Skip to main content

Full text of "A history of West Virginia Wesleyan College, 1890-1965"

See other formats

A _ 







1890-1965 ~ 




In the Foreword to A HISTORY OF 
LEGE Bishop Fred G. Holloway writes, 
'Tor forty years voices in the field of 
higher education have declared that the 
liberal arts college and its chief propo- 
nent, the church-related college, would 
soon be things of the past. The predic- 
tion of their demise has been made re- 
peatedly over the span of years. This his- 
tory of West Virginia Wesleyan College 
gives the lie to the prediction." 

Building upon such previous histories 
as Thomas Haught's WEST VIRGINIA 
WESLEYAN COLLEGE 1890-1940 and 
1950, the present book not only brings 
up-to-date important developments in 
the life of the institution, but adds a di- 
mension of future plans and dreams not 
unlike those of the Collea^e's founding 

Perhaps President Stanley H. Martin's 
phrase "always becoming" best describes 
the symphonic theme running through 
this lively story of a college now observ- 
ing its 75th anniversary — still vibrant, 
still growing, still committed to a Chris- 
tian philosophy of higher education. 





7 C "years in the service of 
Christian higher cducaUon 




In the Foreword to A HISTORY OF 
LEGE Bishop Fred G. Holloway writes, 
'Tor forty years voices in the field ot 
higher education have declared that the 
liberal arts college and its chief propo- 
nent, the church-related college, would 
soon be things of the past. The predic- 
tion of their demise has been made re- 
peatedly over the span of years. This his- 
tory of West Virginia Wesleyan College 
gives the lie to the prediction." 

Building upon such previous histories 
as Thomas Haught's WEST VIRGINIA 
WESLEYAN COLLEGE 1890-1940 and 
1950, the present book not only brings 
up-to-date important developments in 
the life of the institution, but adds a di- 
mension of future plans and dreams not 
unlike those of the College's founding 

Perhaps President Stanley H. Martin's 
phrase "always becoming" best describes 
the symphonic theme running through 
this lively story of a college now observ- 
ing its 75th anniversary — still vibrant, 
still CTOwino-, still committed to a Chris- 
tian philosophy of higher education. 

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Lyrasis IVIembers and Sloan Foundation 



West Virginia Wesleyan College 


BY Kenneth M. Plummer 




Copyright © 1965 by West Virginia Wesleyan College 




President of the Board, 1933 to 1956 

Forever a Friend 




For forty years voices in the field of higher education have declared 
that the liberal arts college and its chief proponent, the church-related 
college, would soon be things of the past. The prediction of their demise 
has been made repeatedly over this span of years. 

This history of West Virginia Wesleyan College gives the lie to pre- 
diction. Here is a lively account of how one such college has overcome 
a succession of difficulties to bring it to real stature in the educational 
world of today. In reading this book, one senses how, again and again, 
this college faced what would seem to be insurmountable difficulties only 
to prove its courage by surmounting them. Its battle to survive is heroic. 
The history which Professor Plummer has here written gives a clear 
account of the persistence that has brought this college to its present 

Every friend and alumnus of Wesleyan will want to own this volume. 
The historical data which it records will be of inteiest to everyone. Yet 
beyond this is the concern of the church which brought the college into 
being and the concern of the church which has reached a new high in its 
support of the college. Professor Plummer has given a reliable picture of 
this relationship. As further justification of his point of view it may be 
noted that his financial statement ended with the year 1963-64. Since 
he wrote the book, we have had another year's accounting showing an 
increase in support by the West Virginia Conference of over $40,000 for 
the year. Methodism's total support of current expenses is now equal to 
the income of an endowment of four and a half miUion dollars ! 

The author has made it clear that the history of a college is in essence 
the story of the strong men who have been involved in its affairs and the 
strong men which the college has produced. The latter justify the college : 
the former make it. One should not be deluded into naming those who 
have made distinctive contributions to the history of Wesleyan. I shall 
not succumb. You who have the book in hand will make this discovery 
for yourself. 

The book has made possible to me a perspective of Wesleyan's history 
which I had not previously had, despite the fact that my acquaintance 
with it goes back forty years. Doubdess many phases of its history are 
known in varying degrees by the alumni. Yet this book, designed to be 



available for the seventy-fifth anniversary of the college, gives the sequence 
of historical events in such a way as to underscore the dramatic story 
which brings the college to its present status. 

A special word needs to be said about the final chapter of the book. 
As readers probably know, Wesleyan does not endeavor to excuse its 
church-relatedness. It boldly states on the cover of its annual catalogue 
that it is "A Christian College." It is in this final chapter that Professor 
Plummer deals with the philosophy of such a college. This is an excellent 
and important treatment of a college's philosophy of education and the 
implementation of that philosophy in curriculum as well as the relation- 
ship of that philosophy to both faculty and student body are really the 
essence of the college. The chapter makes clear that this is not a static 
situation. West Virginia Wesleyan constantly examines itself in the light 
of its philosophy and of contemporary needs. 

There is no reason to doubt that Wesleyan's history justifies our con- 
fidence in its future. 

— Fred G. Holloway 


The Methodist Church 

West Virginia Area 


This account of the history of West Virginia Wesleyan College has 
been written in observance of the 75 th anniversary of Wesleyan to be 
celebrated during the academic year, 1965-66. It attempts to narrate 
what I deem to be significant developments in the life of the school from 
the time when it was only a dream of Methodists in West Virginia to the 
present. I have recounted the history of Wesleyan with a minimum of 
editorial comment in the belief that the story of the life and work of the 
school speaks for itself. Recognizing the limitations of this approach, I 
present the story with the feeling that it might have been told better by 
one whose association with Wesleyan has been more intimate and of 
longer duration than my own. 

I am much in debt to the work of Dr. Thomas Haught whose West 
Virginia Wesleyan College, 1890-1940 was published on the occasion of 
the 50th anniversary of the school, and to West Virginia Wesleyan 
College, The Sixth Decade, 1940-1950, which he produced ten years later. 
The memoirs of Dr. Carl G. Doney, Cheerful Yesterdays and Confident 
Tomorrows, and of Dr. Roy McCuskey, All Things Work Together for 
Good to Them that Love God, have provided much information and 

The number of persons who have assisted me in gathering material 
and in getting various facets of the life of Wesleyan in perspective is 
legion. However, special thanks is due President Stanley Martin, Dean 
Orlo Strunk, Jr., emeriti professors Dr. Ralph Brown, Dr. Lewis Chris- 
man, and Dr. James Hupp; and other members of the Wesleyan staff and 
faculty including Mrs. E. C. Bennett, Mrs. Jean Garden, Mr. Walter 
Collins, Mr. Raymond Kiser, Mr. James Ling, Mr. Patton Nickell, Mr. 
James Stansbury, Dr. Walter Brown, Dr. Herbert Coston, Dr. Sidney 
Davis, Dr. George Glauner, Dr. Dwight Mikkelson, Mr. David Reem- 
snyder, Miss Helen Stockert, Dr. William Willis and Dr. John Wright. 

I am also indebted to Mrs. Eleanor Williams for the loan of her collec- 
tion of materials from the early years of the school; to Mrs. W. P. Barlow, 
the Reverend Mr. Arnold Belcher, Mrs. W. C. Thurman, and Mrs. 
Aquila Ward for assistance in obtaining information about several of the 
founding fathers ; to the Reverend Mr. Lawrence Sherwood for informa- 
tion concerning the Parkersburg Academy. The late Dr. Clyde O. Law 



performed an invaluable service for me by sharing with me facts and 
impressions gleaned from his long and productive association with Wes- 
ley an. 

Material for the history has been gathered largely from the minutes 
of the Board of Trustees, the reports and addresses of presidents and deans, 
the annual bulletins and other publications of the college. Except where 
indicated, the quotations have come from these materials. 

— Kenneth M. Plummer 

West Virginia Wesleyan College 
May 30, 1965 



I. The School Is Located 11 

II. From Seminary to College 33 

III. Struggle for Survival 54 

IV. The Beginnings of Growth 77 

V. The Era of Expansion 98 

VI. Wesleyan, What Kind of College? 124 

Appendix 144 

Index 147 


Frontiersmen who came into Western Virginia during the late 
eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries from New England and Eastern 
Virginia were not lacking in concern for education. This was especially 
true of the Presbyterians with their deep-rooted interest in learning. How- 
ever, the initial settlers were harassed by many problems which prevented 
the development of educational opportunities. In Western Virginia these 
included a long period of preoccupation with the Indian menace, the 
time-consuming and physically exhausting task of settling in a wilderness 
area, the low economic status of the settlers and the nature of the country 
itself which made for isolation. 

From 1800 to the Civil War period the interest of the churches in 
Western Virginia in education was largely influenced by the revivalism 
of the Second Great Awakening which flourished on the frontier and 
resulted in the growth of evangeUcal Protestant groups. The largest gains 
were made during this period by the Methodists and the Baptists. The 
Methodists, with whom we are chiefly concerned, had an ambivalent 
attitude toward education. They came out of a tradition fostered by the 
university-trained Wesleys who insisted on the necessity of a union of 
vital piety and sound learning. The revivals, on the one hand, were an 
impetus to the desire for learning, in particular the ability to read, since 
the evangelical revival was centered in the Biblical message. The ability 
to read the Bible became important to those who wished to search it for 
its truths. On the other hand, revivalism tended to undercut the growth 
of education. Ministers in the evangelical tradition believed they were 
called to preach, and they tended to ignore formal theological training. 
Indeed, they considered it a detriment to the performance of their func- 
tion. Moreover, the revivals were used as a means of combatting not only 
the devil and Calvinists but also Deism. Deism, which came out of the 
intellectual currents flowing toward America from England and the 
mainland of Europe, was associated with a tendency to infidelity, the 
subversion of true religion and sound government. In the fight against 



Deism or infidelity the revivals engendered a strong suspicion of intel- 

The attitude of the frontier Methodist clergy toward education is 
to be seen in the views of Peter Cartwright who served circuits of the 
Methodist Church in Western Virginia during the first half of the nine- 
teenth century and was engaged widely in revival activity. He valued 
study and expressed gratitude to Bishop William McKendree for his small 
attainments in literature and divinity. Nevertheless, he scoffed at the 
Presbyterians and other branches of the Protestant church who contended 
for an educated ministry. The illiterate Methodist preachers, he affirmed, 
actually set the world on fire while they were lighting their matches. He 
feared that an educated Methodist clergy would make inroads on the 
itinerant ministry by localizing, secularizing and softening it. 

I awfully fear for our beloved Methodism. Multiply colleges, universities, semi- 
naries and academies, multiply our agencies and editorships, and fill them all 
with our best and most efficient preachers, and you localize and secularize them 
too; then farewell to the itinerancy . . . and when that takes place farewell to 

Cartwright represents the typical attitude toward a "called" rather 
than an educated ministry. In 1856, writing of his early years in the 
ministry, he recalls: 

A Methodist preacher in those days, when he felt that God had called him to 
preach, instead of hunting up a college or Biblical Institute, hunted up a hardy 
pony of a horse, and some traveling apparatus, and with his library always at 
hand, namely, Bible, Hymn-Book and Discipline, he started with a text that 
never wore out nor grew stale, he cried, "Behold the Lamb of God, that taketh 
away the sins of the world." - 

The use of Bible, Hymn-Book and Discipline would require at least a 
minimal education. Beyond this, the frontier Methodist clergy were sus- 
picious of higher education, at least for the clergy, and reflect an anti- 
intellectualism typical of the time and still engrained in the American 

The success of the revival movement in bringing large numbers of 
persons into the church, along with other factors, gradually changed the 
configuration of the church and its attitude toward education. At the 
beginning of the nineteenth century even meeting houses had been scarce. 

* Autobiography of Peter Cartwright, W. P. Strickland, Ed., (Cincinnati; Cranston and Stowe, 1856), 
p. 81. 
Ubid., p. 243. 



The itinerant Methodist preacher, penetrating the wilderness, held services 
in cabins, along the roadside, and sometimes in taverns. The camp meet- 
ing, concentrating on the conversion of sinners, was the symbol of frontier 
religion and revivalism was the typical activity of the churches. 

However, the social, cultural and religious climate in America under- 
went a dramatic change during the nineteenth century, particularly after 
the Civil War. The country west of the Alleghenies and east of the Missis- 
sippi lost its predominantly frontier character. Frontier camp meeting 
revivalism, with its tendency to undercut the teaching function of the 
church, gradually waned. Camp meeting sites were turned into meeting 
places for summer conferences or chatauquas or into middle class summer 
resorts. The growth of towns and cities and of more adequate church 
buildings called for a settled clergy. The Wesleyan heritage emerged again 
and an educated leadership gradually came to the fore in the Methodist 
Church. The educational and cultural gap between the clergy of the 
Methodist Church and the clergy of the Presbyterian, Congregational 
and Episcopal Churches slowly closed. The changed attitude toward 
education was given impetus by the growing influence of the religious 
education movement with its roots in the views of Horace Bushnell and 
its emphasis upon Christian nurture rather than radical conversion. 

The change in the Methodist attitude toward education began before 
the Civil War. In 1830 the Methodists had not estabhshed a single per- 
manent college. From 1830 to the start of the Civil War they founded 
thirty-four permanent colleges. In Western Virginia Methodists ventured 
into the field of education even before they were organized as an annual 
conference in 1848. The Methodists, along with the Presbyterians and 
to a lesser extent other denominational groups, established the first acade- 

The Methodist Episcopal Church may have controlled the Mount 
Hebron School at Huntington, West Virginia, prior to 1838, the year it 
became a chartered institution known as the Marshall Academy under 
an act passed by the General Assembly of Virginia. The Mount Hebron 
Church was used as a school prior to this date by several denominations, 
but there is no evidence that the Methodists had an exclusive interest in 
the school.* The academy came under the control of the Methodist 

' I am indebted for the discussion of revivalism and its influence to W. W. Sweet, Revivalism in 
America (Charles Scribner's Sons, 1944) and C. C. Cleveland, The Great Revival in the West, 1797- 
1805 (Peter Smith, 1959). 

■• See West Virginia History, Vol. 13, No. 2, January, 1952, Robert C. OToole, "The Early History 
of Marshall Academy, 1837-1850." 



Episcopal Church South in 1850. In 1866 it passed out of control of the 
church apparently because the church was unable to raise the money to 
cover the financial liabilities of the school. 

On August 3, 1839, the Quarterly Conference of the Little Kanawha 
Circuit of the Methodist Episcopal Church adopted a memorial peti- 
tioning the Ohio Annual Conference to take under its patronage the 
Parkersburg Male and Female Seminary. The seminary began operation 
on April 30, 1839, with the Reverend Charles R. Baldwin, the local station 
preacher, in charge. The memorialists noted "there is no institution of 
the kind under tlie patronage of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 
Western Virginia; nor is it known to your memorialists that there is any 
academical school now in successful operation in the western part of 
said state at this time . . . ."° The Ohio Conference in its session of 1840 
appropriated $100 for the support of the school known as "Asbury 
Academy." On February 8, 1842, the academy was chartered under 
Virginia statutes. There is no clear evidence regarding the length of life 
of the academy. Maxwell P. Gaddis, agent for the seminary, says that 
during the summer of 1841-42 he raised a subscription of nearly $5,000 
for the school. However, the money was never used for the purpose for 
which it was subscribed. During the following spring difficulties arose 
which resulted in the abandonment of the project.*^ 

In 1842 plans were consummated by the Methodist Episcopal Church 
for the purchase of the Randolph Academy erected in Clarksburg, West 
Virginia, in 1795. The Reverend Gordon Batelle, a member of the Pitts- 
burgh Conference, became the principal. The school known as the North- 
western Virginia Academy was operated by the Methodist Church until 
the Civil War when it was used for military purposes as a prison, soldier's 
barracks and hospital. Efforts to revive the academy following the war 
failed. The trustees of the institution reported to the annual conference 
in 1868 that it was impossible to sustain it as an independent school, and 
it had been temporarily merged into the free schools of the borough of 
Clarksburg. The Methodists in 1885 terminated all efforts directed at 
control or ownership of the academy. 

* This quotation and information regarding the Parkersburg Male and Female Seminary was obtained 
from the original memorial to the Ohio Annual Conference now owned by the Reverend Dr. Lawrence 
Sherwood, a member of die West Virginia Annual Conference of The Methodist Church. 

•Maxwell P. Gaddis, Footprints of an Itinerant (Cincinnati: Methodist Book Concern, 1855), pp. 



The Fairmont Male and Female Seminary, which opened in 1856, 
came under the patronage and control of the West Virginia Annual 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church the same year at the 
request of the trustees of the school. The principal, the Reverend W. R. 
White, a member of the Baltimore Conference, subsequently became the 
first State Superintendent of Public Schools in West Virginia. No exact 
date can be given for the surrender by the Methodists of control of the 
seminary. There is no reference to the school after 1864 in the minutes 
of the annual conference. 

A step was taken by the church to support the educational program 
of the conference with the organization in 1851 of the "Educational 
Society of Western Virginia." The efforts of the society to control the 
Northwestern Virginia Academy were frustrated by the charter of the 
institution which prevented any church organization from holding the 
right of control or private ownership. The support of the society was 
transferred to the Fairmont Male and Female Seminary. The society, 
originally incorporated by the State of Virginia, was given recognition 
by the State of West Virginia, following its estabHshment, and was re- 
named "The West Virginia Educational Society." From this point, the 
society was devoted to providing financial assistance to persons preparing 
for the ministry. 

The failure of the Methodists to sustain the institutions which came 
under their patronage stems from a number of factors. Chief among them 
was the lack of adequate financial resources, a problem which also 
hampered efforts to establish a public school system. The growing strife 
and sectionalism engendered by the controversy over slavery played a role 
also. Economic conditions following the Civil War undoubtedly eclipsed 
attempts to sustain the interest in education. 

Following the Civil War it was not until the year 1874, at the session 
of the West Virginia Annual Conference of the Metiiodist Episcopal 
Church in Fairmont, that action was taken looking toward the sponsoring 
of an educational institution. The Conference Committee on Education 
stated that reasons too numerous to mention could be advanced for the 
estabHshment of one or more conference seminaries. It reported rumors 
of an offer of buildings, grounds and money ready to be made over to 
the conference by a gentleman residing in Charleston if it would establish 
a seminary in the capital of the state. The committee suggested the possi- 
bility of reorganizing the academy in Clarksburg or of locating a seminary 



wherever the most favorable opening should present itself in the north- 
western part of the state. A committee was appointed by the annual con- 
ference to receive, consider and act on any propositions which might be 

The Committee on Education noted in its report the following year, 
1875, that "a generous offer has been made by the citizens of Upshur of 
subscriptions to the amount of ($3239) thirty-two hundred and thirty- 
nine dollars and also by the payment of a claim on the United States 
Government for the use of the Baxter Institute, and in addition a de- 
sirable site for a school building is guaranteed if the location of the 
seminary is made in Buckhannon." The Committee on Conference Semi- 
nary, J. G. Blair, J. W. Reger and E. W. Ryan, reported in 1877 that 
to date the only proposal it had received was from Buckhannon, Upshur 
County, which had raised its subscription to $6,950 and was offering a 
site for the seminary containing three acres of land worth at least $1,500, 
making a total contribution of $8,090. The committee recommended 
Buckhannon as the location of the seminary and asked that the conference 
appoint trustees to receive the proposed funds and land, and to proceed 
with the construction of such buildings as necessary, but not to go beyond 
the means placed in their hands now or hereafter. Trustees appointed 
for the seminary at Buckhannon included A. M. Poundstone, G. A. New- 
Ion, E. Leonard, J. W. Heffner, W. R. White, J. W. Reger, and T. B. 

The records do not make clear what happened to prevent the reception 
of the Buckhannon proposal. The annual conference adopted a resolution 
again in 1878 which called for the appointment of a commission of five 
ministers and four laymen to receive any proposals made by individuals 
or communities for the location of a seminary provided that none were 
to be invited from places not accessible, or nearly so, by railroad. The 
resolution provided further that the school should not be established in 
any community which could not donate at least $25,000 in lands, build- 
ings or other property; and that the appointment of a majority of the 
Board of Trustees should be invested in the annual conference. In the 
light of this action one surmises that the trustees for the seminary at 
Buckhannon did not believe that the offer which had been made by that 
community was sufficient. The commission appointed to receive proposals 
within the hmits specified by the resolution included A. C. George, W. R. 
White, Samuel Steele, E. U. Ryan, and D. H. K. Dix, ministers; H. K. 



List, A. I. Boreman, C. M. Bishop, and Nathan Goff, Sr., laymen. The 
commission met at the Fourth Street Methodist Episcopal Church in 
Wheeling, February 6, 1879, and elected the Reverend Mr. A. G. George 
as chairman. The results of this meeting were reported at the fall session 
of the conference. 

The chairman of the committee was instructed to publish in the church and 
secular papers an appeal to the friends of education for proposals at some 
central and accessible point for an academic institution to be founded under the 
control of the West Virginia Conference of The Methodist Episcopal Church. 
The appeal was printed in the daily papers of Wheeling, in weekly papers 
generally throughout the State and The New York Advocate, Pittsburgh Ad- 
vocate, and Cincinnati Advocate. The purpose of the Seminary was stated in 
the following terms: "It is intended that this seminary shall be for both sexes 
and shall provide a higher order of instruction than that of the public schools 
and such as is necessary to prepare students for admission to the college or 
university or to fit them for the practical duties of business life and the just 
demands of society. While the seminary will be under denominational super- 
vision, it will not be a sectarian institution in any proper sense. It is deemed 
necessary for the success of such an institution, its efficiency and prosperity, 
that some church organization shall be responsible for its character and work. 
Manners and morals will be taught as well as science and literature, and the 
duty of loving and serving God and of accepting Jesus Christ as the Savior 
of the soul will be diligently inculcated. In a word it is hoped to establish a 
Christian seminary which shall be not only a help to learning but also a 
fountain of piety. 

The appeal further noted the required $25,000 minimum as well as 
the need for equipment, Ubrary, and other items, plus the necessity of 
partial endowment for the seminary, with an endowment of not less than 
$100,000 a foreseeable necessity. On the basis of these terms and con- 
ditions, the appeal asked for proposals from different communities for the 
establishment of the seminary in their localities. 

Subsequent meetings of the committee were held in Grafton and 
Parkersburg. As a result of these meetings it was ascertained that there 
was general recognition that the proposed seminary would be a boon to 
any community. But leading citizens in various communities had suggested 
that if the community in which the seminary were to be located was 
going to be required to furnish $25,000 in money and other assets, the 
annual conference should agree to raise an equal amount towards the 
endowment of the seminary. The committee felt that this was a reasonable 
suggestion, and that "the West Virginia Conference with 150 traveling 
preachers, 376 churches, over 33,000 members, and a church property 



which is in the aggregate put down at $622,120" could and ought to 
raise money for the endowment of the seminary. The annual conference 
approved the report provided no measures be taken by which the con- 
ference would become financially involved. 

The following year, 1880, the annual conference Committee on 
Education recommended the appointment of "a committee of ten to 
solicit subscriptions for an Institution of Academic Grade for both sexes 
to be located south of the Little Kanawha River," and a Board of Control 
to purchase or erect a building, should it be deemed necessary, and to 
commence and control a school until the next session of the annual con- 
ference. The board could not act, however, unless the full amount of 
$25,000 were raised. Sectional interests may have prompted this move 
to establish the school in the southern part of the state. 

In 1883 the annual conference appointed a Committee on Centennial 
Celebration of the Anniversary of Methodism in America. The report of 
the committee included the following recommendation: 

That the erection and endowment of an institution of learning of high grade 
for both sexes be one of the principal objects of the thank-offerings of our 
people of this Conference. The location of said institution to be fixed by the 
Conference at a future session. 

The Committee for the Celebration of the Centennial recommended 
in 1884 that each charge should take an offering and solicit funds publicly 
and privately to be equally divided between the permanent fund for worn 
out preachers and the widows and orphans of deceased ministers and 
the building and endowment of a conference seminary. As of September 
9, 1886, the Centennial Fund had raised a total of $283.57 for the pro- 
posed seminary. 

In 1886 the Committee on Education suggested that the strategy of 
"waiting for something to turn up" had failed hopelessly. Let the Board 
of Trustees secure a charter of incorporation and locate the seminary as 
speedily as possible! Let the second Sunday of January be observed to 
present the interest of the proposed school to the churches and let collec- 
tions and subscriptions be taken! Let the money in the hands of the 
treasurer of the educational fund and the funds held by the Board of 
Control of the Centennial Education Fund be handed over to the Board 
of Trustees of the seminary as soon as it be incorporated and organized ! 

The Reverend Mr. John W. Reger who had been appointed a trustee 



for the seminary had voiced his sentiments regarding the proposed school 
in a letter published in The Pittsburgh Christian Advocate, March 3, 
1887. He noted that among the imperative reasons for founding an in- 
stitution of high school grade in West Virginia was the fact that each 
year the state lost some of its most promising young men, and that many 
preachers transferred to other conferences because of the inability to 
secure an education for themselves or their families within the state. The 
paramount question facing 40,000 Methodists in West Virginia was 
whether or not they would act to afford educational opportunities within 
their own state in a location that would provide educational advantages 
for the greatest number. Inasmuch as the northern der of counties in the 
state had educational advantages near at hand in old and well established 
institutions under the control and patronage of the church, it would be 
a mistake to try to establish a school there. The Reverend Mr. Reger felt 
that the conference had made a grave mistake when it adopted such 
action as was calculated to lead people to beheve that the seminary would 
be located at the place giving the largest amount of money or property 
inducement. Unless the men appointed to locate the seminary could 
rise above local influences and local prejudices, and discard bargain and 
sale, there was great danger that they would make a sad and irreparable 
mistake. The seminary, he maintained, would be most accessible and 
provide the greatest educational advantage if it were located in the in- 
terior of the state. 

Interest in a Methodist controlled school during this period was 
doubtless influenced by other factors than the exodus of students from 
the state or the lack of educational opportunities within the state. Charles 
A. Ambler in A History of Education in West Virginia notes the fact that 
following the formaUon of the State of West Virginia prominent Method- 
ists manned most of the important positions in the new state government. 
Methodists came to regard the State University at Morgantown as their 
school and urged their constituents to patronize it and die state normal 
schools. The interest of the Methodists in establishing an institution of 
their own waxed and waned depending upon whether or not the university 
had a Methodist president. In 1882 the Methodists lost control of the 
university. The university adopted die curriculum of the University of 
Virginia. These events produced an exodus of Methodist students from 
the university. 

Impetus to the establishment of a school where boys and girls could 



be educated under Christian influence may ha\'e come also from the 
growing recognition that the theory of evolution was being taught at many 

In its annual plea for the establishment of a seminary, the annual 
conference Committee on Education in 1887 affirmed: 

Loyalty to Methodism as well as to the Church Catholic compels us to turn 
our patronage into those channels only which promise to bring the young into 
the communion of Saints. No college that permits its professors to insinuate 
skepticism into immature and impressible minds, who antagonize scripture with 
science falsely so-called can expect any favor from Christian parents. It is 
demanded that every man should be presented perfect in Jesus Christ as well 
as perfect in the curriculum of study. 

This was the period when the rumblings of contro\'ersy were being 
heard in the churches over the attempt to reconcile the Bible with the 
findings of science, in particular, the theory of emergent evolution which 
undercut the Biblical story of creation. In addition, the work of Biblical 
scholars in Europe who were applying the historical-critical method to 
the study of the scriptures was beginning to make itself felt in the theo- 
logical schools in America. In his autobiography, All Things Work To- 
gether for Good to Them That Love God, Dr. Roy McCuskey notes that 
around the turn of the century the West Virginia Annual Conference of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church did not have a large number of seminary 
graduates.^ The atmosphere was conser\'ative and much was heard about 
"higher criticism" and "evolution." Dr. McCuskey and several of his 
friends who decided to attend the Boston School of Theolog)' were stoutly 
opposed and discouraged by several of the older ministers. The focal 
point of opposition was Professor Hinckley G. Mitchell who was a storm 
center of controversy at Boston for about fifteen years because of his 
introduction of higher criticism in the study of the Bible. 

Members of the Methodist Episcopal Church were also aware of the 
fact that even while they were talking about establishing a school, the 
Methodist Episcopal Church South was considering a proposition to 
establish an institution at Philippi, West Virginia. The seminary at Phi- 
lippi did not materiahze. However, in 1888 the southern branch of the 
church opened a seminary at Barboursville in Cabell County. 

The Board of Trustees appointed for the seminary met at the Method- 
ist Episcopal Church in Buckhannon on April 13, 1887. Present were the 

' Roy McCuskey, All Things Work Together for Good to Them That Love God (Buckhannon, W. 
Va.: West Virginia Wesleyan Press, 1964). 



Reverends A. J. Lyda, L. K. Jordan, J. A. Fullerton, J. W. Reger, E. H. 
Orwin, L. L. Stewart, A. B. Rohrbough, the Honorable H. C. Mc- 
Whorter, Captain A. M. Poundstone, and John A. Bonner, Esquire. 
A. J. Lyda was elected chairman. Propositions for location of the seminary 
were received from Grafton, Kingwood, Philippi, Salem, Weston, Wheel- 
ing, Clarksburg, and Buckhannon. Two more meetings were held before 
a decision was reached, with additional propositions coming from Parkers- 
burg, Wirt Court House and Elizabeth. On July 13, at Philippi, thirteen 
of the sixteen members of the Board of Trustees chose Buckhannon as 
the site for the school on the thirteenth ballot. The sixteen members of 
the Board of Trustees were divided evenly between ministers and laymen. 
All were currently citizens of West Virginia. 

The Reverend Dr. John Archer Fullerton (1850-1928) was a native 
of Belfast, Ireland. He entered the ministry at twenty years of age and 
preached at Glen Arm and Carnlough near Belfast. He became a member 
of the West Virginia Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church in 1872. In addition to pastorates, he served one term as a district 
superintendent. For a time he was editor of the Methodist Episcopal 
Times, published at Parkersburg. 

The Reverend Dr. Andrew Jackson Lyda (1821-1900) was a native 
of Hancock, Maryland. Before the seminary was established he was the 
first chairman of the Board of Trustees. Upon location of the seminary 
he resigned as chairman to become the financial agent for the school. Mr. 
Lyda was a charter member of the West Virginia Annual Conference and 
spent forty-four of his forty-eight years in the effective ministry in West 
Virginia. He was chaplain of the Third Virginia Volunteers, the United 
States Army, from 1862-1864. 

The Reverend Mr. E. H. Orwen (1835-1892) was a native of Delhi, 
New York. After a brief career as a teacher, he entered the ministry and 
from 1852 served churches in New York and West Virginia. On two 
occasions during his ministry he was forced by iU health to take the super- 
numerary relation. He engaged in editorial work during one of these 
periods. At the time of the founding of the seminary he was engaged in 
assisting his son in establishing a newspaper at Aberdeen, Maryland. He 
was secretary of the Board of Trustees until his death. He was also a 
trustee of Ohio Wesleyan University. 

The Reverend Dr. John W. Reger ( 1815-1893) was born near Volga, 
West Virginia. At the age of twenty-two he was licensed to preach by the 



Methodist Episcopal Church at a quarterly meeting held near French 
Creek. He was sent as junior preacher to the Randolph Circuit which 
covered a territory of three hundred miles from the Mingo Flats on the 
headwaters of the Tygart River to Allegany County, Maryland. He 
served for forty-seven years in the Pittsburgh and West Virginia Con- 
ferences. In 1861 he enlisted as a private in the 7th West Virginia Vol- 
unteer Infantry and served until after the battle of Gettysburg. He was 
forced to resign because of illness, but he served as chaplain at the Graf- 
ton Hospital until the close of the War between the States. He gave ardent 
support to the location of the seminary at Buckhannon where he lived 
during his retirement. The laborers who erected the original seminary 
building said that he spent the greater part of his time on the grounds 
during the construction examining every brick and stone that went into 
the structure. A few days before his death he informed a friend that he 
considered his contribution to the location and building of the West 
Virginia Conference Seminary the crowning act of his life. 

The Reverend Mr. A. B. Rohrbough (1836-1901) was born near 
Buckhannon, West Virginia. He was admitted on trial to the West Vir- 
ginia Annual Conference in 1857. During 1862-63 he lived in Illinois 
where he taught school. For the next ten years he was a resident of Buck- 
hannon and engaged in newspaper work, teaching and temperance work. 
During two of these years he was superintendent of the public schools. He 
returned to the Southern Illinois Conference for another ten-year period 
during which he served as a pastor. In 1884 he returned to West Virginia 
as a pastor, and for a period of two years he again engaged in newspaper 
and temperance work at Buckhannon. In 1900 he was appointed editor 
of the Methodist Episcopal Times. 

The Reverend Mr. Loren L. Stewart (1845-1893) came to West 
Virginia from Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. He was admitted on 
trial to the West Virginia Annual Conference in 1870 and served as a 
pastor and as presiding elder for two terms. 

The Reverend Mr. William R. White (1820-1893) was born in 
Georgetown, District of Columbia. Mr. White, a graduate of Dickinson 
College, served as pastor of churches in the Baltimore Conference of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church from 1844 to 1852. He became president 
of Olin and Preston Institute, Blacksburg, Virginia, in 1852. From 1856 
to 1863 he was president of the Male and Female Seminary, Fairmont, 
West Virginia. Mr. White was, the first state superintendent of the free 



school system of West Virginia from 1864-69. During 1869-70 he was 
president of the state normal school at Fairmont. He returned to the 
pastorate for a period of twelve years during which he served as pre- 
siding elder of the Buckhannon District from 1879-83. The year before 
his death he was principal of the Buckhannon graded schools, and during 
1892-93 he was principal of the Fairmont graded schools. 

John C. Bardall (1839-1925) was born at sea while his parents were 
emigrating to America from Germany. At the age of nineteen he began 
to learn the trade of whip manufacturer at Wellsburg, Pennsylvania. He 
worked for several whip manufacturers successively until 1873 when he 
helped establish the firm of Weaver and Bardall at the Western Peni- 
tentiary of Pennsylvania. In 1877 the firm located at Moundsville, West 
Virginia. The firm also operated a tannery in Pittsburgh for its supply 
of leather. Mr. Bardall had interests in the natural gas, coal and fire clay 
lands around Moundsville and Wheeling. He served for over a decade as 
superintendent of the Sunday School of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
at Moundsville. He was a lay delegate to the General Conference of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church at New York City in 1888, and a reserve 
delegate to the Ecumenical Council of all Protestant churches which met 
in New York in 1 890. He was a member of the building committee of the 
Simpson Methodist Church, Moundsville, in 1907, and a member of the 
Board of Trustees of the church until about 1915. He also helped to 
establish the Calvary and Glendale Methodist Churches. 

Mr. John A. Barnes ( 1854-1936) was a native of Lewis County, West 
Virginia. Mr. Barnes was a merchant in Weston. He helped organize the 
Citizens Bank of Weston and was an official of the bank until 1934. He 
was one of the organizers of the Building and Loan Association and a 
member of the Board of Directors from 1887-1936. An active layman in 
the First Methodist Church of Weston, he was a member of the Official 
Board and of the Board of Trustees; choir director, 1875-1916; a Sunday 
school teacher, 1925-36; and Boy Scoutmaster, 1912-14. During World 
War I he was director of the Weston Red Cross. Mr. Barnes was one 
of fifty men to buy the first plot of acreage at Jackson's Mill for the 
original 4-H Camp. He served as secretary of the Board of Trustees of 

The Honorable Benjamin F. Martin ( 1828-1895) was born at Farm- 
ington, West Virginia. He graduated from Allegheny College in 1854, 
studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1856. He settled in Prunty- 



town, West Virginia, but moved to Grafton when that town was made 
the county seat. He entered politics and was elected to the United States 
Congress in 1876 on the Democratic ticket. He was an active layman in 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Samuel Phillips McCormick (1841-1889), a native of Washington 
County, Pennsylvania, attended the Fairmont Academy. He worked for 
two years as a brick mason before teaching school in Marion and Monon- 
galia counties in West Virginia from 1858 to the outbreak of the Civil 
War. Beginning July 1861, he served for approximately a year in General 
Bank's Division of the Army of the Potomac. He was honorably dis- 
charged because of a chronic illness. After studying law under the direc- 
tion of Judge Ralph L. B. Berkshire at Morgantown, he located at 
Harrisville, Ritchie County. He moved to West Union in 1865, and the 
following year he was elected prosecuting attorney. He located at Grafton 
in 1873, and beginning in 1876 served a four-year term as prosecuting 
attorney of Taylor County. In 1880 he was elected as a delegate-at-large 
from West Virginia to the RepubHcan National Convention, and was 
one of three delegates who created a national sensation by refusing to vote 
for Senator Roscoe Conkling's resolution binding delegates in advance 
of a nomination to support the party candidates. He served for eight years 
as a member of the Republican State Executive Committee. In 1885 he 
was appointed collector of internal revenue for West Virginia by President 
Chester Arthur. 

The Honorable Henry C. McWhorter (1836-1913) was bom in 
Marion County, Ohio. At the outbreak of the Civil War he served in 
the home guards for several months. In September 1861, he enlisted as 
a private in the Federal Army and rose to the rank of captain. Forced to 
retire in 1862, he served to the end of the war as chief clerk in the Provost 
Marshall's office. Meanwhile, he studied law with his brother. Judge 
Marcellus McWhorter. He was admitted to the bar in West Virginia in 
1866 and began the practice of law in Charleston. He was active in the 
Republican Party and was elected to the state legislature 1865-68, 1885- 
87. He was speaker of the House of Delegates in 1868. He served at 
various times as prosecuting attorney of Kanawha County, and as post- 
master and city solicitor of Charleston. In 1896 he was elected to the 
Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia and served as presiding 
judge from 1906 to 1909. Mr. McWhorter was a member of the Charles- 
ton Methodist Church in which he served as Sunday school superintendent 



and as a member of the Board of Trustees. He was a Universalist in his 
religious beliefs, and he described himself as a "Universal Methodist." 
He was president of the Board of Trustees of Wesleyan from 1897 until 
his death. 

Mr. A. M. Poundstone (1835-1921) was a native of Fayette County, 
Pennsylvania. After graduation from Allegheny College, he taught school 
at New Lexington, Ohio. He began the study of law and was admitted 
to the bar in 1860. He served in the Federal Army with the rank of 
captain until his discharge in 1865. He immediately came to Buckhannon, 
West Virginia, and opened a law office. In 1886 he was elected prosecut- 
ing attorney for Upshur County and served in this office for fourteen 
years. He was a member for two terms, 1872-79, in the West Virginia 
State Legislature. He was an active member of the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church in Buckhannon. 

Mr. WilHam A. Wilson ( 1842-1920) was a native of Wheeling, West 
Virginia, where he was a lumber dealer, planing mill operator and build- 
ing contractor. He took over his father's concern, under the name of W. A. 
Wilson and Sons, and operated a wholesale and retail business covering 
five states. For a number of years he was president of the Commercial 
Bank of Wheeling. Mr. Wilson was a member of the North Street Method- 
ist Episcopal Church in Wheeling. 

Samuel Woods (1822-1897) was born in East Canada. His family 
moved to Meadville, Pennsylvania, when he was a boy. He graduated 
from Allegheny College in 1842, then studied law in Pittsburgh. He 
taught for a time at Morgantown and settled in 1848 in Barbour County 
or the Philippi District where he practiced law. He was a member of 
the convention at Richmond, Virginia, in 1861, which adopted an ordi- 
nance of secession from the Union. He espoused the cause of the Con- 
federacy and served in the Confederate Army. His family refugeed south 
and returned to Philippi with the cessation of hostilities. In 1872 Mr. 
Woods was a member of the Second Constitutional Convention which 
prepared the constitution for the State of West Virginia. He served as a 
judge of the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals from 1883-88. 
He served as chairman of the Board of Trustees of the West Virginia 
Conference Seminary from the founding of the school undl his death. 

Information regarding one of the original trustees is scanty. The 
Reverend Mr. L. H. Jordan was a member of the West Virginia Annual 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church until around the turn of 



the century when his name was no longer listed in the annual conference 
journal. The recollection of several persons in Buckhannon is that he 
served a term as district superintendent of the Buckhannon District. 
During his travels on the district he gathered many seedling oak trees 
which he planted on the seminary campus. 

