsey married Thomas Scott; they reside in Le Boy, 111. 

Hiram married Ethana Holmes; removed to Michigan. 
Children: Naomi, Henry, Hibbard, John B. 

Piieise married Ohauncey Bice, and had eight children, 
and died at the age of 38 years. 

Celinda married Abram Hollister, and had two children; 
married, second, David Hollister, and had five children. 

Baciiel married David Botsford. Children living: Sarah 
Jane and George W. Three died infants. 

John married Mindrel Wilcox; died at 35; had two sons. 

Jane Elmira died at the age of 3 years. 

SIMEON" R. GLAZIER was born April 11, 1780; married 
Catharine Perkins, in Hampton, and removed in 1810 or 1811 
to this town. He soon after built, in South Warsaw, a Card- 
ing and Cloth Dressing Shop, which, a short time after, was 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 275 

destroyed by fire. It was rebuilt, and owned thereafter by 
different individuals. He died Sept. 29, 1848. Mrs. Glazier 
died April 20, 1851. They had nine children, of whom three 
died young. 

Caroline, who married James F. Pettengill, and after his 
death, Dr. Forrest Harkness, of Eushville, X. Y., who also 
died soon after marriage. She resides in this town. 

Mary Ann, who died at the age of IS. 

Jane M., who married Milo E. Munger, lives in Iowa, and 
has nine children. 

Sarah A. married Andrew Pettengill, who died in Warsaw, 
Jan., 1867, They had five childrem Mary A., who married 
"Wm. F. Purdy; Charles F.; both reside in "Warsaw; John E., 
and two dead. 

Laura married William Annis, and died at 23. 

Aurelia A., who died at 24. 

EOSWELL GOULD came into this town from Middlebury 
and established a store in South Warsaw, and continued busi- 
ness there about fifteen years. In 1843, he removed to the 
village, where he pursued the same business until 1851, when 
he discontinued the dry goods trade, and was afterwards most 
of the time, either alone or as a partner, a produce-dealer. He 
has held the offices of Justice of the Peace and Supervisor; 
and in 1853 he was elected County Treasurer for the term of 
three years. He was in sentiment and action a temperance 
and antislavery man. He was born Sept. 2, 1806, and married, 
Feb. 7, 1833, Marilla Beekley, born Mary 9, 1810. Their 
children were Helen L., who died at 10; Caroline E., who 
died at 6; Frank C, born Nov. 8, 1817; and Alice F., born 
Dec. 6, 1851. Mr. Gould died Dec, 1868. 

CALEB HATCH was born in Hanover, Mass., whence he 
removed to Bennington, Vt., where he married Anna Palmer. 
He came to Warsaw in 1811, and settled in the south part of 
the village, wdiere he spent the remainder of his life. His 
wife died June 17, 1825, aged 56. He married for his second 
wife, Mrs. Pike, who died in this town, Oct. 25, 1868, aged S7 
years. He died June 15, 1810, at the age of 79. His child- 
ren w r ere: 

Stephen, who married Thankful Truesdell, by whom he had 
four children, three of whom died young. Bumsey married 
Alta Jackson, and removed to Bockton, 111., where he died. 
The wife of Stephen Hatch died May 2, 1827, aged 26. He 
married for his second wife Gratia Hughes, and died July 
29, 1818, aged 56 years. His wife married Rev. Mr. Jackson, 
of Clyde, Ohio. 



276 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Simon married Electa Francis, and removed to Cuba, N". Y., 
where he still resides. 

Harry married Maria Richards. They reside in Warsaw, 
and have eight children: Lydia A., Emily J., Sarah S., Lyman 
L., Randall D., Eurana R., Adelbert F., Alonzo M. 

Clara married Philander Hale. They reside in the south- 
west part of the town. Their children are: Nancy Ann, who 
married Daniel Clark, and resides in Hume. Mary, who 
married Edwin Bannister, and lives in Hume. Clarissa, who 
married James Jones. Caleb, who married Ruth Ann Foote. 

"WILLIAM C. HATCH was born in Colchester, Conn., and 
married Jernsha Deming, of Westfield, Conn. They came to 
Warsaw about the first day of January, 1815, and settled in 
the north-west part of the town, where his sons, Wm. T., Mil- 
ton D., and Walter M. now reside. 

William T. married Betsey Sturdevant. Their children 
are: 1. Henry, who married Lydia Smith. 2. Amelia, d. inf. 
3. Amelia, who married Reuben Brackett, and lives in Nia- 
gara county. 4. Jerusha, who married Horace Choate, of 
Middlebury, and has a son. 5. Wm. C, who married Esther 
Webb, ot Covington, and has two children, Channcey and 
Helen. 6. Ransom, who married Emma Tanner. 

Milton D. married Mrs. Amanda Swift. They have two 
daughters. 1. Harriet, who married Theodore Aikin. 2. 
Emily. 

Walter M. married Sally Sherwin. Their children are : 1. 
Lucy M., who married Oscar H. Ilibbard. 2. Lyman. 3. 
Walter, who married Lois Bentley, and has a son. 4. Elvira. 
5. George. 6. Albert, 7. Flora. 

LLOYD A. HAYWARD was born in Winthrop, Maine, 
Dec. 6, 1S16. He is a graduate of Amherst College, and of 
the Law School at Harvard. He was for a time a Clerk in 
the Treasury Department at AVashington, and came to Perry 
in 1841, where he married, Oct. 8, 1S44, Mary Jane Dudley, 
who was born at Union Village, Washington county, !N". Y., 
May 18, 1S27. In 1853, he removed to Warsaw, where he 
still resides. He was Secretary of the Wyoming County Mu- 
tual Insurance Company for many years, and for six years 
Treasurer of the County. He is a member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and is one of its Deacons. He has had three 
children; two daughters and a son : Melicent, who died; Mary 
Kate, and Edward D. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. Zt ( 

HENRY HIBBARD was born in Canterbury, Conn., Feb. 
16, 1784. He married Sarah Palmer, Jan. 27, 1814. They 
removed to Warsaw in 1816, and settled in the north-east part 
of the town, where he resided at the time of bis death, March 
21, 1820. They had four children; two living. 

Sarah E., who married John II. Keeney. [See Keeney 
Family.] 

Oscar IT., born Nov. 2, 1818, married Lucy Ann Hatch, 
daughter of Walter M. Hatch, and has two children: Wal- 
ter II., and Uberto Banks. Mr. Hibbard was from 1854 a 
partner in the firm of Gould & Hibbard in the Produce trade, 
until the retirement of Mr. Gould in 1867. He is at present 
associated with Wm. Bristol; firm, Hibbard & Bristol. 

Mrs. Sarah Hibbard married for her second husband, John 
Alverson, by whom she had five children; three living, as fol- 
lows: 

Cordelia P., who married David K. Lowell, now a produce 
merchant at Nunda Station. 

Phebe C. married Morgan Cronkhite, of Middlebury, and 
resides in Lawrence, Kansas. 

Sarepta W. married Ashbury Stevens, and lives in Kansas. 

John Alverson died April, 1840. 

ICHABOD HODGE was born in Connecticut, Oct, 1, 
1786. He married Welthy Martin, who was born Nov. 20, 
1784. The removed to this town in 1831. He was for sev- 
eral years employed in the grist-mill in this village, of which 
he subsequently became for a time joint owner. He was a 
member of the Baptist church, and had held the office of 
Deacon before he removed to this place. Mrs. Hodge died 
June 6, 1847. Dea. Hodge died Oct. 18, 1857. They had 
six children: 

Martin, born Oct. 4, 1800, married Orpha Plant. They 
had nine children: Ellen M., Edwin, Harriet, Arabel, Orpha, 
Marcus M., Caroline, Perry, and Alice. They reside in Pike. 

Sylvinia, born April 16, 1812, married Hiram E. Adams, 
being his second wife, and died Aug. 4, 1845. They had two 
children. 

Perry married Sarah Yates. They now reside at Seneca 
Falls. They had eight children; three are living: Alida S., 
Martin, and George. 

Israel, born Jan. 16, 1817, married Sally Morris, of this 
town. He w T as for several years in partnership with his 
brother, Perry, in the Hardware business in Springville, and 
in this village. He w r as elected a Justice of the Peace in this 
town, in 1845, and reelected in 1840. He died Aug. 7, 1852. 



2(8 HISTORY OF AVARSAAV. 

His wife died April 21, 1S53. They bad three children: 
1. Solomon, who married Josephine Smith, and is iioav a mer- 
chant in Chicago. 2. Albert I., who resides in Iowa. 3. Edith, 
who married Frank Mitchell, of Brodhead, Wis. 

Maryette, born April 4, 1822, married Hiram E. Adams,, 
being his first Avise, and died 1845. They had two children. 

Eliza Ann, born April 16, 1S24, resides in Warsaw. 

HOE ACE HOLLISTER was born in Pawlet, Vt, Jan. 10, 
1798. He married, Nov. 24, 1824, Julia Smith, born April 
14, 1799. He came to Warsaw in 1824, and established the 
carriage-making business. His was the first establishment in 
which the various branches of that business were carried on' 
to any considerable extent. He sold the establishment in 
1839, and purchased a farm in Westfield, where he resided 
many years. In 1805, he returned to Warsaw, where he now 
resides. Mrs. Hollister died in Warsaw, Dec. 5, 1837; by 
whom he had five children, ot whom two, John C. and Delia. 
Ann, d. inf. 

Laura Elizabeth, who married George Niles, of Michigan,. 
Avhere she died Jan. 30, 1846. 

Wm. Hara'ea*, avIio married Margaret Wilcox, in Westfield,. 
and resides in Manchester, Iowa. 

Julia Maria died at the age of 6 years. 

.Mr. Hollister married Sept. 17, 1838, Caroline McWhorter,. 
daughter of Samuel McWhorter, Est]., of Warsaw, by whom 
he had six children; one, Mary Annis, d. inf. 

John Quinct A., who graduated at Hamilton College, en- 
listed in the Avar as a private, and Avas promoted to the office 
of Captain. He married Emily F. Barker, since deceased. 
He has since graduated at Cincinnati Medical College, and is 
in practice at Brocton, IS". Y. 

Horace H. graduated with his brother at Hamilton College, 
and has since been Principal of East Pembroke Academy, 
and taught elsewhere. 41 e married Ada A. Ellinwood, and 
is now a teacher in the Deaf and Dumb Institute at Colum- 
bus, Ohio. 

Carrie Maria, Mary Isabella, and Samuel A. live in 
Warsaw. 

ALANSON HOLLY was born in Granville, K Y., July 
21,1810. He was a son of Silvanus Holly. In 1822, his 
mother, with her three youngest sons, John, Milton, and 
Alanson, removed to this town, and settled on West HilL 
Alanson was at this time 12 years of age. The two succeed- 
ing summers he worked for his neighbors at farming, his- 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 279 

accustomed labor, and the next three summers at the car- 
penter and joiner's trade. His school privileges had been 
very limited; and with a view to teaching, he attended Elder 
TuthilPs select school at Pike six weeks, which completed his 
school course, not exceeding, in all, twenty months. In the 
winter after he was sixteen, he commenced teaching, and 
taught five consecutive winters. In 1830 or 1831, he worked 
three months at printing for A. W. Young, in the office of the 
Warsaw Sentinel, and in his store for a time as clerk. After 
which, he was clerk for Joshua II. Darling, five years, and as 
a principal in the mercantile business two years. In 1838, he 
was elected on a temperance ticket a Justice of the Peace. 
He has from his youth been a thorough temperance man, and 
has, during his manhood, thus far, employed his voice and 
pen in support of total abstinence. He has been equally dil- 
igent in promoting the cause of education. He held the office 
of School Inspector and Town Superintendent eighteen years. 
In 1818, he established the Wyoming County Mirror. Though 
before and since that time a firm advocate of the distinctive 
principles of the Whig party, yet, feeling himself morally 
bound to support no man tor President or Member of Con- 
gress who was not opposed to the extension of slavery, he 
refused to support the nomination of Gen. Taylor, made but 
three months after the establishing of the Mirror. In 1855, 
he sold out his paper, and removed to Kilbourn City, Wis., 
where he started the Wisconsin Mirror, literally l * in the 
woods," there being but one dwelling within a mile from the 
printing-office. After the election of 1860, he discontinued 
the paper, and became joint proprietor of the Loekport 
Journal, daily, and Niagara County Intelligencer, weekly. 
In the fall of 1861, he removed to Warsaw, and engaged in 
the Drug and Grocery business, which he continued three 
years. In the spring of 1866, he returned to Kilbourn City, 
and in June, 1868, he revived the Wisconsin Mirror after a 
sleep of nearly eight years, and is now publishing it with his 
son Homer O. Holly as a partner. The principles which 
have guided his course of life, he ascribes chiefly to maternal 
training. Mr. Holly was married, Oct. 5, 1836, to Lucretia 
E. Wakefield, who was born July 22, 1816. They have had 
ten children, as follows: 

Morton A., who died in Kilbourn City, Wis., March 11, 
1857, by falling from a high perpendicular or prejecting rock 
upon the ice on the Wisconsin river, in his 20th year. 

Geraldine Lucretia, who married, in Warsaw, N. Jack- 
son Morris. They reside in Chicago, and have a son. 



2S0 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Josephine Lophelia, who married Robert Scofield, in Kil- 
bourn City, where they reside. 

Homer Orlando, who served three years in the late war, 
in the various offices of Regimental Brigade and Division 
Postmaster; Clerk of Regimental and Brigade Quartermaster, 
and Regimental Quartermaster's Sergeant. Discharged, Ju- 
ly, 1865. 

Isabella Jane, Howard Frank, who died at 5; Willie 
Elwood, Lewie Lloyd, d. inf.; Ella May, Arthur Wake- 
field. 

SIMEON IIOLTOX was born in Piscataway, X. J., Feb. 
2, 1810, and married in LeRoy, in 1831, Olive S. Spring, who 
was born Jan. 20, 1816. lie came to Warsaw about 1812. 
He is by trade a mason. He is a member of the Baptist 
church, and is at present one of its deacons. He has had 
nine children: 

Milton E., who married Sarah M. Milliner, resides in 
Rochester, and has three children: Joel P., Jessie, and 
Sarah L. 

Reliance M., who married Arthur IT. Watts, Jeweler in 
Shelbina, Mo. Children: Olive E. and Myra J. 

Marquis F., who married Julia Bainbridge, who died after 
two months. He was in the war. [See War History.] 

Walter S., who died at 19. 

Henry Harrison, who lives in Shelbina, Mo. Served in 
the war a year. 

Junius R., Clara D., Myra, and two d. inf. 

SAMUEL HOUGH was born in the year 1708. He had 
by his first wife four children: Rebecca, Samuel, who died 
young, Orson, and Hiram. 

Rebecca married in Warsaw, Ira Jenkins, by whom she 
had a son, Gideon II. [See G. H. Jenkins.] 

Orson married in Warsaw, Clorinda Webster, daughter of 
Elizur Webster. They had seven children: 1. Elizabeth; 2. 
Horace, who died in a Western State; 3. Clarissa, who died 
in Westfield; 4. Ardelizza; 5. Augustin, who married and 
resides in Westfield; 6. Amelia; 7. Geddes, who resides in 
Nebraska. The family resides in Westfield. 

Hiram was married, and had several children. He died 
at Lockport, Erie Co., Pa. 

Samuel Hough married, in Granville, for his second wife, 
Mrs. Clarissa McWhorter, widow of John McWhorter, and 
daughter of Isaac Phelps, Sen. lie removed with his family 
to Warsaw, in 1813, where he died, Sept. 4. 182G. He had 
by this wife eight children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 281 

Hannah, who married Augustin U. Baldwin, and had three 
children: 1. Vincent, who is a merchant in New York; 2. 
Jernsha, who married George Farnsworth, and died; 3. Mel- 
Yin. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin died in "VVestfield. 

Clarissa married Daniel Rockwell, and removed to "West- 
field. They had four children: 1. Lansing, d. inf.; 2. Rollin 
D., who married Helen E. Mann, and has three children : 
Alice B., Clarence, d. inf., and George D. 3. Walter. 4. 
Frederick A., who married Alice Magrath, of New York. 
Mrs. Clarissa Rockwell died Feb. 12, 1868, aged 63 years. 

Melissa married Ackley Carter. They removed to Wis- 
consin, thence to Iowa. 

Louisa married Elnathan Scranton, of Covington, she 
being his third wife, and had two children, Rebecca and 
Albert. 

Miriam married W. R. Morse, and had three children: 
Frances, who died about 25 years of age, and two sons who 
died young. 

Mariett married Edwin Buck, and had five children: 1. 
Edwin D., who married Jennie Osgood; 2. Mary Ann, who 
married Herman Sixby; 3. Augusta, who is married and re- 
sides in Pennsylvania; 4. Frederick; 5. Carlton. 

Samuel, who married, and lived many years in Erie Co., 
Pa. He had several children. 

Sophia married Zera Col burn. They live in Westfield, and 
have no children. 

Samuel Hough died Sept. 4, 1826, aged nearly 58 years. 

JOSIAII HOVEY, Sen., was born in Mansfield, Conn., in 
1747. He married Theodora Downer. Having resided suc- 
cessively in Whitestown, !N". Y., Tioga, Pa., and Leicester, 1ST. 
Y., he came to Warsaw in May, 1804, and settled in the north 
part of the town. He was one of the number of whom the 
Methodist church w r as composed at its formation. [See Meth- 
odist church.] He died April 24, 1820, aged 73 years. They 
had thirteen children : 

Orre married Azuba Root, and had several children. 

Simeon. [See Simeon Hovey.] 

Gurdon w r as born in Lebanon, N". II., June 6, 1778; mar- 
ried Anna Starkweather, and settled in the north part of this 
town. His is believed to have been one of the first three 
houses built in the town. It was built by him and a brother, 
in the autumn of 1803; and in March, 1804, occupied by 
himself, and, for a short time, together with his two brothers, 
Simeon and Josiah. He removed many years ago to Michigan 
with his family, where died. He had eight children. 



2S2 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



John married Elizabeth Brooks, of Tioga, Pa., by whom 
lie had three sons and three daughters. His wife died, and 
he married a second wife; removed to the West and died. 

Suel married Lucinda Holmes, and removed to Michigan. 

Theodora married Noah Willis. They moved to Missouri. 

Ziba married Sophia Metcalf, Bethany, and removed to 
Eandolph. They had eight children. 

Eliphalet married Sally Knapp. Their children were, 1. 
Salvira, who married Wright Blaekmer. 2. Bleeker, who 
married, and practiced medicine in Rochester. 3. Maria, 
who married Mr. Mowry. 1. Juliet, who married Jedediah 
Gordon, ot Rushford. 5. Louisa, who married Mr. Crane, of 
Dansville. 6. Mina who married Ira Gifford. 7. Spencer, 
who lives at Linden. 8. Alpheus, lives in Rushford. 

Eliphalet Hovev died Dec. 18, 1843, aged 52 years. Mrs. 
Hoveydied ]N T ov. 18, 1818, aged 56 years. 

Alvin married Calista Roberts, and removed to Michigan. 
They had nine children. 

Laura married Nathan Snow, and removed to Randolph, 
New York. 

Fina married Lewis Alverson, of Perry; moved to Mich- 
igan. 

Melinda married Richard Jackson, for many years a resi- 
dent of Warsaw. Their children were Adelia; Z. Paddock, 
who married in Steuben county; James, who married and 
went to Michigan; Sally Ann; Almina, who married in Mich.; 
Calvin; Emery, who was in the war, was taken sick and died 
at home in Michigan. 

^SIMEON HOYEY was born in Lebanon, K IL, July 6, 
1776; married, Aug. 31, 1800, Jerusha Lamb. He bought, 
with his two brothers, Gurdon and Josiah, lot 21, in the 
autumn of 1803, and built a house, into which they removed 
in March, 1804. The house, it is said, was, until the others 
had had time to build for themselves, occupied by the three, 
neither having as yet any children. Simeon resided in this 
town, near the place where he first settled, until within a few 
years before his death. He built for Judge Webster, 1805, 
the first saw-mill in this town. Both he and his wife w T ere 
among the members of the Methodist Episcopal church of 
which it was composed at the time of its organization. A few 
years before his death he removed to Monroe county, and 
died, April 25, 1862. His widow, at the advanced age of 81, 
resides with a son in this village. They had nine children : 
Harry was born Sept. 1, 1801, being the first male child 
born in this town. He married Lydia M. Maher. Their 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



2S3 



children were, 1. Henry L. 2. Francis, who died at 22. 3. 
Eugene. L Laura Bell. 5. Wilber. 

Martha E. married Eev. Carlos Gould, and resides in 
Parma. Their children are, 1. LeEoy H., who married 
Amelia Standish; resides in Michigan. 2. Mary. 3. Frances, 
who is married. 

Deloss married in Ohio, and is a practicing physician. 

Le Boy married Deborah Smith, and died two months after. 

Simeon, born February 7, 1813, is unmarried, resides in 
Warsaw. 

Eunice married Daniel P. Newell, of Middlebury. They 
reside in Parma, and have two children, Charles and Mary. 

Mary A. married Gideon IT. Jenkins. [See Gideon IL 
Jenkins. 

Laura J. died at 22, unmarried. 

Enoch W. married Amelia A. Merrell. They removed to 
Janesville, Wis., and have live children : Frederick, Charles, 
Laura, LeRoy, Edward. 

JOSIAH HOVEY, Jun., was born in Lebanon, 1ST. H., 
Jan., 1780, and married Sally Lamb. They removed to War- 
saw in 1804, as elsewhere stated. [See Simeon and Gurdon 
Hovey.] They resided on the farm on which they first settled 
until a late period in life, when they removed to the village, 
and after a few years to Buffalo, where they died. They were 
members of the Methodist church in this town at the time of 
its formation. They had thirteen children: 

Alfred married Polly Cleveland, and had five sons and 
two daughters. He died in Warsaw. 

Horace died in Warsaw at the age of 19. 

Julia Ann married Linus Chittenden. 

Amanda and Lois, unmarried, reside in Buffalo. 

Justus married Sarah Smith, in Canada, and died in Cali- 
fornia. She died at the West. They had a daughter, Ma- 
rian. 

Adaline married Philander Pixley. They reside in Buf- 
talo, and had a daughter and three sons. 

Dwight R. married twice, and resides in Kansas. 

Almon married in Nevada, and is now in Washington, D. C. 

Nancy married Mr. Brown, and lives in Buffalo. 

Sally married in Buffalo, and removed West. 

Clarissa married Boswell Gardner, of Attica, where she 
died. 

Darius is married, and lives in Buffalo. 



284 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



CHESTER HUED was born Aug. 10, 1702. He came to 
Warsaw in 1811; married Sally Wiseman, March 4, 1813. 
He was by trade a carpenter, though at times engaged in 
other mechanical business. A large portion of his labor at 
his trade was bestowed on the building of churches in War- 
saw and the surrounding towns, eight in number, of which 
there were three in Warsaw — two for the Methodists, and one 
for the Baptists. Mr. Hard was by profession a Methodist. 
He died Aug. 24, 1866. They had ten children: 

Lucinda, who married William Barber, and had ten chil- 
dren : 1. Eliza Ann, who married Edwin R. Conable. 
2. Sarah M. 3. Amelia J., dead. 4. Dolphus S., who mar- 
ried Julia E. Stevens. 5. Lucia E. 6. Mary S., who married 
John West. 7. Flora C, who married Wm. D. Lucas. S. 
Emma O., (d. inf.) 9. William F. 10. Jesse Edwin. 

Laura married Lewis Boardman, and died in 1856. 

Betsey married Reuben A. Howard. They reside in Iowa. 

Chester P. was for several years engaged in the lumber 
and manufacturing business. He married Theodosia Gay, 
and has a daughter, Minnie. 

Mary P. married Edwin Carr. 

Franklix D. married Ann Hosiel, and has three children: 
Franklin, Ida, and Adelaide. 

Nicholas married Betsey Bassett, and died in Wisconsin. 

Ira married Rachel Richards, and lives in Warsaw. 

Polly married James Allison, in Indiana. 

Sarah, who was drowned at Arcade, aged 2 years. 

GIDEON II. JENKINS, son of Ira Jenkins, an early 
settler in the east part of this town, was born in Warsaw, 
Sept, 4, 1815. He married, Oct. 17, 1838, Mary A. Ilovey, 
a daughter of Simeon Ilovey. In the early part of his 
business life, he was two years a clerk in the Canal Superin- 
tendent's office at Ilindsbnrg, Orleans Co. He was afterwards 
a merchant in Covington one year. In 1846, he removed to 
Centerville, where he was in the mercantile business nine 
years, and was in 1854 a representative of Allegany county 
in the Assembly. He returned to Warsaw, and in 1856, 
commenced the mercantile business in the village, and con- 
tinued it until 1861, when he enlisted in the Avar, taking the 
command of a company of volunteers, the first that Mas 
raised in this town. After a service of seven months, his 
health having become seriously impaired, he was honorably 
discharged. He has held the office of supervisor in Center- 
ville and Warsaw. In the spring of 1868, he bought a farm 
near Pearl Creek, where lie now resides. He had two sons, 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND YOTES. 2S5 

Charles Y. and Adelbert II., both of whom were in the war. 
[See War History.] 

Charles V. married Frances Mallow, in Ontario, Ind., 
where he resides. He is a practicing Physician, and has a 
daughter. 

Adelbert II. is unmarried, and resides with his father. 

CHARLES J. JUDD was Lorn in Cornwall, Yt., Sept. 25, 
1807. He removed in 1813 to Onondaga county with his 
father, who resided first at Onondaga Hill, and afterwards in 
Marcellus, in the same county. He was marred to Jane Ann 
Moseley, who was a daughter of Hon. Daniel Moseley, of 
Onondaga Hill. He removed to Warsaw in the spring of 
1836, and in connection with James S. Moseley, his brother- 
in-law, commenced the mercantile business. He was subse- 
quently engaged in the various occupations of teacher, 
bookseller, dealer in drugs and medicines and groceries, and 
was for two years a joint proprietor of the grist-mill in this 
village. In his commercial transactions he was scrupulously 
honest and upright. He Avas a good man. Kor was his a 
mere negative goodness; it was of a positive character, mani- 
festing itself in acts of usefulness. The antislavery cause 
and the various other benevolent, reformatory, and religious 
enterprises, received from him a hearty and efficient support. 
His duties in the several relations of life, domestic, social, 
civil, and ecclesiastical, were promptly, faithfully, and consci- 
entiously performed. He was a member of the Congregational 
church from its formation, and for several years one of its 
deacons. He died suddenly in this village, March 8, 1863. 
Mrs. Judd died Sept. 1, 1852. They had four children: 
Frances J., Charles Moseley, Flora A., and "Win. T. 

Frances J. married Edwin L. Babbitt, and had a son, 
Harry, who died in infancy. Mr. Babbitt was admitted to 
the practice of Law, but was engaged most of the time until 
his death in the editing and publisning of newspapers in this 
village, and in Waukon, Iowa. He died in Orleans Co., 
Oct. "31, 1862, aged 31 years. 

Charles M. married Jessie Smith, of Chicago, where he 
now resides. He served through the war as Lieutenant of 
Artillery in the Western armies. 

Flora A. married Wm. H. Merrill. [See W. II. Merrill.] 

Wllliam T., unmarried, resides in Xew York. 

Mr. Judd married for his second wife, Aristeen Breck, of 
Warsaw, by whom he had two children, Charles J. and 
Jessie, d. inf. 



286 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

AMOS KEENEY was born in East Hartford, Conn., April 
8, 1778. "While young, he became a resident of Hampton, 
]S\ Y., where he married Martha Brooks. As has been 
already stated, he came into Warsaw in 1803, driving one of 
the teams of Elizur Webster, with whom he then contracted 
for fifty acres of land, which is now a part of the farm of 
Samuel Fisher, in the south part of the village. He brought 
in his family in 1801. In 1806 or 1807, he sold out and set- 
tled in the south part of the town. Few of the settlers had a 
harder experience than he. Some of the incidents of his 
struggle " in the woods " are elsewhere narrated in this his- 
tory. He succeeded, however, in gaining a competence for a 
long life, not yet closed, though protracted beyond fourscore 
years and ten. But, though he never acquired great earthly 
possessions, he is " rich in faith," and has an earnest of the 
*' inheritance of the saints in light." He has been, during the 
most of his life, a member of the Baptist church in this town. 
His wife died Jan. 6, 1S50. They had nine children: 

Betsey, born March 6, 1800, died in her 11th year. 

Henry II., born Dec. 3, 1801, married Maria Albro. They 
Lad four children: Matison, Isadore and Zelotes, who died 
young, and Niles. 

Almira, born March 18, 1801, married David Seymour. 
Children: Pamelia, Ann Eliza, Austin, and three d. inf. 

Ciiloe, born Nov. 27, 1806, became the second wife of Da- 
vid Seymour, and had two children, both d. inf. 

Apollos, born Dec 6, 1808, married Adaline Ivnowlton, 
and had four children: 1. ximelia, died; 2. Jasper; 3. Samuel; 
1. Daniel. 

Eleazar, born April 11, 1812, married Adaline Murray. 
Their children are: 1. Michael; 2. Helen; 3. Oscar; 1. Adelia; 
5. Josephine; 6. James; 7. Calista. 

Chauncey L. Sheldon, born March 1, 1815, married Ann 
Ennis. Their children were: 1. Ivendrick; 2. Abraham Ennis, 
who was in the" war, was taken sick, returned, and died at 
home; 3. Mary. 

John H., born Nov. 1, ISIS, married Sarah E. Hibbard. 
They have two children: 1. Castern Gertrude; 2. Bruce M. 

Calista, born May 25, 1821, married William Webster, 
Jim. [See Family of Wm. Webster.] 

MATTISON KEENEY, son of Henry II. Keeney, was 
born Oct. 29, 1829, and married Martha Bristol, who died 
Jan. 25, 1867. He married for his second wife, Sarah Bris- 
tol. Both were daughters of Francis S. Bristol. Mr. Keeney 
has three children: Frank, Fred, and Martha. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 287 

ALDEN KEITH, from the state of Vermont, came to 
Warsaw about the year 1809. He married Rebecca Chap- 
man, and settled in the north-east part of the town. Four or 
five years after, he removed to the south part of the village, 
and set up the business of making chairs and spinning wheels. 
He is said to have been the first chair-maker in the j)lace, and 
was probably the only maker of the obsolete article of spin- 
ning-wheels. He removed, after a long residence in this town, 
to the state of Michigan, where he died. They had six chil- 
dren: 

Alden C. is married, and is a practicing physician in Or- 
leans Co. 

Polly, Sophrona, Susan, and John, reside West. 

Rollin married Ellen Baldwin, daughter of the late Dr. 
Thomas P. Baldwin. They reside in New Jersey. 

JAPJED KXAPP was born in Stamford, Conn., July 25, 
1755. He removed to this town about 1826, and settled on 
the East Hill, where he resided until his death, Oct. 22, ISIS, 
in his 91th year. He was a soldier of the revolution, and de- 
lighted in relating his experiences in that trying and eventful 
conflict. He had nine children: 

Sophia married Harmon Munger in Litchfield, Conn., and 
had eight children. 

Mary married David Gibbs; removed to Warsaw, and then 
to Michigan, where she died. 

William married Eleanor Bishop, in Perry, and removed 
to Byron, Mich. 

Charles II. married Poxcynthia Worden, of Orangeville. 
They have but one child living, Eva, who married Alva Man- 
son, and lives in Harlem, X. Y.; has no children. 

Catharine married Nathan Lamkins, and moved to Michi- 
gan. 

George married Lucy Tripp, and removed to Michigan. 

Jine married Dr. Hinman, of Allegany Co. 

Lucy married E. D. Carpenter. [See Erasmus D. Carpen- 
ter.] 

Julius married in Michigan; his wife died there, and he 
married a second, Catharine Snyder, and lives in Coldwater; 
has one child. 

WILLIAM KNAPP, Sen., was born in Canaan, X. Y., 
Jan. 4, 1758. Lie married Olive Powley. He came to this 
town some years later than some of his children, and settled 
in the north part of the town. He had ten children. The 
first five were born in Canaan; the others in Orwell, Yt. 

Daniel, William. [See Sketches of their Families.] 



2S8 HISTOKY OF WAKSA.W. 

Olive married Dwight Noble. They came t<~ 

1806. He died Jan. 25, 1S07, and was the first adult person 
who died in the town. She was in 1810 married to Solomon 
Morris, Jim. She had, by her first husband, two children: 
1. Electa, who married Luther Watrous, of Perry. 2. Dwight, 
who married Eunice Watrous, sister of Luther. 

Justus married Hannah Smith, and removed to Michigan. 
They had five children: 1. Lucien. 2. Enoch. 3. Watson. 
4. Emeline. 5. Electa. 

Mima, unmarried. 

Sally married Eliphalet Hovey. [See Hovey Family.] 

Esriiee married Abel Taylor. Their children were: 1. Cook, 
who lives in Attica. 2. Juliett, who married Horace Glad- 
ding, and resides in Attica. 3. Olive, who married James 
Doty, merchant, in Attica. 4. Phidello, who married Harriet 
Baker, of Attica, was a Captain in the late war, and was killed 
in battle. 

Betiiia married Comfort Curtis, of Middleburv. They have 
a daughter who married Mr. Bliss, and who lives in Kalama- 
zoo, Mich. 

Hakley, born Sept. 26,'ISOO, married Fanny Morris; had 
five children: 1. George, who died early. 2. Dwight, who 
married Miss Stedman. He has fur many years been con- 
nected with the Central Railroad at Rochester. 3. Rowley, 
who is married, and lives in Livonia. 4. William, who went 
AVest, and died. 5. Olive, who married Hiram Ray, and 
lives in Livonia. Mr. Knapp was a member of the Metho- 
dist church, and died Sept. 23, 1842. 

DANIEL KNAPP, son of William Knapp, Sen., was born 
in Canaan, Columbia Co. He came from Orwell, Yt, to this 
town, in 1S06, where he resided until his death, Sept. 13, 185S, 
aged 79 years. He was for many years a justice of the peace, 
having been appointed by the council of appointment in 1S12, 
1814,1815, 1818, 1821, and 1823. He had by his first wife, 
a son, William S., for a long time, and now, a resident of 
Gainesville. 

William S. was born in Orwell, Vt, Oct. 24, 1S05, and 
married Amy Pike, by whom he had eight children: 1. IIul- 
dah Jane, who married John Leffingwell, and has four chil- 
dren. 2. Betsey S., who married William Russell. 3. Sarah 
Sophia, who married Nyrum Evans. 4. Amelia Maria, who 
married George Reynolds. 5. George Daniel, who married 
Elizabeth A. Allen. 6. Amy K., who married Richard 
Dewey. His first wife having died, Mr. Knapp married 
Mrs. Mary Ann Smith. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 289 

Daniel Knapp married for his second wife, Lydia Morris, 
a daughter of Solomon Morris, Sen., by whom he had eight 
children: 

Olive, who married Geo. Babcock, a farmer, near Dans- 
ville. 

Sally, unmarried, resides in Gainesville. 

Lydia, who married James Morris, and removed to Aurora. 

Solomon married Miss Truesdell, and removed to Indiana. 

Louisa married Mr. King, and removed to Iowa. 

Iveziah, unmarried, resides at Dansville. 

Daniel A. married Matilda M. Bingham, by whom he had 
five children. Mrs. Knapp died Sept. 2, 1S64. 

Mary married Mr. Knapp, of Aurora. They reside in 
Iowa. 

Daniel Knapp married for his third wife, Polly Wiseman, 
by whom he had one daughter, Betsey. 

WILLIAM KNAPP, son of William Knapp, Sen., was 
born in Canaan, N. Y., July 4, 1781. Lie removed to Hamp- 
ton, where he married Clorinda Warren. He removed to this 
town the same year, and settled on a part of Lot 35, about a 
mile south of the village. He came the year previous, and 
purchased his land, lie removed to Perry, where he died, 
March 31, 1859. His wife died in Moscow, Dec. 4, 1853. 
They had six children: 

William W. died in Michigan, in 1834, aged 27. 

Betsey married William Bingham. [See Sketch of his 
Family.] 

Rhoda married Daniel Cross, of Perry, July 18, 1855. 

Maeyette married Oliver Atherton, of Moscow, where she 
still resides. Mr. Atherton died there several years ago. 

Eunice C. married S. C. Smead. They have two children: 
Ella and Walter II. 

JOHN R. KNAPP was born in Canaan, N. Y., July 7, 
1787, and married Melinda Wilson. He removed with his 
family to Warsaw in 1812. They had nine children: 

Elvira C. married Miles W. Yanfleet, and died in 1837, 
leaving two children. 

Jacob W. married Elvira Putnam. They had seven chil- 
dren: Caroline Elvira, Augustus F., Harriet Celinda, Lucien 
P., Thomas E., John P., Margaret E., d. inf. Mr. Knapp has 
been several times elected Justice of the Peace, which office 
he now holds; was Postmaster, 1853-61; and Captain of a 
company in the late war. His sons, Augustus, Lucien, and 
Thomas, were with him in the service. TSee War History.] 

19 



290 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Orson S. married Jane P. Lomax, of Columbus, O., and 
died in that state. They had six or seven children. 

William L. married Betsey A. Brockway; had a son, Theo- 
dore, who married a daughter of Walter R. Keith. lie mar- 
ried, second, Miss Green. Children: Florence, William J., 
Elizabeth, Alvah. 

Margaret E. married Thomas J. Worthington, in Ohio. 

Harriet Celinda married Joshua S. Batch, who died in the 
army. She died soon after. 

John R. married Ann Kennedy, in Ohio. Their children 
are: Melinda, John, Harry. He served four years as Quar- 
termaster in the 4th Reg. O. Volunteers. lie is now Clerk in 
the Treasury Department, 2d Auditor's office. 

Russel A. married Caroline Overdeen, in Ohio; died in 
Marion, Ohio, Jan. 30, 1848. They have a son, Edward. 

John R. Knapp, Sen., removed to Marion, O., 1864:. His 
wile died in ISIS. He had by a second wife, a son, James. 

AVERY LATHROP was born in Lebanon, Conn., Nov. 
19, 1788; married Alvira Wood worth, in Le Roy, in 1826; 
and removed to Warsaw in 1828. Tie settled in the south- 
east part of the town, in the vicinity of the Free Will Baptist 
church, of which he is a member. Tie has ten children: Ar- 
temisia, who married Milton S. Webb, and moved to Ashta- 
bula, O., and has two children, Mary and William; Achsah, 
who married Dewitt Akin; Angeline, who married Henry 
Webster; Alvira, who married John Cummings; Cornelia, 
Esther, Austin W., Mary, Charles A., and Lucy A. 

ABRAM B. LAWRENCE, son of Albert and Mahala B. 
Lawrence, was born in Warsaw, May 18, 1834. Several years 
of his youth he served as merchant's clerk in this village. At 
the age of 19, he engaged as accountant in the publishing 
house"of Phinney & Co., Buffalo; and after about two years 
he established a Drug Store at Niagara Falls. In 1859, in 
company with H. A. Metcalf, he erected and put in operation 
the Gas' Works in this village. In 1802, he was commissioned 
by Gov. Morgan, Quartermaster of the 130th Reg. N. Y. Vol- 
unteers, afterwards the 1st N. Y. Dragoons, the duties of which 
he discharged with great energy, promptness and fidelity. 
In recognition of his meritorious services, he was promoted, 
and by President Lincoln commissioned, Captain and 1 . 
Q. M., and assigned to the staff of Major-General Wm. F. 
Smith, and his successor, Major-General E. O. C. Ord. He 
was next promoted to the rank of Major, and made Chief 
Quartermaster of the famous 18th Army Corps. Upon the 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 291 

consolidation of the 18th and 10th Corps, and creation of the 
21th Corps, notwithstanding the various influences employed 
by aspirants holding older commissions, he obtained, unex- 
pectedly, the assignment, by the Secretary of War and order 
of President Lincoln, of Chief Quartermaster of the 21th 
Army Corps, with rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. In the final 
struggle, ending in the surrender of the rebel General Lee, he 
was placed in charge of the Quartermaster's Department of 
the Army of the James in the field, and afterwards by special 
order from General Grant, received the surrender from Gen- 
eral Lee, and disposition of the property of the rebel army at 
Appomattox Court House. After closing the duties of his de- 
partment at Richmond, lie was sent by the War Department 
to the vicinity of the Rocky Mountains on special service 
under Lieut.-General Sherman, after declining many tempt- 
ing positions. Upon retiring from military service, he received 
brevets "for faithful and meritorious services during the war.'' 
He is now one of a large Canadian Incorporated Company 
engaged in slate manufacturing, mining, etc., in the Province 
of Quebec, the business of which, as Secretary, Treasurer, and 
Managing Director, he is conducting with success. He was, 
in Warsaw, a member of the Congregational church. He 
married, in 1857, Elizabeth Faulkner, of Wheatland, and has 
tw r o children, George and Winnie. 

TRUMAN LEWIS was born in Farmington, now Avon, 
Connecticut, Nov. 5, 1T81. When a small boy, he removed 
with his father and family to New Marlborough, Mass., and 
afterwards to Vernon, N. Y. In the spring of 1807, he came 
on foot from Vernon to Orangeville, then Genesee county. 
He bought a part of Lot No. 28, on which he settled several 
years before his marriage, a younger brother, Jason, living 
with him. He married Lucy Porter, a woman worthy and 
qualified to aid a pioneer in the struggles incident to the set- 
tlement and development of a new country. He was in the 
army in the w T ar of 1812, holding a commission as Ensign 
from Gov. Tompkins. He was called out just as his crops 
were getting ripe, and he was obliged, as were many others, 
to go and leave the women to secure the harvest. He was 
frequently elected to the most important town offices. He 
was a member of Assembly for Genesee county in the years 
1831 and 1835. He was appointed Treasurer of Wyoming 
county in 1811. He was also about 15 years agent for Wyo- 
ming county of the Farmers' Loan and Trust Company, 
successors of the old Holland Land Company; also agent for 
the town of Orangeville, for the Trustees under the will of 



202 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

James Lloyd, of Boston, Mass. The last seven years of bis 
life were spent in Warsaw, with a son. He was a member of 
tbe Presbyterian church in Orangeville from the elate of, or 
soon after its formation, and of tbe Congregational church in 
Warsaw at the time of bis death, during which period be 
exemplified tbe character of a Christian. He died in War- 
saw, Sept. 15, 1865. Mrs. Lewis died in Rockford, 111., Dec. 
13, 1866. They bad ten children: 

Charlotte married Rev. Ebenezer II. Stratton. They 
reside at Canoga, Seneca Co., N. Y. 

