(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of West Virginia, old and new, in one volume, and West Virginia biography, in two additional volumes"

WEST VIRGIMiA 
UfliVERSITY 



'k. FLO/, 



West Virginia University Libraries 



3 0802 100302095 8 



West Virginia University Libri 

This book is due on the date i 



beic 



^UH 2d ]II8S 



d « 



|SX -n 



It-M 






S-3\-?0|0 



)£C 3 01996 



HISTORY 

OF 

WEST VIRGINIA 

Old and New 



WEST VIRGINIA BIOGRAPHY 

By Special Staff of Writers 



VOLUME II 

BIOGRAPHICAL 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, Inc. 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 

1913 



APPAL. RM. 

.(LIS' 



library 
'^eat Tlrginift Dniversfty 



Copyright 1923, 

by 

The American Historical Society, Inc. 




^i-^c^^^iytrC..^<^-(^^ 



History of West Virginia 



Pk. IsKAEL C Whitk received liis Bachelor's degree from 
West Virginia University in 1872. In the interval of half 
a century his work has brought him a reputation among 
America's foremost scientific scholars and greatest authori- 
ties in the field of geology. West Virginia is proud of him 
not only as a native son, but for the fact that, so frequently 
associated with labors in other states, under the national 
government and foreign governments, he has regarded 
Morgantown as his home, and for much the greater part 
of fifty years has been officially connected with the faculty 
of West Virginia University or as state geologist. 

While the invesligation has been the result of labors 
of others, Doctor White is one of the few men who pre- 
sent a connected genealogical account of his family run- 
ning back through twenty-eight consecutive generations. 
A volume published in 1920, entitled "Genesis of the 
White Family ' ' furnishing a connected record of the 
White family beginning with 900, at the time of its 
Welsh origin, when the name was Wynn. Briefly this 
lineage of twenty-eight generations is given in the fol- 
lowing paragraphs. 

1. Otho, living in the time of Edward the Confessor, 
1042-65; 2. Walter Fitz Otho, whose name appears in 
Domesday Book; 3. Gerald Fitz Walter, married Nesta, 
daughter of Rys ab Tewdwdwr (Ehys ab Tudor), Prince 
of South Wales, slain in 1093; 4. Maurice Fitz Gerald; 
5. Walter White (Whyte), of Wales, was made a knight 
by Henry II. His descendant : 6. Thomas de Whyte, 
was assessed in Martock in 1333 ; 7. Kobertus White, men- 
tioned as Robert WTiyte de Alnewyk, in the Knights of 
Yorkshire, 31 of Edward I., 1303, as of Agton (the pres- 
ent Egton in North Riding), in Chapter House, West- 
minster; 8. Wilelmus White, living in Yorkshire in 1339; 
9. Adam White, living in 136.5; 10. Johannes White, of 
Yorkshire, living in 1390 ; 11. Johannes White, Jr., Alder- 
man and Grosinor of York, living in 1394 ; 12. Johannes 
White, of North Colyngham, Nottinghamshire, is named 
in the list of landed gentry of Nottinghamshire, drawn 
by order of Henry VI, 1428; 13. Robert White, "mer- 
chant and maior of the staple of Calais, b. at Yatley, 
in Hampshire, his dwelling (sic) was first at Sandwich, 
in Kent and after at Famham, in Surrey where he de- 
ceased, hee purchased the mannor of Southwarnbourne, of 
Sr. Fouike Pembridge, knt., hee had a wiffe Alice." He 
was living in 1461 or 1462. 14. John White of Swan- 
borne, died 1469-70, married Eleanor Hungerford; 15. 
Robert White, born about 1455, married Margaret Gayns- 
ford; 16. Robert White of Swanbome, married Elizabeth 
Englefield; 17. Henry White, father of "The Chancellor; " 
18. Henry White, born about 1514; 19. John White, mar- 
ried Isabel Ball ; 20. Stephen White, married Marie Water- 
house (he died 1629) ; 21. Stephen White, of Maryland, 
came in 1659, married Anne Rochold; 22. Stephen White, 

died 1717, married Sarah ; 23. John White, died 

November 14, 1737, married 1722, Mary Rencher (Ren- 
shaw) ; 24. Stephen White, bom January 26, 1723, died 
1754, married January 1, 1751, Hannah Baker; 25. Grafton 
White, born 1752, died July 15, 1829, married Margaret 
Dinney; 26. William White, bom August 15, 1783, died 
1860, married Mary Darling; 27. Michael White, married 
Mary Anne Russell (Rischel) ; 28. I. 0. White. 



The first American ancestor was Stephen White, who, 
as noted above, came over in 1659 and settled in Anne 
Arundel County, near Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. I. C 
White is a son of Michael and Mary Anne (Russell) 
White. His father was a farmer and one of the com- 
missioners who divided Monongalia County into districts 
after the formation of West Virginia and gave the name 
to Battelle District. He served in the Federal Home 
Guards during the Civil war. 

Israel C. White was born in Monongalia County, Novem- 
ber 1, 1848, acquired a private school education, graduated 
with honors from West Virginia University in 1872, re- 
ceived the Master of Arts degree in 1875, and took post- 
graduate work in geology at Columbia University in 1875- 
76, and in 1880 was awarded the degree of Ph. D. by 
the University of Arkansas. West Virginia University 
in 1919 conferred upon him the degree of LL. D., and 
in 1921 he was made a Doctor of Science by the University 
of Pittsburgh. 

The services upon which his reputation is based are 
suggested rather than described in the following itinerary 
of his experience: He began the practical study of geology 
in 1875 as field aid to Dr. John J. Stevenson, assistant 
geologist on the second geological survey of Pennsylvania. 
Subsequently he was assistant geologist of the second 
geological survey of Pennsylvania in 1875-83 ; professor 
of geology in West University, 1877-92; assistant geologist 
of the United States geological survey, 1884-88; chief 
geologist of the Brazilian Coal Commission, 1904-06, when 
he visited Brazil at the request of that government to 
make studies and an official report on the coal fields of 
Southern Brazil; and has been state geologist of West 
Virginia since 1897. Doctor White resigned his position 
in the University of West Virginia in 1892 to take charge 
of a large petroleum business which he had developed for 
himself and associates through scientific discoveries made 
in connection with his studies of the occurrence of petro- 
leum, natural gas and coal, in all of which he is an expert 
specialist. He discovered in 1882 the anticlinal theory 
of petroleum and natural gas, and was the first one to 
apply it practically in locating new oil and gas pools. 
He has written extensively on his discoveries and investi- 
gations, being the author of eight volumes of reports on 
the second geological survey of Pennsylvania from 1875 
to 1884. While assistant geologist on the United States 
survey in 1884-88 he prepared and published "Bulletin 65" 
on the "Stratigraphy of the Appalachian Coal Field." 
As state geologist Doctor Wliite has also prepared and 
published five of the volumes of the reports, which in- 
clude "Petroleum and Natural Gas," "Coal," and "Levels 
and Coal Analyses. ' ' He has also supervised and edited 
thirty other volumes published by the West Virginia 
geological survey. His report on the Brazilian coal fields 
was published in 1908 in a quarto volume, in both English 
and Portuguese, and that same year he also delivered an 
address on "The Waste of Our Fuel Resources," at the 
First White House conference of governors. 

Doctor WTiite is a member of the American Association 
for the Advancement of Science, and was vice president 
of section E of that association in 1896-97. He was 
president of the Association of American State Geologists 



6:^8747 



rilSTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



in lOlS-lJ, :iih1 ;i Fellow of tlie Geological Society of 
America, which he served as treasurer in 1892-1907, vice 
president, 1911-12, and its president during 1920. He 
has been vice president of the American Association of 
Petroleum Geologists, and also its president for 1919-20. 

Aside from his profession he has taken an active interest 
in civic affairs, liaving been vice president for West Vir- 
ginia of the International League for Highway Improve- 
ment, president of the West A^irginia Board of Trade 
and president of the Morgantown Board of Trade. He 
was president of the Union Utility Company in 1902-05, 
and has been a director of the Farmers and Merchants 
Bank of Morgantown since 189.5 and president of the 
Morgantown Brick Company since its organization in 1890. 
His only military experience was as member of the West 
Virginia University Cadet Corps in 1867-72, where he 
was graduated as a captain. He has held but one political 
position, that of delegate to the Minneapolis convention 
which renominated Benjamin Harrison for president in 
1892. Doctor White is a member of the Cosmos Club, 
Washington, D. C, the Rocky Mountain Club of New 
York, the American Philosophical Society, the American 
Geographical Society, in addition to numerous other scien- 
tific bodies in which his presence is so highly esteemed. 

Doctor White has been twice married. On July 27, 
1872, he married Emily McClane, daughter of James Shay, 
a merchant tailor and postmaster of Morgantown. The 
only child of this union is Emily McClanc, wife of Dr. 
R. W. Fisher, of Morgantown. Mrs. White died in 1874. 
On December 4, 1878, he married Mary, daughter of 
Henderson H. Moorhcad, a merchant of New Castle, Penn- 
svhania, and of this union were born five children:- Nell 
liloorhead, wife of C. W. Maxwell, of Elkins, West Vir- 
ginia; Fanny Russell, wife of H. P. Bfightwell, of Charles- 
ton, West Virginia ; Edith Nina Miller, deceased wife of 
K. L. Kithil, of Denver, Colorado; Charles Stevenson, 
purchasing agent of the New York Central Railway Com- 
pany at New York City, who married Miss Helen Todd; 
and Mary Gertrude, wife of E. R. Wise, of Cleveland, Ohio. 
Doctor White is the happy grandfather of nineteen grand- 
children, ten boys and nine girls, one of his grandsons 
being named I. C. White, II. 

Robert Jefferson Alexander Boreman, one of the most 
estimable citizens of Parkersburg, who died June 24, 1922, 
was very actively associated with business affairs in this 
city for half a century. 

He was a great-grandson of John Boreman, who was a 
native of Manchester, England, and ran away from home 
at the age of sixteen, coming to America on a sailing ves- 
sel. He landed at Havre de Grace, Maryland, and eventu- 
ally became a merchant at Fifth and Arch streets in 
Philadelphia. He served his apprenticeship there until 
he was twenty-one, and then continued in business on 
liis own responsibility. With the beginning of the Revolu- 
tionary war he joined the Colonial forces as a private in a 
Pennsylvania regiment. His superior penmanship attracted 
the attention of his officers, and he was made adjutant 
of his company, then adjutant of the regiment, then chief 
clerk to the paj'master general of the army, with head- 
quarters in New York City, and finally was assistant pay- 
master general of the arm}', with headquarters at 
Pittsburgh, and had the duty of paying otf the troops 
m Pennsylvania. With the close of the struggle for in- 
dependence he established a home in Western Pennsylvania, 
and when Greene County, that state, was organized he 
was made probate judge and clerk of the courts, and 
served as such during the remainder of his life. John 
Boreman married Betty Kenner. Their son, Keuner Sea- 
ton Boreman, became a merchant. He was a whig in 
polities and a member of the Methodist Church. He mar- 
ried Sarah Ingram, and their family consisted of six sons 
and one daughter, namely : William, Kenner Seaton, Arthur 
Ingram, James Mason, Thomas Ingram, Jacob Smith and 
Agnes Mason, who married James M. Stephenson. With 
the exception of Jacob, who was educated at Washington 
and Jefferson College, tlu'se sons had only a common school 
education, and their subsequent prominence in business 



and public affairs was largely due to their native abilit; 
It was this generation of the family that became ideiit 
tied with West A'irginia and particularly with Wood Count 
The son William was a lawyer at Middlebourne, and servr 
many years in the House and Senate. The son Arthur 
Boreman was the first governor of West Virginia, and ii 
a])propriate sketch of his career is given elsewhere, and aK 
his name figures in the accounts of the formation of We? 
Virginia found in the general historical narrative. Th 
son James Mason Boreman was a merchant, and was ap 
pointed postmaster of Parker.sburg by President Liucol 
and held that office for twenty-three years. The s 
Thomas I. Boreman devoted all his active life to merchni 
disiug at Parkersburg. Jacob S. Boreman at one time pul 
lished the Kansas City Star and later, under appointmci 
from the President, was judge of the United Statrs <'fu\ 
in the Territory of Utah for forty-two years. He picside 
at the trial of John D. Lee, convicted and executed fo 
participation in the historic Mountain Meadow massacri' 

Kenner S. Boreman, Jr.,. a brother of Governor Boremai 
was also a man of imsi'e than ordinary intelligence an 
capacity. He was born at Wayneslnirg, Pennsylvania, A])r 
19, 1819. Nature especially equipped him for a carec 
as a lawyer and politician, but owing to impaired visioi 
which eventually terminated in blindness, he beeanu' a nni 
chant at Parkersburg and finally an insurance man, an 
was widely known for his success in business and tli 
probity of his character. He began voting as a whig an. 
later was a republican. On January 30, 1850, he marrie. 
M. Theresa Alexander, who was born at St. Claii'svilli 
Ohio, September 5, 1832, daughter of Robert Jefferso 
and Ann (Jennings) Alexander. Her father was a lawyci 

Robert -Jefferson Alexander Boreman was the only cliil. 
of his parents and was born at Parkersburg November i 
1850. His well informed and disciplined mind was rathe 
the result of self training than because of long contac 
with schools and educational institutions. He entered busi 
ness for himself at Parkersburg when a youth, later wa 
in the insurance business, also a wholesale dealer in chin; 
and house furnishings, and took a prominent part ii 
banking affairs as one of the executive officers of th 
Farmers and Mechanics National Bank, now the Firs 
National Bank. He was a republican, but showed littli 
disposition to get into politics. The one office which h 
held and in which he did distinctive service was as prcsi 
dent of the Board of Education of Parkersburg for t\\< 
years. During that time he succeeded in providing a hir;; 
sum for school buildings and a complete reorganizati i 
of the school system, and after retiring from office kep 
in close touch with educational interests. He was also ; 
member of the State Debt Commission. 

Mr. Boreman never married. He was a Scottish Riti 
Mason and held chairs in the Lodge, Royal Arch Chap C 
and Knight Templar Commandery. He was a nieml ei 
of the Presbyterian Church. 

Arthur I. Boreman, first governor of the State of Wrs 
Virginia, was born at Waj'nesburg, Pennsylvania, July -i 
1823, son of Kenner Seaton Boreman. A nephew of Go\' 
ernor Boreman was the late Robert J. A. Boreman ol 
Parkersburg, and under his name will be found a mon 
complete account of the family as a whole, one of the 
most distinguished in West Virginia. 

Governor Boreman was a cliild wlion taken to Tylci 
County, Virginia, where he attended common schools. Hi 
began the study of law under his brother William and hi; 
brother-in-law James M. Stephenson at Middlebourne ii 
that county, and was admitted to the bar in May, 184" 
In the fall of that year he moved to Parkersburg, when 
in a few years he had earned a reputation as an abl. 
jurist and lawyer. In 1855 he was elected to the Virgini; 
House of Delegates from Wood County, and continued ii 
that office by successive election until 1861. He was stil 
a member of the Legislature at the time of the extrr 
session of 1801 to consider the matter' of secession. H. 
took an active stand against secession. 

In the trying times which followed, during the forniatim 
perinil of the new state, his integrity, clearness of under 



IllSTOK'V (tF WKST VIROIXIA 



jslumliiit;, "i"'^''""""'^ "' 'l<"'i^'"". |>iTsislciirc :im<I lUniiilc 

iiiess of |im|iose, his I'diro i>f hHI .tihI iii(let:itij;:'l>l>' ciirrjjv 

, |>laep<l liii" ill till' vi-rv fnn-froiit. :iiii(iiic tiic leaders. Heiiij; 

'a mall "1 Hie most positive I'oiivictioiis, lie «as iiievitalily 
a di'vofeil partisan. When the threat of civil strife was 

'iinpondin}; over our eoimtry in 18(>1. anil when the nortli- 

: western Jiart of Virginia (leterinineil to maintain a jilace 
ill the nation and to hold aUegianee to the Han. ^'r- Bore- 
man's peculiar iiinato (|ualities of untirinK energy and 
industry, indi niitalile will and intense purpose fitted him 
to l>e a successful leader in the jif-'it crisis, and were un- 
doubtedly the causes impelling the people to call him 
into a high and eomnianding position in the councils of 
I lie new state. 

, After the extra session of the Virginia Legislature in 
1S61 he presided over the convention held at Wheeling for 

, the purpcse of reorganizing the state government. In 

'Octolier, 18G1, he was elected .judge of the Circuit Court 
under the restored government of Virginia. He presided 
over this court until his unaniineus election, in 1863, to 
l>e the first governor of the new State of West Virginia. 
The wisdom with which he wielded the executive power and 
■lis rare, accurate conception of the needs of that critical 
time are apparent in the success of the effort to form and 
the movements to develop the state, but his personal bravery 
and fearlessness can lie appreciated only in the light of 

I a full understanding of the conditions and circumstances 
attending that interesting and complicated portion of our 
history. In 18(54 and in I860 Mr. Borenian was reelected 
to the ofiice of governor; in 1868 he declined to be again 
a candidate The Legislature of West Virginia at its ses- 
sion in 1869 elected .\rthur Iiighram Bereman to the 
Tnited States Senate, in succession to Hon. I'eter G. Van 
Winkle; and he took his seat in that body March 4, 1869, 

.and served the .state with great etticiency. He was a mem- 
ber of the committee of manufactures, the committee on 
territories, and the committees on political disabilities. 
During the Forty-third Congress he was chairman of the 
committee on territories and a member of the committee 

I on claims. 

Probably no truer aspect of the personality of the man 
as he was can be given than that in the following descrip- 
tion, quoted from a former historian: Viewing Governor 
Borenian as a partisan leader in those times that tried 
nien's souls even his opponents in after years conceded 

, that he possessed many high and generous qualities of 
both head and heart. If he struck hard blow.s, he did not 
shrink from receiving hard blows in return; and when the 
strife was ended he was ever ready to extend a hand 
and to sink, if not to forget, the past. And while he 
never gave up a partisan advantage, he was ever ready 
to ]ierform a per.soual act of kindness or friendship to a 
political adversary, as well as to a political friend; and 
the admiration, love and affection of those who stood 
nearest to him in those dark days of the past could then, 
as now, attest that warmth and strength of his own affec- 
tion.s. His record is before the peo))le of the state. From 
it no fair-minded man would blot out a single page. It is 
easily understood — bold, fearless, direct, distinct. There is 
no eva.sion or darkness in the definitions of his jirinciples 
or ]iolicies. As the bold, fearless, loyal president of the 
Wheeling Convention that reorganized the government of 
Virginia, and as the first governor of the new State of 
West Virginia, his heroic, manly conduct gave him a place 
in the affections of the. Union people of the state that 
will not soon be forgotten. 

At the expiration of his term as United States senator, 
West Virginia, having become a demo(^tic state, he re- 
.sumed law practice at Parkersburg. In 1888, as an un- 
solicited tribute, he was nominated and elected as .judge 

I of the Circuit Court, and began his term January 1, 1889. 
He had .just completed a term of court at Elizabeth in Wirt 

; County when he was seized with a fatal illness that took 
him off April 19, 1896. 

Governor Borenian was a loyal Methodist and in 1888 
was chosen a lay delegate by the State Conference to 
attend the General Conference at New York. November 30, 
1864, he married Laurane Tanner, daughter of Dr. James 



'r.ninir, who was :i phy^il'i:lll iif high standing at Wheeling. 
Ilcr lirsl hiisb.-ind was .loliii <). Hullock. Governor Borenian 
was survived bv Iwo daughters: Maud, wife of G. H. 
Cotton, anil L.iiiraiie. wife of Abijali Ilavs, of Parkers 
burg. 

('. T.M.BOTT lIiTKsll w. ;i business man of many interests 
at I'arkersburg, is by profession a b;inker, having been in 
the service of l':ukersburg's banks fur thirty year.s. He 
was honored with election as president of the West Vir 
giuia Bankers Association in I9II1-I1, having previously 
served four years as .secretary. 

Mr. Hiteshew was born at I'arkersburg Sejitember 30, 
1872, oldest of the four children of Isaac Wesley and 
Columbia Ann (Bradford) Hiteshew. His father, a native 
of Maryland, was during the Civil war a division super- 
intendent of the Baltimore & Ohio Railway. After the 
war he removed to Parkersburg, where he was engaged 
in the milling and feed business until alx-ut 187.1. He then 
retired and for a number of years was an invalid. He died 
in 1889, and is remembered for his success in business and 
for his kind hearted, generous nature. 

C. Talbott Hiteshew has spent the whole of his busy 
and useful life in his native city. He graduated from the 
Parkersburg High School in 1889, following that with a 
course in Eastman 's Business College in Poughkeepsie, New- 
York. On returning to Parkersburg he was a clerk, first 
in the wholesale hardware establishment of R. L. Neal A: 
Company and then in the Citizens National Bank. Later 
he was assistant cashier of the Farmers and Mechani.s 
National Bank and subsequently promoted to cashier. In 
1917 this bank was consolidated with the First National 
Bank, the second oldest national bank in West Virginia. 
With the consolidation Mr. Hiteshew became cashier and 
upon the death of W. W. Van Winkle, was elected man 
aging vice president of tiie First National Bank, wliiili 
position he still occupies. 

During the World war he was chairman of Liberty Loan 
drives for ten counties in this section of West Virginia. 
Of his extensive business interests he is director and vice 
president of the Imperial Ice Cream Company, director and 
vice president of the American Creamery Company, director 
and treasurer of the Walker Oil Coinpaiiy, treasurer of 
the Mingo Block Coal Coiiijiany, a director in the Gilmer 
Fuel Company, director of the Grande Oil Company, oper- 
ating in the Oklahoma fields, and a director in the West 
Virginia Metal Products Company of Fairmont. Mr. Hite- 
shew is a vestryman and .junior warden of the Episcopal 
Church at Parkersburg and a democrat in polities. He 
is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner 
and a member of the Blennerhasset Club and Parkersburg 
Country Club. 

April 26, 1917, Mr. Hiteshew married Miss Mary Van 
Winkle, only daughter of the late W. W^. Van Winkle, one 
of the foremost lawyers and men of affairs of West Vir- 
ginia, whose biography follows. 

WalIjIXO Wai.lkxsox V.\x Wixkle at the time of his 
death on April 15, 1921, had been a member of the Parkers- 
burg bar almost fifty-five years, being the oldest active 
jiractitioiier in Wood County. He was one of the foremost 
business lawyers of West Virginia, and in many ways he 
exerted a great and helpful influence in the affairs and 
development of Parkersburg throughout most of the city 's 
history. 

The late Mr. Van Wrinkle stood in the eighth generation 
of the Van Winkle ancestry in America. The founder of 
the family was Jacob Walling Van Winkle, who arrived 
at New Amsterdam from Holland in 1636, and subsequently 
moved over to New Jersey, where the name has been a 
distinguished one for nearly three centuries. The grand- 
father of the late Mr. Van Winkle was Peter Van Winkle, 
whose wife, Phoebe Godwin, was of Revolutionary ancestry 
and of prominent literary connections in the East. 

The distinguished West Virginian, Peter Godwin Van 
Winkle, was an uncle of the late W. W'. Van Winkle of 
Parkersburg. Peter G. Van Winkle was born in New York 
City in 1808, and died at Parkersburg April 15, 1872. He 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



became noted as a man of deep scholarship, was a poet and 
wrote verse as a diversion from the busy activities of a 
life devoted to legal, commercial and political affairs. 
He settled at Parkersburg as early as 1835, when it was 
a village of 200 inhabitants. He finished his law studies 
and for several years practiced law with Gen. John J. 
Jackson, but after 1852 his time was chiefly devoted to 
the promotion and building of railroads and other largo 
affairs. He was the first president of the Little Kanawha 
Navigation Company, and was also president of the North- 
western Virginia Railroad Company and the Parkersburg 
Branch Railway Company. Of his public life the follow- 
ing is a brief account : ' ' His political career began early 
in the development of Parkersburg, with membership in 
the town council, and he was president of the board for 
several years. For many years active in local affairs, he 
was soon called to a wider field. In 1850 he was elected 
a member of the constitutional convention of Virginia, in 
which he served with distinction, performing arduous work 
on important committees of that body. Some ten years later 
he was a delegate to the convention at Wheeling, called 
to reorganize the government of Virginia. In 1862 he was 
a delegate to the convention assembled to frame a con- 
stitution for the proposed new state of West Virginia, and 
he was a member of its first house of delegates. In August, 
1863, he was elected one of the first United States senators 
from the new state, and drew the long term. He was one 
of the seven republican senators who voted for the acquittal 
of President Johnson in the impeachment proceedings. In 
all these various positions of public trust he performed his 
duties with laborious attention, conscientiousness, exact- 
ness, devotion and ability. In his case honorable position 
sought the man invariably and no office was obtained by 
personal solicitation, but because of his integrity and 
capableness. Pure and incorruptible, he was a noble 
specimen of that highest type of a true manhood, a 
Christian gentleman." 

Walling Wallenson Van Winkle was born November 19, 
184.5, at Lodi, Bergen County, New Jersey, at the home- 
stead standing on land that had been acquired by the 
Van Winkle family as early as 1684. He was a son of 
Adolphus Walling and Petrina (Van Winkle) Van Winkle, 
his mother being also of a collateral line of the same Van 
Winkle ancestry. W. W. Van Winkle was educated in the 
schools of Jersey City and the Universitv of New York, 
and after partly qualifying himself for "the practice of 
law came to Parkersburg in October, 1864, where he com- 
pleted his legal studies under his uncle, being his uncle 's 
secretary while the latter was in the United States Senate. 
He was admitted to the bar December 1, 1866, and was 
in continuous active practice until his death. On June 1, 
1875, he formed a partnership with B. Mason Ambler, 
under tlie name of Van Winkle & Ambler, a firm which 
attained a very high standing in the profession. 

Much of his legal talent was devoted to large and con- 
structive business affairs. He was acting secretary of the 
Northwestern Virginia Railroad Company until Mav, 1865, 
when the company was reorganized as the Parkersburg 
Branch Railroad Company, and he continued to be officially 
identified with its affairs as secretary until 1899, when he 
became a director. He was also a "director of the Ohio 
River Railroad Company, the Huntington & Big Sandy 
Railroad, the Eavenswood and Mill Creek Valley Railroad, 
the Rayenswood, Spencer & Glcnwood, was the first secre- 
tary of the Little Kanawha Navigation Company, and in 
1886 was one of the projectors of what is now the Parkers- 
burg, Marietta & Interurban Railway Company and for 
many years was its secretary and director. He was identi- 
fied with the Baltimore & Ohio Railway from 1864, being 
a member of its legal department from 1870 until his 
death. 

Mr. Van Winkle succeeded C. C. Martin as president of 
the First National Bank of Parkersburg. He was also 
president of the Peerless Milling Company, a director of 
the Parkersburg Industrial Company, the Shaffer Oil & 
Refining Company of Chicago. He was a trustee of the 
sinking funds of the City of Parkersburg for forty years, 
but was never active in politics. He was a member of the 



American, County and State Bar associations, the Dutel 
Reformed Church, the Union League Club of Chicago, an( 
at one time was president of the Bleunerhasset Club am 
the Parkersburg Country Club. He was an honorary thirty 
third degree Mason and a member of the Holland Society; 
of New York. "; 

Among the many tributes paid to his character and 
activities at the time of his death the following expressei 
some of the qualities outside of his character as a lawyer 
' ' His chief characteristics were his indomitable courage 
his unswerving loyalty to his friends and clients, an even 
unruffled temper which no stress or storm of controvers; 
could disturb; a kindliness and courtesy which often woi 
his opponents to his views. He possessed unusual abilitie 
as an executive, and his learning and clear common sens( 
had much to do with his success in corporate matters.' 

October 21, 1868, Mr. Van Winkle married Miss Hannal 
Cook, daughter of Paul Cook of Parkersburg. Mrs. Vai 
Winkle died August 26, 1902. Their only surviving chili 
is Mary, now Mrs. C. T>^Hiteshew of Parkersburg. 

Hon. Ephraim F. Morgan, sixteenth governor of th. 
State of West Virginia, has done much to exemplify whil.: 
in office the virile efficiency and manhood that is his in: 
heritanee from pioneer trail blazers and Indian fighters a 
the very onset of civilization into what is now West Vir 
ginia. 

Governor Morgan is in the sixth generation from Col 
Morgan Morgan, a native of Wales, who was educated ii 
London, came to America during the reign of William III 
first locating in Delaware and in 1727 removed to the vicin 
ity of Winchester, Virginia. He is credited with bavin; 
made the first white settlement and having built the firs 
church in what is now Berkeley County, West Virginia 
From his time to the present the Morgans have been ; 
historic family, men of constructive ideals and activities ii 
every generation. A son of Colonel Morgan was Zaekwel 
Morgan, a colonel in the Continental Army in the Revolu 
tion and founder of the Town of Morgantown. Anothe 
son was David Morgan, from whom the present governo 
directly descends. David Morgan was a surveyor, with hi 
brother Zackwell moved to the Monongahela Valley, Zack 
well settling at the present site of the City of Morgantown 
while David settled near the present City of Rivesville ii 
Marion County, where he is buried. The paternal grand 
father of Governor Morgan was James Morgan. This i 
only brief reference to an ancestry that contains man; 
notable names, some of which are more adequately treatei 
elsewhere in this publication. 

Governor Ephraim F. Morgan was born at Forksburg ii 
Marion County, January 16, 1869, son of Marcus and Vir 
ginia (Wymer) Morgan. Marcus Morgan was a Union sol 
dier throughout the Civil war, serving in the Sixth Wes 
Virginia Infantry. There have been Morgans in all th 
wars. Governor Morgan was a volunteer in the Spanish 
American war, being a member of the First West Virginii 
regiment. 

Ephraim F. Morgan attended public schools in Marioi 
County, the Fairmont State Normal School, and graduatei 
in 1897 from the law department of the University of Wes 
Virginia. As a youth he taught school, and continued hi 
work as an educator in the public schools of Marion Count; 
for nine years. In 1898 he began the practice of law a 
Fairmont, and had demonstrated his sound abilities as : 
lawyer before he accepted the honors and responsibilities o 
public office. He served as judge of the Intermediate Cour 
of Marion County for six years, from 1907 to 1913. Oi 
leaving the bench he resumed private practice, from whicl 
he was called by appointment of Governor Hatfield as ; 
member of the Public Service Commission of West Virgini; 
for a term of four years, and was reappointed for two ad 
ditional years to fill out the unexpired term of Hon. Elliot 
Northcott, resigned. He began his duties June 1, 1915, am 
soon afterward removed to Charleston. He resigned No' 
vember 15, 1919, to become a candidate for the republicai 
nomination for governor, was nominated and had a sweep 
ing victory in the November election of that year. 

Governor Morgan married Miss Alma Bennett, daughte 





i^-z <^C$2^b---;r^'=^, 



IIISTOIJY OK WEST \'IRGIN1A 



iif Allii-rt IJciiiictt, (if Moiii>iij;:iliii ('(Hiiily, a (iniiiiiiwiit 
family in tin- Mdiioii^iilii'la Vallc.v. Tlio only ilauglitcr of 
(iovonior aiid Mrs. Morgan, L.ucili', ilifd at tlio age of lif- 
li-cii iiuiiitlis. Tlirv have a son, Allu-rf Marcus Morgan, horn 
.luly -i», J!»l-- 

Daniel Boardmam ITrixton, Ph. I)., LL. D., jiresidont. 
omeritus of West Virginia I'nivorsity, on.joys an impressive 
accnniulation of the honors ami attainments of seholarshiji. 
His ancestors were college men and able ministers of the 
(iospel, so tliat though horn in a .section of West Virginia 
where education and culture were not generally diffuseil, his 
early inclinations were thoughtfully cherished and encour- 
ageil. His own children have gained notahle recognition in 
the worl.l of arts and letters. 

IKictor Purinton was born on Biiffahi Creek, seven miles 
south of Rosehurg, in Preston County, West Virginia. 
February 15, 1850, son of Rev. Jesse M. and Nancy (.\lilen) 
Purinton. His great-grandfather. Rev. D. Purinton, was a 
New England Baptist niinist^'r. The grandfather. Rev. 
Thomas Purinton, D. D., was a native of Ma.ssaehusetts, and 
early gained fame for his eloquence an<l ability as a church- 
man and scholar. He was pastor of Baptist churches at 
C'oleraine and Shelburne Palls, Massachusetts, and subse- 
<|uently was editor and managing head of the Watchman and 
Reflector, the official Baptist periodical of New York State. 
.Some years before his death, which occurred in New York 
State, he made a trip into Western Virginia, and while here 
purchased upwards of a thousand acres of wild land in 
Pre.ston County. It was this land that influenced the fol- 
loning generation to locate in West Virginia. 

Rev. Jesse Martin Purinton, D. D., was liorn at Shelburne 
Falls, Massachu.setts, August 12, ISOd. He was educated at 
Madison, now Colgate, University, and was both a minister 
and educator. He held the same pulpits at Coleraine and 
Shelburne Falls as his father, and was also an instructor at 
Shelburne Falls Academy. In 1849 he settled on a portion of 
his father 's land in Preston County, West Virginia, but sub- 
sequently removed to Morgantown, and was [)astor of the 
First Bai)tist Church of that city for two years. He <lied 
at Morgantown in 1869. His wife, Nancy Alden, was born 
in Central New Y'ork, July 2, 1814, daughter of Deacon 
Aaron Lyon. She died at Morgantown in 1902. Her cliil 
drcn were: Edward Lord, who died at the age of fifteen; 
Daniel Boardman ; Aaron Lyon, Ph. D., M. D., who at the 
time of his death was professor of chemistry in the Univer- 
sity of Nashville, Tennessee; George Dana, Ph. D., M. D'., 
formerly a professor in the University of Missouri and at 
the time of his death was a i)raeticing jdiysician at St. 
Louis. 

Daniel Boardman Purinton acquired his early education 
in Georges Creek Academy at .Smithfield, Pennsylvania, at- 
teniled the West Virginia University Preparatory Scliocd, 
and graduated A. B. from West Virginia University in 
1873 and received the Master of Arts degree in 1876. In 
1889 Denison University of Ohio conferred upon him the 
degree LL. D. and his Bachelor of Philosophy degree was 
bestowed by the University of Nashville in 1892. Doctor 
Purinton received his Bachelor's degree at Morgantown 
nearly half a century ago, and of that long and interesting 
period of ripening honors he has devoted nearly four ilecades 
to the service of his alma mater. He was teacher in the 
University Preparatory School from 187.'! to 1S78. He was 
then successively professor of .logic, 1878-80, of mathematics, 
1880-84. of metaphysics, 1885-89, and in the meantime, dur- 
ing 1881-82, was vice president and acting ])resident. Doctor 
Purinton left West Virginia University to become president 
of Denison University in Ohio, and held that post of dutv 
from 1890 to 1901. ' He then returned to his alma mater 
and was president of the university from 1901 to 1912, and 
since that year has been president emeritus, always deeply 
interested in University affairs. 

Doctor Purinton is a member of the National Education 
Association, the American Association of State University 
Presidents, the Ohio Educational Association, the Southern 
Association of College Sunday Schools, and is one of the 
most prominent Baptists of the state. For years he has been 
a member of the executive committee of the Northern Bap- 



tists Convention, also active on it.s apportionment conference, 
and for eight years was president of the Baptist General 
Association of West \'irginia. For si.t years he was modern 
tor of the (Joshen Baptist Association. For many years he 
has been a member of the executive committee of the Inter 
national Sunday School .\ssociation and for some years 
chairman of its educational committee. He was for several 
years presicient of the West Virginia Sunday School As.socia- 
tion, and is now chairman of its executive committee. For 
twenty years he has been jiresident of the Oak Grove Ceme- 
tery Association at Morgantown. 

Doctor Purinton married Florence .\lden Lyon, who was 
born in Chautauqua County, New York, August 26, 1854, 
daughter of Professor F. S. Lyon, former jiresident of 
Broaddus College in West Virginia, and Amanda (Johnson) 
Lyon, his wife. Mrs. Purinton is a descendant in the ninth 
generation of John and Priseilla Alden of the Mayllower. 
Her ilescent comes through the marriage of .\rniilla Alden 
to Aaron Lyon. Aaron Lyon was the only brother of Mary 
Lyon, leader of the first successful movement for the higher 
education of women in America and founder of Mount 
Ilolyoke College, the first institution for the advanced train- 
ing of women in the world. 

Of the children of Doctor Purinton and wife the oldest 
is Eihvard Earl, who was born in Morgantown, April 24, 
1876. He did some of his collegiate work in West Virginia 
University, graduated A. B. frcmi Di'iiison University, and 
is a recognized international authority on subjects of effi- 
ciency. He is author of "Triumph of a Man who Acts," 
which was published in several editions, to a total number 
of over .3,000,000 copies. Fifty thousand copies were pur- 
cliased by Gen. Lord Kitchener of the English army for dis- 
triliutinu among his officers. This and other works on effi- 
ciency have been published in many different languages. 
E. E. Purinton is now dean and director of the American 
Efficiency Foundation, an alliance of noted educators for 
the advancement of the study of personal and business effi- 
ciency. The business headquarters of the foundation are 
in New York City, but Mr. Purinton still regards Morgan- 
town as his home. 

The second child, Mary Lyon born November 30, 1879, is 
the wife of Robert R. Green, who at one time was editor of 
the Morgantown Po.st and is now a resident of New York 
City. 

John Alden Purinton, born July 27, 1884, graduated A. B. 
and LL. B. from West Virginia University, practiced law at 
Morgantown, an<l gave up his jiractice to become the leading 
civilian member of the Claims Board at Washington, Dis- 
trict of Columbia, and is now continuing his |iractice in that 
city as a member of the law firm Brown & Purinton. 

The youngest child, Helen Elizabeth, born September 21, 
1893, graduated A. B. and A. M. from West Virginia Uni- 
versity, and is a teacher in the English Department of the 
University. Her husband, Harry Alford Pettigrew recently 
returne<l from .service in France to complete his medical edu- 
cation at Morgantown. 

Hon. Aretas Brook.s Flkming. .\sa lawyer, jurist, publie 
ofTicial, promoter of industrial progress and exemplar of the ' 

finest ideals of citizenship there have been few who have more 
significantly honored their native state than Hon. \. Brooks 
Fleming, former governor of West Virginia and now one of 
the most venerable and distinguished members of the bar of 
this commonwealth. 

Governor Fleming was born on a farm near Middletown. 
Harrison County, A'irginia (now Fairmont, Marion County. 
West Virginiai. on the loth of October, 1S.39, and is a son of 
Benjamin F. and Rhoda (Brooksl Fleming, the latter .i 
daughter of Rev. .\sa Brooks, the family lineage tracing back 
to .Scotch-Irish origin. William Fleming, great-grandfather of 
the former governor of West Virginia, was one of four brothers 
who came to .\merica in 1741 and took up land in the Pennsyl- 
vania colony of William Penn. 

Reared on his father's old homestead farm in what is now 
Marion County, the future governor profited fully by the 
advantages of private and select schools, and in 1S59 he 
entered the University of Virginia, where he completed the 
course of law lectures under the distinguished Dr. John B. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Minor. He taught school in Marion and Gilmer counties, 
and in 1861, after his graduation in the law department of the 
University of Virginia, he engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession in Gilmer County. While waiting for clients he opened 
and conducted a private school at Glenville, the county seat. 
His law business soon demanded so much of his time that he 
called upon his brother, Robert F., to take charge of the 
school, this brother having later become judge of the Circuit 
Court in that circuit. Upon the inception of the Civil war, 
Governor Fleming returned to Fairmont, and here he served 
from 1863 as prosecuting attorney of Harrison County, in the 
newly created State of West Virginia. After the close of the 
war he formed a law partnership with the late Judge .\Ipheus 
F. Haymond, and in 1873 he was elected representative of 
Marion County in the State Legislature, re-election having 
followed in 1875. He served on important committees of 
the House of Delegates, including the judiciary and the com- 
mittee on taxation and finance, of which he was made chair- 
man. In 1878 he was appointed judge of the Circuit Court of 
the Second Judicial Circuit, and thereafter he was twice 
elected to this bench, the circuit at that time having com- 
prised Marion, Monongalia, Harrison, Taylor, Wetzel and 
Doddridge counties. In his election to the circuit bench, as a 
democrat, his personal popularity and distinctive ability 
enabled him to win victory in counties giving large republican 
majorities at that time. After his election to the bench of 
the new circuit, composed of Marion, Monongalia and Harri- 
son counties. Judge Fleming continued his service until the 
autumn of 1888, when he received the unanimous nomination 
of his party for the office of governor of West Virginia, his 
election to this office having occurred February 6, 1890. He 
resigned his position on the bench September 1, 1888. The 
record of his election to the position of chief executive of the 
state has become an integral part of West Virginia history, 
and it is not necessary to review the same in this abridged 
article. The following statements, however, are worthy of 
reproduction in this connection: 

"Governor Fleming, as a leader of his party during his term 
of office, was very successful in holding his party together and 
rendering to it valuable service; but his greatest service to his 
party, as well as to his state, was in his efficient administration 
of the duties of his office, his insistent policy of executive 
economy, and his constant effort to induce capital to enter 
the state for investment and the building of railroads, opening 
of mines, and developing of timber lands and oil and gas 
fields." 

In the active career of Governor Fleming from 1874 for- 
ward he was actively identified with the coal development of 
the Upper Monongahela Valley, in association with his father- 
in-law, the late James Otis Watson, who was the pioneer coal 
operator in this region. The Governor, with the sons of Mr. 
Watson, was concerned in the organization of the early coal 
companies which have acquired vast acreage on the Monon- 
gahela and West Fork rivers, and he played a large part in the 
development of the great coal industry of his native state, 
his connections having been with the Gaston Gas Coal Com- 
pany, Montana Coal & Coke Company, West Fairmont Coal 
Company, New England Coal Company, Briar Hill Coal & 
Coke Company, and others. He was identified also with the 
building of the Monongahela River Railroad, which brought 
about the opening of large and important coal mines. As the 
coal, oil and gas industries developed and railroads were 
built Governor Fleming was actively concerned in all the 
efforts for advancement, both in the Upper Monongahela 
Valley and other parts of the state. When the Fairmont Coal 
Company was organized, in 1901, he became one of its direc- 
tors and also its attorney in the purchase and consolidation 
of other companies into it. This company later developed into 
the Consolidation Coal Company, which owns vast properties 
in West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Maryland and Kentucky. 
Governor Fleming continued a director of this great corpor- 
ation until he retired from active business, but he still serves as 
general counsel for the company in West Virginia. He was a 
director of the Cumberland & Pennsylvania and the Monon- 
gahela River Railroads, and his son, A. Brooks Fleming, Jr., 
is his successor as a director of the various corporations. The 
Governor was actively concerned also with the building of 
electric traction lines in Fairmont and Clarksburg, and the 
inter-urban lines eonnecting the two cities. He was one of 



the organizers of the National Bank of Fairmont, and wal 
long a director of the same, he being still one of its stoclj 
holders, as is he also in the Watson Company, which owns thl 
fine stone bank and office building, ten stories, known as th| 
Watson Building, in the City of Fairmont. 

Governor Fleming was one of the founders of what il 
now the State Normal School at Fairmont, and has otherwisl 
done much to promote advancement in educational affairs i:[ 
West Virginia. In recognition of his distinguished services t 
the state along many lines the University of West Virgini; 
has twice conferred upon him honorary degrees. 

The following estimate is entitled to preservation in thil 
review: "As legislator, judge and governor, Hon. A. Brookl 
Fleming has served the state and his native county witll 
fidelity, and reflected credit upon himself and the peoplf 
whom he served. Public-spirited as a citizen, he carried hi| 
enthusiasm for righteousness and efficiency into the offices hi 
held. He attracted the attention, especially while governor 
of the whole country to the then almost undeveloped miners 
and timber resources of West Virginia, by public addres.se 
and published articles in'trade and other papers." 

In his profession Governor Fleming has long been recognizee 
as one of the foremost and most influential corporatioi 
lawyers in West Virginia, and though in October, 1921, h( 
celebrated his eighty-second birthday anniversary, he stil 
gives attention to his important law business, as legal repre 
sentative of divers and important commercial and industria, 
interests. The Governor, as he is familiary known, is in everj! 
sense "the grand old man" of Fairmont, and of him it has; 
consistently been said: "No better loved man lives in his 
native town, where for him tender regard is manifested by 
all, from his oldest friends to the children, who are all his 
friends. All are unanimous in their declaration 'to know him 
is to love him.' For eighty-two years he has lived a life 
guided by honor, truth and fidelity." 

Governor Fleming is a member of the West Virginia Board 
of Trade and is the oldest member of the Marion County Bar 
Association, which passed sentence upon him in these words: 
"That Governor A. B. Fleming be incarcerated forever and a 
day in the hearts and affections of the members of the asso- 
ciation as their idol and ideal." 

September 7, 1865, recorded the marriage of Governor 
Fleming and Miss Caroline Margaret Watson, daughter of 
James Otis Watson and Matilda Watson, and their devoted 
companionship has been one of idyllic order. Robert, the 
first of their children, died in childhood. Ida W. became the 
wife of Walton Miller, president of the National Bank of 
Fairmont, her death occurring in 1906, and her one surviving 
child being a daughter, Helen. Gypsie W. is the wife of 
Charles E. Ward, of Charleston, this state, and they have two 
children, Margaret F. and Caroline B. George W. and Vir- 
ginia W. are twins, the former having wedded Doris Under- 
hill and Virginia being the wife of Charles Baird Mitchell, of 
Fairmont. George W. is president of the Elk Horn Coal 
Corporation. A. Brooks, Jr., youngest of the children, is 
assistant to the president of the Consolidation Coal Company. 
His first wife, whose maiden name was Amy Dodson, died in 
1897, and in 1910 he married Marie Antoinette Boggess, their 
children being Caroline, Virginia, Ida Watson and Sarah. 

Hon. George Cookman Sturgiss. One of the prominent 
men of West Virginia of the present generation is Judge 
George Cookman Sturgiss of Morgautown, who has been 
identified with the history of the commonwealth since before 
the Civil war period, and has rendered distinguished service 
in the State Legislature, the Federal Congress and on the 
Bench of the Circuit Court of Monongalia County. 

Judge Sturgiss was born at Poland, Mahoning County, 
Ohio, August 16, 1842, a son of Rev. Alfred Gallatin Stur- 
giss and Sabra Lucinda (Miner) Sturgiss, who were mar- 
ried July 26, 1837. Rev. Alfred G. Sturgiss died Novem- 
ber 4, 1845, and is buried at Uniontown, where four gen- 
erations of his paternal ancestors are interred. He was 
graduated from Madison College in his native town, en- 
tered the Methodist Episcopal ministry, afterward holding 
charges in Pennsylvania and Ohio, his ministerial labors 
being ended only by his death at Uniontown at his father 's 
home. He left three sons, aged one, three and five years, 
all of whom later served in the Union Army during the 



IlISTOKV OF WEST VlKtilNIA 



'war ln'twei-ii till' sUifos. Tlu' uUlcr ami younger sons ilii-il 
isome vcars ago. 

I The niotliiT of Kov. Alfri'il (i. Stiirgiss was llannali 
tl.inruln Stiirgiss, who was of a foMatcral brani-h of the 
jl.int'oln family of which the martyr president was a mem- 
Ikt She was born .Inly 11. ITHl!, at I'niontonn, Pennsyl- 
vania, anil (lied .\|iril 4, KS72. .lohn V. Sturgiss and Han- 
nah Lincoln were married M.ay 14, 1912. 

The mother of Cieorge C. Sturgiss was a daughter of 
Hori and t'ernielia (Red) Miner natives of Conneetieiit, 
where they were married. They migrated to the Connec- 
tieut Reserve in the Ohio Western Reserve in Ashtabula 
County, driving across the country in a two horse Cones 
toga wagon and carrying the family and household effects. 
This was a journey of si.\ weeks. Salira l^ucinda Miner 
was the oldest of the children, and it fell to her to take 
sp«-ial care of a brother, the youngest child, then one 
year old. Sabra Lueinda Sturgiss lacked one day of at- 
taining the age of eighty years. The three sons were at 
her bedside when she died and she was buried the day 
after her eightieth birthday, having remained a widow 
fifty years. 

(ieorge C. Sturgiss after the death of his father lived 
with his mother in .Ashtabula County, Ohio. He began 
earning his living at fourteen, and from the sjiring of ]8.'>(5 
to the fall of 1859 he workeil as a furniture varnislier at 
|ioints in Ohio, Fennsylvania and New York, and Novem- 
lier of the latter year found him in the City of New York, 
|ioss*'ssed of $:{0(t in gold that he had managed to save 
from his earnings. Witli this gold concealed in a belt 
around his body he made his way to Fayette County, Penn- 
sylvania, to the home of his older brother, and after reach- 
ing there the brothers decided to pay a visit to their uncle. 
Col. Addison S. Vance, who had married their father's 
sister and resided near Morgantown Virginia. They 
I reached Morgantown, November 11, 1859, and that date 
I .luilgc Sturgiss claims as the beginning of his permanent 
I residence in the city, whose jiopulation was then only oOO. 
[ The Monongahela River was spanned by a wire suspension 
i bridge. Through the influence of Rev. .J. R. Moore, then 
principal of the Monongalia Academy. George C. Sturgiss 
remained and entered the academy, paying his way through 
school by teaching and tutoring, assisted by his gold .sav 
ings fund. He studied law with Hon. W. T. Willey, a col- 
lege classmate of his father, and in 1863 was admitted to 
the bar. .Judge Sturgiss never graduated from any college 
j or university except the "school of hard knock?.'" 
; The war between the states was still in progress and the 
young lawyer saw no immediate opportunity to secure prae 
tioe. In 1864 he was appointed paymaster's clerk in the 
I'nion Army, and served as such to the end of the war. 
In the meantime he hail become widely aci|uaintecl in 
Monongalia County, and under the new law providing a 
public school system was chosen the first county superin- 
tendent of schools of that county and served two terms of 
two years each. 

Judge Sturgiss was three times elected a nienilier of 
the House of Delegates, serving from 1870. The sole pu:- 
pose of his election to the Legislature was to secure the 
Federal Land Grant for the benefit of the future State 
University at Morgantown. When recently asked what he 
regarded as the greatest service he had rendered Morgan- 
town Judge Sturgiss promptly replied: "Securing from 
the Legislature the United States Land Grant for the fu- 
ture university." He voted for locating the penitentiary 
at Moundsville, the insane asylum at Weston and the cap- 
itol at Charleston, upon condition that the representatives 
of all these interests vote for the land grant for the in- 
cipient university at Morgantown, believing that the lat- 
ter would be worth more than all the others combined, and 
time has vindicated his judgment. 

In 1872 he was elected prosecuting attorney of Monon- 
galia County and re-elected in 1876, holding oflSce until 
1880. In 1880 he was the republican party's candidate for 
governor, but met defeat with the entire state ticket that 
year. In 1S89 President Harrison ai>pointed him Fnit<-d 
States attorney for the district of West Virginia, an oflice 
he held until the incoming Cleveland administration. 



All the important questiuns of the day and problems of 
state government claimed his close attention and study, 
but especially was he interested in the Tax Reform move- 
ment. In order to gain a wide audience for views he deemed 
of paramount importance he purcha.sed and edited the 
Morgantown Daily Post, through the medium of which he 
ex]daine<1 his tax reform plans with telling argument 
After this iiuestion was settled he sold the newsjiaper. In 
1906 Judge Sturgiss was elected to represent the Second 
West Virginia District in the Sixtieth Congress and wa.s 
re elected in 1908, serving from 19117 to 1911. He was re- 
nominated in 1910, but shared in the general defeat of his 
party that year. In 1912 he was elected judge of the Cir- 
cuit Court of Monongalia County for the Twenty-third 
.Judicial Circuit, serving eight years, until December ;!I, 
1920. He was nut a candidate for re-election. 

In 1867 Judge Sturgiss became the secretary to the lirtt 
Board of Trustees of the newly organized University of 
West Virginia, and served until 1897, when he was ap- 
pointed a member of the Board of Regents and, by the 
board was unanimously chosen president and served four 
years. 

Judge Sturgiss has been associated with many enter 
|)ri.ses for the upbuilding of Morgantown and vicinity. 
He was largely instrumental in bringing to the city its first' 
telegraph line ami its first railroad. He made possible the 
establishment of Morgantown 's first electric light plant an i 
its first, street car line. He was builder of the first ei",' i 
teen miles of the Morgantown and Kingwood Railroad. 
While in Congress he secured the ap|)ropriation for the 
United States Post Office building at Morgantown, com- 
pleted soon afterward but already too small for the rapid 
growth in population and Ijusiness of the city. 

He located in the Valley of Decker's Creek the Sabratoi 
Works of the American Sheet and Tin Plate Company, the 
Woven Wire Glass Plant, the Pressed Prism Plate Glass 
Works and other factories that in 1919 paid out for la! or 
.$2.j0,000 a month or $3,000,000 a year. These works are 
.•ill in .Sturgiss City, a municipality adjoining Morgantown, 
cieated and named by the affirmative vote of ninety-five 
to six voters, without the solicitation of Judge Sturgiss. 

Judge Sturgiss served as a lay delegate in 1896 to the 
Oeni-ral Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of 
which he is a member. He is a trustee of the American 
University at Washington and the West Virginia Wesleyan 
College at Buchanan. He was first jiresident of the West 
Virginia State Board of Trade and has been president of 
the Morgantown Board of Trade. Judge Sturgiss is the 
oldest member at Morgantown of the Delta Tan Delta fra- 
ternity both in length of membership and in age. He is 
the oldest in length of membership and in age of Monon- 
j.alia Lodge No. 10, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
which now has a membership of 450. He has been a de'e- 
gate twice to the Sovereign Grand Lodge of the United 
States and is the holder of the Past Grand Master 's Jewel, 
\oted to him by the State Grand Lodge November 20, 1906 

September 22, 1863, Judge Sturgiss married Sabra J. 
\'ance, of Morgantown. She died May 22, 1903. He mar- 
ried Charlotte Cecilia Kent, of Alameda, California, on 
the 25th day of November, 1908. Judse and Mrs. Sturgiss 
have four children : Katherine Kent, Helen Marie, Roberta 
Cecilia and Elizabeth Arabella. 

A man of strong conviction and great will power like 
Judge Sturgiss inevitably makes enemies, but time softens 
such asperities, and the principle of forgive and forget has 
all but effaced these enmities from the consciousness of 
.Judge Sturgiss. 

M.\THEWS Family of Greenbrier. From the early 
years of colonial adventure along the James River men of 
the Mathews name have had a distinguished ])art in the af- 
fairs of Virginia. The scope of their action was extended 
beyond the AUeghanies before the Revolution, and from 
about that time they have constituted one of the most 
notable families of old Greenbrier County, and from here 
have gone into the larger life of the state and even that of 
the nation. In the following paragraphs several individuals 
of the Greenbrier County lineage are selected for special 



8 



HISTORY OP "WEST VIRGINIA 



mention with incidental reference to some others who have 
made "history." 

The first American of the family was Capt. Samuel 
Mathews, who came to Virginia in 1622, was a leader in 
an Indian campaign the following year and in 1624 was one 
of the commissioners appointed by the king to investigate 
the condition of the colony. In succeeding years he figured 
prominently in Colonial affairs, and on March 13, 1658, be- 
came governor of the colony, was disposed by the House 
of Burgesses, but immediately reelected, and he died while 
still in office, in January, 1660. 

Another member of this family was Thomas Mathews, 
who was created an admiral in the British Navy in 1718, 
and died in 1751. His son, John Mathews, came from Eng- 
land and settled in Augusta County, Virginia, in 1730, and 
later permanently located in Eockbridge County, on Mill 
Creek, a tributary of Buffalo Creek, which empties into 
North River. Here he operated a large plantation of over 
1,600 acres granted him by George the Second, under patent 
from Governor Dinwiddie. This patent is carefully preserved 
in the possession of his descendant Cliarles Gardner Mathews, 
of Lewisburg, Greenbrier County. John Mathews married 
Ann Archer, and they were the parents of seven sons and 
four daughters. Five of the sons, it is recorded, followed 
■Braddock, on his ill fated campaign in 1754. One of the 
sons, George Mathews, was particularly active and efficient 
in protecting the early settlers from Indian depredations, 
and at the battle of Point Pleasant in 1774, commanded a 
company under Gen. Andrew Lewis. It was his company 
that by a forced march up Crooked Creek turned the enemy 's 
flank and saved the day for the Virginians. George Mathews 
likewise had a conspicuous part in the Eevolutionary strug- 
gle, and received special mention for his service in the bat- 
tles of Monmouth and Brandywine. At the close of the 
war he held the rank of brigadier general, and, removing 
to Georgia, was twice elected governor of that state, in 1786 
and in 1794, he was also a member of Congress from 
Georgia. 

However, the branch of the family in which this article 
is more particularly interested is through another son of 
John Mathews, Joseph Mathews. Joseph Matliews married 
Mary Edgar, daughter of James and Mary (Mason) Edgar. 
They were married April 17, 1794. Of their six children the 
fifth was Mason Mathews, one of the most notable citizens 
of Greenbrier County in the last century. 

Mason Mathews was born at Lewisburg, December 15, 
1803, and died September 16, 1878. His early career was 
one of hardship and self denial. He was a boy when his 
father died, and other misfortunes befalling the family at 
that time he loyally accepted obligations that left him no 
time for personal leisure or selfish plans. He worked in a 
.store at Lewisburg, and for a number of years turned over 
his earnings to the rehabilitation of the family fortunes. 
He was deputy to the high sheriff of the county, and in 
1828 was elected commissioner of revenue, a position he held 
many years by reelection. In 1827 he married Miss Eliza 
S. Reynolds, member of one of the best known families of 
Lewisburg. Soon afterward he removed to Frankfort, 
Greenbrier County, and became a merchant, and in the 
course of years laid the solid foundation of his personal 
fortune. Subsequently he returned to Lewisburg, and was 
justice of the peace until the entire judicial system of the 
state was changed by the convention of 1849-50. For years 
he was treasurer of the Board of Commissioners of Free 
Schools. Because of his judicial temperament he was often 
called upon to arbitrate differences arising among his 
neighbors. He was a veritable father to his people. He 
opposed secession, favoring the Union, but when the state 
passed the ordinance of secession he cast in his lot with the 
Confederacy, for which he made many sacrifices. From 
1859 to 1864 he was a member of the Virginia Legislature. 
Mason Mathews was a gentlemen of the old school, un- 
failing in his courtesy, which was given to those of high as 
well as low estate. He was honest and upright, devoted to 
his family, and few men enjoyed the love and esteem ac- 
corded him. 

Mason Mathews was the father of eight children, and 
lived to see seven of them grown, married and successfully 



established in life. The most noted perhaps of them u 
Henry Mason Mathews, who became one of the giit 
lawyers of West Virginia, served as attorney-general, ^ 
also as governor of the state. 

Another son of Mason Mathews was Capt. Alexai* 
F. Mathews, who added to the prestige of the family nae 
in Greenbrier County. He was bom at Lewisburg in l!8 
and died December 17, 1906. At the age of fifteen he n- 
tered the University of Virginia, and graduated two y«rs 
later with high honors and the degree Master of As. 
For a time he taught school, and at the beginning of le 
Civil war he espoused the Confederacy and was comis- 
sioned captain, and served as aide-de-camp on the staff tf 
General Wise and afterward was in service in North Cn- 
lina. When the war was over he returned to Lewisbir, 
with physical energies unimpaired, but impoverished in Jr- 
tune. He married in 1865 Laura Gardner, of Christiss- 
burg, Virginia. He taught school, and though he Id 
studied law in the University of Virginia he was debar d 
from practicing that profession because of having taken p 
arms against the United States. Later he formed a pit- 
uership with his famous brother, Governor Henry [. 
Mathews, and was also a partner for a time of Ju(« 
Adam C. Snyder. Capt. Alexander Mathews steadfasy 
refused to hold ofiice. Along with the legal profession? 
was a banker for many years, being president of the Bik 
of Lewisburg. This was the oldest bank between Chariest i, 
West Virginia, and Staunton, Virginia. He was a nn 
possessed of high ideals, and made those ideals effective n 
his every day life. Intellectually he was one of the bt 
equipped la^vyers of his time. 

Capt. Alexander Mathews and wife had seven childrf : 
Mason; Charles Gardner; Mary M., deceased wife of D. !. 
T. Davis; Eliza P., the only surviving daughter; Maude I; 
Florence V. ; and Henry A. 

Mason Mathews, son of Capt. Alexander F. Mathews,8 
one of West Virginia's ablest bankers and financiers, 'e 
was born at Christiansburg, June 29, 1867. He was reaid 
in Lewisburg, and that city has always been his home, e 
had a public school education, attended a military acadeif 
at Bethel, Virginia, and studied law until failing eyesijt 
compelled him to relinquish professional ambition. e 
soon afterward entered the Bank of Lewisburg as a tell, 
and has been with that institution thirty years or mo. 
Since 1906 he has been its president. 

His financial ability has brought him a wide field f 
service. He helped organize the Richwood Bank and Tnt 
Company. He was a director for ten years and later elect 1 
president of the First National Bank of Ronceverti, and 8 
still its president. He is now vice president and was t; 
first president of the Virginia Joint Stock Land Bank t 
Charleston, which succeeded the Virginia Rural Credit Asii 
elation, of which Mr. Mathews was also president. He isi 
director of the West Virginia Mortgage and Discount Ci- 
poration of Charleston, which was organized in 1921. ]■ 
has also been extensively interested in land and oil c 
velopments. 

Mason Mathews married Jane C. Montgomery, of Lew- 
burg. Their children are: Florence M., wife of Bufol 
Hendrick, Jr. ; Alexander F. ; and Elizabeth M. 

A soldier of the great war, an air pilot, who lost his li; 
in France, was Alexander F. Mathews, only son of ti 
Lewisburg banker. He was born August 23, 1895, and wi 
educated in the Greenbrier Presbyterian Military School ai 
graduated in 1914 from Culver Military Academy of I 
diana, with the rank of first lieutenant. He also spent 
year in Purdue University, and in 1915 entered Corm 
University. He was one of the young men of universi 
training and technically equipped who volunteered at t 
very beginning of the war when America entered t' 
struggle. He volunteered for the aviation service in Marc 
1917, was in training at Miami, Florida, and in July, 191 
ordered to France. He was commissioned first lieutenant • 
the American Air Force on September 29, 1917, and w; 
then sent to England for special training with the Roy 
Flying Corps. April 1, 1918, he returned to France, ai 
though an American aviator was assigned to duty with tl 
Eighty-fourth Squadron Royal Flying Corps. Havii 




/Maat^'^.aliuA^ 



"T- 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



gowned 3Vi enemy macliines, he lacked only a fraction of 
the work required of an ' ' Ace. ' ' On the night of August 
:.'4, the day after his twenty-third birthday, he was killed 
•iv a (iernian bomb dropped during a raid over the section 
a which he was engaged. His death was instant. His 
aptain wrote as follows: 

"I have known Alex, ever since he joined the squadron 
ttad have done a great deal of work with him over the lines, 
and thtre was nobody I would sooner go into a scrap with. 
He was an excellent pilot and was very keen, and had he- 
romc one of the tried and trustworthy pilots who are the 
hacfbone of a lighting squadron. A chap like Alex, is 
rmfulJT ha'.d to replace, for although only with us for five 
months he l'"* ''^'''" '" dozens of lights and was a very 
eiwrienced -"d scientific Hun fighter." 

The b'-'y of Lieutenant Mathews was subsequently re- 
turned to America, and was laid to rest in the National 
(Vme'cry at Arlington. 

Claries Gardner Mathews, a brother of Mason Mathews, 
tb- Lewisburg banker, was born at Lcwishurg Feburary 14, 
1«69. He was educated in private schools in Virginia and 
,hc Vniversity of Virginia, where he studied law. Though 
admitted to the bar, his active years have been devoted to 
private business affairs. In 1907 he married Miss Har- 
riet B. Tompkins. Their two children are: Jane Graves 
and Charles G., Jr. 

John Willi.v.m M.vsox, who is engaged in the active prac- 
tice of his profession in the City of Fairmont, Marion 
County, is consistently to be designated as one of the able 
and representative younger members of the bar of his native 
state. He was born at Grafton Taylor County, April 9, 
ISS-l, and is a son of Judge John William and Rebecca 
Elizabeth (Wallace) Mason. Judge Mason was one of the 
most distinguished and influential members of the bar of 
West Virginia, served as commissioner of internal revenue 
in the City of Washington, as judge of the CMrcuit Court, and 
later as judge of the Supreme Court of West Virginia. 
Judge Mason was born on a farm in Monongalia County, this 
state, January 13, 1842, a son of John Mason, the maiden 
name of whose mother was Casey. She was a descendant 
of Nicholas Casey, who was a patriot soldier in the War of 
the Revolution. Judge Mason read law under the preceptor- 
ship of the late .Judge Hagans of Morgantown, and after 
admission to the bar he established himself in ]iractice at 
Grafton. In 1889 Presirlent Harrison appointed him United 
State commissioner of internal revenue, and he continued 
•he incumbent of that office until 1893. Returning from the 
ni/.ional capital to West Virginia, Judge Mason was en- 
gaged in the practice of law at Fairmont until 1900, when 
he was elected to the bench of the Circuit Court of the 
circuit then comprising Marion, Harrison and Monongalia 
: counties. His service on the Circuit bench continued until 
January 1, 1913, and thereafter he was engaged in private 
, practice at Fairmont until November, 191.5, when Governor 
! Hatfield appointed him a judge of the Supreme Court of 
the state. He continued his service as a member of this 
tribunal until January 1. 1917, and thereafter he was en- 
gaged in the practice of his profession, in a restricted way, 
! iintil the time of his death, which occurred at Fairmont on 
i the 2.3d of April of the same year. .Judge Mason by his 
i character and ability honored both the bench and the bar 
. of his native state and was a man who ever commanded un- 
qualified popular confidence and good will. His high place 
in the esteem of his professional confreres was shown in his 
election to the presidency of the West Virginia Bar Associa- 
tion. The wife of Judge Mason was born in Fayette County, 
Pennsylvania, December 21, 1842, a daughter of John and 
Mary (Manser) Wallace, both of Scotch lineage. Mrs. 
Mason did not long survive her husband, as she died on the 
10th of April, 1919, her memory being revered by all who 
I came within the sphere of her gentle and gracious influence. 
I John William Mason, who bears the full name of his dis- 
I tingui-shed father, supplemented the training of the Fair- 
j mont schools by attending the State Normal School, and 
''ftefward continued his studies in the University of West 
i Virginia. Later he entered the law school of Yale Univer- 
sity. He received from the State University the degree of 
Vol. II— 2 



Bachelor of Arts in 1908, and from Yalo the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws in 1910, the same degree having been con- 
ferred upon him in the preceding year by the University of 
West Virginia. While at Vale he was a member of the 
Board of Editors of the Yale Law .Journal. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar at Fairmont, February 22, 1909, before 
he had received his law degree, and in 1910 he engaged in 
the practice of his profession at Fairmont, in jiartncrship 
with A. C. Merrill, the firm of Merrill & Mason continuing 
until the following year, and for somewhat more than a year 
thereafter Mr. Mason was associated with his father in 
practice. 

December 20, 1914, Mr. Mason was commissioned captain 
in the Quartermaster De])artment of the West Virginia Na- 
tional Guard, and June 18, 1916, he was called into active 
service in connection with troubles on the Mexican border. 
He was on active duty as assistant camp quartermaster under 
Maj. Charles R. Morgan in the City of Charleston until the 
following November, and thereafter continued his law prac- 
tice at Fairmont until August 1, 1917, when he was mustered 
into the United States Army, with the rank of captain, and 
was assigned to service as assistant to the constructing 
quartermaster at Cam|) Sheridan, near Montgomery, Ala- 
bama. On the 14th of the following Dvccmbcr he became 
assistant to the camji quartermaster, and on the 19th of 
January, 1918, he was assigned to duty as salvage officer at 
that Camp. On the 12th of the following October, Captain 
Mason was transferred to Camp Fremont, California, where 
he serv'ed as camp salvage officer until the 1st of the follow- 
ing February, when he was assigned to duty as assistant 
salvage zone officer at Fort Mason, in the City of San Fran- 
cisco. On the 19th of the following June he was made zone 
salvage officer, and in this capacity he served until October 
16, 1919, when he received his honorable discharge. There- 
after he continued in the private practice of his profession 
at Fairmont until January 1, 1921, when he was appointed 
assistant prosecuting attorney of Marion County. In his 
I)rofession and as a loyal and public-spirited citizen he is 
well upholding the i)restige of the honored family name. 

Captain Mason is a member of Fairmont Lodge No. 9, 
A. F. and A. M., is a Knight Templar and an eighteenth 
degree Scottish Rite Mason, and a member, of Osiris Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine in the City of Wheeling. He is also 
a member of the American Legion, Elks and Odd Fellows 
and is" a member of the Country and Automobile clubs of 
his home city. 

Captain Mason married Miss Josephine Colbert, daughter 
of Henry Clay C'olbert, of Martinsburg, this state, and their 
one child is a son, John William (III), born May 25, 1914. 

Adam B. LrrrLEPAOE, who for three terms was a member 
of Congress from West Virginia, his last term coinciding 
with the period of the war, with Germany, earned a dis- 
tinctively high place as a lawyer as well as a statesman, and 
he was still enjoying an undiminished prestige in his pro- 
fession when overtaken by death June 29, 1921. 

Adam Brown Littlepage was born in Kanawha County 
April 14, 1859, son of Adam and Rebecca T. (Wood) 
Littlepage. His father was bom in Greenbrier County, 
Virginia, where his French-Scotch ancestors had settled. 
In 1840 he built salt works near Kanawha Saline, where 
he engaged in salt manufacturing and contracting, re- 
moving from there in 1845 to a farm near Kanawha Two- 
Mile. He possessed business qualifications of a high order 
and became a man of large estate. During the unhappy 
Civil war he suffered great losses, many of which he 
claimed to be unjust, and he subsequently gave up his 
life in a duel at Dublin, Virginia, in an effort to sub- 
stantiate his right to a valuable property. Although the 
larger part of the fortune which he had acquired was not 
preserved to his family, they were able to retain 900 acres 
of land, little of which, however, was contributive to the 
comfort or maintenance of his immediate family. Adam 
Littlepage married Rebecca T. Wood. She was born i 
Kanawha County, Virginia, and died at Cliarleston, We.st 
Virginia, in 1898, aged seventy-one years. Seven children 
were born to this marriage, several of whom died in 
infancy. One son, Alexander, became a noted physician, 



10 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



while Adam B. and Samuel D. both became lawyers and 
both gained prominence as members of the Charleston bar. 

Adam B. Littlepage attended the public schools in 
Kanawha County. The death of his father in 1862 had 
brought about domestic changes, and the advantages that 
might have been accorded the children of the family were 
measurably limited. When the youth decided to study law 
he went to his uncle, who was a resident of Lodi, Indiana, 
and remained with him until the latter 's death, after 
which for a time he was employed in settling up his uncle 's 
large estate. In his early endeavors to secure an educa- 
tion in law that would admit him to practice Mr. Little- 
page met with many discouragements which to a man of 
less determination would have caused his turning to some 
other means to gain a livelihood. Fortunately he had 
faith in himself, an important factor in the pursuit of 
any ambition, and struggled on until he attained his de- 
sire. In painful measure in his early years of law practice 
at Newport, Indiana, in which state he had been admitted 
to the bar, he was hampered by lack of means, increased 
somewhat by the desire as well as necessity of contribut- 
ing to the support of those dear to him. In this connection 
it may be mentioned that when his income was $50.00 a 
month he sent thirty-five dollars of this amount to his 
mother. Also, in Indiana he found himself not altogether 
in touch with the people and conditions which surrounded 
him, and after two years of trial a natural feeling of 
homesickness perhaps had its influence and he returned 
to Kanawha County, opening an office at Charleston. 

Mr. Littlepage as a lawyer was equally at home in the 
civil and criminal branches of the law, and gained dis- 
tinction not only by individual eases but through the great 
volume of important litigation he handled. At one time 
he was general counsel in West Virginia for the United 
Mine Workers of America. He was a member of several 
law partnerships at Charleston. In 1907 he became senior 
member of the firm Littlepage, Cato & Bledsoe. This 
was succeeded in February, 1911, by the firm Littlepage 
& Son, and still later by the firm of Littlepage, Littlepage 
& Littlepage. 

The late Mr. Littlepage was a loyal democrat, but seldom 
allowed his name to be associated with candidacy for ofSce. 
At one time he was defeated by forty-nine votes for the 
office of prosecuting attorney, and a recount of the votes 
was settled by a compromise dividing the office between 
the two candidates. In November, 1906, he was elected 
a member of the State Senate from a district 3,000 votes 
normally republican. During his term in the Senate he 
was a member of the finance and other committees. In 
November, 1910, he was elected to the Sixty-second Con- 
gress as a representative of the Third West Virginia Dis- 
trict. The normal political complexion of the district was 
republican by a majority of 6,000, and he received a 
margin over his competitor by nearly 2,000 ballots. He 
was re-elected from the Third District in 1914, and in 
1916 was elected to the Sixty-fifth Congress from the Sixth 
District, his third term ending in March, 1919. He served 
for some time as a member of the committee on military 
affairs, but at the special request of Secretary Daniels 
he resigned his membership in this committee and was 
made a member of the naval affairs committee during the 
World war. 

On April 8, 1884, Mr. Littlepage married Eva Collctt, 
daughter of Stephen S. and Jane (Dunlap) Collett. Her 
parents were natives of Vermilion County, Indiana, where 
her father was president of a bank. Mr. and Mrs. Little- 
page had two children: Clara Frances, who became the 
wife of R. F. Irvrin, and S. Collett Littlepage, whose 
career is sketched in biography following. 

Mr. Littlepage was a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite 
Mason and a Noble of the Mystic Shrine, an Odd Fellow, 
a Knight of Pythias, an Elk and a Red Man. 

As an individual, as a lawyer, and as a legislator Adam 
B. Littlepage stood exemplar of those principles wHich 
tend towards the better life. While manifesting and prac- 
ticing towards others the utmost measure of kindliness and 
charity, he maintained for himself a rigid adherence to 
the principles of absolute equity and fairness. Scrupulously 



honest in all of his dealings with his fellow men, he coil 
never countenance, much less practice, the petty triia 
which too often pass current in the business and politij 
world. Kind hearted and generous, almost to a fault, 8 
possessed an affability and charm of manner which vii 
and held friendships, and marked him a man among s 
peers. 

Stephen Collett Littlepage became an active *>■ 
ber of the Charleston bar in 1908, for a dozen years is 
actively associated with his distinguished father, p.nd * 
been ably carrying on the great and important volume f 
the practice of the old firm since the death of jjs father.! 

His father was the late Hon. Adam Brow.j LittlepajJ 
one of Charleston 's most distinguished citizen». He wi 
born near Charleston, April 14, 1859, son of Adam B. a 1 
Rebecca T. (Wood) Littlepage. He was educated in ti 
public schools near Charleston, and in his professjorj 
career held the offices of prosecuting attorney, memif 
of the State Senate, from 1906 to 1910, and representl 
the Charleston District in Congress, elected in 1910, 1b 
only democrat ever chosen to Congress from this distrt 
since the Civil war. He was general counsel in W4 
Virginia for the United Mine Workers of America. Adsl 
B. Littlepage died June 29, 1921. He mar-ied Eva i 
Collett, of Newport, Indiana, April 8, 188^. She ws 
born at Newport, a daughter of Stephen S. Collett, I 
banker, and a niece of Joseph and John Collett. Joi 
Collett was distinguished as the builder of the Chicai 
and Eastern Illinois Railroad, and was its first preside . 
Joseph Collett was state geologist for the State of Indiai, 

Stephen Collett Littlepage was bom at Charleston i 
1887, was educated in the grammar and higl schools E 
his native city, attended Kentucky Military Institute, Wa;4 
ington and Lee University, and graduated LL. B. frii 
the University of West Virginia in 1908. He at oiB 
returned to Charleston, and has since been in active pr:| 
tice and his personal abilities have won him much of IS 
prestige given his honored father. 

Mr. Littlepage early in 1918 volunteered as a privis 
in the infantry service, and was assigned to duty wi 
the One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Depot Brigade at Can 
Lee, Virginia. While there he was recommended by offiaj 
of his company and battalion to enter the line of office' 
training school. He was one of only three men who wib 
commissioned first lieutenants at Camp Lee, all the otlr 
candidates attending school having to be satisfied wi 
the grade of second lieutenant. Mr. Littlepage is stilU 
first lieutenant of the Reserves. He married Novemlr 
22, 1919, Marguerite E. Payne, of Charleston, West V- 
ginia, only daughter of Charles K. and Emma E. Pay. 

Mr. Littlepage is a member of the Kappa Alpha f • 
ternity, Theta Nu Epsilon fraternity, Edgewood Coi- 
try Club. He is also a member of numerous hunting ai 
fishing clubs, including the Alleghany and Cheat Mountii 
clubs and the Paul J. Rainey Fox Hunters' Associatii 
and the National Fox Hunters' Association. In fratenl 
circles he holds membership in the Elks Lodge and tj 
Knights of Pythias. He is a member of the Presbyterii 
Church. 

Hon. Nathan Gorr. In the public service of state ai 
nation perhaps no West Virginian had longer and m(e 
distinguished service than the late Nathan Goif. He vs 
one of the first volunteers in the war for the Union, in whi 
he rose to the rank of major. From the close of the vr 
he practiced law, was an officer of the state and fede 1 
governments, a cabinet officer, congressman, federal juds 
and United States senator, and in these varied responsib> 
ties was almost continuously active until a short time befiS 
his death. 

He was born in the City of Clarksburg, which alwfS 
remained his home, on February 9, 1843. His first Am- 
ican ancestors were New England settlers. His gre.- 
grandparents were Nathan and Mary (Potter) Goff, w) 
were married at Coventry, Rhode Island, in 1746. l! 
grandfather, Job Goff, was born at Coventry, Rhode Islai, 
November 22, 1760, and was reared in Vermont. He vi? 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



11 



,Dne of the volunteers from Vermont to the American forces 
,4n the Revolutionary war. Subsequently he removed to 
,.Otaego County, New York, and in 1804 settled in what is 
now Harrison County, West Virginia. He lived there until 
I his death on Deoomber 8, 1845. 

. The parents of the late Judge Goff were Waldo Potter 
ind Harriet Louise (Moore) Goff. His father was born in 
Otsego County, New York, and died at Clarksburg. Septem- 
iH-r 17, 1881. He was a farmer and merchant, held several 
•nunty offices and was a member of the Virginia Senate. 
At Ciarksburg in 1839, he married Harriet Louise Moore, 
a daughter of Thomas Preston and Rachel (Pindall) 
.Moore. Their children were named : Gay, Henry Clay, 
Nathan, Thomas Moore, Charles James, May, Flora, Lizzie 
ind Hattie. 

' Nathan Goff acquired a liberal education, attending 
jN'orthwestern Academy at Clarksburg and the Georgetown 
College in the District of Columbia. He left Georgetown 
^I'ollege to enlist as a private in Company G of the Third 
,'Virginia Infantry at the very beginning of the war, and re- 
jmained in .service until the close. He was promoted to 
jiieutenant and finally to major, and at his discharge was 
)revetted a brigadier-general of volunteers. He received his 
.lonorable discharge January 20, 1864. He was once a prisoner 
I if war and spent four months in Libby Prison. After leaving 
,'he army he studied law in the University of the City of New 
York, from which he received his LL. B. degree. Georgetown 
(.^'ollegc conferred upon him the honorary degree LL. B. in 
.1889. He was admitted to the bar in 1866, and began 
[practicing that year at Clarksburg. In 1867 he was eleet<'d 
,s member of the West Virginia House of Delegates and 
ircelected in 1868. In 1869 President Grant appointed him 
district attorney for the District of West Virginia, and he 
Me\d that office for twelve years, until 1881, when, toward 
.the close of the administration of President Hayes, he re- 
^iiigned to become secretary of the navy in President Hayes ' 
cabinet. In the meantime he had been one of the promi- 
inent republican leaders in his state; was candidate for Con- 
gress in 1870 and 1874, and for governor in 1876. During 
J881-82 he was again LTnited States district attorney. In 
|1882 he was elected to Congress, serving three terms, from 
1883 to 1889. In 1888 Judge Goff was again his party's 
^candidate for governor, and on the face of the returns was 
^elected by a plurality of one hundred and thirty votes, but 
Ihe election was contested by the democratic candidate, who 
was seated by a majority vote of the Legislature. In 1884 
land in 1888, Judge Goff was chairman of the National Re- 
publican Congressional Committee. 

In 1892 he was appointed by President Harrison judge 
of the United States Circuit Court, Fourth Division, and 
he was on the bench for a period of nineteen years and 
during 1912-13 was judge of the United States Circuit 
Court of Appeals. In 1913 Judge Goff left the bench to 
■become United States Senator from West Virginia, and 
■served out his six year term, ending in March, 1919. He 
had been in some branch of the public service for over half 
a century, and had earned some of the finest distinctions 
'as soldier, lawyer, judge and statesman. 

Through all these years he was exceptionally loyal as a 
citizen of CTarksburg. A monument to his enterpri.se as a 
business man and as a citizen include his splendid resi- 
lience in that city, the Goff office building and the Waldo 
Hotel. 

November 7, 186.5, Judge Goff married Laura Dcspard. 
Two sons were bom to this marriage. Guy D. and Waldo 
Percy Goff. Guy D. Goff took up his father's profession, 
and is now assistant United States attorney-general. Waldo 
P. Goff is a prominent physician and business man of 
Clarksburg. On August 28, 1919, Judge Goff married Miss 
Katherine M. Penney. She survives him and lives at Clarks- 
burg. Judge Goff died April 23, 1920, at the age of sev- 
enty-seven. 

Jaues a, Bbt.\n. The serviceableness of good citizen- 
ship has a most splendid example in the career of James 
A. Bryan of Parkersbnrg. While a busy and successful 
manufacturer, Mr. Bryan at all times has been ready to 
put the interests of the community first in importance, 
"hile so well known and loved in his home community, 



he is widely known all over the state for his prominence 
in Masonry. 

He was bom at Parkersburg February 14, 1858, son 
of William and Margaret (Wreath) Bryan. His father 
was one of the early engineers on the Baltimore & Ohio 
Railroad, running trains over the branch to Parkersburg. 
He was also at one time a captain of the Mount Clare 
transport steamboat. 

James A. Bryan was reared in Parkersburg, attended 
public and private schools there, and has been in business 
since the close of his school days. He is one of the 
principal owners of the National Woolen Mills, with its 
numerous subsidiary establishments. 

For twenty years, ending in 1906, Mr. Bryan ■Has a 
member of the Board of Education, serving without 
remuneration. The last four years he was president of 
the board. During his administration the McKinley School 
Building was erected, at a cost of $90,000; $25,000 were 
e.xpended in rebuilding the Willard School, and $8,000 in 
the remodeling of the Sumner High School. The Carnegie 
Public Library Building was also erected, at a cost of 
$34,000, the gift from Mr. Carnegie being secured largely 
through the personal efforts of Mr. Bryan. As president 
of the Board of Education, it may be safely asserted that 
Mr. Brvan accomplished more than any other citizen ever 
has in behalf of local educational progress. While he 
was on the board a system of free text books was adopted, 
teachers ' salaries were increased, and a four year high 
school course adopted. 

Mr. Bryan is a prominent Methodist and has been 
identified with that church since early youth. He served 
as steward and treasurer of the Board of Stewards for 
thirty years, served as secretary of the Sunday School, for 
five years was superintendent of the Sunday School, and 
is stiU treasurer of the church. When the Parkers- 
burg Y. M. C. A. was organized on a permanent basis he 
was unanimously chosen as first president of the Board 
of Directors. During the three years he held that office, 
the Y. M. C. A. Building was erecfed and equipped at a 
cost of $85,000. 

His many services as a Mason are well kno^vn, and may 
be only bricfiy outlined. He was made a Master Mason 
of Mount Olivet Lodge No. 3, in 1879, filled various chairs 
in that lodge, was its worshipful master in 1882-84, and 
for many j-ears past has been its secretary. In 1879 he 
was exalted to the Royal Arch Degree, was high priest of 
.Jerusalem Chapter No. 3, in 1885, and since 1895 has been 
.secretary of the chapter. In November, 1900, he received 
the order of High Priesthood. He also was elevated in 
1879 to the rank of Knight Templar in Calvary Com- 
mandery No. 3, and was chosen its eminent commander in 
1885, and has been its recorder since 1895. Besides his 
responsibilities in connection with the York Rite bodies at 
Parkersburg, he has had many honors in the state organi- 
zations. In 1907-08 he was grand master of the Grand 
Lodge of the State of West Virginia. He is now Captain 
of Host, Sojourner of the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch 
Masons, and in 1902-03 was grand commander of the 
Grand Conimandery of the state. He has also been repre- 
sentative of these Grand Bodies. Up to the nineteenth 
degree of the Scottish Rite he holds membership in Parkers- 
burg, and acts officially in all the various proceedings. The 
remainder of the Scottish Rite degrees he holds in West 
Virginia Consistory at Wheeling. In 1907, at a meeting 
of the Supreme Council of the Scottish Rite held in Wash- 
ington, D. C, he was elected a Knight Commander of 
the Court of Honor and later was made a thirty-third 
degree. Honorary. Mr. Bryan became a charter member 
of Nemesis Temple of the Mystic Shrine after having 
previously been a member of Osiris Temple at Wheeling. 
He is present recorder of the local Shrine. 

In 1884 Mr. Bryan married Miss Lulu Kendall, daughter 
of Dr. J. E. Kendall. Of their two children the daughter, 
Margaret, died at the age of eighteen months. The son, 
James K. Bryan, is a member of the senior class of the 
Ohio Wesleyan College at Delaware, was senior class presi- 
dent, a member of the Boosters Class, on the staff of 
the college paper, received his athletic Letter in basket 



12 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



ball, and was ouo of the ten men and ten women students 
elected to the distinction of having been one of the most 
serviceable to tlieir college. This son was for twenty-two 
months in the liosiiital service during the World war, 
attached to the Thirty-seventh Ohio Regiment and spent 
eleven months overseas, being at the front during the 
Argonne battle. 

Gilbert L. Watson. Practically all the experiences of 
his mature career have identified Mr. Watson with the 
great industry of oil production. Oil circles know him as 
a veteran, and his activities have extended from the East 
to the West. He first became identified with oil production 
in West Virginia thirty years ago, and for a quarter of a 
century his home has been at Parkersburg, where he is presi- 
dent of the Citizens National Bank. 

Mr. Watson was born at Olean, New York, May 26, 18.55, 
son of Hiram and Melviua (Treeman) Watson. The Wat- 
sons were an old New England family, coming from Scot- 
land about 1629 and settling in and around Hartford, 
Connecticut. The great-grandfather of Gilbert L. Watson 
was Simeon Watson, a soldier of the Revolution. 

Gilbert L. Watson while a boy spent several years in 
Northern Illinois, but otlierwise his early life was passed in 
New York. He completed his education in the Olean Acad- 
emy, and from the age of fifteen to twenty he was employed 
as an operator and manager of the Olean oiEce of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company. In 1875 Mr. Watson 
opened for the Enterprise Transportation Compauy, the first 
])ipe line office for" the purchase of oil at Bradford, Pennsyl- 
vania. Aliout two years later this business was taken over 
by the Standard interests but he continued in the producing 
end of tlie Enterprise Transportation Company until 1884. 

In tliat year he became an oil producer on his own 
res])onsibility, his first efforts being made in the Bradford 
field. Gradually his operations extended down througli 
Butler and Washington counties, Pennsylvania, and during 
the Belmont excitement in 1891 he came into West Virginia. 
During the past thirty years Mr. Watson has operated in 
nearly every oil producing county in West Virginia, and also 
in the .states of Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois and Okla- 
homa. He moved his family to Parkersburg in 1896. As an 
oil producer his endeavors have been attended with a re- 
markable uniformity of success. This has been due no 
doubt to his long experience and also to his well balanced 
mind and detailed practical knowledge of every feature of 
the business. His interests as an oil producer are still scat- 
tered over five states. 

Mr. Watson is a Knight Templar Mason, a thirty-second 
degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner and an Elk. He is 
a member of the Congregational Church and is president 
of the Union Mission and member of the Rotary Club, 
Blennerhasset Club and Chamber of Commerce. 

April 9, 1884, Mr. Watson married Miss Charlotte Busli- 
nell, and he began his career as an independent oil producer 
sluu'tly after his marriage. Her father, Cornelius S. Bush- 
nell, lived for many years at New Haven Connecticut, and 
was a man of distinction. He helped the famous engineer, 
John Eriekson, build the Monitor during the Civil war. 
Later he was actively identified with the construction of the 
Union Pacific Railway. Mr. and Mrs. Watson had one 
daughter, Emily, who died at the age of nine years. Their 
only surviving child is Cornelius B. Watson, now assistant 
to the president of the Pure Oil Company of Columbus, 
Ohio. 

Gf:av Sii.\'ki!. Wh;it promises to be the most significant 
and im|)oi-taMt move ever made for the advancement and 
welfare of American farmers and necessarily by virtue of 
that fact benefiting the entire nation as well, was the or- 
ganization of the American Farm Bureau Federation, which 
is now in its third year and which at the close of 1921 was 
a national organization representing through its local con- 
stituencies every state in the Union except two and compris- 
ing nearly a million members distributed among the approx 
imately fifteen hundred county farm bureaus and the forty- 
six state farm burcaii federations. The Pedoraticin in its 
|il:ni I'oi- |ir.'ii'tii;il work lias nine ndministi'ati\ e ilivisidiis. 



one of which, with official headquarters at Washington,is 
the legislative. The man in charge of this legislative •- 
partment, located in the Munsey Building at Washingtonis 
a West Virginia farmer and fruit grower, member of an d 
and distinguished family of Berkeley County, and who s 
expressed his chief life enthusiasm in practical farming ; ' 
fruit growing and all the problems incidental thereto. 

James Silver, colonist to America, was one of the 1 
permanent settlers in the Cumberland Valley of Penn;! 
vania (about 1725.) He gave the site for Silver Spri; 
Presliyterian Church, six miles from Carlisle, and waia 
leading spirit in securing the erection of Cumberland Cou),-, 
and served with the rank of captain in the French and i- 
dian wai-. He died in 1776. His son, Francis Silver, 1,., 
born in 1740, was a large owner and operator of mills in c 
Cumberland Valley, and took his father's place in busiiiis 
and in ecclesiastical affairs. He was a soldier of the R'- 
olntion, and his mills helped feed the Continental Army, u 
1798 he removed with his family to Berkeley County, A' 
ginia, where he died in 1820. 

Francis Silver, Jr>tl775-1852), lived at Bunker Hill, •■ 
quired a large landed estate, operated several mills, wa a 
soldier in the War of 1812, and a force for good through t 
his community. He married in 1802 Anne Bcall, daughr 
of Capt. Zephaniah Beall, a soldier of the Revolution a 
son of William and Sarah (Magruder) Bcall, the lattea 
descendant of the Scotch clan McGregor. 

The only son of Francis and Anne (Beall) Silver is 
Zephaniah Silver, grandfather of Gray Silver. He was b ii 
at Bunker Hill May 24, 1805, and lived at Whiti' HI, 
Frederick County, where he dispensed a generous lins|iital'. 
He married in 1834 Martha Jane, accomplished daughter f 
Captain Hiram and Mary (MeConnell) Hensliaw. Sprg 
Hill, her birthplace, was founded by her great-grandfatl-, 
John Henshaw, in 1766. The first chapter of the D. A.:, 
in West Virginia, organized in 1899, was named in honor f 
her grandfather, Ca]it. William Henshaw. Martha J:i' 
Silver, a granddaughter of Mrs. Martha Jane Hensh\ 
Silver, was a charter member and regent of the chapr 
190] -04 and 1914-19. Hiram Henshaw was a captain ii 
the War of 1812. 

Col. Francis Silver 3d, familiarly known as (I. 
Frank Silver, was born near White Hall, Frederick Cour', 
May 10, 1836, was educated in private schools, and wasn 
Company B of the First Virginia Cavalry from the outt 
of the war until the surrender at Appomattox, being .sevc- 
ly wounded at Roods Hill. He was reared a federalist n 
liolitics, but after the war voted as a democrat, was a Pr- 
byterian, and was a gentleman of the old school, courtly ii 
manner, handsome and generous. Like mo.st Valley \- 
ginians of his day, his business interests were mainly the 
of a farmer. He was a director of the Old National B.'k 
and of the Shenandoah Valley Agriculture Society of W ■ 
Chester. He took an active part in the reconstruction of s 
native state. He died at his home in Berkeley County A\\ 
28, 1885. 

November 6, 1867, he married Mary Ann Gray, who ts 
born on the Gray homestead, later known as Grayvi', 
Berkeley County, December 19, 1841. She was a deseendtt 
of John Gray ('l 746 1816), who came from Scotland in Vi'i 
and settled in Berkeley County, was a government survey, 
acquired a large landed estate, and in 1787 laid out t 
village of Gerardstown. His oldest son, James Willi i 
Gray, born in 1811, married Martha Jane Gilbert, daughr 
of Edward Gilbert, Jr., and their oldest child was Mif 
Ann. 

The parents of both Colonel Silver and his wife, Mii 
Ann Gray, were representatives of the best type of Val>' 
Virginians of protestant faith, intelligent and prospcro. 
living on large plantations of considerably more thani 
thousand acres and until after the War of 1861-5 surrountl 
by a large number of well cared for and contented servar. 
This property was devastated, or entirely swept away, ' 
that dreadful conflict between the North and South. 1' 
Silver and Gray plantation homes were both situated in 1' 
f.'iirest ])art of the beautiful and far famed Slienaiidoi 
\':illcv, the iMiiiHMliatr scene of the fiercest coiillict lietwti 




Mf^ a^s^^<r. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



18 



the contending armies during those four years of dreadful 
warfare. 

It was of such traditions and ancestry and under the fore- 
going circumstances that Gray Silver began the battle of 
life. He was born, February 17, 1870, at White Hall, Fred- 
erick County, Virginia. In his early infancy his parents re- 
moved from the Silver homestead at White Hall to Mrs. 
.Silver's paternal estate near Gerardstown, Berkeley County, 
West Virginia, where the family thereafter made their home, 
where their younger children were born, and where Colonel 
Silver spent the remaining years of his life and where his 
five children grew to maturity. With later additions this 
••state, now comprising about 900 acres, is the well known 
"Silver Hill Farms" of Inwood, Berkeley County, where 
the family hold large orchard and other interests. 

Gray Silver was educated iu the private and public schools 
i)f Berkeley County, being graduated from the latter in the 
class of 1885, when but fifteen years of age. Having lost 
his father at an early age, he soon learned to assume leader- 
ship and responsibility, consequently we find him iu the 
liusiness world when most youths are in school. His occu- 
jiation has been largely that of an agriculturist and horti- 
rulturist since the beginning of his business career, and he 
has also been interested in the breeding of live stock and 
the growing of wool. He was a pioneer in bringing ranch 
sheep to the East for breeding purposes. He was invited 
to attend the conference of the tariff board to discuss the 
I'ffei't of free wool in the sheep industry. He had been 
active in the development of the Appalachian apple belt, 
and is a large owner of orchards at the present time. 

He has been a member of the Board of Directors of dif- 
ferent local banking institutions. At present he holds a 
directorship in the Merchants and Farmers Bank at Mar- 
tingburg. He was apjiointed commissioner on inland waters 
by President Taft. During the World war he was appointed 
by President Wilson as chairman of the County Liberty 
Loan Board, as well as controller of food and fuel and rep- 
resentative of labor distribution. 

In the selection of Mr. Silver for his present important 
responsibilities with the American Farm Bureau Federation 
his qualifications rested not only upon his very close touch 
with the practical side of American agriculture, but also 
upon his familiarity with and experience in the public af- 
fairs of his home state. For eight years he was a member 
of the State Senate of West Virginia and a leader in that 
body. He was elected to the Senate in 1906, beginning his 
work in the session of 1907. The district he represent4?d 
embraced Berkeley, Jefferson, Morgan and Hampshire coun- 
ties. He was president of the Senate, being thereby ex- 
"fficio lieutenant governor of the state. 

Mr. Silver is a member of the Masonic fraternity being a 
thirty-second degree, a Knight Templar, Scottish Bite and a 
.Shrincr; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; the fol- 
lowing patriotic and hereditary societies; National Society 
of Sons and Daughters of Pilgrims, with forty-two ancestral 
gold stars to his credit; the American Clan Gregor Society, 
Deputy Chieftain for West Virginia; the National Society 
Sons of the American Revolution; Sons of Confederate 
Veterans; the Imperial Military Order of the Yellow Rose. 
He is a member of the Presbyterian Church; holding the 
oflBce of Deacon. 

Because of the interests he represented and also for his 
leadership he was one of the group of American farmers 
who were most active in the organization of the American 
Farm Bureau Federation in 1919. He had been interested 
in all fanner movements, particularly the Grange, and state 
lecturer in his home state for that organization. 

He was active in the work which began and led up to the 
organization of local Farm Bureaus. Some 850 County 
Farm Bureaus had been organized into their respective state 
federations, and these were the units which made the Amer- 
ican Farm Bureau Federation in 1919. When the organiza- 
tion was completed he was put in charge of the legislative 
department at Washington. This Washington oflSce is 
designated as a general aid agency to all farmers' activities 
m the national capital, and has been particularly helpful 
in furthering the Federation's program of national legisla- 



tion affecting the farm industry in general, and in providing 

a nucleus uf influence to bring agriculturaJ questions to the 
attention of Congress. Undoubtedly the legislative oflBce 
shares to a large measure the credit for the extensive pro- 
gram of legislation passed during the year 1921, including 
such vital measures as those increasing the capital and the 
working efficiency of the Federal Farm Loan system, the 
limitation of foreign immigration, the regulation of grain 
exchanges and packing houses. Mr. Silver not only under- 
stands the farmers' immediate problems, but his long con- 
tact with men of affairs and his experience in politics makes 
him familiar with the avenues of approach to Congress and 
higher Government officials. 

Mr. Silver and his wife, Kate (Bishop) Silver, have five 
young children, as follows: Mary Gray Silver; Gray Silver, 
Jr.; Anne Beall Silver; Francis Silver 5th; Catherine du 
Bois. 

Mrs. Kate (Bishop) Silver was educated at Randolph 
Macon Woman 's College, Lynchburg, Virginia, class of 1907, 
is an accomplished musician, and is an active member of the 
Wednesday afternoon Music Club of Martinsburg. She is 
a member of the Alumnae Association of Randolph Macon 
Woman's College; member of the American Association of 
University Women's College Club, a Chi Omega; is a mem- 
ber of the Martinsburg Golf Club, and of the following 
patriotic and hereditary societies: National Society of Sons 
and Daughters of Pilgrims, and by an interesting coin- 
cidence is entitled to forty-two ancestral stars, exactly the 
number accredited to her husband by the same society, in- 
dicating that they have the same number of Pilgrim an- 
cestors. Mrs. Silver is also a member of the National So- 
ciety Daughters of the American Revolution, the National 
Society of United States Daughters of 1812, the United 
Daughters of the Confederacy and an associate member of 
the American Clan Gregor Society. 

Samuel Fuller Glasscock, of the law firm of Glass- 
cock & Glasscock at Morgantown, has been distinguished 
for his ability and very successful work as a lawyer, and 
while well known in the public life of his state, his chief 
ambition has been in his profession, in which for a number 
of years he has been associated with his brother, former 
Governor W. E. Glasscock. 

The Glasscock family of Monongalia County was estab- 
lished here more than a century ago by John Glasscock. 
John was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, and he and 
his brother Hezekiah settled on Indian Creek in Monongalia 
County. One of the grandsons of John Glasscock was 
Arthur C. Mellette, the first governor of South Dakota. 

Charles Glasscock, son of the Revolutionary soldier, was 
born in Virginia July 20, 1775, and was a young man when 
he came with his father and uncle to Monongalia County. 
He was a miller in Grant District of that county, and died 
in February, 1840. His wife was Mary Arnett, who was 
born in 1794 and died in 1878. 

Among the children of Charles Glasscock was Daniel 
Glasscock, father of the Morgantown lawyers. Daniel Glass- 
cock was born at Arnettville in 1828 and sjjcnt a long and 
industrious life as a farmer. He died in 1910. He was one 
of the early members of the republican party in the state 
and was a member of the Methodist Church. In 1859 he 
married Prudence Michael, who died in 1904. Her children 
were: Stejihcn A. D., William E., Louverna, Samuel Fuller, 
James F., Sarah, Mary J., Alice and Zana. 

Samuel Fuller Glasscock grew up on his father's farm, 
acquired his early education in the public schools, and was 
a successful teacher for several years. He graduated in law 
from the West Virginia University in 1893, was admitted 
to the bar the same year, and at once began his profes- 
sional work in Morgantown as a member of the firm of 
Moreland & Glasscock. About nine years later he became 
associated with his brother William E. in the firm of Glass- 
cock & Glasscock, and they have practiced law together 
except for the four year period when William was gov- 
ernor of the stat«. As a law firm it stands in the front 
rank both in point of ability of the members and the 
importance of its clientage. Among other corporations 
whose legal affairs they have handled are: General counsel 



14 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



for till' Moigaiitown & Kingwood Railway Company, now 
|i;ut of the Baltimore & Ohio System; general counsel for 
tlip Elkins Coal & Coke Comi^any and its successor, the 
Bethlehem Coal Company; attorneys for the Bank of Mor- 
gautown, Glasscock Collieries Company, the Cheat Canyon 
Coal Company and others. 

Mr. Glasscock is a past grand of Monongalia Lodge No. 
10, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and was the first 
jiresident of the Morgantown Eotary Club and a delegate 
to the National Convention of Eotary Clubs at Atlantic 
City in 1920. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Ciuirch, and a member of the County and State Bar asso- 
ciations. July 29, 1908, he married Mabel C. Reynolds, 
daughter of Dl-. P. B. Reynolds, who for many years was 
jirofessor of metaphysics in the University of West Vir- 
ginia, of which Mrs. Glasscock is a graduate. 

Hon. William Ellsworth Glasscock, governor of West 
Virginia from 1909 to 1913, is a member of the Morgan- 
town law firm of Glasscock & Glasscock, and a brother of 
Samuel Fuller Glasscock. 

■ He was born on his father's farm in Monongalia County, 
December 13, 1862, was reared on the farm, and is a 
product of West Virginia environment and institutions. He 
j.ttended the public schools, later the University of West 
Virginia, and for a number of years devoted his time to 
teaching. He taught school in Iowa and Nebraska as well 
as in his native state, and during 1887-90 was superin- 
tendent of schools for Monongalia County. 

He was admitted to the bar in 1902, and in the same 
year joined his brother S. F. Glasscock in the practice of 
law at Morgantown. His interests as a lawyer are described 
in the sketch of his brother. 

He was a member of the Republican State Central Com- 
mittee from 1900 to 1908 and was its secretary and chair- 
man at different times. From 1905 to 1908 he was United 
States collector of internal revenue for the District of West 
Virginia, resigning that office to become candidate on the 
republican ticket for governor. He was elected, and his 
term as governor was from March 4, 1909, to March 3, 
1913. In 1912 he was delegate at large from the state to 
the Republican National Convention in Chicago. 

August 15, 1888, Governor Glasscock married Mary Alice 
Miller, of Monongalia County. She is a descendant in the 
sixth generation from Col. John Evans, one of the promi- 
nent leaders in the settlement of the Monongahela Valley 
of West Virginia. 

Charles James Faulkner. In that broad zone of in- 
terests and affairs where the life of the community merges 
with that of the state and nation and the local citizen be- 
comes a power and influence in the web of a larger destiny, 
one of the most interesting figures supplied by West Vir- 
ginia was the late Charles James Faulkner of Martinsburg. 
In his varied experience as lawyer, legislator, diplomat and 
soldier he was of a rank and character that puts his name 
easily among the first in the ' ' Great Men of the Virginias. ' ' 
Hardly less distinctive, though wrought in the medium of a 
later and less turbulent age, is the career of his son and 
namesake, familiarly known in Martinsburg, his home, as 
Senator Faulkner. 

Charles James Faulkner, Sr., was born at Martinsburg in 
1806, son of Maj. James Faulkner and Sarah (Mackey) 
Faulkner. The grandfather was a native of County Ar- 
magh, Ireland, whither the family had settled on leaving 
England during the reign of William and Mary. Maj. 
James Faulkner was born April 2, 1776, and served as a 
major of artillery in the War of 1812, and was in command 
of the fortifications and American forces that defeated the 
British at Craney Island, near Norfolk, Virginia. He was 
a merchant by occupation, and spent his last years in Mar- 
tinsburg, where he died in 1817. Major Faulkner married 
in 1803 Sarah Mackey. Sarah Mackey, who died in 1808, 
was a daughter of Capt. William Mackey, who lived from 
1738 to 1819, and his wife, Ruth Cromwell. Ruth Crom- 
well was the daughter of Stephen and Elizabeth (Murray) 
Cromwell. Elizabeth Murray, whose second husband was 
Samuel Chenowith, was the daughter of Josephus Murray 



by his second wife, Ruth Hawkins. Josephus Murray vs 
the son of James Murray, of Baltimore County, Maryla , 
and his wife, Jemima Morgan, who married secony 
Thomas Cromwell. Jemima Morgan was the daughter f 
Captain Morgan. Capt. William Mackey commanded a 
regiment in the Revolution at the battle of Brandywine, v 
a member of the Order of Cincinnati, and his members 
diploma is now in possession of his great-grandson, 
oldest male descendant. 

Charles James Faulkner was only two years of age wl 
his mother died and about eleven at the death of his 
ther. With no relatives in this county, he was reared amo 
strangers. The village doctor gave him a home. At 
early age he began the study of law under Chancel 
Tucker at Winchester, and he was also a graduate of Geor 
town University, near Washington. He was admitted 
the bar in 1829, and almost from the first was accorc 
recognition in his profession and in politics. His first pi 
lie effort was in behalf of the Constitution of 1830, 
he led the campaign^n his district for its adoption, wb 
Tom Marshall was bitterly opposed to it. In the cont 
Marshall had the advantage of wit and eloquence, but J , 
Faulkner by his industry secured for the constitution! 
large majority in Berkeley County. Two years after b 
admission to the bar, in 1832, he took his place in the V- 
ginia House of Delegates. He was then a boy in age a I 
appearance, but a man in mind. While in the Legislati 
he introduced a mea.sure for the gradual abolition of slav. 
in Virginia, upon what was known the "post nati" priii 
pie, declaring that all children born of slave parents af * 
July 1, 1840, should be free. The proposition was il 
feated and it was used against him the following yit 
when he was a candidate for the Legislature, but he vs 
re-elected by a unanimous vote. In 1833 he declined • 
election and was appointed a commissioner on behalf f 
Virginia to examine and report on the disputed questii 
of boundary line between Maryland and Virginia. He v< 
successful in settling this dispute and won a clear title U 
Virginia. During the next fifteen years he applied hi- 
self steadily to his profession, and from his practice :- 
quired a fortune. However, there were some interruptiis 
even during this period of abstention from polities, i 
1841 he was elected state senator, but resigned the foUi ■ 
ing year. In 1843 he was an advocate of the annexatii 
of Texas and in 1846 a warm supporter of the Mexiei 
war. In 1848 he was elected to the House of Delegati 
and during the following session he introduced a series I 
resolutions which were passed by the Legislature and traij 
mitted to Congress, where the bill became the basis of ti 
famous fugitive slave law passed by Congress in 1850. :| 
was a member of the Convention for the revision of tl 
State Constitution in 1850, and worked hard for the interi 
of Western Virginia, gaining for that section the [losition 
the Council of States to which it was entitled. The co 
promise of 1850 changed the political affiliations of ma 
men, and Mr. Faulkner drifted to the side of the Uni 
and in 1851, when he was a candidate for re-election, tli 
was an issue against him, but he won by a good majorii 
He was elected a member of Congress and in 1852 left t 
whig party, joining his political fortunes with the den 
crats, by whom he was re-elected, and served fouf si 
cessive terms, from December 1, 1851, until March 3, 18i 
During his first term he delivered a speech in Congress e 
titled "The Compromise — The Presidency — Political P; 
ties. ' ' This was a big effort in behalf of Franklin Piei 
for the presidency, and more than 125,000 copies of t 
speech were printed and distributed. He also took t 
stump and carried his district for Pierce. He was an 
five opponent of the ' ' know nothing ' ' party and work 
for the election of Buchanan in 1856. Buchanan on 1 
coming president in 1857 offered Mr. Faulkner the positii 
of Minister to France. But as he was in Congress and i 
Hon. John Y. Mason, a personal friend, was then Ministr 
to France, he declined in favor of Mr. Mason. On t! 
death of Mr. Mason in 1859 Mr. Faulkner was nominati 
to fill his place and accepted. He was recalled in 1861 ■ 
President Lincoln, and on his return he was arrested n I 
confined as a disloyal citizen. He demanded of the Scci- 



IIISTOIJY OF WHST VIKGIXIA 



15 



,r\ Ml' War ii|>iiii nimt rliaigf he IkhI lioeii arrestoil ami 
I. anil rweivoil tin- following messam' fioiii Simon 
,. si'rrctary of war: "You arc held as a ilistiii- 
; lilizoM of Virjjinia. as a hostage for Jaiiu's Me 
ia«, Statv Treasurer of IViiiisylvania, nlio wliilc soarcli- 
Ug for tlie (leail boJy of a frien.l on the hattlefieUI of 
• nil Kun was taken and thrown into |irisoii by the people 
If vour state now in rebellion asaiiist the authority of tlie 
[nvernment, ami, so help me (iod, you shall never he re- 
K\ei\ until James Mctiraw and his party are set at lib- 
(tv anil are safe."' He was eonfined in Washington one 
(.onth. then transferred to Fort Lafayette, and while there 
[as offered his liberty if he would take the oath of alle- 
Ijnnre to the I'nited 'St,ates. This he refused, saying that 
■ had lieen guilty of no offense and that he would sul)niit 
no I'onilitions for his release. Soon after this he learned 
at MHIraw of I'enn.sylvania had been set at liberty, and 
• again nrote to the Seeretary of War, whose answer 
us: "You are no longer in my custody. You have been 
ansferred to the Seeretary of State as a political pris- 
:ier. " The charge against Mr. Faulkner now was that he 
III refused the oath of allegiance. Soon afterward he 
la-s removed to Fort Warren in Boston Harbor and finally 
'as "exchanged" for a Mr. Ely of New York, a congress- 
man who had been captured while a spectator at the Battle 
•f Bull Run. 

I Though then nearly sixty years of age, and exempt by 
iw from military ser»-ice, as soon as he was released he 
Altered the army as a member of the staff of Gen. Stone- 
iall Jackson, ranking as senior adjutant general and lieu- 
i'nant colonel. General Jackson referred to him as being of 
ireat service to him iir the making of his reports. There 
:re only twenty of these rcjiorts now in existence, and they 
!cre all written by Colonel Faulkner. During his ab- 
•nce in the war his old home was ordered to be burned by 
•en. DaWd Hunter, and an officer appeared to put the 
oramand into effect, giving the ladies of the household one 
our in whirh to take their clothing and leave. During 
hat hour Mrs. Faulkner sent a telegram of apjical to 
President Lincoln and received an answer in time to .save 
he property. Some years after the war Colonel Faulkner 
as debarred the rights of citizenship on account of having 
nrne arms against the Government, but in 1872 his polit- 
■al difficulties were removed. He was deeply interested 
n the affairs of the new State of West Virginia and exer- 
ised a powerful influence in favor of incorporating the 
wo rich counties of Jefferson and Berkeley in the new state, 
le was the leading counsel for West Virginia in this matter 
ihen the case was argued before the Supreme Court of the 
'nited States in February, 1871, and decided in favor of 
Vest Virginia. He was elected a member of the Constitu- 
ional Convention in 1872, and in 1874 was elected to Con- 
:ress for the term which expired March 3, 1877. He de- 
lined re-election in order to become a candidate for the 
'nited States Senate, but was defeated in the Legislature 
>y a combination of republicans with some of the demo- 
rats. Later he was mentioned as candidate for governor, 
lis last years were spent in retirement, and he died No- 
embor 1, 1S84, at Boydville, West Virginia, and was 
■uried with Masonic honors. 

In 1833 Charles James Faulkner, Sr.. married Mary 
•Vagner Boyd, daughter of Gen. Elisha Boyd and Ann 
Holmes) Boyd. Ann Holmes was the daughter of Joseph 
mi Rebecca (Hunter) Holmes. Joseph Holmes was a son 
•f Hugh Holmes. Rebecca Hunter was the daughter of 
'l?"' Hunter, who was a son of William and Martha Hunter. 
■Villiam Hunter was a son of Andrew Hunter, of Cloghan 
■arm in County Londonderry, Ireland, and was born in 
•MO and died in 1733. He was a descendant of the Hunt- 
■rs of Ayreshire, Scotland. 

Chaklzs J.\mes F.\ulkxer, distinguished son of a dis- 
inguished father, Charles James Faulkner, Sr.. was born 
it Martinsburg, September 21, 1847. When he was about 
welve years of age he accompanied his father when the 
atter went abroad as Minister to France, and while in Eu- 
"pe he attended schools in Paris and Switzerland until 
•eturning to America in 1861. Then, in his fifteenth year. 



he enlercd as a student the Virginia .Military Institute at 
Lrxington. When, during the desperate fighting in 1S(;4 
the little b.-ill^iliiin of cadets was rushed into .service and 
rcndcnd such licniic assistance in the battle of New Mar- 
ket, there was no further talk of schooling, and from that 
time until the end of the war he was on duty first as an 
aide on the staff of Gen. John C. Breckenridge, and later 
on the staff of Gen. Henry A. Wise, and was with General 
Wise when Lee 's army was surrendered at .\ppomattox. 
Following his return home after the war he studied under 
his father until October, 18(iG, and then entered the law 
department of the L'niversity of Virginia, graduating in 
June, 1868, and being admitted to the bar the following 
September, when he was just twenty-one years of age. En- 
tering practice in his native town, he quickly justified the 
brilliant promise of his university career and his family 
prestige. He devoted himself with scarcely any interrup- 
tions to the general |>ractiee of law for twelve years before 
answering a call of public duty. 

In 1880 he was elected and served a term of six years 
as judge of the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit of West Vir- 
ginia, composed of the counties of Jefferson, Morgan and 
Berlteley. In 1887, before he was forty years of age, but 
with reputation thoroughly established as an able lawyer 
and judge, he was elected to the I'nited States Senate to 
succeed Johnson N. Camden. Though formally he was 
elected by the Legislature, he was in a peculiar sense the 
choice of a great majority of the jieople, who had unlim- 
ited confidence in the integrity as well as the intellectual 
strength of Judge Faulkner. He entered the Senate at a 
time when party feeling ran high, and speedily made a 
reputation as one of the strong men on the democratic 
side. He served with distinction for six years, and in 
1893 was honored by reelection and was in the Senate un- 
til the beginning of 1S99. During his second term his 
party was in the majority in the senate, and he was made 
chairman of the committee on territories. During the 
twelve years he was a member of many of the most impor- 
tant committees, including judiciary, a]iprol>riations. Dis- 
trict of Columbia, Pacific railroads, territories^ Indian dep- 
redations, claims and others. One of the great contests 
staged on the floor of the Senate and in which he took a 
leading part was the Blair Educational Bill, in which he 
organized and led the contest in the Senate against its 
passage, and was successful in securing its defeat. He was 
also the consjjicuous figure in the filibuster used to defeat 
the iniquitous Force Bill. In that contest the late Senator 
Gorman of Maryland was lloorleader of the democrats, and 
Senator Faulkner one of his ablest lieutenants. At the re- 
quest of his ]iarty associates Senator Faulkner kept the 
floor, speaking from 10:00 P. M. on one evening unlil 
10:00 A. M. of the next day 9s a necessary means of meet- 
ing a move of the republicans which would have forced a 
vote on the main question which, had it succeeded at the 
time, would have carried the bill. 

After his retirement from the Senate in 1899 Senator 
Faulkner devoted his time to the practice of law, to his 
large agricultural interests in the Eastern Panhandle and 
<ui a number of occasions to important public affairs anil 
interests. He is a member of the bar of the Supreme Court 
of the United States, a member of the American Society of 
International Law, the National (Jeographic Society, the 
Committee of One Hundred of the American Association 
for the Advancement of Science, and a trustee of the 
Alumni Endowment Fund of the L'niversity of Virginia. 
In the democratic party he was permanent chairman of the 
Democratic State Convention of 1888, both temporary and 
permanent chairman of the Convention of 1H92. and was 
chairman of the Congressional Committee in 1894, 1896 
and 1898. 

While he was in the Senate he was appointed in 1898 a 
member of the British-American Joint High Commission 
for the adjustment of differences in respect to the Domin- 
ion of Canada. Senator Faulkner enjoyed the distinctive 
honor of being chosen grand master of the Grand Lodge 
of West Virginia Masons in 1879. He was initiated into 
the society of The Ravens of the l'niversity of Virginia in 
1909, and into the society of Phi Beta Kappa of Virginia, 



16 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



June 12, 1912. He is a member of the Metropolitan and 
Cosmos Clubs of Washington, the Delta Psi of the Univer- 
sity of Virginia, and the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. 