On July 16, the board, after considering various sites, took an option 
on "60 acres, more or less" offered by William F. Carper at $80 per acre 
and authorized use of as much of "money subscribed by citizens of Upshur 
County and others" as "may be necessary to pay and satisfy the price 
agreed to be given for the Carper option." On August 29, the board 
rescinded this action because it appeared that the trustees would have 
to assume the burden of building a bridge across the Buckhannon River 
to the Carper property in North Buckhannon, and because the property 
contained deep ravines. It accepted instead a proposition from Levi 
Leonard of "43 acres, 1 rod and 13 square poles of land" for the price 
of $5,551.86. The trustees made a down payment of $300 and arranged 
for the residue to be paid "in three equal installments of $1,750.62 each 
with interest from date, payable and lien to be reserved on the land con- 
veyed to secure the deferred payments." The Reverend Dr. J. W. Reger 
assumed personal responsibility for the down payment to be reimbursed 
out of collections on subscriptions to the seminary. P. C. Lewis of Buck- 
hannon was employed at a fee of two dollars to plant four square stones, 
one at each of the four corners of the purchased land. At long last the 
seminary was on the way. 

The location and subsequent establishment of the seminary at Buck- 
hannon brought to fruition a long standing interest in education among 
the residents of Upshur County. 

The General Assembly of Virginia on February 1, 1847, passed an 
act entitled "An Act to incorporate the male and female academy of 
Buckhannon" on petition of several citizens in and around the town. The 
incorporators purchased a lot on West Main Street about a block west of 
the present intersection of Main and Locust Streets and erected a two- 
story schoolhouse. The school was abandoned after several years and the 
building deteriorated. In 1866 the West Virginia Legislature appointed 
trustees for the property. The trustees sold the property and put the 
money on interest until such time as another high school should be es- 

Subsequent impetus for the founding of a school in Upshur County 



came when the Presbyterians attempted to establish a high school at 
Buckhannon. The pastor, the Reverend Mr. R. Lawson, persuaded his 
parishioners to name the school after Richard Baxter, an English Protes- 
tant educator. The site selected, now part of the Wesleyan campus, was 
known as the Oak Grove and stretched from the intersection of the 
present Sedgwick Street and College Avenue to the Annie Merner Pfeiffer 
Library. The contract for the building was let and lumber was hauled to 
the site. Before the building was erected, McClellan's troops invaded 
Upshur County and appropriated the lumber for camps and camp fires. 
In 1905 the United States awarded the Presbyterian Church in Buck- 
hannon $1,431 damages for destruction of property. As we have previ- 
ously noted, the first overture made from Upshur County for the location 
of the seminary at Buckhannon included the offer of the resources of the 
Baxter Institute. 

Again in 1871 the Presbyterians, immigrants from New England who 
settled in and around French Creek, secured a charter for the French 
Creek Institute. The school, a male and female academy designed to trziin 
teachers and promote education generally, functioned for about fourteen 

The West Virginia Normal and Classical Academy was incorporated 
and located in Buckhannon in 1882, with the United Brethren in Christ's 
Church as the founders and promoters. The academy, housed in a ten- 
room frame building, was a male and female seminary. The curriculum, 
following the typical pattern of the times, included five courses — classical, 
philosophical, musical, commercial, and teacher training. The academy 
aimed at preparing students for entrance in the sophomore year of college 
and at qualifying students for teaching in the public schools of the state. 
Professor W. O. Mills, a graduate of Oberlin University, took charge 
of the school in 1889. When the school moved to Mason City, West 
Virginia, in 1897, Mr. Mills became professor of mathematics at the 
West Virginia Conference Seminary. The corporation of Buckhannon 
purchased the property and converted it into a public school, the present 
Academy Elementary School. 

These abortive attempts to establish a school do not appear to have 
slackened the interest of the residents of Upshur County in education. 

The Board of Trustees reported the location of the seminary in Buck- 
hannon to the annual conference meeting in Parkersburg, October 5, 
1887, and noted that it had received from the citizens of Buckhannon 



and Upshur County good and solvent subscriptions to the sum of $12,000, 
payable one-fourth when work on the buildings should be commenced, the 
balance in three equal payments at three, six and nine months thereafter. 
The Reverend Mr. A. J. Lyda was appointed as financial agent for the 
seminary, whereupon he resigned as president of the board. The trustees, 
meeting during the session, elected Samuel Woods president, an office 
which he filled until his death in 1897. B. F. Martin, L. H. Jordan and 
W. R. White were appointed a committee to secure the services of a 
competent architect to furnish plans and specifications for a building not 
to exceed in cost $25,000. A. M. Poundstone was authorized to employ 
workmen to quarry and deliver upon the seminary ground building rock 
subscribed by Mr. M. Jackson. The board also presented papers of in- 
corporation for approval by the annual conference which called for six- 
teen trustees, eight ministers and eight laymen, to be elected annually 
from the membership of the Methodist Episcopal Church living within 
the bounds of the West Virginia Annual Conference. It further requested 
the annual conference to apportion $1,500 to the churches to meet ex- 
penses of the seminary agent and to fix the first Sunday in December as 
Seminary Day for collections to meet the apportionment. 

The board met again in Buckhannon, April 11-13, 1888. A committee 
consisting of J. C. Bardall, S. P. McCormick, A. M. Poundstone, H. C. 
McWhorter, L. H. Jordan, and J. W. Reger, was appointed to receive 
bids for the erection of a seminary building and to enter contract for it 
according to the plans and specifications prepared by Mr. E. Wells, 
architect, of Wheeling. The trustees visited the seminary grounds in a 
body and decided to locate the building 350 feet from the front of the 
parcel of land and 300 feet from the proposed street to the southwest. 
They subsequently rescinded this plan and declared that the northerly 
side of the building should parallel Seminary Avenue (now College 
Avenue) to place it on the crest of the knoll. The trustees also appointed 
L. H. Jordan, J. W. Reger and A. M. Poundstone of Buckhannon as an 
executive committee to pass on bills for the treasurer, B. F. Martin, of 

By August 30, 1888, A. J. Lyda was able to report cash and sub- 
scriptions of $1,905.05, in addition to the collection of $260 prior to his 
appointment as agent. The board awarded a contract for excavation and 
stone work to George Crabb on a bid of $4,167 less $175 per perch on 
all stone furnished by the trustees, the work to be completed by May 



15, 1889. Meeting again on October 10 and 11, the board authorized 
its president to enter into contract with Henry O'Blenness for erection and 
completion of the superstructure of the seminary building at the price 
of $23,332, to be enclosed by December 1889, and to be completed before 
the first day of July, 1 890. Permission was given to make bricks from clay 
to be dug from the campus. 

In view of the fact that the treasurer's report showed a balance on 
hand of only $1,689.76, the board adopted a resolution presented by 
Samuel Woods authorizing the raising of $15,000 through the sale of 
". . . one hundred fifty coupon bonds of one hundred dollars each issued 
by this board payable ten years from and after the first of January, 1889, 
with interest thereon at the rate of six per cent annual, payable annually 
at the Buckhannon Bank in the town of Buckhannon, West Virginia. . . ." 
The bonds were secured by a deed of trust on the forty-three acres of land. 
In addition, twelve of the trustees signed a note for $3,000 borrowed 
from the First National Bank of Grafton. The board authorized the 
treasurer to collect subscriptions as they became due and urged the se- 
curing of new pledges. 

The following spring L. H. Jordan and A. M. Poundstone, who had 
been appointed to explore the possibility of opening the seminary in 
September 1889, before completion of the building, reported a possible 
enrollment of fifty students for the fall and winter terms and one hundred 
for the spring and summer terms. They based their estimate on the re- 
sponse to a circular sent to the ministers of the annual conference, few 
of whom responded. In view of the pressure which would be on the 
trustees to get the building up, they did not beUeve it was possible to plan 
for an early opening. A year later at their annual meeting, June 11-13, 
1890, at Buckhannon, the trustees set an autumn opening date of Sep- 
tember 10, and voted to tender to the Reverend Mr. Bennett W. Hutch- 
inson the presidency of the seminary at a salary of $1,200, and to his 
wife the work of the music department with the profits thereof as com- 
pensation. The board rounded out its preparation by fixing tuition for the 
first year at $25, ministers' children at one-half tuition; by appointing a 
committee to arrange a prospectus for the fall term and advertise in such 
newspapers "as will gratuitously do so," and the Pittsburgh Conference 
Advocate; and by hiring Professor Jay F. Ogden to organize and ad- 
minister a teacher training program, and Miss Emma Tavenner to teach 



history and English. By the opening of school it had hired Mr. Frank 
Trotter to teach Latin, German and French and D. T. E. Castelle, M.D., 
to teach chemistry, physiology and zoology. 

Bennett W. Hutchinson came to the presidency of the seminary at 
the age of thirty-one. He received the A. B. Degree at Ohio Wesley an 
University in 1883, and taught for a year at Augusta College, Augusta, 
Kentucky. After serving another year as a circuit riding preacher at 
Sistersville, West Virginia, he entered the Boston University School of 
Theology and graduated in 1887 with the S.T.B. Degree. He was or- 
dained a Methodist minister and served as pastor of the Emmanuel 
Church at Mansfield, Massachusetts, and the St. Paul's Methodist Church, 
Providence, Rhode Island. In 1890, while pastor at St. Paul's, he made 
the following entry in his diary : 

June 13 — Last night received a telegram announcing my election as President 
of the West Virginia Conference Seminary, Buckhannon, West Virginia and 
think probably I will accept it. It is a hard but important field. 

He accepted the offer and arrived in Buckhannon in July to prepare for 
the commencement of school on September 3, 1890. His decision to come 
to the seminary fulfilled a desire to get into the field of education which 
had persisted from his days at Ohio Wesleyan and had grown with the 
years. An entry in his diary for October 12, 1884, notes: 

Before I left West Virginia, I almost felt sometimes as though I would like to 
remain in the Conference and help to work up a Conference school. There is 
certainly a great work to do in that line in West Virginia. Brother Wilding 
urged me to remain with that end in view. 

One month before receiving the call to the presidency of the seminary 
he noted that the old inclination toward educational work was as strong as 

President Hutchinson later recalled that when he first set foot on the 
campus no streets were opened except one leading to a gate at the south- 
west corner of the grounds. The three-story seminary building stood on 
the site of the present Administration Building. It was a brick structure 
of good architectural design containing a large and a small chapel, nine 
recitation rooms, two literary society halls, and the president's office. It 
was ample for the first years of school, but the building looked lonesome 
standing alone in a field with no walks or other improvements and no 
furnishings of any kind. The paraphernalia of the construction crew still 



littered the grounds, and the pits from which clay had been dug to make 
bricks scarred the landscape. More than half of the cost of the property 
was covered by a mortgage bond issue and there was no money in the 
treasury. The trustees had spent approximately $38,500 for the seminary 
grounds and building, and when the school opened for classes on Sep- 
tember 3, 1890, there was a total debt remaining of $20,000 at six per cent 
annual interest. 

President Hutchinson, with the assistance of Professor Ogden, pre- 
pared and distributed a four-page prospectus which listed the names of 
the faculty and the positions yet to be filled, the location and facilities 
of the school and the design, scope and religious orientation of the school. 
While the charter of the school gave it full college powers, during the 
first year and for several subsequent years, the curriculum was devoted 
to secondary work only. 

In regard to the location and building the prospectus noted : 

The Seminary starts off with a most encouraging outlook. Buckhannon is almost 
an ideal location, a beautiful country town, near the centre of the State, free 
from saloons, well supplied with churches, and probably as free from evil in- 
fluences as any town of the size in the State. The people are hospitable and 
intelligent, and are ready to extend a cordial welcome to our students. 
The splendid new Seminary building is the best school or college building in 
the state; beautiful, substantial, convenient, and admirably adapted to school 
purposes. It is of brick, 106 x 80 feet, three stories in height, and stands upon 
an eminence overlooking the river and town. It is only a few minutes walk 
from the centre of town and railroad station. The institution is to be congratu- 
lated on the acquirement of such a valuable property. Students coming via 
Grafton or Parkersburg will leave the B & O R.R. at Clarksburg and reach 
Buckhannon by the West Virginia and Pittsburgh R.R. Two trains daily. 

There was no money for furnishings and equipment, but enough of 
these were acquired by various means to make possible the opening of 
school. The Reverend Dr. John W. Reger advanced the money to buy 
chairs for the chapel and classrooms. A gift of school desks came from 
the defunct Wheeling College. Donations and a few purchases provided 
furnishings for the president's office, window shades, a second-hand piano 
and a carpet for the chapel platform. Since there were no residence halls, 
the seventy students who enrolled for the first term of ten weeks were 
housed in carefully selected homes in Buckhannon. 

In response to the invitation extended by the Board of Trustees, the 
annual conference in session at Weston attended in a body the dedication 



service held October 4, 1890, in the auditorium of the seminary. The 
Buckhannon Delta for October 8, 1890, reported the event. 

The Methodist Episcopal Conference, which was in session at Weston, came to 
Buckhannon in a body last Saturday for the purpose of dedicating the Semi- 
nary at this place. Coming by special train they arrived about ten o'clock and 
reported immediately to the Seminary Building where interesting services were 
held. Several addresses were made on the subject of education. Bishop Foss and 
Rev. W. R. White being among the speakers. Contributions amounting to about 
$2,500 were received for the Seminary. The members of the conference were 
entertained by the citizens of Buckhannon for dinner. 

A large number of people were in attendance from the town and surrounding 
country besides those who came on the special train from Weston. In all, there 
were probably twenty-five hundred people in attendance. The large chapel was 
full and many could not be accommodated. The building is a grand structure 
and is justly the pride of our people. 




The first student to enroll in the seminary on opening day was Mr. 
Roy Reger of Buckhannon, West Virginia. Seventy students were en- 
rolled for the first term of ten weeks. The total enrollment for the year 
was two hundred and one. One hundred sixty-seven students were en- 
rolled in the Classical, Literary, Scientific and Normal Courses. The 
balance were in the Department of Art, Music and Business. 

The Literary Department consisted of four courses: the Classical 
Course, the Scientific Course, the Literary or modern Language Course, 
and the Normal School. The Literary Course set the pattern for all three 
courses. Each required work in ancient or modern languages, mathematics, 
history, natural science, Bible and English. AH courses allowed the student 
to elect some studies suited to his individual taste or adapted to his pro- 
spective calling in life. 

The Music Department offered a four-year course in piano and in- 
struction in organ and voice. Some students combined music with work 
in literary studies or art. The Art Department aimed to develop in the 
student a correct idea of form, an appreciation of beauty, and the training 
of the powers of observation. 

The Normal School was designed to meet the needs of public school 
teachers. The school year was divided into three terms. Public school 
teachers could attend the fall term from September to November, teach 
school during the winter, and return for the spring term from March to 
June. Teachers were assigned readings to be completed during the winter, 
and they were examined on the reading when they returned in the spring. 

An act passed by the state legislature of West Virginia in 1 895 enabled 
graduates of the Normal School to obtain second-class state teaching 
certificates on the same basis as graduates of state schools. 

The Business College claimed a degree of thoroughness possessed by 
no other in the state. Courses in commercial science included business 
penmanship, correspondence and customs, commercial arithmetic, spelling 
and law, grammar and bookkeeping. A Stenographic Department offered 
shorthand, called phonography, and typing. These studies were sup- 



plemented with practical experience in running an office. A course in 
Business Practice furnished the student an amount of money with which 
he carried on a business with the several offices of the school. Business 
students were given the opportunity to pursue studies in other depart- 
ments of the seminary. 

During the spring of 1892, Major D. T. E. Castelle of the West 
Virginia National Guard organized the Military Department, also re- 
ferred to as the Department of Physical Culture. Physical activity con- 
sisted of regular army drill. Students wore a uniform of cadet gray 
including trousers, coat and cap. This program was replaced in 1893-94 
by a Department of Physical Culture based on the Dekarte system of 

All students were required to participate in such exercises as declama- 
tion, essays and in the study of the English classics. Final examinations 
were conducted in the presence of a committee of visitors appointed by 
the West Virginia Annual Conference. 

Students who were not prepared academically to do the work offered 
by the seminary were enrolled in a two-year preparatory course covering 
a variety of subjects but laying major stress on EngHsh and grammar. 

No minimum age was set for admission to the seminary, but it was 
suggested that students under fourteen years of age could not enter to 

Dr. Thomas W. Haught, who enrolled as a student at the seminary 
for the spring term of that first year, said that due to meager opportuni- 
ties for secondary education in West Virginia the students in the seminary 
were somewhat retarded intellectually. The average age of students during 
the first several years was probably the equivalent of the average age of 
college students today. This fact made the problem of discipHne fairly 
easy, since many of the students already had borne serious responsibilities 
and were in earnest about getting an education. 

President Hutchinson's appraisal of the results of the first year in the 
life of the seminary was optimistic. 

The record of the first year of the institution has been a pleasant surprise to 
many of the most sanguinary friends of the enterprise. The Seminary has, in a 
very short time, taken front rank both in attendance and in the character of 
its work as well as in the advantages afforded. It is no longer a question whether 
the time has come to establish the school; the record of the first year has an- 
swered that question. The success of the institution is without parallel in the 
history of the state. 



The school began the year, sziid President Hutchinson, with "no 
alumni, no old students, no precedents, no catalogue, no courses of study, 
no regulations, no money, but with large faith in the ultimate outcome." 
During the year the course of study had been established, and the small 
teaching force had been strengthened by the addition of persons in the 
music and art departments and in the Normal School, A small amount 
of apparatus and chemicals had been purchased for the Scientific Course. 
Several partly paid-for articles of furniture — two pianos, one organ, 
tables — had been placed in the building. A number of collections of books 
had been given to the library, and eight hundred other books. About fifty 
dollars in cash, after expenses, had been donated to the school as the 
result of a "Book Reception" call in May. Gifts had come to the school 
during the year which included a pulpit Bible, twenty-five dollars for a 
carpet for the chapel, a microscope and other items. 

In view of the Umited facilities and resources available, however, it 
had been impossible to achieve the ideal of what the school ought to be. 

We have been hedged in and cramped in our work by lack of funds so neces- 
sary to build up a great institution of learning. We have begun the struggle 
through which so many schools and colleges of the Church have passed, or are 
now passing. How long this struggle is to continue no one can tell, but it will 
be until large and generous gifts are poured into our treasury which shall re- 
lieve us of all debt and insure a permanent income from endowment. 

The first year had made it clear that there would be no lack of stu- 
dents; the struggle the school faced was a financial one. Giving to educa- 
tion. President Hutchinson told the trustees, was something new in West 
Virginia, especially among the Methodists. It would require years of work 
to bring people up to the desired standard of giving. 

In his first annual report to the Board of Trustees, the president af- 
firmed that the greatest need of the school, aside from relief from the 
crushing indebtedness, was a ladies' dormitory and boarding hall. Such 
a facility would bring to the school many young ladies who would not 
come otherwise. Also, the clear profit from the dormitory eventually would 
help to pay deficits in current expenses. This possibiUty loomed large in 
his thinking since there was little hope of paying the running expenses 
of the school with tuition fees alone, especially at the low rates the institu- 
tion was compelled to charge. President Hutchinson advised the erection 
of a three-story brick building containing parlors, dining room, kitchen, 



laundry, rooms for several professors, and music rooms at an estimated 
cost of $25,000. 

President Hutchinson was authorized to advertise the need for the 
ladies' hall. At the spring meeting of the Board of Trustees in 1892, a 
committee of five including President Hutchinson, B. F. Martin, J. S. 
Withers, L. H, Jordan and G. B. Graham was appointed to proceed with 
plans for the hall. However, the committee was ordered not to build 
until the indebtedness on the seminary of $20,000 had been provided for 
and at least $5,000 on pledges for the new building had been obtained. 
By the fall of 1894, the indebtedness had been covered by cash and 
pledges, and work had been started on the erection of the dormitory. A 
gift of $3,000 by the Reverend Mr. John A. Williams added to other 
resources gave the building committee enough money to meet the re- 
strictions placed upon it by the trustees. However, it was still necessary, 
in order to proceed with construction, to provide for a bond issue of 
$18,000 payable ten years after the first day of January, 1895, with 
interest at 6 per cent payable annually. The building was erected at a cost 
of about $25,000 according to a rough plan prepared by President Hutch- 
inson and completed by Mr. M. F. Geisy, an architect, of Wheeling, West 
Virginia. It was ready for occupancy in the autumn of 1895. 

The Ladies' Hall had accomodations for sixty students. Overcrowding 
soon made it necessary to convert an assembly room on the fourth floor 
into rooms for more students. Living conditions were comfortable, but 
some facilities were anything but modern, in present-day terms. Dr. 
Haught notes that a well driven near the outside entrance to the kitchen 
provided water for the kitchen. Another well located at the end of the 
walk near Meade Street provided drinking water. Residents of the hall 
filled pitchers from the well and carried them to their rooms before the 
beginning of study hours in the evening. A force pump geared to a wind- 
mill atop a derrick about fifty feet high pumped water to a tank in the 
attic of the hall. From the tank the water flowed to the bathrooms, one 
on each floor. For those occasions when the wind failed to operate the 
pump, an outside toilet was maintained at the rear of the dormitory. The 
hall was lighted by electricity, but frequent interruptions in the service 
made it necessary to keep candles and kerosene lamps at hand. Such 
emergencies often resulted in the use of these substitutes for more than 
half the period set apart for study 

In the spring of 1892, President Hutchinson, at his own expense, 



erected a residence on campus near the Oak Grove. The Board of Trustees 
agreed to purchase the dwelling if his relationship with the college should 
terminate in any way. 

The years of Dr. Hutchinson's presidency were years of financial 
solvency as far as the current expenses of the school were concerned. 
Small deficits usually accumulated by the end of each school year, but 
they were cleared up during the summer months. The year 1895-96 was 
a typical one. The president reported to the Board of Trustees that re- 
ceipts for the year were $9,408.88, expenditures were $9,420.29, leaving 
a deficit of $19.41. 

At the spring meeting of the trustees in 1896, it was ascertained that 
the bond issue of $15,000 dated the first day of January, 1889, had been 
fully paid, thus relieving the school of the indebtedness incurred in erecting 
the first building. 

In 1892 an extra year of work was added covering the freshman year 
of college. Increasingly, students stayed on to take advantage of the added 
training. In 1 894 President Hutchinson reported to the Board of Trustees 
his assessment of the work of the school to date and of the future needs 
and possibiUties. 

In a short time the institution has attained a secure place in the confidence of 
the people. Students come from every direction and they are as a class above 
the average in diligence and talent; many earn their own way by teaching or 
otherwise. . . . The Methodism and the people of West Virginia expect great 
things of the Conference Seminary during the next few years. All we need is 
the money to lead the educational work of the state. It has now become ap- 
parent to the faculty that we shall soon need to provide the full college course 
in order to hold what we gain and to secure the future of the school in com- 
peting with inferior schools calling themselves "College." The logic of the situ- 
ation will compel us ere long to advance to the full college curriculum to which 
we are already much nearer than many suppose ... I might name among our 
more pressing needs a gymnasium, large additions to our library and to the 
physical and chemical building or Science Hall, but above all, the ever present 
need of endowment. 

President Hutchinson resigned his office at the end of the winter 
quarter of the 1897-98 school year and departed in February to assume 
the office of the president of the Genessee Wesleyan Seminary at Lima, 
New York. His resignation as president of the West Virginia Conference 
Seminary was in part due to the fact that the financial resources necessary 
for the development of full college rank for the school were not available. 
The Board of Trustees, upon his voluntary retirement from the institution, 



caused the following resolution to be forwarded to Reverend Hutchinson 
and to be spread upon the minutes of the board for June 14, 1898: 

For eight years the Reverend B. W. Hutchinson, B.D., was principal of the 
West Virginia Conference Seminary of the Methodist Episcopal Church in this 
city. He came to the Seminary at its organization. He brought to this a disci- 
plined mind, a good judgment, and a conscientious discharge of duty. Under 
his careful management the institution has steadily grown, has widened in in- 
fluence, has risen in its requirement of scholarship until it ranks among the 
very best institutions of its character in the west and south. This growth and 
development has been the delight and the pride of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church of West Virginia, and to President Hutchinson this success is largely 
due and we take pleasure in giving him the proper credit for it. 

Dr. Frank B. Trotter assumed the responsibility of acting president 
until the summer of 1898. Dr. Trotter ( 1863-1940) , a native of Washing- 
ton County, Ohio, came to West Virginia in his teens. At the age of 
twenty he was teaching in the public schools of Preston County. He grad- 
uated from Roanoke College in 1890 with an A.B. degree in the classics. 
During 1891-92 he attended Harvard University, He served as professor 
of Latin and modern languages at the seminary from 1890 to 1907. He 
was also vice president of the seminary. In this office he performed the 
functions of a dean. There is general agreement that Dr. Trotter was a 
bulwark of the school both as an administrator and as a teacher. Students 
of the seminary years still remember his appearances at the chapel service 
before each vacation period when he invariably urged them to go home 
and spread good news about the seminary. It has been observed that no 
student came to Dr. Trotter's class unprepared, if he could help it. He 
left the seminary in 1907 to become professor of Latin at West Virginia 
University, He was dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1911 
to 1917. He was named acting president of the university in 1914. He 
served as president of the university from 1916 to 1928 when he returned 
to the classroom as professor of Latin. 

Dr. Simon L. Boyers was elected to the presidency of the seminary in 
June 1898. A graduate of Ohio Wesleyan University and a Methodist 
minister. Dr. Boyers has been described as a gentleman whose educational 
and cultural experience, pleasant appearance and Christian character 
seemed to fit him admirably for the job. His administration of the affairs 
of the college, however, led to discussion at the end of his first year about 
whether or not he should be rehired. Dr. Haught recalls that in the spring 
of 1899 the president had almost the entire front of the campus planted 



in potatoes and oats. The venture came to an abrupt end at the hands of 
students who, under rover of darkness, used scythes to harvest the growing 
crops prematurely. One student involved in the escapade indicated that 
he rid himself of the temptation to swing the scythe only by yielding to 
the temptation. In November 1899, a Halloween prank on campus, which 
resulted in the accidental shooting of a student, brought an inquiry by 
the Board of Trustees into Dr. Boyers' administration. Serious concern 
was raised by the report that the president had authorized night watchmen 
to carry guns, and to shoot to protect the property of the school. The irate 
father of the wounded student who referred in the Board of Trustees 
meeting to the present "shotgun administration" threatened to sue the 
board. Dr. Boyers was absolved of responsibility for the shooting, but the 
incident had unhappy repercussions involving the charge that some stu- 
dents and faculty felt he was not a competent administrator. Dr. Boyers 
submitted his resignation as president on June 12, 1900. 

In 1 899 during Dr. Boyers' administration, the trustees of the seminary 
made plans to participate in the Twentieth Century Thank Offering of 
$20,000,000 proposed by the Bishops of the Methodist Church. The 
offering was part of a three-point program which included a call to 
Methodists to higher spiritual living and the conversion of two million 
souls to observe the ending of the nineteenth century and the advent of 
the twentieth century. The trustees and the presiding elders petitioned 
the West Virginia Annual Conference to share in the offering to the 
amount of $125,000. Of this amount they proposed that $20,000 be 
used to pay off the college's bonded indebtedness, that $5,000 be spent 
for improvements, and that $100,000 be set aside as endowment. 

The Board of Trustees meeting on June 28, 1900, elected Dr. John 
Weir of Woodsfield, Ohio, as president of the seminary. Dr. Weir served 
in this capacity until September 1907. A Canadian by birth, he and Mrs. 
Weir had spent some years in Japan as missionaries. Before coming to 
the West Virginia Conference Seminary, he was president of Scio College 
in Ohio. Dr. Weir has been described as a tall, straight man with graying 
hair, dignified, kindly, a consummate optimist, fond of philosophy and the 
liberal use of hyperbole. Dr. Haught observes that Dr. Weir's vision of 
the potential of the school frequently blinded him to reality. He seemed 
not to know that adjectives and adverbs have positive and comparative 
degrees, for he used only the superlative degree. His vigor and optimism 
were put to good use. 



One of Dr. Weir's major concerns from the beginning of his admini- 
stration was the need for endowment. An appeal to the alumni of the 
school resulted in a pledge of $2,000 toward an endowment fund to be 
paid by January 1, 1903. In 1903 Dr. Weir reported to the Board of 
Trustees the result of a major effort to secure endowment funds during 
the preceding year. Through the assistance of Miss May G. Dolliver of 
Fort Dodge, Iowa, he had succeeded in eliciting a promise of a gift of 
$25,000 from Dr. D. K. Pearsons of Chicago, Illinois, provided the 
seminary would raise $75,000. He was allowed to count $15,000, the 
total amount raised by the Twentieth Century Thank Offering as part 
of the seminary's share. The result of the effort was the raising of a total 
of $100,000 endowment which. Dr. Weir noted in his report, stood second 
in total of endowments among all the seminaries in the country. 

Early in Dr. Weir's administration the architect, Mr. Geisy, presented 
to the Board of Trustees plans drawn at the request of the executive com- 
mittee for an addition to the Ladies' Hall and for a Conservatory of 
Music. It was not until the following year, 1902, that the board instructed 
the executive committee to proceed at once to erect a suitable building 
upon the campus to accommodate the Music Department and authorized 
a bond issue in the amount of $5,000 to cover its erection. The building, 
though not completed, was in use beginning January 1903, having been 
erected at a cost of approximately $6,500. 

On February 4, 1905, the main seminary building was destroyed by 
fire which broke out in the basement in the vicinity of the furnaces. The 
combined efforts of students, faculty and citizens of Buckhannon saved 
the student records, books from the library, and most of the furniture. 
There were no serious accidents. President Weir was in Charleston meet- 
ing with leaders of the Senate on an education bill pending before the 
legislature when news of the fire came. He immediately communicated 
with the faculty and learned that under Dr. Trotter's leadership, plans 
had already been made for the continuance of school work without a 
break. Classes were distributed among the Music Hall, the parlors of the 
Ladies' Hall, and a vacant house on College Avenue. 

The Board of Trustees met on February 15 to discuss the crisis created 
by the fire. Dr. Weir reported that he had communicated immediately 
with Dr. Pearsons and other wealthy men seeking contributions for the 
erection of a new building. Since February 5, over five thousand letters 
had gone out from this office soliciting funds. A signed statement adver- 



tising the fact that the school would continue to function had been sent 
to every newspaper in the state. The question before the trustees, he said, 
was to build or not to build. Not to build meant the abandonment of the 
educational work for which the seminary was founded. Dr. Weir even 
suggested that possibly the fire had been a blessing in disguise inasmuch 
as the school had grown too large akeady for the modest building in which 
it was housed. He reported that the insurance adjustors had estimated the 
sound value of the old building to be $29,000. It had been insured for 
$16,000, and he had been informed unofficially that it would be paid in 
full. To rebuild would require a major effort to raise funds. The trustees 
decided to rebuild. Professors Trotter, Mills and Haught, at the request 
of President Weir, made a rough draft of plans for a building to be 
submitted to an architect. From among the various architects who sub- 
mitted proposals for the new building, the board selected the firm of 
Harding and Uphaus of Washington, D. C. A resolution authorized the 
executive committee and the architect to prepare plans and specifications 
for a new college building at Buckhannon which would cost, including 
a power plant, not more than $75,000, and to advertise for bids for the 
construction of the facilities at the earliest date possible. 

When the trustees met again on March 9, President Weir reported that 
he had received many answers to his appeal for funds, but as yet no one 
had made a subscription. Bids were read for construction of the new 
building which ranged from a low of $57,255 to a high of $81,300. The 
bid of Ellicott and Winchell of Clarksburg, West Virginia, of $57,255 was 
accepted. A building committee was appointed consisting of Professors 
Frank B. Trotter and W. O. Mills, representing the faculty; Robert A. 
Reger, D. A. Denton, C. B. Graham, John Weir, and A. M. Poundstone 
representing the Board of Trustees. The building was subsequently erected 
by Withrow and Company of Charleston, West Virginia, on a contract 
of $61,249. The power house was erected by Post, Martin and Company 
of Buckhannon on a contract of $3,100.40. Several substantial contribu- 
tions were made by Dr. D. K. Pearsons of Chicago in the amount of 
$10,000; Andrew Carnegie, $18,000; and a trustee, John Archbold of 
New York, $5,000. The building was completed in 1906 at a cost of 
$60,000. Other improvements including the power house were made at 
a cost of $10,000. 

As significant for the future of the school as anything which transpired 
during Dr. Weir's administration was the raising of the seminary to full 



college work. In 1892 an extra year of work had been added. As early as 
1893-94, President Hutchinson had noted that it was apparent that soon 
a full college course should be provided. Increasingly, graduates of the 
seminary stayed on to do advanced work. In 1901 President Weir recom- 
mended to the Board of Trustees the addition of another year to the course 
of study and the adoption of a resolution which would permit the initia- 
tion of college work at the earhest possible moment. Both items were 
approved. In June 1903, the situation had developed to the extent that 
Dr. Weir reported to the trustees: 

I believe the time has come for extension of our courses of study. We need only 
two years more to reach the full college course. We have gone too far to go 
back. We should complete the college work. We ought not to change our insti- 
tution into a college. We should hold to our preparatory work and improve it, 
hold to our seminary work and improve it, then add to the college work. We 
should give diplomas in the seminary courses just as we grant degrees in col- 
lege courses. I would recommend the following: that we, this coming autumn, 
extend our college work to full college and that we do not change the name of 
our school until we are recognized as a college by the University Senate of the 

The school offered work of full college grade beginning in the fall of 
1903, with an A.B. degree granted following the Seminary Classical 
Course, the B.S. degree following the Seminary Scientific Course, and 
the B.Litt. degree following the Seminary Literary Course. The catalogue 
announced that the seminary course as printed satisfied the requirements 
of the University Senate of the Methodist Episcopal Church and left ten 
courses as a surplus to be counted as college work. A course was a class 
which met five times per week for one term. Thirty-eight additional 
courses, thirty-two required and six elective, constituted work for the 
various degrees. In April 1904, President Weir reported to the Board of 
Trustees : 

Four years ago we began college classes. We have proceeded cautiously. We 
have yielded to demands naturally created. We did not set up artificial de- 
mands. Quietly, successfully we have proceeded; and next year, 1905, our first 
gowned college class will graduate. Our college couises accord with those pre- 
scribed and required by the University Senate of our Church. They are those 
of the best colleges. Our college work displaces none of the Seminary prepara- 
tory or departmental work. It fosters all. We have proceeded under the order 
and sanction of this Board and now we ask that you give us a name in agree- 
ment with our broader character. 



After considering such names as Epworth University, Batelle Uni- 
versity, Methodist University of West Virginia, Wesley College, College 
of West Virginia, West Virginia College, and West Virginia Wesleyan 
University, the board finally decided upon the Wesleyan University of 
West Virginia. 

The annual conference Committee on Education reported to the 
conference in 1904: 

Of the fifty-two schools of Seminary grade in The Methodist Episcopal Church 
in the world, our school in West Virginia ranks fourth in value of buildings and 
grounds and second in amount of endowment. We have raised more for endow- 
ment during the quadrennium than any other seminary in the Church save one. 

The annual conference passed a resolution approving the action of the 
Board of Trustees in raising the school to college grade and requested the 
Board of Education of the Methodist Episcopal Church to approve the 
development and insert the school in its list of approved colleges. In June 
1906, the trustees voted unanimously to change the name of the school 
to West Virginia Wesleyan College. 

When the institution was raised to full college grade, the seminary 
was continued, but the work was cut back to three years. From 1906 
through the spring of 1908, the term "seminary" was replaced by the 
designation "Preparatory Department." The last class in the seminary 
was graduated in 1908. From 1908 until its demise the work of the old 
seminary was continued as the "Academic Department" or "Academy." 
By 1922-23 the need for the work of the academy had passed with the 
growth of high schools in the state and the academy was discontinued. A 
few sub-freshman courses were provided for those not adequately prepared 
for college work. In 1924 these vestigial remains of the old seminary 
disappeared, and the summer school was advertised as offering work for 
those not fully prepared for college courses. 

Despite the success in raising endowment funds deficits began to ac- 
cumulate each year so that during the years 1900-06 the Board of Trustees 
ascertained that the accumulated annual deficit of expenses over income, 
plus money owed the president, plus money borrowed from the Endow- 
ment Fund to meet current expenses, amounted to a total of $24,365.17. 
By the spring meeting of the board in 1907, the deficit had risen to 
$31,420.82. The treasurer of the board reported that interest on money 
borrowed for current expenses was draining the treasury, and that he 
had been forced to set aside $1,600 of the Andrew Carnegie gift for the 



rebuilding of Main Hall to pay off said interest. An alarmed board 
authorized the finance committee to borrow $35,000 to be secured by 
college property and endowment funds in order to retire the deficit. 
Within a month this amount had to be increased to $42,500. The presi- 
dent of the college and the executive committee were urged to seek ways 
to eliminate all possible expense without serious embarrassment to the 

The problems of the school were compounded when at the same 
meeting President Weir submitted his resignation. Before a new president 
could be secured, Dr. Trotter also resigned. 

On June 12, 1907, the Board of Trustees elected Dr. Carl G. Doney 
to the presidency of the college. At the same time, it acted to do away 
with the office of vice president and elected to the deanship the Reverend 
Dr. W. A. Haggarty, who served in this capacity until 1909. 

Dr. Doney, a native of Ohio, came to Wesleyan after having tried 
briefly a career in law and then the ministry. He served churches in Ohio 
and came to Wesleyan from the Hamline Methodist Church in Washing- 
ton, D. C. 

Writing his autobiography in 1942, Dr. Doney said that the Wesleyan 
he found when he arrived in Buckhannon in September 1907, would 
scarcely now be ranked as a college.^ The main buildings were in good 
shape, but the library and laboratory were poorly housed and furnished. 
The official most responsible for Dr. Doney's election as president had 
made professors out of several of his friends, but they proved to be round 
pegs in square holes. An immediate necessity was the rebuilding of the 

Of prime concern to Dr. Doney was the low financial state of affairs 
which he inherited. Even before coming to Wesleyan, Dr. Doney notes 
that he had a conversation with himself regarding the school which came 
to this conclusion: 

West Virginia needs a religious college; this school is well located; it should 
have an excellent faculty, proper equipment, and high standards; to achieve 
these ends, money will be required for buildings, furnishings, and teachers; the 
people have the money; they need only to be told of this great opportunity and 
they will give the money; I will tell them about it in city and country and come 
back with pockets full. ... I had forgotten that a juryman never votes a verdict 
that will cost him money, or that no one pays money just because it is the 
logical thing to do. 

* Carl G. Doney, Cheerful Yesterdays and Confident Tomorrows (Portland, Oregon: Binfords and 
Mort, 1942). 



A request by Dr. Doney early in his administration for an appraisal 
of the value of college property brought the following report from the 
committee of the trustees appointed to make the valuation: 43 acres 
college campus, $65,000; College Hall, $80,000; Music Hall, $6,000; 
Ladies' Hall, $20,000; Heating and Power Plant, $10,000, and Presi- 
dent's Residence, $2,500, for a total of $183,500. The endowment helped 
increase the assets to approximately $250,000. But, Dr. Doney noted, 
the endowment fund which approached $100,000 was offset by a debt 
that approximated the same amount. More money and more students 
were required if the school were not to fail. A decline in enrollment had 
set in at the turn of the century coincident with the program of high 
school building in the state. 

Dr. Doney discovered that churches were always open to him, but 
appeals to logic and feeHng brought little financial return and few 
students. Operating on the theory that an informed constituency would 
respond to the need of the school. Dr. Doney acquired a small printing 
press, taught students to operate it and began to send bulletins to high 
schools, churches and a large group of individuals. A committee was 
appointed by the trustees to plan and institute a campaign to Uft the debt 
on the college and to increase the endowment to $200,000. A financial 
agent was placed in the field. 

