(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Trumbull and Mahoning counties"

GENBALOOY COLLZCTION 



;?/— ' 



3 1833 00824 4359 



GENEALOGY 

977.101 

T77H 



! 


HISTORY 

OF 


^ 


Trumbull and Mahoning 




COUNTIES. O l-l 1 




ILLUSTRATIONS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 






VOT,. IT 






CLEVELAND; 






H. Z. WILLIAMS & BRO. 






1882. 




\, 




J, 



CONTENTS. 



HISTORICAL 



1164477 



\^ TOWNSHIPS AND VILLAGES OF MAHONING 

COUNTY. 
. O CHAPTER. P.\( 

Xn 1.— Canfield 

fi II.— Poland 

^ III. — Boardinan 
\o IV.— Ellsworth 

*. v.— Berlin . 
VI. — Austintown 



I 
^ Vll.-Jackso 



VIII.— Coitsville 
IX.-Milton . 



>r X.— Beaver 
O XI.— Goshen 

CO 



XIII.— Smith . 
XIV. —Springfield 



I. — Rowland 
II. — Weathersfield 



XVI. 
XVII. 
XVI II. 
XIX. 
XX. 
XXI. 
XXII, 



.-- Hartford 
.—Kinsman . 
. — Farmington 
.—Bristol 
.— Brookfield 
.—Hubbard . 
. — Vernon 
.— Bloomfield 
.—Johnston 

.—Vienna 
.—Newton 
.— Gustavus . 
.— Bazetta 
. — Mesopotamia 



-Braceville 
—Mecca 

— Lordstown 

—Greene 



BIOGRAPHICAL, 



Arret, Walter S., 
Allen, Martin, 
Anderson, David, 
Allen, Dr. Peter 
Beardsley Family 
Brown, James S. 
Boardman Family 
Baldwin, Jacob H. 
Rrockway, Edward 
Bushnell Family 
Borden Family 
Beebe, Dr. R. M. 
Burnham, Jedediah 
Bishop, James C. 
Bidwell, Riverius an, 
Burnett, William 
Brown, Ephraim 
Bushnell Family 
Button, Roswell A. 







between 


l'.\GE 

74 
io8 
134 
30I 

34 
72-73 

91 

93 
274 
276 
279 
28s 
302 
303 
304 
36s 
398 
406 
498 



Church, Nathaniel 

Canfield, Hon. Judson 

Calvin, Dr. A. W 

Coit, Joseph 

Carson, George 

Crowell, Henry 

Chalker Family 

Chalker, Newton 

Drake Family 

Davis, Aaron 

Fuller, Davis 

Fowler Family 

Fobes Family 

Hughes, Dr. Jam: 

Hayes Family 

Hutchins, .Sullivan 

Hart, Bliss and Family 

Humason, James I. and Eli 

Jones Family. 



PAGE 

32 





CONTENTS. 


6 




I'AGIO 




I'AGE 


|f«c-ll,A. M. . 


. 366 


Porter, William 


134 


Kinney, Colonel Sherman . 


43 


Perkins, Seth .... 


■ 301 


Kirlland Family 


73 


Peck, Joel and Eliza 


33° 


King, F.lias .... 


75 


Payne, Ichabod B. . . . 


• 454 


King, Jonathan 




Post, James Hervev 


486 


King, James Franklin 


214 


Ripley Family . ' . 


. 107 


Kennedy Family 


217 


Rowland, Horace . 


124 


Kcpner Family 


282 


Ratliff, John . 


. ' 213 


Kinsman, John and Family 


. 296 


Reeder. Willis 


286 


Kincaid, Rev. William 


330 


Reeve Family . . ■ . 


. 298 


King, John I., M. D. . 


. 378 


Reed, Edmund A. 


376 


Kline, Peter 


441 


Sanzenbacher, John, and Family 


. 36 


Kennedy, William B. . 


. 486 


Servis, Judge Francis G. . 


40 


Laird, William 


300 


Strong, Alonzo . between 120 and 121 


Milligan. James 


• 173 


Snyder, George Sr. 


284 


McFarland Family 


282 


Tanner Familv 


37 


Merry, Samuel 


■ 377 


Van Hyning, Henry 


42 


Morrow. Robert 


418 


Wadsworth, General Elijah . 


32 


Newton, Hon. Shelden 


93 


Williams, James 


109 


.Norton, Homer 


527 


Ward, James .... 


■ 241 


Osborn Family .... 


. 156 







ILLUSTRATIONS. 









P.\GF.. 






P.\GE 


Portrai 


t of Eben Newton 




facing 


9 


Portrait of Hannah L. Anderson 


between 


128 and 129 


Portrai 


of Judge F. G. Servis 




facing 


12 


Portrait of William Porter . 


betweei 


136 and 137 


Portrai 


of Henry Van Hyning . 




facing 


i6 


Portrait of Mrs. William Porter 


between 


136 and 137 


Portrai 


of Mrs. Sopliia Beardsley . 




facing 


17 


Portrait of Jonathan Osborn 




facing 156 


Portrai 


of Edmund P. Tanner . 




facing 


20 


Portrait of James Milligan . 




facing 173 


Portrai 


ofj. M.Nash 




facing 


24 


Portrait of John Ratliff 




facing 207 


Portrai 


of Sherman Kinney . 




facing 


25 


Portrait ot James F. King 




facing 214 


Portrai 


of Dr. A. W. Calvin 




facing 


28 


Portrait of A. A. Drake 




facing 217 


Portrai 


of John Sanxenbacher . 


between 


36 and 


37 


Portrait of G. W. Snyder 




facing 284 


Portrai 


of Mrs. John Sanzenbacher 


between 


36 and 


37 


Portrait of Riverius Bidwell . 


between 


292 and 293 


Portrai 


of W. S. Arrel . 


between 


60 and 


61 


Portrait of Mrs. Eunicia Bidwell 


between 


292 and 293 


Portrai 


of Mrs. \V. S. Arrel 


between 


60 and 


61 


Portrait of James C. Bishop . 




facing 303 


Portrait of lilias King . 


between 


64 and 


65 


Portrait of Miss Lottie Fobes 




facing 304 


Portrait of Mrs. Ellas King 


between 


64 and 


65 


Portraitof Joel Peck . 


between 


320 and 321 


Portrai 


of James S. Brown 


between 


72 and 


73 


Portrait of Mrs. Eliza H. Peck 


between 


320 and 321 


Portrai 


of Mary A. Brown . 


between 


72 and 


73 


Portrait of Rev. William Kincaid 




facing 328 


Portrait of Billius Kinland 


between 


84 and 




Portrait of A. M. Jewell . 


between 


360 and 361 


Portrai 


of Mrs. B. Kirtland 


between 


84 and 


8S 


Portrait of Rebecca C. Jewell . 


between 


360 and 361 


Portrait of Shelden Newton . 




facing 


89 


Portrait of E. A. Reed 




facing 376 


Portrai 


t of F. A. Boardman 


between 


92 and 


93 


Portrait of Samuel Merry 




facing 377 


Portrai 


of Mrs. M^ry A. Boardman 


between 


92anci 


93 


Portrait of Ephraim Brown 


between 


396 and 397 


Portrait of Joseph Cox 




facing 


97 


Portrait of Mary B. Brown 


between 


396 and 397 


Portrait of Martin Allen 


between 


100 and 


lOI 


Portrait of Robert Morrow 




facing 418 


Portrai 


t of Mrs. Lucy M. Allen 


between 


100 and 


101 


Portrait of Peter Kline . 


between 


440 and 441 


Portrai 


t of Hervey Ripley 




facing 


I OS 


Portrait of Mrs. Esther Kline 


between 


440 and 441 


Portrai 


t of lames Williams . 


between 


loB and 


109 


Portrait of Ichabod B. Payne . 


between 


448 and 449 


Portra 


t of Almyra Williams 


between 


108 and 


109 


Portrait of Mrs. Betsy Payne 


between 


448 and 449 


I'ortra 


t of R. K. Hughes . 


between 


112 and 


"3 


Porttaitof JamesJ. Humason . 


between 


452 and 453 


Portrai 


t of Mrs. Martha A. Hughes 


between 


112 and 


"3 


Portrait of Mrs. Eliza Humason 


between 


452 and 453 


Portra 


tof Jonathan King 


between 


116 and 


117 


Portrait of William B. Kennedy 




facing 480 


Poitra 


t of Mrs. I.ydia King 


between 


116 and 


117 


Portrait of Aaron Davis . 




facing 485 


Portrai 


t of Alonzo .Strong 


between 


120 and 


121 


Portrait of James H. Post 




facing 486 


Portra 


t of Mrs. Elizabeth C. Strong 


between 


120 and 


121 


Portrait of Roswell A. Button 




facing 498 


I^nra 


t of George Carson 




facing 


123 


Portrait of Homer Norton 




facing 527 


Portra 


t of Horace Rowland 


between 


124 and 


125 


Portrait of James Chalker . 




lacing 529 


Portrait of Mrs. Fidelia Rowland 


between 


124 and 


125 


Portrait of Newton Chalker . 




facing 531 


Portrait of David Anderson . 


between 


128 and 


129 









IHmlf' ^raft 




. \\wv A <^aaAa)A' 



TOWNSHIPS AND VILLAGES 



MAHONING COUNTY. OHIO. 



CHAPTER I. 

CANFIELD. 
INTRODUCTORY. 

Canfield is the central township of Mahoning 
county. On the north Hes Austintown; on the 
east Boardman; on the south Green and Beaver; 
and on the west Ellsworth. In point of agricul- 
tural importance this township ranks among the 
very first of those situated in the southern part 
of the Reserve. There are no large streams 
flowing through Canfield, but a large number of 
swales and small creeks divide the land into a 
number of varying ridges and undulatory eleva- 
tions of moderate height. Indian creek, the 
largest of these streams, enters the southern part 
of the township almost directly south of the 
center, and, after flowing northward about one 
mile, turns to the east and crosses into Board- 
man township. The number of fresh water 
springs is large, affording a supply of pure, cold 
water which seldom fails — a most valuable ar- 
rangement of nature for the convenience of dairy 
farmers and stock raisers. 

The soil is an easily cultivated loam of rich- 
ness and fertility. The township being among 
the earliest settlements made upon the Reserve, 
and withal thickly peopled by an industrious and j 
thrifty class, is conspicuous for its large number 
of well improved farms and other general evi- 
dences of prosperity. 

In addition to its important agricultural re- 
sources, Canfield has considerable mineral 
wealth. Coal was discovered in 1798, and coal 
reservations were marked in the original surveys. 
Bituminous coal is found in nearly all parts of 



the township in veins from fifteen to thirty-three 
inches in thickness; while in the southern and 
southeastern parts extensive fields of cannel coal 
are found. 

There is but one village, which has an air of 
rural simplicity quite unusual in most places of 
its size. As in most townships of the Reserve 
first settled by Connecticut Yankees, the "center" 
was the point where the first families took up 
their abode, and about that point has grown up 
one of those sober, quiet, unpretentious country 
villages, far more like an old New England vil- 
lage than one of the modern western "towns." 

The village of Canfield has the advantage of 
a pleasant site, the principal part of it being 
upon a gentle elevation of land overlooking by 
far the greater portion of the township. Broad 
street, running north and south, is the principal 
business street, and includes within itself a 
park or common extending almost its entire 
length. Though there is little that can be said 
in praise of the architecture or general appear- 
ance of many of the buildings facing upon this 
park, yet so large a tract of grassy lawn adds 
much to the beauty of the village. And a few 
years hence, when the small trees now growing 
shall have attained a size entitling them to be 
ranked as shade trees, this spot will become a 
charming ornament to Canfield. The remaining 
streets of the village have, in general, an old- 
fashioned look. The houses are placed some 
distance back from the road in some instances, 
but in others, near to it, — many of them sur- 
rounded by orchards or gardens, making a gen- 
erous mingling of the country in the town which 
delights by its quaintness. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



The old court-house at the head of the com- 
mon — soon to be transferred into an educational 
institute — may yet become a source of pride to 
Canfield's people instead of an eye-sore, as it has 
been since the removal of the county seat. 

Whatever may be the future of the place, the 
brightness of the past will not speedily be extin- 
guished. Many men of sterling worth and wide 
reputation have Canfield either for their birth- 
place or their home. Though some of them 
have been sleeping for years in the quiet village 
cemetery, Canfield still remembers them, and 
points out the acts of their lives as e.xamiiles 
worthy of imitation. 

OWNERSHIP AND SURVEY. 

Township one in range three was purchased 
from the Connecticut Land company by six per- 
sons, who owned in the following proportions : 
]udson Canfield, 6,171 acres; James Johnson, 
3,502 acres; David Waterman, 2,745 acres; 
Elijah Wadsworth, 2,069 acres; Nathaniel 
Church, 1,400 acres, Samuel Canfield, 437 
acres. 

The price paid for this township of 16,324 
acres was $12,903.23, being a very little more 
than seventy nine cents per acre. But in addi- 
tion to the number of acres above given, there 
was annexed to this township, for the purpose of 
equalizing its value, lot number two in township 
one in the tenth range. To explain this process 
of equalization we make the following extract 
from the manuscripts prepared by Hon. Elisha 
Whittlesey: 

As the whole tract purch.ised by the Connecticut L.ind 
company was in common, it was a principle of justice to 
equalize the township so that the proprietors of each should 
have an equal share of the whole, and if the quality of the 
land was below mediocrity, the quantity was to be increased 
10 obtain the equality in value. A conimittee was appointed 
to make this equalization. They had no personal knowledge 
of the land, and judged of it by e.Nanuning the field notes or 
sun-eys. The surveyors who ran the lines of the townships 
did not examine the land not on or contiguous to the Une 
surveyed; and the sur\'eyors who subdivided the townships 
had no knowledge of the land e.\cept what they saw on the 
line; and their descriptions of it in their field notes were 
made from what they thus saw. On the south line of Can- 
field and west of the north and south center line is low, wet 
land, on the margin of a creek, the extent of which was not 
known to either set of the surveyors mentioned. The tradi- 
tion is that the equalizing committee, apprehending that 
the low swampy land which they saw on the south township 
line might be e.vlensive, annexed lot two in township num- 
ber one in the tenth range, containing 1,664 acres, to m.ake 
township number one of range number three equal in value 
to an average of the land on the Reserve. It was a fact. 



however, at that time, that the said township number one, 
range number three, was above instead of below the average 
quality of the tract divided. CaKin Cone, Esq., of Hartford, 
was assessor in Trnmbull county during several years, and 
he said he deemed the township of Canfield to be the best 
quality of land in the county. This opinion was given e.v- 
clusive of the annexation. The annexation was a valuable 
tract of land, and on being re-surveyed was found to con- 
tain 1,723^ acres, or 58 J^ acres more than it was computed 
to contain when annexed. The proprietors, therefore, may 
be considered as having been unusually fortunate. 

In 1798 the proprietors of the township ap- 
pointed Nathaniel Church, one of their number, 
an agent to superintend the surveying of the 
land into lots and commence improvements. 
Concerning the journey and the first operations 
ot the party after reaching the township, the fol- 
lowing extract from a letter written by Samuel 
Church to Hon. Elisha Whittlesey gives a 
graphic and interesting account. The letter 
bears the date "Salisbury, Litchfield county, 
Connecticut, November 5, 1837," and is written 
by a son of Nathaniel Church. Mr. Church writes : 

Dear Sir : Yours of July 27, 1837, addressed to my 
father, Nathaniel Church, enquiring of him in regard to the 
early history of the town of Canfield, Trumbull county, 
Ohio, has been submitted to my perusal. The age and 
iufirniities of my venerable parent have prevented him from 
making under his own hand a reply to your request — a cir- 
cumstance regretted by me. But the brief detail of facts 
here given you is taken from his verbal statement. 

He says : On the 20th day of .\pril, 1797,* I started from 
Sharon, accompanied by the following named persons and 
perhaps a few others not now recollected : Nathan Moore, 
of Salisbury, surveyor ; Eli Tousley, Nathaniel Gridley, 
Barber King, Reuben Tupper, and one Skinner, of Salis- 
bury; Samuel Gilson, of Sharon, and Joseph Pangburn, of 
Cornwall, axemen. 

I performed the journey on horseback with all my effects 
contained in my saddle-bags. My men traveled on foot. 
My associates were clieerful, and at times a little rude, 
though not uncivil, on the journey. We traveled through 
the towns of Newburg, in the State of New York; Lupex, 
Belvidere, in the State of New Jersey; Eaton. Bethlehem, a 
Moravian town, Reading, Harrisburg, then a small village on 
the Susquehanna river, Carlisle, Shippensburg, and Shaws- 
burg, in Pennsylvania, at the eastern margin of the .Mle- 
ghanies. Thus far the country was well inhabited and well 
cultivated. On our way over the mountains to Pittsburg the 
roads were dreadful and the settlements sparse. Bedford. 
Strystown, and Greensburg were about all the settlements 
we passed. From Pittsburg, or Fort Pitt as it was then most 
commonly called, to the mouth of the Big Beaver, there 
were few or no inhabitants. \\'e performed our journey on 
the south side of the Ohio river, there being no road on the 
other side. At the mouth of the Big Beaver was a small 
settlement called Mcintosh. From thence to the place of 
our destination the forest was uninterrupted, with the excep- 
tion that one or two families had settled and made some 
improvement at a place since called '"'reersburg. 

•Should be 1798. — E. Whittlesey in a note. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



We arrived at Cantield on the 24th day of May, 1797,* 
and pitched our first tent near the northeast corner of the 
town, our surveyor mistaking this for the center. Our jour- 
ney from the mouth of the Big Beaver had been performed 
by the aid of the compass and marlied trees. We erected a 
cabin or hut of poles and bark at the place where we first 
stopped. Our surveyor soon learned his mistake, and ascer- 
tained and fixed the center of the town. While doing this 
our cabin took fire and was burned up and some of our uten- 
sils with it. The lot upon which this cabin stood was after- 
wards known as the Burnt Cabin lot. Our first repast was 
made of smoked pork bought in Mcintosh, bread made by 
ourselves and baked m the ashes, and coffee without milk or 
sugar; and h.iving thus feasted we slept soundly upon our 
blankets spread upon the ground. Within a day or two we 
erected another cabin, at the center, and began to survey 
the road from the center east. Our surveyor aUer running 
about half a mile eastwardly from the center pronounced it 
impracticable to proceed, by reason of the wet and miry state 
of the ground. I returned with him ; and, wading through 
mud and water over my boots about si.\ rods, found hard 
ground and we proceeded without further difficulty. 

A little eastward of this swale of wet ground, on the north 
side of our surveyed road, we commenced the first clearing. 
Having cleared two acres we raked off the leaves with our 
hands, harrowed it with one horse and a wooden harrow. I 
planted it with com, potatoes, and beans. We cleared 
twelve acres and sowed wheat, and inclosed one field with a 
seven-rail fence. We cleared and sowed three acres to oats, 
and on the south side of the road we cleared and sowed 
twelve acres of wheat, f which proved an abundant crop. We 
erected a log house in the center and two houses and one 
barn east of the center. Having done this we cut out the 
east and west road. 

About one month after our arrival at Canfield, Champion 
Minor, with his wife and two children from Salisbury, arrived 
with an o.x-team. This was the first family which ever visited 
or settled in the town, and the company made a donation of 
land to the woman. A few days after the arrival of Minor's 
family the youngest child died. I went to Youngstown to 
procure a woman to aid in preparing the body for the grave. 
The coffin was made of split wood pinned together, and we 
buried the child decently, but without religious solemnities, 
about twenty rods from our cabin. Some wild beast nearly 
disinterred the body on the night of its burial, and we then 
built a strong fence around the grave. This was the first 
burial of any white person within the town. 

During this first summer I brought all our provisions and 
olher necessaries from Pittsburg through the wilderness on 
pack-horses, guided on my way by marked trees. A settle- 
ment had commenced the year before at Youngstown, and 
that was the only settlement near us. A few Indians visited 
us on their hunting excursions this summer. We understood 
that they came from the vicinity of Sandusky. They ap- 
peared friendly. Our party enjoyed tolerable health during 
the summer, and were generally submissive to my orders, 
although in my absence some disorder prevailed. 

Our men established a code of justice and system of pun- 
ishment of their own, and when I was absent from them, 
sometimes put their laws in force by tying the condemned 
one to a tree with his body naked and exposed to the attacks 
of mosquitoes. I soon repealed this cruel code. 



'1798.— E. Whittlesey. 
i-There was probably but one twelve-a 
that on the south side of the road.— El). 



Tiie town w.as laid off into lots, and most of our men took 
up lots but did not retain them long, as but few of them re- 
mained in the town. One Sunday one of my men, with- 
out my leave, went into his lot and commenced labor upon 
it by clearing. He was soon frightened away and came back 
to our cabin declaring that the devil had appeared to 
him. He had probably been frightened by the appearance 
of some wild beast. After this incident none of my men 
were disposed to labor on the Sabbath, a practice which I 
had stnctly forbidden. 

Champion Minor and his family, Samuel Gilson and 
Joseph Pangburn remained in the town. I believe all the 
others returned after cutting through the east and west road, 
which was the last of our labor. We reached Connecticut 
in safety the fall of the same year.some of us at least grate- 
ful fur the mercies which Providence had extended to us." 

It may be interesting to our readers to know 
with what equipments this surveying party were 
provided, and fortunately the information is at 
hand : 

A bill of articles delivered to Judson Canfield 
for the New Connecticut: 

April 28, 1798.* £ s. d. 

12 Narrow axes at 8s 4 i5 o 

r Broad axe at 15s 15 o 

I Chain , 18 o 

I Square and two pair compasses 7 o 

1 Draw-shave 6 

Half bushel white clover seed 2 8 o 

Half bushel herdsgrass seed 16 o 

3 lbs. Bohea tea at 4s. 6d 13 6 

2 lbs. pepper at 3s. 3d 6 6 

6 lbs. ginger at is. 6 9 o 

^11 14s 6d 
Received the above mentioned articles from Captain Elijah 
Wadsworth, by the hand of Arad Way. Also i6s. in cash. 
Sharon, April 28, 1798. 

Such was the outfit for a party of twelve men 
who were to spend several months in a solitary 
wilderness, fifty miles from any settlement of im- 
portance — about $5 to each man in tools, seed, 
and groceries, and sixteen shillings m cash! Yet 
the eleven men, who performed the journey on 
foot, doubtless thought they had as much bag- 
gage as was convenient. 

The names and residences of this surveying 
party were as follow: Nathaniel Church, Na 
than Moore, Eli Tousley, Nathaniel Gridley 
Barker King, Reuben Tupper, and David Skin 
ner, of Salisbury, Connecticut; Carson Bacon 
Samuel Gilson, and Joshua HoUister, of Sharon 
Connecticut; Charles Campbell and Joseph 
Pangburn, of Cornwall, Connecticut. 



*The date given in Mr. Church's letter must be i 
Evidently these articles were for the surveying party, which 
must have left Sharon after their delivery and not on April 
2oth, as stated. — Ed. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHtO. 



Just here arises the question whether Hon. 
Judson Canfield was of the party. That he was 
in Canfield in June, 1798, is show by a trans- 
cript of the records of the survey, originally in 
the possession of Judson Canfield and now be- 
longing to his grandson. On page 123 of this 
transcript is the following: 

A draft of the first division in Campfield on the Reserve, 
made the 20th of June, 1798, at Campfield, by Nathaniel 
Church, the agent, ana Judson Canfield, clerk, and drawn 
by Nathan Moore, viz ; 

Judson Canfield 4,081,* drew lot No. fourth. 

Judsoi. Canfield 2,090 A 

Samuel Canfield 437 (, gi , do. lot No. first. 

Nathaniel Church 1,400 I ^ 

James Johnston 154/ 

l?""^! Ix°*'""°" 3'^'*'* !• 4.081, do. lot second. 

David Waterman 733 I 

David Waterman 2,012 ) „ ^ , j,^ ,.^ 

Elijah Wadsworth 2,069 1 4.ooi. Qo. 101 '^o- "i>™, 

N. B,— Not No. I is the southwest lot, lot No. 2 is the 
northwest lot, lot No. 3 is the southeast lot, and lot No. 4 
is the northeast lot. 

Judson Canfeld. 

Nath.j^niel Church. 

Nathan Moore. 
N. B. — The above four lots were the four center lots pre- 
vious to their being cut up into small lots containing about 
seven acres each. Each of the above four lots before cut up 
contained about sixty-three acres, being 186 by 60 rods, in- 
cluding highways; and each lot has been cut up into eight. 

When these four center lots were subdivided 
does not appear, but It must have been during 
the summer of 1798,33 Mr. Church speaks of 
his men taking up lots in the town, in the letter 
given above. It is somewhat surprising that he 
nowhere mentions Mr. Canfield's visit lo the 
Reserve. 

THE N.\ME. 

Campfield was tlie name given the township 
by the surveyors, and it is so denominated in 
their maps and notes. An old book of records 
deposited with the recorder of deeds of Trumbull 
county contains in manuscript a record of the 
survey as well as other records. The first page 
of this book is as follows : 

The first book of records of the township numljer one in 
tlie third range in the Connecticut Reserve called Campfield, 
a/i<!S Canfield. 

.•\pril, 1798. Voted that township number one in the third 
range should be called Campfield. 

April 15, 1800. Voted that the above townshi|) should be 
called Canfield. 

The last name was bestowed in honor of Jud- 
son Canfield, the largest projirielor of land in 
the townshij). 

•The number of acres owned by each is denoted by the 
figures opposite the name. 



SETTLEMENT. 

All of the first settlers were from Connecticut 
— wide-awake, progressive Yankees. We have 
attempted to classify the early settlers according 
to the date at which they arrived here. As al- 
ready recorded. Champion Miner and family 
made a permanent settlement in 1798. This 
family, with Samuel Gilson and Joseph Pang- 
burn, made up the population of Canfield dur- 
ing the winter of 1798-99. 

1799. Phineas Reed arrived in the spring of 
this year, whether with or without a family, we 
are unable to learn. In the fall came Eleazer 
Gilson and Joshua Hollister. 

1800. Nathan Moore and family arrived on 
the 15th of May, having been forty-five days on 
the road. This is the only recorded arrival dur- 
ing that year. 

1801. James Doud and family, Ichabod At- 
wood, Calvin Tobias, Abijah Peck. 

1802. Captain Wadsworth, Simeon Sprague, 
Tryal Tanner, Matthew Steele, Aaron Collar, 
and William Chidester with families, David But- 
ler, David Hatfield, Charles and Henry Chit- 
tenden, Benjamin Bradley, Ariel Bradley, War- 
ren Bissel, Daniel Miner. Some of those last 
named were probably accompanied by their 
families. 

1803 — Abisha Chapinan, Jonathan Sprague, 
Dr. Pardee, Benjamin Yale, William Chapman, 
Bradford Waldo, Wilder Page, Cook Fitch. 

1804 — Zeba Loveland, Archibald Johnston, 
and probably many others. 

1805 — Herman Canfield and wife, Ebenezer 
Bostwick and family. This year began the Ger- 
man settlement. Henry Yager, Jacob Ritter, 
Jacob Wetzel, Henry Ohl, Conrad NefT, Peter 
Lynn, John Lynn, George Lynn, Daniel Fink, 
Adam Blankman and Philip Borts arrived during 
this year; some of them, perhaps, a year earlier. 
All, however, did not settle in Canfield, but those 
who did formed an important addition to the 
population and did much toward develojiing the 
agricultural resources of the new settlement. 

There are others whose names should have 
been included in the above lists, could the pre- 
cise date of their coming have been ascertained. 
Azariah Wetmore, Jonah Scofield, John Everett 
and others were among the very earliest settlers. 

Many of tliose whose names ajjjjcar above 
remained but a few years, some of them but one 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



season; and of those who remained and died 
here information has not always been obtainable. 

Nathan Moore was the surveyor of the party 
which came out in 1798. After his settlement 
here in 1800 he remained a few years then moved 
away with his family. 

James Doud settled two miles east of the 
center. He had several children who lived here 
until they were men and women and then moved. 
His sons were Herman, James, William, and 
Samuel. His oldest daughter, Lydia, married 
Judge Bingham, of Ellsworth ; Anna became 
Mrs. Hall, of Ravenna. Mr. Doud was a drover. 
He passed over the mountains many times with 
droves of cattle, but on his last trip he was taken 
sick and died. 

Ichabod Atwood settled in the northwest of 
the township and afterward moved to Springfield. 
He had several sons and daughters, none of 
whom settled here. He built quit a nice frame 
barn at an early date. 

Eleazer Gilson settled east of the center m 
1801, afterwards moved to Turner street. His 
son Samuel was also an early settler. Isaac, 
Lizzie (Everett), Cynthia, and Maria (Beeman) 
were the names of others of this family. 

Jonah Scofield in 1800 or 180T settled a short 
distance west of the center, where he lived and 
died. His son William went South and died. 
Pamela married Edward Wadsworth. Frances 
married John Reed. Both of these resided in 
Canfield. 

Aaron Collar died in 18 13 at the age of forty- 
nine. Lavinia, his wife, died the same year aged 
forty-six. SfeVeral of their descendants still re- 
side in this township. An epidemic in 1813 
carried off a large number of the settlers. 

James Bradley lived on the farm afterwards 
owned by Philo Beardsley, and now owned by 
Noah Lynn. Ariel Bradley removed to Portage 
county in 1805. 

William Chidester came out in company with 
Tryal Tanner. He settled one and one fourth 
miles west of the center. He died in 1813, 
aged fifty-seven. His sons were Hezekiah, 
Philo, Erastus, Rush, Velorus, Julius, and Royal- 
Chloe and Betsey were his daughters. Chloe 
became Mrs. Smith and settled in Ellsworth. 
Hezekiah married Lizzie Buell, resided in Can- 
field and reared a large family. Philo also 
passed his life in this township. Erastus lived 



here several years, then moved west. Rush 
went to Medina county. Velorus died the 
same year with his father. Julius moved to 
Medina county. Royal occupied his father's 
old farm, and died there. He married the widow 
of Jarvis, who is still living on the old place. 
William Chidester, the father, was a man of good 
ability. He was the first justice of the peace in 
Canfield, and solemnized many marriages in this 
and surrounding townships in early days. 

Ira Spague settled one mile south of the cen- 
ter. His son Augustus occupied the farm after 
him. Henry Sprague, son of Augustus, is now 
living on the place. 

Reuben Tupper settled on the farm which 
David Hine purchased later. 

Several members of the Sackett family settled 
in Canfield very early. Simmons Sackett lived 
in this township until 1863, when he died at the 
age of seventy-five. 

Some of the old settlers attained a remarkable 
age. Esther, the wife of Captain Philo Beardsley, 
died at the age of ninety-one. Ethel Starr, a 
comparatively early settler, died in 1861, aged 
ninety-two years. John Everett died in 1819, at 
the age of ninety-two. 

Abishai Chapman settled in the northwest of 
the township, biit sold out and moved. 

William Chapman owned two lots near the 
center. He died in 1813, at the age of thirty- 
six, and was buried the same day as Squire Chid- 
ester. His widow married a Mr. Merwin and 
went to Palmyra to live. 

John and Sarah Everett were early settlers. 
They had but one child, a daughter — Mrs. 
Sprague. They were old people when they 
came here and died in early years. 

Matthew Steele settled southeast of the center. 
The family were all grown before the memory of 
old residents. 

Bradford Waldo remained few years in this 
township, then moved to Portage county. He 
was noted as a wit, and had a gift for making 
impromptu doggerel verses, which were some- 
times extremely amusing. 

Herman Canfield, Sr., brother of Judson Can- 
field, married Fitia Bostwick. In October, 1805;, 
they settled in Canfield. Six children were born 
to them, viz : Herman, William H., Elizabeth, 
Cornelia, and Lora. Lieutenant-colonel Her- 
man Canfield died at Crump's Landing, .\prii 7, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



1862, while in the service of his country. He 
was a lawyer of ability and worth, served as State 
Senator from Medina county, and held other 
important positions. William H. Canfield was 
born in 1806, and died in Kansas in 1874. He 
studied law m the office of Hon. Elisha Whit- 
tlesey. In 1866 he removed to Kansas, and in 
1870 was appointed judge of the Eighth Judicial 
district of that State, and held the position until 
his death. 

James Reed settled in the western part of the 
township in 1805, moving from Ellsworth. After 
his settlement his father, also named James, 
came out and lived with him. He died here at 
the age of about seventy, and was the fifth per- 
son buried in the center graveyard. During the 
War of 181 2 Mr. Reed set up a distillery, and 
furnished the army with whiskey, which then 
formed a part of soldiers' rations. James Reed 
died in 18 13; Mrs. Reed survived until i860, 
and reached the remarkable age of ninety-eight 
years. Her children were: Mary (Bowman), 
born in 1791, still living, in Goshen township; 
Rosanna, born in 1793, died in 1813; Jemmia 
(Rudisill), born in 1797, died, aged seventy-five; 
James, Jr., born in 1799, lives in Michigan; 
Rachel (Turner), born in 1801, resides in Can- 
field; Eleanor (Turner), born in 1803, lives in 
Summit county; Anna, born in 1806, died, aged 
three and a half years; John C, born in 1809, 
died, aged forty; Hiram, born in 181 1, killed 
when two months old, his mother being thrown 
from ahorse with the babe in her arms; Joshua, 
born in 1812, resides in Alliance. Mr. Reed, 
while living in Canfield, attempted to dig a well 
upon his farm, and came near losing his life in it 
on account of the "damps" or foul gases there. 
A colored man known as Black Tobe, hearing 
that Mr. Reed had abandoned the well, came to 
him, and urged that he be allowed to finish the 
job. He was told of the danger, but would not 
listen, arid was finally allowed to enter the well. 
Before those attending him] became aware of his 
state, he was overcome and sank down in a suf- 
focating condition. He was lifted out, but 
all attempts to revive him proved ineffectual, and 
he died the victim of his rashness. 

John and Magdalena (Neir) Harding came to 
this township about the year 1805. Their sons 
were John, George, and Jacob, all of whom died 
in this county. The daughters were MoUie 



(Harroff), Katharine (Ohl), Mary (Neff), Betsey 
(Kline), Sarah A. (Oswald), and Rebecca (Hood). 
Mrs. Kline and Mrs. Oswald are the only surviv- 
ors of this family. 

Jacob Oswald was among the early settlers of 
the township, located on what is now the Samuel 
Stitel farm. He moved to Liberty township, 
Trumbull county. His son Charles returned to 
Canfield in 1826, and passed his life in the town- 
ship. 

The Lynns of Canfield and other portions of 
this county, are descended from Nicholas Lynn, 
who emigrated to America from Germany pre- 
vious to the Revolutionary war. He was a sol- 
dier in the war, and after its close married and 
settled in Berks county, Pennsylvania. It is said 
that he was the father of fourteen children, but 
the history of only eleven can be traced — five 
sons, Philip, Jacob, Peter, George, and John, 
and six daughters. Philip and four of the 
daughters, Mrs. Snyder, Mrs. Reaser, Mrs. Shei- 
bly, and Mrs. Kock, remained in Pennsylvania, 
and their descendants are numerous in Berks, 
Perry, Lehigh, and other counties, ranking high 
in social and civic positions. The family of the 
oldest son, Philip, consisted of three sons and 
several daughters. One of the sons, John, came 
to Canfield and resided near Cornersburg. Af- 
ter living here several years, building a saw-mill, 
etc., he sold out and returned to Pennsylvania. 
One of his grandsons, Solomon W., is a resident 
of Austintown. 

Jacob, the second son, en me to Ohio about 
1830, and died in this township in 1837, at the 
age of seventy. His sons were Jacob, Jesse, 
John, and Philip ; his daughters, Mrs. Jacob 
Heintzelman, Mrs. Christian Heintzelman, and 
Mrs. Miller. Two are now living, Mrs. Jacob 
Heintzelman, and Jesse, the second son. 

The three younger sons of Nicholas Lynn 
came to Canfield in 1805, and settled on adjoin- 
ing farms. George died in 1833, aged fifty-eight; 
John in 1835, aged fifty-six, and Peter in 1858, 
at the age of eighty-six. Peter Lynn had three 
sons, Adam, William, and Peter, and three 
daughters, Mrs. Fullwiler, Mrs. Shellabarger, and 
Mrs. Infelt. All are dead excepting Adam 
Lynn, Esq., for many years a justice in this 
township. George Lynn's family numbered five 
sons, David, John, George, William second, and 
Levi, and two daughters, Mrs. Nathan Hartman, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and Mrs. S. W. Lynn. All are living except 
William, who died in 1851, aged thirty-five. 
His son, William C. Lynn, a resident of the 
Black Hills region, is six feet eight inches tall, 
and correspondingly well developed. John 
Lynn, youngest son of Nicholas, had three sons, 
John N. O., David second, and G. W., and three 
daughters, Mrs. George E. Hardmg, Mrs. Joseph 
Hartman, and one who died young. Three mem- 
bers of this family are living. 

Barbara, youngest daughter of Nicholas Lynn, 
came to Ohio about 1806. She married Abra- 
ham Kline. Her liushand soon died, and she 
lived a widow fifty-seven years, until death called 
her home. She was a woman of great benevo- 
lence, and having gained a competence, be- 
stowed It freely upon religious and charitable 
organizations. Among other bequests, she gave 
$1,000 to Heidelberg college. Tiffin, Ohio. She 
died in 1873, aged seventy-eight. 

Susanna, also a daughter of the Revolutionary 
ancestor, married a Mr. Bailey and settled in 
Ohio about 1820. She had three sons and two 
daughters. One of the daughters married 
John Corll, and another, Samuel Rupright. 
Only one of Mrs. Bailey's children is now living, 
her son, Jacob, now a resident of Indiana. The 
Lynns are thrifty and worthy people, friends to 
law and order, and zealous in the support of ed- 
ucation and religion. In 1804 David Hine, from 
Warren, Litchfield county, Connecticut, came to 
Canfield on foot; purchased land and began 
some improvements upon it, in 1806. The same 
year he brought his family with an ox team. His 
farm was situated one and one-half miles west of 
the center. In 18 10 Mr. and Mrs. Hine returned 
to Connecticut to visit their friends, and remained 
until thespringof 1811, when they again came to 
Canfield. David Hine died in 1859, in his sev- 
enty-eighth year. His wife, Achsah (Sackett) 
Hine, died in 1832, aged forty-seven. Their 
family consisted of seven sons and three daugh- 
ters, namely, Myron, Warren, Chester, Benjamin, 
Charles, David, Jr., William, Cynthia, Mary, and 
Betsey. All arrived at maturity. Three sons 
and two daughters are still living, Warren, in 
Canfield; Cliarles, in Warren, Connecticut; Wil- 
liam, in Canfield; Cynthia, wife of C. S. Mygatt, 
Canfield ; and Betsey, wife of William Cum- 
stock, Canfield. 

In 1806 came Elisha Whittlesey, doubtless the 



greatest accession the township ever had. He 
was in public service almost constantly from the 
date of his settlement until his death, in 1863; 
and all trusts, whether of town, county. State, or 
Nation, were discharged in a manner which never 
failed to please and satisfy. His biography, and 
likewise that of his honored and esteemed as- 
sociate, Judge Eben Newton, will be found in 
this work. It may be proper to mention here 
the names of a few distinguished men who were 
students in the law office of Mr. Whittlesey: Hon. 
Joshua R. Giddings, Hon. Benjamin F. Wade, 
W. C. Otis, General Ralph P. Buckland, and 
Columbia Lancaster, afterwards of Oregon, re- 
ceived a portion of their legal training in Can- 
field. 

In 1806 the Turner family came to the north- 
western part of the township. The road on 
which they lived was long known as " Turner 
street " and is frequently mentioned thus by old 
residents at the present day. Adam Turner and 
his wife Margaret came from New Jersey. They 
had five sons and three daughters, viz: John, 
Elsie, Conrad, Mary, James, George, Robert, 
and Charity. John settled in Canfield for a 
time, but moved to Sharon, Medina county, 
where he died at the age of eighty-six. Elsie 
married Giles Clark and resided in Hubbard, 
Trumbull county; died in Clarksville, Pennsyl- 
vania. Conrad bought his brother John's farm 
in the northwest of the township; sold out, 
moved to Medina county, and died at the age of 
eif;hty-two. Mary married fames Reed, form- 
erly of Pennsylvania, and died in this township. 

George died in Medina county, and Robert in 
Michigan. Charity married Henry Edsall, and 
resided in Canfield. Of these eight children 
there are no survivors. James, the third son, 
was born in 1796, and died July 17, 1873. In 
1819 he married Rachel Reed, who is still liv- 
ing. She bore five children, four of whom 
arrived at maturity. Three are still living. 
Fidelia married Ward E. Sackett, and after his 
death became the wife of Julius Tanner, of Can- 
field. Charles R. married Flora Sackett for his 
first wife. She bore three children, two of 
whom, Jemima Estella and Hattie S., are living. 
For his second wife he married Harriet Sackett, 
who bore one son; he was accidentally shot by a 
playmate at the age of nine years. Charles R. 
Turner was born in 1822 and died in 1874. 



i6 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



James C. resides on the old homestead in Can- 
field. Betsey M. is the wife of Judson W. Can- 
field. 

Benjamin Manchester, whose ancestors came 
from England to America in 1638, was born in 
Newport county, Rhode Island, in 1786. 
Thomas Manchester, the progenitor of the Man- 
chester family in this country, was one of the 
company that purchased the Island of Aquiday, 
afterwards called Rhode Island, from the Indian 
sachem, Miantonomah, in 1639. Benjamin 
Manchester moved with his parents to Washing- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, in 1797. In 1805 he 
married Phebe Hannah Doddridge, born in 
1788. In April, 1809, they. settled on a farm in 
the southern part of Canfield township. They 
reared four children, three of whom are now 
living: James, born in 1806, resides in Illinois; 
Philip, born in 1808, resides in Indiana; Isaac, 
born in 18 10, now living in Canfield; and Mary 
Ann, born in 1812. She married George Ranck, 
of Wayne county, Indiana, and died in 1852. 
The wife of Benjamin Manchester died in 1813. 
In 1821 he married Margaret McGowen, who 
also bore four children — Phebe Jane, Eliza, 
Robert, and Martha. Eliza and Martha are 
dead. Phebe Jane, the widow of Elijah Jones, 
lives in Missouri. Robert resides in Canfield. 
Benjamin Manchester was a soldier m the War 
of 1812. He held various township trusts, and 
was one of the township trustees twenty-seven 
consecutive years. He was a man of the 
strictest morality and integrity. He died in 
i8S7- 

TA.XES IN 1803. 

Thirty-six dollars and ninety-three cents was 
the amount of taxes raised in the township of 
Canfield in the year 1803. Many who paid less 
than a dollar doubtless lived to see their taxes 
increased, "some thirty, and some sixty, and some 
an hundred fold." The list is as follows: 

CANFIELD, RANGE THREE, TOWN ONE. 

.-Amount of Tax. 

Atwood. Icliabod $ .50 

Bradley. James 1.04 

Bedford, James 64 

Bissel, Warren 20 

Collar, Aaron i-S^ 

Crane, Calvin 52 

Chidester, William 54 

Chittenden, Timothy 53 

Chittenden, Charles 58 

Doud, James 56 



Doud, Polly 25 

Everett, John 53 

Faulkner, Henry 25 

Gridley, Nathaniel 82 

Gilson, Samuel i.io 

Gifford, James 10 

Gifford, Peregrine P 10 

Gifford, Richard 38 

Hollister, Joshua 14 

Hulbert, Raphael 1.06 

Harrington, Jacob 24 

Hine, Homer 03 

Johnson, Archibald 80 

Loveland. Zeba 12 

Merwin, Zebulon 52 

Miner, Champion .20 

Moore, Nathan .48 

Neil, John .21 

Page, Wilder 56 

Pardy, David , .03 

Pangburn, Joseph 22 

Reed, Phineas 58 

Reed, James 47 

Steele, Matthew 2. 30 

Scovill, Jonah 24 

Simcox, John 10 

Sprague, Ira. . . 24 

Tobias, Calvin 28 

Tupper, Reuben 52 

Tanner, Tryal i. 60 

Wadsworth, Elijah 1526 

Waldo, Bradford 14 

Yale, Benjamin 02 

Total $3693 

FIRST EVENTS. 

The first burial in the township took place 
July 21, 1798. A little child, the daughter of 
Champion Minor, was buried in lot forty-four, 
second division, about three-fourths of a mile 
east of the center. Two rude stones mark the 
head and foot of the grave. The first person 
buried in the cemetery east of the center was 
Olive, the wife of Charles Chittenden. She 
died September 30, 1801. 

The first male child born in the township was 
Royal Canfield Chidister, born June 22, 1802, 
about three rods east of the center of the town- 
ship. 

The first log-house built in the township was 
on the southeast corner of lot fifty-one in the 
second division. The first clearing was made 
on lot fifty-two, second division. 

The first frame house in the township was 
built in 1802-3 by Elijah Wadsworth. It was 
two-story, 30 X 40 feet. 

The first marriage ceremony ever solemnized 
in this township was that of Joseph Pangburn 




ifUiAA^ Vo^^ C^ 




'■o^-^fz. ^^e<z4 c/.j/e^ . 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



17 



and Lydia Fitch. They were married April 11, 
i8or, by Caleb Baldwin, Esq., of Youngstown. 

February 11, 1800, Alfred Woolcott, surveyor, 
led to the hymenial altar Mercy Gilson, daugh- 
ter of Eleazer Gilson, of this township. For 
want of some person qualified by law to solem- 
nize the ceremony, they were obliged to go to 
Pennsylvania to be married. 

POST-OFFICE. 

In 1801 the first mail route to the Reserve 
was established through the influence of Elijah 
Wadsworth, who was then appointed postmaster 
at Canfield. He was again postmaster in 181 3. 

THE FIRST MILLS. 

The first saw-mill in the township was erected 
on lot number three in the fourth division, in the 
northwestern corner of the township. Work 
was begun in the spring of 1801, by Jonah Sco- 
ville. In the summer of the same year he sold 
it to Ichabod Atwood, who completed the mill 
during the succeeding fall and winter, and com- 
menced sawing in the spring of 1802. 

The second saw-mill was erected in 1802, on 
the southeast corner of the "Brier Lot." It was 
owned, one-half by Elijah Wadsworth, one- 
fourth by Tryal Tanner, one-eighth by William 
Sprague, and one-eighth by Matthew Steele. 
Jared Hill came from Connecticut to build it. 
Sawing was commenced in 1803. The land on 
which the mill stood belonged to Judson Can- 
field, from whom it was rented in 1802, by Mr. 
Wadsworth, for seven years. The consideration 
for the use of the land was thus e.xpressed in the 
lease: "One pepper-corn yearly, to be paid if 
demanded." 

In 1810 a carding machine was erected by a 
company. The machinery was propelled by 
horse-power. Wool was sent to this mill from 
Cleveland, Painesville, and other distant points. 

A saw-mill and grist-mill was in operation in 
1828, on the stream known as the "South run." 
It was run by a man named Oister. 

PHYSICIANS. 

The first of these useful members of society 
who ministered unto the sick and afflicted in 
Canfield was Dr. David Pardee. He came to 
the settlement in 1803, but remained only a 
short time. Little is known concerning him 
except that he was considered very much of nn 
oddity. 
3* 



In 1807 Dr. Shadrach Bostwick moved from 
Deerfield to Canfield. He was born in Mary- 
land, in 1769; moved to Massachusetts, and 
thence to Deerfield, Portage county, in company 
with his father-in-law, Daniel Diver, in 1803. 
He held two important positions, physician and 
Methodist minister. In both he was earnest and 
faithful. Though by no means deeply skilled in 
the healing art, he always strove to the best of 
his ability to efilect cures, and the patient always 
knew that the doctor's sympathies were with him. 
For many years Dr. Bostwick continued to give 
both medical and spiritual advice to th'e people 
of Canfield and adjoining settlements. When 
he arrived in the township there was but one 
Methodist family among its inhabitants, but he 
lived to see a large and prosperous society as 
the result of his labors. He died in Canfield 
in 1837. 

Dr. Ticknor was, a physician in Canfield as 
early as 1814. He married Getia Bostwick, and 
practiced here with good success several years. 
He held some kind of a naval commission and 
was subject to orders to leave at any time. 

Dr. Ira Brainard came to Canfield about 181 7 
and died here in 1825. He studied medicine 
with Dr. Allen in Kinsman, and had a large prac- 
tice in this region. 

Dr. Chauncy R. Fowler, whose long and ex- 
tensive practice in this county has secured a 
wide reputation, was born in Poland, this county, 
September 25, 1802, being a son of Jonathan 
and Lydia (Kirtland) Fowler, the first settlers in 
the township of Poland. He studied medicine 
with Dr. Manning, of Youngstown, and in Octo- 
ber, 1823, commenced practice in Poland, where 
he continued until 1826, when he removed to 
Canfield, where he has since resided. Dr. 
Fowler was married in 1826 to Mary D. Hoi 
land, daughter of Benjamin Holland, of Youngs- 
town. She died in 1865, having borne four sons 
and one daughter, viz: Dr. Charles N. Fowler, 
of Youngstown; Henry M. Fowler, editor of the 
Dispatch, Canfield; Russell C. Fowler, who died 
in 1858; Dr. Jonathan E. Fowler, who died in 
1870, and Hannah Jane, wife of Dr. A. W. Cal- 
vin, of Canfield. Dr. Fowler has been actively 
engaged in the practice of medicine in this 
county longer than any other physician, his prac- 
tice in Canfield and adjoining townships cover- 
ing a period of more than fifty-five years. That 



■RUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ht; has been successful the high esteem with 
which he is regarded by the large community 
which has employed him affords most convincing 
evidence. 

Dr. J. M. Caldwell has been engaged in the 
practice of medicine m Canfield for about forty 
years past. He was also in the drug and grocery 
business for some time. Dr. Caldwell was born 
in Ireland, attended medical lectures in Phila 
delphia and graduated there over fifty years ago. 

Dr. Lewis D. Coy, eclectic physician and sur- 
geon, is a native of this county, and though a 
young man is fast gaining a lucrative practice. 
He settled in Canfield in 1879. 

Dr. A. VV. Calvin, for several years an esteemed 
physician of Canfield, died in 1881. A sketch 
of his life will be found elsewhere. 

Dr. E. K. Prettyman, eclectic physician, is a 
native of Delaware. He practiced in Pennsyl- 
vania some years and settled in Canfield in 1880. 

FORMER MERCHANTS. 

The first store was established in 1804 by 
Zalmon Fitch, in partnership with Herman Can- 
field. This is said, on good authority, to have 
been the second permanent mercantile establish- 
ment upon the Reserve. Mr. Fitch continued 
the business in Canfield until 1813, when he 
moved to Warren. While in Canfield he also 
kept tavern. 

Comfort S. Mygatt, one of Canfield's earliest 
merchants, was born August 23, 1763. About 
the ist of June, 1807, from his home in Dan- 
bury, Connecticut, he dispatched a team con- 
sisting of two pair of oxen and two horses, with 
a large wagon loaded with household goods, for 
Ohio. One week later he started with his family 
with four horses and a fifth horse to hitch on 
when necessary, which was often the case. He 
overtook the first team in Shippensburg, Penn- 
sylvania, and from there the two journeyed in 
company. On the 4th of July all were in Pitts- 
burg together, and on the 7th they arrived in 
Canfield, the first team having been five weeks 
on the road and the one which brought Mr. My- 
gatt and family four. The family, at the time 
of their arrival, consisted of Mr. Mygatt and 
wife, four daughters, two sons, and two step-sons 
— ten persons in all. July 16, 1807, a son was 
born — Dr. Eli Mygatt, now an honored citizen 
of Poland. Soon after reaching Canfield Mr. 
Mygatt entered into jjartncrship with Herman 



Canfield and Zalmon Fitch, under the firm name 
of Mygatt, Canfield & Fitch, and opened a store 
of dry goods, groceries, and general merchan. 
dise. The partnership was dissolved after about 
two years, and the business was continued by 
Mr. Mygatt during the remainder of his life. 
He died in October, 1823. In 181 1 Mr. My- 
gatt and his wife rode on horseback from Can- 
field to Danbury, but returned in a two-wheeled 
carriage, driving one horse before the other. 
The journey,, a distance of five hundred and 
thirty miles, occupied eleven days. 

In 1828 the merchants of Canfield were three, 
Alson Kent, Eli T. Boughton, and William 
Hogg. 

Boughton came here a young man. He was 
a tailor by trade. As a merchant he continued 
to do a fair business for many years. He died 
in Canfield. His first wife was a daughter of 
Comfort S. Mygatt, and his second the widow of 
Ensign Church. 

■ Alson Kent came to this place from Ravenna, 
and was in business several years. 1 

William Hogg came from Petersburg and was | 
a fairly successful merchant. A store built by | 
him is now a dwelling, owned by Charles I 
French. 

C. S. Mygatt, son of Comfort S., was born in 
Canfield in 1815. In 1833 he began business 
with the firm of Lockwood, Mygatt & Co., dealers 
in general merchandise. From that date until 
i860 he was in business here as a merchant, I 
part of the time in partnership. Mr. Mygatt is j 
still a resident of his native town. | 

Among others who have been merchants in I 
Canfield, and are still residents of the place, are | 
William Schmick, John Sanzenbacher, and ] 
Pierpont Edwards. For particulars see their 
biographies. 

canfield's merchants. 

Below we briefly mention the firms now doing 
business in Canfield, beginning at the store situ- 
ated on the corner northwest of the center of I 
the township and proceeding south to the court- 
house, crossing the street and asking the reader 
to accompany us down on the other side: 

VV. H. Kyle, dealer in hardware, etc., began 
business in 1878 in the corner store formerly oc- 
cupied by C. S. Mygatt as a grocery. Betts & 
Sons manufacture and deal in pumps in a part 
I of the same building. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



19 



Truesdale & Kirk, who have an extensive 
stock of dry goods and general merchandise, be- 
gan business in Schmick's block in 1876. The 
senior member of this firm, Dr. J. Truesdale, 
began keeping a general store in 1859 in Odd 
Fellow's block, having James McClelland as 
partner, the style of the firm being McClelland 
& Truesdale. Three years later McClelland 
went out, and Dr. Truesdale continued business 
alone till 1867, and then formed a partnership 
with Charles E. Boughton, the name of the 
firm being Truesdale & Boughton. The part- 
nership continued three years, and in 1870 Mr. 
J. C. Kirk became the Doctor's partner. Mr.. 
Kirk is a native of Berlin township, this county, 
and began his business life as a clerk in 1866, at 
the age of seventeen. 

Hollis & Brother, dealers in stoves and hard- 
ware, have been in business since i860. G. H. 
Hollis began in 1857, and was joined by his 
brother, R. S. Hollis, in 1860. They were 
burned out in 1867, after which occurrence they 
built the store they now occupy. Lynn Brothers, 
dealers in drugs, groceries, and notions, com- 
menced in 1873. The firm consists of Messrs. 
G. F. & E. D. Lynn, both young men and 
natives of the township. They are doing a good 
business. The store which they occupy had 
been previously used by Gee & Blythe, who 
were in the same business. 

Samuel Ewing opened his meat market in 
1878 in the shop owned by the widow Lynn. 

G. Fishel, dealer in confectionery, tobacco, 
cigars, ice cream, etc., commenced in 1877. 

George Bartman, repairer and dealer in clocks, 
has been at work in this place over twenty years. 

G. Rupright, grocer, bought out John Miller 
in 1864. He moved to Canfield village from a 
farm in the southeastern part of the township. 

A. G. Arnold began the furniture business 
about fifteen years ago. He is now agent for 
Eli Creps, and does business in the store built 
and now owned by Robert Hole, of Salem. 

G. VV. Shellhorn, manufacturer and dealer m 
boots and shoes, came to Canfield in 1853 from 
Summit county, and purchased of Henry Hoff- 
man the store formerly occupied by G. G. Weare. 

J. O. Corll, druggist, began in November, 
1879, having bought the store of Dr. W. M. 
Corli. He keeps a large stock of first-class 
goods, both drugs and groceries, and aims to 



meet all the wants of his rapidly increasing list 
of customers. 

H. B. Brainerd, tailor, came to Canfield in 
October, 1828, and began working at his trade, 
which he still continues to follow. Mr. Brainerd 
was born at Saratoga Springs, New York, in 
1808. He came to Ohio in 181 1 with his father, 
George Bramerd, who settled in Boardman. 
There are four survivors of this family, viz: 
Henry, Liberty, Trumbull county; Mrs. Eliza 
Davidson, Boardman; John H., Cuyahoga Falls, 
Summit county ; and Horace B., Canfield. 
George Bramerd, the father, died in 1870 at the 
age of ninety-two. Mrs. Brainerd died in 1824 
aged forty-four. H. B. Brainerd served his ap- 
prenticeship in Cleveland when that place was 
but a small village. He acted as insurance 
agent in Canfield about thirty-five years. 

S. K. Crooks began the harness business in 
1861. This he still continues in connection with 
dealing m grain and feed. He occupies the store 
formerly (ohn Metzal's meat shop. The build- 
ing was erected for an ofifice and occupied for 
some time by John Wetmore, revenue collector. 

John Dodson, dealer in groceries, books, 
stationery, etc., commenced business in Canfield 
in 1859. He has moved several times, but has 
been in his present store since 1868. The build- 
ing was formerly a cigar factory. In 1881 Mr. 
Dodson began building a large and commodious 
store, two stories, 59x19 feet, which he intends 
to occupy as a store as soon as it is completed, 
at the same time carrying on business in his 
present quarters. 

Ira H. Bunnell, manufacturer and dealer in 
saddles, harness, and trunks, commenced in 
1870 in the building he now occupies. Mr. 
Bunnell was born in Canfield township in 1822. 
His lather, Charles A. Bunnell, came here quite 
early and was a carpenter by trade. Mr. Bun- 
nell has served as justice of the peace several 
years. 

At present there is but one store in operation 
on the east side of Broad street until Main street 
is reached, and that one is the grocery and 
saloon of J. P. Saddler, who began business in 
1880. 

Pierpont Edwards had a well-filled store north 
of the Congregational church, but closed out his 
business in i88i. 

M. V. B. King, druggist. Church block, cor- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ner of Main and Broad streets, has been in his 
present business since May, 1878. He succeed- 
ed L W. Kirk, grocer and postmaster. Mr. 
King was appointed postmaster in 1879. 

Edwards & Dybali, dealers in dry goods and 
general merchandise, commenced m May, 1881, 
succeeding P. Edwards. They occupy a store 
in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows' 
block. 

TAVERNS. 

Who kept the first tavern in Canfield we have 
not learned. In early days every house was a 
"house of entertainment," and new arrivals were 
made welcome and treated to the best the house 
afforded. 

Cook Fitch came to Canfield in 1802. For 
some years he kept tavern north of Main street, 
on the east side of the road — the fourth house 
north of the corner where the brick block stands. 
He was a quiet, straight-forward man, and kept 
a good house, which was a stopping place for 
the Cleveland and Pittsburg stages. 

The brick hotel, now known as the American 
house, was built by Joel Keck. M. L. Edwards 
kept hotel a number of years m a frame hotel, 
afterwards burned, which occupied the site of 
the American house. The American, under the 
management of Ira M. Twiss, is proving very 
popular. 

L. L. Bostwick enlarged his father's dwelling, 
converted it into a public house, and acted as 
landlord a number of years. The house is still 
known as the Bostwick house. 

Besides the American and the Bostwick, Can- 
field has two other hotels : Canfield house, H. 
Hoffman, and the Union house, Christian Pat- 
terman. 

BANKINC. 

Canfield has no National bank, or savings 
institution. Van Hyning & Co. commenced 
banking in 187 1. The stock company originally 
consisted of fourteen members, which number is 
now reduced to seven. In 1873 they erected the 
bank building which they now occupy. The 
names of the stockholders are as follow: Henry 
Van Hynmg, president ; Peter Gee, cashier; 
Eben Newton, Hosea Hoover, Warren Hine, 
Giles Van Hyning, and S. W. Brainerd. 

TANNERY AND BELT MANUFACTORY. 

The leading manufacturing interest m Canfield 
is represented by the firm of J. Sanzenbacher 



& Co. The history of this industry, briefly 
sketched, is as follows: In 1865 John Sanzen- 
bacher bought of F. A. Brainard his tannery, 
and commenced work in it. The tannery at the 
time of its purchase had a capacity for dressing 
about five hundred hides per year. Mr. Sanzen- 
bacher enlarged the building, and doubled the 
amount of work done. About 1865 he ceased 
tanning, and commenced the manufacture of 
leather belting. In 1867 he disposed of the 
building and machinery to Royal Collar. In 
1869 Mr. Sanzenbacher again engaged in the 
making of belts in the house which he had 
formerly occupied as a dwelling. In October, 
1869, he formed a partnership with Pierpont Ed- 
wards, who is still a member of the firm. 
Frank Schauweker was one of the firm from 
1872 to 1876. In 1872 was erected the tannery 
and belt factory now in operation. The capac- 
ity of the works was about five thousand hides 
per annum, but in r879 ^^ addition was made to 
the main building, 81 x 42 feet, and the amount 
of work considerably increased. Until 1S76 all 
of the stock was worked up into belts. Since 
that time the manufacturers have been making a 
speciality of harness leather. This firm sends 
and receives more freight than all the rest of the 
town combined. They pay to the railroad com- 
pany about $2,000 a year on freight received. 
Employment is given to twenty men on an aver- 
age, and the pay roll amounts to $200 per week. 
The proprietors have thus far found a ready 
market for all of their products, and their es- 
tablishment has gained a reputation for first-class 
work. 

CLEWELL'S saw-mill AND LUMBER YARD. 

In 1854 J. H. Clewell and Eben Newton pur- 
chased of John Wetmore his saw-mill and lumber 
yard and began business. Mr. Clewell soon 
bought out Judge Newton's share, and then went 
into partnership with Warren Hine for several 
years. Mr. Hine sold his interest to Frederick 
Whittlesey, who continued the business with Mr. 
Clewell a short time. Since 1867 the business 
has been carried on by Mr. Clewell alone. He 
has recently built an addition to the mill and is 
doing a larger business than ever, manufacturing 
and dealing in all kinds of house furnishing 
lumber. 

STAR FLOURING MILL. 

This mill was built in 1879 by J. and C. W. 




0<:^^i^c-3^<^-" ^/ Cyt^^^eU 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Harroff. From them it was purchased in 1880, 
by Stafford & Calvin, who are doing a good 
business. About twenty barrels of flour are 
produced daily. 

CARRIAGE MAKING. 

Matthias Swank was e,xtensively engaged in 
the manufacture of wagons and carriages for a 
number of years. Beginning in 1835 he con- 
tinued the business until his death in 1881. At 
one time he employed from fifteen to twenty 
men and turned out a large amount of work 
yearly. His son, E. C. Swank, now carries on 
the business at the old stand on East Main 
street. 

THE COUNTY SEAT AND ITS REMOVAL. 

The county of Mahoning was created by act 
of the Legislature m the winter session of 1845- 
46, and Canfield, its geographical center, fixed 
upon as the county seat. This good fortune was 
a source of much satisfaction and pride to the 
citizens of Canfield. It gave increased value to 
real estate, and made the town of more import- 
ance every way. The court-house was erected 
in 1847-48. The first court was held in it in 
1848. The jail was built in 1850. 

For a time all was harmonious; Canfield was 
happy; the county was satisfied, and men came 
to Canfield, very naturally and properly, to trans- 
act their legal business, to patronize the merchants 
and hotel-keepers, to arrange for caucuses and 
conventions, and carry out political programmes. 
Meanwhile Youngstown was getting on in the 
world at a rapid rate. In i860 the town had 
about three thousand inhabitants; in 1870, eight 
thousand. With prosperity Youngstown became 
avaricious. Canfield had no iron furnaces and 
her growing rival was soon far, far ahead in point 
of wealth and commercial importance. Youngs- 
town became gleeful, Canfield grew despondent. 
What were the reasons? Let us glance back a 
little and investigate. Possibly one might have 
seen in Youngstown and vicinity little groups of 
magnates occasionally conferring together in 
whispers. Had Canfield heard those whispers? 
Did she suddenly become aware of the familiar 
fact that big fishes eat up little ones and fear 
for her own safety? Perhaps. But Youngstown 
did not long talk in whispers. Her word became 
murmured, then boldly spoken, then shouted, 
"We're going to have the county seat!" She at 



length proclaimed it in stentorian tones. Can- 
field was a little taken aback, to be sure, but 
then, she was possessed of Spartan pluck, and 
assuming as fierce an attitude as was possible 
she defiantly uttered the words, "Let's see you 
get it!" 

Youngstown got it; Canfield survived the 
shock as well as could reasonably be expected. 
We need not here repeat the arguments that 
were made pro and con, or otherwise stir up 
troubles now irrevocably settled. In 1874-75 
the Legislature took action upon the matter; in 
1876 Youngstown became the county seat of 
Mahoning. 

INCORPORATION. 

Canfield village was incorporated by act of the 
Legislature in 1849, Warren Hine, John Clark, 
H. B. Brainerd and John Wetmore incorpora- 
tors. The first election was held in April, 1849. 
L. L. Bostwick was chosen mayor; H. B. Brain- 
erd, recorder; and Charles Frethy, John Clark, 
William B. Ferrell, M. Swank, and Thomas 
Hansom, trustees. A list of the mayors and 
recorders follows: 

Mayors — 1850-51, John Wetmore; 1852, Na- 
than Hardman; 1853-57, J. B. Blocksom; 

1858, William B. Dawson; 1859-67, F. G. 
Servis; 1868-71, H. G. Ruggles; 1872-77, M. 
H. Burky; 1878, M. V. B. King; 1879, J. S. 
Roller; 1880-82, S. E. Dyball. 

Recorders — 1850-51, Thaddeus Foot, Jr.; 
1852-53, H. B. Brainerd; 1854, B. S. Hine; 
1855-57, E. G. Canfield; 1858, William Neir; 

1859, H. H. Edsall; i860, G. G. Weare; 1861- 
65, John M. Edwards; 1866-69, T. L. Carroll; 
1870-71, C. S. Mygatt; 1872, H. B. Brainerd, 
C. S. Mygatt; 1873-74, J. C. Kirk; 1875-76, 
I. H. Bunnell; 1877, W. H. Mygatt; 1878-82, 
C. S. Mygatt. 

CEMETERIES. 

Soon after the settlement began, a graveyard 
was laid out east of the center, which is now the 
principal cemetery of the township. The spot is 
a pretty one, and its appearance has been much 
improved of recent years by the labor of loving 
hands. Here repose the bones of the founders 
of Canfield; peaceful be their rest after their 
generous toil! In this quiet spot has been laid 
all that was mortal of several men whose talents 
and energies achieved for them during their 
lifetime, honor, respect, and applause. The 



TRUMBULT, AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



resting place of men whose reputation is wide- 
spread and National, the Canfield cemetery 
shpuld ever be fondly cared for and protected 
by the living. 

Many costly monuments have been erected 
during the past few years, and they present a 
marked contrast to the rude stones and half 
effaced inscriptions which mark the graves of 
the earlier settlers. This is fitting and proper; 
and is but another indication that the wealth 
and prosperity, for which they formerly labored, 
have been realized. It is less difficult for sons 
and daughters of to-day to procure a costly mon- 
ument for the graves of their departed parents, 
than those of si.xty years ago to purchase the 
lowly and humble headstones, which aie here 
so numerous. After all, what does it matter to the 
dead, whether a lofty column of polished granite 
stands above them, or only a plain slab of unlet- 
tered sandstone. 

■■ The leaves of the oak and the willow shall fade, 
Be scattered around and together be laid ; 
And the old and the young, and the low and the high, 
Shall moulder to dust and together shall lie." 

The next largest and next oldest graveyard is 
situated about one mile north of the village, 
and has been the burying place of the German 
population since their first advent to the town- 
ship. Here, too, are many tasteful stones and 
monuments; and the shadow of the church 
where they were faithful worshipers for many a 
year, many — the aged, the sick, and the infirm — 
have at length found peaceful repose, while not 
a lew in the morn of lite and the bloom^ of 
youthful promise have been laid away. But "All 
that breathe will share their destiny." 

There is another graveyard in the township, 
near the spot where the old Disci[)le church 
stood, northwest of the center. 

CHURCH HISTORY. 
THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

This is the oldest religious organization in 
Canfield. The church was organized April 27, 
1804, on "the accommodation plan," by Revs. 
Joseph Badger and Thomas Robbins, from the 
Connecticut Missionary society. John and 
.Sarah Everett, Nathaniel and Hepsibah Chap- 
man, Jonathan Sprague, Lydia Doud, Mary Gil- 
son, Mary Brainard, and Lavina Collar were ad- 
mitted to membership. 

The first ba|)tisms recorded took place Octo- 



ber 14, 1S04, when three persons were baptized, 
Jarvis Weeks and Ammial, children of Aaron 
and Lavina Collar, and Maria, daughter of Jona- 
than and Sarah Sprague. 

Services were held in private houses and 
school-houses until a church building was 
erected. The records are not continuous, but 
from them it is learned that Revs. Horace Smith 
and Mr. Curtis in 1818 and in 1822 were sup- 
plying the congregations of Ellsworth, Board- 
man, and Canfield. From 18 18 to 1828 the 
names of Revs. Dwight, Coe, Vallandingham, 
Hughes, and Sullivan, are mentioned as minis- 
tering here. 

In 1820, as the result of a subscription to 
which citizens of all Henominations contributed, 
a house of worship was erected in the village on 
the east side of the Public square — a good sub- 
stantial frame building which is to-day the finest 
church in the town. The building committee 
were Comfort S. Mygatt, Cook Fitch, William 
Stoddard, James Doud, Edmund P. Tanner, 
David Hine, and Erastus Chidester. The terms 
of subscription are somewhat peculiar, some 
agreeing to pay the amounts opposite their 
names in labor, others in building materials, 
others in produce, etc. Aaron Collar subscribed 
$75, to be paid "one-third in produce, one-third 
in boards, and the remainder in whiskey." The 
largest subscri|5tions w-ere as follow: Comfort 
S. Mygntt, $500; heirs of E. Wadsworth, $225; 
Elisha Whittlesey, $200; James Doud, $150; Eli 
T. Boughton, $125; Cuok Fitch, $100; Aaron 
Collar, Rhoda Wadsworth, David Hine, $75 
each; and Jerusha Boughton, Edmund P. Tan- 
ner, Myron Sackett, William Dean, Adam 
Turner, Philo Beardsley, Herman Canfield, 
Mabel Scofield, Thomas Jones, $50 each. 

Rev. William O. Stratton was the officiating 
clergyman from 1830 to 1835. In the latter 
year occurred a division which resulted in the 
organization of the Presbyterian church in Can- 
field. The Presbyterian portion withdrew and 
organized a church of their own, while the Con- 
gregationalists became the owners of the church 
property. The names of the pastors who have 
served here are as follow : William Beardsley, 
1836; David Metcalf, 1837; Edward Evans, 
1839-44; Davis R. Barker, 1845 47; L. B. Lane, 
184849; Willard Burr, 1849; John A. Allen, , 
1857-59; S. W. Picrson, 1860-62; J. W. C. Pike, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



1863 64; Tertius S. Clark, 1866-69; Mortimer 
Smith, 1870-71; Samut-'l Manning, 1871-74; W. 
S. Peterson, 1875-76; R. A. Davis, 1880; R. G. 
McClelland, 1881. 

There have been -several intervals during 
which the church had no pastor. During the 
most of its history the pastors of tliis church 
have preached here a portion of the time only. 
Latterly, however, the pastors have served here 
all of their time. 

The membership is about thirty at present. 
There is an interesting Sabbath-school of fifty or 
more. 

THE PRESBYTERI.'\N CHURCH.* 

This church was originally established on the 
plan of union adopted by the general assembly 
of 1801. It was organized April 27, 1804. The 
church consisted of nine members, and thev 
adopted the confession of faith and covenant 
that were commonly received in the Congrega- 
tional churches in the vicinity as their standards 
of doctrine and discipline. It had been their 
practice to hold meetings on the Sabbath from 
the early settlement of the town, and clergymen 
of all orthodox denominations were invited to 
preach when present. Most of the inhabitants 
having received a religious education usually at- 
tended, and when they did not enjoy preaching 
they habitually attended their lay meetings, 
which were regarded as interesting and useful. 
Meetings were first held in a large log school- 
house that stood on the corner of a burying- 
ground. Afterwards in the summer seasons they 
met in partially finished houses and m barns, 
until a house was finally erected for the use of 
both meetings and schools northeast of the cen- 
ter. During these early periods of their exist- 
ence a great degree of brotherly love existed in 
the church. In the autumn of 183T the church 
was visited with an interesting and precious re- 
vival of religion which resulted in adding some 
twenty-five members. This precious revival con- 
tinued from August until December. This 
church enjoyed the labors at different periods of 
the following ministers: Rev. Messrs. Badger, 
Robbins, Chapman, Wick, A. Scott, I. Scott, 
Leslie, Derrow, Hanford, Curtis, Field, Dwight, 
Cooke, Coe, Smith, Duncan, Wright, Hughes, 
Beal, Vallandigham, Stone, Sullivan, Lathrop, 

*By Rex. William Dickson. 



Bouton, Treat, Woods, Satterfield, Sample, Strat- 
ton, and McCombs. Mr. Stratton was the first 
minister that was installed pastor of this church. 
They frequently attempted to obtain a settled 
minister, but failed, although they were re- 
markably united in their counsels and prompt in 
the payment of their pecuniary obligations. Mr. 
Stratton first preached as a licentiate in connec- 
tion with the presbytery of New York. Septem- 
ber, 1827, he returned to New York, and was 
there ordained and finally installed pastor of the 
church in October, 1828. 

The congregation remained under the govern- 
ment of the plan of union in 1801 until 1835. 
The presbytery of Beaver, with which it was 
connected by a special resolution, requested 
those churches under their care, that were or- 
ganized under that plan, to change their organi- 
zation to that of regularly constituted Presby- 
terian churches. The presbytery repeated their 
recommendations or injunction, and the pastor 
(Mr. Stratton) and the Presbyterian portion of 
the church and congregation felt themselves 
constrained in conscience, and in obedience to 
the authority of their presbytery, to carry out the 
recommendation, although they were soon led to 
believe it would result in their separation from 
the Congregational part of the society, with 
whom they had been long happily connected. 
From them they accordingly separated, and on 
the 22d day of January, 1835, 'he pastor and 
fifty members organized themselves into a regu- 
lar Presbyterian church, adopting the confession 
of faith and catechism of the Presbyterian church 
in the United States as their exclusive standards 
of doctrine and discipline. The congregation 
met for divine worship in the house of Mr. C. 
Frithy during one season, their numbers con- 
stantly increasing. With great energy and per- 
sonal effort they united together and erected the 
house of worship they have since occupied. On 
the first Monday of January, 1838, Rev. Wil- 
liam O. Stratton, the pastor, submitted to the 
congregation a request that they would consent 
to a dissolution of his pastoral connection with 
the congregation. The congregation, how- 
ever, not considering the reasons assigned suffi- 
cient, and unwilling to part with him, did not 
give their assent. Mr. Stratton resolved to 
travel as an agent for the Western Theological 
seminary for some months, and during his ab- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



sence engaged the Rev. William McCombs to 
supply his pulpit. On his return the following 
June, Mr. Stratton applied to the presbytery for 
the dissolution of his pastoral connection, which, 
with the consent of the congregation, was ac- 
cordingly done. 

In August of the same year a unanimous call 
was made out for Mr. McCombs, which he ac- 
cepted, and in April, 1839, he was installed pas- 
tor of the congregation. After a successful pas- 
torate of several years Mr. McCombs resigned, 
and then the church secured as his successor in 
the pastoral office Rev. James Price, an eloquent 
and able minister. Mr. Price was succeeded by 
Mr. J. G. Reaser, now of St. Louis, Missouri. 
Dr. William G. March succeeded Mr. Reaser, 
and, after a successful pastorate of about twelve 
years, resigned to take charge of the Presbyte- 
rian church of Marysville, Ohio. Rev. J. P. Ir- 
win succeeded Mr. March, and remained pastor 
of the church for about eleven years. The 
present pastor is Rev. Dr. William Dickson, who 
was brought up in the congregation which he 
now serves as pastor. 

THE GERMAN REFORMED LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

This church was organized a few years prior 
to 1810. The first meetings were held at the 
houses of Peter Lynn, George Lynn, and other 
members. Among the first members were John 
Neff, Conrad Neff, Peter and George Lynn, John 
Lynn, Jacob Ritter, Philip Borts, John Harding, 
Henry Ohl, Jacob Frank, Simeon Gilbert, Ben- 
jamin Butt, Philip Stitel, Charles Gilbert, Philip 
Arner, Martin Dustman, Henry Neff, David Ohl, 
Henry Brunstetter, Henry Crum, and others, for 
the most part with their wives and families. 
The first pastor of the Lutheran congregation 
was Rev. Henry Stough. His successors have 
been Revs. Henry Hewett, Becker, Fixeisen, 
Long, Smith, Allbright, and Miller. Of the 
German Reformed the pastors have been Revs. 
Peter Mahensmith, Charles Zwisler, Henry Son- 
nederker, J. H. Ruhl, G. M. Allbright, and J. B. 
Zumpe. 

The first church building erected in Canfield 
was the German Reformed and Lutheran, built 
in October, 1810, of hewn logs, 40x50 feet in 
dimensions. It was situated one mile north of 
the village. The house remained in an unfin- 
ished condition three or four years. It was then 
completed and continued to be occupied by the 



two congregations until April, 1845, when it was 
destroyed by fire. A new and more substantial 
house was built during the summer and autumn 
on the side of the road opposite the site of the 
old one. In 1857 the congregation placed a 
pipe organ in this church at a cost of $800, 
which is believed to be the first organ of its size 
ever placed in a country church in this county. 

Father Mahnensmith and Father Hewitt min- 
istered in the church for many years. Father 
Becker also served a long term. In the early 
years of the settlement the Canfield church was 
the religious home of the church-going Germans 
for miles around. 

For fifty years or more the services were con- 
ducted exclusively in the German language. 
The needs of the rising generation have caused 
change, and of late years the services are half 
the time in English. 

The membership originally was probably about 
fifty. Hundreds have been members, many of 
whom are now dead, and many more in other 
parts of the country. The present number of 
members is one hundred and ninety. 

Mrs. Barbara Kline, a member of the society, 
bequeathed an endowment fund of $500 to this 
church, the interest of which can be used annu- 
ally in making repairs about the cemetery or 
church building. Another member, Philip Lynn, 
bequeathed $680 to be used in repairs or in 
building a new church. 

Thus the congregations can make all ordinary 
and necessary repairs for years without resorting 
to a tax upon the members. 

ST. STEPHEN'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Previous to 1834 Canfield, Poland, and 
Boardman Episcopalians formed but one church. 
In that year a subscription paper was headed by 
Curtis Beardsley with $100 and circulated by 
him for the purpose of obtaining funds with 
which to build a church at Canfield village. 
Alson Kent, Stanley C. Lockwood, and Curtis 
Beardsley were chosen as building committee. 
Work was commenced m 1835, and the house 
completed in 1836, at a cost of $1,450. The 
land on which it stood was donated by Hon. 
Judson Canfield. September 27, 1836, the 
church was consecrated by Bishop Charles P. 
Mcllvaine, of the diocese of Ohio, by the name 
of St. Stephen's church, Canfield, Ohio. The 
leading members of this church at the time of its 




^.(%(^«.^ 



i 




-J^/^e4.f^(^'ylJ2/{^ 






TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



organization were: Curtis Beardsley and family, 
Stanley C. Lockwood and family, Joseph Bassett 
and family, Azor Ruggles and family, Mrs. Mary 
Tanner, Mrs. Kezele Wadswortli, Miss Olive 
Landon, Abiram Squier and wife, Lyman War- 
ner and wife, Miriam Squier and her mother, 
Mrs. Galetzah Hunt, Joseph R. Bostwick, Mrs. 
Mary Mitchell, and others. 

The ministers were the same who officiated at 
Boardman. The church continued in a pros- 
perous condition for several years. A large 
number of members were lost by death and re- 
movals, and the church building being considered 
unsafe, on account of defects in its architecture, 
in 1866 it was sold at auction and torn down. 
Since that time the church has had no regular 
preaching, though several ministers have of- 
ficiated here occasionally. 

A Sunday-school was organized in 1829 by 
Curtis Beardsley, superintendent, who continued 
to act in that capacity thirty years. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

From a historical sketch of this church in 
Canfield, prepared by Dr. Jackson Truesdale in 
1869, the following extracts are made: 

No early records of the society are known to 
e.xist. Canfield, as well as the whole Northwest 
Territory, was embraced in the boundaries of the 
Baltimore conference up to the formation of the 
Ohio conference in 181 2, when it formed a part 
of that and so continued until 1825, when it fell 
within the limits of the Pittsburg conference. It 
is now one of the appointments of the Erie con- 
ference. It is not known who first preached a 
Methodist sermon in Canfield, but the honor 
doubtless belongs either to Rev. Henry Shewell 
or to Dr. Shadrach Bostwick. The former set- 
tled in Deerfield in 1802 and the latter in 1803, 
and made and filled many appointments through- 
out the new settlements. Whether Methodist 
preaching was regularly sustained in Canfield 
from 1803 to 1820 cannot be learned; but it is 
probable that ministers sent to labor on the 
Western circuits preached more or less statedly 
here. As nearly as can be ascertained, the 
names of these early preachers were as follow: 
Revs. Shadrach Bostwick, David Best, J. A. 
Shackleford, R. R. Roberts (afterwards bishop), 
James Watts, C. Reynolds, A. Daniels, T. 
Divers, Job Guest, William Butler, J. Charles, 
I. M. Hanson, J. Decellum, James Ewen, 



Thomas J. Crockwell, J. Somerville, James Mc- 
Mahan, John Solomon, Oliver Carver, Lemuel 
Lane, John Waterman, Shadrach Ruark, Curtis 
Goddard, John P. Kent, D. D. Davidson, Ezra 
Booth, Calvin Ruter, and John Stewart. 

In 1820 James McMahan and Ezra Booth 
were sent by the Ohio conference to the "Ma- 
honing circuit." This year the first society was 
organized in Canfield, consisting of Rev. 8. 
Bostwick, wife and. sister. Comfort Starr and 
wife, Ansel Beeman and wife, and Ezra Hunt. 
In 182 1 the well-known Rev. Charles Elliott and 
Dennis Goddard traveled the circuit. In 1822 
it went for the first time by the name of Youngs- 
town circuit, and was traveled by William Tip- 
ton and Albert Richardson; in 1823 by Samuel 
Adams and Sylvester Dunham; in 1824 by John 
Somerville and Alfred Brunson; in 1825 by Ed- 
ward H. Taylor and W. R. Babcock; in 1826 
by Robert C. Hatton and Robert Hopkins. 

Up to this time preaching and society meet- 
ings were held in a little frame school-house 
which stood a little east of the center. In 1826, 
with some outside help, the society erected a 
commodious house of worship at an expense of 
about $1,200. It was located near the site of 
the present building on the land of Dr. Bost- 
wick. The building was of brick with galleries 
on three sides, and was known as the "Bethel 
chapel." The principal contributors towards the 
erection of the house were Dr. Bostwick, who 
gave something over $350; Edward Wadsworth, 
$180; Elihu Warner, Philo Chidester, John 
Moore, Ezra Hunt, Josiah Wetmore, Erastus 
Chidester, Mabel Scoville, Elisha Whittlesey, 
Eben Newton, George Wadsworth, J. R. Church, 
and several others who contributed sums of $75 
and under. 

The ministers who served the society from 
1826 to 1836 were R. C. Hatton, Samuel 
Adams, Billings O. Plympton, Edmund W. 
Seehon, Richard Armstrong, A. Brunson, T. 
Carr, Cornelius Jones, John Luccock, Philip 
Green, Caleb Brown, David Preston, John L. 
Holmes, John W. Hill, B. Preston, Thomas 
Stubbs, and H. Elliott. 

In 1836 the Erie conference was formed, and 
Canfield included within its limits. 

In 1837 Dr. Shadrach Bostwick died at his 
residence in Canfield, having lived here thirty 
years. He is mentioned in the History of the 



26 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Methodist Church as a good man and a useful 
preacher. 

From 1836 until the present time Canfield has 
at different periods been a part of Youngstown, 
Poland, and Ellsworth circuits, and at times has 
given name to the circuit in which it was em- 
braced. 

In 1860-61, the old Bethel chapel having be- 
come somewhat dilapidated from age, the so- 
ciety, after some misgivings as to their ability, 
concluded to tear down the structure, and partly 
with the same material erect a new one. The 
first cost, exclusive of labor performed by mem- 
bers gratis, was from $1,600 to $1,700. The 
building committee were Hosea Hoover, Horace 
Hunt, and Jackson Truesdale. The principal 
contributors were Hosea Hoover, Jackson 
Truesdale, Samuel, William, and Abram Cassi- 
day, Chester Hine, Hon. Eben Newton, Horace 
Hunt, Abram Kline, Fanny Church, and others. 
The new church was dedicated with appro- 
priate ceremonies in June, 1861, by Rev. Sam- 
uel Gregg, the presiding elder of Ravenna dis- 
trict. A good cabinet organ was jjurchased in 
the winter of 1865-66. Mrs. Rhoda Hine was 
mainly instrumental in procuring the means with 
which to purchase it. In the summer of 1869 
a dwelling house was purchased for a parsonage 
at a cost of $1,500. The society is now in a 
prosperous condition. There are about one 
huundred members. 

THE DISCIPLES. 

As the Disciples of Canfield were originally 
an off-shoot from the Baptists, it is necessary, in 
writing their history, to take a glance at their 
predecessors. January 12, 1822, a Baptist 
church was formed at the house of David Hays. 
Thomas Miller was the officiating clergyman, 
and Deacon Samuel Hayden, William Hayden, 
and John Lane, of Youngstown, and Elijah Can- 
field, of Palmyra, were present as council. The 
church was moderately Calvinistic, but progres- 
sive in spirit. For some years meetings were 
held in a small log building near the spot where 
the Disciples afterwards built a church. The 
principal members were David Hays and family, 
William Dean and family, Myron Sackett, H. 
Edsail, James Turner, and Mr. Wood. William 
Hayden became a preacher and ministered to 
this church. In the winter of 1827-28 Walter 
S<;ott came into the community and in a memor- 



able sermon, preached at the house of Simeon 
Sackett, set forth the plea of the ancient Gospel 
and gained many converts to his then new and 
novel doctrines. The most of the Baptists be- 
came converted, and during this winter were or- 
ganized into a Disci|jles church. A comfortable 
frame building was soon erected in the north- 
western part of the township, and the new 
church increased in members and influence. In 
1830 a large addition was received by the ad- 
mission of several who had hitherto styled them- 
selves Bible Christians. 

As many of the Disciples resided near the 
village this church gave permission to them to 
form a separate organization. Therefore, in 
1847, about twenty associated together in that 
relation, and soon built, at the center, the neat 
and comfortable little church which is still their 
place of worship. J. W. Lamphear organized 
this church. J. M. Caldwell and Andrew Flick 
were chosen elders, and Walter Clark and John 
Flick deacons. Among those who have labored 
here we find the names of Elders Pow, Apple- 
gate, Belton, Phillips, Errett, Hillock, White, 
Green, Van Horn, Rogers, Morrison, and 
Baker. 

In 1867, the most of the original members o( 
the church in the northwest of the township hav- 
ing gone to their reward, after struggling in 
feebleness for a while the remaining members 
united with the church at the center. This 
union took place October 6, 1867. 

The church is now prosperous and is receiving 
many additions. It has some very earnest mem 
bers whose efforts have been of great service in 
securing harmony and promoting the welfare of 
the organization. 

SCHOOLS. 

The first school taught in the township was in 
the winter of iSoo and 1801, Caleb Palmer, 
teacher. The term was three months. The 
school-house stood about a mile and a quarter 
east of the center. 

Miss Getia Bostwick was an early school- 
teacher and taught in an unfinished room in the 
house of Judson Canfield. Benjamin Carter 
was also one of the early teachers. 

Miss Olive Landon, for many years a faithful 
laborer in the schools of Canfield township, 
taught in early years in a small log building 
aboiTt two miles south of the center. She was 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



27 



a very efficient teacher, well versed in the art of 
governing and educating. 

In 1806 EHsha Whittlesey taught school in 
the house where Caleb Palmer taught the first 
school in the township. 

For many years schools were few and the ad- 
vantages of the rising generation for obtaining 
education were consequently small. 

The Mahoning academy while in existence 
did much to advance the condition of the com- 
mon schools by providing them with competent 
teachers. 

The village schools were often conducted in a 
slip shod manner, and not until 1867 was grad- 
ing carried out in any systematic manner. Up 
to that year the village school had been for a 
long period in two divisions, and, of course, 
good work could not be done, no matter how 
faithful the teachers were, while there was so 
large a number of classes that but a few minutes 
could be given to each recitation. 

A meeting was held July 27, 1867, to consider 
whether the district would adopt the union 
school law or not. The question was decided 
in the affirmative by a unanimous vote. Aboard 
of education was elected, as follows: J. W. 
Canfield and J. Sonnedecker for three years; 
W. G. Marsh and I. A. Justice for two years; 
G. R. Crane and P. Edwards for one year. At 
the next meeting VV. G. Marsh was chosen pres- 
ident of this board, J. W. Canfield treasurer, 
and I. A. Justice secretary. 

September 9, 1867, S. B. Reiger was chosen 
principal of the high school, Miss Sarah E. Ed- 
wards assistant, Miss Amanda Wilson to take 
charge of the second grade, and Miss Paulina 
Test teacher of the primary department. It was 
voted that tuition be charged pupils attending 
the school when they resided outside of the dis- 
trict. The academy building was occupied for 
school purposes until a new house could be 
erected. 

In 1870, plans for a new school building hav- 
ing been completed, work was begun upon it. 
In the spring of 1871 it was ready for occupancy. 
The building is of brick, two stories, large and 
well-furnished, and forms an ornament to the 
town. The structure, grounds, and furnishings 
cost about $30,000, including interest upon 
bonds. 

The principals of the school have been as fol- 



low : S. R. Rtigel, 1867-68; W. R. Smiley and 
Ashael Cary, 1869; Milton Fording, 1870-75; 
Charles J. Fillius, 1875-78; E. C. Hitchcock, 
1878; B. E. Helman, 1879-80. In the fall of 
1 88 1 H. S. Foote took charge and is making the 
school interesting and profitable. His assistant, 
Miss Ellen Scobie, who has labored in this 
school several years, has won golden opinions 
for her work. Messrs. Fillius and Helman did 
much to raise the standard of the school and 
improve the course of instruction. 

When the new normal school begins its work, 
it would seem that Canfield's educational advan- 
tages will be great. 

MAHONING ACADEMY. 

This was a flourishing institution, which per- 
ished in the time of the war. An organization 
was effected in 1855, the academy building erect- 
ed in 1856, and the school incorporated in 1857. 
David Hine, A. M., a graduate of Williams col- 
lege in Massachusetts, was the leader in estab- 
lishing the school; he became its principal, and 
continued in that position until the institution 
was abandoned. Mr. Hine was a native of this 
township, and a man of fine literary attainments. 
He proved a popular and faithful instructor, and 
some men who are high in professional ranks re- 
member with gratitude their early teacher. As- 
sociated with him for a time was Mr. P. T. Cald- 
well, a young man of ability and scholarship. 

From a catalogue issued in October, i86o, it 
is learned that the number of pupils in attend- 
ance during the year was two hundred and forty. 
Connected with the school was a literary society 
known as the "Adelphic Union." 

The old academy building is now owned by 
Judge Newton, and occupied by Richard Brown 
as a dwelling. 

NORTHEASTERN OHIO NORMAL SCHOOL. 

A corporation was formed in 1881 after much 
discussion of the subject by a number of the 
friends of education, and it is expected that the 
school will be put in operation during the year 
1882. A board of nine trustees has been elected, 
viz: Hon. G. Van Hyning, Hon. J. R. John- 
ston, Rev. William Dickson, Dr. A. W. Calvin, 
H. A. Manchester, Esq., David Clugston, George 
F. Lynn, Hiram N. Lynn, and Russel F. Starr. 

Hon. Eben Newton, to whom the court-house 
and the land it occupies reverted when it ceased 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



to be used by the county, has generously donated 
the property to the trustees. It is the intention 
to have the building thoroughly repaired and 
fitted up in a manner suitable for the wants of 
such a school. Can field is an excellent location 
for an institution of learning, and no doubt this 
institution will be grandly successful. 

NEWSPAPERS.* 

The first printing office in Canfield was estab- 
lished May 9, 1846, by James and Clate Her- 
rington, of Warren. They were practical printers, 
and when the county seat of Mahoning was lo- 
cated here, the Mahoning Index, a Democratic 
newspaper, was started. In January, 1849, the 
Index office was sold to John R. Church, a lead- 
ing man in the Democratic party. Under 
Church's administration, the paper was edited by 
several prominent persons, among whom were: 
J. M. Edwards, H. H. McChestney, and A. T. 
Walling, the latter now being a congressman 
trom the Pickaway district. The Index office 
was run by John R. Church until September, 
185 1, when It was burned and nothing at all 
saved from the ruins. 

In the winter of 1852 the Mahoning Sentinel 
was established by an association, Ira Norris edi- 
tor. The Sentinel was also Democratic in poli- 
tics. Mr. Norris continued as editor until 1854, 
when a change in the ownership of the paper 
took place. H. M. Fowler had printed the Sen- 
tinel for the association up to the time of this 
change. John Woodruff purchased both the 
office and the materials, but in 1855 John M. 
Webb became sole editor and proprietor of the 
paper and continued the publication until 1858, 
when W. B. Dawson purchased it. Mr. Dawson 
continued to publish the Sentinel until the spring 
of i860. John M. Webb then re-purchased it 
and moved the office to Youngstown. 

In the spring of i86o Hon. Elisha Whittle- 
sey induced John Weeks, of Medina, to come 
here and start the Herald. The Herald was a 
small sheet, subscription price $1 per year, and 
Republican in politics. Its publication was con- 
tinued with a number of changes until 1865. At 
one time it was owned by John Weeks, then by 
Thomas Menary, Menary & Musser, John S. 
Roller, and others. In 1865 Weeks re-purchased 
the paper and took as a partner Ed. E. Fitch. 

•Prepared by H. M. Fowler, editor of the Dispatch. 



Mr. Fitch finally purchased Mr. Weeks' share 
and changed the name of the paper to the Can- 
field Herald. He enlarged it in 1870, and in 
1872 sold out to McDonald & Son. They 
changed the name to the Mahoning County 
News, and after running the paper eighteen 
months disposed of it to W. R. Brownlee, who 
made the News Democratic. In the spring of 
1875 Brownlee sold the establishment to Rev. 
W. S. Peterson, who soon afterward removed to 
Warren. 

Canfield was then without a newspaper from Au- 
gust 3, 1876, till May 1, 1877. .\t the latter date 
H. M. Fowler started the Mahoning Dispatch, 
an independent family journal, devoted to the 
interests of the working classes. The Dispatch 
is a five column eight-page paper. It soon 
attained to eight hundred regular subscribers. 
In May, 1880, C. C. Fowler became its local 
editor, and from that time until January, 1882, 
the circulation was increased to twelve hundred 
and thirteen subscribers, the largest number 
o\ bona fide subscribers ever on the books of any 
newspaper in Canfield. 

THE ONION SOCIETY. 

What a name for an organization of any sort! 
Yet the objects of the society were as original as 
its title, as will be seen from the following, which 
IS copied diiectly from the secretary's book: 

COiNSTITUTION OF THE ONIO.N SOCIETY IN CANFIELD. 
Article I. 

Section i. The oldest person who is, or shall hereafter be. 
a member of this society, shall be president; and in case of 
his absence the next oldest shall be president pro km. 

Sec. 2. There shall annually be elected a clerk by the 
members of the society at their first meeting after the cook- 
ing of the new crop, which election shall be by ballot. 

Sec 3. There may be an officer appointed by the presi- 
dent when he shall deem the interests of the society requiie 
it, known and to be called the cup-bearer, whose duty i> 
sufficiently made known by the title of the office. 
Article II. 

Sec. I. The president shall preside at the meetings of 
the society, preserve order, and see that all the members are 
duly refreshed. 

Sec 2. T he clerk shall record in a book to be kept for 
that purpose all the votes and proceedings of the society, 
and such miscellaneous matters as the society or the presi- 
dent may direct. He shall lake and keep an accurate roll of 
the members of the society, which, together with the records 
shall be produced at each meeting. 
Article UI. 

Sec I. Fully persuaded that all well-regulated societies 
must depend upon a voluntary association of its members, 
we adopt it as a fundamental principle that no person shall 
be compelled to become a member of this society. 




^:^QM.Z. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



29 



Sec. 2. Any member of this society may be at any 
time suspended or expelled for unbecoming conduct, as a 
plurality of the members shall deem proper. 
Article IV. 

Sec. I. As the object of this association is to feast on 
the delicious vegetable the name of which stands prominent 
in the entithng of the society, onions, with their grand help- 
mate, pork, shall form the principal bill of fare, except that 
in case of emergency fresh beef or other meat may be sub- 
stituted for the pork. 

Sec. 2. The time of inviting the members shall be op- 
tional with the member giving the entertainment, unless for 
good cause. The president or the society may appoint a 
meeting, in which case he or they may warn a meeting when- 
ever they please. 

Sec. 3. Notice shall be given at least fifteen minutes to 
each member to repair to the table. 

Sec. 4. The members are to be prepared when the lady 
furnishing the entertainment annoances the supper to be 
readv. 

Article V. 

Sec. I. Knowing that on the cultivation of the onion 
the prosperity of the society much depends, and feeling de- 
.sirous to give all reasonable encouragement to industry and 
a suitable tribute to merit, it is ordained that the member 
who shall first entertain the society on onions of his own 
raising shall be entitled to a seat for that evening at the right 
hand of the president. 

Sec. 2. Honorable mention shall be made at our meet- 
ings of the member who shall raise the largest onion ; and on 
any member requesting a view of his garden, it shall be the 
duty of the president to attend; or he may appoint a com- 
mittee, or he may summon the society en masse. 

We recognize the Onion society in Danbury, Connecticut, 
as our parent institution. 

July 23, 1818. At a meeting of the Onion society of Can- 
field, at the house of Cooke Fitch, the foregoing constitution 
was adopted by a unanimous vote of the members present. 

The following is a roll of the members of the 
society with their ages in 1818: Eleazer Gilson, 
65; Judson Canfield, 57; Comfort S. Mygatt, 55; 
Shadrach Bostwick, 49; Herman Canfield, 45; 
Cyrenus Ruggles, 42; Roger Searl, 42; Cooke 
Fitch, 42; Joseph Coit, 35; Elisha Whittlesey, 
35; John H. Patch, 33; Frederick Wadsworth, 
33; William Stoddard, 31; Eli T. Boughton, 31; 
Eli Booth, 27, Edward Wadsworth, 26. 

It would appear that the society had been in 
existence some time previous to the adoption of 
the above constitution, as in the roll of members 
the following note is found: "Elijah Wadsworth, 
former president of this society, deceased De- 
cember 30, 18 1 7, aged sixty-nine years in No- 
vember preceding." 

The Onion society grew rapidly, and its repu- 
tation became wide-spread. All the leading 
men of the town came to have a share in its 
pleasantries and social festivals. Sober judges, 
busy merchants, merry doctors of law, medicine, 



and divinity, captains, majors, colonels, generals, 
as well as untitled farmers, met frequently to 
feast upon the savory esculent, and enjoy an hour 
of genuine hearty (un. Meetings were held at 
the houses of various tnembers more or less fre- 
quently, and the utmost good-will and hilarity 
marked the proceedings. Distinguished visitors 
from neighboring settlements were often in at- 
tendance. Upon the records may be found the 
names of Joshua R. Giddings, Judge Tod, 
Colonel Rayen and other prominent men. 

The proceedings were characterized by the ut- 
most outward decorum, if we may judge from 
the records, but with a deep vein of humor un- 
derlying all. Committees were frequently ap- 
pointed to decide who carried off the honors of 
the table — i. e., ate the biggest supper, and their 
reports soberly (?) recorded. A seat at the right 
hand of the president was the reward for a 
brilliant gastronomic feat. 

The Onion society continued in existence 
many years. The last recorded meetings bear 
the date 1833. Many are still living vho cannot 
fail to have pleasant reminiscences of their con- 
nection with this society. 

TEMPERANCE SOCIETY. 

In 1832 occurred a general awakening on the 
subject of temperance. It is said to have 
originated in sport by a young man proposing to 
"get up some grand excitement," but as the 
movement progressed, serious earnestness was 
the spirit which characterized it. A temper- 
ance society was organized, and continued in 
existence some twenty years, and during that 
period a large number of names were enrolled 
upon the pledge. Elihu and Elisha Warner, 
Charles Frethy, and Edmund P. Tanner were 
especially active members. The better portion 
of the community aided the organization, and 
much good work was accomplished. At times 
an enthusiastic interest was felt. Among those 
who were wont to address the meetings we notice 
that the names of the village preachers have a 
prominent place. 

SOLDIERS' AID SOCIETY. 

During the war for the Union the ladies of 
Canfield showed their patriotism by organizing a 
society for the aid of the soldiers, and through 
their labors and generosity much valuable ma- 
terial aid found its way into Federal camps. The 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



society was organized October 30, 1861, and its 
officers were: Mrs. S. R. Canfield, president; 
Mrs. E. Newton, vice-president; Miss M. M. 
Pierson, secretary; Mrs. J. B. Blocksom, assist- 
ant secretary , Mrs. F. G. Servis, treasurer ; Miss 
Susan Toinson, assistant treasurer. For their 
generous efforts they were blessed by the hearts 
of hundreds of soldiers. 

ODD FELLOWS. 

A cliarier was granted January 18, 1S50, to 
CanfiJd lod,i;e No. 155, Independent Older ol 
Odd Fellows, to the fallowing charter nieiiibers: 
Wilhaiu W. Whitilesey, Walter M. Prentice, E. 
J. Estcp, James Powers, and John G. Kyle. 
The lodge was instituted May i, 1850, by 
Most Worthy Grand Master William C. Earl. 
The first officers were as follow: Walter M. 
Prentice, N. G.; James Powers, V. G.; E. J. 
Estep, secretary, and William W. Whittlesey, 
treasurer. The following were initiated as mem- 
bers on the evening the lodge was instituted: 
John H. Mill, Nathan Hartman, Walter Blythe, 
L. L. Bostwick, and William Schmick. 

In 1857 the lodge purchased of William Lynn 
the three-story brick building on the upper floor 
of which is their hall. The lower floors are 
rented for a store, offices, etc. The hall is of 
ample size, and is fitted and furnished tastefully. 

Up to the present writing there have been re- 
ceived into the lodge by initiation and by card 
two hundred and fifty members. The present 
membership is ninety-three. Several former 
members of this lodge have withdrawn and 
joined lodges organized in neighboring towns. 

The lodge is in a prosperous condition finan- 
cially and its membership of a high character. 
The total amount of property belonging to it is 
valued at $6,500. From the first this organiza- 
tion has been prosperous. The present officers, 
elected in July, 1881, are as follow: John Mar- 
tin, N. G.; J. K. Misner, V. G.; George F. Lynn, 
secretary ; Hosea Hoover, permanent secretary, 
and J. Truesdale, treasurer. The two officers 
last named have held their respective offices for 
a period of twenty-one consecutive years. 

THE OIL BUSINES.S. 

From 1854 to 1863 the cannel coal of the 
southeastern part of the township was considei- 
ably worked for "coal oil." In 1858-59 four 
large establishments were erected in the south- 



eastern quarter of the township for the manufact- 
ure of oil, at an expense of about $200,000, but 
the discovery of naturally flowing oil wells drove 
them out of existence. These establishments 
were built by Eastern capitalists and for a time 
the business was carried on "with a rush." The 
four companies were as follow: 

I. The Hariford company; works cost $20,- 
000; the buildings were burned in June, 1S60, 
and rehuilt at an expense of $20,000. 

2 The Mahoning company, oiiginally the 
Buffiili) company; cost of works, $75,000. 

3. The Mystic, afterwards the New London 
company; cost $18,000. 

4. The Plioenix company ; $75,000. 

In 1861 the managers of these companies in 
the order above given were C. H. P.irsons, John 
Wetmore, Mr. Thompson, and A. H. Everett. 
The Phoenix, the largest of the works, made 
about seventy-five barrels of oil per week, had 
thirty-two retorts, and employed thirty-one men. 
The coal was drawn from the mine by steam- 
power. 

.ANECDOTES, INCIDENTS, .\ND TR.\DITIONS. 

In 1805 occurred one of those mysterious 
phenomena for which man has striven in vain 
to account. Archibald Johnston, a settler of 
1804, was a man of an intelligent, strong mind, 
void of bigotry or superstition. He had pur- 
chased Nathan Moore's farm and was preparing 
to move onto it. Returning home one evening 
he saw what appeared to him to be a burning 
bush, and something in the vision strongly im- 
pressed him that he would die in just six weeks. 
He told his friends of his conviction, and no 
arguments could remove it from his mind. He 
died upon the designated day. 

The old well at the center of Canfield is a 
landmark. It was built at the exact center of 
the township for the benefit of the inhabitants 
of the town. Mr. J. W. Canfield, while looking 
over some of his grandfather's papers recently, 
came across the bill for building the well. There 
were a large number of items in it, but not a 
great number of articles were specified. One 
word occurred with such frequency as to cause 
Mr. Canfield to remark, "It is astonishing how 
much whiskey it took to make a well in those 
days!" The chief items of expense, in fact, 
were a certain number of gallons of whiskey, 
followed up by many a line of ditto, ditto. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



3' 



What has been said concerning the wildness 
of other townships will apply equally well to 
Canfield in early days. Deer were so numerous 
that an old lady now living says it was almost as 
common to see one as it is to see a dog now-a- 
days. The children were often obliged to be 
lulled to sleep while the howling of the wolves 
rang in their ears. Bears were often destructive 
to stock, though it seems that the young people 
were never molested by them. James Reed 
caught a young cub and tamed it. He kept the 
bear tied to a stake until it was a year old, when 
it broke loose and escaped. 

In the days when the discussion of the 
slavery question was the all-absorbing topic, 
Canfield became possessed of a strong anti- 
slavery element on the one had, and on the 
other an equally strong pro-slavery party. Of 
course the bitterest of feeling sprang up between 
the two, and many hostile, though bloodless, en- 
counters resulted. 

The mobbing of Rev. M. R. Robmson, in 
Berlin, in 1837, is alluded to in the history 
of that township. On the morning after his 
rough treatment he appeared early at the house 
of Mr. Wetmore, south of the village of Can- 
field, and knocked at the door. Mrs. Wetmore 
looked out of the window and saw a startling 
sight. The figure of a man, hatless, with disor- 
dered clothing, feathers fillmg his hair and mov- 
ing about in the wind, caused the good lady to 
think, at first, that the devil himself had ap- 
peared. However, the family aroused, listened 
to the stranger's story, and at once took meas- 
ures for his relief His soiled garments were 
removed and William Wetmore provided him 
with a change of raiment. It being the Sabbath 
he went with the family to church and there 
made announcement that he would lecture in 
the afternoon. The story of his treatment got 
abroad and a large audience greeted him. 

During the same year a Methodist preacher 
named Miller announced an anti-slavery lecture 
for one evening, in the Congregational church. 
Many inhabitants of Canfield thought they had 
had enough discussion of this subject and pro- 
posed to teach Miller a lesson. The result was 
a disgraceful scene, of which many of the par- 
ticipants afterwards became heartily ashamed. 

The evening for the lecture arrived and Miller 
was present with his wife and son. He had not 



proceeded far in his speech when he was greeted 
by a shower of rotten eggs, while hooting and 
jeering resounded through the house. But this 
apostle of justice to all the human race was a 
man of pluck and could not be silenced in this 
way. He directed his son to come and stand 
over him with an umbrella, to ward off the un- 
savory missiles ; and thus protected he finished 
his speech. It had been arranged to seize the 
speaker as he was leaving the house and then 
treat him to a coat of tar and feathers. The 
materials, already prepared, were at hand. But 
Miller walked from the pulpit and passed down 
the aisle between two ladies, reaching the door 
in safety. He sprang into the buggy with Mrs. 
Miller and drove away at a rapid rate. Attempts 
were made to catch him as he was entering the 
carriage, but he was too quick for his persecu- 
tors. A fellow caught hold of the hind end of 
the buggy as it started away and hung on for 
some distance, but Mrs. Miller made such good 
use of the whip about his head and ears that he 
was glad to desist. The son took to the woods 
and effected his escape. When we consider 
that the greater part of the above described 
scenes were enacted in the house of God, we 
ran form some idea of the public sentiment 
which then prevailed. 

But Canfield was not without a strong body 
of Abolitionists whose conduct was as heroic as 
that of the opposing element was reprehensible. 
Among those who befriended and assisted the 
persecuted fugitive slaves was Jacob Barnes, now 
deceased, who resided two miles east of the vil- 
lage. His house was a station on the under- 
ground railway. In a large covered wagon 
which he owned he carried many a load of ne- 
groes from his house, journeying by night, to 
Hartford, Trumbull county, where the next sta- 
tion was located. 

A MURDER. 

In 1826 occurred an unfortunate affair in 
which a poor fellow lost his life. Archibald Mc- 
Lean, a worthless, drunken shoemaker, became 
involved in a dispute with Adam Mell and 
stabbed the latter with a shoe-knife. Mell died 
from the effects of the wound the next day. His 
death took place in February, 1826. The stab- 
bing was done in the house occupied by Mell in 
the village. McLean had his trial, was convicted, 
and sentenced to the penitentiary for life. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



BIOGRAPHICAL, 

The following sketches of some of the first 
proprietors of the township of Canfield are 
principally compiled from information collected 
and recorded by Hon. Elisha Whittlesey: 

NATHANIEL CHURCH 
was a descendant of the fifth generation from 
Richard Church, one of the colonists of Plym- 
outh, Massachusetts, who, though not a pas- 
senger in the Mayflower, joined the Pilgrims as 
early as 1631. It is supposed that he afterwards 
removed to Hartford, Connecticut, as the name 
of Richard Church is found there upon the pub- 
lic monument erected to the memory of the first 
settlers of the town. Nathaniel Church was the 
son of Samuel Church, and was born in Bethle- 
hem, Connecticut, November 16, 1756. His 
father died when he was but three years old. 
At a suitable age he was apprenticed to a weaver, 
but finding his master one difficult to please he 
deserted his service soon after the breaking out 
of the Revolutionary war and joined the patriot 
army. He was wounded in the battle of White 
Plains and his injuries were pronounced mortal. 
He recovered, however, though his wounds ever 
troubled him. He did not rejoin the army, but 
as soon as he was able to resume his trade as a 
weaver he went to Canaan, Connecticut, and was 
there employed by Captain John Ensign, a 
clothier. October 4, 1781, he married Lois 
Ensign, youngest daughter of his employer. 
She died in about two years, leaving two sons. 
Ensign and Samuel. In 1793 he was again 
married, to Dorcas Nickerson, who died in 1799. 
From this marriage there were also two children, 
Luman and John. He was a third time married 
in 1800, to Mrs. Ruth Johns, who bore five 
children — Nathaniel, Frederick, Lois, William, 
and Ruth. His third wife survived him and 
died in 1842. Mr. Church was prominently en- 
gaged in m.inufacturing and assisted in the erec- 
tion of a paper mill in Salisbury. This mill hav- 
ing burned, he retired to a farm on the banks of 
the Housatonic, where he died November 10, 
1837. He was an active and ardent politician 
and was twice elected a member of the House 
of Assembly from the town of Salisbury. He 
was a devoted Christian of the Methodist de- 
nommation. 



Samuel Church, his oldest son, became a dis- 
tinguished lawyer in Connecticut and chief 
justice of the supreme court in that State. He 
was the father of A. E. Church, a distinguished 
mathematician and a professor m the United 
States Military academy at West Point. 

Ensign Church was born in Salisbury in 1782, 
and married Jerusha Wright in 1805. He and 
his wife left Connecticut in May, 1805, and ar- 
rived in Canfield the 4th of June following. In 
1812 he was appointed deputy quartermaster 
under General Simon Perkins, and was dis- 
charged in 1813, broken down by fatigue in the 
service. He died April 17, 18 13. He was the 
father of two children, one of whom died m 
1818; the other became the wife of Hon. Eben 
Newton. His widow afterwards married Eli T. 
Boughton, of Canfield, and died here in 1869 at 
the advanced age of eighty-four. 

John R. Church, a son of Nathaniel Church, 
came to Canfield in 1818, and for several years 
was a successful business man and associate 
judge. He died April ir, 1868. 



GENERAL ELIJAH WADSVVORTH 

was born in Hartford, Connecticut, November 
14, 1747, and removed to Litchfield in the same 
State previous to the year 1770. Tradition has 
it that he was a lineal descendant of Captain 
Joseph Wadsworth who secreted the charter of 
Connecticut in the famous Charter Oak, in 
Hartford, on the 9th day of May, 1689. Elijah 
Wadsworth built and owned the house in Litch- 
field, which about the year 1790 he sold to Chief 
Justice Adams, the first chief justice of Con- 
necticut. This house was subsequently owned 
and occupied by Dr. Lyman Beecher as his resi- 
dence during a pastorate of several years. In 
this house were born Harriet Beecher Stowe, 
Henry Ward Beecher, and others of the family. 
February 16, 1780, Mr. Wadsworth married 
Rhoda Hopkins, who was born at Litchfield, 
Connecticut, November i, 1759, and died in 
Canfield, June 21, 1832. The fruits of this 
union were five children : Henry, Rhoda, Fre- 
derick, Edward, and George. All were born in 
Litchfield. Henry, born October 11, 1781, died 
in Bradleysville, Connecticut, November, 1S30; 
Rhoda, born February 17, 1784, married in 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



33 



Litchfield in September, 1802, x^rchibald Clark, 
of St. Mary's, Georgia, and died in St. Mary's, 
August 2, 1830 ; Frederick, bom March 7, 1786, 

died ; Edward, born May 3, 1791, died in 

Canfield, August 5, 1835; George, born April 5, 
1793, died in Canfield, August 6, 1832. 

When the first news of the battle of Bunker 
Hill reached Litchfield, Mr. Wadsworth volun- 
teered to go to Boston, but for some reason went 
no further than Hartford, and thence returned to 
Litchfield, where he assisted in raising Sheldon's 
regiment of light dragoons, and served in that 
regiment during the whole of the Revolutionary 
war. Sheldon's regiment was one of the first 
squadrons of horse that jomed the revolutionary 
army, and was with and under the immediate 
command of Washington, and had frequent and 
at times almost daily skirmishes with the enemy. 
Frederick Wadsworth, in a biographical sketch 
of his father, says: 

Sheldon's regiment or that part of it then in actual service, 
Has at West Point when Major Andre was taken prisoner, 
and General Arnold made his escape. I have often heard 
my father narrate the circumstances of the capture, trial, and 
execution of Andre. He always spoke enthusiastically in his 
praise, but did not give his captors that credit for disinter- 
ested patriotism which history awards to them. My father 
was one of the guard set over Major Andre the night after 
his capture. I never could understand why Arnold was not 
secured. I have heard my father say that after .Andre was 
taken, Major Jamison, one of the majors of Sheldon's regi- 
ment, was ordered by Colonel Tallmadge who then had 
command of the regiment, to take a squadron of horse, sur- 
round Arnold's house, and not suffer him to leave it; this 
duty was performed by Major Jamison so far as to surround 
Arnold's house, but still he was permitted to make his escape. 

Mr. Wadsworth entered the service as a lieu- 
tenant, but before the close of the war he held a 
captain's commission. Captain Wadsworth was 
one of the earliest members of the land com- 
pany which purchased the Western Reserve 
from the State of Connecticut in 1795. He was 
one of the original proprietors of the townships 
of Canfield and Boardman in Mahoning county, 
Johnston in Trumbull county, Conneaut in Ash- 
tabula county, Palmyra in Portage county, and 
Wadsworth (named after him) in Medina county. 

He spent the summers of 1799 and 1801 on 
the Reserve, and attended to the surveying of 
Salem (now Conneaut), Palmyra, Boardman, and 
Johnston, returning to Connecticut in the fall of 
each year. In 1799 he succeeded Nathaniel 
Church as the agent of the proprietors of Can- 
field township. His services in establishing the 



first mail route upon the Reserve in 1801 are 
fully detailed elsewhere. 

The spring and summer of 1802 Captain 
Wadsworth likewise spent upon the Western 
Reserve; then returned to Connecticut, and on 
the 15th day of September of the same year left 
Litchfield with his family, in a wagon drawn by 
two horses, leading one extra horse. Twelve 
days before he started he sent Azariah Wetmore 
ahead with a wagon and his yoke of oxen. He 
overtook Wetmore before arriving at Pittsburg, 
and they continued in company until they 
reached Canfield on the 17th of October, Cap- 
tain Wadsworth and family having been thirty- 
three days on the way, and Mr. Wetmore forty- 
five. Thenceforth until his death, Canfield was 
his home. 

Captain Wadsworth was postmaster in Can- 
field from 1 80 1 until his resignation in 1S03, 
and was again appointed postmaster in 1813. 
At the first general election after Ohio became a 
State, the second Tuesday in February, 1803, he 
was elected sheriff of Trumbull county. At the 
session of the Legislature of 1803-4, the Legis- 
lature divided the State into four military divis- 
ions and elected him major-general of the fourth 
division, which comprised all the territory south 
of Lake Erie to the south line of Jefferson 
county. It required great exertion to organize 
the militia in this vast district. War was de- 
clared by the United States against Great Britain 
on the 19th of June, 1812, and on the i6th of 
August General Hull at Detroit surrendered the 
Northwestern army to the British. By this sur- 
render the whole northwestern frontier was ex- 
posed to incursions from the enemy. The 
fourth division embraced the entire northwestern 
frontier of the State, the Cuyahoga river being 
then the limit of frontier settlement. News of 
Hull's surrender was brought to General Wads- 
words on the morning of August 21st by Charles 
Fitch of Ellsworth, who had been at Cleveland 
on business, and hearing of the disaster returned 
express. General Wadsworth sent expresses to 
his brigadier-generals to detail troo])s from their 
respective commands for defending the frontier, 
and ordered Captain James Doud and his com- 
pany of cavalry into the service. The remainder 
of the day was spent in obtaining the ammunition 
on sale in Canfield and neighboring towns, and 
making preparations for a tour of military duty. 



34 



TRUMHULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Sunday morning, the 22d, General Wadsworth, 
with Ehsha Whittlesey, one of his aides, and the 
above mentioned company of cavalry, left Can- 
field about lo o'clock for Cleveland, where they 
arrived the next day about 4 o'clock p. m. On 
the 24th of August he sent Governor Hunting- 
ton express to Washington with the first authen- 
tic and reliable account of the surrender of Gen- 
eral Hull. 

Immediately after this General Wadsworth 
took up a position at old Portage, on the Cuya- 
hoga, six miles north of the present site of 
Akron, in readiness to meet the enemy at that 
point with a detachment of his command. Soon 
after we find him at Camp Avery, near where 
Milan, Erie county, now is. He soon received 
orders, however, from Governor Meigs and from 
the Secretary of War to protect the frontiers, 
and to organize a brigade of fifteen hundred 
men from his division, put them under the com- 
mand of a brigadier-general, and report them 
over to General Winchester or other officer 
commanding the northwestern army. This was 
completed the following November, and under 
the command of Brigadier-general Simon Per- 
kins they were reported to General William H. 
Harrison, at that time commanding the North- 
western army. General Wadsworth then retired 
from the service and returned to his home in 
November, 181 2. 

