(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Wetzel County, West Virginia"

puijpnil 



'^^KT^V^^V 



.," if,'.p:i :!,; h iB>Tit:iK s>f i«. Jt : . . 



NYPL RESEARCH LIBRARIES 



3 3433 08188259 3 



//o 











X\ K. 



-,4 



\ 1 



=.1 



AT 

YORK \\ I 



(' NEW 

' C LIBRARY,! 



Astor. 



liiden' 



1903 




PHOTO. BY LEMMON. 







....HISTORY.... 



-OF- 



WETZEL COUNTY, 



WEST VIRGINIA. 

.0 



-BY- 



JOHN C. McELDOWNEY, JR. 



1901. 



JL i IS O i 



PREFACE. 

The History of Wetzel County runs from the year of 1772 to 
the present time. The author has used great pains in securing 
the most important events during that time, and has succeeded 
as far as the interesting matter is concerned, though there may 
be a few incidents left out for the want of data. The most im- 
portant ones liave been secured. There may be incidents in 
the history of the county that would not only speak bad of the 
morality of the county, but would bring back remembrances of 
unhappy da^'s, and things that would sadden the pages of Wet- 
zel's History. Wetzel county for years has been suffering with 
a name that she does not deserve, and she is gradually blotting 
it out. In the history of the county there are a great many men 
whose lives should have been mentioned in the book but were 
not, from the fact that the author could not secure anything 
concerning them. The author has put in four mouths in se- 
curing information and in writing this history. It does not 
require very much of an education to write a book of this kind. 
You can see that when glancing over the pages. 

THE AUTHOR. 



CONTENTS. 



Prehistoric Races of Wetzel 5,6 

Indians 7 

Lewis Wetzel 9, 20 

Simon Girty 21, 22 

Fort Henry 23, 27 

David Morgan's Adventure 28, 30 

Levi Morgan 3 1 , 34 

Edward Doolin 35, 36 

Morgan Morgan 37, 38 

The Story of Crow's Run 39, 40 

The Drygoos or the Two Half Indians 4f , 42 

Massacre of Handsucker Family ■ 43 

Harman Blennerhasset 44 

French Traveler 45 

Notes on the Death of Logan's Family 46, 48 

Battle of Captina 49, 5 1 

George Bartrug 52 

Pressley Martin 53 

Old Hundred 54 

Abraham Hanes 55 

Sampson Thistle 56 

R. W. Cox 57 

John Moore 58 

John F. Lacey 59, 77 

J. P. Dolliver 78 

Dr. T. M. Haskins 79, 80 

Friend Cox 81, 83 

Ebenezer Clark 84, 85 

Isaac Smith, 109 Years Old 86, 87 



Wm. Little 88 

Jeremiah Williams 89 

Robert McEldowney , Sr 90 

Judgs Thos. I. Stealey 91, 92 

Formation of Wetzel County 93, 94, 95 

Officers of Wetzel County 95 

Col, Robert McEldowney 96 

Capt. John McCaskey _ 97 

Elijah Morgan 98 

Basil T. Bowers 99 

Capt. Friend C. Cox 100, loi 

Judge M. H. Willis 102, T03 

Ex-Judge T. P. Jacobs 104 

Banks of Wetzel 105, 106 

Churches of New Martinsville 107, 108 

Newspapers of Wetzel 109 

Jennings Gang no, 127 

The Ghost of Gamble's Run 128, 130 

Towns of Wetzel County 131,158 

Education of Wetzel County 159, 162 

An Indian Massacre near the Borders of Wetzel County . . 163, 165 

The Heroism of Mrs. Bozarth 166 

An Indian Massacre in T3ler County .■ 167 

Adam Foe's Famous Fight With Big Foot 168, 169 

Sad Death of Captain Van Buskirk 170, 171 

Murder of the Two Misses Crow 172, 173 

Fourth Judicial Circuit 174, 186 

Philip G. Bier G. A. R. Post 181 

Wetzel Lodge No. 39, A. F. & A. M 182, 183 



PREHISTORIC RACES OF WETZEL 

COUNTY. 

The known history of this valley covers but a short period of 
time, probably 125 years, since the advent of the present race. 
The Indian at that time was its only inhabitant. He was not 
at all an industrious being, but a free man, whose home was 
wherever he chanced to place his wigwam. It is plain to be 
seen that a race more civilized and industrious inhabited 
this valley and the whole United States. Whether they were 
of the same race as the Indian, will never be known, but we do 
know that they were more thriving and industrious. The 
earth works that are found, in so many parts of this valley, 
are, no doubt, the works of a previous race. The stone imple- 
ments, that are found in so many parts of this valley, are con- 
structed out of a material that man at this genius world, deem 
not pliable. There was a mound, at one time, situated on the 
shore of the Ohio river, on the farm now owned by John G. 
McEldowney, a mound which was possessed of a rare an- 
tiquity. The following is a sketch taken from the January 19, 
1901, edition of the Wheeling Register: 

"The river bank below the fair grounds, opposite the amphi- 
theatre, was possessed at one time of a mound, that was very 
antique. The mound, which is now part of the Ohio river, was 
at that time as high as the bank is to-day, it being very much 
isolated from the shore. It was often used as a place of re- 
sort, to boys from the years of 1840 to 1850. Samuel Mc- 
Eldowney at that time lived near the spot, where the mound 
was situated. Many stone hatchets, tomahawks, spears, neck- 
laces, earrings, arrow heads and many other curiosities were 



6 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

taken from the mound. But one of the things that was of so 
vast importance, and no doubt was greatly admired in prehisto- 
ric times, was a golden image of an unknown god, moulded out 
of pure gold, without a mixture of any other metalic elements. 
It was about ten inches high, having a base, as though it were 
an ornament, and moulded on it was a statue of an unknown 
god. If the image could have talked it could tell a history of 
itself, that no doubt would unravel the mystery of the pre-his- 
toric races. It was found by the late Gapt. Robert McEldow- 
ney. Willis De Haas, an antiquarian and agent for the Smith- 
sonian institute, was then writing a history of the border wars 
of Western Virginia, and borrowed the curiosity. Comments 
of all kinds were passed on it by all of the leading newspapers 
of that day. The president of the Smithsonian institute au- 
thorized De Haas to purchase the image at any price, if pos- 
sible, but the prices offered were refused. The image was 
then borrowed by one Phenton McCabe, who disappeared from 
this place as soon as he had the image in his possession. A 
half moon moulded of copper was found near the same mound 
and about the same time by Mrs. Geo. Martin. Gopper wrist- 
bands were found in a rock mound situated near the water 
tanks at New Martinsville. Are these the works of the In- 
dian? If it be answered by ones who have lived with the In- 
dians all their life, they would say no, for they have never 
seen them constructing such articles as we have just men- 
tioned. 



THE INDIANS. 

The Indian race is the most peculiar of the living races; their 
origin is not known, and ideas of all kinds have been expressed 
on their origin by noted historians. We can speak nothing of 
the Indian but that which he was when this country was dis- 
covered and following. The Indian was made up of rare ge- 
nius; they were capable of working material that men at this 
time cannot work; their whole mind was based upon the hunt- 
ing of game or fighting with the white man ; they were divided 
into different nations and tribes, which were very distinct from 
each other; there was a general resemblance among them, 
their faces being of a copper color. The language of the differ- 
ent nations was different, though being very much alike. They 
lived in huts, which they called wigwams; they were very 
light, and could easily be carried from one place to another. 
The Indian used great pride in adorning himself in gay colors. 
They believed in a supreme being, but not as we do. There 
are numbers of Indians in the west, being the descendants of 
the western tribes; they are kept and protected by the United 
State government. 



LOUIS WETZEL, THE BOONE OF WEST 

VIRGINIA, 

And His Adventures Among the Indians. 

In the year of 1772 the four Zane brothers settled at the 
mouth of Wheeling creek; with them came an honest, brave, 
but rough old German, by the name of John Wetzel, the father 
of Louis, the bold, wary and tireless Indian hunter of West 
Virginia, whose name was a household word throughout the 
State. He was also the father of four more sons and two 
daughters. His sons were Martin, George, John and Jacob, 
The two daughters were Susan and Christina. The latter 
books of Indian wars which contain the story of John Wetzel, 
say he was killed up Wheeling creek, but the old Border 
Books, whose authors have talked with the notorious Louis 
Wetzel, say that his father was killed near Captina in 1787. 
"On his return from Middle Island, Creek, himself and compan- 
ion," says the author of the Western Border, ''were in a canoe 
paddling slowly near the shore of the Ohio river, when they 
were hailed by a party of Indians, and ordered to land; this 
they of course refused, when immediately they were fired upon 
and Wetzel was shot through the body. Feeling himself mor- 
tally wounded, he directed his companion to lie down in the 
canoe, while he (Wetzel) so long as strength remained, would 
paddle the frail vessel beyond the reach of the savages ; in this 
way he saved the life of his friend, while his own was ebbing 
away fast. He died soon after reaching the shore at Baker's 
Station, a few miles north from where he was shot." The 
author (McEldowney) claims that the foregoing is a true state- 
ment as to the death of John Wetzel, from the fact that a hum- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 9 

ble grave can be seen near the scene of the old fortress, and a 
rough stone marks the spot, bearing the inscription in rough 
and rude, but plain, letters: 

J. W. 1787. 
No man of the western border was more dreaded by an ene- 
my than was Louis Wetzel. By many he was regarded as 
nothing more than a semi-savage, a man whose disposition was 
that of an enraged panther, whose whole mind was upon the 
blood of a human being. "But it was not true," says De- 
haas, in his Border Wars of Western Virginia, who says: ''He 
was never known to inflict any cruelty upon women and chil- 
dren, and he was never known to torture his victim as he has 
been charged." He had often heard his mother read these 
lines in the Bible: ''Vengeance is mine, saith the Lord." He 
had received unwonted torture from the hands of the Indians; 
his father had been killed by them, and he was revengful for 
those things. When he swore to have vengeance against the 
whole Indian race, in the presence of his mother, brothers and 
Zanes at the mouth of Wheeling creek, he was joined by all of 
his brothers, even Jacob, who was then a mere lad, who said: 
"Louis, your oath is mine." He was possessed of a remarka- 
ble degree of intuitive knowledge, which constitutes an effi- 
cient hunter. He was as bold as a lion, cunning as a fox, and 
as quick as a squirrel. The name of Wetzel sent a thrill of 
horror through the breasts of the heartless savages. 

The first event in the life of our hero occurred when he was 
but sixteen years of age. The Indians had not been very trou- 
blesome in the vicinity in which his father lived, and one day 
while he and Jacob, his younger brother, were out playing, he 
was amazed to find a gun pointed at him, and started to run 
towards the house, upon which he was shot in the breast, 
which wounded him severely, but not dangerously. In an in- 
stant two warriors sprung upon him and his brother and made 
them prisoners, and they were taken about twenty miles from 



10 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

home. During the marcli, Louis suffered very much with the 
wound he had received from their hands^ but bore it with cour- 
age, knowing that if he complained he would immediately be 
tomahawked and scalped. When night came they built a fire 
and laid down to rest, but did not tie their prisoners, as was 
the usual custom. When the Indians were asleep, Louis hav- 
ing cautioned his brother in the meantime, not to sleep, they 
arose and pushed into the woods, where they instanly paused, 
Louis finding that they could go no further without moccasius; 
he returne to camp and secured the moccasins, and after fit- 
ting them on his brother returned to get his father's gun, 
which the Indians had stolen from his house, aud returning, 
went onward till they were again among friends, having es- 
caped from the Indians without detection. 

The following are incidents in the life of Louis Wetzel, taken 
from the "Mirror of Olden Time Border Life." 

"The first I recollect of seeing this distinguished warrior 
was when he attached himself to a scouting party, about the 
year 1787. My father then lived on the bank of the Ohio in 
Virginia, at a place known as the Mingo Bottom, three miles 
below Steubenville. A party of Indians had crossed the Ohio 
not far from where we lived, killed a family and then made 
their escape with impunity. As the Indians had not crossed 
the Ohio in that neighborhood for a year or two previous the 
settlers began to think that they could live with safety in their 
cabins. This unexpected murder spread great alarm through 
the sparse settlement and revenge was determined upon. 
Some of the settlers, who were in very easy circumstances, in 
order to stimulate the young and active to take vengeance on 
the enemy, proposed to draw up a subscription, and give a 
handsome reward to the man who would bring the first Indian 
scalp. Upwards of one hundred dollars was subscribed. Major 
McMahon, who frequently led the hardy frontiersmen in those 
perilous times, soon raised a company of about twenty men, 
among whom was Louis Wetzel. They crossed the Ohio and 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. H 

pursued the Indians' trail with unerring tact, till they came to 
the Muskingum river. There the advance, or spies, discovered 
a party of Indians far superior to their own in number, camped 
on the bank of the river. As the Indians had not yet discov- 
ered the white men, Major McMahon retreated with his party 
to the top of the hill, where they might consult about their 
future operations. The conclusion of the conference was, 
'that discretion was the better part of valor,' and a hasty re- 
treat was prudently resolved on. While the party were con- 
sulting on the propriety of attacking the Indians, Louis Wetzel 
sat on a log, with his gun laid across his lap, and his tomahawk 
in his hand; he took no part in the council. As soon as the 
resolution was adopted to retreat, it was without delay put 
into execution, and the party set off, leaving Louis sitting on 
the log. Major McMahon called to him, and inquired if he was 
going with them. Louis answered, "that he was not; that he 
came out to hunt Indians; that he was not going home like a 
fool with his finger in his mouth. He would take an Indian 
scalp, or lose his own before he went home." All their argu- 
ments were without avail. The stubborn, unyielding disposi- 
tion was such, that he never submitted himself to the control 
or advice of others; they were compelled to leave him, a soli- 
tary being in the midst of the thick forest, surrounder by vig- 
ilant enemies. Notwithstanding this solitary individual ap- 
peared to rush into danger with the fury of a mad man, in his 
disposition was displayed the cunning of a fox, as well as the 
boldness of the lion. 

As soon as his friends had left him, he picked up his blanket, 
shouldered his rifle, and struck off into a different part of the 
country, in hope that fortune would place in his way some lone 
Indian. He kept aloof from the large streams, where large 
parties of the enemy generally encamped. He travelled 
through the woods with a noiseless tread, and the keen glance 
of the eagle, that day and the next, till evening, when he dis- 
covered a smoke curling up above the bushes. He crept softly 



12 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

to the fire and found two blankets and a small copper kettle 
in the camp. He instantly concluded that this was the camp 
of only two Indians, and he could kill them both. He con- 
cealed himself in the thick brush, but in such position that he 
could see the number and motions of the enemy. About sun- 
set one of the Indians came in, made up the fire, and went to 
cooking his supper. Shortly after the other came in; they ate 
their suppers, after which they began to sing and amuse them- 
selves by telling comic stories, at which they would burst into 
a roar of laughter. Singing and telling stories was the com- 
mon practice of the white and red men when lying in their 
hunting camps. These poor fellows, when enjoying them- 
selves in the utmost glee, little dreamed that the grim mon- 
ster, death, in the shape of Louis Wetzel, was about stealing 
a march on them, Louis kept a keen watch on their maneu- 
vers. About nine or ten o'clock at night, one of the Indians 
wrapped his blanket around him, shouldered his rifle, took a 
chunk of fire in his hands, and left the camp, doubtless with 
the intention of going to watch a deer lick. The fire and 
smoke would serve to keep off the gnats and mosquitoes. It 
is a remarkable fact, that deer are not alarmed at seeing fire, 
from the circumstance of seeing it' s© frequently in the fall 
and winter season, when the leaves and grass are dry. The 
absence of the Indian was the cause of vexation and disap- 
pointment to our hero, whose trap was so happily set, and he 
considered his game secure. He still indulged the hope that 
the Indians might return to camp before day. In this he was 
disappointed. There were birds in the woods who chirped and 
gave notice to the woodsman that the day would soon appear. 
Louis heard the wooded songsters begin to chatter, and deter- 
mined to delay no longer the work of death for the return of 
the Indian. He walked to the camp with a noiseless step, 
and found his victim buried in profound sleep, lying upon his 
side. He drew his butcher knife, and with all his force, im- 
pelled by revenge, he thrust the blade through his heart: He 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 



13 



said the Indian gave a short quiver and repulsive motion, and 
faded away in death's eternal sleep. He then scalped him, 
and set off for home. He arrived at Mingo Bottom only one 
day after his unsuccessful companions. He claimed, and as he 
should, received his reward. 

Some time after, General Harmer had erected a fort at the 
mouth of Muskingum river. He prevailed upon some white 
men to go with a flag among the nearest Indian tribes, and 
endeavor to prevail with them to come to the fort, and there 
to conclude a treaty of peace. A large number of Indians 
came on general invitation, and camped on the Muskingum 
river, a few miles above its mouth. General Harmer issued a 
proclamation, giving notice that a cessation of arms was mu- 
tually agreed upon, between the white and the red men, till 
an effort for a treaty of peace was made. As treaties of peace 
with the Indians had been so frequently violated, but llrtle 
faith was placed in the stability of such treaties by the front- 
iersmen, notwithstanding they were as frequently the ag- 
gressors, as were the Indians. Half of the frontier men of 
that day had been born in a fort and grew to manhood, as it 
were, in a siege. The Indian war had continued so long and 
was so bloody that they believed war with them was to con- 
tinue as long as one lived to make fight. With these oppres- 
sions, as they considered the Indian truthless, it was difficult 
to inspire confidence in the stability of such treaties. While 
General Harmer was diligently engaged in making peace with 
the Indians, Wetzel concluded to go to Fort Harmer, and as 
the Indians would be passing and repassing between their 
camp and the Fort, would offer a fair opportunity for killing 
one. He associated himself in this enterprise with Veich Dick- 
inson, who was only a small grade below himself in restless- 
ness and daring. As soon as the enterprise was resolved upon, 
the desired point, and set themselves down in ambush near the 



14 HISTORY OF AYETZEL COUNTY. 

path leading from the fort and the Indian camp. Shortly af- 
ter thej had concealed themselves by the wayside, they saw an 
Indian approaching on horse-back, running his horse at full 
speed. They called to him, but owing to the clatter of the 
horse's feet, he did not heed or hear their call, but kept on at 
a sweeping gallop. When the Indian had nearly passed they 
concluded to give him a fire as he rode. They fired, but as the 
Indian did not fall they thought they had missed him. As the 
alarm would soon be spread that an Indian had been shot at, 
and as large numbers of them were at hand, they commenced 
an immediate retreat to their home. As their neighbors well 
knew their object, as soon as they returned they were asked 
what luck. Wetzel answered that they had bad luck; that 
they shot at an Indian on horseback and missed him; but the 
truth was, that they had shot him in the lower part of his body 
on which he rode to camp, and expired that night of his wound. 
It was soon rumored that Lewis Wetzel was the murderer. 
General Harmer sent a Captain Kingsbury with a company of 
men to the Mingo Bottom, with orders to take Wetzel, dead or 
alive, a useless and impotent order. A company of men could 
as easily have taken Old Horny out of the bottomless pit as 
to take Lewis Wetzel by force from the neighborhood of Mingo 
Bottom. On the day Captain Kingsbury arrived, there was a 
shooting match at my father's, and Lewis was there. As soon 
as the object of Captain Kingsbury was ascertained, it was re- 
solved to ambush the Captain's barge and kill him and his 
men. Happily, Major McMahon was present to prevent this 
catastrophe, and prevailed upon Wetzel and his friends to sus- 
pend the attack until he could pay Captain Kingsbury a visit, 
and perhaps he would prevail with them to return without 
making an attempt to take Wetzel. With a great deal of re- 
luctance they agreed to suspend the attack until Major McMa- 
hon returned. The resentment and fury of Wetzel and his 
men were boiling and blowing like the steam from a steam- 
boat. ^'A pretty affair is this," they said, "to hang a man for 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 15 

killing an Indian, when they are killing some of our people 
every day-' Major McMahon informed Captain Kingsbury of 
the force and fury of the people, and assured them if they per- 
sisted in the attempt to seize Wetzel that he would have all 
of the settlers in the country upon him; that nothing could 
save them from being massacred, but a speedy return. The 
Captain took his advice and forthwith returned to Fort Har- 
mer. Wetzel now considered the affair as finally settled. As 
Lewis was never long stationary, but ranged at will along the 
river from Ft. Pitt to the falls of the Ohio, and was a welcome 
guest and perfectly at home wherever he went, shortly after 
the attempt to seize him by Captain Kingsbury and his men, 
he got into a canoe with the intention of proceeding down the 
Ohio river to Kentucky. He had a friend by the name of 
Hamilton Carr, who had lately settled on an island near Ft. 
Harmer. Here he stopped, with the intention of stopping for 
the night. By some means, which never was explained. Gen- 
eral Harmer was advised of his being on the island. A guard 
was sent who crossed to the island, surrounded Mr. Carr's 
house, went in, and as Wetzel lay asleep he was seized by num- 
bers, his hands and feet were securely bound, and he was hur- 
ried to a boat, and from thence placed in a guard room, where 
he was loaded with irons. The ignominy of wearing iron hand 
cuffs and hobbles, and being chained down, to a man of his in- 
dependent and resolute spirit was more than he could bear; it 
was to him more painful than death; shortly after he was con- 
fined, he sent for General Harmer, and requested a visit. The 
General went. Wetzel admitted without hesitation, "that he 
had shot an Indian." As he did not wish to be hung like a 
dog, he requested the Genera] to give him up to the Indiaus, 
as there was a large number present. "He might place them 
all in a circle, with their scalping knives and tomahawks, and 
give him a tomahawk, and place him in the midst of the circle, 
and then let him and the Indians fight it out in the best way 
they could." The General told him, "That he was an officer 



16 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

appointed by the law, by which he must be governed. As the 
law did not authorize him to make such a compromise, he 
could not grant his request." After a few days longer con- 
finement, he again sent for the General to come and see him; 
and he did so. Wetzel said, he "had never been confined, and 
could not live much longer if he was not permitted to walk 
about." The General ordered the officer on guard to knock off 
his iron fetters but to leave on his handcuffs, and permit him 
to walk about on the point at the mouth of the Muskingum; 
but to be sure and keep a close watch upon him. As soon as 
they were outside of the fort gate, Lewis began to caper about 
like a wild colt broke loose from the stall. He would start 
and run a few yards as if he was about making an escape, then 
turn round and join the guard. The next start he would run 
farther, and then stop. In this way he amused the guard for 
some time, at every start running a little farther. At length, 
he called forth all his strength, resolution and activity, and de- 
termined on freedom or an early grave. He gave a sudden 
spring forward, and. bounded off at the top of his speed for the 
shelter of his beloved woods. His movement was so quick, 
and so unexpected, that the guard were taken by surprise, and 
he got nearly a hundred yards before they recovered their as- 
tonishment. They fired, but all missed; they followed in pur- 
suit, but he soon left them out of sight. As he was well ac- 
quainted with the country, he made for a dense thicket, two 
or three miles from the fort. In the midst of this thicket he 
found a tree which had fallen across a log, where the brush 
were very close. Under the tree he squeezed his body. The 
brush were so thick that he could not be discovered unless his 
pursuers examined very closely. As soon as his escape was 
announced. General Harmer started the soldiers and Indians 
in pursuit. After he had laid about two hours in his place of 
concealment, two Indians came into the thicket and stood on 
the log, under which he lay concealed. His heart beat so vio- 
lently he was afraid they would hear it thumping. He could 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. IT 

hear them hallooing in every direction, as they hunted through 
the brush. At length, the evening wore away the day, he 
found himself alone in the friendly thicket. But what could 
he do? His hands were fastened with iron cuffs and bolts, 
and he knew of no friend on the same side of the Ohio to whom 
he could apply for assistance. He had a friend who had re- 
cently put up a cabin on the Virginia side of the Ohio, who^ he 
had no doubt, would lend him any assistance in his power. 
With the most gloomy foreboding of the future, a little after 
night-fall he left the thicket and made his way to the Ohio. 
He came to the river about three or four miles below the fort. 
He took this circuit, as he expected guards would be set at 
every point where he could find a canoe. How to get across 
the river was the all-important question. He could not make 
a raft with his hands bound. He was an excellent swimmer, 
but he was fearful he could not swim the Ohio with his heavy 
iron handcuffs. After pausing some time, he determined to 
make the attempt. Nothing worse than death could happen; 
and he would prefer drowning to again falling into the hands 
of Harmer and his Indians. Like the illustrious Caesar in the 
storm, he would trust the event to fortune; and he plunged 
into the river. He swam the greatest part of the distance on 
his back, and reached the Virginia shore in safety; but so 
much exhausted that he had to lay on the beach some time be- 
fore he was able to rise. He went to the cabin of his friend, 
where he was received with rapture. A file and hammer soon 
released him from his iron handcuffs. His friend (I have forgot- 
ten his name) furnished him with a gun, ammunition and blan- 
ket, and he was again free, and prepared to engage in any new 
enterprise that would strike his fancy. He got into a canoe, 
and went to Kentucky, where he considered himself safe fram 
the grasp of General Harmer. 

After this unfortunate happening he went south, where he 
staid for about five years_, and his friends and relatives were 
wondering as to his whereabouts, and upon inquiry learned of 



18 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

his close confinement at Natches, having been convicted of a 
felony; some say counterfeiting, and some say being intimate 
with the wife of a Spaniard; the latter probably being the 
cause. His friends immediately received a pardon for him, 
upon which he returned home (Wheeling), where he resided 
with a near relative, Mrs. Greotfge Crookis, and upon being 
joked by her, she asked him if it was not about time for him to 
choose a wife, upon which he replied that '^there is no one in 
this world for him, but in Heaven." He returned south after 
being at the Crookis homestead for a number of years, vowing 
to avenge himself against the Spaniard, who had put him in 
jail for something he said he had never done. Whether he did 
or not was never known. ''The appearance of Louis Wetzel," 
Bays Judge Foster, "looked to be about twenty-six years of age, 
about five feet ten inches high, being full breasted and very 
broad across the shoulders, his face being heavily pitted from 
the effects of smallpox; his hair reached to the calves of his 
legs." David Mclntire, of the county of Belmont, Ohio, was 
the last man known to have seen Louis Wetzel. He saw him 
at Natches, where he was on a visit to a friend, one Phillip 
Sykes. He died in 1808. The number of scalps taken by him 
is unestimable; the best authorities estimate it at something 
near one hundred. 

STOUT HEARTED LOUIS WETZEL. 

Stout hearted Louis Wetzel 

Rides down the river shore, 
The wilderness behind him, 

The wilderness before. 

He rides in the cool of morning, 

Humming the dear old tune, 
"Into the heart of the greenwood, 

Into the heart of June." 

He needs no guide in th^e forest 

More than the honey bees; 
His guides are the cool green mosses 

To the northward of the trees. 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 19 

Nor fears him the foe whose footstep 

Is light as the summer air; 
His tomahawk hangs in his shirt belt, 

The scalp knife glitters there. 

The stealthy Wyandottes tremble 

And speak his name with fear, 
For his aim is sharp and deadly, 

And his rifle's ring is clear. 

So pleasantly rides he onward, 

Pausing to hear the stroke 
Of the settler's ax in the forest, 

Or the crack of a falling oak. 

The partridge drums on the dry oak. 

The croaking croby crows. 
The black bird sings in the spice bush, 

The robin in the haws. 

And as they chatter and twitter, 

The wild 'bird seems to say: 
"Do not harm us, good Louis, 

And you shall have luck to-day." 

A sharp clear ring through the greenwood. 

And with mightier leap and bound. 
The pride of the western forest 

Lies bleeding on the ground. 

Then out from the leafy shadows 

A stalwart hunter springs, 
And his unsheathed scalp knife glittering, 

Against his rifle rings. 

"And who art thou," quoth Louis, 

"That comest twixt me and mine?" 
And his cheek is flushed with anger. 

As a bacchant's flushed with wine. 

"What boots that to thy purpose?" 

The stranger hot replies; 
"My rifle marked it living. 

And mine, when dead, the prize." 



20 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Then with sinewy arms they grapple,. 

Like giants fierce in brawls, 
Till stretched along greensward 

The humble hunter falls. 

"Now take this rod of alder. 

Set it by yonder tree 
A hundred yards beyond me, 

And wait you there and see." 

"For he who dares such peril 

But lightly holds his breath. 
May his unshrieved soul be ready 

To welcome sudden death." 

So the stranger takes the alder. 

And wandering stands in view. 
While Wetzel's aim grows steady 

And he cuts the rod in two. 

"By heavens," exclaims the stranger, 

"One only, far and nigh, 
Hath arms like the lithe young ash tree 

Or half so keen an eye," 

"And that is Louis Wetzel," 

Quoth Louis. "Here he stands." 
So they speak in gentle manner 

And clasp their friendly hands. 

Ride out of the leafy greenwood. 

As rises the yellow moon. 
And the purple hills lie pleasantly 

In the softened air of June. 

— FLOHUS B. PIMPTON. 



SIMON GIRTY. 

The notorious Simon Girty once led a band of savages 
through Wetzel county. We here give a sketch of him, taken 
from McDonald's History of Ohio. 

Simon Girty was from Pennsylvania, to which his father 
had emigrated from Ireland. The old man was beastly intem- 
perate, and nothing ranked higher in his estimation than a jug 
of whisky. Grog was his song, and grog he would have. His 
Bottishnesr, turned his wife's affection. Ready for seduction, 
she yielded her heart to a neighboring rustic, who, to 
remove all obstacles to their wishes, knocked Girty on the 
head and bore off the trophy of his prowess. Four sons of this 
interesting couple were left, Thomas, Simon, George and 
James. The three latter were taken prisoners in Braddock's 
war by the Indians. George was adopted by the Delawares, 
became a ferocious savage, and died in a drunken fit. James 
was adopted by the Swanees, and became as depraved as his 
other brothers. It is said that he often visited Kentucky at 
the time of its first settlement, and inflicted most barbarous 
tortures upon all captive women who came within his reach. 
Traders who were acquainted with him say so ferocious was he 
that he would not have turned on his heel to save a prisoner 
from the flames. To this monster are to be attributed many of 
the cruelties charged upon his brother Simon, yet he was 
caressed by Proctor and Elliott. Simon was adopted by the 
Senecas, and became an expert hunter; in Kentucky and Ohio 
he sustained the character of an unrelenting barbarian. One 
hundred years ago his name was associated with everything 
that was cruel and fiendlike; to the women and children par- 
ticularly, nothing was more terrifying than the name of Simon 



22 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Girty. At that time it was believed by many that he had fled 
from justice and was seeking refuge among the Indians, deter- 
mined to do his countrymen all the harm in his power. This 
impression was as erroneous one; being adopted by the In- 
dians, he joined them in their wars and conformed to their 
usages. This was the education he had received, and their foes 
were his. Although trained in all his pursuits as an Indian, it 
is said to be a fact susceptible of proof that through his im- 
portance many prisoners were saved from death. His influ- 
ence was great, and when he chose to be merciful it was gener- 
ally in his power to protect the imploring captive. His repu- 
tation was that of an honest man^ and be fulfilled his engage- 
ments to the last cent. It is said he once sold his horse, rather 
than to incur the odium of violating his promise. He was in- 
temperate, and when intoxicated ferocious and abusive to 
friends. Although much disabled the last ten years of his life 
by rheumatism, he rode to his hunting ground in pursuit of 
game, suffering the most excruciating pains. He often boast- 
ed of his warlike spirit. It was his constant wish, one that 
was gratified, that he might die in battle. He was at Proctor's 
defeat, and cut to pieces by Colonel Johnson's men. Girty led 
the first attack against Fort Henry in 1777; he also led an at- 
tack against Baker's fort the same year, but without efifect. 