The concerted and continuous effort to increase the income of the 
school and the size of the student body subsequently bore fruit. Dr. 
Doney reported that at the end of eight years the debt had been paid 
and the endowment increased. However, yearly deficits continued to 
harass the school. When Dr. Doney resigned as president of the college, a 
report of the auditing committee showed that the assets of the college 
had been increased to $445,162.21. Liabilities amounted to $69,459.36. 
An attempt instituted in 1910 to increase the endowment fund failed as 
did a plan projected in 1912 to raise an endowment fund of $250,000. 
Small yearly amounts were added to the fund so that by the time of Dr. 
Doney's resignation as president, the audit committee reported an en- 
dowment of $123,000. 

Part of the increase in assets came from the value of two buildings 
erected during Dr. Doney's tenure as president. On April 25, 1912, the 
Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees authorized the erection of 
a gymnasium when available funds for that purpose should reach $10,000. 
The gymnasium was erected in 1912, and facilities were completed the 



following year with a gift of $5,000 from Colonel Seymour Edwards con- 
ditioned by the school's raising a Uke amount. 

Construction on the Raymond Science Hall was begun in 1913, and 
the building was completed and occupied early in the spring of 1914. 
The building and furnishings were the gift of Mrs. Virginia Raymond 
in memory of her husband Colonel Sydney Raymond who served on the 
Board of Trustees from 1906-12. Mrs. Raymond succeeded her husband 
as a trustee and served until her death in 1917. 

A decisive event in the life of Wesleyan came during Dr. Doney's ad- 
ministration with the election in 1909 of Thomas W. Raught as dean of 
the college. 

Thomas W. Raught (1871-1957), a native of Tyler County, West 
Virginia, came to the new seminary at Buckhannon in March 1891. Re 
completed the Classical Course in 1894 and finished work for the Bache- 
lor of Arts degree in June 1896, at West Virginia University. Re sub- 
sequently attended Rarvard University from 1899 to 1901 for graduate 

Ris relationship to Wesleyan as a teacher and administrator was to 
cover a period of forty years. Re served on the faculty under every 
president from Dr. Bennett W. Rutchinson to Dr. Joseph W. Broyles. 
He was emeritus professor into the administration of Dr. Stanley H. 
Martin. Re taught science, English and mathematics at the seminary 
from 1896-99, and again from 1901-05. After three years as president 
of the State School at Keyser, West Virginia, now known as Potomac 
State College, he returned to Wesleyan in 1908. Re became the second 
dean of the college in 1909 and occupied this post for twenty years. Dur- 
ing these years he served as acting president of Wesleyan in 1913, 1922 
and 1925. Re served on the West Virginia State Board of Education 
from 1910 to 1920. Wesleyan awarded Dean Raught an honorary Master 
of Arts degree in 1916. In 1929 he resigned as dean to teach geology. 
Wesleyan conferred on him the honorary degree of Doctor of Science. 

Dean Haught's history of Wesleyan, West Virginia Wesleyan College, 
1890-1940, was published on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of 
the school. Dean Raught retired in 1941. He served as chairman of the 
Charles W. Gibson Library from 1941 to 1953. In 1950 he published in 
mimeograph form The Sixth Decade, 1940-1950, a supplement to his 
history of Wesleyan. He assisted with the publication of the 1947 Alumni 
Directory, and served as the first president of the Alumni Fund Board 



of Directors. In 1950 the Alumni Association presented him with the 
Alumni Award for outstanding loyalty and devotion to Wesleyan. 

Dean Haught was known as a firm disciplinarian, capable of sharp 
and caustic rebuke for those who flouted college regulations. He had a 
reputation as a thorough and intelligent scholar, qualities which he also 
displayed in his teaching. As dean he pressed for the recognition of 
Wesleyan by the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary 
Schools, and he has been given much of the credit for the final achieve- 
ment of this goal in 1927. In the opinion of those who knew him and his 
work, no individual has made a greater contribution to the life of 
Wesleyan than Dean Thomas W. Haught. 

Other developments of less spectacular nature but nonetheless im- 
portant to the physical and academic well-being of the school occurred 
during Doney's presidency. Cement walks from the three principle 
entrances to the campus to College Hall and the Ladies' Hall replaced 
old board walks. The Harmer Gateway and the Atkinson Gateway were 
constructed. The Memorial Gate at the southwest entrance to the campus 
was donated by the Normal Class of 1913. Board fences along College 
Avenue and Meade Street, constructed during the early years to keep 
domestic animals off the campus, were removed. 

Beginning June 1910, teachers were ranked for the first time accord- 
ing to their work and salary. Heads of departments were designated 
"professors." Those who were not department heads but taught full time 
were designated "instructors." Salaries for a full professor were to be not 
less than $1,000 for a man and $750 for a woman. Assistant professors 
were to receive not less than $500. 

The Board of Trustees took action necessary to the granting of honor- 
ary degrees and the first degrees were bestowed in 1912 on the Reverend 
George DolHver Smith (D.D.), the Honorable Henry Clay McWhorter 
(L.L.D.), and the Honorable William Seymour Edwards (Litt.D.). 

In 1914 the trustees established the Chair of Bible and Philosophy 
with the Reverend Richard Aspinall the first to occupy the position. 

At the close of the basketball season in 1914, on the initiative of Harry 
Stansbury, Director of Athletics, the two leading high school teams in 
the state, WheeHng and Elkins, were invited to play for the state cham- 
pionship at Wesleyan. The following season invitations were extended 
to all high schools wishing to participate. Thus began the state high school 
basketball tournament which was held at Wesleyan until 1938 when it 



was moved to Morgantown. Within a few years after its inauguration the 
number of teams participating in the tournament exceeded sixty. To ac- 
commodate the tournament which ran for three days, the gymnasium 
was enlarged during the school year 1920-21, so that the length of the 
playing floor was doubled. The games were played two at a time. 
Eventually the State High School Athletic Association held sectional 
tournaments which cut down on the number of teams participating in 
the event at Wesleyan. 

Student life at Wesleyan during the early years has been termed 
"strict." Mr. Roy Reger of Buckhannon, the first student to enroll in 
the seminary, later recorded his memories of this era. He noted that the 
students, who were nearly all from West Virginia, had Httle money. Some 
cooked their own meals, some took their meals in private boarding 
houses. Those who lived within traveling distance of Buckhannon went 
home on weekends and brought back enough food to last for two or 
three days. Furniture was scarce. Chairs were carried from one room to 
another for large gatherings. When a piano was needed for a program 
on the second floor of the seminary building, students carried one down 
from the third floor and then returned it after the program. The bell in 
the tower of the seminary building rang loud and long at 7 : 00 o'clock 
each evening to warn students to be off the street and in their rooms for 
study. Daily chapel attendance was compulsory and the roll of students 
was called at each session. Church attendance on Sunday was mandatory, 
and at the roll call for Monday Chapel each student was required to 
answer "church" or "not at church." Social life centered largely in two 
literary societies. 

A list of "requirements" and "prohibitions" was published in 1892, 
composed of regulations found necessary for proper discipline. While 
self-control was the ideal held up to the students, it was suggested that 
cheerful obedience to rules, promptness in the discharge of duty, and 
proper reverence for superiors were necessary to the formation of the 
best type of character. Ladies and gentlemen, except brothers and sisters, 
were not allowed to occupy rooms in the same house. Permission of the 
president was required for students to leave town or sever their connec- 
tion with the seminary, and for the literary societies and all public exer- 
cises to meet after 10:00 o'clock p.m. Faculty permission was required to 
take up or drop a study, and to engage board and room at hotels. Students 
were cautioned against incurring debts for merchandise, room and board. 



Young ladies were not allowed to be away from their boarding houses 
in the evening without permission, nor were they allowed to receive 
gentleman callers any evening except Saturday, and then only such as 
were approved by the faculty or the preceptress. They were not permitted 
to receive young men or to go walking with them on the Sabbath. Stu- 
dents were prohibited from taking excursions by land or water, attending 
fairs, sociables or entertainments without permission; lounging about 
stores, streets, depots or any other public places; attending balls, dances 
or theatres. The use of tobacco in the buildings or on the campus was 
prohibited, and the use of intoxicating liquors by students was absolutely 
prohibited. Graduates who were students when the no-smoking rule was 
in force recall that some students and faculty would dash madly off the 
campus limits to have a quick smoke between classes. Parents were ad- 
vi<^ed not to send students boxes of confectionery or edibles of any kind. 
They were informed also that outside of the regular expenses of the 
school, there was little need of pocket money, and they would do their 
children a service by requiring an itemized account of all expenses. 

The center of social life recalled by Mr. Reger was the Chrestomathean 
and the Excelsior Literary Societies. These societies were organized soon 
after opening of the first term by the simple device of dividing the roster 
of students into two groups, equal in number, and appointing faculty 
members to advise and guide each group. The students organized by 
adopting names and constitutions and by electing officers. Each society 
had its own "hall," and great care was exercised in furnishing and 
decorating the room. The society meetings were the chief social event of 
the week and one of the few opportunities for the mingling of the sexes 
in a social setting. The program for an evening consisted of music, prayer, 
business, the reading of poetry, declamations, essays, orations. The main 
event of the evening was a debate followed by an announcement of the 
winner by judges appointed early in the meeting and remarks on the de- 
bate by a critic who was one of the elected officers of the society. Debates 
covered a variety of subjects including women suffrage, politics, religion, 
the use of tobacco and liquor, science, war — the whole gamut of human 
and contemporary concern. During the spring term the two societies met 
in a joint contest. The contests would fill the chapel to its capacity of 
nearly a thousand, but the rivalry became so intense that they were pro- 
hibited by the faculty within a few years after the societies were estab- 



Information regarding athletics during the early years of the seminary 
is fragmentary. Dr. Haught recalls that though much of the school ground 
was reserved for a cow pasture, groups of students would play baseball 
at the southwest corner of the campus where trees were scarce. After the 
erection of the Ladies' Hall, a tennis court was constructed near the hall 
and adjacent to Meade Street. Before the fire which destroyed the original 
building, basketball was organized and games were played on the third 
floor of the building. These sports, except perhaps for an occasional 
basketball game, were intramural. 

The first football game played by a seminary team, and the first to 
be played in Upshur County, was in 1898. Henry White, the star of the 
team, arranged the game with a group of ex-college men located in Buck- 
hannon, serving as civil engineers in the building of the Baltimore and 
Ohio Railroad. The game was played on a snowy, bitterly cold day. 
Neither team made a touchdown, but the B. and O. Engineers claimed 
victory for having scored a safety. After some argument, the game was 
declared a draw.^ 

Wesleyan's orange and black colors date back to that first football 
game. Colonel Frank M. Thompson, fullback and captain of the team, 
idealized the Poe brothers, football greats at Princeton University. Thomp- 
son played the first game garbed in an orange and black turtle-necked 
sweater like the sweators worn by the Poe brothers. When his teammates 
admired the sweater, Thompson announced that orange and black would 
be their official colors. When athletics were formally recognized by the 
school, the precedent was continued and became fixed. 

The Board of Trustees acted favorably on a petition presented to it 
in the spring of 1899, containing eighty-four student signatures, request- 
ing the appropriation of one hundred dollars for baseball equipment and 
a diamond to be ready for use at the opening of the next school year. 

It was not until 1902 that athletics gained the formal recognition of 
the school. The September issue of the Seminary Collegiate indicated that 
this had been a red letter day at the college. The president had extended 
the chapel hour for a meeting of the student body to perfect the organiza- 
tion of an athletic association. A constitution and by-laws were adopted. 
The Collegiate went on to note that Coach Peck felt the school had good 
material for a football team, that arrangements were being made to have 

Kent Kessler, Hail West Virginians! (Parkersburg, W. Va.: Park Press, 1959), p. 129. 



a baseball coach in the near future. Basketball and gymnastics were al- 
ready in progress. 

Wesley an's first official football team made its appearance in 1902. 
Ed Kenna, who had made a name for himself at Georgetown University 
and West Virginia University, was the coach. 

The first mention of athletics in the catalogue of the school came in 
1905 with the publication of eight eligibility requirements and prohibi- 
tions to be observed by students who were participants in the athletic 
program. The catalogue of 1908 noted that an athletic program had been 
established based on the premise that since a sound body is essential to 
the highest efficiency in scholarship, athletic exercise has a proper place 
in college life. 

Once it was established as a sport, feelings regarding football some- 
times rose to spirited heights. For example, the 1905 season was short- 
lived. The schedule was cancelled following victories in the first three 
games, ostensibly because some Wesleyan boys were playing contrary 
to eligibility rules. The real trouble appears to have involved friction 
between President Weir and the student body which resulted from his 
critical remarks concerning some members of the football team whom he 
referred to as "roughnecks." He also had identified as a model student 
a young man who wore his hair long and spoke in a high-pitched tone. 
The young man's locks were shorn by a group of students. President Weir 
cancelled the schedule because some football players had been involved 
in the incident. Students held a mass meeting to protest the cancellation. 
They burned the president in effigy. They stole his cow and placed it on 
the chapel rostrum. Nevertheless, the schedule remained cancelled. 

From 1892-94 President Hutchinson periodically issued a small news 
bulletin under the title of The Seminary Herald. During the school year 
1899-1900 two students, W. H. Franklin and C. H. King, began monthly 
publication of a small magazine-type paper known as The Seminary 
Collegiate. In 1904-05 the managing editor of the Collegiate asked the 
help of the faculty in selecting a name for the school paper from three 
which had been suggested. The name Pharos was chosen. The new paper 
was published weekly. Around 1907 the Pharos offered a Ufetime sub- 
scription to any student writing the most acceptable college song. George 
N. Steyer of the class of 1909 won the subscription with a poem bearing 
the name of the school and set to the tune of "Maryland My Maryland" : 



We raise our voice in song to thee, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
O, may we ever loyal be, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
We love our state, her wooded hills, 
Her mountain streams and gushing rills 
But thou our heart with rapture thrills, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 

Proud sons and daughters boast of thee, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
Thine is a precious history, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
Yet we in thought and purpose one 
Pursue thy work so well begun. 
Our school shall never be outdone, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 

May length of years upon thee wait. 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
May we, thy children, make thee great. 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 
We shout our motto loud and long 
"Up with the right, down with the wrong," 
O, now accept our humble song, 

West Virginia Wesieyan. 

The first school annual was published in May 1903, by the students 
of the seminary class of 1904. Dr. Haught believes that the name 
Murmurmoniis was suggested by Dr. Trotter. A rough translation of the 
word is "The voice of the mountain." 

The earliest group on campus with a specific religious purpose was 
a periodic meeting of pre-ministerial students with President Hutchinson 
to discuss facets of their future work. The existence of the group was 
first mentioned in the catalogue for 1894-95; and when the first Mur- 
murmontis was published, the name of the organization was listed as 
"The Epworth Ministerial Association." The YWCA was organized in 
1900 and the YMCA the following year. 

As early as the first commencement President Hutchinson held a 
"Commencement love feast" on baccalaureate Sunday afternoon. The 
service consisted of congregational singing, voluntary prayers and the re- 
lating of personal reUgious experience. The love feast was well attended 
during the first ten years of the Ufe of the school, but dechning attendance 
ultimately forced the discontinuing of the practice. Another service inau- 



gurated during the first years was a weekly Sunday afternoon students' 
meeting which stressed Bible study and serious discussion of the religious 
life. The meetings were generally conducted by President Hutchinson with 
an occasional assist by faculty members. Attendance was voluntary and 
good for the first two decades, but again declining interest forced the 
abandonment of the practice. 

The imminent completion of the Ladies' Hall during the summer of 
1895 motivated a group of women in Buckhannon to meet informally to 
sew sheets, pillowcases and other accessories for the new dormitory. Out 
of this group came the organization known as the College Club. The first 
mention of the group appeared in the minutes of the Board of Trustees 
in the spring of 1909 in a resolution expressing appreciation for the work 
of the club in providing furnishings and equipment for the dormitory. 
The College Club still functions and lends material assistance to the 

On June 14, 1915, Dr. Doney tendered his resignation to the Board 
of Trustees and left to become president of Willamette University. The 
end of his tenure as president also marked the 25th anniversary of the 
school. In a twenty-five year period it had expanded from a seminary of 
high school grade to a four-year college. In 1915 the college granted 108 
degrees, certificates and diplomas in comparison with the five who 
graduated in the first class of the seminary. The physical plant had grown 
from a single building and grounds costing about $38,500 to five college 
buildings and a residence for the president valued along with grounds 
and equipment at $270,654.58. Its endowment was less than half this 
amount and its indebtedness and other liabilities were equal to almost 
half the endowment. For most of its years the school had been harassed 
by financial problems. At the end of twenty-five years the official annual 
conference visitor to the college reported, "Undoubtedly the incubus on 
the college is financial," 




The Board of Trustees meeting August 12, 1915, in Clarksburg, 
nominated Dr. Wallace B. Fleming of Drew Theological Seminary to 
succeed Dr. Doney. 

Dr. Wallace B. Fleming was born November 22, 1872, near Newark, 
Ohio. He received the A.B. degree at Muskingum College, Ohio, the B.D. 
degree at Drew University and the Ph.D. degree at Columbia University. 
From 1897 to 1911 he served as pastor of churches successively at North 
Patterson, Bayonne and Maplewood, New Jersey. He came to West 
Virginia Wesleyan College after having served as professor of Greek and 
Hebrew and as registrar at Drew Theological Seminary. 

It is generally agreed that the promotion of the material interests of 
the college is the accomplishment for which Dr. Fleming's administration 
has been most favorably remembered. In June of 1915, the trustees had 
voted to concur in the jubilee campaign for an educational forward 
movement throughout the Methodist Episcopal Church to begin the first 
of December. Upon recommendation of Dr. Fleming and the Committee 
on Endowment the trustees meeting in June 1916 voted to join in the 
general jubilee campaign with the determination to add one-half million 
dollars to the resources of the college within the next two years. Of this 
amount, $400,000 was earmarked for the permanent endowment fund, 
and the remaining $100,000 was designated a contingent fund to pay all 
outstanding indebtedness and to provide for the deficit of the institution. 

One year later the Board of Trustees met at the college to be present 
for the final phase of the Half Million Fund Campaign which had been 
telescoped into one year. On the morning of June 6, a bulletin board in 
the hall of the main college building showed that $448,000 had been 
raised. At 10:00 o'clock a.m. a telegram from Charleston raised the total 
to $458,000 and by noon it was $461,000. The afternoon meeting of the 
board recessed until 7 : 00 o'clock p.m. to meet at the courthouse with the 
people of Buckhannon who had been invited to assist in raising the balance 
of $31,275. At 8:00 o'clock p.m. Dr. Fleming announced to a crowd 
which filled the courtroom that he assumed at least $3,500 would be 



received over the wires during the evening leaving a balance of $27,775 
to raise. Committees were appointed to solicit new subscriptions, and 
additions to those already made, from the audience. At 10:00 o'clock 
Dr. Fleming announced that the full amount of $500,000 and more had 
been subscribed. The news was greeted with "the beating of drums, the 
blowing of horns, huzzas, and general rejoicing," with a bonfire on campus 
around which students and the general public joined. 

Despite the success of the campaign, the college continued to grapple 
with the problem of finances. Pledges were difficult to collect and there 
was the inevitable shrinkage in pledges accentuated by the fluctuating 
economic situation of the years of World War I. In 1919 the trustees 
accepted a proposition from the General Education Board of New York 
(The Rockefeller Fund) to pay the college the sum of $125,000 pro- 
vided that it raise an additional sum of money in the amount of $375,000. 
The Rockefeller Fund agreed to pay $1 for each $3 raised by the college. 
The effort to raise the college's share of the proposition was known as the 
Victory Fund. In June 1926, Dr. Fleming reported to the trustees that 
the last payments on the Half Million Fund would be due October 1. 
He suggested that a conference-wide canvass be made to continue annual 
giving for three more years to a Victory Fund. How successful this at- 
tempt was is not indicated. The Rockefeller Fund granted successive 
extensions of the deadline for the raising of the college share, and as late 
as 1930 the trustees were still trying to raise money in order to claim the 
last $20,000 increment. 

In 1922 Dr. Fleming proposed a campaign among friends of the college 
and the West Virginia Annual Conference for not less than $1,500,000 
to provide the buildings and endowment necessary to care adequately for 
the near-future needs of the institution. The proposed campaign never 
got off the ground. 

The entrance of the United States into World War I brought to the 
campus a Student Army Training Corps of about 200 men. The military 
training program which was to have begun September 1, 1918, actually 
ran only from the beginning of October to the early days of December. 
The corps was housed in the gymnasium. The Music Hall was converted 
to a hospital to care for members of the corps who were stricken during 
the influenza epidemic. 

The steady growth of the student body following the war raised the 
issue of the expansion of the physical plant of the college with emphasis 



on the need for additional living space for women, quarters for professors, 
a library, and the enlargement of the gymnasium. The only building 
project completed during Dr. Fleming's administration, however, was 
the expansion of the gymnasium during the school year 1920-21. 

By action of the trustees on June 7, 1920, the women's dormitory 
which had been dubbed unofficially "The Ladies' Hall" was named Agnes 
Howard Hall in memory of the daughter of Mr. C. D. Howard who had 
contributed substandally to the erection of the building. Miss Howard 
had died while a student at Wesleyan. 

The year 1920 also marked the inauguration of a program designed 
to serve the church. Under the leadership of the Reverend Mr. Aaron 
Rapking, a Department of Rural Leadership was established, jointly spon- 
sored by the college and by the Rural Department of the Board of Home 
Missions and Church Extension of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The 
purpose of the department was to provide courses in rural sociology, rural 
economics, and rural leadership which would train ministers, teachers 
and laymen to assume leadership and render Christian services in the 
small town and open country. The following year courses in religious 
education were added. By 1922 there was a separate Department of 
Religious Education. By 1927 the two departments had been combined. 
The program ceased to function at the end of the school year. 

The Department of Rural Leadership conducted such extension work 
as surveys of parishes and districts, supervision of student pastors, vacation 
church schools, help to churches in planning community projects, furnish- 
ing of plans for rural churches and community houses, and mailing books 
from the college library to rural ministers. 

Early in 1922 Dr. Fleming announced the gift of $4,000 by Mr. 
George W. Atkinson, a past governor of West Virginia and a member of 
the Board of Trustees, $3,000 of which was to be apphed to the purchase 
of a pipe organ for the chapel. By action of the trustees the chapel in the 
Administration Building was named Atkinson Chapel in recognition of 
Mr. Atkinson's service to the college and of his pubHc service. 

Although the trustees of the college had organized themselves into a 
corporation in 1888, it was deemed necessary to incorporate the college 
under the provisions of a law passed by the state legislature in 1919. A 
committee composed of W. W. Hughes, Samuel V. Woods, U. G. Young, 
and C. W. Lynch prepared the necessary papers for incorporation. In 
June 1920 the trustees adopted a Certificate of Incorporadon or Charter 



issued by Houston G. Young, secretary of state of West Virginia. By- 
laws were presented and adopted and a resolution was passed which 
transferred the control and direction of the college from the old trustees 
to the corporation established by the new charter. 

Athletics at Wesleyan also received the attention of the Board of 
Trustees and Dr. Fleming. In his report to the trustees for June 1921, 
the president noted an increase in the debt of the Athletic Association 
from $7,000 reported the previous year, and suggested that athletic 
affairs be conducted by a committee directly responsible to the faculty. 
The following year he again noted the continuing financial difficulties 
of the association. Pursuant to his recommendations a special committee 
of the board chaired by Dr. Roy McCuskey studied the issue and on 
June 5, 1922, recommended the establishment of an organization to be 
called the Alumni Athletic Board of West Virginia Wesleyan College. 
The board would be composed of nine members, all of whom should be 
members of the Alumni Association, with the faculty, the trustees, the 
student body and alumni at large represented. The president of the 
Alumni Association, with the advice and consent of the president of the 
college, was given the responsibility for the annual appointment of these 
members. The duties of the board included encouraging clean athletics 
and the raising of funds sufficient to guarantee the school a proper place 
in the field of intercollegiate athletic competition. The board was charged 
with reporting to the trustees annually a complete statement of any in- 
debtedness incurred during the year for which the college was responsible. 
The board could not encroach on the authority of the trustees or the 
faculty in the selection of coaches and managers or in the arranging of 

This situation developed during a period dating from about 1915 to 
the early thirties when football at Wesleyan, as well as at other schook, 
was in the ascendency and some of Wesleyan's "greats" were making 
history in sports competition. 

In 1916 Earle "Greasy" Neale returned to Wesleyan as football 
coach and remained through the following season. Neale, along with 
Harry Stansbury who became Director of Athletics at Wesleyan, had 
starred on the undefeated team of 1912. Neale joined the Cincinnati Reds 
baseball team in 1917 and played with the team in the World Series of 
1919. He subsequently coached the Washington and Jefferson College 
football team to a Rose Bowl tie with the University of California, and 



as coach of the Philadelphia Eagles, professional football team, led his 
team to professional football championships in 1948 and 1949. 

In 1924 the Wesleyan football team coached by Bob Higgins lost 
only two games, to West Virginia University and Waynesburg College. 
Nine victories included a 7 to 3 win over Syracuse University and a 24 to 
7 win over Kentucky University. Wesleyan was invited to meet Southern 
Methodist University in a post-season game in Dallas, Texas, the fore- 
runner of the present Sugar Bowl game. Wesleyan defeated S.M.U. by a 
score of 9 to 7. 

In 1925 Cecil B. "Cebe" Ross became head football coach at Wes- 
leyan. Under his coaching Wesleyan played and defeated New York 
University, West Virginia University, Navy, Kentucky University, and 
Duquesne University. Outstanding players coached by "Cebe" during his 
twenty-two seasons at Wesleyan included David Reemsnyder, later head 
coach and presently director of athletics; Leonard Barnum; Gale Bull- 
man; Nelson Peterson; the Bachtel brothers, Forrest, Arthur, Howard 
and Ray; and Clifford "Cliff" Battles. Reemsnyder was named to the 
little All- American team. Battles, after a record-setting career in profes- 
sional football, was elected 1o the National Football Hall of Fame on 
October 29, 1955. 

This era came to an end during the early thirties. The growth of 
athletic conferences, national and regional, to deal with some of the 
pressing problems of intercollegiate football which had brought the game 
under attack from many quarters, brought about some adjustments in 
the program. Since the formation of the West Virginia Intercollegiate 
Athletic Conference in 1924, Wesleyan has participated in all phases of 
athletics within the framework of this conference and the small state and 
private colleges within West Virginia. 

On July 18, 1922, Dr. Fleming accepted a call to the presidency of 
Baker University. His resignation was formally recognized by the Board 
of Trustees at the February 1923 meeting. A resolution by the trustees 
formally accepting Dr. Fleming's resignation noted that while his tenure 
at Wesleyan had not been long, "yet he crowded into it such great devel- 
opment for the permanent good of the College that we, its trustees, can 
cheerfully assert that he performed a well-founded work which might 
have required a less resourceful and devoted man many more years in its 
accompHshment." D. L. Ash, Archbold Moore and W. B. Mathews, 
a committee constituted to recommend applicants for the presidency, 



proposed five names for consideration at the April meeting of the trustees. 
Among the candidates were the Reverend Dr. C. Fred Anderson and the 
Reverend Dr. Roy McCuskcy of the West Virginia Annual Conference 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The nomination of these two indi- 
viduals reflected a growing sentiment that a member of the West Virginia 
Annual Conference should be president of the school. However, by unani- 
mous agreement the Reverend Dr. E. Guy Cutshall of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, was selected as the new president. 

From Dr. Fleming's departure until the inauguration of the new presi- 
dent. Dr. Thomas Haught was pressed into service as acting president. 
During the year Dr. Haughi organized a student council of nine repre- 
sentatives from the four college classes and a president elected by the 
student body from the senior class. The council assumed no disciplinary 
function, but Dr. Haught noted that it promoted better morale in the 
school community. A committee of students and faculty was also organized 
to coordinate mutual concern for high standards of scholarship. 

Dr. Cutshall's first report to the Board of Trustees, February 7, 1924, 
indicated that he had two major concerns. First, he wanted to protect the 
enrollment which had been increasing over the past ten years and to 
improve the quality of academic work. He suggested that an aggressive 
policy was needed by the college to enlarge and cultivate the student 
field in view of the competition of a strong state university, the conversion 
of a half dozen normal schools into state colleges, the loyalty of the 
northern panhandle to Ohio Wesleyan, the rapid development of Mar- 
shall College, and the existence in the state of five other colleges. Second, 
he voiced concern for the financial foundations of the college. From 1917 
until 1923 the college had been run on a deficit in the aggregate of 
$123,674.15 for the six-year period. Deficits had been made up by bor- 
rowing from the endowment fund. The amount of $300,000 remained 
uncollected on the Half Million Fund. Students were in debt to the 
college for tuition and incidentals for the current year in the amount of 

Over the two-year period of his presidency Dr. Cutshall worked 
toward the improvement of the college's position on both these concerns. 
The Ray Collection Agency of Wheeling, West Virginia, was employed 
to collect subscriptions on the Half Million Fund, excepting the larger 
subscriptions and those subscribers in centers of populadon easily reached 
by a representative of the college. Tuition was increased from $50 to $60 



per semester and a policy was adopted requiring payment of tuition in 
full before enrollment in the classes. Members of the administration and 
trustees were charged with the responsibility of finding 200 persons willing 
to give $100 per year each foi five years to the current expense account. 

In his final report to the Board of Trustees Dr. Cutshall reported on 
the accomplishments of his administration. Collections on the Half Million 
Fund and the Victory- Fund had amounted to about $140,000; $49,000 
had been received from the General Education Board; $19,000 on the 
drive to prevent a deficit for the school year 1923-24; $48,000 in gifts, 
wills and annuities. Economies in the operation of the school had resulted 
in savings amounting to about $6,400. Twelve new scholarships were 
added and students were currently realizing about $ 1 0,000 per year from 
scholarships and self-help employment in the college. Deputation work 
in the search for students was being done gratis by members of the stu- 
dent body. Improvements had been made on the gymnasium, the Admin- 
istration Building, Science flail and Agnes Howard Hall. A residence 
for the president on the corner of Sedgwick Street and College Avenue 
had been purchased at a cost of $10,000. The faculty had been strength- 
ened by the addition of a number of new teachers including George 
Glauner and J. J. Bos. The faculty had adopted and put in force strict 
faculty regulations in matters of class attendance, tardiness, uniformity 
in grading, hours of required work, integrity in examinations. Student 
government had become a reality beginning with the second semester 
1923-24 by the establishment of the Student Representative Council with 
power to enforce rules regulating the conduct of students in examinations, 
proper use of school property and the practice of good campus form. The 
system of weighted credits had been adopted which put the graduation 
requirements upon a qualitative as well as a quantitative basis. The cur- 
riculum committee and the faculty had instituted reforms which were 
designed to keep the offerings of the college up to date with the range 
of subjects adequate to and in harmony with the best standards. These 
involved the upgrading of requirements for graduation in psychology, 
physical education, fine arts, the sciences, foreign languages, business ad- 
ministration, and the Normal School. Wesleyan, according to Dr. Cut- 
shall, had achieved a "first" in the state by adding courses in 1924 for the 
training of men and women for coaching. Professor Hyma had been 
instrumental in introducing intramural sports. 

In a resolution of appreciation tendered Dr. Cutshall, the Board of 



Trustees noted that he had given to all "a broader vision of college affairs 
. . . raised the standard of college work, strengthening and adding new 
courses . . . increased the salaries of the faculty . . . collected and added 
to our endowment, from old and new pledges, approximately $175,000. 
. . ." Dr. Cutshall left Wesleyan to become president of Iliff Seminary, 
Denver, Colorado. Later he served as president of Nebraska Wesleyan. 

Dean Haught was again called to serve as acting president from June 
1925, to the summer of 1926. He notes that during this period Dr. Lewis 
Chrisman became acting dean leaving him free to consider some problems 
of administration. The most outstanding among these was the abortive 
effort to secure recognition for the college by the North Central Associa- 
tion of Colleges and Secondary Schools. Pressure for several years from 
alumni who found themselves at a disadvantage in the teaching profession 
or in attempting to pursue graduate studies because the college had not 
been accredited by a standardizing agency led to the applicadon for 
admission to the North Central Association of Colleges at its meeUng in 
Chicago during March 1926. The application was rejected by the associa- 
tion after President R. M. Hughes of Miami University reported on his 
inspection of the college and its work. Although the rejection resulted 
from a number of handicaps under which the college labored, the impres- 
sion went out, according to Dr. Haught, that the college was making 
athletics the goat. To set the record straight he read into the minutes of 
the Board of Trustees a letter from President Hughes which indicated 
that he had recommended that the college be accredited for one year to 
be reinspected in 1927. "Serious exception was taken to the athleUc 
situation and the College was turned down on that ground, and I believe 
on that ground only. I strongly recommend that you take up this matter 
very carefully, and when this one matter is straightened up in a satisfactory 
way, I feel that there is no question but what West Virginia Wesleyan 
College will be accredited one year hence." Dean Haught recommended 
that the trustees evaluate the present athledc policy in the light of this 

The problem with regard to athletics, which was not to be setded 
finally for a number of years, is difficuh to determine since no records 
are available as to the precise nature of the accredidng agency's objec- 
Uons. The crux of the situation appears to have been that athletes at 
Wesleyan who made the varsity squad were being awarded tuidon, room 
and board. They were housed and fed in the gymnasium. The issue was 



not that the athletic program continued to run deficits. The gate receipt 
guarantees which Wesleyan received from the large schools with which it 
competed during the late twenties sometimes meant the difference between 
the budget of the college being weighted on the credit rather than the 
debit side of the ledger. Checks of considerable amounts which Coach 
"Cebe" Ross turned over to the college not infrequently provided the 
funds needed to meet the payroll. The objection of the North Central 
Association appears to have been that the assistance given to athletes 
amounted to a system of professional athletics. 

During the year three fraternities and two sororities were organized 
following action by the Board of Trustees in the spring of 1925 permitting 
such organizations. This development proceeded under the supervision 
of a committee created by the trustees consisting of the president of the 
board, the president of the college and three members of the faculty. Of 
more than passing interest is the fact that the organization of fraternities 
and sororities was almost synonymous with the demise, for all practical 
purposes, of the Chrestomathean and Excelsior Literary Societies. Pro- 
fessor William Seifrit in his careful study of the rise and decline of these 
organizations at Wesleyan notes that they began to lose ground around 
1911. With the steady growth of the student body beginning in 1910, it 
became increasingly difficult for the societies to function as they had 
been accustomed in their he)day in the face of student desire for more 
speciaHzed activity, the growing emphasis on athletics, the rise of inter- 
collegiate debating, the coming of greater social freedom, and finally the 
inauguration of fraternities and sororities. The weekly debates in the 
societies gradually died out and were replaced by programs of music, 
singing, and humorous readings. Both societies began presenting music 
and variety shows. By 1915 formidable opposition came from two rival 
debating groups on campus, the Wesleyan Debating Club and the Webster 
Debating Club. Then came the Wesleyan Forensic Association under the 
direction of Professor Loren Staats. By 1928 this group had secured a 
local chapter of Pi Kappa Delta, a national forensic honorary. Dramatic 
Arts were dominated by The Wesleyan Players which came into existence 
during the twenties. By 1929-30, debating, drama and related media were 
under the speech department. By 1927 more than twenty-five student 
organizations had preempted the role of the Chrestomathean and Ex- 
celsior societies. A merger of the two groups that year failed to solve the 



problem of declining interest and attendance, and in 1937 they were no 
longer listed among the organizations on campus. 

Dean Haught concerned himself also with what he referred to as the 
"attendance problem" and the need for increase in the revenues of the 
college. His report to the trustees noted that during the year sixty-six 
selected students had been sent to high schools throughout the state to 
try to create interest in Wesley an. On the problem of finances he recom- 
mended that the trustees begin at once a campaign for $500,000 to in- 
crease the endowment, build a Hbrary, and care for a current expense 
deficit of $20,000. If such an amount could be raised to be paid in four 
or five annual payments enough money could be reahzed to secure the 
balance of $50,000 pledged to the college by the General Education 
Board. The campaign did not materiaHze. 

The Board of Trustees meeting on June 7, 1926, elected to the presi- 
dency of the college. Dr. Homer E. Wark, professor of History of Religion 
at Boston University. Dr. Wark came to Wesleyan soon after his election. 
Among the concerns to which he gave priority was the problem of ac- 
creditation by the North Central Association of Colleges. He indicated that 
several problems stood in the way of accreditation according to the report 
of the review board. The college was enrolling too many special students. 
The teaching load for several members of the faculty was too large. The 
Hbrary was understaffed, facilities were limited, hours were inadequate, 
and there was no appropriation for books. In addition there was the 
problem of athletics. 

In June 1926, following Dean Haught's suggestion, the trustees had 
taken action which revoked all authorization to assist athletes whether 
by "scholarships, rooms, or other financial support, either directly or in- 
directly" with the exception of those financed by endowments for this 
purpose. Dr. Wark noted, however, that against his advice the training 
table had continued. A letter from Dr. Hughes had indicated that this 
could hinder accreditation. 

Pursuant to Dr. Wark's recommendation action was taken abolishing 
the training table, placing participation in athletics on a voluntary basis 
and endorsing the expansion of the intramural sports program. The 
trustees also constituted an Athletic Board which implemented the action 

During 1926-27 measures were adopted to remove the objections of 
the North Central Association of Colleges to the status of the library and 



to increase the facilities and use of the library. These actions included 
arrangements to keep the library' open in the evening, the appropriation 
of $2,000 to be renewed on a yearly basis for enlarging and equipping 
the Ubrary, a recommendation that the next financial campaign include 
funds for the erection of a Hbrar)' building. The Board of Trustees also 
created a standing Library' Committee. 

During the first semester of 1927, the college again applied for ad- 
mission to the North Central Association of Colleges, and at the June 
meeting of the trustees Dr. AVark announced that the school had been 
admitted to the association. Four years later in April 1931, the Association 
of Uni\-ersity Women also admitted the school to membership. 

The rising cost of operating the college, the growing competition 
among the colleges of the state for students, the annual deficits which 
plagued the college prompted Dr. Wark to recommend at the June 1927, 
meeting of the Board of Trustees a financial campaign for increasing the 
endowment, for the erection of new buildings and the retirement of the 
college's indebtedness. The most pressing needs in a building program 
included an extension to Agnes Howard Hall, a library and a dormitory 
for boys. The trustees approved Dr. Wark's suggestion and entered into 
a joint effort with the Wesley Foundation of West Virginia University. 
The goal was $500,000 and the receipts were to be shared on the basis 
of 80 per cent for Wesleyan College and 20 per cent for the Foundation. 
The joint effort resulted in the securing of $182,389 after expenses for 
the campaign in the amount of $25,1 16.88. A total of $44,000 was added 
to the endowment fund. 

During 1927 the trustees authorized purchase of the Forman Hospital 
on Florida Street for $20,000 for use as a freshman boys' dormitory. It 
was purchased for $17,000 cash. It has been used variously as a dormi- 
tory, a boarding hall and a fraternity house. During 1928 the Board of 
Trustees authorized the construction of an addition to Agnes Howard 
Hall along with the repair of the old building and the equipping and 
furnishing of tiie whole, the project to be financed by a bond issue not 
to exceed $100,000. The issue was sold to the State of West Virginia for 
the School Fund Investment. The work was completed in time for 
occupancy the second semester of 1928-29 by the John W. Kisner and 
Brothers Lumber Company at a cost of $97,976.29. 

The installation of an organ in Atkinson Hall was authorized by the 
trustees on June 3, 1930. 



A number of items involving the academic life of the school received 
attention during Dr. Wark's administration. Freshman Week was ob- 
served for the first time in the autumn of 1929 with freshman students 
arriving five days before upperclassmen for orientation in college life. 
The trustees approved a change in the school week from a Tuesday to 
Saturday, to a Monday to Saturday noon schedule in order to bring 
Wesleyan in line with other state schools, to prevent a loss of classes by 
the debate and football teams which were often away on weekends and 
to keep Saturday free for extension courses. A special discount allowed 
to children of faculty members, ministers and ministerial students was 
discontinued. In lieu of the discount the trustees made available ten 
scholarships of one semester each, in addition to other scholarships which 
might be available, for deserving students who would otherwise be unable 
to attend college. 