At the beginning of the war General Wads- 
worth was sixty-five years of age, with a consti- 
tution which had been haidy, robust, and vigor- 
ous, but at that time considerably impaired. His 
anxieties and exertions greatly injured his health, 
and it was never good afterwards. In the sum- 
mer of 1815 he had a shock of the palsy which 
paralyzed his left side and rendered him almost 
entirely helpless until his death. He died De- 
cember 30, 181 7, aged seventy years, a veteran 
of two wars, a hero of the "times that tried 
men's souls." In the Revolutionary war he lost 
the little property he had previously accumu- 
lated, and returned with nothing save a quantity 
of Continental currency, which soon became 
worthless. The only reward he obtained for his 
services in the War of 181 2, except the approval 
of his conscience, was a judgment against him 
for $26,551.02 for purchases he had made to 
subsist his troops. To the honor of Congress 
and the Nation, however, this judgment was dis- 



charged by an act of Congress, but not until he 
had been dead for years, as the act was passed 
March 3, 1825. 



HON. JUDSON CANFIELD 
was born in NewMilford, Connecticut, January 
23, 1759. He was the second son of Colonel 
Samuel Canfield, an officer in the Revolutionary 
army and a mem oer of the Connecticut State Leg- 
islature for twenty-six sessions. Colonel Canfield 
was distinguished by great energy of character 
and clearness of intellect. He died in 1799 in 
the seventy-fourth year of his age. Judson Can- 
field was educated at Yale college and graduated 
therefrom in 1782. Two years later he was ad- 
mitted to the bar, and in 1786 he settled in 
Sharon, Connecticut, where he successfully pur- 
sued his profession. The same year he was mar- 
ried to Mabel Ruggles, daughter of Captain 
Ruggles, an ofificer of the Revolution and a man 
distinguished for high moral character and re- 
finement. 

Mr. Canfield was a member of the popular 
branch of the State Legislature, from the town of 
Sharon, at almost every session, from 1802 to 
1809, when he was elected a State Senator for 
each successive year until he removed from the 
State in 1815. >From 1808 to 1 815 he was also 
an associate judge of the county court for the 
county of Litchfield. 

After his removal to Ohio he devoted himself 
mainl)' to farming and disposing of his lands. 
He died February 5, 1840. His children were 
Henry J., Julia, Elvira, Elizabeth H., and Caro- 
line Elena. 

Henry J, Canfield was born January 4, 1789, 
died November 27, 1856. He married Sally R. 
Ferris in 1825; she died January 23, 188 1. The 
children of this union were two, Julia E. and 
Judson W. Julia married D. C. Ruggles, and 
died in 1857. 



THE BEARDSLEY FAMILY. 
Curtis Beardsley was the fourth son of Cap- 
tain Philo Beardsley, a Connecticut soldier in 
the Revolutionary war. He was born in Kent, 
now New Preston, Litchfield county, Connecti- 
cut, Ahirch I, 1797. March 10, i8i6, bemg 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



35 



then but nineteen years of age, he was united in 
marriage to Miss Sophia Hanford, who was one 
year younger than himself. The tentli day of 
the following April this youthful cou]5le left their 
native State for their future home in the new 
West. In company with Mr. Beardsley's brother 
Philo, in a wagon drawn by two horses and a 
yoke of oxen they journeyed from Connecticut 
to the Western Reserve, arriving in Boardman 
May 4, 1816. The followmg day, which was 
Sunday, they spent with Josiah Beardsley, a 
brother, at his home in that township. On Mon- 
day they reached Canfield, and took up their 
abode in a little log cabin with puncheon floor 
and without a pane of glass. The land taken 
up by Mr. Beardsley was uncleared, but he at 
once set to work, and during the first season 
cleared ten acres and sowed it to wheat. For 
his seed wheat he was obliged to pay the enor- 
mous price of $2 per bushel, but when harvest 
time came he found that he could not get three 
shillings per bushel in cash (or his grain. 

Hard and untiring labor, strict economy, and 
wise management were practiced by both hus- 
band and wife, and in due course of time they 
found themselves in the possession of a pleasant 
home and a fine farm. Children came to bless 
and encourage them in their work, and kind 
Providence smiled upon their efforts. Mr. 
Beardsley became a prominent and honored 
citizen of Canfield, enjoying during his long life 
the highest respect and esteem of friends and 
neighbors. December 6, 1876, he passed peace- 
fully from this life to the life above. 

Mr. Beardsley was remarkable for firmness of 
purpose, and integrity and uprightness of prin- 
ciple; yet, more than this, he was an exemplary, 
unobtrusive Christian. He was ever animated 
and sustained in his true and useful life by the 
partner of his toils and fortunes, who having pre- 
viously become interested in the Episcopal 
church, united herself after coming here, with 
that little band afterwards known as the St. 
James' church, Boardman, though including 
Poland and Canfield, which they found already 
organized; and in 1822 he himself became a 
member and was soon after chosen a vestryman 
of the same. 

In 1829 Mr. Beardsley organized a Sunday- 
school in Canfield and continued as its superin- 
tendent thirty years. In 1834 he became the 



leader of a movement which resulted in the 
building of a church edifice in Canfield; and it 
was to his efforts more than to those of any other 
man that St. Stephen's church owed its origin. 
He was elected junior warden of this church, 
became its senior warden, and for more than 
thirteen years previous to his death, as its only 
male communicant, the whole burden of the 
temporal affairs of this church rested upon this 
aged and declining servant of God. Residing 
at a distance of three miles from town, and more 
infirm in health than he was willing to acknowl- 
edge, he was seldom absent from services when 
held in Canfield, and when there were none 
here often rode eight miles to attend those of 
the church in Boardman. 

Mr. Beardsley was a man of deep convictions, 
and although never obtrusive, was inflexible in 
maintaining them. He united great strength of 
character with the most scrupulous integrity, and 
during all his years sustained a high standing in 
the community. 1164:4:77 

Mrs. Sophia Beardsley, one of the few surviv- 
ing old residents of Canfield, was born in Nor- 
walk, Connecticut, May 12, 1798. She was the 
only child of Joseph Whitman Hanford and 
Elizabeth (Smith) Hanford. She is descended 
from an old New England family, her great- 
great-grandfather having emigrated from England 
to Connecticut in the early years of its settle- 
ment. His name was Rev. Thomas Hanford. 
In 1648 he began preaching in Norwalk and was 
the first Congregational minister in that town, 
where he continued to preach forty-one years. 

Left an orphan by the death of her mother 
when less than two years of age, Sophia Hanford 
was brought up by her grandmother. Her father 
was a merchant and a seafaring man and died 
in 1824, aged sixty-two years. Though married 
young and surrendering the pleasures of culti- 
vated society for a home in the wilds of Ohio, 
Mrs. Beardsley never repined at her lot and 
nobly co-operated with her husband in his efforts 
to gain a home. Faithful in her outward life as 
well as in her deep religious life, she has always 
acted up to her convictions of duty, and numer- 
ous friends testify to her worth. She has borne 
eight children, only three of whom are now liv- 
ing. Mrs. Beardsley is now spending the even- 
ing of her days with her daughter in the village 
of Canfield, with which she has been familiar 



36 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



almost from its infancy. She is now in her 
eighty-fourth year and seems as cheerful and 
bright as a youth. For sixty-four years she has 
been a communicant of the Episcopal church 
and ever one of its most active female members. 

We append a record of the Beardsley family: 

Philo Beardsley, born 1755, died 1826; mar- 
ried Esther Curtis, born 1764, died 1856. Chil- 
dren : Birdsey Beardsley, born 1785, married 
Sarah Mecuen. Anna Beardsley, born 1787, 
married John Taylor. Josiah Beardsley, born 
1789, married Mary Merwin. Sarah Beardsley, 
born 1 791, married Milo Stone. Philo Beards- 
ley, born 1794, married Lois S. Gunn. Curtis 
Beardsley, born 1797, married Sophia Hanford. 
Almus Beardsley, born 1799, married Amanda 
Cogswell. Agur Beardsley, born 1801, married 
Eliza Bennett. 

All are dead, Curtis Beardsley being the last. 
Four of the brothers settled in Mahoning coun- 
ty, Josiah in Boardman, Philo and Curtis in 
Canfield, and Almus in Ellsworth. 

Descendants of Curtis Beardsley and Sophia 
Hanford. Children: Henry H., born May i, 
1818, died May 4, 1818. William Hanford, 
born December 13, 1819, married Mary Edsall 
June 10, 1846; children. Nelson S., Edwin H., 
Charles R., Henry E., and Hattie M., all living, 
two married. William H. Beardsley resides at 
East Ciaridon, Geauga county ; Nelson S., pro- 
fessor of penmanship Delaware Normal school, 
Ohio, married Esther O. Hulin, two children, 
Willis Reed and Emmett Hulin. Edwin H. 
married Carrie Dana, two children. Nelson Ver- 
non and Minnie. Mary L., born November 13, 
182 I, married Augustus L. Van Gorder May 12, 
1847, died at Warren, Ohio, July 18, 1859, hus- 
band also dead ; children, Anna S., Henry L., 
William C, George Dubois, Charles M., Frank 
B.; Anna, George, and Frank are deceased; Wil- 
liam C. Van Gorder married Ella Crane, two 
children, Edgar C. and an infant daughter. 
Anna S., born August 26, 1824, died May 4, 
1844. Eliza M., born March 19, 1827, died 
January 7, 1879. Sarah M., born July 22, 1832, 
married Pratt Allen Spicer, April 26, 1854, died 
December 25, 1857; one child, Ella I., resides 
in Marshall, Michigan. Lucy E., born Novem- 
ber 5, t834, resides at Canfield. Henry C, born 
March 12, 1838, married Mary J. Hine July 4, 
1863; two children, Rhoda Hanford, and Ed- 



ward Henry, residence old Beardsley homestead, 
Canfield. 

Concerning the deceased members of this 
family we make the following extract from obitu- 
ary notices published in local papers : 

Died, Warren, Ohio, July i8, 1859, Mrs. Mary L. Van- 
Gorder. She was the oldest daughter of Curtis and Sophia 
Beardsley, of Canfield. For twenty years a communicant of 
the Episcopal church, during that time she adorned her pro- 
fession by a consistent walk and conversation. In her last 
illness she exhibited a meek and patient disposition, and un- 
der all suffering appeared resigned to the will of her Heavenly 
Master. She calmly awaited death without fear of the dread 
messenger, and fell asleep in Jesus repeating the words of 
the beautiful hymn/: 

"There sweet be my rest till He bid me arise 
To hail Him in triumph descending the skies." 

Anna S. was a lovely and sweet dispositioned 
daughter, who had a large circle of friends, both 
young and old. Speaking of her death the 
local paper says: 

.Seldom has the hand of death made a more painful 
breach in the hopes and enjoyments of a family, or given a 
more affectmg warning to an e.xtensive circle of relatives and 
acquaintances, and to all in the joyous period of youth, that 
" we know not what shall be the morrow." 

Eliza M. possessed a quick and scholarly 
mind, and at a youthful age began teaching 
school, in which occupation she continued more 
than thirty years. She was a remarkably effi- 
cient and successful teacher, possessing the rare 
talent of imparting knowledge in a manner that 
at once enlisted the attention and commanded 
the respect of the pupil. From the age of eigli- 
teen until her death she was a communicant of 
the Episcopal church and a devoted Christian. 

Mrs. Spicer was, from a child, of a serious and 
contemplative mind. She early united with the 
church, became a zealous member, and found in 
Christ the sweet peace which passeth all under- 
standing. Though compelled to part from earth 
in the morning of her married life, she accepted 
her fate with resignation and died with calmness 
of spirit, leaving her sweet babe in the care of 
Him who hath promised to protect the orphan. 



JOHN SANZENBACHER AND FAMILY. 
John Sanzenbacher was born in the kingdom 
of Wurtemberg, Germany, May 5, 1827. His 
parents were Jacob and Barbara (Schuger) San- 
zenbacher, both natives of Wurtemberg. Jacob 
Sanzenbacher was born August 1, 1799, and is 




^<^W^^^i!i'yij€-»^gi^>nM<:^ 




^T—' J*- -^^ei^f^ i€^^^^c■/^€4^ . 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



still living, a resident of New Springfield, Ma- 
honing county. Mrs. Barbara Sanzenbacher 
was born February 12, 1804, and died Decem- 
ber 24, 1878. She was the mother of five sons 
and two daughters, but of this number only two 
children remain — Joiin and his brother Jacob. 
The latter resides ir; Southington, Trumbull 
county. John was the second child and the 
oldest son. 

In 1833 he emigrated to the United States 
with his parents, and lived near Unity, Colum- 
biana county, Ohio, until 1836, when the family 
moved to Beaver county, now Lawrence county, 
Pennsylvania. There his boyhood was passed 
upon a farm until August 19, .1844, at which 
date he was bound out to Mr. R. Fullerton for 
three years and six months to learn the trade of 
tanning and currying. At the end of this period 
he came to Mahoning county, and worked at his 
trade for William Moore, in Boardman, for ten 
months. He next went to New Middleton, in 
this county, where he worked about nine months, 
then returned to Boardman, and was employed 
by Mr. Moore for six months. 

In the winter of 1849-50 he purchased of .F. 
A. Brainard his tannery in Canfield. April 9, 
1850, he came to Canfield, and commenced 
business with a capital of about $500, out of 
which he made a payment to Mr. Brainard of 
$40. Six hundred dollars was the price paid for 
the tannery. 

December 24, 1850, having got a little start 
in his business and having concluded to take a 
wife, he was united in marriage to Miss Sarah A. 
Oswald, of Canfield township. 

March 3, 1862, in company with Pierpont 
Edwards, he engaged in the drug and grocery 
business but continued to carry on tanning. 
About the year 1865 he formed a partnership 
with F. Krehl, of Girard, m the tanning and cur- 
rying business. In 1867 he sold out to Mr. 
Krehl, and also disposed of his interest in the 
drug store. The same year he purchased a farm 
one mile east of Canfield, to which he moved 
June 20, 1867. In 1868 he erected a fine large 
barn and made other improvements upon the 
place. 

Mr. Sanzenbacher began the manufacture of 
leather belting in 1865 and carried it on for one 
year in connection with his other business. In 
1866 he quit tanning, and in the spring of 1867 



disposed of his tannery and machinery. But in 
1869 he again resumed the manufacture of belt- 
ing, and October 20th of that year took P. Ed- 
wards as a partner under the firm name of J. 
Sanzenbacher & Co., which is still the style of 
the firm. During the summer of 1872 this firm 
erected a large building, where they still continue 
the business. From the time their new establish- 
ment was erected until the present they have 
been doing a large business both in tanning and 
in belt making. 

Mr. Sanzenb'.chc. is a man of quiet, social, 
and agreeable manners, and enjoys the highest 
esteem and confidence of the better portion of 
the community. He is regarded as the friend of 
every worthy cause, and is never backward in 
matters of public interest. 

Mrs. Sarah A. Sanzenbacher, the worthy help- 
mate and companion of the subject of this notice, 
was born in Canfield township, November 25, 
1832. She is the youngest daughter of Charles 
and Sarah A. (Harding) Oswald, of Canfield 
township. Her father died September 20, 1862, 
in the fifty-eighth year of his age. Her mother 
is still living in her seventy-sixth year, and makes 
her home with Mr. Sanzenbacher's family. Mrs. 
John Sanzenbacher is the youngest daughter of 
a family of three sons and three daughters. She 
has but one sister living, Mrs. Amanda Mahnen- 
smith. Oilman, Iowa, and no brothers. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Sanzenbacher have been born 
six children, all of whom are living in Canfield. 
Following is the family record: Harriet Louisa, 
born October 26, 1851; married March 31, 1870, 
to John Neff, of Canfield; has five children viz: 
Sadie, Ensign, Martin, Calvin, and an infant son. 
Rebecca Caroline, born August 30, 1856; mar- 
ried Irvin Callahan May 20, 1875. Charles J., 
born August 25, i860. John H., born Decem- 
ber 16, 1864. David L., born November 11, 
1869. Martin L., born July 14, 187 1. 



THE TANNER FAMILY. 

Tryal Tanner was one of the first settlers of 
Canfield. He was the son of William Tanner; 
his father died when Tryal was eleven years old, 
and thenceforth he lived with his uncle, Justus 
Sackett, in Warren, Connecticut, until he became 
of age. He then went to Cornwall, Connecticut, 



38 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and engaged in farming. He served five years 
in the Revolutionary war, holding the rank of 
lieutenant, but resigned shortly before the close 
of the war. For his services in behalf of his 
country he was paid in Continental currency, and 
as an illustration of the value of that money it 
will be sufficient to state that he once paid $80 
for a tea-kettle. 

Soon after leaving the army he married Hul- 
dah Jackson, purchased a farm in Cornwall, set- 
tled there, and remained until his removal to 
Ohio. To Mr. and Mrs. ra.a.c. '.vere born three 
sons and six daughters, whose names were as fol- 
low: '^ Archibald, Edmund Prior, Julius, Nancy, 
Peggy, Laura, Bridget, Panthea, and one daugh- 
ter who died in infancy. 

In 1801 Mr. Tanner exchanged his farm with 
Judson and Herman Canfield for four hundred 
acres ot land in the new settlement of Canfield, 
four hundred acres in Johnston, and $400. This 
proved a good bargain. In addition to this 
land Mr. Tanner took an eight-acre lot in one 
of the divisions of the center of Canfield. In 
the spring of 1801 he visited his new property, 
built a log-house on the center lot, and com- 
menced work on his farm by clearing thirteen 
acres and sowing it to wheat. 

In 1802 Mr. Tanner and family came to Can- 
field and moved into the house which he had 
erected the previous year. They journeyed with 
William Chidester and family, making up a 
company of twenty-two persons in all. Mr. Tan- 
ner had one wagon drawn by two yoke of oxen 
and two horses; also two extra horses, one with 
harness to be used in the team when necessary, 
the other with a side-saddle for his wife to ride. 
The party started from Connecticut April 22, 
1802, and arrived in Canfield on the 13th of the 
following May. 

During his former visit Mr. Tanner had en- 
gaged two men to lell ten acres of timber and 
get it ready for logging. They, however, com- 
pleted but six acres, and it was the summer job 
of Mr. Tanner and his sons to finish this clear- 
ing and sow the land to wheat. They began 
operations immediately. The three sons, who 
were aged respectively sixteen, fourteen, and 
twelve, assisted their father. He could han- 
dle the butt-end of a log alone, while all 
three of the boys united their strength to lift the 
smaller end. They worked " with a will," and 



with eagerness, and soon had 'ne satisfaction 
of seeing the forest show the results of their 
labor. During the summer they girdled thirty- 
five acres of trees, thus preparing them for 
future destruction. The winter they employed 
in cutting out small trees and underbrush. 

In 1803 they sowed wheat among the trees 
which were still standin;;^ and raised about half 
a crop. They sowed grass seed with the wheat 
and the following year raised an abundance of 
hay. Thus they lived and labored, and soon 
their farm began to assume a comparatively im- 
proved appearance. In those days in the wild 
woods plenty of work and very little time for 
pleasure were the rules. 

In 1806 Mr. Tanner built a frame house on 
his eight-acre lot, in which he lived until his 
death. He died November 22, 1833, aged 
eighty-two. His first wife died December 31, 
1803. The following year he married Mary 
Doud, who survived until July 13, 1843, when 
she died at the age of eighty-seven. 

Tryal Tanner was a good specimen of the 
hardy pioneer, tall and sinewy, and capable of 
great endurance. Toward the end of his life his 
sight failed by degrees and he became almost 
blind. He was a man of strong will and great 
determination, very tenacious of his own views. 
He was a member of the Episcopal church, and 
one of the leaders in founding the first church of 
that denomination on the Reserve. Through his 
life he sustained a high social standing and was 
much respected and esteemed. 

Archibald Tanner, the oldest son, was a man 
very much like his father, — hardy, bold, and 
energetic. He was engaged in boating on the 
Ohio for several years, then settled in Warren, 
Pennsylvania, where he became a prosperous 
merchant and prominent citizen. 

Edmund Prior Tanner, the second son of 
Tiyal Tanner, and the longest survivor of the 
entile family, was born in Cornwall, Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, in 1788, on the 22d of 
February. He received all of his schooling in 
Connecticut; for after coming to Ohio his life 
was the busy life of a pioneer farmer's son. 

November 16, 1809, he was united in marriage 
with Fanny Chapman, daughter of William and 
Sylvia Chapman, of Vernon, Trumbull county. 
He lived with his father for a time, but in the 
spring of 1810 moved into a house of hewed 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



39 



logs, which stood on the site of the present 
dwelling of his son, Julius Tanner. 

Soon after the breaking out of the War of 1S12 
he was called into the service and was absent 
from home two months and eighteen days. 

Mr. Tanner was always deeply interested in 
everything that concerned the educational, moral, 
and religious status of the community. He was 
a friend to those deserving sympathy and never 
refused his support to worthy objects. During 
the exciting days when slavery was under discus- 
sion he did not hesitate at all times to denounce 
the infamous traffic in human lives and became 
noted as a strong Abolitionist. He lived to see 
that word of reproach become one ot honor, 
and to hear his actions spoken of as noble, 
whereas they were once bitterly denounced. 
The underground railway received from him as- 
sistance and encouragement. 

For nearly sixty years he was an earnest and 
devout member of the Congregational church. 
He held the office of deacon many years, and 
was earnest and faithful, full of Christian spirit 
and prayer for the welfare of the church. His 
worth and benevolence endeared him to a large 
circle and his character was a model worthy of 
imitation. For several years he was so crippled 
by rheumatism as to be unable to walk without 
crutches, but he loved the house of God and 
Sunday usually found him in the sanctuary. 

Sixty-three years of happy wedded life had 
passed before Mr. and Mrs. Tanner were called 
upon to part from each other. Death removed 
the aged and honored husband October 24, 1872, 
in the eighty-fifth year of his age. Of his life 
it can truly be said that it was one of usefulness. 
He was a keen observer and took a heartfelt in- 
terest in the topics of the day. Fond of read- 
ing and study he continued until the last to keep 
well informed upon current affairs. During his 
last illness he appeared cheerful and hopeful and 
fell asleep firm in the faith and hope of a blessed 
immortality. 

His widow survived until September 24, 
1875, when she went to join him. She was 
born in Barkhampton, Litchfield county, Con- 
necticut, March 5, 1791, and was, therefore, also 
in her eighty-fifth year at the time of her de- 
cease. Early in life she united with the church, 
and ever continued a zealous and confiding dis- 
ciple of the Lord. She was a woman of be- 



nevolence and a faithful helpmate to her worthy 
husband. She was the mother of eight children, 
four of whom are living. The family record is 
as follows: Mary, born August 30, 181 1; mar- 
ried Lyman Warner, September 11, 1832. Hul- 
dah, born December 5, 1812; married James 
Jones, September 11, 1832. Jane, born Febru- 
ary 15, 1814; married David HoUister, Septem- 
ber II, 1832; died March 19, 1834. Bridget, 
born September 26, 1816; died September 22, 
1833. Julius, born October 6, 181S; married 
November 4, 1840, to Mary Wadsworth; mar- 
ried Fidelia T. Sackett, December 12, 1855. 
Electa Chapman, born August 6, 1820; married 
Pierpont Edwards, October 31, 1838; died in 
September, 1S40. Sylvia Smith, born July 31, 
1822; married Charles E. Boughton, March 22, 
1843. William Chapman, born July 12, 1824; 
died March 26, 1825. Mrs. Warner resides at 
Lowell, Massachusetts; she is a widow and has 
one child, a daughter. Mrs. Jones resides in 
Canfield; has three children living, one deceased. 
Mrs. Boughton resides in Canfield. One son is 
living, and one was killed in the war. 

Julius Tanner, only surviving son of Deacon 
Edmund P. Tanner, has resided in Canfield all 
his life. His residence is the old homestead 
farm. His first wife died April 15, 1855, leav- 
ing three children living and one dead — Edward 
Wadsworth, William Henry (deceased), Henry 
Archibald, and Mary Ida. All are married 
Edward married Kate Shaffer ; resides in Mead 
ville, Pennsylvania. Henry married Carrie Har- 
rison; resides in Pittsburg; he has two children 
Ida married John Delfs, and resides in Canfield 
has two children, one living. 

By his second marriage Mr. Tanner is the 
father of three children — Fanny Chapman, died 
at the age of seventeen; Edmund Prior, and 
Horace Boughton. The sons reside at home. 
M>s. Tanner had one son by her former mar- 
riage, Myron W. Sackett, now residing in Mead- 
ville, Pennsylvania. 



DR. A. W. CALVIN. 

In the full strength of vigorous manhood, in 
the midst of a successful professional career 
which was rapidly raising him in the esteem of a 
community where he was already trusted and 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



honored, Dr. Calvin was suddenly prostrated 
by a dread disease, and after an illness of brief 
duration, died on the i8th of December, 1881, 
in the thirty-fifth year and seventh month of his 
age. 

Of his boyhood it is perhaps sufiScient to state 
that it was Hke that of most farmers' sons. 

Aaron Wilbur Calvm was born in Green 
township, Mahoning county, Miy 18, 1S46. 
He was a son of Robert and Jane Calvin, who 
were well-known in this vicinity, and both of 
whom have been dead less than two years, the 
husband preceding the wife about three weeks. 
Nurtured by Christian parents by whom the seeds 
were sown which subsequently developed into 
the character which gave him such a hold upon 
the affections of all who knew him, he with the 
rest of the children was accredited with a good 
name. 

His education was begun in the district school 
at Locust Grove, and afterwards prosecuted at 
the old academy in Canfield. After acquiring 
an ordinary amount of learning, he turned his 
attention for a brief period to the profession of 
teaching. He was married, February 15, 1866, 
to Miss H. I. Fowler, a daughter of Dr. C. R. 
Fowler. After his marriage he resided in Can- 
field until 1868, when he removed to Crawford 
county, Illinois, where he remained two years. 
In 1870 he returned to Canfield, and began the 
study of medicine with his father-in-law, Dr. 
Fowler, and in 1873 graduated from the Cleve- 
land Medical college. After graduation he 
began the practice of his profession in Canfield, 
and continued the same up to the time of his 
death. During his mairied life he was blessed 
with three children : Mamie, Emma, and Flor- 
ence, who are now aged respectively fifteen, 
eleven, and six years. These, with the bereaved 
wife and three brothers and four sisters, are left 
to mourn his loss. 

As a citizen and a man Dr. Calvin received 
the respect and confidence of all. Always gen- 
erous and obliging, he made hosts of friends, 
and was able to retain them. As a student he 
applied himself with more than usual vigor, and 
completed his course of study in much less time 
than is usually allotted to the ordinary pupil. As 
a physician he was learned in theory and skilled 
in practice, yet he was a constant student, 
searching in every field for means of increasing 



his knowledge and usefulness. He was a faith- 
ful and tender nurse, and to this fact owed much 
of his success. But above all he was a consci- 
entious man. He took no unwarranted risks; 
none of his patients were ever troubled with the 
fear of being experimented upon at the risk of 
life. He had begun to gather about him, just 
prior to his death, circumstances of prosperity 
above the ordinary man of his age. He had 
just reached that period of life where he might 
begin to enjoy the fruits of his faithfulness and 
industry, when he was smitten by the hand of 
death. 

The above statements are gathered from a 
discourse delivered by Rev. C. L. Morrison on 
December 25, 1881, and they present a fair and 
impartial view of one who was beloved, hon- 
ored, and esteemed by a large circle of intimate 
acquaintances. 



JUDGE FRANCIS G. SERVIS. 

A man of noble and genial nature, charitable, 
and friendly toward all who needed friendship 
and sympathy; never failing to extend a helping 
hand to those in distress; full of enthusiasm him- 
self, he gave, both by example and precept, aid 
and encouragement to the struggling and aspir- 
ing; endowed with an honorable ambition, labor- 
ing manfully and unceasingly to make his influ- 
ence widespread and useful, he was snatched 
away just as he had reached the goal of his 
hopes. 

Judge Servis was born in Hunterdon county. 
New Jersey, August i, 1S26, and died in Can- 
field, Ohio, March 6, 1S77. His father, Abram 
P. Servis, was born in Amwell township, Hun- 
terdon county. New Jersey; he died in Berlin 
township, Mahoning county, Ohio, February 28, 
1858, at the age of seventy-four. He married 
Sarah Pegg, a native of the same county and 
State as himself They came to Palmyra town- 
ship. Portage county, arriving May 29, 1827. 
Mrs. Servis died the following August. She was 
the mother of two children, Mary A. and Francis 
G. The former survives in Deerfield, Portage 
county. 

Francis G. Servis was married September 11, 
1853, to Martha E. Patton, youngest of three 
daughters of John and Mary (Taylor) Patton. 
John Patton was born in Ohio .April 3, 1806; 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



married in 1828, and died May 8, 1880. His 
wife, a native of Beaver county, Pennsylvania, 
was born in 1810, married in 1828, and died in 
October, 1832, aged twenty-two years. Martha 
E. Patton was born in Beaver county, Pennsyl- 
vania, December 15, 1831, and by the death of 
her mother was left an orphan at the age of ten 
months. Mr. and Mrs. F. G. Servis, having no 
children of their own, adopted two daughters, 
Florence Geer and Minnie V. Piert, the former 
at the age of five years and the latter at the age 
of three. Florence is now the wife of Frank W. 
Freer, .\shland, Ohio. Minnie is single and re- 
sides at home with Mrs. Servis. 

Judge Servis's father was a man in humble cir- 
cumstances, who, after coming to Ohio, settled 
on a small farm, and divided his time between 
labor upon his farm and law practice in the lower 
courts. He had few early opportunities, but 
made the most of the facilities afforded him, 
and, having a natural aptitude for legal pursuits, 
he was skillful in the management of his cases. 
He is said to have been quite successful, and this 
no doubt, led his son to adopt the same profes- 
sion. The young man, however, was obliged to 
depend entirely upon himself for means to ac- 
quire an education. He passed his boyhood 
l.iboring at various occupations, gaining what 
knowledge he could from the limited advantages 
afforded by the district schools and studying 
with zeal in his spare time. 

In 1850 Judge Servis came to Mahoning 
county and entered the probate office of William 
Hartzell, then probate judge, as his deputy. 
While performing the duties of this position he 
pursued his legal studies under the instruction of 
John H. Lewis, Esq., at that time a leading law- 
yer of Mahoning county bar. In 1853 Mr. Ser- 
vis was admitted to the bar upon the certificate 
of Wilson & Church, in whose office he had 
completed his studies. Soon after he opened 
an office, and ere long enjoyed a good prac- 
tice. The acquaintance formed with citizens 
of all parts of the county during the years of 
his clerkship was of great service to him ; the 
young man had many friends, and rose in his 
profession with almost marvelous rapidity. By 
diligence in his business, by faithfulness in 
promptly and punctually discharging every duty 
entrusted to him, he gained the confidence and 
respect of all his clients. When embarked on 



the full tide of a prosperous practice, neither 
greed for gain nor any other unworthy ambi- 
tion ever entered his heart. On the contrary, 
he rendered valuable assistance to many just 
entering upon the difficult task of building up 
a law practice, who, like himself, were obliged 
to begin at the foot of the ladder. A distin- 
guished member of the Mahoning bar, after the 
death of Judge Servis, spoke of his friend and 
brother in the profession as follows: "I came to 
Canfield compelled to .rely for a livelihood on 
my own exertions, and I should have found this 
a hard matter to accomplish had it not been for 
the helping hand extended to me of Judge Servis. 
I had no clients, but he had many. He worked 
from dawn of day till late at night, and many and 
many a time has he come to me and told me 
where I could make a cent, a dime, or a dollar. 
I can never forget the kindness done me in those 
days by this noble-hearted man. Illustrating his 
kindness, let me speak of what I myself know. 
A few years ago, while he was in Montana, the 
banking firm of which he was a member made 
an assignment, and by the stress of circum- 
stances he individually was compelled to do the 
same. I was his assignee, and when I came to 
look up his assets, I found that there were hun- 
dreds, nay, thousands of dollars loaned out to 
needy widows or unfortunate men, from which 
not a dollar could ever be realized. He loaned 
knowing that he would never get a dollar back; 
he gave out of his warm sympathy never expect- 
ing a return save that which came from the 
affectionate regard of those whom he helped." 

Concerning his abilities as a lawyer, a promi- 
nent member of the bar said: 

He was strong as a statutory lawyer, and in this respect 
had not an equal in the State of Ohio. He had the statutes 
at his fingers' ends and at his tongue's end, and could turn 
to any one he wanted without a moment's delay or hesita- 
tion. When you add to this his strong common sense, he 
was an antagonist in a law suit to be dreaded and an at- 
torney to be desired and sought after. 

Judge Servis exerted a great, and at times a 
controlling influence in the politics of the county 
for nearly a quarter of a century. Up to the 
time the war broke out he was a Democrat, but 
when Sumter was fired upon he espoused the 
Union cause with fervent patriotism, and faltered 
not in this course until he laid down his life. 
Considering his activity in politics he rarely held 
office. Indeed, he seemed more desirous of 



42 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



helping his friends than of advancing his own 
interests. He was twice elected prosecuting at- 
torney of Mahoning county, and discharged the 
duties of that office with great credit to himself 
and advantage to the public. 

During the war he was draft commissioner for 
Mahoning county, and in the discharge of the 
responsible duties of this trying position he dis- 
played energy, courage, and ability that com- 
manded universal admiration. 

In 1872 he was appointed associate justice of 
the supreme court of Montana, and entered up- 
on his duties in the fall of that year. In the 
summer of 1875 he resigned this position, re- 
turned to Canfield, and resumed his practice. 
In Montana he was held in high esteem by men 
of all parties. The press and bar of that Terri- 
tory, with absolute unanimity, paid the highest 
tributes to his memory as to his ability, integrity, 
and judicial character generally. 

In 1876 Judge Servis was elected circuit judge 
of his district. Concerning this period of his 
career the Youngstown Register says : 

There is no doubt that he has cherished for many years 
an honorable ambition to hold the office to which he has just 
been elected, and upon the performance of whose duties he 
has not been permitted to enter. Since his election last Oc- 
tober he has without any doubt overworked himself that he 
might reflect honor upon the great public dignity to which 
the people had called him. Of the judicial reputation and 
honorable fame he justly anticipated winning from a service 
upon the bench, among those with whom he had maintained 
life-long friendship and associations, cruel Death has robbed 

Both in public and in private life Judge Servis 
was ever the same — a genial, generous, whole- 
souled man; and at his death the entire com- 
munity mourned the loss of a valued and trusted 
friend. 



HENRY VAN HYNINC. 

The name Van Hyning originated in Holland 
and was brought to this country by some of the 
earliest of the New York colonists. 

Henry, son of Henry and Hannah (Brower) 
Van Hyning, was born in Saratoga county, New 
York, May 1, 1797. His mother, who was his 

father's second wife, was a grandchild of 

Hogardus, a missionary from Holland. To the 
first wife of Heniy Van Hyning, Sr., three sons 
were born, and to the second four sons and six 
d.Tughiers, of whom only two survive, Henry and 



Sylvester. The latter lives in Norton township. 
Summit county. 

In the spring of 1804 the family started for 
Ohio. The family then consisted of the father, 
mother, and nine children. Mr. Van Hyning 
made a canoe and took it with the heavier part 
of his goods to French creek, thence into the 
Allegheny, to Pittsburg. There he was met by 
the family, who had journeyed by land, and after 
putting the goods aboard wagons, all started for 
Canfield. They came via Beaver and arrived in 
Canfield township the latter part of August, 
1805, having stopped in Susquehanna county 
nearly a year, and remained until the latter part 
of October. During their stay in Canfield the 
youngest son, Sylvester Van Hyning, was born. 

Meantime the father had been to Northamp- 
ton, then in Trumbull, but now in Summit 
county, and had selected and purchased land for 
a farm. He hitched up his teams with two 
wagons and started for his new home, traveling 
by the way of Ravenna, and cutting a road a 
portion of the distance. From Ravenna he pro- 
ceeded to Warren and there purchased a barrel 
of pork, a barrel of flour, and a barrel of whiskey, 
doubled his teams, and in due time reached 
Northampton. There were then but two white 
families in that township. All was dense forest 
and Indians were numerous. After six years of 
pioneer life in Northampton, Mr. Van Hyning 
sold out and removed to Wolf creek, now Nor- 
ton township, where both he and his wife died. 
The father lived to see the fourth generation and 
attained the remarkable age of one hundred and 
two years. He served in the French and Indian 
war and all through the Revolution. 

In the last-named war he was a captain, and 
commanded a company of picked men, selected 
from a brigade. Of the eighty members of this 
company not one was less than six feet in height, 
the captain being among the tallest of them. 
Captain VanHyning was under General Gates, 
and particijaated in the battle which resulted in 
taking General Burgoyne. During his residence 
in Northampton he was a justice of the peace; 
the greater part of the time for several townships, 
all of which were included in one election dis- 
trict. He also held the same office in \\'olf 
Creek district, being one of the first elected 
there. 

Henry VanHyning, Jr., passed his early years 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



43 



amid the pioneer scenes ot the Western Reserve. 
He is one of the few men now living in Ohio 
who had Indians for iiis neighbors and associates. 
He found them friendly and well disposed, 
learned to talk their language, and frequently 
went hunting with them. 

He obtained all of his school education in the 
log school-houses of pioneer days, usually at- 
tending a few months in the winter. At home he 
frequently studied by the light of hickory bark, 
and, in fact, picked up the most of his learning 
in this way. 

At the time of the War of 1812, though not 
subject to military duty, he went into the service 
as a substitute for his brother, who had been 
drafted immediately after Hull's surrender, and 
served about three months in scout and outpost 
duty against the Indian raiders. 

While in Norton Mr. VanHyning was a justice 
of the peace for several years, and was engaged 
in other public business, settling estates, etc., 
most of the time. In 1855 he removed to Cleve- 
land, thence to Newburg after a year or two. He 
remained in Newburg until he removed to Can- 
field in 187 I. Mr. VanHynmg was principally 
the means of getting a bank established in Can- 
field, and has been its president ever since it 
was founded. 

He has married twice — first on August 14, 
1820, to Miss Almira Taylor, a native of Con- 
necticut. She bore him three children, two sons 
and one daughter — Julius, Giles, and Henrietta. 
The daughter died in Newburg at the age of 
twenty-three; Julius is a farmer in Napoleon, 
Henry county, Ohio; Giles is a prominent mem- 
ber of Mahoning county bar, practicing in Can- 
field. 

Mrs. VanHyning was born January 15, 1799, 
and died March 14, 1864. 

November 30, 1864, Mr. VanHyning wedded 
Julia Randall. She was born in Northampton, 
Massachusetts, April 2, 18 15. She died March 
27, 1881. 

Mr. VanHyning is a man of sterling integrity, , 
an esteemed citizen, and a useful member of so- 
ciety. His long life and active business career 
have made him familiar with many men, and all 
speak of him in the highest terms. 



COLONEL SHERMAN KINNEY. 

Sherman Kinney was born in Washington, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, September 4, 
181 7, being a son of Theron and Ruth Ann 
(Meeker) Kinney. Sherman is the oldest of a 
family of eight children, two sons and six daugh- 
ters, of whom all are living except two daughters. 
His parents removed to Ohio when the subject 
of this sketch was about fourteen years old, set- 
tling in Boardman township where the father 
died in 1863, aged seventy-two. Mrs. Kinney is 
still living in Boardman. Sherman Kinney re- 
ceived a common school education. When in 
his thirteenth year, under the instruction of his 
father, he began to learn the carpenter and 
joiner's trade, working summers and attending 
school winters. After about four years he began 
working with his uncle, William Meeker, also a 
carpenter, and continued with him until he was 
about nineteen. His father then gave him his 
time during the remaining years of his minority, 
and Mr. Kinney began work for himself, and has 
since been following his trade. He made the 
study of architecture a specialty, and having a 
love for his pursuit he soon became well skilled 
in designing, which he has practiced as a depart- 
ment of his work from 1840 up to the present 
time. 

From the beginning of his business life Mr. 
Kinney has been successful. He has worked in- 
dustriously, zealously and faithfully. Of recent 
yeats his business has been large and ever in- 
creasing. He has taken many important con- 
tracts and in every instance his work has given 
the best of satisfaction. 

From 1852 to 1859 Mr. Kinney was a con- 
tractor and builder in the city of Cleveland and 
conducted quite an extensive business with his 
usual success. 

In i860 he came to Canfield, where he has 
since resided. As a business man he enjoys the 
respect and confidence ol his fellow-citizens, and 
maintains a high social standing. Mr. Kinney 
is a Republican, but he has always been too busy 
to take a very active part in politics. In military 
matters he has been honored by several appoint- 
ments. 

In 1 841 Mr. Kinney was chosen a captain of 
militia, and served several years. At the break- 
ing out of the war a company, principally of Can- 
field men, was raised and Mr. Kinney was chosen 



44 



TRUMBULL AND ALAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ca])tain. Under the first call for troops — seventy- 
five thousand men for three months — this com- 
pany attempted to get into the army, but did not 
succeed, though many of its members subse- 
quently enlisted in other companies. 

At the time of the organization of the State 
militia during the war the militia of Mahoning 
county was divided into three regiments, and 
Mr. Kinney received an appointment as colonel 
of the Second regiment of Mahoning county, 
and served in that office about two years. 

Mr. Kinney was married in 1838 to Miss 
Marcia M. Titus. This lady was born in Wash- 
ington, Litchfield county, Connecticut, December 
10, 1820, anff was the daughter of Onesimus 
and Nancy Titus. The parents moved to Board- 
man township m this county in 182 1 and spent 
the remainder of their days on the farm where 
they first settled. They reared five children who 
arrived at maturity, Mrs. Kinney being the second 
child. Three of this family are now living, one 
son and two daughters. Mrs. Titus died in 1863 
aged sixty-seven; and Mr. Titus in 1875 at the 
age of eighty four. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kinney have no children living. 
Their only child, Henry, born September 8, 
1849, died October 13, 1856. This couple 
have many friends and no enemies. 

It has been truthfully said, "On their own 
merits, modest men are dumb," and Colonel 
Kinney is one of most modest and unassuming of 
men. Nevertheless, his long experience in act- 
ive business has made his circle of acquaintances 
a large one, and every one bears cheerful 
testimony to his worth and usefulness. By faith- 
ful attention to his business and unwearied indus- 
try he has won success and prosperity. 



NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

George J. Lynn was born in Berks county, 
Pennsylvania, December 26, 1775. He came to 
Ohio in the fall of 1803 and purchased land in 
Canfield township, then Trumbull county, and set- 
tled in the midst of the forest. He erected a 
rude log cabin in which he and a sister kept 
house until his marriage in the spring of 1807. 
I lis wife was Miss Catharine Grove, a representa- 
tive of a pioneer family. The subject of this 
sketch was a poor boy and started in life with 



but seven cents in money and the clothes he had 
on. But he patiently and successfully met every 
difficulty which beset his pathway and eventually 
accumulated quite an extensive property. He 
died November 14, 1833, mourned by his rela- 
tives and a host of friends, by whom he was 
familiarly known as " Uncle George." He was 
the father of five sons and two daughters, as fol- 
low: David, John, George, William, Levi, 
Mary, and Elizabeth. Levi and William are 
dead, both leaving families. Mrs. Lynn sur- 
vived her husband until March 15, 1866. They 
are buried in the cemetery near Canfield. 

David Lynn, the eldest son of the subject of 
the previous sketch, was born on the old Lynn 
homestead April 25, 1808. His occupation has 
always been that of a farmer. He was united 
in marriage February 17, 1834, to Miss Mary 
Ann Harding. To them were born nine chil- 
dren, as follow: George, John, George E., Al- 
medus, D. E., Elizabeth C, Lucy A., Mary, and 
Mary Jane. George and Mary Jane died in in- 
fancy; the remainder are living. Mr. Lynn is 
one of the prosperous and substantial farmers of 
his township and has held various offices of trust. 
He and his wife are members of the Presby- 
terian church of Canfield. 

George Lynn, third son of George J. and 
Catharine Lynn, was born on the old homestead 
where he now lives, in Canfield township, March 
21, 1813. During his active business life he has 
followed farming. He has been twice married, 
first to Rachel Moherman, who became the 
mother of five sons, viz: Freeman T., George 
F., Ensign Daniel, Orlando M., and Walter J. 

Henry Thoman, Canfield township, Mahoning 
county, was born in York county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1790. He learned shoemaking when a young 
man, though he has followed farming principally. 
He married Mary Marter, who died in 1 860, having 
borne ten children, viz : Harriet, Daniel, Cath- 
arine, Lewis, Henry, Margaret, Isaac, Samuel, 
Jesse, and Amanda. Six are living, — Lewis, in 
•Kansas; Harriet (Crouse), in Crawford county; 
Catharine (Morris) and Margaret (Wining) in 
Columbiana county ; Samuel iind Amanda 
(Heintzelman), in Canfield township. Mr. Tho- 
man is now passing the evening of his ripe old 
age at the home of his son Samuel. The family 
came to Beaver townshif), Mahoning county, in 
1S28. In 1877 Mr. Thoman and his son Sam- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



45 



uel moved to Canfield. Samuel rhoman was 
born in Beaver township in 1833. He has fol- 
lowed a variety ot occupations, having been a 
carpenter, a tinner, a millwright, a merchant, 
and a farmer, by turns. He has also resided in 
what is now Mahoning county. In 1854 he 
married Elizabeth Heintzelman, of Beaver town- 
ship. They have had si.\ children : Ora Alice, 
Alvin, Viola, Melvin, Cora L., and an infant 
daughter. Ora Alice, Melvin, and the youngest 
are deceased. The family belong to the Re- 
formed church. 

Prior T. Jones, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Ellsworth town- 
ship, in 1836. In i860 he married Ellen R. 
Bond, of Edinburg, Portage county. They have 
four children, — Lester L., Harry T., James B., 
and Amy Belle. Mr. Jones is a son of James 
Jones, who was born in Ellsworth in 1807 and 
died in Canfield in 1870. He married Huldah 
Tanner, and lived in Ellsworth until 1852, then 
moved to Canfield. While in Ellsworth he car- 
ried on tanning some years. His widow still 
lives in Canfield. She has borne four children, 
three of whom are living : William died in 
Kansas in 1857 about twenty-four years of age; 
Prior T., Fanny (Turner), and Laura reside in 
Canfield. A sketch of the Jones family will be 
found in the history of Ellsworth. 

George F. Lynn, member of the firm of Lynn 
Brothers, druggists, Canfield, Mahoning county, 
was born in Canfield township, March 20, 1845, 
a son of George and Rachel Lynn. He followed 
the diy goods business seven years, commencing 
in 1866. Since 1873 he has been engaged in 
the drug business. He was married November 
9, 1872, to Lena N. Taylor, of Canfield. Mr. 
Lynn, for a young man, has been honored with 
a large number of local offices. He has been 
township clerk nine successive years ; secretary 
of the Mahoning County Agricultural society one 
year, and treasurer of the same two years. He 
was nominated for county auditor in 1880 by the 
Democrats, and ran about four hundred votes 
ahead of the rest of the ticket ; he was a mem- 
ber of the Democratic Executive committee sev- 
eral years, and was chairman of the central com- 
mittee in 1879, and exerts much influence in the 
Democratic party. He is one of the incorpora- 
tors of the Northeastern Ohio Normal school, 
Canfield, and is secretary of its board of trustees. 



He has served several years as councilman of 
the incorporated village of Canfield. 

J. C. Turner, farmer and coal operator, Can- 
field township, Mahoning county, was born in 
1832 on the old Turner homestead, his present 
residence. In 1869 he married Fanny Jones, 
daughter of James and Huldah Jones, of Can- 
field. They have two children living, one de- 
ceased — Elsie, Laura Electa, and Sylvia (de- 
ceased). Mr. Turner is proprietor of a coal 
bank, from which he is shipping several car loads 
of coal daily. He has been working the mine 
about three years. At present he employs from 
thirty to forty men, and is the most extensive 
coal operator in the township. For Turner fam- 
ily see Canfield township history. 

Warren Hine, stock dealer and farmer. Can- 
field, Mahoning county, was born in Warren, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, in 1810. In 181 1 
his parents returned to Canfield, their home, and 
here Mr. Hine has since lived. He has followed 
agricultural pursuits and is a large dealer in 
stock; he has been buying and selling for many 
years and is well known throughout a large 
region. Mr. Hine was married in 1836 to 
Rhoda Tichner, a native of Salisbury, Connecti- 
cut. They have no children of their own, but 
have reared two in their family, namely, Kate 
and Warren. During the war Mr. Hine warmly 
espoused the Union cause and was earnest in 
getting recruits for the army. Formerly a Whig 
he is now a Republican. Mr. Hine is a wide- 
awake citizen and a friend to every good work. 
He was one of the earliest supporters and organ- 
izers of the Mahoning County Agricultural 
society. For his parentage see chapter on Can- 
field township. 

Lewis D. Coy, physician, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, was born in Green village, Mahoning 
county, in 1848, the son of Wesley and Dorothea 
(Bush) Coy, of Green village. He studied with 
Dr. Tritt, of Green ; attended Eclectic Medical 
institute, Cincinnati ; graduated therefrom May 
9, 1876. He then located in Green village and 
practiced till Apiil, 1879, when he settled in 
Canfield, where he now enjoys a large and in- 
creasing practice. In April, 1881, he was ap- 
pointed physician at the county infirmary. This, 
with his outside calls, keeps the doctor very 
busy. In 1868 he married Laura C. Bowell, of 
New Albany, Ohio, who has borne two children. 



46 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Olive F. and Warren. Dr. Coy served in the 
late war; enlisted January, 1864, in company C, 
Sixth Ohio cavalry, and served until the close of 
the Rebellion. He is a member of the Lutheran 
church. 

John H. Clewell, lumber dealer, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, was born in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1806. He worked as 
a tinner and locksmith some years. In 1835 he 
came to Ohio and resided in Green village, Ma- 
honing county, where he was engaged in buying 
and selling stock. In 1837 he moved to Can- 
field and kept the hotel known as the Clewell 
house on the site of the present American house. 
This business he continued until 1848. He then 
went to Philadelphia, where he kept hotel about 
one year. In May, 1850, he returned to Can- 
field and began the manufacture of sewing ma- 
chines. In 1854 he engaged in the lumber busi- 
ness, which he still continues. At first his work 
was making bed-pins and broom-handles. In the 
first days of the oil well excitement he manufact- 
ured pump-rods for the oil well pumps. He 
now manufactures and deals quite extensively in 
all kinds of house-furnishing lumber. Mr. 
Clewell was married in 1830 to Elizabeth Koeh- 
ler (born in 1S08), daughter of Nathaniel Koeh- 
ler, of Lebanon, Pennsylvania. To them have 
been born four children: Harriet Adelia (Whit- 
tlesey), Canfield; Stephen Albert, Stillwater, 
Minnesota; Delorma M., Ravenna, and Mary 
L. (Super), Athens. Mr. Clewell is a member of 
the Odd Fellows. 

John J. N. Delfs, tanner, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, was born in Hamburg, North Germany, 
in 1849. In July, 1872, he emigrated to 
America, and after remaining a few months in 
New York city went to Hartford, Connecticut, 
and worked at his trade. From Hartford he 
went toHolyoke, Massachusetts, thence to Rock- 
well, Connecticut, from Rockwell to Cleveland, 
from Cleveland to Pittsburg, and from the latter 
|3lace to Canfield in 1877. The following year 
he married Miss Ida M. Tarlner. They have 
had two children — Roy and Fannie. Only the 
son is living. Mr. Delfs belongs to the order of 
Odd Fellows. Mrs. Delfs is a member of the 
Congregational church. 

Allen Calvin, miller, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, was born in Green township, Mahoning 
county, in 1842. He is a son of Robert Calvin- 



He lived at home until of age, then went to 
Southern Illinois, and was there nearly all of the 
time for eighteen years engaged in milling. In 
1880 he returned to Mahoning county, and 
began milling in Canfield. Mr. Calvin was 
married in 1868, to Miss Julia E. Reese, of 
Annapolis, Crawford county, Illinois. She was 
a native of Pennsylvania ; she died in November, 
1874, leaving two children living — Eva Laura 
and Joe V. Another, Cora Lee, is dead. Mr. 
Calvin is a Democrat politically. 

William Schmick, retired merchant, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, was born in Reading, Berks 
county, Pennsylvania, August 21, 1812. When 
fifteen years of age he began to learn the trade 
of making hats, and worked at this trade until 
1840. In September, 1833, Mr. Schmick came 
to Ohio, and began working at Green village, 
now in Mahoning county. There he continued 
fifteen years. During this time he was elected a 
justice of the peace, and served three terms. In 
the fall of 1848 he was elected sheriff of Mahon- 
ing county, and moved to Canfield, which has 
since been his home. In 1850 Mr. Schmick 
engaged in business as a merchant and continued 
until 1861, when he gave up his store to his sons. 
From 1853 to 1861 Mr. Schmick served as post- 
master in Canfield. Four years, 1857-61, he 
was deputy United States marshal of the North- 
ern district of Ohio. He was cashier of the 
bank in Canfield four years (1870-74). He has 
been a very active and successful business man. 
During recent years he has not been in active 
business, though he continues to take deep 
interest in all that relates to the prosperity of his 
town or county. In 1881 he was nominated by 
the Democrats of Mahoning county, without his 
knowledge or consent, for State Senator, but of 
course in a strongly Republican district an elec- 
tion could not be expected. Mr. Schmick was 
married in 1837 to Mrs. Rhoda Trevett {nee 
Brookhart) of Frankfort, Hampshire county, Vir- 
ginia. To them have been born two sons, Wil- 
liam Henry and Charles Nelson. Both are 
prosperous business men of Leetonia, Colum- 
biana county, where they are engaged in bank- 
ing «nd mercantile business; also doing an ex- 
tensive business in iron manufacture, being the 
proprietors of a rolling-mill, two blast furnaces, 
etc. 

Hosea Hoover, Canfield, Mahoning county, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



was born in Kendall, Stark county, Ohio, No- 
vember 27, 1814. He is the oldest son of Jacob 
and Elizabeth (Shellenberger) Hoover, who 
came from Pennsylvania to Ohio at an early 
date. His father died in 1835; ^'^ mother is 
still living. The family consisted of eight chil- 
dren, of whom five are living — Hosea, Canfield; 
David, iMarlboro, Stark county; Hector, Alli- 
ance; Mrs. Mary Tribbey, Ravenna; and Frances, 
Alliance. Mrs. Hoover, the mother, is still liv- 
ing at Alliance, at the ripe age of eighty-eight 
years, in good health, and in full possession of 
her faculties. The names of her children who 
are deceased are Hiram P., died at P etersburg; 
Humphrey, died at Alliance; John, died in Stark 
county. After the death of his father, Hosea being 
the oldest of the children, the care of the family 
devolved largely upon him, and for many years all 
his earnings were contributed to its support. 
Mr. Hoover has resided in this coimty nearly 
all of his life ; his parents moved to Springfield 
township, now in Mahoning county, when he 
was about four years old, and he has since resided 
in Mahoning. When a young man he learned 
carpentry and joining, and worked at that busi- 
ness until 1S54. In that year he was elected 
treasurer of Mahoning county; moved to Can- 
field with his family in 1856. Having been re- 
elected in 1856, he thus served two terms with 
great credit to himself and satisfaction to the 
citizens who elected him. Mr. Hoover was em- 
ployed in the drug business about nine years. 
He served as deputy collector of internal revenue 
in this county for four years and eight months. 
He was married January 26, 1842, to Mary Seid- 
ner, daughter of Christian Seidner, of Spring- 
field township. Mr. Hoover is an active mem- 
ber of the Odd Fellows, which organization he 
joined twenty-six years ago. He has been a 
member of the Methodist church forty-six years, 
and has contributed liberally toward its support. 
Pierpont Edwards, manufacturer, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, was born in New Milford, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, July 7, 1812, 
the second of a family of seven children. His 
grandfather, Edward Edwards, of Welsh parent- 
age, was born in London, July 16, 1743, and 
died in this country October 19, 1823. Edward 
Edwards sailed from Bristol, England, April 6, 
1764; arrived in New York the 27th of May 
following, and settled in New Milfoid. His wife, 



Martha, died June 3, 1824, aged eighty-two. 
The father of Pierpont Edwards was Martin 
Luther Edwards, born May 18, 1781, and died 
September 14, 1870. His mother was Sarah 
Hoyt, who died February 25, 1851, at the age 
of sixty-sevtn. Her father was Nathan Hoyt, 
who was driven out of Norwalk when it was 
burned by the British during the Revolutionary 
war. M. L. Edwards and family moved to 
Warwick, Orange county. New York, in 182 1, 
and resided there until the spring of 1827, when 
the whole family started for Ohio in a two-horse 
wagon. They were three weeks on the way. 
They settled in Canfield permanently, excepting 
one year afterwards spent in Boardman and one 
in Steubenville. Pierpont Edwards followed 
chair-making and painting a number of years 
with his father, and afterwards by himself In 
1838 he was married to Electa Chapman, daugh- 
ter of Edmund P. and Fanny Tanner. She 
died September 22, 1840, aged twenty years, and 
an infant son died the nth of the following 
month. November 8, 1842, Mr. Edwards mar- 
ried Mary Patch, formerly of Groton, Massa- 
chusetts. She has borne three sons and three 
daughters. The oldest, Albert Tanner, died 
October 4, 1863, in his twentieth year. The re- 
maining five are living — Sarah Electa, George 
Rufus, Lucy, Ellen, and Martin Luther. In 
1851 Mr. Edwards' house and shop were burned. 
He then engaged in selling stoves, clothing, etc., 
and for a few years was in the drug and medi- 
cine business with the late Dr. W. W. Prentice 
and his brother. Dr. N. P. Prentice, now of 
Cleveland. During the late war he was in part- 
nership with J. Sanzenbacher in the drug and 
grocery line. His health failing he dissolved 
partnership and sold out. In 1866 he built a 
new store and commenced dealing in groceries 
and notions in 1867. This business be con- 
tinued until May, 1881. In 1869 he formed a 
partnership with J. Sanzenbacher and began the 
business of tanning and manufacturing leather 
belting, which business is still carried on in the 
name of J. Sanzenbacher & Co., who are as- 
sisted by George R. Edwards and Charles Sanz- 
enbacher, sons of the partners, and I. Callahan, 
Mr. Sanzenbacher's son-in-law, who have an in- 
terest in the business. This industry is more 
fully noticed under the head of Canfield town- 
ship. 



48 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Stephen W. Jones, Canfield, Mahoning coun- 
ty, was born in Stockbridge, Massachusetts, July 
29, 1799. He passed his early life farming, and 
has followed that business principally, though 
with the usual characteristics of a Yankee he 
has turned his hand to almost every kind of 
mechanical labor, such as carpentry, wagon 
manufacturmg, furniture making, etc. In mid- 
dle life he became much interested in scientific 
studies, especially geology, and has followed up 
his investigations zealously through many years. 
In 1853 he was sent to the Holy Land by the 
Society for the Amelioration of the Condition of 
the Jews, looking to the colonization and im- 
provement of the Jews of that portion of the 
world. He was there during the Crimean war 
and saw many of the trying scenes of those 
troublous times. In 1855 he returned to his 
home in Massachusetts and resumed farming and 
mechanical work. In 1864 he sold his farm and 
for four years was engaged in various occupa- 
tions. In 1864 he was among the mines of 
Nova Scotia five months, being employed as a 
geological expert. Returning to Boston he was 
immediately engaged by a mining company to 
investigate the newly discovered oil regions, and 
followed this work some time, traveling a por- 
tion of each year. He journeyed hundreds 
and freciuently thousands of miles yearly, often 
on foot, and made explorations in New York, 
Pennsylvania, Ohio, Virginia, Kentucky, etc. 
In 1868 he moved to Salem, Columbiana coun- 
ty, Ohio. His wife died that year and he again 
became a wanderer, visiting and residing in 
various localities. In 187 1 he settled perma- 
nently in Canfield, his present home. Mr. Jones 
[)ossesses a keen, investigating mind, and his 
travels and studies have enabled hitii to acquire 
a large amount of valuable scientific information. 
His tri^vels have extended over all the northern 
Slates east of the Mississippi and through 
Canada and the provinces. He has published 
many articles in the press, and his opinions are 
regarded as of weight and value by scientific 
men. At the advanced age of eight-two his 
mind is remarkably active and his capacity for 
mental and physical labor great. He jjossesses 
a rare and valuable collection of minerals from 
all parts of America, as well as many choice 
relics gathered in the Holy Land. Mr. Jones 
was married, March 3, 1824, to Dalesa Crosby, 



of Stockbridge, Massachusetts. She died in 
1869, having borne one child, Sarah Elizabeth, 
born in 1825 and died at the age of twenty- 
three. January 13, 1872, he married Almira 
Mygatt, youngest daughter of Comfort S. My- 
gatt, one of the early merchants of Canneld. 

Judson W. Canfield, farmer and county sur- 
veyor, Canfield, Mahoning county, was born in 
Canfield, December 5, 1828. He is the only 
son of Henry J. Canfield. He was educated in 
the schools of his native place, studied surveying 
with his father and S. W. Gilson, and began its 
practice in 1849. He has served three terms of 
three years each as county surveyor and is now 
serving a fourth term. As a practical surveyor 
Mr. Canfield sustains an enviable reputation. 
He was assistant [jrovost marshal of the Nine- 
teenth district during a portion of the war 
period, and was also assistant assessor of internal 
revenue several years. In addition to his other 
duties Mr. Canfield manages a large farm. 
On the 28th of February, 1853, he was mar- 
ried to Betsey M. Turner, daughter of James 
Turner, of Canfield. They have five children, 
namely: Julia A., Maude M., Walter H., 
Judson T., and Colden R. For Mr. Canfield's 
ancestry see the chapter on Canfield township. 
The- first map of Mahoning county, made in 
1 86 1, is the work of Mr. Canfield. 

John Dodson, merchant, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, was born at Stepney Green, near Lon- 
don, England, in 1808. In 1852 he emigrated 
to America, settling in Cleveland and engaging 
as a clerk in 1853. In 1859 he removed to 
Canfield and engaged in merchandising, which 
he continues to follow. Mr. Dodson was mar- 
ried in England in 1832 to Eleanor Sullivan. 
She died in 1854 in Canfield, having borne no 
children. In 1865 he married Melissa R. Skyles, 
a native of Pennsylvania, by whom he has two 
children living and one dead, viz: Victoria (de- 
ceased), Tom Vass, and John Warren. Mr. 
Dodson is a successful business man. 

J. O. Corli, druggist, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, was born in Canfield township, No.vem- 
ber 20, 1857. He is a son of William Corll. 
He was educated in the schools of Canfield, and 
commenced business for himself in 1879. Mr. 
Corll is a young man of enterprise and is fast 
laying the foundation for a successful business 
career. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



49 



S. E. Dyball, dentist and merchant, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, was born in Orange, Cuya- 
hoga county, May 2, 1856. He was educated in 
the schools of his native county; studied den- 
tistry at Chagrin Ealls, came to Canfield and 
began its practice in May, 1S77. He soon found 
his business rapidly increasing and is now kept 
busy constantly. In the spring of 188 1 he joined 
Mr. M. i,. Edwards in a partnership in the dry 
goods business. Mr. Dyball was married Octo- 
ber 31, 1877, to Lora J. Antisdale, of Chagrin 
Falls. He is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows lodge. At the spring 
election, 1880, he was chosen mayor of the vil- 
lage of Canfield, which office he still continues 
to hold. 

Dr. Jackson Truesdale, merchant, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, was born in Austintown town- 
ship, in 1820. He is a son of John and Mary 
(Reed) Truesdale, of Poland township. His 
parents died when he was between four and five 
years of age, and thenceforth he was cared for 
by his grandmother until about twelve years old, 
at which time he became a member of the family 
of his uncle. Dr. Joseph Truesdale, of Poland 
township. He attended the select schools of 
Poland, and about the age of si.xteen began 
studymg under private tutors at Oberlin, and 
afterwards at Allegheny college. At the age of 
seventeen he commenced teaching in the district 
schools of this county, and m 1840 went to 
Kentucky, where he continued in the same em- 
ployment. He taught three years or more in 
Kentucky and Tennessee, employing his spare 
time in the study of medicine. In 1844 he re- 
turned to this county and continued his studies 
under his uncle's tuition; attended medical lec- 
tures at the Cleveland Medical school ; began 
the practice of medicine in 1846 at Lordstown, 
Trumbull county, removed thence to Frederick, 
Milton township, Mahoning county; from Fred- 
erick to North Benton, thence to North Jack- 
son, and to Canfield in 1855. While residing in 
Jackson Dr. Truesdale was elected justice of the 
peace and served several years, and m 1854 he 
was elected county auditor of Mahoning county. 
At the expiration of his first term he was re- 
elected and administered the duties of that re- 
sponsible otifice during another term to the entire 
satisfaction of the citizens of the county. In 
1859 the doctor embarked in mercantile enter- 



prise, in which he still continues. Dr. Truesdale 
has been married four times ; first to Julia Tan- 
ner, of Kentucky, she lived only a few months 
and died of consumption; second to Lola M. 
Tyler, of Lorain county, who died ofter being 
married three or four years, leaving two children, 
Henry T. and Lola M. Henry entered company 
E, Second Ohio cavalry at the age of sixteen ; 
was captured by the enemy, and after nine 
months' imprisonment died at Andersonville. 
He was a noble young man and his untimely 
death was a heavy blow to his parents. Lola is 
the wife of Edgar Cummins, of Lorain county, 
where she resides. Dr. Truesdale was next mar- 
ried to Hannah Eckis, of Milton township, who 
lived about sixteen years after her marriage. 
There were no children. In 1865 he married 
the lady who now presides in his home, Lucy 
Allen Ripley, of Berlin, daughter of Edwin Rip- 
ley, and granddaughter of General Ripley. The 
fruits of this union have been three children, 
two of whom are living, viz: Eddie (died in in- 
fancy), William J., and John. Dr. Truesdale is 
a prominent member of the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows lodge, from which he has re- 
ceived the highest honors within its gift. He has 
been a member of' the Methodist church from 
boyhood. 

Isaac Manchester, the third son of Benjamin 
Manchester, was born in Canfield in 18 10, and 
was married October 2, 1834, to Eleanor, daugh- 
ter of Hugh Wilson, who emigrated from county 
Down, in the north of Ireland, and settled in 
Canfield at an early day. She died October 18, 
1867. To them were born six children, who are 
now living, viz: Hugh Alexander, born March 
5, 1837; Robert Asa, born August 13, 1838; 
William John, born September 27, 1840; Mary 
Maigaret, born April 22, 1844; Benjamin Oscar, 
Dorn November 11, 1847; Hannah Jane Eliza- 
beth, born July 20, 1854. They are all married. 
The oldest two live in Mahoning county, and 
the others all live in the State of Indiana. Ben- 
jamin Oscar is, at present, city clerk of Elkhart. 
H. A. Manchester and Miss Rose A. Squire, 
who was born September 27, 1838, were married 
November 8, 1859. She was the daughter of 
Asher Canfield Squire, who was a native of Con- 
necticut, and moved with his father to Canfield, 
Ohio, at a very early day. Her mother was 
Mary, daughter of Thomas Jones, who moved 



so 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONINCx COUNTIES, OHIO. 



from Maryland and settled in Ellsworth town- 
ship in 1804. H. A. and Rose A. are the par- 
ents of six children — Mary E., born June 
20, 1 86 1, an intelligent and amiable girl, who 
died September 22, 1880; Laura E., born De- 
cember 5, 1862 ; Fanny C, born July 8, 1S65 ; 
Isaac Asher, born July 22, 1867; William 
Charles, born December 25, 1873; Curtis Asa, 
born November 6, 1876. H. A. received a 
liberal education at the Poland and Mahoning 
academies. He commenced teaching school at 
the age of eighteen, and has followed that pro- 
fession more or less every year since. His gen- 
eral practice has been to teach in the fall and 
winter months, and to cultivate his farm in the 
spring and summer. He has taught the district 
school where he now lives, and in which he was 
raised, for twenty-three winters. He is now, and 
has been for the last six years, a member and 
clerk of the board of county school examiners. 
He has also been moderately successful and 
thrifty as a farmer, having acquired, by the aid 
of a most industrious and economical helpmeet, 
a farm of over two hundred acres in the south- 
west part of the township. He has been elected 
to fill, at different times, nearly every important 
local and township office. He is now one of 
the justices of the peace of the township, and 
has held the office for the last fourteen years. 
He was the Democratic candidate for Represen- 
tative in the State Legislatuie at the last election, 
and though defeated, as the county is largely 
Republican, in his own township he received the 
entire vote of his party and nearly one-hall' of 
the whole Republican vote. 

Jacob Barnes was a native of New Haven, 
Connecticut, born in 1785. In 1813 he mar- 
ried Nancy Carroll, who is still living. She was 
born in Surry county, Virginia, in 1790. The 
family moved to Canfield in 1826. There were 
twelve children, eight of whom arrived at ma- 
turity, and seven are still living — Ann (Doud), 
Chicago; Jacob H., Bement, Illinois; Jane 
(Ellett), Alliance, Ohio; Lois (Hine), Leetonia; 
Nancy (Neff), Humboldt, Kansas; Theophilus 
and Sarah, Canfield. Mr. Barnes was a pro- 
nounced anti-slavery man, and his efforts to assist 
the fugitives are of considerable local notoriety. 
He died in 1848. His widow now resides in 
Canfield village. 

T. G. Barnes, son of Jacob and Nancy Barnes, 



was born in Canfield township, August 8, 1828. 
He has always followed farming, and has always 
lived upon the farm where he was born and 
of which he is now the owner, which consists of 
seventy-one acres. He married October 14, 
1857, Miss Alice A. Cowden, the result of which 
union was three children, two sons and one 
daughter — Williard S., Gertrude C, and John 
J., all of whom are living. 

Darius J. Church, of Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in that town in 1825. 
He received a good common school education, 
and afterwards followed general merchandising, 
in which business he was successfully engaged 
for many years. In 1852, two days after the 
election of President Pierce, he was married to 
Miss Electa Morrel, of Orangeville, Wyoming 
county. New York, and by this union is the 
father of two children — Fannie, born July, 1853, 
now the wife of John T. McConnell, a merchant 
of Mineral Ridge, Mahoning county ; and Fred 
Church, of the firm of Church & Coffee, of 
Voungstown, born September, 1854. 

R. J. Crockett, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, was born January 3, 1837. 
He was the second son of James and Sarah 
Crockett, who were the parents of ten children 
who grew up and were married. The subject of 
this sketch came from his native State, Virginia, 
when but two years of age with his parents to 
Ohio, the family settling in Portage county. At 
the outbreak of the rebellion he enlisted in coir.- 
l)any A, P'irst Ohio light artillery, and served 
for four years. He participated in some of the 
severest engagements of the war, Shiloh, Chick- 
amauga, Kenesaw Mountain, Mission Ridge, 
Stone River, etc. He received a wound in the 
arm near the shoulder by a ball from one of the 
enemy in one of the engagements, but the in- 
jury did not prove serious. At the expiration of 
his term of service he returned to his home, 
then m Stark county. He had learned the trade 
of carpenter and joiner, and he now took up that 
business and followed it for a few years. He 
then went to Ellsworth, Mahoning county, and 
was married to Miss Caroline Lour. To them 
have been born three children — Perry J., Frank, 
and Florence E. Mr. Crockett is the owner of 
a finely improved farm, the result of industry 
and economy. James Crockett, his father, was 
a soldier in the War of 18 12. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Lewis Cramer, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, second son of W. F. and Agnes 
C. Cramer, was born in Beaver township, Ma- 
honing county in 1837. His father and mother 
were natives of Germany, born respectively in 
the years 1793 and 1795. They emigrated from 
Germany with their family consisting of four 
daughters and one son and the father of Mr. 
Cramer, in the year 1830. They came to what 
is now Mahoning county and settled in Beaver 
township. He cleared up and improved a farm 
which he occupied until 1855, when he moved to 
Berlin township where he resided until his death, 
i860 or 1861. His wife survived him some 
twelve years. Lewis Cramer, when sixteen years 
of age learned the trade of carpenter and joiner 
and followed it with industry for sixteen years. 
He afterwards became a farmer and still contin- 
ues in that occupation. He was married in 
1867 to Miss Mary Ann Kenreigh and has two 
sons, Noah M. and William F. Mr. Cramer is a 
farmer of thrift and enterprise, as is plainly evi- 
denced by his surroundings. Himself and Mrs. 
Cramer are both members of the Lutheran 
church. 

David Clugston, ot Canfield, Mahoning coun- 
ty, fifth son of Thomas and Mary Clugston, was 
born in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, in De- 
cember, 1829. He was married in 1851 to Miss 
Lavona McKelvey, of Portage county. Mr. 
Clugston is a blacksmith by trade and is asso- 
ciated with Thomas C. Scott, under the firm 
name of Clugston & Scott, in that business in 
Canfield. He is an enterprising citizen, taking 
an active interest in educational matters. Him- 
self and wife are both members of the Disciple 
church at Canfield. 

J. S. Collar, manufacturer of lumber, Canfield 
township, Mahoning county, fourth son of Ira A. 
and Sarah E. Collar, is a native of Mahoning 
county, born in 1S49. At an early age he began 
work in the mill with his father in the manufact- 
ure of lumber, which business he has success- 
fully followed. He was married in 1873 to Miss 
Christina Toot and has two children — Carrie D. 
and Ella May. 

William Y. Comstock, farmer, of Canfield 
township, Mahoning county, was born in Wil- 
liamstown, Berkshire county, Massachusetts, 
January 12, 1816. He came to Portage county, 
Ohio, in 1832. September i, 1842, he married 



Miss Betsey Hine, of Canfield, by whom he has 
three daughters, viz: Chenia W., born March 
21, 1847; Carrie S., born October 26, 1853; 
Mary H., born April 22, 1858. Mr. and Mrs. 
Comstock are members of the Presbyterian 
church of Canfield. They are now residing up- 
on the old Hme homestead. 

Hiram Dean, farmer, of Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, is a native of Connecticut, born 
in the year 1799, and came with his father's 
family to Canfield. He married in 182 1 Miss 
Ruby Mason, by whom he has had seven chil- 
dren, four sons and three daughters: Austin, 
Mason, Priscilla, Benjamin, Mary, William and 
Minerva. Mason and Mary are still living. 
The rest are deceased. Benjamin died at Mur- 
freesboro, Tennessee, during the war of the 
rebellion. Mr. and Mrs. Dean are prominent 
and zealous members of the Disciple church. 

Orvill Edsall, eldest son of Henry Edsall, was 
born on the old homestead, where Amos Swank 
now lives, east of Canfield, December 13, 1825. 
He was married in April, 1852, to Lydia Ritter, 
daughter of Henry Ritter, now eighty-seven years 
of age, and living in Berlin township. For sev- 
eral years after his marriage Mr. Edsall resided 
in Canfield, where he kept a grocery and pro- 
vision store for some time, and then moved to 
the farm where he now lives. Mr. Edsall has a 
family of one daughter and two sons, viz : Julia, 
Charles H., and Edwin. One child is deceased 
— Hiram, who died in infancy. Julia married 
Charles Wetmore, and has one child, Frank. 

Benjamin L. Hine, fourth son of David and 
Achsah Hine, was born upon the old homestead 
in Canfield township, December 17, 1814. He 
assisted his father in carrying on the farm until 
twenty years of age, when he went to take care 
of his uncle Justus Sackett's farm, which he 
superintended for seven years while his uncle 
was absent dealing in stock. He then returned 
to his father's home near Canfield, and took 
charge of the old farm for three years. He then 
purchased sixty acres near by, and as he pros- 
pered added to his original purchase, the farm 
containing one hundred and forty-two acres at the 
time of his death. He married Miss Silia W. 
Comstock October 5, 1841, and had one son 
and one daughter, Henry M. and Lucy K. He 
died October 20, 1872. His widow still survives 
and lives with her son Henry, who owns the old 



52 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



farm. He was born October 17, 1843; married 
January i, 1866, Miss Clara Williams, and has 
two children — Charles H. and Frances Irene, 
two having died in infancy. Lucy married, Jan- 
uary 3, 1870, Henry Cozad, by whom she had 
one child. Her husband lived but two years, and 
she subsequently married again and now resides 
in Akron, Ohio. 

William Hine, the youngest child of David 
and Achsah Hine, was born upon the old Hine 
homestead in Canfield township, January 9, 1828. 
He married, September 30, 185 1, Miss Mary A. 
McClelland, which union has been childless. 
From boyhood Mr. Hine has been engaged in 
agricultural pursuits and is now situated upon 
finely improved farm in Canfield. He is a rep- 
resentative of a pioneer and respected family. 
He and his wife are members of the Presbyterian 
church of Canfield. 

Horace Hunt, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, eldest son of Ezra Hunt, was 
born in Boardman township, that county, in 
1805. Ezra Hunt came from Milford, Connec- 
ticut, about the beginning of the present century 
to Boardman township in company with Elijah 
Boardman, for whom the township was named. 
Mr. Hunt purchased a lot of Boardman on 
which he built a log cabin. About the year 1804 
he married Miss Dema Sprague, daughter of an 
early settler. They encountered the various 
hardships and privations incident to pioneer life, 
and now sleep in the burying ground at Canfield. 
They had a family of five sons and one daugh- 
ter as follow : Horace, Charles, Emeline, Or- 
vill, Richard, and Harmon. Orvill, Richard, and 
Emeline are dead. Richard died while in the 
army, at Nashville, Tennessee, during the war of 
the Rebellion. Horace remained on the farm 
with his father until twenty-five years of age, and 
also worked at the trade of carpenter and joiner. 
As early as sixteen he began teaching school. 
In 1833 he married Miss G. Ruggles, and has 
had five sons and one daughter — Cornelius C, 
Alfred A., Chauncey M., Alice M., Azor R., and 
Henry M. Alfred and Chauncey enlisted in the 
army in the war of 1861-65. Alfred fell in bat- 
tle at Atlanta, Georgia, and lies buried in a 
Southern grave. Chauncey returned to his home 
at the close of the war in a shattered physical 
condition, but with careful nursing by a kind 
mother finally recovered. He now resides in 



Warren, Ohio, and is manager of the Kinsman 
Machine works. Horace Hunt is still residing 
on his first purchase. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Episcopal church of Can- 
field. 

Eli Harding, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, is the fifth child and third son of 
John and Elizabeth Harding, of the preceding 
sketch, and was born on the old homestead, 
near Canfield, December 20, 1821. He was 
raised upon the farm and remained with his 
father until he was twenty-five years of age. In 
1849 he married Miss Rosa Yager, whose parents 
were early settlers in Mahoning county. They 
have a family consisting of one son and three 
daughters, all of whom are living, namely: Betty, 
John A., Julia A., and Charlotte. Mr. Harding 
is an enterprising citizen and prosperous farmer. 

George E. Harding, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, was born September i, 1819. 
He is a representative of a family who were among 
the earliest settlers of that township. His grand- 
father, John Harding, came to the township with 
his family as early as 1805 or 1807, and settled 
on the farm now occupied by the subject of this 
sketch. He died in his seventy-ninth year, after 
a long life of toil and usefulness, his wife surviv- 
ing him some years. After their death the home- 
stead was bought by John, the second son, who 
was born in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, in the 
year 1787. He came to Ohio with his parents. 
At the age of twenty-four he married Miss Eliza- 
beth Crumrine. He had a family of five sons 
and three daughters, viz: Mary Ann, Elizabeth, 
John A., George E., Eli, Peter, Lucy Ann, and 
Jacob. Elizabeth, John A., and Jacob are de- 
ceased. John was killed by a hay fork striking 
him upon the head while unloading hay. The 
father and mother are both deceased. Mr. 
Harding survived his wife nine or ten years. 
They were good citizens, earnest Christians, and 
useful members of society. George E. Harding, 
the fourth child and second son, as before stated, 
occupies the homestead which for so many years 
has been in possession of the family, and is one 
of the enterprising farmers of the community. 
He married, in 1850, Miss Elizabeth Lynn, and 
has a family of six daughters and one son, viz: 
Emma E., Fannie Alice, Melissa S., Anna S., 
Ida, Celia, and George L. One daughter (Mary 
Ellen) is dead. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



S3 



Peter Harding, youngest son of John and 
Elizabeth Harding, was born on the old Harding 
homestead, nearCanfield, October i8, 1824. He 
assisted his father in carrying on the farm until 
twenty-five years of age. Three years later he 
purchased sixty acres adjoining the old farm, 
and when thirty years of age he married Miss 
Amanda Diehl. They have four children as fol- 
low : Mary E., Willie G., Clara B., and Frankie 
I. Mary E. is the wife of J. A. Ebert, a farmer 
of Ellsworth township, and has one son and 
two daughters, Flora B., Scott Wilson, and Lizzie 
E. Mr. Harding is among the substantial and 
enterprising farmers of his township. 

Jonathan Kline was born in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1796 or 1797. His 
father was Abraham Kline, who came to Ohio in 
the early settlement of the county and located 
where the city of Youngstown now stands. Here 
he reared his family, consisting of three sons 
and three daughters. He was an active man 
and a large property-holder, dealing largely in 
stock, in which he was very successful. He 
was born in Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1769, and died December i, 1816, at 
the age of forty-seven. Jonathan Kline at the 
age of twenty-five was married to Elizabeth, 
daughter of Philip Arner, havmg settled two 
years before upon a portion of his father's estate 
in Canfield township. He followed in the foot- 
steps of his father, supermtending his large estate, 
consisting of one thousand acres, and also dealt 
largely in stock. He was the fatlier of five sons, 
viz : Solomon, Gabriel, Peter, Caleb, and 
Heman ; all living but Caleb who died at the 
age of four years. Mr. Kline died in 187 1, leav- 
ing a family of four sons and a widow, and 
numerous friends to mourn his loss. His widow 
is still living on the old place in Canfield. Peter 
Kline was born August 25, 1830, and in 1853 
married Hannah Beard. The fruit of this union 
was one son, Jonathan Allen. Mr. Kline, like 
his father and grandfather, turned his attention 
to farming and stock raising and is the owner of 
one of the best improved farms in his township. 
Heman Kline, the youngest son of Jonathan and 
Elizabeth Kline, was born in 1844, and at the 
age of nineteen married Miss Martha Folk, and 
settled in Berlin township on the farm where he 
now lives. He has three children, Charles H., 
Warren C, and Ida May. 



John Kirk, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, son of John and Ann Kirk, was 
born in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, May 15, 1827. 
He came with his parents to Jefferson county, 
Ohio, in the year 1829. His father having died 
he remained with his mother until the twenty- 
third year of his age, when he married Miss 
Mary Pow, whose parents were early settlers in 
Mahoning county, owning the farm now owned 
by the subject of this sketch. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Kirk have been born three daughters — Elizabeth, 
Jane, and Barbara. Jane is the wife of M. S. 
Frederick. Mr. Kirk has given a good deal of 
attention to the raising of stock, and is the 
owner of a well-improved and good farm. Mrs. 
Kirk is a member of the Disciple church. 

George D. Messerly, oldest child of John and 
Susannah Messerly, was born in Beaver town- 
ship, now Mahoning county, in 1836, on the old 
Messerly homestead. He remained at home 
assisting his father upon the farm until his mar- 
riage in 1861. He married Miss Mary Ann 
Miller, and has one daughter and two sons — 
Hattie E., Joseph, and Charlie A.; Joseph died 
in infancy. Mr. Messerly is a thrifty and pros- 
perous farmer, owning two hundred and forty- 
eight acres in the eastern part of Canfield 
township. He and his wife are both members 
of Paradise Reformed church, in Beaver town- 
ship. 

John C. Miller, manufacturer of lumber, Can- 
field township, Mahoning county, was born in 
that county in 1S47. He remained upon the 
farm with his father until his marriage in 1869. 
His wife was Sarah E. Collar, by whom he has 
one child, RoUis R. In 1877 Mr. Miller and 
J. S. Collar formed a co-partnership for the 
manufacture of lumber, under the name of Mil- 
•ler & Collar. Their saw-mill is situated about 
two and a half miles south of Canfield. 

Henry M. Meeker, carpenter and joiner, Can- 
field, Mahoning county, was born March 3, 
1837. His father, Marion Meeker, was born in 
Connecticut in 1806; came to Mahoning county, 
then Trumbull, Ohio, in 1822. During his life- 
time he was engaged in various pursuits; first a 
farmer and stock dealer and later proprietor of 
the American hotel, of Canfield, or more com- 
monly known as the Meeker house. This he 
conducted until his death in 1865. His wife, 
whose maiden name was Cynthia D. Cleland, 



54 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



survived him several y^ars, dying in March, 
1872. They had a family of nine children, six 
sons and three daughters — Mary A., Anthony 
Wayne, Henry M., Marion, William C, Louis 
M., Maria H., Ora J., and Winfield Scott. 
William C. and Winfield are deceased. Henry 
Meeker, the subject of this sketch, is the only 
one of the family now residing in Mahoning 
county. At the age of seventeen he learned 
his trade, which he has since followed. He 
enlisted early in the war of the Rebellion 
in the Second Ohio volunteer cavalry, but 
became disabled, and was discharged after a 
service of a year and a half. Returning to Can- 
field he married, in 1867, Miss Jennie Slaugh. 
To them was born one daughter, Minnie E. 
Mrs. M. is a member of the Disciple church. 

John K. Misner, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Berlin township, 
said county, in 1836. His father, George Mis- 
ner, is a native of Pennsylvania, whre he was 
born in 1813. He came to Mahoning county 
with his parents, Benjamin and Mary, about the 
year 1820, and settled in Berlm township. He 
married before reaching his majority. Miss Han- 
nah Swartz, and raised a family of ten children 
— four sons and six daughters, as follow: Har- 
riet, Zimri, John K., Lucy M., Prances, Isabella, 
George, Hannah, Jane, and James. One daugh- 
ter, Lucinda, is deceased, dying in infancy. In 
1837 the father removed with his family to 
Trumbull county, subsequently removed to Indi- 
ana, where he lived several years, then returned 
to Trumbull county, and at present resides in 
Southington township in that county. John K. 
Misner was married February i, i860, to Miss 
Lystra A. Beeman, and has a family of two sons 
and two daughters — C. E., Etta A., Charlie J., 
and ("elia. Mr. Misner is one of the enterpris- 
ing farmers of his township, owning one of the 
best improved farms, his farm containing one 
hundred and ninety acres, and situated two miles 
northwest of Canfield village. 

Conrad Neff, with his wife and family of six 
children, emigrated from Berks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, to the then far distant West m 1802, and 
settled in Canfield township, then Trumbull 
county. Mr. Neff was among the earliest of 
that noble band of pioneers who invaded the 
wilderness of Canfield, and after untold hard- 
shijjs and privations made it to " blossom as the 



rose." Mr. Neff began with but little besides 
his own strong hands, and a determination to 
conquer the obstacles that lay in the way to suc- 
cess. He was a hard-working and industrious 
man, and succeeded in acquiring a good prop- 
erty. He died at an advanced age, his wife 
surviving him but a few years. The estate after- 
ward came into the possession of John and 
Conrad, his sons. 

John Neff was born in 1797, and came with 
his father's family to Ohio, and always afterward 
resided upon the Neff homestead. At the age 
of twenty-four he married Elizabeth Kline, a 
representative of an early family in the township. 
To them were born five children — four sons and 
a daughter, as follows: Eli, Mary, Edward, Mar- 
tin, and John. John, our subject, was an active 
and prosperous farmer, and dealt largely in live 
stock, principally in the buying and selling of 
cattle, in which he was very successful. He 
died in the spring of 1861, one week previous to 
the breaking out of the rebellion, He left sur- 
viving him a family of three children, and his 
wife, who died sixteen years later. They are 
buried in the cemetery at Canfield. 

Martin Neff, son of John and Elizabeth Neff, 
was born on the old homestead March 24, 1828. 
His occupation through life has been that of 
farmer, having given considerable attention to 
stock-raising and the buying and selling of stock. 
April 5, 1848, he was married to Miss Catharine 
Wilson, the result of which union was five chil- 
dren, namely: John E., Caroline, Elizabeth J., 
Mary A., and Lewis, all living but Elizabeth. 
Mr. Neff is the owner of his father's old home, 
and is pleasantly situated on one of the best im- 
proved farms in that locality. He is one of the 
most substantial and respected citizens of his 
township. 

John E. Neff, the oldest child of Martin Neff, 
was born on the old home farm February 24, 
1849. March 31, 1870, he married Miss Harriet 
Louisa Sanzenbacher, and has a family of four 
sons and one daughter, as follows: Sadie, Ensign, 
ALartin, Calvin, and ('yrus. Mr. Neff owns a fine 
farm of one hundred and twenty-five acres near 
Canfield, and is one of the most enterprising 
and pro.sperous young farmers of the township, 
giving considerable attention to the buying and 
selling of stock. He and his wife are members 
of the Methodist I'^piscopal church in Canfield. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



55 



Azor Ruggles, one of the early settlers of Can- 
field township, was born and brought up in 
Brookfield, Litchfield county, Connecticut, the 
date of his birth being May, 1769. He was a 
millwright and in 1810 came to Ohio on horse- 
back for the purpose of doing some work for 
Judge Canfield. After remaining a year he re- 
turned to Connecticut and in 1813 brought out 
his family, consistmg of his wife and six chil- 
dren. The journey was made with two wagons 
and teams and consumed one month. The 
oldest daughter drove one of the wagons. Mr. 
Ruggles first located on the farm where John 
Sanzenbacher now lives, remained one year and 
a half and settled permanently about two miles 
south of Canfield, where he died December 10, 
1843. He was twice married. His first wife 
was Mary Peck, whom he married in Connecti- 
cut, and by whom he had six children, viz: Alice, 
Harriet, Julia, Charles, Galetsy, and Hepsey. 
Of these three are living, Charles, Galetsy (now 
Mrs. Horace Hunt), and Hepsey, who is un- 
married and occupies the old homestead. His 
first wife died in 1828 and in 1832 he married 
Miss C. M. A. Mitchell, by whom he had two 
children, Robert M. and Mary Helen, now Mrs. 
James Mackey, of Youngstown. His second 
wife survived him and she afterwards became the 
wife of Dr. Manning, of Youngstown. Miss 
Hepsey Ruggles who is now seventy-one years 
of age, has in her possession a couple of pillow 
cases made by her mother before her marriage, 
in 1790, and a picture frame made of the rim 
of the wheel on which the material used m the 
making of the pillow-cases was spun ; also a 
rocking chair in which her mother rode all the 
way from Connecticut when the family moved 
to Ohio. 

Jacob Resch, tanner, Canfield, Mahoning 
county, only son ol John and Catharine Resch, 
is a native of Ciermany, born December 26, 
1835. I'l '852, at the age of seventeen, he 
started out to seek his fortuns and sailed for 
America. He learned the tanner's trade, and 
soon after his arrival in this country commenced 
business at Newton Falls, where he remained for 
a short time, when he removed to Berlin Center 
where he carried on the business for ten years. 
He settled in Canfield in 1870 and has since 
been engaged in the manufacture of leather. 
He married, in 1857, Miss Mary Goeppinger, 



and has a family of nine children, named as 
follows : John, Charles, Frank, Albert, F'red, 
Mary, Laura, Louisa, and Lilly. Mr. Resch has 
a leather and finding store in Youngstown. He 
is a member of the Lutheran church, as is also 
his wife. 

Jacob F. Stambaugh, coal dealer, Canfield, 
Mahoning county, second son of William and 
Sarah Stambaugh, was born in Liberty town- 
ship, Trumbull county, Ohio, February 3, 1845. 
He assisted his father upon the farm until fifteen 
years of age, and at the age of eighteen he en- 
listed in company B, One Hundred and Fifty- • 
fifth regiment, one hundred day service, in the 
late war. After the expiration of his service he 
returned to Youngstown, Ohio, and until thirty 
years of age was engaged in various pursuits. 
In i87i; he was united in marriage to Miss 
Elizabeth Milliken, and has had two children, 
Frederick and Roy. In 1880 Mr. Stambaugh 
went to Canfield, and the same year engaged 
with others in mining in Green township, Ma- 
honing county. The parents of Mr. Stambaugh 
were early settlers in Trumbull county. 

Mathias Swank (deceased) was born in Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, in the year 1812. Soon 
after attaining his majority he married Margaret 
Strone, by whom he had three children, one son 
and two daughters : Hannah, Mary Etta, and 
Emery. His wife died January 8, 1867, and he 
afterwards married Miss J. E. Wetmore. There 
were no children by this marriage. Mr. Swank's 
business was principally that of carriage manu- 
facturing, which he carried on successfully for a 
period of nearly forty years, settling in Canfield 
in 1835. He died July i, 1881, leaving a de- 
voted wife and many friends to mourn his loss. 
He was an active, enterprising business man, a 
good neighbor and citizen. His remains were 
interred in the cemetery in Canfield. Mrs. 
Swank still lives at the old home in Canfield. 

Thomas C. Scott, blacksmith, Canfield, Ma- 
honing county, second son of Hiram B. and 
Elizabeth Scott, was born in Stark county, Ohio, 
September 24, 1845. At the age of twenty-three 
he went as an apprentice to learn the trade 
which he now follows, with David Clugston, and 
subsequently entered into partnership with him, 
and the firm is now known as Clugston & Scott. 
He married, in 1872, Miss Mary C. Parshall, 
and has three children — Charles William, Er. 



56 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



nest David, and Sophia Elizabeth. Mr. Scott 
was in the hundred-day service in the war of the 
Rebellion. He and his wife are members of the 
Disciple church of Canfield. 

Julius Tanner, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, eldest son of Edmund P. and 
Fannie Tanner, is a native of the township in 
which he resides, having been born October 6, 
1818, on the farm which he now occupies — the 
Tanner homestead. He has been twice married. 
His first wife was Mary Wadsworth, daughter of 
one of the earliest pioneers of the township. By 
this marriage there were four children, three 
sons and one daughter, named as follows: Ed- 
ward W., Henry W., Henry A., and Mary I. All 
are living except Henry W. The mother died 
in 1855, and Mr. Tanner subsequently married 
Mrs. Fidelia Sackett, widow of Ward Sackett. 
By hi? second wife he has three children — Fan- 
nie C, Edwin P., and Horace B. Fannie is de- 
ceased. Mr. Tanner is one of the substantial 
and esteemed citizens of his township. He and 
his wife are members of the Congregational 
church of Canfield. 

Ira M. Twiss, superintendent county infirmary, 
Canfield township, Mahoning county, was born 
in that county, Poland township, October 7, 1837. 
His father, John Twiss, with his wife and one 
child, emigrated about the year 1S20 from Con- 
necticut to Ohio and settled in w^hat is now Ma- 
honing county, Boardman township. There he 
reared a family of five sons and three daughteis, 
viz: Frederick, Mary, Seymour, Minerva, Sam- 
uel, Sarah, Ira, and Titus. Three of the chil- 
dren are deceased, to wit : Frederick, Minerva, 
and Sarah. Only two of the children are now 
living in Mahoning county, viz: Titus, of Board- 
man, and Ira, of Canfield. Mr. Twiss, the sub- 
ject of this sketch, had followed agricultural pur- 
suits until his appointment as superintendent of 
the county infirmary in the spring of 1878. This 
institution is pleasantly situated about two mile' 
northwest of Canfield, the farm containing two 
hundred and thirty acres of land, with good 
buildings. Soon after attaining his majority our 
subject was married to Almira Osborn. The re- 
sult of this union is one son — Curtis W. 

John Williams (deceased), a native of Penn- 
sylvania, emigrated with his family from Bedford 
county in wagons to Ohio about the year 1820. 
He came to Mahoning county and settled in 



Canfield on what is commonly known as the At- 
vvood place. Here he lived and reared a family 
of two sons and three daughters named as fol- 
lows: James, Betsey (Scott), Banner, Nancy 
(Dean), and Rachael (Porter). Mr. Williams 
was an industrious and hard-working man, and 
was in the War of 1812. He died at his home 
in Canfield at the age of si.xty-five. His wife 
survived him four years. 

Banner Williams, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, second son of John Williams, 
was born in Pennsylvania in 1813 and removed 
to Ohio with his parents. He was united in 
marriage in 1841 to Miss Clarissa Lew, who died 
two years afterward. He married for his second 
wife Miss Margaret McDonald, by whom he has 
had four daughters and one son, viz: Clarissa, 
James, Mariette and Mary Ellen (twins), and 
Flora. Mariette is deceased. She was the wife 
of James Van Horn and left three children. Mr. 
Williams has always been engaged in farming 
and stock raising, and has given special attention 
to the growing of wool. Mrs. \Villiams is a 
member of the Disciple church. 

Azariah Wetmore (deceased), one of the 
earliest pioneers m Canfield township, Mahoning 
county, came from Connecticut in 1801. He 
was then single, and came out with the Wads- 
worths, driving an ox team, ihe second team of 
oxen brought into that locality. He made his 
home with the Wadsvvorths and helped to clear 
the same fall some four acres where the village 
of Canfield now stands. In a few months he 
returned to Connecticut, but came back the 
next year. He afterwards purchased one hun- 
dred and twenty-five acres of land south of 
the present village of Canfield, where his son 
George now lives. He married in 1806 Miss 
Balinda Sprague, and had a family of three sons 
and five daughters, as follows: Caroline, Har- 
riet, Cornelia, Sarah, Betsey, ^Villianl, Henry, 
and George. 

William Wetmore, farmer, Canfield township, 
Mahoning county, eldest son of the subject of 
the preceding sketch, was born in 1816. At the 
age of twenty-two he married Miss Susan Ed- 
wards, daughter of an early and prominent 
family, and has had three children — Walden, 
Luther E., and Henry P. Walden is deceased. 
Mr. Wetmore is an industrious, intelligent, and 
inlluential citizen. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



57 



Thomas J. Wise, coal operator, Canfield, Ma- 
honing county, second son of John and Mary 
Wise, was born in Mahoning county, February 
8, 1849. He remained on the farm of his 
father until sixteen years of age, when he be- 
came a clerk in a store. In the fall of 1880 he 
engaged in operating in coal, the mine being 
situated in Green township, Mahoning county. 
The mine is one of the most promising in that 
locality, and preparations are being made to work 
it extensively. Mr. Wise was married in 1872 
to Miss Jennie R. Thorn, of Allegheny City, 
Pennsylvania. They have only one son, 
James T. 

Eli Yager, farmer, Canfield township, Ma- 
honing county, was born on the farm where he 
now lives, in 1832. The Yager family were 
among the earliest in that neighborhood. Henry 
Yager came with his family from Pennsylvania 
to Canfield township, now Mahoning county, in 
1800 or 1801, and resided there until his death. 
His wife survived him about ten years. After their 
death the homestead was bought by Daniel, the 
third son. He was born on the farm now owned 
and occupied by his son Eli, whose name heads 
this sketch, in 181 1. He married Elizabeth 
Carr, by whom he had three children — Eli, 
Edwin, and Mary. Edwin is deceased. The 
mother died in 187 1. Eli Yager has always 
lived on the farm which he now occupies, a 
period of nearly half a century. He was mar- 
ried in 1865 to Miss Rebecca Corll, and now 
has two children — Eda P.' and Irvin C. Mr. 
Yager is an industrious and prosperous farmer, 
his farm being one of the most highly cultivated 
and improved in the neighborhood. He and 
his wife are both members of the Reformed 
church. 



CHAPTER IL 

POI>AND. 
GENERAL DESCRIPTION. 

This township is the southeastern town- 
ship of the Western Reserve, and is therefore 
township one of range one of the Reserve. It 
is bounded on the north by Coitsville, on the 
east by Pennsylvania, on the south by Spring- 



field, and on the west by Boardman. It was 
settled almost as early as any part of the county, 
and by the year 18 10 contained quite a large 
population which came principally from Pennsyl- 
vania. 

The surface is quite uneven, especially in the 
northern half, which is cut by the deep and nar- 
row valleys of the Mahoning and the Yellow 
creek. The Mahoning flows in a southeasterly 
direction through the northeastern part of the 
township, entering at Struthers, and passing out 
into Pennsylvania about one-half mile north of 
the center road. Yellow creek winds its sinuous 
course through Poland village, and flowing 
northeast enters the Mahoning at Struthers. 

There are many coal deposits, some of them 
of superior quality. Iron ore is found in con- 
siderable quantities on Yellow creek and else- 
where, and the very best of limestone in the 
vicinity of Lowellville. All of the land was 
heavily wooded originally. The youth of the 
present day would doubtless shrink in dismay 
from the task, if told that such forests must be 
extirpated before they could have homes and 
farms of their own. 

The soil is deep and fertile, and many excel- 
lent farms are included in the township. The 
farming community appears to be industrious, 
well contented and prosperous. The other in- 
dustries furnish abundance of work for all the 
laborers, and the general prosperity of Poland 
township is fast increasing. By the last census 
the population, including the villages, was 2,513. 

SETTLEMENT. 

Unlike many of the townships Poland was 
colonized by quite a large number during the 
first two or three years of its history. The first 
arrival was Turhand Kirtland, of Wallingford, 
Connecticut, afterwards known as Judge Kirt- 
land, one of the foremost citizens. He came to 
the Reserve in 1798, and arrived within the pres- 
ent limits of Poland township, accompanied by 
Esquire Law and six other men, on the first 
day of August. He acted in the capacity of 
agent for the Connecticut Land company. Dur- 
ing that year he surveyed the townships in the 
Reserve now known as Burton and Poland, and 
also assisted Judge Young in surveying Youngs- 
town, returning to Connecticut to pass the 
winter. In May, 1799, he was again in Youngs- 



58 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



town, stopping with Robert Stevens. He also 
s[)ent the summer of 1800 upon the Reserve. 

A few years later Mr. Kirtland and his brother 
Jared brought their families to Poland and took 
up their abode in the village. Turhand Kirtland 
was State Senator in 18 14, and also served as 
associate judge. He was long and favorably 
known as an active business man and a public- 
spirited citizen. Through his dealings in his 
office of land agent he became acquainted with 
a large number of the pioneers, all ot whom bore 
witness to his popularity and influence. His son, 
Dr. Jared P. Kirtland, was likewise an honored 
citizen during his residence in the county. He 
served as Representative three years. 

Judge Kirtland kept a diary of events during 
the earliest years of his settlement, which has 
been furnislied for our use by Hon. C. F. Kirt- 
land, of Poland, and from it many of the early 
incidents in this history are taken. 

Jonathan Fowler, of Guilford, Connecticut, 
was the first white settler in the township. Mrs. 
Fowler was a sister of Judge Kirtland. They 
came from Connecticut to Pittsburg by land con- 
veyance, thence by water down the Ohio, and 
up the Big Beaver and Mahoning rivers in a 
canoe. The family, consisting of Mr. Fowler, 
his wife, and an infant daughter, arrived in 
Youngstown in the latter part of May, 1799. 
Judge Kirtland was then stopping there, and 
took them to Poland in his wagon. They all 
lodged for the night by the side of a fire, with 
no shelter save the open sky and a big oak tree, 
on a spot a few rods west of Yellow creek on 
the lot afterwards owned by Dr. Truesdale. Let 
the mothers of the piesent day try to picture to 
themselves this scene: A deep and lonely forest, 
the abode of wild beasts and lurking savages ; 
the silence of midnight broken only by the 
crackling of the camp-fire, the rustle of the 
leaves in the breeze, and the faint sound of the 
flowing stream. In this lonely spot is a woman 
with her babe in her arms, and two men and their 
rifles are her only protectors! Without a roof 
above their heads, with no human beings within 
miles of them, unless perchance some wandering 
Indians, we cannot imagine that this party passed 
the night without gloomy thoughts and forebod 
ings, and speculations as to what might occur. 
I'he fortitude of Mrs. Fowler demands our ad- 
miration, and deserves to be remembered by 



coming generations. Shortly after their ai rival 
a cabin was erected from logs previously made 
ready by Esquire Law, and into this the family 
moved and made it their home. Their daughter, 
Rachel B. Fowler, who married Thomas Riley 
in 1820, was born February 16, 1800, the first 
white child born in the township. Jonathan 
Fowler was drowned in the Big Beaver April 12, 
1806, while engaged in boating merchandise up- 
on the river. He was the father of Dr. Chauncy 
Fowler, of Canfield, and the grandfather of Dr. 
C. N. Fowler, of Youngstown. 

John Struthers, from Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, bought four hundred acres of land 
and a mill site on Yellow creek, near its mouth, 
August 30, 1799, negotiating with Judge Kirt- 
land for the same. On the 19th of October, in 
the same year, Mr. Struthers and his family ar- 
rived and settled upon this purchase, now the 
site of tht! flourishing little village called by his 
name. Here, in August, 1800, Ebenezer Struth- 
ers was born, the first white male child born in 
the township. Alexander Struthers, a lieuten- 
ant in the War of 1812, died in the service of 
his country at Detroit, in the latter part of the 
year 18 13. Hon. Thomas Struthers, of War- 
ren, Pennsylvania, well known in this vicinity, 
was born at the home of his father, John 
Struthers, in 1803, and is now the only surviv- 
ing member of the family. His brother John, 
who lived upon a farm adjacent to the old home- 
stead, died a short time ago. 

For a few years alter the coming of these 
pioneers the land was taken up very rapidly. 
The most of the settlers came from Washington 
and Franklin counties, Pennsylvania, and from 
that vicinity. Forests were cleared away, log 
cabins were erected in various parts of the town- 
ship, and initiatory farming operations were be- 
gun upon the farms which are now as rich and 
productive as any in the county. 

From the most reliable information that is now 
attainable, the following facts regarding early 
families have been gathered. The account is 
not so complete as the writer would have been 
glad to make it, but every precaution has been 
taken to have it as full and authentic as possible. 
At tiiis late date many of the early families have 
no living representatives here, and there is con- 
sequently much uncertainty regarding the exact 
dates of their coming: 



i 



i 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



59 



In 1800 John Arrel purchased land in ihe 
township and settled where his son Walter S. 
Arrel now resides. A complete family record is 
given elsewhere in this work. 

John McGill came from Pennsylvania the 
same year and bought two hundred acres where 
the village of Lowellville now stands. He lived 
and died upon the farm. His sons were: James, 
Joseph, Fenton, Robert, John, and William. 
There were also several daughters. John and 
Robert died some years ago at Lowellville, and 
probably none of the original family are now 
living. 

John Miller, from Franklin county, Pennsyl- 
vania, bought two hundred acres in lot fifty- 
seven near the east or Pennsylvania line. He 
probably located here as early as 1800. He 
married in the township and brought up one son 
and two daughters. His son Isaac still lives in 
the township. 

About 1800 Stephen Frazier settled on the 
west line of the township near the Stambaugh 
farm. 

In 1800 or 1801 William Buck and family set- 
tled in the same neighborhood. 

James Adair, from Washington county, Penn- 
sylvania, settled on lot twenty-four, and later 
took up a farm near the river. Among his chil- 
dren were William, Alexander, and James, for 
many years residents of the township. 

John Dickson settled in the township in 1801. 
His sons now occupy the old farm. 

Rev. James Duncan was an early settler on 
the north side of the Mahoning, adjoining the 
State line. He was the first pastor of the 
church at the center and also preached on Mc- 
Bride's hill, in Pennsylvania. 

Thomas and John Jordan with their families 
settled on the Youngstown road, in the western 
part of the township about 1800. Later they 
sold out and moved away. 

Samuel Lowdcn was an early settler on the 
north side of the Mahoning. He lived and 
died a single man. There was some mystery 
surrounding his departure from earth and by 
some he was supposed to have been murdered. 

Rev. Nicholas Pettinger came into the town- 
ship and settled in 1801. He was the first 
pastor of the Presbyterian church. 

Francis Heniy settled on the Yellow creek 
below Poland village in 1801 or 1802. Among 



his cliildren were William, James, John, and 
Francis. William settled in the township and 
remained for a short time. James removed to 
Austintown. Francis lived upon the old place 
until he was an aged man. 

Robert Smith, from Franklin county, Penn- 
sylvania, settled on the south line of the town- 
ship in 1802. The family consisted of six 
sons and four daughters. James, Robert, John, 
Stewart, Joseph, and Samuel were the sons. 
The two last named still live in the township. 

Benjamin Leach settled west of Yellow creek 
about 1802. A few years later he sold to 
Arthur Anderson. 

Patrick McKeever was an early settler on the 
north side of the Mahoning, and passed his life 
in the township. His farm adjoined that of 
Samuel Lowden. 

The widow Cowden and her sons, Joseph, 
William, Reynolds, and Dr. Isaac P. Cowden, 
were among the early settlers. William located 
in the southern part of the township, and Rey- 
nolds settled near him. Dr. Cowden settled on. 
the place where his son Samuel now resides. He 
was the first settled physician in the township, 
and had'a large practice in this vicinity. He 
died in 1855 '" ^is eightieth year. He rode 
day and night over miles and miles of bad roads 
in early times. He was honored and respected 
by old and young. 

Francis Barclay, from Franklin county, Penn- 
sylvania, settled one and one-half miles southeast 
of the center in 1802, and afterwards moved to 
the Pennsylvania line. He married Elizabeth 
Wilson, and brought up a large family. Ten sons 
and three daughters arrived at maturity. Alex- 
ander IS the only one of these children now liv- 
ing in the township. James was for many years 
a resident of Poland village. He died in March, 

1875- 

William McCombs, a native of Washington 
county, Pennsylvania, settled in 1802 on the 
farm where his son William M. now lives. He 
died in 1854, leaving a wife and nine children. 

Peter Shoaf settled in the southeast part of 
the township, on the Pennsylvania line, at an 
early day. Thomas Love came about 1802. 
His son William, the only surviving soldier of 
the War of 181 2 in this township, is still a resi- 
dent here. 

Robert Lowry, a native of Ireland, and his 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



sons, Robert, William, and Johnston, settled in 
the township in 1802. William died in 1827. 
His son, J. J. Lovvry,'now occupies the old farm. 

James Russel and family, from Pennsylvania, 
were early settlers. Mr. Russel located one mile 
south of Poland Center. He had three sons — 
Robert, John, and Joseph — and two daughters, 
all of whom lived and died in the township, ex- 
cepting Robert and Joseph, who died in the 
West. Major John' Russel was]"a well known 
citizen. 

Thomas McCuUough settled in the township 
in 1803, and brought up a family, which is still 
well represented in the'township. 

William Guthrie, from Franklin county, Penn- 
sylvania, purchased in 1800 the farm of two 
hundred acxes on which he settled in 1804. He 
brought up two sons and two daughters. The 
sons, James S. and John, are still living, the 
former eighty-one years old and the latter sev- 
enty-three. William Guthrie died in 1848, and 
his wife in 1849. 

Ludwig Ripple located on the east side of 
Yellow creek at an early date. He died on the 
place, and after his death the family, which was 
(juite large, scattered. 

James Stewart and family, from Franklin 
county, Pennsylvania, settled near Struthers. 
His son John lived and died upon the place. 

Gilbert Buchanan came about 1803 with his 
sons, Walter, Isaac, and James, and settled on 
the southeast center lot. Isaac and James lived 
with their father. Isaac never married. James 
married but had"no family. Walter settled just 
west of Lowellville and brought up a large family, 
which moved away after his death. 

John Hineman and his sons, John and Sam- 
uel, were~early settlers on the south side of the 
river, but did not long remain. 

The name Truesdale is well known in this 
county. The progenitor of the Ohio branch of 
this family was John Truesdale, of Scotch-Irish 
blood, born in Ireland in 1745. He came to 
America with his father, John, in 1771; was a 
revolutionary soldier; married Hannah Robinson 
and settled in what is now Perry county, Penn- 
sylvania; removed thence to Washington county, 
in the same State; and in 1804 to Poland town- 
ship, settling on a farm between the village and 
the center. Here the family resided nine years, 
and then moved to a farm about a mile south- 



west of the center of Austintown. John Trues- 
dale died in 18 19 aged seventy-four; Mrs. Trues- 
dale in 1849. Their children were John, James, 
Jane, Mary, Hugh, William, Nancy, Alexander, 
Samuel, Margaret, Robinson, and Joseph. Nancy 
and Samuel died young. Ten grew to maturity. 
Mary married but died without issue. John and 
James were twins and were born in 1782. Soon 
after coming to Poland, John married Mary 
Reed, and settled for life in Austintown. With 
three other brothers he served in the War of 
1812. Both he and his wife died in 1825. 
Their children were: James, William, Mary, 
John, and Jackson. William, a successful bus- 
iness man of Peoria, Illinois, died in 1881. 
James settled in Canfield. He married Orpha 
Parker, of Kinsman, now Mrs. Elijah Bond. 
He died in 1845. John died in Hartford, 
Trumbull county, in 1849. Jackson is a well- 
known citizen of Canfield. James, the second 
son of John Truesdale, married three times. 
The name of his first wife is forgotten. His 
second was Jane Buchanan, of Poland, and his 
third Susan Jordan, of Austintown, where he 
passed the greater portion of his life. By his 
first marriage he had three sons, William, John, 
and James. By his third, a daughter, Mary. 
William and James are dead. John lives in I 
Wisconsin and Mary (Clemens) in Liberty,' 
Trumbull county. James, the father, died in 
1862, in his eighty-first year. Jane, the third 
child of the original family, remained single and 
died in Ellsworth in 185 1, aged sixty-eight. 
Hugh, the third son, born in 1790, died in 
Poland in 1862. He held the office of justice 
of the peace many years, being first elected when 
twenty-one years old. He married, first, Anna 
Riley, and second, Mrs. Rachael Walker. 
Rachael (Cowden), Julianna (Bingham), and 
Margaret (Kennedy), daughters by the second 
marriage, are still living. William, John's fourth 
son, born in 1795, died in Austintown in 1826, 
on the old homestead. He married Mary Jordan 
and had four children, viz: Clark, Priscilla, 
John R., and Calvin. William was an officer in 
the artillery service of the War of 181 2. He was 
justice of the peace from twenty-one years of age 
until the end of his life. Of his children Clark 
and Priscilla died young. John R., born in 
i82r, died in Canfield in 1879, a worthy citizen. 
Calvin studied medicine with his uncle. Dr. 




i^tf^i::^ 




Qf.<^.c^-^i.4=, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Truesdale, ot Poland, and is now a prominent 
physician in Rock Island, Illinois. Alexander 
Truesdale, born in 1798, died in Youngstown in 
1874. He married Hannah Leech, of Austin- 
town, who bore the following children: Olive 
(Weher), Canfield ; John Addison, Thomas Jef- 
ferson, James Madison, and Hannah Maria 
(Woodruff), all dead; William Wallace, Benja- 
min F., Lucy Jane (Jacobs), Charles R., and 
Joseph Alexander. Benjamin F. and Joseph A. 
are dead. Charles R. is the prosecuting attorney 
of Mahoning county. Margaret, the youngest 
daughter of John, born in 1799, died in Ells- 
worth in 1868. She married Jonathan Eastman 
and had eight children, — William, James R., 
Sarah, AJmon, Joseph, John, Mary Marilla, and 
Mary Melissa. James, Sarah, and Marilla are 
dead. Robinson Truesdale was born in 1801 
and died in Youngstown in 1866. He was a 
colonel of militia. For his first wife he married 
Catharine Borden, of Hartford, and for his sec- 
ond Belinda Avery. By his first marriage the chil- 
dren were George, Charles, Amelia, Mary, Clin- 
ton, Dwight first and Dwight second. George, 
Mary, Clinton, and Dwight first are dead. 
Dwight and Charles are leading business men 
of Cincinnati. Colonel Truesdale was a good 
and useful citizen. Joseph, the youngest son of 
John and Hannah Truesdale, was born in 1804 
and died in 1871. He studied medicine with 
Dr. Jones, of Hartford, Ohio, and graduated at 
the Ohio Medical college, in Cincinnati. He 
succeeded Dr. Jared P. Kirtland in the practice 
of his profession in Poland village, and was an 
honored and welcome guest in many a house- 
hold whenever sickness visited its members. 
His practice in Poland and adjacent townships 
was large and everywhere received with favor. 
In 1847 and in 1856-57 he was a member of 
the State Legislature. He married Eliza, daugh- 
ter of Judge Hays, of Hartford, Trumbull coun- 
ty, and reared a large family, six of whom are 
living: Sarah M. (Riley), Pulaski, Pennsylvania; 
Ellen E. (Smith), London, England; Lucy C. 
(Rockwood), Chicago; Dr. Seth H., Mount 
Jackson, Pennsylvania ; Charlotte E. (King), 
and Fred, Chicago.* 

William Brown settled in Poland township 

* Note. — Though the history of this family properly be- 
longs to several townships, we have included it all here, to 
avoid separating what should be connected. 



at an early day. His son now occupies the farm. 

Stephen Sexton, from Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, settled near the northwest corner 
of the township in 1803. He purchased two 
hundred acres of land at $2.50 an acre. He 
brought up four sons and three daughters. 
Joseph Sexton, born April 7, 1796, is the only 
one living at this date. His sister Nancy, wife 
of John Justice, died in the spring of 1881 in her 
eightieth year. Mr. Sexton recalls the following 
facts which may be interesting to the younger 
readers of this volume. He has known of his 
father giving eighteen bushels of wheat for a bar- 
rel of salt; of selling oats at ten cents per bushel, 
to get money to pay taxes, and has seen the 
taxes on two hundred acres paid with a five dol- 
lar bill. He remembers well of hearing a store 
keeper refuse to take wheat at twenty-five cents 
per bushel in payment of debt. 

Isiac Walker and his father Nathaniel yere 
early settlers in the northeast of the township. 
Rachel, the wife of Isaac, came on horseback 
from Pennsylvania to Poland on a visit in April, 
1811. She was married to Mr. Walker in No- 
vember of the same year. He was elected cap- 
tain of a military company in the fall of 1812, 
and in February, 1813, started with his company 
for the seat of 'war. Soon after reaching Fort 
Stephenson he was stricken with camp fever, and 
died April 5, 181 3. Mrs. Walker remained in 
possession of the farm until her death, March 
20, 1870. Isaac Walker was the father of one 
daughter, now the wife of John Stewart, Esq. 

James Blackburn settled on the Center road 
early. His sons James and John, also early set- 
tlers, lived and died in the township. 

James McNabb was an early settler. His son 
James lived upon the old place until his death 
in the year 1865. His widow still resides 
there. 

The Moores were early settlers and are else- 
where mentioned. 

William Campbell and family moved from 
Pennsylvania and settled on lot number twenty- 
four. The sons, John, Allen, William, and 
James, none of whom are living, were all resi- 
dents of this township. 

William Reed and family, from Washington 
county, Pennsylvania, settled just southwest of 
the center of the township. James, William, 
and Samuel were among the children. Several 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



of the grandchildren of William Reed, Sr., are 
residents of the township. 

Andrew Dunlap came from Pennsylvania and 
settled three-fourths of a mile southeast of Po- 
land village. He married the widow of Jona- 
than Fowler and brought up several sons and 
daughters, among whom were Chauncy and 
David. 

John McConnell, a native of Ireland, settled 
at Poland Center. He brought up a family of 
six sons and two daughters, none of whom are 
living. He was killed by being thrown from a 
wagon. His son John built a tannery on the 
farm, afterwards one at Poland village, where he 
worked at tanning and shoemaking for some 
years, then married and moved away. Thomas 
McConnell, a son of John, Sr., settled near 
Poland Center. He was the father of six chil- 
dren, three of whom arrived at maturity, and 
ona of them — John McConnel — is still living 
near Poland village, and is now in his eightieth 
year. Nicholas lived and died in the township, 
brought up two children, who are yet living. 
Jane, a daughter of John, Sr., became the wife 
of Robert Walker. Both are dead. 