In November, 1869, he married Sallie Winn, daughter of 
John and Ann Winn, of Charlottesville, Virginia. She died 
in March, 1891, the mother of five children. On January 
3, 1894, Senator Faulkner married Virginia Fairfax Whit- 
ing, daughter of H. C. and Martha Whiting, of Hampton, 
Virginia. There is one child by the second marriage. 

Robert Allen Armstrong has achieved many of the 
genuine honors and attainments of scholarship, but with 
them has gone a devoted service in the cause of education, 
social and intellectual ideals, so that it is not difficult to 
understand the appreciation and admiration given him 
throughout the State of West Virginia. 

Doctor Armstrong, who for many years has been head of 
the English Department of West Virginia University, was 
born at Frenehton, Upshur County, West Virginia, Sep- 
tember 23, 1860, son of Jared M. and Eliza (Bennett) 
Armstrong. His father was born in Highland County, 
Virginia, in 1814, son of John and Elizabeth (Wilson) 
Armstrong, who in 1840 moved over the mountains to Lewis 
County, now Upshur County, West Virginia. Jared Arm- 
strong died in June, 1899. His wife, Eliza, was the daugh- 
ter of David and Mary (Stuart) Bennett. 

Robert A. Armstrong is an alumnus of West Virginia 
Univensity, having graduated A. B. in 1886 and received his 
Master of Arts degree in 1889. From 1886 to 1893 he was 
principal of the West Liberty State Normal School. When 
he entered teaching he regarded it as a temporary vocation 
until he could qualify as a lawyer, and in 1890 he was ad- 
mitted to the West Virginia bar, though it is probable he 
has never represented a single client. Since 1893 Doctor 
Armstrong's services have been with West Virginia Uni- 
versity. He was professor of English from 1893 to 1901, 
was vice president of the university during 1897-99 and 
since 1901 has been professor of English language and 
literature and head of the English department since 1903. 
In 1921, during the simimer term, he served as exchange 
professor of English in the University of Missouri. 

Doctor Armstrong in the course of his career has utilized 
a number of vacation and absence periods for post-graduate 
study. He attended the University of Chicago in 1898, 
was a student in Columbian, now George Washington Uni- 
versity, in 1900, and during 1902-03 was in Harvard Uni- 
versity, where he received the Master of Arts degree in 
1903. Allegheny College bestowed upon him the L. H. D. 
degree in 1908. 

Doctor Armstrong has been chaplain of the university 
since 1910. Since 1886 he has been an instructor in Teach- 
ers Institutes of West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Indi- 
ana and Illinois. He was secretary of the West Virginia 
State Board of School Examiners from 1899 to 1909, was 
editor of the West Virginia School Journal from 1904 to 
1921, was democratic nominee for state superintendent in 
1900 and again in 1916, was a member of the West Vir- 
ginia School Book Commission in 1917-22, was a member 
and president of the School Board of Morgantown Inde- 
pendent School District in 1912-17, was president of the 
West Virginia Sunday School Association in 1902, presi- 
dent of the West Virginia Educational Association in 1907- 
08, a delegate to the general conference of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church in 1900 and 1904, is president for 1921-22 
of the local branch of the American Association of Uni- 
versity Professors, and is a member of the National Educa- 
tional Association and the Kappa Alpha and Phi Beta 
Kappa fraternities. 

With all his other duties Doctor Armstrong has found 
time for original and constructive literary work. He is au- 
thor of a Geography of West Virginia — supplement to the 
National Geography, published in 1899; Life out of Death, 
1906; The Law of Service, 1907; Historical and Literary 
Outlines of the Bible, 1907; Dramatic Interpretations of 
Shakespeare's Tragedies, 1907; Mastering the Books of the 
Bible, 1916. He Vfas editor of a volume of Eclectic English 



Classics, published in 1912, and has contributed manyais- 
cellaneous articles to educational journals. 

For six years he was in the military service of the site, 
being a captain in the National Guard from 1887 to 389 
and major of the First Regiment from 1889 to 1893, deii 
he resigned. He is a Knight Templar Mason and Kght 
of Pythias. 

December 28, 1900, Doctor Armstrong married CTie 
Louise Dent, of Grafton. She died in 1903, leavii a 
daughter, Virginia Dent Armstrong, who was born in Ol. 
On June 11, 1914, Doctor Armstrong married Myr L. 
Shank, of Auburn, New York. They have three chUcsn: 
Roberta Jean, born in 1915; Barbara Allen, born in 117; 
and Keith Stuart, born in 1919. 

Hon. Frank Cox. One of the native sons of Mononilia 
County whose private life and public career have refilled 
credit upon himself and upon his birthplace is Hon. Pmk 
Cox of Morgantown, who has won prominence at the ba md 
on the bench and -today is recognized as one of the e lest 
lawyers and fair-minded jurists in West Virginia. 

Judge Cox was born on the old Cox homestead in Cant 
District, Monongalia County, West Virginia, June 18, ^32, 
a descendant of one of the old pioneer families of the coiity. 
This branch of the Cox family, which is of Scotch-Irish stk, 
was founded in Maryland about the middle of the eightdth 
century by Abraham Cox, who was the American anc(X)r. 
From Maryland he came to Virginia and settled on 300 les 
of Government land near Morgantown, and there spen the 
rest of his life. His son Moses, who was born near Hasrs- 
town, Maryland, in 1780, came with his parents to Mcon- 
galia County, and later located his home on Indian Cjek 
in Grant District. He served as a soldier in the War of ;12, 
was a justice of the peace and county sheriff, and dit in 
1861. He was twice married, first to Jane Musgrove, od, 
second, to Mrs. Charlotte (McDermott) Foster. 

Henry L. Cox, son of Moses and Charlotte (Foster) lox 
and father of Judge Frank Cox, was born in Monon,La 
County, in 1836, and became a man of wide influence and ihd 
worth. From Monongalia Academy he entered Waynes irg 
College, which he attended for two summers, in the mui- 
whUe teaching school during the two winters in Grtne 
County, Pennsylvania. In 1867 Henry L. Cox was eleied 
superintendent of the Monongalia County schools, was jb- 
sequently re-elected, and served in this office for fifteen y is. 
He was active also in the political field and in 1880 /as 
elected a member of the West Virginia Legislature and^as 
returned in 1882. On February 28, 1861, he married :iss 
Elizabeth MatUda Boydston, a daughter of Boaz Boydsm, 
of Greene County, Pennsylvania. Judge Cox was 1eir 
only child. 

In the class of 1883 Frank Cox was graduated fromie 
University of West Virginia with the degree of LL. B., 'as 
admitted to the bar in the same year and immedisjly 
entered upon the practice of law at Morgantown. In l8S 
he was elected prosecuting attorney and re-elected in 1)0. 
He appointed George C. Baker of Morgantown his assistat, 
and in 1892 Mr. Baker succeeded Mr. Cox as prosecung 
attorney, and he appointed Mr. Cox as his assistant. Aiw 
partnership had been formed in 1889, and this professiial 
association has continued to the present, with the excepon 
of the interim while Judge Cox served on the bench. 

In 1904 Mr. Cox was elected judge of the Superior Oirt 
of Appeals of West Virginia, a position for which he as 
singularly well qualified, but in 1907 he resigned and rested 
private practice at Morgantovm. In numerous other la- 
pacities he has been equally prominent and trustwor y. 
He served as judge advocate general on the staff of Goveior 
Atkinson, was a member of the West Virginia World's .ui 
Commission, and during the World war was active id 
influential both publicly and personally, serving as chainin 
of the Second Liberty Loan drive in Monongalia Cou.y, 
and giving generous assistance to all the local patriiic 
movements. 

On March 5, 1885, Judge Cox was imited in marriage vtb 
Miss Mattie J. Weaver, a daughter of George and Margiet 
Weaver. Judge and Mrs. Cox have two children, StaiJy 
Rhey and Margaret Elizabeth. Stanley Rhey Cox was Irn 
March 23, 1889. He was graduated from the LTnivErsit;of 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



17 



Test Virginia, entered into the practice of law at Morgan- 
■wn and subsequently was elected prosecuting attorney of 
ionongalia County, and since the expiration of his term, 
inuary 1, 1921, has engaged in private practice. Judge 
ox's daughter, Margaret Elizabeth, was lx)rn June 1.5, 189S. 
le was eilucated in the I'niversity of West Virginia and in 
•ivato schools, and is now the wife of Charles Burke Morris, 
Clarksburg. West X'irginia. .ludge Cox and family Ijelong 
1 the Methodist Episcopal Church at Morgantown, and he 
a mcnilK-r of its Hoard of Trustees. For a number of years 
• ha-s Ix-en a nicmbcr of the ,Sliool Board in this city and 
ce president of the Board of Trade. He belongs to the 
lasons. Odd Fellows and Modern Woodmen of .\merica. 

SrAXi.KY Rhkv Cox. To interpret the law projwrly in all 
3 complexities and to apply its provisions unerringly to 
itablish human rights and defeat injustice demands such a 
)mprchensive knowledge not only of books but of life 
."elf that he who reaches a high plane in this profession must 
inunand more than negative consideration in the minds of 
is fellowmcn. History evidences the fact that a kind of 
■w has always been upheld by savage peoples, but when 
:plained it resolves it.self into the old axiom that "might 
:akes right." and in modern, ciWlized life it becomes the 
isk of the exponents of the law to overcome this only too 
revalent idea. Hence, on a solid educatiouid foundation 
lUst l)e built up a thorough knowledge of what law means 
•o the pre-sent-tlay man, and how it can be ajjplied to circum- 
ent evil, protect the heli)le.ss and bring happiness and safety 
i> the deserving. Of the members of the Monongalia County 
ar who pos.se.ss the qualities necessary for the successful 
•ractice of their calling and the gaining of a place in public 
onfidence and esteem, one who ha-s made rapid strides 
.uring the comparatively few years that he has practiced 
iw is .^^tanlev Rhey Cox, of Morgantown. Mr. Cox comes 
laturally by his predilection for the law, being a son of Judge 
"rank Cox, of Morgantown. 

Stanley R. Cox was Iwirn March 23, 1.S89. in Grant District, 
donongalia County, West Virginia, and as a youth attended 
he public sch(H)ls of Morgantown, being graduated from the 
ligh .school with the class of 1907. He then entered the 
'niversity of West \'irginia, from which he was graduated as 
I raeinl>er of the cla.ss of 1911, receiving the degree of Bachelor 
if .\rts and following this took up the study of law in the law 
Icpartment of the i'niversity of West Virginia, Ijeing grad- 
lated with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, class of 1912. 
Vdmitted to the bar of West Virginia during the same year, 
le entered practice at Morgantown in as,sociation with his 
athcr, and <'ontinucd to be identified with the elder man 
intil Novcmbe'-, 191G. when the partnership was dissolved 
pv the election of Mr. Cox to the office of prosecuting attorney 
if Monongalia County. He a.ssumed the duties of that office 
(anuary 1, 1917, for a t^rm of four years, and when he retired 
rom that office, December .31, 1920, resumed practice, this 
ime alone. He has met with excellent success in his caUing, 
las (he names of a large number of important concerns on 
lis Ixxiks, and is held in general esteem by his clients as well 
IS by his fellow-practitioners. Mr. Cox has applied himself 
ilmost exclusively to the duties of his profession, and has 
ound little time for outside activities. However, he has not 
icglected the responsibilities of citizenship, and has shown 
limself fond of the companionship of his fellows by his mem- 
lership in several social and fraternal bodies. 

In 1912 Mr. Cox married Esther Jean Gilmore, daughter 
if S. W. Gilmore. of Battell District, Monongalia Countv, 
ind to this union there have been born a son and a daughter: 
•"rank G. and Elizabeth Jane. 

.\lbert Bl.\keslee White, who was governor of We.st 
> irginia from 1901 to 1905, exercised his first occupational 
•lioii-e in the newspaper business, and conferred distinc- 
iou both on himself and his vocation during his long and 
irduous devotion to that calling. It was as a newspaper 
nan that he came to West Virginia, locating at Parkers- 
'iirg forty years ago, and virtually creating the State 
lournal as a newspaper of wide influence and a successful 
'Usines.s institution. Governor White has the gift of 
■crsatility, and has succeeded in several fields to a degree 



that would satisfy the amliitionsr of most men who con- 
centrate their energies along one particular line. 

Governor White has behind him an American ancestry 
dating back nearly three centuries, and there have been 
many men of great distinction in the various branches. 
Governor White stands in the ninth generation of the Amer- 
ican family. The first American of the family was Thomas 
Wliite, who was born in Ireland in 1599, was a lawyer by 
profession, settled at Weymouth, Massachusetts, in" 1632, 
was prominent in the affairs of that colony, and died in 
1679. Joseph White was born at Weymoutii in 1635, was 
known as Captain Joseph, and died at Mendon, Massa- 
chusetts, in 1706, Thomas White was horn at Mendon in 
1665. Deacon Samuel White was born at Uxbridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1700. Capt. Paul White was born at Ux- 
bridge in 1744, and died at Douglass, Massachusetts, in 
1796. Calvin White was horn August 30, 1771, and died 
August 31, 1838, and about 1800 moved to Ware. Mas- 
.sachusetts. Jonas White, born Xovcndier 18, 1795, founded 
this branch of the family in the West, being an early 
settler of the Ohio Western Reserve, wlicrc he followed 
farming. He died in Portage County, Ohio, August 29, 
1876. In 1819 lie married Sarah >icGrcgory, and they 
were the grandparents of Governor A. B. White. 

Phncr.son Klbridge White, son of Jonas and Sarah White, 
gave his life to the cause of education, and his name and 
achievements are permanently associated wifli the history 
of educational development in Ohio and in fact in the 
nation. He was hem January 10, 1829, at Mantua, Portage 
County, and died at Cohmihus, Ohio, October 21, 1902. 
He was educated in common schools and academies, and 
for several years was a student of Cleveland I'niversity. 
He was a teacher and principal in the Cleveland public 
schools, was superintendent of schcols at Port.smouth, Oh-o, 
and in 1861 moved to Columbus and for fifteen years con- 
ducted the Ohio Educational Moiithly, which he iiiade one 
of the foremost educational journals in the country. In 
connection he also published the National Teacher for 
several years. He was appointed state commissioner of 
the common schools of Ohio in 1863, and during his tlir-.'c 
years in that office was instrumental in .securing the laws 
establishing a teachers' institute system in Ohio, also 
created a State Board of Examiners and required more 
adequate qualifications for teachers. In 1876 Doctor White 
was called to the presidency of Purdue University ;it 
Lafayette, Indiana. He was president seven years, in- 
creased the attendance more than .sevenfold, and laid the 
foundation for the broad educational program of Purdue, 
which for many years has ranked as one of the forenirst 
technical and professional universities in the country. In 
1886 Doctor White was appointed sujierintcndent of schools 
for Cincinnati, and .served two terms. In 1891 he re 
turned to Columbus, where he continued his literary labors. 
An entire generation of school children recall his name 
in connection with the text book White 's Arithmetic, and 
he was the author of a number of other works on pedagogy 
and school management. 

To quote a paragraph from his biography, "He was 
often styled 'the grand old man' of the educational 
profession. Scholarly, accurate in speech and writing, a 
man of philosophical force, professional devotion and ex- 
perience, he reaped well deserved honors. In 1S63 he was 
president of the Ohio Teachers' Association, in 1868 of 
the National Superintendents' Association, and of the 
National Educational Association in 1872, also of the 
National Council of Education in 1884 and 1885. He was 
the mover, in 1866, in a paper read before the National 
Superintendents' Association in Washington, for the for- 
mation of a national bureau of education, and he framed 
the bill which created it. In the .study of educational 
work arid in lecturing Doctor White traveled extensively. 
He was lecturing at Asbury Park, New Jersey, when he 
was taken with his last sickness. In the Presbyterian 
Church he was for nearly fifty years a ruling elder, and 
for many years he was president of the Board of Trustees 
of Lane Theological Seminary, Cincinnati. He was an 
e.'irnest church worker, and sometimes lectured on moral 



18 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



and religious subjects, these lectures being, like his edu- 
cational works, of unusual excellence. ' ' 

July 26, 1S53, at Hudson, Ohio, Emerson E. White mar- 
ried Mary Ann Sabin, who was born in Cuyahoga County, 
Ohio, October 15, 1827, and died July i9, 1901. She 
was a daughter of Henry W. and Clarissa (Church) Sabin, 
and was in the eighth generation from ' William Sabin, a 
French Huguenot who went to England and settled at 
Rehoboth, Massachusetts, in 1643. 

Albert Blakeslee White, son of Dr. Emerson Elbridge and 
Mary Ann (Sabin) White, was born at Cleveland, Ohio, 
September 22, 1856. His journalistic experience began 
at the age of fourteen, while he was private secretary 
to his father, then publishing the Ohio Educational Monthly 
and the National Teacher. Governor White graduated as 
valedictorian of the class of 1878 from Marietta College, 
Ohio. He then returned to the home of his father at 
Lafayette, Indiana and became a third owner of the Daily 
Journal of Lafayette. For three years he was managing 
editor. Largely on account of the adverse influence of the 
climate on his health Mr. White gave up a promising career 
in Indiana and in December, 1881, purchased the State 
Journal of Parkersburg, West Virginia. This was then a 
weekly, printed on a hand press, and in making a real 
newspaper Mr. White showed to good advantage his abilities 
as a journalist as well as a business executive, though in 
the light of his subsequent career it ranks as one of his 
minor achievements. In July, 1883, with Mr. S. B. Baker 
as his partner, he began publishing the State Journal 
as a daily, and thus broadened the power and influence 
of a paper that for many years ranked as one of the first 
m West Virginia. It was a republican paper, and through 
Its columns Mr. White first exercised a potent influence 
in West Virginia politics and in developing the majority 
party m the state. Governor White was identified' with 
the fortunes of the State Journal nearly twenty years 
selling his interest in June, 1899. He served at one" time' 
as president of the West Virginia Press Association, and 
in 1887 was elected president of the National Editorial 
Association. 

For many years Governor White has been prominent in 
banking and manufacturing at Parkersburg. After he 
left the office of governor he helped organize and becanu; 
vice president and agency director of the Southern States 
Mutual Life Insurance Company of Charleston, now the 
George Washington Life Insurance Company. He is still 
vice president of the present company. He resigned as 
agency director of the life insurance company in the 
spring of 1907, and in April of that year entered upon 
his duties as state tax commissioner, serving until Decem- 
ber 31, 1908. In July, 1909, he was elected president 
and cashier of the Parkersburg Banking & Trust Com- 
pany, now known as the Commercial Banking & Trust 
Company. He resigned his presidency in 1914 in order to 
give his entire time and attention to the Parkersburg Ice 
and Coal Company. He has also been president of the 
Briar Mountain Coal Company, vice president of the 
Ohio Valley Bending Company, a Parkersburg corporation, 
president of the Parkersburg Chair Company, and inter- 
ested in many other industrial and banking corporations. 
In the opinion of his friends and associates few men 
have so great a capacity for work as Governor White. To 
express his talents in some form of useful service is un- 
doubtedly his chief ambition, since the accumulation of 
wealth has apparently not been one of his chief incentives. 
A man of such initiative, tremendous energy, actuated by 
a public spirited disinterestedness, is the class of citizen 
best fitted to adorn a public office and perform its func- 
tions. His first important public office was as collector 
of internal revenue for the District of West Virginia. On 
the walls of his office at Parkersburg, Governor White 
has three framed certificates, one signed by Benjamin 
Harrison, the second by William McKinley and the third 
by Warren G. Harding, each document being an appoint- 
ment as internal revenue collector of West Virginia. His 
first four year term began in July, 1889, the second in 
July, 1897, and in May, 1921, he was nominated by Presi- 



dent Harding and commissioned internal revenue coUecto 
for the District of West Virginia. 

In July, 1900, Mr. White was unanimously nominate( 
by the republican party for governor, and in the followinj 
November he was given the largest majority ever given ; 
candidate for the governorship up to this time, approx 
imately twenty thousand. He was governor of West Vir 
ginia from March 4, 1901, to March 4, 1905. His was : 
businesslike, systematic and efficient administration, but it 
outstanding feature was the remedying of long standinj 
abuses and inequalities of the state tax laws. The firs 
substantial reform in these old laws was made by th> 
Legislature of 1901, followed in 1904 by the enactmen 
of a system of tax laws and the creation of the office o 
state tax commissioner. As noted above, Governor White 
two years after leaving the office of governor aceepte. 
appointment as state tax commissioner, serving abou 
eighteen months. 

In 1916 Governor White was candidate in the primar 
for United States senator, but the honor went by a smaj 
margin to the present senator, Howard Sutherland. Gov 
ernor White in 1918 was accepted upon physical examina 
tiou as a Y. M. C. A. war worker overseas, and in th 
fall of 1918 sailed for France, where he was in servic 
about six months. While overseas he supervised the cor 
struction of a rest area at Annecy, one of the larges 
and best equipped Y. M. C. A. rest areas in France. H 
held the position of division secretary. 

Governor White is as deeply interested in politics 
problems and in politics today as at any time in his bus 
career. He has probably made more "political addresse 
on behalf of his party than any other individual in Wes 
Virginia. For thirty-eight year.s he has been exceptional! 
active in every biennial campaign. 

Governor White is prominent in Masonry, and in 191 
was one of the organizers of Nemesis Temple of th 
Mystic Shrine and was,the third potentate of that Temph 
He has attended the Imperial Council for ten years and i 
1921, at Des Moines, was elected a life member of th 
Imperial Council, entitled to all the rights and privilege 
thereof. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Churc 
at Parkersburg. 

At Marietta, Ohio, October 2, 1879, he married Ague 
Ward, daughter of William Skinner and Catherine (Clark 
Ward, of Marietta. She is a descendant in the eight 
generation from William Ward, who was on record as 
freeman at Sudbury, Massachusetts, in 1643. Mrs. Whit 
is a member of the Colonial Dames and the Daughtei 
of the American Revolution. Her Revolutionary ancesto 
was Gen. Artemas Ward. Her grandfather, Nahum Ware 
settled at Marietta, Ohio, in 1811. 

Governor and Mrs. WJiite have five children, Katherin 
Vaughan, Ethel Sabin, Grace Rolston, Ward Emerson an 
Albert Blakeslee, Jr., all of whom are living. 

William Eli Baker. For a quarter of a century on 
of the leading lawyers of Randolph County, William E 
Baker had the distinction of being the first Federal judg 
appointed by President Harding. He was selected by th 
new President as judge of the United States District Coui 
for the Northern District of West Virginia, and his ai 
pointment was confirmed by the Senate and he cntere 
upon his duties on the bench on April 3, 1921, less tha 
a month after the President was inaugurated. Judge Bak« 
lirought to the bench the qualifications and experience o 
a long and successful practice and a record of prominer 
jiarticipation in the republican politics of the state. H 
retains his home at Elkins, and that is one of the fi^i 
cities in the Northern District in which he holds session i 
of the Federal Court. 

Judge Baker was born at Beverly in Randolph Counti 
February 25, 1873, son of Eli and Margaret Ellen (Sexton 
Baker, and a grandson of Isaac and Maria (Stalnaker 
Baker. Isaac Baker was a native of old Virginia, was a 
early settler in what is now Randolph Countv, and followe 
the trade of saddler at Beverly. His wife, Maria Stal 
naker, was born in Randolph County. Her father, Adai 
Stalnaker, Jr., was a native of the same county and wa 



I 



^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Kjll^^. ^^^1 


HI 




^1 


^^^v 


^ 


^^^^^^^^V^ « .^^V^ ' 


""^""^^ly 


^^^HHjl^^^ 


^^llllllll 



^^fe.^^/^"^ 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



19 



led by tie Indians. Eli Baker, father of Judge Baker, 

s born in Randolph County, December 31, 1835, was a 

■mer and merchant, served for twenty-four years as post- 

ster at Beverly, and lived there until his death on Octo- 
f 12, 1898. He was twice married. His first wife, 
ibecca Sexton, became the mother of a daughter, Jessie. 
i. then married his first wife's sister, Margaret Ellen 
ixton, who was born in Upshur County, West Virginia, 
innary 14, 1848, and died at Beverly April 21, 1916. Her 
Kher, William Sexton, was a New Englander and a 
jineer in Upshur County. She was mother of the follow- 
i; children: William Eli, Charles C, George C, Anna 
jeta and Randolph. The last named died in infancy, but 
I> other children are still living. 

The family of Judge Baker in both lines represents 
irdy stock, of patriotic ideals and a long record of par- 

ipation in the republican party. His mother was a 
iisbvterian, and reared her children in the same faith. 
;Wil"liam Eli Baker spent his early life at Beverly, and 
ipt his home there until 1900, when the county seat of 
\ ndolph County was transferred to Elkins, Judge Baker, 
I nsferring his own residence in the same year. He ac- 
ired his early education in private schools at Beverly, 
il he was one of four boys who was favored with special 
jinission to attend the Randolph Female Seminary at 
iverly. In 1890. when he was seventeen years of age, he 
lis the eighth young man to register as a student in what 
'now the West Virginia Wesleyan College at Buckhannon, 
Id entered that institution at its opening and graduated 
Ith the class of 1S93, in the scientific course. From there 
! entered West Virginia University at Morgantown, and 
nduated with the Bachelor of Arts and Law degrees in 
96. Judge Baker was admitted to the bar at Beverly 
I 1896, and practiced there until 1900. 
iThe year he was admitted to the bar he was nominated 
I the republican ticket as candidate for county prosecuting 
torney. Randolph County then had a normal democratic 
ijority of 1,200, but his democratic rival that year had to 
I satisfied with a margin of only fifty-one votes. Judge 
iker was a skilled campaigner, had been interested in 
litics for several years, and his father had also in his time 
en an able man in local politics. However, after this 
mpaign Judge Baker applied himself assiduously to the 
actice of law. and had built up a reputation as an aWe 
rtTer before he again became a candidate for office. His 
ther was not a wealthy man and had helped the son 
rough college at considerable sacrifice. The son had re- 
iid this aid by hard work and rigid economy in completing 
s college career, and he began practice as a lawyer with a 
ew to establishing himself professionally before he could 
ke up any of the side lines and side issues of the law. 

About the time he removed to Elkins Judge Baker was 
tained as counsel by the Elkins and Davis interests, and 
■r years, in fact until he went on the bench, he repre- 
nted those interests and was also closely associated with 
nited States Senators Elkins and Davis. He was a valu- 
'le supporter of Senator Elkins in his aspirations for 
ection to the United States Senate. In 1912 Judge Baker 
rain expected the nomination of his party for prosecuting 
torney, and again had about the same majority to over- 
ime, and this time was defeated by only thirty-seven votes. 

In 1920 he was prevailed upon to become state chairman 
' the republican party, and he took a very prominent part 

the campaign that year and for four months spent prac- 
cally all his time in the national campaign headquarters 

Chicago. 

Judge Baker is a Knight Templar and thirty-second de- 
■ee Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner. In 1906 he married 
artha R. Davidson at Evansville, Indiana. She was born 
id reared in that Southern Indiana city, daughter of Wil- 
am and Elizabeth Davidson. Her father was for years 

prominent citizen and manufacturer at Evansville. The 
ily child of Judge and Mrs. Baker is Miss Janet. 

Luther Samsox Brock, M. D., has been closely identified 
ith the history of the City of Morgantown for upwards of 
lit a century, during which time he has won succes-s and 



prominence both in the profession of medicine and in business 
circles, and is today recognized as one of the leaders in the 
public affairs of the community, as well as one of the worth- 
while men of West Virginia. 

Doctor Brock was born in Greene County, Pennsylvania, 
December 19, 1844, a son of Fletcher and Rachel Stephenson 
Brock. This branch of the Brock family is descended from 
Burbridge Brock, who came to America from England, 
settling m New Jersey in the middle of the seventeenth cen- 
tury. His son William, who was born in New Jersey in 
1760, married Margaret Dunn, and brought his family to the 
borderland of Virginia, where he settled on land IjTng on 
each side of the "Mason and Dixon Line" in Pennsylvania 
and Virginia (now West Virginia). Fletcher Brock, son of 
William and father of Dr. Luther S. Brock, was bom in 
Virginia May 5, 1807. He built his home practically upon 
the spot where he was born, on land touching and overlapping 
the "Mason and Dixon Line," and became a prominent citizen 
of his section. While his business was in Virginia, his home 
was in Pennsylvania and he was always a citizen of the Key- 
stone State, "which he represented in the Legislature, In 
1829 he was united in marrmge with Miss Rachel Stephen- 
son, of Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, and four sons and five 
daughters were born to them, two of the sons dying in infancy. 
Of the five daughters, three are now living: Mrs. Cynthia B. 
Glenn and Mrs. Harriet B. Showalter of Kansas City, 
Missouri, and Miss Martha Brock of Morgantown. 

Living on the border line between the states of Pennsylvania 
and Virginia (now West Virginia), Luther S. Brock attended 
the free schools of Pennsylvania and the subscription schools 
of Virginia. At the age of fourteen he entered the Monon- 
galia Academy at Morgantown, an institution of very lugh 
grade and standing, where he completed the fuU classical 
course. He read medicine under the preceptorship of his 
brother, Dr. Hugh Workman Brock, who after the death 
of their father had taken upon himself the care and educa- 
tion of his younger brother and sisters. After his graduation 
from Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, with the 
degree of Doctor of Medicine, in 1874, Dr. Luther S. Brock 
entered the general practice of medicine in partnership 
with his brother. Dr. Hugh Workman Brock, a distinguished 
physician and surgeon of Morgantown. an association which 
was terminated by the death of the latter in 1882. Since 
the above year he has been a senior member of the firm of 
Brock and Wade of Morgantown, the junior member being 
Dr. Spencer S. Wade. During the more active years of Dr. 
Brock's professional labors his practice extended over a 
broad area of surrounding country, often reaching beyond 
the borders of the neighboring states. 

For a number of the years Dr. Brock served as a member 
of the United States Board of Examining Surgeons, and under 
the administrations of Governor A. B. Fleming and Governor 
William E. Glasscock, served as a member of the State Board 
of Health of West Virginia. He likewise was a member of 
the Board of Trustees of the Fairmont Miners' Hospital, in 
the locating of which institution he was largely instrumental. 
He also served as president of the West Virginia State Medi- 
cal Society, and was one of the founders of the Monongalia 
County Medical Society, and for several years was its presi- 
dent. He is still a member of these societies and of the 
American Medical Association. He served for at least fifteen 
years as a member of the Morgantown School Board, and still 
retains a keen interest in educational affairs. He is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and has been for 
many years one of its trustees. 

Doctor Brock has been one of the Board of Directors and 
vice-president of the Bank of the Monongahela Valley since 
its organization in 18&8, and is now its president. He was 
one of the founders of the Morgantown Brick Company, and 
has been its vice-president since its organization. 

In 1891 Dr. Brock was united in marriage with Miss Agnes 
Lauck, daughter of Rev. William and Sarah (Benny) Lauck, 
of Beaver, Pennsylvania, and to their union two daughters 
and one son have been born: Rachel Stephenson, who' is 
deceased; Eleanor, who has won national distinction as a 
singer; and Robert Luther, a graduate of the West Virgmm 
University, who served during the World war with the rank 
of lieutenant, and is now married and living in Morgantown. 



20 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Egbert Luthee Brock, son of the well-known physician 
and banker, Dr. Luther 8. Brock, is an interesting example 
of the vigorous young American who loses no time after 
leaving college to connect himself with the important re- 
sponsibilities of business. Mr. Brock is treasurer of the 
Mon-Scott Fuel Company and treasurer of the Sesamine Coal 
Company of Morgantown. 

He was born at Morgantown May 26, 1896, attended city 
schools, graduating from high school in 1914, and then 
entered the West Virginia University. He was a stu- 
dent there when the World war came on, and in June, 
1917, he joined the West Virginia National Guard, and 
later attended the Third OfScers Training Camp at Fort 
Oglethorpe, Georgia. He was commissioned a second lieu- 
tenant of infantry and from Fort Oglethorpe was sent with 
other officers to Camp Gordon, Georgia, thence to Camp 
Pike at Little Eock, Arkansas, and subsequently, to secure 
a better prospect of getting overseas, joined the Tank Corps 
at Camp Polk, Baleigh, North Carolina. He was assigned 
to duty with the Three Hundred and Fifth Battalion of 
the Tank Corps. Orders came for the embarkation over- 
seas only a few days before the signing of the armistice. 
Mr. Brock received his honorable discharge at Camp Polk 
on January 8, 1919. 

After returning to Morgantown Mr. Brock resumed his 
work in the university, was granted his A. B. degree in 
1920, and continued a student in the law department, but 
after a year abandoned these studies to enter business. He 
was one of the organizers of the two coal corporations of 
which he is treasurer, and is now giving his full time to 
tlie executive responsiliilities of this business. 

Mr. Brock is a member of the Phi Kappa Psi college fra- 
ternity, the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce, the Kiwanis 
Club, and Morgantown Lodge No. 411, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. May 25, 1921, he married Miss Esther 
Bair, a native of Greensburg, Pennsylvania, and daugliter 
of Edward H. and Esther Bair. 

Geoege Jackson Sogers has been a Wheeling lawyer 
for the past twenty years, with an extensive civil practice. 
He belongs to a family of lawyers, his father having been 
one of the prominent members of the West Virginia bar. 

The grandfather of George J. Eogers was Alexander 
Eogers, who was born at Newry, County Armagh, Ireland, 
in 1801. He came to America when a young man, about 
18.30, settled at Wheeling, and was prominent in business, 
at first as a merchant tailor and later as owner and operator 
of an- iron foundry. He died at Wheeling January 5, 1887. 
After coming to Wlieeling he married, in 1836, Miss Eliza- 
beth Johnston, who was born at Wheeling September 28, 
181.5, and died in that city February 24, 1897. Of her five 
children three reached mature years: James P. Eogers; 
Margaret Johnston, wife of Frederick H. Lange, who is 
president of the Home Outfitting Company at Wheeling: and 
manager of the Alexander Eogers estate; and Thomas 
Johnston Eogers, who died at Wheeling in 1864, at the age 
of twenty-four. Elizabeth Johnston, the mother of these 
children, was a daughter of Thomas Johnston, who became 
identified with the Village of Wheeling about 1798 and was 
one of the leading merchants of the town in early times. He 
died at Wheeling in 1849. Thomas Johnston married Miss 
Meholin, who was born in Harrison County, Ohio, and died 
at Wheeling. 

James Patterson Sogers, who was born at Wheeling April 
29, 1838, spent all his life in his native city, graduated 
A. B. from Jefferson College at Cannonsburg, and for about 
forty years was engaged in an extensive law practice. He 
was one of the leaders in the democratic party, and shortly 
after the Ci\'il war served as prosecuting attorney. He was 
Municipal Court judge in 1874-75, and always after that 
was known as Judge Eogers. He died at Wheeling January 
24, 1904. He was one of the founders of St. Luke's Epis- 
copal Church at Wheeling, and was senior warden from 1881 
until his death. He also belonged to the Masonic fraternity. 
.Judge Rogers married Martha Joanna Jackson, who is still 
living in Wheeling. Slie was born at Cedarville, Ohio, Janu- 
ary 9, 1850. George Jackson Eogers is her oldest child. 
Elizabeth Johnston Rogers is the wife of James W. Ewing, 



a Wlieeling lawyer. Ladora Kerr Eogers is the wife f 
Newton Waltz, who is engaged in the carriage and autoii- 
bile manufacturing business at Wheeling. Minerva Townt* 
Rogers, the youngest child, died in April, 1882, at the i^ 
of seventeen months. 

George, Jackson Rogers was born at Wheeling March ', 
1876. He acquired a public school education at Wheeli;^ 
graduated in 1894 from Linsly Institute, and was major'f 
a battalion of cadets while in the institute. With ts 
preparation he entered the University of Virginia at Ch ■ . 
lottesville, graduating A. B. in 1897, and did his law wn 
at Harvard University, graduating LL. B. in 1901. Siij 
then he has been steadily engaged in the practice of lawt 
Wheeling, and has confined his attention to civil eases t\ 
has almost altogether an ofiice practice. His offices iin^ 
the Wheeling Steel Corporation Building. Mr. Rogers i: 
member of the Ohio County Bar Association, is a v.^t 
man in St. Luke's Episcopal Church and votes as a di i 
crat. At Bellefontaine, Ohio, September 11, 1912, he ii 
rJed Miss Clara E. West, daughter of John E. and Elra' 
(Johnson) West, residents of Bellefontaine, where 1 
father is one of the leading lawyers of his district. M. 
Rogers is a graduate with the A. B. degree from Woos'j 
University of Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have four cl-' 
dren: Elizabeth Johnston, born July 15, 1913; Joi 
West, born December 2, 1914; James Patterson, born I- 
vember 6, 1916; and Eleanor Johnson, born December 
1920. 

WiLBERT S. Miller is president of The Wheeling Rea'i 
Company. This is an organization amply financed and wi' 
a number of years ' record of successful handling of bci ' 
large and small properties, city and agricultural, with; 
number of large transactions to its credit in the transfer ' 
industrial properties. It is a member of the Chamber '• 
Commerce and the Real Estate Board. Mr. Miller is a me 
ber of the Lions Club. 

He represents some of the prominent land holding fai 
lies of Eastern Ohio. His greatgrandfather, Daniel Mill 
was born in Maryland in 1788, and was eighteen years 
age when his parents came west and settled in Harris 
County in 1806. The Millers acquired Governnu'nt lai 
Daniel Miller married Susannah Lowmiller, who was bo 
in Pennsylvania in 1796 and was four years of age wh 
her parents, John and Katherine Lowmiller, settled in H: 
risen County. John Miller, grandfather of Wilbert 
Miller, was born in Harrison County February 22, 18i 
grew up under pioneer conditions and was a prospero 
and well to do farmer of the county. He was especia 
active in the affairs of Harrison County, and held the offi 
of county commissioner. In 1849 he married Susan Mikese 
representing another old family of Harrison County, wh€ 
she was born in 1824. John Miller and wife had nine ch 
dren, and seven of them are still living: Oscar B., a re 
dent of Ironton, Ohio, and one of the oldest teachers in t 
state, both in length of service and in age; Andrew 
Miller; Rev. Daniel D., a Lutheran minister at Smithtc 
Pennsylvania; Josepli a farmer in Hancock County, Wt 
Virginia; Samuel H., formerly professor of science at Th 
College in Pennsylvania, now in the insurance busines 
Clement E., who operates the homestead farm in Harris' 
County; and Rev. Jesse L., who for over twenty-five yea 
has been pastor of Grace Lutheran Church at Youngstow 
Ohio. 

Andrew B. Miller, father of Wilbert S., is still active 
a farmer in Harrison County, where he was born Decemb 
9, 1852. He had a good education in public and norm 
schools and for half a century has devoted his time 
grain and stock farming. He has been a lifelong demoer 
and a leader in the Lutheran Church. Andrew B. Mill 
married Flora A. Smith, who was born in Jefferson Count 
Ohio, February 16, 1859, daughter of Aaron and Sar; 
(Weir) Smith. Aaron Smith was a life-long resident ' 
Jefferson County, and owned half a dozen farms thei 
His wife, Sarah Weir, was a native of Ireland. Aar( 
Smith and wife reared a family of five children: Samu 
Jefferson, now living retired at Amsterdam, Ohio; Mr 
Flora Miller; John Charles Fremont, district superintemlei 




6?a*4dt ^. 6ll^<5k 



HISTORY OP WEST VIEQINIA 



21 



It ttt Methodist Episcopal Church at Norwalk, Ohio; 
illiam E., at Alliance, Ohio; and Margaret, wife of 
•ank Knox, a farmer of Jefferson County, Ohio. 
(Andrew B. Miller and wife are the parents of five chil- 
len. Kev. Charles D., who is a graduate of Grove City 
i>llege of Pennsylvania and Mount Airy Lutheran Seminary 

Philadelphia, now pastor of the First English Lutheran 
lurch at Cleveland; M. LeRoy, now fanning a place 
joining his father's in Harrison County; WUbert S. ; 
lura B., wife of Fred W. Miller, of Jefferson County, 
|iio; Harry C, a partner in The \\Tieeling Eealty Company. 
(Harry C. Miller was born in Harrison County June 24, 
188, attended high school at New Jefferson, Ohio, and the 
liott Commercial School of Wheeling, and for a time was 
iployed by the American Sheet & Tin Plate Company of 
renmore, Pennsylvania. In 1911 he removed to Wheeling, 
lere lie has since been associated with his brother in the 
al estate business, being secretary and treasurer of The 
I heeling Realty Company. He is one of the active mem- 
irs of the Kiwanis Club, is an ex-service man, ha\-ing 
ined the colors in August, 1917, and towards the close 

the same year went overseas, serving with the Trans- 
rtation Department in the Operative Engineers Corps. 
e became a sergeant, first class engineers, and was on 
.ty in France for uinot<>en months, recei\'ing his honorable 
scharge July 5, 1919. He has been post commander of 
; heeling Post No. 1, The American Legion, at Wheeling. 
I Wilbert S. Miller, who was born in Harrison County 
ovember 17, 1883, was educated in the public schools of 
ew Jefferson, graduating from high school there in 1900, 
id attended Scio College, at Scio, Ohio. He became in- 
irested in a mercantile concern in Ohio, and in 1909 lo- 
ted at Wheeling, being one of the organizers of The 
heeling Eealty Company, of which he is president This 
mpany does a business all over the Tri State District of 
est Virginia, Ohio and Pennsylvania, handling city prop- 
ty, subdivisions and farms, and coal and timber lands. 
.s oflScers are in the Wheeling Steel Corporation Building. 
I On June 18, 1919, Wilbert S. Miller married Miss Ruth 
. Snyder, daughter of Casper S. and Margaretta Snyder, 
or parents live on their farm in Armstrong County, Penn- 
Ivania. Mrs. Miller studied music in Philadephia and 
lished her musical education in the Dana Institute at 
arren. Ohio, and she and Mr. MUIer were married in the 
Iter city. They have two children: Frank B., born AprU 
li, 1920, and Flora Margaretta, bom September 18, 1921. 

Joel E. Moss has become one of the most influential 
idustrial leaders in Wheeling within a comparatively few 
.•ars. He has developed one of the principal industries of 
le city, the J. E. Moss Iron Works, of which he is presi- 
?nt. While this is his main business, he is interested in a 
umber of financial and industrial organizations, and at all 
mes has kept in close touch with the civic welfare. 

Mr. Moss was born in New York City January 19, 1887. 
iis father, Julius Moss, was born in Bavaria, Germany, in 
S52, and was reared in his native country, where he learned 
le trade of ornamental iron worker. About 1875 he came 
I the United States, and for a number of years followed 
is trade in New York City, where eventually he became 
iperintendent of the Prince & Kinkel Iron Works. In 1895 
e removed to Wheeling, and organized and started the 
■rchitectural Iron & Wire Works, a business he conducted 
T himself until 1900, after which for two years his brother- 
i-law, E. a. Reich, was his partner. Two years later Julius 
loss retired, and he died at St. Louis in 1904. He was a 
emocrat in his political affiliations, was a member of the 
.'off Street Temple and was affiliated with the Knights of 
|ythias and Ancient Order of United Workmen. He mar- 
led Celia Reich, who was born in Austria in 1860, and died 
t Wheeling in 1912, she having come to the United States 

ith her mother when a girl. Julius and Celia Moss had 
even children. The oldest, Julius, is an advertising man- 
ger in the theatrical business at Chicago; Jerome A. is a 
eneral contractor at Chicago; Joel E. is the third; Edward 
I. is a steel contractor at Cleveland; Miss Rosa is engaged 
Q social service work at Cleveland; Jeannette is the wife 
f Samuel Orenstein, in the bakery business at Steubenville, 



Ohio; Miss Sarah Leah is a teacher in the kindergarten 
department of the Cleveland public schools. 

Joel E. Moss was eight years of age when the family 
moved to Wheeling. He first attended school in New York 
City, and was a pupil in the Wheeling High School until 
1901. By home study through the International Corre- 
spondence School of Scranton he perfected his technical 
knowledge of structural engineering. While thus studying 
he was doing practical work as an employe of the Architec- 
tural Iron and Wire Works until July, 1910, and he then 
engaged in business for himself as a contractor and quickly 
had an extensive business involving contracts all over the 
state. After a year he started a small shop on Eighteenth 
Street as an auxiliary to his contracting business, this shop 
employing only ten men at the beginning. Within a year 
the quarters were outgrown, and in 1913 he secured a piece 
of ground on Twenty eighth Street and built a modern plant, 
while the following year he bought the plant of the Architec- 
tural Iron & Wire Works. This is the industry now known 
as the J. E. Moss Iron Works, and by subsequent exten- 
sions the plant now covers six acres of ground and employs 
500 men. The annual business is in excess of $2,500,000. 
This plant is equipped for the manufacture of structural 
and ornamental steel products of all kinds and these products 
are shipped all over the country. The plant and officers are 
at Twenty-eighth and Chapline streets. 

While this is a business constituting heavy cares and 
responsibilities for Mr. Moss, he is also a director in the 
Quarter Savings & Trust Company of Wheeling, the Wheel- 
ing Axle Company, the North Wheeling Glass Bottle Com- 
pany, and is president of the Compo Tile Fire Proofing 
Company. He is a director in the Industrial Relations 
Association of Wheeling, a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and his counsel is sought in all matters affecting 
the industrial welfare. He is a republican, a member of the 
Eoff Street Temple, is a past president of the Independent 
Order of B'Nai B'Rith, and is affiliated with Nelson Lodge 
No. 30, A. F. and A. M., West Virginia Consistory No. 1 
of the Scottish Rite, Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine and 
Wheeling Lodge No. 28, B. P. 0. E. During the war he 
had a place on many of the committees for the sale of 
Liberty Loan Bonds, raising the funds for Red Cross and 
other purposes. Mr. Moss owns considerable improved real 
estate in Wheeling, including his modern home on Hilltop, 
overlooking the Pike District, where he has a modern country 
home. On September 14, 1914, at Ashtabula, Ohio, he mar- 
ried Miss Sarah Thomas, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth 
Thomas, residents of Wheeling, where her father is foreman 
of the La Belle Mill of the American Sheet & Tin Plate 
Company. Mr. and Mrs. Moss have four children: Joel 
Kenneth, born October 13, 1915; Jerome Leo, born February 
15, 1918; Cecil Reich, born August 23, 1919; and Jay Eea, 
born on Mr. Moss' birthday, January 19, 1922. 

Edward Samuel Bippus, M. D., has been engaged in his 
steadily broadening service as a physician and surgeon for 
the past fifteen years. Doctor Bippus is also a member of 
the city counciL 

He was born across the river at Bellaire, Ohio, November 
26, 1884, son of Christian Bippus, who was born in Strass- 
burg, Germany, in 1826, and at the age of seventeen came 
to the United States and settled at Bellaire. He was a 
stationary engineer by trade, and several of his sons have 
followed the same occupation. A republican in politics, 
he was twelve years a valuable member of the school board 
of Bellaire and was closely identified in membership with 
the Presbyterian Church. He was affiliated with the Ma- 
sonic fraternity and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
Christian Bippus died at Bellaire in 1902. He married 
Sophia Fauple, who was bom in Essen, Germany, in 1838, 
and is still living, at the age of eighty-three, in Bellaire. 
She came to this country with her parents at the age of 
thirteen and was reared and educated in Cumberland, Mary- 
land. The children of Christian Bippus and wife are: 
Catherine, wife of Frank Eielley, a retired lumber dealer 
at St. Paul, Minnesota; William, president of the Joyce 
Cridland Company at Dayton, Ohio; George and Jesse T., 
stationary engineers, the former at McMechen, West Vir- 



22 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



giiiia, aiid Uie liitter ol BoUairc; Harry T. is nlso a 
statiouan" engiiici'r at Hcllaire; Howard is propriptor of the 
Hryan Bippus Boiler Work.s at Bellaire; and Ed"ard 
Samuel is tho seveuth aud the youngest, and tlie only one 
of the children to take up a professional career. 

He acquired a public school education in his native 
city, attended high school there, completed the work of the 
sophomore year in Franklin College at Franklin, Ohio, and 
in 1902 graduated in the pharmacy course from Scio College. 
Without making use to any important extent of his jiro- 
fession as a jiharmacist Doctor Bippus soon afterward en- 
tered the Ohio Medical College, which he attended two 
years, and in 1906 received his M. D. degree from the Mary- 
land Medical College at Baltimore. He is a member of the 
Phi Chi college fraternity. 

On graduating in 1906 Doctor Bippus located at Wheel- 
ing, and has since been engaged in general practice. His 
offices and home are at 77 Sixteenth Street. He is a mem- 
ber of the County, State and American Medical associa- 
tions. He has been a member of the Wheeling City Council 
for two years. He is a republican, is affiliated with the 
Presbyterian Church, and is a member of Bellaire Lodge 
No. 267, F. and A. M., West Virginia Consistory No. 1 of 
the Scottish Rite at Wheeling, and Osiris Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to Wheeling Lodge No. 
28, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

In 1910, at Wheeling, Doctor Bippus married Miss Mar- 
garet Beckett, daughter of John and Margaret (Young) 
Beckett, the latter still living at Wheeling, where the father 
died. He was a wagon maker by trade. Mrs. Bippus fin- 
ished her education in the Sweetbriar College of Virginia. 
Four children have been born to Doctor and Mrs. Bippus; 
William, born in 1911; Margaret Jane, born in 1914; Helen 
Catherine, born in 1917; and Edward S., born in November, 
1920. 

Haert Shaw, a prominent and successful member of the 
bar of Marion County, is established in the practice of 
his profession at Fairmont, the county seat, and is one of 
the liberal and progressive citizens of this city. He was 
born on a farm in Union District, this county, on tho loth 
of February, 1872, and is a son of Joshua and Emily (West) 
Shaw, the former of whom was born in Greene County, 
Pennsylvania, in 1829, and the latter in what is now Marion 
County, West Virginia, in 18.34, her parents, Zaccheus M. 
and Sarah (Layman) West, having been early settlers in 
this county. Joshua Shaw, « ho.se death occurred at Fair- 
mont in 1910, was a son of Samuel Shaw, who was of Scotch 
and English lineage and who was a pioneer settler in West- 
ern Pennsylvania, whence he came with his family to Marion 
County, West Virginia (then Virginia), when his sou 
Joshua was a boy. Joshua Shaw was a carpenter by trade, 
and was also actively identified with farm industry in Ma- 
rion County for many years. He served three years as a 
loyal soldier of the Union in the Civil war as a member of 
Company F, Twelfth West Virginia Volunteer Infantry. 
He was wounded while participating in the battle of Win- 
chester, Virginia, was captured by the enemy and was held 
a captive in historic old Libby Prison about four months. 
He was a stalwart republican, served as a member of the 
County Court of Marion County, and for forty years he hehl 
the office of justice of the peace. Both he and his wife 
were zealous members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

On the old home farm which was the place of his birth 
Harry Shaw was reared to the age of fourteen years, his 
educational advantages in the meanwhile having been those 
of the rural schools. At the age noted he became a clerk 
in the general store conducted by his older brother at 
Homestead, Pennsylvania, and there he continued his 
studies in the public schools. Later he was a student in 
Duquesne College at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, after which 
he attended the West Virginia State Normal School at 
Fairmont, for two years. Thereafter he made a record of 
successful work as a teacher in the rural schools of his 
native county and in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. In 
1893 Mr. Shaw entered the University of West Virginia, 
from the law department of which he received the degree 



of Bachelor of Laws in the year 1895, also receiving ii 
1898 the degree of Bachelor of Art,s. He was admitted b 
the bar in 189.'i, and he served his professional novitiate' b; 
obtaining desk room in tho offices of Judge William f- 
Haymond, of Fairmont, against whom, it is interesting t' 
record, he appeared as tho unsuccessful candidate for judgi 
of the Circuit Court in the election of 1912. He gradual!; 
and surely extended the scope aud importance of his la\ ' 
practice, and from 1901 to 1905 he was chief clerk of th 
Lower House of the West Virginia Legislature. In LsiH 
and again in 1904, he was the republican nominee for th 
office of prosecuting attorney of Marion County, aud i' 
1912, as previously noted, he was a candidate for judge o 
the Circuit Court. In that year he was a delegate to tin 
Kepublican National Convention at Chicago, and a menil)c 
of the Committee on Credentials which had to consider thi 
Eoosevelt-Taft contests. During the administration of Gov 
ernor Dawson he served as a member of the State Prism 
Board of West Virginia. In the World war period Mi 
Shaw was most zealous in patriotic service, and he wa 
one of the vigorous "Four-Minute Men" in deliverini 
speeches in furtherance of the Government war loans. Ii 
the campaign for the first Lilierty Loan he stood in fron 
of the Marion County Court House on a Sunday morning 
in a downfall of rain and sold bonds to the amount o! 
.$36,000, and in the final bond campaign, from the vantage 
place of the proverbial soap-box, in front of the courthouse j 
he sold bonds to the amount of $100,000 in twenty-fiv( I 
minutes, making a virtually unequaled record in both in 
stances. He also helped to put them "over the top" ii 
every section of the county. Mr. Shaw is a member of tin 
American Bar A,ssociation, the West Virginia Bar Asso 
elation and the Marion County Bar Association. His la" 
business has long been one of substantial and representa 
five order. He is a member of the Board of Stewards ul \ 
the Methodist Protestant Church at Fairmont, and ha> I 
been several times a delegate to the annual conference ol | 
his church in West Virginia, as well as to two of it? 
general conferences. He had the distinction also of bein^ 
a delegate to the fifth Methodist Ecumenical Conference 
held in London, England, September 6-16, 1921. 

October 10, 1896, recorded the marriage of Mr. Shan 
and Miss Willa M. Berry, who was born and reared ii 
Marion County, a daughter of Thomas L. and Nancy L 
(Ross) Berry. The only child of Mr. and Mrs. Shaw is a i 
son, Victor Harry, who was born in 1897, and who wa> 
graduated from the UniveJsity of West Virginia as a mem 
ber of the class of 1922. 

Edward A. Arkle. Beginning when he was about eigh 
teen years of age and soon after leaving .school, the almost i 
continuous experience and service of Edward A. Arkle ha.' 
been represented by work in the newspaper and publicity 
jirofession. Mr. Arkle is proprietor of the Wheeling Newi- , 
and Advertising Bureau, and has earned for himself a place 
of exceptional esteem in his native city. 

He was born at Wheeling June 10, 1876. His grand 
father, Robert Vincent Arkle was born in England in 
1818, and was an early settler in the country around Wheel 
ing and also lived at Wh':eling for many years, being ;i 
merchant there. He died in 1888. Robert V. Arkle, fatlin 
of Edward A., was born in Ohio County and died at Wheel 
ing at the age of forty-seven. He lived at Wheeling prac- - 
tically all his life, and for many years was a merchant. 
He also served a number of years as assistant chief of the 
fire department under the late Chief James Dunning. He 
was a member of the Church of the Immaculate Concep- 
tion, and was noted as a tenor soloist and was director of 
the church choir. He was a democrat in politics and was 
affiliated with the Ancient Order of United Workmen. 
Robert V. Arkle married Miss Barbara Anne Habig, a nativi 
and life-long resident of Wheeling. Their children were : 
Joseph M., who succeeded to his father's hardware busi 
ness and died at Wheeling aged forty-seven; Harry V., who 
for many years was editor of the Wheeling Register, died 
at Wheeling also aged forty-seven; Miss Ella, who died 
at the age of twenty-two; Robert A., a jeweler with John 



HISTORY OF WEST VIBGINIA 



Uecker & Company and a resident of Warwood; Edward A.; 
ind Vincent J., who was a jeweler and died at Wheeling 
at the age of thirty-seven. 

Edward A. Arkle attended the parochial and public 
whools, graduating from the public schools in 1894. His 
lirst journalistic experience was acquired with the Wheeling 
Intelligencer, where he served what might be termed his 
apprenticeship for three years. Later he was one of the 
organizers of the Wheeling Telegraph, and was city editor 
three years. He was a member of the staff of the Wheeling 
Xews three years, and then went back to the Telegraph 
las editor until 1918. For about a year Mr. Arkle was news 
editor for tlie Wheeling Majority. Then, in 1919, he estab- 
lished the Wheeling News and Advertising Bureau, of which 
he it sole proprietor. He has facilities for every class of 
publicity work and advertising, one feature being a news- 
paper clipping bureau. His offices are in the Mutual Bank 
I Building. Mr. Arkle is also secretary of the Terminal 
I Storage Company of Wlieeling. He is a democrat, a Cath- 
lolic, and is affiliated with Reliance Lodge of the Ancient 
I Order of United Workmen and the Lions Club. His home 
I is on Avenue A, Edgdale, Wheeling. During the war he 
: responded to all the demands and performed some useful 
service as a member of the several publicity committees. 

In 1908, at Wheeling, Mr. Arkle married Miss Helen 
1 H. Perkins, daughter of Benjamin P. and Sarah Elizabeth 
i (Eglinton) Perkins, residents of Wheeling. Her father is 
I a general contractor and is president of the Terminal 
i Storage Company. Mr. and Mrs. Arkle have one son, Benja- 
min F., born in July, 1909. 

The Fibst National Bank and Trust Company of 
Elm Gkove is a financial institution that has grown steadily 
and rapidly in power and resources since it was established 
some fourteen years ago, and is one of the largest banks 
in the outlying Wheeling District. 

It was established in 1908 by J. B. Chambers and Samuel 
Chambers. It has always operated under a national charter, 
, and was known as the First National Bank of Elm Grove 
until 1920, when the trust department was added. This 
bank has a capital stock of $100,000, surplus and profits 
of $40,000, while the deposits now aggregate about $800,000. 
The bank has a thoroughly modern home, erected in 1910 
at 400 National Eoad, and contains all the facilities and 
safeguards found in most city banks, including safety de- 
posit boxes. 

The executive officers of the bank are: J. B. Chambers, 
of West Alexander, president; C. C. Woods, of Wheeling, 
vice president ; and George H. Grodhaus, of Elm Grove, 
cashier. The otlier directors besides these three officers are: 
W. E. Echard, W. E. Chambers, George P. Folmar, Leopold 
Miller, G. W. Maxwell, S. E. Davis, William Buchanan, 
Thomas Skillcorn, H. W. Thornburg, A. E. Crider, all of 
Elm Grove; E. E. Carroll, of West Finley, Pennsylvania; 
R. H. Bowman, of Valley Grove; E. H. Orr, of Eoney's 
Point; J. L. Schcnk, of West Alexander; Joseph Handlan, 
of Wheeling, and E. L. Kimmons, W. W. Campbell and 
W. H. Trussell, of Dallas, West Virginia. 

Frank C. Kiekpatrick, of ^Vheeling, is one of the 
vigorous and successful exponents of the oil-producing in- 
dustry in this state. He was born at Parkersburg, West 
Virginia, August 14, 1873, and is a son of Columbus B. 
and Lucy B. (Oakes) Kirkpatrick, both natives of Belpre 
Township, Washington County, Ohio, where the former was 
born in 1838 and the latter in 1839. The father of Columbus 
B. Kirkpatrick was born in one of the New England states, 
in 1805, became a cabinetmaker by trade and was one of the 
pioneer settlers of Belpre Township, Washington County, 
Ohio, where he remained untU his death in 1885. His wife, 
whose family name was Cole, was born and reared in that 
township, and there she died at a venerable age. She was 
the author of a very popular book of poems pertaining to 
the Civil war, in which struggle she lost three of her sons, 
mclnding Mortimer and Henry. The original American 
progenitors of the Kirkpatrick family came from the north 
of Ireland and settled in New England in the Colonial 
period of our national history. 



Columbus B. Kirkpatrick was reared and educated in bis 
native township, where his marriage was solemnized, and 
shortly after the close of the Civil war he established his 
home at Parkersburg, West Virginia, where for several 
years he gave his attention to contracting and building. 
His ambition led him to devote much of his leisure hours 
to the study of architecture, and he became a successful 
architect at Parkersburg. In the '7Us he drew plans for 
an addition to the first West Virginia State Hospital for 
the Insane at Weston, these plans being accepted. In 1879, 
while supervising construction on this addition to the hos- 
pital, he fell from one of the higher points of the building, 
and so injured his spine and brain that he was con- 
fined from that year until 1881 in a private institution at 
Dixmont, Pennsylvania. He was then returned to the in- 
stitutiou he had designed, and there he remained until his 
death, at the Weston Hospital for the Insane, February 27, 
1917. Mr. Kirkpatrick was a man of fine mind and moral 
fiber, and gained high place in the confidence and esteem 
of his fellow men, so that the tragedy of his life brought 
sorrow to a host of loyal friends as well as to his imme- 
diate family. He was a democrat, served many consecutive 
terms as a member of the city council of Parkersburg, was 
a Knight Templar Mason and was an earnest member of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. Kirkpatrick 
was a gallant young soldier of the Union in the Civil war 
as a member of an Oliio regiment of volunteer infantry. 
His wife continued to reside at Parkersburg until her death, 
February 18, 1916. Charles E., eldest of their children, 
became a skilled machinist and molder, and died at Parkers- 
burg in 1912; EsteUa is the wife of Dennis Flint, a busi- 
ness man at Parkersburg; George has active charge of the 
Baptist Banner, a newspaper published at Parkersburg; 
Frank C, of this review, was the next in order of birth; 
Belle is the wife of Bernard Cannon, foreman in extensive 
glass works in the City of Cleveland, Ohio; and Josephine 
is the wife of James Whittaker, superintendent of a foundry 
at OrvUle, that state. 

Frank C. Kirkpatrick attended the public schools of 
Parkersburg until he was fifteen years old, when he entered 
the employ of a merchant tailor in that city. Three years 
later he entered the Mountain State Business College at 
Parkersburg, where he completed a thorough course of 
study. In 1892 he took a position in the office of the 
Adams Express Company at Parkersburg, and in October 
of the year 1894 he entered the employ of the Ohio Eiver 
Railroad Company, the line of which is now a part of the 
Baltimore & Ohio system. He continued in the train service 
of the railroad until 1916, with headquarters at Parkers- 
burg, and then was granted a furlough of indefinite length, 
owing to his seriously impaired health. In the same year 
he became an oU producer in Pleasants County, this state, 
where he still retains his interests in this line. Mr. Kirk- 
patrick has visited virtually all important oil fields in the 
United States, and he is now vice president and general 
manager of the Southland Oil Company of West Virginia. 
He also holds under lease 1,000 acres of very valuable oil 
land in Simpson County, Kentucky. He maintains his 
office headquarters in the Wheeling Bank & Trust Company 
Building. 

Mr. Kirkpatrick is independent in politics, he and his 
wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, 
and in the Masonic fraternity his basic afiiliation is with 
Kenova Lodge No. 110, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
at Kenova, this state. At Wheeling he is a member of 
Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine, and has received the 
thirty-second degree of the Scottish Eite of Masonry in 
West Virginia Sovereign Consistory No. 1. He is affiliated 
also with the Lodge of Elks in the City of Huntington and 
with the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the Brother- 
hood of Railroad Trainmen. 

June 12, 1912, at Wheeling, recorded the marriage of 
Mr. Kirkpatrick and Miss lone M. Cassidy, daughter of 
Isaac and Clara (Lawrence) Cassidy, the former of whom 
died at Wheeling in 1913, and the latter now resides in 
Washington, District of Columbia. Mr. and Mrs. Kirk- 
patrick have no children of their own, but in their home 
have reared from the age of six years Grace, a sister of 



24 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Mrs. Kirkpatriek, she being now a member of the class 
of 1P23 in the Wheeling High School 

John A. Moobb is u native son of the City of Wheeling 
;iMfl has become an influential figuro in tlic industrial and 
commercial life of this metropolitan District of West Vir- 
ginia, where he is secretary, treasurer and general manager 
of the Warwood Tool Company. The modern manufactur- 
ing plant is established in the suburb of Warwood. 

Mr. Moore is a scion of one of the sterling pioueer fami- 
lies of Wheeling, in which city his father, James B. Moore, 
was born in the year 1838 and died in 1907. William 
Moore, great-grandfather of the subject of this review, was 
born in the north of Ireland, came to the United States in 
the early part of the nineteenth century, resided for a time 
in Western Pennsylvania, and thereafter became a pioneer 
settler in Tuscarawas County, Ohio, where he passed the 
renuiinder of his life. His wife, whose maiden name was 
Martha Turvianee, likewise was born in the north of Ire- 
land, and she was a resident of Wheeling, West Virginia, 
at the time her death, her remains being interred in a ceme- 
tery here. 

John Moore, grandfather of him whose name initiates this 
review, was born in Greene County, Pennsylvania, in 1810, 
and died at Wheeling, West Virginia (then Virginia), in 
1860. He came to Wheeling about the year 1S27, learned the 
plumbing trade, and owned the leading plumbing shop of the 
town in the early days. He established the first water- 
works of Wheeling, and continued as superintendent of the 
same a number of years. In the '30s and '403 he served 
as steamboat inspector, and later he became the owner of 
a machine shop, to the conducting of which he gave his 
attention until his death. He married Sarah Irwin, who 
was born at Wheeling, and they reared a family of two 
sons and three daughters, of whom only one is living in 
1921 — Elizabeth Irwin, who is the widow of Rev. J. B. 
Moore and who resides at Morgantown, Monongalia County. 
Rev. J. R. Moore a clergyman of the Presbyterian Church, 
attained distinction in educational work in West Virginia. 
As a young man he was a member of the faculty of Linsly 
Institute at Wheeling, and later conducted the Monongalia 
Academy at Morgantown, from which was eventually de- 
veloped the University of West Virginia. 

Mrs. Sarah (Irwin) Moore, paternal grandmother of the 
subject of this sketch, was a daughter of William Irwin, 
who settled at Wlieeling when tlic future metropolis and 
capital of West Virginia had only thirty houses. He was 
l)orn in what is now Harrison County, this state, and was 
one of the incorporators of the village of Wheeling, besides 
which he served as a member of the Virginia House of 
Burgesses, as representative of Ohio County; in what is now 
West Virginia. He was prominent and influential in con- 
nection with business, civic and political affairs in this 
section of Virginia in the pioneer days. He reared a large 
family of children, and many of his descendants still reside 
in Wheeling and vicinity. His wife, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth Snodgrass, was a daughter of John Snod- 
grass, who came to Ohio County in the pioneer days and 
settled in the Short Creek District- where he reclaimed and 
developed a farm. He came to this county from the vicinity 
of Philadcli hia, Pennsylvania. His daughter Elizabeth was 
born on this old homestead on Short (>eek, and both she 
and her husband were residents of Wheeling at the time 
of their deaths. 

James B. Moore, who passed his entire life in Wheeling, 
was a skilled mechanical draftsman and was actively asso- 
ciated with business activities in his native city for many 
years. He was a republican, and he and his wife were 
zealous members of the Presbyterian Church. He served 
as a member of the State Militia in the period of the Civil 
war, but was not called to the front. He married Louisa 
S. Craig, who was born in Westmoreland County, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1840, and whose death occurred at Wheeling 
in 1910. Of the children John A., of this review, is the 
elder, and the younger son, J. Craig Moore, is in the employ 
of the Warwood Tool Company, of which his brother is 
general manager. 

In the public schools of Wheeling John A. Moore con- 



tinued his studies until he was .seventeen years old, auc u 
then entered the employ of J. A. Holliday & Son, lun! 
dealers, with whom he remained until 189.'i. He then bee 
associated with the Warwood Tool Company in the posi 
of bookkeeper, and he has continued his connection i 
this concern to the present time, in the meanwhile ha' 
become its secretary, treasurer and general manager, 
plant and officers of the company are situated at the : 
of Nineteenth Street in Warwood, and here are manu 
tured picks, mattocks, hoes, wedges sledges, cro^ars, d 
and other tools_ used in coal mines. The concern is 
largest of its kind in the state, its products are sold in 
sections of the Union, and for fully a quarter of a cently 
its foreign trade has been of appreciable volume. The 
fleers of the company are as here designated: B. W. Pe 
son, president; and John A. Moore, secretary, treasurer 
general manager. 

Mr. Moore is staunchly aligned in the ranks of the 
publican party, and he is a communicant of the Protest^ 
Episcojial Church. He is a past master of Wheeling Loi b 
No. 5, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and is aflilia J 
also with Wheeling Chapter No. 1, Royal Arch Masc ; 
Cyrene Commandery No. 7, Knights Temjilars, of which^ 
is a past commander; West Virginia Consistory No. 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, in which he has recei 
the thirty-second degree; and Osiris Temple of the Mys 
Shrine. He also holds membership in Welcome Lod 
Ancient Order of United Workmen, the Fort Henry C 
and the Wheeling Chamber of Commerce. He is treasu 
and general manager of the Warwood Water & Light Cc 
pany. In the World war period he was a loyal and vigori ) 
supporter of patriotic agencies, was chairman of the t I 
industry committee for war production and devoted mi i 
of his time and energy to th- perfecting of this imports 
part of war service. Mr. Moore's name remains on l , 
roster of eligible bachelors in his native city. 

John Marshall Jacob.s has shown much initiative a 
administrative ability in connection with business ent 
prises of important order, and is one of the most lo- 
and progressive citizens of Fairmont, judicial center ' 
Marion County. He was born near Pleasant Valley 
Clinton District, Monongalia County, West Virginia, Ji 
16, 1860, and is a son of Jacob and Mary (Steele) Jaco 
the former of whom was born near the Summers Church 
Clinton District, Monongalia County, January 18, 18i 
and the latter of whom was born in the same distri 
August 2, 1834, a daughter of John and Nancy (Millc 
Steele. Mrs. Jacobs still survives her honored husband a 
resides in the home of her son Charles, a few miles dista 
from the place of her birth, her entire life having be 
passed in Clinton District and she being now one of 
most venerable native citizens-, at the age of cighty-eig 
years. 

Jacob Jacobs, a son of Elijah and Mary Jacobs, \ 
reared under the conditions marking the pioneer period 
the hi.story of Monongalia County, and he was a repr 
sentative of farm enterprise in that county at the outbrei 
of the Civil war. He served as a soldier of the Unit 
from August, 1862 until the close of the war, his honorab 
discharge having been received at Wheeling, West Virgini 
July 3, 1865. He took part in many engagements, inclu 
ing the battles of Cloyd Mountain, Lynchburg, Carter 
Farm, Fisher 's Hill and Cedar Creek, and all of the battl 
of General Sheridan's army in the historic Shenandoi 
Valley campaign. He was well advanced in years at tl 
time of his death. 

John M. Jacobs gained his early education in the publ 
schools of his native county, and among his instructo 
were E. Trickett and M. H. Steele, who were among tl 
first graduates of the State Normal School at Fairmon 
and also Dr. Fleming Howell, A. L. Purinton and W. ] 
Joliffe, of the University of West Virginia. Mr. Jacot 
has often maintained that through the effective teachin 
of these able instructors and splendid men he may we 
claim to be a graduate, by their proxy, of both of th 
institutions mentioned. From 1879 to 1884 Mr. Jacol 
was a successful teacher in the public schools of Monoi 




9^e^3^<^. 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



25 



iS* County. In the latter year he engaged in the mer- 
intfle business at Little Falls, that county, as junior 
iember of the firm of Hutchinson & Jacobs. He there 
mtinued as a prosperous merchant, besides being post- 
larter and railroad station agent, until 1S95, in which 
far ha removed with his family to Fairmont, where 
B became manager of the Fairmont Planing Mill Com- 
any. He is now president of the Fairmont Mold & 
i'oundry Company, of which his son Melville is treasurer. 
lie is also manager of the Jacobs-Hutchinson Hardware 
I'ompany, of which his son Melville is assistant manager 
nJ his" daughter Jessie is bookkeeper; he is treasurer 
•f the Stevenson Company; and is a director of the Na- 
ional Bank of Fairmont. He is an active and valued 
Member of the Fairmont Chamber of Commerce, of which 
je has served as president, and was director of each the 
I'ainnont Hotel Company, the Fairmont Business Men 's 
■\3sociation and the local Young Men's Christian Assoeia- 
jion, besides which he was vice president of the Cook 
llospital and of the Greater Fairmont Investment Com- 
•any. He was a member of the building committee of 
"le Young Men's Christian Association and also of the 
irst Methodist Episcopal Church, in connection with the 
rection of two of the finest buildings of their respective 
'.inds in this section of the state, while few cities of the 
'ize in the entire state can claim better buildings than 
jhis church edifice and the Young Men's Christian Asso- 
' iation Building in Fairmont. Mr. Jacobs and his family 
vcre the largest single contributors to the building fund 
>f this church, of which all are active members. Mr. 
iFacobs was active in the recent Billy Sunday religious 
I ampaign in Fairmont, and is a member of the Billy Sun- 
!iay Business Men 's Club, which is doing good work in 
;his part of West Virginia. In the World war period Mr. 
Jacobs served on the Draft Board of the City of Fair- 
iiont, and he received in this connection a selective service 
pedal, of which he is very proud. He places high esti- 
mate also on a letter written to the Local Draft Board 
by President Wilson and General Crowder, in which the 
members of the board were specially commended for the 
splendid work which they did, and that without financial 
[compensation, in behalf of the National Army which 
■icquitted itself so admirably in the greatest of all wars. 
Mr. Jacobs was liberal and active also in supporting other 
patriotic activities and service during the war period. He 
is a staunch republican, and in recent campaigns has 
made many speeches in behalf of the party cause, prin- 
cipally in Marion County. He is affiliated with the Knights 
of Pythias and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
On the 14th of April, 1888, was solemnized the mar- 
riage of Mr. Jacobs and Miss Mary Alice Selby, daughter 
of Thomas P. and Salina E. Selby. Mr. and Mrs. Jacobs 
have three children, all of whom were born at Little Falls, 
Monongalia County. A. Melville was born January 17, 
1889; Edna May was bom May 21, 1891; and Jessie O. 
was born February 14, 1893. AH three were graduated 
from the Fairmont High School and the State Normal 
School at Fairmont, and the only son graduated from 
the University of West Virginia as a member of the class 
fif 1910, he having there given special study to history 
under the preceptorship of Professor Callahan. 

Mr. Jacobs' civic loyalty and stewardship found ex- 
cellent expression in his service as a member of the house 
of Delegates of the West Virginia Legislature in 1907 
and in the special session of 1908. He did much to further 
effective legislation of constructive order, and was in- 
fluential in the work of the various house committees to 
which he was assigned, including some of the most im- 
portant of that body. 

Lee C. Paull. As an underwriter of insurance in vir- 
tually all lines except that of life, Mr. PauU owns and 
controls what is undoubtedly the most important agency 
of its kind in his native city of Wheeling, his insurance 
business having been so expanded that it now extends into 
sixteen different states of the Union, and its general offices 
occupy the entire building at 1136-38-40 Chapline Street. 

Mr. PauU was bom at Wheeling on the 12th of May, 



1889, and is a son of Alfred and Lee (Singleton) Paull, 
both likewise natives of Wheeling, where the former was 
born October 17, 1854, and the latter in June, 1856. The 
Paull family has been one of prominence and influence for 
many years in what is now the State of West Virginia. 
James Paull, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was 
born at Wheeling, became one of the most distinguished 
members of the bar of Virginia, of which West Virginia 
was still a part, and after the forming of the new state 
he served many years as a judge of the West Virginia 
Supreme Court of Appeals,. The closing years of his life 
were passed at Wellsburg, Brooke Coun^. 

Alfred PauU has long been one of the leading insurance 
men in Wheeling, where he is now state agent for a number 
of the prominent fire-insurance companies of the country, 
with offices in the Court Theater Building. He is a re- 
publican in politics, and he and his wife are honored mem- 
bers of the Vance Memorial Presbyterian Church, in which 
he is serving as an elder. Mr. Paull is affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity and is a citizen of prominence and in- 
fluence in his native citr, where he is vice president of 
the Bank of the Ohio Valley. Of the children of Alfred 
and Lee (Singleton) Paull the eldest is Mary I., wife of 
A. G. Hubbard, a retired manufacturer of Wheeling; Lyde 
is the wife of L. B. Kirkpatrick, a representative real- 
estate broker in the City of Rochester, New York; Alfred 
S. is associated with his father in the insurance business at 
Wheeling. 

Lee C. Paull is indebted to the public schools and the 
Linsly Institute of Wheeling for his earlier education, which 
was continued in the Pennsylvania Military College, at 
Chester. After leaving the latter institution he was a stu- 
dent in Princeton University, New Jersey, until he had par- 
tially completed the work of his sophomore year. He left 
the university in 1907. and for one year thereafter was asso- 
ciated with his father 's insurance business. He then became 
identified with the insurance business conducted by Maj. 
D. E. Stalnaker, and this alliance continued until the death 
of Major Stalnaker in July, 1918, when he purchased the 
business of the deceased and assumed full control of the 
same. He has since continued the enterprise with unquali- 
fied success, with a large and representative clientage. 

Mr. PauU takes loyal interest in all' that concerns the 
civic and material weU being of his native city, is a re- 
publican in polities and holds membership in the Vance 
Memorial Presbyterian Church. He is affiliated with Wheel- 
ing Lodge No. 28, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, and is a member of the Fort Henry Club, of which he 
is a director. He is a director also of the University Club 
and is a member of the Wheeling Country Club. In the 
realm of business he is a director of the Dollar Savings & 
Trust Company; is vice president of the Liberty Transit 
Company of Wheeling; is vice president of the Camden 
Coal Land Company of this city; a director of the Arizona 
Mossback Mines Company in the State of Arizona, and a 
director of the McClaskey Company, incorporated, of Wheel- 
ing. He owns his attractive residence property in the beau- 
tiful Highland Park District of Wheeling, and also the 
building in which his insurance offices are established. 

April 6, 1910, recorded the marriage of Mr. Paull and 
Miss Mary Glessner, daughter of the late William L. Gless- 
ner, who was one of the principals of the Whitaker-Glessner 
Company of Wheeling. Mrs. Paull received excellent edu- 
cational advantages, including tho.se of the CampbeU-Hager- 
man Seminary in the City of Louisville, Kentucky. Mr. and 
Mrs. Paull have two children: Lee C, Jr., who was born 
December 10, 1911, and WiUiam Glessner, who was born 
January 10, 1915. 

John B. Gabden ie the only survivor in Wheeling of the 
group of Wheeling business men who started the pioneer 
enterprise of the Wheeling Electric Company nearly forty 
years ago. For nearly twenty years the Wheeling Electric 
Company was an individual and independent organization, 
supplying electricity for commercial use in the Wheeling 
District. With the rapidly increasing use of electricity it 
became impossible for a company supported by local capital 
to keep pace with the requirements, and about that time 



26 



HISTORY OV WEST VIRGINIA 



the Wheeling Electric Company merged into a great cor- 
poration known as the American Gas and Electric Company, 
with lieadquarters in New York City. The public utilities 
owned and operated by this corporation cover a large section 
of tlie Middle West. The Wheeling District embraces many 
of the cities and industrial towns on both sides of the Ohio 
River, and Mr. Garden is general manager for this district. 
There was recently completed at an expense of over .$10,- 
000,000 one of the largest electric generating plants in the 
country at Beech Bottom, some miles above Wheeling, and 
this plant, with its steam turbine generators, rejiresents 
practically the last word in a continuous electrical develop- 
ment that has been going on at Wheeling and vicinity for 
nearly forty years, and iu which Mr. Garden has had an 
uninterrupted participation. 

Mr. Garden was born at Wheeling February 27, 1860, 
son of Alexander T. and Mary M. (Bankard) Garden and 
grandson of David Garden, a native of Scotland, who settled 
at Wheeling as early as 1816. He was a tanner, and he 
established and operated a tannery at North Wheeling until 
18.58. He then returned to his farm at Glen's Bun, aliove 
Wheeling, where he died in 1686, at the age of sixty-five. 
Alexander T. Garden, his son, also became a tanner, and was 
associated with his father's imlustry for many years 
Alexander T. Garden, as well as his son John B., was also 
associated with the establishment of the Wheeling Electric 
Company during the '80s. His home vas in Wheeling from 
about 1870, and at one tim,e he was a member of the city 
council. 

The mother of John B. Garden was Mary Bankard who 
was born May 24, 18.34, and died May 24, 1902. Her father 
James Bankard was of the firm Stackt m, Bankard & Com- 
pany, window glass manufacturers, owning and operating 
one of the first glass factories in Wheeling. Mary Bankard 
was educated in Wheeling and was married to Mr Garden 
t', "^^ ^er three children were: Mrs. John M. Sweenev 
John B. Garden and David A. Garden. The latter for 'a 
number of years was with the Whitaker-GIessner Company 
and IS now living in St. Louis, Missouri. 

John B. Garden acquired a public school and business 
college education, and as a young man became absorbed in 
the progress of electrical development, which at that time 
had hardly exteuTled to any practical or commercial pur- 
poses. A few years later he became an associate with hi-. 
father and with A.. J. Sweeney and John M. Sweenev in 
installing a small plant to furnish electricity for electric 
lighting at^ Wheeling. This plant was in.stalled in the shop 
?T A w- r"""-^/' ®°" 0" Twelfth Street, opposite the 
Hotel Windsor. Sufficient electricity was generated for 
Mliout forty lights, used at first in stores only. About two 
years later the incandescent system of lighting came into 
use, and the men in the company secured an old skating rink 
at Twenty-second and Chapline for a larger plant Wheel 
Dig was the fifth city in the United States to use alternatino- 
machines. Here a 650 light machine was installed Grad" 

*20-oon^\n'i"?i,"'''\-'-f*^' "* *^-^'°°*^ ^^'^ ^^t^'"^«'l t" 
$/0,000, but the dividends were paid on the stock for 

ten years. All the increasing capital and surplus was rein- 
vested m equipment, and after several years a new location 
was bought at Thirty-sixth Street and McColloch Avenue. 
1 he facilities there sufficed only twelve years, and the next 
oeation was at Forty-second and Water streets, where a 
•"llu Sf ^^^ provided five times as large as that at Thirty 
sixth btreet, yet m three years' time it was too small. Then 
'."J T? 'if I".? *"''* "^ ground eleven miles above Wheeling, 
at Beech Bottom, was purchased, the selection of the sife 
being due to the combination of an adequate water supply 
^Mth an inexhaustible supply of coal for fuel ' 

It should also be noted "that Mr. Garden and his asso- 
ciates in the Wheeling Electric Company put in operatfon 
the first electrically operated cars at Wheeling, and his was 
also a pioneering work, since there were only a few cities 
in the entire country with electric transportation 
• ^l; ^"'"^«'" ^"■^■'^'3 fO""- years as a member of the Wheel- 
ing Hoard of Education, a member of the Board of Trade 
the Second United Presbyterian Church, and is a director 
in the Community Sayings Bank. 

June 17, 188.5, he married Mi.ss Mary Ralston Sweeney, 



daughter of Andrew James and Maria Elizabeth (iniu 
Sweeney. A review of the life of Andrew J. Sween ai 
his family is given on other pages. Mrs. Garden foina, 
years has been one of West Virginia 's most prominei cli 
women, and she is now president of the State Federa )n 
Women's Clubs. She is also prominent in the Daughrs 
the American Revolution, having served as regent of he, 
mg Chapter; and she is active in other organization' M 
and Mrs. Garden have two children, George Alan ain 
uate of- West Virginia University and a Wheeling attie. 
and Gertrude, who was one of the West Virginifcii 
sent by the General Federation of Women's Clis 
France during the World war. She is the wife of t 
Throp. 

Andrew J. Sweeney. The family of which th I, 
A. J. bweeney was m some respects the most cdMsi i,,', 
representative has for nearly a century been identiti.' y, 
the manufacturing, industrial, civic and cultural -df y 
the Upper Ohio Valley. 

Thomas Sweeney, father of Andrew J., came to Wl 
from Pittsburgh in 1830. Thomas Sweeney was a nat 
Ireland. He married Rosanna Mathews, of Pittsbur..) «i 
was the mother of the following children: And?.- I 
Rebecca, Thomas Campbell and Robert H At Wldi'ii 
he bought the shops and property of the North Wbln, 
Mamifacturing Company, and with his brothers an, ,..-. 
he continued this industry until about 1874, being sucu'.l^ 
by his son A J Sweeney. This industrial enterprise . . ,, 
a period of half a century manufactured a large and i , 
line, consisting of engines, mill machinery, foundry c-i-„ ' 
and also steamboats. Andrew J. Sweeney was admit d"t 
a partnership in the firm in 1858. He in turn, in 1874^' 
in his son, John M. Sweeney. The industry was gatl 
broadened after the accession of Andrew J. Sweeney Ifl, 
control m 18/5, extending to the manufacture of ili,, 
mill steambo,at_ and other machinery and also agrici.un 
machinery and implements. ^ 

, „£°'^''^r' /• ^"eeney was born at Pittsburgh, Janu:v 
18-7 and died February 14, 1893. He was not only ,■ ,,. 
usually vigorous and successful industrial leader hut c> n 
Wheeling's most devoted citizens, and held tlie offi n 
mayor for a longer time than any other one man H ^. 
first appointed to fill an unexpired term in 1855' H.wi 
elected in the years 1861, 1862, 1865, 1867 and 1875a,"., 
served from the latter year until 1881. He was a colo.I o 
militia during the Civil war, in addition to bein<. he ' „ 
the municipal government. In 1876 President Gran a,, 
pointed him commissioner for West Virginia to the V i 
n"T^. h^"''^'""-!* Pl'i'adelphia. He was also appct.. 
Ill 1873 by President Grant, as a commissioner t. tin 
\ leiina Ex-position and in 1878 to the French Expositii ;, 
Wheeiincr "'"^ prominent in all the Masonic bodi, ;, 

1 \T •J.^ot^M""^ from Wheeling papers at the time , li 
death will indicate .some of the other qualities in this m , 
genius. Colonel Sweeney was an inventor of no sni'i 
nown, a number of valuable patents having been\n';t 
him and his intimacy with all forms of machinery an ! 
Miowledge of applied mechanics was second to no n.i 
his community. A proverbial hard worker, it was :, . • 
lis invariable custom to close a day of toil as grimy atli.' 
humblest man in his employ, and it was conceded that ven 
.n Ills age few men could stand more hours of labor laii 
.Tl' ihJ''J ,^7<"'-^«o" \ ^-as intimately connected -ith 
ail that went to benefit this community, and all suelim- 
provements as to street railway, the electric lightS^^- 
Z\n^ ^ I' .ilepartment, the fire alarm telegraph.ind 

clnei /w„"'"' bridges and shipping facilities foun in 
(-olonel Sweeney a stanch and powerful friend 
lit;.;/? ^'^ T''*''' ^''- Sweeney saw many vicissitudespo- 
>t jally, m the country's history and in a business av, 
■ma no man was ever more equal to an emergency thaihc 

Zm f ,1' ''*^"*' ,"'*' ^'" '^"g be remembered tohis 
lied It as thej- showed promptness, courage and intelligice 
stnrnfi =f "«iependence._ Many people yet rememberlho 
stormy scenes one night in 1879 when he was mayor otic 
city and the Pittsburgh, Wheeling & Kentucky^ Ra° a^l 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



27 



^, Company was granted the right of way for its Benwood 
^ extension. The Baltimore & Ohio Company opposed, and, 
! realizing that increased facilities were for the city's good, 
.Mr. Swei'ney with customary dtxision of character threw the 
t whole force of his authority in favor of cnrrving out the 
. rights granteil by the city and I'orsonally supervised the all 

night work of laying the ' Pewky ' track. ' ' 
I In 1848 .\ndrcw J. Sweeney married Mary R. Moore. Her 
I father wa.s John Moore, for many years superintendent of 
s, the city waterworks and at one time head of the machine 
, .nhop of John Moore & Company, an industry that became 
.imalgamatvd with tlie industrial interests of the Sweeneys. 
Mrs. Mary Sweeney died in 1860. at the age of thirty years. 
.She was the mother of four children. The oldest, John M., 
for a number of years associated with his father as a steam- 
boat builder, also interested in the Wheeling Electric Com- 
pany and associated with the building and operation of 
Wheeling's first electric street car, has had a long and 
lirominent career as a mechanical engineer, lived for many 
vears in Chicago, was an expert engineer for the Govern- 
ment during the World war, located at Pensacola, Florida, 
•ind is now living retired at Los Angeles. He married Miss 
.lulia Garden, a sister of John B. Garden of Wheeling. 
J The second child, Nellie B., had a wide reputation as a 
vocalist in concert work, and died at Washington City, 
' widow of Da%id Palmer. Miss Rose M. Sweeney, the third 
child, also cultivated the family gift for music to a degree 
, nf high excellence, was a student abroad at London and 
' Paris, was at one time dean of the College for Women 
at Richmond, Virginia, and later assistant dean at Linden- 
, wood College at St. Cliarles, Missouri, and at West Virginia 
, University at Morgantown. The youngest child of Andrew 
J. Sweeney's first marriage was the late Andrew Thomas 
Sweeney, who died September 18, 1918, shortly after com- 
pleting four years of consecutive service as sheriff of Ohio 
County. He had also been mayor of WTieeling six years, 
married Kate B. Lukens, who with their one daughter, 
Eleanor M., survive. 

In 1861 Col. A. J. Sweeney married Maria E. Hanna. 
who died at Wheeling October 8, 1909. She was born at 
Cadiz, Ohio, in 1838, daughter of Rev. Thomas Hanna, a 
prominent minister and for many years pastor of the 
I'nit<?d Presbyterian Church at Cadiz. Mrs. Sweeney was 
a devoted member of the same faith, and at the time of her 
death was active in the Second Church at Wheeling and 
had served as president of the Women's Missionary Society 
nf the Wheeling Presbytery. Her mother was a daughter 
of Robert Patterson and a ilescendant of the historic Van 
Meter family which made the first settlement near West 
Libirty, West Virginia, about 1763, building Fort Van 
Meter four miles from West Liberty. 

Mrs. Maria Elizabeth Sweeney was the mother of nine 
ihildren, and six of them survive her. The oldest is Mary 
R.. who is Mrs. John B. Garden of Wheeling. (See J. B. 
Garden's sketch on other pages.) Sarah Patterson, who 
has gained distinction in musical circles, is the wife of 
''harles 0. Roemer of Cumberland, Maryland. Thev have 
two children, Andrew S, and Dorothy' I>, William H. 
Sweeney, who is a graduate of Wa.shington and .Tefferson 
College and Virginia University, is associated with the 
Duquesne Light and Power Company of Pittsburgh and 
is a director of an orchestra in that city. He married Miss 
Mullen, of Wisconsin, and has four children, Frank M., 
Marian E., Mary A. and Virginia M. Frank B. Sweeney 
is in the telephone business at Los Angeles, California. 
He married Elizabeth Vorhees, of New Jersey, Col. Walter 
C. Sweeney is the military figure of the family, served 
in the Spanish .iVmerican war, in the Philippines and ' in 
the Regular Army, was an American officer in France, was 
decorated by both the French and American governments, 
received special mention by the British Government, and is 
now stationed at Boston. " He married Anne E. McConnell, 
a daughter of N. W. McConnell, of Helena, Montana. Mr. 
and Mrs. Sweeney have three children, Elizabeth J., Anice 
E. and Walter C. The youngest of the family is James 
Edgar Sweeney, who is chief clerk of the Laughiin jdant of 
the American Sheet & Tin Plate Company. He lives at 



Wheeling, and married StcUa, daughter of Capt. John H. 
Crawford. They have one daughter, Mary Elizabeth. 

William M. Dunlap, who has been for half a century 
actively identified with the handling of real estate and whose 
operations in West Virginia have l)een of broad scope and 
importance, maintains his residence at West Alexander, 
Pennsylvania, near the West Virginia line, and his long and 
worthy association with afl'airs in the latter state .justify 
his special recognition in this publication. 

In an historic way it may be recorded that James Curtis 
took up one of the first three farms in Ohio County, West 
Virginia, as now constituted, he haWng como here in 1773, 
in comi)any with James Hardesty and James Morgan, whose 
names became associated with the other two pioneer farms. 
The old Curtis homestead farm is in the center of Liberty 
District, on Buffalo Creek, and the property remained in 
the possession of the Curtis family until about 1900. Sala 
thiel, a son of James the pioneer, became one of the early 
lawyers of this section, when members of the bar rode the 
circuit in their jirofessional work. He resided on the old 
home farm and was one of the loading men of his day in 
this section of West Virginia. lie had marked at)ilify, 
and was the author of a book of poems and also a book of 
music. He died in 1868, when about eighty-eight years of 
age. He was one in a family of ten children, all born on 
the old homestead and all except one of the number lived to 
pass the age of eight years, John, an enterprising farmer. 
haWng been ninety-six years of age at the time of his 
death. James Curtis was a great hunter and well equipi)ed 
for the hardships of pioneer life on the frontier. After 
settling in what is now Ohio County he went forth as a 
patriot soldier in the Revolution from Fredi'riek County, 
Maryland. He became the owner of about 400 acres of land 
in Ohio County. His son John lived and died on the an- 
cestral homestead, and was about ninety-three years old at 
the time of his death. Joseph, another son, died when about 
eighty, he having been a large landholder. James, another 
son, went to Jacksonville, Illinois. The daughter, Ruth 
Eliza, was born in 1812, on the old homestead, and as a 
young woman she became the wife of Samuel Dunlap, who 
was born on an adjoining farm in 1801. a son of William 
Dunlap, who with four of his brothers came to this locality 
from Martinsburg, Virginia. Jo.seph Dunlap, ono of the 
brothers, later went to Indiana; another brother went to 
Peoria County. Illinois; and Salathiel Dunlap established 
his home at Mount Pleasant, Ohio. Another brother settled 
in Kentucky. William Dunlap died about 1851, and of his 
four sons it may be recorded that James went to Crawford 
County, Ohio, and was a resident of Columbus, that state, 
at the time of his death; Mason, who died at West Liberty, 
Ohio County, aided in establishing the old academy at that 
place, where he also built the large hotel which he con- 
ducted until his death; Samuel remained in Ohio County 
until his death ; William resided at West Liberty ami died 
in 1883, at the age of eighty-two years, his wife having 
died three years previously. Samuel Dunlap was the owner 
of the Pleasant Hill Nurseries, which he made one of the 
best in this section. The Curtis men were old-time Virginia 
democrats, and the Dunlaps were originally whigs and later 
republicans. Early representati%'es of the Dunlap family 
owned slaves, but set them free prior to the Civil war, 
"Aunt Polly," one of the number, being well remembered 
by old settlers in Ohio County. Of the nine children of 
Samuel Dunlap eight attained to maturity: Virginia died 
at the age of twenty years; Eugene died in 1913, at Wash- 
ington, Pennsylvania, where he had served a number of 
years as county recorder; William M., to whom this sketch 
is dedicated, was the next in order of birth; Emma became 
the wife of Lewis B, Morgan ; Florence O, married Cambell 
Rice and after several years of pioneer experience in 
Nebraska they returned to Wheeling; Matilda is the wife 
of Samuel UUum and ri'sides at Wheeling; Eudora is the 
wife of Cahin Hare and lives at Wheeling; Frank died in 
infancy; John was a merchant at Claysville, Pennsylvania, 
where he died in 1916, 

William M. Dunlap was a boy when he earned his first 
five dollars by mowing eight acres of hay with a scythe. 



28 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



At the aee of sixteen years he went forth as a soldier in 
fhe avU^war. He enlisted in Company D, Twelfth West 
Virginia Infantry, under Captain William B Curtis, who 
late? became colonel of the regiment and BtjU later^bngade 
commander in the Second Division, Twenty-fourth Army 
Corps Mr. Dunlap's company made an enviable record, 
and of the 300 medals issued by Congress in the war period 
three were gained by members of this company Mr. Dun- 
lap first served under General Milroy in the Valley of Vir- 
einia, and he took part in many engagements in the course 
of his loyal service as a gallant young soldier of the Union. 
After the war he studied law at home, his admission to 
the bar, at Wheeling, having occurred November _<!, l»/u. 
In 1871-2 he had an office in Wheeling, West Virginia, and 
in the latter part of 1872 was on the home farm. He con- 
tinued in the practice of law for a number of years, mainly 
in. Ohio and adjoining counties. He has ever been a stal- 
wart advocate of the principles of the republican party, 
and has long been affiliated with the Grand Army of the 
Republic. He has dealt extensively in coal lands through- 
out West Virginia, as well as in Pennsylvania and Ohio. 
He gave fourteen years to the handling of 6,000 acres m 
the Wheeling District, and he paid a total of $26,000 m 
options on this property before he sold it. He is now en- 
gaged in coal operations on a tract of 600 acres, but has 
been primarily a dealer in coal lands rather than a coal 
operator. He has maintained his residence at West Alex- 
ander, Pennsylvania, since 1897. As administrator and ex- 
ecutor he has settled many estates, and in his extensive 
real-estate operations, involving millions of dollars within 
his fifty years of activity, none of his clients have lost 
a cent through his interposition, the result being that his 
reputation has ever been unassailable. He ia a member of 
the Presbyterian Church in his home village. 

Mr. Dunlap's first wife, who was Harriet Hare, of Wash- 
ington County, Pennsylvania, continued as his devoted com- 
panion and helpmeet for twenty-three years, when the 
gracious ties were severed by her death. They had six 
children: Herbert E. is a representative member of the 
Wheeling bar and a patent attorney in this city; Olive D., 
widow of John Wallace, resides at Woodlawn, a suburb of 
Wheeling; Charles E. has a position in the office of the 
Wheeling Steel & Iron Company; John H. is engaged in 
the undertaking business at West Alexander; Amy C. is a 
professional nurse employed in the Ohio Valley General 
Hospital at Wheeling; and Alverda L. is employed in the 
X-ray department of that institution. For his second wife 
Mr. Dunlap married Mary Yates, who died ten years later, 
leaving no children. His present wife, whose maiden name 
was Mary E. Truesdell, is a daughter of Joel Truesdell, 
who was a prominent merchant at West Alexander. 

Walter Kenneth Barnes, one of the younger mem- 
bers of the bar of his native city and county, was born 
at Fairmont, Marion County, on April 6, 1891, and is a 
scion in the fifth generation of the Barnes family in what 
is now Marion County. Mr. Barnes is a descendant of 
William Barnes, who came to this section from George's 
Creek, Maryland, some time prior to 1782 and settled on 
the 'Tygart's Valley Eiver, near where the City Pump 
Station of the City of Fairmont is now located. There 
William Barnes, one of the pioneers of this section, built 
one of the first water mills in this locality, and followed 
his trade of millwright. For several generations the land 
originally occupied by this William Barnes, together with 
a large part of the land now known as Pleasant Valley, 
were owned and occupied by the Barnes family and their 
connections. Abraham Barnes, the eighth son of WUliam 
Barnes, was born in 1782 at the Pleasant Valley home 
of William Barnes. He married Mary Ann Hall, daughter 
of Jordan Hall, of Pleasant Valley. Among their chil- 
dren was Peter T. Barnes, born September 3, 1828. Dur- 
ing his young manhood he was a teacher, but later en- 
gaged in the mercantile and milling business, he together 
with his brother, Thomas H. Barnes, owning and operat- 
ing the Palatine Mills near Water Street of Palatine 
(now Fairmont) for several years. March 11, 1852, Peter 
T. Barnes married Mary Vandervort Martin, a widow, to 



which union several children were born, one of them ing 
James Walter Barnes, born September 3, 1862. 

J. Walter Barnes, the father of the subject of this 
sketch, engaged in teaching during his early mamod. 
In 1882-3 he studied law at the University of Viriaia, 
and in September, 1883, he was admitted to the hi of 
Marion County. He practiced law at Fairmont until !8f), 
when he accepted a position as teacher in the Fairout 
State Normal School, and in 1892 he was made present 
of this institution, in which capacity he served until 101. 
In 1902 Mr. Barnes became general manager of the ion- 
solidated Telephone Company, and made it one ofthe 
strongest independent telephone companies in the inn- 
try. He retained his connection with this company atil 
it was absorbed by the Bell System in 1915. From )14 
to 1919 Mr. Barnes was commissioner of finance tnd 
public utilities of the City of Fairmont, being on of 
the four city commissioners in charge of the governmital 
affairs of the City of Fairmont. During the World ?ar 
he served as Federal fuel administrator for the Sta'. of 
West Virginia, having charge of the enforcement ofthe 
orders and rulings of the Federal fuel administrator whin 
the state. In March, 1920, Mr. Barnes was appoited 
by Governor Cornwell, a member of the State Boar of 
Control for a term of six years, which position he till 
holds, being the treasurer of the board. On June 3, ;84, 
Mr. Barnes married Miss Olive Cooper, a daughte: of 
Maj. William P. Cooper, who was the founder and nb- 
lisher of the Fairmont Index. To this union were wn 
six children, Hugh Cooper, George Eoscoe, Walter en- 
neth. Fay Evans (died May 17, 1903), Homer Fncis 
and Mabel Irene. 

Walter Kenneth Barnes, the third son of J. Wter 
Barnes and Olive (Cooper) Barnes, was educated inthe 
public schools of Fairmont, graduating from the grles 
in 1905 and from the Fairmont High School 1909. Ee 
then became associated with his father in the telepme 
business for a while in the plant department, later bng 
made commercial manager of the Consolidated Telepm? 
Company and associated companies, and having supervi.on 
of the commercial affairs of thirty-four telephone sx- 
changes, covering eleven counties in the northern par of 
West Virginia. He remained in this position until ip 
tember, 1912, when he resigned and entered the Colge 
of Law of the West Virginia University, from w.cli 
school he was graduated in June, 1915, with the de-ee 
of Bachelor of Laws. The following month he was id 
mitted to the bar in Marion County, and has engseil 
in the practice of law at Fairmont ever since, with hi 
exception of the period in which he was in active seiLce 
during the World war. In May, 1918, he enlisted in he 
United States Naval Reserve Force and reported for (tv 
at St. Helena Training Station, being later transfeed 
to the Naval Operating Base at Hampton Roads, ir 
ginia. There he was made a company commander b.v 
reason of his cadet training while at the university, ml 
was assigned to the duty of training new recruits. le 
was discharged on January 4, 1919, and then retuie'l 
to Fairmont, where he resumed the practice of law. Tti 
August, 1919, Mr. Barnes formed a law partnership itl 
Herschel H. Rose, of the same city, under the firm nnr 
of Rose & Barnes. 

Mr. Barnes is a Presbyterian, as his family has Isii 
for the past five generations, his father having seisd 
as an elder in that church since 1890 and as supen 
tendent of the Sunday School for thirty years. Mr. Baie? 
has been for the past seven years secretary-treasurer Jl 
the Board of Trustees of the same church. He is i3C 
a member of Fairmont Lodge No. 9, Ancient Free ul 
Accepted Masons, and Fairmont Lodge No. 294, Benevolnt 
and Protective Order of Elks. He also follows the leair 
ship of his ancestors in his political allegiance, as hfif 
a member of the democratic party. 

While in active service in the navy Mr. Barnes :3t 
Miss Margaret Eogan Millar, of Norfolk, Virginia, nc 
became Mrs. Barnes on July 3, 1920. Mrs. Barnes ia 
daughter of William H. aiid Margaret (Rogan) Milr, 
of Norfolk, Virginia, where Mr. Millar is engaged i 
the wholesale dry-goods business. Mrs. Millar is a i- 




^^/^:^^>^;^^^^'^^^^^ — . 



IirSTORV OF WEST VIRGINIA 



29 



.<if«Bilaiit tif Hiijili I'atti-rsuii, of Kasti'iii Tciiiicssci-. and 
moved to Norfolk from Riissollvilli', Teiinessoe, at the timo 
of her marriage to Jlr. Millar. On Dcccinbor 2, 1921, a 
ilaughtrr, Margaret Cooper Barnes, Has born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Barnes. 

WiLl.I.XM J. RoDGER.s. .\mong tlie oil (iperators of the 
Huntin,;ton IWstriet of West Virginia nlio have «on sueeess 
.md prominence, one who has depended upon his own 

' 'ifics and judgment in the aeenmulation of prestige and 

. rity is William J. Rodgers. His has been an active 

r. filled with aehievenients. and at present he oeeupies 

, |.^.^itinn not only high in the business world of his adopt^nl 

loninuinity, but in the esteem and confidence of his fellow- 

ritixens. 

Mr. Roilgers was born at Silver Creek, New York, Febru- 
ary 27, 1867, a son of David R. and .lulia A. (Porter) 
Kodgers. The Rodgers family originated in Ireland whence 
it was transplanted to the United States by the greatgrand- 
father of William .1. Roilgers. His grandfather, son of the 
immigrant, was born in 17H7, at Franklin, Pennsylvania, 
where he passed his entire life in the pursuits of the soil 
and bei'ame a prosperous and extensive agriculturist. A 
man of excellent e<I\ication, he po.ssessed oratorical ])Owers 
lieyond the ordinary, anil as he was a strict temperance 
man and a great Abolitionist, and as he did not hesitate 
to air his views on any and all occasions, in the most aggres- 
•iive way, he was often in the midst of turbulent scenes and 
cxjierienccs. He died at Franklin, Pennsylvania, in 1872, 
and while he had made numerous enemies because of his 
outspokenness he also left behind him many friends and 
admirers who had been attracted to him because of his fear- 
less stand in sujiport of his own convictions. 

David R. Rodgers was born in 18.'f8 at Franklin, Pennsyl- 
vania, and was reared and educated in Venango County, that 
<tate, where he became a jiioneer operator in tlie oil fields. 
During the war between the states he became a captain in 
the Eighty third Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer In- 
fantr)-. of the Union army, with which he served throughout 
the struggle, .'\mong the more serious engagements in 
which he participated was Gettysburg, and at Little Round 
Top he had the distinction of capturing Col. R. M. Powell, 
the famous Texas ranger. In later years, about IHUO, 
<'aptain Rodgers, as a matter of courtesy, returned Colonel 
I'liwell's sword and revolver to him. After taking part in 
all the engagements of his regiment and establishing a 
<plendid record for bravery and faithful performance of 
duty, Captain Rodgers received his honorable discharge and 
returned to the Venango County oil fields. Later he ex- 
tended his 0|ierations to West Virginia, whither he came in 
ISOl, locating at Parkersburg and carrying on his opera- 
tions from that point, although he maintained his residence 
at Pittsburgh from 1906. lu 1918 he met with an accident 
in the oil fields, and was taken to his home, where his death 
"ccurred. He was a man of high principles and of the 
itrictest integrity, and in all the relations of life was 
worthy of the resitcct and esteem accorded him. At Pleas- 
anfville, Pcnn-iylvania, Captain Rodgers married Miss Julia 
■\. Porter, who was born in 184.5, at Pleasantville, and who 
survives him as a resident of Pittsburgh. They became the 
parents of the following children: William J., of this 
notice; Marshall C., who is an oil o|ierator and resides at 
Pittsburgh ; LaVerne, who married Stephen H. Huselton, 
al.so an oil operator of Pittsburgh; and Clara A., un- 
married, an artist, who resides with her mother at Pitts- 
burgh. 

William .1. Rodgers was educated in the public schools of 
lireenrille, Pennsylvania, where he graduated from the high 
whool in 1886, and at that time entered the oil fields at 
Butler, Pennsylvania, operating with his father at various 
places in Butler County. Later he moved on to the fields 
at Findlay and Marietta, Ohio, and in 1894 came to West 
\ irginia, where he operated out of Parkersburg until 1907. 
In that year he changed his location to Huntington, which 
has been his home since that time, and where he has eon- 
iinued to be active in the oil business as an operator. Mr. 
Rwlgers is secretary, treasurer and manager of the Hamlin 
<)d Company of Huntington, secretary and general manager 



of Ilic Transylvania IVtridcuiii Company of Huntington, a 
director in several other oil and gas coni|)anies, president 
of the Branchland Supply Comjiany of Huntington, a com 
pany dealing in oil well supplies, and a jiartner with F. S. 
Figley in oil well drilling. Ills offices are situated at Nos. 
501-502 Day and Night Bank Building. In politics Mr. 
Rodgers maintains an independent stand, preferring his own 
choice of candidates and admitting no party allegiance. 
He is interested in civic affairs in his ailo)itcil city, and is 
an active member of the Huntington Cliamiier of Coninierce. 
On February 10, ]89;i, Mr. Rodgers was united in mar 
riage with Miss Mary Bailey, of Panama, New York, a 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. (.Miarles A. Bailey the latter a 
resident of Panama, where the father, a farm owner, died. 
Mrs. Rodgers, a graduate' of the Pananui High School, took 
an active part in the local movements during the World war, 
being executive secretary of Huntington Chapter of the 
American Red Cross, and ile\oting her entire time for three 
years to this work. Mr. Rodgers also a.-isisted the activities 
in various ways. Mr. and Mrs. Rodgers have no children. 

D. T. Pkitch.^rd. In the coal industry of the Huntington 
District of West Virginia a name that is well and favorably 
known is that of Pritchard, which lias always been identified 
with large operations carried on in an honorable manner. 
A worthy representative of the name is found in D. T. 
Pritchard, who belongs to the younger generation of busT- 
ness men, and who within recent years has made rapid 
strides toward a commanding position in the business world, 
particularly in the line of enterprises connected with the 
mining and distribution of coal. 

Mr. Pritchard was born at Algoma, West Virginia, April 
.•i, 1894, a son of William .1. and Ann (Thomas) Pritchard. 
His father was born March 19, 1864, at Thrandrovry, Wales, 
where he was reared and educated, and about the time that 
he attained his majority, in 188-'), came to the United 
States and settled first at Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, 
where he was employed as a coal miner. In 1888 he re- 
moved to Cooper, Mercer County, West Virginia, where he 
became a mine foreman, and in 1890 to .\lgoma, this staff, 
where he was made suj erintendent of the Algoma Coal and 
Coke Company. Mr. Pritchard subseipieutly became inter 
ested ill this company as a ]iartner, being associated with 
W. H. Thomas, but in 1900 disposed of his holding.s, and 
since then has been extensively interested in coal operations 
on his own account. In 1902 lie removed to Bramwell, 
Mercer County, and that has continued to be his home to the 
present. Mr. Pritchard is general manager, a stockholder 
and a director in the Thomas Coal Company and the 
Crystal Coal Company, of Bramwell; a director in the Flat 
Top Fuel Company, of Bluefield, West Virginia; president 
of the Burnwell Coal and Coke Company, of Sprigg, West 
Virginia; ]iresident of the Long Flame Coal Company, of 
Lundale, West Virginia; president of the Algoma Block 
Coal Company, of Lothair, Kentucky; jiresident of the 
Superior Harlan Coal Coni|iany, of Evarts, Kentucky; and 
president of the Virginia Fuel Company, of Cincinnati, 
Ohio. The main offices of the last five mentioned comjianies 
are situated at No. 619-620 First National Bank Building, 
Huntington. The career of William .1. Pritchard is indeeil 
a remarkable one, including as it does all the elements of 
self-made manhood. St<arting a humble miner, through sheer 
perseverance and ability he has forced his way upward to a 
position where he is justly accounted one of West Virginia 's 
leading coal operators. His ability is freely acknowledged 
by his associates, who at all times accept his judgment as 
final and his advice as valuable. Mr. Pritchard is a re- 
jiublican in politics, but politics has played but a small part 
in his career, which has been devoted to his business affairs. 
He is a faithful member of the Presbyterian Church, in 
which he officiates as a deacon, and as a fraternalist is 
identified with the Masonic order. Mr. Pritchard married 
Miss Ann Thomas, who was born in Wales, April 9, 186.'), 
and to this union there were })orn the following children : 
Marjorie, the wife of Newton T. Roberts, a coal operator 
of Bramwell, West Virginia; William, of Huntington, who 
is general manager of the Biiriiwell Coal and Coke Company, 
the Long Flame Coal Company, the Algoma Block Coal 



30 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



Company, the Superior Harlan Coal Company and the Vir- 
ginia Fuel Company; Elizabeth P., the wife of Joseph H. 
Bowen, a coal operator of Bramwell, West Virginia; D. T., 
of this review; Daniel H., of Cincinnati, Ohio, general 
manager of sales of the Pritchard interests, a veteran of 
the World war, who was trained at Fort Benjamin Harrison, 
Indiana, and Camp Grant, Illinois, and was assigned to 
training negro troops, having the rank of first lieutenant; 
Robert C, of Lundale, West Virginia, superintendent of 
the Long Flame Coal Company, who during the World war 
was stationed in the training camp at Lexington, Virginia; 
and Thomas H., residing with his parents at Bramwell, a 
student of mining engineering in the Virginia Polytechnic 
Institute at Blacksburg, Virginia. 

D. T. Pritchard was educated in the public schools of 
Bramwell, and was graduated from the high school of that 
place with the class of 1914, following which he enrolled 
as a student at the Wyoming College of Business, Wilkes 
Barre, Pennsylvania, and was graduated in 1915 in a gen- 
eral business course. Since leaving this institution Mr. 
Pritchard has been associated with his father in his various 
coal operations, and has been a resident of Huntington since 
September, 1920, his well-appointed offices being situated 
at 619-620 First National Bank Building, he being in 
charge of the offices in which the Pritchard interests are 
cared for. Mr. Pritchard is secretary and treasurer of the 
Buruwell Coal and Coke Company, the Long Flame Coal 
Company, the Algoma Block Coal Company and the Superior 
Harlan Coal Company, and vice president of the Virginia 
Fuel Company of Cincinnati. He is 'widely and favorably 
known in the coal industry, and is regarded as a young 
man of pushing energy and aggressiveness, marked ability 
of a sound nature, excellent judgment and executive 
capacity. 

Mr. Pritchard is a republican in his political leanings, but 
has devoted his attention to business and has had no aspira- 
tions for public preferment. However, he takes a public- 
spirited citizen's interest in civic affairs, and gives his 
support to all worthy civic measures, as he does also to 
those movements which have for their object better educa- 
tional, religious and charitable conditions. He belongs to 
the First Presbyterian Church of Huntington. Fraternally 
Mr. Pritchard is affiliated with Bramwell Lodge No. 45, 
A F. and A. M. ; Bramwell Chapter No. 15, R. A. M.; Ivan- 
hoe Commandery No. 10, K. T., of Bramwell ; and 
Beni-Kedem Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S, of Charleston. 
He likewise holds membership in the Guyan Country Club, 
the Guyandot Club and the Huntington Chamber of Com- 
merce. He owns a modern residence at No. 724 Thirteenth 
Avenue, one of the fine homes of Huntington. 

On January 1, 1920, Mr. Pritchard was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Glenna Pack, of Bramwell, daughter of 
John C. and Emma (Johnson) Pack, residents of Bramwell, 
Mr. Pack being an extensive coal operator in the West 
Virginia fields and a man well and prominently known in 
his community. Mrs. Pritchard, a woman of numerous 
attainments and graces, is a graduate of the Peabody Con- 
servatory of Music at Baltimore, Maryland, and a talented 
pianist. 

Edward B. Raiguel. The profession of civil engineering 
undoubtedly offers a great future to those equipped by 
nature and training for this calling. It demands, how- 
ever, perhaps a more thorough technical knowledge of more 
subjects than almost any other vocation in which an indi- 
vidual may engage, but if its demands are severe its rewards 
are conunensurate with its difficulties, and on the pages of 
liistory the names of civil engineers who have accomplished 
the seemingly impossible appear with other benefactors of 
mankind. A leading consulting engineer of Huntington, who 
is chief engineer for W. H. Cunningham, is Edward B. 
Raiguel. He is a native of Reading, Pennsylvania, and was 
born December 13, 1883, a son of A. Harper and Sarah 
Louise (Albright) Raiguel. 

Abram Raiguel, the great-grandfather of Edward B. 
Raiguel, was born in Southern France, and in middle life 
immigrated to America, settling in Lebanon County, Penn- 



sylvania, where he took up farm lands, married and spent 
the remainder of his life. His son, A. Harper Raiguel, the 
elder, was born in Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, and spent 
practically all of his life at Philadelphia, having an inde- 
pendent income from fortunate investments. A republican 
in politics, he took an active part in party affairs and held 
several minor offices. He died at Philadelphia in 187i' 
while his wife, who had been a Miss Boyer, passed away at 
Reading. 

A. Harper Raiguel, the younger, was born at Philadelphia, 
February 22, 1850, and was reared iuthat city until young 
manhood, when he removed to Reading, in which city he was 
married. He secured a clerkship in the First National 
Bank of Reading, in which institution he rose to assistant 
cashier, and after thirty-five years of faithful service retired 
from active life with a splendid record. He was a repub- 
lican in politics and a Knight Templar Mason, and belonged 
to the Presbyterian Church, in the faith of which he died 
at Reading in March, 1918. Mr. Raiguel married Mis; 
Sarah Louise Albright, who was born July 28, 1852, at 
Reading, and survives him as a resident of that city. They 
became the parents of three children: Susan Albright, the 
wife of George Beggs, assistant sales manager for the 
Narrow Fabric Company of Reading; ■ Edward B., of tlii^ 
record; and Helen Louise, the wife of Carl Moyer, engaged 
in the insurance business at West Reading, Pennsylvania. 