Social life at the college demanded attention at a number of points. 
Dr. Wark informed the Board of Trustees that the issues of dancing, 
drinking and gambling called for a more explicit policy by the board on 
these problems. College students were being allowed to attend dances off 
campus, but the college could not control the character of the dance 
halls. Faculty members objected to acting as chaperones. A special com- 
mittee of the Board on Social and Religious Life made a survey of faculty, 
students, alumni and ministers which indicated strong sendment for per- 
mitting dancing on campus under faculty supervision. However, in view 
of the strong stand taken against dancing by the General Conference 
and the 1928 Discipline of the Methodist Church, the committee recom- 
mended that the college retain its disapproval of dancing and in no case 
sponsor dances on or off campus. Parents wishing their children to dance 
while at Wesleyan were required to indicate this in writing to the dean. 
The faculty was charged with determining the frequency with which 
such students would be allowed to exercise the privilege. The faculty 
committee on social life was urged to work with the director of physical 
education and recreation in working out an adequate program of social 
activities for the school. 

The recollection of one member of the Social Life Committee, who 
is still teaching at Wesleyan, is that during the late twendes the com- 
mittee planned parties and other social events at which dancing was 
permitted. From this point, dances sponsored by college groups gradually 
became a part of the social Ufe of the school, a development which coin- 



cided with a change in attitude on the part of the church itself toward 

In 1929 the Board of Trustees gave permission to fraternities to 
purchase property with the understanding that the college would incur 
no financial or moral obligation either to pay for or to see that the 
property was paid for. 

In 1930 under the sponsorship of President and Mrs. Wark an organi- 
zation of the Student Volunteer Movement was founded. This organiza- 
tion evidently supplanted "The Wesleyan Volunteer Band" which came 
into existence prior to 1910 and was active for approximately eighteen 
years. The student volunteer group, like its predecessor, was primarily 
interested in the world missionary enterprise of the Christian church and 
in recruiting and bringing together those who would enter the field of 
foreign missions. However, it also sent gospel teams to churches in the 
vicinity of the college and with financial assistance from First Church, 
Buckhannon, opened a church school and prepared the ground for other 
areas of religious work in that section of Buckhannon known as the 
Liggett Addition. 

Dr. Wark tendered his resignation as president of Wesleyan at the 
meeting of the Board of Trustees, July 7, 1930. He listed in his resigna- 
tion a few items which he felt worthy of mention as indicating that a 
measure of progress had been made during his administration, namely, 
the settlement of athletic affairs in such a way as to save money and to 
make possible higher standards, the attainment of membership in the 
North Central Association of Colleges, the enlargement of Agnes Howard 
Hall and the acquisition of the boys' dormitory, the raising of about 
$93,000 on endowment and $67,000 on current indebtedness. 

The Board of Trustees expressed its continued confidence in the work 
of Dr. Wark and declined to accept his resignation. 

At the same meeting a special survey committee reported to the Board 
of Trustees its findings regarding the present status and future prospects 
of the college. The perennial problem of the school, the need for more 
money, received the bulk of the committee's attention. The report noted 
that over the past six years the income of the college had increased by 
27.2 per cent while expenses had increased by 37.7 per cent. Immediate 
steps had to be taken to increase the endowment funds of the college and 
to find one hundred more students. The committee also registered its 
opinion that there were too many departments in the college, and that 



they should be reduced from fourteen to seven or eight. This would result 
in a saving to the college since under the present setup every professor 
was the head of a department. Dr. Wark suggested that the president's 
salary be cut $ 1 ,000 per year. 

Dr. Wark tendered his resignation again in June 1931. In so doing 
he pointed out that West Virginia Wesleyan was now in the unique 
position of being on the accredited list of top agencies. It could appeal to 
"well-to-do" Methodists of the state to send their children to Wesleyan 
where they could get a first-rate education rather than sending them 
elsewhere. On the question of what kind of college Wesleyan ought to 
be, he suggested that it ought to concentrate on being an institution 
which could produce "broadly and culturally trained individuals," He 
urged leaving vocational training to the state. He felt that Wesleyan, and 
colleges like it, were being pressured to do too many things, to cover 
many practical fields, to train professionally and vocationally, and to do 
this superficially. Wesleyan might have to compromise the ideal for a 
time, but in the long run it should become the best cultural college in 
the state. For the present he suggested that the primary problem of the 
college was how to retain excellent teachers. There was undoubtedly a 
relationship between faculty turnover from year to year and the fact 
that the school had to pay some of its personnel pitiably small salaries. 

The Board of Trustees accepted Dr. Wark's resignation and on July 
1, 1931, unanimously elected to the office of president the Reverend Dr. 
Roy J. McCuskey, a member of the West Virginia Annual Conference. 

Roy J. McCuskey was born June 19, 1883, in the Big Run Community 
near the town of Cameron in Marshall County, West Virginia. In 
November 1901, he enrolled in the West Virginia Conference Seminary 
and graduated with the class of 1905. In the fall of 1905 he was admitted 
to the West Virginia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church and 
assigned to the Cameron Circuit. The following year he returned to 
Wesleyan and served as pastor of the Holly Grove Circuit until 1908 
when he completed the work for the Bachelor of Arts degree. The same 
fall he enrolled as a student in the Boston University School of Theology. 
While in school he served as pastor of the Methodist Church in Hingham, 
Massachusetts. In 1911 he received the degree of Bachelor of Sacred 
Theology and returned to West Virginia where he was admitted into 
full connection to the annual conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. From 1911 until he was elected to the presidency of West 



Virginia Wesleyan College in 1931, he served as pastor of Shinnston; 
North Street, Wheeling; Seventh Avenue, Huntington; St. Andrews, 
Parkersburg; and Thomson, Wheeling. He served as district superin- 
tendent of the Parkersburg District from 1920-26. He was a delegate to 
the General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1924, 
1932 and 1936, and to the General Conference of The Methodist Church 
in 1940. He was a member of the board of the Epworth League and of 
the University Senate of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In the West 
Virginia Conference he helped organize the Epworth League Institute 
and for several years worked in it and taught classes; served on the Board 
of Ministerial Training and taught in the Area School for Ministers; 
and was a member of the Conference Commission on World Service and 
Finance. From 1921 to 1941 he was a trustee of West Virginia Wesleyan 
College and was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity by 
the college in 1922. 

The work of Dr. McCuskey's administration was cut out for him 
even before he assumed leadership of the college. For the next ten years 
he would struggle with the problem of keeping the college from founder- 
ing on the rocks of financial disaster. The nation was in the midst of the 
industrial depression, the effect of which had been gradually worsening 
the financial situation of the college. During his first two years as presi- 
dent, Dr. McCuskey had to report decreases in investments, decreases in 
apportionments from the annual conference Board of Education, loss of 
money in various departments of the school. The closing of the banks 
in Buckhannon had tied up $6,000 of current expense money, making it 
necessary to borrow money to meet the monthly payroll and other bills. 
Banks from which the college had the heaviest loans were asking for 
payments or more collateral. The college was meeting deficits by selHng 
securities from the endowment fund, by using money which had been 
pledged on endowment gifts, or by using capital funds for current budget. 
As of 1932 the college was in debt on loans in the amount of $110,000 
plus the bonds of $91,000 outstanding on Agnes Howard Hall. 

To add to the woes of the college the North Central Association 
dropped Wesleyan from its list of accredited institutions. In discussing 
this development in his autobiography. Dr. McCuskey reports that 
among the reasons for the loss of accreditation was the objection of the 
association to the loans and other financial assistance being awarded to 
athletes. As attempt had been made to deal with what was referred to 



as the "athletic problem" by the establishment of the Wesleyan Student 
Loan Board, Inc., by the Alumni Athletic Board. The administration of 
aid to athletes, despite the adjustments which had been made during 
Dr. Wark's presidency, continued to be the severest point of criticism. 
Much of the money in the loan fund came from alumni donations. 
Theoretically, loans were to be made to any student at Wesleyan on the 
basis of individual need. However, in practice, most of the loans were 
made to athletes. Some loans were repaid, but some recipients apparently 
did not understand that they were loans and did not beheve that it was 
necessary to repay them. Since part of the loan fund could be traced 
from athletic profits through the fund to the athletes, they were interpreted 
as gifts when they were not repaid. The administration did not feel that 
it could accede to the request of the North Central Association that the 
college discontinue all loans at once, since this course of action would 
have been unjust to those already enrolled and engaged in an honest effort 
to complete their education. Dr. McCuskey believed that the association 
could have been more generous in its treatment of Wesleyan on this 
matter, inasmuch as the amount Wesleyan and other small colleges were 
putting into athletics was a pittance compared to huge amounts being 
expended by larger colleges and universities where accreditation was 
continued by the association. 

Early in Dr. McCuskey's administration, however, the loan fund was 
discontinued. For approximately ten years during the McCuskey ad- 
ministration athletes earned room and board serving as janitors, raking 
leaves and doing whatever odd jobs the college was able to give them. 

A satisfactory solution to the problem of aid to athletes was slow 
in coming, and perhaps this is a logical point to indicate the outcome. 
During World War II intercollegiate athletic competition was discon- 
tinued. Following the war the majority of athletes attended school under 
the program of government assistance for veterans, and financial aid for 
athletes was not a problem. When the flow of veterans trickled to a halt, 
a number of grants-in-aid were made available to athletes. The number 
of such grants eventually added up to thirteen worth $200 each. In 1951 
Wesleyan dropped football as an intercollegiate sport, but continued 
basketball. Football was resumed in the fall of 1953, in part, because of 
difficulty in recruiting students who wanted to attend school where there 
was no football team. Interestingly, most of the pressure came from 
prospective women students. The venture back into intercollegiate com- 



petition was designated "educational football," a term which means that 
the football teams were composed of regularly enrolled students who 
wanted to play football. In the absence of any incentive for top rated 
football material to attend Wesleyan, the fortunes of the football teams 
were at low ebb for a period of about five years. During the early years 
of the present administration a system of Merit Awards was established, 
distributed among all the departments of the college. Ten of these awards 
were allocated for basketball and thirty for football. This aid was a boon 
to the athletic program. The same number of awards are allocated to 
the athletic department as of this writing, though the amount of each 
award has been increased from $400 to $500 per year as tuition has 
risen. The aim had been to place Wesleyan in a competitive position with 
many of the state schools with which die Wesleyan teams must play. 
However, the amount of the awards has not kept pace with rising costs. 
Athletes who receive the awards must be recommended by the coach, 
and the awards are approved in the same manner as any other scholar- 
ship. To keep the award a student must maintain a C average and must 
not be subject to any disciplinary action. Further, an athlete who receives 
a Merit Award does so with the understanding that it is a partial work- 
ship in the Department of Physical Education. 

The loss of accreditation by the North Central Association was not 
due solely to the difficulty involving athletics. According to Dr. McCuskey, 
Wesleyan would have lost its accreditation even if the school had fully 
complied with the demand that the loans to athletes be discontinued. 
The North Central Association had suggested that faculty standards 
were low. The financial posture also affected the standing of the college. 
However, Dr. McCuskey suggested that the board should not deal "in 
too drastic fashion" with salaries inasmuch as faculty members were al- 
ready returning uncomplainingly 5 per cent of their salary to the budget. 
It was hardly fair to ask the employees of the college to bear all the 
burden of balancing the budget. 

Measures were adopted to meet the emergency. The trustees in May 
1932, authorized the issuing of $100,000 worth of 6 per cent fifteen year 
Gold Bonds to become due and payable April 1, 1947. In May of 1932, 
the salaries of employees and faculty were reduced by 25 per cent from 
an average of $2,433 to an average of $1,812. No catalogue was issued 
for 1933-34. The West Virginia Annual Conference was asked to support 
the college at the rate of 50 cents per member plus designated gifts. 



Still the crisis deepened. Early in 1933, Dr. McCuskey reported the 
loss of most of the endowment securities of the college. It could secure no 
long-term loans. Faculty members, long patient under trying circum- 
stances and all of whom were in debt to Buckhannon merchants, were 
beginning to wonder whether they would ever receive all that the college 
had promised them. In addition, the school was faced with combatting 
two issues which had been making the rounds for some time. First, there 
were those who were saying that the church college was an archaic in- 
stitution, that there were too many church colleges, particularly in the 
Methodist Church. The younger and weaker should be permitted to die 
and efforts should be devoted to saving the big institutions. Second, a 
rumor, purportedly emanating from Wesleyan itself, had been broadcast 
to the effect that it would be impossible to continue the institution. Dr. 
McCuskey affirmed his behef that the school could remain, that it ought 
to remain. Methodists of the state should sacrifice to keep it going, else 
they did not deserve the name Methodist ! 

Evidence of the determination to keep Wesleyan alive came out of 
the meeting of the Board of Trustees in the autumn of 1933. First, the 
office of vice president was created with the Reverend Mr. John E. 
Hanifan, a member of the West Virginia Annual Conference, being 
elected to the office. The specific duties of the vice president were to 
solicit students, and to direct a financial campaign. Second, plans were 
announced for a special day at the college on October 5, to be known as 
"Bishop's Day." The attempt would be made to secure the attendance of 
a large number of members of the annual conference, laymen and 
friends. The bishop of the West Virginia Annual Conference would be 
the guest of honor and would deliver an address. Third, a resolution 
was adopted and sent to each pastor and lay delegate of the annual 
conference urging collection of the annual apportionment on each charge 
of 50 cents per member for the support of Wesleyan. 

By June 1934, $60,000 worth of tiie Gold Bonds issued two years 
earlier had been sold. While the money gained had not reduced the 
indebtedness of the college, which was now over a quarter of a million 
dollars, it had reduced a large proportion of what was owed to merchants 
and faculty. Indebtedness to the faculty was reduced by $20,266.43 
though it was noted that the faculty itself had subscribed for bonds in 
the amount of $16,500. 

Midway through President McCuskey's tenure a turning point was 



reached in the struggle of Wesleyan to sumve. The year 1934-35 showed 
a definite brightening of the school's prospects. Dr. McCuskey reported 
to the Board of Trustees in June 1935, that enrollment showed a 27 per 
cent increase over the previous year. Income from students had risen. 
The churches had begun to respond with greater financial assistance. 
The market value of endowment securities had advanced and some 
back interest had been paid. The college had been approved by the 
University Senate, the standardizing body of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Dean Oscar Lambert reported that a committee appointed to 
determine the eligibility of the school for reaccreditation by the North 
Central Association had reported a hopeful estimate. 

Dr. McCuskey turned his attention to the future and suggested a 
number of objectives for the school. Foremost among these was the re- 
gaining of accreditation by the North Central Association. The meedng 
of standards required by the association would involve adjustments in 
the area of faculty, curriculum, salaries, endowment, control of athletics. 
The president proposed a study of the steps necessary to meet require- 
ments of the association, but he cautioned against hasty action which 
might involve the embarrassment of another retreat. Of equal importance 
was the strengthening of the financial standing of the college. The en- 
dowment would have to be rebuilt to pre-depression status plus an 
additional half-million dollars. Support from constituency, churches and 
alumni would have to be increased. The indebtedness must be paid. 
Attention needed to be given to increasing the enrollment to 550 or 600 
full-time students. In this connection Dr. McCuskey noted that the 
Executive Committee was contemplating a special effort to reach stu- 
dents in the metropolitan area of New York and certain sections of New 
Jersey and Pennsylvania. The lower tuition rate at Wesleyan was 
attractive to out-of-state students of moderate circumstances. Finally, Dr. 
McCuskey suggested that plans should be made to celebrate the approach- 
ing Fiftieth Anniversary of the college. The celebration should cover a 
two-year period, 1938-40, and should include a development program 
which would provide for the payment of all indebtedness, put all build- 
ings into good repair, raise an additional endowment of at least $500,000 
and provide for a much needed library building. 

A committee appointed to plan the semi-centennial celebration pro- 
duced a comprehensive program: 



1. The preparation of a history of the college to be ofT the press 
before the June commencement of 1940. 

2. The preparation of a pageant for the occasion of the fiftieth 

3. Visitation of the churches of the conference by the president, the 
vice president and other representatives of the college. 

4. The offering of suitable prizes to winners of a contest in the 
production of a new Wesleyan College song or songs. 

5. A careful survey of the buildings and grounds of the college by 
competent architects and landscape artists so that any anticipated 
changes in buildings or relocation of any facilities would be done 
in a way which would conserve the beauty of the campus. 

6. The drawing of plans for a Ubrary building and the attempt to 
find a way of financing the structure. 

7. The planning of a major financial campaign which would liqui- 
date all debts; add the greatest possible sum to the endowment, 
including special projects such as professorships and scholarships; 
provide for the building of a library and a heating plant; put all 
buildings in good repair and improve the grounds. 

The committee suggested that the financial campaign should begin at 
the commencement of 1938, and that the program of celebration should 
begin with the commencement of 1940 and continue through the meeting 
of the annual conference with the conference being invited to meet at 

Dr. Wallace B. Fleming, after fifteen years as president of Baker 
University, Baldwin, Kansas, returned to Wesleyan in 1937 as vice 
president to organize and direct the Semi-Centennial Campaign. The 
goal for the campaign was $1,000,000. Of this amount $250,000 was to 
be used for debt retirement, $25,000 for property improvement and re- 
pairs; $200,000 for a library and endowment of same, $500,000 for the 
endowment, and $25,000 for expenses of the semi-centennial celebradon. 

The campaign was launched at a rally in First Methodist Church, 
Clarksburg, March 26, 1939. The occasion brought together all except 
one of the living former presidents. Dr. Carl G. Doney was the speaker. 
Subsequent rallies were held in each of the districts of the conference by 
the end of June. 

The results of the campaign fell far short of the goal. As of May 31, 
1940, the total in cash and pledges was $489,540. An emergency appeal 



brought in enough to run the total safely above the half million mark 
by the time of commencement. Dr. Fleming noted that the effort had 
proceeded under difficult circumstances resulting from the economic 
depression including shutdowns in the coal industry, general unemploy- 
ment and the fear of people to commit themselves for more than a year. 

A major bequest to the college came in 1937. Calvin A. West, a native 
West Virginian, by the terms of his will provided that the income from 
his estate should go to certain relatives while they lived. When specific 
bequests were cared for, the balance of the estate should be transferred 
to Wesleyan as part of the permanent endowment fund to be used for 
scholarships and to be known as "The Calvin A. West Scholarship Fund." 
It was estimated that the estate would amount to approximately $200,000. 

The Semi-Centennial Planning Committee concluded that some prog- 
ress had been made on all objectives of the financial campaign except the 
erection of a Hbrary building. The problem of appHcation for readmission 
to membership in the North Central Association successively postponed 
through the thirties because of fear that the standards of the college were 
not up to the demands of that agency remained unsolved. This situation 
resulted in loss of membership in the American Association of University 
Women. Dr. McCuskey pointed out also that the rating of the school with 
the University Senate was none too high. 

The year of the fiftieth anniversary was observed by a variety of 
events on campus. Dr. Frank B. Trotter was the speaker for the first 
convocation, September 22, 1939. Bishop's Day was observed October 
27. The annual homecoming was held October 28. Handel's Messiah 
was presented before the Christmas recess. Religious Emphasis Week 
was observed February 12-18, 1940, with Dr. Frank T. Cartwright, 
Associate Secretary of the Board of Foreign Missions of the former 
Methodist Episcopal Church, as speaker. The West Virginia Conference 
Intercollegiate Basketball Tournament and the West Virginia Intercol- 
legiate Speech Festival were held on campus in March. April 15-19 was 
observed as "Good Government Week," a program initiated by Dr. 
McCuskey in 1937, aimed at developing honest and good citizens. 
Commencement week, June 2-5, included a conference on college educa- 
tion conducted by Dr. Guy Suavely, Executive Director of the Associa- 
tion of American Colleges; the presentation of a pageant of West Virginia 
Wesleyan College written by Miss Jean Latham, a graduate of the class 



of 1925; and a commencement address by Bishop Adna Wright Leonard 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Despite the adverse circumstances under which the college operated 
during the decade of the thirties, the mood and tone of the coUege was 
neither one of pessimism nor of simply holding the Une. Varied and sig- 
nificant developments took place in a number of areas over the period 
from 1931-40. 

Under the leadership of Dean Oscar D. Lambert a summer school 
extension course was established in Logan directed by Dr. Thomas 
Haught. A summer music camp of eight weeks for high school students 
was inaugurated. The divisional organization of the college was revamped 
in 1934 under five divisions. The Business Department which had been 
eliminated as part of the retrenchment of the college program early in 
the thirties was restored as a result of popular demand for courses in the 

Distinguished lecturers were brought to the campus under the in- 
fluence of the Dean of Women, Mrs. C. Edmond Neal. These included 
Dr. F. K. Morris who lectured on his role in the exposition which found 
dinosaur eggs in the Gobi Desert, and Robert Frost who read from his 
own poems. 

The library facilities were expanded and the collection was increased 
to twenty thousand volumes. The Library Committee of the Board of 
Trustees, with Mr. Phil Conley as chairman, sponsored an annual Library 
Day to stimulate the giving of books and funds to the library. 

Dr. George Glauner coached a number of successful debating teams, 
and in 1934 Wesleyan was the only college in the state to have repre- 
sentation in the Pi Kappa Alpha National Debating Tournament. 

In 1937 a committee of the Board of Trustees presented a resolution 
establishing a retirement plan in the form of a deferred annuity contract 
issued by the Teacher's Insurance and Annuity Association with the 
college and the participant each contributing 5 per cent of the partici- 
pant's salary. Participation was made mandatory after two years' service. 
The age of retirement was set at sixty-five with provision made for em- 
ployment by special vote of the trustees for extension of services for 
definite periods of time up to the end of the academic year in which the 
age seventy was reached. Final approval of the plan came in 1938. 

The first issue of the Alumni Magazine was published during the 
school year 1936-37. First mention of the strawberry festival to be held 



on campus appeared in the minutes of the Board of Trustees for June 

The year 1939 was a momentous one for Methodism in view of the 
uniting of the three major Methodist bodies into one church. Early dis- 
cussion of the implications of this event indicated that the leaders of the 
college hoped that Wesleyan might become the one really outstanding 
liberal arts college in the state. The question facing West Virginia 
Methodism and the church at large was whether or not it could support 
two institutions. The first fifty years of Wesleyan came to a close with 
her future unsettled. 




Dr. McCuskey resigned as president of Wesleyan at the June 1941 
meeting of the Board of Trustees. He had suggested a year previous that 
consideration be given his successor. The board accepted his decision and 
appointed Dr. Wallace Fleming as acting president. 

On July 31, 1941, the Republican Delta, local Buckhannon weekly 
newspaper, published a special issue dedicated to West Virginia Wesleyan 
College and to Dr. Roy McCuskey on the occasion of his retirement. In 
a lead article headlined "What Kind of College is West Virginia Wes- 
leyan?" Dr. McCuskey affirmed that Wesleyan was fulfilling its role as a 
Christian college under Methodist control. Of the 61 colleges of The 
Methodist Church, Wesleyan now stood tenth in the number of Methodist 
students enrolled, 61 per cent, with only 3.5 per cent of the student body 
having no church preference. Full-time enrollment hovered around the 
450 mark with the values of the small college class, personal contacts and 
supervision of student activities and work, being retained. For the future 
an expansion of enrollment to 650 or 700 would match reasonably the 
normal growth of the student population of the state. Such expansion 
would require addition to all facilities and personnel. The Board of 
Trustees had received preliminary studies of the campus for placement 
of buildings which should come eventually — library, music and fine arts 
building, chapel, dormitory for men, a student center, and some changes 
in athletic facilities. 

However, he added, unless some fairy in the form of a very wealthy 
man or women should appear suddenly, Wesleyan would have to follow 
the slow process of gathering friends in order not only to hold present 
ground but to advance. 

William D, Foster, in "What Wesleyan Means to Buckhannon," 
noted that the college was the outstanding human enterprise in the 
community. In the past year the college had expended $151,415 in 
salaries, plant, equipment and maintenance costs. Students at Wesleyan 
spent $150,000 in Buckhannon. If the 127 students from Buckhannon 
enrolled at Wesleyan had left the community to attend school elsewhere 



they would have taken more than $60,000 yearly with them from the 
community. Without Wesleyan many local boys and girls would be unable 
to attend college for financial reasons. 

The annual session of the West Virginia Conference meeting in June 
1940 had granted Wesleyan the privilege of continuing its Semi- 
centennial Campaign. At the same time it requested the General Board 
of Education of The Methodist Church to make a study of the needs 
of the conference concerning educational institutions and to recommend 
what the conference program should be with respect to its two colleges — 
West Virginia Wesleyan and Morris Harvey, the college of the former 
Methodist Episcopal Church South. 

Bishop James H. Straughn informed the trustees in June 1941, that 
the General Conference had authorized a committee to study the situa- 
tion. The committee consisted of H. J. Burgstahler, president of Ohio 
Wesleyan College, as chairman; John Seaton, president of Albion College; 
Umphrey Lee, president of Southern Methodist University, and J. Earl 
Moreland, president of Randolph-Macon College. The findings of this 
committee led to action in the 1941 session of the West Virginia Annual 
Conference permitting Morris Harvey College to withdraw from The 
Methodist Church. Thereby the conference relinquished all interest in 
Morris Harvey leaving the college to be used and operated as the trustees 
of the institution should desire. In turn, Morris Harvey relinquished all 
financial claim for support or maintenance from the West Virginia Con- 
ference. West Virginia Wesleyan was now the sole college in the state 
owned and operated by The Methodist Church. 

Early in 1942 the Board of Trustees adopted the report of a joint 
committee of the trustees and the members of the Board of Education of 
the Annual Conference aimed at coordinating the work of the college 
and the conference. The District Superintendent and the Executive Sec- 
retary of the Board of Education were made ex-officio members of the 
Board of Trustees upon election to office. The Conference Board of Edu- 
cation was given headquarters at the college without rent. Provision was 
made for college cooperation in developing the total educational program 
of the annual conference. 

Concurrently, plans were being made for application for readmission 
to membership in the North Central Association. Dean Lambert attended 
the meeting of the Minnesota North Central Association during the 
summer of 1941. He noted that he had counseled with informed persons, 



visited campuses of member colleges, prepared standards and returned 
with the conviction that Wesleyan, by assuming special burdens, would 
be able to reach North Central Association standards. Following applica- 
tion for readmission during the interim presidency of Dr. Wallace Fleming, 
an inspection team from the North Central Association visited the campus 
during February 1942. The committee, consisting of President Gage of 
Lindenwood College, Dean Hyde of Mount Union College and Mr. 
MacKenzie of the University of Chicago, approved the college for a 
conditional two-year membership. Dean Lambert reported that the 
profile of the college worked out by the North Central Association in- 
spection team noted that the weakness of the college included financial 
instability; a record of bad practice in financial administration; poor 
care of buildings; inadequate facilities for the library, and the Art and 
Home Economics Departments; too small instructional staff in relation 
to number of students; a disproportionate number of athletes receiving 
some form of financial aid; inadequate training of library staff; no 
organized student placement service; Uttie opportunity for student rep- 
resentation in the faculty committees. 

Among the strong points of the college were the retirement plan; the 
arrangements which held the promise of financial support from The 
Methodist Church; productive scholarship of the faculty; unusually 
strong work in chemistry and biology; strong work in English and 
teacher education; the high degree of faculty education; the record of 
graduates in post-graduate work; the high degree of success of alumni; 
the women's dormitory, the size of campus and arrangement of buildings; 
and the representation of denominational clientele in the student body. 
The faculty and administration constituted the strongest feature of the 
college. With some pressure coming from the North Central Associa- 
tion, Dean Lambert reported that the curriculum had been regrouped 
into four divisions: Natural Science; Social Science; Psychology, Educa- 
tion and Religion; Languages, Literature and Fine Arts. The foreign 
language requirement for graduation had been dropped due to the 
conviction that Wesleyan was losing potential students to institutions 
which had no language requirement, and that the requirement was an 
archaic holdover from the European educational system. Growing out of 
the North Central Association report two items were recommended to the 
Board of Trustees for study, a plan of leave of absence for teachers, and 
a ranking of faculty in the light of the standards and recommendations 



of the North Central Association. On February 11, 1943, the board ap- 
proved the ranking of faculty in keeping with the standards of the North 
Central Association Committee— professors, associate professors, assistant 
professors and instructors. The policy of the American Association of 
University Professors on academic tenure was adopted. It was not until 
October 20, 1956, however, that a plan of sabbatical leaves for faculty 
was put into effect. 

In 1944 Dr. Arthur A. Schoolcraft was elected Dean of Wesleyan. 

Dr. Schoolcraft (1897-1959) was born in Euclid, West Virginia. 
After completing his undergraduate work at Marietta College, he attended 
Boston University where he earned the degrees of Bachelor of Sacred 
Theology and the Doctor of Philosophy. He subsequendy studied at 
Harvard and at the University of Berlin. He came to Wesleyan in 1932 
to teach in the Department of Education. He was dean of the college 
from 1944 until his death in 1959. He also held the position of registrar 
for most of these years. On two occasions, 1945 and 1956, he assumed 
the added responsibility of acting president of the college. 

As dean, his impact on the college is best attested to by the estimate 
of his colleagues on the faculty. On the occasion of his death in 1959, a 
memorial by the faculty affirmed : 

The dean was a remarkable person who was ambitious, never for himself, only 

for his college. Like all successful men, he had a goal, that of guiding Wesleyan 

to a position of distinction among the colleges of the world. 

Because he was so alert and well informed, he was able to sustain the college 

during periods of financial stress and low enrollment, to gain accreditation for 

it as well as grants from many sources, to improve the caliber of personnel in all 


His achievements exacted a staggering amount of application. The fact that 
he did more work than could be expected of one man, and the story of the 
unfailing light from his office windows every night (weekends, vacations, and 
holidays included) have become legends. All that he produced was meticu- 
lously well done. Even routine reports, which might elicit no more than an 
impatient glance before being consigned to the nearest wastebasket, were done 
with unusual care and polish. 

No matter how busy he was, he always had time for the problems of others. He 
considered nothing trivial that concerned the welfare of the college. He tem- 
pered his concern with wit and was always able to convey perspective to the 
issue at hand. 

The dean loved people. It was through his love for humanity that he set about 
removing the bars of prejudice and caused numbers of students from other 
nations and races to come to Wesleyan. 
Arthur Allen vSchoolcraft laid a solid foundation on which a larger and greater 



future may be built. To paraphrase Lincoln's Gettysburg Address, "the world 
will little note nor long remember what we say here, but it will never forget 
what he did here." 

During his tenure as dean, Dr. Schoolcraft worked hard at raising 
the standards at Wesleyan so that the school could qualify for member- 
ship in other recognized accrediting agencies. Accreditation by the North 
Central Association opened the way for recognition by these agencies but 
progress was slow. Membership in the American Council on Education 
was announced in 1946, accreditation by the University Senate of New 
York in 1947, and by the University Senate of The Methodist Church 
in 1948. Wesleyan was readmitted to membership by the American 
Association of University Women in 1954 after the school took steps to 
meet the objection of the association to the dearth of women on the 
faculty and staff. Associate membership in the National Association of 
Schools of Music came in 1957 following the appointment of a depart- 
mental head of the school of music, the strengthening of offerings in 
music education and the inauguration on June 1 , 1 95 1 , of the degree of 
Bachelor of Music Education. Full membership and accreditation in 
Nx^SM came subsequently in 1964. 

The Board of Education reporting to the 1942 session of the annual 
conference noted the action of the North Central Association. The report 
of the committee of the General Conference was brought to the attention 
of the conference. The report noted that the building and grounds of the 
college had an estimated value of one-half million dollars. The productive 
endowment had been estimated at approximately $200,000 while the 
indebtedness was about $100,000. The report indicated that the school 
needed an increase in current income of from $50,000 to $100,000. An 
endowment of at least $400,000 was needed to raise salaries from the 
thirteenth percentile to a reasonable level of a seventy-fifth percentile in 
the North Central Area. The need for additional facilities would necessi- 
tate an outlay of at least $762,000. In sum, an aggregate of $1,447,000 
would be required to meet these basic needs. 

In the midst of these events a new president for Wesleyan was elected 
April 17, 1942, in the person of Dr. Joseph Warren Broyles. Born and 
reared in Eastern Tennessee, Dr. Broyles did his undergraduate work at 
Tusculum College, received the Bachelor's degree from the Boston Uni- 
versity School of Theology and the Ph.D. degree from Drew University. 
He served three pastorates in the Holston Conference of the Methodist 



Episcopal Church South, and taught at Hamline University. Prior to his 
election to the presidency of Wesleyan he was president of Snead Junior 
College at Boaz, Alabama. 

Dr. Fleming once again assumed the office of vice-president. The 
Board of Trustees in a fitting tribute took notice of the distinguished 
service he had rendered Wesleyan and of the substantial role he had 
played in getting the school restored to membership in the North Central 
Association. During his first term as president Dr. Fleming composed 
Wesleyan's alma mater song. In 1944 he resigned as vice-president sixty 
days previous to his seventy-second birthday. 

Before Dr. Broyles' election, Acting President Fleming had suggested 
to the Board of Trustees that while the report of the Commission of the 
General Board of Education was fresh in the memory of the annual con- 
ference a plea should be made for a campaign to increase the financial 
resources of the college by an amount sufficient to undergird the work the 
college ought to do. Accordingly, Dr. Broyles presented to the annual 
conference of 1942 a Program of Advance for West Virginia Wesleyan 
College. The annual conference approved the program and the raising of 
funds necessary to implement it, to be completed between January 1, 
1943, and January 1, 1944, under the direction of the Conference Board 
of Education, the administration of the college, and the Bishop of the 
Pittsburgh Area. 

Action was taken by the annual conference on another matter affect- 
ing the work of the college. The North Central Association report had 
ranked the college in the below-average percentile rating in the area of 
general control of the institution because of the large proportion of 
ministers on the Board of Trustees. Direct responsibihty was not laid on 
the ministers for unwise business management, but it was suggested that 
the board ought to have a more adequate representation of business and 
professional men and women. The trustees petitioned the annual confer- 
ence to gradually reduce the number of trustees from forty to twenty-four 
elective members plus three ex-officio members, and to provide for nomi- 
nation of trustees by a committee rather than from the floor of the annual 
conference. It was suggested also that so far as was practical two-thirds 
of those elected should be laymen and one-third ministers, and that at least 
one woman and one alumnus of the college be among the lay persons 
elected each year. Terms of service were to run from one to four years. 
The annual conference voted to maintain a fifty-fifty representation of 



laymen and ministers. In order to retain experienced laymen, the Board 
of Trustees voted to continue the original board of forty members. 

The year 1942 marked a turning point in the financial status of the 
college. In September Mr. Lawrence Lynch, a trustee, announced that 
Mrs. L. L. Loar had given the college real estate in Clarksburg at an 
agreed value of $17,000. Mr. A. F. McCue, a trustee, noted that this 
gift was the initial increment toward the total cost of a building at Wes- 
leyan to be used as a music hall and dedicated to the memory of the 
L. L. Loar family. Mrs. Loar also had expressed her intention to provide 
at least $100,000 for that purpose. 

The significant achievement of the year was the retirement of the 
indebtedness of the college. The efforts of Mr. Lawrence Lynch and Mr. 
Anthony McCue effected a settlement of the bond issue for the erection 
of the addition to Agnes Howard Hall purchased in 1928 and 1929 by 
the Board of the School Fund of the State of West Virginia at par and 
annual interest of $101,513. Over the years the college retired bonds and 
paid interest which had reduced the value of the bonds and interest due 
to $62,000. As of October 28, 1940, however, principle and interest due 
had risen to $142,539 due to default in payments. A conference with 
Governor Matthew M. Neely produced an agreement whereby the state 
would settle for a sum which, added to principal and interest already 
paid, would equal the original amount invested. On December 24, 1942, 
President Broyles and trustees L. L. Lynch, Anthony McCue and A. V. G. 
Upton delivered to Charleston a check for $40,893 and returned home 
with the bonds which had been there since 1928. Of this amount $36,500 
in new money had been raised by the trustees over a period of a month. 
The balance came from payments on the Semi-Centennial Fund. 

An equally important accomplishment was the settling of the Gold 
Bond issue of 1932. Interest of 6 per cent on the bonds was paid regularly 
and many bonds were turned into the college as payments on the Semi- 
Centennial Campaign pledges. By the middle of May 1942, only $33,000 
of the bonds were outstanding. An attempt to refund these by the issuing 
of 3 per cent bonds resulted in the exchange of some old bonds for the 
new issue. Many were returned to the college outright, while some holders 
requested cash for their bonds and received it. By September the amount 
of bonds outstanding had been reduced to $10,400. The Board of Trustees 
then authorized the Empire National Bank of Clarksburg as trustee to 
call such bonds for redemption and payment on October 1, 1942. More 



bonds were turned in as gifts than were presented for cash so that by 
January 1943, the remaining bonds and isolated interest coupons had 
been reduced to $1,027. The college delivered to the bank an indemnify- 
ing bond in that amount securing the issue. The collateral security was 
delivered to the Union Trust Company of Pittsburgh. The remaining 
bonds were retired April 1944. 

At the meeting of the Board of Trustees which passed the resolution 
retiring the Gold Bond issue, Mr. Anthony McCue presented the follow- 
ing summary of the college's stature which he entitled "Do You Know?": 

Do You Know? 

1. That the buildings of this institution are in the best state of repair they have 
been in for the past ten years. 

2. That we have the best fire protection possible. 

3. That the properties have been reappraised for insurance purposes and we 
have the lowest insurance rate in the history of the institution. 

4. That when Mr. Lawrence Lynch's resolution with reference to retirement of 
bonds has been carried out, the College will be completely out of debt. 

5. That the Treasurer of the College is doing a capital job. 

6. That we are now discounting all bills for the first time in the history of the 

7. That our department in Chemistry is head and shoulders above such depart- 
ment in any other school in the State of West Virginia including the State Uni- 
versity. That the students from the Chemistry Department of West Virginia 
Wesleyan College have jobs the next day after graduation, if they want them. 

8. That we have the best financial advice obtainable through the services of the 
Union Trust Company of Pittsburgh, a conservative, safe trust company. 

9. That today we own more government bonds than the College ever dreamed 
it would have. 

10. That The Methodist Church is giving greater support to the College than 
ever before in its history. 

At this point the financial situation was such that a 12 per cent 
increase in salary was granted, but at the same time the rule granting 
free tuition to faculty children was repealed. 

Dr. Broyles died suddenly on September 29, 1945. Arthur A. School- 
craft was designated acting president, as well as dean of the college. He 
served in this capacity until the election to the office of president of Dr. 
William J. Scarborough on August 19, 1946. 

The following year Dr. Schoolcraft recommended a further increase 
of 1 per cent in the salary scale in order to give the school a competitive 
advantage in securing much needed new personnel. The Board of 
Trustees adopted his recommendation. Dr. Schoolcraft also reported that 



prospects for students following a post World War II slump were "dis- 
concertingly good," and the problem for several years ahead would be 
how to provide faculty and facilities for the anticipated student body. 
The acute housing shortage would be relieved somewhat by the assign- 
ment by the Federal Public Housing Authority of temporary dormitories 
for eighty veterans and twenty family units for married veterans to be 
ready for occupancy by September 1946. Wesley an, he noted, had 
received also $10,000 worth of war surplus property for use in labora- 
tories and shops for only the cost of crating and transportation. 

Dr. William Scarborough came to Wesleyan from Morningside Col- 
lege, Sioux City, Iowa, where he had been dean of the college and 
professor of philosophy and religion since 1943. He was born in Lincoln, 
Nebraska. He received the A.B. degree from Hamline University in 1933, 
and from Boston University he received the M.A. degree in 1935, the 
S.T.B. degree in 1936, and the Ph.D. degree in 1940. During his college 
and university years he held pastorates. From 1939 to 1942 Dr. Scar- 
borough was professor of philosophy and religion and dean of men at 
McKendree College, Lebanon, Illinois. During the year 1942-43 he was 
professor of psychology and religion and dean of the chapel at Cornell 
College, Mt. Vernon, Iowa. He was admitted to membership in the 
Minnesota Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1932, and 
subsequently held membership in the Southern Illinois Conference and 
the Upper Iowa Conference. 