David married Mrs. Emeline Morton, and resides in Or- 
angeville. Their children are: Francis, Edwin M., Judson 
R., William M., Lucy, and Mary Stratton. 

Julia married Edwin Snow. They reside in Avon, O. 

Eliza, born Feb. 20, 1820, married Harvey Stone, who 
was born Feb. 14, 1818. Their children are: i. Almira A.,. 
Avbo married George Parker. They reside in Auburn. 2. 
Maurice L., who married Frances E. Stanley. 3. Truman L. 

Corinna married Eli T. Cleveland; resides in Rockford, 111. 

Pamelia married Geo. T. Cleveland; resides in Seward, 111. 

Jane married Frederick Shoemaker; lives in Rural, Wis. 

Laura married Samuel Seymour; lives in Rockford, 111. 

Simeon D. married Sarah L. Canfield, and resides in 
Warsaw. lie completed his school course at Genesee and 
Wyoming Seminary at Alexander; after which be was assist- 
ant teacher in the institution two years, and subsequently one 
year in Warsaw Academy. In March, 1855, be became a. 
partner in the Drug and Grocery business with tbe late C. J. 
Judd, and continued in the business three years. In 185S, he 
went into tbe Hardware trade with Noble Morris, in which 
business the firm, Morris & Lewis, still continues. He is a 
man of irreproachable character, and a supporter of religious 
institutions. He is an influential member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and has been for the last five years, and is at 
present, superintendent of its Sabbath-school. 

Frank married Julia Bristol, and resided on tbe homestead 
of bis father in Orangeville, until 1867, when he removed to 
Warsaw, and formed a partnership in tbe Drug and Grocery 
business with Chauncey C. Buxton. 

ASHLEY MANVILLE was born in Whitehall, Jan. 6 r 
1800, and married Sabrina Gallet. They removed to Warsaw 
in 1835, and settled in tbe south-west part of tbe town, on tbe 
farm on which be resided until bis death, Feb. 10, 1S60. 
He bad held tbe office of Supervisor and other offices in the 
town. Mrs. Manville died Aug. 15, 1863. They bad three 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 293 

children; Martha, who married Joseph Ashley, and has two 
children, Mary and Ella; and two died young. 

JOSIAIT MARCHANT was born in Barnstable, Mass., 
and married Polly Cammet. They removed to Granville, 1ST. 
Y., and thence to Warsaw in 1822. He settled on East Hill, 
where he died Nov. 19, 1840, aged 68 years. Mrs. Marchant 
was a member of the Presbyterian church, ;md died Nov. 4, 
1855, aged 78 years. They had nine children: 

Owen, born in 1796, married Amanda Brown; removed to 
Warsaw, where he resided many years, and removed to At- 
tica, where he now resides. He had five children: 1. Esther, 
who married Henry Finch. 2. Rodney, who married Miss 
Seeley, served in the war, and has a second wife. 3. Landon, 
wdio died at 18. 4. Jane, who married Mr. Brewer. 5. Polly. 
Mr. Owen Marchant has a second wife. 

Polly married Allen Fargo. [See Allen Fargo.] 

Lydia married William G. Whitney in Granville; came to 
Warsaw in 1821; lived here many years; removed to Mix- 
ville, where Mr. Whitney died. They had three sons: 
Edwin, Allen, Graves, all married and living in Mixville. 

John married Adeline Marchant. Children: Harriet; Jane, 
married Wm. A. Murray, of Greece, 1ST. Y., and Marvin C. 

Orrin married Juliet Alverson, and resides in Mixville. 
His children are Eleanor, William, Polly, and Mary. 

Betsey married James Richards, who was born in Goshen, 
Conn., and came with his father's family to Warsaw in 1806. 
They had eight children: Warren, Ammi, both of whom died 
at 14; Sarepta, Rachel, who married Ira M. Hard; Angeline, 
Marshal, Elizabeth, and Charley. 

Deborah married, first, Warren Wait, and had by him two 
children, Alonzo and Henry. She married, second, Elisha 
Gates, and had by him a son, Francis. 

Allen married, first, Olive Barnard, and had a son, Wesley. 
He married, second, Lucy A. Bryant, and had by her three 
children: Olive, who died about 12; Helen, and Edwin. 

Elezar married, first, Clorinda Hitchcock, and had two 
children: 1. Mills W., who was in the war. [See War His- 
tory.] He married Miss Ilawley, and has a son. 2. Arabel, 
who married Mr. Buckout. Elezar Marchant married, sec- 
ond, Mary Rogers, by whom he has a daughter. 

LOT MARCHANT was born in Barnstable, Mass., and 
married in Granville, Talitha C. Foote. He removed to this 
town in 1806, on East Hill, a mile east of the village, where 
Wm. Parker and Sylvanns Howes reside, and where he died, 
Aug. 8, 1828, aged 45 years. He had nine children: 



294 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Orrin, who married Loclema Sanborn, and removed to- 
Michigan, where he died. They had several children. 

Clarissa married Milo Allen. Children, Mary and Lot. 

Adaline married John Marchant. 

TTaebiet married Mason "Wait. They removed to Illinois, 
and reside there. They have several children. 

Warren married Mary Osborn, and died in Cleveland. 

Mary married Austin Lowell, and removed to Janesville, 
Wis. They have two children, Wallace and Eugene. 

Alta married Gardner E. Throop. [See D. H. Throop.] 

Maria married Leonard Bartlett, lives in Middlebury, and 
had four children: Hartwell, who died in Andersonville 
prison; Wilber, who died at about 12; Charles, Frederick. 

Cyrus married Mary Bryant, and has live sons: Manville, 
Martin, Alfred, Warren, Frederick. 

Mrs. Marchant married for her second husband, William 
Parker, by whom she had two children: 1. Ellen E., who 
married Sylvester Howes, and has a daughter, Alice C, who 
married Wesley Marchant. 2. Eliza A., who married Aurora 
S. Perkins, and has a daughter, Mariett. 

MICAH MARCHANT married Unicy Lewis, of Gran- 
ville, Oct., 1806, and settled in this town in the north part of 
this village. He died Jan. 6, 1813. They were early mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. Their children were: 

Ammi, an early merchant in Silver Creek, who died after a 
few years' residence there, unmarried. 

Piiebe, who married Horatio N. Farnham, who succeeded 
Mr. Marchant in business, at Silver Creek, where they still 
reside. Their children are: 1. Ann Amelia, who married 
Charles Wells, merchant, Silver Creek. 2. Mary Adelaide, 
who married Asa G. Talcott, and lives at Bellefontaine, Ind. 
3. Unicy L., who married Rev. Augustus C. Shaw, now at 
Clayville, N". Y. 4. Horatio K., Jim., who married Maria 
Shiels, and lives in Buffalo. 5. Ammi M. 0. William L. 

DAYID MARTIN, Sen., was born in Lebanon, Conn., in 
1746.(?) lie married Elizabeth Kingsley, and soon after 
removed to Granville, 1ST. Y., whence he came to this town in 
1813, and settled on West Hill, lie died a few months after, 
in July. Mrs. M. died Aug. 10, 1835, aged 75 years. They 
had nine children: 

Anna married Elisha Barnes. [See Family of E. Barnes.] 
David, Jim., was born April 24, 1785, and married Eliza- 
beth Munger. He removed to Warsaw in 1813, after a 
period of service in the war of 1812. They had two children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 295 

1. David Clark, who was Lorn Sept., 1818, and resides on the 
homestead of his father on West Hill. He married Nov. 17, 
1868, Sabra C. Lawson, of this town. 2. Emeline, born March 
28, 1820, married Daniel Peck, in 1862. They now reside in 
the north part of this town. David Martin died Sept. 10, 
1860. His wife died June 12, 1823. 

Betsey married Dr. Jabez Ward, of Perry. 

Amy married James Clark. They removed to Kensington, 
Mich., where he died in 1838. She resides in this town. 

Abigail died at the age of 13. 

Alfred, born Oct. 10, 1794, went to sea and never returned. 

Charlotte married Amos Kingsley; had eleven children. 

Orpah married Erastus Wells, of Wethersfield, and had 
nine children. 

Sarah is unmarried, and lives in this town. 

Mrs. LYDIA MARTIN, wife, afterwards widow of Dr. 
Levi Martin, and daughter of Isaac Phelps, came to this town 
from Washington county. Their children were: Horace, Ma- 
yor, Helen, Adalaide, Diantha, and Leonard L. 

Horace, born Nov. 30, 1805, married Drusilla German. 
They came to Warsaw in 1851. They had a son, Washing- 
ton, born Feb. 22, 1832, and died Aug. 20, 1868. 

Mayor was born in Granville, May 15, 1809. He married 
Mary Frasier, of Orangeville, by whom he had five children: 
1. Henry F., Mho married Editha Arnold, and resides in this 
town. 2. Hector C, a soldier in the late war, was taken 
prisoner at Newbern, N. C, and died in Andersonville prison, 
Aug. 7, 1864. 3. William Dexter, who served during the last 
three years of the war. 4. George F., who also enlisted in 
the army, and was killed in the second battle of Bull Run. 
5. Ellen Jane, who died in her 11th year. Mrs. Martin died, 
and in 1850, Mr. Martin married his second wife, Yirena Ar- 
nold, of Warsaw. They reside in this village. 

Helen married George Howard, of Buffalo, and died. 

Adalaide, unmarried, resides in Warsaw. 

Diantha married Henry Sheldon. They reside in this 
town. They had five children: 1. Anna Maria, who died at 
the age of 12. 2. George Clarence. 3. Ella Sophia. 4. Flor- 
ence Adalaide. 5. Hattie Clark. 

Leonard L. married Charlotte Woodward, daughter of 
Henry Woodward. They have three children: Lois, Emaret, 
and Lewis. He resides two miles south of the village. 

ISAAC MATTHEWS was born in Yarmouth, Mass., Aug. 
1, 1784. He married Anna Leonard, who died Dec. 11, 1819. 
He married for his second wife, Mrs. Hannah Savage, whose 



296 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

name before her first marriage was Hannah Beach. He re- 
moved from "Whitehall to Pavilion in 1S33, and in 1844, to 
Warsaw. He died June 24, 1866, universally esteemed as a 
citizen and Christian. Pie was a member of the Congrega- 
tional church, and had held for a number of years the office 
of deacon. He had by his first wife, four children: 

Salmon L., who was born Nov. IS, 1808, and died in 1825. 

Isaac Vincent was born Aug. IT, 1810, and married E. E. 
Bliss, who died. He married a second wife, Phebe Ann 
Brooks, a daughter of Hon. Benedict Brooks, of Covington, 
by whom he had five children: Martha, Henry, Charles B., 
Hugh, and "Willie, who died at 5. 

Mrs. Phebe Ann Matthews died Jan. 31, 1859 Mr. Mat- 
thews married Cynthia Clute. He resides in Genesee Falls. 

Laura A. married Philander F. May. They reside in 
Nashua, Iowa, and have had five children: 1. Alonzo M. 
2. Mary. 3. Isaac. 4. Miranda. 5. Frank. 

George L., born Oct. 13, 1S18, and married Elizabeth C. 
Hannum, of Pavilion. He is a prominent citizen and mer- 
chant in Dubuque, Iowa. 

Mrs. Hannah Savage, by her former husband, had a son, 
Luther W., who resides in Springfield, Erie Co., Pa. He 
married Harriet Pussell, and had two children. Mr. Savage 
was for main 7 years a teacher. 

Mr. Isaac Matthews had by his second wife three children: 

Josiah S. married Charlotte D. Strong, who died Jan. 22, 
1856. He married II. Elizabeth Collins" May 16, 1860. 

John B., born Feb. 1, 1835, married Elizabeth S. Case, and 
has a son, Walter C. Mr. Matthews is one of the firm of 
Matthews & Brown, Druggists, in Warsaw. 

Mary E., born Oct. 14, 1836, married George Duryee. 
They had three children: Edward, Charles, d. int., and John 
M. Mr. Duryee was for several years in the Drug and Gro- 
cery business in this village, and now resides in New York. 

FERDINAND C. D. McKAY was born in Skaneateles, 
Onondaga Co., N. Y., in 1811. From an early period in his 
life he w T as dependent mainly upon his own exertions for the 
means of education, and at the age of fourteen engaged in 
the occupation of school teaching to earn the means tor prose- 
cuting the study of law. He studied in the office of Daniel 
Kellogg, of Skaneateles; and in 1833, he married Angelina 
J. Judd, and removed to Warsaw the same year. He suc- 
ceeded in the practice of law, James Crocker, Esq., whose 
residence he bought. lie practiced with marked success 
about two years, when, in the fall of 1835, he made a contract 




<?• 



fc £. frT^/r* 



/^«_-t— r 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



297 



with Judge Webster for all his real estate in this town, about 
640 acres of land, possession to be taken in April, 1836. This 
change of property, though it resulted in no benefit to the 
purchaser, proved advantageous to the village. [See p. 67.] 
His purchase and sale of real estate caused an interruption 
of a few years in his professional business, which he resumed, 
and continued until his removal from the town. Mr. and 
Mrs. McKay were members of the Presbyterian church until 
the formation of the Congregational church, which they 
joined at the time of its organization. In promoting the 
cause of temperance, he was a prominent and efficient actor, 
and was one of its ablest advocates. In the formation of the 
Antislavery Society in this town, in 1833 or 1831, he took a 
leading part, and was to the last in sympathy and cooperation 
with the friends of immediate emancipation. At the meeting 
( elsewhere alluded to,) held in this village in November, 1839, 
he was one of the majority who nominated James G. Birney 
the first time for the Presidency. He w T as a lawyer of ac- 
knowledged ability. He was appointed, in 1856, District 
Attorney for "Wyoming county in the place of Harlow L. 
Comstock, elected County Judge, and was afterwards elected 
to the former office.. In the winter of 1860-61, he removed 
with his family to Des Moines, the capital of Iowa. He de- 
voted himself to the prosecution of his profession for about a 
year, when he received the appointment of Agent for Iowa, 
by the American Emigrant Company, in whose service he 
continued until his last sickness, having gained the warmest 
commendations and substantial rewards of the corporation. 
He had ten children, as follows: 

Ferdinand C. D wight, who married Julia Carpenter, and 
resides in Elmira. He has three children. 

E. De Cost is a graduate of Yale College. He engaged for 
n time in the mercantile business, which he relinquished and 
removed to the city of New York, where, as agent, he is 
prosecuting the Life Insurance business with extraordinary 
success. He married Susie E. White, of Worcester, Mass., 
and has a daughter, Cora. 

Angelina J. married Charles Mosher, formerly Cashier of 
Wyoming County Bank. They reside in Des Moines, Iowa, 
and have three daughters, Grace, Florence, and Maud. 

Eudoea A. married J. B. Stewart, Esq., of Des Moines, and 
has two children, Mary and Cecil McKay. 

Augusta Maria d. inf., in Warsaw, Jan. 11, 1811. 

Theodore E., unmarried, resides in New York city. 

Charlas J., Florence E., Jennie M., and William L., 
reside at Des Moines. 



29S 



HISTORY OF WARSAAV. 



JOHN" A. McEL WAIN came to this town in 1817, in the 
employ of Simeon Cumings, of Batavia, who had recently 
built the grist-mill and the oil-mill in this village, which were 
subsequently, at times, either wholly or in part" conducted by 
him. In 1821, he purchased of Oliver Lee the north tavern 
stand, which, many years afterwards, he improved by erect- 
ing the present spacious three story brick structure in the 
place of the old wooden building. Soon after he commenced 
this business, he became interested in the running of stages,, 
and in the transportation of mails. In this business his inter- 
est increased, until his stages were run, and carried the mails 
on every route passing through or terminating at Warsaw. 
This business he continued until his horses and coaches were 
superseded by the more expeditious " iron horse, whose sinews 
are steel, and whose provender is fire." He was elected 
Sheriff of Genesee county in 1831. He was a representative 
of that county in the Assembly in 1837; and a senator from 
the district including Wyoming county, in 1852 and 1853. 
He was also chosen Treasurer of Wyoming county. He has 
been a friend and promoter of public improvements; and he 
rendered efficient service in procuring the new county, and in 
the erection of the public buildings. By diligent attention to 
business and prudent management, he was enabled, many 
years since, to retire upon an ample competency from the 
active pursuits of life. 

John A. McElwain, born in Palmer, Mass., Sept. 21, 1701, 
married, March 25, 1830, Polly Day, who was born in this 
town, March 10, 1S11, and was a daughter of Col. Elkanah 
Day. She died, Aug. 21, 1831, leaving a daughter, Mary 
Isabel, who married Dr. Edward II. G. Meachem. 

Mr. McElwain married for his second wife, Lomira Suther- 
land, a daughter of Isaac Sutherland, Esq., of Batavia, Aug. 
12, 1839. She was born Dec. 12, 1811. They have six chil- 
dren: John S., William Henry, Laura L., James Frank, Chip- 
man Warren, and Frederick F. 

JOHN McWHORTEPv removed from Granville to War- 
saw in 1807, and settled on that part of Lot 36 now owned 
by Samuel Fisher, in the south part of the village. His wife, 
whose name before her marriage was Bethia Hall, died before 
his removal to this town. Their children were: 

Polly, who married Elkanah Day. [See Sketch of E. 
Day.] 

John married Clarissa Phelps and died in Granville. 
They had two children, who came to Warsaw with their 
mother, then the wife of Samuel Hough, her second husband. 








^.^fc^Uo^l 



z/c 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 209 

1. Poll j, who married Calvin Kumsey. [See Sketch of C. 
Bumsey.] 2. John, who married Betsey, daughter of Na- 
thaniel Cumings, of Warsaw. lie was a merchant in War- 
saw and in Westfield, and afterwards, for several years, ticket 
agent of the Central Kailroad in Buffalo. His services in 
this employment were unfortunately terminated by the total 
loss of his eye-sight. He died a few years since. He had 
several children. 

Jennett married Zera Tanner, in Granville. [See Zera 
Tanner.] 

Patience married Hezekiah Wakefield. [See II. Wake- 
field.] 

Ciiloe married Joel Phippeny, in Warsaw. -They removed 
to Sheldon, where Mr. Phippeny died. She returned to War- 
saw, removed to Belvidere, 111., and died there. 

David died in 1809, at Manlius, K Y.; and Samuel. 

SAMUEL McWHOBTEB, son of John McWhorter, was 
born in Hebron, Washington Co., IN . Y., Nov. 17, 1786. He 
removed to this town with his father from Granville, in 1807. 
He taught the first school in Warsaw. At the first town 
meeting after the formation of the town, in 1808, at the age 
of 21, he was elected Town Clerk, to which office he was sev- 
eral times reelected. He was for many years a Justice of the 
Peace, and for a term an Associate Judge of the County 
Court. And in 1822, he was a Member of Assembly from 
the county of Genesee. In 1831, having sold his farm, he 
removed to the town of Portland, Chautauqua Co.; thence to 
Westfield, where Mrs. McWhorter died. He subsequently 
removed to Belvidere, 111. In 1856, he removed to Kilbourn 
City, Wis., thence to a farm a few miles distant, where he 
died in 1865. 

Judge McWhorter married in Warsaw, for his first wife, 
Annis Brown, of Mass., a sister of the wife of Dr. Sheldon. 
They had eight children: 

Caroline, who married Horace Hollister. [See Horace 
Hollister.] 

Isabel married Joseph Eiddel, in Westfield, and removed 
to Cherry Valley, 111., where he died in 1864. They had six 
children: Annis, Samuel, Gertrude, William, Caroline, and 
one d. inf. 

John, who died young, in Warsaw. 

Milo, who is married, and lives in Wisconsin. 

Matthew was a soldier in the Mexican war, and died at 
New Orleans, at the age of 25. 



300 



HISTORY OF WARSAW 



Samuel is married, and lives on the farm on which his 
father died, in Wisconsin. 

William IT. died in Belvidere, 111., at the age of 22. 

John A. is a graduate of Beloit College, Wis., is married, 
and has several children. He is, and has been for several 
years, instructor in the State Institute for the Deaf and Dumb, 
at Delavan, Wis. 

Whilst residing at Belvidere, Judge McWhorter married, 
(1849,) for his second wife, Susan Phelps, of Warsaw, who 
lives with his son Samuel, in Wisconsin. 

JOHN" P. MEAD was born in Morristown, X. J., March 
12, 1806. He was a son of Dr. Leonard Mead, who Mas a 
graduate of Yale College. He married Phebe Ferris, and 
removed to Warsaw in 1837. He had eight children: 

William J., who married Ilenriett E. Graves, of Eagle, 
and has three children, Emma, Willis F., and Lemuel. 

George W., who married Gussie Wise, of Troy, 111. Chil- 
dren: George W., Lewis M., and Ada M. 

Mary E. married George M. Pierce, and has two children: 
Martha D. and Mary D. 

Milford A. married Mary C. Whitney, and has three chil- 
dren: John P., 3d, Nelly A., and Mary. 

John P., Jr., and Samuel, reside in Warsaw. 

Martha and Martha A., both died young. 

ELI MERRILL was born in Litchfield, Oneida county, in 
1804. He came to Sheldon in 1821, where he married Mi- 
nerva Humphrey, daughter of Dea. Theophilus Humphrey. 
She died, leaving a daughter, Minerva, who married William 
Hewett for her first husband, and for her second, John II. 
Rogers. They live in Java. Mr. Merrill came to Warsaw 
in 1832, and taught school on West Hill. In 1834, he mar- 
ried Ann M. Burr, of Perry. He taught school some time in 
Tennessee, and removed to Chautauqua county, where he re- 
sided until 1847. He returned to Warsaw in that year, and 
resided here until his death, April 20, 1861. He had by his 
second wife, five children: Asa Burr, William Henry, [see 
Sketches,] Chauncey Gates, Cynthia L., who married Charles 
II. Huntley, and lives in Jamestown, and J. Milton, now in 
Oberlin College. 

Mrs. Ann M. Merrill married, June, 1866, Asa Cady, of 
Collamer, O., where she resides. 

ASA B. MERRILL, son of Eli Merrill, was born in Perry, 
Aug. 6, 1836. He came to Warsaw with his parents in 1847 
and received here a thorough academical education. In 




^Llq^ 



<J6*rt~^0 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 301 

September, 1861, after the second call for volunteers, he was 
among the first to enlist in a Company of Cavalry, and en- 
tered at once into the work of raising volunteers; and by the 
combined labors of Capt. Stimson, Lieut. Lapham, and him- 
self, the Company was raised, and started for Camp on the 
3d of October. He was elected and appointed First Lieuten- 
ant. In the spring of 18G2, his Regiment, 9th 1ST. Y. Cavalry, 
was ordered to join the army of the Potomac, as part of the 
reserve in McClellan's siege of Yorktown, during which he 
had command of the Company. In May the Company was 
ordered back to "Washington, and he was commissioned as 
Captain. A fever, brought on by over-exertion and exposure, 
prostrated him, and he died on the 23d of June. The body 
was embalmed, and sent home. Funeral services were held 
at the Congregational church, which was draped with em- 
blems of mourning. He was the only officer from here who 
lost his life in the service; and his was the first public funeral 
of a volunteer from this town. He was a true soldier, and an 
efficient officer. His future was radiant with promise; and 
in the midst of labors but just begun, and plans which his 
talent and energy fitted him to prosecute with success, he 

closed his earthly career. His loss was deeply deplored. 

« 

WILLIAM H. MERPJLL was born in Stockton, Chau- 
tauqua county, July 3, 1810, and came with his father to War- 
saw when seven years old. He received his education in the 
common school and "Warsaw Academy. He entered the 
office of the Wyoming County Mirror as an apprentice, in 
1855; and became one of the proprietors in 1857. In the 
spring of 1860, he went with E. L. Babbitt to Waukon, Iowa, 
where they established the North Iowa Journal, of which he 
was joint editor and proprietor, until the spring of 1861. Lie 
returned to Warsaw, and in company with J. P. Morse, pur- 
chased the Western New Yorker. In Sept., 1862, he bought 
the interest of his partner, and conducted the paper alone 
until October, 1864, when the New Yorker and the Mirror 
were consolidated under the firm of Dudley & Merrill; Mr. 
Merrill, editor. From 1863 to 1866, he was Clerk of the 
Board of Supervisors. In 1864, he was appointed Loan Com- 
missioner, and was re-appointed in 1866. He was appointed 
Executive Clerk of the State Senate in 1866, and served 
through two sessions of the legislature. In 1867, he was 
elected a member of the Constitutional Convention, and served 
on the Committees on Suffrage and Printing. He married, in 
1863, Flora J. Judd, daughter of the late Charles J. Judd, and 
has two sons, Charles J. and Wm. Henry. 



302 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

EDWIN B. MILLER was born in Rutland, Yt,, Aug. 1, 

1809. After a brief apprenticeship at the printing business 
at Royalton, Yt., he established the Weekly Register at New 
Bedford, Mass., in 1831, and continued its publication nearly 
two years. In 1S35, he went to Bangor, Maine, as managing 
agent of a branch of a Hardware house in New Bedford, which 
position, after about one year, he resigned. He next engaged 
in the Corn and Flour trade in Bangor, which he relinquished 
in 1S37, and removed to Warsaw. Here he soon became in- 
terested with his brother in the manufacture and sale of 
Frank Miller's "Oil Blacking;" which business, under the 
firm of Frank Miller & Co., is still continued. [See Frank 
Miller.] In 1862, he removed to Brooklyn, 1ST. Y., to superin- 
tend the business of the firm, which had been removed to the 
city of New York. In 1810, himself and wife united with 
the Presbyterian church in Warsaw. He was soon after 
elected an elder of the church and clerk of the session, which 
oftices he held until his removal to Brooklyn. He has several 
times been a delegate to the General Assembly of the Pres- 
byterian church. The institutions of the church and the 
interests of religion in general, receive his cordial and active 
support. Mr. Miller married, May 17, 1836; at Pittsford, Yt., 
Rebecca C. Moulton, who was born at Castlcton, Yt., May 29, 

1810. Their children were : William Moulton, who died at 
2s years; Frances S. and Martha II., who are both living. 

FRANK MILLER came from Granville to this town in 
1819, then a youth of about fifteen, fatherless, and without a 
relative here. Having no trade, and for a number of years 
no regular employment at any one kind of business, he asso- 
ciated himself with Samuel Munger in the Tanning and Shoe 
business, in the old establishment of Deacon Munger, a half 
mile south of the village, in which business he continued one 
year or more. Having acquired some knowledge of the busi- 
ness, he formed a connection with Isaac Preston; and they 
purchased the tannery of Calvin Rumsey in this village. 
About the year 1835, Mr. Preston withdrew from the concern; 
and Mr. Miller became sole proprietor, and after a year or 
two discontinued the business. He soon after invented his 
" Water Proof Oil Blacking." Fortunately he early ibrmed 
a partnership with his brother, Edwin B. Miller, a systematic 
business man. Their capital was small, and for years their 
business was quite limited. But by energy and perseverance 
it has been extended, until "Miller's Blacking" finds sale in 
nearly every state in the Union. The annual sales of his dif- 
ferent kinds of blacking, and his "Prepared Planless Oil," 




rWl^^'^ 



> : '%y e/WU^&eA-s. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 303 

Lave reached an amount not dreamed of by the inventor 
when he commenced in this village the sale of his single 
original article from a basket. During his long residence in " 
this town, Mr. Miller has not only maintained a good charac- 
ter in the common acceptation of that term, but has been a 
useful citizen, ever ready to engage in efforts for the suppres- 
sion of vice in its various forms, and for the improvement of 
the moral and social condition of the community. He has for 
nearly forty years, and his wife for a longer period, been a 
member of the Presbyterian church in this town. He has 
ever been liberal, according to his means, in contributing to 
the support of the institutions of religion. He has also been 
an active coijperator in making public improvements. He has 
contributed materially to the improvements of the streets and 
the building of the principal bridges in this village; and many 
of the trees which ornament and shade our streets, have been 
gratuitously brought into the village by his teams, and set 
with his own hands. He is at present President of the Board 
of Trustees of the village. Frank Miller was born in Wal- 
lingford, Yt., March 23, 1804. Lois Savage, whom he mar- 
ried in this town, Nov. 20, 1827, was born in Granville, 1ST. Y., 
July 12, 1807. They had six children: Edwin A., Delia S., 
James Franklin, d. inf., James Lovejoy, Frank C, and Hen- 
rietta L. 

Edwin A. was born [Nov. 18, 1828. He married Rebecca 
McKay, of Caledonia. He has ever been a resident of War- 
saw, and has for many years past been in the Boot and Shoe 
trade. They are members of the Presbyterian church, of 
which he is also an elder. He is also and has been for sev- 
eral years Superintendent of the Sabbath-school. He had six 
children: Estelle C, Frank, Alida, Robert D., "William E., 
and Charles L., d. inf. 

Delia S., born April 5, 1831, married Rev. Washington D. 
Mclvinley, a graduate of Princeton Theological Seminary, 
who lias been for many years pastor of the Presbyterian 
church at Tuscarora, Livingston Co., and is at present pastor 
of the Presbyterian church in Moscow. They had four 
daughters, all of whom d. inf. 

James L. was born Oct. 15, 1837, and married Fanny L. 
Savage, daughter of the late Rev. Amos Savage, of Connecti- 
cut. They have had two children, a daughter, Alice, d. inf., 
and Frank. They reside in Brooklyn. 

Frank C, born Jan. 11, 1840, died Sept. 16, 1855. 

Henrietta L.. born Dec. 30, 1845, married Dr. Jacob K. 
Smith, of Moscow, where they reside. 



504 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



SOLOMON" MORRIS, Sen., was born Sept. 5, 1755. He 
married Keziah Moss, October 1, 1770. He removed from 
Hampton to Warsaw in 1807, and settled on the north part of 
Lot 26. He purchased also the grist-mill built, and nearly 
completed by Joseph Manly. This was the first grist-mill in 
the town. Mr. Morris was an upright man, and a good 
citizen. He was a member of the Methodist church, and is 
said to have been a member of the first Methodist class 
formed in this town, about the year 1800. He had twelve 
children: Lyman, Salmon, d. inf., Sally, who married Simeon 
Gibson, Nathaniel, died at ten, Solomon, Jun., Lydia, who 
married Daniel Knapp, Rufus and Lucy, d. inf., Rufus, 
Luther, who died at 16, Lucy, and Mary who married Nye 
Stevens. [The families of the adult children are noticed in 
separate sketches under the names of the sons, and the names 
of the husbands of the daughters, except Lucy.] 

Lucy married Carl W. Flower. They removed to Beaver, 
Pa., where he died. They had seven children: Jared, Esther r 
Ann, Hiram, Wheat, Wylie, and Lomelia. 

LYMAN" MORRIS was born June 24, 1780, and married 
Resina Hotchkiss in Hampton, Nov. 1708. He removed to 
this town in 1804, and settled a mile north of the village, 
where he resided until his death, Jan. 16, 1854. His wife 
died Jan. 23, 1820. They had five children: 

George W., who was born Jan. 12, 1800, and married 
Minerva M. Scovel in 1S23. He settled in the north part of 
the town, where he resided many years, and removed to the 
village, where he died, Nov. 1865. He was a highly esteemed 
citizen. He was elected in 1831, a Justice of the Peace for 
the term of four years, and again in 1830. He was a man of 
strict integrity, and firmness of principle. He was a thorough 
temperance man, and a friend of universal freedom, and 
lived to rejoice in the entire abolition of slavery in the 
United States. He was a member of the Methodist church, 
and one of its main pillars. His wife and a part of the family 
still reside in the village. They had seven children, of 
whom five are living, two having died young: 1. Harriet A., 
2. Resina; 3. Mariett, who married James II. Sperbeck, and 
had two children; 4. Nathan Jackson, who married Geraldine 
L. Holly, daughter of Alanson Holly, is a druggist in Chicago, 
and has a son; 5. Marvin S., who married Loduski Blair, and 
has a son, George E. 

Jonathan F., born Dec. 11, 1S02, married Emeline B. Otis. 
Their children are, 1. William T., who married Harriet Em- 
mons, and resides in New Lisbon, Wis.; 2. Justin O., who 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 305 

married Elizabeth Lewis, and has three children, Frank J., 
Eva, and Lewis. 3. Miles II., who married Mary Smith. He 
was formerly a partner in the firm of Garretsee & Morris in 
the Hardware trade in this village, and is now in the same 
business in Chicago, one of the firm of Morris, Hodge, & 
Homer. 4. David G., who married Elizabeth Weter, and is 
a physician in Sharon, Wis. 5. Julia Minerva, who married 
Morton Post, a Captain in the late war. They reside in 
Chicago. 6. Mary E., who married Lncien II. Post, publisher 
of the Elgin Gazette, Elgin, 111. 

Fanny K., born July 24, 1805, married Harley Knapp. 
[See Family of Wm. Knapp, Sen.] She married a second 
husband, Abel Pay, and resides in Livonia. 

Maria, born Nov. 16, 1808, married David Otis, and re- 
moved to Henrietta. They have three children: Lyman, 
Harrison, and David. Mr. Otis died in 1S3T. Mrs". Otis 
married a second husband, Alfred Williams. They have 
three children: Maria, May, and Frances. 

Hiram, born Aug. 16, 1809, married Sophia Gay. Their 
children are, 1. Solomon, who married Miss Bradt, and re- 
sides in Middlebury. 2. Maria, who married John West, 
and hod two children, Mary and Zella. Mrs. W. died, and 
Mr. W. married Mary S. Barber. 3. Lavira, who married 
Edward Benedict, of Perry. They have three children, and 
reside in Chicago. 

SOLOMON MORRIS, Jun. was born Aug. 9, 1787, and 
came from Hampton to Warsaw in 1806. He married Mrs. 
Olive Noble, widow of Dwight Noble, and settled on the farm 
on which his son Luther now resides, a mile and a halt south of 
the village. He was conscientious and upright in his inter- 
course with his fellow men, and enjoyed in a high degree the 
public confidence. He was for many years the principal sur- 
veyor of lands in this town; and he was eleven times elected 
Supervisor, which office he held at the time of his death. He 
returned home, ill, from the annual meeting of the Board of 
Supervisors at Batavia, and never recovered. He died Nov. 
20, 1839, aged 52 years. His wife died Sept. 22, 1852, aged 
69 years. They had seven children: 

Rowley was born Dec. 30, IS 11, and commenced the 
practice of medicine in this town. He married Harriet 
Foster, and removed to Brodhead, Wis., where he is still a 
practicing physician. After a residence there of ten or 
twelve years, his wife died. He married a second wife, by 
whom he has several children. 

20 



306 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Luther M. was born Jan. 3, 1815; married Lucy Bradley 
of Middlebury, and resides on the homestead of his father. 
They have a son, Charles L., who married Emma A. Trues- 
dell, and resides in this town. 

Noble was born March 21, 1817; married Betsey A. Doo- 
little, of Wethersfield, and had by her three children: Ann 
Janett D., d. inf.; Edward Herbert, and Emma Charlotte. 
Mrs. Morris died Aug. 10, 1863. Mr. Morris married for his 
second wife, Mrs. Helen L. Benedict, daughter of Chauncey 
Doolittle, of AVetbersheld. He has been lor many years en- 
gaged in the hardware trade in this village, commencing with 
Israel Hodge, firm Hodge & Morris. Otis S. Buxton having 
bought out Hodge, the firm was Morris & Buxton. They 
sold a third interest to C. & T. Buxton ; and Morris subse- 
quently sold his interest to the Buxtons; and, in connection 
with Simeon D. Lewis, bought out the Buxtons. The busi- 
ness is still continued under the firm of Morris & Lewis. 

Sally, born Nov. 30, 1S10, married Israel Hodge. [See 
Hodge Family.] 

Salvira, born Nov. 14, 1821, married Benjamin B. Cona- 
ble. [See Sketch.] 

Emeline, is unmarried, and resides in Warsaw. 

Solomon was born Sept. 20, 1827, and married Pamelia 
J. Ensign, of this town. 

EUF17S MOEPJS was born April 15, 1704; married 
Lucy Bebens, and settled in the south part of the town, where 
he now resides. He has been a member of the Methodist 
church in this town from an early period of its existence to 
the present time. He lias had nine children, one d. inf. 

Laura, who married Daniel H. Gibson. [See Gibson 
Family.] 

Nerissa married John Keith, and had six children. 

Luther S. married Elizabeth Glazier, and had three 
children. 

Thomas W. married Jane Patterson, and has a son, 
Clinton. 

Euphrasia E. married Alva Baker. Children: Lucv and 
Ella. 

Mary E., Eliza A., and Sarah K., are unmarried. 

Mr. Morris married a second wife, Mrs. Ann Blaisdell. 

JOHN MOEPJS was born May 17, 1786, and was mar- 
ried at "Whitehall, N. Y., to Alma Morgan. They removed 
to this town in June, 1810, and settled about one mile south 
of the village. Mr. Morris and his wife united with the 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 307 

Methodist church at the time of its organization, and retained 
their connection with it until their removal to Aurora. Both 
are dead. They had seven children, all born in Warsaw, as 
follows: 

John A., horn Aug. 3, 1810, married Levirah Hatch. Their 
children were, 1. Carissa, d. inf. 2. George Wesley, who 
married Sarah Woodward, of Batavia, and is a merchant in 
Troy. 3. Clarissa Jane, who married Orville L. Howard, of 
Brockport, and removed to Michigan. 4. Charles William. 

David James married Lydia Knapp, and had five children; 
three are living: Lucia, who married William Baker; Ellen, 
and Udelmer. 

Geoege Clinton married Abigail Leach, and moved to 
Michigan; had two children; George, died at 10; and 
Viletta. 

William married Caroline Boyce, and died in 18G5. They 
had two children: one, Ilarland, is living. 

Z. Paddock married Lucy Bedow, of Warsaw', and died, 
Dec. 27, 1864, of sickness contracted in the army. 

Lafayette married Amanda Graves, and has three chil- 
dren, Jennie, Charles, and William. 

Linus, born March 23, 1827; died Nov. 5, 1846. 

Dea. JOHN MUNGER was born June 12, 1781, in Con- 
necticut. Having there served an apprenticeship at the tan- 
ner's trade, he went to Granville, N. Y., and worked as a 
journeyman several years for Abraham Dayton. He married 
Irene Clark, of Pawlet, Vt., who was born Jan. 17, 1785. In 
1806, he removed to Warsaw r , and settled half a mile south 
of the village, where, for many years, he carried on the busi- 
ness ot farming and that of manufacturing leather. He 
united with the Presbyterian (then Congregational) church 
at an early period after its organization, and was soon after 
chosen a Deacon, and after its change of form to Presby- 
terian, a ruling elder, which office he held until his death. 
Though he was not one of the ten of whom it was first com- 
posed, he was justly regarded as one of its fathers, being ever 
mindful of its interests. While most of its members were 
poor, he furnished no small proportion of the requisite funds 
for its support. And having no heirs to provide for, he be- 
queathed to the church and society four thousand dollars to 
be applied to the building of a new house of worship. He 
sold his farm and removed to the village in 1S52 or 1853. 
His wife died April 30, 1854. He married, second, Susan 
Ranger, who died April 22, 1861, aged 79. June 26, 1S62, 
he married Mrs. Ruth E. Tanner. He died Oct. 23, 1S64, 
aged 83 years. 



308 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

SAMUEL MUNGER was born in Boxbury, Conn., in 
1784. He married Olive Lyon. They removed to Warsaw 
in 1816, and settled in the south-west part of the town. They 
had five children: 

Annis married Hiram F. Walker. [See Warham "Walker 
Family.] 

Morgan M. married Parnel Kingsley. Their children, 
living, are: 1. Jason, who married Elizabeth Yanderwerken, 
and resides in Warsaw. 2. Porter B., who married Maria 
Hoisington, and served in the Avar. 3. Samuel, who married 
Martha Dutton, and resides in Warsaw. 4. Henry. 5. Annis, 
who married Marion Baldwin. 6. Elmira. 7. Julia Florence. 
8. George W. 9. Eugene. 10. Charles M. 

Bobert B. married Charlotte Wethv. Their children are: 
1. Mary J., who married George W. Seeley, who died, leav- 
ing a son, Charles Delos. 2. Clark D., who married Martha 
Pettibone, and removed to Kilbourn City, where he died. 
They had four children; only one, Ellis D., is living. 3. Han- 
nah Loretta, who married Uriah Cleveland, and had three 
children, of whom one, Charlotte, is living. Mrs. Cleveland 
died in 1863. 4. Cordelia. 5. Eliza, who married Irvin W. 
York, and resides in Kilbourn City, Wis. They have two 
children, Eugene and Uattie Mary. 

B. B. Munger married a second wife, Mrs. Eliza Wads- 
worth, by whom he had three children: 1. Samuel J., who 
married Nancy Judd, and has a daughter, Cora Bell, and a 
son. Mrs. Munger died in 1868. 2. 'De Witt C, who mar- 
ried Fanny Felch, of Castile. 3. Ellen, who married Addi- 
son Brainerd, of Gainesville. 

Mr. Munger now resides in the village. He has been a 
large owner of real estate, in town and village, at different 
times. 

Samuel married Cornelia Clark, and removed to Gowanda. 
Their children were: Jennett, Charles, AVilliam, dead, Samuel 
Clark, and three d. inf. 

Caroline married Bobert Austin, of Perrysburg. 

SAMUEL E. MUBBAY was born in 1707; married Cyn- 
thia Beebe, and removed from the eastern part of the state into 
this village, where he carried on the Boot and Shoe Making- 
business until disabled by the sickness which terminated his 
life. May IS, 1814. He had ten children, as follows: 

Dean" E. married Samantha Andrews; is a Physician in 
Bergen. 