The public schools of Reading furnished Edward B. Rai- 
guel with his primary educational training, and after his 
graduation from the Reading High School with the class 
of 1900 he attended the Reading Classical School. He next 
enrolled as a student at Cornell University, attending two 
years, and at once commenced work at Reading, being em- 
ployed by W. H. Dechant, a civil engineer. Mr. Raiguel 
spent one year with Mr. Dechant and then for a few months 
was a civil engineer with the New Jersey Short Line Rail- 
way Company, next being identified with the Batcheller 
Pneumatic Tube Company of Philadelphia in the capacity 
of assistant engineer. In July, 1906, he accepted a position 
with the Temple Ornamental and Structural Iron Company 
at Temple, Pennsylvania, as assistant draughtsman, hut 
remained only two months. During 1907 he was with the 
Acme Motor Company of Reading as assistant superinten- 
dent, and in April, 1908, came to Huntington as draughts- 
man for the W. G. Wilkins Company of Pittsburgh in tlie 
Huntington offices. He remained in this position for one 
year and for another year was chief draughtsman, and tlieii 
became assistant engineer for the same concern, remaining 
until December, 1913. He was then made chief engineer 
for the Partridge Woodrow Company of Ocala, Florida, a 
concern with which he remained one year as chief engineer. 
From December, 1914, to November, 1915, Mr. Raiguel con- 
ducted a general engineering business at Huntington, and 
was then made engineer in charge of field parties for W. H. 
Cunningham, a well-known consulting engineer, from whicli 
position he was advanced to that of chief engineer January 
1, 1918. He holds this position today, his offices being 
situated at No. 802 Fir.st National Bank Building. Mr. 
Raiguel has become well and favorably known in his pro- 
fession, and his name has been connected with a number of 
large and important enterprises. 

Politically Mr. Raiguel is a democrat, but has found littli 
time from the duties of his calling to engage in public 
matters or the game of polities. He belongs to the Lutheran 
Church, and holds membership in the Guyandotte Club and 
the Guyan Country Club of Huntington and the American 
Institute of Mining Engineers. He is the owner of a 
modern home at No. 440 Thirteenth Avenue, in one of 
Huntington's exclusive residential districts. From Septem- 
ber, 1915, to August, 1916, Mr. Raiguel was a member of 
the Second Regiment, West Virginia National Guard, and 
was honorably discharged with the rank of regimental 
sergeant-major. 

On June 15, 1909, at Williamsport, Pennsylvania, Mr. 
Raiguel married Miss Ruth Greenwood, a graduate of Fair- 
mont Seminary, Washington, D. C, and a daughter of 
Raymond and Julia (Brockett) Greenwood, residents of 
Montclair, New Jersey, where Mr. Greenwood owns and 



I 




^f/U,^. 




HISTORY OF WEST \aRGINIA 



31 



ites a public- f;!"":';;"- ■^I'"- '"I'l ^'rs. Rnigiiol have three 
rcn: Julia, born .liiiio 1«, liUti; Kilwiinl JliTvey, horn 
«. I'M:;; ami Hiitli, l>orii M.-ircli I. IDIO. 

John Thomas Mastfjison, scrri'tary :iiiil troasiiror of Ike 
W-nncr (ias Stove C'oiii|iaiiy at lliiiitiii^loii, was horn in 
1 County, Ohio, July 17, 1SG4, and is a son of HiTiiard 
Martha E. (Snonilen) Mastcrson, the former of whom 
urn in County C'avan, Ireland, in 18..S, and the latter 
Mini was tiorn at Steubenville, Ohio, in 1841. The 
..f the father oc<iirre.l in Gallia County, Ohio, in 189.'?, 
mat of the mother at Marietta, that state, iu June, 

Bernard Masterson gained bis early education in the 
- hools of his native land, and was a lad of fourteen years 
. he came to the United States. At Steubenville. Ohio, 
.rned the blacksmith's trade, and in 1862 he renuived 
illia County, that state, where he continued in the 
\ work of his trade until the time of his death — a man 
rling character, a loyal and useful citizen. He served 
.■ Ohio militia or Home Guard in the period of the 
' jmI war, and aided in sujipressiug the raids of the Con- 
federate forces under command of Gen. John Morgan. lie 
was a democrat in politics and was affiliated with the 
Masonic fraternity. Of the family of twelve children six 
are living at the time of this writing in the spring of 
1922: Klizabeth is the widow of John Howarth, who was 
a carpenter and builder by vocation and who died April 
.10, 1913, in Gallia County, Ohio, she being now a resident of 
Huntington, West Virginia; John T., of this sketch, was 
neit in order of birth; Annie G. is the wife of .lohn Scherer, 
a retired farmer, and they reside at Marietta, Ohio ; Homer 
(i., a blacksmith by trade, resiiics in the City of Huntington, 
West Virginia; Clara E. is the wife of Herschel V. Brown, 
a contractor and builder at Marietta, Ohio; Walter L. owns 
anil conducts a restaurant in that city. 

John T. Masterson is indebted to the district schools of 
liallia County, Ohio, for his early education, which was 
thereafter continued in the high school at Gallipolis, in 
which he was graduated as a member of the class of 188.S. 
Thereafter he continued as a successful teacher in the 
vhools of his native county until 1894, when he engaged in 
similar service in Madison County, Missouri. After his 
return to the old home county in Ohio he there continued 
as a popular teacher until 1901, when he became principal 
iif the schools at St. Albans, Kanawha County, We.st Vir- 
ginia. He retained this position until 1905. and thereafter 
was for one year an instructor in the Huntington Business 
College. For the ensuiug seven months he was here book- 
ki-eper for the Huntington Hardware Company, and from 
I!M)8 to 1915 he scrveil as assistant city treasurer of Hunt- 
ington. He next held for three years the position of book- 
keeper for the Overland-PerryCurtis Company of Hunting- 
ton, and in the meanwhile, in 1916, he became financially 
interested in the Winner Gas Stove Company, of which he 
has been secretary ami treasurer since 1918. This com- 
pany is incorporated under the laws of West Virginia and 
manufactures a very superior type of gas heating stoves, 
the factory and offices being at 927 Second Avenue. The 
'ompany holds patents on the improved burner which is 
utilized in its stoves, the business is con.stantly expanding 
in .scope and importance, and the trade extends from Penn- 
xylvania on the east to the Rocky Mountains on the west, 
and south to the Gulf of Mexico'. William E. Deegans is 
president of the company, and H. C. Daniels is vice presi- 
•lent and general manager. 

Mr. Masterson maintains an independent attitude in poli- 
tics and gives his sup|>ort to candidates and measures meet- 
ing the approval of his juelgment. In his native county he 
5tiU maintains affiliation with Gallipolis Lodge No. 861, 
I- 0. 0. F. At Huntington he owns and occupies a modern 
residence at 1209 Seventh Street, and he has identified 
himself fully and lovallv with the civic and business inter- 
ests of his adopted city. 

At Cornwall, Missouri, in 1886, was solemnized the mar- 
nage of Mr. Masterson and Miss Marv A. Stephens, and 
the one child of this union is Alice B.,'wife of Herman C. 



Daniels, of whom indiviilual mention is made in following 
paragraphs. 

Herman ('. Daniels was born at Akron, Ohio, June 9, 
1887, gained his early educati<in in rural schools of Law- 
rence (.'ouiily, that st:itc. :ind in HHll, when but fourteen 
years of age, he entered the i-niploy of (he American Car 
& Foundry Company. Two years later he went to Louisiana, 
where he worked in the lumber wooils about one year, and 
the ensuing year he was again in the employ of the Amer- 
ican Car & Foundry Company, in the building of steel 
railway cars. He next passed a year in the employ of the 
Pullman Company, the great car building concern at Pull- 
man, Illinois, and during the next five years he was again 
in the service of the Anu>rican Car & Foundry Company at 
Huntington, West Virginia. He then became manager of 
the Columbia Gas Stove Com|)any of this city, a position 
which he retained until 191 S, when he organized the Winner 
Gas Stove Company, of which he has since continued vice 
president and general manager. He and his wife are mem- 
bers of the Johnson Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, as are also Mrs. Daniels' j)arents. They have two 
children: Louise, born June 17, 1915, and Dorothy, born 
July 4, 1921. 

Thomas Ma.sterson, grandfather of him whose name 
initiates this review, was born and reared in County Cavan, 
Ireland, and died in Gallia County, Ohio, at the age of 
eighty-eight years. The maternal grandfather, James F. 
.Snowden, was born in Pennsylvania, in 1809, and died at 
Cornwall, Missouri, in 1899. He gained high reputation as 
an educator, was for several years a teacher in the schools 
of Steubeuvillej Ohio, was for two years principal of the 
Fourth Ward School at Wheeling, We.st Virginia, and later 
served as principal in the jiublic schools of St. Louis, 
Missouri. In that state he became the owner of a valuable 
farm of 400 acres. He married Ann Jane Stevenson, who 
was born at Wheeling, West Virginia, and who died at 
Cornwall, Missouri, at a venerable age. The father of James 
F. Snowden was born near Mount Snowden, Wales, and 
upon coming to America settled in Pcnn.sylvania. 

Herman C. Daniels, son-in-law of Mr. Masterson, is a 
sou of Frank M. Daniels, who was born in Lawrence County, 
Ohio, iu 1860, and who followed the cooper's trade in Ohio, 
principally at Toledo and Akron, until June, 1921, since 
which time he has lived retired at Huntington, West Vir- 
ginia. He is a democrat and is affiliated with the Imle- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. His wife, whose family 
name was Lewis, was born in Lawrence Couutv, Ohio, in 
1860, and died at Akron, that state, in 1888. Of the chil- 
dren the eldest is Samuel, a resident of Fairport Harbor, 
Ohio; George S. is a resident of Barberton, that state; 
Miss Lizzie resides at Huntington. West Virginia; and 
Herman C. is the youngest of the number. Frank M. 
Daniels is a son of Morrow Daniels, who was born in Ire- 
land, in 1828, and who died in Lawrence County, Ohio, in 
1914, he having been a pioneer farmer in that county. 

Thomas Sedgwick Neptune, treasurer and general man- 
ager of the Fairmont-Sewickley Comjiany, and also sec- 
retary-treasurer and general manager of the Clarksburg- 
Sewickley Company, has his executive headquarters in a 
well appointed office in the Deveny Building in the City 
of Fairmont, Marion County. He was born in Paw Paw 
District, this county, January 26, 1876, and is a son of 
William II. and Caroline (Prichard) Neptune. 

William H. Neptune was born in Marion County in 
the year 1847, a son of .lohn and Serena (Straight) Nep- 
tune, the names of both families having been closely linked 
with the history of this section since the early j)ioneer 
days. William H. Neptune was for many years one of 
the substantial and representative exponents of farm in- 
dustry in his native county, and is now living virtually 
retired at Fairmont. His wife, who likewise was born 
and reared in Marion County, died in the year 1898. She 
was a daughter of Thomas and Mahala (Morris) Prichard. 
William H. Neptune was a gallant young soldier of the 
Confederacy in the Civil war. 

Thomas S. Nejitune passed the period of his childhood 



32 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



and early youth on the old home farm and in the mean- 
while made good use of the advantages offered in the 
local schools. In 1902 he severed his alliance with farm 
enterprise and entered the employ of the Fayette County 
Gas Company and the Treat & Crawford Oil Company 
of Pittsburgh, for which corporations he had charge of 
leases and rights of way in West Virginia. In 1908 he 
left the employ of these companies and engaged in the 
real estate business at Fairmont, in which line of enter- 
prise he still continues operations, in the buying and sell- 
ing of land, principally coal and oil tracts. Mr. Neptune 
was one of the organizers of the Fairmont-Sewickley Com- 
pany and the Clarksburg-Sewickley Company in 1917, and 
much of his time and attention have since been given to 
his executive service with these important corporations. 

Mr. Neptune is afiiliated with the Knights of Pythias 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He 
and his wife and son hold membership in the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South. 

In the year 1899 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. 
Neptune and Miss Rose M. Hibbs, who likewise was born 
and reared in Marion County and who is a daughter of 
Alpheus T. and Lydia (Wilson) Hibbs. Mr. and Mrs. 
Neptune have one son, Harry Alfred, born June 2, 1906. 

Abthue Hamilton Adams, vice president of the Hunt- 
ington Wholesale Grocery Company and recognized as one 
of the vital and progressive citizens and business men of the 
City of Huntington, was born in Pittsylvania County, Vir- 
ginia, September 24, 1879, and is a son of Thomas J. and 
Mary Jane (Jones) Adams, both likewise natives of that 
county, where the former was born in 1834 and the latter 
in 1842. Their entire lives were passed in their native 
county, where the death of the father occurred in 1913 and 
that of the mother in 1917. Thomas J. Adams owned and 
operated a large tobacco plantation in Pittsylvania County, 
was a scion of an old and influential family of that section' 
of the Old Dominion commonwealth, was a democrat in 
politics, served as a gallant soldier of the Confederacy 
during virtually the entire period of the Civil war, and was a 
man whose character and ability gave him no small measure 
of influence in connection with community affairs. In 
religious faith he was a member of the Presbyterian Church, 
while his wife was a member of the Baptist Church. Of 
their children the eldest is James S., who is a retired farmer 
and resides in the vicinity of Eichmond, Virginia; John A. 
died at Roanoke, that state, at the age of forty-eight years, 
he having been in the service of the Norfolk & Western 
Railroad; Selena B. is the wife of John Motley, a merchant 
at Shockoe, Virginia; Patsy is the wife of John Thompson, 
a farmer in Pittsylvania County, Virginia; Virginia Rosa 
is the wife of William T. Shelton, who is engaged in the 
mercantile business at Westmoreland, West Virginia; Lula 
L. resides at Danville, Virginia, and is the widow of Adam 
T. Clement, who was a successful meat packer in that city 
at the time of his death, in 1920; Carrie S. became the 
wife of Thomas J. Watson, who was an extensive farmer 
and dealer in cotton near Byhalia, Mississippi, and after his 
death she became the wife of John Keesee, their residence 
being on a part of the old homestead plantation of her 
father, which property they own and operate; William W. 
owns the remainder of the old homestead farm and has 
active charge of its operations; Arthur H., of this sketch, 
was the next in order of birth; and Edna Gertrude is the 
wife of Eugene A. Smith, of Christiansburg, Virginia, he 
being a grower of and dealer in live stock. 

In the rural school near his birthplace Arthur H. Adams 
acquired his youthful education, after having previously 
been instructed by a private tutor, but he was only four- 
teen years of age when his boyish ambition led him to leave 
the parental roof and take a position in the general store of 
W. P. Hodnett at Danville, Virginia. He was thus em- 
ployed three years, and he supplemented his education by 
a course in the Danville Business College. In 1897 he was 
suddenly called upon to settle the affairs of the estate of 
Thomas J. Watson, his brother-in-law, in Mississippi, a work 
that engrossed his attention one year. He then returned to 
Danville, where he was employed in a retail grocery one 



year and the following year in a dry goods establishment i 
that city. He next passed a year in the wholesale groeeij 
house of OverbeySwanson Brothers at Danville, and ij 
1900 he there engaged in the general merchandise businesi 
on Union Street, as a member of the firm of Adams & Allen 
Three years later his impaired health compelled him to retili 
from active business, and two years passed ere he recuper 
ated sufficiently to resume his activities. In 1905 he becami 
a traveling salesman for Clifford Weil, of Richmond, dis 
tributor for the American Tobacco Company, and in 190'( 
he came to Huntington, West Virginia, and took the positioi 
of bill clerk in the offices of the Chesapeake & Ohio Rail 
road. He was promoted to chief bill clerk, and upon resign, 
ing this position in 1909 he took a place in the shipping | 
department of the wholesale grocery house of the Sehon 1 
Stevenson Company. He was eventually advanced to th< ' 
post of shipping clerk, and after remaining two and our 
half years with this company he became shipping clerk foi 
the Loar-Berry Company, likewise engaged in the wholesali 
grocery trade at Huntington. He gained comprehensivt 
knowledge of the various details of the business and in May < 
1913, upon the reorganization of the Loar-Berry Companj 
under the title of the Huntington Wholesale Grocery Com | 
pany Mr. Adams became buyer and sales manager for the i 
new corporation. In 1914 he became vice president of thf 
company, of which office he has since remained the incum- 
bent, the offices and warehouse of the company being estab- 
lished at the corner of Eleventh Street and Second Avenue. 
F. C. Pritchard is president of this vital and progressive 
corporation, and H. S. Ivie is its secretary and treasurer. 
The concern has the most modern equipment and facilities 
and is one of the important commercial corporations cor 
tributing to the prestige of Huntington. 

Mr. Adams is aligned loyally in the ranks of the demo 
cratic party, he and his wife are zealous members of the 
Baptist Church and he is specially active in tlie work of 
its Sunday school. His Masonic affiliations are with Hunt- 
ington Lodge No. 53, A. F. and A. M. ; Huntington Chapter 
No. 6, R. A. M., and the local Masonic Club. He is a mem- 
ber of the Knights of Pythias and also of its club in his 
home city. 

At Richmond, Virginia, in 1907, Mr. Adams wedded Miss 
Florean Forbean, who was born at Bristol, Tennessee, and 
whose death occurred in 1911, the one surviving child of this 
union being a son, Hamilton Joe, born October 20, 1911. 
In November, 1912, at Ashland, Kentucky, was solemnized 
the marriage of Mr. Adams and Mrs. Emma (Matthews) 
Wilson, daughter of John W. and Delia Matthews. Mr. 
Matthews was a contractor and builder at Huntington at 
the time of his death, and his widow resides in the home 
of her daughter, Mrs. Adams. Mr. and Mrs. Adams have 
two children: Mary Jane, born in December, 1914, and 
Patsy Leona, born in August, 1916. 

William Jefferson Harvie is secretary, treasurer and 
general manager of the Miller Supply Company, one of the 
largest and most important jobbing concerns engaged in 
distributing mining, mill and contractors ' supplies in the 
coal districts of West Virginia, Virginia, Kentucky and 
Southern Ohio, with offices and warehouse at 742 Third 
Avenue in the City of Huntington. He is one of the repre- 
sentative business men of this vital city, and of the com- 
pany with which he is identified adequate mention is made 
on other pages, in the personal sketch of its president, J. 
Craig Miller. 

Mr. Harvie was born in Amelia County, Virginia, No- 
vember 16, 1875, and is a scion of a family that was 
founded in that historic commonwealth in the Colonial 
period of our national history. His grandfather, Lewis E. I 
Harvie, passed his entire life in Virginia, was the owner of * 
a large and valuable plantation in Amelia County, was ' 
influential in public affairs as a stalwart supporter of the ' 
cause of the democratic party, and was president of the old 
Richmond & Danville (now the Southern) Railroad. He 
married Sarah Blair, and both died in Amelia County, when 
well advanced in years. The lineage of the Harvie family 
traces back to stanch English origin. 

Maj. William O. Harvie, father of the subject of this 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



eiiin, was born in Amelia County, Virginia, in 1839, and 

•ihere his death oci-urred in October, 1921. He passed his 

Kntire life in his native county, was one of its extensive 

' I'iers and agriculturists, was a democrat of unwaver- 

:iJty, held various public oflSces of local order, served 

liout the Civil war as a gallant soldier of the Con- 

• oy, with the rank of major, and was a zealous mem- 

the Presbyterian Church, as is also his widow, who 

-ides on the old homestead farm. Her maiden name 

ima Jefferson, and her birth occurred in the State of 

.na, in 1843. Of their children the firstborn. Mar- 

. lecanie the wife of John J. Allen, and both died in 

Amelia County, she having jiassed away at the age of 

forty-eight years; Lewis E. resides in Amelia County and 

18 cashier of the Virginia-Carolina Chemical Company of 

Kichmond, Virginia; Lclia is the wife of Samuel J. Bar- 

lett, a member of the faculty of Carnegie Institute in the 

3ity of Washington. 1). C; William J., of this sketch, was 

aext in order of birth ; Wostmore Oordou resides in his 

iiative county and is a member of the insurance firm of 

llefferson & Harvie; Armistead Taylor is actively identified 

Ivith the real estate business in the City of Bichmond. Vir- 

l^inia; and Miss Otelia C remains with her widowed mother 

bn the old homestead. 

' After attending the rural schools of his native county 
IWilliam J. Ilarvie entered Smithdeal Business College in 
Ithe City of Richmond, and in the same he was graduateii 
lin 189". Thereafter he was identified with the insurance 
lliusiness in that city until 1900, in December of which year 
jhe came to Huntington, West Virginia, and allied himself 
kith the Miller Supply Company, of which he liecame 
la director in the following year, and of which he is now 
}^ecretary and treasurer, as well as general manager. He is 
[secretary and treasurer of the Kentucky-Klkhorn By-Prod- 
kicts Coal Company of Dorton, Kentucky; is serrotary and 
[treasurer of the Sharlow Gas Coal Comjiany of Huntington, 
Iwhich operates mines at Sharlow, Boone County; is secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Maxine Coal Company of Hunt- 
ington, which operates mines at Maxine, Boone County; is 
treasurer of the Bull Creek Mining Comjiany of Charleston, 
with mines at Javins, Boone County; and as a member of 
the Board of Directors of the Huntington National Bank 
he is serving on its executive committee. He is a member 
of the Citizens Board of Huntington, is a democrat in 
politics, is a deacon and president of the official board of the 
First Presbyterian Church of Huntington, is a valued mem- 
ber of the Huntington Chamber of Commerce, and holds 
membership in the Guy an Country Club, the Guyan- 
dotte Club, and Huntington Council No. 53, United Com- 
mercial Travelers. He owns and occupies one of the 
attractive and modern residences of the city, the same being 
at 818 Thirteenth Avenue. As a member of the Richmond 
Light Infantry Blues, a continuous military organization 
since 1793, Mr. Harvie entered the nation's military service 
in the Spanish-American war. 

At Charleston, this state, on the 30th of July, 1921, Mr. 
Harvie was united in marriage to Mrs. Julia Lewis (deGruy- 
ter) Anderson, whose parents, Mr. and Mrs. J. A. dcGruytcr, 
reside in that city, where her father is serWng, in 1922, as 
postmaster. By her former marriage Mrs. Harvie has one 
son, Lane Anderson, Jr., who was born February 6, 1918. 

Russell E. BAKNHiRT, district freight agent for the 
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad, with residence and official head- 
quarters in the City of Huntington, is a native of the old 
Buckeye State and a scion of one of its honored pioneer 
families. The original American progenitors of the Barn- 
hart family came from Holland and settled in Pennsyl- 
vania in the Colonial period of our national history. Wil- 
liam Barnhart, great-great-grandfather of the sub.ject of 
this review, made his way down the Ohio River to Cincin- 
nati, Ohio, in the year 1811. became a pioneer in real estate 
operations in that section of the state and erected some of 
the first brick buildings in Cincinnati. Daniel W. Barnhart, 
grandfather of Russell E. of this review, was born in Cin- 
cinnati in the year 1S16, was there reared to manhood and 
there became a manufacturer of pianos. About 1850 be 
removed to Dayton, Ohio, where he conducted a music store 



about ten years. He was thereafter engaged in the ume 
business at Tiffin, that state, and finally he removed to 
Kokomo, Indiana, where his .lenth occurr«d in lH9>t. He 
served as a gallant soldier of the Union in the Civil war 
as a member of an Ohio regiment, lli.i wife, whusv maiden 
name was Anna Gabriel, «n» b..rri nt Covington, Kentucky 
and died at Tiffin, Ohio. Their son Kugene G. wai born at 
Dayton, Ohio, I)ec.int)cr M, IS.-i."., and <lied nt Tiffin, that 
state, December 3, 1917. He was reared an i . !u. .t..| nt 
Tiffin, and there he pnnseil virtually hi« . |(e 

wa.s long in the service of the t'hii-iigo, i n 

nati & St. Louis Iiailrua<l, and wai nt . • il 

agent for the C. S. & C. and the Cincim, ,] 

roads. He was a stalwart republican, waf ■ !,.• 

Knights of Pythias and the Junior Ord.r i m 

Mechanics, and was a communicant of tli.' I -m 

Church, as is al.so his widow, who !.till r !,ii. 

where she was born in December, l.s.'i.".. II' .ine 

was Laura J. Schinness. Of their childn.ii the eMent, 
Kdward W., is manager of the f)hio Jewelry Comi.anr nt 
Tifiin; Mabel .\. is the wife of .\mandus Kroii.*., „( Ti'ffln; 
Russell E., subject of this skeU-h, was neit in onli-r iif 
birth; and Je.s.se A., who was born in 18H0, ilied in 1894. 

Russell E. Barnhart was born at Tiffin, Ohio, .\|.ril 8, 
1879, and after there continuing his studies in th.- public 
schools until his graduation in the high school in I HUG, be 
took a special scientific course of three years in lleidellx'rg 
University at Tiffin. In 1899 he entered the employ of the 
Chicago, Cleveland, Cincinnati & St. Louis (Big Four) 
Railroad Company at Tiffin, where he won advancement to 
the position of chief clerk. In June, 1903, he entered the 
service of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company at North 
Baltimore, where he served eleven months as chief clerk. 
In July, 1904, he became chief clerk and cashier for the 
same road at Dvshler, Ohio; in May. 190C, he was made 
joint agent for the Baltimore & Ohio and the Detroit, 
Toledo & Ironton railroads for the Pacific and the Nntion.il 
Express companies at Hamler, Ohio; in 1907 he was made 
freight and ticket agent for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 
at Walkerton, Indiana, and in September of the same year 
was promoted to a similar position at Huntington, Went 
Virginia. In 1911 the functions of yardinaster at this |>oint 
likewise were assigned to him; in April, 1917, he was 
ajipointed commercial freight agent for the company at 
Huntington; and in July, 1918. he was appointed to his 
jiresent office, that of district freight agent, his offices tx-lng 
established at 400-401 First National B.ink Buihling, and 
his district covering the territory from Point Pleasant to 
Kanova, this state. He is a director of the McGuire Medi- 
cine Comjiany of Huntington, is a republican in [xilitiral 
allegiance, and he and his wife are members of the First 
Presbyterian Church in their home city. Mr. Barnhart is 
the owner of valuable real estate in this city, including his 
attractive home property at 606 Thirteenth Avenue. He is 
a member of the local Rotary Club, his basic Mawmic 
affiliation is with Sycamore Lodge No. 620, A. F. and A. M.. 
and in the Scottish Rite of the time-honored fraternity he 
is affiliated with Huntington Lodge of Perfection No. 4. He 
was a vital factor in local patriotic activities in connection 
with the World war, served on various committees that had 
direction of drives in support of Government war loan. Red 
Cross work, etc., and made his personal contributions a.^ 
large as his financial resources permitted. 

At Paulding, Ohio, on the 7th of January, 1906. was 
solemnized the marriage of Mr. Barnhart and Mi.ts .Mary 

.T. Collins, whose mother, Josephine, by a f nl n .r-iitf.' 

is now the wife of J. H. Long, an exten- ir 

Ashtabula, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Barnhart <r 

ents of five children, of whom the first twn "<• 

and Virginia Bloom, died in early infan.y, ii'l tl.' iKir.l. 
Evelvn Louise, at the age of eighteen months. The tw. 
surviving children are: Margaret, born June 26, 19r.': ar.i 
Richard Carlisle, bom June 6, 1914. 

Raymond H. Williams, of Huntington, is resident man 
ager of the Hercules Powder Comrany .-.nd U one of the 
progressive business men of this city. He «r.. br.rn in the 
Citv of Baltimore. M.nryland. December 4. l""*!. a son of 



34 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Jacob F. Williams ;in.l Anna (iiirlaii.l (Gm'u) Williams, 
lioth of whoiii wcic^ liiini in I'.altiiiiore and lived tlion'. 
during their lifrtiinc The parc'iils iif Mr. Williams are 
iluceased. 

The lineage ol' ilr. Willianis on the jiatei-nal side traces 
hack to Welsh origin, and the original representatives came 
from Wales and settled in New England in the Colonial 
period of our national history. On the maternal side his 
lineage traces back to Scotch origin, the original represeuta 
tives having come from Scotland and settled in Virginia in 
early Colonial days. , 

The public schools of Baltimore afforded Raymond H. 
Williams his preliminary education, which was supplemented 
Ijy his attending the Baltimore City College two years and 
also the Maryland In.stitute of Art and Design, in which he 
attended the night sessions and was graduated in mechanical 
drawing as a member of the class of 1908. In the mean- 
while, at the age of seventeen years, he entered the employ 
(if a Baltimore firm of consulting engineers, with whom he 
remained from 1901 to 1903, after which he was in service 
with the engineering corps of the Western Maryland Rail- 
way Company until August, 1904, when he was appointed 
assistant engineer in connection with the topographical 
survey of Baltimore, a service in which he continued until 
February, 1906. Prom that date until April, 1917, he was 
assistant engineer with the Baltimore Sewerage Commis- 
sion, and he then engaged in the engineering and general 
contracting business in an independent way, with offices in 
his native city. From April 1917, to July, 1921, he was a 
salesman for the Hercules Powder Company in Southern 
and Eastern Ohio, with headquarters in the City of Co- 
lumbus. He was then advanced to his present office, that of 
resident manager for this great corporation at Huntington, 
West Virginia, where he maintains his offices in the Amer- 
ican Bank Building, his assigned territorial jurisdiction 
loveiing Southern West Virginia and a part of the State of 
Kentucky. 

Mr. Williams is loyally aligned in the ranks of the demo- 
cratic party, and he and his wife are communicants of the 
Protestant Episcopal Church. In the Masonic fraternity 
his basic affiliation is with Goodale Lodge No. 372, A. F. 
and A. M., at Columbus, Ohio, where also he has received 
the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite in Scioto 
Consistory, and is a member also of Aladdin Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine. 

At York, Pennsylvania, in October, 1915, Mr. Williams 
wedded Miss Edna Marie Heinekamp, daughter of the late 
William and Laura V. (Riddlemoser) Heinekamji. her 
father having been a member of the firm of William Heine- 
kamp & Sons, piano manufacturers in the City of Baltimore, 
.1 concern founded by his father, William Heinekamp. Sr. 
Mrs. Williams is a graduate of the art school of the Mary- 
land Institute at Baltimore. Mr. and Mrs. Williams have 
two children: Raymond Hartman II, born July 11, 1910 
and Virginia Garland, born September 16, 1919. 

Francis Guy Ash, prominently connected with real estate, 
insurance and other business organizations at Morgantown, 
is a native of Tennessee, but represents two West Virginia 
families that have been in the state for four generations. 
Mr. Ash has an interesting record of service as a military 
man, beginning with the National Guard of West Virginia 
before the World war and continuing throughout the period 
of those hostilities. 

In the paternal line the founder of the family in Dod- 
dridge County, West Virginia, was Jacob Ash, who acquired 
nearly twenty thousand acres of government land compris- 
ing a large portion of the northern edge of Doddridge 
County, the eastern part of Tyler County and the south- 
eastern part of Wetzel County. His son, William Ash, was 
born in Doddridge County and married Nancy Swiger, also 
a native of that county. The father of Francis Guy Ash 
was the late Benton Ash, who was born at Ashley, a town 
named for the family in Doddridge County, January 26, 
1866. He was educated in an Ohio college, being trained 
for the civil engineering profession, and was county sur- 
veyor of Doddridge County, with home at West Union. In 



1891 his professional services as an engineer on railroai 
construction took him into Eastern Tennessee, and he diei 
at Elizabethton in I'artcr County of that state June 22 
1S94. 

The mother of Francis Guy Ash was Hattie Virginia 
Jeffery, who was born at West Union, Doddridge County 
October 18, 1872, daughter of Elias and Mary F. (Hick 
man) JeiTery and granddaughter of Neely D. and Deli;i 
Ann (Davis) Jeffery. Delia Ann Davis was a daughter ot 
Rhuhama Randolph, of the famous Virginia Randoljilis. 
After the death of Benton Ash his wife returned with hei 
family to her old home at Ashley, West Virginia, and later 
removed to Morgantown. 

Francis Guy Ash was born at Elizabethton, Tennessee. 
November Hi, 1893, but spent his boyhood in D'oddridu. 
County. He was educated in the public schools, graduate.! 
from West Union High School in 1912, and in the fall ul 
that year located at Morgantown and enrolled in the uni- 
versity, being a student therein for two years. After leav 
ing the university he had some good business training ann 
experience in the office of Judge George C. Sturgiss. He 
then joined the real estate and insurance organization of 
Howard L. Swisher. At the same time he performed some 
duties in the office of Mr. Cassius MeCarl Lemley, tin 
geologist of the Baltimore & Ohio Railway. 

Mr. Ash was commissioned a second lieutenant in the 
West Virginia National Guard May 1, 1916, and promoted 
to first lieutenant June 1, of that year. On March 28, 
West Virginia National Guard was called for duty in the 
war with Germany. They mobolized at Camp Gornwell, 
Fairmont, where he "as mustered into the Federal service 
as first lieutenant of Company L, First West Virginia Regi 
ment of Infantry. April 12, 1917, his company was vr- 
dered for guard duty at the Pittsburg Storage and Supjily 
Depot in the Quartermaster's Department, and remained 
there until July 22, 1917, when it returned to Camp Corn- 
well and on September 14th was ordered to Camp Shelby, 
Mississippi. At Camp Shelby Lieutenant Ash entered the 
' ' one pound platoon ' ' of Headquarters Company, 150th 
Infantry. March 28 1918, he was ordered to the Infantry 
School of Arms at Fort Sill, Oklahoma, where he remained 
in intensive training until September 4, 1918, and then 
rejoined his outfit, taking command of Headquarters Com- 
pany. On Friday, September 13, 1918, he left Camp Shell.y 
with his company for Camp Mills, Long Island, and soon 
afterward the regiment embarked and sailed for France, 
October 2d. On the day of sailing Lieutenant Ash entered 
the camp hospital a victim of appendicitis, and when he 
received his discharge from the hospital at Camp Mills, 
November 14th, the war had been ended three days by the 
signing of the armistice. On leaving the hospital Lieutenant 
Ash was ordered to Camp Merritt, New Jersey, where he 
was a casual officer in charge of retiurning wounded soldiers 
until January 26, 1919. He was discharged at Camp Lee, 
Virginia, January 28, 1919, and then accepted a captain's 
commission in the Reserves. 

On returning to Morgantown Captain Ash resumed his 
business relations with the H. L. Swisher Company, in real 
estate and insurance, and is also secretary of the Morgan- 
town Building Association, secretary of the Labor Building 
& Loan Association, and is treasurer of the Peerless Smoke- 
less Smithing Coal Company. Captain Ash was secretary 
of the Morgantown Business Men's Association until it 
was converted into the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce, 
and continued his duties as secretary until his successor 
was elected. He is now a member of the executive board 
of the Chamber. He is secretary and treasurer of the Mor- 
gantown Real Estate Board. Captain Ash is popular in 
both business and social circles, a member of Friendship 
Lodge No. 56, Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons, at 
West Union, Morgantown Chapter No. 30, Royal Arch 
Masons, Morgantown Lodge of Perfection No. 6 of the Scot- 
tish Kite and the Shrine, and of Morgantown Lodge No. 
411, Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, and Athens Lodge 
No. 36, Knights of Pythias. He is a member of the 
Kiwanis Club and Commander of Monongahela Post No. 2 
of the American Legion. 



i 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



35 



Otbo Clabence Huffman. Mr. Huffman's approach to 
. lartror responsibUities of industrial management was 
Lsh the clorical profession of stenographer ami hook- 
Zr increasing to a speciaJized service m behalf of the 
Zli companies who employed him and broadenn.K' out 
to ?he sales and executive departments For ^ome years 
.» Ko hav been concral superintendent for the W. fc. 
lans- Coa Inte^sts. reprinting some of the largest 
S^'^ and operations in the coal fields of West \ irgima. 
i home and business headquarters are in Huntington 
Mr Huffman vvas born at Harrisonburg in Rockingham 
»„niv V rginia, April 26, 1881. His grandfather was a 
t"ve of Holland, born in 179.5, and on coming to this 
mntrv 'ettlod in Kockingham County. ^ "S'>".». «»'"e he 
"ame a prosperous farmer. He died near Br.dgewa^r in 
wHta^e in 1887. John S. Huffman father of the Hunt- 
glon coal operator, was bom at Bri.igewater, R"f -"gh^"' 
K in 18r,.5, was reared and married in that count} 
^ v; 1,:= morriipe lived near Harrisonburg, where he 
nd after h.s ma^'ase "^^ ign he retired from the farm 
„„d«cted a ^.;k; f--^ ° 1^/ „?: l,„r,U- until his death 
"'Marl l^io' He wa's a d'emocrat, held the office of 

?3"Sl^^rn::"^:.^rii:^:!:::^s- ^^^ 

he Cntcdcrate army. •'«""''• ,,r:,i„ewatpr in IHCO, and 

x^rg^^'t^^ vni^g^^"-v^^^, T^'t:::^ 

a^rt^'^i:e^^B^:^.5?.«y-^ 
•^O^hrC^reZ 'H^u^.m-an^^-e-nf hl^I^lTufron 

iSvtL=^sX^nr^Xg:7;s;:^j5 
'^-^'r^^\^?8^^t'?r'f^i'::^is^sf;^:n^- 

^ rfori^e^^.^r^i^^a:n!;^|oi:^^S 

. ' h eh he remained until 1905. ^orfhe, following two 

,. was bookkeeper for Lewis Hubbard & Company, 

-a e grocers at C^harlest^n. and in 1907_ bec^""*-,^""^- 

teper and assistant treasurer of the Super.or-Pocahontas 

^^Company at Davy. In 1909 he ;-j;--f L*o\eTe"ss 

^^::!:t:i;idrmir!:fp!rarK^^^^ 

S'roTrmately'one and a half -"'-" ^-^.''^.h^'S" "a 
coal Mr. Huffman is also vice president of the Marieiia 
COai Company of Pinsonfork, Kentucky. McDowell 

In poll ics he is a republican, is a member of McDowell 
Lodge\'o. 112, F. and A. M Sewell Chapter. R. ^^M at 
Thnrman Bluefield Commandcry No. 19, K. 1., ^^?f'^ *.",. 
3.ia Co",;su{^ry No. 1 of tl-thirtysecond degree Scottj^h 
Rite at Wheeling, and Beni-Kedem Temple of the -MTSW 
limine aT Charlf^ton. Mr. Huffman has a modem home 
at 1036 Tenth Street in Huntington. . -Rortha 

At Washington, D. C. in 1912, he marned Miss Bertha 

E. WhitseU, daughter of George and ^}^^'f'\\J,^!^'^^i 
•now deceased. Her father ^as a building contractor and 
• sawmill operator and owner. The two children of Mr. ana 

Mrs. Huffman are: Clarence, born March 4, 191^, ana 

■"-rjaret Anne, born March 12, 191o. 

EDERICK O Blue. The example of a lawyer who makes 

,u. pi^^fess'on a direct source of benefit to the pubbc is the 



caso of Frederick O. Blue of Charleston, recoKniw.l a» on.- 

of West Virginia's forceful public men. H"ii 

he was a member of the Slate Senate, hn» - 

tax commissioner, and i.i exiM-cially well k' 

aggre.s,sivo fight ho made in enforcing the laws r.-latrnj; t.. 

taxation and public accounting and the utotc probibitiun 

laws. 

Frederick Omar Blue was born at Grafton. '' 
November 2o, 1S72, son of George Frr.l. 
Martha (See) Blue. He wa-t educated in ' 
school and under private tutors, and ■■ 
bar at the age of twenty one. He l>eg:. 
in 1893 and I'hilippi remained his li' 
he removed to Charleston. During the l:.-t • 
he practiced law with Arthur S. Dayton, li- 
as well as a lawver. Mr. Blue is now a n 
firm Blue & .McCabe at Charleston, and is a .lir-t-r "i U'' 
Kanawha National Bank and the George Wanhington Life 
Insurance Company. ,,, , . ,„,., • 

His term in the State Senate ran from 1900 to 1910 and 
he repres<-nted the Thirteenth Di-strict, en.branng the 
counties of Upshur, Randolph and Pendletnn. J rnm 1911 to 
1917 he was state tax commissioner of West \ irg.nm an. 
on the expiration of his time in this state office he .•nt.rH 
private practice at Charleston. January 1. 19H. Mr uc 
served as a member of the West \ irginia Mining Strike 
Commission in 1912 13. His service "", '{"•^/""'""""'""i 
of prohibition was during the years 191417. Aft.r he 
state prohibition law was i.a.ssed he had charge "f the 1. gal 
and administrative forces endeavoring to execute hat h » 
Especially noteworthy was the litigation '""'•"f »«•*', ''>,""■ 
under the Webb-KenVon Federal Law aijamst the d s il r. 
and express companies for the [.urpose of prohibiting inter^ 
ttate sh pment of liquors into West Virginia. He carrie.1 
?hts con tesi ?o the United States Circuit Court and finally 
^ the Supreme Court at Washington, where .<•«<;"• 
favorable decision. He has written »" '" "-' .\^-h " ^ 
book based upon his experiences under the title Whm a 

'^'^{?X'^a'.^usli:?";:^'BS«s Conege at Philip,.. 
He i^' a member of the National Tax Association the Amcr- 

the ChSon Baptist Church (Baptist Temple), one of the 

^:Srirife'r'm^r9.;Mar'"a--.- 
I'hilippi. They have one son. William Blu. 

F.KEET K VoVSfi, who is one of the r nt f'-litj."''' '" 

"tr"YoCg%"gra^.K^hr-was Isaac Young, who was born 
in^b^rC^nt^. Ohi^ in 1^*3, ^^^^^y-^::^t 
^!^'ttirhlt?^.n(89r J mailed L 



lived -^'^^,f?^-?,":^„ :^^ di;;; in Lincoln County. 
-|^-nk^>^1:^^/^h|\fOie^unUngtonh^^ 

-^;^9?tt^:^^SdhJ^;--^ 

West Virginia. He continued [■""']''« }j;^l'- "„" ;. „ ,,.mo 



West Virginia. He '^»""""^?, ■'"""Toean He i- « d.mo 

has been a carpenter and builder at Logan. .^ 

crat and a very active "''■'f'<''°''ll. 

Frank M. Young marru^d Arbt^la Sown ^^^ 

in Lawrence County, Ohio, in 1969^ |' ,„„, 

of the following chiMren : ^''^'.-^'^^^ 

a miner at Logan; Ehira. ■"''f'' "/, ^-^^ oil 

in Lincoln County: Florence, wif. ... ^„., 

well driller at Coalinga, Californ .. y.^^ 

Brumfield. an oil well dr.Uer m I „„ 

einia; Maude, whose husband. .1^ ,.,.., ..who 

hX^^e^rrro^S":^ l:i- co-^^Connt.; Egbert K.; 



36 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Okey and Orie^ both miners at Logan ; and Nauna, the tenth 
and youngest of the family, wife of E. L. Pontier, a travel- 
ing salesman living at Baltimore. 

Egbert E. Young was born in Lawrence County, Ohio, 
January 3, ]883, and was about eleven years of age when 
the family moved to West Virginia. He finished his rural 
school education in Lincoln County, spent two years in 
Marshall College at Huntington, and in 1909 graduated 
from the law department of West Virginia University. He 
was admitted to the bar the same year, and after practicing 
two years in Logan County returned to his home community 
in Lincoln County and for eight years was prosecuting attor- 
ney of that county. He also held other local offices in Lin- 
coln County, and enjoyed a very successful practice there 
until 1921, when he moved to Huntington. He is a member 
of the firm Baugherty & Young, with offices at 914y2 Fourth 
Avenue. 

Mr. Young is a democrat, and was elected to office on that 
ticket. He is a member of the Church of Christy is a past 
master of Hamlin Lodge No. 179, A. F. and A. M., at 
Hamlin, West Virginia, is a past chancellor of Mountain 
Diamond Lodge No. 179, Knights of Pythias, and belongs 
to the Bar Association of Cabell, Lincoln and Logan coun- 
ties. Among other interests Mr. Y'oung owns farm land 
in Lewis County, Kentucky, and has a modern home at 
1016 Sixth Street in Huntington. As prosecuting attorney 
and also as private citizen he was foremost in promoting the 
cause of the Government at the time of the World war. 
He served as Government appeal agent for Lincoln County, 
was chairman of the Red Cross and several other drives. 

In 1917, in Lincoln County, he married Miss lone Gallo- 
way, daughter of Sherman T. and Myrtie (Runyan) Gal- 
loway, residents of Quincy, Kentucky. Her father is a 
farmer. The two children of Mr. and Mrs. Young are: 
Charles Egbert, born December 12, 1919, and James Doug- 
lass, born May 30, 1921. 

Reuben S. Prindle. From the time he finished his uni- 
versity education more than thirty years ago, Mr. Prindle 
has been actively associated with the mercantile and other 
business interests of Huntington. He has been in this city 
during its greatest period of growth, and his work has 
undoubtedly impressed it.self for good on the welfare and 
progress of the community. 

Mr. Prindle was born at Lancaster, Ohio July 8, 1863. 
The Prindle family is of Scotch origin, and was established 
in Connecticut in Colonial times. His grandfather, William 
Prindle, was born at Hornellsville New York, in 1795, and 
was an early settler and farmer near Lancaster, Ohio, where 
he lived until his death, in 1882. He married Elizabeth 
Beecher, a native of Connecticutj who died near Lancaster. 
She was a second cousin of the famous preacher, Henry 
Ward Beecher. Myron Beecher Prindle, father of the 
Huntington business man, was born at Canisteo New York, 
in 183-1. He was reared there, went to Lancaster, Ohio, 
when a young man, married and settled down on a farm. In 
1893 he came to Charleston, West Virginia, and thougli now 
well on toward ninety years of age he is still interested in 
the general merchandise and furniture business there. He is 
a republican and a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. Myron Beecher Prindle married Delia Shellen- 
barger, who was born at Lancaster, and died there in 1881. 
Elizabeth, the oldest of his children, is the wife of Frank 
Claypool, a farmer near Lancaster; Alice, is the wife of 
David A. Alspaugh, a merchant of Huntington; Reuben S. 
is the third in age; William is in business at Huntington; 
and Myron B. is associated with his brother Reuben. 

Reuben S. Prindle acquired a public school education at 
Lancaster, graduating from high school in 1884. Following 
that he was for three years a student in the Ohio Wesleyan 
University of Delaware, and finished his scholastic career 
in Otterbein University at Westerville, Ohio, where he 
graduated in 1888. Soon after graduation he came to 
Huntington, became a general merchant, and has been in 
that line of business ever since. He also conducts a storage 
warehouse, the offices and warehouse being located at 911 
Second Avenue, and for a number of years he has done a 
large business in the buying, selling and development of 



real estate. Besides his office and warehouse building ip 
owns six other business buildings in Huntington, d 
twenty-three residences in the city, including his moon 
home at 547 Adams Avenue. 

Mr. Prindle is a republican, is a steward in the Methoit 
Episcopal Church, North, a member of Huntington Lo;e 
No. 313, B. P. 0. E., and in the line of public service is 
a member of the city council six years and on the sebl 
board four years. 

At Paris, Kentucky, in 1888, Mr. Prindle married lis 
Jennie Carpenter, daughter of Squire John J. and Lja 
(Hoy) Carpenter, now decea.sed. Her father was a far t 
near Lancaster, Ohio. Mrs. Prindle. who died at Hunting u 
in 1910, is survived by one child, Elizabeth, born SeptemT 
1, 1909. In 1914 Mr. Prindle married Gertrude Callih, 
daughter of Daniel and Sallie (Willis) Callihan. h li 
natives of Kentucky. 

John Thomas Harris. His uninterrupted sei-vice si e 
189.5 as clerk of the Senate of West Virginia makes e 
name of John T. Harris probably as well known as tst 
of any public official of the state in the present generatii. 

Mr. Harris was born in the Village of Harrisville, 1;- 
chic County, Virginia (now in West Virginia), April f, 
18.51. He reached manhood with a liberal educatii. 
though he first attended the subscription schools of e 
day. later the public schools of Washington, Pennsylvaii, 
and during the year before the consolidation of Washi;- 
ton College with JetTersou College he was for a short tie 
a student in the preparatory department of the fom-. 
In 1870 he entered West Virginia University at Morgi- 
town, graduated Bachelor of Science with the class f 
1873, and a few years later was honored with the Masi 
of Science degree. In the meantime, as a boy he Id 
learned printing in an old time country printing off;. 
Following his college career he spent several years n 
newspaper work. In 1877 he went West, and was c - 
nected with railway service from 1878 to 1883 at Peoa 
and Detroit, in general office work and as private secretiv 
to superintendents and general managers. He held si 
similar position with one of the lake lines in 1884 al 
the early part of 1885. Then, returning to his old hoe 
in West Virginia, Mr. Harris took up the profession f 
n shorthand law reporter. In 1887 he established himsf 
in the City of Parkersburg, where he followed this wiit 
for more than twenty-five years. In that capacity he - 
ported in Federal and State Courts, in some of the heavit 
cases ever tried in the state. 

January 8, 1895, Mr. Harris received the repnbliu 
caucus nomination for clerk of the Senate of West V- 
ginia. At the organization of that body on the followij; 
day he was duly elected, and since then he has been • 
elected thirteen times. Beginning in 1901, at every bi- 
nial session up to and including that of 1921 he has - 
ceived the unanimous vote of the Senate, the democns 
seconding his nomination. For twenty-.sevcn years the - 
fore without a break he has filled the office of clerk t 
the Senate, and it is said that no other man in the XTnid 
States has to his credit so long a continuous service recti 
in a similar legislative position. 

Ex-officio in a sense, Mr. Harris has performed an i- 
portant routine of duty in related capacities, serving i 
secretary and official reporter of the Legislative Mine 1- 
ve.stigating Committee, of a committee raised by the Leg- 
l;iture to visit and report upon the public institutions f 
the state, and also of the Virginia Debt Commission. T.' 
work, however, by which he is widely known throughct 
the state is as compiler, editor and publisher of the Wd 
Virginia Legislative Hand Book and Manual and Offiel 
Register. He brought out the first Hand Book in 1916. 1 
was adopted in 1917 as an official publication of the Leg- 
lature, and has since then been issued yearly under li 
management and direction. Mr. Harris still keeps li 
home at Parkersburg. He is nfliliated with tlie P,cn('volc 
!ind Protective Order of Elks. 

Thomas E. Evans, secretary and treasurer uf the W(; 
Virginia Paving & Pressed Brick Ciinipany, which repi- 





</g^ 



{Z^f^-^/^-Cit^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



37 



aents one of the important industrial enterprises in the 
City of Huntington, was born at Clarksl)urg, Harrison 
OuntT, this state, on the 16th of February, 1893. He is 
a son" of Thomas Evans, who was born in the State of 
Pennsylvania, in 1859, and whuse death occurred at Hunt- 
inf^on. West Virginia, in 1911. 

Thomas Evans was a son of Thomas Evans, Sr., who 
was t)orn and reared in Pennsylvania, a representative of a 
familv of Welsh ancestry, that was there founded in an 
carlv'day, and he became a pioneer farmer in Harrison 
County. West Virginia, where he continued his residence 
until his death. 

Thomas Evans, Jr.. was a boy at the time of the family 
removal from Pennsylvania to Harrison County, where he 
was reared on the home farm and gained his youthful 
education in the schools of the period. His marriage was 
solemnized in Gilmer County, and there he was engaged in 
the Inlying and shipping of live stock for a few years. He 
then returned to Harrison County, where he became the 
owner of a large and well improved farm estate and en- 
gaged in the raising of and dealing in cattle and horses 
upon an extensive scale. In the autumn of 1902 Mr. Evans 
rame to Huntington, and here he became associated with 
(Jeorge F. Miller in establishing the West Virginia Pav- 
ing & Pressed Brick Company, of which he became the 
general manager and which under his able direction de- 
veloped a substantial and important industrial enterprise. 
He continued general manager of the business until his 
death. Mr. Evans was a republican in political adherency, 
was affiliated with Huntington Lodge No. 31.S, B. P. O. E., 
and was a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, at Huntington, as is also his widow, who still main- 
tains her home in this city. Mrs. Evans, whose maiden 
name was Virginia Dent, was born in Gilmer County in 
18.50. her father having been a representative farmer of 
that county. Dora Grace, eldest of the children, remains 
with her widowed mother in the pleasant home at Hunt- 
ington; Margaret May is the wife of Richard Murjjhy, of 
Cereal, Oklahoma, who is actively identified with opera- 
tions in the oil fields of that state; Dorsey T). is vice 
president and general manager of the West Virginia Pav- 
ing and Pressed Brick Company ; Florence remains at the 
maternal home; and Thomas E., of this sketch, is the 
youngest of the number. 

As a boy and youth Thomas E. Evans made excellent 
educational advancement under the direction of private 
tutors engaged by his father for such service at the family 
home, and thereafter he entered Marshall College at Hunt- 
ington, in which institution he was graduated as a mem- 
ber of the class of 1911, the year in which occurred the 
death of his honored father. At the age of fourteen 
years he had initiated his service in connection with the 
brick company of which his father was the general man- 
ager, and the experience which he had gained in the 
practical details of the business proved of great value to 
him when, in 1913, he was made secretary and treasurer of 
the company, of which dual oflBce he has since continued 
the efficient incumbent. The company is incorporated 
under the laws of West Virginia, and Charles M. Gohen 
'i its president, the names of the other two executive 
officers having already been noted in this context. The 
offices and yards are situated at the corner of Sixteenth 
Street and Fourteenth Avenue, and the extensive plant has 
a capacity for the production of 75,000 brick daily, the 
concern being now one of the largest of its kind in the state 
and its business being of most substantial order. 

Mr. Evans holds the principles of the republican party as 
worthy of his unqualified support, he is a member of the 
Gnyan Country Club, and is affiliated with Huntington 
lodge No. 313, B. P. O. E. 

At Hot Springs, Virginia, on the 8th of February, 1913, 
was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Evans and Miss Ida 
McCUntic, a daughter of Jacob McClintic, a retired stock 
dealer residing at Hot Springs, his wife being deceased. 
Mrs. Evans is a graduate of Lewisburg Seminary at 
Lewisburg, Greenbrier County, West Virginia. Mr. and 

Mrs. Evans have no children. 



CLAtms GiLBEBT LKMASTtiRS conduct* • repreacntative 
business as a eertified public accountant in the lity of 
Huntington, where he is president of C. G. LoMasters ft 
Company, of which his only son, Earle H., is secretary and 
treasurer, the offices of the concern being establi.thed in 
suite 915-916 First National Bank Building, besides which 
offices are maintained also at S.'SS Mun.sev Building in the 
City of Washington, D. C. 

Mr. LeMasters was born at Brownsville, Oregon, March 
6, 1876, and is the only child of William F. and Lucinda 
(Simons) LeMasters, the former of whom was born at 
Frankfort, Kentucky, in 1840, and the hitter of whom was 
born at Knoxville, Illinois, August 16, 1850. William F. 
LeMasters gained his early education in the schools of bis 
native city, and was a lad of about twelve years when be 
accompanied his parents across the plains to Oregon, in 
1852, the long and perilous journey baring been made 
with wagon and ox team and he having ri>de a norne and 
driven a small herd of cattle on this eventful pioneer trip. 
The family home was established at Brownsville, Oregon, 
where he was reared to manhood and where eventually he 
became a representative merchant, as a dealer in boots and 
shoes. He was a democrat in politics, and both he and 
his wife were most earnest and active members of the 
Christian Church. Their marriage was solemnized at 
Brownsville, and both were residents of Oregon until their 
deaths, William F. LeMasters having pa.ssed the closing 
years of his life at Salem, that state, where he died in 1912. 
He served as a member of an Oregon regiment in the Civil 
war. 

In the public schools of Oregon Claude 0. LeMasters 
continued his studies until his graduation in the high school 
at Amity in 1895. For a year thereafter he was a stu- 
dent at Mineral Springs .\eadeniy at Sodaville, that state, 
and he then completed the work of the junior year in the 
L^niversity of Oregon, at Eugene. He next passed two 
years as a student in the Eugene Bible University, in 
preparation for the ministry of the Christian Church. In 
1901 he became pastor of churches of this denomination 
at Corvallis and Dallas, Oregon, and he continued his 
ministerial service until 1904. when he made a radical 
change of vocation and became a telegraph operator on the 
Sacramento (California) division of the Southern Pacific 
Railroad. Two years later he was promoted to the position 
of cashier and chief clerk for the same company at Reiio. 
Nevada, and after thus serving two years he was for six 
months paving teller of the Farmers & Merchants National 
Bank of Eeno. He then effected the organization oT the 
Carson Valley Bank, at Carson City, that state, and of 
this institution he served as cashier until 1911. During the 
ensuing vear he was cashier of the Richmond National 
Bank and of the Richmond Savings Bank, allied institu- 
tions, at Richmond. California. He then purchased the 
plant and business of a weekly newspaper at Amity. Oregon, 
and he continued as editor and publisher of this paper 
until 1918. in March of which year he went to the City 
of Washington, D. C, where for one year he held the post 
of chief auditor of the coal section of the excess profits 
tax division. In March, 1919, he removed to the City of 
Chicago and engaged in the public accounting bu.sinew, 
as a member of the firm of Crawford & LeMasters, in 
which his associate was P. L. Crawford. He remained thus 
engaged in the great metropolU at the foot of Lake Michi- 
gan until November. 1920, when he established his present 
business as a certified public accountant m the City of 
Huntington. • • i 

Mr LeMasters is a staunch advocate of the principles 
of the republican party, and he and his wife are active 
members of the Christian Church in their home c'tT- *» 
Turner, Oregon, he still maintains affiliation with Pearl 
Lodge No. 66, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma^ns^ •"<• 
he is a member also of Huntington Lodge No. 313, Benev- 
olent and Protective Order of Elks. He is a n-cmber of 
the Guvandotte Onb of Huntington and is an ««^? '"?°: 
ber of' the National Association of Certified Fnblic Ac 

'Tt*lmity, Oregon, in June, 1898, was solemnised the 



38 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



marriage of Mr. LeMasters and Miss Myrtle Hamilton, a 
daughter of James K. and Sadie E. (Towner) Hamilton, 
both now deceased, Mr. Hamilton having been a successful 
farmer near Amity, Oregon. Earle H., the only child of 
Mr. and Mrs. LeMasters, was born in Oregon, July 24, 
1900, and after his graduation in the Lincoln High School 
in the City of Portland, that state, he furthered his edu- 
cation by a course in the accounting school of North- 
western University, in the City of Chicago, later complet- 
ing a course of similar and advanced line at Pace In- 
stitute, Washington, D. C. where in 1921 he received his 
degree of Certified Public Accountant. He has since been 
associated with his father in business, as noted in an 
earlier paragraph of this review. Earle H. LeMasters 
enlisted in the United States Navy in September, 1918, 
attended the Officers Training School maintained at George 
Washington University, in the national capital, where as a 
member of the Naval Reserves he was stationed at the 
time when the great World war came to a close. 

Wellington Earl Weidler is a chemical engineer by 
profession and for a number of years, except during the 
war, has been identified with oil refining, and is now 
both an executive as well as a technical expert of the 
Elk Eefining Company, being manager of the Charleston 
offices. 

Mr. Weidler was born at Erie, Pennsylvania, in 1890. 
He acquired a liberal education, attending Allegheny 
College at Meadville, Pennsylvania, and prepared for his 
profession in the technical schools of Cornell University, 
where he was graduated with the degree Chemical Engineer 
in 1912. Following that for several years he was em- 
ployed in the export department of the Standard Oil 
Company. 

The active service he rendered at the tinie of the World 
war was as a captain in the Quartermaster's Corps, U. S. A. 
For a time he was stationed at Camp Merritt and later 
transferred to New York City. Captain Weidler received 
his honorable discharge in January, 1919, and in 1920 
came to Charleston to become manager of the Elk Eefining 
Company. Ms. H. A. Logan, of Warren, Pennsylvania, 
is president of this company, which owns and operates the 
Elk Eefinery at Falling Eock in Kanawha County, while 
the executive offices are in Charleston, with Mr. Weidler 
in charge as manager and technical expert supervising all 
the refinery processes. The Falling Eock plant is one of 
the largest and best equipped refineries in West Virginia, 
producing various grades of refined oil from the crude 
production in the nearby fields. The normal output of the 
refinery is a thousand barrels per day. 

Although a young man, Captain Weidler has earned a 
high reputation as a chemical engineer and an expert in 
oil refining. He is a popular citizen of Charleston, a 
member of the Edgewood Country Club, the Eotary Club 
and the Chamber of Commerce. He married Miss Helen 
Fawcett, of Oil City, Pennsylvania. They have one son, 
Wellington Earl, Jr., and one daughter, Suzanne. 

Captain Weidler is a member of the Masonic fraternity, 
having been initiated into the order as a member of the 
Zion Lodge, A. F. and A. M., Johannesburg, South Africa. 
He is also a member of Phi Delta Theta fraternity, Delta 
Chapter, Cornell University. 

C. L. Topping. The office of state fire marshal is one 
that in the hands of such a capable man as C. L. Topping 
involves an enormous and vital service to every interest of 
the state. Besides the routine service involved in the 
office Mr. Topping has made his department of primary 
value through the educational campaign he has carried on 
in the direction of fire prevention. 

Marshal Topping prepared and had distributed through- 
out the schools of the state, 50,000 copies of a manual 
entitled "Safeguarding the Home Against Fire." This 
manual contains full and explicit directions for preventing 
fires, and sets forth in plain but impressive manner the 
enormous waste and financial disaster that annually result 
in this state simply from carelessness and lack of thought 
in observing the most elemental precautions that would 



avoid fire. The matter in the booklet is arranged ani 
presented in the most attractive manner, accompanied b 
striking illustrations, so that the subject is easily undei 
stood by everyone from the oldest to the youngest. Ir 
deed some of Mr. Topping's strongest appeals are to th 
young people, and the propaganda he carries on throug 
the Boy Scouts is particularly forcible. Mr. Topping i 
therefore doing a work of much wider scope than would b 
measured by the formal nature of his jurisdiction, an 
has already succeeded in winning the cooperation and aj 
proval of public bodies and individuals throughout th 
state. 

While Mr. Topping is not a native of West Virginij 
his parents moved to the state when he was a chUd an 
he has spent the greater part of his life at Charleston. H 
has been in public affairs for a number of years, and ha 
perhaps as wide a circle of friends and acquaintance 
throughout the state as any other man. Mr. Topping wa 
clerk of the House of Delegates in the State Legislatui 
from 1907 to 1909 and again in 1919. He was mae 
state fire marshal in June, 1921. 

He is a thirty-second degree Scottish Eite Mason, 
Shriner, and a life member of the Charleston Lodge o 
Elks. Mr. Topping married Miss Mary E. Wyatt, who wa 
born and reared in Kanawha County. Their three daughter 
are Mrs. J. M. McVey, Mrs. H. T. Lyttleton and Mrs. P 
S. Stone. 

Arnold B. McCutcheon. In the City of Richwoo( 
Nicholas County, Mr. McCutcheon owns and conducts a; 
undertaking and funeral directing establishm.ent of the bei 
modern equipment and service, and he is known and value 
as one of the representative business men and liberal ans 
progressive citizens of this fine little industrial city. 

Mr. McCutcheon was born on a farm near Hominy Fall 
Nicholas County, September 18, 1853, and is a son of Johi 
W. and Ann (Amick) McCutcheon, both likewise natives c 
this county, where the former was born in 1832 and tl 
latter in 1828 — dates that indicate clearly that the respe^ 
tive families were here founded in the pioneer days. Aft( 
their marriage the parents settled on the farm near Homin 
Falls, and there they passed the remainder of their live 
folk of noble character and given to the constructive ii 
dustry that ever conserves communal prosperity, both havin 
been earnest members of the Methodist Episcopal Churc 
South, and Mr. McCut<?heon having been unflagging in h 
allegiance to the democratic party. Of their eight childre 
five are living at the time of this writing, in 1922, and { 
this number the subject of this review is the eldest; Peti 
B. is a resident of Wyoma, Mason County; Sarah is 
widow and resides in the City of Columbus, Ohio; Isa is tl 
wife of A. 0. Odell; and John is a resident of the State ( 
Kansas. 

He whose name initiates this review gained his initi 
experience by aiding in the work of the old home farm, ar 
in the meanwhile profited by the advantages afforded in tl 
local schools, he having remained at the parental home unt 
he attained to his legal majority, when he married and b 
gan his independent career as a farmer. The energy ai 
resourcefulness which he mainfested in his farm enterpri; 
have been equally effective in connection with the busine 
which he now conducts in the City of Eichwood, and 1 
commands unqualified confidence and esteem in his nati' 
county, his loyalty to which is unstinted and marked I 
full appreciation of its advantages and attractions. I 
has never had any desire for public office, but is a loy, 
supporter of the principles of the republican party, and 
a fraternal way he is affiliated with the Loyal Order i 
Moose. His religious faith is that of the Methodist Episc 
pal Church, South, of which his wife likewise was a devoti 
member. 

Mr. McCutcheon was united in marriage to Miss Mai 
E. Nicholas, and the supreme bereavement in his life can 
when she passed to eternal rest, her death having occurn 
February 7, 1919. Of their nine children all but one survi- 
the devoted mother: Cynthia C. is the wife of D. P. Odel 
Anna is the wife of E. P. Carter; Bertha is the wife ( 
Henry Pittsenbarger ; William B. resides in the City i 




G.^BX^toCt^t--^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



39 



Charleston; Martha is the irife of Keilis Alorria; Theresa 
ij tha wife of L. H. Boor; Osia is the wife of Robert 
Eckort; and Lottie is the wife of W. W. McClung. 

Rev. Clovd Goodnight has been i)resideiit of Bethany 
L'ollcge since 1919. This institution, founded more than 
•ighty years ago by Rev. Alexander Campbell, who was its 
president until his death in 1866, has been one of the 
most influential among the smaller colleges of the nation. 
While in a sense it has been the chief center of culture for 
the traditions and principles of the founder of the Church 
jf tlie Disciples, it has also educated many men who have 
uecODie prominent in other professions and walks than the 
ninistry, and the prominent men who have regarded it as 
I distinction that they were at some time students of old 
Bethany would comprise an impressive list both in length 
ind in volume of achievement. 

Cloyd Goodnight was born at Michigantown, Clinton Coun- 
ty, Indiana, December 2, 1881, son of John and Ida (Lay- 
ton) Goodnight. His grandfather, William Goodnight, 
was born in Hardy County, West Virginia, and as a young 
man removed to Indiana. Rev. Cloyd Goodnight finisheil 
lis education in Butler College of Indianapolis, graduating 
\. B. in 1906 and with the Master of Arts degree in 1907. 
lie was also a special student in the University of Chi- 
•ago in 1912. He was ordained to tlie ministry of the 
'hristian or Disciples Church in 1907, and for two years 
was pastor of a church at Danville, Indiana, and from 
1910 to 1913, of Shelbyville, that state. In 1913 he ac- 
•epted the pastorate of the Central Christian Church at 
I'niontown, Pennsylvania, and remained there until he took 
up his duties as jiresident of Bethany College on July 17, 
1919. Bethany College under his administration is one of 
the efficient units in the higher educational institutions of 
the state. It enrolls about three hundred pupils, has 'twenty- 
four members of the faculty, and two-thirds of the student 
ttroup represent other states than West Virginia, a condi- 
tion that has been quite uniformly characteristic of Bethany 
since its founding. Rev. Goodnight gives his entire time 
to his duties as president and as a member of the faculty. 
He is well qualified for his office, has a strong and pleas- 
ing personality, and has a record of splendid work as a 
minister. He married Miss Anna Hussey, of Carmel, 
Indiana, November 20, 1907. They have two children, John 
Thomas and Ida Frances. 

Henky Clav Wells is one of the progressive agricultur- 
ists and stock-growers of his native state, and is a scion of 
one of the honored pioneer families of West Virginia, his 
post office address being Beechbottom, Brooke County. His 
father, Robert M. Wells, was the second son of Basileel 
Wells, whose father was Absalom Wells, a descendant of 
one of three brothers who came from Wales to America in 
an early day, one of the number having settled at Steuben- 
ville, Ohio, which place, as Wcllsburg, was originally named 
in his honor. Absalom Wells was a resident of what is 
now Brooke County, West Virginia, at the time of his death, 
and his remains here rest in the old family cemetery on the 
farm of his son, Basiled, a jiart of this property being 
still in the possession of the family. On this old pioneer 
homestead Basileel Wells was born and reared, and there 
he passed his entire life, as one of the representative farm- 
ers of this section of the present State of West Virginia, 
his landed estate having comprised about eleven hundred 
acres. He married Nancy Mclntire, and the remains of 
l>oth rest in the old family cemetery above mentioned. Both 
were devout and influential members of the Christian Church 
in their community. In the Wells home, about seven miles 
from Bethany, Rev. Alexander Campbell, the founder of 
the Christian or Campbellite Church, frequently visited, he 
having been a close friend of the family. The children 
of Basileel Wells were eight sons and three daughters. 
.■Vbsalom passed his entire life in Brooke County and was 
one of its venerable and honored citizens at the time of 
his death, aged seventy-eight years; Robert M. will be men- 
tioned in later paragraphs; tie daughter Michael became 
the wife of Rev. Thomas V. Berry, a clergyman of the 
Christian Church, and they removed to Illinois, her death 



liaviug occurred at Mouniouth, that lUtu; Kibai, nbo was 
u prosperous farmer near the old bomoiitcad, died at the 
age of seventy-six, a man of uuaasuming worth of char- 
acter; Milton attended Bethany College, was a succewful 
teacher as a young man and became a pioneer rlergyman 
of the Christian Church in Wiaconsin, hin published nieinoirs 
giving interesting record of liis work in that Commonwealtli, 
and further distinction having been his by reason of hi* 
loyal service as a soldier of the Union, in a Wojit Virginia 
regiment, in the Civil war. 

Robert M. Wells was born and reared on thi' old home 
farm and, as a young man he married Kli/.a .Vim Carli-, 
a daughter of John Carle, a member of a leading manu- 
facturing firm at Wellsburg. Robert M. WelU finally iwld 
his original farm and purchased another, near Went LilnTty, 
Brooke County, where he renuiined until well advanced in 
years, when he removed to Wellsburg, where he died at 
the age of eighty-seven years. He was a man who was just 
and upright in all the relations of life, imbued with excel- 
lent judgment and much business ability, and contriliuted 
his share to civic and material advancement in his native 
county. He survived his wife by eighteen years, both hav- 
ing been zealous members of the Christian Church. Of the 
children who attained to mature years Uic elder was Vir- 
ginia Ella, who became the wife of Kdgar Wells (no fam- 
ily kinship). He was a leading architect and builder in the 
City of Wheeling at the time of his death, he having been 
drowned in the Ohio River. His wife died at the age of 
fifty-nine years. The younger of the two children is 
Henry C., immediate subject of this review. 

Henry Clay Wells was born on his father's farm, not 
far distant from his own farm of the presi'nt day, and the 
date of his nativity was October 27, 18;j3. His early educa- 
tion included a course in the West Liberty Normal School, 
and his entire active career has been marked by close suc- 
cessful and progressive association with farm industry. 
His home farm comprises 200 acres, and he owns also 29.) 
acres of the ancestral homestead, both places being ex- 
cellently improved. His home farm is that formerly owned 
by his uncle, Ezbai Wells, on the Ohio Valley Road, twelve 
miles north of Wheeling and five miles south of Wells- 
burg. He is a stockholder in the West I'cnn Railroad and 
the West Penn Power Company, is a director and vice pres- 
ident of the Farmers State Bank at Wellsburg and a di- 
rector of the Commercial Bank at that place. He has done 
much to advance the standards of agricultural and live- 
stock industry in his native county and state, and in all of 
the relations of life has upheld the high honors of the 
family name. He is a republican in politics, but has had 
no desire for political office. He has shown his civic and 
communal loyalty, however, by service as a member of the 
Board of Education and also the County Board of Equal- 
ization. He and his family retain the ancestral religious 
faith, that of the Christian Church. 

Mrs. Jennie Walker (Hedges) Wells, the first wife of 
Henry C. Wells, was a daughter of the late Bukey Hedges, 
who was a prosperous farmer near West Liberty. The mari- 
tal companionship of Mr. and Mrs. Wells continued forty- 
five years and was broken by the death of the loved wife and 
mother. The two children who survive her are Li'na O. 
and Carl Walker. The son, the maiden name of whose 
wife was Berlin Underwood, is operating a dairy farm and 
business near the home place of his father, and hi« five 
children are: Virginia, Ira Emerson, Esther Carle, Henry 
Robert and Elvina Catherine. 

On December 6, 1916, Henry C. Wells married Elual^th 
Maude Smith, who had been for twelve years a 8ucces»fiil 
kindergarten teacher at Washington and Beaver, Pennsyl- 
vania. She is a daughter of John E. Smith, a representa- 
tive farmer of Brooke County, and is a great-niece of the 
late Dr. Edward Smith, who was one of the able, honored 
and loved physicians of this section of West Virginia for 
many years. 

Edward Smith, M. D., gave nearly sixty years to the 
practice of his profession in Brooke County, where he passed 
his entire life and where he was a scion of an honored pio- 
neer family that was here founded when this section was 



40 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



liftle more than a frontier wilderness. His father, Wil- 
liam Smith, from New Jersey, here established the family 
home in 1796, and here reclaimed a farm from the forest 
wUds, this ancestral homestead having continued in the 
possession of the Smith family for more than a century. 
Adequate record concerning this influential pioneer family 
is given below, in the personal sketch of Edward M. Smith. 

Doctor Smith was born on the old home farm and early 
gained his share of pioneer experience as a farm worker. 
He made good use of such educational advantages as were 
here offered, and thereafter broadened his intellectual ken 
by private study and reading and by his preliminary disci- 
pline in preparing himself for his cliosen profession. After 
becoming a physician and surgeon of marked skill he con- 
tinued to reside on the farm and follow his profession 
many years. He then removed to Wellsburg, the county 
seat, and later he established his home at West Liberty, 
where he died at a venerable age. In his profession he 
had a high sense of stewardship, and no labor or personal 
sacrifice was too great to deter him from ministering to 
those in affliction or distress, his genial presence and un- 
failing kindness, as well as his able professional service, 
having made him one of the most revered and loved men 
in Brooke County. He was a member of the Virginia 
House of Delegates at the time of the secession of West 
Virginia and the organization of a new state under this 
name. He was an implacable opponent of human slavery 
and had been a strong whig to the climacteric period 
culminating in the Civil war. He tlius naturally became a 
local leader in the republican party, and he utilized his 
fine powers as a public speaker by doing vigorous campaign 
service for his party, his two sons having inherited much 
of his ability along this line. The son, Robert, became a 
clergyman of the Methodist Episcopal Church and also 
president of a college in the State of Ohio. The son, Ebe- 
nezer, achieved success as a teacher and as a public speaker, 
and he likewise established his home in Ohio. Mrs. Hervey, 
a daughter of the Doctor, became the mother of Hon. Clay 
Henry Hervey, who attained to prominence as a teacher, 
lawyer and jurist in West Virginia and who served about 
sixteen years on the bench of the Circuit Court. He re- 
tained this position until his death, at the age of fifty-six 
years, and his sisters are still residents of Wellsburg. 

In his character and achievement Doctor Smith honored 
his native county and state, and added new laurels to the 
family name. 

Edward M. Smith has been for nearly twenty consecutive 
years county assessor of Brooke County, and this fact af- 
fords ample evidence of tlie high estimate placed upon him 
in the county of which he is a native and a representative 
of an honored pioneer family. 

On the old homestead farm of the Smith family, 3% miles 
east of Wellsburg, the county seat, Edward M. Smith was 
born August 2, 1863, a son of John E. and Permelia (Green) 
Smith. On the same ancestral homestead John E. Smith 
was born on the 12th of March, 1838, and he met a tragic 
death, November 30, 1917, when he was drowned in the 
Ohio Eiver. He had attended church services, and in a 
terrific storm that was raging at the time when he left the 
church he became confused in directions and thus met his 
death, he having been a resident of Wellsburg during the 
last five years of his life. The old Green homestead farm, 
inherited by his wife is now in the possession of their 
son, Edward M., the home of the family having there been 
maintained for many years. John E. Smith was a son of 
Andrew Smith, who was born on the same old homestead in 
1802, a son of William Smith, who came from New Jersey 
in 1796 and secured the land on which he here settled 
in the following year, he having been somewhat more than 
thirty years old at the time. The land, 288 acres, was 
covered with timber, and the first domicile of the family 
was a log cabin, which William Smith later replaced with a 
commodious brick house erected on a hill and constituting 
one of the first brick structures in this section. This his- 
toric landmark continued as the farm home of the Smith 
family for fully a century and was finally destroyed by 
fire in 1914. The ancestral homestead later was sold to 



one not a member of the family. Andrew Smith marrie 
Jane Green, and as a successful and influential farmer h 
became the owner of a landed estate of 1,600 acres, froi 
which he gave a farm to each of his children who attaine 
to maturity. On his farm Andrew Smith introduced an 
bred the famous Plenapose horses, and one horse, whic 
he sold for $500, was later sold in Philadelphia for $30,00( 
On the old Smith homestead farm the Pierces Run Stou 
Chapel was built in 1837, Andrew Smith having given th 
land for this purpose and having served as a trustee of tt 
church until his death, when he was succeeded by his soi 
Andrew, Jr., who served until his death and who in tur 
was succeeded by Edward M. Smith, the immediate subje( 
of this sketch. This ancient stone chapel is still in us 
and is one of the prosperous rural churches of the Methi 
dist Episcopal Church, South, in Brooke County. The libe 
ality of the early and later members of this church is b 
tokened by the fact that tlie little edifice was gladly opene 
for the services of other religious denominations. Andre 
Smith, Sr., passed his entire life on the old homestet 
and died at the age of eighty-one years, his wife haviii 
passed away seven years previously. William, eldest of tl 
children, continued his residence in Brooke County until h 
death, at an advanced age ; Sarah, who died at the age C; 
ninety years, was the wife of Nathan Hunter, their fovi 
children having died young; Rose became the wife of Joi 
Castner, and after the Civil war they removed to St. Charl. 
County, Missouri, where they passed the remainder of the 
lives; Mary Ann married John Hunter, and two of the 
sons became clergymen of the Methodist Church, Re 
Andrew Smith Hunter being now a resident of St. Peter 
burg, Florida, and Rev. James J. being a resident of tl 
State of Wyoming; John E., father of the subject of th 
sketch, was the fifth of the children born to his parent 
He gave his entire life to constructive farm enterprise, ar 
he was loyal and liberal as a citizen. He was not a chun 
member, but gave financial support to churches of varioi 
denominations. He commanded unqualified popular estee 
and was one of the venerable native sons of the count 
at the time of his death in 1917, as previously noted. H 
widow will celebrate her eightieth birthday anniversary : 
1922. She likewise was born and reared in Brooke Count 
the farm on which she was born having been land granti 
to a member of the Lucas family, who came here befo 
the arrival of the first representative of the Smith famil 
a member of the Lucas family having married a Grec 
and the property having thus come into possession of t! 
parents of Mrs. Smith. Of the children of John E. ai 
Permelia (Green) Smith seven attained maturity, and > 
the number the subject of this sketch is the eldest; Frai 
E., who became a successful business man and the own 
of valuable real estate at Wellsburg, died in that city agi 
forty -nine years; Elizabeth M. is the wife of Henry Cli 
Wells, who is individually mentioned on other pages ' 
this work; John E. as a boy became associated with t 
meat-market business of his brother Frank, at Wellsbur 
where he still is engaged in this business; Miss Catheri: 
remains with her venerable mother; Pearl Virginia, a tJ 
ented musician who has had three years of musical study 
Germany, is the wife of Alfred L. Cochran, of Rochestf 
New York; Robert W. has long been identified with t 
Atlas Glass Company. 

Edward M. Smith, who owns the fine old Green hom 
stead farm and has made the place known as the stage 
vigorous and successful agricultural and live-stock ent( 
prise, has here maintained his home from the time of 1 
birth, his early education having been acquired in t 
schools of his native county. He is now serving his fif 
term, of four years each, as county assessor, and, as 
matter of course, he maintains his ofiicial headquarters 
the courthouse at Wellsburg. He is a stalwart in the loc 
camp of the republican party. At the age of twenty-eig 
years Mr. Smith was so injured in a railroad accident • 
Wheeling as to necessitate the amputation of his left ar: 
and thereafter he sunplemented his education by attendii 
the West Liberty Normal School. He was a success! 
teacher for some time thereafter, and since 1896 he has be 
active in political work and in official service in his hoi 





rS^^c^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



41 



,untT. He and his family reside on the home farm, aud 
that community he is a trustee of the old Stoue Chapel 
ethodist Church, as previously noted. 
Mr Smith wedded Miss Mina Forse, who was born m 
rookc Couiitv, hut who was reared in the City of Pitts- 
ireh IVmis'vhania. Thev have live children: Emery 
Lssistant .unntv assessor uiider his father), David F., Ed- 
ird M., Jr., Mariana V. and John E. III. 

Hon. Lee Ott was the first and has l>een the only state 
.mpensation commissioner of West Virginia, and it is 
ating only a consensus of opinion to say that the admir- 
ile workings of the Compensation .\ct and the official 
Iministration created thereby had been primarily due to 
ic exceptional executive ability, the broad vision and 
nipathetic interest of Mr. Ott. 

West Virginia was the seventh state in the Union to put 
impensation laws into effect, though such laws had been 
iforced in European countries for years. Similar legisla- 
on has since been enacted by nearly all the states of the 
nion. These compensation laws to a large degree sup|ily 
•e object of old liability insurance and sub.xtitute a process 
orderly administration for the old system of damage 
•its and other costly litigation. When a candiiiate for 
jvernor in 1912. H. D. Hatfield incorporated into his per- 
.nal platform a plank advocating the passage of such a 
impensation law. The first law providing for the Public 
ervice Commission was in the nature of a compromise and 
lulty in many directions. The amended law providing for 
le office of state compensation commissioner became effec- 
ve in May, 1915, and the law was again amended in 1919. 
he present law aud system are regarded as among the very 
est found in operation in any of the states. It is the duty 
f the state compensation commissioner to administer the 
impensation fund as created and provided for by these 
iws. 

Mr. Ott has had a life-long and very sincere and heart- 
,lt interest in the welfare of miners and their families, the 
lass that is most largely benefitted by the compensation 
iws of West Virginia, since coal mining is the state's 
reatest industry. He was a leader in having enacted the 
resent compensation law, and in order to constitute him- 
elf a reliable reference authority to the legislators who 
ad the responsibility for the legislation he made a thorough 
ludy of the compensation laws of Belgium, Germany, Eng- 
ind and other European countries as well as those already 
(1 force in the United States. After the passage of the 
riginal legislation Governor Hatfield appointed him a mem- 
er of the Public Service Commission on July 19, 1913, and 
e was chairman of that body until June 30, 1915, when 
gain by appointment and express choice of Governor Hat- 
eld hebeeame state compensation commissioner. His first 
erm expired in June, 1921, and Governor Morgan then re- 
ppointed him for a second term of six years. 

Mr. Ott was born at Hopewell, Bedford County, Penn- 
ylvania, January 5, 1859, son of John and Liddie (Weim- 
rt) Ott. He acquired a common school education, spent 
lis early life on a farm, and at the age of sixteen went to 
vork in the mines of his home county in Pennsylvania. He 
vorked as a miner and in various positions in mines leading 
ip to mine foreman, superintendent and general manager, 
n the meantime he took a course in mining engineering, 
ind until he was induced to accept public office mining and 
nine operation were his sole business. He came to West 
I'irginia in June. 1898, being appointed superintendent of 
he Thomas plant of the Davis Coal & Coke Company, filling 
hat position until April, 1900. At that time he was trans- 
erred as superintendent to the Elk Garden mines, but re- 
umed to Thomas November 1, 1907, as general su|ierin- 
endent of all the mines of the Davis Coal & Coke Company, 
laving charge of the twenty-nine mines of this corporation 
n Randolph, Tucker, Grant, Barbour and Mineral counties. 
L'nder his management these mines and coke ovens were 
jrought to a fine state of efficiency and economical produc- 
ion, and he also had charge of the great improvements 
maugurated by the corporation. It was therefore a genuine 
sacrifice financially and otherwise when Mr. Ott n;as induced 
lo become compensation commissioner, and in time it was 



one of the best inovcit made by Uoveraor Hatfield in bi< 
vigorous administration of the state. 

For many years Mr. Ott ha« been actively identified with 
business and enterprl.se, particularly in the eastern soctioo 
of the state. He is now pre.iident of the Kngli.ih Ott Lum- 
ber Company of Cliarleston, luinlier niunufacturcni witli a 
lumber mill in Bland County, Virginia. He boa bi-cn a 
director of the Davis National Hank of Piedmont. 

Under his wise and skillful administration the State 
Compensation l>epartment has been a source of genuinu 
benefit to the miners and their families. When Uic |irr»ent 
compensation law was amended in 1915 there was a Imbility 
deficit of $795,000 in the compensation fund, due to the 
inadequate provisions of the first law. By Octol)cr, 1919, 
Mr. Ott had been enabled to bring about such changes and 
improvements in the law and its operation that there wa» 
an actual surplus of something over $750,000. The com- 
pensation to injured persons had increased, and up to the 
fall of 1921 there is a pension jiay roll of $S5,U0U a month. 
Under the direction of the office more than $5,uno.O00 have 
been paid in lost claims. When working conditions are 
normal in the state this office handles about 100 accidentu 
per day, with a total pay roll for compensation premiums 
(medical and funeral service, etc.), of about $225,000 per 
month. There are on the pay roll today 1,400 widows ami 
about 3,700 children under the age of fifteen. 

Mr. Ott is a member of the executive committee of the 
International Association of Industrial .\ccident Boards, is 
an official of the affiliation board of the Coal Mining In- 
stitute of America, and a member of the executive board of 
the West Virginia Coal Mining Institute. He is a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, being a life 
member of Logan Lodge No. 490 of Altoona, Pennsylvania, 
and his Cousistorv and Shrine affiliations arc at Wheeling. 
He is a member of the First Methodist E|.iscopal Church at 
Charleston. He has always been a republican, but his chief 
interest in politics has been in the activities and the office 
already described. Mr. Ott married Miss Elizabeth Jenkins, 
of Pennsylvania. 

Guy Allen Shittlewokth, a veteran of the Spanish- 
American and Philippine wars, and postmaster at Nutter 
Fort (Norwood), is a member of a family of distinction 
in Harrison County, and his own career since he left the 
army has involved some active interests in the business 
life of the community. . „ . r. . 

Mr Shuttleworth was born on a farm in Harrison Ujuniy, 
July 3 1879 son of Samuel Adams and Martha Eli/Jibcth 
(Stuart) Shuttleworth. His father's birthplace was the 
sheriff's residence in Harrison County. At that time the 
erandfather, Notley Shuttleworth was sheriff. The mother of 
Guv A. Shuttleworth was born in Barbour County, West 
Vir'ginia. Her father, R.ibert Stuart, was a native of Old 
Vireinia. Mrs. Martha Elizabeth Shuttleworth is now eighty- 
two years of age, lives at Homines Mills in Harrison Uiun- 
tv, and her hoiiie has been in the siime locality there 
fo'r over sixty eight years. For a period "^ ("rty,'"^^:, ?);»" 
the leading merchant at Romines Mills was he lat.. Samuel 
Adams Shuttleworth, who died there in 1903 at the age o 
seventy-eight. He was a very capable business man and 
besides hi^s store had farm interests. He «-.<»-P'y '", 
tercsted in the public welfare on pol.tica affairs, though 
he never held a political office, was a republican voter, and 
of his twelve children nine are stUl living. R„„i„„ 

Guv A Shuttleworth sjient his early youth at Romines 
Mills; attended public school there an-l/T two years was 
a student in the West Virginia University. He J"" "°t /»] 
eighteen when the Spanish-American war broke out and 
he'vll^te^red and soL afterward entered the regij^ar army 
service, and had a service record of six years to his cred t 
before 'he received his di.scharge. For t«o vears of th» 
time he was in the Philippine Islands. Mr. Shuttltworth 
came out of the army with the rank of "X^'Seant and after 
a brief visit at the old homestead and » Pf '"'^jf J"''' °^ 
the farm, he removed to Clarksburg and for several years 
was active in the mercantile business. His home since ^^ 
marriage has been at Norwood or Nutter Fort Post Office, 
and in July, 1921, he was c.mmissioned postmaster there. 



42 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



Like his father he has always been a stanch republican 
in politics. He is an Odd Fellow and a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Shuttleworth married in 1916 Miss Rosa A. Kester. 
Their two children are named Jack Carr and Martha 
Louise Shuttleworth. Mrs. Shuttleworth is a daughter of 
William Granville and Louise E. (Carr) Kester. Her fa- 
ther was born in Harrison County, March 30, 1854, son of 
William J. and Sarah N. (Nutter) Kester, natives of the 
same county. The paternal grandfather of William G. 
Kester was Peter Kester, who was a soldier in the War 
of 1812, and was founder of the Kester family in Harrison 
County. Jacob C. Nutter, maternal grandfather of Wil- 
liam G. Kester was a Harrison County pioneer, and Nutter 
Fort was named in honor of this family. 

Louise E. (Carr) Kester, mother of Mrs. Shuttleworth, 
was born in Harrison County, a daughter of James Mad- 
ison and Elizabeth (Cost) Carr. 

Frank C. Shriyeb. The Monongahela Supply Company, 
of which he is president and general manager, and several 
other corporations in which he is an official, represent the 
important business relations of Frank C. Shriver to the 
commercial life of Morgantown and vicinity. His business 
career covers only about twenty years and he has achieved 
a successful position in affairs in advance of most men of 
his years. He had a good inheritance, and his ancestral 
history connects his family with pioneer times in this, 
part of West Virginia. 

His family record begins with Abram Shriver who was 
born in Frederick County, Virginia, September 6, 1768. 
March 31, 1791, he married Mary Keckley, who was born 
in Frederick County, April 19, 1770. Of the ten chil- 
dren of these parents the first three were born in Frederick 
County, Virginia, and the others in Monongahela County in 
what is now West Virginia. The record is: Catherine, 
born April 16, 1792, was married to Jacob Horner and 
they settled in Monongalia County; Adam, born Septem- 
ber 7, 1793; Elias, born August 9, 1795; Jacob, born in 
July, 1797, the first of the children born in Monongalia 
County; Christiana, born April 12, 1799, became tlie wife 
of Michael Core of Monongalia County; Elizabeth, born 
April 5, 1800, was married to Ezekiel Morris; John, born 
April 30, 1801, and died in 1885, having married Sarah 
Morris; Benjamin, born May 27, 1805; Isaac, and Abra- 
ham. 

Isaac Shriver, the ninth of these children, was born in 
Monongalia County, May 27, 1807, and died March 30, 1880. 
He married Minerva Sine, who was born in Monongalia 
County, February 2, 1820, daughter of Moses and Sarah 
(Kelley) Sine. She died October 1, 1899. The children 
of Isaac and wife were: William Henry, born May 8, 1840, 
was a Union soldier in the Third West Virginia Cavalry, 
spent six months as a prisoner in Libby prison, and dii'd 
April 27, 1920; Jasper Newton, born October' 4, 1841; 
Elizabeth A., born July 8, 1844, became the wife of Titus 
Eemley; Lee Roy; George W., born September 24, 1848; 
Moses L., born July 11, 1851; Mary J., born August 28, 
1853, and died in 1908; Simon L., born March 24, 1856, 
now deceased; John L., born August 26, 1858, deceased; 
and Alfred, born December 2, 1860. 

Lee Roy Shriver, father of Frank C. Shriver, was born 
June 24, 1846. In early life he was a farmer, later in 
the lumber business, but kept his home on the farm until 
1910, when he removed to Morgantown. For the last fifteen 
years he has looked after a number of responsibilities and 
interests. He has secured the rights of way for a number 
of railroads, has bought and sold coal lands and to some 
extent has been interested in coal mining. He is .iustly 
credited with being a pioneer in the development of the 
coal resources of Monongalia County. He and his as- 
sociates in the Scott Run Coal Company opened up the 
first mine in the Scott Run district, and to him as much 
as to any other individual is due the honor for this de- 
velopment. He has bought and sold more coal land in this 
district than any other and though now seventy-five years 
of age he is still a thorough business man, and on duty 
nearly every day. He was one of the promoters of the 



building of the Wheeling & Morgantown Railroad, a rol 
that contributed in large measure to the growth of Morgi^- 
town and the county. For many years he has been i 
active member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Lee Roy Shriver married Margaret A. Clovis. Tb' 
were the parents of three children, Ernest E., born Nove- 
ber 13, 1867, now a partner in the Monongahela Sup]' 
Company of Morgantown; Alice, who was born July ;, 
1869, and died January 14, 1870; and Frank C. 

Frank Clovis Shriver was born on the Shriver farm nc 
Wadestown, Battelle District of Monongalia County, J- 
vember 8, 1881. He grew up on the farm, was educatl 
in the public schools, and began his business career ast 
lumber merchant. Selling his lumber interests in 19, 
in July, 1913, he was one of the organizers of the Mononj- 
hela Supply Company, Incorporated, and has since been i 
president and general manager. This company start! 
business in a modest way as manufacturers agents, a I 
first occupied the basement of the Rightmier Building ; 
the wharf. The trade and service rapidly expanded so tl; 
the company took the entire floor space of that buildu, 
and it is now known as Warehouse No. 1 of the compai. 
In 1919 the company erected a three-story concrete buildi; 
on Wall Street, known as Warehouse No. 2 and used pr- 
cipally for heavy machinery, and pipe. In 1921 the co- 
pany took its next step in progress, establishing its msi 
offices and retail stores in the business block at the con!' 
of Front and Walnut streets, leasing this building from i 
owners, Frank C. and Ernest E. Shriver. The company vii 
originally capitalized at $5,000. This cajiitalization ti 
been raised successively to $25,000, to $50,000 and now • 
$100 000. The business is an extensive one, handling bui 
ers' supplies, mine, mill and farm machinery, and electric, 
equipment. They have built up an extensive trade all o\ 
Monongalia, Preston, Marion, Harrison and part of Bi 
bour counties, West Virginia, and portions of Greene a 
Fayette counties in Pennsylvania. 

While the prospering affairs of this company reeeiv 
the greater part of his time and attention Mr. Shriver 
also president of the Marteny Coal Company, vice pre 
dent of the Shriver Coal Company, secretary of the Sec 
Run Coal Company, and a director in the Labor Buildi: 
and Loan Association. Socially he is affiliated with t 
Elks, Knights of Pythias, and the Country Club, is a mei 
ber of the Chamber of Commerce and Rotary Club. 
1902 Mr. Shriver married Pearl Coburn, daughter of t 
late C. C. Coburn of Monongalia County. They have o 
son, Leroy, born February 14, 1904. 

Thomas J. Mahan, who is now living retired at FoUai 
bee, Brooke County, West Virginia, a town situated 
the old homestead farm which came into the possession 
the Mahan family more than a century ago, is one of t 
venerable and honored citizens of his native county a; 
well merits recognition ia this history. 

In the year 1814 William Mahan, who was born 
Wales, in 1804, came, as a lad of ten years, with his pE 
ents to the frontier wilds of what is now Brooke Count 
West Virginia, where the family home was established i 
the embryonic farm which became the site of the prese 
vigorous industrial town of Follansbee, the original own 
of the property having been a pioneer named Wells. ( 
this ancestral farmstead, reclaimed and developed by re 
resentativcs of the Mahan family, William Mahan continue 
to reside until his death, at the age of seventy-five yeai 
His wife, whose maiden name was Nancy Jones, w 
born in England, and she survived him by several years. ( 
the site of their old home, on the bank of the Ohio Riv( 
now stands the substantial brick residence that was erecti 
by Thomas Mahan in 1865. The father of William Mahi 
was a soldier in the War of 1812, his service having bei 
principally at Fort McHenry, near Baltimore, Marylan 
Of the four sons and five daughters of William and Nani 
(Jones) Mahan the eldest of the sons was Thomas, fath 
of the suliject of this sketch; William, Jr., was a res 
dent of Brooke County until his death and attained 
venerable age, he having developed and owned one of tl 
largest and best orchards in the county; John lived in Ha 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



43 



^ County until his death, when advanced in years; and 
Vnes was a resid(.<ntt.of Missouri at the time of his death. 
Tbomaa Mahan bought the interests of the other heira 
id came into full ownership of the old homestead farm, 
)mprising more than three hundred acres. Ue erected the 
ricK house now occupied by Follansbee Brothers as an 
JBce building, and there he continued to reside until his 
'Sth, at the age of seventy-six years. In his farm opera- 
he gave special attention to the raising of sheep, and 
- one of the substantial and honored citizens of the 
He married Judith Brennauian, daughter of 
: iisiian Brennanian, who came from Lancaster County, 
iiinsylvauia, and establi.'ihed his residence near the pres- 
ir village of Arroyo, Hancock County, in 178.5. Mrs. 
n was born and reared in this county, and here she 
,t the venerable ago of ninety six years. She was 
lan of fine mentality, a reader and stuilent, and a 
.-racious and lovable personality, she having been a 
■ •alous member of the .Jethodist Episcopal Church, 
, :is was also hor husband. Of the children the daugh- 
r. h:iizabtth, is the widow of James Hamilton and is 
resilient of Brooke County; Emily is the widow of Wil- 
,:;. Fisher and resides at Follansbee; Nancy died when a 
_ woman; Barbara, who died at the age of seventy 
was the wife of William Hervcy, he having been a 
-~tul farmer near Wellsburg, Brooke County; Wil- 
iiiii was a farmer in Brooke County at the time of his 
eath; Richard who was a soldier of the Union in the 
^Svil war, was a sergeant in the Twelfth West Virginia 
lUfantry, took part in numerous engagements and was 
eld a prisoner of war at Danville for seven months, he 
iter having been a merchant at Steubenville, Ohio, but 
aving jiassed the closing period of his life near the old 
ome in Brooke County; Thomas J., of this review, is the 
eit younger son; and Herman is president of the Citizens 
,tonk at Follansbee. 
On the ancestral homestead in Brooke County, Thomas 
. Mahan was born November 26, 1846, and his early educa- 
ional advantages included a course in Mount Union Col- 
Ige at Alliance, Ohio. Thereafter he became associated 
.itii his brother, Herman, in the management of the old 
farm, and their progressiveness was shown in their 
. out of a fine apple orchard of fifty acres. Mr. 
n has kept pace with the march of progress in this 
cction has been a successful dealer in real estate and has 
■rected several houses at Follansbee. In 1879 he here 
.rected his present attractive residence, before the town of 
■"ollansbee was thought of. He has served as president of 
he Board of Education, and had the distinction of being 
he first mayor of Follansbee, an office in which he served 
wo terms. He was actively identified with the organiza- 
ion of the village and has been one of the loyal aids in 
■ts development and upbuilding, especially in conne< tion 
«th providing adequate water, sewer and electric-lighting 
lystems. In 1903 the town of Follansbee was platted on 
JOO acres of land sold by Thomas J. and Herman Mahan 
the Follansbee Brothers of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 
who here established a plant for the dipping of steel plate. 
iVt first Follansbee Brothers employed about one hundred 
nan, and the com]>any now gives employment to fully one 
thousand. The Follansbee Company has developed a large 
md important industrial enterprise, with a modern manu- 
facturing plant at Follansbee, has here erected many houses 
md has urgently encouraged employes in becoming owners 
of homes a second mill having been established by the 
jompany at Toronto. Ohio. The brothers, Benjamin and 
William U. Follansbee, have been valuable acquisitions to 
Brooke County and are numbered among the representative 
."captains of industry" in this section of the state. 

In 1919 Mr. Mahan, as nominee on the republiran ticket, 
was elected to the Lower House of the State Legislature, 
.where he was assigned membership on various important 
committees, including those on cities and towns and agri- 
culture. He has frequently been a delegate to the state 
conventions of his party, he was active in patriotic service 
in the World war period and is still continuing his service 
• as chairman of the local Red Cross. Both he and his wife 
are zealous members of the Presbyterian Church, and he 



ia a trustee iu the same. They were charter niembcT* of 
this church in Follansbee. 

At the age of thirty one years Mr. Mahan wedded Miu 
Miriam Browning, daughter of Leander and Elizabeth 
(Steelman) Browning, she having been born on her f» 
ther'g farm near the old hnuiestcad of the Mahan family. 
In conclusion is given brief record concerning the chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Mahan: Mabel in the wife of K. E. 
Watson, of Follansbee; Bessie Allen became the wife of 
Harry C. Irwin and died at the age of thirty-four yeari; 
Cornelia is the wife of John Brady, of St. Petersburg, 
Florida; Judith B. died at the ago of nineteen yearn; 
Lucille is the wife of Jiunes lianfield, Bup<-rintendent of 
the Follansbee Mill at Toronto, Ohio; Elizabeth Browning 
is the wife of D. K. Huoke, of Steubenville, Ohio; Thomon 
Wesley resides at Follansbee, as does also Orlando Stew- 
art, the youngest son, who hero conducts an automobile 
garage. 

Herman B. Mahan, president of the Citizens Bank nt 
Follansbee, Brooke County, was born in the old family home- 
stead that was later replaced by a brick residence that 
is still standing and is now in the village of Follansbee, 
which is situated on a part of the old homestead farm 
of the Mahan family — property that has been in the pos- 
session of the family for more than a century. Of this 
sterling and influential pioneer family detailed record is 
given above, in the personal sketch of Thomas J. Molian, 
an elder brother of Herman B., these two brothers hav- 
ing become associated in the ownership of the old home 
farm, a part of which they sold to the Follansbee Brothers 
as the site of the present vigorous little City of Follansbee. 
Here Herman B. Mahan was born November 6, 1S52, 
and here he was reared to the sturdy discipline of the 
home farm, the while he profited by the advantages of the 
schools of the locality and period. He and his brother, 
Thomas J., made the old home farm the stage of progres- 
sive and successful agricultural and live-stock enterprises, 
besides there planting an orchard of fifty acres, now one 
of the largest and best in this part of the state, with 
many choice varieties of apples. The brothers have been 
actively concerned also in the development and upbuilding 
of Follansbee, where the plea.sant home of Herman B. is 
situated on a part of the ancestral estate of the family. 
At Follansbee Mr. Mahan has erected several houses and 
has otherwise been active in the real-estate business. He 
was one of the organizers and is now president of the 
Citizens Bank at Follansbee, of which specific mention is 
made in following sketch. He is a republican in political 
allegiance, and he and his wife are active members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Mahan married Miss Martha Everett, daughter of 
Thomas Everett, of Wellsburg. and the two children of this 
union arc: Herman Lee, who is assistant cashier of the 
Citizens Bank, and is a graduate of Bethany College; and 
Walter E., a student in the University of West Virginia. 

The Citizens Bank at Follansbee, Brooke County, was 
founded in 1906, about three years after this thriving lit- 
tle city had been established, and it has played an important 
part in the stable development and advancement of the 
communitv. Operations were based on a capital stock of 
$2.5,000, and the original Board of Directors of the new 
institution had the following personnel: William Banfield, 
of Follansbee; Herman B. Mahan, now president of the 
bank; and W. W. Beal, John T. Douglass, H. C. Meyer, 
J. S. Liggett and F. A. Chapman, all of Wellsburg, the 
county seat. The membership of the directorate in 1922 is 
as here noted: Herman B. Mahan, president; Charles L. 
Wilson, vice president; J. V. Balch. cashier; H. L. MahM, 
assistant cashier; William Banfield. L. A. Diller, J. W. 
Walker, and F. A. Chapman. H. C. Meyer was the first 
president of the bank and continued as iU chief executive 
until July, 1913, when he was succeeded by the present 
incumbent. Herman B. Mahan, who had previously been, 
from the beginning, its vice president. The first cashier, 
C B. Crawford, continued his service until 1915, when 
he was succeeded by Frank Ziherl. Upon the death of Mr. 



44 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



Ziherl in 1919 J. V. Balch was chosen cashier, an office 
of which he has eo»tiuued the efficient and popular in- 
cumbent. The Citizens Bank now has resources of $650,000, 
it has paid regular dividends to its stockholders and its 
affairs have been carefully and successfully ordered along 
conservative lines. In 1912 the institution erected its pres- 
ent modern and attractive building, the appointments and 
equipment of which are of the best standard, and include 
a burglar-alarm system. Of the president of this sub- 
stantial bank individual record is given in preceding sketch. 

C. P. FoRTNEY is a civil engineer by profession, and in 
April, 1921, was selected by Governor Morgan as chairman 
of the State Road Commission of West Virginia. The two 
other members of this commission are N. Price Whitaker 
and E. B. Stephenson. While the subject of roads is dealt 
with in much detail by Doctor Callahan in the historical 
volume, something may be said here as to the official interest 
taken by the state in the subject. 

The beginning of state road supervision dates from 1872 
at the adoption of the new constitution, when all road worK 
was turned over to the respective counties, except that of 
the New Cumberland Boad, which was in the hands of the 
Board of Public Works. The first attempt at the codifica- 
tion of road laws came in 1906. The following year a 
highway inspector was named, who worked under the Board 
of Agriculture and in close association with the State 
University. In 1909 a commission was provided for, and 
Governor Glasscock appointed Charles P. Light, Edward 
D. Baker and Ray C. Teter. A levy of 1 cent was raised 
as state aid to roads. Two years later the law was modified, 
and funds which had accumulated to the amount of some- 
thing over $226,000 were distributed to the counties without 
provision as to its ultimate use. No accounting was ever 
made of this money. 

In 1913 a State Road Bureau was created, Governor 
Henry D. Hatfield naming A. D. Williams as chief road 
engineer, with George D. Cortland and J. W. Lynch, asso- 
ciates. No provision was made for financing their work 
except from university funds. Road schools about that time 
were established as part of the university extension work. 

In 1917 a bi-partisan board of two members was created, 
with C. P. Fortney as chairman and James K. Monroe as 
secretary and treasurer. In 1921 the membership was in- 
creased to three, permitting the minority party to be repre- 
sented by one member. This commission organized with a 
division engineer in each of the five divisions of the state, 
and with three departments — road construction and main- 
tenance, autos and traffic, audits and purchase. Bonds to 
the amount of $1.5,000,000 were authorized, though only 
$50,000 could be disposed of at one time. The road fund 
also has the vehicle license fees, which now aggregate about 
$2,000,000 a year. A state system of road construction has 
been adopted, and at this writing contracts to the amount 
of about $5,000,000 have been let. 

C. P. Fortney has been closely associated with high- 
way developments for a number of years. He was born in 
Harrison County, June 30, 1879. His grandfather, Jacob D. 
Fortney, moved to Harrison County from Preston County. 
His father, E. R. Fortney, has spent his life in Harrison 
County as a farmer. C. P. Fortney attended preparatory 
school at Fairmont, and graduated as a civil engineer from 
West Virginia University in 1907. In 1909 he married 
Jessie Jenkins, of Pennsylvania. They were classmates in 
the university. They have four children. 

John J. Henderson, osteopathic physician, president 
of the State Osteopathic Association, has been in practice 
for about fifteen years at Charleston. His has been a 
distinctive service in the medical profession, and out of 
his experience and studies he has written several valuable 
books on health and right living. 

He was born in Lincoln County, West Virginia, in 1877, 
and acquired a thorough academic education, but he is a 
man whose insatiable intellectual curiosity would never 
be satisfied and he is a student now and has covered an 
astonishingly wide range of subjects both within and with- 
out his profession. He graduated in 1905 from the New 



York School of Osteopathy, soon located at St. Albans 
Kanawha County, but remained there only a brief tir 
when he established his permanent home in Charlesto 
Doctor Henderson since graduation has taken numero 
post-graduate courses in medical colleges of nearly all t 
recognized schools, including the allopathic and home 
pathic, and through hard study and investigation has a 
quired and put into practice an exhaustive knowledge 
the human body, its ailments and their treatment. Bo 
as a physician and as a citizen Doctor Henderson h 
earned exceptional esteem in Charlston. His home is ' 
the south side, one of the beautiful places of the city. 

He was elected president of the West Virginia Osteopath 
Association at the annual convention in Huntington in Oct 
ber, 1921. 

He married Miss Frances Kathleen Henley, a native ' 
Kanawha County. Her father, the late C. W. Henle 
achieved substantial fame as a tunnel builder and raibro; 
contractor, and did most of the tunnel construction on ti 
Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad in West Virginia. 

Doctor Henderson devoted several years of hard stui 
to the chemistry of the body. One of the results w; 
his discovery of a method of isolation of the various el 
ments of the blood and a method of treatment by whic 
he can supply these elements to the person in whose blo( 
any of the elements may be lacking, as in cases of aneni 
and in brain, nervous, muscular and bone disorders. Medic 
authorities have pronounced it a distinctive scientil 
achievement. 

Doctor Henderson chose a profession as a means <i 
satisfying his great ambition for human service, and tli] 
ambition has led him into many activities far beyond tl 
scope of the average physician. He has written and pu 
lished a number of books on the physical and mental il 
that afflict the race, with full outlines and directions fi 
their treatment and cure, accompanied by illuminatii 
illustrations. The first four of these books bear the follo^ 
ing titles: "Apoplexy, Paralysis, High Blood Pressure ar 
Nervous Diseases, Prevention and Cure ; " " The Scien( 
of Food Selection;" "How to Eliminate Uric Acid Toxii 
and Body Poisons;" "How to Adjust Mental Maladjus 
ments. ' ' These books are all small in size, the subj&j 
matter brief and concise, are written in the plainest ar, 
most understandable English, with complete avoidance ( 
technical or scientific words and phrases, thus making the 
available for use and profit by all persons possessed of a 
ordinary education. His work on Mental Maladjustmen 
is undoubtedly the only one that has ever made tl 
psychopathic sciences understandable and of real benel 
to persons of ordinary education. 

G. F. Daugheett who has to his credit a veteran 
service as a locomotive engineer with the Norfolk an 
Western Railway, was called in the spring of 1921 by a] 
pointment of Governor Morgan to the duties of state con 
missioner of labor, with headquarters at Charleston. B 
has charge of the Bureau of Labor and is ex-officio con 
missioner of weights and measures. The State Bureau ( 
Labor has been in existence officially for many j-ears, bi 
only within recent years has it become a vital and importai 
part of the state government. This development of tl 
office itself is directly due to the remarkable development c 
the state's industries, manufacturing. The bureau h£ 
charge of the inspection service over factories, mercanti 
establishments, mills and workships, looks after all tl 
measures providing safeguards and sanitary precautioi 
for workers, and also has the enforcement of the chil 
labor law. Under Commissioner Daughtery are five fai 
tory inspectors and two sealers of weights and measure 
besides a numerous force of minor employes. The respoi 
sibilities of the bureau have been greatly enlarged throug 
the enactment of the new child labor law of the state J 
1919. This child labor law is directly modeled after an 
largely conforms to the Federal law on the same subject. 

Mr. Daugherty was born in Tazewell County, Virgini! 
in 1869, son of Rev. David and Nannie (Moore) Daughtert: 
of Irish and Scotch-Irish ancestry. His father, who wa 
a Methodist minister, was born in the Valley of Vi: 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



45 



oia, his grandfather having come from Ireland to that 
ite. The Moorcs are an old family of Virginia, having 
ught in the Indian wars in Colonial times. 
G. F. Daugherty was reared on a farm, but his entire 
live service has been as a railrond man and with one 
mpaiiy, the Xorfolk & Western. Before he reached his 
ijority he was doing duty as a brakeman, subsequently 

a locomotive fireman for three years, and in 1.S97 was 
(tmoted to locomi)tive engineer. He had filled that post 

doty continuously for nearly twenty-four years when he 
18 called to the state capitol as commissioner of labor, but 

still holds his seniority rights as locomotive engineer for 
9 company. Since 18P2 his home has been at Bluefield, 
d his family still live there, though his official head- 
arters are in the state capitol. All of his railroad 
mce has been on the Pocahontas Division of the Nor- 
Ik & Western, the division headquarters being at Blue- 
Id. For several years before becoming a commissioner 

labor he had charge of one of the great electrically 
Eiren locomotives of the Norfolk & Western. 
Mr. Daufrhorty for many years has been a prominent mem- 
r of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. He is a 

'"' Arch Mason, Knight of Pythias and Elk and a 
r of the Methodist Church." 

nrried Miss May Walker, also a native of Virjiinia. 

■;x sons are James S., Hubert A., William C, Elmo, 

and Paul. All the people of the state as well as 

ugherty find reasons for pride in the record of his 

H.-C oldest sons, all in the service of their country in 

■ance during the World war. Hubert and William were 

lunteers after America entered the war with Germany. 

lines S. had been in the Regular Army for about three 

ars previously, was on the Mexican border during 191C, 

d was a member of General Pershing's bodyguard in the 

' miti\-e expedition into Mexico in the fall of that year. 

r. Daugherty is one of the comparatively few men in the 

ite who had three sons represented overseas in the late 



.1. Patterson' finds ample demand uipon his time 
-ntion in the discharging of nis several scholastic 
■utive functions. At West Liberty, Ohio County, 
t of one of the oldest of the state normal schools 
-t Virginia, he is principal of the high school and 
-y of the Board of Education, besides which he is 
_ ■ ffective servi<-e also as superintendent of the schools 

Lii'irty District. 

Mr. Patterson was born in Belmont County, Ohio, No- 
■mber 15, 1894, and is a foster son of Harrison and Lovina 
atterson, in whose home he was reared with all the loving 
lieitude and advantitious pri\'ilegcs that could be accorded 
• the most devoted of parents, with the result that he 
ive to them most loyal filial affection and has attributed 

their teachings and high ideals much of the success and 
Ivaneement which he has won in later years. The home 
' the Patterson family was at McMechen, West A^irginia, 
id there the foster son acquired his jireliminary education 
. the public schools. That he made good use of his ad- 
intages is shown by the fact that when he was fifteen 
•arg old he proved himself cligilile for and was admitted 
' the West Virginia State Normal School at West Lil)crty. 
is ambition, even at that time was to fit himself for teach- 
g, and to defray his expenses he worked in factories and 
1 farms, in mills and at other employment that would aid 
m in completing his education. He was graduated in 
le West Liberty Normal School as a member of the class 
' 1915, and has since been actively engaged in educa- 
onal work in the same community. He is, in 1922, serving 
3 second year as principal of the West Liberty High 
ihool, has been for two years secretary of the local Board 
" Education, and about two years also have marked his 
iministration as district superintendent of schools for 
iberty District, in which connection he haa supervision 
'. eleven schools and fifteen teachers. As principal of the 
igh school he has two assistant teachers, the enrollment 
f pupils numbering thirty-five. A new high-school build- 
ig is under construction and will be completed in the 
iring or siunmer of 1922, with modern equipment and 



six claifsrooms. Mr. Patterson ia identified with vmrioui 
educational associations, including the Wort Virginia 8tat« 
Teachers Association; he ia a past maator of Liberty Lodgv 
No. 26, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and in the 
Scottish Rite of the same time honored fraternity be hai 
received the thirty-second degree in the Consiatory at Wheel- 
ing where also he is a member of the Temple of' the Myatic 
Shrine. His wife, whose maiden name was Marjorie Smyth, 
is a daughter of W. B. Smyth, of Morgantown, and ibe 
was prior to her marriage a student in the West Lilicrty 
State Normal School. Mr. and Mrs. I'attoraon have two 
children, Robert Bruce and Carl J., Jr. 

Charles L. Wilson, who is secretary, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the Builders Sujiply Company at Fullana- 
bee, Brooke County, and who resides at Wcllsburg, the 
county seat, is one of the progressive and representative 
business men of his native county. 

The organization of the Builders Supply Company, in 
1904, was virtually coincident with the founding of the 
town of Follansbee, which was platted in the pre»'cding 
year. Mr. Wilson has been secretary, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the company from the time of its incor- 
poration, and the concern has been one of the important 
functions in connection with the development and upbuild- 
ing of the now thriving little industrial City of Follansbee. 
The company handles all kinds of building materials, con- 
trols a substantial local trade and gives employment to an 
adequate corps of assistants to the manager. 

.Mr. Wilson was born on a farm in Cross Creek Dis- 
trict, Brooke County, in the year 1879, and is a son of 
Georce L. and Rachel (Park) Wilson, both likewise natives 
of Brooke County, the Wilson family having here been 
established in the pioneer days, and Jonathan Wilson, 
grandfather of the subject of this sketch, having here 
i>een a representative farmer and citizen from his young 
manhood until his death, at advanced age. Robert Park, 
maternal grandfather of Charles L. Wilson, came to Amer- 
ica from Londonderry, Ireland, about the year 1797, and 
became one of the very early settlers in Brooke County, 
where he became actively identified with the operation of 
llatboats used in transporting produce and merchandise 
Hj) and down tlie Ohio River. Later he engaged in farm 
enterprise in Brooke County, and he passed the rest of 
his life on this farm and attained to the patriarchal age Of 
ninety-one years. His old homestead later became the 
property of George L. Wilson, and it was on this farm 
that the latter continued his productive activities until 1900. 
His death occurred in 1915, at the age of sixty-three years, 
and his widow died at the age of sixty-four years. It was 
on this old homestead that Charles L. Wilson was bom 
and reared, and he there remained until he was twenty- 
one years of age, his early education having been gained 
in the local schools and supplemented by a course in the 
high school at WellsVmrg and by attending a business 
college. His first business venture was in the establishing 
of a feed store at Wellsburg, and this enterprise he con- 
tinued until he became associated with Robert Scott, J. M. 
Walker, J. S. Liggett and George L. Wilson, his father, 
in organizing the Builders Supply Company of Follans- 
bee. The stock of the company is now held largely by 
local men and J. M. Brady is president of the corporation. 
Mr. Wilson was one of the original stockholders of the 
Citizens Bank of Follansbee, and had sened as a director 
of the same prior to becoming its vice president in 191,1. 
when Herman B. Mahan. former incumbent of this office, 
became president of the institution. Mr. Wilson is a demo- 
crat in politics, and in the Masonic fraternity he has 
received the thirty-second degree of the Scottish Rite. 