William McConnell, not a relative of John 
McConnell, settled near the Center, and brought 
up a large family, all of whom moved away. 

Brian Slavin settled west of the Center about 
1806 and reared a large family. 

John McCuUey, who came from west of Pitts- 
burg, settled quite early at Poland village and 
was the first blacksmith in the place. He sold 
out and went to Portage county in 1833. He 
was married, after coming here, to Sarah Jewell, 
a native of New Jersey. This marriage took 
place February 16, 1808, in a log house on 
Water street. A marriage was a rare event in 
those days, and people came from far and near 
to witness the ceremony. The house was too 
small to contain more than a small portion of 
the visitors, so they built up a huge fire out of 
doors and stood patiently by it until the interest- 
ing exercises were over. 



No doubt the early records of this township, 
if they could be found, would give some very 
interesting history. But they are lost, and the 
names of the early township officers are con- 
sequently not to be ascertained. 



.\N ANCIENT TAX-LIST. 

In the year 1803 Poland had a larger number 
of inhabitants than any other of the ten Western 
Reserve townships now included in Mahoning 
county. Poland that year paid a tax of $48.24, 
which was about $8 more than the tax of 
Youngstown, then the next largest of the town- 
ships above mentioned. We give the list of 
tax-payers for 1803: 

POLAND, RANGE ONE, TOWN ONE. 

Amount .Amount 

of Tax. of Tax. 

Adair, William $ 41 Kirtland, Jared $ 5 08 

Briefly, George 

Buchanan, John 

Burgess Heirs 

Blackburn, John,.. . 
Buchanan, Gilbert. 

Beach, William 

Gray, John 

Cowden, William. . . 
Cowden, |oseph... 
Craycraft, Joseph. . 
Campbell, Willi a 

and Brice 

Chapin 

Dunlap, William. . . 

Duncan, James 

Dawson, Thomas. 
Dawson, Jacob. . . , 

Dickson, John 

Earl, John 

Earl, David 

Enibrie, James 

Fowler, Jonathan. 
Frazer, Jonathan.. 
Gordon, Thomas.. 
Guthrie, William. . 



Hii 



John. 



Jordan, John 

Kinland, Turhana 



83 Kirtland, Isaac 

60 Keys, Jonas 

41 Leach, Benjamin 

40 McGill, John 

39 McConnell, William . , 

41 McConnell, John 

27 McCuUough, John 

20 McCombs, John, Jr. .. 

40 McCombs, John and 

40 William 

McCuUough, Thom.-is 

— Mclvers, and Lowdon. 

41 McGill, Fenton 

80 Moore, William 

40 Miller, John 

20 Nelson, Archibald .... 

40 Ripple, Henry 

84 Smith, Robert 

80 Struihers, John 

40 Sheerer, John 

40 Shoaf, Peter 

68 Stewart, William,... 

I 23 Sexton, Stephen 

41 Truesdale, John 

40 Vance, Andrew 

40 Wishard, John 

20 Webb, James 

40 

17-55 



Total $48 24 

INCEPTION OF THE IRON INDUSTRY. 

The manufacture of iron, now the chief indus- 
try of the Mahoning valley, had its birth in 
Poland township, and Dan Eaton, that odd 
compound of good sense and whimsical notions, 
was its father. As there is much uncertainty as 
to the exact date at which this important in- 
dustry began, we reproduce the testimony of 
those- who are best informed upon the matter. 
Thomas Struthers, now of Warren, Pennsylvania, 
says: 

I cannot obtain evidence of the exact date when the first 
blast furnace on the Reserve was started into operation. 
Daniel Heaton (afterward abbreviated to Dan Eaton, by act 
of Assembly) I am satisfied built the stack, and made con- 
tracts for ore, and wood for coal for a blast-furnace, in 1803; 
and the recollection of my older btother is that he had it in 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



operation that year. The only doubt as to the 
of his recollection arises from the fact of a suit found on 
record by John Hayes and Dan Heaton vs. James Douglass, 
June term, 1808, claiming damages for the imperfect con- 
struction of a furnace bellows, contracted for September i, 
1806. This may have been to replace the original one, how- 
ever. It was located about one and one-fourth miles from 
the mouth of Yellow cteek, in the township of Poland, then 
Trumbull, now Mahoning county. It is certain that Robeit 
Montgomery and John Struthers, my father, built and put in 
operation a blast-furnace on the same stream, and on the 
farm on which the furnace of the Struthers Iron company 
now stands, in the year 1806. These furnaces were of about 
equal capacity, and would yield about two and a half or three 
tons each per day. The metal was principally run into 
molds for kettles, caldrons, bake-ovens, flat-irons, stoves, 
hand-irons, and such other articles as the needs of new set- 
tlers required, and any surplus into pigs and sent to the 
Pittsburg market. These were, I believe, the first blast- 
furnaces built in the State of Ohio, certainly the first on the 
Reserve. The former, it is said, had for one side the nat- 
ural rock of the bluff, against which it was built, and for that 
or otlier reasons was fickle in its working, and probably did 
not last long. I have no recollection of ever seeing it in blast. 
The latter continued to work until 1812, when the men were 
all drafted into the war, and it was never started up again. 

David Loveland, who was born and always 
lived near the site of the old furnaces, when in 
his seventy-fifth year wrote concerning them as 
follows: 

The manufacture of iron in the Mahoning valley, now one 
of its most important interests, was first commenced near the 
mouth of Yellow creek, a short distance from .Struther's sta- 
tion, and about five miles southeast of Youngstown, by two 
brothers, James and Daniel Heaton. These brothers were 
of an enterprising and experimenting disposition, and their 
faces will easily be remembered by many of the older settlers 
in and about Youngstown. 

In 1805 or 1806 they erected, on Yellow creek, near the 
Mahoning river, a charcoal furnace, which soon went into 
active operation. Connected with, and belonging to, the 
furnace proper were about one hundred acres of well-tim- 
bered land, which supplied the charcoal and much of the 
ore for the works. The "blast" was produced by an appa- 
ratus of rather peculiar construction, and was similar in 
principle to that produced by the column of water of the 
early furnaces. It consisted of a square wooden box set in 
a cistern, with an opening at the top for the ingress of water, 
and one in the side to conduct the air or "blast" to the fur- 
nace. The surplus water escaped underneath. The water, 
flowing in through a pipe at the top of the box, was accom- 
panied with air, which, being coinpiessed by the continual 
flow, was forced through the side opening, and conducted 
from thence by a pipe to the furnace stack. The "blast" 
thus obtained has always, I am informed, been considered 
objectionable on account of its damp and chilly character, 
.^t any rate it was the case in the present instance. 

After this furnace had been in operation for some time 
James Heaton transferred his interest in the property to his 
brother Daniel, and went up to Xiles where he built another 
furnace. Dan continued at the old works and manufact- 
ured considerable iion, much of it consisting of stoves, 
large kettles and other castings, the appearance of which 
might be considered rude in these days. 



While thus engaged Robert Montgomery (with whom I 
think was then associated David Clendenin, our member of 
Congress elected in 1814) built a furnace on the same creek 
about a half-mile* below Heaton's. It was constructed sub- 
stantially in the same manner as the Heaton furnace, except 
that the blast was much better, being generated by a water- 
wheel, walking-beams, and two wooden cylinders. 

Soon after the last named furnace went into operation 
Montgomery purchased the Heaton furnace property paying 
for the same $1,000 in land, and giving a mortgage for the 
balance of the purchase monev. It went out of blast almost 
immediately after it changed hands. It then got into the 
courts, and after being in litigation for several years, was re- 
transferred to Daniel Heaton, its original owner, who about 
that time or shortly afterward had his name changed by act 
of the Legislature to Dan Eaton. It was never started up 
again, however, after its sale to Montgomery, and in all, 
never made iron for more than three years. Both furnaces 
went to ruin after the year 1812. 

This, in brief, was the inception of our now great branch 
of trade. . . . Though the writer might 

justly distrust his early recollections, he would add that they 
have often been verified by subsequent acquaintance and 
inter-communication with the Heatons and many of the older 
settlers and early pioneers of this region, and it is with 
pleasure that he now has the opportunity of testifying to the 
merits of those two brothers, James and Daniel Heaton, who, 
with indomitable will, first gave life to an industry which 
from a wilderness has created a city almost continuous for a 
score of miles along the valley of the Mahoning. 

Bowen and Isaac Heaton established a furnace 
on Yellow creek, about one-half mile from its 
mouth, about the year 1836. Associated with 
them were Dr. Joseph Truesdale, Bostwick 

Fitch, Horace Elliot, and Stofer. They 

had a stone stack, run the furnace by water, us- 
ing charcoal as fuel. They used the ore found 
on the creek. 'Ihey made considerable iron, 
castings, etc., but the establishment soon became 
a total failure through the action of water and 
frost upon its foundations. 

AN E.^RLY PEH.\T1NG SOCIETY. 

The best evidence we have that the pioneers 
of this township were zealous friends of educa- 
tion, is the knowledge that schools were estab- 
lished almost as soon as there were settlers 
enough to support them. Here we wish to in- 
troduce another fact which clearly indicates the 
characteristic desire for self-improvement pos- 
sessed by the youth and men of those tmies. 

A debating society which met evenings at the 
house of John Struthers, and probably at the 
houses of other members, was in existence in 
1803. The names of those who organized it 
were John Struthers, Thomas Struthers, Alexan- 
der Struthers, Robert McCombs, William Mc- 

* .\bout a mile and a half, it should be. 



64 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Combs, Samuel Wilkinson, William Campbell, 
James Adair, William Adair, and John Black- 
burn. Similar societies were kept up for some 
years, and during the long winter evenings the 
sturdy boys and gray-haired men discussed ques- 
tions of greater or less importance. These meet- 
ings were a source of pleasure to all the mem- 
bers, and doubtless many a young man gained 
skill and practice in the art of debate as well 
as some knowledge of parliamentary rules which 
enabled him in future years to preside at public 
meetings with ease and dignity — an acquirement 
which is of no little value to any citizen. The 
old-fashioned debating society was an educator 
which imparted valuable instruction to many 
young men. 

THE FIRST M.\RRIAGE. 

The following is from the writings of James 
Brownlee, Esq., published in the Collections of 
the Mahoning Valley Historical society: 

The first marri.ige ceremony was near 1800, and took place 
on the farm then owned by John Blackburn, [ohn Blackburn 
and Nancy Bryan had agreed to get married. The trouble 
was to get some one to marry them, as they were determined 
to have the wedding before the surveyors left after finishing 
the survey. No minister, no justice of the peace, in fact no 
one authorized to mairy. They finally agreed that Judge 
Kirtland, having some kind of authority in Connecticut, 
where he emigrated from, should officiate. When that was 
settled upon it was discovered that no previous announce- 
ment had been made, as required by law, by posting notices 
ten days. Dr. Charles Dutton said he could remedy this. 
So he wrote four notices and posted one on each side of the 
log cabin. Then Judge Kirtland looked up his Episcopal 
prayer-book, which contained the marriage ceremony. The 
company in waiting, a stool was placed in front of the judge, 
and on it a white cover. Upon this the judge had placed his 
book. A slight delay occurring at the moment v\hen all ap- 
peared to be ready, some one proposed that they should take 
a drink of whiskey all around before they were married. 
T'here were about seventy persons in attendance, and this 
was agreed to unanimously. While the judge was taking his 
drink some one stole the praver-book, leaving him without a 
guide. But he said if they were agreed to it they should say 
so. They were both agreed ; and thus ended the ceremony. 

In 1802 Esquire Struthers at his house united 
in marriage a Mr. Kearney and a Miss Brierly. 
Kearney lived a half mile southeast of Poland 
village, on land now owned by Mr. C. F. Kirt- 
land, and his bride in the same neighborhood. 
In the evening after the happy pair had returned 
from the 'squire'.s, the neighbors far and near as- 
sembled at Kearney's to pay their respects to 
them. During the festivities of the evening an 
accident occurred which dampened them to 
some extent. After the bride had letired to the 



second story of the log house, which was reached 
by a ladder, the men, in endeavoring to assist 
the groom up the ladder, let him fall to the floor, 
breaking his leg. 

FIRST DE.A.THS. 

A man named Hineman died in Poland village 
in 1801. He was buried on land now owned by 
James McNalley. This was probably the first 
death in the township. A Mrs. Stone died in 
February 1802, and was buried near the road lead- 
ing to Boardman center, near where Mr. Scoville 
now lives. This is thought to have been the first 
female person that died in Poland. 

A PANTHER STORY. 

A story is related concerning Tom McClees, 
the miller at Struthers' mill. Struthers had a 
large dog and McClees took it one day to go out 
hunting for deer. Aroused by the barking of the 
dog, he hastened to the spot from which the 
sound proceeded and discovered a large panther 
up a tree. He fired and brought the animal 
down. The panther rolled over a steep bank, 
and the dog after him, the panther landing upper- 
most. McClees took the beast by the tail and 
pulled him off the dog; then with the aid of the 
dog and a club dispatched him. He killed two 
more panthers the same day. This took place 
near Indian Rock in the Nebo gully. 

"I know not how this thing may be ; 
I tell the tale as 'twas told to me. ■ 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

A school was started at Struthers at an early 
date. Perly Brush was one of the first, if not 
the very first teacher in the township. Other 
early teachers in that school were Rev. Mr. 
Cook, James Anderson, and otheBg. The school 
was kept in a small log house, and was probably 
opened as early as 1801. 

Later a school house was built and a school 
opened at Poland Center. The house was small, 
but many a time as many as one hundred per- 
sons were gathered there at singing schools and 
other meetings. Forty scholars was about the 
number in attendance. 

Concerning her school days, Mrs. John Stew- 
art has written as follows : 

My first day's experience in attending school is strongly 
fixed in memory. The school-house was at the Center, and 
two hundred acres of unbroken forest lay between our house 
and it, making it a serious undertaking for a child of six 
years. On the first morning of iny attendance. May, 1819, 




0'^<^-^ J2/Q''^^i 




p^ C /i<^j J^(j-j^^ . 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



6S 



my mother said she was going on horsebaclc to the village, 
and that she would carry me on the horse behind her, which 
she did. On her return she brought me a copy of Webster's 
Spelling Book, and made arrangements for the teacher to 
board with us for some time on my account. He was an 
estimable young man, James Campbell by name, gone to his 
reward. The school-house was built on the southeast cor- 
ner of the cross-roads; built of round logs, with a clapboard 
roof, held on by weight poles. I do not remember to have 
seen a nail about the premises. On the north side was a 
window of four lights of eight-by-ten glass. It was set high 
above the reach of the smaller juveniles, a wise arrangement 
for the protection of the glass. It afforded sufficient light 
for the teachers desk under it. On the other three sides of 
the house were spaces made by cutting out a log, all e.xcept 
sufficient to hold up the corners. In this was a sash for eight 
by len, one light high, but no glass. In the winter the sash 
was covered with writing paper, saturated with grease ap- 
plied to it by a hot flat-iron. These windows let in what was 
considered sufficient light for school purposes, and by the 
time the winter school was over there was but little paper 
left. The writing desks were large slabs, flat side up, sup- 
ported by pins set into the wall in holes made by a large 
auger. The seats were of narrower slabs, with supports 
made of dogwood saplings put into holes made near the 
ends by those same augers. There was a ten-plate stove 
in the center of the room, inscribed on each of the side- 
plates, "Dan Eaton, Hopewell Fuinace." The stove was 
set on blocks of wood, protected by one brick at each cor- 
ner, between the wood and iron. The cast-iron supporters 
made for it were hanging on a wooden pm driven into the 
wall for want of sufficient iron to make two rods to hold 
them together. The stove-pipe was formed of what was 
called "cot and clay." Its circumference was nearly that of 
a flour barrel, as it had several barrel staves around it which 
were held on by hoops that I suppose had once been on the 
ends of flour barrels. The pipe ran through the upper floor, 
and the smoke had to find its Wii^ through the roof. 



The militia were enrolled in 1802. John 
Struthers was elected captain and Robert Mc- 
Combs first lieutenant. There were eighty-seven 
names upon the roll, and at the first roll call 
every man was present. In 1805 the eastern 
part of the township formed one company and 
the western part another. The two companies 
met at the village on the same day for drill. 
There being some rivalry between the two com- 
panies it was proposed that there be a test to 
ascertain which had the best marksman, each 
company to select its best man, and he to have 
but one shot. The eastern company chose Tom 
Glees, and the western a man by the name of 
Garner. The distance was sixty yards, off-hand, 
with a rifle. McClees fired first, then Garner; 
each hit the exact center, consequently there was 
no victory. 

A partial list of those who were soldiers from 



this township in the War of 181 2 includes the 
following names : 

John and James Strain — John died during the 
war; Alexander Buchanan, who volunteered and 
died when not quite eighteen years old; Elijah 
Stevenson; Alexander McKeever was killed in a 
skirmish; Captain Isaac Walker and Alexander 
Struthers also died in the service; Major John 
Russel, William Brown, John Arrel, Isaac and 
Walter Buchanan, Eli McConnell, Francis 
Henry, William Reed, James Jack, John Sexton, 
William and Johnston Lowry, Hugh Truesdale, 
Alexander Truesdale, John and Alexander Cow- 
den, William Love. Mr. Love is still living, the 
only survivor. 

POLAND VILLAGE. 

This IS a quiet little country village, prettily 
situated on the Yellow creek, about the middle 
of the west line of the township. It was first 
known as " Fowler's " taking its name from the 
tavern ol Jonathan Fowler, built in 1804. Well 
supplied with shade trees, without the noise, 
dirt, and bustle of large places, Poland wears an 
air of repose especially alluring to those who 
wish to find rest and health. 

In former years the village was a busy one, 
and its stores, mills, and hotels did a thriving 
business. It was at one time far ahead of 
Youngstown as a trading place. It was quite 
an important place in the days of staging, as the 
stages to Pittsburg both from the north and west 
passed through it. The building of the canal, 
passing at a distance of two and a half miles 
from the village, and later of the railroad, some- 
what changed the current of business life, and 
Poland suffered because of its location. The 
changes wrought by time and the important ac- 
cessories of labor and steam seem to have de- 
termined that the village, one of the oldest in 
the county, should not become a place of any 
great commercial importance; and so Poland re- 
mains to-day an attractive country village with a 
quiet and orderly population. It has an institu- 
tion of learning favorably known and liberally 
patronized, two churches, several good doctors, 
but no lawyers, two hotels, three dry goods 
stores, four groceries, one bank, one hardware 
store, two tin-shops, two drug stores, two wagon 
shops, a turning shop, one photographer, three 
shoemakers, three blacksmiths, a harness shop, a 
flouring-mill, and a saw-mill. By the last census 



66 



RUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



the population of the corporation was three hun- 
dred and ninety-nine. 

INC0RPOR.\TION. 

Poland village was incorporated August 7, 
1 866. A petition signed by sixty-three voters 
had been presented to the county commission 
ers and was acted upon favorably. The first 
mayor was Andrew Campbell; recorder, Seth H. 
Truesdale, elected to serve until April, 1867, 
when the following officers were chosen : John 

A. Leslie, mayor ; B. B. Stilson, recorder ; C. 

B. Stoddard, W. J. Ogden, Adam Case, John 
Barclay, Henry Burnett, councilmen; Michael 
(iraham, marshal. 

The officers at present are mayor, marshal, 
recorder, treasurer, street commissioner, and six 
councilmen. 

POST-OKKICE. 

The post-office at Poland was established at 
an early date. Jared Kirtland was probably the 
first postmaster. He was succeeded by Andrew 
Burgess. Other postmasters have been Hugh 
Duncan, H. K. Morse, E. F. Drake, Jackson 
Moody, Adam Case. George Allen, the present 
incumbent, has been postmaster for twenty years. 

PHYSICI.\NS. 

Dr. Ira Brainard was the first physician who 
located in the village. He remained about two 
years, and about 1822 removed to Canfield, 
where he died in 1823. Dr. Jared P. Kirtland, 
a graduate of the Philadelphia Medical college, 
settled in Poland in 1823. In 1829-30 he was 
a member of the State Legislature, and again in 
1834-35- In 1832 he was appointed a State 
geologist. He became one of the faculty of the 
State Medical college at Cincinnati, and was 
afterwards a professor in the Cleveland Medical 
school. He died in Cleveland a few years ago. 
Dr. EW Mygatt, who still resides here, entered 
into practice with Dr. Kirtland in 1829, and had 
a large and successful practice for many years. 
Dr. Joseph Truesdale settled in Poland in 1831, 
and practiced until his death in 187 1. He was 
a graduate of the Cincinnati State Medical col- 
lege, and an honored man in his profession. He 
twice represented the county in the Legislature. 
Dr. Davis, an eclectic physician, now of Cleve- 
land, practiced here about si.\ years. Dr. Calvin 
Truesdale, a nephew of Dr. Joseph Truesdale, 
studied with his uncle and graduated from the 



Cleveland Medical school. He practiced in Po- 
land some years, leaving in 1854. He is now 
one of the leading physicians of Rock Island, 
Illinois. Dr. Onesettler, a native of this county, 
practiced six or seven years, beginning about 
1865. There have been other doctors in Poland, 
each of whom remained only a short time. The 
present practitioners here are Dr. H. R. Moore, 
Dr. I. D. Bard, Dr. C. R. Justice, and Dr. A. 
C. Elliot, dentist. 

A I..\\V COLLEGE 

was started some years ago in the house now 
owned by B. F. Lee, Esq. Judge Chester Hay- 
den and M. A. King, of New York State, were 
the originators of the enterprise. They brought 
several students with them, and conducted the 
school about five years, but abandoned it on ac- 
count of a lack of support. 

POLAND UNION SEMINARY. 

In Older to understand fully the history of 
this seminary it is necessary to go back more 
than fifty years, and trace from the small be- 
ginnings the slow, gradual, but certain growth 
and development of the educational interests of 
this community. The early settlers of this sec. 
tion fully realized the necessity of education, 
and had a due appreciation of its advantages. 
Convinced of this necessity, Rev. Mr. Bradley, 
a Presbyterian minister, opened a select school 
about the year 1830, where the classical lan- 
guages and higher English branches were taught. 
Thus was the seed sown which soon germinated. 
In 1835 Mr. John Lynch, a young man of 
limited means and a pupil of Mr. Bradley's, put 
up the building now occupied by Mr. Clark 
McGeehon as a dwelling, and opened an acad- 
emy, which was maintained for about ten years, 
when Mr. Lynch, because of financial failure, 
was obliged to discontinue the academy. 

For a period of about four years the educa- 
tional interests of Poland seemed to be at a 
standstill. The cessation of growth was only 
apparent, however, for in 1848 Mr. B. F. Lee, 
a student fresh from Allegheny college, laid the 
foundation of an academy on the west side of 
the town, and began his school in the fall of 
the year 1849. Almost immediately another 
academy was opened on the east side of Yellow 
creek, under the especial care and patronage 
of the Presbyterians. Rev. Jacob Coon, Rev. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



67 



Algernon Sydney MacMaster, D. D., and Pro- 
fessor George S. Rice were at different times 
at the head of this academy, which was very 
successful for about six years, when the build- 
ing took fire from an imperfect chimney-flue 
and was burned, and the school in consequence 
soon thereafter discontinued. 

Mr. Lee selected a natural and picturesque 
mound for the location of his academy, erected 
a suitable building, and employed a competent 
corps of teachers, to-wit : Professor M. R. At- 
kins, principal; Miss E. M. Blakelee, precep- 
tress; Miss Elmina Smith, assistant; and Miss 
Mary Cook teacher of music. It is with the 
founding of this school, known as Poland insti- 
tute, that the history of Poland Union seminary 
properly begins. 

At the end of six years Mr. Lee led a move- 
ment to provide better accommodations for the 
growmg academy, with a prospective endowment 
from the Pittsburg and Erie Annual conferences 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. The Method- 
ist Episcopal church of Poland, generously as- 
sisted by the citizens, erected, on a pleasant site 
not tar from the building put up by Mr. Lee, a 
three-story brick edifice, 60 x 80 feet. The 
school was moved from its pleasant quarters on 
the mound to the more commodious building. 
The conferences being able to secure only a por- 
tion of the proposed endowment, it never became 
available, and the school was sustained by con- 
tributions from the citizens and tuition from the 
students. 

The former building was purchased by Judge 
Chester Hayden and M. A. King, Esq., of New 
York State, and used by them for a law school, 
with which (Jeneral Leggett was for a time con- 
nected. Many promising young lawyers were 
graduated from this school, among whom were 
Judge C. E. Glidden, [udge Van Hyning, H. G. 
Leslie, Esq., William C. Bunts, Esq., and Gen- 
eral I. R. Sherwood. After a number of years 
of general success, the proprietors, thinking the 
city a better point, removed the institution to 
Cleveland. 

The college, as the school in the brick build- 
ing was now called, struggled to maintain an ex- 
istence, as all such institutions must, in a new 
country, for want of means, but it was kept alive 
and growing by the constant and earnest efforts 
of the citizens, Mr. B. F. Lee always taking a 



prominent part, giving liberally of his time and 
means, down to the year 1862, when the various 
religious denominations of the town united and 
raised funds for the improvement of the build- 
ing. At this time the school was chartered as 
Poland Union seminary. 

In 187 1 the school was offered to the presby- 
tery of Mahoning upon condition that the pres- 
bytery make an earnest effort to secure an en- 
dowment of $15,000. When $10,000 were 
secured the seminary was to pass into the con- 
trol of the presbytery. Immediate action was 
taken by the presbytery and the board of trustees 
to secure the endowment, by appointing Mr. B. 
F. Lee financial agent, who, in canvassing about 
one half of the territory, secured the $10,000, 
which was invested as a permanent endowment, 
and the presbytery assumed control of the 
school, fraternizing, however, with other religious 
denominations. 

Since the removal of the school to the brick 
building, the following educators have been at 
its head : Professor J. E. Cummings, Professor 
A. T. Copeland, Rev. G. B. Hawkins, Rev. J. 
N. Reno, Professor M. C. Butler, Professor H. 
J. Clark, Rev. William Dickson, D. D., and Wil- 
liam H. Tibbals, M. A., the present principal. 
Miss E. M. Blakelee was preceptress from the 
beginning in 1849 to 1880, except for a period 
of six years. 

The seminary is now well established as one 
of the permanent literary institutions of the State, 
with an endowment of $15,000, $5,000 having 
been added by a recent bequest of Mr. George 
P. Miller, deceased. 

It has had among its students many young 
men and women who have filled, or are now 
filling, places of trust and responsibility, among 
whom may be mentioned Revs. T. L. Sexton, 
D. J. Satterfield, Maxwell Cornelius, David Nes- 
bit, T. S. Scott, R. D. Scott, D. V. Mays, H. P. 
Wilson, H. W. Lowry, W. D. Sexton, Hon. Wil- 
liam McKinley, Member of Congress; Abner 
McKinley, Esq., Cecil Hine, Esq., Judge Van 
Hyning, W. B. Williams, Esq., H. G. Leslie, 
Es(i., Hon. I. F. Mansfield, Hon. A. E. Lee, 
AVilliam J. Calhpun, Esq., John McClure, Esq., 
and James Kennedy, Esq.; W. S. Matthews, M. 
D., H. G. Cornwell, M. D., B. F. Hahn, M. D., 
J. M. Hamilton, M. D., S. D. Clarke, M. D., A. 
P. Kirtland, C. E., Julian and Hugh Kennedy, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and the Morse Brothers, bridge builders and en- 
gineers. 

The seminary provides two courses of study, 
a literary course for young ladies and young 
men who wish a practical education for general 
business, embracing a normal course, preparing 
them especially for teaching, and a college pre- 
paratory course. Graduates from this school have 
entered at Yale, Michigan university, Allegheny 
college, Oberlin, Westminster, Western Reserve, 
Wooster university, and others. 

The number who have entered the profession 
of teaching from this seminary gives evidence of 
the excellent advantages it affords those who 
wish to prepare themselves for this profession. 

The present instructors are William H. Tib- 
bals, M. A., principal; Miss Ida M. Tarbell, B. 
A., preceptress, and Miss .\delaide Simpson, M. 
E. L., assistant. 

POLAND farmers' deposit AND SAVINGS BANK. 

This institution was chartered in 1875, and 
opened for business October ist, the same year, 
with a capital of $50,000, increased now to 
$100,000. The first officers were: R. L. Walker, 
president; Clark Stough, cashier; Dr. Eli My- 
gatt, vice-president, succeeded by Samuel Hine, 
and later by C. F. Kirtland; directors, R. L. 
Walker, C. F. Kirtland, Eli Mygatt, Clark 
Stough, Alexander Walker, James Smith, Samuel 
Hine, Samuel McClurg (deceased), and William 
Arrel (deceased). C. N. Kirtland and Walter 
Arrel have been appointed in place of the two 
deceased. 

FOUNDRY. 

An iron foundry was built on the east side of 
Yellow creek in 1843 by Colonel Robinson 
Truesdale and George Kirtland. A part of it 
was carried away by the freshet of 1844. In 
i860 the building was removed to the hill where 
it now stands. It was run by Allen, Woodruff 
& Co. until 1846, then by Allen & Woodruff 
until about two years ago. They manufactured 
stoves and various kinds of castings. 

DISTILLERIES. 

A large number of small stills were run by 
farmers in various parts of the tpwnship. John 
Hunter has quite a large distillery in the village, 
situated just below the bridge. This did quite 
a large business for a number of years. A great 
deal of the "ardent" was made and used in early 



times, yet the people were never noted for in- 
temperance. 

VARIOUS ENTERPRISES. 

Elkanah Morse, from Wallingford, Connecti- 
cut, settled at Poland village in 181 5, and was 
the originator of several manufacturing enter- 
prises, which largely contributed to the prosper- 
ity of the town. In company with Henry T. 
Kirtland he built and managed an oil-mill, a saw- 
mill, a cloth-dressing and fulling-mill, and later a 
grist-mill. In company with Mr. Botsford he 
was engaged in the manufacture of combs for a 
number of years on Water street. He had a 
broom factory at the house where H. K. Morse 
now lives, and was the proprietor of a tin-shop 
where spoons and various kinds of German-silver- ' 
ware were manufactured. In connection with 
his other business he had a large farm, a store 
where four or more peddlars received their sup- 
plies, etc. The various industries mentioned 
afforded employment to from thirty to forty men 
and helped to make business lively. 

John McConnell built the first tannery at the 
village and run it for some years. It was after- 
wards owned by James Shepard, and later by 
Robert Hartley. It was run by steam for some 
years, but is no longer in operation. 

HOTELS. 

Jared Kirtland erected and kept the first 
tavern. It was built in 1804. Many are living 
now who recollect the quaint old sign with the 
picture of a bull's head upon it, and the date 
1804 painted beneath. It was a large house for 
those times and did a big business before the 
days of canals or railroads. 

Jonathan Fowler built the stone hotel, now 
known as the Sparrow house, the same year. 
After his death it was run by Mr. Reed. It is 
now kept by Mrs. Jane Sparrow, who with her 
late husband took possession twenty-one years 
ago. 

On the ground where the Union house now 
stands John McGill kept a small tavern for some 
years; after him Chester Bidwell. 

STORES. 

Probably the first store-keeper in the village 
was James Hezlep. He kept in a corner room of 
the tavern when it was owned by Reed. He 
continued to do a good business here for some 
years, and became sheriff of Trumbull county. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



69 



After leaving Poland he was in trade at Youngs- 
town for a while. 

Morse & Hall had a store in a room of Tur- 
hand Kirtland's house at an early date. 

Henry T. Kirtland became a proprietor and 
afterwards built a frame store, and later a brick 
store on the ground where Stough's store is now 
situated. The old brick store stood there some 
fifty years. 

Mr. Stough does a successful business in the 
same place, and is now one of the leading bus- 
iness men of the village. 

Joseph McCombs opened a store on the creek 
near the bridge as early as 1812. He was in 
business here several years. 

Richard Hall set up as a store-keeper about 
the same date. 

The Duncans were also among Poland's early 
merchants and did quite an extensive business 
for some years. 

Morse's store was situated on the corner op- 
posite the store now occupied by Mr. Haynes. 
Later he built the Haynes store. 

The first store-keepeis got little money. 
Whiskey was perhaps the nearest thing to legal 
tender. They were obliged to take produce, 
grain, cattle, horses, and almost anything else 
that they in turn could use for buying goods. 

Hezlep built the store now occupied by Z. P. 
Curry. 

THE FIRST STORE 

in the township was built and run by the pro- 
prietors of the old Montgomery furnace, near 
the mouth of the Yellow creek. It was there 
that the first settlers went for their supplies long 
before a store was started at the village. 

MILLS. 

The first grist-mill in the township, and one of 
the first on the Western Reserve, was built by 
John Struthers on Yellow creek in 1800. He 
also built a saw-mill there early. 

Jonathan Fowler built the first grist-mill at Po- 
land village in 1801. It was a small log build- 
ing and was situated in the middle of the creek, 
reached by a foot bridge. He had also a saw- 
mill upon the same stream, built the same year. 
The log grist-mill was replaced by a good frame 
structure. After Fowler, Turhand Kirtland, 
John Reed, and later John Hunter, owned both 
the saw-mill and the grist-mill. 



Peter Shoaf, on the Pennsylvania line, had a 
saw-mill and grist-mill on Spring run at quite an 
early date. It was run by his sons for some 
years, then sold to John Hunter of Poland. 

James McGill had the first mill at Lowellville. 

James Stewart built a flouring-mill on the 
north side of the Mahoning, where the village of 
Newport was laid out. The building, a substan- 
tial stone structure, was torn down by the Penn- 
sylvania and Ohio Canal company. 

The building now known as the Poland Flour- 
ing-mill was built by William Little in 1844. 

North of the village, on the creek, Kirtland & 
Morse built a grist-mill, which, after running for 
a time, was found not a paying investment by 
the owners. It was sold, removed to Youngs, 
town, and was the predecessor of the Diamond 
mills in that city. 

COOPERS. 

John Hineman was probably the first cooper 
in the township though he did not do a large 
amount of work. John Arnold settled near Po- 
land village and was engaged largely for several 
years in making barrels and doing other kinds of 
coopering. Probably he made as many whiskey 
barrels as any man in this part of the country. 
His sons followed their father's trade. 

POLAND PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The congregation was organized May 3, 1802, 
by Rev. William Wick, pastor of the congrega- 
tions of Youngstown and Hopewell, and a mem- 
ber of the Erie presbytery. The following 
named persons were present at the organization: 
William McCorabs, Josiah Walker, William 
Campbell, Thomas Love, John Gordon, Wil- 
liam Buck, Thomas Gordon, James Adair, 
Jesse Rose, John Jordan, William Dunlap, John 
Hineman, John Blackburn, John Truesdale, 
Robert Smith, John Arrel, John McCombs, 
Isaac McCombs, and others whose names are 
not now remembered. 

October 23, 1804, Mr. Nicholas Pettinger was 
installed pastor over the congregations of Poland 
and Westfield. March 20, 1810, Mr. Pettinger 
obtained leave of the presbytery to resign his 
charge of the congregation of Poland. 

October 25, 1810, Rev. Alexander Cook was 
appointed to supply Poland one-third of his 
time. He continued to supply the congregation 
until April, 1812. In June, 1815, the congrega- 



70 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



lions of Poland and VVestfield obtained leave of 
the presbytery to prosecute calls for Mr. James 
Wright, a licentiate of the Ohio presbytery, and 
on the 26th of June, 1815, Mr. Wright was or- 
dained and installed pastor over these congrega- 
tions. January 10, 1832, Mr. Wright accepted 
a call for the whole of his time from AVestfield. 
January 16, 1834, Mr. John Scott accepted a 
call for two-thirds of his time from the congrega- 
tion of Poland. April 3, 1834, he was ordained 
and installed pastor of the Poland and Liberty 
congregations. Mr. Scott was dismissed from 
these charges April 13, 1836. Mr. William Mc- 
Combs supplied the congregation of Poland dur- 
ing most of the year 1837. June 25, 1839, the 
presbytery of New Lisbon met, ordained and in- 
stalled Mr. Edward Nevin pastor of the congre- 
gation of Poland. He was dismissed April 20, 
1840. The Rev. Jacob Coon supplied the con- 
gregation the most of the time from 1841 to 
1843. Rev. Joseph Kerr, a member of the 
Steubenville presbytery, was installed pastor over 
the congregations of Poland and Liberty No- 
vember 21, 1843, to be two-thirds of his time at 
Poland. In 1854 Mr. Kerr was dismissed from 
the Poland congregation. Rev. Algernon S. 
McMaster entered upon the duties of pastor of 
the Poland congregation November 19, 1854, 
and filled the position most acceptably until his 
dismissal, April 24, 1878. Rev. Samuel H. 
Moore, the present pastor, was installed Septem- 
ber 25, 1879. 

A flourishing Sabbath-school has been main- 
tained for many years. 

Soon after the congregation was organized a 
log-house, on the common in front of the present 
location of the church, was erected and used for 
several years. It was then replaced by a frame. 
The present church, a fine brick structure, was 
erected in 1855. 

The number of members in iSii was sixty. 
In 1 88 1 it was two hundred and eighteen. 

POLAND MKTHODIST CHURCH. 

A society was formed in 1832 with eight mem- 
bers, a majority of them being ladies. Of these 
there are yet living Mr. and Mrs. William Logan 
and Miss Sarah Blackman. The first sermon 
jjreached in the village was by Rev. Charles 
Elliott, at the school-house. Mr. Elliott came 
there one wintry Sabbath, dug the wood out of 



the snow, built the fire himself, and waited for 
his hearers to collect. The church was organ- 
ized by Rev. Mr. Preston, a converted sailor be- 
longing either to the Pittsburg or the Erie con- 
ference. 

The membership increased rapidly for several 
years. Services were at first held in the school- 
house, and in pleasant weather in orchards, 
groves, etc. The first church edifice was built 
in 1834. Among those who assisted most in 
building it were the Logan, Wallace, and Detch- 
on families, Josiah Beardsleyand his wife. The 
latter was a host in herself, ever active in getting 
funds and assistance with which to build up the 
kingdom of Zion. About 1863 the church was 
rebuilt and much improved. It is now a large, 
well-furnished, and comfortable building. Until 
about 1850 all of the preachers were circuit 
ministers. The church had generally been sup- 
plied with men of good ability, who were faith- 
ful and efficient workers — of course with some 
exceptions. About 1850 it was made a station, 
and Rev. William F. Day became the pastor for 
two years, that being then the limit of time al- 
lowed by the conference for remaining in one 
place. 

There have been several series of revival meet- 
ings, the most of them quite successful in adding 
members. Owing to deaths and removals the 
membership is not at present as great as it has 
been. There are now about one hundred and 
fifty members, and the society is in a prosperous 
condition. 

A good Sabbath-school has been maintained 
since the church was organized. Ot course the 
society has had its periods of prosperity and ad- 
versity ; but It has always contained many faith- 
ful ones who would never give up or desert. 

The relations between the Presbyterians and 
the Methodists are now harmonious and friendly, 
and both are doing good work in adding to the 
kingdom of the Master. 

CEMETERIES. 

The oldest graveyard in the township is that 
adjoining the Presbyterian church at Poland. It 
was established in 1804, and in it repose the 
bodies of many of the first settlers and a large 
number of their descendants. 

The graveyard at Poland Center is also quite 
ancient. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



The new cemetery at Poland is prettily situ- 
ated and tastefully laid out. It was established 
through the efforts of an association of the citi- 
zens formed January 14, 1865. 

These three, with the new one commenced at 
Lowellville, are the only public burying places in 
the township. 

LOWELLVILLE. 

This thriving village is situated on both sides 
of the Mahoning, which is here spanned by a 
large and strong iron bridge. Its site is 
pleasant and even picturesque. High hills are 
on either hand, and from their tops can be ob- 
tained a view of some of the richest and most 
attractive scenery of the Mahoning valley. 

The history of this place does not run back 
very far. Its growth may be said to have begun 
with the completion of the Pennsylvania and 
Ohio canal. The Lawrence branch of the Pitts- 
burg, Ft. Wayne & Chicago railroad runs along 
the south side of the river, and on the north side 
is the Pittsburgh & Lake Erie road. 

Lowellville has two churches, a good school 
building, three dry goods stores, five groceries, a 
hardware store, a drug store, two wagon shops, 
three blacksmith shops, one hotel, a harness 
shop, two shoemaker shops, besides the mills 
and the furnace. In 1880 it had a population 
of eight hundred and seventeen. Business is 
brisk, and there is plenty of work for everybody. 
Property is constantly increasing in value, and 
with the large amount of limestone and coal in 
this vicinity, no reason can be assigned why the 
place may not continue developing year by year. 
With two railroads now and the speedy prospect 
of another it looks as though the future of the 
town were assured. 

INITIAL ITEMS. 

The village was laid out about 1836 by Mr. 
Wick and others. The first store was opened 
about the same time by Calvin Bissel. Other 
store-keepers, coming in soon after, were S. H. 
McBride, Hugh Wick, Davidson & McCombs, 
Hunter & Watson, Brown & Shehy. 

The post-office was established as early as 1840 
with S. H. McBride postmaster. His successors 
in the office have been Dr. John Butler, John D. 
Davidson, Henry Smith, and J. B. Nessle, the 
present incumbent. 

John McGill built the first grist-mill at Lowell- 



ville. It was run by his sons until the canal was 
built. Robert McGill had the first saw-mill in 
the place. 

Wilson & Crawford started a tannery about 
1844, which was sold to William Moore in 1850. 
He rebuilt and refitted it and carried on the 
business until 1874. It is not now in operation. 

In 1838 William Watson and John S. Hunter 
bought a water privilege of George Hunter and 
erected a large grist-mill which they operated 
until 1866 and then sold to Anderson & Co. 
They operated it for a short time and sold to C. 
McCombs & Co,. The mill is at present owned 
by Mr. McCombs. 

THE LOWELLVILLE FURNACE. 

Wilkes, Wilkison & Co. started the furnace in 
1846. They had a hundred and fifty-six acres of 
land in one lot and forty acres in another, as well 
as considerable capital invested. It is believed 
that the Lowellville furnace was the first one in 
the valley that produced iron from uncoked coal, 
making use of the coal from Mount Nebo. 
They obtained a great deal of iron ore from 
Mount Nebo, the Graham and Galloway farms, 
the James Dickson farm, and the Robert McGill 
farm. About 1853 the company sold their works 
to Alexander Crawford &: Co., of New Castle, 
Pennsylvania, who continued the business until 
1864, then sold a hundred and fifty-six acres of 
land and the furnace to Hitchcock, McCreary & 
Co., for $100,000. In 187 1 Hitchcock, Mc- 
Creary & Co. sold to the Mahoning Iron com- 
pany, which run the works a short time, then 
they passed into the hands of McCreary & Bell. 
February 11, 1880, these gentlemen sold to the 
Ohio Iron & Steel company of Youngstown, who 
now operate the works, doing a larger business 
than ever before. The officers of this company 
are Thomas H. Wells, president; Henry Wick, 
vice-president; Robert Bentley, secretary and 
treasurer. The amount of capital stock is 
$35,000. About forty men are employed. The 
company makes a specialty of the finer grades of 
foundry iron. They have their own beds of 
limestone near by, from which they secure the 
limestone necessary for use in the works. 

It should be stated that in 1872 the furnace 
was built over and improved. Changes and im- 
provements are also contemplated by the present 
owners. 



72 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



HOPE MILLS. 

James Brown built the mill which now bears 
this name. It was situated a few rods above the 
bridge and was run by steam for about two years. 
In 1859 it was moved to its present site and run 
by water power. The mill is now owned and 
run by Mr. Brown's heirs. They do a large 
amount of custom milhng, grinding wheat and 
corn. They also put up and ship flour. Fre- 
quently thirty barrels per day are produced. 

I'LANING-MILL. 

This mill was started by Lewis & Drake in 
187 1. In February, 1872, it was leased by J. 
D. Dickson & Co., who run it until November, 
1880. Since that time Mr. Dickson has man- 
aged it. He is engaged in manufacturing all 
kinds of house finishing lumber. 

■ COAL. 

A great deal of coal has been taken from the 
banks in this township first and last. The most 
important was the Mount Nebo mine. About 
1828 this was opened by Elijah Stevenson and 
worked on a small scale for some ten years. 
John Thomas and William James worked it 
after him for some years. John Kirk then 
bought the mine and commenced shipping coal 
in 1845. Kirk sold to a company which failed, 
and the property reverted to him. He again dis- 
posed of it to Doan & Howells, of Philadelphia, 
who did quite an extensive business for si.x or 
eight years, shipping the coal by canal to Cleve- 
land. This firm also purchased a coal bank 
from the Adairs which they worked at the same 
time. George Smith was their manager. They 
gave employment to fifty or more men. The 
coal was found to be of a superior quality. 

The Lowellville Furnace company also worked 
the Mount Nebo mine quite extensively to 
obtain coal for use in their iron works. The 
mme was finally abandoned because the water 
had become too deep for successful operations. 
Other coal mines have been worked in the vicin- 
ity of Lowellville, but there is no great amount 
of business m that line in the township at pres- 
ent. It is believed, however, that an abundance 
of coal remains, and may be mined successfully 
when desired. 

QUARRIES. 

Limestone has been quarried quite extensive- 
ly. The Pence quarry was the largest and did a 



big business for the past ten years, but is now 
worked out. The Moore and Arrel quarries 
contain a large amount of stone of excellent qual- 
ity. A brisk business has been done in this line 
for some years past. The quarries having been 
operated to a greater or less extent for the last 
twenty-five years. McCombs & Johnson were 
quite extensively engaged in the business. The 
Moore quarry is now in operation. 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The Free church people, who differed from 
the Presbyterians on the question of slavery, 
withdrew from neighboring congregations, and 
in 1850 succeeded in erecting a church building 
at Lowellville. Among the leading members 
were John and William McFarland, Andrew Mc- 
Farland, James S. Moore, John S. Hunter, and 
John Book. 

After the slavery (juestion was settled the most 
of the Free church returned to the sects to which 
they originally belonged ; so that the Lowellville 
congregation is now entirely Presbyterian. Those 
who preached here after the organization of the 
church were Revs. J. D. Whitham, Bushnell, 
James Bingham, George McElhaney. The mem- 
bership is quite small. 

THE METHODIST CHURCH. 

Rev. John Prosser created the revival which 
resulted in the building of this church. Dr. 
John Butler and John Bissel were also active 
and leading members. The building was erect- 
ed about 1840. The membership has always 
been quite small. Preaching and Sabbath- 
school are maintained regularly. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Dr. John Butler settled at Lowellville in 1838, 
and practiced until his death, some ten years later. 
The next physician was Dr. Joseph Cowden, who 
removed West and died. Dr. Scroggs practiced 
a few years, then removed to Beaver, Pennsylva- 
nia, where he now resides. Dr. Amberson prac- 
ticed four or five years, moved to New Castle, 
Pennsylvania, and died there. Dr. Foster prac- 
ticed here about five years. He went to Alle- 
gheny City, Pennsylvania. Dr. John Kirker 
practiced in Lowellville four or five years. Dur- 
ing the war he served as a surgeon, and at its 
close located in Allegheny City. Dr. Cloud was 
in Lowellville a short time, moved to Columbus, 
and is now deceased. The present practitioners 




J^ 



"i^-2^-?«i:0 



William Brown, the father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born in Pennsylvania, Septem- 
ber 28, 1788; came to Trumbull county (now 
Mahoning) in an early day and located on the 
farm now occupied by his son, James S. He 
married Miss Ann Porter, April 15, 1813. Their 
children were James S., born January 4, 18 14; 
David, born June 30, 18 16, and died March 7, 
1824; Martha, born June 24, 1822, married 



Wyoming N. Fry, and resides in Suttield township, 
Portage county. William Brown served in the 
\Varof1812. He died April 20, 1833. James S. 
Brown was married to Mary Ann Prinlz, who was 
born in Canton, Ohio. Her parents were Joseph 
and Susan>(Blosser) Printz, who were united in 
marriage September 23, 1830. They had the 
following children : Henry, born June 21, 1831; 
Mary Ann (now Mrs. Brown), August 20, 1832; 




Barbara, January 29, 18.^4; Isabel, September 
22, 1835; Jacob, March 17, 1837; Samuel, No- 
vember 27, 1838; Ambrose, February 3, 1843. 
Mr. Brown is a Democrat in politics, yet he rec- 
ognizes a higher duty m the use of the ballot 
than mere attachment to party, and endeavors to 
vote for the best candidates. He has resided all 
his life on the old homestead, having been born 
there. From actual experience he knows what 



pioneei life is, and his memory carries him back 
to the days when the present beautiful and 
thrifty neighborhood where he lives was covered 
with the original forest, interspersed here and 
there by small clearings and rude log cabms. 
He has always been a hard-working and indus- 
trious man, and is now, in his old age, blessed 
with a comfortable home. Mr. and Mrs. Brown 
are Presbyterians in their religious faith. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



of the place are Dr. R. H. Stewart, Dr. R. W. 
Weller, Dr. J. N. Cowden, and Dr. Reynolds 
Cowden. 

GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC. 

Reno Post No. 87, Grand Army of the Re- 
public, was organized June 28, 1881, with the 
following officers: William Leggett, commander; 
Porter Watson, senior vice commander ; T. 
E. Grist, junior vice commander; J. W. Van 
Aiiker, adjutant; W. C. Rowland, quartermaster; 
Dr. R. W. Weller, surgeon; Rev. Snyder, chap- 
lain; I. J. Nessle, officer of the day; J. C. 
Mapes, officer of the guard. 

An organization of the Grand Army of the 
Republic was in existence some years ago, but it 
went down. 

CEMETERY. 

In the spring of 1S81 ground for a cemetery 
was purchased on the hill on the north side of 
the river, which is being laid out into lots, and 
otherwise fitted for a burial place. 



POLAND CENTER UJ 



[TED PRESBYTERL\N CHURCF 



A society of Seceders was formed in 1804, and 
some years later, probably in 1810, a large meet- 
mg-house of hewn logs was erected. Among 
the early members were : William Cowden, 
Reynolds Cowden, Joseph Cowden, Isaac P. 
Cowden, Robert Lowry, Johnston Lowry, Wil- 
liam Strain, Richard McConnell, Thomas Mc- 
Connell, and others. 

About 1826 a brick church was erected. 
Squire David Houston took the job of building 
it. In 1849 the present house was built. Nearly 
twenty years ago the church was merged into the 
United Presbyterians. 

The first preacher was Rev. James Duncan, a 
farmer, from below LowellviUe. Rev. Robert 
Douglas was the next pastor. Rev. David Good- 
wille preached in this vicinity, though not in this 
church alone, fifty years. He was succeeded by 
Rev. James M. Henderson, Rev. T. W. Winter, 
and Rev. W. T. McConnell, the present pastor. 
There are now about sixty-six members. A Sab- 
bath school has been kept up a number of years. 

NEWPORT 

was laid out for a village about the same time as 
LowellviUe. Lots were sold at one time as high 
as in the latter place. But Newport did not 
grow and no village marks its site. 



STRUTHERS. 

This little village was laid out about sixteen 
years ago. Its growth commenced with the ad- 
vent of the Lawrence railroad in 1867. It now 
has a railroad station on each side of the river, 
and perhaps a third railroad will soon be added. 

The village contains the large furnace of the 
Struthers' Iron company, a hotel, two stores, and 
a saw-mill. A post-office was established about 
the year 1866, Richard Olney postmaster. 
His successors have been Rufus Parker and A. 
G. S. Parker, the present incumbent. 

Mr. Olney kept the first store. The saw mill, 
built about the time the railroad was completed, 
was erected and is now owned by Thomas 
Struthers. Mr. Struthers also built the hotel in 

1873- 

The Catholic church was erected about the 
time the furnace was built. 

THE FURNACE 

of the Struthers Iron company was built in 1869. 
The casting-house and smoke-stack were blown 
down in July, 1881, but have since been rebuilt. 
The furnace when in active operation produces 
about sixty-five tons of iron per day, and affords 
about fifty men employment. It is owned by 
Thomas Struthers, T. W. Kennedy, John and 
H. T. Stewart, and John and Daniel Stambaugh. 
Mr. Kennedy is manager, and H. T. Stewart 
secretary and treasurer. 



Biographical Sketches. 

THE KIRTLAND FAMILY. 
Turhand Kirtland, the first representative of 
the family who came to the Western Reserve, 
was a native of Wallingford, Connecticut, born 
November 16, 1755. He was a carriage manu- 
facturer by trade, which he followed in Walling- 
ford until his removal to Ohio. In 1798, having 
gathered together a few thousand dollars, he 
came to Ohio and purchased considerable land 
in different portions of the Reserve, and also 
acted as agent for the Connecticut Land company 
for the sale of their land. He located at first at 
Burton (now Geauga county), but spent much 
of his time in Poland and Youngstown, engaged 
in examining, surveying, and selling land. He 



TRUMBULL AND AL\HONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



kept a diary during the early years of his resi- 
dence in Ohio, in which he gives a minute ac- 
count of his proceedings and observations. The 
writing of a letter in those days was an event of 
sufificient importance to make a record of it. In 
a few years he removed from Burton to Poland 
and settled on a farm, his brother, Jared Kirt- 
land, having started a tavern at what is now 
Poland village. He died August i6, 1844. 

Mr. Kirtland was a man of more than ordinary 
energy of character, and ability, and served his 
county in many positions of trust and honor. 
He was elected to the State Senate from Trum- 
bull county in 1814, was associate judge of the 
court of common pleas for a long time, and 
was justice of the peace in Poland for some 
twenty years. He left at his death a large prop- 
erty. He was twice married. His second wife was 
Mary Potter, of New Haven, Connecticut, born 
February 10, 1772, died March 21, 1850. They 
reared a family of children, as follows: Jared P. 
Henry T., Billius, George, Mary P., and Nancy, 
of whom only Billius and George are now living. 

Dr. Jared P. Kirtland was a noted physician 
and an able man. He practiced medicine for 
many years in Poland, and represented the coun- 
ty, then Trumbull, in the Ohio Legislature in 
1829, 1831, and 1834. He was a professor in 
the Cleveland Medical college, of Clevleand, 
Ohio, during the latter part of his life, and had 
previously held a similar position in the Ohio 
Medical college, Cincinnati. He has a daugh- 
ter living in Rockport, Cuyahoga county. 

Henry T. Kirtland was a prominent business 
man of Poland for a great many years, being 
engaged in merchandising. He was born in Con- 
necticut November 16, 1795; married in 1825 
Thalia Rebecca Fitch, who died October i, 1826. 
In April, 1828, he married Mary Fitch, a sister 
of his first wife. He died February 27, 1874, in 
Poland, and his wife, Mary, December 24, 1877. 
By his first marriage he had one child, Hon. C. 
F. Kirtland, of Poland, a Representative in the 
Legislature from Mahoning county, session of 
1872 and 1873, and by his second marriage 
three children, of whom the only survivor is Mr. 
C. N. Kirtland, of Poland. 

Billius Kirtland was born in Poland, Ohio, 
August 29, 1807. In 1830 he married Ruthan- 
na Frame, who was born in Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1809. They have had nine 



children, only three of whom survive. Alfred 
resides in Blairsville, Indiana county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and is superintendent of the West Pennsyl- 
vania railroad. He graduated at the Van Rensse- 
laer Polytechnic institute, of Troy, New York, 
taking a course in surveying, and for some time 
was assistant civil engineer of the road of which 
he is now superintendent. Emma married Sam- 
uel Hines and lives in Poland, and Lucy married 
Rev. Dallas B. Mays and resides at North 
Benton. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kirtland belong to the Method- 
ist Episcopal church and are among the most 
prominent and highly respected citizens of the 
county. Mr. Kirtland is an enthusiastic student 
of chemistry, and has spent about fifteen years 
of his life in investigating that science. George 
Kirtland is living in Poland, engaged in farming 
and in the manufacture of ink. Mary was the 
wife of Richard Hall, for many years a merchant 
in Poland, and Nancy was the wife of Elkanah 
Morse, a manufacturer and miller of Poland. 



WALTER S. ARREL. 
One of the earliest settlers m what is now Ma- 
honing county was John A. Arrel, the father of 
the subject of this biographical sketch. He was 
born in Franklin county, Pennsylvania, Novem- 
ber 6, 1773. He married Margaret Stewart, 
who was a native of the same county, born in 
the same year, June 25th. He moved to Po- 
land township in 1800, and settled on the farm 
where Walter S. Arrel now lives, which he pur- 
chased in 1799. Mr. Arrel began his settlement 
in the woods, there being at that time only here 
and there a cabin with a small clearing, and he 
cleared up and improved a farm of two hundred 
acres, which, when he moved onto it, was covered 
by the original forest. Mr. Arrel was well and 
favorably known throughout the region, and was 
identified with many interests designed for the 
public good. He was the father of eight chil- 
dren — Martha, born May 6, 1798, died Novem- 
ber 29, i860; Margaret, November 10, 1800. 
David, May 6, 1803; James, November 19, 
1805, died August 16, 1857; John, January i, 
1808; Geo.ge, January 4, 1811, died March 14, 
1877; William, January 27, 18 14, died Novem- 
ber 14, 1878; Walter S., June 10, 1S16. Mar- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



75 



garet, David, John, and Walter are still liv- 
ing. John A. Arrel died August lo, 1848, and 
his wife February 10, 1833. 

Walter S. Arrel is the youngest child, and was 
born on the old farm where he still lives. He 
has always resided in the county, attending 
strictly to his business, and has accumulated a 
fine property, being the owner of six hundred 
acres of excellent land in one tract, besides other 
lands. He is also engaged to some extent in 
milling. In addition to extensive farming, which 
has been his chief occupation, Mr. Arrel has at 
different times dealt largely in stock and wool. 
His business capacity and enterprise are well 
known and need no comment. He is now 
erecting a fine brick residence in Poland village, 
to which he has removed, and where he will 
spend the remainder of his days in the enjoy- 
ment of his industry. 

In politics Mr. Arrel is a strong Republican. 
He was formerly a Whig, and when the Abolition- 
ists formed a party, and chose J. G. Birney as 
their candidate, he was one of seventeen citi- 
zens of Poland township who cast their votes 
for him. 

Mr. Arrel was married March 16, 1871, to 
Miss Martha Duff, daughter of Oliver and Jane 
(Tail) Duff. Her parents were married Novem- 
ber 16, 1826, and reared their family in Penn- 
sylvania. Oliver Duff was born in Pennsylvania, 
July 10, 1799, and died August 7, 1857. Mrs. 
Dufi was born m Ireland, July 4, 1805, and came 
to this country when two years old. Their chil- 
dren were William and Martha (twins), born 
February ii, 1828; Samuel, February 10, 1830; 
Robert, January 16, 1836; Alexander, Septem- 
ber II, 1840. William married Maria Henly, 
and resides in Hillsdale, Lawrence county, 
Pennsylvania; Samuel is unmarried; Robert 
married Maria J. White, and resides at Mount 
Jackson, Pennsylvania ; Alexander married Lizzie 
Poole, and lives in Cass county, Michigan. 



ELIAS KING. 

Elias King, son of John and Margaret (David- 
son) King, was born near New Lisbon, Colum- 
biana county, Ohio, April 15, 181 1. John King, 
the father, was a native of Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, and died in Allegheny county at 



the age of eighty-four. His children were Hugh 
D., William, John, and Robert (deceased), Elias, 
Thomas (deceased), Mary Ann (deceased), Mar- 
garet, and Annabella C, living in East Liberty, 
Allegheny county, Pennsylvania; Elizabeth (de- 
ceased), and O. J., a resident of Kansas. 

The boyhood of Elias King was spent in Alle- 
gheny county, residing there until he was twenty- 
two or twenty-three years of age, when he went 
to Lawrence county, in the same State. Al- 
though he only became a resident of Mahoning 
county in 1870, yet he has resided the most of 
his life in the Mahoning valley, his home previous 
to his removal to Ohio being only about a mile 
from the Ohio State line. He was brought up 
on a farm but received a good common school 
education, and was engaged in teaching school a 
short time. He was engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits for a couple of years in Edenburg, and was 
also engaged for some time in the manufacture 
of brooms. He operated a grist-mill near Eden- 
burg some two years. Finally purchasing a farm 
in Mahoning township, Lawrence county, Penn- 
sylvania, he moved and lived upon it for twenty 
years, whence he removed to Lowellville, Ohio, 
where he has since resided. After coming to 
Lowellville he was engaged in the drug business 
for five or six years, since which time he has 
been living a practically retired life. 

Mr. King's mercantile ventures were pecuniar- 
ily unfortunate, having passed through the panics 
of 1837 and 1873, yet he still possesses enough 
of this world's goods to allow him and his family 
to live in comfort and plenty the balance of their 
days. January 2, 1838, he married Eleanor 
Cavett, daughter of John Cavett, of Westmore- 
land county, Pennsylvania. She was born July 
27, 1820. The fruit of this union was two sons 
and two daughters, as follows: Margaret, John, 
Mary Jane, and Hugh Davidson. Mary Jane, 
now Mrs. Cowden, is the only survivor, and re- 
sides with her parents. Margaret died at the 
age of sixteen months, John when two years old, 
and Hugh Davidson at the age of fourteen years 
and nine months. Mrs. Cowden was born in 
Lawrence county, Pennsylvania, October 27, 
1846. January^, 1867, she became the wife of 
Dr. Isaac P. Cowden, a physician of Lawrence 
county, Pennsylvania, who died February 3, 
1877, in the thirty-fourth year of his age. Mr. 
King is a Republican in politics, and was former- 



76 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ly a Whig. During the early anti-slavery agita- 
tion he was an active Abolitionist. Mrs. King is 
an active and valued member of the Presbyterian 
church, and both are worthy members of the 
community, and esteemed by all who know 
them. 



NOTES OF SKTTI.EMENT. 

William Frame, a native of Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, was born June 29, 1776. He 
moved from Baltimore, Maryland, to Poland, 
Ohio, in 1827, and settled where Struthers sta- 
tion now stands. In early life he was a miller, 
and followed that vocation to some extent in 
Ohio, though his chief occupation was farming. 
He was for some time a justice of the peace in 
Poland. He died in 1842, aged sixty-six years. 
His wife, whose maiden name was Rebecca 
Marsh, a native of New Jersey, survived him 
about six months. They were the parents of 
three sons and six daughters: Eliza Allen, resid- 
ing in Kansas City, Missouri; George (de- 
ceased) Rufhanna, wife of Billius Kirtland, of 
Poland; Thomas (deceased); Janet M. Allen (de- 
ceased); William S. M. (deceased); Mary M. 
Meachani, residing in Iowa; Rebecca Meacham 
(deceased), and Catherine .'^llen, of Oberlin, 
Ohio. 

James Dickson, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honing county. The subject of this sketch is 
one of the oldest residents of Mahoning county, 
being now eighty-three years of age. He was 
born near Chambersburg, Franklin county, Penn- 
sylvania, October 28, 1798. His father, John 
Dickson, was a native of Ireland; came to Amer- 
ica when thirteen years of age, and settled in 
Pennsylvania with his parents. He came to 
Ohio in 1801, and settled in Poland township on 
the farm where his sons, James and George, now 
live. He was emphatically one of the pioneers 
of the Western Reserve, and did much toward 
the improvement of that part of the country in 
which he lived. He followed farming until his 
death, which occurred in 1826, his wife and 
eleven children surviving him.' Mrs. Dickson 
died in 1841. James Dickson was married in 
1831 to Miss Martha Gilbraith, daughter of Sam- 
uel (lilbraith, of Poland township. They have 
had six children — John A., Sarah, Ann M., 



Martha H., Samuel E., and James M. John 
and Martha are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Dick- 
son are the oldest couple in Poland township. 
They are both members of the United Presby- 
terian church. 

George Dickson, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Poland April 20, 
1808. He has always lived upon the home farm 
with the exception of two years, which he spent 
in Pennsylvania. Farming has been his chief 
occupation, though in connection with this he 
has been engaged in the manufacture of grain 
cradles quite extensively. He was married, in 
1833, to Miss Isabel McBride, daughter of John 
McBride, of Pennsylvania. They had nine chil- 
dren, six of whom are living. Mrs. Dickson 
died July 14, 1861, and he married, March 24, 
1864, for his second wife, Mrs. Esther G. Walker, 
daughter of John Gibson, of Youngstown, Ohio. 
Mr. and Mrs. Dickson are members of the 
United Presbyterian church. 

Samuel Smith, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in that township 
September 17, 1820. His father, Robert, was a 
native of Franklin county, Pennsylvania, and 
came to Ohio in 1802. He settled in Poland 
township, the country then being but little better 
than a vast wilderness. Mr. Smith, by dint of 
industry and economy succeeded in making a 
fine farm, and after a life of labor and usefulness, 
during which he saw much of the hard conditions 
of pioneer life, died in 1835, '" ^'^ seventieth 
year. He left a family of six sons and four 
daughters, besides his widow, who died in 1846. 
Samuel Smith has always resided upon the old 
home place, and in 1847, 'he next year after his 
mother's death, he married Miss Margaret Black- 
burn, daughter of Robert Blackburn, of Poland 
township. This union was blessed with two 
children, J. S. and Robert F. Robert is dead. 
Mr. and Mrs. Smith are members of the Pres- 
byterian church. Mr. Smith is a stanch Dem- 
ocrat and one of the substantial men of the 
township. 

J. A. Smith, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in said township Septem- 
ber 23, 1838. Robert Smith, his father, was a 
native of Pennsylvania and came to Ohio in 
1802 with his parents and settled where his son, 
the subject of this sketch, now lives. He died 
in 1S60, his wife and one child surviving him. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



77 



Mrs. Smith is still living with her son. Mr. 
Smith, our subject, was married, in 1862, to Miss 
Mary Ann Gault, daughter of Robert Gault, 
of North Jackson. 

David Arrel, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honing county, eldest son of John and Margaret 
(Stewart) Arrel, was born in said township. May 
6, 1803. He has always lived in the township 
and has witnessed many changes. He was mar- 
ried, in 1830, to Miss Martha Moore, daughter 
of VVilliara Moore, of Poland township. They 
have had four children, viz: William M., Mar- 
garet, John, and George F. Mrs. Arrel died in 
1872. She was a member of the Presbyterian 
church. Mr. Arrel is also a member of the same 
church. He has always been an active, indus- 
trious man and is now spending the evening of 
his days with his son. 

John Stewart, Poland township, Mahoning 
county, was born in Coitsville township that 
county. May 28, 1807. His father, John 
Stewart, was a native of Adams county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and came to Ohio the year it was admitted 
as a State, in 1802. He settled in Coitsville 
township and was engaged in farmmg until his 
death in 1833. John Stewart, his son, has 
resided in Mahoning county the most of his life, 
and has been engaged in business in various 
places. He was at Lowellville five years and at 
New Castle, Pennsylvania, one and a half years. 
At the latter place he was interested in millmg. 
He was united in marriage to Miss M. G. 
Walker, daughter of Captain Walker, of Poland 
township, on the 5th of January, 1836, and has 
had seven children, six of whom are still living. 
Mr. Stewart has filled many places of public 
trust within the gift of his county and township. 
He has been justice of the peace many years, 
and has also been a county commissioner. He 
was a colonel of militia in the old militia days. 
Mr. Stewart and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian church. 

James Davidson, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Beaver (now Law- 
rence) county, Pennsylvania, June 7, 1820. 
James Davidson, Sr., his father, was a native of 
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, and followed farming as 
an occupation. Mr. Davidson, our subject, 
came to Lowellville, Mahoning county, in Sep- 
tember, 185 I, and was for a long time engaged 
in the shoe business, though he is now engaged 



in farming. July 3, 1859, he married Miss Ro- 
vinah Nessle, daughter of Isaiah Nessle, and 
has four children — Maggie, Mary, Thomas, and 
Daniel A. Mr. Davidson's political affiliations 
are with the Republican party. He and his wife 
are both members of the Presbyterian church. 

Dr. Eli Mygatt, physician, Poland, Mahoning 
county, was born in Canfield, Mahoning county, 
Ohio, July 16, 1807. His father was Comtort 
S. Mygatt, an early and prominent resident of 
Canfield, who is spoken of elsewhere. Dr. My- 
gatt, the subject of this brief sketch, has resided 
all his life in what is now Mahoning county. He 
studied medicine at Canfield with Dr. Fowler, 
who is still living, and attended the Western 
Medical college at New York, and has a diploma 
from the Cleveland Medical school. He has 
had an extensive practice over the county in 
which he has resided for many years, beginning 
with Dr. Kirtland, at Poland. Dr. Mygatt was 
married in 1831 to Miss Lois Y. Kirtland, 
daughter of Jared Kirtland, of Poland, brother 
of Judge Kirtland, one of the earliest and most 
prominent of the pioneers of the Reserve. To 
Dr. Mygatt and wife were born six children — 
Jared P., Mary S., Sarah M., William L., Han- 
nah O., and Lucy E. Lucy and Mary only are 
living. Mrs. Mygatt died February, 1881. She 
was a member of the Presbyterian church, and 
a devoted Christian. In politics Dr. Mygatt is 
a Republican. 

Samuel McCullough, Jr., was born in Poland 
township in 1844. His father, Samuel McCul- 
lough, Sr., was born in the same township, where 
the family were early settlers, and has always re- 
sided on the old homestead. Samuel McCul- 
lough, Jr., is a farmer by occupation. He was 
united in marriage in 1874 to Miss Mary J. 
Stewart, daughter of Samuel Stewart, of Knox- 
ville, Iowa. They have three children, John E., 
George S., and Arthur R. Mrs. McCullough is 
a member of the Presbyterian church. In poli- 
tics Mr. McCullough is a conservative. 

William R. Cowden, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, a representative of one of the 
oldest families in the township, was born in Po- 
land township April 5, 1841. His father, Isaac 
P., was also a native of the same township, hav- 
ing been born and raised on the place where his 
son now lives. The grandfather, William Cow- 
den, was among the pioneers of that section, 



78 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



coming at a very early day from Pennsylvania. 
Isaac P. was a farmer, and died in 1869. Wil- 
liam R. Cowden has always lived on the old 
homestead, and has about one hundred acres of 
excellent land. He was married in 1867 to Miss 
Almira J. Glenn, daughter of William Glenn, of 
Beaver county, Pennsylvania. They have one 
child, Martha E., born May i, i858. They are 
both members of the Presbyterian church. 

John G. Cowden, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, an older brother o( the sub- 
ject of the preceding sketch, was born in Poland 
township, .\ugust 4, 1838, and still resides within 
a short distance of his old home. Mention has 
been made of his immediate ancestors in the 
former sketch, and it will not be necessary to re- 
peat it here. He was married October 10, 186 1, 
to Miss Mary Ann, daughter of John Smith, of 
Springfield township. They have two children, 
Nannie E., and Joseph. Mr. and Mrs. Cowden 
are members of the Presbyterian church. 

John L. Dobbins, insurance, etc., Poland town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in said town- 
ship July 15, 1831. His lather, Hugh Dobbins, 
was a native of Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania, and came to Ohio in 1804 with his par- 
ents and located upon the farm where the sub- 
ject of this sketch now resides. The Dobbins 
family were among the early pioneers of the 
county, and have taken a prominent part in the 
development and improvement of that part of 
the county. Hugh Dobbins died in 1866, leav- 
ing a family of five children surviving him. J. L. 
Dobbins is one of the active business men of 
Poland, being engaged in insurance, in farming, 
and is also a dealer m agricultural implements. 
He is unmarried. 

James S. Guthrie, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, one of the oldest citizens of 
the county, was born in Pennsylvania February 
28, 1800. His father, William Guthrie, was a 
native of Ireland, and emigrated with his parents 
to America in an early day. They settled in 
Pennsylvania, where they lived until 1804 when 
they moved to Ohio and located in Poland town- 
ship. They were indeed pioneers in the wilder- 
ness, there being when they arrived but two or 
three cabins within a circuit of several miles. 
William Guthrie was a weaver by trade, though 
he taught school considerably. He died in 1849. 
Farming has been the chief occupation of James 



S. Guthrie, though he has also been engaged a 
good deal in the woo! business. He was mar- 
ried to Miss Elizabeth Pauley in 1825. She is 
a daughter of John Pauley, of Coitsville town- 
ship. They have had seven children, three of 
whom are living. Mrs. Guthrie died nearly forty 
years ago. Mr. Guthrie, for one of his years, 
retains his vigor remarkably well. 

James S. Moore, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, one of the oldest residents of 
the township, was born in Franklin county, 
Pennsylvania, October 28, 1804. His father, 
William Moore, was a native of Pennsylvania, 
and emigrated to Ohio in 1805 and located in 
Poland township on the farm where his son, the 
subject of this sketch, now resides. The coun- 
try was then, of course, very new and all kinds 
of game plenty. William Moore died December 
13, 1854. James Moore has always followed 
farming with the exception of a few years during 
which he was engaged in the mercantile business. 
In 1838 he was married to Miss Hannah R. 
Truesdale, daughter of Hugh Truesdale, of 
Poland, and has had seven children, viz: Rachel 
A., William B., Hugh R., F. M., Mary E., 
Rebecca J., and Julia A. Mr. and Mrs. Moore 
are both members of the Presbyterian church, 
he having been an elder for many years. His 
sister, Rebecca Moore, still resides on the old 
home place, and has assisted in taking care of 
her parents and her brother's children. 

George Liddle, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Poland, March 5, 
1 81 2, on the farm where he now lives. His 
father, George, was a native of England and 
emigrated to this country in September, 1S06. 
He landed at Baltimore after a tedious passage, 
and at once came to Ohio and settled in Poland 
while his brothers settled in Boardman. He 
died in 1852. George Liddle, the subject of 
this notice, married in 1841 Miss Mary E., 
daughter of James Kennedy, of Coitsville town- 
ship. They have had twelve children seven of 
whom are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Liddle 
are members of the United Presbyterian church. 

A. D. McClurg, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Boardman town- 
ship, said county, in 1834. His father, Samuel 
McClurg, was a native of Pennsylvania, but came 
to Ohio when he was nine years old with his 
father, James, who came originally from Ireland. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



The family settled in Poland township, then 
Trumbull county. Samuel McClurg followed 
farming all his life and died on the 4th of July 
1877, leaving two children, A. D., and Richard 
J. Mrs. McClurg died in 1834. Mr. A. D. 
McClurg has always been a resident of the 
county, engaged in farming. He was married, 
in i860, to Miss Maggie A. Kerr, daughter of 
Matthew Kerr, of Boardman. They have had 
three children, viz: Ella J., Leila J., and Minnie 
B. Ella is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. McClurg 
are members of the Presbyterian church. Po- 
litically he ii a Rejiublican, and at present is 
county commissioner. 

B. F. Lee, farmer, Poland township, Mahon- 
ing county, was born in Poland township May 
7, 1 81 5. His father, Christopher Lee, was one 
of the earliest settlers in Poland township, com- 
ing there from Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, as 
early as 1805. He resided there until his death 
in 1835. He was a farmer by occupation and 
had a family of thirteen children. Mr. B. F. 
Lee was educated at Meadville, Pennsylvania. 
After being there three years he returned to Po- 
land and started the mstitution of learning 
known as the Poland institute. He was married 
September 17, 1845, to M'ss Pauline King, 
daughter of Amos King, of Erie county, Penn- 
sylvania. They have had nine children, seven 
of whom are living. Mr. Lee has been engaged 
in various occupations; has been a merchant, 
also a wool buyer, and is now interested in rail- 
roads. He is an active, enterprising man, and is 
always ready to help along a good work. He 
and his wife are members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

Carson R. Justice, M. D., druggist, Poland, 
Mahoning county, was born in Springfield town- 
ship, December 15, 185 1. His father, James 
Justice, came from Pennsylvania to Ohio in 
1 80 1, and settled in what was then Columbiana 
county, now Mahoning. He was thus one of 
the earliest of the pioneers. Dr. Justice studied 
his profession at Poland, and graduated at the 
Cleveland Medical college in 1878. Since then 
he has practiced at Poland m connection with 
his drug business. Dr. Justice is a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and politically is a 
stanch Republican. He is an active and enter- 
prising business man. 

Charles S. Haynes, merchant, Poland, Ma- 



honing county, was born June 9, 1830, in Vesnon 
township, Trumbull county. David Haynes, his 
father, was a native of Connecticut, whence he 
came to Ohio with his parents about 18 10. He 
died in 1870. His wife is still living with a 
daughter at Rock Island, 111. Charles S. 
Haynes has always lived in the section where he 
now resides. He was engaged in farming until 
1872, when he engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness at Poland. He was married in 1858 to Miss 
Lucy M. Meeker, daughter of William Meeker, 
of Boardman township, and has two children — 
Calvin T. and Lillie Belle, twins, born Decem- 
ber 10, 1863. In politics Mr. Haynes is a 
sound Republican. 

J. N. Cowden, M. D., physician, Poland 
township, Mahoning county, was born in 
Beaver county, now called Lawrence county, 
Pennsylvania, October 29, 1840, but was 
raised in Portage county, Ohio. His father, 
James S. Cowden, came from Washington 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1818, and located in 
Poland township, and was one of the pioneers 
of that section. He was a blacksmith by trade, 
though he was engaged in milling chiefly. Dr. 
Cowden studied medicine with E. A. Wilcox at 
Mt. Jackson, Pennsylvania, and attended lec- 
tures at the Ohio Medical college in 1862. He 
now has an extensive practice. He was married 
December 31, 1863, to Miss Julia M., daughter of 
Lyman B. and Eliza D. Dickerson, of Yates coun- 
ty. New York. They have had two children — 
James L. and Charles C. Dr. Cowden is a Free 
Mason, an Odd Fellow, and a member of the 
Sons of Temperance. Mrs. Cowden is a mem- 
of the Disciple church. 

J. D. Bard, M. D., physician, Lowellville, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Franklin county, 
Pennsylvania, August 4, 18 14. William Bard, 
his father, was a native of the same county, and 
was engaged in the law and in mercantile busi- 
ness for a number of years. He came to Ohio 
in 1 819, and settled in Liberty township, Trum- 
bull county, and followed farming as long as he 
was able. He died in 1875. Dr. Bard, the sub- 
ject of this sketch, studied medicine with Dr. 
John Loy three years, and attended lectures at 
the Cleveland Medical college. He began prac- 
tice in 1838 at Middletown, Ohio, but two years 
subsequently went to Winchester, Indiana, where 
he remained one year and then removed to Pu- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



laski, Indiana. There he resided between ten 
and eleven years. He then came back to Trum- 
bull county, Ohio, and continued in practice in 
Liberty township for twenty-three years. He 
then removed to Poland, where he still lives. 
He has been eminently successful in his prac- 
tice. November 2, 1841, he married Elizabeth, 
daughter (^f James and Elizabeth Miller, of 
Chester county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Bard was 
born February 4, 1816, in Washington city. 
They have had eight children, five of whom are 
living. Dr. and Mrs. Bard are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

A. G. Botsford, deceased, was born in New- 
town, Connecticut, in 1805. He came to Ohio 
about the year 1825, and located in Poland 
township. He was married September 16, 1828, 
to Miss Eliza Lynn, daughter of James Lynn, of 
Wheeling, West Virginia, and had a family of 
five children— J. E., of Louisville, Kentucky; 
J. S., of Youngstown, Ohio; T. G. of Poland; 
Mary, wife of H. O. Bonnell, of Youngstown; 
J. K., deceased. The father died in 1870, and 
the mother May 25, 1881. They were both 
members of the Presbyterian church. T. G. 
Botsford lives on the old homestead at Poland, 
but is engaged in business in Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. 

Henry Hubbard, manufacturer of tinware, Po- 
land township, Mahoning county, was born in 
Hartford county, Connecticut, May 26, 1805. His 
father, John Hubbard, was a native of the same 
State, and lived and died there. Henry Hub- 
liard came to Ohio in 1826, and located in the 
township where he has since lived. He has been 
for many years in the manufacture of tinware. 
He was married February 10, 1828, to Miss 
Eliza Ann Robinson, daughter of David Robin- 
son, of Glastonberry, Connecticut. They have 
had eight children, tour of whom are still living. 
Mrs. Hubbard died several years ago. Mr. 
Hubbard is a Congregationalist in belief and a 
Republican in politics. 

James Smith, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honmg county, was born in Franklin county, 
Pennsylvania, August 15, 1810. His father, 
Joseph, was a native of the same State, and in 
1827 moved to Ohio, and settled in Poland 
township, where he resided until his death. He 
died in January, 1841, leaving a family consist- 
ing of a wife and four children, to mourn his loss. 



James Smith has been engaged in various occu- 
pations, but is now living upon the old home 
place, and is evidently enjoying the evening of 
his days. In politics he is a Republican, and 
was formerly an anti-slavery man. He has al- 
ways been what might be termed a reformer. 
He has never married. 

Henry Heasley, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Youngstown, 
Ohio, November 1, 1845. His father was Henry 
Heasley, who was born in Westmoreland county, 
Pennsylvania, and came to Ohio about 1828, 
locating at Youngstown. He was a cabinet- 
maker by trade and resided at Youngstown 
twenty or twenty-five years, then moved upon the 
farm where his son now lives in Poland. He 
died in 1868, his widow and eight children sur- 
viving him. Henry Heasley, our subject, was 
married in 1874 to Miss Mary Clark, daughter 
of John Clark, of Poland. They have two chil- 
dren, Henry and Susan. Mr. and Mrs. Heasley 
are members of the Presbyterian church. 

William Cole, farmer, Poland township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Morristown, Lamoille 
county, Vermont, February 11, 1826. His 
father, Ebenezer Cole, was also a native of Ver- 
mont, and came to Ohio in 1832. He settled 
in Poland township, upon the farm where Wil- 
liam Cole, his son, now lives. He followed 
farming for about forty years, then went to 
Salem, where he died February 22, 1876, in his 
eighty-fifth year. He left a family of si.x children, 
three children having died previously. His wife 
died in 1847. Mr. Cole was in former years a 
Free-will Baptist preacher, though he followed 
farming chiefly in Ohio. William Cole has re- 
sided in Poland, upon the old homestead, since 
his boyhood. He has a farm of two hundred 
and thirty-two acres and is engaged in general 
farming and in the nursery business. He mar- 
ried, February 25, 1846, Miss Elnia, daughter 
of Mahlon Parritt, of Hillsville, Pennsylvania, 
and has had three children, viz: Olive, born 
December 10, 1846; Alice, June 22, 1848; Em- 
ma, March 17, 1850. Mrs. Cole died October 

9. 1853- 

John W. ^'an Auker, farmer, Poland town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Youngs- 
town, Ohio, August 10, 1834. Absalom Van 
Auker, his father, was a native of Delaware, and 
caii.e to Ohio about 1829. He located at 



■TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



8i 



Wooster, where he resided but a short time, then 
moved to Youngstown. He was a farmer, and 
died in 1836. John W. Van Auker, our subject, 
has always resided in the county, with the excep- 
tion of two years, during which he lived m Wis- 
consin. His principal occupation through life 
has been that of farming and mercantile busi- 
ness. He was married August 16, 1854, to Miss 
Silvia A. Jackson, of Mahoning county, daughter 
of Joseph Jackson. They have had seven chil- 
dren, six of whom are living. Mr. Van Auker 
was in the Nineteenth Ohio volunteer infantry, 
and saw nearly four years of service. He is a 
Republican, and is an active, enterprising man. 
Mrs. Van Auker is a member of the Presby- 
terian church. 

Samuel H. McBride, deceased, was born in 
Mercer county, Pennsylvania, April 29, 1809. 
His father, John, was a native of Washington 
county, and followed farming. He died about 
the year 1853. Samuel McBride came to Ohio 
in the spring of 1836, and located at Lowellville, 
Poland township. He was married in the fall of 
the same year — October 3, 1836 — to Miss 
Phebe Harris, daughter of Barnabas Harris, of 
Coitsville township. Mr. McBride engaged in 
the mercantile business at Lowellville, and con- 
tinued in it until 1875, when his health failed 
him, and, in consequence, retired from business. 
He died March 5, 1881, highly esteemed by all 
who enjoyed his acquaintance. He was a mem- 
ber of the United Presbyterian church. Mrs. 
McBride still resides in Lowellville, where she 
lived so many years with her late husband. She 
is the mother of three children — Leander, John, 
and Rose. 

John B. Nessle, merchant and postmaster, 
Lowellville, Mahoning county, was born in 1818, 
in Montgomery county. New York. He learned 
the shoemakers trade when about sixteen years 
of age, and in 1837 found his way to Lowell- 
ville, Mahoning county, (then Trumbull) Ohio. 
He followed his trade upwards of twenty years, 
subsequently went into merchandizing in which 
he still continues, and was appointed postmaster 
of Lowellville in 1861, which position he still 
holds. He was married in 1839 to Miss Jane, 
daughter of John Pettigrew, of Lowellville, the 
fruit of which union was eight children. His 
first wife dying in 1870, Mr. Nessle was again 
married, in 1873, to Mrs. Stevens, a daughter of 



Levi Beardsley, of Pennsylvania. Mrs. Nessle 
is a member of the Methodist church. Mr. 
Nessle is a Free Mason and a sound Republican. 
His father was Isaiah Nessle, a native of New 
York, who died in 1868 or i86g. 

James B. Brown, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Ireland, February 
20, 1820, and came to America with his parents 
in 1835 O"" 1836, landing at New York after a 
pleasant voyage of four weeks. The family went 
to Philadelphia, where they stopped about six 
weeks, and then went to Pittsburg where his 
father was engaged in merchandizing for four 
years. The family then removed to Ohio and 
settled in Poland township where the subject of 
this sketch still lives. His father died in 1849. 
Mr. Brown was married in 1855, to Miss Mary, 
daughter of James Buck, of Poland township, 
and has four children: Eliza, Jennie, Willie, and 
Emma. 

Simon D. Brown, miller, was born in Trum- 
bull county, Ohio, March 9, 1842, though he has 
always lived in Mahoning county, with the ex- 
ception of two years. In his boyhood he 
was quite delicate, but as he grew older 
he gained in physical strength and is now a 
healthy man. He is now engaged in milling at 
Lowellville, Mahoning county, and does an ex- 
tensive business. He married a daughter (Clara) 
of John Reed, of Poland township, October 2, 
1879, and has one child, Ralph, born October 
22, 1880. Mr. Brown's politics are Republican. 

Robert B. Martin, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, February 19, 1835. His father, 
H. R. Martin, came from Pennsylvania in 1841 
and settled in Springfield township, where he 
lived until his death, September 8, 1879. He 
was a tailor by trade in Pennsylvania, but after 
his removal to Ohio he followed farming. R. 
B. Martin was married, in 1862, to Miss Rachel, 
daughter of James McCord, of Lawrence coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania. They had three children, viz: 
Mary D., Alice J., and James C. Mr. Martin is 
a Democrat in politics. 

H. R. Moore, M. D., physician, of Poland, 
Mahoning county, was born in said township 
January 24, 1842. His father, James Moore, is 
still living in the township, and is among its 
oldest residents. Dr. Moore studied medicine 
with Dr. Truesdale in Poland, and graduated at 



TRUMBULL AND NL\H0N1NG COUNTIES, OHIO. 



the Ohio Medical college, Cincinnati, after two 
years' study, in 1866. He has succeeded in 
building up a good practice in the Mahoning val- 
ley and is well liked. He was married in 1866, 
to Miss Maggie Woodruff, daughter of George 
Woodruff, of Poland. They have had three 
children — Lizzie, Kittie, and George C. Kittie 
is deceased. Dr. Moore and wife are Presbyte- 
rians in their religious faith. He is a Greenback- 
er in politics. 

James G. Cavett, farmer, Poland township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, May 25, 1804. He came 
to Ohio in 1854, and located in Poland upon 
the farm where he still lives. He was engaged 
in the tanning business in Pennsylvania, but 
since coming to Ohio has followed farming. 
He was married in 1830, to Miss Amanda Smith, 
of Franklin county, Pennsylvania. They have 
had three children — Jane M., John H., and 
Elizabeth, the last named being deceased. Mrs. 
Cavett died in 1867. She was a member of the 
Presbyterian church, as is also her husband. 

John H. Cavett was born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, December 2, 1835, ^"d 
came to Ohio in 1854, with his parents. He 
married April 7, 1857, Miss Elizabeth Rigler, of 
Pennsylvania. They have two children, Lizzie 
E. and James B. Mr, and Mrs. Cavett are 
members of the Presbyterian church. He is a 
firm Republican in politics, has been township 
clerk five terms, and is held in high esteem by 
his fellow-citizens. 

J. H. Davidson, merchant, Poland, Mahon- 
ing county, was born at Shippensburg, Pennsyl- 
vania, June 22, 1826. Samuel Davidson, his 
father, came from Pennsylvania in 1831, and 
located in Coitsville township, where he engaged 
at farming. He died November 2(, 1871, at 
the age of seventy-nine years, six months and fif- 
teen days. His wife died June 5, 1871, aged 
seventy years, eight months and twenty-eight 
days. They were both members of the Presby- 
terian church, and he was one of the first to 
move in the organization of the Free Presby- 
terian church at New Bedford, Pennsylvania. J. 
H. Davidson has been engaged in various occu- 
|)alions; worked at blacksmithing several years, 
and was engaged in prospecting for oil and coal 
from 1859 to 1874. He went to Poland in 
1866 and started in merchandizing in 1S75. He 



was married in 1853 to Miss Emily Clark, 
daughter of Henry Clark, of Hubbard, and has 
two children, Mary E. and Charles H. Mr. and 
Mrs. Davidson arc members of the Methodist 
church. Mr. Davidson enlisted, April 27, 1864, 
in the One Hundred and Seventy-first Ohio 
National guard, serving one hundred days, when 
he was mustered out. 

Dr. Ale.xander C. Elliott, dentist, Poland, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Beaver county, Penn- 
sylvania, December 20, 1831, and came to Ohio 
in 1865 and located in Poland township. He 
studied dentistry at Rochester, Pennsylvania. 
Dr. Elliott was in the war of the Rebellion four 
years — three years in the First Pennsylvania 
cavalry, and one year in the First Pennsylvania 
veteran cavalry, and was wounded in the right 
leg at St. Mary's church, near Malvern Hill, Vir- 
ginia. He was married in 1866 to Miss Isabella, 
daughter of John Young, of Columbiana county, 
and has one child, Clarence, born August 3, 
1868. Dr. Elliott and his wife are members of 
the First Baptist church of Youngstown. 

Leander D. Robinson, farmer, Poland town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Lawrence 
county, Pennsylvania, in 1843. His father, 
Samuel, was a Pennsylvanian, a farmer by occu- 
pation, and died in 1858. L. D. Robinson 
came to Ohio in 1874, and is engaged in general 
farming. He married, in 1S66, Miss Annie, 
daughter of Robert Graham, of Poland town- 
ship, and has one child — Lillie May. He was 
in the One Hundred and Fifty-fifth regiment, 
Ohio infantry, in the rebellion, and also in the 
One Hundred and Thirty fourth Pennsylvania. 
He and his wife are both members of the Pres- 
byterian church. 

R. W. Weller, M. D., physician, Lowellville, 
Mahoning county, was born in Beaver, now Law- 
rence, county, Pennsylvania, May 17, 1838. His 
father, John Weller, is a native of New Jersey, 
and is still living at the advanced age of eighty- 
one years. Dr. Weller studied medicine at the 
University of Wooster, graduated in 1876, and 
has since been in practice at Lowellville. He 
built up a good practice, and is well liked. He 
was first lieutenant in the Pennsylvania " round 
head " regiment (One Hundredth); enlisted Au- 
gust 27, 1861, and was mustered out October 
15, 1864. He is now a mei.iber of the Grand 
Army of the Republic, and is also a Free Ma- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



83 



son. He married, in 1865, Miss Lavenia Mon- 
roe, daughter of Joel Monroe, of Lawrence 
county, Pennsylvania, and has two children — 
John and James. Dr. and Mrs. Waller are 
members of the Presbyterian church. 



CHAPTER in. 

BOARDMAN. 



PHYSICAL FEATURES. 

The surface of this township is gently undu- 
lating, and in many portions nearly level. There 
are some hills, but none that are very steep. 
The soil is mostly fertile, and well adapted to 
a variety of crops. The western and north- 
western part of the township is watered by Mill 
creek and its tributaries. Yellow creek flows 
for over two miles through the southeast of 
Boardman, thence entering Poland township 
near the village. Altogether, the natural aspect 
of this township is one of beauty, with just 
enough of hills and valleys, fields and wood- 
lands, to please the eye by presenting to its gaze 
a varied and lovely landscape. A ride from 
Boardman center in either direction, north, 
south, east, or west, takes the traveler through 
as pleasant a farming region as can be found in 
this part of the State. Although a considerable 
portion of the land still remains uncleared, there 
are several large productive farms, with neat and 
pretty houses, large and convenient barns, show- 
ing that the owners are men of activity and 
thrift. The southwestern quarter of the town- 
ship is the least improved, and contains but few 
inhabitants. Here stands the Big Oak, on a 
path believed by the old settlers to have been 
made by deer. This oak is a stern monarch of 
the foresc, five and a half feet in diameter, and 
seventeen feet in circumference three feet from 
the ground, as has been ascertained by actual 
measurement. It has fifty feet of trunk and 
does not rise above the neighbormg trees, or it 
might have been prostrated by the wind years 
ago. Probably this venerable tree was a sturdy 
youth at the time America was discovered! It 
is still at some distance from any improved 
land. 



In the northern part of the township, on the 
farm of J. B. Kistler, and in that vicinity, there 
are extensive coal deposits, which it is believed 
may become a source of profit to their owners 
ere many years have elapsed. 

VILLAGES. 

Properly speaking Boardman has no village. 
Boardman center, the only point which bears 
any resemblance to one, contains about a dozen 
houses, a carriage shop, and a post-office. It is 
in a delightful situation, and if it should grow in 
future years, no pleasanter location for a town 
could be found. A small portion of Poland vil- 
lage on the eastern border is included within this 
township. 

INDUSTRIES, ETC. 

Boardman is essentially a farming community. 
In former years there have been a few stores, 
some tanneries, several saw-mills, but never any 
manufacturing enterprises of much importance; 
and to-day farming is the principal business, and 
almost the only business carried on in the town- 
ship. The only store in the township is that 
kept by Uriah Stafford on the south line of the 
township at Steamtown, which village, however, 
is all included in Beaver township except the 
store and post-office. 

Stewart Snyder has a carriage and blacksmith 
shop at the center. 

Elias Eyster, wagon-maker, has a shop one 
and a half miles north of the center, ^nd near 
him is the blacksmith shop of Cyrus Simon. 

Joseph Miller is also a blacksmith at Zedaker's 
corners, in the shop formerly occupied by John 
Westbecker. 

William J. Hitchcock and W. Moherman each 
have steam saw-mills in the Boardman woods. 

George Simon has a steam saw-mill neat his 
residence. In former years he manufactured 
shingles and barrel staves in quite large quanti- 
ties. Now he saws lumber only. 

EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

Elijah Boardman, accompanied by six able 
men, among whom were Nathaniel and Eben- 
ezer Blakely, and a man named Summers, came 
to this township in 1798. Mr. Boardman was a 
resident of New Milford, Connecticut, and was 
a member of the Connecticut Land company. 
He spent the entire summer here, making sur- 
veys and establishing land-marks, while the men 



84 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



whom he had brought with him were making 
clearings and preparing for other comers. These 
pioneers brought two yoke of oxen, which they 
left at Youngstown to be wintered. Five of the 
number returned to Connecticut on foot; the 
other, one of the Blakelys, remained and be- 
came a permanent settler. 

The township was named for Elijah Board- 
man. A stone set by him to mark the center of 
the township was unearthed a few years ago, 
and his initials, E. B., discovered upon it. 

From 1800 to 1811 settlers came in rapidly, 
the majority coming from Connecticut. A few 
natives of Pennsylvania also found their way 
hither. 

In 18 10 the population of the township was 
about 850, nearly as large as it is at the present 
writing. 

Upon the township records, containing a list 
and description of ear marks in the year 1806, 
there appear the following names, showing that 
these men were property holders here at that date: 
Abner Webb, Linus Brainard, William Drake, 
Haynes Fitch, Eli Baldwin, George Stilson, John 
Davidson, Joseph Merchant, Oswald Detchon, 
Eleazer Fairchild and his sons — John, Amos, 
and Daniel — Elijah Boardman, Francis Dowler, 
Richard J. Elliot, Peter Stilson, Samuel S.van, 
David Noble, Warren Bissel. 

The same book also shows the following 
names at the dates given : 

rSoy — Isaac Blackman, James Moody. 

1808 — Beach Summers, David Mtch, Ethel 
Starr. 

1809 — Andrew Hull, Herman Stilson, Jacob 
Frank, Elijah Deane. 

1813 — Simeon Mitchell, Eliakirn Stoddard, 
John Northrop. 

Francis Dowler, and his son John, the former 
a native of Ireland, settled in this township in 
1801. 

John and Charlotte Davidson settled near the 
center in 1805. They were forty days on their 
way hither from Connecticut. 

Haynes Fitch and his sons Jedediah and Da- 
vid came in 1804, and settled on the farm where 
Alexander Gault now lives. 

Ethel Starr settled on the west of Indian 
creek about 1807. He lived to be quite aged. 

Isaac Blackman was an early comer, who set- 
tled on the Poland road one-half mile from the 



village. In 1808 he built a good frame house, 
which is still standing, being now used as a sta- 
ble. Afterwards he sold out and moved to Po- 
land. 

Eliakim Stoddard came about the year 1804, 
and settled on the south road, one and a half 
miles from Boardman center. 

Major Samuel Clark came in 1810, and settled 
where his son William L. Clark now resides. 
He was one of the first postmasters, and used to 
bring the mail from Poland once a week in his 
pocket. He served as justice of the peace in 
1828 or 1829, and was a worthy man and a prom- 
inent citizen. He was commissioned lieuten- 
ant, captain, and afterwards major of militia. 
His wife was Anna Northrup. She, like the 
major, was a native of Connecticut. Major 
Clark died in 1847 in his sixty-first year. Mrs. 
Clark died in i860, aged sixty-seven years. 

Richard J. Elliot came in 1804 or 1805. He 
was a member of the Legislature in 1808 and 
1809. At his last election he received every 
vote in his district, an honor probably never 
accorded to any other candidate either before or 
since He resided on the farm cleared by Wil- 
liam Drake. 

Oswald Detchon, a native of England, was 
among the very first settlers. He located three- 
fourths of a mile east of the center. 

The Stilson brothers, Peter and George, came 
in 1800. Peter Stilson settled on the south side 
of the road leading to Canfield, near the pres- 
ent residence of Eli Reed. He had four sons, 
Herman, Anson, Luther, and Philip, all of whom 
lived here several years. 

David Noble came in the year 1804 or 1805. 
He settled on the south road about a mile from 
the center. 

David Woodruff, a very early settler, located 
on what is now the J. B. Kistler farm in the 
northern part of the township. After his death 
his sons sold out and went West. 

Captain Warren Bissel previous to 1806 settled 
one-half mile west of Poland, on the road lead- 
ing to Canfield. 

Henry Brainard came in 1800 and settled 
about one mile from the center on the road run- 
ning west. He had several sons, one of whom, 
Dr. Ira Brainaid, was probably the first and only 
settled physician in this township. Dr. Brainard 
practiced here a few years, then moved to Can- 




c-l'iiu.d'^ J2/i f4-/^yf^a^c^ 




4d.(^h. J2/{f>i//t^^i/. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



8S 



field. The children of Henry Brainard were 
Solomon, George, Linus, Ira, and Henry, and 
three daughters who became Mrs. Dowd, Mrs. 
Nathaniel Blakely, and Mrs. Hermon Stilson. 

William Drake made a clearing in the south- 
western quarter of the township in 1800. In a 
small log hut on that farm occurred the first 
wedding in Boardman. A man named Cum- 
mings married Drake's sister. There also was 
born the second female child born in the town- 
ship, that child being the widow Allhands, of 
Youngstown township, now deceased. 

James Stall settled quite early in the northeast- 
ern part of Boardman, on the eastern line of the 
township. 

Eleazer Fairchild was an early settler. He 
located on what is now Eli Reed's farm. He 
had several sons, Eleazer, Amos, Daniel, and per- 
haps others. 

Among those who came to Boardman as early 
as 1801, and from that time until 1810, were 
several families by the name of Simon, from 
Washington county, Pennsylvania. Of these, 
probably Adam Simon came first. He settled 
on the farm now owned by Michael Simon. 
Soon afterward came Jacob Simon. Michael 
Simon came a few years later with several sons 
and daughters, all of whom settled in the north- 
ern part of the township. Among his children 
were Adam, Peter, Jacob, Abraham, and Heniy. 

There were two Jacob Simons, Jacob, the son 
of Michael, being known as "Schoolmaster Jake" 
— thus distinguishing from " Mill Creek Jake," 
who settled farther to the westward. All of the 
Simons brought up large families, and many of 
their descendants still reside here. 

George Zedaker and his son John came from 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 1802 or 
1803. J. P. Zedaker, a son of John Zedaker, now 
lives upon the farm where they located. John 
Zedaker was a soldier in the War of 181 2, and 
was the last survivor in Boardman of the soldiers 
of that war. He died several years ago. 

Isaac Hankins, an early comer, settled on 
Benjamin McNutt's farm, in the northern part 
of the township. About the year 1815 he sold 
his farm to "Preacher" Hewett and moved away. 

George Pope, an early settler, also located on 
a part of the McNutt farm, which he bought 
from Hankins. Later he moved to the north- 
western part of the townshii), and settled near 



Mill creek. He attained the age of ninety- 
eight years. He was a native of Virginia. 

Other early settlements were made in the 
Simons neighborhood by a man named Feester, 
Martin Dustman, who settled near the north 
line of the township, and Henry Dustman, on 
the farm now owned by Samuel Mover. 

Andrew Hull settled quite early on the farm 
now belonging to Thomas Matthews. 

John Northrup came about 181 1. He was a 
carpenter by trade. He resided at the center 
for a short time, then moved south of there, and 
afterwards went West. 

John Twiss came in 1818, Charles Titus in 
1819. The latter is still living. 

Amos Baldwin, a native of Connecticut, 
moved here from Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 181 1, and settled on Mill creek. His 
son, Asa Baldwin, born in 1798, still resides in 
Boardman. Amos Baldwin moved to Trumbull 
county, where he died in 1850 at the age of 
eighty-si.x. He brought up seven sons and two 
daughters. Three of his sons, John, Garry, and 
Asa, settled in Boardman. 

Asa Baldwin, a brother of Amos, came in 
181 1, or perhaps a year or two before. He set- 
tled on the Agnew farm. 

Thomas and Elizabeth Agnew settled on the 
farm where their son, Ralph Agnew, Esq., now 
lives, in the year 1824, coming here from Penn- 
sylvania. 

Henry Foster, a wheelwright, was a resident of 
the township for many years. He came here 
with his father previous to 1808. 

Elijah Deane, an early settler, settled near 
Foster. 

Philip and Catharine Stambaugh settled in the 
northeastern corner of the township in i8ir, 
where their son Philip is still living. He was 
born February 16, 1796, and is the oldest man 
in the township. Mr. Stambaugh, Sr., took up 
about two hundred acres of land in the four 
townships, Boardman, Youngstown, Coitsville, 
and Poland, paying for it at the rate of $7 and 
$8 per acre. 

Eli Baldwin came from Connecticut in 1801, 
being then about twenty years of age. He acted 
as the agent of Elijah Boardman, who owned 
the greater part of the land in this township. 
Mr. Baldwin was a very prominent man, active 
in all public affairs. He was the first captain of 



86 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



militia, the first justice of the peace, and, it is 
believed, the first postmaster in the township. 
He represented this district in the Legislature 
several terms, and served as associate judge one 
term. He settled in the northern part of the 
township in 1809 or 18 10, where he passed the 
remainder of his days. 

About 1 80 1 came the DeCamps, the Shields 
and Woodruff families, elsewhere mentioned. 
All these settled in the northwestern part of the 
township. 

Abraham Osborn settled near DeCamp at an 
early date. 

Josiah Walker settled on Yellow creek in 
1803. His sons live on the same farm now. 

Nathaniel Blakely was one of the first set- 
tlers, a schoolmaster, and a justice of the peace 
in early days. 

Isaac Newton settled at Boardman center in 
1811. 

William and Pamelia Fankle came about the 
year 1816, and settled in the southeast of the 
township, one mile from the Poland line. Three 
of their five children are yet living, Silas in this 
township, and Edward and Delia F. in the west. 

David Porter, and his wife, Mary Walker, both 
natives of Adams county, Pennsylvania, settled 
near the southern line of the township, about 
one mile from the southeast corner, in 181 5. 
The log house where they lived is still standing — 
one of the few remaining mementoes of early 
days. They had five children, three of whom 
are living — David, their youngest, in this town- 
ship, Mrs. Martha M. Slaven and Harvey Porter, 
in Kansas. David Porter, Sr., was killed by a 
falling tree, June 19, 1819, thus leaving his wife 
and little children to provide for themselves, and 
undergo the harsh experiences of pioneers. 
I )avid occupies a portion of the original farm. 

FIRST ELECTION. 

The first township meeting for the election of 
officers was held April 7, 1806. Haynes Fitch 
was chosen chairman, Henry Brainard and 
David Woodruff clerks. The following officers 
were chosen for the year : Eli Baldwin, township 
clerk ; Henry Brainard, George Stilson, and 
Adam Simon, trustees ; Eleazer Fairchild and 
Michael Simon, overseers of the poor ; James 
Hull and Abner Webb, fence viewers : Nathaniel 
Blakely, lister and appraiser ; Jedediah Fitch, 
appraiser ; Isaac Hankins, Nathaniel Blakely, 



and David Fitch, supervisors of highway : David 
Fitch, constable ; and James Moody, treasurer. 

Previous to the above date the township had 
been included in Youngstown. It was organized 
as Boardman township in 1805. 

JUSTICES OF THE PE.\CE. 

The first justice was Judge Eli Baldwin. His 
successors have been Nathaniel Blakely, James 
Moody, Asa Baldwin, John Woodruff, Parkus 
Woodruff, Shelden Newton, and Ralph Agnew, 
who holds the office at present. 

PRIMITIVE TAXES. 

The amount of taxes levied in Boardman, in 
1803, was $17.47. Taxes could not have been 
very oppressive that year. We give a list of the 
taxes and tax-payers for 1803: 

BOARDMAN, RANGE TWO, TOWN ONK. 

Amount Amount 

of tax. ^of t.-i.\. 

Brainard, Sinas $ o 40 Dustman, Henry $ o 10 

Brainard, Solomon. . . 15 Fisher, Benjamin 20 

Blakesley, Ebenezer . . 61 Fairchild. Eleazer i 83 

Blakesley, Nathaniel . 62 McCorkle, Archibald . . 20 

Baldwin, Caleb 333 Stephens, John 47 

Baldwin, Eli 24 Scroggs, Allen 40 

Cook, Isaac 24 Simon, Michael i 77 

Canada, James 30 Stilson, George 07 

Comyns, Joseph 20 Stilson, Peter 16 

Chamberlain, Noah . . 41 Stall, James 62 

Davis, Ebenezer 40 Simon, Andrew 50 

DeCamp, Lewis 62 Somers, Beach 30 

Dice, Edward 56 Thornton, John, Jr 81 

Dice, William 40 McMahan. John 16 

Detchon, Oswald i 30 



Total. 



$17 47 



EARLY INCIDENTS AND ADVENTURES. 

From the writings of Shelden Newton, Esq., 
for whose assistance in preparing this township 
history the writer desires to express the heartiest 
thanks, are gathered many of the facts and inci- 
dents which follow. 

Seventy years ago Boardman was wild and 
desolate ; there were no good roads, and all of 
the low ground was covered with logs, or cordu- 
roy crossings. Sugar was worth forty cents per 
pound, and was a luxury to be used sparingly or 
not at all. The crop of maple sugar in 181 1 was 
almost a total failure; but the following season 
about forty thousand pounds were made in the 
township, as was ascertained from figures 
gathered on election day— the first Monday in 
April — of that year. 

In December, 1805, George Stilson and a boy 
name Whitney were at work in the forest getting 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



out timber with which to build Stilson's tavern, 
when suddenly they heard the sharp report of a 
hunter's rifle, and were astonished to see a bear 
rushing almost directly toward them. Stilson 
had a worthless cur lying on his coat near by. 
Now, he thought, was excellent opportunity for 
training his dog. According the dog was urged 
on, and ran directly in front of the bear and at- 
tempted to seize it. But he soon found himself 
in the close embrace of the huge animal. The 
dog gave two or three sharp yells, and then his 
voice was heard no more. Stilson seized his 
axe and advanced toward the bear. As he came 
within a few feet of him, the bear, no doubt 
divining his intentions, dropped the almost life- 
less dog and started for his assailant. Stilson 
took to his heels, droppmg his axe in the excite- 
ment of the moment, and soon bear and man 
were making lively circles around a large poplar 
tree. The boy Whitney stood on the fallen tim- 
ber and shouted, "Run, Uncle George; run or 
he will catch you." Just at this moment, when 
the case looked hopeless, and Stilson's breath 
became quite short, the hunter's dog came up 
and seized the bear by a hind leg, thus diverting 
bruin's attention from his intended prey. The 
hunter, Donaldson, soon arrived upon the scene 
and shot the bear. A team was brought to the 
place, the dead animal was hauled to the center 
and dressed, his meat weighing three hundred 
pounds. Everybody who wished could obtain 
a piece of the meat. 

Boardman was considered the best of hunting 
ground for deer in those early days. Curtis 
Fairchild, a noted huntsman, killed one hundred 
and five deer in one season, besides trapping 
thirteen wolves. The skin of a deer was worth 
seventy-five cents; the meat, nothing. A bounty 
of $6 each was paid by the county for the scalps 
of wolves. 

Bears and wolves were numerous and trouble- 
some. One night in December, i8i i, Eliakim 
Stoddard was aroused about ten o'clock by the 
squealing of his hogs. Seizing his axe he went 
to the pen and there saw a huge bear attacking 
his best hog. Stoddard was intending to creep 
up unnoticed and strike the bear with his axe, 
but the bear was on the alert for intruders and 
at once rushed at him. Stoddard retreated to 
the house, while the bear returned to the pen, 
seized the hog, drew it across the road and 



across a small stream to a point about ten rods 
from the house and there proceeded with his 
meal undisturbed. The hog was a long time in 
dying, and of course its cries were hideous. Stod- 
dard did not wish to leave his wife and children 
alone while the bear remained in the vicinity. 
What was to be done? Nobody lived within a 
mile of him. He resolved to await events; and, 
about twelve o'clock, was rejoiced to see the bear 
depart into the forest. He then fastened up the 
house as securely as possible, and proceeded to 
the center to arouse the neighborhood. As soon 
as It was daylight a party of men with dogs and 
arms started in pursuit of the bear, which they 
chased all through the day, and until after sun- 
set. The hunters took lodging at the nearest 
house, and the next day commenced the chase 
anew. After leading them a long race the bear 
was finally treed and despatched, though it took 
three shots to bring him down. 

THE WAR OF l8l2 

drew from Boardman every man able to do mili- 
tary service. I"ew, if any in the township, volun- 
teered, but all were drafted. 

Three drafts were made, each taking one-third 
of the militia. Regarding these times, Shelden 
Newton, Esq., writes as follows concerning the 
second draft: 

The company was again called out. Captain Bissel and a 
Government officer were present. Hie orderly sergeant, 
Isaac Blackman. with his spontoon — its handle stained red 
with poke-berry juice— paraded the company, marching them 
around in single file, calling on the members to fall into 
ranks. When he had them all in, he brought them up be- 
fore the tavern ■' front face. " The officers of the company 
and the Government officer held a few moments' consulta- 
tion. The captain then ordered the company to call off in 
the usual form, "right, left; right, left," to the end. Then 
the Government officer told them they must march the ne.\t 
day at two o'clock, with three days' rations in their knap- 
sacks. In this draft were David Noble, Asa Baldwin, 
Thomas Moody, and a score of others. 

From that time until the hour of starting there was no 
sleep in the neighborhood. It required the constant vigi- 
lance of all to get the men ready. Cooking had to be done, 
knapsacks made, clothing prepared, etc. All were ready 
and left at the appointed time. In a few short days came 
another express, saying that the enemy were then crossing 
the lake, and were in sight of Cleveland. This was on Sat- 
urday, and every man must start on Monday. The captain 
and all other officers had gone in the second draft. Thus 
tor two nights Boardman was left entirely destitute of men. 
Not an able-bodied man was left. I now recollect of only 
two men who were too old to do military duty. They were 
]ohn Davidson and Henry Brainard. However, the scare 
on Lake Erie proved a false alarm, and the last draft were 
ordered home. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Charles A. Boardman went out as adjutant 
under Colonel Rayen. He was afterward trans- 
ferred to another regiment. William Ingersol, a 
chum of Boatdman, went with him, and was 
soon appointed forage master, and proved to be 
very efficient in obtaining supplies. 

At the battle of the Peninsula, near Sandusky, 
three of Boardman township's soldiers were 
volunteers : Jacob Frank, George Moherman, 
and John Dowler. Frank was a stout, couiage- 
ous man, ready to deal blows right and left, 
regardless of his own safety. Moherman was as 
reckless a warrior as ever amied at an Indian. 
Dowler, a William Penn in principle, would not 
choose to harm any living being ; but when the 
shrieks of the women and children of the fron 
tier almost reached his ears, he did not hesitate 
about the rightfulness of his action, but shoul- 
dered his rifle and started. These men were 
under Captain Cotton, of Austintown, an efficient 
officer. There were two hundred men, all volun- 
teers, in that skirmish with the Indians. When 
they had entered the peninsula, it was found 
that they had plenty of business on their hands. 
Indians rose from the grass on all sides, fighting 
became general, and still more Indians appeared. 
Moherman was then in his element. Frank 
proceeded too far from his companions, and 
found himself alone and surrounded by savages. 
He was shot through the arm and commenced 
to run. There was a large block-house on the 
peninsula, which was the means of saving many 
lives. The cajHain ordered a retreat, which had 
already become quite general, and was being 
carried out in a very straggling manner. Mo- 
herman, a leader in the fray, obeyed quite reluc- 
tantly. When he had retreated a few steps he 
found a dead Indian, and determined to have 
his scalp ; but other Indians dashed toward him, 
and he ran into the high grass and escaped. 
When a few rods away he stumbled over the 
body of a wounded red man not yet dead. Now 
was his opportunity ; he seized the Indian by 
the hair, and with one circle of his knife cut 
loose the scalp, caught it in his mouth and tore 
it from the head, and hurried on as rapidly as 
possible. Wiien some distance further on, he 
came across Abraham Simon, one of his neigh- 
bors from Youngstown, mortally wounded. 
Moherman olTercd his assistance, but Simon 
told liini to take care of himself. Moherman, 



however, resolved to save his comrade, and, 
stooping down, placed the arms of the wounded 
man about his neck, took his own gun in his 
hand, and hastened again toward the block- 
house, bearing Simon upon his back. Near the 
house he came to a fence, and while he was 
climbing it an Indian shot Simon through the 
head, killing him almost instantly. Moherman 
gained the retreat in safety, still carrying the 
scalp, of which ever after he was very proud. 
He brought it home with him, and afterward 
sold it to a Philadelphia merchant for ten 
dollars. 

When the retreat commenced Dowler caught 
an Indian in the act of taking a scalp from one 
of his comrades. The man was dead and the 
savage was proceeding to scalp him before load- 
ing his gun. The Indian ran at once, directly 
away from Dowler, who fired upon him, and, not 
wishing to know that he had killed an Indian, 
turned and fled in safety to the block-house. 

Times were hard, and the soldiers and their 
families were obliged to undergo many bitter e.\- 
periences and privations, even after the close of 
the war. 

From 1814 up to 1820 money was exceedingly 
scarce. Wheat brought twenty-five cents per 
bushel in paper money. Butter was five cents 
per pound, and eggs four cents a dozen in "store 
pay." Three year old steers sold for $10 per 
head, cash. People drank rye coffee and had 
no tea. They manufactured every article of 
clothing except leather for shoes. This had to 
be bought, consequently many went barefooted a 
large portion of the year. Deer skins were 
good, serviceable articles, and half of the men 
wore buckskin breeches. Charles A. Boardman 
made a fine pair of pantaloons from this ma- 
terial. After the skins were ])repared and dressed 
he obtained some kind of blue liquid with which 
he stained them, thus making the best and most 
showy garments in the country. He wore them 
for two years or more, and during that time 
taught school for $2.40 per month and " found 
himself." 

CHURCH HISTORY. 

At this date (i88r) there are four religious so- 
cieties and three church edifices in the township, 
two of them being at the center, and the other 
in the northern part. The Universalists held 
meetings in 1820, but never built a church. A 




ieiize'7^-^ \//e^t-'Y-C'yi-::::Z) 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



89 



dozen years ago there were four churches at 
Boardman center — Protestant Episcopal, Pres- 
byterian, Methodist and Disciple. Now only 
the Methodists and the Episcopals maintain 
their organizations. The buildings which be- 
longed to the other denominations are devoted 
to other than religious purposes. 

ST. JAMES' CHURCH, PROTEST.\NT EPISCOPAL. 

This church, the oldest in the diocese, dates 
back to July 20, 1809. At that date was issued 
a petition urging that the inhabitants of Board- 
man, Canfield, and Poland meet August 12, 
1809, for the purpose of forming a regular Epis- 
copal society, and the organization was efTected 
the same year. We give below the names of the 
signers of this paper : 

Turhand Kirtland, Ensign Church, Charles 
Chittenden, Josiah Wetmore, Samuel Blocker. 
Joseph Piatt, Ethel Starr, Francis Dowler, John 
Liddle, John Dowler, Eleazer Fairchild, Ziba 
Loveland, Arad Way, Eleazer Gilson, Russell F. 
Starr, Eli Piatt, John Loveland, Lewis Hoyt, 
Joseph Liddle, Jared Kirtland. For a time only 
laymen ofificiated in the church, with occasional 
assistance from traveling missionaries. In March, 
181 7, the society was organized as a parish, ac- 
cording to the canons, and received the name 
St. James' Episcopal church. Following is a 
list of missionaries and rectors who have labored 
in this church; First, Rev. Jackson Kemper, 
1814, afterwards bishop of Wisconsin; succeeded 
by Revs. Jacob Morgan Douglas, Roger Searle, 
Philander Chase, afterwards bishop of this dio- 
cese and later of Illinois, M. T. C. Wing, after- 
wards a professor in Kenyon college, John L. 
Bryan, Joshua L. Harrison, Intrepid Morse, 
Joshua T. Eaton, William Grandville, C. F. 
Lewis, Joseph Adderly, C. S. Doolittle, A. T. 
McMurphy, Abraham J. Warner (longest service 
of any, 1864-78), C. F. Adams. The last 
named served but one year, and left on account 
of illness. At present the church is without a 
rector. It numbers fifty-si.K members, twenty- 
four coiiimunicanls. 

The school-house and private dwellings were 
used as places of worship until 1828, when the 
present church edifice was completed. In 1824 
the church had sixty members. In 1^53 a 
movement was made to build a parsonage, and 
successfully carried out a year or two later. 

There has also been connected with this parish 



a Ladies' Missionary society, the organiza- 
tion of which dates back nearly fifty years. 

BETHLEHEM CHURCH. 

This is a union church belonging to the two 
societies, the Lutherans and the German Re- 
formed. Through the efforts of the Simons 
families and others a log house was built at a 
very early date and used as a place for worship 
for many years. The first preacher was a man 
named Stough. Later Rev. Henry Hewett, who 
married a daughter of Michael Simon, was the 
pastor. This church is located on the north 
line of the township, one mile from the eastern 
corner. 