On the day of Dr. Scarborough's election as president in 1946, Mr. 
Anthony McCue announced that at the solicitation of Dr. Broyles, Mrs. 
Annie Merner Pfeiffer of New York had committed herself to a gift of 
$100,000 for a library building subject to two conditions: (1) funds; 
were to be made available when construction of the building commenced, 
(2) at least two other buildings of equal cost were to be constructed at 
the same time. In her will Mrs. Pfeiffer also left a substantial amount 
of money to the Methodist General Board of Education for distribution 
at its discretion. Upon recommendation of Dr. John O. Gross, secretary 
of the board, Wesleyan was given subsequently an additional $50,000 for 
the library fund. 

The bequest of Mrs. Lawson Loar was also finalized in 1946 with 
the provision in her will of $100,000 for the erection of the Loar Me- 
morial Hall of Music and Fine Arts and an additional $150,000 endow- 
ment for the equipment and maintenance of the building. 



In the summer of 1948 it was announced that Mrs. Calvin West, who 
had become a member of the Board of Trustees after her husband's 
death, had provided $100,000 in her will for the erection of a chapel to 
be known as the Calvin A. West Memorial Chapel. 

Mr. L. C. Shingleton of Clarksburg, for many years a member of the 
Board of Trustees of the college, died in April 1948. His will provided 
that the entire residue of his estate, after providing a lifetime income for 
his widow, should become a part of the permanent endowment fund of 
West Virginia Wesleyan College. 

In order to build the two structures required to claim the Pfeiffer 
gift, the Board of Trustees established at the suggestion of Judge Harry 
Shaw of Fairmont, a project called "The Boys' Dormitory Building Fund" 
which would attempt to find one hundred individuals who would 
contribute $1,000 each. During 1945-46 and concluding in 1947, under 
the direction of Dr. Fleming, the project secured $212,000. 

Mr. Clyde O. Law, chairman of the Board of Trustees, proposed in 
1947 that a series of objectives ought to be adopted to be achieved by 
1950, the sixtieth anniversary of the school. These included the upgrad- 
ing of the faculty and the social, intellectual and moral climate at 
Wesleyan; the attraction of intellectually capable and morally able stu- 
dents; the erection of six new buildings and provision for adequate 
equipment; the development of Christian youth leadership with the 
support and cooperation of the church. In short, Wesleyan ought to 
become a unique intellectual and spiritual center which would produce 
wholesome light and leadership for the two hundred thousand Methodist 
constituents in West Virginia. 

Dr. Scarborough, in the same vein, noted that Wesleyan's total assets 
now stood at an all-time high of $1,180,000 including endowment, build- 
ing fund and plant assets. He suggested serious consideration of a program 
including the erection of the proposed buildings, the increase of the 
college assets to at least two million dollars, a total student body of 850 
and an annual operating budget of $500,000. 

The chairman of the Building Committee of the Board of Trustees, 
Mr. Clinton F. Israel of Clarksburg, reported that the committee was 
of the opinion that the time had arrived for definite action on the location 
of new buildings on campus. According to present estimates it would 
require $700,000 to erect one wing of a men's dormitory, the library, 
the hall of music and fine arts, and a new heating plant. 



Mr. Israel outlined the extensive steps taken in the development of 
the building program from 1945-47, including consultation with the 
architectural firm of Poundstone, Ayers and Godwin of Atlanta, Georgia; 
landscape architects Frank Harris, formerly landscape supervisor of the 
Greenbrier Hotel, now employed by Michael Benedum as supervisor of 
the Bridgeport Cemetery; and H. Boyer Marx, for a number of years 
Senior Site Planning Architect of the United States Housing Authority. 

The Board of Trustees authorized adoption of the sites recommended 
for the men's dormitory, the library, the hall of music and fine arts, a 
maintenance building, and the production of draft drawings for two 
wings of the men's dormitory. These buildings are now located on the 
approximate sites recommended. However, objection was raised to loca- 
tion of the chapel between Agnes Howard Hall and the Administration 
Building. Bishop James Straughn counselled against placing the chapel 
"off on one side." It ought to be located at the dominant spot on the 
campus where it would symbolize the fact that Wesleyan is a Christian 
College and that everything about the institution is grouped around the 
centrality of the Christian faith. The chapel should be at the "very 
heart and center of the campus." 

The Policy Commission of the board recommended a campaign to 
raise the money needed to qualify for the Pfeiffer gift, and requested the 
executors of the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Estate to transfer the money pro- 
vided for the erection of the Ubrary to the General Board of Education 
in Nashville to be held in trust until the college could meet the conditions 
of the grant. 

Impetus was given to the program of expansion by a resolution of 
the annual conference in September 1947, requesting the president and 
Board of Trustees of the college to investigate the possibility of using the 
college and its facilities as the site for sessions of the conference. A com- 
mittee appointed to plan the sixtieth anniversary of the college explained 
the proposition. Recognizing that the dormitory space of the college would 
accommodate two hundred individuals, and assuming that the college 
shortly would have in hand money for the erection of one unit of the 
men's dormitory, the committee noted that before the college could 
entertain the annual conference several needs must be met: (1) an 
auditorium would have to be found with a seating capacity of twelve 
hundred, (2) a second unit of the boys' dormitory and a new women's 
dormitory would need to be erected, (3) the time of the annual confer- 



ence and the sessions of the school would have to be integrated, (4) 
equipment and provisions for feeding the conference would have to be 
obtained. Acting on the study of the committee the Board of Trustees 
adopted a resolution petiUoning the annual conference to adopt as a 
quadrennial project the raising of $750,000 to finance the needed expan- 
sion of the college and provide the facilities necessary to make the insU- 
tution a permanent home for the annual conference. The college would 
attempt to raise another $1,250,000 from other sources for a total of 
$2,000,000. The program would be known as the West Virginia Wes- 
leyan Capital Fund Campaign, would be the first item of concern for the 
quadrennium, and would be a ten-year venture. 

At its annual meeting, the West Virginia Annual Conference took 
action which permitted the college to proceed with the campaign. It did 
not authorize a campaign of quota solicitation among the churches but 
urged ministers and congregations to give the effort their active support. 
It further recommended that the conference give first consideration to 
the college as soon as it seemed advisable to conduct a new fund-raising 

Pursuant to die action of the annual conference the Board of Trustees 
authorized the immediate inauguration and vigorous prosecution of an 
emergency Capital Funds Campaign to raise at least $500,000 necessary 
to meet the requirements of the Annie Merner Pfeiffer bequest. Additional 
urgency was provided by the fact that building costs were rising and 
steadily pushing upward the amount necessary to erect the library and 
the two other buildings of equal cost required by the Pfeiffer gift. In the 
midst of this planning the trustees proceeded with the erection of the 
maintenance building. 

The firm of A. Ivan Pelter and Associates of Ludington, Michigan, 
was engaged to conduct the Capital Funds Campaign. In the spring of 
1949, Mr. Pelter reported that he had established headquarters on the 
second floor of the gymnasium, that he anticipated a prospect list of 
25,000 to 30,000 persons, and that it would require six men working 
forty weeks to visit 24,000 prospects. 

In view of the urging of Mr. Pelter that the beginning of construction 
would aid the campaign and of similar prodding by Garfield Merner, 
one of the executors of the Pfeiffer Estate, President Scarborough early 
in 1949 sought the advice of Dr. John O. Gross, executive secretary of 
the General Board of Education of The Methodist Church, trustee of the 



PfeifFer bequest. It was the opinion of Dr. Gross that if two dormitories 
were erected costing $150,000 each, they would meet the condition of 
Mrs. PfeifTer's gift. However, the money for the library would not be 
available until the buildings were erected and funds raised to match the 
Pfeiffer money. 

Within a year the Pelter organization reported that the Capital Funds 
Campaign was nearing completion. Their canvassers had made 30,000 
calls and had secured 8,635 pledges. Results of the campaign were promis- 
ing enough that Dr. Scarborough was able to report that the annual 
conference Board of Education had prepared a resolution to be presented 
to the annual conference authorizing the college to proceed with its build- 
ing program, to borrow the money necessary to proceed and to pledge 
such part of the college property as would be required for security. Inas- 
much as enough money had been raised for only one men's dormitory 
it was decided to erect one unit for men and the Loar Hall of Music and 
Fine Arts. In addition, the trustees authorized President Scarborough to 
negotiate with the officials in charge of the Federal Housing Act for funds 
to build a second unit of the men's dormitory. With the needed funds 
in sight, contracts were signed with the A. Farnell Blair Company, Inc., 
in the amount of $670,949.49 for the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library, 
the L. L. Loar Hall of Music and Fine Arts, and the first unit of the 
men's dormitory which was subsequently named Fleming Hall. The Blair 
Company was unable to fulfill the terms of the contract and the con- 
struction was completed by the Byrum Construction Company of Wheel- 
ing, West Virginia. All three buildings were put into use between 
September 1952, and May 1953. Before these buildings were completed 
the Board of Trustees reaffirmed the original total Capital Funds goal of 
$2,000,000 and mapped out a future building goal including the second 
unit of the men's dormitory, the Calvin A. West Chapel, and a student 
center building. 

Mr. James I. Ling was secured in 1950 as assistant to the president 
to complete the Capital Funds Campaign. Eventually the fund reached 
approximately $850,000 including the amount raised by "The Boys' 
Dormitory Building Fund" under the guidance of Dr. Fleming. Efforts 
to add to the fund or to collect on subscriptions ceased about June 1956. 

In the planning stages of the library it was felt that some memorial 
should be placed there which would commemorate the material and 
spiritual union of the three branches of Methodism and which would be 



at the same time a testimony of love and appreciation for Bishop James 
Straughn of the Pittsburgh Area who had given strength, leadership and 
affection to the cause of West Virginia Wesleyan College. A bronze 
memorial plaque was struck from the picture of Bishops James H. 
Straughn, John M. Moore and Edwin Holt Hughes taken at the final 
session of the General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
South held at Birmingham, Alabama, at which the Plan of Union for 
the uniting of the three branches of the Methodist Church was ratified. 
Mr. Julian H. Harris of Atlanta, Georgia, executed the work at a cost 
of $8,000 and the Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation donated 
the funds for it. The plaque and the following inscription prepared by 
Bishop Straughn were placed in the first floor lobby of the library in 

The Methodist Church 

This plaque commemorates the formation of the Methodist Church. The 
three Chairmen, representing their churches, standing with interlocking 
hands are a symbol of the union which was consummated at the Uniting 
Conference, Kansas City, Missouri, 1939, with the plan of Union as the 
constitution of the new Church and with the adoption of a Book of Disci- 

This union of nearly 8,000,000 members healed the wounds of division of 
more than a hundred years within the Methodist family and affirmed that 
Methodists indeed are one people. 

May God be praised. 

In 1953 Mr. Clyde O. Law, chairman of the Board of Trustees, pre- 
sented to the college the portraits of John Wesley and Francis Asbury 
which hang in the lobby of the Ubrary. In 1954 the board authorized 
Mr. Law to develop a project known as "Portraits of the Presidents." In 
the succeeding years the project, financed largely through contributions 
solicited by Mr. Law, resulted in the collection of portraits of all the 
presidents and deans of Wesleyan. To this collection have been added 
the portraits of a number of members of the faculty whose names have 
been synonymous with Wesleyan over the last quarter of a century — Dr. 
Ralph Brown, Dr. Lewis Chrisman, Dr. Nicholas Hyma, and Mr. "Cebe" 
Ross. The entire collection hangs in the library. 

With the building program completed it was ascertained that seating, 
eating and sleeping facilities were adequate to entertain the West Virginia 



Annual Conference of The Methodist Church. Supported by a resolution 
of the Chamber of Commerce of Buckhannon, an invitation was extended 
to the conference to meet at the college in 1953. Under the leadership of 
Mr. Ling the districts of the annual conference contributed $19,534.62 
to a project known as "Chairs for Atkinson Chapel." This amount paid 
for new chairs and a new floor for the chapel. Since 1953 the conference 
has met annually at Wesleyan. 

The mopping-up operations of the recent building program were 
scarcely completed when Dr. Scarborough presented to the Board of 
Trustees in March 1954, a recommendation for the creation of a "Special 
Sub-Committee on Policy and Planning" which would take into account 
the fact that Wesleyan would celebrate its 75th anniversary in 1965 and 
would be responsible for planning a long-range development program 
with this date in mind. The board adopted this resolution and another 
which authorized the purchase of the "Tannery Property." The property 
which lay east of the campus to the Buckhannon River was purchased 
for $14,000 with $5,000 provided by the Claude Worthington Benedum 
Foundation and other gifts. The property was designated "The Benedum 
Field" and was set aside for expanded outdoor athletic facilities. 

The Policy and Planning Committee included J. Roy Price, Clyde 
O. Law, President Scarborough, A. G. Shannon, and G. J. Stallings. 
The committee produced a ten-year program to be achieved, so far as 
possible, by 1965. Under the heading of Student Body and Faculty, the 
program proposed that the student body be increased to 900, a number 
arrived at in the light of current long-range predictions of future college 
enrollment, and that the faculty be augmented as needed on the basis of 
an ultimate student-faculty ratio of twenty to one. 

In the categorizing of immediate needs the program recommended 
that a new science building be erected as soon as it could be financed to 
provide for the Departments of Chemistry and Physics, and that housing 
for men be expanded to provide for an additional one hundred fifty 
students with lounge facilities and with dining facilities in the dormitory 
or elsewhere on campus. 

Other needs suggested by the program included a new residence for 
women; the erection of the West Chapel; a new student center; a field 
house; equipment for the new buildings; the renovation of the Lynch- 
Raine Administration Building, the Haymond Science Hall and possibly 
the Old Music Hall; the landscaping of the campus; and an increase of 



the endowment to at least $2,500,000. The program also called for the 
inauguration of a "West Virginia Wesleyan Diamond Jubilee" campaign 
to raise the funds needed for the contemplated expansion. 

The Board of Trustees adopted the program. At the same time it 
authorized application for a loan to the HHFA for the second men's 
residence. The loan was approved March 1, 1955. A year later the 
president was authorized to apply to HHFA for a loan of $600,000 for 
a residence hall for women. The men's dormitory was completed in 1958 
at a cost of $593,000 and was named McCuskey Hall. 

At the spring meeting of the Board of Trustees in 1956, Dr. Scar- 
borough announced that Wesleyan would receive $97,900 from the Ford 
Foundation grant to hospitals, privately supported colleges and medical 
schools, the income from the grant to be used over a period of at least 
ten years to raise faculty salaries. Dr. Scarborough held that Wesleyan 
had a moral obligation to abide by the desire of the foundation that the 
gift would be used as a challenge to raise matching funds. Wesleyan 
ought to put a like amount in its endowment fund to underwrite faculty 
salaries. At the same time he noted that Wesleyan was one of fifty colleges 
selected by the Union Carbide Educational Foundation to participate in 
its scholarship program to the extent of four annual stipends of $500 to 
be awarded students planning careers in business, science or teaching. A 
like amount would be placed in the general budget of the college and the 
scholarship advisor would receive a stipend of $200. 

Financial support of the college by the West Virginia Annual Confer- 
ence increased pursuant to the action of the General Conference of 1952 
which adopted a program of support for higher education based upon a 
program of 50 cents per member per year for schools and colleges and 
15 cents per year for the Wesley Foundation. As of 1955 Dr. Scarborough 
reported that the annual conference was contributing 20 cents per mem- 
ber to the current budget and had been giving 37 cents per member over 
the past six years to the Capital Funds Program. 

In terms of property expansion, the improvement of the school's 
financial posture, the advancement of its standing among the standard 
accrediting agencies, and the relationship of the school to the church, 
the years 1940-56 stand out as the most productive and creative era in 
the history of Wesleyan to that point. In the course of these developments 
other phases of the life and work at the school proceeded at a steady 



In 1942 the Nucleus Club, an honorary biology society, constructed 
a ten- by sixteen-foot greenhouse at the rear of the Science Hall. The 
money was raised by a student, Harold Almond, now a physician in 
Buckhannon, West Virginia, and the construction was supervised by 
Walter Kohlheim, now a surgeon in Parkersburg, West Virginia. Con- 
struction was done by students. The greenhouse was the first new structure 
erected on campus since the expansion of Agnes Howard Hall in 1928. 

The Home Economics Cottage was dedicated November 19, 1942. 
This two-story brick cottage on Barbour Street was designed to afford 
opportunity for practice in home management. It was subsequently 
named for Miss Edna Jenkins, the donor. 

In 1943 Mr. Harvey Harmer, a trustee of Wesleyan and president of 
the West Virginia Methodist Historical Society, announced that the 
annual conference had chosen Wesleyan as the repository for its official 
records. Upon completion of the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library one 
room on the main floor was named the Methodist Room and a library of 
the records of the society was established therein. The District Superin- 
tendent's report to the annual conference in 1943 noted with approval 
that Wesleyan had just established a Department of Religious Education 
for the purpose of training capable church secretaries, directors of re- 
ligious education and to broaden further the training of pre-ministerial 

The impact of World War II was brought dramatically to the campus 
when early in March 1943, there arrived a contingent of officers and 
trainees subsequently organized as the 49th College Training Detach- 
ment (Aircrew). Students in Agnes Howard Hall were vacated and 
moved to living quarters in town in order to provide living space and 
staff offices for the detachment. Classrooms were provided using available 
space in the music hall, the gymnasium and by increased use of other 
facilities. The trainees were fed in a basement hall in the gymnasium. The 
college obtained sole use of the flying field on Brushy Fork for the train- 
ing of the detachment. In addition to the men being trained for combat 
service, the college also maintained a program for training aides to 
draftsmen, engineers and chemists at Wright Field, Dayton, Ohio. A 
short, intensive course was provided for cadet nurses in training at St. 
Mary's Hospital in Clarksburg. The training of aircrew cadets ended 
June 1944, the program for Wright Field aides was closed at the end of 
the war, the courses for cadet nurses were gi\'en during the summer terms 



of 1944 and 1945. Seven hundred seventy-four aircrew cadets, four 
hundred eighty-seven aides, and seventy-eight cadet nurses were registered 
in these programs. The courses offered were regular college courses 
modified according to the suggestions of military educational directors in 
order to meet the needs of the program. On February 29, 1946, in 
cooperation with the Air Technical Command Service of the United 
States Air Force, Wesleyan inaugurated a twelve-month course of train- 
ing on the college level for veterans interested in placement as engineer- 
ing aides in the laboratories at Wright Field. The program was designed 
to train a minimum of one hundred fifty men. 

In 1945 Dean Schoolcraft reported the expansion and diversification 
of offerings in the field of religious education, the strengthening of offer- 
ings in Home Economics to meet the standards of the American Dietetics 
Association, and in the Department of Music to conform to the standards 
of the National Association of Schools of Music. During the year the 
American Council on Education, Commission on Teacher Education, 
established at Wesleyan the first and only National Teacher's Examina- 
tion Center in West Virginia. 

The Dorothy Lee Scholarship Fund for overseas students was inau- 
gurated during the school year 1945-46. The immediate need for the 
fund was the financing of the education of a Chinese girl at Wesleyan, 
Juha B. Cheng, a daughter of Dr. James Cheng of Shanghai and his 
wife Dorothy Lee who graduated from Wesleyan in the class of 1927. 
The ultimate objective of the fund was the creation of a permanent 
organization to render future assistance to other overseas students attend- 
ing Wesleyan. While many persons have contributed to the fund the 
benefactions of Miss Edna Jenkins and the efforts of Dr. Roy McCuskey, 
prime mover in the establishment of the fund, have contributed materially 
to the continuing success of the venture. Dr. McCuskey has provided 
that any funds realized from the sale of his autobiography, All Things 
Work Together for Good to Them that Love God, beyond the cost of 
its publication, are to be placed in the Dorothy Lee Scholarship Fund. 

In 1947 a one-story frame structure known as the Student Union 
was erected between the gymnasium and Loar Hall by the Federal Works 
Administration. The building, known as the Student Center of Wesleyan 
or SCOW, provided a lounge, fountain service, some offices, a health 
center, book store, recreation room and a study hall. 

A gift in 1947 of $17,500 from the General Board of Education of the 



Rockefeller Foundation provided partial salary for a sociologist for three 
years, funds for a library collection in the social sciences, a collection for 
the general library and equipment for the library. At the same time the 
Board of Missions and Church Extension of The Methodist Church an- 
nounced annual support for the employment of a full-time person to 
work in the area of the rural church. 

In 1948 a radio station for the broadcasting of student and faculty 
programs was put in operation on the fourth floor of Raymond Hall. 
The facility was operated in connection with a radio station at Weston 
owned and operated by an alumnus of the college. 

Acting on a recommendation presented at the initiative of the Admin- 
istration Committee the Board of Trustees voted March 3, 1949, to admit 
to West Virginia Wesleyan College qualified Negroes as regular students 
pursuing courses leading to degrees. A number of trustees objected to the 
action on the grounds that it was unnecessary inasmuch as nothing in 
the charter, by-laws or traditions of the school barred any member of any 
race from Wesleyan who met the moral and educational requirements 
for admission. In the light of this fact the action of the board might cause 
embarrassment to members of a group thus particularized. Further, it 
was objected that the action had been taken without any preliminary 
study or consideration, and, therefore, the timing of the action and its 
legality was questioned. It was suggested also that the raising of the issue 
might jeopardize the position of the school among constituents in and 
out of the church who still held to the traditional attitude on the Negro 
question. A motion to rescind the decision of the board and to advise 
the director of admissions that race was no barrier to admission or gradua- 
tion from West Virginia Wesleyan College was defeated, and the original 
action stood. 

During the years 1951-52, Wesleyan, along with many schools 
throughout the country, dropped football as an intercollegiate sport be- 
cause of the lack of manpower arising out of the Korean conflict, the 
high cost of fielding a team, and a lack of scholarships for athletes. During 
this period coach Cebe Ross served as alumni secretary and director of 
admissions. Football was resumed in the fall of 1953. 

An article in Science, May 11, 1951, entitled "The Origins of Ameri- 
can Scientists" and a similar article in Scientific American, July 1951, 
entitled "The Origin of United States' Scientists" showed that Wesleyan 
stood in thirty-seventh place among the top fifty colleges in America in 



the production of scientists. Wesleyan was the only institution in West 
Virginia thus recognized and one of a few schools in the South. Credit 
for this achievement was given largely to Dr. Nicholas Hyma. The 
September-October 1951, issue of Christian Education, a journal pub- 
Ushed by The Methodist Church, listed Wesleyan as the number-one 
school in the nation in terms of Methodist pre-theological students. 

At a cost of approximately $60,000 Agnes Howard Hall underwent 
extensive renovation in 1952. A new electrical system and fixtures were 
installed, walls were repainted, new plumbing was installed in the original 
wing, and all the old furniture and draperies were replaced. 

In 1952 Wesleyan participated in the formation of the West Virginia 
Foundation of Independent Colleges. The foundation was incorporated 
in 1954. The objectives of the foundation were to interpret to the public 
the purposes, functions and needs of the member schools; to solicit sup- 
port from business and industry operating in West Virginia and from 
interested individuals and organizations; to make a united approach to 
foundations or other groups interested in regional studies and area 
projects which seemed Ukely to make a contribution to the whole Ameri- 
can scene ; and to distribute funds received among the member institutions. 

Mr. Ling was elected vice-president of Wesleyan in 1953, a position 
which he filled until his retirement in 1962. 

In 1953 the name of the administration building was officially desig- 
nated the Lynch-Raine Administration Building in honor of Judge 
Charles W. Lynch of Clarksburg, West Virginia, and the Honorable John 
Raine of Rainelle, West Virginia, both of whom had been chairmen of 
the Board of Trustees and benefactors of Wesleyan. 

A CounselUng Program long urged by the North Central Association 
was set up in 1954 with Dr. Florence Schaper as chairman, Mr. John 
D. Shaver as Dean of Men and Miss Nellie Wilson as Dean of Women. 
Mr. Sidney Davis was named College Chaplain. Dr. Scarborough re- 
ported the recent inauguration of programs in nursing, engineering and 
forestry as cooperative ventures with other colleges and universities. 

Dean Schoolcraft announced in 1955 that for the first time since 
Wesleyan introduced its testing program Wesleyan freshmen had reached 
the national average on entrance examinations. 

In 1956 Wesleyan was selected as the training center in the Northeast 
Jurisdiction for Methodist Youth Caravans; Mr. Clyde O. Law presided 
for the last time as chairman of the Board of Trustees after serving on 



the board for thirty-seven years and was succeeded as chairman by Mr. 
E. Ray Jones of Oakland, Maryland; Dr. Scarborough resigned as presi- 
dent on August 14, 1956, and Dean Schoolcraft was designated acting 
president. With characteristic humor Dr. Schoolcraft announced that his 
one ambition was to serve the shortest term of any acting president. 



The years 1956 to the present can be characterized by the term expan- 
sion — expansion of student body and faculty, educational opportunities, 
physical plant, budget and long-range plans. Some facets of the expansion 
represent the meeting of needs long deferred. Other aspects of the expan- 
sion are part of the dream of a future Wesleyan equipped to meet the 
growing demand for education on the college level. 

Dr. Stanley H. Martin came to the presidency of Wesleyan during 
the latter months of the 1956-57 academic year. Dr. Martin was born 
August 25, 1912, at Edina, Missouri. He attended high school in Quincy, 
Illinois, and in 1936 graduated from Quincy College with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. From Boston University he received the degrees of 
Bachelor of Sacred Theology and the Master of Arts in 1939, and the 
degree of Doctor of Philosophy in 1954. Adrian College conferred on 
Dr. Martin the honorary degree of Doctor of Divinity in 1954. 

Dr. Martin was licensed to preach by the Methodist Episcopal Church 
in 1929, ordained Deacon in 1938 and Elder in 1941. He was a member 
in full connection with the New England Conference from 1950 to 1957. 
He has been a member of the West Virginia Conference since 1957. 

From the beginning. Dr. Martin's career has been involved closely 
with the educational enterprise. He served as assistant pastor and minister 
to students at the University of Iowa, Iowa City, in 1941 and 1942; 
chaplain and professor of psychology at Simpson College, Indianola, 
Iowa, from 1942 to 1944; professor of religious education in the School 
of Theology and University Chaplain at Boston University, 1944-50. 
He served from 1950 to 1957 as Executive Secretary of the Departments 
of Student Loans, Scholarship and Personnel of the General Board of 
Education of The Methodist Church, Nashville, Tennessee. 

In an early report to the Board of Trustees, Dr. Martin suggested 
three basic concerns which needed attention. These included the need 
to clarify the objectives of the college, the need for a comprehensive study 
and appraisal of the total curriculum of the college, and the need to 
develop a master plan for the campus. 



The basic aim of Wesleyan to produce competent, cultured, Christian 
persons was clear. However, some dynamic, unifying force which would 
help implement this aim was badly needed. Such a force, he suggested, 
should involve an approach to life that is comprehensive yet devoid of 
dogmatism, contemporary yet historically sound. How to project such a 
philosophy of education should be a major concern of the college com- 

With regard to the curriculum, special attention should be given to 
essential courses, improved methods of teaching, the enrichment of offer- 
ings, the utilization of national leadership in order to avoid narrowness 
and sectionalism, experimentation in new ways of communication, re- 
search, and experimentation in every phase of the academic program. 

Finally, a program of building and finance to house and undergird the 
total effort of the college was imperative. The program should include a 
master plan for the campus and a development office to implement the 
plan. Among facilities urgently needed Dr. Martin listed a new science 
building, a student center, a chapel, and apartments for married students. 

Steps were taken during 1957 and 1958 to further define and imple- 
ment these needs. These included a survey of the total program of the 
college, and the development in detail by a Long Range Planning Com- 
mittee of projects to be completed through 1965. The projects reflected in 
large part the suggestions advanced by the report of the Policy and 
Planning Committee of the previous administration. 

The survey of the program of the college was authorized by the 
University Senate of The Methodist Church at the request of President 
Martin and the Board of Trustees. Dr. John O. Gross, General Secretary 
of the Division of Educational Institutions of the Board of Education of 
The Methodist Church, appointed the committee: Richard N. Bender, 
Secretary of the Division of Educational Institutions of the Board of 
Education of The Methodist Church; Everett L. Walker, Associate 
Director; Myron F. Wicke, Director of the Section of Secondary and 
Higher Education of the Board of Education of The Methodist Church; 
Emil Leffler, Dean of Albion College; and John Pepin, Treasurer of 
Drew University. The report of the committee was received by Wesleyan 
in May 1958. 

With regard to the faculty, the survey noted a fine spirit of loyalty 
to the college. The number of earned doctorates and Master of Arts 
degrees held by the thirty-five members of the teaching staff compared 



favorably with national averages and similar institutions. Faculty salaries 
constituted a major problem. While comparing favorably with other 
institutions in West Virginia, the Wesleyan median salary was still lower 
than most institutions outside the state. However, the retirement plan and 
other fringe benefits placed Wesleyan in the forefront of comparable 

Among the problems involving the program of instruction which re- 
quired attention, the survey listed the need for eliminating one-man 
departments; reducing the number of courses offered; adjusting the size 
of classes, including those which were too large and those which were 
too small; reducing the instructional load and number of hours taught 
by the individual professor. The failure to include a foreign language 
within the range of possible use in the core curriculum was noted as a 
singular weakness. More needed to be done to encourage faculty research 
and writing. Faculty housing or assistance by the college to faculty in 
purchasing homes was noted as a foreseeable necessity. 

The need for a study of the present use and future expansion of the 
library was suggested by the survey as an immediate concern. Though 
comparatively new, the library was already inadequate in terms of seating 
capacity, work space and other facilities. The circulation of books com- 
pared favorably with other institutions. Moderate increases in library 
expenditures were needed. 

Wesleyan's role as a Christian liberal arts college was examined 
thoroughly by the Survey Committee, and a number of recommendations 
were made to strengthen the religious emphasis. Faculty should be en- 
couraged to read materials in the field of religion in higher education, 
eminent scholars in the field should be brought to the campus, and faculty 
members should be encouraged and assisted to attend conferences center- 
ing on the Faculty Christian Movement. These strategies should aim at 
faculty involvement in informal and penetradng discussion of the Chris- 
tian goals of the insdtution. 

Wesleyan also needed a meaningful program for helping students to 
relate the insights of religion and philosophy to their total religious 
experience and to the practical problems of contemporary life. 

The committee further recommended the formation of a religious 
life council representing the entire college community. The primary 
function of the committee would be to develop a basic philosophy for 
religious life activities at Wesleyan and to implement this philosophy by 



long-range planning. The council would correlate all religious activities 
on campus. 

While commenting favorably on the student personnel program, the 
survey recommended the consolidation and direction of the work in a 
centralized office with one administrator responsible for the total program. 
The report also advised the continuation of the current admissions 
policy, the establishment of a testing center with provisions for assisting 
faculty in making a maximum use of test scores, the improvement of the 
health center and the enlargement of infirmary space, and the develop- 
ment of the placement service in a central office with credentials for 
each student on file. 

The long-range plans for the development of the campus were lauded 
by the survey report. It noted that a rule of thumb used by authorities on 
educational finances suggested that for every dollar invested in new 
plant facilities, the equivalent of the income from another dollar is 
needed to maintain the facility properly. However, it mentioned that 
Wesleyan's needs were so pressing that it would have to follow a less 
conservative policy with faith that the church and friends of the college 
would provide funds for maintenance. 

With regard to plant expansion, the committee believed that top 
priority should be given to a new science building, a student union 
building, and a chapel. The percentage of students housed on campus 
should be raised, and this would necessitate new residence halls. 

Additional endowment was listed as a must in order to offset the 
considerable reliance of the college on tuition and fees to meet its budge- 
tary needs. 

A major need, according to the survey, was for a development office 
under strong leadership to plan and carry out a systematic program of 
public relations and fund raising. The office should correlate all work in 
public relations, fund raising, publicity, alumni relations, and publica- 

Surveys and committee reports generally are read and then filed away 
for future reference. But, in this instance, the report of the survey com- 
mittee has been taken seriously, and in the intervening years a considered 
effort has been made to implement the recommendations. 

Early in 1959 the college chaplain, Mr. Sidney Davis, took the first 
steps toward organizing the recommended Religious Life Council. With 
the assistance of faculty and students, these efforts were consummated the 



following academic year with the organization of the Religious Life 
Council composed of representatives of the Methodist Student Movement, 
Kappa Phi, Sigma Theta Epsilon, the chaplains of all fraternities and 
sororities, and representatives of the faculty. Committees of the Council 
include the Special Religious Activities Committee, the Christian Em- 
phasis Week Committee, the Chapel Committee and the Vespers 

The Faculty Christian Fellowship was introduced to the campus in 
the fall of 1959. The fellowship, an informal and unstructured group 
of professors and administrative officers, meets on occasion for discussion 
of the ramifications of Christian higher education. This effort received 
its initial impetus at the opening faculty retreat in 1959 during which a 
day was spent discussing Dr. Elton Trueblood's book The Idea of a 
College. Since that time the fellowship has met and engaged in conversa- 
tion with a number of distinguished Christian scholars including Dr. Elton 
Trueblood, Dr. J. B. Rhine, Dr. Laurence Lacour, Dr. Nels F. S. Ferre, 
Dr. Harold Schilling, Dr. Everett Tilson, Dr. Keith Irwin, and others. 

During the summer of 1959 a Student Personnel Center was estab- 
lished in the area formerly occupied by the dining room of Agnes Howard 
Hall at a cost of $3,991.53. The center houses the offices of the dean of 
students, the dean of men, director of student aid and placement, 
the dean of women, the head counselor, and the secretarial office provid- 
ing a secretarial pool and accumulative student records. In addition, the 
center provides a placement service and a vocations library. The dean 
of students was given responsibility for the direction of all student 
personnel activities, the health center, the counselling service, student 
housing, and all extra-curricular activities. The SCOW (Student Center 
of Wesleyan) which had been operated under the independent control 
of a student governing board was placed under this office also. 

The health center in Agnes Howard Hall was also expanded and 
refurnished. In 1964 the former residence of the president at 68 College 
Avenue was converted to a health center and infirmary. Dr. Harold 
Almond was employed to work with Dr. Robert Chamberlain, the college 
physician. Both men practice in Buckhannon and are graduates of 

Under the leadership of President Martin the program outlined for 
long-range development became a continuing matter of study. The need 
for land for campus expansion led to the creation in 1957 of a committee 



of the Board of Trustees with authority to purchase property and land 
adjacent to the campus as it became available, provided funds were at 
hand for such purchase or the rental value of the property would amortize 
the purchase. The ultimate objective was the acquisition of all the land 
adjacent to the campus extending from Camden Avenue to the Buck- 
hannon River. During the past several years the college has been engaged 
in serious negotiation with the Cumberland and Allegheny Gas Company 
for the purchase of its shops on Camden Avenue for use as a maintenance 

In 1958 a plan for long-range development totaling $10,092,000 to 
be achieved by 1965 was presented to the Board of Trustees. Eventually, 
a plan in depth was adopted which included needed campus expansion, 
new buildings, the renovation and remodelling of existing facilities, addi- 
tional endowment for the enlarged plant, endowment for ten faculty 
chairs, endowment for scholarships, a central heating plant, parking 
facilities, athletic facilities, and landscaping of the campus. These projects, 
plus furnishings, added up to a long-range plan of development totaling 

At the same time, the architectural firm of Larson and Larson of 
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, was employed by the college. The 
following spring, the firm exhibited a general plan of campus expansion 
and development based on the work of the Long Range Planning Com- 
mittee. The Board of Trustees approved the plan with the provision that 
each project would be subject to specific approval when proposed and 
as funds became available. In 1962 a moveable scale model of the pro- 
jected campus, housed in a plastic bubble, was constructed by Larson 
and Larson who also donated a large portion of the cost of $8,000. 

In view of the long-felt need for a new chapel, upon recommendation 
of President Martin, an appeal was made to the West Virginia Annual 
Conference to include the raising of funds for a chapel and reUgion 
center in its quadrennial program for 1960-64. The annual conference 
included the sum of $1,000,000 for this purpose in the Faith in Action 
program for the quadrennium. Also in 1960 the West Virginia Annual 
Conference approved a Capital Funds Campaign of $2,500,000 for the 
student center, the science building and other needed facilities. The 
president was given authority by the Board of Trustees to appoint a 
special committee to help raise money for the gymnasium. 

Early in 1959 initial steps were taken toward establishing a develop- 



ment office. In view of the fact that the survey report had urged the 
college to seek professional help in this enterprise, the American City 
Bureau was employed for one year to assist in establishing the fund 
raising activities of the school on a professional basis. 

In the fall of 1960 President Martin announced that Mr. Leonard 
Bucklin had been employed as vice-president of the college to succeed 
Mr. James Ling who retired in July. Mr. Bucklin, with the help of Mr. 
Ling who continued to work on a part-time basis in the area of wills and 
estates, assumed responsibility for the establishment and direction of the 
development office. In addition, Mr. Bucklin was given administrative 
responsibility for the Audio- Visual Department and the weekly radio pro- 
gram; the Public Information Office which handled newspaper, radio 
and television releases; the Alumni Office and the Publications Office. 
Much of Mr. BuckUn's effort was channeled into preparation for the 
direction of the Diamond Jubilee Campaign, the initial capital funds 
phase of the Long Range Development Plan. In 1964 Dr. Robert B. 
Nemeschy succeeded Mr. Bucklin as vice-president. 

Dr. J. Roy Price, a trustee recendy retired from the Union Carbide 
Company, was employed in 1962 as a part-time representative of the 
college to contact foundations, corporations, friends and alumni of Wes- 
leyan on the East Coast. In 1964 Mr. A. T. Artzberger was employed 
also on a part-time basis to cultivate the field in West Virginia and 
Western Pennsylvania. 

The plans and timetable for the campaign for capital funds, to be 
known as the Diamond Jubilee Campaign, called for the effort to begin 
January 1, 1962. By October of that year solicitations had been conducted 
among the college personnel and in the cities of Buckhannon, Clarksburg, 
Weston, Charleston, Parkersburg, Morgantown, and Wheeling in the 
state of West Virginia. By May 1963, the state of West Virginia, which 
had been divided into thirteen areas, had been solicited. Outside the 
state solicitations were conducted in the following areas: Baltimore- 
Washington, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Massachusetts, New York- 
New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania-Philadelphia, Pennsylvania- Pittsburgh, 
and Cumberland, Maryland. 

Mr. Bucklin reported limited success in the campadgn and noted the 
need for a substantial challenge gift. A committee of the Board of Trus- 
tees in reviewing the progress of the campaign identified a number of 
factors militating against the project including difficulty encountered in 



securing solicitors, and a disappointing response among alumni and many 
constituents. However, the committee noted, the campaign had produced 
some good results. The literature printed for the effort had been outstand- 
ing and had done much to create a new and finer image of Wesleyan. 
The organizational structure of the campaign had been of high caliber. 
The work of Dr. Roy Price in contacting foundations and corporations 
was judged to hold productive promise for the future. Results of the 
campaign to date were found to be encouraging; $425,000 had been 
pledged. Contacts had been made which would produce results in the 

In retrospect, this initial phase of the Diamond Jubilee Campaign 
has been adjudged as having provided a valuable and needed interpreta- 
tion of what Wesleyan has been as well as a projection of what Wesleyan 
hopes to be. 

In the midst of these developments the expansion of the physical plant 
proceeded with the erection of three dormitories and a student center. 
The first dormitory for women to be erected since the building of Agnes 
Howard Hall was completed and occupied in the fall of 1959. The hall 
was erected by the John I. Vandergrift Company at a cost of $712,000, 
and $35,000 for the furnishings. The dormitory was originally named 
the Edna Jenkins Hall, but this was subsequently changed to Jenkins 
Hall at the request of Miss Jenkins. The dining hall was named the 
Benedum Dining Hall in honor of Michael L. Benedum and Dr. Paul 
B. Benedum. The lounge was named for Miss Jessie B. Trotter in honor 
of Miss Trotter who taught Latin and mathematics in the seminary and 
college from 1896 to 1912. 