Samuel A. married, first, Cynthia Beebe; and for his sec- 
ond wife, Mrs. Augusta Parker. 




/{ 



\K*A_A 








J\0JU<x^ 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 309 

Mary J. married Elijah W. Andrews, for many years a 
prominent business man in Warsaw. They have three chil- 
dren, Anna J., Frank, and Louis. 

Donald A. married Jane Wright; has two children, Blanch 
and Charles. 

John P. served in the late war. Married in 186S. 

Cynthia married Newton Ten Eyck; has a son, James. 

Caroline, twin sister of Cynthia, married Chauncey L. 
Sheldon Hammond, cashier of a Bank at Clinton, Mass. 

Kate married Henry Barras. They reside in Rushford. 

Robert, unmarried, lives in Rnshford. 

Araminta married Shipman "White, and has a son, Willie. 

Rev. JOSEPH E. NASSAU was born in Norristown, Pa., 
March 12, 1827. He is the eldest son of the Rev. C. W. 
Nassau, D. D., now of Lawrenceville, N. J. In his sixteenth 
year he united with the Presbyterian church at Easton, Pa. 
He graduated at La Fayette College, at Easton, 1S46. He 
was for nearly two years thereafter Tutor in the College; and 
subsequently classical instructor in the Literary Institute, at 
Lawrenceville, N. J. He entered the Theological Seminary 
at Princeton in 1849, and graduated in 1852. He had been 
licensed to preach by the Presbytery of Newton in 1851. In 
1853, he established the Female Institute at Wilkesbarre, Pa. 
After two years, he resigned the principalship, desiring to en- 
ter more fully on the work of the ministry. In August, 1855, 
he commenced his ministry in Warsaw; was unanimously 
chosen pastor of the church in September, and installed, Oct. 
21, by the Presbytery of Genesee River. During his pastor- 
ate, the church has shared in several revivings, and has stead- 
ily grown in numbers and usefulness. He is at present in the 
fourteenth year of his ministry over his first and only charge 
— the longest continuous pastorate in Wyoming County. 

Mr. Nassau was married, Oct. 16, 1856, to" Elizabeth W., 
daughter of the late Dr. Augustus Frank. She was born 
Sept. 21, 1820. They had three children: Jennie Frank, 
Charles J., who died at 2 years of age, and Isabella II. 

RITSSEL NOBLE was born in Pittsfield, Mass. He mar- 
ried Cynthia Palmer, at Orwell, Vt. They removed to this 
town and settled on West Hill in 1811. He had three children: 

Achsa, born Feb. 1, 1797, married Samuel Salisbury. [See 
S. Salisbury.] 

Anna C. was born Sept. 27, 1803; married Isaac Shaw, 
and settled in Westfield, where Mr. Shaw recently died. They 
had three children, of whom two, Melvina and Mertilla, are 
living. 



310 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



ELIJAH NORTON was born in Hebron, Washington Co. 
July 2, 1700. He came to this town from Granville in 1815 
He was by trade a Cloth Dresser; but has been engaged in 
other pursuits, chiefly farming. He married Lncinda Web- 
ster, a daughter of Elizur Webster, and had by her eight 
children, as follows : 

Eleanor C, who married John Wiser. They had six 
children: Frances, who died at 1G; Elias, Ann Amelia, John, 
Cary T., Cora, d. inf. 

Elizur W. married, first, Isabel Tanner, by whom he had 
two daughters, Elsie and Isabel. He married for his second 
wife, Yiola Whiting, by whom he has two children, Mary and 
Adelia. 

Sylvester B. married Mary Morey, and had five children, 
Emma, Frank, Alice, d. inf., George M., and Bertha. He 
resides in Warsaw. 

Henry W. married Mariett Stevens, daughter of Nye 
Stevens. They have a son, Charles, aged 14. 

Ferris W. married, first, Sybil Clark, daughter of John F. 
Clark, by whom he had a daughter, Cora. He married a 
second wife, Mrs. Helen Pierson, by whom he has two sons, 
WilJe, and Eddie Ferris. 

Cary T. is unmarried, and lives in Warsaw. 

Amelia M. married Alfred W. Hoyt. They have two 
children, Frank and Elbert. Mr. Hoyt served in the late 
war. [See War History.] 

Webster married Mary Donohue, and resides in this town. 

THOMAS PAINTER was born in Roxbury, Conn., and 
was married to Sarah Packard. They removed from Con- 
necticut to Paris, N. Y.; thence to Perry; and in 1834, to 
Warsaw. Mr. Painter died in this town, June 23, 1S45, aged 
72; Mrs. Painter, Jan. 4, 1852, aged 72. Both were mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. They had a son. 

Edwin, sou of Thomas Painter, was born in Roxburv, Conn., 
Jan. 24, 1804, and married in Perry, Nov. 12, 1826,'llannah 
Burke, who was' born in Barre, Vt, March, 1802. They had 
four children : 1. Thalia, born Aug. 24, 1827; died Aug. 11, 
1850. 2. Sarah, born Oct, 7, 1832, married James N.^Bar- 
nett, and has two children, Sarah Elizabeth and Edwin P. 3. 
Mary, born Aug. 27, 1837, married Mr. Benedict. 4. Jane. 
Mr. Painter was for many years an assessor of the town and 
village. He died two or three years since. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AXD NOTES. 311 

1STEHEMIAH PARK, Sen., became an early resident in 
South Warsaw, where, for many years, he kept a public house. 
He retired from the business a long time before his death. 
He died in South Warsaw, March 11, 1838, aged 85 years. 

NEHEMIAH PARK, Jim., son of the above, was born in 
Tyringham, Mass., in or near the year 1779. He had by his 
first wife, two children, Archibald and Caroline. 

Archibald married in Ashtabula, O., and was for many 
years a printer and publisher of a newspaper in Elyria, O., 
where he now resides. He had four children. 

Nehemiah Park, Jim., married for his second wife, Miss 
Hill, of Canaan, 1ST. Y. He purchased land in Gainesville, 
in 1806, and settled there in 1800. In 1814, he settled at 
South Warsaw, and kept a tavern and a store — the latter for 
a year or more. This was the first store in that place. His 
attention was thereafter given chiefly to farming. He was 
several times chosen Supervisor of the town, and to other 
town offices. He died June 16, 1852, aged 73 years. He 
had by his second wife four children : Alvira, Clarinda, 
Kehemiah, and Edwin. 

Alvira married Lyman Parker, and lives in Yorkshire. 
Their children are Wilber, Clarissa. Cynthia, Lyman and 
Edwin. 

Clarinda married William Gibson. [See Gibson Family.] 

Nehemiah, born !Nov. 2, 1S16, married Ann Janett Doolit- 
tle, of Wethersfield. He engaged in the mercantile business 
in Gainesville, in 1839, in which he continued nine years. In 
1851, he removed to this village, and traded in Books and 
Stationery, and Crockery, and has since been a dealer in 
various kinds of goods. He has had three children : I.Ellen, 
who married E. P. Harris, of Amherst, Mass., and has a son, 
Edwin Park. 2. Frederick J., d. inf. 3. Harry Nehemiah. 

Edwin married Olive Osborn, of Cuba, and died there Sept. 
1863. He had three children, George, Emma, and William 
Nehemiah. f 

JOSEPH PALMER was born in Pennington, Yt., and 
married Polly Swap, in Hampton, X. Y. He came to this 
town in 1804, and settled near the burying ground. About 
the year 1822, he removed with his family to Cuba, Allegany 
county, where lie resided until his death. He had fourteen 
children, of whom seven died in infancy and early child- 
hood. 

Joseph, who married, first, Maria Francis. He married a 
second wife in Yirginia, by whom he had six children, of 



312 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

whom tour, Jasper, Joseph, Charlotte, and George are living. 
He resides in Cuba. 

Hannah married Horatio Slayton, who died in Ohio. 

Maria married John Slayton, and died in Chicago. 

Polly married John Murray, and moved to Clarksville. 

George is married, and lives in Clarksville, Allegany Co. 

Harriet married Johnlzenerin Clarksville, and died. 

Alta married John Jackson, in Cuba; died in Michigan. 

ELIPHALET PARKER came to this town in 1807, and 
settled on the East Hill, on Lot 22. He had six sons, all of 
whom settled in the same neighborhood. Mr. Parker Mas 
one of the ten persons who composed the Presbyterian, then 
Congregational church, at its formation in 1808, and was one 
of the two Deacons then chosen. His sons were, Eliphalet, 
Benjamin, Ira, Giles, John G., and Lyman. The father and 
three ot the sons, Eliphalet, Benjamin, and John G., died of 
the memorable epidemic of 1812-13. 

Eliphalet had six children: 1. Phebe, who married Kil- 
bourn D. Smith, and resides in Wethersfield. They had 
three sons and four daughters; of the latter, one is dead. 2. 
Valentine, who married Phebe Ann Gould, and has no chil- 
dren. 3. Sydney, who married, first, Harriet Gardner; 
second, Clarissa Gardner, and has no children. 4. Lyman, 
who married Elvira Park, and had three sons and two 
daughters. 5. and 6. Leverett and Cynthia, both unmarried. 

Benjamin, died unmarried. 

Ira married Sylvia Norton, of Granville, and had two 
sons: 1. Harvey, who was born April 10, 180-1, and married 
Charity Morgan, lie removed with his family to Wisconsin. 
lie had six sons and three daughters. Of the six sons, five 
served in the late war. 2. Harry J., who was born Jan. 20, 
1806, and married Emily Kellogg, and removed to Attica, 
where he still resides. He has had twelve children; seven 
are living: Edward H., Albert J., Libbie, Etta, Nellie, 
Robert G., and Harry J. 

Giles married Rhoda Norton, in Granville. He settled in 
Warsaw in 1806. He had six sons: 1. William, who married 
Mrs. Talitha C. Marchant, widow of Lot Marchant, [See Lot 
Marchant.] 2. Giles; 3. Lafayette; 4. Wicks; 5. Ledyard; 6. 
Trumbull. All the sons, except William, removed to Craw- 
ford Co., Pa., the three youngest of whom died in the late 
war. 

John G. married Joanna Whitlock. He served in the war 
of 1812, ami died, soon after his return, of the prevailing 
epidemic, Nov. 10, 1812. He left a son, John, who is mar- 
ried, and resides in Buffalo. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 313 

Lyman married Ivaty Goo-gins; lived many years in this 
town, and removed to Wisconsin. His children were Tamma, 
Aurilla, Siberia, dead; Eveline, dead; Jennett, dead; Erastus, 
and John. 

WILLIAM PATTEESOX was born in Londonderry, K 
IT., June 4, 1789. He left Londonderry in 1815, and resided 
in Kensselaerville, Albany Co., about one year. From that 
time until April, 1822, he resided in Lyons, "Wayne Co., and 
in Groveland and Sparta, Livingston Co. During these years 
he was engaged in the manufacture and sale of fanning mills. 
In the winter of 1821-22, he purchased a farm in the south- 
east part of this town, and took possession of it in April 
following. He remained there, conducting the farming and 
mill making business until 1S37, when he removed to the 
village, occupying the premises, now the residence of John A. 
McElwain, on Genesee street. Though favored with a com- 
mon school education only, he acquired, by extensive reading, 
aided by a retentive memory, a large fund of practical infor- 
mation, which enabled him to give ready and satisfactory 
answers to the numerous inquiries for information which he 
received. He was an early and active friend of the temper- 
ance and antislavery causes. Possessing an amiable temper 
and a highly social nature, his presence was always accept- 
able, and his conversation agreeable and instructive. Taking 
a, deep interest in public aifairs, he made himself familiar 
with all questions involving the welfare of the state and 
nation; and although qualified for offices of high responsibility, 
he never sought or asked for one. He however occasionally 
received a town office, the duties of which were faithfully 
discharged. In 1836, his name was, without his knowledge, 
proposed in the Whig Convention for nominating a member 
of Congress to represent this district, then composed of the 
county of Genesee; and he was nominated and elected. In 
September, 1837, he took his seat in Congress at an extra 
session, and attended also the first regular session which 
closed in July, 1838. He returned somewhat indisposed, and 
was soon prostrated by the disease (bilious fever,) of which 
he died, Aug. 1-1, 1838. He was one of our most worthy and 
highly esteemed citizens. His death was deeply deplored, 
and his funeral attended by a large concourse of people from 
this and other towns. On the reassembling of Congress in 
December, Hon. Millard Fillmore, of the House, appropri- 
ately announced his death, speaking of his " untiring assiduity 
in the discharge of his duties," of his honesty and his firm- 
ness of purj)ose, &c; and at the conclusion of his remarks, 



314 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



offered the usual resolution for testifying the respect of the 
members for the memory of the deceased. 

William Patterson was married, Feb. 5, 182S, to Lucinda 
Gregg, of Deny, ]ST. H. She was ill at the time of his death, 
and died a week after, suddenly, while seated at the break- 
fast table. Their children were: 

Mary, who died in "Warsaw at the age of three years. 

William W., born Feb. 11, 1831. He resides in Minne- 
sota, and is at present a member of the Legislature of that 
state. He served in the late war; was a Lieutenant in the 
Regular Army, and was in several battles. 

Jennie Frank, who was born Oct., 1S32, and married 
Eev. Stuart Mitchell. She died March 13, 1861. 

Thomas James, who died in Warsaw, aged two years. 

Washington Jarvis, who died in Warsaw, aged two years. 

PETER PATTERSON was born in Londonderry, X. II., 
Nov. 11, 1770. In 1806, he engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness, and won the respect and confidence of his fellow-citizens, 
which he retained to the end of his life. He held various town 
offices, and served several years in the legislature of his na- 
tive state. In J 820, he removed to this place, and the next 
year to Perry. In 1832, he was elected to the legislature, and 
reelected the following year. After the organization of this 
county, he was appointed one of its associate judges, and for 
sixteen years held the office of justice in Perry. During hi* 
residence in that town, he was engaged in farming, and was 
actively interested in agricultural associations and all public 
enterprises. In 1S52, after a few years' residence in Leicester, 
he again made Warsaw his home. A friend thus notices his 
death: "He possessed a familiar knowledge of the history of 
the country and its public men. He was a man of command- 
ing presence, bland and refined manners and dignified bear- 
ing, scrupulously honest, kind, liberal and generous to a fault, 
illustrating daily all the amenities of life. Asa husband, 
father, and neighbor, he was affectionate, kind, and greatly 
beloved. In public life he was much esteemed- — was firm, 
fearless, and courteous. His patriotism flowed from a peren- 
nial stream, and to the day of his death he was deeply inter- 
ested in the perpetuity of our institutions. In the social 
circle he was highly appreciated — of rare conversational 
powers, his intellect blended with those virtues which adorn 
the genial heart. He was a gentleman of the old New Eng- 
land school, and largely shared the confidence and esteem of 
all with whom he was associated." Mr. Patterson married 
Mary Wallace, Nov. 8, 1811. They had five children: 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 315 

Robert W., who was born Sept. 3, 1815, married Eliza T. 
Bunnell; died May 22, 1803. 

Elizabeth J., born Sept. 11, 1817, married George AY. Mc- 
Entee, who died, Sept. 1844. She afterwards married Hugh 
Harding, editor of the Mt. Morris Union, June 18, 1846. They 
have one child. 

Mary AY., born April 26, 1820; died Xov. 1, 1866. 

Susan B., born Sept, 25, 1821; married John C. "Woods, 
Sept. 25, 1848, and has three children. 

William C, born March 20, 1826; married Phebe C. Cal- 
kins, who died July 1, 1853. He afterwards married Bettie 
S. Dolbeer, May 20, 1857. 

Judge Patterson died Feb. 17, 1865, aged 85 years. 

JOHN" D. PATTERSON, a son of Col. Robert Patterson, 
was born in Londonderry, N. II., May 1, 1S16. He removed 
with his father's family to Warsaw in June, 1820, and in 1830, 
engaged with Dr. Augustus Frank, with whom he remained, 
as clerk, until March, 1835, when he engaged as clerk in the 
store of Joshua H. Darling. Sept. 1, 1838, he formed a co- 
partnership with Mr. Darling, (firm, Darling & Patterson,) 
which continued three years. In April, 1842, he went to 
AYestheld, Chautauqua county, as a clerk in the Chautauqua 
Land Office, with which he was connected several years. 
AVhile in Westfield, he became extensively engaged in im- 
porting, breeding, and selling the pure Merino sheep; to 
which enterprise he has since devoted himself uninterruptedly 
until the present time. Probably no other person has done so 
much as he, to disseminate these valuable sheep. By their 
introduction into the AYestern and Southern States, many 
millions of dollars have probably been added to the wealth of 
the country. In 1S59, he extended his business to the Pacific 
coast, shipping a large number of sheep to California by 
steamers and the Panama railroad, at a cost of one hundred 
dollars per head. In 1860, ho purchased a farm of about 
300 acres in Brooklyn, Cal., which he stocked with the most 
valuable breeds of cattle, sheep, swine, &c, that could bo 
found in Europe or America, and has since resided in that 
state. This farm, which cost less than $40,000, he sold last 
year (1868) for $120,000 in gold coin. lie still owns large 
tracts of land in California; one of which contains 18,000 
acres, on which he has about 10,500 sheep, of which, upwards 
of 2,000 are pure Merinos, which is said to be a much larger 
number of the kind than is owned by any other individual 
in the United States. His market for them is not limited to 
California, Oregon, and Washington Territory; but he sells 



316 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

large numbers to go to British Columbia, Mexico, Central and 
South America, Australia, and New Zealand. One of his 
farms in Southern California, he is preparing for the cultiva- 
tion, on a large scale, of the orange, lemon, lime, olive, and. 
other semi-tropical fruits, the almond, Madeira nut, &c, all 
of which are said to grow to great perfection in that part of 
the state. 

Mr. Patterson married Caroline Glover, of Syracuse, N. Y. 

MOSES PERKINS removed from Cheshire, Conn., to 
Hampton, N. Y., in the year 1785. lie had fourteen chil- 
dren, of whom Sylvester, Elam, Anson A., Laura, Orilla, and 
Catharine, settled in Warsaw. The lather himself, after the 
death of his wife, came from the East, and spent the last 
years of his life with his sons in this town. He was a Meth- 
odist, a man of fervent piety, and had been a soldier in the 
Revolutionary war. He died Nov. 17, 1S36, in his 90th 
year. 

Sylvester, Elam, and Anson A. [See their Sketches.] 

Laura, daughter of Moses Perkins, married Joseph Miller. 
Lie settled on East Hill, on the farm afterwards sold to Anson 
A. Perkins. Mrs. Miller died in 1812, leaving a son, Levi. 

Orilla, twin sister of Laura, became the second wife ot 
Joseph Miller, who removed with his family to Oakland Co., 
Mich., where he was elected to the territorial legislature. He 
had by this wife three children. 

Catharine married Simeon R. Glazier. [See his Sketch.] 

SYLYESTER PERKINS was born in Cheshire, Conn., 
Feb. 21, 1779, and removed to Hampton, N. Y., with his 
father in 1785. He married Ruth Hooker, born Nov. 2, 178-1. 
In 1821 they came to Warsaw, and settled on West Hill. In 
1851, they removed with a son, Moses S., to Cortland, 111., 
where he died Oct, 24, 1801, and his wite, Sept. 28, 1S6L 
She was a descendant of the Rev. Thomas Hooker, one of the 
Puritan immigrants on the Mayflower in 1620. He was one 
of the founders of the Colony of Connecticut, whither he 
removed with his people, in 1636. All the family of Mr. 
Perkins, except two of his children, were members of the 
Methodist church. He was for many years a local preacher. 
He had nine children : 

Eliza, who married Ilezekiah Lincoln. They reside in 
Warsaw. 

Lizana married George A. Johnson, and died July 18, 
1840. 

Mary married Isaac N. Phelps. [See Phelps Family.] 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 317 

Philomela married Peter "White, of Orangeville; lives in 
Iowa. Children : Sylvester P., Mary J., Lucia Jane. 

Thomas Ii. married A. L. Eolandson, of Orleans Co.; lives 
in Minneapolis, Minn. Children : Edward R., and Frank. 

Abigail married J. Royal Crosset. Thev reside in Illi- 
nois. Children : Ellen R., Martial B., Elzy T. 

Betsey married Moses W. Jordan; has a son, Edward F. 

Moses S., born Dec. 7, 1818, married Sarah Shaw, of Le- 
Roy. In 1851, they removed to Cortland, 111., and in 1865, 
to Montague, Muskegan Co., Mich., where they now reside. 
They had nine children, four only are living : Corodon U.> 
Carlos L., Moses De C, and Viletta Belle. Five died young. 

Daniel F., born Aug. 31, 1820, died Sept, 7, 1838. 

ELAM PERKINS was born in Cheshire, Conn., Dec. 1, 
1782, and removed *to Hampton, 1ST. Y., with his father. He 
married Lydia Wheat, and removed to AVarsaw with four 
children, Feb., 1S11, and settled on East Hill, about a mile 
from the village. Both himself and wife were members of 
the Methodist church. He made a profession of his faith in 
early life, and was to the end of his life an active and zealous 
Christian. He died in May, 1868. His name will be held 
in lasting remembrance by many in this town. Flis wife died 
Dec. 16, 1861. They had nine children: 

Chester, who was born Jan. 26, 1807, married Asenath 
Sanford, and resided long in this town. He now resides in 
Gainesville. They belonged to the Methodist church in this 
town. They have four children: 1. Elam, who married Maria 
Divine. 2. Newton, who married Sarah Benson, lives in 
Gainesville, and has a son. 3. Althamina, who married Ly- 
man Johnson, and has three daughters. 1. Romanzo, who 
married Julina Jenison, and has a daughter. 

Samuel W. was born Jan. 22, 1809, and married Mary 
Densmore, by whom he had six children: 1. Rosetta, who 
married Sydney Spring, of Attica, and has a daughter. 2. An- 
geline, who married Albert Warren. Children: Alice, Mary, 
and Edie. 3. Sarah, who married Leander Gay. Children: 
Mary, Rosetta, Melissa, and Elvira. 1. Samuel W. married 
Eliza Knapp, of Attica, and has a son, Albert. 5. Phebe. 
6. Alice. 

Moses, born March 6, 1811, married Betsey Wilson, who 
died March 29, 1851. They had three children: 1. Wesley, 
who married Elizabeth Kinney, and has a daughter, Betsey. 

2. Franklin, who married Elizabeth Hagaman, in Illinois. 

3. Lewis, who married Elizabeth Shepard, of Java, and has 
a daughter, Florence. Mr. Perkins married a second wife, 
Mary M. Buck. 



318 HISTORY OF W ASSAM. 

Salmon, born April 23, 1813, d. inf. 

Mary Melissa, second wife of Levi Silver, of Perry. 

Lydia married WUlard Silver, brother of Levi, and bad two 
children, Wilder and Homer. 

Lucy B. was the first wife of Levi Silver, and died, leaving 
four children: Eleanor, Eliza, Horace, and Flora. 

Isabella married Allen D. Fargo. Their children are, 
Helen and Flora. 

Aurora S., born Sept. 19, 1832, married Eliza A. Parker, 
and has a daughter, Mariett. 

ANSOjST A. PERKINS was born in Cheshire, Conn., 
Sept. 21, 1784, and removed with his father to Hampton. 
He married Betsey Worden, and removed to Warsaw in the 
winter of 1811-12, and settled on East Hill, a mile and a half 
from the village. He went from Warsaw as a volunteer, in 
the war of lb 12, under Captain Wilson. He served as a 
drummer, and was at the battle of Erie. Mr. Perkins and 
his wife were both members of the Methodist church. The 
influence of his example was felt in his neighborhood during 
his residence in this town. In May, 1819, they removed to 
Beloit, where their sons resided, and where they both died; 
Mrs. Perkins, May 23, 1857, and Mr. Perkins the next day. 
They had nine children, the first three of whom d. inf. The 
living are: 

Lanson W., who married Prudence S. Jernegan, and re- 
moved to Beloit, Wis. They have six children: Elbridge B., 
who was 2i years in the late war; Lanson W., Augusta v. J., 
Willie L., Hattie I., Henrietta A. 

Luther S. married Sarah H. Taylor, and removed to Beloit 
in 1815. They have a son, Wayland G., who resides in Chi- 
cago. 

Eliza Ann, born Feb. 10, 1821, died March 11, 1838. 

Harriet Ann married Darius C. Fargo. They live in 
California. 

Anson Abieam married Clarissa A. Wiggins, and removed 
to Beloit in 1819. Mrs. Perkins died in Prairie du Chien. 
Children: Julia A., Addie C, and Cary A. He married, 
second, Helen M. Pad way, whose children are Frank and 
JN T ellie M. 

Julia Ann died in Beloit, April 3, 1S£0, aged 21. 

ISAAC PHELPS was born in Connecticut, and married 
Lydia Case, of Simsbury, Conn. He removed to this town 
from Granville, in 1809, and settled on West Hill, where he 
resided until a few years before his death, when he removed 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 310 

to the village. He died Jan. 11, 1839, aged about S4 years. 
His wife died April 7, 1841, aged 85. She was a member of 
the Presbyterian church. They had six children: 

Clarissa, who was born Nov. 15, 1778, married, for her 
first husband, John McWhorter, Jim., of Granville, and for 
her second, Samuel Hough. [See Families of John McWhor- 
ter and Samuel Hough.] 

Lydia, born Dec. 17, 1781. [See Levi and Lydia Martin.] 
Isaac was born April 4, 1783. He married Nancy Mahar, 
and settled in Aurora, Erie Co. He represented in the 
Legislatures of 1818 and 1819, the counties of Niagara, Cat- 
taraugus, and Chautauqua, which, together, elected but one 
member ot Assembly. He also held the office of Associate 
Judge of the County Court, He and his wife died in Aurora. 
Their children were, 1. Ledyard R., who married Betsey 
Scott, and resides in Aurora. 2. Warren, who married Eliza 
Haines. 3. Isaac N., who married in Warsaw, Mary Per- 
kins, and had by her four children: Dexter R., d. inf., Nancy 
C, Eugene, Douglas P. His wife died in Warsaw, and he 
married Mariette Taller. They now reside in Attica. 4. 
Charlotte, who married Lewis Conklin. 5. Henry H. mar- 
ried Sally Brown. 6. Edmund B. married; died in 1S65. 7. 
Minerva. 8. Eliza, who married Guy C. Martin. 

Susannah was born June 18, 1786. [See S. McWhorter.] 
Charlotte was born April 28, 1788. [See Wm. Webster.] 
Sophia was born Sept. 11, 1796. [See Aaron Pumsey.] 

NATHAN PIEPCE was born in Pehoboth, Mass., March 
11, 1781, and came to this town in 1806, and settled in the 
north-west part of the town. He married Hannah Hall, by 
whom he had six children: 

Mary Ann, who married Edmund Curtis, of Middlebury, 
and had six children: 1. Sophia M., who married D wight 
Watrous, of Perry. 2. Dexter C, who is married and lives 
in Perry, and has three children. 3. Lorenzo C, Mho mar- 
ried Ella Brundage, has a daughter, and lives in Perry. 4. 
Adelaide. 5. Alleroy. 6. Frederick, who died at 4. 

Alonzo, who married Emeline D. Belknap, by whom he 
had three children: 1. Beriah N., who was for several years a 
practicing lawyer, and now resides in Middlebury on the 
Avell known Cornwell farm. He married Kate Cormac, and 
has two sons. 2. Melford J., d. inf. 3. Melford A., who is a 
partner of Beriah N. Mrs. Pierce died June 19, 1867, and 
Mr. Pierce married a second wife, Helen M. Peck, of Mid- 
dleburv. 



320 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Jane married David Judd, and has two children: 1. Nancy 
Jane, who married Samuel Munger, and died in 1868. 2. 
Clark. 

Hannah married Jacob Sherwin. [See Family of Bissel 
Sherwin.] 

Clarissa S. married George Bnmdage, of Middlebury, and 
had two children: one of whom, Ella, married Lorenzo Curtis, 
of Perry. Mrs. Clarissa Brundage married for her second hus- 
band, Beman Wilcox. 

Allen married Susan Whaley, and had three children. 

Nathan Pierce, after the death of his wife above men- 
tioned, 'married Mrs. Warren, and after her death, Olive 
Belknap, who died Nov. 1, 1861, aged 75. Mr. Pierce died 
Sept. 11, 1859, aged 78. 

EDWARD PUTNAM was born in Grafton, Yt., Aug. 18, 
1782. -He settled at an early day at Wright's Corners, in 
Middlebury, where he kept the first store in that town. He 
removed soon after to Warsaw, where he resided until near 
the time of his death. He was twice appointed by the Coun- 
cil of Appointment a Justice of the Peace of this town. He 
married Rachel Hutton, and had by her nine children: 

Elvira married Jacob W. Knapp. [See Family of J. R. 
Knapp.] 

Yallona married David Shedd. They reside in Rockford, 
111. They had four children: 1. Henry C; 2. W. Irving, d. 
inf.; 3. Helen Irene, who married Abner Sherman, and lives 
in Rochester; 1. Julia A. 

Eliza, who lives in Rockford, 111., unmarried. 

Edward died in 1838, aged 19. 

Julia, unmarried, lives in Perry. 

Lucien married Esther Foster, in Warsaw, and now resides 
in Rockford, 111. They had four children; one d. int. Mrs. 
P. died, and Mr. P. married Cynthia Smith, who has a son. 

Henry Clay married Miranda Wilcox, and has had three 
children; two are living. 

Rachel, wife of Edward Putnam, died June 6, 1S38; and 
Mr. Putnam married Huldah Eldred, by whom he had a 
daughter, Agnes. He died at Rockford, in 1865, in his 83d 
year. 

WILLIAM RAYMOND was born in Norwalk, Conn., 
Aug. 10, 1777. He removed with his father's family to Troy, 
N. Y., in 1790; was clerk in a store there until 1800. He re- 
moved to Granville, where he held the offices of supervisor, 
town clerk, and the office of justice of the peace from 1S0S 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 321 

until 1824, when he removed to Bethany. In 1825, lie re- 
moved to Warsaw, where lie was clerk and hook-keeper for 
Dr. Augustus Frank until 1S39, when he went, with his wife, 
to live with his son at Pine Hill, (Elba,) where he died May 
5, 1817. Mr. Raymond was a correct and systematic busi- 
ness man, an estimable citizen, and a consistent professor of 
religion. He and his wife were from an early period in life 
members of the Presbyterian church. He married, June 20, 
1805, Mary Kellogg, who was born Dec. 24, 1785, and lives 
at Pine Hill with her son. They had eleven children: 

Maey, who married Jefferson Henshaw. They resided in 
Aurora, Erie Co., where both died in 1855. They had four 
children: Cornelia Frances, who married John C. Long; 
Theodore A. and William R., both married, and Henry C, 
killed in the war. 

William C. married Sarah A. Southworth, in Elba, July 
11,1837. They had seven children: Charles Henry, d. inf., 
William Henry, who was taken prisoner in the war, and ex- 
changed in March, 1865; George S., Walter H., Mary Ada- 
line, James G., and Charles Lewis. Mr. Raymond has for 
more than thirty years been a merchant at Pine Hill. 

Julia A. married Caleb T. Gifford, of Bethany, where they 
now reside. Their children are: William P., James, Mary, 
and Frances. 

Coenelia married James M. Darling, and died, leaving a 
daughter, Helen. 

Henry K., a graduate of Union College, and many years a 
teacher, removed to Oshkosh, Wis., and now resides at Ne- 
braska City, unmarried. 

Lucia, second wife of James M. Darling, is also dead. She 
had two children: 1. Jane, who married B. F. Hamilton, and 
resides in Champaign, 111. 2. Charles, who died in the war. 
[See War History.] 

James H. went to Texas in 1S39, where he married Mar- 
garet Johnson, formerly of Kentucky. He was Clerk and 
Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives of Texas before 
her admission into the Union, and State Treasurer many 
years after the annexation. He is now a broker and banker 
in Austin, Texas. 

Alanson 1ST. married Emily Wilson, and resides in Chi- 
cago. His children are: Katy, Lucia, and Harry. 

Samuel M. married Mary Porter. He was a printer, and 
died at Lima in 1857. 

John C. married Frances Wilson, and resided several years 
at Oshkosh, Wis. He went to Austin, Texas, where he is now 
- a druggist and bookseller. He had four children, of whom 
two are livine;. 21 



322 HISTORY OF WARSAW 

Augttstus^II. married Helen Chandler, of Fond du Lac, 
Wis., and has two children, William and Arthur. He is now 
Clerk in one of the Departments at Washington. 

^JOHN IT. EEDDISH was born in Maryland, Feb. IS, 
1787, and came to this town when a youngman. lie married 
Martha, a daughter of Nehemiah Fargo. Their children, 
besides five who died in infancy, were as follows: 

Mary Ann married Isaac Blair, and now resides in Wis- 
consin. They had seven children: 1. Derleski, who married 
AVm. Town, and lives in Illinois. 2. Loduski, who married 
Marvin Morris. 3. Harriet, who married John J I ill. 4. Jere- 
miah B. 5. Adelaide, who married in Wisconsin. 6. Bo- 
manzo. 7. Mary. 

Hiron J. married Eliza Watkins. Their children are: 
1. Mary, who married George Holbrook, of La Grange. Mr. 
Holbrook having died, she married James Thomas. They 
removed to Wisconsin, and have two children. 2. Allen, 
who married Emily Lighthall, has two sons, and resides in 
Nebraska. 3. Ortaville, who married Marna Barrass, of Lin- 
den. They have a daughter, Lillie. 4. Adelbert, who mar- 
ried Marian Banney, and resides in Middlebnry. 5. Edgar. 
6. Ellen, who died at 10. 7. Charlie. 8. Frank. 9. Flor- 
ence. 10. Eugene. 

Allen J. married Mary Throop, and had a daughter, Mil- 
lie, who died at 15. Mr. 'Reddish died March 21, 1SG4, aged 
48 years. 

Nancy married Eldridge Stannard, of Le Boy. They have 
a son, Egbert, who married Florence Tillotson. 

Eleanor married David D. Snyder. [See Snvder Fam- 

Elizabeth married James Wilkin, and has six children: 
George, Clarence, d. inf., Alice, Arthur, Frank and Dean R. 

John H. Beddish died May 30, 1841. Mrs. Reddish died 
Oct. 30, 1852. 

JOB M. BELYEA was born in Lee, Oneida Co., Dec. 12, 
1S18; removed to Warsaw in 1S33, and settled in the south- 
east part of the town, where he afterwards purchased a farm, 
on which he still resides. He is a member of the Free Will 
Baptist church, to whose interests he renders cordial support. 
He married Harriet Warner, Oct. 15, 183G. They have two 
children: 

Emma, who married William B. Hntton, and resides in this 
town; and Alice, unmarried. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 323 

CYEUS EICE was born March 24, 1792, and married 
Mary Harrington. In 1819, (?) they settled in the north-east 
part of the town. In 1822, they removed to this village, 
where, for many years, lie carried on the Coopering business. 
His shop is said to have been the first in the village; and his 
house, yet standing on Water street, the first brick house in 
the village; in which house was held the first Methodist prayer 
meeting held in the village, of which meeting Elam Perkins 
was the leader. Mr. Eice and his wife were members of the 
Methodist church. They had ten children: 

Alma, who is unmarried. 

Norman P. married in Michigan; resides in Paw-Paw. 

Eoxa D. married Erastus Truesdell, and removed to Mich. 

Alvin died at the age of 18. 

Ciiauncey married in Louisville, Ivy., where he resides. 

Delos E. is married, and lives in Detroit, Mich. 

Laura A. is a graduate of Mount Holyoke Female Semi- 
nary, and has been for many years engaged in teaching. She 
married, in Detroit, E. J. Eice. They are both employed, at 
present, in conducting a seminary in Baldwin City, Kansas. 

Cyrus Eice died June 10, 1832. Mrs. Eice, now the wife 
of Albon G. Cross, still resides in this village. 

Dr. DANIEL EUMSEY came to Warsaw in 1817, mar- 
ried Mrs. Unicy Marchant, widow of Micah Marchant, and, 
after a brief residence of one or two years, removed to Alex- 
ander. About the year 1823, he returned to Warsaw, and 
continued the practice of his profession, until about the year 
1830, when he removed to Silver Creek, and became a part- 
ner in the mercantile business with Ammi Marchant, the son 
of his wife by her first husband, and after Mr. Marchant's 
death, with Horatio N. Farnham for several years. He was 
a man of fervent, active piety, of most exemplary deportment, 
and faithful and prompt in the discharge of duty in all the 
concerns and relations of life. To him, chiefly, was the Pres- 
byterian church and Society of Silver Creek indebted for its 
early organization, and largely for its support, for many years. 
He died in Buffalo, in 1864, aged 85 years. He had in Ver- 
mont, by a former wife, Tryphena Eansom, three children : 
Amelia, and two who died young; and by his second wife, 
five children : Daniel Lewis, Cyrus E., Laura J., Maria Try- 
phena, and Lucy Ann. 

Amelia married George D. Farnham in Warsaw, in 1826. 
They removed a few years after to Silver Creek, and after- 
wards to Buffalo, where Mr. Farnham died in Aug., 1853. 
They had seven children : 1. Tryphena E., who married Clark 



324 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



B. Albee, of Grand Rapids, Mich., where they reside. 2. 
Daniel II., d. inf. 3. Mary Ann. 4. Daniel R., who was 
killed in battle at Shiloh,"Tenn., April 6, 1862, aged 28. 5. 
Amelia, who married John D. Stowell, and lives in Chicago. 
6. Horatio S., d. inf. 7. Louisa. 

Daniel Lewis was a graduate of Yale College; died at 30. 

Cyrus Ransom died in Warsaw, at the age of 5 years. 

Laura J. married Rev. Dr. James B. Shaw, of Rochester, 
and has a daughter, Mary. 

Maria Tryphena married Winfield Shaw, at Silver Creek, 
and now resides in Buffalo. They have two children, Isabel 
and Clark. 

Lucy Ann, unmarried, resides in Buffalo. 

CALVIN RUMSEY was born in Hubbardton, Vt, Feb. 
24, 1703, and removed from that place to Warsaw in 1814, 
where he married, Jan. 7, 1S16, Polly McWhorter, who was 
born in Granville, Jan. 27, 179S. Mr. Rumsey established 
himself in the Leather and Shoe manufacturing business on 
the premises on which Frank Miller now resides, on Buffalo 
street. In 1817, he was joined by his brother Aaron. [See 
Aaron Rumsey.] In 1833, he sold his property in Warsaw, 
and removed to Buffalo, and in 1834 to West-field. In 1850, 
ho removed to Randolph, Cattaraugus Co., where he died 
Marcli 19, 1853. Mrs. Rumsey lives with a son-in-law, Har- 
vey T. Rumsey, La Crosse, Wis. They had eight children, as 
follows: 

Mary Ann, born Jan. 7, 1817, died at the age of 17. 

Fayette, born Aug. 12, 1818, married Matilda Bradley, of 
Buffalo. They had five children : Bradley, Martha, Mary, 
Fred, and Willie, the last oidy is living. Mr. Rumsey died. 

Oliye, born June 9, 1820, married James Danforth, and 
had a daughter, Mary. Mr. Danforth died in Buffalo, of 
cholera, Aug. 1S52. Mrs. Olive Danforth married in March, 
1857, Harvey T. Rumsey, and removed to La Crosse, where 
they reside. Her daughter Mary here married Win. Supplee, 
and had two children, William and Olive, who are settled in 
Philadelphia, 

Harriet, born Feb. 1, 1822, d. inf. 

Lorette, born May 20, 1823, married Joseph H. Plumb, of 
Gowanda. Their children are, Ralph, Fayette, Josephine, 
and George. 

Dana, born Aug. 14, 1S25, went to Nashville, Tenn., mar- 
ried Amanda Hamlin, and has two children. 

John, born Feb. 2, 1S28, married Charlotte Barrows, of 
Olean; has a daughter, and resides in Wisconsin. 








^^ ^xl^^y^ 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 325 

Ellen, born Dec. 27, 1829, married Benj. McLean r a native 
of Canada. They reside at Kansas City, Mo. 

AAROX RUMSEY was born in Hubbardton, Vt., May. 
16, 1797. At the age of twenty years, without capital other 
than a knowledge of his trade, he came to Warsaw, having 
performed a journey of four hundred miles on foot, with a 
bundle in his hand, comprising his whole property. He joined 
his brother Calvin, who had a few years previously established 
himself in the Shoe and Leather business. Alter a partner- 
ship of ten years, in 1827, he sold his interest in the concern 
to his brother, and removed to Westfield, Chautauqua Co., 
where he engaged in the mercantile business. In 1831, lie 
removed to Buffalo, and again commenced the Leather busi- 
ness, which, however, was soon arrested by the general and 
severe commercial convulsion of 1837, which operated so dis- 
astrously in that city. A few years after, having made the 
necessary arrangements, he started anew in his former busi- 
ness; and by his energy and business talent, he succeeded in 
gaining, in a comparatively short period, a trade of vast mag- 
nitude, in which two of his sons, Bronson and Dexter became 
partners. But the large gains of his extensive business were 
not his most valuable acquisitions. He had previously found 
the "pearl of great price," which he prized above all the 
treasure of the world. To promote the interests of religion 
was to him a favorite object. He several times transferred 
his church relations from the stronger to the more feeble 
churches of his denomination, which were in greater need of 
his assistance. And the institutions of religion and benevo- 
lence in general, found in him a liberal patron. Both himself 
and wife were members of the Presbyterian church. He 
married in Warsaw, in 1819, Sophia Phelps, who was born 
Sept. 11, 1796. They had six children : Rollin, Bronson C, 
Eleanor, Dexter P., Earl D. and Rollin D., of whom three 
died young. 

Bronson C. married Evelyn Hall, and had four children: 
Lawrence, Mary, Burt, and Eva. 

Eleanor married William Crocker, died, and left two chil- 
dren, AVilliam and Nellie. 