The first graveyard of the Germans was on the 
farm of Adam Simon. After the first church 
was built a cemetery was established near by, in 
which the remains of Henry Dustman were the 
first to be interred. 

Regular services are held alternately by the 
two societies, but the membership of each is quite 
small. The present house was erected in 1845. 
The log house was erected as early as 1810, and 
was the first house of worship built in the town- 
ship. 

THE CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH, 

called also the Presbyterian church, was estab- 
lished by Rev. John Field, a missionary from 
Connecticut, May 28, 1813. In 1849 the 
organization ceased to exist, on account of re- 
movals to other parts of the country and the 
death of several of its members. The first ofifi- 
cers of this church were Samuel Swan and 
Charles A. Boardman, church committee, and 
Charles A. Boardman, deacon. 

Rev. Warren Taylor was the only settled min- 
ister. He was installed in 1844 and remained 
one year. Other preachers were either mission- 
aries or pastors of other congregations who 
preached here a part of the time. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

At what date this organization began the his- 
torian is unable to learn. Oswald Detchon was 
one of its prime movers and most prominent 
members. The first meetings were held in a log 
school-house upon his farm. Dr. Adams, of 
Beaver, was among the early preachers. The 
present house of worship at the center was prob- 
ably built about 1835. Among those whose 
means and influence contributed largely toward 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



building, it may be mentioned the following 
names: Thomas Agnew, Major Samuel Clark, 
and Josiah Beardsley. 

THE DISCIPLES. 

A church of this denomination was organized 
about the year 1854 by Herman Reeves, an 
evangelist. A church building was erected some 
two years later. The membership was never 
large, and through deaths and removal of mem- 
bers, the organization ceased to e.xist some ten 
years ago. The house was sold to the township 
and is now used as a town hall. The preachers 
in this church were Revs. Reeves, Ephraim Phil- 
lips, John Errett, D. J. White, and James Calvin. 

AN EARLY SOCIETY. 

An organization known as The Female Tract 
Society of Boardman, Can field and the Western 
Reserve, held its first meeting February 18, 
181 8. It contained a large number of members 
in all parts of the Reserve, but has been extinct 
for many years. 

CEMETERIES AND BURIAL PLACES. 

The first burials in the township were made 
upon the farm of Adam Simon. The German 
cemetery was soon afterward laid out. 

One or more interments were made near Po- 
land, at an early date, opposite where the house 
of William Hultz now stands. 

The cemetery near the center was laid out in 
1805, and the first burials there were in that 
year or the year following. 

THE FIRST SCHOOLS. 

About as soon as the pioneers were established 
in their new homes, preparations were made for 
the education of their children. A log school- 
house, the first in the tovvnship, was built a few- 
rods west of the center, probably in 1803 or 
1804. Nathaniel Blakely was the first teacher. 
Mrs. Mitchell, wife of Simeon Mitchell, who 
settled at the center in 18 10, also taught several 
terms. Boardman was favored wilh excellent 
teachers in early days. In place of the log 
building a two story frame school house was 
erected in 1809. This was called the academy, 
and was used for school, church, and other meet- 
ings for thirty years or more. It is still stand- 
ing one and a half miles east of the center, 
where it was moved years ago, and is now used 
as a stable. 



A log school-house was built by the Simons 
almost as early as the one at the center. Ger- 
man alone was taught for several years, but Eng- 
lish was gradually substituted. Jacob Simon 
taught this school for some years, and was after- 
wards succeeded by his sons and the sons of 
Adam Simon. The house was situated on the 
farm of the latter. 

The first schools were all private, or tuition 
schools. 

TAVERNS. 

George Stilson built the first frame house in 
the township in 1805, on the spot where Jesse 
Baldwin's house now is. Here he kept tavern 
for about twenty-five years. He was succeeded 
by Perry Baldwin, Herman Crane, Samuel Elliot, 
Alex. McKinnev, and Arthur Patrick. Since 
the death of Mr. Patrick in i860 Boardman has 
been without a hotel. 

Joseph Merchant came from Connecticut in 
1804, and soon afterward settled one-half mile 
south of the center. About the year 1814 he 
began keeping tavern about eighty rods east of 
the center. In 1823 Asa Baldwin carried on 
the same business at the same place for about 
one year. Mr. Baldwin's sign was an original 
one, and had the merit of attracting attention 
and customers. One side read as follows : 

Nothing on this side, 
Not much on the other; 

and the opposite side, 

Nothing in the house, 

Or in the barn either. 
The house was quite popular; from which it 
may be inferred that the "advertising dodge" 
didn't tell the exact truth. 

POST-OFFICES. 

The first, and until recently, the only post- 
office in Boardman, was that at Boardman 
center. The exact date of its establishment can 
not be ascertained, but it was in existence in 
iSio. • The first postmaster and his successors 
were as follows: Eli Baldwin, Major Samuel 
Clark, William IngersoU, Samuel Swan, H. M. 
Boardman, Arthur Patrick, S. O. Stilson, and Ed- 
ward Davidson, the present incumbent. Board- 
man now receives four mails, one from each 
direction, daily. 

A ^)ost-office named Woodworth was estab- 
lished a few years ago, in the southern part of 
the township. Uriah StafTord is the present post- 
master. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



THE FIRST MILLS. 

The first grist-mill in Boardnian was a small 
affair. It was a log building, but was soon re- 
placed by a good one. It was situated on Mill 
creek, near Lanterman's falls, and was known 
as Baird's mill. It was run for many years by 
Thomas Shields. Eli Baldwin afterwards owned 
it. The flood of 1843 carried it almost entirely 
away. This was one of the first mills in the Re- 
serve, and probably the very first. 

The first saw-mill was built one and a half 
miles from the center, in a southeasterly direc- 
tion, on a small tributary of Mill creek. Elijah 
Boardman and Richard Elliot were tt-.e proprie- 
tors. It was probably built in 1808. DeCamp's 
was the next mill erected, on a small stream 
in the northwestern corner of the township. 
Neither of these saw-mills was run very long. 

Eli Baldwin had a saw-mill, a grist-mill, and 
a cloth-mill upon Mill creek, at a later date. The 
saw-mill was destroyed by fire and the grist-mill 
torn down and removed years ago. 

The Zedakers built a cider-mill in 1818. 

A saw-mill built by the Walkers' is still stand- 
ing but unused. 

THE FIRST STORE 

was opened in a room of Stilson's tavern by 
Charles Boardman and William Ingersoll. They 
continued in the business but a short time, how- 
ever. Later, Calvin Brainard kept store on the 
corner where G. E. Lanterman's house now 
stands. 

DISTILLERIES. 

Many people operated small stills but none 
were of much importance, except the distillery 
of Eli Baldwin. He commenced distilling in 
1809 or 1810 and conducted the business for 
several years, manufacturing considerable quan- 
tities of liquor. This distillery was located near 
the north line of the township on the Youngs- 
town road. 

TANNERY. 

A tannery was built by James Moody just 
north of the center. He came in 1804 and be- 
gan working at his trade in 1805. At first he 
ground bark by rolling a heavy stone over it, 
afterwards introducing improvements. He con- 
tinued in the business over forty years and 
was considered a good workman. His buildings, 
— house, barn, mill, and bark-house — were first 



made of logs and replaced later by frame build- 
ings. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

The first white child born in the township was 
James D. McMahon, born October 31, 1799. 
For his history see Jackson township. 

Horace Daniels was born in Boardman in 
March, 1800. His parents came in 1799. In 
T823 he drove the first stage westward on the 
old Pittsburg & Cleveland stage line. 

The first sermon was preached in the old 
school-house at the center in 1804, by Rev. Mr. 
Badger, a Presbyterian missionary from Con- 
necticut. 

The first blacksmith was Andrew Webb, who 
came about 1804. In company with Samuel 
Swan he made scythes and sold them for 
$2 each. Eastern manufactured scythes were 
then worth $2.50. Webb first had a shop at the 
center, and afterwards moved one mile west 
where he continued working at his trade for some 
years. 

George Brainard, a blacksmith, came in 181 2, 
and worked at his trade in a shop near the cen- 
ter for some thirty years. He sold out and went 
to Austintown. 

John Davidson was probably the first shoe- 
maker in the township. 

Elijah Deane, who settled on the farm now 
owned by James Hughes, was also one of the 
first shoemakers. 

The first cheese made in this township, and 
perhaps the first made on the Western Reserve, 
was made by Peter Stilson in 1804. He carried 
a few hundred-weight to Pittsburg and sold it 
there. 



Biographical Sketches. 

THE BOARDMAN FAMILY. 
Henry M. Boardman, son of Elijah and Mary 
Anna Boardman, was born in New Milford, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, January 4, 1797. 
Elijah Boardman, for whom the township of 
Boardman was "amcd, was a member of the 
Connecticut Land company and owned extensive 
tracts of land in different portions of the Western 
Reserve. He came here in 1798 and spent the 
summer establishing land-marks and making sur- 



92 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



veys, but did not settle. Henry M. Boardman 
married, December 13, i8i8, Sarah Hall Ben- 
ham, daughter of Rev. Benjamin Benham, pas- 
tor of St. John's parish at New Milford, and the 
next year removed with his wife to Boardman. 
He located at the center of the township, first 
occupying the house which is now the dwelling 
of his son, Frederick A. This house had been 
erected two years before by Isaac Newton, who 
at first occupied and cultivated land for the pro- 
prietor, Elijah Boardman. The house was con- 
structed entirely of oak, and so strongly and sub- 
stantially was It built that after the lapse of sixty- 
five years it is apparently as firm and substantial 
as ever. Mr. Boardman occupied this dwelling 
but a short time. In 1820 he built and occupied 
the house on the corner opposite, in which he 
resided until his death. 

The life of Mr. Boardman, like those of nearly 
all the pioneers, was of a commonplace character. 
From the very nature of their circumstances and 
surroundings there could be little in their careers 
which would furnish a biographer with materials 
for anything more than a brief and simple narra- 
tive. Their lives were a continuous round of 
toil, often of deprivation, and sometimes of suf- 
fering. He who looks for exciting interest, spirit, 
or variety in the "simple annals" of the pioneers 
must look in vain. Mr. Boardman was a farmer 
by occupation and he did not neglect his busi- 
ness for other things. But his principal charac- 
teristic was his interest in the moral and religious 
welfare of the community and his devotion to liis 
church. The religious element in his nature 
seems to have been predominant. 

The next year after his settlement in Board- 
man (in 1820), to supply the existing want of 
pastoral services, he united with a few neighbors 
in organizing a parish at the center under the 
title of St. John's church. Of this parish he was 
clerk for twenty-five years, and as lay reader, 
licensed by the bishop of Ohio, he conducted 
public services both at Boardman and at Can- 
field, generally twice every Sabbath. For many 
years he was senior warden of the parish, and as 
a delegate he represented it at the annual dioce- 
san convention. He took an active part in the 
erection of the church building, drawing with his 
own teams much of the timber used in its con- 
struction, and he contributed in addition to this 
materials to the value of more than $500. Mr. 



Boardman was well equipped for an efficient 
worker in the church, which he was, being a 
man of more than ordinary ability, of excellent ■ 
principles, and of deep, earnest piety. Possessing 
a retiring .disposition he always declined appoint- 
ments to offices of honor and trust, although 
frequently urged to accept them. The only office 
which he was induced to accept was that of cap- 
tain of light infantry. This position he filled for 
some time and he performed the duties with 
such general acceptance that it was determined 
to promote him to the rank of major-general. 
But he at once declined the proffered honor. He 
frequently acted as arbiter in the settlement of 
disputes and disagreements, and took great 
pleasure in being instrumental in effecting an 
amicable settlement. 

Mr. Boardman's death was the result of an 
accident received while getting into his buggy. 
He died December 17, 1846, two days after the 
accident occurred. His wife survived him many 
years, dying February 8, 1870, aged seventy- 
four. They were the parents or four boys, viz: 
Frederick A., Elijah G. (who died May 11, 1853), 
William ]., and Henry W., residing in Cleveland, 
the former an attorney. 

Frederick A. Boardman, who is prominently 
identified with the interests of Mahoning county, 
was born in Boardman, September i, 1820, and 
has always resided at the center. He has been 
extensively engaged in agricultural pursuits, but 
is at present practically retired from active pur- 
suits. He was married March 20, 1848, to 
Mary Ann Williams, who was born in New 
Milford, Litchfield county, Connecticut, Novem- 
ber 3, 181 7. Mrs. Boardman's father, Jehiel 
Williams, was a noted physician of New Milford, 
where he practiced for more than fifty years, and 
died at the age of over eighty years. Mrs. 
Boardman is a zealous and efficient member of 
St. John's church. Henry Mason Boardman, 
the only child of Mr. and Mrs. F. A. Boardman, 
was born June 18, 1849. He was graduated at 
the Polytechnic institute of Troy, New York, 
in the class of 1871. He is married and resides 
in Brooklyn, New York, engaged in the drug 
business. 




i^a. 'i (f7^W^i<?-?«;:o 




'U . {^/^c.yC^c/^,a,iJ^ 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



93 



HON. SHELDEN NEWTON. 

Shelden Newton, son of Isaac and Olive 
(Warner) Newton, was born in Washington, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, February 24, 
1804. When he was seven years of age (in 
181 1) his father removed with his family 10 
Boardman, now Mahoning county, settling at 
the center. Isaac Newton worked land for 
Elijah Boardman for some twelve years, engaged 
in dairying, and erected the dwelling house in 
which Mr. F. A. Boardman now lives in 181 7. 
In 1824 he moved onto a farm one and one- 
half miles south of the center, where he resided 
until his death. He died January 31, 1850, 
aged eighty years. His wife, Olive, died Octo- 
ber 9, 1830. They were the parents of two 
sons, the subject of this sketch, and Timothy, 
who died m Boardman, in December, 1846. 
Shelden Newton's advantages in early life for the 
acquirement of an education were of the most 
meager character, attending the ordinary district 
schools a few months in the winter only till he 
was sixteen. Being the elder of the two sons, 
the larger share of the work upon the farm fell 
to his lot. October 16, 1836, he married Rachel 
Hahn, of Boardman, born December 5, 1814. 
After his marriage he resided in Poland some 
three years, and worked by the month for Dr. 
Kirtland. In 1845 he removed to Boardman 
center, and has always since resided there, en- 
gaged in farming, save when attendmg to his 
public duties, of which he has had his full share. 
He was elected justice of the peace in 1840, 
and held the office for ihirty-six consecutive 
years, with the exception of an interval of only 
eighteen months. He was elected county com- 
missioner of Mahoning county in 1867, and 
again in 1875. He was elected to the State 
Legislature in the fall of 1873 on the "removal" 
ticket, and served on several important com- 
mittees, being a member of the committee on 
new counties. State library, and roads and turn- 
pikes. 

Although Mr. Newton had few school privi- 
leges when young, there are few men uf his age 
better informed on current topics or endowed 
with a more accurate and retentive memory. 
Politically, he is a strong Republican. Mr. and 
Mrs. Newton have two children living. North 
and Olive. The former married Marietta Kirk, 
and resides at Boardman center, and the latter, 



now the wife of Hiram Thorn, resides in Brook- 
lyn, New York. The oldest son, Warner, served 
in the Union army during the whole period of 
the war of secession, and gave his life for his 
country. Enlisting at Youngstown in April, 
1861, in the Nineteenth Ohio volunteer infantry 
for three months, he afterwards went out as pri- 
vate with the Second Ohio cavalry. He was 
promoted to captain of company E, and was 
wounded March 29, 1865, at the battle of Five 
Points, near Richmond, Virginia, and died April 
9, .865. 



JACOB H. BALDWIN. 
The subject of this sketch, Mr. Jacob H. 
Baldwin, was born at Queensburg, Washington 
county. New York, October 13, 1792. His life, 
until 181 1, was spent here and in Morceau, 
Saratoga county. In November of 181 1, in 
company with his father and other members of 
the family, he came to Boardman (then in 
Trumbull county), Ohio, where the remainder of 
his life was spent. In 1815 he married Miss 
Florinda Walter, daughter of David Walter, of 
Palmyra, Portage county; and m April, 1816, 
removed to Baldwin's Mill, Youngstown, and 
engaged in partnership with his uncle, Eli Bald- 
win. They had for neighbors and customers 
Thomas Packard, John Woods (father of Dr. 
Woods), Benjamin Ross, William Smith, James 
Taylor, Joshua Kyle, Robert Kyle, Wendell 
Grove, Jedediah Fitch, Camden and Paine 
Cleveland, James Hillman, Dr. Henry Manning, 
and others. In 1819 he was appointed by James 
Mackey, John H. Patch, and William Bushnell 
(county commissioners) collector of taxes, in 
which capacity he visited every tax-payer in the 
county. In 1820 he was again appointed 
county collector, and also was appointed by 
John Harmon, of Zanesville (who was marshal 
of Ohio), to take the United States census. This 
he did, finding the population of Trumbull — con- 
sisting then of thirty-five townships — to be, in 
all, 15,542, including Warren and Youngstown. 
In 1 82 1 he was appointed county auditor by the 
General Assembly of Ohio, the office having 
been created at that time, in which office he 
continued for seventeen years, having been 
elected by the people eight times — two years 
each term. During much of this time his family 



94 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



resided in Youngstown and Boardman. In 1840 
he was appointed by the court of common 
pleas appraiser of real estate for taxation. He 
began this work at Poland in the month of May, 
and finished in October, having visited person- 
ally every farm in the county, and appraised all 
the small lots in the towns and villages. During 
these years his acquaintance throughout Trum- 
bull was necessarily greater than most men, and 
the memory of those days and the events of the 
time were indelibly impressed upon his mind. 
In 1842 he was elected a member of the Legis- 
lature of Ohio, and served one year in the 
House of Representatives. In 1844 he was 
elected a Presidential elector, and cast his vote 
for Clay and Frelinghuysen for President and 
Vice-President. In the year 1850 he was 
appointed by Jones, of Mount Vernon, marshal 
of the State of Ohio, to take the census 
in district one hundred and forty-three, 
north division of Trumbull county, which 
included the townships of Champion, South- 
ington, Farmington, Bristol, Bloomiield, Meso- 
potamia, Greene, Mecca, Gustavus, and 
Kinsman. James Hoyt had the remainder of 
the county in his division. Afterwards he was 
appointed assistant assessor in Warren, and 
served a part of the term, when he resigned, and 
James Hoyt was appointed his successor. 



SETTLEMENT NOTES. 

S. P. Blackman, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Poland in 1S44. 
His parents, Heman and Phyllis Blackman, 
were residents of Poland. Heman Blackman 
came to this county from Connecticut in 1807. 
Mr. Blackman has always followed farming. He 
was married in 1866 to Kate A. Shaffer, daugh- 
ter of George Shaffer, of Springfield township. 
They have four children, born as follows: Fan- 
nie, May 23, 1868; Asa, February i, 1870; Per- 
ry, July 29, 1871; Clark, December 3, 1874. 
Mr. Blackman is a Republican. He has resided 
in Boardman township since i866. 

George Baldwin, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Boardman town- 
ship, September 30, 1825. His father, Garry 
Baldwin, came here from Fort George, Washing- 
ton county. New N'ork, in 181 1. His mother, 



Harriet Meeker, was a native of New Preston, 
Connecticut, and came here in 1823. Garry 
Baldwin died September 7, 1869, aged sixty- 
nine. Mrs. Baldwin is still living, at the age of 
seventy-five. George Baldwin lives upon the old 
farm. He has one hundred and forty-two acres, 
and does a thriving business. His land is good, 
his home is pleasant and pretty. He built a large 
barn in 1880, 36x50 feet, by far the best in the 
township. Mr. Baldwin was married January 31, 
1856, to EiizT Detchon, born in this township 
January 11, 1833. They have three children: 
Hattie M., born January 3, i860; Henry J., born 
November 27, 1864; Stanton, born August 16, 
1869. Mrs. Baldwin is a member of the Disci- 
ple church. Mr. Baldwin is one of our most 
successful farmers, and occupies a high social 
position. In politics he is a Republican. 

Captain Charles C. Chapman, farmer, Board- 
man township, Mahoning county, was born in 
Ellsworth, April 27, 1833. He worked at car- 
riage trimming ten years; was ten years a mer- 
chant at Youngstown; enlisted in November, 
1862, in <ompany G, One Hundred and Twenty- 
fifth Ohio infantry, and served until December, 
1865. He was promoted from a private to sec- 
ond lieutenant, then to first lieutenant, and after- 
wards to captain. He was in some of the 
severest engagements of the war, including the 
battles of Chickamauga, Atlanta, Kenesavv 
mountain, etc. Mr. Chapman bought the farm 
on which he now resides, in 1877. Mr. Chap- 
man was married in 1857 to Julia Campbell, 
daughter of William Campbell, of Trumbull 
county. She died in 1867, aged about thirty- 
five years. He was married a second time, in 
187 1, to Mrs. Sophia E. Thomas of Youngstown. 
They have one child, Ada A., born September 
13, 1874. Mrs. Chapman is a member of the 
Methodist church. Mr. Chapman is a Republi- 
can. He held several local offices while in 
Youngstown; was constable, city marshal, and 
deputy United States marshal. He is a member 
of the Odd Fellows. 

Henry B. Dowler, farmer, Boardman town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Boardman 
township February 29, 1820; hence has had 
his birthday but fifteen times, at this date. His 
grandfather, Francis Dowler, a native of county 
Cavin, Ireland, was among the earliest of those 
who took up land in this country. He came 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



95 



here in 1801, as did also his son John, the father 
of Henry. Francis Dowler died in 1846, aged 
ninety-six years. John Dowler died in 1839, aged 
fifty-four. His wife was Nancy Packard. They 
had seven sons and three daughters; four sons 
and two daughters are still living, viz: William 
F., Henry B., Francis A., Thomas J., Nancy P. 
(Kentner), and Betsey A. Mr. H. B. Dowler, 
excepting from 1847 to i^STi while he was in 
the South engaged in making and selling fanning- 
mills, has always resided in the county. He 
resides upon the farm which his grandfather 
settled. Mr. Dowler has never married. He is 
an old-style Jacksonian Democrat, a prominent 
farmer, and a respected citizen. 

Norman Davidson, farmer, Boardman town- 
ship, Mahonmg county, was born in Washington, 
Litchfield county, Connecticut, August 7, 1803. 
His parents, John and Charlotte Davidson, came 
to Boardman township in 1805; and settled in the 
midst of the forest near the center of the town- 
ship. John Davidson had two sons and a 
daughter; of these Norman Davidson is the only 
survivor. He is one of the few old settlers now 
living. Mr. Davidson has a fine farm of a hun- 
dred and forty-five acres, with neat and tasty 
buildings. He was married, January 13, 1831, 
to Eliza Brainard, who was born June 23, 1805, 
in Washington, Litchfield county, Connecticut. 
They have had three children, one of whom is 
living. Sarah A., born May 2, 1833, died De- 
cember 3, 1834; Charlotte, born February 2, 
1836, died July 29, 1864; Edward, born January 
4, 1839, is married and resides at home. Mr. 
and Mrs. Davidson have been members of the 
Episcopal church for many years. They bear an 
excellent reputation in the community where 
they have so long resided. Mr. Davidson is a 
thorough Republican. He has held several local 
offices, such as assessor, trustee, justice, etc. 

Alexander Gault, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Jackson township, 
May 26, 1838. His father, John Gault, still liv- 
ing in Jackson, is among the old citizens. 
His grandfather, who died in the War of 
181 2, was among the early settlers in this 
county. Mr. Ale.xander Gault resided in Jack- 
son until 1867, when he came to Boardman 
and purchased the farm on which he now is. He 
was a soldier in the Rebellion : enlisted in Sep- 
tember, 1862, and served until November, 1865, 



and saw some of the severest battles. He was 
in company F, Forty-first Ohio volunteers. Mr. 
Gault was married in 1867 to Miss Anna E. For- 
sythe, a native of Muskingum county, this State. 
They have one child living, one deceased — 
Mary Sylvia, born August 30, 1870; Robert J. 
S., born July 20, 1873, died June 21, 1880. 
Mr. and Mrs. Gault are members of the United 
Presbyterian church. Mr. Gault is an earnest 
Republican. 

James Hughes, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Pembrokeshire, 
South Wales, November 10, 1831. He came to 
this country in 1840 with his parents, who settled 
in Palmyra, Portage county, Ohio. There Mr. 
James Hughes remained until 1847, when he 
came to Youngstown and engaged in mining. 
In 1872 he bought the farm on which he is at 
present. He has an excellent farm of one hun. 
dred and eighty-one acres, and does a large bus- 
iness. Mr. Hughes was married December 31, 
1857, to Lydia H. Jackson, daughter of John 
Jackson, of Youngstown. Mrs. Hughes died No- 
vember 19, 1876, in the thirty-ninth year of her 
age. They had six children, all living — John 
K., Minnie, Weltha, Dan, Sammie, and James; 
all reside at home. Mr. Hughes is a Repub- 
lican and a member of the Presbyterian church. 

G. E. Lanterman, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mal^oning county, was boin in Austintown town- 
ship March 22, 1841. His father, John Lan- 
terman, was a native of this county, and his 
grandfather, Peter Lanterman, among the earli- 
est settlers in Austintown. Mr. Lanterman was 
left an orphan at the age of two years by the 
death of his father. His mother died when he 
was sixteen, and from that time forward he acted 
for himself. In 1861 he went West to Virginia 
City, thence crossing the plains to California; he 
was seven months on the way. He spent three 
years in the West, then returned to this county, 
and after living four years in Austintown he 
bought the farm on which he now resides. He 
has one hundred and fifteen acres of excellent 
land with the best of buildings and improve- 
ments; he deals considerably in stock. Mr. 
Lanterman was married in 1864 to Miss Eliza- 
beth Kistler, daughter of John B. Kistler, of 
this township. They have six children living, 
one deceased: German U., Bettie A., John S., 
Mary I. (died when about six weeks old), Jennie 



96 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



D., Blanche G., Frederick A. Mr. Lanterman 
is a straight-out Democrat and an active business 
man. His wife is a member of the Lutheran 
church. 

Richard J. McClurg, farmer, Boardman town- 
ship, was born in Boardman June 22, 1840. 
He is the son of Samuel McClurg, a native of 
Allegheny county, Pennsylvania. Samuel Mc- 
Clurg settled in this county quite early and lived 
here until the time of his death, bringing up a 
family of three children, of whom two, Richard 
and Andrew, are living. Richard lives on the 
home farm, which contains one hundred and 
eighty acres of excellent land with good buildings 
and improvements. Mr. McClurg was married 
in 1866 to Miss Kesia McCuUough, of Spring- 
field. They have two children — George, born 
July 25, 1871; Samuel H., born November 16, 
1878. Mr. McClurg and wife belong to the 
Presbyterian church. Mr. McClurg is a sound 
Republican. He is a prominent citizen ; has 
been township trustee, etc. 

Thomas Matthews, farmer, Boardman, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Allegheny county, 
Pennsylvania, August 17, 1813. He came to 
this county when nine years of age with his par- 
ents, Thomas and Jane (McClurg) Matthews. 
Mr. Matthews bought his present I'arm about 
thirty-eight years ago. He has one hundred and 
sixty-five acres of excellent land; is engaged in 
mixed farming and sheep raising. He was mar- 
ried, in 1842, to Cynthia Shannon, daughter of 
Major John Shannon, of Pennsylvania, a soldier 
of the War of 1812. They have three children 
living and three deceased — William S., born Oc- 
tober 30, 1843, now a successful physician at 
Youngstown; Bruce S., May i, 1846; Charles W., 
March 31, 1851; Ellen J., February 20, 1855, 
died April i, 1855; Ellen D., June 2, 1857, died 
December 16, 1863; Cora C, December 10, 1858, 
died January 29 1866. Mr. and Mrs. Matthews 
are members of the Methodist church. Mr. 
Matthews is a Republican and an esteemed 
citizen. 

Eli Reed, farmer, Boardman township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Qanfield township 
in 1816. His |)arents, James and Mary (Tur- 
ner) Reed, came to this county in 1806, Mr. 
Reed from Washington county, Pennsylvania, 
and Mrs. Reed from New Jersey. They brought 
up a family of five children, three of whom are 



yet living, two sons and a daughter. James 
Reed died October 13, 1854, in his sixty-sixth 
year. Mary Reed died April 8, 1863, in her 
eighty-fourth year. Adam and Margaret Turner, 
grandfather and grandmother of Eli Reed, set- 
tled in Canfield in April, 1806, coming from 
New Jersey by team. Adam Turner was born 
September 5, 1763, and died September 3, 1837. 
Margaret (Mizner) Turner was born June 11, 
1766, and died October 28, 1840. Eli Reed 
was married, in 1843, to Margaret Thomas, of 
Canfield township. They have five children 
living, four deceased, including a daughter that 
died in infancy — .'\manda M., born July 24, 
1845, now the wife of Samuel Steele of Youngs- 
town; Alvin T., September 27, 1847; Sibyl C, 
August 15, 1849, died October 24, 1S51; Florus 
A. and Flora C, July 4, 1853, Florus dying Oc- 
tober 9, 1853, and Flora May 18, 1855; Hattie 
E., September 29, 1856, is the wife of Almon 
Alderman, Evart, Michigan; Oscar W., March 
i3> 1859; Clinton E., June i, 1864. Mr. Reed 
has been a Republican since the organization of 
the party. He has been assessor two terms and 
trustee three terms. He is a worthy and re- 
spected citizen. 

Michael Simon, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Boardman town- 
ship July 13, 1820. His father, .\dam Simon, 
was one of the earliest settlers in the county, 
having come here from Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, about the year 1800. He was 
father of six children, three of whom are living, 
viz: Andrew, Reinhart, and Michael. The two 
first named reside in Wood county. Michael 
Simon was married, in 1846, to Rosini Gentholtz, 
a native of Wittenberg, Germany. They have 
seven children living, five deceased, viz: Ezra 
A., born March 26, 1848; Lenora C, born 
March 26, 1848; Cornelius A., born February 
25, 1850; Catharine E., born December 15, 
1851, married Mr. Stempel, died September 19, 
1873; Rebecca M., born April i, 1853; Caroline 
S., born May 5, 1855; Julius A., born October 
24, 1856; Elmer E., Bishop C, Ira C, born 
July 21, 1861. Bishop died .August 22, i86i; 
Ira died February 12, 1862; and Warren, born 
May 3, 1868. Mr. and Mrs. Simon belong to 
the Lutheran church. Mr. Simon is a Repub- 
lican. He is a leading farmer and respected 




^-^(?o^^ 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



97 



J. H. Shields, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Boardman town- 
ship November 12, 1840. The farm on which 
he was. born and where he now lives was pur- 
chased in 1798 by Thomas Shields, and has since 
been in possession of the Shields family. Thomas 
Shields bought two mill-sites and several hun- 
dred acres of land, then returned to his home in 
Augusta county, Virginia, where died shortly 
after. His sons, Thomas, James, and William, 
rame in 1800 and settled on the farm. Thomas 
Shields was a miller by trade, and the first miller 
west of Rochesttr, Pennsylvania. James and 
William were in the War of 1S12; Thomas was 
exempted from service on account of being a 
useful and necessary member of the community 
— a miller — and the only man exempted in his 
neighborhood. William Shields had two sons. 
The family moved to Indiana about 1848. 
James had no children. Thomas h.id five sons 
and a daughter. All are now dead, nearly every 
one reaching the age of seventy years. Andrew 
Shields, son of Thomas, was the father of J. H. 
Shields. He married Jane Price, of Voungstown 
township. They had two sons and two daugh- 
ters, viz: J. H., Lois H. (Hopkins), Louisa M. 
(Anderson), and Wallace, who died young. An- 
drew Shields died in June, 1880, in his seventy- 
second year. Mrs. Shields is still living. J. H. 
Shields married, in 1863, Miss L. H. Starr, of 
this township. They have three children living, 
one deceased, viz: Maud M., born in 1866; 
Budd S., born in 1867; Mary J.; Allora C, born 
in 1873. Mary J. was drowned July 9, 1S79, 
aged eight years. She fell from a log while at- 
tempting to cross the creek when the water was 
high. Mr Shields is one of our largest and 
most prosperous farmers. He manages six hun- 
dred acres of land and deals quite extensively in 
cattle and sheep. 

T. M. Twiss, farmer, Boardman township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Boardman town- 
ship, November 28, 1833. His father, John 
Tv>'iss, came here from Connecticut in 1S18, and 
brought up a family of eight children, of whom 
Mr. T. M. Twiss is the youngest. Mr. Twiss 
has made farming his principal business; he also 
deals considerably in stock. He has a farm of 
one hundred and seventy-three acres, good land 
well improved. Mr. Twiss was married in i860 
to Mary Hyde, of Orangeville, Trumbull county. 



She died in 1864, in the 27th year of her age. 
Mr. Twiss was again married, in 1874, to Mrs. 
Carrie Minnis, of Mercer county, Pennsylvania. 
Mr. Twiss is a Republican. He has been town- 
ship trustee and assessor. Mrs. Twiss is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist church. 



CHAPTER IV. 

ELLSWORTH. 



SURF.\CE AND SOIL. 

Ellsworth, or township one in range four of 
the Western Reserve, has a varied surface and a 
fertile soil. The Meander and its branches cut 
the eastern portion by a number of narrow val- 
leys, quite deep and winding, forming ridges and 
knolls of varying dimensions. The main branch 
of the stream enters the eastern side of the 
township about a mile below the Canfield road, 
flows westerly about one mile and a half, then 
turns abruptly to the north, and winding north- 
ward and to the east, passes into Jackson town- 
ship about three-fourths of a mile from the 
southeastern corner of Jackson. The western 
part of the township is quite smooth, and con- 
tains many wide tracts of level land. 

The soil is fine clayey loam, somewhat sandy 
in places. It is well adapted to wheat, and the 
farmers generally secure a good crop of this 
cereal. The township was originally covered, — 
and much of it is to-day, — with a heavy growth 
of white oak, sugar maple, beech, basswood, 
walnut, hickory, etc. The underlying lime rock 
and sandstone crops out in several places, the 
latter affording a good quality of stone for build- 
ing purposes. 

.SETTLEMENT. 

This township was settled mainly by Connec- 
ticut and Pennsylvania people. Captain Joseph 
Coit, whose biography will be found elsewhere, 
came in 1804 and began making improvements. 
From the most reliable information we are able 
to obtain, it appears that the settlement of the 
township began in that year. The family of 
James Reed was the first m the township. Mrs. 
Reed was the first white woman who entered the 
township, and lived heie six months without ever 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



seeing the face of a female excepting her daugh- 
ters. 

From Mrs. Polly Bowman, an old lady past 
the ninetieth year of her age, now residing in 
Goshen township, is gathered the following infor- 
mation regardmg her father's settlement : 

James Reed came to Ellsworth from West- 
nKjreland county, Pennsylvania, in 1803, and re- 
mained during the summer. He made a clear- 
ing, built a camp, and raised a crop of corn that 
year. While he was encamped on one side of 
the Meander, an Indian occupied a camp oppo- 
site, across the stream. Mr. Reed began opera- 
tions on what is now called the Harclerode farm. 
Before he came here to live he had made several 
trips from his home in Pennsylvania to Canfield, 
carrying supplies to the settlers on pack-horses. 
Toward the latter part of February, 1804, Mr. 
Reed and two of his daughters returned to the 
camp. They came with a pair of oxen and a 
cart, following a course of travel marked by 
blazed trees, and cutting a toad for the team 
when necessary. Mr. Reed then went back for 
the remainder of his family, leaving his daugh- 
ters in the care of a man who worked for him. 
They reached here in April following. The 
camp was a log structure, with three sides, the 
fourth being open and used as an entrance. The 
ground was the floor, and into it was driven 
forked stakes for bed-posts. Here the family 
lived until a house could be erected. During 
the spring of 1804 they made a considerable 
quantity of maple sugar. 

Mr. Reed brought out some stock, including 
several hogs. Six of the hogs, being averse to 
living in a wild country, escaped and made their 
way back to Pennsylvania, where they were 
found by Mr. Reed's father one morning sound 
asleep in their old nest. They had made the 
whole distance of sixty miles alone, guided only 
by instinct or memory. 

One night a fat hog belonging to Mr. Reed 
was killed and partially devoured by a bear, very 
quietly it would seem, as none of the family were 
awakened by any noise. Indians were frequent 
visitors at the house, but were never trouble- 
some. Bears were often seen. Polly Reed, then 
a girl of about eleven years, was after the cows 
one night when she saw a huge black fellow just 
across the ravine. He reared u]3on his hind 
legs as soon as he saw her, while she, much 



frightened, ran 10 the house crying for aid. Deer 
were numerous, and the children sometimes 
found the young fawns lying in the bushes near 
the house. 

Mr Reed lived in Ellsworth a little over a 
year, then sold his farm to John and Nicholas 
Leonard, and moved to Canfield township, 
where he died in 181 3. 

In 1804 a clearing was made one mile west of 
the center by two men from Connecticut, ore of 
them named Penuel Cheney. These men did 
not settle here, but leturned to their own State. 
The land was bought by \Villiam and Harvey 
Ripley in 1806. 

Joseph Coit had eight acres cleared at Ells- 
worth center in the summer of 1804. He also 
erected a log-house the same year. 

Thomas Jones settled on the east line of the 
township in 1804, his family being the second 
that arrived in this township. He was born in 
Maryland, and died in Ellsworth in 1852, at the 
age of ninety-two. His wife, whose maiden 
name was Sarah Wilson, died in 1865, aged 
about ninety. They were the parents of fifteen 
children, ten of whom arrived at maturity, seven 
sons and three daughters. Three sons and two 
daughters are still living. Their names are: 
Mary, Margaret, Thomas, James, Joseph, John, 
Samuel, Rosanna, Elijah, and Matthew. Mary 
married Ashur Squier, and is still living in Can- 
field; Margaret married James Bruce, and died 
in Randolph, Portage county; Thomas married 
Rachel Webb, and died in Edinburg, Portage 
county; James married Huldah Tanner, and 

died in Canfield; Joseph married Ann , 

and died in Portage county; John married 
Nancy Calhoon for his first wife, for his second 
Desire Phelps, and lives in Ravenna; Samuel 
married Betsy Calhoon, and lives in North Jack- 
son; Rosanna married Columbia Lancaster, and 
now lives in Washington Territory ; Elijah mar- 
ried Phebe Manchester, and died in St. Clair 
county, Missouri; Matthew married Eliza Man- 
chester, and he now lives in Missouri. 

Philip Arncr, a native of Pennsylvania bought 
land and erected a cabin in 1803, and returned 
to his home. He came back to Ellsworth in 
1804 with his family and settled cast of the 
Meander. 

George Broadsword, one of the first settlers, 
located on the place win re Martin .Allen now 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



99 



lives. Ho brought up a faniil)' of fourteen chil- 
dren, and all but two of them are living. The 
names of his sons were Peter, Daniel, John, 
David, Anthony, Matthias, and Levi. The 
daughters became Mrs. Abigail Allen, Mrs. 
Rachel Wagoner, Mrs. Mary Winans, Mrs. 
Charlotte Rhodes, and Mrs. Lucy Parker. The 
oldest two, Betsey and Eliza, remained single. 
The sons are all living except David, and all the 
daughters except Mrs. Wagoner. Anthony, 
Matthias, and Mrs. Winans reside in this town- 
ship. 

John Huston came in 1S04 to buy land, but 
did not ijurchase that year. He built a log 
house in 1807 and remained until about 18 13, 
then sold to John Baker. In 181 7 A. W. Allen 
bought the place of Baker. 

Hugh Smith, who had been here previously, 
came from Maryland in 1806 and settled on the 
main branch ol the Meander. He brought up 
five sons and three daughters. Two sons and 
two daughters are now living in the western part 
of this State. Mr. Smith died quite suddenly in 
1821 or 1822. He was going toward the barn 
one evening in a cheerful mood, singing tlie 
hymn commencing with the lines. 
Oh, when shall I see Jesus, 
.And dwell with him above. 

A few minutes later he was found dead between 
the house and barn. 

In 1805 William Ripley, Hervey Ri|.)ley, 
Elisha Palmer, and one or two others, came 
from Scotland, Windham county, Connecticut, 
and commenced improving land west of the 
center, which they had previously purchased. 
In 1806 William Ripley returned to Ellsworth 
with his wife, Susan Bingham, and settled at the 
center. Hervey Ripley died here in 18 13, aged 
forty years. William Ripley was a justice of the 
peace for many years, a member of the Legisla- 
ture m 1826 or 1827, and afterwards a State 
Senator. 

Daniel Fitch and wife, from Norwalk, Con- 
necticut, came in 1806, and settled one-half mile 
north of the center. They had four sons and 
four daughters, several of whom are dead. None 
of the survivors reside in this township. Daniel 
Fitch died in 1826. 

In 1806 Thomas Jones and fau.ily, from 
Maryland, settled in the eastern part of the 
township. Mr. Jones had seven sons and three 



daughters. He lived to be an old man. After 
his death the family moved away. 

The Fitch brothers, Richard, William and 
Charles, came from Salisbury, Connecticut, in 
1806 with their families. Richard settled at the 
center, and cleared the farm north of there, 
where his son Richard now lives. William and 
Charles remained eight or ten years and then 
moved to Tiffin, Seneca county, Ohio. William 
afterwards returned and settled two miles north 
of the center, where he resided several years, 
thence removing to Ashtabula county, where he 
died at the age of ninety-four. Charles died in 
Chicago, aged eighty years. 

Philip Borts came from Pennsylvania in 1805 
with his family and located near Philip Arner. 
He had two sons and three daughters. He be- 
came one of the wealthiest men in this region, 
and gave a farm to each ot his children. One 
of his daughters married George Harding, whose 
son, G. W. Harding, now lives on the old Borts 
homestead, and has the finest house in the town- 
ship. 

John Leonard and family settled near the 
Meander about the year 1806. Mr. Leonard 
had several sons and daughters. One of his 
sons, James, now lives in Portage county. John 
Leonard died at quite an early date. 

Nicholas Leonard settled one mile from the 
centre. He had a large family, seven sons and 
five daughters. Abram, the youngest son, resides 
in Wood county, and a daughter, Mrs. Dorothy 
Swartz, in Ashtabula county. 

Andrew Fitch, an early settler, located at the 
centre. He married Lucy Manning. He lived 
here until quite old, then returned to Connecti- 
cut and died there. He had one daughter, who 
is now living, the wife of Silas C. Clark, of 
Washington, District of Columbia. 

James Parshall settled on the southwestern 
corner of section twenty-four at an early day. 
He had several sons and daughters, none of 
whom are now residing here. 

Thomas and Robert McKean settled on the 
diagonal road running northwest from the cen- 
ter. Thomas died quite early. He brought up 
a family of three sons and one daughter. Robert 
McKean lived here until his death in 1843. He 
had four sons and four daughters. 

James McGill and family settled on section 
twelve, where Thomas Young now lives, resided 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



there several years, then sold and moved to 
Poland. 

Peter Walts settled on the Meander previous 
to 1810, and resided there some years, moving 
thence to Medina county. 

Wolf and Painter, Broadsword and Razor, 
were some of the fierce sounding names belong- 
ing to Ellsworth's early citizens. 

John and Robert McCreary settled on section 
nineteen. Robert remained single. John had 
two daughters, both of whom died quite young. 
Janet married John Howard and two of her sons 
reside in the township. 

Michael Crumrine settled on the west side of 
the Meander. He had four sons, one of whom 
died here. The others remained some time, 
then moved to Berlin township. 

James Byers settled here quite early an4 raised 
a large family. He moved into Berlin township 
and was killed by a falling tree. 

William Logan, the first cooper in the town- 
ship, died during the War of 181 2. 

The Spauldings, David and Philo, came about 
181 3. David settled one-fourth of a mile west 
of the center. Philo settled in the southwestern 
part of the township. He died in 1876, in his 
ninetieth year. His son Moses is still living m 
Ellsworth. 

John Bmgham, from New London county, 
Connecticut, settled on section eight in 1S16. 
He married a daughter of Richard Fitch, who is 
still living in the township. 

.Asa Witter .Allen was horn in Windham, Con- 
necticut, June 3, 1795. He came to Ellsworth 
in 181 7 with a one-horse biiggy, and was seven- 
teen days on the road. He married Sophia 
Hopkins, who was born in Vermont in 1799. 
Both are still living. Two sons and three daugh- 
ters are also living. Mr. .-\lkn lived in Ellsworth 
township until 1864, and then moved to Perry 
township, Cokinibiana county, where he now re- 
sides. 

FIRST EVENTS. 

The first child borir in the township was 
Thomas Jones, Jr. His parents were from Mary- 
land. They settled near the eastern line of the 
township. Jeannette, daughter of Hugh Smith, 
was the second child born in the township, and 
Mary L. Fitch, daughter of Richard Fitch, the 
third. These births all occurred in 1806. 

'I'hc first death was an infant < hild of Mr. 



Bell, the miller. The parents were here a short 
time only. The second death is believed to have 
been that of William Logan. They were both 
buried in the cemetery near Ellsworth center. 

The first marriage in the township took place 
at the house of Richard Fitch a year or two after 
he settled here. Lydia Buel, a sister of Mr. 
Fitch's wife, was married to Hezekiah Chidester 
of Canfield township. 

The first frame dwelling house of any size 
was erected by General William Ripley, as late 
as i82oor 1821. This house is still standingabout 
one-half mile west of the center. Richard 
Fitch had previously erected a framed addition 
to his tavern as early as 18 10 or 18 12. 

The first Sabbath-school was organized the 
second Sabbath in October, 1818, and is said to 
have been an excellent school in all respects. 
Daniel W. Lathrop was its instigator. 

Mrs. Smith, wife of Hugh Smith, was the 
first person who offered public prayer in Ells- 
worth. 

Ira F. Powers was the first volunteer for the 
Rebellion from this township. He enlisted 
July 4, 1861, in the Eleventh Ohio infantry. 

A company of cavalry composed of members 
from Boardman, Poland, Canfield, and Ells- 
worth was organized as early as 18 10. Richard 
Fitch was the first captain, succeeded by Joseph 
Coit. 

ORG.ANIZ.^TION. 

The first entry upon the township records of 
Ellsworth is as follows : 

It is hereby certified that the board of commissioners at 
their March meeting, 1810, did apart and set off from the 
townships of Canfield and Newton a new township and 
election district by the name of Ellsworth, with all the privi- 
leges and immunities of a township as by law designated, 
within the following lines, to wit : Beginning at the south- 
west corner of the county of Trumbull, thence north on the 
county line to tlie northwest corner of township number one 
in the fifth range of townships, thence east on the township 
line to the northeast corner of number one in the fourth 
mnge, thence south to the southeast corner of number one 
in the fourth range, thence west on the county line to the 
place of beginning; in fact, comprising townships number 
one in the fourth and fifth ranges. 

Ei.i Bai.iiwin, 
Clerk pro tt-m. of Commissioners. 

W.XRKKN, 22d Marcli, i8io. 

A true copy. 

JdSF.pii Coit, Township Clerk. 

Ellsworth, as then organized, included the 
townships of Ellsworth and Berlin. Berlin was 
set off from Ellsworth and erected a separate 




J 



^^/('<n (^/-ue^i^ 




SC.,.y (?// C^£.. 



} 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



township by the county commissioners March 4, 
1828. 

FIRST ELECTION. 

The fiist election was held April 2, 18 10. 
The following officers were chosen : Joseph 
Coit, clerk; Andrew Fitch, Daniel Fitch, Hugh 
Smith, trustees; William Ripley, James Parshall, ' 
overseers of the poor; John Leonard, Robert 
McKean, fence viewers; Daniel Fitch, lister; 
Daniel Fitch, William Fitch, appraisers; Jesse 
Buel, constable; Peter Watts, George Painter, 
James McGill, supervisors; Hervey Ripley, treas- 
urer. 

At the first election after Berlin was created a 
separate precinct the following were chosen as 
the officers of Ellsworth township, April 7, 
1828 : William Ripley, Jacob Dustman, Robert 
McKean, trustees; Walter Smith, Asa W. Allen, 
overseers of the poor; John Bingham, Haivey 
Allen, fence viewers; John C. Webb, John Mil- 
ler, constables; Andrew Fitch, treasurer. Also a 
road supervisor for each of the eleven districts. 

OTHER RECORDS. 

Richard Fitch qualified as a justice of the peace 
lune 19, 18 10; Robert McKean (or McCane, as 
the name is spelled upon the old records), was 
commissioned as justice March 13, 1813, re- 
signed June 23, 1815; William Ripley was com- 
missioned August 21, 1815, October 17, 1818, 
October 29, 1821, December 11, 1824, March 
17, 1828; Henry Boyd, June 6, 1826; Thomas 
Fitch, April 30, 1831; George Matson, May 7, 
1832. Later thao this date the records are not 
complete. 

The first selection of jurors, or the first of 
which there is any record, occurred March 2, 
181 2. William Ripley and Richard Fitch were 
chosen grand jurors ; William Logan, Andrew 
Fitch, and Thomas McKean, traverse jurors. 

That the people of this township in early days 
were rigid in their determination to prevent the 
spread of pauperism in their midst will appear 
from the following entry upon the records : 

To Jesse Buel, constable of the township of Ellsworth, 

greeting : 

Whereas, it appears from information by us received, that 

is likely to become a township charge ; these 

are therelore to command you to warn the said 

to depart from this township. 

Given under our hands at Ellsworth, this sixth day of 



KS B. FiTCIl, lQ^gj.^j.^j.^^f j,^g Pq^^ 

Walts. ' 



Ch.^ri, 
Peter Walt.s, 



June 8, 1811. -Served the within warrant by reading it to 
the within-named person, at the house of William Fitch, in 
Ellsworth, 

Jesse Buel, constable. 
A true copy. 

JOSEP}! CoiT, township clerk. 

Many similar entries appear on the records for 
years following. The persons warned, however, 
were not obliged to quit the township ; but if 
they afterwards become so poor as to require aid, 
the township officers were relieved from the re- 
sponsibility of furnishing it. Often these severe 
measures doubtless served to " foster home 
industry." Sometimes the most worthy citizens 
were " warned," on account of the complaints of 
those who bore them some ill-will. 

For many years the township elections were 
held at the house of Richard Fitch. 

The town hall was built in 1818 by private 
subscriptions. Thenceforth religious meetings, 
schools, elections, etc., were held there. 

EARLY incidents. 

February 3, 1818, three feet of snow fell in 
one day. Some who are yet living remember 
wading through it when it reached higher than 
their waists. 

The most of the families coming from Con- 
necticut in 1806 were not provided with cabins, 
so they stopped at Captain Coit's until homes 
could be built for them. Coit was then a single 
man, and required little room ; besides, he was 
at work the greater part of the time making im- 
provements on his land in the northern part of 
the township. While thus engaged one day his • 
house took fire and was destroyed, together with 
his watch, money, books, and clothing. Mr. 
Coit came home toward evening, and gazed un- 
moved upon the destruction the flames had 
made. He found the women in tears, and 
almost in despair. He, however, seemed in ex- 
cellent sjiirits ; and, seating himself near the 
ruins, began singing in a rich, full voice the air. 
Contentment, the first verse of which is : 

" Why should we at our lot repine. 

Or grieve at our distress ? 
Some think if they should riches gain. 

They'd gain true happiness. 
Alas ! how vain is all our gain, 

Since life must soon decay ; 
And since we're here with friends so dear. 

Let's drive dull care away !" 

In the early part of the summer of r8o6, 
William Ripley had his leg broken by a log 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



falling on it, while he was helping to raise the 
cabin of Daniel Fitch. The fracture was a 
severe one, and he was unable to work the 
greater part of that summer. There were then 
no physicians nearer than Youngstown. 

At an early day. Captain Coit ofifered a poor 
fellow named Alexander Crawford ten acres of 
land in this township, if he would dig a well for 
him and put it in working order. Crawford ac- 
cepted the job, and toiled alone until he had 
excavated a good well, twenty-eight feet deep, 
throwing the dirt up from one scaffold to another 
until it reached the top. He then exchanged 
work with a neighbor, and got assistance in 
stoning it. He received a deed of the land as 
pay for his labor. Land soon commenced to 
rise in value, and a few years later he sold the 
ten acres and with the proceeds bought an 
eighty-acre lot in Hancock county, this .State, 
which he made into a good farm. 

A story is told concerning Mrs. Hugh Smith, 
which shows that she was a lady possessed of 
strength of mind and courage which is seldom 
equalled. She heard a noise in the hog-pen one 
evening, and, on investigating the cause of it, 
discovered a large bear attacking a lusiy porker. 
She seized a club and pounded the bear until he 
was glad to retreat without any pork for supper. 

An incident which occurred during the War 
of 1 812 was often laughed about and talked 
over by the early settlers. Some half-breed 
Indian hunters who had spent the night hunt- 
ing coons, returned to the vicinity of the set- 
tlement about daylight, and to amuse them- 
selves began firing at a mark. The whole 
neighborhood was aroused by the reports of 
their rifles, and much consternation ensued, as 
it was thought the Indians were attacking the 
settlers. Houses were fastened up and valuables 
hidden away. At length two experienced hunt- 
ers were prevailed upon to go and learn the 
cause of the alarm. They mounted horses and 
proceeded to the spot where the firing had been 
heard, but by the time they arrived there the 
hunters had gone and no "Indians" were visible. 
When the whole affair was thoroughly under- 
stood there was much hearty laughter over "the 
great Indian raid." 

IC.VKl.V SCHOOLS. 

The first school was taught in 181 1 by Miss 
Clara Landon, of Canfield. The school-house. 



or rather the building used as such during that 
year and several years thereafter, was the small 
log house east of the center, mentioned in connec- 
tion with the history of the Presbyterian church. 
The next teacher was Miss Matilda Sackett, of 
Tallmadge, succeeded by Jesse Buel, Hiram B. 
Hubbard, and others. Asa W. Allen taught school 
here in the winter of 1817 and 1818, and had 
all the scholars in the township — not over 
twenty. He states that there was a bench ex- 
tending along the side of the house, also one 
chair in the room, which of course belonged 
to the teacher. There were three small win- 
dows, each one containing as much paper and 
wood as there was glass, and perhaps more. 

For several years the Center district was 
the only one in the township, and in the rude 
school-house just mentioned some of Ellsworth's 
smartest men received their first drill in "readin", 
'ritin', and 'rithm'tic." 

PRESBVTERI.\NS. 

For many years the most, if not all, the preach- 
ing in Ellsworth was by ministers of this denom- 
ination. Rev. John Bruce was the first preacher. 
He was born in New York in 1771, and studied 
theology with Rev. T. E. Hughes. In 1809 he 
was licensed, and commenced preaching in Ells- 
worth, where he remained five years He after- 
wards preached one year in Newton, and died 
there in 1816. The first meeting house was 
situated just north of the center. It was built 
of hewn logs and had no floor. This was used 
as a place of worship for a short time. A simi- 
lar log structure was erected a few years later on 
the hill just east of the bridge across the Me- 
,ander, where Mr. Bruce continued preaching as 
long as he remained here. Services were fre- 
quently held in open air as well as in barns, 
school-houses, and private dwellings. In 1817 
meetings were held in a small log-house, with a 
huge fire-place in it; this was situated near the 
center, upon a spot just east of where the 
Methodist church now stands. The building was 
erected for a dwelling house, but had been used 
as a school-house for some years before this date. 
The present Ellsworth church was organized as a 
union church of the Presbyterians and Congre- 
gationalists, March 26, 1818, under Revs. Wil- 
liam Hanford and Joseph Treat, missionaries. 
It started with fourteen members, w-hose names 
are given below; Henry and Margaret Boyd, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



103 



Christian and Elizabeth Bowman, Catherine 
wife of John Bowman, Joshua and Mary Bow- 
man, Joseph and Polly Bruce, Daniel and Eliza- 
beth Fitch, Danitl W. Laihrop, Thcmas and 
Nancy Fitch. Sixteen more members were added 
during the year, and in succeeding years the 
number increased. The first church officers 
were Henry Boyd and Daniel W. Lathrop, com- 
mittee, and Daniel W. Lathrop, clerk. The 
first preachers were all missionaries, and many 
different ones labored here. The town hall was 
used for a place of public worship from the time 
it was built in 18 18 until the present church was 
enacted in 1833. The church has had but four 
installed pastors, whose names are Rev. ^Villiam 
O. Stratton, Rev. William Hoyt, Rev. Warren 
Taylor, and the present pastor. Rev. William J. 
Reese, who has been here since 1878. When 
vacancies have occurred, as has frequently been 
the case, missionaries or " stated supplies " have 
carried on the meetings. At present the church 
has about eighty members, and is in a prosper- 
ous condition. 

THE METHODISTS. 

Rev. Nicholas Gee, a native of New York, 
moved to Ellsworth township in 1S23. He was 
licensed to preach in 1824, and a society was 
probably organized about that date, though con- 
cerning this no information is attainable. Mr. 
Gee acted as a local preacher here for some 
years. The first meetings were held at private 
residences and at the school-house in district 
number three, until about 1835, when the church 
in that district was completed and dedicated. 
Mr. Gee and C. A. Bunts gave most toward 
building it. Among the most prominent mem- 
bers of Mr. Gee's church weije the Gee family, 
Nicholas Leonard and family, Mrs. Hugh Smith 
and family, John Hoyle and family, C. A. Bunts, 
and others. The church is still standing, but no 
organization has been maintained since 1856. 

In 1839 a society was formed at the center. 
A church was commenced that year and finished 
in 1840. This building was erected through the 
efforts of Mr. Gee, Mr. Bunts, Dr. Hughes, John 
Smith, L. D. Smith, and others, assisted by 
their brethren in neighboring townships. This 
church was used until the new one was com- 
pleted in 1880 — dedicated February 17, 1881. 
It is a neat brick structure, well fitted and fur- 
nished in excellent taste. The society numbers 



about fifty members at present. It is out of 
debt and in a prosperous condition. Jacob 
Lower, Miller & Ripley, Jefferson Diehl, Eli 
Diehl, John Cronick, and others, gave liberally 
towards building the new church. 

CEMETERIES. 

Of these there are but two in the township, 
one at the center and the other near the old 
Methodist church on section twenty-four. The 
graveyard near the center is the oldest, and for 
many years was the only burying-place in Ells- 
worth. 

The inscription upon the monument of Cap- 
tain Coit is as follows: 

. Joseph Coit. born in Norwich, Connecticut, August 18, 
1783; died May 31, 1857. He came to Ohio in 1804, and 
with his location commenced the settlement of Ellsworth. 
FIRST TAVERN. 

Richard Fitch opened a tavern in a small log- 
cabin built in 1806 on the site of the present 
hotel. He made a framed addition some years 
later, and about 1824 put up quite a large house 
which is still standing. He continued to enter- 
tain travelers until 1837, and was then succeeded 
by Charles and Andrew Fitch. The house was 
in the hands of many different individuals during 
the succeeding years. For ten years past it has 
not been a hotel, until it was opened to the pub- 
lic by Mr. Rose in 1881. 

POST-OFFICE AND MAIL. 

The first postmaster was Lucius W. Leffing- 
well, who settled in the township in 181 8, and 
was probably commissioned postmaster the same 
year. The mail was obtained once a week by a 
carrier who went after it on horseback. When 
the stage line through this place began running, 
the mail was obtained twice each week. As Mr. 
Leffingwell lived at some distance from the cen- 
ter, he could not conveniently perform the duties 
of postmaster, so he appointed Joseph Coit as his 
deputy. Mr. Coit was also the school-teacher, 
and whenever the mail-carrier signified by tap- 
ping on the window of the schoolroom that the 
presence of the postmaster was required at his 
office the classes were left until the mail could 
be disposed of. As would naturally be expected, 
the boys held high carnival during the teacher's 
absence, but sobered down mysteriously and sud- 
denly as he again approached. The second 
postmaster was Joseph Coit, who held the posi- 
tion until 1857. His successois were John C. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Fusselman, Samuel McKean, James Green, 
Oliver A. Bingham, A. R. Hammond, Andrew 
McKinney, John McKinney, and W. J. McKin 
ney, the present incumbent. Ellsworth now has 
an eastern and a western mail daily. 

DISTILLERIES. 

The first distiller in the township was a Mr. 
Stanley, the father of German Stanley. His 
still was situated just below Hoover's mill. He 
worked it several years. Charles C. Chapman, 
a Methodist preacher, also had a still on the 
same stream, built a few years later. Both of 
these did quite an extensive business. George 
Leonard operated a small still on the Meander 
for a short time. 

TANNERY. 

Walter Smith came about the year 1816 and 
began business as a tanner on the stream a short 
distance north of the centre. He did a good 
business here for several years, and acquired 
considerable property. Mr. Smith followed 
tanning until 1856. He was an active business 
man, a worthy and prominent member of the 
Presbyterian church. 

MILLS, STORES, ETC. 

The first gristmill in the township was built 
by General Perkins, of Warren, and Eli Bald- 
win, of Boardman. It was situated near the 
site of the present one, and was built of hewed 
logs. In 1819 or 1820 it was replaced by a 
frame building and operated for some years. 
The same parties also owned a saw-mill upon the 
same stream. Another grist mill was built at an 
early date in the northern part of the township. 
This was known as Hoover's mill, and was built 
by Ezekiel Hoover, on a branch of the Mean- 
der. It was situated just north of where the 
Methodist church now stands. A saw-mill near 
it was also operated for some lime. A. W. 
.'Mien owned two saw-mills on the Meander 
about 1835. 

The first store was opened by Adams & Lloyd, 
of Philadelphia, in 1822, in a log house, near 
the spot where Mr. McRinney's residence now 
is. Soon afterwards they built a good store 
which was destroyed by fire some years later. 

These gentlemen were here about five years. 

The next merchants were O. A. and L. Bingham, 
who continued in business about ten years. 
Their successors have brcn T. U. Kelley, Jesse 



B. Fitch, William Ripley, Jr., Spaulding & 
Morse, A. and J. McKinney, and McKinney 
Brothers. 

In 1836 a store was built on the corner where 
Kirkbride's blacksmith shop stands and run for 
some ten years by Church & Fusselman. About 
1850 E. A. Green built a store on the corner 
next to the hotel, where he traded three years. 
He was succeeded by Stofer & Hole, who were 
in business four or five 'years. McKinney 
Brothers are now the only merchants in the 
township. 

PHYSICIANS. 

The first physician who practiced in the set- 
tlement of Ellsworth was Dr. Shadrach Bostwick, 
of Canfield. The first resident physician was 
Dr. Chauncy C. Cook. He settled here about 
the year 1824, and remained three years. He 
moved to Youngstown and died there. Dr. 
Robert G. Huntington came about 1827 and re- 
mained until his death in 1838. Dr. Mordecai 
B. Hughes came in 1839 and remained until his 
death in 1852. Dr. G. W. Brooke came that 
year and still practices here. Ellsworth has 
always been favored with good physicians, well- 
read and skilled in their profession. 

NOTES. 

The first blacksmith was probably Thomas 
Fitch. He came to EUswortli about 18 14, and 
opened a shop a short distance east of the cen- 
ter, where he continued to work until 1840. 
He then sold out and engaged in farming and 
afterwards went West. 

The first shoemaker was jirobably William 
Porter, who lived about one-half mile west of 
the center. He was quite an early settler. 

The following men from Ellsworth were sol- 
diers in the War of 181 2: Nicholas Courtney, 

William Fitch, Joseph Coit, John Lower, 

Parshall, and jjerhaps others. 

SEMI-CENTENNIAL CEI.EUK ATION.* 

On the 4th of July, 1855, the citizens of Ells- 
worth celebrated the semi centennial anniver- 
sary of its settlement. The officers of the day 
were Dr. G. W. Brooke, president, and Granville 
W. Sears, secretary. 

The Declaration of Independence was read 
by P. .'Mien Spicer, Esq. Rev. Loomis Chand- 
ler delivered the historical address. Hon. Eben 
•Thii account was furnished by Dr. G. W. Brooke. j 



1 




[_' .G^€iie'Zf^^/^fA/e^c:Zi 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Newton, Rev. E. C. Sharp (of Atwater), Samuel 
Smith, C. A. Bunts, and many others delivered 
brief addresses. Dr. James W. Hughes, of 
Berlin, read a poem. Letters of regret on ac- 
count of inability to be present were read from 
Hon. Elisha Whittlesey, Hon. Milton Sutlifif, 
and K. Upman, Esq. 

The singmg was led by Captain Joseph Coit. 
To " start the tune " he used an old-fashioned 
pitch-pipe, which is still in the possession of the 
family. All of the old settlers of the township 
then living, and many from surrounding town- 
ships, were present. The day was very fine, the 
attendance large, and many pioneer incidents 
were rehearsed with great zest. 

BUSINESS INTERESTS. 

The following is believed to be a complete 
business directory of the township : McKinney 
Brothers, merchants, center; H. H. Rose, car- 
riage painter and hotel keeper, center; W. H. 
Kirkbridge, blacksmith, carriage maker, and car- 
riage painter, center; P. B. Hughes, blacksmith, 
center; Jonathan Hull, cooper, center; Samuel 
McKean and Nelson W. King, wheelwrights, 
center; Albert Dakin, cabinet-maker, center; 
Roland Davis and Eli Davis, shoemakers, cen- 
ter; Eli and J. H. Diehl, distillers, section ten. 
Eli Diehl, gristmill, section eight; D. R. Stahl- 
smith, saw-mill, section one. Thomas Rose 
works a coal mine on section twenty one, and 
P'rank Winans, on section fifteen. There are 
other small coal banks in the township. . 

The principal stone quarries are owned by Eli 
Diehl, Eli T. Arner, and G. W. Harding. 

REFLECTIONS. 

The first settlers are dead and gone. Nearly 
eighty years have elapsed since the first clearing 
was made in the now thriving township of Ells- 
worth. What the pioneers accomplished and 
what they suffered few of the present inhabitants 
know or can tell. But if we judge them by their 
works, we shall certainly form a high opinion of 
their worth. Ellsworth has maintained good 
schools ever since there were enough children 
here to form a class. Churches have been kept 
up, and pious men are still teaching those who 
soon shall come upon the stage of active life to 
keep the way their fathers trod. Ellsworth cen- 
ter has two good, substantial edifices, either of 
which would be a credit to a much larger place. 



where divine services are regularly held. There 
are no saloons or other resorts where crime is 
manufactured. 

On every hand we see indisputable evidence 
that the people are awake and at work. The 
mowing machine and harvester are now driven 
over fields which, in the memory of some who 
are living here, were frequented by bears, 
wolves, deer, and other denizens of the primi- 
tive forest. The steam threshing machine moves 
along roads which not long ago were solitary 
foot-paths, or tracks where only horseback riders 
or slow-going ox-teams could pass. Log cabins 
have been replaced by substantial farm houses, 
surrounded by orchards, shade trees, and rich 
and beautiful fields. Neat white barns, large 
and commodious, in every neighborhood show 
that the farmers understand their business, and 
are increasing in wealth and prosperity. 

The allurements and vices of large towns are 
at a distance from this prosperous community; 
and safe in Christian homes, supplied with good 
books and papers, with examples of uprightness 
and refinement constantly before them, the using 
generation is growing up to take the place of 
fathers and mothers who soon must pass away. 
The next fifty years will doubtless show a great 
change upon the face of the country; but in the 
characters and hearts of the people there will 
surely linger the brave and generous spirit of the 
hardy pioneers, ever active in promoting public 
welfare and morality as well as private interests. 

The first settlers, many of them, were men and 
women of culture and education, who fully un- 
derstood the great truth that the only hope of 
any country lies in a refined, enlightened, and 
civilized people. For this reason, though in the 
midst of a wilderness, they taught their children 
honesty, virtue, and temperance, and, above all, 
made them ladies and gentlemen in the best 
sense of the word. 

POEM. 

Written for the semi-centennial celebration of 
the settlement of Ellsworth township, by Dr. J. 
W. Hughes, Berlin center, Mahoning county, 
Ohio. 

Hail, faiher! mother! friendship greets you here, 
Each well-known face to-day is doubly dear, 
While grateful feelings own His sovereign power, 
Whose gracious arm has kept us to this hour; 
As back our thoughts with deep emotions flow, 
To dwell on Ellsworth fifty years ago. 



TkUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Nor clianged the scene, since you whose features bear 

The trace of years and toil engraven there, 

From New England's cherished homestead came 

The western forest's dreary w'ilds to tame: 

No path to guide you but the woodman's " blaze," 

Nor shelter, till the cabin you could raise; 

To years of toil and weariness resigned. 

Ease, friendship, luxury you left behind. 

Amid privations such as few endure, 

A future home and comforts to secure. 

Where now the stately farm house meets the eye. 

And wavy fields in cheerful sunshine lie. 

One wide, unbroken forest spread around. 

And silence reigned in solitude profound; 

Where forth his brood the lordly turkey led. 

Or timid deer in tranquil safet^i fed. 

Till started by the wolf's discordant howl. 

Or midnight hootings of the sun-blind owl. 

No humble school-house reared its unhewn walls. 

No sacred temple echoed mercy's calls. 

No Sabbath bell the lonely settler heard, 

No hymn of praise the slumbering echo stirrd, 

Save when at eve, the grateful pioneer. 

Waked some loved strain to busy mem'ry dear. 

But soon the tide of emigration gave 
Increasing strength with each succeeding wave. 
New settlers, lured by hopes of future gain. 
Or kindred ties, that seldom plead in vain. 
Increased the numbers at first so few. 
While social comforts with those numbers grew. 

Soon here and there in quick succession rose 

The needed school-house and the school-boy's woes; 

Nor these alone— religion next demands 

A house for God, and there the temple stands. 

Long may it stand, and long may his holy word. 

With heartfelt joy, within its walls be heard! 

Here may no selfish partisan intrude. 

Discordant themes with worldly aims imbued. 

Nor zeal unwise, with hidden mischief rife. 

Mar Christian peace, nor fan fraternal strife. 

Ye township's fathers, whom we greet to-day — 
Ye honored mothers— no less dear than they— 
Revered, beloved— of "length of days possesst," 
■your children here rise up and "call you blest." 
But while with heart-felt joy we mingle here, 
And thoughts arise and mem'ry claims a te.ir 
For those, the partners ol your early toil. 
Who silent sleep beneath their chosen soil. 
Or hence removed to some far distant clime. 
No more shall meet you on the shores of time. 

Here let us briefly call our thoughts away 
From local themes to hail our Nation's day. 
Far down the vista of receding years 
On hist'ry's page a patriot group appears : 
No nobler names in any land or cHme 
Adorn the annals of recorded time. 

Life, fortune, honor, pledged to freedom lie ; 
Fearless, tho' few— resolved to win or die. 
No minion there to base dishonor sold— 
No sordid slave to ignominious gold ; 



No mock philanthropist self-lauded stood, 
Invoking strife, and caUing " evil good"; 
No fierce oppressor, drunk with lawless power, 
Insatiate reveled — courting ruin's hour. 

Alas ! that nations should like parents rear 
Unworthy sons an honored name to bear ; 
That brethren to a common fortune born 
Should link their birthright with undying scorn, 
.And scathe and blast the noblest heritage 
That ever nations had in any age. 

Say not the bard to human progress blind 
Sees not the onward, mighty march of mind : 
He sees it— feels it— owns it all and more, 
The near abyss — the rocky leeward shore- 
Beyond it all he sees the threatening rod. 
And reads — "The world by wisdom knew not God ! 

And speak I warmly } I should inly feel 
The curse of treason o'er my conscience steal, 
Could I to-day before this audience stand. 
And breathe no tribute to my native land ; 
Desert who may — prove recreant who will. 
With all her faults, I love my country still. 



Biographical Sketches, 

JOSEPH COIT. 
The man most prominently and effectively 
identified with the early settlement and improve- 
ment of the township of Ellsworth was without 
doubt he whose name heads this sketch. Joseph 
Coit was born in Norwich, Connecticut, August 
i8, 1783. He was the eldest child of Thomas 
and Sarah (Chester) Coit. His father was a 
merchant of Norwich, and in early life the son 
was employed in the store. He received a good 
education, being for some time a pupil of John 
Adams, a celebrated teacher of Norwich, and 
father of the late Dr. William Adams, the dis- 
tinguished pastor of Madison Square Presby- 
terian church. New York city. Mr. Coit had 
mastered the science of civil engineering, and 
his uncle, Daniel Coit, being the owner of a 
large amount of land in the Western Reserve, 
he was induced by his uncle to come West and 
act in his interest as a surveyor and as agent for 
the sale of his land. He made his first journey 
to the Reserve in 1803, when he accompanied 
General Moses Cieaveland who came to treat with 
the Indians for the e.xtinguishment of their title 
to the land on a portion of which the city of 
Cleveland now stands. 'I'his journey was made 
on horseback, and consumed twenty eight days. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



At this time he selected a place for his own set- 
tlement at the center of Ellsworth, then an un- 
broken wilderness. He soon returned to Con- 
necticut, but came back the ne.\t ytar to take 
permanent possession. Taking four men from 
Canfield he cleared up eight acres that season 
and on the 4th of July surveyed and laid off 
the first village lots in what is now Ellsworth 
center. He was for a time employed in the 
office of Central Perkins, at Warren, giving his 
attention mostly to collections. Besides his ag- 
ricultural labors he was considerably employed 
in surveying and selling lands, always taking an 
active part in the varions improvements of the 
township. He served in the War of 181 2 as 
cornet of a company of dragoons. He was fre- 
quently called upon to fill various civil offices. 
He was postmaster and deputy postmaster at 
Ellsworth center for about thirty years. In 18 17 
and 1 818 he was tax collector for Trumbull 
county. The onerous duties of this office will 
be better understood when the extent of territory 
then embraced within the limits of Trumbull 
county is considered in connection with the fact 
that it was the duly of the collector to visit ev- 
ery liouse for the collection of the tax. The 
tax books for those years are still in possession 
of his widow, and they are models of official 
book-keeping, showing Mr. Coit to have been 
a systematic business man and correct account- 
ant. He was elected county surveyor of Trum- 
bull county in 1821, and county commissioner 
in 1844. He also served as county commis- 
sioner of Mahoning county toward the latter part 
of his life. Always moral and exemplary in his 
life, he did n6t make a public profession of re- 
ligion until the last year of his life. His death 
occurred May 31, 1857, resulting from cancer 
upon the face. Mr. Coit was married June 15, 
1838, in Hartford, Connecticut, to Elizabeth 
Mygatt, daughter of Thomas and Lucy (Oakes) 
Mygatt. Mrs. Coit was born in Weathersfield, 
Connecticut, February 22, 1802, and is still liv- 
ing with her daughter at Ellsworth center, where 
she and her husband first settled on coming to 
Ohio. One child only was born of this union, 
Fannie M., born April 2, 1844, now the wife of 
Chester Allen, whom she married on her twenty- 
fourth birthday. 



THE RIPLEY FAMILY. 

General William Ripley was among the earliest 
settlers, and for years one of the most promi- 
nent residents of Ellsworth township. He was 
born in Windham, Connecticut, in May, 1782; 
was brought up on a farm and enjoyed few privi- 
leges for mental training. He, however, pos- 
sessed more than ordinary native ability, and in 
mature life was elevated to positions of trust and 
honor. He married, March 31, 1805, Susan 
Bingham, of Windham (bom November 30, 
1784), and the same spring he came out to the 
Western Reserve, leaving his bride in Connecti- 
cut. He purchased, in connection with his 
brother Hervey, three hundred and twenty acres 
of land of the Connecticut Land company, a 
short distance west of Ellsworth center. This 
farm, or a part of it, is now occupied by his son 
Hervey. General Ripley that season cut off ten 
acres and put up a log cabin, and the next fall 
returned to Connecticut. In the spring of 180 
he returned with his wife to Ellsworth. After 
occupying his farm for a few years, on account of 
threatened hostilities by the Indians he moved 
to the center, where he resided a number of 
years. In 1820 he erected the large frame resi- 
dence now occupied by his son, and moved into 
it November 30th of the same year, and lived 
there until his death. He was a general of mili- 
tia, hence his military title. He was justice ot 
the peace in Ellsworth for fifteen years, and was 
a Representative in the State Legislature two 
terms and served one term as State Senator. He 
died December 7, i860, and his wife May i, 
1868. They were the parents of seven children, 
as follows: Adaline, Edwin, Emily, Susan, 
Hervey, VVilliam, and Bingam, of whom only 
Emily (now Mrs. Fitch), living in Wisconsin; 
William in Chicago, and Hervey, are living. 

Hervey Ripley was born at Ellsworth center, 
February 23, 1816. He received an ordinary 
education at the common schools of his neigh- 
borhood, and January 7, 1838, was married to 
Henrietta H. Sackett, daughter of Moses and 
Cordelia (Fox) Sackett, of Ellsworth. Mrs. Rip- 
ley was born in Warren, Connecticut, Decem- 
ber 5, 1 816, and came with her parents to Ells- 
worth when a small girl and settled south of the 
center where Mr. Arner now resides. With the 
exception of three months Mr. Ripley has re- 
sided in the house which he still occupies with 



\o& 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



his family for a period of sixty-two consecutive 
years. Mrs. Ripley departed this life April 13, 
1874. She was a member of the Presbyterian 
church, as is her husband, and was an estimable 
woman, and a devoted wife and mother. She left 
surviving her her husband and nine children, her 
own death being the only death which has oc- 
curred in the family. The names of the chil- 
dren are as follow: Judith P., widow of Walter 
Smith, residing with her daughter, Mrs. Miller, 
in Ellsworth; Thomas, in Alliance, Ohio; Warren 
L., at Ellsworth center; Ward S. and Edgar, in 
Olathe, Kansas; Florence E., at home; Emma 
C, at home; William, at Burton, Ohio, and Mar- 
garet v., at home. Four of the sons served in 
the Union army during the war of the Rebel- 
lion, viz: Thomas, Warren, Ward, and Edgar, 
the latter in the one hundred day service; 
Thomas was in the Third Iowa infantry, and was 
discharged at the expiration of six months on ac- 
count of sickness. Warren and Ward were 
members of the Forty-first Ohio volunteer in- 
fantry, and served all through the war, partici- 
pating in the battles of Pittsburg Landing, Nash- 
ville, Lookout Mountain, and Stone River, and 
came out unhurt. Walter Smith, the husband 
of the eldest daughter, was a member of the same 
regiment and died at New Haven, Kentucky, in 
February, 1862. 



MARTIN ALLEN. 
Martin Allen was born in Windham, Connec- 
ticut, on the 25th day of August, 1807. His 
early days were spent in farm labor and attend- 
ing the common schools. Having decided upon 
the study of medicine, after his common school 
education was completed, he attended Plainfield 
academy for a while with a view of training him- 
self, by a thorough preparatory course, for the 
career he had maiked out. After teaching for a 
time he at length decided that a professional life 
would not suit him, and resolved to devote him- 
self thenceforth to farming. About this time he 
determined to make his home in the West, and 
in 1829 came to Ellsworth township and located 
upon the farm which he still occupies. After 
his arrival here he continued teaching for several 
years, following the usual custom of district 
school-te:ichers, of leaching during the winter 



months and farming in summer. Those of his 
pupils now residing in the neighborhood are 
unanimous in their testimony as to his popular- 
ity and worth as an instructor. 

March 21, 1832, Mr. Allen married Miss Lucy 
M. Fitch, of Ellsworth township — a union which 
has resulted in a long and happy married life 
and the rearing of a large family. Mr. Allen, by 
economy and enterprise has prospered abundant- 
ly, and is now the owner of a [ileasant home, a 
well selected library, and a large, well cultivated 
farm. His home is beautifully situated, and its 
surroundings afford evidence of the care and 
taste of its owner. 

Mr. and Mrs. Allen both united with the 
Presbyterian church about the same time (1843) 
and have ever remained constant, faithful mem- 
bers. For many years Mr. Allen has been a 
ruling elder and one of the main supporters of 
this church. 

Martin Allen is a man of cultivated tastes and 
of more than ordinary ability. The friends of 
the family are many, and in simple justice it 
should be stated few men enjoy the respect of 
their fellow-citizens in as high a degree as Mr. 
Allen. Modest and unassuming he has always 
refrained from seeking notoriety of any kind, 
much preferring the pleasures of home life and 
the enjoyment of the rewards of industry and 
social kindness. A contented mind, and a heart 
filled with a spirit of Christian resignation are in 
deed the greatest boons a man can have. 

Mr. Allen was the third son and the fourth 
child of Enoch and Betsey (Witter) Allen, who 
were married in 1794. They had five children: 
Asa Witter, born 1795; John, 1797; Eliza, (died 
young; Martin, 1807; and David, 1809. Enoch 
.'\llen was born in Windham, Connecticut, May 
23, 1768. His father, Asahel Allen, was born in 
the same place in the year 1742. The Allen 
family were among the earliest of the New Eng- 
land colonists. Martin Allen is a direct descend- 
ant of Samuel and Ann Allen, of Bridgewater, 
Somersetshire, England, who located at Brain- 
tree, Massachusetts, ten miles south of Boston, 
in the early part of the seventeenth century. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Martin Allen have been born 
twelve children, of whom eight are now living. 
The names of the survivors are as follows : 
Lloyd, born July 14, 1833, married F'annie M. 



( 



Jeardslcy, resides in Ellswortl 



M.i 



I'Miza, born 




I 



J^a--)-n-ed- \/ff--/lfa- 




C^/L.r>-. Of-.- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



109 



August 26, 1837, married Robert A. Kirk, Can- 
ton, Ohio; Jesse Fitch, born August 13, 1841, 
unmarried, at home; Chester, born February i, 
1843, niarried Fannie M. Coit, in Ellsworth; 
William Hoyt, born January 3, 1845, married 
p;ila Brooke, Ellsworth ; Henry Bingham, born 
April 26, 1847, married Emma R. Weaver, Salem, 
Columbiana county; Lucy A., born November 5, 
1848, at home; Jettie W., born April 6, 185 1, at 
home; Enoch, Enoch Fitch, Betsey Ann, and an 
infant son are deceased. 



JAMES WILLIAMS. 

John Williams was among the pioneers of 
Canfield township, and bore with fortitude the 
experiences of pioneer life. He enlisted in the 
army during the War of 181 2, immediately after 
Hull's surrender, and served as first lieutenant. 
He married Mary Smith. The names of their 
children were James, Rebecca, Elizabeth, Ban- 
ner, Nancy, and Rachel. Rebecca (deceased) 
married Jacob Bower; Elizabeth married Al- 
medius Scott, and resides in Canfield ; Banner 
married first Clarissa Lew, and second Margaret 
McDaniels, and resides in Canfield; Nancy the 
wife of Ormon Dean, resides in Lordstown; 
Rachel married John Porter, and resides in Pal- 
myra, Portage county. 

James Williams, the oldest child of John and 
Mary Williams, was born in Bedford county, 
Pennsylvania, November 8, 1809. He was mar- 
ried November 17, 1836, to Miss Almyra Cook. 
She was born in Columbiana county, August 28, 
1818. Their children are as follows: Henry A., 
married Irene Greathouse, and lives in Oregon ; 
Mary E., the wife of George Bennett, resides in 
Illinois; Delos E., married Esther Jane Bennett, 
and resides in Ellsworth; Homer married Mary 
Brooke, and resides in Canfield; Alice J., mar- 
ried Samuel S. Gault — her home is in Ellsworth; 
Lewis died at the age of two years. 

Mr. Williams worked at the trade of a carpen- 
ter and joiner for about forty years of his life, 
but is now retired from active business, having 
secured a competency sufficient to support him- 
self and wife during the remainder of their days, 
besides amply providing for all their children. 

Although Mr. Williams never sought office, 
his fellow-citizens,have shown their confidence in 



his integrity by electing him to the office of 
justice of the peace three times. 

No better tribute of respect to this worthy 
couple can be paid than the universally preva- 
lent sentiment of their associates and friends, 
that their lives have been distinguished by acts 
of kindness and benevolence toward many a one 
in need of friends and help. 



NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

Dr. George W. Brooke, son of Basil and 
Rachel (Morris )Brooke, was born in Goshen 
township, then Columbiana (now Mahoning) 
county, Ohio, April 29, 1828. He began the 
study of medicine in 1846, under Dr. James W. 
Hughes of Berlin township, and attended lec- 
tures at the Cleveland Medical college, where he 
graduated in the spring of 185 1. He immedi- 
ately commenced practice under the supervision 
of his preceptor in Berlin, removing in the spring 
of 1852 to Ellsworth, where he has since been 
engaged in his profession. He married in 1852 
Miss Theda A. Carter, of Darien, Genesee coun- 
ty. New York. The children born of this union 
are Ella E., Clara R., Mary Q., Georgie, and 
Theda Carter. Mrs. Brooke died December 29, 
1874, and he married September 21, 1878, Miss 
Mary E. Williams. Dr. Brooke was a Republi- 
can presidential elector in i860, and cast the 
electoral vote of the Nineteenth Congressional 
district for Abraham Lincoln. He was elected 
a representative in the State Legislature in 1877, 
and re-elected in 1879. 

Richard Fitch, Ellsworth township, Mahoning 
county, is the son of Richard Fitch, Sr., one of 
the early pioneers of Ellsworth township. Rich- 
ard Fitch, Sr. was born in Salisbury township, 
Litchfield^county, Connecticut, and emigrated to 
Ohio in 1806. He settled in Ellsworth, in sec- 
tion thirteen. His wife was Lucinda Buell, a 
native of Connecticut. They had a family of 
two sons and eight daughters, three of whom are 
living, viz: Sally, Antoinette, and Richard. The 
latter was born on the homestead in section thir- 
teen. In 1838 he was married to Nancy F. 
Webb, by whom he has had six children, two of 
whom are deceased, having died in infancy. 
The rest live in Ellsworth. Frank, the oldest 
son, was born September 20, 1842, in Ellsworth 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



township. May 2, 1867, he was married to Miss 
Martha B. McNeilly, and has had five children — 
Lizzie M., Jesse B., Charles P., and Bertha B., 
who are living, and John S., who died at the age 
of twenty-three months. Frank Fitch enlisted in 
1864, in the One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Ohio 
national guard, serving one hundred days. 
Richard Fitch, Jr., the subject of this sketch, 
was justice of the peace of this township for fif- 
teen years. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church. 

William Dean (deceased) was born in Litch- 
field county, Connecticut, in the year 1774. He 
emigrated from that State with his family in 
company with his father's family in the year 
1 810 and settled in Canfield township, then 
Trumbull county. The country was then very 
wild; Indians were not uncommon and frequent- 
ly visited the cabins of the settlers while passing 
over their lost hunting-ground. There were also 
plenty of wild animals and game, wolves, deer, 
and bear being far more plenty than sheep and 
cattle. Not long after their settlement in their 
new home, mother Dean was called away, her 
husband surviving her but a few years. William 
Dean married Miss Parthenia Bailey and had a 
family of eight children, six sons and two daugh- 
teis, viz : Orpha, Hiram, Orsemus, James, Ben- 
jamin, William B., Orman, and Balinda; of 
these James, Benjamin, and Balinda are de- 
ceased. By his second marriage he had one 
daughter, Rebecca. Mr. Dean followed farming 
during his life, and by dint of industry and good 
management acquired a good property. He 
died at the old homestead in 1847 ^t the age of 
seventy-three years. He was married three 
times. His third wife is still living. 

William B. Dean, farmer, Ellsworth township, 
Mahoning county, son of William Dean, the pio- 
neer above mentioned, was born in .Litchfield 
county, Connecticut, in 1810. In October of that 
year his parents emigrated to Ohio, or New 
Connecticut as the Reserve was then called. 
William B. Dean grew up on the farm and was 
trained in the severe school of pioneer times. 
In 1832 he was married to Phebe Diehl. They 
have one child. Ward, born January 18, 1834. 
Mr. Dean settled in Ellsworth in 1835 and 
cleared the farm on which he lives. 

In the year 1840 a part of the family of James 
Dixon, consisting of five sons and one daugh- 



ter, emigrated to this country from Ireland. 
They came to Ohio and settled about a mile 
south of the present fair grounds. John Dixon, 
the third child, was born in county Down, Ire- 
land, in 1809. He married in 1838 Elizabeth 
Kirkpatrick, by whom he had eight children, 
viz : James, Agnes, Mary Ann, Eliza, Margaret, 
Mary Agnes, Robert, and Martha. Agnes, Mary 
Ann, and Mary Agnes are deceased. Mr. Dick- 
son is now seventy-two years old but is still 
active and can do his day's work in the harvest 
field. Himself and wife are members of the 
Presbyterian church. 

Philip .\rner (deceased) was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1776; was married in 1801 to Miss Susan 
Broadsword, and had five sons and three daugh- 
ters, as follows; Peter, Elizabeth, Chloe, Lewis, 
Mary, Caleb, Daniel, and Eli T., two of whom 
are deceased. Mr. Arner came to Ellsworth 
township, now in Mahoning county, in 1802, 
and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land 
on Meander creek, the farm now being owned 
by his son Daniel. He made a small clearing, 
the first in Ellsworth township, and built a log 
cabin and then went back for his family, whom 
he brought out in 1804. He was an industrious 
man, worthy citizen and was held in high esteem 
by the entire community. He lived to an ad- 
vanced age. 

Eli T. Arner, farmer, Ellsworth township, Ma- 
honing county, youngest son of Philip Arner, 
was born in Ellsworth, May 8, 1825. In 1846 
he married Miss N. Orcleroad, and has three 
children — Susan, Ella, and Jessie. Mr. Arner 
is a thorough and successful farmer, and pos- 
sesses a well improved farm. 

Charles Fenstemaker (deceased) was born in 
Pennsylvania in 1817. He came to Ohio with 
his father, and settled about one and a half miles 
from where his widow now lives. He resided 
upon his father's farm until the year 1837, when 
he married Miss Abby Antony. He then bought 
and settled where his family now lives. Mr. 
Fenstemaker, by industry, prudence, and econ- 
omy acquired a good property and pleasant 
home. He had two sons and three daughters — 
Anna, Elizabeth, Susanna, Ira and Aaron. 
The three daughters are deceased. Mr. Fenste- 
maker died in 1880. He was a member of the 
Presbyterian churcli, as is also his widow. 

Jonathan Howard, farmer, Ellsworth town- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ship, Mahoning county, third son of William 
and Mary Howard, was born in Poland town- 
ship, then Trumbull county, now Mahoning, 
March 30, 181 1. His father was born in Mary- 
land in 1774. He came to Ohio in 1S02, and 
settled in Poland township. About 181 6 he 
moved to Ellsworth township. April 6, 1802, 
he married Miss Mary Rose, by whom he had 
thirteen children, as follows: Susan, Mary, John, 
Jesse, Jonathan, William, Rebecca, Jane, Louisa, 
Melvina, Isaac, Albert C, and one that died in 
infancy. It is a singular circumstance in the 
iiistory of this family that the circle of twelve 
children was not broken by death until the 
youngest was forty years of age. Jonathan was 
some five years of age when his parents moved 
to Ellsworth. He married, in 1849, Margaret 
Hoover, and has one son, Frank C., born 
September 11, 1852. He lives at home with 
his parents. 

Albert C. Howard, farmer, Ellsworth town- 
ship, Mahoning county, youngest child of 
William and Mary Howard, was born in Ells- 
worth, November 5, 1826. He married, March 
3, 1857, Miss Susan Teegarden, by whom he has 
had two children, a son and daughter, viz : 
Martha, born January 17, 1858, who died March 
loth of the same year, and L. U., born February 
24, 1859, now a student in Mount Union 
college, having attended some four terms. 
Albert Howard taught school for a number of 
terms in Jackson, Newton, and Green townships, 
and has studied medicine to some extent, but 
has never practiced. 

J. M. Howard, farmer, Ellsworth township, 
Mahoning county, was born in section twenty, 
Ellsworth township, in 1833. When about two 
years of age he went to live with his grand- 
parents (McCreary), who resided in the same 
neighborhood, and of whom a brief sketch is 
given elsewhere. Mr. Howard was married in 
1859 to Sarah M. Rose, of Jackson township, 
and has one child, Jeannette. He owns and 
occupies the farm previously owned by his 
grandfather McCreary. 

Philo Spaulding (deceased) was a native of 
Connecticut, where he was born June 26, 1786. 
In 1808 he married Miss Amanda Bingham, by 
whom he had six sons and two daughters, as fol- 
low: Augustus, Moses, Amos, Newman, Isaac, 
Jeremiah, Paulina, and Jerusha. In 1813, with 



his family of wife, daughter Paulina, and sons 
Augustus and Moses, he came to Ohio making 
the journey in an ox-cart. He settled in Ells- 
worth township, now Mahoning county. Two 
years afterward he located upon the farm where 
his son Moses now lives. He began there in 
the woods and by hard work and under the dif- 
ficulties incident to pioneer life built up a good 
home and reared his family. His wife and com- 
panion of his pioneer days died in 1835, and in 
1837 he married Mrs. Elizabeth Kidd. By the 
second marriage there were no children. He 
died in 1876 at the advanced age of ninety years, 
surviving his wife twenty years. 

Moses Spaulding, farmer, Ellsworth, Mahoning 
county, son of the subject of the preceding 
sketch, was born in Connecticut December 21, 
181 1. He remained upon the farm with his 
parents until his marriage, which took place 
October 8, 1834, to Miss Harriet Ann Dakin. 
The result of this union was eleven children, 
as follow: Horace, Caroline E., Emily, Julia, 
Homer, Susan, Charlotte, Horace (2), Ella, Ida, 
and Mary. Horace (i), Julia, and Homer are 
dead. The latter enlisted in the war of the Re- 
bellion, although only fifteen years of age, and 
was severely wounded in his first engagement at 
the battle of Shiloh. He rallied for a time and 
was brought home where he received the kindest 
attention and care, but the wound proved a fatal 
one and he died December 2, 1862, his loss be- 
ing a severe blow to his parents. Mr. Spauld- 
ing IS an enterprising farmer and has accumu- 
lated a good property. Himself and wife are 
members of the Presbyterian church. 

James McNeilly (deceased) was born in Ire- 
land, July, 1804. He married Elizabeth Trim- 
ble in 1824, and in 1827 emigrated to America; 
came to Ohio and settled in Mahoning county, 
then Trumbull, Jackson township. He remained 
there about three years and then moved to Ells- 
worth and located in section twenty-three, where 
he lived until his death. His children were 
John, Robert, William, Margaret, Eliza, Samuel, 
Mary, James P., and Martha, all of whom are 
living but John. 

James P. McNeilly, farmer, Ellsworth, Mahon- 
ing county, son of James McNeilly of the above 
sketch, was born February ist, 1844, in Ells- 
worth township. At the age of twenty-seven he 
was united in marriage to Miss Jerusha Fitch, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



by whom he has had two children, Frances F. 
and Fannie A., one of whom died at the age of 
sixteen months. Mr. McNeilly enlisted m the 
One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Ohio National 
guard in 1864, and served one hundred days. 
Himself and wife are both members of the 
Presbyterian church. 

Samuel A. McNeilly, farmer, Ellsworth town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Ellsworth 
in 1839. In i860 he married Miss Mary W. 
Smith, and has a family of four children, viz: 
Walter '1'., Helen V., Mary K, and Charles S. 
Mr. McNeilly has a good property in Ellsworth 
center. He and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian church. 

John McCreary (deceased) was born in county 
Down, Ireland, in 1770. He emigrated to 
America in 1787, and settled in New Jersey. 
Shortly afterwards he moved to Erie, Pennsyl- 
vania. In 1801 he married Miss Jane McFar- 
land, and two years afterwards he came to Ohio, 
and settled in section nineteen, Ellsworth town- 
ship, now Mahoning county. He cleared up 
and improved a fine farm, on which he lived 
until his death in 1839. He left surviving him 
a wife and two daughtersT Mary and Jeannette. 

Samuel Knauff (deceased) was born in Green 
township, now Mahoning county, in the year 
1822. He lived with his parents until his mar- 
riage, which event occurred in 1850. He mar- 
ried Miss Barbara Hardman, and began married 
life on the farm now occupied by the widow. The 
family consists of five sons and five daughters 
as follows: Anna, Henry, John, Lida, Erin, 
Mary, Amos, Lovina, Amanda, and Ensign. Mr. 
Knauff died in 1872, and was buried in Green 
township beside his parents, who died many 
years ago. He was a member of the Lutheran 
church. 

William J. McKinney, postmaster, Ellsworth 
center, Mahoning county, was born in Pittsburg, 
Pennsylvania, August 4, 1852, and came to Ohio 
with his father in the latter part of the year 1858. 
He was married to Miss Hannah Mygatt, but 
has no children. He was appointed postmaster 
at Ellsworth center in 1874, and also elected 
township treasurer the same year. He is a mer- 
chant at Ellsworth center. 

George W. HarrofT, fanner, Ellsworth town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in .Augusta 
county, Virginia, luly 11, 1S33. He married in 



1865, Miss Mary McLaughlin, who died Decem- 
ber 2 2d of the same year, while on the way to 
Ohio, and was buried at Wellsville. He was 
again married, early in 1867, to Miss Mary 
Diehl, by whom he had one child, Mary S. C. 
His second wife died December 22,1867. M""- 
Harroff was married a third time, to Miss Sarah 
Diehl, sister of his second wife, March 20, 1868, 
by whom he has had one child, George A., born 
February 14, i86g. 

Henry C. Beardsley, farmer, Ellsworth town^ 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in the State of 
Connecticut, December 2, 1823. He came to 
Ohio with his father, Almus Beardsley, and set- 
tled in the woods in Ellsworth township. Henry 
C. Beardsley married, in 185 1, Miss Elizabeth 
Smith, and has had eight children. Four daugh- 
ters and two sons are now living, viz: Laura, W. 
L., Ora, Lucy M., Edith, and Arthur. Mr. Beards- 
ley still resides on the old homestead. He is a 
member of the Presbyterian church. In politics 
he is a Republican. 

Henry Boyd, grandfather of Dr. F. Wilson, 
came to this county in 1830; settled in Ellsworth 
township first, afterwards in Berlin ; was a mem- 
ber of the State Legislature in 1847, and it was 
probably on his recommendation that the lines 
bounding the county were run. He was a justice 
of the peace for many years ; an elder in the 
Presbyterian church ; was a man of influence 
and highly esteemed. He died in Lima, Ohio, 
in 1864. 



CHAPTER V. 

BERLIN. 

GENERAL DESCRIPTION. 

Berlin is township one of range five, Connecti- 
cut Western Reserve, and was, until the forma- 
tion of Mahoning county, the southwest corner 
township of Trumbull count)'. Berlin has Mil- 
ton on the north, Ellsworth on the east, Goshen 
and Smith on the south, and Deerfield, Portage 
county on the west. In natural beauty it is un- 
surpassed by any portion of the county. The 
winding Mahoning washes a portion of the west- 
ern borders of the township. The surface in 
its vicinity is more or less broken, and with 





k../^iC^i3^^ 



( 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



113 



woody banks and verdant valleys, the river 
helps to make a scene of picturesque loveliness. 
Mill creek waters the southwestern quarter of 
the townshij). One of its tributaries has the 
suggestive name of Turkey Broth. Turkey 
Broth creek is a small stream rising in the north- 
eastern i)art of the township, and flowing south- 
westerly until it reaches Mill creek. Several 
small runs empty into it. 

The land of Berlin is mostly very nearly level, 
and consists of a succession of broad swells 
with wide and very slight depressions interven- 
ing. The surface is so nearly uniform that an 
observer, upon almost any of the gentle rises ol 
land, can obtain a view of nearly all parts of the 
township. The soil is deep and fertile; very lit- 
tle clay or sand, but a good strong loam, well 
adapted to fruits and cereals. A traveler along 
almost any of the roads in the township can 
scarcely fail to note and admire the beautiful 
fields on every hand. 

Berlin center, a straggling settlement of twenty 
or more houses, is the only village, and is pleas- 
antly situated on a slight elevation a short dis- 
tance east of the geographical center of the town- 
ship. 

Belvidere, where Schilling's mill is located, 
advanced far enough toward the dignity of a vil- 
lage to receive a name, and apparently its ambi- 
tion was satisfied. Shelltown in the northeast is 
a thickly settled community. At Christy's cor- 
ners, in the southwestern part of the township, 
quite an extensive business has been carried pn 
for a number of years in the manufacture of 
pottery. 

The township was but sparsely settled until 
about 1824 for the reason that the greater por- 
tion of the land was not offered for sale until 
that time. 

0RG.\NIZ.\TI0N. 

The township, which for several years had 
been a part of Ellsworth, was erected a separate 
township and election precinct by the county 
commissioners in March, 1828. 

THE FIRST ELECTION 

of township officers took place at the school- 
house near the center April 7, 1828, Matthias 
Glass, Salmon Hall, and Joseph Stall being 
judges of election, and Peter Musser and Joseph 
H. Coult, clerks. The following officers were 



elected: Nathan Minard, Thompson Craig, 
Samuel Kauffman, trustees; Salmon Hall, treas- 
urer; Joseph H. Coult, clerk; John Stuart, con- 
stable ; William Kirkpatrick, Christian Kauff- 
man overseers of the poor; Joseph Davis, Joseph 
Leonard fence viewers; Edward Fankle, Benja- 
min Misner, Abraham Craft, supervisors. 

SCHOOL DISTRICTS. 

In 1828 the township was divided into four 
school districts. Four years later the number 
had increased to nine. The old township rec- 
ords give the following names of the inhabitants 
of the four school districts in 1829. Where the 
name is illegible in the old book, or where the 
spelling is of doubtful authenticity, a question 
mark (?) is placed after the name : 

District Number One. — Joshua Minard, John 
Vosburg, William Kirkpatrick, Edward Fankle, 
John Crumrine, John Ween (?), Benjamin Leon- 
ard, Nathan Minard, Adam Morningstar, Henry 
Morningstar, Adam Morningstar, Jr., John Lud- 
wick, John Kimmel. 

District Number Two.— John Smith, Henry 
Powell, William Bishop, Ephraim Horner, Elisha 
Fogg, Adna B. Silver, Joseph Huntley, Enoch 
Sharpe, Isaac Sharpe, Hofifman Brown, James 
Ramsey, Jacob Strong, John Shatio(?), David Par- 
shall, Henry Houck, Joseph Davis, John Thomas, 
Samuel Leonard, John Leonard, Joseph Leon- 
ard, Jacob Starling, Isaac Phipps, Andrew Hull, 
Joseph Poll (?), Peter Helsel, Joseph H. Coult. 

District Number Three. — George Ripple, Eli 
Rush, John Craig, James Packard, John Carter, 
John Stump (?), William Parker, Eleanor Pack- 
ard, George Boom (Baum ?), Jacob Welly, Wil- 
liam Leonard, George Foster, Abraham Craft, 
John Foster, Salmon Hall, John Best, Henry 
Rummell, John Rummell. 

District Number Four. — Daniel Myer, John 
Rummell, John Phillips, Jonathan King, John 
Cline, Peter Glass, Adam Schilling, David Mis- 
ner, Samuel Misner, Samuel Phillips, Phillip 
Wise (?), Jacob Stump, Henry Fulk, Matthias 
Swanz, Benjamin Misner, George Hartzell, 
Abraham Hawn, William Glass, Christian Kauff- 
man, Samuel Kauffman, David Mauen (?), Wil- 
liam Mell, Jacob Eib, Matthias Glass, Adam 
Zedaker, Daniel Greenamyer, Peter Musser, 
Moses Ross, Jacob Greenamyer, James Winans, 
James Byers, William Stult (?), Emmanuel Hull. 

This is doubtless a complete list of the prop- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



erty holders and taxpayers of the township for 
the year 1829. 

JUSTICES. 

The first justice of the peace was Peter Mus- 
ser, appointed in 1828. His immediate succes- 
sors were Joseph H. Coult, WiUiani Hartzell, 
James B. Boyd (resigned), and D. A. Fitch. 

SETTLEMENT. 

Oarrett Packard, the first white settler of Ber- 
lin, came from the vicinity of Winchester, Vir- 
ginia, to Austintown in 1803. Two years later 
he moved to Deerfield, where he resided until 
March, 1809, at which date he settled on a farm 
on Mill creek, in the southwestern part of Berlin 
township, having previously purchased the land 
of General Perkins. He had sold his place in 
Deerfield and was contemplating a move to this 
purchase when he was taken sick, and for some 
time was unable to do any work. His Deerfield 
neighbors generally combined their efforts and 
erected a log cabin upon his land, — rude and 
primitive to be sure, but it served to shelter the 
family. The structure was of rough logs, three 
sides, the fourth side serving as a door, over 
which blankets were hung in cold weather. The 
spaces between the logs were filled with moss. 
Like many pioneer dwellings, this had no floor 
except the earth. 

Soon after the arrival of the family in the 
township, Mrs. Packard gave birth to a son, who 
is now a well known citizen of Champion town- 
ship, Trumbull county, — Thomas Packard, born 
March 27, 1809, the first white child born in 
Berlin. Garrett Packard's was tlie only family 
in the township for several years. At the time 
of the War of 1812 he was the only man resid- 
ing in what is now Berlin. He was drafted and 
was in the service three months. He died No- 
vember 20, 1820, aged about forty-five, his death 
being the first that occurred in the township. 
, Mrs. Packaid, whose maiden name was Eleanor 
Hendrickson, survived until May 13, 1830, and 
died in Austintown while visiting the home of her 
son-in-law, John McCoUum. She was fifty-four 
years of age. Below we briefly mention each of 
the ten children of the family : Betsy became the 
wife of George Baiim, and resided in Berlin 
township. They had seven children, six of whom 
arrived at maturity. Five are still living, three 
sons and two daughters. Mrs. Baum died in 
Atwater, Portage county, in 1877. Polly be- 



came the first wife of John McCollum, and died 
in Milton in 1867. She was the mother of six 
children, three sons and three daughters. Two 
sons and two daughters are still living. James 
H. was killed in 1829 when about twenty five 
years old by the fall of a pile of boards which 
he was drying by means of a fire. It was a 
rainy day, and he probably lay down by the fire 
and fell asleep. The board kiln being loosely 
built, fell over upon him, and when his friends 
came to look for him they found only his bruised 
and mangled body beneath the pile of lumber. 
Jane became the wife of Daniel Parshall, and 
resided in Milton township. She died in 1843. 
Her family consisted of two sons and three 
daughters, all of whom are living, excepting one 
son. Esther married Jesse Rose, son of David 
Rose, resided in Jackson and afterwards in 
Champion. She is now a widow and lives in 
Washington county, Iowa. She has no children. 
Charlotte was the second wife of Joseph H. 
Coult. She had one son and one daughter. 
The son is living. Mrs. Coult died in Ellsworth 
in 1854. Thomas resides in Champion. Asby 
went West when a young man, and is now a 
resident of Johnson county, Iowa. He is the 
father of two sons and five daughters. One son 
and four daughters are living. John W. resides 
in Columbus, Ohio. His family of three sons 
and three daughters are all living excepting 
one son. Garrett resides in Johnson county, 
Iowa. He has two sons and three daughters 
living. 

Jacob Weldy was the second settler. He 
came with his family from east of the mountains, 
but at what date we are unable to learn. He 
located in the northwestern corner of the town- 
ship. His son Jacob lived upon the old place 
after him. Samuel also lived and died in Berlin. 
The family was a large one. 

George Baum was the next comer. His father 
emigrated from Germany and settled in Salem. 
George came to Berlin when a young man. 
About 1815 he married Betsey Packard. This 
was the first marriage that occurred among the 
residents of " Hart and Mather's." They went 
to Ellsworth and the ceremony was performed 
by 'Squire William Ripley. Baum settled in the 
southwestern part of the township on the next 
tarr.i east of Weldy. None of his children reside 
in the township. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Abraham Hawn came to the township about 
1820, and located two miles north and a little 
east of the center. He brought up a family of 
six children. Two of the sons, Peter and Mat- 
thias, died in Berlin; Jacob lives in Akron; 
Michael D., in Berlin. His daughters were: 
Christina, who became the wife of Joseph Clme, 
and died in this township, and Mrs. Susanna 
Smith, Deerfield. 

Joseph H. Coult was the first settler at tlie 
center. His family was the fourth or fifth that 
came to the township. Coult acted as land 
agent for Amos Sill, the proprietor of the greater 
part of the township, and sold the land to the 
settlers. He came about 1823. He made the 
first clearing at the center and built the first 
frame house in the township. In 1842 he sold 
his place to Thomas Hawkins, who still resides 
upon it. Mr. Coult moved to Ellsworth and 
thence to Atwater. 

Matthias Glass settled in the northwest of the 
township about 1822. His sons were John, Wil- 
liam, Matthias, Peter, Jacob, Solomon. There 
were also several daughters. 

Reuben Gee, Joseph Davis and David Parshall 
bought land and settled in the township about 
1824. Gee remained but a short time. Joseph 
Davis is remembered by some of the old settlers 
as a very religious man, and an earnest friend of 
the church and preachers. His son James re- 
sided in the township for a while. David Par- 
shall settled about one mile west of the center 
on the south side of the road. He sold out 
and moved. 

From 1824 to 1830 the settlers came in rap- 
idly, but of the families who came during that 
time comparatively few are represented in the 
township. The early as well as the later set- 
tlers were chiefly Penns) Ivanians, quiet, unobtru- 
sive, but progressive people. Their characteris- 
tic thrift has borne its fruit, and Berlin, the 
youngest of the Mahoning county townships, 
will compare very favorably with some sections 
where improvements were begun much earlier. 
We have space to mention a few early comers. 

Jonathan King was born in Pennsylvania in 
1804. In 1823 he came to Springfield town- 
ship, this county, where he worked for some 
time. In 1825 he married Lydia Keck, and in 
1S26 settled in Berlin township. They had ten 
children. Seven arrived at matuiity, and five 



are still living. Mr. King first settled two miles 
north of the centre and a little east, and there 
made the first improvements on the farm where 
his son Joseph now lives. Mr. King has 
probably been a resident of Berlin longer than 
any other man now living in the township. 

John Cline, a native of Pennsylvania, settled 
in Boardman township quite early; thence 
moved to Canfield, and in 1828 settled in the 
northern part of Berlin. He was the father of 
seven sons and four daughters. Three sons and 
one daughter are still living, viz: Jonathan, 
George, and Conrad, and Mrs. Sarah Hawn, the 
oldest of the family. All are residents of this 
township. 

George Ripple was an early settler west of the 
center. 

Salmon Hall settled on the west side of the 
Mahoning. 

The Misner family settled in the northern part 
of the township. 

Henry Houck located on the road west of the 
center. 

David and Tobias Hartzell were early settlers. 

William Kirkpatrick settled east of the center 
on the farm now occupied by Jonathan King. 
He kept tavern at the center a few years. His 
name was changed to Kirk on his petitioning the 
Legislature. His sons, William, James, and 
Isaac were residents of Berlin for a time. James 
died here. 

Emanuel Hull, an early settler in the north- 
east of the township, lived and died on the farm 
now owned by his son George, and his daughter 
Mary. Michael, his son, also resides in the 
northeastern part of the township. 

John Kimmel settled on the east line of Berlin 
township in 1828. He brought up five sons and 
four daughters. Four sons and two daughters 
are yet living. Daniel, one of the sons, lives on 
a part of the old homestead. 

George Best came to Berlin township in 1830 
and settled northwest of the center, where he 
now resides. He has brought up a family of 
eight children, six of whom are living. 

Horace Rowland has been a resident of the 
township since 183 1. He began in the woods 
in the southeast of Berlin. Later he moved east 
of the center and bought the farm on which 
Michael Crumrine had made the first improve- 
ment. 



ii6 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Zimri Engle has resided in Berlin since 1832. 

In 1833 John Burkey came from Petersburg 
and settled in the northeast of the township. 
He brought up a family of eleven children, nine 
of whom are living, five sons and four daughters, 
Peter, Solomon, and Sophia (Hull) being resi- 
dents of this township. 

John Carson came to Berlin in 1832, and in 
1834 settled on the farm he now occupies, in the 
northwestern corner of the township. Adam 
Zedaker had been living on the place and had 
made some imjjrovements before Mr. Carson 
purchased it. 

Lawrence Shively came to the northwestern 
part of Berlin in 1833. His family of ten chil- 
dren are all living. Mr. Shively moved to 
Milton in 1848, and resided there several years. 
He is now living in Berlin. 

About the year 1800, Peter Hoyle came from 
Virginia and settled in Ellsworth township, where 
he lived until 1836. At that date he settled in 
the eastern part of Berlin. He brought up five 
sons and two daughters. All are now living 
excepting one daughter. George and Peter are 
residents of this township. 

BERLIN 

was the name given the township at the instance 
of Matthias Glass. He, being a German, desired 
to have his adopted home bear a name which 
would remmd him of the Fatherland. Previous 
to the organization, the township was known to 
the early settlers for miles around as Hart and 
Mather's, from the names of two men who were 
originally pro|)rietors of a tract withm it. 
General Perkins owned a thousand acres or 
more in the southwest corner, and it was of him 
that Packard and other early comers purchased 
their land. About two-thirds of the township 
was owned by Amos Sill, and sold by his agent, 
Joseph H. Coult, who was the first settler at the 
center. 

TURKEY BROTH CREEK 

was so named by Garrett Packard. His journey 
with his family from Austintown to the place 
where lie settled in Deerfield, a distance of nine- 
teen miles, occu[)ied three days. The first night 
he stayed at the house of Philip Ports, in Ells- 
worth; the second night encamped beside the 
creek, and while there shot a wild turkey and 
made broth, using water from the stream, which 



has since borne the name he bestowed upon it. 
The third day Packard arrived in Deerfield. 

HARD TIMES. 

A majority of the settlers of Berlin came after 
surrounding townships were considerably settled, 
and thus had some advantages over the first 
pioneers upon the Reserve. Stores had been es- 
tablished and mills were in operation, and neigh- 
boring settlements were beginning to assume 
some of the habiliments of civilization. Yet 
pioneer life everywhere is attended with priva- 
tions and hardships ; and these the early resi- 
dents of Berlin did not escape. In the matter 
of game, however, they were especially fortu- 
nate. " Hart and Mather's " was long a favor- 
ite hunting-ground for sportsmen from miles 
around. The number of deer that have been 
slaughtered within the limits of the township, if 
it could be ascertained, would no doubt cause 
open-eyed astonishment among the youth of to- 
day. 

But notwithstanding the fact that there was 
enough meat running about in the forest, the 
people subsisted largely upon coin bread. In 
the busy season the farmer could not leave his 
field to go hunting. 

Thomas Packard, in a conversation which the 
writer had with him, while speaking of his boy- 
hood in Berlin and the difiference between now 
and then, incidentally made allusion to a " hom- 
iny block," which formed a part of the household 
furniture of his father. On being asked an ex- 
planation of those mysterious words, Mr. Pack- 
ard said : 

You know there were few mills in this part of the country 
ill tliose days, and the few small affairs that had been erected 
were frequently rendered useless in a dry season. Such sea- 
sons — and likewise at times when people were so much oc- 
cupied with planting or sowing that there was no oppor- 
tunity for going to mill— the hominy block was in requisition. 
I remember ours perfectly well. It was a large, solid block 
of wood, in the end of which a hollow had been cut and 
smoothly shaved. This cavity would hold nearly half a 
bushel. Ry means of this hollow block and a large and 
heav-y stick, smooth and round, corn and wheat were con- 
verted by pounding into substitutes for meal and flour. This 
hominy was usually cooked Iiy boiling; it was healthy food, 
and tasted well, too. 

A NARROW ESCAPE. 

In early days Indians were probably as numer- 
ous along the Mahoning as in any [jart of this 
region, and here, too, they continued to remain 
some years after the white man appeared and 
made his home in the forest. 



I 




■^(I'fAci^f^ J2yi t^yit^cz::) 



vy- 




tci.j<::y[ ^-j^^-pz) 



i 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



17 



While Garrett Packard was living in Deerfield, 
both he and his wife were at work in the field 
one day, when Mr. Packard chanced to get a 
splinter in his finger. His wife came to his assist- 
ance, stood by his side, and picked it out with a 
pin. Soon afterwards an Indian emerged from 
the woods close at hand bearing a gun. Said 
he, "While you were standing near together, I 
was there by yonder tree. I could have shot you 
both, and laid one on the ground there, and the 
other there," indicating the place by his finger. 
"But then me think, white man never harm me; 
why me kill him ? So me no shoot." Both 
thanked the Indian heartily for his thoughtful 
consideration and self-restraint — for so good a 
mark seemed to have much impressed the savage. 
He was invited to the cabin to dinner, and from 
that day forward remained a warm and earnest 
friend of the family. 

.MILLS. 

About the year 1825 Matthias Glass built a 
saw-mill and grist-mill on the Mahoning, a short 
distance above Frederick. The first grist-mill 
was destroyed by fire. Isaac Wilson purchased 
the mill-site of Glass and put up the flouring- 
mill which is still standing. His sons, J. B. and 
J. S. Wilson, ran it for some years. It was then 
purchased by its present owner, George Schilling. 
This is the only grist-mill ever built in Berlin 
township. 

In 1826 David Shoemaker built a saw-mill on 
Mill creek, in the southwestern part of the town 
ship. It was sold to Jacob Sheets, who run it 
several years. 

About the same date Joseph H. Coult put up 
a saw-mill on Turkey Broth a short distance 
north of the center. Coult sold it to Jonathan 
King, King to Henry Morningstar, and Morning- 
star to Joseph Cline. 

T.^NNERV. 

A man named McKean carried on tanning 
and shoemaking at the center, some forty-five 
years ago. His tannery was on the Turkey 
Broth, west of the center. 

MERCH.\NTS. 

The first storekeeper in Berlin was Joseph 
Edwards, who commenced business in 1833 on 
the southeast corner at the center, where Dr. 
Hughes now lives. He lived in a small log 
house and kept his goods in a small frame build- 



ing. Garrison & Hoover were the next mer- 
chants, followed by Daniel A. Fitch. David 
McCauley came next and moved the store to the 
northeast corner, where it now stands. John 
Ward, Warren & Webber, R. H. King, Hughes 
Brothers, A. G. Ramsdell, and B. T. Stanley 
have since occupied the store. For a time there 
were two stores at the center. Richards & Cot- 
ton kept one in the building now occupied by J. 
M. Brown. It then stood on the southwest cor- 
ner lot. William Porter had goods there after 
Richards & Cotton, and employed a man named 
Linton to sell them. 

In addition to these stores William Kirk kept 
goods for sale in his tavern. Joel Booth also 
had a store opposite the blacksmith shop some 
thirty years ago. Kirk's place of busine.ss was 
the old unoccupied building now standing west 
of the town-house. 

T.-\VER.\S. 

Probably Peter Musser, in the northern part 
of the township, kept the first tavern. William 
Kirk kept several years in a building now stand- 
ing just east of the town-house. George Taylor 
kept public house a number of years where R. 
H. King now lives. 

Wilson's .store. 

Isaac Wilson put up a store at Belvidere in 
1839, soon after he bought the mill privilege 
there. His sons sold goods there for some years. 
Jacob W. Glass purchased the store from them. 
Morgan Reed, Langstaff, and others have ear- 
ned on merchandising there in later years. For 
some time the building has not been used as a 
store. 

PHYSICIAN'S. 

Dr. James W. Hughes was the first regular 
physician in the township. He settled in Berlin 
in 1834, and practiced successfully until his 
death in 1869. His son. Dr. W. K. Hughes, 
succeeded to his practice and continues to be 
the physician of the township. Other doctors 
have located at the center, but they have mainly 
been residents only a short time. 

POST-OFFICES. 