The third residence hall for men was completed in 1962 by G. H. 
Jimison and Sons of Huntington, West Virginia at a cost of $839,373 for 
the building and $38,000 for the furnishings. The hall was named for 
Dr. Carl G. Doney, president of Wesleyan from 1907 to 1915. 

A third residence hall for women was completed during the summer 
of 1963 on the corner of Meade and Camden Avenue. The hall, which 
has not been named, houses two hundred women and contains four 
chapter rooms provided for sororities on a rental basis. The residence was 
erected by the Fogleman Construction Company at a cost of $1,032,703. 
The furnishings cost $39,753. Additions to the dining rooms of Jenkins 
Hall and McCuskey Hall were completed in 1964 at a cost of $108,785, 



and the corridor walls and ceilings of McCuskey Hall were renovated at 
a cost of $95,920. 

The long-standing need for a student center was brought into the 
realm of reality with a gift of $300,000 in 1960 by the Claude Worthing- 
ton Benedum Foundation. The balance of the $1,150,000 for financing 
the building came from a self-liquidating HHFA loan which is being 
repaid with a student center fee. An additional gift from the Benedum 
Foundation of $100,000 in 1962 made possible the furnishing of the 
center. In 1964 the Foundation provided another $45,000 for air-condi- 
tioning and landscaping. The center was named the Benedum Campus 
Community Center. FaciHties in the center include a swimming pool, 
post office, coffee shop, book store, radio studios, student organization 
offices, music listening rooms, six bowling lanes, game room, social hall, 
faculty lounge, parlor, a roof deck area for dining and dancing, and locker 
facilities for commuting students. 

The center opened February 2, 1963, with the Reverend Mr. James 
Stansbury as director and Mrs. Martin Talbott as temporary program 
director. Mrs. Clifford L. Summers of Buckhannon became permanent 
program director in April 1963. The responsibility for planning a varied 
program of social, cultural and recreational activities was vested in a 
Campus Center Program Board working in cooperation with the center 
director and the program director. The initial board included students 
John Young, chairman; James Marsh, vice-chairman; Rebecca Emch, 
secretary; Scott Wright, treasurer; Richard McCullough and Linda 
Burley, chairmen of recreation; William Smith and Martha Alderson, 
chairmen of cultural activities; Larry Dillon and Brenda Blake, chairmen 
of social activities. Miss Jane Schnabel and Dr. Kenneth M. Plummer 
were faculty members of the board. 

With the opening of the center, the old SCOW was remodelled for 
use as classrooms and laboratories by the Departments of Psychology and 
Education and the Testing and Evaluation Service. 

In 1964 initial steps were taken to establish a 3000-watt FM radio 
station in the center. A transmitter and antenna were obtained, and 
funds are being solicited for the remainder of the equipment. Hopefully, 
the station will begin broadcasting the first semester of the academic year 

The plan to build a central heating plant to replace "Old Smokey" 
which had done yeoman's service for nearly fifty years was consummated 



during the summer of 1 964 with the construction of a plant below ground 
at the rear of Atkinson Chapel. The plant, using natural gas instead of 
coal, will provide heat for the buildings at the heart of the campus. 
Eventually it will be part of the connecting link between the new chapel 
and religion center and the Lynch-Raine Administration Building. 

The Board of Trustees meeting October 1964, authorized President 
Martin to advertise for bids on the new chapel and religion center on or 
before March 15, 1965. The plans for this facility provide for a sanctuary 
which will seat eighteen hundred persons; classrooms; offices for the 
Division of Bible, Philosophy and Religion ; and space for religious activi- 
ties. The plans also include a meditation chapel which will be known as 
the West Chapel. The chapel, underwritten by a bequest made by Mary 
Lowe West in memory of her husband Calvin A. West, will be constructed 
consistent with the terms of the bequest. It is anticipated that the structure 
will be completed in time for the official celebration of the Diamond 
Jubilee in June 1966. 

During the fall of 1961 the family of the late Arthur G. Shannon, 
Buckhannon merchant and trustee of the college from 1934-53, presented 
Wesleyan with the gift of a Schulmerich Carillon costing $24,825. The 
carillon, known as the "Shannon Bells," was installed in the tower of the 
Lynch-Raine Administration Building. It will be transferred to the new 
chapel and tied in with the organ console. The bell from the tower of 
the original seminary building will be placed in the steeple of the new 
chapel and tied in with the Shannon Bells. 

The present status of the campaign for funds for further expansion 
of the physical plant provides hopeful signs that by the date of the official 
celebration the new science building either will be underwritten or under 
construction, and that funds for a new gymnasium will be in sight. It is 
estimated that the science building, including equipment, will cost ap- 
proximately $1,879,000. Of this amount $947,830 has been pledged 
including gifts of $50,000 from the Richard King Mellon Foundation, 
$25,000 from the Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation, Inc., $250,000 
from Mr. and Mrs. Frank Christopher of Millwood, Virginia, and a 
$600,000 matching grant from the Claude Worthington Benedum Foun- 
dation, the largest single grant Wesleyan has received in its history. 
Authority has been given the president of the college to file an application 
with the State Commission on Higher Education for a Federal grant 
under the Educational Facilities Act of 1963 to be applied toward the 



construction of the new science building, the extension of the library, 
and the remodeling and improving of present classroom facilities. 

The steady yearly growth of the student body and the faculty has 
created housing problems for both of these segments of the college com- 
munity. The need for faculty housing on a short-term basis has been 
critical for a number of years. Pursuant to recommendation by President 
Martin, the Board of Trustees has approved also the construction of a 
fourth residence hall for women to house two hundred students, two 
residence halls for men to house fifty each, two married student apart- 
ments of twenty apartments each, and two faculty apartment buildings 
of eight apartments each. The hall for women will be located between the 
L. L. Loar and Family Building and the newest women's dormitory. It 
Ls hoped that the other buildings will be located, in keeping with the 
master plan for campus expansion, below Camden Avenue. 

The expansion of the physical plant has been accompanied by ad- 
vances in the educational program at Wesleyan. The more important 
changes have occurred in the areas of instructional facilities, academic 
standards, curricular innovations, and the growth of the faculty. 

For many years the faculty at Wesleyan has been hampered by lack 
of instructional facilities. The limitations of the assumption, valid in itself, 
that good instruction is strictly a matter of relationship between student 
and teacher has been recognized, and Wesleyan is making a concerted 
effort to furnish instructors with the best in the way of a physical plant 
and teaching aids. 

The intention to achieve high academic standards at Wesleyan has 
been hampered for many years for a number of reasons. Within the past 
half decade some gains have been made. In recent years there have been 
few waivers in regard to important graduation requirements. In the cases 
of the graduating classes of 1962-63 and 1963-64, not a single waiver 
was issued on the requirement of a 2.00 overall average at Wesleyan, as 
well as in the major and minor fields of study. In the past, through 
administrative action, Wesleyan has waived certain academic require- 
ments so that athletes could participate in intercollegiate sports. There 
have been practically no exceptions made during the past several years, 
even though Wesleyan's requirements for participation in athletics are 
considerably higher than those of most other colleges in the state. 

Wesleyan has had a rather traditional curriculum. Perhaps one reason 
for this curricular orthodoxy has been the extensive teacher training 



program and the close tie with the State Department of Education. This 
and other factors including limited facilities, finances and faculty have 
made experimentation in curriculum difficult. The area of language study 
is a case in point. After having dropped a traditional emphasis on classical 
and foreign languages, in part to attract students, Wesleyan is attempting 
now to expand the offerings in the hope that at some time during the 
next decade a modern foreign language may be required for the A.B. 

Another important dimension in Wesleyan's present development is in 
the area of international education. The growth of opportunities in this 
field has been accomplished in the area of curricular offerings, the ac- 
quisition of faculty members with foreign backgrounds, and the foreign 
student program. Wesleyan's participation in the Regional Council for 
International Education will strengthen this development. Wesleyan was 
the first college in West Virginia to join the council. A center for Latin 
American Studies has been established at Wesleyan under the direction 
of Mr. Frederick A. Peterson. 

In the area of the natural sciences a number of developments have 
occurred during the last decade which carry on the tradition of excellence 
in this area of study which has been associated with the work of the late 
Dr. Nicholas Hyma. Dr. Hyma died at the beginning of the present 
administration, but he left a permanent mark on Wesleyan. He gained 
an enviable reputation for the number of students he persuaded to do 
graduate work in chemistry. He was the motivating spirit in the organiza- 
tion of the Benzene Ring and the crowning of the "Camphor King" at 
the annual breakfast of the organization during commencement. Dr. 
Hyma organized the Hyma Chemical Laboratory and was a leading coaJ 
analyst and authority on coal analysis in West Virginia. He lent encourage- 
ment and aid in the founding of the first student union in the basement 
of the Science Hall. 

The new dimension in the program of the natural sciences which has 
developed during the last five years has come about with the material 
assistance of various national foundations. 

In 1959 Wesleyan received for the first time a grant from the National 
Science Foundation. The grant of $50,000 was used to support a six-week 
summer institute for fifty junior high school teachers of science. A grant 
of $60,000 the following year enabled sixty teachers to attend the 1960 
summer institute. During the same summer fifty exceptional high school 



Students spent three weeks at Wesleyan learning about the scientific 
observations made during the International Geophysical Year. This pro- 
gram which was supported by a grant of $10,000 from the National 
Science Foundation was extended to four weeks in 1961 through a grant 
of $13,000. 

A new type of summer program was initiated in 1961 with a grant 
of $20,000 from the National Science Foundation. For six weeks forty ex- 
ceptional high school students were in residence at Wesleyan studying a 
new chemistry curriculum. Simultaneously, ten teachers \vere being 
trained to return to their high schools and teach the new curriculum in 
the fall. This program was repeated in 1962. During the 1963-64 aca- 
demic year a similar program was carried out on Saturdays on an 
extension basis with forty students and twenty chemistry teachers from 
Kanawha County, West Virginia, participating. The National Science 
Foundation awarded Wesleyan $30,000 for a similar program during 
the summer of 1964 and for a follow-up program during the academic 
year 1964-65 in Huntington, Beckley and Clarksburg, West Virginia. 

Also during the summer of 1964 twenty-seven high school students of 
high ability were brought to campus for a six-weeks institute designed for 
students with Hmited educational opportunities in physics. The program, 
again, was financed with a grant of $9,287 from the National Science 
Foundation. In this venture the new Physical Science Study Committee 
Curriculum for Physics was used. The Department of Physics has made 
application for a grant to underwrite a similar program for the summer 
of 1965. 

Since 1958 Wesleyan has conducted each summer an Institute of 
American Studies. For five years the institute was supported financially 
by the Coe Foundation, and since 1963 the Claude Worthington Benedum 
Foundation has assumed one-half of the support. The institute, designed 
to provide public school teachers with a greater understanding of the 
American heritage, has brought to campus elementary and secondary 
teachers from West Virginia and surrounding states. Noted scholars from 
many universities have provided the instruction, each presenting one week 
of lectures in his field of specialization. The greatest emphasis has been 
placed on American history, but such fields as diplomacy, constitutional 
law, music, economics, and archeology have been included. Each summer 
one lecturer in the field of religion has been part of the offerings of the 
institute. In 1964 Wesleyan initiated a Center for American Studies under 



the direction of Dr. Dwight Mikkelson of the Department of History to 
assist in coordinating and directing attention to the various courses 
and programs of the college which have an essentially American emphasis. 

A Department of Nursing was organized in 1961 under the direction 
of Miss George Rast after consultation with the West Virginia State Board 
of Examiners for Registered Nurses and with the nursing representative 
of the Board of Hospitals and Homes of The Methodist Church. The 
nursing program is being developed to offer an eight-semester course of 
study combining work in liberal arts with training in nursing. Graduates 
will receive a Bachelor of Science degree in Nursing. A coordinated pro- 
gram is offered by the department which includes academic work and 
classes in nursing; clinical experience in general nursing and in maternal 
and child nursing at the Union Protestant Hospital in Clarksburg, West 
Virginia; psychiatric nursing experience at the Weston State Hospital, 
Weston, West Virginia; public health nursing clinical experience through 
work with the Harrison County-Clarksburg Department of Public As- 

The Department of Nursing was approved on a year-to-year basis by 
the West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Registered Nurses until 
the first class graduated in 1965. At this time, the Department of Nursing 
becomes eligible to seek accreditation by the National League for 

A new departure in the program of religious education and teacher 
training was inaugurated with the establishment of a Kindergarten Lab- 
oratory in 1960 under the direction of Miss Helen Stealey. The school was 
planned to serve a dual purpose. It aimed at providing training for 
kindergarten teachers for both the public schools, where there has been 
a dearth of kindergartens and qualified teachers, and for the church, 
which has manifested a growing interest in providing opportunities for 
children on this level. The school also aimed to serve the community by 
providing a church-oriented kindergarten for children in the area sur- 
rounding Wesleyan. Each year the kindergarten has enrolled approxi- 
mately twenty-five pupils and fifteen teacher trainees. Interest in the 
school already has outgrown the staff and facilities, so that expansion 
of the program is anticipated. 

In connection with the school, a workshop or short-term laboratory 
school for in-service training of kindergarten teachers has been ofTered 
each summer. The summer program has drawn teachers from the North- 



east Jurisdiction of The Methodist Church and has had an interdenomi- 
national clientele. 

Further service to the church at large and to the community surround- 
ing Wesleyan developed in 1961 when the Reverend Mr. Ralph Grieser 
was employed to direct a Town and Country Program jointly sponsored 
and supported by the college and the Methodist Board of National Mis- 
sions, Town and Country Department. Mr. Grieser was given responsi- 
bility for supervising and improving the work of preministerial students, 
and for serving as a liaison person between the college and the church 
in West Virginia. 

Much attention has been given to the program of teacher education. 
The Normal School, which served a useful purpose during the first four 
decades of the life of the school, was no longer listed after 1927-28. 
Students preparing to teach junior high and high school in the Depart- 
ment of Education were warned that they could expect to attend school 
for four and a haK or five years in order to meet the requirements for 
certification and graduation. By 1935, however, a program had been 
worked out by which the prospective teacher could qualify for a teaching 
certificate and a B.A. degree with a major in education within four years 
and the required one hundred twenty-eight hours for graduation. This 
remained the pattern for almost thirty years. 

In 1963 the faculty approved a teacher education program of a 
different nature. The emphasis was changed from one of an accumulation 
of credits to one of completion of a sequential program. A comprehensive 
self -study was initiated also in 1963 in preparation for membership in 
the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education. Presently 
a teacher education program embodying the latest requirements of the 
West Virginia State Board of Education is being prepared by a Commit- 
tee on Teacher Education. The program, if approved by the faculty 
and the state board, will provide a five-year course of study culminating 
in a bachelor's and the M.A.T. (Master of Arts in Teaching) degrees. 
Only those students who complete the M.A.T. program will receive 
Wesleyan's endorsement as graduates of the teacher education program. 
For the past five years special encouragement has been given to the 
faculty to engage in research and to promote research projects which 
would involve advanced undergraduate students. An annual budget of 
$1,000 has been established since 1960 to help support faculty research 
projects. Awards have been made by a Faculty Committee on Research. 



Assistance has been given for such diverse enterprises as Dr. Howard 
Teeple's preparation of slide lectures on New Testament manuscripts; 
Dr. George Rossbach's study of the taxonomic botany and geographical 
distribution of plant species in West Virginia and Maine; Dr. Leonard 
Roberts' transcription and preparation for publication of his taped collec- 
tion of folklore; Dr. Buell Agey's transcription and editing with analytical 
notes of folk music taped by Dr. Roberts; and Mr. Herbert Buhler's 
research on the Gestalt Visual Stimuli Project of the Department of 
Psychology, Sociology and Anthropology. 

Grants from the Research Corporation and from the National Institute 
of Health in the aggregate of $3,000 enabled Mr. Stephen Tobey to 
conduct research in the properties of various chemical compounds. Dr. 
John Wright also received two grants of $1,000 each from the Research 
Corporation. In addition, Dr. Wright was awarded a grant of $15,000 
from the National Science Foundation for research involving under- 
graduate students in the Chemistry Department plus a grant of $10,000 
for equipment. Dr. Wright was also instrumental in procuring approxi- 
mately $7,000 worth of equipment from the Atomic Energy Commission. 

Dr. Albin Gilbert, Professor of Psychology, has completed a research 
project based on a technique of timed cross-examination. This project 
supported by a grant from the National Institute of Health is aimed at 
developing a method of personality analysis which will reveal specific 
areas of wholesomeness or of anxiety in personality. 

The possibility of new dimensions in education and research opened 
up in 1964 when Wesleyan obtained a Burroughs 205 Electronic Digital 
Computer. The computer has a book value in the neighborhood of one 
quarter million dollars. The main computer, power supply, power control, 
control console, high speed paper punch and a Flexowriter were gifts of 
the Burroughs Corporation. The balance of the equipment was purchased 
by the college at salvage prices. The computer is housed in a building 
renovated for this purpose on the former Brake property at the corner 
of Meade Street and Camden Avenue. The Computer Center is under 
the direction of Dr. William Willis. 

The computer will be used primarily as an educational tool to stimu- 
late interest among students in programming and the possible uses of the 
machine by the departments of physics, chemistry, mathematics and busi- 
ness administration. However, it is expected that the use of the computer 
will spread to other departments. Already the Social Science Division 



has used the computer in connection with Dr. Albin Gilbert's research. 
The Testing and Evaluation Service will use it in analyzing the results of 
the college testing program. The registrar's office is developing a program 
which will use the computer to automate registration procedures. It is 
hoped that eventually the computer will provide a campus-wide data 
processing center, and a tool for research. 

In its continuing efTort to improve instruction and strengthen its 
curriculum, Wesleyan, during 1964-65, moved into the arena of new 
approaches of learning provided by the communication media. The 
faculty and administration under the leadership of Dr. Walter Brown 
made a beginning in the use of radio, tele-lecture, closed circuit TV, 
overhead projection, tape hbraries and other modern learning devices. 
Through these media it is now possible to bring to campus outstanding 
professors, government leaders, scientists, and religious leaders from all 
parts of the globe. Wesleyan now envisions an educational media and 
learning center which will contain all segments of the modern communi- 
cations process, so that all students might avail themselves of the materials 
and techniques for effective learning. 

Ventures into new areas of study, experimentation and research, 
utilization of new media of instruction enrich and give depth to the 
educational program at Wesleyan, but they have not changed the basic 
pattern. Recognizing the need for such a change. Dr. Stanley Martin 
presented to the Board of Trustees and the college community on March 
18, 1964, his proposal for a new approach to Wesleyan's total educational 
program. This program will be discussed in detail in another context. 

Great teaching has been traditionally one of Wesleyan's virtues. For 
a number of years this teaching centered in a small core of dedicated 
teachers. Because of the great growth of the school over the past decade, 
and because of the nature of some of the larger departments, it has been 
difficult to acquire faculty persons within the Umits of the salary scale. 
Nevertheless, the faculty has been expanded and strengthened both in 
terms of levels of accompUshment and in terms of skills and classroom 
functioning. The number of full-time faculty has increased from 31.5 in 
1956 to 90 for 1964-65. Dean Strunk has suggested that the present 
faculty at Wesleyan ranks high in instructional sophistication, though it 
perhaps does not, at this point, contain the small dramatic core of 
teachers referred to traditionally in the college literature. 

An integral element in any educational program is, of course, the 



Student. During the past twenty years the problem of recruitment has 
received special attention at Wesleyan. In 1944 before the influx of Worid 
War II veterans, the enrollment was 159 full-time students. Beginning in 
September 1945, veterans began arriving on campus, and the number 
of full-time students rose to 227. The peak of veteran enrollment came 
in 1948 when the student body numbered 790. From that point on as 
the number of veterans declined, the number of students also decreased 
until a low enrollment of 397 was registered in 1952. 

In an effort to increase the size of the student body, Wesleyan turned 
to student referral agencies in New York and other large eastern and 
midwestern cities. Three agencies were in the service of the college : the 
Advisory Service in Private Schools and Colleges, the American Schools 
and Colleges Association, and the School and Advisory Center. During a 
period covering three years the agencies sent Wesleyan a total of 209 

The personnel in the admissions office was changed on November 1, 
1956, and a totally new admissions program was inaugurated with Mr. 
Raymond Kiser in charge. At the end of the school year the contracts 
with all agencies were terminated. A concerted effort was launched among 
the alumni, ministers and other friends of the college for new students. 
Emphasis was placed upon the recruitment of more students from West 
Virginia. In addition, Wesleyan made a strong appeal to all Methodist 
churches in the Northeastern Jurisdiction. The response was such that 
enrollment began moving upward again. From 1957, when the full-time 
enrollment was 789, the number of full-time students has increased yearly 
to a high of 1439 for the opening of the 1964-65 school year. Planning 
for the school year 1965-66 is based on a projected student body of 1500. 
The recent burgeoning college enrollment has enabled Wesleyan to shift 
the emphasis from the drive to obtain numbers of students to more 
emphasis on the type of student it seeks. 

A major problem for Wesleyan in recent years has been the consistent 
decline in the percentage of its total enroUment of students from West 
Virginia. Prior to World War II the percentage of students from West 
Virginia at Wesleyan ran as high as 70 per cent. Despite the fact that the 
number of students from West Virginia has increased, the percentage of 
the total student body has decreased from a high of 81 per cent in 
1946-47 to a low of 32.1 per cent in 1962. This decline has been attributed 
to a number of factors, two of which have a special bearing on the prob- 



lem. First, as the cost of attending Wesleyan has increased gradually 
to a present total of about $1800 per year, many potential students from 
West Virginia have found that they cannot attend Wesleyan for financial 
reasons. The per capita income of West Virginia has not kept pace with 
that of the nation as a whole, and students are turning to state-supported 
schools where costs are lower. Second, the population of West Virginia 
has shown a marked decline over the period from 1950 to 1960. The 
projected population trends predict that the state will continue to lose 
population until 1970 to the extent of at least another 17 per cent. 

The implications of the population decrease for college enrollments 
have been felt by all institutions of higher learning in West Virginia. The 
number of college age young people in the state is not increasing at the 
same rate as the national average, and the number of West Virginia 
students entering West Virginia colleges has increased very littie. Two 
colleges have been added to the total in the state in recent years. As a 
result of these factors, all colleges within the state, private or state sup- 
ported, have been looking to other states for more students. The problem 
is further complicated by the fact that only 26 per cent of West Virginia 
high school graduates go on to any form of higher education, a figure well 
below the national average of 40 per cent. Of those who do pursue their 
education beyond high school, 15 per cent go out of the state. From 1958 
to 1962 the number of West Virginia students going to West Virginia 
institutions of higher learning showed an increase of only 2,299. Divided 
equally among the 20 schools in the state, this would average an increase 
of slightiy over two hundred for each over the five-year period. During 
the same years the number of out-of-state students enrolled in West 
Virginia colleges has more than doubled. 

The admissions office at Wesleyan has made special efforts to recruit 
more students from West Virginia. The school year 1963-64 showed a 
.02 per cent increase over the previous year. However, the basic problem 
appears to be an economic one, and the solution awaits the development 
of new and increased sources of aid for this segment of the student body. 

With the growth of the faculty and student body at Wesleyan atten- 
tion has been focused on the library as central to the whole enterprise 
of education. Each year since the turn of the century the book collection 
has grown. The growth has conformed closely to the pattern of most 
college and university Hbraries which tend to double in size every 16 
years. In 1937 there were 18,000 books in the library; now there are 



more than 60,000. It is anticipated that by the year 1975 there will be 
at least 100,000 volumes available for the Wesleyan student of that year. 
Although still small when compared with some institutional libraries, the 
Wesleyan library possesses a well-rounded book collection and an excep- 
tional reference collection. For the last several years Wesleyan has been 
consistently in the forefront of West Virginia colleges in the circulation 
of books. 

During the past decade a number of collections and grants have added 
materially to the resources of the library. 

In 1957 a graduate of Wesleyan, Mr. Harry Byrer of Martinsburg, 
West Virginia, gave the initial contribution for the establishment of the 
Judge Samuel Woods Memorial Collection in memory of his grand- 
father, a founder and first president of the Board of Trustees of the 
seminary. Mr. Byrer has provided additional funds each year for the 
purchase of books in the field of Biblical studies and related areas. 

Mr. C. A. Jones of Columbus, Ohio, a graduate of the seminary in 
1904, has presented the library with a considerable segment of his Lincoln 
Collection. Mr. Jones occasionally augments the collection, and eventually 
his entire holdings will come to Wesleyan. 

A grant of $10,000 from the Kellogg Foundation, with a matching 
gift from the General Board of Education of The Methodist Church, was 
received in 1961 for the purchase of books in the field of teacher education. 

The Japanese Society contributed $250 in 1964 for the acquisition 
of books in Japanese history and culture. 

The growth of the college during the last ten years has been accom- 
panied by an expansion of the library facilities and stafT. In 1953 the 
library was staffed by three full-time librarians; today there are nine. 
However, the college has already outgrown the present facilities, and the 
plans for long-range development provide for an enlarged building with 
space for 100,000 volumes, large work areas, and a seating capacity of 
at least 450 students. 

It is not possible to measure the growth of an institution by its 
financial posture alone, but finances certainly provide one indication as 
to whether it is a dynamic or a static institution. The past decade shows 
expansion in all phases of the financial life of Wesleyan. Actual total 
expenses for the operation of the college have risen from $445,726 in 
1954 to $2,113,457 in 1964. The budget for instructional salaries rose 
from $111,807 to $435,092. The library budget increased steadily from 



$14,599 to $55,600 with a goal for this expenditure set at 5 per cent 
of the total budget exclusive of auxiliary enterprises. Student aid has 
jumped from $12,610 to $114,595 with 28 per cent of the student body 
receiving such aid. 

Income from various sources has expanded also. The endowment has 
grown from $304,440 in 1954 to $1,460,155 in 1964. Income from en- 
dowment is currently $51,278 per year as compared with $23,042 in 1954. 
Over the decade scholarship endowment funds have increased from 
$84,509 to $277,247. Gifts and grants from industry, foundations and 
friends in the amount of $53,509 in 1954 amounted to $187,953 in 
1964. The value of the plant and facilities stood at $1,403,813 in 1954, 
having doubled the figure of the previous year with the completion of 
the building program. The value of plant and facilities now stands at 

A significant development has been the steady growth of the support 
of Wesleyan by the West Virginia Annual Conference of The Methodist 
Church. Over a five-year period beginning in 1954, support by the 
conference averaged approximately $43,000 per year. In 1959 this 
amount more than doubled and has increased yearly to a present figure 
of $144,746 for 1963-64. Growing support by the Western Pennsylvania 
Conference between 1950 and 1964 has totaled $180,506.03. The same 
conference has pledge $250,000 for the years 1965 through 1968 for the 
Department of Nursing at Wesleyan, The Erie Conference contributed a 
total of $2,569 to Wesleyan in 1953 and again in 1960-62. 

A further important development during the past decade has been 
in the area of alumni relations. Records concerning the founding of the 
alumni association are non-existent. Information gleaned from various 
college publications indicates that since the founding of the school there 
has been a continuous effort to relate the alumni to the institution. The 
June 1898, issue of the Seminary Collegiate refers to a meeting of the 
Alumni Association. The June 1901, issue mentions the annual alumni 
banquet to be held at commencement time. These banquets apparendy 
have been an annual occasion down to the present. 

Cultivation of the alumni during the early years was evidently done 
on an occasional and voluntary basis. An alumni office of sorts has been 
in existence at least since 1917, the year the first alumni directory was 
issued. However, the direction of the office was a part-time operation, 
since alumni affairs were the responsibility of a member of the staff who 



worked full time at another job. It was not until 1936-37 that an alumni 
secretary was listed as part of the college administration, though alumni 
secretaries were listed prior to this date including Carl V. Miller, 1922-26, 
who was also director of athletics, and Arthur E. Beckett, 1935-37. The 
list of alumni secretaries include Floyd N. Shaver, 1939-43; Hobart 
Beeghley, 1944-45; William D. Foster, 1946-50, also director of public 
relations; Cecil B. Ross, 1950-53, also director of athletics; Robert James 
Stansbury, 1954-59, also director of public relations and director of 
publications; Walter L. Collins, 1960-1965, also director of publications. 

In 1946 President Scarborough strived for the establishment of an 
effective and separate alumni office with modern equipment for address- 
ing and mailing. Dr. Scarborough felt that the college should take the 
initiative in organizing, supporting and maintaining the office. This 
suggestion was consummated in 1954 with the establishment of an alumni 
office in the Lynch-Raine Administration Building. In 1962 the office 
was moved to the Alumni House on the corner of Meade Street and 
College Avenue. 

There were less than six active alumni chapters in 1954. Prior to this 
date alumni chapters were organized evidently only in those towns where 
Wesleyan teams participated in athletic competition, and the meetings 
of the chapters probably were held at the time of athletic contests. By 
1960 there were thirty alumni chapters throughout the country, most of 
them meeting annually. In 1964 there were thirty-six chapters, seventeen 
located in West Virginia and nineteen out of state. Most chapters meet 
once each year, though a few meet only once every two or three years. 
Class meetings are held at commencement and homecoming, and each 
class has a reunion every five years. 

The College Bulletin series which was first issued as a magazine in 
the late thirties was succeeded by the Sundial, the official alumni maga- 
zine first published in September 1955. These journals have been the 
official channel for alumni news and for getting information concerning 
the college to alumni. Frequent bulletins are issued also. Alumni directories 
have been published in 1917, but there is no available copy; in 1926, 
showing 1331 graduates of the seminary, academy, normal school and 
college; in 1947; in 1958, showing 5,628 alumni; and 1964, showing 
6,232 alumni. 

From the beginning the Alumni Association has worked through 
the college. Records of alumni giving are sparse and inadequate. For 



many years the treasurer's office and the office of the vice-president 
handled alumni giving. Today, through the cooperation of these offices 
and the alumni office, complete records are kept of annual alumni giving. 
This has increased considerably in recent years. In 1951-52 alumni gifts 
totaled $20,000. Alumni gave $64,000 in 1963-64. 

The alumni are organized in the West Virginia Wesleyan College 
Alumni Association. The governing body of the Association is an Alumni 
Council consisting of twenty-four members elected by the council with 
the president of the college, the president of the Board of Trustees, and 
the alumni secretary as ex-officio members. The council has the responsi- 
bility of implementing any policies or programs suggested by the associa- 
tion which promote the object and purpose of the organization, that is, 
the interests and welfare of the association and the college. The council 
works to achieve close cooperation between the college and the associa- 
tion. Each year the council chooses not more than three graduates and 
non-graduates to receive Alumni Awards for outstanding service to the 
college. The Association also conducts an annual solicitation among 
alumni for funds which are channeled to the college. 

In view of the interest of many alumni in a program of scholarship 
and student aid, the Alumni Council on May 10, 1962, established the 
West Virginia Wesleyan College Alumni Permanent Endowment Fund. 
Mr. Leslie D. Price, attorney, and Mr. Houston G. Young, broker, gave 
impetus to this development. Contributions to the fund are invested, 
and income from the investment is earmarked for scholarship and student 
aid, and for aid for college administrative purposes during periods of 
critical need. The fund is administered by a trust committee elected by 
the Alumni Council. 

Many aspects of the life of an educational institution, such as the 
growth of the physical plant, or the success of an athletic team, are 
either visible to the pubUc or receive wide notice in the communication 
media. Almost behind the scenes, however, innovations and adjustments 
occur which affect the traditions, the operation, and the progrzim of the 
school. Many such changes have been effected at Wesleyan in recent 

In 1958 the president of the college was authorized to enter into 
agreement with the Saga Food Service to operate the dining halls and 
food servicing. In 1960 this agreement was expanded to include the 
snack bar in the student center. 



The Board of Trustees authorized in 1958 the preparation of a new 
history of the college to be completed for the Diamond Jubilee celebra- 

A new Service Center was established in 1958 in the basement of the 
Lynch-Raine Administration Building. The center processes all college 
mimeographing and auto-typing, and dispenses all office supplies. A tele- 
cord dictating service was located in the center and made available to all 
faculty members. 

During the summer of 1959 all books in the field of Bible and religion 
were moved to the Methodist Room in the Annie Merner PfeifFer Library 
to establish a new library of religion under the direction of Dr. Kenneth 
M. Plummer. This centralized the college holdings in the field with the 
collection of the West Virginia Methodist Historical Society. From this 
collection a circulating library for the ministers of the West Virginia 
Annual Conference was established. Dr. Plummer was also assigned the 
responsibility of preparing the new history of Wesleyan. 

President Martin noted in 1959 the creation of a Committee on Wills 
and Estates under the direction of Mr. James I. Ling. A list of eighteen 
hundred prospects who might make Wesleyan a beneficiary was compiled. 
Two hundred seventy-five Methodist attorneys and trust officers were en- 
listed to serve on the committee. 

With the untimely death of Dean Arthur Schoolcraft in 1959, Dr. 
Orlo Strunk, Jr., assistant dean and associate professor of psychology, 
was elected to the office of dean of the college. Dean Strunk, a native of 
Pennsylvania and a veteran of World War II, did his undergraduate 
work at Wesleyan. He returned to Wesleyan after earning the S.T.B. 
and the Ph.D. degrees at Boston University. 

The office of dean and registrar were separated also in 1959, and 
Mr. Patton L. Nickell, Jr., a Wesleyan graduate, became registrar. 

In March 1959, President Martin was authorized by the Board of 
Trustees to appoint a committee of two representatives from the Board 
of Trustees, the West Virginia Annual Conference Board of Education, 
the Pittsburgh Annual Conference and the faculty to consider the devel- 
opment of a graduate school of rehgion at Wesleyan. While no specific 
action was taken to establish such a school, the concern reflected in the 
proposal and the deliberations of the committee have been incorporated 
in President Martin's proposal for the reorganization of the total educa- 
tional program at Wesleyan. 



During the commencement in May 1961, a group of twenty Wesleyan 
alumni who were graduates of fifty years or more organized an "Emeritus 
Club." The purpose of the club is to encourage alumni of fifty years or 
more to return to the college each year for commencement, and to hold 
meetings of their own annually in the interests both of the members and 
of the college. The organization of this group came largely out of the 
efforts of the late Mr. Clyde O. Law who became its first president. 

The school year 1960-61 saw the inauguration of two lectureships, 
the Windover-Hills Lectureship in Religion with Dr. Nels F. S. Ferre of 
Andover-Newton School of Theology as lecturer, and the Arthur A. 
Schoolcraft Lectureship with Dr. J. Edward Dirks of Yale University 
as lecturer. 

Four new religious groups developed on campus during 1960-61 under 
the auspices of the Methodist Student Movement; the Hour of Power, a 
meditation group; the Caroleers, a choral group interested in religious 
music; the Dramateers, a dramatic group interested in religious drama; 
and the Wesley Weds, a fellowship for married students. 

The office of Director of Evaluation Services was established in 

A Christian Arts Festival, underwritten by the General Board of 
Education of The Methodist Church for the first two years was held April 
26-28, 1962. The festival, an annual event, features a showing of original 
paintings in Christian art. 

A seminar on alcohol studies was jointly sponsored by the college and 
the Board of Christian Social Concerns of The Methodist Church in 
March 1962. A similar seminar was held again in 1963-64. A featured 
lecturer both years was Dr. Albion R. King internationally recognized 
as an authority in the field of alcohol studies and a former member of the 
faculty at Wesleyan. 

The Board of Trustees voted in 1963 to give a 50 per cent reduction 
in tuition to children of all Methodist ministers serving under episcopal 
appointment within the bounds of the West Virginia and Western 
Pennsylvania Conferences of The Methodist Church, to the children 
of ministers of the Central Jurisdiction where it overlapped these confer- 
ences, and to the children of all Methodist ministers under special appoint- 
ment who were serving within the bounds of these conferences at the 
time of their appointment. 

Several notable achievements in athletics have been recorded in recent 



years by Wesleyan teams. In each successive year from 1957 through 
1960, under the coaching of Frank Ellis, the basketball teams were West 
Virginia Conference champions, NAIA District 28 champions, and each 
year won two games in the NAIA Tournament at Kansas City, Missouri. 
In 1961 the football team coached by Sam Ross won the state champion- 
ship and the West Virginia Bowl championship. From 1954 through 
1958, and again in 1960 and 1964, the track team won the West Virginia 
Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship. WVIAC champion- 
ships were won also by the tennis teams of 1962 and 1964, coached by 
Dave Reemsnyder, and by the baseball teams of 1955 and 1956, coached 
by Frank Ellis. Wesleyan has competed in golf since 1955, but there 
have been no outstanding teams to date. The track team coached by 
Bill Pugh won the state championship in 1964. 

During the same period a number of Wesleyan athletes have received 
recognition. In football Cliff Judy, Jim Hawkins, Dean Patenaude and 
Bill Wood were named to the WVIAC all-star conference team and the 
Methodist all- American team. In basketball Gary Hess, Jim MacDonald 
and Ken Remley were selected for the WVIAC all-conference team and 
the NAIA aU- American team; BUI Smith was elected to the NAIA all- 
tourney team and the NAIA ail-American second team. Ken Remley 
was listed also in Who's Who in Small College Basketball. In baseball 
John Elmer Houdashelt was named on the WVIAC all-conference team. 




In a formal sense the Christian college has been defined as an insti- 
tution of higher learning under ecclesiastical or denominational control 
or auspices. In a deeper sense, however, the Christian college has claimed 
for itself educational dimensions and, hopefully, distinctive character- 
istics which give it a unique place in the educational scene. The necessity 
of defining its distinctiveness has constituted a crisis with which the 
Christian college has been confronted in America. 

A prior crisis which the Christian college faced was economic in 
nature. During the mid-nineteenth century the mortality rate among 
such schools was high. The struggle of the Methodists to found and main- 
tain an educational institution in West Virginia, and the history of 
Wesleyan itself in attempting to achieve financial stabihty illustrate the 
pressure which for many years has kept church-related colleges in a state 
of economic uncertainty. 

The problem of adequate financial support is by no means a negligible 
problem today, but some of the pressure has been eased by growing 
enrollments and increasing concern for the support of higher education. 
The imperative facing the Chrisdan college now is that of defining its 
conception of itself and its role in higher education. It must do this in 
the face of the criticism that though at one time church-related colleges 
played a significant role in American education, they no longer do so. 
Questions are being asked. Are there any distinctive and unique facets 
of the life and work of the Christian college which make its survival and 
growth imperative? If there are not, will the Christian college cease to 
exist, not in the sense of going out of business, but in the sense that it 
will become an institution which makes no claim to being Chrisdan 
or distinctive? 

Within the last decade serious thought has been given by educators 
within and without the Christian college as to the distinctive and creative 
role it can play in higher education. This is not to say that the question 
had not been previously raised. It is to say that recently educators gen- 
erally have been pondering the adequacy of the philosophy of education 



under which they have been operating. In the face of the increasing 
secularization of western culture the Christian community has become 
involved deeply in this appraisal, especially at the point of examining the 
relationship of the church and the Christian faith to higher education. 

Out of the probing which has been taking place the ideal shape of a 
Christian college has begun to emerge.^ 

It is generally agreed that a college, whether it be a private or a 
church-related institution, has two primary functions. First, it should 
offer a curriculum of sufficient depth to provide the basic knowledge and 
intellectual skills in the various fields of learning to equip the graduate 
to Uve in a swiftly changing world. Second, it should provide the basic 
education required by an increasing number of students to continue their 
education either in a graduate or professional school or through self-study. 

The Christian college must first strive to be a good college in this 
sense. It cannot excuse academic incompetence in the name of piety, and 
it must be judged by the criteria by which any educational institution is 
judged. The distinctiveness of the Christian college on this point lies in 
the fact that it sees its calling to be a good college as a calling under God, 
and its search for truth is characterized by openness to Christian affirma- 
tions about man and the universe. 