Mr. Wilson married Miss Margaret Bucy, daughter of 
Erasmus Bucy, of Wellsburg, and the two children of thif 
union are George and Margaret. 

ARTHtJB Lanohans has been a resident of Wheeling 
twenty years, going to that city from the Pittabnrgh Dis- 
trict, where he spent his early life. The name Langhans 
is associated all over the Wheeling District with the floral 



46 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



trade, and he has developed what is probably the largest 
retail flower business in this part of the Upper Ohio Valley. 

Mr. Langhans was born in the City of Allegheny, now 
a part of Greater Pittsburgh, July 1, 1876. His grand- 
father, William Langhans, spent his life in and around 
the City of Berlin, Germany, and for many years was 
actively identified with educational work tliere. He died 
at the age of sixty-eight. Herman Langhans, father of 
Arthur, was born at Berlin in 1837 and came to the 
United States about 1859. He possessed a liberal eduoa- 
tion and for a number of years was a professor in private 
schools in Allegheny, Pennsylvania. Ill health eventually 
forced him out of this profession, and he went into the 
dry goods business, but for the last ten years of his life 
was connected with the Equitable Life Insurance Company 
of Pittsburgh. He died at Allengheny in 190.5. He was a 
democratic voter until Cleveland 's second election and there- 
after voted as a republican. He was always very diligent 
in the performance of his duties as a member of the Luth- 
eran Church. His wife, Mary Hallstein, was born at Zeli- 
enople in Butler County, Pennsylvania, in 1844, and died 
at Allegheny in 1886. She became the mother of seven 
children: Harry J., an artist who died at Pittsburgh at 
the age of twenty-two; Theodore P., secretary and part 
owner of the Pittsburgh Cut Flower Company; Arthur; 
Hulda, wife of Alfred Bechtold, a representative of the 
Macaskey Register Company, living at Belleview, Pennsyl- 
vania; Dora, wife of Edward Taylor, a machinist at States- 
ville, North Carolina; Rev. Walter S., a Lutheran minister 
in Peimsylvania ; Allen M., an oil operator at Warren, 
Pennsylvania. 

Arthur Langhans acquired a public-school education at 
Allegheny, graduating from high school in 1892. The 
year following he spent in the Pittsburgh office of R. O. 
bun & Company, and for six years was shipping clerk 
for the Kaufmann Department Stores Company. With the 
lienefit of this general business training Mr. Langhans en- 
tered the flower business as a retail florist at Steubenville, 
Ohio, remaining there for three years, and in 1901 sought 
a larger field at Wheeling. In this city he established his 
first retail flower shop at 1404 Market Street. He moved 
to a larger store at 1157 Market Street in 1905, and with 
the continued growth of his business he finally moved to 
1217 Chapline Street, where he has a store and offices in 
which he directs the largest retail floral business in this 
part of the state. He employs as high as forty-two hands 
in the business. The freshest of flowers come from 
"Langhans the Florist, " and shipments are made from his 
store to hundreds of towns around Wheeling. Mr. Lang- 
hans is also a director in the Wheeling Bank & Trust Com- 
pany, is a republican, is a trustee of the First United 
Presbyterian Church of Wheeling and is affiliated with 
Wheeling Lodge No. 5, F. and A. M., West Virginia Con 
sistory No. 1 of the Scottish Rite and Osiris Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine. He is a member of Wheeling Lodge No. 28. 
B. P. O. E., the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and 
the Wheeling Country Club. Duiing the Spanish-American 
war he was a member of the Pennsylvania State Guard and 
was mustered into service with the Nival Reserves. Mr. 
Langhans has a very attractive home on Hawthorne Court, 
Woodsdale, Wheeling. The house itself is one of the beau- 
tiful ones of that attractive residence suburb, but the dis- 
tinctive features are the grounds and flower gardens main- 
tained by Mr. Langhans. 

In 1899, near Belleview, Pennsylvania, Mr. Langhans 
married Adah Blanche Taylor, daughter of Samuel and 
Agnes M. (Oakley) Taylor, her mother still living at Belle- 
view, where her father died. He was a farmer. Mrs. 
Langhans finished her education in a business school. 

Emmet L. Bailey, mayor of Bluefield, can probably 
claim the distinction of being the oldest native son of 
that industrial and commercial city, and both as a business 
man and citizen has made a career that honors his birth- 
place. Mr. Bailey for a number of years was in the 
railroad service, until his manufacturing and other in- 
dustrial interests demanded his entire attention. He is 



president of the Bailey Lumber Company and presid t 
of the Bluefield Garage Company. 

His birth occurred within what is now the city limits f 
Bluefield, at Beaverpond Springs, April 20, 1865. His p- 
ents were Capt. John Madison and Sarah Antoinette (Ke) 
Bailey. John M. Bailey was a native of Tazewell Cour , 
Virginia, and served throughout the entire Civil war in 3 
Confederate Army, being captain of his company, and to 
of his brothers lost their lives in the war. Captain BaU 
was a prosperous farmer, but in later years lost his pr ■ 
erty through paying security debts. His death was due :i 
an accident at Bluefield when a freight yard engine la 
over him. He was active in politics as a democrat, £,J 
was a member of the Christian Church. His home was e 
second house erected in Bluefield. He was of English - 
cestry and of a very sturdy race of people. His wife, San 
Antoinette Kerr, was born in Berlin, Germany, and is 
thirteen years of age when her family settled in Tazev 1 
County, Virginia. She died in 1915, at the age of eigh- 
four. Of her ten children eight are living, Emmet L. - 
ing the sixth in age. 

Emmet L. Bailey finished his education in Mulligan ( 
lege near Johnson City, Tennessee, but left school at ? 
age of sixteen to become clerk in a store at Lowell, W t 
Virginia, on the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad. A year lar 
he became a brakeman in the service of the Norfolk c 
Western Railroad between Radford and Pocahontas, i. 
Bailey was very competent in railroading, evidence of whi 
is found in the fact that eight months after he becama 
brakeman he was promoted to freight conductor, and th ? 
years later was a passenger conductor on a run betwi 1 
Roanoke, Virginia, and Bluefield and from Bluefield ) 
Kenova. He was conductor of the first passenger train n 
over the division between Bluefield and Kenova. At tU 
time the operation of trains over this road was attend 
with difficulties and numerous hazards. He continued 3 
work as a passenger conductor for twelve years and becas 
personally known to a large part of the citizenship patror - 
ing the road from Roanoke to Kenova, and is still refer 1 
to by them as Captain Bailey. 

In 1898, while still in the service of the railroad, 1. 
Bailey became a member of the partnership Suddithi 
Bailey, operating circular saw mills in Scott County, 'V • 
ginia, and McDowell County, West Virginia. At one tU 
the firm had three mills in operation in McDowell Cour , 
one in Scott County, while Mr. Bailey personally opera 1 
one in Mercer County. He gave up his position with e 
railroad in 1901 to give his entire time to his lumbers 
and other interests. Earl.y in November, 1912, the Baic 
Lumber Company was incorporated, of which he has sre 
been president. The main plant of this company \s 
erected on land belonging to Mr. Bailey at Bluefield. Ts 
plant is equipped with modern machinery, making up le 
of the most efficient lumbering plants in the southern pt 
of West Virginia. The product comprises a large and - 
portant line of construction material. Only recently a lae 
amount has been expended on new equipment and enlar - 
ment. Mr. Bailey is also president of the Bluefield Gane 
Company. He is a director of the Flat Top National Bsk 
of Bluefield, of which he was one of the original organizd. 
He is also a director of the Bluefield Supply Company, f 
which he was also one of the organizers. This is a $.500,(3 
corporation. In 190."? he assisted in organizing the Willis - 
son Coal & Coke Company, and had an active part in s 
early management. He also opened the Suddith Mine fl 
the Bailey Mine on Pond Creek in Pike County, Kentuc. 
Mr. Bailey sold his coal interests in 1920. Since 1903 e 
has been an influential factor in the building up of Bl'- 
field, both from the material and civic point of view, e 
has had complete faith in the community where he '^a 
born, and his good citizenship has caused him to be urj3 
many times for the post of mayor, but he declined tit 
honor until recently. The City of Bluefield is to be c ■ 
gratulated on the able man it now has in charge of its r ■ 
nicipal affairs. 

June 20, 1893, Captain Bailey married Mabel Gertne 
Kutz, daughter of James A. Kutz, of Allentown, Penns- 
vania. Their four children are Paul H., Loraine, Glats 



HISTORY OB^ WEST VIRGINIA 



47 



and Richard. Mrs. Bailey and her children are members 
of the Lutheran Church, while he is affiliated with the Chris- 
tian Church. He is a member of the Lodge, Royal Arch 
Chapter and Knight Templar Commandery of the Masons 
at Bluefield, West Virginia Consistory at Wheeling, and 
.ilso the Shrine at Charleston. He still retains member- 
ship in the Order of Railway Conductors and is a member 
of the Kiwanis Club and Country Club. 

Robert Millioan Addleman during an incumbency of sii 
vears has made an impressive and dignified record as a 
judge of the First Judicial Circuit of West Virginia at 
Wheeling. Judge Addleman has allowed no large outside 
.ispirations to interfere with his success within the strict 
field of the legal profession. He has practiced law at 
Wheeling a quarter of a century, and the official honors 
he has enjoyed have been only those for which members 
of the bar are qualified. 

Judge Addleman was born in Greene County, Pennsyl- 
vania, July 21, 1866. There were three Addleman brothers 
who came' from Germany and settled in America shortly 
ifter the Revolutionary war. One of them became a resi- 
dent of Pennsylvania, another of Ohio, and the third went 
still further west. Judge Addleman belongs to the Pennsyl- 
vania branch. His father, Solomon Addleman, was a life- 
long resident of Greene County, where he was born in 
1836 and died in 1906. He owned extensive farming in- 
terests, and throughout his farming career was a leader 
in the rural affairs of Southwestern Pennsylvania. He 
served as a member of the School Board, voted as a re- 
publican, and for many years was a faithful member of 
the Christian Church. He married Nancy Hill, who was 
liorn in Wa.shingrton County. Pennsylvania, in 1841, and died 
in Greene County, Pennsylvania, in 1889. Of their chil- 
dren Elizabeth is the wife of James K. Gayman, a farmer 
of Washington County, Pennsylvania; Decima, living in 
Washington County, is the widow of James R. Hawkins, 
a farmer; James Curtain, a farmer in Greene County; 
Thomas Stewart was a farmer and died in Greene County 
at the age of forty; Robert M. was the only son to take 
up a professional care-^r; Ella, who died in Washington 
County at the age of thirty-five, was the -wife of William 
Wise, a farmer still living in that county; Cora was acci- 
dentally killed at the age of fourteen; and another daugh- 
ter died in infancy. 

Robert M. Addleman spent his boyhood on a farm, 
tnjoyed its healthful work and pastimes, attended rural 
schools, and finished his literary education with a year 
and a half in Waynesburg College in Pennsylvania and com- 
pleted his junior year in Bethany College at Bethany, West 
Virginia. Mr. Addleman took his law course at the Uni- 
versity of Michigan, graduating LL.B. in 1895. In the 
fall of the same year he came to Wheeling, where he soon 
won for himself a place of secure advantage in his pro- 
fession, and where he was successfully engaged in general 
practice until his elevation to the bench. Judge Addle- 
nan had been in practice more than ten years before he 
iccepted any of the public duties of the profession. From 
1908 to 19i2 he was city solicitor of Wheeling, and was 
the prosecuting attorney for Ohio County from 1912 to 
1914. It was by appointment from Governor Henry D. 
Hatfield that he went on the bench as judge of the First 
ludicial Circuit of West Virginia. In the fall of 1916 he 
was elected by popular vote to fill out the unexpired term, 
ind in November, 1920, was elected for a full term of 
•ight years, this term expiring in December, 1928. 

Judge Addleman is a well-known member of the Ohio 
bounty and State Bar associations. He is a republican. 
»nd in Masonrv is affiliated with Wheeling Lodge No. i>, 
K. F. and A. M., West Vireinia Consistory No. 1 of the 
Sottish Rite, and Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine at 
KTieeling. He also belongs to WTieelins: Lodge No. 4, 
Kniehfs of Pythias. His home is an attractive residence at 
Birch Lynn, Wheeling. 

October 1, 1896. in Washington County. Pennsylvania, 
fndee Addleman married Miss Margaret Johes, daughter 

•f Rev. Alexander Campbell and Phoebe (Mitchell) Jobes, 

he latter deceased. Rev. Mr. Jobes is a retired minister 



of the Christian Church and Uvea with Judge and Mra. 
Addleman. Mrs. Addleman is a graduate of Bethany Col- 
lege. 

RiCHAKD BoBEBTSoN has l,«n a resident of Wheeling 
more than seventy years. As a youth he learned the print- 
er's trade, fur a long time was identified with the prioting 
business and at times had a ]iart in the fortunes of several 
newspaper ventures. Mr. Robertson is now prmticnlly re 
tired, though still financially interested in one or two bank- 
ing organizations. 

He was born at Uagerstown. Maryland, November 7, 
1845. His grandfather was of Irish descent, s|>ont most of 
his life at Uagerstown, and enjoyed a great reputation 
as an earnest and eloquent minister of the Presbyterian 
Church. He finally came to Wheeling, where ho died. 
William Robertson father of Richard, was born at llagcm- 
town, where for a number of years he was a merchant, and 
in 1849 moved to Wheeling and added his enterprise to 
the mercantile interests of the city about the time the first 
railroad came. He conducted a prosperous store at Market 
and old Union streets. He died at Wheeling ot the age 
of sixty years. He was an old-line whig in politics, filled 
the office of alderman in Wheeling for a number of terms, 
and was a very liberal contributing member of the First 
Presbyterian Church. He married Elizabeth Clark, a native 
of Hagerstown, who died at Wheeling. They had a large 
family of twelve children, and several of the sons liecame 
soldiers during the Civil war: John, who was a Union 
soldier, left this community soon after the war and was 
never heard of again by his family; Mary, his twin sister, 
never married and died at Wheeling; William went into 
the Confederate Army, was killed in the Virginia Valley 
early in the war; James, a Union soldier and a mill worker 
in civilian life^ dieil at Wheeling soon after the war; 
Clagget, a Union soldier, died at Wheeling at the age of 
thirty-five; Richard; Edward, twin brother of Richard, was 
also a printer, had a record as a Union soldiir ami die<l 
at Wheeling; Harry, a mill worker, died at Wheeling; 
Marsh, who also worked in the mills, died at Wheeling; 
George died at Wheeling in early life; Sallie, of Wheeling, 
widow of William S. Meek, who was a printer; and Mis-s 
Helen of Wheeling. 

Richard Robertson acquired a public-school education at 
Wheeling, but left school at the age of fourteen and en 
tered a printer's office. He learned the printing trade ac 
cording to the old-time standards of that profession, and 
for many years was recognized as one of the eif>ert8. In 
1875 he established a printing office of his own, and con- 
ducted it for several years and also established The 
Wheeling Sunday News Letter, which he edited. He l>e- 
came associated with Mr. Ogden in printing an evening 
paper, but eventually sold his interests to Mr. Ogden. He 
continued in the job printing business for a number of 
years, but has been f>ractically retired since 190.1. Mr. 
Robertson is a director in the' Center Wheeling Bank, of 
which he was one of the founder.^i, and is also one of the 
founders and a director of the Community Savings & Loan 
Company. 

He was twice elected and for twelve years held the office 
nf clerk of the Court of Ohio County. He is a republican, 
has for many years been a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce, and is affiliated with Wheeling Lodge No. 2«. 
B. P. O. E. He is owner of some valuable real estate in 
Wheeling, including his modern home at 96 Fourt^-enth 
Street another fine dwelling on the same street and one 
on Nineteenth Street. At Wheeling Mr. Robertson married 
Miss Mary Emmert. a native of that city, where she was 
reared and educated. 

Archie Q. Moitat is a native of Wheeling and for « 
Quarter of a century has been closely i.lentified with tie 
growth and development of the Wheeling Corrugating Com- 
pany, of which he is vice president. Mr. Moffat is a leader 
in industrial affairs, and is well known in business circles 

^''^^^^^"Vorn fftheeling, Februa-T 11. 18". HI, gr.j,d^ 
father, John Moffat, was a native of Scotland, came to the 



48 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



United States when a young man and settled in Belmont 
County, Ohio, and later moved to the east side of the river 
at Wheeling. He was a minister of the Presbyterian Cliurch 
and died at Wheeling in 1878. Thomas C. Moffat, son of 
Eev. Mr. Moffat, was born in Belmont County, Ohio, in 
1848, but since early boyhood has lived at Wheeling. He 
was a merchant tailor for twenty-five years, for eighteen 
years was clerk of the Board of County Commissioners, and 
has since been identified with the automobile business in con- 
nection with the Engineering and Equipment Company of 
Wheeling. Thomas C. Moffat is a republican, and is very 
faithful in his membership iu the Presbyterian Church. He 
married Blanche Quarrier, who was born at Wheeling in 
1853. Archie Q. is the oldest of their children. Mary is 
the wife of John W. Storer, a dentist at Wheeling. Blanche 
is the wife of Harry C. Hazlett, a Wheeling broker. Jessie 
is the wife of Hon. Jesse A. Bloch, first vice president of 
the Bloch Brothers Tobacco Company. 

Archie Q. Moffat attended public school in Wheeling to 
the age of seventeen, following which he had a valuable 
commercial training as an employe of the wholesale house 
of the Speidel Grocery Company. On January 1, 1897, he 
entered the service of the Wheeling Corrugating Company 
as clerk, and has enjoyed a most gratifying promotion 
through various stages with that corporation and has been 
its vice president since January 1, 1921. For ten years he 
was manager of the branch warehouse at Philadelphia. 
The main oflSce and plant are at the east end of Seventeenth 
Street in Wheeling. 

Mr. Moffat is a member of the Fort Henry Club and 
Wheeling Country Club, the Duquesne Club of Pittsburgh 
and the Union League Club of New York City. He is a 
republican and a member of the Episcopal Church. In 1902, 
at Wheeling, he married Miss Sue M. Caldwell, daughter of 
Col. George B. and Sue (Smith) Caldwell. Col. George B. 
Caldwell was one of the eminent lawyers of his day in 
Wheeling, where he practiced for many years, and had at- 
tained the rank of lieutenant-colonel in the Union army. 

Frank Randolph Lyon, vice president in charge of 
operations of the great industrial corporation known as 
the Consolidation Coal Company, with headquarters at 
Fairmont, Marion County, was born in Bradford County, 
Pennsylvania, on the 27th of September, 1871, and is a 
son of the late Locke L. and Sarah (Bowman) Lyon, 
both likewise natives of Bradford County. In the earlier 
part of his career the father was engaged in mercantile 
business in Bradford County, and later, when the son 
Frank R. was a boy, removal was made to the State of 
Colorado, where the father was for a number of years 
interested in mineral properties and mining developments, 
his ileath having occurred in the City of Denver, that 
state, in 1909, when he was sixty-five years of age. Mrs. 
Lyon also passed away in Denver, her death occurring 
in 1898. 

Frank R. Lyon did not accompany his parents on their 
removal to Colorado, and for a number of years there- 
after resided in the home of one of his uncles in Penn- 
sylvania. He supplemented the discipline of the public 
schools by a course in the Pennsylvania State Normal 
School at Mansfield, in which he was graduated in 1889 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. Aside from his 
■egular studies he also took up the study of engineering, 
inder the preceptorship of Professor Ewing, a member 
if the faculty of the normal school, and in his vacation 
periods he gained practical experience through employ- 
ment in the engineering offices of the Blossburg Coal Com- 
pany at Arnot, Pennsylvania. After leaving the normal 
school he found employment as transit man in the employ 
of the coal company mentioned, and later he came to 
West Virginia and assumed a position under Chief En- 
gineer Tyler, of the Monongah Coal Company, near Fair- 
mont. Upon his return to Pennsylvania he joined the 
survey and location corps in charge of the construction 
of a broad-gauge railroad which was being constructed in 
connection with the development of lumbering industry. 
After being thus employed about eighteen months Mr. 
Lyon passed four years at Evansville, Indiana, as chief 



engineer in charge of the Sunnyside Coal Company. H 
next became chief engineer for the Rock Hill Iron i 
Coal Company of Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania, an^ 
his service in this connection continued about four years 
In 1901 he engaged independently in practice as an er 
gineer, opening an office at Somerset, Pennsylvania. I 
the following year he became identified with the Somerse 
Coal Company, at its organization, and was made dis 
trict superintendent. Shortly after the organization o 
the Somerset Coal Company the Watson interests becam 
interested in this company. Six months later Mr. Lyo 
was advanced to the position of assistant general supei 
intendcnt, and in the fall of 1904 he became assistar 
general superintendent of the Consolidation Coal Con 
pany at Frostburg, Maryland, this likewise being a Wai 
son interest. A year later he became general superii 
tendent of the Somerset Coal Company, of which he wa 
made manager in 1906. In 1913 Mr. Lyon establishe 
his headquarters at Fairmont as general manager of ope 
ations of the Consolidation Coal Company, and in Apr: 
1919, he was made vice president of the company, in whic 
office he has since continued, with effective functionin 
in charge of operations. ] 

Mr. Lyon is afiSliated with the Masonic Order, and j 
a Thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, a Knight! 
Templar, and a Shriner. At Johnstown, Pennsylvania, he 
a life member of the lodge of the Benevolent and Protecti^ 
Order of Elks, and in his home City of Fairmont 1 
is an active member of the Chamber of Commerce an 
the Rotary Club. Mr. Lyon is a director of the Fai 
mont Mining Machinery Company, is vice president ( 
the Fairmont Supply Company, and is a director of tl 
Fairmont Building & Investment Company. He and h 
wife are communicants of the Protestant Episcopal Chure 

In 1906 Mr. Lyon wedded Miss Mary E. Beerits, daug 
ter of Henry Beerits, a representative wholesale and r 
tail merchant of Somerset, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mi 
Lvon have three children: Sarah B., Frank R., Jr., ai 
Robert B. 

Joseph H. Reass, Jr., who was a captain in the arn 
service during the World war, has been prominent iu bui 
ness affairs at Wheeling for many years. He is secreta 
and treasurer of the Wheeling Savings & Loan Associatio 

Captain Reass was born at Wheeling, April 17, 1881. T 
Reass family has been in Wheeling for seventy years. B 
grandfather, Mathew Reass, was born at Frankfort-on-tl 
Main, Germany, in 1822. He was prominent in the repu 
lican movement in Germany during the '40s, was preside, 
of one of the republican governments in 1848, and becau; 
of his prominence as a leader after the collapse of ti 
Revolution he suffered exile, went to Paris in 1849, then) 
to London, and in 1850 settled at Wheeling, where he spe: 
the rest of his life as a carpenter contractor. He died i 
1887. His wife was Catherine Limburger, a native ' 
Germany, who died at Wheeling. 

Their son, Joseph F. Reass, was born at Wheeling, 1< 
vember 15, 1858, and has spent a busy and honored life i 
this city. For many years^ until he retired in 1913, '- 
conducted a transfer business. Some years ago he ma; 
the race for the city council, received the largest major:' 
ever given a candidate for that office, but after one term t 
this service he refused reelection and never again has souft 
any political honor. He is a republican, a member of 01) 
Valley Lodge Knights of Pythias and John A. Logi 
Council No. 95, Junior Order United American Mechani. 
Joseph F. Reass married Margaret Wilkerson, who was bti 
January 15, 1856, and was reared and educated at N{- 
castle on Tyne, England. After losing her parents by deii 
she came at the age of twenty to the United States ai 
located at Wheeling. Joseph F. Reass and wife had tJ 
children, Joseph H. and George M. The latter represas 
the Pinkerton Tobacco Company of Toledo and lives t 
Wheeling. ■ ' 

Joseph H. Reass was educated in the public schools i 
Wheeling, graduated from Linsly Institute in 1898, and :r 
about two years was a traveling representative for le 
Block Brothers Tobacco Company, covering Pennsylvar- 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



49 



Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. He then entered business with 
his father under the name Joseph Reass & Sons, and gave 
much of his time to this transfer and local transportation 

, concern until 1913. 

'•■ the meantime, in 1902. Mr. Reass established the Reass 

nising Company, of which he is still proprietor. Be- 

iifj merely as a local auxiliary to Wheeling business, it 

_ni«n and developed as au organization with an almost 

:.:J scope. It makes a specialty of outdoor advertising 

ard tacking, and is said to be the largest card tacking 

II nil lu the United States, its service being availed by firms 

and business houses in every state of the Union. From 1913 

I until he entered the army Mr. Reass gave his entire time to 

(.the advertising business. 

I He offered his services to the Government the very day 

I war was declared against Germany. May 13, 1917, he 
entered the First Officers Training Camp at Fort Benjamin 
Harrison, Indiana, was commissioned second lieutenant, was 
ordered to Camp Sherman, Ohio, and there organized the 
first teamsters' school in the National army. He commanded 
Wagou Company No. 318, and in December, 1917, was 
transferred to Camp Wadsworth, Spartanburg, South Caro- 
lina, with the Twenty-seventh Division as assistant to the 
commanding officer, A. R. D. No. 307. Next he was at 
Camp Upton, New York, in March, 1918, and organized 
and commanded Wagon Company No. 302, known as the 
New York Gunmen. He had in the meantime been ad- 
vanced to a first lieutenancy and then to the rank of captain. 
Captain Reass next organized the Emharkation Remount 
Depot at Jersey City, and this organization supervised the 
shipment of every horse and mule that went out of New 
York Harbor for the American Expeditionary Forces. 
Captain Reass after nearly two years of army service re- 
signed March 1, 1919. 

Soon after his return to Wheeling he organized ^\^leeling 
Post No. 1 of the American Legion. He was a delegate to 
the St. Louis convention of 1919 when the various posts 
through their delegates organized the National Association 
of the American Legion. In 1920 Captain Reass organized 
the Wheeling Savings & Loan Association, of which he has 
since been secretary and treasurer. This association has 
grown under his direction faster than any building and loan 
association in the state, and in point of re.sources and sub- 
stantial service now stands in the front rank. Its offices are 
at Fourteenth and Market streets and the oflicers are: 
Charles Hartman, president; H. L. Kirk, vice president; and 
Joseph H. Reass, secretary and treasurer. Captain Reass is 
also treasurer of the Wheeling Foreign Corporation. 

He is allied with the republican party in politics. He has 
several times been a candidate for alderman-at-large in 
Wheeling. He is a member of the Lutheran Church, Ohio 
Lodge No. 1, F. and A. M., Wheeling Consistory No. 1 of 
the Scottish Rite is a past chancellor of Baltimore Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias, a member of Wheeling Lodge No. 9, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Wheeling Council 
No. 37, United Commercial Travelers. His home is at 41 
Kentucky Street. 

In 1907, at Wheeling, Captain Reass married Miss Julia 
Loftus, daughter of Michael J. and Julia Loftus, now de- 
ceased. Her father for some years was superintendent of 
the Wheeling Traction Company. Captain Reass lost his 
first wife by death in 1914. She was the mother of three 
cMldrcn: Julia Margaret, born in 1908; Joseph Loftus, 
bom in 1911; and Rose Catherine, who died at the age of 
nine months. In 1917 Captain Reass married Miss Viola 
Winters. She was born at Elm Grove, Wheeling. They 
have two daughters, Viola Jeanette, born in 1918, and Mary 
Catherine, bom in 1920. 

Campbell H. Hendebson. Soon after completing his edu- 
cation Campbell H. Henderson was diverted into the news- 
paper business, beginning as a circulation manager, and has 
been actively identified with the fortunes of the WTieeling 
Telegraph almost throughout its existence, covering nearly 
twenty years. He is general manager of this, one of the 
strongest and most in^uential newspapers in Upper West 
Virginia. 

Mr. Henderson was bom at Wheeling, January 2, 1881. 



This branch of the Henderson family baa been in West Vir 
ginia for a number of generations. His grandfather. Thomoj 
Henderson, was born in the state, and spent practically all 
his life at Triadelphia in Ohio County. For u number of 
years he was captain on Ohio and Minsissipid River steam- 
boats, making frequent voyages between Pittsburgh and 
New Orleans. In later years he ilevoted Ids time and 
ener^'ies to the operation of his farm at Triadelphia. where 
he died about 1877. 

David H. Henderson father of the Wheeling newspaper 
man, was born at Triadelphia in Ib.'.O, lived in that vicinity 
for a number of years and operated a large farm, and in 
1880 moved to Wheeling, but continued the operation and 
ownership of a dairy farm near the city. This farm woj 
noted for its blooded stock. David Henderson died at 
Wheelmg in 1917. He was a republican, and one of the 
very active members of the First Preshyterian Church. He 
married Margaret Garrison, who was born at Wheeling in 
1852, and is still living in that city. Campbell U. is the 
oldest of their children. Thomas 'is a civil engineer in 
Orange, New Jersey. Charles is chief clerk for the Amer- 
ican Sheet & Tin Plate Company at Wheeling. Margaret 
is the wife of Charles Leiphart, a jiostal employe at Wheel- 
ing. William is an accountant for the Federal Ship Build- 
ing Company at Newark, New Jersey. 

Campbell U. Henderson attended public school, graduated 
from the Wheeling Business College in 1898, and soon after- 
ward became circulation manager for the News Publishing 
Company. He was with the News Company four years, and 
then joined the recently established Wieeling Telegraph as 
circulation manager. During the next four years he gave 
the Telegraph its secure position in circulation, and since 
then has been general manager of the company and business. 
The Telegraph is an independent republican paper, pub- 
lished at 68 Sixteenth Street, and has a large circulation 
throughout the city and surrounding district. 

The only important interruption to his newspaper work 
came in 1917, when Mr. Henderson was appointed chief of 
police of Wheeling, an office he filled two years. He is a 
republican, secretary of the First Presbyterian Church, and 
is a past grand of Wheeling Lodge No. 9, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. His home is at 121 Nineteenth 
Street at Warwood. Wheeling. In 1908 he married Miss 
Mary L. KindelhergiT, a native of Wheeling and a graduate 
of the Wheeling High School and the Wheeling Business 
College. Before her marriage she taught in the public 
schools for three years and for one year was a teacher in 
the Linsly Institute at Wheeling. Mr. and Mrs. Henderson 
have two children, David, born July 27, 1910, and Louise, 
born December 15, 1913. 

S.VMUEL Sprioo Jacob is one of the most venerable and 
most highly honored native sons of Ohio County, and is liv- 
ing in gracious retirement at his pleasant home five miles 
northeast of Wheeling. He was born on the old family 
homestead on Short Creek, Ohio County, June 23, 1838, and 
is the eldest son of the late John J. and Mabala (Ridgely) 
Jacob. Zachariah Jacob, great-grandfather of the subject 
of this review, was born in Wales, of worthy Jewish lineage, 
and came to America prior to the War of the Revolution, 
the personal name of his wife having been Susannah, and 
their children having been Samuel Ezekiel, William, 
Susannah, John J. and Gabriel. Gabriel, father of John J. 
(II), was born July 1, 1759, and died March 20, 1822, he 
having married Ruth Hurst, of Washington County, Mary- 
land, and their children having been John J., Joseph, 
Zachariah and Susan (twins), Ezekiel and Samuel. Gabriel 
Jacob became the pioneer representative of the family in 
what is now the State of West Virginia. About 1790 he 
settled on Short Creek, in the present Ohio County, and the 
old homestead farm continued in the oossession of his 
descendants until about 1919, the last of tne family to have 
owned the property having been Absolom R. Jacob, now a 
resident of Woodsdale, this county. Gabriel Jacob did well 
his part in connection with the social and industrial develop- 
ment of this section of the state, and his remains were laid 
to rest in the pioneer cemetery in connection with the 
Methodist Church of the Short Creek neighborhood, the 



50 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



ancient churcliyard, with its numerous graves, now covering 
also the site of the original church building. Among the 
graves are those of the maternal grandparents of the sub- 
ject of this sketch. Mrs. Buth (Hurst) Jacob survived her 
husband by a number of years. Their son Joseph became 
a physician, but passed his active life on his farm, where 
he died in 18ti8; Zachariah, the third son, became a suc- 
cessful lawyer in the City of Wheeling, where he died in 
1868, his twin sister, Susan, having become the wife of Rev. 
James Moore, a clergyman of the Methodist Church, and 
their home having been in Belmont County, Ohio; Ezekiel, 
the fourth son, died young; and Samuel became a repre- 
sentative banker and citizen of Wellsburg, Brooke County, 
where he died at an advanced age. John J., eldest of the 
children, was born December 26, 1790, and died October 15, 
1848. As a young man he wedded Elizabeth Mitchell 
Fetter, a widow and daughter of Alexander Mitchell. They 
became the parents of five children: Gabriel, Alexander M., 
Anne Susan, Ruth and Sarah. After the death of his first 
wife John J. Jacob married Mahala W. Ridgely, and they 
became the parents of four children: Samuel Sprigg, A. 
Ridgely, John J. (Ill), and DrusUla R., the last mentioned, 
having become the wife of Abram McColloch, a brother of 
the wife of her brother Samuel S., of this sketch. 

Gabriel, eldest son of the late John J. Jacob, was a resi- 
dent of Wheeling at the time of his death, when thirty-five 
years of age; Alexander M. married a daughter of Andrew 
P. Wood and was a resident of Iowa at the time of his 
death; Anne Susan became the wife of James Montgomery, 
of Lewisburg, West Virginia; Ruth married the latter 's 
brother, William Montgomery, and they likewise resided at 
Lewisburg; Sarah married Isaac H. Patterson, and they died 
at St. Glairsville, Ohio, where two of their sons still reside. 

Mahala W. (Ridgely) Jacob, mother of him whose name 
initiates this review, was eighty-eight years of age at the 
time of her death, in 1900. She was a daughter of Absolom 
and Drusilla (Mills) Ridgely, who died at the respective 
ages of eighty and sixty-six years, the old Ridgely farm be- 
ing now in possession of the Jacob family. A sister of Mrs. 
Mahala W. Jacob became the wife of Dr. L. Edward Smith, 
of Brooke County, and was ninety-four years of age at the 
time of her death. A. Ridgely Jacob, next younger brother 
of Samuel S., resides at Woodsdale, Ohio County; John J. 
lives at Elm Grove, this county; and Drusilla R., the 
widow of Abram McColloch, is a resident of Elm Grove. 

Absolom Ridgely, Sr., was born near Baltimore, Maryland, 
in 1769, and came to the present Ohio County, West Vir- 
ginia, about 1790. In 1799 he married Diusilla, daughter 
of Levi Mills, and eventually he purchased the old Mills 
farm, on which he died in 1850, his wife, who was born in 
this county in 1781, having died in 1847. They became the 
parents of ten children, of whom Mahala W. was the 
seventh. John J. Jacob, father of the subject of this 
sketch, was a first cousin of Hon. John J. Jacob, who served 
as governor of West Virginia and who was a resident of 
Wheeling at the time of his death. 

Samuel Sprigg Jacob gained his early education in the 
common schools of the middle-pioneer period in the history 
of Ohio County, and in 1856 he removed with his mother to 
Wheeling, where for three years he was a student in Lins- 
ly Institute. Thereafter he continued his studies two years 
in the academy at Morgantown, where he boarded in the 
home of the widow of Thomas P. Ray, on the site of the 
present State University. After completing his studies Mr. 
Jacob returned with his widowed mother to the" old home 
farm. In 1914 he sold his fine old farm estate of 300 acres, 
where he had been especially successful as a wool-grower, 
and in the same year he established his residence in his 
present attractive home. Though a stanch democrat in a 
strong republican district, Mr. Jacob has secure place in 
popular esteem and has been called to service in local oflSces 
of public trust, including that of supervisor under the old 
system of county government. For eight years he was a 
valued member of the State Board of Agriculture. His 
religious faith is that of the Methodist Church, and he has 
been affiliated with the Masonic fraternity since 1866, when 
he was ' ' raised ' ' in Liberty Lodge No. 26, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, at West Liberty. After serving twenty- 



nine years as secretary of this lodge he was, in 1916, pre- 
sented by the organization with a handsome silver loving- 
cup, and he is now the oldest member of this lodge both in' 
years and in period of consecutive affiliation. 

In 1868 Mr. Jacob married Mary L. McColloch, daughter 
of tlie late Samuel McCoUoch, of Ohio County, and of this 
union have been born six children: Clarence died in in- 
fancy; Samuel S., Jr., is superintendent of the Triadelphia 
district schools; Mary Lillian is a popular teacher in the 
Woodsdale schools; Frank H. died in infancy; Mahala B., 
widow of Archibald N. McColloch, resides at the paternal 
home; and John J. is a civil engineer in the service of the 
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company. The loved and de- 
voted wife and mother passed to the life eternal in 1911, 
after a married companionship of forty-three years. Mr. 
Jacob is the only surviving incorporator of the Short Creek 
Cemetery Association, which was incorporated in 1871 and 
of which he has been the secretary for fifty years. 

Otto Jaegek as a youth learned the art of engraving ol 
glass, has been an expert connected with the glass industry 
for many years, and has given Wheeling one of the largest 
industries of its kind in the country, the Bonita Art Glass 
Company, of which he is secretary, treasurer and general 
manager. 

Mr. Jaeger was born at St. Goar in a Rhine province ol 
Germany, June 26, 1853. His father, Frederick William 
Jaeger, a native of Germany, was a man of most substantial 
attainments. He served fifteen years in the Prussian army, 
retiring with the rank of captain and with a pension, at one 
time was attorney-general at Cologne, and in 1866 he came 
to the United States and located in New York City, where 
he employed his skill as an instrumental musician as a 
professor of music. He died in New York City. He was a 
republican and a member of the Lutheran Church. His 
wife, Anna Mary Jaeger, was born in Germany and also 
died in New York City. They had a large family of chil 
dren, briefly mentioned as follows: Bertha, of New Yort 
City, whose husband, Captain Gehle, was a sea captain; 
Pauline married H. Meyer, clerk in a large importing house 
and both died in New York City; Emil was a lithographei 
and died in New York City; Otto was the fourth in age; 
Carl was a gUder by trade and died at New York; Emms 
died at Bridgeport, Connecticut, where her husband, Mr 
Merkle, was manager of a department store; Louisa is th< 
wife of EmU Leu, a chiropodist at Bridgeport, Connecticut; 
Alexander is a train dispatcher with one of the elevatec 
railway companies of New Y^ork; Josephine is the wife of t 
railway conductor living at Jersey City, New Jersey ; Arthui 
is a lithographer at Philadelphia; and Matilda is the wif< 
of Ernst Nauman, who has charge of a large iron work; 
plant and lives at Brooklyn. 

Otto Jaeger was about thirteen years of age when he cam( 
to America. He attended government schools in German] 
and while there studied English, French and his nativi 
tongue. After coming from New York City he roundec 
out his knowledge of English, but left school at the age O- 
sixteen to serve his apprenticeship and learn the trade o: 
engraving on glass. As a young man, possessing special ski] 
in this line, he came to Wheeling in 1877 and took chargi 
of the engraving and other departments of the Hobbs i 
Brockunier Glass Plant. In January, 1888, Mr. Jaeger wa 
one of the organizers of the Fostoria Glass Company o 
Fostoria, Ohio, and for three years was the company 's chie 
traveling representative, covering all the United States am 
Canada. In 1891 he organized the Seneca Glass Company o 
Fostoria, and was president of this company. In 1901 Mr 
Jaeger returned to Wheeling, where he organized the Boniti 
Art Glass Company and has since been its secretary, treas 
urer and general manager, and has been the guiding geniu 
in making this a distinctive industry, not only in the qualit; 
of work but in size. The plant and offices of the firm ari 
on Bow Street in Wheeling and the business is primaril; 
the artistic decoration of glass and china. The Boniti 
products go aU over the United States and make up a largi 
volume of foreign export, and the firm also does an exten 
sive importing as well as exporting business. George E 
House is president of the company, while Mr. Jaeger ha 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



51 



le other executive responsibilities. The company employs 
)0 hands, most of them experts. 

Mr. Jaeger is a repuhlican in politics, and for eight years 
t as a memlier of llie City Council of Wheeling. Ue is a 
ember of the Presbytoriau Church, and is a thirty-second 
*gree Scottish Kit* Mason and Shriner. In 1879, at 
'heeling, he married Miss Ida Frances Ratcliffe, daughter 
James and Mary KatcUffe, both of whom died at Wheel- 
g. The two children born to Mr. and Mrs. Jaeger both 
cd in childhood. 

Many of his friends and associates know Mr. Jaeger 
rough his versatile gifts and attainments in other lines 
an the glass industry. He is deeply versed in the musical 
ts, for many years has played the violin, llute and violon- 
llo, and as a boy of fifteen he had the honor of playing 
e violin under the eminent leader, the late Theodore 
homas. For over thirty years he directed the choir of 
resbyterian churches, and a number of singers who subse- 
lently became jirofessionals, owed much to him for his early 
icouragement of their talents. 

Mr. Jaeger's early performances as a rifle shot will always 

• noted in the records of that sport. During 1885 he made 

e highest score in the United States for rille shooting at 

range of 200 yards, and his feat stood as the high record 

itil tied six months later by a Boston rifleman. This 

jorl of ten straight bull 's eyes at 200 yards, 96 out of a 

■ 100, still stands. Mr. Jaeger was formerly a mem- 

:!ie Wheeling Rifle Club, which was never beaten in a 

with clubs from other cities. At times he has owned 

number of thoroughbred horses, and has himself driven 

em in races at fairs and other occasions in Ohio and won 

number of purses and other honors. 

Hugh Holme.s C.ujr, M. D., is a skilled specialist in 
1 e surgical department of his profession and is engaged 
I active practice in his native City of Fairmont, Marion 
3unty, where also he is chief of the staff of surgeons 
' Cook Hospital. The doctor was born at Fairmont, 
ecember 23^ 1882, a son of Dr. Lloyd Logan Carr and 
aria C. (McCoy) Carr. Dr. Lloyd L. Carr was born 
Fairmont, April 26, 1854, and is a son of Hugh H. 
id Lydia E. (Pitcher) Carr. He was graduated from 
."fferson Medical College, Philadelphia, in ls76, and was 
'•ni'pii in the active practice of his profession at Fair- 
ntil 1S91. Thereafter he was engaged in practice 
■• York City until 1909, when he retired from the 
— work of the profession, which he had dignified and 
juored by many years of effective service, and he now 
aintains his home in his native City of Fairmont, save 
)r the intervals which he passes in California. As a 
3ung man he married Miss Maria McCoy, likewise a 
itive of Fairmont, and she died in 1884, Dr. Hugh H., 
t this review, being the only child. In 1897 Dr. Lloyd 
. Carr wedded Linda Bergen. Hugh H. Carr, grand- 
ither of the subject of this sketch, was born near Wood- 
ock, Virginia, March 29, 1817, a son of Richard and 
bigail (Longacre) Carr. He became a prominent drug 
nd tobacco merchant in what is now West Virginia, where 
e was associated in the ownership and conducting of 
ores at Fairmont, Morgantown and Wheeling, under the 
rm name of Logan, Carr & Company. He continued his 
ttensive business activities untU his death, September 
5, 1854. His wife, who was born June 25, 1826, died 
ebruary 28, 1906. she having been a daughter of Jona- 
lan J. and Eliza Pitcher. 

Dr. Hugh H. Carr was graduated from Greenwich 
cademy, Connecticut, in 1897, and in 1900 was gradu- 
ted from Pennington Seminary, in the State of New 
ersey. In 1904 he was graduated from the medical de- 
artment of Cornell University, and in 1905-6 he served 
s an interne in BeUevue Hospital, New York City, where 
uring a part of the last year he held the position of 
ouse surgeon. Thereafter he continued his technical 
tudies in Vieima, Berlin and Berne, in which last men- 
■oned city he studied under Professor Kocher, the dis- 
inguished surgeon of Switzerland. After his return from 
Europe Doctor Carr established himseli in practice at 
'airmont in 1907, and since 1914 he has here confined his 



practice to surgery, in which ho has gained high repula 
tiOD. In July, 1918, he was commissioned a captam in 
the Medical Corps of Iho UniU'd States Army and waa 
detailed for service at Rockefeller Institute, Now York 
City. There be took tlio prescribed course in military 
surgery, after which he was detailed to ncrvico ax surgical 
operative at the base Imspitul of Cumj) Dcvtus, Ma.-wa 
chusctts. There he remained fur some time after the 
signing of the armistice brought the World war to a 
close, and there he received his honorable diwharge in 
May, 1919. 

Doctor Carr is a member of the Marion County Medical 
Society, the West Virginia State Medical Society, the 
Southern Medical Association, the American Medical As- 
sociation, the Bellevuo Alumni Association, the Cornell 
Medical Alumni .Association, the Phi Alpha Sigma medical 
college fraternity, and the .\merican Legion. In 1921 he 
was president of the Fairmont Rotary Club. 

October 17, 1910, recorded the marriage of Doctor Carr 
and Miss Helen Kirkland, who was born at Warren, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1886, a daughter of J. L. and Catherine 
(Alexander) Kirkland. Doctor and Mrs. Carr have one 
ilaughter, Katherine Bergen, who was born in 191.'). 

John Edward Marschneb, M. D., is established in the 
successful practice of his profession in his native City of 
Wheeling, where he was born on the 9th of June, 1886. His 
father, August E. Marjchner, who is still a resident of 
Wheeling, was born in Brussek, Belgium, in 1861, and was 
about ten years of age at the time of the family immigra- 
tion to the United States, where the home was established 
at Cape Cod, Massachusetts. From the old Bay State the 
family came to Wheeling, West Virginia, about 1877, and 
here August E. eventually became identified with a glass 
manufacturing enterprise. In 1893 he engaged in the brew- 
ing business, and he continued as president and general 
manager of the Schmuebach Brewing Company until 1913. 
Thereafter he gave much of his time and attention to the 
affairs of the \Vheeling Bank & Trust Company until he 
retired from active business in 1919. He served several 
terms as a member of the City Council of Wheeling, and is 
one of the substantial and highly esteemed citizens of the 
West Virginia metropolis. He is a republican, and is affilli- 
ated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks.' In Wheeling was solemnized the marriage 
of August E. Marschner and Miss Sophia Roth, who was 
born in this city in 1858, and of their children Dr. John E., 
of this sketch, is the elder, the younger of the two, Louis E., 
being engaged in the plumbing-supply business in Wheeling. 
The public schools of his native city gave to Doctor 
Marschner his early educational advantages, and here also 
he attended Linsly Institute. Thereafter he continued his 
studies in a preparatory school at Lawrenceville, New Jersey, 
in which he was graduated as a member of the class of 1906. 
For one year thereafter he was a student in the Wor- 
cester Polyclinic Institute at Worcester, Massachusetts, and 
then in consonance with his ambition and well formulated 
plan's, he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons in 
the City of Baltimore, Maryland. In this great institution 
he was graduated in 1911, with the degree of Doctor of 
Medicine. The doctor is affilliated with the Phi Gamma 
Delta college fraternity and also with the Phi Beta Pi 
fraternity of the medical school. He gained valuable clin- 
ical experience through one year of service as an interne 
in Mercy Hospital in the City of Baltimore, and an eqaai 
period of similar service in the Maryland Lying-in Hospital 
m that city. Thereafter he held a position for one year in 
the Montana State Hospital for the Insane at Warm 
Springs, Montana, and in 1914 he engaged m the active 
general practice of his profession in his native City of 
Wheeling, where the scope and character of his practice 
attest alike his technical skill and his personal popularity 
He held for four years the position of tity bacteriologist 
of Wheeling and was coroner's physician three years ine 
doctor U an active member of the Ohio County MediMl 
Society, the West Virginia State Medical Society and the 
American Medical Association. He gave three years of serv- 



52 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



ice as a member of the Ohio County Lunacy Commission, 
and in July, 1919, he was appointed health commissioner of 
Wheeling, in which position his loyal and effective service 
led to his reappointment in July, 1921, for another term of 
two years. Doctor Marschner is a stockholder in the bank- 
ing institution known as the Community Savings & Loan 
Company, and he owns his attractive residence property at 
2311 Chapline Street, where he maintains his office also. 
He and his wife are active members of the Second Presby- 
terian Church, and his Masonic aftiliations are liere brielly 
noted: Ohio Lodge No. 1, Ancient Free and Accepted 
Masons; Wheeling Chapter No. 1, Eoyal Arch Masons; West 
Virginia Consistory No. 1, Scottish Rite, in which he has 
leceived the thirty-second degree; and Osiris Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine, of which he has been medical director for the 
past several years. He holds membership also in Wheeling 
Lodge No. 28, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

In 1914, at Payetteville, this state, was solemnized the 
marriage of Doctor Marschner and Miss Grace V. Hamilton, 
daughter of Alexander W. Hamilton, who is a member of the 
representative firm of corporation lawyers, Payne & Hamil- 
ton, in that city, and also president of the Fayette County 
National Bank. His wife is deceased. Mrs. Marschner is a 
talented pianist, a graduate of the celebrated Cincinnati 
Conservatory of Music, and she is a popular figure in the 
representative social life of Wheeling. Doctor and Mrs. 
Marschner have two children: Margaret, born November 
7, 1914, and Elizabeth, born in February, 1916. 

Reverting to the family history of Doctor Marschner, it 
is to be noted that his grandfather, Edward Marschner, a 
native of Brussels, Belgium, there became a successful glass 
manufacturer, and after establishing his residence in Wheel- 
ing, West Virginia, iu tlie '70s, he here became associated 
with the old Hobbs-Brockunier Glass Works, the business of 
which is now continued under the title of the H. Northwood 
Company. In this city Edward Marschner passed the re- 
mainder of his life, and here his venerable widow still re- 
sides. Of their children the eldest is August E., father of 
Doctor Marschner; Jennie is the wife of Henry Rithuer, 
proprietor of a glass factory at Wellsburg, tliis state; 
Frances is the wife of Nicholas Kopp, president and general 
manager of the Pittsljurgh Lamp, Brass & Glass Company at 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and Ernest, a resident of Wheel- 
ing, is retired from active business. 

William A. Wilson. The name Wilson has been promi- 
nently associated witli tlie commercial life of Wheeling for 
just a century. There have been three generations of the 
name represented here, and for more than half a century of 
this time the senior member of W. A. Wilson & Sons proved 
a conspicuous source of the energy and enterprise not only 
affecting his particular line, but the general welfare and 
progress of the community. 

It was in 1822 that William Penn Wilson came to Wheel- 
ing. He was born in Delaware, January 1, 1800, of an 
English Quaker family. In Wheeling he became a builder 
and contractor, and in 1852 became associated with John 
McLure and Anthony Dtmlevy in the firm of McLure, Dun- 
levy & Company, steamboat builders and owners. The firm 
subsequently was Wilson, Dunlevy & Wheeler, which built 
three of the finest Ohio River steamboats, the Thomas Swan, 
the Baltimore and the City of Wheeling. William P. Wilson 
was also one of the pioneer manufacturers of nail kegs in 
Wheeling at a time when one-third of all the cut nails manu- 
factured in the United States was made here. William P. 
Wilson for a number of years was a member of the Wheeling 
City Council, also a member of the board of supervisors, was 
a whig and later a democrat in politics, one of his sons was 
killed while a Confederate soldier, and he and his wife were 
among the faithful members of the Methodist Church. 

William P. Wilson married Sarah Pannell, who was born 
at Wheeling in 1803, daughter of George and Jane Pannell. 
William P. Wilson and wife went through life together and 
in death they were not divided, dying on successive days and 
they were laid to rest in one grave July 26, 1873. They had 
been married a little over forty years. 

The last survivor of their chUdren was William A. Wilson, 
who was born at the family homestead on Fifth Street in 



Wheeling, July 8, 1842, and who died at his home on Mjii 
Street, November 24, 1920, when past seventy-eight. ."''>' -va 
educated in the public schools, learned business undt. » 
father, and in 1866 engaged in the lumber and planing nj 
business in association with Clark Haues, under the fii 
name of Hanes & Wilson. He also succeeded to the busins 
interests left by his father, including a manufacturing pht 
formerly devoted to the maiuifacture of nail kegs and s - 
sequently utilized for the making of packing bo.xes. In e 
neetiou with his lumber yards and planing mills W. 
Wilson engaged in contracting, the firm handling mt. 
extensive contracts involving large buildings. As a brain 
of this business there was opened a retail paint and oil sta 
in 1875, and that was the nucleus of what is now the m. i 
interest of the firm of W. A. Wilson & Sons, a business tit 
is both wholesale and retail and with a trade extending o r 
five states. The headquarters of the firm for many yes 
have been at 1409 1411 Main Street. Since 1894 William , 
Wilson has been a member of the firm and the younger s , 
Arch A. Wilson, entered the partnership in 1900. 

The late William A. Wilson was for some years presid t 
of the Commercial Bank, and later this bank was absorU 
by the Wheeling Bank & Trust Company. He acted i 
hearty accord with the public spirited citizens of Wheels 
iu advancing the commercial and general welfare of « 
community. Mr. Wilson was one of the most popular f 
Wheeling's business men. In his personal relations he \s 
characterized by a fine sense of humor. He liked the o]o 
air and almost to the close of his life he enjoyed his gae 
of golf at the Wheeling Country Club. He was a stalwt 
democrat in polities and a member of the North Strt 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

The late W. A. Wilson practiced and exemplified the hh 
ideals of the Masonic Order and he was one of the mt 
prominent Masons in the state, particularly in the Scotth 
Rite. In February, 1866, he was raised in Ohio Lodge h. 
1, F. and A. M., and subsequently became a charter mem r 
of Nelson Lodge No. 30. He was affiliated with Wheel? 
Union Chapter No. 1, R. A. M., Cj'rene Coirimandery No ', 
K. T., Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine. In March, 18 i, 
he joined the Scottish Rite organization and becamea 
charter member of West Virginia Consistory No. 1 upon s 
organization in 1894, and was elected the first treasurer f 
the four bodies of the Scottish Rite at Wheeling, a posit a 
he held until his death. At the meeting of the Supree 
Council for the Southern Jurisdiction of the United Stas 
held in October, 1919, he was elected to receive the thii ■ 
third honorary degree, which was conferred upon him in e 
Cathedral at Wheeling, April 12, 1920. 

June 10, 1867, Mr. Wilson married Miss Texana An;, 
daughter of a prominent Wheeling citizen, Jacob Arr:. 
Mrs. Wilson survived her honored husband. Of her the 
children the only daughter, Flora C, died January 20, 19), 
as the wife of Charles Lamb. The two sons, who eontiie 
the business organization of W. A. Wilson & Sons, are Vt- 
liam P. and Arch A., both of whom are married and tj 
and their families are socially prominent in Wheeling. 

This article may projjerly close by quoting an editoiil 
from the Wheeling Intelligencer : ' ' The death of W. - 
Wilson has removed from the Wheeling community a nn 
of a type that any city can ill afford to lose. Virile lA 
successful in his many business undertakings, he typified n 
his life the spirit and the achievements of Wheeling. Bn 
and reared here, there was ever a great mutual admiratn 
between him and his native city, and he was always a sta]h 
supporter of worthy civic movements. During his seven'- 
eight years here Mr. Wilson became intimately and proi- 
nently connected with practically every phase of Wheelin s 
activities. As a manufacturer, merchant and hanker e 
helped to lay the solid foundations of the city's prospeiy 
and to build the splendid superstructure. His lodge id 
church connections were admirable and consistent, and n 
the midst of all his busy life he found time to be a lear 
in charitable work. His associates in all of these activits 
will miss the unassuming support and keen judgment a 
which they were accustomed to rely. Those most closf 
associated with him will miss his unostentatious acts f 
kindness." 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



53 



Llotd M. Stemple is manager of the Service Stores Cor- 
j Snition at Bretz in Preston County, Ss also postmaster of 
litt village, and is a business man whose responsibilities 
■jive been steadily growing during the past fourteen years. 
•He was born near Aurora, Preston County, May 11, 1882. 
I'e is a direct descendant of Godfrey Stomple, who settled 
"i .'ar Aurora in the early years of the nineteenth century, 
>ent his remaining years as a farmer and is buried in that 
cality, and a large number of his descendants are still 
>und over Preston County. Lloyd M. Stemple grew up on 
farm, attended the public schools, and either through his 
! wn efforts or his earnings supplied himself with the equiv- 
.' .ent of a liberal education. M the age of twenty-two he 
] -gan teaching, a vocation he followed altogether for some 
i ve or six years. In the meantime he took the course in the 
t reparatory school for teachers at Keyser, and in the sum- 
er of 1908 graduated from the Mountain State Business 
■ oUege at Parkersburg. Following that he became stonog- 
iphcr and claim clerk in the coal billing office of the Balti- 
lOre & Ohio Railway Company at Fairmont, West Virginia. 
Vourteen months later he resigned and returned to .\usten in 
Treston County, where he taught another term of school and 
j.\ the spring of 1910 became a clerk in the .\usten Coal & 
Toke Company 's general store. After about a year he was 
. -ansferred to the oftice of chief clerk to the auditor of the 
■•■•■■:iMy. With the collapse of the coal industry in 1913 
■ the service of the .\usten company and went south to 
■'>n, Alabama, where he tried farming and merchandis- 
The conditions of the climate were adverse to his 
•alth, and after about a year he returned to his home state 
!m1 formed a connection with the West Virginia Mercantile 
■ ony at Kingwood. This company subsequently sent 
Bretz, where he has been store manager ever since. 
. .st Virginia Mercantile Company sold its interests to 
thlehem Steel Company, and the Service Stores Cor- 
n is now a subsidiary of the Bethlehem Steol Com- 
Mr. Stemple 's work as manager was unaffccfed by 
ru- ihange in ownership. He was appointed postmaster of 
5retz, August 18, 1916, succeeding Postmaster n. B. Jack- 
on. 
"^ Stemple has usually voted as a republican, though 
f the Stemples have been democrats. He and Mrs. 
■ are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
iibcrland, Maryland, February 22, 1907, he married 
i:iisy A. Hovatter. a native of Preston County. Many 
Hovattcr family lived around Fairmont, and her par- 
Mts. A. .1. and Helen (Pell) Hovattcr, now live near 
slanown. Mrs. Stemple completed her education in the sum- 
ner normal at Terra Alta, and taught for several years 
>efore her marriage, teaching in the towns of Austen and 
Vewburg and in the villlage schools of Bretz. Mr. and Mrs. 
^temple have two children, Ethel Muriel and Max Lloyd. 

John Thruston Thornton, M. D., one of 'the representa 
:iTe physicians and surgeons engaged in practice in the City 
)f Wheeling, bears the full patronymic of his grandfather, 
CJol. .Tnhn Thruston Thornton, who was born in Prince Ed- 
ward County, Virginia, who became colonel of a gallant Vir- 
ginia regiment in the Confederate service in the Civil war 
ind who was killed while leading his command in the battle 
■t)f Antietam. Colonel Thornton had been a distinguished 
member of the Virginia bar and was engaged in the prac- 
tice of his profession at Farmville, Prince Edward County, 
at the time when he went forth in defense of the Confederate 
cause. His wife, whose maiden name was Eliza Carter 
BaskerviUe, was a resident of Prince Edward County at the 
time of her death, both the Thornton and BaskerviJle fam- 
ilies having been founded in Virginia in the early colonial 
era, and the lineage of both tracing to stanch English 
origin. 

Dr. John T, Thornton was born in the City of Richmond, 
Virginia, October 21, 1875, and is a son of Dr. William 
'Mynn Thornton and Eleanor Rosalie (Harrison) Thornton, 
whose marriage was solemnized in New York City, December 
22, 1874. Professor William M. Thornton was born in 
'Cumberland County, Virginia, October 28, 1851. In 1868 he 
received from Hampden- Sidney College the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts, and in 1870 he was graduated in the his- 



toric old University of Virginia at Charlott««Tillc. He re 
ceived from Hampden-Sidney College the honorary degree 
of Doctor of Laws. After his marriage he held the chair of 
Greek in Davidson College, North Carolina, until 1875, tlneo 
which year he has been professor of applied mathematicj in 
the University of Virginia, besides which ho is now the dean 
of the department of engineering in that in.^titution. He 
was a United States commissioner to the Int<<rnntional Ex- 
position held in Paris, France, in 1900, and in 1904 waa a 
member of the jury of awards in civil engine<'ring at the 
Louisiana Purchase Exjiosition in St. Louis. He is a ntal- 
wart democrat, and is a zealous member of the Presbyterian 
Church. His wife, who was born in Virginia, in 1849, and 
whose death occurred in 1920, was a member of the Episco- 
pal Church. Of the children. Doctor Thornton of this review 
IS the eldest; Eliza Carter, who now resides In the City of 
Boston, is the widow of Charles R. Thurman, who was an 
electrical engineer and a farmer and who died at rniveraity, 
Virginia; Eleanor Rosalie was graduated from the Peal>o<iy 
Conservatory of Music in the City of Baltimore, thereafter 
continued her musical stuilies in Berlin, Germany, and as a 
talented pianist she is engaged in teaching music in the City 
of Boston, Massachusetts; Janet, the next younger daughter, 
is engaged in social-service work in New York City; William 
Mynn, Jr., now |irofessor of chemistry in Johns Hopkins 
University, Baltimore, Maryland, received from Hampden 
Sidney College the degree of Bachelor of Arts, from the 
University of Virginia the degree of Master of Arts, and* 
from Yale University the degree of Doctor of Philosophy; 
Charles Edward received from the University of Virginia 
the degree of Civil Engineer, has been successful in the work 
of his profession but has indulged the wanderlust without 
moderation, he having been in Honduras at the time of bis 
last communication with other members of the family. 

Dr. John T. Thornton gained the major part of his earlier 
education in private schools at Charlottesville, Virginia, and 
thereafter was a student in the University of Virginia until 
he had nearly completed the work of his senior year in the 
literary department. He taught one year in the public 
schools of Chattanooga, Tenncs.see, and one year in the 
Louisiana Industrial Institute at Ruston, and he next con- 
tinued his studies two years in the medical department of 
the University of Virginia. He then entered the Medical 
College of Virginia in his native City of Richmond, and in 
this institution he was graduated in 1902, with the degree 
of Doctor of Medicine. Thereafter he gained valuable 
clinical experience by serving as interne in the Old Dominion 
Hospital in that city until February, 190,1, and by similar 
service in the Polyclinic Hospital of Philadelphia, Pcnnsyl 
vania, where he remained two years. In the meanwhile, in 
the summer of 1902, he was a student in Harvard University. 
After leaving Philadelphia Doctor Thornton gave eightei-n 
months of effective service as superintendent of the Roanoke 
Hospital, at Roanoke, Virginia, and since 1906 he has been 
established in the successful general practice of his profes- 
sion in the City of Wheeling, where he is giving 8|>ccial 
attention to pediatrics, his offices being at 409-10 in the 
Wheeling Bank & Trust Company Building. Doctor Thorn- 
ton served three years as president of the Board of Health 
of Ohio County, is an active member of the Ohio County 
Medical Society, the West Virginia State Medical Society, 
and the American Medical Association, the while he is affili- 
ated with Carroll Council No. 504, Knights of Colnmbus, the 
Sigma Alpha Epsilon college fraternity, and the University 
Club of Wheeling. The doctor is a democrat in political 
allegiance, and he and his wife are communicants of the 
Catholic Church. In the World war period he was a vigorous 
supporter of patriotic service in his home city and county, 
was a member of the Board of Medical Examiners for Ohio 
County, and gave much of his time to the work of this board 
and to other war activities. 

In 1905, in the City of New York, was solemnized the 
marriage of Doctor Thornton and Miss Helen Agnea Thorn 
son, daughter of the late George Thomson, of Trenton, Nct 
Jersey. Doctor and Mrs. Thornton have three children: 
Eleanor Rosalie, bom September 4, 1909; John Thruston, 
Jr., born in March, 1912; and Helen, bom October 26, 1915. 



54 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



John Edward Oitner, M. D., a siioeessful physician 
and surgeon engaged in practice at Fairmont, Marion 
County, was born at Piedmont, Mineral County, this state, 
April 15, 1878, a son of Isaac Henry and Mary Jane 
(Kalbaugh) Offner. The father was born July 11, 1844, 
at Eomney, Randolph County, Virginia (now West Vir- 
ginia), and is a son of Reuben and Matilda Jane (Cum- 
mins) Offner. Reuben Offner was born at Woodstock, 
Virginia, in 1804, and died at Romney in 1889, he having 
been a shoemaker by trade, a democrat in politics and 
a member of the Methodist Church. Isaac H. Offner gave 
many years of effective service as a school teacher, and 
he was a valiant soldier in the Confederate service in 
the Civil war as a member of the Thirty-third Virginia 
Regiment, in the brigade of Gen. "Stonewall" Jackson. 
Mr. Offner is now one of the venerable and honored citi- 
zens of Mineral County. His wife is a daughter of Alex- 
ander Kalbaugh, who was of German ancestry and whose 
wife was of Irish ancestry, he having been a Union sojaier 
in the Civil war. 

Doctor Offner gained his early education in the schools 
of his native county, and thereafter he followed various 
vocations of mechanical order, he having been employed 
on public works, on railroads, in machine shops and in a 
paper pulp mill, besides which he was for a time a mem- 
ber of a civil engineering corps with the Dry Fork Rail- 
,road. In consonance with his ambition he finally entered 
the Maryland Medical College in the City of Baltimore, 
in which he was graduated in 1904, with the degree of 
Doctor of Medicine. He has since taken post-graduate 
surgical work in the University of Pennsylvania and in 
clinics in the City of Baltimore. At the time of the 
Spanish-American war he served eighteen months in the 
hospital corps of the United States Army. When the 
nation became involved in the World war Doctor Offner 
applied for and was recommended by the governor of 
West Virginia for a commission in the Medical Corps 
of the United States Army. He received a commission 
as lieutenant, instead of major, for which latter he had 
been recommended, and he refused to accept the minor 
commission. He then tendered his services to the navy, 
in which he was commissioned a first lieutenant of the 
Medical Corps, but he was not caUed into active service 
until after the signing of the historic armistice, when he 
declined to enter such service. The doctor now holds the 
rank of assistant surgeon general on the staff of the 
Sons of Confederate Veterans. He is a member of the 
Marion County and West Virginia State Medical societies, 
the Southern Medical Association, the American Medical 
Association and the Baltimore & Ohio Railway Surgeons 
Association. Doctor Offner is a staunch democrat, and 
he was the first member of his party elected to represent 
the strong republican First Ward of Fairmont as a mem- 
ber of the City Council, of which he continued a member 
four years. 

His initial Masonic affiliation was with Fairfax Lodge 
No. 96, at Davis, this state, and from the same he was 
demitted to become a charter member of Pythagoras Lodge 
No. 128 at Parsons, West Virginia. From the latter he 
was demitted to assist in instituting Acacia Lodge No. 
157 at Fairmont, of which he continues a member. He 
is also affiliated with the R. A. M. at Keyser, West Vir- 
ginia, with the Commandery of Knights Templar at 
Grafton, and with Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine 
at Wheeling. He is a member of Fairmont Lodge No. 
294 B. P. O. E., and of the Knights of Pythias. The 
doctor is an active member of the Fairmont Chamber 
of Commerce, and of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South. 

At Okland, Maryland, July 8, 1901, Doctor Offner 
wedded Effie Blanche Taylor, who was born at Kerns, 
Randolph County, West Virginia, July 1, 1880, a daughter 
of Hayes H. Taylor, who was a soldier of the Confederacy 
in the Civil war. Doctor and Mrs. Offner have two chil- 
dren: Mildred Ruth, born March 23, 1902, and Edward 
Taylor, born May 18, 1903. 

John Thomas Simms, counsel and executive assistant to 
the state tax commissioner of West Virginia, is the legal 



representative of the state in practically all matters il 
volving the Tax Department. It is a large responsibilif 
capably performed, and the duties have occupied the tii| 
and abilities of Judge Simms for over six years. He is 
former judge of the Criminal Court of Fayette County a 
has been a West Virginia lawyer nearly twenty years. 

Judge Simms was born at Ansted, Fayette County, Wi 
Virginia, May 10, 1875, son of Robert Clark -and Sar i 
Catharine (Jones) Simms. His paternal ancestors we' 
Scotch and settled in old Virginia prior to the Revolutic 1 
ary war. One ancestor, Edward Simms, was a soldier ' ( 
the Revolution. The mother of Sarah Catharine Jones w 
a Miss Daniel, a cousin of the late John W. Daniel of V 
ginia. 

John Thomas Simms grew up on a farm, attended t 
local public schools, and through and in the intervals 
his vocation as a teacher acquired his higher educatic 
involving association as a student with the Summersvj' 
Normal School, the Fayetteville Academy and the Ui 
versity of West Virginia. He was connected with t 
Fayetteville Academy both as teacher and pupil. Jud 
Simms graduated in law from the State University in Jui 
1903, and at once began practice at Fayetteville. His i, 
quiring mind, his great energy and the integrity whii 
he put at the disposal of his clients won quickly for him 
high reputation as a lawyer. 

In the fall of 1910 he was elected judge of the Crimin 
Court of Fayette County, and served on the bench fo 
years. It should be a matter of justifiable pride to Jud 
Simms as a lawyer that throughout the period of his i 
cumbency as judge of the Criminal Court he was never i 
versed by the Supreme Court. There is no chronicle 
West Virginia of any other judge having such a reco 
who sat for a full term. 

At the close of his term on the bench in January, 191 
Judge Simms came to Charleston as special counsel for t 
State Tax Commission, the full title of his office beu 
counsel and executive assistant to the state tax commissione 
In this capacity he has rendered legal services of an ii 
portance that only those in close touch with the Tax D 
partment appreciate. Representing the Tax Departmel 
he has practiced in all the courts of the state and in tli 
Supreme Court of the United States. The problems he h 
to meet and solve are frequently exacting and require 
high degree of sagacity and legal acumen and in mai 
cases he presents the cause of the state against some ■ 
the ablest and keenest corporation lawyers. In general, 1 
looks after the interpretation of the tax statutes of tl 
state, also the appeals of public works on matters ■ 
taxation and many of these problems involve the gre: 
industrial corporations and highly capitalized public utili 
concerns. Until the national prohibition law went in' 
effect, and during the state prohibition law of West Vi 
ginia. Judge Simms had as part of his duties the vigorc 
prosecution of violations of that law. In the course i 
these duties he formulated and brought into practice tl 
first legal or statutory definition of the moonshine stl 
a definition that became a part of the state's prohibitie 
statutes. 

Judge Simms is a member of the State and AmericJ 
Bar Associations, is a republican, and is a thirty-secor 
degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, and a member ( 
the Knights of Pythias. He and his family are Presb; 
terians. 

December 28, 1903, he married Miss Eugenia A. Alderso 
daughter of Hon. John D. Alderson, of Nicholas Count 
who at one time represented his district in Congress. Tl 
family of Judge Simms comprises four sons, John Alderso 
Philip. Frederick Eugene and Edward Broadus. The oldea 
John Alderson Simms, has the record of being the youngei 
graduate in the history of the Charleston High School. B 
finished his eighth grade work at the age of ten and a ha 
years and graduated from high school just four years late 
He is now a student in the Virginia Military Institute i 
Lexington, Virginia. 

A. Bliss McCeum. Though just entering his forties, / 
Bliss McCrum has earned and for a number of years ha 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



56 



pnjoyed a place of conspicuous honor among the attorneys 
jf West Virginia, and has also a record of usefulness in 
oublic affairs. Ue earned his early reputation as a lawyer 

; it Kingwood, but for several years has been a resident of 
Tharleston, and among other duties is executive secretary 

i )f the Public Utilities Association of West Virginia. 

Mr. McCrum was born at Aurora in Preston County, 

February 17, 1880, son of Lloyd L. and Emma (Shaffer) 

VleCnim, now deceased. His father was of Scotch-Irish 

>ry and a native of Preston County. He died in Grant 

. in 1895, while the mother passed away in 1882. 

ill' Shaffer and McCrum families were pioneer settlers 

. old Northwestern Turnpilce. 

A Bliss McCrum received a common school education in 

n-ton and Grant counties, and was also a student in the 

:rammar schools and the Central High School of Washing- 

on, D. C, where his father resided for a time. He took 

poth the academic and law courses in West Virginia Uni- 

ersity, and by hard, concentrated effort was able to gradu- 

ite with degrees from both departments in 1901. 

He had only recently turned his majority, and with hi? 
tw diploma he located at Kingwood, where he became asso- 
iated with the veteran and distinguished attorney P. J. 
"rogan in the firm of Crogan & McCrum. While establish- 
ng himself in the law he was also induced to enter politics, 
nd in 1906 was elected to represent Preston County in the 
louse of Delegates, and re-elected in 1908, serving four 
ears. During the second session he was chairman of the 

I .nance committee. In 1912 Mr. McCrum was elected state 

: enator from the Fourteenth Senatorial District, comprising 
he counties of Preston, Grant, Hardy. Mineral and Tucker. 
)urint; liis second session in the Senate he resigned to ac- 
ept aj'iiointment as member of the State Board of Control, 
eginning his duties in June, 1915, at which time he removed 
rom Kingwood to Charleston. He was on the State Board 
f Control two years, filling the unexpired term of Governor 
)awson, one of his closest friends. 
Mr. McCrum in 1918 volunteered his services during the 
ar with Germany. He was made a second lieutenant at 
'amp Joseph E. Johnston, afterward promoted to first 
euteuant, and was put in command of Company B, Three 
(undred and Fifty-third Labor Battalion, in service at 
amp Greene, Charlotte, North Carolina. He received his 
onorable discharge December 26, 1918. 
Soon after leaving the army Mr. McCrum resumed private 
iw practice at Charleston, specializing in corporation law 
nd utility rate cases. He is counsel for a number of well 
nown public service and industrial corporations, including 
le Western Maryland Railway Company. 
His position as executive secretary of the Public Utilities 
ssociation of West Virginia is one of broad and interest- 
ig responsibilities. This organization embraces the electric 
ulway, electric light, heat and power companies, water 
impanies and independent teley>hone companies of the 
ate, corporations representing investments running into 
illions of dollars and providing many of the essential 
ublic utilities. The chief object of this organization, and 
ie in which his qualifications as a lawyer enables Mr. 
[cCrum to further, is to bring about better understanding 
: the serious problems involved in the management, opera- 
on and financing of public utility corporations and also 
roviding that mutual relationship of understanding and 
Md will that involves better service to the public and a 
;nefit to all concerned. Outside of his professional work he 
18 been largely interested in Charleston real estate, having 
■veloped and built up several well known additions to the 
ty. In 1920 Senator McCrum was elected secretary of the 
epubliean State Committee, and along with Chairman 
tite shared the honors of conducting the successful cam- 
lign of 1920. 

Mr. McCrum, whose offices are in the Charleston National 
ank Building, ia affiliated with the Masonic Order, the 
1kg, the Phi Kappa Sigma college fraternity, and is a 
Qtarian.' 

William O. Abnet. Men who have attained to real 
iccess in the business world do not admit of the existence 
'. the quality known as luck. Long years of experience 
Vol. n— 7 



have convinced them that prosperity and position eome only 
through the medium of jtcrsistent application of intelligent 
methods that require time for their development. To the 
highest order of organizing sense and executive atuinmentu 
must be added the confidence of the public and a ooncijc 
and intimate knowledge of the field to be occupied, the 
latter only to be attained by gradual and well timed ap- 
proaches. Sudden and phenomenal rise to allluenco and 
iudejiendence is most uncommon and frequently i-i followed 
by failure. Certain it is that none would intimate that 
William O. Abney, president of the AbnoyBarnes Company 
and of the Union Trust Company of Charleston, owes his 
success to any lucky chance or circumstance. His career 
has been one of slow and steady advancement. For many 
years he has occupied a recognized position in businewi and 
financial life, and continues to maintain a high standard of 
jirinciplcs, which, perhaps, is one of the chief reasons for h\a 
success. 

Mr. Abney was born at Richmond, Virginia, and his boy- 
hood days were sjient upon a farm in .\ugu.«ta County. 
.Vfter spending a few years in the coal fields of West Vir- 
ginia he came to Charleston, when a young man of twenty- 
two years of age, and there he accepted a position as a 
traveling salesman with the firm of Arnold, Abney 4 Com- 
]iany, the Abney of this firm being his cousin, Mr. F. W. 
Abney. 

This was one of the old established mercantile houses 
of Charleston. The business had been founded, shortly 
after the close of the Civil war, by Mr. E. 8. Arnold as a 
modest retail establishment. With the admission of Mr. 
F. W. Abney into the partnership the firm name was 
changed to Arnold & Abney. Still lat'^r Mr. E. A. Barnes 
became a partner, and the firm name of .Arnold, Abney k 
Company was adopted and th' business placed upon a 
wholesale basis exclusively. Some years later, Mr. Arnold 
having retired from the business, the name was agafn 
changed, becoming then, .\bney, Barnes & Company. This 
partnership was subsequently incorporated as Abney-Barnea 
Company, with Mr. F. W.' Abney. president, Mr. W. O. 
Abney, Vice jircsident. and Mr. E. \. Barnes, treasurer. 
Mr. F. W. Abney retired from the business in January, 
1906, at which time Mr. W. 0. .\bnoy was elected president, 
which office he has since continuously held. 

The Abney-Barnes Company now enjoys the distinction 
of being the" largest wholesale dry goods house in the Kan- 
awha Valley. For several years past Mr. Abney has not 
been actively identified with the management of the buai- 
ncss, he still retains the presidency, and in matters of im- 
portance pertaining thereto his counsel and advice are 
always sought. 

When the Union Trust Company of Charleston was organ- 
ized, in 1913. Mr. Abney was chosen as its president, and 
he has since been actively identified with the growth and 
development of this institution into one of the strong 
banking establishments of the state. The Union Trust 
Company opened its doors for business. May 5. 1913. with 
a capital of $500,000. and a surplus of $100,000. The ninth 
annual statement, issued May 5, 1922, showed combined 
resources in excess of $4,964,000. It is extremely doubtful 
if any other bank in West Virginia can show such a sub- 
stantial growth in so short a period of time. The Union 
Trust Company owns and occupies one of the finest hank 
and oflSce buildings in the state, a thoroughly modern and 
imposing structure of thirteen stories, at the junction of 
Kanawha and Capitol streets, in Charlest/>n. 

In addition to the interests already mentioned Mr. Abney 
is president of the Charleston Manufacturing Company, is 
a director in the Charl.ston Industrial Corporation at Nitro, 
and has oil and coal holdings. 

In political matters Mr. Abney is a stanch adherent to the 
principles of Jeffcrsonian democracy, and at the national 
convention of his party at Baltimore in 1912. which nomi- 
nated Woodrow Wilson for the presidency, he served as a 
delegate. . , »>!» xr 

Mr Abney is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite MsMn, 
a Knieht Templar and "a Shriner. He Is also a bfe member 
of Charleston Lodge of Elks. Having for fifteen «">»«<»; 
five years represented as a traveUng salesman the firm 



56 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



of which he is now president, he still retains his member- 
ship in the United Commercial Travelers Association, and 
recalls many pleasant incidents of his long service as a 
"Knight of the Grip." The record of his success is but 
another confirmation of the fact that opportunity is open 
to all \-ho are willing to grasp it, and honorably and per- 
sistently bend their efforts towards the attainment of an 
ideal. 

EoY H. Cunningham is a graduate mechanical engineer, 
and his active services have been given principally to mining 
corporations, chiefly in connection with the great coal re- 
sources of West Virginia. Mr. Cunningham is a resident of 
Huntington, where he is secretary and sales manager of the 
Twin States Fuel Company. 

His father, the late James Stuart Cunningham, of Charles- 
ton, West Virginia, one of the state 's most widely known 
business men and industrial leaders, was born at Eekley, 
Pennsylvania, September 7, 1856. He was the son of Peter 
Blair Cunningham, who was born in County Derry, Ireland, 
1S29. Peter Blair Cunningham, in 1850, married Mary 
Ann Crawford, who was born in County Derry in 1833. As 
their wedding journey they came to the United States, set- 
t'ing at Eekley, Pennsylvania. Peter B. Cunningham was a 
skilled inventor and also a manufacturer. About 1867 he 
removed to Allentown, Pennsylvania, and lived in that city 
until his death in 1905, his widow passing away there in 
1910. 

James S. Cunningham spent his early life at Allentown 
and graduated with the degree Mechanical Engineer from 
Lehigh University in 1879. For two years he was a me- 
chanical engineer for the Lehigh & Susquehanna Coal Com- 
pany, for three years was general manager for the Midvale 
Ore Company, with headquarters at Everett, Pennsylvania, 
after which he entered the service of the Berwind-White 
Coal Company, a corporation with which he was identified 
the rest of his life. As consulting engineer he had a varied 
routine of duties for this corporation on its properties in 
Pennsylvania, West Virginia and other states. In 1900 he 
removed to Charleston, West Virginia, and remained in that 
city until his death, December 12, 1921. He was regarded 
as a leading authority on the value of coal lands in the 
United States, and his business and professional duties 
frequently required his presence in many parts of the 
United States and foreign fields. In behalf of the Berwind- 
Wliite Coal Company he purchased over 300,000 acres of 
coal lands. He was president of the Bengal Coal Company 
and personally interested in a number of other coal com- 
])anies in Western Virginia and Eastern Kentucky. James 
S. Cunningham was a republican, and an active member 
and trustee of the Presbyterian Church of Charleston. He 
was a Eoyal Arch and Knight Templar Mason, also a thirty- 
second degree Mason and a Shriner, was a life member of 
the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, a member of the 
American Institute of Mining Engineers, the Charleston 
Rotary Club and a member of social and technical clubs in 
Philadelphia and other Pennsylvania towns, including the 
University Club. He served with the rank of colonel on the 
staff of Governor Glasscock of West Virginia. James S. 
Cunningham was a director of the Union Trust Company of 
Charleston, a director of the Provident Life & Casualty 
Company of Charleston. 

His wife was Mary Hammer, who was born at Newville, 
Pennsylvania, in 1860, and is living at Charleston. Her 
father, George Hammer, was born at Hagerstown, Mary- 
land, in 1811, and as a Presbyterian minister held classes 
at Newville, Titusville and Upper Lehigh, Pennsylvania. 
During the Civil war he served two years as chaplain, and 
was then commissioned a captain in the One Hundred and 
Eleventh Pennsylvania Cavalry and served with that rank 
until the close of the war. He was captured during 1863, 
and spent several months in Libby Prison, until exchanged. 
Captain George Hammer, who died at Colfax Springs, Iowa, 
in 1870, married Catherine Ulmer, who was born in Phila- 
delphia in 1823 and died in that city in 1904. The chil- 
dren of James S. Cunningham and wife were: Walter H., 
a business man of Huntington, is secretary of the West Vir- 
ginia Coal Operators' Association, secretary of the Ken- 



tucky Mine Owners' Association, a director in several 
Huntington banks, member of the firm Cunningham, Mil- 
ler & Enslow, coal lands and real estate, and is vice presi- 
dent of the Gano-Moore Coal Mining Company, Inc. The 
second child, Florence, is the wife of Dr. Worth Clark, a 
physician and surgeon at Atlantic City, New Jersey. Eoy 
H. is the third. J. Earl, a geologist by profession, died at 
Charleston in 1919 at the age of thirty. 

Eoy H. Cunningham was born at Everett, Pennsylvania, 
August 2, 1886, and acquired his early education in public 
schools in different towns in Pennsylvania. In 1905 he 
graduated from the Mercersburg Academy of Pennsylvania, 
and gained his technical education in Cornell University at 
Ithaca, New York, where he was graduated with degree of 
Mechanical Engineer in 1909. He is a member of the Zeta 
Psi College Fraternity. Mr. Cunningham in 1908 became a 
resident of Charleston, and during 1909 he was employed 
in making reports on coal properties in Eastern and West- 
ern Kentucky, and in 1910 was employed as a construction 
engineer with several mining companies in Arizona and olo 
Mexico. During 1911 for six months he was a special mine 
inspector in the Department of Mines of West Virginia, 
with headquarters at Charleston. Following that he did 
work in the land and operating departments of different 
coal mining corporations of West Virginia and Kentucky 
In 1915 Mr. Cunningham joined the Foreign Department 
of the Berwind-White Coal Company, with residence ai 
San Juan, Porto Eico. He remained there until November 
1917, when he entered the United States Naval Academy at 
Annapolis for a special engineering course. Early in 191f 
he was commissioned naval ensign and was assigned tc 
duty as an assistant engineer officer on the U. S. S. Hunt 
ington in cruiser and transport service. While in the navj 
he made several trips to France, and was on duty unti 
honorably discharged in June, 1919. Mr. Cunningham oi 
leaving the navy became field agent for the Kentland Coa 
& Coke Company, owners of extensive coal properties ii 
Kentucky and Virginia. He remained with those dutiei 
until the winter of 1919-20, following which he served a: 
legislative representative for the Kentucky Mine Owners 
Association, and in April, 1920, was appointed secretari 
and sales manager of the Twin States Fuel Company. Thi 
is the sales organization of the Cunningham, Miller & Ens 
low firm, with offices in the First National Bank Buildins 
of Huntington. Mr. Cunningham is a stockholder in ; 
number of other mining enterprises. 

He is a member of the American Institute of Mining En 
gineers, a member of the Cornell Club of New York City 
the War Society of the Cruiser & Transport Forces, is a re 
publican and Presbyterian, and belongs to the Guyandott 
Club of Huntington and Guyan Country Club. 

On June 18, 1916, at San Juan, Porto Eico, he marriei 
Miss Iraida Eauschemplat, daughter of Adolf and Senor: 
Antonio Gueteriz del Arroyo y Eauschemplat. Her parent 
reside at San Juan, where her father is manager of th 
Porto Eico Mercantile Company and owner of extensiv 
sugar interests. Mrs. Cunningham was educated in th 
United States, in the public schools of Boston and in 
private school at Fortress Monroe, Virginia. Mr. and Mn 
Cunningham have two children: Florence Gloria, born Oi 
tober 1, 1917, and Eoy H., Jr., born February 13, 1919. 

Charles Perry Thorn. In recognizing his natun 
inclinations and having the courage to mold circumstance 
to enable him to follow them, has, perhaps, brought bus 
ness success and contentment to many young men, but i 
scarcely larger degree than to Charles Perry Thorn, or 
of the leading business men of Morgantown, general mai 
ager of the General Woodworking Company, of which 1 
was one of the organizers. Mr. Thorn was born on 
farm and came from a long line of farmer ancestors, bi 
this did not make him a farmer. The call of the so 
was not insistent in him in youth, and wisely he turne 
to mechanics, kept steadfast in determination to gain pe 
fection in that line, and today he is at the head of oi 
of the largest manufacturing concerns of its kind in Wei 
Virginia. 

Charles Perry Thorn was born on his father's estat 




j£.£^ (fPif/^, 



^y>«-L^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



57 



11 I. rant District, Monougalia County, West Virginia, No- 
.•emlier 2. 1880, and is a son of David and Harriet A. 
'Pott«r) Thorn. His paternal grandfather, Jesse Thorn, 
iras I'orn in old Virginia and at an early date settled 
in the farm in Grant District, Monongalia County, on 
»hich his son, David Perry Thorn was born in 1S43 and 
lied in 190.t. The maternal grandfather of Mr. Thorn 
vas Henry Potter, who came to West Virginia from Frost- 
)urg. Maryland, and settled on tlie farm in Grant District, 
»Ionongalia County, on which Mrs. Thorn was born. 

Charles P. Thorn attended the public schools at Laurel 
^oiiit, near his country home, and assisted his father on 
he farm until his nineteenth year, when he came to Mor- 
(antown, learned carjicntering and worked at the trade 
Is a journeyman until 1903, when he entered a planing 
nill and remained until he had learned the business. As 
oon as circumstances permitted, in 1910, he embarked in 
)U8iness for himself, being one of the organizers of the 
ieneral Woodworking Company, of which he became gcn- 
ral manager and has so continued, and largely because 
•f his able management this enterprise has expanded ten- 
' ,iid is still growing. Mr. Thorn takes enthusiastic 

-t in his business, devotes himself closely to it and 

V adequately rewarded. 
Ill 1906 Mr. Thorn married Miss Olive M. Jacobs, a 
laughter of Benson and Ellen Jacobs, of Little Falls, 
Vest Virginia and they have two sons: Ralph Benson, 
lom in 1909; and Fred David, born in 1912. Mr. Thorn 
jid his family are members of the Methodist Episeoiial 
.Tiurch. He is an active member of the Morgantown 
'hamber of Commerce, and belongs to the Rotary Club, 
he Elks and the Knights of Pythias. While never unduly 
otive in politics, Mr. Thorn as a reliable citizen and 

lable business man, has always kept an open mind 
listening ear iu regard to public affairs, and when 

-ts his vote it is in support of a candidate who by 
aid act has shown devotion to American principles. 

iS" Melvin Rigg is a substantial and honorable prac- 
itiniier at the Huntington bar. and for some years has been 

prominent figure in public life. In the field of his pro- 
ession he has established a wide reputation for unflagging 
amestness and effective work, and his ofiicial record has 
.Iways been one absolutely beyond reproach. Mr. Rigg is 
. native of Wayne County, West Virginia, and was born 
November 8 Ishl, his parents being James H. and Phoebe 
Ballengee) Rigg. 

The Rigg family is of Scotch-Irish origin and was 
ounded in the United States by an immigrant from Ire- 
and. who located in the colony of Virginia prior to the 
rar of the Revolution. Zacharias Rigg, the grandfather of 
'ohn M. Rigg, was born in 1821, in Kentufky, and was a 
lioneer into Wayne County^ Virginia, whither he went as a 
oung,man. While agriculture was his regular vocation, he 
ras known throughout his neighborhood as a noted hunter 
nd a man educated in all the lure of forest, mountain and 
ilain. He died in Wayne County in 1899, aged sevcnty- 
ight years. Mr. Rigg married Elizabeth Christian, who 
fss born in Wayne (then Cabell) County, in 1821, and died 
n the same county in 1901. 

James H. Rigg was born April 19, 1844, in Wayne 
bounty, Virginia (now West Virginia), and has resided in 
he same community all of his life. Reared to agricultural 
'ursuits, he has applied himself to farming and stock- 
aising, and has been successful in both departments of 
is work, being at present the owner of a valuable modern 
•ropcrty. During a long and busy career he has found the 
ime and inclination to serve in a number of public offices, 
n which he has comported himself with becoming conscien- 
iousness and efficiency, having been constable for seven 
ears and justice of the peace for seven years. Politically 
16 supports the democratic party, and as a fraternalist he 
olds membership in the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
nd the Knights of the Golden Eagle. With his family he 
)elong8 to the Baptist Church, the movements of which al- 
ways have his co-operation and material assistance. Mr. 
Ugg married Miss Phoebe Ballengee, who was born in 

843, in Wayne County, Virginia (now West Virginia), and 



died in Wayne County in lUlO. To thi« union there mvu- 
born children as follons: California, who married Philip 
S. Hughes and resides at Ceredo, Wayne County, where Mr. 
Hughes is a painter and papcrhnnger; Willinm H., who i« 
engaged in agricultural pursuits in Wayne County ; George 
W., a commission and feed merchant of Huntington; Min- 
nie, who married first James H. Odell a farmer of Wayne 
County, and after his death married Mr. Bluss, a farmer of 
the same county, where they now reside; Levi J., a farmrr 
and merchant of Wayne County; Wellington U., also a 
farmer of this county; Albert, a railroa<i employe of Ken 
ova, Wayne County; Viola, who married Laban Workman, 
a farmer and dairyman of Cabell County; Charles, who is 
engaged in agricultural operations in Wiiyne County; John 
Melvin, of this notice; and James, a traveling salesman, 
with headquarters at Parkersburg, West Virginia. 

Reared in the atmosjihere of the home f:irm, the early 
education of John M. Higg was obtained through attend- 
ance at the rural schools of Wayne County, tliis being sub- 
sequently supplemented by a course at Oak View Academy 
at Wayne. Leaving this institution in ls!t8, he taught 
school in Wayne County for seven years thereafter, and 
was then made deputy clerk of the Circuit Court of Wayne 
County, acting in that capacity for four years. During 
this time, having decided upon a professional career, he ap- 
plied himself to the study of law, and eventually entered 
the West Virginia State University at Morgantown, where 
he spent one year in the law deiiartment. He was admit- 
ted to the bar in August, 1913. and immediately began the 
practice of his calling at Wayne, where he remained until 
January, 1920, since when he has carried on a general civil 
and criminal practice at Huntington. His offices arc located 
at Nos. 401-402 Holswade Building, and on his books are 
found the names of some of the leading concerns of this 
section of the state. 

Mr. Rigg is a democrat in his political affiliation and is 
accounted oue of the influential men of his party. He 
served two terms as mayor of Wayne while living at that 
place, was one year assistant prosecuting attorney of Wayne 
County, and at the present time is acting as city attorney 
of Kenova, Wayne County. Mr. Rigg belongs to the Bap- 
tist Church, lie has shown an interest in fraternal work 
and is a past grand of Fairmont Lodge No. 115, 
I. O. O. F., of Wayne, and a member of the Encampment of 
that order. He also has several important civic connections, 
and his business interests include the secretaryship of the 
East Lynn OU and Gas Company, of East Lynn, Wayne 
County. His pleasant home is situated at Kenova. During 
the World war he took an active part in all local war ac 
tivities, being fuel administrator for Wayne County and a 
member of the Legal Advisory Board. He devoted much 
time to the cause and was a liberal contributor to the vari- 
ous movements. 

In December, 1902, Mr. Rigg was united in marriage 
with Miss Bertie Frazicr, of Wayne County, daughter of 
George W. and Sarah (Enochs) Frazicr, the latter of whom 
resides at Kenova. Mr. Frazier, who is now de<'eased, was 
an agriculturalist and schoolteacher of Wayne County, and 
served as superintendent of the county schools and as clerk 
of the Circuit Court of Wayne County. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Rigg there have come three children: Sarah, born May -9, 
1904 a senior in the Ceredo High School; Homer born 
October 8, 1913, who is attending the graded school; and 
Mamie, bom June 29, 1916. 

F WiTCHEE McCtJLLOUOH, onc of the representative 
members of the bar of the City of Huntington, distinctly 
advanced his professional prestige by his long and at.le 
service as assistant United States district attorney for the 
Southern District of West Virginia, an office of «hich he 
was the incumbent from November, 1913, until December 
31 1921, when he resigned, owing to the exigent demands 
placed upon him in connection with the large law bu8ine«s 
controlled by the firm of which he is a member, that of 
Warth. McCullough & Peyton. , • ,■ , 

The McCullough family, as the name clearly indicates, 
is one whose lineage traces back to sUunch Scotch origin, 
and the original representatives of the famUy in America 



58 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



settled in Pennsylvania many generations ago. In that 
state, in Washington County, was born Dr. Patrick Henry 
McCullough on July 12, 1816, and he received excellent edu 
cational advantages, both academic and professional. As a 
young man he became a pioneer physician and surgeon in 
Cabell County, West Virginia, as now constituted, and he 
was long numbered among the leading medical practitioners 
in the City of Huntington, where his death occurred May 
30, 1892. His character and sei-vice marked him as one 
of the honored and influential citizens of the county in 
which he long maintained his home and to the civic and ma- 
terial advancement of whicli he contributed his quota. 

Frank Witcher McCullough was born at Huntington, West 
Virginia, May 3, 1889, and is a sou of Frank F. and Alice 
V. (Witcher) McCullough, the former of whom was born 
in Cabell County, this state (at that time still a part of 
Virginia), in the year 1857, and the latter of whom was 
born in Cabell County in 1861. Frank F. McCullough has 
been a resident of Huntington from virtually the time of 
its founding, and has witnessed and aided in the develop- 
ment of this now important industrial and commercial city 
of his native county and state. He was for twenty-four 
years clerk of the Cabell County Court, has long been one 
of the leading members of the bar of his native county, 
and is still an active member of the representative Hunting- 
ton law firm of Warth, McCullough & Peyton. His politi- 
cal allegiance is given to the democratic party, and he and 
his wife are members of the Metliodist Episcopal Church, 
South. Of their children the firstborn was Flora Witihcr, 
who was eighteen years of age at the time of her death, 
on July 18, 1906, her birthday; and the one surviving 
child is he whose name initiates this review. 

The public schools of Huntington afforded F. Witcher 
McCullough his preliminary education, which was supple- 
mented Ijy his attending the Bingham Military Academy, 
Asheville, North Carolina, for three years. In the autumn 
of 1908 he entered the law department of the University of 
West Virginia, in which he was graduated in the spring 
of 1910, his reception of the degree of Bachelor of Laws 
having been virtually coincident with his admission to the 
bar of his native state. In the law school he was president 
of his class in his freshman year, and at the university also 
he became affiliated with the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. He 
was twenty-one years of age at the time of his admission to 
the bar, and in the general practice of his profession at 
Huntington he has been identified with important cases in 
the various courts of this section of the state and has 
clearly demonstrated his powers as a resourceful lawyer in 
both tlie civil and criminal departments of practice. The 
representative law firm of which he is a member maintains 
offices in both the Ohio Valley Bank Building and the First 
National Bank Building at Huntington, he being a director 
of the former instit(tion and also its official attorney. He 
is vice president and attorney of the Buffalo Thacker Coal 
Company. 

In November, 1913, Mr. McCullough was appointed first 
assistant United States attorney for the Southern District 
of West Virginia, under the administration of William G. 
Barnhart. Upon the resignation of Mr. Barnhart from the 
office of district attorney, in June, 1917, Mr. McCullough" 
was appointed acting district attorney, in which capacity 
he served until the following October, when Lon H. Kelly, 
the present United States attorney, was appointed. There- 
after he continued his service as chief assistant to the dis- 
trict attorney until December 31, 1921, when he resigned, 
as noted in the opening paragraph of this sketch. 

Mr. McCuUough has been an active worker in the ranks 
of the democratic party in this section of the state, has 
been a delegate to its state, district and county conventions 
and has otherwise been influential in its councils. He and 
his wife are communicants of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church, he holds membership in the Huntington Chamber 
of Commerce and the Guyan Country Club, and is affiliated 
with Huntington Lodge No. 53, A. F. and A. M., and Hunt- 
ington Lodge No. 313, B. P. 0. E. He owns and occupies an 
attractive modern residence at 1500 South Twentieth Street. 

On the 30th of January, 1912, was solemnized the mar- 
riage of Mr. McCullough and Miss Kathleen Guthrie, daugh- 



ter of Dr. L. V. and Margaret (Lynn) Guthrie, Dr. Guthj 
being superintendent of the West Virginia State Hospit 
at Huntington. Mr. and Mrs. McCullough have two ch 
dren: Witcher Guthrie, born July 8, 1915, and Fra 
Witcher, Jr., born December 4, 1920. 

Robert J. Wilkinson, M. D. The professional career 
Doctor Wilkinson since he graduated from medical colle, 
has been almost entirely in some branch of public and ins 
tutional service. For the past several years he has had t, 
responsible duties of surgeon-in-charge of the Chesapeat 
& Ohio Railroad Hospital at Huntington. ' 

Doctor Wilkinson was born in Campbell County, Virgin, 
July 12, 1888. His grandfather, Thomas Jasper Wilk- 
son, was a native of Cliesterfield County, Virginia, but wh^ 
a young man removed to Lebanon, Tennessee. There ; 
married Miss Lucy Wade, and not only led an active bu^ 
ness life, but was a prominent whig in early day politics 

Beverly J. Wilkinson, father of Doctor Wilkinson, vs 
born at Lebanon in April, 1844, and was reared in that ci. 
When the war between the states broke out, though buti 
boy, he enlisted and served under General Jackson in ii 
Valley Campaign, but was seriously wounded and d- 
eharged. He then re-enlisted and served under Gene! 
Morgan for three years. He was a graduate of Cumberlal 
University with an LL. B. degree, and after his univers' 
career removed to Campbell County, Virginia, where j 
made a distinguished name and reputation as a lawy, 
being a leader in the affairs of the democratic party of ts 
county. He was twice married, first to Mollie Turner, f 
Bedford County, Virginia, and later to Jennie Traylor, E 
Brunswick County, Virginia, who is the mother of Doct 
Wilkinson. After retiring from practice he lived with s 
son. Doctor Wilkinson, in Huntington, where he died i 
August, 1920. _ . 

The early education of Doctor Wilkinson was receiil 
from the public schools of Campbell County, supplemenl 
by private tutors. At the age of fifteen he qualified r 
work as a telegraph operator with the Southern Railyf 
Company. This occupation he followed three years, and is 
then in the mercantile business until 1908. Abandouinji 
business career, he entered the Medical College of Virgil 
at Richmond, and remained there until graduating in 191. 
While there he had the honor of being a member of e 
Omega Upsilon Phi Medical Fraternity, and in his senr 
year was elected president of the Student Body. After s 
graduation he served one year as an interne in t!;c Meuioi.l 
Hospital of Richmond, then for two years was associad 
with Dr. C. C. Coleman, of that city, specializing in gencil 
surgery. 

In October, 1915, Doctor Wilkinson was appointed si- 
geon-in-charge of the Chesapeake & Ohio Hospital at Hut- 
ington. He is a member of the Cabell County, West "V-- 
ginia State, American Medical Association, Virginia Mediil 
Society, Richmond Academy of Medicine, Southern Med:il 
Association, and through a special attainment as a surgn 
is a Fellow in the American College of Surgeons. 

He was among the first to volunteer for service in .e 
great World war, and after receiving his commission 'is 
assigned to the Base Hospital at Camp Lee, where he s- 
mained until after the armistice. 

In April of 1916 he married Miss Elizabeth Bichmcl, 
a native of Milton, North Carolina, and with their the 
children, Robert, Elizabeth and Walter, they now resideit 
their home on Sixth Avenue. 

Doctor Wilkinson votes as a democrat, and is a memir 
of Johnson Memorial Methodist Church, South, of Hunti;- 
ton. He is also affiliated with Huntington Lodge No. c3. 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Mohawk Tribe o. 
11, Improved Order of Red Men, The Kiwanis Club, Hit- 
ington Lodge No. 53, A. F. and A. M., West Virginia Ci- 
sistory No. 1 of the Scottish Rite of Wheeling, Beni-Kecn 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Charleston and the Groti's 
Branch of Masonry. 

Georoe 0. Via, D. D. S., is numbered among the fie 
and representative dental practitioners of the younger fi- 
eration in McDowell County, where he is established n 





~^ . y^^/^^^-^^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



59 



uMessful practice at Maybeury. Ho was born at Indian 

lills, Summers County, this state, on the 19th of June, 

894, and is a son of Anderson Henry Via and Narcissus 

Clark) Via, both likewise natives of tliis state and both 

^■■ntatives of families early founded in the oUI mother 

of Virginia. Anderson H. Via is a stonemason by 

iait has long been actively and successfully identified 

arm cnteri)rise in Summers County, where he is serv- 

I 1922, as president of the County Court and where 

.itherwise inlluential in public affairs, he having been 

, member of the School Board many years and both lie and 

' is wife being zealous members of the Baptist Church at 

iummers, of which he is a deacon and also secretary and 
reasurer. 
To the public schools of his native county Doctor Via 
i indebted for his preliminary education, which included 
he curriculum of the high school, and in the meanwhile he 
J ssisted in the work and management of his father 's farm. 
, [e remained at the parental home until 1912, when he be- 
. an tlie study of dentistry. In the autumn of 1911) he en- 
""red the Ohio College of Dental Surgery in the City of 
incinnati, where be continued his studies two years. He 
Jen transferred to the dental department of the University 
f Maryland, in the City of Baltimore, and in this institu- 
ion he was graduated as a member of the class of 1916 
nd with the degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. For 
even months thereafter he was engaged in practice at Pet- 
1 rstonn, West Virginia, he ne.xt passed five months in prac- 
I ice at Princeton, and in September, 1917, he established 
is professional headquarters at Maybeury, where in addi- 
ion to his general private jjraetice he is retained as official 
entist for the Pocahontas Fuel Company. In his large and 
npurtant |)ractice he finds it exjicdient to maintain branch 
•' ■ - at Keystone and Northfork, at which latter place he 
' arge of the McDowell County Dental Clinic, with 
Irntists and three nurses under his sujiervision. 
.'. lii II the nation became involved in the World war Doc- 
or Via subordinated all personal interests to the call of 
latriotism. lie enlisted May 2.5, 1917, was examined at 
/"harleston and there received his commission as first lieu- 
enant. on the 23d of September. Upon his return to May- 
ipury he suffered an attack of measles^ which was followed 
- ■ riiptoms of tubercular affliction, which resulted in his 
inn from military service and caused his isolation for 
■I of six months, at the expiration of which he had 
auiiiiiitly recuperated to resume the practice of his pro- 
ession. The doctor is a valued member of the Dental So- 
iety of the three counties with which McDowell County is 
ncluded, and is a member also of the West Virginia State 
)ontal Society and the National Dental Association. He is 
ffiliat<?d with the Knights of Pythias, is a member of the 
baptist Church, and his wife holds membership in the 
'resbyterian Church. 

At Petersto«n, this state, in 1917, Doctor Via wedded 
diss Edith May Callaway, daughter of John and Sallie 
Spriegel) Callaway. Mr. Callaway had entire charge of 
he general store maintained tjy the Pocahontas Fuel Com- 
lany at Maybeury at the time of his death, several years 
igo, and his" daughter Edith M. (Mrs. Via), was born at 
his place. Doctor and Mrs. Via have three children: Mil- 
Ired Merrill, Martha Hunter and Wilda Katherine. 

Hon. George Coleman Bakee, of Morgantown, one of 
■Vest Virginia 's prominent native sons, represents a pioneer 
"amily of Monongalia County, and has won individual dis- 
inction at the bar and in the domain of public affairs. His 
issociates refer to him as a conscientious and as an able law- 
yer, a thorough scholar and a dignified, accomplished and 
massuming gentleman. Mr. Baker represents the fifth gen- 
eration of the American branch of the family, and members 
>f the successive generation are taken up in chronological 
>rder in the following paragraphs. 

L Peter Becker, whose descendants adopted the present 
<pelling of the family name, came to this country about 1740 
ind settled in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He prob- 
ibly came over on the ship Loyal Judith from Rotterdam, 
'Commander LoveU Painter," November 25, 1740. In the 
ship's list his age is given as twenty-two. 



II. His sou, Ueorge Baker, who wa« born in Laueaator 
County, Pennsylvania, February 6, 1762, was founder of 
the family in what is m^w Wc»t Virginia. After Ibo 
Kevolution, in which he was a veteran, he traveled westward 
and southward until he reached what is now known u 
Cheat Neck, Vuiim District, locating on land at that 
time partly occupied by the Indians and upon which Und 
are the remains of an old Indian graveyard. He wai a 
gunsmith by trade, and later owned two proiH-rtiea on 
High Street in Morgantown, one now occupied by Orr's 
store, the other by W. E. Price's brick business block. 
George Baker, who died June 27, 1844, at the age of 
eighty-two, married Elizabeth .\orri.s, who was b<irn 
January 5, 1771, and died October 13, 1»57, aged eighty- 
six. She was a daughter of William Nnrris, from whom 
she inherited the Baker farm. William Norris obtained the 
original tract of 4U0 acres under George ill of England in 
1772, and deeded it to his daughter, Elizabeth Norris 
Baker, and her husband, George Baker. 

III. John N. Baker, one of the twelve children of 
George and Elizabeth, was born July 17 ISUl, died, and 
was buried July 17, 1894, at the advanced age of ninety- 
three. He was a man of self-reliance, rugged character, 
intense honesty and untiring perseverance, and recognized 
widely as one of the strong characters of his generation. 
This was exhibited in his relationship to the church of which 
he was a leader, the Methodist Protestant. His early op- 
portunities for education were necessarily meager, yet his 
native ability made him recognized as the finest mathemati- 
cian in the county. He lived his long life honored and 
respected. On June 29, 1823, he married Nancy Norris, 
who was born June 6, 1801, and died May II, 1863. They 
lived on the Baker homestead, to which he fell heir as 
the oldest son of George and Elizabeth Norris Baker. 
By his wife, Nancy, he was the father of ten children. 
After her death John N. Baker, in his old age, married her 
sister Elizabeth, better known as Aunt Betsey. There were 
no children by this union. The family of Nancy and Eliza- 
beth Norris were not related to William Norris, whose 
daughter married the first George Baker. 

IV. Andrew Coleman Baker, father of the Morgantown 
lawyer, was born January 20, 1832, on the old homo farm, 
and died June 14, 1863. He was a man of attainments and 
high Christian character and possessed many worthy traits. 
During the Civil war he served for a time in the State 
Militia, and died while that struggle was in progress. 
March 6, 1860, he married Hannah A. Vance, who was born 
August 6, 1841, daughter of the late Col. Addison 8. and 
Mary (Sturgiss) Vance. She was a lineal descendant of 
John Lincoln, who was a Revolutionary soldier and a dis- 
tant cousin of President Lincoln. Her father, who waa 
born in Frederick County, Virginia, in 1812, and died 
in Morgantown in 1883, moved to this city in 1835 from 
Uniontown, Pennsylvania, where he had learned the hat- 
ter's trade, and for many years he manufactured bats 
in Morgantown. From 1847 to IS5I he was owner and pro- 
prietor of the old National Hotel (now the Peabody). Uc 
exchanged his city property for a farm (now the West 
Virginia University Experiment Farm) and successfully 
operated it for several years, until he retired. 

George Coleman Baker was burn at the old Baker 
homestead in Union District of Monongalia County March 
4, 1802. His father died, as noted, in 1863, and his 
mother then removed to Morgantown, where his first advan- 
tages were secured in the city schools. He continue<l his 
education in West Virginia University, graduating A. B. 
in June, 1883. The following year he read law with 
the firm of Berkshire and Sturgiss in Morgantown, and 
then entered the hiw department of West Virginia Uni- 
versity, receiving his LL. B. and A. M. degrees in 1886. 
Immediately after graduating he passed his examination 
before the Supreme Court of West Virginia at Wheeling 
and received his license to practice law from that court. 

January 1, 1887, Mr. Baker became a member of the 
law firm of Berkshire Sturgiss, thereafter known as Berk- 
shire, Sturgiss & Baker until January 1, 1889. At that 
date he formed a partnership with Hon. Frank Cox. Mr. 
Cox then assumed the duties of prosecuting attorney and 



60 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



appointed Mr. Baker aa his assistant, and when Mr. Baker 
was elected to succeed Mr. Cox aa prosecuting attorney, 
January 1, 1893, he appointed Mr. Cox as his assistant. 
Their law partnership has been one of mutual profit and 
advantage for over thirty-three years, the only interruption 
being two years when Judge Cox was on the bench of the 
Supreme Court of West Virginia. 

March 4, 1909, Governor W. E. Glasscock appointed 
Mr. Baker judge advocate general of the State of West 
Virginia, with the rank of brigadier general on his staff, 
an office he filled' four years. In and outside of his pro- 
fession he had exercised a prominent influence in public 
life, and has welcomed opportunities to use his abilities in 
behalf of the welfare and betterment of community and 
state. Especially noteworthy was his part in the struggle 
for equal taxation during the period when that important 
question was before the people. Those familiar with the 
history of the movement credit his efforts with having had 
a material bearing on the final settlement. For over a 
period of three years he participated in the public discus- 
sions carried on through the press of the state, and also 
by his arguments before the state courts, and thus was 
active in the campaign to educate public sentiment, which 
finally resulted in the legislative enactment providing for 
tax reform. This act provided for the taxaton of lease- 
holds for coal, oil and gas which had never before been 
subject to taxation under tlie laws of West Virginia, though 
representing vast millions of untaxed wealth. Mr. Baker 
has found other important duties and responsibilities in 
social and religious organizations. He is a member and 
for many years a trustee of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, and is affiliated with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. 

September 4, 18S9, he married Miss Juliette Boyers. 
Her father was the late Hezekiah C. Boyers, a minister 
of the Methodist Protestant Church. Her mother, Eliza- 
beth M. Brock, was the daughter of Kev. Fletcher and 
Rachel (Stevenson) Brock. Mrs. Baker, who is a graduate 
of the Morgantown Female Seminary, was prior to her 
marriage a teacher in the Morgantown High School and 
in Marshall College at Huntington. In later years, with 
some relief from the cares and the duties of home and 
motherhood, she has taken a prominent part in church and 
social affairs, and is widely known over the state in the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, having held the 
oflice of State Chaplain, Chapter Regent of the Elizabeth 
Ludington Hagans Chapter D. A. R., and has been a mem- 
ber of various state committees of this organization. Mrs. 
Baker is the proud possessor of a sixteen hundred hour 
badge for work during the World war. Mr. and Mrs. 
Baker have a son and two daughters, constituting the sixth 
generation of this family. 

The son, Charles George Baker, born July 4, 1890, 
graduated from high school in 1907, then entered West 
Virginia University as a classical student and cadet, and 
received his A. B. degree in 1911 and his law degree 
in June, 1913, and at graduation was also major in the 
Cadet Corps. For four years he was a partner of Stanley 
R. Cox in the prosecuting attorney 's office, and is now 
a member of the law firm of Baker & Posten and is as- 
sistant prosecuting attorney. For a number of years 
he has been in active work in the Boy Scouts movement and 
in other civic organizations, is a steward in the First 
Methodist Episcopal Church and affiliated with the Odd 
Fellows and Masons. July 16, 1913, Charles G. Baker mar- 
ried Charlotte Amy Blair. Her father, William F. Blair, 
of Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, was for several years a 
member of the Pennsylvania Legislature. Charlotte Amy 
Blair, who was born February 25, 1892, was educated in 
Beaver College in Pennsylvania, is a vocal graduate of 
West Virginia University and continued her musical studies 
in voice at Boston. Charles G. Baker and wife have two 
children; Mary Jane Baker, born October 24, 1915, and 
Betty Sue, born November 27, 1917. 

The older of the two daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Baker 
was Grace Juliette Baker, who was born March 21, 1893, 
she completed her education in the Morgantown High 
School, West Virginia University and Washington Col- 



lege in the District of Columbia, and life held out s 
greatest promise to her when, at the age of only tweBi. 
five, she passed away March 26, 1918. She waa a mii- 
ber of the Episcopal Church. 

The younger and surviving daughter. Marguerite Bal', 
was born January 20, 1897, graduated from high sch.l 
in 1914, in June, 1916, graduated from Rye Seminary n 
New York, and received a degree for work in piano at W t I 
Virginia University in June, 1917. She then entered Snlil 
College at Northampton, Massachusetta, the larg t ; 
woman 's college in the United States, and June 14, 19 , 
graduated with the Bachelor of Arts degree and " Mi ■ 
cal Honors." She was married to James Oft'utt Lali, 
son of Hon. James S. Lakin, of Charleston, West Virgii,, 
on Wednesday, December 21, 1921. 

Charles George Baker. In the domain of the lawt 
happened not infrequently that the male members 0:'a 
family will show a predilection for the same calling, n 
following father in keeping the family name promineny 
before the people of the community in connection with s( • 
ing the problems and perplexities of involved court liti - 
tion. This applies to Charles George Baker, of the J* 
firm of Baker & Posten, who is one of the promin t 
younger members of the bar of Morgantown, and wbc 
father, George C. Baker, a sketch of whose career prece 3 
this review, is one of the leading attorneys of Monongja 
County. 

Charles George Baker was born July 4, 1890, at M- 
gantown, where he received his early education in e 
public schools, being graduated from the high school f 
this city as a member of the class of 1907. Follow » 
this he entered the University of West Virginia, from whli 
institution he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts a 
1911 and that of Bachelor of Laws with the class of 19., 
in which latter year he was admitted to the bar and beja 
practice in the office of Cox & Baker of Morgantown. e 
served as assistant prosecuting attorney for Monongjs 
County from 1917 to 1921, and on February 21st of e 
latter year became senior member of the law firm of Bar 
& Posten, a combination that has already attracted att- 
tion for its capable handling of several important can. 
Mr. Baker has always taken an active interest in Boy Sc t 
activities, and served as scoutmaster for a number of ye;i. 
In 1921 he became scout commissioner for Monongta 
County. He is a member of the local lodges of the Maac!, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Junior Order Unid 
American Mechanics and Modern Woodmen of Amerii, 
is secretary of the Morgantown Kiwania Club and belois 
to the Chamber of Commerce. His college fraternity s 
Kappa Alpha, and his religious connection is with e 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

On July 16, 1913, Mr. Baker married Miss Charlce 
Blair, daughter of William F. and Narcissus Blair, f 
Waj'nesburg, Pennsylvania, and to this union there he 
come two daughters: Mary Jane, born October 24, 19), 
and Bettie Sue, born November 26, 1917. 

Wiley Marion Hale. One of the substantial and vl 
ordered financial institutions of Mingo County is the K- 
mit State Bank, at Kermit, of which Mr. Hale was one f 
the organizers and of which he has served as cashier fra 
the time of its incorporation. The first president was D. 1. 
Hewitt, who continued the incumbent of this office ui 1 
his death, in the winter of 1921-2. Floyd Brewer is ve 
president. 