The first post-office in Berlin township was 
established about 1828, Peter Musser post- 
master. Amity was the name of the post-office. 
Musser kept tavern on the old stage road in the 
northern part of the township, very near the line. 



ii8 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



He soon moved and the office was discontinued. 
Frederick post-office, of which mention is made 
in the history of Milton township, is now kept in 
Berlin. The Berlin post-office (at the center) 
was established in 1833. The mail was then 
received but once a week. Joseph Edwards 
was the first postmaster, succeeded by Daniel 
A. Fitch, David Routsawn, Thomas L. Dutton, 
Cyrus O. Warren, R. H. King, Lizzie Hughes, 
A. G. Raiiisdell, and B. T. Stanley. Daily mails. 

EARLY .SCHOOLS. 

In another portion of this chapter will be 
found a list of the inhabitants of the original 
school districts of the township, interesting not 
only in connection with the school history, but 
valuable as showing who were the heads of fami- 
lies in the township at the time this record was 
made. 

But schools had been maintained previous to 
the organization of the township. A little log 
school-house was erected on the banks of the 
Turkey Broth, near the center, at a date which 
was probably not far from 1824. Sarah Gee was 
one of the first teachers. 

Martha McKelvey and afterwards Eliza Mc- 
Kelvey taught school in a deserted log-cabin in 
the southwestern part of the township at an early 
dale. In the northern part ot the township a 
school-house was built quite early. English and 
German were taught alternate weeks or alternate 
terms. Alexander Hall was one of the first 
teachers in this school. 

THE FIRST WEDDING 

at Berlin center took place at the house of Joseph 
H. Coult, now the residence of Thomas Haw- 
kins, on a cold and wintry night in December. 
The parties wedded were William Ripley and 
Miss Allen. The guests were the nearest neigh- 
bors, some from Benton and some from Ells- 
worth. As there was no wagon road between 
l'',ilsworth and Benton, the visitors from the 
latter place came on horseback, carrying torches 
in their hands for the purpose of keeping wolves 
at bay. The next morning it was noticed that 
the wolves had followed the party some distance 
and left tracks all around the house and even on 
the doorste))S. 

AN INCIDENT OF SLAVERY DAYS.* 

Marius R. Robinson, a Presbyterian minister 

•Contributed by E. P. Thorn, Ellsworth. 



residing in Salem, Ohio, came to Berlin in June, 
1837, having been invited to deliver a lecture on 
the slavery question. He was one of the early 
Abolitionists, and was about thirty-one years of 
age at the time of his visit to Berlin. Here he 
became the guest of Jesse Garretson, a Quaker 
merchant. It being impossible to secure any 
public building for a lecture he spoke in Mr. 
Garretson's dwelling on Friday, June 2d. 

Another meeting was announced for the fol- 
lowing Sunday, when the lecturer proposed to 
vindicate the Bible from the charge of supporting 
slavery. The South at that time largely con- 
trolled public opinion in the North and forbade 
the agitation of the slavery question, therefore 
the announcement of an "abolition" lecture 
threw the village into a state of fierce excitement. 

About ten o'clock Saturday evening Mr. Rob- 
inson was sitting in the store with Mr. and Mrs. 
Garretson, when several men rushed in and 
seized him, saying, "You have got to leave this 
town to-night ; you have disturbed the peace of 
our citizens long enough." A struggle ensued, 
Mr. Garretson and his wife making desperate ef- 
forts to protect him, but they were overpowered; 
the lecturer was taken out, stripped of his cloth- 
ing and covered with tar and feathers. While 
some of the men were holding him, waiting for 
others to bring the tar and feathers, Mr. Robin- 
son made several attempts to talk, but was pre- 
vented by being struck at each effort. He was 
bleeding freely from a cut or wound in the arm, 
near his left shoulder. After the tar and feathers 
had been applied, his clothes were put on again 
and he was carried in a wagon a distance of 
about eleven miles to a point about one mile 
south of Canfield, and there left in the road. 
Although a stranger in that locality he found his 
way to the house of Mr. Wetmore, where he was 
kindly cared for. 

Twelve of the men who committed the outrage 
were arrested and had a preliminary trial before 
a justice of the peace at Ellsworth ; but while 
Mr. Robinson's attorneys, Milton Sutliff and 
Robert Taylor, of Warren, and Joshua R. Gid- 
dings, of Ashtabula, were preparing the case for 
the court of common pleas, a compromise was 
effected, each of the parties charged paying Mr. 
Robinson the sum of $40. 

The effect of tills affair was wide spread. 
Salem became known throughout the whole 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



country as a "hot-bed of abolitionism;" and it 
was this incident and Mr. Robinson's subsequent 
work that made it so, or contributed largely 
toward that result. Mr. Robinson was an able 
man and devoted the remaining years of his life 
to fighting slavery as a lecturer and as editor of 
the Anti-slavery Bugle, until the institution was 
swept out of existence by the w-ar. 

CHURCH HISTORY. 

The history of the churches of Berlin is not a 
record of brilliant successes. Probably the 
township contains, in proportion to its popula- 
tion, an average number of devout people ; but 
the mistake has been made of trying to support 
too many churches, and consequently we have 
several failures to chronicle. 

THE GERMAN CHURCH. 

The Germans held meetings at the house of 
Abraham Hawn for several years. In 1828 
those belonging to the Lutheran and German 
Reformed denominations erected a small house 
for public worship, north of the center about two 
miles. The building served both as a church 
and a school-house. It was built of hewn logs, 
and was perhaps 22x28 feet. They next erected 
a frame building in 1836, with gallery, lofty 
pulpit, etc. — in short, an old-fashioned Dutch 
church. This house continuedto be used until 
1872, when the church now standing was erected. 

Prominent among the early Lutherans were 
Abraham Hawn, Jonathan King, John Eckis, 
John Eckis, jr., John March and Henry Houck. 

Among those who were members of the Re- 
formed church we mention Henry Rummel, 
Jacob Greenamyer, Peter Kimmel, and Daniel 
Kump. 

The Lutherans and the Reformed have always 
occupied the church in common. For some 
years all of the preaching was in German. In 
1842 occurred a great revival. The membership 
of the Reformed church has been growing grad- 
ually less until they no longer support a pastor, 
and the meetings are now conducted wholly by 
the Lutherans. The first preacher of the Lu- 
therans was Rev. Henry Hewett, who supplied 
the pulpit many years. Revs. John C. Ellinger, 
Samuel Seachrist, J. VV. Sloan, William B. 
Roller, George Moore, Peter Smith, and I. J. 
Miller have been his successors. The pastors of 
the Reformed congregation have been Rev. J. P. 



Mahnensmith, first ; Revs. Hess, Bechtley, 
Sigler, Grether, Mechtley, Otting, and others. 

The Germans have the neatest and by far the 
prettiest church building in the township, and 
are evidently in a good condition, both finan- 
cially and morally. 

THE METHODISTS. 

The Methodists formed a society previous to 
r83o, and for some years held meetings in 
school-houses and private dwellings. They com- 
menced with very few members, prominent 
among whom were Joseph Davis and wife, Sam- 
uel Leonard and wife,' David Parshall and wife. 
In about 1839 a house for public worship was 
erected at the center, through the efforts of the 
church people, assisted liberally by the leading 
citizens of various beliefs. Early preachers were 
Revs. Nicholas Gee, Stubbs, Prosser, Ingraham, 
Clark, and others. 

Until within the past two or three years the 
society has held regular services each Sabbath. 
Now services are held once in two weeks. The 
church has about fifty members at present. 

THE UNITED BRETHREN. 

This denomination once had two churches in 
the township, and now has none. Had the two 
concentrated perhaps the church might have 
been alive now. The motto, "United we stand, 
divided we fall," applies to churches, as well as 
to political parties. 

About 1835, the United Brethren organized 
and held meetings at the houses of Jacob Strong 
and Joseph Davis, south of the center. A few 
years later they built a house two miles west of 
the village. Among those who preached here 
were Charles Carter and Father Biddle. Promi- 
nent among the first members were Jacob Strong, 
Joseph Davis, and Jonathan Davis. About 
1 85 1 the United Brethren and Evangelical 
Association built a union church at Shelltown. 
Active members: Michael Hull, John Hull, 
Madison Traill, and Alexander McNutt. The 
society was small and short-lived. Carter's Zion 
drew away several members, and the few that 
remained were not able to pay a preacher. 

MOUNT CARMEL EVANGELICAL CHURCH. 

This is a small society, and is known from its 
location as the "Shelltown church." About the 
year 1850 the church was organized under the 
preaching of Rev. Bainhart. .Xmong the early 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and prominent members are mentioned Jacob 
Shellenbarger and wife, Jonathan Cline and wife, 
Andrew Cline and wife, Mrs. Mock, and Cather- 
ine Hull. A year or two after its organization 
tht society joined the United Brethren in their 
efforts to build a union church. A small house 
was erected, which these two denominations, 
and occasionally the Methodists, continued to 
use until 1873, when the Evangelical Association 
[uirchased of Jonas Barringer the house which 
was built for the use of the Zion church. 

.•\s the preachers of this denomination are 
itinerants, they have been quite numerous. 
The church comprises perhaps twenty-five mem- 
bers, and has service once in two weeks. 

ZION CHURCH. 

Charles Carter, a dissenter from the United 
Brethren, among whom he had been an elder and 
a preacher for several years, began preaching in 
Ashtabula in the interests of a new denomination 
of which he was the author and leader, if not 
the object of worship. Having succeeded in 
starting a church in Ashtabula he came here and 
by vigorous efforts secured enough members to 
form a class, which he styled the Zion church. 
Meetings were held in the house belonging to 
the United Brethren un'.il an earnest protest from 
the members compelled the Zionites to seek new 
quarters. About 1870 a church was built — 
principally through the means of Jonas Barringer. 
But the disciples of Carter soon became weary 
and the organization died out. The house 
passed into ths possession of the Evangelical 
denomination as is elsewhere mentioned. We 
would be glad to tell our readers the tenets and 
doctrines of the Zion church but we regard them 
as past finding out, as diligent inquiry failed to 
give us any light. 

THE CHRISTIANS. 

In 1867 the Christians, or Bible Christians, of 
Berlin, organized and formed a church. There 
were twelve members enrolled February 26, 
1867. The number was increased to twenty- 
four during that year. Elder Miles Harrod was 
the organizer and became the first pastor of the 
church. In 1868 a house for public worship was 
erected. 

The preachers in this cluircli have been: 
I'^lders Harrod, Winget, Cameron, Middleton, 
McCowan, and Dunlap. There are about thirty 



members at present. They have no regular 



services now. 



:emeteries. 



There are three small burying grounds in the 
township. That adjoining the German church 
is probably the oldest, though the graveyard near 
the center was probably laid out nearly the same 
time with it. In the German graveyard the 
earliest recorded death that is legible is that of 
Noah Boyer, died December 27, 1831. Doubt- 
less interments were made much earlier, but the 
all-effacing fingers oi time have already blotted 
out some inscription: that were placed upon rude 
headstones of sandstone. 

BERLIN business DIRECTORY. 

The following is believed to be a correct list of 
all occupations carried on in the township, other 
than tanning: 

B. T. Stanley, merchant, center. J. Mock & 
Soil, carriage and blacksmith shop, center. A. 
VVillsdoff, tannery, center. R. H. King, hotel, 
center. J. M. Brown, raloon, center. John 
Lally, shoemaker, center. Blacksmiths : George 
Humphrey, west; B. F. Kirkbride, southeast. 
Saw-mill and grist-mill: George Schilling & Son, 
northwest. Steam sawmills: David King & 
Son, south; E. H. Miller & Son, northeast; Cline 
Brothers, noitheast. Cooper: Samuel Jolly, 
west. Planing-mill and cabinet shop: Daniel 
Kimmel, east. Manufacturers of pottery : Stew- 
art Christy's heirs; Andrew Dustman, Christy's 



Biographical Sketches 

DR. JAMES W. HUGHES. 
No class of men experienced more fully the 
trials incident to pioneer life than the early phy- 
sicians of the Reserve. Their work required that 
they should be men of vigorous body, capable 
of great endurance, for such was the difficulty 
of travel that none but hardy natures could bear 
the constant exertions required of them. The 
roads and forest paths were in a state that for- 
bids description. Houses were few and far 
apart, and could only be reached by traveling on 
foot or on horseback. Besides, the people were 
generally |)oor and some families even destitute. 
There were no maikets where agricultural prod- 




i 



William Strong, the father of the subject of this sketch, 
was born in Durham, Connecticut, and in 1806 removed with 
his wife, whose maiden name was Abigail Crane, to Atwatei 
township, then Trumbull county, now Portage county, Ohio. 
There Alonzo was born in 1805 in Connecticut. William 
Strong, his father, was a soldier in the War of i8ij, and was 
seized with a fatal fever, of which he died in 1814, and he was 
buried on the shore of I^ke Eric. 

Mr. Strong is the only survivor of the three children, one 

being a daughter named Eliza, and the other a son, Luzerne. 

After the arrival of the family in Ohio he was sent back east 



to attend school, and remained some two years. He then 
returned to Ohio and was bound out to Joseph Hartzell for 
eight years. After his term of service with Hartzell e.vpired 
he learned the trade of cloth dressing but worked at it only 
about si.\ months. He learned the carpenter's trade which 
he followed some si.v years, but finally engaged in farming 
on the place where he now lives. In 1828 he married Miss 
Christina Lazarus, by whom he had six children, as follow : 
Lovina, who married Elijah Whinnery, and resides in 
Salem, Columbiana county; William A., who married Miss 
Annie Marshall, and resides in Alliance; Levi (dead), l-'rcd- 







eiick (dead). Julia, unmarried, and a child that died in 
infancy. Levi was in the war of the Rebellion, enlisting in 
1862, and in 1863 was taken prisoner. He was taken to 
Richmond, then to Andersonville where he died. Mrs. 
Christina Strong died in 1842, and in 1845 Mr. Strong was 
married again, to Elizabeth Whinnery, whose parents were 
early settlers in Columbiana county, removing from Pennsyl- 
vania in 1804. By his second marriage he has had nine chil- 
dren, as follow : Serena, wife of William Heckler, resides in 
Illinois; Edward and Edwin, twins, Edward is living and 



Edwin IS deceased; Lovisa, wife of .Alvin Smith, resides 
in [llinois; Ashley, who married Miss Annie Malmsbery, and 
resides in North Benton; Ophelia, unmarried; Leora E., 
wife of Henry Koch, lives in Columbiana county; Alonzo 
C, and Wendell H. Edwin, the only deceased member of 
the family, was drowned at the age of eighteen months. 

Mr. Strong cultivates a large farm of two hundred and 
fifty acres, and gives particular attention to the raising of 
sheep. He has served one term as justice of the peace. 



I 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ucts could be exchanged for money. As a con- 
sequence the physician received little hard cash 
to remunerate hnn for his hard and fatiguing 
labor. Their self-sacrificmg spirit cannot receive 
too great a tribute of praise. These men, gen- 
erally liberally educated and thoroughly skilled, 
spent their lives amid the humble scenes of 
pioneer settlements, administering to the sick 
and afflicted, when, if they had chosen, they 
could easily have gained a lucrative practice in 
old settled communities, and at the same time 
maintained the highest standmg in the upper 
circles of society. But instead, they adopted 
the life of a pioneer and labored arduously, riding 
night and day in the service of others. 

Dr. James W. Hughes was one of the first 
settlers of Berlin. He was a native of Mont- 
gomery county, Maryland, and a graduate of the 
medical college of Washington, District of Co- 
lumbia. In the year 1832 he came to Goshen, 
where he practiced two years, after which he 
came to Berlin, which was then but newly set- 
tled, and entered upon the practice of his pro- 
fession, which he continued until his death in 
1869. In 1834 he married Miss Pau'ina S. 
Brooke, who still survives. Their four children 
are Wallace K., Adaline V., Elizabeth H., and 
James B., all living except James B., who died 
July 25, 1 88 1, at the age of thirty-five. Dr. J. 
W. Hughes died of paralysis. He was long a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal church, 
and did much toward supporting it. He was 
successful as a physician, and was a well known 
practitioner throughout all surrounding town- 
ships. Dr. Hughes was a man of much infor- 
mation, well versed in current literature, a fre- 
quent contributor to the religious and secular 
press and to medical journals. As a speaker he 
was gifted with more than ordinary ability. He 
was deeply devoted to his profession, and 
achieved in it a useful, honorable career. 

During the war of the Rebellion Dr. Hughes 
not only gave liberally of his means, but gave 
the benefit of his medical skill gratuitously to 
the families of soldiers of his acquaintance. 
This is but one example of his many benevolent 
acts. 

Dr. Wallace K. Hughes, oldest child of Dr. 
James W. Hughes, was born in Berlin township, 
now Mahoning county, Ohio, July 18, 1835. He 
passed his boyhood at home, and attended the 



district school until of sufificient age to begin the 
study of medicine under the tuition of his father. 
After having pursued his studies for some time, 
he attended lectures at the Cleveland Medical 
college, and graduated therefrom in 1859. 

.After graduating he returned home and began 
practice. In the fall of 1862 he received his 
first appointment as assistant surgeon, and 
started to join the Thirty-eighth regiment, Ohio 
volunteers, which was then at Nashville, Tenn- 
essee. Owing to obstruction of the railroad 
between Louisville and Nashville, he was unable 
to report to his regiment, and by order of 
the surgeon-general he reported to General 
Wright, commanding forces at Covington, Ken- 
tucky. Here he was placed on detached service, 
and remained about five months, during which 
time he organized an hospital, afterwards known 
as the Greenup-street hospital, at the corner of 
Greenup and Front streets. From this place he 
was transferred to Camp Dennison. After three 
months' failing health he was compelled to re- 
sign, and he returned home in the spring of 
1863. The 2ist of May the same spring he 
married Miss Martha F. Smith. In the follow- 
ing fall he received a request from the surgeon- 
general desiring him, if he felt able and willing, 
to return to military duty, rfaving expressed a 
willingness to return, the doctor was appointed 
assistant-surgeon of the Twelfth Ohio volunteer 
cavalry, and entered upon his duties. After- 
wards the surgeon retired, and Dr. Hughes was 
promoted to that position, and filled it most ac- 
ceptably until the close of the war. He was 
mustered out November 25, 1865. He was 
with the force that captured Salisbury prison, 
and was also with the forces under General 
Stoneman that followed Jefferson Davis in his 
failing fortunes, from Virginia, through North and 
South Carolina to Macon, Georgia, where he 
was captured. 

Dr. Hughes is a member of Perry lodge No. 
185, Free and Accepted Masons, Salem, Ohio. 
As a physician he is deservedly popular, and en- 
joys an extensive practice. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hughes have never been blessed 
with children, but they adopted a boy, Oscar, 
who died .^pril 2, 1879, aged eight years. Upon 
him they bestowed the deepest affection, and his 
loss was severely felt. 

Mrs. Hughes was born in Berlin township, No- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



vember 22, 1834. She is the fourth child of 
Dr. and Mrs. Lavina Smith. Her father is one 
of the first settlers of Berlin township, and lo- 
cated on the farm now owned by David King. 
Those of the family now living are: Mrs. Esther 
Porter, residing in Missouri ; Mrs. Elizabeth 
Beardsley, residing ni Ellsworth ; Mrs. Mary 
King and Mrs. Hughes, Berlin. Her father 
married for his second w-ife Abigail Meach. 
Their three children are all dead. 



JONATHAN KING. 

Jonathan King was born in .'\rmstrong c.unty, 
Pennsylvania, January 5, 1804. His father, 
George King, was a native of the same State and 
married Sarah Sylvis, by whom he had a family 
of seven children, viz : Jonathan, the subject of 
this sketch; Christina (Frankfort), deceased; 
Elizabeth, deceased; Mary (McCulloch), de- 
ceased ; Henry, a resident of Berhn ; Anna 
(Wahl), and Phebe (Ramsdell), both of whom 
are residents of Indiana. 

At the age of fifteen Jonathan King was ap- 
prenticed to a potter. He served a full appren- 
ticeship but was dismissed without receiving the 
customary "apprentice suit" of clothes. 

During the following winter he went with his 
uncle, John Wile, on a raft of saw-logs to Pitts- 
burg to trade for flour for his mother. Failing 
to get flour sufficient in exchange for the saw- 
logs to last till harvest, and having no money he 
returned home. But not discouraged he started 
with several others with a four-horse team for the 
West, stopping in Springfield township, Mahon- 
mg county (then Columbiana county), Ohio, 
where he engaged to work during the summer 
for wheat, which was ])aid in advance, and 
sent back to his mother with the persons 
with whom he came. In the fall of the same 
year he returned to Pennsylvania and removed 
his m.other, brothers, and sisters to Springfield 
township, Ohio. 

In 1825 he was married to Lydia Peck, and 
in April, 1826, removed to Berlin township, Ma- 
honing county (then Trumbull), Ohio, where he 
had purchased a farm the fall previous. 

He settled upon his farm and devoted himself 
with diligence to the work of building up a 
home. His busy days and years oi toil bore 



fruit, and now in his old age (seventy-nine years) 
he can review his well spent life with the satis- 
factory reflection that none of his time has been 
wasted. 

By strict integrity and economy Mr. King 
acquired considerable property, though he start- 
ed with nothing but nature's endowments. 

Before the days of railroads he was a noted 
teamster and made frequent trips from Pittsburg 
to Cleveland, and from Cleveland to the mouth 
of Huron river, usually driving six horses. At 
one time he made a trip from Pittsburg to Erie, 
Pennsylvania, for which he received $75. But 
such was the condition of the roads at that time 
that the entire amount except $2.60 was required 
to pay the necessary expenses of the journey. 
The life of a teamster in those days was one of 
hardships, and none but the most vigorous could 
long endure it.. 

In 1842 Mr. King was elected a captain of 
militia and held the office until the company 
disbanded. 

He was the father of ten children, four of 
whom died in infancy and youth. The remaining 
six^are as follow: David, who married Miss 
Mary Smith, and resides in Berlin; Catharine, 
married to George Kail, moved to Michigan, 
where she died ; Joseph, married to Miss Lu- 
cinda Greenamyer, and resides in Berlin on the 
farm upon which his father first settled; Susan- 
nah, married to J. B. Shively, and resides in 
Berlin ; Sarah, married to R. B. Engle, and re- 
sides in Salem, Ohio ; Hannah, married to J. B. 
Hughes (who served two terms as auditor of 
Mahohing county, and is now deceased), and 1 
resides in Youngstown. 1 

Mrs. King was born August 13, 1806, in Le- 
high county, Pennsylvania, and moved with her 
parents to Springfield township, Mahoning coun- 
ty, Ohio, in 1808. She died February 22, 1875. 

In religion, Mr. King was a firm adherent to 
the Protestant faith, and of deep conviction, 
zealous in good works and liberal in his contri- 
butions to the cause of Christ. He and his wife 
have both been lifelong members of the Evan- 
gelical Lutheran church. Politically he stood 
with the Democratic party, voting for General 
Jackson at the lime of his second election, until 
the abolitionist Hale came before the people for 
their suffrages, when he voted for him. .After 
the organization of the Republican [)arty he 




.^^^^/^<^ 



ci-4<i-<^'^'^ 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



'-'3 



voted with it until 1881, when his strong temper- 
ance principles compelled him to cast his ballot 
for the Prohibition candidate. 

Mr. King is one of the most social and agree- 
able of men. His cheerful disposition and his 
sterling worth make hirn a favorite among the 
old and young. 

The King family possess considerable native 
ingenuity and skill in the use of tools. Jonathan 
King is quite proficient in blacksmithing, car- 
|ientry, etc. His grandson, W. H. King, son of 
Joseph King, of this township, is the inventor 
of the King wind-mill, now so widely used 
throughout the Western Reserve. The manu- 
facturers of threshing machines are indebted to 
David King for many suggestions and improve- 
ments in grain separators and clover huUers. 
David King began threshing when seventeen 
years old, and still follows the business. Joseph 
King has also been the proprietor of a threshing 
machine for a number of years, running one now 
with a steamer. 

David, and his son, Mervin \V., are the pro- 
prietors of a steam saw-mill, which is doing an 
extensive business. David also owns a half in- 
terest in the planing-mill, in the eastern part of 
the township, known as the Kimmel & King 
mill, which is also doing an extensive business 

Honesty and sobriety characterize the entire 
family. 

ALONZO STRONG. 

William A. Strong, the father of the subject of 
this sketch, was born in Durham, Connecticut, 
and in 1804 removed with his wife, whose maiden 
name was Abigail Crane, to Atwater township, then 
Trumbull, now Portage county, Ohio. There 
Alonzo was born the following year, in 1805. 
William Strong, his father, was a soldier in the 
War of 18 1 2, and was seized with a fatal fever, of 
which he died in 18 14, and he was buried on 
the shore of Lake Erie. 

Mr. Strong is the only survivor of three chil- 
dien, the others being daughters, named Eliza 
and Lucerne. After the arrival of the family in 
Ohio, he was sent back east to attend school, 
and remained some three years. He then 
returned to Ohio, and was bound out to Joseph 
Hartzell for eight years. After his term of ser- 
vice with Hartzell had expired, he learned the 



trade of cloth dressing, but worked at it only 
about six months. He learned the carpenter's 
trade, which he followed some six years, but 
finally engaged in farming on the place where he 
now lives. In 1829 he married Miss Christina 
Lazarus, by whom he had six children, as 
follows : Lavinia, who married Elijah Whinnery, 
and resides in Salem, Columbiana county ; Wil- 
liam A., who married Miss Annie Marshall, and 
resides in Alliance ; Levi, dead ; Frederick, 
dead ; Julia, unmarried, and a child that died in 
infancy. Levi was in the war of the Rebellion, 
enlisting in 1862, and in 1863 was taken 
prisoner. He was taken to Richmond, then to 
Andersonville, where he died. Mrs. Christina 
Strong died in 1842, and in 1845 ^^- Strong 
was married again to Elizabeth Whinney (or 
Whinnery), whose parents were early settlers in 
Columbiana county, removing from Pennsylva- 
nia in 1804. By his second marriage he has 
had nine children, as follows : Serena (or 
Lorena), wife of William Hicker, resides in 
Illinois ; Edward and Edwin, twins — Edward is 
living and Edwin is deceased; Lovisa, wife of 
Alvin Smith, resides in Illinois ; Ashley, who 
married Miss Annie Malmsby, and resides in 
North Benton ; Ophelia, unmarried ; Leora E., 
wife of Henry Koch, resides in Columbiana 
county; Alonzo C, and Wendell P. Edwin, the 
only deceased member of the family, was 
drowned at the age of eighteen months. 

Mr. Strong cultivates a large farm of two hun- 
dred and fifty acres, and gives particular atten- 
tion to the raising of sheep. He has served one 
term as justice of the peace. 



GEORGE CARSON. 
George Carson was born in Dauphin county, 
Pennsylvania, August 19, 1812. His parents 
were John and Catherine (Wentz) Carson, who 
removed to Trumbull county, Ohio, in 1832, 
and first settled on the furm now owned and oc- 
cupied by James Weasner, in Berlin township. 
After residing there a number of years he moved 
to Milton, where he died at the age of seventy- 
four years. Mrs. Carson survived her husband 
a couple of years. They raised a family of seven 
sons and five daughters, named as follow: 
Sarah (dead), John, in Berlin; George in Berlin; 



124 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Sophia (Hiser), in Michigan; Jacob, in Portage 
county; Harriet, dead; William, in the West; 
Samuel, in Michigan ; Robert, in Milton ; David, 
in Michigan; Susan (Vaughn), in Ashtabula 
county. 

George Carson was brought up on the farm. 
He was married in 1835 to Miss Catharine 
Gross, daughter of John and Christina Gross, 
who was born in York county, Pennsylvania, 
July 17, 1818. After his marriage he settled 
near Schilling's mills, in Berlin, where he resided 
until his removal to a farm at Berlin center, 
some eighteen years ago. The same fall he was 
elected justice of the peace and has held that 
office continuously since with the exception of 
only a few months. Mr. Carson, besides his 
farm at the center of Berlin, still owns a part of 
the farm on which he originally settled, near 
Schilling's mills. 

Mr. and Mrs. Carson have had eleven chil- 
dren, one dying young. The others are as fol- 
low : Cathairine married Cornelius Mott and 
lives in Portage county; Harriet married John 
Cessna and lives in Weathersfield township; 
Uriah married Mary Jones and lives in Lords- 
town ; David has been married twice and lives in 
Deerfield, Portage county; Emily married Law- 
rence Shively, in Berlin; Minerva married 
Frank Keiser, both deceased; Ella married Jere- 
miah Shively, and lives in Berlin; Elmer mar- 
ried Addie Newton, and lives at Berlin center; 
William F., single, of Deerfield center. Portage 
county, is fitting himself for the medical profes- 
sion ; Clara married Amos Hoyle, and lives in 
Berlin. Uriah volunteered at the first call for 
troops in 1861, going out with the Nineteenth 
Ohio volunteer infantry and served three years. 
He was also out in the one hundred days' service 
as member of the One Hundred and Fifty-fifth 
Ohio National guard. David was also out in 
the same regiment. 

Mr. Carson has always been an intelligent and 
industrious farmer and has prospered in his busi- 
ness. He and his wife are members of the 
Christian church. 



HORACE ROWLAND 
was born in Litchfield, Connecticut, February 
18, 1805. He is the elder of two sons of David 
and .Anna (Taylor) Rowland, the other son being 



Orrin. Mr. Rowland came to Berlin township 
in 183 1, and located on the farm now owned by 
John Cronick, where he resided for twenty-five 
years. He then removed to the farm where he 
now is. He mariied, December 15, 1829, Miss 
Fidelia Caldwell, who was the youngest child of 
James and Esther (Pierce) Caldwell, who were 
born respectively March 20, 1760, and October 
II, 1766. Their family consisted of the follow- 
ing children, viz: Betsey, born March 10, 1790; 
James, March 14, 1791 ; Margaret, June 9, 
1792; Beulah, September 18, 1793; Samuel \V., 
December 27, 1794; Oby, March 12, 1796; 
Milo, April 20, 1802 ; Lovina, November 29, 
1804; and Fidelia, October 11, 1807 — all now 
dead except Mrs. Rowland. Mr. Caldwell was 
a native of Scotland, and he and his wife were 
members of the Episcopal church. Mr. Rowland 
has accumulated a goodly share of this world's 
goods through his industry and economy, and is 
now living in comfort and independence. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rowland have no children. They are 
worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, their connection with the church extend- 
ing over a period of about thirty years. 



Rev. I. J. Miller was born in Springfield town- 
shij), Mahoning county, February 22, 1850. 
He is the son of George and Elizabeth (Wilhelm) 
Miller and grandson of Henry Miller, who with 
his father moved into the woods in the west central 
part of Springfield when but a boy, about the year 
1800. His early days were spent on the farm and 
in the district school. At the age of eighteen he 
began school-teaching, teaching during the win- 
ter and prosecuting his studies during the 
spring and fall at Poland Union seminary. 
Subsequently he took a regular course of theol- 
ogy in the Theological seminary in connection 
with Wittenberg college, Springfield, Ohio. He 
was licensed to preach the gospel by the East 
Ohio synod of the Evangelical Lutheran church 
at Canton, Ohio, October 18, 1875, ^"d ordained 
to the gospel ministry by the same synod at 
Ashland, Ohio, September 11, 1S76. .August i, 
1876, he took charge of the Berlin pastorate, 
consisting of two congregations — one situated in 
Berlin township, the other in Lordstown, Trum- 
bull county — of which he still continues to be the 
pastor (January 26, 1882). He has two brothers, 




S2^^'i'<^<-^^~W<^'^'^'^^''^<^^^ 



{ 



/. 







Cy^-ij . ■ (^:JeJc^<=^<^^-^^. 



1 



I 



I 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



125 



viz: Eli and A. C, both of whom are graduates 
of Wittenberg college and seminary, and are 
regularly ordained ministers of the Lutheran 
church. Also six sisters, three of whom are 
married to ministers of the same church, viz: 
J. F. Sponseller, Elias Minter, and W. M. Smith. 
He was married to Miss Louisa Spait, of Beaver 
township, and has two children, viz: Clarke E. 
and Cora A., aged respectively eight and six 
years. 

Hezekiah Parshall, farmer, Berlin township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Springfield town- 
ship, Columbiana county, now Mahoning, in the 
year 181 2. His father, James Parshall, was a 
native of Orange county. New York, and came 
to Ohio in 181 2 and settled in Milton township. 
His wife was Margaret Bacht, who bore him 
fourteen children. Mr. Parshall was one of the 
pioneers of that part of the county. He was a 
man of industry and reared a large family. They 
both died many years ago and are buried in Mil- 
ton. Hezekiah Parshall was married, in 1839, 
to Miss Maria Shaffer, and has had a family of 
seven children, as follow: Mary, Susanna, Mar- 
tha, Sophina, Solomon, Lewis, and James, all of 
whom are living but Sophina, who died at the 
age of five years. Mr. and Mrs. Parshall are 
members of the Lutheran church of Berlin. 

John Eckis, the first of the family who came 
to Ohio, was born in Maryland in 1774, and 
about 1800 settled in Springfield township, then 
Columbiana county, now Mahoning. He settled 
in the woods, being among the first of the 
pioneers, built him a log-cabin, and there lived 
for upwards of twenty-five years, when he re- 
moved to Milton and purchased the place now 
owned and occupied by his son George. His 
wife was Catharine Lind, by whom he had the 
following children: Nicholas, John, Jacob, 
George, Daniel, Mary, Joseph, Susan, Catharine, 
Hannah, and Samuel. Joseph, Susan, Cather- 
ine, and Hannah are deceased. Mr. Eckis died 
ill 1861, at the advanced age of eighty-seven. 
George Eckis, the fourth child of John and 
Catharine, was born in 1806 in Springfield town- 
ship, now Mahoning county. At the age of 
twenty-six he was married to Miss Elizabeth 
Kale, and has had six children, viz : Tobias, 
Joshua, Eliza, Frederick, Mary, and George, all 
living but Eliza, who died at the age of thirty- 
eight. Mr. Eckis is a farmc by occupation, but 



is able to work but little on account of his age. 
He and his wife are members of the Lutheran 
church. Tobias Eckis, the eldest son of George 
and Elizabeth, was born in Milton township, now 
Mahoning county, in 1833. He lived at home 
with his parents until he was thirty-four 
years of age when he married Miss Sarah 
Forder, by whom he has two children, George 
and Charles; another died in infancy. Mr. 
Eckis lived in Milton some three years after his 
marriage, when he bought the place where he 
now resides in Berlin township. He and his 
wife are members of the Lutheran church. 

Robert Kirkbride was born in Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania, in the year 1800. He married, in 
the year 1824, Miss Sarah Shaw, and in 1832 
removed to Ohio and settled upon the farm now 
owned and occupied by his widow in Berlin 
township, Mahoning county. There he resided 
until his death, and raised his family, consisting 
of nine children, two of whom are now deceased. 
Three died in infancy. The names of those 
who grew up are as follows: Nancy, Ferdinand, 
Mary, Benjamin F., Watson, James, Joseph, 
Asher, and Mahlon, all living but Mary and 
Asher. The latter enlisted in the One Hundred 
and Fifth Ohio volunteer infantry in 1862, and 
served until 1864, when he was mortally wound- 
ed at the battle ot Lookout Mountain, and died 
in a few hours. The mother is still living, at the 
age of seventy-six. 

Benjamin F. Kirkbride, the fourth child of 
the subject of the preceding sketch, was born in 
Penns)lvania in 1831. In 1853 he married Miss 
Lucinda Hoadley, who died in 1877. By this 
marriage there were no children. In 1878 Mr. 
Kirkbride was married to Miss Ellen Dickson, by 
whom he has had one child — Mabel. He fol- 
lowed farming until he attained his majority, 
when he went to blacksmithing, at which he still 
continues. Mr. and Mrs. Kirkbride are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. 

Houston Porter was born in 1822, and in 1847 
was married to Esther Smith, who was a native 
of Connecticut, but came to Berlin township at 
an early date. The parents of Mr. Porter were 
among the early pioneers. He lived for fourteen 
years on the old homestead, and then bought 
the farm now owned and occupied by T. Camp- 
bell, where he lived sixteen years, and then re- 
moved to Missouri, w^here he now resides. He 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



is tlie father of fourteen children, namely: Lovi- 
na C, Cecil S., Augusta A., Theda E. and The- 
ron W. (twins), Wilbur O., Leroy W., Almedus, 
Ella S., Birdie P., Ida L., Effie M., George W. 
B., and Ulysses S. G. Theron W., Ida L., and 
Almedus are deceased. Lovina C, the eldest 
child, who was born in Ellsworth in 1848, be- 
came the wife, in 1876, of Elias Beckman, of 
Sweden. Mr. Beckman came to America in 
1869, and first went to Illinois, where he re- 
mained two years. He then came to Ohio. He 
is now engaged in the tailoring business at Ber- 
lin center. Mr. and Mrs. Beckman have three 
children, Martha F., Cora L., and Arthur Gar- 
field. 

Eli Myers, the youngest child of Daniel and 
Anna Myers, was born on the farm where he 
now lives in Berlin township, Mahoning county, 
in 1837. His father, Daniel Myers, was a native 
of Pennsylvania, and came to Ohio with his 
parents in 1802, and settled in Springfield town- 
ship, the county then being a dense wilderness. 
He afterwards moved to Berlin township, where 
he also settled in the woods, on the farm now 
occupied by his son Eli. He was married at 
the age of twenty-five to Anna Mary Rummel, 
and had a family of nine children, as follows : 
Christina, Susanna, Elizabeth, Margaret, Lucin- 
da, Henry, John, Peter, and Eli. They are 
all living with the exception of Susanna and 
Lucinda. Mr. Myers was a hard-working 
and prosperous farmer, and lived to the 
good old age of eighty-two years. Mr. 
Eli Myers was married to Miss Barbara E. 
Reichards in 1859, and has eight children, as 
follows: John, Emery J., Henry, Clark, Elina, 
Serena, Martha J., and Anna Mary, all of whom 
survive. Mr. Myers has always followed farm- 
ing, and is now (1881) serving his first term as 
justice of the peace. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Lutheran church. 

Henry King was born in Armstrong county, 
Pennsylvania, in 181 1. He came to Ohio in 
1823 and settled in Springfield township, where 
he resided some four years. He was then de- 
prived by death of his mother, whose loss was a 
severe blow to the family. He was then em- 
ployed for three years by a man by the name of 
John Cams, and afterward learned the cabinet 
trade, at which he worked until lie was twenty- 
one years of age. He then went to iMemont, 



Ohio, and worked at the carpenter and joiner 
trade. An epidemic breaking out there he re- 
turned to Berlin and settled on the farm on 
which he now lives. He was married in 1836 
to Miss Julia Ann Shrontz and has had seven 
children, viz: Royal, Wesley, Emeline, Isaac, 
'Zephaniah, Margaret, and Lucy, all livmg but 
Isaac and Zephaniah. At the time of Mr. King's 
settlement there was only a small clearing on the 
place. He built him a log cabin and in connec- 
tion with farming worked at the joiner trade, which 
he followed for about thirty years, when he was 
compelled by reason of his age to lead a less 
active life. He lived for three years in Deerfield, 
and while there, in 1873, his companion departed 
this life. She was a devoted wife and mother. 
Mr. King is one of the oldest and best known 
citizens of this township. He is a member of 
the Methodist Ediscopal church and a worthy 
citizen. 

Adna B. Silver was born in New Jersey in 
1800; mairied in 1821 to Miss Lydia Allen, and 
had a family of five children, viz: Sarah, Joseph, 
Elizabeth, Allen, and Mary, all of whom are liv- 
ing e.xcept the son Joseph. Mr. Silver came to 
Ohio in 1827 and settled in Berlin township, 
Mahoning county, on the farm now owned and 
occupied by his daughter Mary Linton. He 
erected his log cabin in the wcods, as the coun- 
try was yet new. He was the pioneer black- 
smith in that region, and made most of the im- 
plements which his neighbors used in clearing 
their farms. His wife died in December, 1868. 



CHAPTER VL 

AUSTINTOWN. 



PHYSICAL FEATURES. 

Austintown is township two of range three of 
the Connecticut Western Reserve. It is bounded 
on the north by Weathersfield, Trumbull county, 
on the east by Youngstown, on the south by 
Canfield, and on the west by Jackson. The 
surface is quite level, excepting along the 
streams. The soil is similar to that in other 
jiarts of llie county, is easily tilled, and produces 
good crops. Portions of it are stony, but there 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



127 



is a large number of excellent farms with good 
timber and pasture land. The Meander and 
several small creeks flowing into it drain the 
western half of the township. The eastern half 
has four small streams, the largest of which is 
known as Four-mile run, flowing towards the 
Mahoning. Four-mile run rises southeast of 
Austintown center and flows north and north- 
easterly until it leaves the township near the 
corner. Meander creek winds along the western 
border of the township, a part of its course 
being in Jackson, and enters Weathersfield town- 
ship not far from the northwestern corner of 
Austintown. 

The villages of the township are Austintown, 
West Austintown, and a part of Mineral Ridge. 

ANCIENT WORKS. 

On the tarm of J. H. Fitch, near the village, 
was pointed out to the writer a spot which the 
early settlers believed to have been an Indian 
burying-ground. It is a space about three rods 
square, and at the time of its discovery by the 
whites, was loosely covered to the depth of sev- 
eral inches with small stones, which looked as 
though they had been thrown upon it. When 
these had been removed, beneath them were 
found stones closely packed together, the most 
of them being flattish in shape and set up edge- 
wise. These stones vary m size, some being 
no larger than a man's fist, while others are as 
large as a man's head. They are so closely im- 
bedded that it is a difficult task to remove them. 
Much of this curious structure yet remains un- 
disturbed and is believed to extend downward a 
depth of several feet. Why they were placed 
there and what they conceal still remains a mys- 
tery. On the trees which stood near the spot 
were noticed marks made as if by a hatchet, 
showing that the prehistoric people had a path 
to the place, marked, as were the white man's 
first roads, by blazed trees. 

On the farm of Abraham Strock, west of the 
l)lace above described, there is a work of similar 
nature, and likewise one on the Weaver farm, near 
West Austintown. The two last mentioned are 
somewhat smaller than that on the Fitch place. 
Some enterprising archaeologist might find here 
material worthy of his investigation. These 
mounds or graveyards are all three situated near 
the Limestone run and were the densest part of 
the forest. 



The early settlers say that the Indians had a 
lead mine somewhere on the Meander, from 
which they obtained large supplies of ore for the 
manufacture of bullets. They kept the spot a 
secret, however, and diligent search has failed to 
reveal it to the white man. 

TlMUER. 

The township was originally covered with a 
dense growth of timber. From the Meander to 
the center or the Salt spring tract, there was a 
magnificent growth of white oak. On the low 
lands were maples, and in various parts of the 
township, chestnut, beech, hickory, ash, cucum- 
ber wood, poplar, etc. 

EARLY RECORDS. 

The first records of the township have all been 
lost or destroyed. Only those of recent date are 
now in possession of the township clerk, there- 
fore the first officers' names cannot be given. 

Among the first justices of the peace were 
James Russell, John Carlton, and William Trues- 
dale. The township was- named after Judge 
Austin, of Warren, who was its land agent. 

SETTLEMENT. 

From the fact that many of the first settlers 
located here for only a short time, and then 
moved away, and owing to the meagre sources 
of information, the following account is not as 
complete as we should have made it, could we 
have found anybody at all well versed in the 
township's early history. 

John McCoUum bought the first land in the 
township in 1798 and erected a cabin upon it 
the same year. This cabin was on the farm now 
owned by his son Harvey, and was situated 
about one-half mile west of the township line, 
between Austintown and Youngstown. Here he 
moved his family in 1800. John McCollum was 
born in New Jersey, December 25, 1770. He 
married Jane (Hamson) Ayers, June 10, 1798. 
She was born in New Jersey, September 27, 
1767, and married Robert Hamson, by whom 
she had five children : Elizabeth, Rachel, 
Michael, Jane, and Susan. By Mr. McCollum 
she had eight children: David and Mary (twins), 
Robert, John, Daniel, Anna, Ira, and Harvey. 
Mrs. McCollum was a woman of industry and 
economy, and largely assisted in paying for the 
farm by taking weaving to do. In the midst of 
an almost impenetrable wilderness, whose silence 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



was unbroken save by the howling of wolves and 
the wild cries of bears, this worthy couple lived 
and completed their self-appointed task of se- 
curing a home for themselves and their children. 
John McCollum died April 7, 1849, a short 
time after his wife, who died March 19, 1849. 
Mr. McCollum was in the War of 1812 for a 
short time, under Colonel Rayen. He was for 
many years a Baptist, afterwards joining the 
Disciples. He was a life-long Democrat in 
politics. 

^Vendall Grove, from Pennsylvania, settled 
where his son, John Grove, now resides, in 1801. 

Jacob Parkus settled on the farm of Jacob 
Leach at an early day. He sold out to Benja- 
min Leach, who spent his life in the township. 
John and Abraham Leach, brothers of Benjamin, 
also settled in the eastern part of the township, 
and remained several years. 

James Russell was an early settler on land 
now owned by the widow Arms. After he left 
the place Jacob Miller, then Theophilus Cotton, 
owned the farm. Russell was a captain of 
militia in early times. 

John Carlton settled on land now owned by 
the Webbs. He moved to Lordstown, thence to 
Brookfield. 

The Webb family came to the township in 
1 819. 

Edward Jones was an early settler on Four- 
mile run, who lived and died in the township. 
He brought up a large family. His son 
Seymour lived upon the old place until his 
death, some three years ago. Caleb Jones, a 
brother of Edward, was an early settler in the 
same neighborhood. 

John Lane was an early settler on a farm 
part of which is now owned by Thomas James. 
He located in the woods, lived and died here. 
Henry, one of his sons, lived on the old place 
after him ; moved to Missouri, and is now dead. 

David Dillon was an early settler on the farm 
now owned by Jojiathan Edwards, of Youngs- 
town. He was the first captain of militia in this 
township. He sold out and moved west in this 
State, where he died. William, Aaron, Asa, 
Jonathan, Jesse, Cyrus, and Eh were his sons. 
Several of them are yet living in different parts 
of Ohio. 

Robert Russell, in 1806, settled on Stony 
ridge, in the southwestern part of the townshij). 



His parents came with him. After locating 
here, Robert was married to Miss Hamson. 
James, who resides in Jackson township ; John, 
on the old place ; Hamson, and Samuel, who 
died a few years ago, were his sons. 

John Duncan was an early settler on the 
Hammon farm, in the southeastern part of the 
township. He sold to Gaily. 

Among the earliest settlers were George Gil- 
bert and family, who took up a farm adjoining 
the Russell farm on the east. There was a large 
family. George, the oldest son, settled in the 
western part of the township ; his brother Jacob 
lived upon the old place. Both are now dead. 
Others of the family settled in different parts of 
the county. 

Henry Ohl located where D. Lawrence now 
resides, in 1803. The sons and daughters are 
now all dead, excepting, perhaps, one daughter. 
Several members of the family resided for some 
time in the township and vicinity. Henry, one 
of the sons, lived on a farm near the old place 
some years, and died in Canfield. David and 
Michael were drafted for the War of 181 2, but 
got only as far as Youngstown when they were 
returned. Henry Ohl, Sr., was a blacksmith, 
and had a shop on the farm. He was possessed 
of a good property, and was considered a shrewd, 
careful business man. Michael, David, Jacob, 
John, Abraham, Henry, and Jonathan were liis 
sons, and Eve, Mary, and Polly the daughters. 
When the family came to the township the road 
had just been " slashed out," and they were 
obliged to clamber over the fallen logs to reach 
their home. In very early times the women 
were sitting one day on the porch of their two- 
story log house, when their little dog came out 
from under the porch, barking fiercely. On in- 
vestigating to learn the cause of his excitement, 
they discovered a monster rattlesnake upon the 
stone steps. Eve, a female gifted with a differ- 
ent spirit from the first lady by that name, pro- 
cured a stick, killed the serpent, and hung its 
body upon the gate. The reptile w-as so long 
that it touched the ground on both sides of the 
gate. 

James J. Russell, from Pennsylvania, came 
about 1806. He died in 1870. He was a sol- 
dier of 1 81 2. He was thefather of ten children, 
six sons and four daughters, seven of whom are 
yet living, only two of them in this township, viz: 




€i.^ia^ C_>r^(!/<?^<f ^^ 



c/e-i4 




I2^<n<naA2 Cy^-^t/e^ 



I 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



[29 



Mrs. Jane Moore and Mrs. Davis Randolph. 

John Truesdale was an early settler about 
one-half mile southwest of the center. He 
brought up a large family, none of whom are 
now living. His sons, John, James, and Wil- 
liam, all married, lived, and died in the township 
upon the old farm. 

Robert Fullerton settled on the southwest 
corner lot of the center, cleared up a farm and 
brought up a large family. His oldest son, 
Andrew, lived for a time in Austintown, then 
moved to Pennsylvania. The two next in age, 
Samuel and Joseph, sold their interest in the 
property to their youngest brother, Robert, who 
owned the whole farm a number of years. He 
died in Girard. None of the original family are 
now living. 

William Wick, an early settler m the eastern 
part, had the first bearing orchard in Austin- 
town. 

Anthony and Henry Weatherstay were early 
settlers near the Four-mile run. Their sons and 
daughters are all now either dead or moved 
away. 

Jacob Wise was an early settler in the same 
neighborhood. His sons, John and Jacob, still 
live in the township. 

Jacob Harding, son of John Harding, an early 
inhabitant of Canfield, located on the place now 
owned by his son John, in 1808. The farm had 
been somewhat improved and cleared previously 
by a family of negroes by the name of Sisco. 
Jacob Harding had one son and four daughters. 
The son and three of the daughters are stfll liv- 
ing. 

Archibald Ewing settled on the farm now oc- 
cupied by his son John at about the same date. 
His children were Ale.xander, Thomas, William, 
John, Archibald, and Anna. Archibald lived 
and died in the township. Alexander and 
Thomas moved to Columbiana county, and Wil- 
liam to Pittsburg. 

The Cotton family were among the first set- 
tlers. Joshua, a captain of militia, lived and 
died in the township. Theophilus settled on 
part of the old farm, resided there several years, 
then moved north. John took a part of the old 
farm, sold out and moved away. 

James Henry lived and died upon a farm 
about one-half mile south of the center, and 
brought u]5 five or six children. One of the 
■7* 



daughters, Mrs. Mary Grove, still resides in the 
township. 

Frederick Moherman in 1803 settled in the 
eastern part of the township. His sons, Daniel 
and Winchester, still reside in the township, and 
are reckoned among its prosperous farmers. 
Three sons also reside in Jackson. 

Thomas Reed settled on the road running 
south from the center quite early. His widow is 
still living upon the old farm with her son 
Stephen. Amos also lives on the same road. 

Henry Strack settled in the south part of the 
township; lived and died upon the farm now 
owned by Henry Crum, second. His sons were 
Henry, Samuel, John, William, Joseph, and 
Jacob. Several of his descendants now reside 
in the township. 

Jacob Harrofif settled in Canfield, then moved 
to this township. By his first marriage the chil- 
dren were John and Elizabeth, both of whom 
died in Portage county. By his second marriage 
the sons were Jacob, Andrew, William, and 
Lewis, all of whom lived and died in Austin- 
town. Susan, Leah,' and Rachel were the three 
daughters. 

Henry Crum was an early settler at Smith's 
corners. 

Abraham Wolfcale and his sons, John and 
Abraham, were quite early settlers on the road 
east of the center. 

Henry Brunstetter was an early settler in the 
southeast of the township. 

George Fulk settled north of the center road 
in the western part of the township. The family 
scattered and died. 

The Harshmans were also early settlers. Jacob, 
David, and Matthias resided in the townshi]5 sev- 
eral years. 

John Jordan, a native of Ireland, came to the 
township in 1813. Previous to his coming here 
he had resided a few years in Poland township. 
His farm was the one adjoining on the west that 
now owned by his son, J. S. Jordan. His family 
consisted of five sons and five daughters. Two 
of the sons are yet living — James Jordan, in 
Crawford county, Pennsylvania, and J. S. Jor- 
dan. The father died in. 1824, and the mother 
some years after. Abraham and James lived 
upon the old farm some years. 

The Whitman tract, a part of the Salt springs 
tract, contained eight hundred acres, and be- 



'30 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



longed to the Whitman heirs in Connecticut. 
Samuel \\'hitman cleared up a part of it, and 
settled at the center. Until about forty-five 
years ago no other clearing had been made upon 
the land. 

In 1812 Frederick Shively settled upon the 
place where his son George, one of the oldest 
residents of the township, is now living. 

The first white child born in Austintown town- 
ship was John McCollum, son of the first set- 
tler. The date of his birth was 1803. He set- 
tled in Milton township, where he died in the 
fall of 1 88 1. 

E.\RLY L).\YS. 

Every cabin was a factory where clothing was 
manufactured. Busy hands kept the spinning- 
wheel and loom buzzing and slamming early and 
late. The number of mouths to feed and bodies 
to clothe was large in almost every household. 
Shoes were used sparingly, for new pairs might 
not be forthcoming when the old were gone. 
Often the girls and women could be seen walk- 
ing to church barefooted, carrying shoes and 
stockings, which they put on when near the 
house. Tow and linen, buckskin, and smiilar 
goods, " home made," were the clothing worn by 
males of all ages. The girls' best dresses were 
frequently spun and woven by the wearer. An 
old resident remarks that the young ladies 
were just as pretty in those days as now ; but 
could one of our fashionably dressed belles have 
stepped among them, some might have gone wild 
with envy and excitement. 

Bears and wolves abounded, and it required 
the utmost vigilance to protect stock from them. 
Sheep, esjiecially, often fell a prey to their rav- 
ages. At night the howling of the wolves could 
be heard in all directions. Deer were often shot, 
and furnished the early settlers an amount of 
meat of no small im[)ortance. 

THE FIRST CHURCH 

was a small log building, built by the Presbyte- 
rians on the Webb farm in the northern part of 
the township. It must have been built nearly 
seventy years ago Later they erected a small 
frame church mentioned elsewhere. 

THE FIRST SCHOOLS. 

Of these little can be learned. They were 
usually kept in some log-cabin, which the thrifty 
old settler had abandoned fcjr a inore comfort- 



able home. The children of those days had 
smalt advantages for gaining an education. As 
the schools were all conducted on the tuition 
plan, only those parents who were able to pay 
could send their children. 

One of the first school-houses was situated 
near the spot where the Disciple church now 
stands. It was made of hewed logs, and con- 
tained a huge stone chimney. Asa Dillon and 
Ellas Wick taught there years ago. Few of their 
pupils are now living. 

A school was taught in a log-cabin on the 
Shively farm at an early date. Mr. John Grove, 
born in 1813, says that John FuUerton was the 
first teacher he remembers. 

The spelling-book and the Bible were the 
principal text-books used. School-boy nature 
was then much the same as now, but mischief was 
not so openly carried on, for the rod was used 
unsparingly. 

In 18 1 2 there were several schools taught in 
log-cabins in various parts of the township. 
Isaac Alley was an early teacher in a cabin on 
the farm of Jacob Park us. 

T-iVXES LONG .AGO. 

\Ve give below a list of the tax-payers of Aus- 
tintown in 1803, and the amount of their taxes 
for that year. The whole amount ($9.22) could 
not have been enough to pay the expenses of 
assessing and collecting, unless, as was probably 
the case, county olificers were content with a less 
salary than those of the present day. 

.■\USTINTUVVN. RANGE THRK.E, TOWN TWO. 



Bayard. Willian 
Bayard, Benjam 
Britlon, Nathan 
Duncan, John.. 



Ewi: 



lohn 






Ewing, Archibald 
Grove, Wendell . . 
Guy, Matthew . . , 
Hayes, William, 

Samuel Ferguson.... 
Kirkpatrick, Robert.. 

Moore. Samuel 

McAllister, Alexander 

Morgan, Thomas.... 

Total 



15 McCollum, John 

25 Musgrove, John 

20 Moherman, Frederick. 

52 Packard, Thomas. .. . 

60 Packard, Daniel 

32 Roberts, Gilbert 

40 Sanford, George 

40 Sisco, James 

Sisco, Benjamin 

60 Sisco, William 

32 Teinplelon, William . . 

16 Walker, Nathaniel, .. 
40 Withington, William. 



I 



CHURCH HISTORY. 

The inhabitants of Austintown have always 
held various religious beliefs. On account of 
death and removals the membership of the dif- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ferent churches is now quite small. There are, 
however, many earnest and sincere Christians in 
the township who have labored long and bravely 
to keep alive the religious interests. 

THE DISCIPLES. 

Elder Bently, of Warren, Walter Scott, of 
Pittsburg, and William Hayden, of this town- 
ship, started what was known as the reformation, 
which resulted in the building of this church. 
The Disciples organized in 1828, and soon after- 
wards erected a church building in the north- 
eastern part of the township on Four-mile run, 
which was used until the present house was built, 
in i860 or 1861. John Henry and William Hay- 
den were the first elders. Ira McCuUom, Mrs. 
Jane Henry, the Hayden family, John Lane, and 
several of the Lantermans, Dillons, Lanes, and 
others were among the earliest members. Wil- 
liam Hayden and John Henry were among the 
first preachers. Alexander Campbell often 
preached in the church. The Disciples have 
now about one hundred and twenty members, 
and hold services regularly. 

THE BAPTISTS 

were formerly quiie numerous in this part of the 
township. They had an organization and held 
meetings in the Osborn school-house in Youngs- 
town, also in a log church situated at the four 
corners between Austintown, Canfield, Board- 
man, and Youngstown townships. Many of 
them became members of the Disciples, and 
soon after the latter denomination built their 
church they disbanded. 

THE PRESBVTERI.^NS 

also had an organization and a church quite 
early. It was known as the Rehoboth Presby- 
terian chuich. They built a house one mile 
north of the center, which was afterwards moved 
to Ohitown on the north line of the township, 
where it remained until recently. 

THE COVENANTERS, 

or Reformed Presbyterians, built a house at 
Austintown center in 1844. The building was 
erected by the combined subscriptions of citi- 
zens of all denominations, with the agreement 
that it was to be used by any denomination 
when the Covenanters did not want it for their 
meetings. Among the principal subscribers 
were James Jordan, Abraham Jordan, Scott Jor- 



dan, Caldwell and William Porter. James Trues- 
dale and John Truesdale were both elders and 
prominent members. The first regular preacher 
was Rev. McCrackoran. Since his time the 
preaching has been by various ministers sent by 
the presbytery. Formerly the church was quite 
large, there being about one hundred members 
shortly after the house was built. 

EVANGELICAL. 

The Evangelical church. West Austintown, 
was organized about 1841, and the house erected 
about 1853. The first meeting was held in Jacob 
Harroff's barn. The first prayer-meeting was at 
the house of Mrs. Catharine Gilbert. Meetings 
were held in private houses, barns, school-houses, 
groves, etc., for some time. Among the early 
members were Valentine Boley, Christina Gil- 
bert, George Ohl, Conrad Lodwick, George 
Shaffer, Mary Kisner, and Betsey Ripple. 

The first preacher was Rev. Joseph Long. 
Revs. Staley, Stofer, and Swartz were also early 
preachers in this church. 

The society is small at present, as the most of 
the old members have died and their places have 
not been refilled. 

THE UNITED BRETHREN, 

West Austintown. A class was formed about 
1859, comprising about ten members, among 
them being Sylvanus Pennell and wife, Leah 
Shaffer, Ira Wilcox and wife, Matthias McMahan 
and wife, and others. The first pastor was Rev. 
J. Knight. Other pastors — J. K. Sweihart, H. 
F. Day, David Kosht, and others. First pre- 
siding elder, Eli Schlutz. The house was built 
in 1863. The church now has about forty-five 
members, and maintains regular service. 

THE EVANGELICAL EBENE2ER CHURCH, 

at Smith's corners, was organized in 1861, and 
the house of worship erected in 1861-62. John 
Gilbert, Henry Smith, and David Strock were 
the building committee. The principal sub- 
scribers were : J. P. Snyder, David Strock, 
Michael Buck, Jonas Naff. Number of mem- 
bers in 1862, seventeen. The church was dedi- 
cated December 21, 1862, Bishop Joseph Long, 
Presiding Elder J. L. Sibert, Revs. G. S. Domer 
and S. Wantersal being present. The first 
preachers were G. S. Domer and S. Wantersal 
for the years 1862 and 1863. Other pastors — 
J. D. HoUenger, Abraham Leohnar, J. J. Barn- 



132 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



hart, Isaac Roller, John Domer, Weaver, 

John Carmony, and Mr. Haupt, the minister 
now in charge. The church is small. Services 
are held every two weeks. 

WEST AUSTINTOWN. 

This thriving little settlement, a station on the 
Niles & New Lisbon railroad, has been built 
since the completion of that road in 1869. The 
first store was kept by D. B. Blott. He was 
afterwards in company with Homer Williams, 
and later with Wesley Ohl. Calhoun & Hard- 
man kept store, in the building now occupied by 
Wesley Ohl, for about four years, commencing in 
1 87 1. The Anderson block was built by Robert 
McClure in 1871. The hotel was built the same 
year by James Kane, of Youngstown. He run 
this as a hotel until 1875, and still owns the 
property, but rents it. Wesley Ohl's store was 
built m 1 87 1 by Calhoun, Hartman & Baldwin. 
The store occupied by Mr. Booker was built by 
him in 187 1-72, but has been enlarged twice. 
He has been in business as a hardware dealer 
since 1872; has carried a stock of drugs during 
the past year. 

The post-office was established in 1870, Win- 
sor Calhoun postmaster, succeeded by Wesley 
Ohl, the present incumbent. 

The stores in West Austintown are now as 
follows: Wesley Ohl, J. T. McConnell, general 
merchandise; Anderson & Brother, groceries; 
James Booker, hardware and drugs. 

The physicians of West Austintown have been 
many, considering the short time since the village 
started. Dr. J. T. McKinley, now of Niles, 
opened an office here about 1870. He did not 
reside here, but in Jackson; had a drug store in 
West Austintown, and considerable practice, 
much of which he still continues. Dr. G. E. 
Rose, who had been a student in the office of 
Dr. McKinley, bought out the drug store and 
practiced here some five years, then moved to 
liirmingham, Erie county, having disposed of 
his stock of drugs to B. F. Phillips, of North 
Jackson. Dr. Kline was the next physician, for 
a short time. Dr. L. B. Ruhelman, of Green, 
ne.xt practiced about two years, then moved to 
North Lima. Dr. S. T. Keese, of North Jack- 
son, has practiced in this place three or four 
years; he opened an office here last spring. Dr. 
1. W. Bard, of Mineral Ridge, located here in 



AUSTINTOWN CENTER 

is a thriving little country village or " cross- 
roads," pleasantly and prettily located. It was 
not settled so early as other parts of the town- 
ship, although more than si.xty years have elapsed 
since the first house was located here. 

The first store was kept on the southwest cor- 
ner by Alexander Thompson, probably as early 
as 1822. Soon after him Dr. Alfred Packard 
started a small store on the corner where Corll's 
tavern stands. Dr. Packard sold out to James 
Hezlip, who started Caldwell Porter in business 
in 1830. Caldwell Porter afterwards moved to 
the southwest corner, where he continued busi- 
ness until about 1848. He came here a poor Irish 
boy, but by his unwavering industry, energy, and 
scrupulous attention to business, he became 
quite wealthy. A few years after he settled here 
he returned to Ireland and married, and then 
came back to his store. He was widely re- 
spected during his residence here, and his suc- 
cessful business career may well be pointed out 
to the young as an example of what pluck and 
strict attention to business are able to accom- 
plish. From .\ustintown he went to Cincin- 
nati, and there, too, he prospered. He is now 
dead. Few country merchants can point to a 
more prosperous record than that left by him on 
the minds of the people of Austintown. 

Judge Rayen started a store here — date not 
known, perhaps 1 830 — on the corner where the 
Doncaster house is, and employed Cornelius 
Thompson to keep it. About 1834 he built the 
brick store on the northwest corner. The busi- 
ness changes have been so many that it is not 
very easy to trace them. John Cotton kept store 
on the southeast corner in 1831-32. Joseph 
McCaughtesy kept a public house, and later a 
clothing store on the same corner. He put up 
the greater part of the present hotel, and was 
quite a successful business man for several years. 
William Porter was in company with his brother 
a short time, then bought him out, and con- 
tinued as a merchant here until 1857. Austin 
Corll kept a tailoring and clothing establishment 
for several years. Isaac Hoover and Levi Crum, 
who acted as clerks for William Porter, were 
merchants in this [)lacea number of years. John 
Lanterman kept in brick store a short time. 

Who kei)t the first tavern we are unable to 
learn. Alexander McKinney, Snyder, Whitsal, 



i 



TRUMBCLL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



133 



Robert Fullerton, and others, have kept the 
house now owned by Corll. 

The business of the place at present is rep- 
resented by the following : Meander house, Eli 
Corll; Doncaster house, J. P. Hill; Fitch, Smith 
& Co., and Abram Forney, general stores; E. 
Creps, undertaker and furniture dealer. There 
is also a blacksmith and wagon-shop, a shoe- 
maker's shop, and a harness shop. 

The post-office was probably established as 
early as 1820. Theophilus Cotton was the first 
postmaster. His successors' names cannot be 
learned. 

The first physician was Dr. Peer. Dr. Alfred 
Packard was the only one who resided here for 
any great length of time. He was a son of 
Thomas Packard, an early settler in the south- 
eastern part of the township. 

CO.AL MINES. 

The first mine opened at West Austintown 
was the Harroff slope, where operations were 
begun in 1870 by John M. Owen, John Stam- 
baugh, and others, under the name of the Har- 
roff Coal company. The Harroff slope having 
become e.xhausted, in the fall of j88o this com- 
pany sank a shaft and commenced mining on 
the Jordan farm. The shaft is one hundred and 
seventy-one feet deep. They employ about 
sixty-five men and produce about one hundred 
and thirty tons of coal per day. 

In 187 1 the New Lisbon Coal company 
opened the Pennell mine and are still working 
it successfully. The slope is about four hundred 
and fifty feet and the coal of pnme quality. 
This company employs about seventy-five men 
and mines about two hundred and fifty tons per 
day. 

The Anderson Coal company opened a bank 
on the Anderson farm in 1878, which they 
worked for a short time, but as it was not suc- 
cessful the mine was abandoned. 

Dalzell & Co., of Niles, have commenced 
work on a new bank just north of West Austin- 
town during the present summer of 1881. 

The Tod, Wells & Co. bank, on the farm of 
Henry Kyle, near Mineral Ridge, was opened and 
a shaft sunk about 1858, and has been quite suc- 
cessfully and largely operated up to the present 
time. Morris, Robbins & Co. leased the mine 
and operated it for some time, but it is now in 
the hands of Tod, Wells & Co. 



The Ohltown bank, Harris, Maurer & Co., 
was opened about 1868, and worked quite ex- 
tensively until 1880, when it was exhausted. 

The McKinney shaft on the Tibbetts farm 
near Mineral Ridge was begun in 187 1 by Henry 
Smith & Co., and afterwards worked by Powers 
& Wick, and Warner, Arms & Co. During the 
last five years it has not been in operation. 

The Thornton bank was on the old Cleveland 
farm. Operations were commenced in 1870 by 
Case, Thornton &: Co., under the name of the 
Ohltown Coal company. Some of the bank is 
still worked by the John Henry Mining company, 
who sank a shaft about three years ago. They 
employ about sixty men and produce about one 
hundred tons daily. 

The Leadville shaft on the Lanterman farm 
was commenced some eight years ago. A great 
deal of capital has been expended upon this 
mine, but the water in it has always been trouble- 
some. During the summer of 1S81 a fire in 
this shaft caused great damage. 

The mines just mentioned are only the most 
important. There are many small banks which 
have been operated on a small scale. The min- 
ing interest in Austintown is of great importance. 
The supply of coal will doubtless continue to 
hold out many years. 

OTHER BUSINESS INTERESTS. 

The township contains many deposits of 
iron ore, both of the kidney and black-band 
varieties. Before the days of railroads ore was 
taken out and hauled to the furnaces in consid- 
erable quantities. 

Limestone of good quality has been quarried 
in many parts of the township, and the supply is 
almost inexhaustible. Several lime-kilns have 
been in successful operation. There are also 
quarries of sandstone and of flagstone yielding 
good material. 

A mill for crushing and grinding limestone, to 
be used as a fertilizer, has recently been set up 
in the southern part of the township by Calhoun 
&Co. 

The first and only furnace for the reduction 
of iron ore in this township was the Meander 
furnace, built by William Porter and others near 
Ohltown. 

The only grist-mill, so far as is known, was 
built by William Irvin on Four-mile run, near 
the northeastern corner of the township. Al- 



'34 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



though it was a small affair, it did considerable 
work for several years. 

There were no saw-mills at an early date. The 
first one was built some thirty-five years ago in 
the eastern part of the township, south of the 
center road. It was built by Andrew J. Brick- 
ley. A .''ew years later Harvey McCoUum built 
a saw-mill on the same stream or "run," near the 
township line. These, with the steam saw-mills 
of recent date, are believed to have been the 
only ones in the township. 

John Justice, recently deceased, operated a 
tannery north of the center on the Ohltown 
road for many years. Robinson Young also had 
a tannery m the southwestern part of the town- 
ship for some years. 

Many of the early settlers operated small cop- 
per stills, which they turned to account by using 
up their surplus grain, and putting it into a more 
salable form. 

Henry Ohl built a mill upon his land at an 
early date for the manufacture of linseed oil. 
It was upon a small stream on the D. Lawrence 
place. There was a dam and a mill race some 
eighty rods in length. A part of the latter is 
still visible. This oil mill was one of the first 
built in this i)art of the country, but it was not 
a success. 

Robinson Young settled in the township in 
1826, and soon afterwards built a tannery, which 
he operated in company with his brother Wil- 
liam. They boarded at Archibald Ewing's for 
seventy-five cents per week each. The tannery 
contained about twelve vats. The Youngs cut 
and closed boots and shoes and had them bot- 
tomed, and in this way disposed of their leather. 
Robinson Young used to work on the shoe- 
bench with the Bible open before him, diligently 
studying its pages. It is said that he learned the 
book almost by heart in this way. 

i;ravev.\rds. 

Of these there are five in the township. That 
known as the Brunstetter graveyard is the old- 
est, and was laid out as early as 1823. The first 
burial made there was the body of John Doane, 
a grandson of Robert Russell, one of the earliest 
settlers. Doane died when quite a young man. 
William Truesdale was the next person buried 
there, probably in 1823. The next year twenty- 
two children were carried off by dysentery in less 



than two weeks, and all were buried in this 
graveyard. 

The graveyard adjoining the Disciples' church 
is probably the next oldest. 



Biographical Sketches, 

WILLIAM PORTER. 

William Porter, Austintown township, Mahon- 
ing county, was born in county Donegal, Ire- 
land, May 22, 1801. He was educated in the 
common schools. In 1837 he came 10 Mahon- 
ing county, and was a merchant for twenty years. 
In 1857-58 he built the Meander furnace, and 
was engaged in smelting lor two years. Through 
unfortunate endorsements, in less than three 
years he lost his fortune, and since that time has 
engaged in no active business. 

In September, 1843, Mr. Porter was married 
to Mary Nesbat, a native of Mercer county, 
Pennsylvania. They have had four children, the 
youngest dymg in infancy — James N., superin- 
tendent of a coal company in Jefferson county, 
Pennsylvania; Charles W., druggist, Niles, 
Trumbull county; and Isabella, who married 
Robert McCordy, president of the First National 
bank, Youngstown. 

In politics Mr. Porter is a Democrat; in re 
ligion a Presbyterian. His wife is a Covenanter. 
During the past year, though over eighty years 
of age, he assessed Austintown township. Mr. 
Poter is a liale and hearty old man, enjoying the 
respect of all who know him. 



D.'^VID ANDERSON. 
David Anderson was born in Londonderry, 
Ireland, August 12, 181 6. He was the youngest 
of three children of David Anderson, farmer. 
His mother died when he was a boy, and after 
that event finding home life distasteful, he left 
his father, a well-to-do citizen, and his two sis- 
ters, Margaret and Jane, and started alone for 
the land of the free. To one accustomed to the 
refinements and comforts of home, never having 
been away from home a day in his life, crossing 
the broad Atlantic to gain a living in a strange 
land was an undertaking of great moment. He 



I 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



landed in Philadelphia in 1832 and remained 
there seven years. His first work was setting 
curb-stones; next he went into a wholesale 
grocery, in which he remained several years. In 
April, 1839, he came to Youngstown, Ohio, and 
engaged in a general merchandise store with a 
partner, the firm being Anderson & Wick. The 
firm in a few years became somewhat involved 
and the partnership was dissolved. Mr. Ander- 
son, by reason of his known integrity and busi- 
ness capacity, was enabled to go into business 
for himself, which he did, and he afterward paid 
every dollar of his mdebtedness. He carried on 
his business for one year at Austintown, and 
then for thirty-seven years kept a general assort- 
ment store at Jackson, Mahoning county. This 
store he closed out April, 1881, being then the 
oldest merchant in the valley. Some twenty 
years ago he traded his stock of goods for a fine 
farm in Lordstown township, Trumbull county, 
and sold his interest in a foundry he had pur- 
chased and commenced business again with his 
previous success and with his old patrons. April 
10, 1842, he married Julia Phillips, who was 
born in Warren township, and was a step-daughter 
of 'Squire Robert Carr. About sixteen months 
after her marriage she died — August 8, 1843. 
February 10, 1847, he married Hannah L. 
Shaw, a native of Lawrence county, Pennsyl- 
vania, the result ot which union was four chil- 
dren, viz: W. S., an attorney of Youngstown, 
Ohio; Julia E.; Margaret J., who married Charles 
K. Phillips, who was killed three years ago by a 
hay-fork falling upon him, and David Fitch, 
resides at home. The wife and mother died 
October 14, 1879, aged sixty. Mrs. Anderson 
was a daughter of Dr. William Shaw, a leadmg 
physician of New Castle, Pennsylvania, and was 
born and brought up m that town, where she 
resided until her marriage, bhe was a member 
of the Presbyterian church, a good and faithful 
wife and mother, highly esteemed by all who 
knew her. 

Mr. .'\nderson is at present largely engaged in 
farming and stock raising. He has the manage- 
ment of about nine hundred acres of land. But 
his enterprising business spirit will not admit of 
his devoting his entire attention to agriculture, 
and he intends to again engage in mercantile 
business. For many years Mr. Anderson has 
been a member of the Presbyterian church. 



NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

Charles Gilbert, farmer, Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, was a native of Pennsylvania. 
About the year 182 1 he came to Mahoning 
county, where he remained four years, and then 
bought a farm north of Warren, on which he 
lived until his death. He was of German de- 
scent, his grandfather having come from Ger- 
many. His father, George Gilbert, came to 
Ohio several years in advance of him. Charles 
Gilbert married Magdalene Miller, a native of 
the same State, by whom he had nine children — 
Mary, Hannah, Benjamin, Elizabeth, Manly, 
Susan, Margaret, David, and Catharine. Han- 
nah, widow of Thomas Reed; Benjamin, who 
resides in Warren ; Susan, who married Martin 
Bear and resides in Hicksville ; and Margaret, 
who married James Morgan, and now lives m 
Western Ohio, are still living. Mrs. Gilbert's 
l^arents were also from Germany. 

William H. Burford, undertaker, Mineral 
Ridge, Ohio, was born in Swansea, Glamorgan- 
shire, Wales, March, 1813. He was educated 
in the Swansea academy, and the Carmarthen 
academy, also at the Academy of Bristol, Eng- 
land. At one time he studied with the inten- 
tion of entering the ministry, but afterwards 
gave it up. He was apprenticed to a linen draper 
at Carmarthen, and after thoroughly learning 
the trade, he procured a situation at London, 
and worked in that and other places for a num- 
ber of years. He had determined to emigrate 
to this country and locate in Texas, but did 
not at that time. Preferring some other 
trade to the one he had adopted he learned that 
of cabinet-making. He finished this trade when 
about twenty-seven, and for about three years 
subsequent was engaged as a teacher in the 
country schools, and was usher in the grammar 
school at Swansea for a time. February 6, 1849, 
he was married to Mary E. Jenkin, by whom he 
has three children — William R., born February 
5, 1850; Sarah Louisa, November 27, 1859; 
Maggie E., June 17, 1862. Two years after his 
marriage he emigrated to America, finally settling 
in Scranton, Pennsylvania, where he resided 
some six years. In the fall of 1856 he came to 
Mineral Ridge. Here he engaged in his busi- 
ness of the manufacture of furniture, and under- 
taking, in which he still continues. He is a 
member of the Episcopal church and of the so- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ciety, "Temple of Honor." In politics he is a 
Prohibitionist. Mr. Burford is the pioneer busi- 
ness man of Mineral Ridge. 

Stephen .Anderson (deceased) was a native of 
Ireland. He was born June 21, 1799, and came 
when a small child with his parents to America. 
His parents were among the early pioneers of 
Trumbull county, having settled in Liberty town- 
ship about 1802. Stephen was raised upon the 
farm and after he became old enough he was 
given the management of a large farm and a saw- 
mill. He married on his nineteenth birthday 
-June 21, i8i8^Elizabeth McKinley of Trum- 
bull county, and had a family of ten children: 
James, Eliza, Margaret, William, Nancy, Han- 
nah, Mary, Silas, John and Alvin. James and 
Mary are deceased. He was a member of the 
Presbyterian church, as was also his wife. In 
politics he was a Democrat. He died July 9, 
1872, and his wife December 7, 1879. 

Silas Anderson, grocer, West Austintown, Ma- 
honmg county, son of Stephen and Elizabeth 
Anderson, was born in Liberty township, Trum- 
bull county, February 2, 1836. He worked 
upon the farm and in the saw-mill until he was 
about twenty years of age, the last two working 
for himself. He then engaged for two years in 
the livery business at Austintown. During the 
next few years he operated in coal, engaged prin- 
cipally in prospecting, leasing and drilling. He 
then moved upon the farm where he now lives, 
near West Austintown. Some four years ago he 
started a grocery store at West Austintown, and 
soon after purchased the brick bljck in which 
his business is located. May 7, 1861, he was 
united in marriage to Mary, daughter of William 
Hawser, who was born March 24, 1843. They 
had five children, three of whom are living, viz: 
Edward, born January" 18, 1865; Manning, born 
February i, 1867; Laura, born July 9, 1880. 

Levi Crum, dealer in wool, etc., Austintown 
township, Mahoning county, was born in Austin- 
town township February 7, 1832. He is the 
fourth of nine children of fohn Crum, born in 
Pennsylvania, but who came to this county when 
four years of age. John Crum's father, Henry 
Crum, Sr., was a native of Pennsylvania, and a 
farmer by occupation. He was a soldier in the 
War of 181 2. He was the father of five chil- 
dren: John, Jon.itlian, Lydia, Henry, and Sam- 
uel. Only J()n:ithan and Henry are now living. 



John Crum was a farmer and stock-dealer, a 
man well and favorably known as a successful 
business man. His wife was Catharine Fenste- 
maker, of Bedford county, Pennsylvania. They 
had nine children, viz : Eli, Gideon, Mary, 
Levi, Susan, Margaret, Sarah (deceased), Aman- 
da, and John (deceased). Mr. Crum was a 
Presbyterian, and in politics a Democrat. He 
died November 14, 1873, in his seventy-second 
year. His wife died October 3, 1875, '" h^"" 
seventy-fifth year. 

Levi Crum remained at home until of age, 
then engaged in clerking for four years, after 
which he bought out Joseph McCaughtery and 
kept a general merchandise store for eight years. 
Then he had J. H. Fitch as his partner for eight 
years, and afterwards A. Forney for three years. 
About five years ago Mr. Crum sold out to For- 
ney & Raver and since then he has been in the 
wool business. On the 7th of February, 1857, 
he mariied Meno Winters, who came from Ger- 
many when ten years of age. This marriage re- 
sulted in two children, one of whom died in in- 
fancy. The oldest, Lillie F., was born Septem- 
ber 6, 1858. She married William S. Fairman, 
of Youngstown. Mr. Crum's wife died in 
January, 1864. March 20, 1866, he married 
Eunice Grove, nee Ousborne. She had two chil- 
dren by her former marriage, Minnie and Lulu 
Grove. Mr. Crum is a Presbyterian, and in 
politics a Democrat. He is a thorough business 
man, and his integrity and genial disposition 
have gained him many friends. 

Adam Flick, farmer, Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, son of Frederick and Mary 
Flick, old time residents of Tuscarora valley, in 
what is now Juniata county, Pennsylvania, was 
born in said State, April 6, 1783. September 2, 
1806, he married Elizabeth Polm, daughter of 
John Polm. To them eleven children were 
born : John, born April 3, 1807 ; Jacob, March 
24, 1809 ; Benjamin, January 28, 181 1 ; Samuel, 
February 25, 1813 ; Sarah, January 7, 1815 ; 
Thomas, March 2, 1817 ; William, December 4, 
1818; Margaret, December 8, 1820; Susan, 
December 28, 1822; Nancy, March 12, 1825, 
and Mary, May 25, 1829. Margaret, Mary, and 
Susan, died in infancy. Benjamin, Jacob, and 
Samuel have died within the last six years. 
Jacob married Henrietta Rumsy, of Austintown, 
and removed to Mercer county, Pennsylvania ; 



] 




^^^<a:^^-^^/^v Miz::^ 




^■/e^c:Z> 



TRUMBITLL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



■37 



Benjamin married Jane Gibson, daughter of 
Robert Gibson, of Trumbull county, and lived 
for a number of years at Farmington ; Samuel 
married Mary, a sister of Henrietta Rumsy, and 
afterward moved to Lordstown ; John married 
Mariah McCoy, and resides in Lordstown ; 
Sarah, wife of Samuel Cook, lives on the home 
place ; Nancy, wife of Michael Diehl, lives in 
Wells county, Indiana. Adam Flick, with his 
family, came to Austintown township in 1824, 
and lived for the first four years on the Buck 
farm. He bought for $3.50 per acre one hun- 
dred acres of wild land, upon which he built a 
log house in the fall of 1828, and moved into it 
in the following spring. At once began the task 
of clearing away the forest and making fertile 
fields in the wilderness, and raising therefrom, 
not only food for the family, but the means with 
which to pay for the farm. They came with one 
wagon and three horses, two of which died soon 
after their arrival. Years of steady toil had its 
effect upon the stubborn forest, and Adam Flick 
lived to see the wilderness become almost a gar- 
den, and the region round about possessing all 
the advantages of civilized life. His life, which 
was one of many hardships, closed April 28, 
1 85 I. His wife could read English and German 
with ease, although her attendance at school 
lasted but about six months. She did her part 
fully m making a home in the wilderness, and 
died February 29, 1843. 

Thomas Flick, farmer, son of Adam Flick, was 
born in Pennsylvania, March 2, 1817. He, like 
his father, received but little schooling, but by 
observation has succeeded in gaining much valu- 
able knowledge, which has made hmi a first class 
farmer and business man. His brother William 
had but little better school advantages. To- 
gether they have added to the old farm, and now 
have over two hundred acres, which is one of the 
best managed farms in the county. They deal 
largely in horses and cattle. Both are Repub- 
licans, practical farmers, and worthy men. They 
have lived in the same school district over fifty- 
seven years. 

Frederick Moherman, one of the earliest pio- 
neers of Austintown township, was a native of 
Maryland. On account of the destruction of 
l^roperty during the Revolutionary war, he and 
an uncle moved to Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania. He was then about sixteen years of age, 



and remained in Pennsylvania several years, 
when he and a family by the name of Park came 
to Austintown to look at the country. He sub- 
sequently came out again, and then purchased 
a hundred and fifty acres in the southeast corner 
of Austintown township, erected a cabin and 
made a clearing. He then returned to Washing- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, and married Mary 
Horn, and the next spring he moved out and 
settled in Austintown, where he spent the re- 
mainder of his life. When he settled there the 
Indians had not disappeared, and the wild ani- 
mals were far more plenty than neighbors. 
There were no roads for miles around, and no 
mills. With these surroundings he and his young 
wife began housekeepmg. They both lived to 
witness vast changes wrought, and to see the 
wilderness become a prosperous region. They 
had nine children, as follows : John, Abraham, 
Daniel, Robert, Ann (now Mrs. Woodward, of 
Lordstown), Betsy, who died when about twenty; 
Austin, who resides at Ashland, Ohio; Rachel, 
who married George Lynn, of Canfield, and 
Winchester, who lives on the old homestead. 
Daniel lives near him in Austintown, and the 
three other brothers live in Jackson. 

Robert Moherman, the fourth son of Freder- 
ick Moherman, was born in Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, February 11, 1809. He 
received his education in the pioneer subscription 
schools, but after he got to be of a size to work, 
he was permitted to attend even those but little. 
When about twenty-seven he began clearing and 
improving the farm on which he now lives, board- 
ing with a family that occupied the place some 
nine years. In October, 1840, he was married 
to Catharine, daughter of Robert McCain, of 
Ellsworth township. This marriage was blessed 
with four children: Robert, John, Seth, and 
Mary Ellen, who became the wife of Ogden 
Rose. Mr. Moherman cast his first vote for 
Andrew Jackson ; he is now a Republican. 

Wendell Grove, deceased, was a native of Nor- 
thumbeiland county, Pennsylvania. He was a 
carpenter by trade, but principally a farmer by 
occupation. From Northumberland he went to 
Beaver, Pennsylvania, where he married Miss 
May, by whom he had five children: Katie, 
David, Benjamin, Susan, and Elizabeth. This 
wife dying, he married Jane Coon, of Juniata 
county, Pennsylvania. They had eight children: 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Jacob, Andrew, Maria, Eve, John, Abraham, 
Joseph, and Reuben, of whom Jacob and the 
two daughters are dead. Between the birth of 
the second and third child, they removed to 
their new home in the wilderness, settHng in 
Austintown township, where he purchased about 
two hundred acres of land at $1.25 an acre. 
This farm is now occupied by his son John. 
About two years prior to his moving here with 
his family, he came and cleared a piece of land 
and made other preparations for his removal. 
He arrived at his new home on the third day of 
.\pril, 1800. There were no neighbors nearer 
than five miles, and wild animals were numerous 
and often troublesome. He was a great hunter, 
as well as a hard working farmer. He had been 
in the war of the Revolution, and lived to the 
great age of ninety-nine years and six months. 
He witnessed, during his long life, which closed 
in Springfield township, December 19, 1849, 
great and important changes — greater than many 
are permitted to see. His wife survived him 
until March 27, 1857. Both were members of 
the Lutheran church. 

John Grove, farmer, Austintown township, was 
born in Mahoning county January 4, 1813. He 
is the fifth child of Wendell Grove. He re- 
mained upon the farm with his father until he 
reached the age of twenty, when he went to 
Youngstown and learned the carpenter's trade, 
which he followed for some six years. For sev- 
eral years he was engaged in various occupations 
until at length he bought the old homestead, 
where he now live.s. He now has two hundred 
and thirty-two acres of land under good cultiva- 
tion. His farm is managed as a stock farm. He 
married, January 11, 1838, Mary McCuUick, a 
native of Canfield township. They have had 
five children — Rosina, Orlando R., Melvina, 
Florence K, and C. G. The third child died 
when quite small. 

Rogers Hill was born in Sussex county, Dela- 
ware, January 31, 1799. When he was five 
weeks old his parents removed to Redstone, 
Pennsylvania, where they remained two years, 
when they moved to the forks of the Beaver in 
Columbiana county, where they remained until 
Rogers was of age. He was the oldest of ten 
children of Robert and Patience Rogers Hill, 
both natives of Delaware. Grandfather Rogers 
was an Englishman and a sea captain. On his 



father's side they were from Holland. Rogers 
Hill took up shoemaking, which he followed for 
twenty-one years in Pennsylvania and Ohio. Sep- 
tember 20, 1820, he married Eliza Chambers, a 
native of Pennsylvania and daughter of W. 
Chambers, also a native of Pennsylvania. Her 
ancestors were from Ireland. Their children are 
John, Robert, William, Eliza, Jane, Joseph, 
George, Matthew, Patience, Mary, Ann, Alvira, 
and James. The mother died February 4, 1873. 
April 9, 1874, he married Phoebe Anderson of 
Hubbard, Trumbull county. From Little Beaver 
he removed, in 1833, to Ohltown, where he re- 
sided several years engaged in farming. He 
then moved to the mouth of Little Hocking in 
Washington county, where he remained thirty 
years, attending a wood yard. September, 1872, 
he returned to Austintown township. 

James P. Hill, hotel-keeper, Austintown, Ma- 
honing county, youngest child of Rogers Hill, 
was born in Wood county, now West Virginia, 
March 4, 1845. He attended the common 
schools of his native State and for one year the 
Iron City college of Pittsburg. When nineteen 
he was apprenticed to a blacksmith and served 
three years. After working at his trade one year 
he went upon the Ohio river as cabin watchman 
on a boat which ran between Cincinnati and 
Louisville, in which he continued for some time, 
and then established a wagon shop at Parkers- 
burg. In this business he continued a year and 
then came to Austintown, where he carried on 
liis trade for a short time and then commenced 
the business in which he is now engaged. Some 
two years since he went to Jackson and kept the 
Jackson house. In the spring of 1881 he pur- 
chased the Northwestern house at Austintown, 
and is still located there, and is now pioprielor 
of the Doncaster house. He was married, 
October 18, 1870, to Lucy Strock, born October 
21, 1846, and daughter of Abraham Strock, of 
.\ustintown township. They have four children, 
viz: Guy, born February 5, 1872; Minnie, 
August 28, 1874; Edna, December 24, 1876; 
Earl, November 27, 1S79. In politics Mr. Hill 
is a Democrat. 

Lewis Harroff, Jr., farmer, .'\ustintown town- 
shi]), Mahoning county, was born in said town- 
ship May 13, 1833. He is the third child of 
Lewis HarrofT, Sr., who was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania and who came to Mahoning county when 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



139 



but two years of age, settling first in Boardman 
township. His father, Jacob Harroff, was a 
shoemaker by trade, and before his marriage was 
a soldier in the Revolution. He married Kittie 
Kline. They had eight children — Polly, Susan, 
Jacob, .Andrew, William, Lewis, Leah, and 
Rachel. By a former marriage there were two 
children — John and Betsy. Lewis, Sr., being a 
son of poor parents was permitted to attend 
school but little and never learned to read or 
write. He early began farming, which occupa- 
tion he has since followed. May 11, 1827, he 
married Mary Gilbert (who died in October, 
1880), daughter of Jacob Gilbert, by whom he 
had five children — Catharine, Sarah, Mary Ann, 
Lewis, and William. The two oldest girls died 
during early childhood. Mary, wife of John 
Franklin, died a few days before her mother, who 
died in October, 1880. The sons still reside 
in the township. Lewis Harroff, Jr., had 
but limited school advantages. At the age 
of twenty he apprenticed himself to John 
Gilbert, a cabinet-maker of Austintown, and 
served there two years, but never worked 
at the trade afterward. The next three 
years he worked in a carriage shop at Taylor's 
corners, and there began carpentering, at which 
he has been more or less engaged up to the 
present time. In 1870 he moved upon the 
farm where he now lives. November 11, 1859, 
he married Rebecca Brunstetter, daughter of 
Henry Brunstetter. She was born May 9, 1836. 
To them have been born three children, one of 
whom is dead, viz : Perry, who was born Feb- 
ruary 4, 1859, and died December 30, 1S63; 
W. Henry, born February 24, 1865; and Minnie 
Pearl, March 13, i88o. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Harroff are members of the Evangelical church. 
He is a Republican, though never a politician, 
having never sought or held office. He is a 
straightforward man, well and favorably known. 

Seymour A. Jones, deceased, was born in Aus- 
tintown township, Mahoning county, October 17, 
182 1. His wife and children are still living 
here. He was a farmer by occupation, an ear- 
nest Republican in politics, and in religion a 
member of the Disciples' church. His first wife 
was Martha Burnett, by whom he had four chil- 
dren, viz : Mary, Virgil, Samantha Jane, and 
Edson Scott. His second wife, whom he mar- 
ried December 9, 1856, and who is still living, 



was Mary, daughter of William and Susan 
(Earnest) Powers, of Perry countv, Pennsylva- 
nia. She was born June 20, 1833. Her parents 
came to Ohio when she was about one year old. 
Her father was a merchant for several years 
when a young man, but went to farming later on 
account of his health. Mrs. Jones is the oldest 
of six children, the names of whom are as fol- 
lows : Mary, John, Belle, Almira, William, and 
Lucius F^oster. Mrs. Jones is the mother often 
children, — George, William, Kittie, Birdie E., 
Lucy E., John, Grant, Minnie A., Thomas, and 
Etta May. Mr. Jones died July '°' 1878. 

T. F. James was born in Somersetshire, 
England, May 15, 1834. He was educated in 
the public schools of his native country, attend- 
ing only until about twelve years old. From 
that time until he was eighteen he was engaged 
in mining. In 1852 he came to Austintown 
township, where his work was the same as in 
England until fifteen years ago, when he began 
farming about a mile east of Mineral Ridge, 
where he is at present engaged in raising fine 
stock. April 5, 1858, he married Margaret 
Blunt, daughter of Edward Blunt of Weathers- 
field township, Trumbull county. She was 
born May 15, 1838. This marriage was blessed 
with eight children, Susan, Celia A., Hannah, 
Maggie, Sadie, Will, Edward, and John. Mrs. 
James is a member of the Disciples' church. 
Her father. Rev. Edward Blunt, was born in 
North Wales in 1805, and lived to the age of 
sixty-six. For twenty-four years prior to his 
death he lived and labored at Mineral Ridge. 
He preached for some years for the Welsh 
Methodist church in Pennsylvania. After com- 
ing to Ohio he became a convert to the Disci- 
ples' faith, and joined the Welsh Baptist church. 
He was a zealous Christian. 

Solomon W. Lynn, farmer, Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Canfield 
township, then Trumbull county, December 29, 
181 7. His father was John Lynn, a native of 
Berks county, Pennsylvania, a weaver by trade, 
but during his residence in Ohio followed farm- 
ing. He came here in the early settlement of 
the country, and erected a saw-mill upon his 
farm, known as the 'Squire Lynn farm When 
Solomon was about six years of age his father 
returned to his old home in Pennsylvania, where 
he resided until his death. By his wife, Barbara 



140 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Will, he had seven children, three girls and four 
boys. The girls all died when they were quite 
small, and in a few days of each other. Of the 
boys, all are now deceased except the subject of 
this sketch. When about thirteen his father 
died, and he worked upon a farm for some three 
years, when he was apprenticed to learn the 
shoemaker's trade, at which he worked for two 
and a half years. He eventually came to Pick- 
away county, Ohio, but afterwards moved to 
Canfield, Mahoning county, where he followed 
his trade. He carried on his trade for twenty- 
three consecutive years. In 1844 he moved to 
Canfield, and in 1849 'o 'he farm where he now 
lives. August 30, 1849, he married Elizabeth, 
daughter of George Lynn, a brother of John 
Lynn's father (our subject's grandfather), Philip 
Lynn. She was born in Canfield, June 28, 1822. 
They have two children, George W., born Au- 
gust 14, 1850; Mary E., September 19, 1856. 
Mr. Lynn's politics is Democratic. 

Benjamin Leach, a native of New Jersey, 
came to Austintown township, Mahoning count)', 
in the year 1819, and bought the Jacob Park- 
hurst farm of one hundred acres, which was 
partially improved and for which he paid $1,800. 
He was a blacksmith by trade, but after coming 
to Ohio he engaged jsrincipally at farming. 
Within a year or two after his arrival he erected 
the house in which his son, J. B. Leach now 
resides, and which at that early day was consid- 
ered the best house in the county. July 12, 
1802, he married Dinah Brown, by whom he had 
four children, Harriet, Julia Ann, Susan, and 
Dinah. The mother of these children died May 
27, 1812. Of these children only Julia and 
Susan are living. February i, 18 14, he married 
Hannah Raynor, who was born in New Jersey. 
She became the mother of five children, Try- 
phena, Mary, Jacob B., Stephen F., Elias D., of 
whom all are living but the oldest. These 
parents were members of the Presbyterian 
church. The father died a few years after com- 
ing to Ohio. 

J. B. Leach was born near Morristown, New 
Jersey, February 8, 1819. During the first year 
of his life he came with his parents to Austin- 
town township, Mahoning county, where he has 
lived ever since. His education was obtained 
in the common schools of that early day. Soon 
after he attained his majority he came into po.s- 



session of the old homestead and has lived upon 
it all his life. In 1846 he married Adaline Eck- 
man, daughter of John Ecknian, then a resident 
of Warren. They had four children, Benjamin, 
Emory, Jennie, and Margery, of whom all save 
Benjamin are living. His wife dying October 
16, 1852, he, on January 20, 1859, married Olive 
Jones, daughter of Asa Jones, a stone-mason by 
trade, and an old resident of Austintown town- 
ship. This marriage was blessed with two chil 
dren, Charles and Anna. Mr. Leach was a 
Democrat until the breaking out of the war, and 
since then has been a Republican. He has held 
various township oflices and was three times 
justice of the peace, and for three years recorder 
of Mahoning county, being in ofifice twenty-five 
successive years. 

Jacob Maurer, farmer, .Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, was born near Reading, Penn- 
sylvania, January 19, 1811. He is the oldest of 
the sons of Peter Maurer, who in his native State 
of Pennsylvania followed the trades of a weaver 
and miller, but after coming to Ohio engaged in 
farming. Jacob Maurer worked at shoemaking 
until he came to Ohio, and has since been a 
farmer. He went with his parents about the 
year 1832 to Pickaway county, where he re- 
mained some seven years, coming to Austintown 
township at the end of that period. In 1831 he 
married Magdalena Sies, a native of Northamp- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, born February, 181 1. 
They had eight daughters and three sons, who 
are all living except one son and one daughter: 
Mary .'\., Marietta, Alexander, Perry C, Eliza- 
beth, Louisa, Susan, Adaline, Lucy, and Melissa. 
Mrs. Maurer died June 7, 1877. Mr. Maurer 
is a conscientious Christian, a member of the 
Lutheran church, and a man of worth. He is a 
Democrat in politics. 

John Maurer, deceased, was born near Read- 
ing, Pennsylvania, January 13, 181 3. He was 
the second son of Peter and Barbara (Wcis) 
Maurer, both natives of Pennsylvania. Their 
children were Jacob, John, Susan, Elizabeth, 
George, and Peter, who died young. John 
Maurer went with his father to Pickaway county, 
Ohio. When about twenty-four years old he 
came to Austintown, where he engaged in farm- 
ing. He was married December 4, 1839, to 
Lucy .'\. Buck, daughter of David and Mary 
Buck, who came to this county Irom Seneca 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



county, New York, in 1839. She was born July 
22, 1821. They have two children, Alfred, born 
November 22, 1840, and Eliza J., born January 
27, 1844, "ow the wife of William Ohl. John 
Maurer was an earnest Democrat and took a 
great interest in ijolitical matters. He was an 
industrious man and from nothing made a hand- 
some property. He was an honored and re- 
spected citizen. He died February 26, 1873. 

Perry C. Maurer, coal operator, Mineral Ridge, 
Ohio, was born in Austintown township, Decem- 
ber 3, 1840. He was educated in the common 
schools and at Canfield academy. During his 
school days he also taught in the district schools, 
his first term before he was eighteen. He was 
engaged for one year as a clerk at East Lewiston. 
He next went to Idaho, where he spent the sum- 
mer. He afterwards acted as a clerk for one 
year for James Crandon & Co., at Niles, then 
went to Homewood, Pennsylvania, and had 
charge of a furnace. In 1867 he engaged in 
the mercantile business with Charles Warner, 
and later with J. B. Warner. In 1869 he began 
business as a coal operator in company with 
Jenkin Harris, James Ward, and others. He 
has lately opened a mine at New Lisbon, which 
yields one hundred and twenty-five tons daily. 
His other mines yield even larger quantities. 
November 29, 1865, Mr. Maurer married Rachel 
Anderson, daughter of James Anderson. She 
was born in this county, May 14, 1847. She died 
April 30, 1876, leaving three children — Ivan 
Anderson, Lalla Rookh, and Grace Edna. He 
was again married June 27, 1877, to Nettie A. 
Marshall, daughter of Isaac H. Marshall, of 
Weathersfield, Trumbull county. She was born 
May 22, 1854. Mr. Maurer is a member of the 
Presbyterian church. In politics he is a Demo- 
crat. 

James McGrew, deceased, was born in Gettys- 
burg, Pennsylvania, January i, 1810. When he 
was about eight years old his mother, Mrs. 
Letitia Porter, came to Poland, Mahoning 
county, thence going to Girard, Trumbull county, 
and afterwards to Ashtabula county. After com- 
ing to this State she married James Reed. James 
McGrew was apprenticed at the age of sixteen to 
learn the blacksmith's trade. He worked at his 
trade about twenty-one years at Howland corn- 
ers, Weathersfield township, Trumbull county. 
In 1846 he bought the farm on which his son 



now lives, and for the rest of his life was en- 
gaged in farming. December 15, 1831, he mar- 
ried Margaret Pennell, daughter of Robert Pen- 
nell. She was born April i, 18 16. She bore 
him seven children — Letitia, Ann, Rosetta, 
Robert, Sarah Jane, Juhn, Mary M., and 
John C. Mrs. McGrew died May 29, 185 1. 
Mr. McGrew was married May 12, 1853, to 
Margaret S. Dougherty. She was a native of 
Pennsylvania, and was born August 20, 1822. 
She died August 19, 1866, leaving five children, 
the oldest and the youngest of whom are de- 
ceased — Grover F., Emma R., Alva F., James 
H., and Eva A. Mr. McGrew was married De- 
cember 24, 1867, to Katie Spencer, born in Hart- 
ford, Trumbull county, October 9, 181 4. She 
died November i, 1872. On September 17, 
1874, he married Nancy Faunce, of Cortland, 
who survives her husband. Mr. McGrew died 
April 24, 1878. 

J. C. McGrew, farmer, Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, was born in that township, 
March 19, 1848. He was married June 4, 1872, 
to Susan Miller, daughter of William Miller, a 
former resident of Mahoning county. Mrs. Mc- 
Grew was born October 18, 1851. 

John Miller, Sr., immigrated to Ohio from 
Pennsylvania in 1812, and settled in Canfield 
township. He was educated in the common 
schools of his native Stale, and, when a young 
man, learned the carpenter's trade. He was a 
first-class workman, but, after coming to Ohio, 
worked entirely at farming. He remained in 
Canfield township seven years, and then re- 
moved to the northeast part of Austintown town- 
ship, the same county, and settled in the woods 
near the spot where the residence of Jacob Mil- 
ler now stands. As a " deadening" had been 
made, and the land allowed to grow up with trees 
again, the work of clearing was exceedingly diffi- 
cult. He married Elizabeth Stittle, by whom 
he had the following named children : Samuel, 
Sarah, Jacob, Martha, William, John, Susan, 
Levi, Lydia. Susan, Sarah, John, Levi, and 
Jacob are yet living. He was a member of the 
German Lutheran church. He died in the fall 
of 1867, having lived to see the wilderness trans- 
formed into fine, productive farms. 

John Miller, Jr., was born September 14, 18 16, 
in Canfield township. He was educated in the 
common schools and early began farming, which 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



has been his Hfelong occupation. He staid with 
his father until the age of twenty-three, when he 
began farming for himself on the same farm on 
shares for a time, and then bought hall of it, upon 
which he still lives. February ii, 1845, he 
married Maria Lanteiman, daughter of William 
Lanterman, of Austintown township. She was 
born June 28, 1822, and died February 18, 
1878. She was an estimable Christian woman 
and a member of the Disciple church. Five 
children were born to them, viz : Austin, born 
May 31, 1846; Sophia, December 21, 1847; 
Joseph, October 13, 1849; Laura, April 2, 1852; 
John, March 29, 1854. Mr. Miller is a member 
of the German Lutheran church. 

Oen Naff, farmer, Austintown township. Ma 
honing county, was born in Lehigh county, Penn- 
sylvania, March 12, 1827. His mother died 
when he was about six weeks old, and he was 
brought up under the care of his grandfather, 
Christian Meassamer. When Oen was about 
six years old his grandfather moved to Jackson 
township, and resided there until the time of his 
death. Oen is the only child of George and Eva 
(Meassamer) Naff. His father still resides in 
Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. When Mr. Naff 
was eighteen years of age he began learning the 
cabinet maker's trade, at which he worked many 
years. Since 1850 he has been engaged in farm- 
ing. He moved upon the present farm in i860, 
and has a pleasant home. Mr. Naff was mar- 
ried January 3, 1850, to Madelina Hood, daugh- 
ter of David Hood. She was born in Mahoning 
county, June 5, 1828, and died February 17, 
1859. She was the mother of two children, 
whose names are Mary Magdalene and John 
Wallace. Mr. Naff was again married, March 
4, i860, to Maria Buck, who was born March 5, 
1825. She was the daughter of David Buck. 
They have two children: George Oliver and 
Lucy Alice. Mr. Naff is an active member 
of the Republican party. 

Michael Ohl was a native of Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania. When a young man he 
came with his father, Henry Ohl, to Mahoning 
county, and settled in Canfield township. The 
family of children were Michael, Jacob, Henry, 
David, John, Abraham, Eve Hood, Maria Wag- 
goner, and Mary Shatto. Shortly after their ar- 
rival Michael married Eva Moyers, who came to 
Mahoning county with her husljand's family. 



They first settled in the southwest corner of Aus- 
tintown township, where they lived some twelve 
years, and then moved to that part of the town- 
ship where Ohltown is now located. He was a 
cooper by trade, and worked at this some in the 
new country, but his principal occupation was 
farming, in addition to managing a saw- and grist- 
mill. He owned the land which is now occu- 
pied by Ohltown, which he laid out over fifty 
years ago, and to which he gave his own name. 
He was the father of the following named chil- 
dren : Charles, Catharine Hood, Elizabeth 
Dustman, Henry, David, John, Eve Campbell, 
Aydelott, Michael (who was killed at Warren 
during the building of a bridge), Samuel, Abi- 
gail, McDonald, Andrew, Mary Kraus, and fulia 
Rose. Mr. Ohl was hotel-keeper at Ohltown, 
and also engaged at distilling. He died October 
21, 1857, at the age of seventy-four. His father, 
Henry Ohl, died September 7, 1849. Eve Ohl 
died July 11, i860. 

David Ohl was born in Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, December 22, 1818. He re- 
ceived his education in the common schools and 
aided his father until he became of age, when 
he began learning the millwright's trade with his 
brother Charles. After working with him three 
years he began building mills. He was engaged 
at this business for thirty-five years. Directly 
after his marriage he began farming where he 
now lives. January 15, 1846, he married Eliza- 
beth A. White, daughter of James White. She 
was born in Weathersfield township, Trumbull 
county, April 29, 1828. They have had seven 
children — Ezra, Albert, Julia Ann, Michael, 
James, Olander, and Jennie (Samantha Jane). 
Mr. and Mrs. Ohl are old-time members of the 
Methodist church. 

Wesley Ohl, merchant. West Austintown, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Austintown township, 
June 19, 1843. He is the oldest child of George 
Ohl, son of David Ohl, a Pennsylvanian by 
birth, who came to Mahoning county, then 
Trumbull, in an early day, and was a ])rominent 
farmer and stock dealer in his day, and was en- 
gaged in driving stock to the East over the 
mountains. George Ohl acquired a good edu- 
cation at the public schools, and for a number 
of years was engaged in teaching, attending to 
his farm at the same time. Farming was his 
chief occupation tlirough life. He was born in 



I 

J 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



143 



Austintown township; married Lydia Graber, a 
native of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. This 
union resulted in two children, the eldest dying 
in infancy. He was a member of the Evangeli- 
cal Association, and a Republican in politics. 
He and his wife are both dead. Wesley Ohl 
remained upon the farm until 1872, when he en- 
gaged in the mercantile business with D. B. 
Blott. This partnership continued two years, 
since which time Mr. Ohl has carried on the 
business alone at West Austintown. He married 
Miss Carrie, daughter of William Hauser. They 
have one child, Elva Irene, born October 7, 
1878. 

Davis Randolph, Esq., Austintown township, 
Mahonmg county, was born in Juniata county, 
Pennsylvania, July 25, 1810. He is a brother 
of William Randolph, of Windsor, Ashtabula 
county, and a son of John and Mary (Davis) 
Randolph. His mother was of Welsh descent. 
The old stock of Randolphs came from Virginia. 
Davis received but a limited common school 
education. He learned the shoemaker's trade 
with his brother, with whom he came to Austin- 
town and commenced business, in which he 
continued about twenty-five years. Mr. Ran- 
dolph is an influential member of the Democratic 
party. He has held nearly all of the township 
offices, and since 1859 has been justice of the 
peace. He married Elizabeth McCarter, of Ma- 
honing county, November 30, 1837, by whom he 
had one child, Elizabeth McCoy, October 21, 
1841. His wife died February 14, 1842. On 
January 16, 1843, he married Caroline Russel, 
of Austintown, daughter of James Russel, a 
soldier of 181 2. They have seven children 
born as follow: James Clark, January 19, 1844; 
Mary Jane, February 12, 1845; Jonathan Russel, 
October 28, 1846; John Clayton, May 30, 1848; 
Charles, November 6, 1854; Cornelia Emeline, 
May 6, 1856; Luella C, May 4, 1862. Each of 
the oldest three of the sons served two years in 
company E, Twelfth Ohio cavalry, enlisting be- 
fore they were of age. Mr. Davis is a member 
of the Disciple church and is a man who has 
gained honor from a long life of steadfast in- 
tegrity. 

Thomas Reed, farmer, Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, was born in Loudoun county, 
Virginia, September 24, 1789. His father, James 
Reed, was an old time resident of Poland town- 



ship. He married Hannah Gilbert, born Sep- 
tember II, 1807, daughter of Charles Gilbert, 
a native of Pennsylvania. Her mother was Mag- 
dalene Miller, a native of the same State. To 
Mr. and Mrs. Reed were born seven children : 
Peggy, born June 27, 1825 ; Betsy, December i, 
1826; Polly, March 9, 1829; Stephen, Novem- 
ber 26, 1830; Nancy, October 10, 1832; Han- 
nah, November 3, 1835; and Amos, May 27, 
1839. Peggy, Nancy, Hannah, and Stephen, 
still make their home with their mother on the 
old farm. Mr. Reed was a Covenanter in relig 
ion, and in politics a Republican. He was a 
practical farmer and a worthy citizen. His 
death occurred February 18, 1865. 

James Raver, a native of Allentown, Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, was born April 2, 1823. 
He was the son of William Raver, who came to 
Austintown township when James was thirteen 
years of age. After living here a few years he 
removed to Lordstown township. James and 
his father were both coopers by trade, but were 
principally engaged in farming. William Raver 
was the father of seven children, Lovina, James, 
Eliza, Lewis, AVilliam, Catharine, and Maria, all 
living at the present time. He married Catha- 
rine Bailey, who was born in Canfield township. 
May 13, 1821. Their children, Levi, Lewis W., 
Sarah A., and Mary Sophia, are living, with the 
e.xception of Mary. After the death of his first 
wife he married Clarinda Dustman, a native of 
Canfield, by whom he had one child, Henry F., 
who died at the age of six years. In 1852 James 
Raver moved into Canfield township, where he 
has since been engaged in farming. 

L. W. Raver was born in Lordstown township, 
Trumbull county. May 11, 1849. He is the 
second child of James Raver. When seventeen 
years of age he was apprenticed to learn the 
plasterer's trade, serving two years, and during 
the winters he also learned harness-making. He 
worked at the former of these seven summers 
and at the latter six winters. He then with 
Abraham Forney engaged in mercantile business 
for three years, when he sold out and soon after- 
ward went into the drug business with Dr. C. 
B. White. This partnership lasted but one year. 
He then for a few months went into the furni- 
ture business. He is now keeping a general 
store with J. H. Fitch and Joseph Smith. 
March 16, 1873, he married Melvina Wilson, 



M4 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



daughter of William Wilson, born December 5, 
1848. They have three children, James O., 
Allen Thurman, and HarryRush. 

Robert Russell, Austintown township, Mahon- 
ing county, was born in Loudoun county, Vir- 
ginia, August 23, 1784. When he was two years 
of age his father, Robert Russell, Sr., moved in- 
to Washington county, Pennsylvania, and in 
1802 into Lake county, Ohio. In 1806 or 1807 
he came into Austintown township, Mahoning 
county. At this early date there had not been 
a road laid out in the entire township. He was 
a farmer by occupation, and lived to see the 
wilderness converted into fine farms possessing 
the comforts and refinements of civilized life. 
He married, May 17, 1809, Rachel Hampson, 
who was a daughter of Robert and Jane Hamp- 
son, and was born in New Jersey, October 24, 
1786. They reared nine children, all living to 
celebrate their parents' golden wedding, and 
even their sixtieth anniversary. Mr. Russell 
lived an exemplary lile, and was a member for 
fifty years of the Disciple church at Four-mile 
run. He was ever a friend to the poor and 
needy. His useful life closed January 31, 1879, 
and his wife died February 20, 1872. 

Hampson Russell, farmer, Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, son of Robert Russell, 
the pioneer, was born August 24, 1822. His 
education was received in the pioneer schools of 
his native township. He early began the work 
of farming upon the home farm, and at the age 
of twenty-five moved upon the farm where he 
now resides, two miles southwest of the center 
of the township. In May, 1849, he married 
Elizabeth Reed, daughter of Thomas Reed, of 
Austintown township. She was born December 
I, 1826. This couple have but three children : 
Charles Warren, born May 24, 1852^ Amos Cal- 
vin, May 14, 1856; Thomas Robert, June 20, 
i860. Mr. Russell is a member of the Disciple 
church and his wife is a Covenanter. He is 
a Republican in politics. 

Abraham Strock, farmer, Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, was born in Perry coun- 
ty, Pennsylvania, April 7, 18 13. He is a son of 
John Henry Strock and a twin brother of Zach- 
aiiah R. Strock. His father was born in Nor 
thumberland county, Pennsylvania, October 14, 
I 78 1. He married Catharine Rice, a native of 
Pennsylvania, by whom he had eleven children: 



Benjamin, Elizabeth, Mary, Isaac, Abraham, 
Zachariah, Catharine, Anna, Susan, Joseph, and 
Julia. Of these the sons are all living and the 
daughters all dead. John H. Strock was a 
Presbyterian and a Democrat. He died in the 
forty-ninth year of his age, December 14, 1830. 
The father of John H. Strock was Joseph Strock,_ 
a native of France, who came to this country an 
orphan boy nine years old. After coming here 
he was bound out to pay for his passage. He 
was married in Pennsylvania and had seven 
sons and four daughters. He can.e to Mahon- 
ing county and settled in the southern part of 
Austintown township. Abraham Strock has re- 
sided here since his father came in 1815. He 
began learning carpentry and joining when four- 
teen years old and worked at those trades forty- 
seven years. He has erected so many churches 
that the title " the old church-builder" is often 
applied to him. September 7, 1834, he married 
Sophia Wetzell, who was born in Pennsylvania, 
December 18, 1807. They had seven children: 
Sarah, William H., Eliza, Caroline, Benjamin, 
Lucy, and George. Mrs. Strock died August 
ti, 1869. Mr. Strock was one of the first Abo- 
litionists in this county and is now an earnest 
Republican. Since retiring from active business 
he has studied a variety of subjects, upon each 
of which he is well informed. 

Joseph Smith, a native of Mercer county, 
Pennsylvania, was born May 27, 1853. When 
he was about two years old his father, Henry 
Smith, moved into Jackson township. After re- 
maining here a few years he moved to Smith's 
corners, Austintown township. Joseph received 
his education at this place, attending school 
winters and working on the farm summers. 
When eighteen years old he began clerking for J. 
H. Fitch & Co. He remained here for one year 
and then worked for J. H. Fitch until April i, 
1880, when he bought an interest in the stock of 
goods and the firm of Fitch, Smith & Co. was 
formed. He married Elizabeth Wetzel, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Wetzel, an old-time hotel proprietor 
of Austintown. 

Daniel Thornton, who was a native of Long 
Island, came to Youngstown township, Trum- 
bull county, now Mahoning, in the year 181 7. 
.After remaining here five or six years he went 
back to his old home, but not being satisfied 
there returned to this county. He served in the 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



'45 



War of 1812 before he was eighteen, first three 
months as substitute and afterward a time for 
himself At the close of the war he began learn- 
ing the ship-carpenter's trade, serving an appren- 
ticeship of three years. He followed this trade 
in the Island until his removal to Ohio. Just 
before leaving Long Island he married Hannah 
Rogers, a native of that island. She became 
the mother of three children — Jesse A., merchant 
of (lermantown, Pennsylvania; Mary, who died 
in infancy; and Hiram, of Austintown. He was 
a Democrat through early life but eventually be- 
came a Republican. 

Hiram Thornton, third child of Daniel Thorn- 
ton, was born in Youngstown township, Trum- 
bull county, now Mahoning, January 18, 1823. 
His school advantages were very limited as there 
was no school in his district until he was of age. 
But by reading and observation he has become 
well informed. He is a natural mechanic, un- 
derstanding several different trades. His early 
life was spent upon the farm. At the age of 
seventeen he began making whiskey, at which 
occupation he continued for five years, at the 
end of which time he began carriage- and wagon- 
making, which he carried on for about eleven 
years. Since then he has been engaged in va- 
rious pursuits, among others that of operating in 
coal. He is now superintending mines for H. 
Baldwin, of Youngstown. He married, August 
5, 1849, Matilda Smith, daughter of William 
Smith, of Austintown. She was born in Eng- 
land, August 31, 1830. To them have been 
born fifteen children — Daniel, Mary, Stephen, 
Joseph, Henry, Elizabeth, Sarah, William, Wal- 
ter, Lovin.i, Ida, George, Myron, Ella, Edward, 
of whom Daniel, Ida, and George are dead. He 
IS a Republican and a worthy and respected 
citizen. 

William Tibbit (deceased) was born in Mary- 
land, June 25, 1805. When he was still an in- 
fant his father, Jerry Tibbit, moved to Youngs- 
town. Here he lived until he was eighteen, when 
his father, who was a saddler and harness-maker 
in Youngstown, moved to Austintown, where he 
resided until his death engaged in farming. Wil- 
liam Tibbit received his education in the 
Youngstown schools. He remained with his 
father until he was twenty-four, assisting in the 
shop and on the farm. He then bought the 
business and carried it on for about seven years. 



meanwhile purchasing the farm on which his 
widow and family now reside. He moved upon 
this farm in 1836, and engaged afterwards at 
farming. November 28, 1833, he married Thank- 
ful Almyra, daughter of Judge Camden Cleave- 
land, a native of Connecticut. Judge Cleave- 
land emigrated to Liberty township, Trumbull 
county, about 1800, and when his daughter, Mrs. 
Tibbit, was about four years old moved to 
Youngstown, where he taught school for several 
years. He afterwards operated the Cleaveland 
mill on Mill creek. He married Elizabeth 
Adams, daughter of Asahel Adams, who was 
also a pioneer in this region. Judge Cleaveland 
had a family of two boys — Camden H. and 
Mason A. (who died young), and five girls: Eliza 
P., Thankful Almyra, Olive A., Charlotte M., 
and Harriet M. Judge Cleaveland was a brother 
of Moses Cleaveland, after whom the city of 
Cleveland was named. William Tibbit was a 
member of the Presbyterian church, and a mem- 
ber of the Republican party. He was an un- 
assuming man, a conscientious Christian, a kind 
father and husband, and a good citizen. He 
died October 14, 1856. He was the father of 
eight children, six of whom are living — Nancy 
E., Charlotte M., Asahel C, Laura E., John 
Ferris and Mary Ann. 