Those who are attempting to define the unique nature of the Chris- 
tian college are suggesting that within this context it has several further 

The Christian college must assist the student in the integration of his 
intellectual and emotional forces around an examined and relatively 
consistent philosophy of Hfe. Obviously, this philosophy of life should be 
related to the Christian faith. The religious orientation of a college can 

* The writer has compiled the image of the Christian college from a representative sampling of a 
large body of literature on the subject which has appeared in recent years: 

The Christian Scholar, XLI, Autumn, 1958; a special issue devoted to addresses and reports of the 
Second Quadrennial Convocation on the subject, "The Vocation of the Christian College 
George H. Williams, "The Christian College Today." 
Jerald C. Brauer, "The Christian College in American Education." 
John D. Moseley, "A Fresh Look at the Christian College." 
Kathleen Bliss, "Christian College and Contemporary World." 
Study Section Reports on The Theological Foundations of the Christian College, The Relation ol 
Church and Campus, The Christian College and the Student's Sense of Vocation, The Christian College 
and the World Mission of the Church. 

Addresses delivered at the 17th Institute of Higher Education of the Board of Education of The 
Methodist Church, Nashville, Tennessee, July 28-31, 1963: 

John Bradcmas, "The Church-Related College and Present Trends in Education." 

Albert E. Burke, "The Multiversity and the Liberal Arts College." 

John O. Gross, "Why College?" 

Earl J. McGrath, "Are Quality Higher Education and Church-Relatedness Incompatible?" 

Orlo Strunk, Jr., "Liberal Arts and the Christian College," The Christian Century, April 18, 1962. 

Richard N. Bender, "Marks of the Church College," Trustee, XIX, March, 1965. 



be a boon in fulfilling this responsibility in an age in which there is an 
intensive search for meaning. A traditional concern of the Christian 
college has been for the relatedness of reason and faith. To fail to assess 
the significance of faith for the human enterprise is to leave the student 
a fragmented individual. The Christian liberal arts college, it is affirmed, 
can provide a unique forum where vigorous search may take place for 
relationship among ideas and between disciples, between factual evidence 
and religious insight. 

The Christian college, therefore, has a special responsibility to trans- 
mit through its academic disciplines the Biblical, historical, theological 
and ethical content of the Christian heritage. It must relate these to other 
disciplines. It must avoid a dogmatic or catechetical approach. Its primary 
function is not to indoctrinate but to examine and inquire. 

The Christian college also has the responsibility of providing a regu- 
lar and genuine experience of worship in which the total community 
participates. A word of warning is issued generally on this point. The 
Christian college cannot contend that it is fulfilling its function as a 
Christian institution when it includes scholarly study of the Judeo- 
Christian heritage in its curriculum or when it has a compulsory worship 
service. The sin of the Christian college has not been failure to provide 
worship opportunities but rather the failure to provide a relevant aca- 
demic and community Ufe which offers the kind of setting which 
nurtures and sustains worship. 

With respect to its academic life, the Christian college has a charter 
of freedom provided by the Gospel with its demand to seek the truth. 
Obedience to this demand requires openness to formulations of truth 
from any who undertake with deep seriousness the intellectual inquiry. 
The Christian college should be, therefore, an independent center of 
radical criticism covering the whole range of major intellectual, cultural 
and social concerns, including religion. In this venture the Christian 
college can render a service to the church by preventing its life and faith 
from becoming stagnant and unrelated to the major contemporary move- 
ments of thought and Hfe. It can provide the occasions for conversation 
between those who are not actively identified with the church and those 
who are members of the Christian community. 

Those who are concerned about the academic approach of the Chris- 
tian college suggest that one of the chief difficulties of this kind of college 
springs not from its religious ties or orientation but from a confused or 



false conception of its proper sphere of inqury. Instead of providing a 
full and integrated liberal arts education, the Christian college projects 
the image of the university with its mutiform professional programs and 
its research specialists. The opinion of many educators who attempt to 
spell out the distinct and creative contribution which the Christian college 
can make in the educational scene today is that it should concentrate on 
a liberal arts education as the basis of all sound education including grad- 
uate and professional training. The experts decry the fact that the Chris- 
tian college has tried and is still trying to be all things to all men not in 
order to witness to the vitality of the faith, but in order to keep the doors 
open and the school solvent. This criticism is directed especially at purely 
vocational courses. While not denying that some liberal values can be 
found in vocational subjects properly taught, there is considerable agree- 
ment that the liberal arts college should eliminate them. It is argued that 
the Christian college should concentrate seriously on the humanities, the 
arts, the social sciences and the natural sciences in humanizing, civilizing 
and emancipating the student. The Uberal arts taught within the frame- 
work of a community informed by the Christian faith can bring discipline 
and openness to the student. Such an academic program can prepare the 
student to live within a framework of life which has wholeness, and in 
which life is understood as a calling or vocation from God. It can prepare 
the student not simply to adjust to the world as it is, but to remake it. 

The Christian college in order to fulfill its mandate to pursue the 
truth must partake of some of the essential quahties of the religious fel- 
lowship of the church itself. That is, the Christian college must become a 
community of acceptance and forgiveness and not just a community of 
scholars in the usual sense. As a community of scholars it should provide 
through its faculty an example of high intellectual competence and expect 
of its students a life of intellectual achievement and excitement. It must 
provide an atmosphere which shows free and open respect for ideas. 
However, the academic atmosphere can breed intellectual prima donnas; 
it provides a soil in which the sins of pride, envy, ambition and self- 
centeredness can and do flourish, in which there is a tendency to judge 
all learning by one field, in which criticisms are avoided which often 
ought to be faced. The Christian college can make a unique contribution 
in this area, inasmuch as it should be a Christian community in which 
all members are free to be themselves, and to accept and forgive others 
as they have been accepted and forgiven. Acceptance and forgiveness do 



not imply mere tolerance or indifference. They do imply a community 
in which the tensions, conflict and unrest which inevitably develop out 
of genuine inquiry and provocative scholarship do not produce division, 
but develop persons who can be their honest, best selves. They do imply 
an academic environment in which persons can be released from the fears, 
compulsions and defensiveness which block full human and intellectual 

Even the non-Christian scholar, it is suggested, should be able to find 
a congenial place within the community of a Christian college, since the 
Christian doctrine of creation affirms that we are members one of 
another, a fact which holds regardless of the presence or absence of re- 
ligious belief. 

There is a second sense in which a Christian college should partake 
of the qualities of the church. It should exhibit a distinctly Christian 
ethos. It should recognize the distinctiveness of the individual and pro- 
duce individuals who have a genuine concern for the welfare of others. 
It should be in a position to enroll risk cases and the promising student 
handicapped by inequalities of race and economic hardship. While the 
Christian college is neitiier a reformatory nor a camp-meeting nor a 
finishing school, it should seek to foster attitudes and values indigenous 
to the Judeo-Christian heritage as well as the most creative aspects of 
the cutural heritage. It should foster a quality of recreational and social 
life which is enlightened, consistent with the nature of the institution 
and satisfying to the entire person. It should encourage student Christian 
organizations which contribute to mature participation in the life of the 
church, the major concerns of national and world student Christian 
movements, and in significant social action. It should function in a 
climate of decision making in which trustees, administrators and faculty 
members understand and implement in every phase of the institution's 
life the ethical imperatives of the Judeo-Christian heritage. 

While partaking of the qualities of the church, the Christian college 
must distinguish itself from the church. While of>erating from the per- 
spective of the Christian faith, it must be aware always that the liberal 
arts have an autonomy and integrity of their own, and they must not be 
used as a pulpit from which to preach the Christian faith. The Christian 
college will have the concern of the church for evangelism, but its method 
of evangehsm is limited by its nature as a college committed to the search 
for truth from every source. Therefore, it cannot emphasize dispropor- 



tionately nor neglect the Christian view of truth. It must leave the student 
free, under God, to choose. The evangelistic methods open to the Christian 
college consist of the general spirit and atmosphere of the college, the 
quality and Christian life of its faculty and administrators, the concern 
and witness provided by extra-curricular Christian organizations. On a 
deeper level, the evangelistic thrust arises out of the extent to which 
the pursuit of knowledge is felt to be a Christian vocation, the work to 
which God has called this particular community. Hopefully, the Christian 
college should provide the church with graduates who have an examined 
and matured faith which has been related to other perspectives and to 
the major, persistent questions of life, death and purpose. 

The faculty of a Christian college usually elicits special comment by 
those concerned for the ideal pattern of such an institution. In addition 
to providing a faculty of scholars, the Christian college must provide a 
climate conducive to professional growth. Even though salaries are not 
up to the standard of institutions not related to the church, the Christian 
college can attract scholars for whom sound scholarship, dedication to 
liberal arts education and a program directed toward a well-defined end 
may take priority over salary schedules. Nevertheless, in order to remain 
competitive in the rapidly expanding field of higher education, the Chris- 
tian colleges are faced with the necessity of increasing salaries. 

There is general agreement that the Christian college should require 
of its faculty, in addition to scholarly competency, acknowledged Chris- 
tian character, respect for the spiritual ideals of the institution. This does 
not mean that faculty members are to be required to subscribe to a 
formal or doctrinaire religious position. It does mean that the Christian 
college can ask that the faculty and other members of the community 
respect the basis from which it operates, and that the Christian concern 
of the college be taken seriously as deserving proper consideration, explora- 
tion and expression in life. 

An obvious area in which the Christian college has a distinct con- 
tribution to make is the service it can render the church in the training 
of clergy, missionaries and Christian educators. In addition, it can provide 
leadership in many aspects of the work of the church in the world from 
its reservoir of scholarly Christian teachers and administrators. 

What kind of college is West Virginia Wesleyan College? How has it 
defined its role as a Christian college of liberal arts? In the attempt to 
answer this question, Wesleyan, in company with many similar schools, 



has grappled over the years with the question of: Precisely what aspects 
or qualities of the institution make it a distinctive educational institution? 
How should Wesleyan implement its desire to be both a sound community 
of learning and a school for Christians in its total program? 

Before the school was established, the founding fathers clearly indi- 
cated their intention that it would be a co-educational school, owned 
and operated by The Methodist Church, though in no sense a sectarian 
institution. The school would provide a high order of instruction, but it 
would also assume a high degree of responsibility for the inculcation in its 
students of manners and morals, and the duty of loving and serving God 
and of accepting Jesus Christ as the Savior of the soul. The school would 
be not only a help to learning but ako a fountain of piety. Echoing this 
characterization, the seminary catalogue for 1890 affirmed that "it will 
be the aim of the institution, not simply to produce scholars, but to 
develop character, to promote Christian culture and the truest refinement 
of thought and conduct." 

The school placed itself on record as desiring to furnish a thorough 
and systematic education to any young person wishing an education. It 
cautioned, however, that none but persons of good moral character need 
apply for admission. "While we seek to help every student to form right 
habits of life, the incorrigibles are not wanted; the seminary is not a 
reform school." Good health, good habits, ordinary inteUigence and a 
resolute will to get an education were the primary qualifications for ad- 
mission. DiscipUne, it was announced, would be kind but firm. The 
faculty would endeavor to look after the welfare of students and supply, 
as far as possible, the lack of parental control and counsel. The ideal 
sought for each student was the highest degree of self-control. One way 
in which the school articulated its objectives was succinctly stated : 

Our purpose is to make the moral and religious life of the school such that par- 
ents may feel that their sons and daughters will be safe under its influence. 

From 1890 to approximately 1928, Wesleyan's attempt to fulfill its 
function as a Christian institution included the determination to lead 
uncommitted students to a definite decision for Christ. Reflecting this 
evangelistic thrust, the catalogue for 1900-01 affirmed that the college 
should be as much and more a center of Christian work and influence, as 
much an agency of evangelism, as the church itself. For the first thirty 
years of the life of the school, yearly evangelistic meetings or revivals 



were held, aimed at securing the conversion of the unconverted. The 
school took pride in the fact that its faculty was committed to this revival 
effort, that its leading students were committed Christians, and that 
among students it was respectable and popular to be a Christian. Late in 
the twenties the notice of yearly revival meetings disappeared. Concern for 
the religious welfare of the student continued but was stated in a different 

Recognizing that the foundation and inspiration of the noblest character is 
Jesus Christ, the quiet but constant influence of the college tends to lead the 
student to a hfe of definite allegiance and loyalty to Him. During the year spe- 
cial meetings are held in the interest of student religious hfe. These meetings 
treat the problem of the student from a sane, practical standpoint, endeavoring 
to lay the emphasis on the essential Christian spiritual values. 

The desire to be a Christian institution is one thing; implementing 
this aim is quite another. Those who have been responsible for guiding 
the program of the institution have always been aware of this fact, and 
they have frequently analyzed the difficulties of making and keeping a 
college Christian. It has been suggested, for example, that compulsory 
chapel often fails as a means of making a profound religious emphasis. 
Other stumbling blocks have included lack of real backing by the church, 
financial distress, failure of those entrusted with responsibility for the 
school to understand its Christian orientation, and the imperfections and 
frailties of human nature. A past president of Wesleyan once lamented 
that Christian colleges had been called unchristian because they had 
given aid to athletes, granted too many scholarships, been too aggressive 
in collecting student accounts; because dancing had been permitted or 
not permitted ; because discipline had been too lax or too strict. 

Whatever Wesleyan's record has been in achieving its ideals, it must 
be said that those who have administered the affairs of the school have 
exhibited all the arts and zeal of the Puritan in self-analysis and intro- 
spection. Dr. Roy McCuskey noted that the Christian college must be 
constantly evaluating itself in order to approximate as closely as possible 
its standard. Is it Christian in teaching, in business relations, in the ex- 
ample set by personnel, in social attitudes, in forms of recreation and 
play? It must be concerned with refining the varied interpretations held 
by students, clergy, faculty and trustees of "just what is Christian" in 
all phases of college life. A further dimension of the problem has been 
identified by Dr. Stanley H. Martin when he notes the need for defining 



the difTerence between the church and the college, for seeing the Christian 
college with its roots and fulfillment in the Christian community but 
with a primary and specialized focus on learning. A school like Wesleyan 
must always be engaged in dialogue over the problem of how it can be 
at the same time an outstanding liberal arts college and an effective arm 
of the church. This dialogue takes place at Wesleyan in many forums, 
structured and unstructured. 

Wesleyan has attempted to implement its Christian emphasis in a 
number of ways. It has always been assumed that a prime requisite is a 
faculty whose members are competent scholars in their fields and com- 
mitted to a Christian philosophy of life. A resolution was adopted by the 
Board of Trustees in 1900 affirming "that hereafter no teachers nor 
assistant teachers shall be employed in the West Virginia Conference 
Seminary who are not active Christians and members of the church." 
It has held to this resolution. While the school is Methodist owned, many 
Protestant denominations have been represented on its faculty. 

Wesleyan has emphasized traditionally the personal encounter between 
faculty member and student as a focal factor in its uniqueness as a Chris- 
tian institution. Dean Orlo Strunk, in stressing the fact that Wesleyan 
always has conceived of its function to be teaching, notes that teaching has 
never been considered as synonymous with classroom instruction. An 
integral function of the teacher in a Christian community is to be a 
teacher in and out of the classroom. The close relationship, the personal 
encounter between members of the staff and the student body, gives 
substance to Christian concern for the individual, his problems, his 
abilities, his interests. 

From the founding of the school through 1927, all students were re- 
quired to attend daily chapel, consisting generally of singing, prayer and 
a short address. These were reduced to three per week in 1928 and to 
one per week in 1937. The revival meetings of the first three decades 
gradually gave way to Religious Emphasis Week early in the thirties, and 
to Christian Emphasis Week in 1951. In addition to these activities, Sun- 
day afternoon study groups during the early years, weekday vesper 
services, student retreats, prayer groups, required and elective courses 
in Bible and religion have provided depth to the religious emphasis of 
the life of the school. 

Through the years a number of organizations devoted to a specific 
religious emphasis have arisen, most of which have served a particular 



need or have reflected current trends in religious activity on college 
campuses. These include: 

1906-1937, YMCA; 1906-1946, YWCA promoted Bible and Mission study 

classes, conducted religious services, gave aid to students in securing room and 


1910-1947 Wesleyan Student Volunteer Band provided study, discussion, and 

activity for students; promoted interest in foreign missions. 

1913-1925 Homiletic Association provided students preparing for the ministry 

an opportunity to present papers and hear addresses by invited guests. 

1926-1928 Ministerial Association patterned on the Homiletic Association; has 

been revived occasionally, most recently in 1960. 

1937-1938 The Lantern aimed at promoting creative fellowship and recreation, 

discussion of the problems of youth and major contemporary problems such as 

war and peace, race prejudice, prohibition. 

1947-1952 Christian Service Fellowship, Student Christian Association. 

1951-1952 MYF and several denominational organizations. 

1956 — Methodist Student Movement. 

1957-1960 Hillel Society. 

1957 — Sigma Theta Epsilon, National organization of Methodist Men. 

1958-1959 Methodist Girls Club. 

1960 — Kappa Phi, National organization of Methodist Girls. 

1962 — Canterbury Club, Episcopal Students. 

1962 — Newman Club, Roman Catholic Students. 

From the turn of the century down to 1934 the Christian associations 
sponsored a lecture course of six to eight numbers per year which brought 
to the campus distinguished lecturers and men of letters. 

The attempt has been made through the years to promote the reUgious 
emphases on the campus through faculty and trustee committees on 
religious activities. The Religious Life Council, composed of faculty and 
students who represent the religious interests of the college community, 
and the major denominations represented in the student body was 
organized in 1959 to coordinate the rehgious life program of the campus. 

As a Christian college, with the brand name Methodist, Wesleyan 
has sought to minister to the needs of The Methodist Church through 
the variety of services previously noted. The student body has always 
been largely Methodist. However, the school has never been sectarian 
either in its teaching or in its recruitment of students. It has operated on 
the hypothesis that a student body which is interdenominational and inter- 
faith in character provides the soundest atmosphere for the enrichment 
and deepening of Christian thought and experience. The late Dean 
Schoolcraft in discussing the complexion of the student body affirmed that 
Wesleyan must make room always for all qualified Methodists who seek 



admission. Beyond that the school must make room always for highly 
qualified students of every creed, every continent, every color. "We must 
be as broadly catholic as we aspire to be Christian." Any other policy 
would be "... a reversion to primordial provincialism and prejudice, of 
the pre- Jonah type, that would utterly disqualify us as Christians, and as 
participants in building an ever better world order into an ever closer 
approximation to the Kingdom of God." 

Wesleyan's concern to be a Christian college has not preempted the 
primary reason for its existence, that it is an institution of learning. The 
school has operated under the assumption that it is fulfilling one of the 
legitimate and historic functions of the church, that of education. While 
it has attempted to undergird its total program with a religious emphasis, 
Wesleyan has based its work on the premise that it would fulfill its 
function as a Christian institution in the deepest sense by providing its 
students with the best education possible within the limits set by the 
personnel, facilities and financial means at its disposal. 

Attempts to crystallize the basic philosophy of the school have been 
numerous. Typical of these are the following statements which represent 
the spirit of the school midway in her history and as currently defined: 

Nothing is more characteristic of Wesleyan than her insistence upon sound 
learning being joined to sterling Christian character. . . . 

It is the purpose of West Virginia Wesleyan College to be a Christian College 
of Liberal Arts in the sense that its total program is directed toward the devel- 
opment of competent, cultured, Christian persons. 

The purpose of the institution thus defined is in the nature of broad 
general objectives. However, as the philosopher A. N. Whitehead has 
observed, while we think in generalities, we live in particulars. As the 
school matured and sought to clarify its function, the need for particular- 
izing the generalization became apparent. Since 1950 the college has 
committed itself to helping each student in the light of his individual needs, 
abilities and interests to become competent, cultured and Christian by 
attaining certain specific objectives : 

1. Ability and disposition to read the English language with understanding, and 
to speak and write it correctly and effectively. 

2. Ability and disposition to think clearly, objectively, independently, and con- 

3. Ability and disposition to order one's own life in such fashion as to realize 
the highest possible degree of health and efficiency of both body and mind. 



4. A broad orientation in the liberal arts — some understanding and apprecia- 
tion of the content and value of the main fields of learning and of the major 
problems of human life. 

5. Sufficient concentration in some field, or fields, to constitute adequate prepa- 
ration for graduate study or immediate entrance into some well considered 
vocation. Through its program of testing and guidance the College under- 
takes to help the student to choose wisely his vocation or profession. Through 
its instructional program it undertakes to help him acquire the knowledge 
and develop the skills essential to success in his chosen field. 

6. Understanding, appreciation and experience of the Christian religion — de- 
velopment and practice of a Christian philosophy of life. 

7. Ability and disposition to be a good citizen — to participate in, and assume 
leadership in, socially constructive organizations and activities; and to foster 
extension of democracy and development of a worthy cosmopolitanism. 

These objectives, which presently constitute Wesleyan's statement of 
purpose, have been characterized by President Stanley Martin as a 
declaration of intent which indicates that the original emphasis of the 
institution upon scholarship, respect for personality, religious motivation, 
personal discipline, and a life of service continue to be the guiding 
principles of the institution. 

In this statement of purpose emphasis is laid on broad orientation 
in liberal arts. A careful analysis of the curricular offerings from 1890 to 
the present reveals that from its inception Wesleyan has succeeded in 
basing its total program on a solid core of liberal arts subjects. The 
curriculum has been organized into the conventional divisions and de- 
partments of the traditional liberal arts college. 

However, Wesleyan is not and never has been strictly a liberal arts 
college. The school, responsive to both public need and public demands, 
has offered a variety of non-liberal arts programs. 

The non-liberal arts courses now organized in the Division of Applied 
Arts and Sciences point up a problem with which schools like Wesleyan 
have wrestled in the attempt to provide a broad, Uberal arts training and, 
at the same time, prepare students for a vocation or profession. Wesleyan 
has held to the conviction that her primary thrust is not in the vocational 
field, but that the school has a responsibility to its students to prepare 
them to earn a livelihood. Nevertheless, it has tried to keep work in the 
applied arts and sciences within certain limits. From its inception, Wes- 
leyan has required all students to complete a program of courses covering 
all areas of liberal arts subjects. This work is currentiy structured in the 
General Education requirements covering a two-year period. 



During the depression of the thirties, when competition for students 
was especially acute, President McCuskey warned against the attempt to 
attract students by proliferating vocational courses: 

Our work is not primarily in the vocational field. We cannot build up a com- 
peting university by expanding our curriculum to take in all sorts of technical 
training. . . . We cannot run here and there, and proclaim the kingdom of 
heaven in big enrollments, in diversified, sprawled-out courses in everything 
under the sun from the classics to tonsorial art and beauty culture. 

The ideal which appears to have guided Wesleyan has sought to 
combine training for a useful career with an education in the liberal arts 
and the development of Christian character. Apparently it has had to 
resist the temptation to venture too far afield in the area of vocational 
training, and, in some respects, has engaged in this kind of education 
with some misgivings. In recent years, various proposals have come from 
within the college community for reorganizing the whole program on 
a sohd liberal arts basis. The suggestion has been made by the North 
Central Association that Wesleyan should evaluate the offerings organized 
in the Division of Applied Arts and Sciences to determine if they meet 
needs among its constituents, and to ascertain if the vocational majors 
represented there are needed in addition to its satisfactory liberal arts 
curriculum. Without prejudicing tlie issue, it can be said that these 
vocational concerns have been at the heart of Wesleyan's educational 
program for her seventy-five years of existence. On this point Wesleyan 
falls short of the ideal pattern of the Christian college devoted exclusively 
to liberal arts education. There is no evidence that Wesleyan will alter 
the course established at its founding. Dean Orlo Strunk, Jr., has argued 
cogently for the continuation of the educational program which Wesleyan 
and many similar schools offers. Aside from the extensive and radical 
revamping of the total program of the school which the initiation of a 
purely liberal arts program would require, there could arise a real problem 
at the point of recruiting students. The possibility of a lack of interest in a 
liberal arts emphasis on the part of vocation minded young people today 
cannot be ignored. On this point, it can be noted that during the thirties 
Wesleyan discontinued the Department of Business Administration as part 
of the retrenchment of its program. Within a few years it had to be 
restored because of popular demand. Further, asserts Dean Strunk, it 
would be a tragedy if large numbers of teachers, business administrators 
and nurses were to seek out less Uberal fields of study and never be 



exposed to the Christian ethos and die broad spectrum of liberal arts 
inquiry which one hopes prevails in most Christian colleges. The idea that 
liberal arts courses are more highly esteemed by die Lord dian vocational 
courses, or the assumption diat the Christian college cannot teach non- 
liberal arts subjects within the context of a truly liberal approach are 
both judged to be highly questionable. 

At Wesleyan there has been a proliferation of scientific and profes- 
sional organizations which have served to stimulate academic interest and 
intellectual curiosity beyond the classroom. For the first twenty or thirty 
years of the life of the school, this end was served in large measure by 
the literary societies. These eventually gave way to groups which repre- 
sented specific academic interests. The following roster of groups reflects 
this development: 

Benzene Ring (Chemistry), 1925- . 

Biology Club, 1926; replaced by Nucleus Club, 1936-37; replaced by Beta Beta 

Beta, 1947- . 
Wesleyan Chamber of Commerce (Business), 1927-31. 

Philosophical Club (Philosophy), 1928; replaced by Pi Epsilon Theta, 1949- . 
Pi Kappa Delta (Forensics), 1928-58. 
International Relations Club (Political Science), 1931- . 
Haught Literary Society (English), 1937- . 
Home Economics Club (Home Economics), 1938; replaced by Betty Lamp 

Club, 1943- . 

Sigma Alpha Sigma (Honorary Scholastic), 1939-50; two divisions: Beta for 

Women, Alpha for Men. 
Olympic Club (Athletics), 1936-47. 
Women's Athletic Association, 1940- . 
Future Teachers of America (Education) , 1942- . 
Alpha Psi Omega (Dramatic Arts), 1943- . 
Delta Psi Kappa (Athledcs for Women), 1949- . 
West Virginia Wesleyan Psychology Club, 1951- . 
Sociology Club, 1954- . 

Student Art Guild, 1959-60; Kappa Pi, 1962- . 
Music Educators National Conference, 1960- . 
Honorary Business Society, 1962- . 
S.N.E.A. (Education), 1962- . 
Debate Club (Speech), 1962- . 
Torch and Tassel (Honorary Scholastic and Activities for Junior and Senior 

Men), 1962; replaced by Omicron Delta Kappa, 1963- . 
American Guild of Organists, 1962- . 
Blackstone Law Club, 1963- . 
Psi Chi (Psychology Honorary), 1963- . 
Soquinta (Honorary Sophomore Scholastic), 1964- . 
Sigma Eta Sigma (Honoraiy Scholastic for Women), 1965- . 



All the ingredients on the level of curricular offerings which make for 
intellectual pursuit and of a structure of worship and study which make 
for an understanding of the meaning of the Christian faith are present 
in the Wesley an milieu. Are these elements welded together into a com- 
munity where learning is considered a Christian vocation? Does the 
college community possess the essential characteristics of the church, 
those of acceptance and forgiveness? Does it use fully its charter of free- 
dom to pursue the truth from whatever source it comes? Are students 
given the opportunities to develop fuUy their potential? 

One can suggest a number of facets of the life and work of Wesleyan 
which point to the answer to these questions. 

Wesleyan subscribes to the statement on academic freedom of the 
American Association of University Professors. There are no impediments 
to the discussion of any issue or the teaching of any idea beyond the 
requirements of good taste, intellectual honesty, and the adequate presen- 
tation of all sides of any question. There is a feeling on the part of some 
members of the community that the general pattern of thought which 
pervades the staff is too homogeneous, and that points of view which are 
at variance with the general pattern could be represented more adequately 
by persons committed to them. 

There is concern for the development of the whole person. This con- 
cern is evidenced in the attempt to provide an educational program which 
is balanced, to offer ample outlet for creative involvement in extra- 
curricular activities, to insure at least a minimal participation in physical 
exercise and sports, and to share in the experience of worship on a com- 
munity level and in small groups. Through testing, counseling and 
personal encounter the attempt is made to help the individual find him- 
self, to discover his interest and develop it. However, with the rapid 
increase in recent years of the size of the student body, difficulty has 
been experienced in keeping the personal touch, in which Wesleyan has 
taken pride, as vital as the members of the community would like it to 
be. In order to maintain this traditional emphasis, the administration 
has made every effort to augment the faculty with teachers who are in 
sympathy with the aims and ideals of the institution. 

There has been recognition also of the lack of a structured inter- 
disciplinary approach, of opportunity for independent study by students, 
and of an articulated philosophy or purpose which would give unity and 
direction to the work of the community. In a number of fields attempts 



are being made to overcome the lack of interdiscipKnary study and of 
independent study. 

Some doubts have been expressed as to whether Wesleyan has achieved 
a genuine Christian educational community. The Survey Report of the 
University Senate and the Board of Education of The Methodist Church 
took note of the extensive efforts of the school to provide the soil out of 
which such a community might grow. Nevertheless, the heterogeneous 
nature of the student body, and the considerable number of students 
from differing backgrounds, pursuing goals with no special religious 
motivation or orientation, was singled out as having produced a situation 
in which many students feel that the Wesleyan emphasis on religion is 
somewhat extreme. 

Further, the report noted, despite many factors contributing to effec- 
tive religious cultivation, religion, for the most part, appeared to be 
understood as connoting certain kinds of formal observances, on or off 
campus. That there may be religious commitment to truth, to intellectual 
workmanship, to scholarly achievement, and to vocational fulfillment 
appeared to the committee not to be very widely held. 

One distinguishing characteristic of Wesleyan's approach to its total 
task, especially in recent years, has been its viability. Increasing emphasis 
has been laid on experimentation, on finding ways to improve what is 
being done, on developing an educational program which wiU keep 
Wesleyan in the vanguard of the finest Hberal arts institutions. Plans 
have been proposed by several members of the faculty for a total re- 
organization of the educational program. 

A new approach to Wesleyan's total educational program, entitled 
"An Expanding Purpose," which incorporated suggestions made by these 
several plans, was presented to the Board of Trustees by President Martin 
in the spring of 1964. Among the concerns motivating the proposal was 
the fact, previously noted, that Wesleyan's curriculum is traditional, and 
that no major changes have been made over the years. Further, even 
though the objectives of the institution have been clearly stated and 
partially realized, there has been no conscious effort to implement a 
specific purpose in recent years. 

Aside from these needs in Wesleyan's own program, several forces 
at work in the general educational picture underscore the need for change. 
Chief among these are the growing emphasis on professional training 
and a deeping concern for hberal learning. An effective plan of education, 



Dr. Martin noted, must take cognizance of both of these concerns Wes- 
leyan must train not only technicians but also persons of social conscience, 
aesthetic and moral principles. 

The new approach proposed a hard core of liberal arts studies to be 
required of all students during their first two years at Wesleyan. Since 
Wesleyan is a "Christian college," the core program would be strongly 
onented toward Christian values. This emphasis would constitute a co- 
ordinating thread throughout the student's years at Wesleyan. The closing 
two or three years of study would be professional or pre-professional in 
one of eight separate schools of specialized training. 

The content of the hard core of liberal arts study was left open for 
further exploration, but the suggestion was made that it might well center 
about great ideas, great books, or great principles with a preference for 
those theologically or religiously oriented. 

The eight proposed schools of specialized training are: School of 
ReHgion and Humanities, School of Business Administration, School of 
Education, School of Music and Art, School of Physical Education, School 
of Social Sciences, School of Nursing, and School of Sciences. Each school 
would be organized with its own dean, faculty and advisory council. Hope- 
fully, the advisory councils would be composed of national authorities 
in each discipline and would work with the deans and stafT giving 
professional direction and insight, llie schools would not be considered 
separate entities but would be integrated with and based on the core of 
liberal arts studies. 

Summer programs would be provided for each of the student's years 
at Wesleyan including the summer prior to matriculation. Before register- 
ing for the freshman year each prospective student would be required to 
master a list of required readings designed to efTect the transition from 
high school to college and lay the groundwork for the first year of study. 
If necessary, the incoming student would participate in a remedial insti- 
tute designed to remove limitations and correct deficiencies. A similar 
program is projected for the summer following the freshman year. 

Each degree candidate would be expected to spend the second summer 
abroad with one of eight tours visiting centers associated with the tech- 
nical or professional focus of each of the eight schools. Each tour would 
be planned as a learning experience by a professor who would conduct 
the tour. 

The student's third summer would be devoted to a practicum in his 



professional field. Under the close supervision of the college and the 
cooperating agencies, the practicum would be planned as a period of 
testing and evaluation as the student moves into his fourth year The 
fourth year would involve a limited number of formal class situations and 
would stress senior seminars, honors work and independent study. A 
comprehensive examination and a senior thesis would complete the 
required work. 

The projection of a Master's Degree in the proposed plan represents 
perhaps its most unique feature, according to Dr. Martin. Students 
averaging a grade of "B" or better after four years and three summers 
of study would be eligible for an M.A. degree. Students maintaining an 
average of "B" or less could complete work for the M.A. by attending 
Wesleyan for a fifth year or by transferring to an affiliated university. 

An integral part of the graduation requirement for each student 
would be the completion of a basic course or program of churchmanship 
and active participation in some creative community project. This pro- 
gram, aimed at developing qualities of churchmanship and citizenship, 
would be under die supervision of a Director of Community Service and 
Churchmanship who would initiate projects with municipal and county 
authorities and church leaders. 

Since in the context of modern education good teaching involves 
sound research, the plan proposes that a basic research project involving 
both faculty and students should be in process at all times in each of the 
eight schools. Projects would be correlated by a Campus Director of 
Research working in cooperation with supervisory faculty members. Pilot 
studies in each school would be designed to evaluate methods of teaching. 
Such studies would be under the direction of a Director of Special 
Instruction and would be analyzed by the Director of Evaluation. 

A projected enrollment of 1500 students would require an estimated 
minimum of 100 faculty members to sustain the program. Fifty per cent 
of these should have their doctorates with the balance pursuing graduate 
study toward doctorates. Faculty members would be required, at the 
expense of the school, to spend a full summer away in study every fifth 
year in order to keep abreast of method and content in each area of 
study. Full professors would give lectures. Associate and assistant profes- 
sors, instructors and teaching fellows would conduct seminars. Teaching 
fellows would be students who had completed four years at Wesleyan 
and were candidates for the M.A. degree. Tutors from the senior class 



would be assigned to the various dormitories. Each year a scholar of 
national repute would be invited to the campus to spend a year in 
residence as visiting professor in some aspect of the core of liberal studies. 
He would be responsible also for the upper level courses in the area of 
his specialization. 

Under the plan three vice-presidents would be appointed, one in 
charge of academic affairs, one in charge of financial matters, and one 
in charge of development. The deans of the eight schools would form a 
University Senate and function under the supervision and direction of the 
academic vice-president. 

President Martin's suggestion that international study and travel 
should be a part of the educational experience at Wesleyan was picked 
up by Professor Duncan Williams, graduate of Christ Church College, 
Oxford University, England, and presently a member of the faculty of 
the English Department at Wesleyan. Professor Williams suggested that 
a branch institution might be established by buying or renting a suitable 
country property near Oxford, England, where up to a hundred students 
might study each year. The stimulus of sustained foreign contact could 
be achieved without a language barrier, the way would be opened for 
further travels in Europe, and a situation would be created in which the 
total learning process might be approached in a more integrated way. 

This anticipated approach to learning was, again, a move in a direc- 
tion pointed out in President Martin's "Expanding Purpose," but initiated 
from within the faculty and channeled through the Committee on Inter- 
national Studies formed in January 1965. The committee was to make 
policy suggestions and to serve a coordinating function for several aspects 
of international study and travel which were entering various stages of 
planning. It tackled the "England plan" as its first project. In addition 
to exploring the possibiHties for housing the branch institution, the com- 
mittee constructed a curriculum divided into two lecture courses with 
seminar and tutorial work taken in conjunction with each course. The 
lecture courses serve an integrating function, with the seminars and 
tutorials encouraging concentrated study in special areas of importance 
and interest. One lecture course centers around an historical approach 
from the Renaissance through the nineteenth century, while the other 
course concentrates on contemporary systems and problems. 

These proposals for giving Wesleyan a fresh approach to its total 
educational program are under discussion. Whatever their future may be, 



it can be said that a creative ferment is at work in the community, that 
not only will the face of Wesleyan change as campus and facilities ex- 
pand, but that the next decade is almost certain to see significant develop- 
ments in its academic life. It may be said also that these developments will 
reflect the ideal of Wesleyan to develop competent, cultured, Christian 





Samuel Woods 1887-1897 

H. C. McWhorter 1897-1913 

Charles W. Lynch 1913-1926 

Samuel V. Woods 1926-1928 

John Raine 1928-1933 

Clyde O. Law 1933-1956 

E. Ray Jones 1956-1959 

Myron B. Hymes 1 959- 


Bennett W. Hutchinson 1890-1898 

Frank B. Trotter (Acting) 1898 

Simon L. Boyers 1898-1900 

John Wier 1900-1907 

Carl G. Doney 1907-1915 

Thomas W. Haught (Acting) 1913-1914 

Wallace B. Fleming 1915-1922 

Thomas W. Haught (Acting) 1922-1923 

Elmer Guy Cutshall 1923-1925 

Thomas W^ Haught (Acting) 1925-1926 

Homer E. Wark 1926-1931 

Roy McCuskey 1931-1941 

Wallace B. Fleming (Acting) 1941-1942 

Joseph Warren Broylcs 1942-1945 

Arthur Allen Schoolcraft (Acting) 1945-1946 

William John Scarborough 1946-1956 

Arthur Allen Schoolcraft (Acting) 1956-1957 

Stanley Hubert Martin 1957- 




Frank B. Trotter 1890-1907 

William A. Haggerty 1907-1909 

Thomas W. Haught 1909-1929 

Oscar Doane Lambert 1929-1944 

Arthur Allen Schoolcraft 1944-1959 

Orlo Strunk, Jr 1959- 



Aberdeen, Maryland 21 

Academic Department 43 

Academy 43 

Academy Elementary School 27 

Administration Building 56, 60, 87, 

Administration Committee of the 

Board of Trustees 95 
Adrian College 98 
Advisory Service in Private Schools 

and Colleges 115 
A. Farnell Blair Company, Inc. 89 
Agey, C. Buell 113 
Agnes Howard Hall 56, 60, 64, 66, 

68, 83, 87, 93, 96, 102, 105 
Air Technical Command Service of 

the U. S. Air Force 94 
Albion College 78, 99 
Alderson, Martha 106 
Alleghenies 13 
Allegheny College 23 
Allegheny County, Maryland 22 
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania 22 
All Things Work Together for Good 

to Them That Love God (McCus- 

key) 20, 94 
Almond, Harold 93, 102 
Alpha Psi Omega 137 
Alumni 40, 115, 120, 122 
Alumni Association 47, 57, 118, 119, 

Alumni Athletic Board of West Vir- 
ginia Wesleyan College 57, 69 
Alumni Award 47, 120 
Alumni Council 120 
Alumni Directory 46 
Alumni Fund, Board of Directors 46 
Alumni House 119 
Alumni Magazine 75 
Alumni, Office of 104 
Alumni Permanent Endowment Fund 

Ambler, A. 19 
American Association of University 

Professors 80, 138 


American Association of University 

Women 64, 74, 81 
American City Bureau 104 
American Council on Education 81, 

American Dietetics Association 94 
American Guild of Organists 137 
American Schools and Colleges As- 
sociation 115 
American Studies, Center for 110 
American Studies, Institute of 110 
Anderson, C. Fred 59 
Andover-Newton School of Theology 

Annie Merner PfeifFer Estate 87 
Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library 27, 

89, 93, 121 
Applied Arts and Sciences, Division of, 

135, 136 
Archbold, John 41 
Area School for Ministers 68 
Army of the Potomac 24 
Art, Department of 33, 35, 79 
Arthur A. Schoolcraft Lectureship 

Arthur, Chester 24 
Artzberger, A. T. 104 
Asbury Academy 14 
Asbury, Francis 90 
Ash, D. L. 58 
Aspinall, Richard 47 
Association of American Colleges 74 
Athletics 50, 51, 57, 61, 62, 63, 66, 69. 