Mr. Hale was born on his father's farm ten miles et 
of Inez, Martin County, Kentucky, and the date of 8 
nativity was February 21, 1873. He is a son of George '. 
and Sallie (Parsley) Hale, the former of whom died a 
1904, at the age of sixty-one years, and the latter of who 
died in the following year, at the age of fifty-six. The - 
ther was born in Floyd County, Kentucky, and in addita 
to becoming one of the progressive farmers of his nate 
state he waa also identified with the timber business si 
was associated with M. H. Johns in the conducting oiJ 
general store on Wolf Creek in Martin County, Kentue . 
In 1888 he was elected county clerk of Martin County, vs 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



61 



re elected at the close of bis first term, and thus held tlie 
office eight years. As a gallant young soldier of the Union 
in the Civil war he was a member of Company K, Four- 
teenth Kentucky Volunteer Infantry, and he took part in 
many engagements. He was with General Sherman's army 
in the historic Atlanta campaign and subsequent march to 
the sea, and at the battle of Kenesaw Mountain he was 
ileJ, though not seriously. He was a republican, was 
ated with the Grand Army of the Kepublic, and he and 
^ife were earnest members of the Methodist Church at 
. Kentucky, which he served as sui>erintonilent of the 
i:iy School. Of their five children, all sons, John W. is 
serving as assessor of Martin County, Kentucky; Rob- 
1.. is cashier of the Deposit Bank at Inez, that county; 
y M., of this sketch, was next in order of birth ; Julius 
■ a merchant at Pilgrim, Martin County, a village near 

■ Id home of the Hale family; and Wallace B. is asso- 

■ 1 with a coal company at Burch, West Virginia. 
Viley Xi. Hale completed his early school work in the 

pulilic schools at Barbourville, West Virginia, under the 
tiitiirship of G. W. F. Hampton, and for twelve years there- 
after he was a successful and popular teacher in the schools 
(if his native county, where his final pedagogic service was 
ill tlie village schools at Inez. He became assistant to his 
father in the oflice of county clerk, and in 1904 was elected 
circuit clerk for Martin County. In the following year he 
there became cashier of the Inez Deposit Bank, and of 
this position he continued the incumbent fifteen years, bis 
resignation taking jdace when he became one of the organ- 
iters of the Kcrniit State Bank, of which he has since con- 
tinued the cashier. In his native county be was active and 
influential in securing leases for those who there carried 
forward oil and gas development, and the same progressive 

' loyal civic spirit has animated him since he established 

• >me in West Virginia. 
i r. Hale is a staunch republican, he and his wife are 
lers of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and in 
Ma.sonic fraternity he has received the thirty-second de- 
"f the Scottish Rite as a member of the Consistory at 
Hijtou, Kentucky. In connection with his York Rite 
itions he served ten years as master of the Blue Lodge 
nez, that state, besides having been for one year the 

! le grand of the local lodge of the Independent Order of 

nil Fellows. 

The year 1894 recorded the marriage of Mr. Hale and 
Miss Nickotie Spaulding, daughter of John K. Spaulding, of 
Warfield, Kentucky. Of the children of this union the 
eldest, George W., is assistant cashier of the Kermit Stat« 
Bank ; Maude is the wife of Elmer Stepp, a member of the 
West Virginia State Police, their home being at Madison; 
and the younger children, still of the parental home circle, 
are Rudolph, Wallace M. and Lewis D. 

Harry G. Williams has been successfully engaged in the 
real-estate and insurance business in the City of William- 
son, Mingo County, since 1911, and bis insurance agency, 
of general order, is one of the most substantial in Mingo 
County. 

Of English and Irish Ancestry, Mr. Williams is a scion 
of families founded in Virginia many generations ago, his 
maternal grandfather having been a prominent civil engi- 
neer in that historic ohl commonwealth. He is a son of 
C^rus and Octavia (Davis) Williams and was born at Taze- 
well, Virginia, August 20, 1880. His father was long a 
representative farmer and citizen of Tazewell County, and 
served as a member of a Virginia cavalry regiment under 
Gen. Juhal A. Early, throughout the Civil war, he having 
made a splendid record as a gallant young soldier of the 
Confederacy and having never been wounded or captured. 

In 1899 Harry G. Williams graduated from the high 
school at Richlanilj Tazewell County, Virginia, and for three 
years thereafter he was a student in the private academy 
conducted by Professor Mcllvain at Bowen Cove, Virginia. 
He then took a position in the First National Bank of 
Montgomery, Indiana, where he remained eighteen months. 
He then came to Williamson, West Virginia, to assume the 
position of assistant cashier of the First National Bank, 



a position which he retained until December, 1911, when ho 
resigned and forthwith established his present real csutr 
and insurance business, in which be ha.n achieved unequivocal 
success. He has been decisively progroiwivu and public- 
spirited as a citizen, and while he hoii had no desire for 
I>ublic oflice he gave four years of fffeclive service aa a 
member of the Board of Education at Williamson. In the 
World war period he was chairman of the lo<-al Draft Hoard, 
was a vigorous worker in the drives in 8up|K)rt of |>atriutir 
objects, including the Government war loans, and «u« treaii- 
urcr of the local chapter of the Red Cross, a ponitinn whiih 
he still retains. Mr. Williams is alliliated with the .Manonle 
fraternity, is a valued member of the local KiwanU Club, 
is an active member of the Williamson Lodge of Klks, ami 
ho and his wife hold membership in the Presbyterian Church 
in their homo city. 

At Montgomery, West Virginia, a town named in honor 
of the family of which his wife is a representative in the 
maternal line, Mr. Williams was united in marriage, in 1906, 
with Miss Myrtle Smith, a daughter of Green and Willie 
(Montgomery) Smith, Mr. Smith being a leading contractor 
and builder at Montgomery. Mr. and Mrs. Williams have 
a winsome little daughter, Octavia, 

John R, Little, the superintendent of Fall River Mines, 
Fall River Pocahontas Collieries Company at Roderficld, 
McDowell County, is one of the efficient and popular eiecu 
tives in the coal mining industry in this section of bis na- 
tive state, his birth having occurred near Wyoming, Mercer 
County, West Virginia, September 24, 1880, He is a son 
of Hiram and Martha Ann (Uearn) Little, the former of 
whom was born near Charleston, this state, and the latter 
near Oakvale, Mercer County. The father died in 1906, at 
the age of fifty-two years, and the mother now resides at 
Coaldale, Mercer County, she being sixty-seven years of age 
at the time of this writing, in the winter of 1921-2. Aa a 
young man Hiram Little was a successful teacher in the 
schools of Mercer and Wyoming counties, and thereafter he 
was a merchant at Basin and Crumpler, which latter place 
was then known as Burks Garden. In bis progressive busi- 
ness career he became agent for the Flat Top Land Com- 
pany, in which connection he obtained options and pur- 
chased many tracts of timber and coal land in Wyoming. 
McDowell and Raleigh counties, beside doing a large amount 
of surveying of lands now owned by representative coal com- 
panies. As a boy of twelve years Hiram Little became a 
member of the Methodist Church, in which he became a local 
preacher and in the work of which he continued active and 
zealous until the time of bis death, his widow likewise t>o- 
ing a devoted member of this church. He was also a vital 
and enthusiastic advocate of the principles of the republican 
jiarty, and was an effective campaign speaker. Of the seven 
children of the family two died in infancy; Thomas Levi 
is superintendent of a coal company at Herndon, Wyoming 
County; John R., of this sketch, was the next in order of 
birth; Robert S. is a mine foreman at Coaldale; Edgar U. 
is a farmer and dairyman at Roanoke, Virginia; and Mar- 
garet is the wife of John Clendennin, of Roanoke, McDowell 
County, West Virginia. 

John R. Little attended school at Crumpler, McDowell 
County, and the Billups School in Tazewell County, Virginia, 
where the family home was maintained two years. When 
still a boy be began working in the Shamokin mines at 
Maybeury, where he remained two years. He was next cm- 
ployed in the Elkhorn mine, at the same place, and later 
for' two years he had charge of a general store at Maybeury. 
He then became a foreman at the Elkhorn Mine, of which he 
was later made superintendent, and in 1918 he asjiumed his 
I)resent executive post, that of superintendent of the Fall 
River Mine. Like his father, Mr. Little has taken deep in- 
terest in educational work, and he served as a member of 
the School Board of Brown Creek District. He has had 
no desire for political activity, but is a loyal supporter of the 
cause of the republican party. 

In March, 1906, Mr. Little wedded Miss Cora Tabor, 
daughter of A. J. Tabor, of Coaldale, and the childjen of 
this union are five sons and five daughters. 



62 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Saiiuel W. Patterson was one of the first officials ou 
the ground in the development of the coal property of the 
Bottom Creek Coal & Coke Company at Vivian in McDowell 
County. He has lived there since December, 1891, and has 
become a successful and widely known coal operator in that 
section of the state. 

Mr. Patterson was born in Elk County, Pennsylvania, 
September 24, 1863, son of Thomas N. and Eachel (Spen- 
cer) Patterson. The Pattersons were a family of Irish, 
Scotch and English origin, while the Spencers were Eng- 
lish. Mr. Patterson comes of several branches of substan- 
tial New England stock, including the Howland and Deni- 
son families. He is a member of the John Howland Society. 
His parents were both born in Pennsylvania, his father at 
Mauch-Chunk. Thomas N. Patterson took up the profes- 
sion of medicine, but soon abandoned it to engage in coal 
mining, and later became manager for J. C. Haydon at 
Mahanoy City, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, then one 
of the largest operators in Carbon County, Pennsylvania. 

Samuel W. Patterson graduated from high school in 
Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania, and at the age of sixteen 
entered his father's office. There he acquired a thorough 
knowledge of the coal industry, being afforded every oppor- 
tunity to familiarize himself with the business and techni- 
cal branches of the business. His uncle, William Spencer, 
had acquired an interest in coal lands in West Virginia. 
With this interest as the basis there was organized in 1891 
at Pottsville Pennsylvania, the Bottom Creek Coal & Coke 
Company. The company selected and sent as its practical 
representatives to the field William Spencer and Samuel 
W. Patterson, the latter as secretary and treasurer of the 
company. Later he became president and general manager. 
The Norfolk & Western Railroad was then constructing its 
main line west into this section, but at the time Mr. Patter- 
son had to walk from what is now Kyle to Vivian, the loca- 
tion of the Bottom Creek Company's property. He has 
been here ever since and has had active supervision of all 
phases of the development of the property. He is still at 
his post of duty aa mine manager. With his brother, George 
S., he organized the Sycamore Coal Company of Cinderella, 
Mingo County, West Virginia, and is president of that com- 
pany, and is also vice president of the Majestic Collieries 
Company, Majestic, Kentucky. 

In 1903, at Brooklyn, New York, Mr. Patterson married 
Miss Mary Cleveland, daughter of Charles W. and M. Isa- 
bel (Torrey) Cleveland, both representing old families of 
Pennsylvania and New York State. Mr. and Mrs. Patter- 
son have one son, Thomas Cleveland. 

Meredith J. Simms, now a prominent citizen of Charles- 
ton, achieved his conspicuous place in business and public 
affairs in Fayette County, West Virginia, where for thirty- 
five years he was active as a merchant, banker and was also 
president of the County Court. 

The Simms family is an old one in America, of an Eng- 
lish ancestry running back for four or five centuries. The 
grandfather of Judge Simms was P. William Simms, who 
was born on the Gauley River in West Virginia, February 
2, 1804, was a farmer and blacksmith by occupation, and 
died in 1895. He married Elizabeth Dorsey, a native of 
Greenbrier County. One of their eight children was Frank- 
lin Pilcher Simms, who was born on the Gauley River in 
1831. and for many years owned and operated a large farm 
in Nicholas County. He married Eliza Simms, who died in 
1910. 

Meredith J. Simms, one of the thirteen children of his 
parents, was born on a farm in Nicholas County, April 9, 
1862. After 1873 the family moved to Fayette County, 
where he finished his public school education, and he began 
his business cai-eer in 1886 at Montgomery as bookkeeper 
for the Straugham Coal Company. He resigned in 1889 to 
become postmaster through appointment of President Har- 
rison, and after retiring from that office four years later 
he engaged in merchandising and in the wholesale bottling 
business, and gradually his interests took on a wide scope, 
involving affairs of great financial prominence in that 
section of the state. He was formerly president of the 
Montgomery & Cannelton Bridge Company, and was also 



president of the Montgomery National Bank. He re 
linquished these various interests when he moved t 
Charleston. 

Judge Simms was a delegate to the National Republiea 
Convention in 1896 when William McKinley was nominate( 
and to the convention of 1912 when William H. Taft wa 
nominated. He was for four successive terras, twenty-fou 
years, a member of the County Court of Fayette Count; 
and was president or judge of the court about twent 
years. On account of this judicial service he is alwaj 
known as Judge Simms. He is a member of the Elki 
Order. 

At St. Albans, West Virginia, January 3, 1887, he mai 
ried Alwilda Ramson, daughter of William and Mar 
(DeFore) Eamson. She was born in Jackson County, Wes 
Virginia, December 25, 1860, and is likewise descended froi 
a long line of ancestry, reaching back to pre-Colonial dayi 
Mary DeFore was of Hugenot descent, the founders of th 
family in America having been among that colony o 
Huguenots who came from France to Charleston, South Can 
lina, in 1689. The DeFore family later located in Appt 
mattox County, Virginia. 

Five children were born to Judge and Mrs. Simms, a 
follows: Forest DeFore, born December 29, 1887, die' 
February 16, 1914. Ira, born December 22, 1889, marrie 
Ruth Shrewsbury, of Charleston, and has a son, Mereditl 
now five years of age. Ira served with the American arm 
during the Mexican border troubles and following thi 
volunteered for service in the war with Germany, bein 
assigned to the aviation service. Mary Mabel, born Jam, 
ary 28, 1892. died September 20, 1894. Maude was bor 
May 13, 1895. Agnes Gene, born June 28, 1S97, is nc 
the widow of Dr. Ira M. Derr, whom she married June .' 
1918. Doctor Derr enlisted in the service of his countrj 
was commissioned a first lieutenant, and assigned to dut 
at Spartansburg, South Carolina, where he died in the ser\ 
ice, November 6, 1918. 

Judge Simms with his family removed to Charleston i 
1920 to make his permanent home. His residence occupie 
a beautiful and spacious site ou Columbia Boulevard, at th 
corner of Vine Street, on the banks of the Kanawha Rive 
and overlooking the beautiful valley. It is one of th 
handsomest homes in the city, with spacious lawns an 
grounds. 

In conclusion the writer cannot fail to draw some siguif 
cance from the immediate and generous welcome given t 
Judge Simms and family on their removal to Charlestor 
This has been in the nature of a tribute to his high standin. 
as a successful man of affairs. Though in the city less tha 
two years, he has served as a member of the Charleston Cit 
Council, is active vice president of the West Side Busines 
Men 's Club, is a member of the Charleston Chamber o 
Commerce and the Real Estate Board. While he does no' 
consider himself an active business man, he still has larg 
interests in real estate and to some extent in oil develn| 
ment. 

CoL. William Leckie was one of the big, strong 
kindly and generous men of the West Virginia coal fieldf 
A native of Scotland, son of a Scotch miner, he came t 
the United States when a young man, finished his edueatioi 
in American schools and by private study, worked in anc 
around mines for a number of years, and rose from variou 
positions of responsibility to be a leading mine operator 
He developed some of the best coal openings in Southeri 
West Virginia. 

William Leckie was born in Ayreshire. Scotland, on Oeto 
bcr 4, 1857, a son of Samuel and Katherine McClellai 
Leckie. He was the oldest of fourteen children. As a bo; 
he worked on a farm and in the coal mines of Scotland 
At the age of twenty-one he came to America and looatei 
in Shenandoah, Schuylkill County, Pennsylvania. His fathe 
and mother, brothers and sisters followed about six month 
later. William Leckie entered the mines as repairman, am 
by industry and economy he earned the money to ente 
Dickenson Seminary at Williamsport, Pennsylvania, when 
he was a student for two and a half years. In 1882 he wa; 
appointed fire-boss for the Philadelphia & Beading Coal i 



( 



IllSTOllY OF WEST VlllGINIA 



63 



tm Conijiany; a voar later lie was with the Buck Mountain 
"lal Company as inside foreman; and as ambition and 

ithfulncss won for him recognition and rapid advance- 

; nt hi' hecame, successively, district superintendent for 

I liifjh & Wiikes-Barre Coal Company; general superin- 

of the Lehigh Valley Coal, York Farm & Black- 

I cillicries; general superintendent of the Webster 

lal A: Coke Company; and, finally, general manager of the 

)yal Hanna Coal & Coke Company. 

On November 26, 18.S1, William Leckie married Annie 
Kolb, daughter of the Rev. F. H. Kolb, a Presbyterian 
mister, of Shenandoah, Pennsylvania. An interested 
'iror in his work and witness of his experiences was Mrs. 
and the inspiration of his ambitions and best en- 
She made it a rule always to be present at each 
_-. when the first car of coal was taken out. 

In liiOl William Leckie came to the Poi'ahontjis Coal 
elds as superintendent of the Pocahontas Collieries Com- 

ny, the jiioneer mines of this famous field. He developed 
id built up these mines, which were later bought by the 
>cahontas Consolidated Collieries Company. He remained 

thin position until 1907, when he went into business for 
Inself and e.stalilished the following ojierating companies, 

which he was president and general manager: The West 

rginia Pocahontas Coal Comjiany, with mines at Leckie, 
ret Virginia and general offices in New York, the Lathrop 
<al Company and Panther Coal Company, mines at Pan- 
er, West Virginia, the Leckie Collieries Company, mines 
' AfleXj Kentucky, and Leckie Fire Creek Coal Company 
d Douglas Coal Company, with mines at Fircco, West 

rginia, the general offices of the last four being at Welch, 
est Virginia, where Mr. Leckie lived for many years. He 
18 also the chief incorporator and president of several 

id-holding companies, the Pond Creek Coal & Land Com- 

ny, the Leckie-Ramsay Coal Company, the Cub Creek 
>al Company, and the Leckie Smokeless Coal Company, 
e latter company owning a large acreage of undeveloped 
al lands in Greenbrier County, West Virginia. The 
■ckic Coal Company, a selling agency, with offices at Nor- 
Ik, Virginia, and Columbus, Ohio, handles the output of 
e operating companies. Mr. Leckie was president of the 
irst National Bank of Anawalt, West Virginia, of the 
iiiefield National Bank at Bluefield, and a director in the 
irst National Bank of Welch. 

Colonel Leckie was a life-long Presbyterian, and was an 
Jer in the church at Welch. He was a membfir of all the 
asonic orders, of the Bluefield Lodge of Elks, also of the 
jtary Club, the Chamber of Commerce and the Country 
ub of Bluefield. Only a few short weeks before his death 
ilonel and Mrs. Leckie moved to their new home on Oak- 
irst .\venue in Bluefield, and it was there that he died on 
ovember 16, 1920. Five of a family of six children sur- 
ve him: Nellie, wife of Dr. S. J. Kell, of Bluefield; An- 
•ew F., of Welch ; and William S., of Williamson, who now 
ive the management of the coal properties; Douglas E., 
ho is in the real estate business in Bluefield; and Miriam, 
ho is the wife of Dr. M. B. Moore, of Huntington. 
Colonel Leckie never forgot his own early struggles as a 
iner. He understood the miner's viewpoint, and he made 
le living and social conditions of his camps one of his 
rst considerations in building up an operation. Much of 
IS success is attributed to his capacity for leadership of 
le men in his employ. He was a disciplinarian, but not a 
hip-cracking task-master; he was easy to approach and his 
nse of justice and generosity won the loyal fiiendship 
f his employes and kept his operations free from labor 
oubles. 

He was a broad-gauged, whole-souled man and a good 
tizen, thoroughly imbued with the highest spirit of Amer- 



Maeion Tms Ball. An exemplification of self-made 
lanhood is found in the career and person of Marion T. 
;all, of Williamson, Mingo County. A man of prominence 
nd influence in his community, he has risen solely through 
le medium of his own efforts and well-applied industry, 
or he entered upon his career with nothing but an indif- 
arent education to aid him and was forced to depend 
holly upon his own resources. 



Mr. Ball was born February 21, 1H61, in 1-ike I'ountv. 
Kentucky, a son of .lesw and Jane (Keith) Ball, nitiv."-, 
of Virginia. The Ball family is one that date* its Bn.e-try 
back to early Colonial days in Virginia, while the Kcitlm 
originated in Ireland. .lesse Ball wni a miniHter of the 
Methodist Episcopal faith, which he followed in Virginia. 
His nine children were reared in Kentucky. 

The youngest child in a large family, with the only means 
of support the meager and uncertain salary of a country 
preacher, Marion Tivis Ball had few of the pleasured anil 
advantages that are considered youth's inalienable right in 
these days. In fact he eon.siilered himself lucky to 1m- able 
to get an education in the country school, which he finished 
when he was fourteen years of age, with the exception of 
some irregular attendance during the winter nmnths on 
several later occasions. When he was fourteen he liegan to 
add to the family income by working in a sawmill, and 
during the six years that he was thus engageil mastered 
the business in numerous of its particulars. He then look 
up carpentry as a vocation, and this occupation he follnned 
with success for some twenty years. Next, he aci-i'pteil 
a position with the Hurst Hardware Company of William 
son, and while associated with Mr. Hurst in the furniture 
division of the store, became familiar with the undertaking 
business. In igi,"! Mr, Ball purchased the undertaking de- 
partment of Mr, Hurst's establishment, ami since then has 
devoted his time to this vocation. Mr. Ball has the tact 
and diplomacy necessary for his chosen line of work, into 
which he brings the latest methods for the reverent care of 
the dead. 

In 1881, while a resident of Pike County, Kentucky, Mr. 
Ball was united in marriage with Doreas Casebolt, a daugh 
ter of William and Lottie Casebolt, natives of Kentucky, 
and to this union tlicre have been born five children: Rob- 
ert Edgar, associated with his father in the undertaking 
business at Williamson, who married Willa Lowther; Vir- 
ginia Stella, who married Lee Fentor Morris, of William 
son, and has one child, Nancy Lou, born in 1921; Ix-wellyn 
Feme, who married Guy Hobson Hughes of Williamson ; 
Goebel Keith and Marion Tabor. The family belongs to 
the Presbyterian Church except Mr, Ball, who is an adherent 
of the Methodist Episcopal faith. He belongs to the Ki- 
wanis Club, and as a Mason holds membership in the Blue 
Lodge and Chai>ter at Williamson, the Knights Templar at 
Huntington, the Scottish Rite at Wheeling and is a memlier 
of Beni-Kedem Temjile, A. A. O. N, M. S. of Cliarleston, 
West Virginia. His support is always given to worthy 
civic movements, and he can be counted upon to contribute 
to those measures which have for their object the raising 
of standards of morality and citizenship. 

Edward K, Mahan, West Virginia is .still one of the 
more important states of the Union in the production of 
hardwood, and one of the largest organizations in the state 
for the manufacture and handling of such resources is the 
Peytona Luml)er Company, of which Edward K. Mahan, of 
Huntington, is president. 

Mr. Mahan 's great-great grandfather came from the 
North of Ireland to America in Colonial limes and founded 
the family in Virginia. The grandfather of the Hunting- 
ton lumberman was Nelson Mahan, who was born in Vir- 
ginia in 1806, lived for a number of years in Monroe County. 
West Virginia, in 1842 moved to Kanawha County, and died 
at Charleston in 188H. His principal business was contract 
ing for public works, and among others he constructed the 
locks and dams on the Coal River. His wife waa Sarah 
Legg, who also died at Charleston. 

John W, Mahan, father of Edward K., was born in Mon- 
roe County, March 24. 1841. He was a lumber manufac- 
turer with mills at Catlettaburg, Kentucky, and in Fayette 
County, West Virginia, where a village grew up around his 
mills named in his honor, Mahan. From 1891 until his 
death his home was at Huntington in Cabell County, but he 
died in a hospital at Charleston August 5. 1905, He bad a 
record of a Confederate soldier of the Civil war, serving 
throughout that conflict with the border rangers under 
General Jenkins and General McCauslands. 

John W. Mahan married Romaine Myers, who was bom 



64 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



at Gallipolis, Ohio, iu 1850 and died at Washington, D. C, 
June 9, 1916. They were the parents of five children: 
Romaine, wife of Dr. William E. Philes, a physician and 
surgeon at Washington, D. C; Edward K.; Mabel F., liv- 
ing at Washington, D. C, widow of George T. Paige, a 
resident of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; Jane, wife of an 
attorney, Marion Eustace, at Caldwell, Idaho; and Clara, 
wife of Arthur B. York, an attorney at Staunton, Virginia. 

Edward K. Mahan was born at Madison in Boone County, 
West Virginia, August 16, 1878. In 1904 he removed to 
Mansfield, Ohio, and was in the wholesale lumber business. 
In 1906 he assisted iu organizing the Peytona Lumber 
Company, becoming its secretary, and since 1915 has been 
its president. This company, with business offices in the 
Robson-Pritchard Building at Huntington, has mills and 
other facilities for the manufacture and wholesale han- 
dling of hardwood lumber and do an immense business in 
this line. Mr. Mahan is also a stockholder and director in 
the Huntington Banking and Trust Company, and is presi- 
dent of the Elk Creek Lumber Company. 

His home is at 2678 Third Avenue in Huntington. In 
March, 1901, at Catlettsburg, Kentucky, Mr. Mahan mar- 
ried Miss Victoria Williamson, daughter of Benjamin and 
Pauline (Taylor) Williamson. Mr. and Mrs. Mahan have 
one child, Virginia, born May 9, 1902. 

Joseph N. Doyle, present county engineer of Cabell 
County, has had a wide experience and numerous responsi- 
bilities in the civil and construction engineering profession. 
He is a native of Huntington, where his father at one time 
was a foundryman and manufacturer. 

Mr. Doyle was born at Huntington, May 19, 1887. His 
grandfather was a native of Ireland, and on coming to 
America settled in old Virginia. James Thayer Doyle, fa- 
ther of the county engineer, was born in Albemarle County, 
Virginia, in 1844, was reared at Maiden, Kanawha County, 
West Virginia, was married in Huntington, where he owned 
and operated a machine shop and foundry, and in 1891 
removed to Montgomery, where he continued in the same 
liusiness, his chief output being mining cars. Returning 
to Huntington in 1893, he went on the road as a salesman 
for the Ensign Car & Foundry Company, now a branch of 
the American Car & Foundry Company. From 1900 until 
his death in 1916 James T. Doyle was a mechanic in the 
service of the Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad. He was a 
democrat, and a deacon and very enthusiastic member of 
the Presbyterian Church. He married Lucy Maupin^ who 
was born in Cabell County in 1849, and died at Baltimore in 
March, 1921. Of their "four children the oldest is Jkmes 
E., a general and road contractor of Huntington; Mary 
Alice is the wife of H. S. Grosser, in the automobile busi- 
ness at Washington, D. C. ; Joseph N. is the third in age ; 
and Caroline Hope is the wife of Robert L. Hooven, also iu 
the automobile business at Washington. 

Joseph N. Doyle acquired a public school education at 
Huntington, giaduating from high school in 1905 and al- 
most immediately became an employe of the Leete-Maupin 
Engineering Company at Huntington. In the service of 
this firm he acquired a practical knowledge of civil engi- 
neering, and worked up to the rank of transit man. Leav- 
ing Huntington in 1910, he was for a time located at Indi- 
anapolis, where he had charge of an engineering party for 
the Moore-Mansfield Construction Company. On his return 
to Huntington he did work for A. B. Maupin, his uncle, 
then city engineer of Huntington, until 1914. In that year 
he was put in charge of all the field work for the firm Ren- 
shaw & Breece, mining engineers. In 1916 he and his asso- 
ciate, under the name of Stulting & Doyle, succeeded by 
purchase to the professional business of Renshaw & Breece, 
and for a vear continued the work in civil and mining engi- 
neering. Mr. Doyle then sold out to Stulting and formed 
the firm of Doyle Brothers, his brother James E. being his 
associate. They continued civil and mining engineering 
until the winter of 1919, since which date Mr. Doyle has 
continued alone and is one of the leading authorities on 
mining engineering in the state. His ofaces are at 320i^ 
Ninth Street. 

Mr. Doyle's position of county engineer came to him by 



appointment from the County Court of Cabell County 
April, 1921. He is a member of the American Associatiil 
of Engineers and the American Society of Engineers, 
politics he is a democrat, is affiliated with the Presbyterii| 
Church and is a member of Huntington Lodge No. 313 Be 
evolent and Protective Order of Elks. His home is 
modern residence at 1612 Third Avenue. He married 
Huntington in 1911 Miss Beulah Stephenson, daughter • 
Vinson W. and Nora (Walker) Stephenson, who reside 
402 Main Street, Huntington, her father being a retiri 
timber and lumber man. Mr. and Mrs. Doyle have one so 
James Thayer, born March 28, 1913. 

State Department or Mines. The first law governii 
the mining industry of West Virginia was enacted by t 
Legislature in 1883, creating the office of state mine i 
specter, with one inspector for the entire state. At the s« 
sion of the Legislature in 1887 the act was amended, pr: 
viding for two inspectors, and in 1893 it was again amende 
increasing the number of inspectors to three. At the sessii 
of the Legislature of 1897 the original act was furth 
amended by providing for a chief inspector and four distri 
inspectors. This number was again increased by the Legil 
lature of 1901 to five district mine inspectors, and increasij 
again in 1905 to seven district mine inspectors. 

At the session of the Legislature of 1907 the Departmei 
of Mines was created, the head of the department beii 
given the title of chief of department of mines, with twel 
district mine inspectors. This act was again amended ; 
the session of the Legislature in 1915 by a provision i 
three additional district mine inspectors, making fifteen : 
all. At the session of the Legislature of 1917 the law w! 
further amended by placing all sand mines, sand pits, cU 
mines, clay pits, quarries and cement works under the juri 
diction of the department and provided for an inspector fi 
same. 

In the year 1919 the Legislature re-enacted the minir 
law and provided for four district mine inspectors, makir 
a total of nineteen inspectors. The Legislature of 1919 ah 
provided for the establishment of seven mine rescue statioi 
and for a director of mine rescue, who has headquarte: 
at Charleston, and since the office has been created hundrec 
of men have been trained in first aid and mine rescue wor 
The stations are established at Charleston, Mount Hop 
Fairmont, Elkins, Wheeling, Logan and Welch. 

At the session of the Legislature of 1921 the mining la 
was again amended and three additional district mine i: 
specters provided for, bringing the total of the departmei 
to twenty-two district mine inspectors, one inspector ( 
sand mines, etc., a director of mine rescue and chief ( 
department of mines. 

In 1920 the first annual first aid meet was held by tl 
Department of Mines at Charleston. The first concerte 
action of West Virginia in the International First Aid Coi 
test resulted in the Scarbro Team of the New River Con 
pany carrying off the championship. The Mine Rescv 
Team from Scarbro took sixth place in mine rescue work 
and at the International First Aid and Mine Rescue Contes 
at St. Louis, Missouri, on September 1, 2, 3, 1921, the Whil 
Oak Team of the New River Company won the internationi 
championship for mine rescue work, thus bringing to Wei 
Virginia both championships in successive years. 

Logan County first produced coal in 1904, 52,673 tor 
being mined that year, and it has had the most rapid growt 
of any coal field in the world, as they produced 9,824,78 
gross tons and employed 1,000 men in and about the mine 
in 1920. Logan County has seventy-three coal compani( 
operating 146 mines. 

According to the reports of the United States Geologicj 
Survey in 1883, 2,335,833 tons of coal were mined in th 
State of West Virginia, and this has gradually increase 
until in 1920 there was mined in this state 89,590,274 toni 
and at the present time the potential tonnage of West Vii 
ginia is 140,000,000 tons. 

Total available coal yet remaining in West Virginia i 
estimated to be 159,814,662,527 short tons. In 1920 ther 
were 882 coal companies operating 1,440 mines and employ 
ing in and about the mines 105,000 men. 




^^^^^^, :^,,(0.,..!^^^ 



i 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



65 



So far there has not boen anything discovered that will 

laontly take the place of coal. It is true we have oil 

_ i.<, which have been tried out, but no one has been 

•■ detx-rmine the amount in reserve we have of either, 

■at we do know that the amount of coal in West Virginia 

s almost inexhaustible and that the West Virginia coals 

ire the best quality coals known. It is also true that several 

■oal fields of the United States are rapidly becoming ex- 

lausted, therefore it is only natural that West Virginia with 

icr great resources will supply the shortage created by these 

lifferent sections falling off in production. 

The chief of the Department of Mines is Kobert Morrison 
.anibie, a native of Scotland, and trained in the practical 
ind technical business of mining in that country, though 
learly all his active career and experience have been in the 
oal industry of West Virginia. 

Mr. Lambie was born at Stirling, Scotland, in 1886, son 
if Robert and Elizabeth (Morrison) I.ambic, representing 
omc of the good families of Scotland that have made that 
ountry distinguished for its brain and brawn. After 
{obert M. Lambie came to America his parents followed 
im, and they all lived together in West Virginia. Robert 
.ambie becoming ill, went back to Scotland for his health 
nd died while there. In Scotland he acted as agent for a 
Jritish Explosive Syndicate. The mother is still living and 
i\-ides her time between Scotland and West Virginia. 
Robert Morrison Lambie was educated in the schools of 
itirling, and spent four years in night school in that city, 
'tudying mining practice and mining engineering. In 1903, 
t the age of seventeen, he came to America and located at 
''tone Cliff, Fayette County^ West Virginia. Ilis first em 
•loyment there was as a driver in the coal mines, and he has 
erfomied practically every duty in connection with coal 
lining from laborer to managing official. His duty for a 
umlier of years involved important responsibilities with 
fading coal mine corporations. For three years he had 
harge of the operations of the Havoca Mining Company 
a McDowell County. For three years he was employed in 
managerial capacity by the McKell Coal & Coke Com- 
any 's three operations in Fayette County. He resigned to 
ecomc district inspector for the State Department of 
lines, an oflice he held two years. He then became division 
;iperint<?ndent of the New Eiver Coal Company on the 
V'hitc Oak Branch, having charge of eight operations of 
hat company in Fayette County. Mr. Lambie and family 
eside in Fayette County, and he is a member of the Ruffner 
lemorial Presbyterian Church there. He married Miss 
innie Hope Thompson, of that county. Their three children 
re Bessie Morrison, Robert Alexander and Annie Laurie 
.ambie. 
In 1919 Governor John J. Cornwell called Mr. Lambie 
J the office of chief of the Department of Mines, and he is 
jrving by reappointment in 1921 from Governor E. F. 
lorgan. The outstanding purpose of the Department of 
fines is to safeguard the miners in their work and to elimi- 
ate as far as possible the hazards and dangers of their 
line operations. Experts have declared the Department of 
lines of West Virginia possesses the most scientific and 
CScient safety devices and equipment of any state of the 
fnion. Costly and very technical instruments for detecting 
as, devices to be worn as safeguards from gas effects, are 
art of the department 's regular equipment. Another in- 
trument is the Geophone, invented and used in France dur- 
ig the World war by sappers, so highly sensitive that in a 
line where a fire or explosion or falling walls have cut off 
liners their location can be detected through many feet of 
3lid coal. This safety equipment is so located at strategic 
oints through the coal mining district that it can be rushed 
1 the desired points in the quickest possible time. 
Mr. Lambie having made these subjects his life work is 
minently fitted for the responsible office he fills, and is 
onstantly making experiments and investigations to in- 
rease the usefulness of the department. He is a Knight 
emplar Mason and Shriner. 

Elijah James Stone, assistant manager of the depart- 
lent store of Stone & Thomas, one of the largest and most 



popular retail mercantile eHtabliiihmcntit not only in the City 
of Wheeling but also in the State of Went Virginia, haa the 
further distinction of having been one of the gallant young 
men who represented this slate in the nation's military son 
ice in France at the time of the great World war. 

Mr. Stone was born at Martin's Kerry, Ohio, March 17, 
1890, but he is a representative of one of the old and hon 
ored families of what is now West Virginia. His grand- 
father, Elijah James Stone, whoso full patronymic he bearii, 
was a native of Massachiisetts and was one of the pionwr 
merchants of Wheeling, West Virginia, the business whirh 
he here established having been the nucleus around whirh hon 
been evolved the substantial mercantile enterprise now con 
ducted by the firm of Stone & Thomas. He was aiuurinted 
with his brother-in-law, the late .lacob (". Thomn.s, in foiwul 
ing the business at Wheeling, and here he continued as an 
honored and representative citizen until hi.s death, which 
occurred prior to the birth of his grandson and nnniP'Uikf. 
the subject of this sketch. Hi.s wife, p^lizabcth (Thoinniii 
Stone, likewise died in this city. Eilwanl L. and Eli/jilH-th 
(Elson) Stone, parents of him whose name initiates this re 
view, still maintain their home at Wheeling, where the father 
is living virtually retired, he having been succeeded by hiH 
only son in the active supervision of the great department 
store to the upbuilding of whieh he gave his splcmlid 
energies for many years. lie succeeded his father in the 
business, and has lived in Wheeling and vicinity all his life, 
his wife having been born in this city and the subject of 
this sketch being the younger of their two children. The 
elder child, Katharine Elson, became the wife of J. 8. Gibbs, 
Jr., who is engaged in the insurance business at Wheeling, 
and she was thirty-one years of age at the time of her death. 

After having profited by the advantages of the public 
schools of Wheeling, Elijah J. Stone here continued hli 
studies in Linsly Institute, anil thereafter he attended St. 
Paul's School at Concord, New Hampshire. He then entered 
historic old Yale University, in which he was graduated as 
a member of the class of 1911 and with the degree of 
Bachelor of Philosophy. At the university he became affili- 
ated with the Chi Ph'i fraternity. After leaving Yale Mr. 
Stone returned to Wheeling and identified himself actively 
with the department store of Stone & Thomas, the modern 
building of which is situated at the corner of Main and 
Bridge streets. Under the original firm name the businetu 
has been incorporated, and its officers are as here noted: 
W. E. Stone, president; E. L. Stone, vice president; J. S. 
Jones, secretary; W. E. Kowns, treasurer; and ¥,. J. Stone, 
assistant manager. Mr. Stone is loyal to his home city, is 
one of its liberal and progressive young business men and 
popular citizens, is a republican in politics, and holds mem- 
bership in the Wheeling Country CTub the Fort Henry aub 
and the University Club. 

In May, 1917, the month following that in which the 
United States entered the World war, Mr. Stone enlisted 
and was sent to Fort Benjamin Harrison, Indianapolis, In- 
diana, where he later reciived commission as a first lieuten- 
ant. On the 10th of September of that year he was sent 
overseas as a casual, and in France he attended the artillery 
school at Saumur. He then became a member of the 
Twenty-sixth Division of the American Expeditionary 
Forces, with which he was in service in the rheniin des 
Dames sector, northwest of Toule, for three months, next 
passed two months in the Chateau Thierry sector, and there- 
after was in the Meuso-Argonne sector, where he was sta- 
tioned at the time of the signing of the armistice. In each 
of these sectors Mr. Stone was with the artillery on the 
firing line, and in September, 1918, he was advanced to the 
rank of captain. He returned to the United States in May. 
1919, and received his honorable discharge at Camp Devens. 
Massachusetts. After this excellent record of patriotic 
service Captain Stone returned to Wheeling and resunied bi» 
association with the business of the company of which he is 
assistant manager. 

William H. Maoee, who was born in the conn^ north 
of Wheeling, is now designer for the Central Glass wof;* °' 
Wheeling, has concentrated the energy and study of bis ma- 



66 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



ture career to the glass industry, and has filled a number 
of expert and responsible offices with glass plants all over 
the Ohio Valley. 

Mr. Magee was bom at Wellsburg, West Virginia, October 
15, 1878. His father, Joseph Magee, was born in Donegal, 
Ireland, in 1841. He lived there until he was twenty, then 
crossed the ocean to Hamilton, Canada, and for two years 
was employed as a physician's assistant in a hospital. On 
leaving Canada he went to Akron, Ohio, learned the tinner 's 
trade, and followed it as a journeyman for seven years. In 
1870 he located at Wheeling, and owned and operated a tin 
shop and store at the corner of Eleventh and Market streets 
until 1877. In that year he removed to Wellsburg, where he 
continued the same line of business. From 1888 to 1898 he 
conducted his business at one of the leading centers of the 
Ohio oil fields, Findlay. For twenty years following he was 
in business at Newark^ Ohio, and in 1918 retired and now, 
at the age of eighty, is living at Charleston, West Virginia. 
He is a republican, a stanch member of the Episcopal 
Church, and is afiBliated with the Knights of Pythias. 
Joseph Magee married Hannah Richardson, who was born 
at Wheeling in 1849. Her father, William Eichardson, was 
a native of England, came to the United States and settled 
at Wheeling when a young man, and was a merchant tailor 
for many years. He married in Wheeling, Elizabeth Bar- 
rett, who was born in Ireland in 1808 and died at Findlay, 
Ohio, in 1892. Joseph Magee and wife had three children, 
William H. dying in infancy and the third son was also 
named William H., he being the glass maker at Wheeling. 
The second son, Charles Frizzell, is a clergyman of the 
Episcopal Church with home at Charleston, West Virginia. 
There was also an adopted daughter, Hannah Ethel, who 
died at Newark, Ohio, in 1918, wife of Franze Bahlke, who 
is now an employe of the Republic Truck Company at Alma, 
Michigan. 

William H. Magee spent the years of his chOdhood and 
early youth in Wellsburg, West Virginia, and Findlay, Ohio, 
acquiring his public school education there. He left school 
at thirteen, and his labors as boy and man have Ijcen entirely 
devoted to the glass industry. He was a boy worker in the 
mold department of the Dalzell, Gihnore & Leighton Com- 
pany at Findlay for seven years. From 1898 to 1902 he was 
mold maker for the A. H. Heisey Glass Company at Newark, 
Ohio. He first came to the Wheeling industrial district to 
take charge of the mold department of the West Virginia 
Glass Company at Martins Ferry. This plant was abandoned 
in 1904, and Mr. Magee was then put in charge of the mold 
department of the Jefferson Glass Company at Steubenville, 
Ohio, in 1906 went to Rochester, Pennsylvania, to fill a 
similar position with the H. C. Fry Glass Company, was 
there two years, and did similar work for the McKee Glass 
Company at Jeannette, Pennsylvania. He then returned to 
the Jefferson Glass Company, who had relocated at Follans- 
bee. West Virginia, and was general manager of that plant 
until 1910. For nearly a year he was in charge of the mold 
department of the Imperial Glass Company of Bellaire, and 
on January 1, 1911, he organized and opened the Grafton 
plant of the Columbia Tile Company. He continued as 
general manager of this West Virginia industry until Janu- 
ary, 1915. From that date until January 1, 1921 Mr. Magee 
had charge of the mold dep.artment of the Libbey Glass 
Company at Toledo, Ohio. On leaving Toledo he came to 
Wheeling as designer for the Central Glass Works. This is 
one of the prominent industries of the Wheeling District, 
located at Fifteenth and McColloch streets. 

Mr. Magee is a republican in polities, a member of the 
Episcopal Church, and is well known in glass manufacturing 
circles and as a citizen of a number of communities. During 
the war he acted as salesman in every one of the five loan 
campaigns. He owns a modern home at Park View, Elm 
Grove. Wheeling. He married at Wellsburg, West Virginia, 
in 1903, Miss Margaret Frances Spooner, daughter of 
Samuel and Anna (Carless) Spooner, now deceased. Her 
father was a rolling mill heater in sheet iron mills. Mrs. 
Magee was reared and educated in Wheeling, and died at 
Toledo, Ohio February 23, 1921. She is survived by four 
children: William Spooner, born at Steubenville. Ohio, May 
1, 1904; Nancy Lee, born at Rochester, Pennsylvania, April 



7, 1906; Samuel Joseph, born at FoUansbee, West Virgiui 
December 11, 1908; and Robert Barrett, born at Grafto 
West Virginia, November 7, 1912. 

Henry J. Haktmann. In capital invested and volume 
business ice manufacture now stands eighth among the i 
dustries of the United States. The oldest and largest i 
industry of Wheeling is the Wheeling Ice and Storage Coi 
pany. The eflicient manager of this business is Henry 
Hartmann, a native of Wheeling and with a long and sr 
cessful experience in local business affairs. 

Mr. Hartmann was born in Wheeling, June 12, 1869. B 
father, William Hartmann, was born in Waldeck, Germar 
in 1843, was reared and educated in his native country, a: 
on coming to the United States in the Spring of 1868 settl 
at Wheeling. For a period of forty-six years he was a wai 
houseman with the old Hobbs-Broekuuier Glass Gompar 
after which he retired. He died at Wheeling, October , 
1915. He was a democrat in earlier years, but became i 
republican at the McKinley campaign of 1896. He wi 
always one of the faithful members and attendants of ti 
Lutheran Church. Soon after coming to Wheeling he mi- 
ried Miss Elizabeth Bremer. She was also born in Walded 
Germany, in 1847, and had come to the United States in tt 
spring of 1868 in company with friends. Henry J. Ha- 
mann is the oldest of his parents' children. Charles is. 
broker at Wheeling and Fred W. is a salesman for t; 
wholesale candy firm of Ellison Heifer Company, with hoii 
at Martins Ferry, Ohio. 

Henry J. Hartmann was educated in the public school 
of Wheeling and attended Frasher's Business College. ]; 
left school in 1885, and his first regular work was six monti 
employment in a leather store. For two years he was W"j 
the Joseph Speidel Wholesale Grocery Company, and i' 
fourteen years was with Waterhouse Brothers, wholesi^ 
grocers. In this establishment he reached the position : 
head bookkeeper and salesman. 

It was in September, 1902, that Mr. Hartmann went w i 
the Wheeling Ice and Storage Company, beginning as cle, 
was promoted to assistant manager in 1913 and since (• 
tober, 1921, has been manager. He is also a stockholder al 
director of the company. The great prestige and businj 
this company enjoys is fully credited to the hard work a I 
splendid management of Mr. Hartmann. The plant al 
offices are at 2224 Water Street. 

Mr. Hartmann is a republican and has long been proi- 
nent in Zion Lutheran Church. He has served as eorrespoi- 
ing secretary, has on several occasions been a member of '3 
Church Council and has been president, secretary, treasur 
and trustee of the various church benevolent organizatio. 
He is a member of Ohio Valley Lodge No. 131, Knights f 
Pythias, Wheeling Lodge No. 28, Benevolent and Protects 
Order of Elks, and LaBelle Lodge, Ancient Order of Unii 
Workmen. He owns a modern home at 15 Kentucky Strt 
in Wheeling. He married in that city June 30, 1897, Ms 
Matilda Schenck, daughter of Frederick L. and Gather e 
(Baumberger) Schenck. Both her parents died in Wheeli;, 
her father having been for a number of years an emplce 
of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company. Mr. and Mi. 
Hartmann have one child, Kathryn. born March 1, 18'. 
She is a graduate of the Wlieeling High School and is n' 
bookkeeper for the Wheeling Ice and Storage Company. 

William S. Stenger. One of the most successful ci- 
cerns in West Virginia handling motor trucks and equi- 
ment is the Stenger Motor Company of Wheeling, a busins 
founded and built up with steadily increasing prosperity J 
William S. Stenger, a young business man of great ener', 
who has had the faculty of doing well anything he unc'- 
took. He is a member of a very well known family in e 
Wheeling District. 

He was born in Ohio County, West Virginia, May ), 
1885. His grandfather, John Stenger, was born in 1837 n 
Pennsylvania, and soon after the Civil war moved to e 
Northern Panhandle of West Virginia and spent the restf 
his life as a farmer in Ohio and Brooke counties. He dd 
at Beech Bottom in Brooke County in 1897. His son, Jin 
J. Stenger, was born in Belmont County, Ohio, in Februt', 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



67 



'1862, spfut his early life there, married in Wheeling, and for 
;weDtyfive years was employed in the sheet department of 
ron and steel rolling mills. Since 1907 he has been busied 
nth his farm at Short Creek, West Virginia. He has grown 
I large acreage in wheat and also has a peach orchard of 
.weiity acres. John J. Stenger is a Catholic, a democrat, and 
I nicniber of Carroll Council No. 504. Knights of Columbus, 
, kt Whi-eling. He married Jane Myles, who was born at 
A'beeling in August, 1862. Of their children the oldest is 
, 'atheriiie, wife of Bernard Baker, a stationary engineer 
iving at Warwood, Wheeling. The second in age is Wil- 
iam S. John J., Jr., is associated with the Stenger Motor 
'onipany. Vincent J. went overseas with the One Hun- 
Ired and Eighteenth Engineers and died in England iii 1918, 
.it the age of twenty-eight. Herbert M. and Earl are with 
heir father on the farm. Raymond E. is a student in St. 
'harles College at Baltimore. 

William S. Stenger acquired his early education in the 
■ublie schools of Wheeling, graduated from the Cathedral 
ligh School in 1904, and during the next five years he man- 
ned his father's retail dairy in Wheeling. From 1909 to 
'"'■ lie farmed on his own account in Ohio County, and in 
tier year he opened at Wheeling a business known as 
- .udow Motor Sales Company. In the summer of 1921 
'• I iiauged the name to the Stenger Motor Company, of 
.hich he is sole properietor. His garage, salesrooms and 
^ 'fBces are at the corner of Eleventh and Water streets. The 
; itenger Motor Company is the local distributing agency for 
' he Granim-Berustein Motor Trucks, Pilot cars, sells tires 
nd standard parts for motor trucks, and Mr. Stenger has 
' j.ed a business that is recognized as an indispensable 

to all truck owners at Wheeling. 

. Stenger is a republican, a member of the Catliolic 

iiur.h and Carroll Council No. 504, Knights of Columbus. 

: lis home is at 118 Twenty-first Street in Norwood. Novcm- 

.>er 24, 19U9, at Wheeling, he married Miss Sadie E. Smith, 

.laughter of John E. and Mary Catherine (Raab) Smith, of 

Ihort Creek, where her mother lives. Her father was a 

r'armer and died at Short Creek. Mrs. Stenger completed 

ler education in the West Liberty Normal School. To their 

laarriage have been born six children: Ralph, born in 

leptember, 1910; Sarah, January 13, 1912; Gertrude, in 

lay. 1913; Ruth, in November, 1914; Blanche, in August, 

917; and Angela, in September, 1919. 

Maj. John C. Bond, state auditor of West Virginia, is 

comparatively young man but with a record of activities 
hat constitute real distinction. He began earning and 
aying his own way when a youth. He has been a teacher, 
lewspaper editor and manager, and prior to his election as 
tate auditor had served as adjutant general of West Vir- 
;inia and is an ex-service man and officer of the World war. 

Major Bond was born in Pendleton County, West Vir- 
;inia, in 1880, son of William H. and Rebecca (Judy) 
5ond. His grandfather, Capt. John S. Bond, was a native 
if Pennsylvania, settled in Pendleton County in the early 
50s, and during the Civil war was a captain of Home 
luards. 

John C. Bond was reared on a farm, worked in the 
ields. in lumber mills, as a railroad brakeman, and in the 
neantime was acquiring his education in public schools and 
inally in the Fairmont State Normal from which he 
Taduated in 1902. After teaching he took up newspaper 
cork, became editor and general manager of the Fairmont 
'imes. and left that city in 1907 to come to Charleston as 
ditor and general manager of the Charleston Daily Mail. 
Jiving up the hea\'y routine of this responsibility in 1909. 
e became a general correspondent and political writer, and 
•ecame widely known for his knowledge of state politics and 
lolitical personalities. 

In the meantime for several years Major Bond was 
ctive in the affairs of the National Guard. His first 
ailitary experience came during the Spanish-American war 
•t 1898, when he joined the First West Virginia Volunteer 

nfantry. In the National Guard his reputation was based 
■n his expert skill with the rifle. He represented the West 
Virginia National Guard in various rifle tournaments at 



Camp Perry, Ohio, Seagirt, New Jer»<.y, and Jacksonville, 
Florida. 

In 1914 be was appointed adjutjxnt general of West Vir- 
ginia, with the rank of brigadier general of the National 
Guard. As adjutant general it devolved upon him in 1916 
to mobilize the National Guard for service on the Mexican 
border. Later, when the National Guard wa.i mustered into 
the United States service, in April, 1917, he resigned and 
soon afterward was accepted for service in the National 
army with the rank of major. He was assigned to duty as 
assistant adjutant of the Thirty eighth Division at Camp 
Shelby, Missi.ssipjii. There he was one of the three officers 
detailed by the War De|iartment from the Thirty eighth 
Division to attend the Army General Staff College, A. E. F., 
at Langres, France. lie left for overseas on thli assign- 
ment early in February, 1918. Major Bond graduated from 
this college with a diploma from the general staff recom- 
mending him for general staff duty »ith troops — the highest 
recommendation given by the general staff and most unu.<iual 
honor for a soldier from civil life. He graduated May 29, 
1918, and from that date was in constant service on the 
various battle fronts until the armistice. Major Bond was 
with the First Division in the MontdidicrNoyon sector, and 
was transferred about July 1st to the Thirty-fifth Division, 
on duty in Alsace, near the Swiss border. Later, with the 
same division, he engaged in the St. Mihiel drive, which was 
the American army 's first major offensive, and subsequently 
was with the Thirty-fifth Division in the Meuse-Argonne 
battle. Major Bond's Victory Medal has four bars, indi- 
cating that he was engaged in three major offensive opera- 
tions and one defensive. His defensive work was in the 
Somme-Dieu in Lorraine and in the Kruth sector in Alsace. 

Major Bond returned home early in 1919 and was du- 
charged at Uoboken in February. He had devoted prac- 
tically five years to the National Guard or National army 
service. He soon afterward became a clerk in the office 
of the secretary of state at Charleston, and early in 1920 
announced his candidacy for the republican nomination for 
state auditor. He won this honor at the primaries and was 
elected in November, 1920. Major Bond is a man of mili- 
tary training, has the military habit of efficiency, knows 
West Virginia affairs and politics, and his skillful adminis- 
tration of the auditor's office .so far has fully justified the 
confidence reposed by his election. He has one of the most 
imi)0rtant of the executive offices at the capitol, the state 
auditor having general supervision not only of state ac- 
counts in general but such special departments as that of 
fire marshal, sheriff, corporations, warrant, insurance, lands. 

Major Bond is a Scottish and York Rite Mason and 
Shriner, and is a member of the Methodist Church. He 
married Miss Blanche Hume, and they have a son, Paul 
Hume Bond. 

William Lawrence Bbice is the present general manager 
of the Wheeling Register. Ho became manager under his 
un.le, the late James B. Taney. He therefore continues the 
distinctive relationship maintained by the Taney family to 
this old institution of journalism. 

The Wheeling Register was established durmg the CivU 
war times, in 1863, and has been published continuously for 
over half a century. Lewis Baker was one of the founders, 
and continued the management as principal owner until 
1884. At that time the Register was acquired by Taney 
Brothers, and the Register has been owned and published by 
the West Virginia Printing Company since that year. "The 
Register was managed first by James B. Taney, from 1884 
untU 1893, when Mr. Taney was appointed consul-general to 
Ireland under President CTevelan.i in his second term of 
office. His brother, Charles Henry Taney, succeeded him as 
general manager of the Register, and continued m same 
capacity until his sudden death on February 20. 191-^ 
James B. Taney again became manager upon the death or 
his brother Charles, and at the same time the subject of thw 
sketch was made assistant general manager and continnea 
until the death of James B. Taney in May^lS. 

WUliam Lawrence Brice was bom at Wheeling, August 
15, 1874. He is a great-grandson of a prominent pione«r 



68 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



character in this section of West Virginia, John Briee, a 
native of Pennsylvania, who was the founder and first pastor 
of the historic "Stone Church," a Presbyterian society 
organized at the "Porks of Wheeling" as early as 1787. 
The material of the old Stone Church is still part of the 
structure known as the Stone Church at Elm Grove. John 
Brice died at West Alexander, Pennsylvania. His son, 
John Brice, Jr., was born in Pennsylvania in 1796, and 
subsequently removed from Ohio County, West Virginia, to 
Belmont County, Ohio, where he was a farmer. He died 
in Belmont County in 1881. His wife was Nancy Byers, a 
native of Washington County, Pennsylvania, who died in 
Belmont County, Ohio. 

Sylvester L. Brice, father of William L. Brice, was born 
in Belmont County, February 19, 1840, and finished his edu- 
cation in the Normal College at Lebanon, Ohio. In 1861 
he joined Company F of the Fifty-second Ohio Infantry, 
and was all through the Civil war, participating in the bat- 
tles of Chiekamauga, Lookout Mountain and Missionary 
Bidge and in the campaign of Sherman to the sea. Follow- 
ing the war he located at Wheeling, studied pharmacy, and 
from 1867 to 1893 conducted a successful drug business in 
the city. After that he lived retired until his death on 
December 26, 1910. S. L. Brice was for several terms a 
member of the City Council in both branches, was city 
collector of taxes, was an influential republican and a mem- 
ber of the Masonic fraternity. His wife was Ella Taney, a 
sister of Charles H. and James B. Taney. She was born at 
Newark, New Jersey, but has lived in Wheeling since in- 
fancy. William L. Brice is the oldest of three children. 
His brother, Malcolm Taney Brice, is news editor of the 
Wheeling Register. The only sister, Eleanor, is the wife of 
a prominent Wheeling attorney, Henry M. Russell. 

William Lawrence Brice was educated in the public 
schools, in Linsly Institute, and in 1893, at the age of nine- 
teen, entered the newspaper business as a reporter on the 
Register, under his uncles. He has given his full time and 
service to the fortune and prosperity of the Register for 
nearly thirty years. 

Mr. Birce, who is unmarried, is a democrat in politics, a 
member of St. Matthew's Episcopal Church, Wheeling Lodge 
No. 28, B. P. O. E., Wheeling Country Club, Fort Henry 
Club, and on many occasions has found and exercised the 
opportunities to be a useful citizen of the community. He 
is a director of the Wheeling Chamber of Commerce, a di- 
rector of the Citizens People's Trust Company, and during 
the World war was a member of various committees and 
employed the full force of the Register's influence in behalf 
of the Government. Mr. Brice resides at 930 North Main 
Street. 

Roy Benton Naylok. Perhaps no other name has been 
more steadily identified with the commercial history and de- 
velopment of the City of Wheeling since the middle of the 
past century than that of Naylor. One of the largest whole- 
sale houses in the Ohio Valley is the John S. Naylor Com- 
pany. Roy Benton Naylor is a son of the founder and for 
many years active head of this business, and while he chose 
a distinct field of enterprise he has for a number of years 
been recognized as one of West Virginia's ablest and most 
public spirited citizens, having gained a great deal of prom- 
inence during his long connection with the Wheeling and 
West Virginia Boards of Trade. 

Mr. Naylor was born at Wheeling, July 22, 1871. His 
family has been in this section of the Ohio Valley consider- 
ably more than a century. His great-grandfather was John 
Naylor, who was born near Baltimore, Maryland, of Quaker 
stock and English ancestry. He settled in Ohio at the be- 
ginning of the nineteenth century, and his occupation was 
that of a farmer. The grandfather of Roy Naylor was 
Joseph R. Naylor, who was born in Ohio in 1817 and in 1848 
moved to Wellsburg, West Virginia. He became a mer- 
chant, and under appointment from President Cleveland 
was serving as postmaster of Wellsburg when he died in 
1887. He was a democrat, and a member of the Christian 
Church and the Masonic fraternity. Joseph R. Naylor mar- 
ried Hester Kimberland, who was born in Ohio in 1817 and 



died at Wellsburg in 1887, having been born and having die 
in the same years as her husband. 

The late John S. Naylor was born at PennsvUle in Morga 
County, Ohio, in 1843, and was about five years of age whe 
his parents moved to Wellsburg, where he grew up and ai 
quired the greater part of his education. He attended tl 
old West Liberty Academy, and in 1869, as a young mai 
moved to Wheeling. In later years his mercantile activitii 
developed into the John S. Naylor Company, one of tl 
largest wholesale dry goods houses in the state. He was fc 
many years its active executive head, and gave his time 1 
the business imtil his death in 1916. His citizenship in evei 
sense was thoroughly constructive. He served on the cit 
council and school board, was one of West Virginia's con 
missioners to the Chicago World's Fair in 1893, and wi 
also interested in democratic politics, serving several yea: 
as chairman of the County Committee of Ohio County. E 
was a member of the Christian Church and the Mason 
fraternity. John S. Naylor married Anna Wendelken, wl 
was born at Marietta, Ohio, in 1853, and is still living i 
Wheeling. Roy Benton is the oldest of four children. H 
brothers have all had an active part in the business f oimde 
by their father. Allen Gerd died at Wheeling in 1918. Tl 
other sons are Joseph E. and Wilson, Joseph being the pre 
ent executive head of the John S. Naylor Company. 

Roy Benton Naylor attended the public schools, Lins 
Institute, and Marietta College in Ohio. He left college : 
his sophomore year and was first attracted into the new 
paper profession and was connected with the Wheeling Nev 
for some years. Mr. Naylor founded the Wheeling Tel 
graph, selling that paper in 1904. 

In 1905 he was elected secretary of the Board of Trade i 
Wheeling. He held that office ten years, and during tl 
greater part of that time the power of the Board of Tra( 
and its affiliated organizations was largely exercised throu| 
the executive abilities of Mr. Naylor. Shortly after he w,- 
elected secretary of the Wheeling board he organized tl 
West Virginia Board of Trade, and was its secretary f. 
ten years. After carrying these official burdens so long 1 
resigned in the fall of 1915 to take up the insurance bui 
ness with the Travelers Insurance Company of Hartfor 
and is now district agent for the Wheeling District, wi 
offices in the National Bank of West Virginia Building. 
1917 he was president of the West Virginia Life Unde 
writers Association and is still a director of the associatio 

Mr. Naylor departs somewhat from the family traditii 
in the matter of politics, being a republican, though he h 
not sought prominence in partisan politics, but rather i 
public matters permitting opportunities for construetii 
work, particularly in affairs of community benefit. He w 
a member of the city council in 1901-02, was park and pla} 
ground commissioner in 1912, and since 1921 has been on t 
City Recreation Commission. Mr. Naylor lives at Woodsda! 
where he completed his beautiful modern home in 1919. I 
was mayor of Woodsdale three years, until that communi 
was consolidated with Wheeling in 1919. He is a memb 
of the Christian Church, the Wheeling Chamber of Coi 
merce. Wheeling Country Club, Fort Henry Club, Twilig 
Club and Rotary Club. He is a director of the Communi 
Savings and Loan Company, director of the Wheeling Sa 
ings & Loan Association, a director of the Associated Cha 
ties and a trustee of Marietta College, for which he receiv. 
the honorary degree of A. M. in 1912. During the war 
was a "Four-Minute" speaker, and was chairman of t 
Publicity Committee for all the Liberty Loan, Red Cross a: 
other drives. 

January 15, 1902, at Bridgeport, Ohio, Mr. Naylor mi 
ried Miss Nancy Dent, daughter of James C. and Mil' 
(Clayton) Dent, now residents of Los Angeles. Her fatb' 
is a retired merchant. Mrs. Naylor is a graduate of Moui 
de Chantal Academy of Wheeling. They have one son, Jo i 
S., Jr., born March 28, 1906. 

Andrew Glass is one of the very active and influent! 
younger men in the industrial and commercial life of Whe- 
ing, and his practical field of experience since leaving schei 
has been the iron and steel industry. 

He was bom at Wheeling, June 25, 1881, son of Woe 




i 



HISTORY OP WEST VIliGlNIA 



6!) 



ward W. and Mary C. Glass. His graudfatlier, Andrew 
Glass, was one of the original stockholders of the LaBelle 
Iron Works, one of tlie pioneer iron industries at Wheeling, 
established seventy years ago, and now a subsidiary of the 
Wheeling Steel Corporation. 

Mr. Andrew Glass acquired most of his public school 
education in C'liica^io, and as a youth became a salesman in 
the Chicago store of the Wheeling Corrugating Company. 
; Later he was made general manager of the I'ortsinoutn, 
Ohio, works of the Whitaker-Glessner Company, and for sev- 
eral years pa.st has been president of the Whitaker-Glessner 
l!onipany anil vice president of the Wheeling St.rl Corpora- 
tion ami his busine.ss offices are in the Wheeling Steel Cor- 
poration Building. 

Mr. Glass is a republican, a Knight Templar Mason and 
Shriner and a member of the Elks, ami belongs to the Fort 
Henry Club, Wheeling Country Club and the Columbus 
Athletic A.ssociation. August 2, 192(1, he nuuricd Dorothy 
Variier, and they have an infant son, Alexander Glass. 

Walter L. D.\NKS, whose technical and executive ability 
lui .1 no further voucher than the statement that he is the 
efficient suj erintendent of the I'arkersburg Iron & Steel 
Comiiany, at the metropolis and judicial center of Wood 
County, West Virginia, claims the State of Nebraska as the 
place of his nativity and is a rejiresentative of one of its 

, sterling pionrer families, though it is to be recorded that 
hii f.Tther, a man of independent means and marked re- 
sourcefulness, did not consent long to endure the ravages 
wrought by grasshojipers and drought in the pioneer period 
of Nebraska history, but soon left that state^ in which many 
other pioneers were compelled to remain, as they had no 
financial resources that permitted them to llee from the 
dp«"lation wrought by the pioneer scourges. 

W.ilter L. Danks was born at Cozad, Dawson County, 
X. i:iska on the 11th of November, IsTo, and is a son of 
.loliii G. and Elizabeth (V^ance) Danks, the former of whom 

I was born at Mount Savage, Maryland, and the latter at 

I Muncie, Indiana. Samuel T. Danks, grandfather of hiui 
wh<i»e name initiates this review, was a native of England, 
uli. re the family has been one of not minor prominence, 
aiii'jiig its representatives in the past having been one or 
more distinguLshed musicians and composers, one of whom 

I composed music for many of the beautiful chants of the 
Church of England. Samuel T. Danks was reared and edu- 
cated in his native land and there ac(|uired his fundamental 
km wicdge of the iron industry, of which he became a prom- 
inent and influential pioneer exponent after coming to the 
United States. He came to this country about the year 1847, 
and in 1849 he became one of the argonauts of California, 
where the historic discovery of gold had Just been made. He 
made the lung and perilous overland trip to California and 
became one of the first to utilize hydraulic power in connec- 
tion with gold mining in that state. He did not long remain 
on the Pacific Coast, however, but established his home at 
Mount Savage, Maryland, where he becjime prominently 
identified with the iron industry, as a pi neer in its develop- 
ment in this country. He was the inventor of the rotary 
puddling furnace that bore his name and that diil much 
to advance iron production industry in the L'nited States. 
Both he and his wife continued to reside in Maryland for 
a number of years, and thereafter he became superintendent 
of an extensive iron manufacturing plant in Cincinnati, 
Ohio, in which state he and his wife passed the closing 
years of their lives. 

John G. Danks seems to have inherited a predilection for 
the iron industry, with which the family name had been 
prominently identified in England for many generations. 
He was reared and educated jn Maryland, where he early 
gained practical experience in connection with iron industry 
under the effective direction of his father. As a young man 
he became mechanical engineer for one of the large iron 
corporations at Cincinnati, Ohio, where his father was 
simultaneously serving as an executive in connection with 
the same line of enterprise. After the father invented the 
Danks puddling furnace John G., the son, went to England 
to superintend the installation of these improved devices in 
that country, and after his return to the United States he 



continued such installation service, in which ho met with 
much opposition and had many remarkable cxiH-riencrs on 
account of the opposition of the historic organization lu 
I'ennsylvania known as the ' ' Molly Maguirca. ' ' In the early 
'708 he made his venture in connection with pioneer ranching 
enterprise in Dnwson County, Nebraska, but the adverse con 
ditions previously mentioned in this skclih led him to 
abandon his acti\ities there and to return to Cincinnati. 
.\fter his retirement from active business alTairit he removed 
to Los Angeles California, and there his death u<-curreU in 
iyi4, his wife having {.receded him to eternal rest, ami two 
children survive them. 

Walter L. Danks, the immediate subject of this Mkel.-h, 
jiassed his boyhood days princijially on u farm owned by \n* 
laternal grandfather near College Kill, a suburb or the 
City of Cincinnati, ami his early educational diM-ipline in 
eluded that of the high .school and al.so of a businem college, 
w-hich later he attended at night. He gained under tiie <l. ra- 
tion of his father and grandfather his early experience in 
connection with the iron and steel industry, anil in this con 
nectiun he has well upheld the prestige of the family name, 
as his entire active career ha.x been one of close and eiTeriive 
association with this important branch of industrial enter- 
prise. He was for five years in the employ of the Inland 
Steel Company at Indiana Harbor, Indiana, and with the 
same won ]iroiiiotiun to the position of a.saislant iiinster 
mechanic. In 1UU6 he came to I'arkersburg, West Virginia, 
to take the position of master ine<-.hanic with the I'arkers- 
burg Iron & Steel Company, and this alliance has since con- 
tinued, while he has served as superintendent of the com 
pany's extensive jdant since lal.'t. 

Mr. Danks is found aligned loyally in the ranks of the 
republican party, and is vital and progressive in his civic 
attitude. He takes deep interest in all that touches the wel- 
fare and advancement of his home city, and during the 
nation 's participation in the World war he was able to give 
valuable patriotic service both through the medium of his 
industrial association and through his personal efTort.i in 
supi^ort of the various local war activities. He and his wife 
hold membership in the Methodist Epi.scopal Church, and in 
the Masonic fraternity he has completed the circle of the 
York Rite, in which his maximum affiliation is with the 
I'arkersburg Commandery of Knights Templars, besides hav- 
ing received the thirty-scciiiid degree of the Scottish Rite 
and being also a member of the Mystic Shrine. 

The year 19(12 recorded the marriage of Mr. Danks to 
Miss Hannah Stephens, of Indiana Harbor, Indiana, and 
they have one son, Walter L., Jr. 

Arthur Burke Koontz «as born at Kesslcr's Cross 
Lanes, Nicholas County, West Virginia, January 29 l88t, 
son of John and Alice Groves Koontz. John Koontz wnii of 
German extraction, having descended from the lierman set- 
tlement in Pennsylvania. He was born, rearcti and spent 
his entire life as a farmer and stock raisr in Nicholas 
County, West Virginia. For many years he was one of the 
leaders in local democratic jiolilics, and served one term as 
sliiriff of his county. He died at the age of seventy-six, 
July 4, 1911. Alice Groves Koontz. who is sei-enty-six years 
old, is living at the old homestead. 

Mr. Koontz 's grandfather, James Koontz, married Re- 
becca Louganecker. They moved from the (iermnn s<'ttle 
ment of Pennsylvania to Virginia, and from there to that 
part of Greenbrier County, West Virginia, which afterward 
was formed into Nicholas County, West Virginia. 

Mr. Koontz 's grandfather on his mother's side was John 
Groves, who married Catharine Duffy. John Groves was of 
Scotch descent, and Catharine Duffy, of Irish descent, hav- 
ing been born in Ireland, a daughter of Hugh and Judith 
McMahon Duffy, but came to America when she was sixteen 
years old. 

Arthur Burke Koontz has been one of the able members 
of the Charleston bar for more than ten years. BUs reputa- 
tion as a lawyer has been spread widely over the state, but 
he is perhaps best known in popular opinion throughout 
West Virginia in general because of his candidacy in 1920 
for governor of the state. .... 

In the present generation the name Koontz is widely and 



70 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



favorably known in the professions, in educational affairs, 
banking and politics. Arthur Burke Koontz received his 
early instruction in the public schools of Nicholas County. 
He attended the SummersvLUe School, graduated from Mar- 
shall College at Huntington, and subsequently entered Yale 
University Law School, where he was graduated with an 
LL. B. degree in 1910. Mr. Koontz began to practice law 
at Charleston in 1911, and has appeared in connection with 
important litigation in practically all the state courts. 
Aside from his law practice he is interested in a number of 
business enterprises and is vice president of the Union 
Trust Company of Charleston, which he was instrumental 
in organizing in 1913. 

Nominated by the democratic party as candidate for 
governor in 1920, he made a most creditable campaign and 
won a flattering vote in the general republican landslide of 
that year. Mr. Koontz is a member of the Phi Alpha Delta 
law fraternity, a thirty-second degree Mason and a Shriuer. 
He married Miss Mary Watson Sipe, of Fairmont. Her 
father, the late Conrad Albert Sipe, is well remembered as 
former president of the Fairmont State Normal School. 
The two children of Mr. and Mrs. Koontz are Mary Watson 
and Arthur Burke, Jr. 

Associated with Mr. Koontz in his law practice is his 
younger brother, Patrick Duffy Koontz, who was educated 
in Marshall College, in the University of Michigan, and in 
Harvard University Law School. During the World war he 
saw service in France, and attained the rank of captain. 

Another brother, Luther Vaughan Koontz, lives at Clen- 
denin, where he is president of the First National Bank and 
extensively interested in the enterprises of that town. He 
brought about the incorporation of Clendenin and was its 
first mayor. 

Another brother, Louis K. Koontz, lives in Goldfield, 
Nevada, where he is interested in mining, and the two liv- 
ing sisters, Mrs. W. T. Burdette and Mrs. J. D. Peck, live 
on farms in Nicholas County. 

An older brother, James William Koontz, who died in 
1917, was a well known physician in Western Kentucky, 
having practiced his profession in Muhlenberg and sur- 
rounding counties for twenty years. Two older sisters, 
Eouena Catharine, who married Dr. A. L. Morris, and Lola 
Gertrude, who married L. S. TuUy, are now deceased. Two 
other children, Cora Belle and Hubert, died in infancy. 

Arthur Burke Koontz is therefore a member of a family 
of eleven, nine of whom grew to maturity. He happens to 
be the only one of the nine who never taught school. 

Elmo Austin Murray. Some men possess not only the 
ordinary and conventional virtues, which they exemplify in 
a greater or lesser degree in their every-day life, but have 
in addition exceptional qualities which bring about achieve- 
ments and attract to them the admiration aud respect of 
their co-workers. Simple dignity, evidences of human sym- 
pathy, ceaseless application aud habits of thrift, will bring 
about a successful career, and continued advancement will 
be noted invariably when to the qualities just named are 
added power of initiative and quick decision, shrewdness, 
force of character, confident judgment and resourceful- 
ness. These qualities have been noted in the career of Elmo 
Austin Murray, now shop superintendent of the Chesapeake 
& Ohio EaUway at Huntington, and a man who has won 
his own way up tlie ladder of success from tlie bottom 
round. 

Mr. Murray, who is of Scotch descent and belongs to a 
family which was founded in Colonial Virginia prior to 
the Revolution, was born at Staunton, Virginia, September 
1, 1876, a son of Robert P. and Mary Elizabeth (Whitlock) 
Murray. His father was born in 1833, in Rockingham 
County, Virginia, where he was reared and educated, and as 
a youth went to Louisa County, Virginia, where his mar- 
riage occurred. Following that event he was a resident of 
Staunton, and from 1852 was a fireman for the Virginia 
Central Railroad untU the outbreak of the Civil war. In 
1861 he enlisted in the Confederate Army and served 
throughout the struggle under Captain Kemper in a Vir- 
ginia volunteer infantry regiment. On receiving his honor- 
able discharge he resumed work as a fireman on the Vir- 



ginia Central, and was later promoted to locomotive engi-is 
ueer, remaining with that road when it became the Chesa- 
peake & Ohio and continuing as one of its most trusted 
employes until his death at Clifton Forge, Virginia, in 1889. 
He was a democrat in politics, and a regular member and 
strong supporter of the Baptist Church. Mr. Murray mar- 
ried Mary Elizabeth Whitlock, who was born in 1833, at 
Frederick Hall, Virginia, and died at Clifton Forge in 1912. 
They became the parents of five children, as follows: Alice, 
who died unmarried at Clifton Forge at the age of twenty- 
one years; James, who died at the same place when twenty 
years of age; Elmo Austin, of this review; Robert F., who 
is engaged in the dry goods business at Clifton Forge; and 
Virginia, the wife of Harry E. Blaine, of Clifton Forge, a 
freight conductor for the Chesapeake & Ohio Railway. 

Elmo Austin Murray was educated in the public schools 
of Clifton Forge, which he left at the age of fourteen years 
to enter the service of the Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Com- 
pany, starting at Clifton Forge, where he served his appren- 
ticeship as a machinist. He was made gang foreman there, 
and subsequently was sent to Covington, Kentucky, as gen- 
eral foreman of the company's shops in 1903. In 1910 he 
was again promoted and sent to Lexington, Kentucky, in 
the capacity of master mechanic. In 1911 he was trans- 
ferred to Clifton Forge, where he remained as master 
mechanic until 1920, at that time being promoted to the 
post of shop superintendent of the company 's shops at 
Huntington, his present position. Under his supervision 
there are 2,500 employes, his offices being situated at 
Twenty-seventh Street and Eighth Avenue. Mr. Murray 
maintains an independent stand in regard to political mat- 
ters, voting for the man rather than the party and using his 
own judgment as to principles and policies. As a fratern- 
alist he holds membership in Allegheny Lodge, A. F. and 
A. M. ; Clifton Forge Chapter, R. A. M. ; Stevenson Com- 
mandery No. 8, K. T., of Staunton, Virginia; and Acca 
Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of Richmond, Virginia. He 
owns a modern and attractive home at No. 1227 Tenth 
\venue, located in one of the preferred residence sections 
tt the city. 

In September, 1901, in Botetourt County, Virginia, Mr.: 
Murray married Miss Willie Carper, daughter of William B. 
and Rebecca (Allen) Carper, the latter of whom still resides 
in Botetourt County, where Mr. Carper, who was an ex- 
tensive agriculturist, died in 1907. Mr. and Mrs. Murray 
are the parents of two children: Aline, a student at Stuart 
Hall, Staunton, Virginia, and Elmo Austin, Jr., who attends 
the Huntington High School. 

Charles Trueheart Tatlor, M. D. For half a century 
the name Taylor has been prominent in Huntington in con- 
nection with the law and medicine. Doctor Taylor is one 
of the leading surgeons of Huntington, and has practiced 
medicine and surgery there for over twenty years. He is 
one of the owners of the Huntington General Hospital and 
the Kessler-Hatfield Hospital, and is associate surgeon in 
both these institutions. 

Doctor Taylor was born at Weldon, North Carolina, 
August 8, 1872, but his home since early childhood has been 
at Huntington. His grandfather was born in old Virginia 
in 1817, spent the greater part of his life there as a planter 
and was a slave owner before the Civil war. For a number 
of years he lived at Oxford, Virginia, and he finally retired 
to Huntington, West Virginia, where he died in 1897. He 
married a Miss Harrison, a native of Virginia, who died 
near Oxford in that state. The Taylors are a Scotch-Irish 
family who settled in Virginia in Colonial times. 

Thomas Wallace Taylor, father of Doctor Taylor, was 
born in Virginia in 1833, was reared and married there, and 
for four years lived at Weldon, North Carolina, on a farm. 
He left the University of North Carolina at ChapeU Hill 
during his junior year to enter the Confederal* army, and 
was in active service about a year. He was severely wounded 
at the battle of Malvern Hill, and incapacitated for further 
field duty. Subsequently he graduated from the law de- 
partment of the University of Virginia at Charlottesville, 
and in 1874 established his home at Huntington, West Vir- 
ginia, where he has since become one of the leading lawyers 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



of the state. He was judge of the Cnninal Court of Cabell 
County for twelve years, from 1907 to 1919. He is a demo- 
crat and an elder in the Presbyterian Cliurch. Thomas 
Wallace Taylor, whose home is at 1134 Sixth Avenue in 
Huntington, marrieil Miss Maria Trueheart, who was born 
at Prince Edward Court House, Virginia, in 1843. Charles 
Trueheart Taylor is their oldest child. Mattie F., of 1136 
Sixth Avenue, Huntington, is the widow of Rollo M. Baker, 
who nas a Huntington attorney and general attorney for the 
Chesapeake & Ohio Railway and a member of the law firm 
of Enslow Fitzpatrick & Baker. The third child. Thomas 
Wallace Taylor, died at the age of seventeen, Powhatan 
died at the age of fourteen, and William died at the age of 
four years. Harvey C, the youngest, is in the real estate 
business at Huntington. 

Charles Trueheart Taylor attended the grammar and high 
schools at Huntington, Marshall College in that city 
through the junior year, and for three years was a student 
in Center College at Danville, Kentucky. He pursued his 
medical studies in the Hospital College of Medicine at 
Louisville, where he graduated M. D. in 1897, and again 
did postgraduate work there in 1899 and 1905. In 1897 
he was an interne in the Gray Street Infirmary of Louis- 
%-ille. On returning to Huntington instead of beginning prac- 
tice Doctor Taylor served a year as city clerk, but since 
1899 has devoted himself completely to his growing practice. 
His offices are in the First National Bank Building. Doctor 
Taylor is president of the Cabell County Medical Society 
and a member of the State and American Medical Associa- 
tions. He is president of the Sovereign Gas Company of 
Huntington and a director in the Huntington-Oklahoma Oil 
Company. Besides his modern home at 166.5 Fifth Avenue 
he has an interest in the Beverly apartment building on 
Sixth Street. 

Doctor Taylor is a democrat, a member of Huntington 
Lodge No. 53. F. and A. M., Huntington Chapter No. 6, 
R, A. M., Huntington Commandery No. 9, K. T., West Vy-- 
ginia Consistory No. 1, Scottish Rite, Beni-Kedem Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine at Charleston, and is also a member 
of the Knights of Pythias, Ancient Order of United Work- 
men, Modern Woodmen of America, Reese Camp No. (>(i. 
Woodmen of the World, and is a past exalted ruler of Hunt- 
ington Lodge No. 313, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

During the war Doctor Taylor was chief examiner for the 
Cabell County Draft Boardj a very important and burden- 
some responsibility, and he also gave his active influence 
to other patriotic causes at the time. 

In 1900, at Huntington, he married Miss Bernice Steven- 
son, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Stevenson, who were 
farmers and died at Beverly, Ohio. Mrs. Taylor died at 
Huntington in 1910, survived by two children: Bernice, a 
student in the National Cathedral School at Washington, 
D. C, and Charles Trueheart, Jr., born September 11, 1906 
now in the Huntington High School. In 1912. at Newark, 
New Jersey. Doctor Taylor married Miss Stella Moore, a 
native of that citv. They have a daughter, Jane, born 
December 11, 1913.' 

Eli C. Morris. In the old Keystone State Eli C. Morris 
was bom March 14, 1845, in Washington County. He was 
a son of Samuel Morris, a representative of one of the ster- 
ling old Pennsylvania families long identified with th;it 
gracious and noble religious organization, the Society of 
Friends, more commonly known as Quakers. In Pennsyl- 
vania Eli C. Morris was reared to manhood, received such 
educational advantages as were offered in the schools of the 
period, and in his youth learned the trade of millwright, in 
connection with which he assisted in the erection of many 
flour mills, besides eventually becoming a successful mill 
operator. In connection with his vocation he came to West 
Virginia, where for a time he operated a mill at Elizabeth. 
Thereafter he built and equipped a mill at Morristown, 
which was named in his honor, and after operating this mUl 
for a time he removed with his family to Washington 
County. Ohio, where he passed the remainder of his life and 
where he died at Lower Salem in 1914. He was a birthright 
member of the Society of Friends, and in his unostentatious 



career he exemplified the iit<Tling eh«rmcterlatica ever imo- 
ciated with the name of Quaker. His father wn« Impkcable 
in his opposition to the institution of slavery, and the MorrU 
home in Pennsylvania ivas made a station on the historic 
underground railway which enabled manv slaves to escape 
bondage in the period leading up to the Civil war. Though 
the customs and teachings of the Society of Friends depre- 
cate war in all forms, the youthful patriotism of Eli C. 
Morris was such that be transcended thcso teachings when 
the Civil war was precipitated on the nation, lie believed 
the preservation of the Union was of greater im|iortanca 
than his observance of the tenets of the faith in which 
he had been reared, and accordingly he enlisted in Troop 
B, Sixth Pennsylvania Cavalry, with which he saw active 
service under command of General Sheridan in the hi.itoric 
Shenandoah campaign. His first wife, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth McDonald, is survived by one son. His 
second wife, Eliza J. (Winland) Morris, still resides in 
Washington County, Ohio. Of this union there are two sons 
ami two daughters, and of the numtwr James G. is the 
only representative in West Virginia. 

James G. Morris is a native of West Virginia, his birth 
having occurred at Morristown, Wirt County, but he was 
reared and educated in Washington County,' Ohio. He is 
now president of the Arrow Lumber Company, one of the 
important industrial and commercial concerns of Parkers- 
burg. 

Mr. Morris has completed the circle of Scottish Rite 
Masonry, in which he has received the thirty-second de- 
gree, besides being affiliated with the Mystic Shrine. He 
takes deep interest in all that concerns the welfare and 
advancement of his home city and is essentially progressive 
and public spirited. Mr. Morris wedded Miss Jennie E. 
Watson, and they have one son, Harold W. 

Russell Wright is consistently to be designated as one 
of the vital and representative young captains of industry 
residing in the City of Parkcrsburg, and he is not only 
a man of marked progressivencss and energy in conntn-tion 
with business enterjirise of broad scope, but Is also one of 
the loyal and vigorous advocates of measures and umler- 
takings tending to advance the interests of his home city 
and native state. Mr. Wright is president of the Wright 
& Loper Oil Company, and also of the Shawnee Oil t 
Gas Producing Company, important corporations identified 
with the oil industry in West Virginia fields. 

Mr. Wright was born on the homestead farm of his par- 
ents in Doddridge County, West Virginia, and the date of 
his nativity was August 5. 1878. He is one of the four 
children of William L. and Ella (Allen) Wright, who still 
reside in Doddridge County, where the father was born 
and reared and where the Wright family made settlement 
in the pioneer days. Russell Wright gained bin youthful 
education in the public schools of his nati\e county, and 
continued his association with the work of the home farm 
until he was sixteen years old. He then began working 
in the oil fields of Doddridge and Tyler counties, and as he 
had the versatility that made his services of value in all 
manner of work and positions he gained a wide and varied 
experience. Eventually he began to assume a larger share 
of independent activities and in this way he both made 
and lost money, according to the results attending his va- 
rious exploitations. He extended his experience by associa- 
tion with oil-production enterprises in the fields of Okla- 
homa, Indiana and Illinois, but after an absence of two 
years he returned to West Virginia, where his operations 
have since been largely staged, though he has had and 
continues to have interests in connection with oil pro- 
duction in Ohio. He has maintained his residence and 
business headquarters at Parkcrsburg since 1912. and since 
1913 his business operations have been confined to the 
West Virginia and Ohio oil fields. He well merits the ex- 
pressive American title of hustler, and has made himself 
known as a vigorous and progressive factor in the great 
oil industry. He is a valued and influential member of 
the Parkersbnrg Chamber of Commerce, is affiliated with 
the Parkcrsburg lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, is a member of the Blennerhassett Chib 



72 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



and is popular in both business and social circles in his 
home city, where his name remains on the list of eligible 
bachelors. 

Fred William Baktlett has been an oil operator thirty 
years, most of the time as an independent, and is one of the 
best known and most popular citizens of Marion County. 
His home during the greater part of his life has been at 
Mannington. 

Mr. Bartlett was born at New Martinsville, Wetzel County, 
West Virginia, July 29, 1867, son of Martin and Sarah 
Ann (Beatty) Bartlett, both now deceased. His father was 
born at Clarksburg, West Virginia, in 1842, and was a Con- 
federate soldier during the last two years of the Civil war. 
The father 's brother, Capt. Fred W. Bartlett, for whom 
Fred William Bartlett of this review was named, organized 
a company in Clarksburg for service in the Confederate 
Army, and served until the close of the war. Martin Bart- 
lett was a blacksmith and machinist, and was in that l)usi- 
iiess at New Martinsville when he died in 1868. A short 
time before his death he had assisted in drilling the first 
oil well in the Mannington District. He was a Scottish Rite 
Mason. After his death his widow returned to Martinsville, 
where she was born in 1846, daughter of Jeremiah Beatty, 
an early settler of Mannington. She died in 1916. 

Fred W. Bartlett grew up at Mannington, acquired a com- 
mon school education, and as a youth became a bread 
winner for himself and his widowed mother. At the age of 
nine he was selling papers on the streets of Mannington, 
and has had some active connection with serious business 
ever since. He has dealt in real estate, has been an oil and 
gas operator, and also well known as a hotel proprietor. 
Mr. Bartlett has accumulated two fortunes, and still retains 
the second and larger. 

He began his career as an independent operator in oil 
in 1892. His work has been as an independent except for 
ten years, during which time he was president and sole 
owner of what was then known as the Home Gas Company, 
which supplied gas for manufacturing and domestic pur- 
poses at Mannington. He finally sold this company to the 
Standard Oil interests. Since then he has been extensively 
interested in the production of crude oil. 

In 1896 Mr. Bartlett bought what was then the Com- 
mercial Hotel of Mannington. He rebuilt and remodeled 
the property and renamed it the Hotel Bartlett. This is 
now one of the best hotels in the state, second in size only 
to the hotels of the larger cities, to which it yields nothing 
in its equipment and service. With fifty rooms, all with hot 
and cold running water, and many with private baths, with 
a fine dining room, and a spacious and beautifully decorated 
lobby, the Hotel Bartlett is both a surprise and delight to 
those making their first visit to Mannington. 

October 8, 1892, Mr. Bartlett married Miss Harriet 
Brownfield Walker, who was born in Fairmont, November 
19, 1871, daughter of the late Kephart Delvarem and 
Josephine (Wiggenton) Walker, of Fairmont. The Walker 
family is of Scotch origin and has been in Pennsylvania for 
five and in West Virginia for two generations. The Amer- 
ican ancestor was Donald Walker, who married a Lane. 
Their son, Peter Walker, was born in Washington County, 
Maryland. He became a wealthy farmer of Somerset County, 
Pennsylvania. His son, John P. Walker, removed from 
Pennsylvania to Loudoun County, Virginia, and later to 
Ohio County, West Virginia, and died in the City of Wheel- 
ing in 1852. He married Margaret Lane, and of their chil- 
dren Kephart D. Walker was born in Somerset County, 
Pennsylvania, February 14, 1838, and died at Fairmont in 
1919. 

Kephart D. Walker entered the service of the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railway as construction camp clerk in 1853. During 
the next eighteen months he utilized his leisure opportuni- 
ties to acquire some knowledge of telegraphy, was then as- 
signed to the telegraph department of the Baltimore & Ohio, 
and subsequently became a brakeman and still later a con- 
ductor. Dliring the Civil war for a time he was in the 
secret service, in the armies of Gen. Stonewall Jackson and 
Gen. John B. Walker, the latter being a relative. After 
the war he resumed railroad work for the Be'^imore & Ohio, 



and for ten years was station agent at Fairmont, was super 
intendent of the Fairmont Division, and when the Fairmont 
Morgantown & Pittsburgh line was undertaken he wa! 
assigned the task of securing the right of way betweei 
Fairmont and Morgantown. During the construction he waf 
purchasing agent. He had charge of the first train run ovei 
this line into Pittsburgh. After this service he resumed hij 
work as a passenger conductor until 1906, when he was 
retired on a pension. 

Kephart D. Walker became a Mason in 1870, and in 187J 
was chosen grand master of West Virginia Grand Lodge 
and at the time of his death was a supreme honorary thirty' 
third degree Scottish Rite Mason. He married in 1859 
Josephine Wiggenton, daughter of Presley and Sarah Wig 
genton, of Loudoun County, Virginia. 

Thomas L. Shields was distinctively a man of abilit.^ 
and of those sterling attributes of character that evei 
beget popular confidence and esteem. Through his owi 
efforts he achieved substantial success in connection witt 
the practical affairs of life and by his character and achieve- 
ment he honored his native state. He died at his attractive 
suburban home at Parmaeo, near the City of Parkersburg 
on the 28th of January, 1904, and had been retired from 
active business for some time prior to his demise. 

Mr. Shields was born in Taylor County, West Virginia 
on the 18th of December, 1856, and was a son of Zaddock 
and Penelope (Asbury) Shields, both likewise natives of 
Taylor County, where they passed their entire lives and 
where the respective families settled in the pioneer period; 
of the history of that section of the state. Zaddnck Shields; 
became a merchant at Pruntytown, Taylor County, and wa« 
influential in public affairs in that part of the state, which 
he represented in the State Legislature, besides which he 
served as sheriff of his native county, each of these official 
preferments having come to him after he had been a gal-i 
lant soldier of the Confederacy in the Civil war. Both 
during and after the close of the war his pleasant home 
was a favored stopping place for his old comrades in arms. 

Thomas L. Shields was but thirteen years of age at the 
time of his father's death, and thus he did not attend 
school with any appreciable degree of regularity after 
that time, as he found it incumbent upon him to find em- 
ployment that should enable him to aid in the support of 
his widowed mother and the younger children, he having 
been a member of a large family of children. His broader, 
education was that gained through self-discipline and 
through the lessons gained in the school of practical ex- 
perience. After the death of his father Mr. Shields found 
employment in a machine shop at Grafton, the county seat 
of his native county and his receptiveness enabled him 
to acquire marked skill as a mechanic, the while his exe- 
futive ability and his trustworthiness led to his eventual 
advancement to the position of superintendent of this 
establishment. Later he became district superintendent 
of a chain of water stations on the line of the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad, in the service of which he continued some 
time. About the year 1891 he removed with his family 
to Parkersburg and became proprietor of the old Com- 
mercial Hotel, which he conducted with marked success 
as did he later the Jackson Hotel, which under his manage- 
ment gained high repute and was a favored stopping place 
for commercial travelers and others who visited the city. 
He finally retired from active business and, as already 
stated, he passed the closing period of his life in the suburb 
of Parmaeo, where he had purchased a tract of ten acres of 
land and developed one of the most attractive homes of 
this beautiful district. 

While a resident of Grafton, Taylor County, Mr. Shields 
became one of the organizers and charter members of the 
lodge of Free and Accepted Masons at that place, and he 
continued in active affiliation with this fraternity until his 
death. At Parkersburg he was an appreciative and popular 
member of the lodge of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. His political allegiance was given to the 
democratic party, and he was a member of the First Baptist 
Church of Parkersburg, of which his widow likewise is an 
earnest member. She remains in the attractive home at 215 




;^7lujJ^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



73 



lirteenth Street, the same being under her care a center 

gracious hospitality. 

On the 21st of May, 1885, was solemnized the marriage 
t Mr. Shields with Miss Grace M. Dudley, daughter of 
a late John W. Dudley, to whom a memoir is dedicated 
I other pages of this publication. Mr. and Mrs. Shields 
krame the parents of five children: Dudley L. is the sub- 
^t of individual mention in the sketch that immediately 
Hows this review; Inez is the wife of Frederick Hopkins, 
D. ; Emma P. is the wife of Lee Powell; Mildred is 
I wife of Nowrey Smith; and Thomas L. is the youngest 

the number. 

DcDLET L. Shields, eldest of the children of the late 
iOmas L. Shields, to whom a memorial tribute is paid in 
» review immediately preceding this article, was born at 
'-''--. judicial center of Taylor County, West Virginia. 
J^th of August, 18SC, and he was about five years 
.' the time of the family removal to Parkersburg, in 
1 11 11 lity he continued his studies in the public schools 
nil his graduation in the high school as a member of the 
tss of 1903. For two years thereafter he was a student in 
i ■ University of West Virginia, and upon the death of his 
f her he left this institution and assumed active control 
Clhe substantial wholesale produce business which his father 
li e.^tablishod at Parkersburg. Later he was employed 
I years as a teller in the Parkersburg National Bank, and 
i 1917 he engaged in the automobile business, of which he 
l< become one of the prominent and successful representa- 
les at Parkersburg, where he operates a large and well 
nipped garage and repair shop, in which he handles a full 
1 9 of automobile accessories, besides which he has developed 
lirospcrous business as distributor in this district of the 
|e Buick and Cadillac automobiles. His modern garage is 

fated at the corner of Eighth and Avery streets. 
Mr. Shields is one of the alert and progressive young busi- 
t<8 men of Parkersburg, is a member of the local Board of 
tmmerce and the Kiwanis Club, is a democrat in politics, 

!i he and his wife hold membership in the First Baptist 
uroh of their home city. In the Masonic fraternity Mr. 
' ' ' h.TS attained the Scottish Rite degrees and is a thirty- 
Icgree Mason, besides being affiliated also with 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine and with the Parkers- 
1 ru lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
1 is an active and appreciative member of the Parkersburg 
(untry Club. The first wife of Mr. Shields bore the name 
c Greek Douglas, and she is survived by one son, Douglas. 
Ir his second wife Mr. Shields wedded Miss Lois Partridge, 
ai they have two children, Dudley L., Jr., and Grace. 

ToHN W. Dudley was a citizen who made for himself 
lure place in the confidence and high regard of the people 
t Parkersburg, West Virginia, in which city he was reared 
lim boyhood and in which he achieved prominence and 
t'cess as a business man, the while his sterling character 
il fine civic loyalty caused him to wield much influence, 
tiugh he was signally averse to all that smacked of ostenta- 
tn or self-seeking. His life was one of exalted personal 
f wardship, and his kindliness and generosity endeared 
la to all who came within the compass of his benignant 
iluence. He was one of the well-known and best-loved 
tizens of Parkersburg at the time of his death, which oc- 
tTcd on the 3d of July, 1906. 

VIr. Dudley was born in Oswego County, New York, but 
^3 a child when his parents came from the old Empire 
fite and established their home in West Virginia. He 
<3 reared to manhood in Wood County, and such were the 
igencies of time and place that his early educational ad- 
Mtages were very limited, but his alert and receptive 
Jad enabled him effectually to overcome this handicap, and 
1 became a man of broad information and mature .iudg- 
int. As a boy he drove the first milk wagon jilaced in 
(■ration at Parkersburg, later he engaged in gardening, 
fl finally he established himself in the wholesale and 
tail flour business, in which he built up a substantial and 
psperous enterprise. Mr. Dudley was twice elected sheriff 
' Wood County, and his able administration in this office 
1 13 covered a total period of eight years. He lived a clean, 
Vol. n— 9 



sincere, upright life, was tolerant in judgmeot and wa« 
ever ready to aid those in sufTering or distress — those "In 
any ways afflicted, in mind, body or estate." Generous 
to a fault, he found ample opportunities for helpfulness, 
and many there were who were by him aided in the time 
of their misfortune, the while he invariably extended such 
aid with characteristic modesty, as one who would "do 
good by stealth and blush to find it fame." Ho was an 
earnest member of the First Baptist Church of Pnrkurs 
burg, and was liberal in the »u|i|port of the various depart- 
ments of its work. His ]>ulitical allegiance wn.i given to 
tlie democratic party. 

Mr. Dudley married Miss Emma Leonard, a daughter of 
Deacon Albert Leonard, who nns the organizer of the first 
Presbyterian Sunday School at Parkersburg, and their 
ideal companionship was severed when the devoted wife 
and mother was summoned to eternal rest in the year 1902. 
To Mr. and Mrs. Dudley were born thirteen children, two 
of whom died in infancy and the others of whom still sur- 
vive the honored parents, namely: William, Grace M. 
(widow of Thomas L. Shields, to whom a memoir in dedi- 
cated on other pages of this work), Charles P., Louise, 
Helen (Mrs. Lawrence O'Neal). Ilattie (Mrs. Frank Coff- 
man), Albert, Emma Gertrude (Mrs. George U. llealim), 
Krainaril J., Elizabeth (Mrs. l>orscy Evan.-*), and Clara 
(Mrs. Frederick Wood). 

Oket J. Stout has for nearly a quarter of a century 
been a prospering business man of Parkersburg, a druggist 
and also interested in other lines. He is a brother of 
Parkersburg 's postmaster, Walter E. Stout, under whose 
name a more complete account of the family will be found. 

Okey J. Stout was born at Parkersburg, June It*, 1877. 
and this city has always been his home. He completed a 
jiublie school education and in 1897, at the age of twenty, 
entered the retail drug business after two years of training 
as clerk in the drug store of W. E. Skirvin. He has con- 
centrated his efforts along this line and is now interested 
in two drug stores, and is also associated with his brother, 
Walter, in the oil business and is a director of the First 
National Bank. 

Mr. Stout is a Knight Templar and thirty-second degree 
Scottish Rite Mason, a Shriner, a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, belongs to the Rotary Club 
and is a democrat in politics. 

Geoboe McDonald. Among the many public improve- 
ments that have added to the picturesque City of Parkers- 
burg, West Virginia, with its natural beauty, within recent 
years, none arouse more admiration than the magnificent 
new high-school building in its: beautiful lanilscapo setting. 
The city is largely indebted for this improvement to the 
untiring efforts of George McDonald and his assocL-ifes. 
Mr. McDonald is the present superintendent of buildings 
and grounds for the Parkersburg Independent School Dis- 
trict. 

George McDonald was bom on a farm in Marshall Coun- 
ty, West Virginia, March 21, 1864, the year following the 
birth of West Virginia. His grandfather was born in 
Scotland and was the founder of the family in .\mcrica. 
and after coming to the United States practically spent 
the rest of his life in what is now Marshall County. James 
Alexander McDonald, father of George, was born and reared 
in Marshall County. When war arose between the states 
he was a volunteer in the Union Army and scned with 
bravery and honor through two enlistments. He married 
Elizabeth Meyer, and they had eight children, three sons 
and five daughters, George being fourth in order of birth. 
The parents of Mr. McDonald were members of the ChrU- 
tian Church. They spent their lives in Marshall County and 
were held in esteem by all who knew them. 

George McDonald attended the country schools and grew 
up on the home farm. His first work after leaving home 
was as a spike driver with the construction gang building 
of the Ohio River Railroad, which is now a division of the 
Baltimore & Ohio system, and when the road was com- 
pleted he continued with the railroad people and worked 



74 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



as fireman on a locomotive engine for two years, when he 
was promoted to engineer. 

For the twenty succeeding years Mr. McDonald continued 
his connection with the railroad. In 1884 he located his 
home at Parkersburg, and in 1900 established his Model 
Laundry business, at the same time showing such interest 
in the welfare of the city that in 1915 he was elected a 
member of the school board. He served until 1917, when 
he resigned in order to become the first business manager 
of the board, which, later, was changed as to title and 
became superintendent of buildings and grounds for this 
large territory. He has shown executive ability of a high 
order and business capacity that has been very valuable to 
the City of Parkersburg. The new high-school building 
with its modern equipments is the finest structure of its 
kind in West Virginia and compares well with any in the 
United States, and Mr. McDonald was indefatigable in his 
efforts to bring about its completion. 

At Marietta, Ohio, in 1887, Mr. McDonald was married to 
Miss Mary Bishop, of that city, and they have one son, 
Walter G. McDonald, who during the World war was in 
military service, being stationed at Alliance, Ohio, and 
attached to the Ordnance Department. Mr. McDonald was 
active during the war in all local patriotic movements and 
gave hearty support to the various relief organizations. He 
is a Knight Templar York Rite Mason, thirty-second de- 
gree, A. A. S. R., and a member of Nemesis Temple, A. A. 
O. N. M. S. He belongs also to the Knights of Pythias and 
to the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. In political 
sentiment he has always been a republican. 

Nat T. Frame, A. B. Among the modern leaders of 
achievement in the field of agriculture in West Virginia 
perhaps none are more widely known than Nat Terry 
Frame, of Morgantown, who fills the important position 
of director of Agricultural Extension of the West Vir- 
ginia University. He is a man of college training and 
versatile gifts, one to whom opportunity offers many paths 
in which these gifts would crown him with success, but 
for a number of years he has devoted himself closely to 
the study of scientific agriculture. 

Professor Frame was born at Depauville, Jefferson Coun- 
ty, New York, February 2.5, 1877. He is a son of the 
late Dr. S. W. and Harriet Antoinette (Terry) Frame, a 
grandson of D'octor Luke and a great-grandson of Dr. 
William Frame, his paternal ancestry for generations back 
being continuously professional. The Frames were known 
in the Colonial history of New England. Dr. William 
Frame was a native of Vermont and removed from there 
about 1810 to Northern New York, settling in Jefferson 
County, where he spent the rest of his existence pursuing 
the arduous life of a country doctor. 

Dr. Luke Frame, grandfather of Professor Frame, had 
somewhat better advantages than had his father, whom 
he succeeded in practice, being a graduate of the Geneva 
(New York) Medical College, and in turn was succeeded 
by his son, Dr. S. W. Frame, a graduate of Bellevue 
Medical College, New York City. He is well remembered 
in Jefferson County as a farmer and horse breeder, where 
he became eminent, and practically spent his entire life. 
He married Harriet Antoinette Terry, who was born in 
Jefferson County, New York, a daughter of Richard Terry, 
a country merchant. Her maternal grandfather, John 
Little, was a native of Glasgow, Scotland, where he re- 
ceived university training and from there came to Jeffer- 
son County at an early date, settling there about the 
same time as did the Frames and Terrys. The early 
annals of that county mention their importance in its 
development. 

Nat Terry Frame obtained early educational training 
in village public schools, but in 1890 he entered Union 
Academy at Bellville, New York, where he completed the 
entire course in two years, and when he was graduated 
in 1892 had the distinction of being the youngest gradu- 
ate who had ever received a diploma from that institution. 
After teaching school for one year at Rural Hill, Jeffer- 
son County, he entered Colgate University, New York, 
from which he was graduated A. B. with the class of 1899. 

After completing his university course Professor Frame 



became principal of the high school at Black River, N(i 
York, where he continued for two years, retiring in ordt 
to accept the position of superintendent in charge 
vocational training at the George Junior Republic, Ni 
York, in which work he remained greatly interested f 
two years. He then turned his attention to other inti 
ests for a time, in 1905 becoming identified with t 
Mutual Reserve Life Insurance Company in New Yoi 
Indiana and Maryland, and during the latter part of 19 
had his headquarters in New York City, where his exe( 
tive ability was manifested at the head of the companj; 
school for the training of agents. 

It is some fifteen years ago since Professor Fran 
came first to West Virginia. He joined with John ^, 
Stewart in the business of manufacturing and distribi 
ing horticultural supplies at Martinsburg, under the st;i 
of the American Horticultural Distributing Company. ' 
1910 he became further interested in association w: 
Alexander Colhan, Gray Silver and C. B. Hart in * 
development of orchards and farms. This association c< 
tinued for three years, during which time Professor Fran, 
in addition to his other duties, served as secretary ' 
the Eastern Fruitgrowers Association and also of i 
Berkley Horticultural Society, being also actively c< , 
cerned vpith the affairs of the West Virginia State Hortic 
tural Society and additionally with civic and common 
movements in Martinsburg. 

On June 19, 1900, Professor Frame was united in m: 
riage with Miss Grace Boomer, who was born at B( 
ville, New York, a daughter of Edward and Mary (Ov 
ton) Boomer, who belonged to old pioneer families ' 
Jefferson County. Four children have been born to P 
fessor and Mrs. Frame: Luke W., born in April, 19C . 
Richard N., born in 1902, died in 1907; Robert, born i 
March, 1911; and William, born in May, 1912. 

In 1913 Professor Frame went to Louisville, Kentucl, 
in answer to a call to become county agent in agric- 
tural extension for Jefferson County, but on January , 
1914, he returned to West Virginia to become state agd 
in charge of county agents in the extension service, al 
on January 1, 1919, he was made director of Agricultul 
Extension in the West Virginia University. He has ma' 
associated interests and is one of the busy men of U 
university and of the city, enthusiastic on the subjt 
of his specialty, but not unmindful of the claims of otlr 
important world-wide interests to the attention of sehola' 
men, and to the real need that may arise for the h) 
of their trained understandings in solving many pub 
problems. He is field secretary of the American Counr 
Life Association; is chairman on Co-relations of the St3 
Social Wprkers Conference; and is a member of the M- 
gantown Kiwanis Club and of other organizations, - 
eluding his old college Greek letter fraternity, the li 
Kappa Psi. He has never been a politician but alwis 
a sincere citizen, and naturally is proud of his true Am • 
ican ancestry. 

John Thomas West, B. S. The thinking world agrs 
that knowledge is the master key to unlock the hidia 
mysteries of life made worth while through achieveme;. 
It is the great human leveler, giving to the poor and obsc e 
the same tools to work with as the rich and more fortun;:, 
and rewarding them alike according to the use made of thu. 
Leaders in educational work in the United States, those _vo 
have been chosen because of particular fitness to lead, diit 
and encourage seekers for knowledge throughout the grt 
school system of the country, find themselves, perhai, 
more deeply interested than ever before as they see tlr 
fields of usefulness growing wider. Like the good soldi s 
that they are, they keep their armor bright and stid 
ready to do battle vrith the cohorts of ignorance and suf- 
stition. With the coming of Prof. John Thomas Westo 
Morgantown as principal of the high school this city tik 
a long stride forward. 

Professor West was born in Greene County, Pennsylvam 
May 14, 1882, and is a son of John B. and Sarah Jje 
(Stewart) West. Looking back along the genealogil 
line it is found that the first of the West family recor((l 




y/.^^-^y-.^ 



m. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



75 



i America was a soldier in King Qeorge's Army who waa 

Ued in battle during the Revolutionary war. He left de- 

jndants, and after the war other members of his family 

iiip iroin Kngland and established themselves in Greene 

Pennsylvania, where Professor West's father, 

her and great-grandfather were born as well as 

John B. West now makes his home at Morgan- 

• st Virginia. He married Sarah Jane Stewart, who 

•"ber 12, 18S4. She also was born in Greene Coun- 

. „„,: was a daughter of James and Lucinda (De Berry) 

iewart, the Stewarts being of Irish and the De Berrys of 

[>Uand stock. 

[Losing his mother in infancy, John T. West was reared 
l1 her iieople in Marshall County, West Virginia, where he 
• tained his early educational training. His talents re- 

■ "I r-cognition, and he prepared for college in the pre- 

Ji'partment of the West Virginia University, after- 
ing the full course and was graduated in the class 

■ ii* -7 with his B. S. degree, continuing at the university 
ring 1907-8 for special work. In the latter year, in as- 
iation with Prof. Lawrence B. Hill, principal of the uni- 
•aity, he opened a county high school at Middlebourne 

Tyler County, a most creditable enterprise, the first of 
kind in West Virginia and one of the first county high 
ools east of the Mississippi Eiver. In this school Pro- 
isor West was an inst^ctor from 1908 until the faU of 
13, during the last year being principal. At that time 
was made acting principal of the Morgantown High 
bool, and a few months later, at the beginning of 1914, 
lame principal in fact and so continues. 
On December .31, 1908, Professor West married Miss 
VTf Elizabeth Sturgiss, who wag born at Morgantown 
d is a daughter of A. Howard and Elizabeth (Pretzman) 
irgiss, the former of whom is deceased. Professor and 
•8. West have four young daughters : Margaret Sturgiss, 
m November 15, 1909; Ruth Elizabeth, born March 2, 
13; Mary Jane, born December 24, 1914; and Anna 
aanor, bom August 8, 1919. Professor West and his 
Jlily belong to the First Baptist Church at Morgantown. 
I is a Mason, a member of Middlebourne Lodge Xo. .34, 
P. and A. M., and of Morgantown Lodge of Perfection 
1. 6; belongs to the Chamber of Commerce; the Kiwanis 
lb; his old college fraternity, the Sigma Phi Epsilon, and 
a member of the National Teachers Association and of 
! county and state bodies. As an educator he occupies 
(foremost position, and his broad-minded policies have 
pved him exceptionally able as an executive. 

3AMrix John Mokris, M. D. The distinguishing services 
c Doctor Morris in the medical profession have been as one 
t the most popular members of the faculty of instruction in 
t' medical school of the University of West Virginia, 
Here he is professor of anatomy. 

I Doctor Morris was born at Morgantown. August 3, 1887, 
ti of S-amuel Hall and Elizabeth D. (Morrison) Morris, 
lie of his forefathers, a native of Maryland, moved to 
''jstern Pennsylvania prior to the Revolution and settled 
i Fayette County, where the place of his settlement be- 
cnc known as Morris Cross Roads. Here the grcat-grand- 
1 her of Doctor Morris, Thomas Morris, was born. It 
»3 also the birthplace of his son, John Jarrett Morris, 
^0 was born in 182o and subsequently became a farmer 
i Monongalia County, West Virginia, and spent his last 
Jirs at Morgantown, where he died in 1900. Samuel Hall 
I'rris was born on the Morris farm in Fayette County, 
(tober 22, 18.50. His mother was Eliza Ann Hall, who 
13 born at Hop wood a settlement at the foot of the Alle- 
(iny Mountains near Uniontown in Fayette County. She 
13 bom there in 1826 and died in Morgantown in 1902. 
1 r father, Samuel Hall, was a Quaker and was born in 
D9 at Kenneth Square, now a part of the City of Phila- 
< phia. He was a stone mason by trade and went to 
''■stern Pennsylvania to work during the construction of 
1' National Road. In Fayette County he met and mar- 
id Margaret Kendall, and they settled'at Hopwood, where 
I er giving up his trade he followed farming the rest of 
1 life. Samuel Hall Morris married Elizabeth Delia Mor- 
glin, who was born in Morgantown, September 7, 1852, 



daughter of Robert and Delia Thomas (W»tt«) Morrison. 
Robert Morrison was a bridge builder, and was the engi- 
neer who constructed the bridge from Grafton to Kcltcr- 
nian over Tygarts Valley in West Virginia. This was built 
for the Baltimore & Uhio, and »as the firit railroad bridge 
in that part of the state. Later for many years he was 
a well-known contractor and builder at Morgantown. The 
two children of Samuel Hall and Elizabeth Morris were 
Samuel John and Mrs. Nellie M. Kidcr. 

Samuel John Morris was reared and educated in Morgan- 
town, attending the public schools, the preparatory dcp.-irt- 
ment of the university and in 190C entered the uiiivemitr 
proper. He spent two years in general courses an<l two 
years in medicine, receiving his M. D. degree in 1912, and 
in the same year he also graduated with the M. D. degree 
from the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore. 
This. was followed by one year in Mercy Hospital at Balti- 
more, and after his return to Morgantown he livcanie an 
instructor in anatomy at the University. In I0I6 he was 
promoted to associate professor of anatomy in charge of 
that department, and since 1920 has held the chair of an 
atomy. 

Doctor Morris is a member of the County, State and 
American Medical associations and the Phi Sigma Knp|>a 
college fraternity. June 12, 1912, he married Edna Ley- 
man, daughter of Michael Leyman, of McKeesporl, IVnnsyl 
vania. They have one son, John D., born February 27, 1919 

JOECN Nathan Siiir.soN, M. D. To some individuals are 
given diversified talents which they have the ability to 
utilize for the benefit not only of themselves but humanity 
at large. With a broader field in which to labor such men 
are able to direct their efforts along several lines of useful- 
ness, while their own sympathies are broadened and their 
characters strengthened. Among the men whoso umloubted 
gifts have made their names familiar to the present genera- 
tion of West Virginians, one who is accomplishing a great 
and good work along professional lines is John Nathan 
Simpson, A. B., M. D., dean and professor of medicine of 
the University of West Virginii at Morgantown. 

Doctor Simpson was born at Mason, Mason County. West 
Virginia, March 19, 1869. a son of the late George Perry 
and Phoebe (Kennedy) Simpson. The American .nncostor 
of this branch of the Simi'son family was Andrew Simpson, 
who was of Scotch-Irish stock and who came to the .\mer- 
ican Colonies from near Belfast in about 1728. locating 
first at Boston, Massachusetts, and later removing to Not- 
tingham, New Hampshire. His son, Josiah Simpson, the 
great-grandfather of Dr. John Nathan Simpson, served as a 
soldier during the .\merican Revolution, and in 1778 came 
West, settling in Meias County. Ohio. 

Judge Nathan Simpson, son of Josiah Simp.ion, the Revo- 
lutionary war soldier, was born in Meigs County, Ohio, 
graduated from the Cincinnati Law School, and for many 
years was a leading jurist at Pomeroy, Ohio. At the close 
of the Civil war he removed to Mason, Mason County, West 
Virginia, where he practiced law and was prominent in the 
public affairs of the state. George P. Simpson, son of 
Judge Simpson, was born at Rutland in Meigs County, 
Ohio, Febmary 12, 18.39. and attended the University of 
Ohio' at Athens, that state, subsequently reading law under 
his father and practicing at Pomeroy. He accompanied hxs 
father to West Virginia in 186."> and was locaU>d at Mason 
eight Tears, and later at Point Pleasant, the county seat of 
Mason Countv. where he practiced law until his death in 
1892 Both father and son were members of the republican 
party while living in Ohio, but on coming to West Vir- 
ginia found that thev could not subscribe to the condition- 
of reconstruction then in progress and left the old organiza 
tion, espousing the cause of the democratic party, iney 
were strongly opposed to the Frick Amendment, which pro- 
vided for the disfranchisement of all sympathizers of the 
Southern cause. Genrce P. Simpson, an eloquent spMkc^ 
who loved cimpaigninir, never failed to take the stump 
during periods of electioneering, not for ro'i"<^=' P'^f'' 
ment. but because of his fondness for going before the peo- 
ple in support of a favored issue or in opposition to one 
which he deemed a menace. 



76 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Phoebe Kennedy, the wife of George P. Simpson and 
mother of Dr. John N. Simpson, was born at Pomeroy, 
Meigs County, Ohio, March 30, 1844, and died at Point 
Pleasant, West Virginia, in 1896. She was a daughter of 
James and Margaret (VanSchriltz) Kennedy. The Amer- 
ican ancestor of the Kennedy family came to this country 
from Scotland in early days, and the family was later 
founded in Pennsylvania, when it moved to Ohio and set- 
tled in Meigs County. The VanSchriltz family probably 
came from Alsace-Lorraine, where its members were of the 
nobility. The American ancestor of this branch of the 
family came here in about 1790 and were among the first 
settlers at Gallipolis, Ohio. 