FORT HENRY, AT WHEELING, W. VA. 

Wetzel county was at one time a part of Ohio county, and 
was during the sieges of Fort Henry, and a slietch of the sieges 
would be appropriate. We have selected a sketch written by 
G. L. Cranmer. 

Originally called Fort Fincastle in honor of Lord Dunmore, 
who, at the time of its erection, was Governor of the Colony, in 
the year 1776 its name was changed to Fort Henry, in honor of 
Patrick Henry, the first Governor of the Commonwealth. It 
was erected in the year 1774, the immediate cause of its erec- 
tion being found in the fact that an apprehended attack from 
the savages during that year was anticipated, and a place of 
defence for the protection of the infant settlement, of which 
they were destitute, was demanded. It was planned by Gen- 
eral Gorge Rogers Clark, Commandant of the Western Military 
Department, and was built by the settlers. 

In shape it was a parallelogram, being about three hundred 
and fifty-six feet in length and about one hundred and fifty 
feet in width, and was surrounded by pickets about twelve feet 
high with bastions at each corner. Inside of the stockade 
cabins were erected for the shelter of such as sought protec- 
tion, a magazine for military stores, a block house, the second 
story of which projected over the lower, filled with port holes^ 
through which the trusty rifle of the pioneer sent its death- 
dealing missile. On the top of the block house was a mounteji 
swivel, a four pounder, which did effective work in an emer- 
gency. Wells were also sunk in the inclosure, so that a supply 
of water was secured at all times. 

To the southeast, and about fifty yards distant from the 
Fort, stood the residence of Col. Ebenezer Zane— a cabin built 



24 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

of rough -hewn logs, with a kitchen or outbuilding in the rear, 
which also had attached to it a magazine for military stores. 

This house served as an outpost during the last siege of the 
Fort, which occurred on the 11th day of September, 1782, and 
contributed greatly to the defeat of the Indians and their Bri- 
tish allies on that memorable occasion. There were two regu- 
lar sieges of the Fort— the one in the year 1777 and the other in 
the year 1782, both of which were successfully repulsed. At 
the last siege the Indians were commanded by James Girty, 
and the British troops by Captain Pratt. Many writers name 
Simon Girty as the one in command on this occasion, but this 
is a mistake, as at this time he was with an Indian army which 
had invaded the territory of Kentucky, and he was present 
with that force at its attack on Bryant's Station, which oc- 
curred but a short time prior to the attack on Fort Henry. 

James Girty was even more vindictive and bloodthirsty than 
his brother Simon Girty, but was not so conspicuous a charac- 
ter as the latter. There is reason to believe, however, that 
many of the atrocious deeds attributed to Simon Girty, the re- 
cital of which even at this late date makes the blood to run 
cold with horror, were perpetrated by James. 

On the happening of the last siege the settlers on short and 
sudden notice had barely time to escape to the shelter of the 
Fort, so unexpected was the appearance of the savages. Con- 
Bequently their homes, together with their furniture, were left 
exposed to the rapacity and cupidity of their assailants. It 
was towards evening that the Indian force with their allies 
appeared, and from that time until midnight repeated and fu- 
rious assaults were made by them on the Fort and its inmates,, 
which were as often repulsed. 

Awaiting the dawn of day, the attacks were renewed, but 
with as little success as during the preceding night. In the af- 
ternoon of the second day the besieged, finding their stock of 
powder had almost given out, it became with them a serious 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 25 

question as to how they were to obtain a supply. There waa 
plenty of it in the magazine at the house of Col. Zane, but ap- 
parently for all practical purposes it might have been a hun- 
dred miles distant. In this juncture Silas Zane, who was in 
command of the Fort, called atention to the critical state of af- 
fairs, and asked for volunteers to undertake the perilous feat of 
going to Col. Zane's house for the purpose of obtaining the 
needed supply. Several young men fleet of foot as well as bold 
and intrepid, offered their services, and each clamored to have 
the preference in an enterprise which, humanly speaking, 
boded almost certain death. 

At this crisis a young lady seventeen years of age, who had 
been engaged in moulding bullets and loading the guns of the 
men during the siege, stepped forward and besought her bro- 
ther, Silas Zane, to permit her to undertake the arduous task, 
accompanying her arguments with representations to the ef- 
fect that she, being a woman, could be more easily spared than 
a man ; that each man was needed for the defence, and that the 
loss of her life as compared with one of the sterner sex would 
be a small matter. Her arguments prevailed and she was per- 
mitted to essay the effort. 

Divesting herself of superfluous clothing, the gates were 
thrown open for her egress, when, bounding forth with the 
fleetness of a deer, her long black hair streaming like a banner 
on the air, she rapidly sped in the direction of her brother's 
house, which she reached in security. Not a rifle had been 
raised nor a shot fired at her, the Indians, when they saw her, 
contemptuously exclaiming, "A squaw," ''A squaw." 

Hastily communicating her errand. Col. Zane snatched a ta- 
ble-cloth at hand, which he securely bound around her waist, 
and emptying into it the coveted powder, she set out on her re- 
turn. She had covered about half the distance between the 
house and the Fort, when the savages, apprehending her pur- 
pose, fired a storm of bullets at her person, which happily 



26 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY, 

proved harmless. In recounting her adventures subsequently, 
and especially this stirring incident, she would relate that the 
bullets whistled around her so thick and came so fast that her 
eyes were blinded with the dust so that she could scarcely dis- 
tinguish her way to the fort. As the gates were thrown open 
for her entrance, the Indians made an unavailing effort to 
reach them by rushing towards them and securing an ingress. 

This act of heroism upon the part of Elizabeth Zane saved 
the lives of the inmates of the Fort and enabled them to suc- 
cessfully withstand the siege. 

In the meantime the besiegers had been greatly harrassed 
and embarrassed by the continual firing from Col. Zane's 
house, which as an outpost contributed largely to the protec- 
tion of the stockade. On the second night it was therefore re- 
solved by the Indians to attempt its destruction. About mid- 
night the savages became quiet and they had suffered their 
tires to die out, while a hush of silence rested on the scene 
around. The vigilance of the occupants of the house, however, 
was not deceived by appearances. 

Old Sam, a Guinea negro who belonged to and was strongly 
attached to his master, Col. Zane, was on the alert with his 
trusty rifle in hand. He perceived a dark object with a lighted 
brand wriggling along on the ground, which ever and anon 
would wave to and fro in the air and blow upon it to rekindle. 
Allowing the Indian, for such it was, to approach within sure 
range, Sam fired, when the savage jumped to his feet, but fell 
back again yelling with rage and pain, until he either made his 
own way off or was aided to do so by others. Twice during the 
night did Sam frustrate two similar attempts on the part of 
the Indians. 

Old Sam and his wife were cared for assiduously until their 
death. They lived for many years after in a cabin which was 
erected for them on the upper portion of the Island, and died 



HISTORY OP WETZEL COUNTY. 27 

in peace and contentment, honored and respected by all who 
knew them, whose name was legion. 

On the morning of the third day the Indians held a powwow 
or council and determined to raise the siege^ greatly to the re- 
lief of the inmates of the house and Fort. With demonstra- 
tions of disgust and contempt they turned their backs upon the 
besieged, the greater portion of them recrossing the river, 
while a smaller portion went on a raid against some of the 
smaller forts back of Wheeling in the vicinity of the Pennsyl- 
vania line. 

W^hile peace between Great Britain and the Colonies had not 
yet been proclaimed, and was not for some months subsequent, 
yet virtually it did prevail and continued until its formal decla- 
ration, so that this siege of Port Henry was the last battle of 
the Eevolution, and the capstone of the war was laid on the 
soil of Western Virginia. 

Elizabeth Zane, the heroine of Fort Henry, was twice mar- 
ried — the first time to a man by the name of Clark, and all her 
life was spent in the immediate vicinity of the scene of her ex- 
ploits. Her immediate descendants have all deceased, but 
her heroism will ever remain as a monument to perpetuate her 
name and fame. 

Unless speedily rescued, the past with all its splendid 
achievements, its incidents and its memories, will be swal- 
lowed up in oblivion. To the youth of our land we therefore 
appeal not to let these things die. Let them become the guar- 
dians of our pioneer history, and by frequent recurrence to the 
scenes of the past restore their loyalty and revive their patri- 
otism. 



DAVID MORGAN'S ADVENTURE. 

In the neighborhood of what was once Prickett's Fort, Mo- 
nangalia county, then Virginia, a sanguinary contest took 
place between Capt. David Morgan and two Indians. Mor- 
gan was at that time over sixty years of age. In the early 
part of April, feeling himself unwell, he sent his two children^ 
Stephen, a youth of sixteen, and Sara, a girl of fourteen, to 
feed the cattle at his farm, about a mile off. The children, 
thinking to remain all day, and spend the time in preparing 
ground to plant watermelons, unknown to their father took 
with them some bread and meat. Having fed the stock, Ste- 
phen set himself to work, and while he was engaged in grub- 
bing his sister would remove the brush, and otherwise aid him 
in the labor of clearing the ground, occasionally going to the 
house to wet some linen which she had spread out to bleach. 
Morgan, after the children had been gone some time, betook 
himself to bed, and soon falling asleep, dreamed that he saw 
Stephen and Sara walking about the fortyard, scalped. 
Aroused from slumber by the harrowing spectacle presented to 
his sleeping view, he inquired if the children had returned, and 
was informed that they had not. He then set out to see what 
detained them, taking with him his gun. As he approached 
the house, still impressed with the horrible fear that he should 
find his dream true, he ascended an eminence from which he 
could distinctly see over his plantation, and descrying from 
thence the objects of his anxious solicitude, he went near where 
the children were working, and seated himself on a log. He 
had been there but a few minutes, when he saw two Indians 
come out from the house and start toward the children, on 
which he told them in a careful manner to make for the fort at 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 29 

once, as they were in great danger. They started to run and 
the Indians took after them, but the old gentleman showing 
himself at this instant, caused them to forbear the chase and 
shelter themselves behind treees. The old man then tried to 
escape by flight, and the Indians took after him. His age and 
his health prevented him from keeping out of their reach, and 
finding that they were gaining on him, he turned around to 
shoot, on which the savages took shelter behind trees, Morgan 
doing the same thing. The one that the Indian got behind was 
too small to shelter him, and Morgan seeing that a part of his 
body was in view, shot and killed him. Having succeeded in 
killing one of the savages he again took to flight, and the re- 
maining Indian again took after him. The race continued for 
about sixty yards; Morgan was fast giving out. He looked 
over his shoulder and saw the Indian not ten steps behind him, 
with his gun raised as if he was going to fire. Morgan then 
dodged to one side and the bullet went whizzing past him. 
The odds now were not so great as before, and Morgan stopped 
running and made at the savage with his gun, on which the 
Indian hurled a tomahawk at him, cutting two of his fingers off 
and injuring another severely. They then grabbed holds, and 
Morgan, being a good wrestler, threw his adversary, but found 
himself turned. The savage was now on top of him, feeling for 
his knife and sending forth a most terrific yell, as is their cus- 
tom when thinking a victory secure. A woman's apron, which 
the Indian had taken from the house and fastened around him 
above his knife, hindered him from getting at it quickly, and 
Morgan, getting one of his fingers in his mouth, deprived him 
of the use of one hand. The Indian at last got hold of his 
knife, catching it on the lower part of the blade. Morgan, too, 
got a small hold on the extremity of the handle, and as the In- 
dian drew it from the scabbard Morgan bit his finger so hard 
that he relaxed his hold, thus giving Morgan a chance to draw 
it through his hand, cutting it severely. By this time both had 



■30 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

gained their feet, and the savage, seeing the advantage that 
Morgan was gaining over him. tried to disengage himself, but 
Morgan held fast to him and succeeded in giving him a fatal 
blow that made the almost lifeless body sink in his arms. He 
then loosened his hold and departed for the fort. On his way 
he met his daughter, who not being able to keep pace with her 
brother, was following his footsteps. Assured thus far of the 
safety of his children, he accompanied his daughter to the fort 
and then returned with a company of men to see if there were 
any more Indians about. On arriving at the spot where the 
battle took place, the wounded Indian was not to be seen, but 
they trailed him by the blood to the branches of a fallen tree, 
and as they approached him he saluted them familiarly: ''How 
•do do, broder; how do do, broder." Alas, poor fellow, but 
their brotherhood extended no farther than to the gratification 
of a vengeful feeling. He was tomahawked and scalped. He 
and his companion were flayed, their skins tanned and convert- 
ed into saddle seats, shot pouches and belts. On the day of the 
unveiling of the monument that was erected in his memory on 
the site of the combat in Monongalia county, there was on ex- 
hibition at the spot a shot pouch and saddle girth made from 
the skins of the same Indians he killed. The shot pouch is now 

in the possession of , of this county. The knife 

that the Indians were killed with is owned by some of Mor- 
gan's descendants in Marion county. 



LEVI MORGAN. 

The people of Wetzel county are interested in the life and 
deeds of Levi Morgan, from the fact that Hon. Aaron Morgan, 
at the recent session of the Legislature, obtained an appropria- 
tion from that body of |3;,500, for the erection of a monument 
in the court house yard at New Martinsville in his honor. The 
author has used great pains in securing the deeds of him more 
than anything else, his place of birth, for the year is not 
known by the author, and is unable to find out, neither can he 
obtain the year of his death. All that we can find out is that 
he moved on a farm near Louisville, Kentucky, after Wayne's 
treaty. In 1878 the Indians visited the settlement on Buffalo, 
in Pennsylvania, and Levi Morgan was there, skinning a wolf, 
which he had just taken from a trap. He saw three Indians, 
one riding a horse which belonged to a neighbor of his, and 
one that he knew very well, having rode it number of times 
previous. The other two were walking close behind, coming 
toward him. On looking in the direction they were coming, 
he recognized the horse and supposed the rider to be its owner, 
and on looking again discovered his mistake, and quickly 
seized his gun, sprang behind a large boulder^ the Indians tak- 
ing shelter behind trees as soon as he was from their view. 
He turned and glanced around the rock and found that the 
Indians were looking for him at the other end of the rock, and 
seeing one peep out, immediately pulled his gun and fired, on 
which the Indian fell dead. But on turning to reload his gun, 
found that he had left his powder horn where he was skinning 
the wolf. He then darted from behind the rock with all of his 
speed, and one of the savages took after him. For some time 
he held his own in the race, but the savage, being used to such 



32 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

work, began to gain on him. The chances were very slim now 
for Morgan, and seeing this he threw his gun down, thinlving 
that the Indian would be amazed at the idea, and pick up the 
gun, but the Indian did nothing of the kind and passed by it 
as though it had never been dropped. He then threw his shot 
pouch and coat in the way, but his schemes were in vain. 
They ran on until they reached the top of the hill. Here he 
stopped, and as though some one was on the other side of the 
hill, called out: "Come on, come on; here's one, make haste." 
The Indian^ thinking that he was calling upon some one on the 
other side of the hill, immediately beat a hasty retreat. Mor- 
gan then exclaimed: "Shoot quick, or he will be out of reach." 
The Indian seemed to double the thought, aud hastened his 
speed. Morgan then turned and went home, being pleased 
with his success, leaving his gun, shot pouch and coat to re- 
ward the savage for the deception practiced upon him. 

At the treaty of Augliaxe he met the Indian who had given 
him such a chase, and he still had the gun that Morgan had 
thrown down. After talking over the circumstance, they de- 
cided to test the ownership of it by a friendly race. The In- 
dian being beaten, rubbed his hands and said: "Stiff, stiff; too 
old, too old." "Well," said Morgan, "you got the gun by out- 
running me then, and I should have it for outrunning you 
now," and accordingly took it. 

In the year of 1790 Levi Morgan was made captain of a 
company of nineteen men who were stationed at the mouth of 
Big Fishing creek, where he had erected a fort. They built 
two sixty-foot canoes and descended downward on their way to 
the mouth of the Muskingum, where they were going to attack 
an Indian camp seven miles up the river. When they arrived 
at the desired point they hid their canoes in the bushes and sta- 
tioned two men to watch them until they returned^ and if they 
did not return in three days to make their way as fast as possi- 
ble to the fort. Captain Morgan, with the remaining seven- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 33 

teen men, struck cautiously through the woods westward and 
traveled several miles, until they struck a large cove at the 
head of a stream which ran into the Ohio. They heard a bell 
jingle at the head of the cove, on which Morgan exclaimed: 
"Boys, get your guns ready and see that your powder is handy." 
He had a boy in his company who was but sixteen years of age. 
His name was Hays (see the story of the two half Indians.) 
He put his men in two's taking the boy with him, and gave or- 
ders that when the first gun was fired that they were to run 
into the camp with a knife in one hand and a gun in another. 
One was to run around one way and one another, and run the 
Indians out of their wigwams, if possible, without their guns, 
and if not, to shoot the first Indian seen with a gun. Morgan 
and Hays were the first ones to see the Indians, who saw one 
salting some ponies. Morgan said to Hays: ''I will split that 
Indian's nose, right between his eyes," on which he shot and 
killed the Indian. They then raised a yell and rushed into 
camp and found no one there but a few Indian squaws and 
some young men. There were about five hundred wigwams in 
the village and about six hundred bushels of corn. One of the 
old Indian squaws asked Morgan if they had killed a young In- 
dian, and he told her they had not, and she said there was one 
missing. They then knew that one had gotten away. After 
catching all the horses they needed, they burned the village 
and told the old Indian squaw that they wanted to go to the 
Muskingum river, and if she would take them there that they 
would not harm her, but if she didn't, they would kill all of 
them. She took them straight through, traveling both night 
and day, until they reached the place where they had hid their 
canoes. It was the fourth day, but the men were still there. 
They then tied the two canoes together and put the ponies into 
them, putting the hind feet in one and the front feet in the 
other. A couple of men rowed the boats to the mouth of the 
Muskingum, and after crossing over to the Virginia side they 



34 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Bank the boats and went by land to Pricket's Fort, in Monon- 
galia county. They kept the prisoners until Wayne's treaty, 
when they were given up, and it was at that place that the 
Drygoo boys were obtained. Morgan was at the defeat of 
St. Clair and shot at the white renegade, Simon Girty. 



OUR EARLY SETTLER. 

The earliest white settler along the Ohio river, in Wetzel 
county, was Edward Doolin, who came here about the year 
1780, and made a settlement near Doolin's spring, one mile 
from the mouth of Fishing creek, on lands now owned by the 
heirs of Phillip Witten. He there built two cabins, one for 
himself and wife and the other for his negro slave. He owned 
a large survey of lands lying on both sides of the stream which 
still bears his name; lines of his survey are well established, 
and have been familiar to the courts of Wetzel in divers suits 
of ejectments. 

He had hardly broken the solitude of the vast wilderness, 
when he was visited by a tribe of Delaware Indians, who came 
at night and took away his negro slave into captivity, and re- 
turning at daybreak, and finding Doolin in his front door yard, 
shot and scalped him. His wife, who was still in the cabin 
lying abed with a newborn babe beside her, was not molested. 
Mrs. Doolin was a woman of remarkable beauty, and the sav- 
ages, fearing it might prove fatal to compel her to accompany 
them while in her delicate state of health, urged her to remain 
there for a few days, until she entirely recovered, pi'omising to 
rturn and take her with them to be the wife of their great 
chief. This alluring prospect, however, did not seem to have 
charmed the white beauty into lingering there. 

At that time a blockhouse stood near the present residence 
of Mrs. Eliza Martin, in the limits of the present town of New 
Martinsville. Its solitary inmate, when these occurrences took 
place, was a man named Martin, who heard the report of the 
firing in the early morning, in the direction of Doolin's clear- 
ing. He made a reconnaissance and found the body of Doolin 



36 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

lying in front of Ms cabin. Entering the house he wrapped 
Mrs. Doolin in blankets and;, taking the infant in his arms, as- 
sisted her to the blockhouse, where he placed the widow and 
orphan in a canoe and transported them up the Ohio to the 
mouth of Captina creek. He then returned with comrades, 
and they buried the body of Doolin in the spot known as Wit- 
ten's garden, where his grave is still to be seen. And every 
spring the Easter flowers bloomed over the dust of Edward 
Doolin — the first white settler of Wetzel, and one of the few 
white men killed by the Indians within her borders. 

Mrs. Doolin lived near the settlement until her daughter had 
grown to be a girl of ten. She then married and went to Ken- 
tucky, where her daughter, after she had grown to be a young 
lady, married one Daniel Boone, a descendant of ihe noted In- 
dian scout, Daniel Boone. Mrs. Doolin sold this land to the 
Martins, McEldowneys and Wittens, and from her or her an- 
cestors have never been heard of since. 



MORGAN MORGAN, 

Morgan Morgan was commonly known as Spymod. It was 
to distinguish him from his cousin, Morgan Morgan, who Avas 
known as Paddymod. The former came to what is now Pine 
Grove in 1805, and erected a mill on the ground now -occupied 
by Hennen's livery barn; he also owned land where Reader 

now stands. 

We give here the following incidents in the life of Morgan: 
While he was at Morgantown, or what is now known as ihat 
place, he went on a spying expedition, and it was from that he- 
got the nickname of ISpymod. The expedition wandered into 
what is now known as the "Jug," on Middle Island creek, and 
above the first run Morgan shot a turkey. They then left a 
man at the mouth of the first run as a guard, and told him not 
to shoot unless it was at an Indian. The other members of the 
crowd, including Morgan, went up the run a short distance to 
cook the turkey Morgan had just shot, and just as they got the 
turkey ready to cook they heard a shot in the direction one of 
their men was stationed, on which they dropped the turkey, 
picked up their guns and made in the direction of the firing. 
On reaching there they found that he had shot a wolf, whicli 
was done by compulsion. The wolf had come toward him aud 
he had tried to scare it away, but in vain. The wolf kept com- 
ing toward him and was six inches from the muzzle of his gun 
when he shot. 

The creek makes a small bend above the "Jug," and while 
talking the matter over about the killing of the wolf they saw 
two Indians dart out from behind trees and run down the 
creek. Morgan took after them, but was stopped by two of his 
comjanions who told him that there was liable to be a band 



38 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

somewhere near that neighborhood, and they supposed the In- 
dians were sent out to see what the first firing was. They then 
followed the Indian trail to the "Jug," which was but a short 
distance, and it was found that the two Indians had gone 
around the "Jug," on which it was decided that it would be 
best for them to go through the "Jug." On arriving at the 
head of it, they found that a band of Indians had been there 
but a short time previous. It was then decided to make for 
the fort, which was situated at New Martinsville and owned 
by Morgan's brother, Levi Morgan. 

Another incident in his life worthy of mention is one of his 
narrow escapes on one of his spying expeditions. Himself and 
another man were appointed to spy around the old Indian trail 
from Morgantown to the mouth of Big Fishing creek, to see if 
there were Indians about. On one occasion his pardner was 
sick and it was prevailed on him to go alone. He started one 
rainy day and before he stopped he had reached what is now 
Pine Grove. It was still raining, the rain pouring down in tor- 
rents, and wishing to strike a dry spot, crawled into a hollow 
sycamore tree, which was known by him and his pardner on 
their expeditons as a resting place. It was getting about dusk; 
he had been there but a few minutes when an Indian came 
running to the tree and looked inside. Morgan seeing this, 
drew his butcher knife ready for action, but he did not use it, 
the hole being so dark the Indian could see nothing, and turned 
and darted onward at the same speed he had come up. This 
aroused Morgan's suspicion, and he immediately began to hunt 
for new quarters, going direct to the mouth of Big Fishing 
creek. 



THE STORY OF CROWS RUN. 

In the early spring of 1782, a squad of men started out from 
Fort Henry on a hunting expedition. Among them was a man 
by the name of Crow, of whom our story relates. They trav- 
eled onward until they reached the mouth of what is now Big 
Fishing creek, which empties into the Ohio at New Martins- 
ville. They followed the creek until they reached the mouth of 
a run putting into Big Fishing creek, twelve miles from New 
Martinsville. Here they camped on the east side of the creek 
on the ground now owned by John Lantz. After camping for 
the night, the next day they went in search of game, which was 
then plentiful in that neighborhood, with three men in one 
company and two in another, Crow being in the company of 
two. After hunting all day, at sunset the two came toward 
camp carrying the game they had shot, and on reaching the 
camp Crow's companion started out to get some wood to build 
a fire to cook a part of the game they had shot, and was hardly 
gone when a band of Indians surrounded the camp, and Crow, 
realizing that he was menaced by a terrible danger, started to 
run, on which a volley of shots were poured upon him, and one 
hit him in the head and killed him instantly. His companion, 
on hearing the shots, started toward camp, and seemg the In- 
dians began to run as Crow did, but was not so unfortunate, 
though shot in the hip, which did not hinder him from running 
on until he reached the company of three, who were running 
toward the camp in full speed, having heard the shots that 
were fired at Crow, and suspicioned that which was correct. 
The Indians, on the other hand, thinking that a superior force 
of men were somewhere in the neighborhood, immediately re- 
treated. The remaining members of the company returned to 



40 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

camp, and found Crow lying dead near the creek, with his head 
partially in the water. They picked him up and placed him in 
a hollow sycamore tree and covered him up to keep the wolves 
from carrying the body off until they returned to the fort to se- 
cure reinforcements, and bury him. They went to Wheeling 
and secured the reinforcements and returned in four days and 
buried him under a sycamore tree, using walnut logs for his 
coffin, and inscribed on the tree, ''J. J. Crow, 1782." The tree 
stood until about the year of 1875, when it was blown down by 
the wind, and it was from this unfortunate being that the name 
of Crow's run was obtained. 



THE DRYGOOS, OR THE TWO HALF 

INDIANS. 

John Hays came to what is known as Lot in the year of 1805, 
and with him he brought his wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Hays, who 
was born the same day as her husband, which was in the year 
of 1748, in Pricket's Fort, Monongalia county. They were but 
eleven years old when the latter's mother, Mrs. Drygoo, was 
killed by the Indians. 

The following is an incident which fell from the lips of Mrs, 
Hays, told to her daughter, Mrs. Malinda Anderson: It was in 
a fort situated on Clinton's run, Monongalia county, known as 
Prickett's fort. The Drygoo family were some of its occu- 
pants. There was a garden about half a mile from the fort, 
and Mrs. Drygoo and her son, Charles, who was but four years 
of age, went to the garden to pick beans, when the Indians 
came upon them unawares and made them prisoners before 
giving them time to call for help. They tied Mrs. Drygoo to a 
tree near the fort, but not in sight, and returned to the garden 
to see if they could catch some more in the same way. In a 
little while Mrs. Hays and her sister came out of the fort and 
started toward the garden to help their mother (Mrs. Drygoo) 
pick beans, and as they neared the garden stai'ted to call for 
their mother, but she did not answer. Fortunately they got 
scared at something (not the Indians) and started toward the 
fort at full speed, and on reaching it informed the occupants 
that their mother, Mrs. Drygoo, and their brother, Charles Dry- 
goo, started out in the garden some time ago to pick beans and 
that they were not in the garden now. The men immediately 
suspicioned that which was correct and soon raised a company 



42 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

under Captain David Morjian and went in pursuit. The In- 
dians, seeing tliat they liad been discovered, beat a hasty re- 
treat. They untied Mrs. Drygoo and put her on a pony, which 
was very wild, and made off with great speed. After traveling 
for about ten miles the pony she was on jumped a run. The 
calf of one of her legs was torn open, having caught on a sharp 
limb of a tree. They stopped and bandaged the wound up the 
best way they could, after which they continued their journey, 
but the bandage did no good, and she became very weak from 
loss of blood. The Indians, seeing that it was delaying their 
journey, decided to kill her. When they began to untie her 
from the pony Charles began to cry and a big Indian picked 
him up and said ''Don't cry," that they wouldn't kill his mo- 
ther, but she couldn't travel and that he could be his boy after 
this. They killed and scalped her near the place known as 
Betsy's run, which was named from her, and made off with 
Charles into Ohio, where he lived with them until he was twen- 
ty-seven years old. While with them he was one of them, and 
when very young married an Indian squaw, and from her had 
four children, two boys and two girls. At the Morgan treaty 
at the mouth of the Little Muskingum, James Hays was one of 
the men under Levi Morgan, and inquired of the Indians as to 
the whereabouts of his brother, Charles Drygoo, on which he 
was informed that he was dead, but that he had some children. 
He asked for them and he was given the two boys. He 
brought them to where the town of Lot stands, where they 
lived and died in the cabin built by James Hays in 1805. There 
are a number of people in Wetzel county who are proud to say 
that the blood of Charles Drygoo and his Indian squaw floats 
in their veins. 



MASSACRE OF THE HANDSUCKER 

FAMILY. 

In the latter part of Jime, 1790, a party of Indians invaded a 
settlement on Dunkards creek, in Monongalia county, early in 
the morning. Mr. Clegg and Mr. Handsucker and his two sons 
were engaged at work near a house, when a band of Indians, 
concealed in bushes, shot at them and wounded Handsucker 
severely, and he w^as soon overtaken. Clegg and Handsucker's 
tw^o sons began to run toward the house and Clegg entered it 
and defended it for a while. But confident that he would soon 
be driven out by fire he surrendered on condition that they 
would spare his life and that of his little daughter with him. 
The boys passed the house, but were overtaken by some of the 
savages, who were concealed in the direction they ran^ and 
who had just taken Mrs. Handsucker and her infant captive. 
They then burnt the house, caught all the horses they needed, 
and made off with the prisoners, leaving one of their company 
as usual to watch after their retreat. When Mrs. Clegg heard 
the firing of a gun in the corn field, she was some distance 
from the house, and on hearing the shot immediately went to- 
ward the creek and concealed herself among the bushes and 
stayed until everything became quiet. She then crept out, and 
perceiving the Indian, began to run; he having seen her at the 
same time, took after her, but had to give up in despair. He 
shot at her, knowing that he would never catch her, but did not 
hit her, and she kept on running until she got safely oft". Mr. 
Handsucker and his wife and child were killed on what is now 
known as Handsucker Knob, Wetzel coiiuty, at the forks of 
Dunkard and Fish creeks. Mr. Clegg, after remaining a cap- 
tive among the Indians for some time, was released, on which 
he ransomed his two daughters. 