Jacob Wolfcale, farmer, Austintown township, 
Mahoning county, was born in the same town- 
ship October 23, 1819. He is the third of the 
children of Abram Wolfcale, a native of Vir- 
ginia, who, with his brother John, and his father, 
John Wolfcale, Sr., came into this country at an 
early date, and bought tracts of land on part of 
which their children are now living. Abram 
Wolfcale was a cabinet-maker and Carpenter by 
trade. He also carried on a tarm. He was 
born January 14, 1785. He married Elizabeth 
Brooks, who was born in Maryland October 6, 
1792. They had five children — Margaret, Jona- 
than, Jacob, Polly, and Elizabeth. Of these 
Polly died in infancy, and Jonathan when about 
forty years of age. Margaret married Roswell 
Matthews, and lives upon the old homestead. 
Jacob Wolfcale is a blacksmith by trade, but is 
engaged in farming. He was married July 17, 
1843, to Lavina Oatstein, a native of Mahoning 
county. They have seven children living, three 
deceased. The names of those living are : 
Owen, Abram, William, Milo, Elizabeth, Filena, 



.46 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and Mary. Mr. Wolfcale is a Democrat. He 
has surrendered the care of his farm to his sons 
and is now enjoying the (juiet which a Hfe of ac- 
tivity has earned him. 

Ira Wilco.K, farmer, .^ustintown township, Ma- 
honing county, is a native of that county, born 
March 9, i8i6. His father, Isaac Wilcox, was 
a native of Maryland, and was in the War of 
181 2. Isaac Wilcox was married to Catharine 
Kussurd, and shortly afterward came to Canfield 
township, now Mahoning county. About twenty, 
five years later he removed to Virginia. He was 
a class leader in the Methodist church, and for a 
long time a justice of the peace in Canfield. He 
had four children: Ira, Reuben, Eli, and Han- 
nah. Eli died when but fourteen years old. 
Hannah married Jacob Umstardt, and died 
many years ago. Reuben is living at Rootstown, 
Ohio. Ira Wilcox, when about twelve years of 
age, was apprenticed to the shoemaker's trade, 
at which he served until he was eighteen, in the 
meantime working upon the farm of his employ- 
er. He followed his trade some eighteen years. 
After his marriage he resided in Jackson town- 
ship for a short time, then returned to his former 
home. In 1839 he bought a small part of his 
present farm, which was then in the woods. He 
has since added to his first purchase until he now 
has a fine farm. April 11, 1835, he married 
Rebecca Oilman, who was born in (now) Mahon- 
ing county, November 16, 181 6, and is a daugh- 
ter of Jacob Oilman. Mr. and Mrs. Wilcox 
have nine children, as follows: Christina, Dan- 
iel, Isaac, Sarah, Ira, Jr., Mary, Cecilia, Anson 
B., and Ella. Their church relationship is with 
the United Brethren in Christ. 

Jacob Wise, deceased, was born in Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, January 21, 1786. He 
came to Trumbull county in 18 10, and bought 
one hundred acres of land at $3 per acre. 
Several years later he purchased what is now 
knownasthe Peters farm, one hundred and thirty- 
three acres, and afterwards he bought one hun- 
dred and twelve acres on the tract where the 
Tod mine was opened. Coal was mined there 
over fifty years ago. In iSio Jacob Wise mar- 
ried Susanna Weitzel, who lived only about one 
year after giving birth to a child named Jacob, 
born June 24, 1813. In 1815 Mr. Wise mar- 
ried I'riscilla Pyle, who was born in Little York, 
Pennsylvania, in 1797. They had thirteen chil- 



dren — John, Mary, Eliza, Sarah, Hannah, Pris- 
cilla, Lydia, Solomon, Jonathan, Rebecca, Ada- 
line, Rachel, and Elias, who died when quite 
young. Priscilla, Rebecca, Mary, and Solomon 
are also deceased. Jacob Wise was a soldier in 
the War of 1812. Both he and his wife were 
members of the Presbyterian church. He died 
October 24, 1854, and Mrs. Wise September 7, 
1862. 

John Wise, farmer, Austintown township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Trumbull county, 
August 13, i8i6. He is the second son of 
Jacob Wise. He was married October i, 1844, 
to Mary Cam, who was born in Canfield, Febru- 
ary 18, 1820. Her father, a tailor by trade, 
came from Pennsylvania. The union gave them 
two children, Zenas, an attorney at Pine BlufT, 
Kansas, and Thomas Jefferson, a coal operator 
at Canfield. Mrs. Wise died May 24, 1854. 
Mr. Wise was married a second time February i, 
1855, lo Rachel A. Morns, born in Monmouth- 
shue, England, February 26, 1828. They have 
two children, Lucy, born February 7, 1856, the 
wife of E. Grover Marshall, Weathersfield town- 
ship, Trumbull county,and David, born May 30, 
1865, now residing at home. Mrs. Wise is the 
seventh of fourteen children of William Morris, 
who emigrated to America in 1839, and settled 
in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, where he was 
a coal operator some years ; he then moved to 
Weathersfield township, Trumbull county, and 
was there a superintendent of mines. 



CHAPTER VH. 

JACKSON. 
GENERAL DESCRIPTION. 

This township, named in honor of Andrew 
Jackson, is township two of range four of the 
Western Reserve, and is bounded on the north 
by Lordstown, Trumbull county; on the east by 
Austintown; on the south by Berlin; and on the 
west by Milton. The Meander creek drains the 
eastern part of the township, pursuing its zigzag 
course northward partly in this township but 
mostly in .\ustintown. A number of small 
streams erUer the creek from the westward, rcn- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



dering the surface broken and uneven. There 
are no long or very steep hills, but quite a num- 
ber of undulations such as may be found in 
prairie countries. The western half of the town- 
ship may be briefly described as level. Many 
broad fields, acres in extent, are apparently as 
flat and even as the surface of a calm lake. 
Likewise in the southern part of the township, 
the fields which have been formed from the an- 
cient swamp-land are almost uniformly smooth. 

There is a large average of woodland inter- 
spersed with acres of cultivated fields, this com- 
bination producing an eff"ect very pleasing to 
lovers of natural beauty. When the green man- 
tle of spring is spread over all, or when the 
magic painter, Autumn, with divinely skilled hand 
has touched the forest trees, transformed their 
foliage with countless tints of crimson, gold, and 
scarlet, these groves assume a beauty which is 
indescribable. 

The soil is generally deep and rich, and is 
well adapted to wheat and corn. But little of 
the land is stony and all is easily cultivated. 
The farm-houses are good and comfortable, 
though by no means large or imposing in ap- 
pearance. 

There is but one village in the township, — 
North Jackson, which is not north geograph- 
ically but situated at the very center. The post- 
office has been called by this name to distin- 
guish it from the many other Jacksons in this 
country. 

Farming is the principal business. There has 
never been a railroad through the township, but 
one is now in process of construction and other 
lines have been surveyed. The Alliance, Niles 
&: Ashtabula road will pass diagonally through 
the western and northern portion of the town- 
ship, and with its completion there may be an 
inception of other industries. 



The western and much of the northern ]iart 
of the township were originally covered with a 
dense growth of hard wood, principally oak and 
hickory. On the Meander there were many 
sugar-maples. In the southern part of the town- 
ship there were several kinds of soft wood found 
in some tracts including considerable poplar. 
Beech and ash grow in various parts of the 
township. 



A fair quantity of surface coal has been mined 
in several places, but the deposits are not ex- 
tensive. As yet no banks containing paying 
quantities have been opened. 

SETTLEMENT. 

The first pioneers were nearly all of the Scotch- 
Irish race, and moved to the township from 
Pennsylvania. Samuel Calhoun was the first 
actual settler. He located on the south line of 
the township in 1803, and there passed the 
remainder of his days. His sons were Andrew, 
Samuel, and Matthew; his daughters Nancy, 
Betsey, Isabel, Sally, Anna, Martha, and Esther. 
Andrew Calhoun lived in the township, on the 
eastern part, through his life. Anna became the 
wife of David Leonard, and is still living in 
Ellsworth township. The name is spelled Cal- 
hoon by some of those who bear it. 

William Orr, from Washington county, Penn- 
sylvania, settled in 1803 or 1804 upon the farm 
which remained in possession of the Orr family 
many years. He built a frame house at an early 
date, which was probably the first in the town- 
ship. It was a story and a half in height, per- 
haps twenty-four feet wide, and somewhat longer. 
There was a stone chimney in the middle of 
the house; it was both large and wide, and took 
up a considerable amount of room. William 
Orr died in 181 5, in his sixtieth year. His wife 
Mary died in 1849, in her ninetieth year. Their 
family consisted of eleven children, viz : James, 
Margaret, John, Humphrey, William, Thomas, 
Russel, Anna, Abraham, Isaac, and Mary. John, 
Humphrey, William, and Russel settled in Mil- 
ton and died there. Thomas lived in Jackson 
for a time, then returned to Pennsylvania. James 
moved to some distant part. Abraham and 
Isaac are the only survivors of the family. The 
former lives in Trumbull county and the latter in 
Illinois. Anna was the wife of John Johnston. 
Margaret married John Ewing. 

Andrew Gault came to the township in 1803, 
and made a permanent settlement in 1804. His 
sons were Ebenezer, Robert, and Andrew ; his 
daughters Rachel, Betsey, and Ann. Robert 
and Andrew settled in the township, Andrew 
upon the old place. Rachel married Andrew 
Duer and settled in Ellsworth. Betsey married 
Robert Gibson. Ann became the wife of Robin- 
son Young, and lived In Austintown. 



148 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



About 1804 Samuel Riddle, from Pennsylva- 
nia settled in the southeast part of the township. 
His house stood near where Mr. Kimmel's now 
stands. His children were David, James, An- 
drew, John, Samuel, Catharine, and Ann. Da- 
vid married Betsey Van Emnion, and settled one 
mile and a half northeast of the center. He 
brought up a family of two sons and four daugh- 
ters. James married Jane Bell of Pennsylvania, 
and lived upon the old homestead. His family 
consisted of ten children. Andrew married 
Matilda Taylor and settled on the Meander, in 
Ellsworth. He was the father of three sons and 
two daughters. John became a doctor and prac- 
ticed some time in \\'ooster. He married Rho- 
da Winters and had four daughters. Samuel 
married Mary Campbell, and settled one mile 
west of the old place. He brought up two sons 
and two daughtets. The daughters are dead. 
His sons live in Jackson. Catharine married 
John McCready, and lived in Bedford, Pennsyl- 
vania. Ann married Nicholas Van Emmon and 
resided in the western part of this township. 

Robert Kirkpatrick was among the earliest set- 
tlers, and probably came to this township soon 
after the families just mentioned. He was a 
native of Ireland, of Scotch-Irish blood. Five 
of his cliildren arrived at maturity, viz : Martin, 
Isaac, Josiah, Martha, and Eleanor. Martin and 
Isaac lived and died in Ellsworth, where their 
father i)urchased farms for them. Josiah passed 
his life upon the old farm. Martha became 
Mrs. McGeorge, and Eleanor Mrs. Wilson. 
Martha is the only survivor. Robert Kirkpatrick 
first settled in Austintown near Smith's corners, 
but soon afterwards made a permanent settle- 
ment in Jackson, on the Meander. He died in 
1847, in the seventy-ninth year of his age. 
Catharine, his wife, died in 1856, at the age of 
eighty-seven. Josiah, the youngest son, died in 
1878, aged sixty-four. 

John Ewing, and his brother Archibald Ew- 
ing, natives of Ireland, came with their mother 
and sister in 1803 or 1804. 'I'hey first settled 
in Austintown, and Archibald took up and lived 
upon the old Ewing farm in that township. The 
first night after their arrival the family passed be- 
neath the shelter of a walnut tree. The sister 
mentioned became Mrs. Robert Kirkpatrick. 
John Ewing located in Jackson upon the farm 
now owned by Mr. Kimmcl. He married Mar- 



garet Orr, and reared a large family. A sketch 
is given elsewhere. 

John and Eleanor Morrison settled in 1805 on 
the place where the widow Lynn now lives, south- 
west of the center. James, Jane, John, Nancy, 
Thomas, Martha, and Mary Ann were the names 
of their children. The sons moved away quite 
early — James to Holmes county ; John to the 
northern part of Trumbull county ; and Thomas 
to Pennsylvania. Mary Ann was married to 
David Johnston, and is living in Jackson. She 
is the only member of the family now in this 
county. 

In 1805 or 1S06 Nicholas VanEmmon settled 
one mile and a half west and a mile south of the 
center of the township. His wife died here, 
after bringing up a large family. He married 
again and moved away. None of the children 
settled in the township. 

From 1810 to 1820 there were scarcely any 
permanent settlements made in the township. 
Quite a number came and remained a short 
time, but a few years' experience with the swamps 
and the bad roads disgusted them, and they 
either returned to civilization or pressed on to- 
ward the newer settlements, declaring that such 
a country wasn't " fit for a white man to live in." 
The process of development was consequently a 
slow one. 

A man named Crooks was living on the farm 
west of the Lynn farm in 1811, but moved 
away soon after. Two of the sons afterwards 
came back and settled in the northern part of 
the township, where they remained a few years. 

Thomas Dinwiddle was also a resident of the 
township at that date, upon the farm now owned 
by James Oswald. He moved away later. 

James and Martha Patterson were early set- 
tlers on the north side of the road, one-half mile 
west of the center. They had no children. In 
1823 they moved to Wayne county. 

David McConnell settled in the northwestern 
part of the township about 1817, but sold out 
after making a few improvements. 

John Graves settled near Joseph Pierce about 
181 9. His farm was east of Mr. Pierce's. He 
made considerable improvement. Joseph Mc- 
Corkle bought the farm from him, moving to it 
from the eastern part of the township. Mr. Mc- 
Corkle died on the farm and his widow is still 
living there. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



George Ormsby settled in Jackson previous to 
1820 and lived to be an old man. 

Joshua T. Cotton, who was a captain in the 
War of 181 2, moved to Jackson township about 
1818. He married in Youngstown Miss William- 
son, and brought up a large family. From Jack- 
son he moved to Indiana, where he died. Cap- 
tain Cotton was a true specimen of the hardy 
pioneer as well as a good and brave soldier. 

About the same date John Pearsall settled one 
and three-fourth miles east of the center. He 
moved to another farm in this township, then to 
Milton, and finally to Pennsylvania. 

Joseph Pierce and wife, the father of Joseph 
Pierce, one of the oldest residents of the town- 
ship, moved from Youngstown to the northwest- 
ern part of the township in the fall of 1818. 
Mrs. Pierce died the following winter. Joseph 
Pierce, Jr., came from Warren to this township 
in 1819, with an axe as his only property. It 
proved a very serviceable tool, for miles of road 
had to be cut in order to reach his land. He 
used to work from before daybreak until nine 
and ten o'clock at night in the clearings. His 
energy and industry won him a home which he 
still lives to enjoy. 

Thomas Duer settled on the west side of the 
township about 1820 and died soon afterward. 
His son Joseph passed his life on the old place. 

John McMahan, of Pennsylvania, moved from 
his native State to the northern part of Board- 
man township in 1799, and remained until 1806, 
when he settled on a farm m Austintown. He 
served three months in the War of 181 2, 
and died while on his way home. He was the 
father of five sons and one daughter — James D., 
Benjamin, John, Thomas, Harriet, and Joseph. 
James and Benjamin settled in Jackson in 1820. 
John went West and has never been heard from. 
Thomas settled in Lordstown, removed to Penn- 
sylvania and died. Harriet, the wife of John 
Cory, lives in Champion, Trumbull county. 
Joseph died in Morgan county, Ohio. 

In 1820 the widow of John McMahan, Sr., 
removed from Austintown to Jackson with her 
sons. She died in 1855, aged about eighty-three 
years. 

James D. McMahan, who is perhaps the old- 
est man living of those born upon the Reserve, 
was born in Boardman township October 31, 
1799. He was one of the pioneers of Jackson. 



He married Betsey Cory and had a family of 
eight children, four of whom are living — -John, 
on the old homestead in the northern part of 
Jackson; Thomas, one mile east of Warren; Silas, 
in Champion township, and Mary in San Fran- 
cisco, California. Mrs. McMahan died in 1868. 
Mr. McMahan has since been living with his 
sons. For a man of his years he is wonderfully 
bright, active, and cheerful. 

Benjamin McMahan settled in Jackson and 
died in 1878. He was married three times. 
His first wife bore three children, his second 
one, and his third four. All these are living e.x- 
cepting one. 

John Cartwright settled about 1827 on the 
farm northwest of Abraham Moherman's, but 
moved away a few years later. 

Abraham Moherman, son of Frederick 
Moherman, one of the first settlers of Austin- 
town, came to Jackson in 1827 and settled one 
mile and a half west of the center where he now 
lives. He was married in the township to Anna, 
daughter of Daniel Rush, and has a family of 
four children living. 

John Moherman settled some time after his 
brother. He married Mary Cassiday, now de- 
ceased, and has four children living. 

Thomas Woodward settled on the farm where 
he now lives in 1828. 

Robert Turnbull moved from Austintown to 
Goshen township, and in 1828 located at Jack- 
son center, where he made the first clearing in 
what is now the village. His house stood on 
the corner where the drug store now is. Squire 
Turnbull is well remembered by the old resi- 
dents, and is generally described as having been 
a "smart man." He was married twice ; first to 
Celia, daughter of John Wolfcale, of Austin- 
town. One son by this marriage is now living 
in Portage county. His name is Cyrus. For 
his second wife Mr. Turnbull married Anna 
Ormsby, of this township. One of the sons, 
Lewis, was killed in a saw-mill in Indiana. The 
family was a large one. 

Jonathan Osborn bought land in the township 
in 1828, and settled here permanently in 1836. 

William Young, a native of Pennsylvania, 
bought his farm in 1830, paying $5 per acre tor 
it, when land in the northern and western part 
of the township was worth $3 to $4 per acre. 

From 1825 until 1835 the Pennsylvania Dutch 



'5° 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



flocked to the township in large numbers. The 
Schlabach, Wetherstay, Lodwick, Wannemaker, 
Ebert, Shoeneberger, Iry, Shively, and other 
famihes were the earliest and most prominent. 
The limits of this article forbid us to go mto 
particulars regarding the settlers of this date; 
for though they may be regarded as pioneers in- 
asmuch as they began in the woods, we cannot 
in strict propriety call them early settlers. 

By 1840 the settlement had grown almost to 
its present dimensions. The census of that 
year showed a population of 1,124. The Ger- 
mans with their characteristic thrift and sturdy 
industry have been largely instrumental in add- 
ing to the wealth of the township. 

One reason why the township was not settled 
faster may be found in the fact that a consider- 
able portion of the land it contains was not put 
in the market by the proprietors until long after 
many other townships had become thriving and 
populous. 

TAXES IN 1803. 

Here is a list of the ta.x-payers of Jackson for 
the year 1803: 

RANGE FOUR, TOWN TWO. 

-Amount Amount 

of tax. of ta-^v. 

Calhoun, Samuel $ 20 St.arnford, James $ 2^ 

Gault. Andrew 32 Riddle, Samuel i 59 

Orr, William 32 Mclnrue, J osepli 40 



Total. 



FIRST EVENTS. 

.\ndrew Gault, born in 1804, was the first 
white male child born in the township, and James 
Van Emmon the second. Mary Ewing (Mrs. 
Andrew Gault) was born in 1807, and is said to 
have been the first female child. 

Probably the first marriage was that of John 
I'Aving and Margaret Orr, which took place in 
1805 in a little log-cabin on the Orr place, now 
known as the Goldner farm. The ceremony was 
])crformed by 'Squire Chidester, of Canfield. 

The first death was that of Mary, daughter of 
William and Mary Orr, who died February 18, 
1805, in the fourteenth year of her age. Her 
grave is in the old burying ground adjoining the 
Covenanter church. 

F.AKI.V SCHOOLS. 

The first school-house in the township was on 
the east line in the southeastern [)art. It was 



made of logs, the cracks daubed with mud, and 
the roof covered with loose boards weighted 
down. The floor was made of split timber and 
there were a few hard benches. The house was 
placed on a side-hill or steep bank. John Ful- 
lerton and a man named Ferguson were prob- 
ably the first teachers. Fullerton was the school- 
master of the settlement for many years. The 
second school-house in this district, or rather in 
this neighborhood, was a small log house, and 
was situated on the hill northeast of the Cove- 
nanter church, where it stood several years. In 
one corner of the school-room was a stump — 
its roots still in the ground and the floor fitted 
around it — which had been sawed off and made 
into a seat. This was called the "dunce block," 
and for a refractory urchin to be placed upon it 
was deemed the most humiliating punishment 
that could be administered. 

Matilda Taylor probably taught the first sum- 
mer school in this part of the township. 

One night while Fullerton was the teacher he 
and some of the larger boys succeeded in getting 
a wagon fi.xed upon the roof of the school-house; 
and when the wrathful owner of the conveyance 
appeared and demanded that the mischief-makers 
should be punished, the pedagogue gravely as- 
sured him that he would do his best to find out 
who they were and treat them as they deserved. 

A third school-house of hewed logs was built 
at the cross roads west of the Covenanter church. 

The house in which William Young now lives 
was the first framed school-house in the district. 

Among the early teachers in the northwestern 
part of the township were Orman Deane, Hayes 
Bell, and Amelia Streeter. 

In the Jackson Centre district previous to 
1840 English was taught a part of the term and 
German the remainder. Soon after Samuel 

Jones settled he was elected a school director 
and made a canvass of the district to find out 
how many were in favor of substituting English 
alone. He found only three opposed to this 
plan, and those three had no scholars. The 
change was accordingly made and the German 
language ceased to be taught in the township. 

In the first schools the "three R.'s" were all 
the branches in which instruction was given. 
The sjielling book and Bible were text books for 
all scholars, whether old or young. Geograjjhy 
and grannnar were not introduced for many 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



years, and their admission into the schools at all 
was bitterly opposed by the conservative, old- 
fashioned parents. They were considered inno- 
vations unnecessary and worthless. " We got 
along without studying them — why can't our 
children?" This style of argument has always 
met the friends of education, but we are thank- 
ful that it no longer carries conviction with it. 



The first grist-mill in the township was built 
by Samuel Riddle, Sr. It was on the Meander, 
in the southeastern corner of the township, and 
must have been erected more than seventy years 
ago. It was a small affair, and was made as 
cheaply as possible. It was succeeded by a mill 
situated just southeast of the old site. This 
second mill was built by a man named Amos 
Stoddard, and was run by the Riddles several 
years. It was owned later by a man named 
Butler, then by Benjamin McMahan, but was 
destroyed by fire some years ago. 

The Riddle saw-mill was built near the first 
grist-mill mentioned above, but was in Ellsworth 
township. It was probably erected as early as 
1810. A saw-mill situated on a little run north- 
west of the center, was standing in 1830. It 
was known as Haynen's mill, afterwards as 
Camp's mill. It ran until 1850 or later. No 
trace of its site is now visible and the stream, for 
a mill-stream, is decidedly a diminutive one. 

James Crooks operated a carding- and fulling- 
mill, about a mile and a quarter north of the 
center, some fifty years ago. Horace Piatt 
owned the mill after him. About the same time 
a saw-mill was built by the McMahan's on the 
same stream, north of the carding-mill. It was 
run by different parties until within a few years. 

Reuben Craver put up a sawmill on Morri- 
son's run, and Andrew Gault bought it. William 
Young built a saw-mill on the same stream in 
1844. It is still standing but disused. 

CHURCH HISTORY. 

The early settlers of Jackson were a church- 
going people, and had a place for public worship 
at a very early date, so early that in these days 
one can but wonder where the worshipers came 
from and how they managed to pay a preacher. 
But it IS not reasonable to suppose that the con- 
gregations were large, or that the preacher re- 
ceived more than a meagre salary. People rode 



horseback or walked to church and came from 

all the region around. 

THE OLD LOG CHURCH. 

The first church building in the township was 
a structure of hewn logs, and was situated on a 
hill near the west line of the township, on the 
south side of the road running east and west. 
It was probably built in 1818, or perhaps a little 
earlier. The house contained a few rude seats 
and had no floor except some loose boards. An 
aged resident of Jackson remembers that he at- 
tended services there and sat upon a sleeper 
which formed a part of the building. This 
primitive house of worship was used but a short 
time. It was erected and used by the Presbyte- 
rians of Jackson and Austintown. Rev. Joshua 
Bier was the minister. He is described as a 
good and pious old man, who adhered rigidly 
and uncompromisingly to the strongest and most 
old-fashioned doctrines. As a preacher he had 
only ordinary talents, but his earnestness and 
sincerity always secured the attention of his 
hearers. On account of an unfortunate family 
trouble he severed his connection with his little 
flock, and the old church ceased to be a meet- 
ing-house. 

THE COVENANTERS. 

As early as 1818 the Reformed Presbyterians 
or Covenanters of the southeastern part of the 
township organized and formed a church, and 
were supplied by a minister who also presided 
over the congregation of the same denomina- 
tion at Little Beaver, Pennsylvania, thirty miles 
distant. Mr. Williams, an aged missionary, 
preached in the settlement occasionally beforethe 
organization was effected. Rev. Robert Gibson 
was the first regular preacher, and supplied the 
congregation three or four years. Meetings 
were held in barns in summer and in dwelling- 
houses in winter. After Mr. Gibson resigned 
his charge, there was a vacancy which continued 
several years. About 1830 Rev. George Scott 
was ordained pastor, and soon afterwards was 
erected a small frame house, perhaps 25 x 30 
feet in its dimensions. It was plain and cheaply 
furnished, containing movable seats, and was 
never painted cither inside or out. This build- 
ing was used as a church for many years, but 
was finally taken down and carried to the cen- 
ter, where its materials were used in construct- 
ing W. B. Mansel's wagon-shop. 



152 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



In 1833 occurred the division in the church 
which resulted in the formation of two schools 
of Covenanters. Mr. Scott resigned his charge, 
and joined the new school, which built a church 
inAustintown later. Another vacancy ensued 
until Rev. James Blackwood became pastor. 
The church having been reorganized, a branch 
of the same church at Greenville, Pennsylvania, 
some forty miles distant, having been added to 
the charge, which still included Little Beaver 
and Jackson, Mr. Blackwood resigned on ac- 
count of poor health and the large amount of 
labor his pastorate demanded. Until about 
1847 the church remained unsupplied, but at 
that date Rev. Samuel Sterrett began his minis- 
trations, and continued as the pastor over twenty 
years. Soon after he entered upon his labors 
here, the church building now standing was 
erected— a very neat little country church of 
ample size for the accommodation of its congre- 
gation. Rev. R. J. George became pastor in 
1870; succeeded by Rev. T. C. Sproul until 1879. 
The church is at present without a pastor and 
its membership small. Under Mr. Sterrett 
Greenville was thrown from the charge, and later 
Little Beaver. The two last mmisters were sup- 
ported by the Jackson and Poland branches, 
Poland branch having been added in place of 
those that were dismissed. 

The old church has had many periods of ad- 
versity. Its prosperity was once quite marked. 
Commencing with but a handful of members, it 
grew to over seventy, then began to diminish. 
Archibald Ewing, John Ewing, Robert Kirk- 
patrick, Andrew Gault, William Knight, William 
Young, Robinson Young and their families were 
the principal and earliest members, 
elders were Archibald Ewing 
and James Truesdale. 

THE METHODIST CHURCH. 

The first preaching by this denomination was 
begun in 1823 by Rev. Charles Elliot. In 1824 
a class was formed consisting of eight members. 
The first meetings were held at the house of 
John Erwin. 

Private houses and school-houses were used as 
places for worship for some years, then the 
building which is now Mansel's wagon shop was 
purchased and occupied until the present build- 
ing was erected north of the center in 1847. 

Among the earliest Methodists who worshiped 



The first 
Andrew Gault, 



in this township were John Pearsall and wife, 
Richard Osborn and wife, Mrs. Susanna Mc- 
Mahan, J. D. McMahan, George Ormsby and 
wife, John Erwin and wife, and Mrs. Kincaid. 

The early preachers were "circuit riders," who 
filled a large number of appomtments and often 
preached every day in the week. 

LUTHER.\N .\ND GER.M.\N REFORMED CHURCH. 

The early meetings of these societies were held 
in private houses. In 1835 an organization was 
effected and the cornerstone of the present 
building laid. The house was built by the united 
efforts of the Lutherans and German Reformed 
inhabitants of Jackson. The house is situated a 
short distance north of the center, and is a 
quaint, old-fashioned building, square, with high 
pulpit and galleries. It was dedicated in 1836, 
the sermon on that occasion being preached by 
Rev. Mr. Holder. 

The first pastor of the Lutherans was Rev. F. 
C. Becker, who has since served. The first 
German Reformed pastor was Rev. J. P. Mah- 
nenschmidt. 

The Fulks, Shoenenbergers, Klingensmiths, 
and others were among the leading members at 
the time of the organization. The first trustees 
were Samuel Klingensmith (Lutheran) and Peter 
Fulk (German Reformed) ; first elders, Martin 
Goldner (Lutheran) and Mr. Schlabach (Re- 
formed). 

The Sunday-school is made a union school and 
supported by both denominations. 

Father Becker, the venerable pastor of the 
Lutherans, resides in Lordstown, and notwith- 
standing the many busy years he has spent in his 
holy calling, he is still vigorous and as attentive 
to his work as in his youthful days. Mr. Becker 
is father of most of the Lutheran church organi- 
zations in this section. 

THE DISCUM.ES. 

This denomination has a comfortable little 
house situated just south of the center. The 
church was organized in the fall of 1852 by Rev. 
C. Smith, with fifty-two members. For a time it 
was in a flourishing condition, but it gradually 
passed into a state of somnolence, and in 1874 
was resurrected and reorganized by H. C. Carl- 
ton, with thirty-four members. W. B. Dean, 
Joseph Pierce, James Russell, George and Chris- 
tian Shively have been mo.st active ' 



1 this church. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



and have contributed largely toward its support. 
The church edifice, small but comfortable, is 
situated at the center. There are now from sixty 
to seventy members. The pastors have been 
Revs. Smith, Wakefield, Reeves, Calvin, Green, 
Carlton, Bartlett, and Bush. 

FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

This church was organized in November, 1871, 
by members of the churches at Orr's corners and 
Ohltown. There were twenty-one members 
from the Newton church at Orr's corners, who 
petitioned to become members of the new church, 
and fifteen from the Rehoboth church, Ohltown, 
were admitted to membership by letter. Five 
persons, not at that time members of any church, 
were received upon profession of faith. 

The church building, a neat and tastefully 
made house, probably the best country church 
in the county, was completed the same fall. 
The dedication took place December 28, 187 1, 
Rev. John McMillan preaching the sermon on 
that occasion. Among those who were the 
largest subscribers to the building fund were 
William Riddle, Samuel Riddle, David Ander- 
son, Miles Marshall, David Calhoun, David John- 
son, and Samuel Johnson. 

The church received several additions to its 
membership shortly after its organization, and 
now numbers over ninety communicants. The 
house was refurnished in 1881, and is now a 
very pretty and very comfortable church. There 
have been two settled ministers. Rev. Robert 
T. McMahan was the first ; Rev. James W. 
Reese, who is now in charge, the second. 

GRAVEVARDS. 

The oldest burial place in the township is in 
the southeastern part near the Covenanter 
church. Here, in an uneven piece of ground, 
neglected, and overgrown with weeds and briers, 
the bones of the first settlers and many of their 
descendants repose. 

There is a small graveyard in the northwest- 
ern part of the township, less than a half acre in 
area, which contains about twenty grave-stones. 
The earliest death there recorded is that of 
Lydia, wife of Anthony Stogdill, who died June, 
12, 1832, aged thirty-seven. 

North of the center are two graveyards ad- 
joining the Methodist and the German churches. 



IN EARLY DAYS. 

We can find no traditions of mighty hunters; 
but here must have been an ample field for 
sportsmen. Deer were very numerous, and 
there were a large number of their trails leading 
through the township toward the salt springs. 
Killing wolves was pursued, not for sport, but as 
a matter of serious business, with a two-fold ob- 
ject in view, namely, — to preserve the flocks 
from their depredations, and to obtain the boun- 
ty for their scalps. Mi. Joseph Pierce relates 
that in one night seventeen sheep, — all of his 
flock but three, — were destroyed by these hun- 
gry marauders. John Pearsall, an early settler 
in the eastern part of the township, was chased 
one night by a pack of wolves. He was un- 
armed at the time, but by seizing a heavy club 
and making good use of it he was enabled to 
reach home in safety. 

One night in the winter of 18 19 Mrs. Pierce, 
mother of Joseph Pierce, lost her way while 
going to the house of her neighbor, McConnell, 
and took by mistake a path which led toward the 
salt spring, in Weathersfield. When the family 
became alarmed because of her absence they 
aroused the neighbors and hastened to search 
for her. She was found about midnight some 
miles from home. She contracted a severe cold 
from this exposure and never recovered from its 
effects. 

Johnny, a little eight-year-old son of David 
McConnell, got lost one day while going from 
Pierce's house to his home. It was in the spring 
of the year and a very wet season, the lowland 
being entirely covered with water. The whole 
neighborhood was aroused and men and women 
commenced searching for the lost boy, wading 
through water and mud. Trumpets were blown 
and all joined in shouting, hoping that the boy 
would be guided to his friends by the sounds. 
After several hours Johnny was found near Jack- 
son center by some of John Irwin's family. He 
had reached a creek so swollen by rains that he 
could not cross it, and had sat down by a tree 
to rest, where it is supposed he fell asleep. A 
heavy rain came on and awakened him sud- 
denly. He began crying and thereby attracted 
the attention of the Irwins, who came to his 
rescue and restored him to his anxious parents. 

The roads of Jackson township were long in 
condition which rendered travel on foot or 



154 



TRUMBULL AND ^L\HONlNG COUNTIES, OHIO. 



horseback anything but pleasurable. Wagons 
were not much used, and many of the pio- 
neers got along for years without one. The 
State road running east to Youngstown was 
cut out early in the present century, but for a 
long time it remained impassable for any kind 
of vehicles. West of the center there was a 
long strip of "corduroy" road — formed by lay- 
ing round logs in the mud. From 1830 to 1840 
many improvements were made in the highways 
previously marked out, and new roads built. 
Mr. William Young says that when he came to 
the township there were plenty of paths running 
through the woods, but no roads worthy the 
name. He was instrumental in having the north 
and south road west of his place constructed, 
and also assisted in making the north and south 
center road. For several years the first named 
road, now a much frequented thoroughfare, was 
not traveled enough to keep the grass down. 

The swamps and swales of the southern part 
of the township were often covered with water 
for weeks at a time. 

Canfield and Warren were the nearest trading 
places for the early settlers. There were very 
few articles bought at the stores, however. 
Sugar, clothing, etc., were manufactured at home. 
Salt, leather, tea and coffee were necessarily pro- 
cured of the merchants. Few families took a 
newspaper, and letters were rarely sent or re- 
ceived. 

JUSTICES OF THE PE.ACE. 

From the fact that no township records are in 
existence, excepting those of a comparatively 
recent date, we can give no names of early town- 
shi[) otficers. It is generally agreed that Andrew 
Gault was the first justice, and John Pearsall the 
second. Robert TurnbuU, William L. Roberts, 
Thomas Woodward, Jonathan Osborn, Jonas 
Ebert, David Camp, Jackson Truesdale, Samuel 
Johnston, Samuel Jones, William Anderson, 
Moses Felnagle, G. W. Osborn, and perhaps 
others, have held the office. 

THE VILLAGE. 

Jackson center, or North Jackson— it is the 
same place whichever name you use — is a thrifty 
little couiitry village containing a goodly number 
of white houses, as well as four churches, four 
stores, a hotel, a saloon, three blacksmith shops, 
a tannery, two saw mills, a naxiiiill, a wagon- 



shop, a harness shop, and a tailor's shop. A 
daily mail is received from West Austintown. 

MERCHANTS. 

Colwell Porter, Austintown's most successful 
merchant, started the first store in 1834, and em- 
ployed a man named Housel to keep it. The 
goods were kept in a part of 'Squire Turnbull's 
log house. Afterwards Gideon Anthony managed 
the business, the firm being Porter & Anthony 
A man named Koons had a store in 1834, 
which he sold to Augustus Grater about the time 
Porter sold his interest to Anthony. Grater & 
Hoffman were in business on the southeast 
corner some years. David Anderson com- 
menced in 1843, '"i^d afterwards sold to John 
Cartwright. About the same time Turnbull & 
Welkers had a store on the northwest corner of the 
center. David Anderson again commenced in 
1856 on the southeast corner, and Anthony & 
Flaugher on the southwest corner. Anderson & 
Fusselman formed a partnership under the name 
D. Anderson & Co., and in 1862 the firm was 
changed to Anderson, ShafTer & Co.; the firm is 
now G. W. Shaffer & Co. Welkers sold to 
Moherman, Osborn & Lynn. Lynn retired, and 
the firm then became Moherman, Osborn & 
Moherman, afterwards changed to William & A. 
Moherman. They were followed by Dickson & 
Kirk, who were burned out in 1874. Fulk & 
Anderson commenced in 1866; Anderson with- 
drew, and the firm of Fulk, Wetzel & Wanne- 
maker commenced business in 1868; Wetzel and 
Wannemaker retired, and Gideon Fulk con- 
tinued until his death in 1873. Daniel B. Blott 
is now the proprietor of the store. G. W. Os- 
born and Osborn & Jones were in business as 
drug and hardware merchants a short time be- 
tween 1865 and 1870. Shields, Orr & Co. had a 
furniture store for about one year. B. F. 
Phillips, who carries an extensive stock of drugs, 
medicines, notions, and jewelry, has been in 
the place since 1878. The two dry goods stores 
are well stocked, and their owners are receiving 
a large and well-merited patronage. Samuel 
Jones opened a hardware store in 1880. Con- 
sidering the size of the place, there is a large 
amount of trading done at North Jackson. 

PHYSICIANS. 

The doctors who have resided for a short 
time in Jackson have been many. It is evident- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



ly a good place in which to begin the practice of 
medicine. Dr. Isaac Powers was the first physi- 
cian, and remained less than a year. Dr. James 
F. Porter came in 1839, and was a successful 
practitioner for some years. Dr. Jackson Trues- 
dale, Drs. Davis, Davidson, Gilmore, Connor, 
Burger, McKinley, Keith, Wilson, and others 
have each been here for short periods. Dr. 
^Vells Spear was here some twenty years ago, 
and remained long enough to make an excellent 
reputation. 

The present physicians are Dr. H. H. Webster 
and Dr. E. D. Hughes. Both are constantly 
increasing their practice, and rising in the respect 
of the people. 

INDUSTRIES. 

It was some time after the stores were opened 
at the village before there were any other in- 
dustries. 

In 1848 the steam saw-mill now owned by D. 
D. Jones was erected by Gideon Anthony and 
John Wannemaker. The mill now operated by 
Gault & Fullerton was built by Henry Prince at 
a later date. 

The tannery of Miles Marshall & Sons was 
built by Mr. Marshall and Samuel Jones in 1848. 
Mr. Jones was in business with Mr. Marshall for 
about two years. The original building has been 
enlarged and its proprietors are doing a good 
business. 

The hotel was built about 1844 by Benjamin 
Wannemaker, who was its landlord for souiC 
years, then sold to Samuel Wannemaker. In 
i860 the house was purchased by its present 
proprietor, Cyrus Koons, who has enlarged and 
improved it. 

In 1870 Samuel Wannemaker put up a build- 
ing west of the center where he dresses fla.x, 
presses hay and straw, etc. 

THE FIRST TAVERN. 

Robert TurnbuU kept a house of entertain- 
ment, but perhaps not a regular tavern. Jacob 
Probst, who also worked at his trade of tailoring, 
was keeping tavern in 1837 in the building now 
used by W. B. Mansel as a wagon-shop. Mr. 
Mansel, as will be seen from these pages, owns 
two buildings that once were churches, as well 
as a tavern and a school-house. The old tavern, 
the Methodist church, and the school-house are 
tlie same building, however. 



OTHER M.\TTERS. 

Robert Turnbull was the pioneer at the cen- 
ter, and built the first house. He came about 
1828, and died in 1852. David Urick was the 
second settler at the center, coming soon after 
'Squire Turnbull. He lived where 'Squire Jones 
now resides. He was a carpenter by trade, a 
good workman, and helped to build many houses 
in the township. Abner, one of his sons, is still a 
resident of Jackson. 

Solomon Stroup moved from Pennsylvania to 
Jackson in 1833, and is still living here. He 
says he thinks there were but two houses at the 
center at the time of his coming. The growth of 
the place was slow. In 1840 there were seven 
or eight houses in the village. 

Eli Marberger was the first blacksmith at the 
center. He was the strongest kind of a Demo- 
crat as well as a good citizen and an industrious 
worker. The post-ofifice was kept in his shop 
for some years. He was elected justice of the 
peace, but resigned after serving a very short 
time. Mr. Marberger sold out and went to 
Niles. 

THE POST-OFFICE. 

The first postmaster at North Jackson was 
Robert Turnbull. The office was established in 
1834 or 1835. Dr. James Portei,D. Anderson, 
Eli Marberger, Gideon Fulk, and G. W. Shaffer 
have succeeded in the office. 

NORTH JACKSON HIGH SCHOOL. 

A general feeling of interest in educational 
matters seems to have come upon the citizens 
about the year 1856. A select school was formed 
soon after, and Robert A. Kirk became the 
teacher. The building now used as a paint-shop 
was used as a school-room for a few terms. In 
i860 the academy was erected, and thereafter, 
until recently, there have been regular terms of 
school. O. P. Brockway was the first teacher in 
the new house. 

About four years ago the building was pur- 
chased of the stockholders by the trustees of the 
township, to be used as a town hall, but with the 
understanding that the citizens of the township 
should have the privilege of using the house for 
a select school whenever they desired. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Biographical Sketches. 

THE OSBORN FAMILY. 

Nicholas Osborn, when a young man, emi- 
grated to this country from England and settled 
in Virginia. He married in that State Margaret 
Cunnard, and reared a family of children, as 
follows: Jonathan, Sarah, Abraham, Richard, 
John, Elizabeth, Anthony, Mary, Joseph, and 
Aaron. His occupation was farming and mill- 
ing. In 1804 he sold out and came to Trum- 
bull county, Ohio, now Mahoning county, and 
purchased a large tract of land, one thousand 
acres of which was in Youngstown township and 
five hundred acres in Canfield, and he had in 
addition to these still other tracts. With him 
came Abraham, Anthony, Joseph, and their fam- 
ilies, Aaron, then single, and the family of Wil- 
liam Nier. John and his family came a short 
time before the rest. Joseph Osborn was born 
in Virginia in May, 1775, and when twenty-two 
years of age he married Margaret Wolfcale, 
daughter of John Wolfcale, who was born Octo- 
ber 7, 1774. They became the parents of ten 
children, viz: Sarah, Mary, Mahlon, Jonathan, 
John W., Alfred, Abner, Thomas P., Elizabeth, 
and Joseph. On the 25th day of December, 
1S04, Joseph Osborn moved upon a part of the 
one thousand acre tract, which contained a log 
house erected by a man by the name of Park- 
hurst. The floor consisted of a few loose boards, 
and the door and windows were simply openings 
cut out of the sides of the house. There was 
no ceiling, and the fire-place had no hearth. 
Ujion that |)lace he resided and toiled until his 
death, which occurred February 17, 1846. His 
wife died July 20, 1854. Jonathan Osborn, a 
son of Joseph and Margaret Osborn, was born 
in Loudoun county, Virginia, May 28, 1804. The 
same year his parents removed to Ohio, and 
settled on the land which had been purchased 
in Trumbull county, as previously mentioned. 
Jonathan had but few early advantages for the 
acquirement of an education, but he has be- 
come, by reading and observation, a well in- 
formed man. He remamed upon the farm until 
after he was twenty-one. When he started for 
himself he had only a two-year-old colt. For 
the first five years he worked for Judge Baldwin, 
commencing at $2 per month. During this time 



he bought two hundred acres of land, paying 
$2.30 per acre for it. January 28, 1836, he mar- 
ried Mary Ann Gofif, daughter of Humjjhrey 
Goff, then of Youngstown. She was born Feb- 
ruary 15, 1818, near Lewistown, Pennsylvania. 
This marriage was blessed with si.x children, viz: 
George W., Margaret J., Albert M., William N., 
Mary Alice, and Jonathan W. William and 
Jonathan died in early childhood. Mr. Osborn 
resides on a finely improved farm in the north- 
west part of Jackson township. 



NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

Andrew Calhoon was born in Pennsylvania 
October 5, 1777. In the first settlement of the 
country he and his father, Samuel Calhoon, came 
to Jackson township, now Mahoning county, 
bought them land and made preparations for the 
arrival of the mother, Nancy Calhoon, and 
Samuel and Matthew, and their ten sisters. 
Their only neighbors were the wild animals. 
Their greatest drawback was the heavy timber 
which occupied the soil, but the soil when ex- 
posed to the sun produced abundantly and there 
was no danger of starvation. But the wheat and 
corn had to be taken many miles during the first 
years of the settlement of the county in order to 
be ground for food. In a few years, however, 
neighbors began to come in, fields expanded, and 
the log cabins gave place to more commodious 
dwellings. Andrew Calhoon married Elizabeth, 
daughter of James Marshall, of Weathersfield, 
Trumbull county. She was then eighteen years 
of age. The result of this marriage was twelve 
children, nanely: Isaac, Nancy, Lydia, David, 
Elizabeth, Matilda, Andrew, Samuel, James, 
Malissa, Belinda, and one that died in infancy. 
.'Ml of those named lived to maturity, although 
Nancy and Lydia are now deceased. Andrew 
Calhoon died October 5, 1833. His wife lived 
a widow something over forty years and died 
December 28, 1873. 

David Calhoon, son of the subject of the pre- 
ceding sketch, was born in Jackson township, 
Mahoning county, December 18, 18 14. He at- 
tended only the pioneer schools where the "three 
R's " (reading, 'riting, and 'rithmetic) were 
taught. He remained on the home farm until 
he was of age and then bought a part of the 



I 




1fe» 




J/(?2^?««?/5C<?-s^'^' (Qj-C'tp 



c-i'fi^:^:::) 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



[57 



farm where he now resides in Jackson, which 
was then heavily timbered. He has since added 
to his first purchase and now has about two 
hundred acres. April 16, 1840, he married 
Rebecca Riddle, who was born in western Penn- 
sylvania January 17, 1818, and when about two 
years old came with her parents to Jackson 
township. By this marriage there were seven 
children, to-wit: Andrew C, Samuel S., David 
B., John M., Elizabeth J., Sylvester J., James 
W, all living at this writing. Mr. and Mrs. 
Calhoon are members of the Presbyterian 
church. 

Andrew Gault, Jr., youngest of seven children 
of .Andrew Gault, Sr., was born in Jackson town- 
ship, Mahoning county, December 7, 1804. An- 
drew Gault, Sr., was a native of Ireland and 
when about seventeen years of age he emigrated 
to America and after a time settled in Washing- 
ton county, Pennsylvania. April 22, 1788, he 
married Eleanor Chesney, by whom he had seven 
children. In 1803 he emigrated with his family 
to Trumbull county, Ohio, and settled in Jack- 
son township, where his grandson, James G., and 
his mother now live. He died January 8, 1832, 
surviving his wife, who died April 27, 1829. An- 
drew Gault received a good education for the 
times, attending, besides the common schools, 
select schools and the Canfield school. He 
helped to clear the farm on which he lived and 
devoted his life to his chosen occupation, that 
of farming. March 31, 1831, he married Mary 
Ewing, daughter of John Ewing, of Jackson 
township. She was born May 22, 1807. The 
result of this marriage was ten children, viz : 
Eleanor, Margaret, John E., Andrew R., Robert 
A., Margery Ann, James G., Sarah J., Mary C., 
and Rachel E., all of whom are living except 
Eleanor and Margery. It is said that Andrew 
Gault, our subject, was the first white male child 
born in Jackson township, and that his wife was 
the first female child. Mr. Gault was an intel- 
ligent but unassuming man and a Christian. He 
was a member of the Covenanter church. He 
died at the age of about si.\ty-si.\. 

Robert A. Gault, son of the above, was born 
on the old homestead in Jackson, August 26, 
1839. In 1 85 1 he enlisted in company F, 
Forty-first Ohio volunteer infantry, serving four 
years and two months in the Army of the Ten- 
nessee and was in the battles of Pittsburg Land- 



ing, Murfreesboro, Dallas, etc. He entered the 
service as a private but rose to the position of 
captain. In 1867 he was married to Miss Mar- 
tha Johnson and has three children, viz : Cas- 
sius, Homer J., and Edith E. 

James G. Gault, youngest son of Andrew 
Gault, Jr., was born in Jackson township August 
21, 1842. In 1864 he went out in the one 
hundred day service, enlisting in company G, 
One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Ohio National 
guard. In 1869, June isth, he married Mary 
Ellen Ewing, who was born November 24, 1844. 
They have three children, viz: Charles C, Lois 
M. B., and Grace Irene. 

Robert Gault, Jr., was born in Green town- 
ship, Mahoning county, on December 8, 18 14. 
He is the only child of Robert Gault, Sr., who 
was born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, 
on March 31, 1789. Robert Gault, Sr., was the 
oldest child of Andrew Gault. Robert Gault 
was educated in the schools of Pennsylvania, 
and thus had probably better advantages than 
his younger brothers, whose chances for "school- 
ing " were in the pioneer schools. He aided in 
clearing up and making a home and a sus- 
tenance on the tract of land which now consti- 
tutes the homestead. He and his father, when 
he was grown, purchased a farm of one hundred 
and sixty acres, on which the subject of this 
sketch now resides. In the fall of 1813 he mar- 
ried Charlotte Bowman, daughter of Phillip 
Bowman, a pioneer of Green township. He was 
a German by birth and immigrated from Mary- 
land to Iowa. Prior to his immigrating he was 
one of the soldiers of the Revolutionary war. A 
few months after their marriage Robert Gault, 
Sr., was drafted in the War of 181 2, and started 
for Detroit. At Cleveland he was taken ill, but 
for fear of being called a coward he proceeded 
with his company toward Detroit, but on the way 
was taken worse and died at Rocky River, Ohio, 
at the house of Widow Miner, October 29, 1814. 
Mrs. Gault, meanwhile, had gone to her father's 
in Green township, Mahoning county, where soon 
after her husband's death she gave birth to her 
only child by this husband. She afterwards 
married Joseph Hudson and moved to Iowa. 
When Robert Gault, Jr., was two years old he 
went to live with his grandfather, Andrew Gault. 
With him he grew up. On December 9, 1835, 
he married Margery Ewing, daughter of John 



tS8 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Ewing, of Jackson township. She was born in 
Jackson township on June 3, 1816. This mar- 
riage was blessed with twelve children — John, 
born December 27, 1836; Alexander and Mar- 
garet Sarah (twins), May 26, 1838; Mary, De- 
cember 14, 1839; Andrew, November 14, 1841; 
Caroline, July 8, 1843; Martha J., March 8, 
1845; Gideon, November 6, 1846; Samuel S., 
March 11, 1S48; William, March 28, 1850; Gib- 
son J., December 6, 1852, and Robert E., March 

7, 1855. Caroline died August 31, 1844. An- 
drew enlisted in 1861 in the Forty-first regiment, 
Ohio volunteers, and was in the Army of the 
Cumberland. He was wounded in the arm at a 
skirmish at Dallas, Georgia, while retreating. 
This necessitated amputation, from the effects of 
which he died July 8, 1864. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Gault are members of the United Presbyterian 
church. 

Samuel Riddle, the subject of this sketch, was 
born in Washington county, Pennsylvania, July 

8, 1794. His father, whose name was also 
Samuel, came to Jackson township, now Ma- 
honing county, about the year 1803 or 1804. 
He settled on the Meander where he erected one 
of the first mills in that locality, which was long 
known as Riddle's mill. Samuel Riddle, our 
subject, was married June 18, 1818, to Polly 
Campbell, daughter of William Campbell, who 
was born m Pennsylvania March 28, 1792. By 
this marriage there were six children, viz: William 
C, Martha J., Margaret, Samuel, and a pair of 
twins that died in infancy. Both the daughters 
are now deceased. Margaret was the wife of 
Gibson Ewing. Samuel Riddle died March 30, 
1869, and his wife Polly November 2, 1854. 

William C. Riddle, the oldest of the children 
of the subject of the preceding sketch, was born 
in Jackson township, Mahoning county, then 
'iVumbull, May 13, 1819. He remained at home 
upon the farm until he was twenty-seven, when 
he married and settled upon a farm two miles 
southeast of North Jackson, where he lived until 
five years ago, when he moved to that village. 
June 27, 1848, he married Martha J., daughter 
of John and Margaret Ewing, of Jackson town- 
ship. She was born August 12, 1823. Though 
living in town Mr. Riddle superintends his farm, 
wliich is situated a short distance from his 
present residence. Himself and wife are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. 



Samuel Riddle, a younger brother of William 
C, was born in Jackson township. May 16, 1827. 
He derived his education at the district schools, 
which he attended for the most part during the 
winter season. When he was seventeen he 
taught his first school, and subsequently con- 
tinued school teaching for six winters, and taught 
the school he formerly attended the winter after 
his marriage. Some six years after his marriage 
he bought the farm on which he now lives, east 
of North Jackson. He was united in marriage 
April 17, 1851, to Mary Spear, daughter of 
Alexander Spear, of Hartford, Trumbull county, 
who was born at Mount Jackson, Pennsylvania, 
August 12, 1824. For over twenty years he and 
his wife have been members of the Presbyterian 
church of Ohltown and of North Jackson. 

John Ewing was a native of county Donegal, 
Ireland, and when about seventeen years of age 
his mother (his father having previously died) 
with two sons and two daughters emigrated to 
America. They first setttled is Penn's valley, 
Pennsylvania, where for seven years he worked 
a farm on shares. In 1803 John Ewing came 
to Jackson township, now Mahoning county, 
wliere he bought a piece of land and erected the 
second house in the tow^nship. His older broth- 
er, Archibald, came out at the same time and 
settled in Austintown. The county was then 
almost a complete wilderness, with few neigh- 
bors (if settlers living miles apart and separated 
by dense woods can be called neighbors), the 
nearest mill being near Darlington, Pennsyl- 
vania ; it was with these surroundings and under 
these circumstances that the subject of this biog- 
raphy began to build up a home. But his in- 
dustry and energy brought piosperity, and he 
added to his original tract from time to time un- 
til he had a large property. When he com- 
menced farming labor was worth only* $4 per 
month. He married Margaret Orr, daughter of 
William Orr, then of Jackson but a native of 
Pennsylvania. They had a family of tw^elve chil- 
dren, as follow : Mary, Eleanor, Ann, Margaret, 
Alexander, Margery, Sarah, Gibson, Catharine, 
Martha J., John, and Rebecca, all of whom 
lived to adult age. Margaret, Sarah, Catharine, 
and Rebecca are now deceased. The father 
died July 13, 1842, aged seventy-one years. His 
wife survived him. He was drafted in the War 
of 1812 and started for the field, but the news 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



from Hull's army caused him with others to re- 
turn to their homes. He was an honest, up- 
right man, and a good citizen, warmly attached 
to his adopted country, but owing to some pecul- 
iarity of his disposition never became natu- 
ralized. He and his wife were members of the 
Reformed church. 

Alexander E. Ewing, oldest son and fifth child 
of John Ewing, of the preceding sketch, was 
born in Jackson township, Mahoning county, 
October 2, 18 14. He remained with his father 
on the farm until he was twenty-seven, when, in 

1842, he moved on the farm where he now lives 
which was then covered with forest. On May 
19, 1842, he married Mary Ann Cook, daugh- 
ter of James Cook, of Lawrence county, Penn- 
sylvania. She was born March 14, 182 1. They 
had five children: Margaret J., born March 24, 

1843, died June 7, i860; William J., born May 
II, 1845; James C, born May 7, 1847; Gibson 
C, born February 24, 185 1; and Mary Ellen 
Tirzah, born August 17, 1S59. Mr. and Mrs. 
Ewing are members of the Reformed Presby- 
terian church. Mr. Ewing is the oldest resident 
of this township who was born in it. 

Gibson Ewing, second son and eighth child of 
John Ewing, was born in Jackson township, 
Mahoning county, July 23, 1818. He attended 
the common schools of his boyhood days a short 
time during the winter months, but he acquired 
learning easily and made such progress that for 
five successive winters after his nineteenth year 
he taught school. He remained at home until 
he was nearly twenty-five engaged at farming, 
when not teaching, and on May 19, 1842, mar- 
ried Margaret Riddle, who was born in Jackson 
township September 18, 1823. This union 
resulted in eleven children, five dying in infancy. 
The following lived to maturity, viz: Samuel 
J., born July 17, 1844; Martha, born August 7, 
1846; James R., born October 4, 1852; Ruther- 
ford B., born October 9, 1858 (died January 23, 
1881); Mary A., born May 18, 1861; Sarah M., 
born November 3, 1863. Samuel was in the 
army in the war of the Rebellion in company F, 
Forty-first regiment, and was shot at the battle 
of Murfreesboro, on Stone river. Mrs. Ewing 
died January 10, 1872. She was a member of 
the Reformed Presbyterian church. Mr. Ewing 
is now connected with the United Presbyterian 
church of Younostown. 



William Shafer was a native of Virginia, born 
in 1813. When he was yet a boy his father, 
Samuel Shafer, emigrated from northern Vir- 
ginia and settled a little over a mile southwest of 
Austintown center. He was the father of eight 
children, viz: Henry, John, William, Samuel, 
Daniel, Edward, Maria, and Eliza Jane. School- 
houses in that early day being very scarce, Wil- 
liam and his brother attended school for a time 
in Jackson township. William received but a 
meager education in these schools, working 
meanwhile upon the farm. A few years after 
his mariiage he bought one hundred acres of 
land in Champion township, on which there had 
not been a stick of timber cut. The first winter 
they lived in a log house which was built without 
a fire-place and which was destitute of a stove. 
He lived upon that place, clearing and improv- 
ing it, and working also at his trade, that of 
stone-mason. He married Elizabeth, daughter 
of George Gilbert, of Austintown. He was a 
soldier in the War of 1812. This marriage re- 
sulted in a family of five children, viz : Eliza- 
beth, Henry, Jonathan R., Cornelius, and Phebe 
J., of whom all are living e.Kcept Cornelius, who 
died in the winter of 1880-81. William Shafer 
died in 1855 in the forty-second year of his age. 

Henry Shafer, oldest son of the subject of the 
foregoing sketch was born in Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, October 28, 1835. His 
parents having settled in the woods when he was 
a child, where the nearest school-house was over 
two miles distant, and there being so much hard 
work required upon the farm he enjoyed slender 
advantages for the acquirement of an education. 
He remained upon the farm until he was about 
twenty years of age, when he learned the car- 
penter's trade, and has made this a part of his 
business since, though farming is his chief occu- 
pation. In October, i860, he was married to 
Louisa, daughter of Abraham Strock, of Austin- 
town township, by whom he has had six children, 
as follow : William, Frank B., Leander D., . 
Lewis A., George W., and Charles Caster, of 
whom William and Lewis are dead. Mrs. Shafer 
died November 2, 1879. She was a member of 
the Christian church. 

Jonas Wannemaker was born in Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, December 12, 1821. His 
father, Daniel Wannemaker, was also a Pennsyl- 
vanian and a miller by trade. He married Cath- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



arine Kistler, whose father was a Revolutionary 
soldier and died of camp fever near Philadel- 
phia. By this marriage there were seven chil- 
dren — Nathan, Sophia, Abbie, Daniel, John, 
Benjamin, and Jonas. Abbie and John are 
dead. When the subject of this sketch was 
about twelve years of age his lather died and 
some three years afterward his mother and her 
family, except the oldest child, emigrated to 
Trumbull county, and located in Southington 
township. Mrs. VVannemaker there married 
Daniel Murrboyer, of Warren township. When 
the subject of this sketch was seventeen he be- 
gan clearing a farm of one hundred and eight 
acres, which fell to him and his brother Benja- 
man from the estate. For some four years after 
he was twenty-one he worked most of the time 
at carpentering with his brothers, Daniel and 
John. Since that time he has been engaged at 
farming. About thirty years ago he purchased 
and moved upon the farm where he now lives. 
January, 1847, he married Hannah Ebert, of 
Jackson, by whom he has had ten children — 
Mary, Charles A., Thomas, Wesley, William 
Henry, Sarah A., Lottie C, Elmer D., Jonas F., 
and L. Dell. Mary died in infancy and Charles 
at the age of twenty-two. Mrs. Wannemaker 
died May 23, 1879. She was and he is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal church. 

Tobias Kimmel was born in Somerset county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1802. When quite a small 
boy his father, Isaac Kimmel, came to Youngs- 
town township, Trumbull county, now Mahon- 
ing, where he remained for a number of years 
and then removed to Coitsville township. He 
was a farmer by occupation. Tobias Kimmel 
when a young man learned the blacksmith trade 
and for a number of years carried on a shop in 
Youngstown. About 1824 he moved to his 
farm which he occupied some eight years, when 
he moved to Poland township where he resided 
until his death. His wife was Rebecca, daughter 
of \Villiam Smith, of Mercer county, Pennsyl- 
vania, who became the mother of the following 
named children, all living to mature age, viz: 
Abraham, William, Philip, Smith, Dwight, Mary, 
John, Sarah, Ruth Ann, and Tobias M. Philip 
died at the age of twenty-two. After his wife's 
death Mr. Kimmel married Lida Shearer, nee 
McBride, who is still living. Mr. Kimmel died 
January 20, 1S80. 



Smith Kimmel was born in Coitsville town- 
ship September 9, 1830. He derived his educa- 
tion in the common schools, and farming has 
been his chief occupation although for a number 
of years he has carried on a blacksmith shop 
with his brother Abraham in Coitsville township. 
Decembei 21, 1852, he married Julia Ann, 
daughter of David Struble, of East Hubbard. 
This marriage has been blest with eight children, 
to wit: Martin A., David A., Alice N., Mary 
E., Frank E., Charles E., Gilbert B., and Arthur 
D. Alice is deceased. In 1864 Mr. Kimmel 
was called out with his company and regiment — 
company C, One Hundred and Seventy-first 
Ohio National guard — and served one hundred 
days under Heintzleman. While in the service 
he contracted a fever from which he has never 
wholly recovered. He resided in Coitsville 
township until six years of ago when he pur- 
chased the John Ewing place, in Jackson town- 
ship, where he now resides. 

James Hervey Webster was born in the State 
of New York. He was a mason by trade and 
also carried on a farm in Chautauqua county. 
When a few years old he moved to Sandusky 
county, Ohio, where he married Mary Ann Tucker, 
daughter of Nathaniel and Mary Tucker, now 
living at an advanced age in Sandusky county. 
Soon after their marriage they moved upon a 
farm in Chautauqua county. New York, where 
he remained until his death, which occurred 
April I, 1870. He was an old-time Whig and 
afterward a Republican. He was the father of 
ten children, of whom three died in infancy, 
Jason, Herbert T., Henry H., Ella A., Ralph 
D., Israel J., and Nelson R. The mother of 
these children afterward married Philip R. 
Snider, and is now living near Port Clinton, 
Ottawa county, Ohio. 

H. H. Webster, M. D., was born in Portland 
township, Chautauqua county, New York, July 
30, 1849. He is the third child of James H. 
Webster, a sketch of whose life has been given. 
Dr. H. H. Webster was educated in the common 
schools, and through the influence of his brother. 
Dr. H. T. Webster, for five years a practicing 
physician of Jackson, he began studying medi- 
cine, and graduated after attending three courses 
of lectures at the Eclectic Medical institute of 
Cincinnati, in the spring of 1873. He located 
first at Niles with his brother, where he remained 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



until August, 1874, when he went to Montville, 
Geauga county, where he remained until January 
II, 1879, when he came to Jackson and bought 
out his brother, and has since practiced in that 
town and vicinity. February 18, 1875, he mar- 
ried Martha Jones, daughter of Samuel Jones, of 
Lordstown township. She was born May 18, 
1850. They have two children, Samuel J., 
born October 25, 1876; Hervey, born Novem- 
ber, 1877. Mrs. Webster is a member of the 
Disciple church. Dr. Webster is a member of 
the society of Free and Accepted Masons. 

Thomas Woodward, a native of Milford town- 
ship, Mifflin county, Pennsylvania, was born De- 
cember 17, 1799. He is the fifth child of Jehu 
Woodward, who married Rachel Rummins, of 
Mifflin county, Pennsylvania. They had the 
following children: James, Ruth, Joseph, Lydia, 
Thomas, William Leonard, Jehu, Elizabeth, 
Rachael, Joel, and Ezekiel. When Thomas was 
seventeen years old he was apprenticed to learn 
the carpenter's and cabinet-maker's trade, serving 
two years, after which he worked at his trade 
about two years. In April, 1823, he came to 
Austintown where he remained a year, then went 
to Youngstown where he built houses which are 
yet standing. He then bought land which con- 
stitutes his present farm. This was a dense for- 
est at that time, out of which he made a fruitful 
farm and comfortable home. He married Janu- 
ary 10, 1823, Margaret Shively, daughter of 
Frederick Shively, of Austintown. She was 
born in Tyron township, Cumberland county, 
Pennsylvania, August 17, 1805. They had thir- 
leeen children: Jehu, Leonard, Jolin, Abraliam, 
Elizabeth, Margaret, Rachel, Joel, Angeline, 
Mary, Ezekiel, Melissa Olive, and Almina, of 
whom Leonard, Rachel, Margaret, and Ezekiel 
are dead, the two former living to be grown. 
He has been a Democrat from Jackson's time; 
has held several township offices, and was for 
eleven years justice of the peace of Jackson. 
He is one of the oldest residents of the town- 
ship. Mrs. Woodward has been for years a 
member of the Methodist church. He is an 
upright man enjoying the esteem of all who know 
him. 

William Young was born in Little Beaver town- 
ship, Beaver county, Pennsylvania, January 14, 
1804. He was the fourth in a family of nine 
children of James and Esther Young. He re- 



mained with his father until he was about six- 
teen, and on starting out in life he went to 
Buffalo where he worked out six months teaming. 
He spent the winter at home threshing with a 
flail for the tenth part, and m the spring he 
went up the Allegheny river, and for three years 
was at work on the canals m Pennsylvania 
and Ohio. September 8, 1830, he married 
Sarah McGeorge, a former school-mate, and on 
the third day after their marriage he and his 
young bride started on horseback for Tfumbull 
county, Ohio. He purchased the farm on 
which he now lives and moved upon it in 1837. 
There was but little clearing done and a log 
house and barn constituted the improvements. 
He has since added to his original purchase 
until he owns over three hundred and twenty 
acres in the southeast part of Jackson township. 
His farms are now managed by his three sons. 
By his first marriage he had eight children : 
William, Hatton, Adaline, Julia A., James, 
John, Mary, and Clark, of whom the oldest and 
youngest are dead. His first wife died October 
27, 1854, aged fifty-two, and July 5, 1855, he mar- 
ried Margaret Anderson, of Poland township, by 
whom he had two children : Emily and Mar- 
garet. His second wife died April 9, 1858, 
aged nearly forty-two, and he married a third 
time. May 5, 1859, Ellen Wallace, from near 
Petersburg, Mahoning county. His third wife 
died April 4, 1880, aged sixty-two. He had by 
this marriage one child, W. M. Wallace. Mr. 
Young is a member of the Reform Presby- 
terian church. His daughter Adaline married 
John Truesdale and is now living in Richland 
county, Wisconsin ; Julia married Daniel Gib- 
son, and now resides in Beaver county, Pennsyl- 
vania ; Mary became the wife of Charles An- 
thony, and lives in Nodaway county, Missouri; 
Margaret married Sylvester Calhoon, and resides 
in Sumner county, Kansas ; and Emily resides 
at home with her father. 

James Russell was born in Austintown town- 
ship, Mahoning county, July i, 1S15. His father 
was Robert Russell, who settled in that town- 
ship in 1806. The subject of this sketch de- 
rived his education in the schools of that early 
period, the teachers of which, in many instances, 
taught both English and German. He worked 
upon the home farm until he was twenty-six 
years of age, when he moved to the farm in 



i6j 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Jackson where he now lives, which now consists 
of two hund'ed acres. May 4, 1841, he married 
Catliarine, daughter of Henry Foos, one of the 
pioneers of Austintown and a soldier of the War 
of 181 2. He moved into Austintown just at the 
close of the war. Mrs. Russell was born Octo- 
ber 21, 1820. They have a family of seven 
children, as follows: Clark, Austin, Henry, 
Robert, Newton, Almeda A., and James Mon 
roe. Mr. Russell has always attended strictly to 
his ow^n affairs ; has never been a witness at court 
and has never been a litigant, either as plaintiff 
or defendant, which few can say. He and his 
wife are members of the Disciple church, and 
are worthy citizens. 

Gideon Fusselman, a native of Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, renioved from that State to Ohio in 
tlie year 1814, and settled in Warren township, 
Trumbull county, on the Storer farm which was 
then owned by John Fusselman, Sr. In about 
a year he removed to Canfield and established a 
tannery (he being a tanner by trade) one mile 
north of the center. This was conducted by 
him until his death. In about 181 2 he married 
Eve Schriber, also a native of Lehigh county. 
They had five children, John C, Mary, Sarah, 
Catharine, and Elizabeth, all of whom are living. 
Gideon Fusselman died August 30, 1844, in 
Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, while on a visit to 
that place. His wife died January 22, 1878, at 
the age of eighty-three years. 

John C. Fusselman was born in Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, February 25, 1813. He 
was the oldest child of Gideon Fusselman who 
removed to Ohio when John was about a year 
old. He received a common school education 
and staid upon the farm with his father until 
June, 1830, when he began clerking for J. R. 
Church at Canfield in a general merchandise 
store, remaining here five years. He then went 
into partnership with Mr. Church in Ellsworth 
in merchandising, where he remained until 1840. 
He then clerked for William Ripley one year, 
when he went into business for himself until 
1856. He then came to Jackson and began the 
same business with D. Anderson, which contin- 
ued six years. Then the firm of Anderson, 
Shaffer & Co. was formed. April, 1881, Mr. 
Anderson retired, and the firm Shaffer & Co. 
continue the business, with a full assortment of 
goods usually kept in a country store. On Au- 



gust II, 1837, J. C. Fusselman married Catha- 
arine Houts, daughter of William Houts, then 
of Green township, Mahoning county. She 
was born September 24, 1815. Tiiis union was 
blessed with seven children — Louisa -^nn, Lottie 
B., Frank A., Mary, Ella H., John R., and 
Ralph, who died at three years of age. He and 
his wife are both members of the Methodist 
church. For twenty years prior to 1856 he was 
justice of the peace of Ellsworth township. 

D. B. Blott, was born in Jackson township, 
Mahoning county, October 6, 1837. He is the 
second child of Benjamin Blott, a native of 
Pennsylvania, who was born January 16, 181 2. 
He is a farmer, residing a short distance south 
of North Jackson. D. B was educated in the 
common schools, and attended also for a short 
time Hiram college. At the age of fifteen he 
was apprenticed to learn the bricklayer and stone 
mason trade, serving two years — afterward work- 
ing at his trade for ten years, when, on account 
of poor health, he was obliged to stop work for 
about three years. Then for six years he kept a 
store in Lordstown. After this he kept a store 
for several years at West Austintown. He now 
keeps a store at Jackson, where he carries a line 
of assorted goods. He married Lucinda Bailey, 
daughter of Jesse Bailey. They have five chil- 
dren, Charley C, born 1863 ; Seamon Edward, 
1S65, William A., 1869, Marietta, 1874, and 
Emory B., 1876. 

Robert McClure, a native of county Donegal, 
Ireland, was born November, 1816. His father, 
Robert McClure, died when he was three years 
old, when he was taken by his paternal grand- 
father, who was a farmer. He remained with 
him until 1839, when he sailed to America, com- 
ing in the same ship with William Porter, of Aus- 
tintown. He came at once to Austintown and 
began as day laborer here and there, and for five 
months worked on the extension of the Erie 
canal. A few years afterward he bought the land 
where he now resides. He at one time owned 
over two hundred acres of land, but by unfortu- 
nate indorsements he lost a part of this. He 
owns one hundred acres under good cultivation. 
May 14, 1846, he mairied Eliza Anderson, 
daughter of Arthur Anderson, of Poland town- 
ship. She was born in that township November 
20, 1 81 9. This marriage was blessed with eight 
children, William, a physician of Cleveland ; 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



'^3, 



Mary, who married William Turner, of Aus- 
tintown : Arthur, who died in early child- 
hood ; John S., an attorney of Chicago ; Em- 
ily ; Nettie ; Nancy, a teacher of Youngs- 
town ; Robert, a teacher, who, with Emily, 
are still at home. He is a member of the Pres- 
byterian church, and his wife is a Covenanter. 

Peter Ivy was born in Perry county, Pennsyl- 
vania, March 8, 1805. He was a son of Sam- 
uel Ivy, and twin brother of William Ivy, who 
at last accounts was living in Clark county, Ohio. 
His father, Samuel Ivy, died when he was an 
infant, and his mother married Michael Wag- 
goner, and soon after the family removed to 
Cumberland county, Pennsylvania, whence in the 
fall of 1822 they immigrated to Stark county, 
Ohio, where they remained about four years, 
during which time Mr. Waggoner died, when 
Peter brought the family to Austintown, where 
he had gone in the spring of 1823. After farm- 
ing there a few years, Peter moved in 1831 upon 
the farm where he now lives, which he purchased 
the previous year, and upon which he made a 
small clearing and erected a cabin. He has now 
over a hundred acres under cultivation. August 
13, 1826, he married Sarah Miller, daughter of 
Jacob Miller, a Virginian, who, in advanced life, 
became a resident of Austintown township. She 
was born in Augusta county, Virginia, Septem- 
ber 12, 1798. She became the mother of seven 
children, Mary, Christian, John, Alfred, William, 
Elizabeth, who died when small, and Sarah. 
The oldest child died before it was named. She 
was a Presbyterian in belief, and an estimable 
lady, who, after a long and useful life, died Sep- 
tember 8, 1879. He cast his first vote for Jack- 
son. 

John Lynn, son of Nicholas Lynn, was born 
in Berks county, Pennsylvania, and emigrated to 
Ohio with his brothers, Peter and George, and 
settled in. Canfield township, Trumbull county 
(now Mahoning), about the year 1806. They 
settled in the same neighborhood. John, in 
company with his sister Barbara, purchased the 
farm originally owned by Ira Wilcox, and they 
lived together a number of years. Late in life he 
married Sophrona F. Burgart of Ellsworth town- 
ship, by whom he had six children, viz: Sarah 
Ann, who married Joseph Hartman; John N. 
O., David, Elizabeth, who married George E. 
Harding, George, who died in infancy, and 



Mary, who died when two years of age. Mr. 
Lynn died in 1835, at the age of fifty-six years. 
He was a member of the German Reformed 
church. His widow afterwards married Solomon 
Gordon, of Canfield. 

John N. O. Lynn was born in Canfield town- 
ship, August 8, 1826. When he was about 
twenty years of age he and his brother and two 
sisters began the management of the farm, 
which he continued for seven years. He after- 
ward moved to Atwater township. Portage 
county, where he lived eighteen years engaged 
in farming, which has been his lifelong occupa- 
tion. In April, 1875, he returned to Mahoning 
county, and has since resided at North Jackson. 
April 29, 1855, he was married to Elizabeth, 
daughter of Abraham Moherman, who was born 
March 15, 1835. They have no children, but 
are raising two — Chester and Mary. He and 
his wife are members of the Disciples church. 

David Lynn, second son of John Lynn, was 
born December 31, 1829. He adopted the oc- 
cupation of his father, cultivating the soil and 
dealing to some extent in stock and fruit grow- 
ing. At the age of twenty-five he married Miss 
Mary Ann Peters, by whom he had four sons^ 
Willis, Emory, Homer, and Alfred. While en- 
gaged attentively at his business he has not 
neglected the education of his children, his old- 
est son graduating at Heidelberg college. Tiffin, 
Ohio, in the class of 1878. Mr. and Mrs. Lynn 
are members of the Reformed church. 



CHAPTER VIIL 

COITSVILLE.* 

INTRODUCTORY. 

This is township two of range one of the 
Connecticut Western Reserve, and forms the ex- 
treme northeastern corner of Mahoning county. 
Coitsville is thus bounded : on the north by 
Hubbard, Trumbull county ; on the east by 
Pennsylvania ; on the south by Poland ; and on 
the west by Youngstown. The township con- 
tains the little village of Coitsville Center, which, 
however, is situated a Utile south of the geo- 

*MainIy from facts collected by John Shields. 



i64 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



graphical center of the township ; also a por- 
tion of the little mining village known as Thorn 
Hill, now in a condition of decline. 

The land of the township is excellent for 
farming purposes, the soil being generally a deep 
and fertile loam. The nearness of Youngstown 
gives the farmers the advantage of a ready 
market, and as their land is constantly rising m 
value, we find them generally well-contented 
and prosperous. 

The surface is quite variable. In the eastern 
and southern portions of the township are a 
number of steep hills of considerable elevation, 
reaching back some distance from the Mahon- 
ing river. This stream cuts across the south- 
eastern part of the township, and its green banks 
and fertile bottom lands here form some of the 
finest natural scenery in the whole county. 
From the big hill east of Strutliers can be ob- 
tained a view of the Mahoning valley surpassing- 
ly rich in its extent and beauty. Busy hamlets 
overhung by dark clouds of smoke impress the 
spectator with the greatness of the industries of 
the valley ; while vast expanses of woodland, in- 
terspersed with many richly cultivated farms 
adorned with fields of waving grain which sur- 
round the comfortable farm houses and barns ; 
the sleek cattle grazing in the meadows; the 
busy farmers in their corn-fields, or driving along 
the roads with wagons heavily laden with the 
fruits of their toil, all show that the agricultural 
community is as thrifty and as active as the 
manufacturers. Could one of the men who in 
1798 entered this beautiful valley and found it 
as silent and as wild as ever primeval forests 
were, its solitude invaded only by the prowling 
savage, the stealthy beasts of prey or flocks of 
birds — could such a one now rise from his years 
of sleep in the grave and behold this bustling 
scene, his astonishment, surprise, and amaze- 
ment would doubtless equal the feelings of Rip 
Van Winkle on his return to his former home. 

Excepting the Mahoning, the streams in this 
township are small and unimportant. Dry run 
pursues a winding course and drains a consider- 
able portion of the surface. Other small streams 
are numerous. 

Coal has been mined to some extent in former 
years, but at present no mines of importance 
are in operation. Thorn Hill and vicinity formed 
a busy mining community, but the banks were 



deserted for other and more promising ones not 
situated in Coitsville. Agriculture is the main- 
stay and support of nearly all the inhabitants of 
the township. 

PURCHASE AND SURVEY. 

Previous to the year 1798 Daniel Coit, of the 
State of Connecticut, purchased from the Con- 
necticut Land company township number two in 
the firsl range, and gave to it the name of Coits- 
ville. It does not appear that he ever became 
a resident of the township, but authorized 
Simon Perkins, of Warren, to act as his general 
agent. 

In 1798 Mr. Coit sent on a party to survey his 
land and put it in the market. John Partridge 
Bissel was the chief surveyor and also the sub- 
agent for the sale of the land. 

ORGANIZATION AND FIRST ELECTION. 

In 1806, December 4th, the following was 
given at Warren, Trumbull county: 

Ordered, by the board of commissioners for the county of 
Trumbull, that number two, in the first range of townships 
in said county, be set off as a separate township, by the 
name of Coitsville, with all the rights, privileges, and im- 
munities by law given to and invested in any township in this 
State, and the first meeting of said township shall be held at 
the house formerly occupied by John P. Bissel, in said town- 
ship. 

Attest : William Wetmore, 

Clerk Commissioners pro tt'm. 

The first election was held April 6, A. D. 
1807, Alexander M'Guffey, chairman, John John- 
son and Joseph Jackson, judges of the election. 
The following ofificers were chosen : Joseph 
Bissel, township clerk; William Huston, Joseph 
Jackson, and William Stewart, trustees; John 
M'Call and Timothy Swan, overseers of the 
poor; William Martin and Ebenezer Corey, su- 
pervisors of highways; David Cooper and John 
Stewart, fence viewers; James Stewart and Alex- 
ander M'Guffey, appraisers of houses; Alexander 
M'Guffey, lister; James Lynn, constable; John 
Johnson, treasurer. 

INTERESTING TOWNSHIP RECORDS. 

The records of the township for a few years 
following its organization show a number of in- 
teresting facts. Here is one which we copy from 
Towship Record Book No. i, page 98: 

PiX a meeting of William Huston, Joseph Jackson, and 
William Stewart, trustees for the township of Coitsville, at 
the dweUing house of Joseph Bissel of said town, on April 
27, 1808, ordered, that every person subject to pay a county 
tax, according to the act passed by the General Assembly of 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



•6S 



the State of Ohio. December 24, 1807, to kill ten squirrels, 
and in addition to the ten squirrels, each person to kill two 
squirrels for each cow and four for each horse; and if a per- 
son have but one cow she is exempt. 

.Attest : JOSEPH Bl.SSEL, 

Township Clerk. 

Same page : 

At a meeting of the inhabitants June 27, 1808, voted that 
the squirrel act be continued to the ist day of August ne.\t, 
before returns are made to the collector of county taxes. 

..\ttest : Joseph Bissel, 

Township Clerk. 

There are several records made of warning 
poor people, likely to become township charges, 
to quit the township. 

TAXES IN 1803. 

From ancient records we learn that the entire 
amount of taxes assessed upon Coitsville in the 
year 1803, was $14.95. ^ copy of the list is 
given. 

COITSVILLE, RA.N'GE ONE, TOWN ONE. 

Amount .Amount 

of tax. of tax. 

Augustine, Daniel $ o 57 Pauley, James $ o 65 



Bissell, Joseph. 
Cooper, David. 

Fitch, Andrew- 
Given, John. . . 



Gillan, Matthew.. 
Houston, William. 
Harris, Barnabas.. 
Loveland, Amos . . 

Meers, James 

Martin, William . . 



71 Robb, Matthew. 44 

60 Shehy, Roger 80 

86 Shields. James 46 

61 Smith, James 20 

32 Stewart, William Jr.. 40 

20 Thompson, John ]r. . 81 

64 Thompson, George. . 70 

40 Weeks, William 60 

: 56 Wilson, Robert 32 

20 Wilson, Daniel 30 

20 WTiite, James 40 

McGuffey, Alexander.. 64 White, Francis 24 

McBride, Samuel 40 Welch, James 20 

McCall, John 32 

Potter, John 20 Total. $14 95 

EARLY SETTLERS. 

To Amos Loveland belongs the honor of 
having made the first permanent settlement in 
the township. He was a Revolutionary soldier 
and served three years. He came to Coitsville 
in the spring of 1798, joined the surveying party 
and spent the summer assisting them. In the fall 
he returned to his home in Chelsea, Orange 
county, Vermont, having purchased all the land 
in Coitsville situated on the south side of the Ma- 
honing — a tract of four hundred and twenty-six 
acres, mostly level, rich, and fertile. In December, 
1798, with his wife and six children, he left 
Chelsea for his new home. Mr. Loveland started 
from Vermont with two sleighs loaded with bed- 
ding, furniture, farmmg utensils, etc., each sleigh 
being drawn by two horses They traveled in 



this way until they reached the Susquehanna, 
which they crossed on the ice at Whitestown ; 
the snow disappearing soon after, Mr. Loveland 
traded his sleighs for a wagon, transferred his 
goods into it and continued his journey. April 
4, 1799, he arrived with his family upon his farm. 
They began housekeeping in a small log cabin 
which he had erected the previous year. This 
cabin was about eighteen feet square ; it had no 
glass windows, and its door was made of clap- 
boards with two sticks across, two of them being 
hinges fastened by wooden pins. Not a nail had 
been used in the construction of this dwelling. 
A puncheon or split log floor covered about half 
the ground included within the log walls. There 
was no upper floor, and no chimney except a 
stone wall built up about five feet to keep the 
fire from the logs. In this cabin, of course with 
the addition of some improvements, the family 
lived six years, and then erected a larger and 
more convenient one. 

During the first year the family depended 
largely upon the results of hunting for their food, 
with occasional supplies obtained from the few 
neighboring settlements. Mr. Loveland cleared 
up his farm and resided upon it until his death, 
which occurred at the age of ninety. Mrs. Love- 
land died when ninety-three. Her maiden name 
was Jemima Dickerson. The Lovelands were 
the first family in the township, and to them were 
born the first male, as well as the first female 
child born in Coitsville. Cynthia Loveland was 
born in June, 1799, and died in 1815. Her 
brother David, born a year or two later, was the 
second child born in the township. He spent 
the whole of a long life upon the old homestead, 
and his heirs still own some three hundred acres 
of the oiiginal farm. Elizabeth Loveland, one 
of the daughters, became the wife of VV'illiam 
McFarlin and the mother of six sons and six 
daughters. She died June i6, 1881, aged ninety 
years, ten months and nine days. She enjoyed 
the distinction of being a resident of the Western 
Reserve longer than any other person, having re- 
sided continuously in the Mahoning valley over 
eighty-two years. 

John P. Bissel, the surveyor of 1798, pur- 
chased a farm including the center of the town- 
ship, made a clearing, and built a log-cabin. In 
1800 he emigrated from his home in Lebanon, 
Connecticut, with his family, consisting of three 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



sons and six dauj^hters, and settled on his pur- 
chase. The family remained in Coitsville until 
1805 or 1806 when they removed to Youngs- 
town in order that the children might have 
better school advantages. Mr. Bissel was the 
first acting justice of the peace in Coitsville. 
He died in 181 1. His daughter Mrs. Mary 
Kyle resided upon the old homestead from the 
time of his father's death until her own. She 
died in 1880, in the eighty-third year of her age. 

Asa Mariner, then a single man, was one of 
the surveying party. In 1708 he purcliased a 
farm a little northwest of the center of the town- 
ship, upon which he settled in 1800. He mar- 
ried Sally Beggs and reared a numerous and 
respectable family. This couple lived to a good 
old age, honored and respected. Mr. Mariner 
was a member of the Disciple church, his wife 
of the United Presbyterian. The old farm is still 
in the possession of two of the sons, Major 
James Mariner and his brother Ira. 

Rev. William Wick was a pioneer of Coitsville. 
He was a native of Long Island, New York, but 
came to this county from Washington county, 
Pennsylvania. September 1, 1799, he preached 
a sermon in Youngstown, said to have been the 
first sermon preached on the Reserve. About 
1 80 1 he purchased a farm on the State line 
which is now occupied by the Beggs family. Mr. 
Wick was ordained a preacher of the gospel by 
the Presbyterian church and installed pastor of 
the congregations of Youngstown and Hopewell, 
now Bedford, Pennsylvania. All the Coitsville 
Presbyterians of the old school attended his 
church. He continued in his relation as pastor 
until death called him home in 1815. He was 
a very popular preacher and was instrumental in 
persuading persons of moral and religious char- 
acter to settle in Coitsville. During his pas- 
torate he preached fifteen hundred and twenty- 
two sermons and solemnized si.xty-nine marriages. 
He was the father of eight sons and five daugh- 
ters. Of this family eleven lived to mature age. 
Some of his sons attained some eminence in the 
]K)litical world. William was Secretary of State 
in Indiana and' James a judge of the court of 
common pleas in Mercer county, Pennsylvania. 
The family were noted for being fine singers 
and proficients in penmanship. 

Barney Harris, the first blacksmuh in Coits- 
ville township, came from Washington county, 



Pennsylvania, and settled on section eleven pre- 
vious to 1802. He brought up ten children, 
three sons and seven daughters. George, the 
only son now living, resides with his family in 
Iowa. Three daughters with their families still 
in this vicinity. Mrs. Harris was a daughter of 
Andrew Poe, noted for his encounter with an In- 
dian near Georgetown, on the Ohio river. Mr. 
A. B. Wilson, a grandson of Barney Harris, re- 
sides on the old Harris farm. David Wilson 
came from Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 
1803 or 1804. He had two sons and three 
daughters. Of this number only one son, David, 
is now living — a resident of Bedford, Pennsylva- 
nia. Mr. Wilson was a wheelwright by trade. 
In early years the little spinning-wheel was an 
indispensable article in every household, and Mr. 
Wilson engaged in its manufacture, and for many 
years gave employment to several men in his 
shop, where he made wheels, reels, and cofifins. 
The improvements made in spinning machinery 
as time progressed destroyed one branch of this 
business, but he continued the undertaking bus- 
iness for many years. Mr. Wilson erected a 
grist-mill to be run by ox-power, but after a few 
years' trial it was pronounced a failure and aban- 
doned. He erected a brick house in 181 5, 
which is still occupied by his descendants. 

Alexander McGuffey and family moved from 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, to Coitsville 
in about the year 1800. His father and mother, 
who were natives of Scotland, also came with 
him. The family were zealous Presbyterians. 
Alexander was a farmer, and settled near Sand 
Hill. His son. Rev. William McGuffey, became 
widely known as the author of a series of school 
books known as McGufTey's Eclectic Readers. 
William was brought to Coitsville in infancy. 
His mother — an excellent woman — used to de- 
light in recounting the hardships they endured 
during the first years of their residence here, 
and how she used to place William in a sugar- 
trough while she assisted her husband in clearing 
up the farm. William received his common 
school education in Coitsville, the writer of these 
sketches being one of his school-mates. Our 
school-house was a cabin built of round logs, sit- 
uated at the corners of the farms now occupied 
by Thomas Brownlee, Rev. H. S. Boyd, Al. Wil- 
son, and Ambrose Shields. William McGuffey 
afterwards taught school in the same place. He 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



.67 



began the study of the dead languages under 
John McCready, who taught a select school near 
Pulaski, Mercer county, Pennsylvania, in 1817; 
completed his college course and graduated from 
the college at Oxford, Ohio. He was licensed 
as a preacher by the presbytery, hut was never 
the settled pastor of any congregation. Instead, 
he devoted his life to the advancement of edu- 
cation. He died in his seventy-sixth year at the 
residence of his daughter in Dayton, Ohio. 
But his memory will be long perpetuated by his 
works. William McGuffey was a man of genial 
temperament, a pleasant and affable speaker. 

David and Rebecca (Armstrong) Cooper set- 
tled in the township in 1800. Five of their 
children still reside in Coitsville. He was a na- 
tive of Maryland; his wife of Pennsylvania. 
Mr. Cooper was a member of the surveying 
party of 1798. 

James Lynn settled early on section eleven. 
His farm is now the Dalby farm. About the 
same tmie with him John Johnson settled on 
section ten. 

Sampson Mocre, about 1802, settled on sec- 
tion ten. He lived and died in this township, 
and brought up his family here. None of his 
sons became settlers of Coitsville. ■ 

William, James, John, and David Stewart 
came here at different dates. All were early 
settlers. David settled west of the village. 
William, James, and John took up farms in the 
northwestern quarter of the township. David 
Stewart, son of William, lives on his father's 
old place. Robert Stewart, son of William, 
lives on section three. John and James set- 
tled near William. Mr. Rush owns a part of 
James' farm, and the Grays a part of John's. 

Thomas Early was among the first settlers in 
the western part of the township. The Fitch 
family, elsewhere mentioned, were among the 
early settlers on the Mahoning. 

David Brownlee, his parents, and his sister 
Margaret, were early settlers near the south line 
of the township. John Brownlee, who lives 
near the Pennsylvania line, is a son of David. 
The family consisted of ten children, of whom 
three sons and one daughter are still living, 
John being the oldest. 

Matthew Robb was an early settler on the 
William Price farm. He afterwards sold this 
and built where Mr. McCartney lives. 



Daniel Augustine, a sober, industrious, honest 
German, settled in the township in 1802. His 
family is still well represented in this township. 
It is related of him that he was once offered 
$15 for a cow which he had for sale. He re- 
fused the price; said that $13 was all that she 
was worth, and all he was willing to take. 

William Bell was an early settler in the north- 
east of the township, lived and died here. 
Some of his sons remained for a time, then 
moved away. One, John Mason Bell, lived 
upon the old place until his death. 

In the same neighborhood was Ebenezer Co- 
rey, whose family are all gone from the town- 
ship. 

A man named Thompson was an early settler 
on Ambrose Shields' farm. He sold to Timo- 
thy Swan, who lived and died there. 

Joseph and Mary (Goe) Beggs, natives of Ire- 
land, settled in Coitsville, west of the village, in 
1802. Their son, James Beggs, Esq., born June 
17, 1799, is still a resident of the township. Jo- 
seph Beggs was a soldier of 181 2. 

John Johnson, from Mercer county, Pennsyl- 
vania, settled in the eastern part of the town- 
ship in 1803. He married Jane Caldwell, of 
Beaver county, Pennsylvania, and brought up a 
family of nine children. Only two are now liv- 
ing, Samuel in Iowa, and John in this township. 
David Johnson, one of his family, died in April, 
1881. 

James Shields, a native of Ireland, came to 
Coitsville in 1802 and purchased a farm of two 
hundred and thirty acres east of the village. The 
same year he married Margaret Walker. He 
died in 1854 aged eighty years. He reared three 
sons and five daughters, all of whom settled in 
Coitsville and had families, except one daughter 
who died young. All of the original family are 
now dead excepting John, the oldest son, and 
James, the youngest. The latter resides in 
Loveland, Colorado. James Shields, Sr., built 
and operated the first distillery in the township. 
It was erected in 1803. He operated it for a 
few years, but not finding the business profitable, 
sold out and thenceforth devoted himself to em- 
ployments more useful and beneficial. Animi 
R. and Prudence (Burrows) Bissel settled a little 
north of the village in 1806. Their son. Partridge 
Bissel, born in 1803, is still a resident of the 
township. .\mmi Bissel was a brother of John 



I 68 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



P., and came from Vermont. He was the father 
of five sons and two daughters. He was the first 
carpenter in the township, and was energetic and 
active in his work. He was a good neighbor 
and an honest man. 

The Widow McFarhn {nee Margery .Anderson) 
came to this township from Ireland about the 
year 1804, with a family of four sons and two 
daughters, all of whom married after coming 
here. Isabel, the oldest, married James McGill; 
Mary married Robert McKean, settled in Ells- 
worth and died there; .•\lexander settled south of 
the center of Coitsville. He was accidentally 
killed by the falling of a tree. He had seven 
sons and two daughters, most of whom settled in 
this vicinity. William settled on the top of the 
hill on the Hazelton road. He reared a large 
family. Eleven children arrived at years of ma- 
turity. But one son is living, Anderson, at Coits- 
ville. Four of his daughters are living, viz: 
Mrs. Lydia Mahan, Liberty, Trumbull county; 
Miss Jemima McFarlin, Niles; Mrs. Matilda 
Price, Coitsville, and Mrs. Lavma Harris, Youngs- 
town. Andrew settled in the southern part of 
the township, but later moved to Indiana and 
died. He had a large family. His sons are all 
dead. Several daughters are living in Indiana. 
James settled on the road leading west from 
the village and died there. He had several chil- 
dren, none of whom remain. 

The first shoemaker, Stephen Allerton, came 
from New Jersey, and settled south of the cen- 
ter, early in this century. He was honest and a 
good neighbor, but intemperate in his habits. 

The first tailor was John Potter, a very early 
settler. He was a good citizen, and a strict 
Presbyterian. His farm was on the Hubbard 
and Lowell road. He had a large family, but 
not a branch of it remains here at the present 
day. 

The oldest man in this township is Alexander 
Beggs, born in Ireland about the year 1789. 
He settled in Coitsville in 1822. 

'i1u' first marriage ceremony was performed 
about 1803, uniting Ebenzer Corey and Polly 
Thompson in the bonds of wedlock. 

The first death was that of an infant son of 
John P. Bissel, and occurred in 1801. 

HAKI) TIMKS. 

The year 181 1 brought hard times for many 
of the pioneers of Coitsville. Mr. Bissel died 



in that year. His financial affairs were found in 
a bad condition, which brought disaster to many 
of those who had purchased their lands from 
him. Some had paid for their lands, received 
their deeds, and were, consequently, safe. 
Others who had not got their lands paid for and 
received their titles were caught up. No matter 
how much they had paid, all fared alike and re- 
ceived a small percentage on the money which 
they had paid. The land had to be re-purchased 
or abandoned. It was supposed, had he lived 
to settle up his own affairs, the result would have 
been different. Another cause of discourage- 
ment was a series of very rainy seasons, which 
flooded the low, flat lands, and caused them to 
be unproductive. This caused a bad report to 
be put into circulation concerning the town, and 
many emigrants to pass us by. Again, the War 
of 181 2 was upon us, and many of the men 
subject to do military duty were drafted or vol- 
unteered, and went into the service. There were 
few left at home except women and children, 
old men, cripples, and invalids. 

Farmers, who had spent years of hard labor 
upon their lands, were asked to give them up. 
At many a fireside there was dejection and de- 
spondency. Some men abandoned their claims 
and left. Others exchanged their farms for other 
property; but a majority withstood their difficul- 
ties and trials. Many of those who had lost 
their lands made new contracts for them, and 
succeeded, finally, in retaining them. 

In a few years the dark cloud broke and 
passed away. The fields yielded good crops, 
and there was an abundance of food for man 
and beast. The war terminated, and the Coits- 
ville soldiers came home without the loss of a 
man, it is believed. If there had been mourn- 
ing there was now rejoicing. The claims for the 
re-purchased farms were liquidated, the fee sim- 
ple titles on record, and soon every farm had its 
occupant, and vacant lots were no more to be 
found in the township. 

HIGHW.WS. 

The first public highway laid out in this town- 
ship is the east and west road, known as the 
Mercer and Youngstown road. It is one-half 
mile south of and parallel to the east and west 
center line. It was established and opened in 
1802. Soon after that date the road known as 
the Yellow Creek road, leading from Poland vil- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



169 



lage to Hubbard, was opened through the town- 
ship. In 1827 the Youngstown and Mercer road 
became a post-road from New Bedford, Pennsyl- 
vania, westward. 

ENCOUNTER WITH A BE.\R. 

Patrick Thompson, in 1803 or 1804, was re- 
turning home from Youngstown, and stopped at 
J. P. Bissel's to transact some business which 
detained him until near evening, when he pro- 
ceeded toward home. When he arrived on the 
farm of Josiah Dalby, near the State line, he 
discovered a cub bear in his path. Determin- 
ing to make its acquaintance, and it offering no 
violent opposition, he took it up in his arms. 
It, however, soon became dissatisfied with his 
nursing, and with loud cries notified its mother ; 
she, being within hearing distance, hastened to 
its rescue with mouth open and bristles up. 
Thompson seeing that a fight was imminent 
strove to get rid of his new acquaintance. But 
cub refused to break up friendly relations so 
abruptly and clung to his arm with a regular bear 
hug. After some effort he loosed its grip, and 
to use his own language, he " threw the little 
devil into its mother's face." 

The battle now began, and Thompson seeing 
his danger of defeat attempted to climb a tree 
near by, but as often as he began to ascend 
the bear would catch him by the feet and pull 
him back, and with such energy did she make 
her attacks that she tore the bottoms from his 
shoes, and so lacerated his feet that he was 
ever afterward a cripple, although he lived many 
years after this event. Up to this tune victory 
seemed to be on the side of the bear ; a 
few more crunches at his feet and she would 
have had it all her own way. But fortunately, 
at this juncture, Mr. Thompson obtained a 
large splinter, and again making the attempt to 
climb the tree she again made for him. He 
made a drive at her with the splinter, and 
luckily sent it deep into one of her nostrils. 
She then resolved to have a truce until she 
could get rid of the splinter; she would strike it 
with one paw, then with the other, until she 
effected her purpose. By this time friend 
'i'hompson was high in the tree, and neither 
party was disposed to renew the fight. Bruin 
soon retired with a sore nose. Thompson be- 
came faint from loss of blood. It was now in 
the night. A heavy rain commencing to fall, he 



squeezed the water from his linen hunting-shirt 
into his mouth, which revived him somewhat. 
His halloomg was heard at the house of the 
Rev. Mr. Wick, and they came to his relief. 
When they arrived the bear and her family had 
left. This was the only known encounter with 
a wild bear in this township. 

THE STRUTHERS TRAGEDY. 

In February, 1826, Miss Drucilla Struthers 
left her father's residence m Coiisville for the 
purpose of going to the post-office at Poland 
village, where she expected to get a letter from 
her affianced lover, then residing in Washington 
county, Pennsylvania. Her younger sister, 
Emma, accompanied her down to the Mahoning 
river, which was very high at that time, intend- 
ing to ferry her across, and then return home. 
The skiff in which they were to cross was fastened 
nearly opposite the mouth of Yellow creek, and 
directly opposite to the present village of Struth-- 
ers. The young ladies were daughters of John 
Struthers, who settled in Poland township in 
1799, held the office of sheriff of Trumbull 
county, and other responsible offices, and was 
well known and respected by the pioneers ot this 
county. They were sisters of the Hon. Thomas 
Struthers, who was the proprietor of the thriving 
village of Struthers. 

When the young ladies came to the bank of 
the river Emma laid off her shawl and bonnet 
on the shore, and they embarked on their fatal 
voyage. Emma was good with an oar, and prac- 
ticed in rowing and managing a skiff. 

At this point the known history of their lives 
ends. It is involved in mystery that can not be 
unraveled. No human eye saw them on their 
fatal voyage, as they were not spared to relate 
the events of that awful hour, of what happened 
or befell them; why they were unable to propel 
their craft across the stream ; what were their 
feelings and actions when they discovered their 
dangerous and helpless situation ; how many 
plans they devised to regain a landing; how hope 
and despair alternated each other in quick suc- 
cession ; how their terrors increased as their dis- 
appointments were repeated ; and as they ap- 
proached the dam over which they were soon to 
be precipitated how their souls sank within them, 
when they beheld the foaming waters beneath 
them and hope gone ; what thoughts agitated 
their souls as they made the fatal descent, their 



[70 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



craft overturned, and the dark waters received 
them. 

Alexander Cowden heard their cries, but did 
not apprehend at the time that they came from 
persons in distress. David Brownlee reported 
having crossed the river a short time previous in 
that skiff", and that one of the oars or rowlocks 
was defective in some way, which doubtless was 
the cause of the disaster. 

When they were missed an active search was 
commenced. The next day the remains of Dru- 
cilla were found fastened to a bush which grew 
on the river bank, one and one-half miles below 
where they embarked. Six weeks elapsed before 
the body of Emma was discovered. It was 
found at the head of an island near the Dickson 
farm. 

Mr. J. R. Cowden has favored us with the 
above facts. He was one of the searching party 
from the first and until the body of Emma was 
found. 

RELIGIOUS HISTORY. 

A majority of the early settlers of Coitsville 
were church-going people, yet there was no 
church edifice erected in the township until 
1838. The inhabitants went to church in two 
different States, Ohio and Pennsylvania ; in four 
different counties, Trumbull and Mahoning in 
Ohio, Lawrence and Mercer in Pennsylvania ; 
and in eight different townships, Coitsville, Po- 
L'jnd, Voungstown, Liberty, and Hubbard in 
Ohio, and Shenango, Pulaski, and Mahoning in 
Pennsylvania. Many still continue members of 
churches in these various places. The Method- 
ists for some years held meetings in barns, 
school-houses and dwellings. In 1835 they ef- 
fected an organization, James McKinley, class- 
leader. This organization took place after a 
series of revival meetings held in Tobias Kim- 
ball's barn, in which Revs. Green, Preston, and 
others took part. They had no church building 
until 1838. Then Isaac Powers, late of Youngs- 
town, presented to the society a lot of land for 
a church site and cemetery, the lot lying on the 
old Youngstown and Bedford road, where the 
Poland road intersects it. John Bissel and 
James McCartney were very active in securing 
funds with which to build and complete the 
meeting-house. James McCartney, Abraliam 
Jacobs, and John Bissel were the first trustees. 
Ujion this land, deeded to the society in 1839, 



the house was erected ; and a living, working 
congregation worshiped there in peace and unity. 
But when the agitation of the slavery question 
struck this little band, division and bitterness 
came with it. Troubles increased until in 1847 
some Godless incendiary applied a torch to the 
church, and it was destroyed. The guilty wretch 
has never been detected. In 1848 a new build- 
ing was erected upon the same site, superior to 
the old in style and finish, and there the Method- 
ist Episcopals continue to hold their services. 

The Presbyterians organized a congregation in 
1836. A commodious edifice was erected at the 
village in 1836 or 1837, and Rev. William Nes- 
bit became pastor. John Jackson and John 
Lynn were elected ruling elders, and soon after 
Thomas McGeehan and George Harris were 
elected, and their names added to the session 
roll. Mr. McGeehan is the only member of the 
original session now left, and he is nearly four- 
score years of age. Since Mr. Nesbit, who re- 
mained several years, a number of clergymen 
have officiated as stated preachers : Revs. Dick- 
son, McCombs, Dobbins, Kerr, Price, McCrea- 
dy, and Rice. The present incumbent is Rev. 
Krush ; the present session, Thomas McGeehan, 
George Gray, and Joseph Hanna. The roll of 
communicants shows twelve males and twenty- 
five females. Is it not a question worthy of our 
consideration whether the above proportion of 
males and females will hold good in Heaven as 
well as here ? 

In 1870 the old house was taken down and 
rebuilt in better style, and in a more substantial 
manner. The constitution of this church is 
dated 1839, and to it are attached the names of 
William Reed, John and Davis Jackson, J. 
I. Hirst, George Harris, Samuel Jackson, An- 
drew McFarlin, Ebenezer Corey, and James 
Kerney. 

Of the early settlers the Lynns, Swans, John- 
sons, Moores, Martins, Bells, Coreys, Monteiths, 
Murdocks, Jacksons, and Wicks were Presbyte- 
rians; the Aliens, Stewarts, Cobpers, Houstons 
Milligans Beggses, Dicksoiis, McGufTeys, Mc- 
Brides, Reeds, Thompsons, and others were 
United Presbyterians; the McCartneys, Bissels, 
Kirks, Kimmels, Vails, McFarlins, Jacobses, 
and others were Methodist Episcopal. Various 
othi.r denominations were also rciiresented by 
Coitsville people. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



THE FIRST MARRIAGE 

in the township was that of Ebenezer Corey and 
Polly Thompson, about the year 1803. The 
wedding festival took place in and about a little 
log cabin, which was standing until within a few 
years, on the farm of Ambrose Shields. This 
couple lived together until three children were 
born. Then the husband died. The widow 
afterwards married James Crooks and had a 
large family. 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

The first school in Coitsville was taught in a 
log cabin on the farm of Joseph Beggs early in 
the present century. The cabin was a short dis- 
tance west of the center. Jeremiah Breaden, 
the father of Dr. Breaden, was the teacher. 
Many of the scholars resided at a long distance 
from the school-house. There were few roads, 
and many were guided through the woods by 
blazed trees. Some of the members of that 
school were afterwards representatives to the 
Legislature ; David Houston being one of this 
number. 

The first school-house proper, was a little log 
building, damp and uncomfortable. It was 
situated in the northeastern part of the township, 
and was built about 1807 or 1808. The only 
branches taught were reading, writing, and arith- 
metic. The Bible was the class book for reading. 
The more advanced pupils read in the Old Testa- 
ment and were called the Bible class. The 
younger readers used the New Testament. The 
Bible, Webster's Spelling-book, and Welsh's 
arithmetic, were ihe only text-books. When a 
scholar had mastered the rule of three his edu- 
cation was considered finished, though some of 
the boys did not stop when they had accom- 
plished this much, but finished the book. The 
old log school-house was removed about 18 15 
and replaced by a comfortable frame house, 
which was used for school purposes until de- 
stroyed by fire, about the time the State Legisla- 
ture took our schools under its protection. 

Several other school-houses were built and 
used in the township, but none were so perma- 
nent as the Harris school. In winter male 
teachers taught and were paid by assessing a cer- 
tain rate per scholar. Summer schools were 
usually taught by ladies whose wages were raised 
by voluntary subscriptions. The township is now 



divided into seven school districts, and is well 
supplied with good school-houses. 

MILLS. 

The first saw-mill in the township was erected 
by Asa Mariner, one and one-fourth miles north- 
west of the center, on Dry run. There was also 
a corn-cracker run in connection with the saw- 
mill. 

The next mill was the McFarlin mill in the 
south of the township. The building of mills 
continued until there were seven saw-mills in 
operation on Dry run, all propelled by its waters. 
But as the lands were cleared the water of the 
stream diminished, the mills became less useful 
each year, until all were abandoned. In later 
years steam saw-mills took the place of the old 
water mills. There have been ten of these op- 
erated in the township at different times and 
places. Now there are but two. 

There was a good grist-mill erected by Asa 
Mariner, but it departed with the old saw-mills. 
There have been three mills in the township 
which were run by horse- or ox-power — Wilson's, 
Buchanan's, and Brownlee's — but they were in 
operation but a short time. 

DISTILLERIES. 

Here, as elsewhere, distilling was considerably 
carried on in early times. James Shields had the 
first distillery. Seven others were afterwards 
built, some of them of little importance; but 
four of them, namely, Loveland's, Brownlee's, 
William McFarlin's, and James McFarlin's, 
pushed their business with energy for some years, 
consuming about twenty-four bushels of grain 
daily at least one hundred and fifty days out of 
the year, thirty-six hundred bushels per annum, 
and putting upon the market nine thousand gal- 
lons, more or less, of ardent spirits. 

MORALS. 

Never was a drinking saloon in Coitsville suc- 
cessfully operated. A few attempts were made 
to start them, all resulting in failure, except in 
the northwest part of the township in a little 
mining village. When the coal was dug out the 
miners left, and the grog-shops failed for want of 
customers. 

No one was ever accused of murder here ex- 
cept William O. Moore, who was tried and found 
guilty of murdering his sister-in-law, Sarah Stew- 
,irt, and sentenced to State prison for life. The 



172 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



beginning of the trouble was the violation of the 
seventh commandment. Moore served a num- 
ber of years in prison, then was sent home to 
die of consumption. Contrary to expectation, 
he grew fat and enjoyed his liberty some years. 
Except Moore only one other person has ever 
been sent to the penitentiary from this township. 
He was a tramp and horse thief, named Fair- 
brother, and had been in Coitsville only a few 
months. 

bi:ri.\l places. 

The cemetery near the Methodist church was 
located in 1836 or 1837. The first interment 
was that of a son of John Bissel, a merchant at 
the village. This burial was made in 1837. 

The cemetery adjoining the Presbyterian church 
at the village was gotten up by private enterprise. 
Samuel Jackson purchased a piece of ground 
and donated it to the church for burial purposes 
in 1878. 

The remains of most of the old settlers of 
Coitsville are buried in the Deer Creek Church 
cemetery, New Bedford, Pennsylvania. 

THE VILLAGE. 

Coitsville has two stores, two wagon shops, 
two blacksmith shops and a tannery. There is 
at present no hotel. Andrew McFarlin kept the 
first hotel, the "Temperance house," some years. 
John Bissel had the first store in the place in 
in 1831 or 1832. 

The carriage works of Mr. D. P. Cooper are 
worthy of special mention. The proprietor is a 
young man of enterprise, and seems determined 
to win success. He is already doing a very good 
business. 

EARLY JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

John P. Bissel, D. Monteith, William Hous- 
ton, and James Shields were justices of the peace 
jirevious to 1818. 

POST-OFFICE. 

The first post road from New Bedford, Penn- 
sylvania, to Youngstown was established in 1827. 
Mail was received once a week. William Bissel 
was appointed postmaster at Coitsville; John 
Shields, Andrew McFarlin, James Milligan, 
Thomas McC.echan, David Jackson, and An- 
derson Mrl''arlin were his successors in office. 
Mrs. Joscjih llanna is the present incumbent. 

TANNERIES. 

I'he first tannery was operated by David 



Shields. It was a failure and was soon aban- 
doned. In 1832 William Stewart and R. W. 
Shields commenced the business at the vil- 
lage and the tannery started by them has been 
successfully operated up to the present time. 
Mr. Stewart became owner by purchase of Mr. 
Shields' interest in 1855. In February, 1875, 
the building was destroyed by fire together with 
a large amount of stock and the machinery, the 
loss amounting to about $5,000. A new and 
much larger building has been erected, 86x40 
feet and two stories high, and Mr. Stewart is 
doing a good business in company with his son 
D. C. Stewart. 

INCIDENTS OF THE l8l2 WAR. 

William Crawford, who had first settled in the 
northeast of the township, was drafted into 
General Wadsworth's division of the northwest- 
ern army early in the fall of 1812, and marched 
to Camp Avery on the Huron river about six 
miles from the lake. On Sabbath evening, Sep- 
tember 28th, a runner came into camp with a dis- 
patch from Sandusky bay stating that a company 
of Indians had landed on the peninsula. A call 
for volunteers to proceed to that point was made 
instanter, and some sixty or seventy responded, 
Crawford among the number. They were put 
in command of Captain Cotton, and started for 
their destination in the night. They arrived at 
Cedar Point, on the bay, about daylight Monday 
morning, crossed over the bay, and reached the 
peninsula about sunrise. On their way they had 
been joined by others until they numbered abou 
ninety men. They then marched inland three 
or four miles, and discovered satisfactory evi- 
dence that there was a large number of Indians 
on the peninsula. 

F"or some reason they decided to retrace their 
way to the four boats in which they had crossed, 
which boats they had left in charge of eight 
men. They had not gone far on their returning 
march when Indians concealed in the high grass 
began firing upon them. Captain Cotton or- 
dered his men into line of battle. Crawford 
hastened to the captain and remonstrated, telling 
him that they would all be shot down if thus 
exposed. An order was then issued allowing 
each man to do as he chose — " paddle his own 
canoe, take care of himself and pick off" a red- 
skin at every opportunity." The firing was 
briskly kept up for a short time, then ceased, ap- 




'ci-7^€J K^yr%}t4'Ctrici-'yt<=Z:> 



7' 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



173 



parently by mutual consent. In this skirmish 
three of the soldiers were killed and three 
wounded. The dead were buried, and the 
wounded cared for, then the march toward the 
boats was again begun in good order. They 
had proceeded but a short distance, however, 
when the enemy again began to fire upon them. 
The fire was returned with spirit and with good 
effect, every soldier taking care of himself as in 
the previous encounter. The captain ordered a 
retreat. But Crawford and his friend John 
Eurrell, another Coitsville man, were too eagerly 
engaged in the fight to hear the order. While 
concealed in the grass he noticed a movement 
near him and creeping a little closer, saw an 
Indian loading his gun. Crawford fired and the 
Indian lay stretched in death. Presently another 
savage was seen some distance away, nearly con- 
cealed from the soldier's sight by intervening 
grass and a tall weed near him. Crawford fired ; 
the weed doubled down and so did the Indian. 
Burrell first noticed that the company had re- 
treated and notified Crawford of the fact. They 
at once made haste to overtake their comrades 
and soon came to a tangled pile of fallen timber, 
at each end of which an Indian met them. Mr. 
Crawford used to say that he never could tell 
how he got over those fallen trees, but he passed 
them safely, and so did Burrell. Soon they came 
up with a soldier carrying his brother, who was 
mortally wounded. They assisted him in car- 
rying the dying man to a cabin where they lifted 
up the floor, placed him beneath it and contin- 
ued their flight. They soon came to a house at 
wiiich Captain Cotton and about half of his men 
had halted ; the other half had gone on to the 
boats, taking with them all of the wounded, 
eight in number. On arriving at the shore they 
found that the Indians had sunk two of their 
boats, while the men left on guard had taken the 
other two and escaped. They, however, came 
back, and the soldiers were transferred to Cedar 
Point. The wounded were then placed in the 
boats and sent on to the camp which they 
reached in safety. Tuesday Crawford said to 
Burrell that he would as lief be shot by the In- 
dians as starved to death, and as he had had no 
food since the previous morning, he proposed to 
reconnoiter and see if some means of relief could 
not be discovered. Burrell accompanied him. 
They went down to the bay and discovered an 



old canoe concealed in the grass. They imme- 
diately returned to their companions and told 
them of their good fortune. Two experienced 
men were selected to go down the bay in the 
canoe and give notice at the camp of their situ- 
ation. This plan succeeded admirably and in 
-due time reinforcements arrived with material 
aid and all were brought off in safety. 

RELIGIOUS EXCITEMENT. 

A strange, mysterious visitation came upon 
the Presbyterian churches about 1805-06. The 
excitement is said to have originated in Ken- 
tucky and spread northward through western 
Pennsylvania and northern Ohio, agitating many 
Presbyterian congregations. Hopewell, one of 
Rev. William Wick's charges, where most of the 
Coitsville people attended church, was touched 
by its influence. Its subjects were mostly young 
people and generally females. They first be- 
came excited in regard to their future state and 
their condition here as sinners against Heaven 
in the sight of God. Sobbings would convulse 
them; spasmodic jerkings and twitchings then 
ensued; finally they fell down prostrate and to 
all appearances unconscious. In this state they 
would remain for a long time, but when the con- 
gregation was dismissed they appeared to waken 
and gain their usual mind. At the time there 
was great controversy as to the cause of these 
remarkable occurrences, some holding that it 
was the influence of the Holy Spirit, while others 
held that it was the work o( an evil spirit. Some 
assigned mesmerism as a reason; others fanati- 
cism. But soon all traces of the excitement van- 
ished to return no more. 

NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

James Milligan was born in county Tyrone, 
Ireland, March 15, 1806, and came to 
this country with his parents, John and Mar- 
garet, when a lad of twelve years. Three 
brothers, John, Dixon, and Robert, came also at 
this time. The oldest brotlier, William, re- 
mained in Ireland with his grandfather Milligan. 
He was at length employed by a wealthy shipping 
company as clerk, and afterwards taken into 
partnership. He died April 2, 1882, having 
amassed a fortune of $2,000,000. Dixon settled 
in the western part of Ohio, where he became a 
successful physician. He died in February, 
1874. Robert died in 1875. At the time of 



174 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



his death he was prominently connected with the 
Kentucky university. He was the author of 
several works on tlie ]iible, and held a high 
position as an educator. John lived a quiet and 
honorable life on the homestead, and died Janu- 
ary, 1876. Isabel, Thomas, and Samuel were 
born after the family came to America. James 
possessed a great memory, and the recollection 
of his boyhood days was very vivid. The voy- 
age across the ocean was an intensely interesting 
event to the keen Irish lad, and many were the 
anecdotes he could relate in connection with it. 
The family settled in the northwest part of 
Coitsville township about two and one-half miles 
from the present city of Youngstown. In 1826 
James married Catharine, sister of William Mc- 
Guffey, author of school readers bearing his 
name, and afterwards engaged in the dry goods 
business in Vienna. He afterward returned to 
his first place of residence, where he held the 
office of justice of the peace for three terms. In 
1846 he was elected commissioner of Trumbull 
county. He was a Democrat in politics, and an 
influential member of the party. He was an 
active member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, which he served in many capacities. In 
1850 his entire family was prostrated by typhoid 
fever, at which time his wife and two children, 
Margaret and Alexander, died. The survivm.a; 
children were Isabel, John, Sarah, and Mary. 
He married again Nancy M. Reed, daughter 
of William Reed. By this marriage there were 
two sons, Di.xon and James. He was a public- 
s|)irited and influential man, and his death, 
which occurred March 30, 1881, was sincerely 
and widely lamented. 