Dr. John Nathan Simpson was graduated from Peabody 
Normal College, Nashville, Tennessee, in 1891 ; from the 
University of Tennessee, Nashville, .class of 1893, A. B.; 
and from Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, 
class of 1902, M. D. ; and in 1904 studied in the universities 
of Paris, Vienna and Berlin. In 1902 he organized the 
School of Medicine of the University of West Virginia, 
of which he was dean and professor of physiology until 
1920, since when he has been dean and professor of med- 
icine. It was through his labors that the new medical build- 
ing, with its splendid modern equipment, was secured for 
the institution. Doctor Simpson was director of the Hygi- 
ene Laboratory of Health of the State of West Virginia 
Department of Health from 1913 to 1917; was surgeon of 
the Cadet Corps of the University of West Virginia from 
1902 to 1917; and August 5, 1917, was commissioned cap- 
tain in the Medical Eeserve Corps, N. A. During the 
World's war he was examiner for Northwest Virginia for 
the United States surgeon general's oflSce for the recruiting 
of medical officers for the United States. He is a Fel- 
low of the American Academy of Medicine, Fellow of the 
American Academy of Physicians, Fellow of the American 
Association for the Advancement of Science and Fellow of 
the American Medical Association. He is also a member 
of the Phi Beta Pi, Theta Nu Epsilon and Phi Signa Nu 
fraternities, is a Presbyterian in his religious belief, and 
in politics is a democrat. 

On December 20, 1906, Doctor Simpson was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Grace Emily Donley, of Waynesburg, 
Greene County, Pennsylvania, and to this union there have 
come a son and a daughter: John Nathan, Jr., born March 
25, 1910; and Patricia Donley, born December 21, 1914. 

RoscoE Pakeiott Posten, one of the successful younger 
members of the Morgantown bar, and prosecuting attor- 
ney for Monongalia County, has been engaged in practice 
smce 1915, with the exception of the time that he sjient 
m the army during the World war, and his general popu- 
larity and the confidence in which he is lield were evi- 
denced in 1920, when he was elected to his present office 
by the largest majority ever accorded a candidate in this 
county. 

Mr. Posten was born May 22, 1889, at Newburg, Preston 
County, West Virginia, a son of Dr. Smith J. and Emma 
Georgia (Parriott) Posten. His paternal grandparents, 
Nicholas and Rosana (Graliam) Posten, were descended 
from two old Virginia families, while his maternal grand- 
parents, William E. and Sarah Elizabeth (Crawford) 
Parriott, were also of old Dominion stock. Dr. Smith J. 
Posten attended West Virginia University in 1882, and 
was graduated from the College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons of Baltimore, Maryland, with the degree of Doctor 
of Medicine in 1888. From that year he practiced at 
Newburg, Preston County, West Virginia, until 1894, when 
he removed to Morgantown and spent the rest of his life 
in practice at this place. In 1888 he married Emma 
Georgia Parriott, who was born in Marshall County, West 
Virginia, July 14, 1863, and who still survives him as a 
resident of Morgantown. 

Roscoe P. Posten attended the public schools of New- 
burg until he was thirteen years of age, and was gradu- 
ated from the Morgantown High School with the class 
of 1908. He then entered the University of West Vir- 
ginia, where he received his Bachelor of Arts degree in 
1912, and as a member of the graduating class of 1915 



was given the degree of Bachelor of Laws. In July; 
the same year he was admitted to the bar of West ''e 
ginia and entered practice at Morgantown. During u 
next several years he made rapid progress in his pros 
sion, but his career was interrupted by the World yt 
and May 28, 1918, he volunteered and went with k 
drafted men to Camp Lee, Virginia, where he was sho j 
afterwards assigned to the Central Officers' Train .j 
School. The following October 15th he was commissio.c 
second lieutenant and ordered to Camp Upton, New Y<s 
where, until his honorable discharge January 31, li3 
he was engaged in drilling detachments for overseas s p 
ice. Upon leaving the army he returned to Morgantn 
and again engaged in practice, and at the Novem r 
1920, election was chosen as prosecuting attorney n 
Monongalia County on the republican ticket. As no 3 
his majority was the largest ever given a candidate i 
Monongalia County, and he has thus far vindicated k 
confidence and faith of the voters by giving them e; il 
lent service in his official position. 

Mr. Posten is a member of Morgantown Union Loje 
No. 4, A. F. and A. M. ; Morgantown Commandery o, 
18, K. T.; West Virginia Consistory No. 1, R. and S. .; 
Osiris Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S. ; the Morgantown a- 
sonic Club; Morgantown Lodge No. 411, B. P. O. ')., 
and the Beta Theta Pi college fraternity. 

WjLLlAM McKiNLEY YosT. Among the offices which U 
for the demonstration of ability, judgment and clear -hesjil 
courage by the incumbents, one that in particular demjls 
the possession of these qualities is that of sheriff, le 
shrievalty is generally conferred upon an individual lo 
in the past has demonstrated his fitness for the handlinpf 
grave responsibilities, for the duties of the office inc ie 
the possibility of necessity for quick thinking and in e- 
diate action in times of crisis. Monongalia Count) is 
favored in having as the incumbent of the office of sin if 
so capable and energetic a young official as William e- 
Kinley Yost, an overseas veteran of the World war id 
a native son of Monongalia County, where he is grelj 
popular. 

Sheriff Yost was born on the home farm at Coal Spig, 
Monongalia County, July 1, 1894, a son of Thomas id 
Mary (Mason) Yost, natives of the same county, i 
jiaternal grandfather, Jacob Yost, was an early faier 
of this county, as was also his maternal grandfather, iin 
W. Mason. Thomas Yost, father of the Sheriff, foUced 
agricultural pursuits until 1911, in which year he remied 
to Morgantown, this city now being the family placiot' 
residence. 

William McKinley Yost was reared on the home fihi, 
and as a lad attended the public schools. When his ir- 
ents removed to Morgantown he remained on the home fm. 
where he was still carrying on operations at the time lif 
United States entered the World war. With youthful entis- 
iasm and patriotism young Yost decided that his cou ry 
was in need of his services, and accordingly left the I'm 
and went to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where, DeeembeiiO, 
1917, he enlisted in the United States Marine Corps. Sne- 
quently he was sent to the Paris Island, South Caroia, 
training camp, and after eleven weeks of intensive traing 
was sent overseas. On May 6, 1918, he disembarkei at 
Brest, France, from which point he and his comrades :re 
ordered to St. Aignan. Five days later he was in a till- 
ing camp at Grandohamps, whence after two weeks of ir- 
ther training he was sent to the front, where he wasis- 
signed to the Seventy-ninth Company, Sixth Regiment, 3C- 
ond Division of United States Marines. He arrivei at 
the Chateau-Thierry front June 8 of that year andre 
mained there from that date until July 4, when he as 
ordered to the reserve in the rear. On tlie 14th of .lie i 
same month he was ordered to Soissons, where he wa in 
the thick of the fighting on the 18th and 19th, and :5iii| 
which desperate engagement his battalion came out im' 
bering less than a full company. He was then retued 
to Mantreul, on the Marne, where, August 1, he subtraed 
for Nancy, from which point a few days later he wer to 
the Marbach sector, directly in front of Metz. Mr. )8t 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



77 



was in the fighting on the front August 7, 8 and 9, and on 
the morning of the last-named day was wounded by a high 
explosive and sent to Base Hospital No. 3 at Montpont, 
France, where he remained until November 1, 1918. On 
that date he was ordered to the replacement camp at Le- 
Mans, reaching that camp on the 4th of the same month 
and was still located there when the armistice was signed. 
He was then ordered to join his company in Belgium, and 
with it marched to the front of the German lines at Lux- 
embourg. On December 13, 1918, they came to the Rhine 
at Brolil, and on the following day crossed that historic 
stream. They were stationed at Rheinbrohl, Germany, until 
June 18, 1919, at which time they marched to within ap- 
proximately two miles of the neutral zone, and there re- 
mained until the peace treaty was signed June 28. Mr. 
Yost started for home July 18, 1919, embarked at Brest 
on the 25th, and reached New York City August 3. The 
company was then ordered to Camp Mills, but on the morn- 
ing of the 9th the entire division paraded in the streets of 
New York City, and in the evening of the same day was 
on its way to the Quantico, South Carolina, Marine Train- 
ing Station. On the 12th of that month Mr. Yost took 
part in the parade at Washington, D. C, and on the fol- 
lowing day, August 13, 1919, was honorably discharged at 
Quantico. 

Returning to his old home, Mr. Yost resumed farming 
and was thus engaged when, May 25, 1920, he received the 
republican nomination for the o6Sce of sheriff of Monongalia 
County in the primaries. In the ensuing election he was 
placed in office by an approximate majority of 1,800 votes, 
a gain over the normal republican vote of nearly 1,000. 
he assumed the duties of the sheriff's office January 1, 1921, 
and in that position is as faithfully serving Monongalia 
County as he faithfully served his country overseas. 

Sheriff Y'ost is a member of the American Legion and 
of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, and as a fraternalist is 
affiliated with the Improved Order of Red Men and the 
Junior Order United American Mechanics. He belongs to 
the Methodist Protestant Church and to Baraca Sunday 
school class. He is umnarried. 

John Shkivee. Eighteen years of consecutive service as 
clerk of the Circuit Court of Morgantown has been suf- 
ficient to make John Shriver one of the best-known citizens 
of Monongalia County. Moreover, Mr. Shriver represents 
one of the oldest families in this section of the state, is a 
lawyer by profession and has also been actively identified 
with banking and other affairs. 

The Shriver family settled in Monongalia County before 
the close of the eighteenth century. The head of the fam- 
ily at that time was Abram Shriver, who was born in 
Frederick County, Virginia, September 6, 1768. May 31, 
1791, he married Mary Keckley, who was born in Frederick 
County, April 19, 1770. The brief record of their chil- 
dren, the first three of whom were born in Frederick Coun- 
ty and the others in Monongalia County, is as follows: 
Catherine, born April IG, 1792, married Jacob Horner, and 
they settled in Monongalia County; Adam, born September 
7, 1793; Elias, born August 9, 1795; Jacob, born in July, 
1797; Christiana, born April 12, 1799, became the wife 
of Michael Core; Elizabeth, born April 5, 1800, was mar- 
ried to Ezekiel Morris; John, born April 30, 1801, died 
in 1S85; Benjamin, born May 20, 1805; Isaac, born May 
27, 1807, died March 30, 1880, having married Minerva 
Sine; and Abraham. 

This branch of the family record is carried through John 
Shriver, who, as noted above, lived to the age of eighty- 
four. He married Sarah Cannon, and their children were: 
Eunice, who became the wife of Peter A. Tennant; Abra- 
ham, who married Prudence Moore; Sarah, who was the 
wife of Daniel V. Moore; and Cannon. 

Cannon Shriver, of the third generation of the family 
in Monongalia County, was born there September 29, 1831, 
and was a prosperous farmer and stockman in the Clay 
District, where he died in 1888. He served as a constable 
during the Civil war, was a republican in politics and a 
Methodist. He married Minerva Meyers, who was bom 
in the Clay District, September 30, 1831, and died in 1908. 



Her father was John Meyers. Cannon and Mioerra BhrWer 
were the parents of eight children: Elizabeth, deceawd 
wife of Jacob Shanes, who was a native of Pennsylvania; 
Prudence, who married Elihu Yost, of Monongalia County ; 
Edgar, who married Nancy Vo»t; .Martha M., wife of D. L. 
Hamilton, living in Monongalia County, West Virginia; 
John; Mark, who married Minta Wil.sun; Mary E., wife 
of Grant Wilson; and Laura, wife of L<-niley Tennant. 

John Shriver therefore stands in the fourth generation 
of this [irominent old family of Monongalia County. He 
was born on his father's farm in Clay District, July 31, 
1870. He acquired a liberal education, at first in the ]iublie 
schools and later in West Virginia University. He grad- 
uated with the law class of 1901, and was ailmitted to the 
bar the same year. He began practice in Morgantown, 
but soon answered a call to other responsibilities. While 
living on the farm in 1896 he was elected justice of the 
peace, and filled that oflice 2Vi years, until lie removed to 
Morgantown. Mr. Shriver was elected clerk of the CHrcuit 
Court in 1902, and his eighteen years of service terminated 
January 1, 1921. Since leaving the office of circuit clerk 
he has been deputy sheriff. Mr. Shriver was one of the 
organizers and is a director of the Bank of Morgantown, 
and was also identified with the organization of the Mo- 
nongalia Building and Loan Association, of which he is 
a director. He b affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. 
the Junior Order United American Mechanics, and is a 
member of the First Mcthodi.st Episcojial Church. 

February 3, 1892, he married Iva Nora Wilson. She wtt.i 
born in Clay District, daughter of John N. and Lucinda 
(Moore) Wilson. Her father is now deceased. The chil- 
dren of Mr. and Mrs. Shriver, representing the fifth genera- 
tion of the family in Monongalia County, are: Goldie M., 
born April 9, 1894, died November Is.' 1921, as thi- wife 
of J. F. Smith, of Morgantown; Nellie Irene, born Febrj 
ary 24, 1901; Beulah Ruth, born April 20, 1903; and Doro- 
thy, born February 15, 1909. 

James Scott Stewart. One of the veteran figures in 
West Virginia educational affairs, and familiar as an in- 
structor and in other official capacities to the student body 
of the university at Morgantown for more than forty 
years, James Scott Stewart has made an enviable record 
of service and is one of the greatly admired citizens of 
Morgantown. 

He was born in Jefferson County, Ohio January .5, 1854. 
Both his grandfathers were natives of Scotland. His pa- 
ternal grandfather, Alexander Stewart, a son of Jameii 
Stewart, left Scotland early in life ami, going to I^ondon, 
England, became what is known as flour factor or a whole- 
sale dealer in Hour. Prior to 1820 he left England and 
came to the United States, and somewhat later settled at 
Steubenville, Ohio, where he lived out hLs life. He had 
a considerable fortune, and one of his investments was a 
good farm in Jefferson County about twelve miles from 
Steubenville. He was instrumental in instituting the fir.it 
Lodge of Masons at Steubenville and became a charter 
member. 

His son, James R. M. Stewart, was born in Lpndon and 
was only a boy when his parents came to the Unite. I States. 
He grew up in Jefferson County, Ohio, inheriting the Stew- 
art farm there, and in addition to the responsibilities of its 
management he was for years a lumber manufacturer, 
operating lumber mills. He died in Ohio in ls81, at the 
age of seventy-three. James R. M. Stewart marricil Cor- 
delia K. Scott, also a native of London, England, and 
brought as a child to the United States, her |.arents set- 
tling in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Stewart and Scott 
families had not been acquainted while living in London. 
Cordelia Stewart died in 1895, at the age of .seventy seven. 

Her son, Prof. James Scott Stewart, grew up on the o d 
homestead in Eastern Ohio. His intirests were largely 
identified with the farm untU after attaining his majority. 
His apt scholarship gave him a good record in the common 
and high schools, and in August. 1873, he enrolled as a 
student in West Virginia University. He wm graduatad 
with the Bachelor of Science degree in 1877, and three years 
later received the Master of Science degree. After bis 



78 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



graduation Mr. Stewart remained as an instructor in the 
preparatory department of tlie university, and continued 
through the various grades of instruction until he was pro- 
moted to professor of mathematics in the university in 
1891. During the school year 1894-95 he was superin- 
tendent of public schools at Fairmont, West Virginia, but 
without exception he continued to perform his duties as 
professor of mathematics until June, 1907. Since leaving 
the faculty of instruction Mr. Stewart has continued with 
the university in an official capacity as manager of the 
University Book Store, which is an important adjunct of 
the university and a business of no small proportions meas- 
ured in the commercial scale. 

During his long residence at Morgantowu Mr. Stewart 
has acquired other business and civic interests. He was 
one of the organizers of the Farmers and Merchants Bank 
and has been a director since the early years of the institu- 
tion. He is vice president and a director of the Morgan- 
town Savings & Loan Society and is examiner for the real 
estate oifered the society as basis for loans. He is also 
a member of the Board of Directors and secretary of the 
Board of the Chaplin Collieries Company of Morgantown. 
Mr. Stewart for forty-three years has been an elder in 
the First Presbyterian Church at Morgantown. 

He married Louisa M. Hayes, daughter of Alexander 
Hayes, of Morgantown. Following the death of his first 
wife Mr. Stewart married Sara Meredith, daughter of the 
late John Q. A. Meredith, of Fairmont, West Virginia. 

Albert Kenneth Miller. Though he spent his early 
life on a farm in Pendleton County, Albert K. Miller has 
devoted practically all his mature years to commercial lines, 
beginning as a retail merchant, and has been an executive 
official in several of West Virginia's prosperous wholesale 
grocery houses. He is now an honored resident of Morgan- 
town and secretary, treasurer and manager of the Morgan- 
town Grocery Company. 

He was born on a farm in Pendleton County, January 
6, 1873, sou of John H. and Eliza (Day) Miller, natives 
of the same county and now deceased. His grandfathers 
were early settlers in Pendleton County, grandfather Jonas 
Miller coming from Germany and grandfather Leonard 
Day, from Ireland. 

Albert K. Miller learned some of the practical duties and 
discipline of the farm while a boy, also attended district 
schools, but in 1892, at the age of nineteen, left the farm 
and during the following six years was in the general mer- 
chandising business at Alexander, Upshur County. In 1898 
he became a stockholder and one of the managers of the 
Upshur Grocery Company, a wholesale house at Buekhan- 
non. He left Buckhannon in 1912, and for the following 
four years was manager of the Burnsville Grocery Company 
at Burnsville in Braxton County. He is still a stockholder 
in that company. 

Mr. Miller has been one of the business men and citizens 
of Morgantown since 1916, when he took charge of the 
Morgantown Grocery Company as secretary, treasurer and 
manager. He is also a director of the Commercial Bank 
of Morgantown. He is affiliated with the local business 
men through the Chamber of Commerce and is a member 
of the First Methodist Church. 

November 12, 1896, he married Julia Cheuvront. She 
was born at Good Hope, Harrison County, West Virginia, 
daughter of Jeremiah and Mary Anna (Brooks) Cheuvront. 
Mary Anna Brooks was the daughter of a Methodist min- 
ister who in his time was a power for good throughout 
Western Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are the parents 
of six children: Dwight C, born in 1898, now associated 
with his father in the Morgantown Grocery Company; Buth, 
born in 1900, a member of the class of 1922 at West Vir- 
ginia University; John H., born in 1902; Worth W., born 
in 1904, a student in the Morgantown High School; Lois I., 
born in 1906; and Albert Kenneth, Jr., born in 1910. 

Joseph Donley Mh.lbr, D. O. The marvelous prog- 
ress made in medical science during recent years must 
interest every normal individual, he his own condition of 
health what it may. Among the different schools of medi- 



cine as a healing art perhaps none have made greater 
strides forward in the last decade than that of Osteopathy. 
It is almost fifty years since its founder, the late vener- 
ated D*. Andrew Taylor Still, first announced the prin- 
ciples of this science, and for many years afterward its 
benefits had to be demonstrated in the face of what may 
be denominated fanatical opposition. Changed, indeed, is 
its present status, when a successful practitioner is found 
in every progressive community all over the world, when 
its richly endowed colleges offer unsurpassed advantages 
in the way of higher scientific medical training, and its 
beneficent results may be found in the practical banish- 
ment of the most dreaded foes of health that have so 
long afflicted misguided humanity. For fourteen years 
Morgantown, West Virginia, has been the home of a very 
alile Osteopathic practitioner. Dr. Joseph Donley Miller, 
who may justly be called the pioneer in his school of 
medicine here, being preceded only by several practitioners 
whose stay was very short. The success that has attended 
Doctor Miller 's eS'orts has firmly established Osteopathy 
in this community. 

Doctor Miller is a native of West Virginia, born in 
Cass District, Monongalia County, May 4, 1862. His par- 
ents were James E. and Euhama (Donley) Miller. His 
paternal grandfather was Amherst Miller, who settled at 
Osage, Cass District, at an early day, where he built and 
operated the first flour and carding miU in Monongalia 
County. He married into the prominent Locke family, 
and left descendants. 

James E. Miller was born in Morgantown and grew to 
manhood there. He operated his father's mill at Osage 
for several years, but in 1876 removed to Mount Morris, 
Greene County, Pennsylvania, where he built a flour mill 
of his own and operated it for many years. He married 
Euhama Donley, who was born at Mount Morris, where 
she still resides, being now in her eightieth year. Her 
father, Joseph R. Donley, was well known in Greene Coun- 
ty. The father of Doctor Miller died at Mount Morria, 
where he was held as a citizen of sterling worth. 

Joseph Donley Miller was fourteen years old when his 
parents moved to Mount Morris, Pennsylvania, where he 
continued his public school education already under way 
at Osage. It was in 1903, while residing at Core, West 
Virginia, that he became enough interested in Osteopathy 
to begin serious study of the science, and later became 
a student in the American School of Osteopathy at Kirks- 
ville, Missouri, from which institution he was graduated 
in 1906, with the degree of D. 0. He entered upon the 
practice of his profession at Mount Morris, but in April, 
1907, removed to Morgantown, West Virginia, which city 
has been his field of professional work ever since. In 
recognition of his skill as an exponent of Osteopathy 
Doctor Miller has been highly honored on numerous oc- 
casions by representative organizations of his school of 
medicine. He is ex-president of the West Virginia State 
Osteopathic Association, is a member of the American 
Osteopathic Association, the Pennsylvania State Osteo- 
pathic Association, and of the Western Pennsylvania 
Osteopathic Association. 

In 1890 Doctor Miller married Miss Mary Tennant, a 
daughter of John and Phoebe (Mason) Tennant, of 
Greene County, Pennsylvania, and they have one son and 
one daughter: Harry Irving and Lois Lynn, the latter 
of whom was born October 3, 1899, attended the Mor- 
gantown High School, and at present (1921) is a student 
in the University of West Virginia. 

Harry Irving Miller, D. O., was born at Core, West 
Virginia, August 29, 1891, attended the common schools, 
the high school at Morgantown and the normal school at 
California, Pennsylvania, and later became a student in 
the American School of Osteopathy at Kirksville, Missouri, 
from which college he was graduated in January, 1914, 
with the degree of D. O. He entered into practice at 
Lebanon, Missouri, where he remained until August, 1918, 
when he answered the call of the Government for medical 
men for service in the World war, and from that date 
until his honorable discharge on December 1, 1918, was 
stationed at Camp Lee, Virginia. He returned then to 





:J ^^ ^&, 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



79 



Lebanon, Missouri, but in May, 1920, came to Morgan- 
town to become his father's partner in Osteopathic prac- 
tice, and since that time the professional style has been 
Miller & Miller. He is a number of the West Virginia 
State, and the American Osteopathic associations, and 
like his father, belongs to the Greek letter college f rater 
nity, the Phi Sigma Gamma. lie also is active in the 
Chamber of Cemmerce and belongs to the order of Elks 
at Morgantown. Doctor Miller and his family are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Protestant Church. As a citizen 
deeply interested in the welfare and progress of his home 
city, he is an active factor in the Chamber of Commerce. 
His fraternal connections include the Odd Fellows and the 
Order of Maccabees. 

W. C. WiCKH.vM Renshaw is a leading member of tlie 
bar at Huntington, former representative in the Legislature, 
and is a man of unusual gifts and accomplishments. Prior 
to becoming a lawyer he was in the civil engineering pro- 
fession. 

Mr. Renshaw was born of American parents but his birth 
occurred in a foreign land. He was born at Oratava, Tenc- 
riffe. Canary Islands, November 19, 1882. His granjfatlier 
was William Renshaw, a native of Madrid. Spain, of P^ng- 
lish ancestry. For many years he was in the British diplo- 
matic service, and some of the more important posts whiih 
he held were in Spain and Venezuela. He married a Span- 
ish lady. Miss Beatrice De Medicis. Robert H. Renshaw, 
father of the Huntington lawyer, was born at Bristol, Penn- 
sylvania, in IS.S.S, but was reared at Caracas, Venezuela, 
where he acquired his early education. He graduated A. B. 
from Harvard University in 18.5.5, and for several years 
practiced law at Baltimore. During the Civil war he was a 
captain in tlie Confederate army, and following the war he 
settled down to farming in Clarke County, Virginia, where 
he remained until 1900 and then retired to Charlottesville, 
where he dieii in 1910. He was a democrat, a member of 
the Episcojial Chunh and the Masonic fraternity. His fir.st 
wife was Miss Lucy Carter, a native of Virginia and their 
only child. Charlotte, died in infancy. His second wife was 
Maria Carter, of Philadelphia. To this union were born 
two children: Charles C, now sales agent for a coal com- 
pany in Philadelphia, and Maria, deceased. The third wife 
of Robert H. Renshaw was Anne Carter Wickham, who was 
born in Hanover County, Virginia, in 18.51. W. C. Wick- 
ham Renshaw is their oldest child; Frank is a civil engineer 
at Huntington; Robert is a road building contractor in 
Snow Hill. Maryland; and Julia is the "ifc of Alfred R. 
James, an architect at Cleveland. Ohio. Mrs. Renshaw was 
married in 1920 to Dr. W. E. Byerly, retired professor of 
mathematics of Harvard University, and now lives in 
Waverly. Massachusetts. 

W. C. Wickham Renshaw grew up in Virginia, attended 
private schools, including the Clav Hill Academy in Clarke 
County, and in 1902 graduated Master of Arts in the Uni- 
versity of Virginia at Charlottesville. He is a member of 
the Alpha Tau Omega Greek letter fraternity. For three 
years he taught at Chattanooga, Tennessee and then fol- 
lowed his career as a civil engineer, a profession that en- 
gaged him in various districts of Tennessee, Virginia and 
West Virginia. He first came to West Virginia in 1899. 

Mr. Renshaw continued his profession as a civil engineer 
until 1914, in which year he was admitted to the bar and 
since then has been busy with his work as a lawyer. He is a 
member of the firm Vinson, Thompson, Meek & Renshaw, 
with offices in the Holeswade Building. 

Mr. Renshaw was elected to represent Cabell County in 
the House of Delegates in November, 1916. During the 
session of 1917 he was chairman of the taxation and finance 
committees, and a member of the judiciary, mines and rain- 
ing, labor and other important committees. He was elected 
as a democrat. He is a member of the Episcopal Church, 
the Kiwanis Club of Huntington, the Guyandotte Club, 
Gnyan Country Club of Huntington, the West Virginia and 
American Bar associations, and is a director in the Hunting- 
ton Development and Gas Company and president and 
director of the Guyan Big Ugly & Coal River Railroad. 

His home is at 1105 Eleventh Street. In November, 1911, 



at Richmond, Virginia, Mr. Hcnshaw married Min Martha 
Challin, daughter of Richard B. and Sarah (Harvie) Chaffin. 

Aethue N. McKeever is dean of the dental profeaxion at 
Romney, and in his jirofessional work and as a citizen has 
been prominent in Uiat community sim-c May 1, 1895. His 
name has been associated with se\cral of the mocmcnts to 
give Romney a pla^e among the pr<igres?.ive cities of the 
state. 

He was born at Kdom, near Harrinonburg, in Kockingham 
County, Virginia, February 6. 1874, but nprcM-nts an old 
family of Hardy County, West Virginia. Ilin great grand 
father was one of three 8<'otch brothers who came from 
Scotland and settled in New Jersey. The gramlfather, Hugh 
McKeever, was born in New .Jersey in ISiii' and a.i a young 
man settled in Hardy County and was a farmer and tavern 
keeper at Wardensville. lie died there in iMsii. Hugh 
McKeever married a Miss Ogden, who ilied at Wardenovillc 
in 1888. at the age of eighty-four. They reared the follow 
ing children: Isaac, who was a comniis.sicm iiiircbant in 
Washington, D. C, when he died ; .lohn, who died at War 
ilensville after many years of work as a physician in 
Hampshire and Hardy counties; William, who wa.s in buni 
ness with his brother Benjamin ami died at Wardensville; 
Hezekiah. a Confederate soldier killed in battle at Rich 
mond; Benjamin Warden; Rel>ecca, who marrieil Asa 
Cline and died at Vellow Springs, Hampshire County; 
Amanda, who lives at Wardensville. wife of TillK-rry Orn- 
dorff; Lydia, who married David Knee and died at War- 
densville; and Jennie, who married David Dingi-s and died 
at Wardensville. 

Benjamin W. McKeever, father of Doctor McKeever, was 
born in the W'ardensvillc community in 1S42, and early in 
the Civil war joined the Confederate army as a mcmlH>r of 
the Thirty-third Virginia Cavalry, under (ieneral Imbodcn. 
Among other engagements he was in the battle of New 
Market. He served as a private and after the war followed 
merchandising at Edom in Rockingham County, but finally 
returned to his native county and established his home at 
Wardensville. He was a member of the Hardy County 
Court, was a democrat and a Lutheran, and died at War- 
densville in 190.'!, at the age of sixty-one. Benjamin W. 
McKeever married Mattie Neff, who was born in Shenan 
doah County, Virginia, in 1,8.54, on her father's farm In- 
tween Mount Jackson and New Market. She is now living, 
at the age of sixty-nine. She is the mother of three chil- 
dren: Doctor McKeever; Bernice, of Wardensville, wiclow 
of James .\. Heishman; and Irene, Mrs. R. L. Husong, of 
Buffalo, New York. 

Arthur N. McKeever was seven years of age when his 
parents left Rockingham County and established their home 
at Wardensville, the rural village on the east side of Hanly 
County, where he grew to manhood. He laid the foundation 
for his literary education in the village schools then s|>ont 
two years in Roanoke College at Salem, Virginia, pursuing 
a literary-business course, and from there entered the I'ni- 
versity of Maryland at Baltimore, graduating from the 
dental' department in the summer of 1895. He at once 
established his office at Romney. and was the first resident 
dentist to jiracticc there, and has been the leader in his 
profession for nearly thirty years. 

Doctor McKeever is a former mayor of Romney. Diiring 
his administration the water system was installed and the 
first concrete sidewalks constructed. He also organized and 
was president of the Romney ImiTovemcnt Company, which 
installed the sewer srstem for the town. He was one of the 
organizers and the 'first president of the First National 
Bank. 

During the World war he was designat/'d by the governor 
as dental examiner for the Local Draft Board. Governor 
A B White commi.ssioned him a member of the Board of 
Regents of the Kevser branch of West Virginia University 
and he was one of the committee for the building of the 
school at Keyser and sened four years as regent. Governor 
Glasscock appointed him a notary public, and he wai. rocom- 
missioned bv Governor Cornwell. He served witi the rank 
of colonel on the staff of Governor Hatfield throughout bis 
four-year term. 



80 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Doctor McKeever is a republican, casting his first vote 
for Major McKinley for President, and in former years 
attended numerous party conventions and is still a member 
of the Second District Congressional Committee. He is a 
past master of Eomney Lodge of Masons, a past district 
deputy grand master, a member of Keyser Chapter, K. A. 
M., the Knight Templar Commandery at Martinsburg, the 
Ancient Order of United Workmen and belongs to Martins- 
burg Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

At Frostburg, Maryland, September 20, 1904, Doctor Mc- 
Keever married Miss Katie Keller, daughter of Joseph and 
Susie (Brooke) Keller. Her father was connected with a 
mining company. Mrs. McKeever was born at Frostburg 
in December, 187.3, and her musical talents were thoroughly 
trained, and she finished her education in the Peabody Insti- 
tute at Baltimore. She was a teacher of music before her 
marriage. Doctor and Mrs. McKeever have two daughters, 
Martha and Josephine. 

Thomas W. Gocke, one of the substantial business men 
of Piedmont, has been identified with the history of Mineral 
County for a quarter of a century, and is the representative 
in this region of the J. C. Orrick & Son Company. He was 
born at Howesville, Preston County, "West Virginia, May 1.3, 
1864, a son of John J. and Catherine (Wesling) Gocke, 
natives of the province of Brandenburg, Germany, who wore 
married in the United States, to which the father had come 
in 1840. He first lived at Cumberland, Maryland, and later 
at Tunnelton, West Virginia, being there until after the 
completion of the first tunnel. Soon afterward he bought 
a farm at Howesville, and continued to conduct it until his 
death in 1892, when he was sixty-eight years old. He was 
married after coming to Preston County, and the mother 
survived him until 1910, when she passed away at Clarks- 
burg, West Virginia, aged eighty-seven years. They had 
thirteen children, eight of whom grew up, were married and 
reared families, but only four are now living, they being: 
Thomas W., whose name heads this review; James B., who 
is a resident of Los Angeles, California; Vincent E., who is 
a resident of Clarksburg, West Virginia; and Emma S., who 
is the wife of John E. Mattingly, of Cincinnati, Ohio. 

Growing up on his father's farm, Thomas Gocke attended 
the local schools and learned habits of industry and thrift 
from his watchful parents. Taking upon himself the re- 
sponsibilities of manhood, he went to Cumberland, Maryland, 
and became a salesman for the J. C. Orrick & Son Company, 
and has remained with this corporation ever since. While at 
Cumberland Mr. Gocke covered a territory including Preston 
and Mineral counties, West Virginia, and Garrett County, 
Maryland, but in 1900 was transferred to Piedmont when 
his company opened a branch in this region, and was given 
his present territory, which includes the Piedmont, Keyser 
and Georges Creek "districts. Investing in the stock of his 
company, he now is one of the large stockholders and a mem- 
ber of its board of directors. 

The J. C. Orrick & Son Company, one of the most reliable 
concerns in the East, was established in 1863, at Cumber- 
land, Maryland, by J. C. Orrick, who remained at its head 
during the remainder of his active life, and saw it develop 
from a small wholesale house to a corporation with many 
branches, doing a business of $1,000 000 annually. For a 
time a branch house was maintained at Grafton, West Vir- 
ginia, but the business is now done by the Piedmont and 
Cumberland houses. The president and general manager 
of the company is William GuUand, the Orrieks having all 



Mr. Gocke has tfiken an active part in civic affairs at 
Piedmont, as he did at Cumberland, and is very active in 
politics. Casting his first presidential vote for Grover Cleve- 
land, he has followed the fortunes of the democratic party 
ever since, and has been his party's delegate upon numerous 
occasions to the congressional and state conventions, and was 
particularly zealous in the campaigns of his old boyhood 
friend. Junior Brovpn, for Congress, and was his close 
advisor during his entire career. On February 22, 1914, 
Mr. Gocke received a reward to which he was entitled in his 
appointment as postmaster of Piedmont, to succeed George 
T. Goshom, and was re-appointed after a service of four 



years, filling the office until he resigned, August 29, 1921. 
While he was postmaster he continued his connection with 
the Orrick Company, and felt that the burden was too 
great for him to continue the responsibilities of both posi- 
tions. He has also served as a member of the Piedmont City 
Council, and was responsible for the inauguration of the 
system of sewers. An enthusiastic advocate of the good 
roads movement, he was instrumental in securing the issue 
of the $100,000 bond fund for the building of permanent 
roads, and it is a recognized fact that had he not exerted 
himself in behalf of this movement it would not have been 
successful. Public improvements and the public welfare of 
his home city and county have always been of vital moment 
to him, and he has always been willing to devote much time 
and attention to whatever he has believed would work out 
for the best interests of the majority. During the late war 
his position as postmaster of Piedmont placed him in the 
front ranks in all of the drives for aU purposes, and he 
exerted himself to the utmost to aid the administration in 
carrying out its policies. Mr. Gocke is a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, of which he has been grand knight, 
and he has represented the local council in the state council, 
and has held the office of advocate in the latter body. 

On November 20, 1889, Mr. Gocke married at Baltimore. 
Maryland, Mary F. Kessler, who was born at Butler, Mary 
land, a daughter of Peter and Kate (Merryman) Kessler. 
natives of Switzerland, and Baltimore, Maryland, respec- 
tively. Mrs. Kessler was a distant relative of Johns Hop- 
kins, founder of the famous University of Baltimore, Mary- 
land, which bears his name. Mr. and Mrs. Gocke became the 
parents of the following children: Dr. William T., who is 
a graduate of the Baltimore College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, is engaged in a practice of his profession at 
Clarksburg, West Virginia; Joseph J., who is connected 
with the Kenny House at Piedmont; Paul F., who is 
manager of the above mentioned hotel; Thomas V., who is a 
student of Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Penn- 
sylvania; and Mary Catherine, who is attending the Pied- 
mont High School. The Gockes are all Roman Catholics. 
Paul and Joseph Gocke volunteered for service during the 
World war at the entry of this country into the conflict, 
and served in the One Hundred and Seventy-third Engineers. 
They were sent overseas, were for five months in France, 
and for two months with the Army of Occupation on the 
Ehine River in Germany. During their period of service 
they were hospital attaches, and returned home uninjured. 
Both are members of the American Legion. The youngest 
son, Thomas V., was a S. A. T. C. student, and was in a 
training camp in Kentucky, preparing for army life, 
when the signing of the armistice put an end to the 
necessity for further troops. Like their father, the Gocke 
sons are admirable men and good citizens, and valuable 
additions to any community with which they see fit to con- 
nect themselves. 

Hon. Robert McVeigh Drane, mayor of Piedmont, and 
an attorney of note, is one of the leading men of Mineral 
County, and one whose fame is not confined to local bound- 
aries. He was born at Frederick City, Maryland, October 
15, 1885, a son of Robert H. Drane, born in the '503 in 
Virginia and reared in his native state, but who completed 
his educational training at Rockhill College, Maryland, and 
for some time was a merchant of Cumberland, Maryland. Iti 
1889 he came to Piedmont and established the mercantile 
house he is still capably conducting. Very active in demo- 
cratic circles, he has served on the County Central Committee 
of his party, and was elected on its ticket a member of the 
Piedmont City Council. As a communicant of Saint James 
Episcopal Church of Piedmont he is a leader in parish work, 
and in it, as in everything else he undertakes, he is zealous 
in behalf of what he considers to be for the best of the 
majority. 

The marriage of Robert H. Drane occurred at Frederick 
City, Maryland, to Emma Virginia Keller, a daughter of 
John H. Keller and a native of Frederick. Mr. and Mrs. 
Robert H. Drane became the parents of the following 
children: Harry K., who resides at Piedmont; Eleanor E., 
who married Dr. George B. Gilbert, of Colorado Springs, 




J^^. ^.^-z-^^rUl^ 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



81 



ilorndo, and died in that city; and Bobert McVeigh, whose 
jne beads this review. 

Only four years old when brought to Piedmont by his 

'rents, Robert McVeigh Drane has spent practically all of 

3 life in this city, and acquired his preliminary education 

jto public schools. Graduated from the high-school course 

|Be age of seventeen years, ho became a student of the 

K Virginia University at Morgantown, and was gradu- 

M from its legal department in 1907 with the degree of 

lehelor of Laws. Although he began his practice at Pied- 

int, his first case was tried in the Maryland courts in 

imberland. He is engaged in a general criminal and 

/il practice and has never taken a partner. For sii years 

wrved Piedmont as city attorney, and is counsel for 

e Davis National Bank of Piedmont and one of the di- 

jtors of this institution. In the spring of 1917 Mr. Drane 

IS first elected mayor of Piedmont to succeed Mayor H. 

-aw, and was re elected in 1918, 1919 and again in 

\ ing declined the nomination in 1920, to become a 

■ •■ for file office of jirosecuting attorney of Mineral 

I-,, cm the democratic ticket. Although he made a 

• I inipaign, he was defeated in the landslide in favor 

:1. rejiublican candidates. During the time he has been 

; ' has succeeded iu decreasing the bonded indebted- 

1 has issued bonds for the establishment of a filtra- 

■tem for the city. Mr. Drane prepared the charter 

r tlie City of Piedmont which was passed upon at the 

[ssion of 191.'? of the State Assembly. Casting his first 

eddential vote for William Jennings Bryan in 1908, Mr. 

•ane has continued a firm advocate of democratic princi- 

iS ever since, and supported Woodrow Wilson during his 

ministration, although he went to the democratic state 

invention of West Virginia as a Clark delegate. 

In his fraternity work Mr. Drane was made a member of 

K.i;>|a Alpha at the university, and he is a Scottish- 

' ~nn, a member of Osiris Temple, Mystic Shrine, the 

of Pythias, and Martinsburg Lodge, B. P. O. E. 

communicant of Saint James Episcopal Church of 

.oduiont. Mr. Drane is unmarried. During the late war 

\ rendered service to the drafted men in filling out their 

■ cgtinnnaires, and encouraged the purchase of Liberty 

V making Four Minute talks all over the county. 

>.■ draft he was classified as "A-1," and was ex- 

, :o be called when the armistice was signed. As a 

wytr Mr. Drane is able, skilled and resourceful, and his 

recess is unqualified. As a public official he has demon- 

rated his ability to handle in a capable manner the vari- 

'S problems of civic life, and is one of the most popular 

I those to hold the office of chief executive of the City of 

^edmont. 

Harvey C. Powell, M. D. Included among the medi- 
il men of Monongalia County who have attained rec- 
rnition and professional success within a comparatively 
|ort span of years is Dr. Harvey C. Powell, engaged in 
lactice at Morgantown. He entered his profession with 
I most thorough and comprehensive training, and his sub- 
ijuent experience has included labors both at home and 
I road, for he is a veteran of the World war and saw 
tive service as a member of the Medical Corps on the 
ttlefields of France. 

Doctor Powell was born at Flemington, Taylor County, 
est Virginia, March 16, 1881, a son of James P. and 
iry V. (Allen) Powell, natives, respectively, of Taylor 
d Tyler counties, West Virginia. His paternal grand- 
ther, Elijah Powell, was born near Winchester, Vir- 
aia, and married Sarah Gather, of West Virginia. The 
iwells are of Welsh stock and the family was founded 

this country by the great-grandfather of Doctor Powell, 
native of Wales. The Aliens are of Scotch-Irish stock 
d came to what is now West Virginia, then Virginia, 
3m Pennsylvania, where the original American ancestor 

this branch had settled on his arrival in this country, 
mes F. Powell was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 
04, in which year he retired and moved to Morgantown, 
lere he died in 1911. The mother survives, in her 
.■ty-eighth year. She is a devout Baptist, this denomina- 
in having been always the family faith. 
Vol. 11—10 



The only child of his parcnU, Harvey C. Powell, ipent 
his early days on the homo farm in Tyler County, where 
he atUnded the publrc school. He took one term at Fair- 
mont (West Virginia) Normal School, and finished bi> 
preparatory and premedical work at the University of 
West Virgmia. In 1902 ho was graduated with the deirree 
of Doctor of Medicme from the Haltimorc Medical Col- 
lege, and at that time became house physician at Hnakinn 
Hospital, Wheeling, West Virginia. Later he b.camo u 
sociated with Doctor Rau at the North Wheeling llcnital 
Wheeling, after which he spent a year in the West recuiior- 
ating his health. In the spring of 1905 he commenced 
practice at Morgantown, where he made rapid strides in 
his profession and gained a large and lucrative practice 
His career was interrupted by the outbreak of the World 
war, and, putting aside his personal intcresta, he enlisted 
in the Medical Corps of the United States Army in 1917, 
on August 4 of which year ho was commi.fsioned a flret 
lieutenant. On October 4 he was sent to Kort Uglethort* 
Georgia, to the Medical Ollicers' Training School, and De- 
cember 1,^, 1917, was transferred to Camp MiClellan, An- 
niston, Alabama, and assigned to the One Hundred and 
Fifteenth Regiment of Infantry, Twenty ninth Division. 
Ho left the latter camp June 9, 1918, for overseas, sail- 
ing from Hokoken, New Jersey, June IJ, ami arriving 
at Brest, France, June 28. Doctor Powell was with the 
infantry throughout his service, and took part in the va- 
rious engagements and skirmishes in the Haute Alsace 
sector from July 25 to September 2.3, and the sector north 
of Verdun, in the Argonno Forest, October 18 to October 
29. His command was out of the line, stationed at Robert 
Espgne, France, when the armistice was signed. Doctor 
Powell was commissioned captain Fcbruarv 22. 1919, and 
sailed for home May 11, 1919, from St. Nazairc, France, 
arriving at Newport News, Virginia, May 24. He waa 
mustered out of the service at Camp Meade, Juno 12, 
1919, and returned to Morgantown, resuming his practice, 
in which he has been highly successful. 

Doctor Powell is a member of the Monogalia County 
Medical Society and the West Virginia State Medieal So- 
ciety. As a fraternalist he belongs to Morgantown Union 
Lodge No. 4, A. F. and A. M. ; Morgantown Ch.ipter, 
R. A. M. ; Morgantown Commandery No. IS, K. T. ; West 
Virginia Consistory No. 1, thirty-second degree, B. and 
S. M.; and Osiris Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., of ^Vheeling; 
Morgantown Lodge No. 411, B. P. O. E. ; and Athens 
Lodge No. 36. K P. He also holds membership in the 
Morgantown Kiwanis Club. 

On August 3, 1916. Doctor Powell married Miss Mary 
Ottoff Sigwart, daughter of Otto and Margaret (White) 
Sigwart, of Morgantown. Mrs. Powell was born at Cum- 
berland, Maryland. 

Robert Wood Dailey, Jr., M. D., representing a promi- 
nent family of Hampshire County, is a son of the venerable 
jurist Robert Wood Dailey, who has spent a third of a cen- 
tury on the Circuit bench. The life of his father and other 
members of the family is reviewed at length on other 
pages. 

Robert Wood Dailey, Jr., was born at Romney, October 
12, 1883, and was educated in the Old Potomac Academy, 
whose building is now part of the group of buildings for 
the West Virginia Deaf and Blind School. After leaving 
school Doctor Dailey became an employe of the Davis Coal 
and Coke Comjiany in their mines at Thomas, West Vir- 
ginia, remaining there four years. For a similar period he 
was connected with the Consolidation Coal Company at 
Myersdale, Pennsylvania. He then returned to West Vir- 
ginia and was employed on the construction of the Balti- 
more and Ohio branch through Romney to Petersburg, con- 
tinuing until this portion of the road was finished. 

About that time he determined to follow a professional 
career, and entered the medical department of Loyola Uni- 
versity at Chicago in 1911. He graduated M. D. in 1916, 
and during his senior year was president of the local chap- 
ter of the Phi Delta fraternity. After graduating he was a 
physician for a year in St John 'a Hospital at Fargo, North 
Da'kota, and then returned to Bomney and for a time was 



82 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



medical examiner for the Draft Board and for eight months 
was on duty in State Hospital No. 2 at McKendree. With 
this extensive preparation he returned to Romney and has 
since been engaged in general practice and is also physician 
to the State Seliool for the Deaf and Blind. 

Doctor Dailey served as a member of the Romney Coun- 
cil, is a democratic voter and a Master Mason. 

George W. Arnold has been a citizen of Romney who 
could be depended upon for effective co-operation in every 
' movement for the real welfare and advancement of the 
town and county. He is a banker, cashier of the Bank of 
Romney, has been identified with the public service, though 
he is not a politician, and for a number of years has been 
perhaps one of the strongest individual influences and 
workers in behalf of Sunday School and religious activity 
in Hampshire County. 

He represents a family that has been in Hampshire 
County for several generations. In the early generation the 
Arnolds were members of the Primitive Baptist Church. 
His great-grandfather, William Arnold, was a minister of 
that faith and assisted in organizing and maintaining 
church work in that denomination all over Hampshire 
County. The grandfather of the Romney banker was 
George Arnold, a native of Virginia, who spent his active 
life on the farm. George B. Arnold, father of George W., 
was born in the same locality and on the same farm as his 
son, and when about twenty-five years of age he became a 
miller, operating the Ely Mill near Higginsville on Little 
Capon, and remained there until his death in 1890, at the 
early age of forty-three. He was a son of George and 
Sarah Powell Arnold. Sarah Powell Arnold lived past the 
age of four score and was the mother of Joshua, James, 
George Benjamin, William, Millard, Elizabeth, who mar- 
ried John B. Powell, and Jane, who became Mrs. W. J. 
Shanholtzer. 

George Benjamin Arnold married Margaret B. Shelly, 
daughter of David and Jemimah (Bolton) Shelly. The 
Shelly family is of German ancestry and was established in 
the United States by the great-grandfather of George W. 
Arnold. Mrs. Margaret Shelly Arnold died in 1884, leaving 
seven children : Millard L. ; George W. ; Minnie J., who 
married J. C. Corder; David J.; Edward C. ; Cora R., wife 
of George Hunter; and Agnes L., wife of Page Saunders. 
The father of these children married for his second wife 
Virginia Corder. 

George W. Arnold was born in Hampshire County, nine 
miles from the county seat, September 13, 1872. He was 
a farm boy on Little Capon until the age of eighteen, ac- 
quiring a country school education. He began teaching, 
subsequently attended the Normal School at Reliance, Vir- 
ginia, then taught two years more in Hampshire County, 
and left the school rooms to take up a business career. 

Mr. Arnold was a clerk in the Farmers Exchange at Rom- 
ney until 1903, when he was promoted to manager. Then, 
in 1906, he was asked to take the cashiership of the newly 
organized First National Bank of Romney. However, be- 
fore the bank opened for business arrangements were made 
to consolidate it with the older bank of Romney, and Mr. 
Arnold thus became assistant cashier of the Bank of Rom- 
ney, and at the beginning of 1907 was elected cashier, an 
office he has now filled for fifteen years. 

The Bank of Romney was established in August, 1888, its 
promoters being community leaders including John T. 
Vance, and the prominent lavsyers and jurists. Judge Dailey 
and H. B. Gilkeson. The original capital was $25,000, in- 
creased to $50,000 at the time of the consolidation, and in 
1913 increased to $75,000. This bank has been a dividend 
payer from the time of its organization, ten per cent annu- 
ally with one exception through all these years, in addition 
to some special dividends. The officers of the bank are: 
Former Governor John J. Cornwell, president; Charles W. 
Haines, vice president; George W. Arnold, cashier; Blair 
M. Haines, assistant cashier; while the directors include 
the president, vice president and cashier and Thomas G. 
Long, D. A. Daugherty, T. F. Henderson, B. T. Racey, 
W. L. Tharp, R. S. Kuykendall, Jo S. Pancake, C. E. Beiley, 
A. L. Ewers and George S. Arnold. 



Mr. Arnold's public service was on the City Council 
Romney during the paving era. At the time of the Worli 
war he was chairman of the bond drives in the county, an> 
also treasurer of the county chapter of the Red Cross an 
enlisted his active interests in all patriotic causes. He wa 
one of the original incorporators and a director and treas 
urer of the Romney Improvement Company, which had fo 
its purpose the construction of a sewerage system for th 
town. Mr. Arnold is a charter member and a past nobl 
grand of Romney Lodge of the Independent Order of Od 
Fellows. He is a member of the Missionary Baptist Churcl 
and was affiliated with other churches until his own denom 
nation built its house of worship. In the religious fielt 
however, most of his time and energy have been taken u 
with promoting Sunday Schools in the rural communitie 
around Romney. He was associated with other Sunda 
School workers in plans for more efficient co-operation an 
intensive campaign for taking the Bible to the countr 
youth. For several years it was Mr, Arnold 's practice t 
make Sunday trips to some school house or church in th 
country and conduct a class and otherwise assist in carrj 
ing on an enthusiastic Sunday School organization. Hi 
general interest in all plans for community bettermeu 
caused him to join with William N. Baird, Dr. F. J. Brool 
John J. Cornwell and J. Sloan Kuykendall as the first guai 
antors of a Chautauqua course of Romney, and for nin 
years he has been financially and otherwise interested in thi 
annual event that is now on a college basis of financial suj 
port. 

On April 6, 1892, Mr. Arnold married in Taylor Count' 
West Virginia, Miss Mary Walker Beery, daughter of Bei 
jamin and Malinda (Moore) Beery. She was born in Gral 
ton, was educated in the public schools there, and is th 
youngest in a family of five daughters and one son: Mri 
Sarah E. Leith, of Grafton; Mrs. Margaret Byers, of tha 
city; Mrs. Anna Best, of Los Angeles; Miss Etta Beery, o 
Grafton; and William Beery. 

Mr. and Mrs. Arnold have two daughters and one soi 
Their daughter Margaret Catherine is the wife of Leste 
N. Inskeep, of Washington, D. C, and they have two chi 
dren, Lester Arnold and William Carter. Helen Lois is 
student in Bethany College, of Bethany, West Virginia, an 
the son, Eugene Russell, is a junior in the Romney Hig 
School. 

J. Bdkr Saville, sheriff of Hampshire County, was bor 
and reared in this locality, and though a young man ha 
built up a large and loyal following who ardently supporte 
him when a candidate for sheriff. Mr. Saville is a mei 
chant and has been a factor in the business affairs of th 
county for over ten years. 

He was born in Sherman District, March 21, 1891. Hi 
grandfather, James H. Saville, is also a native of Hamj 
shire County in Gore District, followed farming, was 
Federal soldier in the Civil war, always voted the demc 
cratic ticket and was a leader in the Methodist Churcl 
James H. Saville, who died at the age of eighty-two year; 
married Miss Caroline Yost, who died about six months afte 
her husband, when about seventy-eight years of age. The . 
were the parents of six children: John Letcher; Bell 
Powell, widow of Dade Powell; Jennie, who married Moi 
decai Cheshire; Imboden Saville, of Sherman District; an 
Amanda, wife of Charles Van Pelt, of Piedmont. 

John Letcher Saville, who was born in Hampshire Count 
in 1864, has for many years been one of the leading farmei 
and stockmen of the Augusta section of the county. H 
had a public school education, was reared on his father 
farm, and for a number of years has been a feeder of liv 
stock and a shipper to the Baltimore markets. He is 
democrat, has served as a member of the Board of Educi 
tion of his district and is a member of the Methodis 
Church. John L. Saville married Rosa MUler, daughter c 
George W. and Jane (Haines) Miller. Her father was bor 
in Hardy County, West Virginia, a farmer, and was also 
Union soldier in the Civil war. The children of John I 
Saville and wife are: G. Floyd, a farmer of Sherman Dii 
trict; J. Burr; and Guy E., who joined the Three Hundre 
and Twelfth Field Artillery, and saw active service wit 



i 




%-^^ 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



S3 



his organization on the fighting front in France, and since 
is return home has been in business as a merchant at 
'iedmout. 

J. Burr Sarille attended school in the Sherman and Gore 
icalitieii of Uamjjshire County, also busied himself with 
36 »ork of the farm and assisted his father in the stock 
usiuess. After reaching majority he engaged in business 
s a merchant at Vauderlip, aud the hrm of J. B. Saville 
nd Company, in which his brother Guy is a partner, is a 
ery popular one in that locality and handles a large vol- 
me of business annually. 

Mr. Saville was urged by his many friends to get into 
le race for sheriff in the summer of 1920. Ue was nomi- 
ated against two competitors, and in November defeated 
is republican opponent and succeeded Sheriff James L. 
ugh. Since taking up his duties it has devolved upon him 
) arrest a man who was subsequently convicted for mur- 
er, but aside from this incident the principal work of his 
dministration has been chasing moonshiners and enforc- 
ig the prohibition laws. Mr. Saville is a member of the 
lasonic Order. 

At C\imberland, Marylandj in November, 1914, he mar- 
ed Miss Mary E. Friend, daughter of John B. and Har- 
et Friend, of Garrett County, Maryland, where Mrs. 
aville was born in August, 1S94. Her family is descended 
:om an old one in Philadelphia, and were originally Quak- 
.■s. The children of John B. Friend and wife are: Fred, 
•'alter, John, Gilbert, Bessie (wife of William Warniek), 
[rs. Saville and Robert. Mr. and Mrs. Saville have two 
lildren, Jules Byron and Vernon. 

James W. Shull, M. T>. Few citizens of Hampshire 
ounty have made their individual activities and inlluences 
)uch and benefit a broader range of interest than Doctor 
hull of Romney. He has been a practitioner of medicine 
1 the county for nearly fifty years, has expressed his in- 
;rest in public affairs in various ways, and has also been 
leader in the business life of the county. 
Doctor Shull was born at Marlboro Post Office on Cedar 
reek in Frederick County, Virginia, September 25, 1847. 
he battle of Cedar Creek raged over the scene of his birth 
!venteen years later. His father, Daniel Shull, was also a 
ative of Frederick County, born within a half mile of the 
irthplace of his son. He was a militia captain before the 
ar, and entered the Confederate army as captain of a 
jmpany w hile Jackson 's army was campaigning around 
omney in January, 1862. He died in 1868, at the age of 
fty-six years, from ailments brought on by exposure during 
is war service. He lies buried at Walnut Springs, four 
dies north of Strasburg. Daniel Shull married Mary J. 
rown, daughter of James C. and Sarah (Sherman) Brown, 
he died at the age of sixty-four, in 1884, and of their five 
lildren three came to mature years: Josephine, who died 
i the wife of Lemuel Emswiler; Doctor ShuU; and Annie, 
ife of Theodore Courtney, of Puyallup, Washington. 
James W. Shull was reared on the family farm near 
trasburg, and acquired a primary education in the county 
•hools and in the Strasburg Academy. Until past his 
lajority he was a farmer, and, deciding upon medicine as 
career, he read the subject four years with Dr. I. H. 
aldwin, of Marlboro. Doctor Baldwin was a nephew of 
resident James Madison, and a school book belonging to 
resident Madison is now one of the prized possessions of 
octor Shull. From his private study he entered the Uni- 
?rsity of Maryland at Baltimore, and on completing the 
)urse there began practice near the town of Strasburg. 
A short time later he came to West Virginia, and in 
pril, 1874, located in Hampshire County and began prac- 
ce near Rio at Smith 's Gap on North River. After four 
ears, in 1878, he moved to Pleasant Dale, where he con- 
nued his work as a physician for twenty three years, and 
1 May 17, 1901, established his home and office at Romney, 
nd is still active in his profession. For the past twenty 
?ars he has been county health officor, and has performed 
long and able service as a practitioner of medi<ine and 
■cal surgery. He is a member and former jTesidcnt of the 
rant-Hampshire-Hardy-Mineral County Medical Society 
id is a member of the West Virginia State Medical Asao- 
ation. 



Doctor ShuU 's interest in polities bu b«co arouicd Urgely 
from his desire to find opportunity to make hin lulluvacc 
count in the betteruieut iu Bocial and economic coudilioun. 
He was a member of the People » party during Uic liielimv 
of that organization, since then has been a democrat, and 
iu former years attended a number of party coavvuiiuua. 
Ue was twice a candidate for county iiui«;riul«ndcut of 
schools, being defeated by lifty votes in each election. Dur- 
ing the World war he was cliairuian aud examiner of the 
Local Draft Board, and examined more than twelve hundred 
men, more than four hundred of whom went into tiie serv- 
ice. Ue found them a particularly cleuu aud I'rominiug 
body of our junior citizenship. Doctor Shull is a member 
of the Church of Christ aud la affiliated with the Masonic 
Lodge. 

In the line of business his most active connection has 
been with that important institution of Romney kuo»n as 
the Farmers Exchange. Ue was one of its organizers as an 
instrument for carrying out the economic policy of the old 
Farmers Alliance, and he canvassed the county to pruuiute 
an interest in the establishment of tlie store at Kumuey. 
He has been secretary and one of the directors of the busi- 
ness since it was founded in Deceml>er, 11)^2. Ue is also 
financially interested in aud is secretary of the Farmers 
Electric Company of Itomney, which until recently was the 
electric department of the Farmers Exchange. 

Doctor Shull 's first wife was Florence V. Daniels, only 
child of Alpheus and Eliza (Wilson) Daniels. Uhe died 
without issue. In Hampshire County Doctor Shull married 
for his second wife Miss Etta V. Wolford, daughter of 
Richard and Phoebe (McGuire) Wolford. She died in 1»S7, 
mother of the following children: Florence, wife of Frank 
Baker, of Fremont, Ohio; Claude Lereux, who died while a 
law student in the University of West Virginia, witliiu four 
months of graduation; Jenner, a wood worker living at 
Detroit, Michigan; McGuire, who served a number oi years 
in the United States Cavalry of the Regular Army, was at 
the Presidio at San Francisco early in the World war and 
is now in the aviation service, in IssU, at I'aw I'aw in 
Morgan County, West Virginia, Doctor Shull marri.d Miss 
Margaret Hyett, daughter of Waller and Margaret (Lar 
gent) Hyett. The children of this union are: Mrs. lone 
Cookus, of Winchester, Virginia; Guiueth, wife of the evan- 
gelist Hiram Van Voorhis, of Bowling Green, Ohio; Worth, 
wife of Rev. Earl Biddle, of Cincinnati, Oliio; James, now 
living at Romney, and a member of the Naval Reserve, was 
on the battleship South Carolina and made four Uips 
across the Atlantic during the World war; and Enid O., 
who is a graduate of the Romney High School. 

John Bassel was admitted to the bar while the Civil 
war was still in progress. With the lapse of years his 
abilities gave him rank as one of the able lawyers of West 
Virginia, and bis career closed in honor and rijie achieve- 
ment more than half a century later at Clarkslmrg, the 
city with which practically hia entire life wag identilied. 

He was born in Harrison County June », 1»4U, and 
was in his seventy-fifth year when he died at Clarksburg, 
December 28, 1914. Ue was a son of Benjamin and 
Lucinda Bassel. AfUr the common schooU he spent two 
years in Moore's Academy at Morgantown, subsequently 
was an honor graduate from Washington and Jeffersoo 
College at Washington, Pennsylvania, and began the study 
of law in the oHice of John J. Davis. After one year of 
private study he entered the Cincinnati College of Law, 
of which he was a graduate. Mr. Bassel was admitted 
to practice in the courts of Harrison County, January », 
1864. He looked upon the law as a great profession 
worth v of his utmost devotion, and never regar.led it 
merely as an occupation. Ue handled a general practice, 
though he also handled some special legal husmess and 
for many years was counsel for the Baltimore » Ohio 
Railroad Company. ... . „• . » 

His character as a lawyer is described in the History of 
the Bench and Bar of West Virginia, from which the 
following sentences are taken: "Ue was noted for hu 
diligence, mental acuteness, and power of analysis; hence 
it waa not long until he received recognition as an at- 
torney and hifl success waa therefore early aasured. He 



84 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



ranked among the able lawyers of his day, always con- 
ducting his eases with admirable effectiveness and supe- 
rior judgment. He had a comprehensive and accurate 
knowledge of the law, and never failed to exalt his pro- 
fession, in which it was his ambition to excel, and lamented 
the tendency in later years to lower its ideals. He never 
failed to keep in mind the advice of Lord Coke, that ' he 
that knoweth not the reason of the law knoweth not the 
law. ' At the trial of causes he was alert, adroit and un- 
tiring. In the argument of eases he reasoned well and 
convincingly. He was a dangerous opponent in debate, 
but was never spectacular nor offensive. He possessed 
a remarkably retentive memory and could cite cases with 
marvelous precision. He was always a student and re- 
membered what he read, and his mind was accordingly 
stored and enriched not only by a knowledge of the law 
itself, but by the history of events culled from the classics 
and from profane and sacred writers as well, which he 
often used with telling effect in his arguments before courts 
and juries. ' ' 

Mr. Bassel gave little time or thought to politics, though 
he was a democrat. The only office to which he was ever 
elected by the people was as a delegate to the state con- 
vention that prepared the constitution of 1872. His thor- 
ough knowledge of the law made him a valued adviser in 
that body, and the document bears the impress of his judg- 
ment. He was elected president of the State Bar Asso- 
ciation in 1901, and for many years was a faithful at- 
tendant upon the annual meetings of the organization. 
The association was in session at Parkersburg the day of 
his death, and as a mark of respect twenty of its mem- 
bers were appointed to attend his funeral. 

Mr. Bassel was a member of the Presbyterian Cliurch. 
He was domestic in his traits and habits, and enjoyed 
the associations of an extensive friendship over the state. 
His first wife was Miss Martha Lewis, and by this union 
he was the father of six children. Mr. Bassel is survived 
by his second wife, who was formerly Miss Alice Bean. 
She continues to live at Clarksburg. 

John D. Blue is one of the oldest men in the service of 
the Farmers Exchange of Bomney, a business institution 
with a very interesting history. 

The Farmers Exchange at Eomney was founded in 1S92, 
and the leading spirits in its organization were Dr. J. W. 
Shull and J. W. Thompson, both of nhom have been on its 
Board of Directors from the beginning, and Mr. Thompson 
is now its president and Doctor Shnll its secretary. Asso- 
ciated with them was the late George H. Johnson. The 
present Board of Directors comprise E. H. Blue, E. J. Fox. 
G. R. Hamilton, A. L. Ewers, the executive officers including 
Mr. John D. Blue. The business of the Farmers Exchange 
is merchandising, milling and the manufacture of ice. 
Prior to 1922 tlie Exchange also generated the electricity 
for Eomney, but at the beginning of that year a new com- 
pany was formed to take over that end of the business, 
called the Farmers Electric Company, of which J. S. 'Hare 
is manager and electrician. 

The Farmers Exchange in its origin is reminiscent of the 
old semi-political organization known as the Farmers Alli- 
ance. It was one of a number of similar enterprises estab- 
lished under such auspices in Hampshire County, is the 
only one to survive and assume a permanent form and enjoy 
continued prosperity. The original investment in the enter- 
prise was about $2 000.00, and the business was exclusively 
merchandise. In order to raise the original capital for the 
opening of the store about one hundred men signed the note 
as security for the money. This successful business has 
had three managers, the first being C. W. Haines, the sec- 
ond, G. W. Arnold, and the third, John D. Blue, who has 
served longer than either of his predecessors. The Farmers 
Exchange also has the controlling interest in the stock of 
the Eomney Grocery Company, a local wholesale house. 

John D. Blue was bom near Wappocomo in Eomney 
District of Hampshire County, December .30, 1877, and has 
lived within a few miles of his birthplace all his life. His 
grandfather was Garrett I. Blue, who was born and spent 
his active life as a farmer in Hampshire County, and died 
about the close of the Civil war. He married Miss Long, 



and among their children were Susan, Sallie, Ursula, Jo 
and Marcellus. 

John Blue, father of the Eomney merchant, was a. 
born in Hampshii-e County, acquired his education in t 
country, and after some years as a farmer he became 
county official twelve years before his death, being elect 
county assessor, and he was in that office when he died 
1903, at the age of about seventy. The first year of t 
Civil war he joined the Confederate Army as a member ' 
the Eleventh Virginia Cavalry, and was in some of the : 
verest battles of the war. Several times he was captur 
by the Federals, and finally was sent to the Federal pris 
on Johnson's Island in Lake Erie, and for a time was 
Fort Delaware, being held until the close of the war. 
later years he was much interested in the proceedings 
the Confederate veterans, attended a number of reuiiio 
and was an ardent democrat, working for the interest of I 
party and its candidates. 

John Blue married Miss Ann Eliza Fox, whose father wi 
Voss Fox and her mother, a Miss Harness. She died i 
1899, at the age of sixty-eight. Their children consisted : 
Miss Sallie V.; Edwin H., present county assessor of Han- 
shire County; William F., who was accidentally killed wh- 
logging in the woods; George C. was with a coal company 
Fairmont when he died in 1901; Rebecca, now Mrs. Geor ! 
H. Johnson, Jr., of Hampshire County ; John David ; a 
Mary Elizabeth, wife of Martin T. Hooper, who lives 
Sacramento, California, and is a mechanical engineer. 

John D. Blue spent the first eighteen years of his 1 
on the farm, and while there attended country schools, 
left the farm to become delivery boy and clerk in the Far 
ers Exchange Store at Eomney, and in that service he 1 
continued steadily through all the years and has been 
sponsible in no small degree for the prosperity of the in- 
tution. He has been manager of the Exchange since 19' 
Mr. Blue is also a stockholder in the Bank of Eomney, 1 
served on the Eomney Council, is a democrat in politics, 
affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 1 
Masons and the Modern Woodmen of America, and is 
Presbyterian. He assisted promoting the success of the 
rious drives and campaigns in behalf of the Governnn 
during the World war, and he registered under the 1: 
draft law. 

In Mineral County, September 24, 1902, he married Mi 
Mary D. Rinehart, a daughter of John W. and Helen (Hov 
son) Rinehart. She was born on Patterson Street in M- 
eral County, was reared on a farm and supplemented 1- 
country school advantages in the Shepherd College Norm 
and was a teacher before her marriage. She is the olil 
of six children, the others being Elijah, Mrs. Helen Hei 
ott, Mrs. Ann Kuykendall, deceased, John Rinehart, a ri 
dent of Alberta, Canada, and Miss Minnie, who lives at ■ 
old homestead in Mineral County. The three children : 
Mr. and Mrs. Blue are: Helen, a graduate of the Rorar 
High School and now a teacher in Hampshire County; Jc i 
R., a high school student; and Cathleen. 

Hon. Robert W. Dailet. In length of continuous sc 
ice Judge Dailey is one of the oldest Circuit Court jiid:- 
in the state. For thirty years he has presided over 
courts of the Twenty-second Circuit, comprising Ham]L^li 
Hardy and Pendleton counties, a record which has throu 
out been adorned by his sound abilities as a lawyer, 
impartiality as a judge and the integrity of his peise 
character. 

Judge Dailey, whose home is at Eomney, was born i 
Hampshire County, April 18, 1849. His paternal gra 
father, James Dailey, came to Virginia from Pennsylva i j 
when a young man and achieved a creditable position an 
farmer, banker and man of affairs. He died about 18:, | 
when about fifty years of age. His first wife, and mot r : 
of a large family of children, was a daughter of Colo 1 I 
Andrew W. Woodrow, who had served as clerk of the cot , 
at Romney. The second wife of James Dailey was Cc-i 
fort Wood, whose grandfather. Colonel James Wood, is 
the founder of Winchester, Virginia, naming the place a 
honor of his native city in England. The children of Cc 
fort Wood Dailey were: Dr. Robert Wood; Jean W., t» 
became the wife of Charles Lobb; Harriet, who died • 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



85 



;»iiarricd ; Thomas, who was a physician, practiced at Clarks- 
burg, and at the beginning of the Civil war joined the Con- 
federate Army, but ill health would not permit him to serve 
ind he died at Winchester, Virginia. 

Dr. Robert Wood Dailey, father of Judge Dailcy, was 
tiom at fioninoy. but spent his early life at Winchester, Vir- 
juia, and read medicine with a celebrated physician of 
Jiat city. Doctor McGuire. He also attended medical lec- 
tures in the University of Pennsylvania, graduating there, 
ind for sixty years he carried on an eitinsive private prac- 
tice, beginning at Komney and finally returning to that 
sity, where he was a dignified and very respected member 
)f the profession. He was opposed to secession, and at the 
t)eginning of the Civil war he lived in Cumberland, Mary- 
land, but when Virginia finally seceded he joined the cau.se 
]f his neighbors and friends and did what he could to aid 
the Confederacy. He served as a surgeon in the army, and 
remained in tiie service until the close of the war, when 
lie returned to Romney as the home and scene of his active 
practice. He died in 1902, at the age of eighty-one. 

Doctor Dailey was devoted to his profession, having lit- 
tle concern with business, was a man of strong convictions 
18 a democrat and while orthodox in religion was not a 
oember of any denomination. He married Rebecca Taylor. 
it Winchester, Virginia, daughter of Benjamin and Eliza 
(Howland) Taylor, whose family consisted of five sons and 
:wo daughters. Mrs. Rebecca Dailey died at the age of 
leventy-one. Her children were: Benjamin, who was a 
iracticiog lawyer at Moorefield, where he died; James, a 
!(Uiunercial salesman and later a merchant at Romney; 
fudge Robert Wood; Comfort Wood, who became a lawyer 
uid practiced at Kcyser and Elkins, and was serving as 
Sfeneral counsel for the Western Maryland Railroad in be- 
lalf of the Davis and Elkins interests when he died; Griffin 
Taylor, who was a physician in Romney where he died : How- 
■Bd, who became an Arkansas farmer; Sarah Cornelia, 
|Bb died at Romney. the wife of William N. Baird ; and 
^U8 Jean Dailey, of Romney. 

I Judge Robert W. Dailey until after the close of the Civil 
prar lived with his parent.* and attended school for vary- 
•ne lengths of time in Cumberland, Maryland, then at Win- 
-. Virginia, and was educated in private schools at 
rland and Winchester, and at the age of nineteen be- 
:.'• study of law in the office of White and Jacob at 
Konairy. He was admitted to the bar from their office in 
August. 1870, after passing an oral examination before 
■Judge .Toseph A. Chapline and a committee comprising An- 
.irew W. Kercheval and Gen. Joseph Spriggs. Judge Hoke, 
iater at Moorefield with Judge Chapline, signed his license. 
. Judge Dailey began practice in association with James 
;D. Armstrong, afterwards judge of the Twenty-second Cir- 
cuit, and the firm continued until Mr. .Armstrong went on 
the bench. Following that Judge Dailey was associated 
•with his brother. Wood Dailey. in the firm of Daihy & 
Dailey. His brother moved to Elkins about the time Robert 
Dailey was chosen to the bench. Judge Dailey for twenty- 
:wo years carried on a general practice before the courts of 
Hampshire, Mineral, Hardy and Grant counties, and for a 
similar length of time served as prosecuting attorney, hold- 
ing that position until he went on the bench. 
^ When Judge Armstrong resigned as circuit judge Gover- 
nor Fleming appointed Robert W. Dailey as his successor 
intil the next general election, and Judge Dailey was then 
•elected and has never been opposed in succeeding elections. 
■\t the expiration of his present term he will have served 
hirty-seven years. He is an elder in the Presbyterian 
^ureh, frequently attending Presbyteries, occasionally the 
Synod, and three times was a delegate to the General As- 
iembly, those at Birmingham, Alabama, Greenville, South 
?arolina, and Bristol, Tennessee. 

In Prince Edward County, Virginia, in February, 1874. 
'Judge Dailey married Miss Louisa Booker, whom he had 
met at Romney some time before. She was born in Char- 
■otte County, Virginia, daughter of John and Lucilla (EUi- 
itt) Booker, being one of a large family of children. Her 
father was a native of Virginia and a merchant. Judge 
:Dailey'3 children were properly educated and trained and 
'iiave become well established in their respective spheres. 



Hia son, John B., is general manager of store* of a coal 

company in Huntington, West Virginia. N.:... i- ti... ^jf, 
of William L. Walker, of Spartanburg, - .„». 

William T. lives at Morgantunn. Miss R. i i| 

a resident of Romney. Robert W. is a ph , ..,...«.nt- 

ing the fifth generation of the family in thai pruiemion and 
13 practicing at Romney. Lucilla ia the wife of Dr. Jamea 
K. Guthrie, of New Hampton, Iowa. 

Oliver Mortimer Rizer is one of the popular and rcprc 
sentative citizens of his native city of Piedmont, Mineral 
County, his birth having here occurred November 10, 18.'.9. 
He is a son of George W. and Mary Jane (Jarbo») Hizcr. 
the latter a native of Petersburg, Virginia, and a daughter 
of Washington Jarboe, who was born and reared in France. 

George W. Rizer was born in Allegany County, .Marylandj 
in 1829, and became one of the pioneer telegraph oiieraton 
in the service of the Baltimore & Ohio liailroad. He mu 
stationed at Cumberland, Maryland, during the period of 
the Civil war, and at one time was forced to leave big post 
and take his telegraph instruments into hiding from en- 
croachment by Confederate forces. Through expo.sure which 
he endured in one of tliese flights from his office he con- 
tracted a severe cold, as a sequel of which his death occurred 
in November, 1S64. His marriage occurred in IS.OS, at 
Piedmont, the father of his wife having been proprietor 
of the old Sims Hotel. Mrs. Rizer was born in ls.'i2, and 
long survived her husband, her death having occurred in 
1918. Frank, eldest of the children, died in 1894, at 
Wheeling; Oliver Mortimer, of this sketch, was next in 
order of birth ; and Ella Elsworth is the widow of Ix'wis C. 
Nolte, of Wheeling. 

Luther Bizer, grandfather of the subject of this review, 
was born and reared in Germany, was a skilled mechanic, 
and after coming to America established his home at Cris- 
suptown, Allegany County, Maryland, where he jiasged the 
remainder of his life. His children were six in number: 
Charles, Luther, Jacob, George W., Rosa (Mrs. Robert 
Courts), and Lizzie (Mrs. Joseph McClendon). The son 
Charles was a Union soldier in the Civil war, was captured 
and confined in Andersonville Prison, and his death occurred 
soon after his return home. 

Oliver M. Rizer was but seven years old when be became 
a messenger for the telegraph office at Cumberland, Mary- 
land, and in that city he attended the public schools for 
a time. He learned telegraphy, but never followed the 
trade. He found employment in a rolling mill at Cumber- 
land, and later returned to Piedmont, his native place, where 
he learned the trade of boilermaker in the shops of the 
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. He suffered the loss of his 
right eye shortly before completing bis apprenticeship, and 
he thus abandoned this trade also. For seven years there- 
after he was engaged in mercantile business in thi.s city, 
and thereafter he was a traveling commercial salesman for 
F. W. Damast & Company of Baltimore until 1918. Ill 
health then led to his retirement, but a few months later 
he became a traveling representative for J. J. Lansburgh ft 
Company, dealers in all kinds of sea foods, fruits and vege- 
tables, with which he is still connected, with assigned terri- 
tory along the lines of the Baltimore & Ohio, the Chesafieake 
& Ohio, and the Western Maryland Railroads in West Vir- 
ginia and Maryland. He is financially interested in the 
Rizer Electric Company of Piedmont, of which bis son 
Charles H. is manager, and is a stockholder in the First 
National Bank of Piedmont. He is a republican, and is a 
member of the local lodge and al.so the uniformed rank 
body of the Knights of Pythias, both he and his wife being 
affiliated with the Pythian Sisters. 

September 25, 1883, recorded, at Piedmont, the marriage 
of Mr. Rizer and Miss Theresa W. Both, who was bom at 
Weston, this state, February 29, 18C4, and who was reared 
and educated at Piedmont. She is a daughter of the late 
James Charles Huth, who was bom and reared in Saxony, 
Germany, where hb birth occurred April 2. 18.1.3, and where 
he learned the baker's trade. In 1851 he came to the United 
States and found employment at his trade in Wheeling, Vir- 
ginia (now West Virginia). In 1869 be established a 
bakery at Piedmont, and he successfully continaed the enter- 



86 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



prise until his retirement in 1901, his death having occurred 
in November, 1920. He was a stanch republican, served as 
justice of the peace and as a member of the city council, 
and his religious faith was that of the Lutheran Church. 
His wife, whose maiden name was Rose Monahan, was born 
in County Mayo, Ireland. Her parents came to America and 
settled in New Orleans, where her mother died of cholera. 
Thereafter she came with her father to Wheeling, where her 
marriage was solemnized. She died in February, 1890, when 
about sixty years of age. Of her children five are living at 
the time of this writing, in 1922. In conclusion is entered 
brief record concerning the children of Mr. and Mrs. Kizer: 
Harry F., who is engaged in the plumbing business at Pied- 
mont, married Elsie Tomlinson, and they have five children, 
Oliver M., Jr., Addie, Theresa, Ruth and Gardner. Gardner, 
the second son, died in 1901, at the age of twelve years. 
Mary Louise is the wife of Albert B. Clark, of Thorold, 
Canada, and they have four children, Robert, Sue, Dorothy 
and Margaret. Franls G., who was a soldier in the World 
war, is now in the employment of the Government as an 
auditor at Baltimore, Maryland. Charles H., who was a 
member of the Motor Transport Corps of the Seventy-ninth 
Division, American Expeditionary Forces, was in active 
service in France one year at the time of the World war, 
and received his discharge July 25, 1919. He is now the 
executive head of the Rizer Electric Company at Piedmont, 
as previously noted. He married Mary Margaret Johnson, 
and they have one child, Christine Louise. Elsie is in the 
service of the United States at Washington, D. C. 

James Foesyth Harrison, now serving as magistrate of 
Piedmont, and a veteran of the war of the '60s, is one of 
the highly respected men of Mineral County, and one who 
has taken an important part in its history for many years. 
He was born at Cumberland, Maryland, January 26, 184S, 
a son of George Harrison, who was born at Bath, Somerset- 
shire, England, August 10, 1808, a son of George Harrison. 
One of the uncles of James Forsyth Harrison, Charles J. 
Harrison, was engaged in the wholesale drug business at 
London, and so prospered that he extended his trade over 
a wide area and conducted branches at Bombay and Cal- 
cutta, India, and Melbourne, Australia, and when he died 
was a man of distinction in the commercial world. 

George Harrison, father of James Forsyth Harrison, was 
a highly intellectual man, educated at Rugby, Eaton and 
Oxford, and was graduated from the university with honors. 
He was commissioned a barrister, but instead of entering 
upon the practice of the law came to the United States in 
search of good health, and not only secured it but became 
one of the notable men of his adopted country. 

Landing at New York City, George Harrison left the 
vessel. Lord Ashburton, on which he had made the trip, 
traveled first to Baltimore, Maryland, and from thence 
went west over the old road to Wheeling, West Virginia, 
it being his intention to become an Indian trader on the 
frontier. However, at Wheeling he met a lady who so 
attracted him that he changed his plans, settled at Wheel- 
ing, in order to woo her, and established himself in business 
as a dealer in books. He continued to live at Wheeling 
after his marriage until 1846, when he moved to Cumber- 
land, Maryland, and in that city opened up connections as 
a forwarding and commission merchant, under "the name of 
Calhoun & Harrison, remaining there until 1852, when he 
returned to Wheeling, continuing therS until about the 
middle of the war period, when he came back to Cumber- 
land, and this city continued to be his home for the 
remainder of his life. He was a delegate to the convention 
from Ohio County, which formed the convention that divided 
the Old Dominion, creating the new state of West Virginia. 
As mayor of Cumberland he did much for the city, but he 
was equally zealous in its behalf in a private capacity. 
Following the close of the war he engaged in the wholesale 
flour and feed business in partnership with his son, and was 
so engaged when he died, November 10, 1870. 

During the war George Harrison held a civilian appoint- 
ment in the Quartermaster's Department of the Union army 
in this region, and was not only personally acquainted with 
many of the leaders in West Virginia, but with President 



Lincoln himself. UntU the outbreak of the war he was 
democrat, but in 1860 cast his vote for Abraham Lincoln f 
the presidency, and thereafter gave the republican par 
his hearty and effective support. From the time he came 
this country he was a strong Union man, and thorough 
believed in the abolition of slavery. While he was an acti 
participant in public affairs, he possessed none of t 
qualifications of an orator, but he could deliver himse! 
from manuscript convincingly and to the point. He w 
a Knight Templar Mason. In England he belonged to t 
Established Church, and after he came to this country 1 
became a communicant of the Episcopal Church, its prot 
type in America. 

On_ December 27, 1833, George Harrison married 
Wheeling, West Virginia, Miss Clerimond Smith Wood 
a daughter of Simeon Woodrow, and through her mother 
belonged to the Adamson family. Mrs. Harrison was Iju 
at Morgantown, West Virginia, in the eleventh house 
that city, which her father erected. He was born in Cla 
County, Virginia, but his father was born on the Woodrr 
farm near Chester, Pennsylvania, where the battle of t 
Braudywine was fought. This grandfather of Mrs. Harrisi 
was also named Simeon Woodrow, and he served from I'eii 

sylvania in the American Revolution. The younger Si 

Woodrow took a company of soldiers from Morgan! -> 
to fight in the second war with England. By professiuu 
was a civil engineer, and built the first furnace in t 
Alleghany Mountains between Morgantown and King«ui 
the ruins of which are still standing. He died at Wheelu] 
West Virginia, at the home of his son, also named Siiiie> 
Woodrow, when he was nearly 100 years of age, prior to t 
outbreak of the war of the '60s. He, too, served in t 
American Revolution with an ofSoial rank. Mrs. Geor 
Harrison, his daughter, died at Piedmont, West Virginia, 
1886, when seventy-five years old. The children born 
George Harrison and his wife were as follows: Virgin 
E., who married Andrew White of the old Northweste 
Bank of Wheeling; Capt. George W., who died at Piedmo 
when nearly seventy-five years old; Victoria Mary Brow 
who married Capt. George W. Jenkins, of Wheeling, aj 
died in that city in 1870; Capt. Charles J., who is preside 
of the Somerset County Trust Company, of Somerset, Pen 
sylvania; James Forsyth, whose name heads this review 
and Samuel Buel, who lives at Piedmont, West Virginia. 

James Forsyth Harrison attended a private school taug 
by a Mrs. Radcliffe of Wheeling until he went into t 
Union army. At the outbreak of the war his father 1 
longed to the Senior Home Guards, was secretary of it, ai 
made a list of its members in 1861, secured their individu 
signatures to the minutes, and left one of the neatt 
records now in existence of this exciting and momento 
period of the country 's history. This historic and valual 
document is now the property of James Forsyth Harrisc 
and the penmanship shows the artistic capabilities of i 
author. It is so perfect that it bears a close resemblance 
copperplate. Living in the midst of such intense loyalty 
the Union it is little wonder that James Forsyth Harris 
should have been fired with the determination to serve in i 
cause in spite of his youth, and this resulted in his enlis 
ment in July, 1862, in the Quartermaster's Departmei 
He participated in the engagement at Williamsport, V: 
ginia, being in command of the little company which m 
the enemy, and all who were not killed or fatally wound' 
were taken prisoners. Mr. Harrison was sent to Libl 
Prison, Richmond, Virginia, and was held there for ni 
months and three days as a hostage for Private Lynn, \ 
Confederate soldier, who subsequently escaped from t 
Union prison at Fort Delaware, where many of the Co 
federate prisoners were kept. Mr. Harrison was final 
released from Libby Prison through the influence of I 
Hunter McGuire, a surgeon on the staff of Gen. Stonew; 
Jackson, who was personally acquainted with George He 
risen. On account of disability Mr. Harrison was honorab 
discharged from the service in May, 1864, and, returni) 
home, entered the Alleghany County Academy at Cumbf 
land, Maryland, under Professor Pryor, and was graduat 
therefrom. He then studied law under Judge George 
Pearre, and was admitted to the bar. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



87 



Entering upon the practice of his profession, Mr. Har- 
rison remained at Maryland until 1881, when he went to 
Arizona as a member of the regular army, and was stationed 
at Williams, Flagstone, Volunteer I'rairie and other jioints, 
and he continued his law practice in these places. Returning 
to the East, after a year's practice at Emporia, Kansas, he 
located at Piedmont, West Virginia, and has continued to 
make this city his place of residence ever .since, and during 
this period has been connected with the practice of law and 
court work. 

Mr. Harrison cast his first ballot as a republican, and has 
continued faithful to that party ever since. He has been 
especially active in convention work, and knows intimately 
all of the leaders of the Second Congressional District. 
During the campaign of Judge Dayton for the nomination 
for Congress from Elkins, West Virginia, Mr. Harrison 
played a very important part. President McKinley ap- 
pointed him I'Ostmastcr of Piedmont, and he continued to 
berve under tlie Roosevelt administration until his successor 
was appointed. 

The marriage of Mr. Harrison took place at Stewart, 
Athens County, Ohio, when lie was united with Miss Meta 
Byron, a daughter of Capt. Charles and Ruth (Stewart; 
Byron. Captain Byron was a veteran of the Union army, 
and an extensive woolen manufacturer. Mrs. Byron was a 
daughter of the man who, with John W. Garrett, built that 
part of the Baltimore <fc Ohio Railroad from the vicinity of 
Athens to Parkersburg. Mr. and Mrs. Harrison became the 
parents of the following children: Lucile, who is the widow 
of Landen Heskitt, who died in 1918 as a victim of the 
influenza epidemic, while serving during the World war; 
and Mildred B., who married George Boyd, superintendent 
of the Blaine Mining Company of Potomac Alanor, West 
Virginia, and has one son, George, Jr. 

Mr. Harrison has resided at Piedmont for practically a 
third of a century, but his connection with this locality 
dates back to the time when as a soldier he was stationed 
at New Creek, now Keyser, and doing his duty as a defender 
of his country 's flag. He has worked steadily and long 
to advance the interests of Piedmont and Mineral County, 
and is proud of the fact that he has been associated with 
so much of its development. As a lawyer he is sagacious, 
resourceful and learned, and as a magistrate, wise and 
purposeful, and his decisions are seldom reversed by the 
higher courts. In every phase of life Mr. Harrison has 
proven his worth as a man and a citizen, and no one in all 
this region stands any higher in public regard and affection 
than he. 

Feank R. Bell. After twenty years in business and with 
twenty years measuring his residence in West Virginia, 
Frank R. Bell stands in the front rank of insurance men in 
this state. An interesting honor to him and to the state 
was paid at the annual convention of the National Associa- 
tion of Fire Insurance Agents at Los Angeles in September, 
1921, when Mr. Bell was elected a member of the executive 
committee of the association. 

Mr. Bell, whose business home is at Charleston, was born 
at Staunton, Augusta County," Virginia, son of Frank B. 
and Cynthia Estelle (Trotter) Bell. He grew up there, 
attending the public schools of Augusta County and the 
Augusta Military Academy. As a young man in 1902 ha 
came to West Virginia. The insurance business of which 
he is now the head was founded at Thurmond, West Vir- 
ginia, in 1907, with Mr. Bell in charge of the oflSce. In 
1911 he removed the business to Charleston, and in the past 
ten years it has enjoyed such growth and expansion that it 
is now rated as one of the largest insurance agencies in the 
state. Quite recently the Bell-Crane Company, as the cor- 
poration is known, has absorbed and taken over the business 
of the Scheer Agency, a prominent insurance organization 
in the Charleston field. Mr. BeU is president of the Bell- 
Crane Company. The company occupies quarters in the 
Kanawha National Bank Building, and has a complete 
organization in various departments, including fire, casualty, 
accident, bonding and surety. The company represents only 
the largest and best companies in the United States. While 
it is a general insurance business, practically eighty-five per 



cent of lU fire insurance scrvico ia with the coal mlnet sod 
mining industries of West Virginia. Thi« it a lervice de- 
manding peculiar technical fucilitics, and for that purjMwe 
the company maintains a stuff of ex|>erts and cnginetTi. 

Mr. Bell, though one of the younger men in Charleaton '» 
commercial affairs, has as.sum.d his idiaro of community 
work, and for several years has Iwcn u prominent member 
of the Chamber of Commerce and is one of ita directors. 
He is a member of the Edgewood Country Club and Cbarlea 
ton Lodge of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Klka 
He married Miss Judith Gassawuy. She reprowiitii an old 
West Virginia family, om- of whose members win the late 
Henry Gassawuy Davis. Mrs. Bell wus born in the City 
of Washington and reared in Brooklyn. Tli.-ir two chil.iren 
are Sallie Lee and Frank R., Jr. 

William Henrt Bowden is a young man in years but 
old in the service of one of the largest industrial corjiora- 
tions in America, the E. I. Dupont dc Nemours i Company 
of Wilmington, Delaware. Faithful work and succewive 
promotions recently brought him to Huntington a< head- 
quarters for his duties as sales manager over an cxtcnaive 
district. 

Mr. Bowden was born at Lonaconing, Marylamt, Octolx-r 
26, 1886. The several generations of the family before him 
were chiefly represented in the coal mining industry. Hix 
grandfather, John Bowden, was a native of England, 
brought his family to the United States in 1869, (wttlcd at 
Lonaconing, and was a mine worker for the American Coal 
Company until killed there in a mine ncciilent. 

His son, Richard Bowden, was born in England in 1864, 
and was "about five years of age when the family came to 
America and settled in Lonaconing, Maryland, where he wa-i 
reared and married and where for a number of years he was 
employed as a track layer around the coal mines. His home 
since 1904 has been at Pittsburgh, where he has been 
associated as an employe of the Westinghouse Electric Com- 
l)any, being now a department superintendent. He is a 
republican. Richard Bowden married Mary Dirk, who 
was born at Lonaconing in 1864. They have two sons, 
William Henry and John. The latter is an employe of the 
Westinghouse Electric Com] any of Pittsburgh. 

William Henry Bowden acquired a public school education 
at Lonaconing. graduated from high school in 1901, spent 
one year in the State Normal School at Frostburg, Mary- 
land, and in 1903 removed to Pittsburgh and became a 
clerk in one of the departments of the Westinghouse Elec- 
tric Company. He was with the Westinghouse Electric 
Company about a year, and on January 5, igo.j, at the age 
of eighteen, entered the service of the E. I. Dupont de 
Nemours & Company. He was a clerk in the Pittsburgh 
ofiice until January 1, 1916, though in the meantime he had 
risen by successive promotions until he was third in rank 
below the manager. He was then transferred to the main 
offices of the corporation at Wilmington, Delaware wan 
chief clerk of the sales department, Augu.^t 1, 1916. was 
made assistant director of sales, on November 1, 192o. wa.< 
again transferred to the Pittsburgh District and put in 
charge of the office of sales manager, and on November 1, 
1921, became a resident of West Virginia as sales manager 
at Huirtington for the West Virginia District. This dis- 
trict is one of the most important in respect to volume of 
business originating in the territory, which is a great mining 
section requiring an enormous volume of powder, dynamite 
and other explosives manufactured by the Dupont Company. 
The district includes the southern part of West Virginia, 
Eastern Kentucky, old Virginia and North Carolina. Under 
Mr. Bow den's supervision are eleven traveling salesmen 
covering this territory, and there are thirteen employes in 
the office in the Robson-Pritchard Building. 

Mr. Bowden is a republican, and a member of the Presby- 
terian Church. June 22. 1916, at Pittsburgh, he married 
Miss Marv Beck, daughter of Charles J. and Margaret 
(Gearing)' Beck, residents of Arnold, Pennsylvania, where 
her father is a building contractor. Mrs, Bowden ia a 
graduate of the Pittsburgh High School. They have two 
children: William, Jr., born April 11, 1917; and .lohn B., 
born January 12, 1920. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



John F. Jameson. Webster Springs, the judicial center 
of Webster County, has been fortunate in enlisting the 
services of Mr. Jameson as superintendent of its public 
schools, the standard of which has been materially ad- 
vanced under his able administration. 

Mr. Jameson claims the old Buckeye State as the place 
of his nativity, his birth having occurred on the old home- 
stead farm in Holmes County, Ohio, July 13, 1877, and 
both his paternal and maternal ancestors having been pio- 
neer settlers in that county. In Holmes County Eobert and 
Rebecca (Hersh) Jameson, parents of the subject of this 
review, passed their entire lives, the father 's entire career 
having been one of close and eft'ective association with farm 
industry save for an interval of three years. Kobert 
Jameson was born in the same house as was his sou John 
F,, and the date of his nativity was January 17, 1845, his 
wife having been born June 9, 1854. He was one of the 
substantial and representative citizens of his native county 
at the time of his death, was a democrat in political 
allegiance, and both he and his wife were earnest members 
of the Presbyterian Church. Of the three children the sub- 
ject of this sketch is the elder of the two surviving, his 
sister, Mildred, being the wife of Cloyse O. Dailey, of Elm 
Grove, Ohio County, West Virginia. 

Iteared on the old homestead farm, John F. Jameson 
acquired his preliminary education in the district schools, 
and in 1897 he graduated from the high school at London- 
ville, Ohio. After having been a successful teacher in the 
schools of Ohio about six years he entered Wooster College, 
Ohio, in which he continued his studies one year. Later he 
graduated from the Ohio Northern University, with the 
degree of Bachelor of Science, and in the meanwhile he 
continued teaching in the vacation periods and at other 
intervals. Later he received from Bethany College the 
degrees of Bachelor of Philosophy and Bachelor of Peda- 
gogy, after effective post-graduate courses in this institu- 
tion. He taught in turn in the public schools of Cameron 
and Tunnelton, West Virginia, and thereafter was for four 
years in similar service in the public schools at Webster 
Springs. In connection with the nation 's participation in 
the World war Mr. Jameson was in the government service 
for several months, as a member of the Federal Board of 
Vocational Education in the City of Indianapolis, Indiana, 
and since the completion of this service he has continued 
his effective regime as superitendent of the public schools of 
Webster Springs, his wife being supervisor of music in the 
schools, a position in which she had previously served at 
Benwood, this state. At Webster Springs Mr. Jameson is 
affiliated with Addison Lodge No. 116, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons, and with the camp of the Modern Wood- 
men of America, both he and his wife being zealous mem- 
bers of the Christian Church. 

In 1911 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Jameson 
and Miss Hallie Janes, who was graduated from the Thomas 
Training School in the City of Detroit, Michigan, and who 
is a specially talented musician. Mr. and Mrs. Jameson 
have no children. 

William Sibney Wysonq has brought most excellent 
equipment to his profession, is engaged in the successful 
practice of law at Webster Springs, judicial center of 
Webster County, and has distinct status as one of the repre- 
sentative members of the bar of this section of his native 
state. 

Mr. Wysoug was born at Hamlin, Lincoln County, West 
Virginia, February 13, 1876, and is a son of William M. 
and Bertha M. (Holt) Wysong, both natives of Virginia, 
where the former was born November 30, 1845, and the 
latter was born at Newcastle. Their marriage was solem- 
nized in 1873. The family name of the first wife of Wil- 
liam M. Wysong was Smith, and she was survived by one 
son. Creed M., who became an officer in the United States 
army. The subject of this review is the eldest of the four 
children of the second marriage; Georgia, next in order of 
birth, is the wife of Charles F. McGhee, of Hamlin, Lincoln 
County; Lillian is the wife of John T. Day, of Hinton, 
Summers County ; and Joseph H. is a resident of Chicago, 
Illinois. The death of the father occurred August 9, 1903, 
and the widowed mother is still living (1922). 



WUliam Sidney Wysong attended the public schools of 
Greenbrier County, this state, until he was eleven years 
old, and thereafter continued his studies in an academy 
until he had attained to the age of fifteen years. He later 
received from Hampden-Sidney College, Virginia, the degree 
of Bachelor of Arts, and in preparation for his chosen pro- 
fession he entered the law department of the University of 
West Virginia, in which he was graduated as a member of 
the class of 1898 and with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. 
In the same year he was admitted to the bar at Webster 
Springs, and the county seat of Webster County has since 
continued the central stage of his successful professional 
activities, his clientage being of representative order. 

Unfaltering in his advocacy of the principles of the demo- 
cratic party, Mr. Wysong has been influential in its local 
councUs and campaign work, and he served two terms as 
representative of Webster County in the State Legislature, 
besides which he was mayor of Webster Springs during one 
term and gave a most progressive administration of mu- 
nicipal affairs. He is a past master of Addison Lodge No. 
116, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Wysong 's wife, whose maiden name was Mattie 
WooddeU, is a twin sister of William L. Wooddell, and 
record concerning the Wooddell family will be found iii 
jiersonal sketches elsewhere in this volume. Mrs. Wysong 
graduated from the Glenville State Normal School and the 
West Virginia Wesleyan College at Buckhannon. Mr. ami 
Mrs. Wysong have one son, William P., who was born 
October 17, 1903, he being a graduate of the high school 
at Webster Springs and being now (1922) a member of tli> 
sophomore class in the University of West Virginia. Mi, 
and Mrs. Wysong hold membership in the Methodist Episco 
pal Church, South. 

Joseph B. Kiek, M. D. A highly trained and eflScieiit 
physician and surgeon, Doctor Kirk has devoted his pro 
fessional work to a service that presents perhaps the great- 
est opportunity for usefulness, practice in the coal mining 
districts of West Virginia. For a number of years his 
home has been at Bluefield, where he has been equally 
distinguished for the high quality of his citizenship and 
liberal attitude toward every movement in which the welfare 
of the community was concerned. 

Doctor Kirk was born in Giles County, Virginia, Septem- 
ber 19, 1863, son of Joseph and Sarah (Strader) Kirk. His 
father was also born on a Giles County farm. The Kirk 
family originated in England, moved to Scotland, and 
thence a branch came to America in Colonial times. In 
later generations one branch of the family went to Mis- 
souri, and the Town of Kirkville is named in their honor. 
The grandfather of Doctor Kirk was John Kirk, a native 
of Eastern Virginia, and one of the first settlers in the New 
River Valley. John Kirk was a soldier in Washington's 
army, fighting in the battles of Trenton and Brandywine. 
He was in the service two years, and in a signed statement 
he let it be known that he was serving his country as a duty 
rather than for pay. This example of lofty patriotism has 
been emulated by many of his descendants. John Kirk 
married Elizabeth O 'Bryant, of a family who has spelled 
their names 'Bryant, O 'Briant and Bryant. 

Joseph Kirk was a Virginia farmer, and did an extensive 
business in horses. He was well educated. Joseph Kirk 
was born in 1800 and died in 1880. He married late in 
life Sarah Strader, who was many years younger than he. 
She died in 1879. They were members of the Methodist 
Church. Of their six children Dr. Joseph B. was the sixth. 
John S. has a grain and stock ranch in North Dakota; 
Lizzie is the wife of John A. Neil, of Tazewell, Virginia; 
Mrs. L. C. Thome lives at Princeton, West Virginia; Nancy 
J. Meadows died at Lerona, West Virginia, February 22, 
1916; Mrs. Josie Lilly is housekeeper for her brother, 
D'octor Kirk. 

Joseph B. Kirk received his education at his home through 
a private teacher whom his father engaged. At the age of 
twenty-one he taught a term of free school, and from his 
earnings bought his first medical books. During 1S84-85 
and 1885-86 he attended the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons at Baltimore. Doctor Kirk located at Princeton, 
West Virginia, in 1886, and a year later took up his mining 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



praitice at Braiuwell, irhere he remained until 1905, when 
he moved to Elkhorn, West Virginia, still continuing mine 

Kractice, and since 1916 has boon a rosidont of Bluefield. 
leforo locating at Bluefield he did post graduate work, 
apecializing in dermatology in the Bellevue Hospital in 
rfew York. 

Doctor Kirk in 1918 received the commission of captain 
in the Medical Corps and was assigned to duty at the Post 
Hospital of Fort Myers. He was at Fort Myers, Virginia, 
Qtmp Morritt, New Jersey, and then had charge of the first 
and second floors of the Elizabeth McGee lIosj)ital at Pitts- 
bnrgh. He received his overseas assignment with the Fifty- 
■ixth Evacuation Hospital Corps, Expeditionary Army, and 
was awaiting orders at Allentown, Pennsylvania, when the 
armistice was signed. The call of his country has ever 
made a deep appeal to him. He was a chartir member of 
Blnefield Post No. 9, American Legion, and acted as 
ehaplain of the same. 

In 1889 Doctor Kirk married Sallie S. Frazier, daughter 
of Kev. J. T. Frazier, of Tazewell, Virginia. Doctor Kirk 
was bereft of his wife in a tragic automobile accident July 
30, 1916, when she was killed and their son and daughter 
were injured. Two schoolmates of the children were also in 
the party, and one of them was killed. The son of Doctor 
Bark is Joseph L. Kirk, who was a member of Company 
G of the Twenty-ninth Engineers, and had overseas service 
^as field engineer. He was trained at Camp Myers, Virginia. 
The daughter of Doctor Kirk is Hazel Virginia, wife of 
Joliii V. Warren, a lumberman who came from tJtica, New 

tor Kirk is a Knight Templar Mason and Shriner, is a 

rat and a member of the Methodist Church. He was 

a leader in securing the commission form of government for 
Bluefield, is one of the present city directors, and has been 
tnr the past two years democratic chairman of Mercer 
Doctor Kirk was one of the organizers and is a 
r of the Ennis Coal and Coke Company, operating 
... -Mercer County. He is also a stockholder in tlie American 
Coal Company, and has coal interests in Kentucky. His son, 
Joseph L., married Grace Seaver, of Marion, Virginia. 
Doctor Kirk purchased a 250-acre farm adjoining the City 
of Bluefield, and there Joseph L. Kirk is conducting a 
modern dairy farm. 

' Martin Van Buren Godbey, M. D. A prominent Charles- 
ton surgeon, Dr. Godbey is distinguished for his wide 
knowledge and experience of affairs outside his immediate 
profession. He is one of the recognized authorities on the 
intricate subject of taxation, and is one of the valuable 
members of the State Senate and at different times has 
accepted official service both in the Legislature and on 
appointive bodies dealing with important matters affecting 
the welfare of the state. 

Doctor Godbey was born in Ealeigh County, West Vir- 
iginia, December 19, 1879. His father was a native of 
Pulaski County, Virginia, of English ancestry. The first 
of the family came to America and landed at Blount's 
Point. Virginia, in 1608. The father of Doctor Godbey 
settled in Raleigh County in 1863. There Doctor Godbey 
was reared on a farm, and his early educational advantages 
were exceedingly limited, though he made the most of 
them. By the time he was fifteen he was teaching school 
and thus in a position to earn the means to advance his own 
education. By teaching he nas able to attend Marshall 
College at Huntington three years and Grant University at 
Chattanooga, Tennessee, two years. After completing his 
literary education he entered the Maryland Medical College 
at Baltimore, where he was graduated in 1905. 

Doctor Godbey began practice in Boone County, and while 
there first became interested in politics. In 1906 he was 
elected a member of the House of Delegates from that 
county and served during the sessions of 1907-08. Although 
a republican, he received a good majority in Boone, a county 
that had been solidly democratic since 1863. 

Since 1909 Doctor Godbey has been a leader in his pro- 
fession at Charleston. He has enjoyed splendid success in 
every way. While he was in general practice here for 
several years, his work is now largely confined to surgery. 



In 1909 Governor Glasscock appointed him a member of tiie 
State Board of Health and in 1910 he was made McrcUry 
of the State Examining Hoard of Surgeona. He waa a 
leader in the movement to combat tuborculosia and a mem- 
ber of the commission which selected the alto for the Sute 
Anti-Tuberculosis Sanitarium at Terra Altn. lie haa alM 
served as president of the Kanawha County Board of 
Health. He is a member of the County, State, Southern 
and American Medical association!), and during the World 
war was a surgeon with the rank of captain in the Medical 
Corps, assigned to duty at Camp Johnston, Florida. 

In 1914 Doctor Godbey was elected state senator for the 
Eighth Senatorial District, comprising Kanawha, Uoone 
and Logan counties. He served one term in that body and 
in 1920 was again elected. He is a member of the finance 
and several other committees, and chairman of the commit- 
tee on medicine and sanitation. His 8i>ecial efforts in the 
State Senate have been directed toward tax reform and in 
behalf of measures that will correct the present grow in- 
equalities and exemptions. He prepared ami introduced in 
the Senate a bill providing for a tax board of equalization 
to reclassify, revalue and reassess all property on the ba«is 
of physical valuation and to have all matters relating to 
taxation and assessing carried out on strictly scientific and 
business principles, such as obtain in the innnagemcnt of 
any large corporation. For years Doctor Godbey haa 
studied taxation in West Virginia, and his discussion of this 
subject in the Senate revealed a special knowledge that cuta 
through many of the difliculties confronting any adequate 
solution of taxing problems. 

Doctor Godbey married Miss Florric Smoot, of Madisdn, 
West Virginia. Their three children are named Ella, John 
and Elizabeth Martin. 

Chauncey Willu-M Waogoneb, B. S. in electrical engi- 
neering, A. M., Ph. D., is an acknowledged scientific au- 
thority in the glass making industry and for a numl>er of 
years has been associated with the University of West Vir- 
ginia as professor of physics. 

A native of Ohio, he represents two old Virginia families, 
and his father was born in what is now West Virginia. 
Doctor Waggoner was born at Rockbridge, Ohio, February 
23, 1881, son of William W. and Eliza Jane (Goss) Wag- 
goner. His grandfather, Joseph C. Waggoner, was a native 
of Virginia and was associated with Doctor Caldwell in 
establishing and publishing the Palladium, one of the lead- 
ing newspapers of a generation ago. Joseph C. Waggoner 
married Sarah Breckinridge Venable, daughter of James 
Venable. She was born in old Virginia, and represented 
the prominent Venable and Breckinridge families of that 
state. 

William W. Waggoner, father of Doctor Waggoner, waa 
a native of Greenbrier County, West Virginia. He served 
as a Confederate cavalryman in General Stuart 's com- 
mand during the Civil war. After that war he removed to 
Ohio and became a prominent railroad contractor. For a 
number of years he was senior member of the firm Wag- 
goner & Douglas, which built several sections of the Hock- 
ing Valley Railroad and a portion of the Little Miami road 
near Dayton. W. W. Waggoner died in 1885, at the age 
of forty-three. His wife, Eliza Jane Goss, now living at 
Sugar Grove, Ohio, was bom at Rockbridge, Ohio, daugh- 
ter of John Goss, who owned the Goss farm, a property 
secured direct from the Government by the Goss family, 
the original patent bearing the signature of Andrew Jack- 
son. This farm remained in the family as late as 1920. 

Chauncey William Waggoner was reared in Ohio, grad- 
uating from the Sugar Grove High School in 1898. He 
received the Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engi- 
neering from Ohio University at Athens in 1904. The 
Master of Arts degree was given him by Cornell University 
ill 1905, and from 1903 to 1909 he waa instructor at Cornell, 
being awarded the Bachelor of Philosophy degree by that 
university in 1909. During the summer of 1907 Doctor 
Waggoner did research work for the Western Electric Com- 
pany. For the past six years he has been associated witi 
the 'glass industries of West Virginia, and is a sf^ialist 
in this industry and has taken out a number of patent* 



90 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



covering improved processes invented by him. Some of his 
scientific investigations as represented in public works are 
described by the following titles: The physical properties 
of a series of iron-carbon alloys; the preparation and decay 
of phosphorescence in certain salts of cadmium and zinc; 
hysteresis loss in iron at varying frequencies; non-corrosive 
glasses. 

Doctor Waggoner is a Fellow of the American Associa- 
tion for the Advancement of Science, for the past five years 
has been a member of the sectional committee of that as- 
sociation; is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, 
Fellow of the Institute of Eadio Engineers, and a member 
of the Illuminating Engineering Society. He belongs to 
the Gamma Alpha graduate fraternity and the Sigma Xi 
honorary fraternity. 

Doctor Waggoner is one of Morgantowu's popular cit- 
izens and is well known outside of university circles. He 
is a menilier of the First Presbyterian Church, and for 
nine years has had charge of the University Students Class 
in the Sunday school of that church. September 4, 1907, 
he married Cornelia Gaskell, of Lisbon, Ohio, daughter of 
Charles R. and Clarinda (Harvey) Gaskell. They have two 
sons, William Gaskell Waggoner, born January 15, 1911; 
and Chandler Whittlesey Waggoner, born July 21, 1917. 

John H. Morgan, a hardware merchant at Morgantown, 
Monongalia County, is one of the representative business 
men and progressive citizens of this thriving little city. He 
was born at Scotch Hill Preston County, West Virginia, 
and is a lineal descendant of David Morgan, one of the 
very early settlers of Monongalia County and a brother 
of Zackwill Morgan, in whose honor the City of Morgan- 
town was named. This branch of the Morgan family was 
founded in America by Col. Morgan Morgan, in the reign 
of Queen Anne of England. Col. Morgan Morgan first 
settled in the province of Delaware, and soon after his 
marriage to Catherine Garrison he removed from Dela- 
ware to the valley of Virginia and settled at Winchester. 
He had received holy orders as a clergyman of the Church 
of England, and he established a church at Winchester, 
where he served as its rector for a long period and where 
he was succeeded in the pastoral charge by his son and 
namesake, Rev. Morgan Morgan, Jr., the other children 
having been Anne, Zackwill Evan and David. 

David Morgan was born in Delaware, May 12, 1721, and 
accompanied his parents on their removal to Virginia, where 
eventually he became the owner of a farm near Winchester. 
He was a surveyor and was appointed by the Colonial gov- 
ernment of Virginia to assist in surveys and explorations 
of the southwestern part of the great territory then con- 
trolled by Virginia. Later he was appointed one of the 
Colonial commissioners assigned to discover and establish 
the northern boundary of the estate of Lord Fairfax in 
1748, this boundary to constitute the dividing line between 
Virginia and Maryland. David Morgan was so greatly 
impressed with the country west of the Alleghany Moun- 
tains that he moved in 1769 to the mouth of Redstone Creek 
in Pennsylvania, and two years later, in 1771, he came to 
what is now Marion County, West Virginia, where he set- 
tled on the banks of the Monongahela River, about six miles 
north of Fairmont. He reclaimed and developed much of 
his land and there passed the remainder of his life. He 
married Sarah Stevens, a member of a Pennsylvania Quaker 
family. 

Evan Morgan, son of David and Sarah (Stevens) Morgan, 
served as a patriot soldier in the Revoluntion and was a 
resident of Morgantown at the time of his death, in 1850, 
at the patriarchal age of 102 years, 3 months and 18 days. 
His son, Thomas, grandfather of him whose name initiates 
this review, settled on a farm in Clinton District, Mononga- 
lia County, where he continued his association with farm 
industry until his death. His son, Charles, was born April" 
27, 1834, on this old homestead, and there he still resides, 
in the best of health and in active charge of the farm and 
other business interests. He served as a loyal soldier of 
the Confederacy in the Civil war, principally in Texas, his 
brother, Milton, having likewise been a Confederate sol- 
dier, while two other brothers, Elza and Hiram, were Union 



soldiers. After the close of the war Hiram Morgan went 
to Bogota, capital of Colombia, South America, where he 
later became governor general of that republic, an office 
of which he continued the incumbent until his death. 

After the close of the Civil war Charles Morgan went to 
California, and was for several years there engaged in 
placer mining for gold. He thereafter devoted about two 
years to whale fishing oif the Columbia River bar at Astoria, 
Oregon, and he returned to West Virginia to wed the 
gracious young woman of his choice, his expectation hav- 
ing been to return with her to the Pacific Coast, He was 
persuaded to remain in his native state, and here he pur- 
chased what was known as the old Kern Mill at Ufiington, 
Monongalia County. He operated this mOl until slackage 
of power from the Monongahela River interfered with tli 
enterprise, and he then established his residence on the o\< 
Morgan homestead farm, which has been in the possession 
of the family for more than a century. 

Charles Morgan wedded Miss Marion Henry, who was 
born in Gatehead, Scotland, in 1837, and their idyllic com- 
panionship continues to the present day. Mrs. Morgan is a 
daughter of the late Lawrence Henry, an expert mining 
engineer who brought with him to the United States 146 of 
his skilled miners and assumed charge of the mines of tin 
Newburg-Orrel Coal Company, the headquarters of whir! 
were at Baltimore, Maryland. Of the children of Charle- 
and Marion Morgan the eldest is Thomas, a railway 
engineer; Lawrence is deceased; John H. is the immediate 
subject of this review; Charles, Jr., is United States mar 
shal of Montana and resides in the City of Helena; Frank 
a railway engineer, was killed in a railway accident whiU 
in charge of his engine; Miss Mary remains with her par- 
ents. 

John H. Morgan was born December 5, 1877, and upon 
completing his work in the public schools he went to Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, and learned the trade of car finishing. 
In 1,S92 he came to Morgantown and became part owner 
and general manager of the Morgan Hardware Company's 
store, and this alliance continued until 1911, when he became 
buyer for the Deacum Hardware Company of Portland, 
Oregon. In 1912 he took the position of storekeeper for the 
Pacific Electric Railway Company at Los Angeles, Cali- 
fornia. In 1913 he returned to Morgantown and purchased 
the stock and business of the Lemont-Jackson Hardware 
Company, and he has since continued the enterprise with un- 
equivocal success. He is a director of the Union Bank & 
Trust Company and of the Labor Building & Loan Society, 
is a member of the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce and 
the Rotary Club, and he and his wife hold membership in 
the First Presbyterian Church. Mr. Morgan is afSliated 
with Mannington Lodge No. 31, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Morgantown Chapter No. 30, Royal Arch Masons; Morgan- 
town Commandery No. 18, Knights Templars; Osiris Temple 
of the Mystic Shrine at Wheeling; and Monongahela Lodge, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

September 9, 1897, recorded the marriage of Mr. Morgan 
to Miss Anna Glover, daughter of the late Abram Glover, 
she having been born in Marion County, this state. Mr. and 
Mrs. Morgan have one son, Frank Holmes, who was born at 
Mannington, Marion County, March 28, 1901. 

PHiLrp James Cochran, of Morgantown, represents one 
of the most prominent names in the coke and coal industry 
of America. His grandfather was James Cochran, who is 
credited with having made the first coke in the United 
States. He was known familiarly as "Little Jim Cochran, 
the Coke king," and was one of the outstanding figures in 
that industry in the Connellsville District. His wife, Clarissa 
Houston, was of the same family as Gen. Sam Houston, the 
statesman and soldier of Texas. 

William Hazen Cochran, father of Philip J., was born at 
Dawson, Fayette County, Pennsylvania, July 11, 1856. He 
received his Bachelor of Science degree from Otterbein 
University in Ohio. In later years one of the buildings on 
the campus of his alma mater was named Cochran Hall in 
his honor. Following ia the footsteps of his father, he be- 
came one of the leading coke and coal men of the country, 
was also a banker, and had many widespread business inter- 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



91 



L«U. He died August 3, 1914. William H. Cochran mar 
mtd Gertrude Reed, who was born at Smithton in Wcstmore- 
^fed County, Pennsylvania, and who survives him. She is 
^nanghter of James Monteitb and Nancy (Crise) Reed. 
Ser mother was born at Fairmont, West Virginia, daughter 
at John and Elizabeth (Brown) Crise. William H. Cmhraii 
ud his wife had four children: Philip James; Anagrace 
Bell, who is the wife of Clarence Roby, a Morgantown at- 
torney; William Uazen, Jr.; and Regina June. 