Dexter P. married Mary Coburn, who had two daughters, 
and died. He married for his second wife, Mary Bissell, by 
whom he had a son who died at the age of 3 years. 

MAYHEW SAEFORD was born in the year 1783 or 
1784. He married, in Vermont, Maria Fi'ch, and in 1817 
removed to this town. He was by profession a lawyer, the 
second one in Warsaw, and resided here until his death, Jan. 



326 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

10, 1831, aged 47 years. We are unable to give a complete 
sketch of the family. The names of four of his children — 
which are perhaps all — are recollected: James M., Mason F. y 
George, and Lucia. 

James M. went many years since to Madison, Ind.; mar- 
ried, and probably resides there still. 

Mason F. went to the South West, and died. 

George was many years a practicing attorney in Norwalk, 
O., and has since removed to Cleveland. 

Lucia resided lately in Milwaukee, unmarried. 

PHILIP SALISBURY was born in Scituate, K. L, Sept., 
1780. In 1807, he came to Warsaw from Granville, and with 
his brother Samuel, both then unmarried, settled on Lot 59, 
where now Luther Foster resides. In 1810, he married 
Clarissa Curtis, of Granville. In 181G, he settled on the 
center road, where he died, Jan. 13, 1822. He was a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian church. He had six chidren, as 
follows: 

Emily A. married Daniel Weaver, and removed to 
Michigan. 

Armena A. married in Michigan; and- died, leaving 
children. 

Julia Alma married Mr. Millett, in Michigan; had chil- 
dren. 

Rebecca Melissa married Peleg Cornell. They reside at 
Linden; had five children, four living. 

Orisa Allen died in Michigan, unmarried. 

Philip Franklin, married, resides in Michigan. 

Clarissa, widow of Philip Salisbury, married, in 1824, Paul 
Richards, of Orangeville. Their children, besides one d. inf., 
were James, Henry, Clarissa, Lois, and John. Mrs. Richards 
died in Orangeville, Jan. 23, 1S57, aged 07. 

SAMUEL SALISBURY was born in Londonderry, Vt, 
Feb. 11, 1787. He came to this town in 1807, from Pawlet,. 
Yt,, and settled, with his brother Philip, on lot 59, as stated 
above. He married, Dec. 29, 1812, Achsa jSToble, born in 
Orwell Yt., Feb. 4, 1797. He sold out in 1S16, and soon 
after removed about a mile east, and subsequently to the 
center road, a mile and a half west of the village, whence lie 
removed to the village, where he now resides. He was in 
the war of 1812, a non-commissioned officer in Capt. Russel 
Noble's company of Infantry, and was present at the taking 
of Fort Erie, and since the war was Captain of the same 
company. He is one of the only three men remaining in the 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



297 



town who purchased land in it prior to 1S08. Dea. Salisbury 
and his wife were early members of the Baptist church, which 
relation they still retain. They had four children: one d. int. 

Cynthia "A., who married Peter Eichards, and removed to 
Ashville, Chautauqua Co., where he died. They had two 
daughters, one of whom died at 14. 

Melvina A. married Eli Dibble. They reside in Warsaw. 
Their children are, Ellen Euclora, and Lelia Agnet. 

Hopkins married Antoinette Conable. He was a soldier 
in the late war, was wounded, and discharged. [See War 
History.] 

DAYID SAMM1S was born in Huntington, Suffolk Co., 
N. Y., Feb. 3, 1803. He married Harriet Gibbs, by whom 
he had four children: Henry G., Elizabeth, Walter, and 
Amelia, who died at 1. He married, after the death of his 
wife, Mary Huntington, in Torrington, Conn., by whom he 
had three children: Collis, Alburtis, and Charles. He re- 
moved from Torrington to Warsaw, in 1811, and settled on 
West Hill, on the farm previously owned by Roderick and 
Ebenezer Chapin. He has for several years resided in the 
village. 

Henry G. married Hannah Lincoln; lives in Michigan. 

Elizabeth married David Chase. [See Chase Family.] 

Alburtis was in the war. [See War History.] 

HEZEKIAII SCOYEL was born in 1777; married in 
Yermont, Amy Thompson, and in 1811 removed with his 
family from Orwell, Yt., to this town. He was by trade a 
carpenter. He was an early member ot the Baptist church, 
and was for some time its Clerk. He subsequently removed 
to Otto, 1ST. Y., where he resided until his death. He had ten 
children: 

Roderick R., born 1708, married Minerva Sharp, and had 
five children: Silsby, Esther, Jerome, Adelia, and a daugh- 
ter, d. inf. 

Caroline married Palmer Fargo. [See Palmer Fargo.] 

Nathan married Sarah Hull, in East Otto. They had 
four children, besides one d. inf.: Sarah, Caroline, Azariah C, 
and Adelia, all married at the West. Sarah is dead, and 
Azariah removed to California. 

Delilah married Cyrus Capen. [See Capen Family.] 

Lorenda married Sydney Larabee in Otto. 

Amy married Albert Larabee, and removed West. 

Lodema married Hiram Sykes, of Otto. 

Polly married Theron Perkins, of Otto; has four sons. 

Palmer married, and removed West. He was in the war. 



32S HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

NATHAN SCOVEL was born in Meriden, Conn., March 
26, 1772. lie married, in Orwell, Vt., Seviah Owen, born 
Feb. 13, 1778. They removed from Orwell to Warsaw in 
1819, and settled in the south-west part of the town, where 
lie resided until his death, March 23, 1849. Mrs. Scovel died. 
Feb. 5, 1S56. Both were members of the Baptist church. 
They had five children, besides one d. inf.: 

Elisiia W., who was born Sept. 28, 1795; married Eliza- 
beth Merriman, and had three children: 1. Annis W., who 
married Rev. Joseph W. Spoor, and had a son, Arthur, who 
served in the war. Mrs. S. died; Mr. Spoor resides in Roch- 
ester. 2. Mary S., who married Darwin 0. Warren, who is 
dead. They had two children, Stimson M. and J. Volney. 
3. Cornelia Ann, who married Abel G. Northrup, of Penfield, 
where they reside. 

Esther married Jabez B. Noble, and had five children: 

1, 2. Esther and Delano, who married in Wisconsin. 3. Ed- 
mund B., who married Nancy Throop, and removed to Albany, 
Wis., where he resides. 1. Eugene. 

Eliphalet O. married D. A. Clark, and has a son, Nathan 
Smith, who married Eliza Rood, of Wethersfield. 

CHARLES L. SEAYER was born in Middlebury, April 

2, 1828. He was the son of Dr. Robert and Hannah Seaver, 
who are among the oldest residents of that town; Dr. Seaver 
having removed from Vermont in 1808. He was engaged 
with his father on the farm until he was sixteen years of age, 
when he went to Michigan, where he taught school, and was 
afterwards engaged in the Insurance business. He removed 
to Warsaw in 1850, and has since been most ot the time en- 
gaged in the store of A. & G. W. Frank. He married Har- 
riet P. Fargo, daughter of David Fargo, and has a daughter, 
Fanny. 

CHAUNCEY L. SHELDON, of Rupert, Vt, came to 
Warsaw in 1808, being the first physician in this town. He 
was what is usually termed a u popular " man; and having 
secured the public confidence in his professional skill, he ac- 
quired an extentensive and, as it was in that early day. a 
laborious practice. He was in 1817 somewhat relieved by 
taking into partnership Dr. Augustus Frank. Their profes- 
sional partnership was soon followed by a partnership in the 
mercantile business, which, being more congenial to the taste 
of Dr. Frank than his professional practice, was chiefly de- 
volved upon him. Dr. Sheldon, however, found material 
relief a few years later bv the coming in of Drs. Daniel and 





^^</. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 



329 



Cyrus Pumsey. Dr. Sheldon was a gentleman of good char- 
acter, and a professor of religion. He was an early member 
of the Presbyterian church, and retained his connection with 
it until his death. He was also the first Postmaster in this 
town. He was appointed to this office April 12, 1811, and 
held the same until Jan. 24, 1826, when he was reappointed, 
after which he held it only until March 3, 1828, when, his 
recovery from protracted illness having become hopeless, and. 
he having resigned the office, Elias Ii. Bascom, his partner in 
trade, was appointed his successor. He was also Clerk of 
Genesee county about five years. He was appointed Feb. 14, 

1821, by the Council of Appointment. The office having been 
made elective by the Constitution of 1821, he was in Nov., 

1822, elected to the office for three years, the term commenc- 
ing Jan. 1, 1823. He died March 28, 1828, aged about 45 
years. His wife, whose maiden name was Mima Brown, died 
Nov. 23, 1834, aged 54. Their children, besides Chauncey 
B., and Alphonzo T. and Alonzo C, twins, all of whom d. inf., 
were: 

Benjamin F., who married Lydia Ann Bently, and removed 
to Illinois, where he died. 

Adaline B., unmarried, died Dec. 21, 1840, aged 33. 

Hikam F. married in Ohio, and died in Ohio City. 

Angeline F. married Andrew G. Hammond. After a brief 
residence in Ohio, Michigan, Florida, and a second time in 
"Warsaw, they removed to Massachusetts, where, after a few 
years, she died. He has since died. During his residence in 
Michigan, Florida, and Massachusetts, he was Cashier or 
President of Banks. Their children were, 1. Granville, who 
resides in Illinois. 2. Chauncey L. Sheldon, who married 
Caroline Murray, of Warsaw, and is Cashier of a Bank in 
Clinton, Mass. 

Chauncey P. established at Chicago, then a village, the 
Cabinet Making business, and died there, unmarried. 

Philo C. was for some years a merchant in Chicago, and 
removed to California, where both he and his wife died. 

Caroline C. married Nathan S. Woodward, and died Sept. 
30, 1842. Children: Melville, died at 18, and Caroline. _ 

Charlotte T. married O. F. Bnxton. [See Buxton Family.] 

Harriet N. married Mr. Goodrich; removed to Illinois. 

CHAUNCEY SHELDON was born Jan. 10, 17S6, and 
married Lucy Whiting, Oct, 8, 1806. They removed in 1811 
or 1812, from Rupert, Yt., to Genesee Co., and resided in 
Warsaw and Orangeville, (now in Wyoming Co.) In Warsaw 
he kept for a time the tavern on the present site of the Brick 



330 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Hotel. In 1821, he was appointed Justice of the Peace. 
After the death of Mrs. Sheldon, which occurred in 1832, he 
removed to Michigan. In the winter of 1837-8, he, with 
many others, crossed at Detroit into Canada, to take part in 
the Canada Eebellion, generally called the " Patriot War." 
A number of them were captured, tried by a Court Martial, 
and sentenced to be shot. They were led out, one by one, 
and ordered to face to the rear and kneel. When Sheldon's 
turn came, he refused to obey the order, and replied, that he 
had never bowed the knee to Great Britain, nor did he think 
he ever should; and that when they shot him, they would 
shoot him standing, and in the face, but never in the back. 
These firm and resolute responses caused a sufficient delay for 
the arrival of Col. Airey, the officer in command, when Mr. 
Sheldon, as his last hope, gave the Masonic grand hailing 
sign of distress, which was recognized, and the order for his 
execution countermanded. He was afterwards tried, and 
sentenced to Van Dieman's Land, at hard labor for life. He 
was pardoned in 1811, and returned across the Pacific in 
1816. A brother-in-law, Nathan Whiting, shared a similar 
fate. [See Whiting Family.] Mr. Sheldon died two or three 
years ago, in Ray, Mich. His children were: 

Orson, who lives in Burlington, Wis., with a second wife. 
He was a member of the Legislature of the Territory of Wis- 
consin, in 1810. 

Horace married at Attica, and died there. 

Sybil married Daniel Duncan, and resides in Michigan. 

William, unmarried, resides in Oregon. 

Sophrona .married Giles Pettibone, and resides in Darien. 

Harriet married in Utica, Mich., Rev. Ransom R. Rich- 
ards, formerly of Warsaw. She died Feb. 8, 1819. 

James, married, resides in Waterloo, Wis. 

Hiram died in 1831, in Michigan, aged 13. 

Maryette married in Detroit, and resides in Texas. 

Amelia is married, and resides in Ray, Mich. 

CHARLES O. SHEPARD was born in Lancaster, K IT., 
in August, 1806, and while yet a youth, emigrated to Mount 
Morris, 1ST. Y. In 1827, when about 21 years of age, he 
removed to Arcade, and served as clerk in a store. He 
afterwards carried on the mercantile business for himself 
many years. In early manhood he engaged with activity 
and zeal in efforts to promote the moral and intellectual im- 
provement of society. He was from the beginning an earnest 
and devoted friend of temperance, both advocating and prac- 
ticing; total abstinence from all intoxicatino; drinks. A 




^.(SL&^tyL^. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 331 

greater amount of labor in promoting this cause was proba- 
bly never performed by any person in this county. In 1836 
and 1837, he was a member of Assembly from the county of 
Genesee, and discharged the duties of that office faithfully 
and ably. lie was also among the first to engage in asso- 
ciated effort to hasten the abolition of slavery. And when, 
at a later period, (1810,) the antislavery political party was 
formed, he took a leading part in its organization, and gave it 
his earnest support during its existence, and was twice its 
candidate for Lieutenant Governor. In 1855, he aided 
largely in the construction of the Republican party, whose 
object was to prevent the extension of slavery. In 1859, he 
w T as elected County Clerk of "Wyoming county; and during 
the last year of his life he was Deputy Revenue Collector for 
this county. He died at Arcade, May 19, 1867. He married 
in 1836, Rhoda II. Lyman, daughter of Rev. William Lyman, 
D. D., who died in 1859. They had two children: 

Mary C, who married J. B. Parke, and resides in Buffalo. 

Charles O., who served during the late war, and is Clerk 
of Niagara Frontier Police, Buffalo. 

BISSEL SHERWIN was born July 13, 1777, and married 
Experience Whitnev. They removed to this town about the 
year 1822. Mrs. Sherwin died Oct. 3, 1855; Mr. Sherwin, 
Sept. 16, 1860. They had eleven children, as follows: 

Lydia, born Oct. 21, 1807, married Isaac Perry; died in 
Chautauqua Co., leaving two sons and a daughter. 

Lyman, born Aug. 8. 1809, married Miss Champion, in 
Bethany, March 26, l "1813. They had six children. 

Amanda married Thomas R. Jones. They reside in Wis- 
consin, and have four children. 

Sally married Walter M. Hatch. [See Wm. C. Hatch.] 

Jacob, born June 18, 1814, married Hannah Pierce. Their 
children are: 1. Mary Ann, who married Allen T. Covel, and 
removed to California. 2. Wallace, now in the regular army. 
3. Annie Bell. 

Horace married Tirza Butler, who had two children, and 
died. He married a second wife, Mary Ann Curtis. They 
reside in Holland, Erie Co., and have three children. 

Clarissa married Sebra Tripp. They removed to Michi- 
gan, where she died, Jan. 3, 1860. 

Betsey married Sylvester Curtis. They reside in Holland, 
X. Y., and have a son, Herman. 

Bissel married in Wisconsin, Marv Scolo. He died at the 
battle of Fair Oaks, Va., Oct. 27, 1864. 



332 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Elvira married Person P. Draper. Their children are : 
Dell, George, and Carrie. 

Loventa married Squira Austin Tripp. They now reside in 
Westfield, K. Y., and have two children. 

WILLIAM SHIPMAX was born in Saratoga county, in 
1771. He married Mary Brown, who was born in Connecti- 
cut, in 1778. He came to this town in 1815, and resided here 
to the time ot his death, in 1810. His wife died in lSlL 
They had seven children: 

Timothy, who married Pebecca Koble, and now resides in 
Wisconsin. They had five children: Curtis, Polly, William, 
died at 17, Delos, and Mary. 

Rachel, unmarried, lives in Wisconsin. 

Stephen married Mary Hanna, and resides in Orangeville. 
They had five children: 1. Lorett, who died at about 17. 2. 
Charlotte Orissa, who married Martin Latson. 3. Ann. -1. 
Olivia, who married Miltord Lawton. 5. James William 
Wallace. 

Charles married Lucina Center. His children v T ere, 1. 
Helen, who married Pansom Buck, and has a child. 2. Mar- 
tha. 3. George, who died at 7. 4. Emma. Mr. Shipman is 
dead. 

Charlotte married John Burt, of York; moved to Mr. 
Morris, where he died. They had four children. 

Barbara married Samuel Xash, and resides in Michigan. 

Benjamin married and lives in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. 

WILLIAM SMALLWOOD, with his wife and five chil- 
dren, emigrated to this country from Yorkshire, England, in 
1819, and settled in the town of York, Livingston county. In 
1823, he removed to this town, on East Hill, where he resided 
the remainder of his life. He died May 21, 1867, aged 90 
years. Few persons possess in a higher degree than he did, 
those virtues which command the respect and esteem of the 
good. He ever aimed to do right. From this purpose he 
could not be swerved by any considerations of mere expedi- 
ency. He was long a member of the Methodist church, and 
adorned his profession by an exemplary and a consistent 
walk. He had a heart to sympathize with the needy and 
suffering, and a hand ever ready to administer to their relief. 
He was a steadfast friend of temperance and other reforms. 
Xo class of suffering humanity had a stronger hold upon his 
feelings than the bondmen of the South. Xo man rejoiced 
more heartily than he at their deliverance, an event for which 
he had long labored and prayed. And it was a dying request 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 333 

of his, that the inscription on his tomb-stone should tell that 
he had been a friend of the slave. His wife died Dec. 9, 
1864, at the age of 89. They had seven children: 

Mary, who married Charles Clapp, who died at the at the 
age of 26. They had a daughter who married Dr. Sweet. 
She also died at the age of 26. 

Michael married Elizabeth Beeden, of Perry. Their child- 
ren are, 1. John JB., a graduate of Genesee College, a local 
preacher, residing in this town, who married Octavia J. 
Atkins, and has a daughter, Mabel. 2. Charles Henry, d. inf. 
3. Mary Harriet, who married Seymour Sanford, and lives in 
Castile, and has a son, William S. 1. Frances Ann. 5. Wil- 
liam Walters. 6. Sarah Elizabeth. 7. Margaret Ella. 8. 
Jennie Maria. 

John married Harriet Jennett Webster, a daughter of 
Judge Webster. They removed, after their marriage, to Rip- 
ley, where they now reside. They have six children : 1. 
Adelia, who married Rev. John T. Brownell, a Methodist 
preacher, and has a son, John Yeranus. 2. Clementine. 3. 
Lorette. 4. Emma. 5. Wilber. 6. Henry. 

Sarah married Walter W. Griffith. They reside at Tecum- 
seh, Mich. 

William T. married Florilla Roberts, in Gowanda, where 
they now reside. 

Ann married William Terry, of Middlebury, where they 
reside. They have four daughters. 

Betsey married Edmund C. Skiff, of Hume, Allegany Co., 
where they reside. 

GEORGE SNYDER was born in Worcester, Otsego Co., 
and removed, when young, to Cherry Yalley, where he was 
married to Agnes Price. They removed to \Yarsaw in 1818. 
They had five children, as follows: 

Silas W. who married Esther Buckle, and removed to Illi- 
nois, where he died in 1865. 

Amanda, who married Henry Conklin. They removed to 
Michigan. She had several children, all of whom, and her- 
self are dead. 

David D. married Eleanor Reddish. Their children were: 
1. Wilber H., who died in 1S62, aged IS vears. [See War 
History.] 2. Wm. Wallace, and 3. Davis Wesley, both died 
at 3. 4. Omer C, d. inf. 5. Herman C. 6. Agnes Elizabeth. 

George W. married Elizabeth Tattle. Mrs. Snyder died, 
and he married a second wife. 

Daniel II., born March 11, 1832. Mrs. Snyder died in 
April following. Daniel died at 20. 



334 HISTORY OF AVARS AW. 

George Snyder married for his second wife, Philomela 
Hooker. He is a member of the Methodist church ; she, of 
the Presbyterian. They reside in the village. 

Gen. PHWEAS STAOTON was born in Stonington, 

Conn., May 21, 1780, and married, Dec. 1, 1803, Polly 
Thomas, born Sept. 12, 1785. They removed to Skaneateles, 
in 1805; to Attica, in 1808; to Middlebury, then a part of 
Warsaw, in 1810. He settled near the line of this town. He 
was an active participator in the war of 1812. He entered 
the army as an Ensign of Militia, from which post he was, 
for his bravery, soon elevated to that of Brigade Major in 
Porter's Brigade of Volunteers. He was in the bloody battles 
of Chippewa and Bridgewater. In the latter, he was sur- 
rounded, in the darkness of the night, by a party of British 
soldiers and captured, conveyed as a prisoner of war to Hali- 
fax, and there detained for nearly a year. He subsequently 
received a commission of Major-General, which he had at the 
time of his death. He was generally esteemed for his moral 
worth and Christian character. He and his wife were both 
members of the Presbvterian church in AVyoming. He died 
March 31, 1842; Mrs. Stanton, Jan. 28, 1860. They had ten 
children, as follows: 

Maria, who married David Scott, an early merchant of 
Attica. Their children were: 1. Winfield S., who married 
Sarah Cameron, and had eight children. 2. Walter, unmar- 
ried, and died in Virginia, aged 22. 3. Ellen, married M. C. 
Bigelow, merchant, in Attica, and has two sons, Arthur and 
"Walter. 4. John, d. inf. 5. John, unmarried, resides in New 
Orleans. 6. Jennie, who married C. C. Dike, of Brooklyn, 
and has two children, Norman S. and Miriam. 7. Thomas. 
8. d. inf. 

Esther G. married "Wales Cheney, a graduate of West 
Point, subsequently a teacher in Middlebury Academy, and 
now a resident of AVarsaw. 

Elias T. married Julia M. Collar, of Wyoming, and died 
April 27, 1812. Their children were: 1. Mary, who married 
Henry Milliman, who was killed at the second battle of Bull 
Run. 

Abigail, who died at the age of 30. 

Persis T. married Edward Peck, who died Jan. 16, 1854. 
Their children were: Eugene, Edward, who married in Wash- 
ington, and resides there; Emma, Elora, Phineas, and one or 
two d. inf. 

Phineas married Emily E. Ingham, of the Ingham Univer- 
sity, at Le Roy, June 3, iS47. Being by nature an artist, his 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 660 

life was chiefly devoted to the use of his pencil, which has 
produced pictures scarcely surpassed in this country. Many 
years ago he visited Europe for the perfecting of his profes- 
sional skill. Impelled by a pure patriotism, he volunteered 
his services in the late war, and retired with the rank of 
Colonel. On the 1st of July, 1867, he sailed from New York 
with a party of scientific gentlemen under the auspices of 
"Williams College and the Smithsonian Institute, for the pur- 
pose of exploring parts of South America, and of gathering- 
treasures of science and art for the institutions they repre- 
sented. And on the 5th of September, he died at Quito, aged 
50 years. He was, at the time of his death, Yice Chancelor 
of the University, founded by the sisters, Marietta and Emily 
E. Ingham. The latter, who became the wife of Col. Stan- 
ton, survives him; the former died a month before his depart- 
ure for the South. He was distinguished for all the qualities 
which adorn the citizen and the Christian. 

Eliza Ann married Dr. Merrick Baker, of Wyoming. He 
removed to Warsaw in 1853, having several years previously 
relinquished practice. He subsequently removed to Attica, 
where he died Aug. 18, 1861. They had three children, of 
whom Ella only is living. 

Maky Jane married Rev. R. H. Dexter, Nov. 29, 1854. 
Their children are, Mary, William, and Lucy. 

Geokge, born July 31, 1825. 

Amelia married Julius A. Hayes; lias one child living, 
Emma A. 

MOSES STEARNS was born in Massachusetts in 1771. 
He removed in early life to Chesterfield, Vt., where he mar- 
ried Susan Clark. After a short residence in Hampton, 
N. Y., he removed to Warsaw in 1806, and settled in the 
south-east part of the town, where his son, George Stearns, 
now resides. He resided in this town until his death in 1859, 
at the age of 88 years. His wife died July 30, 1847, aged 76 
years. They had nine children: Willard, George, Hiram, 
two sons who died young, Melinda, Harriet, Matilda, and 
Betsey K. 

Willaed, born Dec. 3, 1799, married Caroline Glazier. 
Their children were: 1. Marquis La Fayette, who died at 
the age of 30, unmarried. 2. Mary Jane, who married Rus- 
sel Cornwall. 3. Augustus F., who married Olive Seeley, and 
served in the war. 4. William W., who married Augusta 
Blowers, and who also was in the Avar. [See War History.] 
5. Eugene B., who married Alta Clark. 



336 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

George, born May 31, 1802, married, Sept. 27, 1S27, Ase- 
nath Webster, of Hampton. They bad eigbt children: 1. Lucy 
Ann, who married John Aiken, and resides in Warsaw. 
2. Henry, who married Sylvia Ann Smith, of Castile, and 
and resides in Omro, Wis. 3. Cordelia, who married Chaun- 
cey Smith, of Castile, where they reside. They have three 
children. 4. Emily, who married Sylvester Hitchcock, and 
lives in Gainesville. 5. Betsey, who married Edward Mar- 
shall, in Omro, Wis. 6. George, d. inf. 7. Washington, who 
died April 16, 1864, aged 22. 8. Julia. 

Hiram was born March 19, 1810; married Marriett Mix, 
of Gainesville, who died Nov. 24, 1868. They had five chil- 
dren: 1. Juliett, who died at 3. 2. Edwin 0., who married 
liattie Burch, and has a daughter, Ada. 3. Byron L., who 
served in the war. [See War History.] 4. Willis II. 5. Car- 
oline. 

TRUMAN STEVENS was born in Canaan, Conn., July 
21, 1770. He married Lydia Johnson, who was born Aug. 
20, 1767. They removed to Warsaw from Avon, Livingston 
county, in 1818, and settled on West Hill, near the village, 
where Peter Young now resides. They had seven children : 

Almqn, who married Tammy B 7 ackmer. He was at the 
time in the mercantile business, in Warsaw, as agent for John 
Dixon, of Richmond, which business, as agent and principal, 
he conducted many years in this town. He died, Jan. 31, 
1836. He had four children : 1. Albert L., Mho married 
Lorett Campbell, and has been for many years a merchant in 
Lima. 2. Eliza, who married Daniel Dnsenbury, and died 
in Le Roy. 3. Harriet L., who married Wm. Galpin, and 
lives in Rushford. 4. Jane M.,the wife of Charles W. Bailey, 
who resides in Warsaw. 

Henry married Rebecca Lewis; was in trade with his 
brother Almon in this town in 1815 and 1816. He has since 
then been in the same business in Ripley, N. Y., Jonesville, 
Mich., and other places. He died several years since in Illi- 
nois. His children were, 1. Gustavus, who was a merchant in 
Rochester, and died several years since. 2. Ellen, who mar- 
ried a Mr. King, Lawyer, of Jonesville, since dead; married, 
second, Dr. A. S. Griswold, who resides in Pittsburg, Pa. 3. 
Lucy, who married Thomas W. Stockton. 4. Adelia, who 
married Mr. Thomas, w T ho died in Texas. 

Arva, unmarried, died in Warsaw. 

Lydia Adelia married Peter Young. [See Family of P. 
Young.] 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 337 

Sarah A. married John Wright, formerly of Lima. They 
reside in Rochester. Their children are, 1. Alfred, who mar- 
ried Maria Gould, of Rochester, who died leaving a sod, 
Alfred G. Mr. Wright married a second wife, Jennie Hunter, 
by whom he has a daughter. 2. John, who is married and 
lives in Leavenworth, Kansas. 3. Amelia N. 4. Frank. 

NYE STEVENS was born in Rochester, Mass., Jan. 14, 
1797, and came to Warsaw in 1815; married Mary Morris, 
and settled in the south-west part of the town, where he now 
resides. Mrs. Stevens died Feb. 15. 1862. They had three 
children : Chauncey Luther, William Nye, and Margaret. 

Chauncey L., born Nov. 5, 1823, married Betsey Cleveland, 
and has two children: 1. Ann Janett, who died April 24, 
1861, aged 14. 2. George Henry. 

William N., born March 17, 1825, married Margaret 
Seeley. 

Makyett, born March 30, 1820, married Henry W. Norton, 
They have a son, Charles Henry. 

HELON S. TABER was born in Scipio, Cayuga county, 
March 31, 1808, and when about ten years old, removed with 
his father to Perry. He married Cornelia Allen, of Middle- 
bury. He removed to Warsaw in 1839, having bought the 
farm then owned and occupied by Elisha Barnes, on West 
Hill. In 1851, he removed to the valley a mile south of the 
village, on w T hat is known as the Cutting farm, where he now 
resides. He had six children: Susan M., who died at 5; Lucy 
Ann, who married Wm. Luce, who removed to Linden, Mich.; 
Jennett A., who married Wm. Walker. Henry S., who mar- 
ried Ellen Webster, of Pavilion, and lives in Warsaw with 
his lather; Mary C, and Charles L. who died at 5. 

ZERA TANNER was born in Connecticut; removed to 
Granville, N. Y., where he married Jennett McWhorter. 
About the year 1705, he removed to Cooperstown, and in 
1800 to Warsaw T , and settled on West Hill, on the east part 
of lot 53, where he resided at the time of his death, Nov. 
1837, at the age of 67. He died suddenly, sitting at the 
supper table. His wife died January, 1838, aged 67. They 
were members of the Presbyterian church. They had eight 
children: 

Polly, who married Lewis Wood. They resided in Port- 
age, also at and near Olean, and last at Sharon, Potter Co., 
Pa. She died about the year 1S60; he died about the year 
1866. They had eight children. 

22 



338 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Cyrus, was born Dec 11, 1797, and married Ann Spencer, 
May 11, 1826. He died in May, 1S68, suddenly, as did his 
father, of a disease of the heart. He was, as is his wife, a 
member of the Presbyterian church. They had five children: 
1. Isabel, who married Elizur W. Norton. 2. Laura, d. inf. 
3. Cordelia, who married Hiram Rich, and had two children: 
Charles and William. 1. Edward, who married Charity 
Maranville; had two children: Isabel and Marian. 5. Mary 
A. married Artemas Benson. Children: Charles and Libbie. 

Rebecca married Warren Webster. [See Webster Family.] 

Ira, born Nov. 9, 1802, died 11 years of age. 

Eliza, born July 4, 1805, married Eli Rood. Their chil- 
dren were, 1. Zera, who married Rosetta Brown. Their chil- 
dren were, Elijah, Lora, Clara, Frank. 2. David P., who 
married Elizabeth Boddy, who died, leaving a son, Eli. He 
married, second, Nancy Truesdcll, by whom he has a daugh- 
ter, Mary. He was a soldier in the late war. [See War 
History.] He resides in Wethersfield. 3. Helen, who married 
Warren Morgan, and died about 1S53. Children : Charles, 
and Emma, d. inf. 

Clarissa, born October, 1S07, married Lemuel Smith, of 
Portage. Their children are, Sarah, Hiram, Jane, Emeline. 

Zera, born Aug. 9, 1810, married Ruth E. Foster, and died 
Nov. 27, 1836, leaving a son, Zera L. [See Sketch.] 

Emeline, born December, 1812, married Willis Pettibone, 
and died Jan. 20, 1S32. Mr. P. also died early. They had 
a daughter, Martha, who married Clark D. Munger. [See 
Family of Samuel Munger.] 

ZERA L. TAXXER, son of Zera Tanner, Jun., was born 
in Warsaw in 1S36. In the spring of 1S55, he went on busi- 
ness to England, where he remained about one year, when he 
was employed on a British merchant vessel, trading between 
Liverpool and Bombay, in which service he continued about 
two years. He then returned in an American vessel to New 
York, where he engaged in the American merchant service. 
The vessel in which he sailed, after her arrival at the English 
port to which she was destined, was chartered by the British 
to carry supplies to the English army in China, at the time 
of the war between those two countries. In this service he 
was engaged about two years. Next he was employed at 
Hong Kong, China, on board the King Fisher, in which he 
sailed across the Pacific, by way of California, to New York. 
He sailed on this vessel about one year. The war having 
commenced, he engaged on board an American merchant 
vessel employed by the government to carry supplies to the 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 339 

Union arm)", in which service he continued one year or less. 
lie then engaged in the blockade service a year or two, and 
assisted in the capture of the British blockade runner, Vixen, 
and took Command of her to JSTew York. Desiring to take a 
more direct and active part in suppressing the rebellion, he 
enlisted on board the war vessel, Rhode Island, and assisted 
in the capture of Fort Fisher. He remains in the navy, in 
the service of the government. 

WILLARD THAYER was born in Windham, Mass., 
March 3, 1784, and married Phebe Harris. They removed 
to Gainesville, (then Batavia,) in 1807, where they resided 
until they died, lie was several times elected Supervisor of 
his town, and three times Justice of the Peace. Only once, 
however, was lie induced to be sworn into office. It is re 
lated of him that ho was so averse to litigation, that he never 
tried a contested suit. This he avoided by bringing about a 
settlement, which lie sometimes effected by relinquishing his 
fees. Mr. Thayer had by his first wife three children: 

Isaac IT., who married Mary Parks, and removed to Can- 
ada, where he was a practicing physician, and died about the 
year 1860. He had several children. 

Linus "W. [See Sketch.] 

Mercy married Peter V. Lucas; settled in Castile, and had 
four children: Eliza, Phebe, Samuel, and Delia. 

Mrs. Thayer died March 19, 1817; and Mr. Thayer married 
a second wife, Rebecca Thomas, by whom he had seven chil- 
dren, of whom but two are living: 1. Stephen D., who married 
first, Catharine Spencer, and had by her a daughter, Caroline, 
who married Cass Kendall. He married, second, Lucretia 
Streeter, and resides in Wisconsin. 2. William F., who mar- 
ried Jane Brown. After her death, he married Mary 
Brownell, by whom he has three children living: Delia Belle, 
Clayton, Jennie. 

LINUS W. THAYER, son of Willard Thayer, was born 
in Gainesville, May 23, 1811. Until the age of seventeen, he 
worked on his father's farm summers, and attended the dis- 
trict school winters. From this time he taught winters and 
labored on the farm as before. Having commenced the study 
of the French language under the private instruction of the 
late Hon. John W. Brownson, ot Gainesville, and the Latin 
under a graduate of Geneva College; and having attended a 
select school at Lima, during the summer of 183JL, he entered 
the Seminary at that place in the spring of 1832, with the in- 
tention of preparing for college. From tins purpose he was 



340 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

diverted by the kindness of his father, who, unsolicited, con- 
veyed to him a part of his farm, subject, however, to a claim 
due at the land-office. To cancel this claim, he found it ne- 
cessary to work his small farm in the summer, and teach in 
the winter. Though he had now given up going to college, he 
adhered to the purpose of becoming a lawyer. Unable, as 
yet, to enter a law-office, he purchased Blackstone's Commen- 
taries and Cowen's Treatise, to the study of which he devoted 
his leisure time while farming and teaching. He taught his 
last school in Perry village, in the winter of 1836-7, spending 
his evenings in the office of I. N. Stoddard, Esq., who, in the 
spring, offered him a co-partnership. This had hardly gone 
into effect, when a more liberal offer was made him by Levi 
Gibbs, Esq., who had just commenced practice in Perry. Mr. 
Thayer had not at this time been regularly in a law-office 
three months, nor been admitted to practice in any court. 
With a view to his settlement where the new county seat 
should be located, he dissolved his connection with Mr. Gibbs, 
and formed a partnership with James P. Doolittle, Esq., at 
present senator in Congress from Wisconsin; and both came 
to this village in 1841. This partnership continued about four 
years. He has for more than twenty-seven years enjoyed a 
successful practice in this place; and, without the advantage 
of a liberal education, but with the more important aid of a 
discriminating mind and a sound judgment, he has attained 
a prominent position among the members of the bar in AVest- 
ern New York. In 1866 or 1867, he took into partnership his 
son, Linus L. Thayer, with whom he is still associated. 

Linus \V. Thayer married, Oct. 28, 1810, Caroline M. Lock- 
wood, who was born Jan. 12, 1823. They had seven children: 
Linus Lockwood, who married Emma A. Hurlburt; Luclla, 
who died at 16; Clara, -\vho died at 6; Carrie A.; Gertrude, 
died at 3; Lillie d. inf.; and Florence Louisa. 

DANIEL II. TIIROOP was born in Franklin, Conn., Oct. 
14, 1791; went to Granville, N. Y., in 1811, and thence to 
Warsaw. He married Mary Curtis, Sept. 21, 1815, and set- 
tled on East Hill, where he lived, on different farms, until he 
removed to the village. lie had six children: 

Gardner E., who married Alta Marchant. Their children 
are: Nellie, J. G. Whittier, Minnie, and Charles. 

Simeon S. married Adelia Jackson; lives in Illinois. 

Miry married Allen J. Reddish, who died March 21, 1864, 
aged 48. They had a daughter, Millie, who died at 15. 

Betsey married John M. Fargo, and resides in Iowa. They 
have a son, Frank. 




'■',.,■ . 




FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 341 

Henry E. married Ellon Johnson, and removed to Ne- 
braska. 

Nancy 13. married Edmund B. Noble. They reside in 
Albany, Wis., and have two children living, Henry and Flora. 

JOHN TRUESDELL was born Sept, 8, 1784; married 
Betsey Webster, Jan. 16, 1806, and removed the same year 
from Hampton to Warsaw, and settled in the south part of 
the town, where their 'son, Philander Truesdell, now resides. 
Mr. Truesdell was an upright man and a good citizen. He 
enjoyed the confidence of his lellow-citizens, and was fre- 
quently elected to town offices. He was an early member of 
the Baptist church. He had thirteen children, of whom three 
died young. 

Paulina married John F. Clark. [See Sketch.] 

Philander. [See Sketch.] 

Lucinda married Alonzo Choate. [See A. Choate.] 

Calista married Thomas W. Blowers. They had two chil- 
dren: 1. Galusha W., who served in the war, was taken sick, 
returned home, and died, Aug. 2, 1362, aged 22. [See War 
History.] 2. Paulina, who died Nov. 22, 1865, aged 24. 

Melvina married Cyrus D. Blowers, who died in 1866. 
They had seven children: 1. Augusta. 2. Ellen, who mar- 
ried Edwin Curtis. 3. Josephine, who married Albert Luther. 
4. Lucia, who married William W. Allen. 5. Sally, who mar- 
ried John Relyea, Jun. 6. Frank. 7- Elmer. 

Betsey married Elijah Chamberlain. [See E. Chamber- 
lain.] 

Elon Galusha married Lucy Popple. Their children are: 
Marian, John Wallace, and Frank Earl. 

Sally married Alonzo Cleveland, and died childless. 

Eleanor married Gurdon G. Clark, and removed to Mich- 
igan. 

Isabel married Mortimer M. Clark, and had two children. 
He died, and she married Stephen McCulloch, by whom she 
has two children. 

PHILANDER TRUESDELL, son of John Truesdell, was 
born in Warsaw, April 15, 1815, and lives on the homestead 
of his father, in the south part of the town. He has been six 
times elected to the office of Justice of the Peace, which office 
he still holds. In addition to his farming business, he was for 
many years engaged in the manufacture of matches. He 
married Eliza Lincoln, of this town, by whom he had four 
children: 1. Edwin G., who married Mary Atwell and has 
two children, Charles and Fanny. 2. Emma A. 3. Edith 
Frances, d. inf. 4. Ida Maud, who died at 7. 



312 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

EZRA WALKER was born in Becket, Berkshire, Co., 
Mass., Feb. 6, 1773. lie married Prudence Allen, and 
removed from Granville to Warsaw, in 1807, and settled on 
West Hill. They were two of the ten persons composing the 
Presbyterian church at the time of its formation. He was' 
early chosen a Deacon. He removed about the year 1818 to 
Leicester, and after his return to Warsaw, about the year 
1834, he was elected an elder, which office he held until he 
united with the present Congregational church. He lived to 
see all his children professors of religion. He died at the 
residence of his son-in-law, Stephen D. Alverson, in Michi- 
gan. Mrs. Walker died in Warsaw, April 11, 1837. They 
had ten children: 

Zebuixxn C. was born in 1703; died in Pittsburg, Pa., in 
1819. 

Parmalee A. removed to Baton Rouge, Louisiana; was one 
of the first to organize the first Presbyterian church in that 
city, of which he has been an elder over forty years. He 
was also several years Mayor of the city. He married there 
Mrs. Sarah Gardner, who died in 1801"). 

Truman W. removed to Evansville, Ind., and died in 1818, 
unmarried. 

Elam II., was educated for the ministry; was a missionary 
to the Choctaws in East Tennessee; preached successively at 
Brooksgrove and Fowlerville, X. Y., and was finally settled 
at Dansville, where lie died of a tumor on his throat. His 
wife was Alice P. Bacon, sister of Rev. Dr. Leonard Bacon, 
of New Haven, Conn. 

Palmyra married Thomas II. Jeffers, of Perry, where she 
died in 1852. They had nine children: Christopher, Betsey, 
John II., Delia, Ann, Elam, Ezra, Eugene, and Frances, all 
living but one. Elam, ;i Methodist minister, died at or near 
jSTewstead, Erie Co. John II. is a practicing Lawyer in 
Rochester. Ezra is a merchant in Geneseo, 111. 

Eliza married Stephen D. Alverson, of Perry. About the 
year 1850, they removed to Meridian, Mich. Their children 
were, Henry, (dead,) Lovina, Minerva, Thomas, (dead,) and 
Gary. 

Ebenezer married Frances D. Blanchard, was many years 
a merchant in Geneseo and Rochester, and afterwards at 
Okemos, Mich., where he now resides. He has two children: 
1. Henry W., who married Jennie B. Adams, and lives in 
Lansing, Mich. 2. George X., who was married and had two 
children, and is a merchant in Okemos. His wife died in 
1867. 




#^ 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 343 

Lovena P. married Stephen D. Alverson, of Perry, after- 
wards the husband of her sister Eliza, as above stated. They 
had two children, Elizabeth, (dead,) and Edward. 

Minerva married Pev. Merritt Harmon; removed to Mich- 
igan; thence to Iowa. They have a son and two daughters. 