HARMAN BLENNERHASSETT. 

Harman Blennerhassett, whose connection witli the ill-fated 
project of Aaron Burr, has given his name a wide notoriety, 
passed down the Ohio river, in Wetzel county, on his way to 
Marietta, in 1796. About the year of 1798 he commenced his 
improvements on the beautiful island since known by his name, 
embosomed on the Ohio near the end of Washington county, 
Ohio, and resided upon it for a number of years, surrounded 
with all that made life dear, when the tempter entered this 
Eden and forever blighted his earthly prospects. After years 
of wandering he finally died in 1822, on the island of Guernsey. 
His beautiful and accomplished wife subsequently returned to 
this country and preferred charges against the United States 
and asked for claims, but without success. She died in New 
York in 1842. She was possessed of a rare ingenuity in the 
literary line and wrote that beautiful poem, "The Deserted 
Isle." The island will ever remain a memento of the fate of 
this unfortunate family, around whose melancholy fortunes 
the genius of Wirt his weaved a tribute of eloquence alike im- 
perishable. 



VOLNEY'S TRAVELS IN WETZEL. 

In the latter part of the eighteenth century the celebrated 
French traveler, Volney, traveled through Virginia and crossed 
the river into Monroe county, Ohio, near New Martinsville. 
He was under the guidance of two Virginia bear hunters 
through the wilderness. The weather was very cold and severe 
in crossing the dry ridge on the Virginia side. The learned in- 
fidel became weak from cold and fatigue. He was in the midst 
of an almost boundless wilderness, deep snow under his feet, 
and both rain and snow were falling upon his head. He fre- 
quently insisted on giving up the enterprise and dying where 
he was, but his comrades^ more accustomed to the backwoods 
fare, urged him on until he at length gave out, exclaiming: 
"Oh, wretched and foolish man that I am, to leave my comfort- 
able home and fireside, and come to this unfrequented place, 
where the lion and tiger refuse to dwell and the rain hurries 
olf. Go on, my friends; better that one man should perish than 
three." Then they stopped and struck a fire, built a camp of 
bark a" 3 limbs, shot a buck, broiled the ham, which, with the 
salt bread and other necessaries they had, made a good sup- 
per, and everything being soon comfortable and cheery, the 
learned Frenchman was dilatin% largely and eloquently upon 
the ingenuity of man. 



NOTES ON THE DEATH OF LOGAN'S 

FAMILY. 

The following is taken from Jefferson's "Notes on Virginia:"' 
In April, 1774, a number of people being engaged in looking 
out for settlements on the Ohio, information was spread among 
them that the Indians had robbed some of the land jobbers, as 
those adventurers were then called. Alarmed for their safety, 
they collected together at Wheeling creek. Hearing that there 
were two Indians and some traders a little above Wheeling, 
Captain Michael Cresap, one of the party, proposed to way-lay 
and kill them. The proposition, though opposed, was adopted. 
A party went up the river with Cresap at their head, and killed 
the two Indians. The same afternoon it was reported that 
there was a party of Indians on the Ohio, a litle below W^heel- 
ing. Cresap and his party immediately proceeded down the 
river and encamped on the bank. The Indians passed them 
peaceably, and encamped at the mouth of Grave creek, a little 
below. Cresap and his party attacked them and killed several. 
The Indians returned the fire and wounded one of Cresap's 
men. Among the slain of the Indians were some of Logan's- 
family. Zane expressed a doubt of it, but Smith, one of the 
murderers, said they were known and acknowledged that Lo- 
gan's friends and the party themselves generally said so, and 
boasted of it in the presence of Captain Cresap, and pretended 
no provocation, and expressed their expectations that Logan 
would probably avenge their death. Pursuing these examples, 
Daniel Greathouse and one Tomlinson, who lived on the oppo- 
site side of the river from the Indians, and were in the habit of 
friendship with them, collected at the house of Polke, on Cross 






HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 47 

run, about sixteen miles fromBaker's fort bottom, a party of 
thirtj-two men. Their object was to reach a hunting camp of 
the Indians, consisting of men, women and children, at the 
mouth of Yellow creek, some distance above Wheeling. They 
proceeded, and when they arrived at Baker's station they con- 
cealed themselves among the bushes, and Greathouse crossed 
the river to the Indian camp. Baker tells us, being among 
them as a friend, he counted them and found them too 
strong for an open attack with his force. While here he was 
cautioned by one of the women not to stay, for the Indian men 
were drinking, and having heard of Cresap's murder of their 
relations at Grave creek, were angry and she pressed him in a 
friendly manner to go home, whereupon, after inviting them to 
come over and drink, he returned to Baker's inn, and desired 
that whenever any of them should come to his house he would 
give them as much rum as they would drink. When his plot 
was rii)e, and a sufficient number were gathered at Baker's 
and intoxicated, he and his party fell upon them and massa- 
cred the whole, except one little girl, whom they preserved as a 
prisoner. Among these was the very woman who saved his 
life by urging him to retire from the drunken wrath of her 
friends, when he was spying their camp at Yellow creek. Ei- 
ther she or some other murdered woman was the sister of Lo- 
gan. The party on the other side of the river, alarmed for 
their friends at Baker's, on hearing the report of the guns, 
made two canoes and sent them over. They were received as 
they appeared on the shore by a well-directed fire from Great- 
house's party, which killed some and wounded others and 
obliged the rest to retreat. Baker tells us there were twelve 
killed and eight wounded. It was after this that Logan made 
his famous speech, which is as follows: 

"I appeal to any white man to say if ever he entered Logan's 
cabin hungry, and I gave him not meat; it he came cold or 
naked, and I clothed him not. During the course of the iast 



48 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

long and bloody war Logan ren^iained in his cabin, an advocate 
of peace. I had such affection fc.r the white people that I was 
pointed at by the rest of my nation. I should have ever lived 
with them had it not been for Col. Cresap, who last year cut 
ofT in cold blood all the relations of Logan, not sparing my 
women and children. There runs not a drop of my blood in 
the veins of any living creature. This called upon me for ven- 
geance. I have sought it. I have killed many and fully glut- 
ted my revenge. I am glad there is a prospect of peace on 
account of the nation, but I beg you will not entertain a 
thought that anything I have said proceeds from fear. Logan 
•disdains the thought. He will not turn on his heel to save 
his life. Who is there to mourn for Logan? Not one." Lo- 
gan gave all the blame to Colonel Cresap. Whether he was 
all to blame or not, it was one of the most inhuman massacres 
that ever occurred in the border life. Creathouse was after- 
wards killed by the Indians, but he deserved a greater punish- 
ment than that. 



THE BATTLE OF CAPTINA. 

Jefferson, in his "Notes on Virginia, says the battle of Cap- 
tina was fought on the Virginia side in 1794, and it is probable 
that he is wrong, for Martin Baker told the author of the his 
tory of Ohio (McDonald) the following: He was twelve years of 
age when the battle of Captina was fought. Now Oaptina is a 
considerable stream entering the Ohio at Powhatan, on the 
Ohio side, and on its banks, says Martin Baker, the battle of 
Captina was fought. The following is the incident which fell 
from the lips of Martin Baker: One mile below the mouth of 
Captina, on the Virginia shore, was Baker's fort, so named 
from my father. One morning in May, 1794, four men were 
sent over, according to the custom, to the Ohio side 
to reconnoitre. They were Adam Miller, John Daniels, 
Isaac McCowan and John Shoptaw. Miller and Daniels took 
up stream and the other two down. The upper scouts were 
soon attacked by Indians, and Miller was killed. Daniels run 
up Captina about three miles, but being weak from loss of 
blood ensuing from a wound in his arm, was taken prisoner, 
carried into captivity, and subsequently released, at the treaty 
of Greenville. The lower scouts having discovered signs of 
the enemy^ Shoptaw swam across the river and escaped, but 
McGowen, going up toward the canoe, was shot by Indians in 
ambush. Upon this he ran down toward the bank and sprang 
into the water, pursued by the enemy, who overtook and 
scalped him. The firing being heard at the fort they beat up 
the volunteers. There were about fifty men in the fort. There 
being much reluctance among them to volunteer, my sister 
exclaimed that she wouldn't be a coward. This aroused the 



50 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

pride of my brother, John Baker, who before had determined 
not to go. He joined the others, fourteen in number, includ- 
ing Captain Enochs. They soon crossed the river and went np 
Captina in single file a distance of about a mile and a half, fol- 
lowing the Indian trail. The enemy had conceded that they 
were on their trail and were in ambush on the hillside awaiting 
their approach. When sufficiently near they ^r^d upon them, 
but being on an elevated position their balls passed over them. 
The whites then treed some of the Indians, who then shot 
again and hit Captan Enochs and Mr. Hoffman. The whites 
then retreated and the Indians pursued but a short distance. 
On their retreat my brother was shot in the hip. Determined 
to sell his life as dearly as possible, he drew off to one side and 
secreted himself in a hollow with a rock at his back, offering no 
chance for the enemy to approach but in front. Shortly after 
two guns were heard in quick succession. Doubtless one of 
them was fired by my brother and from the signs afterwards it 
was supposed he had killed an Indian. The next day the men 
turned out and visited the spot. Enochs, Hoffman and my 
brother were found dead and scalped. Enoch's bowels were 
torn out, and his eyes and those of Hoffman screwed out with 
a wiping stick. The dead were wrapped in white hickory bark 
and buried in their bark coffins. There were about thirty In- 
dians engaged in this, and seven skeletons were found of their 
slain, long after, secreted in the crevices of the rocks. McAu- 
thor, after the death of Captain Enochs, was called on to lead 
the company. The Swaney chief, Charley Wilkey, lead the In- 
dians. 

David Prunty was the first man to open up a road in Wetzel 
county. He opened one from Middlebourne, Tyler county, to 
Reader, Wetzel county , in the year of 1815. The road is now 
known as eight mile ridge road. 

In the vear of 1790, a man bv the name of Turbal erected a 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. • 51 

grist mill near the present sight of the Wetzel county poor 
farm. 

The first mail carried to Wetzel county was carried in the 
year of 1800, from Fairmont, now Marion county, to New Mar- 
tinsville. 

The first two-story log house along Big Fishing creek was 
erected bv James Lowe, in the rear of 1791. 

In the year of 1790, George Wade erected a grist mill in 
what is now Clay district, and run it by water power; it was 
built of logs in the old style and for a long time did all the 
grinding that was to be done for miles around. A two log saw 
mill was erected by John Leaf in the year of 1835 in Proctor 
district. In the year of 1846 John Sole erected a grist and 
saw mill combined and lun it by water power; the burrs were 
made of native stone, but did good work. 

The pioneer of Grant district was John Wyatt, who came 
there in the year of 1790. He was followed by James Lowe, 
Ui'iah Morgan, James Jolliffe, and a man by the name of 
Wilson. 

The first in Green district was James Troy, who settled on 
what is now known as the nergo quarters about the year of 
1791. The property was transferred by him to Benjamin Rea- 
der, and from him to Morgan Morgan, who erected a house on 
the ground in the year of 1804, which stood until the year of 
1897. Other settlers of Green district were James Hays, Wil- 
liam Snodgrass, Benjamin Hays, Z. Cochran, Aiden Bales, Jas- 
per Strait and many others. 

The pioneer of Center district was Benjamin Bond, who set- 
tled there in the year of 1805. 

The first settler in Clay district was William Little, who 
settled where the town of Littleton now stands in the year of 
1810. 

The first settler in Church district was Henry Church, who 
came there in the year of 1782 and settled where the town of 
Hundred now stands. 



GEORGE BARTRUG. 

George Bartriig, from whom Burton should have been 
named^ was born in what was then known as Croach Back, 
Pennsylvania, in the year of 1790. He came with his parents 
to what is now known as Cottontown in the year of 1806. Af- 
ter living with them but a short time he married and erected a 
cabin near the present site of the B. & O. R. R. station at Bur- 
ton, and lived there until the year of 1850, when the railroad 
company purchased the land. He erected another house on 
the land now owned by his son, Moses Bartrug, and the house 
stood until latelv, when it burned down. 



PRESSLEY MARTIN. 

Pressley Martin was born in Martin's Fort, in Monongalia 
county, in which his father at that time was commander. He 
came to what is now New Martinsville in the year of 1808, and 
boarded at the house on the south of the forks of the creek and 
the Ohio river, which was then owned by Abraham Hanes. In 
1810 he purchased the land on which is now situated the town 
of New Martinsville from Mrs. Dulin, the widow of Edward 
Dulin, and erected a house on the north forks of Big Fishing 
creek and the Ohio river, which was commonly known as the 
Point House, on which is now situated the Grand Opera House, 
and the place of business of Handron & Dulin. He carried the 
nails that he put in the house from Morgantown to New Mar- 
tinsville in pack saddles, they having been made at that place 
by a blacksmith. A short time after purchasing the laud, he 
married Miss Margaret Clinton. While living at that place he 
farmed the land on which is now situated the prosperous town 
of New Martinsville, and often made trips to the Kanawha 
river for salt. In 183G he laid out the town of New Martins- 
ville and named it Martinsville, and in the incorporating of the 
town the Assembly of Mrgiuia prefixed the word New before 
the Martinsville, making it New Martinsville, from the fact 
htat there was a town in Henry county, Va., by that name. 

He died in the year of His name will always be remem 

bered as the originator of the town of New Martinsville. 



HENRY CHURCH. 

Henry Church, better known as "Old Hundred," was born in 
Suffox county, Enoland, in 1750. He came to this coun- 
try a British soldier of the 63rd Light Infantry, and served un- 
der Lord Cornwallis in the memorable campaign of 1791. He 
was captured by the troops under Lafaj-ette and sent a pris- 
oner to Lancaster, Pennsylvania. He remained there until 
peace was declared at that place. He fell in love with a Qua- 
ker maiden. Miss Hannah Kiene. She was born in the year of 
1755. Henry Church lived to be one hundred and nine, and 
his wife one hundred and seven. When the first excursion 
train ran over the B. & O. K. E. in 1852, it made a stop at the 
home of "Old Hundred," and among the passengers was an at- 
tache to the British legation at Washington City, who was in- 
troduced to the old man as one of his countrymen, who sound- 
ed one of the martial airs of England. "Old Hundred" stood 
up as though his blood had been warmed with wine, and said: 
"I know it, I know it !" He was loyal to his king for more than 
a hundred years, about which time he took allegiance to the 
ITnited States. The home of "Old Hundred" stood near Main 
street, at Hundred, and was constructed from logs. They had 
eight children, the youngest dying at sixty-eight, on which 
"Old Hundred" made the remark that they never did expect 
to raise her; that she never was a healthy child. It seemed 
that every family of the Churches honored one by naming it 
Henry, until there was Henry Church, Henry Church, Sr., who 
was not "Old Hundred," Henry, Jr., who was not the youngest, 
Henry of Henry, Henry of Sam, Long Henry and Short Henry. 
They both are buried at Hundred. 



ABRAHAM HANES. 

Abraham Hanes was born in Louden county, Virginia, in 
the year of 1784. He came from that place to Middle Island 
creek, Tyler county, in the year of 1804, where he married Su- 
Sana Martin, a natiye of New Jersey. In 1807 they came to 
what was then the mouth of Big Fishing creek, and erected a 
house on the South Side, and kept hotel during the war of 
1812 in the same house that was known to the citizens of the 
county as the Robert Cox homestead. The ground is noy/ 
owned by Dr. Underwood. In 1814 he moved with his family 
one mile below Proctor, and built a house on a run which now 
bears his name. 



SAMPSON THISTLE. 

Sampson Thistle was born in Allegheny conntv, Maryland, 
in the year of 1781, June 27th. He came to Tyler county, Vir- 
ginia, now Wetzel county, West Virginia, in the year of 1805. 
In the year of 1806 he vsas married to Susana Tomlinson, at 
the home of the bride in Cumberland, Maryland, in a brick 
house, which is still standing, and in excellent condition. Af- 
ter the close of the usual festivities incident to such occasions 
in those days^ they started on horseback to their future home 
near New Martinsville, where they maintained a comfortable 
and hospitable home the remainder of their days. He was a 
proininent and prosperous citizen, being deferred to by his 
neighbors and becoming the owner of much land. This wor- 
thy couple raised a family of eleven children, six sons and five 
daughters, all of whom attained maturity, were married and 
left the parental roof before their parents died. Sampson 
Thistle lived to the age of seventy-five years, and was buried in 
the family burying-ground on his farm, whither the body of his 
faithful wife was borne a few years later at nearly the same 
age. Of their large family only one is now living. He was a 
"Whig" in politics, in religion a Methodist. The land upon 
which he lived is situated ten miles north of the town of New 
Martinsville, comprising nearly 900 acres, and is now owned 
by his grandchildren. 



R. W. COX. 

Robert Woods Cox was born in the year of 1820 at the Old 
Robert Woods homestead six miles above Wheeling. He was 
six years old when his mother died, and shortly afterward the 
family removed to New ]\lartinsville, Tyler county, now Wetzel 
county. He attended law college at Meadville, Pennsylvania, 
but never was admitted to the bar, for the reason that he had 
to assume the care of his real estate. He assisted his father in 
the mercantile business. He was interested in the welfare and 
development of Wetzel county and was a great factor in poli- 
tics. He was married in 1845 to Miss Jane Cresap, who was 
from one of the oldest settlers in the Ohio Valley, her father 
settling in Tyler county in the year of 1805. He sold his inter- 
est in Wetzel county in 18G0, and went to Marshall county, 
where he died ten years later. His widow still survives liim, at 
the age of seventy-nine. He had three children who are all 
dead with the exception of Friend Cox, who is still living. 



JOHN MOORE. 

John Moore was born August 24^ 1818, at Clarington, Monroe 
county, then known as Suniish, in the year of 1818. In the 
year of 1834 he came with his father, Jacob Moore, to Proctor, 
where he settled at the mouth of Proctor creek. At that time 
Proctor was a vast wilderness. He was justice in his district 
for twenty-five years and was also president of the county court 
for two terms. He is still living and is good for a number of 
years, and is recognized as one of the oldest living settlers in 
Wetzel county. 








HON. JOHN M. LACEY, 
Congressman from Iowa. 



HON. JOHN F. LACEY. 

Jolm F. Lacev, representative in Congress from the Sixth 
Iowa district, was born May 30, 1841, on the Williams farm, 
just above New Martinsville, Va. (now West Virginia). In 1855 
he moved to Iowa, and has made his home in Mahaska county 
ever since. At the beginning of the Civil War, in May, 1861, 
he enlisted as a private in Company "H," Third Iowa Infantry; 
afterward made a corporal. He was taken prisoner at the bat- 
tle of Blue Mills, Mo., in September, 1861, and was paroled with 
General Mulligan's command at Lexington, Mo., soon after. 
The President issued an order for the discharge of all paroled 
prisoners, not then deeming it proper to recognize the Confed- 
erates by exchange. Mr. Lacey was discharged under this or- 
der. In 1862 an exchange of prisoners was agreed on, which re- 
leased all discharged men from their parole, and Mr. Lacey at 
once re-enlisted as a private in Company "D," Thirty-third Iowa 
Infantry. He was soon promoted to the rank of sergeant-major 
of the regiment, and in May, 1863, was appointed first lieuten- 
ant of Company ''C." Colonel Samuel A. Eice, of the Thirty- 
third Iowa, was made a brigadier-general, and Mr. Lacey was^ 
appointed by President Lincoln as assistant adjutant-general 
of volunteers on his staff. General Rice was killed at the bat- 
tle of Jenkins Ferry, Ark., and Mr. Lacey was then assigned to 
the same position on the stalf of Maj. Gen. Frederick Steele, in 
which capacity he served until his muster-out in September, 
1865. He participated in the following battles: Blue Mills, He- 
lena, Little Rock, Terre Noir, Elkin's Ford, Prairie d'Anne, Poi- 
son Springs, Jenkins Ferry, Siege of Mobile and storming of 

Blakeley. He was struck with a minie ball in the battle of 
Jenkins F'erry, but his ponche turned the ball aside and pre- 



GO HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

vented any injury. His horse Ayas killed under him by a shell 
in the battle of Prairie d'Anne. 

Major Laeey's adyaneement was continuous, and although he 
was only twenty -four years of age at his discharge, he had in 
nearly four years' service done duty as a private, corporal, ser- 
geant-major, first lieutenant, adjutant-general of a brigade, ad- 
jutant general of a division, adjutant general of a corps, adju- 
tant general of General Steele's command (1.5,000 strong) in the 
Mobile campaign, and finally as adjutant general of Steele's 
Army of Observation (of 42,000 men) on the Rio Grande. 

Mr. Lacej's education was obtained in the public schools and 
private academies. He was admitted to the bar in 1865, and 
has continually practiced law ever since, having enjoyed a very 
extensive practice in the State and Federal courts. He is the 
author of "Laeey's Railway Digest," which includes all the rail 
way cases in the English language up to 1885; also author of 
"Laeey's Iowa Digest." He served in the Iowa Legislature in 
1870, and afterward as alderman and city solicitor of Oskaloo- 
sa for a term each. 

Notwithstanding his long service in Congress, he has retained 
his love for his profession, and kept up his connection with his 
law practice. He represented the sixth Iowa district in the 
Fifty-first, Fifty-third, Fifty-fourth, Fifty-fifth and Fifty-sixth 
Congresses. He is now a member of the Fifty-niuth Congress. 
This district has long been a political battle ground, and Mr. 
Lacey has had a hard contest in each of the campaigns in 
which he has been engaged. His opponents were General 
Weaver, Mr. White, Mr. Taylor and Mr. Steck, in these various 
campaigns. Though active in political affairs, Mr. Lacey has 
always preferred to be known through his chosen profession, 
rather than as a politician. 

^An old and eminent member of the State bar and one of 
Mr. Laeey's most intimate professional associates, submits this 
estimate of his character: 

"As a lawyer, Mr. Lacey easily ranks among the leading law- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. fil 

jers of the State. His greatest success in life has been at the 
bar, and he still holds a good practice, although for ten years 
a member of Congress. His success has been attained largely 
by his indomitable energy and industry. He is particularly 
strong as a trial lawyer, being full of resources. When driven 
from one position he will seize another so quickly and support 
it by such ready reference to authorities, that he frequently be- 
wilders his opponents and wins out on a new line, which seems 
to come to him by intuition as the trial progresses. As an ad- 
vocate to the jury, he is not severely logical, not confining him- 
self strictly to a mere reference to the evidence, but takes a 
wider range, and by illustrations drawn from literature or his- 
tory, he retains the interest of the jury^ while at the same time 
emphasizing some feature of the case." 

Major Lacey is one of the Wetzel county boys who went wesr 
to grow up with the country. His father, John M. Lacey, was 
one of the first settlers of New Martinsville. He came to the 
town when it became the county seat and built the house now 
owned by Mr. McCaskey, immediately east of the court house. 
Major Lacey and Thilip G. Bier both filled positions as assist- 
ant adjutant generals of volunteers. They were in the same 
class at school at New Martinsville when little boys.. Dr. John 
Thomas Booth, now of Concinnati, Ohio, was one of this same 
class. Dr. Booth was a surgeon in the Spanish war. and a Un- 
ion soldier in the Civil War. 

Mr. Lacey's mother was Eleanor Patten, daughter of Isaac 
Patten, of Captine creek, Belmont county, Ohio. She is held in 
pleasant memory by the old settlers. Major Lacey's parents 
both died in Iowa. 

Robert W. Lacey, an uncle of John F., formerly lived in New 
Martinsville. He died in I'asadena, California, a few years ago. 
His widow is the sister of Mrs. Dr. Young, of New Martinsville. 

Rev. J. J. Dolliver, father of ScMiator J. P. Dolliver, of Iowa, 
used to spend much of his time when a bachelor, at the home of 



62 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

John M. Lace}', who was an active leader in the Methodist 
church. 

Williams R. Lacey, the youngest son of John M. Lacey. was 
born in New Martinsville, and was named after the Williams 
familv, who lived north of the town, and who were ardent 
friends of the Laceys. Williams R. is now the law partner of 
his brother, and is one of the most prosperous and successful 
business men in Iowa. 

« 

Mr. Lacey, in 1865, married Miss Martha Newell, of Oska- 
loosa. They have two daughters living, Eleanor, who is the 
wife of James B. Brewster, of San Francisco^ and Berenice, 
who is now a young lady. Raymond, their only son, and Kate, 
another daughter, died in childhood. 

We here give an address delivered b}^ John F. Lace}', at Des 
Moines, Iowa, May 31, 1897 : 

FROM BULL RUN TO APPOMATTOX. 

Comrades and Fellow Citizens: 

I have come a long distance in com])liance with the courteous 
invitation of my comrades of Kinsman and Crocker Posts to ad- 
dress you on this memorial day. To-day is a flower festival for 
the dead designed by General Logan, when he was the Com- 
mander in Chief of the Grand Army of the Republic. 

Kinsman's and Crocker's names suggest memories of the past 
which bring pride and pleasure to every citizen of Des Moines, 
and of our whole State as well. Kinsman fell in battle, leading 
the 23d Iowa, but Crocker, though he died young, still lived to 
see victory crown our national cause. 

We meet on this day with no political purpose, but lay aside 
all partisanship and forget for the time all matters of difference 
upon which we may be divided. 

We assemble each year on this sad but pleasing memorial to 
pass the old story down the line to another generation, and to 
keep alive the spirit of fraternity, charity and loyalty. 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 63 

The new corn comes out of the old fields, and new lessons 
may always be learned by turning our e^'es again upon the 
past. Let us again revive 

''The memory of what has been 
But never more will be." 

Every institution is the lengthened shadow of some great 
man who has passed away. Our people have been led to great- 
ness by the hand of liberty. 

The war was the penalty of a great wrong. Individuals 
sometimes escape punishment in this world;, because death 
claims them before the day of retribution comes. But not so 
with nations — they cannot escape. The wrong of slavery re- 
quired atonement, and severe, indeed, was the punishment that 
was meted out. 

The men who fought against us recognized their first alle- 
giance as due to their States, and the soldier of the Union with 
a broader view felt that his country was the whole Union. The 
war destroyed slavery and again restored the old sentiment of 
Patrick Henry when he said : "I am no longer a mere Virginian, 
I am an American." 

We could not partition this Union. We could not divide the 
Mississippi. Bunker Hill and Yorktown were the heritage of 
the whole people. 

We could not divide Yankee Doodle, nor could we distribute 
among the dismembered States the tiag of our forefathers. 

When the war began in 1861 we were twenty-six millions of 
freemen and four millions of slaves. In 1897 we are seventy- 
millions, and all freemen. 

When the body of Jefferson Davis was disinterred and re- 
moved to Richmond, the funeral train was witnessed by thou- 
sands as it passed through many States upon its long and final 
journey, but no slave looked upon that procession. 

As I glance over this splendid audience here to-day I cannot 



^4 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

help but feel that a country filled with such people is worth 
fighting: for, and. if need be, worth djing for. 

Kinsman died thirty-four years ago, but his name lingers 
upon all our tongues. Crocker passed to the great beyond 
later, but his name is still upon all our lips. The preservation 
of such a country is worth all that it cost in treasure, blood and 
tears. 

There must be an appearance of right in everything to keep 
wrong in countenance, and our brothers of the Sontl: fought for 
their opinions with a zeal and earnestness that no men could 
have shown had they not felt that their cause was just. It is 
to-day the most pleasing of all things to hear on.? of tliese meii 
say, "I now see that the result was for the best. I am glad 
that slavery has disappeared." Even Jefferson Davis in his 
history attempts to prove that the cause of the war was not 
slavery but the tariff. The day of peace and reconciliatioa has 
come^ and no heart to-day in all this throng be.its with any- 
thing but love for all who live under our flag. It is not mere 
emotional and meaningless sentimentalism, but brotherly kind- 
ness between the sections that were. There are no sections 
now. 

Two ships may sail in opposite directions, moved by the same 
wind. But the course of all our people has now been directed 
to the same common goal. We meet in an era of reconciliation. 
The Grand Army has no vindictiveness. I will recall the war 
to-day, but will not seek to revive any of its bitterness. We 
should not forget it, but we should seek to keep alive none of its 
animosities. 

If I bring back any of its horrors it is to the end that we may 
better appreciate peace. We renew the past to shun its errors. 

The body of our great commander. Grant, has recently been 
enshrined in a new tomb erected by the free will offering of the 
people in the greatest city of our land, upon the beautiful Riv- 
erside Drive on the banks of the Hudson. 

Napoleon lies in state under the gilded dome of the Invalides 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 65 

and his mausoleum is full of the inscriptions of his victories 
from Lodi to Marengo, from Austerlitz to Pena and Wagram, 
and even the abominable carnage of Essling is there commem- 
orated. 

But the silent commander of the Union army has a more no- 
ble inscription than if the names of all his battles had been 
there recorded. Over the door are his simple and touching 
words, 

"Let us have peace." 

Grant's victories made peace not only possible but permanent 
upon the only sure basis of union. The Potomac joins friendly 
States instead of separating hostile nations. It does not form a 
bloody boundary as the Tweed so long separated the land of our 
ancestors. 

Grant should have been buried near Sheridan at Arlington 
with no sentinel but the stars, surrounded by the soldiers who 
had died under his command. Amid the stir and living bustle 
of the great metropolis his solitary grave seems lonely. 

His example will live; obstinacy is the sister of constancy, 
and he never despaired of the Republic. 

On a day like this we all recall such names as Lincoln, Grant, 
Sherman and Sheridan, but these names often all embrace our 
collective idea of the men whom they led. Their names typify 
their private soldiers. Thomas was the "Rock of Chickamau- 
gua," because he knew how to command men who were brave 
enough to be led. 

Buckner complained at Donelson of the demand for "uncondi- 
tional surrender" as ungenerous terms. But he found that no 
terms were needed in surendering to so generous a foe. Grant 
was dangerous in fight, but he was kindness itself in victory. 

When Lincoln's dead face was covered by Stanton, the great 
war secretary said, "He belongs to the ages." So with all the 
dead whom we commemorate to-day. Time mitigates sorrow 
and adds to the glory of events. 



66 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Michael Angelo buried his Cupid so that it might pass for an 
antique. Now a work of Michael Angelo is as precious as if 
made by Phidias himself. 

The time of was is now sufficiently remote to be reviewed 
without prejudice. Who cares now for the assaults of Junius 
upon Lord Mansfield? Dennis made a burden of the life of 
Alexander Pope. All we know of him now is that he fretted 
Pope, and that his name was Dennis. 

Who now heeds the abuse that was heaped upon the head of 
the mighty and patient Lincoln? 

Eancor is dead with the dead, and malice does not go beyond 
the four edges of the grave. 

We speak of these men because it is more interesting and pro- 
fitable to study the example of an illustrious man than an ab- 
stract principle. 

When Lord Nelson was signaled to retreat at Copenhagen he 
turned the blind eye, that he lost at Calvi, towards the signal 
and said that he was unable to make it out, and justified his 
disobedience by a great victory. 