Philip James Cochran was born in Fayette County, Penn- 
sylvania, May 11, 1897. He began his education in the 
borough schools of Dawson in his native county and gradu- 
ated from the Dunbar County High School in Fayette 
I County in 1916. In the same year he entered West Virginia 
University at Morgantown. His student career was inter- 
'iij ti J by the World war. In June, 1918, he joined the 
:it Fort Sheridan, Illinois, but later was transferred to 
Hani'ock, Georgia, where he was in the OlBoors Train- 
_ ^ liool and volunteered for machine gun duty. He was 
in training when the armistice was signed. After his dis- 
charge Mr. Cochran resumed his work at West Virginia Uni- 
1 r^ity. He received his A. B. degree with the class of 
ind is now continuing his studies in the law school. 
Cochran is a member of James Cochran Lodge No. 
and A. M., at Dawson, Pennsylvania, a lodge named 
^ grandfather. He is affiliated with Uniontown Lodge 
rfection, Pennsylvania Consistory of the Scottish Rite, 
ntown Chapter No. 35, R. A. M., Morgantown Cnm- 
)y No. 18, K. T., Syria Temple of the Mystic Shriue 
tsburgh, and the Morgantown Masonic Club. He be- 
to Omar Commandery No. 330, Knights of Malta, at 
11. He is a member of Milton J. Newmyer Post No. 
• Dawson, Pennsylvania, of the American Legion, and 
versity is a member of the Phi Kappa Psi fraternity. 
n the Official Board of Cochran Memorial Methodist 
;al Church at Dawson, Pennsylvania. 

T EL Allen Phillips is one of the representative busi- 
• n and loyal and progressive citizens of Morgantown, 
,'alia County, and takes lively interest in all that 
- the welfare of this city, the seat of the University 
-t Virginia. He was born at Waynesburg, Greene 

'.y, Pennsylvania, August 15, 1876, a son of James E. B. 

inil Anna M. CEngle) Phillips. The father was born in 
Whitley Township, Greene County, Pennsylvania, in 1855, 
of Welsh lineage, and was but a boy at the time of his 
father 's death. After his mother contracted a second mar- 
riage young James left home, and most of his early life 
thereafter was passed in and about Masontown, Pennsyl- 
lania. His marriage occurred at Waynesburg, that state, 
ind after there working a few years in a planing mill he 
engaged in mercantile business at Sycamore in the same 
■ounty. After selling this business he engaged in quarrying 
*tone in the same county, and after selling his quarries he 
returned to Waynesburg and entered the employ of the 
Waynesburg & Washington Railroad Company. He con- 
tinued his active connection with railroad service twenty- 
nx years, and in 1911 he retired from his position, that of 
•onductor, and assumed charge of a moving-picture theater, 
if which his son Samuel A. was part owner, at Grafton, 
West Virginia. Later he became chief of the police depart- 
•nent of Grafton, and while in the discharge of his official 
luties as such he was killed by an assassin, Jacob Lutz, 
February 10, 1919. The assassin was later convicted of 
murder in the first degree, after two trials, and July 22, 
1921, expiated his crime on the gallows in the State Peniten- 
tiary of West Virginia at Moundsville. Mrs. Anna M. 
CEngle) Phillips was born at Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, in 
1858, a daughter of Solomon Engle, of English ancestry. 
Mrs. PhUlips still maintains her home at Grafton. Of the 
''hildren the eldest. David C. still resides in his native City 
it Waynesburg, Pennsylvania; Samuel A., of this sketch, 
was next in order of birth ; William died in infancy ; George 
W. resides at Brownsville, Pennsylvania, and is baggage 
master on the Monongahela division of the Pennsylvania 
railroad; Joseph H. resides with his widowed mother at 
"irafton, West Vircini.n : and Mrs. Mary Blood resides at 
tlarrisburg, Pennsylvania. 
Vol. n— 11 



Samuel A. Phillips passed the period of hU boyhood utd 
early youth at Sycamore and Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, 
and in the meanwhile prolited duly by the advaotagea of 
the public sciools. Ho early gained priictioal eii^ricnce in 
connection with liis father's farming an.l quarryinK ojicra- 
tions, and in 1894 he found eni|iloyment in n jewelry estab- 
lishment at Waynesburg. In 1896 ho there ii,iti,i.,l hi. in- 
dependent business career by opening a pip ■ ■ ..lio. 
In 1895 he became a member of the Penn naj 

Guard, and upon the outbreak of the Spam . ^ar 

in 1898 he gave up his business to enter the liuliuno iwrvice 
as a member of Company K, Tenth Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry. This was the only Penn.sylva'nia regiment as- 
signed to service in the Philippine Islands, and it landed in 
Manila shortly after the famous victory of .Vdmiral Dewey 
in that port. The regiment later became known as "The 
Fighting Tenth," was a.ssociated with the forces of Dewey 
and took part in the battle of Manila, which city capitulated. 
Hy general orders August 13, 1898, Uio Tenth Pennsylvania 
was retained in service in the Philippine Islands and became 
a part of the land forces operating against the insurgent 
natives upon the insurrection which began February 4, 1899. 
During this campaign the regiment took an active and im- 
portant part in operations, and on one occasion it was on 
duty seventy days without relief. In July, 1899, it was 
relieved from active duty and ordered home. The return 
voyage was made by way of Japan to San Francisco, from 
which port the original voyage had been made, and at San 
Francisco the regiment disbanded in August, 1899, Mr. 
Phillips having been mustered out with the rank of corporal. 
Ujion the reorganization of the regiment as a part of the 
Pennsylvania National Guard he became first sergeant of 
Company K, of which office ho continued the incumbent until 
his removal to West Virginia. 

In 1902 Mr. Phillips came to Morgantown, this state, and 
established a dancing academy, and he built up a prosperous 
and representative business in the teaching of dancing. He 
continued his academy until 1906, and he had enttTod the 
music business also, this enterprise having grown to such 
proportions that he found it expedient to give it his un- 
divided time and attention. His original music store was in 
a room 15 by 30 feet in dimensions on Pleasant Street, near 
High Street, and here he installed Baldwin pianos and a 
stock of Victor and Edison phonographs. In 1908 the 
business had so expanded that he found larger qu.irtors 
imperative. He removed to the Grand Theater Building on 
Walnut Street, and in 1911, for the same reason that had 
prompted his former change of location, he removed to the 
White apartment building on High Street. In 1915 further 
increase of business led to his removal to his present fine 
headquarters at 374 High Street, where he has one of the 
most attractive and well equipped music stores to be found in 
any city of comparative population in the South. Here he 
utilizes more than 5,000 si|uare feet of floor space, and an 
enlargement is contemplated at the time of this writing, in 
1921. Mr. Phillips still represents the same high-grade 
musical instruments as at the begrinning of his enterprise, 
and by reason of his remarkable record in the sale of the 
Edison phonographs he had the distinction of being chosen 
chairman of the Edison Dealers Phonoeraj>h Convention held 
in New York City, June 9 and 10, 1921. In the banquet 
incidental to this convention he and his wife occupied seats 
of honor at the same table with Mr. and Mrs. Thomas A. 
Edison. 1,500 Edison dealers having been present at the 
convention. 

Mr. Phillips was elected a member of the City Council of 
Morgantown in 1920, and was instrumental in bringing 
about the adoption of the new city charter in 1921. During 
the campaign to effect this action he served as chairman of 
the general committee in charge of the same, and under 
the new charter he was made chairman of the Board of 
Equalization and Review, in which capacity he is now serv- 
ing. During the World war period he took active part in all 
local partiotic service, including that of the Red Cross. He 
is a vital and valued member of the Morgantown Chamber 
of Commerce, is a member of the local Kiwanis Club, and is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, the Elks and the 
Veterans of Foreign Wars. 



92 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



September 7, 1905, Mr. Phillips wedded Miss Blanche M. 
Meeks, who was born and reared at Morgantown, a daughter 
of the late John W. and Josephine (Low) Meeks, the former 
of whom was born in this state, a son of Joseph Meeks, his 
wife having been born in a western state, a daughter of 
William Low. Mrs. Phillips is an active coadjutor of her 
husband in his business enterprise, to which she devotes the 
major part of her time and attention. She is an active mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church in her home city. Mr. and Mrs. 
PhUlips have one son, Samuel Allen, Jr., born August 29, 
1911. 

Sylvester P. Allen, M. D., has the sterling personal 
characteristics, the professional ability and the substantial 
practice that mark him distinctly as one of the representa- 
tive physicians and surgeons of Webster County, where he 
maintains his home and professional headquarters at 
Webster Springs, the county seat. 

Doctor Allen was born in Doddridge County, this state, 
on the 20th of April, 1872, and is a son of Stephen and 
Mary (Frum) Allen, both representatives of honored pioneer 
families of that part of Virginia which now constitutes the 
State of West Virginia. Stephen Allen was born in Dodd- 
ridge County, January 24, 1836, and his wife was born in 
Taylor County, March 16, 1838. The parents were reared 
under the conditions that marked the pioneer period in the 
history of what is now West Virginia, their marriage was 
solemnized in Taylor County, and thereafter they estab- 
lished their home on a farm in Doddridge County. In 
1874 removal was made to Harrison County, and in 1880 the 
family home was established in Braxton County, whence re- 
moval later was made to Webster County, where the father 
continued his association with farm industry until the time 
of his death. He was a republican in politics, and both he 
and his wife were earnest members of the Baptist Church. 
Of their eight children four are living (1922) : Rebecca 
is the wife of Daman Ash; Samantha F. is the wife of 
James W. McCray; Sylvester P., of this sketch, is the next 
younger; and S. M. P. is the wife of David F. Heafner. 

Sylvester P. Allen was reared to the invigorating dis- 
cipline of the farm, attended the local schools in the differ- 
ent counties in which the family resided during the period of 
his boyhood and youth, and in the furtherance of his higher 
education he entered the Central Normal College of Ken- 
tucky, in which excellent institution he was graduated with 
the degree of Bachelor of Science. He depended entirely 
upon his own resources in defraying his expenses at this 
college and also at the Kentucky School of Medicine at 
Louisville, in which he was graduated as a member of the 
class of 1901 and with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. 

On the 11th of July, 1901, Doctor Allen opened an office 
at Webster Springs, and here he has since continued in the 
successful general practice of his profession, in which he 
has shown both marked ability and a fine sense of profes- 
sional and personal stewardship. In his various activities 
of study and research that have kept him in touch with 
advances made in medicine and surgery he has taken an 
effective post-graduate course in the medical department 
of the University of Louisville. He is a member of the 
Webster County Medical Society and the West Virginia 
State Medical Society. The doctor is a stalwart republican, 
and in Webster County, which is strongly democratic, he was 
elected county clerk by a majority of 166 votes, he having 
retained this office six years and having given a most effec- 
tive administration. In the time-honored Masonic fraternity 
Doctor Allen is affiliated with and is a past master of 
Addison Lodge No. 116, A. F. and A. M., at Addison, 
Webster County; Sutton Chapter No. 29, R. A. M., at 
Sutton, Braxton County, where he is a member also of 
Sutton Commandery No. 16, Knights Templars, besides 
which he is a Noble of Beni-Kedem Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine at Charleston and the Scottish Rite Consistory at 
Wheeling. Both he and his wife are active members of the 
Baptist Church in their home village. 

In 1904 was solemnized the marriage of Doctor Allen and 
Miss Lenora Miller, who had attended both the State Nor- 
mal School at Fairmont and the University of West Vir- 
ginia and who had been a successful and popular teacher 



prior to her marriage. The only child of Doctor and Mi 
Allen died in infancy. 

Samuel Milleb WniTEsroE, who, under the title of S. ] 
Whiteside & Company, conducts at Morgantown, Monongal 
County, one of the largest establishments in the city c 
voted to the handling of ladies', misses' and childrei 
apparel, was born at Benwood, Marshall County, this sta 
December 31, 1865, a son of Robert J. and Amanda (I 
Moss) Whiteside, both now deceased. The parents we 
born and reared in Maryland, where their marriage w 
solemnized, and whence they came to West Virginia a 
established their home in Marshall County. 

Samuel M. Whiteside received the advantages of t 
public schools of his native city, and was a lad of fourte 
years when, in 1880, he found employment in the departme 
store of George E. Stifle & Company in the City of Wheelii 
He continued in the employ of this representative mereaut 
concern for twenty-six years, worked his way through t 
various departments and by faithful and efficient serv 
gained eventual advancement to the position of buyer in o 
of the important departments of the establishment. 1 
resigned his position in 1906 and came to MorgantoT 
where he opened a small store on the site of the present m 
building of the Bank of the Monongahela Valley, on Hi 
Street. A year later the increase of his business led to '. 
removal to larger quarters in the Wiles Block, at 338 Hi 
Street, where he has since continued his substantial a 
prosperous business. When he removed to his present 
cation Mr. Whiteside at first utilized only 1,400 square f 
of floor space, and an idea of the splendid expansion of 1 
business is conveyed in the statement that at the time 
this writing, in 1921, after three additions, the establi 
ment utilized 4 900 square feet of floor space. 

Aside from the representative business enterprise that 
has thus developed Mr. Whiteside takes loyal and help 
interest in the civic and social affairs of his home city, a 
is known and valued as one of its liberal and progress 
citizens and business men. He is an active member anc 
former director of the Morgantown Chamber of Commei 
holds membership in the local Kiwanis Club, and is affiliai 
with Morgantown Lodge No. 411, Benevolent and Protect 
Order of Elks. 

Mr. Whiteside married Miss Bertha L. Zevely, of Wh< 
ing, she being a daughter of John H. and Mag 
(Couniahn) Zevely, of that city. 

William Hakrison Ashcraft, cashier of the Commere 
Bank of Morgantown, at the judicial center of Mononga 
County, was born in this county, on a farm near Halleek 
Clinton District, October 12, 1879, and is a representat 
of two of the old and honored families of this section 
West Virginia. His paternal grandfather, Harrison A 
craft, a native of Wales, came with his parents to the Uni 
States, and eventually established his home in Mar 
County, West Virginia. Rollo Trickett, the maternal gra 
father, is supposed to have been born in America, and i 
of English parentage. He became a farmer in Pres 
County, West Virginia, which was at the time still a part 
Virginia, and at the time of the Civil war he removed 
Monongalia County, where he passed the rest of his life. 

Dextrous T. Ashcraft, father of William H. of this rcvi 
was born in Marion County, this state, December 14, 18 
and in his youth he learned the carpenter's trade, to wh 
he continued to give his attention in Marion County until 
marriage. He then engaged in farm enterprise in Mon 
galia County, where he has continued as a prominent i 
substantial representative of farm industry. His w 
Amanda, was born in Preston County, January 14, 1853 
daughter of EoUo Trickett, mentioned in the preced 
paragraph. 

William H. Ashcraft so fully profited by the advanti 
of the public schools of his native county that he pro 
himself eligible for pedagogic service. After five years 
successful work as a teacher he entered the University 
West Virginia, but before completing the full course in 
same he withdrew to enter business. September 1, 1901, ] 
Ashcraft became bookkeeper in the Second National B; 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



98 



of Morgantown, in which he was promoted to teller in 1903 
• and assistant cashier in 1906. He continued his connection 
with this institution until September 15, 1920, when he re- 
signed to accept his present post, that of cashier of the 
Commercial Bank, which was then in process of organization. 
He had active charge of the opening of the new bank Manh 
26, 1921, this being the youngest of the financial institu- 
tions of the county but its solidity and representative per- 
sonnel of its executives and stockholders give it secure place 
in popular confidence and support. Mr. Ashcraft is a mem- 
ber of the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce, and he and 
his wife are zealous members of the First Baptist Church, of 
which he was treasurer for more than twenty years. 

June 15, 1906, recorded the marriage of Mr. Ashcraft with 
Hiss Alice Maude Gilmore, daughter of Col. T. J. and Sarah 
(Epper) Gilmore. Colonel Gilmore lame to Morgantown 
from Albermarle, Virginia, and became a prominent railroad 
contractor. 

Joseph Kekr Buchanan, manager of the West Virginia 
Utilities Company, and one of the younger prominent busi- 
ness men of Morgantown, was born April 22, 1883, at Clin- 
ton, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, the son of the Rev. 
Aaron Moore Buchanan, D. D., now of Uniontown, Penn- 
sylvania. 

The Buchanan genealogy appears on record as follows: 

(I) James Buchanan, born in Lancaster County, Penn- 
sylvania, on May 23, 1761, served as a private in Captain 
Morrison 's Company of Potter 's Battalion of Pennsylvania 
Infantry in the Revolutionary warj he removed to Washing- 
ton County, Pennsylvania, where he died November 25, 1823; 
he married Margaret Ross. 

(II) John, son of James and Margaret (Ross) Buchanan, 
was born February 28, 1798; married on February 4, 1823, 
Margaret Chambers, and removed to Hancock County, Vir- 
ginia — now West Virginia, where he died in 1834. 

(III) Joseph Kerr, son of John and Margaret (Cham- 
bers) Buchanan, was born in Hancock County, West Vir- 
ginia, January 23, 1830. His parents dying before he had 
reached his fifth year, he was reared in the family of Aaron 
and Polly (Stevens) Moore, of Beaver County, Pennsylvania. 
He marrie<i Martha Bigger, who was born April 9, 1830; he 
died August 30, 1894, his widow on January 16, 1909. 

(IV) Aaron Moore Buchanan, D. D., son of Joseph K. 
and Martha (Bigger) Buchanan, was born in Hanover 
Township. Beaver County, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1856. He 
attended Frankfort Springs Academy, Beaver County, Penn- 
sylvania; was graduated from Washington and Jefferson 
College A. B., Class of '79; graduated from Western Theo- 
logical Seminary, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1882; was 
licensed to preach April 21, 1881, by the Presbytery of 
Washington, and was ordained by the Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh, October 4, 1882; from October, 1882, to May, 1886, 
he was pastor of Hebron Presbyterian Church, Clinton, 
Pennsylvania, and became pastor of First Presbyterian 
Church, Morgantown, West Virginia, in May, 1886, con- 
tinuing until 1915; he is now superintendent of missions of 
Redstone Presbytery and resides at Uniontown, Pennsyl- 
vania. Washington and Jefferson College gave him the D. D. 
degree in June, 1899 ; he served as chaplain of the First 
Regiment of Infantry, West Virginia National Guard, from 
July 24, 1894, for twenty years. On June 28, 1882, he was 
united in marriage with Sarah Wiley, of Washington, Penn- 
sylvania, the daughter of John and Margaret (MoLain) 
Wiley, and granddaughter of William Taylor and Martha 
(Hartiison) Wiley. Her maternal great-grandparents, John 
and Massy (White) Harbison, figure in the early history of 
Western Pennsylvania, both John Harbison and Edward 
White having served in the American Revolution. Massy 
(White) Harbison was twice captured by Indians, and all 
of her children except a baby in arms were killed by savages. 

Joseph K. Buchanan was reared in Morgantown, where he 
was prepared for college and entered West Virginia Uni- 
versity. He left the university before completing his junior 
year in 1904 to enter the employ as meter reader and general 
utility man of the then Union Utilities Company at Morgan- 
town, and has continued with that corporation through its 
different reorganizations, having been made manager in 



1910 and continues in that position with what ii now the 
West Virginia Utilities Comjiany. lie is president of Uie 
Morgantown Hardware Company, president of the Rcgcr Oil 
Company and a director in the Morgantown Uuvings and 
Loan Society.^ He is first vice president of the Morgantown 
Chamber of Commerce and a member of Morguntown itotarr 
Club and of the Kappa I'si Phi fraternity, of which fntorn- 
ity his father is also a member. 

Mr. Buchanan married Frances Louisa, daughter of Hugh 
Craig and Pauline (Davis) Allison, of Uniontown, I'ennnyl 
vania, and they have one daughter Mary Buchanan, lM>rn 
December 26, 1919. 

Roy Clakk S.mith. Few figures are better known in the 
educational profession of Monongalia County than Roy 
Clark Smith, who since 1913 has been superintendent of the 
]iublic schools of Morgantown. Identifieil with educational 
work since the beginning of his career, he has Ix-en located 
at Morgantown since 1909, constantly filling places of trust 
and responsibility, and during this time has mipresscd him- 
self upon the life and institutions of the community in a 
manner alike creditable to himself and productive of lasting 
benefit to the city. 

Mr. Smith was born at Cambriilge, Marylaml, December 
4, 1883, and is of English French-Irish stock, being de- 
scended from three of the oldest families of Maryland, tlio 
Smiths, Harpers and Clarks. His grandfather, Henry Smith, 
a native of Maryland, married Martha Uari»er, a daughter 
of Edward Harper, who was an extensive landholder of 
Dorchester County, Maryland, owning land which came to 
the Harper family by grant directly from Lord Baltimore. 
He married Miss Beauchanip, who was bom in France. The 
father of Roy C. Smith was Marcus H. Smith, who was born 
in Dorchester County, Maryland, in July, 1857, and was in 
early life a farmer, later a mill owner and operator at 
Denton, and finally a merchant at that place. He married 
Sarah Matilda Clark, who was born in Caroline Cimnty, 
Maryland, in December, 1861, a daughter of John W. Clark, 
who at the time of his death in 1899 was jirobobly the 
largest land holder in Caroline County. 

Roy Clark Smith was born at Cambridge, Maryland, I>c- 
cember 4, 1883, and secured his primary education in the 
public schools of Denton, Caroline County, Maryland. 
Graduating from the high school at that place in 1902, he 
entered the Western Maryland College, from which ho was 
graduated as a Bachelor of Arts in 1906. At that time he 
commenced teaching, but did not give up his studies, as later 
he was graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. 
class of 1911, with his Master of .\rts degree, and in 1916 
he took post-graduate work at Columbia University. 

Mr. Smith entered [)ublic school work as principal of the 
schools of Preston, Maryland, and next became teacher of 
mathematics and history at Friends Academy, Long Island. 
New York, in the fall o'f 1907. In 1908 he was head of the 
department of mathematics of the Westchester (Pennsyl- 
vania) High School, and in the fall of 1909 came to Morgan- 
town to become principal of the high school here. He con- 
tinued to act in this capacity until elected superintendent of 
city schools in the fall of 1913, and has occupied that jxjsi- 
tion ever since. Superintendent Smith has made education 
and the organization and direction of educational activities 
his life work, and has been remarkably successful. In almost 
every field of the work from the primary to teaching classes 
in a university, from grade to superintendent of schools, he 
has left the niark of an earnest student and apt instructor, 
an intelligent organizer and a judicious director. In a pro- 
fessional way his connections include membership in the 
West Virginia State Educational Association and the de- 
partment of su[ierinten.lents of the National Educational 
Association. Fraternally he is affiliated with Morgantown 
Union Lodge No. 4, F. and A. M.: and Lodge of Perfection 
No. 6, R. and S. M. He belongs likewise to the Morgantown 
Rotarv Club and the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce, 
and his religious faith is tliat of the Presbyterian Church. 

On June 16, 1913, Mr. Srnitli was united in marriag.- with 
Charlotte Wade, daughter of Clark Wade, of Monongalia 
Countv. and granddaughter of Alexander Wade, one of the 
most prominent of West Virginia 's public school educntors. 



94 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



Mr. and Mrs. Smith have one son, Eobert Wade, born June 
5, 1918. 

Hon. Kreider H. Stover. As a young man from college 
Kreider H. Stover took up railroading. He left that after 
a few years and was in the wholesale lumber business, be- 
coming one of the very influential men in this industry in 
West Virginia. But the call of the railroad service was 
strong and clear, and for the past twelve years his energies 
have been definitely committed to railroad work. He is now 
Baltimore & Ohio agent at Keyser. 

Mr. Stover was born at Coburn, Pennsylvania, July 12, 
1873. His people were an old family of Pennsylvania, and 
for a number of years lived in Bucks County. His grand- 
father, Jacob Stover, was a native of that state, an only 
son, and was killed in early life in an explosion while on 
public road building. George W. Stover, father of Kreider 
H., spent his life on his farm at Coburn, where he died in 
1887, at the age of sixty-one. His wife was Malinda A. 
Kreider, who was born in 1828 and died in 1912. Her 
father, Philip Kreider, was a hotel man at Lebanon, Penn- 
sylvania, and died in early life. The children of George W. 
Stover and wife were: Perry H., of Elkins, West Virginia; 
Elmira, wife of Thomas B. Motz, of Millheim, Pennsyl- 
vania ; Calvin J., who died at Coburn, survived by his widow, 
Olivia J., and two sons, George S. and Guy Z. Stover, and 
the daughter, Myra, wife of Eobert Breon of State College, 
Pennsylvania; Oscar, who died in infancy; and Kreider H. 

Kreider H. Stover lived on his father's farm the first 
fourteen years of his life. He then spent two years in 
Palatinate College, and in 1890, at the age of seventeen, be- 
came an office employe of A. Pardee & Company at Pardee, 
Pennsylvania, and in 1893 was promoted to superintendent. 
Soon afterward he resigned to complete his education in 
Franklin-Marshall College at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and 
left that institution in his junior year, in 1896. At that 
date he began railroading with the Pennsylvania Railway 
Company, and served until 1900, in different capacities. 

Mr. Stover came to West Virginia in 1900 and became 
manager of the Hosterman Lumber Company at Hosternian 
in Pocahontas County. He was there until 1904, when he 
moved to Elkins and engaged in the wholesale lumber busi- 
ness under the name Stover Lumber Company. While there 
he founded and for four years published the West Virginia 
Lumberman and National Wholesaler. Prom 1904 to 1908 
he was also president of the West Virginia Sawmill Asso- 
ciation. 

Mr. Stover resumed railroading as joint agent at Roaring 
Creek Junction for the Western Maryland Railway Com- 
jjany. He was in the service of that railroad for ten years, 
performing the duties of operator, agent and yardmaster 
at Ridgely, Hendricks, Henry, Elkins and West Virginia 
Central Junction. He resigned from the Western Maryland 
in 1920, and in Septemlier of that year accepted the agency 
of the Baltimore & Ohio at Keyser, as successor to Agent 
Terrell, who is now warden of the West Virginia Peniten- 
tiary at Moundsville. 

For a number of years Mr. Stover has been one of the 
moulders of political thought and legislation in West Vir- 
ginia. He cast his first vote for Major McKinley in 1896, 
and was a delegate to the Republican County Convention in 
Pocahontas County in 1902. For a number of years he has 
been regarded as a conservative labor man, and for six 
years he was general chairman of the Order of Railroad 
Telegraphers. The public service that particularly dis- 
tinguishes him came in the House of Delegates, to which he 
was elected in 1918 as a representative of Mineral County, 
succeeding Newton Moore. His service was under Speaker 
Luther Wolf. In the regular session of 1919 he was made 
chairman of the labor committee, and was a member of the 
railroad, printing and contingent expenses committee. Some 
of the important legislation of that session bears the impress 
of his work and influence as chairman of the labor commit- 
tee. Two bills came out of that committee, both of which 
he introduced. One was Bill No. 50, increasing the powers 
of labor. Another bill that became a law was the West 
Virginia Child Labor Law. He also actively supported the 
ratification of the eighteenth and nineteenth amendments. 



providing for federal prohibition and woman suffrage. He 
was opposed to the creation of a state constabulary, his 
ground of opposition being that his constituents in Mineral 
County did not need such a police force. Mr. Stover made 
an unusual record of useful service during his one term in 
the Legislature. In 1920 he was candidate for the repub- 
lican nomination for congressman of the Second West Vir- 
ginia District. In 1922 he is again a candidate for 
Congress. 

In 1898 he joined the lodge of Masons at Center Hall, 
Pennsylvania, is affiliated with the Royal Arch Chapter of 
Rouceverte, the Kniglits Templar Commandery of Lewis- 
burg and the Shrine at Charleston. He is affiliated with 
Olive Branch Lodge No. 25, Knights of Pythias, at Keyser. 
He was reared in the Reformed Church of America. 

At Coburn, Pennsylvania, September 28, 1898, Mr. Stover 
married Bertha J. Young, daughter of William and Mary 
(Kurtz) Young. Her oldest sister is Mrs. T. G. Hoster- 
man, of Akron, Ohio. The mother of Mrs. Stover is now 
Mrs. Mary Weiser and lives with her daughter at Keyser. 
Mr. and Mrs. Stover have no children of their own, but have 
an adopted son, Allen Graham Stover. 

Bernard Joseph Pettigrew is one of the younger nu'ii 
rising to prominence in the affairs of West Virginia. He 
has substantial connections at the bar of Charleston ami 
enjoys a large criminal practice, and has also had tlic 
advantage of experience in the State Legislature. 

Mr. Pettigrew was born at Summerville, Nicholas County, 
West Virginia, December 23, 1887, son of S. S. and Mar- 
garet Adelaide (Thornton) Pettigrew. Some of his early 
years were spent at Sjiringfield, Ohio, where he attende.l 
school, and he also acquired part of his education in Wash 
ington, D'. C. Mr. Pettigrew attended the law school of the 
University of West Virginia, and began the practice of his 
profession at Charleston in 1914. 

For four years he was a member of the Charleston City 
Council, and was one of the youngest members ever electee 1 
to that body. In the summer of 1918 he was chosen by tlir 
republican party as a candidate for the House of Delegates 
in the State Legislature and was elected in November. At 
the regular session in 1919 he was designated by the speaker 
of the House as a member of committees on taxation aiul 
finance, and forfeited and unappropriated lands. 

Mr. Pettigrew is member of the prominent and successful 
law firm of. Barnhart, Horan & Pettigrew, with olfices in 
the Coyle and Richardson Building at Charleston. Mi. 
Pettigrew married Miss Marie Harwood, of Elkins, West 
Virginia. Their four children are William S., Bernard, 
Joseph, Jr., Thomas E. and Margaret Kathleen. 

Roy T. Wright, general manager of the Pawama and 
Algonquin mines, vice president of the Bank of Matoaka 
and 1 resident of the Wright Drug Company, came into this 
district in 1902 as a member of the First Engineering Corps 
for the Pocahontas Coal & Coke Company, and his initia- 
tive and ability have since advanced him to a leading place 
in the affairs of this part of Mercer County. 

He was born near Princeton, that county, July 24, 1882, 
son of E. C. and Mary S. (Ellis) Wright, the former a 
native of Wythe County, Virginia, and the latter of Monroe 
County, West Virginia. E. C. Wright came to Mercer 
County in 1866 with his father, Thomas Wright, who settled 
on a farm near Princeton and spent the rest of his life as a 
farmer and cattle raiser. Thomas Wright was a veteran 
of the Confederate army. He was kUled by accident while 
working in the timber at the age of eighty-four. E. C. 
Wright followed farming for many years, but since 1907 has 
been a resident of Matoaka and is in business as a funeral 
director. He is a Methodist, much- interested in Sunday 
School work, is affiliated with the Masons, Knights of 
Pythias, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Moose and 
other societies, and is a democrat. His family consists of 
two sons and three daughters, the other son L. A. Wright 
being in charge of the Wright Drug Company. 

Roy T. Wright acquired his early education at Princeton, 
finishing school at the age of eighteen, after which he spent 
a year on the farm. Ilis first connection with the coal 



kdustry was in the service of the Sagamore Coal Company 
H Crane Creek, following which he went with the Poca- 
Hntas Coal and Coke Company, and since his first work at 
btoaka he has enjoyed increasing responsibilities, serving 
M superintendent, manager and engineer, and has been 
«nnectcd with the Winonah, Hiawatha, and Smokeless com- 
wnies, the Springton Colliery Company, and since 1918 has 
Men in active charge of the coal properties above mentioned 
Uld haa other interests in the coal industry as well. Besides 
Jie Bank of Matoaka and the Wright Drug Company he is 
nanager of the Matoaka Klectric & Power Company, is 
>resident of the Mercer Hardware & Furniture Company, 
Mresident of the Matoaka Insurance Agency. 

Mr. Wright in 1900 married Miss Mary Harriet Mc- 
Haughcrty, who was born at Princeton, daughter of James 
UeClaugherty. They have three children: Bernice, a stu- 
lent in the Martha Washington College at Abingdon; Harry 
ind Agnes, both in high school. The family are Methodists, 
tnd Mr. Wright is affiliated with the Elks and Knights of 
Pythias, is a Scottish Rite Mason and a member of the 
llercer County Country Club. 

William Smith Downs, a civil engineer of Morgantown, 
i8 division engineer of the West Virginia State Road Com- 
nission. He is a native of West Virginia, born at Martins- 
burg in Berkeley County, March 15, 1883, a son of the late 
Joseph A. and Caroline J. (Evans) Downs. This branch of 
he Downs family was established in what is now West Vir- 
ginia by Henry Downs, who came into Berkley County in 
1812 from Prince George County, Maryland, five generations 
removed from the present. Davenport Downs, grandfather 
)f William S. Downs, removed from Berkeley County, West 
V'irginia, to Iowa, in 18.52. He served in the war between 
the states and died in Iowa shortly after its close. 

The Evans famUy was established in what is now West 
Virginia by John Evans and his wife, Mary, who came to . 
America from Wales and settled in Berkeley County before 
the Revolutionary war. He built the old Evans fort which 
■stood on what is now the Winchester Turnpike, about two 
miles south of the present City of Martinsburg. Tillottson 
Pryatt Evans, the maternal grandfather of William S. 
Downs, was born in Berkeley County, as was also his wife, 
Jane Orr. He spent his life there engaged in farm pursuits. 

Joseph A. Downs was bom at Wapello, Louisa County, 
Iowa. His mother having died when he was an infant, he 
was reared by her people, received a collegiate education and 
became a teacher by profession, practically spending his 
entire life in the schoolroom and dying at Martinsburg, 
West Virginia, in 1900. He married Caroline J. Evans, 
daughter of Tillottson Fryatt and Jane (Orr) Evans. 

After graduating from the high school of Martinsburg, 
William Smith Downs entered the West Virginia University, 
from which he was graduated in 1906 with the degree of B. 
S. C. E., and from that institution in 1915 received his C. E. 
degree. Since leaving the university Mr. Downs has been 
continuously identified with engineering concerns and inter- 
ested in the development of the state. During 1906-1907 he 
was chief draughtsman for the Morgantown & Kingwood 
Railway, and from then for several years was associated 
professionally with Julius K. Monroe at Kingwood. From 
1911 to 1915 he was engineer in charge of foundation in- 
vestigation and resident engineer of the Hydro-Electric 
Company at Cheat Haven, West Virginia. From 1915 to 
1917 he served as county road engineer for Monongalia 
County, and since 1917 has filled the office of division en- 
gineer of the West Virginia State Road Commission. 

On June 22, 1910, Mr. Downs married Miss Nellie J. Al- 
bright, who is a daughter of L. M. and Jennie (Gibson) 
Albright, of Kingwood, West Virginia, and they have three 
children: William Richard, born December 27, 1912; James 
Albright, bom February 18, 1914; and Jane, born Septem- 
ber 25, 1918. 

Mr. Downs has never cherished political ambitions but, 
nevertheless, is an earnest, well informed citizen who gladly 
cooperates with others in advancing the interests of his 
native section and state. He is well known in engineering 
circles here and elsewhere and is a member of the American 
Society of Civil Engineers. 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



95 



LoN.VA Dennis .^rnett. A member of an honored pioneer 
family of Monongalia County, Lonna Dennis Arnotl ha* 
been identified with library work for more than twelve yearn, 
and since 1910 has held the i>osition of librarian of the Uni- 
versity of West Virginia at Morgantown. A man of wide 
experience in his field of endeavor, he is likewise a cloae 
and careful student and tliorough investigator, and the Iwne- 
fit of his research and study is always at the ilinposal of 
those who come into contact with Mr. .\rnctl in hiit courtcoua 
anil efficient discharge of the duties of his office. 

Lonna D. Arnett was born near Arnettsville in Grant 
District, Monongalia County, May 14, 1870, and belongs to 
a family which was established in this county by JameH 
.\rnett, a native of Loudoun County, Virginia, of English 
parentage. Following the close of the American Revolution 
James Arnett came to Monongalia County and 8«'ttled on 
about 400 acres of land in Grant District, near where the 
present Village of Arnettsville is situated, and thi-rc passed 
the rest of his life in the pursuits of agriculture. A part of 
his original farm is still held by his descendants. Andrew 
.\rnett, a son of James the pioneer, was born in 1760, ami 
died in 1820. He married Elizabeth Lcggctt Thomon 
.\rnett, a son of Andrew and Elizabeth, was born on th« 
farm in Grant District August 9, 1816. He followed farm- 
ing and also operated water-power grist milla on Indian 
Creek for a time. He married Zarilda Price, a daughter of 
William W. Price. 

William C. Arnett, son of Thomas and Zarilda, was born 
at Arnettsville, March 30, 1840, and died on his farm Janu- 
ary 15, 1916. Like his father, he followed farming and to 
.some extent operated mills on Indian Creek. In 1864 he 
enlisted in Company B, Sixth Regiment, West Virginia Vol- 
unteer Infantry, a regiment with which he served until the 
close of the war between the states. He was a Methodist in 
religion and a republican in his political sentiment. In 1868 
he married Mary Thorn, daughter of Dennis Thorn, who, 
with his father, settled near Laurel Point, West Virginia, 
some time between 1S20 and 1830. Mrs. Arnett surviveg and 
continues to reside on the home farm. 

Lonna Dennis Arnett, son of William C. and Mary, nt- 
tonilod Fairmont (West Virginia) Normal School, and wan 
graduated from the University of West Virginia with the 
degree of Bachelor of Science as a member of the class of 
1898. Following this he attended Clark University, Wor- 
cester, Massachusetts, from which he received the degree 
of Doctor of Philosophy as a member of the graduating clas-i 
of 1903, and for several years thereafter was engaged in 
teaching school. In 1909 he took up lilvrary work in the 
Bureau of Education Library at Washington, District of 
Columbia, and in the fall of 1910 became librarian of the 
University of West Virginia, a position which he has since 
retained. He is a member of the West Virginia State 
Library Association and the American Library .\ssociation, 
and holds membership also in the Sigma Chi Fraternity. In 
political allegiance he is a republican, and his religious faith 
is that of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

On Augu.st 18. 190.3, Mr. .\rnett was united in marriage 
with Miss Ethel Toy. daughter of Powell B. and Marietta 
(Love) Reynolds, of Morgantown. Her father, who re- 
ceived the degree of Doctor of Divinity anil for many years 
held a professorship at the University of West Virginia, is 
now deceased, but her mother survives and is a resident of 
Morgantown. 

Clement Ross Jones. The State of West Virginia owes 
an important debt to Clement Ros,s Jones for his long con- 
tinued service and his splendid work in reorganizine and 
equipping the engineering department of the University of 
West Virginia, where for twenty years he has been professor 
of mechanical engineering and mechanical arts, and for the 
past ten years dean of the Engineering College. 

Professor Jones was bora at the old Jones homestead near 
Knottsville in Tavlor County, West Virginm, April 19, 1871, 
son of Uriah and'Pernlssa Jane (Ford) Jones. He attonded 
school near home, graduated from the Grafton High .School 
in 1889, and in 1894 received the degree of Bachelor of 
Science and Civil Engineering from the University of West 
Virginia. While he has practiced his profession and baa 



96 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



acquired several important business and industrial relations, 
Mr. Jones almost from the first has been devoted to the edu- 
cational side of his calling. In 1895-97 he was assistant in 
mechanical engineering and graduate student at the univer- 
sity, receiving the degree of Mechanical Engineer in June, 
1897. He was instructor from 1897 to 1899, and assistant 
professor during 1899-1901. During the summer of 1896 he 
was a student in the Worcester Polytechnic Institute of 
Massachusetts, and in the summer of 1897 at the Stevens 
Institute of Technology in New Jersey, while during 1899- 
1900 he was in the graduate school of Cornell University, 
from which he received the degree Master of Mechanical 
Engineering in 1900. 

During the Spanish-American war the head of the depart- 
ment of mechanical engineering was called to active duty 
with the navy, and Mr. Jones remained as acting head. 
Soon afterward the old Mechanical Hall, with all its equip- 
ment, was destroyed by fire, and as the head of the depart- 
ment did not return, it fell to the lot of Mr. Jones to plan 
the new building and equipment and reorganize the depart- 
ment. In 1901 he was advanced to the grade of professor 
of mechanical engineering and mechanical arts, and since 
1911 has been dean of the College of Engineering and pro 
fessor of steam and experimental engineering. Under his 
direct supervision therefore, the engineering college has 
been developed as one of the most important adjuncts of 
technical education in the state. Professor Jones is the 
author and joint author of a number of text and reference 
books and notes used in the College of Engineering, and has 
contrilnited numerous papers and reports to engineering 
magazines. He is a Fellow of the American Association for 
the Advancement of Science, a member of the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers, American and Interna- 
tional Societies for Testing Materials, is former vice 
president of the Society for the Promotion of Engineering 
Education, is a member of the West Virginia Coal Mining 
Institute, the West Virginia Engineers Club of Morgantown, 
a member of the Natural Gas Association of West Virginia 
and America, is secretary of the engineering section of the 
Land Grant College Association, and his work and abilities 
have earned him a high reputation in technical societies both 
at home and abroad. 

He has also done much of the practical work of his pro- 
fession, and from 1894 to 1898 was a member of the en- 
gineering firm of Jones & Jenkins. He is a director in the 
Federal Savings & Trust Company and of several industrial 
companies. 

During the World war Professor Jones was fuel commis- 
sioner for Monongalia County, was chairman of the War 
Service Conunittee of the University and educational director 
of the Students Army Training Corps. When he graduated 
from the University in 1S94 he was first lieutenant and 
adjutant of the West Virginia University Corps of Cadets 
and subsequently was appointed first lieutenant in the Na- 
tional Guard and was advanced to captain in 1896. He is a 
member of Morgantown Union Lodge No. 4, A. P. and A. 
M., Morgantown Commadery No. 18, K. T., and Osiris 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Wheeling. He is a member 
of the honorary scientific fraternity Sigma Xi, the Phi 
Beta Kappa, Theta Psi, Phi Sigma Kappa and is a member 
of the Morgantown Rotary Club and the First Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

July 22, 1915, he married Elizabeth Charles Gambrill, of 
Parkersburg, daughter of Philip Dodridge and lone (Kinch- 
loe) Gambrill. Thev have one son, Ross Gambrill Jones, 
born September 29, 1917. 

No family had a larger share in the great adventure which 
settled the frontier of West Virginia than that of Professor 
Jones. He is a descendant of Jacob Jones, who was born 
near Wilmington, Delaware, in 1732. His mother subse- 
quently married Samuel Lewellen, and about 1770 the Lew- 
ellens moved to what is now Monongalia County, West Vir- 
ginia, and established the old Lewellen Ferry near the Penn- 
sylvania line, where Samuel Lewellen obtained a grant of 
land in 1771. Jacob Jones accompanied his mother over the 
Alleghany Mountains and proceeded on to the west side of 
the Monongahela River, near the present town of Pentres. 
It was Indian country and the settlements were greatly dis- 



turbed by Indian raids, beginning in 1774 and continuing 
through the Revolution. During the outbreak of 1777 Jacob 
Jones and other members of his family were besieged in the 
home of a neighbor, and two of his children, Mary and John 
Jones, were taken captive. Mary was adopted into the 
Wj-andot tribe of Indians and spent many years with her 
chosen people near Sandusky, Ohio. John Jones was not 
satisfied to remain an Indian, and eventually escaped, going 
to Detroit, was educated in medicine by his adopted father 
and later visited his father and other members of the family 
in West Virginia and for many years lived near the Town 
of Grafton. Jacob Jones made his escape from the Indian 
besiegers and subsequently removed to a safer situation ou 
Cheat River. He was a frontier soldier until the close of 
the Revolution, and about 1794 he obtained a grant of land 
near KnottsviUe in Taylor County, where both he and his 
wife died about 1829 at the respective ages of ninety-six 
and ninety-three. His wife was Dinah Stanton, who was 
born in Delaware in 1735. They were the parents of eight 
children. The fifth was William Jones, one of the ancestors 
of Professor Jones. William Jones was born May 4, 1774, 
in Monongalia County. Just before his birth occurred the 
Indian raid of that year. His mother being unable to leave 
home, the older children were sent on to the nearest fort, and 
subsequently, following a second warning, Jacob and his 
wife also started for the fort. The son William was born 
after they had proceeded about five miles, and a neighbor 
carried the new-born child while the father supported his 
wife as best he could until they reached safety. William 
Jones lived near KnottsviUe, where he died in 1843. His 
wife was Sarah Anderson, and they were the parents of ten 
children. Of these, Samuel, the sixth child, was born Febru- 
ary 2, 1808, and was a farmer and shoemaker near Knotts- 
viUe, where he died in 1897. He married Frances Limber, 
who was born in 1818 and died in 1888. Their second child, 
Uriah Jones, father of Professor Jones, was born near 
KnottsviUe, January 14^ 1839. During the Civil war he was , 
a member of the Seventeenth West Virginia Regiment, and i 
devoted his active years to farming. Uriah Jones married 
Pernissa Jane Ford, who was born September 22, 1843, ■ 
daughter of Lanty and Rebecca (Jones) Ford, and a great- 
granddaughter of William Ford, who is said to have been 
a soldier of the Revolution and who some years after that 
war moved from Fauquier County, Virginia, to the west side 
of Tygart's Valley River near Webster, West Virginia. His 
son George spent his active life as a farmer in Taylor County 
and was the father of Lanty Ford, who was born in Decern 
ber, 1800, and after a long and active career as a farmer 
in the KnottsviUe District died in 1881. His wife, Rebecca 
Jones, was born in 1804 and was a granddaughter of Jacob 
and Dinah (Stanton) Jones, previously referred to. 

The children of Uriah Jones and wife were: Harry H., 
deceased, Clement Ross, George E., Fannie Rebecca and 
Ethel Belle. 

Percy John Beaumont. For twenty years Percy Jolm 
Beaumont, vice president and general manager of tin 
Beaumont Company, manufacturers at Morgantown, West 
Virginia, has been closely identified with the industrial ami 
general business interests of this section of the state. He 
has borne a leading part in the development of substantial 
enterprises at Morgantown and elsewhere and as both busi- 
ness man and citizen has won prominence and esteem. 

Mr. Beaumont is a native of England and was born in 
the City of Birmingham, a great industrial center, Novem- 
ber 15, 1864. His parents were the late John and Elizabeth 
(Dowell) Beaumont, natives of England, who came to the 
United States in 1884 and both died at Wheeling, West 
Virginia. They had two children, a daughter, who is now v 
the wife of Harry Northwood, an experienced designer in 
the glass manufacturing industry, and Percy J. 

It was in 1882, when eighteen years old, that Mr. Beau- 
mont accompanied his sister to the United States, where 
she was to be married to Harry Northwood, who at that 
time was a designer for the Hobbs, Brockumier Glass Com- 
pany of Wheeling, West Virginia, but formerly had been 
a member of the firm of Northwood & Company, glass manu- 
facturers at Kingswinford, England. Mr. Beaumont had ., 




(S^M-. 




HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



97 



eon o.iiicatcd in the Episcopal schools at BinningUam, aud 
r-as roaclv and anxious to acquire knowledge of a trade, 
;nd his i.rotherinlaw encouraged him to learn the glass 
lakiii" and decorating business, advice he accepted and be- 
anie an expert glass worker under Mr. Northwood's super- 

In m90 Mr Beaumont organized tie Beaumont Glass 
•ompany at Martin's Ferry, Ohio, which was a successful 
nterprise from the start and soon outgrew its quarters. 
Vhen it became necessary to seek another location, induce- 
nents were offered the company to locate at Grafton, West 
riieinia and in 1902 removal was made to that city, where 
t is still operating as the Tyggart Valley Glass Company. 
ii Beaumont disposed of his interests in the Grafton 
oncern in 1905, and became manager of the Union Stopper 
Company at Morgantown in 1906, and so continued until 
1917 in which year that company was reorganized as the 
Jeau'mont Company, manufacturers of illuminated glass- 
irare and stationers' sundries. Mr. Beaumont at that time 
jecame vice president and general manager of the company, 
jid 80 continues. Although he has numerous other im- 
portant interests, he has made the manufacture of glass a 
leading one, and his reputation in this industry is wide- 
jpread He is concerned also in the development of coal 
wd oil and is treasurer and a director of the Chaplin Col- 
>cries Company of Morgantown; is vice president of the 
Silver Hill OU Company; is president of the bencea HiU 
OU Company, and is a director in the Farmers & Mer- 
Bhants Bank of Morgantown. He has been an encourager 
and often financial helper of many other laudable business 
enterprises here. 

In 1889 Mr Beaumont married Miss Laura Jefferson 
DUlon, daughter of Benjamin Dillon. Mrs. Beauniont died 
in 1918, leaving one daughter and two sons: Catherine 
EUzabeth, who is the wife of Prof . Eugene C. Auchter 
Ph D., a graduate of Cornell University, who (^9-^) is a 
member of the faculty as professor of horticulture in the 
Maryland State CoUege; John Herbert, who 13 an A. B 
eraduate of the West Virginia University, is taking his 
fh. D work at the Chicago University (1922) and at the 
same time he is an instructor in horticulture at the Uni- 
versity of Minnesota; and Arthur Brittingham, who i. 
associated with his father in business. Mr. Beaumont is a 
Tmber of the First Episcopal Church at Morgantown 
Political life has never attracted him nor have fraternal 

organizations, but he enjoys membership in the Turn Verein 

Society at Morgantown. 

LTNN Hastings. Probably there is no profession that 
, demands so much tact, judgment patience special.z^f 
knowledge and natural executive ability as that of the edu- 
cator, and the individual who enters into ♦''is, important field 
selecting it as his caUing, must be prepared to make many 
personal sacrifices, to endure numerous disappointments, to 
Sften spend him.'^elf for others without apparent return, and 
to give the best years of his life without receiving tie emolu- 
ments that equal effort would surely bring in any other 
profession. It is a vocation for which there are no weights 
and measures. The material with which it deals is rather 
that life material upon which impressions are eternal and 
afford the man who would serve the race an opportunity than 
which there are none greater. One who has dedicated h.s 
life to the work of the educator and who has achieved an 
honored place in his vocation and in the <:<"ifi4«"f« °^/°^ 
public is Lynn Hastings, of Morgantown, supermtendent of 
the free schools of Monongalia County. » ,„^ ;<. nf 

Mr. Hastings is a native of Monongalia County and « o f 
the fourth generation of his branch of the family on both 
sides in the county. The first Hastings settler of record here 
, was Thomas Hastings, the great-grandfather "f Lyn°' ^^° 
settled at Cheat Xeck in Union District during P>°°e" f ^f • 
He married a McGiU. and their son Isaac. ^f.« ^°™ j^ *°^ 
Cheat Neck community and married Elvira ^ ''^to'" .^t the 
time of the war with Mexico he was ser%-ing as a caP«^<« 
Virginia militia and was sworn into the Govermnent semce 
b.t^did not get to the front. Dunng the 7«£.^»'f ^^^."^^ 
states he assisted in raising a company of f^.'t Vugima 
, infantry and was commissioned first lieutenant thereof. He 



was a charter member of the Chi'at Neck MpthcHjiiit Prot 
estant Church. 

George B. lla.stings, son of Isaac und father of Lynn 
Hastings, was born at Cheat Neck, February :<. inM, anil 
die.l June 20, 1911. In early life he • ' father lu 

the operation of the ferry over Che;i' ■ :it Nerk, 

and subsequently learned the trad' r, which 

he followed for years, in addition t to some 

extent. He married Margaret Kliz y»ho »a» 

born April 22, 1857, in the sunie ii' wa« her 

husband, and survives him as a resiiieni ..i .\l ■r_:iiiiown. 

The first of the Jenkins family of record in Munoiignlia 
County was Bartholomew Jenkins, the grandfather of .\Ir^. 
Hastings, who was one of three brothers to come to America 
from Scotland, two of whom settled in other states. Bar 
tholomew Jenkins settled at Cheat Neck in early days and 
married Nancy Baker, daughter of George Baker, the Mo 
nongalia County pioneer of the Baker family. George 
Jenkins, son of Bartholomew and Nancy Jenkins, was twrn 
at Cheat Neck and married Sophia Bcatty. daughter of 
Robert and Nancy (Conn) Beatty. Kolwrt Bentty vfo-t born 
at Cheat Neck, the son of Irish-born parenU wlio were early 
settlers in Monongalia County. His wife was a daughter of 
James and Sophia Conn. 

The children born to George B. and Margaret E. Hast 
ings were as follows: Lynn, of thi.s notice; Charles B., 
born March 20, 1889, a resident of Morgantown. married 
Rose, daughter of Charles Uetrick, who came from I'cnn- 
sylva'nia, and they have one sou, Earl; Isaac N., born Janu- 
ary 29, 1892, a resident of Morgantown, married Beatrice 
Miller;' Fanny Lou, born December 20, 1896, who is un- 
married and resides with her mother; and George D., liorn 
May 10, 1898. a resident of Morgantown, married Jeannctte, 
daughter of J. F. Smith. , „ . , ■ . • . 

Lynn Hastings was born at Cheat Neck, Union District. 
Monongalia County, February 2, 1887, a son of George B. 
and Margaret E. (Jenkins) Hastings. He secured all of hi.i 
elementary education at the Wood Grove public school and 
received his common school diploma in 1903. In 190.> he 
was granted a first grade teacher's license, and in that year 
taught the Bush School in his home locality. He was gradu 
ated from Fairmont Normal School in 1911, as valedictorian 
of his class, which numbered about eighty graduates, and in 
the same year became princi[.al of the graded schools of 
Dingess. Mingo County, West Virginia, holding that position 
also during a part of 1912. In 1912-13 he Uught his home 
school; was principal of the high and graded schools of 
Sabraton, Monongalia County, in 191314-15; and was 
principal of the Westover schools of the Morgantown Ind.- 
pendent School District from 191o to January 8, 1916. when 
he resigned to accept the appointment of county superinten 
dent of schools to fill a vacancy, the appointment having 
been made by the presidents of the ^■»';'°"» '''f ''■/' u" m" 
of education in the county. In ^''^■<'T''7'.1''^*'- 'ff- "?h, 
ings was elected to fill out the unexpired term, and at th. 
general election of 1918 was elected for the full term of four 
years without opposition in the primaries or general elec 
•tion From the start Mr. Hastings has la^--'7„Tlvwe 
an effort to better conditions in every way and to advance 
the standard of education. A thorougn student of the 
science of education and possessed of a natural •""'"■;•.' '°; 
Thnd p^chology, he has made his schoo system a living, 
growing organSm responsive to the best in the teacher and 

%Jir"Sthe World war Mr. Hastings «;) r\"^ '°""'-' 
food administrator and as one of the ' ' ^'-'-Mmut^; ^of, 
ers. and was active in all the ^"^•■%"°:' "''';;>, Xt Prot 
Like his forefathers, he is a member of the M' ""'""* .''^7 
e'^lrnt'^^murch. As a J-ternalist he ho Ms -mbei^.p n 
Morgantown Un.n ^^^:^^,^ ^ jV, T.;o%.V, 

He ^a memb/r of the West ^'irginia State Educational 
Association. Hastings marrie.1 La Marian 

West Virginia, November 2., 1889, Oaugnier 



98 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Alexander and Louisa (Baker) Mason, the father a native of 
Petersburg, Grant County, and the mother of Lost Eiver, 
Hardy County, this state. To Mr. and Mrs. Hastings there 
have come three children: Lynn, Jr., born July 24, 1916; 
Grey, born January 22, 1918; and Lyle, born March 27, 
1921. 

Russell Love Morkis, professor of railway and highway 
engineering of the School of Engineering at the University 
of West Virginia, Morgantown, is descended from four old 
families of what is now the State of West Virginia, namely: 
The Morrises, the Eussells, the Loves and the Sheltons. His 
paternal grandfather, Capt. Joseph Morris, raised a com- 
pany of volunteer infantry for the Confederate army during 
the war between the states, and served as captain thereof 
until he met his death during the retreat of General Lee 
after the great battle of Gettysburg. He married a Miss 
Russell, who belonged to the old and honored Russell family 
of the Huntington community. 

Capt. John O. Morris, son of Capt. Joseph Morris, and 
father of Russell L. Morris, was born at his father's home 
in Teay 's Valley, near the present Town of Culloden, in 
Cabell County, West Virginia. He served as first sergeant 
in his father's company during the war between the states, 
and after the elder man 's death succeeded to the command. 
He later was commissioned captain, and served gallantly 
with General Lee until the final surrender of that great 
general at Appomattox. After the war he served alternately 
as deputy sheriff and sheriff of Putnam County for many 
years, and late in life located at Huntington, where he died. 
His wife, Eliza Love, who is still living at Huntington, was 
born in Teay's Valley, a daughter of William A. Love, who 
was a large land owner of that valley, where he was an early 
settler, and prior to the war between the states was a slave- 
holder. 

Russell Love Morris was born in Teay's Valley, near the 
present Post Office of Teay's, in Putnam County, West Vir- 
ginia, November 4, 1868, a son of Capt. John 0. Morris. 
After attending the free schools of his district and spend- 
ing one term in the graded school at Alderson he entered 
the University of West Virginia in 1885, and in 1895 was 
graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Civil Engineering, 
two years later receiving his Master's degree. Between the 
time of entering and graduation he spent four years away 
from the university, engaged at various kinds of employ- 
ment. He became an instructor in the engineering depart- 
ment in 1895, and from that year on has been a member of 
the faculty of tlie university in one capacity or another, 
continuously, having the distinction of having taught con- 
tinuously in the institution for a longer period than any 
other instructor now or ever identified with the University 
of West Virginia. During the long period of twenty-six 
years he has been actively engaged, also, in business affairs, 
principally along the lines of civil engineering and in open- 
ing up city property for the market, on his own account 
chiefly. He has gained something more than a local reputa- 
as an expert in laying out allotments, and in this class of 
work his services have been in demand in all parts of West 
Virginia as well as sections of Kentucky and Maryland. 
Professor Morris owns some city property at Morgantown, 
and is interested in agriculture and other business enter- 
prises. Fraternally he is identified with Morgantown Union 
Lodge No. 4, A. F. and A. M., and with the Phi Sigma 
Kappa fraternity. 

On December 21, 1900, Professor Morris married Miss 
Olive Hite, daughter of Isaac and Catherine (Hennen) Hite, 
of two old and honored Morgantown families, and to this 
union there has come one son, John Hite, born in 1911. 

Davidson Brothers. The branch of the Davidson family 
to which belong Henry Alexander and George S. Davidson, 
of Morgantown Monongalia County, was founded in Fay- 
ette County, Pennsylvania, prior to 1800 by Jeremiah David- 
son (I), who came from his nntive Ireland and first settled 
in Mercer County, Pennsylvania, whence he later removed 
to Luzerne Township, Fayette County. He was of Scotch 
ancestry, but representatives of the family left Scotland and 
established themselves in Ireland several generations before 



his birth. For many years Jeremiah Davidson operated th 
old Crawford ferry across the Monongahela Eiver, and late 
he owned another ferry, besides developing a substantia i 
business in the building of boats both for his own use an( 
for sale. He died at his old home in Luzerne Township 
Fayette County, Pennsylvania, in 1850. He married Anm 
Alexander, and among their children was Henry Alexande 
Davidson (I), who was born at Davidson's Ferry, Fayetfc 
County, in 1805. After his marriage to Elizabeth Gallaghe 
Henry A. Davidson settled on a farm in Cumberland Town 
ship, Greene County, Pennsylvania. His son, Jeremiah (II) 
was born on this farm May 26, 1834, and after arriving a 
adult age continued his association with farm enterprise 
until 1875, when he removed to Carmichaels, Pennsylvania 
There he later engaged in the hotel business, and still late) 
in the livery and undertaking business. He held the various 
official chairs in the local lodge of the Independent Order ol 
Odd Fellows and was influential in community affairs. I; 
1856 he married Selantha Flenniken, and they became th' 
parents of three chOdren: John Calvin, Franklin Francis 
and Minnie, the daughter dying at the age of sixteen years 
After the death of his first wife Jeremiah Davidson marriec 
Mrs. Harriet Jane (Stone) Hatfield, and they had two sons 
Henry Alexander and George S. The honored father died 
in July, 1900, the mother having passed away in October 
1898. 

Henry Alexander Davidson (II) was born March 24 
1878, at Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, where he attended thi 
public schools until eligible for admission to the Pennsyl- i 
vania State Normal School at California. Thereafter he 
became associated with his father's business, and after the 
death of his father in 1900 he came to Morgantown, West 
Virginia, and in April, 1901, engaged in the livery business. 
March 1, 1903, he added an undertaking department to the 
business, and in 1914 his brother George S. became his part- 
ner, under the firm name of Davidson Brothers. Since 1917 
the firm has been engaged also in the handling of automo- 
biles, with a well equipped garage and service station, ii 
which the firm has the sales agency for the Hudson, flu 
Essex and the Marmon cars, and the Republic automobile 
trucks. The brothers are active members of the Morgan- 
town Chamber of Commerce and are afSliated with Union 
Lodge No. 4, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, the local 
Chapter of Eoyal Arch Masons and the Morgantown Com- 
mandery of Knights Templars, while each has received the 
thirty-second degree in the Scottish Rite, and also holds 
membership in Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine. Henry 
A. is a past exalted ruler of Morgantown Lodge No. 41 1, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; is affiliated with 
Monongahela Lodge No. 10, Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows; and is a charter member of the Morgantown Coun- 
try Club. He married Miss Agnes Miles, of Buckhannon, 
this state. They have no children. 

George S. Davidson was born at Carmichaels, Pennsyl- 
vania, January 27, 1884, and in addition to the discipline 
of the public schools he took a business course in the Uni- 
versity of West Virginia. He came to Morgantown, May 
1, 1901, and after working for his brother until 1909 he 
here established an independent livery business in South 
Morgantown. He sold this business two years later and 
thereafter conducted a similar enterprise at Morgantown 
untU 1914, when he entered into partnership with his 
brother, as noted in a preceding paragraph. The Davidson 
brothers are numbered among the vital and progressive 
business men and valued citizens of Morgantown. George 
S. likewise is affiliated with the local lodge of Odd Fellows 
and is a charter member of the Morgantown Country Club. 
He married Mary E., daughter of Henry Fenton Eice, the 
pioneer news dealer of Morgantown. 

Davtd Core Clark through his private practice and long 
membership on the State Board of Examiners has been 
prominent in the profession of dental surgery in West 
Virginia, is also a former member of the State Legis- 
lature, and in many other respects a leader in the civic 
and social life of his home city, Morgantown. 

He was born in Monongalia County and is descended 
from two old families of this section of the valley. His 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



99 



ii:il grandfather, Nehemiah Clark, came from Mary- 

aad nas a pioneer in the Cass District of Monongalia 

■V. The maternal grandfather, John Core, was prob- 

lorn either in Cass or in Clay Distrii't of the samf 

cdiiiity. Doctor Clark's father was William James Clark, 

who was born in Cass District June 19, 1845, and spent 

his life as an industrious and frugal farmer and died on 

bis farm April 9, 1916. He married Martha Ellen Core,. 

who was bom in Clay District May 20, 1848, and is still 

living at the old homestead. 

David C. Clark was born at the Clark home in Clay 
District February 4, 1873. He acquired his early cduca 
lion in the district and graded schools, lat<'r attended 
the Fairmont State Normal School, then taught school in 
the district schools of Monongalia County for a number of 
years, and in 1898 received his degree D. D. S. from the 
Baltimore College of Dental Surgery. After his gradu 
ation Doctor Clark practiced at Blacksville in Monongalia 
County until 1917, in which year he removed to Morgan 
town. He was a member of the West Virginia State 
Board of Dental Examiners from 1915 to 1920. For a 
period of fifteen years, from 1906 to 1921, he was treas 
urer of the State Dental Society, and has taken a prom- 
inent part in that organization and several of his addresses 
and technical papers have been printed in dental publi- 
cations. 

Doctor Clark was elected as a republican to represent 
Monongalia County in the Legislature in 1915. During 
the regular session of 1916 ho was a member of the com- 
mitters on prohibition and temperance, education, private 
corporations, and joint stock corporations, immigration 
and agriculture, and medicine and .sanitation. He faith- 
fully represented the interests entrusted to him, but after 
his first term he declined renomination. 

During the World war he recognized no obligation as 
superior to the needs of the nation, and gave both of 
his professional effort and his means to the cause. He 
was a member of the National Dental Preparedness 
League, and shared in its program of work in preparing' 
recruits for the army by dental examination and treat 
ment. He was also connected with all the Liberty Loan 
drives in the county. 

Doctor Clark is a director of the Bank of Morgan- 
town and financially interested in other corporations. He 
is an official member of the First Methodist Episcopal 
Church, a worker in the Sunday school, and is affiliat<'d 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights 
of Pythias, is a member of the Chamber of Commerce 
and the Rotary Club of Morgantown, October 6, 1898, 
he married Miss Joanna Stephens, daughter of Bowen 
and Ruth E. (Zimmerman) Stephens, of Blacksville. Mrs. 
Clark is an accomplished woman, liberally educated and 
active in Morgantown social life. She was trained in 
the public schools and in the Mount Pleasant Seminary 
of Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania. She is a member of 
the Book Lovers and the Music clubs of Morgantown. 

Clement Condon Hildebrand had made a promising 
start in a business career when he joined the aviation service 
in the World war, and since leaving that has resumed his 
citizenship in Monongalia County, where he is actively iden- 
tified with business in Morgantown and also in the town of 
Hildebrand, a little community named for his father. 

Hildebrand is in Grant District of Monongalia County, 
and Mr. Hildebrand was born there December 4, 1891, son 
of John Marshall and Eliza Jane (Schafer) Hildebrand. 
The Hildebrands, though of German ancestry, have been in 
America since Colonial times. The ancestor was Henry 
Hildebrand, who settled in Massachusetts and was a Minute 
Han in the days of the Revolution. He married a Miss 
Coulter. Five generations intervened between him and 
Clement C. Hildebrand. His son, Henry Hildebrand (II), 
was born in Massachusetts, married Margaret Launtz, moved 
to Maryland, later to the vicinity qf Richmond, Virginia, and 
finally to Greene County, Pennsylvania. When he went to 
Pennsylvania he was accompanied by his sisters, Charlotte 
anl Barbara. Charlotte married a' Mr. Lucas, and the 
Morgantown branch of the Lucas family is descended from 
Vol. n— 12 



her. Louis Launtz Hildebrand, of the third genermtion of 
the family in America, was born in Greene County, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1814. Ho married in that county Maria C»th 
erine Maheney, and in lH47 they renn.vcd to White Dnr, 
Clinton District, Monongalia Couiily, We..t Virginia. L. L. 
Hildebrand died at the age of eighty four and his wife >t 
ninety-four. A brief record is t-nteri'd coni-erning their 
twelve children: Samantha, who became the wife of J. W. 
Stevens and was the mother of eleven children; Margaret, 
married John H. Sniallwood and ha. I -ii .-liil.lrcn; Jane, 
who died in infancy; John Marshal: n, who had 

nine children by her marriage t" -; Hannah 

Louisa, whose husband was James -^ . whom ihc 

had six children; Clark, who married .\iin:i Klli> and had a 
family of two children; Miranda, wife of John C. .Schafer 
and the mother of two children; Mary, who wa» the wife of 
.1. .Smallwood; Anna, who had one chilil by her marriage to 
Orril Holland; Thomas, who was the father of one child by 
his first wife, Margaret Thorp, had six children by his 
.second marriage, to Margaret Steele; and Ida L., who be- 
came the wife of John Price and the mother of one child. 

John Marshall Hildebrand wag Itorn in Greene County, 
Pennsylvania, in 1845, and has been one of the well known 
and effective citizens of this locality. For many years he haa 
lieen active in the general mercantile business ho estab- 
lished at Hildebrand, where the little community has grown 
up. In a public way he has been justice of the [K-ace, deputy 
sheriff, constable, road commissioner and school trustee. He 
married Eliza Jane Schafer, who was born near laurel 
Point in Monongalia County in 1849. To their marriage 
were bom nine children: Carrie Anna, widow of Dr. E. M. 
Henry, of Laurel Point, and of her three children one ii 
living. Otto H. Henry, a graduate of West Virginia Uni- 
versity and now a professor in the New York Polytechnic 
School of Engineering; Benton M., who married Leia He»( 
and is manager of the Standard Oil Pumping Station at 
Summerville, New Jersey; Ella M.. wife of Charles Henry 
and mother of Mifflin, Marie and Wilford; Nora F., who 
died in 1920, unmarried; Grace G., wife of J. F. Dugan, 
(ireensboro, Pennsylvania, and mother of Donovan, Doran 
and Dorothea; Bert B., who married Nettie Jolliffe and has 
two sons, Chester and Louis; Louis Launtz, who married 
Margaret Lambert and has a son, Allan Bryce; John, who 
died in infancy; and Clement Condon, ninth and youngest 
of the family. 

riement C. Hildebrand attended common schools, gradu 
ated from the Morgantown High School in 1914 and in the 
same year entered the accounting department of the Amer- 
ican Sheet and Tin Plate Company at Morgantown. In 
1916 he was transferred to the Gary, Indiana, plant of that 
corporation. The following year, when America entered the 
war, he enlisted in the air department, and received hit 
training at Indianapolis, at Fort Thomas, Kentucky, and 
sulisequently was transferred to the balloon service at Fort 
Omaha, Nebraska. He was top sergeant of his company and 
received his honorable discharge at Camp Grant, Illinois, 
Febmary 29, 1919. 

While his old position with the American Sheet and Tin 
Plate Company was held open for him he decided to return 
home to be near his parents, both growing old, and accord- 
ingly took charge of the oflSce work of the Delmar Coal Com- 
pany at Hildebrand and is also junior member of the firm 
of Hildebrand & Son merchants, at Hildebrand. March 1, 
1921, E. Reece Baker, a Morgantown contractor, became 
associated with Mr. Hildebrand as accountant, draftsman 
and general assistant. Mr. Hildebrand is aflSIiated with 
Morgantown Union Lodge No. 4, A. F. and A. M., and has 
taken fourteen degrees in the Scottish Rite. He is affiliated 
with the Woodmen of the World, the American Legion and 
the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

Clyde Beand, a progressive young business man of Mor- 
gantown, the judicial center and metropolis of Monongalia 
County, was born in this county August 15. 1880 and U a 
representative of one of its sterling pioneer families. His 
paternal great-grandfather Brand settled in this county in 
the early pioneer days, and here was bora the latter s eon, 
James Elliott Brand, who waa here reared to manhood Md 



100 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



who married Susan Eice. John J. Brand, son of James 
Elliott and Susan (Rice) Brand, was born in this county on 
the 1st of September, 1854, and he became a successful 
school teacher when a young man. He also learned the car- 
penter 's trade, and for five years he followed his trade at 
Fairmont, Marion County. For the ensuing five years he 
there operated a planing mUl. He then, in 1898, returned 
to Monongalia County, where he continued his activities as 
a carpenter and builder until about 1918, since which time 
he has here lived retired. His first wife, whose maiden 
name was Mary A. Barbe, died in 1892. 

Clyde Brand, son of John J. and Mary (Barbe) Brand, 
gained his early education in the public schools of Fairmont, 
and there he initiated his independent career by securing 
employment in a bottling works. In 1900 he established his 
residence at Morgantown, where for a time he was identified 
with the real estate business. He next gave his attention to 
learning the plumber 's trade, and to broaden his practical 
experience in the same he later worked at his trade in 
Philadelphia and Atlantic City. Some time after his return 
to Morgantown he formed a partnership with J. H. Kennedy, 
under the title of Kennedy & Brand, but a year later, in 
1904, he established himself independently in business. His 
ability and progressiveness have resulted in his building 
up a most successful enterprise, and he is now at the head 
of a leading plumbing, gasfitting, and steam and hot-water 
heating business in this section of West Virginia. He is 
loyal and public-spirited as a citizen, is an active member of 
the Morgantown Chamber of Commerce and the Kiwanis 
Club, is a director of the Union Savings & Trust Company, 
he and his wife hold membership in the First Presbyterian 
Church, and his fraternal afBliations are here briefly noted: 
Morgantown Union Lodge No. 4, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Chapter No. 30, Royal Arch Masons; Mor- 
gantown Commandery No. 18, Knights Templars; Lodge of 
Perfection No. 1, West Virginia Sovereign Consistory of the 
Scottish Rite; Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Wheel- 
ing; and Athens Lodge, Knights of Pythias. 

April 22, 1903, recorded the marriage of Mr. Brand with 
Flora Gertrude Niell, daughter of A. M. Niell, of Philadel- 
phia, Pennsylvania, and they have two children: Richard 
Clyde, born June 14, 1907; and Dorothy Virginia, born 
Decemeber 19, 1909. 

John Marshall, a busy Parkersburg lawyer, represents 
the third successive generation of that family in the legal 
profession, and his ancestry altogether is one that has had 
a close relationship with the history of the Western Vir- 
ginia country from earliest pioneer times. 

His great-great-grandfather, Aaron Marshall, was a sol- 
dier under General Washington during the French and 
Indian war, lived prior to the Revolution in Southwestern 
Pennsylvania, and in 1780 moved to Hancock County, Vir- 
ginia. His son John, who was born in 1782 and died in 
1859, spent his entire life in Hancock County. James G. 
Marshall, grandfather of the Parkersburg lawyer, was born 
in Hancock County, November 21, 1826, and died October 6, 
1902. He was an able attorney and served twenty-four 
years as prosecuting attorney of Hancock County. He was a 
republican, and his example in polities has been followed by 
subsequent generations. He married Lavina Miller, and her 
two sons, Erastus D. and Oliver S., both became lawyers. 

Oliver S. Marshall, whose home is at New Cumberland 
in Hancock County, was born September 24, 1850. He 
graduated from Bethany College in 1878, and has for many 
years served as a trustee of that institution. He was a 
member of the State Senate three times, being president of 
the Senate in 1899, and was a delegate to the Republican 
National Convention of 1892. Oliver S. Marshall married, 
September 8, 1880, Elizabeth Tarr, who was born at Wells- 
burg, this state, daughter of Campbell and Nancy (Ham- 
mond) Tarr. Campbell Tarr was one of the historic figures 
in the formation of the State of West Virginia, and as a 
delegate from Brooke County withdrew from the secession 
convention at Richmond. He was a member of the conven- 
tions at Wheeling, served as treasurer of the Provisional 
Government, and was the first state treasurer. 

John Marshall, only son of Oliver 8. and Elizabeth (Tarr) 



Marshall, was born July 28, 1881, at New Cumberland. He 
finished his literary education at Bethany College, where 
he graduated A. B. and A. M. in 1902, received his A. B. 
degree from Yale College in 1903, and graduated in law 
from the University of West Virginia in 1904. The follow- 
ing year he began his practice at Parkersburg, and has 
gained prominence both as an able business lavryer and on 
the public side of his profession. From 1908 to 1912 he wa- 
assistant United States attorney of the Northern District of 
West Virginia. Mr. Marshall was a delegate from West 
Virginia to the Republican National Convention at Chicago 
in 1920. In 1921 he was appointed special assistant to the 
United States attorney general to try cases involving alien 
enemy property seized by the Government. 

Besides his work as a lawyer he has been a director of 
the Smoot Advertising Company, Ohio Valley Publishing 
Company, Parkersburg Publishing Company, Parkersburg- 
Ohio Bridge Company, United States Roofing & Tile Com 
pany, and a director of the Chamber of Commerce. He has 
been for several years chairman of the Wood County Chapter 
of the American Red Cross. He was the organizer and first 
president of the Rotary Club at Parkersburg, is a member 
of the college fraternities Beta Theta Pi, Delti Chi, Theta 
Nu Epsilon, and is a member of the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks. He is also a member of the Parkersburg 
Country Club, Blennerhassett Club, and is a member of the 
Christian Church. 

Mr. Marshall married, January 25, 1906, at Wheeling, 
Miss Rebecca Cooper Paull, a native of Wheeling and daugh- 
ter of Joseph F. and Emma (Senseney) Paull. Her grand- i 
parents were Judge James and Jane Ann (Fry) Paull. The 1 
former was a judge of the Supreme Court of West Vir- ' 
ginia. Her grandmother was a daughter of Judge Joseph 
L. Fry, who was a descendant of Colonel Fry, at one time 
colonel of the Virginia regiment in which George Washing- 
ton was lieutenant-colonel. Washington succeeded to the 
command of the regiment when Colonel Fry was killed in 
action. Mrs. Marshall 's father was a prominent Wheeling 
manufacturer and financier. Mr. and Mrs. Marshall have 
two children: John, Jr., born February 22, 1908, and Joscpli 
Paull, born May 20, 1912. 

Olin V. Neal. For nearly half a century Olin V. Ne:il 
has been in business at Parkersburg, and for the greater part 
of that time has been head of a prosperous jewelry concern. 
For four or five successive generations the Neals have been 
associated with the most substantial interests of Wood 
County. Olin V. Neal is one of the many descendants of 
Capt. James Neal, founder of Neal's Station and a leader 
in the first permanent settlement in Wood County. A morr 
complete story of his career is given on other pages in con 
nection with other descendants. 

Capt. James Neal, who died in Wood County in 1822, at 
the age of eighty-five, married for his first wife Hannah 
Hardin, and their sixth child was James Hardin Neal. 

James Hardin Neal was a man of superior mental attain- 
ments for his day. He was born in 1784 and died in 1850. 
He was elected clerk of the Wood County Court in ISOfi. 
having previously served as a deputy county clerk for several 
years. He knew and was friendly with the Blennerhassets, 
and was invited but declined to take a part in the ambition - 
project planned in the island home of the Blennerhassets hy 
Aaron Burr. Later he was summoned as a witness at Ri h 
mond at the trial of Burr. He built, in 1824, a large brick 
residence, which for upwards of a century stood as one of 
the most attractive of the old resident landmarks in Parkers- 
burg. By his will James Hardin Neal gave his slaves their 
freedom. He was three times married. His first wife, whom 
he married in 1810, was Harriet Neale, daughter of Thomas 
Neale. The youngest of their four children was Hardin 
Neal. 

Hardin Neal, who died in 1855, spent his active life as a 
farmer at what is now known as Neal's Retreat. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Collins, and they were the parents of eight 
children, the five who reached maturity being: James H. ; 
Eva, who became the wife of James Tavenner; Virginia M., 
wife of J. A. Saunders; Joseph; Olin V. The two still liv- 
ing are Virginia and Olin V. 



I 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



OUn V. Neal was born December 23, 1854, and spent the 
first eighteen years of his life on his father's farm. Ue 
Kquired a public school education, and in 1872, when he left 
the farm, began learning the wati'hmaker and jeweler's 
trade in Parkersburg. For over eighteen years he was an 
enii'loye of J. W. Mather, and finally, in July, 1891, estab- 
lished himself in business and has kept that business grow- 
ing and prospering through a period of thirty years, having 
his son, the late Vernon Neal, as his active partner and asso- 
ciate until the latter 's death. 

AprU 18, 187s, Mr. Neal married Miss Dora Laughlin, 
daughter of Adam Laughlin. Of their four children the old- 
est is Eva Belle, nife of Frank Wolfe. The second daughter 
is Mabel Hall, wife of A. Clyde McCormack, and the young- 
est is Miss Chloe Marie. 

Vernon M. Neal, only son of Olin V. Neal, was born July 
18, 1881, and though he died on May 19, 1921, had earned 
for himself a most honorable position in the commercial and 
social life of Parkersburg. He was reared and educated in 
Parkersburg and as a youth became associated with his 
father in business. He married Mary Virginia O 'Neil. He 
is survived by Mrs. Neal and six children: Hugh Olin, Dora 
Margaret, John Vernon, Rose Mary, James Lawrence and 
Prances Isabel. 

Clarence Eoby is one of the representative younger 
members of the bar of Monongalia County, and at Mor- 
gantown, the county seat, he is building up a practice 
that in scope and character gives evidence alike of his 
technical ability and his secure standing in community 
esteem. He is a scion in the fourth generation of both 
the Roby and Feaster families in what is now West Vir- 
ginia. His grandfather on the paternal side was Aaron 
Eoby, who was born and reared in this state, as was also 
the maternal grandfather, Sanford F. Feaster. 

Clarence Roby was born at Petersburg, Grant County, 
this state, February 11, 1892, and at the same place were 
born his parents, Albert Allison Eoby and Ida Irene 
(Feaster) Roby, the former in the year 1866 and the 
latter in 1871. The parents still reside in Grant County, 
where the father is a representative agriculturist and stock- 
grower. 

After having profited by the advantages of the public 
schools Clarence Roby attended and was graduated from 
the Shepherd College State Normal School at Shepherds- 
town, Jefferson County. He was graduated in 1914, and 
for one year thereafter was engaged in teaching in the 
public schools at Scherr, Grant County. In the autumn 
of 191.5 he entered the University of West Virginia, and 
in this institution he was graduated as a member of the 
class of 1919, with the degree of Bachelor of Arts. From 
the law department of the university he was graduated 
in 1921, with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, and with 
his virtually coincident admission to the bar of his native 
state he opened an ofiice at Morgantown, which has con- 
tinued as the central stage of his professional activities 
since that time. 

The call of patriotism had, in the meanwhile, inter- 
rupted the university work of Mr. Roby, for when the 
nation became involved in the World war he determined 
to do his part, with the result that in May, 1918, he 
entered the Officers' Training Camp at Camp Custer, 
Battle Creek, Michigan, whence, a month later, he was 
transferred to a machine-gun officers' training camp at 
Camp Hancock, Georgia, where, in September, 1918, he 
received his commission as second lieutenant in the de- 
partment of machine-gun operation. He was in the ma- 
chine-gun group at that camp until November 1, 1918, 
when he was transferred to the Three Hundred and Sixty- 
third Machine Gun Battalion of the Ninety-sixth Division, 
at Camp Wadsworth, Spartanburg, South Carolina, There 
he remained until he received his honorable discharge De- 
cember 6, 1918, when be returned to Morgantown and 
resumed his studies in the university. He is a member 
of the Kappa Sigma college fraternity. His Masonic 
affiliation is with Morgantown Union Lodge No. 4, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, and he is a Royal Arch Mason, 
Morgantown Chapter No. 30. In the Scottish Rite he is 



101 

a member of Lodge of Perfection No. 6, of the We»t 
Virginia Sovereign Conaislory, at Whioling, where also be 
IS a member of U.siris T.uiple of the .Mystic «hrine. Hi* 
Masonic alllliations incluiie bIho menib.THhip in the White 
Shrine and the Order of the Kastcrn Star. Ho u a mem- 
ber of Monongalia Post No. 2, of the American U-gion. 
He and his wife are members of the First Mithodint 
Kpiscdpal Church of Morgantown. 

On the 21st of June, 1921, was solemnized the mar- 
riage of Mr. Roby and .Mins Anagrai-o Belle Cochran, who 
was born at Dawson, Penn.sylvania, a daughter of William 
H. and Gertrude (Heed) Cochran. Mr. Cmhran is de- 
ceased, and his widow and other membiTs of the family 
resiile at Morgantown, West Virginia. 

JOH.M Francis Ihli. For twenty years John Framig Ihli 
has been one of the progressive business men and upright, 
useful citizens of Morgantown, practically helpful in every 
1 ha.se of civic develojunent and deeply interested in philan 
thropic problems. 

Mr. Ihli was born in the Town of Malsch, Baden, Gcr 
many, November 8, 1869, but his grandparents were nativen 
of Switzerland and France. His father, Karl Ihli, van l>orii 
also in Baden, a linen weaver by trade, and he died when 
his son was a boy. His mother, Julianna (Kraft) Dili, wan 
a daughter of a well-to-do farmer in Baden, who wu.s born 
in France. John Francis Ihli attended the common and abui 
the high school in his native town until he was fourteen 
years old, when he began an apprenticeship to the tailor's 
trade, which apprenticeship he coinj>leted two years later. 
In tlie meanwhile his older brother, Frank Ihli, had immi- 
grated to the United States, and John F. felt anxious to 
follow his example, but he had journeyman service aheail of 
him before he could claim trade freedom, so he started out 
and worked for a time in Carlsrhue and Frieberg, Germany, 
and in some places in Switzerland. 

It was from Switzerland that he returned home on a visit, 
and when the visit was over he secured a jiasa to return 
there, but instead of using it for that purpose made it serve 
as a means to get him to .\ntwerp, Belgium, from which port 
he took ship for the Uniteil States and was safely landeil 
in the harbor of New York in January, 1888. From there 
he traveled to Monongahela City, Pennsylvania, where hi.n 
brother was residing, in reaching the United States Mr. 
Ihli realized a great ainbition, and very soon afterward he 
set out on his journeyman travels in the new land in cheer 
ful spirit and with high hopes. He was a careful and 
skillful workman and found employment wherever he 
stopped, his travels taking him to towns in Pennsylvania, 
Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky and further south. The year 190ft 
found him at work in the City of Wheeling, and since that 
year he has been, to all intents and purposes, a Wext Vir 
gin i an. 

While working in Fairmont, West Virginia, where he 
spent five years. Mr. Ihli became a naturalized citizen of 
the United States. .-Vfter leaving that city he went tn 
Parkersburg for a short time, and in 1902 came to Morgan 
town. By this time he had become an expert coat maker, 
and in that capacity was engaged by the leading merchant 
tailor of the city, A. K. Smith, with whom he con- 
tinued until 1907, when he embarked in the business for 
himself, and for a number of years has conducted the largest 
and most reliable merchant tailoring establishment here, 
one that compares favorably in every way with similar 
houses in larger centers of trade. 

On M.iy 5, 190.3, Mr. Ihli married Miss Nancy Marsden, 
a daughter of John and Nancy (Bolton') Manidcn. Mrs. 
Ihli was bom in Wigan, Lancashire, England, and she 
was but a few mouths old when her parents came to the 
United States and settled in Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mm. 
Ihli have three sens: John Marsden. horn May 5, 1904; 
George Leo, born July 2S, 190.i; and Carl Bolton, bom 
M.ay 7, 1914. The eldest son was graduated from the high 
school at Morgantown, and for the Inst four yenr« ha.« 
been treasurer of the Episcopal (ninrch Sunday .vho<il. 

Mr. Ihli has additional business interests here, being a 
stockholder in the Commercial Bank. He was an early 
member and a director of the Business Men's Association, 



102 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



and was instrumental in the reorganization of that associa- 
tion into the Chamber of Commerce, which name he sug- 
gested. He has t-aken much interest in Chautauqua worli 
and other educational and uplifting movements and has 
been particularly concerned in Boy Welfare work. He is a 
member of Morgantown Union Lodge No. 4, A. F. and A. 
M. ; Morgantown Commandery No. 18, K. T. ; Lodge of 
Perfection No. 6 (L. T.) of West Virginia Consistory No. 1, 
Scottish Rite, thirty-second degree, and Osiris Temple, 
Mystic Shrine, at Wheeling. He is a past master of 
Morgantown Lodge, A. O. U. W., and belongs also to the 
Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, and is a charter 
member of the Botary Club. Mr. Ihli and his family are 
members of Trinity Episcopal Church at Morgantown, in 
which he is a vestryman. During the World war he was 
helpful in all patriotic work and set an example of un- 
ostentatious liberality. 

CoL. John A. Fairfax Martin. Martin and Fairfax 
are names that suggest a wealth of interesting family and 
other important history in Preston County. Both names 
were established here some years before the War of 1812, 
the Fairfaxes soon after the Revolution. 

Allen Martin, pioneer of the Martin family, came from 
Charles County, Maryland, to the Olades of the Valley Dis- 
trict in what is now Preston County, and settled in Mo- 
nongalia County, near Morgantown. From 1806 to 1809 
he kept a tavern on the John W. Gnseman place. He and 
his wife are buried at the ' ' bend of the river, ' ' near Little 
Falls. Allen Martin married Arlotta Maddox. Apparently 
the only son of their union to remain in Preston County 
was Aquilla. 

Aquilla Martin won as a bride the beautiful and dis- 
tinguished Mary Byrne Fairfax, only daughter of John 
Fairfax and Mary Byrne, the latter a daughter of Samuel 
Byrne of Virginia. The only son of Aquilla and Mary 
Martin was Col. John A. Fairfax Martin, one of the most 
noted of the house of Martin and whose name has been 
set at the beginning of this record. 

The ancestry of Mary Byrne Fairfax is linked with that 
of one of the most distinguished and illustrious of early 
Colonial families. In old Virginia the name has been 
prominent in nearly every generation for several centuries. 
However, the origin of the Preston County Fairfaxes was 
a Maryland branch of the family. This remote ancestor 
was John Fairfax, who came to America some forty years 
in advance of Lord Thomas Fairfax of Virginia, and 
settled in Charles County, Maryland, about 1700. This 
John Fairfax married Catherine, daughter Of Henry Norris. 
Their only son, John Fairfax, inherited the Norris estate, 
and married Mary Scott, of Elkridge, where Baltimore now 
stands. John and Mary Fairfax were the parents of Wil- 
liam Fairfax, whose first wife was Benedicta Blanchard, 
who bore him two sons and three daughters, and after her 
death he married Elizabeth Buekner, a daughter of Peyton 
Buckner of Virginia. In 17S9 William Fairfax disposed of 
his Maryland estate and crossed the Potomac River into 
Virginia, locating in Prince William County, where he 
died four years later. William's third son and the first 
by his second wife was John Fairfax, who as the founder 
of the family in Preston County deserves a more particular 
account. 

John Fairfax was born in Charles County, Maryland, 
December 10, 1763. In 1783 he accepted an invitation 
from Gen. George Washington, who had recently relin- 
quished the command of the Continental Army, to become 
assistant manager of the General's vast estate of 35,000 
acres of land. Washington 's manager then was his nephew, 
Lund Washington, but two years later he resigned to accept 
an office under the Government, and in the meantime Wash- 
ington had found his assistant manager so capable that 
he at once advanced him to the office of manager, though 
Fairfax was then only twenty-two years of age, but had 
singular qualifications and abilities for handling such an 
immense property. He continued in this office until 1790, 
when he resigned to take possession of an extensive tract 
of land in the Monongalia Glades, now Preston County. 



With his family and effects and slaves he moved over th> 
mountains and located about a mile south of Reedsville 
where at Arthurdale he erected an imposing two-story lo; 
house with wide galleries in front and rear and with i 
semi-circle of slave quarters in the rear. There John Fair 
fax spent his remaining years, a fine example of the oh 
Virginia aristocrat, and he lies buried in sight of the oh 
mansion. John Fairfax by his first wife, Mary Byrne 
had the following children: George William, William 
Buckner, John, Jr., and Mary Byrne, who became thi 
wife of Aquilla Martin. 

Col. John A. Fairfax Martin, only son of his parents 
was born April 22, 1822, and died January 24, 1898. Hii 
home was at Kingwood and at Terra Alta, and in his life 
time his enterprise and influence were associated with manj 
of the important enterprises of the county. He was a mai 
of wide information, a student of the Scriptures, was publi( 
spirited and generous, and had business abilities that en 
abled him to accumulate much property. He was sheril' 
of Preston County, represented the county in the West Vir 
ginia Legislature, and was colonel of the One Hundre< 
Forty-eighth Militia Regiment. His love of humanity 
and his pronounced affability rendered him personally 
popular, and the poor especially found in him a trusten 
friend and counselor. 

Colonel Martin married Miss Susan Louisa Fairfax on 
October 19, 1832. She was born November 17, 1833, daugh 
ter of Buckner Fairfax and granddaughter of the pioneer 
John Fairfax. Susan Louisa Martin died August 25, 18.54 
just fifteen days after the birth of her only child, Isaa.' 
Parsons Martin. 

Isaac Parsons Martin from infancy was reared in the 
home of his grandfather, Buckner Fairfax. His grand- 
parents took great pains with his early training and gave 
him the advantages of the common schools. For a time 
he was in the service of the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad 
Company, and some of his earlier years were spent on tlie 
farm in Dunkard Bottom on Cheat River. After his mar- 
riage he established his residence at Terra Alta, but a fen- 
years later went back to Dunkard Bottom, and continued 
farming there until he moved to Kingwood. He was owner 
of many thousands of acres, of land, and some of thi? 
brought him wealth because of the coal deposits. At Kini; 
wood he erected a three-story brick business house, in whiili 
he and his older son conducted a hardware store. Isaa. 
Parsons Martin was closely associated with the life and 
affairs of Preston County until his death, which occurred 
May 25, 1920. On July 21, 1881, at Grafton, he married 
Nannie Stanton, of Jefferson County, Ohio, who died April 
6, 1919. She was a daughter of H. B. and Mary A. 
(Kimball) Stanton. H. B. Stanton was born in Warren 
County, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1820, was a boat builder 
and a soldier in the Civil war, and died July 28, 1S(U 
Isaac Parsons Martin had two sons. The older. Earl Fan 
fax, born August 25, 1882, died in Philadelphia, February 
20, 1920. while in the shipbuilding yards of the American 
Shipbuilding Company. He married Jessie B. Higgins on 
September 1, 1909. 

The only surviving heir of I. Parsons Martin and wife 
is John Russell Martin, who was born October 24^ 1890. 
He was reared at Kingwood, educated in the public schools 
there, and for a time was in the employ of the West Vir- 
ginia-Maryland Gas Company at Rowlesburg. Returning 
to Kingwood in 1917, he engaged in the life insurance 
business as the agent of the Equitable Life of New York, 
also has the agency for the Willys-Knight car, and these 
with the supervision of his estate of lands and other prop 
erties constitute a very busy program. He is also one of 
the stockholders of the Bank of Kingwood. Mr. Martin 
is a Scottish Rite Mason, and he and his family are Presby- 
terians, which was the faith of his father's people, though 
his mother was of a Baptist family. 

May 10. 1910. John Russell Martin married Miss Jean 
Brown. Their interesting family of young children are 
■lean Louisa, born September 11, 1911; Frederick Fairfax, 
born October 12, 1913; Elinor Brown born December 14, 
1916; and John Russell, Jr., born November 30, 1920. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



108 



J. Y. Hamilton. A wide diversity of affairs, participa- 
tion in movements connected with the community welfare 
as well as in business, and a thoroughly trustworthy char- 
acter and personal popularity have made J. Y. Hamilton, 
of Fairview, one of the best-known men of Marion County. 

He was born on a farm on Salt Kun, near Mannington, 
November 22, 1864, son of Francis and Luvina (Barker) 
Hamilton. He is descended from a branch of the Hamilton 
family that was represented is the American Revolution, 
and soon after that war was established in Western Vir- 
ginia. His great-grandfather was Boaz Hamilton, who 
pioneered in the locality around Fairmont. His grand- 
father was Fleming Hamilton, who was born on Hamilton 
Hill at Fairmont and was one of the prominent men of 
his time, serving a number of years as county clerk. Francis 
Hamilton was bom on Ices Ron, near Fairmont, in 1831, 
and died at Fairview in 1910. He removed from the farm 
in 1865 to Mannington, where for a number of years he 
was engaged on his own account as a carpenter, cabinet 
maker, furniture manufacturer and coffin maker. He was 
a first-class mechanic and made himself an indispensable 
factor in the community. In 1878 he removed from Man- 
nington to Fairview, where he remained the rest of his 
years. His wife, Luvina, was born at Flat Run, near Man- 
nington, in 1833 and died in 1920. Her father was Aaron 
Barker, one of the older families of Marion County. Francis 
Hamilton and wife were members of the Methodist Church. 

J. Y. Hamilton grew up at Mannington until his four- 
teenth year, and since then his home and interests have 
been centered at Fairview. At the age of sixteen he was 
fireman in a sawmill, a year later he was put in charge 
of a saw and remained with the mill for three years. For 
another two years he operated the combination grist and 
sawmill, and for three years was on a farm. Returning to 
Fairview, he was employed in the sawmill a year and in 
1895, at the opening of the Fairview Oil District, he began 
teaming, his outfit at the beginning consisting of a single 
team. He gradually extended his operations until he was 
a teaming contractor, and at the end of three years he had 
ten fine teams and all the other equipment, which he sold. 
In 1897 he opened a small grocery store at Fairview, and 
gradually expanded the scope of his business until it rep- 
resented a large general store, including furniture and 
undertaking. He was active head of this enterprise for 
twenty years, and when he sold it he was out of active 
business for about a year, but he still carries on the under- 
taking department. In the meantime he began operating 
in real estate, making a specialty of buying farms, im- 
proving and re-selling them. He also kept seme of his 
capital invested in the teaming business, owning about 
thirty teams, and this department of his business was looked 
after by his nephew. 

In 1920 with his son-in-law, J. E. Sutton, and E. R. 
Montgomery, both contractors, Mr. Hamilton organized 
the Marion Construction Company, buying the Haynes Com- 
pany 's planing mill at Fairview. In the fall of 1920 this 
company, of which Mr. Hamilton is president and manager, 
built over a hundred houses. For the last eight' years he 
has been vice president of the Farmers and Merchants Bank 
of Fairview, is president of the Fairmont Builders Sup- 
ply Company, and has other investments in different sec- 
tions of Marion County. He was one of the six men who 
were the original promoters of the Electric Railway from 
Fairview to Fairmont. Mr. Hamilton also has been the 
builder of more than one-fourth of the business houses 
and dwellings in Fairview. Wlien he made his entry into 
Fairview it had a population of seventy-five people, while 
now (1922) it has more than one thousand population. 
He served as postmaster at Fairview for more than three 
years, under President Woodrow Wilson. 

Mr. Hamilton in 1920 was candidate for the democratic 
nomination for sheriff, but was defeated in the primaries, 
though he received almost the unanimous vote of the Fair- 
view District. For a number of years he was a member of 
the Town Council He and the family are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South and he is affiliated 
with the Knights of Pythias and Modern Woodmen of 
America. 



In 1884 Mr. Hamilton married Miia Emma J. Amoi, 
daughter of P. B. Amos, member of a leading pioneer 
family of Marion County. Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton have 
a family of seven childrtn: Carloy F., born in IbsO, u now 
in business at Clarksburg, married Mollio Tcnnaut, daugh- 
ter of J. L. Tennant, and they have a bod, Joseph. Ktu 
Agnes, born in 18s7, is the wife of M. J. Lynch, of Clark*- 
burg, and their three sons arc Bernell, Arthur and Albert 
Carl. Ossa Gail, born in 1890, is the wife of J. E. But- 
ton, of Fairmont, and their children are Lugcni-, Maxwell 
and Emma Jane. Monroe, born in 1894, is auuriated with 
his father in business. Ho married (jrace SuodgraM, anil 
is the father of three children, John; Bettie; and Monroe, 
Jr. Everett H., boru in 1896, lives at Clarksburg and mar- 
ried Madeline Fleming. The two younger children, Verda 
and Fern, are both at home. 

^ Jacob Spikee. The career of Jacob Spiker of Preston 
County has been one of honorable industry based primarily 
on agriculture, and in later years involving banking and 
other business connections and an active part in the af- 
fairs of his home community of Masoutown. 

Mr. Spiker was born near Brandonville in I'reston Coun- 
ty, July 26, 1847. His grandfather, Michael Spiker, «ta« 
of Uerman ancestry, lived the greater part of bis life in 
Maryland, and died and was buried in the Morgan Cilade 
settlement of Preston County, on the Ringer farm. Uu 
children were: John, Henry, George, Mrs. Barbara Mc- 
Elroy of Ohio, Mrs. Ann Ridenour of Pomeroy, Ohio, Sarah 
Easterday of Ohio; and Samuel, the youngest son, who 
lived in Ohio for several years and tien moved out to 
Kansas. 

Oeorge Spiker, father of Jacob, was born on (jeorge's 
Creek, near Frostburg, Maryland, about 1812, grew up as a 
farmer and when a young man settled in Pennsylvania, 
and from that time until his death, about lSs9, lived on 
the farm he first purchased in the Brandonville locality. 
He was a democrat and a member of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. He married in Preston County Nancy De- 
Berry. Her father, Archibald DcBerry, of French ancestry, 
was the first to establish a home in the Brandonville lo- 
cality. Nancy DcBerry, who died before her husband, was 
the mother of the following children: Jonathan, who was 
ill the State Militia at the time of the Civil war and spent 
his active life at Brandonville; Jonas, also a member of 
the State Militia, was a farmer and a resident of the Hazel- 
ton locality of Preston County; Hester Ann, who died un- 
married; Jacob; Mary Catherine, who died unmarried; 
Sarah Ellen, who became the wife of Wesley liinger and 
lives at Morgan Ulade in Preston County; Henry, of 
Morgantown; George E., who occupies the old homestead 
of his father at Brandonville; and Emma, wife of John 
Ringer, living in the Morgan Glade community. 

Jacob Spiker grew up on the farm nbcre be was bom, 
and his advantages were confined to the subscription school 
maintained a few months each year in his locality. He 
first earned a living by work as a farm hand at wages 
of $16 a month, that being the highest price then paid 
for farm labor. He continued working out until he was 
twenty-four. He returned to the home locality and with 
his brother bought 100 acres for $»00. He subsequently 
bought a second farm in the same locality, and lived there 
until about 1895. After selling his land near Brandonville 
Mr. Spiker bought a farm in Valley District, near Mason- 
town, and it was on that farm that he lived and labored 
until he relinquished the burdens of agriculture. He sold 
his farm in 1908, and since then has lived in Majontown. 
He was one of the original stockholders of the Bank of 
Masontown and is now a member of its Board of Diret- tors. 

Mr. Spiker first voted for president for Horatio Seymour 
in 1868, and supported every succeeding national ticket ex- 
cept when Bryan was a candidate. He has been mayor of 
Masontown, a commissioner of elections for his district, 
and has been one of the election officials for more than a 
quarter of a century. 

Mr and Mrs. Spiker are Baptists in religions faith, but 
a number of years ago they helped buUd the Dunkard 



104 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Church near Brandonville, and they also contributed to the 
erection of the Methodist house of worship in Masontown 

At Brandonville, October 14, 1880, Mr. Spiker married 
Elizabeth A. Herring. She was born near Masontown, June 
zy, 18o„, daughter of Joseph and Eleanor (Jeifers) Her- 
ring. Her grandfather, George Herring, came from Bed- 
ford County, Pennsylvania, to Preston County about the 
opening of the War of 1812, and established his home in 
Pleasant District of what was then Monongalia County 
Late in life he moved to Valley District, where he died 
He married a member of the. Sell family of Preston County' 
and she died about 1880. They had a large family, and 
several of them reached extreme age: Daniel who died 
when about ninety-five; Sarah, who was the wife of Zarr 
Kelley and died when past ninety-five; Henry, a farmer, 
who died at the age of seventy-five; Elizabeth, who was 
the wite of Amos Moyers and died when about forty years 
of age; George W., who lived beyond the age of three 
score and ten; Samuel, who died exceptionally early, at the 
age of f«'ty-five of typhoid fever; and Susan, who was the 
wife of Joseph DeBerry and died when about ninety 

Joseph Herring, father of Mrs. Spiker, was born in 
Maryland in 1822, and died on his farm in the Valley 
District of Preston County at the age of fifty-six. He was 
a democrat and a Baptist. He married Eleanor Jeffers 
whose lather, Joseph Jeffers, came from old Virginia to 
Preston County Eleanor Herring died in 1862, mSther of 
the tollowmg children: Mrs. Elizabeth Ann Spiker; Mary 
t' ,¥''^- ^- .J- Feather, living near Bowling Green, Missouri ; 
Melissa wife of O. C. Carroll, of Kingwood District 
Oeorge Allen, a Preston County business man; Alcinda 
who was the wife of J. M. Strahin and died in Pike County' 
Missouri; and Elma, wife of H. D. Carroll, of Masontown.' 
Joseph Herring's second wife was Phoebe Spurgeon, and 

nt,f °" V ■ '^''? °i ^¥ ""'"" '''^ ■■ J^^^e Wilbur of Mason- 
town; Kim who died at Morgantown; Belle, Mrs. J. J 
iields, of Valley District; and Priscilla, Mrs. U. G. Watson 
ot Masontown. ' 

The children of Jacob Spiker and wife were: Claude 
Carl mentioned below; Ivy May, born October 15, 1885 

o1 i««7 J^"" ^P °^ ^""'^^^ y"'"'^' Wilbur Orr, born July 
^4, 1887, died November 27, 1914, having been a school 
teacher and later a linotype operator; Elma Etta, born 
February 25 1890 wife of Ealph Erhard, of Thomas West 
Virginia, and mother of two children, Ralph, Jr., and Anna 
Martha; and Joseph Delmer, born November 28, 1891 and 
died October 4, 1910. ' ' 

.f^^'^f ?r- ^P^*;'' °^^''^^ ""^'^^ of Jacob Spiker, is one 
ot West Virginia's most prominent educators. He grad- 

r, A i'^^'i^A Z^'\ ^*^''*y ^*^*'= Normal School, took 
his A B. and A. M. degrees from the state university, and 
alter teaching for a time went abroad to study French and 
bpamsh. After his return he became a member of the 
faculty of the University of Delaware, and during the war 
was m y. M. C. A. work in Europe for a year On his 
return he resumed teaching for one year as instructor in 
romance languages at Franklin, Indiana, and then returned 
to his alma mater at Morgantown, where he is instructor in 
roniance languages. Claude O. Spiker married Miss Mabel 
McMillen, who was born in Preston County and reared in 
Masontown being a daughter of A. F. McMillen. Mr. and 
Mrs. 0. C. Spiker have a son, Robert Claude. 

Robert Edward Lee Allen. No ' matter how peace- 
fully inclined and law-abiding a community may be, causes 
of litigation will arise and legal authority must be con- 
sulted, and at Morgantown, West Virginia, a name and 
personality that stands for able and honorable profes- 
sional service is that of Robert Edward Lee Allen, a prom- 
inent member of the Monongalia County bar. Mr Allen 
has always maintained his professional home in this coun- 
ty, where he has important real estate interests, and to 
some extent is interested in politics. 

Robert Edward Lee Allen was born at Lima Tyler 
County, West Virginia, November 28, 1865, a son of Os- 
burn and Jane (Langfitte) Allen, with a long line of 
sturdy American ancestors behind them. Osburn Allen 



was born m 1826 in that part of Harrison County that 
IS now included m Doddridge County, West Virginia, and 
died at Lima, West Virginia, in November, 1909 He 
was a son of Joshua Allen, and a grandson of Barnes 
Allen who was the original settler of the family in Harri- 
son County, to which section he had come from Vermont 
a member of the same family was Gen. Ethan Allen' 
commander of the "Green Mountain Boys" in the Eevo- 
lutionary war. Osburn Allen married Jane Langfitte, Tho 
was born ,n 1826, at Pughtown, near what is now' New 
Cumber^nd, Hancock County, West Virginia, and died in 
1899. Her parents were John and Martha Langfitte, na- 
tives of Hancock County. 

inrL^ to be regretted, in the interests of accurate his- 
torical work, that many pioneer families of this and other 
and Mr aT P'=™^"'='1 *"« '"ss of their early records, 
and Mr Allen may be congratulated that he has had pre- 
served to him interesting family data illustrating condi- 
tions of life on the frontier in early days that will be 
equally interesting to the general reader. These records 
have to do with the times when the Indians were a com- 
mon and constant menace to the settler, who often was 
but illy prepared for the attacks of the savages On 
orM^'Ti?" ^'^IT"' Langfitte, the great-grandfather 
of Mr. Allen on the maternal side, was returning from 
the nearest grist mill, some distance from his home in 
company with two other settlers. Mr. Langfitte was rid- 
ing a horse and carrying the bags of flour, but his neic-h- 
bors were on foot^ A party of savages attacked them, 
killing the men on foot and scalping them, and then turned 
on Mr. Langfitte and wounded him seven times before he 
let the bags of gnst fall to the ground and escaped by 
giving free rein to his horse. This attack occurred at "a 
point where now stands the Pitt Hotel in the City of 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. ^ 

Barnes Allen, the paternal great-grandfather, also had 
thrilhng experiences. At one time, when the family home 
was a cabin on West Fork River near Clarksburg he 
started out to round up his wandering cattle, after see- 
ing that his wife and two children were shut up in the 
cabin. Just as Mrs. Allen had succeeded in barring the 
front door of the cabin a party of Indians attempted to 
enter, and when they found that impossible applied a 
torch to the building and while they were so fiendishly 
engaged Mrs. Allen and her children managed to escape 
through a back entrance, fled into the woods and climbed 
a tree the branches of which concealed them effectively 
When Mr Allen returned he saw the savages leaving with 
his cabin home in flames, and as he frantically investigated 
and found no trace of his family he believed them to have 
been incinerated. Overcome by grief he scarcely knew 
what next to do, when, all at once he heard a bird call 
that was familiar, it being in the nature of a secret code 
between himself and wife, and after some cautious search- 
ing he located the tree in the branches of which his family 
was secreted. All together they hastened to the nearest 
,1 »i'i,,''emamed under protection with the families of 
other settlers until a condition of comparative safety in 
that region again prevailed. In the enioyment of the 
comforts and blessings of modern times it is well per- 
haps, to sometimes look backward and remember the' debt 
that civilization owes to the pioneers. 

Robert E. L. Allen was reared on his father's farm 
and in boyhood attended the free schools in the neigh- 
borhood Afterward he spent three years at the Fair- 
mont Normal School and one year in Peabody College. 
Nashville, Tennessee. He graduated with the degree of 
A. B.,_in the class of 1894, from the University of West 
Virginia, and with the class of 1895 with his degree of 
L.U B Prior to this and afterward he taught school 
tor a time, but in 1905 was admitted to the Monongalia 
County bar, and with the exception of about four years 
between 1917 and 1921, when he served as deputy col- 
lector of internal revenue, he has been in active practice 
in this county. On October 1, 1921, he was appointed 
by the City CouncU as city magistrate or police iudge, a 
position he is capably filling in the faithful disehar|e of 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



105 



his duties. Ever since the organization of the county 
he has been a member of the Monongalia County Bar 
Association. 

On January 19, 1893. Mr. Allen married Miss Catherine 
N. Protzman, who was born in Monongalia County and is 
a daughter of the late Col. William I. and Ann (Gantz) 
Protzman. They have lour children: R. Ethan Allen, 
Anna J.. Mary Kosamond and Mildred Rebecca. R, Ethan 
Allen was born at Morgantown, West Virginia, June 22, 
1897, and now resides with his family at Los Angeles, 
California, having married Miss Catherine Virginia Scott, 
of Charleston, West Virginia. He was graduated from 
the University of West Virginia with his S. A. E. degree 
in 1920, and taught agricultural engineering in the uni- 
versity from then until January 1, 1921, when he accepted 
his present important jiost of geological engineer for the 
PaciJBc Coast Oil Company. Anna J. Allen, the eldest 
daughter, was born in Monongalia County, August 18, 
1900, and is a member of the senior (1922) class, West 
Virginia University. Mary Rosamond Allen was born Jan- 
uary 28, 190.5 was graduated from the Morgantown High 
School in 1921, and is a student in the university. Mildred 
Rebecca, the youngest of the family, born at Morgan- 
town, March 29, 1907, and is a student in the City High 
School. Mr. Allen and his family are members of the 
Baptist Church, and all are factors in the city's pleasant 
social life. Mr. Allen has recently sold his two farms in 
Monongalia County, but still owns a valuable farm situ- 
lated in Tyler County, and in a business way is interested 
in both city and county realty. He is one of the county 's 
representative business and professional men. 

Sidney M. Bebkako is the progressive secretary and gen- 
eral manager of the Huff, Andrew & Thomas Wholesale 
Grocery Company at Bluefield Mercer County, and his civic 
loyalty is on a parity with the business ability that has here 
conserved his advancement and success. 

Mr. Bernard was born at Union Hall, Virginia, on the 
4th of February, 1874, and is a son of William Penn 
Bernard and Virginia Ann (Newbill) Bernard, both likewise 
natives of the historic Old Dominion State, where the re- 
spective families were early founded. William P. Bernard 
long held prestige as a representative farmer in Virginia, 
i where he specialized in the raising of leaf tobacco, and 
where he was influential in community affairs of public 
order. Both he and his wife were zealous members of the 
; Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in which he served many 
years as a steward. 

The public schools of his native place afforded Sidney 
M. Bernard his early education, which was supplemented by 
his attending the high school at Stuart, Virginia, until 1892. 
In that year he became billing clerk in the wholesale grocery 
establishment of the Huff. Andrew & Thomas Wholesale 
Grocery Company at Bluefield, West Virginia, and by effec- 
tive service he worked up through the various departments 
until he became secretary and manager of the company, of 
which dual office he has continued the vigorous ajid efficient 
incumbent to the present time. Mr. Bernard is one of the 
vital and progT'essive members of the Bluefield Chamber of 
Commerce, is a democrat in polities, and is affiliated with 
both the Ysrk and Scottish Rite bodies of the Masonic 
fraternity. He and his wife are zealous members of the 
local Methodist Episco[ al Church, South, and he is a trus- 
tee of the M. and H. College, which is maintained under the 
general auspices of this religious denomination. 

In 1904 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Bernard and 
Miss Nannie Coleman MfCullock, daughter of John R. and 
Cornelia (Basham) MeCulIock, both natives of Virginia, 
Mr. and Mrs. Bernard have three children: Sidney M., Jr., 
Virginia Cornelia and Margaret Frances. 

John A. Michael. In the history of the settlement and 
development of West Virginia one of the old and honored 
family names is that of Michael, the members of which 
family have distinguished themselves in various ways, in 
business, farming, the professions and good citizenship. A 
worthy representative of the younger business generation 
who bears this name is John A. Michael, manager of the 
: Petersburg branch of the Piedmont Wholesale Grocery 



Company. While listed among the more recent gainer* of 

successlul commercial rank, he is well qualified for the j>o»i- 
tion whnh he holds, the reaponsibilitna of uhirh he u 
discharging in a thoroughly caiiablc manner. 

Mr. Michael was born at Davis, Tucker County, Went Vir- 
ginia, March 10, 1891, and is a ^on of John Adam and 
Cornelia (Keller) Michael. His father huh born ntnar 
Western|iort, Maryland, and as a young man adopted the 
vocation of engineer, which he followed throughout hli life. 
He was located at various times in numerous ronimumtien in 
Maryland and West Virginia, and his lust work wan don«« 
for the Western Maryland Company, lie was a man of 
progressive spirit and enterprise, and would doubtless have 
achieved a marked success in life had he been spared, but 
death called him when he was only thirty-eight yearn of age, 
in 1897, when his son was but six years old. Mr. Michael 
was a democrat in politics, but never sought public oflice 
or cared for active participation in political affairs. He won 
trusted by his employers and respected by his nMsociatcti, 
and by all was known as a man of honor and integrity. He 
married Miss Cornelia Keller, a daughter of Adum Keller, 
who, like the Michaels, was of German descent. For many 
years Mr. Keller was a locomotive engineer on the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad, but is now retired from active labor anci 
a resident of Keyscr, West Virginia. During the Civil war 
he fought gallantly as a soldier of West Virginia Infantry 
in the Union army. John Adam and Cornelia (Keller) 
Michael were the parents of the following children: Lillie, 
the wife of Charles Kight, of Piedmont, West Virginia; 
John Adam, of this review; and Walter, the rover of the 
family, who is now a resident of Nebraska, 

John Adam Michael, the younger, had not yet reached 
six years of age when the family was deprived of the 
father 's support, and his widowed mother moved tu the 
home of her father at Keyser, West Virginia. There the 
public schools gave him a somewhat limited educational 
training, as he was only eleven years of age when he gave 
up his studies in order to start upon an independent career 
and to contribute to his own support. His first employment 
was as an office boy in the service of the Piedmont Grocery 
Company at Piedmont, whither his mother had moved from 
Keyser. He proved enterprising, faithful and capable, and 
won the attention of his employers, who promoted him to 
the position of being in charge of one of the floors of the 
establishment. Subsequently he was made shipjjing clerk, 
and when he was but seventeen years of age he was given 
further responsibilities, remarkable for one of his youth, 
when he was made a traveling representative on the road 
for his concern. He followed the road as a salesman for a 
period of eight years, being retained as the relief man for 
the house, covering the territories of all the regular .sales- 
men during their vacations or when they were absent 
through sickness or any other cause. In this position, as 
in all the others which he had held, he "macic good" in 
every particular, and when the opi>ortunity presented itself 
his hard and faithful work was rewarded by his appoint- 
ment, in 1916, as manager of the Petersburg branch of the 
company, to succeed Mr. Carlson, who had been called else- 
where. This branch was established at Petersburg with the 
coming of the railroad and has been built up into a large 
and successful establishment. Under Mr. Michael's ener- 
getic management it has increased its score and is now 
accounted a necessary commercial adjunct to a large terri- 
tory in Grant and adjoining counties. Mr. Michael has 
given his time and attention to the work at hand, ami no 
community matter other than the public interest during the 
World war has been allowed to take his interest from 
business affairs. However, he possesses a good citi/.en's 
public spirit, and lends his moral and financial support to 
those movements which promise to be beneficial to the com- 
munity at large. He came to manhood without adherence 
to any political faith, and is inclined to act independently 
in casting his ballot, but in national affairs generally vot«i 
for the democrati.' candidates. His religious affiliation is 
with the Methodist Eiiscopal Church. 