Ann Irene married Josiah Hurty, a teacher in Western 
Xew York. They have since resided in Ohio and Kentucky, 
and now reside in Paris, 111. They have two sons and two 
daughters. 

WARHAM WALKER was born in Massachusetts, Jan. 
21, 1769. He married Freelove Hatch; removed to this town 
in 1810, and settled on West Hill. Mr. Walker died April 
6, 1840; his wife Sept. 7, 1857. They had nine children. 

Levi, who married Laura Capen. Their children were, 1. 
Royal C, who married in Pike, and resides there. 2. Edson, 
who married Miss Metcalf, of Pike, where they reside. 3. 
Henriett, dead. 4. Arvilla, dead. [6. Sybil. 7. Jane, who is 
married, and lives in Pike. 8. Newbury. 9. Ezra, who mar- 
ried Miss Raymond, resides in Gainesville. 

Orley married Betsey Jaquish, and removed to Cattarau- 
gus Co., and had four children: Franklin, dead; Lucien, dead; 
Freelove, and Francis. 

Hiram F. married Almira Munger, and had seven children: 
1. Elzever, who married Ann J. Packard, and lives in Wells- 
ville, X. Y. 2. Cornelia. 3. Samuel, who married Esther 
Seely, lives in Ivilbourn City, Wis. 4. Luzerne, who married 
Christiana Macomber, in Ivilbourn City. 5. Parmaly, who 
married Harriet Hoisington, and resides in Kilbourn City. 
6. Fayette. 7. William, who died at 11. Mrs. Walker died 
in 1867. 

Piiidelia married Alva Sherman, of Cohocton, who is 
dead. 

Polly married Timothy Whiting; [See Whiting Family.] 

Olive, born Dec. 25, 1808; died March 7, 1842.' 

Salem H., born July 28, 1812; lives in Michigan. 

Patience Aemexa, married Mr. McKean, who died in 
Brady, Mich. 

WILLIAM WALKER was burn at St, Albans, Vermont, 
March 13, 1793. He came, when a young man, to Pavilion, 
(South Le Roy.) After four years he removed to Middlebury, 
near Wright's Corners, where he worked at his trade, (saddle 
and harness making,) three years; and then, 1823, came to 
this place, where he still resides. He married Abigail En- 
sign, of Middlebury. He continued his business here for 



344 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

many years, until, by industry and prudence, lie Lad acquired 
a competence, upon which he retired. Ilis wife died March 
8, 1854. She was at the time of her death a member of the 
Methodist church. They had seven children: 

Lewis E. [See Sketch.] 

Mary A. is a graduate of Mt. Holyoke Seminary, and has 
taught in the Seminaries at Rockford and Petersburg, 111. 
She married Wm. M. Cogswell, teacher, of Petersburg, who 
has since died. 

Charles B. w*ent to California, and settled in Washington 
Territory, and was shot by the Indians in 1855, while em- 
ployed as one of an exploring party in search for gold. He 
died at the age of 24. 

Adelia C. is a graduate of Mt. Holyoke Seminary, and 
taught in that institution; in Detroit, Mich., and in Oxford 
and Rockford, 111. 

Albert married M. M. Silsby, of Rockford, 111., and is a 
Hardware merchant in Petersburg, 111. He has two children 
living, Flora, and Henry. 

George W. is a graduate of Oberlin College. He married 
Emily E. Gilman, and is pastor of the Congregational church 
in Wauseon, O. He has a son, Lewis Calvin. 

William H. married Jennette A. Tabor. He was in the 
war, [See War History,] and is at present a Druggist in West- 
field. He has a son, Charles Taber. 

LEWIS E. WALKER was born in Warsaw, July, 1826. 
He received his education in this village, and commenced 
teaching in this town. He afterwards taught four years in 
Vermont, and four years in Ohio. He married in Ohio, 
Susan A. Brown, also a teacher, and for a time his assistant. 
He returned to Warsaw, and in July, 1804, commenced the 
Book trade, having bought the stock of Nehemiah Park; in 
which business he still continues. He is a member of the 
Congregational church. lie has had four children: William 
A., John F., and Henry L. d. inf., and Fanny E. 

HEZEKIAII WAKEFIELD was born Feb., 1774, and 
came to this town in 1S05 or 1806, and settled on West Hill, 
where Tillotson Gay now resides. lie married in 180S, 
Patience McWhorter, a daughter of John McWhorter, and 
sister of Samuel McWhorter, Esq. Mr. Wakefield and his 
wife, early became members of the Presbyterian church; and 
his house was for many years a stated place for religious 
meetings in that part of the town. He died Oct. 31, 1830, in 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 315 

his 57th year. Mrs. Wakefield died Oct. 31, 1861, in her 
88th year. They had five children: 

Lydia B. married Benjamin Bishop. [See Sketch.] 

Lophelia married Willis Pettibone, who died leaving two 
children: 1. Martha, who married Clark D. Mimger, who died 
in Kilbonrn City, Wis. 2. Hezekiah W., who married Delia 
Ellis and lives in Attica. Mrs. Pettibone married for her 
second husband, Tillotson Gay, by whom she had five chil- 
dren : Helen, Edwin T., Flora, who died at 4 or 5, Walker, 
and Charles. They reside on the homestead of her lather. 

Lucretia E., married Alanson Holly. [See A. Holly.] 

Laura and John died in infancy. 

LINUS WARNER was born in New Canaan, Columbia 
county, in 178-1, and removed, when young, to Lima, where 
he married Hopey Thayer. In 1806, he removed from Lima 
to this town, and settled in the south-east part of the town, 
where he resided until his death, Feb. 26, 1816. Mrs. War- 
ner died Sept. 5, 1816. They had eight children, of whom 
three died infants. 

Willard T. was born May 24, 1808; married Roxana 
Dixon, and had four children: Harriet, and three who died 
infants. Mr. Warner lives on a part of the farm on which 
his father settled in 1806, and on which himself was born. 
He is a member of the Free-Will Baptist church, and a lib- 
eral contributor to its support; and is a decided friend of 
temperance and other reformatory and benevolent associa- 
tions. 

Matthew married Sally Flnker, and had two children: 
Esther, and another, infant. 

Linus married Maria Fluker, and owns and occupies the 
homestead of his father. He has three children: 1. Marion, 
who married Sarah Nash, of Perry. 2. Bomaine. 3. Wil- 
lard. 

Emily married William Seymour, of Castile, who is dead. 
They had a daughter, Harriet. 

Harriet married Job M. Belyea. [See Sketch.] 

JABISII WARREN was born in Windham, Conn., March 
29, 1775. He removed to No. 10, now Middlebury, just north 
of the present line of Warsaw, where he purchased a farm 
on which he resided until his death, July 11, 1819. He mar- 
ried Rosamer Owen, who died Aug. 16, 1851. They had 
eight children: 

Alvixa married Wm. Havens, and resides in California. 
They have eleven children. 



346 HISTOEY OF WARSAW. 

Paulina married Horace Watkins. They reside in Illinois, 
and have six children: Almeron, Blighton, Arthur, Eliza, Car- 
oline, and Annis. 

Eliza married Job Hill, Jan. 24, 1828. They reside in War- 
saw, and have three children: 1. John "W., who married 
Harriet Blair, and after her death, Mary Curtis, and resides 
in Warsaw. 2. Lucius JL, who married Clara Hibbard, and 
resides in Warsaw. 3. Henrietta, who married Hezekiah 
Fargo, and lives in Perry. 

Eosamee married S. S. Poppino. They reside in William- 
son, Wayne Co., and have two children: 1. Belle, who mar- 
ried George Nichols, ot New York city. 2. Franc, who 
married Bev. S. S. Bemer, who was a chaplain in the army, 
and died in the service. 

Polly married Gad Case. Both are dead. 

Jabish, born May 4, 1816, married Mary B. Lathrop, of 
Bethany, Dec. 25, 18-40. He has been a farmer and an ex- 
tensive produce dealer in Genesee and Wyoming counties. 
He was in the regular army one year. In 1862, he was ap- 
pointed Colonel of the 61st National Guards. He resides in 
Warsaw; has one daughter, Pose E., who was born June 12,. 
1846, and married, Dec. 18, 1868, George C. Otis, and resides 
in Middlebury. 

Yolney O., born Jan. 26, 1818; married Elizabeth Curtis, 
of Wayne Co., Feb. 2, 1842, and resides in Warsaw. They 
have a daughter, Martha E., who married E. C. Upton, of 
Spencerport, Monroe Co. 

Darwin C. married Mary Scovel, June 5, 1841. He died 
June 20, 1850. They had two children, Stimson and Yolney 
O., both living. 

LEONARD WATSON was born 1 804, in York, England, 
where he married Mary Brough. He came to Warsaw in 
1830, and purchased a farm on East Hill. He settled on his 
farm, where he resided until he removed to the village. Mr» 
Watson, when he bought his farm, offered in payment or part 
payment several sovereigns, which the seller, not knowing their 
value, refused. He then tried in the village to get them ex- 
changed for current money; and failing in this, he was com- 
pelled to make a journey to Canandaigua, where he had no 
difficulty in making the desired change. [Who doubts that 
a similar exchange might be made in Warsaw now, at par?] 
Mr. AY. has a daughter, 

Mary, who married Thomas Agar, who resides in the vil- 
lage, and is in the marble business. They have a son, Leon- 
ard W. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AXD XOTES. 



347 



ELIZUR WEBSTER was born in Connecticut, Aug. 24, 
1767. He went, when a youth, to Hampton, K Y., where he 
was married to Elizabeth Warren, who was born May 15, 
1774, and where he resided most of the time until he came 
to this town in 1803, and commenced its settlement, of which 
an account has been given. [See pp. 25-27.] In 1808, at 
the first town meeting for the election of town officers, he was 
chosen Supervisor, which office he held by successive elections 
for seven years. lie also held for many years the office of 
Justice of the Peace, to which he was several times appointed 
by the Council of Appointment, [See Council of Appoint- 
ment, elsewhere described.] He was averse to litigation, and 
discouraged it in others. He often incurred displeasure by 
refusing to issue precepts when the applicants were under the 
influence of passion or a spirit of retaliation. In 1S13, he 
was appointed one of the Associate Judges of the County 
Court, In 1816 and 1817, he was a representative of the 
county of Genesee in the Assembly; and in 1821, a member 
of the Constitutional Convention. His labors in that Con- 
vention terminated his public career. He was in an unusual 
degree exempt from political aspirations. He enjoyed him- 
self best in private life, which afforded him opportunity for 
gunning and hunting, a favorite employment. Few men have 
discharged important public trusts with so limited an educa- 
tion. His school learning, if the writer's memory is not at 
fault, was acquired in only one or two terms' attendance at a 
common school. His common sense and discriminating judg- 
ment more than supplied the meagerness of his literary 
acquirements. He has been heard to say that, when acting 
as a Justice, he paid little attention to the " pettifoggers," and 
seldom looked into a law-book; but law being said to be 
founded on reason and the principles of justice, he had made 
these the guide of his decisions, not one of which had ever 
been reversed. He possessed an independent mind, being 
generally guided by his own judgment in forming his opin- 
ions. Although he acquired a good property, he never 
seemed in haste to be rich. He made no ventures in hazard- 
ous enterprises or speculations. In 1836, he sold his real 
estate in Warsaw, consisting of 640 acres of land, to F. C. D. 
McKay, Esq., and about 500 acres in a single body within 
the [owns of Orangeville and Wetherslield, near Wethersfield 
Springs, to David" McAVethy. In the winter of 1837, he 
removed to Ripley, Chautauqua Co., where he resided until 
his death, which occurred in March, 1854, in the 87th year of 
his age. His wife died Dec, 1848. Judge Webster had 
twelve children, eight sons and four daughters, all of whom 
were living at the time of his removal from Warsaw. 



348 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Arvin was born Nov. 28, 1702, and married Sylvia Nichols, 
by whom he had several children. In or about the year 1818, 
lie removed to Illinois, where, after the death of his wife, a 
second marriage, and the birth of a number of children, he 
died. 

Warren was born Nov. 11, 1795, and married, Dec. 29, 
1819, Eebecca Tanner, who Mas born Oct. 31, 1800, and re- 
moved to Orangeville, near Wethersfield Springs, on the farm 
on which David McWethy recently resided. In 1833 or 1831, 
he removed to Franklin, Erie Co., Pa., where he resided five 
or six years, and removed to Ripley, and after a few years' 
residence there, to Gowancla, where he died Jan. 27, 1864. 
He was buried in Ripley, where his widow and only surviv- 
ing daughter reside. He held in Orangeville, several years, 
the office of justice, and was, both in Ripley and Gowanda, 
an elder in the Presbyterian church. His children were: 
1. Walter, who for many years carried on the leather and 
shoe manufacturing business in Gowanda, and in 1862 re- 
moved to Illinois, where he now resides. lie married in 
Gowanda Mary Johnson, and has had five children: Charles, 
d. inf., Mary L., Helen R., died at 5, Carlton W., died at 2, 
and Walter. 2. H. Jennette, who married Dwight Dickson, 
in Ripley, and had four children: Walter EL, Warren W., 
Ada J., d. inf., and Carlton A. Mrs. Dickson died July 30, 
I860, aged 31. 3. Martha A., died at 5. 4. William P.,' who 
married in Gowanda, Lucy F. Perry, and died March 21, 
1864, aged 30, having a son, yet living. 5. Martha, who mar- 
ried A. Milton Miniger, of Riplev, where they now reside. 
6. Albert S., d. inf. " 7. Albert H., who died at 10. Mrs. 
Rebecca Webster lives with her daughter and son-in-law in 
Ripley. 

Chipman, born Dec. 26, 1797, went to Illinois when a young 
man, where he married twice, and had a numerous family, 
and where he now resides. 

Lucinda, born May 26, 1800, married Elijah Norton, in 
Warsaw, where they reside. She is the only one of her fa- 
ther's family remaining in this town. [See Family of Elijah 
Norton.] 

Clorinda, born May 3, 1802, married Orson Hough. [See 
Family of Samuel Hough.] 

Eliza, born June 9, 1801, married Andrew W. Young. [See 
Family of A. W. Young.] 

Lemuel was born March 6, 1806, and went to Gowanda, 
where, for several years, he carried on the tanning and curry- 
ing business, and where he was married to Miss Hall, and 
after her death, to her sister, Lois Hall. They removed to 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 349 

Perrysburg, and thence to the town of Westfield, where he 
lived several years. In 1855, he removed to Walworth Co., 
Wis. He had nine children : Franklin, Lois, Francis, Harri- 
son, Mary, Sarah, George, Jane, Eva. Lois married Levi 
Hall, of Portland. The others went to Wisconsin, where the 
three sons died within two years, and his wife soon after. Lie 
married a third wife, and lived but a short time. Mary lives 
with a second husband. 

Horace was born Jan. 3, 1808, married Mehitable John- 
son, and removed to Erie Co., Pa., where he resided many 
years, and where his wife died. Since his second marriage, 
he resided several years in the town of Westfield. Two of the 
sons of the former wife, Wesley and Clark, served in the late 
war, the elder of whom, Wesley, died in the army of sickness, 
leaving a wife and child. Besides these two sons, he had four 
or five daughters by his first wife. By the second he had sev- 
eral daughters and a son. He removed with his family, in 
1867, to Kentucky; his son, Clark, married, having preceded 
him one or two years. 

Elizur was born Nov. 19, 1S09. He went to Ripley in 
1837, where he married Frances Averill, by whom he had 
eleven children : Caroline, Walter, d. inf., Ellen, Ann, Jack- 
son Averill, Henry Douglas, Clarence Vernon, Lydia, Jo- 
sephine, Blanch and Bell, twins. His wife died Sept. 21, 
1S62. He resides in Ripley. 

Gideon was born April 27, 1812. He commenced the shoe 
and leather manufacture in Gowanda, and continued it many 
years, and engaged in mercantile business, which he contin- 
ued a number of years, having in this time lost his store and 
goods by tire. After continuing business a short time longer, 
he settled on his farm near the village, w r here he now resides. 
He married in Gowanda, Maria Spencer, daughter of Judge 
Spencer, and had by her two children: Marcus B., who was 
killed on a railroad near Chicago; and Spencer, d. inf. Mrs. 
Webster died, and Mr. Webster married Abigail Grannis, by 
whom he had four children: 1. Peyton R. 2. Elizur S., who 
died Feb. 1, 1863, aged 14 years. 3. Nellie M. 4. Belle E. 

William H. Harrison was born Dec. 11, 1813, and mar- 
ried Mary Dickson, of Ripley. They had four daughters: 
1. Clarissa, who married Wm. A. Coombs, now a merchant 
in Coldwater, Mich. 2. Adalaide. 3. Aristeen. 4. Anna, 
who died at the age of 11 years. The family removed to 
Coldwater from Ripley, in 1867. 

Harriet Jennett was born Oct. 22, 1815, and married 
John Small wood, formerly of this town. [See Family of Win. 
Smallwood.] 



350 HISTORY OF WAKSAW 

WILLIAM WEBSTER was bora May 4, 1T87; and in 
1803, at the age of 16, he came to this town with his brother, 
Elizur, and lived in his family several years, and settled on 
the farm where he now resides. He has had a longer resi- 
dence in this town than any other person, except, perhaps, 
Amos Keeney, who came in with him, but did not bring in 
his family until the next year. Mr. Webster also was absent 
a year. He married Lydia Day, who died childless. He 
married Charlotte Phelps, daughter of Isaac Phelps, April 
30, 1812, who was bora April 28, 1T8S. Both of them have 
from an early date been members of the Presbyterian church. 
They had eleven children: 

Lydia D., who married Joseph Pike. They had rive chil- 
dren: A daughter, d. inf., Mary A., Walter Webster, Julia 
Armina, and William W. Mrs. Pike died Aug. 25, 1855, 
aged 42. Mr. Pike married Elsie Van Liew, by whom he 
has no children. 

Charlotte P., who married Jeremiah Ensign. He carried 
on for many years the blacksmithing and wagon-making busi- 
ness in South Warsaw, and removed to Hudson, Wis. He 
now resides a few miles distant, on his farm. His children 
are: William S., Elizabeth. Ellen, Delight, Frederic D., Cla}'- 
ton, Charles, Eliza Jane, Myrta. 

Susan married Titus L. Hitchcock. They reside in Coving- 
ton. 

William married Calista Keeney. Their children are: Jay, 
Martha, Flora, Eugene Day. They reside in Gainesville. 

Emily X. married Peter P. Warren. Their children are: 
Melissa, Celestia, Frank Johnson. 

Julia married James G. Hovev, removed to Indiana, and 
died March 8, 1850. 

Rollin P. married Laura Baker. They had six children: 
Erline, Alice, Ada, Elmer, Charles, d. inf., and Mertou. 

Henry W. died at 5. Delight d. inf. 

Phelps Mills married Jane Seeley, and has three children, 
Milton, Julia, Effie. 

Henry D. married Angeline Avery. Their children are, 
Wilson and Henry Pomaine. 

WILLIAM WIIITIKG, Sex., was born in Hartford, Conn.; 
in 171S or '49, and married Abigail Flower, of the same place. 
They removed, with several children, to Granville, ]ST. Y.; 
thence to Hampton, and from there to Warsaw about the 
year 1820. Mr. Whiting was a soldier of the Revolution, a 
good citizen, and a member of the Baptist church. His wife 
died Aug. 25, 1832, aged 73 years. After her death he was 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 351 

married three times. His second wife was Mrs. Lucinda 
Whiting, a brother's widow, who died Sept. 10, 1838, aged 
07; Ins third, Mrs. Phebe Rich, widow of Peter Rich; his 
fourth, the widow of Lyman Noble, who also is dead. He 
died March 22, 1840, aged 00 years. He had eight children, 
all by his first wife, viz.: 

Lucy married Channcey Sheldon. [See his Sketch.] 

Catharine married Silas C. Fargo. [See his Sketch.] 

William was born Sept. 17, 178S, and married Elsie Scrib- 
ner, in Hampton, in 1812. He removed to Warsaw about 
the year 1823 or 1821. He removed a few years after to 
Napoleon, Michigan, where his wife died in 1863. They had 
nine children : William, Price, Lizana, Bethana, Ruana, 
Channcey, Alexander, Philander, Christalana. Mr. Whiting 
returned from Michigan, about two years since, and settled 
in Castile. 

Abigail married David M. Truair, in Granville, and 
removed to Oswego, and thence to Warsaw, where they died. 
Their children were, Carrie P., Cordelia D., died at 21, Ame- 
rica 1ST., who served in the war, [See War History;] David 
IL, died at 40; Cortez F., died at 34; and Ara W.; and four 
who died in infancy. 

Nathan married Rhoda Towle, near Syracuse, and 
removed to Warsaw, thence back to Onondaga or Oswego 
county. They had eight children : Malkin, Loren, Ahnerin, 
Ellen, Lucy, Nathan, Abigail, Mary. 

At the time of the insurrection in Canada, called the 
"Patriot War," in 1837, Mr. Whiting, with many other citi- 
zens of the United States, joined the patriots in Canada; was 
taken prisoner near Prescott, taken to London, tried and con- 
victed, and banished to "Van Dieman's land. After a resi- 
dence there of seven years, he escaped in an American vessel 
and returned. He was brother-in-law to Channcey Sheldon, 
who shared a similar fate. [See Chauncey Sheldon.] 

Sopheona married Eliphalet Petty, in Hampton. They 
have resided in Warsaw and Buffalo. 

Demmon married Amanda Warren. Their children were, 
Abby, who married Mr. Mo]-se, and resides at Batavia; Irene 
A., Silas, Mary J., Frank D. Mr. Whiting died Jan. 10, 
1857; Irene A. and Mary J., in February, and Frank D. in 
November — all in the same year. Only Mrs. Whiting and 
Abby are living. 

Timothy married Polly Walker, of Warsaw. They re- 
moved many years since to Michigan. Their children were 
Russel, died at 30; Adna, d. inf.; Samuel, died at 20; Tru- 
man, D wight, Yiola, Salem, died at 24; Zeno, Isabel, Arthusa 



352 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 

and George. Mr. Whiting died, Nov. 2, 1865, at Brady, 
Kalamazoo Co., Mich., aged 61 years. 

JULIUS WHITLOCK was born in Warren, Litchfield Co., 
Conn., Feb. 20, 1785. At the age of 14, he removed with 
his father to Granville, X. Y.; thence, in the spring of 1810, 
to Warsaw. He served in the war of 1812, in a company of 
Cavalry, under Capt. (afterwards Judge,) Isaac Wilson, of 
Middlebury. He married Thankful Lewis, Sept. 19, 1816, 
who was born, Jan. 12, 1795. They lived during the remain- 
der of their lives on the farm on which they first settled, about 
two miles north of the village. He was a member the Pres- 
byterian church; she was an Episcopalian. They had three 
children : Emily L., Harry W., and Mary. 

Emily L. was born July 11, 1817; married Amnion Wilson, 
and died Feb. 11, 1813. " 

Harry W. was born "Nov. 29,1818, and is unmarried. He 
resides on the homestead of his father. 

Mary was born Ang. 29, 1836, and married George W. 
Hamlin, Oct. 16, 1866. 

SAMUEL WHITLOCK was born in Warren, Conn., Sept. 
2, 1787. He removed to Granville, at the age of 12, and 
thence, with his brother Julius to Warsaw, in April, 1810. 
He married, Feb. 10, 1813, Polly Blowers, of Bethany. They 
still reside where they first settled, two miles north of the 
village. He united with the Presbyterian church in 1817, 
and was for many years a ruling elder. He had seven chil- 
dren : 

Polly, born Feb. IS, 1813, died in infancy. 

Maria, born March 8, 1816, married Oliver C. Chapman. 
Their children are, Polly, Chloe, Emily, Caroline, Laura, 
Frank, Benjamin, and Willie. 

Ann Eliza, born Dec. 28, 1818, died Nov. 11, 1853. 

Trumbull, born July 3, 1821, d. inf. 

Samuel Norris was born Feb. 28, 1821. He married Emily 
L. Benedict, of Perry. He is a Grocery and Crockery mer- 
chant in Warsaw, and a member of the Methodist church. 
They have had three children : Samuel Benedict, Charles E. 
who died at six, and George X. 

Lydia, bom July 11, 1827, died at the age of 29. 

Loman, born Oct. 30, 1829, married Lucinda Otis. He is 
a farmer, and resides on the East Hill. 




<£?%W^ 





^u^-^ 



FAMTLY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 353 

JOHN WILDER was born in New Hampshire, Feb. 11, 
17S7. He married Sally Andrews, Jan. 1, 1808. In 1800, 
before his marriage, he came to Attica, and, being a mill- 
wright, worked for several years at building mills in Attica 
and the adjacent towns and counties. From 1807, he had an 
interest with his brother Joseph, in the grist-mills in Attica 
until 1818, when they sold out to Parmenio Adams and John 
Peabody. In 1822, he removed from Batavia to this village, 
having become part proprietor of the grist-mill, in which he 
had an interest until within a few years previous to his death. 
He was several times elected to the office of Supervisor, and 
other town offices, and twice to the office of Sheriff of Gene- 
see county, before the formation of Wyoming. He died July 
5, 1819, by the running away of his horse with a carriage. 
He had seven children: 

Aretas A., who married Juliet D. Strong, and after several 
years removed to Detroit, where he now resides. He had 
three children: Edwin A., Sarah M., and Eleanor D. All arc 
married, and reside in Detroit. 

Lucy married Joshua Q. Leonard. They resided many 
years in this county, and removed to Michigan, where she 
died, Sept. 22, 1864. They had a son, James W., who is 
living. 

Eliza A. married Robert Paddock, of Middlebury, Avhere 
she died, June 11, 1837, aged 21. She left a daughter, Eliza 
A., who lives in Nebraska. 

P. Ripley died in Warsaw, May 12, 1837, aged 22. 

John married Elizabeth Robinson, and lives in Detroit, 
Michigan. He has a son, John Ripley. 

Helen married Samuel S. Blanchard, who was born at 
Saratoga Springs, Aug. 13, 1S1G. He was for many years 
before and at the time of his death, publisher of the Western 
New Yorker, in this village. lie died Sept. 5, 1850 Mrs. 
Blanchard married for her second husband, H. P. Stevens, 
who has since resided in Rochester and Cleveland, and now 
resides at Elmira. 

Sarah died June 23, 1831, aged 7 years. 

Rev. EDWIN E.WILLIAMS was born in Clinton, Oneida 
Co., N. Y., April 8, 1817. He graduated at Hamilton Col- 
lege. He was for several years a teacher in Springville 
Academy, Erie Co., and for a time at Mineral Point, Wis. 
He was licensed as a preacher by the Mineral Point Presby- 
terian and Congregational Convention in 1848, and ordained 
at Clinton by the Oneida Association in 1851. He was pas- 
tor of the Presbyterian church at Waterville, Oneida Co., 

23 



354 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

from 1850 to 1S57, when lie was called to the pastorate ot 
the Congregational church in this village, to which he con- 
tinues to minister with acceptance and success. He married 
at Springville, April 4, 1841, Eunice L. Ingalls, who was born 
Oct. 6, 1823. They have rive children, as follows: Florence 
N., a teacher of music at Houghton, Mich. Charles A., who 
resides in Buffalo; Mary S., at present a teacher of freedmen 
in Wilmington, S. C; Clinton, and Alice Lane. 

JOHN WINDSOR was born Feb. 2, 1804. He married 
Lucetta Green, and removed from Pike to this town in Oct., 
1830, and established the Tin and Sheet Iron and Hardware 
business, which he continued until 1842. In] 844, he re- 
moved to his farm on West Hill, where he died, June 18, 
1846. He was also one of the firm of Gardner, Utter & Co., 
in the Woolen manufacture. [See Woolen Factories.] Mr. 
Windsor and his wife, soon after they came to this town, 
united with the Baptist church, of which he was a member at 
the time of his death. They had six children: 

J. Russel, who died in his seventh year. 

A. Judson, who married Mary Lary, and had two children. 
He died of wounds received in the battle of Pea Ridge. 

William Green married Sarah Jane Thorp, of Warsaw. 

John, Norton, and Samuel are unmarried. 

AKDEN WOODRUFF came to Warsaw in 1818, at the 

age of 24. For several years he worked summers at shoe- 
making, and taught school winters in this town and in other 
places. In the spring of 1823 he was married, and soon after 
settled at Wethersfleld Springs, and commenced the Tanning 
business, which, with the exception of a few short intervals, 
he continued until 1830. In 1832, he bought the farm of 
Aaron C. Lyon, on the West Hill, and settled on it in 1S33. 
In 1838, he sold one-half of his interest in his farm to his 
brother-in law, Newbury Bronson, and they carried on the 
dairy business until April, 1840, when he sold his remaining 
interest to his partner, and purchased a farm near Strykers- 
ville, on which he lived until 1865, when his age and physical 
•condition indicated the necessity of retirement from active 
employment. He sold his farm, and in 1S67 selected a home 
in West Bloomfield. He was a zealous friend of education 
and the various social reforms. He held at different times 
and places the several town offices of School Inspector, Super- 
visor, and Justice of the Peace; and in 1846 and 1847 he 
was a Member of Assembly from the county of Wyoming. 
He has been for nearly forty years a member of Congrega- 




^rzlm^MhHiu^, 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 355 

tional churches in Connecticut and this state, and for several 
years a member of the Presbyterian church in Warsaw, in 
which he was an elder and clerk of the session. And for 
more than forty years he has been teacher or superintendent 
of Sabbath-schools and Bible classes. He was born in Far- 
mington, Conn., March 17, 1794. He married Sophia Tillot- 
son, in Avon, Conn., April 17, 1823. They had four chil- 
dren, as follows : 

Columbus and Emma Luceetia both died infants. 

Clinton D. was born June 25, 1832, and married Miss 
Tillotson. He is a druggist and practicing physician in Kil- 
bourn City, "Wis. He has had three children: Lillie Belle, 
Arden Bertrand, and Clinton Fredie, d. inf. 

Edward Payson, who was born Feb. 26, 1840. 

HENRY WOODWARD was born in Guilford, Conn., 
Dec. 16, 1787. He married Anna Savage, in Granville, 
1ST. Y.; removed to "Warsaw in 1815, and settled on West 
Hill, a mile and a half west of the village. He sold out a 
few years after, and purchased a farm a mile south of the 
village. For several years after lie came to this town, he 
carried on, in addition to farming, the manufacture of earth- 
enware. A few years before his death, he sold his farm and 
removed to the village. He died Dec. 3, 1864; Mrs. Wood- 
ward, April 23, 1867. They united, first, with the Presby- 
terian church. On the formation of the Congregational 
church, they changed their relation, and became members 
of the latter. They had three children: Maria, William H., 
and Charlotte. 

Maria, born in 1815, died at the age ot 34. 

William II. married Mary Ann Gregg, of Warsaw. In 
Jan., 1852, he started for California, and died at sea, of chol- 
era, after leaving the Isthmus, aged 33. He had two children, 
Luther and Myron. 

Charlotte married Leonard Martin, of this town. [See 
Family of Lydia Martin.] 

SAMUEL WOODWARD, brother of Henry, married 
Charlotte Savage, a sister ot his brother's wife; and in 
1832, they removed to this town from Granville. They be- 
long to the Congregational church. They had five chil- 
dren: William F., Mary Ann, Lucy, Nathan S., and Samuel 
Mills. 

William F. married Charlotte Gibbs, of Livonia; lived in 
this town many years, and now resides in Boston, Mass. His 
children are: 1. Edward Payson, married, has a son and a 



356 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

daughter. 2. Mary A., who married Edwin Hill, of Geneva. 
3. Miranda Gibbs. 4. Mills. 5. Charlotte. 

Mary Ann died in Warsaw, Dec. 2, 1841, aged 27 years. 

Lucy married Samuel Fisher, 2d. [See Fisher Family.] 

Nathan S., formerly a printer and newspaper publisher, 
now a farmer, resides in the east part of the town. He mar- 
ried Caroline C, a daughter of the late Dr. C. L. Sheldon. 
They had two children: Melville, who died at 18, and Caro- 
line. Mrs. "Woodward died Sept. 30, 1842, aged 21 years. 

Samuel Mills died in Ohio. 

AMZI WPJGHT was born in Lenox, Mass., Oct. 24, 1781. 
He removed in Feb., 1803, to Batavia. Later in the same 
year, he settled at the place since known as Wright's Corners, 
where he married Huldah Kellogg. Mr. Wright resided in 
Middlebury to an advanced period of life, and was exten- 
sively known. He has ever maintained the character of an 
upright man and a good citizen; and for many years both 
himself and wife were members of the Presbyterian church 
in Wyoming. Since their removal from Middlebury, Mrs. 
Wright died in Attica. 

Mr. Wright, at the age of 87, resides in the village of At- 
tica, and retains his faculties of body and mind in a degree 
unusual at that age. They had ten children: 

Enos Iv. married Louisa Newell, and resides in Middlebury. 
They have three children: 1. Sarah E., who married Dr. D. 
K. Town, of Batavia, 111. 2. Frances A., who married Eben 
Sharp, of Indianapolis. 3. Mary. 

Harry married Mary Ann Pierson, of Bethany; had four 
children: William, Louisa, married; Frank, Frederick, who 
died at IS or 19; and Mary. 

Alvina married Nelson Wolcott, who was the first Clerk of 
Wyoming coimty. He was afterwards, for several years, a 
merchant in Attica, whence he removed to Batavia, 111., where 
he now resides. Their children are: 1. Ellen II., who mar- 
ried Rollin Baker, of Attica. 2. Robert N., who married 
Agnes Swain, and resides in Illinois. 3. Henry K., who mar- 
ried Helen Newton, in Batavia, 111. 4. Laurens. 5. Mary 
L. D. G. Seymour A. 7. Willie W. 8. Frank. 

Sophia married Ephraim Brainerd, of Attica. Their chil- 
dren are, 1. Henry A., who married Libbie Phenix; 2. Jose- 
phine E., who married Edward D. Tolles; 3. Alice J., who 
married B. G. White; 4. Alvina E. 

Allen married Charlotte Newell, and lives on the old farm 
of his father at Wright's Corners. They have three children, 
Jesse N., Huldah, and Henry. 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 357 

Francis E. married Charlotte T. Putney. They had six 
children: 1. Ellen, d. inf.; 2. Emma; 3. Martha W., married; 
4. Ella; 5. Amelia, d. inf.; 6. Jennie. 

Emily married Mr. Hanvey, of Middlebury. Children: 
Yioletta E., married; Esther married Charles Melvin, of 
Bennington; Adelaide, died at 17; Daphne A.; Thomas, and 
Henry. Mr. Hanvey died, and she married B. S. Brownell, 
and has a son, Laurens. 

Yioletta died at the age of 6 years. 

Seymour K. married Sarah Ellis, and resides in Missouri. 

JONATHAN YOUNG was born in Dutchess county, 
July 15, 1767, where he was married to Nancy Beck, who 
was born in the northern part of Ireland, and came in early 
childhood to this country. In 1790 or 1791, they removed to 
Schoharie county; and thence, in 1816, to Warsaw, and set- 
tled on West Hill, near Orangeville, where he lived until the 
death ot his wife, who died Sept. 29, 1818. He died May 
14, 1855, aged nearly 88 years. They were both members of 
the Presbyterian church, as were all their children, ot whom 
there were six: 

David was born Nov. 9, 1786; married Lucy Snyder, and 
removed to Warsaw in 1816. His wife died Aug. 10, 1846, 
aged 51 years. He married in 1848, Miranda Roberts. He 
sold his farm on West Hill, and removed to the village, 
where he died Feb. 1, 1865, aged 78 years. 

Hannah married Andrew Guffin, in Schoharie Co. They 
had twelve children, all of whom attained to full age, except 
one, who died in infancy. Seven are living. Both parents 
have died. 

Peter was born Sept. 24, 1797. He was married in War- 
saw, to Lydia Adelia Stevens, by whom he had seven chil- 
dren: 1. Harriet, w r ho died Aug. 14, 1859, aged 34 years. 2. 
Henry S., who married Letitia Willard, lives in the village, 
and has a son, Frank W.; 3. Martha; 4. Mary Elizabeth; 5. 
Abraham, d. inf.; 6. William B., w T ho went to the war. [See 
War History.] He married Miss Matthews, and resides in 
Rochester; 7. James C. The family resides on West Hill, 
near the village. Both parents, who were members of the 
Presbyterian church, now, with several of their children, be- 
long to the Congregational church. Mr. Young held for 
many years the office of ruling elder in the former, and that 
of deacon in the latter. He made a public profession of his 
faith in 1817, and has maintained the character of a consist- 
ent, zealous, and active Christian. All religious and benevo- 
lent enterprises have received his cordial and unfaltering 
support. 



35S 



IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 



Elizabeth, born Sept. 2, 1799, was married in 1830, to 
William D. Barnett, formerly from Londonderry, !N\ II., and 
removed to Clarkson; thence, in 1837, to Gainesville, and in 
1848 or 1849, to Attica, where lie died Aug. 2, 1865, and 
where she still resides. He was a ruling elder in the church 
in Attica, and faithfully discharged the duties of that office. 
He died of a linjrerino- disease, August 2, 1S65. [See Bar- 
nett I amines.] 

Andrew TV"., and Abraham T. [See Sketches.] 

ANDREW TV. YOUNG was born in Carlisle, Schoharie 
Co., N. Y., March 2, 1802. His ancestry on the paternal side 
is traceable to Holland. His mother was a native of Ireland, 
though reared from early childhood in this country, and was 
one of those people who are often distinguished as the "Prot- 
estant" or "-Scotch Irish." His vernacular language was 
that which had been introduced in this country by the Van 
Winkles, the Diedricks, and the lvnickerbackers, and their 
fellow immigrants; though, from its having been for two cen- 
turies in contact with other languages, it had suffered material 
adulteration. His educational course comprised a few years' 
instruction in common schools, and at the age of nineteen, a 
half term in Middlebury Academy. His youth was spent in 
farm labor and teaching. He closed his first term of teach- 
ing at the end of his thirteenth year. Without any know- 
ledge on his part, consent had been given by his father, and, 
it is believed, without any specific agreement as to wages. 
The people of the district acknowledged themselves satisfied 
with their teacher, for whose three months' services and 
board, his father received the sum of $15! The teacher 
himself felt amply compensated by the pleasure of partici- 
pating, as usual, with his former school -fellows in their plays, 
and the pride of having so early attained to the honors of the 
schoolmaster's degree, the highest object of his youthful am- 
bition. He ended his labors as teacher at the age of twenty- 
one. After this, he was engaged for several years as clerk 
and as principal in the mercantile business. In May, 1830, 
he commenced the publication of the Warsaw Sentinel, which 
he continued nearly two years, when he purchased the Repub- 
lican Advocate, at Batavia, in which the Sentinel was 
merged, Jan. 1, 1S32. He continued the publication and 
editorship of the Advocate until April, 1835, when he sold 
his interest in it to D. D. Waite, its present proprietor. In 
the course of his editorial labors in Batavia, he became 
deeply impressed with the importance of a more general 
diffusion of a knowledge of the principles of government, 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 359 

which lie deemed essential to the national prosperity and the 
security of our liberties. Since that time his labors have been 
directed to this object. In October, 1835, was issued from 
his press in Warsaw the first edition of his " Science of Gov- 
ernment." The book was literally an article of "home 
manufacture." It was written, printed, and bound in War- 
saw. The type setting was done chiefly by Seth Lewis, since 
a partner in the publication of a paper in Perry, and for more 
than twenty-five years proprietor and publisher of the Mar- 
shall Statesman, in Marshall, Mich. Among those who for 
short periods assisted in this work, was the Hon. William IT. 
Kelsey, now of Geneseo, a representative in the present and 
former Congresses. Assistance at press work was rendered 
by Levi Spencer, without any previous experience in the 
business, who since became a devoted minister of the Gospel, 
and died in Illinois. The " Science of Government " was the 
first work of the kind brought into general notice in this state 
and several other states. Though coarse in its appearance, it 
met with a favorable reception. Its defects, more apparent, 
perhaps, to the author than to others, induced him to re-write 
and thoroughly revise it. It appeared in an improved form 
early in 1840. This work was followed, in 1843, by " First 
Lessons in Civil Government," adapted to the capacities of 
younger learners, and designed especially for use in the state 
of New York. In 1845, he wrote a similar work, adapted for 
use in the state of Ohio, of which many thousand copies were 
sold. About this time his labors in his chosen pursuit were 
temporarily suspended. By successive elections he was 
chosen to represent the county of Wyoming in the Legisla- 
tures of 1845 and 1840, and in the Constitutional Convention 
of 1846. The happiest reflection associated with this brief 
public service is, that these offices were spontaneously be- 
stowed. In 1852, ho commenced the "American Statesman, 
a Political History of the United States," which appeared in 
the spring of 1855. This is believed to be the only work of 
its kind, being a purely political history, or history of govern- 
ment in this country, during the whole period of our colonial 
existence, of the government under the Confederation, and of 
the government under the Constitution. In 1858, appeared 
his " Citizen's Manual," containing a compendium or digest 
of constitutional, common and statutory, and international 
law, designed more especially for adults; and in 1860, his 
" National Economy." His latest works for schools are the 
" Government Class Book," first issued in 1859; and in 1867, 
"First Book on Civil Government," being a simplified 
abridgment of the former work, and intended for younger 



360 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

learners. A controlling motive to these labors lias been a 
desire to be in some degree instrumental in preparing Ameri- 
can citizens for a more intelligent discharge of the duties of 
citizenship. This end will be secured when political know- 
ledge in this country of free institutions shall be duly appre- 
ciated by the people generally, and when those to whom the 
interests of education are especially committed shall have a 
proper sense of their official responsibilities. There are other 
objects to which the subject of this sketch has not been in- 
different. Impressed with the sentiment that virtue is essen- 
tial alike to the happiness and well-being of society and the 
safety of the state, he has given his encouragement and aid to 
measures for the suppression of immorality and vice, in its 
various forms, and for the promotion of what the founders of 
our free institutions deemed of vital importance in a commu- 
nity — "True religion and good morals." 