The people, young and old, are gracious to the soldiers of 
every war. Early in the present century a veteran who fought 
at Stony Point was indicted for some violation of law. His at- 
torney succeeded in getting the fact in evidence that the de- 
fendant had distinguished himself in that battle and made good 
use of it in his address to the jury. The verdict announced that 
"We, the jury, find the defendant not guilty because he fought 
at Stony Point." The court refused to receive the verdict in 
such a form, and the jury again retired and brought in another 
verdict of simple acquittal. But as they were about to retire 
the foreman said to the court, ''Your honor, I am directed to say 
that it was lucky for the defendant that he fought at Stony 
Point.'" The same spirit has always actuated a free people, 
When Aaschj^lus was being tried and his life hung in the bal- 
ance, his brother stepped forward and drew aside the prisoner's 
cloak and showed the stump of the arm that he had lost in the 



HISTORY OP WETZEL COUNTY. 67 

defence of liis country. The mute appeal was stronger than 
any spoken words, and the prisoner went free. 

At this time the period we commemorate seems as remote to 
the new generation as the battles of ancient Greece and Rome. 
We think of the men who fought in the Revolution and the war 
of the Rebellion as old. It is hard to realize how young these 
men were. 

I occasionally go into the museum of the dead letter office at 
Washington and look over the album of war photographs which 
were taken from the unclaimed letters of that day. The young 
features of those soldiers look out from the past as a revelation. 
The sight of the kind and boyish faces from the school and farm, 
the shop or the store, and the new readj-made, misfit uniforms 
in which they were clad carried me back to the days when as a 
boy I went to the front with comrades such as these. Two 
brothers sitting side by side in their army clothing, sent their 
picture to their friends, but in vain. 

A young sergeant standing by the side of his little sister is 
among these lost photographs, and the fresh young face and 
curls of the girl of thirty-five years ago would make us think 
that one of our own daughters had sat for the picture, were it 
not for the fact that she is clad in the fashions of another gen- 
eration. 

Another young private and a lady who is evidently his wife 
look out from the dead past in this album in the museum ; and 
for hours you may gaze and find the youthful eyes of the boys 
of 1861 again looking at you. But we glance in the glass as we 
pass out and may well say : 

"Time has stolen a march on me. 
And made me old unawares." 

We may take an invoice of our gains and losses but our years 
never decrease. 

When invited by Kinsman and Crocker Posts to address you 
on this occasion I was about to take a few days' journey 



68 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

througli the battle fields of Virginia. These once horrid scenes 
are now as placid as the prairies of our own loved and beauti- 
ful Iowa, save where the earthworks remain as monuments of 
the past. Peace covers over the field with living green, and 
seeks to obliterate even the memories of blood. 

In all ages a lion and a mound have thought to be a proper 
memorial for one of these historic battlefields. 

The Greeks at Cheronea twenty-two hundred years ago mark- 
ed that fatal scene with a mound over the graves of their dead 
and surmounted it with a lion, the broken remains of which are 
there at this day. 

Where Napoleon's old guard died at Waterloo is a gigantic 
mound two hundred feet high and surmounted by the great Bel- 
gian lion, cast from captured cannon. 

When I visited that spot a few years ago the straw of a dove's 
nest hung from the lips of the lion and peace had taken posses- 
sion of the very symbol of war. At Cheronea a traveler says he 
found the honey of a wild bee in the mouth of the broken statue, 
as Sampson found the honey in the carcass of a dead lion in 
days of old. 

We are strong enough to preach and practice the gospel of 
peace and arbitration. Speed the day when the prophesy of 
Isaiah may be fulfilled: 

"The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard 
shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and 
the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them. 

''And the cow and the bear shall feed; their young ones shall 
lie down together; and the lion shall eat straw like the ox. 

"And the sucking child shall play on the hole of the asp; and 
the weaned child shall put his hand on the cockatrice den. 

"They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain; for 
the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the Lord as the wa- 
ters cover the sea." 

So in the once hostile and bloodv fields of Virginia all now is 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 69 

peace, but the scarred bosom of the earth still tells the story of 
1861 to 1865. 

Perhaps it would interest the young people as well as the old 
soldiers to hear some brief description of these well known 
scenes. 

The soldier of the west by such a visit will better realize the 
heroism of his comrade in arms in the eastern armies. No one 
can look over the scene of the conflicts in Virginia without ac- 
cording to our comrades of that anny the full mead of praise 
which brothers should always award to the achievements of 
each other. 

As a crow flies it is only ]20 miles from Bull Run to Appo- 
mattox. Measured in time it was a. journey of nearly four 
years. 

Measured in blood and tears it was a thousand years. 

The journey was by various and devious routes; through mud 
and mire, through sunshine and through storm, through sum- 
mer heats and winter snows, through dangers by flood and flre, 
through dangers by stream and wood, through sickness and sor- 
row; and by the wayside death always stalked grimly and 
claimed his own. 

Twice did Bull Run witness the defeat of the cause of the 
National Union. It was indeed a fatal field to the federal 
army. When we approached that historic spot from Manassas 
Junction we met a large number of negro children on the road 
in holiday attire going to the "breaking up of school." 

Had Appomattox not closed what Bull Run so disastrously 
began there would have been no school for these colored boys 
and girls. They were the living evidences of the changes that 
were brought about by the fearful journey which the Union 
troops traveled before the humiliation of Bull Run was atoned 
for by ''peace with honor" at Appomattox. The two hundred 
years of enforced ignorance must now be compensated by the 
privileges of education. 



70 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

President Lincoln came into the Nation's capital in the night 
to take the oath of his high office. 

Sumter was the scene of the first encounter, but it was at 
Bull Run that the greatness of the contest upon which we had 
entered first was realized. 

The confederates gave this battle the more euphonious name 
of Manassas. It was their victory, and they had a right to 
name it, but yet in history it will no doubt remain as Bull Run 
until the end of time. 

In the open field at Henry's farm we were reminded of the 
struggle that here tenninated in defeat to the national cause. 
Here General Bee was killed, and before he fell he pointed to 
General Jackson's brigade and said: "There stands Jackson 
like a stone wall,'' and ever after the brigade was called by the 
name suggested, and its gallant commander was known as 
"Stonewall Jackson." 

It is not far to Chancellorsville, where two years later this 
confederate fell upon the battle field, and as his life ebbed 
aw^ay, munnured, "Let us cross over the river and rest under 
the shade of the trees." The spot at Chancellorsville is marked 
with a granite monument, and the confederate soldier, Captain 
Talioferro, who pointed it out to me with tears in his eyes: "I 
loved that man. I was wounded four times while I w^as under 
his command. I mourned his death then, but I see it all now. 
It is all for the best. If he had lived the Union could not have 
been restored. It is better as it is.'' Whilst I do not believe 
that one man, however great, could have made the success of 
the rebellion sure, 3'et it is true, not excepting Lee himself, 
there w^as no man whose life was so vital to the rebel cause as 
that of Stonewall Jackson. 

But to return to Bull Run battle field. Standing where Jack- 
son was wounded, the Henry house is near by. An old lady, 
Mrs. Henry, was in that house when the first battle began. 
She was bed-ridden, and eighth-five years of age. No one 
thought there would be a battle there, but supposed it would 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. ' <0 

At Richmond the marks of war abound, and the approaches 
and defences are still shown b}^ trenches and parapets. 

In all these Yirjiinia battle-grounds the pits showing the 
empty graves of soldiers whose remains had been transferred to 
some national cemetery are to be seen on every hand as a hor- 
rid reminder of the past. 

Petersburg, with its ten months siege, invited our careful at- 
tention, and the remains of the ghastly crater where so many 
men, white and black, were slaughtered as Ihcy huddled to 
gether in the deep hole, from which they could neither advance 
nor retreat. 

At Spottsylvania we met a party of Virginia school girls who 
had come twenty-five or thirty miles to see the famous region, 
and they were looking at the fine monument built by the Sixth 
Corps to commemorate the death of Segwick, their commander 
general. We told them that we were going on to Appomattox, 
and they said they were glad the war was over, but that they 
could not bear to think of looking at Appomattox. 

Staying over night at a hospitable home near the Wilderness, 
we were entertained with accounts of dark days of the war. 
One lady told us with some of the old tone of remonstrance how 
the Yankees drove away her cattle against her indignant pro- 
test. 

An old confederate who joined in the conversation said their 
soldiers were much more considerate and honest, for when they 
went to Gett^^sburg they paid or offered to pay for everything — 
in confederate money. 

But let us hasten on to the end where peace spreads her 
wings again^ where Grant gave back to Lee's army their cav- 
alry and artillery horses to use in plowing the neglected fields 
of the South. He treated them as our countrymen and then 
and there laid deep the foundation of respect and confidence 
that, let us fondly hope, will grow stronger and more cemented 
with the coming years. 



76 ' HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Now and then some discordant bray is heard in the general 
peace, and some one not particularly noted in the war seems 
ready to fight it all over again now after it has passed into his- 
tory. But fortunately this sentiment is small and growiiigless 
and less. 

In the last congress a fire eating congressman wanted to try 
it on again, and announced that he was ready to renew the con- 
test on a moment's notice, when one of my confederate friends 
came over to me and, rolling up his sleeve, said: "Do you see 
that saber cut?" Turning his face he then showed me a bullet 
scar near his ear and said: "I have two more of these memen- 
toes on my left leg, and I have got through with my part of it, 
and the gentleman now speaking may fight it out alone next 
time, as he did not do much of it when he had the chance." 

The Appomattox field is marked with tablets, so that in a 
visit there you may know when you are standing upon the exact 
spot where one of the great events of that memorable scene oc- 
curred. 

Speculative vandalism has done its work and the Surrender 
House has been torn down and the brick and lumber mariced 
and piled up ready for removal to some other place, there to be 
again set up as a show house to be exhibited for gain. 

But the memories of Appomattox cannot thus be removed. 
The house at some distant city would be out of place. Appo- 
mattox Mountain could not be seen from its doors. Here a 
marker shows where Grant and Lee met; there another where 
the famous apple tree once stood; another where Grant set up 
his headquarters for the last time in the presence of an armed 
foe; here Lee read his last orders to his troops as they massed 
around him; and most interesting of all, here is marked the 
place where the hostile arms were stacked to be used no more 
against brethren forever. 

Best of all there is no great charn^' house at Appomattox. 
Nineteen graves show that the confederate armies gathered 
their dead together there, and in doing so they found one skele- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 77 

ton in blue that by oversight had not been removed to a distant 
national cemetery, and this Union soldier now lies buried side 
by side in the little cemetery of the confederate dead, and his 
grave is annually decorated with those of the men with whom 
he died on this historic field. 

As we turn from the scene where the curtain rang down thir- 
ty-two years ago upon the final act of the greatest drama, the 
world has ever seen, the full moon rose and soon 

"The woods were asleep and the stars were awake," 
and only the note of the whip-poor-will dusturbed the solemn 
silence. 

In looking around to-day over this assembly we mourn more 
and more the friends of our youth. Where are our comrades of 
1861? Where are those who broke ranks with us in 1865? W^e 
meet some of them here today, grizzled and gray^, and with 
young hearts yet, but alas, how many have fallen out by the 
way! 

We miss and mourn them, 

"And the stately ships go on 

To their haven under the hill. 
But, O for the touch of a vanished hand. 

And the sound of a voice that is still. 
Break, break, break. 

At the foot of thy crags, oh Sea — 
But the tender grace of a day that is dead 

Will never come back to me." 



JONATHAN P. DOLLIVER. 

J. p. Dolliver was born near Kingwood, Preston county, Va., 
now West Virginia, February 6, 1858. In 1875 he graduated 
from the West Virginia University at Morgantown. Tn 185-4 he 
came to New Martinsville, Wetzel county, West Vir- 
ginia, with his father, who was the first preacher 
that ever preached in a church at New Martinsville, 
and to his work and energy the building of the old 
M. E. church i*^. due. His name will ever live to riie members 
of that church. Mr. Dol^iier was admitted to the bar in 1878, 
but never held any political office until elected as a Republican 
to the Fifty-first Congress as a representative from the Tenth 
Congressional district, and was elected again to the Fifty-sec- 
ond, Fifty-third, Fifty-fourth, Fifty-fifth and Fifty-sixth Con- 
gress. On July 22, 1900, he was appointed Senator to fill the 
unexpired term of Hon. J. H. Gear, deceased, and took his seat 
in the United States Senate December 3, 1900, which office he 
still holds. He is living in Iowa near the same locality as 
Hon. J. F. Lacey^ another Wetzel county boy. 




SENATOR J. P. DOLLIVER, 
Senator from Iowa. 



THE 
NEW YORK ^, 
.PUBLIC LIBRARY,.] 

Astor, Lenox and Tiiden 

Foun ■'■■ s. 
c~ 1903 



l\ 



'i 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 83 

Ms own interests to serve a friend, and disliked to distress 
those who became indebted to him; so that, where others 
would have become wealthy, he remained comparatively poor. 
His family^ however, have a far richer legacy in the unsullied 
character he sustained, and in the blessing of those ''who had 
reaped his fields and whose wages he kept not back." 

Coming here when this county was a wilderneiss, he lived 
to see a radical change in the character and appearance of the 
Ohio Valley, and in the manners and character of the popu- 
lation. 

The judgment of the world in regard to a man's character, 
while he is living, is apt to be too harsh — his faults are magni- 
fied and his virtues overlooked; but when he is dead, the re- 
verse is the case, and it is his faults which are forgotten and 
his virtues that are magnified. ''The good we do lives after," 
and "the grave covers every fault and extinguishes every re- 
sentment." The verdict in the latter case may be much too 
mild and in the former it is too harsh; but of the subject of this 
sketch it can truthfully be said that he was a good citizen, an 
accommodating neighbor, an honest officer, a warm, faithiul 
friend, a kind and affectionate husband and father; and if this 
does not include all his virtues, they are comprised in that 
other term to which he was so justly entitled, that of a "true 
Christian gentleman," and the world is better and happier be- 
cause of his life. 



EBENEZER CLARK. 

Ebenezer Clark was born on Wheeling Creek, in Washing- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, May 4th, 1802, and died at his home 
in the county of W^etzel, August 30th, 1878. 

Perhaps no man was so long and so prominently identified 
with the history of the county with which we deal in this vol- 
ume as the subject of the present sketch. When but an infant 
his father removed to the Scioto Valley, Ohio, afterwards go- 
ing further West; but the boy, Ebenezer, then thirteen years of 
age, came to West Virginia, living with his mother's people in 
Marshall county. In early manhood he married and settled 
near Fanlight, in Wetzel (then Tyler) county^ on what is now 
known as Clark's Ridge. Here the remainder of his life was 
passed. 

Mr. Clark was one of the largest land owners in the county, 
and managed extensive business affairs with rare good judg- 
ment; but he was a public spirited man who was never so busy 
that he could not find time to devote to public affairs. For a 
generation, perhaps, he officiated as Justice of the Peace, under 
the old regime, when men served faithfully for honor and not 
for profit. Nature had given him a legal mind, and he easily 
grasped complicated cases, going unerringly to the heart of the 
controvers3\ In addition to this, few men in similar positions 
have attained as honorable distinction as a peacemaker. Count- 
less controversies were brought to an end without litigation 
through his discreet advice and counsel, the universal confi- 
dence of the community in his integrity and sound judgment 
enabling him to make this most enviable record. 

Pefore Wetzel county had come into being, Mr. Clark served 
as a member of the County Court of Tyler county; and for four 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 85 

years he was Sheriff of Wetzel, also serving his constituency 
faithfully at Richmond as a member of the Legislature of Vir- 
ginia. Through his influence in that body a bill was passed 
providing for a turnpike road from New Martinsville to Bur- 
ton. If carried through, this would have largely influenced the 
development of the county; but the project was defeated, 
through the jealousy of local politicians. 

Mr. Clark's first wife was Harriet Anderson, and among 
their children are Josephus Clark, C. E. Clark, and Friend E. 
Clark, prominent citizens of Wetzel at the present time. His 
second wife was Mary Richmond, who, with their children, now 
resides in the State of Missouri. 

The following was written of Mr. Clark at the time of his 
death by Robert MpEldowney: 'Tor almost fifty years he has 
been a prominent and influential citizen, and has left during 
all this period of public life not a blot on his fair name. In 
politics Mr. Clark was a Democrat of the old school, and in 
religion an old fashioned Methodist, Avho believed in experi- 
mental religion and was not afraid to say so. He was a promi- 
nent member of the Church for a half century and was for a 
generation a local preacher. He was a man hospitable and 
generous, fond of the truth and fearless in its defense and in 
the support of what he believed to be right. He was such a 
man as, take him all in all, we may not look upon his like 
again." 

He was a strong man and a sincere Christian, whose memory 
is a benediction. His life brings to mind the lesson enforced 
by the greatest preacher of the nineteenth century : "Value the 
ends of life more than its means; watch ever for the soul of 
good in things evil, and the soul of truth in things false, and 
beside the richer influence that will flow out from your life on 
all to whom you minister, you will do something to help the 
solution of that unsolved problem of the human mind and 
heart, the reconciliation of hearty tolerance with strong posi- 
tive belief." , 



ISAAC SMITH. 

One of the most remarkable men in the history of West 
Virginia is Isaac Smith. At his death he was the oldest man 
in West Virginia, and probably the Southern States. He was 
born at Williamsport, Washington county, Pennsylvania, in 
the year of 1789, and lived to be 109 years old, which was but a 
few years back. He was a man of simple nature, kind, strong 
and always industrious. He lived until his death in Proctor 
Hollow, a ravine of five miles in length, running east and west 
through Wetzel county, in a small log cabin^ about two miles 
from Proctor Station, on the Ohio River R. R. He erected the 
building with his own hands when he came to West Virginia 
with his family, sixty-nine years before his death. Then the 
country was a wide forest, with only a few families scattered 
here and there over the country. His nearest neighbor was a 
man by the name of Hogan, who resided with his family five 
miles further up the run. 

Some of the older residents who remember him when he was 
forty to fifty years of age, say he could lift a barrel of whisky 
and drink out of the bunghole, and that he has often picked up 
two barrels of salt set one upon the other at a single lift. But 
of these things Mr. Smith never boasted. He had a smile for 
everyone and enjoyed a good joke as well as any person. He 
followed the occupation of keel boating on the. Monongahela 
river until he was forty years of age, when he sold out his pro- 
perty and moved to West Virginia. When he settled at Proc- 
tor there were few if any Indians remaining, and the only thing 
to be feared was from wild animals, catamounts, wild cats and 
a few wolves. There was also plenty of wild game. Mr. 
Smith's father settled at Elizabeth, Pa., in the latter part of 




ISAAC SMITH. 
109 Years Old. 




I 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 87 

the last century. His name was Samuel Smith, and he mar- 
ried Sallie Watt, the result of which union was several sons, 
among them being the subject of this sketch. Isaac Smith re- 
ceived very little education, but learned the trade of keel boat- 
ing at an early age, which he followed many years. He mar- 
ried Sarah Hutson, and to them were born five sons, Robert, 
Charles, Thomas, Samuel and John. Mr. Smith made his home 
with his grandson, Albert Anderson, who lives on the old 
homestead, where his mother was born and raised. 



WILLIAM LITTLE. 

William Little settled where Littleton now stands, on Fisli 
creek, in tlie year of 1838, when it was a vast wilderness with- 
out a solitary being for miles around except that of his wife. 
He was born in Fayette county, this State, and for some time 
lived in Green county, Pennsylvania. He was justice of the 
Peace when this countv was Tvler countv, for sixteen years. 
There are only three of the family now living, H. H. Little, 
who has been in the ministry for the past thirtj'-five years; 
Ruth Lancaster and James K. Little. William Little's bro 
ther, Josiah, was captain of artillerv in the Mexican war. 



JEREMIAH WILLIAMS. 

Jeremiah Williams was one of earliest settlers in this county. 
He came to New Martinsville about the year of 1800, and set- 
tled on the land now owned by his heirs and situated about two 
miles above the town of New Martinsville. He was born in the 
year of 1766 and for a while was a Fort Henry soldier. He ob- 
tained the title for the land from a man in Monongalia county 
(for boot) on a horse trade, he having obtained it from a man 
wlio was driven out by the Indians. Mr. Williams witnessed 
the signing of the Declaration of Independence. 



ROBERT McELDOWNEY, SR. 

Robert McEldowne}' was born in Ireland and emigi'ated with 
his brother (John) to this country about the rear of 1782^ and 
settled on the land about one and a half miles north of the 
town of New Martinsville, and now owned by ^h: B. F. Bridge- 
man, in the year of 1804, having lived for a while at Buckhill 
Bottom, Ohio. His brother settled in Maryland, where his de- 
scendants still live. Mr. McEldowney died in a carriage. He 
was very feeble at the presidential election of 1844, and desir- 
ing to vote for Jamese K. Polk, a carriage was sent after him, 
and after getting in the carriage he suddenly died and w'as 
buried in Williams' Cemetery, w^here his wife, Hannah Yanda- 
ver McEldownev was buried. 




H. K. THOMPSON, 
Clerk of the County Court. 




I PUBLIC 

V ^stor, Lenox ard Tiiden// 



Forr ■ ' 
1903 



JUDGE THOMAS I. STEALEY. 

In the History of Wetzel county, Judge Stealey should not be 
forgotten for the part which he took in the proceedings prelimi- 
nary to the formation of the county by the act of the legislature 
of Virginia. The continued agitation of the re-location of the 
county seat of Tyler county from Middlebourne to Sistersville. 
caused the citizens of Middlebourne to take such a course as 
would put at rest the vexatious question and to that end the 
father of Judge Stealey, James Stealey, long since deceased^ in 
connection with other citizens of Tyler county, held a meeting 
in the law office of J. M. Stevenson (then residing at Middle 
bourne), but subsequently an honored citizen of the city of 
Parkersburg, who at the election for president in 1844 was an 
elector on the Whig ticket, bearing the name at its head of the 
distinguished American Statesman, Henry Clay, the author of 
the protection tariff of 1845 and the compromise bill 
of 1853. This is not wholly a digression, for strange as it 
may seem, it was a wise act of strategy politically to hold 
a meeting in the office of a leading Whig such as was James M. 
Stevenson. It was intended at that time to nominate a Demo- 
crat as a candidate for the election to the Virginia Leg- 
islature. I\ W. Martin, according to the Democratic 
party usage, was entitled at that time to the nomination 
for the office, but there had been local dissentions in the ranks 
of the party which made it unwise to select a man from that 
part of Tyler county in the person of P. M. Martin, a staunch 
Democrat of the Jetfersonian style, to be the candidate, and 
the friends of the measure, to divide Tyler county by making a 
new county (Wetzel), by a line striking off all of the northern 



92 HISTORY OF WETZEL COL'NTY. 

portion of Tyler county for that purpose, and thus get rid of 
that part of the territory of the county that was in favor of the 
re-location of the county seat, it became necessary to secure a 
delegate who would advocate the new county in the legislature, 
and James G. West, of the northern portion of the county, was 
selected by James Stealey, James M. Stevenson, and Joseph 
McCoy, two Whigs, and the last named a Democrat. A com- 
mittee appointed to select a delegate by the Democratic meet- 
ing held in the law office of a leading Whig, after the nomina- 
tion of James G. West by James M. Stevenson and James 
Stealey, two Whigs, and Joseph McCoy, a Democrat. Judge 
Stealey, then only fifteen years of age, was directed by said 
nominating committee to prepare the notice required by law to 
secure the formation of a new county, which was promptly 
prepared and posted by him at many prominent places in the 
county as required by law. After years the people of Wetzel 
county remembered favorably the part taken by him in the 
formation of the county by giving him a majority of 1,200 votes 
over his opponent, the late distinguished Judge C. J. Stewart, 
for the office of Judge in the Fourth Judicial Circuit, com- 
posed of the counties of Wetzel, Tyler, Doddridge and Kitchie, 
which position Judge Stealey held for a term of eight years, 
discharging the duties thereof faithfully and with ability and 
honor. Judge Stealey moved from New Martinsville in the 
year 1889 to the city of Parkersburg, where he has since re- 
sided, engaging in the practice of law with great success, and 
having accumulated a sufficient competency to live a quiet 
life, he retired from the practice of his profession in 1898 and 
is yet living at the age of 72, the picture of health and content- 
ment, devoting much of his time to the study of the advanced 
problems of science, history and economies. 








OLD WETZEL COUNTY COURT HOUSE, 
New Martinsville. 



FORMATION OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

Wetzel count}' was formed in 1840 from Tyler, by an act of 
the Assembly of Virginia; was named from Louis Wetzel^ a 
distinguished frontiersman and Indian scout (see Louis Wet- 
zelj. The first session of court was held in April, 1840, in the 
house then owned by Sampson Thistle, which was designated 
for the place by the legislature. It was situated on the corner 
of Main and Jefferson streets, and is now the property of Otto 
Soland. The officers of the court were Joseph L. Fry, judge; 
Friend Cox, clerk of the Circuit Court; Pressley Martin, clerk 
of the County Court; Edward Moore, crier of the court; James 
Snodgrass, attorney for commonwealth; Lewis Williams, sur 
veyor. The justices were P. M. Martin, P. Martin, B. F. Mar 
tin, Wm. Anderson, P. Witten, F. E. Williams, Owen Witten 
Andrew McEldowney, Samuel McEldowney, Hezekiah Alley 
E. W. Cox. James Paden^ Daniel xVnderson, James Morgan 
Henry Garner, J. V. Camp, Wm. Sharpneck and Stephen Car 
ney. Wm. Sharpneck, being the oldest justice, was made 
sheriff. At each term of the County Court, three justices 
acted as commissioners of the County Court. The first to act 
were B. F. Martin, P. M. Martin, P. Martin, Wm. Anderson and 
P. Witten, with P. Martin as president. The deputy sheriffs 
were Charles McCoy and Archibald Thistle; the commissioners 
of revenue were Thomas Snodgrass, Sampson Thistle, Wm. 
Little, Ebenezer Payne, James G, W^est, Ebenezer Clark, Heze- 
kiah Joliff'e, James Kuckman, Isaac E, Haskinson^ Wm. An- 
derson, John Alley, John Klepstein and Jacob Talkingtou, On 
April 7th, 184G, J. W. Stephens, C. W. Clark, W. J. Boreman, 
K. W. Lock, J. R. Morris, F. W. McConaughy, I. W. Horner, 
James Snodgrass, G. W. Thompson and Thomas Jones were 



94 HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

permitted to practice law in the courts. On May 4tli of the 
same year, Isaac Hoge, J. Morris and Abraham Samuels were 
permitted to practice law before the court. The house of 
Sampson Thistle was bought for |400, and R. W. Cox and B. F. 
Martin appointed to see that the court house was properly re- 
paired, and to superintend the building of a jail. In 1848 the 
county had sufficient funds in the treasury to build a new 
court house, which they did, but it was not completed until 
the year of 1852. The ground where the court house and jail 
were built was donated by Sampson Thistle and Pressley Mar- 
tin, and when the court house was completed it was pro- 
nounced one of the best houses of its kind in the State. 
Court was held in the building until 1900. The building was 
beginning to look shabby', it was behind the times, and was 
very inconvenient, and the county court, which consisted of 
-James Joliffe, John De Bolt and Abe Fair gave the contract 
for the erection of a new building, which will cost about |100,- 
000 when completed. The first grand jury appointed by Sheriff 
Sharpneck were John M. Lacey, foreman; Absalom Postlewait, 
Frances Hindman, Archiles Morgan, Hiram J. Morgan, James 
Cochran, Caleb Headlee, J. Van Camp, Jeremiah Williams, 
Thomas Stiel, Richard Postlethwait, Joseph Wood, Robert 
Leap, Zadoc L. Springer, Andrew Workman, John Roberts, Ja- 
cob Rice, Jacob McCloud, and Wm. Little. The first indict- 
ment brought against a person was the commonwealth against 
Elisha McCormick, for assault and battery. Vtm. McDonald, 
a native of Cork^ was the first man to be naturalized. The 
first trial before the County Court was the Commonwealth vs. 
Holden Cooper, upon his recognizance for a felony. The first 
estate settled in this county was the estate of C. B. Pitcher, of 
which J. C. Pitcher was administrator, and Friend Cox, Press- 
ley Martin and B. F. Martin were appraisers. The estate 
amounted to |207.05. 

On May 31, 1861, delegates from twenty-five counties in 
Virginin assembled at Wheeling and determined That they 




W. F. SHUMAN, 
Commissioner of the Countv Court. 



HISTORY OP WETZEL COUNTY. 95 

would not take part in the war against the ( 'iiiou with<iut the 
will of the people. The delegates from Wetzel «;oiiiit.y were 
Elijah Morgan, T. E. Williams, Josephus Mui^)hy, Wm. J3 ar- 
rows, B. T. Bowers, J. K. Read, J. M. Bell, Jacob Young, 
Reuben Martin, R. Read, R. S. Sayre, W. D. Walker, Geo. W. 
Bier, Thos. McQuown, John Alley, S. Stephens, R. W. Laiick. 
John McCaskey, Richard Cook, Andrew McEldowney and B. 
Van Camp. The next convention was held June 11 of the 
same year. The members of this convention being elected, the 
others being appointed. The State was represented by thirty 
counties this time. At this convention Wetzel county sent 
James G. West, Reuben Martin and B. J. Ferrell. At this 
convention Francis H. Pierpoint was elected the first governor 
of the State. The third convention was held November 20 of 
the same jear, for the purpose of reorganizing the goverument. 
The delegate from Wetzel county was R. W. Lauck, Another 
convention was held two years later, in 1863, at Charleston. It 
was under the new constitution. Septimius Hall was elected. 

Officers of Wetzel county from the formation down to the 
present time: 

Sheriffs — Wm. Sharpneck, Edwin Moore, Wm. Anderson, 
Josephus Clark, Levi Shuman, A. P. Brookover, W. M. Brook- 
over, John Stender, B. B. Postlethwait, John Stender, J. N. 
Wyatt, James Pyles and Alex Hart. 

Clerks of the County Court — Pressley Martin, J. W. New- 
man, Friend Cox, Z. S. Springer, J. D. Ewing, Z. S. Springer, 
H. E. Robinson, John C. McEldowney, the latter serving twen- 
ty-six years, having been appointed for two years, and Henry 
Thompson. 

Clerks of the Circuit Court — Friend Cox, John C. McEl- 
downey, J. W. Neewman and John Kauft'man, Mr. Newman 
having served eighteen years. 

Prosecuting Attorney — James Snodgrass, L. S. Hall, R. W. 
Leuck, W^m. Guthrie, George Boyd, L. S. Hall, M. R. Crouse, 
W. S. Wiley, M. R. Morris and E. L. Robinson. 



COL. ROBERT McELDOWNEY. 