John Shields, Coitsville township, was born 
Sejnember i, 1804. His father, James, a native 
of Ireland, came to the farm where Mr. Shields 
now resides in 1802, from Beaver county, Penn- 
sylvania. He was born November 26, 1773, 
died January 19, 1854. His wife, whom he 
married in 1802, was Margaret Walker, of Mer- 
cer county, Pennsylvania. She was born Octo- 
ber I, 1783, died February 14, 1852. They 
brought up a family of eight children, of whom 
two sons are yet living, John and James. The 
lattei; resides in Loveland, Colorado. A daugh- 
ter, Mrs. Mary Davidson, of Coitsville, died 
July 6, 1881, aged seventy-eight years. John 
Shields was married in 1S29 to Sarah Davidson, 



of Youngstown, born May 17, 1809. They have 
had four children, and the three sons are yet liv- 
ing, each of their farms being near the old home- 
stead. Names of children: James Davidson, 
born January 24, 1831; Ann Jane, Junes, 1834; 
John Gailey, June 15, 1843; Ambrose, -August 
18, 1849. Ann Jane died January 17, 1868. 
Mr. Shields and all of the family are Republic- 
ans,^ temperance men, and members of the 
United Presbyterian church. Mr. Shields has 
been honoied by election to the following offices : 
county commissioner, coroner, justice of the 
peace, postmaster, etc. He has been an elder in 
his church for over forty years. His oldest son, 
one of our leading farmers, was married Decem- 
ber 12, 1865, to Mary Gilchrist, of Coitsville. 
The other sons are also married. J. D. Shields 
has a splendid farm residence, and the best barn 
in the township. The Shields family is one of 
activity and integrity. 

William Stewart was born in Coitsville, May 
18, 1808. He is the son of William Stewart, a 
native of Adams county, Pennsylvania, who 
came to this county previous to 1804, and settled 
in the western part of Coitsville township, where 
he lived and died, bringing up five sons and 
three daughters. Four sons are still living, Eli- 
jah, Robeit, William, and David. Elijah resides 
in DeKalb county, Illinois; the others in this 
township. William Stewart, Sr., was one of six 
brothers who came xto the Western Reserve in 
early times and settled in Trumbull and Mahon- 
ing counties. All brought up families and lived 
to be old. Mr. Stewart, when eighteen years of 
age, learned the business of tanning, in which 
he is still engaged. He established his tannery 
at Coitsville in 1832, and is still doing business 
there. He married Jane Brownlee in 1833. 
Four of their children are living: Mary E. (de- 
ceased), Huldah, Morilla, David C, and Flor- 
ence; all married except Huldah. Mrs. Stewart 
died in 1863, aged forty-eight years. She was a 
devoted member of the United Presbyterian 
church for several years. Mr. Stewart is well 
and favorably known as a business man ; has 
held several townshi]) offices. 

John S. Brownlee was born at Turfoot, Len- 
wickshire, Scotland, March 6, 1806. He came 
to America in 1830, and settled in Coitsville 
township, where he still resides, in 183 1. He 
has a fiirm of over two hundred acres and a very 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



pleasant and comfortable home. Mr. Brownlee 
was married April 19, 1830, to Janet Patterson, 
who was born in Strathhaven, Scotland, Septem- 
ber II, 1811. They have had eight children, 
three of whom are living, Margaret W., Ellen F., 
Jane P., John A., James P., Randal Scroggs, 
and William W. The second child, a daughter, 
died in infancy. Jane, Randall S., and William 
W., are yet living. Mr. and Mrs. Brownlee are 
members of the Presbyterian church. They are 
among the most respected citizens of Coitsville. 

Robert Davidson was born in Youngstown in 
1807. His father, James Davidson, a native of 
Ireland, settled in Youngstown previous to the 
year 1800. He was married before coming to 
the county to Margaret Croskery, a native of 
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania. They 
brought up eleven children, eight of them still 
living, Robert Davidson being the fourth child. 
Mr. Davidson bought the farm on which he now 
lives in 1831, and moved there the following 
year. He has been twice married — first in 1832 
to Anna Shields, daughter of James Shields, one 
of the first settlers in Coitsville ; she died in 
1835. In 1839 Mr. Davidson married Catha- 
rine Lackey of Lawrence county, Pennsylvania. 
They have three children, Anna, Mary, and 
Frances. Mary is the wife of James Cowden, 
of Wheeling, West Virginia, and Frances is the 
wife of D. C. Stewart of Coitsville. Mr. and 
Mrs. Davidson have belonged to the United 
Presbyterian church for many years. Mr. David- 
son has been an elder in this church for over 
forty years. He is a sound Republican and a 
worthy citizen. 

John H. Reed, farmer, was born in Coitsville 
township in 1816, and has always resided here. 
His parents, William and Martha Reed, were 
among the early settlers. They brought up a 
family of five children, three of whom are living, 
viz: John, William, and Nancy (widow of James 
Milligan). John H. Reed lives upon the farm 
settled by his father. The farm contains at pres- 
ent one hundred and seventy-two acres. Mr. 
Reed was first married in 1838 to Jane Kimmel, 
daughter of Philip Kimmel, of Coitsville. They 
had seven children, three of whom are living: 
Lycurgus S., born September 22, 1839, died 
March 14, 1864; Martha M., August 12, 1841, 
died .August 28, 1859; Philip K., July 4, 1845, 
died July 19, 1859; William H., February 24, 



1849; Susan W., April 20, 1853; Elizabeth T., 
Edward P., (twins), June 26, 1856. Elizabeth 
died November 14, 1871; Mrs. Reed died Feb- 
ruary 24, 1862. In 1863 Mr. Reed married 
Mrs. Samantha McParlin, daughter of William 
McClelland, by whom he has two children: Al- 
thea, born April 23, 1865, and Pluma, June 20, 
1866. Mr. Reed is a Republican. He has 
held the office of township trustee. He does an 
excellent farming business. 

John F. Robison was born in Mercer county, 
(now Lawrence county) Pennsylvania, February 
17, 1829. He came to Mahoning county in 1857, 
locating in Coitsville township. He purchased 
his present farm in 1863; has one hundred and 
fifteen acres in Coitsville, with good buildings 
and improvements, and owns also seventy-six 
acres with buildings, etc., in Poland township. 
He raises grain, cattle, sheep, etc. Mr. Robison 
was married March 25, 1854, to Hannah Mc- 
Williams, of Lawrence county, Pennsylvania. 
They have six children, Almina, Ellen, George 
L , William J., Elmer and Edward Lee (twins), 
and Audley O. Mr. and Mrs. Robison are 
members of the Presbyterian church. Mr. 
Robison is a sound Democrat. 

Anderson McParlin, a descendant of some 
of the very earliest settlers in the county, was 
born in Coitsville April 12, 1828, and has always 
resided here. He is the owner of a good farm 
of one hundred and ninety acres situated near 
the. center of the township. Mr. McParlin was 
married April 26, 1849, to Sarah Kirk. Mrs. 
McParlin is the daughter of Andrew and Eliza- 
beth (Baldwin) Kirk. Andrew Kirk came at an 
early date from Washington county, Pennsyl- 
vania; he was originally from New Jersey. Eliz- 
abeth Baldwin was the daughter of Caleb Bald- 
win, one of the first settlers in Youngstown. 
Mr. McParlin is one of a family of twelve chil- 
dreij, and Mrs. McParlin the youngest of thir- 
teen. Their children are William E., Alice K., 
Vina J., Mary E., Bettie B., William K., Prank 
M., Thomas E., and Charles A. William E., 
Alice K., and Charles A. are deceased. William 
K. is now engaged on the new through-line 
railroad in the capacity of civil engineer. Mr. 
McParlin has been a Republican since the party 
was formed. He was postmaster at Coitsville 
for seventeen years. The family are well known 
and highly respected in this county. 



.76 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Robert Lowry, Coitsville township, was born 
in Poland township August 12, 1818. His 
parents were William and Mary (Houston) Low- 
ry. William I,owry was a native of the north of 
Ireland, who settled in Poland township about 
the year 1806, and brought up three sons and six 
daughters; two sons and four daughters are now 
living. His wife, Mary Houston, of Scotch 
parentage, was born in Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania. Her father, William Houston, came 
to this county about the year 1800. Robert 
Lowry was the fifth child of William Lowry. He 
settled in Coitsville township in 1842. He was 
married September 22, 1842, to Margaret Stew- 
art, daughter of William Stewart, of Coitsville 
township. They had four children, all living: 
Mary Jane, wife of D. C. McBride, Mahoning 
township, Lawrence county, Pennsylvania ; Wil- 
liam S., Pulaski township, Lawrence county, 
Pennsylvania; Theoressa J., wife of J. W. Mc- 
Nabb, Pulaski township, Lawrence county, 
Pennsylvania; Sarah E., wife of W. S. Allen, 
Coitsville township. Mrs. Lowry died July i, 
1873, aged fifty-six years. Mr. Lowry was mar- 
ried a second time May 18, 1876, to Miss 
Anna Madge, daughter of Robert Madge, of 
Lackawanna township, Mercer county, Pennsyl- 
vania. Mr. and Mrs. Lowry are members of the 
United Presbyterian church. Mr. Lowry is a 
sound Republican. He has held several offices: 
was justice of the peace for twelve consecutive 
years, commencing in 1856; county commission- 
er from 1866 to 1872, and has held several town- 
ship ofifices. 

J. M. Jackson was born in New Bedford, 
Pennsylvania, August 5, 1828. His father, John 
Jackson, settled in Coitsville township in 1803. 
J. M. Jackson has followed a variety of occupa- 
tions. When young he taught school for several 
years; then was a merchant. He now owns a 
saw-mill, which does a good business, and is one 
of our largest farmers. Mr. Jackson settled in 
Coitsville in 1864. From 1844 to that date he 
had been in business in Trumbull county. He 
owns two hundred and twenty acres in this town- 
ship. Mr. Jackson was married March 9, 1852, 
to Rebecca L. Roberts, daughter of Thomas N. 
Roberts, Hubbard, Trumbull county. They 
have two sons and two daughters — Marietta, 
Sidney Delamar (a successful attorney in Youngs- 
town), Kliza Jane, and John Calvin. Mr. Jack 



son has been quite prominent in local affairs, 
and has held the offices of justice of the peace, 
county commissioner, township clerk, trustee, 
etc. He is one of our solid and energetic busi- 
ness men. He served in the army a short time 
as captain in company C, One Hundred and Sev- 
enty-first Ohio volunteers, enlisting April 28, 
1864, for the one hundred days' service. 

F. D. Kirk, Coitsville township, was born in 
that township July 11, 1846. His parents were 
Andrew and Sylvina Kirk. His father is still 
living. Mrs. Kirk died eight years ago. Mr. 
F. D. Kirk is one of our active farmers; has 
ninety acres of good land; raises stock, and in- 
tends to go into sheep-raising. In 1880 he re- 
ceived over $150 in premiums at fairs, mostly on 
pigs. Mr. Kirk was married, in 1869, to Miss 
Almira J. Bailc)-, daughter of C. T. Bailey, of 
Coitsville township. They belong to the Method- 
ist Episcopal church. Mr. Kirk is a Republi- 
can, and a strong temperance man. He was in 
the army. He enlisted in January, 1864, serv- 
ing until the close of the war in company G, 
Seventy-eighth Pennsylvania volunteers, under 
General Thomas. 

Nicholas Jacobs (deceased) was born near Gi- 
rard, Mahoning county, January 13, 1810. His 
parents were Abraham and Elizabeth (Kimmel) 
Jacobs, who came here at quite an early date. 
After his birth they returned to Washington 
county, Pennsylvania. In 1S32 .\braham Ja- 
cobs and his son Nicholas returned to Mahon- 
ing county, and settled near together in the 
northern part of Coitsville township. Nicholas 
Jacobs was married January 19, 1832, to Isabella 
Brown, of Washington county, Pennsylvania. 
They had two children, Lewis J. and Francis P., 
both now residents of Youngstown. Mrs. Ja- 
cobs died February 18, 1836, aged twenty-two 
years. Mr. Jacobs was again married September 
12, 1837, to Phuebe Kirk, of Coitsville town- 
ship. Six children : Sheldon, Charles, Louisa, 
Caroline, Alice and Phoebe. Charles died in 
the army, at Chattanooga, September 30, 1863, 
aged twenty-two years. Phoebe died September 
9, 1 85 1, aged one year. The others reside in 
the county. Mrs. Phoebe Jacobs died April 11, 
1850, aged thirty-one. His third wife, whom he 
married October i, 1850, was Mrs. Juliana Cal- 
vin, nee Briggs. She was born in Dighton, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 25, 1820. She was mar- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



'77 



ried in 1842 to Robert Calvin, of Beaver county, 
Pennsylvania, by whom she had two children, 
Josephus and Gustavus ; the latter a resident of 
this township, and Josephus of Hollidaysburg, 
Pennsylvania. Mr. Calvin died February 1 1, 
1845, aged twenty-seven. Mr. and Mrs. Jacobs 
had seven children: Mary, Spencer, Myron, 
Jessie, Clarinda, William, and Charles G. Jessie 
died December 2, 1870, aged fourteen; Clarinda 
September28, 1861, aged two. The others reside 
in Coitsville township. Mr. Jacobs died Decem- 
ber 14, 1880, nearly seventy-one years of age. 
He had been an earnest member of the Disci- 
ples' church for about forty years of his life. 
He was well known in this county, and highly 
respected 

Andrew Garner Fitch came to this county 
from Lebanon, Connecticut, and settled in the 
western part of Coitsville township, on a farm 
which had been taken up previously and some- 
what improved by a man named Robinson. His 
wife was Mary Levenwell. They had nine chil- 
dren, none of them now living. Samuel Fitch 
was the fifth child, and the longest survivor of 
the family. He was twelve years of age when 
he came to the county, having been born in 
1789. Samuel Fitch and his brother Henry 
were soldiers in the War of 1812. The wife of 
Samuel Fitch was Mary T. Simpson, a native of 
Maysville, Kentucky. They had five children, 
Mary Jane, Elizabeth B., Julia A., Joseph T., 
and Caroline S. Only Elizabeth and Julia are 
now living. They reside at the old homestead. 
Mrs. Fitch, their mother, died in 1848, aged 
fifty-two years. She was for many years a devot- 
ed member of the Presbyterian church. Mr. 
Fitch died in 1875. He lived to a ripe old age, 
and was always an honored and respected citi- 
zen. He was an earnest friend of the Union, 
and though he had no sons to send to the army, 
he gave liberally of his means to aid in the 
cause. 

John Cooper, lumber manufacturer, Coitsville 
township, was born September 15, 1815. His 
parents were David and Rebecca (.Armstrong) 
Cooper, the former a native of Maryland, and 
the latter of Washington county, Pennsylvania. 
David Cooper came to Coitsville in 1798 and 
helped to survey the Western Reserve. He 
then went back to Maryland, and in 1800 re- 
turned to Coitsville, took up four hundred acres, 
23' 



and spent the remainder of his life here. He 
died in 1855 in the ninety-fifth year of his age. 
He was a man of strong constitution, active 
industry, and business ability. He was married 
about the year 1806, and was the father of 
twelve children : eleven arrived at maturity and 
five are yet living, viz: John, David, Eliza, 
William, and Robert, all residents of Coitsville 
township. Mrs. Cooper died in 1852 aged sixty- 
six years. John Cooper lives upon a portion of 
the original farm. He is engaged in the lumber 
business and has been running a saw-mill since 
1849. The Cooper family is one of the oldest 
in the township, and comprises some of its best 
citizens. 

John White, farmer, Coitsville township, Ma- 
honing county, was born in county Monaghn, 
Ireland, in 1820. He came to America in 1835, 
and after three or four years settled in Coitsville. 
Mr. White is a large farmer; he has at present 
two hundred and seventy-six acres of land in a 
good state of cultivation. He built a large and 
convenient house in the spring of 1877. Mr. 
White is engaged in mixed farming, raises cattle, 
sheep, and gtain. He was married November 
24, 1853, to Eliza Dickson, daughter of George 
Dickson, of Coitsville township. They have five 
children, born as follows: Hugh J., November 
II, 1854; George D., November 4, 1856; Wil- 
liam B., December 22, 1858; John B., October 
24, i860; Robert F., February 22, 1863. Mr. 
and Mrs. White are members of the Presbyterian 
church. Mr. White is a Democrat. He has 
been township trustee and judge of elections, 
and is a most worthy and respected citizen. 

William H. Wick, farmer, Coitsville, Mahon- 
ing county, was born in this township in 1827. 
His parents, Daniel and Elizabeth (Armitage) 
Wick, were old residents, having come to the 
place where Mr. Wick now resides in 181 5. 
Daniel Wick had previously been a resident of 
.'\ustintown, having come there from New Jersey 
about 1796. He was a soldier in the War of 
1812. He died June 18, 1863, in his seventy- 
seventh year. His wife, Elizabeth Armitage, 
whom he married in 1813, was born in Hunting- 
don county, Pennsylvania, and came to Jackson 
township, Mahoning county, when a child. She 
was a daughter of Benjamin Armitage. Her 
mother's name was Drake, a descendant from 
Sir Francis Drake. Mrs. Wick died February 



>78 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



5, 1869, aged seventy-six years. She was the 
mother of si.\ children, all of whom are living, 
Mr. W. H. Wick being the youngest. William 
H. Wick was married March 7, 1855, to Sarah 
A. Williams, daughter of William Williams, of 
Wayne county, Ohio. They have five children; 
Mary Ella Pearl, born March 7, 1857, wife of 
Albert Martin of Lawrence county, Pennsj Ivania; 
Louie Evangeline, born May 19, i860; Lizzie 
Carrie, born August 31, 1865; Grace Gertrude, 
born March 3, 1869; Vernon Victor, born 
May 21, 1876. Mr. Wick has always been a 
stanch Republican. He has been township 
trustee, and has held other local offices. He 
does an extensive farming business, owns one 
hundred and eighty acres; and is one of the 
most active and successful farmers in the town- 
ship. 



CHAPTER IX. 

MILTON. 

Milton IS township two of range five, and is 
the northwest corner of Mahoning county, hav- 
ing Newton, Trumbull county, on the north, 
Jackson on the east, Berlin on the south, and 
Palmyra, Portage county, on the west. 

The Mahoning river — that marvelously crooked 
stream, which flows northward through the west- 
ern part of the county, but after passing into 
Trumbull county and going through all manner 
of twisting and turning returns to the territory 
named after it and flows through its eastern por- 
tion in a southeasterly direction — is here a nar- 
row and very pretty stream, cutting the western 
half of the township into two very nearly equal 
portions. The bottom land along the river is 
quite broad in some places and generally of more 
than average fertility. 

Going from the eastern side of the township to 
the west, you will notice that there are a number 
of broad ridges of land of gradual slope and 
gentle elevation with numerous runs cutting 
them. Nearer the river the ridges are not so 
broad but are higher ; none of the surface is 
exactly level, and little is very hilly. Limestone 
and sandstone arc exposed in a few places. 



The soil is a clayey loam, with a few fields that 
are composed almost wholly of heavy clay. 
Most of the soil, however, is fertile and easily 
worked; well watered, both by springs and 
brooks, and seems especially adapted for grazing. 

On the east bank of the river and about one 
mile south of the north line of the township is a 
sulphur spring. The water is deep and cool and 
flows constantly. It has sometimes been recom- 
mended for medical uses. 

Coal has been obtained in small quantities in 
the southeast and southwest portions of the 
township. Several attempts have been made to 
find oil in years past, and at the present writing 
wells are being drilled with the same object in 
view. 

The township contains no villages except one 
almost as extinct as Herculaneum, and a portion 
of the little settlement at Price's mills. The 
population is small, many farms being without 
houses or occupants. The farmers are generally 
comfortably situated, contented, and happy. 

The timber is principally white oak and hick- 
ory; there is a little ash and not much maple. 

E.ARLY TOWNSHIP OFFICERS. 

No township records of an early date are in 
existence. We learn that John Johnston of 
Milton, and Bildad Hineof Newton, were elected 
justices of the peace, in 1814, by the joint town- 
ships, Newton and Milton. .\ year or two later 
Milton became a township and voting precinct 
by itself. Justices of the peace prior to 1840: 
John Johnston, Daniel Vaughan, Robert Price, 
Johnston, Vaughan, William Strander, Milton 
Rogers, John Matherspaw, James Moore, John 
Eckis, Jr., and Peter Kinnaman. 

SETTLEMENT. 

The first settlement in the township was made 
about the year 1803 in the vicinity of Pricetown. 
In the course of three or four years quite a 
number of families had come to the township 
and located along the river on both sides of it. 

About the same date (1803) a settlement was 
commenced on the eastern side of the township. 
For some years the central and southern as well 
as the southeastern portions of the township lay 
unimproved. 

It is claimed that Nathaniel Stanley, one of 
those belonging to the western or river settle- 
mtnt, was the first actual settler. He took up 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



179 



and improved land just south of the old Judge 
Clarke farm on the east side of the river, a short 
distance above Pricetown. He sold out to Jacob 
Cole quite early and moved north into Newton 
township. 

Aaron Porter, said by his sons to have been 
the second settler in the township, came from 
Pennsylvania in 1803, and located west of the 
river on the farm where Henry Wmfield now 
lives, afterwards (in 1812) moving to the farm 
where his sons, Enoch and Joseph Porter, reside. 
He brought up a family of twelve children, three 
of whom were born in this township. Porter was 
a strong man and of great endurance. He 
reached the age of ninety-six. The names of 
the surviving members of his family are : Mar- 
garet, wife of John Jones, Medina county ; 
Robin, in Indiana ; Nancy, widow of Joseph 
McKenzie, Huron county ; Enoch and Joseph, 
Milton township. 

In 1803 John Vanetten and family came from 
Delaware to the western part of the township. 
The second dwelling built by him, a two-story 
log house with a large stone chinmey, is still 
standing. They came with a wagon, and after 
their arrival three weeks elapsed before a cabin 
was completed. During this time they slept in 
the wagon and cooked and ate in the open air. 
The family at this time consisted of Mr. Van- 
etten, wife, and three children. When all was 
in readiness for the erection of the cabin, owing 
to the scarcity of men in the vicinity, the women 
were called in to assist in raising the logs to the 
proper height. Some time after coming here 
Captain Vanetten procured a pair of spoon- 
molds, which his wife used for years in making 
spoons for the settlers, and for use in her own 
family. Old pewter plates furnished the ma- 
terial. If a spoon was broken the pieces were 
carefully saved until they could be run over and 
made into a new spoon. Captain Vanetten was 
married in Delaware to Anna Lebar. They had 
ten children in all, whose names were as follows: 
Margaret married Daniel Parshall, and died in 
this township; Daniel died in Crawford county, 
Pennsylvania; Mary married Joseph Depew and 
died in Allen county; Elizabeth became the wife 
of Jacob Parshall and died in Michigan; Sally is 
living, the wife of John McKenzie of this town- 
ship; Jacob is living in Wood county; .^nn mar- 
ried Hugh Patterson and died in Milton; John 



died in Wood county; Jonah died in Indiana; 
Aaron died in Oregon. John Vanetten, Sr., 
served as a captain in the War of 181 2. He 
lived to the age of seventy-seven. His wife 
died at the age of sixty-eight. 

Samuel Linton was an early settler on the 
farm now owned by the Ewing heirs. His sons 
were Samuel and Adam. The latter lived and 
died in Milton. Samuel is sill living in Berlin 
township. There were also three daughters. 

Samuel Bowles was one of the earliest settlers 
of the township, and came heie about 1803. He 
settled in the eastern part of Milton, on the farm 
now owned by Josiah Fenton. In 1823 he 
moved with his entire family to Portage county. 

In about 1804 three brothers by the name of 
Winans, Isaac, James, and Jacob, moved from 
Delaware to the eastern part of the township, and 
each took up a farm. They all lived to be old 
men. Isaac died on the farm where he settled. 
His children were Jacob, Isaac, John, Sarah, 
Eleanor, Phebe, Rebecca, Hannah, and Susan. 
Jacob lived on a part of the old place and died 
there ; Eleanor married Russel Orr, of Milton, 
and after his death moved to Illinois, where she 
died at a ripe old age; Phebe married Andrew 
Moore, and lived and died in Milton ; Susan be- 
came the wife of John McCollum, and died in 
this township. 

James Winans also died in Milton. He 
brought up four sons — Jacob J., Isaac, Henry, 
and James, all of whom settled in this township 
but Isaac and James. Isaac is still living. He 
was a preacher for several years, as was also his 
brother Henry. The daughters of James, Sr., 
were Polly, Jemima, Anna, Susan, and Hannah; 
all dead. Polly was the wife of Jesse Delong, 
of this township. 

Jacob Winans passed the most of his life in 
this township, but died in Pennsylvania. His 
son Jacob is still a resident of Milton. His 
daughter Rachel married a Porter, and is still 
living in the township. Jemima, one of the 
girls, marred Robert Short, and lived here many 
years. 

Jesse Holliday was one of the first settlers, 
and a very enterprising business mati, although 
he had more energy than capital. He remained 
but a few years, and none of his tamily became 
permanent residents. 

Reuben S. Clarke was one of the first settlers 



I So 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



at Pricetown, and died upon the Tarm which he 
took up and improved. He was associate judge 
at quite an early date. His sons were John 
Quincy and Reuben. The former remained on 
the farm with his widowed mother until her 
death. Reuben went to Iowa. There were 
several daughters, but none of them settled in 
Milton. The Clarke farm began at the township 
line and extended up the river on the east bank. 

Daniel Stewart settled south of Orr's corners, 
on land now owned by Daniel Eckis, at an 
early date, probably 1804. He sold and moved 
to another part of the township, but afterwards 
returned to the original farm and died there. 
None of the family are left in Milton. 

John Delong was an early settler south of 
Orr's corners. He had two sons, Jesse and 
Aaron, who settled in the township and remained 
several years. 

Joseph Depew was an early settler on the farm 
east of the river afterwards owned by Ste[)hen 
Case. From Depew's hands the farm passed to 
John Gibson. Parkus and Joseph Depew, sons 
of Joseph, passed their lives in this township. 
One of their sisters became Mrs. Craig. 

A man named Munson was an early settler on 
the river but moved away before making much 
improvement. 

John Brunton made the first improvements 
on the farm now owned by Leonidas Carson. 

James and John Craig were early settlers east 
of the river. John moved to Berlin and died 
there. James died in this township and his 
family scattered. 

Thomas L. Fenton settled early at Pricetown 
and carried on his trade of blacksmithing. About 
1 81 7 he moved to the eastern part of the town 
ship and settled on a farm just west of the old 
Johnston farm. He had three sons — Hiram C, 
Jesse, and Josiah. The youngest lives on the 
farm ; the other two are in the West. His 
daughters were Mary, Lucy Ann, Jane, Chris- 
tina, and Harriet. Three of them are living : 
Mrs. Jane Johnson, Newton Falls ; Mrs. Chris- 
tina Kale, Milton ; and Mrs. Harriet Flaugher, 
Jackson. 

George Snyder settled east of the river about 
1805 and cleared up a farm, which he afterwards 
sold to Shepard. It is now owned by John 
Scott. Snyder moved to Green township. 

In 1805 John McKenzie settled on the farm 



now owned by Frank Keefer. His son John 
still resides in the township and is one of its old- 
est inhabitants. 

Samuel Daniels settled on the Vaughn farm 
west of the river about 1806, but later moved 
with all his family. 

John Pennel was an early settler in the eastern 
part of Milton. He afterwards bought a farm 
in the northwestern part where he died quite 
early. His family scattered. 

Peter DeCourcey settled in the township pre- 
vious to 1809. Three of his sons remained here 
some time but did not become permanent resi- 
dents. 

Robert Russell came from Poland township to 
the eastern part of Milton when a young man. , 
He married after coming here a daughter of 
Alexander French, and reared a family of ten 
children, two of whom survive, James and Enoch, 
of this township. 

Alexander French settled in the northeastern 
part of the township about 1809. He had only 
one son, William, who lived here some years and 
then emigrated to Allen county, Ohio, where he 
died. His daughters were Margaret, Martha, 
Jane, Ann, Betsey, and Sarah. All married here 
except Martha, who remained single. Betsey is 
still living, the wife of John Shearer, of New- 
ton. 

Thomas Reed settled in the eastern part of 
the township, north of Orr's corners, about the 
year 1810. Two of his sons — Benjamin and 
John — resided here some years. Two of his 
daughters were also residents of the township — 
Catharine, the wife of Thomas L. Fenton, and 
Mary, wife of James Chalfant. Both died years 
ago. 

William Parshall, son of Samuel Parshall, was 
an early settler west of the river, and kept store 
a few years opposite Captain Vanetten's house. 
He moved to New Castle, Pennsylvania. 

John Johnston settled on the east line of Mil- 
ton township in 181 1. He was of Irish descent 
and was born in Pennsylvania in 1773. He was 
married in his native State to Margaret Robin- 
son. They had six children living at the time 
they settled here, and two were born afterwards. 
The names were as follow: Mary, John, Mar- 
garet, David, Samuel, Elizabeth, Thomas, and 
Francis R. Mary married Alexander Gilmore 
and lives in Newton. She has brought up five 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



children, two of whom are living. John 
settled in Jackson and brought up five chil- 
dren by his first wife and four by his 
second. He died in 1868. Margaret married 
James Moore and resided m the township. Both 
are dead. Mrs. Moore died in 1881, leaving 
two children living and four deceased. David 
settled on the west line of Jackson, where he 
now lives. He has a family of seven children 
living. Samuel settled on the west line of Jack- 
son and has seven children living. Elizabeth 
married Alexander Moore and now resides in 
Milton, and has four children living. Thomas 
resides in Milton, on the east line, a mile and a 
half north of the center road. He has eight 
children living. Francis R. occupies the old 
farm. He is the father of eleven children, only 
two of whom are living. John Johnston, Sr., 
died in 1842, and his widow in 1849. When he 
came to this township he moved into a small log 
cabin, perhaps si.xteen feet square, which had 
been erected by a previous settler. There was 
a puncheon floor, made from roughly split logs, 
and a stick and mud chimney. For a few weeks 
this small cabin, containing but one room, in 
which was a loom in addition to other household 
furniture, was inhabited by two families. Alex- 
ander Campbell lived there while he was build- 
ing a cabin for himself He came to Milton 
about 1810, and remained a resident of the 
township until 1823, when he moved to Lords- 
town, where he died some years later. 

Five members of the Orr family, sons of Wil- 
liam Orr, of Jackson, settled in Milton at differ- 
ent dates. They were John, Humphrey, WW- 
liam, Russell, and Isaac. Many of their de- 
scendants continue to reside here. 

Henry Lingo settled in 1813 on a farm north- 
east of the center. His sons were Allen, Joseph, 
Robert, Samuel, John, Henry, and Hamilton. 
His daughter Susan became the wife of Robert 
McKenzie. Several of the sons lived and died 
in this township. 

Robert Price, afterwards Judge Price, came to 
the little village now called by his name, in 1817, 
and was one of its prominent men for several 
years. 

Robert Rose, one of the oldest residents of Ma- 
honing county, and perhaps the oldest man within 
its borders, was born near Bath, Viiginia, April 7, 
I 786. When about fourteen years old he came to 



Poland township with his father, Jesse Rose, who 
settled in the eastern part of Poland, near the 
Pennsylvania line. Jesse Rose moved from Po- 
land to Ellsworth and died there. His family 
consisted of eight children, Robert being njw 
the only survivor. David, Robert, Jesse, and 
James were the sons; Mary, Nancy, Rhoda, and 
Hannah the daughters. David and Jesse set- 
tled and died in Ellsworth. James settled in 
Jackson but moved west. Mary became the 
wife of William Howard and lived in Ellsworth. 
Nancy married John Brothers and lived in 
Pennsylvania. Rhoda nr.arried John Rose and 
lived in Mecca, Trumbull county. Hannah 
married Ebenezer Cole and lived on the old 
farm where her father settled, in Poland. Robert 
Rose was married in Poland to Catharine Shoaf, 
who bore eight children. For his second wife 
he married Catharine Wortenbarger. About the 
year 1816 Mr. Rose moved to Milton township, 
took up and settled upon a farm in the southeast, 
on the old Palmyra road, where he resided until 
about thirteen years ago, and has since been liv- 
ing with his sons in Berlin township. Mr. Rose 
is one of the few surviving veterans of the War 
of 1812. His oldest brother was also a soldier 
of that war. The writer made a visit to Uncle 
Robert, as he is familiarly called, one pleasant 
day in November, 1881. One of his "boys," a 
gray-haired man, directed us to the place where 
we found the old gentleman. He was in the 
woods, at least three-quarters of a mile from the 
house, in his shirt-sleeves and was busily engaged 
in gathering hickory-nuts. Few men reach their 
ninety-sixth year, and very few attain to Mr. 
Rose's age and retain full possession of their fac- 
ulties. We found Mr. Rose's memory of early 
events clear, distinct, and accurate. His hear- 
ing is but little impaired. His mind is active, 
and his face and conversation cheerful. In his 
early years he was a very Hercules in physical 
strength, and even now, considering how near he 
is to the age of a centenarian, his vigor is re- 
markable. 

Calvin Shepard came out with Judge Price 
from New Jersey, and worked for him some 
years. He married Isabella Beck and settled on 
land now owned by John Scott. There were eight 
children, seven of whom are living, none of them 
in this township. 

Frederick Byers, from Pennsylvania, came to 



l82 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



the township about 1824, and settled just west 
of the liver, on the farm now owned by Robert 
Weasner. His son Frederick occupied it after 
him a number of years. Mr. Byers, Sr., caused 
the village to be laid out which is called by his 
first name. 

John Eckis came from Maryland to Spring- 
field township in 1801, and in 1826 moved to 
Milton, and was a pioneer of the southeastern 
part of the township. Even at that date there 
was no improved farm west of his place, until 
the river was reached. 

John McCollum recently deceased, came to 
the township in 1828, and took up an unim- 
proved farm in the southeastern quarter. 

From 1830 to 1840 the township gtew rapidly 
in population. In that period both Frederick and 
Pricetown were flourishing villages. But the ad- 
vent of the New York and Ohio canal, turning 
business and travel aside, gave these places a 
staggering blow; and a few years later the rail- 
road came through and finished them ; for the 
iron horse, like the canal mule, "passed by on the 
other side" of Milton. In 1840 the census re- 
turns gave the township a population of twelve- 
hundred and seventy-seven. Each succeedmg 
decade has witnessed a gradual falling off, until 
now the entire population is between seven and 
eight hundred, making this the smallest township 
in the county. 

price's mills. 

Price's Mills, or Pricetown, was once a flour- 
ishing place, but is so no longer. It is situated 
on the line between Milton and Newton, and as 
nearly all of its business enterprises were carried 
on in this township, we include a sketch of them 
here. 

Jesse Holliday came to this place among the 
very first of the settlers, and in 1804 erected a 
grist-mill, carding-mill, and saw-mill. The grist- 
mill was a good size for those days ; two stories 
in height, perhaps 34x40 feet, and contained 
two run of granite stones. The wheel was an 
undershot, twenty-two feet in diameter. The 
sawmill had an old-fashioned " flutter wheel." 
These mills were on the sites of the present 
gristmill and saw-mill. The carding-mill was 
just north of the grist-mill. Holliday run these 
mills until i8i6, and then sold them to John 
Price. A year or two later they came 
into the possession of Robert I'rice, who 



operated them many years. In 1834 Price 
put up a stone flouring-mill. It was badly 
built and fell down a few years later. It was re- 
built by Dr. Jonathan I. Tod, son-in law of 
Judge Price, who in the meantime had purchased 
the entire mill property. The mills remained in 
possession of Dr. Tod and his widow until 1861, 
when they were purchased by Mr. Calender, 
father of the present owner. The saw-mill now 
standing was also built by Price. 

In 1837 Dr. Tod built a foundry on the west 
side of the river. It was in operation five or six 
years, and was tlien changed into a linseed oil 
manufactory. It disappeared some years ago. 
In 1842 Dr. Tod erected a foundry on the east 
side of the river. Calender bought it and 
changed it into a flax-mill. 

J. M. Calender erected a frame building north 
of the grist-mill in 1866, and transferred the ma- 
chinery of the grist-mill to it. He converted the 
stone mill into a woolen factory, where spinning, 
weaving, cloth-dressing, etc., were successfully 
carried on until about the time of his death. In 
1875 the machinery of th» grist-mill was restored 
to the stone building. 

The first tavern in the place was kept by 
Thomas L. Fenton, on the northwest corner of 
the Newton side. Robert Weasner, Peter Bell, 
Peter Smith, and Noah Smith have since kept 
tavern in the place. Bell built a second build- 
ing for a hotel. 

Who kept the first store we are unable to learn 
for a certainty. Booth & Elliot, and Elliot & 
Ingersol have been mentioned as the first store- 
keepers. Robert Price began business as a mer- 
chant in 181 7. Jonathan I. Tod, William Por- 
ter, Carpenter & Avery, Porter & Bronson, Por- 
ter & Moffat, James M. Calender, Fiester & Por- 
ter, Charles Curtis, and Noah Smith have all 
been engaged in the mercantile business here. 
John L. Greer kept a second store for a time, 
while Carpenter & Avery were in business. 
Some of the firms mentioned did a large bus- 
iness. But the place is now scarcely able to 
support one small grocery. 

AN EXTINCT VILL.^GE. 

Frederick, or Fredericksburg as it is frequently 
called, was a flourishing Lttle village on the liver, 
near the south line of the township, forty or fitly 
years ago. Now a few dilapidated old houses 
and a church, wmdowless and almost roofless, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



■S3 



remain to mark its site. But in days gone by, 
those primitive days which shall return no more 
forever, when the stages from Pittsburg and 
Cleveland passed through Frederick daily, the 
little village was at the zenith of its prosperity. 

The first merchant in the place was a man 
named Swift. This is all that is known of him. 
Peter Kinnaman, from Petersburg, this county, 
began keeping a store in a part of Lebaugh's 
tavern in 1834. Soon after he built a store and 
occupied it some years. John Eckis was the 
next merchant in the place. Carpenter & 
,\very had a small store for a time. Matthias 
& George Christy and Maito.x & Raymond were 
merchants in the later years of the village. 

Louis Lebaugh kept the first and the principal 
hotel. The stage stopped at his door. His 
house was on the north side of the road and op- 
posite the corner. Moses Everett kept another 
house of entertainment west of the bridge, on 
the south side of the road. Frederick Myers 
was the landlord of a long two-story building, 
situated west of Everett's, between it and the 
corner. His tavern was a large one for those 
days. The three houses were all open to the 
public at the same time. 

A distillery was operated by Dyer Fitch for a 
short time. Mecca, or lubricating oil, found in 
the vicinity, got in the water used so much that 
it spoiled the liquor, and the business had to be 
dropped. 

A tannery was successfully worked for a time 
by a German named John Kreitzinger. In ad- 
dition to these industries the busy little place in- 
cluded among its inhabitants the following 
named artisans : William Cowell, hatter; Daniel 
Mauen, tailor; McWilliams and William Shoe- 
maker, wagonmakers, as well as several black- 
smiths and shoemakers. 

CHURCH HISTORY. 

At present there are but two church buildings 
in the township, the Methodist and the Presby- 
terian. The Disciples once had two churches, 
but they no longer have an organization. The 
Germans go to church in Berlin. 

THE PRESBVTERI.^NS. 

In 1807 or 1808 a Presbyterian church was 
organized by the citizens of Newton and Milton, 
and a church erected in Newton near Price's 
mills. Rev. James Boyd was the first pastor of 



the congregations of Newton and Warren. He 
died in 1813 and is buried in the old graveyard 
at Pricetown. Rev. Joshua Beer was the next 
pastor. There were then several supplies for a 
number of years. Rev. William O. Stratton was 
a settled pastor for a number of years, com- 
mencing about 1836. During his ministry the 
old church ceased to be used, and a new one 
was built at Orr's corners about 1847, which is 
still called the Newton church. Rev. J. B. Mil- 
ler, Rev. Thomas P. Spear, Revs. Sharp and 
Taylor have presided since. When the Jackson 
church was built in 187 1, it drew away a large 
portion of the members of the Newton church, 
and left it in a weak condition. It is now with- 
out a pastor. We append names of some of the 
prominent and active members of this church in 
early years : Nathaniel and William Stanley, 
Thomas Gilmer; elders, John Craig, Thomas 
McCoy, Nicholas Van Emmon, Isaac Winans, 
Jacob Winans, second, Emanuel Hoover, Sr. and 
Jr., Robert Russell, John Johnston. 

THE METHODISTS. 

The Methodist church was organized about 
1812. Meetings were held in the school-house 
at Orr's corners, often on weekdays, for the ac- 
commodation of circuit preachers whose duties 
were multifarious. Rev. Billings O. Plimpton, 
Dr. Bostwick, Nicholas Gee, Ira Eddy, Rev. 
Prosser, and others were early preachers. The 
prominent members of the church were the 
Winans, Vaughns, Tillinghast Morey, Isaac 
Mitchell, and others. About 1830 the organiza- 
tion built a brick church at Baldwin's corners in 
the northeastern part of the township. This 
building was destroyed by a gale in 1849. A 
few years later the present church, a small frame 
building, was erected. The church keeps up its 
organization and has regular preaching in con- 
nection with other societies. 

From an old History of Methodism in the 
West we make the following extract : 

During the summer of 1810 Mr. Tillinghast Mowry 
[Morey I moved from Connecticut and settled in Milton, one 
mile west of the center, where his house became a welcome 
home for Methodist preachers who were sent to labor on 
Hartford circuit, and was for many years a preaching place. 
Father Henry Shewel, residing in Deerfield, Ohio, after toil- 
ing through the week with his hards would on .Sunday find 
his way through the woods to the new neighboring settlements 
to break the bread of life to the hungry souls in the wilder- 
ness. He established a preaching appointment at Mr. 
Mowry 's and a class was formed comprising Tillinghast 



1 84 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Mowry, leader, and wife; Jacob Allen and wife, Joseph 
Depew, Margaret Hudson, Mr. Cole and wife, and perhaps 
others. The appointment wa= soon added to Hartford cir- 
cuit and supplied with circuit preaching. 

THE DISCIPLES. 

The Disciples organized as early as 1830. Wil- 
liam Hayden and Walter Scott began preaching 
here about 1827, and baptized several persons. 
Many of the Methodists joined them. They 
held their meetings in the Orr's corners school- 
house for a time, then built a small church one- 
fourth of a mile east of the corners. Their or- 
ganization went down more than twenty years 
ago. Early preachers: Webb, Flick, Shaffer, 
and others. Early and prominent members : 
Isaac Mitchell, Thomas L. Fenton, John 
Thatcher, Joseph Pierce, Amos Pierce, Joseph 
Pierce, Jr., and Jacob Winans, Sr. 

The Disciples also built a church at Freder- 
ick, the fiame of which is still standing. This 
church was organized through the efforts of Her- 
man Reeves, who became its first pastor. The 
house was erected in 1852. Reeves, Shaffer, 
(Jriffin, Phillips, Hillock, Chapman, Megowan, 
and others were preachers in this church. Mat- 
thias Christy and William Cowell were the first 
elders ; Christy also preached occasionally. 
John Carson, M. Smith, and Aaron Fink were 
elders and prominent members. The church 
was organized with thirty or forty members, and 
the number increased to nearly one hundred. 
Many members moved, and the war and its issues 
caused divisions which resulted in the dissolu- 
tion of the organization. 

BURIAL PLACES. 

The first settlers were all buried in Newton 
near Price's mills. There are three small pub- 
lic burying places in this township, of which the 
one west of the river and a little north of the 
center road is probably the oldest. 

POST-OFFICES. 

The first post-office was established at Price's 
mills, or Pricetown, about the year 1808. Al- 
though Milton is the name of the post-office it 
has been kept in Newton township almost if not 
(juite as much as in Milton. The office was 
originally on the route between Warren and 
Ravenna. The first postmaster was probably 
Judge Reuben S. Clark, succeeded by Robert 
Price, Jonathan I. Tod, Frank Porter, Noah 



Smith, and J. M. Calender, the present incum- 
bent. 

The post office at Frederick was established 
previous to 1830. John Shoemaker, Sr., was 
probably the first postmaster. His successors: 
Peter Kinnaman, John Eckis, John Shoemaker, 
Jr., David Byers, Lydia A. Steffey, Robert Weas- 
ner, Madison Traill, John Carson. Since Mr. 
Carson took the office, about fifteen years ago, it 
has been kept in Berlin township. The mail is 
received twice a week. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Dr. Tracy Bronson, who lived just over the 
line in Newton township, was the practicing phy- 
sician in Milton for many years, and is remem- 
bered with gratitude and affection by many of 
his old patients. 

Dr. George Ewing had quite a large practice 
in the township. He settled on a farm but con- 
tinued attending to the calls of his patients up 
to the time of his death. There have been many 
other physicians in the township, but none that 
have been permanent residents. 

THE FIRST SCHOOLS. 

For several years teachers were paid by sub- 
scription, their wages in summer terms being 
four or five dollars per month, and nine or ten 
in winter, not all in cash but frequently in grain 
or orders on the store-keepers. 

Daniel Depew, an aged man, was one of the 
first school-teachers in a log-cabin situated east 
of the river. A very few of his pupils are still 
living. Other early teachers in different parts of 
Milton were Tillinghast Morey, Robert White, 
Margaret Depew, Nancy Best, Peggy Stevens, 
Gain Robison, Joseph Duer, Phebe Canfield, 
and Billings O. Plimpton, afterwards quite cele- 
brated as a Methodist preacher. 

John Johnston taught school two winters, 
1811-12 and 1812-13, in a little log school- 
house which was situated on the center road 
about three-fourths of a mile west of the Jackson 
township line. The school-house contained an 
immense fire-place in a chimney at one end of 
the room. The house was perhaps sixteen feet 
square; paper was used for glass in the windows, 
and the door was pinned together with wooden 
pins in place of nails. Probably twenty scholars 
attended this school while Mr. Johnston taught. 
The cabin just described was used as a school- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



house until about 1818, when a building of 
hewed logs was erected on the lot where the 
present school-house stands. 

The method of instruction in these early 
schools was somewhat different from that which 
is now in use. First, the pupil was taught the 
alphabet ; then spelling, reading, writing, in suc- 
cession, and finally arithmetic. Many of the 
old settlers never attended a school in which 
grammar or geography was taught. 

IN THE WILD WOODS. 

As late as 1806 three Indians, rejoicing in the 
euphonious names of Nicksaw, Cayuga, and 
Cadashua, were living on the west bank of the 
river on the best of terms with their white neigh- 
bors. They subsisted chiefly by hunting and 
fishing, though they raised a little corn on the 
river bottom. There are those now living who 
remember having seen these Indians at their 
homes. 

Game of all kinds was abundant. Squirrels 
and other small pests attacked the corn and 
wheat, and wolves were ever ready to make way 
with lambs and other young stock. It was no 
uncommon thing tor a farmer to wake up in the 
morning and find that a bear had killed his hog, 
or a wolf destroyed some of his sheep. 

The last known instance of a bear in the 
township was in 1835. At that date Joseph 
Mead tracked one across Milton into Newton 
where it was killed. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

Probably the first bridge across the Mahoning 
above Warren, was a trestle-work bridge on the 
line between Newton and Milton. This broke 
down in 1822 while Joseph Depew was crossing it 
with three yoke of oxen. Four of the oxen were 
killed by the fall, but the driver and the head 
yoke got out uninjured. This bridge was soon 
replaced by another of similar construction, 
which the breaking up of the ice in 1831 de- 
stroyed. Soon after the bridge now standing was 
built in a more substantial manner. 

Captain Vanetten had a distillery in very early 
times. During the War of 18 12 it was run by 
his wife, who, the captain declared, could make 
more and better whiskey from the same amount 
of grain than he could. There were numerous 
stills in all parts of the settlement. James Orr 
built a distillery and an ashery near Orr's corners 



about the year 1817. Soon after he sold the 
distillery to his brother John. John Hineman 
built a distillery in the northeastern corner of the 
township about the same date. Some years later 
John Reed built a third near the location of the 
first. 

John Johnston and James Moore started a 
tannery in 1823. It was situated about one-half 
mile north of the center road on Johnston's 
farm. It was worked until 1839, when it was 
moved by Samuel Johnston to his farm in Jack- 
son, where he carried on the business until about 
1870. Robert Laughlin started a tannery some 
time after this. In 1827 James Moore built an- 
other one-fourth of a mile west of Orr's corners. 

A grist-mill and a saw-mill were built by Jesse 
Holliday and Joseph Hoover on the Mahoning, 
about two and one-half miles south of Price's 
mills, in 1824. A carding machine was operated 
in connection with these mills for some time. 
The grist-mill was sold to a man named Brian 
and later to John Nolan. While he was the 
owner it was destroyed by fire and rebuilt. A 
few old timbers still remain to mark the spot 
where it stood. John and George Forder some 
years later had a grist-mill and saw-mill on their 
land. 

A BEAR STORY. 

Aaron Porter was a famous hunter, and the 
history of his experiences and achievements 
would make an interesting book. Early and 
late, in every season and all kinds of weather, 
he busied himself in the pursuit which he so 
dearly loved. With his moccasins — he never 
would wear boots while hunting — and his rifle, 
he could often be seen striding through the 
forest, either going in quest of adventure or re- 
turning victorious after a day's exploits. He was 
a man of strong limbs and powerful frame, capa- 
ble of enduring almost any amount of physical 
exertion. Miles were nothing to him. With an 
easy, swinging, rapid gait he would traverse the 
woods hour after hour, apparently with no 
thought of fatigue or desire for rest. The man 
who would attempt to follow "Uncle Aaron " all 
day would have been considered rash indeed. 

We will here note one of his many hunting 
episodes, as told by his son. One day while 
Porter and his son Samuel were hunting near 
the north fork of the Mahoning, while ranging 
the woods they suddenly came across an old In- 



i8(5 



TRUMBULL. AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



dian and a young brave who had treed an old 
she bear and her cubs, and were attempting to 
secure them. The animals had taken refuge 
within a large hollow tree and were some dis- 
tance from the ground. Porter came where the 
red men were, and at once comprehending 
the condition of affairs, made signs to the In- 
dians that they should allow him to cut the tree 
down. The old hunter shook his head, and in- 
timated that the bear would run away. Porter 
pointed to two dogs which were following him; 
but the Indian uttered a contemptuous "Ugh !" 
and declared that the dogs were " too light." As 
they were only small water spaniels, his reason- 
ing was apparently well founded. The Indians 
soon lighted a fire at the base of the tree, and 
as the smoke found its way up the cavity where 
the bear was, she began to scramble upward in a 
very lively manner, until she reached an opening 
just large enough to put her head through. As 
soon as the black nose was visible to the hunters, 
and while its owner was in full and complete en- 
joyment of fresh air, the old Indian fired. The 
bear fell back into the tree and there was much 
noise and commotion among the cubs. Porter 
then asked the Indian if he should cut the tree, 
and, receiving an affirmative reply, set to work 
and soon the trunk went crackling to the earth; 
and lo! out rushed the bear which the Indian 
thought he had killed, and bounded away at a 
lively rate. Uncle Aaron fired off his gun to ex- 
cite the dogs, and all started in hot pursuit of 
the running game e.xcept the old Indian, who 
stopped to secure the cubs, and then followed as 
fast as his limbs could carry him. 

The dogs, which were well trained, and had 
participated in many a bear-hunt before this one, 
soon brought the animal at bay, by biting her 
hind legs and otherwise worrying her. Porter, 
as usual, caught up with the dogs before the 
other hunters, but he could do nothing, as his 
gun was empty. Before he had time to reload 
his son came up, and taking his gun, uncle 
Aaron walked up close to the bear's head and 
shot her. Soon the young Indian ariived, and 
he, too, poured his rifle's charge into the bear, 
which Porter's shot had already killed. The old 
Indian next appeared and took his turn at shoot- 
ing. By this time the animal was "dead enough 
to skin;" as all the hunters unanimously agreed ; 
and tile Indians, with deft and skillful fingers, 



soon had the hide removed. The old red man 
then cut off a large piece of the shoulder, which 
he offered to Porter. The latter declined it by 
shaking his head. The Indian, however, insist- 
ed ; made signs of eating, pointed to the meat 
and then to his mouth to declare that it was 
good ; and Porter, to please him, accepted the 
gift and wrapped it carefully in some bark, that 
he might carry it home without the inconven- 
ience of being daubed with bear's grease. The 
young Indian next cut off some of the meat and 
wrapped it up as Porter had done. The old 
warrior then took the remainder of the caicass, 
entiails and all, put the cubs, which were still 
alive, into it, wrapped the whole securely in the 
bearskin, making a bundle plenty large and 
heavy for one to carry, shouldered it and marched 
toward his wigwam, doubtless well pleased with 
the result of his hunting, and thankful for the 
white man's assistance. 

NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

John McKenzie, the fifth child of John and 
Elizabeth McKenzie, was born in Pennsylvania in 
the year 1803. He came to Ohio with his par- 
ents in 1S05, who settled in Milton township on 
the farm now owned by Frank Keefer. They 
were the first settlers in that locality, and the 
country was then a wilderness. At the age of 
twenty-one the subject of this sketch was mar- 
ried to Miss Sally Vanetten and has had a fam- 
ily of ten children, viz: Royal, Anna, Simeon, 
Harriet, Maryette, Martin Van, Jeannette, Ad- 
dison, and Alice. One child died in infancy 
Maryette, Anna, and Jeannette are also dead. 

Robert Russel was born in Pennsylvania in 
1778. His father's family, consisting of his wife 
and five children, came to Ohio in 1803 and set- 
tled in Poland township on a farm now occupied 
by Mrs. Sullivan. The father lived to the good 
old age of ninety years. Robert Russell fol- 
lowed shoemaking for over fifty years. He mar- 
ried in 1814 Miss Anna French and had a large 
family of sons, named James, Alexander, John, 
Robert, Enoch, Joseph, Robert, Enoch (second), 
Joseph, and Ebenezer. The only survivors are 
James and Enoch. James, the eldest of the 
family, was born in 1815. In 1843 he married 
Miss Kate Gillmer and has two children, Ann 
Elizabeth and Sarah Margaret. Mr. Russell has 
always followed farming and stock raising, and 
now occupies the old homestead. He and his 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



1S7 



wife are both members of the Presbyterian 
church of Newton. 

Russell Orr was born in Pennsylvania in 1798. 
He came to Ohio with his parents, who settled 
in Jackson township, now Mahoning county, at 
an early date, on the farm now occupied by Mr. 
Goldsmith. Russell Orr removed to Milton 
township in 1824, where he lived until his death. 
He was married in 1820 to Eleanor Winans, and 
became the father of ten children, to-wit: Ellen, 
Rodney, Gates, James, Casselman, Susan, Mary, 
Jacintha, Olive, and Russell, all of whom survive 
except James. Mr. Orr died at the age of forty- 
one, and his wife at the age of seventy-nine. 
Rodney Orr, the second child, was born in Jack- 
son, in 1823. At the age of thirty he was mar- 
ried to Miss Elizabeth Moore. In 1862 he 
enlisted in the Forty-first Ohio volunteer infantry. 

John \V. Osborn, whose family still live in 
Milton, was born in Youngstowu township, Ma- 
honing county, June 8, 1806. His father was 
Joseph Osborn, who was born in Virginia in 
1776, and died on his farm in Youngstown town- 
ship in 1846 at seventy years of age. The orig- 
inal settler of the family was Nicholas Osborn, 
further mentioned elsewhere. He was a native 
of England, born in 1729, emigrated to Virginia, 
and located on a (arm in Loudoun county ; mar- 
ried and resided there until the death of his 
wife. In the fall of 1804 he moved with his 
family to Youngstown township, then Trumbull 
county, Ohio, purchasing one tjiousand acres of 
land in the southwest corner of that township, 
which he afterwards divided among his children, 
with whom he made his home. He died June, 
1 8 14, at the age of eighty-five years. John W. 
Osborn was raised on a farm, receiving a com- 
mon school education, such as the district 
schools of the time afforded. While a young 
man he learned the cabinet and carpenter trade, 
which he followed more or less for a number of 
years. He married, in 1835, Mary Harclerode, 
of Ellsworth, and resided in that township about 
two yeais. He then purchased a farm in Milton, 
to which he moved in 1837. He thencefortli 
resided in Milton, principally engaged in farming, 
until his death, which occurred December 12, 
1874. He owned at his death a good farm, on 
which his widow still lives, at the age of sixty- 
eight years. There were born to them three boys 
and four girls, all of whom are living. 



Robert Carson, twelfth child of John and Cath- 
arine Carson, was born in Pennsylvania in 1828 
and came to Ohio with his parents in 1832. At 
the age of twenty-two he was married to Miss 
Martha Patterson, by whom he has had three 
children: Willis S., Eva, and Orra. Willis S. 
is deceased. At the age of thirty-three Mr. Car- 
son started in the flax business in which he con- 
tinued some fifteen years. He now follows farm- 
ing. He has been justice of the peace twelve 
years and is at this writing still holding that 
office. 

Leonidas Carson was born in what is now 
Mahoning county in 1835. He lived upon the 
farm with his parents until he was of age when he 
married Miss Rebecca Weasner. This union 
resulted in six children as follow : Lucy, Han- 
nah, George, Mary, Ellen, and Jessie; all living. 
Mr. Carson was first lieutenant of company 
G, One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Ohio National 
guard, and served one hundred days. He is 
now extensively engaged in the raising of bees 
and the production of honey, in which he is 
quite successful. He and his wife are members 
of the Disciple church of Deerfield. 

Richard Woodward was born in Pennsylvania 
in 1800. He was reared at home until he was 
sixteen years of age, when he went to learn the 
trade of weaving (the weaving of double cover- 
lets) at which he continued five years and then 
went into business for himself. At the age of 
twenty-two he was married to Miss Nancy 
Roberts and had six children: Jonah, Mary A., 
Caroline, Ann M., John, and Joseph, of whom 
Ann and John are deceased. Mr. Woodward 
came to Ohio in 1835 and settled on the farm 
now owned and occupied by his son Joseph. He 
died at the age of sixty-eight and is buried in 
Jackson. Joseph R., the youngest child, was 
born in Milton township in 1844. In 1867 he 
married Miss Sarah Phillips and has five chil- 
dren, viz: Daniel N., Arlinna B., Joseph E., 
Homer, and Anna M.; all living but Daniel, 
who died at the age of twenty months. Mr. 
Woodward and wife are members of the Disciple 
church. 

William Weasner was born in New Jersey in 
1786. He came to Ohio in 1841, and settled in 
Milton township, on the Morey farm, where he 
lived until his death in 1864. He married, in 
1S26, Miss Mahala Boyd, and had a family of 



iS8 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



twelve children, viz : Susan, Rebecca, Robert, 
William, James, Margaret, Sarah, Horace, Han- 
nah, Lewis, Jeffrey, and Grace ; Susan, William, 
and Lewis are deceased. Mrs. Weasner is still 
living. 

Robert \Veasner, third child of William and 
Matilda Weasner, was born in New Jersey in 
1836. He was married, in 1857, to Miss Rachel 
Best, by whom he has had three children — Alva 
H., Maud A., and Lee Etta ; Maud A. is de- 
ceased. Mr. Weasner is a farmer by occupation 
and has held the office of justice of the peace 
for thirteen years, and still retains it. He and 
his wife are prominent members of the Lutheran 
church of Berlin, and Mr. Weasner has been 
superintendent of the Sunday-school of the 
church for about fifteen years. He enlisted in 
the Nineteenth Ohio volunteer infantry in 1S61, 
served nine months when, on account of physical 
disability, he was honorably discharged. 

Hiram Taylor w-as born in Middletown, 
Springfield township, now Mahoning county, in 
1830. When he was four years of age his par- 
ents removed to Austintown township. When 
twenty-five years of age he married Miss Martha 
Justice and settled in Ohltown and engaged in 
the business of carriage making, which he car- 
ried on for about twenty years. He resided in 
Trumbull county about six years when he bought 
the old homestead in Austintown. He occupied 
this two years and then purchased the place 
where he now lives. Some twenty-four years 
after his marriage his wife died, and in 1881 he 
married Miss Mary Chessman, of Salem. He 
now follows farming in connection with his trade. 
Himself and wife are members of the Presby- 
terian church. 

Nathaniel Smith was born in Sussex county, 
New Jersey, in 1812. He resided with his par- 
ents until he was twenty years of age, when he 
was married to Miss Mary ^Velsh. They have 
had eleven children, named as follow: Emory, 
Nathan, Z. T., H. E., Catharine, Elizabeth, 
Sarah, Orpha, Ezra, Charles, and .Anna. The 
three last-named are deceased. Mr. Smith came 
to Ohio in 1843 and settled in Milton township 
on the place where he now lives. He has been 
justice of the peace eleven years. He and his 
wife are members of the Disciples church. 

Thomas L. Fenton, a native of Pennsylvania, 
and his wife, Catharine Reed, came to Ohio in 



an early day, and first settled on a farm now 
owned by Robert Walker, in Milton township, 
in Mahoning county. He was a blacksmith by 
trade, which he followed in connection with 
farming. After occupying this place for some 
time, he moved to the place where his son 
Josiah now lives. He was the father of eight 
children, viz: Hiram, Jesse, Josiah, Mary, Lucy, 
Jane, Christina, and Harriet. Lucy and Maty 
are dead. Mr. Fenton survived his wife three 
years, and died at an advanced age. Josiah 
Fenton, the third child, was born on the farm 
where he now lives in 1817. At the age of 
twenty eight he was married to Hannah Corll and 
and has had thirteen children, viz: Chauncey, 
Urinas, Samuel, Albina, Mary A., Alverett, 
Charles, Josiah, Landa, Arvilla, Herman, Cora, 
and Bert. 

Daniel Reichard was born in Guilford town- 
ship, Franklin county, Pennsylvania, in the year 
1 81 5. He came to Ohio in 1845, and settled 
on the farm where he now lives. At that time 
there was about five acres cleared on the place, 
and a rude log cabin. In this the family resided 
until 1870, when he erected the substantial resi- 
dence which he now occupies. At the age of 
twenty-one, he began teaching school, at which 
he continued for some six years, when he went 
to farming. He was married in 1841 to Miss 
Rebecca Benedict, by whom he had four chil- 
dren, John B., Alfred, Daniel, and Rebecca, who 
died in infancy. Mrs. Reichard died in 1848, 
and in 1850 he married Eliza J. Forder. By 
this marriage there were eleven children, Frank- 
lin, Octavia, Hattie J., B. F., Helen M., Ran- 
dolph, Clarence, Clara,. George W., Pulaski, and 
Ruhama V. Octavia and Clara are dead. Mr. 
Reichard has been justice of the peace three 
years. 

John Greenamyer was born in Columbiana 
county in 1809. He remained with his parents, 
Jacob and Catharine, and worked at farming 
until he was twenty-one when he went to learn 
the carpenter's trade. This trade he followed 
until he was thirty-six years old, when, in 1845, 
he began farming, removing to the place where 
he now lives in Milton township. At the age of 
twenty-four he was united in marriage to Miss 
"Mary Kale, by whom he had thirteen children, 
as follow: Samuel, John, Solomon, Lucy Ann, 
Caroline, Reuben, Hannah, William, Mai tin, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Delvina, Benjamin, Edwin, and one died in in- 
fancy ; Reuben and Delvina are also deceased. 
Mr. Greenamyer and his wife are members of 
the Reformed church. 

David Beard was born in .Springfield town- 
ship, now Mahoning county, m 1825. At the 
age of eighteen he went to learn the trade of 
shoemaking which he followed twelve years. He 
then engaged in the grocery business at Canfield 
some seven years, after which he purchased the 
place in Milton, Mahoning county, where he 
now lives and has since followed farming. In 
1859 he married Miss Mary Heintzleman, 
and has five children, as follow : James B., Ida 
H., Dorothea A., Theron A., and Lucy E. Mr. 
Beard was elected treasurer of his township in 
1855, which office he held two years. He and his 
wife are members of the German Lutheran 
church. 

Ancil Johnson was born in Milton township, 
Mahoning county, on the place where he now 
lives m 1849. I" 1873 he was united in mar- 
riage to Miss Elizabeth Strock, by whom he had 
four children : Lisle, and three that died in in- 
fancy. Mr. Johnson has always given his undi 
vided attention to farming, and is an industrious 
and successful agriculturist. 



CHAPTER X. 

BEAVER. 

Before 181 1 this township was known as town- 
ship three, range two, but in that year was or- 
ganized with the name Beaver. Since 1846 it 
has formed a part of Mahoning county. It is 
bounded on the east by Springfield, north by 
Fairfield, and west by Green. 

The surface is moderately level with a general 
drainage to the north and east. In parts it is 
slightly broken by low hills, and along the 
streams are some lands too low and level for cul- 
tivation, being subject to overflow. There are 
also a few small swamps. The township was 
originally covered with a heavy growth of oak, 
ash, maple, beech, elm, and a limited quantity 
of pine. Timber still remains in considerable 
quantity. 



Mill creek, the principal stream flows, through 
the township northward west of the center, re- 
ceiving the waters of a number of small brooks. 
On account of its low banks but little water- 
power is afforded. The head of Big Bull creek 
is in the southeastern part of the township, but 
its volume here is no greater than a brook. 
Nearly every section has enough springs to fur- 
nish water for domestic use, or it may easily be 
obtained by digging wells. 

Building stone and coal abound, and sand 
may be procured in several localities. The soil 
is variable, being a light loam or sandy clay, 
generally free from stones and easily cultivated. 
The inhabitants are mostly occupied with the or- 
dinary farm pursuits, but lately increasing atten- 
tion has been given to dairying and the raising 
of live stock. 

THE PIONEERS. 

One of the first settlers was Major Jacob Gil- 
bert, a native of Maryland, who settled on the 
farm now occupied by Michael Wieland about 
1802. The Wielands of this township descended 
from one of his seven children, a daughter, who 
married Adam Wieland. Major Gilbert took an 
active part in the War of 18 12, and was one of 
the prominent men of the township in his day. 

About the same time John Shanefelt, also a 
soldier of 181 2, settled near Gilbert on the 
homestead afterward occupied by his son John. 

Adam Little was an early and prominent set- 
tler near the center of Beaver. 

The first settler in the north of the township 
was an old bachelor named "Billy" Stewart, who 
lived alone many years in a small log cabin. 
Still farther west Abraham Miller was the 
pioneer. 

On section one, the first settler was Peter 
Stevens, who had a lease on a small tract of land. 
He is credited with being the discoverer of the 
coal in this locality, which he mined, in a small 
way, for two cents per bushel. 

Farther south, on section thirteen, settlement 
was made in 1803 by Christopher Mentzer, and 
soon after Christian Clinker settled in the neigh- 
borhood of North Lima, with his sons, Abner, 
Josiah, Samuel, and Isaac. Not far from 
here were, also, as early as 1804, Frederick and 
Michael Dutterer, and in the southern part of 
the township, among the pioneers of that period, 



JQO 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



were John Harman, Henry Neidigh, and Fred- 
erick Sponseller. 

John Coblentz, from Frederick, Maryland, 
settled on the south side of section twenty-five 
in 1804. His family consisted of four sons and 
a daughter, who married John Elser, who has 
resided on this section since 1827. 

Other early and noteworthy settlers were John 
Crumbacher, George Hoke, Balzer Mowen, John 
Neidigh, Jacob Grouse, Christian Crabs, David 
Gerringer, Peter Eib, Isaiah Bachman, George 
Augustine, Michael Shaefer, George Hively, 
Christian Fox, Adam Movingstar, Mathias Glass, 
William Hecknian, Henry Myers, George Pon- 
tius, Abraham Stoufifer, Abraham Boyer, Jacob 
Whitter, David Coy, Jacob Mellinger, John 
Metz, John Rukenbrod, Jacob Overhaltzer, 
Henry Snyder, and Jacob Rupert. 

Settlements were rapidly made and many 
changes took place. This can best be seen from 
a list prepared twenty years later. 

The freeholders living in the township in 1830 
were as follows : On school district number 
one — Christian Ackerman, John Frankfelter, 
Andrew Hahn, George Lonefelter, Ebenezer 
Stahl, William Sullivan, David Sprinkel, Jacob 
Witter, John Bennett, Jacob Gilbert, John Gil- 
bert, Jacob Paulin, W. Sheckel, John Shanefelt, 
Jr., Frederick Shanefelt, Adam Wieland. 

On the second district — John Blosser, Daniel 
Cohler, Patrick Dilley, Andrew Forney, John 
Fox, Jacob Linn, Jacob Miller, Abraham Miller, 
Henry Sponseller, Joseph Sprinkel, Frederick 
Smith, Jacob Wansettler, John Chub, Aaron C. 
Cain, John Fellnagle, Jacob Fellnagle, John 
Heller, Adam Little, George Messerley, William 
Shepler, Peter Steffey, Michael Shank, Ferdi- 
nand Shantz. 

On distiirt number three lived John Bach- 
man, George Bachman, Jacob Boyer, Abraham 
Boyer, Benjamin Bechtel, John Coy, Adam 
Frankfelter, Reuben Grimes, Tobias Heverly, 
David Hoover, William Kendricks, Michael 
Kulp, Henry Kulp, John Kulp, Daniel Mack- 
ley, Frederick Roos, Mathias Topper, Martin 
Wilderson, John Bright, John Calvin, George 
Foreman, E. Gardner, John Harmon, Charles 
Hammer, Philip Houck, Abraham Myers, John 
Myers, Henry Myers, John Nold, John Shoe- 
maker, Henry Thomas, Peter Yoder. 

On district number four were John Aultman, 



John Bieber, Peter Blosser, Solomon Crouse, 
Jacob Crouse, William Crouse, Frederick Fell- 
nagel, John Glass, John Hahn, Jacob Jokis, 
Michael Huyler, Michael Keek, Christopher 
Mentzer, Jacob Mentzer, William Miller, Catha- 
rine Augustine, Jacob S. Buzard, John Cohler, 
John Clinker, Isaac Clinker, Michael Dutterer, 
John Fasnacht, David Gerringer, Jacob Harman, 
R. P. Justice, G. Hutchin, F. Leitzey, Adam 
Myrice, David Metzler, Jacob Mowen, John 
Mowen, Peter Mowen, Balzar Mowen, Daniel 
Shilling, Michael Wieland, William Eyster, 
Jacob Reephard, James Simpson, Jacob Shoe- 
maker. 

In district number five lived George Bush, 
Frederick Frankfetter, Adam Fisher, Mathias 
Gilbert, Andrew Little, John Shanefelt, David 
Shanefelt, Gabriel Erb, George Fox, John B. 
Fox, Jacob Lenhart, John Simons, Henry Woh- 
ford. 

On the sixth district were Alexander Ander- 
son, John Borlan, Samuel Detweiler, John Fox, 
Peter Fox, Jacob Haltereth, Gotlieb Hedler, 
Jacob Landis, Mary Mellinger, John Royer, 
David Stephens, George Bachman, Jacob Bach- 
man, Joseph Frederick, Peter Hendricks, Wil- 
liam Heckman, George Haltereth, Jacob Knob, 
Tobias Miller, Jacob Oberholser, Jacob Ober- 
holser, Jr., Solomon Sloop. 

District number seven had the following free- 
holders: Joseph Borlan, Jacob Baker, David 
Coy, Samuel Coy, John Esterly, Jacob Hill, 
Peter Kleckner, Henry Kendig, Augustine Miller, 
George Bloom, Christian Shiely, John Stiver, 
Frederick Stiver, Michael Unger, Christian Ber- 
inger, Frederick Beringer, E. Crumbacher, Jacob 
Detweiler, William Hooker, Peter Hibble, Baltas 
Kutcher, H. B. Myers, Jacob Paetner, Chris- 
tian Rinkinberger, Abraham Shaeffer, Abraham 
Stauffer, Frederick Ungelbower. 

In district number eight lived William Cox, 
Widow Coblentz, Jacob Cope, Frederick Dut- 
terer, Michael Dutterer, George Dutterer, John 
Elser, George Glaser, John Glackler, Jacob 
Glackler, John Harman, Jr., Solomon Harman, 
Henry Harman, George Candle, Mary Lipply, 
Catherine Myers, (Jeorge Rukenbrod, Michael 
Rukenbrod, John Rapp, Sr., John Rapp, Jr., 
Frederick Sponseller, George Sponseller, Mi- 
chael Sponseller, John Schnurrenberger, Conrad 
Snyder, Amos Worthington, John Zeigler. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



CIVIL LIST. 

The township was organized for civil purposes 
in the year iSii, and in the following year Bea- 
ver was added to the tax list of the county, the 
assessment for 1812 being $35.25. 

The first election was held April i, 1811, the 
judges being Christian Clinker, Frederick Spon- 
seller, and Peter Eib. The following were 
elected: Trustees — John Crumbacher, Christian 
Clinker, Frederick Sponseller ; clerk, George 
Hoke ; treasurer, John Harman ; lister, Adam 
Little; house appraiser, John Coblentz; consta- 
ble, Jacob Gilbert; overseers of the poor, Balzar 
Mowen, David Geriinger; fence-viewers, John 
Neidigh, Sr., Christopher Mentzer; road super- 
visors. Christian Crebs and Jacob Crouse. Peter 
Eib and Adam Little were justices of the peace. 

MINING AND MANUFACTURING. 

Coal may be procured in almost every section 
of the township, and is profitably mined in the 
central and northeasten parts. One of the most 
extensive mines is that of Azariah Paulin, in sec- 
tion one, which yields fifteen hundred to two thou- 
sand tons yearly. South from him David Sprinkel 
has a mine in which is a vein of cannel coal five 
feet in thickness ; and a little southwest are 
mines operated by Catterhead & McGill, Inser 
& Shaefer, and others. On section six coal was 
mined about twenty-five years ago to supply a 
furnace for the manufacture of coal oil. Near 
the center of the township there are coal banks 
on the farms of Daniel Crouse and Abraham 
Yoder, and farther west, south of East Lewis- 
town, are a number of mines yielding good coal. 

On Mill creek, section fifteen, the first mill 
was put in operation about 1805 by Matthias 
Glass. A small affair, it was displaced by one of 
greater capacity by Jacob Crouse. In 1849 the 
present mill was built by Anthony Smith and 
steam power added. Subsequent owners have 
been Solomon Elser, John Faulk, Henry Nerr, 
and since 1877, Hasness, Thoman & Co. It if 
a three-story frame, and has three run of stones. 

Abraham Stauffer had grist- and saw-mills 
further south, on Mill creek, but they were aban- 
doned about 1840. 

North of the old Glass mill Peter Glass put up 
a saw-mill, which was operated many years by 
Solomon Crouse. 

On Turkey Broth creek, in section nine, Jacob 



Detwiler put up a water-power saw-mill, which 
was changed to steam by John Fellnagel, and is 
now in operation. 

Quite a number of steam mills are now in 
operation in the township. 

At the village of North Lima a steam grist- 
mill, erected a few years ago by John Spait, is 
now in operation. 

In the early history of the place, Jacob Ester- 
ley had a tannery near the site of the present 
hotel. Another tannery was established in 1852 
by Solomon Clinker. 

Here were formerly distilleries carried on by 
Lewis Ruhlnian, John Fasnacht, Anthony Smith, 
Samuel Summers, and John Fisher. The village 
has a carriage shop and a number of mechanic- 
shops. 

NORTH LIMA 

is a pleasant village, located chiefly on the south 
half of section fourteen, and was founded about 
1826 by James Simpson. The original plat con- 
tained only a few lots along the county road. 
Additions have been made by John Northrup, 
Martin Hasness, Samuel Crouse, and J. S. Buzard. 
The village did not grow fast, and owes its exist- 
ence wholly to the demand for a local trading 
point. The population is about three hundred. 
There are three fine churches and two handsome 
school-houses. The one in the west district is 
of brick, 32x40 feet, and was built in 1868 at 
a cost of $2,500. The east house is of the same 
material, 36x48 feet, and cost to build in 1871 
$2,700. There is also a village hall, the old 
Evangelical church having been altered for this 
purpose in 1876. 

As early as 1828 a man named Hartzell sold 
goods in a small way in the village ; other small 
traders were John Glass and John Northrup. 
The first regular store was opened by the Niell 
Brothers in a building where is now Raus' tin- 
shop. John G. Leslie was their clerk, becoming 
their partner when the store was moved down 
street. Others here in trade were Croilse & 
Northrup, Buzard & Co., J. H. Donalb, Mentz, 
Hahn, Fell & Co., Miller, Ruhlman, George 
Buzard, and J. Ernst. 

In the buildings on the opposite corners have 
been stores by Truesdell, Baldwin, Kirtland, Fel- 
ger, Haller, Buzard, Henkle, Shaefer, Heindle, 
and Witter. The village has also had a few 
small grocery stores. 



192 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



In 1830 John Glass opened the first public 
house in a building since used for that purpose. 
Among the landlords which followed were John 
B. Fox, John H. Rowell, William McKeown, 
E. Rdhlman, M. E. Dutterer, John Weaver, and 
Amos Clinker. 

The post-office was established about 1828, 
with Jacob Gilbt-rt as postmaster. A .man named 
Stillson carried the mail, going afoot to Liver- 
pool. Owing to the difficulty in getting the mail 
the office was discontinued about 1831. It was 
re-established in 1834, and the postmasters since 
that period have been J. G. L'islie, Samuel Rohr- 
baugh, J. G. Buzard, John H. Donald, Samuel 
Rau, George Buzard, and Henry Buzard. It has 
three mails per day. 

About 1 83 1 Drs. Manning and Willet came to 
the place to establish a practice m medicine, but 
did not remain long. They were followed for a 
short space of time, by Drs. Correll, Blocksom, 
Eddy, Campbell, Truesdell, etc. In 1846 Na- 
than Hahn became the first permanent physician, 
remaining until his death, in 1874. Contempo- 
rary practitioners were Drs. Stewart, Dawson, 
Davis, Bowman, etc. Dr. S. S. Schiller came in 
1870, and Dr. H. H. Hahn in 1876. 

Two miles west of North Lima is the village of 

EAST LEWISTOWN. 

It has a very handsome location on sections six- 
teen and twenty-seven, and but for the advantage 
enjoyed by North Lima in being the older vil- 
lage, would have become the more important 
place. Village lots were laid out about 1830 by 
Peter Coder, Sr., John Nold, Henry Thoman, Sr., 
and George Houck; but it was not until 1836 
that building commenced, when the place grew 
rapidly, attaining, in a few years its maximum. 
It contains about forty buildings, and a school- 
house of attractive appearance, erected in 
1867, at a cost of $3,300. 

Jesse Motter opened a store in the village in 
1839, in the house occupied by H. Thoman as a 
residence, and was in trade until 1845. Mean- 
time another store was conducted on the south- 
west corner of the square by Hoover & Rud- 
isill. The village has had as merchants Jacob 
S. Thoman, Daniel Thoman, T. G. Northrup, 
Frederick Fellnagle, Franklin Dunn, Smith & 
Buzard, Abraham Miller, and George Buzard. 

A man named Morrow kept the first public 
house about 1843, in a building opposite the 



Thoman residence. Ten years later Conrad 
Stigletz opened an inn on the square, which he 
kept till 1863. He was followed by George 
Heindle. About the same time a tavern was 
kept on the north side of the square by Isaac 
Thoman, which was continued only a short time. 

The post-office was established about 1851, 
and had Philip Fetzer as the first postmaster. It 
then had a semi-weekly mail; at present it is sup- 
plied daily from Columbiana. The other post- 
masters of this office have been Daniel Thoman, 
Josiah Rohrbaueh, Isaac Thoman, David Won- 
derlin, and George Buzard. 

The first to practice the healing art was an 
herbalist, a Dr. Pappenaugh. Dr. Ethan A. 
Hoke was the first regular physician. 

The hamlet of Woodworth, locally called 
Steamtown, is situated on the Boardman line, 
there being but a few houses and a steam saw- 
mill on the Beaver side. 

SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES. 

The township has taken great interest in edu- 
cation, and given particular attention to supply- 
ing an excellent class of school-buildings. It is 
stated, on the authority of a State official, that 
Beaver leads all the other townships in this re- 
spect. 

There are eleven districts, and every one of 
them is provided with a commodious and hand- 
some brick house, with belfry, inside blinds, and 
modern furniture, costing from $2,700 to $3,500, 
whose attractive appearance reflects great credit 
upon the people of the township. 

A small log meeting-house was built in 1808, 
by the Lutheran and Reformed congregations. 
Mount Olivet Reformed congregation was formed 
in 18 10. Paradise church was built on section 
nine in 1849. The old Overholtzer Mennonite 
church was erected in 1825 and the present one 
in 187 I. The Dunkers built their present church 
in 1872. Calvary Evangelical church at North 
Lima was organized in 1836, and their present 
edifice erected in 1876. A Methodist church, 
not now in existence, was organized at North 
Lima in 1840. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



193 



CHAPTER XI. 



The township of Goshen (number seventeen, 
range four) contains thirty-two square miles. Its 
prmcipal streams are the Middle fork of Beaver 
creek, which rises in Perry, flows through the 
eastern part of Goshen, and a branch of the 
Mahoning river, which rises in section nineteen 
and flows in a general course northerly through 
the western portion of the township, and leaves 
it about a mile east of the northwest corner. 

The township of Goshen has an undulating 
surface, and yields to the landscape outlines of 
quiet beauty in infinite variety. The soil is 
fertile and well adapted to grazing and the rais- 
ing of small fruits. 

FIRST SETTLEMENTS. 

Anthony Morris came in 1804, and settled in 
section thirty-one. His wife was Hannah French. 
He was overseer of the poor in 1S12. His 
daughter Sarah married James Bruff, who came 
in 1822. 

Barzilla French also settled on part of section 
thirty-one. 

Thomas French first came to Damascus in 
1805, and his brother Elijah soon after. Thomas 
married a daughter of Jonas Cattell, who located 
in Salem. 

Horton Howard entered several sections of 
land in Goshen for a man named Hoopes and 
acted as his agent. The tract was bought by 
Benjamin Wright in 1847 and divided among, 
his five daughters. 

David Venable came to Goshen in 1805 and 
settled as a tenant on the farm of Jonas Cattell. 

Isaac and Thomas Votaw came from Win- 
chester, Virginia, in 1806. Isaac purchased 
two hundred and forty acres on section nineteen 
and died in 1820. He had two sons, Benjamin 
and David, and was trustee of the township in 
1812-18. Thomas Votaw settled in section six, 
and served as supervisor and trustee. He had 
three sons, Thomas, Samuel and Isaac. De- 
scendants of both Isaac and Thomas live in the 
township. 

Robert Armstrong was an early settler and 
held various township offices. His descendants 
still live in the township. 

About 1806 Stacy Shreeve came with his wife 



from New Jersey and settled in section nineteen. 
John, his son, lives on the old homestead. 

Joseph Kindele, a brother-in-law of Shreeve, 
also located on section nineteen in 1806. 

James Brooke came from York State in 1806, 
and settled in section seven. A daughter of 
Mr. Brooke married Dr. James Hughes and re- 
sides in Berlin. 

Isaac Ellison came from Virginia in 1806 and 
married a daughter of James Cattell, locating on 
section seven. Zachariah Ellison, father of Isaac, 
came in 1816 and settled in section nineteen. 
He married Mary, a sister of Isaac Votaw, and 
died at the age of eighty. 

William and James Cattell came before 18 10. 
William settled about a mile west of Goshen. 
James had a large family of daughters and settled 
on section nineteen. 

Samuel Davis, of Salem, entered section twen- 
ty as early as 1804, receiving a deed from the 
Government dated November i, 1808. He 
gave the southeast quarter of the section to his 
daughter Rachael, who married Lewis Towns- 
end, a brother of Mrs. Dr. Benjamin Stanton, of 
Salem. The northeast quarter was given to 
William Davis, a son, who was killed on the 
mountains a few years after, when the property 
passed to his children. 

Joshua Morris came in about 18 lo and lo- 
cated a farm a little north of William Fawcett. 
He sold it in 1S18 to James Hemingway, from 
New Jersey, whose son James was clerk of the 
township from 1827 to 1842. 

Aaron Stratton, elder brother of Michael and 
Stacy, came from New Jersey in i8c8 and settled 
in section twenty-three, on Beaver creek, where 
he soon after built a grist-mill, which well ac- 
commodated the country round. The property 
was sold in 1834 to Emor F. Weaver, and after- 
wards to Samuel Mathers. 

Henry Hinchman came from New Jersey 
about 1808 with a large family of children, — 
John, Henry, Aaron, Hannah, Elizabeth, Grace, 
and Mary, — and settled on section thirty-six. 
His son Henry lives in the township. Aaron 
published a newspaper in 1842, which he printed 
in his father's house. He afterwards removed 
to Salem. 

Benjamin Butler, Haiinali his wife, and their 
children, Lawrence, Ellen, Hannah, John, 
Meribah, .-^nn, and Sarah, came from near Phil- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



adelphia, by the way of Lancaster, Harrisburg, 
and Pittsburg, in a two-horse wagon, and were 
about four weeks on the route. They arrived 
at Salem in April, 1811. Mr. Butler was poor 
and settled on the farm of Robert French, in 
section thirty-six, where he lived a year. He then 
moved into the present township of Goshen and 
occupied land owned by Aaron Street, near the 
western boundary, and lived there two years. A 
Friend gave him an opportunity to buy and build, 
and he purchased one hundred and sixty acres 
on section eighteen, where Elihu Cobb lives, and 
moved into a building of round logs which he 
there erected. He lived in this until August, 
1828, when he died. 

John Butler, son of Benjamin, purchased a 
farm adjoining the Friends' meeting-house, and 
in 1825 built a two-story cabin, of hewn logs, m 
which he began housekeeping in August of that 
year. His wife was Priscilla Fawcett, whom he 
married at the Friends' meetmg house in Salem. 
In 1829 he purchased the farm he now occupies, 
which was at that time all woods. Here he 
built, in 1830, a log house with a shingle roof, 
but, his wife dying in that year, he changed his 
plans, and did not move to the farm until his 
second marriage, in 1834. While living with 
his father on the farm in section eighteen, it fell 
to his lot to do the "milling." He generally 
carried to mill about two bushels of grain. The 
mill was nearly due east from the farm, on a 
branch of Beaver creek, was known as the 
"Stratton mill," and was probably built about 
1809. 

Mr. Butler, a prominent member of the So- 
ciety of Friends, was appointed one of the as- 
sociated executive committee of Friends of the 
Central Indian Superintendency of the United 
States. 

William Fawcett, with his wife, came from 
Virginia in 181 r, and purchased one hundred 
and sixty-four acres on section thirty-two. 

Samuel and Thomas Langstaff m 181 2 set- 
tled on section eighteen, where now is a hamlet 
called " Boswell." 

Joseph Wright came from New Jersey in 18 10, 
settled first on section thirteen, and moved there- 
from to section fourteen. He lived to old age, 
and served the township in various offices almost 
continuously until the time of his death. 

Benjamin Malmsbury came from New Jersey 



with his wife and children about 181 2, and 
bought one hundred and sixty acres on section 
thirty-six. 

Bazel Perry and his wife came from Maryland 
in 181 1 and settled on section five, east of 
Thomas Votaw. He was not an aspirant for 
position evidently, for in 1813 he declined the 
honor of an election to the office of constable. 

Benjamin Lloyd settled on the southwest quar- 
ter of section twenty-one. 

Caleb Shinn settled in the township very early, 
where some of his descendants remain. 

Richard Templin, from Lancaster county, 
Pennsylvania, a moulder bv trade, settled in sec- 
tion thirteen about 1825. His son John moved 
to Patmos about T831, and settled on section 
three. John K.ing, from the same place, and 
also a moulder, settled on section one in r83i, 
where Joshua Bowman lives. His son Joseph 
lives in Patmos. 

Jesse Straughn, in October, 1820, caine from 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and lived a while 
w^ith John Straughn, his brother. In 1822 he 
settled on section thirty-four, of which he bought 
seventy-four acres. Daniel Straughn, father of 
John and Jesse, some years earlier settled the 
east half of section thirty-four, and gave it to his 
children. 

Stacy Stratton (a brother of Michael and Aaron 
Stratton, who came in 1806) came from Burling- 
ton county. New Jersey, and settled first on Mr. 
Cattell's farm, on the Ellsworth road. 

Adam Fast, in 1816, purchased the southwest 
quarter of section one, and was probably the first 
person who settled in that part of the township. 
Jacob Leyman, from Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania, who married the daughter of Mr. Fast, 
received from him this piece of land in 1821. 

Peter Gloss, about 1820, bought land in the 
southeast quarter of section twelve, where he built 
a factory and manufactured wooden bowls. He 
afterwards settled upon the Cessna farm. 

Josiah and Jacob Bowman (sons of Philip 
Bowman, who settled in Green township,) about 
1 83 1 settled on the northeast quarter of section 
one. This part of the section was entered by a 
man named Bowers in 18 16. 

Drade Husk entered and settled upon the 
northwest quarter of section two, which was 
afterwards pui chased by Raphael Campbell. 

William Piradshaw, in 1832, rame from Bucks 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



county, Pennsylvania, and bought one hundred 
and six acres of section nine. This land was 
entered by William Swenn as early as 1820. 

Among other early settlers may be mentioned 
Noah Deed, Christian and David Countryman, 
Isaac Evans, Enoch Gaus, Joseph Mirl, Nathan 
Brown, Benjamin and Joshua Owen, Thomas 
Johnson, Levi Rakestraw, Charles Curl, and 
Abraham Keffer. 

ORGANIZATION. 

Goshen w^as incorporated September 11, 1810. 
The first volume of records contains, as the first 
minute of proceedings, under date of December 
30, 1810, an account of the appointment of 
Thomas Watson to the office of constable by 
the trustees. The names of the trustees are not 
given. 

Januarys, 1812, "the township officers met 
on the first Second day of March," and settled 
the town accounts. April 6, 181 2, the following 
resolution was passed at a meeting of the in- 
habitants : 

Resolved, That Isaac Votaw. Michael Stratton, Thomas 
Conn, Thomas Frencli, and Joel Sharp be a committee to 
view the southeast quarter of section number sixteen, and to 
conclude on a suitable piece of ground for to set a house for 
to hold elections in, and to warn the inhabitants to meet and 
raise a sufficient house for that purpose, and to have tlie 
house to hold the fall election in. 

The following officers were chosen at this 
meeting: Joseph Wright, township clerk; Michael 
Stratton, Isaac ^'ota\v, Levi Jennings, trustees ; 
Anthony Morris, Isaac Barber, overseers of the 
poor; Thomas French, Josiah Stratton, ap- 
praisers of property; Robert Armstrong, Asa 
Ware, fence-viewers; Barzilla French, Stacy 
Shree\e, Thomas Votaw, Thomas Conn, Abram 
Warrington, supervisors; George Baum, treasurer; 
Joseph Kindle, constable. 

There seems to have been some difficulty in 
securing a constable, foi-, on April 10, 1813, out 
of thirty-three persons named for that office, 
thirty were summoned, of whom twenty-eight 
refused to serve, and were fined. The following 
is the list of the names chosen : Isaac Ellison, 
Bazel Perry, Henry Hinchman, Christian Coun- 
tryman, Joseph Hoile, Simeon Jennings, Isaac 
Gaus, William Johnson, Levi Rakestraw, Joshua 
Owen, Enoch Gaus, Joseph Mirl, Joel Sharp, 
Charles Stratton, Nathan Brown, Robert French, 
John Webb, Noah Reed, David Countryman, 
Robert McKim, Evan Gaus, Levi Hoile, Joshua 



Morris, William Faucett, Richard Webb, Abra- 
ham Barber, Thomas Johnson, Jonathan Votaw, 
Benjamin Owen, Samuel Votaw, Charles Curl, 
Abraham Keffer. 

VILLAGES. 

Damascus, situated on the line between But- 
ler and Goshen townships, was platted and laid 
out by Horton Howard in 1808. It contains 
about four hundred inhabitants, and on the 
Goshen side has one church (Wesleyan), a post- 
office, academy, steam saw-mill, woolen-mill, and 
several stores and shops. The post-office was 
established in 1828 with James B. Bruff as post- 
master. 

Patmos was first settled by Benjamin Regie, 
John Templin, William Ware, and Levi A. Ley- 
inan. James W. Templin opened the first store 
in 1850. Levi A. Leyman was the first post- 
master, appointed in 1850, and continued in of- 
fice twelve years. While Leyman and Captain 
Coit, of Ellsworth, were cogitating upon a name 
for the new post-office which should be different 
from any other in the State, they noticed an open 
music book near by upon whose pages appeared 
the good old time "Patmos." The word was 
spoken and the name adopted, and " Patmos '' 
it remains. The postmasters who have succeeded 
Mr. Leyman have been Mrs. Catharine Roller, 
William Bradshaw, and J. W. Templin. The 
settlement contains a post-office, store, saw-mill, 
blacksmith shop, carriage shop, and a dozen 
dwellings. 

Boswell post-office was established in 1850, 
John Martin first postmaster. 

Garfield post-office was established in 1875 at 
Garfield station, on the Pittsburg, Fort Wayne 
&: Chicago railroad. S. A. F'ogg was appointed 
postmaster. 

SCHOOLS AND CHURCHES. 

The Friends at an early day formed by far the 
largest part of the population of the township, 
and instituted schools, which they kept up even 
after the organization of the township into school 
districts. There were at one time nine schools 
under the care of a visiting committee appointed 
by the " monthly meeting," whose territory com- 
prised the townships of Butler and Goshen. 
Several of these were family schools. 

The first school- in the town was opened in 
the winter of 181 2 at the log meeting-house in 



.y6 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Goshen, a settlement near the west line of the 
township. The house was in size about 15 x 24 
feet, and was built for both school and " meet- 
ing " purposes. The first teacher was Samuel 
Votaw, a son of Isaac Votaw, an early settler in 
the northwest section of the township. 

A school was opened a little later near the 
Stratton mill, and was taught by Daniel Stratton. 
The teachers who served at the school in the 
Goshen neighborhood after Mr. Votaw were 
Martha Townsend (now Mrs. Martha Stanton, 
living at Salem), who taught in the fall of 1814; 
William Green, an Irishman ; William Titus, a 
Yankee; and Joshua Crew, who let the pupils do 
as they pleased ; Benjamin Marshall, who taught 
three winters ; John Butler, who taught ten 
winters ; Isaac Trescott, Solomon Shreeve, Jesse 
Lloyd, and Stephen Roberts. 

At Damascus a school was first taught by 
Joshua Lynch, afterwards by James Brufi, John 
P. Gruel, Jacob Hole, Simeon Fawcett, Lydia 
Maria Stanley, and others. 

Professor Israel P. Hole, with his brother 
Jacob, afterwards established a school in a large 
two-story building of brick, situated is spacious 
grounds on the Goshen side. This they con- 
tinued for three or four years, when the Friends 
purchased the property for a " quarterly-meeting 
school." Jesse Lloyd, William P. Pinkham, and 
Otis Beal were the principal teachers. 

There was a school in the Votaw settlement in 
its earlier years, mostly taught by females. 
Elizabeth Blackburn taught during several sum- 
mers. James Hemingway taught in the Benja- 
min Malmsbury neighborhood. 

A log school-house was built and a school 
supported by subscription about 1825, in what is 
now district number one, half a mile east of 
Patmos. Andrew Templin was the first teacher. 
The town has eight school districts. 

The first church or " meeting-house " was 
built by the Friends. It was burned in 1842. In 
1852 their present brick church was erected. A 
Methodist class was formed about 1820. Their 
present building on section eight was built in 
1863. Two miles east of Patmos is the Bethel 
Methodist Episcopal church, built in 1847, ^nd 
another Methodist church exists at Damascus. 

A newspaper called the Self-Examiner was 
]Hiblished at {}oshen a short time in 1842. 



CHAPTER XII. 

GREEN. 

Green township is bounded on the north by 
the townships of Ellsworth and Canfield, east 
by Beaver, west by Perry and Goshen, and north 
by Salem and Perry, in Columbiana county. Its 
surface is undulating, broken only by the valleys 
lying along the middle fork of Beaver creek, 
which fork flows in a general southeasterly direc- 
tion through the township, passing into Salem 
township about a half mile west of the corpora- 
tion of Washingtonville. Another fork of Bea- 
ver creek rises in the northeast part of the town- 
ship, and flows southerly through the second tier 
of sections from the east, and passes out on the 
south border at Washingtonville. 

The soil of the township is well adapted to the 
cultivation of trees, small fruits, and grain. 
The valleys and slopes are heavily timbered with 
oak, chestnut, and beech. Woodlands and culti- 
vated fields abound, and form on every hand 
pictures pleasing to the eye. 

E.\RLY SETTLEMENTS. 

The early settlers of Green were for the most 
part Germans, attracted to the then far West by 
the excellence of the land. 

Section one was unoccupied for many years. 
It was finally bought by Eben Newton, of Can- 
field, whence it was known as the "Newton 
tract."' 

The first settlers of section two were Henry 
Pyle and wife, who came from Germany about 
1804. A daughter of Pyle married David Love- 
land, and her descendants still live in this sec- 
tion. "Loveland," a station on the Niles & New 
Lisbon railroad, is in this section, and has a post- 
office, saw-mill. Evangelical church, etc. 

Section three remained in possession of a man 
by name of Rhodes until 1829, when it was sold 
to John Beard, Casper Kenreich, Nicholas 
Knauff, and John Goodman. 

Section four was first settled by Henry Beard, 
with his wife and five children, who came to this 
county in 1804 from Germany and much of the 
section still remains in possession of his family 
and their connections. A union church stands 
on this section. 

Of section five James Webb entered the south 
half, paying $1.25 per acre; and John Heard, son 
of Henry, purchased the noith half. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Section six was first owned by Philip Bauman 
who exchanged for it land he owned in Red- 
stone, Pennsylvania, and afterward divided it 
among his children. 

In 1804 section seven was entered by Michael 
Durr and his two sisters, Elizabeth and Mary. 

Section eight had for its first owners a man 
named Rupert, John D. Cook, and James 
Webb. 

Jacob and Philip Cool, George and Jacob 
Countryman, John Hafely and Van Amier were 
the first settlers on sections nine and ten. 

Section eleven remained unsettled many years, 
its owners living in the East. Jacob ^liller and 
Michael and George Culp were the first to open 
the way. 

The west part of section twelve was settled by 
Philip Houts, a German, who divided it among 
his children. On the place was a large sprmg, 
where Houts built a distillery, which was in ope- 
ration for many years, until about 1830. A 
school-house stands in the northwest corner of the 
section. 

Sections thirteen and twenty-four were pur- 
chased by Joshua Calvin for his sons, who came 
from New Jersey, with their families, arriving 
April 27, 1816. A school-house stands on the 
southwest corner of section thirteen, and a Bap- 
tist church and burying-ground on section twenty- 
four. 

Section, fourteen was entered by a stranger 
who sold it to Abram Garber. The Niles & 
New Lisbon railroad has a station on this section 
called Greenford. 

Section fifteen was settled in 1808 by Lewis 
Baker, a native of Kentucky, who married Eliza- 
beth, daughter of John Zimmerman, who en- 
tered section thirty-four. 

Section sixteen was the "school lot," and was 

sold in 1849 to John D. Cook, Ely, Wesley 

Coy, M. Kenreich, and others. 

Section seventeen was entered by Job Cooke, 
and divided among his sons. A couple of small 
coal banks have been opened in this section. 

About 1810 James Wilson entered section 
eighteen, and divided it among his children. 

Abram Warrington located section nineteen 
about 181 1, and divided it between the four sons 
of Edward Bonsall, who had married Warring- 
ton's daughter Rachel. The sons were Edward, 
Ivan, Joshua, and Isaac. Edward started a 



nursery forty years ago, which is still in operation. 
One coal mme in this section yields about forty 
thousand bushels annually. 

About 1808 Elisha Teeter entered section 
twenty for his sons — John, Jonathan, William, 
and Wilson. In 1822 the first steam mill in this 
part of the country was erected by Wilson 
Teeter. A coal bank opened by the Teeters 
fifty years ago is, with one exception, the largest 
in the township. It contains a vein three feet 
thick and extends half a mile under the surface. 

Sections twenty-one and twenty-two were held 
as " reserved lands " for many years, but were 
finally settled by Jeremiah Callahan, Philip 
Bush, Jacob Wilhelm, Caleb Roller, John Stahl, 
and others. A Disciple church and graveyard 
are situated on section twenty-one and a school- 
house stands on its north side. 

In 1816 section twenty-three was sold to 
Michael Roller and Michael Dressel by a man 
from Pennsylvania who had previously entered it. 

In 1804 sections twenty-five and twenty-six 
were entered, it is believed by John Harness and 
Jacob Momert, who years after sold to the 
Stouffers, Rolleis, Knopp, and others. A 
school house stands on the southwest quarter of 
section twenty-six. 

Some time in 1804 Peter Weikert and John 
Carr, neighbors in Adams county, Pennsylvania, 
started westward on horseback to view the coun- 
try for the purpose of finding homes for their 
families where soil and climate were both good. 
Pleased with section twenty-seven Weikert en- 
tered it at Steubenville, while Carr went farther 
west. Section twenty-seven is still in possession 
of the Weikert family. One son, Dr. Andrew 
Weikert, is a practicing physician at Green 
village. 

In 1804 Elias Adgate and William and James 
Callahan, all brothers-in-law, from Redstone, 
Pennsylvania, entered section twenty-eight, and 
divided it among themselves, each afterward di- 
viding his share among his children. Two other 
brothers of the Callahans, Jeremiah and Jesse, 
settled in this section for a short time previous 
to 1812. 

Section thirty-three was entered by Samuel 
Davis in 1803. He received a deed from the 
Government signed by Thomas Jefiferson, dated 
March 10, 1807. He disposed of it by gift and 
sale. About 18 19 John Briggs built a grist-mill 



[98 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



on the creek, and a few years later another was 
built by Aaron Holloway, which is still standing, 
a short distance below the first. 

John Zimmerman, of Lancaster county, Penn- 
sylvania, entered section thirty-four in 1804 and 
moved upon it with his family the next year. 
Subsequently he divided it among his five sons 
and three daughters. 

From Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, came 
three brothers in an early day, Michael, Baltzer, 
and Caleb Roller. Michael entered section 
thirty-five in 1804, divided it among his sons, 
Jacob, William, Thomas, and James. Land was 
given for a church and burying-ground in a very 
early day by the Rollers. Part of Washington- 
ville is located in sections thirty-five and thirty- 
si.x of this township. 

Baltzer Roller entered section thirty-six m 
1803. His son. Colonel Jacob B., served the 
district as State Representative for twenty-one 
years. He was in General Harrison's army and 
at Fort Meigs. While stooping to drink at 
a spring in the woods near the fort one day, a 
ball from an Indian's rifle grazed the back of his 
head. He grasped his gun and fired at the re- 
treating Indian, but missed him. 

ORGANIZATION. 

Green township was incorporated June 3, 1806, 
and was then in Columbiana county, where it 
remained until attached to Mahoning county, 
upon its organization in 1846. It originally con- 
tained thirty-six square miles, but was reduced 
to thirty-two by the organization of Perry town- 
ship in 1832. 

GREEN VILLAGE 

is situated near the center of the township, on 
sections fifteen and twenty-two, and was first laid 
out by Lewis Baker, Jacob Wilhelm, and Jacob 
Cook. Abram Stofer (or Stauffer) kept the first 
store. Samuel Hardman, David Weikert, and 
J. M. Hole succeeded him. The first post-office 
was established in 1831, and William Van Horn 
was the first postmaster. He has been succeeded 
by David Weikert, William Roller, Daniel Beam, 
N. P. Callahan, A. S. Griffith, and Henry Shray. 
The village contains three churches, Lutheran, 
German Lutheran, and Swedenborgian, a post- 
office, school-house, drug-store, two dry goods 
and grocery stores, a tannery, steam saw- and 
planing-mill, grist-mill, two blacksmith shops, two 



wagon shops, two shoe shops, and one millinery 
store. In the village are two practicing physi- 
cians. 

WASHINGTONVILLE. 

This town was laid out about 1832, principally 
through the exertions and influence of Michael 
Frederick, and is situated in the townships of 
Green and Salem. It contains two churches 
(Methodist and Evangelical Lutheran), a post- 
office, school-house, three hotels, two blacksmith 
shops, four grocery stores, one dry goods store, 
one drug store, two carriage shops, two shoe 
shops, about seventy-five dwellings, and has a 
population of eight hundred. 

The first hotel was opened by Michael Fred- 
erick, about 1833. The first store was opened 
in what is now Railroad Tavern, by Jacob Stoffer, 
who was appointed postmaster upon the estab- 
lishment of the post-office, in 1836. He was 
succeeded as postmaster by Jacob Borton, Henry 
Estep, George R. Hillburn, John B. Stover, 
Samuel Greenwold, and John R. Stover. 

Peter Miller was the first blacksmith who 
opened a shop. Before removing to Washington- 
viUe he resided one year at New Lisbon, where 
he built the first brick house. About 1828 John 
Miller, a blacksmith, began the manufacture of 
edge-tools, which he continued for about ten 
years. 

NEW ALBANY. 

New Albany is situated about two miles and a 
half west from Green village, and contains a 
store, post-office, blacksmith shop, and twenty- 
two dwellings. The first steam mill in the coun- 
ty was built at this place by Wilson Teeter and 
Edwin Webb, by whom the town was laid out. 
The post-office was established prior to 1853. 
The first postmaster was Henry Thulen, who 
was succeeded by Joshua Webb, Daniel Beam, 
Charles Taylor, Lemuel Hixson, Solomon Rus- 
sell, David Coy, and Lewis Pow. 



Soon after the settlers came to the township 
an effort was made among the widely scattered 
families to assemble the children for purposes of 
education. Elisha Teeter gave for school and 
burying purposes a piece of ground situated on 
the east side of section twenty, and a log school- 
house was built, about 20x24 feet in size, with a 
puncheon floor and a door with wooden hinges. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



'99 



The children from sections seventeen, eighteen, 
nineteen, and twenty attended school at this 
house. The first teacher was Edward Bonsall, 
who was succeeded by Rachel, his wife, and 
Priscilla Fisher, wife of William Fisher — both 
daughters of Abram Warrington. John Cowdin, 
Patrick Smith, and Daniel Stratton were also 
teachers before the adoption of the district 
school system. 

The first school-house for children living in 
the north middle part of the township was on 
the New Lisbon road, on section ten. This was 
a log-house built by Henry Pyle. It was fitted 
with slab seats, and with desks fastened against 
the walls with wooden pins. In 1814 Samuel 
McBride was hired to teach. George Pow suc- 
ceeded him. No school was taught there after 
Mr. Pow retired until the district schools were 
opened, in 1827. The children from other sec- 
tions, far and near, attended school in this log 
building. 

The first school in the center of the township 
was held in the log church west of Green village. 
A log school-house was built on section thirty- 
four, on land belonging to Jacob Stofer. Henry 
Zimmerman was the first teacher of this 
school, about 1815. William, Rachel, and Sam- 
uel Schofield, sons and daughter of David Scho- 
field, afterwards taught in a second log school- 
house, built on the same ground. 

At Washingtonville a school was opened about 
i8i8 in the log church built by Michael and 
Baltzer Roller. John Roller and Henry Gilbert 
were among the first teachers. 

Owing to the imperfect records of schools in 
the early days but little information can be ob- 
tained respecting them. 

The following is from the earliest existing 
records (in 1844): 

Twelve schools taught in township; number of teachers, 
10; number of children between the ages of four and twenty- 
one years, 338 males, 346 females; number of children en- 
rolled, 295 males, 241 females; average daily attendance, 
169 males, 131 females; amount paid to teachers of common 
schools from public fund— to males, $367.83; to females, 
$125. Amount paid from other sources — males, $23; females, 
$23,50. Branches lauglit: reading, writing, arithmetic, 
English grammar, geography. 

The township has an Evangelical Lutheran 
church at Washingtonville, and one at Green 
village; a German Lutheran church; a Sweden- 
borgian church at Green; Concord Presbyterian 



church on the line of Goshen and Green; a 
Baptist church; a union church on section four; 
a Disciple church on section twenty-one, with a 
burying-ground attached; and an Evangelical 
Association church at Loveland station. 

The Niles & New Lisbon railroad traverses 
the township in a general north and south course, 
and has three stations in the township — Love- 
land, Green village, and Washingtonville. 



CHAPTER XIIL 



The township of Smith is of range num- 
ber five township eighteen north from the Ohio 
river. It is bounded north by Deerfield, in Port- 
age county, and Berlin township, in Mahoning 
county; east by Goshen, in Mahoning county; 
south by Knox township, Columbiana county; 
and west by Lexington, in Stark county. The 
general surface of the land is undulating, and 
in the northeastern part hilly, where the greatest 
elevation is attained. The center, within the ra- 
dius of two miles from the town-house, is the 
most depressed portion of the township, the land 
gradually rising as the township lines are 
approached. The township is drained by the 
Mahoning river and its tributaries. The Mahon- 
ing proper passes northwesterly across the south- 
west corner of the township, which it again 
enters on section six, at the northwest corner, 
crossing it in a northeasterly direction. 

EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

Probably the first white man in Smith town- 
ship, by whom any material improvements were 
made, was James Carter, from Pennsylvania, in 
the year 1803. His advent was entirely an acci- 
dent. Carter having purchased land on what is 
known as the Western Reserve (of which the 
north line of Smith township forms part of the 
southern boundary) entered and cleared a portion, 
and built a log house on what he supposed to be 
his own lands. The same year William Smith pur- 
chased from the government section three, con- 
taining six hundred and forty acres, and went with 
his family to occupy the same in 1804. On his 
arrival he found that Carter had bv mistake built 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



his cabin on his (Smith's) land. Smith paid 
Carter for the improvements he had made, who 
soon after left to occupy the lands he had in fact 
purchased. Although the first improvements 
were made by Carter in 1803, and the first house 
built by him at that time, the distinction of first 
permanent settlement properly belongs to Wil- 
liam Smith and his family. William Smith died 
in 1841, aged seventy-three years; his wife died 
in 1845, aged seventy-two years. Both were in- 
terred in the family burying-ground on the hill, 
near the present village of North Benton. 

James C. Stanley, of Hanover county, Vir- 
ginia, was one of the pioneers of Smith town- 
ship, and probably the second settler. He came 
in the year 1805, and located on section twenty- 
four, which he had purchased from the Govern- 
ment, and which lies about four miles southeast 
of William Smith's section, m what was after- 
wards called the "Stanley neighborhood." He 
brought with him a wife and eight children. 
The house built by the pioneer James C. was 
the second in the township, and the first south 
of the center line. 

In the year 181 1 Edmund, oldest son of 
Thomas Stanley, of Hanover county, Virgmia, 
in company with John White (a colored family 
servant), came to Smith and built a log house in 
the eastern part of the township, preparatory to 
the coming of the family. Thomas Stanley ar- 
rived with his family in the spring of 1812. His 
children were John, who died in 1877; Elijah, 
who died in 1836; Frances, who married Isaac 
Votaw, and died about 18 18; Edmund, who died 
in 1842; Millie, who married Joshua Crew, and 
came with the Stanley family or a few weeks 
later. Joshua Crew died about the year 1845, 
after which his wife went to Iowa, where she died 
about 1868. These were the children of Thom- 
as Stanley by his first wife. His second wife was 
Priscilla Ladd, and their children were Isaac, 
Thomas Binford, Sarah, who married Thomas 
Woolman, and Micajah. Micajah Stanley mar- 
tied Unity Coppack, by whom he had eight chil- 
dren. 

John Detchon, son of Oswell and .\nnie 
(Carr) Detchon, pioneers of Trumbull county, 
came to Smith in 1822. In 1S24 he married 
Maria Hoadley, seventh child of Gideon 
Hoadley. 

Gideon Hoadley, with his wife and children, 



settled in the township in 1823. In 1824 Henry 
Hartzell's family settled here. 

In 1 81 2 Levi Rakestraw and his wife Rebecca 
(Bryan) came from New Jersey and located in 
Goshen township, where they lived until Novem- 
ber 10, 1825, when they moved to Smith town- 
ship, where they spent the remainder of their 
lives. Joseph Snods came from the same State 
in 1824 with his wife and three children. His 
son William now lives in Smith township. 

One of the most prominent of the early set- 
tlers was Benjamin Votaw, who settled perma- 
nently in Smith township in 1829. He oper- 
ated the first mill in the township before his 
settlement, built on Island creek about 1823 by 
James Smith, -son of Judge William Smith, the 
pioneer. 

Samuel Oyster was the first settler of the west- 
ern part of Smith township, locating on section 
thirty-one in 1826. He raised a family of four- 
teen children. 

Among the old families of the township was 
that of Nathan Heacock. He settled near 
Salem, Columbiana county, in 1816, coming 
from Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and in 1825 
came to Smith, bringing a family of ten chil- 
dren. 

Peter Wise came from Pennsylvania to Smith 
in 1832 with a large family. 

In 1810 James Cattell, of New Jersey, located 
in Goshen township, and in 1833 moved to 
Smith, where he died in i860. 

James M. Dobson came to Smith in 1833 
with his wife and one child — John. 

George Atkinson was a resident of Goshen in 
1816, and one of his sons, William, afterward 
became a resident of Smith. 

Other early settlers were Solomon Hartzell, 
Jacob Paxson, Job Lamborn, Christian Sheets, 
William Johnston, Hugh Wright, and John 
Thompson. 

There were families among the early settlers 
whose history is not recorded. Of these some 
are dead, others have left the township, and no 
authentic record of the dale of their settlement, 
death, or departure can be obtained. On infor- 
mation from the oldest living residents, the names 
of many have been obtained as follows: Mathias 
HoUowpeter, Jonathan Hoope, John Cowgill, the 
Cobbs, Hugh Packer, John Trago, Abram Haines, 
Leonard Reed, Abram and Samuel Miller, .-Xdam 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



McGowan, William Matthews, John Hillerman, 
Amos AUerton, John Schaffer. These were 
probably settled in the township prior to 1830; 
yet it is possible that some were later, as in 1828 
there were but twenty-three voters in the town- 
ship. 

ORGANIZ.'^TION. 

Smith township was organized at a meeting 
of the Columbiana county commissioners in the 
month of March, 1821, upon the petition of 
Judge William Smith, one of its pioneers, in 
honor of whom it was named. The books of 
the township, containing records of the first 
meetings and of the election of the first officers, 
are lost or destroyed. Notice of the organiza- 
tion was found in the old commissioner's journal. 
James C. Stanley was probably clerk of the first 
town-meeting. 

NORTH BENTON. 

The village of North Benton was surveyed 
and laid out on the 27th and 28th days of 
March, 1834, under the proprietorship of Wil- 
liam Smith, Dr. John Dellenbaugh, and James 
Smith. The map or plat was recorded March 
31, 1834. Although not till then foimally laid 
out, yet as early as the year 1830 a number of 
buildings had been erected, and the village was 
a general gathcting place for the people in that 
vicinity. North Benton was named in honor of 
Thomas Benton, a " hard-money " Democrat of 
the time, who had many friends and admirers in 
that community. " North " was prefixed in 
order to distinguish it from another place of 
that name. The first hotel was built in 1832 by 
one Fitch, and called the " Benton Exchange." 

The village has a population of about two 
hundred and fifty, comprising about seventy 
families, and has two churches, a school, several 
stores, and business interests of various kinds. 

WESTVILLE. 

In the year 1831 the town or village of West- 
ville was named and partially laid out, under the 
proprietorship of Aaron Coppack, and then was 
composed of a portion of sections thirty-five and 
thirty six. The map was recorded September 
27th ot the same year. In 1835 an addition 
was made, and portions of sections one and two 
of Knox township included within the village 
limits. This was done under the direction of 
Aaron Coppack, Samuel Coppack, Joseph Cobbs, 



and Edward Randolph, proprietors. The plat 
was recorded October 15, 1835. The village 
continued to grow until about 1850, and became 
a convenient trading centre, having a saw-mill on 
section thirty-five and a general country store. 
Since that time there has been no material in- 
crease in population. 

BELOIT. 

This hamlet, although never regularly laid out 
or incorporated as a village, is indebted for its 
existence to the building of the Pittsburg, Fort 
Wayne & Chicago railroad, in the years 1848- 
49. It was originally called " Smithfield Station," 
and a post-office established there under that 
name. In about 1863 the name was changed to 
Beloit, there being then another Smithfield vil- 
lage in the State. Within the limits of what 
may properly be called Beloit are a church, saw- 
mill, two stores, a wagon manufactory, and a 
blacksmith shop. The village has a population 
of about one hundred and fifty. 

E.\ST ALLIANCE. 

East Alliance, as it is called, is but one of the 
suburbs of .Alliance, Stark county, resulting from 
the growth of the latter place. In 1879 East 
Alliance was made the second election district 
of Smith township. 

CHURCHES AND SCHOOLS. 

Smith township has four churches. The first 
erected was in 1829 by the Friends on section 
thirty-four. This building was also used for a 
school, taught by Hannah Courtney. A Method- 
ist Episcopal church was erected at North Ben- 
ton in 1840. A Presbyterian congregation 
formed in Deerfield, Portage county, moved to 
Smith, and elected a church near North Benton 
in 185 1. A union church was built in 1859 on 
section twenty-six, but was sold to the Presby- 
terian society in 1870. 

The first school of the township was taught 
in an old log-house on the site of North Benton, 
but by whom is not known. Margaret Davis 
taught the school at a very early day. The 
township was originally divided into four dis- 
tricts, but now comprises ten. The annual cost 
of the maintenance of schools is about $2,500. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



CHAPTER XIV. 



SPRINGFIELD. 



The township is bounded on the north by the 
south line of the Western Reserve ; on the east 
by the State of Pennsylvania; on the south by the 
township of Unity ; and on the west by the town- 
ship of Beaver. It is designated in the Govern- 
ment survey as town nine, in range one. It 
was one of the oldest townships in the county, 
having been organized for civil purposes in 1803. 
In 1846 Springfield was attached to Mahoning 
county. 

The general surface of the township is broken 
by hills of moderate height, between which are 
intervales and lowlands, originally somewhat 
swampy. The whole township was covered with 
a fine growth of the common woods, and a 
liberal supply of timber yet remains. Building- 
stone may be obtained in various localities, and 
coal is unusually abundant. 

The principal streams are Honey creek and 
several small creeks, flowing southeast from the 
central and the western parts of the township ; 
and the Little Yellow creek in the northwest, 
having a northerly course. Numerous springs 
abound, and the natural drainage is generally 
sufficient to afford an arable surface. The soil 
varies from a sandy loam to a heavy clay, along 
the streams being more or less of an alluvium. 
The whole is fertile and well adapted to the prod- 
ucts of mixed husbandry. The people are 
chiefly engaged in agriculture. 

PIONEER .SETTLERS. 

The early history of Springfield is somewhat 
obscure. None of the original settlers remain, 
and what little recorded history they had has 
been destroyed. The recollections of the de- 
scendants of those who came to the township as 
pioneers are not clear, and their statements con- 
cerning that period are contradictory. It ap- 
pears, however, that the township was permanent- 
ly settled about 1801, and that Peter Musser 
was the first to establish himself in what is now 
Springfield. He came from York county, Penn- 
sylvania, and having considerable means pur- 
chased the four sections in the southeast corner 
of the township, living a little north of the pres- 
ent village of Petersburg. Here he built small 
grist- and saw-mills, and made other desirable 



improvements. He died in 1808, leaving a 
family of four sons and two daughters. The 
oldest son, John, succeeded to the mill property, 
but after a few years removed to Missouri. Peter 
was the proprietor of the village site, and the 
founder of Petersburg. He removed to the 
northern part of the State. The third son, 
Jacob, lived in the village, selling there the first 
goods. He enlisted in the army of 1812, and 
afterwards in the regular army of the United 
States, serving as drum-major ; he finally settled 
in Missouri. 