He came to Warsaw with his father and family in 1816, 
and, with the exception of two brief intervals, resided in this 
town until 1856, when he removed to Ripley, Chautauqua 
Co., and in 1868 to Red Wing, Minn. 

He married, Oct. 4, 1827, while residing at Wethersfield 
Springs, Eliza Webster, of Warsaw, who was born June 9, 
1804, and was the first child born in this town. They have 
had five children: David A., Lucy, Elizabeth, William, and 
Mary E. 

David A. was born Aug. IT, 182S; married in Red Wing, 
May 30, 1861, Ada Augusta McGlashan, and has two chil- 
dren, Herbert A., and another son. 

Lucy was born Nov. 8, 1862; married in Ripley, N. Y., 
Nov., 1866, Emery Purdy, of Red Wing, Minn., where they 
now reside. 

Elizabeth was born Oct. 3, 1834; resides in Red Wing. 

William was born March 26, 1841; died July 12, 1842. 

Mary E. was born May 14, 1846; married Nov. 26, 186S, 
E. K. Sparrell, of Red Wing. 

ABRAHAM T. YOUNG was born in Carlisle, N. Y, 
May 10, 1806, and came to Warsaw in 1816. His employ- 
ment was farming until, in his 25th year, he engaged as clerk 
in the store of Joshua II. Darling, where he remained about 
two years. Having decided to prepare himself for the min- 
istry, he commenced his studies preparatory to entering col- 
lege at Middlebury Academy, in 1832, and completed them 
at Geneva in 1835. He graduated at Union College in 1839. 
He took his first year's course in Theology at Union Theolo- 
gical Seminary in the city of New York, and the remainder 



FAMILY SKETCHES AND NOTES. 361 

of it, the two succeeding; years, at Princeton, N. J., and grad- 
uated in May, 1S12. He had determined to enter the_ field 
of Foreign Missions; but causes unforeseen induced him to 
change his purpose. He commenced his ministry with the 
Presbyterian church at East Aurora, Erie Co., in 1S12. In 
1847, he was invited to "Warsaw, where lie remained three 
years. He has since ministered, as stated supply or pastor, 
to the churches at East Bethany, five years; Charlotte, two 
years; Sacket's Harbor, five years; and Oaks Corners, the 
last five years. He was married in July, 1811, to Ann Ho- 
garth, of Geneva. They had four children : 1. Edward Sey- 
mour, recently admitted to the practice of Law; 2. 3. Frank 
H., William P., w T ho both died in infancy; 1. Richard Ho- 
garth. 



562 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 



Among the families who came to Warsaw from Londonderry, 
N. H. , were the Pattersons and Fishers. Sketches of all the 
latter have been given on page 261. Of the eleven branches of 
the Patterson family, eight have resided in this town. William 
came in 1821, and George W., now of Westfield, the same year 
or the next. He resided with his brother several years, and 
gave his first vote in this town. In 1829, Peter and Robert, 
with their families, made Warsaw their home for a time. Also 
four sisters have resided in this town : Mrs. Barnett, Mrs. Tay- 
lor, Mrs. Elizabeth P. Baker, still living, and Mrs. Frank. 
Presuming that the two following incidents relating to the an- 
cestors of these families will be read with interest by their 
numerous descendants and by our readers generally, we insert 
them in this place : 

THE STARVED SHIP. 

[Froin the History of Londonderry.] 

Dea. Samuel Fisher, father of Dea. John Fisher, noticed 
on page 261, was born in the north of Ireland, in the year 1722, 
and was of Scottish descent. He came to America in 1740, in 
the nineteenth year of his age. The ship in which he came was 
usually spoken of as "The starved ship." The vessel was so 
scantily supplied with provisions, that long before the voyage 
was completed, one pint of oat-meal for each individual on 
board, and a proportionate allowance of water, was all that re- 
mained. Mr. Fisher once went to the mate with a tablespoon 
to obtain some water, which was refused him, there being but 
two-thirds of a junk-bottle full on board. Mr. Fisher's cus- 
tom was to take a tablespoonful of meal daily, and having 
moistened it with salt water, to eat it raw. The passengers 
and crew, having subsisted in this manner for fourteen days, 
were at length reduced to the necessity of eating the bodies of 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 



363 



those who died. Even this resource failed them, and at length 
Mr. Fisher was selected to give up his life to preserve the lives 
of the rest. Providentially, however, a vessel hove in sight, 
and their signals of distress being observed, they obtained re- 
lief and were saved. So deep an impression did the horrors of 
that passage make upon the mind of Mr. Fisher, that, in after 
life, he could not see, without pain, the least morsel of food 
wasted, or a pail of water thrown carelessly on the ground. 



A SCOTCH-IRISH FAMILY. 

[From an Eastern Paper.] 

In the year 1726, an emigrant ship, laden with a band of 
Scotch-Irish adventurers, sailed for the American continent, 
While proceeding on their way across the broad Atlantic, they 
had the misfortune to fall into the hands of a band of pirates, 
who boarded the emigrant vessel, placing her unhappy inmates 
on board their own. Among the emigrants was a Mrs. Wilson, 
whose maiden name was Elizabeth Fulton, who, excited by the 
events of their capture, gave birth prematurely to an infant 
daughter. The Captain of this pirate band, himself being a 
father, was induced to tender to the unfortunate lady every 
assistance in his power, allowing her to occupy the cabin of the 
vessel, granting her every comfort their situation afforded; and 
the pirates were constrained to release their hold upon the un- 
fortunate adventurers, and suffered them to proceed on their 
voyage with all their effects, save a few muskets and some 
ammunition, which the pirates retained. The Captain gave her 
several valuable presents and relics, (some of which are now in 
possession of the family of Mrs. Frank, in this village,) with 
the promise from the family that the child should be named for 
the Captain's wife — Mary. The anniversary of this remark- 
able deliverance was devoutly commemorated as a day of 
annual thanksgiving by the early settlers during the whole of 
that generation. 

This little band settled in the good old town of Londonderry ; 
and from this mother and this ocean-born daughter may be 
traced the genealogy of many of the worthy citizens of that 
and the neighboring towns, as well as some whose names are 
among the illustrious of our countrymen. Mary "Wilson, the 
child that was born upon the pirate ship, having survived to 
grow up, married James Wallace, of Londonderry. They were 
the parents of a numerous family, remarkable for intelligence 
and enterprise. Their only daughter, Elizabeth, married 
Thomas Patterson, of Londonderry, and thus became the 
mother of the Patterson family, known to most people in 



364 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



that vicinity as possessing strong intellect and a large share of 
native eloquence. In olclen time, when the early settlers were 
grouped together, and spoke of the place of their nativity, 
some would say it was on this side of the water, and some on 
that; but Mrs. Wallace would say: "Indeed, I was born 
neither on this side o' the water nor on that side o' the water, 
nor anywhere else on God's earth," to the no small astonish- 
ment of the younger ones. 



AN "UNDERGROUND" ESCAPE. 

Ix the year 1851, there occurred an incident worthy of record, 
as illustrating the fame of this town as an antislavery commu- 
nity. About the year 1848, there removed to the District of 
Columbia, two brothers from Connecticut, who had previously 
become acquainted with some of our citizens who had a "per- 
fect hatred" of the Fugitive Slave Law. They engaged in 
market-gardening; and among their help was one very compe- 
tent female servant, owned in the District, and hired out by 
her master. This slave had two children, one son whose ser- 
vices were also sold, and a little daughter about seven years of 
age. She was very intelligent and faithful, and became a 
favorite with her employers. One day she came to them with 
tearful eyes, and told them the old story — she was to be sold 
"down south," away from her children and friends. Our free- 
dom-loving Yankees, acting on " the higher law" some years 
in advance of Mr. Seward's proclamation of it, resolved to 
save her from the fate she so dreaded. One of them caused to 
be made a large box, just the size of the broad market wagon 
in which they took their vegetables to the city. Putting into 
this some bedding, a jug of water, and a supply of food, and 
leaving at the sides near the bottom holes for ventilation, he 
nailed the cover down over the slave woman and her little 
child, and one line night drove leisurely by the National Capi- 
tol, intent on giving practical effect, in one more instance, to 
the "self-evident truth" proclaimed by its founders : — that "all 
men are endowed by their Creator with the inalienable right to 
"life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness." The morning 
sun found him forty miles away in Maryland. He left his 
wagon in front of a village tavern, to prevent suspicion, and 
fed and rested his horses. On and on he went, following the 
Northern Star whose light was guide and compass to many 
fleeing fugitives in Southern swamps and friendly forests. In 
the solitude of night he would attend to the wants of his pas- 
sengers, and at stopping-places by day evade curious questions, 
correct answers to which Avould have brought down upon him 
a United States Marshal, with the penitentiary for his reward. 




WARSAW FALLS. 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 365 

Across Maryland and Pennsylvania he drove, over the difficult 
mountain roads of the Alleghanies, into New York. On the 
evening of the tAventy-seconcl day he reached his journey's end 
at Warsaw. Driving to the residence of his acquaintance, Mr. 
Isaac N. Phelps, an earnest friend of the slave, the box was 
quietly opened, and for the first time the poor woman was 
taken out of quarters so cramped that she could scarcely 
straighten her form therein. Mother and child were found to 
be enfeebled, but in good spirits; — indeed, nothing but the 
instinct of Liberty would have sustained the courage of the 
mother, and restrained the betraying prattle of the child, 
through that long, dark ride of three weeks. They were 
secreted a few days, a part of the time in Arcade, until it was 
found that their whereabouts were not known, when, by the 
assistance of a few citizens who were privy to their history, 
the mother began to live on her own services, and proved valu- 
able help. In three or four months she gave birth to a son, 
and in about a year thereafter died of quick consumption. The 
little girl was taken and carefully reared in the family of Allen 
Y. Breck, becoming a skillful worker and an exemplary young 
woman. She is now the wife of a well-to-do colored citizen, 
Win, Burghardt, and is mistress of a nice house. The babe was 
taken and cared for by the family of D. C. Martin, of this 
toAvn, and has repaid the kindness by growing up an industri- 
ous, faithful farmer-boy. Many other fugitives from slavery 
found here a helping hand in their flight to Canada, but few 
episodes occurred so purely local as the escape and harboring 
of the woman who was known here by the name of Mrs. Jones. 



CRYSTAL BROOK AND ITS CASCADES. 

In our description of the Topography of this town, [p. 25,] 
we made a brief allusion to the principal cascade on Crystal 
Brook. Not being sufficiently familiar with the several falls 
to give them a proper description, the following has been 
kindly furnished by a citizen of Warsaw : 

The hill-range that bounds the valley of the O-at-ka on the 
west, in the town of Warsaw, is here and there broken by ra- 
vines and glens where the gathered waters of the hills make 
their way into the valley. Some of them are of great pictur- 
esqueness and beauty. Maple Glen, just south-west of the 
village, is the equal of them all in the variety and luxuriance 
of its scenery. 

The crystal clearness of a small spring that bubbles from 
the earth in the north-east corner of the town of Orangeville, 



366 HISTORY OF WAESAW. 

has given the name of Ciystal Brook to the stream that flows 
from it. Gathering in volume from the runnels of the mead- 
ows and the water-courses of the hollows, it enters the town 
of Warsaw, and there receiving a tributary from the west, 
bends sharply towards the east. In the earlier days of the 
town, when the forests were denser than at present, it industri- 
ously toiled here for the neighborhood in turning the wheels of 
saw-mills. 

As the stream flows onward, it enters the cleft of the hill- 
side, and grows in attractiveness and beauty. In one charming 
spot it spreads itself in glassy pools, whose surface mirrors, in 
shifting photographs, the woods around and the skies above. 
The dell grows lovelier and deeper. A low cascade, where the 
waters pitch over a bench of rock, ripples an unceasing hymn, 
and again and again the brook nestles and lingers in the 
hollows of the rocks. The banks are fringed with the under- 
growth of the woods, Avhere, in summer time, the rich emerald 
of the green enlivens the silveriness of the waters. The rocks 
around are hoary with the years they have seen. Here is the 
first of the three sister cascades. 

It is a walk of but a moment to reach the second cascade. 
The rocks that form it are rifted and worn. Where the crumb- 
ling slate has yielded most readily to the friction of the waters, 
the brook has grooved its way, and falls into a miniature gorge 
w r et with spray and hung with mosses. The glen has not yet 
grown rugged and grim, as below. It is all 

" So wondrous wild, the whole might seein 
The scenery of a fairy dream." 

This little cascade, scarcely twent}^ feet in height, is the beau- 
tiful idyl of the woods. 

As the eye looks down stream, it follows the current until a 
bank of forest bounds the vision, and seems to block the way 
of the wandering waters. A sudden turn of the glen brings 
one upon the railway culvert, above which rises the embank- 
ment, cutting off the view. 

Below the culvert, where the glen suddenly deepens, is a 
sloping precipice, sixty feet in height, over which the brook 
falls. In summer, when the heats are most fervid, and the 
drouth 3-et lingers, it flings itself over the ledge — a long, 
streaming scarf of snow-white foam, projected against the 
dark back-ground of the rocks. In winter the congealed 
mists, slowly gathering from day to day, form an irregular 
slope from the bottom to the top. Icy columns support icy 
stair-cases; opaline domes hang on slender shafts, defiant of 
all principles of gravitation; grotesque images leer out of the 
icy berg, and white snow-wreaths and steel-blue caverns inter- 
mingle in vivid contrast. A sheer precipice of a hundred feet 
on the south, a wooded steep on the north, and a wintry sky 
overhead, form the massive frame-work of this frost-picture. 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 367 

The hill, for a quarter of a mile to the east, is rifted apart 
nearly a hundred feet in depth. The boughs of the forest trees 
interlace luxuriantly overhead; sometimes stooping low, and 
then lifting themselves upward in gothic archways and great 
vernal domes. The summer embroiders the floor of the glen 
with wild roses and flowering grasses. The bed is rough and 
stony where the brook makes its way, and it winds and loops 
itself in many a graceful curve as it flows. When it emerges 
from the glen, it subsides into a very hum-drum, matter-of-fact 
kind of stream, and steals along the level of the valley to rest 
its waters at lenq-th in the turbid bosom of the O-at-ka. 



"INDIAN ALLAN." 

It is generally known that the stream in this valley took its 
former name from the fact that a man called ' ' Indian Allan " 
lived a short time near the entrance of the stream into Gene- 
see river. He was a white man, however, and his true name 
was Ebenezer Allan. He was, during the Revolutionary war, 
allied with the British and the Indians, and vied with the latter 
in deeds of cruelty and bloodshed. Before the close of the war, 
he sought a home with his war associates at Gardeau, and made 
the residence of Mary Jemison* his home, whose lands he worked 
until after the peace of 1783. He then got goods, traded at 
Mount Morris, and seemed to be disposed to peace. He after- 
wards displeased his former allies, who determined to punish 
him. They pursued him, but he escaped. In a second pursuit 
he was captured, and again escaped, and was again sheltered 
by Mrs. Jemison. He was again captured, taken to Montreal, 
for the crime charged, which was his having, by an unauthor- 
ized presentation of the wampum as a token of peace, induced 
the Indians to ' ' bury the hatchet. " He was acquitted, on the 
ground, as is supposed, that there was no law making the car- 
rying of wampum to the enemy a crime. 

Allan married several wives. His first was a squaw, named 
Sally, by whom he had two children. He married two or three 
white women, the husband of one of whom he probably mur- 
dered while he lived near the mouth of the creek. He again 
removed to Mount Morris, where his wives gave him trouble. 
The Seneca Indians deeded to him in trust for his two daugh- 
ters, a tract of four miles square, including the present village 
of Mount Morris. The deed provided that he should, from the 
proceeds of the land, cause the girls to be instructed " inread- 

*Mrs. Jemison was familiarly called " The White Woman." When a child, she was 
carried away bj r Indians, with whom she spent the remainder of her life. She had mar- 
ried an Indian, and was now living iu widowhood on her extensive tract of land at 
Gardeau. She died at a very advanced age. 



368 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ing and writing, sewing and other useful arts, according to the 
custom of the white people." Provision was also to he made 
for Sally while she " remained unjoined to another man." The 
girls were sent to school at Philadelphia. He removed to Can- 
ada ; and on the breaking out of the war of 1812, he was charged 
with being friendly to the Americans, arrested, confined in jail, 
and bailed out. He died in 1814. As there was nothing in his 
life or character to justify the application of his name to this 
stream, it is hoped that it may hereafter be designated only by 
its aboriginal name, O-at-ka. 



SKETCH OF INDIAN HISTORY. 

A few facts relating to Indian history in Western New 
York, are deemed appropriate, and may be interesting to many 
readers. Prior to the settlement of this town, few white men 
had ever set their feet upon its soil, and for many years after 
the white settlements in this section had been commenced, the 
territory was a part of the extensive hunting grounds of the 
Indians. Though they had sold their claims to most of their 
lands, and though they confined their settlements to their re- 
served lands, they were not restricted to these reservations in 
procuring the means of subsistence. Many a deer was slain 
within the bounds of this and the adjacent towns, by missiles 
from the hands of Indians, before these animals became marks 
for Judge Webster's rifle. And although few white men had 
traversed this valley and these hill ranges, this town was, not 
only before, but long after its first settlement, a part of the 
common thoroughfare of the Indians passing between the Buf- 
falo Reservation and the reservations along the valley of the 
Genesee river, especially those at and above Mount Morris. 

As white settlements sprang up around them, the Indians, 
who had originally lived chiefly by hunting, began to procure 
supplies of food and clothing, in part, from the whites, in ex- 
change for their own products, as venison and other game, 
baskets, bead-work and various other kinds of trinkets. The 
main road from Buffalo to Genesee river, passing centrally 
through this town, before it was ever tracked by the peddler's 
wagon, was a daily line of travel of Indian peddlers, carrying 
back-loads of baskets and other wares, exchanging them for 
products of farm and household labor. 

Allusion has been made to Indian alarms during the war of 
1812. It may be inferred by some that the Indians were ene- 
mies of the whites. Such was not the fact. They took no 
part with Great Britain in the war. If there were any hostile 
Indians, they were those of Canada. And if there was any 
ground for the fears of the people here, it was that the British 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 



360 



Canadians, with their Indians, might cross the lines and de- 
vastate our settlements. 

In our sketch of the Holland Purchase, mention is made of 
the fact generally known, that the title of the lands was origin- 
ally in the Indians, and that purchases made were subject to 
their claims. And it is stated, (p. 20,) that, in 1797, the In- 
dian title was extinguished, except to certain reservations 
there named. The principal of these was the Buffalo Reserva- 
tion, which embraced a large portion of the present county of 
Erie, extending east from Buffalo ten to fifteen miles. It will 
be readily imagined that so large a tract of wild lands around 
that place must have greatly retarded its growth. For a large 
part of the year, access to the city with teams was all but 
impossible. This obstruction to the trade of Buffalo continued 
to a late period. This reservation was at length sold by the 
Indians and vacated; and the lands have been settled and 
brought into a state of cultivation. The Cattaraugus reserva- 
tion is still peopled by Indians, and has long been missionary 
ground. A large portion of them have been Christianized, 
have abandoned their Indian customs, and adopted the habits 
of civilized life. The Indians of other reservations also have 
been more or less affected by surrounding civilization. Besides 
those of the Cattaraugus, there are still some on the Tona- 
wanda reservation, and along the Genesee valley. But these 
are said to be gradually diminishing in numbers, and we may 
reasonably presume that their existence, as nations or tribes, 
will ere long cease, and the few who may remain will be swal- 
lowed up in the society of the surrounding white population. 



OLD MODES OF TRAVEL. 

Ix nothing has time wrought more marked changes than in 
modes of travel. Many remember when it was common for 
men to perform journeys of hundreds of miles on foot, carry- 
ing well-filled knapsacks ; or on horseback, with their baggage, 
consisting of a valise with a change or two of underclothes, on 
a pad fastened to the back end of the saddle. Women rode 
behind men on horseback " to meeting," and not unfrequently 
to balls, sitting on a blanket as a substitute for the pillion of a 
hundred years ago, which we have so often heard of, but have 
never seen. Occasionally was seen a side-saddle for women's 
use ; but this was a luxury beyond the means of the mass of 
men, whose wives and daughters were obliged to ride on men's 
saddles. 

Quite as common a mode of conveyance was by the two-horse 
lumber-wagon, with the ancient "wagon chair," made for two 

24 



370 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

persons. The comfort of riding thus without springs under 
either the box or the seat, over long and rough roads, with fre- 
quent corduroy bridge accompaniments breaking the monotony, 
can be best appreciated by those who have enjoyed it. Now 
and then was seen a one horse chaise carrying a fortunate cou- 
ple envied by the " common people." This was the only one- 
horse vehicle we ever saw in our childhood, except the old 
"pung," a plain, one-horse, high-back sleigh, sometimes im- 
proved in appearance by a coat of paint. Buggies were un- 
known. Next appeared the one-horse wagon, with a paneled 
square box set solid on the axletree, but with a wooden spring 
seat. This vehicle probably exhibited what was then deemed 
the acme of improvement in wheel carriages. An idea of the 
use, by so large a portion of the people, of the easy and splen- 
did carriages of the present day, was not entertained. 

Four-horse post-coaches were run on turnpikes and other 
principal thoroughfares ; but the poor man's purse was too lean 
to bear a draft of twenty-five dollars for stage fare and meals 
from Buffalo to Albany before the reduction of these high rates 
by competition. Allusion has elsewhere been made to the first 
plain, two-horse carriage, the "Moscow Stage," run through 
this town by Levi Street, and to the improved coaches of our 
old fellow-citizen yet among us, Gen. McElwain. Many still 
remember the sound of the stage horn announcing, from East 
Hill, the approach of the coaches on their "winding way" down 
the steep descent, and giving signal to the hotel-keeper and the 
postmaster to prepare for their reception. Stage horns were 
heard for many years from all directions. But stage traveling- 
was not always agreeable. A full week was sometimes too 
short for a passage to Albany- Coaches have stuck in the mud, 
and have been got out by the help of the passengers ; and often 
have drivers, with all due care, been unable to keep them "right 
side up." Our canals, in process of time, furnished a cheaper, 
and at times a more easy and agreeable mode of travel. But 
even these have been happily superseded by railroads. What 
improvement remains to be made in the speed and comfort of 
traveling, awaits the disclosure of time. 



WYOMING COUNTY INSURANCE COMPANY. 

In the 3'ear 1851, the Wyoming County Mutual Insurance 
Company was formed and a charter obtained, authorizing a 
working capital of $100,000. Its founders were among the 
leading men of Warsaw, possessing probity of character and 
business capacity. Its principal olHce was located at AVarsaw, 
and the following persons composed the first Board of Direc- 



SUPPLEMENTARY NOTES. 371 

tors: John A. McElwain, Isaac C. Bronson, Elijah W. An- 
drews, George Reed, Augustus Frank, Seth M. Gates, F. C. 
D. McKay, Israel Hodge, Charles J. Judd, Timothy II. Bux- 
ton, E. II. Lansing, W. Riley Smith, and Joshua H. Darling. 

J. A. McElwain was elected President; Seth M. Gates, 
Vice President; J. H. Darling, Treasurer, and C. J. Judd, 
Secretary. In 1853 Mr. Judd retired from the office of Sec- 
retary, and was succeeded by L. A. Hayward, who was after- 
wards also elected Treasurer. 

The Company's field of operations was restricted to the 
western counties of the state, in which it very soon secured 
a good position. Its risks for the first few years embraced 
both a merchants' and a farmers' class; but in 1856 the former 
class was dropped, and all the risks afterwards confined entirely 
to the latter. Its reputation as a prudently managed and 
secure company was maintained throughout its entire career. 

The following named persons, in addition to the above, were 
elected Directors of the Company at different periods during 
its existence: James G. Hoyt, James C. Ferris, John B. Hal- 
sted, W. J. Chapin, Joel S. Smith, L. A. Hayward, Nelson 
Wolcott, Linus W. Thayer, Wm. Bristol, Ezra Bishop, Peter 
Patterson, Ira F. Pratt, James H. Loomis, Jedediah S. Walker, 
Noble Morris, and Alanson Holly. 

The Company continued to do business until the latter part 
of 1865, making no assessments, paying all its losses with 
promptness, steadily accumulating a surplus fund, and gaining, 
year by year, in the confidence of the community. In the 
meantime rival companies had multiplied, and, in the intense 
competition that had sprung up, the rates of insurance were 
forced down below the point at which a company could safety 
do business. The Directors therefore prudently resolved to 
cease the further issue of policies, and take measures to close 
up the affairs of the Company. A re-insurance of all the exist- 
ing risks of the Company was accordingly effected with the 
Home Insurance Company of New York, for the sum of $5,000. 
Its risks have all expired; and it is now without liabilit}' or 
indebtedness of any kind. Its financial record has but few 
parallels in the history of Insurance in this state. 



LATE FIRE. 

The great fire of 1867, and the speedy covering of all the 
vacant ground with new and elegant buildings, have been men- 
tioned, [p. 69.] Since the writing of that item of our history, 
three of those buildings, owned and occupied by Palmer and 
Brininstool, James Wilkin, and E. Weisenbeck, were destroyed 
by fire, October, 1868. 



372 HISTOKY OF WAESAW. 



AVARS AW GAS WORKS. 

These works were built in 1859 by Abram B. Lawrence and 
Horace A. Metcalf; and buildings on the principal streets of 
the village were lighted with gas about three years. The price 
of resin, a material used in the manufacture of gas, was in New 
York less than two dollars a barrel. Being a product of the 
South, the price advanced during the war to sixty dollars/ Be- 
fore the price of this material had reached this point, the con- 
sumers of gaslight being indisposed to pay compensatory prices 
for it, the proprietors shut up their works. Since the close of 
the war, they were sold to parties in Rochester, by whom they 
were operated successfully about a year, when, for a certain 
cause, they were again stopped. They have recently been 
leased to our fellow-citizen, Mr. James O. McClure, by whom 
they are soon to be again put in operation. 



ADDITIONAL FAMILY SKETCHES. 

[The facts from which the following sketches have been prepared, were received too 
late to admit of their insertion in their proper places.] 

GEORGE W. BATES came from Gainesville to this town, 
where he pursued his trade as a tin-smith and the Hardware 
business, for about twenty-five }'ears. He married Jane E. Tay- 
lor, daughter of Samuel Taylor, of this town. He removed from 
this town in 1866, and now resides in Albany, Wis., where he 
is engaged in the Hardware business. Newton Taylor, a bro- 
ther of Mrs. Bates, married a daughter of Hugh Harding, of 
Mount Morris, and is a merchant in Chicago. 

HOWARD BOSAVORTII came to this town in is 17, and 
with Gerard Fitch, established the Cabinet Making business in 
the old "Cider-mill" building, [p. 97.] This is believed to 
have been the first shop in the town. He married in this town 
Elizabeth Fitch, formerly from Vermont, and a sister of Mrs. 
Mayhew Safford. After many years' residence here, he re- 
moved to Le Roy, whence he removed to Milwaukee. He there 
engaged in the Drug and Medicine trade, in which he was highly 
successful. The wholesale house of II. Bosworth & Sons was 
one of the most widely known in the West. The firm was a few 
years ago broken up by the death of Mr. Bosworth and one of 
the sons. Mr. B. was an active and devoted Christian. Mrs. B. 
and the other son of the firm reside in Milwaukee. 



ADDITIONAL FAMILY SKETCHES. 373 

JAMES M. DARLING was born in Henniker, N. II. , and 
removed to this town about the year 1832, and was for many 
years engaged in the Dry Goods trade, and afterwards in the 
Hardware and Grocery business. In 1862, he removed to 
Washington, where he has since been employed in the Treasury 
Department. He has been twice married, both of his wives 
being daughters of William Raymond. [See Sketch of Mr. 
Raymond.] His son, Charles, died in the war. [See AVar His- 
tory-] 

Rev. TIMOTHY DARLING, brother of Joshua H. and 
James M. , was a resident and practicing lawyer in this town. 
He soon entered the ministry, and is now a Congregational 
clergyman residing in Bergen. 

Rev. ZACHARIAH EDDY commenced his ministry at an 
early period of life, and preached at Springville and several 
other places. He was afterwards, for several years, pastor of 
the Congregational Church in this village. He has since 
preached in Northampton, Mass. ; and is now pastor of a 
church in Brooklyn, N. Y. Dr. Eddy has written a work, 
lately published, —the "Life of Christ." 

ANDREW FRANK, a nephew of Dr. Frank, was for 
several years a member of his family and engaged in his busi- 
ness, and was afterwards a merchant in Sheldon. In 1835 he 
removed to Hadley, 111. , where he now resides. He is a farmer, 
is married, and has several children. 

BYRON HEALEY was born in Dansville, Steuben Co., 
Jan. 10, 1830. He graduated at the State and National La-fr 
School at Ballston, N. Y. , and practiced his profession in Ar- 
cade, in this county, from 1854 to 1857, when he removed to 
Warsaw and formed a partnership with Harlow L. Comstock, 
which continued until after his election as District Attorney. 
In 1863 and 1864 he represented this county in the Assembly, 
and in November, 1867, he was elected County Judge. He 
married, in 1868, Mary C. , daughter of Timothy II. Buxton, 
of this town. 

WOLCOTT J. HUMPHREY was born in Canton, Conn., 
in 1818. He was the son of Dea. Theophilus Humphrey, one 
of the early settlers of Sheldon. He was engaged in the farm- 
ing and mercantile business in Sheldon and Java, during which 
time he held various town offices. He was also Postmaster. 
In 1850 he was elected to the Assembly, and was reelected in 
1851. In 1864 he removed to Warsaw and engaged in the 
manufacture of leather. In 1865 he was elected to the State 
Senate, and reelected in 1867. He married, in 1841, Amanda 
Martindale of Dorset, Vermont. 



ciii HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

CYRUS JEFFERSON was born in Douglass, Mass., June 
8, 1805, and removed with his father to Gainesville at the age 
of 12, where he resided until 1865, when he removed to War- 
saw, where he now resides. lie married, first, Eunice Conable, 
and had four children: Sophia, who married James Bristol; 
Willard. who died at 3; Rufus, who married Genevieve Church, 
of Woodstock, 111. , and resides there ; and Dora, who died at 
the age of 20 years. He was for many years engaged in farm- 
ing, and subsequently in the purchase and sale of wool exten- 
sively, and in other business ; and has, by industry and prudent 
management, attained a rank among the most wealthy citizens 
of "Wyoming county. 

GIDEON JOHNSON was born in Sudbury, Mass., and 
settled on East Hill about 1818. He was for many years an 
elder of the Presbyterian Church. In 1833 he removed to 
Erie Co., Pa,, where he lived 33 years, and where his wife 
died, by whom he had three sons and a daughter. He married 
a second wife, by whom he had a son, who lost an arm in the 
late war. Dea. Johnson died at Saybrook, O. , Jan. 8, 1869, 
aged 76 years. Many in this town remember him well as a 
faithful laborer in the Lord's vineyard. He was an active 
and a zealous friend of sabbath schools, temperance, and other 
religious and benevolent institutions. 

REV. RICHARD KAY was for five years minister of the 
Presbyterian church in this town. He afterwards preached 
successively in Groveland and Oakland, Livingston Co., and 
now .resides in AVocdhull, Mich. Two of his sons served in the 
late war. Mr. Kay was born in Ireland, well educated and a 
thorough biblical scholar, and a man of decided character and 
ability. 

SILAS KIDDER came to[this town about 1818. He was a 
carpenter and joiner, having served his apprenticeship with 
James Webster, then living in this town. He made a profes- 
sion of religion in early manhood, and united with the Presby- 
terian church, of which he was an elder. He also held, for 
several years, the office of Justice of the Peace. He married 
in this town a niece of Dr. C. L. Sheldon, and had by her seA'- 
eral children. He removed with his family to Westneld. He 
has since removed to the West, where he married his third wife. 
His two eldest children married in Chautauqua county. 

RICHARD ALLEN KIDDER, brother of Silas, married 
Eleanor Rumsey\ daughter of Dr. Cyrus Rumsey. He re- 
moved with his father-in-law's family to Medina, Orleans Co. 
He died in Westneld. The family of Dr. Rumsey removed to 
the West, and are all believed to have died. 



ADDITIONAL FAMILY SKETCHES. 375 

SAMUEL LADD, from Granville, was for mairy years a 
member of the family of his uncle, Dr. Augustus Frank. He 
married Elizabeth McNeil, a niece of Mrs. Frank, and about 
1833 removed to Michigan. He is a farmer, and resides in 
Utica, in that State, and has a large family of sons. 

JOHN H. MORRISON, removed from the City of New 
York, in 1841, and carried on the mercantile business about 
four years, and returned to New York, where he has since 
been connected, most of the time, with the firm of Lathrop, 
Ludington & Co. , in the wholesale dry goods trade. He mar- 
ried Catharine Gibson, daughter of a prominent citizen of that 
city, and has four children : 

John Gibson, who was born in Warsaw; John Hamilton, 
Augustus F. , and Catharine, all residing in New York. Of 
Mr. Morrison's regard for the place and its inhabitants, he has 
given evidence in a substantial manner, on several occasions, 
since his residence here. 

FREDERICK NICHOLSON was born in Whitestown, Oc- 
tober 15, 1806. He married, Feb. 11, 1830, Sally Green, who 
was born at Fairfield, Sept. 10, 1808. He removed, in 1835, 
from Westfield to Warsaw, where for manj^ years he carried on 
the Tailoring business. His children were as follows: 

Joseph Marion, who married Nellie Reed, and resides in 
Galesburg, 111. He had three children: Freddie R. and Fanny, 
who both died young, and Jennie May. 

Granville, who married Susan Clark, of the city of New 
York, where they reside. Their children are Florence and 
Fanny W. 

Oscar, who was in the war, and resides in New York. 

George, who died in Ohio, at the age of 21 3-ears. 

GEORGE W. PATTERSON, of Westfield, came to this 
town with his brother William, in 1821, (as has been elsewhere 
stated,) and resided here four years. He settled in Leicester, 
where he resided many 3 r ears. He was, within nine years, 
elected eight times a member of Assembly, of which he was 
the last two years chosen Speaker. He removed the next year 
(1841) to Westfield to take charge of the Chautauqua County 
Land Office. He was elected in 1840 a member of the Conven- 
tion to revise the Constitution of the State. In 1848, he was 
elected Lieutenant-Governor; and has held several other offices 
of responsibility. He married Hannah Dickey, formerly of 
Londonderry, N. II. He has two children: George W. , Jun., 
a Banker in Corning, who is married, and has several children; 
and Hannah W. , residing with her parents in Westfield. 

ISAAC PRESTON, came from Granville to Warsaw about 
1818. After a short residence, he removed to Hanford's Land- 



376 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

ing, and carried on the tanning and shoe business. He returned 
to Warsaw; and daring his second residence here, in company 
with Frank Miller, bought the tannery of Calvin Rumsey. In 
1835 or '36, he sold out to Miller, and removed to Illinois. He 
was one of Warsaw's best citizens — a working Christian and 
an active promoter of social reforms. His wife was a sister of 
Deacon Ezra Walker. 

His eldest son was John B. , whose death by drowning in the 
canal near his father's residence at Lockport, 111., in April, 1805, 
was noticed in our village papers. He had been an engineer 
during the construction of the Illinois canal. He held, under 
President Fillmore, the office of Surveyor General of Oregon ; 
and after his return was Superintendent of the Canal about 
ten years, when, in 1864, he resigned, and removed to St. Louis, 
where he resided at the time of his death. He was married 
and had several children. Another son, Josiaii, married, re- 
sides at Lockport, 111. There were also, three daughters : Eliza- 
beth, who married Mr. Daniels; Maria, who married Mr. 
Codding, in Illinois, (Mr. C. lately deceased;) and Julia, all 
residing in Illinois. 

HENRY SILLIMAN was born in Newport, R. I. He re- 
moved to Perry in 1836, where he married Mary H. Noyes. 
lie removed to Warsaw in 1841, and was for many years 
Deputy County Clerk. He died in July, 1867, aged 56 years. 
lie had a daughter, Mary A., who resides with her mother in 
this village. Mr. Silliman was a nephew of the late Benjamin 
Silliman, long a distinguished Professor in Yale College. 

HORACE THAYER removed to this village from Sheldon 
in March, 1845. In September following, he removed to New 
York and engaged in the Map Publishing business. In 1854, 
he returned to Warsaw, having purchased the farm of Dr. 
Caner, including the old homestead of Judge Webster, the 
present residence of Henry B. Jenks, where he resided until 
1850. After a second residence in New York, he returned to 
Warsaw in 1864, and in 1866 removed to Johnsonsburg, where 
he resides. He procured a survey of the village, and published 
a map of the same, in 1861. The land for W3 r oming street 
was given by him, and forms part of the highway from Buffalo 
street along the foot of West Hill to the ''Old Buffalo Road." 
Mr. Thayer has for a long time been a member of Congrega- 
tional and Presbyterian churches. He was born in Hartwick, 
Otsego Co., June 29, 1811. He married Mary M. Dodge, who 
was born in Delhi, N. Y. The}*- have two children, Charles 
M. and Harriet Newell. 

WARREN THORP was born in Connecticut, and in 1819, 
at the age of 24, he removed with his mother to Gainesville. 



ADDITIONAL FAMILY SKETCHES. 



377 



He married Lucy Pattison, daughter of Rev. William Pattison. 
His occupation has been and is that of a farmer. In 1856 he 
purchased the Deacon Munger farm near this village, where he 
now resides. He has four children : Juliet, who married John 
TV. Hawley; Julia Ann, who married Leander L. Chaffee; 
Laura, who married Edward Wood,, and lives in Joliet, 111. ; 
Sarah, who married William Windsor, and lives in Detroit, and 
Lydia, unmarried. All hut Laura and Sarah reside in Warsaw. 

ABEL WEBSTER was for many years a resident of Weth- 
ersfleld, engaged in the mercantile business. In 1846 he was 
elected clerk of Wyoming county, and removed to Warsaw. 
He soon after engaged in trade, in which he continued until his 
death in 1861. He was twice elected Supervisor of War- 
saw. He married Caroline, daughter of Ormus Doolittle, of 
Wethersfielcl. They had seven children : 

James A., who married Martha, daughter of David Mc- 
Wethey, and is now a merchant in Nashua, Iowa. 

Caroline O., a teacher of music in Burlington, N. J. 

IIelex E. , a teacher in Mary Institute, Carlisle, Pa. 

Lydia Lucelia, a teacher also in Mary Institute, Carlisle. 

Ormus M. , now residing in Nashua, Iowa. 

Charles Abel, attending Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pa. 

George Edward resides with Mrs. Webster, in Wethersfleld. 



378 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



OFFICIAL REGISTER. 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 

The county of Wyoming was formed from Genesee in 1841 ; and a special 
election for choosing county officers was held in June. The regular triennial 
election of Sheriffs, Clerks, etc., throughout the state, had occurred in Novem- 
ber, 1840 ; and the official terms of persons elected at the special election were 
by law made to expire with the terms of those who had been elected in other 
counties at the last preceding election. 

As the people of Wyoming county, before its formation in 1841, were for 
nearly forty years politically associated with those of Genesee, living under 
the administration of the same officers, and having assisted in the election of 
many of them, we give the names of the officers of Genesee county prior to 
the organization of Wyoming. Under the first Constitution, county officers 
were appointed by the Council of Appointment, composed of the Governor and 
four Senators, one from each of the four districts into which the state was then 
divided. Since the adoption of the Constitution of 1821, Sheriffs and County 
Clerks have been elected by the people at the elections in November, going 
into office the 1st of January following. 

SHERIFFS OF GENESEE COUNTY. 

Richard M. Stoddard. . .April 4, 1803 Worthy L. Churchill Nov., 1822 

Benjamin Barton March 17, 1807 W. R. Thompson Nov., 1825 

Asher Bates Feb. 4, 1808 John Wilder Nov., 1828 

Nathan Marvin March 7, 1810 Earl Kidder Feb., 1831 

Aaron Van Cleve Feb. 21, 1811 John A. McElwain Nov., 1831 

Parmenio Adams March 16, 1815 Nathan Townsend Nov., 1833 

William Sheldon March 1, 1816 John Wilder Nov., 1837 

Parmenio Adams March 16, 1818 Ruftts Robertson Nov., 1840 

Worthy L. Churchill... Feb. 12, 1821 

SHERIFFS OF WYOMING COUNTY. 

William R. Groger June, 1841 Newcomb Demary, Jr Nov., 1855 

Roswell Gardner Nov., 1843 Mills L. Rice Nov., 1858 

Abraham Smith Nov., 1846 William D. Miner Nov., 1861 

Timothv II. Buxton Nov., 1849 John Ren wick Nov., 1864 

Jairus Moffett Nov., 1852 William AV. Davis Nov., 1867 

CLERKS OF GENESEE COUNTY. 

James W. Stevens April 4, 1803 Ralph Coffin Nov., 1825 

Josiah Babcock March 7, 1810 David C. Miller Nov., 1828 

Simeon Cumings Feb. 21, 1811 Timothy Fitch Nov., 1831 

John Z. Ross March 1, 1816 Timothy Fitch Nov., 1834 

Simeon Cumings March 16, 1818 Horace U. Soper Nov., 1837 

Chauncey L. Sheldon ..Feb. 14, 1821 Horace U. Soper Nov., 1840 

Chauncey L. Sheldon Nov., 1S22 



COUNTY OFFICERS. 379 

CLERKS OF WYOMING COUNTY. 

Nelson Wolcott June, 1841 John H. Bailey Nov., 1855 

Walter Howard Nov., 1843 Charles O. Shepard Nov., 1858 

Abel Webster Nov., 1846 Charles W. Bailey Nov., 1861 

Ransom B. Crippen Nov., 1849 Ransom A. Crippen Nov., 1864 

Nathan P. Currier Nov., 1852 John P. Robinson Nov., 1867 

SURROGATES OF GENESEE COUNTY. 

Jeremiah Munson April 2, 1804 Andrew A. Ellicott... April 17, 1815 

RichardSmith April 8, 1805 EbenezerMix Feb. 14, 1821 

Andrew A. Ellicott... March 23, 1811 Harvey Putnam May 20, 1840 

Richard Smith March 10, 1812 Timothy Fitch May 25, 1841 

SURROGATES OF WYOMING COTNTY. 