Eobert McEldowney, of whom we present a fair likeness, 

was one of the most widely known editors in the State. He 

was editor of the Wetzel Democrat and his writings were often 

quoted by some of the leading journals of the State. He was 

often referred to as the Bill Nye of West Virginia. He was 

born in 1837, at New Martinsville, and atended the schools at 

that place, later going to the Moundsville Academy and the 

Marietta College, but before graduating at Marietta he enlisted 

as a private in the Southern army and was later commissioned 

captain, commanding the Twenty-seventh Stonewall Brigade, 

being twice wounded. He served until the close of the war. 

At the battle of Gettysburg he took charge of the wing of the 

army in which a general was killed, and led a part of the whole 

army at that place. He was the first teacher appointed by the 

board of education in Magnolia district. He was a member 

of the Legislature and was one of the delegates to the National 

convention that nominated Hancock for president. The last 

years of his life were passed in sufferings that were untold, 

and on he diedwith cancer of the tongue. 

Thus ended a life of usefulness, which was shortened by that 
dread affliction. 




COL. ROBERT McELDOWNEY. 



..' YORK \> 



CAPT. JOHN McCASKEY. 

Captain McCaskey was born in Steubenville, Ohio, February 
19, 1834. When a boy he came with his parents to New Mar- 
tinsville and continued to reside there until the war, when he 
enlisted in the army, and was electd first lieutenant in Com- 
I>auy C, Fifteenth West Virginia. He was afterwards pro- 
moted to captain and commanded Company C in some of the 
hardest fought battles of the war. After he returned from the 
war in 18G2, he was appointed Justice of the Peace, which of- 
fice he held until his death. He was also receiver of both 
county and circuit courts. At one time he held the office of 
mayor of New Martinsville for a number of terms. While in 
the army he contracted pulmonary consumption, which caused 
his death, dying September 22, 1882. 



ELIJAH MORGAN. 

Elijah Morgan was born in Green district, Wetzel county, 
in the rear of 1840. He was a delegate to the constitutional 
convention that determined that they would not take ;i.ims 
against the Union. He then enlisted in 1861 in Company H, 
First West Virginia Infantry, and remained in the army until 
the close of the war, taking part in some of the most important 
battles, and the last battle of Bull Run. He was not in the 
regiment long until he was commissioned sergeant. He was a 
grandson of Morgan Morgan, whose name has been frequently 
mentioned in this book. 



/ NEW v 
PUBLie.UBRARY,y| 




ALEX. HART, 
Sheriff of Wetzel County. 



CAPT. BASIL T. BOWERS. 

Basil T. Bowers was born in Cuyahoga countj, O., in the year 
of 1837. In the year of 18G1 he came to Wetzel county with the 
intention of studying law at that place. At this time the civil 
war was coming on and there was very little business for law- 
vers. Earlv in May of the same year he obtained authority to 
enlist volunteers for service in the United States army, and 
enlisted the first volunteers from Wetzel and Tyler counties, 
then Virginia. In Wetzel he enlisted George Dillon. Sam ^Ic- 
Collough, Wm. Branford, C. Frankhouser, John Fouler, Henry 
Gehring^ Felix Hill, David Kirkland, Leonard Koberts, James 
A. Robinson, and others. In Tyler he enlisted J. B. Smith, 
Fred Garrison, Samuel Spencer, Wm. Gorrell, James Fardyce, 
(who was probably the first Union soldier enlisted in Tyler 
county), Jackson Jounkins, R. D. Kelch, Marion Moore, Hiram 
White, James M. Kay, Peter D. Moore, Jacob Ritchie and oth- 
ers. These volunteers formed a part of Company E, Second 
regiment of Virginia volunteers, and were mustered into the 
United States service June, 1861, at Camp Carlisle, at Wheel- 
ing. Captain Bowers served in the United States army from 
1861 until 1865, when he was mustered out at Brazos Santiago^ 
Texas. After the war he returned to Wetzel county, where he 
has made his home ever since, engaged in his profession. 



CAPT. FRIEND CLAY COX. 

Wetzel county has produced no more knightly son or finer 
gentleman than Friend C. Oox, and this volume would be in- 
complete without a loving tribute to his memory. 

Friend C. Cox was the son of Friend Cox, a sketch of whose 
life we publish^ and Susan Thistle Cox, his wife, and was born 
April 21st, 1844, The stirring events leading to the civil war 
between the States, which so profoundly stirred men's souls, 
made a man out of the boy of sixteen or seventeen, whose un- 
usually handsome face and person and brilliant mind had al- 
ready made him a leading figure in the life of both New Mar- 
tinsville and the county. His influence had been felt in local 
politics, and the campaign of 1860 found him making ringing 
speeches for Breckenridge & Lane. Those were stirring days 
in Wetzel, and the outspoken sympathizer with the Southern 
cause soon heard rumors that his arrest had been planned by 
zealous Federal partisans, whose active efforts sent many em- 
bryo Confederates to Camp Chase and similar safe retreats. 

But the activities of young Friend Cox were not to thus be 
confied. He promptly left home, telling his mother he intend- 
ed to embark on the lower river, with a relative who owned a 
steamer; and, with Robert McEldowney and other brave spir- 
its, he made his way to the Confederate lines. He enlisted as 
a member of the Shriver Grays, a company organized at Wheel- 
ing, and served through the war as a member of the immortal 
Stonewall Brigade. 

Of Friend Cox, the soldier, we need not speak at length, for 
his record is one with that of the invincible battalion, whose 
achievements will be studied and analyzed as long as men learn 
the art and science of war and find inspiration in the record of 




JOHN W. KAUFFMAN, 
Clerk of Circuit Court. 




THE 
NEW YORK \\ 



PUBLIC LIBRARV 



' ^tp^ Lenox and Tilden '/ 




1903 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 101 

heroic deeds. He knew not fear, and one who fought by his 
side has said that amid the whistle of bullets and the shriek 
of shells he was the genius of battle incarnate; and General 
James A. Walker, the last commander of the Brigade, in a re- 
cent letter to a personal friend, says of Captain Cox : "He was 
as brave as any knight who ever drew sword, and I loved him." 
Although the youngest of them all, he attained the highest 
rank of any of the sons of New Martinsville who served in the 
war. For gallant conduct on the field of battle he, by success- 
ive promotions, reached the position of Captain and Adjutant- 
General of the Stonewall Brigade, which rank he held at the 
time of the surrender. His war record is well epitomized in 
the sentence uttered at the time of his death by a leading news- 
paper man of West Virginia: ''He bore the reputation of a gal- 
lant soldier and a valued officer." 

Subsequent to the civil war Captain Cox engaged in business 
in Baltimore, St. Louis, and New York City. From the last 
named city he returned to his native town to die, having con- 
tracted consumption while in the army. His death occurred 
on the 26th day of January, 1870. 

Handsome, courtly, knightly, loved and admired by his 
friends, both men and women, old Wetzel may well be proud 
that she produced him, and her younger sons may well emulate 
the vigor and intensity with which he met life's problems. This 
inadequate tribute can best be classed in the language of one of 
his dearest friends: "It is difficult for one who feels his loss as 
a personal bereavement, to write fittingly of the dead, much 
less to offer consolation to the living; but if gentleness and 
kindness^ and courage and generosity, and all the virtues which 
make men esteem and love each other, are reckoned in the final 
settlement, our Friend will have a part in the first resurrec- 
tion." 



JUDGE M. H. WILLIS. 

Judge M. H. Willis, present Judge of the 4tli Judicial Cir- 
cuit, was born near Mole Hill, Ritchie county, W. Va., January 
31, 1862. He received a sound English education, and at the 
age of sixteen began teaching school, during vacation being 
engaged in ordinary farm work. Later he attended the Har- 
risville High school, and subsequently the State University at 
Morgantown. His education was finished at the Northern In- 
diana Normal School at Valparaiso, Indiana, where he took a 
collegiate course, and was valedictorian of his class of seventy- 
six graduates. From this school Mr. Willis was graduated in 
1886 with the degree of B. S. Having completed his studies 
he resumed teaching in Dakota, and later taught in Wisconsin. 
Having chosen law as a profession he in the meantime applied 
himself diligently to its study. In 1889 he came to West Un- 
ion, and was for three years principal of the WesflUnion gra- 
ded schools. For two years he was principle of Fl. Wesley 
Academy at Berkeley Springs, W. Va., retaining, however, his 
residence in West Union. 

Mr. Willis was admitted to the bar in 1890, and since the spring 
of 1893 has been actively engaged in the practice of law with 
success. His court papers are models of neatness and accu- 
racy. As a counselor and adviser he is safe, reliable and con. 
servative. He is a clear, thinker, a logical reasoner, and is 
regarded as one of the ablest advocates of the Doddridge coun-^ 
ty bar. Possessing thorough scholarship and an analytical 
mind, he closely investigates his cases and rarely forms a 
wrong conclusion. As showing the high regard in which he is 
held in his profession, it might be mentioned that at a recent 
temi of the circuit court of Ritchie countv in the absence of 



- ■ ■., „^ . ,^,„. .. 1,;,M ,, ., „ ■■■,-^, -jy.'g-.V.-^ -' 






y^^ 




JUDGE M. H. WILLIS, 
Judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit of West Virginia. 




nbLui ) Lriiu 

Foun ' 

1 903 y 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 103 

Judge Freer, he was chosen Special Judge of that court. His 
work as such commended itself to the bar and he was highly 
complimented by both press and bar for the fairness and accu- 
racy of his decisions. In 1900 he was elected Judge of the 
Fourth Judicial Circuit, which position he still holds, perform- 
ing the duties of said office with ability. 



EX-JUDGE T. P. JACOBS. 

No man of public life in Wetzel county is better known 
throughout the State of West Virginia than is Ex-Judge T. P. 
Jacobs, of New Martinsville. As a lawyer, judge and politi- 
cian^ he has won distinction and success. He was born near 
Cumberland, Allegheny county, Maryland, in 1852, and his 
parents came to West Virginia when he was quite young. He 
secured his early education in the public and private schools 
of the State and graduated from the West Virginia University 
at Morgantown . Mr. Jacobs was elected Judge of the Fourth 
Judicial Circuit in 1888 as a Republican, which position he held 
until 1896. He is still living at New Martinsville, where he 
enjoys one of the finest residences in the county, devoting much 
of his time to the practice of his profession. 




E. L. ROBINSON, 
Prosecuting Attorney of Wetzel County. 



BANKS OF WETZEL. 

THE WETZEL COUNTY BANK. 

It commenced business Januar}' 1st, 1890. W. S. Wiley is 
president; S. J. Elliott is vice president, and J. E. Bartlett is 
cashier. The bank has a capital of 135^,000.00, and surplus of 
128,929.30. W. E. Maple is assistant cashier. The directors 
are J. E. Bartlett, J. W. Leap, Henry Koontz, R. C. Standiford, 
S. J. Elliott, W. S. Wiley and C. C. Eisenbarth. 

THE NEW MARTINSVILLE BANK. 

It was opened June 1, 1897, with S. R. Martin as president, 
and J. W. Alderson as cashier. It has a stock of |25,000.00, 
surplus of 112,000.01. S. R. Martin is president; D. H. Cox is 
vice president; John A. Mandi is cashier; J. M. Schmied is as- 
sistant cashier. The directors are S. R. Martin, D. H. Cox, E. 
S. Duerr, F. W. Clark, J. W. Lentz, Wm. Ankrom and Charles 
J. Beck. 

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK 

Began business the 21st day of March, 1900, with S. B. Hall 
as president; F. P. Lowther as vice president and J. Lee Harne 
as cashier, who are the present officers. The capital is $50,000. 
The directors are S. B. Hall, J. W. Kauffman, H. R. Thompson, 
A. E. McCaskey, A. C. Ruby, Robert Morris, R. C. Leap, .F P. 
Lowther^ F. F. Morgan, A. T. Fair, Amos Jolilfe, W. M. Garner, 
J. R. Parr, Felix Abersold and T. M. Jackson. 

SMITHFIELD BANK. 

Is located at Smithfield. I. D. Morgan is president and W. 
A. Lewis is cashier. The capital stock is |25,000.00. 



106 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

BANK OF LITTLETON 

Opened June 1st, 1901, with J. A. Connelly as president, and 
B. A. Pyles as cashier, and has a capital stock of $25,000. 



CHURCHES OF NEW MARTINSVILLE. 

METHODIST EnSCOPAL CHURCH. 

Meetings of this cliiircli were held many years prior to the 
building of the meeting house in the old court house and old 
school house. The old building was erected in 1854, under the 
pastorate of Rev. J. J. UoHiver, who was succeeded by Rev. 
Wm, Williamson. Rev. G. D. Smith is the present incumbent. 
A very beautiful church building was erected in 1901 by the 
members of the church under the supervision of Rev. Smith, 
who is constituted an efficient worker. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH (SOUTH.) 

Rev. Gr. B. Page was the pioneer Methodist preacher, who 
came here in the year of 1856, and was followed by Rev. C. M. 
Sullivan, of the Parkersburg district, who preached occasion- 
ally, when he could get off from his other work. After the 
meeting of the general conference in New Orleans in the year 
of 186G, Rev. R. A. Claughton re-established the church here. 
He was succeeded by Rev. E. Kendal. Rev. Gosling is the pre- 
sent incumbent. 

ST. ANNE'S EPISCOPulL CHURCRH. 

This church was organized at New Martinsville in the vear 
of 1881, when Rev. A. Buchanan was appointed minister. He 
was succeeded by Rev. I. Brittingham. The present minister 
is Rev. Burkhardt. 

THE CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 
This church was organized in the year of . . . ., and has con- 



108 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

tinued to grow from its organization. Tlie present minister is 
Kev. Light. 

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

The Catholic Church was organized in the jear of 1865, 



NEWSPAPERS OF WETZEL. 

The first paper issued in Wetzel county was issued by Daniel 
Lonji^, in 1870, under tlie name of the "Wetzel Independent," 
and published at New Martinsville. In 1872 Mr. Long changed 
its name to the Labor Vindicator, and continued its publica- 
tion until 1876, when it was suspended. After a short time 
the name of the paper was taken up by W. W. Roberts and 
published at Hundred, with W. W. Roberts as editor, until 
1900, when he died, and the paper is now owned and edited by 
his son, C. W. Roberts. 

The Wetzel Democrat was issued in 1877 with W. S. Wiley 
and Robert McEldowney as editors, and Dan Long as pub- 
lisher. The editorial management remained the same until 
1900, when Colonel McEldowney died. The paper then came 
into the hands of C. C. Westerman, who is the present editor 
and publisher. 

The Messenger was published at New Martinsville in 1876 by 
J. E. Hart. It was afterwards purchased by E. E. Eisenbarth, 
with T. P. Jacobs as editor. It was then transferred back to 
Hart, who published it under the name of the Wetzel Repub- 
lican. The present publishers are Smith & Fitch. The pre- 
sent editor is Robert Smith. 

The Smithfield Derrick is published at Smithfield. It was 
not issued until 1901. Mrs. R. C. Walker is publisher and R. C. 
Walker is editor. 

The New Martinsville News is a new paper published by a 
number of Wetzel county citizens. 



THE JENNINGS GANG. 

A book was written in 1874 on the Jennings gang, but of 
course contains a great deal of fiction, to nialce a boolv of its 
size, although it was based on facts; and the writer by many 
has been accused of being one of the gang, and it is a fact that 
he served two terms in the penitentiary for forgery. Whether 
John Jennnigs was the chief of the Jennings gang, as has been 
stated, I will leave it to the reader to decide. It is said that he 
at one time ordered Jack away from the house, upon which he 
was shot upon by him, and merely escaped with his life. They 
often had long combats, in which he would beat his father up 
wonderfully, and when the old man would get on top of him, 
he would hallow that he was killing him. That shows what 
an inhuman creature he was, and we shall describe him later 
as one of the gang and the most treacherous of their number. 

JOHN JENNINGS. 

We will first give the life of John Jennings. He was a native 
of Monongalia county, W. Va., and at the time of his death 
was fifty-two years of age. He bore the reputation of being 
an honest man, up to the time of the civil war. When the war 
broke out he took very ardent sides with the Union cause, 
and denounced with bitterness the principles of secession. He 
enlisted in the 15th W. Va. infantry^ and remained in the ser- 
vice but six months, when his devotion for his wife and chil- 
dren, made him desert his regiment and come home. But he 
had no more than got home, when he found that he had been 
followed by a military officer, with a company of soldiers. He 
succeeded in escaping them. Squads of men were sent, from 
time to time, with instructions to arrest him, but he always 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. Ill 

succeeded in escaping. He knew the hills of Wetzel county as 
well as he knew the hills around the old homestead, and could 
easily escape hundreds of men. He also had so many rela- 
tions throughout the locality which was searched, that it 
was almost impossible to secure his arrest. Owing to the de- 
termination of the military authorities to capture him, he was 
compelled to abandon the comforts of home, and become a 
wanderer, and sleep in the woods, or at the home of a near rel- 
ative. Hunted from one place to another by squads of sol- 
diery, he began to be looked on by many as an outlaw. When 
he was about to be driven into desperation by the home guards 
President Lincoln came to his rescue, and issued a pardon to 
all deserters, who would come back to their respective regi- 
ments. He at once rejoined his regiment, and, it is said, was 
treated like a dog by his comrades. They would not speak to 
him, only in a commandmg way^ and would make him set his 
tent off by itself, when in camp. On the way home, after the 
disbandment of the army, he was forcibly seized, and thrown 
overboard of the steamer that was carrying them home. He 
was then ccm])elled to walk to his destination. He was twice 
married, both of his wives being good, respectable women, and 
devoted to their husband. His first wife died, it is alleged, 
from exposure and fatigue, incurred by her in carrying him 
food and clothing while he was a fugitive. After he had been 
discharged from the service of the government, he married one 
Mrs. Sallie Huff, a woman of good reputation, and of consider- 
able intelligence, who was devoted to him during his long and 
weary trials. He had by his first wife nine children, five sons 
and four daughters. x\ll his sons, except one, who was called 
little John, and AMlliam, who was drowned accidentally long 
before the gang broke out, were members of the gang, and on 
or before that John Jennings was one of our best citizens and 
was often selected as a juryman. One of the girls married Al- 
fred Spicer, a respectable farmer and good citizen, living in 
this county. One of the other girls was less fortunate, eloping 



112 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

with a married man. Jennings was a man of energy, courage 
and indomitable will, and a man who would sacrifice anything 
necessary for a friend, but who would shoot down whom he 
considered his enemy as he would a dog. His residence, which 
was the headquarters of the gang, was situated in a quiet 
place between two streams, Dulin and Big Fishing creek. It 
was situated on an isolated piece of ground some distance from 
the main road, surrounded with heavy timber and dense under- 
brush. The woods contained secret paths, known only to the 
members of the gang. If John Jennings was not the chief of 
the Jennings gang he harbored them, as most fathers would 
have done, when it came to the time of driving them away from 
home. It will be impossible to give a life of all of the mem- 
bers of the gang, but of those whom were known to be mem- 
bers of the gang, we will first give a sketch of Frank Jennings. 

FRANK JENNINGS. 

One of the most desperate and reckless criminals the State 
has ever been cursed with, says Stienmetz, in his sketch of 
him. He was a young man not more than twenty-four years 
of age. No less than a half dozen, if not more, have been spent 
in criminal pursuits. He had little intelligence, and a com- 
mon school education. Tall, strong and athletic, of a pleasant 
expression; he was as straight as an Indian, and was the most 
feared of the gang when a boy. He bore the reputation of a 
dare devil, but nothing criminal was imputed by him un- 
til the years of 1864-65. He did more criminal business than 
did any other member of the gang, with the exception of 
Benjamin Barcus. He was in all of the deeds committed by 
the gang, but was charged of but one, on which he was sen- 
tenced to five years in the penitentiary at Moundsville, but 
succeeded in escaping before more than one-half of his term 
was out. His daring recklessness was shown on that occasion. 
The building of the penitentiary was not completed yet, and 
the walls of the same were inclosed by a stockade of two-inch 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 113 

plank, sixteen feet high. A sentry box was erected on each 
side of the stockade; in each of these a guard was placed, who 
was armed with a seven shooter. This stockade, having been 
exposed for a number of years, was beginning to decay. On 
one occasion a severe rain storm, followed by a violent wind, 
was seen approaching, and the guards were beginning to fear 
that the stockade would fall down, and that was all that stood 
between over one hundred convicts, and many of them fearl(>S!^ 
desperadoes. These convicts knew that they were to face the 
seven shooters, and freedom was their own. As the storm 
neared them they gathered in groups discussing plans of es- 
cape. All eyes were turned toward Frank Jennings, as their 
leader. Not since the death of Woodford L. Crews had the 
penitentiary received a more daring criminal than Frank Jen- 
nings. He willingly consented, but they must swear to follow 
him. He knew that many would, when the trying moment 
came, fail. He knew that he could rely upon but a few, if any. 
But he told them that as soon as the stockade fell that a rush 
must be made, and that no regard must be paid for orders, and 
not to pay any attention to their seven-shooters. All consented 
and professed eagerness to follow, and congregated under one 
of the large sheds in the yard, anxiously waiting the coming 
storm. The officers saw the movements of the men and knew 
what those movements meant, and stationed all of the men 
they could spare at that place. The storm came on and raged 
with terrible fury, the rain falling in torrents, and the wind 
blowing a perfect gale. The decaying stockade trembled and 
swung back and forth, eagerly watched by guards and oftictus 
without and by a band of excited convicts within. Yielding to 
the force of the tornado, it at last fell with a crash, and the 
barrier between them and liberty was down. With a shout, a 
rush was made, Frank Jennings at the head of the column. 
They were valiently met by the little squad of guards armed 
with carbines and ordered to halt and d-esist. Not heeding 
their admonitions, they continued to advance and the guards 



114 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

were compelled to fire. Every man halted and turned back 
save one, and that was Frank Jennings. Running at the top 
of his speed, he cleared the fallen timbers at a bound, regard- 
less of the shouts and threats of the guards, and though half 
a dozen shots were fired at him, he succeeded in effecting his 
escape, and in forty-eight hours was received with open arms 
at the headquarters of the gang, but he did not remain there, 
for he knew that officers would be after him in a few hours. 
His confederates had a score of hiding places for him, and he 
well knew where he would be safe. In the course of a few- 
days two of the officers of the penitentiary came to New Mar- 
tinsville and engaged the services of several citizens to aid 
them in their efforts to capture Frank Jennings. They waited 
patiently until after dark before they made known the nature 
of their visit, or before they undertook to solicit the services of 
others, thinking that they would succeed in locating his retreat 
and capture him without difficulty. Foolish men! Their ar- 
rival had been expected long before they left the county seat. 
Frank had been informed of the fact, and of their plans and in- 
tentions. The spies of the gang were near them, conversing 
with them, denouncing the course of Frank Jennings and all 
who bore the name, and then they told tales of how much dan- 
ger there was in seeking such men; that Coal Run was espe- 
cially unsafe; that the villains would be within four feet of the 
road, shoot down the officers in the darkness and effect their 
escape. So misled, deceived and terrified were they, that they 
actuallj^ returned to Moundsville without having accomplished 
their object; in fact, without attempting it. So this ended the 
chase after Frank Jennings. He remained in the county un- 
molested until the death of his father. He did not at all times 
keep himself concealed. He was frequently seen oij the Uoolin 
road and scores of times escaped from his father's house by se- 
cret paths, to the opposite side of the hills, among his friends. 
The next thing would be news of his robbing a house or suuu; 
other crime. A portion of the time his retreat was in a sm.'iil 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 115 

cabin, from which he had an outlook in every direction, with a 
subterranean passage of nearly two hundred yards, ending in a 
ravine, from which he could escape in any direction. The en- 
trance to the underground channel was elTected by raising a 
board or plank in the floor, which, after descending, he could 
draw after him and securely fasten it to its original position. 
Should his foes even succeed in forcing their way into his 
cabin, which was impossible without loss of life, for he always 
was armed, he could be in the ravine long before they could 
discover his way of escape or explore the passage when once 
found. He could well adapt himself to his surroundings, and 
when necessary could easily put on the mask of hypocrisy iiud 
profess religion. None could be more devout than he; none 
could shout louder, sing more vigorously, or pray more 'Ear- 
nestly, and such feeling addresses — how ungrateful he had 
been; but thank God, the scales have fallen from his eyes; he 
could now see how good God had been to him, and an liour 
later he could have been indulging in quite a ditlerent stx'ain. 
He was no doubt the leadei' of the gang, and was always on 
the alert. 

THOMAS JENNINGS. 

There is another of that family in the gang worthy of men- 
tion. It is Frank's brother, Thomas Jennings. He was older 
than his brother Frank. He became about as notorious as the 
other members, but probably his notoriety was to be attri- 
buted largely to his connection to the Jennings family, more 
than his criminal exploits. Like his father, he was not natu- 
rally a criminal, as were his other brothers. He was engaged 
in fewer criminal transactions than any other member of the 
gang. He was young, not being more than twenty-seven years 
of age at the time of his death, which occurred at the peniten- 
tiary hospital in 1872. Like his father, he entered the military 
service of the United States and deserted therefrom, but un- 
like his father, did not return to his regiment at the time of 



116 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Lincoln's proclamation. His most prominent action was in 
the shooting of Geo. Forbes, of Wheeling. He had been ar- 
rested and tried for grand larceny and sentenced to an impris- 
onment in the penitentiary, which term he served. He was 
not out of the prison twenty-four hours until he was among his 
old confederates in crime, and roamed the country with disrep- 
utable females, such as Beck Craig and Mollie Vanhorn, in- 
dulging in conduct so disgraceful as to be unfit for publica- 
tion. He was again indicted with Rebecca J. Craig upon the 
charge of grand larceny, breaking into the house of one George 
Alter. For this he was sentenced to five years in the peniten- 
tiary. This sentence was terminated by his death, which oc- 
curred while there. A fearful epidemic was raging in the pen- 
itentiary, to which he fell a victim. 

Thomas Jennings was so much like his brother Frank that 
there is no use to rewrite his history. 

JACKSON JENNINGS. 

There is another who was one of the most cruel and inhuman 
men that ever stood upon the soil of Wetzel county. His 
name is Jackson Jennings, commonly known as Jack Jennings. 
He was a brother to Thomas and Frank, and younger than 
either. He was the most unscrupulous member of that fam- 
ily. Like his brothers, he was ready at any time to commit a 
robbery. He was less intelligent than the others, and ecpially 
illiterate, without a redeeming trait about him. He was not 
capable of planning or carrying out any plan, as was Frank, 
without a leader, and it was necessary that he should act in a 
secondary capacity. Jack could not play the part of a hypo- 
crit, as could Frank. While Frank would never betray a 
friend, Jack would for the sake of money, or for the purpose of 
escaping punishment. He would betray his best friend. For 
female virtue he had no respect whatever. The language that 
he has used in the presence of his own sisters and mother dare 
not be repeated here. He did not know what the sacred words 



HISTORY OP "WETZEL COUNTY. 117 

of mother or sister meant. In this respect he was the opposite 
of his brother Thomas, and it is pleasant to the writer to bear 
this testimony in behalf of the latter. Jack Jennings was hos- 
tile toward his father, disliked to acknowledge his authority. 
On several occasions he threatened to take his father's life, and 
made an assault on him, and it was some time before the 
breach between the two was healed. So depraved was he 
that his father stood in fear of his personal safety, and on iwo 
occasions sought the aid and advice of the authorities, taking 
the necessary steps to have him arrested. It was at these times 
that people were beginning to think that the old man had 
nothing to do with the gang. He frequently stated that lUt 
had no control over him ; that he would pay no attention to his 
orders or requests; that he would, contrary to parental wishes, 
bring to the house disreputable persons for him to lodge and 
feed, and that when he ventured to remonstrate the son would 
seize a revolver or ritle and threaten to terminate the old man's 
existence. He complained bitterly of the conduct of his son 
and frequently remarked that he was being accused of harbo" 
ing bad men under his roof, when in fact, he was opposed to 
such proceedings, and would often warn his son not tt; rej)eat 
these offenses, but that he was only threatened with his life. 
He comi)lained that it was hard that he should have the enmity 
and ill will of his neighbors for acts done by his son. But 
enough has been said of the ill-fated family, so I will give a 
sketch of the next member of the gang. 

BENJAMIN B A ECUS. 

Benjamin Barcus was a native of Marshall county. It is 
extremely difficult to give the reader a correct and full sketch 
of him, says Steinmetz. In his life he managed to make him- 
self notorious as a criminal. In early life he was attiicted wirh 
klei)tomania, with an equine tendency. He frequently en- 
gaged in horse dealing of a ])eculiar nature. He would some- 
times be seen traveling through the country as a jieddlcr, sell- 



118 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

ing dry goods at rates that wouid havt^ l)t?en ruinous to oidi- 
nar.y retail dealers in dry goods, but nor ruinous to him, hav- 
ing the good fortune to obtain his stock of goods without giving 
any consideration. This was a slow wav to nialvo inoncv in 
Ben's eyes, and besides, it required labor io carry his pack 
from one house to another. Dealing in counterfeit national 
currency was an easy and genteel business, but where could he 
get his material? To Ben this was a great difficully. At last 
he became acquainted with Frank, and Jack Jeuuings, and 
they told him glowing tales of Wetzel, and how many families 
were there who had money in their possession, and then the 
country stores, filled with dry goods, with no person remain- 
ing in the building during the night; how easy to enter and 
carry away with them the entire stock. 8uch glowing ac- 
counts did he receive of the many golden opportunities Wetzel 
afforded such men that he concluded as soon as his time of im- 
prisonment expired, to report for duty at the Jennings head- 
quarters. 

''Upon a warm summer day in the year of 187L', a rather tall 
man, with brown hair and beard, gray eyes and an awkward 
gait, passed the residence of Nelson Garner and inquired the 
way of him to the residence of John Jennings, and received the 
desired information." That man was Benjamin Barcus, just 
discharged from prison, and then on his way to the headquar- 
ters of the Jennings gang. In less than thirty days thereafter 
the breaking into of the house of and brutal assault upon John 
Burrows, an old disabled citizen, by himself and Jack Jen- 
nings, proved how ready he was to begin his inramous work. 
Like Frank Jennings he was possessed of a rare line of human 
nature and could act the hypocrite to perfection, and was a 
power at a meeting. He could shout, sing, pray and exort to 
anything that was required in that line, except to the shedding 
of tears. He could not quite adapt himself to that. He 
served a term out in the Ohio penitentiary^ upon which he was 
convicted of a felonv. He has also served two terms out in 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. HO 

the West Virginia penitentiary and was pardoned the first 
term by Governor Boreman, who was deceived by the repre- 
sentations made to him. 

MOLLIE VANHOKN. 