One of Musser's daughters was married to 
Israel Warner, who came with his father-in-law 
in 1801, and settled on the farm now occupied 
by his son Ellis. Other sons of Warner were 
John, George, Peter, David, Israel, William, and 
Jacob. Some of these yet live in Springfield 
and the adjacent towns. Israel Warner was a 
captain in 1812. The other daughter of Musser 
married Jacob Rudisill, and lived north of the 
Warner homestead. 

James Wallace was one of the first and fore- 
most settlers and is yet well remembered as a 
merchant. Having been elected judge of Ma- 
honing county, he removed to Canfield. To 
that place, also, removed Hosea Hoover, one of 
Petersburg's early settlers, who was elected county 
treasurer. 

On the farm now occupied by C. B. Wilson 
John Pontius was the original settler, and was 
followed by his son John. East of the village, 
on the farm yet occupied by his family, Henry 
Miller settled at an early day ; and north of the 
|)lace the Bock, Beight, and Dressel families 
were among the first settlers. 

In the western part of the township Daniel 
Miller, from Adams county, Pennsylvania, was 
the earliest settler, coming in 1802, and settling 
on section eighteen. 

The same year C. Seidner and his son-mlaw, 
C. Mentzer, came from Hagerstown and settled 
south of Miller. A few years later this locality 
was settled by Jacob Shafer, George Macklin, 
Jacob Christ, John May, Hugh Chain, John 
Robinson, and Peter Shreiver. 

Section six was settled in iSoi by Adam 
Hohn, who soon after put up a sawmill there. 

Section four was settled before 1863 by George 
Stump and his sons George, Henry, .'\braham, 
and lohu, and section five was settled in 1802 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



203 



by John Summers of York county, Pennsylvania. 
One of Summers' sons-in-law, George Elser, set- 
tled on the same section in April, 1806, where 
he died in 1847. 

In the northeastern part of the township the 
early settlers were: John Shoemaker, about 
1804; Henry Myers, on section twelve, in 1803; 
Peter and Henry Raub and Peter Benedict, on 
section eleven, about the same time; and before 
1806 settlements had been made by men named 
Empie, Taylor, Barnard, Parsons, and Messerly. 

In the neighborhood of New Middleton were 
the Burkey, Kuhn, Schillinger, Gray, Cublin, 
and Schiller families, some time before 1810, 
and after that period Joshua Hahn, Simon Mar- 
tin, the Welker, Beard, and Ilgenfritz families 
took place among the prominent settlers. Immi- 
gration was so great between 1805 and 1815 that 
it is impossible to gather up the names of all who 
became pioneers of Springfield. 

CIVIL LIST. 

The records of this township from its organiza- 
tion in 1803 until 1868 have been lost in some 
way, making the compilation of an accurate civil 
list impossible and necessitating the omission of 
much valuable and interesting matter. 

THE COAL INTERESTS 

of the township deserve brief mention. Al- 
though coal generally abounds in the township 
but little effort has been made to develop its 
riches outside of the territory in the northwest 
part of the township along Little Yellow creek. 
East of that stream mining was carried on to 
some extent on the Ruhlman, Kurt and Heine 
farms; but the principal product is on the west 
side on section seven, where three mines are in 
successful operation, whose united output is two 
thousand five hundred tons per year. The first 
mine in the township was opened by the Sum- 
mers family and is still worked. 

PETERSBURGH. 

The oldest and most important village in the 
township was founded before 1810 by Peter 
Musser, on section thirty-six, and named in his 
honor Petersburgh. It now has a population of 
five hundred, and is a busy, bustling little place. 

The post-office was established first with name 
of Musser's Mill, and in 181 1 Jacob Musser was 
postmaster. It subsequently received the pres- 
ent name and has had the following officials : 



Peter Musser, F. Spaeth, Colonel James Miller, 
Martha Miller, O. H. P. Swisher, Robert Wal- 
lace, C. C. Swisher, Lewis Sholl, Gideon Schiller, 
George Herr, T. S. Guy, and Henry Myers. 
Mail IS received twice a day. 

It is said that Jacob Musser sold the first 
goods in the place in the building now the resi- 
dence of J. P. Swisher, the oldest frame house 
in Petersburgh. James Wallace was the first to 
engage regularly in trade, opening a store where 
is now the post-office building, about 18 15. He 
converted that house into a hotel and opened a 
store on the north side of the street, where he 
remained about thirty years. W. C. Dunlap was 
a cotemporary merchant, opening a store where 
is now S. Ernst's residence. The principal mer- 
chants that followed them were : Robert Forbus, 
Spaeth & Swisher, J. G. Leslie, O. H. P. Swisher, 
David and John Shearer, James Mathews, 
Ernst & Hahn, Hoover & Seidner, and others. 
The place now has three good general stores, a 
drug store, harness shop, furniture store, and 
boot and shoe store. 

A foundry was established by R. C. Bean in 
1870, and is still carried on in the manufacture 
of plows, light castings, and in repair work. The 
village has two tanneries employing steam power. 
The first tannery was carried on by John Em- 
brie and has gone through a number of hands 
since. The place has also two carriage shops, 
as well as other indispensable mechanical indus- 
tries. 

As early as 1803 Peter Musser put in opera- 
tion saw- and grist-mills, a little north of the vil- 
lage, on the site of the present old mill on 
Honey creek. John Musser, John Pontius, and 
D. Whitmyer were among its subsequent owners. 
About 1825 a mill was put up near the State 
line on the same stream, by John Miller, which 
was operated by him and his family until a few 
years ago. Between these sites John Musser 
put up a mill, which was operated until i860. 

In 1874 a steam fiouring-mill, havmg three 
runs of stones, was erected near the center of the 
village by Maurer & Edler Brothers. It is now 
successfully operated, but by other men. A 
steam saw-mill, erected west of the village in 1870 
by Ernst & Rauch, is still in operation; and in 
the village a saw-mill, planer, and machines for 
making bent work were put in operation in 1875 
by Failer Brothers & Miller. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



The first public house was kept by Peter Mus- 
ser on his farm, now owned by A. Kneasel. The 
next was kept in the J. P. Swisher residence by 
Kinneman, Douglas, Pontius, and others. James 
Wallace was a well known landlord for many 
years. Henry Kale opened a public house where 
the Lochiel house stands, and was succeeded by 
Kelley, Mathews, Conrad, George Kneasel (who 
changed the house to its present comfortable 
condition), and others. 

Dr. Luther Spellman was probably the first 
physician to locate permanently in the village. 
Dr. B. F. Adams died here. Others in practice 
have been : Drs. Jehu Stough, John D. Cofifin, 
John Wise, John McCook, Ferdmand Casper, 
P. H. Swisher (since 1828), George W. Pettit, 
P. W. Welker, and perhaps others. 

Richard Smith practiced law here a short time. 
Jacob Musser was the justice of the peace from 
1845 to 1875, and was succeeded by William F. 
StoU. 

Dr. G. W. Pettit, physician, Petersburgh, Ma- 
honing county, son of Samuel Pettit, was born 
in New Lisbon, Columbiana county, March 21, 
1828. Samuel Pettit was a native of Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, and came to Ohio in 1808 
with his parents, who settled at New Lisbon. He 
died in 1873. His widow is still living. Dr. 
Pettit studied medicine with Dr. McCook at 
New Lisbon and graduated at the Cleveland 
Medical college in 1852, having practiced for 
two years previous. He began practice, after re- 
ceiving his degree, at Marlborough, Stark county, 
where he remained ten years. He then came to 
Petersburgh, where he now lives. He has an 
extensive practice, and is a successful physician. 
He was united in marriage in 1855 to Miss 
Emily, daughter of Ebenezer Stevens of Stark 
county. They have had three children, two of 
whom are living. Mrs. Pettit is a member of 
the Methodist church. 

Solomon Ernst, merchant, Petersburgh, Ma- 
honing county, was born in Springfield town- 
ship, Mahoning county, then Columbiana, April 
20, 1830. He is a son of Peter Ernst, who was 
a native of Maryland, and came to Ohio in 1826 
or 1827 and located in Springfield township. 
He was by occupation a farmer. Solomon 
Ernst followed farming until he was twenty-one 
or twenty-two years of age, then engaged in mer- 
cantile business at Middleton where he re- 



mained ten years. He then came to Petersburgh 
where he now is, conducting a dry goods and 
grocery store. He was married in 1857 to Miss 
Louisa, daughter of Henry Welk, of Springfield 
township, and has one child, John. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ernst are members of the Reformed church. 

NEW SPRINGFIELD 

is located on the southern part of section twenty- 
nine, and is a pleasant little village of three hun- 
dred and fifty inhabitants. It was laid out some 
time before 1825 by Abraham Christ, who 
platted twenty-eighl lots around the present 
square or "diamond." Additions have since 
been made by Jacob Fulgerson, Christian 
Harker, John Wagner, and David Spiltner, until 
the village spreads over a considerable area. Its 
moral welfare is watched over by two churches, 
and it is supplied with a good school-house. 

The first store was opened in a building near 
Shale's distillery by Joseph Davis. On the 
square, Thomas Knight erected a building for 
a store about 1828, and conducted business 
there about twenty years. Nicholas Eckes, 
Jacob Spaeth, William May, William Phillips, 
Schillinger and Eckert & Peters, Tobias Elser, 
George Smith, and George Slutter are among 
those who have been engaged in active business 
here. 

The village has a daily mail from Columbiana. 
The postmasters have been Nicholas Eckes, 
George Smith, S. F. Hadley, John Peters, To- 
bias Elser, and George Slutter. 

Among the keepers of public houses are re- 
membered John Peters, William May, S. F. 
Hadley, Joseph Thompson, and a few others 
who sometimes entertained strangers without 
having regular inns. 

Christian Seidner and John May have oper- 
ated saw-mills on the brook southeast of the vil- 
lage ; and below, on the same stream, Solomon 
Crouse had an early grist-mill. The location is 
now occupied by steam and water-power grist- 
and saw-mills. In the village a steam saw-mill 
put up prior to i860 by Diser, Shale & Feiger is 
still in operation. 

The first distiller was Joseph Davis, many 
years ago. A grain and fruit distillery are now- 
running in the village. 

A tannery was at one time carried on by 
Conrad & Shawacre. 

In 1872 William May and .\dam Seidner 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



205 



built a foundry in the lower part of the village. 
In 1878 it was removed to its present location, 
where, by the aid of steam-power, stoves, plows, 
and agricultural implements are produced. 

The New Springfield Bent works are the out- 
growth of a small business established by George 
Felger & Son near the square. In August, 1877, 
their shop was destroyed by fire, together with 
the dwellings of J. S.' Shearer and S. F. Hadley. 
A large building was then erected on the out- 
skirts of the village, in which the business has 
since been carried on, with the aid of steam- 
power. 

Besides the industries mentioned, the village 
has carriage shops, tin shop, harness shops, and 
a half dozen other shops, where the ordinary 
trades are carried on. 

Professional men have not been very numer- 
ous. The first physician was Dr. Louis Zeigler, 
followed by A. King, Dustin, Hamilton, Hein- 
man, William Stafford, and R. E. Warner. Hor- 
ace Macklin is the only practicing lawyer ever 
located in the village. Three sons of George 
Miller, Isaiah, Eli, and Aaron, have become 
ministers of the Lutheran church. 

NEW MIDDLETON, 

a bright little village of two hundred and fifty 
inhabitants, is located on section ten, chiefly on 
Youngstown street. It was laid out before 1825 
by Samuel Moore, and additions have been made 
by William Brotherton and John Miller. David 
Shearer put up the first frame house just north 
of the mill. 

A small store was opened about 1830 by 
Joshua Dixon, in a house now occupied by D. 
Metz. He was followed in trade by Adam 
Powers and David Shearer. Later came Brun- 
gard & Davison, at the stand where was after- 
wards Tobias Hahn. The store was burned in 
1851, and was rebuilt by Hahn. It was after- 
wards occupied by Henry Miller, Tobias Hahn, 
and at present contains the store of John F. 
Smith. South of this building Henry Miller 
put up and occupied a good business house, 
which was burned in 1870, when occupied by 
Brungard & Brother. Seven years later Tobias 
Hahn opened a large store near by, which, in 
August, 1878, was robbed and burned by the 
burglars to prevent detection. Besides the store 
mentioned, there are in trade J. G. Smith, H. A. 



Whelk, and R. L. Floor, the latter having a 
drug store. 

The establishment of the post-office cannot be 
clearly determined. Among the postmasters 
have been David Shearer, T. Hahn, David John- 
son, Henry Miller, and Abraham McCurley. 
The office has a daily mail from Youngstown. 

As physicians are remembered Drs. Elisha 
Murray, Greble, Connor, Henry, Zimmerman, 
and Frank, R. L., and John Floor. 

The first public house was kept by Samuel 
Moore, before 1830, in a building which stood 
on the site of J. G. Bacher's residence. In the 
old house Adam Powers, John B. Miller, Wil- 
liam Forbus, and David Johnson were among 
the keepers. The latter built the present house 
after the destruction of the old one, in 185 1. At 
this stand Oliver Stanford was the last landlord. 
South of this place was another public house, in 
which Shearer, Dixon, Cox, and others, kept 
entertainment. At one time the village had four 
taverns. 

About the first attempt at manufacturing in 
the village was made in 1841 by Welker, Pease 
& Co., who put up a carding-mill which was 
operated by horse-power. In after years there 
was a distillery in this building ; and still later 
machinery was supplied to carry on the manu- 
facture of linseed oil. Steam-power was then 
employed. In 1871, while the property of T. 
Hahn, the building was burned to the ground. 

In 1849 Welker & Brungard put up a steam 
saw-mill. In 1870 a stock company of twenty 
members was formed to build a steam grist-mill 
m the village. After the lapse of several years 
this property passed into the hands of Fred. 
Fouser, and was destroyed in the conflagration 
of August 27, 1878. The present mill was soon 
after built by Mr.- Fouser, and is now success- 
fully operated. The village has a full comple- 
ment of the ordinary mechanic-shops. 

On section six, Adam Hahn, the original set- 
tler there, had a saw-mill on Yellow creek before 
1805 ; later, his son Andrew had a mill, and at 
present the Printz family have here in operation 
a steam saw-mill. 



•.I 



V-' 




-/. rt^^-^M ei--~ 



■/^ 



TOWNSHIPS AND VILLAGES 
TRUMBULL COUNTY. OHIO. 



CHAPTER I. 

HOWLAND. 

GENERAL FEATURES. 

Rowland, the fourth township in the third 
range, lies east of the adjoining township of 
Warren, between it and Vienna. Bazetta is 
north and Weathersfield south of it. The city 
limits of Warren encroach slightly upon its west- 
ern line. 

The Mahoning river cuts across a small corner 
in the southwest of Howland. Mosquito creek, 
here a stream of considerable size, flows through 
the township from north to south, dividing its 
surface into two very nearly equal portions. The 
land is rolling. On the cast side of the creek a 
crest of considerable height rises gradually, be- 
ing two hundred feet above the level of the 
stream, and on the west side about one hundred 
and fifty. 

East of the creek the soil is somewhat sandy 
and gravelly ; on the west side it contains more 
or less clay. The improvements in this town- 
ship are very marked. Good farms, with many 
costly and beautiful houses, large and convenient 
barns, well-fenced fields and carefully tilled gar- 
dens, show that the residents of this township 
are possessed of wealth, enterprise and good 
taste. 

The towns of Warren and Niles afford con- 
venient and ready markets, and abundant rail- 
road privileges for farmers and shippers of pro- 
duce. Real estate is constantly appreciating in 
value. No agricultural community in Trumbull 
county is more fortunate in its location than 
Howland township. 



PIONEER SETTLEMENT. 

Excepting one family, the first settlers of How- 
land were Pennsylvanians. 

The honor of making the first settlement in 
this township belongs to Captain John H. Ad- 
gate, who penetrated the wilderness of this sec- 
tion, bringing his family with him in 1799. He 
owned one thousand six hundred acres of land 
in the southwest of the township and here he 
built the first cabin and made the first clearing. 
Captain Adgate's children were Sally, Belinda, 
Caroline, John H., Nancy, Charles, Ulysses, and 
James. Benoni Ockrum, a Stockbridge Indian, 
also lived with this family. John H., Jr., re- 
mained some years on the old homestead, then 
moved away. Several of his sons reside in How- 
land. 

Soon after Captain Adgate came John Earl, 
Michael Peltz, John Daily, James Ward, John 
Reeves, Jesse Bowell, John Ewalt, and Joseph 
Quigley, most of whom made permanent settle- 
ment in 1802. 

John Earl settled on the farm now owned by 
C. Milliken. Sixteen strong, active, and healthy 
boys and girls were his children. The sons were 
Ebenezer, Edward, Moses, John, George, Wash- 
ington, William, and Charles. There were eight 
daughters. Our informant remembers the name 
of seven of them — Rebecca, Susan, Betsey, 
Nancy, Mary, Sarah, and Olive. The father 
moved to Lordstown after several years' resi- 
dence here. 

Michael Peltz, a genuine specimen of the 
genus homo commonly denominated Dutchmen, 
moved away about 18 14, or soon after. He 
acted as a drummer on several occasions when 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



there were military parades. It is related that 
when the first tidings of the opening movements 
of the War of 1812 reached Howland Michael 
got hold of the news. Not knowing what was 
meant by it he determined to consult the 'squire, 
who he doubtless supposed held the concen- 
trated wisdom of the township, and having 
found 'Squire Heaton he asked : '"Squire, vat 
dey means by all dis talk, eh ? Have de Prit- 
ishers done some dinks pad ? " Like every Hea- 
ton the 'squire was fond of a joke, and answered 
the Dutchman thus : "Yes, bad enough, I 
think. They have set Lake Erie on fire and 
burned the whole it." Michael believed the 
'squire — who would question a statement from 
such an authority ? — and with his eyes distended 
with astonishment went home to his "frau" and 
narrated to her the wonderful doings of "de 
Pritishers." "You old fool," said she, "you tinks 
the Pritishers can purn up a lake ? A lake is 
wasser ! Go out and feed dem pigs." And 
crestfallen and humbled he obeyed. 

Jesse Bowcll moved from Green county, Penn- 
sylvania, to Howland in 1801 or 1802. He mar- 
ried Rebecca Hank, and they had the following 
children: Calvin, David, John, Bazil, Hannah, 
Rebecca, and Jesse. Mr. Bowell went to the 
War of 1812, and returned home to die soon 
after. Mrs. Bowell afterwards married John 
Cherry, from Washington county, Pennsylvania, 
a Howland settler of 1807, and had by him two 
children, Daniel and Margaret. Three members 
of this family are now living, John Bowell, in 
Washington county, Pennsylvania; Daniel Cher- 
ry, in Howland, and Mrs. Margaret Mason, 
Weathersfield. David died young ; the others 
all reached years of maturity. Bazil, Jesse, and 
Hannah (Luse) died in Niles ; Rebecca (Luse) 
died in Illinois ; Calvin died in Mahoning coun 
ty. Mr. Cherry died in 1846, aged sixty-three ; 
Mrs. Cherry in 1864 at the age of eighty-seven. 

John Daily settled on the Kinsman farm, but 
moved away early. James Ward did not remain 
later than 1814. 

John Reeves, Sr., was a permanent settler, 
having located on lot twelve in 1803. His son 
John still lives upon the old farm. Other sons 
were Jesse, Abner, Ephraim, and Samuel Q. 
There were three daughters, Sarah, Eugenia, and 
Nancy. 

John I'^walt settled on the farm whirh is now 



the property of his son Harris. He reared a 
good sized family. Harris, and Z. T., of How- 
land; Jacob, of Bazetta, and John, who resides 
near Pittsburg, are his sons. One of the daugh- 
ters, Mrs. Abigail Wainright, is also living in 
Pittsburg. 

Joseph Quigley settled on the Deacon Smith 
farm, now the Ratliff farm, but moved away 
early. 

William Kennedy in 1805 settled on the farm 
now belonging to Ebenezer Brown. He was a 
miller, and worked in Warren, Liberty, and 
other parts of the county. His son Samuel M. 
lived and died in Howland. Another son, Wil- 
liam A., is still living in the township. 

Dr. John W. Seely in 1806 settled where Milo 
McCombs now lives. This farm was first im- 
proved by Jesse Bowell about 1802. Among 
Dr. Seely's sons were Richard L., Dr. Sylvanus, 
and William. 

Isaac Heaton and James, his brother, settled 
in the southeastern part of Howland in 1805. 
James sold out to Abraham Drake and went to 
Weathersfield. Isaac, universally known to the 
settlers as 'Squire Heaton, lived and died in How- 
land. He had but two childien — a daughter, 
Maria, and a son. Dr. Heaton, who practiced 
in Warren with distinguished success. 'Squire 
Heaton, being the magistrate of the township, 
of course had many disputes to settle. But he 
always strove to adjust matters and have the dis- 
putants settle their difficulty, if possible, without 
resorting to legal proceedings. Once a young 
lawyer from Warren took exception to one of 
the 'squire's rulings and said to him, " Why, 
'squire, that isn't law !" "Law, law? what do I 
care about law? All the law I want is here," 
returned the 'squire laying his hand upon his old 
leather covered Bible. He was a man of good 
judgment and sound common sense, though of 
limited education. 

Abraham Drake settled in 1S05. His sons 
were Abraham, Jacob, Aaron, and George, all of 
whom are dead. Jacob lived on the old home- 
stead. Abraham and Aaron also resided in the 
township. George moved to Wooster. 

Barber King settled in 1806. He was from 
Massachusetts and was the only Yankee of the 
settlement. He had five sons: Jonathan, James, 
Samuel, William, and David B., and two daugh- 
ters, .\nna and Sarah. The sons all settled, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



lived, and died in this vicinity. Sarah is still 
living. William lived on the old homestead, 
where his son James F. now resides. 

William Wilson in 1806 settled on land now 
owned by James F. Kennedy. He moved away 
about 18 1 2. 

Thomas Crooks, another settler of 1806, died 
early. His widow brought up the family, which 
was a large one. Thomas, Robert, and John, 
her sons, remained in Howland, and died here. 
William died in Bazetta. Henry and Samuel 
moved away. There were also two daughters. 

William Medley, an early settler in the north- 
east of the township, had a family of sixteen chil- 
dren. One of his sons still resides in Bazetta, and 
one in Menna. Other members of this family 
are scattered widely. 

John and Uriah Williams were settlers of 1803. 
Uriah lived in the southeast of the township, 
near the springs. His son John, still livmg, is 
one of the oldest residents of Howland. One 
daughter, Mrs. Drake, is still living in Warren. 

John Williams lived on the Perkins farm, west 
of the creek. His sons were Joseph and Benja- 
min. 

ORGANIZATION. 

In 1812 the commissioners of Trumbull coun- 
ty organized township four, range three, into a 
separate township and election district. Who the 
first township ofificers were cannot be learned, 
as the early records have been lost. Howland 
was named from the purchaser, James Howland, 
who paid $24,000 for Howland and Greene town 
shi]3s. 

FOOD AND CLOTHING OF PIONEERS. 

Fortunate indeed was it for the pioneers that 
they possessed the rare quality, contentment, 
which the luxurious tastes of modern times have 
in no small measure destroyed. They were 
enabled to live up to that sound precept of 
Horatian philosophy which advises men to "pre- 
serve an equal mind in adversity," and blessed 
with such a mind, they were thankful in pros- 
perity and patient under afflictions. At their 
rude firesides they ate the bread which their toil 
had earned, and though it was coarse, it was 
wholesome, and far ahead of many articles of 
modern cookery in nutritious qualities. Plenty 
of exercise rendered digestion healthy, and good 
ap|)etites made every article of food relish. 



Corn-bread was a staple article of food — would 
that it still were. Johnny-cake, as it was called, 
was usually baked in this wise : the dough having 
been spread on a smooth board, kept especially 
for this purpose, was placed before the hot, roar- 
ing fire, and some young member of the family 
directed to watch it. The side next the fire 
would quickly bake, then the board was turned 
around and the other side received the heat in 
turn. Careful tending and a good fire soon 
finished the job, and the johnny cake, beauti- 
fully browned and steaming hot, was placed upon 
the table with good fresh milk in bowls, and big 
spoons. There was a supper fit for a king. 

Potatoes, buckwheat cakes, or biscuits, often 
venison and sometimes bear-steak, were about the 
only kinds of food, always excepting the johnny 
cake. Dutch ovens were perhaps the most use- 
ful kitchen utensils — excepting the johnny-cake 
board. The Dutch oven was an iron kettle 
which was provided with a cover capable of hold- 
ing a heap of fiie coals. The oven was placed 
upon the coals, and the heat thus applied to both 
top and bottom usually resulted in what house- 
keepers called a good bake, while none of the 
savory odors of the cooking food could escape. 
Stoves, ranges, and all other modern improve- 
ments in kitchen utensils are good and useful 
enough, yet probably as well-tasting dishes were 
prepared in Dutch ovens as any now produced 
by masters of the culinary art. 

In the matter of clothing, too, eighty years 
have wrought wonderful changes. During the 
first years of this settlement every article of 
clothing worn by men, women, and children was 
manufactured in the homes of the wearers. Mr. 
John Ratliff, son of a Howland pioneer, says 
that until he was sixteen years of age he never 
saw a dress-coat of broadcloth or similar material 
upon any man. 

Every farmer kept a few sheep, the wool of 
which was carded, spun, and woven by the hands 
of the female members of the familj'. Cotton 
was bought just as it was taken from the bale, 
carded with hand cards, and spun into warp. 
Wool, after undergoing similar processes, made 
the filling, and the cloth made from these two 
materials in old-fashioned looms was cut and 
made into garments for winter wear. Long 
flocks reaching below the knee were made for 
men and boys. Butternut bark or the bark of 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



some other tree furnished the dye-stuff which 
was used in coloring the cloth. 

Summer clothing was usually made from cloth 
of tow and linen warp and cotton filling. Why 
did not women buy calico for dresses? Perhaps 
it is sufficient answer to this question to state 
that calico was fifty cents per yard and butter 
only six cents a pound. These homemade 
garments were worn to church and all other 
gatherings. Could a lady in a fashionable suit 
such as are now worn have been seen among the 
country maids and matrons of those days, she 
would have seemed like a creature from another 
land if not from another world. 

Buckskin was considerably worn by men; but 
as it was usually but imperfectly tanned, after a 
short season of use and a few wettings it became 
stiff and hard and had to be laid aside. 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

The first school-house was built on the 4th of 
July near where Ward lived, on lot eighteen. 
A term of school was taught in it the same year 
by Ruth Alford. This old building was a sim- 
ple structure of logs. Its benches were rude and 
primitive, formed from slabs without backs or 
other appliances for the rest of the arms and 
body. Boards upon wooden pins driven mto 
the wall formed the pupil's writing desk. In 
those days a boy or girl, after a hearty breakfast 
of johnny-cake and bacon, required no sup- 
port for an aching back — a thing to them un- 
known. And as for comfortable heating fur- 
naces, to dry wet clothing or warm cold fingers 
and cold feet, these were provided in the shape 
of a huge fire-place which e.\tended entirely 
across one side of the house. This was kept in 
full blast by long, heavy logs, which were rolled 
into It from time to time. The simplicity of this 
style of heating apparaius, however, yielded after 
a while to the aristocratic notions of Mr. Heaton, 
who supplied the building with a rudely formed 
cast-iron stove, manufactured at Heaton's furnace. 

Other log-houses were built early, among theni 
one in the northwest of the township, and an- 
other in the King neighborhood. John Ewalt 
taught in the former about 1812. About 1814 
Montgomery Anderson taught in the King dis- 
trict. 

One after another, as they were needed, build- 
ings for school purposes were erected until ten 
had been built in the township. Not many years 



ago the township was redistricted, and now there 
are in all but six school-houses, three on each 
side of Mosquito creek. 

CHURCHES. 

The first religious meeting in this township, or 
the first in which a sermon was preached, was 
held at the house of John Reeves in 1803. A 
Baptist minister conducted the services. 

Rev. Joseph Curtis, pastor of the Warren 
church, organized a Presbyterian church about 
1815, with thirteen members. In 1820 a log 
building was erected in the northeast of the 
township, which served both as church and 
school-house. In this building a Methodist 
church of about ten members was organized in 
1821. After Rev. Curtis left Warren, the Pres- 
byterian organization ceased to exist. We can- 
not learn that the Methodists ever had regular 
preaching here. 

The Disciples' church of Howland was organ- 
ized in 1828. The Drake family, Jacob, Simeon, 
Aaron, and George, were its mainstay and sup- 
port. They were devout and sincere Christians 
of noble character. In 1830 this denomination 
built a church edifice near the forks of the road 
on Simeon Drake's farm, at a cost of about 
$3,000. The only church building in the town- 
ship at present was erected by the Disciples in 
1862, at the center, and cost about $1,700. 
Among the early and faithful laborers in the 
Disciples' church were the preachers Campbell, 
father and son, Scott, Bentley, Hayden, Bent- 
ley, Henry, Bosworth, Hartzell, and others. The 
proximity of Howland to Warren accounts for 
the fewness of churches. 

DR. SEELV. 

About the year 1806 Dr. John W. Seely set- 
tled in this township and began the practice of 
medicine. He was a competent physician, and 
skilled, especially in surgery. Genial and affable 
toward every one, he sustained an honorable rep- 
utation and lived a useful life. For many years 
he had a large practice throughout this part of 
the county, and his memory is still revered by 
those who knew him. Soon after the opening 
of the canal he was seized with an apoplectic fit, 
and died at Akron while on a journey. His son, 
Dr. Sylvanus Seely, continued the practice of his 
father, residing in Howland, and afterwards in 
Warren. His deatli was from the same disease 
which carried off his father. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



FIRST EVENTS. 

The first child born in this township was Sam- 
uel Q. Reeves, March lo, 1804. 

The first marriage was in 1 803, when Jack Legg 
and Conny Ward embarked upon the sea of mat- 
rimony. 'Squire Loveless performed the cere- 
mony. 

It is not remembered who built the first frame 
house. The first frame barn was erected by 
Barber King in 1822 on the farm now owned by 
his son Franklin. The second frame barn was 
built in 1826 by John Ratliff. Both are still 
standing. 

Dr. Seely built a stone dwelling house in the 
southeast of the township at an ea\ ly date. 

The first store was opened about 1831 by John 
Colhns, at tlie corners. 

Isaac Heaton was the first justice of the peace 
in this township. 

PUBLIC OBTICERS. 

In its early history, this part of Trumbull coun- 
ty was represented in the State Legislature by 
Dr. John W. Seely. Howland has also furnished 
the following county officers: John Ratliff, associ- 
ate judge ; John Reeves, treasurer; Z. T. Ewalt, 
treasurer; and Harris Ewalt, infirmary director. 

THE BIG STORM. 

Here, as in other portions of the county, the 
great snow storm of February, 18 18, occasioned 
great inconvenience and some hardships. 
Houses were rendered almost invisible; travel- 
ing was almost impossible ; and even for the 
farmer to get from his cabin to his barn became 
an undertaking involving no small amount of 
labor. Fortunately wood was plenty and good 
fires cost nothing. If people had depended 
upon stores for their supplies of food in those 
days, what suffering and famine this storm 
would have caused. 

Perhaps the wild animals suffered more than 
the inhabitants. Deer could scarcely move 
through the snow-drifts to their usual haunts, 
and the prowling wolf became nearly famished 
while engaged in a fruitless search for prey. 

WILD ANIMALS AND HUNTS. 

In early times bears and wolves were very 
plenty, and stock had to be carefully watched to 
save it from destruction. Sheep had to be 
kept closely penned at night, for they might as 
well have been slaughtered by their owners as to 



be left in a place where it was possible for bears 
or wolves to reach them. Mr. Ratliff one morn- 
ing turned out his sheep, and before they had 
gone more than a few rods from his house a 
wolf was among the flock and soon had a sheep 
down. At night the howling was sometimes 
frightful. In one part of the forest a wolf would 
raise a cry, those near him would repeat it at in- 
tervals, others farther away would answer, and 
soon the sounds became so loud, so terribly dis- 
mal, that to the mind of a superstitious person 
who had never before heard them, they would 
have suggested that pandemonium must be close 
at hand. 

With so many fierce wild animals in the forest 
one would almost think it strange that men were 
not oftener attacked by them; but the reason for 
the comparative good behavior of the bears and 
wolves is to be found in the abundance of wild 
game which then inhabited the woods. Wild 
turkeys, partridges, and other of the feathered 
tribe, as well as rabbits and other small animals 
were frequently captured by their stealthy ene- 
mies; and only a desire to regale their palate with 
a taste of pork or mutton enticed the beasts of 
prey from their haunts toward the settler's clear- 
ing. They came to know that the white man's 
rifle was a deadly weapon, and doubtless he was 
more feared on this account ; for whether beasts 
reason or not, it is certain that they observe and 
remember. 

Next to wolves and bears the settlers were 
annoyed by a wild hog — once domesticated but 
now a savage — which made sad havoc in the 
corn-fields along the creek bottom. He had 
long been at large, and the amount of mischief 
he caused assumed such magnitude that it was 
determined that he ought to be exterminated. 
To effect this a grand hunt was undertaken by 
men and boys with dogs. The hog was routed 
without difficulty, and then began an exciting 
chase. At length he was run into a swamp, and 
then ensued a desperate encounter with the dogs, 
in which he succeeded in killing three or four of 
them. At last he was captured, and, after the tusks 
had been knocked out, allowed to escape. A few 
days thereafter it appears that he was attacked by 
a bear, and from the appearance of the ground 
upon which they had fought, the conflict must 
have been a terrible one. Both were victors ; 
hog and bear were found dead a short distance 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



from each other on the scene of conflict. Bear- 
ishness and hoggishness, obstinacy and fortitude 
had met ; the result satisfied man, their enemy. 

Hogs and cattle were allowed the freedom of 
the woods. One night in the spring of 1812 as 
John Ratlifif was driving his hogs into the pen 
he discovered that one was missing. Suspecting 
that it had gone to satisfy the hunger of a bear 
he sent for his neighbor, Noah Bowen, quite a 
noted bear hunter, and the next morning Bowen. 
Ratliff, and his son John started mto the woods, 
following the tracks made by the hogs, to dis- 
cover and punish the cause of the mischief 
Bowen's best dog soon got on track of the bear 
and began to bark. " The dog is pretty near 
him," said Bowen, as the barking increased. 
The three hastened after the dog, and having 
followed about a mile discovered the bear high 
up in a tree, sixty or sixty-five feet from the 
the ground, resting upon a limb. Bowen brought 
his rifle to bear, putting a bullet through the 
animal's eye. From his lofty perch the bear fell 
tumbling to the earth, dead. He was a huge, 
heavy (cllow, over three hundred and fifty 
pounds in weight. 

AN EPIDEMIC. 

Doubtless the pioneers of Howland thought 
that they had enough disadvantages to contend 
with, even when in the full enjoyment of health 
and strength. But in the winter of i8ii-i2 
many were attacked by a raging epidemic fever. 
Among those who fell victims to this scourge 
and died were Mrs. William Anderson, Mrs. 
John Cherry, and three sons of the Norris 
family. 

Much suffering and anxious watching was 
endured in many a household, even where the 
disease did not result fatally. 

ACCIDENTS. 

At the raising of a log barn on the Perkins 
farm, in 181 1, for a man named Bentley, Law- 
yer Webb, of Warren, was the victim of a severe 
and most painful accident. He was a young 
man and had just come to Warren from the 
East, and in company with others attended the 
raising to see the fun. The walls of the barn 
were up and material was being raised for the 
roof by means of long poles or "skids," upon 
which the timbers were slid upward ; each end 
of the log being in a forked stick was raised 



simultaneously by the builders. The skids had 
been peeled in order to facilitate the work of 
getting the weight-poles to the top. A log which 
was being raised thus suddenly slipped out of 
the fork, which held one end and came down 
rapidly. Webb was beneath and ssw it falling. 
He ran backward to get out of the danger, but 
fell over a log lying upon the ground and the 
descending weight struck one of his legs, break- 
ing it in a frightful manner, so that the bone pro- 
truded from the flesh. Dr. Seely was summoned, 
and found it necessary to amputate the limb 
above the knee. 

Another accident, which came near being a 
fatal one, occurred about 1835. One Sunday 
in that year Archibald Reeves went into the 
w-oods hunting. In the course of his rambles 
he discovered a spot where, evidently, a bear had 
been at work, tearing a rotten log and scratching 
the earth. While examining these traces he 
heard a sudden noise like the cracking of a twig 
or the shell of a nut, and, peering through the 
bushes discovered a small patch of long black 
hair, moving about slightly among the twigs. 
Supposing of course that the hairy object was a 
part of the body of a bear, he took aim and dis- 
charged his rifle. The dimly outlined form fell, 
and much to Reeves' surprise, cries of a human 
being in distress reached his ears. He hastened 
to the spot, and discovered that, instead of a 
bear, he had shot his neighbor, John Rutledge, 
who, unbeknown to Reeves, was likewise engaged 
in a Sunday bear-hunt. Rutledge was helpless, 
and to all appearance mortally wounded. Aid 
was summoned and he was borne to the nearest 
house. Dr. John B. Haimon, of Warren, was 
sent for to attend to the sufferer. When he 
arrived, he ordered Rutledge's frock and shirt 
to be removed, and this being done, the bullet 
dropped out of the clothing upon the floor. It 
was found upon examination that the ball had 
struck the shoulder-blade, then glancing had 
passed around to the front of the body and 
passed out through the flesh of the upper arm. 
Dr. Harmon said that if the bullet had struck a 
very little lower a fatal wound must have been 
the consequence. He dressed the shoulder and, 
in due time, the wounded man recovered. 

MILLS. 

Tlic first mill, a rude affair, of very limited 
capacity, was built about 1S15, by Septimus 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



213 



Cadwalader, on a small branch of Mosquito 
creek in the northern part of the township. No 
one would now judge that the water-power was 
ever sufficient to run a mill. The mill was of 
logs, small, and provided with but one run of 
stones. Though it could do but little work and 
that little very imperfectly, yet this mill was a 
great convenience to the settlers for some ten or 
fifteen years, until the establishment of other 
and better mills in this vicinity caused it to be 
deserted by customers. 

The first saw-mill was built in 1814 by Samuel 
Kennedy, and was located on the same stream. 
It was remodeled several times, and is now 
owned by James Kennedy. It has not done any 
work for several years. 

STONE QU.\RRIES. 

West of Mosquito creek in the northwest of 
the township, and underlying the surface is an 
extensive bed of flag-stone of the best quality. 
This stone bed runs nearly the whole length of 
the township, from north to south, beginning 
with the Austin quarry and extending through 
the Ewalt and Davis quarries south of it. This 
stone is most valuable, being among the best to 
be found anywhere in the countiy. The strong- 
est acid will not affect it, and its hardness is so 
great that it wears but slowly. The rock is found 
at depths ranging from eight to twelve feet below 
the surface in the Austin quarry, but in other 
portions of the bed it comes much nearer the 
top of the ground. Generally there are three 
layers of the stone with shale rock or soap-stone 
between. The hardest of the stone lies deepest. 
After being exposed to the atmosphere the rock 
hardens very rapidly. 

Warren is especially fortunate in having this 
valuable natural deposit of flagstone so near. 
The sidewalks of this beautiful little city are 
mostly laid with this material. The stone splits 
or shales into thicknesses of three to five inches, 
and can readily be broken into pieces of such 
length and width as are desired. Its surface is 
usually quite smooth. 

Of the quarries operated that of Messrs. Aus- 
tin & Co. is the most extensive, and afl'ords em- 
ployment to several men throughout the year. 
The stone from this quarry is much used in this 
part of the State, and makes sidewalks of unsur- 
passed excellence and durability. Besides the 
large flagstones material is here found for paving. 



gutter, and cross-walk stones. The supply is 
great, and it will take many years to exhaust it. 

The Howland springs are located on a tract 
of land originally owned by John Hank, a set- 
tler who came from Pennsylvania in 1802. He 
bought the ground, made some improvements, 
and afterwards sold to Dr. John W. Seely. The 
property has since changed owners several times, 
and is now owned by Shedd Brothers, of Youngs- 
town, who have improved and beautified the 
grounds, making the place quite a noted sum- 
mer resort. Good buildings and accommoda- 
tions for pleasure-seekers attract many visitors 
each summer. The water of the springs is be- 
lieved to possess medicinal and health-giving 
properties. 



Biographical Sketches, 



JOHN RATLIFF. 
Among the surviving pioneers of Trumbull 
county few are more deserving a place in this 
history than Judge Ratliff. He was born in 
Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, December 
17. '799- His grandparents came to this coun- 
try from England, but at what date is not known. 
His father was John Ratliff, and his mother Mary 
Vandyke, both of whom were natives of Dela- 
ware, where they lived until about the year 1798. 
They moved to Westmoreland county and thence 
to Beaver county in 1801, near the Pennsylvania 
and Ohio State line. On the ist day of April, 
181 1, his parents removed to Trumbull county, 
Ohio, arriving at their destination in the north- 
west part of Howland township on the 3d day 
of the same month. There the subject of this 
sketch grew to manhood, surrounded by all the 
difficulties attending a pioneer settlement. In 
1818 he married Elizabeth Wilson, daughter of 
Robert and Elizabeth (Hyde) Wilson, who were 
natives of Ireland but came to this country when 
quite young. In April, 1821, he was elected 
township clerk of Howland and served in that 
capacity for a period of eighteen years. About 
the year 1823 there was a regiment of volunteer 
riflemen organized in Trumbull county. The 
township of Howland raised a company of about 
eighty men, who were uniformed and equipped 
with good rifles. At the first election of officers 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Richard L. Seeley was chosen captain but was 
afterwards promoted and Judge RatHff was 
elected captain, serving seven or eight years, 
shortly after which the regiment was disbanded. 
About the year 1839 he was elected justice of 
the peace and served in that capacity six years, 
when, in 1845, he was elected one of the asso- 
ciated judges of the common pleas court of 
Trumbull county, which office he filled with 
ability until the change in the State constitution 
in 185 I. His associates on the bench were Ed- 
ward Spear, of Warren, and Asa Haines, of Ver- 
non, the presiding judge being Hon. Benjamin 
F. Wade. 

September i, 1844, Judge Ratliff became a 
member of the Disciples church of Warren, and 
in the following year was elected by the congre- 
gation one of the overseers of the church and 
officiated in that capacity till about 1870, when 
he was released from the duties of the office on 
account ot his age. May 3, 1855, the Disciples 
church in Warren became an organized body 
under the laws of Ohio for the incorporation of 
churches and he was elected one of the trustees 
and still holds such office. 

He is the father of seven children. Two died 
in infancy. The others are as follow : Isaac, 
now living in Howand; Robert W., of Warren; 
Ann (deceased), wife of Josiah Soule; Mary 
(deceased), wife of Henry Hoagland; and Lydia 
Maria, wife of Daniel L. Jones, of Warren, with 
whom the subect of this sketch makes his home. 
Mrs. Ratliff died in Warren March 16, 1875, 
aged seventy-seven. 

Judge Ratliff 's occupation through life has 
been that of farming. He has been unusually 
blessed with good health, and, possessing a 
naturally vigorous constitution, he is to-day, not- 
withstanding his advanced age, a hale and hearty 
old gentleman. At this writing (March 17, 
1882) he is eighty-two years and three months 
old. 



JAMES FRANKLIN KING. 
James Franklin King, widely and favorably 
known throughout this part of Ohio as a stock 
dealer and farmer, is a descendant of one of the 
earliest settlers of the county. His grandfather, 
Piarber King, was a native of Connecticut, and 
was employed in that Slate as an iron worker. 



He made the acquaintance and courted Irene 
Schoville, a lady of aristocratic family, whose 
parents objected to her marriage with a laborer; 
and the old Connecticut statutes made it a crime 
for a man to lead a lady to Hymen's altar with- 
out her parents' consent. But Cupid has never 
been easily bound by statutes, and when in ear- 
nest always finds a way of evading them. In 
this instance Miss Schoville rode to her affi- 
anced's house, gave him a place behind her on 
her horse, and rode to a magistrate's office, where 
they were lawfully married. Mr. King joined 
the second company of surveyors sent out by 
the Connecticut Land company in 1797, and 
while thus employed selected a place for settle- 
ment near the present site of Canfield. The 
following spring he removed with his wife from 
Connecticut and made an improvement on the 
lot which had been selected. They lived there 
two years, then removed to a lot at the present 
village of Girard. After a residence on this lot 
of about six years, having made considerable 
improvement. General Perkins proposed an ex- 
change of one hundred acres in Howland for 
the lot on which Mr. King lived. After viewing 
the ground the proposition was accepted, on 
condition that the center of the one hun- 
dred acres should be a certain strong, 
clear, flowing spring. Beside this spring 
Mr. King built his house in Howland, and 
moved into it in June, 1806, on the day of a 
total eclipse of the sun. The house stood on 
the ground rttiw occupied by J. F. King's resi- 
dence. Mr. King was a plain, unambitious 
farmer. He lived to the age of sixty-nine years. 
Mrs. King lived to the advanced age of eighty- 
six years. During the Revolution she was taken 
prisoner at Wyoming by the Indians and held 
captive for six months. The family of Barber 
and Irene King consisted of seven children — 
Jonathan, James, Samuel, William, Bliss, Anna, 
and Sarah. Sarah (Mrs. William Brinton) is 
the only member of the family living. They all 
settled in Howland township except James, 
Anna (Mrs. Jabez Bell), and Sarah Brinton. 

William King, father of James F. King, was 
born April 9, 1798, and died October 8, 1866. 
He was rnarried in 1820 to Mary B. Kennedy, a 
daughter of Samuel and Jane Kennedy. She 
was born in 1801, and died January 3, 1869. 
Mr. King was a man of great cneigy and pro- 








^^^^^^-^'-r^c? 




TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



215 



gressive ideas; his wife was plain, unassuming 
and industrious. They were both members of 
the Presbyterian church and were remarked 
in their neighborhood for sympathy and kindness 
in cases of sickness. Their family consisted of 
four children — James R, Irene (deceased), Or- 
villa (Mrs. William Chamberlain), and Jerusha 
(Mrs. Charles Hunt). 

James Franklin, whose portrait appears on an 
adjoining page in this volume, was born March 
12, 1822. He owns and resides on the old home- 
stead of his grandfather and father, and where 
he was born and raised. He attended the dis- 
trict school and received a fair English educa- 
tion, but it was farm work that mainly occupied 
his attention. .Soon after thoroughbred short- 
horn cattle had been introduced into the county, 
in 1841, by Thomas and Frederick Kinsman, 
Henry B. Perkins, and the Cowdens of Gustavus, 
Mr. King saw the opportunity of building up a 
successful industry. The first importations of 
cattle had been from New York. Mr. King 
accompanied Messrs. Kinsman and Perkins to 
the Bluegrass region in Kentucky in 1850, at 
which time he made a purchase of short-horns, 
and has since continued to supply his herds with 
stock cattle from that region and from southern 
Ohio. He has for about forty years given close 
and intelligent attention to the breeding and 
raising of stock cattle. He keeps on his farm 
about one hundred head. Of late years Mr. 
King has been dealing to some extent in thor- 
oughbred Southdown sheep. He has been 
identified with the Trumbull County Agricul- 
tural society as an officer ever since its re-organ- 
ization in 1846, and for eight years was president. 
Under his management the annual fairs were 
made of special interest to the general farmers. 
He aimed to make the annual exhibitions what 
they professed to be — agricultural fairs. He is a 
man of good executive talent, being energetic, 
correct and decided. Mr. King married in 1862 
Miss Cornelia J. Andrews, daughter of Samuel 
and Lorena (Hutchins) Andrews, of Howland 
township. They have a family of two children. 



DRAKE FAMILY.* 

Abraham Drake, of Monmouth, New Jersey, 
was in the habit of going with others to Schooley 
mountain, in that State, in the fall of the year, 
for the purpose of hunting. On one of these 
occasions he became acquainted with a Miss 
Stark, a relative Of Colonel John Stark of Revo- 
lutionary fame, and married her. He bought 
two hundred acres of land near Haskelstown, 
New Jersey, where they settled, and to them 
were born three sons, viz : Abraham, Aaron, and 
Sylvenius. Abraham, the oldest, was born in 
in 1756. In 1788 or 1789 he married Sarah 
Bell, of Sussex county. New Jersey. To them 
three daughters and six sons were born, viz: 
Elizabeth, Sarah, and Meriam, Jacob, Simet)n, 
Aaron, George, Abraham, and Amos. And for 
some years they lived near the above-named 
town, but the father dying, and having willed all 
his property to his son Aaron, Abraham and Syl- 
venius were dissatisfied. Abraham endeavored 
to persuade Aaron to allow him to have the 
house and a small piece of land belonging to 
his father's estate, and on which he then lived, 
and which would enable him to maintain his 
family by his occupation, being a weaver, but 
in this his efforts proved to be of no avail, and 
on returning home from this mission, late one 
evening, sadly disappointed, and as no other 
avenue seemed open to him whereby he might 
support his family, he said to his wife, "We will 
go West," and with this decision, which was char- 
acteristic of the man, he soon bid his friends and 
native place a last farewell, for he never returned, 
and the writer believes never heard of them af- 
terward. He removed his family to Jefferson 
village, Morgan township, Washington county, 
Pennsylvania, where they stayed some six 
months, while he went on to Ohio to look for a 
place to locate their future home. This was in 
the year 1804 or 1805. He purchased three 
hundred and twelve acres of land in Howland 
township, for which he paid $655, and settled on 
that part of it which is the farm now owned by 
his grandson, Amos Drake. Here they began 
by earnest and unceasing toil to supply their 
wants from their own productions, amid the pri- 
vations and hardships incident to the times. It 
was even no small task to guard the few do- 
mestic animals, which they had or could get, 

*Prepared by Amos Drake. 



2l6 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



from the attacks of wild beasts. Well does the 
writer remember the log pen in which the sheep 
were secured at night to keep the wolves from 
them, and also of the trap made of logs in the 
woods, to catch those prowling invaders, yet with 
all of their vigilance sheep were frequently killed, 
and bears would kill the hogs and calves, and 
the deer would persist in feeding upon their 
wheat in the fall and spring. 

And yet amid these scenes with willing hands 
they soon began to gain for themselves a com- 
fortable home. But when it seemed they most 
needed each other's presence to assist and cheer 
them in their efforts death took from the home 
the wife and mother. She died May 16, 1808, 
aged forty-two, leaving the husband and eight 
children, the youngest a son only a year old. 

The household duties henceforth devolved 
u])on the daughters, Elizabeth and Sarah. In 
1813 he built the house (yet standing) in which 
he afterwards lived until his death, July 17, 1818, 
aged sixty-two years, and here would my pen 
fondly linger to pay a tribute to one whose indus- 
try, honesty, and uprightness of character were 
proverbial. The impress of the virtues of that 
father and mother was seen upon their childien 
in after years, and made them moral, upright, 
unassuming, faithful men and women. 

Elizabeth having married, the care of the fam- 
ily fell on Sarah, which duties' she faithfully per- 
formed for some years, she and Jacob keeping 
and living on the homestead. Simeon and Aaron 
settled on a part of the land which belonged to 
their father; George and Abraham settled on the 
west side of the creek in this township. Eliza- 
beth moved to Poland, now Mahoning county, 
all followmg agricultural pursuits. George in 
1844 removed with his family to Howard, Knox 
county, Ohio. Sarah in 1833 sold her interest 
in the homestead to Jacob, and built a house on 
the farm of Abraham, where she lived until April 
185 1, when she ceased to keep house, and 
lived with .\aron and his family until April, i860, 
when she returned to the old home, and lived 
with her ne])hew up to the time of her death 
October 26, 1864, aged seventy-two years. She 
and her brother Amos were not married — he dy- 
ing July 30, 182 1. Meriam died in infancy in 
New Jersey. The following are marriages of the 
the sons and daughters of Abraham and Sarah 
1 )rake ; the number of children born to each mar- 



riage; the death and age of parents, and the 
number of children now living. 

June II, 1811, by Dan Eaton, justice of the 
peace, James Stull, of Poland, and Elizabeth 
Drake, of Howland. To them were born three 
daughters and one son. Death and age of par- 
ents unknown. One daughter survives. 

January 3, 1822, by Isaac Heaton, justice of 
the peace, Simeon Drake and Lucretia Williams, 
of Howland. No children, she dying soon after 
marriage; age unknown. 

May 8, 1825, by John Hank, justice of the 
peace, Aaron Drake and Mary Williams, of 
Howland. To them were born five sons and 
three daughters. He died August 22, 1855, 
aged fifty-six years; his widow, three sons, and 
one daughter survive. 

June 9, 1825, by R. L. Seely, justice of the 
peace, Siitieon Drake and Olvina Hank, of How- 
land. To them were born four sons and one 
daughter. The father died March 12, 1859, 
aged sixty years ; the mother February, 1880, 
aged seventy-six years. Three sons survive. 

June 15, 1826, by Alford Brunson, justice of 
the peace, George Drake and Nancy Smith, of 
Hubbard. To them one son was born. The 
mother died May, 1827. The son survives. 

May 30, 1829. by Adamson Bently, minister, 
George Drake and Mary McElroy, of Washing- 
ton county, Pennsylvania. To them were born 
two daughters. The mother dying in 185-; 
the father February 23, 187 1, aged sixty-eight 
years. One daughter survives. 

May 17, 1830, by A. Bently, minister, Abra- 
ham Drake and Jane McElroy, of Washington 
county, Pennsylvania. To them one son was 
born ; the mother dying October, 1842; the son 
surviving. 

May, 1844, by A. S. Hayden, Abraham Drake 
and Phebe Moffit, of Solon. To them was born 
one daughter; the father dying May 24, 1849, 
aged forty-four years. His widow survives. 

April II, 1826, by Joseph W. Curtis, minister, 
Josiah Drake and Agnes Anderson, of Howland. 
To them were born two sons and one daughter, 
viz : Amos, Alva, and Agnes. The mother 
died September 19, 1831, aged thirty-six years. 

February 12, 1833, by John Henry, minister, 
Jacob Drake and Artlissa Lane, of Austintown. 
To them were born a son and daughter, viz: 
George and Emily. The father died September 




4e7-/^6;:Z^ 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



able families in the township, as the preceding 
family sketch will show. 



KENNEDY FAMILY. 

Samuel Kennedy (Howland), the pioneer of 
this family in Trumbull county, was born in 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, in 1764, from 
whence he moved to Ohio in 1814, and settled 
on the Kennedy homestead in Howland, where 
he lived until his death, which occurred in 1816. 
On this farm he erected the first saw-mill in 
the township on Kennedy run, on the east part 
of the farm. This mill was operated from that 
time until about 1873. 

He was married to Jane Kennedy, and to 
them were born the following children : Mont- 
gomery K. (deceased), Nancy, now living in 
Howland, Elizabeth (deceased), Mary, mother 
of J. F. King, Tabitha (deceased), James, now 
on the home-farm. Maxwell (deceased), Thomas 
and William, of Bazetta; and Ann, widow of M. 
J. Iddings, of Howland. 

James Kennedy was born in Northumber- 
land county, Pennsylvania, in 1807, and came 
with his father to Ohio, when he was but seven 
years old. From his boyhood to his present ad- 
vanced age he has been a resident of Howland, 
and always prominently identified with all the 
public interests of the township. In early times 
every settler from necessity became expert in 
the use of a gun; but Mr. Kennedy was, and is 
now rated, as an extra good shot. He relates 
that he succeeded in killing forty-two wild tur- 
keys in forty-four shots; and now exhibits a 
target about two inches in diameter in which 
eight bullet holes cluster about the center. He 
was also a mechanic and manufactured articles 
of furniture and cutlery with considerable skill. 

He was married in 1831 to Miss Alice Scott, 
who was born in i8og. Their children are 
William Wallace, of Newton Falls; George W., 
of Howland; James Lawrence, of Warren, and 
John Scott. 

The Kennedy family of Howland was repre- 
sented in the late civil war by George W. Ken- 
nedy, who enlisted August 22, 1861, in company 
C, Second Ohio cavalry. The regiment im- 
mediately went into camp at Cleveland, where 
they spent the winter. Alterwards were ordered 



28, 1842, aged forty-six years; the mother Au- 
gust 22, 1846, aged thirty-seven years; his 
daughter Agnes October 4, 1846, aged fifteen 
years. 

The following are the marriages of the sons 
and daughter of Jacob Drake referred to and the 
number of children surviving : 

April 24, 1851, by Isaac Errett, minister, 
Amos Drake, of Howland, and Lavinia J. Hull, 
of Champion. To them a son and daughter 
were born — Charlie W. and Ida M. — who reside 
as above written. 

September 6, i860, by Mathias Christy, min- 
ister, Alva A. Drake and Lide J. Grove, both of 
Howland, where they still reside. 

Emily went to Clinton county, Iowa, in 1S47, 
where she married Dr. S. D. Colder. They set- 
tled in Charleston, Missouri. To them four 
sons and one daughter were horn. The mother 
died January 31, 1875, 'iged forty-one years. 
The daughter and three sons survive. 

George went to Colorado in i860, where he 
married Martha A. Brown. To them two sons 
and one daughter were born. An infant son 
survives. 

Alva A., second son of Jacob and Agnes 
Drake, was born in Howland township in the 
year 1829. After obtaining a fair English edu- 
cation he devoted himself to agricultural pur- 
suits. In i860 he married Miss Lide Grove, 
daughter of Jacob and Rachel Grove, of Austin- 
town, and later of Howland. Mr. Grove was 
born in Beaver, Pennsylvania, in 1802. While 
but a child his parents removed to Austintown, 
and there he married, in 1830, Rachel Wood- 
ward. He removed to Howland in 1850, and 
died April 16, 1881. Mrs. Grove died March 
31, 1880. They had two children — John C. 
and Lide. The former died in 1861, leaving 
two children — Minnie and Lulu. Mr. Drake set- 
tled on the farm on which he now resides in 
1865. He is an extensive and practical farmer 
and dealer in fine Merino sheep. He has accu- 
mulated two hundred and fifty acres of land, which 
is in good condition. While he is enterprising 
and industrious he is at the same time liberal 
and companionable. He held the office of jus- 
tice of the peace in Howland township, and on 
account of reliable judgment in business matters 
was chosen real estate appraiser. He is a repre- 
sentative of one of the oldest and most respect- 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



west to Platte City, Missouri, and were employed 
mostly as scouts in the Indian country. The 
first skirmish in which they were engaged was at 
Independence, Missouri, afterwards being en- 
gaged in a battle at Cow-skin prairie, and, also, 
at the second battle at Pea Ridge. In 1862 or 
1863 they returned from the West and in follow- 
ing campaign were engaged as scouts in Ken- 
tucky and Tennessee ; was through the mem- 
orable campaign of the wilderness under Grant; 
also at the seige of Knoxville, Tennessee. He 
was considerably disabled by his horse falling on 
him at Somerset, Kentucky, breaking a leg and 
three ribs. 

In the fight at Piney Creek church his horse 
was shot from under him while in command of 
his company, to which he succeeded on account 
of the cowardice of his captain while under 
fire, he holding the rank of sergeant at the time. 
At the famous battle at Winchester, Virginia, he 
had another horse disabled, and was present 
when General Phil. Sheridan appeared after his 
famous ride — "saving the day at Winchester." 
After following the regiment through many 
hard campaigns he was discharged September 
18, 1864, on account of injuries received as 
above mentioned. On his return home he was 
married November 11, 1865, to Eliza Bailey, 
who was born July 25, 1837. They now have 
one child, Jimmie Frank, who was born April 
5, 1868. After his marriage, he settled on the 
east part of the homestead farm and operated a 
saw-mill. He afterwards returned to Sharon, 
Pennsylvania, where he kept a hotel ; also, after- 
wards engaged in same business at Warren. He 
removed to the present farm in Howland in 
1877, where he now resides — having served his 
township as a.ssessor, school trustee and super- 
visor. 

John Scott Kennedy was born in 1850, and 
was married in 1876, to Jennie King, who was 
born in 1855. They have one child, Grace. 

He is now a member of the firm of M. C. & 
J. S. Kennedy, marble and granite works, Cort- 
land, Ohio; was census enumerator of 1880, 
and had the honor of presenting the best set of 
books in the census district ; he has also held 
the office of town assessor for two years, having 
been elected to that office while absent from 
home. He now resides on the home-farm in 
Howland. 



NOTES OF SETTLEMENT. 

John Reeves, Sr., was born in Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, June 6, 1781; married 
April 16, 1801, Sarah Quinby, who was born in 
Washington county, Pennsylvania, April 30, 1786. 
They moved to Howland in the spring of 1S03, 
he having been out the fall previous and pur- 
chased one hundred and sixty acres in lot twelve. 
He brought his goods by water in a canoe down 
the Monongahela and Ohio to Beaver, thence up 
the Beaver and Mahoning to Warren, while his 
wife made the journey on horseback. During 
the War of 181 2 Mr. Reeves was drafted but 
furnished a substitute. Shortly afterward he re- 
moved to Washington county, Pennsylvania, 
where he kept a tavern on the National pike some 
three years. He returned again to the farm but 
did not remain long, removing to and residing 
in Beaver county, Pennsylvania, about three 
years. He then moved to Sharon, Mercer 
county, where he operated a carding machine, 
grist- and saw-mill some three years. He then 
returned to the farm where he lived until his 
death November 20, 185 1, aged seventy years. 
His wife lived until February 3, 18S0, aged 
ninety-three years and nine months. 

Provisions were very scarce in the early settle- 
ment, and on one occasion Mr. Reeves went to 
Beaver to procure them, leaving his wife with a 
child and a neighbor's girl to take care of the 
stock. On a very dark night during his absence 
the wolves attacked the small flock of sheep near 
the barn, some ten rods from the house, killing 
all but one, which Mrs. Reeves courageously 
rescued from the rapacious beasts. She, with 
the aid of the girl, pulled the wool from the dead 
sheep and afterwards carded and spun it, and 
had it woven into coverlets, some of which still 
remain as relics in the family. 

Francis Andrews was born in Vienna town- 
ship in 1818, and was married first in 1840 to 
Ann King, who was born in 1820, and died in 
1852. To them was born Kennedy K. in 1841. 
Mr. Andrews was again married in 1854 to 
Esther Ann Kennedy, who was born in 1836. 
Their children were Daniel and Anna, both de- 
ceased, and Linda now living at home. He has 
been mostly engaged as a farmer and dealer in 
Durham cattle ; also buying and selling horses, 
and was previously engaged in the dairy busi- 
ness. He settled on the farm on which he has 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



219 



since resided, in 1843, where he now lives in the 
retired enjoyment of the fruits of a busy life. 

Isaac Ratliff was born February 6, 1818, on 
the farm on which his son James now lives. He 
was married in 1839 to Phrebe King, who was 
born in 1821. To them were born the following 
children : Mary, William (who died in the army 
in Kentucky in 1862), and James, and Josiah. 
Mr. Ratliff has been mostly engaged as a farmer, 
but has served as a supervisor for a number of 
years. About 1865 he began quarrying stone in 
the quarry which he afterwards sold to the Har- 
mon Austin Stone company. 

James Ratliff was born in 1845, ^"^ was mar- 
ried to Barbara Snair, who was born in 1846. To 
them were born the following children : William, 
John, Anna (deceased), and Judson. Mr. Ratliff 
has been engaged in various occupations — work- 
ing in stone quarry, farming, and is now engaged 
with his brother Josiah in operating the steam 
saw mill. He is known as one of the rising 
young men of this township, throughout which 
he is well and popularly known. 

Josiah Ratliff was born in 1847 and married to 
Eliza Wilson, who was born in 1847. Their 
children are as follows: Mina and Bertie. He 
enlisted in 1864 in the One Hundred and Nine- 
ty-sixth Ohio volunteer infantry, and served about 
one year, doing garrison duty at Fort Delaware, 
and in the Shenandoah valley. Mr. Ratliff re- 
turned from the army and settled to the peaceful 
Ijursuits of a farmer's life in Howland township. 
He has served his township as trustee, and at 
present is engaged with his brother James in 
running the steam saw mill near their residence 
in the northwest part of the township. 

John Reeves, Sr., came from Westmoreland 
county, Pennsylvania, in the fall of 1803, and 
purchased the well known Reeves homestead 
farm, being part of lots twelve and thirteen, 
Howland township. He moved in the spring of 
1804 and settled on this farm, having brought 
his goods down the Monongahela and up the 
Ohio, Beaver, and Mahoning rivers in a common 
canoe. He was born June 5, 1781, and died in 
1851; was married April 16, 1801, to Miss Sarah 
Quinby, who was born April 30, 1786. Their 
children were Arthur, Samuel, Abner, Jesse, 
Ephraira Q., Joseph P., John, Lewis, Sarah (now 
Mrs Reno, of Chicago), Eugenia (now Mrs. Little, 
of Chicago), Nancy (now Mrs. I. N. Dawson, of 



Warren), and Hannah B., deceased. John 
Reeves, Jr., the seventh child, was born Tues- 
day, March 21, 1815, and was married in 1839 
to Harriet Mason, who was born September 11, 
1820. To them were born the following chil- 
dren : EUesif, Abner M., Sarah, Mary, James, 
and John. Mr. Reeves was elected treasurer of 
Trumbull county in 1856, and served two years ; 
has been several times elected justice of the 
peace of his township. During the late war he 
was actively engaged in enlisting soldiers, having 
recruited company B, One Hundred and Fifth 
Ohio volunteer infantry, in about nine days, and 
of which he was commissioned captain. He is 
now one of the well known, leading men of his 
township, engaged as a farmer on the homestead 
farm. 

James Bolin was born in Weathersfield, Trum- 
bull county, Ohio, December 7, 1819; son of 
John and Delilah (Williams) Bolin. John Bolin 
came to Ohio in 181 7, settling in Weathersfield, 
and cleared up the place now owned by his sons 
James and John. He raised a family of five 
children, three of whom survive — James, John, 
and Mrs. Maria Kyle. He died in January, 1841. 
His wife came to Trumbull county with the 
family of James Heaton in 1801. James Bolin 
married, January 3, 1844, Miss Elizabeth Drake, 
who was born in Pennsylvania March 7, 181 2. 
They have one son and two daughters, as follows: 
Warren S., born December 28, 1845 ; Candace, 
September 19, 1847 ; Maria E., wife of William 
Van Wye of Weathersfield, June 4, 1851. In 
the spring of 1861 Mr. Bolin settled on the 
place where he now lives, in Howland, on which 
Samuel Drake settled about 18 16. 

Milo McCombs was born in Weathersfield, 
Trumbull county, February 3, 1818, son of 
James McCombs. He removed to Howland 
township in the fall of 1855, settling on the place 
now owned by his son Nelson J., the old Dr. 
Seely place. He married for his first wife Har- 
riet Nelson, who died in 1851, and in 1853 he 
married Rebecca Hake, who is still living. He 
died in June, 1879. Nelson J., his oldest son, 
was born in Weathersfield June 24, 1842, and 
married, October 4, 1870, 'Miss Charlotte Sow- 
ers, born in Cuyahoga county in March, 1843, 
and has a son and a daughter — Harry C, born 
October 27, 1873, and Mary Bell November 23, 
1878. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



John Williams was born in Howland township 
October i, 1806. His father, Uriah Williams, 
was a native of Pennsylvania, where he was mar- 
ried. He came to Ohio with his family in 1801 
and settled in Howland on the farm now occu- 
pied by his son John. The family consisted of 
three sons and seven daughters, of whom three 
are living. His death occurred in 18 14. John 
was the youngest son. He was raised on the 
farm and his father's death threw upon him at 
an early age considerable responsibility in the 
management ot the place. He obtained a good 
education for that time, and taught school one 
term. He was married in 1842 to Miss L. Scott, 
by whom one son, Lewis, was born December 
13, 1852; a carpenter by trade. M'-s. Williams 
died January 3, 1865. He was married again 
September 13, 1866, to Mrs. Elizabeth Kyle, 
daughter of James W. Russell, who was an early 
settler in Austintown. By her first husband 
Mrs. Williams had one child — Laura E. Kyle, 
wife of M. L. Hyde. Mr. Williams settled on 
his present farm in 1842. He was active during 
the war in the Union cause. 

Z. T. Ewalt was born in Howland township 
September 6, 1816. His father, John Ewalt, 
was born in New Jersey in 1776, came to Ohio 
in 1801, and settled in Howland township in 
1802 on the place now owned by his son, Harris 
Ewalt, where he died about 1858. His family 
consisted of ten children, five of whom are liv- 
ing. He was a member of the Society of 
Friends, as was also his wife. Z. T. Ewalt was 
reared on his father's farm and resided at home 
until twenty-seven years old. He spent the 
year 1841 in the West. He was married April 
20, 1843, 'o Belinda Adams, who was born in 
Little Beaver, Pennsylvania, September 6, 1823. 
Their family consists of six children, four of 
whom are still living,_viz: John A., Madison 
county, Ohio, a Presbyterian minister; Z. T., Jr., 
resides in Howland ; Florence I., wife of S. B. 
Reed, resides in Windham, Portage county; 
Olive B., resides in Howland. Mr. Ewalt set- 
tled on his present farm in 1843. He has filled 
several township offices, including justice of the 
peace, to which he was first elected in 1863, 
and served twelve years ; was county coroner 
eight years, and again elected justice of the 
peace in 1881. In politics he was a ^^'hig and 
is now a Republican. 



William W., the only son of Samuel M. and 
Tabitha Kennedy, was born in Howland town- 
ship, March 27, 1836. His father, Samuel Ken- 
nedy, was born in Westmoreland county, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1798. He came to Ohio with the 
family and settled in Howland township. His 
family consisted of two children — William W. 
and Mrs. Ann E. Gilbert, who resides on the 
homestead. Samuel Kennedy was nriuch es- 
teemed as a neighbor and citizen. He died 
Febiuary 21, 1875. William W. Kennedy mar- 
ried, September 25, 1877, Miss Addie Ewing, by 
whom one son was born — Samuel E. Mrs. Ken- 
nedy died August 6, 1878. Mr. Kennedy was 
married again April 19, 1882, to Miss Barbara 
Jones. He resides on the homestead in How- 
land. 

lohn Lane was born in Austintown, Mahon- 
ing county, Ohio, May 29, 1812; married, Feb 
ruary, 1840, Miss Anna Westover, and soon afte 
was appointed superintendent of the county in 
firmary, filling that position some three years 
He purchased a farm in Champion, where he 
lived some thirty years, with the exception of a 
year and a half in Vienna. In 1870 he pur- 
chased the Simeon Drake farm, where he after- 
wards lived. He had a family of four children. 
Austin W., born February 20, 1841, enlisted, 
in 1 861, in the Fouiteenth Ohio battery, and 
was in the battle of Shiloh. Being prostrated 
by sickness he was soon removed to Cincinnati 
under the care of his father. He died April 29, 
1862. Chester, born March 5, 1843, died Sep- 
tember 7, 1844. Fiank B,, born April 2, 1855, 
died October 20, 1859. Irenus L., the only 
survivor, was born in Champion township, Jan- 
uary 3, 1853. He attended a normal school at 
Orwell, and Hiram college some five terms; also 
took a commercial course at Eastman's Com- 
mercial college, Poughkeepsie, New York. In 
the spring of 1875 he took charge of the home 
place. He married, June 8, 1876, Miss Maggie 
D., daughter of Adam Dawson, of Howland. 

Jonathan Folsom was born in Essex county. 
New York, July 31, 1814. His parents were 
Jonathan and Betsey (Leonard) Folsom. Jona- 
than, Sr., was a native of New Hampshire, born 
.'\piil 18, 1784. He came to Trumbull county, 
Ohio, in 1833, and settled in Weathersfield, 
clearing uj) a place now owned by John Park.s. 
He died in 1S50, and his wife the same year. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



Jonathan Folsom, the subject of this sketch, was 
united in marriage in 1836 to Milly A. Dunlap, 
by whom he has two children living, viz: Na- 
than D., superintendent of Trumbull county 
poor-house ; O. W., a resident of Hiram. Mrs. 
Folsom died August 5, 1841, and he married for 
his second wife, December 16, 1841, Miss Jane 
Scott, whose parents settled in Vienna township 
at an early date, removing to the place now oc- 
cupied by the subject of our sketch in 1828. 
He died in 1863. Mrs. Folsom was born in 
Vienna, March 10, 181 8. Six children were 
born of this marriage, of whom four are living, 
as follows: Cyrus B., born November 8, 1842, a 
merchant of Youngstown; Emma C, October 
20, 1844, wife of S. A. Corbin, of Warren; Eliz- 
abeth J., January 22, 1847, wife of Lewis H. 
Thayer, a merchant of Youngstown; Olive L., 
x\pril 26, 1849, 3t home. Mr. Folsom continued 
to reside in Weathersfield until 1863, having pur- 
chased the old homestead, h hen he moved to 
Howland. 

J. R. Chamberlain, now a resident of Howland, 
was born in Ontario county, New York, August 
25, 1833. His family came to Ohio in 1834 
and settled m Vienna township, .'\fter passing 
through the course of the common schools and 
Vienna academy he attended Poland academy 
two terms, and then engaged in teaching for sev- 
eral years, teaching in winter and farming in 
summer. He was married November 21, i860, 
to Tryphena Hibler, daughter of Jacob Hibler, 
an early settler of Hubbard township. They 
lived in Vienna and Brookfield townships until 
1870, when the place on which they now reside 
was purchased. Both Mr. and Mrs. Chamber- 
lain are members of the Presbyterian church in 
Vienna. 



CHAPTER II. 

WEATHERSFIELD. 

GENERAL DESCRIPTION. 

Weathersfield is one of the townships on the 
southern line of Trumbull county, and is town- 
ship three of range three of the Reserve. It is 
south of Howland and north of Austintown. 
Liberty adjoins it on the east and Lordstown on 



the west. The soil is of good quality and the 
surface generally level — in portions low and wet. 

Weathersfield is well watered, and though it 
has great mineral wealth its agricultural advan- 
tages are of no inferior order. The Mahoning 
river enters the township a short distance from 
the northwestern corner, and flows southerly 
until west of Niles, where it makes an abrupt 
turn toward the east ; thence pursuing a south- 
easterly course, just east of Niles it reaches a 
point south of the center line of the township, 
then makes a graceful bend to the northward, 
gradually winding easterly and southeasterly 
until it enters Liberty township about three- 
quarters of a mile below the center line. At 
Niles the Mahoning receives the waters of Mos- 
quito creek from the north and of the Meander 
from the south. The former stream enters 
Weathersfield almost directly north of the center 
of the township, and flows southerly, with few- 
deviations, until its confluence with the Mahon- 
ing. Meander creek crosses the county line at 
Ohltown, about one mile and a quarter from the 
southwestern corner of the township, pursues a 
general course toward the northwest, though with 
numerous turnings, and joins the river a few 
rods below the mouth of Mosquito creek. 

The famous salt spring, known to the whites 
years before any settlements were made in Ohio, 
IS situated about one-half mile south of the Ma- 
honing and a mile west of the village of Niles. 

This township includes the important manu- 
facturing town of Niles, and the enterprising 
mining village of Mineral Ridge. 

Weathersfield has sixteen churches, a larger 
number, we venture to assert, than can be found 
in any township of its population in the State. 

ORG.-VNIZATION. 

Township three of range three was organized 
into a township and election district by the name 
of Weathersfield in 1809. No record of the 
first township officers can be found. 

THE SALT SPRINGS. 

Samuel Holden Parsons, of Middletown, Con- 
necticut, obtained a grant of about thirty-six 
thousand acres under an order of the General 
Assembly of the State of Connecticut and re- 
ceived a deed of it bearing the date February 
10, 1788, signed by Samuel Huntingdon, Gov- 
ernor. This was the first grant of land made by 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



the State of Connecticut, and was made before 
any survey of the lands of Ohio by the former 
State. 

The description of the land as given in the 
deed was upon the hypothesis that the townships 
were to be laid out six miles square, and refer- 
ence was made to townships and ranges as if the 
boundaries were already run. The tract in- 
cluded within its boundaries very nearly what is 
known as the "great salt springs tract," in which 
are the salt springs of Weathersfield. The salt 
springs tract having been granted to General 
Parsons, was held by hmi or his heirs at the 
time of the purchase of the lands of the Re- 
serve by the Connecticut Land com|3any, and 
formed no part of its purchases. 

The salt springs were known to the whites as 
early as 1755, and marked on the Evans map of 
that date. They contained but a very small 
percentage of sahne matter, which, however, was 
sufificient to attract the deer for miles around. 
Deer licks and Indian trails leading to the prin- 
cipal springs were discovered by the first settlers. 

General Parsons, after receiving his grant, 
came on and established salt works, but while re- 
turning to Connecticut was drowned at Beaver 
falls, and his works were abandoned. The early 
settlers have transmitted to us accounts of their 
discovery of old kettles in which the boiling was 
done, and huge heaps of ashes, showing that 
considerable labor had been expended here. 

Doubtless the abundance of deer in the vicin- 
ity of this spring originally brought the locality 
to the knowledge of the whites by attracting 
hunters hither. 

SETTLEMENT. 

Doubtless the first settler of this township was 
Reuben Harmon, as his name only appears up- 
on the duplicate tax-list of Trumbull county as 
a resident tax-payer of township three, range 
three, in the year 1801. Of course other tran- 
sient residents had been at the salt springs before 
him. He came to Ohio from Vermont in 1797, 
having purchased five hundred acres of the salt 
spring tract, and engaged in the manufacture of 
salt. Early in 1800 he returned to Vermont and 
in August came with his family. He was the 
father of Heman R. Harmon and Dr. John 15. 
Harmon, both of whom became prominent and 
well known citizens of this county. 

'I'he settlers of this township nearly all came 



from Pennsylvania, and many of them, after sev- 
eral years' residence here, moved further West, 
leaving no record either of their coming or their 
going, except the marks of their sturdy industry 
upon the forests, fields, and meadows. 

The first settlers were very naturally attracted 
to the salt spring, possibly with dimly outlined 
visions of wealth in their heads as a result of 
the manufacture of salt. But they soon learned 
that the value of the waters of the spring had 
been vastly over-estimated, and came to rely up- 
on the results of the chase and the products of 
the land as a means of livelihood. 

The lands along the river next attracted at- 
tention and soon each bank was sparsely lined 
with cabins, sending up their blue smoke from 
little clearings made in the depth of the heavy 
forests. The northeast of the township was also 
settled early, doubtless on account of the eleva- 
tion of its land and its consequent adaptability 
to agriculture. 

John Tidd lived at the salt spring as early as 
1802. He was the step-father of Thomas Bris- 
tol, the potter. Two potteries, for the manufact- 
ure of glazed earthenware, were in operation 
near the spring in 18 16. They were run by 
Orrin Dunscom, and Bristol. They made use of 
the clay found in the vicinity of the spring, but 
the discovery of better clay elsewhere put an 
end to the business after a few years. 

Among the first settlers were the Heatons, 
who were here in 1806 and probably some years 
before that date. There were five brothers, 
James, Dan, Bowen, Reese, and Isaac. The lat- 
ter settled in Howland. 

James settled on the east side of the creek at 
Niles, and lived here in a small log cabin. Three 
of his children, Lewis, Warren, and Maria (Rob- 
bins), reached mature years. All settled and 
died in Weathersfield. 

Dan Eaton, not Heaton, as he went to the 
trouble of having his name changed by act of 
the Legislature from Daniel Heaton to Dan 
Eaton, settled east of the creek on the A. G. 
Bentley place. His sons were Jacob, Bowen, 
and Isaac; his daughters Hannah, Ann, and 
Amy. All of the sons moved away excepting 
Jacob, who died here. 

Dan Eaton was the pioneer iron manutacturer 
of the Mahoning valley. He was one of the 
oddest mortals tliat ever lived. A |)ronounced, 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



deist and a most outspoken unbeliever, he was, 
nevertheless, friendly to ministers of the gospel 
and entertained many of them in his hospitable 
home. He was social with old and young, but 
his opinions, like himself, were odd, — very. 
Among his neighbors he called every man 
"brother," and every woman, "sister." His 
knowledge of politics was sound for those days. 
In 1813 he was elected as State Senator from 
Trumbull county, and again in 1820 he received 
an election to the popular branch of the Legis- 
lature. Old Dan lived a pure and simple life 
and arrived at a ripe old age honored and re- 
spected. He was a " good hater," and shams 
and evils of every kind received no encourage- 
ment from him. His anmiosity was strongly 
aroused against intemperance, and he never 
failed to give the whiskey trafific a blow whenever 
opportunity allowed. He had peculiar financial 
ideas, and during the last years of his life 
gave much attention to a plan for the issue 
of National currency, which was afterwards 
adopted in part in the issue of greenbacks. 
Dan's idea was original with hnn. He believed 
that the Government and not banks should issue 
the paper currency of the Nation, making it a 
legal tender, and in order to keep up its value 
should allow a low rate of interest, say one per 
cent., to the holder of its notes. He talked up 
his theory with everybody, and secured quite a 
lengthy list of names to a petition which he cir- 
culated recommending and urging his views. 

Bowen Heaton, Dan's brother, did not settle 
permanently in the township. Reese Heaton 
settled upon the Luse farm. In 1836 he re- 
moved to Illinois with his family. The Heatons 
were rough-mannered, sturdy men; good citi- 
zens in the main, but each had his individual 
traits and peculiarities. The name, once so 
familiar in the township, is now known here no 
longer. Not a single Heaton or Eaton now 
remains in VVeathersfield. But in the corner of 
the cemetery upon the hill, are many tombstones 
upon which the name is inscribed; so many that 
a settler of 1835 upon first visiting the spot 
gave utterance to this exclamation: "Why, this 
township is all settled by Heatons, and they are 
all dead ! " 

Aaron Bell was an early settler, but sold out 
to Miller Blachly. Miller Blachly settled about 
one mile from Niles, a little northeast of the 



town. He had three sons, Eben, Miller, and 
Bell; and three daughters, Phebe (Dunlap), 
Eleanor, who remained single, and Sarah (Brad- 
ley). Eben became a doctor, and practised 
several years in Niles and Warren. He married 
Minerva, only daughter of Dr. John Seeley. 
Miller, Jr., was also a physician and practised 
here. Bell married and settled in Weathersfield. 
All moved to Wisconsin. Miller Blachly was a 
very good man, but positive, and sometimes even 
obstinate in adhering to his opinions. He was 
a devoted Presbyterian and a strong temperance 
advocate. In early days the roads in his neigh- 
borhood were very bad, and sometimes teams 
stuck in the mud and could not move their loads. 
Mr. Blachly was usually ready to lend his team 
to assist over the difticult places; but when a 
man who was hauling a load of grain to a neigh- 
boring distillery asked for such assistance, he 
obtained only a very stern refusal. 

Andrew Trew, by trade a weaver and a 
maker of cloth, settled early in the northeastern 
part of the township. His children were Nancy 
(Bell), who lives in Pennsylvania; Robert, de- 
ceased; Eliza (Burk-y), Howland; Nelson, de- 
ceased ; Jane ( Blachly ), Kansas ; Lettie (Osborn ), 
Bazetta ; Margaret ( Ewalt ), Howland ; and 
Phebe and John, deceased. Mr. Trew was the 
first postmaster in the township. He did a large 
amount of weaving in early times, making 
woolen and tow cloth, flannel, etc. 

William Carlton, an early settler of the south- 
eastern part of the township, had three sons, 
William, Joseph, and Bryson, one of whom, Wil- 
liam, is still living near Girard. 

About 1809 John Horner settled on the farm 
now owned by H. T. Mason. His children 
were: David, who remained and died upon the 
old farm; John, who now lives in Pennsylvania; 
Jane (Hultz), who died in Pennsylvania; and Jo- 
seph, who removed to Hardin county. 

John and Isaac Clay settled in the eastern 
part of the township, but left after several years' 
residence. Matthew Atchison settled on the 
Clay farm. His children were Jane (Mc- 
Michael), David, Anna (McLain), John, Charles 
Steen, and Minerva. The latter is now living in 
Pennsylvania. David died in Vienna. John and 
Charles S. went to Iowa. 

Aaron Loveland was among the first settlers. 
His farm was situated in the northeast part of 



2 24 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



the township. Two of his daughters are still 
living in Vienna township at an advanced age 
— Mrs. Munson and Mrs. Williams. The other 
children are all dead. Jacob Hake and Isaac 
Pope were also early settlers in the same neigh- 
borhood. 

Augustus A. Adams located on the east line of 
the township and reared a family, none of whom 
now remain in the township. 

John Bnlen was an early settler, who lived 
north of Niles, on Mosquito creek. He was the 
miller at Heaton's old mill. 

Several brothers by the name of St. John were 
among the earliest settlers. They have no de- 
scendants here. Their names were James, 
Thomas, Charles, and George. They were em- 
ployed about the Heaton forge. 

Nathan Draper, a native of Connecticut, set 
tied on lot five of the salt spring tract in this 
township in 1807. His family lived the first 
summer in a bark hut or wigwam, which stood 
on the bank of the Mahoning, near where the 
iron bridge crosses that stream, one mile west of 
Niles. He married Hannah Cartright in 1792. 
Their children were John, Benjamin, Elihu, Sal- 
ly, Katie, Polly, and Milly Ann John and Ben- 
jamin had no families. Elihu married Rachel 
Dunlap and reared five boys and four girls. Two 
of his sons, Warren and Nathan, enlisted in the 
Nineteenth Ohio volunteer infantry, and served 
through numerous campaigns. Sally (Arm- 
strong), Katie (McMuUen), Polly (Dunlap), and 
Milly Ann (Heaton), each raised large families. 
The descendants of the Draper family are now 
scattered from Pennsylvania to Minnesota. 

Peter Reel settled on the farm now owned by 
Peter Stillwagon in the northwestern corner of 
Weathersfield in 1801. Samuel, one of his sons, 
remained here until his death. John Reel, a 
brother of Peter, took up a farm near him. 
David was an early settler in the same neighbor- 
hood. 

Robert I'enton settled about one mile east of 
Niles, on the T. N. Robbins farm. His chil- 
dren were Samuel, William, Mary Ann, Mar- 
garet, Joseph, and John. In 1837 the family 
moved to Putnam county. 

The Reese family were here early, but none 
arc now remaining. 

William Dunlap located on the soutli side of 
the Mahoning, and there lived and died. His 



sons were Jonathan, Josiah, William, Stephen, 
Chauncy, and Perry. Two of them died here, 
William and Stephen. Chauncy and Perry are 
living, Chauncy in Vienna and Perry in Lords- 
town. The daughters became Mrs. Draper, 
Mrs. McCartney, and Mrs. Gibson. 

John McConnell settled in the south of the 
township on the farm adjoining William Dun- 
lap's. His sons were Alexander, John, Matthew, 
James and William; his daughters, Polly, Re- 
becca and Rebecca. All married and had fam- 
ilies. 

Joseph Hunter, John and James White were 
the names of other early settlers in the township. 

David Moser moved to this township in 1817; 
Jacob Hake in 1812; Isaac Pope in 1816; 
Aaron Loveland in 181 2; Frederick Plot about 
1820; Daniel Evert in 1820. 

Isaac Marshall settled on a farm adjoining the 
land of William Dunlap and John McConnell. 
His brother John settled in the same neighbor- 
hood. Two sons of the latter, John and Hous- 
ton, are still residents of Weathersfield. 

Bariah Battles in 18 14, bought eighty acres, 
which is now included within the corporation 
limits of Niles. He was from Crawford county, 
Pennsylvania. In 1816 he moved here with his 
family, which consisted of eleven children. Five 
sons and a daughter are still living, viz: Rebecca 
(Dray), Allen county; Caleb, Akron; John, Niles; 
Edward, Howland; Asa, Hancock county. Bariah 
Battles died in 1838, at the age of seventy-seven. 
His wife {/nv Mary Jones) died in 1855, aged 
eighty-six. John Battles, one of the oldest resi- 
dents of the township, was born in 1807, and 
came to Weathersfield with his parents. He 
married Sarah J. Leavings, of New York State, 
by whom he had seven children, all of whom are 
living: Mary Jane (Schwindler), Lucy (Dunlap), 
John E., Sarah (.Mlison), Laura (White), Frank- 
lin B., and William. Mr. Battles worked at iron 
manufacturing from the age of twenty years until 
1854. With Jacob Robinson he ran the Heaton 
furnace from 1849 'o i854- 

Michael Ohl moved trom Austintown to 
Weathersfield in 1815, and settled on the Mean- 
der at the place where the little village of Ohltown 
grew up. His sons were Charles, David, Samuel, 
Henry, John, Michael, and Andrew. Henry 
went west and died. Michael died in this town- 
ship. The others are all living. His daughters 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



225 



were Catharine (Hood), Liberty; Abbie (Mc- 
Donald), Weathersfield; Julia (Rose), Weathers- 
field; and Eve (Adelhart), dead. 

James McCombs settled in the southern part 
of Weathersfield at an early date. His sons 
were Milo and John. The latter is cashier of 
the First National bank of Warren. The former 
is dead. James McCombs was drafted in the 
War of 181 2. Robert McCombs settled in the 
same neighborhood. His sons were John, Wil- 
liam, James, and Andrew. John is in the West. 
William died in the lake mining region. James 
is still living. 

Martin Barnhisel located in the eastern part 
of the township. Of his children, Rachel (Wil- 
derson) lives in Newton; Eliza (Hood), Liberty; 
George died in Wisconsin; Mary (Fee) lives in 
Warren; Sarah (Shadel), and Caroline (Bell), 
Liberty. 

John Edwards, father of S. C. and William 
Edwards, settled within the present limits of 
Niles in 1823. In 1830 he moved one mile 
from the village. 

Josiah Robbins settled in this township about 
1826. He married Maria, daughter of James 
Heatori. Their family consisted of four children, 
all of whom are living except Jesse, — James, 
Josiah, Jesse, and Frank. His first wife died in 
1835. In 1'836 Mr. Robbins married Electa 
Mason, who bore three children, who are still 
living, — Ambrose, Maria, and Charles. 

John Tibbetts settled in the northeast of the 
township about 1830. His children were Henry 
and Sarah, dead; Jeremiah, California; Austin 
and Charles, Weathersfield, and Ann (Gettis), 
Liberty. 

George Young, a comparatively early settler 
located one mile east of Niles. All the family 
moved to another part of the State except John, 
who died here. 

Warren Luse settled in the northeast of the 
township. He married Hannah Bowell, and had 
three children, Rebecca (Tibbetts), deceased; 
Jesse and Clara (Sykes), Weathersfield. 

Ambrose Mason moved from Essex county. 
New York, to this township in 1835, and settled 
one mile east of Niles. There were eight chil- 
dren, viz: Lucy (Woodworth), Cleveland; Aman- 
da (Goodrich), Lockport, New York; Eliza (Cran- 
don) and Dean Edson, deceased; Electa (Rob- 
bins), Hiram T., Henry H., Niles, and Harriet 



(Reeves), Howland. Mr. Mason died in 1870, 
in his ninetieth year. He was the first postmas- 
ter at Niles, and one of the first merchants. Mrs. 
Mason («« Jemima Turner) died in 1866, aged 
eighty-one. Both were devoted members of the 
Disciples church. 

Thomas Brooks, John White, John Battles, 
William McConnell, and John Marshall, have 
been residents of We^hersfield longer than any 
other men now living in the township. 

Thomas Brooks, now seventy-three years of 
age, is the oldest resident of this township. 

Dr. A. M. Blackford came to Niles to practice 
medicine in 1846; and practiced ten years. He 
has been connected with various interests of the 
town, including the iron industry. In 1848 he 
opened the first drug store in the place. Dr. 
Blackford was born in Fayette county, Pennsyl- 
vania, in 1813. He was educated for the minis- 
try of the Presbyterian church at Madison 
college, and continued as a preacher ten years. 
His health then failing, he began the practice of 
medicine. He afterwards entered upon the 
duties of the clerical profession, but was com- 
pelled to retire at the end of five years. Dr. 
Blackford is still a resident of Niles. He mar- 
ried Eliza, daughter of Thomas Russell of this 
place. 

EARLY SCHOOLS. 

Concerning the early schools little can be 
learned. An old log school-house, with greased 
paper for windows, was situated south of the 
river at Niles. On the brow of the hill near 
the site of the grist-mill, was a school-house 
where- the children of the little settlement sur- 
rounding Heaton's furnace attended school. 
Heman R. Harmon was an early teacher here. 

rOST-OFFlCES. 

The first post-office in the township was estab- 
lished in the northeast of Weathersfield about 
1825, Andrew Trew, postmaster. This office, 
which was known as Weathersfield, continued 
until 1843, when a post-office was established at 
Niles, Ambrose Mason being postmaster. His 
successors have been H. H. Mason, Mor- 
gan, J. W. Leslie, Josiah Robbins, Sr., C. W. 
Robbins, Josiah Robbins, Jr., William Campbell, 
and H. H. Mason, the present incumbent. 

The second post-office was the Ohltown office, 
of which Michael Ohl was the fir«t iwstmaster. 



226 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



This post-office was formerly on the old stage 
route to Ashtabula, and then received a mail 
from each way daily ; now a tn-weekly mail is 
received from Mineral Ridge. 

An office was established at Mineral Ridge in 
i860, Azariah Hughes, postmaster. It was kept 
in Mahoning county, and a semi-weekly mail 
was procured from Niles. It was discontinued 
after a few months on account of political differ- 
ences and a lack of support. Leading citizens 
wanted a Democratic postmaster, but no one in 
that party could be found who was willing to per- 
form the duties of the office. A semi-weekly 
mail was not sufficient for the business men of 
the place, and a prominent business man had his 
own mail brought from Niles daily. This largely 
diminished the receipts of the office, and the 
postmaster became tired of his position and re- 
turned the mail bags to the Government post- 
office department. In 1863 the office was re- 
established with a daily mail, and J. L. Pierce 
was appointed postmaster. A few years later the 
office became Mineral Ridge, Trumbull county. 
M. L. Campbell, Mrs. Sarah Wilson, and E. J. 
Ohl have since been postmasters. 

TEMPERANCE WORK. 

Dan Eaton and Miller Blachly were the leaders 
and incorporators of a temperance society in the 
time of the Washingtonian temperance move- 
ment. A number of good earnest workers 
joined them, and the society, which began about 
1830, continued in existence several years. 
Meetings were held at school-houses and private 
dwellings. 

Dan Eaton, when about to build a barn, an- 
nounced that whiskey should have no part in the 
work of raising it. Accordingly, after the timber 
had been prepared, as was customary in those 
days, he invited his neighbors to come and help 
him get the frame up. But no one would come 
unless whiskey was to be furnished, and Dan ad- 
hered resolutely to his determination that none 
should be used upon his premises. He was 
therefore compelled to hire men to do the work 
for him, and the barn was built without the aid 
of whiskey. It was probably the first building 
erected in the township in which the ardent 
liquid was not a [jrominent feature at the " rais- 
ing." 

E.\KLV MILLS. 

The Heatons built a saw-mill and gristmill 



on Mosquito creek very early. Both were in 
operation in 1816. The present grist-mill at 
Niles was built by the Heatons in 1839. 

Probably the second mill in the township was 
that of Michael Ohl, elsewhere mentioned. 

Mills were often stopped during the dry sea- 
son and when this happened the settlers were 
obliged to go to the Cuyahoga for milling. 
Roasting-ears from the corn-field served in part 
to supply the want of meal. 

AN UNPERFORMED MIRACLE. 

In the early years a poor, half-crazy old fellow 
named Dobbins, a Methodist and great talker, 
one day asserted that he had as much faith as 
ever any of the apostles had, and that he be- 
lieved himself capable of performing miracles 
through this faith. " Can you walk upon the 
water ? " asked one oi his listeners. " Walk on 
the water ? Yes. Peter tried it, but couldn't. 
He hadn't faith enough. I have faith and can 
perform the act." A number of idlers and boys 
collected and dared him to try it. He yielded 
to their wishes, and proceeded to the river at once. 
Here he uttered a short prayer, removed his 
shoes and stockings, and drew near to the water's 
edge. The excitement in the crowd was now at 
a high pitch, when suddenly the old man paused 
and asked : " Have you all faith that I can do 
this thing?" A voice in the crowd: "No, 

you old fool I " " Well, then we might 

as well abandon the undertaking. Faith on your 
part is necessary as well as on mine, for without 
faith we can do nothing." So the promised mir- 
acle was never performed. 

MORMON MEETINGS. 

Although old Dan Eaton was one of the most 
outspoken of unbelievers, yet his house was 
always open to religious meetings of whatever 
character. A Mormon missionary named Mc- 
Clellan, and Sam Smith, a brother of Joe Smith, 
labored in Weathersfield in the winter of 1833- 
34, and held meetings at Dan Eaton's house. 
They secured a number of converts, but so far 
as can be learned none followed them hence. 

DISTILLING. 

So far as can be learned there were only a few 
small stills operated in this township in early 
times. Simon Hood, Jacob Wise, and James 
McCombs had copi^cr stills, and made whiskey 
in small quantities. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



CEMETERIES. 

The first burial-place in the township was sit- 
uated near the salt spiing. A number of inter- 
ments were made there, but all of the bodies 
were subsequently removed to other cemeteries 
and nothing now remains to indicate the location 
of the old graveyard. 

The graveyard at Ohltown was established 
quite early. 

The Union cemetery, northeast of Niles, is 
the principal cemetery of the township. Inter- 
ments were made here as early as 1804. The 
grounds are beautifully situated on the slope of 
a hill, and are large and tastefully kept. They 
are adorned by a number of beautiful ever- 
greens and other evidences of the care bestowed 
upon them. The earliest inscription which we 
discovered upon a cursory examination was that 
upon the stone erected to the memory of Han- 
nah, daughter of James and Margaret Heaton, 
who died February 2, 1806, in her sixth year. 
James Heaton died in 1856, aged eighty-six 
years. Dan Eaton died in 1858, aged eighty- 
five. His wife, Naomi, died in 1818, aged thirty- 
eight. Upon an old-fashioned stone near the 
little monument which marks the grave of Dan 
Eaton, is the following quaint and curious 
epitaph : 

NAOMI EATON, 

Wife of Dan Eaton, was born December 2d, U. S. 4, and on 
the 5th of November, U. S. 43, became like unto a potter's 
vessel that was stripped of its glazing and its gilding, but as 
she believed the work wou'd not be lost but wou'd be 
moulded in another form and become fit for the Master's 

We doubt if another instance of the use of 
the year of the United States instead of Anno 
Dcmiiii ca.n be found in all the tombstone liter- 
ature of the country. 

^Ve notice here the recorded death of another 
of the pioneers, William Bell, died in 1808, aged 
sixty-eight years. His wife, Priscilla, died in 
181 4, aged sixty-eight. 

There are also several small graveyards in the 
township. 



NILES. 

This is one of the busiest towns in northeast- 
ern Ohio. The iron industry has built it up, 
and is still its main support. Niles is situated 
in the northern part of Weathersfield township, 
its southern limits reaching a little below the 
center. The incorporated portion includes at 
present a territory extending a mile and a half east 
and west and a mile and three-fourths north and 
south, with an estimated population of four 
thousand. It is most favorably situated as re- 
gards railroad facilities, being on the Mahoning 
branch of the New York, Pennsylvania & Ohio, 
and forming the northern terminus of the Niles 
& New Lisbon branch of the same road. The 
Ashtabula & Pittsburg and the Painesville (& 
Youngstown roads also pass through this place. 
Two new railroads are building, on both of 
which Niles will be a station — the Alliance, Niles 
& Ashtabula, and the Pittsburg, Youngstown & 
Chicago. When these roads are completed and 
put in operation we may expect to see a new im- 
petus given to the business of the town and its 
thrift and prosperity much augmented in conse- 
quence. All present indications augur a pros- 
perous future. 

The village was laid out in 1834 by James 
and Warren Heaton, but only on a very limited 
scale, as the original plat was made to include 
only a small part of the present town lying west 
of Mosquito creek and north of the river between 
it and the New York, Pennsylvania & Ohio rail- 
road. Numerous additions have since been 
made on all sides. 

The name Niles was given to the village by 
James Heaton in honor of the editor of Niles' 
Register, a journal published at Baltimore, Mary- 
land. Mr. Heaton was a subscriber of this 
paper and held a very exalted opinion of the 
abilities of its chief editor. He was fond of 
quoting the Register, and usually agreed most 
fully with the opinions which it expressed edi- 
torially. Therefore he called the town after the 
name of his favorite journalist. Who says that 
the influence of the press is not widespread? 

Previous to 1834 the village had no existence, 
and only a few huts and shanties in the vicinity 
of the furnace marked its future site. Warren 
Heaton built a house in 1832 on a lot which is 
at present included within the village limits. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



In the winter of 1834-35 a few buildings were 
erected, among them the dwelling houses of 
Thomas Evans and Samuel Dempsey. The 

village grew slowly until 1842 when the estab- 
lishment of Ward's rollin£!-mill brought a consid- 
erable number of workmen into the place. By 
1850 the population had increased to nearly or 
quite one thousand persons. From that date 
until 1873 the place grew steadily. The panic 
and the consequent failure of the leading busi- 
ness firm gave Niles a blow from which it has 
only recently recovered. 

BUSINESS BEGINNINGS. 

Although Niles, as we have stated, was an un- 
known place previous to 1834, yet by its former 
name of Heaton's furnace, the place had been 
known far and wide for years. In 1809 James 
Heaton built a small refining forge on Mosquito 
creek for the manufacture of bar iron, with char- 
coal, from the pig iron made at the Yellow creek 
furnace. Here were produced the first hammered 
bars in the State. In 1820 he rebuilt this forge 
which continued in operation many years. It 
was run by the same water-power with the fur- 
nace, and was situated near it. In 181 2 the 
famous Mosquito creek furnace was erected a 
few rods east of where the public school building 
now stands. This was a cold-blast, charcoal 
furnace, run by the water of the creek. The 
stack was about thirty-six feet high and the bosh 
seven or eight feet. This furnace was owned 
and operated by James Heaton for many years, 
and was in the possession of the Heatons until 
it went out of blast in 1854. In 1830 the fur- 
nace was leased. Campbell, McKinley & Demp- 
sey operated it for a considerable period. From 
1849 until 1854 it was run by Robinson & Bat- 
tles. In its first years its product would not 
average a ton of iron per day. Its capacity was 
somewhat increased, but five tons per day would 
have been considered a large yield at any period 
of its history. Castings for stoves, andirons, 
kettles, and other household utensils were made 
and found a ready market. The Heatons ac- 
quired considerable property through this indus- 
try, but net a fortune ; for great wealth from the 
manufacture of iron is not to be had through 
the use of such primitive means as they em- 
jjloyed. Native ore was always used in this fur- 
nace, chiefly the kidney ore found in Weathers- 
field, Austintown, and vicinity. This, briefly. 



was the inception of the great industry which has 
contributed so largely to the building up of Niles. 

A store was kept for the supply of the furnace 
hands as long as the furnace was in operation. 
The first store excepting this company store was | 

kept by Robert Quigley on the northern corner I 

of Mill and Main streets. He built and began | 

business there in 1836. After a few years he 1 

sold out and went to Pennsylvania, where he | 

was connected with the management of a fur- 
nace. In the time of the gold excitement Mr. 
Quigley started for California, but died on his 
way there. The second store in Niles was started 
by Robbins & Mason in 1839. H. H. Mason, 
son of Ambrose Mason, one of the proprietors, 
was their successor and continued the business 
until 1864. 

The first hotel was kept by Jacob Robinson 
about 1836, in the house built by Mr. Dempsey. 
This house, much enlarged, is now the Sanford 
house. In 1837 Robinson built a hotel opposite 
Quigley's store, on the west side of the street, 
and kept it for many years. The present Com- 
mercial house was formerly the dwelling of James 
Ward. Previous to Robinson's public house, a 
grog-shop or tavern was kept in a log cabin on 
the south side of the river by a man named 
Parker. 

The first brick building for mercantile pur- 
poses was built by James Crandon and occupied 
by him as a store until recently. It is the store 
on Main street now occupied by C. P. Moore, 
dealer in flour and feed. 

The Mason block, the first block of any im- 
portance, was erected in 1867 by the combined 
efforts of five different parties. 

1NC0RP0R.4TI0N. 

The following petition was addressed to the 
commissioners of Trumbull county August 27, 
1864: 

To the Coinmissioners of Trumbull countv, i^t.\te of Oliio: 

We. the undersigned, inliabitants and qualified voters of 
Weathersfield township in said county, not embraced within 
the limits of any city or incorporated village, desire that 
the following described territory within the township of 
Weathersfield be orsjanized into an incorporated viU.age, 
to wit : 

Beginning at a stake or comer on the farm of John Fee 
near the dwelling of H. H. Mason, and running west one 
mile to a stake or corner on the land belonging to the heirs 
of Johri A. Hunter, decea.sed, near the dwelling of S. H. 
Pew. thence due south one and one-fourth miles to a stake 
or corner on the farm of John Battles, thence east one mile 
to a stake or corner on the farm of C. .S. Campbell, thence 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



north to the place of beginning— an accurate map or plat 
thereof is hereunto annexed— and that said village be named 
and called Niles, and that A. M. Blackford be authorized to 
act in behalf of the petitioners in prosecuting this claim. 

This petition having been granted the organ- 
ization was effected. The first election was held 
January 23, 1866, when the following officers 
were chosen: H. H. Mason, mayor; James 
Draa, recorder; James Ward, Jr., William Davis, 
David Griffiths, Richard Helton, and Henry 
Shaffer, council. 

In 1867 J. B. Noble was chosen mayor to fill 
a vacancy. 

The mayors and recorders have been as follows: 
Mayors: 1868, John Ohl ; 1869, F. Caspar, to 
fill a vacancy; 1870, J. H. Fluhart; 1872, M. 
D. Sanderson; 1874, Ephraim Thomas; 1876- 
78-80, William Davis. Recorders: 1868, A. C. 
Allison; 1870, M. G. Butler; 1872-74, George 
W. Mawby; 1876-78, B. D. Smith; 1880, 
George L. Campbell. 

FIRE DEP.\RTMENT. 

The village of Niles has one of the best 
volunteer fire departments in the State. The 
chief engineer, who is paid by the village, de- 
votes his whole time to the care of the depart- 
ment. Two teamsters and a fine span of horses 
are kept on hand constantly. 

The fire department was organized in 1870. 
Messrs. Ward and Carter procured a second- 
hand engine from Pittsburg, which was used until 
1875, when a fine steamer was purchased. T. 
D. Thomas was the chief officer for ten years, 
and managed affairs with skill and efficiency. 
George W. Bear has since been in charge. The 
company are well drilled and well equipped, 
efficient and faithful. 

PHYSICIANS. 

Niles is well supplied with good and reliable 
physicians. Dr. F. Caspar is the oldest resident 
physician, and has been in constant practice 
since i860; Dr. A. G. Miner comes ne.xt, having 
labored here many years. The other physicians 
of the town are Dr. A. J. Leitch and partner. 
Dr. Z. W. Shepherd, and Dr. I. B. Hargett. 
The two last named are homeopaths. 

ATTORNEYS. 

J. N. Cowdery and C. H. Strock look after the 
legal interests of the village. 



NILES SCHOOLS. 

The Union school district was organized in 
1869, and the following school board elected: 
Josiah Robbins, Jr., and T. C. Stewart for three 
years ; S. D. Young and William Davis for two 
years ; W. C. Mason and William Campbell for 
one year. Mr. Robbins was elected president, 
and Mr. Stewart secretary of this board. 

At a meeting held May 22, 1869, it was voted: 
First, that the board be empowered to procure a 
site for a school-house. Second, that the board 
be empowered to buiid upon said site such a 
school-house as will, in their estimation, be 
adapted to the wants of the district. Third, 
that a tax of $15,000 be levied in said district 
for the building of said school-house, and that 
said money be raised in three successive annual 
instalments of $5,000. 

In 1870 two new members of the board of 
education were elected : George S. Baldwin and 
W. Campbell for three years. May 18, 1870, it 
was voted to accept the proposition of C. E. 
Cooley & Co., of Cleveland, to build the house 
for $27,950, taking the bonds of the district at 
eight per cent, in payment. Previous to this ac- 
tion, however, a vote was taken to make an ad- 
ditional levy of $10,000 for erecting the house. 
The building was completed and ready for occu- 
pancy in 187 1. Some of the principal expenses 
are included in the following items : For the 
school site, one acre and sixty rods of land, 
$1,375; school desks and school furniture, 
$2,000; bell, $573; besides the cost of the heat- 
ing apparatus of the building, the wages of 
workmen employed in setting up the furniture, 
the heaters, etc. Twenty-three thousand dollars 
in bonds were issued, and all paid up May 15, 
1875- 

The school building is by far the best in the 
county. It is large, built in a good style of 
architecture, forming an ornament to the town 
and a monument to the enterprising spirit of the 
citizens of Niles. The house is of brick, three 
stories and a basement. There are four school 
rooms on the first floor, and the same number on 
the second. The grammar and high school use 
the upper floor, which is also a public hall for 
entertainments of various kinds. It is furnished 
with a good stage, scenery, etc. 

In October, 1869, Rev. T. Calvin Stewart 
was elected as acting superintendent of the pub- 



230 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



he schools of the district, to devote at least two 
days of each week to the schools, at a salary of 
$400 per year. In 187 1 L. L. Campbell was 
elected superintendent and principal, and proved 
a very faithful and efficient teacher. In 1872 
his salary was increased to $1,200. He con- 
tinued as superintendent until 1875, when he 
was succeeded by Miss M. J. Stewart for two 
terms. C. E. Hitchcock began his labors as 
superintendent in the spring of 1876; continued 
the balance of that year and through the school 
year of 1877-78. T. H. Bulla, who had been 
the high school teacher under Mr. Hitchcock, 
was elected to the superintendency in September, 
1878, and still continues to discharge the duties 
of that responsible position in a most capable 
and satisfactory manner. His present salary is 
$1,100 per year. The school has been ably 
managed by faithful teachers ever since the 
union district was formed. Among those whose 
long service in the schools of Niles is a sufficient 
testimonial of their ability and fidelity as teach- 
ers, we mention Mrs. Nellie B. Sanderson, Miss 
Lottie Bowell, and the Misses Thorne. 

At present the schools are well graded, with 
courses of study admirably arranged. Nine 
teachers and a superintendent are employed in 
the brick building, outside of which there are 
two primary schools. The school population of 
the district as ascertained by the enumeration of 
1881 was 1,337. 

The janitor of the school building, Mr. J. R. 
Davis, has taken laithful care of the school 
property for many years, and deserves honorable 
mention in this connection. 

.MERC.\NTILE. 

Niles is well supplied with shops and stores. 
We have space to notice only a few of the 
principal firms and the dates at which their bus- 
iness was established. 

Ciephart & Co., Main street, dry goods. 

S. A. Russell, Main street, grocer; began bus- 
iness May I, 1 88 1, in the store formerly occu- 
pied by Gephart & Co. He has a large and 
first-class stock of all articles in the grocery and 
provision line. 

A. Ristedt, merchant tailor. Main street, 1881; 
successor to Radle & Ristedt. Large stock. 

Mrs. O. S. Crandon, groceries and provisions, 
Lewis (.V I'ear building, Main street; successor 



to James Crandon, who began this business in 
1877. 

George B. Robbins, dry goods and clothing, 
former banking room, Main street; fall of 1880. 

E. C. Moore & Co., wholesale and retail 
dealers in flour and feed, Main street; fall of 
r88o. 

Dalzell & Co., dry goods, clothing, groceries, 
etc., successors to J. M. Bowman & Co., cor- 
ner of Main and Mill streets; established in No- 
vember, 1874. 

Cook & Co., drugs, notions, stationery, cigars, 
etc.. Mason block. Mill street, 1878; successors 
to Moore & Blachly. Mr. Cook, the head of 
this firm, is an enterprising young man and his 
business is constantly increasing. 

Young Brothers, grocers. Mason block. Mill 
street, 1878. The senior partner, Mr. S. D. 
Young, has been in the mercantile line in Niles 
since 1865. 

C. W. Thomas, Mill street, 1877. Mr. Thom- 
as began business opposite the post office. Fur- 
nace street. He carries a large and well selected 
stock of books, stationery, toys, music, musical 
instruments, picture frames, etc., and his store is 
deservedly popular. He has occupied his present 
location since 1881. 

Taylor Brothers, dealers in buggies, sleighs, 
sewing machines, stoves, tin and hardware, corner 
Furnace and Mill streets, 1876. The business 
was formerly conducted by R.-G. Svkes, then by 
Sykes & Taylor, now by G. J. and T. N. Taylor. 

Church & Coffee, Exchange block, Furnace 
street, 1880 ; successors to McConnell & 
Church, who began business in 1878. Church 
& Coffee run a large dry goods and grocery es- 
tablishment, occupying two separate store rooms, 
each with its own corps of clerks. Their stock 
IS extensive, and embraces everything usually 
found in a first-class store. They employ a larger 
number of clerks than any other mercantile 
house in town, and are doing a fine business. 

C. W. Porter, drugs, school-books, stationery, 
lamps, cigars, and notions. Exchange block. Fur- 
nace street. Mr. Porter has a commodious 
store, well filled with a great variety of articles. 
He began business in 1875, ^^'''^ ^^^- '^- J- 
Leitch, under the firm name of Leitch ..'v: Porter. 
In October, 1S79, Mr. Porter purchased Dr. 
Leitch's interest. 

John C. Kerns, jeweler, Furnace street, 1873. 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



23' 



James Bowden, boots and shoes, Mill street, 
1871. 

C. W. Brieder, dealer in stoves, tin, and hard- 
ware, Furnare street, has been in business in 
Niles since 1874. He began in company with 
William C. Mann & Co., under the firm name of 
W. C. Mann & Co. W. C. Mann went out, and 
the firm then became Brieder & Co. This part- 
nership was dissolved in 1878, since which time 
Mr. Brieder has conducted the business. In 
1880 Mr. Brieder bought the hardware stock of 
John Dithridge, his former partner, and added 
it to his own. He is doing a large business in 
roofing, job work, etc. 

We have mentioned some of the principal 
business houses. In addition to the above 
stores there are a large number of groceries and 
provision stores, and saloons innumerable. The 
commercial prosperity of Niles is advancing 
rapidly. 

HOTELS. 

Niles has two hotels at present, the Sanford 
and the Commercial. Beth are overrun with 
business. 

In 1868 L. W. Sanford purchased from Joseph 
McCaughtery the hotel known as the American 
house. Some five years later he changed its 
name to the Sanford house. He has made some 
improvements, and his hotel bears an excellent 
reputation. Connected with the house is a good 
livery-stable, Sanford & Pierce, proprietors. 

The Commercial house has been in charge of 
E. R. Miller since April, 1880. This was form- 
erly known as the Iron City house. Good livery 
attached. 

BANKING. 

Banking was begun in Niles, in 1869, by 
Wick, Bentley & Co. The firm was soon 
changed to Bentley & Crandon, and in 1871 
was succeeded by the Citizens' Loan & Saving 
Association. The association continued to con- 
duct the business until October, 1880, when it 
was succeeded by A. G. Bentley & Co. This 
firm do a large general banking business. 

INDUSTRIES. 
THE WARD ROLLING MILL. 

This mill, one of the most extensive in the 
Mahoning valley, has played a prominent part in 
the history of Niles, and during its e.xistence has 
brought both prosperity and disaster to the town. 



The works were begun in 1841 by James Ward, 
Sr., and finished and put in operation in 1842. 
We have the statement made by a prominent 
citizen of Niles, whom we consider the very best 
of authority upon the subject, that the first rolled 
iron ever made in the Mahoning valley was pro- 
duced in 1842 at this mill. This important fact 
should add another laurel to the memory of the 
enterprising spirit of the man whose business 
career was so long inseparably connected with 
the growth and development of this thrifty town. 
James Ward & Co. operated these works suc- 
cessfully from the time they were built until the 
death of their originator in 1864. In 1866 the 
works were rebuilt. Since then they have been 
much enlarged and the capacity greatly increased 
by the introduction of much costly machinery of 
the most improved patterns. James Ward & 
Co. — the James Ward being the son of the 
original proprietor — carried on the business suc- 
cessfully a number of years until the great finan- 
cial panic came, when the firm failed and conse- 
quently nearly every business interest in Niles 
received a shock from which the recovery has 
been slow and painful. The mill is now running 
under the control of the Ward Iron company, 
and turning out larger and more valuable prod- 
ucts than ever before. James Ward is the gen- 
eral manager. He is a man well fitted by nature 
and training for the important position. 

The works comprise twenty puddling furnaces, 
six heating furnaces, and five trains of rolls. 
The products are bar, plate, and sheet iron, the 
annual capacity being about fourteen thousand 
net tons. Over two hundred men are employed 
in this rolling-mill, and the pay-roll amounts to 
about $15,000 per month. 

THE RUSSIA SHEET IRON MILLS. 

Mrs. L. B. Ward is the proprietor, and James 
Ward general manager of these works. The 
mill was built in 1864, but since that date many 
changes, repairs, and improvements have been 
made. The works consist of twelve puddling 
and four heating furnaces, and three trains of 
rolls. The products are sheet iron in widths 
from twenty to forty-nine inches, shingle bands, 
Sykes' improved metallic roofing, plate iron, etc. 
The annual capacity is about four thousand five 
hundred net tons. About two hundred and 
twenty men are employed and the pay-roll 
amounts to between $10,000 and $14,000 per 



TRUMBULL AND MAHONING COUNTIES, OHIO. 



month. This mill was formerly a part of the 
works of James Ward & Co. 

THE ELIZABETH FURNACE. 

This furnace was erected in 1859. It had one 
stack 65x14^^ feet. After a few years its name 
was changed to the Mahoning Valley Iron com- 
pany's works. It was removed from Niles to 
Youngstown some time ago. 

THE THOMAS FURNACE. 

This furnace was built in 1870 by William 
Ward & Co., and operated by them until 1875, 
when it passed into the hands of the trustees of 
the creditors of the original owners and remained 
out of blast until 1879. It was then purchased 
by John R. Thomas, who gave the plant a thor- 
ough repair, preparatory to putting in blast. 
Since that time the furnace has been in success- 
ful operation, turning out about one thousand 
tons of iron per month. The furnace is fifty-six 
feet high and fourteen feet at the boshes. The 
motive power consists of one blast engine and two 
large steam pumps for water supply — with two 
batteries of boilers cf three large boilers each. 
The owners are at present placing another large, 
new blast engine to work in connection with the 
one now in operation, and making other impor- 
tant improvements in the plant. 

GLOBE FOUNDRY AND M.\CHINE WORKS. 

These works were built in 1858 by Thomas 
Carter and run by him until 1873. James Ward 
& Co. then managed the business for about two 
years. In 1875 John Carter took charge and 
has since been operating the works. He man- 
ufactures and deals in iron and brass castings, 
engmes, pumps, and machinery, also Carter's 
patent ore pulverizer ; and, in fact, makes and 
repairs all kinds of machinery used in coal banks, 
blast furnaces, etc. Employment is given to 
about fifty men on an average. The original 
buildings have been enlarged several times and 
at present a larger business than ever before is 
carried on. 

NILES IRON WORKS. 

In 1865 the project of building a rolling mill 
in Niles was conceived by William Davis, George 
Harris, and James Harris. They were joined by 
Corydon Beans and Thomas Jose, and on the 
loth of .\ugust the works were completed and 
set in operation. Alter the company had been 
organized, A. M. Blackford, and subsecjuently 



James Russell, became members of it. Busi- 
ness was carried on under the firm name of Har- 
ris, Davis & Co. The mill cost $50,000. The 
works at first consisted of three boiling furnaces, 
three heating furnaces, one sheet mill, and one 
ten-inch train of rolls. While under the man- 
agement of this firm, the capacity of the works 
was considerably enlarged. The product was 
six tons of sheet iron, or sixteen tons of sheet 
and bar iron per day. In 1870 Mr. Davis dis- 
posed of his int