Harvey Putnam March 25, 1841 William Mitchell Jan. 14, 1843 

Surrogates, prior to the adoption of the Constitution of 1846, were appointed 
in the same manner as Judges. By that constitution, the duties of Surrogate, 
in counties whose population does not exceed 40,000, are devolved upon the 
County Judge. In counties having a larger population, a Surrogate is elected. 

TREASURERS OF WYOMING CONNTY. 

County Treasurers, formerly appointed by the Boards of Supervisors, are, 
under the Constitution of 1846, elected by the people for three years, at the 
general election. The first election for Treasurers took place in November, 
1848. 

Truman Lewis 1841 Peter Caner, appointed to fill va- 

William Bingham 1842 cancy Sept. 18, 1850 

William Bingham 1843 John A. McElwain 1850 

Roswell Gould 1844 Roswell Gould 1853 

Roswell Gould 1845 Lloyd A. Hayward 1856 

John A. McElwain 1846 Lloyd A. Hayward 1859 

John A. McElwain 1847 Leonard W. Smith 1862 

Samuel S. Blanchard 1848 Leonard W. Smith 1865 

Harwood A. Dudley 1868 

FIRST JUDGES OF GENESEE COUNTY. 

Under the first Constitution, all Judges were appointed by the Council of 
Appointment. Under the Constitution of 1821, they were appointed by the 
Governor and Senate for the term of five years. Under the Constitution of 
1846, a County Judge is elected for four years in each county, except New York. 

Joseph Ellicott March 22, 1806 William H. Tisdale Jan. 18, 1827 

Ezra Piatt June 9, 1807 Isaac Wilson Feb. 2, 1830 

John H. Jones June 10, 1812 Phineas L. Tracy Jan. 23, 1841 

John Z. Ross Feb. 10, 1823 

FIRST JUDGES OF WYOMING COUNTY. 

Paul Richards May 25, 1841 Harlow L. Comstock Nov. 1855 

John B. Skinner May 25, 1846 Harlow L. Comstock Nov. 1859 

W. Riley Smith June, 1847 Harlow L. Comstock Nov. 1863 

Marvin Trail Nov. 1851 Byron Healy Nov. 1867 

ASSOCIATE JUDGES. 

Under the Constitution of 1821, in force when Wyoming county was formed, 
the County Court was composed of a First Judge and four Associate Judges, 
appointed by the Governor and Senate. Below are the names of Associate 
Judges appointed for this county before the Constitution of 1846 went into 



3S0 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

effect, (Jan. 1, 1847.) The dates show the days when they took the oath of 
office. 

Alonzo B. Rose June 29, 1841 Dr. Augustus Frank May 3, 1842 

Joseph Johnson Aug. 28, 1841 (In place of Johnson, resigned.) 

Peter Patterson June 21, 1841 Nyrum Reynolds Feb. 19, 1845 

James Sprague, 2d June 21, 1845 Moseley Stoddard Feb. 25, 1845 

By the Constitution of 184G, the office of Associate Judge, by that name, was 
abolished. Two persons are chosen at the general election, from the Justices 
of the Peace in the county, who sit with the Presiding Judge. 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS. 

By an act passed in 1801, the office of District Attorney was created, though 
not as yet in every county. In 1818, each county was made a separate district. 
Under the Constitution of 1821, District Attorneys were appointed by the 
Court of General Sessions in each county. Since 1846, they have been elected. 
Before 1821 they were appointed by the Council of Appointment. 

GENESEE COrXTY. 

Daniel D. Brown June 11, 1818 Daniel H. Chandler 1834 

Heman J. Redtield Feb. 14, 1831 Isaac A. Yerplanck 1838 

Levi Runisey 1829 

WYOMING COTJNTY. 

W. Riley Smith June 21, 1841 Thomas Corlett Nov. 1859 

James R. Doolittle June, 1847 Byron Healy Nov. 1865 

Harlow L. Comstock Nov. 1850 Elbert E. Farman Nov. 1868 

F. C. D. McKay Jan. 12, 1856 

MEMBERS OF ASSEMBLY FROM WYOMING COUNTY. 

The years in which they loere elected, and the towns in which they resided 

when elected. 

1841 Eleazar Baldwin Sheldon 1853 Alonzo B. Rose Castile 

John W. Brownsou. Gainesville 1854 John C. Paine Covington 

1842 Eleazar Baldwin Sheldon 1855 John C. Paine Covington 

Truman Benedict Perry 1856 Cyril Bawson Eagle 

1843 Truman Benedict Perry 1857 Cyril Rawson Eagle 

Leverett Spring China 1858 Elias C. Holt Bennington 

1844 Leverett Spring China 1859 Geo. G. Hoskins.. Bennington 

Andrew W. Young Warsaw 1860 John J. Doolittle. Wetherslield 

1845 Andrew W. Young Warsaw 1861 Lucius Peck Java 

Arden Woodruff Sheldon 1862 Byron Healy Warsaw 

1846 Arden Woodruff Sheldon 1 863 Byron Healy Warsaw 

1847 PaulRichards Orangeville 1864 Geo. G. Hoskins.. Bennington 

1848 PaulRichards Orangeville 1865 Geo. G. Hoskins.. Bennington 

1849 James Sprague Covington 1866 William Bristol Gainesville 

1850 Wolcott J. Humphrey. Sheldon 1867 William Bristol ...Gainesville 

1851 Wolcott J. Humphrey. Sheldon 1868 Marcus A. Hull Pike 

1852 Alonzo B. Rose Castile 

SENATORS FROM WYOMING COUNTY, 
Elected for the Senatorial District of which this county is apart. 

The term of office of Senator, under the Constitution of 1821, was four years, 
and one Senator was chosen in each of the eight senatorial districts every year. 
Under the Constitution of 1846, one senator is chosen every two years in each 
of the thirty-two senatorial districts. 

1842 Harvey Putnam, 4 yrs Attica 1855 John B. Halsted, 4 yrs. ..Castile 

1S47 J.W. Brownson, 2y. .Gainesville 1865 W. J. Humphrey, 4yrs. .Warsaw 
1851 John A. McElwain, 2 y. .Warsaw 



CONGRESSMEN AND DELEGATES. 381 



MEMBERS OF CONGRESS, 

Residing at the time of their election within the Congressional District 
of which Wyoming was a part. 

A " Congress," so called, commences tbe 4th of March next after the elec- 
tion of Representatives, and ends the 3d ol March the second year thereafter. 
The numbers of the years show the beginning and the end of the term of office, 
and not the time of election. 

15th Congress, 1817 — 1819 Benjamin Ellicott. Batavia. 
Parmenio Adams, Batavia. 
Parmenio Adams, Batavia. 
Phineas L. Tracy, Batavia. 
Phineas L. Tracy, Batavia. 
Phineas L. Tracy, Batavia. 
George \V. Lay, Batavia. 
George W. Lay, Batavia. 
William Patterson, "Warsaw.* 
Seth M. Gates, Le Roy. 
Seth M. Gates, Le Roy. 
Albert Smith, Batavia. 
Albert Smith, Batavia. 
Harvey Putnam, Attica. 
Harvey Putnam, Attica. 
Augustus P. Hascall, Le Roy. 
Benjamin Pringle, Batavia. 
Benjamin Pringle, Batavia. 
Judson W. Sherman, Angelica. 
Augustus Frank, Warsaw. 
Augustus Frank, Warsaw. 
Augustus Frank, Warsaw. 
Burt Van Horn, Lockport. 
Burt Van Horn, Lockport. 
John Fisher, Batavia. 

MEMBERS OF CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTIONS 
From the Town of Warsaw. 

Elizur Webster, a Delegate from Genesee County, in the Convention for 
revising the Constitution of New York in the year 1821. 

Andrew W. Young, the Delegate from Wyoming County, in the Conven- 
tion of 1846. 

Augustus Frank and William H. Merrill, Delegates in the Convention 
of 1S67. 

Besides the number of Delegates usually elected to such Conventions, equal 
to the number of Members of Assembly, (128,) there were chosen, by general 
ticket, thirty-two Delegates of the State at large, corresponding in number to 
the number of State Senators. Mr. Merrill was nominated as one of the local 
delegates, and Mr. Frank as one of the delegates at large, without regard to 
location. Thus Warsaw happened to furnish two of the Delegates to the last 
Convention. 

* Mr Patterson died August, 1838. Harvey Putnam was chosen for the unexpired 
year of the term. 



18th 


do 


1823- 


-1825 


19th 


do 


1825- 


-1827 


20th 


do 


1827- 


-1829 


21st 


do 


1829- 


-1831 


22d 


do 


1831- 


-1833 


23d 


do 


1833- 


-1835 


24th 


do 


1835- 


-1S37 


25th 


do 


1837- 


-1839 


26th 


do 


1839- 


-1841 


27th 


do 


1841- 


-1843 


28th 


do 


1843- 


-1845 


29th 


do 


1845- 


-1847 


30th 


do 


1847- 


-1849 


31st 


do 


1849- 


-1851 


32d 


do 


1851- 


-1853 


33d 


do 


1853- 


-1855 


34th 


do 


1855- 


-1857 


35th 


do 


1857- 


-1859 


36th 


do 


1859- 


-1861 


37th 


do 


1861- 


-1863 


38th 


do 


1863- 


-1865 


39th 


do 


1865- 


-1867 


40 th 


do 


1867- 


-1869 


41st 


do 


1869- 


-1871 



382 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



TOWN OFFICERS. 

It was our purpose to give a full list of town officers from the organization 
of the town in 1808. The town records down to 1830, inclusive, being lost, 
a complete list can not be given, except of Supervisors and Justices of the 
Peace. The names of these officers from 1808 to 1830, were obtained from the 
records of Genesee County. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

Under the Constitution of 1777, Justices of the Peace, as well as all the 
higher Judicial officers, were appointed by the Council of Appointment. By 
the Constitution of 1821, the Board of Supervisors were required to nominate, 
at their annual meeting, men for the office of justice in each town, and the 
Judges of the County Court were also required to make such nomination. If 
their nominations agreed, the persons -thus nominated were duly declared 
elected. In case of disagreement, the choice was to be made from the two by 
the Governor. This mode did not prove satisfactory; and at the general elec- 
tion in November, 1826, an amendment of the constitution was adopted, mak- 
ing the office elective. 

The following are the names of persons who have held the office of justice in 
this town. After the office became elective, justices, though elected at the town 
meetings, did not go into office until the 1st of January following: 

1806 March 22, Elizur Webster. 

1808 April 4, Elizur Webster. 

1808 Jotham Curtis. 

1809 March 11, William Bristol. 

1810 March 15, Elkanah Day. r 

1811 March 23, William Bristol, Jotham CurtisJ 

1812 March 10, Samuel McWhorter, Daniel Knapp, George W. Fox. 

1813 March 30, Elizur Webster. Judge and Justice of the Peace. 

1813 March 30, Edward Putnam. 

1814 April 7, Elizur Webster, Judge and Justice of the Peace. 

1814 April 7, Samuel Hough, Edward Putnam, Daniel Knapp. 

1815 March 16, Elizur Webster, Judge and Justice of the Peace. 
1815 March 16, Samuel Hough, Samuel McWhorter, Daniel Knapp. 

1818 Samuel Hough, Samuel McAVhorter, Daniel Knapp, James Webster. 

1819 Edward Putnam. 

1820 Zera Tanner, Elizur Webster. 

1821 Daniel Knapp, Mayhew Safford, Chauncey Sheldon, Shubael Goodspeed. 
1823 Samuel McWhorter, Daniel Knapp, Shubael Goodspeed, Lyman Morris, 

on nomination of the supervisors and judges. The two bodies having 
disagreed on James Crocker and Mr. Morris, the latter was appointed 
by the Governor. 

There were several elections by the people before our record of town elections 
commences. Justices were elected for four years. Some of them, however, did 
not serve a full term, as will be seen from elections to till vacancies. 

JUSTICES ELECTED. 



1830 


James Crocker. 


1837 


Elias R. Bascom. 


1831 


George W. Morris. 


1838 


William Webster, 


1832 


Orson Hough. 




Alanson Holly. 


1833 


James Crocker. 


1839 


George W. Morris. 


1834 


William Webster. 


1840 


William K. Crooks 


1835 


Silas Kidder. 


1841 


William Buxton. 


1836 


Timothy Darling, 


1842 


William Webster. 




George W. Morris. 


1843 


Jacob W. Knapp. 



TOWN OFFICERS. 



3S3 



1844 


Roswell Gould. 


185S 


1845 


Israel Hodge. 


1859 


1846 


Alonzo Choate. 


I860 


1847 


Samuel Fisher, 2d. 


1861 


1848 


Leonard W. Smith. 


1862 


1849 


Israel Hodge. 


1862 


1850 


Alonzo Choate. 


1863 


1851 


Samuel Fisher, 2d. 




1852 


Leonard W. Smith. 


1*64 


1853 


Jacob W. Knapp, 


1865 




J. W. Knapp, (vacancy.) 


1866 


1854 


Philander Truesdell. 




1855 


Ransom B. Crippen. 


1867 


1856 


Erastus D. Day. 


1868 


1857 


Leonard W. Smith. 

CT- 


1869 
DT7r)TrTcr» 


The intervals between the successive dates 






by each. 


1808 


Elizur Webster. 


1844 


1815 


Chauncey L. Sheldon. 


1S45 


1817 


Solomon Morris, Jun. 


1847 


1S24 


Samuel McWhorter. 


1S48 


1S26 


Nehemiah Pai'k, Jun. 


1849 


1S27 


Solomon Morris, Jun. 


1850 


1830 


Samuel McWhorter. 


1851 


1831 


Paul Richards. 


1852 


1832 


Elijah Norton. 


1S54 


1833 


Paul Richards. 


1856 


1S34 


John Wilder. 


1857 


1S35 


John A. McEhvain. 


1858 


1837 


John Wilder. 


1S60 


1838 


Nehemiah Park, Jun. 


1864 


1839 


Solomon Morris, Jun. 


1865 


1840 


Elijah Norton. 


1866 


1841 


Allen Fargo. 


1867 


1842 


Elijah Norton. 


1868 



Philander Truesdell. 

Jacob W. Knapp. 

Charles W. Bailey. 

Gideon H. Jenkins. 

Philander Truesdell. 

Myron E. Bartlett, (vacancy.) 

Erastus D. Day. 

Philander Truesdell, (vacancy.) 

Leonard W. Smith. 

Jacob W. Knapp. 

Philander Truesdell. 

Lawrence Mix, (vacancy. ) 

Lawrence Mix. 

Daniel N. Jincks. 

Jacob W. Knapp. 



show the number of years served 



John Wilder. 
William Webster. 
Andrew W. Young. 
Ashley Manville. 
Timothy H. Buxton. 
Abel Webster. 
Allen Fargo. 
Chauncey C. Buxton. 
Alonzo Choate. 
Jacob W. Knapp. 
Alonzo W. Wood. 
Abel Webster. 
Henry Garretsee. 
Roswell Gould. 
( Hdeon H. Jenkins. 
William D. Miner. 
Roswell Gould. 
John W. Sprague. 

TOWN CLERKS. 

Our preserved records commence with the year 1831. The first Town Clerk 
is stated from the recollection of the old settlers. 



1808 
1831 
1832 
1833 
1834 
1835 
1836 
1838 
1839 
1841 
1842 
1844 
1846 



1S0S 



1S31 



Samuel McWhorter. 
Andrew W. Young. 
Almon Stevens. 
Abner A. Fisher. 
Orson Hough. 
Abner A. Fisher. 
Alanson Holly. 
Edward Cornwall. 
Elias R. Bascom. 
Nathaniel D. Fisher. 
Linus W. Thayer. 
Andrew G. Hammond. 
Chauncey C. Gates. 



Richard Bristol. Gideon T. Jenkins, Ebcnezer Wilson, Jun. 

[Records of the next 22 years lost.] 
William Webster, Amos M. Barnett, Allen Fargo. 



1847 


Eugene Z. Stow. 


1848 


Ransom S. Watson. 


1849 


Francis F. Fargo. 


1852 


Benjamin F. Fargo, 


1853 


Samuel A. Murray. 


1855 


Erastus D. Day. 


1856 


Samuel A. Murray. 


1857 


Benjamin F. Fargo. 


1859 


Samuel A. Murray. 


1860 


N. Jackson Morris. 


1862 


Wales Cheney. 


1S69 


Daniel N. Jincks. 


SESSORS. ' 



3S4 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



1832 Nehemiah Park. Jun., Calvin Runisey, Lyman Morris. 

1833 Abial Lathrop. Jun., Amos M. Barnett, Silas Kidder. 
1831 Andrew Blackman, Amos M. Barnett, Allen Fargo. 

1835 Andrew Blackman, Walter M. Hatch. 

1836 Andrew Blackman, Walter M. Hatch, John Windsor. 

1837 John Wilder, Walter M. Hatch, George W. Morris. 

1838 William Webster, Walter M. Hatch, George W. Morris. 

1839 Lyman Morris, Jacob Tillou, Jonas Cutting. 

1 840 Lyman Morris, Ashley Manville, Allen Fargo. 

1841 John A. McElwain, Ashley Manville, Edwin Painter. 

1842 Ashley Manville, Newbury Bronson, Cyrus Tanner. 
•1843 William Walker, Willard T. Warner, Cyrus Tanner. 
1S44 Edmund Buck, Willard T. Warner, Allen Fargo. 

1845 Edmund Buck, John A. McElwain. Palmer Fargo. 

1846 Welcom Arnold, for 1 year, Ashley Manville, 2 years, Timothy H. Bux- 

ton, 3 years. Hereafter one Assessor to go out and one to be elected 
every year. 

1847 Welcom Arnold. 1859 Edwin Painter. 
1S48 Isaac Matthews. 1860 Benjamin Bishop. 

1849 Allen Fargo. 1861 

1850 Henry Cummings. 1862 [not recorded.] 

1851 Walter M. Hatch. 1863 Benjamin Bishop. 

1852 Isaac C. Bronson. 1864 De Witt Aikin. 

1853 Philander Truesdell. 1865 Simeon Hoi ton. 
1S54 Walter M. Hatch. 1866 Benjamin Bishop. 

1855 Jacob Wiggins, Samuel Holton, (vac.) 

1856 Edwin Painter. 1867 Silvanus E. Brady. 

1857 Benjamin Bishop. Timothy H. Buxton, (vac. ) 
Willard T. Warner, (vac.) 1868 J. Ashley McCulloch. 

1858 Willard T. Warner. ' 1869 Ormus Marshall. 

COLLECTORS. 

1816 Jonas Cutting. 1 or 2 years. 1851 Simeon Holton. 

1823 John Truesdell, 5 years. 1852 G. H. Truesdell. 

1828 Elijah Norton, 2 years. 1852 John C. Holcomb. 

1831 Elijah Norton. 1854 Frederick Van Liew. 

1832 William Bingham. 1855 Gardner B. Johnson. 

1833 Ackley Carter. 1 856 Miles H. Morris. 

1834 Samuel Hard. 1857 Chester A. Cole. 
1839 Chauncey Z. Cutting. 1859 Elon G. Truesdell. 

1841 Alonzo Choate. 1860 Stephens Whitcher. 

1842 Chauncey Z. Cutting. 1862 Allen Y. Breck. 
1845 Philander Truesdell. 1864 Gardner B. Johnson. 
1847 Erasmus D. Carpenter. 1866 S. Hopkins Salisbury. 

" Eli Dibble, (app'd to till vac.) 1867 David P. Rood. 

1S48 Eli Dibble. 1868 Robert Barnett, Jr. 

1849 Allen Y. Breck. 1S69 James Wilkin. 

COMMISSIONERS OF HIGHWAYS. 

1831 David Ensign, Richard Jackson, Daniel H. Throop. 

1832 Samuel McWhorter, Cyrus Tanner, Daniel H. Throop. 

1833 Andrew Blackman, Allen Fargo, Richard Jackson. 

1834 Isaac N. Phelps, John Truesdell, Noah Fisk. 

1835 Isaac N. Phelps, Cyrus Tanner, Allen Fargo. 

1836 William Webster, Benjamin Bishop, Allen Fargo. 

1837 Benjamin Bishop, Allen Fargo, Elijah Norton. 

1838 Ashley Manville, John A. McElwain, Oliver C. Chapman. 

1839 John A. McElwain, Samuel Wilson, Cyrus Tanner. 

1840 John A. McElwain, Willard T. Warner, Samuel Wilson. 

1841 John A. McElwain, Otis F. Carpenter. Edmund Buck. 

1842 Jacob Wiggins, Hezekiah Lincoln, Silas C. Fargo. 



Edmund Buck. 




1859 


John A. McElwain. 




I860 


Samuel L. Kinney. 




1861 


Francis Luce. 




' 1862 


Welcom Arnold. 




1863 


Edward Painter. 




1864 


Hiram Stearns. 






Merrick Brigham. 






Samuel L. Kinney, 


(to fill vac 


•) 


Elijah W. Andrews. 




1867 


Luther Foster. 




1868 


William F. Woodward. 


1869 


Frank Miller. 







TOWN OFFICERS. 385 

Jacob W'iggins, Hezekiah Lincoln. Silas C. Fargo. 

Ashley Manville, Walter M. Hatch, Samuel Fisher, 2d. 

Alvah Bartholomew, Walter M. Hatch, Samuel Fisher, 2d. 

Edmund Buck, 1 year, Samuel-Fisher, 2 years, Palmer Fargo, 3 years. 
[Hereafter one to be elected every year for 3 years.] 

Luther Foster. 
Robert R. Munger. 
Frank Miller. 
Hiram Stearns. 
Robert R. Munger. 
Warren Thorp. ***" 

[Hereafter none to be elected un- 
til after 3 years ; then one eve- 
ry year for one year only.] 
Robert R. Munger. 
Edmund Buck. 
Benjamin Bishop. 

OVERSEERS OF THE POOR. 

William Patterson, 1842 Stephen Hatch, 

Samuel Salisbury. Jonas Cutting. 

Jonas Cutting, 1843 Stephen Hatch, 

Lyman Morris. David Fargo, 

William Webster, 1845 David Fargo, 

Sylvester Perkins. George Stearns. 

Anson A. Perkins, [After 1846, but one elected.] 

David Fargo. 1847 George Stearns. 

David Fargo, 18-19 George W. Morris. 

Silas C. Fargo. 1850 George Stearns. 

David Fargo, 1852 Edmund Buck. 

W T illiam Webster. 1853 Silas C. Fargo. 

William Webster, 1854 Edmund Buck. 

William Walker. 1855 Elijah Norton. 

William G. Whitney, 1856 Elijah Chamberlain, Jun. 

Silas C. Fargo. 1857 Edmund Buck. 

David Fargo, 1863 Rollin R. Webster. 

Anson A. Perkins. 1869 John Truesdell. 

COMMISSIONERS OF COMMON SCHOOLS. 

1831 Abial Lathrop, Jun., Horace Hollister, Paul Richards. 

1832 Abial Lathrop, Jun., William Walker, William G. Whitney. 

1833 William Patterson, Horace Hollister, Noah Fisk. 

1834 Horace Hollister, Arden Woodruff, Nathaniel Moss. 

1835 Broughton W. Crane, William Patterson, Benjamin Jewett. 

1837 Broughton W. Crane, Charles J. Judd, Alanson Holly. 

1838 Orson Hough, Alanson Holly. 

1839 Arden Woodruff, Alanson Holly, Charles W. Belden. 

1840 Peter Caner, George W. Morris, Cyrus Tanner. 

1841 Broughton W. Crane, Alanson Holly, Benjamin Bishop. 

1842 Luther Foster, Jun., Samuel Wilson, Alanson Holly. 

1843 Luther Foster, Jun., James R. Doolittle, Francis S. Bristol. 

[Office abolished.] 

INSPECTORS OF COMMON SCHOOLS. 

1831 James Crocker, Seth S. Ransom, Andrew W. Young. 

1832 Almon Stevens, Isaac C. Bronson, Joshua H. Darling. 

1833 Ethan E. Bartlett, Alden C. Keith, James Crocker. 

1834 Ethan E. Bartlett, Alden C. Keith, Joshua H. Darling. 

1835 Not recorded. 

25 



■386 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

1836 Andrew W. Young, Arden Woodruff, Alanson Holly. 

.1837 Arden Woodruff, Alanson Holly, Timothy Darling. 

1838 Andrew W. Young, Alanson Holly, Charles J. Judd. 

1839 Charles W. Belden, Alanson Holly, Thomas P. Baldwin. 

1840 Thomas P. Baldwin, Nathan Raymond, Daniel H. Gibson. 

1841 Alanson Holly, Sanford L. Bough ton, Joab Streeter. 

1842 James R. Doolittle, Daniel H. Gibson. 

1843 Rowley Morris, Daniel H. Gibson. 

[Offices of Commissioners and Inspectors of Common Schools abolished, and 
the office of Town Superintendent substituted.] 

SUPERINTENDENTS OF COMMON SCHOOLS. 

1X44 Alanson Holly. 1852 Harlow L. Comstock. 

1847 Francis F. Fargo. 1854 Andrew W. Young. 

1848 Alanson Holly. [Office abolished, and duties de- 
tenu extended to 2 years.] vol ved upon District Commis- 

1850 Charles J. Judd. sioners.] 

CONSTABLES. 

1831 Elijah Norton, John A. McElwain, Roswell Gould. 

1832 David Seymour, Harry J. Parker. William Bingham. 

1833 Ackley Carter. Samuel Hard, Daniel W. Bennet. 

1834 Harry J. Parker, Samuel Hard, AldeV Keith, Jun. 

1835 Samuel Hard, Abel Webster, Eber Inglesby. 

1836 Samuel Hard, Eber Inglesby, Elizur Webst'er. Jun. 

1837 Samuel Hard, Eber Inglesby, Ethel V. Bronson. 

1838 Samuel Hard, Eber Inglesby, Corbin Allen. 

1839 Cbauncey Z. Cutting, Martin Kingsley, Hiram C. Smith. 

1840 Channcey Z. Cutting, Daniel II. Gibson, Robert M. Buck. 

1841 Alonzo Choate, Erasmus I). Carpenter, Samuel Fisher. 

1842 Cbauncey Z. Cutting, Erasmus D. Carpenter, Allen D. Fargo. 

1813 ChaunceyZ. Cutting, Allen D. Fargo, Hiram E. Adams. 

1814 Cbauncey Z. Cutting, Philander Truesdell, David Shedd. 

1845 Philander Truesdell, Erasmus D. Carpenter, Robert M. Buck. 

1846 Philander Truesdell. Erasmus D. Carpenter. William Morris. 

1847 David M. Fargo, Peter R. Warren, Eli Dibble. 

1848 Eli Dibble, Albert Lincoln, Peter R. Warren. 
ISJ'.i Allen Y. Breck, Albert Lincoln, John F. Clark. 

1850 John M. Fargo, Albert Lincoln, John C. Holcomb. 

1851 Simeon Holton, John C. Holcomb, George H. Truesdell. 

1 852 George H. Truesdell, John C. Holcomb, John M. Fargo. 

1853 John C. Holcomb, Albert Lincoln, Frederick Van Liew. 

1854 Frederick Van Liew, Jeremiah Ensign, Luke Putnam, Allen D. Fargo. 

Samuel A. Ban-ass. 

1855 Frederick Van Liew, Jeremiah Ensign, John C. Holcomb, Ira N. Hurd. 

Gardner B. Johnson. 
185G Frederick Van Liew, Elon G. Truesdell, Henry S. Young. John C. 
Holcomb. Lafayette Stearns. 

1857 Chester A. Cole, William F. Morris, Jacob Sherwin, Moses Chandler. 

Elon G. Truesdell. 

1858 Chester A. Cole, Jacob Sherwin, Elon G. Truesdell, Samuel Fluker, 

George W. Seeley. 
1S59 Elon G. Truesdell," Frederick Van Liew, Orville B. Wiggins, Robert 

M. Buck. Stephens Whitcher. 
1850 Stephens Whitcher, Myron E. Bartlett, Nelson Slocum, Jacob Sherwin, 

Isaac T. Carr. 

1861 Stephens Whitcher, William II. II. Fargo, William J. Cochran, Mills 

Webster, Alfred W. Hoyt. 

1862 Wm. H. H. Fargo. James W. Cochran, Gardner B. Johnson, Mills 

Webster, Allen Y. Breck. 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 



387 



1863 Allen Y. Breck, Gardner B. Johnson, Mills Webster, George W. Root. 

Jacob Sherwin. 

1864 Gardner B. Johnson, Mills Webster, Byron L. Stearns, Ransom S. 

Hatch, George W. Root. 

1865 Gardner B. Johnson, Byron L. Stearns, Almon Cnmmings, William 

M. Stearns, Henry Hovey. 

1866 S. Hopkins Salisbury, Gardner B. Johnson, Byron L. Stearns, Eugene 

Stearns. 

1867 David P. Rood, Edwin G. Truesdell, S. Hopkins Salisbury, Gardner 

B. Johnson, George W. Root. 

1868 George W. Root, Robert Barnett, Jun., Dewitt C. Munger, Edwin G. 

Truesdell, George Scranton. 

1869 George W. Root. S. Hopkins Salisbury, Robert Barnett, Jr., Edwin G. 

Truesdell, William W. Stearns. 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 

Names of Persons engaged in the several Occupations, Professional and 
Mechanical, in Warsaw, January 1st, 1869. 



Academy. 
Charles H. Dann, Principal. 

Artist. 
Miss Lizzie Slade. 

Bank. 
National Bank of Wyoming Co. 
Joshua H. Darling, President, 
Horace A. Metcalf, Cashier. 

Barber. 
William Burghart. 

Barrel Manufacture us. 
R. T. Howard & Co. 
Baker. 
Sylvester B. Norton. 

Blacksmiths. 
T. H. Buxton & Co.. 
Knapp, Fullington & Co.. 
J. Hohenstein, 
Joseph Turner, 
Almon Wilcox. 

BOARDING-HOUSE. 

Mrs. E. M. Lemon. 

Boot and Shoe Stores. 
Edwin A. Miller, 
R. Justison, 
John Curry, 
Smith cfe Hurlburt. 

Bookseller. 
Lewis E. Walker. 

Biuck Manufacturers. 
Ethan E. Bartlett. 
Farman cfc Frank. 



Broom Manufacturers. 
Calvin L. Fuller. 

Builders. 
James E. Ketchum, 
Patterson Manufacturing Co., 
Eli W. Bradish. 

Cabinet Makers. 
Edward C. Shattuck, 
Moses S. Osgood, 
J. Spencer Bartlett. 

Carpenters. 
James E. Ketchum, 
William Barber, 
Eli W. Bradish, 
J. Lee Chapman, 
R. B. Clark, 
C. Paddock Hurd, 

E. Church. 

Albert G. Davidson, 
James J. Davidson, 

F. L. Haine, 

M. H. McClintock, 
M. M. McConnell, 
Seth Moore, 
James Richards, 
George Webber, 
Charles Whittam. 

Carriage Makers. 
T. H. Buxton & Co., 
Knapp, Fullington & Co. 
Clergymen. 
Joseph E. Nassau, Presbyterian, 
Edwin E. Williams, Congregational. 
0. S. Chamberlain, Methodist, 
J. V. Stryker, Episcopal, 
C. A. Wiessmann, German Prot. 



3S8 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Clerks. 
Chauncey C. Gates, 
Samuel A. Murray, 
Charles L. Seaver, 
0. W. Emery, 
Phineas D. Fisher, 
C. E. Dewey, 
William C. Buxton, 
Henry Garretsee, Jun., 
M. C. Joiner, 
Thomas Kerr, 
George W. Lemon, 
George McCagg, 
John W. Montgomery, 
II. E. Pond, 
II. N. Silver. 

Clothing Stores. 
J. A. Hubbell, 
William W. Holmes, 
Oettinger & Levi, 
A. Oppenheimer. 

Cooper. 
Asa Hunt. 

County Clerk. 
J. P. Robinson, 
Charles W. Bailey, Deputy Clerk. 

County Judge and Surrogate. 
Byron Healy. 

County Treasurer. 
Harwood A. Dudley. 

Crockery Store. 
Nehemiah Park. 

Dentists. 
W. C Barrett, 
Gates & Lord. 

District Attorney. 
Elbert E. Farman. 

Dress Maker. 
Eliza Barber. 

Druggists. 
Brown cfc Matthews, 
Buxton & Lewis, 
James O. McClure. 

Editors. 
William H. Merrill, 
John Ransom. 

Foundry. 
Henry Garretsee. 

Gardener. 
Thomas O'Maley. 

Grist-Mills. 
John W. Sprague, ■ 
C. K. & A. Brown, 
Samuel J. Miinger. 



Grocers. 

Erasmus D. Carpenter, 
Benjamin F. Fargo, 
Handy & Lamberson, 
John W. Hawley, 
S. Norris Whitlock. 

Hardware Stores. 
Henry Garretsee, 
Morris & Lewis. 
H. W. Mann & Son. 

Harness Makers. 

L. E. Clement, 
H. Howe, 
Richard M. Tunks, 
Barzillai Barnard. 

Horticulturist. 
Wales Cheney. 

Hotels. 
W. T. & L. C. Smith, 
Jasper Keeney, 
J. II. Wilkin, 
E. Hayward. 

Insurance Agents. 
Ransom A. Crippen, 

D. N. Jincks. 

Lawyers. 

L. W. & L. L. Thayer, 
Byron Healy, 
Elbert E. Farman, 
Leonard W. Smith, 
Charles W. Bailey, 
Lloyd A. Hayward, 
Myron E. Bartlett, 
A. Harrington. 

Livery Stable. 
Moses Rowe. 

Lumber Yard. 
Patterson Manufacturing Comp any 

Machinists. 
Ira N. Hard, 
C. Paddock Hurd, 

E. R. Benson. 

Map-Roller Factory. 
Sheldon & Martin. 

Marble Works. 
Thomas Agar. 

Masons. 
Simeon Hoi ton, 
Alson Hurlbut & Sons, 
Hugh Curry, 
Orrin Fisk, 
Alfred W. Hoyt, 
Norman Spencer, 
Henry Bush. 



BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 



389 



Meat Markets. 

D. C. Barnard, 
Agar & Burr, 
John McGee. 

Merchants, (Dry Goods.) 

A. & G. W. Frank, 
Thomas S. Glover, 
A. & S. D. Purely. 

Milk Dealer. 
Henry McElwain. 

Milliners. 
Miss E. Iago, 
Miss E. Conable & Co., 
Mrs. Cornelius Clow, 
Mrs. Harvey Tuttle. 

Newspapers. 

Western New Yorker, 
Wyoming Democrat, 
Masonic Tidings. 

Painters. 

Charles A. Williams, 
J. W. Hill, 

C. Kimball, 
James H. Wing, 
Charles C. Kline. 

Physicians. 
Milan Baker, 
Burt B. Roberts, 
J. C. Pitts, 
John C. Tibbitts, 

D. A. Maynard, 
O. B. Adams. 

Photographer. 
C. W. Buell. 

Planing Mill. 
Patterson Manufacturing Company. 

Postmaster. 
Seth M. Gates. 



Printers. 
Harwood A. Dudley, 
John P. Morse, 
George N. Bassett. 

Produce Dealers. 
Hibbard <fe Bristol. 

Publishers. 
Dudley & Merrill, 
John Ransom. 

Real Estate Agents. 
Ransom A. Crippen, 
Maurice R. Quackenbush. 

Saw-Mills. 
Patterson Manufacturing Company, 
Leonard L. Martin, 
Ira Wilcox. 

Sheriff. 
William W. Davis, 
William D. Miner, Deputy. 

Shoemakers. 
G. W. Thomas, 
Harvey Tuttle, 
Thomas Askin. 

Tailors. 
Thomas Holmes, 
John Canty, 
James Brown. 

Tanner. 
S. B. Humphrey. 

Telegraph Operator. 
Albert Brown. 

U. S. Assistant Assessor. 
Lawrence Mix. 

Watches and Jewelry. 
J. A. Main, 
L. B. Walker. 

Wood Turner. 
Hiram E. Adams. 



390 



HISTOKY OF WAKSAW. 



CENSUS STATISTICS. 

1830 Population of Warsaw,.. 2, 474 1855 Population of "Warsaw,. .2,794 

1835 " " ..2,686 1860 " " ..2,958 

1840 « " ..2,841 1865 Males, 1,399, 

1845 " " ..2,659 Females 1.432, 

1850 " " ..2,654 Total, 2,831 

The village has steadily increased. The farming population of the town has 
decreased, owing to constant removals West; many farmers selling their lauds 
to their more wealthy neighbors. 



Acres of land improved, 1865, 17,144 

" " unimproved, 4,569 

Number of dwellings, 592 

Families, 604 

Children taught in the schools, 724 

Horses and Cattle 2,250 

Neat cattle, other than cows, . . 572 

Cows, 1,008 

Swine, 876 

Sheep and Lambs, 16, 058 

Bushels of "Winter Wheat, 2,032 



Bushels of Spring Wheat, 49,080 

Tons of Hay, 6,140 

Bushels of Potatoes, 25,700 

Bushels of Apples, 33, 000 

Pounds of Butter, 86,820 

Pounds of Cheese, 93,517 

Pounds of Wool 58, 0S5 

Yards of Domestic Manufacture, 1,1 98 

Pounds of Pork made, 121,911 

Miles of Public Road, 74 



DISTANCES, 



From Warsaw to the several Post-Offices in Wyoming County, 
figure signifies tenths of a mile. 



The fractional 



Arcade, 24. 6 

Attica, 13.5 

Bennington Center, 18.4 

Castile, 11.2 

Covington 11.1 

Cowlesville, 21. 5 

Eagle...... 16.2 

Eagle Village, 19.0 

East Gainesville, 6.8 

East Pike, • 10.6 

Gainesville, 6.8 

Hermitage, 9.6 

Java Center, 17.8 

Java Village 18.8 

Johnsonsburgh, 9.7 

La Grange, 9.2 

North Java, 13.5 



Orangeville Center, 6.1 

Pearl Creek, 8.9 

Peoria, 13.6 

Perry, 8.3 

Perry Center, 6.5 

Pike, 13.2 

Portageville 14.6 

St. Helena, ' 14.0 

Sheldon Centre, 13.2 

Smith's Corners, 11.8 

South Warsaw, 2. 

Strykersville, 18.5 

Varysburgh, 9.9 

West M iddlebury, 6. 4 

Wethersfield Springs, 6. 9 

Wyoming, 6.7 



INDEX. 



Agriculture, early, 73: progress of, 74; products of, and prices, 79. 
Alexander, town of, formed from Batavia, 23. 
Allan, Ebenezer, biographical sketch of, 368. 
Allegany county formed, 22; part of annexed to Wyoming, 22. 
Animals, wild, 50; wolf bounties, 51; wolf and bear stories, 52. 
Antislavery, history of, 156-63; societies formed, 156; meeting of state socie- 
ty in 1835, 156; meeting of Genesee County Society, 156, 161. 
Arcade, name of China changed to, 23. 
Ashes, as an article of trade, 61, 79. 
Assembly, members of, from "Wyoming county, 380. 
Assessors, names of, and dates of their election, 383, 384. 
Attica, formed from Sheldon, 22. 
Attorneys, list of, and terms of practice, 125, 126. 

Bake-kettle, description and use of, 47. 

Banks, in Warsaw, history of, 127. 

Baptist church, history of, 191-195. 

Batavia, when fornied. 22; extent of its territory, 22. 

Bears and wolves. [See Wild Animals.] 

Bedsteads, early, description of, 43. 

Bennington, town of, formed from Sheldon, 22. 

Bergen, town of, formed, 23. 

Bethany, town of. formed from Batavia, 23. 

Bimey, James G., nomination of lor President, 162. 

Black salts, as an article of trade. 61, 79. 

Booksellers, 86. 

Boot and shoe making, in families, 49. 

Bridges, over O-at-ka creek, 101. 

Buffalo Mass Antislavery National Convention, for nominating President, 163. 

Cabinet-making, and list of manufacturers. 97. 

Carding and cloth dressing establishments, 89, 90. 

Carpet manufactory, 98. 

Cattaraugus county, formation of, 22. 

Cattle paid on land debts, 58; prices of, 61, 79. 

Cemeteries; first burial, 36; new cemetery established, 106. 

Chautauqua, town and county of, when and of what formed, 22. 

China, formed, 22 ; name of, changed to Arcade, 23. 

Churches, history of, 164-208. 

Collectors of the town taxes, names of, 384. 

Commissioners of highways, names of, 384. 

Congregational church, formed, 196; constitution and rules of, 196; action on- 
secret societies, 198; church edifice^ 197-8; quarter centenary celebrat'n, 200. 

Congress, members of, from Genesee and Wyoming counties, 381. 

Constables, list of, and dates of their election, 386. 

Constitutional Conventions, delegates to, from Warsaw, 381. 

Cooking, mode of, in log houses, 46 ; cook-stoves, 48. 

County Officers: Sheriffs, Clerks, Surrogates, Treasurers, Judges, District At- 
torneys, 378-380. 

Crystal Brook, and its cascades, description of, 25. 365. 

Cumings, Simeon, his Warsaw purchase, 62; builds mills and lays out streets 
and lots, 63. 



392 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Drug-stores and druggists, 85. 

Duties on imports; double duties during war of 1812, 60. 

Dwellings, early, described, 26, 27, 41. 

Ecclesiastical history, 161-208; [See the several churches] 

Elba, formation of the town of, 23. 

Ellicott, Joseph,. agent of Holland Land Company, and surveyor, 20, 21. 

Episcopal church, history of, 203-5. 

Erie, town of, formed, 22. [Name since changed to Newstead.] 

Family Sketches and Biographical Notes, 232-361; 372-377. 
Fires in Warsaw, 66, 69, 90, 96, 112. 116, 118, 371. 
Foundries, cast iron, 94. 
Frying-pans, use of in log-houses, 47. 
Fruit, culture of, 75. 

Gas Works, their erection and suspension, 372. 