Mollie Vanhorn, another member of the Jennings gang, has 
quite a history, and if published would create quite a sensa- 
tion. Her history is still imperfectly known to the people at 
large. She was a woman of remarkable beauty and more than 
an ordinary share of intelligence, and her connection and acts 
with them must be deeply regretted. She was in point of in- 
telligence and education the superior of many in the county, 
who would not tolerate her presence socially among them. 
She was capable of adapting herself to their surroundings. 
Her physical beauty was eijualled by few in Wetzel county. 
Immorality was her first offense, and, of course, the down- 
ward path speedily followed. She was a niece of John .Jen- 
nings, being an illegitimate daughter of his sister, Ortha, who 
afterward married one Nicholas Cross, a harmless and inof- 
fensive man. Most people knew her reputed father, but it 
dare not be put in print. She was married to a man by the 
name of Vanhorn, who after their marriage entered the mili- 
tary service of the United States, and during his absence it 
was reported that she was guilty of adultery. Her mother-in- 
law witnessing these proceedings, wrote to her son and told 
him of her actions, and he immediately disowned her as a wife. 
There are people now who are thought to be respectable, and 
who have large families, who have spent whole nights with 
Mollie Vanhorn. She herself declared that there were those 
who claimed to be respectable and deemed themselves aristo- 
cratic, who were nevertheless, on very intimate terms with 
her, having traveled together in different localities as man and 
wife, and afterwards endeavored to effect her capture. At 
one time fifty dollars was ottered for her arrest, but she always 
escaped the hunting parties. She was arrested with Thomas 



120 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Jennings at the time he was sent for a year to the penitentiary, 
but escaped trial. One of the things that always enabled her 
to escape trial is that she has been intimate with so many re- 
spectable men in Wetzel county, that if she once got on trial 
would disgrace them as well as their families. She kept going 
downward from time to time. She became as notorious as 
her cousins, the Jennings boys. After the breaking up of the 
Jennings gang she joined a house of ill fame at Pittsburg. 
She W'as married to one Frances Sheppard, a discharged sol- 
dier of the Union army. He was so unfortunate as to become 
involved in a fight with a German at Hannibal, O., in which 
the latter lost his life, and Sheppard was indicted and found 
guilty of manslaughter and sentenced to the Ohio penitentiary 
for ten years. He was pardoned, and notwithstanding Mollie's 
infamous actions, he went back to her and became reconciled, 
and lived with her for a long time. The last account the au- 
thor had of her whereabouts, was at Sistersville, where she ap- 
plied for a place of employment in a respectable family, in 
which she was hired, and upon being asked her name, she re- 
plied Mollie Vanhorn, She was immediately discharged. Thus 
is a life which could have been passed in happiness. ^Yith her 
beaut}' and refinement she could have been surrounded with 
everything that made life dear, and it was spent in misery and 
disgrace. Her last husband^ Frank Sheppard, was not a man 
of bad reputation. He was not a member of the Jennings 
gang, but a hard working man, whose trouble originated from 
intoxication. 

CHARLES CANNON. 

But little is kpf^vn nf thp next member of the gang, more 
than that he was known by the name of Charles Cannon, and 
was introduced to different parties by John Jennings as his 
nephew. He was convicted in one of the counties of West 
Virginia as Charles Willard, of grand larceny. He had a pe- 
culiar expression of countenance. He was readv at anv time 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 121 

to do anything that was criminal. There was not a crime 
known that he was not read}' at any time to commit. He 
claimed to have been a soldier in the federal army, and was at 
the battle of Pittsburg Landing, but was unable to give his or- 
ganization. He was lame in walking, which he claimed was 
caused by a bullet shot which he received at the battle of Shi- 
loh. He was fortunate enough at an early age to acquire a 
common school education, of which he frequently engaged in 
reading stories of noted highwaymen, such as Dick Turpin, 
Jack Sheppard and others. But little is known of his connec- 
tion with the Jennings gang, more than that he was a mem- 
ber. 

JIM PAKKER. 

There is still another member of the gang ^^ho is worthy of 
mention. That man was Jim I'arker. This man is more 
noted in his connection with the shooting of Mr. Forbes, of 
Wheeling. He was j)leasant and agreeable and one whose so- 
ciable manner would win the confidence of most anyone. 
Even in prison he was cheerful and obeyed prison orders, en- 
deavoring to yield a pleasant and implicit obedience to the dis- 
cipline of the prison. While serving his second term lie openly 
denounced the Jennings boys, and claimed that he was now 
sutlering for a crime that was committed by the Jennings 
boys, and both Frank and Tom said that he was not guilty. 
While the great revival was in progress, the officers were sur- 
prised to see such depraved as wretches as Frank Jennings and 
Luther Cremeens suddenly become converted. Parker was 
strongly urged to join in the movement by those who were 
making professions, for the i)urpose of fraud, but he bitterly 
denounced thoi>e whom he knew to be hypocrits. Among the 
number was Frank Jennings. He accused him of making 
those piofessicns for the purpose of making the officers believe 
that he was going to do better, and thus escape the {)unish- 
meui. he too oiten deserved. These actions on the j.art of Par- 



122 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

ker made him lionoiable in the minds of the otTirers and he 
gained the sympathr of those wlio came in contact with him. 
It was believed bv a number of people throughout ^Yetzel and 
adjoining counties that he was innocent of the shooting of 
Mr. Forbes, of Wheeling, and Parker said that he believed that 
Forbes was honest in making his statement that he was the 
man that shot him, and that he could not in the excitement of 
such a thing identify his attempted murderer. It is believed 
that his connection v,ilh the Jennings gang had more to do 
with securing his conviction than Mr. Forbes' testimony. 

LUTHER CREMEENS. 

The next member of the gang is Luther Cremeens. Cre- 
meens was a native of Kanawha county. He was one of the 
worst dare-devils that West Virginia has ever ])roduced. Ready 
at any time to commit a crime (no matter how bad it was) for 
the sake of money. He formed the acquaintance of the Jen- 
nings in the West Virginia penitentiary, as did most of the 
members of the Jennings. He was convicted in Kanawha 
county of manslaughter and sentenced to a term of ten years 
in the State penitentiary. His first object when reaching 
prison was to discover what opportunities were afforded for 
escape, and watched closely, but he had not long to wait. On 
the 22nd day of August, 1867, the inmates at that time being 
allowed to purchase any luxuries that they were able (o pay 
for, and on the morning of that day groups of men were scat- 
tered here and there discussing plans of escape. At their 
head were J. L. Graham, Chester Crawford and Luther Cre- 
meens, and on that morning Graham arose as he had done 
numbers of times before and started toward the gate with a 
small tin bucket. Knocking on the gate it was opened by the 
keeper. Graham then told him that he wanted some milk, on 
which the keeper took the bucket and started after it, holding 
the bucket in one hand and trying to shut the gate in the other. 
At that moment Graham suddenly swung back the gate and 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 123 

shouted: "Come on, boys, if you want your liberty!" Out 
marched twenty-seven men, who seized the arms of the guards 
and compelled them to surrender, and marched in good order 
toward the hills, with Liitlnn- Cremeens at their head. For a 
long time Cremeens remained at large and what crimes ho 
committed during that time are not known. He was again cap- 
tured and taken back to prison and succeeded in affecting his 
escape in 1808, and it was while he was in the second time that 
he became acquainted with the Jennings boys, but he was with 
them but a short time when he was again captured and taken 
back to prison. He was captured the last time by Thomas H. 
Snodgrass. 

FRAXK OODDARD. 

We will not introduce a new character, well known to the 
people, Frank Goddard. None of the Jennings gang was more 
despised than he by the ])eople of Wetzel county. He was not 
a thief or robber, but a spy, and gave the necessary evidence in 
court needed bv the defence in the trials of the Jennings bovs. 
He w^ould visit the prosecuting attorney's office and try to find 
out the mode of proceedure in tlie capturing of the Jennings 
gang, and would often denounce the Jennings boys for the 
purpose of securing something that might prove useful to 
them. There was a difficulty in proving his connection \Aith 
the Jennings gang, but it was evident that he was a member. 
It is also evident that he received money for his services, for he 
had a family to keep, who were provided for. Yet he never 
worked. 

REAi^OX OODDARD. 

We will now introduce to the reader Frank Goddard's son, 
Reason Goddard. This man did little actual service for them. 
He was too cowardly and worthless, says Steinmetz, who, if all 
reports were true, ought to know. He was one who bore dis- 
patches, and, like his father, a spy. His stealing, if any was 



124 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

done, was ou his own responsibility, and of a petty order. 
There is no use taking np the space in this book speaking of 
such a worthless character. 

JAMES BEERY. 

There is another who should not be overlooked, James Berry. 
His house was often visited by the Jennings gang, and was 
used by them as one of their headquarters. His home was the 
stopping place for disreputable women. It was the headquar- 
ters of the notorious Susan Hopkinson. She was the most in- 
famous of her sex in the country, and it is to be regretted that 
the term of woman can be applied to such a creature. She 
was so abandoned and so utterly lost to every sense of the word 
that symi>athy was beyond her reach. Among the Jennings 
gang she was the almost constant companion of Cannon, and 
the whole house of Berry was a rendezvous of a lot of women 
whose honor had gone beyond recall, and those who were in- 
timate with the members of the Jennings gang, such as Beck 
Craig and Mollie Vanhorn. The latter cannot by any ways 
be compared with Susan Hopkinson. Though Mollie could 
have been respected, it is doubtful if the former could ever 
have been. Had it not been for the aid that Berry received 
from the gang, he would have hardly been able to support his 
family. 

REBECCA J. CRAIG. 

Another disreputable female who was connected with the 
gang was Rebecca J. Craig, familiarly known as Beck Craig. 
She was as abandoned as was Susan Hopkinson, but while the 
latter escaped indictment for a felony, Beck did not, there being 
for a long time on file at the clerk's office an indictment for 
grand larceny. She was for a while the constant companion 
of Thomas Jennings, and roamed with him night and day, 
camping in the woods and preying upon peaceable and unof- 
fending citzens and committing crimes more annoying than 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 125 

erimiual. Not being; satisfied with operating on so small a 
scale they committed a crime more serious, on which both 
were indicted, and Thomas convicted and sent to the peniten- 
tiary. After his conviction he was succeeded by Frank and 
Jack Jennings, while after their conviction, Reason Goddard, 
abandoning his wife and children, would accompany her; but 
we will now leave her to give a sketch of one who was thought 
to be one of the gang. 

FREEMAN WHIPKY. 

Freeman Whipky, was a brother-in-law to John Jennings. 
His principal offense in the eyes of the people was harboring 
the gang and securing such information as they might need 
He was not recognized by the people as a good citizen. Ho 
was addicted to drinking and gambling, harboring women of ill 
fame and occasionally made a visit to a near neighbor's smoke 
house. 

HENRY GODDARD. 

There is still another member of the gang of considerable 
importance. This was Henry Goddard; whether a relative of 
Frank it is not known by the author, but it is probable that he 
was. He was a natural born thief, and a man without honor 
or conscience. He would steal the last cent from those who 
had gained it by charity. His wife was equally as bad. They 
would often steal from those who had done them a favor. 
They richly deserved the fate so nearly meted out from the 
hands of the red men. 

There is another member of the gang, who if a description 
were given, it would be a repetition of the sketch just given of 
Henry Goddard. Jerry Bondine was a neighbor of Henry 
Goddard, and between the families, in their low and petty 
crimes, it is difficult to find a difference. 

There is still another member, and the last we shall mention, 



126 HISTORY OF WEZTKL COUNTY, 

as there are a number of families through the county who were 
rnnnected with the ganjij through f ar, and probably some we 
liaA'e mentioned were connected with them with the same ex- 
cuse. It may be we have spoken too harshly of them, but we 
will now take up the sketch of the last man we shall mention, 

FRANK JA(JKSON. 

Frank Jackson, alias Burns. Tt is not probable that Burns, 
or Jackson, ever had the opportunity of participating in any of 
the serious offences committed by the gang. lie was a native 
of Virginia (not West Virginia). He was convicted of larceny 
and sent to the penitentiary, where he served his time, and was 
again sent to the same place and made his escape with Luther 
Cremeens. Like the latter, was captured by Thos. H. Shep- 
pard and James Sheppard and taken back to prison, where he 
remained until not long ago, after which it is thought that he 
concluded to seek an honest livelihood. 

CRIMES COMMITTED BY THE GANG. 

We will not dwell largely upon the crimes committed by the 
gang more than to mention them. The first crime known was 
the robbing of one Nicholas Hitch, who owned a store in the 
place knowm as Stender's. Another outrage committed by the 
gang was the shooting of one George Forbes, a cattle dealer, 
of Wheeling, in which he was wounded severely and laid for a 
long time with the wound he had received. The robbing of 
Stephen Howell was ai.other outrage committed by the gang. 
The robbing of Lemaster's store, in Tyler county, also the rob- 
bing of John Burrows, John Clark, Mr. Grossenbaucher, Mr. 
Bucherm, and others too numerous to mention. Nearly all of 
the members of the gang had served terms in the penitentiary, 
and at one time very ntar all of the gang, yet outrages were 
still committed. The people by this time were trying every 
way to find means of breaking up the gang, but could accom- 
plish nothing. At last a secret organization was formed un- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 127 

der the name of the Redmen, and these men determined to stop 
what the law so far had failed to do. Jennings was warned of 
the storm that was near by a piece published in the Labor Vin- 
dicator, and it was Jennings' own obstinate ways that short- 
ened his life. On the night of June 12th, 1S73, while lying in 
bed at his home in slumber, and little dreaming that that night 
would be his last on earth, he was awakened by a shot, doubt- 
less fired at the faithful watch dog, and on looking out beheld 
the members of the Redmen, who were more than a score in 
number, and their faces painted with red paint. He at once 
knew what it meant. He was no coward, but when he thought 
of his past life and of the widow and the youngest son, his 
limbs began to tremble, but he was going to face death like a 
man. He was ordered to surrender. This, of course, he re- 
fused to do. He was then commanded to follow them, and 
again he refused. An attempt was then made to fasten a rope 
around his neck. His wife seeing this, and knowing the mean- 
ing, handed him an axe, on which Jennings was shot by one of 
the Redmen and fell lifeless to the floor. His wife also receiv- 
ed two bullet wounds, though testifying before the coroner's 
jury that she did not believe the shots were intended for her. 
She afterward remarked that she believed they were. It is the 
opinion of the writer that they were not thus intended. The 
Jennings gang, Jack and Frank, were in the South the last 
time they were heard of, but the other members of the gang 
disappeared;, as did the Jennings boys, and not since then, with 
but one exception, has there ever been a person unlawfully 
hung or shot by a mob. 



THE GHOST OF GAMBLE'S RUN. 

This article is not based upon superstition, but it is written 
to show one of the peculiar cases that has been in the courts, 
since the formation of the county. The following sketch was 
written bj' D. W. Gamble, who was then but ten years old, but 
who remembers the incident very well_, it being revised and cor- 
rected by the author. 

John Gamble, of whom our story relates, was born in Beaver 
county, Pennsylvania, in the year of 1814. He was a house 
carpenter by trade, and helped build the second house built in 
New Cumberland. In the year of 1850, he moved on the farm 
now owned by the D. \V. Skinner heirs, near Sardis Station, on 
the West Virginia side. He often engaged in buying up 
staves, tanbark and wagon spokes, and carried them down the 
Ohio river in flat boats to Cincinnati. The same year he 
moved to this county there was a very large crop of apples, 
there being two large orchards on the farm he moved on, and 
one of the orchards contained crab apples. He went to work, 
and with hired help, made a number of barrels of cider, and on 
the afternoon of November 12th, same year, it being the thirty- 
sixth anniversary of his birth, he started from home in a hurry 
for New Martinsville, with a skitf, after barrels to put the rest 
of his cider in, but he never returned, for that very night he 
was murdered by one Leb Mercer. Now to bring about the 
facts of the deed. The writer was about ten years old, at the 
time, and well remembers the incident. John Gamble had a 
wagon, and sold it to the Whiteman Brothers, who then lived 
on what was then the Cox farm, and now the property of the 
Short Line Eailroad Company and the heirs of John K. Brown, 
and took their note for twenty dollars, and after going to New 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 129 

Martinsville, on his return lie stopped at the home of the 
Whiteman Brothers, where he asked the boys if they wanted 
to cash the note, on which they remarked that they did not. 
He put it back in his pocket. John Gamble also dealt in cat- 
tle, and some time previous to this occasion, had purchased a 
calf from Mercer, on which he paid him all but two dollars. 
On meeting him at the home of the Whiteman Brothers, Mer- 
cer asked him for the niouey^ upon which Gamble drew from 
his pocket a live dollar bill, and asked him if he had change for 
that, and Mercer replied that he had not. Mercer then asked 
him if that was all he had, and he said no. That he had some- 
thing near two hundred dollars. It was now beginning to get 
dark, and Gamble started for home, and told Mercer to come to 
his house in a few days and he would pay him. Mercer then 
stood watching him, and after Gamble had got in his skiff and 
pushed it out into the river, Mercer started toward him. That 
night he came home about two o'clock, wet and muddy. The 
evidence was sorely against him, though he presented the note 
that the Whiteman brothers had given to Gamble for pajnuent. 
The thing now laid over for a year, and in the fall of 1851 there 
was a cornhusking near Point Pleasant ridge, and a number of 
people from New Martinsville attended. Among them was 
one John Hindman. On their return home they decided to all 
go different routes and see who got there first. Hindman 
took over the hill, coming over what is now known as Gamble's 
run (so named from Gamble), and as he was walking along a 
path which was then on the river bank, he saw the form of a 
man, who remarked: "I am John Gamble; Leb Mercer killed 
me. Take him up and have justice done," and suddenly disap- 
peared from view. Hindman being very badly scared, walked 
rapidly toward town, and the next morning told what he had 
seen. It was not believed by many people. Though he had 
never seen Gamble, he described his walk, clothes, etc. Mer- 
cer was arrested for murder in the first degree, which under 
the old law meant death or freedom, and he was released on the 



130 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

grounds that ghost evidence would not go in court. It was be- 
lieved by many that he was guilty of the crime, and it is said 
that his lawyer had a very hard time to keep him from con- 
fessing the crime. He is now living back of St. Marys, W. Va., 
where it is said he acts very strangely, often muttering to him- 
self. 




(35 
00 



X 
en 

< 



O 



> 
Z 

< 



Z 

O 



pj 



w 

(A 

Q 

a: 

5 



A HISTORY OF NEW MARTINSVILLE. 



Edward Doolin, Its First Settler, Killed by the Indians on the Present 

Site of the Town— Some Interesting Facts Not Generally Known 

by the Present Generation. 

About the year 1780, Edward Doolin patented and made en- 
try upon 800 acres of (.Jliio river hill and bottom land, which 
included in its boundaries the present site of the town of New 
Martinsvjjie. The pi'^te of land was a little more than n mile 
square, and lay in the angle formed by Fishing creek and the 
Ohio river. He cleared some land and built a small cabin near 
where now stands the Witten dwelling, selecting that spot on 
account of its nearness to a spring, it being the source of little 
Doolin, which runs through town. He farmed and improved 
on his land until 1784. 

In September of that year a small band of Indians came 
down the river from the village of Wheeling, where they had 
been driven oft" by Colonel Zane, attacked his home unawaies, 
and killed him. His wife and one child escaped. She retained 
ownership of the property for a time, selling it piece by piece. 

The portion upon which the town is situated, was purchased 
by Presly Martin, the man for whom New Martinsville was 
named. Mr. Martin came here in 1811. He built a part of 
what is now the Point House, and planted an orchard of five 
acres between Washington street and the creek; a few trees 
are yet standing. Five years later he was followed by Friend 
Cox, who took up a farm and erected a house below the creek, 



132 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

opposite the Point House. This house has recently burned 
down. 

From this time until 1S38 the settlement grew slowly. On 
March 28th of that year an act establishing the town of "Mar- 
tinsville," in the county of Tyler, was passed by the Assembly 
of Virginia, and in the same act Henry McCabe, Samuel Mc- 
Eldowney, Lewis Williams, John Buchanon and Benjamin F. 
Martin were appointed trustees to administer the affairs of the 
town. The surveying and platting was done by Lewis Wil- 
liams and three others. It extended from one lot below^ Wash- 
ington street to North street, and from Union street to the 
river. The streets included in these boundaries remain the 
same now as then, except Water street. This street was lo- 
cated on the river bank and was the widest and principal street 
in town, being 80 feet wide. It is evident that it was the pur- 
pose of the founders of this town to have a broad street on the 
river front, where thev could have the benefit of the cool 
breezes from the west, and an open view of the river. I im- 
agine that trees had been left along the bank for the purpose 
of shade, and that the residents had placed benches under 
there, where the gentry were accustomed to loaf and discuss 
the issues of the day. I am informed that in 1842 there were 
twelve houses in town. 

An incident occurred in 1845 that must have aroused dreams 
of wealth. A man presented himself to the community and 
remained awhile without any apparent means of support. 
Having no occupation, he was arrested under the vagrancy 
law, and to obtain his liberty was compelled to state his busi- 
ness to the town officers. Thereupon he showed papers from 
the French Government. By this it was ascertained that he 
was an accredited agent of that government sent to this com- 
munity to search for |87,000.00 supposed to have been buried 
below the creek during the French and Indian war. It is 
thought that he did not find the money. Shortly after this, 
another incident occurred in the same line. A Mr. Watkins 




THE EAKIN HOUSE, 

Better Known as the old Wetzel House, 

Justus Eakin, Proprietor. 




BRAST HOUSE, 

At New Martinsville, 
Mike, Amos and Jacob Brast, Props. 



HISTOKY OF YsETZKL COUNTY. 133 

of Monongalia county sold his farm there for 1,000 silver dol- 
lars, and eame to this settlement; the silver, which weighed 
over GO pounds, was too heav}' to carry about his person, so he 
set aside .'^40.00 for his immediate use, and buried the remain- 
dor at the foot of a paw paw bush, 00 steps from the river 
bank, midway between the mouth of the creek and a point op- 
posite Texas run; when he returned for his money, it could not 
be found. 

An act prescribing- the mode of electing trustees of New Mar- 
Martinsville in the county of Wetzel, and investing them with, 
certain corporate powers was passed March 13th, 1848, by the 
Assembly of Virginia. 

These trustees were elected annually by the people. They 
chose out of their own number to preside at their meetings. 
The subordinate officers were: Commissioner of Kevenue, Ser- 
geant or Town Collector and Police. 

At this time also, the town was extended to the creek, and 
the McCIure addition on High street taken in. The new part 
of the town was surveyed and marked out by Thomas Tucker, 
who died several years ago. 

Observe that the town was called "Martinsville in Tyler 
county." XoAv il is called, '-Xt-w ^'.lartinsville in Wetzel 
county," Wetzel having been carved out of the North end of 
Tyler county in 184G. 

The first County Court of Wetzel county was held April Gth, 
184G. The justices present were Sampson Thistle, Friend Cox. 
William Little and Ebenezer Payne. Presley Martin was 
elected first Clerk, and James Snodgrass first Prosecuting At- 
torney. 

During the last decade, quite a number of well known names 
of the })ast and present moved to the burg: Houblers, the Vil- 
lers, the Biers, the Wises, the Halls, Snodgrasses, the Pottses. 
the Livelys, the Tuckers, the Coulters, the Moores, the Pitchers 
and the A'ances. 

As the town was increasing in size and business, some of the 



134 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

more active spirits desired to make a better connection with 
the outside world, and accordingly, on the 21st day of Febru- 
ary, 1853, the Mannington and New Martinsville railroad was 
incorporated. The Directors were: Jas. G. West, Friend Cox, 
Presley Martin, Joseph C. Moore, Robert Cox, Samuel McEl- 
downey, George W. Bier, Joseph Vance, Edmund Moore, David 
Cunningham, William P. Snodgrass, Elias Blackshire and 
John Michael. If this railroad had been built, New Martins- 
ville would probably be now where Wheeling is, or at least 
much better off than she is. 

The brick church that stood on Main street was built by the 
Methodists in 1854. About the same time an Episcopal church 
was built near this. It was sold and used for a school under 
the name of the New Martinsville Academy. When the Free 
School System was adopted bj' the State the building was used 
for a public school. It was finally sold to Standiford Bros., 
who have erected a three story building on the old site. 

The town was divided on the Civil War question, and during 
that time many serious disturbances occurred and some of 
them were amusing. There was one incident that caused con- 
sternation in the minds of many. A United States flag was 
hung across Washington street for the i)urpose of proving the 
loyalty of the citizens, by compelling them to walk under it. 
One night was given to think over it, and all who would refuse 
would do so at the peril of their lives. It was seen on the 
morning of the fateful day, that the flag had disappeared, hav- 
ing been stolen during the night. The person who took it has 
kept his secret. 

After the war, the town made very little progress until 1871. 
February 13th of that year, the Charter was amended and re- 
enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia. From this time 
onward, the town grew and improved more rapidly. 

The Pittsburgh Stave Company came in 1873, and gave em- 
ployment to 125 men. 

In 1801 the Wetzel Countv Fair Association was organized 




BIRDSEYE VIEW OF NEW MARTINSVILLE, 
From the Ohio Side in 1894. 




1 



NEW YORK 

: LI BR' 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 135 

at that place and leased the ground here in the town where the 
Fair was and is now held. The next year Burlington sprang 
up, Eseec, John and Thomas Burlingame being the settlers. 
Springertown started up five years later. The school house was 
built in 1880. In 1882 a church boom struck the town, and the 
M. E. church South, P. E., Baptist, and Catholic churches were 
erected. The Ohio River Railroad was built in 1883., In 1884 
a flood came and was very destructive. The Clark and Mar- 
tin's additions came later. The latest additions are Martin 
Burlingame, Clark, Stender and McEldowney. A boom struck 
the town in the last five years, on which the Short Line Rail- 
road was built and the contracts for the erection of a new 
Court House and the new M. E. church let. The town has 
been booming for the past five years, and since that time a 
great many business houses and manufactories and fine resi- 
dences have been built. The town has six churches, the two 
M. E. churches, the Catholic, Christian, Presbyterian and Epis- 
copal; two school houses, one magnificent building which is 
being built by Contractor Burhart, six ladies' and gents' 
furnishing goods and shoe houses. They are Economy, Clar- 
ence Buhlingame, the Baltimore bargain house, Duerr Bros., 
John F. Loehr and J. M. Bender, and one in Brooklyn, The 
town has eight dry goods and notion stores, owned by Jose- 
phus Clark, Welch and Koontz, Mont Francis, Williams and 
Ankrom, X. Baudi, Levi Oblinger, Jacob Blair, Mont Burrows, 
Mr. Clark & Oblinger also have a hardware department to 
their store. Mr. Friend Wells and Bridgemen & Sons also 
have a hardware store. Seven groceries, Neff Bros, the Up-to- 
Date grocery, Geo. Rankin, who also keeps a full line of gro- 
ceries and green goods. Mrs. Newton, who also deals in ice 
cream. Gorbey Bros., who keep a full line of groceries. Ja- 
cob Dennis, who also has a bakery, Mrs. G. Snodgrass and 
Smittle and Dunn. Three tailor shops owned by Geo. Grail, 
Duerr Bros, and D. C. Weatherhead. There are three druf 
stores, owned by R. T. Richardson, Dr. P. F. Lowther and P. D. 



136 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Leap; one laundry, owned by R. Dayton; two bakeries, owned 
by Irven Ober and Jacob Dennis; three millinery stores, owned 
by Mrs. S. M. Snodgrass, L. Pemberton, H. Hatliaway, and four 
barber shops owned by Jacob Koontz, M. L. Kendal, Geo. 
Houdenshilt and Soland and Van Camp. Two jewelry stores, 
owned by Duerr Bros, and C. M. Powers. One harness shop 
owned by Dave Mangold; one tin shop owned by M. B. Potts 
and Mr. Owens; two plumber shops owned by Dewey Potts 
and M. F. Powers; two flour mills owned by Stender & Stamm, 
and John Nusum; four hotels^ the Eakin, Brast, Elk and Wells; 
three restaurants, owned by Thompson, Patsey Finerty and 
Martin F. Williamson. The town is supplied with gas and 
water. Mack Snodgrass tends to the pump station. Wm. 
Fitch is superintendent of the gas office. There are two ice 
plants, one owned by the citizens of the town and the other by 
Schmulbach Brewing Company, of Wheeling. The glass house 
is another large concern, owned chiefly by the citizens. The 
wholesale grocery is a large business house, situated on Maple 
avenue. Robert Morvis is manager. The town has two stor- 
age houses, owned by the Reymann and Schmulbach Brewing 
Companies, of Wheeling; two large livery barns, owned by A. 
C. Ruby and J. H. Boweu; three blacksmith shops, owned by 
Frank McEldowney, Glen Barrick and Geo. Harmau. The 
town has six doctors, Drs. Schmied, Boone, Browse, Downing, 
Lowther and Grim. Sixteen lawyers, J. W. and L. V. Mclntire, 
Bruice, Wm. McG. and Charles Hall, P. D. and Thomas Morris, 
S. B. McEldowney, Thos. H. Cornet, J. W. Newman, Mr. Mor- 
ris, W. T. Sidel, T. P. Jacobs, E. B. Snodgrass, E. L. Robinson, 
R. E. L. Snodgrass, Thos. Mills, Bud Snodgrass and Frank 
Wells Clark. The present officers of the town are: Mayor, G. C. 
Westerman; Recorder, Jas. Bishop; Assessor, L. V. Mclntire; 
Tax Collector, A. B. Morrison; Street Commissioner, vacant; 
Chief of Police, Ed. Luikhart. The councilmen for the First, 
Second and Third wards are Irven Ober, Jacob Koontz, A. C. 
Ruby, Wm. Gulp, W. R. Rine and John Stender. Amono- the 





EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
New Martinsville. 



\ ..,„. 




y/ 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 137 

prosperous farmers around the town are John Stender, John 
G. McEldowue.v, Duerr Brothers, Owen and John Witten, Ben 
Bridgeman, Josephus Clark, Evan Williams, John Cochran, 
Isaac Black, John Stephens, Mr. Linager, Brown Brothers, 
Mr. Bowman, Samuel Martin, Felix Abersold, Cris Anthony, 
Gaberial Leap and Geo. Walker. 



MORGANTOWN OR PORTER FALLS. 

It was settled in 1818 by Morgan Morgan, better known as 
Paddy Mod; it was to distinguish liim from his cousin by the 
same name who went by the name of Spy Mod. The town is sit- 
uated in Green district, ten miles east of the county seat, on 
Big Fishing Creek, and the Short Line Railroad. It has about 
fifty inhabitants. The places of business in the town are: one 
store owned by Elsworth Sneider; one blacksmith shop, owned 
by George Midcap; and one saw mill owned by Morgan Bros., 
sons of Elisha Morgan. Morgan Morgan is postmaster. 
Among the prosperous farmers amound the town are Morgan 
Morgan, Mrs. Jerry Long, Morgan Brothers, Lewis Kocher, 
Samuel Headlee, Z. Cochran, Aaron Morgan, William and 
Leonard Morgan. 




OHIO RIVER RAILROAD DEPOT, 

New Martinsville. 