At Barton, Maryland, June 2S, 19"9, Mr. Michael wa^ 
united in marriage" with Misa Elizabeth Kalb.iugh Foye. a 
daughter of Frank and Lyde (^Kalbaugh) Foye, these two 
families being also of German descent and from the Alle- 



106 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



gany Mountain region of Maryland, where both are well 
and favorably known. Mr. Foye spent some years in mining 
coal in Maryland, but during recent years has been an 
employe of the Willard Storage Battery Company at Cleve- 
land, where he and Mrs. Foye now make their home. They 
have been the parents of the following children: John, 
whose death occurred at Blaine, West Virginia ; Gertrude, 
who is the wife of Harry Seaber, of Westernport, Mary- 
land; Benjamin, a resident of Albright, West Virginia; 
Ethel, who is the wife of Watson Ross, of Westernport, 
Maryland; Ella, who is the wife of Oscar Dunn, of Cleve- 
land, Ohio; Elizabeth Kalbaugh, now Mrs. John A. Michael, 
who was born at Barton, Maryland, November 25, 1892; 
Persis, who is the wife of Curry Reedy, a resident of 
Cleveland; Ruth, who is married and resides in Cleveland; 
and Ensley, who resides at the home of his parents in that 
city. Mr. and Mrs. Michael are the parents of three chil- 
dren: Louise, Edwin and John Adam, Jr. The family 
home is a pleasant one, and is always kept open to the 
numerous friends of Mr. and Mrs. Michael, both of whom 
are greatly popular at Petersburg. 

Thomas O'J. Wilson grew up at Bluefield, entered busi- 
ness here soon after leaving school, and for several years 
has conducted one of the leading real estate organizations 
in this section of the state. 

Mr. Wilson was born at Radford, Virginia, February 1, 
1890, and his ancestors for several generations have lived 
in Virginia. His grandfather Wilson served in the Hospital 
Corps of the Confederate army during the Civil war. 
Thomas J. Wilson has for a number of years been in the 
Motive Power Department of the Norfolk & Western Rail- 
way, having charge of a coaling station. Thomas O 'J. 
Wilson was a small boy when his parents located at Blue- 
field, where he attended the common schools and in 1909 
graduated from the Bluefield Normal School and Business 
College. After leaving school until 1914 he was associated 
with the Hale Land Company at Bluefield, and in the latter 
year removed to Roanoke, Virginia, and for a year acted 
as sales manager for the Columbia Trust Company. On 
returning to Bluefield he organized the Easley & Wilson 
Real Estate Company, and as secretary and general man- 
ager has constituted this a real and indispensable service 
to the entire commercial community. The company does a 
large business as brokers and general sales agents for Blue- 
field properties and real estate throughout Mercer County. 
Mr. Wilson knows values in real estate, and his painstaking 
work has entitled him to the confidence so liberally bestowed 
upon his organization. 

In 1911, at Bluefield, Mr. Wilson married Miss Jeanne 
Blandford, daughter of David and Sarah Blandford, natives 
of Virginia. They have one daughter, Betty Jeanne Wilson. 
Mr. Wilson is a member of the Baptist Church, is a Royal 
Arch and Knight Templar Mason and Shriner, a member of 
the Elks, the Bluefield Country Club, and belongs to the 
Bluefield Rotary Club and is chairman of boys' work. 

George Stewart Strader has been a resident of Blue- 
field for thirty years, and in that time has been a merchant, 
banker and coal operator, and is one of the executive offi- 
cials in several of the mining corporations whose head- 
quarters are in this important commercial city of Southern 
West Virginia. 

Mr. Strader is a native of old Virginia and a great- 
grandson of Adam Strader, who was born in Pennsylvania 
about 1770 and in 1800 transferred his residence to an old 
plantation district of North Carolina, Alamance County, 
where he lived out his life and reared a family of five sons 
and five daughters. John Strader, grandfather of the Blue- 
field business man, was born in Alamance County in 1804, 
and in 1844 moved with his family to Giles County, Vir- 
ginia. He died in 1877. His wife was Catherine Harvey. 

Josiah Strader, father of George S. Strader, was born in 
North Carolina in 1830, and was fourteen years of age 
when the family moved to Giles County. In ISS.S, a youth 
eager for adventure and excitement, he crossed the western 
plains with a wagon train and spent three years looking for 
gold along the Columbia River in Oregon. He returned to 



Giles County in 1856, by way of the Isthmus of Panama, 
and resumed farming. At the outbreak of the OivU war he- 
became a private soldier in the Quartermaster's Depart- 
ment of Gen. Jubal Early 's Division. With the end of the 
war he returned to his home farm and lived in Giles County 
until his death in 1905. In 1857 he married Barbara C. 
Johnson, daughter of John Johnson, of Giles County. They 
became the parents of ten children: John A., farmer and 
real estate dealer at Ottumwa, Iowa; Dr. Harvey W., a 
physician at Sacramento, California; S. J., a farmer in 
Giles County ; Mrs. H. L. Phlegar, of Giles County ; Rev. 
Tyler D., of the Holston Conference of the Metho.li.st 
Episcopal Church; Mrs. H. B. Shelton, of Giles County; 
George Stewart; Mrs. L. J. Johnston, of Bluefield; Willi,nii 
E., a merchant of Sacramento, California; and Mrs. I'lcd 
Scott of Giles County. 

George S. Strader was born near Pearisburg, Virginia, 
March 2, 1870, and was reared on his father's farm. He 
attended tlie grade schools and high school in his native 
county, and his commercial training was acquired as elerk 
in a general store. At the age of twenty he opened a istuie 
of his own at Graham, Virginia, but a year later came to i 
Bluefield, West Virginia. Here he became a factor in tlie , 
commercial affairs of a town just getting into a plaei' of j 
jiromise through the railroad and industrial developmeut ! 
here. For several years he continued merchandising, ami 
then became interested in real estate and banking. Since 
1S99 Mr. Strader has had his capital and enterprise in- 
gaged in the mining and shipping of coal. j 

Mr. Strader is a member of the Masonic Order auil is a t 
democrat. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Churih, 
South, and is interested not only in the progress of his 
church, but in all movements for the better social ami 
religious uplift. The State of West Virginia voted state- 
wide prohibition at the 1912 election. Mr. Strader was a 
member of the state executive committee, and regards the 
state and national prohibition movement the greatest and 
most permanent ever made along civic lines. 

On October 10, 1901, he married Miss Dillie Jeter, who 
was born in Botetourt County, near Roanoke, Virginia, July 
1, 1872, daughter of Dr. Benjamin and Susan (Bonsack) 
Jeter. Her father, who died in 1903, was a very successful 
physician in Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. Strader have three 
children: George S., Jr., born February 4, 1903; Benjamin 
Jeter, born June 16, 1904; and William Robinson, born 
January 19, 1909. 

Bernard McClaugherty. During the past half century 
no name has enjoyed greater distinction in the legal pro- 
fession of Mercer County than McClaugherty. Bernard Mc- 
(Uaugherty, of the law firm McClaugherty and Richardson 
at Bluefield, is a son of the late Judge Robert C. McClaugh 
erty, whose career expressed everything that was noble and 
useful in the legal profession. Bernard McClauglierty be- 
sides an extensive law practice is president of the Com- 
mercial Bank of Bluefield, president of the Chamlier of 
Commerce, and has been a leader in every commercial and 
civic development in Bluefield for the past twenty years. 

He is descended from an old Scotch family which in 1688 
left Scotland and settled in County Down, Ireland. From 
Ireland James McClaugherty came to America in 1786, 
locating at Sweet Springs in what is now Monroe County 
West Virginia. He married Agnes McGarre. Their son, 
James McClaugherty, Jr., was a man of most substantial 
character, noted as a peacemaker, and was appointed execu 
tor for many estates. He married Sallie Mullins. 

John McClaugherty, grandfather of Bernard McClaugh 
erty, was an extensive land owner and slave holder, and the 
last of his slaves, George Boxter, died only a few years ago. 
All the slaves were devoted to the family. John McClaugh- 
erty married Phoebe Hale, daughter of a prominent West 
Virginia pioneer, Capt. Edward Hale. John McClaugherty 
and wife had six sons, John, Joseph H., Nelson H., Edward, 
D. W. and Robert C, besides several daughters. Four of 
these sons were in the Confederate army, Joseph, John, 
Edward and Nelson. Edward was appointed a lieutenant at 
the age of seventeen, and lost his life in battle the follow- 
ing year. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



107 



Judge Robert C. McClaugherty was born near Princeton, 
^eot Virginia, April 7, 1850. He was the youngest among 
number of children, and though the family enjoyed more 
lian ordinary material circumstances and had educational 
raditions, the conditions resulting from the Civil war did 
ot permit him to go to college as his older brothers had 
one. Much of his education was acquired by diligent read- 
ig at home by the light of a pine knot torch. Intellectual 
uriosity was one of his notable characteristics, and it never 
eserted him, carrying him far afield in the domain of 
nowledge, and it is said that his proficiency in Latin and 
treek was cicelled by few college graduates. He par- 
ieularly enjoyed the resources of an extensive library which 
e accumulated, and he recognized nearly every book in 
t as an old friend. For two years he taught school, and at 
he age of twenty began the study of law with James D. 
ohnston at Pcarisburg, Virginia. At the age of twenty one 
e was admitted to the bar and began practice at Princeton. 
le was elected prosecuting attorney of Mercer County in 
876, but so far as possible he confined his work within the 
trict limits of his profession and eventually he was recog- 
ized as one of the foremost lawyers in the southern part 
•f the state. In 1888 he was elected .judge of the Circuit 
I'ourt for the Eighth Judicial District, but declined another 
! omination from his party. Before going on the bench he 
>?as a law partner of Dr. James W. Hale, and after retir- 
ng he devoted himself to his practice and a number of 
nterprises in which he was interested. Death came to him 
.t his home in Bluefield, February 18, 1909, when he had 
ust attained the summit of his professional career. Outsiiie 
'f his profession his chief interest was his home, though 
le was regular in his attendance and contributions to the 
Jetliodist Episcopal Church, South, and to many causes of 
rorthy charity. 

June .30, 1874, Judge McClaugherty married Susan 
Woods, of Giles County, Virginia, daughter of Hudson and 
iailie (Jordan) Woods. Their children were: Bernard; 
•Idna, wife of W. M. Cornett; R. Clarence; Trixy, wife of 
•'rank M. Peters, present postmaster of Bluefield; ami Ruth, 
Tife of George Richardson, the law partner of her brother 
Bernard. 

Bernard McClaugherty was born at Princeton March 27, 
;875, and attended the grammar and high schools of Princc- 
;on and finished his literary education in Emory and Henry 
jOllege and Roanoke College of Virginia. He graduated 
n law from the University of West Virginia in 1898, and 
it once joined his father in practice. In 1899 the family 
•emoved from Princeton to Bluefield, and the firm of R. C. 
k Bernard McClaugherty continued until the death of the 
lenior partner in 1909. Among other imjiortant interests 
iis firm represented the Virginian Railway Company dur- 
ng its unusual development and construction through the 
STirginias. On the death of his father Mr. McClaugherty 
was joined by F. M. Peters, later practiced with George \. 
Prick and John KeB, under the firm name of McClaugherty, 
Prick & Kee. but after 1910 he practiced alone until L. G. 
Scott and George Richardson became associated with him. 
rhe firm is now McClaugherty & Richardson, and among 
Jther interests they represent the Appalachian Power Com 
pany, the .American Railway Express and the Norfolk & 
Western Railroad. Mr. McClaugherty has also a large gen- 
jral practice, and has frequently taken eases in order to 
secure justice where practically no remuneration was in- 
rolved. He has been interested in several financial and 
business corporations, as well as to represent others as 
attorney. He is chairman of Group 5 of the State Bankers 
Association. During the World war Mr. McClaugherty was 
ihairman of the loan campaigns in Mercer County and gave 
much of his time to war work. H» is a member of the 
Phi Delta Theta college fraternity, the Bluefield Country 
Club, the Rotary Club, and has always been deeply inter- 
ested in athletics. He is now president of the Board of 
Education and has done much to emphasize the importance 
of athletics as a feature of education. He and all his 
interesting family are members of the Presbyterian Church 
and Sunday school. 

June 30, 1903, Mr. McClaugherty married Mary Archer 
Hooper, daughter of Maj. Henry E. Hooper, of Fannville, 



\ irginia. Five children have been born to Mr. and Mra. 
McClaugherty, and tho four now living arc Bernard, Jr., 
Jack, Elizabeth and Henry IIoo|>cr. 

Charles A. Goodwin. One of the moat forceful citi 
zens of Morgantown, Charles A. Goodwin hint always uae<l 
his fine legal talents in tho furtherance of what he baj 
conceived to be for the best interests of the city, nierKing 
the two characters of citizen and lawyer into a' high iht 
sonal combination which has been generally reei>gni/ed 
as an example well worthy of emulation, 'in whatever 
movement he has partici]>ated he has stimulated disruB- 
sion and often bitter 0]>position, which, beside being a 
proof of his forceful personality, has, like the elementH 
of an electric storm, resulted in the clarification of the 
atmosphere and redounded to the general good. 

Mr. Goodwin was born at Morgantown, NovemK'r 19, 
1869, and is in the third generation of his family in 
Monongalia County. His grandfather, Samuel UnudMin, 
the elder, who settled in this county in the latter part 
of the nineteenth century, marrieil Eleanor (McBec) Wor- 
man. Samuel Goodwin, the younger, son of the pioneer 
Samuel, was born in Monongalia County and Iwcamc a 
business man of Morgantown, where for many years ho 
was at the head of a large foundry business and Inter 
a traveling salesman for a leading oil company. During 
the war between the North and the South he enlist^-d and 
served in Company A, First Regiment, West Virginia 
Volunteer Cavalry. He was born in 1H40 and died No- 
vember 25, 1908. Mr. Goodwin married Jane C. Reay, 
daughter of George N. and Elizabeth Reay. 

Charles \. Goodwin, son of Samuel and Jane C. (Reay) 
Goodwin, was primarily educated in the public schools of 
Morgantown, and subsequently attended the University of 
West Virginia, which he first entered in 1886, spent one 
year, and then accompanied hia parent.s to Uniontown, 
Pennsylvania. Returning to the university in 1893, he was 
graduated from its law department with the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws in 1895. In the same year he waa 
admitted to the bar of West Virginia and immediately 
entered upon the practice of his profession at Morgan- 
town. In 1900 he was elected prosecuting attorney for 
Monongalia County, and his first term of- service presented 
such an excellent record that he was reelected to succeed 
himself, and remained in that office for two full terms, 
later acting also as city solicitor for several years. 

Mr. Goodwin has been active in civic affairs for sev- 
eral years, and has taken a prominent part in the differ- 
ent movements inaugurated for the improvement and wel- 
fare of the city. He has been especially active in those 
movements promulgated to guard the city rights from 
encroachment by the corporations behind the city utilities, 
such as the street railways fares, the cost of gas to con- 
sumers and the fight for a new city charter in 1921, in 
which he was particularly conspicuous. Mr. Goodwin has 
proven himself absolutely at home in the court room and 
familiar with its every detail. He has at his finger tips 
every intricacy of practice and is never at a loss as U> 
which course to pursue. While open and above board 
himself, he knows how to meet trickery, and his faculty 
of anticipating and forestalling a move of his opponents 
has been freely commented upon and greatly appreciated 
by his adherents. 

Aside from his profession Mr. Goodwin has few inter- 
ests of a business nature save his connection with coal 
mining. In this industry he has important holdings, and 
is a director in the Brady Coal Company Corporation. 
He is an active member of the Monongalia County Bar 
Association and the West Virginia Bar A.s,socintion. and 
his religious connection is with the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. He holds membership in the Sons of the American 
Revolution and in Morgantown Lodge of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. In political allegiance he is an 
ardent republican and accounted one of the strong men of 
his party at Morgantown. 

On April 17, 1902, Mr. Goodwin was united in mar- 
riage at Morgantown with Miss Frances Sophia Boss, 
who was bom in Switzerland, the daughter of flwisa par- 



108 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



futs who died in the Uuited StateSj To Mr. and Mrs. 
Goodwin there has come one son, George, who was born 
September 3, 1903. 

Thomas Edward Peeey, M. J)., has been in practice as a 
physician and surgeon at Bluefield nearly a quarter of a 
century. His residence coincides with the important period 
in the growth and development of the city as a commercial 
center. Doctor Peery for a number of years has been a 
noted specialist, and his work has given him a position in 
the front rank in this state of men who confine their prac- 
tice entirely to the eye, ear, nose and throat. 

Doctor Peery was born in Southwestern Virginia, in 
Tazewell County, November 1, 1873. Seven days later his 
mother died, and he was taken to Burkes Garden, Virginia, 
and reared by his uncle Stephen Peery 's widow, Mrs. Eliza- 
beth Eepass Peery. He acquired his early education in the 
Academy at Graham, Virginia, and at Eoanoke College, and 
later, in April, 1892, was graduated from the Commercial 
College of Kentucky University. In the fall of 1892 he 
entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Balti- 
more, where he graduated in the spring of 1895. Doctor 
Peery immediately registered in West Virginia on his 
diploma, and after passing the Virginia State Board at 
Eichmond began general practice at Pearisburg, Virginia. 
A few months later, in December, 1895, he left Pearisburg 
and traveled through Florida and the western states. While 
in the West he was licensed to practice medicine by the 
state boards of Utah and California. Eeturning to his 
former home at Burkes Garden, Doctor Peery decided to 
take special work in eye, ear, nose and throat diseases. To 
that end he entered the New York Polyclinic, the North- 
western Throat and Nose Dispensary and the Manhattan 
Eye and Ear Hospital in New York City, where he remained 
two years. In November, 1897, he located at Bluefield, 
and since then has handled a great number of difScult cases 
in his special field and has a reputation extending out for 
hundreds of miles around Bluefield. 

Doctor Peery is a member of the Mercer County Medical 
Society, West Virginia State Medical Society, Virginia 
State Medical Society, Southern Medical Association, Soufli- 
ern States Association of Eailway Surgeons, American 
Medical Association, and the American Ophthalmological 
Society. He is oculist and otolaryngologist for the Norfolk 
& Western Eailway Company, for the West Virginia State 
Coinpensation Commission at Bluefield, the Virginia State 
Compensation Commission, the Clinchfield Coal Corporation, 
Virginia Iron, Coal and Coke Company, and is expert 
examiner for the United States Pension Bureau and United 
States War Risk Insurance. During the war he was a 
member of the Medical Advisory Board as expert examiner 
in eye, ear, nose and throat conditions. Also in the line of 
his profession Doctor Peery teaches pupil nurses in eye, 
ear, nose and throat diseases at the Bluefield Sanitarium and 
St. Luke's Hospital, also at Bluefield. 

Doctor Peery is a director in the Plat Top National Bank 
of Bluefield, is a member of the Bluefield Chamber of Com- 
merce, and is interested in several other corporations in that 
city. He is a member of the Royal Arch and Knight 
Templar Masons, the Mystic Shrine, the Elks, and is a 
Rotarian. He is a democrat in politics. 

The Peery family is an old and honored one in Virginia, 
Doctor Peery representing the fifth generation. The first 
settlers were Scotch-Irish, who came from County Donegal 
and settled near Staunton in Augusta County, Virginia. 
Among these first settlers were Thomas, noted below; John, 
who died in Augusta County; George, who died at Augusta 
in 1802, last survivor of the first settlers, one of his sons 
removing to North Carolina and two to the southern part 
of Tennessee, their descendants being now found in Tennes- 
see, Mississippi, Oklahoma and Texas; James, who removed 
to Botetourt County, Virginia, and probably died there, his 
children moving to Tazewell County and also to Tennessee 
and Kentucky; and William, probably the William Peery 
■who was a member of the first Continental Congress from 
Delaware. 

Thomas Peery, representing the family line including 
Doctor Peery, was a soldier in the Indian wars of 1742 as 



a member of Capt. John Wilson's Militia of Augusi 
County. Among his children were four sons. John, Georg 
William and Thomas. John and George settled in Taz 
well County, William was in the Clarke Expedition to tl 
Northwest Territory, assisting in the capture of Vincenm 
and Kaskasia, and fought for the Colonies on the easteil 
slope of the Alleghenies, being present at Alamance, Nort 
Carolina, against Tarleton at King 'a Mountain under actin 
Capt. Eeese Bowen, and died in Tazewell County in 1830, 

Thomas, of the second generation, married Miss Denni 
and his children were: Jonathan, who married Miss Rol 
erts ; James, who married Miss Gillespie ; Joseph, who ma 
ried Miss Gose; Harvey, who married Miss Williams; Wi 
liam, whose first wife was Miss Wynn and second, Mis 
Kincer; Parmelia, who married a Wilson; Nancy, who ma; 
ried a Helms; Polly, who married a Peery; Rebecca, wh 
married a Whitten; and Thomas, noted below. 

Thomas Peery, of the third generation, was born Noven 
ber 10, 17S6, and died February 17, 1872. He married An 
Gose, born in 1798 and died April 23, 1857. Their childrei 
constituting the fourth generation, were: Jesse, who mai 
ried Angeline Mahood; Stephen, who married Elizabet 
Repass; Margaret, who married Rev. J. J. Greever; Arch 
bald, whose record follows; James, who married Miss Mar 
Spotts; Sophia, who married Elias Foglesong; Sallie, wh 
married Jackson Muncey; Elizabeth, who married Isaa 
Hudson; and Thomas, who married Sarah Repass. 

Archibald Peery, who was born August 9, 1828, was kille 
August 1, 1878, at the age of fifty. During the Civil wa 
he held the rank of lieutenant in the Confederate army, an 
served throughout that struggle. Afterward he gaine 
distinction as a lawyer, residing at Tazewell, and was th 
first prosecuting attorney for McDowell County, West Vii 
;ginia, and for several years prosecuting attorney fo 
Buchanan County, Virginia. He was a democrat and 
member of the Lutheran Church. May 23, 1872, he marriei 
Mary Elizabeth Daily, who was born January 27, 1855, ani 
died in November, 1873, a few days after the birth of hej 
only son, Thomas Edward. 

Dr. Thomas Edward Peery on December 18, 1900, mai 
ried Miss Emma Mildred Fulcher, of Staunton, Virginia 
Their three children, constituting the sixth generation, an 
Mildred, born April 2, 1902, Elizabeth, born August 4, 1903 
and Virginia, born August 23, 1905. 

George P. Ceockett was admitted to the bar soon afte' 
reaching his majority. He entered the profession with i 
singleness of aim, his primary ambition being to excel ii 
the strict limits of the law, and he has never departed t< 
any extent from that aim and has achieved a reputation a 
a lawyer of substantial attainments and is member of oin 
of the prominent law firms of Mercer County, at Bluefield 

Mr. Crockett was born at (Jraham, Virginia, November 6;i 
1879, son of Robert G. and Margaret Eliza (Witten)il 
Crockett. His parents were both born in Tazewell County 
Virginia. The Crockett family is an old and well knowi 
one in Western Virginia and Tennessee, and it is said thai 
three brothers came from either England or Scotland am 
settled in Western Virginia and Eastern Tennessee. Severa 
of their descendants have since become well known ii 
Southern West Virginia. Robert G. Crockett was a farmei 
and cattleman, a livestock dealer, and served two years as i 
Confederate soldier in General Fitzhugh Lee's cavalry. Hf 
was once wounded slightly in the leg, but fully recovered 
and after the war he was elected and served several years 
as sheriff of his county. 

George P. Crockett acquired his early education in tht 
Lutheran preparatory school known as Wartburg Seminary 
which stood on the site now occupied by the Graham Higl 
School. In 1896 he entered the University of West Virginia 
and pursued his studies there in the academic and lart 
departments until graduating in 1901. He was admitted tc 
the bar the same year, and at once entered practice at Blue 
field with his brother, Z. W. Crockett. The firm of Crockett 
& Crockett continued until 1907, in which year Judge John 
Sanders, on resigning from the Supreme Court, joined them, 
and since then Sanders & Crockett has been a law firm of 
great prestige and with a very important clientage in the 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



lO'J 



wutliorn part of the state. Mr. Crockett baa never sought 
inv ot the advantages or emolumenta of politics. He loves 
:he law as a profession, is a deep and thorough student, and 
ji his practice he has appeared before all the courts. He is 
J member of the County, State and American Bar associa- 
tions. 

Hr. Crockett, Trho is unmarried, is a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, belongs to the Eiwanis 
31ub and to several civic organizations at Bluefield. 

William J. Thomas, M. D., is one of the able physicians 
ind surgeons prominently identified with mine practiee in 
Jie coal districts of Logan County, where he has charge of 
luch professional work for the Standard Island Creek Coal 
Dompany at Toplin, as docs he also for the Guyan Valley 
Deal Company and the Low Ash Coal Company. 

Doctor Thomas was bom on his father's farm ten miles 
]istant from Winfield, Putnam County, this state, Octol)er 
J2, 1872, and is a son of .John C. and Roxie (Atkinson) 
rhomas, the latter being a first cousin of former Governor 
[Atkinson and being now a resident of the City of Charles- 
on, at the age of seventy-five years (1922). John C. 
rhomas, who died in 1906, at the age of fifty-nine years, 
was born in Kanawha County, and his wife was born in 
3hio, at a point on the Ohio Kiver just op|iosite Point 
Pleasant, West Virginia. John C. Thomas studied law 
onder the protectorship of Judge Hoge at Winfield, and 
Decamc one of the leading members of the bar of Putnam 
iJounty, he having achieved special success as a criminal 
awyer. In earlier years he had been a successful teacher 
md had also served as county superintendent of schools in 
[•utnam County. He was an active worker in the ranks of 
:he re[iublican party and was a consistent member of the 
Presbyterian Church, as is also his widow. The Thomas 
"amily was founded in Kanawha County in the pioneer days, 
md John C. Thomas, great-grandfather of Doctor Thomas, 
i?as there serving as a member of the County Court at the 
;ime Putnam County was segregated and created an inde- 
jendent county. Doctor Thomas is the younger of the two 
ions in a family of five children, and his brother, Luther B., 
s engaged in the mercantile business at Cannelton, Kana- 
wha County. 

The early education of Doctor Thomas was acquired in 
ie schools of liis native county, and as a youth he there 
nade an excellent record as a teacher in the rural schools, 
ifter attending the University of West Virginia three years 
lie entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons in the 
City of Baltimore. Maryland, in which he was graduated 
n 1892, his reception of the degree of Doctor of Medicine 
laving occurreil before he had attained to his legal ma- 
ioritv. He established himself in practice at Plymouth, 
Putnam County, where he remained until 1907, and therc- 
ifter he was engaged in practice in the City of Charlest^m 
intil IQl.'!, when he liciame official physician and surgeon 
•'or the United States Coal & Oil Company at Holden, Logan 
bounty. Three years later he removed to Accoville, Logan 
bounty, and from that place he came to Toplin, where he 
las since continued his successful service as mine physician 
'or the companies mentioned in tlie opening paragraph of 
his review. He has taken four post-graduate courses in 
he medical department of Johns Hopkins University at 
3altimore, and he is a member of the Logan County and the 
West Virginia State Medical societies and the American 
Medical Association. At the time of the World war Doctor 
Thomas was commissioned a captain in the Medical Corps 
)f the United States army, but was soon afterwards a victim 
)f the influenza, after his recovery from which he found 
'uU demand upon his attention in treating others similarly 
ifflicted, with the result that he was not otherwise called into 
ictive service. His political allegiance is given to the re- 
inblican party, he is affiliated with the Blue Lodge, Chapter 
ind Commandery bodies of York Rite Masonry, as well as 
he Mystic Shrine, and he and his wife hold membership in 
he Presbyterian Church. 

In 1899 Doctor Thomas married Miss Burton Carpenter, 
laughter of Thomas P. Carpenter, M. D., of Poca, Putnam 
f3onnty. Doctor and Mrs. 'Thomas have no children. 



u, '^'Jf Easlbt u president and principal owner of the 
Bluefield Coal and Coke Company. This ia one of the modt 
substantial business corporations in Went Virginia. Kor a 
number of years it has handled a large part of the valuable 
coal production in the famous Pocahontas fleldi. The 
company owns and operates coal propirtic!. of their own, 
but the chief business is wholesaling o(.al as salea agent* 
for many groups of mines in the Pocahontas fields. The 
company has a capital and surplus of »2i»i,(i00, and ita 
annual business is valued at over $.'1,000 000. The executive 
personnel of the company is: Frank 8. Kaslev, i.rcsidcnt; 
J. S. Hewitt, vice president; J. E. Anderson, secretary; 
and W. D. Cooper, treasurer. 

Frank S. Easley has been identified nith the coal indus- 
try for many years. He was born at Pcarisburg, Virginia, 
August 3, 1878, son of John White and Eliiabeth Boyd 
(jPack) Easley. His j.arcnts were natives of Virginia, and 
his father was a very able physician who practiced a num 
ber of years at Pearbburg and later moved to liluefipid, 
where he continued to carry the burdens of his profeMion 
until his death in 1909. He was a leader in ci\i.- alTaini, 
at one time was clerk of his county in Virginia, was a. 
Mason and was a lover of fine horses. ' 

Frank S. Easley attended the common anil high schools 
at Pearisburg, Virginia, took a normal course at Concord, 
Virginia, and then studied law, not with a view to qualify- 
ing for the profession but as a means of rounding out his 
general business education. He studied law in the law 
school of the University of the City of New York. 

Mr. Easley became identifie<I with the Pocahontas Fuel 
Company at Bluefield in 190li. and was with this corporation 
about eight years. Then, in 1914, he purchnseil a con- 
trolling interest in the Bluefield Coal and Coke Company. 
He is a director of the First National Bank of Bluefield aiid 
president of the Wright Milling Company of Kluefield. 

In 1914, at Lvnchburg, Virginia, Mr. Kashv married Miss 
Elizabeth Tyler^ daughter of Walker W. and' Ella (Rucker) 
Tyler, natives of Virginia. Mr. Easley Ls a Baptist, is a 
past master of his Masonic Lodge, a memlier of the Royal 
Arch Chapter, is ]iast eminent commander of the Knights 
Templar, a Shriner. and has also taken some of the Scottish 
Rite degrees. His favorite diversion is golf, and he is a 
familiar figure on the links of the Bluefield Country Club. 
He was one of the organizers of this club and a member of 
its board of governors. He also belongs to the Chaml>er of 
Commerce and Rotary Club, and as a business man of un- 
doubted success, a forceful as well as a popular personality, 
he i? one of the several men with home and interest" at 
Bluefield who rank high among the men of affairs of West 
Virginia. 

LONNIE G. Brav has proved a forceful figure in con- 
nection with the coal-mining industry and »\>o its com 
mercial jjhases and is one of the prominent representatives 
of this important field of enterprise in West Virginia, with 
residence and business headquarters in the City of Wil 
liamson, Mingo County. 

A scion of a family, of Scotch lineage, that was early 
established in North Carolina, Mr. Bray was born in that 
state, on the 31st of March, 1883. a son of Henry Winston 
Bray and Frances Emily (Marley) Bray, both likewise 
natives of North Carolina, where the father continued his 
a.ssociation with farm enterprise until 1895, when he came to 
West Virginia and became connected with the Pocahontas 
Coal Company, at Pocahontas, Virginia, from which place 
he removed with his family to Bramwcll in the following 
year. Lonnie G. Bray left the Bramwell High School when 
twenty years of age and entered the employ of the Booth- 
Bowen Coal & Coke Company, as engineer on a mine loco- 
motive. Later he became assistant mine foreman, and he 
continued in the employ of this company about six years. 
He next gave about four years of clerical service in the 
employ of the Caswell Creek Coal & Coke Company. He 
next became noteman and chainman for R. H. Stowe, mining 
engineer, and he was with the Pocahontas Con.«olidated Coal 
Company, at Switchback about three months. He continued 
in the same service at Williamson one year, and during the 



110 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



ensuing three years he was a mining contractor with the 
Williamson Coal & Coke Company. He then met with an 
accident that necessitated the amputation of his right leg, 
and after recuperating from his injury he became inspector 
for the State Mine Department for the Fourteenth District. 
After serving in this capacity seven months he purchased an 
interest in the Standard Thacker Coal Company, of which 
he became general manager, as did he also of the Burning 
Creek Coal Company. lu 1920 Mr. Bray effected the incor- 
poration of the WOiiamson Pond Creek Coal Sales Company, 
of which he is president and general manager and which 
he has developed into an important agency in handling mine 
products from this district. Mr. Bray was elected a mem- 
ber of the County Court of Mingo County, West Virginia, 
in 1920, and served as a commissioner one year, when he 
was appointed president of the court, January 1, 1922, for a 
term of six years. Mr. Bray is affiliated with York and 
Scottish Kite bodies of the Masonic fraternity and the 
Mystic Shrine, as is he also with the Elks, the Knights of 
Pythias and the United Commercial Travelers. He and his 
wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South. 

At Bristol, Tennessee, in 1906, Mr. Bray married Miss 
Nora Blankenship, daughter of James and Easley (Shan- 
non) Blankenship, of Bramwell, West Virginia, both having 
been born in Virainia. Mr. and Mrs. Bray have five chil- 
dren: Lyda Virginia, Isabelle Frances, James Winaton, 
Gladys and Madge. 

Elbert Egbert Mullins has found in his native county 
ample scope for effective achievement in connection with 
business affairs of important order, as is evident when it is 
stated that he is cashier of the Merchants & Miners Bank 
at Man, an important industrial village' in Logan County. 
He was born on a farm on Coal Eiver, near Sovereign, this 
county, March 4, 1888, and is a son of James D. and Mary 
Helen (Perry) Mullins, both likewise natives of this county. 
James D. Mullins died in April, 1898, at the age of fifty- 
eight years. His father, Hiram Mullins, was a pioneer 
farmer in Logan County, was influential in public affairs 
in his community and served many years as justice of the 
peace, besides which he was a gallant soldier of the Union 
in the Civil war. He was ninety years of age at the time of 
his death, and his widow attained to the age of ninety-six 
years. James D. Mullins was the owner of an excellent 
farm on Coal River, conducted a general store at Sovereign 
and there held the office of postmaster for a long term of 
years, his allegiance having been given to the republican 
party. His wife was born on a farm on which the Village 
of Stowe, Logan County, is now situated, and she now re- 
sides in the home of her son Elbert R., of this sketchy who 
is one of a family of five sons and five daughters and who 
served in the World war as a member of the American 
Expeditionary Forces in France, as did also his brother, 
Edgar E., who was a member of a headquarters artillery 
brigade and who saw active service on the battle front. 
James Perry, maternal grandfather of the subject of this 
sketch, was likewise a Union soldier in the Civil war, and 
the World war gave evidence that the ancestral military 
prestige was not lowered by representatives of the third 
generation of the Mullins and Perry families. 

After receiving the advantages of the public schools 
Elbert R. Mullins was for one year a student in Marshall 
College. Thereafter he was employed by the Logan Coal 
Company and the Cleveland Cliffs Coal Company at Ethel, 
Logan County, where he remained three years, in the ca- 
pacity of bookkeeper. He next became bookkeeper in the 
First National Bank of Logan, and while it was his desire 
to volunteer for service when the nation became involved 
in the World war, circumstances did not warrant this action, 
but in September, 1917, he realized his ambition, in being 
called into service on the first draft. He was sent to Camp 
Lee, Virginia, and thence to Bordeaux, France, where as a 
member of a battalion of heavy artillery he was for forty- 
nine days under fire at the Argonne Forest front. He 
escaped wounds and continued in active service in Franco 
one year and one day. After the close of active conflict, 
with the signing of the armistice, he returned to his native 



land, and at Camp Lee, Virginia, he received his honorable> 
discharge, with the rank of corporal. Almost immediately 
after his return home Mr. MuUins became assistant cashier 
of the First National Bank of Logan, and upon the organ- 
ization of the Merchants & Miners Bank at Man he was 
chosen its cashier, an office in which he is achieving splendid 
work in the upbuilding of the institution. He is a repub- 
lican and is affiliated with the American Legion. 

CosBT C. Cooke, engaged in coal mining and connected 
with several coal companies operating in West Virginia, 
was born in Fauquier County, Virginia, September 18, 1883, 
and is a son of John G. and Carrie C. (Crittenden) Cooke, 
both likewise natives of the historic Old Dominion State. 
The father was there a successful farmer, and his death 
occurred in 1921, when he was sixty-seven years of age. 
His widow is now a resident of Clifton Forge, Virginia. 
Of the seven children the subject of this review was the 
second in order of birth. William F., another of the sons 
graduated from Washington & Lee University in 1918, anrl 
is now (1922) chief engineer for the Red Jacket Coal Com- 
pany in Mingo County, West Virginia. 

Cosby C. Cooke supplemented the discipline of the public 
schools by attending the Virginia Polytechnic Institute at 
Blacksburg, which he left in 1909. He thereafter was for 
one year a student in the historic old University of Vir- 
ginia. After leaving the Polytechnic Institute he made 
his first appearance in the West Virginia coal fields and 
became associated with the American Coal Company at 
McComas, Mercer County. He was next connected with 
the land department of the Pocahontas Coal & Coke Com- 1 
pany at Bramwell, and later was transferred to the com- | 
pany's offices at Bluefield. Thereafter he served as assist- ' 
ant engineer in construction work for the Chesapeake & i 
Ohio Railroad, and it was after tliis service that he passed I 
a year as a student in the University of Virginia. He then 
became chief engineer for the Lowmoor Iron Company at 
Lowmoor, Virginia, and in 1915 he came to Kay Moor, 
Fayette County, West Virginia, where for three years he 
was an executive in the coal department of the same com- 
pany. For the ensuing three years he was superintendent 
of the Rita Mine of the Gnyan Mining Company, and since 
that time he has been the efficient and popular superintend- 
ent of the Man Mining Company, his career having been 
one marked by consecutive advancement through loyal and 
effective service. He is a member of the American Insti- 
tute of Mining Engineers and Metallurgists, is affiliated 
with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, is a 
member of the Presbyterian Church, and his wife holds 
membership in the Baptist Church. 

The vear 1917 recorded the marriage of Mr. Cooke and 
Miss Ella Carpenter Rupert, daushter of Dr. L. B. Rupert, 
of Kanawha County, West Virginia. 

Floyd D. Stollings, who has been a prominent and in 
fluential figure in connection with the timber business in 
West Virg-inia and also in the handling of coal lands, has 
the distinction of maintainins; his home in a town that was 
named in his honor, the attractive village of Stollings, Lo- 
gan County. He was born near Chapmanville, this county, 
in January, 18.5.S, and is a son of Nelson and Lurania 
(Workman) Stollings. the former of whom likewise was 
born near Chapmanville, and the latter of whom was born 
in Boone County, where her death occurred in 1890 and 
where her husband died in 1900. at the venerable age of 
eighty-four years. Josiah Stollings, grandfather of the 
subject of this review, owned large tracts of land near 
Chapmanville, and was one of the representative pioneers 
of Logan County. The Stollingses came from North Caro- 
lina and were numbered among the first settlers in the 
Guyan Valley in what is now West Virginia. Abraham 
Workman, maternal grandfather of Mr. Stollings, likewise 
came to this section in an early day, his former home hav-: 
iug been in North Carolina, near the Virginia line. 

Nelson Stollings finally established his home on a farm 
in Boone County, about midway between Chapmanvills 
and Madison, and he met with heavy property and finan- 
cial losses at the time of the Civil war. He became a mafl 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



111 



itractor, and transported mail from Logan to Charleston 
id also between Logan and Wayne, besides which he es- 
blisbed a postoffice at Tracefork, a village now known as 
anila, in Boone County. After the close of the war Nel- 
■on Stollings was prosperous in his activities aa a farmer, 
'trader and mail contractor. He was born in the year 1816 
and his wife in 1821, both having been earnest mciiibers of 
the Missionary Baptist Church and his political allegiance 
having been given to the democratic party. Of their seven 
fhildrpn Floyd I)., of this sketch, is the only one now liv- 
ing. The oldest son, Thomas B.. though under age at the 
time, enlisted for service as a Confederate soldier in the 
Civil war. 

Floyd D. Stollings gained his early education in the 
schools of Logan and Boone counties, and his initial work 
of independent order was the service which he gave as 
postmaster at Traccfork, From 1.S74 to 1876, inclusive, he 
was in the |>anhandle district of Texas, and upon his re- 
turn to West Virginia he engaged in the mercantile busi- 
ness in Boone County. He next turned his attention to the 
timber industry and instituted operations on Twelve Pole 
Creek and Guyandot River. He first bought poplar and 
walnut timber, which he would raft down to the Ohio 
River, down which stream the fleets of logs were towed by 
boats to market points. In his operations, which became of 
large scojie, he maintained his headquarters at Catletts- 
burg, Kentucky, which was the headquarters for all of the 
old timber men operating on the Twelve Pole and the 
Guyandot rivers. Mr. Stollings has bought and sold many 
thousands of acres of timber and coal lands, has cut the 
timber from much land that he later sold to coal operators, 
and among his purchases was 500 acres where the viUage 
of Stollings is now situated, this town having been founded 
in 1900. which was named in his honor and to the develop- 
ment of which he has contributed in general measure, he 
having here established his home after many years' resi- 
dence in Boone County. He is a democrat in political al- 
legiance and his wife is a member of the Christian Church. 
The year 1S73 recorded the marriage of Mr. Stollings 
and Miss Luella A. Stone, daughter of the late William N. 
Stone, of Boone County. Of this union were born five sons 
and five daughters, two of the sons being deceased. 

JOH.v F. Fekrell. An interesting example of the power 
of hard work and continuous energy in molding the des- 
tiny of the individual and also of other persons and af- 
fairs around him is the career of .John F. Ferrell, of Logan. 
The sphere of his activities has been the timber and lum- 
ber industry. There was jirobably no part of the heavy 
labor involved in logging among these West Virginia hills 
which escaped his early experience. It is literally true that 
he has come up from the ranks to the present responsibilities 
as general manager and one of the owners of the Logan 
Planing Mill, one of the largest industries of its kind in 
this part of the state. 

Mr. Ferrell was born at his father's farm at Chapman- 
ville, April 28, 1878, son of B. C. and Sarah (Dingess) 
Ferrell. His mother, who is still living, at the age of sixty- 
six, was born on Crawley Creek, six miles from Chapman- 
ville, daughter of John liingess, a native of the same local- 
ity who died while a soldier in the Confederate Army. At 
one time the Dingess family owned all the land from the 
present location of Logan to the mouth of Big Creek. 
B. C. Ferrell, who died in January, 1909, at the age of 
fifty-five, was born at Chapmanville, son of Samuel Fer- 
rell, who came from Kussell County, Virginia, in 1841, and 
acquired a large amount of valuable land in these valleys. 
The original homestead of the Ferrells is still owned in the 
family. Samuel Ferrell was opposed to slavery, was a con- 
sistent member of the Christian Church, and the camp 
meeting grounds of that denomination were on his land. 
He was a strong republican. B. C. Ferrell was a farmer, 
stock raiser and dealer, and before the days of railroads 
he drove his stock over the mountains to market in Boane 
County. He was a member of the Christian Church and 
was a democrat. Samuel Ferrell had a family of five sons 
and one daughter. Besides B. C, another son. Squire, died 
at the age of sixty years. The three living sons are O. F,, 



L. B. and R. L., and the daughter, Nancy Jane, ia the wife 
of John Oodby, all pr08{>erous farmers. U. C. Ferrell and 
wife had a large family of sons and daughter*: John F., 
the oldest; Hoxie, wife of O. C. Winter, of Huntington, a 
traveling salesman; W. V,, at the old homo place; Sarah 
Ann, who died at the age of fifte.n; Wallace E., traveling 
representative for the Logan Planing .Mill and a rcaideot of 
Huntington; Li. 8., in Uie feed l.u.iineiu! at Chapmanville; 
Kuth, wife of E, L. Carter, a traveling saieaniun with home 
at Huntington; Mary, wife of A. S. Chrintiun, living at the 
old Dingess place at the mouth of Crawley Creek ; Utile, 
Hife of Kylcr Porter, an operator for tlie Chc8a|H'ake and 
Ohio Railroad at Chapmanville; Peter M., living with hia 
mother at Chapnmnville; and Julia, who died at the age of 
three, 

John F. Ferrell grew up at Cliapmanville, acquired hii 
early schooling there, but his better education has Ijeen 
achieved since he married and is ilue to his application to 
business and also to studies taken up anci carried on in the 
intervals of other work. He was only fifti.'cn when he went 
to work in the timber, felling tries, sawing the logs, and 
his own labor has helped remove the timber from extensive 
portions from Elk Creek and Big Ugly Creek. Mr. Ferrell 
has owned probably twenty saw mills, and during the |>erio<l 
of the great war he operated five mills of his own. The 
company owning and operating the Logan Planing Mill 
was organized January 11, 1916, and acquired the property 
formerly known as the Lawson Planing Mill. Mr. Ferrell 
from the first has been active manager of the plant. They 
are manufacturers of building material, consisting of yel- 
low pine from the long leafed district of the South, fir 
and fruit from the Northwest, and also native timber. 
Wliile much of the output is consumed locally, this is one 
of the firms that do a heavy export business, selling output 
as far away as Australia. 

Mr. Ferrell while a member and chairman of the School 
Board in Chapmanville district was certainly responsible 
in no small degree for the tine schools established and 
maintained there. On May 9, 1H99, at the age of twenty- 
one, he married Miss Delia Garrett, daughter of Kev. W. G. 
Garrett, who was a widely known minister of the Christian 
Church in this section. Mr. and Mrs. Ferrell arc the par- 
ents of eight children. The daughter Garrett is the wife of 
Walter T. Mitchell, an overseas veteran, and they are now 
at Prescott, Arizona, where Mr. Mitchell is recovering from 
illness contracted during the war. The other children arc 
all in the home circle and their names are Jane, Kuth, 
Eloise, Sarah, James, John and lola. An adopted son, 
Roy, was killed on the battle front in France, Noveml)er 9, 
1918, just two days before the signing of the armi.sticc. 

Mr. and Mrs. Ferrell are members of the Christian 
Church, and he is a past grand of the Indei>i'ndent Order 
of Odd Fellows at Logan, belongs to the Elks and is a 
democrat. He resides at 825 Ninth Street, West Hunting- 
ton, West Virginia. 

Mr. Ferrell at the time of his marriage had a cash capi- 
tal of only $7.55. Out of this he paid five dollars to the 
minister for jicrforming the ceremony. They liought their 
housekeeping outJit on credit, and restricted themselves to 
the essentials, buying only half a set each of knives, forks, 
plates and cups and saucers. Their bedstead cost $2.i50, 
and it was equipped with a shuck mattress, while his mother 
gave them a feather bed. Mr. and Mrs. Ferrell have been 
real partners in every phase of their married life. For 
two vears Mr. Ferrell did the hea\7 manual toil of the 
timber work, also worked inside. At that time he owned 
four mules, and he would get into the timber with his 
teams before daylight and continued until long after dark. 
Mrs. Ferrell fed the team when he returned home and also 
the following morning before he started out. It was aa ■ 
result of such cooperation that they got their start. 

Joseph W. Statman. The president of the Potomae 
State School at Keyser is Joseph W. Stayman, who for 
more than a quarter of a century has been actively asso- 
ciated with educational interests in West Virginia. The 
first year he was in the state he taught a country school, but 
for the greater part of twenty years his work baa been at 



112 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 






Keyser, either in the city schools or what is now the State 
College. 

Mr. Stayman wag born at Carlisle, Cumberland County, 
Pennsylvania. His parents were Joseph B. and Mary A. 
(Shelley) Stayman, the latter a daughter of Daniel Shelley. 
Joseph B. Stayman was born in Cumberland County on a 
farm, secured a college education in Dickinson CoUege, and 
began his business career as a forwarder, with headquarters 
at Mechanicsburg. He was in that business until late in 
life, then retiring, and he lived for some years at Carlisle, 
where he died in 1898. During the Civil war he was a 
Union soldier as a private in a company commanded by his 
father. This company saw its chief duty within the state, 
but had some more serious service during the Confederate 
invasion which terminated in the battle of Gettysburg. The 
widow of Joseph B. Stayman died in July, 1914. They 
reared four children: Daniel, of New York City; William, 
of Pottsville, Pennsylvania; Mrs. Garrett Stevens, of Cleve- 
land, Ohio; and Joseph Webster. 

Joseph W. Stayman lived until he was sixteen with his 
maternal grandparents near Harrisburg. He was among 
country people of Pennsylvania Dutch stock and had some 
excellent intellectual influences. His grandfather, Daniel 
Shelley, was a well known educator and was the first county 
superintendent of Cumberland County schools and estab- 
lished the Normal School at Newville, an institution since 
moved to Shippensburg. After teaching for a number of 
years Daniel Shelley entered the service of the Cumberland 
Valley Railroad Company, and was in that work until he 
finally retired. Joseph W. Stayman attended school at 
Shiremanstown, Pennsylvania, where his grandparents lived, 
graduated in 1890 from the Dickinson Preparatory School 
at Carlisle, and in the same fall entered upon his regular 
collegiate work in Dickinson College, where he received his 
Bachelor's degree in 1894. Dickinson College gave him the 
Master of Arts degree in 1897, and during his individual 
career as an educator he has taken post-graduate work in 
the University of Chicago, in Columbia University of New 
York, and has recently completed the work leading up to 
the Doctor's degree in Pitt University at Pittsburgh. 

In 1896, soon after leaving college, a matter of business 
brought him to West Virginia, and while here he accepted a 
proposition to teach a country school at the mouth of 
Greenland Gap in Grant County. He taught there one term, 
the following year he was principal of the three-room school 
at Moorefield, and in 1899 came to Keyser to teach the 
ninth grade in the local schools. After a year he was called 
to Terra Alta as principal of the tovm schools, where he 
remained three years. Since then his work has been in 
Keyser, where for nine years he was superintendent of the 
city schools, and resigned that office to become principal 
of what was then known as the Keyser Preparatory Branch 
of the West Virginia University. By act of the Legislature 
in 1921 the name of this institution was changed to the 
Potomac State School, with Mr. Stayman as its first presi- 
dent. 

He has completed ten years of work as head of this in- 
stitution. Prom a secondary school, designed as a feeder 
to the State University, it is now rapidly building up to the 
status of a junior college. The school suffered a great 
handicap in 1917 by the loss of its building by fire. Since 
then a second year of college work has been added to the 
curriculum, and graduates from the school are entitled to 
enter the junior class of any standard college or university 
in the United States. The teaching force has been improved 
both in number and in qualifications, and in the way of 
equipment Mr. Stayman has witnessed the building of two 
dormitories, the acquisition of a farm where vocational edu- 
cation is taught and the institution of vocational depart- 
ments, home economics and commerce. 

During his many years of residence at Keyser Mr. Stay- 
man has acquired some substantial business interests, and 
his enthusiasm is especially directed in the line of fruit 
growing. He first acquired an interest in the Alkire 
orchard, and in association with four others purchased that 
property, now known as the Potomac State Orchard, one 
of the large orchards in this section of the state. There are 
15,000 apple trees of bearing age in condition, and under 



the new management the property has been greatly inK 
proved. Mr. Stayman is also a director of and had a pari' 
in the organization of the Potomac Farm and Orchard Asso- 
ciation, doing a general fruit packing and sales business at 
Keyser. Plans are now being formulated for the construc- 
tion of a by-product plant for using the lower grade fruit 
and converting it into food products. 

Mr. Stayman took the initiative and was made chairman 
of the organizing committee of the Keyser Eotary Club in 
1921. In Masonry he served three years as master of Davis 
Lodge No. 51, A. F. and A. M., was for twelve years secre- 
tary of Keyser Chapter, R. A. M., has been captain general 
of Damascus Commandery, Knights Templar, and is a mem- 
ber of Osiris Temple of the Mystic Shrine at Wheeling. 
He is a republican, and is an active member of the Method- 
ist Episcopal Church, serving fifteen years on its board of 
stewards. 

At Keyser, November 19, 1914, he married Miss Margaret 
Liller, daughter of William A. and Martha (Kalbaugh) 
Liller. Her father was a contractor and builder who spent 
most of his life in the eastern part of the state. Mrs. 
Stayman was born at Keyser, is a graduate of the local 
public schools and the Keyser Preparatory School's music 
department and completed her musical education in National 
Park Seminary at Washington. She has been a teacher of 
music in Keyser and is active in musical circles. The only 
son of Doctor and Mrs. Stayman is Joseph Webster, Jr., 
born in 1915, and one daughter, Martha Shelley, born in 
1921. 

Frederick E. Christie has had twenty years since he 
completed his education in which to lay the foundation of 
a secure business success. More than half of this time he 
spent in the service of the Norfolk & Western Railway 
Company at Vivian and Bluefield, West Virginia, and for 
the past eight years has been an official in one of the lead- 
ing financial and business organizations of the city. 

Mr. Christie was born at Princeton, Mercer County, West 
Virginia, July 7, 1884, son of Richard Clark and Elizabeth 
Pearls (White) Christie. The Christies are of English an- 
cestry and were early converts to the Wesleyan Reformation 
in the eighteenth century. On his mother's side Mr. Chris- 
tie is of French Huguenot origin, his ancestors having set- 
tled near Charleston, South Carolina. The Pearls in his 
mother's name represents another branch of her ancestry. 
Colonels George and Richard Pearls were soldiers of the 
Revolution and Colonel George donated fifty-three acres 
of his plantation for the townsite and from him the 
town known as Pearisburg, Virginia, was named. Richard 
Clark Christie was born in Monroe County and his wife, 
Elizabeth Pearis Christie, was born in Mercer County. Rich- 
ard Clark Christie served eighteen years (three terms) as 
circuit and criminal clerk of Mercer County, was a graduate 
of the class of 1876 from the University of Kentucky, es- 
tablished his home at Princeton the same year and achieved 
prominence as a lawyer in Princeton. 

Frederick R. Christie attended the common and high 
schools of Princeton, graduated from the Princeton Acad- 
emy in 1902, and on leaving school entered the service of 
Castner, Curram & Bullitt, coal shippers. He was a clerk 
in their office two years at Vivian. Since then his home 
has been at Bluefield, where for ten years he was assistant 
car distributor on the Pocahontas Division of the Norfolk 
& Western Railway. Mr. Christie in 1914 joined the Vir- 
ginia Realty Loan Company, Inc., as secretary and director 
and is now vice president of that prosperous business. This 
institution has contributed largely toward the building of 
the City of Bluefield, having built more homes than any 
other organization in the city. He is also vice president and 
a director in the Bluefield Trust Company, a new financial 
institution recently organized with a capital and surplus 
of $220,000. 

Mr. Christie married at Bluefield, August 14, 1907, Miss 
Willie Gay Barrow, daughter of Capt. and Mrs. William H. 
Barrow, of Dublin, Pulaski County, Virginia. Captain 
Barrow was a gallant soldier of the Southern Confederacy 
and died a number of years later from a wound he re- 
ceived during the war. The following children were born 



il 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



118 



■ .ierick K. and Willie Gay (Barrow) Christie: Freder- 
;;., Jr., fourteen years old, Sarah Elizabeth, ten, and 
:^aret Gay, five years old. 

Mr. Christie is a Master Mason, Royal Arch Mason, 
K' .;ht Templar Mason and Shriner, active in the Chamber 
. ot Commerce, a member of the Blueiield Country Club, and 
I his favorite recreation is hunting and fishing. He is a 
I member of the First Baptist Church, on its Board of Dea- 
1 »^„o assistant superintendent of the Sunday School and a 
IS worker in all of its endeavors. Mrs. Christie and 
!• u are also members of the First Baptist Church. Mr. 
•ie volunteered for Y. M. C. A. work (being too old for 
j^ervice) with the American army in France, but was 
illcd into service on account of the sudden ending o< 
I Uic World war. He is treasurer of Bluefield College, a mem- 
ber of the Board of Trustees, also a member of the Build- 
ing Committee and was instrumental in founding and lo- 
cating the college in Bluefield. He traces his ancestry 
through the following genealogy: 

The Christie family: James Christie, the original set- 
tler, was bom in England and came from London to Amer- 
icA with John and Charles Wesley and Tlieodore Whitfield, 
going first to Georgia and later crossed the Alleghany 
Mountains in the early days of the colonies and settled 
where Union, Monroe County, West Virginia, is now lo- 
cated. He became a member of the "Holy Cross," and 
the motto of this order was, "I swear to cross the moun- 
tains." 

He was a Methodist preacher and firm supporter of the 

Wesleyan Reformation. He held a position under the King 

of England as cup bearer in the King's Court. He resigned 

,. the position, however, as a protest .against a religious tax 

imposed upon him by the Church of England. 

In the year 1785 he built the first church on the western 
slopes of the Alleghany Mountains, and it is now known as 
1 Old Rehobeth. At the age of 110 years he could mount his 
horse without assistance, and he rode about the country- 
side marrying people as long as he was able to sit upon his 
! horse. 

1 James Christie, the settler, had two sons, James and Rob- 
• ert. They enlisted in the War of 1812 but were not called 
. into service. Robert married Margaret Crosier and several 
children were born to them, as follows: James M., who 
married Cynthia Peters Clark in the year 1839; Thomas 
I M., who married Catharine Boggess; Catharine, who mar- 
ried James Carpenter. 

To James M., who married Cynthia Peters Clark, were 
born the following children: Damaris Catharine married 
William S. Hobbs, who was an officer of McComas Battery 
and distinguished himself as a gallant soldier of the Civil 
war; Margaret E. remained single in life; Newton .7., who 
was a gunner in Chajjman's Battery, was a gallant soldier, 
was taken prisoner at Camp Lookout and died there; John 
Wesley and Caroline died at the ages of eleven and two 
years, respectively; Harvey R., who remained single, dis- 
tinguished himself as a musician and writer nf many beau- 
tiful hymns and composed several of the leading hymn 
books of this country, was a graduate of the University of 
Tennessee; Thomas H. R., who married a ifiss Hunt, was 
also a very distinguished musician, possessing an unexcelled 
tenor voice and wonderful skill in instrumental music; 
Lewis F., who married Linnie A. Lemon, is a cattle gr.izer 
and owns about 1.000 acres of Blue Grass land in Monroe 
County; Samuel M., who married Emma C. Burdctt. is also 
a very prosperous farmer and grazer of Greenbrier County; 
Milton W., who married Ozella Ruth McKinzie, served as 
deputy circuit and criminal clerk of Mercer County, also as 
deputy sheriff for a great number of years. Richard C, 
who married Elizabeth Pearis White, is a lawyer by pro- 
fession, having graduated at the University of Kentucky 
in the class of '76, was elected to the Circuit and Criminal 
clerkship of Mercer County three successive terms, and re- 
ceived the nomination of the democratic party for the 
fourth term, but was defeated in the rejiubliean landslide of 
1896. 

To Richard C. and Elizabeth Pearis Christie the follow- 
ing children were bom: Henry E. (Hal), Frederick R., 
Paul C. and James B. Henry E. married Miss Rose Pike, 



of Kentucky, and to them one child waa born, Anna Eliia- 

beth. They live in Win-hr.tr-r, Knitii-Vv, m„,I I,,, i, „ trmT- 

eling salesman, a.s is ' 

a veteran of the W.^ 

American Army frou 

of Sommc Kivir, St. Mil, 

Argonno Forest, went over • 

ries of battles ami was «.. itUo 

of Argonne Forest, 

The Clark Family. Benjamine Clark, born in Klne and 
Queen County, Virginia, in 17:in. «.ttl,,l !„ \ii;,ni»ln7 Ho 



<■. i« 
the 

ttlrt 
and 



th Wilwrn. 
who r.iiiie 

•'■■ .f Bi.n- 
rn in 
iiroe 
^••vo- 
Micr 

;irk, 
real 
sur- 
-h<Hl 
He 



was a son of Jonathan, his wif. 
The father was^he fourth in dr>. ■ 
from England to James River in ■ 
jamine Clark was Elizabeth. Their vu ^ 
1764 and died in 1857. He settled n. ; 
County, West Virginia, in 17<<:i. wn- n ; • 
lutionary war, and prior to t" 
for a number of years in tl 

Samuel Clark was a near r 
who was born in Virginia in I7'L' iii.i > 
pioneer and woodsman. He w.ns, like \\ 
veyor with chain and compass. With axe 
his way far into the lonely fore?.t of tli. 
was one of the scouts of Virginia who rnor 

of Virginia in the expedition against ' i the 

one who aided in his defeat at the battle ..f r..iMt I'lean- 
ant at the mouth of the Kanawah River. Later (JIark made 
his way into Kentucky with Daniel Boone. Major Samuel 
Clark, the Revolutionary soldier, was both a courier and 
scout, a devoted friend' of George Washington. On being 
sent out once as courier to deliver a dispatch for Washing- 
ton the Indians chased him so closely he wag on one hill, 
the Indians yelling at him on the other. 

Maj. Samuel Clark married Margaret Handir, and to 
them the following children were born: James 11., born 
in 1792, died in 1864 and married Cinderella Davis; Will- 
iam married Nelly Benson in 1808; Alexander married Eliz- 
abeth Dickey in 1819; John married Mary Elizabeth John 
son in 1814; Cynthia married Capt. .lohn Peters in 1813. 

The children of John Oark, who married Elizabeth 
Johnson in 1814, were: Peggy, who married Thomas Ed- 
die; Mary, who married David Pence; Caroline, who mar- 
ried Granville Smith; Cynthia Peters, who married James 
M. Christie; Thomas, who married Eliza Smith; Samuel 
M., who married Martha Ball.ird. 

The children of Cj-nthia Peters Clark, who married James 
M. Christie, are given under the caption of the "Christie 
family." 

The White Family was of English ori;;in. . ..inUig to 
.\merica in the early days of the Coloni' -' on 

the James River in Virginia. William ^\ ried 

a Miss Workman, was the progenitnr of •' I'.izc- 

well County, Virginia, and Mcrn i ■ "in. 

He came to this region from Ci- nin. 

Benjamine White, his son, was ^' of 

Mercer and represented this county in ' "m- 

bly of Virginia before the states were - was 

prominent in the business and political a; inty 

for more than half of a century. He ■ 'Cth 

Pearis and enjoyed a long and hapjiy v< ving 

been married sixty-one years before the • vife. 

He died at the age of eighty-six and his :■■ of 

eighty-three. He was a man of very str" -ter- 

ling character. To them were born the i' iren: 

George W., who married Alice Bailey; J"'" II , «!i" mar- 
ried Julia Cunningham; Charles, who was never m.irricd; 
Sarah Louisa, who marrie^l Andrew J. !!■ 'rn; r'!;'Tt>€th 
Pearis, who married Rinhard C. Christie; 'igh- 

ters, Bell, Mary and Minnie, died at t! 'en, 

sixteen and seventeen, all within two v. 'iph- 

theria. 

The Pearis FarnQy. According to tradition the CSty of 
Paris, France, derived its name from this family. They 
were descendants of French Royalty, aiil the nnc «tor» of 
this familv were Hutruinnt= who tlcl fr^ rn rrriii.<', stop- 
ping temporarily in Barb.Tlofs. thonro. a!.nut ITHi^to .South 
Carolina, locating on an island about five miles from Port 



114 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



Eoyal, to which they gave the name ' ' Paris Island. ' ' This 
name is sometimes spelled ' ' Pearris, ' ' again ' ' Paris ' ' and 
"Pearis, " the modern spelling being Pearis. The set- 
tler was Alexander Pearis (Parris), who became quite a 
distinguished man in the early days of the history of South 
Carolina. 

Judge McCrady, in his History of South Carolina under 
the Proprietary Government, 1670-1719, gives considerable 
prominence to Col. Alexander Pearis, whom he shows to have 
been commissioner of free schools, commissioner for build- 
ing churches, member of House of Commons, of which Col. 
William Rhett was speaker, as a military oflBcer and one of 
the judges to try pirates, and as commander of militia in 
the Revolution of 1719. Col. Alexander Pearis had a son, 
Alexander, who made some conveyance of property in 1722- 
26. Alexander Pearis, Jr., had a son, John Alexander, 
who likewise had a son, John Alexander, as shown by his 
will probated in August, 17.52. The last mentioned John 
Alexander had a son, Robert, who spelled his name, as did 
his father, John Alexander, "Pearis." This Robert Pearis 
died about 1781. He had a daughter, Malinda, who married 
Samuel Pepper, who removed to the New River Valley prior 
to 1770 and located at the place where, about 1780, he es- 
tablished a ferry, and which place has since been known 
as Peppers. His two brothers-in-law, George and Robert 
Alexander Pearis, sons of the preceding Robert, came with 
him, or about the same time. At the date of the coming 
of Pepper and the Pearises, in fact before that date, there 
lived in the neighborhood where Pepper located a gentle- 
man by the name of Joseph Howe, who had some pretty 
daughters, and it did not take long for these young Hugue- 
nots to fall in love with these girls, at least with two of 
them. An examination of the Pearis Bible discloses that 
George Pearis was born February 16, 1746 and was mar- 
ried to Eleanor Howe February 26, 1771. Robert Alexander 
Pearis was probably two years younger than his brother 
George. He married also a daughter of .Joseph Howe, and 
about 1790 removed with his family to Kentucky and set- 
tled in what is now Bourbon County, and from whom it is 
said the town of Paris in that county is named. He had a 
son who in the early history of that state was a member 
of its Legislature. George Pearis remained in the vicinity 
of Pepper's Ferry until the spring of 1782. Prior to this 
time he had been made a captain of one of the militia com- 
panies of the County of Montgomery. 

On the advance of the British Army into the Carolinas, 
in the fall of 1780. there was a Tory uprising in Surry 
County, North Carolina, of such formidable proportion as 
to impell Gen. Martin Armstrong, commanding that mili- 
tary district, to call on Ma.i. Joseph Cloyd, of the Mont- 
gomery County Militia, to aid in its suppression. About the 
1st day of October, 1780 Major Cloyd with three companies 
of mounted men, one of which was commanded by Capt. 
George Pearis, marched to the State of North Carolina, 
where he was joined by some of the militia of that state, 
augmenting his forces to about 160 men, with which he. on 
the 14th day of the month, attacked the Tories at Shallow 
Ford of the Yadkin, defeating them with a loss of fifteen 
killed and a number wounded. Major Cloyd had one killed 
and a few wounded, among them Captain Pearis, severely, 
through the shoulder. This fight cleared the way for the 
crossing of General Green 's army at this ford, which the 
Tories were seeking to obstruct. Captain Pearis returned 
home woundedj and in addition to his suffering from his 
wound had the misfortune to lose his wife by death in a 
few days after his return, she dying on November 14th. 
Captain Pearis' wound disabled him from performing fur- 
ther military service, and having purchased from Capt. 
William Ingles, about the year of 1779. for seventy pounds 
sterling (about $350.00), the tract of 204 acres of land on 
New River — whereon is now situated Pearisburg station on 
the line of the Norfolk & Western Railway, and which 
land was known for years as the Hale and Charleton tracts 
— he in the spring of 1782, removed thereto, erecting his 
dwelling house at a point nearly due south of the residence 
of Mr. Edward C. Hale, and a little to the southeast of 
where the road from Mr. Hale's house unites with the turn- 
pike. Two or three years after Captain Pearis made his 



location he had a ferry established across the New River, 
and kept a small stock of goods, and later kept public en- 
tertainment. On October 5, 1784, he married Rebecca 
Clay, daughter of Mitchell Clay. The children of Col. 
George Pearis and his wife, Rebecca Clay Pearis, were: 
George N., Robert Alexander, Samuel Pepper, Charles 
Lewis; their daughters, Rebecca, Julia, Rhoda, Sallie and 
Eleanor. 

Col. George N. Pearis married Elizabeth Howe, daughter 
of Maj. Daniel Howe; Robert Alexander Pearis married 
Miss Arbuckle, of Greenbrier County; Samuel Pepper Pea- 
ris married Rebecca Chapman, daughter of Isaac and Elian 
Johnston Chapman; Charles Lewis Pearis married Margaret 
Peck, daughter of John and Elizabeth Suidow Peck; Re- 
becca married John Brown, they went to Texas about 1836, 
leaving a son, George Pearis Brown, who lived for a num- 
ber of years in Mercer County; Julia married Col. Garland 
Gerald; Rhoda married Col. John B. George; Sallie married 
Baldwin L. Sisson; and Eleanor married Capt. Thomas J. 
George. 

The children of Col. George N. Pearis and his wife, Eliza- 
beth Howe Pearis, were: Capt. George W., who never 
married, and died in 1898, at the age of nearly eighty-nine 
years; Col. Daniel Howe, who married Louisa A. Johnston; 
Rebecca, who married George D. Hoge; Nancy, who married 
Archer Edgar; Ardelia, who married Daniel R. Cecil; and 
Elizabeth, who married Benjamin White. Robert Alexan- 
der Pearis and his wife had no children, and after the 
death of said Robert Alexander his widow married Colonel 
McClung. 

The children of Col. Garland Gerald and Julia Pearis 
Gerald, his wife, were: Sons, Thomas, Robert, Pearis, Gar» 
land T. ; daughters, Rebecca, who married Dr. Edwin 
Grant; Louisa, who married James M. Cunningham; Mary, 

who married ; Fannie, who married a Mr. Tost; 

Virginia, who died in Texas, unmarried; and Ophelia, who 
married 

The children of Col. John B. George and Rhoda Pearis 
George were: George Pearis George, who married Sarah A. 
Davidson ; Jane, who married Judge Sterling F. Watts. 
The names of the children of Caiit. Thomas J. George and 
wife are as follows: A. P. G. George, Robert, and John; 
the daughters, Larissa, who married Jacob A. Peck; Ma- 
tilda, who married a Mr. Austin, and Rebecca, who married 
George W. Jarrell. 

Charles Lewis Pearis and his wife, Margaret Peck Pearis, 
had but one child, a daughter, Electra, who married Dr. 
Charles W. Pearis, and they had no children. 

As already stated, John Brown and family went to Texas 
prior to 1836. Some of his older sons were soldiers in the 
Texan army. He settled in that part of the state that be- 
came Collin County. George Pearis Brown, the son of 
John, remained in Virginia. He married a Miss Mahood, 
a sister of the late Judge Alexander Mahood, and he and 
his wife left numerous descendants. 

The elder Col. George Pearis, the settler, was long a mag- 
istrate of Montgomery and Giles counties, and sat in the 
courts of both counties, and was for a term the presiding 
magistrate of the latter county. The first court of the 
County of Giles was held in a house belonging to him, and 
the land for the county buildings and town was given by him 
and the town of Pearisburg took its name from him. He 
died on November 4, 1810; and his ashes repose in the bury- 
ing ground on the farm on which he died, on the little hill 
just southwest of Pearisburg station. His widow married 
Philip Peters, and she died April 15, 1844. The elder Col. 
George Pearis' wife, Rebecca Clay, who was the daughter 
of Mitchell Clay, of Clover Bottoms, was a first cousin of 
Henry Clay of Kentucky, who was one of the greatest and 
most honored statesmen this nation ever produced. 

Everett A. Leonard, Jr., went into business soon after 
finishing his education, was a merchant for several years in 
old Virginia, and for the past twenty years has been a resi- 
dent of Bluefield and a prominent factor in the growth and 
development, keeping apace with the city itself, of the Blue- 
field Hardware Company, of which he is president and 
manager. 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



lis 



Leonard was boru iu liuMScIl Couutj, Virginia, Au- 
15, 1876, sou of Edward A. and Eliza (Keynolds) 
1 • iird, both natives of Virginia, his father of Washington 
i\ iiity and his motlicr of Kussell County. Edward A. 
I.r iiard was a Baptist minister and was also a Confederate 
sill lier, all through the war with a Virginia regiment. The 
la^t year he was captured and was confined in a Federal 
prisun at Kock Island. 

Kverett A. Leonard, Jr., acquired a common school educa- 
tiiin, finished his high school course in Russell County in 
]^'.'', and about that time his parents removed to Greene 
I .n.Mty, Tennessee. While there he attended Mosheim Col- 
li :;■, and took a six months commercial course at Lexington, 
K iitueky. After completing his education Mr. Leonard 
1 mined to seek his opportunities in the Far West, but 
about a year as bookkeeper for the Weston Mercan- 
I ompany at Weston, Oregon, he changed his mind 
aidiit the West and returned to Old Virginia. For three 
years he was employed in the hardware business at Leba- 
non by Mr. A. Hendricks, and then bought this business 
and conducted it as proprietor until 1900. On selling out 
his business at Lebanon Mr. Leonard removed to Bluefield, 
which was then just coming into jirominence as a commer- 
cial center of the great industrial district of Southern West 
Virginia. He connected him.self with the Bluefield Hard- 
ware Company as one of its traveling salesmen, and for 
nearly ten years was on the road. By his personal and 
faithful efforts he contributed in no small measure to the 
great volume of that company 's business, and the confi- 
dence reposed in the corporation by a host of retailers. 
After about ten years Mr. Leonard was made vice presi- 
dent of the company, and for the past six years has been 
president and general manager. The Bluefield Hardware 
Company is one of the largest organizations of the kind in 
the state, has a capital and surplus of $700,000, and does 
an annual business aggregating $2,000,000. 

In 1898 at Castlewood, Russell County, Virginia, Mr. 
Leonard married Miss Eleanor Fields, daughter of William 
and Elizabeth Fields. Her father was a Confederate sol- 
dier and at the battle of Petersburg was shot through the 
thigh, a severe wound from which he suffered all the rest of 
his life. He was by occupation a farmer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Leonard have one daughter, Lucille Alton. Mr. Leonard 
is a Baptist, while Mrs. Leonard and her daughter are 
members of the Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Leonard, while he has kept his mind closely on busi- 
ness, is a man of genial qualities and of wholesome com- 
panionship and is identified with several social organiza- 
tions. He is a member of the Fallsniills Fishing Club, 
Chamber of Commerce, plays golf at the Bluefield Country 
Club and is fond of all outdoor sports. He is a Knight 
Temjilar and Royal Arch Mason, a Shriner, and a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason. In polities he is a dem- 
ocrat. 

John Flood Land had the wisdom to identify himself 
when a young man with the expanding destinies of Blue- 
field, where he has lived for nearly thirty years, and is 
owner and director of one of the leading general insurance 
agencies in this section of the state. 

Mr. Land was born in Cami)bell County, Virginia, March 
28, 1874, of old Virginia stock. His father's people came 
originally from Wales, while his mother's ancestors were 
English. His parents, C. H. and Sarah E. (Martin) Land, 
were both born iu Virginia, his father being a tanner and 
farmer. During the Civil war he was in the Confederate 
Army from the beginning until the end, in the quartermas- 
ter 's department. 

John Flood Land acquired a common school education 
in Campbell County and attended the New London Acad- 
emy. Leaving school at the age of seventeen, he came to 
Bluefield and went to work as a clerk for his oldest brother 
in the Surface and Land Supply Company. This firm did 
an extensive business supplying merchandise and other ma- 
terials to the contractors who were then building the streets 
and railroads in this section. John F. Land had charge of 
the general supply store. He remained with the firm eight 
years, and in 1899 entered the insurance business with the 



S. M. Smith lusuramo Agemy iu Bluefield. Uo conUnued 
with Mr. Smith about six ycors, and then became ods of 
the organizers of the Citizens Underwriters AB'-nry of 
Bluefield. Selling hia intercut in thin in 1»12, bo orijaniited 
the Bluefield Insurance Agency, whiih be now controls and 
to which he devotes all his busineiw time and energy. Tbi» 
is an agency with an extensive l.ii.sinesa and handling all 
classes of insurance service exri-pt life, the total aggregato 
of it« annual premiums running to about ♦st>,ou0. 

In 1915, at Lynchburg, Virginia, Mr. Land' married Miu 
Ella Victoria Woolevine, daughter of .lnhn I), and Olie 
Woolevine, natives of Virginia. They hau- two children, 
John F., Jr., and Mary Klla. The family are meinl>«rs of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. Land is a 
Royal Arch, Knight Temjilar and Srottish Rite Mason and 
Shriner, and is secretary of the Masonic Tru-it .\iMociation, 
owners of the Masonic Temple at Bluefield. He is also 
secretary of the Elks Lodge and a member of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce and Rotary Club. 

GosDON S. Seal, of Bluefield, h.-is had an extensive ex- 
perience as a coal operator, banker and in other lines. 
This is one of the jiromincnt names in West Virginia busi- 
ness circles, his father, Capt. John R. Seal, having long 
been prominent as a banker and coal man at Charleston. 

While Gordon S. Seal is a native of New York City 
where he was born June 2.'), 1880, his parents were bom in 
Virginia and he represents an old family of Virginia an- 
cestry. He is a son of Capt. John R. and Nannie (Wood) 
Seal. His father was vice president of the Cliarleston Na- 
tional Bank, and for many years had extensive holdings 
and management of coal and railroad properties. 

Gordon S. Seal acquircil a common and high school edu- 
cation at Charleston, and from there entered Johns Hop- 
kins University at Baltimore, where he grailiiat<'<l A. B. in 
1902. Since his university career he has given undivided 
attention to his business affairs, first entering the coal bu.si- 
ness with his father. In 191.'! they sold their interests, and 
Gordon Seal was then for the following two years associated 
with the John T. Hes.ser Coal (Company. He removed to 
Bluefield in 1915, and from 1916 to 1918 was in the real 
estate and banking business with the Virginia Reolty k 
Loan Company. In August, 1919, he a.ssisted in organiz- 
ing and incorporating the Curtis-Seal Company, a firm 
handling general ofl!ice supplies over an extensive territory 
in which the important points are Williamson. Bluefield. 
Welch, Bramwell and Tazewell, hut he sold out this busi- 
ness in November, 1921. 

Mr. Seal in 1907, at Montgomery, West Virginia, married 
Miss Inez Austin, daughter of George C. and Jennie .-Viistin. 
Four children were born to their marriage, and the three 
living are Lyall Austin, John Ridley and Jane Ann. Mr. 
Seal and family are members of the Episcopal Church, and 
he is a Roval Arch, Knight Templar and Scottish Rite Ma- 
son and Siirincr. a member of the Elks the Kiwanis Club. 
Chamber of Commerce and Bluelielil Country Club. He i" 
an outdoor man. fond of strenuous exercise, plays golf ond 
tennis, and his hobby is motor trips to distant points. 

William H. F. Dement. During the ten years required 
to advance himself from the rank of messenger to cashier 
of the Huntington Nation.il Bank Mr. Dement mnnifeste<l 
an unflagging devotion to his work and the ideals of ser^-ice 
exemplified bv that institution. His influential and useful 
place in the 'business community is a reward of merit, a 
distinction well worth the effort required to achieve it. 

Mr. Dement was born at Proctorville, Ohio, June 4, 1889. 
His paternal ancestry came originally from France and 
Germany. His grandfather, William Di-ment, was born in 
Noble County, Ohio, following the trade of blacksmith in 
Lawrence County, and died near Wilgus in that state. His 
great-greatgrandfather carried the first mail, in a canoe, 
from Marietta to Cincinnati, Ohio. Henry E. Dement, 
father of the Huntington banker, was born near Wilgus in 
Lawrence County in 1858, grew up there on n farm, became 
a blacksmith at Bradrick. Ohio, where he married, and since 
about 1880 has lived at Proctorville. With the development 
of the automobUe he adapted his trade to the requirements 



116 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



of that industry, and for a number of years has owned and 
operated a public garage. Since 1919 he has owned a 
farm and large apple orchard in that section of Ohio. He 
is a republican. His wife, Cora J. Forgey, is a daughter of 
James Forgey, a captain on the Mississippi Eiver during the 
Civil war. She is a granddaughter of Gen. A. F. Fuller of 
the War of 1812. Mrs. Dement was born at Bradrick, Ohio, 
in I860.' Of their children, Euby D., a resident of Hunting- 
ton, is the widow of Cliarles Heinz, who was a blacksmith; 
Carl is manager of the home farm at Proetorville ; Orla E. 
is associated in business with his father; Eoma is the wife 
of Charles E. Rose, a millwright at Guyandotte, West Vir- 
ginia; William H. F. is the fifth child; Velmer is also 
associated with his fatlier in business; and Valgene is con- 
nected with the home farm. 

William H. F. Dement graduated from the Proetorville 
High School in 1907, and soon afterward came to Hunting- 
ton, graduating from the Booth Business College of that 
city in 1910. Mr. Dement on October 29, 1911, began his 
service with the Huntington National Bank as a messenger 
boy. His increasing experience and ability brought him 
successive promotions, and he did the work of individual 
bookkeeper, discount bookkeeper and general bookkeeper, 
was promoted to assistant cashier and on August 1, 1921, 
was elected cashier. Besides his executive duties with this 
large and important bank he is interested in the home farm 
and orchard. 

Mr. Dement is a republican, is aflSliated with Proetor- 
ville Lodge No. 550, A. F. and A. M., Huntington Lodge 
No. 313, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is a 
member of the Chamber of Commerce and the Tri-State 
Credit and Adjustment Bureau. Recently, in 1922, he 
completed one of the excellent homes in a restricted resi- 
dential section at 51 Ninth Avenue. 

The only important interruption to his service with the 
Huntington National Bank came in the World war. June 
14, 1918, he enlisted, was sent to the Training Detachment 
Public Schools at Hughes High School in Cincinnati, was 
there two months and was then transferred to the One 
Hundred and Fifty-fourth Depot Brigade at Camp Meade, 
Maryland. On August 14, 1918, he was assigned to Com- 
pany H of the Seventy-first Infantry in the Lafayette or 
Eleventh Division and later was transferred to the Head- 
quarters Company of the same regiment and assigned to 
the personnel office. He received his honorable discharge 
January 31, 1919, with the rank of corporal. Mr. Dement 
is unmarried. 

Wade H. Post, M. D. For sixteen consecutive years 
Doctor Post has applied himself to the practice of med- 
icine and the varied service demanded of a capable and 
high minded physician in the Masontown community of 
Preston County. He Came here as successor to the old 
physician, Doctor Cobun, who had carried most of the 
burdens of local practice. 

Doctor Post was born in Lewis County, West Virginia, 
April 8, 1877. His grandfather, John Post, spent his 
active life in Lewis County, and married a Miss Cookman. 
Of their eight children six are still living. William F. 
Post, father of Doctor Post, was a native of Lewis County 
and married Elizabeth Jane Young, of Harrison County. 
Her children were: Scott, of Seattle, Washington; Birdie, 
wife of W. E. Rhodes, of Lewis County; Wilda, wife of 
Dr. C. L. Cookman, of Buckhannon, West Virginia; Wade 
H.; Ansel B., of Lost Creek, West Virginia; and Porter 
W., who was killed in an automobile accident at Morgan- 
town in June, 1919, leaving a wife and a daughter, Jane 
Porter Post. 

Wade H. Post lived on his father's farm during his 
youth and continued to call that his home until he was 
about twenty-five years of age and qualified for profes- 
sional work. He was educated in the country schools, in 
Union College at Buckhannon one term, then in the National 
Normal University at Lebanon, Ohio, and prepared for his 
profession in the Baltimore Medical College, where he grad- 
uated in 1901. Doctor Post first practiced at Jane Lew 
in Lewis County, remaining there a year, and then at Dell- 
glow in Monongalia County. When he located at Mason- 



town he moved only a short distance across the county 
line from Dellglow. Doctor Post has served a year as 
president of the County Medical Society, is a member of 
the West Virginia State and American Medical associa- 
tions, is a local surgeon for the Baltimore & Ohio Railway, 
and a member of the Railway Surgeons Association of the 
Baltimore & Ohio system. 

Aside from his busy days as a physician Doctor Post 
was one of the organizers and is first vice president and 
one of the directors of the Bank of Masontown. He is also 
president of the Reed Run Coal Company, and has had 
other business interests but has disposed of them. He 
avoids too many of the honors and responsibilities of pol- 
itics, but is a member of the Executive Committee of the 
democratic party in Preston County. His first national 
vote went to Mr. Bryan in 1900. Doctor Post is affiliated 
with Preston Lodge No. 90, A. F. and A. M., Royal Arch 
Cliapter No. 30 at Morgantown; Osiris Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine at Wheeling; and he is also a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias. 

In Harrison County, October 7, 1902, Doctor Post mar- 
ried Miss Mary Eleanor Eib, a native of that county and 
sixth and youngest child of James M. and Arminda(Arnold) 
Eib. Her father was a farmer of the Lost Creek community 
and member of an old family of German origin. Doctor 
Post lost his first wife by death. She was survived by three 
children: Mary Christine, James William and Helena 
Arminda. At Rockville, Maryland, April 8, 1915, Doctor 
Post married Miss Grace Clayton, daughter of T. M. and 
Josephine (Trickett) Clayton. The only child born to 
Doctor and Mrs. Post died in infancy. 

Everett A. Luzader, superintendent of the schools of 
Valley District in Preston County, is one of the forceful 
young men engaged in the modern educational program 
of West Virginia, and his life so far has been devoted either 
to getting an education himself or teaching and school ad- 
ministration. 

He was born at Auburn, Ritchie County, West Virginia, 
March 2, 1884. His grandfather, Daniel D. Luzader, was 
born at Grafton, West Virginia, son of the founder of the 
family in this state, who came from Germany. Daniel D. 
Luzader was a Union soldier at the time of the Civil war, 
enlisting from Taylor County. He married Martha New- 
Ion, of Grafton, and the oldest of their nine children was 
Winfield Scott Luzader. The latter was born at Grafton 
in October, 1853 and has spent his active career as a teacher 
and farmer. He taught in Ritchie County for ten years, 
but is now devoting his time to his farm. He married 
Clara Davis, whose father, John Davis, enlisted as a Union 
soldier in the State of Minnesota, and after the war re- 
turned East and spent the rest of his life as a farmer near 
Berea in Ritchie County. Mrs. Scott Luzader died June 
10, 1900. Her children were: Lucretia, wife of Mr. Wood- 
zell, of Hot Springs, Virginia; Everett A.; Flossie, wife 
of E. E. Brown, of Auburn; May, a teacher in the Auburn 
schools; Gladys and Thyrza, twins, and Otis, all living on 
their father 's farm. Scott Luzader has always kept in 
touch with educational affairs, and for twelve years was a 
member of the Board of Education of Union District. He 
has given an active support to the republican party, and 
the family record is that of men interested and more or 
less active in politics. He and his family are Baptists. 

Everett A. Luzader is, therefore, representative of a fam- 
ily long identified with the cause of education and agri- 
culture. He spent his early life on a farm, attended coun- 
try schools, and completed the normal course of Salem 
College in 1909, but had already taught two years before 
graduating. The next three years he devoted his time 
consecutively to the duties of the schoolroom. The fol- 
lowing year he was a student in the University of West 
Virginia, and then returned to Salem College, where he 
finished his literary education and graduated A. B. in 1915. 

After graduating Mr. Luzader was principal of the Salem 
High School for four years, was principal of the Newliurg 
High School one year, and came to Masontown as principal 
of the school of that village, but a year later, in July, 1920, 
was elected superintendent of Valley District. As super- 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



117 



iiitomlent he baa supervision of seventeen schools, two of 
them being high schools, and a staff of thirty-one teachers. 

' Ho has done something constructive and progressive in the 
local educational program, including the completion of the 

' Masontown school building the improvement of its campus, 
adding a course in citizenship to the school curriculum and 
also increasing by a year the time devoted to the study 
of argriculture, economics and sociology. 

Mr. Luzader is affiliated with Salem Lodge, Knights of 
Pythias. At Tunnelton, December 10, 1914, lie married Miss 

' Gail Uemsworth, formerly of Harrisville, Ritchie County, 
where she was reared. She was born May 26, 1892, grad- 
uated from the Harrisville High School and the normal de- 
partment of Salem College, and at the age of sixteen began 
teaching. She is the mother of three children. Brooks, 
Morgan and Ral[)h, but at the same time she keeps up 
her educational work as one of the teachers in the Valley 
District High School at Masontown. 

Miles H. Ore, an honored Union veteran of the Civil 
war, for half a century a farmer in the vicinity of Mason- 
town, represents a family that was established in that part 
of Preston County late in the eighteenth century, and the 
name has been one of honorable associations in that com- 
munity ever since. 

The great-grandfather of Miles Orr was John Orr, a 
native of Ireland^ who came to America about 1758. His 
son, John Dale Orr, took part as a soldier in the American 
Revolution. He was with the American forces at the sur- 
render of General Cornwallis at Yorktown. Soon after the 
close of the war he left MeCIellantown, Pennsylvania, and 
came to Preston County, West Virginia, establishing his 
home on Sand Ridge near Independence. Here he cleared 
the land and spent the rest of his active years farming. 
He died about 1840, and is buried in the cemetery on Scott's 
Hill. His wife, Elizabeth Johns, lies besides him. Their 
children were : Catherine, who became the wife of Elisha 
Fortney and lived in Harrison County; John, whose life 
was spent as a farmer in Preston County; Ruth, who be- 
came the wife of William Mencar and died at Scott's Hill; 
Hiram, whose record follows; George, who lived near Inde- 
pendence and is buried on the home farm; and James, who 
became a Baptist minister, moved to Illinois, and died in 
that state. 

Hiram Orr was born in Preston County, near Inde- 
pendence, in 1803, and his effective work and most of his 
years were spent in the Scott 's Hill" locality, where he died 
in 1856. His wife, Keziah Menear, was born near Glades- 
ville and died in 1845. Her father, John Menear, was a 
farmer and died while visiting in Ohio. Of the children 
of Hiram Orr and wife, Major Uriah was an officer in the 
Sixth West Virginia Infantry during the Civil war, was 
for many years in the lumber business as a mill man and 
spent his last years retired at Kingwood. Martha became 
the wife of A. B. Menear and died at Kingwood. Eugenus 
lived near the old homestead. Morgan D. was a Union 
soldier in the Third West Virginia Infantry, and spent bis 
last days at Fairmont. Miles H. is the next in age. Keziah 
is Mrs. Monroe Martin and a resident of Reedsville, West 
Virginia. A half brother of these children, W. Lee, spent 
most of his life at Baltimore, where he is buried. 

Miles H. Orr was born December 17, 1844, was an infant 
when his mother died, and only twelve at the death of his 
father. He lived among his uncles and acquired a sub- 
scription-school education, and at the same time was trained 
to farming. On August 15, 1862, at the age of eighteen, 
he enlisted from Preston County in Company B of the 
Fourteenth West Virginia Infantry. His two captains 
were Clinton Jeffers and John D. Elliott, while the regi- 
ment was first commanded by Colonel Core and then by 
Col. D. D. Johnson. The regiment rendezvoused at Wheel- 
ing, went thence to Clarksburg, then to New Creek, now 
Keyser West Virginia, and was ordered to Gettysburg, but 
arrived too late to take part in the great battle. His com- 
mand then went into camp at Romney, moved from there 
to Petersburg, and the regiment took part in the Salem 
raid as far as McDowell, where the Confederates blocked 
the way. Returning to Petersbiirg and then to Keyser, the 



reguiient from the latter point marched to Uurliogton 
where it lay during the rcniuinder of the winter. Id the 
spring of 1864 they went on the Dublin raid, and slopiKHl 
at the battle of Cloyd Mountain and New Kivcr UridKc, 
and then dropped back to Meadow Bluff and Uien to Lynch- 
burg, Virginia, and finally to Camp Piatt. From there they 
marched to Martinsburg, and soon afterward joined in the 
Shenandoah Valley campaign. They fought in the minor 
engagement at Stephen.son 's Depot on tlie 19th at Septem- 
ber and in the battle of Winchester on the :;4th. Thcnco 
they fell back to Harpers Ferry, and from that point moved 
up to Cedar Creek, but was forced back to Uolivar Heighti. 
About this time General Sheridan brought rucnrorcvnicnta 
from the Army of the Potomac into the Valley, and the 
troops moved on, striking the Confederates under old Jubnl 
A. Early at Halltown. They then fought the battle of 
Fisher's Hill, soon after which occurred the conclusive bot- 
tle of Cedar Creek, in which Sheridan made his famous 
ride and which cleared the Confederates from the valley. 
Afterward the Fourteenth West Virginia was n.tsigncd duty 
guarding different points on the Baltimore & Ohio Kail- 
way, and Mr. Orr was in that service until discharged. 
When he heard of the surrender of General Lee's army he 
was one of thirty men guarding a division train three miles 
north of Winchester. He was discharged at Cumberland 
but mustered out at Wheeling. His regiment had a record 
of twenty-four battles and skirmishes and he participated 
in twenty-one of them. His clothing was riddled by bul- 
lets, but he escaped without a shot. 

When he resumed the life of a civilian Mr. Orr returned 
to the farm and soon bought a tract of land in Volley 
District. He was occupied with the duties of that farm 
until the early '80s and since 188.3 has been a resident of 
Masontown. He bought other lands in this vicinity, and 
farming has constituted the bulk of his business resjionsi- 
bUities. He was one of the promoters and is a director 
of the Bank of Masontown. 

Mr. Orr cast his first ballot for President Lincoln while 
in the field as a soldier in 1SC4, and has never failed to 
support the republican candidate at presidential electionj 
since then. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and the Grand Army of the Republic. He attended 
the National Encampment at Washington in 1902, and bos 
met and visited with his old Colonel Johnson several times 
and in 1915 had the good fortune to meet his old com- 
mander, General Duval. 

December 24, 1867, Mr. Orr married Miss Elizabeth Ash- 
burn, daughter of Aaron and Hannah Ashburn. She wa« 
born in the Valley District of Preston County, January 31, 
1845, and died November 2.5, 1913, forty-six years after 
their marriage. The children of their union were: Birdie 
M., wife of George M. Cobun, of Morgantown; Olive M., 
wife of N. J. Seaman, of Paden City, West Virginia; Lucy 
May, at home with her father; and Forest U., who died 
unmarried at Morgantown. 

Mahala Jane Elliott, a business woman of Kingwood, 
is a native of Preston County and a member of on old and 
well connected family near Newburg. 

Her grandfather, Thomas Shay, founded the family near 
Newburg. He was the grandson of an IrishnLin who estab- 
lished this branch of the Shay family in America. Thomas 
Shay served as a soldier in the War of 1812. Othcrwific his 
life was devoted to his farm, and he never sought the dis- 
tinctions of public service. He was a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. He was about eighty years of ago 
when he died. Thomas Shay married Phoebe A. Sidwell, 
who survived him three years. Their children were: 
Ezekiel, a blacksmith, who died in Monongalia County; 
Mary, who became the wife of Alfred Morelnnd and died 
in Barbour County; Rees, a farmer who died in Preston 
County; Benjamin, who died on his farm in Lyon District 
of that county; Hugh, who spent his life as o former in 
Preston County; Jesse, a farmer of Preston County; Del)- 
bie, who died' in Preston County, the wife of William 
Shannon ; and James. 

James Shay, youngest of the children and the father 
of Mrs. Elliott of Kingwood, was born near Newburg, 



I 



118 



HISTORY OP WEST VIRGINIA 



October 7, 1829. He became a farmer, and besides culti- 
vating the soil raised stock on a rather extensive scale. 
His entire life was spent on the farm where he was born. 
He died there in May, 1878. He participated in polities 
only to the extent of voting, and, like all the other mem- 
bers of the Shay family, was a stanch republican. James 
Shay married Mary Hanway, daughter of Samuel and Ma- 
hala (Cox) Hanway. Samuel Hanway was a resident of 
Eeno District of Preston County, but in the early '70s re- 
moved to Kansas and settled in Bourbon County, and he 
died at Barnsville. His children were: Mary, George, 
Ezekiel, Mrs. Sarah Bishop, Mrs. Eachel Bishop, Mrs. Jane 
Thomas, James Madison, Holton, Mrs. Rebecca Shaw, 
John, who died during the Civil war at Camp Chase, Ohio, 
Eobert, and Joseph, a resident of Howard, Kansas. Three 
of the children, Ezekiel, George and Mrs. Sarah Bishop, 
died in Bourbon County, Kansas. Mrs. James Shay died 
April 5, 1892, mother of the following children: Mrs. 
Mahala Elliott; Thomas R., of Tunnelton; Carmac and 
George L., of Kingwood; Elibabeth E., whose first husband 
was Walter B. Garner and she is now the wife of Elmer 
Christopher, of Kingwood; Delia A., wife of Waitman T. 
Newcomb, of Kingwood; and Ella, wife of Charles A. 
Fletcher, of Washington, D. C. 

Mahala Jane Shay was born at Newburg, March 1, 1860. 
She and the other children bad only the advantages of the 
common schools, and her years were spent at the old home- 
stead until her marriage on December 20, 1891, to James 
M. Elliott. Mr. Elliott was born and brought up on a farm 
within three miles of Kingwood. His father was John 
Elliott, and he was the youngest of the children to reach 
mature years, the others being Isaac, William, Mrs. Rebecca 
Bailey, Mrs. Nancy Forker, Samuel, John Dougherty and 
Mrs. Minerva Bailey. 

When Mr. and Mrs. Elliott were married they established 
themselves on the old Elliott farm, and lived there until 
Mr. Elliott's death, which occurred January 12, 1912. Mr. 
Elliott was chiefly interested in the efficient conduct of 
his farm, and outside of this he worshiped as a Methodist 
and voted as a stanch republican. The only child born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Elliott was named John Shay, and he died 
at the age of three years. 

Mrs. Elliott in 1919 removed to Kingwood, and has since 
engaged in the grocery and confectionery business. She 
cast her first ballot in 1920, and the head of tlie ticket bore 
the name Warren 6. Harding. 

Robert Lamley Akcheb, vice president of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Huntington, has been through every de- 
partment of that bank 's service beginning as messenger. 
His record of over thirty years constitutes him one of the 
older active bankers of the state. Mr. Archer is one of the 
best known of West Virginia's financial leaders, and has 
been honored with the oflSces of secretary, treasurer and 
president of the State Bankers Association and he also 
served as a member of the Executive Council of the Ameri- 
can Bankers Association. 

He was born in Lawrence County, Ohio, August 24, 1871. 
His father, Thomas Archer, was born at Penrith, Cumber- 
land County, England, was reared and educated there, 
married his first wife in England, and his career through- 
out was merchandising. About 1861 he came to the United 
States and located at Cleves in Hamilton County, Ohio, 
and in October, 1871, came to Huntington, where he estab- 
lished and built up his successful mercantile enterprise, and 
was active in its management when he died in 1876. He 
was a very devout Presbyterian. His second wife was 
Frances Mather Richey, who was born in 1833 at West 
Point, New York, and died at Huntington in 1917. Her 
three sons were: Richard M., a newspaper editor at 
Wheeling; Robert Lamley; and Frank M., a wholesale 
merchant at Bluefield, West Virginia. 

Robert Lamley Archer was reared from early infancy in 
Huntington, attended the public schools there, and after 
leaving high school at the age of fifteen was employed for 
three years in an insurance ofSce and then became clerk 
in the lumber agent's office of the Ensign Manufactur- 
ing Company., now the American Car and Foundry Com- 



pany. Leaving there in 1890, Mr. Archer entered the First 
National Bank of Huntington as messenger and collection 
clerk, and subsequent promotions gave him a definite work- 
ing acquaintance with the duties of individual bookkeeper, 
general bookkeeper, teller, assistant cashier and cashier 
and in 1920 he was elected vice president. Mr. Archer is 
also president of the Huntington Roofing Tile Comjjany, 
treasurer of the Huntington Orchard Company, and has 
other business interests. 

For nine years he was a member of the Huntington 
Board of Education. He is a republican, a vestryman in 
the Episcopal Church, a member of the Sous of the Ameri- 
can Revolution, the Rotary Club, Guyan Country Club and 
Guyandotte Club, all of Huntington. His home is at 1505 
Sixth Avenue. During the World war Mr. Archer was 
chairman of the Huntington committees for the prosecu- 
tion of the first and second Liberty Loan drives, and then 
received appointment from the secretary of the treasury 
to act as state director of War Savings. In this post he 
thoroughly organized the state, establishing committees 
in every county, made many speeches and gave personal 
direction to the campaign, and altogether his organization 
effected the sale of $20,000,000 worth of War Savings 
Stamps in the state. 

In 1893, at West Columbia, Mason County, West Vir- 
ginia, Mr. Archer married Irma Louise Knight, daughter of 
Dr. Aqinlla L. and Susan Frances (Willis) Knight, now 
deceased. Her father was an honored and capable phy- 
sician and surgeon at West Columbia. Mrs. Archer is a 
graduate of Marshall College of Huntington. 

Alcinus F. McMillen, of Masontown, is an old-time 
educator and surveyor and civil engineer, but for a num- 
ber of years past his studious energies have been directed 
along the line of scientific as well as practical farming, i 
Mr. McMillen has been a leader in the modern agricultural 
movement in this section of Preston County, and his farm 
is interesting as a practical experiment station for the test- 
ing out of metliods and crops best suited to this region. 

The family history of the McMillens in Preston County 
runs back to 1790. In that year Eobert McMillen, who 
had served as a soldier on the American side in the Revolu- ' 
tionary war, patented 500 acres of the virgin soil near .1 
Friendship Schoolhouse in Valley District. His old cabin ' 
stood near the residence of William H. Everly, now one 
of the prominent old residents of the county. It was close 
to the river where fishing was good and where game, was 
plentiful, and the climate somewhat milder than further up 
the valley. Robert McMillen was one of the first to bcLiin 
the cultivation of the soil in that locality. He was buried 
not far from the scene of his labors and activities. Among 
his numerous children were William, James, Robert and 
Elizabeth. 

William McMillen, representing the second generation of 
the family in Preston County, was born in the wild and 
somewhat romantic spot where his father settled. He grew 
up with little knowledge of books but became skilled in the 
arts of woodcraft and frontier accomplishments. While 
still a youth he learned to handle a gun expertly, and was 
the chief dependence of the family for its meat supply. 
When he settled down be located at Masontown, on the farm 
now occupied by his grandsons, Newton W. and Alcinus F. 
He married Sarah Cobun, daughter of Simon Cobun, and 
member of another early pioneer family of Preston County. 
AVUliam McMillen and wife lived out their lives on the 
Masontown farm and are buried in the cemetery on said 
farm, half a mile from the village. Their children were: 
Robert;- James, who served in the Union Army during the 
Civil war, reared his family near or on the patented land 
of his grandfather and is buried in Mount Zion Cemetery; 
and Sabra, who became the wife of William Anderson, and 
both are now at rest in the cemetery on the home farm 
near Masontown. 

Eobert McMillen was born October 24, 1824, and lived 
just half a century, passing away October 24, 1874. His 
education was such as could be obtained from the schools 
of that day. He was a good farmer and was constant and 
devoted to the life and leadership of the community. For 





^f^^/tACMM- 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGLNIA 



119 



mauy yi'.'irs lie was ouo of the most ardent workers iu tlio 
Methodist Church, and exerted a constant inOuencu iu 
behalf of education and morality. He helped build school 
bouses and churches and had a kindly interest in the wel- 
fare of the younger generation as well as that of his own. 
He could make an effective speech when the occasion de- 
manded, and he usually led the singing at church. Phy- 
sically be was a man six feet one, weighed about one hun- 
dred fifty j)ounds, and had a florid complexion and red 
hair. 

Robert McMillcn married Nancy Hartley, of Masontown. 
Her father, Edward Hartley, founded this numerous and 
prominent family in this vicinity. Nancv Hartley was 
born November 23, 1826, and died" October"!). 1901, at the 
age of seventy-five. Her children were : Newton W., a 
farmer a mile north of Masontown; .\lcinus Fenton; Rev. 
Edward W., a Methodist minister at North Platte, Neb- 
raska; John L., of Masontown; Dr. Robert M., of Wlieoling; 
Charlotte, wife of John S. Miller, of West Liberty, Ohio 
County, West Virginia; and Emily Bell, who married O. D. 
Sims, of Short Creek, near West Liberty. 

Alcinus F. McMillen was born December 4, 185.3, and 
his home through practically all bis life has been at the 
place where be was born. He attended the free schools, 
took a course in the Fairmont State Normal, and at the 
age of twenty began teaching. His service as a teacher, 
covering a period of twelve years, was in the schools of 
Masontown, Reedsville, Kingwood, Rowlesburg and else- 
where. The intervals of teaching he employed in farm 
work and in surveying. Mr. McMillen had the mathematical 
> and mechanical gifts required of an expert civil engineer. 
His reputation in this field brought him engagements so 
I that he was employed in the surveying of timber and coal 
j lands in Virginia, Tennessee and North Carolina as well 
I as in his home state. For sixteen years he was county 
I surveyor of Preston County, and was also the first county 
, road engineer, serving from 1909 to 1911. The duties of 
I his office were especially strenuous when coal development 
began in the county, and while preparations were under way 
f for the milling of timber lands. After his long and ef- 
I fective service with his surveying instruments he was quite 
■ ready to be relieved and retire to the less arduous pursuits 
I of agriculture. 

As a farmer he has not kept strictly within commercial 
lines and with commercial objects in view, but has frequently 
done a season's work with every prospect of failure in 
order that he might demonstrate a new principle or method. 
The methods of former years in farming were much dif- 
ferent from those practiced by him today. The shovel 
plow was the common implement then, and the harrow 
was seldom used to pulverize the soil. Harvesting progress 
has been marked by the successive introduction of the 
sickle, the cradle, the self binder, and, finally, the tractor 
has enormously increased the power and effectiveness of 
all farming machinery. In early times when the soil was 
new it was exceedingly productive, and the scratching of 
the surface was all that was required to produce crops. 
It was many years after the Civil war before the need of 
fertilizer appeared, and with fertilizer came the new in- 
vention of manure spreader and the use of lime to sweeten 
the soil, especially for grass crops. Clover and timothy 
have been the standby crops for hay, but Mr. McMillen 
was one of the first to experiment with alfalfa, which re- 
quired special treatment and conditions to secure a perma- 
nent stand. With the use of extra lime and inoculation 
alfalfa has proved its money-making qualities here as else- 
where, and Mr. McMillen has frequently cut three crops 
a year, with an average yield of about three tons per acre. 
His success has encouraged his neighbors in the same direc- 
tion. Mr. McMillen has also done much practical experi- 
ment work with seed potatoes, until he has found the variety 
and strain best adapted to this region and is now regarded 
as the foremost authority on potato culture in this section 
of the state. 

Mr. McMiUen has been ready with personal work, influ- 
ence and his purse to promote the institutions of school 
and church. The erection of a high school and the building 
of a new Methodist Church were both accomplished through 



IHipuliir suliHcriptiuus, and thu McMillen donation tu iHitb 
was ample and unstintedly made. Mr. and Mr«. McMUIcn 
for many years have been faithful workcrri in the Metbodiiit 
denomination. 

March 22, 1887, he married Miss Christie (iu.wmnn, who 
was born in Monongalia County, April 29, 1859, daagbt«r of 
John W. and Carrie (Snider) (iusemnn. Carrio Snider 
was a daughter of John and Julia (llesi) Snider. John 
W. Gnseman was ilesoended from Abraham (iuwrnan, and 
was a son of Jacob Guscman. Abraham came from (ier 
many and located at Baltimore in 1776. John \V. UuM-wun 
and wife had fourteen children, and the nine still livinu art- 
Samuel R., Mrs. Christie McMillen, William A., Mr». Klla 
.\shbHrn, Robert, Mrs. Ida Smith, Amos E., I'ryor and 
Stanley Guseman. 

Of the children of Mr. and Mrs. McMillcn the oldest, 
Herbert, was born December 25, 1887. He wn.i a graduate 
of the University of West Virginia, for a time was in the 
employ of the National Carbon Company at Niagara Kails, 
but is now at home farming during a leave of ulwence. He 
married Edith Protzman, of Monongalia County, and they 
have two children, Jean and Christine. The »<"-coni| child, 
Mabel, a graduate of the West Lil>erty Normal School, is 
the wife of Claude C. Spiker, of a well known Preston 
County family and professor of romance languagci in the 
University of West Virginia. Professor and Mrs. Spiker 
have a son, Robert Claude. The third child, Harry McMil- 
len, is actively associated with his father on the farm. Ho 
married Mary Long and has three children: Byron, James 
and Kyle Clinton. The youngest of the family is Frank 
Vincent, connected with the farming interests of Manitoba, 
Canada. 

Rogers Pharmacy. The Rogers Pharmacy at Morgan- 
town is one of the most perfectly appointed establishments 
of its kind in West Virginia. The proprietors are two 
brothers, Paul M. and William M. Rogers. Western men 
by birth, although their father at one time lived at Morgan- 
town, and their mother was born in West Virginia, 

Their father, Daniel R. Rogers, was born at Connclls- 
ville, Pennsylvania January 8, 1855. He attended public 
schools, the State University of West Virginia at Morgan- 
town, where he began his medical studies, and later grad- 
uated from Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia with 
the class of 1880. For four years be practiceii at New 
Martinsville, West Virginia, where his wife, Margaret E. 
Martin, was born June 20, 1858. They were married Sep- 
tember 15, 1886. After leaving West Virginia Doctor Rog- 
ers moved to Nebraska, and for forty years has carried the 
duties and burdens of an active practitioner at Ragan, that 
state. Of their children the oldest is .\nne E., the widow 
of Dr. B. B. Cox, one of Morgantown '» honor men in the 
World war. He was attached to Base Hospital No. 103 
at Dijon, France, when be was killed. The one child in this 
family is Margaret Evelyn Cox. Thomas C, the second 
oldest, is cashier of the Bank of Ragan. He married Jean 
McKee, of AUna, Nebraska, and has two children, Daniel 
and Everett. The next in age is Paul M. He and William 
M. are proprietors of the Rogers Pharmacy. The two 
youngest of the family are Margaret N. and William M., 
who are twins. Margaret N. is a member of the faculty of 
ManningtOD, West Virginia, High School, and is a grad- 
uate of the University of West Virginia. 

Paul M. Rogers was born in Ragan, Nebraska. August 13, 
1891. He attended public schools there, graduated from 
the Kearney Military Academy at Kearney, Nebraska, and 
took bis professional work in the University of Nebraska, 
graduating in pharmacy. He then left Nebraska an.l for 
three years was employed as a pharmacist in Pennsylvania, 
first at Brownsville, then at East Liverpool, Ohio, and 
then at Charlcroi, Pennsylvania. From there he came to 
Morgantown. 

William M. Rogers was born at Ragan, Nebraska, Octo- 
ber 27, 1896, attended the same schools as his brother, 
graduating from the Military Academy and receiving his 
degree in pharmacy from the State University in 1917. 
After graduation he went West instead of East, and for 
three years was a pharmacist at Las Vegas, New Meiieo, 



120 



HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



and while there organized a transfer business consisting of 
a fleet of trucks operating to points within 200 miles of 
Las Vegas. This is still a flourishing business at Las Vegas. 
In 1921 the Rogers Brothers opened their present place 
of business at Morgantown. Both are thorough pharma- 
cists and also able young business men as well, and they 
have left nothing undone that will afford the most com- 
plete service in the preparation of drugs for physicians, 
and they have introduced into Morgantown as complete 
stock of surgical supplies as is seldom found in a city of 
this size. While they emphasize the thoroughness of the 
service as pharmacists and druggists, they have also given 
their store other features that attract the public, including 
the serving of soft drinks. Their fountain is one of the 
most elaborate and costly made, the base being of pure 
Italian marble. It is a business highly creditable to the 
proprietors and to the city as well. 

WiLLUM Lawson Mitchell, D. D. S., of Mannington, 
was born in Bellville, Wood County, West Virginia, Sep- 
tember 8, 1883j the son of the late Horace and Ella (Wil- 
liamson) Mitchell. 

Horace Mitchell was one of the leading business men and 
popular citizens of Wood County for many years. He was 
born in that county in 1853, and died at his home in Bell- 
ville, June 6, 1914. He was the sou of Henry and Ann 
(Hupp) Mitchell, natives of Wood County, whose par- 
ents came from old Virginia and were pioneers in that 
section of what is now West Virginia. His wife, Ella Wil- 
liamson, was born in Wood County in 1860, aud died No- 
vember 11, 1902. She was the daughter of Anthony and 
Sarah WUliamson, natives of West Virginia and Pennsyl- 
vania respectively. 

Henry Mitchell, grandfather of our subject, was an early 
merchant of Bellville, and when his son, Horace, was a 
boy of only eight years the latter went to work in the 
store, he having been so small at that time that he stood 
upon a box to wait upon customers. Horace continued in 
his father's store, and following the death of his father 
he and his brother succeeded to the business, conducting it 
until the death of Horace in 1914. 

Horace Mitchell was probably as well known and highly 
esteemed, especially among traveling men, as any man in 
the Ohio Valley. He, like his father and grandfather, was 
an ardent democrat, though he never sought or held public 
ofl5ce. He was a member of the different Masonic bodies, 
including the S. B., thirty-second degree, K. T., also a 
member of Osiris Temple, Mystic Shrine, Wheeling, and 
was active in civic and social affairs. 

Doctor Mitchell was reared in Bellville and acquired his 
early education in the public schools. He was a student at 
Marshall College in 1901-2, and then entered the Ohio Col- 
lege of Dental Surgery at Cincinnati, Ohio, where he was 
graduated D. D. S., class of 1907. 

He practiced at Parkersburg, West Virginia, from 1907 
to 1909, from 1909 to 1912 at Follansbee, West Virginia, 
and then located at Mannington, where he has established 
himself as a successful dentist and a worth-while citizen. 

Doctor Mitchell is a member of the Masons, including the 
Consistory (thirty-second degree S. R.) and Shrine. He 
has been a member of the Elks since he was twenty-one 
years old, and is a charter member of the Mannington Ki- 
wanis Club and also a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

On October 20, 1915, Doctor MitcheU married Nell Jack- 
son Burt, who was born in Mannington, the daughter of 
William and Rose (Prichard) Burt, the former of whom is 
deceased. 

George Robeet Miller, M. D. The community of Fair- 
view, Marion County, expresses its appreciation of Doctor 
Miller not only by saying that he is the oldest physician 
in the town in point of years of service, but likewise has 
special qualifications for his profession and is never be- 
hind in the exercise of public spirit when something needs 
to be done requiring the co-operation of all local citizens. 

Doctor Miller after completing his medical education 
returned to what is practically his home neighborhood. He 
was born on a farm in Lincoln District, about six mUes 



leu 

1 

itlli 



from Fairview, on December 23, 1871, aud except when 
away to school has kept quite constantly in touch with olj" 
friends and neighbors there. His father, a son of Jol 
Miller, was born on a farm at Boothsville in Marion Coun< 
in 1838, and the duties of agriculture engaged him un 
his death in 1873. He was a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Mary Prichard Miller, mother of Doctor 
Miller, was born on the old Prichard homestead in Lincoln 
District in 1840, daughter of John Prichard and represent- 
ative of a pioneer family. She died in 1912. 

George Robert Miller was only two years old when his 
father died. He spent his boyhood on the farm, alternating 
between its duties and his lessons in the district schools. 
For three years he supplemented this early education in the 
Fairmont State Normal School. Teaching was his first 
active service for humanity, and the five years he worked 
in the district schools of his home county also furnished 
him part of the capital needed to gain his medical education. 
While teaching he likewise carried private studies that fur- 
nished the equivalent of preparatory work for college. 
Doctor Miller graduated M. D. from the Eclectic Medical 
College of Cincinnati in 1901. Following a year of prac- 
tice at Blacksville, West Virginia, he returned to his home 
district, and his continued work here, besides being highly 
successful, has made him the oldest physician iu years of 
practice at Fairview. 

He keeps in touch with his profession through member- 
ship in the Marion County, West Virginia State and Ameri- 
can Medical associations and also in the National Eclectic 
Medical Association. His public spirit has led him to as- 
sume the responsibility of service on the Town Council. He 
is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, member of 
the Masonic Club of Fairview, the Knights of Pythias, 
and on the Board of Trustees of the Fairview Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

In 1900 Doctor Miller married Harriett Phillips, a native 
of Greene County, Pennsylvania, and daughter of Lindsey 
and Ellen (Fordyce) Phillips. Doctor and Mrs. Miller 
have three sons and a daughter: Thomas Byron, born iu 
1902, now a high-school student; Aldene, born in 1903, now 
teaching iu the public schools of Granttown; George Robert, 
Jr., born in 1906, in high school; and William Edward. 
born in 1910. 

A. M. Hewitt. That all men do not find the niche for 
which they consider themselves especially fitted is largely 
due to their inability to fit themselves for those niches 
which they could occupy with profit and honor. They do 
not concentrate themselves upon that which they under- 
stand and for which nature aud training have made them 
ready, but diffuse themselves over too wide a territory, 
and in the end accomplish little or nothing. The success- 
ful man in any line is he who develops his latent strength 
by the use of vigorous fitness, innate powers and expert 
knowledge, gradually attaining to a proficiency not possible 
in the beginning. Each line of endeavor demands certain 
special qualifications. Some men are born executives, be- 
ing able to direct others to carry out plans which are for- 
mulated in the active brain of the leader; while others 
can only follow. A man who does possess this power to 
promote and direct is wise indeed if he bends all his ener- 
gies to attaining an executive position, for in it he can 
reach heights he could attain in no other way. Among the 
able executives of Huntington who have made their mark 
in the business world by concentrating upon a given line of 
endeavor, one who demands more than passing attention 
at this time is A. M. Hewitt, president and treasurer of 
the D. E. Hewitt Lumber Company. 

Mr. Hewitt was born at Conneautville, Pennsylvania, 
December 5, 1886, a son of Daniel Elmer and Cora M. 
(Walton) Hewitt. His grandfather, Francis Marion Hew- 
itt, who is of English descent and still a resident of Con- 
neautville, was born July 26, 1838, probably in Ohio, but 
for the greater part of his life has made his home at Con- 
neautville, where he was a lumber manufacturer in pioneer 
days. He is a veteran of the Civil war, having fought as a 
Union soldier all through the struggle between the North 
and the South. Mr. Hewitt married Penelope Lampson, 



I 




HISTORY OF WEST VIRGINIA 



121 



.