Gates Seth, settles in Sheldon. 40. 

Genesee county, erection and division of, 22; of what towns composed; first 

board of supervisors, 23. 
Gospel land, history and distribution of, 209. 
Grist-mills, 44, 87, 88. 
Gulf-road, construction of, 99. 

Holland Purchase, history of, 17; Land Company's title, 19; survey of, 20, 

21; " Transit instrument." 21. 
Household labor, cooking, 46; manufacturing, 48; dyeing, 48. 

Indian reservations, 20. 

Indians, historical sketch of, 368. 

Insurance Company, of Wyoming county, history of, 370, 371. 

Java, town of, formed from China. 23. 

Justices of the Peace, appointed and elected, list of, 3S2, 383. 

Keeney, Amos, first visit to Warsaw, 27; his removal and privations, 37. 
Kenyon, Isaiah, sketch of, 66. 

land Company. (Holland,) policy of, 58. 

Lawyers, list of, and terms of practice in Warsaw, 125, 126. 

Leicester, original town of Genesee county, 23. 

Lewis, Truman, settles in Orangeville, 40. 

Library, incorporation and history of, 108. 

Lincoln, Abraham, meeting on the death of, 147. 

Livingston, county of, date of formation, 22. 

Log-houses, construction of, 26-7; Keeney's, 39; general description of, 41-2. 

Manufactures, household, 48, 60; mills, 87; woolen, 89; carriage, 91; tan- 
neries, 92; map rollers, 93; foundries, 94; planing mills. 95; Patterson 
Manufacturing Company, 96; cabinet making, 97; carpet, 98. 

Massachusetts cedes her western lands to the general government, 17. 

McKay, F. C. D., land purchase of, 67; effects of, 68, 

3Iembers of Assembly from Wyoming county, 380. 

Merchants and trade, dry goods merchants, 80-84; hardware merchants, 84: 
druggists, 85; booksellers, 86. 

jnils: first saw-mill, 43; saw-mills and grist-mills, 87. 

Morris, Bobert, his purchase and sale of lands, 19. 

New England, grants of land of, 17. 

Newspapers, early, 71; list of county papers. 128. 

New York, territory of, 17; controversy with Massachusetts, 17; cedes her 

western lands, 17. 
Niagara, county of, formed from Genesee, 22. 
Northampton, original town of Genesee, 23. 



INDEX. ^93 

O-at-ka Creek, and its tributaries, 24-5; name changed from Allan's, 368. 

Old Folks' Festivals: meeting at Dr. Frank's, 130; meeting in 1860, 137. 

Orangeville, town of, formed from Attica, 22. 

Orleans county, formed from Genesee, 22. 

Overseers of the Poor, list of, and dates of their election, 385. 

Palmer, Mrs. Joseph, services as physician ; attendance at Sterling 
Stearns's, 45. 

Parker, Benjamin, his encounter with bears, 52. 

Patterson Manufacturing Company; its business, 96. 

Pembroke, town of, formed from Batavia, 23. 

Phelps and Gorham' 1 s purchase, 18, 19; sale to Robert Morris, 19. 

Physicians, want of, 45; Dr. Sheldon's advent, 46; names of, 126. 

Planing-mills, history of, 95-97. 

Plymouth Company, grant to by James I. of England, 17. 

Post Offices in Warsaw, and appointments of post-masters, 72. 

Presbyterian church, history of, 164-76; action on sabbath schools, 167; on 
slavery, 169; parochial school, 170; semi-centenary, 171; new church edi- 
fice, 172; dedication of, 174; Union Society organized, 176; chh. bell, 181. 

Public meetings: on the death of President Taylor, 146; on the death of Presi- 
dent Lincoln, 147. 

Pultney, Sir William, lands sold to, 19. 

Pailroads: Warsaw and Le Roy, 102; Attica and Hornellsville, 104. 
Peservations of Indian lands, 20. 

Roads and Bridges, 98; state road and gulf road, 99; bridges, 101. 
Ridgeicay, town of. formed from Batavia, 23. 

Saw-mills, the first, when and by whom built, 43; saw-mills and grist-mills, 87. 

Schools, early, and school-houses, and manner of teaching, 110-12; select 
schools, 112; union school, 113; union free school, 114; present school dis- 
tricts, 116-22. 

Scotch Irish Family, captured by pirates and liberated, 363. 

Senators, in state legislature, elected from Wyoming county, 380. 

Settlers, early, enjoyments of, 56; their slow progress in wealth, and causes, 59. 

Shattuck, Artemas, remarkable incident, 53. 

Sheldon, town of, formed from Batavia. 22. 

Slaves, mother and child, escape of, 364. 

Southampton, an original town of Genesee county, 23. 

Spinsters, itinerant, in families, 48. 

Stafford, town of, in Genesee county, formed., 23. 

Starved ship, remarkable rescue of crew and passengers, 362. 

State road, from Canandaigua, 99. 

Stearns, Sterling, child of, death and burial of, 36. 

Stock-raising and dairying in Wyoming county, 74. 

Stores: the first in town, 44; description of early stores and trade, 77; mer- 
chants in Warsaw, from 1813 to 1869, 80-86. 

Street. Levi, the early mail carrier, and the " Moscow Stage,*' 71, 370. 

Supervisors, of Warsaw, appointment and election of, 383. 

Tailoring, household, itinerant tailoresses, 49. 

tanneries, 92. [See Manufactures.] 

Taylor, President Zachary, meeting on the death of. 146. 

Temperance, early history of, 150; Washington societies, 152; license ques- 
tion, 153; prohibitory laws, 154; organization of Good Templars, 154. 

Topography of the town of Warsaw, 23. 

Town Clerks, names of, and dates of their election. 383. 

Trade, and merchants, 77; nature of in early times, 78; trade of Warsaw; 
barter and credit system, 78. 

Transit instrument, made by Ellicott, description of, 21. 

Traveling, modes of, in former times, 369. 

Union Society, legal organization of, 176. [See Presbyterian church.] 



394 HISTORY OF WARSAW. 

Village of Warsaw, history of, 02; incorporation of, 68; growth and improve- 
ment of, since 1841, 6S-70. 

War History, 211-231; war of 1812, 211; war of the rebellion, 212; first 

company from Warsaw. 214; other calls for men, 215, 219; touching scene, 

(Charley Bills,) 216; return of volunteers, 217; Sanitary Fair, 218; close of 

the war, 220; list of volunteers from Warsaw, 222-31. 
Warren, Jabish, settles at Wright's corners, 27; buys land in Warsaw. 28, 29; 

removed to Aurora, 40. 
Warsaw, town of, formed from Batavia, 22; topography of, 23; settlement 

of, 23; first sales of lots, 27-35; progress of settlement of, 36, 37; some of 

first year's town officers, 46. 
Webster, Elizur, the first settler in Warsaw, incidents of bis setlement, 25-27. 
Wether sfield, town of, formed from Orangeville, 22. 
Willink, town of, formation and extent of, 22, 
Wool, product of, 75; manufacture of woolens, 89-01. 
Wyoming county, when formed, 22, 68; annexation of towns from Allegany 

county, 22, 133; history of its formation, 131; Agricultural society of, 133. 
Wyoming County Insurance Company, history of, 370, 371. 



INDEX OF NAMES. 



Names of Persons, and the numbers of the Pages on which they occur. 

Persons whose names are in the Family Sketches, but are not in the follow- 
ing List, will find them in the sketches of the heads of the families to which 
they belong, or into which they have married. 



Abbey, H. M., 207. 
Adam's, Charles Francis, 1U3. 
Allis, Silas 0., 213. 
Andrews, Elijah \V r ., 82, 83. 230. 
Andrews <fc Harrington. 130. 
Andrews, Jnsiah, 129, 152. 
Applegate, Thomas. 172. 205. 
Armstrong, A. J., 173, 199. 
Arnold, Wei com, 232. 

Babbitt, Edwin L., 130, 134. 

Bailey, Calvin P., 133. 

Bailey. Charles W., 72, 126, 129, 155, 204, 205, 

213, 233. 
Bailey, John IL, 129. 
Bakef, Merrick, M. IX, 69. 
Baker, Milan, M. D., 64, 124. 
Baldwin, Augustine TJ., 108, 281. 
Baldwin, Thomas P.. 123. 
Barnes, Elisha. 138, 233. 
Barnett, Amos M., 183, 198. 234. 
Barnett, William B., 183, 234. 
Barnett, Mrs. G. P.. 137. 234. 
Barnett, Robert, 13S, 234 
Barlow & Woodward, 129. 
Bartlett, Alanson, 97, 235. 
Bartlett, J. Spencer, 97. 235. 
Bartlett, Ethan E., CO, 123, 198, 236. 
Bartlett, William K.. 23S. 
Bartlett, Mvron E., 126, 236. 
Bascom, Elias R., 72. 81, 237. 
Bates. George W., 372. 
Bedow, Samuel, 33, 13S. 
Beebe, Ephraim, 91, 1S2. 
Beach, Erastns, 80. 
Belden, Charles \V.. 64, 115, 124. 
Benedict, Samuel, 213. 
Benedict, Rev. A. B.. 204, 205. 
Bennett, Rev Mr., 199. 
Bentley, Wilber G., 195, 215. 

Bernard, David, 192, 193 - 

Bills, James E , 147, 148, 149, 221. 
Bills, Charles E., 216. 
Bingham, William. 138, 213, 237. 
Birney, James G., 162. 
Bisby, Benjamin, 213. 
Blackman, Andrew, 35. 
Blake, Rev. Mr., 201. 
Blake, Artemas, 86, 128. 
Blanchard, Samuel S., 129. 
Boomer, Jahez, 30, 121. 192. 
Bosworth, Howard, 372. 
Botsford, David, 274. 
Boughton, Sanford L., 115, 238. 
Houghton, William P., 115, 2E8. 
Bradley, Hanover, 200. 
Breck. Allen Y., 83, 96, 213. 
Breck, Gates &, Hurd, 83. 
Brewster, Henry, 159. 
Briggs, Horace, 115. 



Bristol, Richard 46. 

Bristol, William, Sen., 56. 139, 177, 239. 

Bristol, William, 96. 134, 239. 

Bronson, Isaac C, 65. 72, 82, 88, 91, 103, 106, 

113, 114, 132, 134, 146, 239. 
Bronson, Newbury. 107. 134, 141, 240. 
Brooks, Hugh T.. 134, 135, 202. 
Brown, George, 89. 
Brown, Rev. Amos, 168. 
Brown. C. K. & A.. 89. 
Buck, Edmund, 213, 241. 
Buck. Rev. E. M. , 144. 
Bull, Rev. Norris. 63. 211. 
Busti, Paul, 185, 209. 
Buxton, Chauncev C, 86, 91, 96, 213, 243. 
Buxton, Timothy H., 63, 82, 91, 96, 107, 171, 

175. 213, 243. 
Buxton, T. H. & Co., 92. 
Buxton, Dea. Wm., 152, 156, 169, 242. 
Buxton, Wm. S.,91, 212. 

Caner, Peter, 123, 244. 

Capeu, Cyrus, 138, 244. 

Capen, Theophilus, 10S. 109, 125. 

Carpenter, Amrai H , 85, 245. 

( arv, Trumbull. 88, 132. 

Chamberlain, Elijah, 33, 171, 245. 

Chapin, Rev. E., 168. 

Chapiu, Ebenezer. 31, 216. 

Chapin, John, 31, 246. 

Chapin, Harvey. 31, 246. 

Chapin, Koderick, 31, 122, 168, 246. 

Chapin, Roderick. Jr.. 31, 186, 216. 

Chapin, Willard, 31,246. 

Chapin, Willard J., 152. 

t'haplin, Wm. L., 162. 

Chapman, Amos, 138. 

Chapman, Jabez, 29, 35. 

Chapman, Oliver C, 89, 352. 

Chase, Thomas, 247. 

Cheney, Wales, 173, 334. 

Childs, Rev. Ward, 169. 

Choate. Alonzo, 72, 83, S9, 248. 

Clark, John F., 89. 93, 13S, 181, 247. 

Clark, John L.,135. 

Cleveland, Alonzo, 213, 218. 

Cleveland, Nicholas, 137, 248. 

Coddington & Davidson, 173. 

Colton, Calvin. 168. 

Comstock, Harlow L.,126, 147, 149, 171, 172, 

213, 221, 249. 
Comstock, Andrews & Co.. 82, 91, 94. 
Conable, Benjamin B., 96, 213, 219. 
Conable & Moss, 90. 
Conable, Samuel, 90. 
Conklin, Reuben H, 200, 201. 
Cook, Esek,213. 250. 
Cormac, Rev. William, 172, 194. 
Cornyn, John K., 170. 
Cotes, Dr. John, 55. 



396 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Crampton, Ralph S., 170. 

Crane, W. I., 194, 202. 

Craue, Broughton W., 138, 105, 250. 

Crippen, Ransom B., 105, 251. 

Crippen, Ransom A., 213, 251. 

Crocker, James, 05, 108, 109, 125, 152, 169, 

182, 251. 
Crocker, John, 64, 65. 10S, 152. 168, 169, 252. 
Crooks, William K , 72, 90. 
Crozier, William S., 126. 
Camings, Simeon, -14, 62, 63, 80, 88, ISO. 
earnings, John M., 81. 
Cunningham, Rev., 173, 202. 
Curtis, Joi.ham, 4ti. 
Catting, Elijah, 29, 31, 36, 106. 
Cutting, Jonas, 28, 36, 108, 109, 136, 1S2, 252. 

Dake, Charles A., 124. 

Dake, Charles M., 124. 

Dann, Charles H., 116. 

Darling, James M , 82, S3, S4, 103, 373. 

Darling, J. Harrison. 12s, 253. 

Darling, Joshua H., 65, 6S, 81, 82, 84, 89, 107, 

114, 127, 138, 149, 152, 198, 199, 200, 213, 253. 
Darling, Timothy, 373. 
Davidson, Albert G., 254. 
Davidson, James J., 254. 
Davidson, Joseph J., 98. 
Day, Artemas, 166. 255. 
Day, Elkanah. 29, 31, 32, 66, 106, 255. 
Dav, Erasmus 1).,91. 
Day, Hiram, 121. 
Day, David, 255. 
De'Laucy, Bishop, 204. 
Dibble, Eli, 92. 
Dix, John A., 163. 
Dixson, John, 44, 80, 82. 
Doolittle, James R., 125, 146, 194, 256. 
Dudlev. Harwood A., 63, 70, 129, 130, 135, 

149, 213, 214, 256. 
Duryee, George, 213, 296. 

Eddy, Zachary, 200. 
Eagerly, Henry C, 213. 
Ellicott, Joseph, 20, 25, 209. 
Ellicott, Benjamin, 21. 
Elliot, Rev. Joseph, 193. 
Ennis, Abraham, 150, 193. 
Ensign, Jeremiah, 92. 
Evans, Rev. S. K., 207. 
Everett, Edward, 161. 
Everett, Rev. Ebene/.er, 167, 16S. 

Fargo, Allen, 62. 83, 107, 108, 259. 

Fargo, David, 83, 193, 195, 258. 

Fargo, Benjamin F., 83, 84, 114, 213, 258. 

Fargo, Francis F., S3, 202. 221, 258. 

Fargo, Nehemiah, 29, 31, 34, 35, 36, 37, 62, 

106, 182, 257. 
Fargo, Palmer, 119, 138, 259. 
Fargo, Silas C, 34, 136, 257. 
Farman, Elbert E., 69, 70, 128, 130, 195, 201, 

213, 260. 
Farnham, George D., 97, 323. 
Farnham, Horatio N., 97, 294. 
Ferris, James C, 85, 88, 133, 134, 260. 
Fillmore, Millard, 40. 
Fisher, Dea. John, 261. 
Fisher, Nathaniel D., 261. 
Fisher, John, 113, 175, 263. 
Fisher, Samuel, 2d, 37, 64, 96, 110, 134, 135, 

156, 171, 175, 262. 
Fisher, James P., 146, 262. 
Fisher, Samuel, 2(58. 
Fisk, Noah, 35, loo, 119. 
Flower, Carl W., 1>'5. 
Fluker, William, 30, 1S3, 264. 
Foote, G. L., & Co., 84. 
Foster, Luther, 30, 182, 264. 



Foster, Luther, Jun., 173, 175, 265. 

Frank, Dr. Augustus, 64, 65, 87, 89, 94, 136, 

156, 182, 265. 
Frank, Augustus, 83, 106, 128, 14S, 213, 221, 

269, 381. 
Frank, George W., 69, 96, 213, 270. 
Frank, A. & G. W., 83. 
Frank & Gregg, 94. 
Fraser, Alexander, 204. 
Frayer, John, 169, 182. 
Freeman, Peter, 193. 
Fuller, Edwin L., 72, 86. 
Fullington, James, M., 92, 155, 250. 

Gardner, D. D.,91. 

Gardner, Utter & Co., 89, 91. 

Garretsee, Henry, 84, 90, 94, 95, 213, 271. 

Garretsee & Morris, 84. 

Garvin, Rev. Isaac, 204. 

Gates & Garretsee, 94. 

Gates, C. C, 82, 84, 213, 271. 

Gates, C. C. & Co., 84 

Gates, Seth M., 40, 72, 83, 84, 91, 96, 103. 138, 

142, 155, 159, 163, 19S, 199, 200, 201, 272. 
Gibson, Simeon, 32, 1S5, 273. 
Giddiugs, Niles, 274. 
Giddings, Hiram, 108, 183, 274. 
Gile, Joseph, 115. 
Gile, Mary M., 115, 116. 
Gilmore, James, 187. 
Glazier, Simeon R., 31, 90, 274. 
Glover, Thomas S., S3, S4. 
Goodspeed, Edward, 165. 
Goodspeed, Shubael, 34, 177. 
Gorham, Rev. William O., 205. 
Gould, Carlos-, 188. 
Gould, Roswell, 82, 83, 84, 96, 275. 
Grant, Loring, 184. 
Green, Absalom, 32, 44. 
Gridley, Rev. S. H, 168. 
Gurley, Rev. P. D., 174. 

Hale, John P., 163. 

Hammond, A. G., 82. 

Hammond, Elijah, 191, 195. 

Harrington, Augustus, 126, 216, 234. 

Harrington & Farman, 130. 

Hatch, Caleb, 275. 

Hatch, Milton 1)., 30. 

Hatch, Walter M., 31. 

Hatch, William C, 31. 276. 

Hatch, William T., 31, 138, 270. 

Hawes, Newton, 121. 

Hayward, Llovd A., 115, 128. 149, 200, 276. 

Healy, Byron, 126, 149, 213, 221, 373. 

Henshaw, Charles, 126. 

Hibbard, Jonathan F., 28. 195. 

Hibbard, Henry, 33, 277. 

Hillman, Elisha S., 198, 200. 

Hines, J. W., 186. 

Hitchcock, Ebenezer, 33. 

Hitchcock, James, 33. 

Hitchcock, Levtrett, 32. 33. 

Hitchcock, Rev. Luke, 21)7. 

Hodge, Ichabod, 88, 277. 

Hodge, Israel, 84, 217. 

Hodge, Martin, 88, 277. 

Hodge, Perry, 84, 277. 

Hodge & Wilder, 95. 

Hoffman, Matthew, 1S2. 

Holden, R. U.,84. 

Hollister, Horace, 91, 278. 

Hollev, Myron, 162. 

Holly, Ala'nson,N2, 86, 107, 114, 130, lis, 278 

Holt; W. W.,207. 

Holton, Simeon, 195, 213, 2S0. 

Homer, B. F., 213. 

Hopkins, A., 207. 

Horwood, Robert, 149, 203, 205. 



INDEX TO NAMES. 



397 



nough, Samuel. S7, 2S0. 
Hough, Orson, 00, 1S2, 330. 
Hough, Rev. J., 194. 
House, Dr., 123. 
- Hovey, Alvin, 33, 282. 
Hovey, Eliphalet, 33, 2S2. 
Hovey, Enoch, SO. — 
Hovey, Gurdon, 28, 36, 117, 281. 
Hovey, Harry, 140. 
Hovey, Josiah, Sen., 34, 30, 281. 
Hove'v, Josiah, Jim., 28, 29, 33, 132, 184, 185. 

2S3." 
Hovey, Simeon, 28, 43, 184, 186, 282. 
Hovey, Suel, 33, 282. 
Hovey, Ziba, 33. 31, 35, 2S2. 
Howard, R. T., 97. 
Hubbard, W. C, 104. 
Humphrey, Lester H., 03. 
Humphrey, S. B., 93. 
Humphrey, Wolcott J., 03, 108, 3T3. 
Hunt, Rev. S., 18S. 
Hnrd, Chester, & Son, S3, 00. 
llurd, Chester, 96, 140, 186, 284. 
Hurd, C. Paddock, 96. 
Hurlburt, Dr. Jonathan, 123. 

Irish, Rev. Mr., 191. 
Irons, Rev. Mr., 192. 

Jackson, Richard, 187, 2S2. 

Jefferson, Cyrus, 374. 

Jemison, Mary, 367. 

Jenkins, Gideon T., 30, 46. 

Jenkins, Gideon !l., 213, 214, 2S4. 

Jenkins, Rev. H . 2J7. 

Jenks, Henry B., H3, 128, 216. 

Jewell, Rev. J., 189. 

Jewett, Josiah, 20,35, 36. 

Johnson, Gideon, 169, 1S2, 374. 

Johnson, 1. Sam, 126. 

Johnson, Uriah, 134, 213. 

Jones, John, 175. 

Judd, Charles J., 85, 86, 88, 200, 285. 

Jtidson, Lyman, 190. 

Kay, Richard, 170, 374. 

Keeney, Amos, 27, 36, 40, 171, 172, 191, 2S6. 

Keeuey, Henry, 35, 38, 286. 

Keeney, Matison, 1S6, 2S6. 

Keith, Alden, 29, 287. 

Kellogg, Levi, 207. 

Kenyon, Isaiah, 66, 182. 

Ketchum, James E., 96, 173. 

Kidder, Rev. Corban, 200, 202. 

Kidder, Richard, A., 183, 374. 

Kidder, Silas, 64, 102, 374. 

Kimberlin, John, 184, 1S5. 

Kimberly, H. <fc E. C, 65, 81. 

Kimberly, Ebenezer C., 182. — — • 
Kinney, Samuel L., 195. 
Knapp, Win., Sen., 35, 287. 
Knapp, Daniel, 30, 35, 288. 
Knapp, William, 36, 289. 
Knapp, John K., 34, 28S. 
Knapp, Harley, 35, 28S. 
Knapp, Jacob W., 72. 215, 216, 2S9. 
Knapp, William L., 215. 
Knapp, Fullingtou & Co., 92. 

Ladd, Samuel, 375. 

Lansing, Edwin H., 85, 88. 

Lathrop, Abial, 88, 105, 290. 

Lathrop, Avery, 290. 

Lawrence, Abram B., 95, 213, 200, 372. 

Leavenworth, H., 194. 

Lee, Oliver, ISO. 

Leland, Kate, 115. 

Lemon, Mrs., 64. 

Lemoyne, Francis J., 162. 



Leonard, C. Z. C, 182. 

Leonard, Lemuel, 171, 172. 

Lewis, Truman, 40, 134, 291. 

Lewis, Simeon D., 115, 108, 200, 292. 

Lewis, Frank, 86. 

Lewis, Robert S., 130. 

Lincoln, Abraham. 147, 210 

Lindsley, John, 165. 

Loomis, Warren, 125. 

Lord, Rev. Mr., 175, 202 

Lord, Asa P., 155. 

Lyman, Huntington, 152, 159, 100. 

Lyman, Ralston W., 352. 

Mair, Rev. Hugh, 170. 

Manville, Ashley, 292. 

Marchant, I'nicv, 29. 

Marchant, Lot, 27, 32, 34, 37, 1S2, 293. 

Marehant, Micah, 20. 31. 294. 

Marchant, Josiah, 182, 203. 

Marchant, Owen, 183. 

Marcy, William L.. 161. 

Martin, David, 31, 32, 181. 294. 

Martin, Amy, 120. 

Martin, Mavor, 03. 

Martin, Leonard L., 87, 03. 

Martin, Washington, u3. 

Mason, Elilm. 168. 

Mason, Levi, 187. 

Matthews, Isaac, 205 

.Matthews, John B., 86, 200. 

Matthews, Josiah S., 86. 

Matthews & Brown, 65. 

Mauley, Joseph, 44, 87. 

Mavnard, Dr.. 124. 

Ma'vnard, E., 128. 

McClelland, A. C, 170. 

McClure, James O., 86. 

McElwain, John A., 62, 64, 65, 107, 132. 134, 

135, 137, 143. 140, 182, 204, 205, 213, 208. 
McElwain, William Henry, 155. 
McKay, F. C. D., 67, 68, 125, 2J0, 296. 
McKay ^ James A., 202. 
McKinlev, W. P., 172. 
McWethv, David, 134. 

McWhorter, John, Sen., 110, 166, 29S. -" 

McWhorter, Samuel, .20, 46, 87, 100, 110, 182, 

209. 
McWhorter, John, 81, 
Meachem, John G , 64, 124, 204, 205. 
Merrill, Eli, 143, 300. 
Merrill, AsaB.. 215, 301. 

Merrill, William H., 130, 147, 148, 201, 301. 

Miller, David C , 71. 

Miller, Frank, 101, 134, 137, 142, 172. 182, 183, 
213. 302. 

Miller, Edwin B., 107, 137, 138, 142, 171, 172, 
175, 302. 

Miller, Edwin A., (12. 171, 303. 

Miner, Rev. Jared, 207. 

Miner, William P.. 147. '155, 198. 

Mitchell &, Warren, 120. 

Mitchell, Stuart, 170, 174. 

Montgomery, William W., 205. 

Morrill, Ab'ner. 101. 101. 

Moore, Robert, 125. 

Morris, Solomon, Sen., 28, 32, 44, 1S4, 185, 
304. 

.Morris, Lyman, 27. 34, 38, 136. 182. 304. 

Morris, Solomon, dim., 32, 1^9, 305. 

Morris, Rufus, 00. 138, 306. 

Morris, George W., 107, 134, 144. 152, 304. 

Morris, Noble, 84, 85, 204, 205, 306. 

Morris, John, 28, 184, 185. 186, 306. 

.Morris. Shubael, 27, 31, 32, 36, 185. 

Morris. Miles H., 149, 213. 

Morris & Lewis, 213. 

Morris, Robert, 10. 

Morrison, John H., 82, 375. 



398 



HISTORY OF WARSAW. 



Morrison & Faulkner, 82. 

Morse & Merrill, 130. 

Moses, Rev. William, 207. 

Mosher, Charles, ]28. 

Moss, Nathaniel, 87, 183. 

Monger, Ebenezer, 32. 

Mnnger, John, 52, 92, 13'i, 107, 173, 181, 182, 

307. 
Munger, Samuel. 308. 
Manger, Kobeit R., 89, 91, 138, 213, 308. 
Manger, Samuel J., 89. 
Murray, Ichabod T., 33. 
Murray, Samuel A., 83, "213, 30S. 
Myers, P. H., 200. 
Mynard, Amasa, 35, 119. 

Nassau, C. W., 173,174. 

Nassau, Joseph E., 133, 14S, 171, 173, 175, 

201, 215, 221, 309. 
Nettleton, K. D., 146. 
Newton, Francis, 108, 182. 
Nicholson, Frederick, 375. 
Noble, Dwight, 164. 
Noble, Russell, 30, 32, 62, 309. 
Norton, Elijah, 90, 107, 182, 310. 
Norton & Hough, 90. 

Oakes, Isaac, 168. 

Onderdonk, Bishop Benjamin T., 204. 

Osgood, Moses. 97. 

Otis, Amos, 213. 

Owen, Eliphalet, S9. 

Pac;e, Henry G, 126. 

Paw, Joseph R., 174, 175. 

Painter, Thomas, 310. 

Painter, Edwin, 310. 

Palmer, Joseph, 28, 29, 35, 311. 

Palmer, Mrs. Joseph, 45. 

Palmer, Albert W., 195. 

Palmer, Noble, 2)5. 

Palmer, Jonathan L., 183. 

Parmele, Abial, 16s. 

Parmele, Elisha, 64, 80. 

Parmele, Rev. Reuben, 168. 

Park, Nehcmiah, Sen., 311. 

Park, Nehemiah, Jun., 108, 311. 

Park, Nehemiah, 3d, 86, 204, 205, 213, 311. 

Parker, Eliphalet, 32, 164, 165, 312. ' 

Parker, Eliphalet, Jun., 178, 312. 

Parker, Lyman. 32, 185, 187, 313. 

Parker, Rhoda. 165. 

Parker, Cynthia, 32. 

Parker, Valentine, 137. 

Parker, Giles, 30, 166, 312. 

Parker, John <:., 211, 312. 

Parker, Benjamin, 52, 312. 

Parker, Ira, 312. 

Parker, George \V., 213. 

Parker, Luther, 30, 121, 165. 

Patterson, William, 32, 103, 113, 152, 159, 182 

313. 
Patterson, Peter, 38, 171, 173. 
Patterson, George \\\. 362, 375. 
Patterson, Alfred S., 135. 
Patterson, Thomas J.. 96. 
Pattison, Rev. William, 192. 
Pattison, Robert E., 192. 
Perry, Jonathan, 132. 
Perry, Norman J., 64, 213. 
Perkins, Anson A., 29, 32, 33, 185, 1S6, 318. 
Perkins, Elam, 29, 139, 184, 185, 317. 
Perkins, Chester. :;."">. 
Perkins, Moses, 185, 316 
Phelan, Dr., 124. 
Phelps, Isaac, 30, 177, 178, 318 
Phelps, Isaac N., 100, 319, 365. 
Phenix, Samuel F., 152. 
Phenix, Henry, 152. 



Pierce, Beriah N., 126. ■ 
Pierce, Nathan, 31, 32, 34, S19. 
Pierce, Marmaduke, 184. 
Pike, Joseph, 90. 
Pike & Naramore, 90. 
Pitman, J. B., 194. 
Pitts, J. C, 124. 
Pixley,, Philander, 132. 
Plum I), Rev. H. R, 207. 
Porter, Hiram, 140. 
Porter, Joseph, 192. 
Porter, Stephen. 112, 169. 
Potter, Lindorf. 123. 
Powell, O. S , 169. 
Pratt, Joel, 137. 
Preston, Isaac, 152, 375. 
Purdy, Albert, 65, S3. 
Putnam, Edward, 63, 320. 

Quaekenbush, Maurice R., 155. 

Ransom, John. 64, 130, 149. 

Ransom, Seth S.. 123. 

Ray, Rev. Charles, 174, 175. 

Raymond, Nathan, 94. 

Reddish, John H, 34. 35, 322. 

Reddish, Hiron J., 187. 

Reddish, Nicholas, 119. 

Reed, Abraham. 30, 32, 104, 105, 177. 

Reed, George, 88. 

Reed, Peter B., 131. 

Reed, Rhoda, 141. 

Reed, Elder, 207. 

Rice, Barnabas, 32. 

Rice, Cyrus, 34, 108, 183, 323. 

Rice, Levi, 34, 191. 

Rice, Mills L., 213, 378. 

Richards, Anson, 33. 

Richards, Charles B., 34. 

Richards, Chester, 32, 33. 

Richards, James, 13s, 293. 

Richards, Ransom R., 339. 

Richards, Paul, 132, 182, 379. 

Richmond, J. L , 194. 

Roberts, Burt B., 3S9, 400. 

Robinson, William, Sen., 138. 

Robinson, William. Jun., 95. 

Rockwell, Daniel, 108, 281. 

Rollins. Rev .Mr., 207. 

Rood, Eli, 113, 338. 

Rowe, Rev. Hippocrates, 160, 168. 

Rumsey, Calvin, 62, 6 4, 92, 182, 324. 

Rumsev, Aaron, 64, 92, 109, 182, 325. 

RumseV, Cyrus, 65, 123, 182. 

Rumsey, Daniel, 29, 65, 123, 152, 167, 1S2, 323. 

Sackett. H. A., 169. 

Snllonl, Mavhew, 123,325. 

Salisbury, Philip. 3 1.326. 

Salisbury. Samuel, 31, 32, 138. 193, 195, 211, 

326. 
Salmon, Richard, 203. 
San lord, Richard K., 115. 
Scotield. Winslow, 115. 
Scovel, Rev. Ezra, 168, 169. 
Scovel, Nathan. 28, 328. 
Scovel, Elisha W., 121, 138, 328. 
Scovel, Hezikiah, 32, 195, 327. 
Seager, Micah, 187. 
Seaver, Charles L., 213, 328. 
Seeley. Loren, 33, 138. 
Selleck, Joseph, 27. 
Seymour, David, 34, 90. 
Sharp, Horace C, 33, 120. 
Sharp, John and Peter, 34. 
Shattuck, Artemas, 53. 
Shattiuk. Edward C, 63, 64, 97, 200, 213 
Shaw, Binnui, 1S2. 
Shaw, Bezaleel, 182. 



INDEX OF NAMES. 



399 



Shaw, Oscar A. . 213. 
shaw, Daniel, 44. 

Shedd.Kev ^^46^64 IS 80,81,85, 
Sheldon. Ohauncey L., 46, 64, .-, w, °*, . 

109, 123, 171, 182, » 
Sheldon, Ohauncey, 329, ^- 
Sheldon & Frank, bo, W. 
Sheldon & Bascom, 81. 
Sheldon, Henry, 93. 
Shepard, Charles O , lo2, 33J. 
Sherwin, Bisael, «J1. 
Sherman, Job, 141. 
Shipman, ^ llliam, 23, 611. - 
Sill, Anna P., 65, 113. 

Smallwood, William, 30, 138, 141, 33-. 
Smith, Eleazar, 186. 

Smith, Edgar K., 213. 

Smith, Kev. H., 194. 

Smith, Leonard W ; ,12b, 14., m, 

Smith, W. liiley. lf>, I*'- 

Snyder, George. Jod. 

Sprague, John VV ., 88. 

Starka, John, 195. 

Steams, Hannah, 1»1. 

Stearns, Levi, 35 i, 191. 

Stearns, Moses 335 

Stearns, Willard, 83, 138, 33o. 

Stearns, George, 33b, 3t>o. 

Stearns, Hiram, 326. 

Stearns, Sterling, 29, 3b, 4o,106. 

Stebbin 3 ,N.D.,12i,2U2. 

Stedman, Timothy, 97, ill. 

Steele, Charles, 119. 

Steele, George 119. 

Steele, Kev. Julius, 112, lbs. 

Steele, Kev. Mr., 174. 

Steele, Rev. J. C, 207. 

Stevens, Truman, 33I-. 

Stevens, Almon, 44, 62, W. 182, 33b. 

Stevens, Henry, 03, 80, 33b. 

Stevens. Nye, 138, sat. 

Stevens, O. H., 115. 

Stimson, Hiram K., 194,215. 

Stone, Williams., 33, b7. 

Street, Levi, 71. 

Strickland, Kev. H.H., 20.. 

Stryker, John v., 215. 

Sutherland, Thomas J., i~o. 

Taber, Helon S >., 337. 

Tanner, Zen, 3: 10b, 11 , 1 82. 337. 

Tanner, Cyrus, 133, 1.1, -S2, 333. 

Taylor, Zachary, 146. 

Thayer, Horace, i 3, 9b, a.b. 

Thayer, Willaru, 339. 

Thayer, Linus \\ ., 31, b.>, i~o, *<*>, ""' 

205, 213, 221, 339. 
Thayer, Gideon, 30. 
Thompson, John 131. 
Tbroop, Daniel H., 30, 32, 133, 34U. 
'libbius, Jolm C., 121. 
^!^i,^!/;,nn; 7 28, 89,93 100, 182, 191 
Truesdell, Jeremiah, 38, 191. 
Truesdell, Philander. 213. 311. 
Truesdell, Solomon, 25, 93. 
Tullidge, Henry, 204 
Tunks KicharaM., 204, 205. 
Tuthill- Anson, 112.192. 

Utter, Isaac, 91. 
Utter, John, 31. 

Van Buren, Martin, 1C3. 
Van Nest, Kev. P., 184. 
Vermilyc, Kev. Dr., m 

Vin.ent. Kev. John, 200 



Wakefield, Hezekiah »i«; *M^wa. 

Walker, Ezra, 30, 164. 165, lbb, 1m, UB. - 

Walker, Hiram F., 3-6. 

Walker, Levi, 182, 3d3. 

Walker, Warham, 32, 313 

Walker, William, «», 1W, *w. 

Walker, Lewis E., 8b, 198, 344. 

Walker, George \\., -02. 

Walker, L. & W., 12*. 

Wall, Edward, 1.0. 

Walling, Rev. G. V., 193. 

Ward, Rev. Mr., 198. 

Warner, Linus, 29, 182, 345. 

Warren, Jabish, 27, 2N, j.i, a-, *"•„., 

Warren, Jabish, [not the above,] 345. 

Warren, Jabish, Jr., 316. 

Warren, Volney C, 34b. 

Warren, Peter R.. 93. 

Waterbury, Daniel, 1.0. 

Watkins, Benjamin L., 63, 94, lua.ioa. 

Watson, Leonard, 346. 

Watson, LanraS., 205. 

Watson, R. S., 204, 205 

Watson, Murray* Co., ,83. 

Watts, Jeremiah, 119, l'.io, - a. 

wlK, Abel, 82, 83, 107, 205, 377. 

Webster & Andrews, S2 ,83, . X 

Webster, James, 167,171. 
Webster, James A., 213. „,, 

Webster, William, 31, 36, 90, 10b, 161, to.., 
171,173, 1S2, 347. 
-—Wells, Dr., 124. 
West, Dr, 124* 
Wethv, Silas, 32 118. 
Whaley, A. M., 218. 
Whitcomb, O. V., 131, 13o. 
Whitcher, Hiram, 207. 
Whitcher, Stephens, 69, 88. 
Whiting, William. Sen, 3o0. 
Whiting, Nathan, 351. 
Whiting, Timothy, 182. 
Whitney, William G., 108. -, 

Whitlock, Julius 136, HB, 130, 171,17.|, *>... 
Whitloek Samuel, 3o, 13b, lbb, 16J, 6o£. 
Wilcox, Ira, 138, 182. 
w{K'j K ohn,35,8M08,182, 3 53. 
Wilkin, James, 213. 
Wilkin, Leonard, 88,89. 
Williams, Charles A, 92. 
Williams, Edwin E, 148, 15o, 199, 2J0, -ji, 

215, 353. 
Williams, i emu el. 32, 66. 
Willing, Wm. C, 172. 
Wilson, Ebenezer, 40. 
Wilson, Isaac, 211. 
Windsor, John, 84,91, 3_>1. 
Wiseman. Noah, 191. 195. 
Wi-cman, William, 194. 

Jwooa;iloroW.,126,204,205. 

Woodward, William. 213, 3o5. 
Wrieht. Amzi, 27, 356. 
Wright! Norman P., 115, 202. 

V^mu::^^S,^0,201,20, 
Young. Jonathan. 3o.. 

Young, Daniel, 90. 



1 19, 



311 



100 IIISTOKY OF WARSAW. 






CORRECTIONS 



Page 92. The name " Charles E. Williams " should be Charles A. "Williams. 

Tage 101. "Samuel Miller, 2d," should be Samuel Fisher, 2d. 

Page 130, 11th line from bottom, the date of ''March, 1855" should be 
March, 1858. 

Page 147. President Lincoln was assassinated April 14, 18G5, not 1864, as 
there stated. 

Page 165. For " Lindsey " read LindsUy. 

Page 171, 5th line. ■* Edward A. Miller " should be Edicin A. Miller. 

Page 221. For " J. C. Bills " read J. E. Bills. 

Page 251, Sketch of Ransom B. Crippen. He is said to have had/ow chil- 
dren; and the names purporting to lie the names of these children strangely 
happen to be the names of his eldest son and his three children. The Sketch 
should end thus: 

They had ten children, besides one who died in infancy: Ransom A., whose 
sketch is given; Charles EL, who married Grace Crawford, and lives at Varys- 
burg; Harriet A. F. ; Mary A. R., who married E. J. Story, and resides in 
Syracuse; William H., in Detroit, married; Martha; Ellen E., who died Dec, 
1866, aged 26; Rosina and Rosalie, twin sisters, the latter died Jan., 1865, 
aged 22; Alvira V., who married H. V. Colton, Washington. The three un- 
married daughters, Harriet, Martha, and Rosina, reside in Washington. 

Page 274, line 5. For '-Mr. Gibson " read Mrs. Gibson. 

Page 292. Sketch of Ashley Manville. For " Joseph Ashley " read Joseph 
Ashley McCulloch. 

Page 338. The children of Warren Morgan should have been thug men- 
tioned: Charles, Emma, and one who died in infamy. 

Page 344. Mary A. Walker married William M. Cowgill, not " Cogswell." 
Nor was he a teacher. 

Immediately after, for " Charles B." read Charles. 

Lewis E. Walker, same page, born May 15, not July. 



OMISSIONS SUPPLIED. 

MERCHANTS. 

Ix the List of the Merchants of this town, [pages 80-84,] the names of the 
following were omitted : 

Nehemiah Park, Jun., father of Nehemiah Park, of this village, established 
a store in South Warsaw, in 1814, or the year following, which was continued 
a year or more. 

Judd & Moseley commenced trade in 1836. [See Sketch of Charles J. Judd.] 

Of the following merchants and firms, all, except the last four, and perhaps 
one or two others, were merchants here twenty to thirty years ago: 

John H. Bailey, by his agent, Elias K. Bascom; Sheldon & Norton; Benja- 
min F. Sheldon; Theron Fisk; Nathan Raymond, partner of Dr. Augustus 
Frank; Ethel V. Bronson; C. B. Carrington; James Wadsworth; Lansing & 
Crippen; Day & Crippen; Ransom A. Crippen; Selden C. Allis. 

PHYSICIANS. 

In copying the List of Physicians, [pages 123, 124,] the name of Dr. Burt 
B. Roberts, at present a practicing Physician in this village, was inadvertently 
omitted. 



OCT 01329 



E»»