MINNIE. 

Was settled in 1815 by Aaron Morgan, cousin of the noted 
Indian scout, Levi Morgan, and brother of Paddy Mod, the first 
settler in Porter's Falls. It is situated in Green district, six 
miles east of New Martinsville, the county seat, on the short 
line railroad and Big Fishing creek. The only place of busi- 
ness is a store owned by Reuben Yoho, who is also postmaster. 
Among the prosperous farmers around the postofiflce are Ru- 
ben Yoho, Joe Wells, S. L. Morgan, Mrs. Aaron Clepstein, 
Friend Wells, Richard Morgan, Jacob Sliamp, John Shainp, 
Walter and Fred Shamp. 



MONEY POSTOFFICE. 

Is a post office situated on a small luu by the same name, 
which enters into Big Fishing creek one mile west of Reader. 
It took its name from Money Bates, who located the land near 
the stream at an early date. Part of the survey is now owned 
by Ed. Winning, Charles Kiger, Ruben Price, Fred Grocen- 
baucher, John King, Wm. Mayhall, Geo. Brown, Isaac Smith, 
Albert Koch, Thomas McCalaster, John Stealey, James 
Windland, Charles Hudson, Wm. Gadd, Rosella Fiece, Wilson 
Furbee, Jason Furbee, John and James Furbee, Geo. Worth, 
J. L. Higgins, Elisha Barker, Geo. Garrett, R. Wright, Wm. 
Workman, Isaac Wright, John, David and Wm. Lancaster, N. 
Strait, Susan Blackbridge, Dr. John Garrett, Jake Haught, 
Alex, Strait, Dr. Parks, Andrew McHenry, Milton, Hiram and 
George Strait, James Kerby, Jackson Strait, Jenkins Miller, 
William, Ulesses and Mack Miller. 



^i, \ 



\ 






OLD M. E. CHURCH.— NORTH. 



LOT. 

Is a town situated twenty-three miles east of the county 
seat. It has a population of about 340, and is rapidly growing, 
having the prospect of making one of the best towns along thc» 
Short Line Railroad. It was settled in the year of 1805 by 
James Hajs, who came to that place and erected a cabin on 
the ground now owned by his grandson, G. T. Anderson. Other 
early settlers around the town were Jasper Wyatt, James Wi- 
ley, Alexander Lantz, H. King, Abraham lee, and Aiden Bales. 
The town is favored with one of the best hotels along the 
Short Line Railroad between New Martinsville and Clarksburg. 
It is owned by W. A. Dye. There is one restaurant, owned by 
Mr. West; one drug store, owned by Dr's. McGriven and Clel- 
lan; three dry goods and notions stores, owned by Smith & 
Fitcher; L. E. Lantz and Lee Schrachfleld; one confectionery 
store, owned by Mr. Harness; one bakery owned by Wm. Lau- 
denslyn; one meat market, H. Taylor, proprietor; one black- 
smith shop, owned by The. Y. Earrick; and one planing mill, 
owned by Curby & Mansfield. It has one church and one 
schoolhouse. Among the prosperous farmers around the town 
are Levi, John, Amos and Polk Lowe, Sam. Lantz, Alex Bluty, 
J. M. Anderson, Catherine Satterfield, Mary Cunningham, 
Thomas Gorby, J. R. Davis, Milton Anderson, J. M. Loveall, 
John Wiley, A. Wyatt, H. H. King, J. Markindle, Wm. Batson, 
Y. T. Frances, M. Wiley, Ed. Cain, Wm. Henthorn, Ezra Hays, 
Geo. Hickmon, Geo. Wetzel, L. and D. Mclntire Elizabeth Mor- 
gan, Lot King and William Watson. 



KODOL. 

Is a postofiSce situated in Wetzel coiintv, lately organ- 
ized. It was settled in the year 1854 by Silas J. Park, who 
came to that place and erected a house near the present 
site of the town of Kodol. It has three churches^, Bap- 
tist, Methodist and Christian; and one school house. The 
postoffice was not organized until October, 1900, by J. J. Craw- 
ford, bodnsman and postmaster, and Stephen Park and 1. N. 
Crawford. The town has two attorneys, F. Keller and E. Mor- 
ris, and two doctors, Lemley and Cox. It has one store. The 
prosperous farmers around the town are Wm. Leaganden, I. C. 
Brookover, S. C. and S. W. Park and I. N. Crawford. 




i I 




MAGNOLIA HIGH SCHOOL, OLD BUILDING. 



SILVER HILL. 

Is a village situated in Center district, It was settled in the 
year of 1825, by James A. Wood. The town has two churches, 
Christian and Methodist; one school house, two stores, owned 
by Rulong & Son, and C. E. Yeater; one blacksmith shop, 
owned by Geho & Harlan ; one hotel, proprietor, W. J. Derrow. 
Among the prosperous farmers around the town are Wm, Car- 
ney, Solomon Carney, C. L. Yoho and S. C. Lowe. 
L. Yoho and S. C. Lowe. 



HAZEL 

Is a postoflfice in Grant district, on Crow's run, twenty 
miles east of the county seat, and five miles south of Keader. 
Charles Fluharty is postmaster. The postoffice has one slore 
and grist mill, both owned by Aaron Bassett. Among the 
prosperous farmers around the postoffice are Aaron Basset, 
James Martin, Lot Martin, Pleasance Myres, William Wright, 
Abraham Hiley, Charles Hiley, Friend Tracey, John Strait, 
Chas. Strait, E. M. Strait, Foster Higgins and Isaac Pitman. 



j;y^r^;T^"x7r' 





';^P 






F. W. PARSONS, 
County Superintendent of Schools. 



PINEY FORK. 

Is neither a village nor a postofflce, but a stopping place for 
a great many strangers. It is situated in Green district, on 
the Short Line Railroad, and twelve miles east of the county 
seat. It has one store and a hotel, both owned by Frank 
Stender. 



MAUD. 

Is a postoffice situated in Proctor district, ten miles 
from the county seat. It was settled in the year of 1801 by 
Gabrdel Leap, who came there and erected a cabin on the pro- 
perty now owned by Geo. W. Cook. The postoffice has one 
school house, one churchy United Brethren, with W. W. Bur- 
gess as pastor; one lawyer, A. T. Morris. It has two stores, 
owned by F. P. Cook, who is also postmaster, and F. R. Suter. 
M .W. Burgess owns a sawmill. Joseph Burgess also owns a 
store and a blacksmith shop, Alexander Dulaney owns a gun- 
smith. Among the prosperous farmers around the postoffice 
are J. A. Kocher, A. T. Morris, J. C. Briggs, M. J. and J. I. 
Cook, I. N. Smith, J. M. Daran, L. Schrader, G. W. Brown and 
A. E. Koch. 



CHILDS. 

Is a postoffiee situated in Green District, ten miles from the 
county seat, and three miles from the Short Line Kailroad. It 
has one school house, and one M. E. church, the latter being sit- 
uated on Laurel Point near the postoffiee. 

COBURN. 

Is a postoffiice situated in Grant district. There is no 
town nor village there more than a postoffiee. U. B. Ice is 
postmaster. 



DEAN. 

Is a postoffice situated ten miles from the county seat in 
Green district. It was settled in the year of 1S31 by John 
Strasinder and Thomas Bartlett, who came to that i^lace and 
erected a cabin near the present site of the John Clark pro- 
perty. The town has one Christian church, one school house 
and one store. The store is owned by John Culiinan. Patrick 
Clark is the postmaster. Among the prosperous farmers 
around the town are J. J. Morris, T. P. Horner, Patrick Clark, 
B. B. Postlethwait, J. A. Cumberledge, Wm. Sapp, Alex. Sapp, 
Isaac Kirkpatrick, Morgan Wright and A. T. Cain. 




JOHN DEBOLT, 
Commissioner of the County Court. 



!HE- ^ 



OX and Ti- 



■^' 




HON. AARON MORGAN, 
Present Member of Legislature from Wetzel County. 



HUNDRED. 

Is a town situated on the B. and O. R. R. and Fish creek, and 
has a population of 300. The first settlement was made by 
Old Hundred (see Henry Church) who patented the land on and 
around the town in 1819. The town has one church and one 
school house; four dry goods and notion stores, owned by D 
Franklin & Sons, who also have a millinery department, Ar 
nold & Allen, and A. D. Ayres, Martin Windle, Mrs. L. D. Rob 
erts and Mr. Wiley; one millinery store, owned by Mrs. A. E 
Lahew; two drug stores, owned by John McComas and Dr 
Kerns; one barber shop, owned by W. W. Carpenter; one 
blacksmith shop, owned by F. Shultz ;and one hotel. Commer- 
cial house, W. H. Lee, proprietor. The town is furnished with 
gas. F. B. Hamilton now owns a large potrion of the Church 
patent. The first store in Hundred was opened by F. M. Kel- 
lar in 1886, and associated wiwth him was W. E. Hamilton. 
This store was located opposite the present postofiice, and is 
now under the management of D. Franklin & Sons. In 1894 
T. B. Hamilton had a series of lot sales, in which a number 
were sold, and added a great deal to the prosperity of the 
town. 



PADEN'S VALLEY. 

Paden's Valley was settled in the year of 1790, by Obadiah 
Paden. He was among the first settlers of the Ohio Valley. 
He patented about two thousand acres of land, which at pre- 
sent bear his name. The extension of the Valley out in the 
country is known as Paden's Fork. The island in the Ohio 
river, lying in front of the Valley, containing about one hun- 
dred acres of land, is known as Paden's Island. He was of 
Dutch descent, and was originally from New York, later set- 
tling on the Susquehanna river, and was driven from there to 
the Valley. He erected a log house on a bank overlooking the 
beautiful Ohio, and taking up his large tract of land, he went 
to work with energy and determination, the chief characteris- 
tics of the old Dutch settlers. He was the father of about 
twelve children, the four sons chiefly inheriting the land of 
their father, and are knoAvn as Jesse, James, Joseph, and Sam- 
uel, who remain, and one daughter lies buried in the Paden 
cemetery. The remains of Obadiah Paden and his wife are 
both buried in the Paden cemetery and their grave is marked 
by a rough sandstone, the inscription being almost erased by 
time. There are two Indian mounds in the valley, one in the 
lower part, on the old Richard Ankrom farm. Many relics 
have been taken from these mounds. The town has one store, 
owned by Frank Boston. Annie Stephens is postmistress. 
Among the prosperous farmers around the town are Richard 
Ankrom, Mrs. Henry Ankrom. E. A. Pollack, James Stephens, 
J. N. Van Camp, A. J. Van Camp, L. Cook, Geo. Kiefer, Mr. 
Farmer, Ceo. Smith and I'riah Kimble. 







■■'■'^''yj'^ w ^ 



CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 

New Martinsville 




/ '■-\1''J YORK 



I 1 p, -- A P V 



! , LBIiOX a 

Foi;p • 



y 



ARCHER'S FORK. 

It was named from Archibald Woods, who patented a sur- 
vey of land, which consisted of 0,000 acres in the year of 1790. 
The first permanent settler was William Ice, who took up 
about one hundred acres of land and erected a long cabin on it 
in the year of 1815, (the land is now owned by Emilia Shrew) 
and later his son, Abraham Ice, took up a tract of land ^\hich 
consisted of one hundred and twenty acres, where the present 
towns of Arches is now situated, and the farm :i new owned 
by his grandson, J. H. Dawson. Near the town the first oil 
well that was drilled in the county was located, being the well 
known as the Robinson No. 2, and was drilled by David Mc- 
Cain for the South I'enn Oil Co., in 1893, and is still producing 
oil. The largest well in the county is also situated there, 
known as the Kobinson No. 33. The town has two school 
houses, two churches (Methodist and Christian), and one store 
owned by Carlin Brothers. Among the prosperous farmers 
around the town are L. G. Robinson, J. H. Dawson, Carlin 
Brothers, William Springer^ Isaac Shreves, and J. A. Edgel. 
The town is situated on the Short Line Railroad. 

Note — The author is indebted to William Carlin for infor- 
mation concerning the earlv settlement of Arches. 



PINE GROVE. 

Is a town situated on Big Fishing creelc and the Short Line 
Railroad. It has a population of about 500. The first set- 
tlement was made by Morgan Morgan (Spy Mod), who came to 
that place about the year of 1804, and erected a cabin on the 
present site of the livery stable, owned by Hennen. He also 
erected a grist mill near the saw and flour mill of Joliffe Bros, 
Other early settlers about Pine Grove were James Jolifl'e, 
Uriah Morgan and Mr. Wilson. The town took its name from 
a beautiful grove that at one time stood near the town; it has 
one school house, one church (Baptist), one clothing store, 
owned by Gooldfoos Brothers, one dry goods store, owned by 
J. ^^^ Brookfield; one meat market, owned by W. J. AVharton 
& Sons; one barber shop, owned by Frank Myers; two black- 
smith shops, owned by Cook Brothers, and Halbert & Co.; one 
hardware store, owned by Thomas Bucher; one general store, 
owned by \'\'illiam Long; one harness shop, owned by Dave 
Renner; two bakerys, owned by J. G. Wallace and ]Meck Pi- 
azzro; three grocery stores, owned by J. Brookfield, McQuain 
and Stone Brothers; three hotels, owned by Roome & Garvey, 
Mrs. Garvey and Mrs. Burley. The place has three doctors, 
Dr/s Stone, Depew and McCluskey. 



READER. 

Reader is a town situated fifteen miles east of the county 
seat. It has a population of about one hundred. The first 
settlement was made in the year of 1788, by James Troy, who 
erected a cabin on what is now known as the negro quarters. 
He afterward sold his title to Benjamin Reader tor a ten gal- 
lon copper kettle and a bay mare. The title consisted of six 
hundred acres. He afterwards sold his title to Morgan Mor- 
gan (Spy Mod) for a flint lock gun, and erected a cabin on what 
is known as the negro quarters, which got its name from him. 
He had negro slaves and had them stay on the place while he 
was living at what is now Pine Grove. The cabin was erected 
in 1804 and stood until 1896, when John Lantz, who owned the 
property, had it taken down. Several other men came to that 
neighborhood; among them were Jasper Strait, who moved in 
the same house with Morgan Morgan; William Snodgrass, 
Benjamin Hays, Thomas Bowl and James Booth, and eTacob 
Swisher. The pioneer school teacher of that neighborhood 
was Caleb Headlee, who taught in a six by ten log house. 
Morgan Morgan was lawed from the land by Jeremiah Wil- 
liams, who was surveyor at the time, who sold it to Alexander 
Lantz, who transferred the land to John, the present owner. 
The land west of the negro quarters was patented by Zachwell 
Cochran in 1792. It consisted of 500 acres of the best farming 
land in the county and he lived upon this land until 1814, when 
he died, and the land became the property of his son, James 
Cochran, who died in 1898. When the land became the pro- 
perty of his heirs, who consisted of Jacob, A. S., Zachwell, Oli- 
ver, J. C, B. F., and Irvin Cochran, Druzela Hart, Margaret 



154 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Cook, Emiline Millburn and Frances T. Long. John Millbuin 
patented 200 acres south of the Cochran patent, lying on the 
waters of Brush run, in 1800. The land is now owned by W. 
M. Milburn and Martha Britton, who are living in the cabin 
that he erected in 1800. Among the prosperous farmers 
around Reader are Joseph Fair^, George Sturge, Z. J. Morgan, 
John Springer, Stephen Brown, Samuel Springer, Oliver Coch- 
ran, Wm. Burgess, Rev. J. W. Gadd, W. A. Headlee, H. D. 
King, Benjamin Fox. J. D. Wayne, Wm. Kennedy, Wm. Kirk- 
man, Louis Connely, Solomon Workman, Wm. and John Con- 
nely, C. Kidder, John McCalaster, N. Harris, James Harris, J. 
Springer, Chas. McCalaster, J. and R. Crosgrj^, Sam'l Harrison, 
Sam Leap, Foster Clark, also hotel man and merchant, James 
Cochran, Presley Q. Martin and Harvey King. 



SMITHFIELD. 

Is a town situated thirty-one miles east of New Martinsville. 
It has a population of about 1,200. The first settlement was 
made by Aiden Bales in the year of 179(5. It has three ho- 
tels, Brown Front, J. A. Davis, proprietor; the Shuman, M. D. 
Shunian, proprietor; and the Wilson, D. W. Wilson, proprietor. 
It has four dry goods and notion stores, owned by D. Carini- 
chael, Howard and Calvert^ L. G. Kobinson, and W. A. Smith; 
one confectionery and news stand owned by T. J. Connely, and 
one barber shop, owned by Morris Sheon; the South Penn Oil 
Company has an office here; one blacksmith shop, owned by 
Geo. Beechman, and one meat market, owned by B. C. Bug- 
gies. Among the prosperous farmers around the town are A. 
J. Slider, James Gump, F. C. Hays, H. S. Hays, L. Johnson, 
Henry Johnson, O. B. Mclntire, C. A. Headlee, William Bar- 
ker, Sr., William Barker, Jr., Charles Gilbert, J. J. Jackson^ 
William Brewer, L. F. Cain, I. D. Morgan, Jas. A. Edgel, C. W. 
Ezra, and Grant Edgel, E. E. Ice, T. V. Ice, Dave Shuman, 
Henry and Levi Shuman, P. Minor, W. A. Wade, James A. 
Wade, H. J. Miller, C. S. Lowe, J. W., J. T., and 11. Headlee, 
Cus and ^^'illianl ^\\yatt, Mrs. W. 1'. Morris, Louis and L. Mor- 
ris, Morris L. Wyatt, Kichard, J. M., and Johnson Anderson, 
I. Ice, F. I*rice, Oliver Bates, Curtis and Dawson Lemastera, 
L. G. Kobinson, H. L. Smith, Geo. Hannan, Marion Shrieves, 
John and J. L. Welch, Jasper, George and Jackson Shrieves, 
David Ice, Albert, Sam and Dulin Edgel L. E. and S. R. Cain, 
William Taylor, James Lively, John Leach, John Francis, 
John Showalter, William Carlin, Nelson Myres, John and 
Wash Carroll. 



BURTON. 

Burton is a town situated twenty-five miles east of New Mar- 
tinsville, the county seat; it is situa'ted on Fish creek and the B. 
& O. R. R. It has a population of about 250. It was settled by 
George Bartrug', whose father came to what is now known as 
Cottontown in the year of 1810, and erected a cabin on the land 
now owned by his heirs, Geo. Bartrug. After living with his 
parents for a short time, in 1812 erected a cabii. on the site of 
the B. & O. R. R. The name of Burton should have been Bar- 
trug, and it is presumed that when the name of what was then 
a landing place was given to the railroad company, that they 
took the name to be Burton. Peter Bartrug's patent consist- 
ed of 250 acres, which took in both Burton and Cottontown. 
Other settlements were made around Burton, of whom were 
Daniel Bartrug^ brother of George, Peter Colwell and John 
Soles. Thomas Dawson was also a very early settler. 

It has two dry goods and notion stores, of whom are Hennen 
& White, W. W. Robinson and John A. Hoge; one millinery 
store, Mrs. Dr. Lemley, proprietor; one blacksmith shop, W. 
S. Barrick, proprietor; one barber shop, owned by John Mal- 
lery; one flour mill, owned by John A. Hoge; one livery barn, 
owned by T. V. Ross; it has two hotels, the Central, owned by 
T. V. Ross, the Commercial, owned by Mrs. A. Homer. E. E. 
Cunningham is postmaster. 




M. E. CHURCH.— SOUTH. 



VINCEN. 

Was settled in the year of 1865 by Levi Merrett, who is still 
living on a part of the land where he made the settlement. The 
place has one store, owned by Andrew Rice. Among the pros- 
perous farmers around the town are A. J. Rice, David Founds, 
Vincent, Amos and Levi Merett, J. T. Blair, Thomas Burgess, 
Ned Carroll, Henry Egan, E. W. Lemasters^ J. S. Cross. L J. 
Workman is the postmaster. 



PROCTOR. 

Is a town situated on the Ohio river and the Ohio River Rail- 
road. It was settled at an early date by Jacob Moore, a car- 
penter and cabinet maker, who came to that place and erected 
a cabin near the present site of the steamboat landing place. 
The town, like the district, was named from a man by the 
name of Proctor, who was the first to own the land where Proc- 
tor now stands. The town has two churches, Methodist and 
Christian; one school house^ three dry goods and notion stores, 
owned by Todd & Whipkey, Monroe and Miller, and J. A. Dop- 
ier; one hotel owned by Fleming Brothers; one barber shop, 
owned by John Young; one blacksmith shop, owned by Charles 
Oblinger, who also owns a hardware store; one harness shop, 
owned by K. Gates, two livery and feed stables, owned by Jas. 
Fitzsimmons and A. C. Ruby; one machine shop, owned by 
William Lee, and one flour mill, owned by Watson Brothers. 
J. F. Watson is postmaster. The town has one doctor, Dr. 
Haught. Among the prosperous farmers around the town are 
John Price, W. F. Moore, John Newman, William Lowrey, A. 
H. Haught, Friend Parsons, Israel Parsons, John Moore, Jacob 
Yoho, M. and A. J. Moore. 



EDUCATION OF WETZEL COUNTY, OF THE 
PIONEERS AND THE PRESENT DAY. 

The childien of the pioneers had very few educational ad- 
vantages. The settlers were so poor that they could scarcely 
afford the small tuition. As soon as the children w^ere able to 
travel the long distance usually required they were able to as- 
sist the father in clearing the land or the mother in her arduous 
tasks. Occasionally an itinerant schoolmaster found his way 
into a neighborhood, and for a few dollars he was engaged to 
instruct the youths for a period of two or three months. If an 
unoccupied dwelling house could be secured, it was furnished 
with a few long benches, made by splitting a small sapling 
and after smoothing one side slightly, holes were bored in the 
ends and pins inserted. Boards were placed on pins in the 
walls for writing desks. A three legged stool or block of wood 
was prepared for the teacher. The room was heated by a large 
fireplace, usually occupying the greater part of one end of the 
house. 

The bo3s cut and carried the wood during the noon hour. 
Quite frequently the boys who attended these schools had to 
walk a distance of five miles and before starting for school in 
the morning two or three hours of work had to be done at 
home and a like number on his return. Those were days wnen 
"Jack" found no time for play. From such surroundings 
sprang the founders of our government. 

The teachers of those days deserve much credit^ for they cer- 
tainly engaged in the work for the love they had for it. The 
remuneration was very meager. They "boarded around,'' that 
is, a week or two with one of their patrons and then with an- 



100 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

other. It did not take long for the teacher at that time to pack 
his belongings and change his boarding place. Besides assist- 
ing the children with their work at night the ^'master" was ex- 
pected to help do the chores in the evening and on Saturdays 
take the ax or grubbing hoe and make a hand with the farmer. 
By reason of this method of boarding the pioneer teacher un- 
derstood his patrons and pupils better than do the teachers of 
to-day. 

The school boy of that day was not made "bandy legged" by 
carrying a load of books. Instruction was given only in the 
three K's, Readin", Ritin\ and Rithmetic; that was just about 
all the ''master" could teach; but that served to lay the 
foundation of the men who conducted the business of the coun- 
ty for many years. 

In 1804 the Free School System was inaugurated in Wetel 
county. At that time no school houses were found, but the 
majority of the people were alive to their best interest and 
buildings began to be located. These were built of hewed logs. 
The fire place gave place to the wood stove and the long-slab- 
backless benches were replaced by the straight-backed seats. 

The demand for better equipped teachers was made. Teach- 
ers were scarce. The schools were generally supplied from 
Ohio and Pennsylvania. It was soon found that there was tal- 
ent at home, and the young men and women of Wetzel county 
birth began to ''wield the birch." 

The last log school house has disappeared. It was burned 
down in 1900. Every community is furnished with a compara- 
tively comfortable building, furnished with the patent seats. 
Kot a child in the county is beyond reach of a school house. 
In 1000 there were 1.35 buildings, employing 154 teachers. The 
enumeration of the school youth that year was 0,982; enroll- 
ment, 0.010; average attendance, 3,047. 

The teachers are paid according to the grade of certificate. 
The average wages for No. 1 in 1900 was |31 1-7; No. 2, |27 2-7; 
No. 3, |18 4-7. The average school tei-m was 5 1-0 months. Can 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 161 

we look at these figures calmly and considerately without say- 
ing that something must be done for the young men and womeu 
who are devoting their best energies to the noble work of 
teaching? Is it any wonder the teacher is using the profession 
as a stepping stone? 

The finnancial condition of the schools is good. In 1900, the 
teachers' fund had a balance in the hands of the sheriff of 
|2,9G8.52 ; the building fund, |2,7.31.16. 

The county superintendents have been among our leading 
educators; such as U. G. Morgan, Dr. Thos. Haskins, C. A. Mc- 
Allister, John S. Wade, W. T. Sidell, L. W. Dulaney, and the 
present incumbent, F. W. Parsons, who is serving his second 
term. 

The Magnolia Hig School is the only high school in the coun- 
ty. It was established under the general law for the estab- 
lishment of high schools in 1880. The school is a district high 
school; that is, persons living anywhere in Magnolia District 
may send children entitled to enter the Intermediate Grammar 
or High schools. 

The high school course of study was prepared by E. E. Um 
stead and adopted by the Board of Education October, 1887. 
It has been several times revised, and at present is as follows: 

JUNIOR CLASS. 

Algebra — Ray's Elementary completed. 

Arithmetic — Ray's Higher completed. 

Grammar — Hai"vey's. 

Civics — First and second terms. 

Book-keeping — Last term. 

Physiology — Cutter's Comprehensive. 

Spelling — Reed and Kellogg's completed to page 113. 

MIDDLE CLASS. 

Spelling — Reed and Kellogg's to page 153. 

Algebra — Ray's Higher completed to Ratio and Proportion. 



162 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Rhetoric — HilFs completed. 

Physical Geography — Houston's first and second terms. 

Mental Arithmetic — Completed. 

General History — Myer's completed. 

Latin — Chase and Stuart. 

SEKIOR CLASS. 

Spelling— Reed and Kellogg completed. 

Geometry — Wentsv^orth's Plane completed. 

Latin — Four books of Caesar's Gallic War, 

Physics — Avery. 

English and American Literature. 

The following persons have been principal of the school: A. 
F. Wilmoth, S. B. Hall, S. W. Martin, Frank Burley, E. E. Urn- 
stead. J. N. Van Camp, W. W. Cline, J. M. Skinner, D. W. 
Shields, W. E. Maple, B. H. Hall and W. J. Postlethwait. 

The high school library is composed of 005 well selected vol- 
umes. The school is supplied with |250 of laboratory appa- 
ratus. 



AN INDIAN MASSACRE NEAR THE BOR- 
DERS OF WETZEL COUNTY. 

On the 5th of December, 1787;, a party of Indians and one 
white man, Leonard Schoolcraft, came into the settlement on 
Hoker's creek, and meeting with the daughter of Jesse Hughes, 
took her prisoner; passing on they came upon an old man by 
the name of West. He was carrying some fodder to the stable, 
and they likewise took him captive and carried him to where 
Hughes' daughter had been left in charge of some of the party. 
Here the old man got down on his knees and prayed fervently 
that they would not deal harshly with him, on which he was 
answered by a stroke of a tomahawk, which sent him to 
death's eternal sleep. 

They then went to the house of the old man's son, Edmund 
West, where were Mrs. West and her sister, who was but 
eleven years old. daughter of John Hoker and a brother of 
West, a lad of twelve years. They forced open the door, 
Schoolcraft and two of the savages entered and one of them 
immediately tomahawked Mrs. West. The boy was taking 
some corn from under the bed and was drawn out by his feet 
and tomabawked. The girl was standing behind the door and 
one of the savages made toward her and aimed a blow at her 
head. She tried to evade it, but it struck her on the side of 
the neck, though not with sufficient force to knock her down. 
She fell, however, and lay as if killed. Thinking their work of 
death accomplished here, they took from a press some milk, 
butter and bread and placed it on the table and sat down to 
eat. The little girl observed all that was happening in silent 
stillness. When they had satisfied their hunger they arose, 
scalped the woman and boy, plundered the house, and depart- 



164 HISTORY OP WEZTEL COUNTY. 

ed, dragging the little girl by the hair about fifty yards from 
the house. They then threw her over a fence and scalped her, 
but as she evinced symptoms of life, Schoolcraft exclaimed, 
"That is not enough," when immediately a savage thrust a 
knife into her side, and they left her. Fortunately the point 
of the knife came in contact with a rib and did not injure her 
much. 

Old Mrs. West and her two daughters were alone when the 
old gentleman was taken. They became uneasy that he did 
not return, and fearing that he had fallen into the hands of 
the savages, they left the house and went to the house of one 
Alexander West, who was then on a hunting expedition with 
his brother Edmund. They told them of the absence of the 
old man and their fears of his fate, and as there was no man 
here they went over to the house of Jesse Hughes^ who was 
also uneasy as to the absence of his daughter, and on hearing 
that West, too, was missing, he did not doubt Mrs. West's 
predictions, and knowing of the absence of the younger West 
he deemed it advisable to apprize his wife of danger and re- 
move her to his house. On which he started toward the house, 
accompanied by Mrs. West and her two daughters. On en- 
tering the door a horrible spectacle was presented to^their 
view. Mrs. West and the lad lay upon the floor welting in 
their blood, but not yet dead. The sight overpowered the girls, 
and Hughes had to carry them off. Seeing that the savages 
had just left them, and aware of the danger that they would 
be menaced with if the alarm be given to the Indians, Hughes 
guarded his own house that night and in the morning spread 
the sorrowful news of the massacre, and organized a company 
of men who went in pursuit of the Indians and to try to find 
the missing ones. Young West was found, standing in the 
creek about a mile from home, where he had been toma- 
hawked. The brains were oozing from his head, yet he sur- 
vived in extreme suttering for three days. Old Mr. West waii 
found in the field where he had been tomahawked. Mrs. West 



HISTORY OP WETZEL COUNTY. 165 

probably lived but a few minutes after Hughes and her sisters- 
in-law had left there. The little girl (Hoker's daughter) was 
found in bed at the home of old Mr. West. She related th-^ 
story to Edmund West, and said that she went to sleep, when 
she was thrown over the fence and was awakened by the scalp- 
ing. After she had been stabbed, at the suggestion of School- 
craft, and left, she tried to re-cross the fence to the house, but 
as she was climbing up she again went to sleep and fell back. 
After awakening she walked into the woods and sheltered her- 
self as good as she could in the top of a tree and remained until 
morning. 

Kemembering that there was no person left alive at her sis- 
ter's house, she proceeded to go to the house of old man West. 
She found no person at home^ the fire nearly out, but the hearth 
warm. She laid down on it, but the ashes produced a sicken- 
ing odor which caused her to get up and go to bed, where she 
was found. She recovered, grew up and was married, and 
gave birth to ten children. She died, as was believed by many, 
from an atfection of the head, caused by the wound she re- 
ceived that night. Hughes' daughter was ransomed by her 
father the next year, and for a long time lived in sight of the 
theatre of those savage enormities. 