70, 77, 79, 95, 108, 119, 120, 122-123, 

Athletics, Director of 47, 57, 58, 119 
Athletic Association 57 
Athletic Board 63 
Atkinson Chapel 56, 107 
Atkinson Gateway 47 
Atkinson, George W. 56 
Atkinson Hall 64 
Atlanta, Georgia 87, 90 
Atomic Energy Commission 113 
Audio- Visual, Department of 104 
Augusta College 30 


Augusta, Kentucky 30 
Autobiography of Peter Cartwright 
(Strickland) 12 


Bachtel, Arthur 58 

Bachtel, Forrest 58 

Bachtel, Howard 58 

Bachtel, Ray 58 

Baker University 58, 73 

Baldwin, Charles R. 14 

Baldwin, Kansas 73 

Baltimore and Ohio Railroad 31, 50 

Baltimore Annual Conference 15, 22 

Baltimore, Maryland 104 

Bank, General 24 

Baptist (s) 1 1 

Barbour County, West Virginia 25 

Barboursville, West Virginia 20 

Bardall, John C. 23, 28 

Barnes, J. A. 23 

Barnum, Leonard 58 

Batelle, Gordon 14 

Batelle University 43 

Battles, Clifford "Cliff" 58 

Baxter Institute 16, 27 

Baxter, Richard 27 

Bayonne, New Jersey 54 

Beckett, Arthur E. 119 

Beckley, West Virginia 110 

Beeghley, Hobart 119 

Belfast, Ireland 21 

Bender, Richard N. 99. 125 

Benedum Campus Community Center 

Benedum Dining Hall 105 
Benedum Field, The 91 
Benedum, Michael 87, 90, 91, 105 
Benedum, Paul B. 105 
Benzene Ring 109, 137 
Berlin, University of 80 
Berkshire, Ralph L. B, 24 
Beta Beta Beta 137 
Betty Lamp Club 137 
Bible 11, 20, 35, 53, 112, 117, 121, 

Big Run Community, West Virginia 

Bishop, CM. 17 

Bishop's Day 71, 74 

Biology Club 137 

Blacksburg, Virginia 22 

Blackstone Law Club 137 

Blair, J. G. 16 

Blake, Brenda 106 

Bliss, Kathleen 125 

Board of Christian Social Concerns of 
The Metliodist Church 122 

Board of Education of Ministerial 
Training 68 

Board of Education of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church 43, 68, 99, 125 

Board of Education of the West Vir- 
ginia Annual Conference 78, 81, 
82, 89, 121 

Board of Hospital and Homes of The 
Methodist Church 111 

Board of Mission and Church Exten- 
sion of The Methodist Church 95 

Board of Trustees 16, 18, 20, 21, 23, 
25. 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 35, 36, 37, 
40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 50, 
53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 
63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 70, 71, 72, 75, 
76, 77, 78, 79, 82, 83, 84, 86, 87, 88, 
90, 91, 92, 95, 96, 99, 103, 104, 107, 
108, 114, 117, 120, 121, 122, 132, 139 

Board on Social and Religious Life 

Boaz, Alabama 82 

Bonner, John A. 21 

Boreman, A. I. 17 

Bos, J. J. 60 

Boston University 63, 80, 85, 98, 121 

Boston University, School of Theology 
20, 30, 67, 81 

Boyers, Simon L. 38, 39, 144 

Boys' Dormitory Building Fund, The 
86, 89 

Brademas, John 125 

Brake Property 113 

Brauer, Jerald C. 125 

126, 132, 133 . ,. 

Bible and Religion, Department of Bridgeport Cemetery 87 

107 Brothers Lumber Company 64 

Bible, Department of 33 Brown, Ralph C. 90 



Brown, Walter L. 114 

Broyles, Joseph Warren 46, 81, 82, 

83, 84, 85, 144 
Brushy Fork 93 
Buckhannon Bank 29 
Buckhannon Delta 32 
Buckhannon District 23, 26 

Buckhannon River 26, 91, 103 „v.„ ^...c. 

Buckhannon, West Virginia 16, 20. Chair'oFBibk and PhiroVoph7"'47 

21, 22, 23. 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, Chamberlain, Robert 102 

32, 33, 40, 41, 44, 46, 48, 50, 53, 54, 

66, 68, 71, 73, 77, 93, 102, 104, 106, 

Bucklin, Leonard 104 
Buhler, Herbert 113 

Carnlow, Ireland 21 

Caroleers, The 122 

Carper, William F. 26 

Cartwright, Frank T, 74 

Cartwright, Peter 12 

Castelle, D. T. E. 30, 34 

Central Jurisdiction 122 

Chairs for Atkinson Chapel Project 91 

Chamber of Commerce of Buckhan- 
non 91 

Chapel 48, 50. 56, 77. 86. 87, 99. 103. 
107, 132 

Charleston Methodist Church 24 

Building Committee of the Board of Charleston, West Virginia 15, 24, 40, 

Trustees 86 
Bullman, Gale 58 
Burgstahler, H. J. 78 
Burke, Albert E. 125 
Burley, Linda 106 
Burroughs Corporation 113 
Burroughs 205 Electronic Digital Com 

puter 133 
Bushnell, Horace 13 

41, 54, 83, 104 

Charles W. Gibson Library 46 

Cheerful Yesterdays and Confident To- 
morrows (Doney) 44 

Chemistry, Department of 84, 91, 113 

Chenug, James 94 

Chenug, Julia B. 94 

Chicago, Illinois 40, 41, 61 

C. H. Jimison and Sons 105 

Business, Department of 33, 75, 113, Chrestomathean Literary Society 49, 


Byrer, Harry 117 
Byrum Construction Company 


Chrisman. Lewis H. 61, 90 
89 Christ 17, 20, 130, 131, 137 

Christ Church College 142 
Christian Arts Festival 122 
Christian Century, The 125 
Christian Emphasis Week 132 

Cabell County 20 

Calvary Methodist Church 23 

Calvin A. West Memorial Chapel 86, Christianity 20, 125 ff 

89, 91. 107 Christian Scholar, The 125 

Calvin A. West Scholarship Fund, The Christian Service Fellowship 133 


Calvinism 1 1 
Camden Avenue, Buckhannon 103, 

105, 108, 113 
Cameron Circuit 67 
Cameron, West Virginia 67 
Camphor King 109 
Campus Center Program Board 106 
Canada 25. 39 
Canterbury Club 133 
Capital Funds Campaign 88. 89. 92. 

Carnegie, Andrew 41, 43 

Christopher. Frank 107 
Christopher, Mrs. Frank 107 
Church (s) 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 20, 35, 

43, 45, 48, 66, 71, 72, 76. 88, 90, 92. 

95, 111. 112. 115. 124. 125. 128. 138 
Cincinnati Advocate 17 
Cincinnati Reds 57 
Citizens Bank of Weston 23 
Civil War 11, 13. 14. 15. 22. 24 
Clarksburg. West Virginia 14. 15, 21, 

31, 41, 54. 73. 83. 86. 93, 96. 104, 

110, 111 
Classical Course 33, 42, 46 



Claude Worthington Benedum Foun- 
dation 90-91, 106, 107, 110 

Cleveland, C. C. 13 

Coe Foundation 110 

College Avenue, Buckhannon 27, 28, 
40, 47, 102, 119 

College Bulletin 119 

College Club 53 

College Hall 45, 47 

College of West Virginia 43 

Collins, Walter L. 119 

Columbia University 54 

Columbus, Ohio 117 

Commencement Love Feast 52 

Commercial Bank of Wheeling 25 

Committee of Religious Life Council 

Committee of the General Board of 

Education 82 
Committee on Centennial Celebration 

of the Anniversary Methodism in 

America 18 
Committee on Conference Seminary, 

The 16 
Committee on Education 18, 20, 43 
Committee Service and Churchman- 
ship, Director of 141 
Computer Center, The 113 
Confederacy, The 25 
Confederate Army 25 
Conference Commission on World 

Service Finance 68 
Congregational Church 13 
Conkling, Roscoe (Senator) 24 
Conley, Phil 75 
Connecticut, State of 104 
Conservatory of Music 40 
Cornell College 85 
Counseling and Placement Program 

Crabb, George 28 

Cumberland and Allegheny Gas Com- 
pany 103 
Cumberland, Maryland 104 
Cutshall, E. Guy 59, 60, 61, 144 


Dallas, Texas 58 

Davis, Sidney T. 96, 101 

Dayton, Ohio 93 

Deans, List of 145 

Debate Club 137 

Deism 11, 12 

Delhi, New York 21 

Delsarte System of Calisthenics 34 

Delta Psi Kappa 137 

Democratic Party 24 

Denton, D. A. 41 

Denver, Colorado 61 

Devil 1 1 

Diamond Jubilee Campaign 92, 104, 

Diamond Jubilee Celebration 91, 107, 

Dickinson College 22 
Dillon, Larry 106 
Dirks, J. Edward 122 
Discipline of The Methodist Church 

12, 65, 90 
Dix, D. H. K. 16 
Dolliver, May G. 40 
Doney, Carl G. 44, 45, 46, 47, 53, 54, 

73, 105, 144 
Dorothy Lee Scholarship Fund 94 
Dramateers, The 122 
Dramatic Arts 62 
Drew Theological Seminary 54 
Drew University 54, 81, 99 
Duquesne University 58 

Ecumenical Council 23 

Edina, Missouri 98 

Edna Jenkins Home Economics Cot- 
tage 93 

Education, Department of 80, 106, 

Educational Facilities Act of 1963 107 

Educational Society of Western Vir- 
ginia 15 

Edwards, Seymour 46, 47 

Elkins, High School 47 

Elkins, West Virginia 47 

Ellicott and Winchell 41 

Ellis, Franklin C. 123 

Emch, Rebecca 106 

Emeritus Club 122 

Emmanuel Church 30 



Empire National Bank of Clarksburg 

Endowment Fund 39, 40, 43, 45, 53, 

54, 55, 59-60, 63-64, 66, 68. 71, 72, 73, 

74, 85, 86, 92, 100, 118 
England 11, 142 
English, Courses in 34 
English, Department of 142 
Episcopal Church 13 
Epworth League 68 
Epworth League Institute 68 
Epworth Ministerial Association, The 

Epworth University 43 
Erie Conference 118 
European Educational System 79 
Evaluation, Director of 141 
Evolution 20 

Excelsior Literary Society 49, 62 
Executive Committee of the Board of 

Trustees 45 
Expanding Purpose, An 139, 140, 142 

Florida 104 

Florida Street, Buckhannon 64 

Fogleman Construction Company 105 

Footprints of an Itinerant (Caddis) 

Ford Foundation 92 

Forman Hospital 64 

Fort Dodge, Iowa 40 

Forty-ninth College Training Detach- 
ment (Air Crew) 93 

Foss, Cyrus David (Bishop) 32 

Foster, William D. 77, 119 

Fourth Street Methodist Episcopal 
Church, Wheeling 17 

Franklin, W. H. 51 

Fraternities 62, 102 

French Creek Institute 27 

French Creek, West Virginia 21, 27 

Freshman Week 65 

Frost, Robert 75 

Fullerton, J. A. 21 

Future Teachers of America 137 

Faculty Christian Fellowship 100, 102 

Fairmont Academy 24 

Fairmont Male and Female Seminary 
15, 22 

Fairmont State College 23 

Fairmont, West Virginia 15, 86 

Faith in Action 103 

Farmington, West Virginia 23 

Fayette County, Pennsylvania 25 

Federal Army 24, 25 

Federal Housing Act 89 

Federal Public Housing Authority 85 

Federal Works Administration 94 

Ferre, Nels F. S. 102, 122 

Fiftieth Anniversary of the College 
72, 73 

First Methodist Church of Buckhan- 
non 66 

First Methodist Church of Clarksburg 

First Methodist Church of Weston 23 

First National Bank of Grafton 29 

Fleming Hall 89 

Fleming, Wallace B. 54, 55, 56, 57, 
59, 73, 74, 77, 79, 82, 86, 89, 144 

Caddis, Maxwell P. 14 

Gage (President) 79 

Geisy, M. F. 36, 40 

General Assembly of Virginia 26 

General Board of Education of The 

Methodist Church 60, 63, 78, 85, 

87, 88, 98, 117, 122 
General Conference of The Methodist 

Church 65, 68, 78, 92 
General Conference of the Methodist 

Episcopal Church (1888) 23, 68 
General Education 135 
General Education Board of New York 

Genessee Wesleyan Seminary 37 
George, A. G. 16 
Georgetown, D. C. 22 
Georgetown University 51 
Germany 23 
Gettysburg, Battle of 22 
Gilbert, Albin R. 113 
Glauner, George 60, 75 
Glen Arm, Ireland 21 
Glendale Methodist Church 23 
Gobi Desert 75 



God 12. 17. 90. 125. 127. 129, 130, 134 
GofF, Nathan, Sr. 17 
Gold Bonds 70, 71. 83, 84 
Graduation. Requirements for 60. 79. 

108. 141 
Grafton Hospital 22 
Grafton, West Virginia 17, 21, 23, 24, 

28, 29, 31 
Graham, C. B. 36, 41 
Great Revival in the West, The 

(Cleveland) 13 
Greenbrier Hotel 87 
Grieser, Ralph 112 
Gross, John O. 85, 88, 89, 99, 125 
Gymnasium 45, 48, 55. 56, 60, 61, 88. 

103, 107 


Haggerty, W. A. 44, 144 

Hail West Virginians! (Kessler) 50 

Half-Million Fund Campaign 54, 55, 
59. 60 

Hamline Methodist Church 44 

Hamline University 82. 85 

Hancock, Maryland 21 

Hanifan, John E. 71 

Harding and Uphaus 41 

Harmer Gateway 47 

Harmer, Harvey 93 

Harris, Frank 87 

Harris, Julian H. 90 

Harrison County — Clarksburg Depart- 
ment of Public Assistance 1 1 1 

Harrisville, West Virginia 24 

Harvard University 38. 46, 80 

Haudashelt, John Elmer 123 

Haught Literary Society 137 

Haught, Thomas W. 34. 36, 38, 39, 
41, 46, 47, 50, 52. 59. 61, 63, 75, 144, 

Hawkins, Jim 123 

Haymond Science Hall 46, 91, 93, 95 

Haymond, Sydney 46 

Haymond, Virginia 46 

Health Center and Infirmary 102 

Heating and Power Plant 45. 107 

Heffner. J. W. 16 

Hess, Gary 123 

Higgins, Bob 58 

Hillel Society 133 
Hingham, Massachusetts 67 
Hingham Methodist Church 67 
History, Department of HI 
History of Education in West Virginia, 

A (Ambler) 19 
Holly Grove Circuit 67 
Holston Conference 81 
Home Economics Club 137 
Home Economics, Department of 79, 

Homiletic Association 133 
Honorary Business Society 137 
Honorary Degree (s) 46, 47, 68 
Hour of Power 122 
House of Delegates, West Virginia 24 
Housing and Home Finance Agency 

92. 106 
Howard, Agnes 56 
Howard, C. D. 56 
Hughes, Edwin Holt (Bishop) 90 
Hughes, T. B. 16 
Hughes, R. M. 61, 63 
Hughes, W. W. 56 
Huntington, West Virginia 13, 68, 

105, 110 
Hutchinson, Bennett W. 29, 30, 31, 

34, 35. 36. 37, 38, 42, 46, 50, 52, 53, 

Hyde, (Dean) 79 
Hyma Chemical Laboratory 109 
Hyma. Nicholas 60, 90, 96, 109 
Hymes, Myron B. 144 
Hymnbook 12 

Idea of a College, The (Trueblood) 

Iliff Seminary 61 
Illinois 22 
Indianola, Iowa 98 
Indian (s) 11 

Institution of Academic Grade 18 
Instructional Innovations 114 
Intellectualism 11, 12 
International Education 109 
International Geophysical Year 110 
International Relations Club 137 



International Studies, Committee on 

Iowa 104 

Iowa, University of 98 
Irwin, Keith 102 
Israel, Clinton F. 86, 87 

Jackson, M. 28 
Jackson's Mill 23 
Japan 39, 117 
Japanese Society, The 117 
Jenkins, Edna 93, 94, 105 
Jenkins Hall 105 
John I. Vandergrift Company 105 
Jones, C. A. 117 
Jones, E. Ray 97, 144 
Jordan, L. H. 21, 25, 28, 29, 36 
Jubilee Campaign 54 
Judge Samuel Woods Memorial Col- 
lection 117 
Judy, Cliff 123 


Kanawha County, West Virginia 24, 

Kansas City, Missouri 90, 123 
Kappa Phi 102, 133 
Kappa Pi 137 

Kellogg Foundation, The 117 
Kenna, Ed 51 
Kentucky University 58 
Kessler, Kent 50 
Keyser, West Virginia 46 
Kindergarten Laboratory 1 1 1 
King, Albion R. 122 
King, C. H. 51 
Kingwood, West Virginia 21 
Kiser, Raymond 115 
Kisner, John W. 64 
Kohlheim, Walter 93 
Korean Police Action 95 

Ladies' Hall 36. 40, 45, 47, 50, 53, 56 
Lambert, Oscar D. 75, 78, 145 
Languages, Courses in 38 
Languages, Literature and Fine Arts, 
Division of 79 


Lantern, The 133 

Larson and Larson 103 

Latham, Jean 74 

Latin, Courses in 38 

Latin American Studies, Center for 

Law, Clyde O. 86, 90, 91, 196, 122, 

Lawson, R. 27 
Lebanon, Illinois 85 
Lee, Dorothy 94 
Lee, Humphrey 78 
Leffler, Emil 99 

Leonard, Adna Wright (Bishop) 74 
Leonard, E. 16 
Leonard, Levi 26 
Lewis County, West Virginia 23 
Lewis, P. C. 26 
Library 35, 37, 44, 56. 63, 64, 72, 73, 

74, 75, 77, 79, 86, 87, 89, 90, 95, 100, 

108, 116, 117, 121 
Library Committee 64, 75 
Library Day 75 
Liggett Addition 66 
Lincoln Collection, The 117 
Lincoln's Gettysburg Address 81 
Lincoln, Nebraska 85 
Lindenwood College 79 
Ling, James I. 89, 91, 96, 104, 121 
List, H. K. 17 
Literary Course 33, 42 
Literary Societies 48 
Literature, Department of 33 
Little All-American Team 58 
Little Kanawha Circuit 14 
Little Kanawha River 18 
L. L. Loar and Family Memorial Hall 

of Music and Fine Arts 85, 89, 94. 

Loar, Mrs. Lawson 85 
Loar, L. L. 83 
Locour, Laurence 102 
Locust Street, Buckhannon 26 
Long Range Development Plan 104 
Long Range Planning Committee 99, 

Ludington, Michigan 88 
Lyda, A. J. 21, 28 
Lyma, New York 37 



Lynch, C. W. 56, 96, 144 
Lynch, Lawrence 83, 84 
Lynch-Raine Administration Building 
30, 91, 96, 107, 119, 121 


McCormick, Samuel Phillips 24, 28 
McCue, A. F. 83-85 
McCullough, Richard 106 
McCuskey Hall 92, 105-106 
McCuskey, Roy J. 20, 57, 59, 67, 68, 

69, 70, 71, 72, 74, 77, 94, 131, 136, 

McGrath, Earl J. 125 
McKendree College 85 
McKendree, William (Bishop) 12 
McWhorter, H. C. 21, 24, 28, 47, 144 
McWhorter, Marcellus 24 
MacDonald, Jim 123 
MacKenzie, Mr. 79 
Maine 113 
Main Hall 44 
Mansfield, Massachusetts 30 
Maplewood, New Jersey 54 
Marietta College 80 
Marion County, Ohio 24 
Marion County, West Virginia 24 
Marshall Academy 13 
Marshall College 59 
Marshall County 67 
Marsh, James 106 
Martin, Benjamin F. 23, 28, 36 
Martinsburg, West Virginia 117 
Martin, Stanley H. 46, 98, 99, 102, 

103, 104, 107, 108, 114, 121, 131, 135, 

139, 140, 141, 142 
Marx, H. Boyer 87 
"Maryland My Maryland" 51 
Mary Reynolds Babcock Foundation 

Mason City, West Virginia 27 
Massachusetts 104 
Master Plan for Campus 98, 99 
Mathematics, Department of 113 
Mathews, W. B. 58 
Meade Street, Buckhannon 36, 47, 

105, 113, 119 
Meadville, Pennsylvania 25 
Memorial Gate 47 

Merit Awards 70 
Merner, Garfield 88 
Methodism 12, 13, 20, 37, 76, 89 
Methodist (s) 11, 13, 18, 35, 39, 67. 

71, 76,86, 90, 115, 124, 132 
Methodist All-American Team 123 
Methodist, Attitude toward education 

11, 13, 15 
Methodist Board of National Missions 

Methodist Church, The 14, 71, 77, 

79, 84, 90, 118, 130, 133 
Methodist Episcopal Church, Board of 

Foreign Missions of 74 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South 

14, 20, 78, 82, 90 
Methodist Episcopal Church, The 13, 

14, 15, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 32, 

38, 43, 54, 59, 67, 75, 85, 98 
Methodist Episcopal Times 21-22 
Methodist Girls Club 133 
Methodist Room 93, 121 
Methodist Student Movement 102, 

122, 133 
Methodist University of West Virginia 

Methodist Youth Fellowship 133 
Miami University 61 
Mikkelson, Dwight 111 
Military Science, Department of 34 
Miller, Carl V. 119 
Mills, W. O. 27, 41 
Millwood, Virginia 107 
Mingo Flats, West Virginia 22 
Ministerial Association 133 
Minnesota Conference 85 
Mississippi River 13 
Mitchell, Hinckley 20 
Monongalia County, West Virginia 24 
Morgantown, West Virginia 104 
Momingside College 85 
Moore, Archbold 58 
Moore, John M. (Bishop) 90 
Moreland, J. Earl 78 
Morgantown, Pennsylvania 25 
Morgantown, West Virginia 19, 24, 

Morris, F. K. 75 
Morris Harvey College 78 



Moseley, John D. 125 

Moundsville Methodist Episcopal 

Church 23 
Moundsville, West Virginia 23 
Mount Hebron School 13 
Mount Union College 79 
Mount Vernon, Iowa 85 
Murmurmontis 52 
Music, Department of 33, 35, 40, 81, 

Music Educators National Conference 

Music Hall 40. 45, 55, 83 
Muskingum College 54 


Nashville, Tennessee 87, 98, 125 
National Association of Intercollegiate 

Athletics 123 
National Association of Intercollegiate 

Tournament 123 
National Association of Schools of 

Music 81, 94 
National Council for Accreditation of 

Teacher Education 112 
National Football Hall of Fame 58 
National Institute of Health 113 
National League for Nursing 111 
National Science Foundation 109, 

110, 113 
National Teacher's Examination Cen- 
ter 94 
Natural Science, Division of 79 

Navy 58 

Neale, Earle "Greasy" 57 

Neale, Mrs. C. Edmond 75 

Nebraska Wesleyan 61 

Neely, Mathew W. 83 

Negroes 95 

Nemeschy, Robert B. 104 

Newark, Ohio 54 

New England 27 

New England Conference 98 

New Jersey 72, 104 

New Lexington, Ohio 25 

Newlon, G. A. 16 

Newman Club 133 

New York Advocate, The 17 

New York City 23, 115 

New York, State of 23, 41, 72, 85, 104 
New York University 58 
Nickell, Patton L., Jr. 121 
Normal Class of 1913 47 
Normal Course 33, 35, 60, 112 
North Central Association of Colleges 

and Secondary Schools 47, 61, 62, 

63, 64, 66, 68, 69, 70, 74, 78, 79, 80, 

81, 82, 96, 136 
Northeastern Jurisdiction 115 
Northeast Jurisdiction for Methodist 

Youth Caravans 96, 111 
North Street Methodist Episcopal 

Church of Wheeling 25, 68 
Northwestern Virginia Academy 14, 

Nucleus Club 93, 137 
Nursing, Department of 111 


Oak Grove, The 27, 37 

Oakland, Maryland 97 

Oberlin University 27 

O'Blenness, Henry 29 

Ogden, J. F. 29, 31 

Ohio 39, 44, 54, 104 

Ohio Annual Conference 14 

Ohio Wesleyan College 78 

Ohio Wesleyan University 21, 30, 38, 

Old Music Hall 91 
"Old Smokey" 106 
Olin and Preston Institute 22 
Olympic Club 137 
Omicron Delta Kappa 137 
Orwin, E. H. 21 
O'Toole, Robert C. 13 
Oxford, England 142 
Oxford University 142 

Parkersburg District 68 

Parkersburg Male and Female Sem- 
inary 14 

Parkersburg, West Virginia 17, 21, 
27, 31, 68, 93, 104 

Patenaude, Dean 123 

Patterson, New Jersey 54 

Pearsons, D. K. 40, 41 



Peck (Coach) 50 

Pelter, A. Ivan 88, 89 

Pennsylvania 72, 104, 121 

Pepin, John 99 

Peterson, Fredrick A. 

Peterson, Nelson 58 

Pfeiffer, Annie Merner 85, 86, 87, 

88, 89 
Pharos 51 

Philadelphia Eagles 58 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 59, 104 
Philippi, West Virginia 20, 21 
Philosophical Club 137 
Philosophy, Department of 107 
Physical Culture, Department of 34 
Physical Education, Department of 70 
Physical Science, Study Committee for 

Physics 110 
Physics, Department of 91, 110, 113 
Pi Epsilon Theta 137 
Pi Kappa Alpha 75 
Pi Kappa Alpha National Debating 

Tournament 75 
Pi Kappa Delta 62, 137 
Pittsburgh Annual Conference 14, 22, 

Pittsburgh Area 82, 90 
Pittsburgh Christian Advocate, The 

17, 18 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 23, 25, 84, 

Plan of Union 90 
Plummer, Kenneth M. 106, 121 
Poe Brothers 50 
Policy Commission of the Board of 

Trustees 87, 99 
Portraits of the Deans 90 
Portraits of the Presidents 90 
Post, Martin and Company 41 
Potomac State College 46 
Poundstone, A. M. 16, 21, 25, 28, 29, 

Poundstone, Ayers and Godwin 87 
Preaching 11 

Preparatory Department 43 
Presbyterian (s) 11, 12, 13, 27 
Presbyterian Church of Buckhannon 

Presidents, List of 144 

Presidents of the Board of Trustees, 
List of 144 

President's Residence 45, 53, 60, 102 

Preston County 38 

Price, J. Roy 91, 104, 105 

Price, Leslie D. 120 

Princeton University 50 

Providence, Rhode Island 30 

Pruntytown, West Virginia 23 

Psi Chi 137 

Psychology, Department of 113 

Psychology, Education and Religion, 
Division of 79 

Psychology, Sociology and Anthropol- 
ogy, Department of 113 

Publications, Office of 104 

Public Information, Office of 104 

Pugh, William 123 

Quincy College 98 

Quincy, Illinois 98 


Radio Station 106 

Raine, John 96, 144 

Rainelle, West Virginia 96 

Randolph Academy 14 

Randolph Circuit 22 

Randolph-Macon College 78 

Rapking, Aaron 56 

Rast, George 111 

Ray Collection Agency of Wheeling, 

The 59 
Reemsnyder, David 58, 123 
Reger, J. W. 16, 18, 19, 21, 26, 28, 31 
Reger, Robert A. 41 
Reger, Roy 33, 48, 49 
Regional Council for International 

Education 109 
Religious Education, Courses in 56 
Religious Education, Department of 

Religious Emphasis Week 74, 132 
Religious Life Council, The 101, 102, 

Remley, Ken 123 
Republican Delta 77 
Republican National Convention 24 



Republican Party 24 

Republican State Executive Commit- 
tee 24 

Research, Campus Director of 141 

Research, Committee on 112 

Research Corporation 113 

Revivalism 11, 12, 13 

Revivalism in America (Sweet) 13 

Rhine, J. B. 102 

Richard King Mellon Foundation 107 

Richmond, Virginia 25 

Ritchie County 24 

Roanoke College 38 

Roberts, Leonard 113 

Rockefeller Foundation 95 

Rockefeller Fund, The 55 

Rohrbough, A. B. 21, 22 

Rose Bowl 57 

Rossbach, George 113 

Ross, Cecil B. "Cebe" 58, 62, 90, 95, 

Ross, Samuel 123 

Rural Department of the Board of 
Home Missions and Church Exten- 
sion of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church 56 

Rural Leadership, Department of 56 

Ryan, E. W. 16 

Sabbath, The 49, 52, 53, 132 

Saga Food Service 120 

Saint Andrews Methodist Church 68 

St. Mary's Hospital 93 

St. Paul's Methodist Church 30 

Salem, West Virginia 21 

Scarborough, William J. 84, 85, 86, 

88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 96. 97, 119, 144 
Schaper, Florence W. 96 
Schilling, Harold 102 
Schnabel, Jane 106 
School and Advisory Center 115 
Schoolcraft, Arthur A. 80, 81, 84, 94, 

96, 97, 121, 133, 144, 145 
Schulmerich, Carillon 107 
Science 95 

Science Hall 37, 60, 91, 99, 107 
Scientific American 95 
Scientific Course 33, 35, 42 

Scio College 39 

Seaton, John 78 

Second Constitutional Convention 25 

Second Great Awakening 11 

Sedgwick Street, Buckhannon 27, 60 

Seifrit, William 62 

Semi-Centennial Campaign 73, 78, 83 

Semi-Centennial Celebration 73 

Semi-Centennial Fund 83 

Semi-Centennial Planning Committee 

Seminary Collegiate 50, 51, 118 

Seminary Herald, The 51 

Service Center, The 121 

Seventh Avenue Methodist Church 68 

Seventh West Virginia Volunteer In- 
fantry 22 

Seventy-fifth Anniversary 91 

Shanghai, China 94 

Shannon, A. G. 91, 107 

Shannon Bells 107 

Shaver, Floyd N. 119 

Shaver, John D. 96 

Shaw, Harry 86 

Sherwood, Laurence 14 

Shingleton, L. C. 86 

Shinnston, West Virginia 68 

Sigma Alpha Sigma 137 

Sigma Eta Sigma 137 

Sigma Theta Epsilon 102, 133 

Simpson College 98 

Simpson Methodist Church 23 

Sioux City, Iowa 85 

Sistersville. West Virginia 30 

Sixth Decade 1940-1950, The (Haught) 

Smith, Bill 123 

Smith, George Dolliver 47 

Smith, William 106 

Suavely, Guy 74 

Snead Junior College 82 

Social Life Committee 65 

Social Science, Division of 79, 113 

Sociology Club 137 

Soquinta 137 

Sororities 62, 102 

Southern Illinois Conference 22, 85 

Southern Methodist University 58, 78 

Special Instruction, Director of 141 



Special Sub-Committee on Policy Mak- 
ing 91 

Speech, Department of 62 

Staats, Loren 62 

Stallings, G. J. 91 

Stansbury, Harry 47, 57 

Stansbury, Robert James 106, 119 

State Commission on Higher Educa- 
tion 107 

State High School Athletic Association 

State High School Basketball Tourna- 
ment 47, 48 

State School at Keyser 46 

Stealey, Helen 111 

Steele, Samuel 16 

Stenography, Department of 33 

Stewart, L. L. 21, 22 

Steyer, George N. 51 

Straughn, James H. (Bishop) 78, 87, 

Strawberry Festival 75 

Strickland, W. P. 12 

Strunk, Orlo, Jr. 114, 121, 125, 132, 
136, 145 

Student Army Training Corps 55 

Student Art Guild 137 

Student Center of Wesleyan (SCOW) 
77. 94, 99, 102, 106 

Student Christian Association 133 

Student National Education Associa- 
tion 137 

Student Personnel Center 102 

Student Representative Council 60 

Student Volunteer Movement 66 

Sugar Bowl 58 

Summers, Mrs. Clifford L. 106 

Sundial 119 

Supreme Court of Appeals, West Vir- 
ginia 24, 25 

Sweet, W. W. 13 

Syracuse University 58 

Talbott, Mrs. Martin 106 
Tannery Property 91 
Tavener, Emma 29 
Taylor County, West Virginia 24 
Teacher Education 112, 117 

Teacher Education, Committee on 

Teacher's Insurance and Annuity As- 
sociation 75 

Teeple, Howard 112 

Tennessee, State of 81 

Testing and Evaluation Services 106, 
113, 122, 138 

Theology 1 1 

Third Virginia Volunteers 21 

Thompson, Frank M. 50 

Thomson Methodist Church 68 

Tilson, Everett 102 

Tobey, Stephen 113 

Torch and Tassel 137 

Town and Country Program 112 

Trotter, Frank B. 30, 38, 40, 41, 44, 
52, 74, 144 

Trotter, Jessie B. 105 

Trueblood, Elton 102 

Trustee 1 25 

Tusculum College 81 

Twentieth Century Thank Offering 

Tygart River 22 

Tyler County 46 


Union Carbide Company 104 

Union Carbide Educational Founda- 
tion 92 

Union Protestant Hospital 111 

Union, The 25 

Union Trust Company of Pittsburgh 

Uniting Conference 90 

Universalist (s) 25 

University of California 57 

University of Chicago 79 

University Senate 142 

University Senate of New York 81 

University Senate of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church 42, 68, 72, 74, 81, 
99, 139 

United Brethren in Christ's Church 

United States 27, 55 

United States Congress 23 

United States Government 16 



United States Housing Authority 87 
Upper Iowa Conference 85 
Upshur County 16, 25, 26, 28, 50 
Upton, A. V. J. 83 


Victory Fund 55, 60 
Virginia 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 
Virginia, General Assembly of 13 
Virginia, University of 19 
Volga, West Virginia 21 


Walker, Everett L. 99 

Wark, Homer E. 63, 64, 65, 67, 69, 

Wark, Mrs. Homer E. 66 

Washington and Jefferson College 57 

Washington County, Ohio 38 

Washington County, Pennsylvania 24 

Washington, D. C. 41, 44, 104 

W. A. Wilson and Sons 25 

Waynesburg College 58 

Weaver and Bardall 23 

Webster Debating Club 62 

Weir, John 39, 40, 41, 42, 44, 50, 144 

Weir, Mrs. John 39 

Wellsburg, Pennsylvania 23 

Wells, E. 28 

Wesleyan Chamber of Commerce 137 

Wesleyan Debating Club 62 

Wesleyan Forensic Association 62 

Wesleyan Players, The 62 

Wesleyan Student Loan Board In- 
corporated 69 

Wesleyan University of West Virginia 

Wesleyan Volunteer Band, The 66, 

Wesley College 43 

Wesley Foundation 92 

Wesley Foundation of West Virginia 
University 64 

Wesley, Charles 11 

Wesley, John 11, 90 

Wesley Weds 122 

West, Calvin A. 74, 89, 107 

West, Mrs. Calvin A. 86, 107 

Western Pennsylvania Conference 
118, 122 

Western Penitentiary 23 

West Main Street, Buckhannon 26 

Weston Red Cross 23 

Weston State Hospital 111 

Weston, West Virginia 21, 23, 31, 32, 
95, 104, 111 

West Union, West Virginia 24 

West Virginia and Pittsburgh Railroad 

West Virginia Annual Conference 14, 
15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 25, 28, 34, 39, 
55, 59, 67, 70, 71, 78, 87, 88, 90, 92 
98, 103, 118, 121, 122 

West Virginia Athletic Intercollegiate 
Conference 123 

West Virginia Bowl 123 

West Virginia College 43 

West Virginia Conference Intercol- 
legiate Basketball Tournament 74 

West Virginia Conference Seminary 
19, 22, 25, 27, 28, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34. 
36, 37, 39, 67, 132 

West Virginia Conference Seminary, 
Discontinuance of 43 

West Vii:ginia Education Society, The 

West Virginia Foundation of Inde- 
pendent Colleges 96 

West Virginia History 13 

West Virginia Intercollegiate Confer- 
ence 58 

West Virginia Intercollegiate Speech 
Festival 74 

West Virginia Methodist Historical So- 
ciety 13, 121 

West Virginia State Board of Ex- 
aminers for Registered Nurses 1 1 1 

West Virginia State Board of Educa- 
tion 46, 112 

West Virginia State Department of Ed- 
ucation 109 

West Virginia State Legislature 25, 
26, 33 

West Virginia National Guard 34 

West Virginia Normal and Classical 
Academy, The 27 

West Virginia, School Fund Invest- 
ment 64, 83 



West Virginia, State of 15, 18, 21, 22. 

23, 24. 25, 30, 35, 37. 38. 43. 44. 46. 

48. 52, 56. 57, 58, 64, 74. 83, 84, 86, 

96, 99. 104, 110, 113, 115. 116. 119. 

West Virginia State Superintendent of 

Schools 15. 22 
West Virginia University 19, 38. 46, 

50. 58, 64, 84 
West Virginia Wesleyan College 
West Virginia Wesleyan College 1890- 

1940 (Haught) 46 
West Virginia Wesleyan College: 

Accreditation of 61 

Admission to 95 

Alma Mater Song 82 

As Liberal Arts College 76. 100, 
126, 129 

As Christian College 87, 99. 100. 
124. 143 

College Song of 52, 73 

Colors of 50 

History of 73, 121 

Objectives of 98, 99, 130. 134, 135 

Pageant of 74 

Program of Advance for 82 

Semi-Centennial Celebration of 73 

Student Life 48, 49, 65 

Under Methodist Control 77 

When so named 43 
West Virginia Wesleyan College 

Science Education Act 95 
West Virginia Wesleyan Psychology 

Club 137 
West Virginia Wesleyan University 

Wheeling College 31 
Wheeling Fourth Street Metliodist 

Episcopal Church 17 
Wheeling High School 47 
Wheeling. West Virginia 17, 21, 23, 

25, 28. 36, 47. 59, 68, 89. 104 

Whitehead, A. N. 134 

White, Henry 50 

White. W. R. 15. 16. 22, 28, 32 

Who's Who in Small College Basket- 
ball 123 

Wicke. Myron F. 99 

Willamette University 53 

Williams, Duncan 142 

Williams, George H. 125 

Williams, John H. 36 

Willis. William 113 

Wills and Estate, Committee on 121 

Wilson. Nellie G. 96 

Wilson. William A. 25 

Windover-Hills Lectureship in Re- 
ligion 122 

Winston-Salem, North Carolina 103 

Withers. J. S. 36 

Withrow and Company 41 

Women's Athletic Association 137 

Wood. Bill 123 

Woodsfield. Ohio 39 

Woods, Samuel 25, 28. 29. 144 

Woods. Samuel V. 56, 144 

World Series 1919 57 

World War One 23, 55 

World War Two 69. 85, 93, 115, 121 

Wright Field 93, 94 

Wright, John 113 

Wright, Scott 106 

Yale University 122 

Young. Houston G. 57, 120 

Young, John 106 

Young Men's Christian Association 

52. 133 
Young. U. G. 56 
Young Women's Christian Association 

52. 133 


About the Author 


Professor of History 

When in 1959 the author was invited 
to teach Bible and Religion and direct 
the Library of Religion at West Virginia 
Wesleyan College, he was returning to 
familiar grounds. For though born in 
Frostburg, Maryland, he had served 
churches in Clarksburg and Ridgeley, 
West Virginia, and was familiar with the 
mountains and people of the great state 
of West Virginia, and of The Methodist 
Church which has played such a dynamic 
role in the state's history. 

Dr. Plummer received his B.A. degree 
from Western Maryland College, his B.D, 
degree from Garrett Biblical Institute, 
and his Ph.D. from the University of 
Chicago. He has taught Bible and reli- 
gion at Wesleyan for the past seven years. 
In September of 1965, just before the 
publication of this volume, he was ap- 
pointed professor of history at West Vir- 
ginia Wesleyan College. 

About the Author 


Professor of History 

When in 1959 the author was invited 
to teach Bible and Religion and direct 
the Library of Religion at West Virginia 
Wesleyan College, he was returning to 
familiar grounds. For though born in 
Frostburg, Maryland, he had served 
churches in Clarksburg and Ridgeley, 
West Virginia, and was familiar with the 
mountains and people of the great state 
of West Virginia, and of The Methodist 
Church which has played such a dynamic 
role in the state's history. 

Dr. Plummer received his B.A. degree 
from Western Maryland College, his B.D. 
degree from Garrett Biblical Institute, 
and his Ph.D. from the University of 
Chicago. He has taught Bible and reli- 
gion at Wesleyan for the past seven years. 
In September of 1965, just before the 
publication of this volume, he was ap- 
pointed professor of history at West Vir- 
ginia Wesleyan College.