THE HEROISM OF MRS. BOZARTH. 

An Incident of Border Warfare in Monongalia County. 

After the combat of Capt. David Morgan and the two sav- 
ages the alarm caused the settlers of the neighborhood of 
Prickett's Fort to gather at the house of Mrs. Bozarth for 
safety, and on the 1st of April. 1778, when only Mrs. Bozarth 
and two men were in the house, the children, who were out at 
play, came running toward the house in full speed, exclaiming 
that there were "ugly red men coming." I'pon hearing Uu^, 
one of the two men in the house went to the door to see if 
Indians really were coming, and received a glancing shot on 
his breast, which caused him to fall back. The Indian who 
had shot him sprang in immediately after, and grapjiled with 
the other white man, and w^as quickly thrown on the bed. His 
antagonist having no weapon with which to do him any injury, 
called to Mrs. Bozarth for a knife. Not finding one at hand, she 
seized an axe, and at one blaw let out the brains of the pros- 
trate savage. By this time another savage entered the door 
and shot dead the man engaged in combat with his com- 
panion. Mrs. Bozarth turned on him and with a well directed 
blow knocked him in the head and caused him to call out for 
help. Upon this the others who were engaged with the ciiil- 
dren in the yard, came to the door, and as each one would stick 
his head in the door he. would be sent to the happy hunting 
grounds by the hand of Mrs. Bozarth. The children in the 
yard were all killed and one of the -men, but by the coolness 
and infinite self-possession of Mrs. Bozarth she succeeded in 
saving her own life and that of the man who was first shot, and 
keeping the savages from taking possession of the house. 



AN INDIAN MASSACRE IN TYLER COUNTY. 

In August, 1787, five Indians on their way to tho Indian set- 
tlement on the Monongahehi river, met two men on Middle Is- 
land creek, Tyler eonnty, and killed them. Takino- the dead 
men's horses the continned their journey until they came to 
the house of William Joiinson, on what is now known as "Ten 
Mile," and made prisoners of Mrs. Johnson and some children; 
plundered the house, killed part of the stock, and taking with 
them one of Johnson's horses, returned toward the Ohio. 
When the Indians came to the house Johnson had gone to a 
Lick not far off, and on his return in the morning, seeing what 
had been done, and searching until he found the trail of the 
savages and their })risoners, ran to (Marksburg for assistance. 
A company of nu'u repaired with him immediately to where he 
had discovered the trail, and keeping it about a mile, found 
four of the children lying upon the ground dead and scalped, 
and their bodies laid in a form as to represent a cross. The 
dead were buried and further pursuit given over. 



ADAM POE'S FAMOUS FIGHT WITH BIG 

FOOT. 

Some time near the year of 1780, a party of Wyandotts, con- 
sisting of five of the most distinguished chiefs of that nation, 
came into one of the intermediate settlements between Fort 
Pitt and Wheeling ajid killed an old man, who was alone in the 
vast wilderness, and robbed him of all that was in the cabin. 
After doing this, they commenced retreating with the plunder, 
but they were soon discovered by spies, among whom were 
Andrew and Adam Poe, two brothers, distinguished for their 
build, physical strength and bravery, who went in pursuit of 
them, coming near them not far from the Ohio river. Adam 
Poe, fearing that the Indians were in ambush, left his com- 
panions^ where he started toward the river under cover of the 
high grass, with a few to attack them unawares, should they 
be in such a position. At last he saw an Indian raft at the 
edge of the water, but saw no Indians; presently he walked 
cautiously through the grass, and had gone but a few steps 
when he saw below him under the bank the big Wyandot t 
chief, "Big Foot," and a little Indian side by side, muttering 
something in a very I'ow tone, and watching the party of whites 
who were lower down the bottom. Poe then raised his gun to 
shoot, aiming at the big chief; the gun snapped, which betraj^ed 
his presence; seeing no chance for retreat, he immediately 
sprang upon the big chief, and seizing him by the breast and 
at the same time putting his arm around the neck of the 
smaller Indian, threw them both to the gorund, knocking the 
two Indians senseless for the time being. They then struggled 
for a while, on which the smaller Indian succeeded in getting 
loose from the grasp of Poe, and af course,, as soon as he got 
free grabbed a tomahawk and started toward Poe, but a vigor- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. . 169 

ous and well-idrected kick soon ])nt an end to tlic Indian's in- 
tentions for a while; but after* recoverin"- from the shook lie 
had received by tlie kick, the Indian again raised liis toma- 
hawk, but this time Poe saved himself by throwino- up his 
arms, as the blow was aimed at his head. Poe now realized that 
he was menaced by a terrible danger, and freeing himself from 
the gri]» of tlie chief, he arose, picked ud a gun and shot the 
smaller Indian through the stomach. By this time the big 
chief had regained his feet, and seizing l*oe by the slioulder 
and leg threw him up in the air like a man would throw a small 
baby. Poe, however, was soon on his feet, and engaged in a 
close struggle. By this time they were both at the water's 
edge; the question now was to drown the other, and the efforts 
to accomplish this were continued for a long time without any 
success. At last Poe grasped the long hair of the chief and 
held him under the water until he thought he was dead and 
relaxed his hold, but too soon; in an instant the gigantic sav- 
age was again on his feet and ready for another combat. In 
this they were both taken beyond their depth and had to swim 
for safety; both swam for all their might toward the shore. 
The Indian was a more expert swimmer and succeeded in 
reaching the shore first. By this time Andrew Poe (his bro- 
ther), who had just returned from a conflict with the other 
members of the band, killing all but one. getting worried about 
his brother, went in search of him and there appeared in the 
nick of time to save liis brother. Adam, seeing that the In- 
dian would reach shore first, turned and swam back into the 
river, thinking that he could get beyond the reach of the gun 
of the heartless savage, and some other member of the gang 
taking him for an Indian, sliot and wounded him severely. He 
then called upon his brother to shoot the big Indian on the 
shore, whicli lie did, and immediately sprang into the river af- 
ter his brother, who was so severely hurt that he could not 
swim. Tlie wounded cliief then rolled into the river to save 
a trophy that is so dear to everv Indian warrior. 



SAD DEATH OF CAPTAIN VAN BUSKIRK. 

Early in June, 1702, occurred the last conflict on the upper 
Ohio, between an organized party of Virginians and Indians. 
In consequence of the numerous depredations on the settle- 
ments now embraced in Brooke and Hancock counties, it was 
determined to summarily chastise these marauders; and, ac- 
cordingly, a party of men organized under the command of 
Captain Van Buskirk, an officer of tried courage and acknowl- 
edged efficiency. A party of Indians had committed sundry 
acts of violence, and it was believed the}" would endeavor to 
cross the Ohio, on their retreat, at some point near Mingo Bot- 
tom. Van Buskirk's party consisted of about forty experi- 
enced frontiersmen, some of whom were veteran Indian hun- 
ters. The number of the enem}^ was known to be about thirty. 

The whites crossed the river below the mouth of Cross Creek, 
and marched up the bottom, looking cautiously for the enemy's 
trail. The}' had discovered it along the run, but missing, con- 
cluded to take the ridge, hoping thus to cross it. Descending 
the ridge, and just as they gained the river, the Indians fired 
upon them, killing Captain Van Buskirk and wounding John 
Aidy. 

The enemy were concealed in a ravine amidst a dense cluster 
of paw paw bushes. The whites marched in single file, headed 
by their Captain, whose exposed situation will account for 
the fact that he was riddled with thirteel balls. The ambush 
quartered on their flank, and they were totally unsuspicious 
of it. The plan of the Indians was to permit the whites to 
advance in numbers along the line before firing upon them. 
This was done; but instead of each selecting his man, every gun 
was directed at the Captain, who fell with thirteen bullet- 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 171 

lK)le3 ill his body. The ^vhites and Indians instantly treed, 
and contest lasted more than an houi'. The Indians, however, 
were defeated, and retreated towards the Mnskingum, with the 
loss of several killed; while the Virginians, with the exception 
of their Captain, had none killed, and but three wounded. 

Captain Van Buskirk's wife was killed just eleven months 
previous to the death of her husband. They lived about three 
miles from West Libert}'. She had been taken prisoner by the 
Indians, and on their march towards the river her ankle was 
sprained so that she could not walk without pain. Finding 
her an incumbrance, the wretches put her to death on the hill 
just above where Wellsville now stands. (Jn the following day 
her body was discovered by a i)arty who had gone out in 
pursuit. 



MURDER OF THE TWO MISSES CROW. 

Next to the Tush murder, perhaps the most melancholy oc- 
currence on Wheeling Creek was that of two sisters — the 
Misses Crow, which occurred in 17S5. The parents of these 
girls lived about one mile above the mouth of Dunkard, or 
lower fork of the creek. According to the statement of a third 
sister, who was an eye-witness to the horrid tragedy and her- 
self almost a victim, the three left their parents' house for an 
evening walk along the deeply-shaded banks of that beautiful 
stream. Their walk extended over a mile and they were just 
turning back, when suddenly several Indians sprang from be- 
hind a ledge of rocks and seized all three of the sisters. With 
scarcely a moment's interruption, the savages led the captives 
a short distance up a small bank when a halt was called and 
a parley took place. It seems that some of the Indians were 
in favor of immediate slaughter, while others were disposed to 
carry them into permanent captivity. 

Unfortunately, the arm of mercy was powerless. Without 
a moment's warning, a fierce-looking savage stepped from the 
group, with elevated tomahawk, and commenced the work of 
death. This Indian, in the language of the surviving sister, 
"Began to tomahawk one of my sisters — Susan by name. Su- 
san dodged her head to one side, the tomahawk taking effect 
in her neck, cutting the jugular vein, the blood gushing out a 
yard's length. The Indian who held her hand jumped back to 
avoid the blood. The other Indian then began the work of 
death on my sister Mary. 

''I gave a sudden jerk and got loose from the one that held 
me and ran with all speed, taking up a steep bank, but just as 
I caught hold of a bush to help myself up, the Indian fired and 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 173 

the ball passed through the clump of hair on my head, slightly 
breaking the skin. I gained the top in safety, the Indian tak- 
ing round in order to meet me as I would strike the path that 
led homeward. But I ran right from home and hid myself in 
the bushes near the top of the hill. Presently I saw an Indian 
passing along the hill below me; I lay still until he was out of 
sight; I then made for home." 



FOURTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT. 



The Home of Thrift, Enterprise and Industry in the State of West Virginia. 
Its Wonderful Past, Its Present and Future — A Great and Progressive 
Country, With Pen Pictures of the People Who Have and Are Con- 
tributing to Her Industrial, Financial, Mercantile and Commercial 
Importance— Some Facts About Tyler County. 

Ill the study of the historv of the Fourth Judicial Civcuit it 
is necessary that we understand something of the causes which 
have acted in producing and advancing or retarding and de- 
stroying, the various institutions, civil and otherwise, of the 
Commonwealth. That we may study intelligently the history 
of West Virginia — "The Little Mountain State,'' the ''Daughter 
of the Old Dominion," born amid the throes of civil war — it is 
important that we look to the causes which have led to its set- 
tlement and organization as a State. 

In 1634, twenty-seven years after the founding of Jamestown, 
Virginia was divided into eight counties or shires similar to 
iliose in England. These, the tirst in the New World, were 
named James Cit}', Henrico, Elizabeth City, Warwick Eiver, 
W^arrosquyoake — now Isle of Wight — Charles River and Aco- 
mack. ^Mrgil A. Lewis, who wrote a history of West Virginia, 
saj's: ''Virginia ever tried to keep civil government abreast of 
her most adventurous pioneers, and to accomplish this^ her 
House of Burgesses continued to make provision for the forma- 
tion of new counties. After the eight original ones came oth- 
ers in the order named: Northampton and Gloucester, in 1042; 
Northumberland, in 1648; Surry and Lancaster, in 1652; West- 
moreland, in 1653; Sussex and New Kent, in 1654; Stafford and 
Middlesex, in 1675; Norfolk, Princess Anne, and King and 




AN OIL DERRICK. 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 1 4 T) 

Queen, iu 1691; Kielimond, in 1692; King William, in 1701; 
I'l'ince George, in 1702; Spottsylvania, King George, Hanover 
and Brunswick, in 1720; Goochland and Caroline, in 1727; 
Amelia and Orange, in 1784; Augusta, in 1738; Albemarle, in 
1744; Amherst, in 1761; and Botetourt, in 1769. 

From 1732 to 1750 many pioneers found homes in the Ope- 
quou, Back Creek, Little and Great Cacapon and South Branch 
Valleys. These settlements were made principally within the 
present limits of Jetferson, Berkeley, Morgan and Hampshire 
counties and were the earliest in West Virginia. Quite a num- 
ber of those who settled in Berkeley and Jefferson were Quak- 
ers, and to them is due the credit of being established the fii st 
religious organization, not only in West Virginia, but west of 
the Blue Ridge. That they had regular meetings as early as 
1738, is proven conclusively by a letter written by Thomas 
Chauckley on May 21, 17;j8, and addressed to ''The Fiiends of 
the Monthly Meeting at Opequon." 

A century and a half have passed away since the first white 
men found homes in West Mrginia. It is not a long time, yi.^1, 
when they came Washington was an infant in his mother's 
arms; no Englishmen had been on the banks of the Ohio; no 
white man had found a home within the confines of Georgia; 
New Hampshire was a part of Massachusetts, the P'reuch had 
a cordon of forts extending from the St. Lawrence to the Mis- 
sissippi and savage tribes roamed all over the country from 
the Blue Ridge to the Tacific. It was five years before the 
founding of Richmond, 23 years before the French and Indian 
war, and 43 years before the Revolution. Truly this is the old 
part of West Mrginia. 

At the beginning of the Revolution but two of ilu* counties 
of AWst \'irginia had an existence. These were Berkeley and 
Hampshire. In 1775 the former extended from the Blue Ridge 
to the Ohio, while the latter stretched away from the North 
mountain to the western limit. South of Hampshire lay Au- 
gusta county, reaching from the Blue Ridge to the Ohio, and 



176 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

including- all territory between the Little Kanawha and Great 
Kanawha rivers, while all that part of the State lying south of 
the latter was included within the bounds of Fincastle county. 
The district of West Augusta was all that territory west of the 
mountains, the boundaries of wiiich as defined in 177C, included 
all the territory west of the mountains, the boundaries of which 
as defined in 177G, included all tli; territory north of Middle Is- 
land Creek, and lying w^est and south of the Monongahela river 
to the Ohio. During the Revolution a small rebelliou broke 
out in the Augusta district, and this insurrection was knoAvu 
as "Claypole's Rebellion," as John Claypole, a J^cot. was the 
leader. The trouble was caused by Claypole refusing to i)ay 
his taxes and getting others to join him in resisting the officers. 
He was finally arrested, some of his stock appropriated, and his 
band of insurgents broken up. 

Concerning the Augusta district of West Virginia, of which 
Tyler county was a part, ^^;ashing•ton once said during the 
darkest period of the Revolution : ''Leave me but a banner to 
place on the mountains of Augusta and I will rally around me 
the men who will lift our bleeding country from the dust and 
set her free. 

Of the men who helped to free America, many of the best 
were from the hills and valleys of this part of West Virginia. 
Their names have been consigned to oblivion, but their memory 
shall live as long as there is an American fiag to wave over the 
land of the free and the home of the brave. 

"When Augusta county was formed it included all of the ^ut- 
most parts of Virginia' and extended from the Blue Ridge 
mountains on the east to the Mississippi river on the west. 
From its original limits have been carved the States of 
West Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and Michigan. 
Its western boundary was the French possessions of Louisiana. 

"Botetourt was formed from the southern part of Augusta, 
from w^hich it was separated by a line drawn westward from 
the point at which the James river breaks through the Blue 




BURNING OF AN OIL TANK. 



THE 
NEW YORK \^ 

'public library,'; 



Astor, Lenox and Tiiden ' 
Foun'?'-""S. /J 
1903 



HISTORY OF WETZEL COUNTY. 177 

Bidge, aud terminating near the present site of Keokuk, on the 
Mis3issipi)i. In 1772, Fincastle county was formed from the 
southern part of Botetourt, but its existence was of short dura- 
tion, for it was extinguished in 1776, b}' an act of the General 
Assembly ;, which created from its territory the counties of 
Montgomery, Washington and Kentucky, the boundaries being 
almost identical with those of the State now bearing its name. 

*'In 1778, Virginia made her first effort to establish civil gov- 
ernment west of the Ohio river. In October of that vear the 
Assembly passed an act creating the county of Illinois from 
Botetourt. It included all of Virginia west of the Ohio, by 
which it was bounded on the south and southeast; Pennsylva- 
nia lay on the east; the great lakes on the north; and the Mis- 
sis^sippi washed its boundaries on the west. John Todd was 
appointed county lieutenant and civil commandant of Illinois 
county. He was killed at the battle of Blue Licks, in Ken 
tucky, August 18, 1782, and his successor in office was Timothy 
de ^lonthbrunn. 

"l^ut Virginia's authority was not long to continue beyond 
the Ohio. On October 20, 1783, the Assembly passed an act en- 
titled 'An act to authorize the delegates of this State in Con- 
gress assembled all the rights of this Commonwealth to the ter- 
ritory northwestward of the river Ohio.' This offer the United 
States accepted, and the deed of cession was promptly mad(; 
March 22, 1784, and signed on the part of Mrginia by Thomas 
Jefferson, Samuel Hardy, Arthur Lee and James Monroe, mem- 
bers of Congress from Virginia. This deed may be seen in 
"Henniug's General Statutes/' Vo. xi, p. 571. 

Before entering upon the history of Wetzel county, it is pro- 
per to notice what was for some time known as the ''District 
of West Augusta.'' The boundaries, which will be best under- 
stood by the reader with a map of the State before him, were 
defined by act of Assembly in 1776, as follows: "Begisning on 
the Alleghany mountains between the heads of the Potomac, 
Cheat aiiid Greenbrier rivers; thence along the ridge of monn- 



178 HISTORY OF WEZTEL COUNTY. 

tains which divides the waters of Cheat river from those of 
Greenbrier and that branch of the Monongahela river called 
Tygart's Valley river, on the northwest of the said West Fork, 
thence up the said creek to the head thereof ; thence in a direct 
course to the head of Middle Island creek, a branch of the Ohio 
river; and thence to the Ohio including all the waters of the 
aforesaid creek in the aforesaid District of West Augusta, all 
that territory lying to the northward of the aforesaid boundary 
and to the westward of the States of Pennsylvania and Mary- 
land, shall be deemed and is hereby declared to be within the 
boundaries of West Augusta.'" 

The boundaries thus defined, if delineated on a map of the 
present State, would begin on the summit of the Alleghanies 
at the northwest corner of Pocahontas county, and run thence 
southwest between that county and Randolph to Mingo Flat in 
the latter, thence north through that county, thence north- 
west through Barbour and Taylor into Marion witli the mean- 
derings of Tygart's A'alley river to its confluence with the Mo- 
nongahela, thence ujj the West Fork of that river to the mouth 
of Bingamon's creek in Harrison, and thence west with the 
stream to its source. And thence southwest through the latter 
county to the head of Middle Island creek in Doddridge; thence 
northwest centrally through that county and Tyler to the Ohio; 
thence northeast with that river to the present site of Pitts- 
burg; thence with the Monongahela and Cheat rivers through 
the Southwestern part of Pennsylvania and Preston and Tucker 
counties to the beginning. 

The tei'ritory thus embraced included two-thirds of the coun- 
ty of Randolph, half of Barbour, a third of Tucker, half of Tay- 
lor, a third of Preston, nearly the whole of Marion, Monroe and 
Monongalia, a fourth of Harrison, half of Doddridge, two-thirds 
of Tyler, and the whole of Wetzel, Marshall, Ohio, Brooke and 
Hancock in "West Virginia, and the whole of Greene, Washing- 
ton and parts of Allegheny and Beaver counties in Pennsyl- 
vania. 




SCENE ON THE OHIO RIVER. 



HISTORY OF WF.TZEL OOUXTY. 17*.> 

A succeeding section of the same act provided for the divi- 
sion of West Augusta into three counties, to be known as Ohio, 
Yohogania and Monongalia. By the westward extension of 
Mason and Dixon's line in 1784, the great part of Yohogania 
fell into Pennsylvania, and the remainder was by act of Assem 
bly in 1785, added to Ohio county. Thus Yohogania became 
extinct. 

Having thus noted the efforts of Virginia to establish civil 
government in her western domain, we proceed to Tyler county 
in detail. 

Tyler county was formed from Ohio, by act of December 3 6, 
1814, by which the boundaries were defined as follows: IJegiu- 
ning at the south and Pennsylvania line; thence a due west 
course to the Ohio river; thence with said river to the Wood 
county line; thence wath said line to the line dividing Mononga- 
lia from Ohio county; thence with said line to the Pennsylvania 
line, and with it to the place of beginning. The commissioners to 
locate the seat of justice were Dudley Evans and Levi Morgan, 
of Monongalia, Moses Congleton and Samuel Chambers, of 
Brooke, and Benjamin Robinson and Davidson, Jri, (if Harri- 
son. The county was named in honor of John Tyler, who w as 
born in James county, Virginia, February '2S, 1747. Pie grad- 
uated at \Villiams and Marys college, then studied lav>- in the 
office of Robert Carter Nicholas, at Williamsburg. He was long 
a member of the Assembly and commanded a body of Charles 
City troops during the Revolutionary war. In 1S70 he became 
a member of the Council of State, and December 1, 1808, '.vas 
-elected Governor of Virginia. Before his term expired Presi- 
dent ]\Iadison appointed him to the judgeship of the District 
Court of the United States for Virginia, in which capacity he 
served until his death January 0, 18i:i. He was the father of 
John Tyler, tenth President of the United States. 

Middlebourne was established a town by legislative enact- 
ment January 27, 1813, on the lands of Robert (Jorrell, then in 
Ohio (ounuty. and Wallace ^^'ells, Sr., Jose])li Martin, Joseph 



180 HISTORY OB^ WEZTEL COUNTY. 

Ardor, Thomas Grigg, Daniel Haynes, William Delasbmult, 
and Abraham S. Brookhead, trustees. 

The town was incorporated February 3, 1871. One of the 
first pioneers of the banks of the Ohio, below Wheeling, was 
Charles Wells, who settled near the present site of Sistersville 
in 1776. He was residing here in 1812 when a gentleman vis 
ited him and the same year published a work descriptive of the 
Ohio Valley. From it we extract the following: 

''Charles Wells, Sr., resident on the Ohio river, fifty miles 
below W^heeling, related to me while at his house in October 
12, the following circumstances: 'That he has had two wives 
(the last of which still lives and is hale, smart, young looking 
woman) and 22 children, 16 of whom are living, healthy, and 
many of them married and have already pretty large families. 
That a tenant of his^ a Mr. Scott, a Marylander, is also the fa 
ther of 22 children, the last being still an infant, and its mother 
a lively and gay Irish woman, being Scott's second wife. That 
a Mr. Gordon, an American German, formerly a neighbor of 
Mr. Wells, now residing on Little Muskingum, State of Ohio, 
has had by his two wives 28 children. Mr. Gordon is near 80 
years old, active and hale in health.' " Thus these three wor- 
thy families have had born to them 72 children, a number un- 
exampled perhaps in any part of the world, and such as would 
make Buffon stare, when he ungenerously asserts, as do sev^^ral 
other writers of Europe, that animal life degenerates in Amer- 
ica. 

Tyler was the only West Virginia county created during the 
second war with Great Britain. 

Sistersville, which was formerly only a ferry, was established 
from the lands of John McCoy January 28, ISIS. The town 
was incorporated February 2^ 1831). 



c^- . '" 



Si**" 



BUILDING AN OIL TANK. 



11' 



THE PHILIP G. BIER G. A. R. POST. 

The Philip G. r.icr (t. A. R. I'ost was organized August 21, 
1883, with the foUowiug charter members: 
J. E. Hart, C. L. Yager, 

J. E. Baker. J. M. Francis, 

R. T. Richardson, Martin Buskirk, 

Wm. Schrouder, Jas. Shriver, 

Elijah Morgan, W. H. McEldowney, 

John Fowler, Bruce Briggs, 

Harmisou Criswell, Jos. Cutshaver, 

X. Martin, Basil T. Bowers, 

Geo. B. Woodcock, Stephen Daugherty, 

W. H. Hitchcock, E. W. Lauck, 

T. B. Carothers, T. M. Higgins, 

Marshall ^Vhiteman. G. H. Hitchcock, 

Jas. Gardner, Frank Evans, 

C. D. Dolby. 

The Tasl Coninianders are as follows: 

1. R. T. Richardson. 2. J. E. Hart. 

:{. B. T. Bowers. 4. Jas. B>aker. 

5. J. T. Rohrbaugh. (i. J. K. (iorby. 

T. W. H. McEldowney. S. J. M. Francis, 

t). G. B. Woodcock, 10. F. G. Harvey. 

11. Robt. McGee. 

The present Commander is Thomas Mills. 
F. G. Harvey is .Vdjutant. 



WETZEL LODGE No. 39, A., F. & A. M. 

Amont the secret orders having hedges in Wetzel county, a 
leading place must be given to Wetzel Lodge No. 30, Ancient. 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Xew Martinsville. 

The first meeting of Wetzel Lodge U. D. was held July 28, 
lsr>8, the Eev. R. A. Claughton, of ]Middlebourne Lodae No. 34. 
offieiating as W. M. The first officers of the Lodge U. D. were 
as follows: John S. Monroe, Henry S. McCabe, Thomas Cellers. 
John H. Moore, John Snodgrass and William Mc^NIunn. The 
first work was done September 1, lS(i8, when John C. McEl 
downey, William W. Hall, John A. Shriver and John S. Kidei- 
were initiated. The first work in the third degree was October 
0, 18G8, when John C. McEldowney, Robert McEldowney, and 
William W. Hall were raised to the ;subl;me degree of Ma.ster 
Mason. The first funeral service conducted by the Lodge was 
September 18, 1868, when William M. Bartlett was laid to rest. 

The charter of Wetzel Xo. 39 is dated November l(Jth, 1S6!), 
and is signed by William J. Bates, Grand Master, and Thomas 
H. Logan. Grand Secretary. The Lodge was constituted Jan 
uary 25th, 1870, by Odell S. Long, the most eminent of West 
^'irginla Free Masons, J. A\ L. Rogers officiating as Grand 
Marshal. The first officers under the charter were as follows: 
John S. Monroe, John S. Rider, John C. McEldowney, Jcsephus 
Clark. George E. Bovd, Willijiin \V. Hall and Tlioiuas J. Hill. 
The first stated' communication under the charter was held 
February 1st, 1870. 

The following is a complete list of the Worshipful Masters of 
Wetzel Lodge No. 31): John S. Monroe, John S. Rder, B. M. 
Welch (three years in all), John C. McEldowney (two years). 
John Cherry, J. P. Dunlap, John McComas (two years), M. R. 




FRANK WELLS CLARK, 
W. M. of the Masons. 



HE 

YORK 
/ PUBLiC LIBRAF 




\ 



jX and Tiideny 



HISTORY OF WKTZKL COTWTY. 183 

('rouse, Thomas I'err}^ Jacobs (five years in allj, F. (\ Biuher 
(four years iu all), F. E. McEldowney (two years), Robert Mc- 
Eldowney (three years), W. IMcG. Hall (three years), Frank W. 
<'lark (three years). 

For many years the Lodge met in the old Court House, torn 
down to make way for the new temple of justice now being- 
erected by the county. About three years since the Lodge re- 
nioyed to its present pleasant quarters in the third floor of the 
McCaskey Building. 

The Lodge membership at ])resent is about one hundred, 
comprising many of the most prominent men of the town and 
county. The roster of Lodge officers for the year 1901 is as 
follows Frank W. Clark, W. M.; John W. Kaufman, S. W.; 
A. P>. ^Morrison, J. W.; F. E. McEldowney, Tieas.; James Bish- 
op, Secretary; O- !-• Haught, S. I).; L. X. Mclntire, J. D.; Wil- 
liam Debolt, Tiler; John Stamm and J. U. Dayton, Stewards; 
Key. W. H. Burkhardt, Chaplain. 

Perhaps the "biggest day" in th(^ history of the Lodge was 
August 31st, 1900, on which date the corner stones of the new 
Wetzel county Court House and of the new M. E. church were 
laid under ^Masonic auspices, E. M. Turner officiating as Grand 
]\Iaster, and a large body of Knights Templar acting as escort 
for the Grand Lodge. 

Wetzel Lodge has been a most important factor in the de- 
yelopment of the county, and will continue so to be as long as 
^ts members cherish those bright jewels of the Order, "Friend- 
ship, ^Molality and P>iotherlv Love.'' 



West Virginia Monumental Works. 

We hcic jireseut a fair likeness of Rev. T. H. Hawkins, Man- 
ager and sole owner of the West A'ir^inia Monumental works. 




REV. T. H. HAWKINS, 
Manager of the W. Va. Monumental Works. 

The West ^'iroinia Monumental Works is situated at New 
Martinsville and is one of the largest ooneerus of its kind in 
the State. They work all kinds of marble and granite, having 
a steam power apparatus for polishing their work, both granite 
and marble. Twelve men are constantly employed at the 
works. (\ W. P>eck is foreman. The workmen are: Cutters, 
Holly Sayre, Koy (^orbet, James McClain, James Debolt, Harry 
Hawkins and (Jeorge Huff. Other workmen are Turner 
Wells, Quincy Moore, Earl Mclntire. Frank Tarter and C. M. 
Mathe.^. J. A. Kramer is transfer man. 



/ 



NEW YORK 

'brary' 





JACOB KOONTZ, 
Of the firm of Koontz & Philips. 



KOONTZ & PHILLIPS. 

PLANING MILL. 

The largest planing mill and lumber yard in the county is 
owned by Koontz and Philips, and is situated near the Ohio 
River R. R. on the Big Fishing creek bank. Charles Koontz is 
General Manager. The company employs thirty-eight men, of 
whom are J, Koontz and E. F. Philips, Thos. Fink, Arch Gil- 
bert, Geo. Showalter, Sr., Geo. Showalter, Jr., Wm. Showalter. 
Harry Showalter, Ezra Daugherty, Theo. Glegg.Wm. Hammell. 
Dave Ilammell, Charles Koontz, Harry Evans, Frank ^Yait.•!, 
Jere Waits, Joseph Minor, Thos. Minor, Frank Workman, O. 
S. Beaver, Wm. Yager, Simon Potts, Frank Shaffer, Albert 
Rist, George Snodgrass, Chas. Enslow, Chas. Waits, John Har- 
igan, Basil Hill, John Harman, Elias Gilbert, Wm. Findlav, 
L. Zessiger, ^^^ W. Carr, Ury Minor, Carl Kappel, Robert 
Smith, Simon Brothers.